Class,/ /^^^^; Gopwight xN"_ CrtBOUGHX DEPOSm T^^lty t^^^^t.^, JAMES W. STATEN First Representative from Clinch County. History of Clinch County, Georgia Revised to Date Giving the early history of the County down to the present time (1916) ; also complete lists of County Officers, together with minor officers and also sketches of County Officers' Lives; with chapters on the histories of old families of Clinch County ; also other information as is historical in its nature Compiled and Edited by FOLKS HUXFORD Fz9z COPYRIGHT APPLIED FOR 1916 1916 The J. W. Burke Company .Macon, Georeia DEC 30 ISIS ^C!,A453398 Foreword IN the Fair Southland, fanned by the gentle sea breeze, musical with the song of the pines, where plenty of peace and con- tentment abound, no more favored section can be found than Clinch County. What hidden treasures, what immense pos- sibilities yet undeveloped, she offers to all who diligently seek them here! Her wealth lies not in mineral deposits, nor great water power, but in a salubrious climate, pure water, a fertile soil capable of the highest state of cultivation, good ranges for live stock, timbered lands, and a people than whom no better can be found anywhere in all our fair land. Many adverse cir- cumstances have retarded the development of the natural re- sources of the County, but the sun of a better day has already risen for her, and is scattering the mists before it and flooding the land with the rays of hope and prosperity. '4^'S Preface IN the preparation and compiling of this book, containing the history of Clinch County, I have done so with an eye single to the welfare of the County, a true exposition of the County and its history, and with the hope that in years to come it may, in the absence of any other book on the subject, be a reference book of Clinch County and her people. There are many details given in the following pages, which will, to the reader on first thought, appear to be superfluous and unnecessary, but the author recognizes the fact that details are often necessary to a com- plete understanding and an exhaustive review of a subject. I have endeavored to resist the temptation to extenuate, and the reader will pardon the author if it becomes wearisome in reading this book because of so many minor details given. A word in explanation of some of the chapters: In Chapter I, also in Chapter XIII, much is said concerning Irwin, Lowndes, Appling and Ware Counties, but the author is of the opinion that this is necessary as it relates to the early history of this County before its formation. In Chapter II, and in Chapter III, extended remarks are made on the earlier settlers of the County. This data is based on information gathered from descendants of these settlers and from other parties. I would not have the reader think that the settlers named in this connection, were the only ones living here at the time; far from that. In Chapter V is given information as to the soldiers who served in the Confederate Army from Clinch County. The author does not vouch for the correctness of all of this information, as it was by the merest chance and the hardest of investigating and inquiry, that these names were obtained. The names were given mostly by survivors now living of these companies, and the list of officers and men in each company will not be found complete, due to the obvious impossibility of the recollection of so many names that far back. In regards to Chapter VIII, treating on educational subjects, it was very difficult to obtain what information is given as the author had no access to the old minutes of the Board of Education further back than 6 Preface 1892. The information given is chiefly from the different acts of the Legislature right after the war, and from scattered papers in the Ordi- nary's office, while the list of members of the Board of Education is taken from the Grand Jury presentments. In presenting church history and family histories, the author has endeavored to be as correct, fair and authentic as possible. In the prep- aration of family histories, only a few are given, such as the larger fam- ilies of Clinch. County, although the ancestry of a few others are given, which reach very far back. The author offers no apology for the extensive chapter on the lives of Clinch County's officers. I believe this will form a valuable addition to this book, especially to a future generation. I believe that unless this information is given, those who follow after us will look back on the official list of county officers, and ask "Who was this officer? I never heard of him and do not know any of his people." This question is true to-day for I have been unable to find out anything about some of our earlier officers. Also I believe that the appended lists of minor officers, such as district road commissioners, jury commissioners, justices of the peace, etc., will be found interesting. I have been hampered in this undertaking by more than one obstacle. This is an undertaking never before undertaken in this County. I have found some people very skeptical about the idea of writing a history of our County. I have found some who are wholly indifferent to the past. I was also hampered by the loss of our court-house records which go no further back than 1867, and many of the books and records for many years after then were very poorly kept. The author has devoted a great deal of his time for the last two or three years to this undertaking, and has endeavored to eliminate all mis- takes, but this is very near impossible. Without the kind assistance of the following named patriotic citizens, I do not believe I could have com- piled this work. To them I am deeply grateful for their sympathy and help. I refer to the following residents of Clinch County: James R. Dickerson, Argyle; Charlton H. Smith, Homerville; W. H. Chauncey, Lyken ; Lee L. DuPont, DuPont ; Moses Tomlinson, Stockton ; John G. Griffis, Argyle; Ezekiel Mathis, DuPont; Mrs. Seward Smith, Preface 7 Homerville; Mrs. Elizabeth E. Gary, Homerville; Irwin Corbitt, Pearson, R. F. D. ; Bankston E. Mattox and wife, Homerville ; John J. Drawdy, Homerville; R. G. Dickerson, Homerville; James B. Cornelius, Homer- ville; Mrs. Nancy Griffis, Lyken; P. M. Lee, DuPont, and Mrs. H. A. Mattox, Argyle. Out of the County residents: Judge J. L. Sweat, Waycross ; Joseph E. Bass, Kissimmee, Fla. ; Mrs. P. D. Clifton, Hahira; Lucian L. Knight, Atlanta; Mrs. M. S. Corbitt, Pearson ; George A. Dame, Inverness, Fla. ; Mrs. B. P. Jones, Valdosta ; Mrs. Mary A. Ray, Ray City ; J. G. King, Arcadia, Fla. ; Mrs. A. J. Caswell, Jacksonville, Fla.; Mrs. R. F. Laslie, Tarver; John L. Morgan, Lakeland, Fla.; Perry G. Ramsey, Gainesville, Fla.; John L. Smith, Screven; Jona- than O'Steen, Kirkland ; Mrs. Sherod Smith, Tampa, Fla. ; W. P. Smith, Nacogdoches, Texas; C. Strickland, Valdosta; N. A. Sirmans, Milledge- ville; S. C. Townsend, St. Marys; W. H. Tucker, Bradentown, Fla.; D. C. Carmichael, Manor; and "The Valdosta Times," Valdosta, the last named of which I had access to their files dating back to 1868; and Mrs. J. N. Griffin, Valdosta. Besides these, there are numerous others, which space forbids me to name. FOLKS HUXFORD. Homerville, Ga., July, 1916. History of Clinch County, Georgia CHAPTER I. Ceding of the Lands Which Now Comprise Clinch County. — Origin of Appling County. — Origin of Irwin County. — Origin of Ware County. — Origin of Lowndes County. — First Settlers. — Primitive Condition. — Indian Troubles. — Growth of the County. — "Olden Times." — Land Grants. THE lands which now comprise Clinch County, were ceded by the Indians by a treaty made at Fort Jackson, in the western part of this State, August 9th, 18 14. There was no stipulated sum paid for the land, this being the only cession of lands by the Indians which the government did not have to pay for. This treaty was the culmination of a war caused by Indian outrages, which had been raging for about three years. General Andrew Jackson's crowning vic- tory over them at Horse-Shoe Bend on the Tallapoosa River in Alabama, caused them to sue for peace and the treaty of Fort Jackson was the result. Besides the lands ceded which lie now in Clinch County, other territory was ceded out of which about twenty counties in South Georgia have since been made. ORIGIN OF APPLING COUNTY. Four years after the treaty was made, Appling County was created by an Act of the Legislature approved December 1 5th, 1 8 1 8. This county took in not only what is now Clinch County, but also Ware, Coffee and parts of several other counties. At the same time Irwin County was created. Two years later the first election for county officers was held in Appling County. The following were elected: William Carter, sheriff; John Bailey, Clerk of the Superior Court; lo History of Clinch County, Georgia James Mixon, coroner and Daniel S. Whitehurst, surveyor. Appling County was named for Col. Daniel Appling, a noted soldier of the Revolution. ORIGIN OF IRWIN COUNTY. Irwin County was created at the same time Appling County was, and was named in honor of Governor Jared Irwin, of this State. The first county officers were not com- missioned until 1820. Originally the line between Irwin and Appling Counties, extended along the line dividing the sev- enth and twelfth land districts of Ware County from the tenth and eleventh land districts of Irwin County. This caused most of the present Mud Creek district to be in Irwin County, as was also the Stockton district. ORIGIN OF WARE COUNTY. Ware County was created by an Act of the Legislature ap- proved December 15th, 1824. It was created out of lands theretofore situated in Appling County, and was named for Hon. Nicholes Ware, a United States Senator from this State. Early in the year 1825 an election was held in the new county for Justices of the Inferior Court, which at this time had charge of all county matters. The following justices were elected and were commissioned March 2nd, 1825 : Wil- liam Smith, Solomon Hall, John L. Stewart, Jr., Philemon Bryan and Absalom Thomas. The election for county of- ficers was not held until the next year, when the following were elected: William G. Henderson, sheriff; Joseph Bryan, clerk of the Superior and Inferior Courts; Zachariah Davis, surveyor, and Joshua Sharpe, coroner. At the same time that the Justices of the Inferior Court were elected in 1825, Philemon Bryan was elected the first State Senator from Ware County, while John L. Stewart was elected the first representative. History of Clinch County, Georgia 1 1 ORIGIN OF LOWNDES COUNTY. By an Act of the Legislature approved December 23rd, 1825, Lowndes County was created. This county was cre- ated from lands formerly in Irwin County, which extended to the line dividing the tenth and eleventh land districts of Irwin from the seventh, twelfth and thirteenth land districts of Ware or formerly Appling. The new county was named for Hon. William L. Lowndes, a distinguished statesman of South Carolina. The first county officers were commissioned May 29th, 1826, and were: William Hancock, sheriff; Sam- uel M. Clyatt, surveyor; Henry Blair, clerk of the Superior and Inferior Courts; and Malachi Monk, coroner. The first State Senator from Lowndes was William A. Knight, while the first representative was Jonathan Knight, a notable instance of father and son being first representatives of a new county in legislative halls. FIRST SETTLERS. The first settlers in what is now Clinch County, that any authenticity can be vouched for, settled in the Mud Creek dis- trict, then a part of Irwin County, in December, 1822. They were John, William, and Moses Tomlinson, brothers; Josiah Sirmans, Sr., and his sons, and David Johnson. William Smith, a pioneer minister of the Primitive Baptist Church, also settled here about the same time, settling on Red Bluff Creek, then in Appling County. Very soon the Newberns, O'Steens, and Paffords settled here. Within a few years, came John Bennett, Benjamin Cornelius, Jeremiah Chancey, Lawrence Smith and Samuel Register. All of the families named are still represented in this county by numerous de- scendants. PRIMITIVE CONDITION. The primitive condition of the county before the whites became numerous, might easily be imagined. Forests of giant trees were everywhere, while game was in abundance. 12 History of Clinch County , Georgia Indians roamed here and there with no permanent habita- tion. No such timber as could be found then can now be found. It has fell under the chopper's ax and has been the source of much profit and occupation. At the time Ware and Lowndes Counties were created, this part was very sparsely settled. Settlers were few and Indians were many. Gradually the country grew, but it was not until the advent of the Atlantic & Gulf Railroad, just before the Civil War, that any progress was visible outside of the increasing population. In the absence of railroads, paths and community roads were used. In the course of time, a stage road was opened through from Waresboro by Mag- nolia and into Lowndes County, "while another stage road reached from Troupville, in Lowndes, through Mud Creek and connected with the road to Waresboro. The oldest militia district in the county is the 586th, known as Mud Creek. From the records at Atlanta it is found that Hudson Tillery and James O. White were com- missioned Justices of the Peace in this district, February loth, 1829. It was at that time a part of Ware County, and reached up into Coffee County. INDIAN TROUBLES. Troubles with the Indians began to take definite shape about 1836. It seems that the trouble originated in the State of Alabama on Terrapin Creek, and was caused by the efforts of the Creeks to join the Seminoles in Florida, who were about to take up the hatchet. The war lasted for about two or three years, when practically all the Indians in Geor- gia were deported to the West. During these troublous times, the whites built a fort about two miles north of Cane Creek and about six miles northeast of where Homerville now is. It covered about two acres of ground and was built by picketing pine poles about twenty feet long in the ground, side by side until an inclosure was made. These were braced together and made as impreg- History of Clinch County, Georgia 13 nable as possible. Inside, small houses were built and the fort was otherwise made as much a home as possible for the refugees. The settlers also had a place of rendezvous at the home of Benjamin Sirmans in the Mud Creek district. Set- tlers would often make their clearings as near the forts or places of safety as possible in anticipation of any expected attack by the Indians. Several expeditions were made against the Indians as far down as the Suwannee River and the Florida line. Tom Fulwood, a member of one of the expeditions, was killed on one of the expeditions, and scalped by the Indians. His body was recovered by his companions and buried some three or four miles from where Henry Lee now lives in this county. There were several companies of volunteers organized in this section for service against the Indians. A company of "scouts" headed by Captain Knowles did valiant service in this war; also companies under Captain John J. Johnson, an Englishman, and Captain John J. North, who subsequently became a citizen of Clinch, saw much service. Towards the Allapaha River, Captain Levi J. Knight commanded the pioneer troops as major and colonel. The following narrative of an engagement with the In- dians, is given on authority of Mr. Bryan J. Roberts, a wealthy pioneer citizen of Lowndes County, which is corrob- orated by others : "Some time in the fall of 1836, a squad of Indians raided the home of Mr. William Parker, not far from where Mill- town now is. They carried his feather beds out in the yard, cut them open, emptied the feathers and appropriated the ticks. They also robbed him of provisions, clothing and money in the sum of $308. Captain Levi J. Knight, in whose command Mr. Roberts was, was soon on trail of the squad and overtook them near the Allapaha River, not far from the Gaskins mill-pond. The sun was just rising when the gallant company opened fire on the savages. A lively fight ensued, soon terminating in the utter rout of the Indians, 14 History of Clinch County, Georgia who threw their guns and plunder into the river and jumped in after them. A few were killed and a number wounded. One Indian was armed with a fine shot-gun; this he threw into the river. He also tried to throw into the stream a shot- bag, but it was caught in the limb of a tree and suspended over the water. Strange to say, it contained Mr. Parker's money, every cent of which was recovered. The fine shot-gun was fished out of the river and afterwards sold for $40, a tremendous price for a gun in those days. "Having driven the Indians from the dense swamp be- yond the river, Captain Knight marched his company as rapidly as possible in the direction of Brushy Creek in the southwest part of the county (Lowndes). In the distance they heard a volley of small arms. On arrival, they found that a battle had already been fought and the volley was only a last tribute of respect over the grave of a comrade-in-arms, Pennywell Folsom. Mr. Robert Parrish, who later became quite prominent and lived near Adel had his arm broken in this fight. Edwin Henderson was mortally wounded and died near the battlefield, and there were two others killed. The Indians lost twenty-two killed, besides a number wounded. The battle was fought in a swamp where Indian cunning was pitted against Anglo-Saxon courage, and in five minutes after the engagement opened, there was not a live redskin to be seen. "From this place Captain Knight marched his company across the Allapaha River into what is now Clinch County. The Indians after the last engagement had crossed the river and took a course southeastward to Cow Creek, about three miles below where Stockton now is. The whites traced them and found them near the creek. They surprised the savages at breakfast and the Indians, abandoning what little effects they had except their guns, hurriedly crossed the "Boggy Slue" and then went over the creek. The slue which had been so easy for the Indians to cross, delayed the whites, but finally crossing it they caught up with the Indians on the other History of Clinch County, Georgia 15 side of the creek, where a short engagement occurred. Bill Daugharty had his horse shot from under him in this en- gagement by a very large Indian, and just as the Indian was about to fire at him, Mr. Daugharty shot the Indian. The Indian's body was not found until after the engagement was over, when it was found in some bushes. In this short en- gagement three Indians were killed and five made prisoners. No whites were killed, but Mr. Barzilla Staten was danger- ously wounded from which he afterwards recovered." Captain Knowles' company assisted in driving the last Indian from the great Okefinokee Swamp, and camped on one of the islands in the swamp for about three months, leaving the swamp only for provisions. A narrative is given on authority of Mr. Jesse Smith, who was in Captain Knowles' company, in which Mr. Smith relates an adventure with the savages. It was as follows : After the company had lost trail of a party of Indians whom they were hunting, Mr. Smith was in the lead of the whites that night. The night was very dark, and after hav- ing searched all day the search was almost given up, when in the grass not ten steps ahead, Mr. Smith saw the fire sparkle from the old flint and steel rifle, and he knew that they were in the midst of the Indians. The Indian's gun failed to fire and they saw it was a hand-to-hand battle in the darkness. Before Mr. Smith had time to move, the Indian sprang up and threw his arms around the horse's neck and held on. The fight seemed to be between the horse and the Indian, when the horse finally became so frightened that he dashed away. The horse ran until the clinging Indian was forced to give it up, and when Mr. Smith got his wits to- gether again he was miles away from his companions, with both hands clinched in the horse's mane. Then he had a task to find his comrades, which he did just about daylight. The great Okefinokee Swamp served as a place of refuge for the Indians during this war, and here they hid them- selves when hard pressed. General Charles R. Floyd made 1 6 History of Clinch County, Georgia an expedition against the savages in the swamp and drove them totally out of the swamp and Into Florida. It had always been a mystery to the whites how the Indians were able to exist under circumstances of the most adverse character in the swamp, until one day an entrance to the "cow-house," an elevated fertile Island, was discovered by the scouts of General Floyd's army. Through an opening the Indians had driven a number of small, black cattle, which was found to be so numerous in this section when the whites first settled here. This solved the mystery, and the island has since been known as Floyd's Island. In 1838 fourteen thousand Indians were conveyed to lands beyond the Mississippi River, and after this the county enjoyed comparative peace from Indian troubles. It was very seldom after this that an Indian was seen. GROWTH OF THE COUNTY. After the Indian trouble ceased, this section began to grow. The citizens began to widen out their farms, settlement roads were made, new settlers came and several churches were organized. The only way in that day to get produce to market centers was to carry it In great caravans of wagons and carts drawn by oxen. The people of the community through which it passed would often load their produce or marketable stuff on these wagons and carts, giving the owner a part of the proceeds to carry it to market. A stage road which was built about this time from Holmesvllle in Appling County, to Troupvllle In Lowndes County, served as the principle highway. The principal person to engage in this business was James C. Smith, a wealthy pioneer citizen. He would often make Darien his destination, although Savannah and other ports were reached occasionally. The slow trip would consume as much as two or three months sometimes. In re- turning the wagons would bring such things as were needed by the settlers in their homes and on the farms. JOHN C. KIRKLAND First Clerk of Superior Court of Clinch County. This picture was taken about 1850. History of Clinch Comity, Georgia 17 Waresboro was then the county seat of Ware County, and Troupville of Lowndes County. To these places the people of this section journeyed to attend court and to other such matters. The stage road led to Waresboro, while an- other one led to Troupville. The court-house at Waresboro in those days is described as being a large one-story log house with two small siderooms as offices; and during court the jury in a case would go off in the woods nearby in the charge of a bailiff, to make up their verdict. Since that time, Wares- boro has decreased to a mere village and Troupville is almost forgotten, and other cities have arisen to which the county seat has been moved. ''olden times." During those days, the people lived in log houses with hewn floors and wooden shutters for windows. Everything bore a distinctly home-made appearance. The main portion of the people were not rich but a more honest and hospitable set could not be found. Among the wealthier families would be found from twenty-five to fifty slaves in each family. The white families living oftentimes miles apart, were of the kindliest disposition to each other. The people of what is now Clinch County, were not rich. The settlers were plain men, honest and thrifty. Their houses were simple buildings, situated generally near the few roads there were. The people did all their work except those who were fortunate enough to own slaves. Clothes were made of cloth manufactured by themselves. The women carded the cotton or wool with hard-cards into small rolls. These rolls they spun on spinning wheels into thread, which they dyed whatever colors they desired, and they wove the thread into cloth on home-made looms. Such looms and spinning-wheels have disappeared from usage and almost from existence al- though one is occasionally found in the homes of the people of Clinch County where it is kept as a rehc of the past, and an object of curiosity to the young. 1 8 History of Clinch County, Georgia As has been said, the houses of the settlers were generally- built of logs and had but one room, the floor of which was made of split logs with the faces smoothed by an ax or hatchet. There were no lamps and candles were not often used. Blazing pine-knots in the fire-place generally served both for light and heat. In the summer season the people would go to bed early, almost with the coming of darkness, and in this way save building a hot fire for light and also to escape the mosquitoes. Likewise they rose early in the morning with the "break of day," often before daylight, and began the day's work. The children of the family, after working all day, would at night lie down in front of the pine- knot fire and learn to read and write. Many of the older citizens of the county still vividly remember those days. Cooking in those days was done in large, open fire-places in which was a crane for holding kettles and pots over the fire. When meat was roasted it was roasted on a spit hung before the fire. There were no railroads here in those days, and traveling long distances was usually done by means of vehicles called stage-coaches. The mails were carried in these vehicles. At certain places were kept relays of horses which the drivers of the stage-coaches used. LAND GRANTS. About that time great areas of land were granted by the State to individuals. In what is now Clinch County the lands were surveyed about 1822 and cut into squares of 490 acres each, which were later granted by the State under the lottery system. It was sold on an average of five dollars per lot, and could be paid for by the installment plan, if desired, — one-fourth down and the rest in equal payments. These lots or squares of land of 490 acres each, were run into dis- tricts, each district containing from 500 to 650 lots. That is the present system of defining land in this county. Among the larger land owners who thus acquired lands in History of Clinch County, Georgia 19 this county, were Hon. John Forsyth, Sylvanus Hitch, a cit- izen of Jones County, Ehjah Mattox, of Waresboro, Simon W. Nichols, of Jones County, James D. Shanks, of Lowndes County, and WilHam Lastinger, of Lowndes. CHAPTER II. Early Settlers. — Indian War Soldiers. A CCORDING to the best available information, the first yA-% permanent white settlers in what is now Clinch County were Josiah Sirmans, Sr., and his family, including his sons, Benjamin, Joseph, Jonathan and Abner Sirmans; also Moses, John and William Tomlinson, three brothers, and David Johnson, afterwards of Indian war fame. These came here in 1822 and settled near the Allapaha River in Irwin now Clinch County. Josiah Sirmans and his family came from Emanuel County. This early pioneer was born in 1767, and was married to Miss Artie Hardeman, a daughter of Thomas Hardeman, Sr. By this marriage he became an uncle of the three Tomlin- sons named above whose mother was a sister of Mrs. Sir- mans. He settled in what is now called the Mud Creek dis- trict, and lived there until his death in 1830. His sons were Benjamin, Abner and Joseph Sirmans, all of whom became prominent citizens of the county, while another son, Jonathan Sirmans, settled in what is now Berrien County, where his descendants of to-day are quite numerous. David Johnson was born in 1802 in this State, and his wife's name was Miss Nancy Burnett. By this marriage he had nine children, some of them holding county offices of trust and honor. Mr. Johnson afterwards engaged in the wars against the Indians and achieved renown. In those wars he achieved the rank of general, and has since been known as "General Dave" Johnson. It is doubtful if Clinch County ever had a better citizen than this noble man. Moses, John and William Tomlinson were sons of John Tomlinson, Sr. They came from Bulloch County and settled on the Allapaha River in the vicinity of the present town of Stockton. William was born in 1781, John in 1784 and History of Clinch County, Georgia 21 Moses about 1788. Moses and William Tomlinson married and had several children and their descendants in Clinch County to-day are quite numerous. John Tomlinson who set- tled here, was a cripple from boyhood and could never walk; on this account he was better known as "Cripple" John Tom- linson. By judicious management he became very wealthy and at his death owned a good many slaves besides much other property. He is buried at Prospect Church in this county. About the next settler to come here was William Smith. He was born about 1763, and was a minister of the Prim- itive Baptist Church. He came here about 1823 and settled on Red Bluff Creek, where S. A. Lastinger now lives in this county. He lived here until his death, about 1845. He was buried at Arabia Church. He was married twice, and among his sons were John, Jesse, James M., and Manning Smith. Another old settler was Lawrence Smith, who came from South Carolina and settled in this section about 1825. He was married twice and among his sons were John, James C, David D., William E., Elbert M. T., and Frank Smith, the latter being a half-brother to the others. Lawrence Smith died in this county in 1859, ^"^ '^ buried on his old home place near Antioch Church. In 1824 another pioneer moved in, Jeremiah Chancey, who settled about five miles northwest of where Homerville now is. He came here from what is now Lowndes County, where he had previously lived a short while. He was born in North Carolina, September 5th, 1782, and married Miss Elsie O'Steen, who was a cousin of John R. O'Steen. They had eleven children. Later, Mr. Chancey settled about two miles northwest of Homerville, on lands now owned by S. L. Drawdy, where he died January nth, 1861. He was buried on his home place. His grave is unmarked, resting in an old field with a few others. James Pafford also came here about this time. He was the progenitor of the Pafford family in Clinch County. He was 2 2 History of Clinch County, Georgia born March 19th, 1797, and died in October, 1838. He is buried at the Fender graveyard, on the Allapaha River. About 1830, John Bennett, of Sampson County, North Carolina, settled just above where Stockton now is. He lived here until his death, about 1851. He married Miss Sallie Register and by her had eight children. Numerous descend- ants throughout the county represent this old pioneer. He was about 80 years old at his death and was buried at Cow Creek Church. About the same time (1830), Col. Elijah Mattox settled at Waresboro, coming there from Tattnall County, where he was born in 1798. He later settled on the Florida line, just inside Clinch County. He had extensive land dealings and was well-known throughout the county. Colonel Mattox was aide-de-camp to Governor Charles J. McDonald. About 1833, Benjamin Cornelius settled here, coming from Pulaski County. He first settled near where Dame's Millpond now is, later moving to the place now owned by S. D. Find- ley, near Homerville. Mr. Cornelius was subsequently tax- receiver of Clinch County for more than twenty years, and died in 1874. Jonathan Knight moved from what is now Berrien County and settled on Suwannoochee Creek in this county in 1836. He was a native of what is now Berrien, where he was born in 1 8 17. He removed back to Berrien County in 1862, where he subsequently died. Other early settlers of this section were Barzilla Staten, Sr., and his sons, James W., Barzilla, Jr., and Quarterman B. Staten. The elder Staten was wounded in the Indian war and died about 1845. James W. Staten was the first repre- sentative from the new county of Clinch, while Quarterman B. Staten was a captain in the Confederate Army. John J. North, a native of South Carolina, was another early settler. He participated in the War of 1 8 1 2, and in the Indian war, serving as captain in the latter one. He lived here until History of Clinch County, Georgia 23 his death In 1880. He is buried at the North Cemetery, above DuPont. David Stanford was a native of North Carolina, where he was born February 3rd, 1799. He came to this section in the thirties. He lived in the southwestern part of the county. His wife was Miss Agnes Aiken, by whom he had nine chil- dren, one of whom, Reubin Y. Stanford, was a captain in the Confederate Army. David Stanford died in May, 1871. Other early settlers were Juniper Griffis, Joel and Berry Griffis and Samuel Griffis. Juniper Griffis was born in 1808 and lived to be 97 years old. Joel and Berry Griffis were distant relatives of Juniper Griffis, and lived below Homer- ville. Samuel Griffis was born in 1807 and married Miss Naomi Kirkland. The descendants of these men are quite numerous in the county to-day. Samuel Register was born in South Carolina in 1786, and settled here about 1830. He was the progenitor of the Reg- ister family in this section. He had twelve children, among them being Guilford, Ivy, David and William Register. This family has furnished Clinch County many good citizens. Samuel Register died in 1869. His grandson, S. W. Reg- ister, was clerk of the Superior Court of Clinch County fifteen years. George Harnage came to this section from Liberty County and settled in the western part of the county. He was born in 1807, and married Miss Annie Shaw, a daughter of Jerry Shaw, of Lowndes County. He was a deacon of the Prim- itive Baptist Church about forty years. He died about 1895. His descendants are also quite numerous to-day. Edmund Mathis was a native of North Carolina. To- gether with his brothers, John and James Mathis, they came to Bulloch County about 1820, and after living there several years, they came to this section. Edmund Mathis settled in what is now Clinch, while the other two settled in Berrien County. Edmund Mathis was one of the original members of Cow Creek Church when it was constituted in 1847, ^"^ ^f 24 History of Clinch County, Georgia Prospect Church, in 1859. His wife, who was Unity Reg- ister, was also a charter member. Edmund Mathis was com- missioned justice of the peace of the 66 ist district, then of Lowndes County, November 30th, 1838. John Mathis, a son of Edmund Mathis, was born in Bul- loch County and came with his father to this section about 1830. He served as a justice of the peace, and after Clinch was created, was its coroner several years. He married Jemima Lee, daughter of Joshua Lee. Hillery P. Mathis, distantly related to the above named Mathises, was brought to this section an orphan by his uncle, James Edmondson, of Lowndes County. He was born in Bulloch County in 1821, and took part in the wars against the Indians. He married Martha, daughter of Samuel Reg- ister, Sr., by whom he had eleven children. Edmund Stafford was a son of Josiah Stafford, and was a soldier in the Indian war. Josiah Stafford died when Edmund was young and the guardianship of Edmund and his sister, Eliza, was vested in Duncan Henderson, by an order of the Inferior Court, of Ware County, dated September 2nd, 1833. The original letter of guardianship is still in the possession of descendants of Edmund Stafford. William B. North was commissioned a justice of the peace of the 719th district of Ware, now of Echols County, as early as 1832. About 1845 Richard H. Burkhalter, with his family, moved to what is now Clinch County from Pulaski County. He settled in the Mud Creek district, and was later ordinary of Clinch County. He died in 1862. He was the forefather of the Burkhalters of Clinch of to-day. About the same time, George J. Tatum settled here. He was born in originally Appling County August 31, 1823, and married Miss Lucy Joyce of this section, July 27th, 1844. They had twelve children. Mr. Tatum lived on what is known as the Frank Dickerson place above DuPont, for many years, previous to his removal to Hillsboro County, History of Clinch County, Georgia 25 Florida, in 1867. From there he moved to Tatum Ridge in Manatee County, where he lived until his death, January 9th, 1 9 10. Joshua Lee moved to a place about three and one-half miles north of where DuPont now is, in 1847, from Banks Mill in Berrien County. He lived there until his death in 1857. He was a native of South Carolina, and his wife's name was Miss Martha Ford. They had several children. Both are buried at Prospect Church. John T. Roberts was a soldier in the Indian wars, and at his death lived in the io6ist district. He first lived below where Stockton now is, and when Cow Creek Church was first constituted in 1847 he was one of its original members. He served in the Confederate Army also. He was born December 7th, 18 10, and died March 24th, 1880. Among his children were Tharp and Isham Roberts. He married Candacy Tomlinson and had fourteen children. Elihu Morgan was another pioneer, and lived in what later became Echols County. He was born in 1795. Among his sons were Elihu, Jr., John and Joseph Morgan. He was a man of considerable means, owning in 1850 real estate to the extent of $6,000.00. Isaac Curry came from Tennessee and settled in this sec- tion about 1840. He was born in 1781 and died in Mud Creek, December 25th, 1856. His son, Charles W. Curry, who was born in Tennessee in 1828, is still living in Mud Creek. The elder Curry is buried at the Fender graveyard. Another old family to remove here in the early days of this section, was the Corbitts. Isham Corbitt was the progenitor of this family in this section, and was a native of Tennessee. 1 he Corbitts, Currys and Paffords came from the same sec- tion and settled in the same section. The sons of this old pioneer were Harbird, Marshal, Newsom, Martin, William and Hiram Corbitt, the last named dying in infancy. Isham Corbitt died about 1855, and is buried in Berrien County. Another family of Corbitts, of no known relation to the 2 6 History of Clinch County, Georgia above is that of Daniel Corbitt and his descendants. He came to this county about 1840 or 1845. He was born in 1804 in South CaroHna. (See Corbitt family history.) Duncan Henderson lived in Ware County several years but settled in what is now Clinch during the forties. He was the first clerk of the Providence or Camp Branch Church, which was organized in 1844. He died about 1863. Acy Findley moved to what is now Clinch County about 1845 from Jefferson County, Florida, and settled on Cow Creek. He died in 1873. John E. Taylor moved to this section about 1840 and set- tled on Cow Creek. He was a native of Chatham County, where he was born in 18 18. He died about 1893. David and Martin Fender were pioneers of the county. They settled here about 1840. Both lived to be very old men. David Fender, by his wife Mollie, had seven children, viz. : Charles, Jjcob, John, David, Bettie, George and Nellie Fender. David Fender, Sr., died November 14th, 1886, age 100 years. His first wife, Mary, died in June, 1853. Martin Fender was born September 6th, 1803 and died February 2nd, 1899, being the oldest man in the county at the time of his death. He was married three times and had several children. Other old members of this family were W. D. Fender, born 1818, died 1895 ; John D. Fender, born 1823, died 1907; and J. L. Fender, born 1840 and died 1885. Irwin R. Booth was a minister of the Methodist Church and a native of Beaufort County, S. C, where he was born in 1812. He died in 1896 and is buried at Antioch Church below Argyle. He came to this section about 1840. He was married twice. Abraham E. Smith, a native of Barnwell district. South Carolina, came here and settled on the adjoining lot of land to Homerville, in 1848. He sold it in 1866 and moved to a place about three miles from town, where he lived until his death in 1898. He was accompanied here by his brothers, History of Clinch County, Georgia 27 John, Kit and Christopher J. Smith, the latter being known as Jackson Smith. John G. Rice was a native of Barnwell district, South Carolina, and came to this section about 1825 or 1830. He married and had seven children, his sons being Aaron, Dar- ley, Artemus and Lott Rice. He joined the Confederate Army in 1861 and died in 1863. He was an expert black- smith. Elias D. Waldron was born June 7th, 181 1, and died October 20th, 1894. He settled here about 1850 and lived about twelve miles south of Homerville. His wife, Nancy, was born in 1 8 1 1 , and died in 1892. Hiram Kight was an old settler of this county. He was born July loth, 181 1, and married Sarah, daughter of Law- rence Smith. He settled near the present town of Homer- ville about 1845, ^^^ lived there until 1863, when he sold out to Robert B. Crum. Later he lived below Homerville a few miles. Mr. Kight was a veteran of the Indian war and his widow now draws an Indian war pension. He was mar- ried a second time, Sarah Ann Griffis, who survived him. He died about 1890. Dr. L. C. Mattox settled on a place about three miles east of Homerville in 1855. He lived there until his death in 1898. He was a very successful farmer. William Hughes settled in this county about 1840. He was born in South Carolina September 5th, 1812. He was married twice. He had several children. Mr. Hughes and his wife were murdered and robbed by three negroes late in the afternoon of November 6th, 1889. They were killed with axes. The negroes were captured and two of them hung while another was killed resisting arrest. This was the most brutal murder ever perpetrated in Clinch County. Among Mr. Hughes' sons were Francis M. Hughes, C. H. Hughes, Jeptha Hughes and James H. Hughes. Isaac Minshew, Sr., was a native of Scotland and came to this county in the early part of the last century. He finally 2 8 History of Clinch County, Georgia settled on what Is known as the Reubin Jewell place in Clinch County and reared a family of ten children, and died there. Among his children were John, David, Jacob and Abram Minshew. The elder Minshew died about i860. Jacob Minshew, a son of the above, was born in this county February 1 8th, 1 834, and married Ellen Jordan. They had ten children, his sons being Henry, Isaac, John R., David J. and Lewis Minshew. The elder Minshew served in the Civil War and was later justice of the peace of the 1389th district. He died August 27th, 1907, and was buried at Camp Branch Church. John and Benjamin Stalvey were among the earlier set- tlers of this county also. Another of this family, B. S. Stalvey, lived in Echols County, where his descendants are now numerous. The latter was born February 22nd, 1829, and died October 8th, 1874, and is buried at Wayfare Church. He was elected tax collector of Echols County in 1861. Ben- jamin Stalvey lived in the 970th district of Clinch County and died January i8th, 1890. He has many descendants now living here. Cornelius and Henry Joyce, Jr., were early settlers of this section. They settled here about 1840. Henry Joyce, Sr., died about 1845, ^J^*^ his widow, Sarah Joyce, and Miles J. Guest were administrators on his estate. Cornelius Joyce was at one time sheriff of Clinch County, Henry Joyce served a term as tax collector of Clinch, and Miles J. Guest was sheriff of Ware County. William Lastinger was an early pioneer of the County. He settled here some time about 1835, and became quite wealthy. He owned a large tract of land above DuPont, which he traded to Joshua Lee in 1848, for the famous mill- pond now known as Banks Mill-pond, and also the land where Milltown, in Berrien County, is now situated. He reared a large family of children. Seaborn Lastinger, another mem- ber of this family, died in the Civil War in 1861 at Savan- History of Clinch County, Georgia 29 nah. He left one son, Seaborn A. Lastinger, who now lives on Red Bluff Creek, in this county. Other pioneers of this county were : Tharp and Isham Roberts and James Daugharty, who were living here in 1 833 ; Joshua Kirkland, Henry Daughtery, Moses Giddens, John Fender, Eaton and Barzilla Douglas, Richard Lee, Abraham Starling, Joel Griffis and Kindred Griffis, all of whom lived here in 1845 5 John Sears, William S. Bennett, William M. Thompson, James J, Lee, Allen Corbitt, John Brack, John Timmerman, William Touchston, James Whitehurst and Charles and George Kinard, all of whom lived here in 1850. Besides these might be mentioned John C. Kirkland, R. G. Dickerson, Shimuel Timmerman and Martin Nettles, INDIAN WAR SOLDIERS. Of those who took part in the Indian war of 1836-8, a complete list is not available. In compiling the following short list reference is had chiefly to the descendants of those named. The list given is not given as being complete but will serve to save the names of those given, in connection with this war, from oblivion. Levi J. Knight commanded the troops in this section as major and colonel. He lived all his life in what is now Ber- rien County, but he was closely identified with Clinch County. David Johnson attained the rank of general. He was a cit- izen of this county until his death in 1879. John J. Johnson and John J. North and Daniel E. Knowles were captains. The following served as privates: Bennett, John Emanuel, Acy Lastinger, William Chancey, Jeremiah Griffis, Juniper Miller, Martin L. Carter, Jesse W. Griffis, Joel Miller, David Corbitt, Daniel Henderson, Duncan Mathis, Hillery P. Cornelius, Edward Henderson, Jack Mathis, Edmund Cowart, Hillery Henderson, Berry North, William B. Dickerson, R. G. Johnson, William Newbern, John Daugharty, William Kirkland, John C. Newbern, George W. Daugharty, James Lastinger, Guilford Newbern, Thomas so History of Clinch County, Georgia O'Steen, John Pafford, James Permenter, Barvil Rowell, James Rowell, David Roberts, John T. Roberts, Tharp Roberts, Bill Register, John Register, Guilford Register, David Register, Samuel Sirmans, Joseph Sirmans, Benjamin Sirmans, Abner Sirmans, Jonathan Sirmans, David J. Smith, Lawrence Smith, John, Sr. Smith, John, Jr. Smith, Jesse Smith, David D. Smith, James C. Staten, Barzilla Sweat, James Stafford, Edmund Tomlinson, William Tomlinson, Marcus Tomlinson, Levin Tomlinson, John Walker, John Walker, Wiley CHAPTER III. The Creation of Clinch County. — Act Creating Same. — The Organization. — Bonds of First Officers. — Magnolia. — Set- tlers. — Echols County Created from Clinch County. AFTER reading over the settlers named in the previous chapter and considering the condition of this section ^ about the time the new County of Clinch was created, it will be easy to see that the conditions and the number of cit- izens fully justified the creation of a new county, and the name which was given the new county was for one who well deserved the honor. The new County of Clinch was named in honor of General Duncan L. Clinch, who had just died at his home in Macon. He had been a brave soldier in the War of 1812, and in the Indian wars in Florida during 1836-8, he served as brigadier- general. In the campaign of 1847 ^e was a strong candi- date for governor, but was defeated by Governor George W. Towns, who afterwards by a co-incidence, signed the bill creating a new county in honor of his opponent. General Clinch was born in Edgecombe County, N. C, in 1784, and died in Macon in 1849. For several years he lived in Cam- den County where he was an extensive farmer. Ex-Governor Duncan C. Heyward, of South Carolina, is a grandson of General Clinch. Among those back of the movement to create a new county might be mentioned James W. Staten, Elijah Mattox, John Tomlinson, Jr., and Benjamin Sirmans. Some of the most influential men of Ware and Lowndes Counties were in favor of it. In the Legislature of 1849-50, William A. McDonald was Ware's representative, and George Carter from Lowndes county. A bill was introduced at this session to create Clinch County, and was passed by a small majority on Monday, 32 History of Clinch County, Georgia February 4th, 1850, the vote standing 53 yeas and 49 nays in the House. The records do not show the vote in the Senate, but it was passed and subsequently approved by the governor on February 14th, 1850. ACT CREATING CLINCH COUNTY. The following is a verbatim copy of the act creating Clinch County. Since then, several other laws have been passed which affect the boundary line of the county, notably the creation of Coffee and Echols Counties: "An Act to lay out and form a new county from the coun- ties of Ware and Lowndes and to provide for the organiza- tion of the same. "Section i. Be it enacted by the Senate and House of Rep- resentatives of the State of Georgia in General Assembly met, and it is hereby enacted by authority of the same, that there shall be a new county laid out and formed from the counties of Ware and Lowndes, to be bounded as follows: commenc- ing at the mouth of Cane Creek where it empties into the Okefinokee Swamp, thence along said creek to the ford at Daniel Lane's, thence a direct line to the mouth of Reedy Creek where it empties into the Satilla River near John B. Wall's, then the river to be the line up to the county line, thence the county line to the Allapaha River, thence the river to be the line to the Florida line, to the Okefinokee Swamp; the territory thus included shall form a new county to be called the County of Clinch. "Sec. 2. And be it further enacted, that Elijah Mattox, Simon W. Nichols, Timothy Kirkland, Benjamin Sirmans and John J. Johnson be and they are hereby appointed com- missioners, with authority, at the expense of the new county hereby laid out, to employ a suitable person to run and dis- tinctly mark the lines thereof that are not designated in this Act, and they shall further be authorized and empowered to fix upon the site for the public buildings, which shall be as near the center of the county as is convenient or practicable; HON. S. W. REGISTER Clerk of the Superior Court Clinch County, 1893-1908. THE HOMERVILLE BRASS BAND. Organized 1915. Reading left to right, seated : C. A. Campbell, Flem C. Dame, Folks Hux- ford, E. J. Smith and W. H. Moncrief. Standing, left to right: T. R. O'Steen, Fred Dillon, H. C. Dickerson, George Dillon and J. R. Dillon. History of Clinch County, Georgia 33 and until there is a court-house built the Superior and Inferior Courts, and Court of Ordinary shall be held at the house of Jonathan Knight. "Sec. 3. And be it further enacted, That the commissioners hereinbefore named, shall have power and authority to pur- chase and receive titles to a suitable tract or parcel of land for the site of the public buildings, to lay out a town which shall be called Polk, and to sell and dispose of such number of lots upon such terms as they may think proper for county purposes; provided, nevertheless, the Inferior Court of said county shall have the power and be authorized to do and per- form all and every duty hereby required of the commis- sioners which may not have been performed previous to the time that said court are commissioned and qualified. "Sec. 4, And be it further enacted. That all officers, both civil and military, which may be included within the limits of the said new county, shall continue to hold their offices re- spectively as if commissioned as officers hereof; and said county shall form a part of the First Congressional District, and a part of the fifth Senatorial District and shall be at- tached to the Southern Circuit, and to the second Brigade of the Sixth Division, G. M. "Sec. 5. And be it further enacted, That an election shall be held on the first Monday in April, next, at the house of Jonathan Knight, and at the different election precincts that are established by law which may be included within the limits of the said new county, for five justices of the Infreior Court, clerk of the Superior and Inferior Courts, a tax re- ceiver and collector, coroner and sheriff and a county surveyor. "Sec. 6. And be it further enacted, That the justices of the Inferior Court as soon as convenient after they have been elected and qualified, shall meet at the house of the said Jon- athan Knight and from the best information they may be able to procure, make a selection of grand and petit jurors, and proceed to the drawing thereof as pointed out by law, for the ensuing Superior and Inferior Courts. 34 History of Clinch County, Georgia "Sec. 7. And be It further enacted, That all actions now pending In either of the counties from which said new county is now taken wherein the defendant or defendants may now be Included in said county, shall be transferred with all papers relating thereto and the trial in said new county where the defendant resides. "Sec, 8. And be It further enacted, by the authority afore- said. That all laws and parts of laws militating against this Act, be and the same are hereby repealed. "Approved, February 14th, 1850." THE ORGANIZATION. Pursuant to the above Act passed by the Legislature, the commissioners named therein, viz.: Elijah Mattox, Simon W. Nichols, Timothy KIrkland, Benjamin Sirmans and John J. Johnson, proceeded to employ a suitable person to dis- tinctly run the lines of the new county which were not pointed out in the Act, and to decide on a suitable place for the court- house or county site. Elijah Mattox, one of the commission- ers, who was skilled In surveying, was selected to run the lines of the new county, and with some help the work was soon done. The commissioners met at the house of Jonathan Knight as pointed out In the Act. Mr. Knight lived about two miles north of where DuPont now is, and the house in which he then lived, is now standing, with some modifications, and is occupied by Mr. Charles H. North, who now owns the lot of land on which the house is situated. The house is one of the historic marks of the county, for It was here that the organization of Clinch County was perfected. The commissioners named in the Act were some of the best men In the new county. Elijah Mattox was previously clerk of the Superior Court of Ware County, also a former sur- veyor and representative, and at this time lived on the Florida line at Blount's Ferry. Simon W. Nichols moved here from Jones County, and was a large landowner. He was the father History of Clinch County, Georgia 35 of the celebrated trio of brothers, — John C, William M., and Waver J. Nichols, who played such prominent parts in the future history of the county, Benjamin Sirmans was one of the first settlers of the county and was formerly a repre- sentative from Lowndes County several terms. Timothy Kirkland lived in what is now Coffee County, while John J. Johnson lived down in the vicinity of where Echols County now is. The election for county officers, which the Act above set out, called for, was duly held on the first Monday in April, 1850, and the following officers were elected: J. C, Kirk- land, Clerk of the Superior and Inferior Courts; Charles Cowart, sheriff; Benjamin Cornelius, tax receiver; Ezekiel J, Sirmans, tax collector; David J, Blackburn, surveyor; Joseph L. Rogers, coroner. The following justices of the Inferior Court were elected: David Johnson, Isham F, Johnson, Hiram Sears, and Manning Smith, Although the Act called for five justices, for some reason only four were elected and commissioned. However, in 1852, Francis H. McCall was elected to fill out the term, but for some reason did not qualify, Elijah Mattox was elected surveyor soon afterwards owing to the failure of Blackburn to qualify. BONDS OF FIRST OFFICERS. It might be interesting here to give some particulars of the official bonds given by our first county officers, which is ob- tained from the records in the Executive Department at Atlanta : John C. Kirkland, who was elected clerk of the Superior Court, gave his bond dated June 24th, 1850, with Jonathan Knight and David J. Sirmans as securities; amount $3,000. His bond as clerk of the Inferior Court was given at the same time for $2,000, with Cornelius Joyce, Ezekiel J. Sir- mans and Jacob Lightsey as securities. Benjamin Cornelius did not qualify as tax receiver in 1850, owing to the fact that he was elected in 1849 ^s tax receiver 36 History of Clinch County, Georgia of Ware County for two years. However, in 185 i, he was re-elected and qualified, and his bond, dated February 17th, 185 I, was given for $2,000, with David J. Sirmans, James W. Staten and Jonathan Knig.ht as securities. Ezekiel J. Sirmans did not qualify as tax collector in 1850 for the same reason as Mr. Cornelius, having been elected the year before to the same office in Ware County. Being re-elected in 1851, he gave bond, dated February 17th, 1851, for $2,000, with David J. Sirmans, Josiah Sirmans and James W. Staten as securities. David J. Blackburn, who was re-elected surveyor in 185 i, gave bond dated March 3rd, 185 i, for $3,000, with James Lee and William Hughes as securities. John Mathis, who was elected coroner in 185 i, gave bond dated February 17th, 185 i, for $500, with James W. Staten and Jonathan Knight as securities. MAGNOLIA. The county site, which by the Act creating the county, was to be called Polk, was finally located on lot of land No. 420, in the 12th land district. A part of this lot was deeded to the county to build the county site on. The name "Polk" was first given it, in memory of President James K. Polk, but by an act of the Legislature assented to January 15th, 1852, the name of the county site was changed to Magnolia. It has since borne this name. Magnolia was incorporated by an act of the Legislature approved February 20th, 1854. The corporate limits embraced eighty acres and the town was to be governed by five commissioners. The first court-house was not built at Magnolia until the winter of the year 1852.* The contract last let by the Inferior Court to John and Elias Moore, who built it. The building was quite a small one but amply met the demands of that day. It was destroyed by fire in 1856. It was replaced by another building which was subsequently removed to Homerville. ^'Authority: Mr. J. R. Dickerson. History of Clinch County, Georgia 37 The town of Magnolia was never more than a small vil- lage. It was laid out on land which was drained on either side by small ponds and branches. It was situated as near the center of the county as practicable. There was a main street running through the town, east and west, and public build- ings were situated on the north side of the main street. The main street to-day Is a large lane running through and which divides fields. The fields are not cultivated with the excep- tion of an acre or two by negro tenants. Connecting with the main street on the west was a stage road which ran by where DuPont now Is, and connected with the stage road which ran from Troupville through the northern part of the county to Waresboro. The stage coaches in that day carried the mails and were as much a necessity then as the mail and passenger trains are to-day. Among the first settlers at Magnolia were John L. Mor- gan, who moved there in 1853; '^Iso David O'Quin, Reubin Y. Stanford and Robert F. White. The last three owned and operated stores there for a few years. The following cit- izens served as justices of the peace for the district In which Magnolia was located, during the several years following the creation of the new county; these citizens lived In or near Magnolia: Elliott Chancy, Jesse Smith, Aaron D. Dyals, Henry E. Peacock, Ellas Williams, Levi W. Carter, Abra- ham Strickland and Joseph J. Cohen. Robert F. White, mentioned above, was more familiarly known to his friends as "Bob" White, and occupied a two- story log house for his store and home. He was a justice of the Inferior Court of Clinch County three years. A narrative Is related which brings to mind Mr. White having a store at Magnolia. | In 1855 William M. Nichols who was then a young man, was a candidate for state senator from Clinch County, and General David Johnson, of Indian war fame, who was very popular, was his opponent. The race between them was very hot and there was much speculation JAuthority: Mr. J. B. Cornelius. 38 History of Clinch County, Georgia as to who would be elected. Mr. White was a Nichols sup- porter, while Mr. David O'Quin who also ran a store, was a Johnson supporter. The stores of each one was made the headquarters for the respective adherents of the candidates. There was some strife which took place before the election. It took about two days after the election for all the returns to be received from the different parts of the county. When the vote was consolidated, it was found that young Nichols had defeated General Johnson by four votes. Great was the chagrin of the old fighter when he learned of his defeat, while joy of course pervaded the Nichols party. General Johnson was then about 52 years old, while Mr. Nichols was barely 21. The first Masonic Lodge in the county was established at Magnolia about 1855. When the county site was removed to Homerville the lodge was also removed, and the lodge to-day is known as Cassia Lodge No. 224 F. & A. M. The first worshipful master of the lodge at Magnolia was Hon. John L. Morgan, for many years Ordinary of Clinch County. Other charter members were David O'Quin, George W. Newbern, Jesse Smith, Shimuel Timmerman and Reubin Y. Stanford. The major portion of the records of the lodge was burned up with the burning of DuBignon Institute at Homerville in 1909. The lodge's home was then in the third story of the Institute. The court-house at Magnolia was destroyed in 1856. The cause of the fire was always thought to be incendiary, although no arrests were made. It seemed that a certain party, dis- satisfied with some legal proceedings against him, determined to destroy the court-house in the hope that justice would be thwarted. The records for the previous six years were de- stroyed, entailing a very severe loss on the county both finan- cially and in the value of the records. NEW SETTLERS. Among the settlers who mov^ed into the new county follow- ing its creation were John L. Morgan, Tarlton McMillan History of Clinch County, Georgia 39 and Thomas G. Ramsey, Judge Morgan removed from Lowndes County and settled at Magnolia about 1853. Mr. McMillan came here in the same year. He is yet living at the ripe age of 90. Judge Ramsey moved in from Alachua County, Florida, and resided here until 1875. The O'Quins also settled here about this time. Two brothers, David O'Quin and H. D. O'Quin became quite prominent as county officers. Their father was Silas O'Quin, who lived in Wayne County. He was born July 20th, 1788 and died in 1879, age 91 years. The children of Silas O'Quin were: Stephen, Jackson, H. D., Alexander, David, Charlton, George, Rebecca and Nancy O'Quin. David and H. D. O'Quin were the only ones who ever lived in this county. David D. Johnson also came here about this time. He came here from Dooly County in 1855 ^'""^ settled near the present village of Withers, on the place where S. W. Reg- ister afterwards lived. Mr. Johnson was born January 21st, 1 8 13, and died in 1862, in the Civil War. His wife was Sarah Pate, who died in 1900. They had several children. W. J. Strickland moved here about this time from Tattnall County, where he was born October loth, 1829. His first wife was a daughter of Hiram Sears, but she did not live long after their marriage. Mr. Strickland's second wife was Charity Sears, daughter of Harrison Sears. He died at his home below Homerville, August 3rd, 1907. John W. Hodges came to this county a few years after it was created. He first lived about four miles east of Homer- ville, but during the war bought a home in Homerville and removed to town. His wife was Miss Elizabeth E. Darsey, of Liberty County, to whom he was married February 12th, 1846. Mr. Hodges was born April 30, 1822 and died in Homerville December 26th, 1878. He was survived by his wife who is yet living. Mr. Hodges was a brother to Archi- bald Hodges, and was a member of the Baptist Church, being a deacon for many years previous to his death. James Touchstone and William Touchston were also early 40 History of Clinch County, Georgia settlers, following the creation of the county. The former moved in from where Milltown now is, in 1851 and settled on Cow Creek. His death occurred in August, 1865, ^g^ 7^ years. William Touchston was distantly related to James Touchstone and settled here a few years before. John Q. Findley settled in Clinch County in 1850. He was a native of Tattnall County, and for several years was coroner of Clinch County. He lost his life in the Civil War. Capt. J. P. A. DuPont settled where the town of DuPont now is, about 1858. This illustrious man married a daughter of Simon W. Nichols. He died in 1863. A more detailed sketch of his life will be found elsewhere in this book. Also there was Matthew Fiveash, who moved to near v/here DuPont now is, about 1858. He died about 1886. He married Mary, a daughter of George Dame, Sr. Among his daughters were Mary, who married S, D. Findley, Eliza, who married Lucius Sirmans, Delilah, who married Frank Dick- erson, and Roxie, who married James O. Dampier. Levi Herren, Sr., moved here about this time. He was born in 1796, and was a native of this State. His wife. Charity Sears, was born in 1812. Mr. Herren had several children, among them: Levi Herren, Jr., and Mildred, who married Benjamin O'Steen, Mary, who married J. M. Jef- fords, and Olive, who married Freeman S. Walker, Jackson, who married Jane Arnold, and Mack, who married a Har- greaves. Charles Strickland came to Clinch County in 1849 ^"^ ^^^" tied on Red Bluff Creek on lands now owned by A. J. Lock- liear. He was a native of Pierce County, and married Lucrc- tia, a daughter of Hon. Benj. Sirmans. Robert F. Lanier was a minister of the Methodist Episco- pal Church, and was sent to Clinch County as a circuit lider in 1857. This early pioneer of Methodism of Clinch County was born in DeKalb County and married Miss Matilda Pick- run. He died in 1888 and was buried on the old home place of Dr. L. C. Mattox, near Homerville. History of Clinch County, Georgia 41 Also Ziba King came to this county about this time. He was a native of Ware County and was the first judge of the County Court of Clinch County. He subsequently removed to Desoto County, Florida, where he became very wealthy in the cattle business. He died in 1901. George W. Delk came to Clinch County from Ware just before the Civil War. He served as sheriff of Ware County in 1855-7, ^^^ was later a justice of the peace of the io6ist district. He was born in 1822 and died about 1895. Jonathan L. Morgan came to Clinch County in i860, and settled about ten miles south of Homerville. Here he lived until 1905, when he removed to Waycross. Mr. Morgan was born in 1832 in Appling County, and died May 5th, 1907, in Waycross. He married Susan, daughter of Abr. Hargreaves, of Ware County, and had four children. John C. Hargreaves was a son of Abraham Hargreaves, and was born June 5th, 1835. He married Parthena, a daughter of Thomas Morgan. He lived about ten miles south of Homerville. He came here about i860 and in 1876 removed to Florida, where he died the same year. John Gibbs settled here about 1855 or i860. He married Charity, a daughter of George Dame, Sr., and they had five children, viz. : George D. Gibbs, Willis B. Gibbs, Austin J. Gibbs, Martha E. Gibbs, who married J. B. Cornelius and Catherine, who married Jeptha Hughes. Henry P. Livingston came to this county in 1859 and mar- ried Palester, daughter of John J. North. He accumulated much property and leaving it to his wife and only child, sud- denly disappeared about 1864. He never did reveal where he came from and it has never been ascertained where he went to. His only child was J. H. W. Livingston. John Williams, Sr., was living here when the county was created. He was born in 1800 and his wife in 1798. His wife was Nancy Smith, daughter of William Smith and sister of John, Jesse and James M. Smith. Mr. Williams raised several children, among them being Hezekiah P. Williams, 42 History of Clinch County, Georgia born 1830; Jackson S. Williams, born 1832; John Williams, Jr., born about 1835; and Elias Williams, who served as a justice of the peace in the 970th district a year or two; John Williams, Jr., served one term as representative from Clinch County. ECHOLS COUNTY CREATED. In 1858 Echols County was created by an Act of the Leg- islature, approved December 13th, 1858. The new county was named for General Robert M. Echols, and took a slice of Clinch County territory. The first election was held soon afterwards, and the following officers were elected and were commissioned April 15th, 1859: Jesse P. Prescott, clerk of the Superior and Inferior Courts; James S. Carter, sheriff; James P. Y. Higdon, ordinary; John E. McMuUin, tax re- ceiver ; Samuel E. Prescott, tax collector, James Carter, treas- urer; Duncan McLeod, surveyor and John Sellars, coroner. At the same time were elected the following justices of the Inferior Court: Noah H. Griffin, Robert Prine, John T. Allen, James R. Miller and Joshua T. Carter. Statenville, the county site of Echols County, was named for Capt. James W. Staten, the first representative from Clinch County, and was Incorporated December 13th, 1859, with the following town commissioners : Jesse P. Prescott, John T. Allen, R. W. McAlhaney, Benj. Stalvey and James S. Carter. CHAPTER IV. Homerville Opened Up. — Its History. IN February, 1853, Dr. John Homer Mattox, with his family, moved from their former home on the Suwannee River, near the Florida line, to where Homerville now is. He set to work, built a very substantial home and cleared a farm. The stage route ran by his home and on to Magnolia, and oftentimes the mail carrier would spend the night at Dr. Mattox's home. In fact, a relay of horses was kept at his home by the mail carrier. The stage road after leaving Waresboro, then the county site of Ware County, continued south by where J. C. Kirkland lived, thence across Cain Creek, thence by Hiram Kight's place, then by Dr. Mattox's place, on to Magnolia, and thence to Troupville, then the county site of Lowndes County. The nearest neighbors to Dr. Mattox were John Brack, who lived on what is now called the Stewart place, near Homerville; Robert G. Dickerson, who lived on lot of land 425 above Homerville; Hiram Kight, who lived on lot of land 453 near Homerville; James C. Smith, who lived just across Cain Creek; Abraham E. Smith, who lived on lot 499, and Manning Smith, on lot 424, all these lots being in the seventh land district. About the time he had permanently established his home. Dr. Mattox began to call it "Homerville" and his mail was so addressed him. He called it after his own name, not thinking that later on, a town would be built up on the same lot of land and retain the name. This seems to have been the origin of Homerville's name. However, after the railroad came through, Homerville was designated by the railroad people as "Station No. 1 1," and as such the place was known for a good many years. Gradually the station number name was dropped and to-day is only a memory of the past. Dur- 44 History of Clinch County, Georgia ing this time the mail was generally addressed "Homerville, Station No. ii, A. & G. R. R." Therefore, it can be seen that the original name given it by Dr. Mattox was still in use to a certain extent and has been since he so began to call it. A narrative is related by Hon. John L. Morgan, Jr., who formerly lived here, but who now lives in Lakeland, Fla., concerning the future of Dr. Mattox's place where Homer- ville was later built. It follows : One day in 1853, Dr. Mattox and Mr. John Stalvey were hunting deer on what is called Dogwood Island, which was then owned by Dr. Mattox. This island is a piece of land about a mile from Homerville entirely surrounded by creeks, and is called an island. Mr. Stalvey was one of the men of his time who was really to some extent a prophet. He had prophetic visions which were noted for their accuracy. He had previously lain down under a certain pine tree on this island and had a vision. So as he and Dr. Mattox were hunt- ing, he pointed Dr. Mattox to a certain pine tree and told him to go and look at the root of the tree and see where he (Mr. Stalvey) had lain down the day before and rested. Mr. Stalvey then told him he had had a vision here. Said he : "I saw a long, great road as far as I could see, extending each way (indicating east and west) . I do not know what kind of a road it will be, but I want to remember this incident, and some time, perhaps after I'm dead and gone a road will be run through this land. This is your land and the road will make it very valuable. That is my vision." So in after years when the Atlantic & Gulf Railroad came through this section, it came straight through this land, and tradition has it that the very tree under which Mr. Stalvey had his vision, was dug up to make way for the road. At the time Mr. Stalvey had the vision, the railroad was unthought of. In 1859, the Atlantic & Gulf Railroad was built through as far as where DuPont now is. The next year it was car- ried on through. It was built from Savannah in a south- western direction through territory rich in resources and History of Clinch County, Georgia 45 which had never been opened up. The road was completed to Homerville in the fall of 1859. In order to induce the rail- road people to make his place a station, Dr. Mattox not only granted them a right-of-way through his lands, but gave them a beautiful square of land in the new town, containing about six acres on the south side of the road. The gift is evidenced by a deed dated November 29th, 1859, witnessed by John C. Reynolds and John Screven, J. I. C. and duly recorded. Dr. Mattox immediately set to work to have the county seat removed to Homerville from Magnolia. He had the new town laid off into town lots and encouraged people to move in from other places. Dr. Mattox offered to the In- ferior Court which had jurisdiction over the matter, to move the court-house to Homerville and pay all expenses of the removal and furthermore give the land whereon to place the building. Mr. J. P. A. DuPont, who was then opening up the new town of DuPont or Lawton, as it was then called, also desired the court-house removed to that point, claim- ing Lawton was more centrally located, which was true. But as he did not offer to pay the expenses of the removal, and furthermore a petition was presented signed by about 275 citizens of the county asking the removal of the county site to Homerville, the Inferior Court decided to make Homer- ville the county site. An Act of the Legislature, assented to December 12th, i860, authorized the Inferior Court to remove the county site to Homerville. The body of the Act authorizing the removal, reads as follows : "Whereas, a petition signed by about two hundred and seventy-five citizens of said county, is presented, asking re- moval by the present General Assembly of the State of Geor- gia, of the site of the public buildings of said county, from Magnolia in said county, to Station Number 11, on the At- lantic & Gulf Railroad in said county; "And, Whereas, the Inferior Court have had executed to them a bond with good and sufficient security from one John 46 History of Clinch County, Georgia H. Mattox that the said removal shall be made without expense to the County of Clinch; "Section i. The General Assembly of the State of Georgia do enact, That the Inferior Court of the County of Clinch, upon the passage of this Act, are authorized to remove the site of the public puildings of the County of Clinch from the town of Magnolia, in said county to Station Number 1 1, on the Atlantic & Gulf Railroad, in said county, on lot of land number four hundred and ninety-eight (498) in the 7th district of said county, at such time and upon such terms as they may deem advisable, and to the best interest of said county of Clinch, and the convenience of the citizens thereof." The court-house was moved to Homerville and rebuilt during the winter of 1859-60. John Moore and Martin S. Corbitt contracted to move the building to Homerville and Dr. Mattox employed Mr. Corbitt and Jackson S. Williams to rebuild it. The jail at Magnolia was not moved, and a new one was built at Homerville. The old jail which had only two rooms or cells, was built of good, sound logs and is yet standing on the site of old Magnolia, the most spectral of the relics of our old county site. Among the new comers to Homerville was John C. Kirk- land, who was one of the first to build a little store house of logs; in this he kept a small stock of groceries and liquors. Also Joel Strickland, John L. Morgan, Sr., and John J, John- son built homes here about the same time. The first store house built of planks or sawed lumber was built by John Bryan and Hugh Tedder. In this they placed a good sized stock of merchandise and employed Dr. Mattox to run the business a while until they could arrange their other affairs. Immediately after this store was opened up, Joel Strickland built what in later years was called the Crum House. It had several rooms in it and was from the first used as a hotel. In later years considerable additions were made to it under other OAvners. Mr. Strickland also built a small store house at the History of Clinch County, Georgia 47 same time and a year later sold both the hotel and store to Charles Cowart, who ran them several years. The need for a saw-mill nearby soon developed itself, and Dr. Mattox accordingly began to take steps to build one. He and Cyrus S. Graves, a newcomer, entered into partnership and the machinery was bought in Savannah and put into use in the winter of 1860-61. Dr. Mattox furnished not only the money to finance the undertaking, but also furnished the timber. The mill ran along very smoothly until the outbreak of the Civil War, in the summer of 1861, when Mr. Graves joined the Confederate Army. The mill stopped running for awhile, and Dr. Mattox sold it to a Mr. Latimer, of Savan- nah, who employed James M. Nelms to run it; and Mr. Nelms managed it three or four years when the mill was finally closed down indefinitely. The beginning of the war cast a damper on the growth of the little town and for several years after Homerville was opened up there were only about two or three small stores, and perhaps eight or ten families who lived here. Many older residents of the county remember Homerville when it was only this big. After the county site was moved to Homerville, it became necessary to lay out new public roads leading from the county site, and for this purpose the Inferior Court appointed Fred- erick J. Mills, Dr. Mattox and Manning Smith, who laid out the public roads leading out from Homerville, some of which are in use to the present day. During the war, Dan H. Stewart refugeed to Clinch County from Savannah and settled at Homerville. He served as deputy clerk under David O'Quin, clerk of the Superior Court. He lived here a few years and removed back to Savan- nah after the war, where he died about 1868. Also there v»^as William M. Austin, James C. Cooper, Sylvanus Hitch, J. L. Sweat, Zibe King, George Goette and his son, F. M. Goette, William W. Griffin, John W. Hodges, L. A. Sir- mans, James L. Mitchell, John L. Morgan, Andrew J. and 48 History of Clinch County, Georgia M. M. Caswell, who settled here either during the war or immediately following it. Mr. H. A. Mattox established a store at Homerville about this time. Also A. Loeb and Joseph Wiles, both German Jews, came here and opened up a large mercantile business with a barroom in connection, and for two or three years did a flourishing business. However, they removed about 1870 to Jefferson County, Florida. Mr. E. T. Dukes came to Homerville in 1867, ^^'^ entered the mercantile business. Homerville's legal lights for a few years following the war were Charles S. Morgan, a young lawyer about 25 years of age, L. A. SIrmans, John C. Nichols, J. L. Sweat, who was admitted to the bar in 1869 and Simon W. Hitch, who was admitted in 1870. About 1866, William M. Nichols, together with a part- ner, A. S. Bigelow, opened up a turpentine business about two miles west of Homerville on the south side of the rail- road. This business continued about two years and dissolved. So far as is known, this is the first turpentine still operated in Clinch County, at least in and around Homerville. In 1866, another saw-mill was built at Homerville, on the south side of the railroad. It was owned by W. G. Norwood, while J. B. Porter managed the mill for Mr. Norwood. This business did not continue very long, and Mr. Norwood removed. About 1868, Mr. John L. Morgan, Sr., together with his son, John L. Morgan, Jr., established a steam saw and grist mill at Homerville. It was situated on the town lot whereon Calvitt Huxford now lives. Later Mrs. Amanda R. Strickland and Thomas C. and William R. Morgan became partners in this business. The latter two were sons of John L. Morgan, Sr. This business continued for a few years and for a long time was the only milling place for this part of the county. H. A. Mattox and H. P. Mattox, during the '70s, entered the turpentine and mercantile business in Homerville. At History of Clinch County, Georgia 49 first Charles F. Mattox was a partner, but he died in 1884. The business continued on under the name of H. & H. Mat- tox, and for many years was about the largest business in Homerville. Their two or three stills were situated a few miles from Homerville, while the store was in town. Basil G. O'Bryan owned and operated a general store for a few years previous to his death in May, 1870. He was a native of South Carolina and married Miss Julia Mattox, a daughter of Elijah Mattox. After his death, Mrs. O'Bryan married John A. Whittington. About 1875 a new turpentine business was opened up at Homerville by Holliday, Lane & Company, new comers from South Carolina. Joseph W. Holliday, George B. Lane and Richard Jordan were the partners and the capital invested was $12,000. R. Julius Evans was employed as general manager part of the time they were here. The partners all finally re- turned to South Carolina and removed their business about 1 88 1 Their still was located on the railroad square in town. Homerville's school system was very irregular prior to 1895. The schools were taught by different individuals and sometimes there would be two schools being taught at the same time. About 1894, a movement was started which resulted in the erection of a new school building, which was named DuBignon Institute, in honor of Hon. F. G. Du- Bignon, one of the State's most gifted sons. The land whereon it was built was deeded by Mrs. M. M. Caswell and W. T. Smith to the school trustees, to be used for school purposes. This building was burned down in 1909, and the land reverted back to the owners. More about this school will be found elsewhere in this book. Previous to the erection of the new DuBignon Institute, a small frame house located on the Railroad Square, across the street from the Methodist Church, served as the school house. It was subsequently sold to the colored people, who removed it to another location and used it as a church. The location of this old building was very near a tract of land 105 5© History of Clinch County, Georgia feet each way, which was deeded by Dr. Mattox to some school trustees In 1861 for school and Masonic purposes. The deed is dated June 25th, 1861, and is made to Dr. L. C. Mat- tox, Jacob Watson and Robert F. Lanier as trustees, and the land is described as being on the south side of the east corner of the square belonging to the railroad company. Homerville was first incorporated by an Act of the Legis- lature approved February 15th, 1869. The bill was intro- duced by Mr. Guilford Lastinger, who was then represen- tative from Clinch County. The Act named Allen (N.) Smith, Alfred Newbern, Joel Strickland, John J. Johnson and Basil G. O'Bryan as commissioners of the town to hold office until the first Saturday in January, 1870, at which time an election was to be held for their successors. These commissioners had all the power and authority that is usually vested in a mayor and council. They were to elect one of their number president of their body; after which they were to elect a marshal, treasurer and clerk. A feature about this Act was that all property owners as well as other qualified voters could vote for the election of the town's commissioners. The boundary or limits of the town by this Act reached one- half mile in each direction from the court-house, the boun- dary to be laid off square and parallel with the Atlantic & Gulf Railroad. The limit to which they could tax property in town was fifty per cent, of the State tax. No records are available as to the successors of these com- missioners, other than scattering evidences. In 1876, the president of the commissioners was J. L. Sweat, and the other commissioners were: H. A. Mattox, George B. Lane, Josia.h Sirmans, and W. A. Ecord. The clerk and treasurer was M. M. Caswell and the marshal was John A. Street. In 1883 the town commissioners were: J. L. Sweat, president; M. M. Caswell, W. H. Gary, W. A. Ecord and Sherod Smith. The clerk was Joseph P. Mattox, treasurer was W. T. Smith. Thomas Singleterry was marshal. In 1895 the town commis- History of Clinch County, Georgia 51 sioners were: W. H. Gary, president, B. A. Whittington, George M. Dame, R. G. Dickerson and J. D. Mattox. Homerville was re-incorporated by an Act of the Legisla- ture approved December 23rd, 1896. The corporate limits were placed at three-fourths of a mile in every direction from the court-house, which is the present limits. Under this Act, W. H. Gary was elected mayor, and George M. Dame, R. G. Dickerson, J. D. Mattox and B. A. Whittington were elected councilmen. The charter granted in 1896 remained in force until 1907, when a new charter was granted by the Legislature. Under this Act, Col. S. L. Drawdy was appointed mayor, and W. A. Ecord, W. T. Dickerson, J. T. Dame and S. A. Sweat were appointed councilmen. The town owns the magnificent DuBignon Institute, in the western part of town, but the control of the school, such as the selection of teachers and the raising of revenue for school purposes, is vested in the local school trustees, an auxiliary of the County Board of Education. For the purpose of building this school building, a bond election was held in January, 1 9 10, and as a result the issuing of about $8,000 in bonds was authorized with which to build it. The following is a list of the mayors since 1896: 1 896-1 899— W. H. Gary. 1899-1905 — R. M. Crum. 1905 — A. H. Culpepper (resigned). 1 905-1 906 — G. H. Cornelius. 1 906- 1 907 — S. W. Register. 1 907- 1 909 — S. L. Drawdy. 1909-1911 — H. J. Dame. 1911-1913 — H. J. Peagler. 1913-19 14 — Flem C. Dame (resigned). 1915-1916 — G. A. Gibbs. The following is a list of town clerks since 1895. 1 895-1 896 — J. D. Mattox, 1 896-1 897 — R. G. Dickerson. 52 History of Clinch County, Georgia 1 897-1 905 — J. D. Mattox. 1 905- 1 906 — B. S. Guest. 1 906- 1 907 — R. G. Dickerson. 1 907- 1 909 — W. T. Dickerson. 1909-1911 — J. F. Hughes. 1911-1916 — A. J. Gibbs. The present town council is composed of S. A. Sweat, G. C. Hughes, J. F. Barnhill and S. S. Dillon. The town treasurer and tax collector is A. J. Gibbs. The Bank of Homerville is the only banking institution in the county, and was organized in 1903 with a paid-in capital of $15,000. Since then it has been increased to $25,000. The first officers of the bank were L. O. Benton, president; H. J. Peagler, vice-president; and M. A, McDowell, cashier. Its first directors were: L: O. Benton, H. J. Peagler, M. A. Mc- Dowell, George M. Dame, D. E. Kirkland, and S. C. Town- send. A year or so later Mr. Benton resigned as president and Mr. H. J. Peagler was elected in his stead. Col. W. T. Dickerson was then elected vice-president, which he has held ever since. Mr. Peagler served as president until his death in 1913, after which Col. R. G. Dickerson was elected in his stead, and he is the present president of the bank. The cash- iers of the bank have been as follows: M. A. McDowell, 1903-4; H. L. Lankford, Jr., 1904-5; H. J. Dame, 1905-7; H. M. Peagler, 1907-8; J. F. Hughes, 1908-11, and G. A. Gibbs, 1911-16. The present assistant cashier is H. C. Dickerson. The present board of directors are: R. G. Dick- erson, W. T. Dickerson, W. V. Musgrove, A. J. Gibbs, George M. Dame, J. T. Dame and S. A. Sweat. This bank is a strong institution and enjoys the patronage and confidence of the whole county. It is a State depository. In a commercial way. The Hughes Company ranks among the first in the amount of its business. This concern is a cor- poration incorporated in Brooks County, where it carried on an extensive business prior to its removal here in 191 1. G. C. Hughes, an extensive turpentine operator, and a native of History of Clinch County, Georgia 53 North Carolina, is president, and G. O. Carroll, a native of Lowndes County, is secretary and treasurer and general manager. Another concern which carries on a large business is Dame Brothers, a partnership composed of Messrs. George M. and John T. Dame. This is the oldest existing establishment in Homerville, having been organized in 1890. Mr. J. T. Dame has served Clinch County as ordinary since 1905, while his brother has served two terms as county treasurer. Other old establishments are Preston Williams, who has been one of the town's merchants since about 1904; and Homerville Drug Company, Dr. J. G. Colwell, proprietor, which has been in business here since 1906. Besides these, there are S. A. Sweat & Company, general store; Sweat Feed Company, hay and grain; A. N. Cars- well, general store; R. M. McLaughlin, market; J. Leon Pafford, market; Homerville Grocery Company, E. D. Brin- son, proprietor, groceries; Clinch County Drug Co., B. E. Blitch, proprietor; Homerville Hardware & Furniture Com- pany, T. R. O'Steen, proprietor; and the City Bakery, Dr. L. S. Malone, proprietor. A modern garage is operated by Mr. H. M. Peagler, who has the agency for the Ford automobiles for this county. The town's telephone system was established in 19 10 by H. J. Dame, who sold it out in January, 19 14, to Claude Harvey, of Bronwood, Ga. Mr. Harvey removed here and took charge of the business. It is now under the manage- ment of the Homerville Telephone Company, a partnership composed of Mr. Harvey and W. J. Barlow. Their tele- phone lines penetrate Mud Creek district, and extend to every district in the county except Withers' and Moore's mill dis- tricts. There is also an automobile delivery business in con- nection with the telephone business. In 19 13-4, an electric light and water plant was installed by Messrs. J. F. Barnhill and J. H. Ferdon, two of the town's most substantial citizens. This need has been realized in 54 History of Clinch County, Georgia Homerville for several years and its advent was much desired. The water is pumped from a distance of about nine hundred feet beneath the surface of the ground. There are about twenty-six street lights, which are maintained by the town. As yet the town has no sanitary system. Elsewhere in this work will be found descriptions of Homerville's two fine churches and of its magnificent school building. These buildings are monuments to the town and would be a credit to much larger towns. Homerville's postmasters for the last twenty-five years, are few. Dr. Mattox, in the days of the stage-coach, was his own postmaster, before the town came into existence. For many years during and following the war, the two positions of postmaster and railroad and express agent was consoli- dated. Joel Strickland held this position here several years after the war, as did also Abraham Mallette. About 1875 to 1 88 1, Josiah Sirmans was postmaster. After him was Sherod Smith, who died in 1891. The next postmaster was S. A. Sweat, who served until about 1894. Mrs. D. C. Gil- lican was postmistress until 1898, when D. E. Kirkland was was appointed. Mr. Kirkland was postmaster for fifteen years, or until his death, November 30th, 19 13. Folks Hux- ford then served a few months as acting postmaster, when Flem C. Dame was appointed and took charge in April, 19 14. He is the present postmaster. THE LIFE OF JOHN H. MATTOX. The founder of Homerville, John Homer Mattox, was a son of Col. Elijah Mattox, and was born in Tattnall County, March 26th, 1827. When he was quite a young boy, his father moved to Ware County, where they settled. The country was then wild, having no railroads, and was sparsely settled, but under the lead of such men as John H. Mattox, has grown wonderfully and has been developed very much. Colonel Mattox (Elijah Mattox), in the course of time was granted much land from the State, lying in this History of Clinch County, Georgia 55 county. Among his many lots were the two on which Homer- ville is now located. These two lots eventually came into pos- session of John Homer Mattox, at the death of his father, along with other lots. This was about 1857. Homer Mattox doubtlessly saw the future of a town which might be built on this land. A railroad was coming its way and the site was very near the center of the county. About 1859 the town was begun. Among his public gifts, Mr. Mattox gave six acres of land to the railroad as a means of inducing them to make his place a station. Another was the court-house grounds. While he never practiced his profession very much, yet he was a physician of no little attainments. His brother. Dr. L. C. Mattox, lived near town, and was a physican also. Dr. Mattox's home was a very unpretentious one, located in the southern part of town. It was built in a square shape, out of good lumber. The proof of the stability of the house is seen in the fact that it withstood the attacks of time for about fifty years. The land is now owned by Mr. J. F. Patterson. Mr. Mattox's wife was Miss Lucinda M. Sheffield. Their children were: Ruby; Tonnie, who married W. A. Norman; Emma, who married Thomas Fogarty ; B. E. Mattox; Lucius W. Mattox; Belle, who married William Parker; Homer O. Mattox; Jefferson D. Mattox, and William S. Mattox. His death occurred in Homerville, February i8th, 1895. He was buried in the Homerville cemetery. CHAPTER V. The Civil War Period. — Lists of Troops From Clinch County. — The Surrender. — Immigrants to Clinch County. WHEN Abraham Lincoln was elected President of the United States in i860, it became apparent that the North and the South was hopelessly divided. As a result the State of South Carolina seceded in December, i860, and following this the Legislature of Georgia called a State convention of delegates to be elected by the people, to decide whether Georgia should secede from the Union or not. In Clinch County, Hon. Benjamin Sirmans and Hon. T. G. Ramsey were elected as delegates to the convention and instructed to vote for secession. These gentlemen were prom- inent citizens of the county and had the welfare as well as the rights of their State and county at heart. Mr. Sirmans was an early pioneer of the county, settling here in 1822, and was a former State senator, while Mr. Ramsey had been living here since 1853, ^^^ was subsequently a justice of the In- ferior Court. When the convention met at Milledgeville on the i6th of January, 1861, with ex-Governor George W. Crawford as president, eloquent and fiery speeches were made for and against secession. On the final test vote, it was found that 164 delegates favored secession, while 133 favored co-oper- ation with the fifteen other Southern States in securing con- stitutional guarantees for the protection of their rights and property. Following the result of the vote, Georgia was then declared a free and independent republic, while the peo- ple saw that an inevitable war would soon be on hand. In February, 1861, the Southern Confederacy, ill-fated though it was, was formed and Georgia entered it and thus became one of the Confederate States. It having become apparent that war was at hand, com- History of Clinch Comity, Georgia 57 panics of volunteer troops were organized over the State. In Clinch County, a company was formed at Stockton in July, 1 86 1, which left for the front on July 31, 1861. It was attached to the 29th Georgia Regiment and known as Co. *'H." Francis M. Jackson was elected captain. A few months later another company was formed of Clinch and Ware County men. It was under the command at first of Col, William A. McDonald, and attached to the 26th Georgia and known as Co. "K." Still a few months later another company was formed of Clinch County men at Homerville. It was organized March 4th, 1862, and left for the front the 3rd of April. This company was under command of Captain John Riley O'Steen and was designated as Co. "G," 50th Georgia Regiment. On the ist of January, 1863, another company was made up at Homerville, which was attached to the 4th Georgia Cavalry and known as Co. "I." It was under the command of Col. John C. Nichols, who served throughout the war in this capacity. Other companies in which many Clinch County men en- listed were: Co. "G," 29th Georgia; Co. "I," 29th Georgia; Co. "C," 22nd Georgia Artillery; Co. "G," 51st Georgia Regiment; Co. "H," 4th Georgia Cavalry, and Co. "I," 12th Georgia regiment. The 29th Regiment was under the command of Col. W. J. Young and later Col. R. Spaulding. The 50th Georgia was under the command of Col. W. R. Manning, later Col. Peter McGlashan. The 26th Georgia was under the command of Col. Carey W. Styles, later Col. Edmund N. Atkinson, of Camden County, and the 4th Georgia Cavalry was under the command of Col. Duncan L. Clinch, Jr., of Camden County. During the war, this county was not invaded by any Fed- eral troops; no battles were fought here and in this respect the people fared better than those who lived in the northern part of the State. Many people came to this county from other sections, "refugeeing," as it was known. Supplies be- 58 History of Clinch County, Georgia came very scarce and great suffering was found on nearly every hand for the want of the necessities of life. The "women-folks" and the slaves had to attend to the farm and raise the crops. Towards the last part of the great struggle, the age limit was extended out each way so as to take in all the available men of the Confederacy. Boys as young as sixteen, and men as old as sixty, were taken into the army, and many of our older men of the present day joined the Confederate Army when only lads. In 1863, when President Lincoln issued his emancipation proclamation, setting free the slaves of the seceding States, many of the slaves on the farms of Clinch County refused to go, and stayed on with their old masters. Among the slave-owners who were heavily effected by the freeing of the slaves were James C. Smith, William Register, Robert B. Crum, Benjamin Sirmans and his sons, John Tomlinson and Charles Strickland. LISTS OF TROOPS. The lists which are herewith given of the different com- panies that went from Clinch County, is given as gathered from various sources. It will be found to be reliable and in practically all cases is authentic. Those which are marked with an (*) were killed or lost in the war. Clinch County lost many good men in this war. Their ashes rest on the battlegrounds of the past and the memory of their heroic and patriotic devotion to a lost cause will serve to ever keep alive in the breasts of Clinch County men and women, love and reverence for the cause in which they and their comrades fought and died, and also to perpet- uate in the hearts of our people the memory of the glorious deeds and examples of self-sacrifice which were done and made time and again in the interest of their cause and their countrv. History of Clinch County, Georgia 59 <<y^>> CO. G 29TH GEORGIA INFANTRY. This company was organized of men, chiefly citizens of Berrien County, but had several Clinch County men in it. Only the names of a few privates from Clinch County are given : Captain : Levi J. Knight, later Edward Carroll. Lieutenants : Jasper Roberts, Simeon Griffin and John Hall. Privates : Mathis, James Touchston, Hardy Giddens, Matthew Mathis, Zachary Touchston, Richard Giddens, Moses Mathis, Ezekiel Powell, John W. McCranie, John Bradford, Clinton Powell, William McCranie, Richard Bradford, Berry Knight, George Touchston, Charles Bradford, Brinson CO. "k" 29TH GEORGIA REGIMENT. This company was organized chiefly in Berrien County, and was composed of men from Berrien, Lowndes and Clinch Counties. The list given below consists of only a portion of the company; not all is obtainable. The company was or- ganized in 1 861 at Milltown, in Berrien County. After it arrived at the front, it was reorganized and attached to the 4th Georgia as Co. "H." Many changes were made in the personnel of the company before the war closed. Officers elected before the reorganization : John C. Lamb, captain. James W. Staten, 1st Lieut. Jonathan Knight, 2nd Lieut. Zack Parrish, 3rd Lieut. Officers elected at the reorganization : Thomas S. Wiley, captain. James H. Carroll, 1st Lieut. James W. Howell, 2nd Lieut. James H. Dasher, 3rd Lieut. Thomas F. Morgan, 1st Sergeant. C. S. Touchston, 2nd Sergeant. Burrill Bailey, Corporal. 6o History of Clinch County, Georgia Other sergeants were: Richard Tucker. Robert Chisholm E. A. Carter. Perry Zeigler. Other corporals were: J. w . Carter. John L. Tison. William Martin. Privates : Arnold, C. W. Fletcher, Gerry Mahon, David D. Allen, Hansford Findley, A. B. Nix, John Alderman, Richard Griffin, William Purvis, Babe Ansley, Joseph Gray, Jack Parmer, Alex. Baker, William Hightovver, Byrd Parmer, William Bryant, J. E. Harper, Jackson Roberts, William Byrd, William Howell, W. T. Rentz, Artemus Bevel, Granville Hurst, Dan Ross, James Baset, Jackson Herren, Charles Sirmans, Harris Clayton, Malidge Hewett, John Sirmans, Hardeman Clayton, Alford Johnson, J. S. Sirmans, Winfield Cook, Charles Jones, Thomas Swilley, Isham Clements, Walton Jones, Dr. Stuart, Thomas Clements, David Knight, John W. Touchston, William Chisholm, James Kinard, James Touchston, C. S. Carter, N. A. Lovejoy, J. L. Tomlinson, James Carter, Moses Lightsey, Geo. Tatum, George J. Carter, J. J. Lightsey, Samuel Tison, Simeon Collier, Henry Locke, John Tison, William Chandler, John Money, John A. Tucker, Richard Dees, Dan McMiilen, John Varns, Samuel Dees, Isaac McFadden, Isaac Vining, Jesse Duff, Mikell Morgan, E. C. Vining, John Duggan, Arch Moore, Levi Watson, J. W. Dasher, Thomas Martin, James Watson, Jacob Putch, Reubin Miley, Wilburn F. Waldron, L. 0. G. Futch, John Morgan, David Wisenbaker, A. D. Prazier, Byrd Moody, Thomas Wisenbaker, J. S. Pletcher, Samuel Moreland, Tige Youlds, Robert CO . "h " 2QTH GEORGIA REGIMENT. This company was organized at Stockton in 1861. After it arrived at the front a reorganization was had and new of- ficers elected. This regiment saw much hard service in the battles around Atlanta in 1864, '" which numbers of its men were lost. History of Clinch County, Georgia 6i Officers elected at Stockton : Francis M. Jackson, Captain. Jonathan Knight, 1st Lieut. L. H. Roberts, 2nd Lieut. D. C. Lancaster, 3rd Lieut. Officers elected at reorganization : Reubin Y. Stanford,* Captain. W. H. O'Neal, 1st Lieut. Matthew Roberts, 2nd Lieut. Colonel W. Corbitt, 3rd Lieut. Privates : Burkhalter, James Booker, James* Byce, John* Byron, J. W. Corbitt, Monroe Corbitt, C. W. Corbitt, Reubin* Carson, Thomas Cartledge, Wiley* Clements, Lewis Cameron, E. L. F. Cameron, Dr.* Carter, Jesse W.* Corbitt, Newsom* Daugharty, Arthur Daugharty, Henry Dame, James W. Daugharty, James Dunaway, Zephaniah'' Dorminy, John Douglas, Millender* Dawson, Cornelius* Fiveash, George Fiveash, John* Green, Solomon* Green, Henry* Goff, James* Hart, Jesse Hilliard, John* Harnage, E. M.* Higgs, Elisha Higgs, Robert* Higgs, Jasper* Harnage, Guilford Hall, Jesse Henderson, Jim Johnson, William* Johnson, Bryant* Johnson, Joseph Jones, J. H. Johnson, W. P* Johnson, James* Jacobs, John* Kinard, George* Lightsey, C. B. Lastinger, Charles* Lastinger, James* Lastinger, Andrew* Lancaster, Acy* Love joy, Nathan* Lieman, Lewis* Lefler, * McCardle, Randle Mims, James McGill, Peter* North, Ephriam* North, Caliph* Nicholson, William* Newbern, Ashley* Newbern, Berry* Oliver, Charles* Permenter, James* Permenter, L. A.* Permenter, Wright* Roberts, Thomas* Roberts, Sherod Roberts, Steve* Reddish, Joshua* Stewart, Joshua Staten, Samuel Sherley, Jesse G.* Storeman, John Stanford, Mitchell* Sirmans, Abner Sutton, Moses Tomlinson, Moses Tomlinson, Guilford* Tomlinson, Levin Tomlinson, John G. Tomlinson, Aaron Tomlinson, Sherod Touchston, Steve Timmerman, John* Vining, Judson* Vining, James* Watson, John Worth, Wm. W.* Wandle, John Walden, Svlvester Waldron, L. 0. G. Wilson, John CO. G 5OTH GEORGIA REGIMENT. This company was raised at Homerville and organized March 4th, 1862. It was attached to Mercer's Brigade, and saw much service at Chancellorsville, Boonesboro, Freder- icksburg, Gettysburg and other battles that Lee's army was in. 62 History of Clinch County, Georgia Captains: Lieutenants : Sergeants : Corporals : Privates John R. O'Steen,* Isaac Burkhalter.* Quarterman B. Staten. Quarterman B. Staten. Jacob Watson. Lyman A. Simians. William Roberts. Augustus Brack. John Sirmans.* Jacob S. Lightsey. Isaac Burkhalter.* Enoch Tomlinson. C. W. Curry. Mark Henderson. Augustus Brack. Guilford T. Lastinger William M. Austin. Martin S. Corbitt. Joseph Tomlinson.* Guilford A. Register. David Lastinger, John Sirmans.* Arnold, Henry* Arnold, Madison Alcox, Jesse Baxley, William R. Brady, John* Brady, Thomas A. Brady, Robert N. Brady, Lewis J. Brady, Samuel E.* Brady, Samuel* Bennett, William Bennett, James Bostic, Jesse S. Brown, William Bass, Archibald* Bass, David Brack, Washington* Chancey, Samuel Clemmons, James Cornelius, George Cowart, Kindred Corbitt, Manning* Corbitt, William* Douglas, James Griffis, Samuel Griffis, Eli* Guthrie, James* Griffin, Enoch Hunter, Madison* Hall, Fleming Hart, Berrien Harnage, George Harnage, Jerry* Harnage, Jacob Hughes, Isaac* Holland, Redding* Johnson, W. A. P. Johnson, William Johnson, John Johnson, Riley Johnson, Thomas Jewell, Reubin Jones, Abner* Kirby, William Leggett, George Moore, William N. Minshew, Jacob Mizell, William* Nipper, Hiram Nipper, Joel* Register, S. W. Register, John T. Register, G. A. Roberts, James Roberts, Moses* Roberts, John* Roberts, Mark* Roberts, Isham Register, Miles Royals, William Riggs, William Smith, A. N. Sears, Hiram* Sears, James Starling, Tharp* Starling, Raymond History of Clinch County, Georgia 63 Sirmans, Lewis* Stalvey, Moses Smith, Sirmans* Thomas, Colon Tomlinson, Harris Tonilinson, Nelion* Tomlinson, Thomas Vining, Jasper Walker, Henry- Walker, Joseph Whitehurst, Jackson Weaver, Peter* Waters, James Waters, Mack CO. I 4TH GEORGIA CAVALRY. This company was organized at Homerville, January ist, 1863. It was attached to the 4th Georgia Cavalry under the command of Col. Duncan L. Clinch, Jr., of Camden County. This command was in the battles around Atlanta and also participated in the battle at Olustee, Fla. The following were its officers : John C. Nichols, Captain. Ezekiel J. Sirmans, 1st Lieut. George W. Newbern, 2nd Lieut. Harrison Jones, 3rd Lieut. John G. Tomlinson, 1st Sergeant. F. M. Jackson, 2nd Sergeant. Peter Williams, 3rd Sergeant. Privates : Aldridge, C. Aspinwall, Matthew Aspinwall, A. J. Bailey, B. H.* Byron, Charles Byrd, Jesse Burch, Charles Bowen, William Box, John Box, William Bennett, Wm. M.* Byrd, W. M.* Byrd, Parker Bland, Timothy* Cornelius, Edward* Carter, W. M. Cook, Charles Cox, James Cohen, W. M. Courson, John Carter, John Crawford, Reubin Chancey, G. W. Carver, Gabriel R. Cribb, Riley Dryden, Aldridge Dryden, Arch Dryden, B. C. Dyal, Aldridge Dyal, David Dickerson, J. R. Chancey, W. H, Fulwood, J. W. Faircloth, W. M.* Griffis, Elias Griffis, William Griffis, Joel G. Guess, Crawford Harris, G. W. Hall, Seaborn Gale, Thomas Herren, Jackson Hargraves, William Hargraves, Hope Hargraves, Sidney Hargraves, John C. Harris, James Higgs, Elisha Herndon, Isham Johnson, Riley Jones, John Johnson, William* Jewell, Levi Johnson, Robert Kight, Cuyler Kight, Henry Lee, James Murray, Isaac Murray, S, E. McDonald, Terry Mathis, H. P. Morgan, Lemuel* Morgan, Alex. Morgan, Joseph* Morgan, Thomas C. Martin, James* Martin, L. D. Morgan, J. T. Meeks, W. M. Meeks, H. Meeks, M. Norman, Richard G. Nail, J. Ryals, Robert Rich, John Rich, G. B. Roberts, S. Petty, John B. Stone, John Sikes, Joe Smith, J. H. 64 History of CUnch County, Georgia Smith, Willis Smith, C. H. Sirmans, B. J. Swain, Joel Stewart, Wm. Sears, John Stephens, John Starling, Wm. Skinner, Randal Strickland, C. Skinner, M. Thomas, T. E. Thomas, J. D. Thomas, W. M. Treist, Samuel Teston, James Thomas, Dave White, G. W. Williams, Elias Walker, F. S. Walker, W. M.* Walker, J. C* CO. "k" 26th GEORGIA INFANTRY. This company was organized of men from Clinch and Ware Counties, in 1861, and saw service in Virginia, The first captain was William A. McDonald, while Cuyler W. Hilliard was later elected. Both were residents of Ware County, while Thomas J. Ivey, the last captain, was at this time a resident of Clinch. Captain Ivey is buried in the old cemetery at Waycross. Captains William A. McDonald. Cuyler W. Hilliard. Thomas J. Ivey. First Lieutenants: Cuyler W. Hilliard. Thomas J. Ivey. John L. Morgan, Jr. John T. Harris. B. L. McLendon.* Second Lieutenants: Privates : William Miller. Vinson A. Hodges. Alcox, Jesse* Alcox, Henry* Agee, William Agee, John Box, Allen Box, Richard A. Agee, Andrew Box, Joseph Bailey, Aaron Bailey, Tharp Bailey, Joseph Boatright, C. J. D. Booth, James Booth, William* Booth, Jesse Bennett, Tom Bennett, D. H. Bennett, Randall Bennett, John Bennett, Martin Carmichael, John Carmichael, D. C. Courson, Pliney W. Courson, John T. Cason, B. Chauncey, John M. Chavmcey, Samuel Chauncey, Mark* Griffis, Joel Goette, Allen Goette, Jeff Hodges, Vinson A.* Hodges, Francis M.* Henderson, Andrew J. Henderson, J. T. Holt, Greenberry Harris, Joseph Hall, Bill Hall, Hiram Howell, Joe* Inman, James M. Johnson, Benj. H. J. PEAGLER Mayor of Homerville President of the Bank of Homerville and benefactor of the Homerville Methodist Church. Died 1913. R. G. DICKERSON Elected Representative 1914 and Elected State Senator 1916. History of Clinch County, Georgia 65 Jones, John* Jovce, William Jefferds, J. M. Kight, John Kight, James M. Miller, James* Moore, Elias L. Morgan, Martin Z. Morgan, Thomas F. Morgan, Hampton Morgan, Lemuel* McLendon, Ephriam Miller, Tom Miller, James M. Miller, John H. Murray, S. C. Nettles, James Nettles, Thomas Nunez, W. P. Nunez, Cole Riberon, David M. Roberts, Gray* Rowland, Bill Strickland, W. J. Smith, William Smith, Harrison* Smith, Lawrence Smith, Moses Smith, Manning Smith, Lewis Smith, Benjamin Smith, James M. Smith, Daniel Smith, Wade Smith, Allen Smith, Charles Smith, Alfred Stephens, James Sears, Hiram, Jr. Sweat, Farley Sweat, John F. Sweat, Rowland Sauls, Holliday Sauls, O. J. Summerlin, Payton Summerlin, Julius Summerlin, John Sweat, John, Jr. Tooten, Alex. WilHams, H. P. Williams, ^. S. Williams, Bill* Wilkerson, Jack White, Tom* JOHN R. O STEEN. John Riley O'Steen was one of Clinch County's ablest men and had he survived the war, it is probable that he would have achieved renown other than military honors. As it was, he gave his life in the interest of the Confederacy. He was born in Ware County, about 1825. His educa- tion was such as could be acquired from his parents or neigh- bors, as schools were practically unknown to this section. He grew up to be a fearless young man, energetic and industrious. By hard dint he accumulated several lots of land and other property. He married Miss Jane James about 1850, and had the following children: Eliza (Monk), Benjamin, Jon- athan, James A., Mariah (Bass) , Bryant and Daniel O'Steen. All these sons grew up to be among the county's best citizens. In 1858, Mr. O'Steen was narrowly defeated by John Wil- liartis for representative from Clinch County. The Civil War coming on, Mr. O'Steen joined himself to the cause with great fervor. In 1862 he joined Co. "G" 50th Georgia, and he was elected captain of his company. This regiment took part in all the important battles of the Army of Northern Virginia. At the battle of Boonesboro, Md., Sep- tember 4th, 1862, Mr. O'Steen was wounded quite seriously, and died on the 23rd of the same month. His service in the 66 History of Clinch County, Georgia army was limited by death to six months and nineteen days. He was survived by his wife and seven children, the oldest of whom was hardly in her 'teens. REUBEN Y. STANFORD. Reuben Y. Stanford was a son of David Stanford, and was born in 1831. He was a brother-in-law to Hon. S. W. Reg- ister. He was commisisoned a justice of the peace of the 1058th district, then of Clinch but now of Echols County, April 4th, 1855, and re-commissioned Jan. 15th, 1857. In 1852 he was defeated for State senator by Benjamin Sir- mans, by seven votes. Mr. Stanford ran a store at Mag- nolia for a few years previous to the war. In 1 86 1 he joined the company of troops which was being organized at Stockton. At the re-organization of the com- pany, Mr. Stanford was elected its captain and served in this capacity until 1864. At the battle of Franklin, Tenn., he was seriously wounded in the leg and according to some, was captured and taken to a Federal hospital, where he died. Other versions are that he was not captured, but dis- appeared very mysteriously. He has never been heard of since and the account first given is regarded as the more probable of the two. ISAAC BURKHALTER. Isaac Burkhalter was a son of Hon. Richard H. Burk- halter and was born about 1830. He came with his father to this county about 1845, ^^'^ ^^ 1^57 was elected Justice of the Peace of the 586th district. He served four years. In 1862 he joined Company "G" 50th Georgia, of which John R. O'Steen was captain. In 1862 he was elected captain of his company following the death of Captain O'Steen. He was captain of his company at the battle of Gettysburg, and was killed. Thus another distinguished son of Clinch County was given up on the altar of Southern rights. History of Clinch County, Georgia 67 OTHER CAPTAINS. The other captains who were citizens of this county, viz. : John C. Nicholls, Quarterman B, Staten, Francis M. Jack- son, served the people in various public offices, and their lives are treated elsewhere in this book. Captain Thomas J. Ivey resided at Homerville for a few years following the war, but at his death lived in Ware County. He is buried in the old cemetery at Waycross. THE SURRENDER. On April 9th, 1865, General Robert E. Lee, commander- in-chief of the Confederate Army, surrendered his army to the Federals, and was followed a few days later by General Joseph E. Johnston. By the first of June all the Confed- erates had surrendered, and thus the great war came to a close, leaving the whole South destitute and exhausted. IMMIGRANTS. During the war and for a few years following, there was a steady influx of new settlers. This county escaped the ter- rors of an invading army, which may account for the new citizens to some extent. Robert B. Crum removed to Clinch County and settled near Homerville in 1862. He came from Camden County. He and his wife were devoted members of the Methodist Church, and soon after their removal here organized about the earliest Sunday School in the county. Abraham Mallette was a relative of Mrs. Crum's, and came here from Camden County during the war. He was station agent here awhile. Thomas D. Hawkins also removed to this county during the war, from Camden County, and settled at Stockton. He was appointed ex-officio J. P. there in 1872, and held that office two terms, after which he removed back to Camden County. He was subsequently Mayor of St. Mary's a few years. 68 History of Clinch County, Georgia Henry H. Tullis "refugeed" to this county during the war, and settled in the vicinity of Homerville. He, like the other settlers, brought much property into the county, such as slaves, etc. He was born September 23rd, 18 18, and his wife's name was Miss Rebecca Isabella Ferns. They had several children, three of whom, E. M. and W. L. Tullis and Mrs. William Saunders, now live in this county. Mr. Tullis died in 1892. Alexander, Lewis and Robert S. Holtzendorf also came here during the great struggle, and settled at Stockton. They likewise came from Camden County. Alexander Holtzen- dorf was born in 1808 and died in 1887 at Stockton, where he is buried. His son, Robert S. Holtzendorf, was born in 1839 ^^^ was ex-officio J. P. at Stockton a few years prior to his death in 1892. James A. Holtzendorf, a son of R. S. Holtzendorf, is now and had been for many years railroad agent at Stockton. Daniel H. Stewart came to this county about 1863 and settled near Homerville. He served as deputy clerk under Clerk David O'Quin, and about 1867 removed back to Chatham County, where he shortly afterwards died. His wife, Elendor, survived him. William Gaines removed here about 1864, and settled in the Magnolia district. He lived on the lot of land whereon Mr. M. S. Eason now lives. Mr. Gaines was a native of Ireland, and served as county surveyor three years. He removed to Savannah about 1875. John G. Norton settled at Stockton about 1865, and engaged in the mercantile business, later in the saw-mill business. He was for many years a deacon of the Mis- sionary Baptist Church at Stockton. In 1861;, John L. Courson removed to this county from Charlton County, and settled in the Magnolia district. Next year he was commisisoned a justice of the peace of the 970th district. Joel L. Sweat came to Homerville in 1866, and the next History of Clinch County, Georgia 69 }ear was elected a justice of the peace. He was admitted to the bar in 1869, and Hved here about twenty years. He married a daughter of Sylvanus Hitch, of Homerville. Also about the same time E. T. Dukes located at Homer- ville and entered the mercantile business. In 1874 he re- moved to Quitman, Ga. He served one term as clerk of the Superior Court. Also about the same time, George Dame, Sr., and George A. Dame, his son, settled in this county. The elder Dame died in 1867, while the latter was subsequently elected Sur- veyor of Clinch County. John J. Drawdy removed to Clinch County in 1869 from Charlton County, and settled about three miles from Homer- ville. In 1 9 14 he removed into town, where he is now living, at the age of 86. His first wife was Elizabeth, daughter of James Patten, of Berrien County, and a grand-daughter of Joshua Lee, an old settler of Clinch County. His sons, C. C. and S. L. Drawdy are prominent citizens of Homerville. James Dampier and his family removed to this county about 1866 and settled several miles above Stockton. They came from Brooks County. A son, James O. Dampier, is now living, while a daughter, Angie, married George D. Gibbs, later J. J. Drawdy. The elder Dampier was born August 1st, 1823, and died July 15th, 1880. William W. Griffin, a Methodist minister, came to Homerville during or very soon after the war. He was sub- sequently elected Ordinary of Clinch County. He died in DeKalb County in 1879. Peter A. Herviant came to DuPont or Lawton as it was then called, shortly after the war, and served as station agent there for about forty years. He married the widow of J. P. A, DuPont. Mr. Herviant died in 1907. He was a native of Macon, Ga. In 1867 Thomas Jones settled in this county. He was the father of John C. Jones, for many years tax receiver of yo History of Clinch County, Georgia Clinch County, and of Thomas N. Jones. They were natives of Sampson County, N. C. Malcolm C. Futch came to this county from Berrien County about 1871, and settled in the Magnolia district. He married Amanda Smith, a daughter of Peter Smith, and had several children. He is yet living at the age of 80. In 1869, Solomon Mobley removed to this county and settled on the Suwannee River. He came from Appling County, where he was born March 13th, 1822. His wife was Mary Mann, and they lived in Appling County at Mann's Ferry on the Altamaha River. At the time Mr. Mobley removed to the Suwannee River, it was a wild, un- developed country, and no roads. He took the old trail established during the Indian war and built a log house down there to live in. It was not supplanted with a frame house until the advent through that section, about 1900, of the G. S. & F. R. R. Mr, Mobley raised eleven children, eight of whom are living. He died May 4th, 1907, and is buried at the North cemetery. John W. Langdale was a prominent citizen and early settler of the 1219th district. For many years this section of the county was very sparsely populated, even after the Civil War. The country was very wild, but of late years has been wonderfully developed. Mr. Langdale was born in Echols County in i860. He came to this county in 1884, and settled near where Council, Georgia, now is. His wife was Miss Nancy Burnsed; they had eight children. His son, John J. Langdale, is now a member of the Board of Education of Clinch County, and another son, Harley Langdale, is a prominent lawyer of Valdosta, where he was in 19 1 6 elected recorder of the police court. Mr. Langdale, Sr., died June 14th, 191 1. He had accumulated much prop- erty and was a highly esteemed citizen. His family was originally from South Carolina and settled first in Cam- den County, later in Echols County. I CHAPTER VI. Condition of the County Following the Close of the War. — Politics. — Condition of the County Treasury. — Burning of Court-House. — New Jail. — The History of DuPont. — The History of Stockton, — Temperance. 4 FTER the great war closed, it left this portion of the AA South like the rest, desolate. But the people soon set to work with vim and energy to rebuild their burned homes and reclaim that which was lost and destroyed. The husbands and fathers lost in the war were replaced by growing sons, and the women took hold of the plow-handle and strived to earn a livelihood for the family with as much determination as the men. Clinch County shared in the desolation brought on by the war. Although there were no battles fought here, nor any armies encamped here, still the keenness of the war's desolation was felt. It was with the hardest difficulty that the people managed to pay the taxes for several years following the war. In many counties the time for collecting tax was extended for nearly a year beyond the regular time. In this county the grand juries at different terms of the Superior Court recom- mended that grand jurors receive one dollar per day for their services. At one term of the court it was recommended that no jury scrip be issued at all on account of the condition of the treasury. In i860, the value of property in Clinch County was, ac- cording to the tax books, $1,304,429. In 1868, the value was $448,257, a decrease of 65 per cent. The County had not fully recovered from it in 1884, for the value of property that year was only $792,484. The tax digest of Clinch County for 19 15 showed that the total value of all property In the county was $2,146,107, exclusive of the railroads and 72 History of Clinch County, Georgia telegraph lines which amounted to $1,265,051 in addition to the other. The figures show the comparative condition of the county. POLITICAL. Following the close of the war, came the effort on the part of Northern schemers and renegade Southerners to get con- trol of the negroes and their votes, disfranchise the native Southern whites who participated in the war, and thus gain control of the country. The "Ku-Klux" clan, which played such an important part in other sections, was not operated here on an extensive scale, — indeed, no traces of it are found at all in Clinch County. Stringent orders were issued by the military authorities of the State, all aimed at those who aided the Confederate cause. In 1868, Rufus B. Bulloch, Radical candidate, was elected governor of the State, defeating John B. Gordon, the Demo- cratic candidate. Clinch County in this election gave a ma- jority for Bulloch, due to the preponderating vote of the negroes. Echols County went Democratic by a nice majority, while Lowndes went for Bulloch. In Valdosta, negro police- men, sworn in for the purpose, patrolled the streets during the three days of the election. At this same election, New- som Corbitt was elected State senator, Guilford Lastinger representative from Clinch County, and Martin S. Corbitt, tax collector of the county, on the Radical ticket. It is found from the records of the legislative session of 1868 that our senator and representative voted for the four- teenth constitutional amendment, which was so particularly odious to the Southern people. But to have voted against the bill would have been hazardous and might have meant the loss of their seats. Moreover, there was a large number of negroes and northerners who served in this legislature, and Clinch County was very fortunate to have her own sons to represent her there. History of Clinch County, Georgia 73 Prior to the election, a Democratic mass meeting was held in Homerville, September ist, 1868. It was largely attended and in it were representative citizens from each section of the county. Mr. Basil G. O'Brian was elected chairman and Hon. David O'Quin, secretary. The purpose of the meeting was to elect delegates to the Democratic district con- vention at Blackshear to nominate a Democratic candidate for Congress from the first Congressional district. The fol- lowing delegates were chosen : David Johnson, U. VanGeisen, J. L. Sweat, L. C. Mattox, D. J. Sirmans, and C. A. Smith, and the following alternates were chosen : Z. King, David O'Quin, Thomas J. Ivey, D. D. Mahon, Simon W. Hitch, and W. W. Griffin. At this meeting, strong and vigorous res- olutions were passed not only pledging their support to the Democratic ticket, but also not to employ any negro, or sell any land to any negro or rent him land or otherwise in any way render any aid to any negro who worked or voted for the Radical ticket in the coming election. This is very im- portant, as it throws much light on the times. The Democratic district convention at Blackshear, to which the above named delegates were elected, met on Sept. i6th, 1868, with the following delegates from Clinch present: D. J. Sirmans, C. A. Smith and Thomas J. Ivey. Hon. A. H. Hansell, of Thomasville, was nominated over three opponents. In 1870, at the next election, not one Radical was elected to office in Clinch County. The Radicals or Republicans, never afterwards elected any of their candidates in Clinch County. In 1876 a split occurred in the Democratic party in Clinch County, which resulted in the election of Lewis Strickland, independent candidate, to the legislature. The split seems to have been caused in the following manner: A meeting of Democrats was called by the chairman. Col. J. L, Sweat, to be held in Homerville on July ist, 1876, for the purpose of nom- inating a Democratic candidate for representative. The first 74 History of Clinch County, Georgia matter to be attended to in the meeting was the election of delegates to the State Democratic convention in Atlanta to nominate a candidate for governor. A new chairman was elected, W. B. N. Crews. The chairman appointed a com- mittee to retire and select the delegates to Atlanta. This committee elected Sherod Tomlinson, J. G. Tomlinson, Irwin R. Booth, D. J. Sirmans, A. J. Caswell and J. L. Sweat as delegates. The act of the chairman in selecting a commit- tee was demurred to by a certain faction, but in vain. Lewis Strickland and the Mud Creek delegation withdrew, followed by a majority of the other delegates. The remaining dele- gates nominated Jonathan L. Morgan for representative, and adjourned in regular order. Mr. Strickland then declared him- self an independent candidate for representative, and although only 26 years of age, commenced an aggressive campaign. Great dissatisfaction followed, and the regular Demo- crats feared for the existence of the party in the county. A meeting was called for the third Saturday in July, following the meeting of July ist, to harmonize matters if possible and bring about some amicable settlement. In the meantime, Shimuel Timmerman declared himself also an independent candidate, as did also I. T. McLendon, Guilford Lastinger and A. B. Findley. The mass meeting to harmonize matters, was duly held and efforts made to get both Mr. Strickland and Mr. Morgan to come down and support a new candidate. Mr. Timmerman retired from the race, and endeavored to prevail on the others to do likewise, but they would not. The election was duly held in October following, and the vote resulted as follows: Strickland, 362; Morgan, 251; McLendon, 81; Lastinger, 26; and Findley, 15. Therefore, Mr. Strickland and his supporters were vindicated at the polls, Mr. Strickland was re-elected two years later as an independent. Harmony was finally restored in the party, which con- tinued until the advent of the Third Party, or Populists, about 1890. History of Clinch County, Georgia 75 BURNING OF COURT-HOUSE. During the summer of 1867 the court-house at Homerville was burned. Like the burning of the court-house at Mag- noHa in 1856, it was never ascertained how the fire originated, but it was generally thought to be incendiary. It was burned at night, and all the records for the previous ten years were destroyed, including the deed records. It happened at a most unfortunate time, for the county, as the county was in very poor condition following the close of the war. The destruc- tion of the records, especially the deed records, has been sadly realized of late years. A contract was soon afterwards awarded by the Inferior Court to James Russell, a resident of Homerville, for the building of a new court-house. Mr. Russell was a native of Scotland and a carpenter by trade. He also engaged in the saw-mill business a short while. During the interval between the burning of the old court house and the completion of the new one, a store house in Homerville was rented from Sylvanus Hitch, which served as a court-house until the new one was finished. The new building was a somewhat small-sized one, of two stories with stair-steps on the outside of the building. It was built of good lumber, and served until the erection of the new brick court- house in 1895-6. The Grand Jury at the September adjourned term, 1868, recommended that "the room upstairs in the court-house be reserved for religious purposes for the various denominations for all time to come." CONDITION OF THE TREASURY. The condition of the county treasury was like that of the State treasury at this time, — depleted, and the county in debt. The presentments of the Grand Jury at the March term, 1868, shows the treasurer, David O'QuIn, had paid out $34.00 over and above what he received. The report of the committee of the Grand Jury at the 76 History of Clinch County, Georgia September adjourned term, 1868, shows the county in debt $500 exclusive of the indebtedness for the court-house. This was caused by the building of the new court house. At the April term, 1869, ^^^ Grand Jury reported that the county was in debt $1,044.00 besides expenses of the present term of court; amount in treasury $122.00. At the June adjourned term, 1870, the indebtedness appears reduced to $700.00 of which $400.00 was the court-house debt. At the October term, 1871, the indebtedness was only $300.00; at this term of court, it was recommended that no jury scrip be issued. At the October term, 1872, the report signed by E. L. Moore, Aaron Moore and Moses Tomlinson, com- mittee, showed a balance in the treasury of $21.34. It appears that the county managed to keep a balance in the treasury from then on. TRANQUILITY. Although the freed blacks became a menace to the country, yet our county fared very well in this respect. By reference to the Grand Jury presentments, October term, 1869, it is observed that "the county and our people are to be congrat- ulated upon the improved condition of our community, both in reference to the suppression of crime as well as any dispo- sition to lawlessness." Later at the October term, 1871, it is noted that "our county is in a most tranquil state, there being little or no crimes committed or turmoil existing within our borders." NEW JAIL. For several years following the war, Clinch County did not have a jail in which to incarcerate her prisoners. About 1 87 1 it became apparent that a new jail was needed. The Grand Jury, at the April term, 1871, recommended the build- ing of a new jail, but the succeeding Grand Jury discounte- nanced the plan and recommended that the county wait until it was in a more prosperous condition. At this stage of the matter, Col. J. L. Sweat appeared ^ History of Clinch County, Georgia 77 before the Grand Jury at the fall term, 1873, with a plan and set of specifications for a new jail, with the offer that he would bear one-third of the expense if the Grand Jury would recommend it built. It was duly recommended, and from the Ordinary's minutes It is found that after duly advertising for bids, the contract was let out by the Ordinary to A. E. Smith for $300.00. The size of the jail was twelve feet wide and eighteen feet long, two stories high, with double walls twelve feet high, built of hewn logs six Inches thick. It was a very small building compared to the present jail, but amply met the demands of the time. The Grand Jury, at the term of court following the com- pletion of the jail, unanimously voted its thanks to Colonel Sweat for his liberal and patriotic spirit In the building of the jail. DUPONT. The beginning of the town of DuPont may be traced back to about 1858, when Mr. J. P. A. DuPont removed his fam- ily to this point from Darlen, In Mcintosh County. He built an elegant home and in the course of a year a new railroad came through this section and by Mr. DuPont's home. With the building through of the railroad, came the re- moval of the county site from Magnolia to some point on the railroad. Mr. DuPont endeavored to have It removed to where he lived, which was called "No. 12" by the railroad people for many years, but Dr. J. H. Mattox offered the best Inducements to have it removed to the present town of Homer- ville. At first it was known as Suwannoochee, a name borrowed from the creek nearby, but later It was re-named Lawton, and as such was known until 1874, when the name was changed to DuPont by the Act of the Legislature Incorporating the town. The small station did not grow much until the war was over. In 1874 the town of Lawton was incorporated as the 78 History of Clinch County, Georgia town of DuPont by an Act of the Legislature approved March 3rd, 1874. Under this act the following commis- sioners for the town were appointed: Peter A. Herviant, David J. Sirmans, Jacob Lightsey, Lucius Sirmans and B. W. Patterson. They were to serve until the first Saturday in January, 1875, and thereafter an election was to be held annually for their successors. The corporate limits were fixed at one-half a mile to extend in each direction from the depot. In 1884 the town was again incorporated by an act ap- proved December 20th, 1884. Under this charter the fol- lowing officers were appointed to serve until the next regular election for town officers: J. P. A. DuPont, mayor; B. J. Sir- mans, Peter A. Herviant, Jacob Lightsey, Sr., Jacob Moody, Sr., and Willis B. Gibbs, councilmen. The town election was to be held on the first Saturday in January of each year. In 1889, DuPont was re-incorporated as a city. The act placed all the powers of a city government in the officers, and a city court with a recorder, and a mayor and eleven aldermen. This act was passed at a time when the town had prospects of soon being a city and at a time when one or two new railroad lines were being contemplated running through by DuPont. The town's hopes failed to materialize and with this, the city government contemplated in the act creating it as a city, fell through. In 191 1, the charter granted in 1889, was repealed and a new charter granted, by an act approved August 19th, 191 1. Under this act DuPont was incorporated as a town, with the following officers to serve until the regular election for town officers to be held on the first Wednesday in December fol- lowing: C. M. McLamb, mayor; P. M. Lee, Ezekiel, S. Sir- mans, L. E. Cox, J. B. Coon, and P. A. Register, councilmen. Elections for town officers are held every two years beginning the first Wednesday in December, 1911. Among the early settlers of the town may be mentioned: William H. Clifton, Peter A. Herviant, W. J. Nichols, Jacob Lightsey, Jacob S. Lightsey, Lucius Sirmans and B. W. Pat- History of Clinch County, Georgia 79 terson. Subsequent citizens who became prominent were : T. McMillan, B. J. Sirmans, Lyman A. Sirmans, R. Lieberls, G. A. Register, P. A. Register and M. Sirmans. The following residents of DuPont have served as county officers: Jacob Lightsey, L. A. Sirmans, P. M. Lee, Augustus DuPont, G. A. Register, P. A. Register, Tarlton McMillan, J, B. Coon, and A. J. Gibbs. Several attempts have been made to have the county site removed to DuPont. The first as mentioned above, was when it was removed in 1859 from Magnoha to Homerville. Later, in 1885, it was again attempted and a petition circulated among the voters to call an election, which the Ordinary did, setting the date as July 3rd, 1885. In this election DuPont won by a majority of five votes, but the law requiring a two- thirds majority, it lost out. Still later, in 1893, another peti- tion was presented asking for an election, which was granted by the County Commissioners. It was held May 27th, 1 893, but in this DuPont lost again. This last time was about the time a new court-house was to be built, and naturally it was the proper time in which to decide whether to remove it to DuPont or not. Since then the agitation has died down, leaving Homerville the county seat. The founder of DuPont, as has been stated above, was Capt. J. P. A. DuPont, a man of signal ability, from Darien, Georgia. He died at his home where DuPont now is, in 1863. A sketch of his life is given elsewhere in this book. His sons, J. P. A. DuPont, Jr., Charlton DuPont and Lee L. Dupont, were all brilliant men. The last named is still a resident of DuPont, where he lives in the old family home erected before his father's death. In 1876 a new militia district was created with DuPont as the site of the district court-house. The first justice of the peace of this district was John T. Courson, the first ex-officio J. P. was David J. Sirmans, and the first constable was Willis B. Gibbs. 8o History of Clinch County, Georgia The population of DuPont according to the census of 1 9 1 o, was 342. The present merchants of DuPont are: P. A. Register, P. M. Lee & Sons, and C. M. McLamb. The postmaster at DuPont for several years prior to his removal to Savannah about 19 1 2, was R. Lieberls, who also was a merchant. Fol- lowing his resignation, Mr. C. M. McLamb was appointed. STOCKTON. The land whereon the town of Stockton is now situated, was originally owned by Samuel Register, Sr., the progenitor of the Register family in Clinch County. When the Atlantic & Gulf Railroad was being constructed through the county, during 1858-60, Mr. Register anticipated the need of a sta- tion and town at this point, consequently he had the land run out Into town lots and settlers were induced to com.e and locate there. Mr. Ezekiel Clifton was employed by Mr. Register to lay off the land into town lots. In this task, Mr. Clifton was assisted by Moses Tomlinson, who later served the peo- ple as both ordinary and tax collector. Mr. Tomlinson was then only 19 years of age, and assisted as chain-carrier. When first settled, the little village was known as Regis- terville, in honor of Mr. Register. Subsequently the name was changed to Stockton, in memory of a Mr. Stockton who was in charge of the grading of the railroad while it was being built through by Reglstervllle. Among some of the first settlers were : Eli O. and Talbot S. Morgan; E. W. and R. B. Prescott, who owned a store there; K. M. Oppenheimer, who also ran a store; James G. Ocklngton, a lawyer; Lewis Levi and two other Jews, named Sterne and Davis, each of whom ran a store. William W. Peyton came here as a school teacher and subsequently served as a Justice of the Peace. Also about this time Samuel Staten settled there. Mr. Ocklngton, named above, lived at Stock- ton a year or so and removed. James W. Staten, who was the first representative from Clinch In the Legislature, Baptist Church, Homerville. Erected 1912 (above). Methodist Church, Homerville. Erected 1913 (below). Clinch County Court Huuse. Erected 1S9.3 (above). DuBignon Institute. Erected 1910 (below). History of Clinch County, Georgia 8 1 built the first store house at Stockton. He contracted with the railroad company to furnish them cross-ties, and in connec- tion with this business he operated a commissary in which he enjoyed the patronage of the railroad employees at this point. Mr. Staten was one of the largest land owners in that section of the county. In the employment of Mr. Samuel Staten was a North Carolinean, J. W. Bryon, who, on account of his integrity, is worthy of mention. When the Civil War came on, he joined Co. "H" 29th Georgia, and went to the front. He served faithfully in this company until the close of the war, when he returned to his native State. Dr. Ulysses A. Rice came from North Carolina and set- tled in the vicinity of Stockton about 1857, and lived there until about 1861. He was an active member of the Baptist Church and had his membership at Carter's Bridge Church. Dr. Rice owned some very choice land in the vicinity of Stockton, which he purchased from James W. Staten, the purchase price being about $6,000.00. About 1868, the Baptist Church at Carter's Bridge on the Allapaha River, was moved to Stockton through the activity of John G. Norton, John Touchston and the pastor. Rev. Thomas Powell. The Methodist Church was subsequently erected. Among the new comers to Stockton following the close of the war were John G. Norton, Frank Sloat, N. E. Fry and John C. Humphreys. These men were prominently identified with different commercial enterprises in and around Stock- ton. Also there was G. G. Foreman, Alexander and Robert S. Holtzendorf and J. R. G. Hamilton, who removed there about this time. David D. Mahon came to Stockton about i860 from where Milltown now is, and subsequently served as a justice of the peace. Among the leading citizens of Stockton to-day, are J. Floyd Fender, Sr., Harris A. Tomlinson, James A. Holtzendorf, 82 History of Clinch County, Georgia Joseph S. Foreman, James A. Mathls and D. O. Johnson. The last named is president of the County Board of Educa- tion. The community around Stockton is almost as densely populated as the town is, and to mention by name a few of the leading citizens out of town, are: William B. North, a mem- ber of the Board of County Commissioners, E. Y. Fry, Staten B. Tomlinson, Moses Tomlinson, E. J. Futch, T. J. Johnson, I. W. Allen, C. K. Green and Charles S. Touchston. When the local school district plan was first inaugurated in Clinch County, Stockton was among the first to take it up. They have, within the last few years, erected an attractive and commodious school building. It is a two-story frame building. The present local school trustees are: James A. Mathis, J. Floyd Fender, Sr., and J. A. Holtzendorf. The present commercial enterprises of Stockton are : Holt- zendorf Brothers, H. A. Tomlinson and H. L. Tomlinson, and A. H. Timmerman, each of whom operates mercantile establishments : D. O. Johnson, who owns and operates a grist and saw-mill, J. Floyd Fender, Sr., turpentine operator, and Miss Mattie A. Dees, millinery and dry goods. Mr. H. L. Tomlinson is postmaster. Stockton is situated in the western part of the county, and is about two miles distant from the AUapaha River. The most fertile and productive land in the county is in this sec- tion and the farms around Stockton are numerous. This sec- tion is also very scenic. Stockton was among the leaders in the temperance cru- sade in Clinch County. At the request of the Stockton citi- zens, an Act was passed by the Legislature, approved Au- gust 31st, 1 88 1, which forever prohibited the selling of liquor and intoxicating drinks within the limits of Stockton, and it was made a misdemeanor for a violation of the same. County officers who have been elected while citizens of Stockton and vicinity: Shimuel Timmerman, Timothy Alder- man, Moses Tomlinson, Quarterman B. Staten, James W. History of Clinch County, Georgia 83 Staten, Jackson J. Taylor, J. R, G. Hamilton, John C. Humphreys, D. C. Fender, John Knight, W. B. N. Crews, William B. North and Joseph O. Rogers. TEMPERANCE. Following the war, license to sell liquor In Clinch County was very cheap. In the neighborhood of twenty-five dollars. It proved to be a very lucrative business and several bar- rooms were put up In Homervllle, DuPont and Stockton. Practically all the general stores had barrooms In connection. The misery and degradation, poverty and riotousness which follow In the wake of the barroom and its customers, were experienced here. As a consequence a heavy tax was soon placed on It. The town commissioners of Homervllle in 1876 placed the license to sell liquor at $100.00. In the Legislature of 1 880-1, our senator was C. A. Smith, and our representative was J. L. Sweat. These gentlemen secured the passage and enactment of a law, approved by the Governor August 3 1 st , 1 8 8 1 , which taxed, the selling of liquor In Clinch County at $1,500.00 per annum. This had a great beneficial effect. Still this tax did not prohibit the selling of liquor altogether. But in 1889, when the Board of County Commissioners was created, the act creating the board specified that the board had the right to fix the amount of liquor licenses in Clinch County, provided, they did not fix It at less than $10,000.00 per annum. As no one could afford to pay this huge amount to sell liquor in a thinly-populated county as Clinch was. It barred the selling of liquor from the country. In a few years, an election was held under the local option law, and Clinch County went "dry" in this election. The county was under this law until the advent of the State prohi- bition law in 1908. CHAPTER VII. Proposed New Railroads. — Efforts to Remove County Site. — Newspapers in Clinch County. — The Populist Party. — County Court Re-Establis.hed. — First Board of County Commissioners. — New Jail. — New Court-House. — Camp of Confederate Veterans Organized. — Population of Clinch County. — Argyle. — Saw-Mill Enterprises. — The Waycross & Western Railroad. — The Okefinokee Swamp. IN 1886-7 a party of Clinch County citizens Interested themselves, together with some New York capitalists, with a view of building a railroad from Macon via DuPont to the Florida line; also a railroad extending from DuPont to the Florida line, with its ultimate destination Jacksonville, Fla., on the east, and extending from DuPont westward to Decatur, Ala. The first named road was incorporated as the DuPont, Macon & Florida Railway Company, by the Legislature by an Act approved September 22nd, 1887, with the following incorporators: Augustus DuPont, F. B. Sirmans, Peter A. Herviant, B. J. Sirmans, L. L. DuPont, M. Sirmans, H. G. Powell and John C. Humphreys, of Clinch County, and W^il- liam McCabe and John Lake, of New York City. The other road was incorporated as the DuPont, Decatur, Alabama and Florida Air-Line Railroad Company, by an Act of the Legislature approved October 22nd, 1887, with the following incorporators : Augustus DuPont, F. B. Sirmans, Peter A. Herviant, L. L. DuPont, J. B. Withers, H. G. Powell, B. J. Sirmans, Thomas Terry, Thos. G. Jenkins and John C. Humphreys, of Clinch County, and H. B. Plant, H. S. Haines, R. G. Fleming, George S. Haines, William McCabe and John Lake, mostly of New York City. Both of these roads were to be started within five years from the date of the charters, or unless it was done the char- History of Clinch County, Georgia 85 ters were to become null and void. But the idea of building of these roads never materialized, and the charters lapsed. It is safe to say that had these two roads been built and put into operation, they would have played a very important part in the upbuilding of Clinch County and this section. By an Act of the Legislature approved, September 28th, 1 88 1, the Georgia, Southern & Florida Railroad Company was incorporated. The route named in this act was from Macon to Homerville or DuPont, thence to the Florida line. Later this act was amended by an amendatory act of the Legislature, approved October i6th, 1885, making the route from Macon via Valdosta, instead of by Homerville. Thus the town of Homerville lost a very important enterprise which has since become a very important factor in the upbuilding of the city of Valdosta. The road subsequently traversed the southern end of the county, along which several towns sprung up. It is safe to say that had the people of Homerville and the county seized the opportunity and offered the necessary inducements, and this road had come through Homerville instead of Valdosta, in that event Homerville might have been the size of Valdosta at present, while Valdosta would have been the size of Homerville. It was not built through the southern end of the county to Jacksonville until about 1900. The building of this road opened up a new section of the county hitherto undeveloped. Almost simultaneously with the completion of the road to Jacksonville, a big saw-mill was built by Eastern capitalists on the new road where it crosses the Suwannee River. The town which grew up here was named "Fargo." The partners in this enterprise were George S. Baxter, E. P. Long and Walton Ferguson. The town of Fargo was laid out on the banks of the Su- wannee River, and is to-day one of the most flourishing towns in the county. It has several stores, a large hotel and other 86 History of Clinch County, Georgia establishments. The mills which are owned by G. S. Baxter & Company, are about the largest in the county. Within a very short time another large saw-mill was put up six miles East of Fargo, on the new railroad, by the Amer- ican Manufacturing Company, a corporation. Their mills are about as large as the Fargo plant. The place was called "Council," in honor of the principal owners of the mill, John M. and C. M. Council, of Americus, Ga. EFFORTS TO REMOVE COUNTY SITE. In the beginning, the town of DuPont had a very auspicious future, as the Florida Branch Railroad began here and run into Florida. For many years DuPont was situated at the head of the Florida business of the Plant System of railroads, and as such was a very important center. The fact that the town was centrally located in the county, together with its bright future, brought about a great senti- ment in favor of the removal of the county site from Homer- ville to DuPont. A strong petition was presented to the Ordinary in 1885 for an order calling an election to decide the question of the removal, which the Ordinary granted. Accordingly the election was called for July 3rd, 1885. When the day to vote had arrived, great barbecues and other attractions were given at DuPont and Homerville. At DuPont a public ball was given in DuPont Hall. The result was a majority of five in favor of the removal, but owing to the fact that it required a two-thirds majority, DuPont lost. The vote, given by districts, was as follows : For Dupont For Homerville Homerville __ 433 DuPont 344 8 Stockton 63 Mud Creek 83 Withers 30 Magnolia __ 22 History of Clinch County, Georgia 87 Morgan Dist. i 12 Low Deaver (i2i9)_ __ 21 Argyle __ 8 Rabbitville (io6i)__ _- 12 Total 521 516 In 1893 another attempt was made to remove the county site to DuPont, but failed. No record of the v^ote in this election is obtainable. NEWSPAPERS. About 1876 the first newspaper established in Clinch County which there is any record of, was established at DuPont by Mr. J. P. A. Dupont, named "The DuPont Oke- finokean." It enjoyed the patronage of the county, but in the course of a year or so, failed. It was a weekly paper. About 1882 a newspaper was established at Homerville by E. J. Benton, which was named "The Wiregrass Cracker." It became the official gazette of the county, but did not exist very long. From an old copy in the Ordinary's office, dated November 3rd, 1883, we note that the following lawyers' cards appear: J. L. Sweat, James P. Mattox and B. A. Whittington. The advertisements of the following merchants appeared: W. T. Smith, W. A. Ecord, Joseph P. Mattox and W. C. Newborn & Brother. Mr. Benton, the editor, was a man of much ability and intelligence, which he exhibited in several ways. He first came to this county as a minister, in an evangelistic meeting. He settled at DuPont, where he made one or two medicinal dis- coveries which he had patented. At the October term, 1878, of Clinch County Superior Court, he was admitted to the bar, after which he practiced law a short while. He was a great Sunday School worker, and was president of the Way- cross Sunday School District Association. In the early nineties, a newspaper was established at Du- Pont, devoted to the interests of the Populist or Third Party. 88 History of Clinch County, Georgia This paper, named the "DuPont Guide," was edited by Mr. W. F. Miley, and took a leading part in its party's battles in Clinch County. This paper finally ceased to exist about 1 896, and as the official organ of the Populist Party in this section was succeeded by the "Douglas Breeze," edited at Douglas, in Coffee County, by Mr. A. B. Findley, formerly of Homer- ville. In the latter part of 1894, the "Homerville Chronicle" was established at Homerville by Mr. M. E. Tison. In November, 1897, this paper's name was changed to the "Clinch County News," the name which it now bears. The earliest copy of this paper obtainable is dated January nth, 1895, which is Number 9, Vol. i, showing that the paper was only nine weeks old at that time. The following professional cards appear in this issue: R. G. Dickerson, B. A. Whitting- ton and S. L. Drawdy, lawyers; and Dr. G. R. Thigpen, all of Homerville. The advertisements of the following local merchants appear : C. Huxford & Company, C. Crawford, and Dame Brothers, of Homerville, and Wideman & Moody, of Argyle. The Crum House, of Homerville, and The Sir- mans House, at DuPont, had advertisements. The successive editors and publishers of this paper are : 1894-5, M. E. Tison; 1896, R. G. Dickerson; 1897, I. R. Knight; 1897-8, M. E. Tison; 1899, Geo. M. Dame and S. W. Register; 1900-7, George M. Dame; 1908, Town- send & Dame; 1909, W. L. DuVall; 19 10, T. B. Hartig; 1910, B. W. Cornelius; 1910, H. J. Dame; 1910-16, Flem C. Dame. THE POPULIST PARTY. About 1890 a new party sprang into politics. For a while it was known as the Third Party or Alliance, later as the Populist Party. Among some of its leaders in Clinch County, were: Dr. L. C. Mattox, M. S. Corbitt, W. A. Ecord, W. J. Strickland and James M. Kight. In 1890 Dr. Mattox was elected by this party as representative from Clinch County. History of Clinch County, Georgia 89 At the same time W. A. Ecord was re-elected clerk of the Superior Court by them. This was at the height of their power; after this they never did succeed in electing any other candidate in Clinch County. In recent years the party has disappeared from county politics. In 1898 the average vote received by them was 325 ; two years later it dwindled to an average of fifty. The party has probably had its day and has done the country some good. Some of the principles and laws it first advocated have since been enacted into law, among which might be mentioned the rural free mail delivery. COUNTY COURT RE-ESTABLISHED. In 1866 the first County Court of Clinch County was es- tablished with Hon. Z. King as the first judge and Col. L. A. Sirmans as the first solicitor. This court existed for about three years, when it ceased. There is no legislative act abol- ishing the court. In 1881 this court was revived, and Hon. Cornelius A. Smith was appointed judge. There is no record as to who was solicitor. In 1885 Col. B. A. Whittington was appointed judge. This court had its monthly and quar- terly terms. The monthly terms were held under Judge Smith on every second Monday, while the quarterly terms were held on the third Mondays in February, May, August and November, By an Act of the Legislature, approved October 19th, 1885, the County Court of Clinch County was abolished to take effect when the term of Judge Whittington had expired. In 1 90 1 the County Court was again established after having been abolished fifteen years. Col. S. C. Townsend was appointed judge for four years and Hon. R. G. Dickerson was appointed solicitor. This court became the means of saving much money to the county although the criminal jurisdic- tion was limited to misdemeanors. Like the former County Court, it has its monthly and quarterly terms; the monthly terms being held on the first Monday in each month and the quarterly terms on the first Tuesday in January, April, July, 90 History of Clinch County, Georgia and October. Hon. S. L. Drawdy is the present judge and Hon, W. T, Dickerson solicitor. An attempt was made to abolish this court in 1908, but failed. FIRST COUNTY COMMISSIONERS. The first Board of County Commissioners of Roads and Revenues was created by Legislative Act, approved August 1 6th, 1889. Under this Act the following named citizens of the county were appointed commissioners : Isham Patterson, Frank B. Sirmans, Martin S. Corbitt, W. H. Gary and Fields D. Clifton. The commissioners were given entire charge of county matters and the clerk of the Superior Court was made ex-officio Clerk of the Board. From the Minutes of the Board in 1890 it is observed that the following were the commis- sioners: W. H. Gary, chairman, M. S. Corbitt, F. B. Sir- mans, Isham Patterson and John Knight. The Board was abolished by an Act of the Legislature, approved December 9th, 1893, and the ordinary resumed charge of county affairs. It remained thus until 19 15, when the Board of Commissioners was again created. NEW JAIL. The old jail, erected about 1872, was found to be insufiicient to meet the demands of the county, as it was not only too small, but was built of wood and was fast becoming useless. Accordingly a contract was let out by the County Commissioners in 1893 to the Manly Manufacturing Com- pany, of Dalton, Ga. The new jail was built of brick with improved steel cells and was two stories high. This jail is now being used as the county jail, but there is some desire on the part of many citizens to have a new jail built or some needed extensive improvements made. NEW COURT-HOUSE. Likewise, the court-house, erected just after the war, was re- placed with a new one during 1895-6. The following com- History of Clinch County, Georgia 91 mittee was appointed by the ordinary to superintend the erec- tion of the new building: James R. Dickerson, Peter A. Young, Moses Smith, W. F, Kirkland and D. C. Fender. The contract was let to T. J. Darling, a contractor of Waycross, Ga. The new building amply met the increased demands for a court-house and gave general satisfaction. It is two stories in height, with a spacious court room on second floor, besides Grand jury room and witness room. On the ground floor are halls running through and the following offices: Clerk Superior Court, Ordinary, County Court Solicitor, Tax Re- ceiver and Collector, County Commissioners, County Board of Education and Sheriff, while upstairs is the office of County Court. This is the present arrangement. The building faces the east, and is 50 by 80 feet in size, and has slate roof. The new court-house was built on the site of the old one. The land whereon the court-house and jail are situated, was given the county by Dr. John Homer Mattox, the founder of Homerville, as is evidenced by a deed dated October ist, 1884, and recorded in deed book "F," by W. A. Ecord., Clerk. The old court-house building was sold at auction and bid off by a committee of Primitive Baptist people, who moved the building to another part of town and remodeled it into a church. The committee was composed of Messrs. James A. O'Steen, S. L. Drawdy, George M. Dame, James R. Dick- erson and C. H. Smith. This church existed a few years and became so delapidated that it was finally abandoned and torn down. CAMP OF CONFEDERATE VETERANS. The first, only and last camp of Confederate Veterans in Clinch County, was organized September 4th, 1899. They elected delegates to the State and general reunions, and had a membership of forty-seven. The following were the officers elected: F. M. Jackson, captain commanding; W. A. Ecord, ist Lieut.; S. W. Register, 2nd Lieut.; Moses Tomlinson, 92 History of Clinch County, Georgia 3rd Lieut.; O. P. Register, 4th Lieut.; M. S. Corbitt, adju- tant; Isham Patterson, quartermaster; D. M. Riberon, com- missary; W. J. Stapleton, surgeon; Charles James, assistant surgeon: Jesse J. Grooms, chaplain; J. C. Anderson, treas- urer; James M. Kight, sergeant.-major; J. B. Ganos, officer of the day; C. H. Smith, colonel-sergeant; L T. McLendon, videt; James M. Inman, ist Col. Guard; Ivy Davis, 2nd Col. Guard. Gradually the camp declined, and finally no meetings were held. A lack of Interest was responsible for its falh POPULATION. The census of 1910 showed that Clinch County had 8,424 persons within her borders. The area was 1,077 square miles, being the largest county in the State. The population decreased 308 compared with the census of 1900. The census also showed that there were 5,046 whites in the county and 3,378 negroes. Those of the voting age numbered in 1900, 2,561 men, and in 1910, 2,294. This included both races. The total number of illiterates were only 454, of which 311 were negroes and 142 were native whites. 4,983 were of native parentage. The population of the county since 1870 has been as follows: Census of 1870, 3,945; 1880, 4,138; 1890, 6,652; 1900, 8,732; 1910, 8,424. Thus it is seen that the greatest stride in the county's popu- lation was between 1880 and 1890, when it increased over 2,500. A school census taken in 19 14 showed that there were 2,303 school children in the county, of which little over one- half were whites. In 1908, there were 1,285 white children in the county of school age. ARGYLE. About 1885 the town of Argyle came into existence. For many years it was nothing more than a mere station, but gradually it grew to be a town. This town is located in the eastern part of the county on the A. C. L. Railroad, and is History of Clinch County, Georgia 93 but two miles from the Ware County line. It was first named Saussy, In honor of Clement Saussy and others who were heirs of Gasper J. Fulton. Mr. Fulton was a resident of Savan- nah and purchased the land whereon the town is located, in i860 from John Smith, of Clinch County. This land was originally granted by the State to James C. Smith in 1843, and he in 1845 sold it to Joseph Lane. In 1845 ^'I^*- Lane sold it to John Smith, a brother of James C. Smith, and Mr. Smith owned it until i860, when he sold it to Mr. Fulton. Among the early postmasters were I. H. Drawdy and C. W. Burt, and B. A. Harper. Later Mr. S. C. Patterson was postmaster, and following his resignation about two years ago, Mr. W. H. James was appointed. The population of the town, according to the census of 19 10, was 280. The name of the town was changed to "Argyle" in 1899. In 1908 the Argyle people unanimously voted In favor of creating a local school district, and since then have, by tax- ation and other means, raised about $1,500 and built a very nice school building on the outskirts of town, on the public road leading Into Argyle. It is a two-story frame building, with improved desks and other Improvements. It is known as the Union High School. The land and building were valued in 19 12 at $2,500 according to the report of the State School Commissioner. The present trustees of the school are: W. H. Hinson, B. A. Harper, A. B. Williams, S. C. Patterson and W. L. Hinson, wide-awake and energetic citizens. On August 26th, 1897, Saussy, as the town was then known, was visited by a very disastrous fire, entailing a loss of several thousand dollars. All of the business portion of town was destroyed. About 1907, the Bank of Argyle was chartered and estab- lished. Its first president was L. O. Benton, who organized the Bank of Homerville. In 1909 the bank closed its doors 94 History of Clinch County, Georgia and liquidated Its business. The reason of its failure was due mainly to the adjacency of the bank at Homerville, SAW-MILL ENTERPRISES. Among the earlier saw-mill enterprises In Clinch County, was the one mentioned In Chapter 4, which Dr. J. H. Mattox and Cyrus S. Graves established at Homerville. Another early mill was that of William G. Norwood and James B. Porter at Homerville. Frank Sloat established a large saw- mill near Stockton about 1874, and later it became a partner- ship under the name of Sloat, Bussell & Co. Still later a mill was put up and operated near Stockton by Frye & Humphreys. One of the largest mills at the time was that operated by R. B. Reppard. At first Harry C. Reppard was interested In it, but he sold out his Interest to R. B. Reppard. Later, Mr. Reppard organized the Reppard Land, Lumber & Saw-Mill Company, a corporation. They acquired land and timber in nearly every section of the county. Their mill was located about four miles east of Homerville on the A. C. L. Railroad, and was operated several years. It was first organized about 1879, ^^^ was operated about five years. The Southern Pine Company eventually acquired possession of this property. Another big plant was that of Paxton & Mattox, a few miles west of Homerville on the railroad. Originally it was a partnership composed of Miles Albertson and David B. Pax- ton, but about 1888, Mr. Albertson sold his Interest to H. P. Mattox, of Homerville, and It continued under the name of Paxton & Mattox. The place was called Clinch Haven, and for several years was one of the largest enterprises In the county. The business failed about 1895, and was acquired by Geo. F. Craig & Company, of Philadelphia. About 1 90 1 another plant was erected at the same point and the name of the place changed to "Cutting." The Southern Pine Company were the owners. In a few years the History of Clinch County, Georgia 95 plant was dismantled, and for several years the place was deserted. But in 191 1 a company of North Georgia and Northern capitalists acquired a lease-hold to the land where their mills were erected, and purchased several thousand acres of tim- ber and land from Messrs. H. J. Peagler, W. K. Peagler, and H. M. Peagler. It was organized into a corporation and named The Georgia Lumber & Turpentine Company. They manufactured lumber and produced wood spirits of tur- pentine. In addition to the mills at Cutting, there are the mills at Fargo and Council, referred to before in this book. These are the largest plants in the county. WAYCROSS AND WESTERN RAILROAD. During 19 13 a movement was launched to construct a new railroad from Waycross through the northern part of Clinch County to Milltown in Berrien County. The princi- pal movers were John G. and Alex. K. Sessoms, of Waycross, and F. B. Sirmans, of this county. A charter was secured and work begun, and the road was completed to Milltown during 19 1 5. It gave a new route for Milltown and Berrien County produce to Savannah and other markets, besides opening up a new territory. The president of the new railroad, which was named the Waycross & Western, was Alex. K. Sessoms, who was a native of Ware County. He was a son of Alex. K. Sessoms, Sr., who died about 1909. The elder Sessoms was very wealthy and possessed much property not only in Clinch County, but in Ware County and in Mexico and other places. In 19 1 5 Mr. Sessoms, the president of the road, was ap- pointed on the new Board of County Commissioners of Clinch County, although he had been in the county but a year. The vice-president of the road was Hon. F. B. Sirmans, a leading citizen of Clinch and an ex-Senator from the fifth district. Mr. Sirmans, whose home was in the Mud Creek g6 History of Clinch County, Georgia district, owned much property through the territory opened up by the new road. He had a nice tract of his land at a point on the new railroad, about a mile distant from his home, surveyed into town lots and a boom launched for a new town to be called Sirmans. The town lots were sold at auction and Mr. Sirmans had one of the largest cotton ginneries in the county established in the new town. Several stores were soon built. The mercantile establishments at Sirmans, are The Hughes Mercantile Company and James A. Mathis. There is an- other store there but is unoccupied. Mr. Sirmans, who had been postmaster for several years at his turpentine still, which was connected by rural route with DuPont, resigned, and Mr. W. W. Elliott, a former resident of Homerville, was appointed postmaster. At the same time, another new town came into existence on the same railroad. It was located In the Moore's Mill district and about a half-mile from Mr. E. C. Hodges' place. The name given to this place at first was "Hodges," but when a post office was applied for the name was changed to "Cogdell," on account of there being another post office In the State by the same name. Mr. Sessoms, president of the road, removed to Cogdell and built a nice home. He fenced about one thousand acres of wild land, which adjoined Cogdell, and soon had it stumped and cultivated. Mr. Sessoms has put up a modern cane mill at Cogdell, and besides, has been successful in secur- ing from the State Agricultural department a State experi- ment station for farm demonstration purposes at Cogdell. There is a saw-mill and shingle-mill at Cogdell and two stores. The postmaster is James A. Brown. Soon after the beginning of Cogdell it was seen that a school was needed, and wisely and time enough so, since there was not a school in several miles. A movement in which Mr. Sessoms and John B. KIrkland were the leaders, resulted in formation of History of Clinch County, Georgia 97 a new local school district with Cogdell as the site of the school. This was in 19 15. A school building was immedi- ately built and the local school trustees being without funds at the time, Mr, Sessoms furnished the necessary funds until a tax levy could be made and revenue raised. The school building which was built, was built in bungalow style and neatly and durably constructed of good lumber. State School Supervisor F. E. Land, in a recent visit to the Cogdell school, pronounced the energetic work on the part of local citizens and the school to be one of the finest demon- strations in school work he had seen. THE OKEFINOKEE SWAMP. Over the eastern border line of Clinch County there ex- tends a part of the famous Okefinokee Swamp, one of the most extensive areas of submerged land on the North Ameri- can continent. When Ware County was created in 1824, it embraced the entire swamp, barring of course a portion which extends into Florida. It is the largest swamp on the continent with the exception of the Dismal Swamp in Virginia, and the Ever- glades in Florida. Up to about twenty years ago it remained unexplored and indeed some parts of it are yet unexplored. It is found to be a vast marsh with occasional lakes and islands. There is some of the best timber to be found, in the swamp. In 1 89 1 an Act was passed by the Legislature authorizing the Governor to deed the lands embraced in the swamp to the Suwannee Canal Company, a corporation. The promoters hoped to provide means to float the timber to the St. Mary's River and also to drain the swamp by means of a large canal, thus not only securing the timber but also reclaiming the land. But it was not successful. Within the last few years the Hebard Cypress Company, a corporation composed princi- pally of Pennsylvanians, has acquired this property, and has constructed a railroad from Waycross where the company's 98 History of Clinch County, Georgia large mills are, to the swamp and has recently penetrated the swamp several miles with the railroad. In White's Historical Collections of Georgia, published in 1854, the statement is made that the name "Okefinokee" is derived from two Indian words "ooka" and "finocau" ; the former of which means "water" and the latter "quivering." Originally the great swamp was called "E-cun-fi-no-cau," a compound meaning "quivering earth." But the Creeks pre- ferred the former expression. The author, Dr. White, says the swamp is thirty miles long and seventeen broad, and in it are several islands, one of which the Creeks represented to be among the most blissful spots in the world. The swamp lies partly in Clinch, while most of it is in Ware and Charlton counties. Billy's Island and Floyd's Island are large islands of this swamp, containing some fertile land. The Suwannee River originates in this swamp and flows southward through Clinch County into Florida. The town of Fargo is situated on the river. The following is taken from a description given by one well acquainted with the swamp: "Billy's Island is at this season of the year (November) a hunter's paradise. The only direct way to reach this place from Argyle or Homer- ville by Mixon's Ferry on the Suwannee River; thence three miles through the swamp over the 'causeway,' which was built by the soldiers during the Indian war in order to give battle to the great Indian chief 'Billy Bowlegs,' from whence the island took its name. Thence through the 'cow-house' and down the Suwannee River, which has its origin here. The water is black. The lake is on the west side of the island, and is not more than half a mile wide at any point. As to it being good hunting and fishing grounds there are no better to be found." Trout, perch, bream, jacks and cat-fish abound with an abundance of fine turtle. Bear, duck, deer, wild turkeys, panthers, and other wild game are also found. The swamp served as a great rendezvous for deserters during the Civil War. CHAPTER VIII. Educational. PRIOR to 1868 the control of school affairs was vested in the justices of the Inferior Court, five in number, to- gether with the ordinary and one citizen of the county- appointed by the judge of the Superior Court for four years. The clerk of the Inferior Court was secretary of the Board of Education, while the ordinary was ex-officio treasurer of the school funds. In 1870 this system was entirely changed and educational matters were vested in a Board of Education for each county to consist of one member from each militia district in the county, to be elected by popular vote. The Board was to select a secretary who was to be by virtue of his appointment county school commissioner. In 1872 this law was considerably modified and made bet- ter. Under the latter Act the control of education was placed in the hands of the board of five members to be elected by the grand jury. This board was to elect a secretary who was to be ex-officio county school commissioner. Later, in recent years, the election of the county school commissioner was placed in the hands of the qualified voters of the county instead of by the board. Under this law, Flem C. Dame was the first commissioner to be elected. Under the Act of 1870, above referred to, the following members of the Board of Education were elected, on the first Saturday in January, 1871, the date of the qualification of each one following their names: 586th District. Josiah Sirmans, Sr April i, 1871 970th District. H. D. O'Quin March 2, 1871 I052d District. Moses Tomlinson June 3,1871 io6ist District. Duncan Giddens March 4, 1871 lOO History of Clinch County, Georgia 1141st District. W. J. Strickland January 8, 1871 1224th District. Elias L. Moore January 8, 1871 Under the Act of 1872, referred to above the grand jury sitting at the April term, 1872, of Clinch Superior Court, appointed the following citizens of the county to serve on the Board of Education : D. H. Johnson, for 4 years. Qualified August 17, 1872 H. A. Mattox, for 4 years, Qualified 1872 W. J. Rives, for 2 years. Qualified 1872 S. W. Register, for 2 years, Qualified July 6, 1872 Chas. A. Griffis, for 2 years. Qualified July 7, 1872 Under the law of 1870, the Board of Education, which was elected met and elected H. D. O'Quin as the first county school commisisoner and ex-officio secretary of the board. Mr. O'Quin qualified June 3d, 1871. He continued under the reorganized Board of Education, and was re-elected in 1876, qualifying December nth, 1876, and served until 1882, when he was succeeded by George W. Newbern. In his report to the grand jury, at the April term, 1873, Commissioner O'Quin stated that about $390 had been re- ceived by the county treasurer for educational purposes and paid out according to instructions; that about $800 would be received for this county for carrying on the schools for the fiscal year. He also stated that under the special school law it was the duty of the school board to organize public schools for three months in all parts of the county where practicable, and that the Board of Education desired and earnestly solicited the grand jury's co-operation in organiz- ing one or more schools in each militia district during the year. In reference to local taxation, the commissioner stated in his report: "The power of local taxation is lodged with your body this year on recommendation of the School Board. The Board in session to-day decided to recommend that as your History of Clinch County, Georgia lOi body has the power, that you exercise your discretion In the matter, it being the opinion, however, of the Board that tax- ation for educational purposes would ultimately be more beneficial than for any other purposes if properly applied, as our children would thereby be benefited longer after we have passed from the stage of action." The grand jury at the spring term, 1872, which elected the first board of education under the new school law, had this comment to make on the new school system: "We look with favor on the public school law and desire to see the new system fully tested and believe that with good manage- ment on the part of those clothed with the power of its ex- ecution it will redound In great and lasting benefit to the young and rising generation." In his report to the grand jury at the fall term, 1877, Commissioner O'QuIn stated that under the new law passed In 1876, making It the commissioner's duty to appoint school trustees for the different districts of the county, he appointed the following trustees: Sherod Tomllnson, J. B. Pafford and Martin S. Corbitt for Mud Creek; J. R. G. Hamilton, Louis Strickland and David O'Quin for Lawton ; George W. New- bern, William H. Ramsey and Wm. Griffis, for Homerville; and Isham Patterson, Jonathan L. Morgan and Solomon Mobley, for Morgan's district. He stated that he had licensed twenty teachers and contracted with sixteen to teach schools up to that time during 1877. A few figures on the school work and attendance in the county for the last few years are herewith given; in white schools : Average No. of Year Attendance Attendance Teachers 1910 1,230 951 43 1911 1,400 1,000 59 1912 1,296 866 47 1913 1,170 820 41 1914 1.323 1,022 45 I02 History of Clinch County, Georgia The colored attendance for 19 14 was 637, with an average attendance of 383. There were 15 teachers employed. Amounts Year Received 1910 $6,633.24 1911 6,864.78 1912 6,^66.2,3 1913 7,181.24 1914 7,947.84 Value of School Houses & Equipment $18,000 19,700 20,000 25,600 28,500 Paid to Teachers $6,218.44 5,767.62 5.578-03 5,711.90 6,136.72 From the minutes of the school board it is seen that the total value of school property in Clinch County in 1895, was $6,450.50. Only two schools, viz. : Homerville and DuPont, had patent desks. The value of the DuPont Academy was placed at $400 for the building and $369 for the fixtures, and the DuBignon Institute at Homerville was valued at $2,605 foi* the building and $578 for the fixtures. The following have served on the Board of Education since 1872 : Anderson, F. M. Booth, Jesse R. Caswell, A. J. Caswell, A. J. Corbitt, Irwin Cornelius, George Dickerson, R. G. Dickerson, Daniel Dickerson, J. R. Dickerson, J. R. Drawdy, J. J. Drawdy, J. J. Daugharty, G. W. 1904 Eason, James T. Fender, D. C. 1894 Griffis, William Griffis, Charles A. 1872 1894- 1875- 1879- 1905- 1885- 1876- 1887- 892 Knight, N. S. 1881-1892 903 Kight, James M. 1881 876 Lockliear, L. H. 1911-1916 888 Langdale, J. J. 1913-1916 910 Moore, John 1 882-1 886 881 Mattox, H. A. 1 872-1 876 875 Mattox, H. A. 1893 893 Mattox, B. E. 1 889-1 892 886 North, Wiliam B. 1 893-1904 891 O'Quin, H. D. 1879-1884 877 O'Quin, E. W. 1878-1880 892 O'Quin, E. W. 1882-1886 909 O'Quin, H. A. 1 89 1 892 Pafford, J. Levin 1910-1916 897 Pafford, Wm. M. 1903-1905 877 Pafford, M. B. 1906-1910 880 Register, S. W. 1872-1876 History of Clinch County, Georgia 103 Griffis, John G. 1904-1914 Register, B. S. 1913-1914 Griffis, W. J. 1902-1903 Roberts, Tharp 1915-1916 Gary, W. H. 1893 Rives, W. J. 1872-1875 Hughes, F. M. 1898-1913 Smith, Moses 1900-1902 HiUiard, M. H. 1910-1912 Smith, Benjamin 1894-1897 Howell, W. T. 1 898-1 899 Smith, C. H. 1892 Johnson, D. H. 1 872-1 874 Strickland, W. J. 1 877-1878 Johnson, D. H. 1887-1890 Sirmans, F. B. 1887-1890 Johnson, D. O. 1914-1916 Tomlinson,Sherod 1877-1880 The following is a list of the trustees of the different schools of the county at present: Reedy Creek — J. C. Touchston, E. J. Futch, C. L. Stanley. Live Oak— H. W. Corbitt, J. H. Haskins, S. Been. Council — S. W. Evans, J. D. Langdale, J. F. Patterson. Consolidated — F. W. Burkhalter, P. A. Courson, James Z. Curry. Camp Creek — H. H. Guest, T. C. Conine, D. V. Tom- linson. Sirmans— M. B. Pafford, W. W. Elliott, Isaac Powell. Cogdell— J. B. Kirkland, R. A. Pafford, C. A. Hodges. Thigpen — C. S, Vining, J. J. Brack, Benj. Cox. Touchstone — I. D. Dickerson, J. T. Hughes, A. J. Joyce. Waldo — M. T. Burkhalter, B. F. Dickerson, Joshua Lee. DuPont— C. M. McLamb, L. C. Cox, C. H. North, C. C. Lee, J. T. Bramlett. Midway — A. B. Smith, H. C. Bennett, L. C. Strickland, W. V. Musgrove, James Smith. Red Bluff — W. O. James, A. J. Lockliear, Irwin Williams. Stockton — J. A. Mathis, J. A. Holtzendorf, J. F. Fen- der, Sr. Bird Pond — Tharp Delk, Irwin Corbitt, M. J. Guest. Anthon— H. W. Jordan, W. W. Willoughby, W. A. Taylor. Crisp — S. T. Howell, O. K. Courson, Velpo Tomlinson. 104 History of Clinch County, Georgia Bradwell— W. M. Wilson, William Corbitt, J. H. Ham- ilton. Fargo — B. B. Brown, F. F. Cornelius, J. F. Newman. Abbeville— W. M. Hughes, J. A. Mobley, M. K. Klrk- land. Ty Ty — M. T. Herren, L. V. Herren Thelma— M. H. Hllllard. Homervllle — R. G. DIckerson, C. M. KImrey, J. T. Dame, J. L. Hunter, C. H. DIckerson. Argyle — W. H. HInson, W. L. HInson, A. B. Williams, S. C. Patterson, B. A. Harper. Among the schools In Clinch County, DuBIgnon Institute, located at Homervllle, might be said to be the best In Its courses of study, faculty and equipment. The magnificent brick building, located In the western part of the town, with a campus of about six acres. Is ample to accommodate a town several times larger than Homervllle. It was built In 1909-10 by the town; and In order to secure funds, with which to built the school, the citizens of the town unanimously voted for a bond Issue of $8,000. The original building was a two-story frame building, located In the northeastern part of town, and built about 1894-5. It was built mainly by subscription. This building was used until the fall of 1909, when It was destroyed. The origin of the fire has never been ascertained; It caught In the third story which was a "half-story" used by the secret orders. After the loss of the old building, preparations were Immediately made for another one. The bond Issue was made and Mr. H. J. Peagler was selected by the town council to look after the building of same and as treasurer. The present school building has a touch of the old Spanish architecture In Its appearance, and Is two stories high. The first floor contains two large class rooms and two smaller ones. The second floor contains two small class rooms and a large auditorium with a seating capacity of about five hun- History of Clinch County, Georgia 105 dred. The building is equipped throughout with the latest desks and seats and has electric lights and water connections. The first school taught in the old DuBignon Institute was opened on the 7th of January 1895, under Professors W. E. Gullette and J. F. Eggleston. The school received its name in honor of Hon. F. G. DuBignon, one of the State's foremost men. In the commencement exercises of May 23-4, 1895, Colonel DuBignon offered a gold medal for the best oratory. This was the occasion of much effort on the part of the young men of the school. The judges were Rev. W. J. Stallings, R. L. Clark and Hon. R. G. Dickerson. The medal was awarded to H. H. Baxley, a young visitor-student. His subject was "Principle." The following is a list of the principals of the school : W. E. Gullette J. F. Eggleston S. Preston Settle G. C. Ingram W. D. Stevenson H. C. Cain H. G. Fulton H. C. Cain S. Preston Settle W. B. Smith H. A. Kiker 1895-1896 1895-1896 1896 1896-1897 1897-1898 1898 1898-1899 1899-1902 1 902- 1 903 1 903- 1 904 1 904- 1 905 W. L. DuVall W. M. Avera C. C. Palmer H. Q. Avera W. M. Benge R. L. Lovell H. Q. Avera William Koehler A. A. O'Kelly Paul Moss 1905-1907 1907-1909 1909 1909-1910 1910-1911 191 1-1912 1912-1913 1913 1913-1914 1914-1917 CHAPTER IX. History of Churches of Clinch County. METHODIST CHURCH, HOMERVILLE. THIS church is about the oldest existing Methodist Church in the county, having been established here in 1875. There had been no edifice here previous to that time to worship in, and the few Methodists met occasionally at the court-house and worshipped. Also previous to this time, Robert B. Crum and his wife, of near Homerville, were in charge of a Sunday School here, although un-denomi- national it was nominally a Methodist school. The first church building was located on a small piece of land granted the church by the railroad company to be used by them so long as a church was situated thereon. The land was a part of the railroad square in town. The credit for the securing of this parcel of land for the church is due mainly to the efforts of Col. J. L. Sweat, of Homerville. Among the prominent members of the church during its infancy at Homerville, were H. A. Mattox and family, Robert B. Crum and family, Col. J. L. Sweat and wife and E. J. Ben- ton. Rev. William W. Griffin lived here for several years following the war, and preached for the Methodists occa- sionally. He was Ordinary of the county three years. The town lot whereon the parsonage was located, was bought of A. S. McLendon in 1883, the price being $250. It had a good dwelling on it and was used as a parsonage until 1 9 14, when the present parsonage was completed and occupied. The old parsonage and land was sold to Mrs. W. K. Peagler and the proceeds applied to the building of the new one, which is a neat and comfortable dwelling. The land for the new church and parsonage was given by that generous benefactor and member of the church, H. J. Peag- History of Clinch County, Georgia 107 ler, who died in the midst of his endeavors to build a new home for the Methodists. The present church building was built during 19 13-14, at an approximate cost of $6,500. It was during the pastorate of Rev, George H. Walker, a most progressive and wide- awake pastor, that the church was contemplated, begun and completed. This was his ambition from the time he took charge of his station in December, 191 1, when he at once saw the need of a larger and better building. Probably one of the most Interested members and generous donators In building the new church was Henry J. Peagler, one of the town's wealthiest citizens. He not only bought and gave the land to the church for its new home and par- sonage, at a cost of $900, but contributed still larger sums of money towards its erection, as well as much of his time and attention. In the midst of the building of the new edifice, which he was looking after on the part of the church, Mr. Peagler was stricken on October 31st, 19 13, with a serious attack of acute indigestion and died within an hour's time. Thus the church was deprived of one of its most active and influential members. A beautiful memorial window now adorns the church In Mr. Peagler's memory. After his death, Mr. W. V. Musgrove, a prominent business man of the town, took the matter in hand and due, chiefly to his efforts, the church was soon completed. The new church is located on the south side of the A. C. L. Railroad In the heart of town, and faces the right-of-way. It is situated on the lot formerly known as the Lyman A. SIrmans lot. Large oaks adorn the lot which made it such a desirable location for a new church, some of the oaks now standing were set out by Colonel SIrmans right after the war, when he owned the lot. The parsonage Is located to the rear of the church and faces the Railroad Square from the west. The following is a list of the pastors of the church since 1875, as shown by the church records: io8 History of Clinch County, Georgia B. S. Key 1875 I. F. Carey 1894 F. C. Bickley 1876 -1878 W. J. Stallings 1895- 1898 Edward J. Benton 1879 J. R. Jordan 1899 Lyman H. Green 1880 C. E. Boland 1900 John W. Watts 1881 J. P. Bazemore 1901 Edward J. Benton 1882 J. M. Boland 1902 S. G. Childs 1883 L. B. McMichael 1903 W. M. C. Conley 1884 0. S. Smith 1904 C. Davis 1885 A. B. Wall 1905- 1908 W. J. Stalllngs 1886 Aaron Kelly 1909- 1910 S. R. Weaver 1887 I. E. McKellar 1911 E. L. Padrick 1888 GeorgeH. Walker 1912- 1914 W. T. McMichael 1888 -1890 M. M. Leggett 1915 A. H. Bazemore 1891 -1893 M. M. Marshall 1916 The following is a list of the presiding elders of the dis- tricts in which the Homerville Church has been included since 1880: J. M. Marshall 1880-1882 E. M. Whiting 1898-1900 J. D. Anthony 1883-1884 J. W. Weston 1901-1904 P. S. Twitty 1885 K. Read 1905-1906 W. F. Lloyd 1 886-1 887 H. M. Morrison 1907 J. 0. A. Cook 1 888-1 890 J. A. Harmon 1908-1909 G. G. N. McDaniel i89i-'92 Whitley Langston 1910-1912 K. Read 1 893-1 894 P. W. Ellis 1913 C. E. Dowman 1895 Isaac P. Tyson 1914-1916 P. S. Twitty 1896-1897 ' The following is a list of the recording stewards of the Homerville district since 1880: J. L. Sweat H. A. Mattox D. O. Ratliff T. F. M. Sweat J. L. Waldrup 1880-1887 W. A. Ecord 1903-1906 1888-1896 B. A. Harper 1907-1908 1 897-1900 J. L. Waldrup 1909-1913 1 90 1 A. J. Gibbs 19 14-19 16 1902 History of Clinch County, Georgia 109 The present stewards of the HomervIUe Church are: A. J. Gibbs, T. F. M. Sweat, J. L. Hunter, G. A. Gibbs, and C. M. Kimrey. The Sunday School of the Methodist Church at Homer- vIUe is probably the oldest existing school of its kind in the county. This school has been in active condition since 1876. Prior to this time there had been an undenominational school here led by Mr. and Mrs. Robert B. Crum, who were Metho- dist members. This was before the Methodist Church was built. Following the organization of the Methodist Church at Homerville, came the reorganization of the Sunday School and the consequent turning over of the former undenomina- tional school led by Mr. and Mrs. Crum to the church. The Sunday School was reorganized May 7th, 1876, and named the Wesley Sunday School. At this time the following of- ficers were elected: C. Hussey, superintendent; N. W. Graddy, assistant superintendent; J. L. Sweat, secretary, and W. A. Ecord, treasurer. Fifty members were enrolled. After this, Mr. Hussey, who was a school teacher, left and Colonel Sweat was elected superintendent. But the present Sunday School nominally dates from 1863, as It was organized as above stated by Mr. Crum and his wife, although its actual church affiliations date only from 1876. The following is a list of Its superintendents to date : Robert B. Crum 1 863-1 876 Ezra McClaflin 1 897-1 899 C. Hussey 1876 J. W. Brown (died) 1900 J. L. Sweat 1876- 18 83 R. W. Sweat 1901 W. A. Ecord 1 884-1 885 W. A. Ecord 1902-1907 J. L. Sweat 1 886-1 887 T. F. M. Sweat 1908 B. A. WhIttington 1888 A. J. Gibbs 1909-1913 H. A. Mattox 1889-1895 T. F. M. Sweat 1914 N. S. Knight 1895 A. J. Gibbs 1915-1916 J. F. Eggleston 1 895-1 896 From an old Sunday School record book for the year 1879 it is found that the following were teachers and scholars, no History of Clinch County, Georgia which are herewith given as it is believed they will prove interesting. Bible Class — J. L. Sweat, teacher; Miss Mary Temples, Miss Nannie Hitch, S. M. Chapman, C. F. Hitch, W. J. Smith, Riley Smith, F. D. Kirkland, Seward Smith, Perry Moore, Miss Addie Crum, Mrs. H. P. Mattox, W. F. Dick- son, W. T. Smith, C. J. Shaw, Miss Mattie Gary, S. W. Hen- derson, W. A. Ecord, A. Morgan, Miss Lillie Crum, Mrs. D. W. Frobel, James P. Mattox, J. D. Mattox, Bryant Smith, A. B. Findley, H. P. Mattox, Miss Belle Mattox, Mr. and Mrs. J. G. Tomlinson. Class No. I. — Miss Addie Crum, teacher; Clara Narger, Lola Tomlinson, Minnie Crum, Minerva Smith, Alice Mat- tox, Lizzie Smith, Nannie Smith, Minnie Townsend. Class No. 2 — Miss Mary Temples, teacher; Imogene Mattox, Bettie Smith, Lizzie Ecord, Floy Caswell. Class No. 3. — Mrs. J. L. Sweat, teacher; Cora Sirmans, lola Roberson, Bitha Smith, Annie Watts, Lumpkin Smith, Rosa Smith, Mary Smith, Caroline Harnage, Lula Sweat, Pauline Smith, Jennie Smith, Maude Smith. Class No. 4. — S. M. Chapman, teacher; Remer Crum, Jimmie Caswell, Hamp Mattox, Jack Newbern, Willie Smith, Basil Mattox, Willie Norwood, Willie Mattox, John- nie Green, John H. Mattox, Jr., Jimmie Smith. Class No. 5. — James P. Mattox, teacher; Tommie Smith, Scott Dukes, Eddie Hinson, Isiah Fryer, John Smith, Ches- ter Harnage, Johnny Jones, David Smith, Reubin Stanford. Class No. 6. — Mrs. H. P. Mattox, teacher; Eddie Smith, Lee Sweat, Allen Caswell, Bennie Findley, Jim Ecord, Frank Caswell, Walter Mattox, Andy Caswell, Loddie Caswell. During the fall of 1878 the Methodists built a large taber- nacle on the Railroad Square in town, for holding revival and yearly camp-meetings in. It was a large open-air build- ing, circular shape, with a seating capacity of about two thou- sand people. Annually for many years some kind of a big History of Clinch County, Georgia 1 1 1 meeting was held in it. The yearly meeting was an event of much importance; all the people for miles around attending and the meetings lasting for several days at a time. Among the leaders and those who donated much towards the building of the tabernacle were H. A. Mattox and R. B. Reppard. Gradually this beautiful custom dropped out of usage and at last there were no meetings held. The building began to decay from lack of repairs; so the church people finally sold it to H. J. Peagler in 1907, who tore it down and removed it. Another beautiful custom, followed for many years, was that of holding an annual Sunday School picnic at some pleas- ant point near Homerville. It was never held in town nor did the picnickers have to use the train to attend. Principal among the places where it was held were the Lewis Smith place, one mile from town ; the ford of Cane Creek, and the Stewart place, about two miles from town. On account of the hospitality of Captain W. H. Gary, it was sometimes held in his grove at his home on the edge of town. As has been above stated, Robert B. Crum and his wife were prominent members of the Methodist Church at Homerville for thirty or forty years. While Mr. Crum never held any political office, yet he was in other ways one of the town's most prominent citizens and the church's most zeal- ous workers, and not only him but his wife as well. A hand- some memorial window now adorns the new Methodist Church in Homerville in their memory. Therefore, a short sketch of this family will be appropriate: To Mr. and Mrs. Crum belongs the honor of establishing the present Methodist Sunday School in Homerville. This was in 1863, when the town was very small and county thinly populated. At first the school which they organized was un- denominational but with the formation of the Methodist Church at Homerville it became a part of that church. Robert Brazelle Crum was born in Camden County, June 19th, 181 8, a member of an old family of that county. His 112 • History of Clinch County, Georgia father was David Crum, who was a native of North Caro- lina and who located in Camden County in 1807. R. B. Crum married Miss Mary Ann Hutto, November 24th, 1842, by whom he had three children. Mrs. Crum's father was itiner- ant of the old Georgia Conference. She died in 1849. Four years later at an old preaching place called Mulberry Grove, Mr. Crum was married to Miss Margaret Malette, a mem- ber of an old Camden County family. This was on June 5th, 1853. By his second wife, Mr. Crum had nine children, viz.: Robert Mallette Crum (died 1909) ; Vidella, who mar- ried D. W. Frobel, later Charles Gillican; Alice B. Crum, who married F. A. Exley; Margaret Eva Crum, who mar- ried H. J. Peagler (died 1902) ; Addie, who married Benj. Sirmans (died about 1892) ; Lillie L. Crum, who married Seward Smith; Rosa Minerva or Minnie Crum, who mar- ried James P. Mattox (died 1897) ' ^"d D. A. R. Crum, a prominent lawyer of Cordele, Ga. The latter is a former State senator and was prominently mentioned as a suitable person to be appointed judge of the newly created United States District Court for Georgia, in 19 13-14. In early life, Robert B. Crum joined the Methodist Church and was a steward of the Homervllle Church for about twenty years previous to his death. As a steward he was always on hand with his assessments and for his services was given a life membership In the American Bible Society. In the fall of 1862, Mr. Crum, with his family, removed to Clinch County and settled on the Hiram Kite place, about two miles from Homervllle, having previously visited this locality and bought the place. They lived there several years, later acquiring the hotel property formerly owned by Joel Strickland, In Homervllle. They then moved into town and ran the hotel continuously as "The Crum House" up to the death of Mrs. Crum In 1902; and after her death by her daughter, Mrs. Gillican, until 19 10. Mr. Crum's Civil War record began In 1861, when he W. T. DICKERSON Ex-Senator and Solicitor County Court. M. D. DICKERSON Solicitor-General Waycross Circuit History of Clinch County, Georgia 113 joined the 4th Ga. Cavalry under Colonel Clinch, of Camden County, The next year, on account of his age, and in order to make safe his family and property then exposed to the enemy, he was relieved of his military obligations and re- moved to Clinch County. Later he joined the State militia and saw some service around Atlanta. Mr. Crum owned and controlled some eighty-odd slaves previous to the emancipa- tion of the slaves. Mr. Crum died very suddenly on the 12th day of Novem- ber, 1893, at the dinner table. He had been previously com- plaining of pains in the breast and spells of weakness, but his death was not so suddenly expected. Mrs. Crum survived her husband and continued to run the hotel until her death in 1 90 1. She taught a class in the Sunday School for many years. Mr, and Mrs. Crum are buried in the Homerville cemetery. Another one of the most prominent members of the Homer- ville Church was Mr, Henry J. Peagler, of whom reference has been made to before in this chapter. He was born in Berkeley County, S. C, March 15th, 1852. When a young man he came to Georgia and became a turpentine employee. At first he was employed as a woods rider in Wayne County, later coming to Clinch County, where he was employed by H. & H. Mattox. Soon after coming to Clinch County he met and married Miss Margaret Eva Crum. They were married March 17th, 1881, by the Rev. John W. Watts, pastor of the Methodist Church. To them were born five children : Wellie K., Harry M., Lee, Lottie and Robert Peag- ler. Two of the children are dead. About 1887 Mr. Peagler, together with his friend, Calvitt Huxford, who came from the same county as Mr, Peagler, established a turpentine business in the northern part of the county at "Sandy Bottom." Later they opened up two other places. They continued in partnership until 1 896, when it was mutually dissolved. About this time Mr, Peagler acquired the 114 History of Clinch County, Georgia old home property of the Crums, located near Homerville, where he built a beautiful residence in the place of the old one and removed there. He lived there until about 1910, when he moved into town. During all this time, Mr. Peagler continued to prosper, and soon became one of the wealthiest men in the county. When the Bank of Homerville was organized in 1903, Mr. Peagler became a large stockholder and was elected its first vice-president. Later he was elected its president and served in this capacity until his death in 1913. Mr. Peagler was an active member of the Methodist Church for about fifteen years previous to his death. He was a steward and trustee of the church for several years. He gave liberally of his means to the church and was always found in his seat at church. His first wife died in 1902, and after her death he mar- ried Miss Annie Belle Lanier, the beautiful young daughter of Mr. R. M. Lanier and a grand-daughter of Rev. Robert F. Lanier, a pioneer Methodist of Clinch County. Four chil- dren were born to this union, viz. : Allie, Fannie, James Mil- ton and Henri M. Peagler. Mr. Peagler's death occurred very suddenly October 31st, 1 9 13, of acute indigestion. He was taken sick at the dinner table and died within a hour's time. His death was the occa- sion of much sorrow the town and county over. His demise was regretted by white and colored alike. His remains were buried in the Homerville cemetery, his pastor, Rev. Geo. H. Walker, conducting the funeral exercises. METHODIST CHURCH, DUPONT. This church was established about 1880. The present church building was dedicated October 29th, 1899, by Rev. M. C. Austin, of Brunswick. A handsome memorial window adorns the church in honor of Walter T. Lott, a generous benefactor of the church. History of Clinch County, Georgia 115 Among the earlier Methodists at DuPont, were Mrs. Eliza G. Herviant, Col. L. A. Sirmans and family, E. J. Benton and James T. Eason and family. At present there are very few Methodists in DuPont. Services are held once a month. The pastor of the Homerville Church is also pastor there. The folowing is a list of the pastors since 1 890 : W. T. McMichael 1889-1890 B. C. Prickett 1905 A. H. Bazemore 1891-1893 A. B. Wall 1906-1907 I. F. Carey 1894 J- S. Lewis 1908 W. J. Stallings 1895-1898 Aaron Kelly 1909-1910 James R. Jordan 1^99 I- E. McKellar 191 1 C. E. Boland 1900 George H.Wlaker 1912-1913 J. P. Bazemore 1901 F. L. Coleman 1914 J. M. Boland 1902 M. M. Leggett 1915 L. B. McMichael 1903- 1904 M. M. Marshall 1916 The Methodist Sunday School at DuPont has at times been temporarily suspended. Due to the tireless efforts of a few it has been re-organized time and again. The following is a partial list of its superintendents since 1880: Edward J. Benton 1880-1881 W. S. Glenn 1901-1902 James T. Eason 1887 A. J. Gibbs 1904- 1905 James T. Eason 1891 M. S. Eason 1908 L. A. Sirmans 1895 J- T. Bramlett 19 14 Joseph Johnson 1900 J. D. Lyle 191 5 For many years previous to his death, James T. Eason was one of the leading members of the Methodist Church at DuPont. He was born in Appling County, October 26th, 1832, and was married December 28th, 1856, to Miss Louisa Victoria Mattox, daughter of Michael Mattox, of Tattnall County. By her he had ten children, viz. : Mary, who married W. W. Sever; Sarah, who married John Camp- bell; Julia R., who married H. W. Sever; Moses S. Eason; Victoria (died in infancy) ; James M. (died in infancy) ; Florida, who married A. S. McLendon ; Nannie, who mar- Ii6 History of Clinch County, Georgia ried C. M. Kimrey; Bessie, who married R. B. Hardy; Mc- Kenzie and George H. (died in infancy). Mr. Eason joined the Confederate army in May, 1862, and served in Co. "B" 54th Georgia Regiment. Mr. Eason joined the M. E. Church in 1858 in Charlton County, while his wife joined in 1857. They lived in Charl- ton County until 1861, when they removed back to Appling County. In 1882 he removed to Clinch County, and settled about one mile from Magnolia. He lived here until a few years prior to his death, when he removed to DuPont, where he died. Mr. Eason was one of the prime leaders in building the Lott Memorial Methodist Church at DuPont. While liv- ing near Magnolia, he attended a Baptist Church nearby and although he was a Methodist, he was elected superintendent of its Sunday School, and soon had as good a school as could be found in the county. He worked hand in hand with Rev. George W. Newbern in the promotion of the cause. Rev. Newbern being the pastor of the little church nearby. All the while, Mr. Eason's membership was at Homerville, but later he moved it to DuPont. He was superintendent of the DuPont Sunday School a few years, and was elected a steward in 1883. His death occurred at his home in DuPont, Feb- ruary 26th, 1905, and he was buried in the North cemetery, BAPTIST CHURCH AT HOMERVILLE. This church was organized about 1880, the principal mem- bers being W. H. Gary and wife, A. J. Caswell and wife, George W. Newbern and C. A. Smith. The land for the purpose was deeded the church by Col. Simon W. Hitch in 1882 to be used for church purposes so long as a church was located thereon. The church faces the first street east of the court-house, which runs north and south, and is on the west side of the street. It is surrounded by beautiful shade oaks. Until about 1880 the Baptists at Homerville had no edifice History of Clinch County, Georgia 117 In which to worship, and the Methodists granted them the use of their church across the railroad. The first Baptist Church in the vicinity of Homerville, and where the Homerville Baptists worshipped, was at the ford of Cane Creek, three miles northeast of town. This old church was established about 1852. At this time a Rev. Ryals was pastor. Later, Rev. C. Aldridge, who lived at Magnolia, was its pastor. One of the deacons of this church was John W. Hodges. He was a deacon until its removal to Homerville. After the war, this church was abandoned, and the Bap- tists worshipped in the court-house at Homerville. This priv- ilege was granted by the grand jury in 1868, and it was availed of by both denominations. In 1875 the Methodist Church was erected and thev allowed the Baptists the use of their church until they could build one. Among the earlier Baptists at Homerville, before their church was built, might be mentioned Joel Strickland and his wife, John W. Hodges and his wife, Alfred Newbern and his wife, George W. Newbern and wife and A. B. Findley and his wife. Also there were A. J. Caswell and his wife and John C. Jones, who subsequently became prominent mem- bers of this church. The original church building was a frame building. This building Avas used up to 191 2, when the present brick struc- ture was completed. The present building is of white brick and cost about $2,000. It was begun in 191 1. The building committee consisted of Messrs. R. G. Dickerson, A. H. Cul- pepper. George M. Dame, J. S. Kirkland and D. E. Kirk- land. The contract was given to S. S. Dillon, a local con- tractor, who also built the Methodist Church here. The pastor of the church who began the movement to build the new church was that able man of God, Rev. G. Tom West, who lived at Willacoochee, Ga. Due to his untiring efforts and under his directions the present church was built. 1 1 8 History of Clinch County, Georgia The present deacons of the church are Dr. A. H. Cul- pepper, J. S. Kirkland and George M. Dame, The Sunday School of the church was organized under the superintend- ency of Capt. W. H. Gary. He was superintendent for nearly twenty years previous to his death in 1901. Since that time, Dr. A. H. Culpepper, J. S. Kirkland, Prof. R. L. Lovell and George M. Dame have at different times served as superintendents. The present clerk of the church is J. S. Kirkland. The following is a list of the pastors since 1895 : C. C. Grace 1895-1896 G. Tom West 1905-1911 M.P.Cain 1897 P. B. Butler 1912 W. O. Dorsey 1898 Hugh F. Oliver 19 12-19 13 John F. Smith 1899 Ernest M. Altman 1914-19 15 J. C. Gillispie 1900-1901 Lester Lane 1916 John F. Smith 1 901-1904 Other pastors of this church were Revs. George W. New- bern, J. T. Stanley, Bennett, Vining and Poston. Rev. A. B. Findley was ordained to the ministry here in 1867, and serv^ed as pastor. A leading member of the church is J. S. Kirkland, named above. He is a son of the late J. C. Kirkland. He was born in 1864, and married Miss Mary Touchstone, a daughter of Mr. C. S. Touchstone, of Stockton, in 1904. He has four children. Mr. Kirkland lives on his farm near Homerville, and has served his church as a deacon, Sunday School superin- tendent and secretary, and as clerk. John C. Jones, although a cripple and could not walk, was one of the most faithful members of the church. He was for many years prior to his death in 1904, clerk of the church. He also took a great interest in the Sunday School. He had been tax receiver of Clinch County for over twenty years when he died. Capt. W. H. Gary came to Homerville about 1880 and was very instrumental in organizing the Baptist Church. He History of Clinch County, Georgia 119 was a deacon of the church until his death in 1901, and also Sunday School superintendent and church clerk. He was clerk of the Homer\-ille Baptist Association for several years, and lor five years was clerk of the Smyrna Baptist Association of which the Homerville Association was formerly a part. To Capt. Gary may be attributed more than any one else the success and upbuilding of these associations. He was a county commisisoner two years, mayor of Homerville and a member of Board of Trustees of DuBignon Institute from its incep- tion. His wife was the widow of John W. Hodges. John W. Hodges was a leading Baptist at Homerville before the Baptist Church was established, and his death occurred before their church v/as built. As has been stated above, he was a member of the old Baptist Church at Cane Creek, and was deacon there for many years. He was born April 30, 1822, in Liberty County, and married Miss Eliza- beth E. Darsey, of that county, February 12th, 1846. They had no children. They removed to Clinch County In 1852 and lived for several years four miles east of where Homer- ville now Is. With the coming on of the war he removed to town and joined the Confederate army. Mr. Hodges was a brother to Archibald Hodges, at one time a justice of the Inferior Court of Clinch County. He died In Homerville, December 26th, 1878, and was burled In the town cemetery. Another early Baptist at Homerville, was Alfred B. Find- ley. He was born January 1 5th, 1839, and served in Co. "K" 29th Georgia, during the war. He was married August 15th, 1866, to Miss Argent Newbern, daughter of Rev. G. W. Newbern. Mr. FIndley joined the Missionary Baptist Church and was, on October 15th, 1866, ordained to the min- istry. He served as deputy sheriff under Sheriffs Nelms, Courson and Johnson, and as Justice of the Peace at Homer- ville. Later, he removed to Coffee County and settled at Douglas, where he established a Third Party newspaper, and was appointed postmaster under Republican administra- tion. He is now living at Douglas. I 20 History of Clinch County, Georgia BAPTIST CHURCH, STOCKTON. This church was originally located at Carter's Bridge, on the Allapaha River on the Clinch County side of the river. It was constituted in 1861. It was in a prosperous condition for two or three years during the war, when it almost succumbed. Rev. Caswell Howell was its first minister. Among its first members were James Henry Carroll, James Touchston, Charles Herren, John Touchston and Charles S. Touchston, and Dr. Ulysses A. Rice. To-day Mr. C. S. Touchston is the only living member of the original membership. Dr. Rice was a native of North Georgia and lived down here several years. He contributed much of labor and money towards the build- ing of the church. When the war came on, Dr. Rice returned to his old home, the Touchstons moved their membership their membership to Macedonia Church in Echols County, which was nearer them, and other members removed their membership also. This left the church without support, and it was discontinued for a few years. Although the church build- ing remained, no efforts were made to revive it until 1 868. In 1868 several Baptist laymen, among whom were John G. Norton, David Cowart, John Touchston and . Collier, set themselves to the task and removed the church building to Stockton. Here the old church was the scene of many meetings for nearly fifty years. In 191 5 it was torn down to put up a new building in its place. When it was torn down much sound lumber was found in it which was put into the building in 1861; this same sound lumber will be used in the new building. Rev. Thomas Powell was its first pastor after it was moved to Stockton. When this faithful servant of the church, after after laboring there a few years, turned the church over to his successors, the church's membership had materially in- creased and the church was on a sound footing. The present pastor is Rev. Noah Tyler, who lives across the Allapaha River in Lowndes County. The deacons are History of Clinch County, Georgia 121 Messrs. R. J. Bennett and C, S. Touchston, the latter of whom has served in this capacity for the last thirty years. Ollie Mathis is the church clerk. The church has a member- ship of about thirty-five. James Touchston, an early member of this church, settled on Cow Creek in 1851, removing from where Milltown now is. The next year he built a grist and saw-mill on Cow Creek, propelled by water. Mr. Touchston joined the Baptist Church in early life, and was an active member until his death in August, 1865. At his death he was 71 years old. At the time of his death his membership was with the Mace- donia Church in Echols County. Mr. Touchston's wife was Miss Rebecca Hutto, by whom he had ten children, viz.: John, William, Nancy, Jesse, James, Henry H., Isaac, Ra- chael, Chas. S., and Sarah Touchston. Two or his sons, Jesse and James Touchston, were killed in the war at Boonesboro, Md., in 1863. Charles S. Touchston, a son of James Touchston, Sr., joined the Baptist Church in i860, and in 1861 became a member of the Carter's Bridge Church. He was born April 30th, 1845, where Milltown now is. When the Civil War came on, Mr. Touchston joined Co. "K" 29th Georgia Regi- ment, but was later transferred to Co. "H" 4th Georgia Cavalry. When the war closed he returned home and mar- ried Miss Mary E. Howell, daughter of H. H. Howell, of Echols County, December 28th, 1865. To them were born ten children. John G. Norton was very instrumental in removing the Baptist Church from Carter's Bridge to Stockton. For sev- eral years he was clerk of the church. He was born in South Carolina, February 3d, 1838. He settled at Stockton just after the war and subsequently engaged in the mercantile business. He also ran a ginnery. He removed to Lowndes County, below Naylor, and began farming. His death occurred February 4th, 1906, and he 122 History of Clinch County, Georgia was buried at the Stockton cemetery. He was twice married and had several children. ANTIOCH METHODIST CHURCH. This church is situated several miles south or Argyle, and was for many years in the Homerville circuit. This church was established mainly through the efforts of Rev. Irwin R. Booth, who was a local preacher many years previous to his death in 1896. Among the early leading members of the church was Is.ham Patterson, James Harper, C. W. Inman, Herschel Inman, Ivy Davis and W. H. Hinson. The list of pastors have been the same as that of Homer- ville. The following is a list of the Sunday School superin- tendents at Antioch : John Inman 1876 Frank R. Booth 1 894-1 895 C. W. Inman 1 880-1 881 Irwin R. Booth 1896 George H. Lee 1 882-1 883 J. H. Inman 1897 Ivy Davis 1 884-1 886 Russell Fulwood 1898 Isham Patterson 1887-1889 W. H. Hinson 1900-1901 Herschel Inman 1 890-1 892 J. W. Hinson 1908-1910 Isham Patterson 1893 L. C. Capps 19 12 As has been stated above. Rev. Irwin R. Booth was a leading member of the Methodist Church in this section for fifty years. He was born in Beaufort County, S. C, June 3d, 1812, of religious parents. He joined the Methodist Church at the early age of nine and led a consistent life until his death. He married Miss Margaret Mixon in 1832; after her death, he married Mrs. Margaret Knowles, of Ware County, Sept. 2 1st, 1868. Rev. Booth moved to Georgia about 1840 and with the exception of a short while lived in Clinch County until death in 1896. At the time of his death. Rev. Booth had been preaching nearly fifty years, and was one of the first Methodists to set- tle in Clinch County. He was superintendent of the Antioch Sunday School at the time of his death. The Sunday before History of Clinch County, Georgia 123 he died he was on hand and conducted the school, although 84 years old. His death occurred January i6th, 1896, and his remains were buried at Antioch Church. On Sunday, Au- gust 30th, 1896, the funeral services and last tribute of re- spect to his memory were held at Antioch. All the children, grand-children and other relatives and friends numbering several hundred, were present. The services were conducted by Revs. W. J. Stallings and C. W. Inman. Another prominent member of Antioch Church was Ivy Davis. He was a resident of the neighborhood of the church, and was long associated with church and Sunday School affairs. He was not only a steward but a Sunday School super- intendent several years, and for about five years was presi- dent of the Clinch County Sunday School Association. Mr. Davis was born in 1845, ^^'^ was married to Miss Miranda Smith, daughter of William E. Smith, January 21st, 1868 and had several children. He died in 1913 at his home in Brunswick, Ga., where he had removed several years before. SHILOH METHODIST CHURCH. This church was located about four miles south of Argyle, and near the home of Mr. W. J. Strickland. It was estab- lished about 1875. The pastorate was supplied by the Homer- ville Church. Among the early prominent members of the Church were : W. J. Strickland, Peter Williams, John Florida Smith and H. C. Smith. The following is a partial list of its Sunday School super- intendents : Peter Williams 1 880-1 882 John E. Booth 1893-1895 W. J. Strickland 1 882-1 884 Jesse Booth 1896 Peter Williams 1 884-1 886 J. Jordan 1897 John F. Smith 1 886-1 889 Andrew Pittman 1898 Henry C. Smith 1890-1 891 A. J. Kight 1905 James Fulwood 1891-1892 J. R. Jernigan 1910-1916 124 History of Clinch County, Georgia METHODIST CHURCH, ARGYLE. This church was established in 1887, at about the time that the town of Argyle or Saussy, as it was then called, came into existence. The land for the purpose was deeded by Mrs. Virginia N. Fulton and Ida F. Saussy, heirs of Gasper J. Fulton, to the trustees of the Church September 8th, 1887, to be used by the Church so long as used for church purposes. The trustees named in the deed were : W. A. Ecord, Peter Williams, N. S. Knight, and W. S. Fender. Those trustees, however, did not live at Argyle. Among the earlier Methodists at this point, were T. P. Jordan, S. R. Kirton, T. H. Miller, B. A. Harper, and J. R. Booth. The pastors of this church are the same as the Homerville Church. The following is a list of the Sunday School super- intendents since 1894: T. P. Jordan i 894-1 898 B. C. Martin 1908-1910 T. H. Miller 1898-1900 J. C. Saville 1911-1913 B. A. Harper 1900 R. J. Booth 1913-1914 J. R. Booth 1901 Geo. W. Goodman 1914 W. H. Hinson 1 902-1 903 S. C. Patterson 191 5-1 916 Mrs. J. H. Inman 1 904-1 907 PROVIDENCE, OR CAMP BRANCH CHURCH. This church Is of the Primitive Baptist denomination, and although located about a mile across the line in Ware County, has always been closely associated with Clinch County, there- fore the history of this church will not be amiss. A small band of Primitive Baptists met at this point and organized themselves into a church on the third day of Feb- ruary, 1844. They were constituted as a church on the first Sunday in March (March 2d), 1844. The following is the covenant of the original constituted members, copied from the church minutes. Covenant: For as much as Almighty God by His Grace has been pleased to call us whose names underneath subscribed History of Clinch County, Georgia 125 out of darkness into his marvelous light and all of us have been regularly baptized upon a profession of our faith in Christ Jesus and have given up ourselves to the Lord and to one another in a Gospel church-way to be governed and guided by a proper discipline agreeable to the Word of God, we do therefore in the name of our Lord Jesus and by His assistance, covenant and agree to keep up the discipline of the church members in a most brotherly affection toward each other while we endeavor to punctually observe the following rules, viz. : in brotherly love to pray for each other, to watch over one another and if need be in the most tender and af- fectionate manner to reprove one another, that is if we dis- cover anything amiss to go and tell him his faults according to the direction given in our Lord's gospel, and not to be whispering and back-biting. We also agree with God's as- sistance to attend to our church meetings, observe the Lord's day and not absent ourselves from the communion of the Lord's Supper without lawful excuse, to be ready to communi- cate to the defraying of the church expense. These things we do covenant and agree to observe and keep sacred in the name and by the assistance of the Holy Trinity. Signed by the mutual consent of the members whose names are underneath subscribed. March 2d, 1844. John Minshew, Richard A. Bennett, Rachael Minshew, Tobitha Bennett, James J. Thomas, William S. Bennett, Duncan Henderson, Nancy Bennett. Belinda Henderson, After the organization was perfected. Rev. Isham Peacock was called as the first pastor of the church which call he ac- cepted. Duncan Henderson was then selected as clerk, and regular meeting days were fixed for both monthly and annual meetings. The following is a list of the pastors since the organiza- tion of the church, barring two periods when the list was not obtainable: 126 History of Clinch County, Georgia Isham Peacock Reubin Crawford John Dryden Reubin Crawford H. Cowart John Dryden Reubin Crawford Daniel Palerson James M. Mullis Reubin Crawford Daniel Palerson 1 844-1 845 1 846-1 848 1849-1854 1855-1860 1861 1862 1863 1863 1863 1864 1864 James M. Mullis Jas. C. Williams R. H. Bennett E. W. Dilbern James A. O'Steen D. B. Sheffield James A. O'Steen W. H. Tomlinson H. J. J. Markey J. C. Hewett Richard A. James 1871-1880 1881-1882 1890 1891 1892 1894 1895-1901 1902-1905 1906-1908 1909 1915-1916 From about i9ioto 1915 the church had no regular pas- tor, while the minutes do not disclose anything relative to the period of 1 864-1 871 and 1 882-1 890. The following is a list of the church clerks since 1844, with the exception of 1882-1890: Duncan Henderson i844-'49 Richard A. Bennett i849-'59 Asa Geiger 1 860-1 861 W. P. Nunez J. H. Miller J. R. Dickerson 1873-1880 1881 1890-1915 William T. James 1861-1873 B.M.James 1915-1916 Duncan Henderson, who was the first clerk, was born about 1800 and was a brother to John S., and Daniel Hen- derson. He married Miss Belinda Stafford, a daughter of Josiah Stafford. To them were born four children, viz. : An- drew J., Jack, David and Mary Henderson. His member- ship was with Providence Church until his death in 1863. He was for many years a trustee for the church property. CLINCH COUNTY SUNDAY SCHOOL ASSOCIATION. With the organization and spread of the Sunday School in Clinch County, came the organization of the Clinch County Sunday School Association. This is an association that has been very helpful and beneficial to the Sunday School cause in Clinch County. There are no records showing when it was organized, but we have traces of its existence as early as History of Clinch County, Georgia 127 1883. Annual conventions have been held every year for over twenty-five years. The following is a list of its presi- dents and secretaries since 1896, with the years 1883 and 1893 added, — the other years are not obtainable: Presidents — 1883, John G. Norton, Stockton; 1893, Ivy Davis, Saussy; 1896, A. W. Bridges, Ratio; 1897, E. M. Pafford, Stockton; 1898, W. D. Stevenson, DuPont; 1899, Ivy, Davis, Argyle; 1900, Ivy Davis, Argyle; 1901, Ivy Davis, Argyle; 1902, J. A. Kilpatrick, Argyle; 1903, H. J. Dame, Homervllle; 1904, A. J. Gibbs, DuPont; 1905, A. J. Gibbs, DuPont; 1906, Wm. M. Pafford, Mud Creek; 1907, Wm. M. Pafford, Mud Creek; 1908, A. J. Gibbs, DuPont; 1909, A. J. Gibbs, Homervllle; 19 10, A. J. Gibbs, Homer- vllle; 191 1, R. G. Ratliff, Stockton; 191 2, R. G. Ratliff, Stockton; 19 13, A. J. Gibbs, Homervllle; 19 14, J. W. Tim- merman, Stockton; 19 15, G. A. Gibbs, Homervllle. Secretaries — 1883, J. L. Sweat, Homervllle; 1893, L. D. Ellington, DuPont; 1896, Levi Hill, Ratio; 1897, Benj. Smith Stockton; 1898, Benj. Smith, Stockton; 1901, W. H. Patterson, DuPont; 1902, G. H. Cornelius, Homervllle; 1903, B. O'Quin, DuPont; 1904, J. C. Smith, Mud Creek; 1908, L. H, Dame, Homervllle; 1909, W. B. DuVall, Homervllle; 19 10, W. B. Gibbs, Homervllle; 191 2, Folks Huxford, Homervllle; 19 13, Lizzie Day, DuPont; 19 14, Folks Huxford, Homervllle; 1915, Folks Huxford, Homer- vllle. The following have served as vice-presidents, a complete list of which is not obtainable: Peter Williams, 1883 ; L. C. Mattox, 1898; J. S. KIrkland, 1902; Benj. Smith, 1904; H. H. TImmerman, 1909; R. G. Ratliff, 1910; George M. ,Dame, 1911-13 and 1916, and S. C. Patterson, 1915. PROSPECT CHURCH. This church is of the Primitive Baptist denomination, and was constituted January 22d, 1859. The first constituted members of the church were : Jacob Lightsey and Christina 128 History of Clinch County, Georgia Lightsey, Edmund Mathis and Labra Mathis, William Hughes, William Tomlinson and John Mathis, and Sarah Hutto. Rev. Isaac D. Hutto was for many years pastor. The present clerk of the church is James R. Morgan. This church is situated about four miles north of DuPont. The land for the church was deeded by Rowan B. Johnson in 1859. WAYFARE OR COW CREEK CHURCH. This church was situated just across the line in Echols County, but has always been identified with the county. When it was first organized it was in Ware County, later in Clinch, then in Echols. It was constituted in 1847, ^"^ the first annual meeting was .had on Friday and Saturday before the fourth Sunday in September, 1847. The first constituted members were: John Roberts, Sr., Edmund Mathis, Unity Mathis, Harvey Mizell and Rebecca Mizell, John T. Roberts, John Mathis, James Johnson, Simon A, Blackman, Azilpha Tomlinson, Harvey Matthews, Elizabeth Register, and Rachael Howell. FIRST SUNDAY SCHOOL. There has always been much discussion as to who founded the first Sunday School in Clinch County. After much re- search and investigation, it seems that Eaton H. Howell was the founder of the first school of this kind in the county. This ^2iS about 1856, or 1858. It was located between Homer- ville and Magnolia, and Mr. Howell was assisted by Geo. W. Newbern. Mr. Howell was teaching a day school there and was a young man about 25 years old. This school existed a few months, when it closed with the leaving of Mr. Howell. About the next Sunday School to be established in the county was at Homerville in the northeast section of town. It was established by Rev. Robert F. Lanier, Dr. L. C. Mat- tox and H. A. Mattox, in the school house. Regular Sunday School literature was used, and the school progressed nicely I History of Cl'incJi County, Georgia 129 for perhaps a year or so. It was first established about 1861. Rev. Lanier removed to Lowndes County in 1863. Mr. and Mrs. Robert B. Crum were the organizers of probably the next Sunday School in the county, at least in Homerville. This was in 1863. This school was continued until the organization of a Methodist Church at Homerville, about 1875, when it became a Methodist school. This school had its trials and difficulties and several times was closed for short periods, but always opened up again. CHAPTER X. A Distinguished Family Connection. ONE of the most distinguished family connections in the State of Georgia, and especially of Clinch County, sprang through the illustrious Simon W. Nichols, one of Clinch County's pioneer citizens. Mr. Nichols was orig- inally a merchant of Savannah, but a few years after his marriage he became entangled in financial difficulties there through signing a friend bond in court, Mr. Nichols having to finally pay It. He first removed to Jones County, and settled at the old town of Clinton, where prosperity seems to have been his lot; he lived here for about fifteen or twenty years, finally coming to what is now Clinch County, where he died. Mr. Nichols married Miss Margaret Waver, a daugh- ter of Jacob Waver, of Savannah, who was a German emi- grant. The marriage took place on March 30th, 1821. By her he had seven cihldren, three sons and four daughters, and this coterie of children became, In after years, among the State's most gifted sons and daughters. William Montgomery Nichols, the oldest son, was once State Senator from Clinch County, and was married first to a Miss McCombs, and his second wife was Miriam, daugh- ter of Governor Wilson Lumpkin, of Georgia, who was twice Governor of the State and a United States Senator. Waver Jacob Nichols was a first-honor graduate of the Charleston, S. C, Medical College, and became one of the county's foremost physicians. John Calhoun Nichols, the youngest son, graduated from Washington & Lee University and took up the practice of law, becoming one of the State's ablest lawyers, and served two terms in Congress. History of Clinch County, Georgia 131 Eliza G. Nichols graduated from the LaGrange Female College and married J. P. A. DuPont, who was a son of Peter DuPont, an officer in Napoleon's army and who fought through the Napoleonic wars with Austria and Russia. Annie A. Nichols married Sylvanus Hitch, a native of Massachusetts, and a large land owner. She became the mother of Simon W. Hitch, for many years Solicitor-General of the Brunswick judicial circuit, besides other children. Delia H. Nichols married Green J, Foreacre, better known as Jonas Foreacre, a citizen of DeKalb County, who figured conspicuously in the battles around Atlanta and was wounded at the first battle of Manassas. Laura B. Nichols, the youngest daughter, was married after the war to W. T. Akers, a citizen of Atlanta. To write the history of these children and their families would be to take in nearly every section of the State. Simon W. Nichols lived at Clinton, in Jones County, for several years. Later he went to Roanoke, now Eufaula, Alabama, and lived about a year there. About this time, he, and Hon. John Forsyth, one of the State governors and also Secretary of State in Van Burens cabinet, began to grant lands in South Georgia, where the lands had recently been ceded by the Indians. Mr. Forsyth owned great areas of land in this county and Mr. Nichols looked after them as his agent, while Mr. Nichols himself acquired much land also. About 1839, William Register settled at what is now the old Register home-place, about twelve miles below Avhere DuPont now is. Mr. Nichols owned a good deal of land himself down here, and also a tract in Florida. While on a trip down there, he passed Mr. Register's place and spent a short while with him as they were intimately acquainted with each other. Mrs. Nichols expressed a desire to live here in the hope that her health, which was bad at the time, would change for the better. To this desire Mr. Nichols acquiesced and so in this way, this noted family became residents of what was then Ware but is now Clinch County. Mr. Nichols 132 History of Clinch County, Georgia made his home on the adjoining lot of land to Mr. Register's, and here it was that the celebrated Nichols family was reared to manhood and womanhood. His death occurred at the home of his daughter, Mrs. Eliza G. Herviant (formerly DuPont) at Suwannoochee (now Dupont town) shortly after the war, and his remains were buried at Prospect Church near DuPont, in the county which he loved so well, and which he had been so instrumen- tal in bringing into existence. He was very active in bring- ing about the creation of Clinch County, and in the Act cre- ating the same, he was named as one of the commissioners to organize it. The lands upon which Magnolia was located were given by him to the county in order that the county site might be located there. Mr. Nichols, at the time of his death, was the highest Mason in the county, being a Knight Templar. He was a man of education and refinement, and in the educating of his children, he gave them the best schooling possible in those days. He was indeed a great man, liked and respected by his fellow citizens for the high degree of intelligence and citizen- ship which characterized him. His noble wife, who preceded him to the grave, was an- other one of those women whose noble traits of character and the love of home and family, endeared her to those who knew her. Indeed, it might be said of her: "None knew her but to love her; none named her but to praise." Peter DuPont was an officer in Napoleon's army, and dis- tinguished himself in the wars against Austria and Italy. He owned large estates in France, and after the war he was compelled to flee from the country following Napoleon's downfall, he went to Santo Domingo, where he acquired a large coffee plantation. He lived there a few years, but soon an insurrection of negroes drove not only him but his friend, Waver, and all the other whites away. Mr. DuPont, along History of Clinch County, Georgia 133 with Mr. Waver, settled in Savannah. They had been fast friends for several years, both coming from France, and finally settling in Savannah, but they knew not that in after years their families would be connected by marriage. Mr. Waver's grand-daughter married Mr. DuPont's son some forty years later. At the same time that Peter DuPont came over here, he was accompanied by two brothers, Eugene and Paul DuPont. Paul went North, and Eugene South, but the latter has never been heard of since he left. Paul's descendants are today represented in Delaware by Henry A. DuPont and others, who own the noted DuPont powder plant. John Peter Augustus DuPont, a son of Peter DuPont, was born in the city of Savannah, August 31st, 18 19, and spent his childhood days there. He was a direct lineal de- scendant of Marshal Lefebvre, Duke of Dantzic, and of General Count DuPont, and in his veins coursed some of the best blood to be found. He was married about 1850 to Miss Eliza Green Nichols, daughter of Simon W. Nichols, and by her had three sons, viz. : J. P. A. DuPont, Jr., Thomas Charlton DuPont and Lee Lefebvre DuPont. The elder DuPont engaged in the cotton business in Savannah for a few years, exporting cotton to England and France. His son, L. L. DuPont, now has an old cotton report or table dated about 1840, showing the cost of cotton to produce it, cost to get it to England, and a table of prices for Sea Island and upland cotton at New Orleans, Savannah and Liverpool, and the equivalent value of cotton in English money from eight up to sixteen cents per pound. This table was prepared by Mr. DuPont and is in his own handwriting. After living in Savannah for several years, he removed to Darien, in Mcintosh County, where he engaged in the lum- ber business. He bought and exported timber for the cele- brated Epting firm in Germany, shipbuilders. His son, L. L. DuPont, also now has a measuring rod with a handle to it about a yard long, with which his father measured timber. 134 History of Clinch County, Georgia After his marriage to Mr. Nichols' daughter, he acquired property in Chnch County, in the vicinity of where DuPont now is. A survey had just been made through this section (1857) for a proposed railroad, and Mr. DuPont decided to build his family a summer home at where DuPont now is. The summer months at Darien were very unhealthy, and in this way came about the building of a home for his family in another section to be used by them during the summer months. He had the lumber brought with oxen from Doctor- town, on the Altama.ha River, and when the lumber was laid down at the point where a town was later built, there was nothing but pine forests there. The railroad was not built until two years later. This site was also very desirable to Mr. DuPont's family, as Mr. Nichols lived just below this point 'a few miles. Mr. DuPont himself never lived in Clinch County, although generally regarded as one of the county's citizens. The house which he built was not finished until several years after the Civil War, owing to the out- break and continuance of the war. The original building, with some modifications or additions to it, is still standing in the town of DuPont, and is now owned and occupied by Mr. L. L. DuPont. The war coming on, Mr. DuPont threw himself enthusi- astically into the work of raising companies to go to the front. He raised practically every company that was raised in Mcintosh County during the first two years of the war. Although he was opposed at first to the war and had always been an opponent of slavery, he did not let this hinder him in rendering his services to his State and to the cause. The ladies of Mcintosh County presented him with a flag to be used in the last company he raised there. This flag, which had the Confederate bars on it, had in the place of the stars, an arch with three pillars representing Wisdom, Justice and Moderation, like that found on the Great Seal of the State. Mr. DuPont turned this company over to the State author- ities, but declined to part with his flag; and the flag is now in History of Clinch County , Georgia 135 possession of Mr. L. L. Dupont, the only living son. It has the letters "M. R." in the center of the flag denoting the "Mcintosh Rifles," and around the arch referred to were thirteen small stars representing the thirteen Confederate States. Mr. DuPont's valuable life was destined to soon be cut short. He came to his home at Station No. 12, as it was called, and lived only a short while, his death occurring April 1 8th, 1863. He was survived by his wife and two sons, the third son being born a few months after his death. His re- mains were carried to Savannah where they were buried in the family vault. His widow was married again just after the war was over to Mr. Peter A. Herviant, who was the first paymaster of the old Atlantic & Gulf Railroad, and who held that position until after his marriage to Mrs. DuPont. Mrs. Herviant had no children by her second marriage. Mrs. Herviant was a graduate of the LaGrange Female College, and was one of the most intelligent and well-versed women of her day. She was acquainted and could talk with much intelligence on most any subject brought before her. She was often looked to for counsel and advice on many subjects not generally regarded as belonging to woman's realm. In case of sickness she could administer medicine and give prescriptions as well as the most experienced physician. Her education was a finished one, and in her bright intellect was combined the highest degree of mental attainments with the lofty aspirations of the heart. Her generosity was unbounded and her door was always open to both the stranger and the acquaintance. Her de- meanor was such as to make all who came in contact with her at once to begin to like her. Mrs. Herviant was born October 1 8th, 1825 at her parental home in Clinton, Jones County, and died at the home of her sister, Mrs. Akers, in Atlanta, August 17th, 1885. Her remains were buried in the family vault in Savannah. She was survived by her husband and two sons. 136 History of Clinch County, Georgia Her husband, Peter Alexander Herviant, was born in Macon, Georgia, February 7th, 1834, and died at the old family home in DuPont, September 4th, 1909. He came to DuPont shortly after the war and married Mrs. DuPont. After coming to DuPont, .he was appointed station agent there, which position he held until retired by the company on account of age, on a pension. He was possessed of an excellent education and that good grace and appearance which bespake of him a gentleman in every sense of the word. After his marriage into the DuPont family, he took charge of the rearing of the three sons besides the management of the large areas of land which belonged to his wife. His prudence and sagacity in business matters is well illustrated in the way in which he took care of the three sons. He never spent any of the funds which were dedicated to the education and raising of the boys, either on himself or foolishly on them. He did much for the uplift and upbuilding of the town and was looked upon as an honorable and progressive citizen. These three boys, J. P. A., Charlton and Lee L. DuPont inherited much of that wonderful brilliance of mind and ability and power from their parents. The eldest, John Peter Augustus DuPont, in later life known as Augustus DuPont, was born in Savannah, September 17th, 1856, where his mother was living at the time. He attended the State Uni- versity of Iowa' law department, and graduated with first honor. He was at once admitted to the bar there in 1880, but desiring to return home he came back to DuPont, where he settled for the practice of law. He also was a graduate of Roanoke College, Salem, Va., where he graduated with first honor. Very soon he was appointed on the Governor's staff of the State Militia, which he held seventeen years. Here he evinced some of the military genius displayed by his grand- father in the Napoleonic wars. At the time of his death he was one of the three men in the State eligible to the office of Adjutant-General. Mr. DuPont's ability as a booster LEE L. DUPONT The only surviving child of J. P. A. and Eliza G. DuPont. THOMAS CHARLTON DUPONT Died 1884 at age of 26. A most promising and brilliant young lawyer. PETER ALEXANDER HERVIANT A leading citizen of Clinch County. Died 1907. History of Clinch County, Georgia 137 and live worker Is shown by his three appointments to the Omaha and Paris expositions and the Nashville Centennial Celebration. To the first he was vice-president of the Georgia committee, and to the latter he received the following plaudit from Tennessee's governor, which speaks for itself: State of Tennessee — Executive Chamber. Nashville, December 30th, 1898. To All who shall see these presents, Greeting : Captain Augustus DuPont represented the State of Geor- gia at the Tennessee Centennial Exposition as Commissioner- General, and was one of the most active and one of the most intelligent representatives of the whole Union. His work was of the most distinguished character. It was a labor of love in honor of his own great State. Georgia owes him a laurel wreath and Tennessee gives to him through me, her governor, a tribute of praise. His presence here and work he did will not be forgotten by our people. The memory of his noble deeds, like the fragrance of roses, will linger with us through the years. I recommend him as a live, active man of the times, and worthy of that which is above price — the good name which he bears. (Signed) Robert L. Taylor, Governor. By order of the Governor: (seal) W. S. Morgan, Secretary of State. Mr. DuPont received the election at the hands of the Leg- islature as a commissioner from the State of Georgia to the Exposition Universelle at Paris in 1900, but unfortunately, he was taken sick about this time and prevented from going. It would have been a suitable trip for him to have visited the country of his forefathers in the capacity as a representative from his native State. In 1904 Hon. R. B. Johnson, representative from Clinch County in the Legislature, died, leaving a vacancy to which Mr. DuPont was elected at a special election held July i6th, 1904. He was the unanimous choice of the county Demo- 138 History of Clinch County, Georgia cratic Executive Committee, and in the election had no oppo- sition. Mr. DuPont took his seat and served through the session of 1904. In the next election for representative he did not offer for re-election. After this he lived in retirement at his home in DuPont, occupying, with his brother, the old family home. Mr. DuPont died February 27th, 19 13, at Savannah, where he had been taken a short while before for treatment. He was survived by a daughter, Eliza G. DuPont, who now resides in Charleston, S. C, since her marriage. The second son, Thomas Charlton DuPont, was born at Darien, November 27th, 1858. He was raised at DuPont, then called Lawton, and attended the law school of the Uni- versity of Georgia, from which he graduated with first honor in 1878, carrying off the gold medal for supremacy in ora- tory. The medal is now in the possession of Mr. L. L. Du- Pont. The next year he was admitted to the bar and located at Savannah for the practice of law. He practiced there two years, making many friends while there. After this he re- moved to Jacksonville, Florida, where he at once took a high place among the lawyers at the bar. His brilliant powers of oratory, together with his broad legal mind and his won- derful personality, all combined to make him one of the most popular and well known men in Jacksonville. He threw him- self into politics and was very instrumental in carrying Duval County for Governor Drew in the election. In 1884, Gov- ernor Drew placed his young supporter into the race for United States Senator. This young genius was making a winning race when he was taken sick with scarlet fever. He was brought to his mother's home at DuPont, where he lingered on the bed of affliction several weeks. The fever finally turned into a serious case of dropsy and death soon intervened, taking one of the State's most promising young men. His death occurred at DuPont, September 6th, 1884, and his remains were buried in the family vault in Savannah. History of Clinch County, Georgia 139 The Jacksonville Times-Union and many other newspapers printed eulogies of praise and the local bar at Jacksonville and Homerville adopted resolutions on his death. The Jacksonville Times-Union said in part: "In this brief career he has exhibited an instance of a powerful and evenly balanced intellect, with a greatness of heart, firmness of pur- pose, energy of action, moral loftiness, a splendid endurance under terrible suffering, and heroic death, as magnificent as it is unusual. Mr. DuPont removed to Jacksonville in the winter of 1880-81, where his talents gave him almost instant success. At that time he was beyond doubt, the handsomest young man in this city; of splendid physique, with a head of great beauty, dark eyes, of full habit, a rich, confident voice, and a musical laugh that made him altogether an attractive man. In his profession he was pre-eminently an advocate; he knew by instinct the secrets of human character, the weak- nesses and prejudices of men; his language was simplicity itself; his manner wholly unstudied and unaffected, but his magnetism was powerful and persuasive, and his words flowed forth from his lips a melodious torrent, sparkling with sunshine freighted with argument and subtlest persuasion. He was a born orator, a master of the minds of men." The youngest son, Lee Lefebvre DuPont, was born in Savannah, Oct. 23d, 1863. He has lived his life from baby- hood up in the town of DuPont. Here living in comfort- able quietude in the paternal home which he now occupies. He received a good education, entering in 1879 the famous Brad- well Institute, at Hinesville, Ga., and in 1881 entering Emory College at Oxford, Ga. He lacked five months of graduating from college, being called home on account of the illness and death of his brother, Thomas Charlton Du- Pont. Mr. DuPont married about 1903, Miss Addie Reg- ister daughter of Mr. O. P. Register, by whom he has two sons. To-day he is the owner of the old family holdings, consisting of several thousand acres of land and town prop- erty. He has in his possession many old curious and valuable 140 History of Clinch County, Georgia articles handed down in the family, some of which have been mentioned. The only office which he ever held was that of justice of the peace at DuPont, to which he was commissioned December 8th, 1900, for four years. Mr. DuPont inherits much of the family's grace and courtliness of manners as well as courage and devotion to duty. In politics he is indepen- dent; he stands for that which he thinks is right and is not carried on the tide of public opinion. He looks with pride on the distinguished services of his ancestors, both paternal and maternal, and much of the nobility and high degree of grace is embodied in him, and will be exhibited in his two promising sons in later life. John Calhoun Nichols, a son of Hon. Simon W. Nichols, graduated from Washington and Lee University in early life.. He was admitted to the bar and practiced law at the Homer- ville bar for about thirty-five years. He resided in Clinch County just prior to and during the war. When the war came on, he, like his illustrious brother-in-law, Capt. J. P. A. DuPont, threw himself very enthusiastically into the cause. Raising a company of Clinch County men. He was elected its captain in 1862. This was Co. "F' 4th Georgia Cavalry. He served as captain throughout the war. Captain Nichols was one of the most beloved men in the army, and always exercised great care and interest in his men. Returning home from the war he practiced law at Homer- ville a while, but in a year or so removed to Blackshear, where he lived until his death. His practice soon became one of large extent and he became one of the most pre-eminent lawyers of the circuit. He was first married to Miss Mamie Clopton, a daughter of Hon. William Clopton, Chief Justice of the Supreme Court of Virginia. By her he had several children. She died about 1 880, and he married Miss Ida Acosta, a very talented lady of Blackshear, who survived him. The marriage oc- curred May 1st, 1882, in Blackshear. History of Clinch County, Georgia 141 Colonel Nichols was State Senator 1874-75 ^f^d 1876-77, and was a delegate to the Democratic National Convention in 1876. He was a leading member of the legislature while senator, and in 1878 was elected to Congress, serving two years. In 1882 he was re-elected, serving through the ses- sion of 1883-84 and 1884-85. Colonel Nichols was a member of the Baptist Church and served as superintendent of the Baptist Sunday School at Blackshear a few years. His death occurred at his home in Blackshear, December 25th, 1894. It was the occasion of widespread sorrow and regret. In his death the State lost one of its brightest men. His remains were buried in Laurel Grove cemetery in Savannah, where the DuPont family has a vault. Another son of Simon W. Nichols was Waver J. Nichols. He was a physician by profession, and was born at Clinton, Jones County, in 1831. He graduated at the Charleston (S. C.) Medical College March 5th, 1854. He married Miss Mary B. Hall, of Dublin, Ga., and soon afterwards settled in Clinch County to practice his profession. He lived here the remainder of his life. Dr. and Mrs. Nichols had no children. Dr. Nichols was for many years the foremost physician of the county. He enjoyed a practice of large extent. To- gether with his brother William M. Nichols they were the owners of a great area of Clinch County land, which they gradually sold off. Dr. Nichols lived at DuPont. He never sought any polit- ical office or honor. His death occurred about 1890, and he was buried at the North cemetery. His widow died in 19 12. CHAPTER XI. Old Families of Cl'inch County. THE NEWBERN FAMILY. OF the Clinch County Newberns, Thomas Newbern was the progenitor. This old pioneer came to this sec- tion from South Carolina and settled in what is now Ware County, about 1820. He was married twice. By his first marriage he had three children, viz. : John, William C, and Dryden Newbern. By his second marriage he had five children, viz. : George W. Newbern ; Cassie, who first mar- ried Martin Nettles and later Chas. A. Griffis; Lucretia, who married Jack Lee ; also a daughter who married James Sweat, and one who married John Sweat. Thomas Newbern was a prominent citizen of his time. He was elected surveyor of Ware Cou;ity and commmissioned February nth, 1828. Two years later he was elected a justice of the Inferior Court of Ware County, to which he was commissioned April 2Bth, 1830. He was also commissioned justice of the peace of the 45 1 district of Ware County, April 3d, 1 833. He is the fore- father of many of Clinch's prominent citizens. John Newbern was born April 4th, 1801, and married Mrs. Argent O'Steen, a widow of the Indian wars. Bv her he had two children, Matilda, who married William John- son, and Vicy, who married Robert G. Dickerson, Sr. This old citizen lived in Ware until Clinch was created. He was elected sheriff of Ware County in 1832 and commissioned July' 23, 1832. He served one term. He was a member of the Primitive Baptist Church, and is buried at Arabia Church above Homerville. His death occurred November 18, 1863. William C. Newbern was born about 1805. He was mar- ried and had only one son, Alfred Newbern, who later be- came treasurer of Clinch County. William C. Newbern was a citizen of Lowndes many years, and was elected sheriff of History of Clinch County, Georgia 143 that county in 1838. He was commissioned January 15th, 1838, but resigned after a short service of a few months. On January 24th, 1845, he was commissioned a justice of the peace of the 658th district of Lowndes county, and on Feb- ruary 9th, 1850, was commmissioned a justice of the Inferior Court of Lowndes County. It is not known just when he died. Dryden Newbern was born in Georgia in 1794. He Tiarried Elizabeth, a daughter of Josiah and Artie Sirmans. He was one of the first settlers of what is now Clinch County, living and dying here. By his wife, Elizabeth, he had seven children, viz.: Thomas (born 1829), Martha, Ashley, Ber- rien, Jr. (born 1845), Caroline and Sallie, who married W. F. Kirkland. This old man had passed the four-score mark when he died. George W. Newbern, a half-brother of the above three, was born in Georgia, January ist, 1825. He was married about 1845 to Miss Rebecca Thomas, a daughter of Absalom Thomas, who was one of the first justices of the Inferior Court of Ware County. They had eight children, viz. : Ab- salom T. Newbern (born 1849), who was later a deputy sheriff of Clinch County; Matilda, who first married Martin Joyce, and later H. D. O'Quin; Vicy, who first married A. E. Smith, Jr., later E. J. Benton, Jr., and still later H. D. O'Quin; Belle, who married C. H. North; William C. New- bern, Jr.; Jackson Newbern; George W. Newbern, Jr., and Argent, who married A. B. Findley. Mr. Newbern, Sr., hefd several ofl'ices of trust and honor in Clinch County, and was the second clerk of the Superior Court. He was an able min- ister of the Baptist Church. He died in Homerville, July loth, 1892, and is buried at the North cemetery, near Du- Pont. A more detailed sketch .of his life will be found else- where in this book. Cassie Newbern was born about 1820. She was first mar- ried to Martin Nettles, and by him had seven children, viz. : Martin Nettles, Jr., Elizabeth, who married John C. Kirk- land; Martha, who married Warren Douglas; Thomas Net- 144 History of Clinch County, Georgia ties, James Nettles, Mary Ann, who married Jordan Boyt, Berry Nettles, Julia Ann, who married Hampton Bennett. Her second husband was Charles A. Griffis, who she mar- ried in 1 854. To them were born two sons, John G., and Wil- liam D. Griffis. The latter moved to Pierce County in 1875, and in 191 2 was elected ordinary of that county. Mrs. Griffis died in 1883. Lucretia Newbern, who married Jack Lee, lived and died in Clinch County. She had several children. The other two daughters were Elizabeth and Mary Ann Newbern. Eliza- beth married James Sweat and after her death he married her sister, Mary Ann, who was a widow of his brother, John Sweat. James Sweat and John Sweat were residents of Ware County. THE SIRMANS FAMILY. ^ The Sirmans family, as has been stated before in this book, was one of the first to settle in what is now Clinch County. They came here in 1822 from Emanuel County and settled on the place where J. B. Strickland now lives in the Mud Creek district. Those who came were Josiah Sirmans, Sr., and his family, including his sons, Benjamin, Joseph, Jona- than, and Abner Sirmans. To-day their descendants are quite numerous in Clinch and Berrien Counties. Josiah Sirmans, Sr., was born in 1767, and married Miss Artie Hardeman, a daughter of Thomas Hardeman, Sr. To them were born Benjamin Sirmans, Sr., Joseph Sirmans, Jon- athan Sirmans, Abner Sirmans, Sr., Rachel, who married Eustice Studstill; Bettie Sirmans, who married Dryden New- bern, and Sarah Ann, who married an Adams, of Florida. At the time Josiah Sirmans,. Sr., settled here, it was then Irwin County, later Lowndes County. He did not live to see the Indian wars of 1836-38. He died January 6th, 1830, and is buried at the Fender graveyard on the Allapaha River, in this county. His grave is probably the oldest marked grave in the county. HON S. C. TOWNSEND Former Representative from Clinch County. Elected State Senator from Fourth District, 1916. SHERMAN L. DRAWDY A former Representative and Judge of County Court. Resigned the latter in 191G. History of Clinch County, Georgia 145 Benjamin Sirmans was born In Emanuel County, Febru- ary 6th, 1792. When thirty years of age he came with his father to this section. His wife was Miss Martha Johnson, a daughter of David Johnson, Sr., and a sister to Gen. David Johnson. Their children were : David J. Sirmans, Joslah Sir- mans, Jr., Ezeklel J. Sirmans, Cassle, who married John Smith; Lavinia, who married Aaron Tomlinson; Martha, who married Ellhu Morgan; Lucretia, who married Charles Strickland; Benjamin E. Sirmans, Lyman A. Sirmans, and Levi J. Sirmans. Benjamin Sirmans represented Lowndes County In the legislature several years and served one term as State senator from Clinch County. He was also a dele- gate to the secession convention in Milledgeville in 1861. He died May ist, 1863, and Is burled at the Fender grave- yard. His wife preceded him to the grave by about seven years. Joseph Sirmans was born in Emanuel County, May i6th, 1808, and his wife's name was Miss Rebecca Smith, a daugh- ter of Rev. William Smith. He lived In the Mud Creek dis- trict and served one term as representative from Clinch County after the Civil War. His children were: Artie, Mary, John, Nancy, Matilda and Lucretia Sirmans. These were by his first marriage, and by his second marriage, to Mrs. Sallie Howell, he had a son, Isaac Sirmans. His first wife died In 1856, and his second wife died in 1887. He died October 7th, 1888, and was burled at the Fender graveyard. Jonathan Sirmans was born about 1 800. He lived in what Is now Clinch County a short while and removed to what Is now Berrien County. Here his descendants are quite numer- ous. He married Miss Martha Rouse, and they had several children. He died about 1875. Abner Sirmans, Sr., was born about 1793 ^^^ married Miss Bettie Kirkland, a sister of Timothy KIrkland. To them were born : Hester, Jinsie, Benjamin, Roxle, John, Tally and Abner Sirmans, Jr. The elder Sirmans was commis- sioned a justice of the peace of the 664th district of Lowndes 146 History of Clinch County, Georgia County January 20th, 1829, and served four years. Subse- quently he removed to Early County, where he died in 1837. His son, Abner Sirmans, Jr., is now living at the age of 82. Rachel Sirmans was born in 1794, and married Eustice Studstill. Their children were : Manning, Jonathan, Rachel, Sarah and John Studstill. Eustice Studstill removed to Ala- bama, where he died in Russell County in 1837. His widow died in 1878 and is buried at the Fender graveyard. Bettie Sirmans, who married Dryden Newbern, was born in 1795, and their children were: Thomas, Martha, Ashley, Berrien, Dryden, Jr., Caroline and Sallie Newbern, — the latter married W. F. Kirkland. Notes on grand-children of Josiah Sirmans, Sr. : David J. Sirmans, a son of Benjamin Sirmans, was born March ist, 18 19, and married Eliza Wilkerson, a daughter of John Wilkerson, of South Carolina. To them was born : Lewis, who married Rachel Lightsey; Alice, Tully, Lucius, who married Eliza Fiveash, and Josiah, who married Fannie L. Lott, and Ezekiel S. Sirmans, who married Martha Reg- ister, and Benjamin, who married Ida Crum. Josiah Sirmans, 3d, was postmaster at Homerville several years and died in I 881. His son, W. E. Sirmans, of Waycross, is a prominent real estate dealer of that city. Josiah Sirmans, 2d, was born March 25th, 18 17. He mar- ried Mary Roberts, a daughter of John T. Roberts, and their children were : Roena, who married Thomas Ridgall ; Phoebe, who married Lewis Holtzendorf, Benjamin J. Sirmans, who married Elizabeth Thane, David Sirmans, Malinda, who married David Dickerson first, and later Ellas L. Roberts, Lucretia, who married Frank L. Allen; Martha, who married W. L. Courson. The elder Sirmans was commissioned justice of the peace of the 664th district of Lowndes County, October 15th, 1838, when he was just twenty-one years old. He died February 20th, 1880, and is burled at the Fender graveyard. Ezekiel J. Sirmans was born February 28th, 1824. He had three children by his wife, who was Eliza Bennett, viz. : History of Clinch County, Georgia 147 Franklin B. SIrmans, Manassas Sirmans and Caroline Stal- vey. He was the first tax collector of Clinch County. He died April 28th, 1900, and is buried at the Fender graveyard. Franklin B. Sirmans was state senator from the fifth district three terms. Cassie Sirmans, who married John Smith, son of William Smith, was born about 18 10. Their children were: Martha, William S., Lavinia, Rachel, John W., Sirmans S., Charlton H., Nancy, General J., Herschel B., and David J. Smith. Mrs. Smith died about 1900. Lavinia Sirmans, who married Aaron Tomlinson, was born in 1822. Their children were Elizabeth, Lucretia, Nancy, Candacy, Melvina, Lorena, Josiah, Aaron and Charlotte Tomlinson. Martha Sirmans, who married Elihu Morgan, lived in Echols County. Their children were Benjamin, Joseph and Viola Morgan. Lucretia Sirmans, who married Charles Strickland, was born in 1827. Their children were: Martha, who married Elias L. Moore; Mary Ann, who married Daniel Dickerson; Louis Strickland, B. F. Strickland, Colquitt or Colly Strick- land, Isabelle Roberts, Allen J. Strickland, Lucinda, Joseph B., and Amanda, who married F. B. Sirmans; Lyman J. Strickland, and Kizzie Strickland. Benjamin E. Sirmans was born July 14th, 1831, the son of Benjamin Sirmans. He married Francenia E. Carroll, a native of North Carolina. To them were born David C, Maggie, Jesse, Joseph, William, Charlie, Martha, and Min- nie Sirmans. The elder Sirmans died November 22d, 1877, and was buried at the Fender graveyard. Levi Johnson Sirmans was born February 24th, 1837, the son of Benjamin Sirmans. He married Victoria O. Mattox, daughter of Hon. Elijah Mattox, and to them were born Cicero M., Helen, Ulysses, Julia, Octavius, John L., and Cornelia Sirmans. Mr. Sirmans for some time prior to his death lived in Lowndes County above Naylor, where he died 148 History of Clinch County, Georgia May 6th, 19 15, the last member of the famous coterie of children of Benjamin and Martha Sirmans. Lyman A. Sirmans was born April ist, 1838, the son of Benjamin Sirmans. He was admitted to the bar and prac- ticed law in Homerville for several years. He married Miss Mollie Griffin, daughter of Rev. W. W. Griffin. To them was born two children, Noble A. Sirmans and a daughter, who married Frank A. Smith. Colonel Sirmans died April 2 2d, 1910, at his home in DuPont. He is buried at the North cemetery. THE HARGREAVES FAMILY.' The Hargreaves, of Lancashire, were an ancient Saxon family at the time of the conquest by William the Norman, in the year 1052. Through all the vicissitudes of time and change for more than a thousand years they have been a powerful and distinguished family in their native land. The Hargreaves, of Georgia, are descendants from John Hargreaves, of Heir's House, Colne, Lancashine, England, who died about 1S20. His three sons, Abraham, Thomas and John, came to this country about 1825, and were first in South Carolina, but soon afterwards came to Georgia, set- tling in what is now the County of Coffee. Abraham Hargreaves married Rhoda, daughter of John Carver, and was the father of a large family. He died about 1872 and is buried at the old Hargreaves homestead, near Millwood, Ga. His son, John C. Hargreaves, was born June 5th, 1838, and died September 13th, 1876. He was a corporal in Co. "I" 4th Georgia Cavalry, organized at Homerville, January 1st, 1863. While on leave of absence from the army he was married to Parthenia, daughter of Thomas and Jane (Moody) Morgan, of Tom's Creek, Echols County, on Feb- ruary 5th, 1864. He was a brave and efficient soldier and fought until discharged at the close of the war. After the surrender, he settled in southern Clinch, near History of Clinch County, Georgia 149 Wiregrass post office, and reared a family of five children. In 1876 he moved to southern Florida and settled on Tsala Apopka Lake, where the town of Inverness now stands. He died there in a few months and was buried in old Fort Cooper cemetery. After his death his family lived in Georgia. His children were: Linnie, first wife of George M. Dame; Abraham, who married Georgia Bazemore; Mary, who mar- ried Judson Taylor, of Tampa, Fla.; Bettie, who married Jesse W. Pennington, of Jasper, Fla., and Georgia, who mar- ried William Collier, and is now living in Valdosta, Ga. John Hargreaves was a man of ideal character and of un- usual intelligence, and is said to have been one of the best read men of his day. Sidney Hargreaves, late of Ware County, was a brother of John C. Hargreaves. Susan Hargreaves, a sister of John C. Hargreaves, mar- ried Jonathan L. Morgan, of Clinch County, and became the mother of A. H. Morgan, Mrs. Frank C. Folks, of Way- cross, and Mrs. Linnie Taylor. Mrs. Morgan died June 28, 1 9 16, and was the oldest living member of the family. She was 82 years old. Linnie, another sister of John C. Har- greaves, married George Moody, son of Jacob Moody. An old single-barrel shot-gun or rifle, of the kind used a hundred years ago, is now in the possession of Mr. John H. Smith, of Clinch County. This gun was brought to America by x'\braham Hargreaves when he emigrated to this country. THE GRIFFIS FAMILY. The Griffis family is an old family of Clinch County, and like the Smiths, there are several branches of it. The ances- tor of one branch who settled in Clinch was Juniper Griffis, while Samuel Griffis, Sr., was the ancestor of another branch. Charles A. Griffis, with his uncle, Joel Griffis, was still an- other branch. Juniper Griffis and his descendants: Juniper Griffis was born in Appling County, February 4th, 1808. He died in 1905, age 97 years, being the oldest 150 History of Clinch County, Georgia man in the county at the time of his death. He married Miss Viney Sears, sister of Hiram Sears, and by her had five sons and five daughters. His sons were EHas Gfriffis, F. M. Griffis, William and Charles Griffis, Rhoda Griffis, a sister of Juniper Griffis, married William Corbitt (see Corbitts). Elias Griffis married Catherine Bailey, and their children were: Wilburn, Richmond, Juniper, Elias L., Viola, who married J. Walter James; Marietta, Matilda, who married L. H. Lockliear; and Lavina, who married A. J. Lockliear. Mr. Griffis served in the Civil War in Co. "I" 4th Georgia Cavalry. He became very wealthy, owning much land. He died about 1895. Francis Marion Griffis married Victoria Cowart, and their chiFdren were : Mary, Viney and John Griffis. He died January 28th, 1898. William Griffis was born in 1841, and married Olive Sears, a daughter of Hiram Sears, and their children were: Laura, Harriet, Berta, William and Charles Griffis. Mr. Griffis served one term as tax collector of Clinch County. He died in 19 15, at his home in Ware County at Millwood. Charles Griffis was born about 1835, and married Sallie Roberts, a daughter of John T. Roberts. Their children were: F. M. Griffis, Jr., Rebecca and Sarah Ann Griffis. He served in the Confederate Army, and died during the war at a hospital in Savannah. His widow later married George W. Delk, and to them were born seven children. Samuel Griffis was born in this State in 1807, and married Miss Naomi Kirkland, and by her had eight children. Among their children were Nancy, Rebecca, Sealy, Martha, and Joel G. Griffis. Samuel Griffis died April 27th, 1884. Joel G. Griffis was born in 1846 and married Nancy, a daughter of John S. Henderson, December 23d, 1869. They had several children. Mr. Griffis was for several years a jus- tice of the peace of the 1 141st District. Charles Griffis was an early settler of Appling County. He was a native of South Carolina, where he was born about History of Clinch County, Georgia 151 1795. He lived and died in Appling County. His brothers were John, Joel, Richard and Berry Griffis. Of these broth- ers, two lived in Clinch County, Joel and Berry. Charles A. Griffis, a son of Charles Griffis, was born In Appling County October 30th, 1826. He married Mrs. Cassie Nettles, widow of Martin Nettles, and daughter of Thomas Newbern. To them two sons were born, John G., and W. D. Griffis. Charles A. Griffis served for about fifteen years as justice of the peace of the 1 06 1 St district. He died in Pierce County March i ith, 1 9 14, at the home of his son, W. D. Griffis. Joel Griffis, an uncle of Chas. A. Griffis, was born in this State in 1803, and died about 1870. Among his children were John, born 1851; Elizabeth, born 1849; Noah, born, 1855, and Joel Griffis, Jr. Berry Griffis, a brother of Joel Griffis, was born in 1808, and died about 1880. Among his children were Sarah, born 1842; Berry, Jr., born 1845; Matilda, born 1846; James R., born 1848; Abraham, born 1850, and John Griffis, born 1852. Joel Griffis, Jr., was born October 9th, 1831. He lived many years where J. L. Morgan subsequently lived in the 1 141st district, but later moved to where the town of Withers now is. He died February 9th, 1879. He had several chil- dren by .his wife, Sarah, among them being Mitchell, born 1852; Samuel B., born 1855; A. R. G., born 1857; Rhoda, born i860; Harriet, born 1862; Candacy, born 1864, and P. W. Griffis, born 1869. Dixon Griffis, son of Berry Griffis, was born January ist, 1844. He married Nancy, daughter of David D. Johnson, by whom he had a son, Lucius C. Griffis, and several daugh- ters. He was a mail carrier on the Homerville-Lyken route a few years prior to his death, July 6th, 19 10. THE SMITH FAMILY. Lawrence Smith was probably one of the most prominent members of the older Smiths of Clinch County. He was a 152 History of Clinch County, Georgia native of South Carolina, but came to Georgia in early life. He was one of the earliest settlers of this county, settling here about 1825, on lot 424, in the 7th district. Later he removed and settled on lot 529, in the 12th district. He was married twice, first to Miss Nancy Smith, and after her death, to Miss Mary A. E. Braswell. His second marriage occurred October 19th, 1856. He died October 19th, 1859, and is buried at his old home place. Mr. Smith was burned out by the Indians at the place where he subsequently died. The children of this pioneer were John Smith, James C. Smith, Katie, who married Peter Smith; William E. Smith, David D. Smith, E. M. T. Smith, Sallie, who married Hiram Kight, and Nancy, who married Elias Williams. By his sec- ond marriage two children were born, Laura and Frank Smith, who with their mother removed to Florida. Mr. Smith's widow later married Daniel Milton, of Columbia County, Florida. John Smith, named above, was born in South Carolina, June 2 1 St, 1 8 10, and came with his father to Georgia in his youth. On account of another citizen of the county having the same name, Mr. Smith was more familiarly known as John "Highead" Smith. He married Elizabeth StudstJill about 1 841, and to them was born seven children: Benjamin, Mary, who married E. D. Allen, Martha, who married James R. Dickerson; Lyman, John F., Elizabeth, who mar- ried Berrien Mills, and Emanuel Smith. He was a farmer and lived northeast of Homreville. His death occurred June 14th, 1879, ^^^ he was buried at the Fender graveyard. His wife died February 24th, 1905. James C. Smith, named above, was born in South Caro- lina, March 23d, 18 13. He married in 1840 Miss Margaret Strickland, of what is now Pierce County. His wife having died in 1879, ^e married Miss Emma McLendon. By his first marriage he had the following children : Allen N. Smith, William T. Smith, Seward Smith, Ansel Smith, Martha, who married A. J. Caswell; Sarah, who married M. M. Caswell; History of Clinch County, Georgia 153 Ellen D., who married Eli W. O'Quin first, and later John C. Jones; Miriam Lumpkin, who married William S. Mat- tox; Bettie, who married C. C. Drawdy; Mary, who married H. A. O'Quin; Kate, who married R. M. McLaughlin, and Elpha, who married Isaac T. McLendon. By the last mar- riage the following children were born : Lawrence C. Smith, Benny, Leila V., Lonnie Smith, John Devoy Smith and Min- nie Smith. James C. Smith, as stated elsewhere in this book, was among the first to engage in hauling and carrying pro- duce to Darien and other trade centers. He acquired much property. At first he lived on Cane Creek, not far from where Homerville now is, but later in the Magnolia district, where Harris Tomlinson now lives. He sold this during the war and moved to near Homerville, about four miles south. His death occurred October 20th, 1894, age 81 years. He was buried at the Homerville cemetery. Katie Smith, named above, married Peter Smith, and was born in South Carolina in 18 19. They lived on what is now the Peter Smith place in Magnolia district, for many years. They had the following children : Willie, Harrison, Law- rence, Nancy, Rowan, Eason, James M., Riley, and Bryant Smith. Mrs. Smith died about 1875, survived by her hus- band. William E. Smith, named above, was born in this State in November 27th, 1820. He was raised up in what is now Clinch County, and lived here until his death. He was first married to a Miss Wester, later he married a sister of W. J. Strickland, and still later Miss Martha Jernigan. He had several children, among whom were John Smith, Nicholas J. Smith, Lucretia, who married J. R. Booth, and Miranda, who married Ivy Davis. Mr. Smith first lived on the place how owned by J. F. Turner, but subsequently removed and settled on lot 457 in the 12th district, where he died. He died October 2d, 1894, and was buried at Antioch Church. David D. Smith, named above, was born in this State in 1822. He married Miss Rachael Studstill, and by her had 154 History of Clinch County, Georgia four children, viz. : John H. Smith, Sallie, who married John M. Hodges; Lawrence Smith (dead), and Manning Smith (dead). He lived for many years prior to his death where Mr. G. S. Darley now lives, near Homerville. He died about 1886. Elbert M. T. Smith, son of Lawrence Smith, was born In Ware County in 1833. He first married a Miss Floyd, later Miss Eunice, and later Edna, daughter of James M. Burk- halter. He lived for many years a few miles south of Homer- ville, but eventually removed to Lowndes Countv, where he died in 1901 at Hahira. He had ten children. Sarah Smith, named above, married Hiram Kight, and was born in South Carolina, April 14th, 1812. She married Mr. Kight in Ware County, and to them was born five chil- dren, viz.: James M., Peggie, who married Sherod Smith; John Kight, Mary and Cuyler Kight. Mrs. Kight died about 1875. Foi* many years they lived near Homerville on the Crum place. Nancy, daughter of Lawrence Smith, who married Elias Williams, was born about 1830, in Ware County. Elias Wil- liams was commissioned a justice of the peace of the 970th district, May nth, 1852. He was killed about 1865. Mrs. Williams survived him many years. Another branch of the Smith family in Clinch County is that of the descendants of William Smith, who settled on Red Bluff creek in 1822. He brought with him a big stock of cattle and began farming. He was born about 1765, and his first wife was a Miss Piatt. Their children were : William S. Smith, who lived in Liberty County; Martha, who married Henry Dias ; Elinor, who married James Jones ; Nancy, who married John Williams, Sr., and John Smith, who married Cassie Sirmans. After his first wife's death, Mr. Smith mar- ried Miss Neter Stephens, and by this marriage were born: Manning, Jesse, James M., Rebecca, who married Joseph Sirmans; PoUie, who married Newsom Corbitt; Elizabeth, History of Clinch County, Georgia 155 who married Rowan Pafford, Naomi, who married Thad- deus Sears, and Fannie, who married Martin Corbitt, Sr. William Smith was a member of the Primitive Baptist Church, and a minister of that faith. He was elected justice of the peace of the 586th district in 1830 and in 1833. ^^ died about 1845 ^^^ was buried at Arabia Church, which he helped to establish. Nancy, who married John Williams, Sr., was born in 1798, and among their children were John Williams, who married a daughter of John L. Morgan, Jackson S. Williams, Elias Williams and Hezekiah P. Williams. John Smith, son of William Smith, was born December 22d, 1802. He married Cassie, daughter of Hon. Benja- min Sirmans, and by her had eleven children : Martha, who married J. W. Swain; William S., Lavinia, who married James Lee, Rachael, who married John C. Sirmans; John W. Smith, Sirmans S. Smith, Charlton H. Smith, Nancy, who married S. G. Saunders; General J. Smith, Herschel B. Smith, and David J. Smith. John Smith lived in the Mud Creek district and died June 8th, 1867. He is buried at Arabia Church. Jesse Smith, another son of William Smith, was born August 25th, 1820, on Red Bluff creek. He was in the Indian war of 1836-38, and soon afterwards married Miss Nancy Tomlinson, daughter of Moses Tomlinson, Sr., by whom he had five children: Sherod Smith, Cicero, John L., Fannie C, M^ho married Henry C. Moore, first, later John C. Jones, Matilda Smith, and Nancy, who married J. S. Mattox. Mr. Smith served as representative and as sheriff of Clinch County. He died in 1880, and is buried at the old Red Bluff Church in Clinch County. James Madison Smith, another son of William Smith, was born about 1830, in what is now Clinch County. He lived here all his life. He lived to be about 60 years of age. Rebecca, daughter of William Smith, married Hon. Joseph Sirmans, and was born in November, 181 1, and died Decem- 156 History of Clinch County, Georgia ber 20th, 1852. They had six children. She is buried at the Fender graveyard. Manning Smith was another son of WilHam Smith, and was born about 18 15. He was commissioned a justice of the Inferior Court of Ware County in 1845, ^""^ \'^t\d the same position in Clinch. He married Miss Elizabeth Tomlinson, daughter of Moses Tomlinson, Sr., and had several children, among whom were Moses, Lewis, Elijah, Neter and Sarah Smith. Another branch of the Smiths in Clinch County was that of Abraham E. Smith, and his brothers. Kit, Jackson and John Smith. They came from Barnwell district, S. C, and settled iiT then Ware County, about 1845. Abraham E. Smith was born November 30th, 1824. In 1848 he pur- chased two lots of land near where Homerville now is (lots 499 and 513, in the seventh district), of Thomas Hilliard. He lived on them for many years. He married and had sev- eral children. He died January 4th, 1899. Kit Smith was born in 18 12 and died in 1874. His wife, Nancy, was born in 18 14. Jackson Smith was born January 27th, 18 14, and died about 1875. John W. Smith was born in 1834, and his wife, Rebecca, in 1841. He died September 3d, 1867, and his wife in 1899. John J. Smith was a son of Abraham E. Smith, and the oldest son. He was born November loth, 1846, and mar- ried Mary, daughter of Dixon Bennett, in 1863. They had a large family of children. Mr. Smith joined Co. **H" 4th Georgia Reserves under Captain Peeples, in 1863, and served until 1865, when he was mustered out at Wilmington, N. C. There are other small families of Smiths who have lived in this county. William D. Smith was born in North Caro- lina in 1 82 1, and his wife, Ann R. Smith, in 1834. Peter Smith, as stated above, married Katie, daughter of Lawrence Smith, Sr. Mr. Smith was born in 18 17, in North Carolina and settled here about 1840. He died August 8th, 1887, and is buried on his old home place. History of Clinch County, Georgia 157 THE CORBITT FAMILY. , Isham Corbitt was the ancestor of that branch of the Cor- bitts who now live in the northern part of Clinch County. He was a native of Tennessee, and came with his family to this section about 1 840. His wife was Millie Stokes and their children were : Harbird, Marshal, Newsom, Martin, Wil- liam, Wealthy, Sealie and Hillman Corbitt, the last named dying in his youth. Isham Corbitt died about 1855, and is buried in Berrien County. Harbird Corbitt was born in Tennessee, January 2d, 1802, and married Reinie, daughter of Benj. I. Boyett. Their chil- dren were : Reubin, Daniel, Irwin, Harbird, Warren, Reinie, Elizabeth, Newsom and James. Harbird Corbitt, Sr., died about 1865. Marshal Corbitt was born in Tennessee about 1805, and married a Miss Guthrie. Their only child was Diana, who married John Newbern, of Coffee County. After his first wife died, Mr. Corbitt married Martha Curry and had three children, Angeline, Isaac and Charles Corbitt. Newsom Corbitt was born in Tennessee in 1808, and mar- ried Pollie Smith. Their children were: William, Fannie, Wealthy, Martin S., Manning, Madison, Neter, Rebecca, Mary, Elizabeth, and John Corbitt. Newsom Corbitt Sr., later married Jane Lewis, but had no children by her. Mr. Corbitt served one term as State senator from Clinch County, 1 868-9, ^"^ ^v^s several years a justice of the peace. Martin Corbitt was born in Tennessee in 18 10, and mar- ried Lydia Curry, a daughter of Isaac Curry. Their chil- dren were: William, M. L. ("Jewel"), Queen, Newsom, Elias, Lewis, Millie and Elizabeth Corbitt. Mr. Corbitt was first married to Fannie Smith, but she died leaving no children. William Corbitt was born in Tennessee in 18 18 and mar- ried Rhoda Griffis, a sister of Juniper Griffis. Their children were : Catherine, Martha, Polly, Sealy, Nancy, Jasper, Ma- 158 History of Clinch County, Georgia riah, Eliza Ann, Relna Ann, and Charles Corbitt. Later he married the widow of Manning Cowart, Sr., but had no other children. There is another family of Corbitts in Clinch County that is very distantly related to the above. They are the descend- ants of Daniel Corbitt, who was born in South Carolina in 1804. He came to this section about 1845, ^^^ married Polly Bennett, and their children were : Richard, Henry, John, David, Matilda, who married David Geiger; Fannie, who married Joseph Crews ; Nancy, who married T. L. Boyd, and Mary, who never married, and Junior Corbitt, who was killed in the Civil War. Richard Corbitt was born in 1835, and married Nancy Geiger. He died February 17th, 1903, and is buried at Providence or Camp Branch Church. A son, Randall Cor- bitt, served as treasurer of Clinch County, 1913-1915. THE MATHIS FAMILY. Hillery P. Mathis was brought to this section by his uncle, James Edmondson, as an orphan and was raised in Lowndes County. Later he settled in Clinch County and par- ticipated in the Indian wars. He was born in 1821 and mar- ried Martha, daughter of Samuel Register. To them were born eleven children : Wealthy, who married Moses Tom- linson; James A. Mathis, Bryant G. Mathis, John S. Mathis, Virginia, who married J. E. Jackson; Hillery C. Mathis, Daniel W. Mathis, and four others who died in infancy. Mr. Mathis was born in Bulloch County and died about 1895. Another branch of the Mathis family that moved to this section in pioneer days, was that of John, Edmund and James Mathis, brothers, who moved first to Bulloch County from North Carolina. After living in Bulloch some years they came on to this section, John and James settling in what is now Berrien County, where their descendants now live, and Edmund Mathis settled on the edge of the territory of Flor- ida, later removing to what is now Clinch County. History of Clinch County, Georgia 159 Edmund Mathis married Unity, daughter of Samuel Reg- ister, and by her had three sons, viz. : Tyre, Bunn and John Mathis, Jr. Mr. Mathis was one of the first members of Cow Creek Church when it was first organized in 1847, ^s was also his wife. When Prospect Church was constituted, in 1859, ^^ became one of the original members of that church also, moving his membership there. John Mathis, Jr., married Jemima, daughter of Joshua Lee, and by her had several children, among them being Ezekiel Mathis. The elder Mathis served Clinch County as coroner several years. He died about 18,65, and is buried at Prospect Church in Hamilton County, F^a. He was born in Bulloch County. Tyre Mathis married Nancy, daughter of Joshua Lee. He was a justice of the Inferior Court of Clinch County, 1853- 1854, and is buried at Prospect Church in Clinch County. He was born in 1806 and died January 8th, 1891. Another branch of the Mathis family was Thomas Mathis, who married Eady, daughter of Samuel Register. He was born in 1808. Mrs. Mathis died February loth, 1869. Among their children was David G. Mathis. After his first wife's death, Mr. Mathis married Roxie Morgan, widow of Elihu Morgan. THE TOMLINSON FAMILY. Perhaps one of the oldest and most important families of Clinch County to-day is the Tomlinson family. The first Tomlinson to come here came in 1822, at the same time the Sirmans family came. They came from Bulloch County. In-Bulloch County resided John Tomlinson, who was prob- ably a^ldier of the Revolution. His wife was Miss Lucretia ^^Jardeman, a daughter of Thomas Hardeman, of Virginia. #' There was born to them the three sons who later settled in what is now Clinch County, in 1822. In this connection it might be said that Thomas Harde- man had seven daughters, all of whom married into promi- i6o History of Clinch County, Georgia nent families. One of them married Jack Jones, and they had a son, Jack Jones, Jr., who married Mary, a daughter of Gen, David Johnson. To the latter were born two sons, Harrison and Mitchell Jones, who both became identified with Clinch County. Another daughter of Thomas Harde- man was Winnie, who married John Moore. To them was born John, Elias and Vinson Moore. Another daughter, Artie, married Josiah Sirmans, who was born in 1767, and to them was born those Sirmans brothers, who in later years became leaders in this county. Moses, William and John Tomlinson, Jr., were sons of John and Lucretia (Hardeman) Tomlinson, and emgirated to this section in 1822. They settled in the Mud Creek dis- trict, and it is their descendants who to-day form the Tom- linson family in Clinch County. Moses Tomlinson was born in 1793 and married Char- lotte or Lottie Monk, a sister of Malachi Monk. She was born in 1797 in South Carolina. To them were born: Lucre- tia, who married Jonas Driggers; Aaron, who married Lavinia Sirmans; Elizabeth, who married Manning Smith; Nancy, who married Jesse Smith; Martha, who married Martin Fender; Thomas, who married Mary Sirmans; Re- becca, w.ho married Henry Joyce; Sherod, who married Sarah Ann Burkhalter, and Enoch, who married Jemima Gid- dens, and two other sons, Needham and Joseph, who never married and were killed in the Civil War. William Tomlinson was born in 1781, and married Nancy Register, a sister of Samuel Register, Sr. To them were born : Harris, who married Rebecca Driggers; John, who married Zilpha Register; Candacy, who married John T. Roberts; Rebecca, who married James Harvey Mizell; Marcus and Levin Tomlinson, Also there was another son of William Tomlinson, named William S. Tomlinson, who served three terms as representative from Clinch County. The latter mar- ried Matilda Giddens. William Tomlinson, Sr., died in ■SHIRLEY" The elegant home of Hon. R. G. Dickerson, Virginia Avenue, Homerville. Beautiful residence of Hon. J. F. Barnhill, Homerville History of Clinch County, Georgia i6l 1866. His wife, Nancy, was born in 1782, and died about 1873. They are the grandparents of Hon. Moses Tomlin- son, ex-ordinary of Clinch County. John Tomlinson, Jr., brother of Moses and WilHam Tom- linson, was born December iith, 1784, and died February 17th, 1858. He never married and was crippled and could never walk; he amassed a considerable amount of property, such as cattle, slaves and land, besides much cash money. He spent his life among his relatives chiefly, and was carried from place to place by his slaves. He is buried at Prospect Church in this county. Grand-children of John and Lucretia (Hardeman) Tom- linson: Aaron Tomlinson, son of Moses Tomlinson, Sr., was born in 1818, and married Melvina, daughter of Tiner Corbitt, and to them were born Sallie, who married Jesse Lee; Nancy, v\^ho married Leonard Fender; Viola, Josiah, Moses, Eliza- beth, who married George Kinard, and later Daniel Brady; Lucretia, who married John Watson ; and Candacy, who mar- ried Cornelius Dawson; and Melvina, Charlotte, Rachael and Lorena Tomlinson. Mr. Tomlinson died about 1875. Eliazbeth Tomlinson, daughter of Moses Tomlinson, Sr., married Manning Smith, and Nancy married Jesse Smith. (See Smiths.) Martha Tomlinson, daughter of Moses Tomlinson, Sr., married Martin Fender, and to them were born Leonard, Bartlett, Rebecca, Sarah An, and Samantha Fender. She died about 1865. Thomas Tomlinson, son of Moses Tomlinson, Sr., married Mary, daughter of Hon. Joseph Sirmans. Their children were Rebecca, who married George Pierce; Harris, who mar- ried Melvina Kinard; Charlotte, who married Lucius Her- ren; Aaron, Jr., who married a daughter of William Bennett, and Needham who likewise married a daughter of William Bennett and Mary Tomlinson. Thomas Tomlinson was born 1 62 History of Clinch County, Georgia June 26th, 1828, and died August 14th, 1897, and is buried at the Fender graveyard. Sherod Tomlinson, son of Moses Tomlinson, Sr., married Sarah Ann Burkhalter, daughter of Hon. R. H. Burkhalter. She was born in 1827. Their children were: John P. Lucius, Joseph (deceased), Moses, Matthew, Augustus M., Velpo, Wilham H., Annie, who married Moses C. Register; Amos B., and Ciby, who married Ratio Bridges. Sherod Tomlin- son was born February 6th, 1826, and died December 26th, 1885. He served a short while as a justice of the Inferior court, also as coroner. Enoch Tomlinson, son of Moses Tomlinson, Sr., was born in 1834, and married Jemima Giddens. To them were born Duncan V., Joseph P., W. J. or Jasper, Enoch E., Lucretia, who married James A. O'Steen, and Jerushia, who married Bryant O'Steen. Harris Tomlinson, son of William Tomlinson, Sr., was born in 1828, and married Martha Driggers. To them was born John, Caroline, Harris, Jr., Staten B., Levin, Jonas, James, William, Jr., Rebecca, Lucretia, Sallie and Nancy, Martha and Zilpha Tomlinson. Mr. Tomlinson was born December 8th, 1828 and died May 4th, 1899. John Tomlinson, Jr., son of William Tomlinson, was born December 17th, 1804, and died November 8th, 1863. H!e married Zilpha, a daughter of Samuel Register. She was born February 4th, 1807, and died August 4th, 1883. Their children were William, who married Caroline Stalvey; Har- ris, who married Martha Stalvey; Elizabeth, who married Absalom Smith; Sallie, who married Benj. S. Stalvey; Guil- ford, who married Sarah Walden; Kittie, who married George W. Stalvey; Nancy, who married Moses Stalvey; Moses, who married Wealthy E. Mathis; Samuel, who mar- ried Elizabeth Mikell; Levin, who married Katie Moore; Penelope, who married D. C. Lancaster; John, who married Georgia Alderman, and Zilpha (never married). History of Clinch County, Georgia 163 Candacy Tomlinson, who married John T. Roberts, was born in 181 1, and their children were Moses, John, Isham, WilHam, Tharp, SalHe, Rebecca, Lavinia and Matilda Roberts. Rebecca Tomlinson, daughter of William Tomlinson, Sr., who married James Harvey Mizell, had several children, among whom were William Mizell and a daughter who mar- ried Jas. Roberts. William S. Tomlinson was born in 1822 and married Ma- tilda Giddens. To them were born John G., Kizzie, Isbin, Matthew, George F., Mary and Alice Tomlinson. John G. Tomlinson was born January ist, 1846, and died July i8th, 1893. Isbin Tomlinson was born in 1852, and died in No- vember, 1 89 1. THE BENNETT FAMILY. John Bennett came from Sampson County, N. C, about 1830 and settled about two miles north of where Stockton now is in this county. He died about 1851, age about 80 years. He married Sallie, a sister of Samuel Register, and to them were born Dixon, Felix, Abraham, Wiley, Redding, Polly, Bettie and Dicy Bennett. Dixon Bennett was born in 18 10, and died May 6th, 1871, He married Sallie Driggers, and their children were John, William, Mark, Matthew, Sallie, who married Ezekiel Mathis, and Mary, who married John J. Smith. Felix Bennett married Rebecca Smith, and their children were John, Felix, Redden, Dixon, Hansford, James, Rai- ford B., and Abraham Bennett. Felix Bennett, Sr., was born in 1 8 13 and died in 1863. Abraham Bennett was born about 1820, and married Katie McGill. Their children were Dixon, Jasper, Marion, Abram, Andrew, Lovedy, Tracie, Eliza and Flora Bennett. Wiley Bennett was born November loth, 1825, and mar- ried Luraney Harnage, daughter of George Harnage. To them were born Sarah Ann, who married D. J. Jeffords ; 164 History of Clinch County, Georgia Abram, who married Sarah J. Taylor; Jerry, who married Ida Maine; Lucinda, who married Henry Fender; Guil- ford, who married Mattie Tomlinson; Redding, J., who married Mary Whilden; Dicy, who married T. J. Smith; Henry, who married Minerv^a Harnage; Levi, who mar- ried Ola Bennett; Wiley; Nellie, who married Jesse Cham- bers; Ben S., who married a Miss Chambers. Wiley Bennett, Sr., died December yth, 1896. His wife was born in 1836, and died in 1873. Redding Bennett was born January 19th, 1829, and mar- ried Annie Harnage, daughter of George Harnage. Their children were Sallie; Christina, who married Henry Guthrie; James Seward, who married Malinda Register; Ambrose, who married Matilda Guthrie; Wiley, Levin, Mahala, Bethany, Minerva, Emaline, and Annie Bennett. Mr. Bennett died February 8th, 1905, and is buried at Cow Creek Church. There are other branches of the Bennett family in Clinch County, but they are not numerous. They are descended from Richard A. Bennett, who married Lavinia Newman, and who was many years a justice of the peace in Clinch County, and from John P. Bennett, who was born in 18 19, and died December 12th, 1907. THE DAME FAMILY. This family came from Cheshire, England, where they have been freeholders since the reign of Edward the Fourth, a period of about five hundred years. Where they formerly lived is now known as the parish of "Leighton-Cain Minshal Vernon," in the town of Nautwick in Cheshire. One of the most interesting stories of the English family is about Thomas Dame (or Damme, as it was sometimes spelled) who lived to a very great age. He was born in the year 1494, and died in 1648, age 154 years. He was buried in the churchyard of the parish of Church Minshal near Middlewick in Cheshire. The register of his death is still History of Clinch County, Georgia 165 In existence, and is marked around with ink to call attention to the remarkable age. This is a copy of it : Thomas Damme, of Leiggton, buried ye 20th of Ffebbruarie, being of the age of seven score and fourteen, 1648. His wife is also buried in Church Minshal. He is said to have danced a hornpipe at the celebration of the opening of the present bridge over the river Weaver at Church Minshal, he then being 104 years old. As nearly as can be found out, most of the family emi- grated during the Puritan troubles in England In the seven- teenth century, part going to Holland, where they are said to have established the Van Dam family, some to France, es- tablishing the Dalme family, one becoming a French General, and part coming to America. The first settlers of the name In America were John Dame, who settled In Dover, New Hampshire, In 1633, and be- came the ancestor of the Dame family In the New England States, and John Dame, who settled Virginia In 1638. John Dame, a lineal descendant of the original settler In Virginia, was an officer in the Continental army in the Revolutionary War, and commanded the Maryland Flying Corps. The Dame family In Georgia is descended from George Dame and Mary Greene, his wife, who lived in Christ Church parish, Middlesex County, Virginia. Their children were Mary, who married John Jarvis, and George, born March 9th, 1784, and John Dame. George and John Dame were soldiers of the War of 18 12, with England. George was a private, first in Capt. John Waller's company of the 9th Regiment of Virginia Militia, and later in Capt. Tom Faulkner's company of the 9th Reg- iment, and later served In the 6ist Regiment. John Dame 1 66 History of Clinch County , Georgia was a private In the 21st Regiment of Virginia Militia, Gloucester County. After the War of 1812, they moved to Georgia, John settling in Jones County, and George in Mont- gomery County. The latter married Catherine Carter, a daughter of Elmore Carter and his wife, Delilah West, who were descended from the eminent Virginia families of those names. The children of George Dame and Catherine Carter were: Delilah, who married Fiveash; Elizabeth, who married Higgs; George Appling, who married Sarah Thigpen, Nancy, who married O'Quin; Margaret, who married Five- ash; Matilda (died single) ; Charity, who married Gibbs; Emaline, who married, first, W. H. Clifton, and then R. B. Johnson; James W., who married Fannie Minshew, and Martha, who married Hutto. After the war between the States, George Dame moved to Clinch County, but soon afterAvards died at the age of eighty-four, and with his wife is buried at the old Dame homestead near Dames' Mill, in this county. George Appling Dame married Sarah Thigpen, of Mont- gomery County, who was the daughter of Melancthon Thip- pen, and Barbara Ricks. Melancthon Thigpen was the son of Travis Thigpen and Hannah Hardy. Barbara Ricks was the daughter of Richard Ricks and Elizabeth Herren. These were all great slave-holding families of Middle Georgia. George Appling Dame, having strong religious scruples against the waging of war, but loyal to his State and having deep sympathy for the distress of her citizens, was put on detail duty, and gave practically all he had for the relief of the widows and orphans of his neighbors. He moved to Clinch County in 1864, and died in 1882. He is buried at Prospect Church near DuPont. The children of Mr. Dame and his wife, Sarah, were: Arlia, who married Harris Tom- linson; George Melancthon Dame, who married Linnie Har- greaves; William Henry Dame, who married Caroline Cor- History of ClincJi County, Georgia 167 nelius; John Thigpen Dame, who married Olivia Brown, Kate Harwell, and Emma Smith, and Charles Elmore Dame, who died single. James W. Dame, brother of George A. Dame, married Fannie Minshew, and was the father of five children : Lillian, George Tecumseh, Jo.hn Minshew, Christopher Columbus, and James Willoughby Dame. Mr. Dame was born Sep- tember 15th, 1836, and died May 23d, 1891. He served In Company "H" 29th Georgia, in the Civil War. George A. Dame served as surveyor of Clinch County, while his son, George M. Dame, was long surveyor and also county treasurer. Another son, John T. Dame, is the pres- ent ordinary of Clinch County. H. J. Dame served a term as county attorney and several terms as mayor of Homerville, is at present school superintendent of Citrus County, Fla. Flem C. Dame served a term as county superintendent of schools and several terms as Mayor of Homerville. THE REGISTER FAMILY. The Register family is one of the most widely connected families of any in the county. The first one of this family to come here was Samuel Register, who removed to this sec- tion about 1825 or 1830. He had a large family. Also there were Sallle, wife of John Bennett, and Nancy, wife of William Tomlinson, Sr., who were Samuel Register's sisters. Samuel Register married Elizabeth Skinner. He was born December ist, 1786, and died April 8th, 1869, leaving a large estate. His children were: Guilford, David, John, Wil- liam, Samuel E., Elizabeth, who married William Patten; Martha, who married Hillery P. Mathis; Zilpha, who mar- ried John Tomlinson; Ivy Register, Eady, who married Thomas Mathis; Phoebe, who married Zachariah Lee, a daughter, who married Hillery Cowart, and one who married Moses C. Lee, and H. M. Register. Abram Register was another early settler of this county, living here in 1870. He was born in 1801, and seems to be 1 68 History of Clinch County, Georgia a brother of Samuel Register. He married and had a daugh- ter, Harriet, who married John Hilliard. To them were born one son, Mitchell H. Hilliard. John Hilliard was killed in the Civil War. Mrs. Harriet Hilliard was born April 4th, 1833, and after the death of Mr. Hilliard mar- ried Peter Stalvey, who died about 1888. She died Janu- ary 8th, 1910. Guilford Register, son of Samuel Register, lived in Echols County, and was born in 18 10. He was the first represen- tative from Echols County to the Legislature. He died about 1894. He lived in Hamilton County, Fla., several years prior to his death. William Register, a son of Saumel Register, lived in Clinch County, and was born September 29th, 18 14. He was married to Laurana, a daughter of George Harnage, May 24th, 1838. They had the following children, named in the order of their birth: Samuel W. Register, John T. Register, Guilford A. Reg- ister, Oliver P. Register, Abraham R. Register, Harris Reg- ister (died in infancy), Mary E. Register, who married Elsea Allen first, later J. D. Weaver; Martha Register, who married Ezekiel S. Sirmans, Moses C. Register, Orren Reg- ister and William J. Register. William Register accumulated much property. He died September 4th, 1893. He is buried at Cow Creek Church. His wife is also buried there. Zilpha Register, daughter of Samuel Register, married Jchn Tomlinson, and they had thirteen children (see Tom- linsons). She was born February 4th, 1807, and married Mr. Tomlinson about 1826. She died August 4th, 1883, and is buried at Cow Creek Church. Her son, Moses Tom- linson, was for two terms ordinary of Clinch County, and served eight years as tax collector. Phoebe Register, daughter of Samuel Register, married Zachariah Lee, a son of Joshua Lee, and they had a son. Perry M. Lee. Mrs. Lee was born August 15th, 1823, and History of Clinch County, Georgia 169 married about 1847. She died January 26th, 1905, and is buried at Prospect Church. Perry M. Lee served as clerk of the Superior Court, and is now a county commissioner of Clinch County. Eady Register, daughter of Samuel Register, married Thomas Mathis, and they had a son, David G. Mathis. She was born about 1820, and died February loth, 1869. David Register, a son of Samuel Register, was for many years a justice of the peace of the 970th district. He married and had several children, among them Samuel Register, who now lives near Fargo. David Register died in 1859. Men- tion of his grandsons is made elsewhere in this connection. Samuel Register, Sr., was the owner originally of the land whereon the town of Stockton now is. He had it laid off into town lots and developed a station when the Atlantic & Gulf Railroad was built through. The town was at first called Registerville, but later Stockton. Samuel W. Register, a son of William Register, was for fifteen years clerk of the Superior Court of Clinch County. Another son, Guilford A. Register, served as tax collector. W. A. Register, a son of Samuel Register and grandson of David Register, was born in Clinch County, near where Fargo now is, February 4th, 1869. He went to Florida in 1890, and engaged in the timber business in Liberty County for eight years, after which he went to Leon County, where he settled. He located near Woodville, Florida, and en- gaged in farming and stock-raising. He was elected a mem- ber of the board of county commissioners of Leon County in 1904, and served six years. In 19 12 he was elected repre- sentative from Leon County in the Florida Legislature and served two years. He married Miss Cora Lee Ferrell, Dec. 4th, 1898, and has six children. Mr. Register has been quite successful in his business and has accumulated much property. His brother, D. F. Register, also lives at Woodville, Florida. He was born in 1871, and removed to Leon County, Florida, in 1902, where he engaged in farming and 170 History of Clinch County, Georgia stock-raising. His wife was Miss Alma Swearingen, of Clinch County. Another brother, Lee Register, removed to Jasper, Flor- ida, where he has served as representative from Hamilton County in the Florida Legislature. Still another brother, Guilford C. Register, has for the last ten years or longer, served as a deputy sheriff of Clinch County, and was for one term justice of the peace of the 1219th district. The children of Samuel W. Register, son of William Reg- ister, were Augustus Otis Register, Delia, who married Eli J. Futch; Malinda, who married J. S. Bennett; Henrietta, who married Harlen McLain; Effie, who married J. E. Jor- dan; Bertha, who married L. S. Malone; Meddie, who mar- ried D. E. Kirkland, and Jeannette, who married H. J. Griffis, and Victoria, who married M. H. Hilliard. The children of Guilford A. Register, son of William Reg- ister, were Elbert B. Register, Payton C. Register, Jasper D. Register, Isbin F. Register, Benjamin H. Register, Richard E. Register, Charles A. Register, Harriet, who married J. B. Coon. Orrin Register, son of William Register, was born March 15th, 1858, and died in Lowndes County, where he had pre- viously removed, September i6th, 191 1. He married a daughter of James M. Burkhalter, and they had several children. Abraham R. Register, son of William Register, was born February 8th, 1846, and died at his home in the 970th dis- trict, October 5th, 1906. He married Elizabeth, daughter of Benj. Stalvey, and had a large family of children. John T. Register was born February loth, 1841, the son of William Register. He married and raised a large fam- ily of children, among whom were Perry A. Register, Lucius R. Register, Henry Register, Ben S. Register, Dallas G. Register. The elder Register died in November, 191 5. Oliver Perry Register was born January 2 2d, 1844, the History of Clinch County, Georgia 171 son of William Register. He raised a large family. One of his daughters married Mr. L. L, DuPont. Mr. Register died in 19 12. THE MORGAN FAMILY. The Morgans, of Clinch County, are descendants from Berrien Morgan and his wife, Linnie Nesmith, who lived in North Carolina during the Revolutionary War. Berrien Morgan was a nephew of Daniel Morgan, the famous Amer- ican general, and was the grandfather of Gen. John H. Mor- gan, the great Confederate cavalry leader. There is a tra- dition in the family that they are of Welsh descent and col- lateral descendants of Sir Henry Morgan, Governor of Jamaica, and sometimes admiral in the English navy, later as a Buccaneer he spread terror to the gilded galleons of the Spanish main. The children of Berrien Morgan and his wife, Linnie Nesmith, were Solomon, Tom, Elihu, John, Brice and a daughter, who married Joseph Marshall. Elihu Morgan was born in 1795, and married his cousin, Linnie Nesmith. Their children were Elihu, Thomas C, John L., Joseph and several daughters. He owned real estate in 1850 to the value of $6,000, quite a considerable amount for those days. He lived in then Clinch but now Echols County. Thomas Morgan, son of Berrien Morgan, lived and died in Clinch County. He was born in 1796, and his wife, Eliza- beth, in 1 8 15. They had several children, among whom was Thomas F., Martin Z. and Jonathan L. Morgan, who removed to Clinch County in i860, from Appling County. Thomas Morgan lived to be about eighty years old. John L. Morgan was a son of Berrien Morgan, and was born in 1802. He died in 1888, and is buried at the Homer- ville cemetery. He was for many years ordinary of Clinch County. He had several children, among whom were his sons, John L. Morgan, Jr., Thomas C. Morgan, Joseph, 172 History of Clinch County, Georgia Hampton, Lemuel T., William R., and Quarterman B. Morgan, and a daughter, who married Hon. John Williams. Thomas C. Morgan, son of Elihu Morgan, Sr., married Jane Moody, and their children were Mary, Parthenia, George, LInnle, Granville, Sherod and Jonathan Morgan. Thomas C. Morgan married a second time, Ellen Penning- ton, and their children were Henry, Delia, Ellen, Linnle, Thomas and Staten Morgan. Parthenia Morgan married John C. Hargreaves. Her mother, Jane Moody, was a daughter of Isaac Moody, and his wife, Sarah Carter. Jonathan L. Morgan was born In 1832, and as above stated, was a son of Thomas Morgan. He married Susan Hargreaves, and they had three children, viz. : A. H. Mor- gan, Mrs. Frank C. Folks, Mrs. Linnle Taylor. The elder Morgan died In Waycross, May 5th, 1907. His son, Abra- ham H. Morgan, served one term as clerk of the Superior Court of Clinch County. George Morgan, son of Thomas C. Morgan, Sr., removed to Inv^erness, Fla., whence he carried 2,000 head of cattle, Sherod Morgan now lives In Hamilton County, Fla. Gran- ville Morgan, another son, now lives several miles below Homervllle. Other members of the Morgan family who have lived in Clinch County, are: Charles S. Morgan, born 1845, who was a lawyer at Homervllle a few years following the war; Jacob Morgan, born 1842 ; and John T. Morgan, born 1836. The Morgan family is widely scattered throughout the United States, and are all descendants of three brothers who landed in this country about 1660. Dr. John Morgan, a relative of Berrien Morgan, named above, established the first medical college in America at Philadelphia. It Is now the medical department of the University of Pennsylvania. THE LEE FAMILY. Joshua Lee was probably the earliest member of the Lee family to live in Clinch. He was a brother to Jesse Lee, History of Clinch County, Georgia 173 who lived in this section and died here. Joshua Lee mar- ried Martha Ford, a native of North Carolina, while he was born in South Carolina. To them were born several children, among them being Zachariah Lee, who married Phoebe Reg- ister; Nancy Lee, who married Tyre Mathis; Jemima, who married John Mathis; and Sarah, who married Isaac D. Hutto, and Elizabeth, who married James Patten. Joshua Lee died about 1855, and is buried at Prospect Church. He removed to this county from where Milltown now is and settled four miles north of where DuPont now is, about 1 847. Zachariah Lee was born October 4th, 18 16, and married Phoebe Register, daughter of Samuel Register, Sr. They had a son, Perry M. Lee, who served one term as clerk of the Superior Court of Clinch County, and is at present a county commissioner of Clinch County. The elder Lee died May 23, 1884. He is buried at the North cemetery. Nancy Lee, who married Tyre Mathis, was born in 1808. They had several children, among whom was Martha, who married James T. Touchstone, and Celie, who married Greenberry Holt. The children of Martha and James T. Touchston were Henry W. Touchston, William Touchston, Frank Touchston, Mrs. Rosetta Drawdy, Mrs. D. A. Smith, and Mrs. Annie Cornelius. Bettie, daughter of Mrs. Holt, married Joseph P. Smith, and among their children are Wil- liam and H. P. Smith, and Emma, who married J. T. Dame. Jemima Lee, who married John Mathis, was born about 1 8 10, and they had several children, among them Ezekiel Mathis. Sarah Lee, who married Isaac D. Hutto, was born in 1820. Mr. Hutto was for many years pastor of Prospect Church in this county. They had no children, but had an adopted son, Jackson N. Hutto. Elizabeth Lee, who married James Patten, of Berrien County, was born about 18 15. They had ten children, viz.: William, Jethro, James, Jehu and Matthew Patten, Nancy, 174 History of Clinch County, Georgia who married John F. Clements; Leta, who married Ivy Register; SalHe, who married John Crosby; Mary, who mar- ried John Clements, and Elizabeth, who married John J. Drawdy. Mrs. Patten died about 1880. Jesse Lee, brother to Joshua Lee, had several children, among them John and Moses Lee, and a daughter who mar- ried James O. Patten. Moses Lee lived in Berrien County, where his descendants are numerous. John Lee married Elinor Wetherington, and their children were : John Lee, Jr., Elinor, who married James Chisholm ; Julia, who married Levi Knight; Moses, who married Amanda Clements; Jesse, who married Sallie Tomlinson; James, who married Lavinia Smith; William J. Lee, who married Rhoda, daughter of John F. Clements and grand-daughter of Joshua Lee. There was also another family of Lees in this county. James J. Lee was born in 18 19. His wife, Jemima, was born in 1 82 1. They had several children. James Lee was born in 1829, and his wife, Catherine, in 1833. They had seven children. Some of these lived in and near the Okefinokee Swamp. Henry Lee, born 183^;, is one of the oldest living members of this branch. CHAPTER XII. County Officers of Clinch County. 1 850-191 6. ORDINARIES. PREVIOUS to 1852, the Inferior Court had jurisdic- tion over estates, probates of wills, guardianships and other matters which the Ordinary has jurisdiction over at present, and the Inferior Court sat as a Court of Ordinary for that purpose; but in 1850 an Act was passed, amended in 1 85 1, creating the office of Ordinary in this State, (The word "removed" indicates removal from the county.) The following have been ordinaries of Clinch County since 1852 : Name Commiss Guilford Lastinger Jan. 27, Richard H. Burkhalter April 8, John L. Morgan Jan. 29, Hampton Morgan (removed) __ Feb. 16, William W. Griffin Aug. 21, John L. Morgan Nov. 9, Moses Tomlinson Jan. 18, John L. Morgan Jan. 27, Martin S. Corbitt Jan. 13, George Cornelius Jan. 7, William T. Howell Oct. John T. Dame Oct. 17, W. V. Musgrove oned 852 856 858 864 868 871 873 881 885 889 900 904 916 CLERKS SUPERIOR COURT. John C. Kirkland April 12, 1850 George W. Newbern Jan. 14, 1852 Archibald D. Laslie Jan. 10, 1854 David O'Quin April 8, 1856 Term of Office 1852-1856 1856-1858 1858-1864 1864-1867 1868-187I 1871-1873 1873-1881 1881-1885 1885-1889 1889-I9OI I 901 -I 905 1905-I917 I917-I92I 185O-1852 1852-1854 1854-1856 1856-1868 176 History of Clinch County, Georgia Name Commiss H. D. O'Quin Aug. 21, James Tomlinson Feb. 7, Edward T. Dukes Jan. 18, Perry M. Lee Jan. 14, Cornelius A. Smith (resigned) __ Jan. 17, David O'Quin (appointed) Dec. 6, Abraham Morgan Jan. 13, Bryant R. Johnnson (resigned) _ Jan. 9, William A. Ecord March 4, Samuel W. Register (died) Jan. 6, A. O. Register June 25, Austin J. Gibbs Nov. 3, TAX COLLECTORS. Ezekiel J. Sirmans Apr. 12, Robert G. Dickerson Jan. 10, Moses Giddens May 17, Henry Joyce Jan. 10, Isaac D. Hutto Jan. 9, Charles Cowart Jan. 12, Jesse P. Prescott Jan. 13, Timothy Alderman Jan. 17, William M. Austin Feb. 16, Samuel W. Register Jan. 22, Martin S. Corbitt Aug. 21, Madison M. Caswell Feb. 7, William J. Rives Jan. 9, Guilford A. Register Jan. 13, William Griffis Jan. 8, Moses Tomlinson Jan. 7, M. M. Monk (resigned) Oct. 14, David C. Sirmans Oct. 17, Lucius R. Register Nov. i, C. H. Dickerson Nov. 3, ioned Term of Oflfice 1868 [868- [871 1871 [871- t873 1873 f873- [875 1875 [875- [877 1877 [877- [880 1880 [880- [881 1881 [881- [883 1883 [883- [884 1884 [884- ^893 1893 [893- [908 1908 [908- [909 1908 [909- [921 1850 [850- [852 1852 [852- t853 1853 f853- [854 1854 [854-] [855 185^ r8^^ [857 1857 [857-1 [858 1858 ] 858-1 859 1859 [859- [864 1864 [864- [866 1866 [866- [868 1868 [868- [871 187I [871- [883 1883 [883- [885 1885 [885- [887 1887 [887-] [889 1889 [889-] [897 1896 [897-] [904 1904 [905- [907 1907 [907-] [909 1908 [909-] [921 X W. V. MUSGROVE Elected Ordinary Clinch County, 191G. History of Clinch County, Georgia 177 TAX RECEIVERS. Name Commissioned Term of Office Benjamin Cornelius April 12, 1850 1850-1856 Jesse W. Carter April 8, 1856 1856-1857 Benjamin Cornelius Jan. 12, 1857 1857-1862 Timothy Alderman Jan. 23, 1862 1862-1864 Benjamin Cornelius (died) Feb. 16, 1864 1864-1874 William J. Rives Jan. 14,1875 1875-1881 John C. Jones (died) Jan. 13, 1881 1881-1904 B. E. Mattox June 9, 1904 1904-1905 J. B. Coon Oct. 17, 1904 1905-1921 COUNTY TREASURERS. Prior to 1868, the clerk of the Inferior Court was treas- urer of the county. In 19 15 the treasurer's office was abol- ished and the county authorities authorized to select some banking institution in the county to handle the county's funds without charge, — to become effective January i, 19 17. N£ Commissi Riley Johnson (resigned) Aug. 21, Allen Smith (appointed) Nov. 28, Alfred Newbern Feb. 7, Henry C. Moore (died) Jan. 17, W. H. Gary (appointed) June 23, Sherod Smith (died) July 27, Lewis Smith Nov. 28, Andrew J. Caswell (died) Jan. 6, Chas. F. Hitch (appointed) Aug. 21, R. G. DIckerson (resigned) Sept. 12, George M. Dame (appointed) __Oct. 12, Perry A. Register Oct. 14, George M. Dame Oct. 19, John F. Hughes Oct. 8, T. F. M. Sweat Nov. 3, Randall Corbitt Oct. 19, W. H. Hunter Nov. i. oned 868 868 871 877 891 891 891 893 893 893 896 896 898 902 908 912 914 Term of Office 1868 1868-1871 1871-1877 1877-189I 189I 189I 189I-1893 1893 1893 1893-1896 1896-1897 1897-1899 1899-1903 I903-1909 I909-I913 I913-I915 1915-1917 J78 History of Clinch County, Georgia SHERIFFS. Name Commiss Charles Cowart April 12, Cornelius Joyce March 11, Thomas Mobley (resigned) Jan. 10, David O'Quin May 16, Shimuel Timmerman April 8, James Waters Jan. 13, Shimuel Timmerman Jan, 10, Jesse Smith Jan. 23, Shimuel Timmerman Feb. 16, Harrison Jones (left county) Jan. 22, William M. Austin Jan. 10, Joseph E. Bass Oct. 26, James M. Nelms Feb. 7, Robert N. Brady (killed) Jan. 18, David H. Johnson Jan. 14, John T. Courson Jan. 8, Jerry M. Jeffords Jan. 13, B. E. Mattox Jan. 8, Frank Dickerson Jan. 7, Bryant O'Steen Oct. 14, S. A. Sweat Oct. 10, Perry R. Lee Nov. 3, SURVEYORS. D. J. Blackburn April 12, 1850 Elijah Mattox April 12, 1850 D. J. Blackburn Jan. 10, 1852 Joseph B. Johnson Jan. 12, 1854 Joseph J. Cohen Jan. 12, 1857 Elias H. Tyler Jan. 13, 1858 Jesse S. Sineath Jan. 10, 1861 T. T. McLendon Feb. 16, 1864 Jesse S. Sineath Jan. 22, 1866 William Gaines Aug. 21, 1868 sioned Term of C 1850 185O-I 185I [851-I 1854 [854 1854 [854-1 1856 [856-1 1858 [858-1 1861 [861-I 1862 [862-1 1864 [864-1 1866 [866-1 1867 [867-1 1868 [868-1 1871 ] [871-1 1873 1 [873-1 1875 ] [875-1 1879 ] [879-1 1881 ] 881-1 1887 ] 887-1 1889 ] 889-1 1896 ] [897-1 1900 ] 901-1 1908 ] 909-1 1850 1850- 1852- 1854- 1857- 1858- I86I- 1864- 1866- 1868- Office 851 854 856 858 861 862 864 866 867 868 871 873 875 879 881 887 889 897 901 909 921 1852 1854 1857 1858 1861 1864 1866 1868 1873 History of Clinch County, Georgia 179 Name Isaac T. McLendon Jan. 18, 1873 George A. Dame Jan. 14, 1875 Jackson J. Taylor Jan. 17, 1877 George M. Dame Jan. 13, 1881 S. R. Kirton Jan. 9, 1895 J. B. Coon Oct. 19, 1898 F. F. Cornelius Oct. 17, 1904 Thomas C. Conine Nov. i, 19 14 CORONERS. Joseph L. Rogers April John Mathls Jan. John Q. FIndley Jan. John Mathls Jan. Sherod Tomllnson Feb. J. R. DIckerson Aug. James M. KIght Feb. John T. Courson Jan. Daniel DIckerson Jan. Benjamin O'Steen Jan. Stephen D, FIndley Jan. Guilford A. Register Jan. William Parker Jan. D. F. McDuffie Jan. Augustus M. Tomllnson Jan. George D. GIbbs (died) Jan. John B. KIrkland Jan. Tarlton McMillan Oct. W. R. FIndley (removed) Oct. C. W. Byrd (appointed) Dec. G. R. Thigpen (removed) Oct. B. F. Thomas Nov. John L. Cason Commissioned Term of Office 873-1875 875-1877 877-1881 895 895-1899 899-1905 905-1915 915-I92I 12, [850 16, [851 i3» [858 10, [861 16,] [864 21, ] [868 7^ [871 18, ] ^873 14, ] 875 17. [877 13. 1 [881 9' ^ [883 i3> ] [885 8, [887 7, J [889 10, ] [891 6,1 [893 14, ] [896 i7> 1 [904 10, ] 912 19, ] 912 I, ] 914 916 850- 851- 858- 861- 864- 868- 871- 873- 875- 877- 881- 883- 885- 887- 889- 891- 893- 897- 905- 912- 913 915- 917- 851 858 861 864 868 871 873 875 877 881 883 885 887 889 891 893 897 905 912 913 917 921 i«o History of Clinch County, Georgia COUNTY SCHOOL SUPERINTENDENTS. Previous to 1871 the control of school matters was vested in the justices of the Inferior Court, the Ordinary and one citizen appointed by the judge of the Superior Court, while the clerk of the Inferior Court was ex-officio secretary of the school board. This was amended in 1870, and later in 1872. Name Commissioned Term of Office H. D. O'Quin June 3, 1871 1871-1882 George W. Newbern Jan. 16, 1882 1882-1892 Charlton H. Smith May 30, 1892 1892-1899 W. T. Dickerson 1899-19 11 Flem C. Dame 1911-1914 M. A. Cornelius 1914-1917 Joseph O. Rogers 191 7-1 921 JUSTICES OF THE INFERIOR COURT. This court, composed of five justices, exercised the powers of the County Court, Court of Ordinary and Board of County Commissioners. They were abolished in 1868. David Johnson Apr. Isham F. Johnson Apr. Hiram Sears Apr. Manning Smith Apr. Francis H. McCall Feb. Manning Smith Jan. David Johnson Jan. Tyre Mathis Jan. Timothy Alderman Jan. Solomon Wilkes Jan. William M. Nichols Jan. Archibald Hodges Jan. John L. Morgan Jan. Robert F. White Jan. Duncan Giddens Jan. 12, 1850 1850- 1853 12, 1850 1850- 1853 12, 1850 1850- 1853 12, 1850 18^0- 1853 16, 1852 1852- 1853 17. 1853 1853- 1854 I7> 1853 1853- 1854 i7> 1853 1853- 1854 17. 1853 1853- 1854 17. 1853 1853- 1854 24, 1854 1854- 1855 24, 1854 1854- 1858 24, 1854 1854- 1857 24, 1854 1854- 1856 24, 1854 1854- 1857 History of Clinch County, Georgia i«i Name Commissioned Term of Office i6, Jacob Lightsey Jan John J. North Apr. 8, William M. Nichols Jan. 12, John J. North Jan. 12, John L. Morgan Jan. 12, George W. Newbern Jan. 12, Manning Smith Jan. 12, Shimuel Timmerman Feb. 11, J ames Whitehurst Feb. 1 1 , Cornelius Joyce Feb. 11, John S. Henderson Jan. 29, Jonathan Knight Jan. 10, John L. Morgan Jan. 10, David Johnson Jan. 10, Jacob Lightsey Jan. 10, Sherod Tomlinson Jan. 10, Joel Strickland Sept. 10, William M. Austin Sept. 10, Robert G. Dickerson Sept. 10, Thomas G. Ramsey Sept. 19, H. A. Mattox Mar. 26, Quarterman B. Staten Jan. 23, R. B. Johnson Jan. 23, Charles Strickland Jan. 23, H. A. Mattox Jan. 23, John L. Morgan Jan. 23, 855 856 857 857 857 857 857 858 858 858 858 861 861 861 861 861 861 861 861 862 864 865 865 865 86c; 865 CLERKS INFERIOR COURT. (Abolished 1868.) John C. Kirkland Apr. 12, 1850 George W. Newbern Jan. 14, 1852 Archibald D. Laslie Jan. 10, 1854 David O'Quin Apr. 8, 1856 855- 856- 857- 857- 857- 857- 857- 858- 858- 858- 858- 861 861- 861 861- 861 861- 861- 861- 862- 864- 865- 865- 865- 865- 865- 857 857 858 861 858 858 861 861 861 861 861 865 862 865 864 865 865 865 868 868 868 868 868 1850-1852 1852-1854 1854-1856 1856-1868 i82 History of Clinch County, Georgia JUDGES COUNTY COURT. This court was created In 1866, and the first judge served until 1868, when he removed. It seems that there was no judge appointed in his stead until 1882. The court was abolished to take effect 1886. It was again established in 1 90 1, and has been in existence ever since. The judge of the court is ex-officio clerk of the court under the present law. Name Commissioned Term of Office Ziba King (removed) May 10, 1866 1866-1868 Cornelius A. Smith Apr. 11,1882 1882-1884 B. A. Whittington Dec. 16, 1884 1884-1886 S. C. Townsend (resigned) Nov. 2, 1901 1901-1904 George H. Cornelius July 14, 1904 1904-1905 Robert M. Crum Oct. 19, 1905 1905-1909 B. W. Cornelius Nov. i, 1909 1909-1913 S. L. Drawdy Oct. 28, 1913 1913-1917 SOLICITORS COUNTY COURT. Lyman A. Sirmans May 10, 1866 1866-1868 Robert G. Dickerson Nov. 4, 1901 1 901- 1907 H. J. Dame Oct. 28, 1907 1907-1909 Sherod Burkhalter Oct. 30, 1909 1909-1913 W. T. Dickerson July 18, 1913 1913-1917 COUNTY COMMISSIONERS. The Board of Commissioners of Roads and Revenues in and for Clinch County was created by Legislative Act in 1889, and repealed or abolished in 1894. Again in 19 15, the board was created. The following is a list of those who have served as commissioners. 1 889-1 89 1 — W. H. Gary, Chairman; Martin S. Corbitt, F. B. Sirmans, Isham Patterson, and John Knight; W. A. Ecord, clerk. 1 891-1893 — W. H. Gary, Chairman; F. B. Sirmans, W. B. N. Crews, Martin S. Corbitt and Isham Patterson; W. A. Ecord, clerk. History of Clinch County, Georgia 183 1 893-1 895 — J. R. Dickerson, Chairman; F. M. Hughes, B. E. Mattox, F. M. Jackson and Isham Patterson; S. W. Register, clerk. 191 5-19 1 7 — J. F. Barnhill, Chairman; Alex. K. Ses- soms, William H. Mobley, William B. North and Perry M, Lee; Folks Huxford, clerk. For the term 19 17- 1 921, John M. Smith has been elected in the stead of Alex. K. Sessoms, and the other members elected for a full term. REPRESENTATIVES FROM CLINCH COUNTY. James W. Staten James W. Staten Manning Smith William S. Tomlinson John Williams William S. Tomlinson William S. Tomlinson Jesse Smith Guilford Lastinger H. A. Mattox Joseph Sirmans J. R. G. Hamilton Lewis Strickland Lewis Strickland J. L. Sweat J. L. Sweat R. B. Johnson John C. Humphreys James P. Mattox (died) R. B. Johnson Lucius C. Mattox R. B. Johnson James M. Smith Robert G. Dickerson D. C. Fender I85I- [852 1853- [854 1855- [856 1857- [858 1859-^ 860 I86I-] [862 1863- [864 1865- [866 1868- [870 I87I- [872 1873-1 [874 1875-1 [876 1877 1878- [879 1880- [881 I882-] [883 I884-] [885 1886- [887 1888 1888- [889 I890-] [891 I892-] f893 I894-] [89<; I896-] 897 I898-] 899 1 84 History of Clinch County , Georgia S. L. Drawdy 1 900-1 901 R. B. Johnson (died) 1902-1903 Augustus DuPont 1904 John F. Daugharty 1905- 1906 S. C. Townsend 1907-1908 S. L. Drawdy 1909-19 10 B. A. Harper 1911-1912 A. H. Culpepper 1913-1914 R. G. Dickerson 1915-1916 A. H. Culpepper 1917-1918 SENATORS FROM CLINCH COUNTY AND THE FIFTH SENATORIAL DISTRICT. Note: From 1845 ^^ 1852 senators were elected from dis- tricts, but in 1852 this was changed back to the old way and each county elected a senator. This remained so until i860. Then Clinch County was embraced in the fifth senatorial district. Levi J. Knight 1851- Benjamin Sirmans 1853- William M. Nichols 1855-1 James W. Staten 1857-] David J. Sirmans 1859-] Thomas Hilliard 1861-] — . — . 1863-: P. B. Bedford 1865- Newsom Corbitt 1868- T. A. Corbitt 1869- Mr. Kirkland 1871- George W. Newbern 1875- Willlam B. Folks 1878- Cornelius A. Smith 1880- William A. McDonald 1882- J. M. Wilcox 1884- F. B. Sirmans 1886- F. C. Folks 1888- 852 854 856 858 860 862 864 866 869 870 874 877 879 881 883 885 887 889 History of Clinch County, Georgia 185 J. W. Boyd 1890-1891 F. B. Sirmans 1892-1893 Leon A. Wilson 1894-1895 Jeff Wilcox 1896-1897 Robert G. Dickerson 1898-1899 Lemuel Johnson 1 900- 1 90 1 F. L. Sweat 1902-1904 F. B. Sirmans 1905-1906 George W. Deen 1907-1908 Calvin A. Ward 1909-1910 W. T. Dickerson 1911-1912 J. L. Sweat 1913-1914 Calvin A. Ward 1915-1916 R. G. Dickerson 1917-1918 BOARD OF TAX ASSESSORS. This body was created by Legislative Act in 19 13. The following gentlemen were appointed by the county authori- ties to this position : January i, 19 14 — Geo. M. Dame, Chairman, for six years; Columbus C. Lee, for four years; William T. Howell, for two years. January ist, 1916 — S. R. Kirton, for six years, succeed- ing W. T. Howell. 1914-1916 — Secretary of the Board: A. J. Gibbs. JUSTICES OF THE PEACE, CLINCH COUNTY, 185O-I916. 586th or Mud Creek District. Name Commissioned Term of Office Hudson Tillery Feb. 10, 1829 1829-1833 James O. White Feb. 10, 1829 1829-1830 William Smith Nov. 9, 1830 1830-1833 Stephen Williams Apr. 11. 1833 1833-1837 William Smith Apr. 11, 1833 1833-1837 James O. White Oct. 4,1837 1837-1841 David Garrison Oct. 4, 1837 1837-1841 i86 History of Clinch County, Georgia Name Commiss Joseph Ricketson Jan. 14, 1841 1841-1845 Jo.hn P. Wall Jan. 14, 1841 1841-1845 William Lastinger Jan. 24, 1845 1845-1846 Jesse Smith Jan. 24, 1845 1845-1847 Reubin Leggett Apr. 13, 1846 1846-1850 Hiram Sears Jan. 29, 1847 1847-1852 John Williams June 25, 1850 1850-1853 Jackson S. Williams Aug. 20, 1852 1852-1853 Newsom Corbitt Feb. 15, 1853 1853-1857 William G. Aikens Feb. 15, 1853 1853-1857 A. J. Lastinger Jan. 15, 1857 1857-1858 Isaac Burkhalter Jan. 15, 1857 1857-1861 Guilford Lastinger Jan. 22, 1858 1858-1861 Newsom Corbitt Jan. 28, 1861 1861-1865 Berrien Pafford Jan. 28, 1861 1861-1864 David H. Johnson Mar. 28, i 864 1864-1865 Newsom Corbitt Mar. 22, 1865 1865-1869 David H. Johnson Mar. 22, 1865 1865-1869 David H. Johnson May i, 1869 1869-1872 A. J. Whitehurst Feb. 5, 1872 1872-1873 Francis M. Jackson Jan. 20, 1873 1873-1874 William J. Lee Aprl. 27, 1874 1874-1877 Harris Sirmans Feb. 8, 1877 1877-1885 C. C. Bridges Jan. 22, 1885 1885-1889 C. F. Brack Jan. 26, 1889 1889-1893 Randall Brogdon Jan. 26, 1893 1893-1901 Joseph Powell Dec. 8, 1900 1901-1917 970th or Magnolia District. David Register Nov. 18, 1839 1839-1841 Cornelius Joyce Nov. 18, 1839 1839-1841 David Register Jan. 14, 1841 1841-1845 Benjamin Cornelius Jan. 14, 1841 i84i-i84<; Josiah Stewart Jan. 24, 1845 1845-1846 D. J. Blackburn Jan. 24, 1845 1845-1847 History of Clinch County, Georgia 187 Name Commiss Benjamin Cornelius Aug. 26, John C. Kirkland Feb. 26, Elliott Chancey Sept. 21, Jesse Smith Sept. 21, Rowan B. Johnson June 7, Aaron D. Dyals June 7, Henry E. Peacock May 11, Elias Williams May 11, Ezekiel J. Sirmans Mar. 7, Jesse Smith Mar. 7, Levi W. Carter : Feb. 27, Abraham Strickland Sept. 27, Jesse Smith Jan. 24, Elliott Chancey Mar. 7, Jesse Smith Mar. 7, Joseph J. Cohen Nov. 27, Jesse Smith Feb. 26, William J. Brack Feb. 26, Thomas H. Womack Aug. 24, Ziba King Aug. 24, Allen Smith May 19, John L. Courson Mar. 20, Eli W. O'Quin Jan. 20, Eli T- Futch Mar. 23, M. H. HiUiard Jan. 18, W. B. Griffis Dec. 7, 719th District. (Formerly in Clinch County, but now in Echols.) .Absalom E. Thomas Oct. 20, 1830 1830-1832 Joseph Rodgers Oct. 20, 1830 1830-1832 William B. North Sept. 12, 1832 1832-1833 William McLelland Sept. 12, 1832 1832-1833 William B. North Feb. 12, 1833 1833-1835 John J. North Feb. 12, 1833 1833-1836 >ioned T erm of Office 1846 [846- [850 1847 [847- [850 1850 [850- L851 1850 [850- [851 1851 [851- L852 1851 L851- 1852 1852 [852- 1853 1852 [852- ^853 1853 t8S3- [854 1853 t853- [854 1854 [854- [855 1854 [854- [857 1855 [855- [857 1857 E857- [857 1857 . [757- [859 1857 [857- [859 1859 [859- [860 1859 [859- [860 i860 ] 860- [864 i860 [860- [866 1864 [864- [867 1866 1 866-1 873 1873 f873- [885 1889 ] [889- [897 1897 1 [897- [905 1904 [904- [917 History of Clinch County, Georgia Name Commissioned Term of Office Amos Emanuel Dec. 3, Seaborn Lastinger Dec. 3, James Oglesby June 14, Stephen Tucker June 14, C. B. Mims Mar. 18, Jackson A. Lloyd Jan. 27, John Burnett Jan. 25, John J. North Jan. 25, James C. Green Jan. 20, Joseph L. Crews Jan. 20, Isham F. Johnson Mar. 10, Joseph L. Crews Mar. 10, James North Jan. 15, Isham F. Johnson Jan. 31, John Burnett Oct. 15, James North Oct. 15, James North Mar. i, Isham F. Johnson Mar. i, 105 2d or Stockton District Jesse W. Carter Aug. 8, 1850 Guilford Lastinger Aug. 8, 1850 Sherod Tomlinson May 11, 1852 Shimuel Timmerman May 1 1, 1852 Richard H. Burkhalter Jan. 10, 1853 Jesse W. Carter Aug. 9, 1855 Cornelius B. Lightsey Aug. 8, 1855 Thomas W. Griffin Jan. 15, 1857 Cornelius B. Lightsey Jan. 15, 1857 William W. Smith May 17, 1861 W. W. Peyton May 17, 1861 William W. Smith Jan. 28, 1865 Barzilla Staten Jan. 28, 1865 David D. Mahon Jan. 24, 1867 David D. Mahon Sept. 22, 1869 1835 [835-1 1835 1 835-1 1837 [837-1 1837 ] 837-1 1839 [839-1 1840 [840-1 1843 [843-1 1843 [843-1 1846 [846-1 1846 [846-1 1848 [848-1 1848 [848-1 1850 [850-1 1849 [849-1 1850 [850-1 1850 [850-1 1852 [852-1 1852 [852-1 1850- 1850- 1852- 1852- 1853- 1855- 1855- 1857- 1857- I86I- I86I- 1865- 1865- 1867- 1869- 837 837 839 840 843 843 846 846 848 848 849 850 850 850 852 852 856 856 8£;2 852 853 853 855 857 857 861 861 865 865 867 869 869 872 History of Clinch County, Georgia 189 Name Commissioned G. G. Foreman Feb. 15, G. G. Foreman Jan. 20, J. R. G. Hamilton Feb. 9, W. S. Phillips Jan. 18, Moses Tomlinson Jan. 23, James R. Allen (died) Jan. 22, Isaac W. Allen Dec. 19, 1 06 1 St or Moore's Mill Dis Archibald Hodges June 7, George W. Newbern June 7, Robert F. White Feb. 5, Jesse Dean Mar. 20, Robert F. White Jan. 10, George Cornelius Jan. 10, William Johnson Nov. 26, John C. Kirkland Mar, 16, Charles A. Griffis Mar. 2I John C. Kirlcland Jan. 15, Charles A. Griffis Jan. 15, John C. Kirkland Jan. 16, Charles A. Griffis Jan. 16, John C. Kirkland Jan. 22, Charles A. Griffis Mar. 22, William T. Bennett May William Griffis Mar. 15, K. C. Cowart Feb. 9, James R. Dickerson Mar. Jacob Minshew Jan. 22, George W. Delk Jan. 18, Irwin Corbitt _- Jan. 26, W. J. Corbitt (resigned) Jan. F. M. Cowart Feb. 10, F. M. Cowart (resigned) Dec. 21, A. J. Lockliear Mar. 19, 872 873 877 879 883 885 908 rict. Term of Office 1872-1873 1873-1877 1877-1879 1879-1883 1883-1885 1885-I909 1909-1917 1852 1852 1853 1853 1853 1854 1856 1857 1857 1861 1861 1865 1865 1869 1869 1875 1877 1879 1885 1889 1893 1897 19IO I913 1914 1917 ,1851 ] [85I-I ,1851 ] [85I-I ,1852 ] [852-1 , 1852 ] [852-1 ,1853 ^ 853-1 .1853 1 [853-1 'I853 ] [853-1 ,1854 ] [854-1 , 1856 [856-1 ,1857 1 [857-1 ,1857 [857-1 , I86I ] [86I-I , I86I [86I-I , 1865 [865-1 , 1865 [865-1 , 1869 [869-1 ,1875 ] [875-1 > 1877 [877-1 , 1879 [879-1 , 1885 [885-1 , 1889 [889-1 ' 1893 [893-1 , 1897 [897-1 >, I9I2 [9I2-I , I9I2 [9I3-I , I9I6 191 6-1 190 History of Clinch County, Georgia 1 141st or Wiregrass District. Name Commissioned Term of Office James North Aug. 11,1856 1856-1858 Richard A. Bennett Aug. 11, 1856 1856-1857 Richard A. Bennett Jan. 15, 1857 1857-1858 Tarlton McMillan Mar. i, 1858 1858-1861 George Conley (or Cauley) Mar. i, 1858 1858-1861 James L. Bennett Jan. 28, 1861 1861-1861 James Waters Jan. 28, 1861 1861-1861 James North Aug. 20, 1861 1861-1865 John R. Harris Aug. 20, 186 1 1861-1864 Martin Z. Morgan May 4, 1864 1864-1869 D. M. Riberon May i, 1869 1869-1873 Ivy Davis Jan. 22, 1873 1873-1877 George W. Thornton Feb. 9, 1877 1877-1885 T. F. M. Sweat Jan. 22, 1885 1885-1889 D. M. Riberon Jan. 26, 1893 1893-1897 Joel G. Griffis Jan. 24, 1899 1899-1903 W. A. Taylor Dec. 18, 1908 1909-1917 1219th or Fargo District. Richard A. Bennett Oct. 13, i860 1860-1861 Gideon Yelvington Jan. 16, 1861 1861-1862 Richard A. Bennett Jan. 16, 1861 1861-1866 John Daugharty Nov. 3, 1862 1862-1866 George W. Waldron Mar. 20, 1866 1866-1869 William C. Bennett Mar. 20, 1866 1866-1869 Guilford C. Register Dec. 8, 1900 1901-1905 W. T. Drew (resigned) Jan. 7, 1909 1909-1909 A. L. Sirmans Sept. 14, 1909 1909-1917 1224th or Homerville District. Lucius C. Mattox Mar. 20, 1865 1865-1867 Moses Smith Mar. 20, 1865 1865-1867 Allen Smith Jan. 24, 1867 1867-1869 J. L. Sweat Jan. 24, 1867 1867-1869 History of Clinch County, Georgia Name Commissioned John L. Morgan, Jr., (res.) May i, 1869 Erie Edwards Aug. 10, 1869 John H. Mattox Jan. 21, 1873 Samuel Narger Feb. 9, 1877 A. B. Findley Mar. 25, 1880 Charlton H. Smith Jan. 24, 1881 John H. Mattox (died) Jan. 22, 1885 R. M. Crum (resigned) Jan. 9, 1897 Charlton H. Smith Dec. 19, 1908 1280th or DuPont District. John T. Courson Sept. 12, 1876 Thomas G. Jenkins Mar. 22, 1877 John A. Mikell Jan. 24, 1881 John T. Courson (res.) Jan. 18, 1889 D. H. Johnson Feb. 14, 1891 Joseph Jones Jan. 8, 1897 L. L. DuPont Dec. 8, 1900 C. C. Lee (resigned) Dec. 7, 1904 E. B. Register (resigned) Nov. 11, 1905 C. M. McLamb (resigned) Nov. 14, 1906 B. F. Hughes Jan. 15, 1915 1389 or Argyle District. James R. Dickerson Jan. 22, 1885 Peter Williams (resigned) Aug. 20, 1885 James R. Dickerson Apr. 8, 1887 J. R. Dickerson (resigned) Jan. 18, 1889 W. J. Strickland Apr. i, 1891 W. J. Strickland Jan. 26, 1893 T. P. Jordan Jan. 12, 1895 B. A. Harper (resigned) Jan. 12, 1899 E, L. Tootle Mar. 25, 1916 1365th or Withers District. S. W. Register Jan. 22, 1885 S. W. Register (resigned) Mar. 23, 1889 191 Term of Office 1869- 1869 1869- 1873 1873- 1877 1877- 1880 1880- I88I I88I- 1885 1885- 1896 1897- 1905 1909- I9I7 1876- 1877 1877- I88I I88I- 1889 1889- I89I I89I- 1897 1897- 1 901 I90I- 1905 1905- 1905 1905- 1906 1906- I9I5 I9I5- I9I7 1885- 1885 1885- 1887 1887- 1889 1889- I89I I89I- 1893 1893- 1895 1895- 1899 1899- I9IO I9I6- I9I7 1885- 1889 1889- I89I 192 History of ClincJi County, Georgia NOTARIES PUBLIC AND EX-OFFICIO JUSTICES OF THE PEACE CLINCH COUNTY. 586th District. Name Commissioned C. W. Corbitt Jan. 18, 1869 Noah H. Griffin Aug. 19, 1870 Lewis Holtzendorf Aug. i, 1872 Lewis Strickland (resigned) July 22, 1872 James E. Sharpe Jan. 15, 1876 A. J. Whitehurst Jan. 24, 1877 F. B. Sirmans Oct. 15, 1880 D. J. Smith Jan. 31, 1885 Thomas Conine Mar. 16, 1889 Harris Sirmans (did not Q.)__Mar. 27, 1893 D. J. Smith Apr. 20, 1894 F. M. Anderson Nov. 2, 1896 J. J. Grooms Oct. 26, 1900 F. M. Anderson Apr. 22, 1902 970th District. Cornelius A. Smith Mar. 4, 1869 Bryant W. Douglas Feb. 16, 1872 Wm. C. Joyce (resigned) Feb. 13, 1875 David O'Quin (died) Jan. 15, 1876 E. W. O'Quin Jan.31,1885 H. A. O'Quin Apr. 18, 1898 P. M. Lee Apr. 14, 1900 B. S. Register x^pr. 22, 1902 William Barlow June 7, 1906 H. T. Hughes May 20, 1911 Moses Melton Apr. 4, 1913 105 2d District. Thomas D. Hawkins Aug. i, 1872 John C. Humphreys (res.) Mar. 19, 1880 James A. Ellis Apr. 3, 1884 Perm of Office 1869-] [870 1870- [872 1872- [876 1872- 1872 1876- 1877 1877- 1880 1880- i88i; 1885- 1889 1889- 1893 1893 1894- 1896 1896- 1900 1900- 1902 1902- 1918 1869- 1872 1872- 1875 1875- 1876 1876- 1884 1885- 1898 1898- 1900 1900- 1902 1902- 1906 1906- 1911 I9II- 1912 I913- 1917 1872- 1880 1880- 1884 1884- 1889 History of Clinch County, Georgia 193 Name Commissioned R. S. Holtzendorf Mar. 16, 1889 J. J. Taylor Oct. 17, 1892 E. R. Rhoden Nov. 2, 1896 R. L. Rives Apr. 18, 1898 J. D. Sellars Nov. 18, 1898 J. Floyd Fender Oct. 27, 1902 E. J. Futch June 7, 1906 J. D. Sellars (removed) Aug. 9, 1910 J. Floyd Fender Nov. 7, 19 13 R. J. Bennett Apr. 15, 1916 1 06 1 St District. James R. Dickerson Aug. i, 1872 Ephriam McLendon Jan. 26, 1875 Elisha Moore Apr. 8, 1887 Tharp Roberts Apr. 22, 1896 J. Walter James Apr. 22, 1900 Tharp Roberts lApr. 22, 1902 J. Walter James June 7, 1906 Irwin Corbitt Mar. 30, 1915 1 141st District. Thomas F. Morgan Mar. 4, John N. Brady Aug. 19, Isham Patterson Aug. i, Emory Manor Jan. 24, T. F. M. Sweat Oct. 15, D. M. Riberon (did not Q.) Jan. 31, Joel G. Griffis Mar. 13, t. F. M. Sweat Mar. 25, Ivy Davis Apr. 17, A. B. Griffis Apr. 17, William B. North Apr. 29, A. B. Griffis May, 12, 869 870 872 877 880 885 886 889 891 895 905 911 Term of Office 1889-1892 1892-1896 1896-1898 1898-1898 1898-1902 1902-I906 1906-I9IO I91O-1913 1913-I916 I916-I920 1872-1875 1875-1887 1887-1896 1896-I9OO 190O-I902 1902-I906 1906-I915 I915-I919 1869- 1870- 1872- 1877- i88o- 1885 1886- 1889- 1891- 1895- 1905- 191 1- 1870 1872 1877 1880 1885 1889 1891 1895 1905 1910 1919 T94 History of Clinch Comity, Georgia 1219th District. Name Commissioned A. N. Hagins Mar. 4, 1869 James L. Crews Aug. i, 1872 John A. Johnson Apr. 22, 1878 S. A. Swearingen July 10, 1885 J. L, Swearingen Apr. 8, 1887 Peter A. Young (died) Mar. 17, 1891 W. N. Gibson Apr. 18, 1899 Peter A. Young, Jr Oct. 28, 1903 1224th District. Robert G. Dickerson Jan. 16, 1869 John C. Kirkland (died) Sept. 10, 1872 Charlton H. Smith (resigned) _Dec. 5, 1905 B. E. Mattox (did not serve) __Dec. 3, 1910 C. M. Kimrey Mar. 30, 1915 1280th District. Tarlton McMillan Oct. 22, 1868 David J. Sirmans Aug. 28, 1876 Z, T. Darby (resigned) Oct. i, 1880 John A. Whittington Mar. 14, 1882, Willis B. Gibbs (died) July 2, 1885 Thomas D. Colly (resigned) __ Apr. 9, 1892 W. F. Miley Apr. 20, 1894 W. J. Tomlinson Apr. 18, 1898 D. H. Johnson (died) Apr. 22, 1902 J. H. P. Johnson (resigned) Apr. 18, 1903 Lyman A. Sirmans Apr. 29, 1905 J. A. Mobley Nov. 25, 1907 1365th District. J. J. Taylor May, 15, 1885 Martin A. Taylor (removed) __ Oct. 13, 1893 A. O. Register (removed) Oct. 26, 1900 Term of Office 1869- 1872 1872- 1878 1878- 1885 1885- 1887 1887- 1891 1891- 1899 1899- 1903 1903- I919 1869- 1872 1872- 1904 1905- 1909 I9IO 1915- I919 1868- 1876 1876- 1880 1880- 1882 1882- 1885 1885- 1892 1892- 1894 1894- 1898 1898- 1902 1902- 1903 1903- 1905 1905- 1907 1907- I918 1885- 1893 1893- 1900 1900- 1902 History of Clinch County, Georgia 195 Name Commissioned Term of Office J R. Allen, Jr. (resigned) Apr. 22, 1902 1902-1905 John H. McLain (resigned) Apr. 29, 1905 1905-1908 E. C. Dedge Nov. 11,1908 1908-1910 J. R. Allen, Jr Aug. 9, 19 10 19 10-19 18 1389th District. James M. Kight July 2, 1885 1885-1898 J. B. Kirkland (resigned) July 22, 1898 1898-1902 J. R. Dickerson Apr. 22, 1902 1902-1915 W.J.Patterson (did not Q.) __Mar. 30, 1915 191 5- 191 5 W. H. James Nov. i, 1915 1915-1919 JUSTICES OF THE PEACE OF WARE, LOWNDES AND APPLING COUNTIES PRIOR TO 185O. The following information is given relative to justices of Ware County and of Appling and Lowndes Counties, as it gives the names of persons who became identified with Clinch County when it was created. 451st District — Commissioned D. J. Blackburn Mar. 8, 1830 D. J. Blackblurn Feb. 12, 1833 Thomas Newbern Apr. 3, 1833 Wm. G. Henderson July 2,1834 John Inman, Sr Jan. 20, 1837 Wm. S. Bennett Jan. 20, 1837 Samuel G. Norman June 25, 1838 Samuel G. Norman Jan. 14, 1841 Samuel G. Norman Apr. 13,1846 Thos. I. Henderson Nov. 28, 1851 584th District — Jacob Lightsey Mar. 9, 1840 Elias F. Stewart June 11, 1845 R. G. Dickerson June 11, 1845 196 History of Clinch County, Georgia LOWNDES COUNTY. 664th District — Levi J. Knight Jan. 20, 1829 Abner Sirmans Jan. 20, 1829 John Mathis, Jr Jan. 23, 1833 Levi J. Knight Oct. 15, 1838 Josiah Sirmans Oct. 15, 1838 Levi J. Knight Jan. 24, 1845 William Patten Jan. 24, 1845 658th District — David Mathis Jan. 20, 1829 William Lastinger Nov. 20, 1838 Wm. C. Newbern Jan. 24, 1845 66 1 st District — Benj. Cornelius Jan. 23, 1833 Edmund Mathis Nov. 20, 1838 Jesse W. Carter Nov. 3, 1841 Jesse W. Carter Dec. 14, 1846 APPLING COUNTY. 583d District — John Bennett Mar, 17, 1837 John Bennett Apr. 6, 1842 Elihu Morgan Mar. 12, 1838 John L. Morgan Jan. 24, 1845 George Eason Jan. 20, 1833 Elihu Morgan Jan. 20, 1833 443 d District — Silas O'Quin Jan. 14, 1841 CONSTABLES. This list, as stated before, does not reach further back than 1868. Each district is entitled to two constables, one for the History of Clinch County, Georgia 197 justice of the peace and one for notary public. They are elected by the people, every two years, but In the absence of any election, the justices of the peace may appoint one for the unexpired term. Many of these named below were ap- pointed. The dates given Indicate when they qualified. This list is not complete on account of records. 1224th District — Erie Edwards Jan. 4 Ervin Johnson Jan. 23 Pearson H. Robinson (rem. from office) _Apr. 5 C. W. Boatrlght Dec. 31 John J. Smith Jan. 2 Abraham E. Smith Feb. i Archibald Bass Mar. 30 J. C. Kirkland June 8 Ervin Johnson Jan. 14 George L. Newbern Sept. i J. R. Dickerson Jan. 11 Sherod Edwards May 18 J. F. Smith Feb. 26 John F. Smith Jan. 22 John A. Whittington Feb. 19 Bankston E. Mattox Feb. 23 Eason Smith May 10 Henry Jurnigan March 5 A. B. FIndley Nov. 26 B. A. Whittington Jan. 6 Eason Smith Jan. 19 L. J, Sirmans June 22 L. W. Mattox July 26 Moses Thornton Nov. 7 Thomas Singleterry Mar, 25 Thomas Singleterry Jan. 8 L. W. Mattox May 5 John Singleterry Jan. 26 869 869 869 870 871 872 872 872 873 873 875 875 876 877 877 877 877 878 878 879 880 881 881 881 882 883 884 885 198 History of Clinch County, Georgia J. S. Mattox Jan. 4, 1886 L. W. Mattox Dec. 7, 1886 K.C.Smith Jan. 6, 1887 C. H. Smith Jan. 6, 1887 C. H. Smith Jan. 24, 1889 Samuel R. Smith Jan. 3, 1891 John H. Mattox, Jr. Jan. 5, 1891 S. D. Findley ^ Jan. 9, 1893 W. S. Mattox Jan. 9, 1893 J. G. Kirkland Jan. 22, 1894 D. E. Kirkland Jan. 4, 1895 S, A. Sweat Jan. 11, 1897 E. W. O'Quin Jan. 15, 1897 A. B. DuBose July 23, 1900 J. D. Mattox Dec. 26, 1900 K. C. Smith Jan. 7, 1901 J. D. Mattox Jan. 3, 1905 C. C. Smith Jan. 10, 1908 C. W. Byrd Dec. 18, 1912 Folks Huxford Jan. 25, 1915 T. T. Peagler Oct. 9,191^ 586th District — Charlton H. Smith Aug. 6, 1S69 Cornelius Dawson Jan. 4, 1893 D. J. Smith Aug. 17, 1874 Sherod Burkhalter Feb. 21, 1881 D. J. Smith Nov. 30, 1881 A. W. Bridges Jan. 20, 1885 M. L. Corbitt May 28, 1888 F. M. Anderson Jan. 23, 1889 D. J. Smith May3i,i890 C. S. Vining Aug. 16, 1897 A. W. Downing Feb. __, 1900 C. S. Vining Sept. 2, 1907 A. W. Downing Oct. 29, 191 2 History of Clinch County, Georgia 199 D. R. Fender Jan. 28, 1913 A. W. -Downing Aug. 14, 1913 J. R. Browning _Feb. 17, 1914 D. B. Browning Apr. i, 1916 970th District — E. W. O'Quin Sept. 6, 1869 S. D. Findley Jan. 6, 1873 M. C. Futch Feb. 19, 1876 E. W. O'Quin Dec. 23, 1882 Moses A. Thornton June 24, 1882 B. R. Futch Jan. 4, 1886 M. H. Billiard June 17, 1889 P. A. Register Oct. 30, 1889 James B. Dedge Sept. 27, 1890 Harris Tomlinson Jan. 5, 1892 G. W. Thompson Feb. 27, 1893 M. H. Hllllard Feb. 6, 1893 Harris Tomlinson Feb. 9, 1897 B. T. Register Mar. 11, 1899 P. W. Griffis Feb. 10, 1900 I. W. Baldree July 22, 1.903 G. B. Barlow June i, 1905 S. B. Griffis Mar. 20, 1911 1 05 2d District — D. C. Lancaster June 20, 1870 John L. Courson Jan. 4, 1873 S. M. Bennett Jan. 15 ,1873 John L. Courson 1873 Julian L. Clark Oct. 20, 1874 J. T. Whilden June 2, 1875 James A. Mathis Feb. i, 1879 C. S. Touchston Sept. 29, 1883 A. H. TImmerman Jan. 16, 1893 Paul Pigue Feb. 13, 1893 200 History of Clinch County, Georgia E. S. Knight Feb. 20, 1895 W. M. Zeigler Jan. 11, 1897 A. J. Jackson Mar. 22, 1897 Lewis Dampier Mar. __, 1899 Lewis Dampier Mar. 19, 1901 A. W. Downing Feb. 12, 1903 H. B. Phillips 1903 L W. Baldree Jan. 4, 1909 L W- Baldree Oct. 13, 1913 N. B. Altman June 6, 19 14 J. B. Amerson Feb. 6, 191 ?; 1 06 1 St District — Peter Jeffords March 4, George W. Delk June 5, J. M. Jeffords Jan. __, Ashford Yeornans Apr. 28, Emanuel Smith Mar. 8, Jesse Hall Jan. 5, J. S. Delk Oct. II, J. S. Delk Jan. II, Jesse Hall Oct. 3, Manning Cowart Nov. 4, K. C. Starling Aug. 16, F. M. Dawsom Apr. 16, Waver Roberts May 24, Waver Roberts Mar. 8, K. J. Giddens Feb. 14, Frank Higgs 869 869 873 877 881 889 891 893 895 89^ 897 902 899 901 909 915 1 141st District — John H. Miller June 26, 1869 S. J. C. Blount Feb. 15, 1871 J. V. Chancey Feb. 25, 1886 *M. C. Futch Oct. 23, 1895 C. H. Hilliard June 30, 1906 History of Clinch County, Georgia 201 J. M. Futch W. W. Willoughby 1219th District — Robert F. Young Dec. 16 Isaac Baldree Dec. 16 Isaac R. Baldree Jan. 16 Isaac W. Baldree Apr. 12 John M. Young Jan. 18 William Baldree Oct. 19 G. C. Register Jan. 2 R. M. Harrington J. I. Evans 1280th District — Willis B. Gibbs Feb. 8, John A. Whittington Ezekiel Mathis Sept. 22, James L. Holloway S. M. Bennett June 24, J. H. W. Livingston June 7, Joseph P. Smith Jan. 20, J. H. W. Livingston Jan. 7, Joseph Jones Feb. 26, W. R. Brack Feb. 2, Alonzo Joyce May 2 5 , W. D. Blitch Jan. 20, W. R. Brack Aug. 5, James T. Johnson Jan. 8. Melvin Harris Jan. 7, C. H. North _Jan. II. C. H. North Apr. 21, D. D. Fiveash Dec. 31, W H. Dame Dec. 31, C. H. North Sept. 28, C. H. North Dec. 10, William E. Smith Mar. 13, 905 910 892 892 893 894 896 896 900 914 915 877 879 879 880 881 882 883 886 887 891 892 893 893 89^ 895 897 899 900 900 901 908 913 202 History of Clinch County, Georgia 1365th District — J. S. Bennett June 3. 1885 W. R. Keen Mar. 6, 1885 S. M. Bennett Jan. 30, 1895 J. J. Bennett 1916 1389th District — HTram Danforth Jan. 23, W. R. Harben June 7, R. H. Dickerson June 7, John B. Kirkland May 13, R. H. Dickerson June 7, John B. Kirkland Sept. i, John J. Dickerson Feb. 2, B, A. Harper June 3, J. J. Dickerson Feb. 2, J. J. Dickerson Jan, 19, James W. James Dec. 24, Seward S. Griffis Dec. 24, Martin Corbitt Mar. 15, 885 888 888 887 889 892 893 893 895 899 908 908 916 CHAPTER XIII. A List of Ware and Lowndes County Officers Until the Cre- ation of Clinch County. — A list of Appling County Of- ficers, 1820-1826. — Jury Commissioners, 1869-1916. — County Registrars, 1895-19 16. — Notaries Public. — Road Commissioners, 1869-19 13. — Foremen of Grand Juries, 1 867-1 9 1 6. — Sundry Other Officers. Sheriffs of Ware County, 1 826-1 850 — Commissioned William G. Henderson Feb. 11, 1826 William B. Hooker Feb. 11, 1828 Allen O'Steen Apr. 5, 1830 John Newbern Jan. 23, 1832 Thomas I. Henderson March i, 1834 Miles J. Guest Jan. 28, 1836 Richard Bourn Jan. 26, 1838 David J. Miller Jan. 20, 1840 Richard Bourn Jan. 20, 1842 Miles J. Guest Jan. 16, 1844 William Tomblin (resigned) Jan. 26, 1846 Daniel Lott Feb. 8, 1847 Burrell Sweat Jan. 22, 1848 Clerks of Superior Court, Ware County, 1 826-1 850 — Joseph Bryan Feb. 11, 1826 Thomas Hilliard Feb. 11, 1828 Thomas Hilliard x\pril 5, 1830 David J. Miller Jan. 23, 1832 Elijah Mattox Mar. i, 1834 John S. Henderson Jan. 28, 1836 David J. Miller Jan. 26, 1838 Geo. B. Williamson Jan. 20, 1840 Thomas Hilliard Jan. 20, 1842 Thomas Hilliard Jan. 16, 1844 204 History of Clinch County, Georgia William A. McDonald Jan. 26, Geo. B. Williamson Jan. 29, Geo. B. Williamson Jan. 22, Surveyors of Ware County, 1 826-1 850 — Zachariah Davis Feb. 11,1826 Thomas Newbern Feb. 11, 1828 John O'Steen Apr. 5, 1830 William Thomas Jan. 23, 1832 William VanZant Mar. i, 1834 D. J. Blackburn Jan. 28, 1836 D. J. Blackburn Jan. 26, 1838 Elijah Mattox Jan. 16, 1844 Nathan Brewton Jan. 26, 1846 Elijah Mattox Jan. 22, 1848 Coroners of Ware County, 1 826-1 850 — Joshua Sharp Feb. 11, 1826 Elisha Green Feb. 11,1828 Wilkins Fulwood Apr. 5, 1830 John Beasley Jan. 23, 1832 Wilkins Fulwood Mar. i, 1834 Wilkins Fulwood Jan. 28, 1836 Wilkins Fulwood Jan. 26, 1838 Nathan Sweat Jan. 20, 1842 John Jourdan Jan. 16, 1844 Wilkins Fulwood Jan. 26, 1846 Justices of Inferior Court, Ware County — Note. — Only a few are given that are of particular in- terest to Clinch County. First Justices : William Smith Mar. 2, 1825 Soloman Hall Mar. 2, 1825 John L. Stewart, Jr Mar. 2, 1825 Philemon Bryan Mar. 2, 1825 Absalom Thomas Mar. 2, 1825 846 847 848 History of Clinch County, Georgia 205 Others : Thomas Newbern Apr. 28, 1830 James Fulwood Feb. 12, 1833 Thomas HilHard Feb. 12, 1833 John S. Henderson Mar, 10, 1835 Thomas HilHard Jan. 17, 1837 OHver Waldron Jan. 17, 1837 Manning Smith Mar. 19, 1845 James Inman Oct. 29, 1846 Tyre Mathis Jan. 15, 1849 Wm. A. McDonald Jan. 15, 1849 Senators and Representatives from Ware County, 1825-1850 — Senators Session Representatives Session Philemon Bryan 1825-1826 John L. Stewart 1825-1827 Joseph Dyall 1 826-1 827 John J. H. Davis 1 827-1 830 James Fulwood 1 827-1 835 Thomas HilHard 1 830-1 840 Randal McDonald 1835-36 Josiah Stewart 1 840-1 841 James Fulwood 1 836-1 839 Thomas HilHard 1 841-1842 Elijah Mattox 1 839-1 840 Wm. A. McDonald 1842-43 James Strickland 1840-1841 John S.Henderson 1843- 1845 James Fulwood 1 841-1843 Thomas HilHard 1 845-1 847 Jacob Lightsey 1843 -1845 Wm. A. McDonald 1847-50 Note. — Each county was entitled to a State senator until 1845. After this it was changed to senatorial districts, as it is now. In 1851 it was changed back and remained as of old until 1 86 1. This will fully appear by reference to the list of senators from Clinch County and the fifth district. Sheriffs of Lowndes County, 1 826-1 850 — William Hancock May 29, 1826 Malachi Monk Jan. 29, 1828 William Hancock Jan. 20, 1830 Henry Blair Jan. 18, 1832 Edward M. Henderson April 4, 1834 2o6 History of Clinch County, Georgia Martin Shaw, Jr Jan. 25, 1836 William C. Newbern Jan. 15, 1838 James S. Burnett : May 7, 1838 James S. Burnett Jan. 20, 1840 Morgan G. Swain Jan. 20, 1842 Cyprian Brinson Jan. 16, 1844 Thomas B, Griffin Jan. 13, 1846 Richard Allen Jan. 22, 1848 Clerks Superior Court, Lowndes County, 1826-18 50 — Henry Blair May 29, 1826 William Smith Jan. 29, 1828 Until 1842 William T. Johnson Jan. 20, 1842 Duncan Smith Jan. 16, 1844 Until 1850 Surveyors of Lowndes County, 1 826-1 850 — Samuel M. Clyatt May 29, 1826 Until 1842 Jeremiah Wilson Jan. 20, 1842 Until 1850 Coroners of Lowndes County, 1 826-1 850 — Malachi Monk May 29, 1826 Until 1832 James Hightower Jan. 18, 1832 John Hill Apr. 4, 1834 Until 1839 A. Vann Jan. 28, 1839 Daniel Humphrey Jan. 20, 1842 Daniel Humphrey Jan. 16, 1844 William McCardell Jan. 13, 1846 William McCardell Jan. 22, 1848 Senators and Representatives from Lowndes County, 1826-1850 — Senators Session Senators Session William A. Knight 1 826-1 827 Levi J. Knight 1834-1835 William Blair 1827-1831 John Pike 1835-1837 Randall Folsom 1831-1832 Levi J. Knight 1837-1841 Levi J. Knight 1832-1833 Samuel M. Clyatt 1841-1845 Hamilton W. Sharpe 1833-34 *i History of Clinch County, Georgia 207 Representatives Session Representatives Session Jonathan Knight 1826-1827 Israel F. Waldhour and Jesse Carter 1 827-1 828 Benjamin Sirmans 1840-41 Benjamin Sirmans 1 828-1 830 George Carter and John Blackshear 1 830-1 833 John W. Spain 1 841-1843 Henry Blair 1 833-1 834 George Carter and John Blackshear 1834-1837 William Jones 1843-1845 Joshua Kemp 1 837-1 838 James McMullen 1 845-1 847 Archibald Graham and Cyprian Brinson 1847- 1849 Benjamin Sirmans 1838-40 George Carter 1849-1850 Sheriffs of Appling County, 1820-1826 — Wniiam Carter Oct. 6, 1820 Edmund P. Wester Jan. 16, 1822 Joseph G. Jenkins Feb. 17, 1824 Clerks Superior Court, Appling County, 1 820-1 826 — John Bailey Oct. 6, 1820 John McAuley Jan. 16, 1822 John McAuley Feb. 17, 1824 Surveyors Appling County, 1 820-1 826 — Daniel S. Whitehurst Oct. 6, 1820 John Stewart Jan. 16, 1822 John L. Stewart Feb. 17, 1824 Coroners of AppHng County, 1820-18 26 — James Mixon Oct. 6, 1820 Daniel Campbell Jan. 16, 1822 Malcolm Morrison Apr. 15. 1825 Jury Commissioners, Clinch County, 1869-19 16 — Note. — (*) removed from County; (f) resigned. Set A. Dist. Appointed Term Expired Joseph Sirmans 586 March 23, 1869 June 1,1870 David D.Mahon 1052 June 1,1870 June 1,1872 Tohn W. HTodges 1224 June 1,1872 June 1,1874 John W.Hodges 1224 April.., 1874 June 1,1876 208 History of Clinch County, Georgia Appointed Term < jxpired H. A. Mattox 1224 Mar. 4,1880 Jan. 1, 1886 M. M. Caswell* 1224 Jan. 1,1886 Jan. 1, 1892 W. H. Gary 1224 Jan. 1,1888 Jan. 1, 1892 H. A. Mattox 1224 Jan. 1,1892 Jan. 1, 1898 W. A. Ecord 1224 Jan. 1,1898 Jan. 1, 1904 William T. Howell 586 Jan. 1,1906 Jan. 1, 1910 S. R. Kirton 1389 May 4,1910 Ma}^ 4, 1916 SetB. George W. Newbern 1224 Mar. 23 1869 June 1, 1870 Thomas G. Ramsey 1224 June 1,1870 June 1, 1872 Thomas G. Ramsey 1224 June 1,1872 June 1, 1874 H. A, Mattox 1224 April __, 1874 June 1, 1876 G. G. Foreman 1052 Mar 4,1880 Jan. 1, 1886 F. R. Sirmans 586 Jan. 1,1886 Jan. 1, 1892 J. C. Humphreys* 1052 Jan. 1,1892 Jan. 1, 1898 F. B. Sirmans 586 April 12, 1894 Jan. 1, 1898 F. B. Sirmans 586 Jan. 1,1898 Jan. 1,1904 B. E. Mattox 1224 April 13, 1906 April 12, 1910 B. E. Mattox 1224 May 4,1910 May 4, 1916 SetC. James C. Smith 970 Mar. 23, 1869 June 1, 1870 George W. Waldron 1141 June 1,1870 June 1, 1892 James C. Smith 970 June 1,1872 June 1, 1874 Alfred Newbern 1224 April _-,1874 April __, 1876 M. M. Caswell 1224 April __,1876 June 1, 1880 Solomon Moblev 1219 Mar. 4,1880 Jan. 1, 1884 W. B. N. Crews 1052 Jan. 1,1887 Jan. 1, 1890 A. J. Caswell (died) 1224 Jan. 1,1890 Jan. 1, 1894 James R. Dickerson 1389 April 12, 1894 Jan. 1, 1896 James R. Dickerson 1389 Jan. 1,1896 Jan. 1, 1902 James R. Dickerson 1389 April 17, 1902 Jan. 1,1908 M. S. Eason 970 April 17, 1908 April 15, 1914 John M. Smith 586 April 17, 1914 April 15, 1918 SetD. Jonathan L. Morgan 1141 Mar. 4,1880 Jan. 1, 1884 Charles H. North 1280 Mar. __, 1887 Jan. 1, 1890 W. S. Fender* 1052 Jan. 1,1890 Jan. 1, 1894 B. J. Sirmans 1280 April 12, 1894 Jan. 1, 1896 B. J. Sirmans 1280 Jan. 1,1896 Jan. 1, 1902 B. J. Sirmans* 1280 April 17, 1902 Jan. 1, 1904 D. D. Fiveash 1280 April 25, 1904 April 13, 1906 0. P. Register 1280 April 13, 1906 April 13, 1908 O.P. Register (died) 1280 April 15, 1908 Jan. 1, 1914 J. F. Daugharty SetE. 1219 Mar. 24, 1914 Simon P. White 1061 Mar. 4,1880 Jan. 1, 1882 Elisha Moore 1061 Mar. __, 1887 Mar. 1, 1888 Isham Patterson 1141 Mar. __, 1888 Jan. 1, 1894 Elisha Moore 1061 Jan. 1,1894 Jan. 1, 1900 J. W. James* 1061 April 12, 1900 April 17, 1902 B. E. Mattox 1224 April 17, 1902 April 12, 1904 History of Clinch County, Georgia 209 Appointed Term expired George M. Dame 1224 April 25, 1904 April 13, 1906 W. H. Hinson 1389 April 13, 1906 April 13, 1912 W. H. Hinson 1389 April 13, 1912 April 13, 1916 SetF. ( D. H. Johnson 1280 Mar. 4,1880 Jan. 1,1882 J. L. Morgan 1141 Mar. __, 1887 Jan. 1,1888 Ivy Davis 1141 , 1890 Jan. 1,1896 W. T. Rives 1141 April 17, 1896 Jan. 1,1900 W. j. Rives 1141 April 12, 1900 April 12, 1904 M. Co wart* 1061 April 13, 1906 April 13, 1908 Moses Tomlinson,t 1052 April 15, 1908 April 15, 1910 J. Flovd Fender 1052 Tune 28, 1910 April 13, 1912 J. Floyd Fender 1052 April 13, 1912 April 13, 1916 County Registrars, 1895-19 16 — (Terms: Two years each.) B. E. Mattox and C. C. Drawdy, Democrats, and C. C. Bridges, Populist, appointed Jan. 26, 1895. L. C. Mattox, Populist, vice C. C. Bridges, removed, ap- pointed Sept. 24, 1896. B. E. Mattox and C. C. Drawdy, Democrats, and J. M. Kig.ht, Populist, appointed July 18, 1898. B. E. Mattox and W. H. Gary, Democrats, and J. M. Kight, Populist, appointed April 12, 1900. J. T. Dame and J. F. Daugharty, Democrats, and J. M. Kight, Populist, appointed April 17, 1902. B. E. Mattox and R. M. Crum, Democrats, and J. M. Kight, Populist, appointed April 25, 1904. C. C. Drawdy, Democrat, vice B. E. Mattox, resigned, ap- pointed June 15, 1904. C. C. Drawdy and R. M. Crum, Democrats, and , Populist, appointed April 13, 1906. B. E. Mattox, R. M. Crum and B. A. Harper, Democrats, appointed Oct. 20, 1909. Geo. M. Dame, Democrat, vice R. M. Crum, deceased, appointed Dec. 24, 1909. B. E. Mattox, George M. Dame and B. A. Harper, Dem- ocrats, appointed , 1912. C. H. Smith, J. T. Dame and W. J. Wallace, Democrats, appointed March 25, 1914. 2IO History of Clinch County, Georgia B. A. Harper, Democrat, vice W. J. Wallace, deceased, appointed May 15, 19 14. C. H. Smith, Folks Huxford and I. W. Allen, Democrats, appointed March 28, 1916. Commercial Notaries Public of Clinch County — (Terms: 4 Years Each.) Name District Appoir ited Simon W. Hitch 1224 Dec. 23, 1868 Lee L. DuPont 1280 Mar. 5, 1894 Robert L. Rives 1219 Mar. 5, 1894 B. A. Harper 1389 Oct. 27, 1896 Harrison H. Guess 586 May 8, 1897 W. B. Hamby 1219 May 21, 1897 NoDle A. Sirmans 1280 May 7, 1898 S. C. Townsend 1224 Oct. 25, 1900 W. B. Hamby 1219 June 17, 1901 Harrison H. Guess 586 Dec. 24, 1901 Jesse Grantham 1224 Mar. 3, 1902 C. J. Mainor 586 April 6, 1903 M. A. McDowell 1224 June 2, 1903 H. J. Dame 1224 Jan. 6, 1906 Harrison H. Guess 586 Jan. 13, 1906 J. Tom Faulk 1224 Jan. 23, 1906 John M. Agee 1052 April 9, 1907 S. R. Kirton 1219 Oct. 17, 1906 John F. Hughes 1224 Mar. II, 1907 H. M. Peagler 1224 Oct. 23, 1907 S. C. Patterson 1389 May 14, 1908 Harrison H. Guess 586 Jan. 13, 1910 H. J. Dame 1224 May 3, 1910 S. R. Kirton 1219 May 3, 1910 J. J. Langdale 1219 Aug. 8, 1910 John F. Hughes 1224 Mar. 14, 191 1 Calvin B. McRae 1219 Mar. 17, 191 1 G. A. Gibbs 1224 Dec. 20, 191 1 History of Clinch County, Georgia 21 I Name District C. A. Cotter 1224 W. H. Myddleton 12 19 F. F. Cornelius 12 19 E. B. Register 1224 Harrison H. Guess 586 S. R. Kirton 1389 J. J. Langdale 12 19 Folks Huxford 1224 W. H. Moncrief 1224 G. A. Gibbs 1224 Appointed Mar. 8, 1912 June 25, 1912 July 10, 1913 Aug. 28, 1913 Feb. 17, 1914 iviar. 24, 1914 July 4, 1914 Nov. 18, 1914 Oct. 26, 19 1 5 Dec. 20, 1 91 5 Road Commissioners, Clinch County, 1 869-191 5 — (Three Commissioners for each District.) 586th District. Name D. H. Johnson D. H. Johnson A. J. Whitehurst W. J. Lee A. J. Whitehurst W. J. Lee W. J. Lee Harris Sirmans Harris Sirmans Harris Sirmans A. J. Whitehurst Elbert Burkhalter Harris Sirmans C. C. Bridges C. F. Brack C. F. Brack Randol Brogdon Joseph Powell Joseph Powell Joseph Powell Joseph Powell Joseph Powell Joseph Powell Joseph Powell James C. Smith William Register James C. Smith James Brown Name Name Ap pointed D. J. Sirmans W. S. Tomlinson Jan. 18, 1869 D. J. Sirmans W. S. Tomlinson Mar. 4, 1871 D. J. Sirmans W. S. Tomlinson Feb. 23, 1872 D. H. Johnson C. W. Curry Mar. 21, 1873 D. H. Johnson C. W. Curry Feb. __, 1874 Moses Smith C. W. Curry Feb. __, 1875 D. H. Johnson C. W. Curry Jan. ._, 1876 M. S. Corbitt Moses Smith Feb. __, 1877 C. W. Curry Moses Smith Feb. 16, 1878 D. H. Johnson C. W. Curry Jan. 6, 1879 D. H. Johnson F. B. Sirmans Feb. 2, 1880 Moses Smith F. B. Sirmans Apr. 5, 1881 Moses Smith F. B. Sirmans Mar. 7, 1883 Benj. Smith Jas. M. Corbitt Feb. 25, 1887 Benj. Smith Moses Smith Feb. 25, 1889 Moses Smith F. M. Anderson Feb. 2, 1891 John King S. L. Mainor Feb. 6, 1893 F. AL Anderson F. B. Sirmans Feb. 4, 1901 M. C. Tomlinson Tohn Pafford Jan. 1, 1903 F. M. Anderson "M. B. Pafiford Jan. 2, 1905 F. M. Anderson T. M. Smith Jan. 7, 1907 Marcus Tomlinson J. M. Smith Jan. 4, 1909 MarcusTomlinson J. M. Smith Jan. 2,1911 MarcusTomlinson L. H. Lee Mar 3,1913 970th District. Jesse Smith William Gaines July ._, 1868 Tesse Smith Benj. Stalvey Tan. 18, 1869 i::. A. Smith Matthew Fiveash julv 5, 1869 Elisha Higgs Geo. A. Fiveash Feb. 12, 1870 212 History of Clinch County, Georgia Name Name Name Appointed William Gaines Jesse Smith Geo. A. Fiveash Mar. 4, 1871 William Gaines l.W. Futch B. W. Douglass Feb. 23, 1872 Eli W. O'Quin J. W. Futch Jesse Smith Mar. 21, 1873 Eli W. O'Quin Wm. Tomlinson Jesse Smith Feb. __, 1874 William Joyce Wm. Tomlinson Geo. A. Fiveash Feb. __, 1875 Eli W. O'Quin M. C. Futch Nelion Green Jan. -_, 1876 William Joyce M. C. Futch David O'Quin Feb. __, 1877 William Joyce M. C. Futch David O'Quin Feb. 16, 1878 William Joyce M. C. Futch David O'Quin Jan. 6, 1879 William Joyce las. M. Smith Tr. David O'Quin Feb. 2, 1880 William Joyce M. C. Futch H. A. O'Quin Apr. 5, 1881 William Barlow J. M. Mobley Mar. 7. 1883 Eli W. O'Quin William Barlow Tas.M. Sm-ith Feb. 25; 1887 Eli W. O'Quin E. J. Futch las. M. Smith Feb. 25, 1889 Eli W. O'Quin Tas. M. Futch E. T. Futch Feb. 2, 1891 A. R. Register [as. M. Smith E. T. Futch Feb. 6. 1893 B. S. Register P. W. Griffis M. H. Hilliard Feb. 4, 1901 W. B. Griffis E. T. Futch M. H. Hilliard Jan. 1, 1903 W. B. Griffis J. H. Ferdon B. S. Register Jan. 2, 1905 W. B. Griffis Matthew Stalvev M. H. Hilliard Jan. 7, 1907 W. B. Griffis M. S. Eason M. H. Hilliard Jan, 4, 1909 W. B. Griffis M. S. Eason M. H. Hilliard Jan. 2,1911 W. B. Griffi? Matthew Stalvey M. H. Hilliard Mar. 3, 1913 1 05 2d District. D. D. Mahon Q. B. Staten Jan. 18. 1869 D. D. Mahon Q. B. Staten E. J. Sirmans Mar. 4 1871 G. G. Foreman, Q. B. Staten E. J. Sirmans Feb. 23 1872 G. G. Foreman, D. C. Lancaster John Knight Mar. 21 1873 G. G. Foreman, Wm. Touchstone John Knight Feb. __ 1874 G. G. Foreman, Wm. Touchstone John Knight Feb. __ 1875 G. C. Foreman Wm. Touchstone John Knight Tan. 1876 J. R.G.Hamilton John Touchstone Tohn KnigHt Feb. __ 1877 T. R.G. Hamilton 'William H. Green S. W. Register Feb. 16 1878 "W. S. Phillips E. J. Sirmans S. W. Register Tan. 6 1879 W. S. Phillips T. W. Howell S. W. Register Feb. 2 1880 W. B. N. Crews Wm. Touchstone Tohn Knight Apr. 5 1881 J. C. Humphreys D. M. Crews C. M. D. Howell Mar. 7 1883 J. C. Humphreys W. B. N. Crews T. R. Allen Feb. 25 1887 T. C. Humphreys W. B. N. Crews j. R. Allen Feb. 25 1889 R. S. Holtzendorf W. B. N. Crews T. R. Allen Feb. 2 1891 J. Floyd Fender C. S. Touchstone T. R. Allen Feb. 6 1893 James A. Mathis H. A. Tomlinson T. R. Allen Feb. 4 1901 T. T. Tohnson M. M. Cowart T. R. Allen Jan. 1 1903 E. T. Futch M. F. Timmerman H. A. Tomlinson Jan. 2 1905 E. T. Futch J. A. Holtzendorf H. A. Tomlinson Jan. 7 1907 I. W. Allen A. H. Timmerman Wm. Tomlinson Jan. 4 1909 I. W. Allen A. H. Timmerman Wm. Tomlinson Jan. 2 1911 I. W. Allen H. A. Tomlinson Wm. Tomlinson Mar. 3 1913 1 06 1st District. Chas. A. Griffis Wm. T. Bennett John Smith Tan. 18, 1869 Chas. A. Griffis George W. Delk John T. Morgan Feb. 12 1870 History of Clinch County, Georgia 213 Name Chas. A. Griffis Chas. A. Griffis Chas. A. Griffis Chas. A. Griffis Chas. A. Griffis Chas. A. Griffis Chas. A. Griffis William Griffis William Griffis William Griffis William Griffis William Griffis Ehas Griffis George W. Delk Elias Griffis Irwin Corbitt Irwin Corbitt S. A. Lastinger S. A. Lastinger Newsom Corbitt L. H. Locklier L. H. Locklier Elias L. Griffis Name Duncan Giddens Duncan Giddens H. P. Williams H. P. Williams H. P. Williams H. P. Williams K. C. Cowart J. R. Dickerson J. R. Dickerson J. R. Dickerson J. R. Dickerson E. C. Hodges E. C. Hodges E. C. Hodges Matthew Cowart E. C. Hodges W. T. Corbitt W\ T. Corbitt W. T. Corbitt W. J. Corbitt W. J. Corbitt W. J. Corbitt Miles J. Guest Name J. R. Dickerson J. R. Dickerson J. R. Dickerson Simon P. White William Griffis Simon P. White John Moore John Moore Simon P. White Ephriam McLendon T. S. Williams Simon P. White John H. Smith F. M. Guest Elisha Moore F. M. Guest W. J. Griffis Rowan Mizell Manning Cowart J. W. James K. T. Giddens K. J. Giddens Manning Cowart 1 141st District. W. J. Rives W. J. Rives David M. Riberon David M. Riberon Ivy Davis Ivy Davis Jerry Davis Ivy Davis J. L. Morgan J. L. Morgan J. L. Morgan J. L. Morgan Ivy Davis Ivy Davis Ivy Davis Ivy Davis J. C. McFoy J. C. McFoy W. H. Chauncey J. J. Riberon J. J. Riberon T. J. Riberon W. A. Tavlor B. F. Evans J. J. Riberon W. B. North W. B. North James North James North James North James North Tames North W. B. North John R. Inman John R. Inman John R. Inman John R. Inman Isham Patterson Isham Patterson Isham Patterson Isham Patterson Wm. P. North D. M. Riberon A. B. Griffis A. B. Griffis A. B. Griffis A. B. Griffis A. B. Griffis A. B. Griffis A. B. Griffis G. W. Waldron G. W. Waldron Isham Patterson Isham Patterson Isham Patterson Isham Patterson Isham Patterson G. W. Thornton G. W. Thornton David G. Mathis David G. Mathis David G. Mathis F. C. Folks David M. Riberon T. F. M. Sweat T. F. M. Sweat G. W. Daugharty G. W. Daugharty G. W. Daugharty L. T. Daugharty L. T. Daugharty T. F. Barnhill T. F. Barnhill T. F. Barnhill B. F. Evans Appointed Mar. 4,1871 Feb. 23 Mar. 21 Feb. - Feb. -_: Jan. __ Feb. _- Feb. 16 Jan. 6 Feb. 2 Apr. 5 Mar. 7 Feb. 25 Feb. 25 Feb. 2 Feb. Feb. Jan. Jan. Jan. Jan. Jan. Mar. July -. Jan. 18 Mar. 4 Feb. 23 Mar. 21 Feb. - Feb. - Tan. __ Feb. -_ Feb. 16 Tan, 6 Feb. 2 Apr. 5 Mar Feb. 25 Feb. 25 Feb. 2 Feb. 6 Feb. 4 Tan. 1 Tan. 2 Jan. 7 Tan. 4 Jan. 2 Mar 1872 1873 1874 1875 1876 1877 1878 1879 1880 1881 1883 1887 1889 1891 1893 1901 1903 1905 1907 1909 1911 1913 ,1868 , 1869 ,1871 ,1872 , 1873 , 1874 ,1875 ,1876 ,1877 ,1878 ,1879 ,1880 ,1881 , 1883 ,1887 ,1889 ,1891 , 1893 ,1901 ,1903 ,1905 ,1907 ,1909 ,1911 ,1913 14 History of Clinch County, Georgia 1219th District. Name Name Name Appointed John Sears Ichabod Foreacre James Lee Jan. 18, 1869 Hiram Sears Ichabod Foreacre John M. Dowling Mar. 4, 1871 Hiram Sears Solomon Mobley John Collins Feb. 23, 1872 Peter Lastinger John Jourdan, Sr. John Collins Mar. 21, 1873 Peter Lastinger John Jourdan, Sr. John Collins Feb. _-, 1874 Solomon Mobley John Jourdan, Sr. John Collins Feb. -, 1875 Solomon Mobley Ichabod Foreacre John A. Johnson Jan. ._, 1876 Solomon Mobley A. T. Jourdan Frank Daugharty Feb. __, 1877 Solomon Mobley A. T. Jourdan Ichabod Foreacre Feb. 16, 1878 Solomon Mobley Ichabod Foreacre John A. Johnson Jan. 6, 1879 Solomon Mobley A. T. Jourdan John A. Johnson Feb. 2, 1880 Solomon Mobley Ichabod Foreacre John A. Johnson Apr. 5, 1881 Sam'l Swearingen A. T. Jourdan A. R. Mixon Mar. 7, 1883 Solomon Mobley A. T. Tourdan J. G. Mixon Feb. 25, 1887 J. L. Swearingen William Griffin J. G. Mixon Feb. 25, 1889 J. L. Swearingen S. S. Mobley W. B. Griffis Oct. 7, 1890 J. L. Swearingen Aaron Foreacre Irwin Baldree Feb. 2, 1891 J. L. Swearingen Aaron Foreacre Peter A. Young Feb. 6, 1893 G. C. Register W. H. Moblev Henry Rives Feb. 4, 1901 G. C. Register W. H. Mobley John M. Young Jan. 1, 1903 G. C. Register W. H. Mobley John M. Young Jan. 2,1905 G. C. Register G. W. Daughartv John M. Young Jan. 7, 1907 W. T. Drew G. C. Register Peter A. Young Jan. 4,1909 A. L. Sirmans W. H. Rives John M. Young Jan. 2, 1911 A. L. Sirmans W. H. Rives 1224th John M. Young District. Mar. 3,1913 J. L. Sweat John W. Hodges R. G. Dickerson Jan. 18, 1869 J. L. Sweat John W. Hodges R. G. Dickerson Mar. 4, 1871 Erie Edwards John H. Mattox Robert B. Crum Feb. 23, 1872 J. C. Kirkland John W. Hodges H. A. Mattox Mar. 21, 1873 J. C. Kirkland John W. Hodges H. A. Mattox Feb. -_, 1874 John H. Mattox A. J. Caswell H. A. Mattox Feb. ._, 1875 J. C. Kirkland Alfred Newbern J. R. Dickerson Jan. __, 1876 Samuel Narger Alfred Newbern James M. Kight Feb. __, 1877 Samuel Narger H. A. Mattox James M. Kight Feb. 16, 1878 T. C. Kirkland H. A. Mattox James M. Kight Tan. 6, 1879 J. C. Kirkland H. A. Mattox C. H. Smith Feb. 2, 1880 Peter Williams W. H. Gary C. H. Smith Apr. 5, 1881 Moses Thornton A. J. Berg C. H. Smith Mar. 7, 1883 John H. Mattox Daniel Dickerson 0. F. Mattox Feb. 25, 1887 John H. Mattox Daniel Dickerson John J. Smith Feb. 25, 1889 John H. Mattox Daniel O'Steen "S. R. Smith Feb. 6, 1893 Robert M. Crum Jonathan O'Steen S. R. Smith Feb. 4, 1901 Robert M. Crum Daniel O'Steen S. R. Smith Jan. 1, 1903 Robert M. Crum Daniel O'Steen S. R. Smith Jan. 2, 1905 C. H. Dickerson Daniel O'Steen A. B. Smith Jan. 7, 1907 T. B. Dickerson J. S. Kirkland A. B. Smith Jan. 4,1909 T. B. Dickerson J. S. Kirkland A. B. Smith Tan. 2,1911 C. H. Smith T. S. Kirkland A. B. Smith Mar. 3, 1913 T. G. Jenkins David J. Sirmans J. G. Tomlinson Feb. __, 1877 History of Clinch County, Georgia 215 1280th District. Name Name Name Appointed T. G. Jenkins David J. Sirmans J. G. Tomlinson Feb. 16, 1878 P. M. Lee David J. Sirmans Levin Tomlinson Jan. 6, 1879 P. M. Lee David J. Sirmans George Cornelius Feb. 2, 1880 R. B.Johnson David J. Sirmans George Cornelius Apr. 5, 1881 R. B.Johnson D. J. Sirmans, Jr. Tohn A. Mikell Mar. 7, 1883 P. M. Lee C, H. North John A. Mikell Feb. 25, 1887 John T. Courson F. D. CHfton P. M. Lee Feb. 25, 1889 John T. Courson J. W. Holloway Artemus Rice Sept. 9, 1890 D. H. Johnson Augustus DuPont J. J. Hughes Feb. 2, 1891 D. H. Johnson J. H.W.Livingston J. A. Mobley Feb. 6, 1893 L. L. DuPont Joseph Jones P. A. Register Feb. 4, 1901 L. L. DuPont C. H. North J. P. Tomlinson Jan. 1, 1903 C. C. Lee C. H. North T. P. Tomlinson Jan. 2, 1905 C. M. McLamb Robert E. Lee F. M. Hughes Jan. 7, 1907 C. M. McLamb E. E. TomHnson F. M. Hughes Jan. 4,1909 C. M. McLamb E. E. Tomlinson F. M. Hughes Jan. 2,1911 C. M. McLamb E. E. Tomlinson 1365th F. M. Hughes District. Mar. 3,1913 S. W. Register T. J. Taylor W. R. Reen Feb. 25, 1887 S. W. Register T. T. Taylor W. E. Taylor Feb. 25, 1889 S. W. Register T. T. Taylor Marion Bennett Feb. 2, 1891 P. M. Bennett M. A. Taylor John Griffis Feb. 6, 1893 A. 0. Register P. M. Bennett I. W. Griffin Feb. 4, 1901 J. R. Allen Seward Bennett John McLain Jan. 1, 1903 J. R. Allen Seward Bennett A. G. Bennett Jan. 2, 1905 J. E. McLain Seward Bennett A. G. Bennett Jan. 7, 1907 \V. M. Zeiglcr N. E, Baldwin A. G. Bennett Jan. 4, 1909 E. B. Allen A. T. Baldwin W. M. Zeigler Jan. 2, 1911 J. R. Allen E. C. Dedge 1389th John McLain District. Mar, 3, 1913 J. R. Dickerson James M. Right I . R. Allen Feb. 25, 1887 J. R. Dickerson Tames M. Right T. R. Allen Feb. 25, 1889 W. H. Hinson F. M. Right N. J. Smith Feb. 2, 1891 W.J.StricklandJr ■. T. P. Jordan W. M. Mainor Feb. 6,1893 W. H. Hinson Randal Corbitt B. A. Harper Feb. 4, 1901 W. H. Hinson J. J. Dickerson B. A. Harper Jan. 1, 1903 W. H. Hinson J. J. Dickerson B. A. Harper Jan. 2, 1905 W. H. Hinson D. J. Godwin B. A. Harper Jan. 7, 1907 W. M. Right D. J. Godwin B. A. Harper Jan. 4, 1909 J. R. Dickerson Randal Corbitt W. M. Right Tan. 2, 1911 J. R. Dickerson Randal Corbitt W. W. Right Mar. 3, 1913 Jailors of Clinch County — (This List is not complete.) M. S. Mcintosh Feb. 13, 1875 Robert B. Crum May 13, 1876 2i6 History of Clinch County, Georgia Erie Edwards April 13, 1877 A. B. Findley Aug. 4, 1879 William D. Smith 1880 K. C. Smith Mar. 6, 1885 A. T. Newbern L 1894 T. F. M. Sweat 1901 C. W. Byrd 1911 S. W. Elliott 1913 Clerks of Court of Ordinary — L. A. Sirmans Sept. i, 1868 Josiah Sirmans Aug. i, 1873 H. C. Dukes, Dept May 4, 1874 Josiah Sirmans Oct. 10, 1877 S. L. Drawdy Feb. 14, 1889 R. G. Dickerson Jan. 15, 1902 Presidents of Board of Education — H. A. Mattox 1 872-1 876 James A. O'Steen i 898-1902 A. J. Caswell 1 888-1 892 Jesse R. Booth 1902-1904 N. S. Knight 1892 F. M. Hughes 1904-19 13 H. A. Mattox 1892-1893 John G. Griffis 1913-1915 Benjamin Smith 1893-1894 D. O. Johnson 1915-1916 D. C. Fender 1 894-1 898 Judges of Superior Court, Clinch County, 1850-19 19 — Note. — (*) resigned; (f)- appointed. I.Augustus H. Hansell Hawkinsville, Ga. 1850-1853 2. Peter E. Love Thomasville, Ga. 1 853-1 855 3. A. E. Cochran Brunswick, Ga. 1855-1859 4. William M. Sessions Holmesville, Ga. 1859-1861 5. A. E. Cochran Brunswick, Ga. 1861-1864 6. William M. Sessions* Blackshear, Ga. 1864-1872 7. John L. Harris (died) Brunswick, Ga. 1 872-1 879 8. Martin L. Mershon* Brunswick, Ga. 1 879-1886 9. Courtland Symmesf Brunswick, Ga. 1886 10. Spencer R. Atkinson* Brunswick, Ga. 1 886-1 891 History of Clinch County, Georgia 217 II. J. L. Sweat Waycross, Ga. 1891-1897 12. Joseph W. Bennett* Brunswick, oa. 1897-1902 13. F. Willis Dartt Douglas, Ga. 1902-1903 14. Thomas A. Parker* Baxley, Ga. 1903-1914 15- J- W. Quinceyt Douglas, Ga. 1914-1915 16. James I. Summerall Blackshear, Ga. 1915-1919 Solicitors General, 1 867-1916 — 1. J. S.Wiggins 1867-1869 6. J. I. Carter 1885-1889 2. P. B. Bedford 1869 7. W. G. Brantley i889-'97 3. A. J. Liles 1869-1871 8. John W. Bennett 1 897-'o9 4. Simon W. Hitch 1871-1881 9. J. H. Thomas 1909-1910 5. G. B. Mabry 1881-1885 10 M. D. Dickerson i9io-'i9 Foremen of Grand Juries, Clinch County, 1 867-1916 — Note. — This information is given, as the author believes it will be of interest besides throwing light on the leaders of the day. The militia district numbers following each name shows the district in which the foreman lived. Term Name District Sept. 1867 John C. Kirkland 1224 March 1868 David D. Mahon 1052 Sept. 1868 Thomas G. Ramsey 1224 April 1869 John C. Kirkland 1224 Oct. 1869 John C. Kirkland 1224 June 1870 Thomas G. Ramsey 1224 April 1871 Cornelius A. Smith 970 Oct. 1871 Jesse Smith 970 April 1872 David J. Sirmans 970 Oct. 1872 William S. Tomlinson 586 April 1873 David J. Sirmans 970 Oct. 1873 John C. Kirkland 1224 April 1874 Francis M. Jackson 586 Oct. 1874 David H. Johnson 586 April 1875 Martin S. Corbitt I061 Oct. 1875 Glover G. Foreman 1052 April 1876 Peter Stotesberry 1052 21 History of Clinch County, Georgia Term Name District Oct. [876 David J. Sirmans 1280 April [877 Charles Strickland 586 Oct. [877 Francis M. Jackson 586 April [878 David J. Sirmans 1280 Oct. [878 Frank Sloat 1052 Oct. [879 David O'Quin 970 March [880 Charles Strickland 586 Sept. [880 Peter Williams 1224 March [881 Hamilton A. Mattox 1224 Oct. [881 Francis M. Jackson 586 March [882 Cornelius A. Smith 1224 March [883 Madison M. Caswell 1224 Oct. [883 F. B. Sirmans 586 March [884 G. G. Foreman 1052 Oct. [884 Benjamin Smith 586 March [885 F. B. Sirmans 586 Oct. [885 Cornelius A. Smith 1224 March [886 Moses Tomlinson 1052 Oct. [886 Francis M. Jackson 586 March [887 Moses Tomlinson 1052 Oct. [887 John J. Drawdy 1224 March ] [888 Moses Tomlinson 1052 Oct. ] [888 R. S. Holtzendorf 1052 March i [889 John C. Humphreys 1052 Oct. ] 889 Martin S. Corbitt 1 06 1 March ] [890 John C. Humphreys 1052 Oct. ] 890 WiHis B. Gibbs 1280 March i 891 Hamilton A. Mattox 1224 Oct. ] 891 Lewis Smith 1224 March i 892 Hamilton A. Mattox 1224 Oct. ] 892 Andrew J. Caswell 1224 March ] 893 John C. Humphreys 1052 Oct. ] 893 Martin S. Corbitt IO61 April ] 894 William A. Ecord 1224 Oct. 1 894 Elisha Moore IO61 April ] 895 E. J. Futch 970 History of Clinch County, Georgia 219 Term Name District Oct. 1895 James R. Dickerson 1389 April 1896 B. E. Mattox 1224 Oct. 1896 E. J. Futch 970 April 1897 Moses Tomlinson 1052 Oct. 1897 Moses Smith 586 April 1898 Randal Brogdon 586 Oct. 1898 Elisha Moore 1 06 I April 1899 Martin S. Corbitt I061 Oct. 1899 J. R. Dickerson 1389 April 1900 B. E. Mattox 1224 Oct. 1900 F. B. Sirmans 586 April 1901 Samuel Cowart 1280 Oct. 1 90 1 R. M. Crum 1224 iVpril 1902 E. J. Futch 970 Oct. 1902 Augustus DuPont 1280 April 1903 William T. Smith 1224 Oct. 1903 James A. O'Steen 1224 April 1904 Frank Dickerson 1280 Oct. 1904 R. M. Crum 1224 April 1905 F. B. Sirmans 586 Oct. 1905 P. McK. Williams 970 April 1906 Perry M. Lee 1280 Oct. 1906 W. B. N. Crews 1052 April 1907 William A. Ecord 1224 Oct. 1907 Charlton H. Smith 1224 April 1908 F. B. Sirmans 586 Oct. 1908 A. H. Culpepper 1224 April 1909 H. J. Peagler 1224 Oct. 1909 F. B. Sirmans 586 May 1910 George M. Dame 1224 Nov. 1910 Warren R. Dickerson 586 May 191 1 F. B. Sirmans 586 March 1912 J. Floyd Fender 1052 Oct. 1912 S. R. Kirton 1389 March 1913 Acy H. Timmerman 1052 Oct. 1913 B. E. Mattox 1224 2 20 History of Clinch County, Georgia Term Name District March 1914 S. A. Sweat 1224 Oct. 1914 S. R. Kirton 1389 March 19 15 George M. Dame 1224 Oct. 1915 Moses S. Eason 970 March 191 6 John F. Daugharty 12 19 Clerks of County Court (old court) — Simon W. Hitch May 12, 1866 John L. Morgan Aug. 27, 1866 Robert L. King, Jr Feb. i, 1867 Bailiffs County Court — Wilham M. Austin May 30, 1866 James B. O'Quin June 4, 1866 Allen Smith June 2, 1866 J. J. Sweat Dec. 30, 1 907 P. R. Lee Dec. 31, 1908 Deputy Clerks County Court — M. A. Cornelius June 2, 1913 Folks Huxford Dec. 8, 19 14 Clerks Superior Court and Their Deputies — Clerks Term Deputies John C. Kirkland 1850-185 2 Jonathan Knight George W. Newbern 1 852-1 854 A. D. Laslie Archibald D. Laslie 1854-1856 David O'Quin 1856-1868 John H. Mattox Dan H. Stewart Francis M. Goette J. L. Sweat L. Smith James C. Cooper H. D. O'Quin 1 868-1 87 1 George W. Newbern Alfred Newbern James Tomlinson 1 871-1873 Josiah Sirmans Edward T. Dukes 1 873-1 875 C.A.Smith History of Clinch County, Georgia 221 Clerks Term Deputies P. M. Lee 1875-1877 A. J. Caswell M. M. Caswell Cornelius A. Smith 1877-1880 1880-1881 David O'Quin Josiah Sirmans Abraham Morgan 1881-1883 N. J. Smith B. A. Whittington James P. Mattox C. C. Drawdy R. J. Pannal Perryman Moore B. R. Johnson 1883-1884 Isbin Tomlinson W. A. Ecord 1884-1893 I. H. Drawdy Roscoe W. Yates S. W. Register 1893-I908 A. 0. Register P. E. Findley J. E. Jordan A. O. Register I908-I909 A. J. Gibbs A. J. Gibbs I909-I921 G. A. Gibbs Deputy Sheriffs of Clinch County, Georgia — Sheriffs Term Deputies Harrison Jones 1866-1867 William M. Austin Joseph E. Bass 1868-187I Erwin Johnson James M. Nelms James M. Nelms 187I-1873 John J. Drawdy John G. Tomlinson Joseph E. Bass Robert N. Brady 1873-1875 Erie Edwards David H. Johnson 1875-1879 A. B. Findley Erie Edwards Eason Smith John T. Courson 1879-1881 A. B. Findley Jerry M. Jeffords 1881-1887 John A. Mikell K. C. Smith B. E. Mattox 1887-1889 Jefferson D. Mattox William S. Mattox 222 History of Clinch County, Georgia Sheriffs Frank DIckerson Bryant O'Steen S. A. Sweat Perry R. Lee Term Deputies 1 889-1 897 T. F. M. bweat Absalom T. Newbern 1 897-1901 S. A. Sweat 1 90 1- 1 909 Jerome J. Sweat J. Tom Faulk R. S. Williams John H. Mattox G. C. Register 1909-19 17 George W. North G. C. Register A. Hargraves S. W. Elliott CHAPTER XIV. Sketches of Lives of Clinch County Officers, 1850-1916. Alphabetically Arranged. 4 USTIN, WILLIAM M., was born in this State in 1 830, /-% Coming to Clinch when young, he settled here, and at various times was in the employment of the Atlantic & Gulf Railroad. The first office that he held in this county was that of justice of the Inferior Court, to which he was commissioned September loth, 1861. In 1862, when O'Steen's company was organized at Homerville for service in the Confederate Army, Mr, Austin enlisted and served as a sergeant in his company. Returning home, he was elected tax collector in 1864, and served two years. Under Harri- son Jones he served a short while as deputy sheriff, and in 1867 was elected sheriff for the unexpired term of Mr. Jones. After this he was station agent at Homerville a while. By his wife, Harriet E. Austin, Mr. Austin had six children, viz. : E. A. Austin, Rosa, Bartow, Lealona, John and H. Austin, these names being obtained from an old census re- port for 1870. Subsequently Mr. Austin removed to Wayne County, where he died. BARNHILL, JOHN FRANKLIN, was born in Horry County, S. C, March 27, 1867, and came to this State at an early age. He married Miss Sula Johnson, of Bryan County, Georgia, November 5th, 1896, and they have three chil- dren, Leo, Audrey and Olney Barnhlll. In 1902 Mr. Barn- hill came to Clinch County and engaged In the turpentine business, in which he has become signally successful, finan- cially. He Is now one of the largest land owners In the county. He lived in the 1141st district at a place called Lyken until 19 13, when he removed to Homerville. He built a beautiful home at Lyken, and at Homerville has a still bet- 2 24 History of Cl'uich County, Georgia ter residence. Mr. Barnhill was postmaster at Lyken for several years. Lyken was connected by a star route with Homerville. In 19 14-'! 5, Mr. Barnhill, together with Mr. J. H. Ferdon, bought and installed the town's light and water plant. In 191 5 he was elected on the town council, and was appointed on the Board of County Commissioners cre- ated by Legislative Act. Upon the organization of the Board in September, he was elected its chairman, which posi- tion he now holds. In 19 16 he was elected for the full term of four years beginning January' ist, 191 7, defeating A. B. Smith. Mr. Barnhill, although possessed of a meager edu- cation, is one of the best business men in the county, and his service on the Board has demonstrated his high character and business ability. BASS, JOSEPH EVERETT, was born in Sampson County, N. C, February nth, 181 1. When eighteen years old he moved to Sumter County, Georgia, where the present city of Americus now is. He engaged in the Cherokee Indian war when it came on, and after it was over he went back to his old home and married Miss Christian Cameron. Com- ing back to Sumter County, he lived there until a few years later. While in Sumter County, four children were born to them, David A. Bass, Archibald C. Bass, Mary J. Bass, and Joseph E. Bass, Jr. Moving to Irwinsville, in Irwin County, he was sheriff of that county for eight years. A itw years prior to the war he moved to Clinch County and settled three miles south of Homerville, but when the Civil War broke out, he moved his family to town. In 1868 he was elected sheriff of Clinch County, an office which he held three years. After his term of office expired, Mr. Bass served as a deputy under his successor, James M. Nelms, until 1872, when he removed to Orlando, Fla. Here he served as deputy sheriff four years, afterwards moving to Tampa, Fla., where he died August 2f;th, 1897, ^g^ ^6 years. At the time of his death he was survived by seven children. History of Clinch County, Georgia 225 BRADY, ROBERT N., was born In this State In 1840, in what Is now Fulton County. He was born and raised on a farm which his father owned not far from where Atlanta now Is. Prior to the Civil War, Mr. Brady bought a pair of horses and a pair of mules and with a big wagon of merchandise, started out to trade in live stock and merchan- dise. He came to this section during the war, and married Miss Ann Marshall, of Berrien County, by whom he had two sons, Samuel H., and John Brady. When O'Steen's company was organized In Homervllle for service In the Confederate Army, Mr. Brady, together with his brothers, joined this company, serving until 1865. Returning home he opened up a store at Lawton, which he ran until his election as sheriff of Clinch County In 1872. In this election he defeated James North. Mr. Brady was commissioned January i8th, 1873. In 1874 he was killed by some parties who lived In the vicin- ity of the Okefinokee Swamp. Mr. Brady had a warrant for a party who lived in the neighborhood of the swamp, and after pursuing his man as far as the Everglades In Florida, captured him and carried him to Live Oak, Fla., and put him in jail, as Clinch County had no jail then. He returned home on a Friday night and at dinner the next day was called from his table by parties In front of his house, and as he emerged through the door was shot In the chest before he could hardly recognize his assailants. The sheriff's brother, Lewis J. Brady, was at the house at the time, and came out and engaged the crowd who proved to be relatives and con- federates of the man whom the sheriff had arrested. Lewis J. Brady was shot in the abdomen and died in a few minutes. The sheriff lingered after this for three months and six days and died from the effects of the shot in his breast. He could not speak above a whisper from the time he was shot until he died. Thus ended the life of a brave officer of the law, faithful to every trust. 226 History of Clinch County, Georgia BURKHALTER, RICHARD H., son of Isaac Burkhal- ter, was born in Charleston, S. C, April 24th, 1806. When Richard was small his father moved to Pulaski County, Geor- gia, and there the son grew to manhood, and married Miss Senie Haskins, June 13th, 1827. To this union was born eleven children, four daughters and seven sons. In 1844 he removed to what is now Clinch County and lived here until his death. He was elected a justice of the peace of the 105 2d district in 1853, and served two years. In 1 8 5 6 he was elected ordinary of the county and served until 1858. Mr. Burk- halter was also married a second time, to Annie Belote, by whom he had five children. His second marriage occurred October 12th, 1848. Mr. Burkhalter died at his home in Mud Creek, November i6th, 1862. BURKHALTER, SHEROD, was born in Clinch County, March 24th, 1859, the son of James M. and Nancy Burk- halter, and grandson of Richard H. Burkhalter. He was raised on the farm and married Miss Sallie Corbitt, daugh- ter of Allen Corbitt, October 3d, 1879. They had six chil- dren. After the death of his first wife he married Lorena, daughter of K. C. Smith, and by her has one child. He was admitted to the bar in Florida November 5th, 1895, and later coming back to Georgia, was admitted here. He has been located at Homerville in the practice of law since January iith, 1902. Colonel Burkhalter was commissioned solicitor of the County Court, October 30th, 1909, and re- commissioned August 28th, 191 1, for two more years. He is an active member of the Baptist Church. BYRD, CUYLER WASHINGTON, was born in Pierce County, October i8th, 1859. After living in Pierce and Ware Counties some time, he removed to Clinch County, where, after farming several years, he entered the mercantile business with his son, Leon Byrd, in Homerville. In 19 12 he was elected constable of the 1224th district, and about the same time was appointed by the Ordinary as coroner of Clinch History of Clinch County , Georgia 227 County, to succeed W. R. Findley, who had removed from the county. In 1914 Mr. Byrd removed to Ware County, but in 19 1 6 returned to Clinch county, where he is farming near Homerville. CARTER, JESSE W., served as justice of the peace of the 66 1 st district of Lowndes County for several years, being elected in 1841 and 1846. In 1850 he was elected and com- missioned a justice of the peace of the 105 2d district of Clinch County, and served until 1856. In 1856 he was elected tax receiver, and served one year. Mr. Carter lived in Clinch County until the formation of Echols County, when he be- came a citizen of that county. In the Civil War he was a private of Co. "H" 29th Ga. Infantry. He married Priscilla, daughter of Barzilla Staten, Sr., who died about 1846. Mr. Carter, together with William S. Roberts and Jonathan Knight, were the administrators of the estate of Mr. Staten. CASWELL, ANDREW J., was born in Tattnall County, February 7th, 1838. When the Civil War came on he joined and served in Co. "A" 29 Georgia, about three years. After the war was over he came to Clinch County and settled at Homerville, where he lived until his death. In 1867 he mar- ried Miss Martha Smith, daughter of James C. Smith, and by her had eleven children, nine sons and two daughters. For several years he engaged in the mercantile business in Homer- ville, afterwards purchasing a farm on the outskirts of town. He constructed the famous Caswell mill-pond near town, which is now owned by Hon. R. G. Dickerson. Mr. Caswell served several years on the Board of Education, qualifying November 22d, 1876. He served until 1890, being presi- dent of the Board several years. Under P. M. Lee, Mr. Caswell served as deputy clerk of the Superior Court. In 1892 he was elected county treasurer, defeating W. H. Gary in the primary. Mr. Caswell received 218 votes and Mr. Gary 191. In the general election he defeated Lewis Smith, Third Party candidate, 314 to 173 votes. He was commis- 22 8 History of Clinch County, Georgia sioned treasurer January 6"th, 1893, and was just getting acquainted well with the duties of the office when he was taken sick. After a short illness he died August 11, 1893. He was buried in the Homerville cemetery. His widow is now living in Jacksonville, Florida, where two of her sons, Drs. James M. Caswell and S. T. Caswell, practice medicine. CASWELL, MADISON M., was born in Tattnall County, on the Ohoopee River, February 23d, 1843. When the Civil War broke out, he enlisted in Co. "A" 29th Georgia, and served until the close of the war. In 1869 he came to Homerville, where he resided until about 1890, when he re- moved to Valdosta, where he now lives. Mr. Caswell mar- ried Sarah, daughter of James C. Smith, and by her .had sev- eral children. In 1870 he was elected tax collector of Clinch County, and was commissioned February 7th, 1871. By suc- cessive re-elections he was tax collector twelve years, which is the longest any collector has held the office. In April, 1876, he was appointed a jury commissioner, serving four years. In 1886 he was again appointed a jury commissioner, but re- moved to Valdosta before his term expired. Under P. M. Lee, Mr. Caswell served as deputy clerk of the Superior Court. COHEN, JOSEPH J., was born in Ohio about 18 15, and came to Clinch County about 1850. He was a school teacher by profession. He married Zilpha, a daughter of John Wil- liams, Sr., and his wife, Nancy, but after a divorce married Mary Simpson and by her had a son, William Cohen. Mr. Cohen was elected a justice of the peace of the 970th dis- trict in 1857 and served two years. He was commissioned surveyor of Clinch County January I2th, 1857, and served one year. In the Civil War he enlisted in 2 2d Georgia Ar- tillery. While in the army he contracted a sickness which ter- minated in his death in 1863. His remains were brought home and buried at Arabia Church. The grave is not marked and its exact location in the cemetery is not known. History of Clinch County, Georgia 229 CORBITT, MARTIN S., was born near the site of Salem Church, in the northern part of Clinch County, May 12th, 1840, the son of Newsom and Pollie (Smith) Corbitt. He married Lenora W. Pafford, of Coffee County, November 26th, 1867, and by her had eleven children, viz.: Catherine Imogene, Maryan M., Newton R., William Manning, Henry Madison, Mastin Rabun, Frances L., Martha, Wealthy A., Rebecca V., and Levia Jane Corbitt. After his first wife died, Mr. Corbitt married Miss Minnie Faircloth, who was a native of Sampson County, N. C, August ist, 1899. To them were born Duvon C, Frazier S., and W. J. Corbitt. In the Civil War Mr. Corbitt served as a sergeant in O'Steen's company. Towards the close of the war he was permitted to return home on account of ill health. In 1868 he was elected tax collector of Clinch County, defeating R. G. Dickerson, and served until 1871. In 1884 he was a candidate for Ordinary and in a very hot race defeated George Cornelius by one vote. He was commissioned Janu- iiry 13th, 1885, and served four years. In 1889 he was ap- pointed a member of the Board of County Commissioners, and served until 1891. With the formation of the Populist Party in Clinch County, Mr. Corbitt joined it, and became one of its leaders. He was its candidate for representative in 1896 and 1898, and for Ordinary in 1900. On April ist, 1902, he removed from his old home in Clinch County to Pearson, in Coffee County, where he lived quietly until his death, eleven years later. He died on July ist, 19 13, and was buried with Masonic ceremonies at Salem Church in Clinch County. Mr. Corbitt was for years a member of the Methodist Church, having his membership at the old Fussell Church in Coffee County, later transferring it to the Pafford Church. He became a member of Salem Church later. Mr. Corbitt joined the Masons in 1867, and was a Master Mason until his death. For about twenty years before his death he was past master. He was greatly interested in his lodge and his church, and often rode miles in order to attend. Appro- 230 History of Clinch County, Georgia priate resolutions were adopted by Satllla Lodge No. 163 on his death. CORBITT, NEWSOM, was born in Tennessee in 1808, the son of Isham Corbitt. With his father Mr. Corbitt re- moved to Clinch County about 1840. He married PoUie, a daughter of Rev. William Smith, and after her death again married, and raised a large family of children. He was elected a justice of the peace of the 586th district in 1853, and again in 1861, and 1865. In 1868 he was elected State senator from the fifth district, defeating C. A. Smith. He was elected on the "radical" ticket. In the senate he served on the committees on Deaf and Dumb Asylum, Agriculture and Manufactures, and Journal. He voted for the adoption of the Fourteenth and Fifteenth Amendments to the Federal Constitution. Mr. Corbitt lived to be about 75 years old. CORBITT, RANDALL, was born in Clinch County, February 25th, 1856, the son of Richard R. Corbitt. He was married to Miss Sarah Jane Geiger, December 12th, 1878, by whom he had ten children. Nine are living. In 191 2 Mr. Corbitt was a candidate for county treasurer, and defeated W. H. Hunter by one vote. He served one term ( 1 9 1 3-' 1 5 ) and was not a candidate for re-election. Mr. Corbitt lives on his farm a few miles north of Argyle, where he .has lived for many years. He is a member of the Primitive Baptist Church. CORNELIUS, BENJAMIN, was born in what is now Wayne County, May nth, 1801. Early in life he was married to Miss Sarah Hopson, of Pulaski County, and by her had five children, viz. : George, Cintha, Sabra, Martha Ann, and Edward Cornelius. He lived in Pulaski County several years, and about 1826 removed to Lowndes County and lived there two years. After this he returned to Pulaski and lived there until 1832, when he returned to Lowndes County. He was elected a justice of the peace of the 66 ist district of Lowndes County in 1833, and served a few years. About 1840 he re- History of Clinch County, Georgia 231 moved to what is now Clinch but then Ware County, and settled near the future Dame's mill-pond. Here he was elected a justice of the peace of the 970th district in 1841, and in 1846. After his wife died in 1845, M'*- Cornelius moved to the place now owned by Mr. S. D. Findley, near Homer- ville. In 1850 Mr. Cornelius was elected tax receiver of Ware County and commissioned April ist, 1850, but the election for county officers in the new county of Clinch coming on, he resigned and was succeeded by Daniel E. Knowles. He was elected the first tax receiver of Clinch County, in April, 1850, and by continuous re-election, held this office until 1874, with the exception of three years. During i856-'57, Jesse W. Carter was receiver, and in 1862 the offices of receiver and collector were combined by Legislative Act, and Timothy Alderman elected to this office. In 1864 it was restored as it formerly was and Mr. Cornelius was re-elected. In his last race in 1872 he was opposed by J. R. Harris, but easily defeate'd him. Mr. Cornelius died of paralysis at his home near Homerville, June 26th, 1874, and was buried at Pros- pect Church. He was a member of the Primitive Baptist Church and had his membership at Prospect Church. Next to John C. Jones, Mr. Cornelius served the longest in one office of any officer in the county. CORNELIUS, BENJAMIN WILLIS, was born in Clinch County, near Homerville, December 7th, 1878, the son of James B. and Martha E. (Gibbs) Cornelius, and a great-grandson of Benjamin Cornelius, tax receiver. He was raised on his father's farm and attended the DuBignon Insti- tute at Homerville. In 1904 he graduated from the Georgia Normal and Business College at Abbeville, and in 1905 from the Mercer Law School. He was admitted to the practice of law at Homerville and practiced here until 19 13, when he removed to Sherman, Texas, where he is practicing law now. On November ist, 1909, he was appointed by the Governor 232 History of Clinch County, Georgia as judge of the County Court of Clinch County for four years from October 28th, 1909. W.hen his term expired, Judge Cornelius did not seek a re-appointment. He was mar- ried May 25th, 191 1, to Mrs. Alice Riddle, a member of an old Virginia family, who was previously a teacher of Elo- cution in DuBignon Institute. CORNELIUS, FERMAN F., was born near Homer- ville, February 6th, 1883, the son of James B. and Martha E. (Gibbs) Cornelius. He was raised on his father's farm and attended the Homerville schools. In 1904 he was nomi- nated for surveyor of Clinch County over R. J. Jewell and D. J. Smith, and commissioned October 17th, 1904. He served by re-elections until January i st, 1 9 1 5 , when he retired. Mr. Cornelius was married June 20th, 1905 to Miss Court- ney James, daughter of Rev. R. A. James, of this county, and has two children. For the past several years he has been holding a responsible position with the G. S. Baxter Co., at Fargo. CORNELIUS, GEORGE, was born in Lowndes County, March 29th, 1830, the son of Hon. Benjamin Cornelius, tax receiver. He was raised in Ware County. He married in December, 1855, Miss Mary Ann Lee, daughter of James Lee, by whom he had thirteen children, viz. : James B., Franklin, Angeline, Mary, Lucy, J. R. E., Sallie, Bartow, Martha, Clara and Minnie, also a son, George Jr., who died in infancy. Mr. Cornelius settled in 1855 on the place now owned by Mr. J. R. E. Cornelius, where he lived until his death. His first office was that of justice of the peace of the 106 1 St district, to which he was elected In 1853. He served about a year. In April, 1862, he enlisted in Co. "G'' ijoth Georgia Infantry, and served until the close of the war. Returning home, he went back to farming. In 1 884 he was a candidate for ordinary, but was defeated by M. S. Corbitt by one vote. In 1888 he was again a candidate and defeated Mr. Corbitt by 32 votes. He assumed charge of the office in History of Clinch County, Georgia 233 January, 1889. In 1892 he was re-elected, defeating D. H. Johnson In the priary 354 to 78 votes. In 1896 he was re- elected, defeating Elisha Moore, his nearest opponent, by 20 votes in the primary. In 1900 he was defeated for re-elec- tion by W. T. Howell by 134 votes. After his term of office expired Mr. Cornelius lived on his farm a few miles from DuPont, until his death, January 19th, 1907, age 77 years. He was buried at the North cemetery. He was survived by his wife and eight children. CORNELIUS, GEORGE HOPSON, was born in Clinch County, near Homerville, June 20th, 1880, the son of James B. and Martha E. (Gibbs) Cornelius. After attending the Homerville schools, he went to the Mercer Law School at Macon, where he graduated. He was then admitted to the bar in 1903. In November, 1904, he was married to Miss Annie Jack, of Knoxville, Ga., by whom he has four chil- dren. In 1904, Judge S. C. Townsend resigned as judge of the County Court, and Colonel Cornelius was appointed to the vacancy July 14th, 1904. He served as judge until Octo- ber, 1905. In 1906 Judge Cornelius moved to St. Peters- burg, Fla., and later to Tampa, where he is located at present, practicing law. CORNELIUS, MORRIS AUSTIN, was born in Chnch County, near Homerville, March ist, 1888, the son of James B. and Martha E. (Gibbs) Cornelius. After attending the Homerville schools, he taught school in Clinch County and several other counties, subsequently taking a teacher's course at Valparaiso University, Indiana. In 19 13 he was appointed clerk of the County Court, and in 19 14 was elected county school superintendent of Clinch County, following the resig- nation of Flem C. Dame. His term will expire January ist, 1917. In 1915 Mr. Cornelius married Miss Winona Roberts, of Celina, Texas. COURSON, JOHN T., was born in Charlton County, March 22d, 1848, the son of John L., and Sarah Courson. 234 History of Clinch County, Georgia When the Civil War commenced he was too young to go to the front but succeeded in enlisting in 1864, Co. "H" 6th Georgia Reserves. In 1865 his parents removed to Clinch County, and the next year he married Martha, daughter of Zachariah Lee, by whom he had ten children, eight of whom are living. In 1872 he was elected coroner of Clinch County, and served one term. In 1878 he was elected sheriff of the county and commissioned January 8th, 1879. H!e served one term of two years. He returned to his farm near DuPont, and was elected justice of the peace of the 1280th district in 1889, an office which he held about two years. He had pre- viously served as justice of the 1280th district, being elected in 1876. He removed about 1891 to Hahira, in Lowndes County, where he has since resided. Mr. Courson is a mem- ber of the Primitive Baptist Church, and is at present in the mercantile business. COWART, CHARLES, was born in 182 1. He Hved in this county until about 1880 when he removed to Florida, where he died. His wife was Miss Nancy Tatum. They had several children, among them being Elizabeth, John, Phoebe, Eliza and Mary Cowart. In 1850 Mr. Cowart was elected the first sheriff of Clinch County and served about a year. On January 12th, 1857, he was commissioned tax collector of Clinch County, serving one year. COON, JOSEPH B., was born in Bradford County, Fla., August nth, 1867, the son of Dr. Isaac S. Coon. His father removed to Clinch County in 1873, and the son was given the benefit of the country schools. In 1898 he was elected surveyor of Clinch County, defeating J. L. Swearingen, his Populist opponent, by 229 votes. He was re-elected in 1900 and 1902. In the primary of 1904 he was a candidate for Ordinary but was defeated. Soon after the primary, the nom- inee for tax receiver, John C. Jones, was taken sick and died, Mr. Coon announcing for the vacancy in the nomination. He was elected over strong opposition. He assumed charge of History of Clinch County, Georgia 235 the office January ist, 1905, and has since been re-elected at each election. Mr. Coon was married to Miss Harriet Reg- ister, daughter of Hon. Guilford A. Register, March 25th, 1902, and by her has two children. He is a member of the Primitive Baptist Church. CRUM, ROBERT MALLETTE, was born in Camden County, June 6th, 1854, the son of Robert B. and Margaret M. Crum. In 1862 his parents removed to near Homerville, and Mr. Crum was a resident of Homerville until he died. During 1 888-1 890 he was associated with his father in the mercantile business in Homerville. In 1896 he was elected justice of the peace of the Homerville district and commis- sioned January 8th, 1897; he was re-elected in December, 1900 and December, 1904. The next year, 1905, he resigned to become judge of the county court, to which he was com- missioned October 19th, 1905, for four years. In 1909 Judge Crum was by the Governor appointed a state inspector of fertilizers, but a serious illness prevented him from taking up the duties of the position. He died at the Crum House in Homerville, December i8th, 1909, and was buried in the Homerville cemetery. Judge Crum was a Mason and an Odd Fellow. He was never married. CULPEPPER, ALEXANDER HAMILTON, was born in Warrenton, Georgia, April ist, 1852. His original name included the full name of A. H. Stephens, but he thought the name would be too long and consequently dropped the name "Stephens." He was admitted to the prac- tice of medicine in 1886 and practiced medicine in Atlanta until 1898. He removed to Homerville in March, 1898. Dr. Culpepper has served as town councilman a number of years and also as mayor of Homerville, in 1905. He was a candi- date for representative in 19 10, but was narrowly defeated by B. A. Harper. In 191 2 he was nominated by 1 1 votes over M. H. Hilliard, his nearest opponent. He served through the sessions of 19 13 and 19 14. The doctor was first married to 236 History of Clinch County, Georgia Miss Jennie Revlere, in 1874, by whom he had two sons and two daughters. After her death he married Miss Fannie Hardage, of Warrenton, in 1886. By this marriage there are five sons. Dr. Culpepper has served as county physician for the past eight years and for eighteen years has been local surgeon for the Atlantic Coast Line Railroad Company. He is an active member of the Baptist Church at Homerville, and is a deacon of that church. He has also been Sunday School superintendent several years. DAME, FLEM CHARLES, was born in Clinch County at the place now known as Lyken post office, February 14th, 1889, the son of George M. and Linnie (Hargreaves) Dame. With his parents he came to Homerville at the age of six months. He completed the DuBignon Institute high school in 1905 and graduated from the Georgia Normal College at yVbbeville in 1907. He taught in the public schools of Clinch, Montgomery and Irwin Counties, and in Florida for a period of several years, and in 19 10 was elected county school com- missioner of Clinch County over four opponents. In May, 191 1, Hon. W. T. Dickerson resigned as county school com- missioner, which term had not expired, and Mr. Dame was elected to the vacancy by the Board of Education. Mr. Dame's regular term commenced January ist, 19 13, for which he was nominated. He served until April, 19 14, when he resigned to become post master at Homerville. He won the latter position on the merit of making the highest mark in a public examination in which there were a dozen competi- tors. He is at present postmaster, and is editor and owner of the "Clinch County News," a newspaper established in Homerville over twenty years ago. During the time he was county school commissioner, the title of the office was changed to county school superintendent by the Legislature. He also served two terms as mayor of Homerville, 19 13 and 19 14. Mr. Dame married Lillian Hughes, daughter of Jeptha and Catherine (Gibbs) Hughes, of near DuPont, in December, History of Clinch County, Georgia 237 1910. They had two children, Chas. F., and Olive. He is a member of the Baptist Church at Homerville. DAME, GEORGE APPLING, was born in 1826, in Montgomery County, Ga., the son of George Dame and Catherine (Carter) Dame. He married Sarah Thigpen, daughter of Melancthon Thigpen. To them were born five children, viz: Arlia, who married Harris Tomlinson; George M., William H., John T., and Charles E. Dame. Mr. Dame removed to Clinch County in 1864. In 1874 he was elected surveyor of Clinch County and commissioned January 14th, 1875 for two years. Mr. Dame died in 1882, and is buried at Prospect Church near DuPont. His widow is yet living. DAME, GEORGE MELANCTHON, was born June 28th, 1856, on Cobb's Creek in Montgomery County, Geor- gia, the son of George A. Dame, Sr., and his wife, Sarah Dame. At the close of the war he moved with his parents to old Magnolia, in Clinch County. His education was obtained in public schools of the time. He taught in the pub- lic schools of Clinch County several years, and was married to Linnie Adiline, daughter of John C, and Parthenia Har- greaves, in 1881. Their children are: George Alva Dame, who married Rita de Muro; Herschel J. Dame, who married Luelle Drawdy; Lula, who married H. M. Peagler; Leland H. (single) ; Flem C. Dame, who married Lillian Hughes; Olivia and Linnie Dame. His first wife dying in 1905, he mar- ried Mabel Claire, daughter of Rev. H. C. Brewton, in 1907. They have one child, Louise Dame. Mr. Dame was a farmer from 1 88 1 to 1890 at Lyken post office, but in the latter year moved to Homerville, established himself in the mercantile business, which he runs at the present time, with his brother, the firm name being Dame Bros. He is a member of Homer- ville Baptist Church, a deacon of that church, and a Mason. For the past several years he has served as Chairman of the Democratic Executive Committee of Clinch County. He was twice a town commissioner of Homerville under the old char- 238 History of Clinch County, Georgia ter and several times councilman under the new charter. He served as county surveyor from 1881 to 1895, and in 1896 was appointed to succeed Hon. R. G. Dickerson as county treasurer. He held the office about two months and in 1898 was elected treasurer, defeating P. A. Register, his nearest oppo- nent by eight votes. In 1900 he was re-elected treasurer, de- feating John G. Griffis by 89 votes in the primary. At the end of the last term, he retired and has not since aspired for office. He has been a director of the Bank of Homerville since its organization. DAME, HERSCHEL JOHNSON, was born in Clinch County, May ist, 1883, the son of George M. and Linnie (Hargreaves) Dame. He finished the DuBignon Institute in 1 90 1 and graduated from the Georgia Normal College at Abbeville in 1903. In 1904 he graduated from the Mercer Law School, and was president of his class. He then com- menced the practice of law and practiced at Statenville and Homerville. He was elected cashier of the Bank of Homer- ville and served in this capacity until 1907. In 1908 he mar- ried Luelle Drawdy, daughter of C. C. and Bettie (Smith) Drawdy. They have one child, Elinor, living. Col. Dame was, in 1907, appointed solicitor of the County Court, and served one term of two years. After this he practiced law at Homerville until 19 13, when he removed to Inverness, Fla. Here he was appointed county attorney and also became local counsel for the railroad company. In 191 5 there occurred a vacancy in the office of school superintendent of Citrus County, and Mr. Dame was elected to fill out the unex- pired term. In 1916 he was elected by the people for the full term over two opponents by a large majority. Mr. Dame established the first local telephone system in Homer- ville, which he sold when he removed to Florida. DAME, JOHN THIGPEN, was born in Montgomery County in 1864, the son of George A. and Sarah (Thigpen) Dame. In 1865 his parents removed to Clinch County. He History of Clinch County, Georgia 239 was first married to Miss Olivia Brown, of Savannah, by whom he had two sons, Reva B. and Ray Dame. After her death, in 1 895, he married Miss Kate Harwell, of Homer- ville, iDy whom he had two daughters, Alma and Mary Dame. His second wife dying in 1901, Mr. Dame married Miss Emma Smith, daughter of Jos. P. Smith, of this county, in 1904. They had three children, Olney, Emma and Hoke S. Dame. Mr. Dame was for several years a conductor on the old Plant System of Railways, but in 1890 came to Homer- ville and went into the mercantile business with his brother, George M, Dame. This business is still running. In 1904 Mr, Dame was a successful candidate for Ordinary, defeat- ing J. B. Coon and W. T. Smith. He took charge of the office January ist, 1905, and in 1908 was re-elected, defeat- ing C. H. Smith, and in 19 12, defeated N. N. Langdale. His term of office expires January ist, 1917. Mr. Dame has served as a town councilman and a county registrar, and is a director of the Bank of Homerville. DAUGHARTY, JOHN F., was born in Clinch County November 7th, 1872, the son of Frank and Emily Daugh- arty. He was married May 8th, 1900, to Miss Emma Pat- terson, daughter of Isham Patterson. He entered the turpen- tine business and in this and other lines, has been very suc- cessful. He was elected representative in 1904, defeating S. C. Townsend and S. A. Pierce. He served through the ses- sions of 1905 and 1906. He did not offer for re-election. Mr. Daugharty lives at Edith on the Suwannee River, and has extensive holdings in Clinch County. DICKERSON, CHARLES H., was born in Clinch County, November 4th, 1871, the son of Daniel and Mary Ann Dickerson. He was raised on his father's farm near Homerville, and married Miss Lelia R. Eatman, September 8th, 1892, by whom he had five children. After her death he married Miss Mattie Smith, a daughter of Lyman Smith and a great-granddaughter of Lawrence Smith, a pioneer 240 History of Clinch County, Georgia of Clinch County. By his last marriage there are four chil- dren. In 1908 he was elected tax collector of Clinch county, defeating L. R. Register for re-election. In 19 10 he was re-elected, defeating John G. Griffis by 232 majority. In 191 2, 1914 and 1916 he was re-elected. Besides being tax collector, Mr. Dickerson is a farmer. He is a Mason and a Woodman of the World. His oldest son, H. C, Dickerson, is assistant cashier of the Bank of Homerville. DICKERSON, DANIEL, was born in Ware, now Clinch County, December 27th, 1847, the son of Robert G. and Vicy (Newbern) Dickerson. He was raised on his father's farm not far from where Homerville now is. He married Miss Mary Ann Strickland, daughter of Charles and Lucre- tia (Sirmans) Strickland, July 15th, 1868, and to them was born one son, C. H. Dickerson. In 1874, Daniel Dickerson was elected coroner of Clinch County and commissioned Jan- nary 14th, 1875 ^^^ two years. In the Civil War Mr. Dick- erson joined Co. "C" 22d Georgia Artillery in 1 864, although only a youth. He died at his home near Homerville, Septem- ber 14th, 1906, of paralysis, and was buried at Arabia Church. He is survived by his widow and son. DICKERSON, FRANKLIN, was born in Clinch County, September 12th, 1855, ^^e son of Robert G. Dickerson and Vicy Dickerson. He was raised on his father's farm a few miles north of Homerville, and at the age of twenty married Miss Delilah Fiveash, daughter of Matthew Fiveash. He was married December 23d, 1875. They had six children, the oldest of whom Is Isaac D. Dickerson. In 1888 Mr. Dickerson was elected sheriff of Clinch County, over the incumbent, B. E. Mattox. By continuous re-elections he served until January ist, 1897. He did not seek re-election. Previous to his election as sheriff he was a farmer, but about 1895 he entered the turpentine business with James M. Smith. Their still was located about ten miles south of Homerville. After a year or so of business, the partnership History of Clinch County, Georgia 241 was mutually dissolved and Mr. Dickerson removed to DuPont, where he spent the remainder of his life, dealing principally in horses and mules. His death occurred at his home in DuPont, January 31st, 19 10, of Bright's disease. He is buried at Arabia Church. DICKERSON, JAMES RANSOM, was born in Ware, now Clinch County, December 8th, 1845, ^^e oldest son of Robert G. and Vicy (Newbern) Dickerson. He enlisted in Co. "I" 4th Georgia Cavalry in 1863 and served until 1865. He was married May 7th, 1867 to Miss Martha Smith, daughter of John and Elizabeth (Studstill) Smith. They have five children. Mr. Dickerson was elected coroner in 1868 and served three years. In 1872 he was appointed the first ex-officio J. P. of the io6ist district and served five years. In 1879 he was elected justice of the 106 ist district and served five years. In 1885 he was elected the first justice of the 1389th district and served eight months. In 1887 he M^as re-elected justice and in 1889, but resigned December 3d. In 1892 he was elected as a county commissioner and served on the board until it was abolished. He was chairman of the board during his term. In 1902 he was appointed ex- officio J. P. of the 1389th district, which he held until 1915. Mr. Dickerson is a member of the Primitive Baptist Church and was clerk of Providence or Camp Branch Church twen- ty-five years. He is a Mason, He also has served in other minor capacities, such as constable and jury commissioner. DICKERSON, MARCUS D., was born in Clinch County, February 12th, 1880, the son of David and Malinda (Sir- mans) Dickerson. He attended school as Jasper, Fla., and at Abbeville, Ga., and graduated in June, 1901, from the State University. After being admitted to the bar he settled at Douglas for the practice of law and formed a law part- nership with Col. W. C. Lankford. This partnership ex- isted for several years. He was appointed Solicitor of the City Court of Douglas in 1902 and elected in 1904, and 242 History of Clinch County, Georgia served until 1908. He was married January i8th, 1905, to Miss Ethel Frink, at Douglas, by Rev. T. B. Stanford. In 1 9 10 Colonel Dickerson was elected first solicitor-general of the Waycross Circuit, and was, in 19 14, re-elected without opposition. Colonel Dickerson is the first son of Clinch to occupy this office. DICKERSON, ROBERT G., was born in South Caro- lina, August ist, 1 8 17. His parents died while he was yet a child, and he was brought to this section and reared by Ben- jamin James. When the Indian war came on, Mr. Dicker- son participated in it as a volunteer. He married in 1844, Miss Vicy Newbern, a daughter of John and Argent (O'Steen) Newbern. They had eleven children, viz.: James R., Daniel, David, Franklin, Robert H., Thomas B., George L., Mary Ann, who married Jonathan O'Steen; Elizabeth, who married George L. Newbern ; Rachael, who married B. G. James, and Sarah Ann, who married H. J. Solomon. Mr. Dickerson was elected justice of the peace of the 584th dis- trict of Ware County in 1845, ^^^ commissioned June nth, 1 845. In 1852, he was elected tax collector of Clinch County, and held this office one year. In 1861 he was elected a justice of the Inferior Court of this county and held it four years. On January i6th, 1869, he was commissioned the first ex- officio J. P. of the 1224th district (Homerville) and served until 1872. He qualified as a member of the Board of Edu- cation May 5th, 1875, and served one year. He died Octo- ber 2ist, 1884, ^^^ was buried at Arabia Church. DICKERSON, ROBERT G., JR., was born in Clinch County, October 27th, 1871, the son of David and Malinda (Sirmans) Dickerson. The elder Dickerson died when the son was eleven years old, and he worked on the farm until he was sixteen, when his mother re-married. He obtained his primary education in the local schools and after his mother married, he taught school about five years and took a course in the Florida Normal College at White Springs, Fla. In History of Clinch County, Georgia 243 1892 he was appointed enrolling clerk in the Georgia senate. The next year he read law in the office of Hon. W. M, Ham- mond, of Thomasville. While thus studying law, the treas- urer of Clinch County, A. J. Caswell, died, and Mr. Dicker- son came back home and announced for the office. Although opposed by Chas. F. Hitch, a strong and popular man, he was elected by a majority of 307 votes. This was in 1893. Soon after this he was admitted to the bar in Thomasville. In 1 894 he was re-elected treasurer for the full term. He opened a law office in Homerville, and has since practiced there. He was nominated for representative in the primary of 1896, and resigned the treasurer's office October 12th, 1896. The same day he was elected representative, defeating M. S. Corbitt, his Populist opponent by 255 votes. In the sessions of 1896 and 1897, Colonel Dickerson served on the Finance, Educa- tion, Penitentiary and General Judiciary Committees of the House. It was during this session that he made a state-wide reputation on the public school and convict questions. His work on the finance committee in behalf of the public schools is considered one of the best managed pieces of legislation that has come before that committee. By hard and enthu- siastic work he impressed every member of the committee with the fact that the public schools of the State lacked money to make them sustaining, and his labors were rewarded with an additional appropriation of $400,000 for the common schools. In 1898 he announced for the Democratic nomina- tion for State senator, and was nominated by a majority of 442 votes over his nearest opponent, Col. S. L. Drawdy. In the following general election he defeated W. A. Ecord, his Populist opponent, by 232 votes. In 1901, when the County Court of Clinch County was created, he was appointed solic- itor and served by re-appointments until 1907. In 1902 he was a member of the State Democratic Executive Commit- tee, and has been chairman of the county executive commit- tee several times. In 191 2 he was a member of the Georgia delegation to the National Democratic Convention, which 244 History of Clinch County, Georgia nominated Woodrow Wilson for President. In 19 14 Colonel Dickerson defeated Dr. A. H. Culpepper for representative by 388 majority. He served through the sessions of 19 15 and 19 1 6. He figured very conspicuously in the passage of the new prohibition law and the State Railroad legislation during the 191 5 session, championing each measure. Colonel Dickerson was married June 29th, 1897, to Miss Orie L. Moon, daughter of Mr. and Mrs. James Nelson Moon, of Scottsville, Va. The wedding took place at the home of the bride and was in important social event. Congressman W. G. Brantley was best man. Mr. and Mrs. Dickerson have four sons, the oldest of whom is R. G. Dickerson, third, who is studying law. Colonel Dickerson has been for several years a director of the Bank of Homerville, and was in 19 13 elected its president, succeeding H. J. Peagler, deceased. He has also served in various minor positions, such as town council- man and local school trustee and town clerk. DICKERSON, WALTER T., was born in Clinch County, February 8th, 1878, the son of David and Malinda (Sir- mans) Dickerson. After receiving a primary education in the common schools he attended the Georgia Normal College at Abbeville. Coming back home he taught school a few years and was in 1899 elected county school commissioner, succeed- ing C. H. Smith, resigned. Mr. Dickerson was just twenty- one years old. He was admitted to the bar in 1901 and formed a partnership with Jesse Grantham, which continued a year or two, as Dickerson & Grantham. He was re-elected county school commissioner successively until 191 1, when he resigned. He was in 19 10 nominated State senator by a majority of 434 over Senator F. B. Sirmans. He served through the sessions of 191 1 and 191 2. In 1913 he was ap- pointed solicitor of the County Court and re-appointed in 19 1 5, which he now holds. Colonel Dickerson is vice-presi- dent of the Bank of Homerville, a position which he has held since 1905. He married Miss Tobitha Pearson, a daughter History of Clinch County, Georgia 245 of Benaje Pearson, of Coffee County, by whom he has a daughter and two sons. DRAWDY, SHERMAN LEE, was born In Charlton County, April i8th, 1865, the son of John J. and Elizabeth (Patten) Drawdy. In 1869 his parents moved to Clinch County and settled near Homerville. He was raised up on his father's farm, but having a desire to study law, he began to study Blackstone and other standard commentaries at home; later he entered the law office of Hon. John C. Nichols at Blackshear, where he read law. Returning home, he was admitted to the bar at the October term, 1888, of Clinch Superior Court. Later he was admitted to practice in the higher courts. He has practiced law in Homerville since first admitted and has never formed any law partnerships. He was married January 24th, 1898 to Miss Lucy Moore, daugh- ter of Hon. Henry C. and Fannie C. (Smith) Moore. In the primary of 1900 he was a candidate for representative and defeated Hon. Rowan B. Johnson by 196 votes in the pri- mary, and in the general election easily defeated his Populist opponent, William Barlow. He did not offer for re-election. In 1908 he was again elected representative, defeating Judge S. C. Townsend after a very hot race. He served through the session of 1909 and 19 10. It was during this session that he introduced and passed the bill creating the new Waycross Judicial Circuit. In 19 13 he was appointed judge of the County Court of Clinch County for four years. He was mayor of Homerville 1907- 1909. He is a Mason and a Woodman. DUKES, EDWARD TAYLOR, was born in Thomas County, Ga., December 12th, 1846, but was reared in Brooks County. He joined the Confederate Army in May, 1864, Co. "B" ist Georgia Reserves, McLaw's Division. In 1865 he was mustered out. Two years later he came to Homer- ville, where he engaged in the mercantile business. He was a candidate for clerk of the Superior Court in 1872, and 246 History of Clinch County, Georgia defeated David O'Quin and P. M. Lee. He was com- missioned January i8th, 1873. He removed back to his old home in Brooks County in 1874, shortly before his term was out, leaving his deputies in charge of the clerk's office. He engaged in the mercantile business in Quitman, where he still lives. In 1870 Mr. Dukes was married to Miss Lucy E. Wade, and by her had a son, Edward Scott Dukes, who died upon reaching manhood. Mrs. Dukes died in 1871, and in 1876 he married Miss Arie Bryan, who died in 1881. One daughter was born to them, Nellie Leland Dukes. Ten years after the death of his second wife, Mr. Dukes married Miss Mattie E. Roundtree, of Quitman, and they have one daugh- ter, Frances R. Dukes. DuPONT, AUGUSTUS, christened John Peter Au- gustus DuPont, Jr., was the son of Capt. J. P. A. DuPont and wife, Eliza G. Nichols, and was born in Savannah, Ga. September 17th, 1856, and with his family removed to Clinch County about 1858. He was raised up at Lawton or DuPont, and received a good education. He graduated from Roanoke College, Salem, Va., with first honors and also from the University Law School in Iowa in 1880. He soon returned home, however, and settled down, and resigned the practice of law. In 1 88 1, when DuPont was re-incorporated he was named its mayor. He was appointed on the adjutant-general's staff of the State militia, which he held for seventeen years. In 1900 he was elected as commissioner from the State of Georgia to the Paris Exposition, but was unfortunately taken sick and prevented from going. In 1904, Hon. R. B. John- son, representative from Clinch County, died, leaving a va- cancy to which the County Democratic Executive Committee nominated Mr. DuPont, who was elected at a special elec- tion held July i6t.h, 1904. In the next election he did not offer for re-election. Mr. DuPont served through the session of 1904. After this he lived in retirement at the old family home in DuPont, until his death In a local hospital in Savan- History of Clinch County, Georgia 247 nah, Feb. 27th, 19 13, and was buried in Valdosta. He was survived by a daughter, Eliza Gussie DuPont, who since her marriage resides in Charleston, S. C. ECORD, WILLIAM AUGUSTUS, was born in Lin- coln County, Ga., September 20th, 1846. When the Civil War broke out he joined the Confederate Army in 1861, joining Co. "G" 22d Georgia Regiment. He served through the war, being wounded at the Battle of Sharpersburg. After the war was over Mr. Ecord was mustered out at Appomat- tox court-house, and came back to Georgia and settled in Coffee County, where he married Miss Victoria Fussell, December 23d, 1871. In 1875 he removed to Homerville and entered the mercantile business. On January 30th, 1884, Mr, Ecord was appointed by the Ordinary as clerk of the Superior Court to succeed B. R. Johnson, who had removed from the county. Soon afterwards he was elected at a special election and commissioned March 4th, 1884, ^o'' the unex- pired term. In 1885 he was re-elected and by continuous re- elections served until 1893. When the Populist Party was. formed in Clinch County, Mr. Ecord joined it, and was their candidate for clerk in 1892, but was defeated by S. W. Reg- ister, his Democrat opponent. In 1898 Mr. Ecord was the Populist candidate for State senator, and in 1896 for clerk. His first wife having died, Mr. Ecord married March loth, 1 90 1, Mrs. Eliza L, Mattox, daughter of Rev. Robert F. Lanier and widow of Dr. L. C. Mattox. By his first wife Mr. Ecord had four children, James Monroe, Atticus Haygood. George Pierce and Lizzie L. Ecord, who married H. L. Mat- tox. There are no children by his second wife. Mr. Ecord is a member of the Homerville Methodist Church, and in 1900-6 was superintendent of the Sunday School. He has also served as church steward and as recording steward. To- gether with his wife, they own and operate the Ecord Hotel in Homerville. 248 History of Clinch County, Georgia FENDER, DAVID C, was born about 1848, the son of W. F. and Anna Fender. He was reared at Stockton, where he lived until his death. He married Mattie, daughter of Barzilla Staten, Jr., May 4th, 1881, and they had several children. Mr. Fender Vv^as nominated for representative in the primary of 1898 over R. B. Johnson and J. H. Inman, and in the general election which followed, defeated Hon. M. S. Corbitt, his Populist opponent by 215 votes. He served through the sessions of 1898 and 1899 and was one of the most faithful members of the House in attendance. He was always present at each roll call. He did not offer for re-election. His death occured at his home near Stockton, October I4t.h, 1901. Mr. Fender was also a member of the Board of Education for several years and was its president four years. FINDLEY, JOHN QUINCEY, was born in Tattnall County, about 1820. He married Miss Lusina Findley, and by her had one child, William R. Findley. He came to Clinch County about 1850 and settled near the Echols County line, on Cow Creek. He was elected coroner of Clinch County in 1857 and commissioned January 13th, 1858. He served until 1 861. When the Civil War came on he left his farm and joined the Confederate Army, O'Steen's company, which was organized at Homerville, in 1862. The next year he died of pneumonia at Lynchburg, Va., while in the army. He was survived by his widow and son. Mrs. Findley died in 1909, FINDLEY, STEPHEN DECATUR, was born in Jef- ferson County, Fla., near Monticello, March i6th, 1843, the son of Asa Findley. When he was yet a boy his father removed to a place on Cow Creek in then Ware, later Clinch but now Echols County. Here he grew to manhood and when the Civil War came on he enlisted in Co. "G" 51st Georgia Regiment from Echols County, in March 1862. After the company arrived at the front, Mr. Findley, and a few of History of Clinch County, Georgia 249 his comrades, were assigned to a company from Quitman County, under command of Captatin John P. Crawford. He was captured twice, the first time he was confined in Fort Delaware twenty-four days and paroled. He got back in the Confederate lines and re-enlisted. He was captured again, just three days before Lee surrendered, and put in prison, being released July 14th, 1865. Captain Crawford remarked of young Findley just before the surrender that Mr. Findley had answered to his name in the roll calls of the company more times than any other man in the company. Returning home, Mr. Findley married Miss Mary G. Fiveash, daugh- ter of Matthew Fiveash and his wife, Mary Dame. They had six children. He purchased a farm just above Homerville, where he settled October 9th, 1873; here he lived a few years, then moving to his present home a mile distant. In 1880 Mr. Findley was elected coroner of Clinch County and commissioned January 13th, 188 1, for two years. Later he served as a constable of the 1224th district. He is now living in Homerville engaged in the hotel business. FINDLEY, WILLIAM RILEY, was born in Clinch County, May 25th, 1857, the son of John Q. and Lusina Findley. His father died in the war when the son was only a few years old, and the son was thus deprived of a father's help in his early age. Mr. Findley was reared on a farm, and married Mrs. Emma Weaver, of Randolph County, May 25th, 1882, by whom he has five children. About this time Mr. Findley settled near Homerville, where he lived until his removal to Berrien County in 19 10. He returned to Homerville in 19 14, and now lives on a farm near town. He was elected coroner of Clinch County in 1904, and com- missioned October 17th, 1904. By continuous re-elections he served until his removal from the county in 19 10. GAINES, WILLIAM, came to Clinch County during the Civil War and settled in the Magnolia district. He was a native of Ireland, where he was born in 1824. His wife. 250 History of Clinch County, Georgia Ellen, was a native of Canada, where she was born in 1829. They had four children, Mary A., John G., William F., and Helen J. Gaines, who were born in 1854, 1857, 1863 and 1867, respectively. Mr. Gaines was elected county surveyor in 1868 and served until 1871. He later removed to Chat- ham County, where he died. GARY, WILLIAM H., was born in Hancock County, June 14th, 1834. He was married to Miss Mary Hannah, and by her had three children. Previous to and during the war, he was an employee of the Central of Georgia Railroad. From here (Savannah) he removed to Florida, locating at Ellabelle, where he entered the lumber business. He devoted some few years to this business, but as a financial venture did not succeed. He lost his wife there and shortly afterwards came to Homerville. Here he married Mrs. Elizabeth E. Hodges, widow of John W. Hodges, January 8th, 1880. There were no children by his second marriage. Mr. Gary lived a quiet life in Homerville, attending to his farm and such other work. He was a member of the Baptist Church and was very instrumental in organizing this church at Homerville. He served as church deacon, church clerk and Sunday School superintendent. He served several years on the board of jury commissioners, and when in 1889 the Board of County Commissioners was created, he was named on it, and was subsequently chosen as chairman of the Board. He held the office of county treasurer about a month follow- ing the death of Treasurer Henry C. Moore, in 1891. He was appointed treasurer by the Ordinary June 23d, 1891. He was a candidate for treasurer in 1892 for the full term, but was defeated by A. J. Caswell; also a candidate in 1896. He also was mayor of Homerville three or four years, and was a town commissioner under the old charter. His death oc- curred Sept. 14th, 1 90 1, age 67 years. He had previously been suffering of bone cancer in his head and this was the cause of his death. He was buried in the Homerville ceme- History of Clinch County, Georgia 251 tery. Resolutions of the Baptist Church speak loud praise justly due him. GIBBS, AUSTIN JAMES, was born in Clinch County four miles south of DuPont, December 23d, 1867. tie was raised on a farm and went to school about six months. He commenced clerking in a country store at the age of fifteen, acquiring most of his education in that way. He was married to Miss Lillie Harris, daughter of Joseph Harris, of DuPont, June 20th, 1895. There are no children. Mr. Gibbs enter- ed the employ of the railroad company and was agent at DuPont from May 11, 1902, until December 15, 1905, and resigned that position to enter the service of the G. F. & A. Railroad. He served as agent for that road at Quincy, Fla,, and Bainbridge, Ga., and as car accountant. He resigned this position to accept the management of the naval stores busi- ness of Cranford-Lastinger Co., at Sirmans, Ga., which posi- tion he held until he was elected clerk of the Superior Court. He was nominated in the primary over Hon. S. W. Register, and took charge of the office January ist, 1909. He served about two months as deputy under A. O. Register, his prede- cessor. He has since, by continuous re-elections, served as clerk, being re-elected in 19 16. GIBBS, GEORGE DAME, was born in Clinch County, June 25th, 1858, the son of John and Charity (Dame) Gibbs. He was raised upon a farm and in 1879 married Miss Angie Dampier, daughter of James Dampier, of this county, by whom he had four children. He was elected coroner of Clinch County in 1890, and commissioned January loth, 1 89 1. He was taken sick with tvphoid fever and died at his home above DuPont, November loth, 1891, survived by .his wife and four children. His widow married John J. Drawdy in 1896. GIDDENS, DUNCAN, was bom in North Carolina in 1 8 10, and came to this State a young man. His first wife's name was Savility, by whom he had several children. After 252 History of Clinch County, Georgia her death he married a Joyce, He was commissioned a jus- tice of the Inferior Court January 24th, 1854, and served two years. He did not hold any other office. Mr. Giddens lived in the io6ist district, and .his death occurred September 8th, 1881. GIDDENS, MOSES, was born in Appling, later Ware County, in 1 82 1. In 1840 he married Miss Pollie Mathis, by whom he had ten children. He came to what Is now Clinch County about 1836, and lived here for about forty years, afterwards moving to Coffee County, where he died. In 1853 he was elected tax collector of Clinch County, and served one year. When the war broke out, Mr. Giddens joined Co. "G" 29th Georgia Regiment, which was organized in Berrien County. He served through the war. His death occurred in January, 1906, age 85 years. GRIFFIN, WILLIAM W., was born in South Caro- lina in 1809, and early in life came to this State, where he lived until his death with the exception of a few years in Florida. He became an early convert to Methodism and was subsequently licensed to preach. He was the first stationed preacher of the M. E. Church at Thomasville. Later he joined the Florida conference and served as a presiding elder for a period, making the trip by buggy to Cedar Keys, thence by boat to Key West, where he was stationed a short while. Later he was transferred back to the Georgia conference and was stationed at Homerville, where his daughter, Mrs. L. A. Slrmans, was living. Here he lived several years, hold- ing the position of railroad agent awhile. In 1868 he was elected Ordinary, defeating J. L. Sweat. He served in this capacity three years. Subsequently Rev. Griffin, with his son-in-law. Colonel Sirmans, and their families, removed to Stone Mountain, in DeKalb County, where he died in 1879. His wife, Ann, was born in 18 16, and survived him. GRIFFIS, WILLIAM, was born in Ware, now Clinch County, March nth, 1841, the son of Juniper Griffis. He History of Clinch County, Georgia 253 was raised on his father's farm, and when the Civil War came on he joined the Confederate Army at Waynesville, Ga., joining Co. "I" 4th Georgia Cavalry. He was captured in the winter of 1863, at Fort Gates, Fla., from which time until the close of the war he was held a prisoner by the Fed- erals. He was married March 12th, 1867 to Miss Olive Sears, daughter of Hiram Sears, of Coffee County, by whom he had three daughters and two sons. He was elected justice of the peace of the io6ist district in 1875, and served two years. In 1886 he was elected tax collector of Clinch County, and commissioned January 8th, 1887. He served two years. In the fall of 1888 he removed to Ware County and settled at Millwood, where he lived and farmed until his death, May 25th, 19 1 5. HENDERSON, JOHN S., known also as "Jack" Hen- derson, was born in this State May 9th, 1 807. He was among the first settlers of Ware County, and lived there until 1855, when he removed to Clinch County. He settled in Clinch, on the old T. F. Morgan place, but later moved to near Homerville, where fTe died. He was first married to Miss Pollie Fulwood, a sister of Hon. James Fulwood, of Ware County, and by her had three sons, William, John and Ran- dall Henderson. After his first wife's death, Mr. Henderson married in February, 1840, Miss Sallie King, a sister to Judge Ziba King. By this marriage they had the following children; Duncan J., Marcus F., James C, Alfred, Belinda, Nancy, who married Joel G. Griffis; Julius S., Martha, who married C. H. Smith; Simon W., and Bartow A. Hender- son. Mr. Henderson was a justice of the Inferior Court of Ware County, 1835-7, ^"^ clerk of the Superior and Inferior Courts of Ware County, 1836-8. He served as representa- tive from Ware County in the sessions of 1844 and 1845. After his removal to Clinch, he was elected to the Inferior Court in 1858, and served three years. After this he lived a retired life on his farm near Homerville until his death. 254 History of Clinch County, Georgia March 25th, 1883. His remains were buried in the Homer- ville cemetery beside those of his wife, who died in July, 1879. HITCH, SIMON W., was born in Jones County, in 1848, the son of Sylvanus and Ann A. (Nichols) Hitch. When his father settled at Homerville, about the close of the war, young Hitch also came, and served awhile as clerk of the County Court under Judge Z. King during 1866-7. In 1870 he was admitted to the bar at Homerville and practiced law at Homerville several years until his removal to Waycross, where he lived until he died. In 1871, he was at the age of twenty-three elected solicitor-general of the Superior Courts of the Brunswick Circuit, and held this office ten years. Col. Hitch remained in the active practice of law until 19 10, when he retired on account of age and health. Col. Hitch died in Waycross, September i8th, 1915, and was buried there. He was married and had several children. HITCH, CHARLES F., was born June 30th, 1855, in Jones County, the son of Sylvanus and Ann (Nichols) Hitch. He was reared principally in Homerville, and when a young man entered the mercantile business in Homerville. He mar- ried Miss Alice Mattox, daughter of H. P. Mattox, and by her had one child, Ruth Hitch. On the death of A. J. Cas- well, county treasurer, Mr. Hitch was appointed county treasurer August 21st, 1893, by the county commissioners. At the succeeding special election he was defeated by Robert G. Dickerson for the unexpired term. Mr. Hitch served as treasurer about one month. His death occurred June 30th, 1894, and he was buried in the Homerville cemetery. His widow married D. O. Ratliff in 1896, and is now living in Bartow, Fla. HODGES, ARCHIBALD, was born in Liberty County, November 5th, 1804. He came to what is now Clinch County about 1850 and settled here. He married Fannie, daughter of George W. Delk, and by her had several chil- dren, one of them, Edward C. Hodges, still living in this History of Clinch County, Georgia 255 county. Mr. Hodges, Sr., was elected a justice of the peace of the io6ist district in 1851 and held the office two years. On January 24th, 1854 he was commissioned a justice of the Inferior Court, which he held four years. Mr. Hodges died October 25th, 1862, at his home in the 106 ist district and is buried at Arabia Church. He was a brother of John W. Hodges, who came to Clinch in 1853. HOWELL, WILLIAM T., was born in Pulaski County, in 1847, ^^^ with his parents came to Clinch County at an early age. He joined the Confederate Army in 1864, Co. "H" 4th Georgia Cavalry, and served until the close of the war. He married Salina, daughter of Judge John L. Mor- gan, February iith, 1874, and by her had several children. After her death he married a daughter of P. W. Courson. In the primary of 1900 Mr. Howell defeated George Cor- nelius for Ordinary, and was elected in the general election following, defeating his Populist opponent, Martin S. Cor- bitt. He assumed charge of the office January ist, 1901, and served four years, and did not seek re-election. He was ap- pointed on the county board of tax assessors in 19 14 and served until January ist, 19 16. His death occurred at his home in the 586th district, January 20th, 19 16, and was buried at the Fender graveyard. HUNTER, WILLIAM HENRY, was born in Clinch County, November i8th, 1867, ^"^ was raised on a farm. He married Miss Mary Jane David, daughter of J. J. David, formerly of Clinch, but then of Lowndes County. To them were born nine children, eight of whom are living. Mr. Hunter was for many years employed by the G. S. Baxter Company at Fargo, in this county, but in 191 1 removed to Homerville and bought a farm and entered the grocery business. In 191 2 he was a candidate for county treasurer, but was defeated by Randall Corbitt by one vote in the pri- mary. In 1 9 14 he was again a candidate, and was elected, defeating George M. Bennett by forty-six votes. He took 256 History of Clinch County, Georgia charge of the office January ist, 1915. His term of office will expire January ist, 1917, after which the treasurer's office is abolished by Legislative Act, passed in 191 5. HARPER, BENJAMIN A., the fourth son of Samuel S. and Sarah C. (Sellers) Harper, was born in Bucksville, S. C, February loth, 1869; with his parents he came to Clinch County at an early age. He married Mrs. Sarah J. (Carmichael) Kirkland, widow of Franklin D. Kirkland, in 1 89 1. He served a short while as constable of the 1389th district and four years as postmaster at Argyle. In 1899 he was commissioned justice of the peace of the 1389th district an(f served until 19 10, when he resigned. In the primary of 1 910 he was elected representative from Clinch County, by forty-seven majority over David J. Smith and A. H. Cul- pepper. He served through the sessions of 1911-12. He was licensed as local preacher of the Methodist Episcopal Church, South, in 19 12, and served four years as supply for Glenmore charge. He is a Mason and Woodman of the World. HUGHES, FRANCIS MARION, was born in what is now Clinch County, September 28th, 1849, ^^^ son of Wil- liam and Nancy Hughes. He was married and had several children. He was reared upon his father's farm and farm- ing was his life-long occupation. In 1892 he was elected on the Board of County Commissioners and served two years. In 1898 he was appointed on the Board of Education and served as its president the last nine years of his life. His death occurred at his home near DuPont, August loth, 19 13, and he was buried at the North cemetery. HUGHES, JOHN FRANKLIN, was born in Clinch County, July 20th, 1875, the son of Jeptha and Catherine (Gibbs) Hughes, and a grandson of William Hughes, a pioneer citizen of Clinch. Mr. Hughes was reared on his father's farm near DuPont, and was married about 1904 to Miss Mary Register, daughter of O. P. Register, by whom History of Clinch County, Georgia 257 he has one son. In 1902 he was nominated for county treas- urer, and elected over John G. Griffis by 202 votes. He was re-elected in 1904 and 1906, and retired from the office Jan- uary 1st, 1909. He removed to Homerville during his incum- bency as treasurer, and entered the grocery business. He operated this until 1908, when he was elected cashier of the Bank of Homerville. He held this position until 191 1, when he resigned and removed to St. Mary's, Ga., where he ac- cepted the same position with the Bank of Camden County, which he still holds. HUTTO, ISAAC D., was born in South Carolina in 18 18 and came to Georgia when a young man. He married Sarah, daughter of Joshua Lee. They had no children, but adopted a son, Jackson Hutto, who was a son of James Newman, de- ceased. Mr. Hutto early in life joined the Primitive Baptist Church and was ordained a minister. He served Prospect Church as its pastor many years. In 1855 he was elected tax collector of Clinch County and re-elected the next year, serv- ing until 1857. He lived to be about eighty years old, and died at his home above DuPont. He is buried at Prospect Church. HUXFORD, FOLKS, was born in Coffee County, Novem- • ber i6th, 1893, the son of Calvitt and Kansas (Drawdy) <- Huxford. In 1906 his parents removed to Homerville. In 1 9 10 he commenced working in the office of the clerk of the Superior Court, and worked there several years. In 19 15 he was appointed constable of the 1224th district, and the same year was elected the clerk of the Board of County Commis- sioners in September, which position he still holds. He was also appointed one of the county registrars in 19 16, and is deputy clerk of the County Court under Judge S. L. Drawdy. He married February 21st, 1913, Miss Orie L. Kirkland, daughter of D. E. and Meddie (Register) Kirkland, and by her has one daughter. He is a member of the Methodist Church. He served as acting postmaster at Homerville for 258 History of Clinch County, Georgia about six months following the death of Postmaster D. E. Kirkland in November, 19 13. JEFFORDS, JERRY M., was born in Ware County, about 1845, ^"d was married to Mary Herren, daughter of Levi Herren, Sr., about 1868. He was appointed constable of the 106 1 St district in 1873 and served a few years, and in 1880 was elected sheriff of Clinch County, and commis- sioned January 13th, 1881. He was re-elected sheriff in 1882 and 1884. Subsequently removed to Ware County where he died about 1908. He had a son, Harmon V. Jeffords, Jr. JACKSON, FRANCIS MARION, was born in Alabama, July 15th, 1825. When the Mexican War commenced, he enlisted in the army and saw active service in that war. Later he came and settled in Clinch County, and when the Civil War broke out Mr. Jackson was very instrumental in organ- izing companies in Clinch County for service in the Confed- erate Army. He was elected captain of Co. "H" 29th Georgia, and served as second sergeant in Co. "I" 4th Geor- gia Cavalry. After the war he was elected justice of the peace of the 586th district and served about a year. In 1892 Captain Jackson was elected on the Board of County Com- missioners and served two years. He lived to the ripe age of 87 and died October 12th, 19 12. He was buried at the Lovejoy graveyard. Captain Jackson was counted as one of the county's ablest and most intelligent men of his day, and was an excellent officer during the war. He married Miss Mary Griffin, daughter of Noah H. Griffin, of Clinch County, and they raised a large family of children. JOHTVSON, BRYANT R., was born in Clinch County in 1 861, the son of Rowan B. and Alief (Tomlinson) John- son. He was raised on his father's farm, and at the age of twenty-one was elected cleric of the Superior Court, and com- missioned January 9th, 1883. The office in those days was not such a remunerative office, consequently after holding office about a year, Mr. Johnson removed from the county, History of Clinch County, Georgia 259 leaving Isbin Tomlinson, his deputy, in charge. He subse- quently lived in Macon and was a railroad employee. He married Martha Ann, daughter of John Moore, and had several children. JOHNSON, DAVID, was born in this State, January 29th, 1802, the son of David Johnson, Sr., and was one of the first settlers of the county. He took an active part in the Creek Indian war of 1836-38, and commanded a company in this war, and from this he earned the title of "General." He married Miss Nancy Burnett, and by her had: Rowan B. Johnson, Martha (drowned), David H. Johnson, Joseph B, Johnson, Bryant Johnson, Melvina, who married Harris Sirmans; William Johnson, Cassie and Eliza, who married Joseph Jones. Bryant and William Johnson were killed in the Civil War. When the first election for justices of the Inferior Court was held for the new County of Clinch in 1850, General Johnson was elected one of the justices. In 1 86 1 he was again elected, but was succeeded in the following September by R. G. Dickerson. General Johnson died April loth, 1879, ^g^ 77 years, survived by his wife and several children. JOHNSON, DAVID H., was born in what is now Clinch County in 1835, the son of General David Johnson. He married Rebecca Tomlinson, daughter of Harris Tomlinson, Sr., about 1856, and by her had several children, all daugh- ters except one, James T. Johnson. He was elected a justice of the peace of the 586th district in 1864; again in 1865 and J 869. In 1874 he v/as elected sheriff of Clinch County and commissioned January 14th, 1875. He was re-elected in 1876 and served until 1879. On February 14th, 1891 he was commissioned justice of the peace of the 1280th district and served until 1897. April 22d, 1902, he was commis- sioned ex-ofl^icio justice of the peace of the same district and served until his death, which occurred at his home near DuPont, April 4th, 1903. 2 6o History of Clinch County, Georgia JOHNSON, ISHAM F., was born in Liberty County, about 1810, and settled in this section about 1845. He was a brother-in-law of Elijah Mattox, Mr. Mattox marrying Lavinia Johnson. He was commissioned a justice of the peace of the 719th district of Ware County March loth, 1848, also on March 31st, 1849, ^^^ March ist, 1852. He was elected one of the first justices of the Inferior Court of Clinch County in 1850, serving until 1853. Mr. Johnson married Miss Martha Darsey, of Liberty County, and had several children. He lived in the southern part of the county. He died about 1875. JOHNSON, JOSEPH B., was born in Ware, now Clinch County, in 1832, the son of General David Johnson. He lived in this county all his life. He was elected surveyor of Clinch County in 1854 and re-elected in 1856, serving until 1857. Li the Civil War he was a private in Co. "H" 29th Georgia Infantry, and served throughout the war. He died October 12th, 1881. Mr. Johnson was never married. JOHNSON, RILEY, was born in what is now Clinch County in 1847, the son of John J. Johnson, for many years a resident of Homerville. He married Miss Lizzie Tison, of Homerville,, June 9th, 1 867, and by her had several children. At the age of twenty-one he was elected county treasurer of Clinch County, defeating James C. Cooper. His official bond for $4,000 is dated August 29th, 1868. He soon re- signed the office, and Allen Smith was appointed in the fol- lowing November for the unexpired term. In later years Mr. Johnson removed to Florida, where he died. JOHNSON, ROWAN B., was born in Lowndes County, November 29th, 1830, the son of General David Johnson. When he was only three years old his father removed to Ware (now Clinch) County, where he was raised to man- hood. When he was only sixteen years of age he was elected captain of the militia district at a time when it was regarded as a local distinction. In 1851 he was elected a justice of the History of Clinch County, Georgia 261 peace of the 970th district and served about one year. He married in 1847, Miss Alief Tomlinson, daughter of John TomHnson, Sr., by whom he had two children, one of whom, B. R. Johnson, was in 1882 elected clerk of the Superior Court. In 1862 Mr. Johnson, Sr., enlisted in Co. "B" 2d Georgia Regiment, western division, and was commissioned captain. Returning home in 1865 he was elected a justice of the Inferior court, and served until that court was abolished. In 1862 Mr. Johnson's wife died, and he married Miss Caro- line Floyd, daughter of Jason Floyd, of Liberty County, by whom he had three children. His second wife dying in 1872, Mr. Johnson married Mrs. Emaline Clifton, widow of Wm. H. Clifton and daughter of George Dame, Sr. She died and he married Miss Carrie Day, of DuPont, who survived him. Mr. Johnson was elected to the Legislature four times and was as many times defeated for it. He was first elected in 1884, defeating M. M. Caswell. In 1886 he was defeated by John C. Humphreys for re-election. In 1889 he was elected at a special election to fill out the unexpired term of James P. Mattox, deceased. In 1890 he was defeated for re-election by his Populist opponent. Dr. L. C. Mattox. In 1892 he was again elected, defeating John C. Humphreys and Elias Grifiis in the primary and E. C. Hodges, Third Party, in the general election. In 1898 he was defeated in the primary by D. C, Fender, and in 1900 by Col. S. L. Drawdy. In 1902 he was elected, defeating Col. S. C. Town- send in the primary. He took his seat and served through the session of 1902 and 1903, and when the Legislature convened in 1904 he was taken sick, which proved to be his last illness. He died June 19th, 1904, and was buried at Prospect Church. He was seventy-four years old at his death. He was a very familiar figure in the legislative halls and was an able, and conservative legislator. JONES, JOHN C, was born in Sampson County, N. C, January 25th, 1852, and early in life his parents removed to 262 History of Clinch County, Georgia Wilcox County, Ga. From there they removed to Clinch County when John C. Jones was sixteen years old. In his youth he happened to a misfortune by being bitten by a snake, by which he came near losing his life. It left him a cripple the remainder of his life, completely losing the use of his legs. In 1880 he was elected tax receiver of Clinch County and commissioned January 13th, 1881. He was continuously re- elected over all opposition until his death. He had just been re-nominated for the office in 1904, when he died. He mar- ried in 1894 to Mrs. Fannie C. Moore, widow of Henry C. Moore, and daughter of Jesse Smith, and by her had two children, John T. Jones and Fannie L. Jones. His first wife having died, Mr. Jones married in 1902, Mrs. Ellen D. O'Quin, widow of E. W. O'Quin, and daughter of James C. Smith. Mr, Jones died at his home in Homerville June 5th, 1904, of paralysis, and was buried in the Homerville cemetery. He was a very consistent member of the Homer- ville Baptist Church for many years, and was for several years prior to his death clerk of the church. JOYCE, HENRY, was born in Ware, now Clinch County, June 26th, 1831, the son of Martin Joyce. He mar- ried Rebecca, daughter of Moses Tomlinson, Sr., and by her had several children. On January loth, 1854, he was com- missioned tax collector of Clinch County and served one year. Mr. Joyce lived in the Mud Creek district and was a member of the Primitive Baptist Church. He died at his home March 21st, 1907, and is buried at Arabia Church. KIGHT, JAMES M., was born in Ware County, Septem- ber 9th, 1835, *^he son of Hiram and Sallie (Smith) Kight. He was raised in what is now Clinch County and since 1858 has been living on his present farm about three miles South of Argyle. He was married in 1857 to Mary Strickland, daughter of Aaron Strickland, by whom he had five children. His first wife dying about 1900, Mr. Kight married Miss Adilene Kight, daughter of Thomas Kight, by whom he has History of Clinch County, Georgia 263 one son. In 1870 Mr. Kight was elected coroner of Clinch County and commissioned February 7th, 1871 for two years. In the Civil War Mr. Kight served in the Confederate Army from 1862 to the close, in Co. "K" 26t.h Georgia Regiment. On July 2d, 1885, Mr. Kight was commissioned ex-officio justice of the peace of the 1389th district, an office which he held for thirteen years. When the Populist Party was formed in Clinch County, Mr. Kight joined them, and served as a Populist on the board of registrars of Clinch County for six years, beginning 1898. KING, ZIBA, was born in Appling County, later Ware, November 29th, 18 18. After Clinch was created he came to this county where he resided until 1868, when he removed to Manatee County, Fla. He was elected justice of the peace of the 970th district and commissioned August 24th, i860, and served four years. On May loth, 1866 he was com- missioned judge of the first County Court of Clinch County, and served about two years, when he removed to Florida. Judge King first settled in Manatee County, later in DeSoto County, Florida, accumulating a nice fortune there in the cattle business. He was married May 28th, 1868, to Fannie A. Tanley, but subsequently divorced, and later married Miss Florida Brewer, July 24th, 1870, by whom he had eight chil- dren. His death occurred March 7th, 1901, he was survived bv his wife and children and his remains were buried in the cemetery at Fort Ogden, Fla. A daughter of Judge King married J. E. T. Bowden, who in 191 6, was candidate for Congress from the eleventh district of Georgia. KIRKLAND, JOHN COBB, was born in Appling County, June 27th, 1824. He participated in the Indian war of 1836-38, although only a lad, and at the age of twenty- two was elected justice of the peace of the 970th district, then in Ware County. In 1850, when Clinch County was created, Mr. Kirkland was elected first clerk of the Superior and In- ferior Courts. He was commissioned April 12th, 1850, and 264 History of Clinch County, Georgia served until 1852. In 1854 he was elected justice of the peace of the io6ist district being re-elected in 1857, 1861 and 1865. He was one of the first settlers of Homerville, and in 1872 was commissioned ex-officio justice of the peace of the Homerville district. He was reappointed in 1876, 1880, 1885, 1889, 1893, 1897 and 1901, and held the office at the time of his death. Mr. Kirkland was first married to Miss Elizabeth Nettles, daughter of Martin and Cassie (New- bern) Nettles, and by her had five sons: Franklin D. Kirk- land, James Seaborn Kirkland, William G. Kirkland, John B. Kirkland and Joseph G. Kirkland. His first wife having died, Mr. Kirkland married Miss Vasti Stafford, daughter of Edmund Stafford, March 31st, 1872. By this marriage he had nine children, viz. : David E. Kirkland, Ada, Delia, Zilla, Edmund S., Emma, Kizzie, Berry C. and Thomas M. Kirkland. Mr. Kirkland died on his 80th birthday, June 27th, 1904, after an illness of about two weeks, and was buried in the Homerville cemetery. His widow died in 1907. Mr. Kirkland had never been sick from the time he was a boy until his last illness, and his strength and vigor was maintained despite his advancing old age. KIRTON, SAMUEL R., was born in Georgetown, S. C, July 25th, 1867. His father died when he was about two years old, and was probate judge of his county at the time. In 1886 Mr. Kirton graduated from the South Carolina Mil- itary Academy in Charleston, with the degree of B.S. After being employed with railroad companies for some time as civil engineer, etc., he came to Clinch County in 1892, and was elected county surveyor in 1894. He was re-elected in 1896 and served until January ist, 1899. He married Miss Nora Smith, daughter of Charlton H. and Martha (Hender- son) Smith, in September, 1897, and they had several chil- dren. Mr. Kirton was for several years employed by the G. S. Baxter Co. at Fargo, but for the last year or so has lived at Argyle, near where his farm is. He is a member of the History of Clinch County, Georgia 265 board of tax assessors of Clinch County, having been ap- pointed in 19 1 6, and is also a jury commissioner. KNIGHT, JONATHAN, was born in originally Irwin County, January 17th, 18 17, the son of William A. Knight, He came to vv^hat is now Clinch County in 1836 and settled on Suwannoochee Creek, where he lived until 1863, when he moved back to Berrien County. He married Miss Frances Staten, daughter of Barzilla Staten, Sr., in 1835. To this union were born thirteen children, viz. : Barzilla, Sarah, Catherine, Kizziah, Elizabeth, William A., Margaret, Lovdy, Cinderella, Celesta Ann, Mary C, Ulysses A., and Matilda T. Staten, of whom five are living. Mr. Knight served in both the Indian and Civil Wars; in the Civil War he served as first lieutenant in Co. "H" 29th Georgia In- fantry. The only office which Mr. Knight held was that of justice of the Inferior Court, to which he was commissioned January loth, 1861. He was a justice until Sept. loth, 1861. Mr. Knight died October loth, 1886, and his remains were buried at Union Church on Allapaha River. KNIGHT, JOHN, was born in originally Irwin County, in 1826, and married Miss Dicy , and they had several children. He served through the Civil War in the Confeder- ate Army, and in 1890 was elected on the Board of County Commissioners and served two years. He died about 1900. KNIGHT, LEVI J., was born in Wayne County, Septem- ber 1st, 1803, and was reared in that county and married Mrs. Ann D. Herring, in July, 1827. He then moved to what is now Berrien County a few days after their marriage. Mr. Knight settled on Beaver-dam Creek, near the town of Rays City, and lived there until his death. He never did live in Clinch County, although closely identified with it. Mr. Knight participated in the Creek and Seminole wars from 181 8 and 1836, the last several years of which he com- manded the pioneer troops in this section as major and colo- nel. When the Mexican War broke out, Mr. Knight en- 266 History of Clinch County, Georgia listed and served as a captain of volunteers the greater part of that war, and when the Civil War broke out, or was im- minent, he mustered the Berrien County Minutemen at Nash- ville, Ga., and out of the 125 men more than 50 were over six feet two inches tall, of this company he was captain. When hostilities began the minutemen were mustered into the 26th and 29th Georgia Regiments, one of which, Co. "G" 29th Georgia, he became captain. Mr. Knight did not serve through the war on account of his old age and serious afflfction from asthma, from which he died in 1870. He was commissioned a justice of the peace of the 658th district of Lowndes County in 1829, and served until 1832, when he was elected State senator from Lowndes County. He was again elected justice of the peace and commissioned October 15th, 1838. He served again as senator through the sessions of 1834-35 and 1837 to 1 84 1. In 1845 he was again elected justice of the peace and served four years. In 1851 he was elected State senator from the 5th district, which then included Berrien County, and served through the session of 1851-52. Mr. Knight was a delegate to the State constitutional con- vention of 1868 from the 6th district, which then included Clinch County. This was the last public service of Captain Knight. His death occurred February 23d, 1870, and he was buried at Union Church about ten miles from his home. He was one of the leaders of his day and an able man. LASLIE, ARCHIBALD D., was born in Telfair County, Ga., January 29th, 1825. He came to Clinch County when a young man and was elected clerk of the Superior and Inferior Courts and commissioned January loth, 1854. He served two years. He took up the study of medicine and graduated from a medical college and practiced medicine in Clinch and Echols Counties the remainder of his life. In the Civil War, Dr. Laslie joined Co. 'T' 29th Georgia regiment, first serv- ing as a private and later as assistant surgeon of his company. After the war was over he came back to this county and re- History of Clinch County, Georgia 267 sumed his practice, but in the winter of 1868-69 removed to Echols County, where he lived until his death. Dr. Laslie married Mrs. Catherine Davis, of Clinch County, February ■23d, 1868, and by her had seven children: R. F. Laslie, Mrs. W. J. Coleman, Miss George Laslie, Mrs. J. W. Wil- son, Mrs. W. T. Duke, A. C. Laslie and C. B. Laslie. Dr. Laslie served Echols County as representative in the General Assembly of 1890-91, and was appointed by Legislative Act, a member of the Board of County Commissioners of Echols County, by an Act approved December 9th, 1 893. He served until 1895. He died April 27th, 1909, at his home in Echols County. LASTINGER, GUILFORD, was born in Bulloch County in 18 13, the son of William Lastinger. His father moved to what is now Clinch County, where he grew to man- hood. Mr. Lastinger first married a Miss Mikell, and after her death married Miss Isabelle Brack about 1865, by whom he had four daughters. In 1872 his second wife died, and he married Mrs. Lauraney Malone, widow of L. S. Malone, Sr., and formerly Cornelius, July 22d, 1 874, by whom he had one son. He was elected justice of the peace of the 105 2d district in 1850 and served two years. In 1852 he was elected the first Ordinary of Clinch County, and served four years. In 1868 he was elected representative on the Radical ticket, and served through the sessions of 1868-69, and 1870. After this he never held any other office. He spent the declining years of his life with his daughter, Mrs. Belle Crosby, of Pierce County, where he died in 1896. Mr. Lastinger was a member of the Primitive Baptist Church and an ordained minister. In the Civil War he had six grown sons to go to the front, all of whom died or were killed except one, Guil- ford T. Lastinger, who is yet living. LEE, PERRY M., was born in Ware County, now Clinch County, about four miles north of where DuPont now is, February 14th, 1848, the son of Zachariah and Phoebe 268 History of Clinch County, Georgia (Register) Lee. He was raised up near DuPont and has re- sided near there all his life. He was married to Miss Eliza- beth J. FIveash, . daughter of Matthew FIveash, November 14th, 1867, by whom he had twelve children. In 1874 he" was elected clerk of the Superior Court of Clinch County and commissioned January 14th, 1875, for two years. Later Mr. Lee lived several years at the old county seat, Magnolia, v/here he was appointed ex-officio justice of the peace In 1900. He served two years. He removed to DuPont about this time, where he entered the mercantile business with two of his sons. In 1915, Mr. Lee was appointed on the Board of County Commissioners created by the Legislature, and In 19 16 was elected for the full term, from the 1280th and 970th districts. LEE, PERRY R., was born In Clinch County, January 1 2th, 1878, the son of William J. and Rhoda (Clements) Lee. He was raised up on the farm and attended the public schools in Mud Creek and at HomervIUe. He was married to Miss Pearl Smith, daughter of Benjamin Smith, Febru- ary 2 2d, 1900, by whom he has four daughters. He was elected sheriff In 1908 over three strong opponents, and took charge the following January ist. He has since been re-elected in 1910, 1912, 1914 and 1916 over strong opposition. Pre- vious to his election as sheriff he was a farmer but removed to Homerville with the taking up of the duties of his office. LIGHTSEY, JACOB, was born in South Carolina, June 17th, 1 8 10, and early In life came to this State and settled in Ware County. He married Miss Christina Rice about 1835 and by her had several children. He engaged In the Indian war of 1836-38, and in 1840 was commissioned justice of the peace of the 5 84th district of Ware County. He served as State senator from Ware during 1844-45. ^^ 1^55 ^e was elected a justice of the Inferior Court of Clinch County and served until 1857. He did not hold any other office except as town councilman of DuPont. He died at his home near DuPont, History of Clinch County, Georgia 269 April 17th, 1892. His wife preceded him to the grave by two years. McLENDON, ISAAC T., was born in Laurens County, Ga., March 19th, 1835, and came to this county about i860. In the Civil War he served a while in the Confederate Army, and was in 1 864 elected surveyor of Clinch County and served two years. He was again elected in 1872 and commissioned January i8th, 1873, for two years. He married Miss Elpha Smith, daughter of James C. Smith, May 20th, 1869, ^^i^ they had twelve children. Mr. McLendon taught school in and around Homerville for many years at different intervals. He was an active member of the Baptist Church at Homer- ville. His death occurred at his home in Homerville, April 8th, 1 90 1, and he was buried in the Homerville cemetery. Mr. McLendon studied law and was admitted to the bar at Homerville in September, 1880, but never actively pursued this profession. McMillan, TARLTON, was bom in Barnwell dis- trict, S. C, on what was known as Squirrel Bay, July 27th, 1826. In his early life he learned the blacksmith trade and also farmed more or less all his life. He came to this State in 1849 ^"d to Clinch County in 1853. When Dr. J. H. Mattox was clearing up a place, where Homerville now is, in 1854, he employed Mr. McMillan to cut 3,000 rails for him ■with which to enclose his field. Mr. McMillan therefore re- members very well the wild character of the county at that time and the beginning of Homerville. In 1855 he settled not far from the Suwannee River; here he was elected justice of the peace in 1858 and held the office for three years. He married Miss Margaret Strange in 1850, and they had ten children, six daughters and four sons. During the Civil War he was exempt from military duty three years and six months on account of being a blacksmith. During 1864 he was mus- tered in the army together with David Smith, another black- smith, and after giving both a test to ascertain which was the 270 History of Clinch County, Georgia better smith, Mr. McMillan was relieved and he returned home. During the short time he was in the army, he was at- tached to Co. "I" 43d Georgia Regiment. He was discharged at Atlanta, Following the war, he settled at DuPont, where he was appointed ex-officio justice of the peace October 28th, 1868, being the first officer of that kind to be appointed in the county. He served several years. Mr. McMillan was nominated for coroner of Clinch County in the primary of 1896, defeating J. B. Kirkland, and was elected in the gen- eral election without opposition. He was re-elected in 1898, 1900 and 1902. Since that time he has lived at his home in DuPont. He is now in his ninetieth year and is the oldest man in the county. He is well known and is a respected old man. MATHIS, JOHN, was born in Bulloch County about 1 8 10, the son of Edmund Mathis, one of the original settlers of what is now Clinch County. After moving here he mar- ried Jemima, daughter of Joshua Lee, and had several chil- dren. He was elected coroner of Clinch County in 1851 and served until 1858. In 1861 he Avas re-elected coroner and served until 1864. He died about 1868 and was buried at Prospect Church in Hamilton County, Fla. MATHIS, TYRE, was born in Bulloch County, in 1808, the son of Edmund Mathis and brother to John Mathis (above) . He married Nancy, a daughter of Joshua Lee, and they had several children. He was commissioned a justice of the Inferior Court of Ware County January 15th, 1849, ^^^ resigned with the formation of Clinch County, and was elected to the same position in Clinch in 1853 and served one year. He died about 1880 and is buried at Prospect Church in Clinch County, MATTOX, BANKSTON ELIJAH, SR., was born in Clinch County, where Homerville now is, November 14th, 1854, the son of Dr, John Homer Mattox, the founder of Homerville. He was educated in the local schools and has History of Clinch County, Georgia 271 been living in Homerville all his life. He married Miss Nancy E. O'Quin, daughter of Hon. David O'Quin, January 9th, 1878, and by her had seven children. In 1877 he was elected constable, and held that office one year. In 1886 he was elected sheriff of Clinch County and commissioned Janu- ary 8th, 1887, for two years. In 1892 he was elected on the Board of County Commissioners, and qualified October 31st, 1892. He served two years. Mr. Mattox was elected at a special election in 1904, to succeed John C. Jones as tax re- ceiver, for the unexpired term. He was commissioned June 9th, 1904. He served until the ist of January following. In 19 1 2 and 1 9 14 he was narrowly defeated for this office. Be- sides these offices, Mr. Mattox has held several lesser posi- tions, such as county registrar, jury commisisoner and school trustee. MATTOX, ELIJAH, was born in Colleton district, S. C, July 15th, 1798, the son of John Mattox. When he was yet a lad the elder Mattox removed to Tattnall County,, where the young Elijah Mattox grew to manhood, receiving a good education. He married Miss Lavinia Johnson, of Liberty County, about 1820, and by her had ten children^ viz.: Carrie M. Mattox (died in infancy) ; Julia A. Mattox, who first married B. G. O'Bryan and later J. A. Whitting- ton; John Homer Mattox; Louisa A. Mattox, who married Judson Greene; Helen M. Mattox, who married H. A. Mat- tox; Victoria O. Mattox, who married L. J. Sirmans; Adilene A. Mattox, who married Randolph Boring; Cicero M. Mat- tox and James M. Mattox (died in infancy). About 1830 Mr. Mattox removed to Waresboro, Ga., where he was elected clerk of the Superior and Inferior Courts in 1834, serving one term. In the session of 1839-40, Colonel Mattox was senator from Ware County. January i6th, 1844, he was commissioned surveyor of Ware County, and served one term, and was in 1848 again elected surveyor, serving two years. Under Governor Chas. J. McDonald, Colonel Mattox served 272 History of Clinch County, Georgia as aide-de-camp a while, and about this time granted a large number of lots of land in Ware and adjoining counties, be- coming an extensive land owner. He was instrumental in the creation of Clinch County, and in the Act creating same was named as one of the commissioners to lay out and organize the new county. He was commissioned surveyor of Clinch County, April 12th, 1850, serving until 1851. His death occurred at his home at Blount's Ferry, January 21st, 1856, and was survived by his wife who was the executrix of his estate. Mrs. Mattox died in 1882. Mr. Mattox was admitted to the bar in his younger days, but never did pursue the profession. MATTOX, HAMILTON A., was born in Tattnall County, August 2d, 1834, the son of Michael Mattox, who was a brother to Elijah Mattox. He came to Clinch County when a young man and married Miss Helen M. Mattox, his cousin, April loth, 1856, and to them were born eight sons, five of whom are living. Mr. Mattox was one of the first to settle at Homerville, and during and following the war owned and ran a general merchandise business in Homerville. He served a short while in the Confederate Army in 1864 in Co. "I" 1 2th Georgia Regiment. He was commissioned a jus- tice of the Inferior Court of Clinch County March 26th, 1 864, and re-commissioned January 23d, 1 865, and served until that court was abolished. In the election of 1870, Mr. Mattox defeated D.H.Johnson for representative, and served through the sessions of 1871 and 1872. During his term as represen- tative he introduced and passed a bill requiring non-resident land owners to return the lands they owned in the county where the land was situated and not in the county of their residence. Later Mr. Mattox served as a jury commissioner for about twenty years. He was also a member and president of the Board of Education several years. About 1880 he entered the turpentine business with H. P. Mattox, and en- gaged in that until about 1896. After this he removed to his History of Clinch County, Georgia 273 farm, about six miles east of Homerville, where he resided until his death, which occurred December 12th, 1906. He was buried in the Homerville cemetery. Mr. Mattox was a member of the Methodist Church at Homerville, and was for many years Sunday School superintendent and recording steward. MATTOX, JAMES POLK, was born in Tattnall County, November 15th, i860. When he was a young man he came to Homerville and began as a store clerk for H. & H. Mattox Co. Later he became interested in another business of the same nature. He studied law and was admitted to the bar at the March term, 1883, of Clinch Superior Court, and soon acquired a very lucrative practice. On February 19th, 1888, he was married to Miss Minnie Crum, daughter of Robert B. Crum. Colonel Mattox was elected to the Legislature in 1888 and took his seat in the House at the following ses- sion that fall. In Atlanta he was taken sick with typhoid- pneumonia about the time that the Legislature adjourned for the holidays. His death soon followed on January 13th, 1889. His remains were brought back to Homerville and interred in the local cemetery. The Homerville bar passed resolutions on his death, an extract from which reads : "In .his untimely death from typhoid-pneumonia, a loving husband has been taken away, . . . and the county and State has lost a true public servant and our profession a worthy and respected member," His wife died in 1896. Colonel Mattox and his wife were active members of the Methodist Church, and were teachers in the Sunday School several years. He was a Mason. MATTOX, LUCIUS CORNELIUS, was born in Tatt- nall County, May 5th, 1829, the son of Hon. Elijah Mattox, He received his education under private tutorage and in 1849 entered the Eclectic Medical College at Macon, where he graduated February 9th, 1851. After practicing medicine in Madison County Florida, for about two years, he came to 2 74 History of Clinch County, Georgia Clinch County and settled near Homerville, about two or three miles east. Dr. Mattox first married Miss Sarah A. Shinholser, of Macon, April 6th, 1854, and by her had six children, viz. : Gertrude, Oscar T., Mattie, Adilene, Rena, and Wilbur F. Mattox, In the Civil War he served as a sur- geon in the 5th Georgia Cavalry, and was wounded, not seri- ously, at Saltville, Va. After the war was over he came back home, where he was elected justice of the peace of the 1224th district and commissioned March 20th, 1865, ^"^ served until 1867. For many years after the war he was the only practicing physician in the county, or at least in the vicinity of Homerville. In 1890 Dr. Mattox was nominated by the Populists and elected representative from Clinch County, and served through the session of 1890-91. He served on the House committees on Agriculture, Insane Asylum, Temper- ance and Deaf and Dumb Asylum. In 1892 he was nomi- nated by the Populists as their candidate from the nth dis- trict for Congress, and received the support of the Republi- cans also. He received 6,078 votes to 1 1,091 cast for Henry G. Turner, the Democratic candidate. His first wife having died in 1882, Dr. Mattox married Miss Eliza Lanier, daugh- ter of Rev. Robert F. Lanier, of this county; there were no children by this marriage. Dr. Mattox was a member of the Methodist Church for many years, but in later years joined the Second Adventists and was ordained a preacher in that church. He was also a Mason. For two years prior to his death he was the Populist member of the Board of County Registrars. He was an active Sunday School worker also. He died June 21st, 1898, at his home near Homerville, and he was buried on his home place, beside his mother and first wife. His widow re-married in 1902 to Mr. W. A. Ecord. MOBLEY, WILLIAM H., was born in Appling County, near Mann's Ferry, Altamaha River, March 5th, 1865, ^he son of Solomon Mobley and his wife, Mary Mann. He was raised upon the farm and in 1893 married Miss Belle History of Clinch County, Georgia 275 Morgan, of Echols County, by whom he has two children. He was appointed a member of the Board of County Com- missioners in 19 15, under Legislative Act, from the 1141st and 1219th districts, and was in 19 16 elected for the full term of four years. He is engaged in the mercantile business at Fargo, where he lives, and has extensive holdings in that section. MONK, MALACHI M., was born in Clinch County, in 1868, the son of Hampton and Eliza Monk. He was mar- ried to Miss Armindie Herren, December 23d, 1888, and by her had several children. The only office he ever held in Clinch County was that of tax collector, to which he was nominated in the primary of 1896, defeating Hon. Moses Tomlinson. By successive re-elections he held the office until 1903, when, owing to a shortage in his accounts, he turned the office over to his bondsmen and removed to Florida. It is generally thought that the shortage came about through careless handling of the funds and not through any criminal intent. He had employed various assistants in his office. MOORE, HENRY C, was born in Clinch County, Octo- ber loth, 1850, the son of John Moore. Early in life he became a cripple from rheumatism, and when twenty-six years old was elected county treasurer of Clinch County. He was commissioned January 17th, 1877, and by continuous re-elec- tions served until his death. He married Miss Fannie C. Smith, daughter of Jesse Smith, September 2d, 1879, ^'"^^ ^Y her had three daughters, viz. : Lucy, Lorena and Belle Moore. His death occurred June 17th, 1891, after a long and dis- tressing illness. The county commissioners in their report to the Grand Jury, at the October term, 1891, said in part: "Since the last session of your honorable body a Divine Prov- idence has seen fit to call to his last account our worthy treas- urer, Henry C. Moore, who has served the County of Clinch for the last fifteen years in that capacity. He has been the custodian of the moneys of this county, and during all the 276 History of Clinch County, Georgia years with the demand that terminated his life, even yet when the Messenger of Death came, he left his books correct and the money on hand to a fraction of a cent. , . . " This tribute is signed by F. B. Sirmans, Isham Patterson and W. H. Gary, commissioners. MORGAN, ABRAHAM, was born in Appling County, October 8th, 1856, the son of Jonathan L. Morgan, who came to Clinch County in i860. He was raised on his father's farm about ten miles south of Homerville, and when he was sixteen years old he was employed by Josiah Sirmans, at Homerville, as assistant in his store, express and post office work. After the death of Mr. Sirmans in 1881, Mr. Mor- gan was elected clerk of the Superior Court of Clinch County, and commissioned January 13th, 1881, for two years. After his term of office expired he moved to Waycross, where he was appointed postmaster by President Cleveland, May 5th, 1885. When this office was raised to the third-class, in 1887, he was re-appointed and continued as postmaster until the Republicans went into power. He was appointed postmaster at Haylow, Ga., in 1895, but in 1899 resigned and returned to Waycross, where he was employed as a clerk in the post office. In 1903 he was appointed assistant postmaster by W. A. McNeil, and re-appointed in 1905 by C. E. Murphy, and in 1 9 13 bv H. C. Bunn. Mr. Morgan is at present assistant postmaster. He married Miss Julia E. Wideman, of Clinch County, June 30th, 1886, by which marriage there are two children. MORGAN, HAMPTON, was born in Appling County in 1843, the son of Hon. John L. Morgan, Sr. In 1853 his father removed to Magnolia and in i860 to Homerville. In the Civil War he served a while in Co. "K" 26th Georgia Infantry, but in 1864 was elected Ordinary of the county at the age of twenty-one. He was commissioned January 14th, 1864, for four years. He married about 1869, Miss Mary A. McDonald, a daughter of Rev. W. A. McDonald, of History of Clinch County, Georgia 277 Ware County, and after her death married a Miss Sweat. He eventually removed about 1867 to Florida, where he died about 1895 at Ybor City. MORGAN, JOHN L., was born in Habersham County, Georgia, in 1802, and removed when he was a young man to Appling County. Here he lived until 1846. He married in 1 8 19 Miss Fannie L. Harris, by whom he had nine children. He was elected justice of the peace of the 583d district of Appling County in 1845, but resigned the next year and re- moved to Lowndes County. He lived there until 1853, when he removed to Magnolia. Here he opened up a store which he continued to run until his removal to Homerville. In 1854 he was elected judge of the Inferior Court and served four years. In 1861 he was again elected and served until 1868. He was elected Ordinary of Clinch County and commissioned January 29th, 1858, and re-elected in 1861, serving until 1864. About 1868 Mr. Morgan, with his son John L. Morgan, Jr., established a gin and grist mill at Homerville, which, although equipped with the latest machinery, proved to be a failure. In 1871 Judge Morgan was re-elected Ordi- nary for two years. In 1880 he was again elected Ordinary and commissioned January 27th, 1881, for four years. Al- though past four score years during his last term of office, yet Mr. Morgan was strong and vigorous and he employed no clerk in his office. Judge Morgan's death occurred at his home below Homerville five miles, July 28th, 1888, age 86 years. He was buried in the Homerville cemetery. Mrs. Morgan survived her husband and died about ten years later in Hamilton County, Fla. Judge's Morgan's sons are, in their order: Joseph, who was killed in 1861 in the war; John L., Jr. ; Hampton ; Lemuel T. (killed at Manassas) ; Thomas C; William R., and Quarterman B. Morgan. Judge Mor- gan was the first W. M. of the Masonic Lodge at Magnolia. MUSGROVE, WILLIAM VERNIE, was born Novem- ber 15th, 1880, the son of C. H. and Julie Musgrove. He 278 History of Clinch County, Georgia worked on the farm and entered the turpentine business as a woodsrider, and after several years' hard work entered the business for himself. He has pursued the turpentine business for the last fifteen years and has been a successful operator. He married in 1900 Miss Alice O'Steen, a daughter of Jona- than O'Steen, and they have six children. Mr. Musgrove never aspired for any office until 19 16, when he announced for Ordinary. He was elected by a majority of 233 votes, defeating the incumbent, J. T. Dame. His term of office will begin January ist, 19 17. Mr. Musgrove's father, who was a native of Baker County, died March 23d, 19 15. NEWBERN, ALFRED, was born in 1830, in Lowndes County, the son of William C. Newbern, who was a justice of the Inferior Court and a sheriff of that county. He mar- ried Elizabeth Moore, and by her had a son, George L. New- bern. The elder Newbern served as deputy clerk under H. D. O'Quin, and in 1870 was elected county treasurer. He was re-elected twice, and served six years. Mr. Newbern subse- quently removed to Florida, where he died at the home of his son. NEWBERN, GEORGE WASHINGTON, was born January ist, 1825, in Appling County. He married about 1847, Miss Rebecca Thomas, a daughter of Absalom Thomas, of Ware County. They had eight children. In 1 851 Mr. Newbern was elected clerk of the Superior Court of Clinch County and commissioned January 14th, 1852, hold- ing the office two years. January 12th, 1857 he was com- missioned a justice of the Inferior Court and served one year. In the Civil War he was second lieutenant in Co. "I" 4th Georgia Cavalry. Under H. D. O'Quin he served a while as deputy clerk of the Superior Court. In 1874 he was elected State senator from the 5th district, defeating Daniel Lott. In 1 88 1 he was elected county school commissioner and qual- ified January i6th, 1882. He served in this capacity until 1892. Mr. Newbern was a minister of the Missionary Bap- History of Clinch County, Georgia 279 tist Church and served several churches In this county as pastor. He was one of the original members of the Masonic lodge organized at Magnolia. His death occurred July loth, 1892, at his home In Homervllle, and his remains were burled in the North cemetery near DuPont. NICHOLS, WILLIAM M., was born In Jones County, April 9th, 1 830, the son of Simon W. and Margaret (Waver) Nichols. With his parents he came to Ware County, now Clinch, and at the age of twenty-four was elected a justice of the Inferior Court of Clinch County. He was the next year elected a State senator from this county, serving through the session of 1855-56. In 1857 he was re-elected to the Inferior Court and served one year. Mr. Nichols' wife was Miriam, daughter of Governor Wilson Lumpkin. After the war Mr. Nichols removed to Atlanta, where he became proprietor of the Kimball House. He died In Atlanta, Sep- tember 6th, 1882, and was burled there. His wife died 'about 1908. They had no children. Mr. Nichols, with his brother, Dr. W. J. Nichols, owned much land in Clinch County, al- though the control of It was nominally in their father. NORTH, JOHN J., was born In Colleton district, S. C, November i6th, 1792. He came to this State at an early age, and In the Indian war of 1836-38 commanded the troops as captain in this county. He was elected a justice of the peace of the 719th district In 1833 and 1843, ^"^ served two terms. Mr. North was married three times and had twenty children Including those who died In their Infancy. His last wife was Rebecca, a sister of Tarlton McMillan, of this county. He was elected a justice of the Inferior Court of Clinch County in 1857, and served until 1861. He lived near DuPont, and his death occurred June 19th, 1880, age 88 years. He is buried at the North cemetery near DuPont. NORTH, WILLIAM B., was born In Clinch County In 1848, the son of James North. He was married September 1 8th, 1877, to Harriet Stalvey, by whom he has several chll- 28o History of Clinch County, Georgia dren. He has served eleven years on the Board of Educa- tion and for six years was ex-officio justice of the peace of the 1141st district. About 191 1 he removed from the Wiregrass district, his old home, to about three miles below Stockton, where he owns a nice farm. He was appointed on the Board of County Commissioners in 191 5 by Legislative Act, from Stockton and Withers district, and in 1916 was elected for the full term. O'QUIN, DAVID, was born in Appling County, March 1 2th, 1 82 1, the son of Silas O'Quin. He was married about 1847 to Miss Matilda Higgs, of Ware County, and by this marriage had eight children, viz. : Eli W. O'Quin, H. A. O'Quin, Victoria, who married William Barlow; George W. O'Quin, Nancy E., who married B. E. Mattox, David H. O'Quin, and Janie, who married B. R. Futch. When Mag- nolia was founded he became one of the first merchants there, and in 1854 was elected sheriff of Clinch County, serving two years. He was elected Clerk of the Superior Court and In- ferior Court in 1856 and served by continuous re-elections until 1868. During the old days when Magnolia was at its best, Mr. O'Quin, whose home was very roomy, ran a hotel and his home was often a social center for the village. In 1868 he did not offer for re-election, and his brother was elected clerk. From then on, he gave his time to farming. He was appointed ex-officio justice or the peace of the 970th district January 15th, 1876, and served in this capacity until his death. He was appointed clerk of the Superior Court in De- cember, 1880, to succeed C. A. Smith, resigned, and served about two months. He was a charter member of the Masonic lodge at Magnolia. His death occurred April 19th, 1884, at his home at Magnolia, and his remains were buried in the Homerville cemetery under the auspices of the local lodge of Masons. His widow died in 1895. O'QUIN, HANSFORD DUNCAN, was born in Appling County, in 18 16, the son of Silas O'Quin. He was elected History of Clinch County, Georgia 281 Clerk of the Superior and Inferior Courts of Appling County and commissioned January 20th, 1846, serving two years. Later he came to Clinch County and taught school. He was admitted to the bar about 1867, and practiced Intermittently until his removal to Berrien County, some years later. He was elected clerk of the Superior Court of Clinch County In 1868, and served three years. In 1871 he was elected the first county school commissioner of the county, qualifying June 3d, 1871. He was re-elected In 1876, and served until 1882. He was a member of the Board of Education 1 879-1 884, after which he removed to Berrien County, where he died about 1890. Mr. O'QuIn was first married to Mrs. Matilda Joyce, daughter of Rev. G. W. Newbern, and after her death to Mrs. Vicy Benton, also daughter of Rev. Newbern, and they had several children. O'STEEN, BENJAMIN, was born In Ware County, April 1 6th, 1849, the son of John R. O'Steen. He was raised upon his father's farm. He married September 22d, 1867, Miss Mildred Herren, daughter of Levi Herren, Sr. In 1876 he was elected coroner of the county and commissioned January 17th, 1877, and held this office four years. He died December nth, 1901, and was buried at Arabia cemetery. Mr. O'Steen was a member of the Primitive Baptist Church. O'STEEN, BRYANT, was born in Clinch County in i860, the son of John R. O'Steen. His father was killed In the Civil War and he was thus deprived of a father's help at an early age. He was reared on the farm, married Miss Jerushia Tomlinson, daughter of Enoch Tomlinson, Decem- ber 22d, 1887, and they have several children. In 1896 he was nominated In the Democratic primary, defeating Peter A. Young, his nearest opponent, by thirty-one votes. In the ensuing general election, he defeated his Populist opponent, Moses S. Eason, by 187 votes. In 1898 he was nominated in the primary, defeating J. A. Smith, by 688 votes. In the following general election he defeated his Populist 282 History of Clinch County, Georgia opponent, William Dame, by eighty-eight votes. He did not offer for re-election In 1900. Mr, O'Steen is a member of the Primitive Baptist Church. PRESCOTT, JESSE P., was born in South Carolina, in 1824. He was married In 1845 ^o Miss Sarah , and came to what is now Clinch County In 1848. He was com- missioned justice of the peace of the 1058th district, then in Clinch County, September 21st, 1850, serving seven years. He was commissioned tax collector of Clinch County, Janu- ary 13th, 1858, and served one year. About this time Echols County was created, and Mr. Prescott's home was included In the new county. He was elected the first clerk of the Superior and Inferior Courts of Echols County, and commissioned April 15th, 1859. He held this office for about twenty-five years. By an Act of the Legislature, approved December 13th, 1859, Statenvllle was incorporated and Mr. Prescott was named one of the town's commissioners. He was a mem- ber of the Missionary Baptist Church. Mr. Prescott died at his home In Statenvllle In 1904, and was buried in the local cemetery. His children were: E. J. W. Prescott, T. M. Pres- cott, H. D. Prescott, Miss A. M. and W. E. Prescott. RAMSEY, THOMAS GREEN, was born In Dooly County In 1823. While quite a boy his father moved with the family to Stewart; here he attended the "old field school," but finished his education at Cedartown Institute In Polk County. In 1 846 he went to Alachua County, Florida, his father's family having moved there the year before. In 1852 he met Miss Elizabeth SIkes and they were married In 1853. In 1854 he removed to Clinch County, Georgia, not far from Milltown, where he farmed. In 1861 he, with Mr. Benjamin SIrmans, were elected delegates to the secession convention at Mllledgevllle, both voting for secession. Returning home he sold his plantation preparatory to moving back to Florida; but the war coming on he purchased and settled a place six miles south of Homervllle. Here he was elected one of the History of Clinch County, Georgia 283 judges of the Inferior Court, being commissioned September 19th, 1862. He served until 1865. ^^ 1875 he removed with his family to Montgomery County, where he purchased a farm on the Ocmulgee River, six miles below Lumber City. He lived here until 1884, when he moved to Arredondo, Fla. Here he engaged in farming and stock-raising up to the time of his death, September 13th, 1905. Of his family of eight children, three survive him. His son, Perry G. Ramsey, is now, and has been, several years sheriff of Alachua County, Florida. REGISTER, AUGUSTUS OTIS, was born in Clinch County, near Withers, November 20th, 1874, the son of S. W. and Mary Register. He was raised on his father's farm, and at the age of nineteen came to Homerville, when his father was elected clerk of the Superior Court, and assisted him in the office work for several years. In 1898 he was mar- ried to Miss Maggie Inman, a daughter of J. H. Inman, and by this marriage had four children. After his marriage he removed to a farm which he bought about six miles south of Homerville, where he lived a few years. He was commis- sioned ex-officio justice of the peace of the 1365th district, October 26th, 1900, but in the course of a year or so removed from the district. In 1905 his father appointed him deputy clerk of the Superior Court, serving until his father's death. In 1908 Mr. Register was elected at a special election to suc- ceed his father as clerk. His term expired December 31st, 1909. In November, 1908, he appointed A. J. Gibbs his deputy and Mr. Register removed to Berrien County, where he has since resided. In 1908 his wife died, and he subse- quently married Miss Leola Shaw, of Berrien County. REGISTER, GUILFORD A., was born in Ware, now Clinch County, April 13th, 1842, the son of William Reg- ister. When the Civil War came on, he, with his brothers, joined Co. "G" 50th Georgia Infantry, in April, 1862, and served until the close of the war. Shortly after the war he 284 History of Clinch County, Georgia married Rachel E., daughter of William Hughes, by whom he had seven sons and a daughter. In 1882 he was elected coroner of Clinch County, and was commissioned January 9th, 1883, serving one term. In 1884 he was elected tax col- lector of Clinch County, and commissioned January 13th, 1885, serving one term. For many years Mr. Register lived on his farm south of DuPont, but later lived in DuPont. After the death of his first wife in iQc; he married Miss Carrie Day, of DuPont, but had no children by her. His death occurred in DuPont, May nth, 191 1. He was buried in North cemetery. REGISTER, SAMUEL W., was born in Ware, now Clinch County, August 5th, 1839, the son of William Reg- ister. In early life he was a farmer and pursued that occu- pation more or less all of his life. He was married August 1 8th, 1859, to Miss Mary Stanford, daughter of David Stanford. By this union were born eight daughters and one son, A. O. Register. Leaving his wife and child on the farm he joined Co. "G" 50th- Georgia Regiment in April, 1862, and served until the close of the war. He lost three fingers off his left hand in battle. He was in all the important battles of the army of northern Virginia. Returning home he was elected tax collector of Clinch County in 1865, ^^^ commis- sioned January 22, 1866, for two years. He was a member of the first Board of Education under the amended laws of 1872. When the 1365th district was created in 1884 he was elected its first justice of the peace, being commissioned Janu- ary 22d, 1885. He served until October 7th, 1890, when he resigned to make the race for clerk of the Superior Court. He was defeated by his Populist opponent, W. A. Ecord, who was the incumbent. However, two years later, Mr. Register was elected by a large Democratic majority. He was com- missioned clerk January 6th, 1893, and served by re-elections until 1908. In the Democratic primary of 1908 he was de- feated by A. J. Gibbs. His death occurred shortly afterwards History of Clinch County, Georgia 285 on May 17th, 1908, vertigo being ascribed as the cause of his death. The following day his body was taken in charge by the local lodge of Masons, of which he had been a member since 1867, and conducted to the cemetery at Cow Creek Church, six miles south of Stockton, where it was buried. He was survived by his wife and nine children. His widow died in 191 5. He was succeeded as clerk by his son, A. O. Reg- ister, his term not having expired. REGISTER, PERRY A., was born in Clinch County, May 24th, 1866, the son of John T. Register. He was raised on his father's farm and married Christina Copeland, daugh- ter of David Copeland, of Naylor. They have several chil- dren. In 1896 Mr. Register was nominated for county treas- urer, defeating W. H. Gary by 176 majority. He served dur- ing 1897-9, and was succeeded by George M. Dame. Mr. Register has since entered the mercantile business at DuPont, in which he has been very successful. REGISTER, LUCIUS C, was born in Clinch County, in 1868, the son of John T. Register. He was raised on .his father's farm, and first married Miss Miriam Morgan, daughter of Martin Z. Morgan, of this county, and after her death married Miss Mary McCullers, daughter of John A. McCullers, of this county. He has five children. In 1906 he announced for tax collector of Clinch County and was elected over strong opposition. He served one term. He lives on his farm near DuPont. RODGERS, JOSEPH O., was born and reared In Clinch County. He received his early education In the common and high schools of his native county, and graduated at The Geor- gia Normal College and Business Institute in 1906, later at- tending school at the University of Georgia. He made a per- manent certificate as a teacher In 191 1 and engaged In his favorite profession, teaching school, up till his election as county school superintendent In the spring of 19 16. He will 2 86 History of Clinch County, Georgia take charge of this office January ist, 19 17. Mr. Rodgers' early ancestors were emigrants from Ireland and Wales to the Carolinas, thence to Appling County. His great-grand- father, Joseph L. Rodgers, was the first coroner of Clinch County; his grandfather, William Rodgers, born 1826, mar- ried Martha, daughter of George Harnage, of this county; his father, George Quarterman Rodgers, now lives in Echols County, at Walker, Georgia. Mr. Rodgers' mother was Sallie, the fifth daughter of Wesley Johnson, deceased, late of Clinch County. SESSOMS, ALEX. K., was born at Graham, Georgia, in Appling County, Sept. 21st, 1882, the son of Alexander Ses- soms, of Cumberland County, N. C, and his wife Lou W. Sessoms, of Sampson County, N. C. He lived at Graham until 1890, when the elder Sessoms removed to Sessoms, Georgia, where he engaged in the turpentine business, for two years, when they removed to Waycross. From 1895 to 1900 the younger Sessoms went to school at Davis Military School, Winston, N. C, Gordon Institute at Barnesville, and the Georgia Technological School at Atlanta. In 1900 he went to Europe for three months and returning home he went to work in a door, sash and blind factory at Waycross, as a laborer at 75 cents per day. He worked there for three months. On January ist, 1901 he went to Jacksonville, Fla., as a shipping clerk in a wholesale grocery business and worked there six months. Returning to Waycross he was employed as shipping clerk for J. M. Cox Company, where he worked until the fall of 1903. He then went to Andalusia, Alabama, where he organized the Sessoms Grocery Company, a $75,000 corporation. In 1908 he gave up the management of this company and went to Mexico, where he organized and took the management of a ranch of half million acres. In the fall of 1908 Mr. Sessoms was called to Waycross to take charge of his father's extensive business on account of his failing health. His father died September 15th, 1909. History of Clinch County, Georgia 287' In 191 1 Mr, Sessoms, in connection with Hon. F. B. Simians, and other incorporators, began the construction of the Way- cross & Western Railroad from Waycross westward, and in 1 9 14 it was completed to Milltown, a distance of forty-five miles. Mr. Sessoms was elected president of the railroad, and gave his personal attention to the building of the road. On February 28th, 19 13, he married Miss Edna Sirmans, daugh- ter of Senator F, B. Sirmans, of this county, and went to live at Waycross. In 19 14 The Sessoms Land & Securities Com- pany was organized to take over the Sessoms estate lands, and in order to develop these lands into farms, Mr. Sessoms moved to Cogdell in this county, where he now lives. Since moving into the county, the companies he represents have spent $20,000 each year in building and opening farms. They con- template spending that much or more for the next several years. They have one of the largest and best farms in the State. Mr. Sessoms' companies pay ten per cent, of the total taxes of the county, an evidence of their importance to Clinch County industries. In 1915 Mr. Sessoms was appointed on the Board of County Commissioners, by Legislative Act, hav- ing been a resident of the county just about a year. Mr. Ses- soms is a most progressive man and all his ideas tend to- wards the upbuilding and developing of Clinch County and her resources. SIRMANS, BENJAMIN, was born in Emanuel County, February 6th, 1792, the son of Josiah Sirmans and his wife, Artie Hardeman. He was one of the first settlers of what is now Clinch County, having settled here according to his de- scendants, December 22d, 1822, on the place now owned by J. B. Strickland in the Mud Creek district. He lived there until his death. Mr. Sirmans became very wealthy, owning many slaves and much other property. He married Martha Johnson, a sister of Gen. David Johnson; she died December 24th, 1856. To them were born ten children (see Sirmans family history) . He represented Lowndes County in the leg- 288 History of Clinch County, Georgia islature through the sessions of 1828-29, 1838-39 and 1840- 41. He was State Senator from Clinch County in the session of 1853-54. According to reports, he defeated George W. Newbern by thirteen votes in the race for senator, also Rowan Pafford by thirteen votes, and R. Y. Stanford by seven votes. When Clinch County was organized in 1850 Mr. Sirmans was appointed one of the commissioners to organize the county. When the call for delegates to the secession conven- tion at Milledgeville was made in January, 1861, Mr. Sir- mans was elected one of the delegates, voting for secession. His death occurred May ist, 1863, ^^^ his remains were buried at the Fender cemetery. He was one of the leading men of the county of his time, and is represented by numer- ous descendants in the county to-day. SIRMANS, DAVID J., was born in Emanuel County, March ist, 18 19, the son of Benjamin Sirmans, Sr. His father moved first to Appling and afterwards to Lowndes, now Clinch County, when David J. Sirmans was quite yo'ung. Mr. Sirmans served as a volunteer under Capt. John J. Johnson, Col. Brown's regiment, in the Seminole Indian war. In 1845 he was elected tax receiver and collector of Lowndes County, and held this office one term. In 1859 he was elected State senator from Clinch County, serving one term. Mr. Sirmans was married in 1840 to Miss Eliza Wilkerson, daughter of John Wilkerson, of South Carolina. She died in 1886. By her he had several children. After his first wife's death, Mr. Sirmans married Lucinda, daughter of W. S. Roberts, of Echols County. He served as ex-officio justice of the peace of the 1280th district 1 876-1 880. For about fifty years prior to his death, Mr. Sirmans lived on a lot of land about five miles north of DuPont, which he granted from the State in 1843. He bought up other land surrounding, and was engaged in the turpentine business for several years prior to his death, but sold out shortly before his death. He died March 24th, 1905, of heart failure, and was buried at the History of Clinch County, Georgia 289 Fender graveyard on the Allapaha River. He was a member of the Primitive Baptist Church. SIRMANS, EZEKIEL J., was born in Irwin, now Clinch County, February 28th, 1824, being the first white child born on what is now Clinch County soil. In 1847 he was elected tax collector of Lowndes County, and when Clinch was cre- ated he was chosen its first tax collector. He was first com- missioned April 12, 1850, but did not take up his commis- sion on account of holding the same office in Lowndes County. He was again elected and commissioned January i6th, 1851, and served one year. March 7th, 1853, he was commissioned justice of the peace of the 970th district and served a year. During the Civil War Mr. Sirmans was first lieutenant of Co. "I" 4th Georgia Cavalry. During his lifetime Mr. Sir- mans accumulated much wealth, which was inherited at his death by his children, Franklin B., Manasseh and Caroline Sirmans. He died April 28th, 1900, and was buried at the Fender cemetery. SIRMANS, FRANKLIN B., was born in Clinch County, September 22d, 1853, the son of Ezekiel J. Sirmans. He was raised on the farm and educated in the common schools, and when grown he engaged in farming, stock-raising and mer- chandising. In this he was very successful. He married Feb- ruary 28th, 1878, Miss Amanda Strickland, daughter of Charles Strickland, by whom he had two children. Chandler (died) and Edna, who married A. K. Sessoms. He was first elected State senator in 1886, and served through the session of 1 886-1 887. In 1892 he was again elected, defeating the Populist candidate by over 2,000 plurality. In 1898 he was defeated by R. G. Dickerson. In 1904 he was again elected, defeating S. L. Drawdy. In 19 10 he was defeated by W. T. Dickerson. Mr. Sirmans was appointed notary public and ex-officio justice of the peace of the 586th district, to which he was commissioned October 15th, 1880. He also was a County Commissioner for three years, 1 890-1 893. He was a 290 History of Clinch County, Georgia member of the Jury Commissioners for about ten years. Mr. Sirmans' first wife having died, he was married April 27th, 1905, to Mrs. Fannie L. Williams, daughter of A. Gill, of Jasper, Fla. There were no children by this marriage. For several years Mr. Sirmans was a turpentine operator, besides farming and stock-raising. He became very wealthy, due to his own business acumen, inheritance from his father's estate and his first wife's inheritance from her father. At his death Mr. Sirmans was about the largest property owner in the county. He died March 12th, 19 15, at his home near the town of Sirmans, in the Mud Creek district. Mr. Sirmans was very instrumental in the building of the Waycross & Western Railroad through the county. At his death he was its vice-president. He was also the founder of the town of Sirmans on the new railroad. His remains were buried at Fender graveyard with Masonic ceremonies. SIRMANS, JOSEPH, was born in Emanuel County, May 1 6th, 1808, the son of Josiah Sirmans, Sr., and a brother to Benjamin Sirmans. When he was yet a lad his father re- moved to Irwin, now Clinch County, where they settled, Joseph Sirmans was married about 1830 to Miss Rebecca Smith, a daughter of Rev. William Smith, by whom he had six children, viz. : Artie, Mary, Matilda, Lucretia, Nancy and John Sirmans. His first wife having died in 1856, Mr. Sir- mans married Mrs. Sarah Howell, a widow, by whom he had one son, Isaac Sirmans. In 1872 he was elected representa- tive from Clinch County, and served through the session of 1873-74. He was also a member of the Jury Commissioners for several years. He died at his home in the Mud Creek district October 7th, 1888, age eighty years. He was buried at the Fender graveyard. SIRMANS, LYMAN A., was born April ist, 1838, in what is now Clinch County, the youngest son of Benjamin Sirmans. He was admitted to the bar and practiced law in Homerville several years. He married Miss Mollie Griffin, History of Clinch County, Georgia 291 daughter of Rev. W. W. Griffin, and by her had two chil- dren, Noble A. Sirmans and Mrs. Frank A. Smith. Col. Sir- mans enlisted in Co. "A" 20th Georgia Battalion, May 12th, 1862. Later he joined O'Steen's company and was elected second lieutenant. When the County Court was first organ- ized in 1866, Colonel Sirmans was appointed its first solicitor, May loth, 1866. He served about two years. He removed about 1875 to DeKalb County, but later returned to Clinch County and settled at DuPont. Here he resumed his law practice in 1891;. He was a very active member of the Metho- dist Church at Homerville and at DuPont. At the latter place he was Sunday School superintendent a while. He died April 22d, 1910, at his home in DuPont, and was buried at the North cemetery. His widow died in 19 14. SMITH, ALLEN N., originally Allen Smith, was born in what is now Clinch County, Sept. nth, 1842, the oldest son of James C. Smith. He served in O'Steen's company dur- ing the war, and was in 1864 elected justice of the peace of the 970th district. He served three years and then removed to Homerville and was elected justice of the peace there in 1867. He resigned in 1868 and was appointed treas- urer of Clinch County to succeed Riley Johnson, who had resigned. He was appointed November 28th, 1868, and served until 1871. His books at the court-house are dis- tinguished for their neatness and preciseness. After this, Mr. Smith went to Blackshear, Ga., where he has kept his citizenship since. He married Miss Bettie Strickland, of Blackshear, daughter of Allen C. Strickland, and they had three children, Bessie, Lela V., and Moultrie J. Smith. Mr. Smith was elected Ordinary of Pierce County in 1885, and served eight years. Later he returned to Clinch County and lived a few years on his father's old home place. A daugh- ter married J. B. O'Neal, who is clerk of the Superior Court of Pierce County at present. 292 History of Clinch County, Georgia SMITH, CHARLTON H., was born in Ware, now Clinch County, July 8th, 1846, the son of John and Cassie Smith. He attended Mercer University at Penfield, under Prof. S. P. Sanford in 1870. When the Civil War com- menced, Mr. Smith was too young to join, but in May, 1864, joined Co. "I" 4th Georgia cavalry and served until the war closed. In 1869 he was appointed constable of the 586th district. He married Miss Martha Henderson, a daughter of John S. Henderson, September 21st, 1875, and by this marriage were born : Wilbur S. Smith, Ezekiel J. Smith, Lillie, who married S. B. Eatman; Nora, who married S. R. Kirton; Nettie, who married E. D. Brinson; Cora, who married S. A. Sweat, and Ivey, who married W. J. Patter- son. In 1878 he purchased a farm near Homerville and settled on it. In 1881 he was elected justice of the peace of the I2 24the district and commissioned January 24th, 1 88 1 and served one term. He was elected constable of the 1224th district in 1887 and served four years. In 1892 he was elected county school superintendent, and qualified May 30th, 1892. He was re-elected in 1896, but resigned in 1899. He was commissioned ex-ofiicio justice of the peace of the 1224th district December 5th, 1905, to succeed J. C. Kirkland, deceased; he resigned this office December 19th, 1908, and the same day was commissioned justice of the peace. To this office he was re-elected and commissioned December 21st, 19 12 for four years. He was an unsuccess- ful candidate for Ordinary in 190B. SMITH, CORNELIUS ASHLEY, was born June 30th, 1 841, the son of William and Martha Smith. In the Civil War he joined the 31st Georgia Regiment and was wounded at the battle of Fredericksburg. Later he was in the Federal prison in Baltimore for six months but was exchanged. At the time of the surrender he was captain of his company. Following the close of the war he came to Clinch County, and married Miss Nannie Smith, daughter of Peter and Cath- History of Clinch County, Georgia 293 erine, November 15th, 1866. To them were born seven children, viz. : William P., Nannie, Tom, E. D., Ashley, Rena and Boynton Smith. He was commissioned ex-officio justice of the peace March 4th, 1869, but resigned Septem- ber 1 2th, 1870. He was appointed deputy clerk of the Super- ior Court under E. T. Dukes, and in 1876 was elected clerk. In 1878 he was re-elected, and in 1880 was elected State senator. He resigned the office of clerk shortly before his term was out, and took up his duties as senator. In 18.82, when the County Court was re-established, Mr. Smith was appointed judge of the same, being commissioned April i ith, 1882. He held the office two and one-half years. For several years he was railroad and express agent here. About 1885 Mr. Smith, with his family, removed to Texas and settled in Angeline County, where he was elected a county commissioner in 1898. He was a commissioner at the time of his death, which occurred at his .home in Lufkin, Texas, July 1 6th, 1 90 1 , age 60 years. The records in the clerk's office at the court- house attest the neat and correct way in which Mr. Smith kept the clerk's office while he was its occupant. His widow is yet living at Nacogdoches, Texas, while two of his sons occupy high positions with the Nacogdoches and Southern- eastern Railroad. SMITH, JESSE, was born in Appling County, on Red Bluff Creek, August 25th, 1820, the son of William Smith. Here he spent his boyhood days and figured very prominently in the Indian war of 1836-38. He joined a company of "scouts" under Captain Knowles and helped to drive the last Indian from the Okefinokee, the Indians' last stronghold. He was elected a justice of the peace of the 586th district of Ware County, and commissioned January 24th, 1845. He served two years. In 1850 he was elected justice of the peace of the 970th district and commissioned September 21st, 1850. He was re-commissioned in 1853, 1855, 1857, 1859, serving until i860. In 1 861 he was elected sheriff of Clinch County, 294 History of Clinch County, Georgia and commissioned January 23d, 1862. He served two years. He was in Co. "I" 4th Georgia Cavalry a short while during the Civil War. In 1864 he was elected representative from Clinch County, serving through the session of 1 865-1 866. He was married soon after the Indian war to Miss Nancy Tomlinson, daughter of Moses Tomlinson, Sr., and by her had five children, viz. : Sherod, Cicero, John L., Fannie C, who first married Henry C. Moore, and later John C. Jones, and Matilda Smith. He was a member of the Primitive Baptist Church. His home was at Magnolia, where he lived previous to and during the Civil War. He was a charter mem- ber of the Masonic Lodge at Magnolia. Mr. Smith's death occurred in 1884. His wife died in January, 1880. Both are buried at Red Bluff Church. SMITH, JAMES M., was born in what is now Clinch County about 1 840, the son of Peter and Catherine Smith. He was married to Miss Amanda J. Futch, daughter of Mal- colm C. Futch, December 31st, 1874, and by her had ten children. The only ofllice which Mr. Smith held was that of representative from Clinch. He served through the session of 1895-96. After his term was out. Governor Northen ap- pointed him immigration agent for Clinch County. But his death soon followed, October 23d, 1896, following a pro- tracted illness. He was buried at the Peter Smith family burial ground. Mr. Smith was engaged prior to his death in the turpentine business with F. Dickerson. SMITH, JOHN M., was born in Clinch County, March 13th, 1880, the son of David J. Smith and his wife, Fannie Curry. He was reared on his father's farm, and on December 22d, 1903, was married to Miss Avy Lott, of Coffee County. They have three children living, viz. : Orie, Chester and Chandler Smith. Mr. Smith, in the primary of 19 16, was elected county commissioner from the 586th and io6ist dis- tricts to succeed Alex. K. Sessoms, whom he defeated. He will assume his oflice January ist, 19 17. Besides this office, History of Clinch County, Georgia 295 Mr. Smith has served as a district road commissioner and as jury commissioner. SMITH, LEWIS, was born in what is now Clinch County, in 1843, the son of Manning Smith, who was one of Clinch's first representatives to the legislature. When the Civil War came on, Lewis Smith joined Co. "K" 26th Georgia Infantry and served till Its close. He was married to Miss Roxie Mor- gan, daughter of Hon. John L. Morgan, Ordinary, January 3d, 1870. They had several children. He lived one mile east of Homerville on the railroad, his place being now known as the "Lewis Smith place." He was elected treasurer of Clinch County in 1891 to succeed Sherod Smith, who died. He was commissioned November 28th, 1891, and served two years. Later Mr. Smith removed to Florida, where he died. SMITH, MANNING, was born in this State about 18 15, the son of William Smith, a pioneer of Clinch County. He took part in the Indian wars as a volunteer, and in 1845 was elected a justice of the Inferior Court of Ware County. He was commissioned March 19th, 1845 and served one term. When Clinch County was organized It embraced Mr. Smith's home and he was elected as one of the first justices of the Inferior Court of the new county In 1850, being commis- sioned April 1 2th, 1850. He served three years and was re- elected. He served until 1854, when he was elected to the Legislature as a representative. He served through the ses- sion of 1855-56. He was then re-elected to the Inferior Court and commissioned January 12th, 1857, serving four years. His death occurred during the Civil War. Mr. Smith's wife was Elizabeth Tomllnson, daughter of Moses Tomlln- son, Sr., by whom he had several children, among whom were Lewis, Moses, Neter and Sarah Smith. SMITH, SHEROD, was born In Ware, now Clinch County, October 6th, 1846, the son of Jesse Smith. He was employed by Lucius SIrmans, a merchant of DuPont, as bookkeeper at the time of his marriage to Miss Peggie Kight, 296 History of Clinch County, Georgia daughter of Hiram and Sarah Kight. They were married May 27, 1877. To them were born seven children, three sons and four daughters. Later, Mr. Smith came to Homer- ville where he engaged in business on his own account. Sub- sequently he became postmaster and also express agent at Homerville, positions which he held up to his death. In 1 89 1 he was elected treasurer of Clinch County, and was commissioned July 27th, 1891. He was elected at a special election to succeed Henry C. Moore, deceased. Not long afterwards Mr. Smith died at his home in Homerville, Octo- ber 2 1st, 1 89 1. His widow and children noAv live in Tampa, Florida. STATEN, JAMES W., was born in Appling County, August 29th, 1824, the son of Barzilla Staten, Sr., who died about 1845. His educational advantages were such as offered by the neighborhood schools, furnishing him with a knowl- edge of only the primary branches, and merely laying a foun- dation for the education which reading and observation be- stowed upon him after leaving the school house. Farming was his life-long occupation. He was one of the pioneers of Clinch County, and in April, 1850 was elected the first rep- resentative from the new county of Clinch to the Legislature. In 1852 he was re-elected, ably representing the county in legislative halls. In 1857 he was elected a State senator from Clinch County and served one term. In politics Mr. Staten was a Whig before the war, but joined the Democrats about i860, and after the Civil War he became one of the pillars of the Democratic Party in this section of the State. In 1861 he entered the Confederate service as first lieutenant in Co. "B" 29th Georgia Regiment. He was elected captain of his company in Col. A. T. Mclntyre's Regiment. He served in this until the State troops were disbanded, after which he was on the Relief Committee and was in Atlanta just before it surrendered in 1864. He was also a member of the State convention which assembled at Milledgeville in 1858. In History of Clinch County, Georgia 297 1858 Echols County was created and this made him a citizen of that county. In 1 876 he was chosen State senator from his district and re-elected two years later. He had the satisfac- tory record of having never been defeated for any office he offered for. In 1846 he married Miss Caroline E. Malloy, of Branchville, S. C. To them were born eleven children, viz.: W. F. Staten, Delia, John B., C. F., Fannie, Bailer, Catherine, Josephine, J. L., W. T., and Samuel Staten. Statenville, in Echols County, was named for Captain Staten. In later years he lived in Lowndes County, where he died March 3d, 1892, age 68 years. Captain Staten was a sincere man in all his actions, one of the solid type whose word was as good as his bond, totally devoid of all egotism and con- scientious in the discharge of his duty in its minutest detail. His daughter, Josephine, married J. N. Griffin, of Valdosta, and one of their daughters married Dr. L. G. Hardman, who made such a creditable race for Gov'ernor of Georgia in 191 4. STATEN, QUARTERMAN B., was born in this State in 1832, and was a brother of James W. Staten. His wife was Leacy Malloy, and they had about five children. In the Civil War he joined Co. "G" 50th Georgia, and was elected its first lieutenant; later he was promoted captain October 25th, 1862. He served as captain until March 20th, 1863, when he resigned but was re-elected captain in July, 1863. He served until January 1865, when he came home and qual- ified as a justice of the Inferior Court, to which he was com- missioned January 23d, 1865. He served in this capacity until the court was abolished. He lived near Stockton and died about 1890. STRICKLAND, CHARLES, was born in what is now Pierce County, February 22d, 1822. When the Indian war of 1836-37 came on, he took part in the fighting against the Indians. In 1849 he settled on Red Bluff Creek on the place now owned by A. J. Lockliear. He lived here until 1864, when he moved up on the Allapaha River, where he lived 298 History of Clinch County, Georgia until his death. Mr. Strickland married in 1847 Miss Lucre- tia Sirmans, daughter of Benjamin Sirmans. By her he had twelve children: Martha, who married Elias L. Moore; Mary Ann, who married Daniel Dickerson; Louis; Benja- min Franklin; Colquitt or Colly; Isabella, who married Bill K. Roberts; Allen J.; Lucinda, who married Lott; Jo- seph B.; Kizzie; Lyman J., and Amanda, who married F. B. Sirmans. When the Civil War came on, Mr. Strickland joined the 4th Georgia Cavalry, Co. "I" and served until January, 1865, when he returned home, having been elected a justice of the Inferior Court. He served on this court until it was abolished. Mr. Strickland was one of the wealthiest men of the county and farmed and dealt in cattle extensively. By reference to the census of 1870, it is observed that he had 1,200 acres of cultivated land. Mr. Strickland's death oc- curred at his home in Mud Creek district, where J. B. Strick- land now lives, November ist, 1883. His remains were buried at Valdosta. STRICKLAND, JOEL, was born in this State in 1830. He married Miss Amanda Hodges, a sister of Archibald and John W. Hodges, and to them were born twelve children. Mr. Strickland was one of the first settlers of the new town of Homerville, and was engaged in the mercantile business and also operated a hotel a while. He was station agent here several years. He was elected a justice of the Inferior Court in 1 86 1 and commissioned September loth, 1861. He served four years. About 1880 he removed to Plant City, Florida, where he died about 1890. Mr. Strickland was a leading member of the Baptist Church at Homerville and was a charter member. STRICKLAND, LEWIS, was born in Clinch County, February 25th, 1850, the son of Charles and Lucretia Strick- land. He was probably the first white child born in the new county after its creation. He was commissioned ex-officio justice of the peace of the 586th district July 22d, 1872, and History of Clinch County, Georgia 299 served until he resigned March 26th, 1875. He entered the mercantile business and dealt in stock cattle, in which he was eminently successful. In 1876 he announced as an indepen- dent candidate for representative and in the ensuing election defeated the regular Democratic nominee. In 1878 he was again elected as an independent candidate. Mr. Strickland was first engaged in business at Milltown, but later went to Valdosta, where he lived until his death. He was soon fol- lowed by his brothers, B. F., Colly and A. J. Strickland. Mr. Strickland engaged with some of his brothers in the cotton business, later they organized the Strickland Cotton Mills at Valdosta, and still later, the A. J. Strickland Fertilizer Com- pany, manufacturers and distributors of guano and other fer- tilizers. Mr. Strickland several years before his death joined the Republican Party and was subsequently chairman of the Republican district executive committee. In this capacity Mr. Strickland wielded a large amount of influence in Federal appointments in this section, under the Republican adminis- trations. Mr. Strickland's death occurred in Valdosta April 3d, 1899, and he was buried in the city cemetery. He never married and his large estate was left to his brothers and sis- ters. Mr. Strickland, with his brothers in Valdosta, have been among the most potent factors in the upbuilding of Valdosta and its industries. SWEAT, JOEL L., was born in Ware County, Septem- ber 2ist, 1847, the son of Samuel and Maria Sweat, and a grandson of Nathaniel Sweat, a soldier of the Revolutionary War. He was raised in Pierce County and completed his education at the old Blackshear Academy. He enlisted in Confederate cavalry service in 1862, although a youth, and for three years was a brave soldier. In 1865 he located at Homerville, where he was in 1867 elected justice of the peace. Under David O'Quin he served as deputy clerk of the Superior Court. He also engaged in the mercantile business and was admitted to the bar in Homerville in 1869. Under jOO History of Clinch County, Georgia the administration of Governor James M, Smith he was a clerk in the executive department for a short while, and dur- ing the sessions of the Legislature of 1875-76, he was chief clerk of the House of Representatives. Returning to Homer- ville he resumed the practice of law, which very soon grew to be very lucrative and of wide extent. In 1880 Colonel Sweat was elected representative from Clinch County, de- feating A. B. Findley and Sherod Tomlinson. Two years later he was re-elected, defeating David J. Sirmans. In 1884 lie was a delegate to the Democratic National Convention at Chicago and at St. Louis in 1888. In 1887 he removed to Waycross, where he has since resided, engaging in the active practice of law. In 1892 Judge S. R. Atkinson resigned as judge of the Superior Courts of the Brunswick Circuit, and Colonel Sweat was appointed by Governor Northen to fill the vacancy. When the Legislature met he was elected judge for the unexpired term, and in 1895 was elected for the full term. He very ably filled this position until January, 1899, when he retired and resumed the practice of law. During the Legislature of 19 13-14 he was State senator from the fifth district. Colonel Sweat was married to Miss Maggie M. Hitch, daughter of Sylvanus Hitch, January loth, 1869, and by her had three children. Colonel Sweat was for several years superintendent of the Methodist Sunday School at Homerville, and for seven years a recording steward of the church. His membership is now with the First Methodist Church of Waycross. SWEAT, SCREVEN A., was born in Ware County, May 1 2th, 1872, the son of T. F. M. Sweat. He came with his father to Clinch County in 1880, and settled in the Wire- grass district. Later he came to Homerville, where he was appointed postmaster in 1894. He held this oflfice two years and in 1897 was elected constable of the 1224th district. Shortly afterwards Sheriff O'Steen appointed him deputy sheriff, in which capacity he served until 1901. In 1900 he History of Clinch County, Georgia 301 was elected sheriff of Clinch County, defeating Ex-Sheriff Frank Dickerson by 255 votes. In the general election he easily defeated his Populist opponent, I. W. Baldree. By continuous re-elections he held this office until 1909, January I St, when he retired. He was not a candidate for re-election. Later he entered the mercantile business in Homerville. Mr. Sweat married Miss Cora Smith, daughter of Charlton H. Smith, of Homerville, SWEAT, THOMAS F. M., was born in Ware County, November 19th, 1847. He came to Clinch County in 1880, and settled in the Wiregrass district. Soon afterwards he was appointed ex-ofiicio justice of the peace of the 1 141st dis- trict and commissioned October 15th, 1880. He served until 1885, when he was elected justice of the peace, serving four years. In 1889 he was again appointed ex-officio justice of the peace. Before his term expired he removed to Homer- ville, where he was appointed deputy sheriff and jailor under Sheriff Frank Dickerson. In 1901 he was appointed jailor by his son, Sheriff' S. A. Sweat. He also served a few years on the town council. In 1909 he was elected county treasurer, defeating J, S. Kirkland, W. A, Ecord and James L, Pafford. In 1 9 10 he was again elected treasurer, defeating Seward Smith, Randall Corbitt, J, D. Weaver and T. N. Stanfield. He did not offer for re-election in 19 12. Mr. Sweat was mar- ried in 1870 to Miss Alice , by whom he had six children, viz.: Screven A., Jerome J., R. W., Stella, who married W. K. Peagler; Kate, who married B. W. Wagner; Tressie, who married H. E. Darley. Mr. Sweat has long been a member of the Methodist Church, and has served as recording steward, Sunday School superintendent and church steward. He was engaged in retail hay and grain business in Homerville previous to his death, which occurred July I ith, 1916. TAYLOR, JACKSON J., was born in what is now Clinch County, December i8th, 1847, the son of John E, Taylor, 302 History of Clinch County, Georgia who was a native of Chatham County. He was raised on his father's farm south of Stockton, and In 1876 was elected county surveyor, defeating George A. Dame, and In 1878 was re-elected. He married May 28th, 1882, Miss Cordelia Dampler, and after her death married In 1904, Miss Fannie Grooms. He had eight children. In 1886 Mr. Taylor joined the Methodist Church at Stockton, and subsequently served the church as steward for six years. Mr. Taylor Is a farmer and runs a grist-mill on Cow Creek. TIMMERMAN, SHIMUEL, was born In Edgefield County, S. C, November 24th, 1824, and when not yet grown came to Georgia. In 1850, when Clinch County was created, he was one of Its citizens, and In 1852 was elected justice of the peace of the I052d district, serving until 1853. In 1856 he was elected sheriff of Clinch County, serving two years. In 1858 he was elected a justice of the Inferior Court, serving three years. In 1861 he was again elected sheriff, serving until 1862. In 1864 he was re-elected, serving until 1866. Mr. TImmerman married, about 1850, Miss Eliza L. FIndley, daughter of Acy Findley, and by her had eight sons and two daughters. Mr. TImmerman died at his home, near Stockton, May 26th, 1889, and was burled at Cow Creek (Way fare) Church. He was a member of the Primitive Baptist Church for many years. TOMLINSON, JAMES, was born In what Is now Clinch County, August 21st, 1846, the son of Harris Tomllnson, Sr. In the Civil War he served In Co. "K" 29th Georgia Regi- ment. After the war he taught school some, and was In 1871 elected clerk of the Superior Court. He served two years. He was first married to Miss Mattie Floyd, of Liberty County, by whom he had two children; after her death, he married Miss Martha M. Mills, August 24th, 1874; after her death, he married Mrs. Calladonia G. Roberts, she died 1906. For many years Mr. Tomllnson was a postal clerk on the railroad, his run being from Savannah to High Springs. History of Clinch County, Georgia 303 He died April 27th, 19 10, and was buried in the city ceme- tery at Waycross. TOMLINSON, MOSES, was born in Lowndes, now Clinch County, December 29th, 1840, the son of John and Zilpha (Register) Tomlinson. He was raised on the farm, and in 1861 joined Co. "H" 29th Georgia Regiment. He was disabled by the loss of his left arm on the third anniver- sary of the date he joined the army, at the engagement near Jonesboro, Ga., August 31st, 1864. After this he returned home, and was, in 1872, elected Ordinary of Clinch County, defeating John L. Morgan. He was re-elected in 1876 and served until 1881. In 1883 he was elected justice of the peace of the I052d district and served two years. In 1888 he was elected tax collector of Clinch County and commissioned January 7th, 1889. He served in this capacity eight years, being defeated in 1896 by M. M. Monk. He was married March 1 2th, 1876, to Miss Wealthy E. Mathis, daughter of Hillery P. Mathis, by whom he had five sons and four daughters. In 19 10 he was appointed a jury commissioner, but declined to serve. Mr. Tomlinson has been urged fre- quently in the last few years to run for representative from Clinch County, but has declined on each occasion. His ripe experience and a master mind, even in his advanced age, would enable him to make Clinch County an excellent repre- sentative in the Legislature. As tax collector he made the county an efficient officer; among other things closing his books promptly on the twentieth of December as the law re- quires. TOMLINSON, SHEROD, was born in Irwin, now Clinch County, February 6th, 1826, the son of Moses and Charlotte Tomlinson. In early life he was married to Miss Sarah Ann Burkhalter, a daughter of Richard H. Burkhalter, and had ten children. May nth, 1852, Mr. Tomlinson was commissioned a justice of the peace of the 105 2d district and served three years. On January loth, 1861, he was commis- 304 History of Clinch County, Georgia sioned a justice of the Inferior Court of Clinch County, and served until September loth, 1861. In 1861 he joined Co. "H" 29th Georgia Regiment and served until 1864, when he returned home and qualified as coroner, to which he had been elected. He served as coroner four years. In 1880 he was defeated for representative by Col. J. L. Sweat. During 1 877-1 88 1 he was a member of the Board of Education. His death occurred at his home in Mud Creek, December 26th, 1885. He was buried at the Fender graveyard. TOMLINSON, WILLIAM S., was born in Emanuel County in 1822, the son of William Tomlinson and Bettie Sirmans. He was a farmer all his life, and accumulated quite a lot of property. He married Matilda Giddens in 1846, and their children were John G., Kizzie, Isbin, Matthew, and George F. Tomlinson. Mr. Tomlinson was, in 1856, elected representative from Clinch County, defeating Man- ning Smith. He served through the session of 1857-58, and after missing one term, was, in i860, again elected repre- sentative and re-elected in 1862. He served through the ses- sions of 1861-62 and 1863-64. He lived many years on the place now owned by W. F. Kirkland, but at the time of his death lived with his son, Matthew Tomlinson. He died about 1898, and is buried at North cemetery. His son, Isbin Tom- linson, was acting clerk of the Superior Court of this county a short while following the resignation of B. R. Johnson, in 1883. TOWNSEND, SINCLAIR C, was born in Wayne County, June 3d, 1870. When he was about five years old his parents moved to Bradford County, Fla., and when not yet grown began teaching school. He taught in the fall and winter seasons and attended high school at White Springs during the spring and summer seasons. He graduated from the Florida Normal School and Business College at White Springs in 1892, and then taught school until 1895. He was enrolling clerk in the House of Representatives at Tallahas- History of Clinch County, Georgia 305 see during the session of 1895. In May, 1896, he was ad- mitted to the bar at Thomasville, Ga., and a few days there- after was appointed deputy clerk of the Circuit Court of Bradford County, which position he resigned in October, J 896. He then came to Homerville and formed a partner- ship with Col. R. G. Dickerson for the practice of law. He was married August 31st, 1897, to Miss Effie Gillican from Wilmington, N. C. January ist, 1898, the law partnership of Dickerson & Townsend was dissolved and Colonel Town- send continued to practice alone. He was appointed judge of the County Court of Clinch County by Governor Candler, in 1 90 1, but resigned in 1904 before his term was out. In the primary of 1902 he was narrowly defeated for representa- tive by R. B. Johnson. In the primary of 1904 he was de- feated by J. F. Daugharty. In 1906 he was elected represen- tative, defeating E. J. Futch. During the ensuing session Judge Townsend introduced and had passed the present law providing for jury trial in the County Court. He opposed the present prohibition law, which was passed by the Legis- lature. He was defeated for re-election in 1908 by Col. S. L. Drawdy. In November, 1908, he was appointed by Governor Smith Solicitor of the City Court of St. Mary's, Ga., and moved there in February, 1909, and was re-appointed by Governor Brown in 19 12, which he still holds. Previous to his removal to St. Mary's he formed a partnership with Col. H. J. Dame, which was dissolved in 1909. On May 22d, 1 9 13, he was appointed by President Wilson as collector of customs for the port of St. Mary's, which position he held until the collectorship was abolished and consolidated with the port of Fernandina, Fla. In 191 1 he was elected presi- dent of the County Officers Convention of Georgia at Savan- nah, and in 19 12 was re-elected at St. Mary's. THOMAS, BENJAMIN FRANKLIN, was born in Clinch County, April 5th, 1882, and was raised on the farm. He was employed by Mr. D. E. Kirkland for several years and later entered the livery business. He was elected Coroner in 1 9 14, defeating Dixon Smith, and J. F. Newman. In the 3o6 History of Clinch County , Georgia primary of 1916 he was defeated for tax receiver, running second on the ticket. He is not married. WILLIAMS, JOHN, was born about 1830, the son of John Williams, Sr., and his wife Nancy Smith. He was elected representative from Clinch County in 1859, defeating J. R. O'Steen. He served through the session of 1 859-1 860. He married a daughter of John L. Morgan, by whom he had three sons and a daughter, viz. : Sylvester, Lemuel and Pres- ton and Roxie, who married N. J. Smith. In 1864 Mr. Wil- liams was killed by a deserter from the Confederate army. Mr. Williams was acting as a recruiting officer in this section, and endeavored to arrest the deserter, but was killed. His slayer was later captured by a detachment of soldiers headed by Lieut. John L. Morgan, Jr., and brought to Homerville, where he was executed by being hung from a pine tree In the southern part of town. WHITTINGTON, BENJAMIN A., was born in Au- gusta, Ga., March 15th, 1856, the son of John A. Whitting- ton. He came with his parents to "Clinch County when he was twelve years old, and lived in Homerville until his death. In 1 88 1 he was admitted to the bar at Homerville, and under Abraham Morgan served as deputy clerk of the Superior Court a while. In 1884 he was appointed judge of the County Court of Clinch County, and served until the court was abolished. Colonel Whittington's wife was Miss Maggie Johnson, daughter of John J. Johnson, of Homerville. They had several children, of whom only one, Harry, lived to be grown. Colonel Whittington actively practiced law in Homer- ville until his death, which occurred August 5th, 1898, at his home in Homerville. He died of paralysis. His remains were buried in the Homerville cemetery. His death was the occa- sion of resolutions passed by the local bar at the succeeding term of Superior Court. Colonel Whittington was a member of the Methodist Church and of the Masons. He was for several years a member of the Board of Commissioners for the town of Homerville and later of the town council. EXTENSION OF CHAPTER XL THE LASTINGER FAMILY* THE progenitor of this family in America was John Las- tinger. He was a native of Germany and was born prob- ably about 1740. He came to America and landed at Charleston, S. C, about 1760. It is not known what was his wife's name other than he met her on the ship they were com- ing across in. In a few years this couple came to Georgia, and the records in Atlanta show that he was granted a land head- right of one hundred acres in 1767. In 1769 he was given a similar grant. Both of these grants were in St. Phillips parish, later divided into counties of Effingham and Chatham. The children of John Lastinger and his wife, were : George, born 1775; Milly, who married William Driggers; Andrew, born 1777, who married Mary Parker; Elizabeth (died in Infancy) ; Tobitha, who married a Bullard; David, whose wife was Dinah; Sarah, who married William Parker; and Hannah, who married John Groover, and a daughter who married a Weaver. Children of George Lastinger: Andrew, who married Sarah McDonald ;Shadarach; Polly, who married John Rymes; Elizabeth, who married a Willis; Fannie, who mar- ried Noah TIce, and Mehala, who married a McNeil. Chil- dren of Andrew Lastinger: Elisha; Barbara, who married William Youmans; Susan, who married Elijah Adams (died) and LaFayette Gault, second husband; Louisa, who married Timothy Alderman, tax collector of Clinch County; Alfred Lastinger; Mary, who married Harmon Adams; William; *I am indebted for this information to Mr. W. W. Lastinger, whose highly- interesting genealogical table of the Lastinger family was loaned to me to be guided by in the above sketch. The above is not given further than the third generation from John Lastinger. — Author. 3o8 History of Clinch County, Georgia Clayton; Bartlett; Jackson, and Jane, who married B. T. Altman. Children of Milly and William Driggers: Jonas and Wil- laim Driggers, Jr. ; Sarah, who married Dixon Bennett, of Clinch County; Rebecca, who married Harris Tomlinson, of Clinch County; Ellen, who married Seaborn Lastinger, who was born in 1805, and two other daughters, names unknown. Children of Andrew Lastinger, born 1777 : Guilford, who was the first Ordinary of Clinch County; Sallie (died in girlhood) ; Seaborn, born 1805; Annis, who married James Lastinger, and William Lastinger, born 1804, who married Louisa English. Children of Guilford Lastinger by his first wife, Sarah Mikel: Andrew, who married Eliza Bostick; James, who married Nancy Corbett; Charles, who married Susan Whitehurst; Guilford T., who married Nicy Mc- Donald; David (never married) ; Annis (died in girlhood), and Seaborn, who married Sarah Bostick. Children of Guil- ford Lastinger by his second wife, Isabella Brack: Mrs. Ruby Eason, Mrs. Isabella Crosby, Mrs. Grant Steedley, and Mrs. Lee Powell. Children of William Lastinger, born 1804, died 1893, and who was an early pioneer of Clinch County : Henry A., who married Emma J. Senquefield; Peter C, married Syl- vania Ison; Seaborn, (never married) ; Annis, who married Robert Elliott; Elizabeth, who married William Wilkerson; Lacy E., who married Sophronia Williams; William H., married Georgia A. Jones; Joshua L., married Louisa Bow- den; Jane, who married William McDonald; Kansas, who married F. M. Smith; Nebraska, who married Dr. J. G. Edie, and Arizona, who married Robt. K. Turner. Children of David and Dinah Lastinger: James, John, Elias, Peter, William and Elizabeth, who married William May. Children of Sarah and William Parker: William, Jr., Calvin and Simeon Parker. Children of Hannah and John Groover: Elizabeth, who History of Clinch County, Georgia 309 married a Millen; Barbara, who married James English; James, John and Abner Groover. The following Lastingers were lost in the Civil War: Andrew, James, Charles, David, Seaborn, Seaborn (2d), Elias, W. H., and Elias Lastinger (2d), while the following others participated: Guilford T., John, Henry A., Peter C, Lacy E., Wm. H., Joshua B., James, John (2d), and prob- ably others.