(navigation image)
Home American Libraries | Canadian Libraries | Universal Library | Community Texts | Project Gutenberg | Children's Library | Biodiversity Heritage Library | Additional Collections
Search: Advanced Search
Anonymous User (login or join us)
Upload
See other formats

Full text of "History of Cooper County, Missouri"

v. 



HISTORY 



OF 



Cooper County 



MISSOURI 



W. F. JOHNSON 



ILLUSTRATED 



HISTORICAL PUBLISHING COMPANY, 

TOPEKA CLEVELAND 

1919 



> 



<; 



THIS VOLUME IS 

AFFECTIONATELY DEDICATED TO THE 

MEMORY OF 

MY FATHER AND MOTHER. 



\ ^ 1 o 



FOREWORD. 

I readily undertook to write the history of Cooper County. Until I 
had begun to gather the material and data, I did not comprehend the work 
involved, nor the difficulties to be encountered. 

One who from afar looks upon a mountain towering high, which he 
must approach and ascend by a devious, winding way, cannot afford to 
weaken his courage by vain repining, or dissipate his energies by fretful 
anticipations. Starting at once upon his journey, he reaches the foot- 
hills, and to his surprise, the mountain seems not nearly so high. Pur- 
suing his way by a gradual incline up the foot-hills, he leisurely keeps his 
course around and up the mountain, and arrives at the summit. As he 
stands there, comfortably wearied, and inhaling the fragrance of the wild 
flowers, which he has gathered on his way, he looks back over his journey 
as a summer outing. 

Having completed my undertaking, though not to my satisfaction, I 
look back upon my labor as one of love and pleasure. No literary merit 
is claimed for this story of Cooper County. It has not been written but 
merely spoken, and at night, extending often into the small hours of the 
morning. The Ediphone has been used, and from the records the typist 
has transcribed the spoken words. This has been at a saving of labor, 
but doubtless at the expense of diction. It is hoped, however, that it has 
the merit of being in the parlance of the street and home, and that the 
average citizen, with even a limited vocabulary, can read and understand, 
without the frequent use of the lexicon. 

History is but a selection of happenings and events. Each individual, 
every family, house and farm has its history. I have therefore attempted 
to give only those events which have been of some importance to the 
county or a particular neighborhood. 

Of that which has been prepared, I have been compelled to eliminate 
much by reason of want of space; and it may be that many things of 
interest to some will not be found in these pages. Errors have doubtless 
occurred, by reason of transcribing, typesetting and proof-reading, as it 
is too much to expect perfection. Again, much of the history that has 
been written herein has been handed down by word of mouth; and real- 



izing the frailty of human memory, I have attempted to arrive at the 
truth as best I could. 

Especial attention is directed to the biographical sketches which form 
a large part of this volume. In these sketches will be found much inter- 
esting and valuable reading, from which the future historian may well 
compile a history of Cooper County. It is to be regretted that many 
others have not availed themselves of this opportunity to perpetuate the 
history of their families for the benefit of those who come after them. 
However, this is no fault of the editor, as the pages of this volume have 
been open to all who cared to respond to the invitations of the solicitors. 

I have followed the rule of saying the pleasant things, rather than 
the evil, because the good can be found with more pleasure to the seeker. 

W. F. JOHNSON. 

Boonville, Mo., July 12, 1919. 



ILLUSTRATIONS 



Allen, Mr. and Mrs. Henry 480 

Andrews, C. E. 388 

Andrewls, /David 396 

Atkinson, Mr. and Mrs. C. W 936 

Barron, Walter 512 

Bell Air Rural School 240 

Bell, Charles C. 372 

Blank, Frank N. 552 

Boonville, Main Street 256 

Bowmer, George E. and Family 688 

Brandes, John A. and Wife 616 

Brandes, Theodore and Wife 576 

Bridge, M. K. & T. 128 

Bridge, Vine Clad 208 

Bunceton, High School 224 

Bunceton, Residence Scene 224 

Bunceton, Patriotic Parade 240 

Burrus, John and Amanda 504 

Carey, Geo. W. and Matilda 556 

Carlos, H. D., Sr. 540 

Case, H. Earl 1008 

Cochran, O. W. and Wife 548 

Cochran, W. J. 680 

Cook, C. C. and Family 684 

Cosgrove, John 364 

Court House, Old 48 

Court House, Present 33 

Davin, Andrew 888 

Davin. Family Residence 888 

Davin, Michael 888 

Debo, P. L., Family Residence 720 

Derendinger, Mr. and Mrs. Edward 432 
Doerrie, Charles 400 

Drechsel, Mr. and Mrs. Charles H._. 744 
Drennen, Mrs. E. E 440 

Eager, Charles L. 492 

Eager, Mrs. Charles L. 492 

Eldridge, Charles C. and Wife 544 



"Elrod of Greenbush" 288 

Fahrenbrink, C. W. and Family 696 

Fairfax, C. P. 1048 

Ferry Boat, Boonville 112 

Fricke, Henry 464 

Friedrich, Charles A. and Family 648 

Friedrich, H. C. and Family 408 

Gerhardt, Joseph and Family 660 

Gmelich, J. F. 354 

Gorrell, Amos and Family 788 

Grathwohl, Charles T. 624 

Gronstedt, Heinrich 472 

Groom, Mr. and Mrs. C. C. 484 

Harlan, George C. 976 

Harriman, Robert L. 1040 

Harris, Edward H. 824 

Harris, Thomas A. 756 

Harris, Judge T. A. 560 

Haun, William H., Residence 816 

Hazell, J. I. 452 

Hickam, Samuel L. 564 

Hickam, Mrs. Samuel L. 564 

High School, Boonville 192 

Hite, Ernest L. and Family 904 

Howlett, Robert E. 984 

Jacobs, A. C. — 508 

Jaeger, Albert and Family 428 

Jeffress, Mr. and Mrs. James 1088 

Jeffress, John W. and Family 1092 

Johnson, C. B. 728 

Johnson, Mrs. C. B. 728 

Johnson, Newton H. 728 

Johnson, Mrs. Newton H. and Chil- 
dren 728 

Johnston, T. A. 360 

Johnson, W. F. Frontispiece 

Kaiser, Herman and Family 488 

Kemper Military School 176 



HISTORY OF COOPER COUNTY 



Kickashear, Joseph 484 

Kickashear, Mrs. Margaret 484 

King, John 448 

Krohn, John F. 652 

[Crohn, Mrs. John F. 652 

Krohn. Residence of John F. 652 

Leonard, N. Nelson 928 

Lohse, Mrs. Annie 468 

Lohse, Fred 468 

Lieber, Joseph 416 

Lone Elm School 272 

McCarty, M. M. 1064 

McFarland. A. W. 516 

McFarland, Mrs. Mary 516 

McNeil, Peter P. 992 

Mann, Mr. and Mrs. F. J. 440 

Marshall, F. M. 800 

Mayfield, William A. 896 

Mayfield. Mrs. William A. 896 

Meisenheimer, Peter G. and Family___ 840 

Melkersman. Ed and Wife 632 

Mellor, Mr. and Mrs. George W. 760 

Mellor Homestead 764 

Mellor. Thomas 764 

Meyer, George H. and Family 460 

Meyer Homestead 456 

Meyer, William and Family 708 

Missouri Pacific Depot 144 

Moehle, E. L. and Family 412 

Muntzel, Christian and Wife 780 

Muntzel, Robert J. 664 

Neef, Philip P. and Family 748 

Nelson, A. W. 920 

Nuckols. Powhatan C. 524 

Oerly, Ernest C. and Wife 496 

( leriy, Mr. and Mrs. Samuel and Fam- 
ily _-- 500 

Ohlendorf, Christ 568 

O'Neal, Amos — 796 

Parrish, John S. 856 

I'atriotic Parade, Boonville 336 

Patterson, Ed 536 

Pens, From Oscar Spieler's 304 



Pilot Grove, View of . 160 

Potter, Abraham 1000 

Putter, Mrs. Nancy 644 

Prairie Home Fair 304 

Prize Herd. A 288 

Ravenswood Farm 288 

Reavis, W. W. 584 

Renken, Henry A. 520 

Renken, Mrs. Henry A. 520 

Rissler, William B. 848 

Robertson, John 644 

Robertson, Mrs. Mary 644 

Roe. Robert S. 1032 

Roe, Mrs. Robert S. 1032 

Rossen, Mr. and Mrs. S. C. 432 

Rudolph, John W. 420 

Schlotzhauer, Christopher 880 

Schlotzhauer, James H.. Residence 864 

Schlotzhauer, John 836 

Schlotzhauer, John W., Residence 832 

Schupp, Mr. and Mrs. George 872 

Schuster. Mr. and Mrs. Adam 792 

Schuster, August R. and Family 772 

Schuster, Benjamin E. 776 

Schuster, Mrs. Benj. E. 776 

Schuster. Mr. and Mrs. Henry 1056 

Schuster, William 808 

Sieckman, Mr. and Mrs. Fritz 480 

Sites. L. T. 948 

Smith. Christ and Wife 532 

Smith, George W. 944 

Smith, Jeremiah and Wife 608 

Smith. John H. and Wife 608 

Sombart, C. A. 356 

Sombart, Henry E. 368 

Spieler, Mrs. Elizabeth 404 

Spieler, Frederick E. 404 

Steamboating on the Missouri 64 

Starke, John D. 960 

Steigleder. Andrew and Family 640 

Stephens, J. M. - 912 

St. Joseph's Church and School 272 

St. Joseph's Hospital-- 208 

Taliaferro, George T. and Family 700 

Tevis. Nestor C. 740 

Tevis, Mrs. Xestor C. 740 



HISTORY OF COOPER COUNTY 



Tevis. Robert S. 740 

Tevis, Simeon P. 740 

Thornton, Samuel Y. — 784 

Tornado, Devastation of a 320 

Transportation, Overland 80 

Turley. William H. and Wife 752 

Wear, George H. and Wife 592 

Weekley. Martin Luther 768 

Wendleton, David and Wife 676 



Weyland, George A. 384 

Williams, William M. 380 

Windsor, Eugene A. 736 

Windsor, John H. 732 

Windsor, Horace G. 656 

Windsor, R .L. and Family 424 

Wyan. Robert F. 528 

Wyan's, R. F., Residence 256 

Zollinger. Augustus L. 968 



CONTENTS 



CHAPTER I. 

ARCHEOLOGY 



DIVISIONS OF HISTORY— CONTENTS OP MOUNDS — ORIGIN OF MOUNDS— PROBABLE 
RACE OF MOUND BUILDERS 33-39 



CHAPTER II. 

EXPLORATIONS 



THE NEW WORLD — PONCE DE LEON — DE SOTO — CORONADO — MARQUETTE AND 
JOLIET— LA SELLE— FRENCH SETTLEMENTS— TREATY OF ILDEFONSO— 
PURCHASE OF LOUISIANA TERRITORY— ORGANIZATION OF TERRITORY — 
VARIOUS CLAIMS TO MISSOURI 40-51 



CHAPTER III. 

EARLY SETTLEMENTS. 



DANIEL BOONE — BOONSLICK COUNTRY — FIRST TEMPORARY SETTLEMENTS — 
LEWIS AND CLARK— NATHAN AND DANIEL BOONE MAKE SALT— CHRISTY 
AND HEATH— BENJAMIN COOPER— FIGHT WITH INDIANS^INDIANS MEET 
GENERAL CLARK — COOPERS AND COLES SETTLE PERMANENTLY— FIRST 
SETTLERS SOUTH OF RIVER — CONDITIONS MET — FIRST SETTLERS IN BOONS- 
LICK COUNTRY— OTHER SETTLERS SOUTH OF RIVER— ENGLISH STIR UP 
INDIANS— FIRST DEEDS RECORDED 52-69 



CHAPTER IV. 

PIONEER LIFE 



FIRST DWELLINGS — THE HOMINY-BLOCK — SPIRIT OF HELPFULNESS — EARLY 
FARMING IMPLEMENTS — PIONEER WOMEN— EARLY PIONEER DESCRIBED, 
HIS HABITS, HOME. BEE-HUNTING 70-78 



HISTORY OF COOPER COUNTY 

CHAPTER V. 

TRANSPORTATION AND HIGHWAYS 

EARLY RIVER TRANSPORTATION— COUREUR DE BOIS— PIONEER ROADS AND 
TRAVEL— FIRST FERRIES— FIRST STEAMBOATS — ARRIVAL AT FRANKLIN- 
ARRIVAL OF SECOND STEAMBOAT— DESCRIPTION— GREATEST ERA— PRIMI- 
TIVE BOATS — GROWTH— COST — WRECKING — SANTA FE TRAIL — BOONSVILLE 
ACTIVE MART — USE OF OXEN — FIRST RAILROADS — REBUILDING OF BRIDGES 
—ROAD IMPROVEMENT 79-98 

CHAPTER VI. 

THE WAR OF 1812 AND INDIAN TROUBLES. 

ERECTION OF FORTS— KILLING OF SMITH— CAPTURE COURSAULT— TODD AND 
SMITH KILLED— DISCOVERY OF INDIANS— CHASED BY INDIANS— SETTLERS 
TAKE UP TRAIL— CAMPBELL KILLED— SETTLERS MOVE TO SOUTH SIDE OF 
RIVER— BRAXTON COOPER, JR., KILLED— JOSEPH STILL KILLED— KILLING 
OF WILLIAM McLEAN — ATTEMPT TO KILL AUSTIN — GREGG KILLED AND 
DOUGHTY CAPTURED — NEGRO "JOE" KILLED — COURSAULT KILLED — MURDER 
OF RAMSEY FAMILY — CAPTAIN SARSHALL COOPER MURDERED — TWO NE- 
GROES CAPTURED — RANGERS COME TO RELIEF — DODGE AND COOPER 
CONTROVERSY — LETTER TO GOVERNOR — SAMUEL McMAHON AMBUSHED — 
BUILDING OF HANNAH COLE FORT— INDIAN TREATY— ADDITIONAL INCI- 
DENTS -1 99-122 



CHAPTER VII. 

FROM 1815 TO 1819. 



IMMIGRATION — ORGANIZATION OF COUNTIES — EARLY COURTS — PROCEEDINGS — 
OFFICERS — ELECTIONS — "NEW COMERS" — LAND SPECULATION — SALE OF 
PUBLIC LANDS— PREEMPTION CLAIMS— SAMUEL COLE'S EXPERIENCES — 
EARLY CHURCHES— A. FULLER'S LETTER 123-140 

CHAPTER VIII. 

FROM 1819 TO 1821. 

cooper County formed— first circuit court— first record of circuit 
court— march term, 1819— first judge of election— first con- 
stable — july term, 1819— first letters of administration — first 
jury case— proceedings to divide property on which boonville 
is located 141-153 



HISTORY OF COOPER COUNTY 

CHAPTER IX. 

FROM 1821 TO 1834. 

SIZE OF COOPER COUNTY REDUCED— FIRST COUNTY COURT— FIRST OFFICERS- 
COUNTY SEAT LOCATED— FIRST COURT HOUSE— FIRST WILL PROVED— JOHN 
V. SHARP— ELECTIONS — PARTY LINES— FALL OF OLD FRANKLIN 154-159 

CHAPTER X. 

FROM 1834 TO 1847. 

NATIONAL AND LOCAL POLITICS— VIGOROUS CAMPAIGNS — CLAY AND POLK— "O. K." 
—INDIAN ALARM— MORMON WAR— FLOOD OF 1844— MEXICAN WAR— COOPER 
COUNTY COMPANY 160-171 

CHAPTER XL 

CONTINUATION OF 1834-1847 AND UP TO 1861 

RISE OF BOONVILLE — ERA OF PROSPERITY— KEMPER SCHOOL FOUNDED— COUNTY 
SEAT PERMANENTLY LOCATED— EFFORTS TO CHANGE COUNTY SEAT— MILI- 
TARY COMPANIES— TROUBLE BETWEEN COMPANIES— MAJOR FORSYTHE 
KILLED — SECOND COURT HOUSE ERECTED — DISCOVERY OF GOLD IN CALI- 
FORNIA AFFECTS COOPER COUNTY— McCULLOCH'S COMPANY— TEMPERANCE 
EXCITEMENT — SLAVERY AGITATION — PRO SLAVERY CONVENTION— CONTRO- 
VERSY IN KANSAS— COOPER COUNTY PRO SLAVERY— ELECTIONS OF 1856-1860. 

172-184 

CHAPTER XII. 

CIVIL WAR PERIOD 

CIVIL WAR A MEMORY— BATTLE BELOW BOONVILLE— HOME GUARDS IN COOPER 
COUNTY— PRICES RAID— SHELBY'S RAID— PRICE'S RAID INTO COOPER 
COUNTY 185-202 

CHAPTER XIII. 

INCIDENTS OF THE WAR. 

JOSEPH SIFERS KILLED— RELIGIOUS SERVICES INTERRUPTED— PETER MITZEL 
AND OTHO ZELLER MURDERED— JOHN DIEHL, NICHOLAS AND THOMAS 
COOPER KILLED— MURDER OF ELLIS AND GRAVES— KILLING OF WILLIAM 
MAYO BY BILL ANDERSON— THOMAS BROWNFIELD'S EXPERIENCE— McDEAR- 
MON AND A SOLDIER KILLED— OTHER DEPREDATIONS AND MURDERS BY 
BUSHWHACKERS— KROHN AND BASS KILLED— ANDERSON'S MEN AND HOME 
GUARDS CLASH— JOHN BALLINGER KILLED— TRAGEDIES IN CLARKS FORK 
AND PRAIRIE HOME TOWNSHIPS 203-213 



HISTORY OF COOPER COUNTY 

CHAPTER XIV. 

PERIOD OF READJUSTMENT 

PREJUDICE— CONSTITUTIONAL CONVENTION— RADICALS— "DRACONIAN CODE"— 
"IRON CLAD OATH" — CONSTITUTION ADOPTED — LATER AMENDED AND RADI- 
CALISM DEFEATED— BROWN ELECTED GOVERNOR— UNPOPULARITY OF 
DRAKE— PRESBYTERIAN CHURCH DURING AND AFTER THE WAR 214-217 

CHAPTER XV. 

TOWNSHIPS 

BOONVILLE TOWNSHIP— BOONVILLE AS IT IS TODAY— BLACKWATER TOWNSHIP- 
CLEAR CREEK TOWNSHIP— PILOT GROVE TOWNSHIP— KELLY TOWNSHIP— 
LAMINE TOWNSHIP— NORTH AND SOUTH MONITEAU TOWNSHIPS— PALESTINE 
TOWNSHIP — PRAIRIE HOME TOWNSHIP — CLARKS FORK TOWNSHIP— SALINE 
TOWNSHIP — LEBANON TOWNSHIP — OTTERVILLE TOWNSHIP 218-249 

CHAPTER XVI. 

SCHOOLS. 

PIONEER SCHOOLS AND TEACHERS, FIRST SCHOOLS IN COOPER COUNTY— DAVIS 
SCHOOL— COOPER COUNTY SCHOOLS— BOONVILLE PUBLIC SCHOOLS — SCHOOL 
DIRECTORS — SUPERINTENDENTS — FACULTY— SUMMER S C H O O L— CATHOLIC 
SCHOOL, — COOPER COUNTY INSTITUTE — OTTERVILLE ACADEMY — McGUIRE 
SEMINARY— KEMPER MILITARY SCHOOL— PILOT GROVE COLLEGIATE INSTI- 
TUTE 250-264 



CHAPTER XVII. 

CHURCHES. 



BAPTIST — METHODIST — PRESBYTERIAN— CHRISTIAN— GERMAN EVANGELICAL- 
LUTHERAN— EPISCOPAL— CATHOLIC 265-277 

CHAPTER XVIII. 

AGRICULTURE. 

NATURAL ADVANTAGES— PRODUCTION— SURPLUS PRODUCTS— CORN PRIZE WIN- 
NERS—ORCHARDS AND VINEYARDS— LIVE STOCK— SHORTHORN HERDS- 
HOGS— HORSES— MULES— MARKET PRICES FROM 1886 TO 1915— LIVE STOCK 
PRODUCTS— SHEEP— SOILS 278-308 



HISTORY OF COOPER COUNTY 

CHAPTER XIX. 

THE PRESS 

FIRST NEWSPAPER— SECOND NEWSPAPER— "THE COON HUNTER"— OTHER PIO- 
NEER PAPERS— BOONVILLE ADVERTISER FOUNDED— BOONVILLE EAGLE — 
CENTRAL MISSOURIAN— TOPIC— WESTERN CHRISTIAN UNION— PILOT GROVE 
BEE— SHAVE TAIL COURIER— BLACKWATER NEWS— OTTERVILLE MAIL- 
CENTRAL MISSOURI REPUBLICAN— BUNCETON EAGLE 309-314 



CHAPTER XX. 

BANKING AND CURRENCY. 



EARLY CONDITIONS— FIRST BANKS— DR. TRIGG ESTABLISHES FIRST BANK IN 
BOONVILLE— BRANCH OF BANK OF ST. LOUIS ESTABLISHED— CENTRAL NA- 
TIONAL BANK— COOPER COUNTY BANKS— BOONVILLE NATIONAL BANK- 
FARMERS' TRUST COMPANY— COMMERCIAL BANK OF BOONVILLE— BANK OF 
BUNCETON— COOPER COUNTY BANK OF BUNCETON— FARMERS' STOCK BANK 
OF BLACKWATER— BANK OF BLACKWATER— PILOT GROVE BANK— BANK OF 
WOOLRIDGE— BANK OF PLEASANT GREEN— FARMERS' AND MERCHANTS' 
BANK OF OTTERVILLE 315-322 



CHAPTER XXI. 

FLOODS AND STORMS. 



FLOODS OF 1785, 1811 AND 1826— FLOOD OF 1844— GREAT DAMAGE CAUSED — DEVAS- 
TATING FLOOD OF 1905— REBUILDING OF BRIDGES IN THE COUNTY— BUILD- 
ING OF NEW COURT HOUSE— BONDS ISSUED— TORNADO 323-329 



CHAPTER XXII. 

THE WORLD WAR. 

UNITED STATES ENTERS THE GREAT WAR— COOPER COUNTY'S FINANCIAL CON- 
TRIBUTION—LOYALTY OF CITIZENS — COUNCIL OF DEFENSE— PROCLAMATION 
—ARMISTICE SIGNED— LIST OF COOPER COUNTY SOLDIERS— COMPANY B, 
THIRD REGIMENT, CALLED— CASUALTY LIST— SUMMARY 330-343 



HISTORY OF COOPER COUNTY 

CHAPTER XXIII. 

MISCELLANEOUS. 

MEXICAN BORDER TROUBLE— GRAND ARMY OF THE REPUBLIC— UNITED VET- 
ERANS OF THE CONFEDERACY— OTTERVILLE TRAIN ROBBERY — SHERIFF 
CRAMER MURDERED— A. B. THORNTON KILLED — THE PROHIBITION QUES- 
TION 344-353 

CHAPTER XXIV. 

BIOGRAPHICAL HISTORY 



INDEX 



Allen, Henry A 480 

Ambrose, Ernest H. 1097 

Amick, Eugene E 370 

Anderson, Benjamin F 663 

Anderson, Rollie L 447 

Andrews, Charles E 388 

Andrews, David 396 

Apperson, W. F 1081 

Armour and Company 959 

Atkinson, Clarence W 936 

Bail, George 950 

Bane, James S 907 

Barnert, Edgar L. 1020 

Barnett, John A. 451 

Barnhart, George 894 

Barnhart, John C 535 

Barron, Walter 512 

Bates, A. B. 986 

Baughman, Charles A , 1084 

Bauman, Edward L 443 

Bechtold, Frank 1145 

Bechtold, William 1151 

Beck, Anton 910 

Bell, Charles C. 372 

Bernard, Louis D 1158 

Bestgen, L. A 1113 

Betteridge, Frederick C 790 

Betteridge, William A 871 

Biltz, H. C 1106 

Black, Frank N 552 

Blakey, Albert G 570 

Blank, Frank N. 552 

Blank, Nicholas J 1091 

Blythe, James N 886 

Bodamer, Arthur 1089 

Bodamer, Charles H 786 

Boiler, Gustav F 821 

Boonville Mercantile Company 629 

Bomhauser, F. H. 1060 



Bowmer, George E. 688 

Boyce, George T 1043 

Bozarth, Alvin J. 650 

Bozarth, J. W 1022 

Brandes, Albert 1073 

Brandes, Chris J 751 

Brandes, Christian 631 

Brandes, H. G 1066 

Brandes, John A 616 

Brandes, Theodore 576 

Brandes, Theodore L 1071 

Braun, Louis 1083 

Brengarth, Albert 1095 

Brickey, Frank C 938 

Brickey, Paul A 941 

Brickner, William L. 499 

Broe, Morgan 876 

Brokamp, Henry 723 

Brokmeyer, C. H 940 

Brosius, Frank C 379 

Brownfield, David 865 

Brownfield, George D. 925 

Brownfield, Gideon A. 450 

Brubaker, Daniel R 890 

Brubaker, Elmer J 956 

Brueckner, August 487 

Brummel, Henry E 1144 

Bryan, William L 965 

Buescher, Hugo H 1050 

Burge, Robert P 1139 

Burge, William O 823 

Burrus, John M 504 

Burrus and Sons, T. J 1090 

Byler, Robert T. 666 

Carey, George W 556 

i "airy. Robert A , 557 

Carl, George W 713 

Carlos, H. D. — 540 

Carlos, Jr., H. D. 540 



HISTORY OF COOPER COUNTY 



Carpenter, S. Alvin - 738 

Carpenter, Edgar A 742 

Carpenter, George A 1159 

Carpenter, Homer L. 1070 

Carpenter, James F 717 

Carpenter, Warren E 733 

Carpenter, William F 765 

Carpenter, William H 735 

Cartner, Charles R 588 

Case, Hiram D 1008 

Case, Oscar F 987 

Chamberlin, Albert S 575 

Chamberlin, George W- 1152 

Chamberlin, Homer L 526 

Chamberlin, Homer L 518 

Chilton, Joseph W 635 

Chilton. Louis L 635 

Chrane, Curtis E 918 

Cleary, Matthew 489 

Clark, Joseph M 1140 

Clayton, James A 625 

Cochran, O. W 548 

Cochran, William J 680 

Cole, George T 1103 

Cole, William D 878 

Coleman, John 1151 

Coleman, Stonewall J 853 

Coleman, Walter L 561 

Collins, Findlay A 1094 

Collins, Howard B 797 

Cook. Charles C 684 

Cordry, Joseph C. 897 

Cordry, Leslie F 879 

Cordry, Oliver L 953 

Cordry, William F 887 

Cordry. William H 898 

Cordry, W. L 436 

Corson, James M 899 

Cosgrove, John 364 

Crain, J. D 1066 

Cramer, Otto H. 567 

Cramer, Ray P. 934 

Crawford,' George K 971 

Creagan, Harry A 943 

Crutchfield, William E 410 

Cully. David R._ 794 

Darby. Patrick 1027 

Dauwalter, Fred 523 



Davin, Andrew 888 

Davin. Michael 888 

Davis. Dan G 597 

Davis, Jeff L 430 

Davis, John T 847 

Davis, Joseph A 726 

Debo, Grover E. 1060 

Debo, Luther C.._. 693 

Debo, P. Lee 720 

Deck, Jacob 427 

Deck, William H 827 

Derendinger, Edward 432 

Derendinger, John E 1098 

Deuschle, Fred 966 

Deuel, Frank H 994 

Devine, Peter J 913 

Doerrie, Charles 400 

Donahew, Ace O 549 

Downing, Robert E 881 

Draffen, James W. 391 

Draffen, Robert T 754 

Drechsel, Charles H 744 

Drennen, Elizabeth E 441 

Dugan, Walter L 469 

Dunn. Robert L 857 

Dunnavant, Charles H 1026 

Durr, Charles 409 

Eager, Charles L 492 

Eager, Clarence L 773 

Edson. D. L. - -1017 

Edwards, Louis S 378 

Eldredge, Charles C. 544 

Elliot. John S 473 

Elliot, William H 1150 

Ellis. Roy H 457 

English, Henry H 589 

Eppstein, Viet C 578 

Ervine, L. R 802 

Evans, Robert L 463 

Fahrenbrink, Christian W 696 

Fahrenbrink. Henry 702 

Fahrenbrink, Herman H 737 

Fairchild, S. Hamilton 628 

Fairfax, Commodore P 1048 

Fairfax, Thomas L 951 

Farris, Archie L 1051 



HISTORY OF COOPER COUNTY 



Farrjs, W. A 1011 

FassM M. J 1013 

Felton, Frank J 471 

Felton, Michael J. 537 

Fischer, John A. 642 

Fitzpatrick, Patrick F 1154 

Fluke, George F 972 

Fray, Henry G 821 

Fray, John H 1137 

Fredmeyer, Benjamin F 525 

Fricke, Henry 464 

Fricke, William 689 

Friedrich, Charles A 648 

Friedrich, Henry C 408 

Frost, Aubrey W. 449 

Fulton, Samuel T... 1007 

Funkhauser, James S 1131 

Fuser, Henry E 1160 

Gantner, Edward 1020 

Gantner, Joseph 1020 

Gantner, Louis 988 

Garthoffner, Edward J , 455 

Gehringer, Calvin 911 

Gentry, Amos B 687 

Gentry, M. K 789 

George, Elmer 724 

George, Frank 413 

Gerhardt, Joseph 660 

Gibson, Henry C 509 

Gibson, Thomas B 815 

Gibson, William T 459 

Gilbreath, W. G 932 

Gilman, J. R 1035 

Glasgow, Clayton S 893 

Glasgow, William H 891 

Glazier, John P. 609 

Gmelich, Jacob F. 354 

Goodman, John H 434 

Gorrell, Amos 788 

Gott, John N 437 

Gramlich, Andrew F. 1129 

Grathwohl, Charles T 624 

Grathwohl, Thomas F 558 

Green, Joseph M 505 

Gronstedt, Heinrich 472 

Groom, Colbey C 484 

Groom, Joseph H 1006 

Gross, Charles E. 1165 



Gross, George 846 

Gross, Jacob 1123 

Groves, Samuel H. 1107 

Gunn, James H 900 

Guyer, Williamson 1078 

Hack, John F 466 

Hagemeier, Emil mi 

Hale, C. E 773 

Hale, Edgar T 481 

Hale, Frank I 787 

Hale, O. M 773 

Haley, James M 860 

Haller, John M 502 

Hanna, C. S 982 

Hansberger, Alfred G 908 

Harlan, George W 976 

Harned, Benjamin 791 

Harned, Edwin P 901 

Harness, George C 582 

Harriman, R. L. 1040 

Harriman, William P 962 

Harris, Edward H 824 

Harris, Judge T. A 560 

Harris, Thomas A 756 

Harris, William P 814 

Hasenbach, Edward 1047 

Haun, William H 816 

Hawkins, Herbert L 563 

Hays, Jesse T 926 

Hazell, Joseph I 452 

Heiberger, John J 511 

Hem, John 607 

Herfurth, H. F. 980 

Hesel, A. H 655 

Hews, Abe L. 633 

Hickam, James T. 613 

Hickam, Samuel L. 365 

Hickman, Crockett 383 

Higginbotham, John R 826 

Hilden, Everett 539 

1 1 in-, Ernest L 904 

Hockenberry, Aaron T 714 

Hoefer, William A. 986 

Hoff. Frank J H24 

Hoff. Herbert J 852 

Hoff. Louis N 1130 

Hoflander, John G 975 

Hoflander, Paul .1164 



HISTORY OF COOPER COUNTY 



Hogan, Thomas 518 

Holman, Riley S 806 

HoiK'rbrink, George C 1037 

Honcrbrink, H. C 1055 

Hooper, W. E 989 

Hopkins, Farris B 626 

Hosford, J. L 461 

Howlett, Robert E. 984 

Huber, E. J 405 

Hudson. Charles P 803 

Huffman. M. R 1121 

Hurt, Acrey B 1047 

Hurt, Boone 1136 

Hurt. B. F 671 

Hurt, D. D 1102 

Hurt, Henry G 961 

Hurt, James M 716 

Hurt. T. Edgar 1082 

Hurt. William A 604 

Hurt, Willis 990 

Hutchison. Thomas G 894 

Immelc. John B 841 

Irvin, V. S 804 

Irvine. George T. 1025 

Jacobs, Mark 508 

Jaeger, Albert 428 

Jaeger, P. R. 1029 

Jeffress, James T 1088 

Jeffress. John W 1092 

Jeffress, Robert H 862 

Jenry, Henry 993 

Jewett, Gilman W 774 

Johnmeyer, William F. 514 

Johnson, William F 728 

Johnson, William M 421 

Johnston, Col. T. A 360 

Johnston, H. C. 1045 

Johnston, Rea A. 957 

Jones, Caleb C 1072 

Jones. George C 915 

Jones, George C, Jr 828 

Jones, James W 402 

Jones. Woodson T 946 

KnemptYr, Robert 778 

Kahle, William 701 

Kaiser Sr„ Herman 488 

Kaiser. John 1086 



Kalvelage, F. J. 950 

Karm, William 777 

Kehr. Irvin J 1015 

Kinisey. Jackson W 1077 

Kincaid, A. L 813 

Kincheloe. Jesse L 820 

King. Christian F 725 

King, H. M 1069 

King, Henry O 672 

King. John 448 

King, John W 673 

Kirchner, John E 546 

Klekamp, Frank 582 

Knosp, Henry 1100 

Knosp, Henry H 1101 

Koenig, William L 482 

Koonse, Theodore 837 

Koontz, Joseph R 884 

Kramer. Henry B 974 

Kraus. Henry 858 

Kraus. Walter J 854 

Krohn, John F 652 

Kuhn. Herman F 1005 

Kussman. Theodore 399 

Lacy. William J 759 

Lammers, Clemens A. 835 

Lammers, H. G. 855 

Lang, Belthasar 538 

Langkop. Daniel 1115 

Langkop, Leonard 699 

Lauer, Chas. F. 1046 

Lauer. William G. 1030 

Laws. Luther B 1087 

Layne, Benjamin F 593 

Lebing, Theodore F 942 

Lee, Holman 622 

Leonard. Nathaniel N 928 

Lester. B. M 923 

Lieber, Joseph 416 

Lionberger, Frank E 1143 

I.oesing, Peter W 719 

Loesing. William 1068 

Lohse. Fred 468 

Lohse. Fred G 401 

Lohse. Henry 683 

Lohse. John C 1052 

Lovell, Thomas J 757 

I.usk. Hamilton 830 



HISTORY OF COOPER COUNTY 



Lusk, Sid A 623 

Lymer, James 668 

McCarty, Milton M 1064 

McClain, Peter D. 1128 

McCoy, J. J. 1166 

McFarland, A. W 516 

McFarland, William J 675 

McGuire, Archibald 836 

McGuire, Homer 943 

McMahan. William E. 809 

McNeil, Peter P 992 

McPhatridge, Henry P 739 

Manger, Julius 917 

Manger, William \ 917 

Manion, Harry T 419 

Mann, F. Joseph 440 

Marshall, Fleming Miles 800 

Ma>el, Sylvanus 1 861 

Mauck, Sam T 615 

Mayfield, William A 896 

Meisenheimer, Peter G 840 

Melkersman, Edward 632 

Mellor, George W 760 

Mellor. John P - 764 

Menefee, Charles N 731 

Meredith, A. L 997 

Meredith, George 659 

Meredith, Louis M. 998 

Meredith, Walter 659 

Mersey, Henry 685 

Meyer, C. C 1023 

Meyer. Daniel J 1125 

Meyer, F. A. 1036 

Meyer, George A 1126 

Meyer. George H 456 

Meyer. George H 460 

Meyer, J. H 1036 

Meyer, Lawrence C. 679 

Meyer. William 708 

Miller. Charles G 379 

Miller, Harry J 973 

Miller, James R 454 

Miller, Robert L 1138 

Miller. William R 423 

Million, Guy C 939 

Mills. Erie S 677 

Mills, Robert W 1054 



Mills, Vivian H. 678 

Minter, Joseph 905 

Mittelbach. William 386 

Mitzel, Charles P 868 

Moehle, Ernest L. 412 

Moore, Boz L 627 

Moore. George H 550 

Moore, Lafayette M 585 

Moore, Lorenzo H 574 

Morgan, Harry C 612 

Morris, Benjamin L i 746 

Morris, George W. 761 

Morris, John W 1118 

Morris, Truman H 749 

Morris, W. H 1075 

Morton, Wallace L 1028 

Mueller, Emil H 486 

Muessig, Jacob F. 859 

Muntzel, Edward J 637 

Muntzel, Frederick H. 975 

Muntzel, Harry J 1059 

Muntzel, Henry L 780 

Muntzel, Herman P 664 

Muntzel, John C. 949 

Muntzel, Peter L 868 

Myer. Albert H 931 

Myer, Michael 870 

Myers, Henry Lee 1001 

Neal, William W 643 

Neal, Z. R. 618 

Neef, Philip P 748 

Nelson, Arthur W 920 

Nelson, Clyde T 1157 

Nelson, Edgar C 1016 

Nelson, Joseph O 1110 

Nelson, Lewis B 991 

\ Nelson, Thomas A 598 

T Nelson, William I 1024 

Niebruegge, Henry J 595 

Nixon, A. F. 978 

Nixon, Charles 397 

Norris, Homer E 1134 

Nuckols, Powhatan C 524 

Nurseries, The Boonville 101S 

Oak, George 577 

Odneal, G. C 995 

( lerlv, Ernest C 496 



\ 



HISTORY OF COOPER COUNTY 



Oerly, Henry W 782 

Oerly, Samuel 500 

Oerly, W. A 654 

Oglesby, Charles W 874 

Ohlendorf, Christ 568 

O'Neal, Amos 796 

Oswold, Joseph A 1141 

Painter, James L 867 

Parrish, John S 856 

Patrick, N. D 1093 

Patterson, Ed 536 

Pealer, Rolla D 924 

Pendleton, Thomas O 831 

Pendleton, William G 493 

Peyton & Sons, T. R 979 

Phillips, Charles S 885 

Phillips, William R 889 

Pigott. John T 395 

Poage, William S 1133 

Poertner, William F. 722 

Popper, Joseph 562 

Potter, Abraham 1000 

Putnam, John M 883 

Quigg, H. D 533 

Reavis, Walter W 584 

Reed, Benjamin F 1122 

Renfrow, W. C 651 

Rethemeyer, J. H 697 

Renken, Henry A. v... 520 

Reynolds, George 1109 

Richey, Henry L 863 

Richey, John W 863 

Richey, John W 1116 

Rissler, William B 848 

Ritchie. Andrew A 769 

Roberts, Elijah H. 646 

Roberts, Samuel W 541 

Robertson, Charles E 644 

Robertson, Warner W 644 

Robien, Henry P 555 

Robien, William G 545 

Rodgers, E. H 927 

Roe, Robert S 1032 

Roeschel, William E. 522 

Rossen, Sonneck C. 433 

Roth, Charles E.— 947 



Rothgeb, Richard 955 

Rowles, W. H. H. 782 

Rudolph, John W 420 

Ruskin, Harry 429 

Russell, George A 470 

Sappington, John C. 649 

Sauter, Augustus H 406 

Sauter, Frank S 473 

Sauter, Joseph L 639 

Schaumburg, LaRoy O 371 

Schieberl, Martin 638 

Schilb, Enslie I 839 

Schilb, Fred L 1010 

Schilb, Frederick 766 

Schler, Antun H 970 

Schleuter, William 600 

Schlotzhaucr, Christopher 880 

Schlotzhauer, George H. 879 

Schlotzhauer, James H. 864 

Schlotzhauer, John 836 

Schlotzlmier, John W. 832 

Schmalieldt, William F 704 

Schmidt, Herman A 495 

Schmidt. Maximillian E. 418 

Schmidt, Otto G 617 

Schnack, Herman 475 

Schnuck, John H 1034 

Schnuck, H. E 519 

Scholle, George H 941 

Schrader, Henry 534 

Schubert, Charles W 690 

Schubert, Irene 658 

Schupp, Curry 1080 

Schupp, George 872 

Schuster, Adam 792 

Schuster, August R 772 

Schuster, Benjamin E 776 

Schuster, Frank 822 

Schuster, Henry 1056 

Schuster, William 808 

Schwitzky, Robert 606 

Scott, Edward G 4<>2 

Scott, Joshua B 1112 

Scott. William A 829 

Scott, William R 981 

Sells. Joseph 794 

Shannon, Eliza B 661 

Shannon, Fleming 930 



HISTORY OF COOPER COUNTY 



Shannon, Robert A 1053 

Shears, Clarence 653 

Shepherd, Charles M 833 

Shepherd, James B 1042 

Shirley, Charles D 692 

Shouse, Charles Q 805 

Shouse, Walter H. 799 

Sieckman, Fritz 476 

Simrall, Thomas S 922 

Sims Brothers 1122 

Sims, John N 807 

Sites, L. T 948 

Sloan, Marie R. 1155 

Smith, Andrew C 706 

Smith, Anthony 477 

Smith, Benjamin N 1062 

Smith, Chris 532 

Smith, Edward D 819 

Smith, Edwin K 695 

Smith, Fountain D. 818 

Smith, Francis M. 426 

Smith, Henry 709 

Smith, John H 608 

Smith, John R 743 

Smith, Peter 596 

Smith, Peter F 944 

Smith, Robert B 712 

Smith, Thomas H 770 

Smith, Urban A 636 

Smith, William A 1003 

Snider, Robert 967 

Sombart, Charles A ; 356 

Sombart. Henry E. 368 

Spahr, Andrew J 645 

Spahr, Lawrence 1105 

Spahr, William L 1104 

Sparkman, James M 958 

Spieler, Oscar 404 

Spillers, John L 903 

Staebler, J. Louis 554 

Stahl, William H 1132 

Starke, Dryden L 952 

Starke, H. Roger 906 

Starke, John D 960 

Steele, Charles E 798 

Stegner, August 566 

Stegner, Edward 630 

Stegner, Feoder 963 

Stegner, Frank C. 877 



Stegner, Fred C 1148 

Stegner, Marion 589 

Stegner, Otto ^.1153 

Steigleder, G. H 640 

Steigleder, W. F 640 

Steinmetz, George T. 1148 

Stephens Jr., A. H 937 

Stephens, Henry S 1012 

Stephens, John M 912 

Stites, Charles A 866 

Stoecklein, John 1127 

Stoecklein, Otto 1126 

Strickfaden, Peter J 99g 

Stretz, J. H. 1038 

Swap, Charles 445 

Sweeney, John 914 

Talbott, William B 515 

Taliaferro, George T 700 

Talley, James P 844 

Tally, William T 849 

Tanner, William L 498 

Tevis, Robert S 740 

Thomas, Charles L 954 

Thomas, Millard E 1135 

Thornton, Samuel Y 784 

Toellner, Christ 1157 

Toler, Grover C 710 

Toler, O. K 710 

Torbeck. Ernest W 591 

Torbeck, Henry F 964 

Trigg, William W 601 

Tucker, Martin 502 

Turley. William H 752 

Tutt, Charles P 669 

Underwood, John S 466 

Victor, Felix 935 

Viertel, George 1057 

Vieth, Berend 755 

Viertel, John F. 611 

Vollmer, Anthony 852 

Vollrath, Charles L 850 

Wagner, Charles F 641 

Walden, Charles J 359 

Wallace, Wilbur B 1146 

Wallery, Joseph W._ 1147 

Walker, James W 909 



HISTORY OF COOPER COUNTY 



Walther, John J. 507 

Walterscheid, John E. 491 

Walz, John E. 444 

Waterman, Henry 530 

Wear, Emmett E 600 

Wear, George H 592 

Weekley, Martin L 768 

Wendleton, David 676 

Wendleton, Lon V. 553 

West. Walter C 873 

Weyland, George A 384 

White, A. J 703 

White, Arthur F 778 

White, Frank B 1120 

Whitlow, John N 706 

Whitlow. R. W 1161 

Williams, Harry 1119 

Williams, Porter E 917 

Williams, Roy D 382 

Williams, William M 380 

Wilson, Charles E 871 

Windsor, Andrew H 1067 



Windsor, Edward B 875 

Windsor, Eugene A 736 

Windsor, John H 732 

Windsor, Horace G 656 

Windsor, Richard L. 424 

Windsor, Richard N— 425 

Windsor, Walter B 393 

Wing, Henry M 811 

Winterbower, T. H 937 

Wolfe, William E 762 

Wolfrum, John G. 1014 

Wood, Arthur H. 1127 

Woodroof. Charles E 810 

Wooldridge, William J 621 

Woolery, Joseph W. 1147 

Worts, Willard A 812 

Wyan, Robert F 528 

Yancey, Henry J 745 

Yancey, L. C 1076 

Zeigle, Lester O 845 

Zollinger, Conrad M 968 




- 

V, 



History of Cooper County 



CHAPTER I. 



ARCHEOLOGY 



DIVISIONS OF HISTORY— CONTENTS OF MOUNDS— ORIGIN OF MOUNDS— PROBABLE 
RACE OF MOUND BUILDERS. 

History is speculative, inferential, and actual; speculative when it 
records conclusions based on hypothesis founded on facts, far removed; 
inferential when conclusions are reasonably based on facts; actual, when 
facts alone are recorded. The historian deals with all three, more or 
less, in combination one with the other. This chapter is purely specula- 
tive. The editor is not an archaeologist, and does not attempt herein to 
arrive at, or lead the reader to a conclusion. Houck, in his "History of 
Missouri," claims to have located through investigators something like 
twenty-eight thousand mounds in the state. These mounds are usually 
called Indian mounds, and he does not assert that all that existed in the 
state were discovered by his investigators. He mentions nine in Cooper 
county. There are doubtless more than ninety and nine, and probably 
many more leveled with the plow. 

The only purpose to be conserved throughout this chapter is to open 
up the vista to inquiring minds, that their observations and discoveries 
may be preserved for the future. The casual observer sees an elevation 
of ground. The geologist, or archaeologist, if you please, by close and 
careful examination, determines to a certainty, or thinks he does, that 
(3) 



34 HISTORY OF COOPER COUNTY 

this is not caused by erosion, or by an internal upheaval of the earth. 
He concludes, therefore, that it has been raised by man. Here geology, 
paleontology, and archaeology, the three sister sciences, begin their labors 
hand in hand, "And the mind recoils dismayed when it undertakes the 
computations of thousands of years which have elapsed since the creation 
of man." 

As our feet grope in darkness, irresistably down the ages to the night 
of the unknown, these three sister sciences hold aloft a torch that illumi- 
nates, in part at least, our darkened pathway through the dim vista of 
the vanished past. 

Contents of Mounds. — By excavating these mounds we find peculiar 
instruments of the chase and hunt, vessels, bowls and statuary, some 
with peculiar markings and engravings. Such mounds have been dis- 
covered throughout the country in almost countless thousands, and they 
were here when the white man first set foot on American soil. The 
articles found in them were unlike those used by the Indians, known at 
the time of the first white men. The same Indians lay no claim to having 
built these peculiar structures of earth, and hold no tradition that those 
who preceded them had built them, and some of the tribes claim tradi- 
tions running back thousands of years, prior to their acquaintance with 
the white man. 

Origin of Mounds. — The scientists reason thus: first, the mounds are 
not of natural formation ; second, they were built by man ; third, the white 
man did not build them; fourth, the Indians did not build them; there- 
fore, it follows as a logical conclusion that they were built by a race 
inhabiting our country long before the red man. This, in fact, is the 
consensus of scientific opinion, yet not all agree. Dr. C. A. Peterson, 
former president of the Missouri Historical Society, and a student of 
Missouri antiquities, uses this forcible language: "Credulity has been 
taxed to the utmost, and columns of crude ideas and inane arguments 
have been published by half-baked archaeologists, who established great 
antiquity for the mounds and an advanced civilization for their builders, 
and the extreme and ridiculous flights which the imagination has been 
allowed to take in building up the stories of the mythical mound builders 
may be well illustrated by this case. About, thirty years ago an amateur 
archaeologist in exploring quite a modern Indian mound reported that he 
had found the skeletons buried beneath it to be a proper complement in 
numbers and arranged in proper order and position to represent the three 
principal officers of the Masonic Lodge at work, each officer being equipped 



HISTORY OF COOPER COUNTY 35 

with the implement and insignia of his respective office. To those at- 
tracted to a contemplation of mystery, and to revelers of the occulet, it 
was the most marvelous and entertaining discovery ever reported in 
American archaeology, but there were a few incredulous, unfeeling scof- 
fers, who would not accept the story as true, because the discoverer did 
not produce the bones of the candidate and the goat. In conclusion, let 
it be reiterated that there was never an iota of evidence in existence 
tending to establish the contention that some people, other than the 
American Indian, erected the mounds and other earthworks found in 
connection with them, and the physical condition of the abandoned works 
and their contents could not justify a belief that any of them were erected 
more than one thousand years ago." 

The Indian mounds are especially numerous along the Missouri River, 
in the townships of Saline, Boonville, and Lamine, and are found in vary- 
ing numbers in other sections of Cooper County. It is to be regretted 
that more attention has not been paid to them in the past to the end 
that what found therein would have been preserved for investigation and 
study. It is said that on the old Hopkins farm in Saline township there 
are five of these mounds. It is related on reliable authority that in the 
early seventies a young physician, fresh from college in Kentucky, and 
with budding honors, debonair and faultlessly attired, located in Saline 
township. He was smaii of stature, willowy in form, a Beau Brummel, 
polite and obliging. Visiting at the Hopkins home one Sunday, a balmy 
spring day, where were gathered a few of the local beauties of the neigh- 
borhood, his attention was directed to a large mound of earth in the yard. 
He thought it strange, and had never before seen such an elevation of 
earth in a yard. Being deeply interested, he asked one of the youn? 
ladies present what it was for. She replied that it was an Indian mound, 
and that an Indian who had been killed was buried there. The young 
doctor was greatly interested. She told him that if he would stand on 
top of the mound, and say in a loud voice, "Indian, poor Indian, what did 
they kill you for?" the Indian would say, "Nothing at all." The doctor 
valiantly essayed the mound, ascending to the top, and in a stentorian 
voice cried, "Indian, poor Indian, what did they kill you for?" He waited 
a few minutes for the response, and finally realized that the young lady 
was right, for the Indian said nothing at all. The young doctor felt 
completely sold out. Following his motto of evening up old scores, he 
set out energetically to do so. He courted the young lady, and eventu- 
ally married her, thus evening the score. 

The following, which is a collation of authorities and brief com- 



36 HISTOEY OF COOPER COUNTY 

ments of scientists, pro and con, we take from Houck's "History of 
Missouri." 

"The pre-historic works of Missouri attracted attention from the 
earliest settlement of the country. Stoddard says, 'It is admitted on all 
hands that they have endured for centuries. The trees in their ram- 
parts, from the number of their annulae, or radii, indicate an age of 
mort than four hundred years.' Holmes says that the manufacture of 
the pottery-ware found in the mounds 'began many centuries before 
the advent of the white race.' The Indians found by the first white 
explorers did not recognize these mounds as belonging to them, either 
by occupying them or using them, or by their traditions, although the 
surprising number of such mounds in some sections of the country, many 
of them very large, singular in form, and conspicuous in the landscape, 
must have attracted the attention of the most thoughtless of them. 
Marquis de Nadailic says that these 'mounds in North America are 
among the most remarkable known.' Featherstonehaugh was so im- 
pressed by these historic remains in Missouri that he concluded that they 
were to the tribes that built them what the pyramids were to the ancient 
Egyptians. 

Probable Race of Mound-Builders. — To what particular race the 
mound-builders belonged has been a subject of much discussion. Abbe 
Brasseur de Bourbourg declares that the pre-Aztec Mexicans and Toltecs 
were a people identical with the mound-builder. It is also said that the 
mound-builders were of the same cranial type as the ancient Mexicans, 
Peruvians, and the natives of the Pacific slope as far north as Sitka; that 
is to say, brachycephalic ; and Winchell thinks that 'the identity of the 
race of mound-builders with the races of Anahuac and Peru will become 
generally recognized. 'Squier supposes that they belonged to an 'extinct 
race.' Atwater gives it as his opinion that the 'lofty mounds' — ancient 
fortifications and tumuli — 'which cost so much labor in their structure.' 
owe their 'origin to a people much more civilized than our Indian' ; and 
Atwater was familiar with the capabilities and characteristics of the 
American Indian. Others, again, suppose that they were the same people 
who afterward came from the northeast into Mexico. Bancroft says 
that the 'claims in behalf of the Nahua traces in the Mississippi region 
are much better founded than those which have been urged in other 
parts of the country.' He asserts that the remains in the Mississippi 
valley 'are not the works of the Indian tribes found in the country, nor 
of any tribes resembling them in their institution, and that the 'best 



HISTORY OF COOPER COUNTY 37 

authorities deem it impossible that the mound-builders were even remote 
ancestors of the Indian tribes.' In his opinion, there was an actual con- 
nection, either through origin, war, or commerce, between the mound- 
builders and the Nahuas. This he infers from the so-called temple 
mounds, a strongly resembling the pyramids of Mexico, implying a simi- 
larity of religious ideas; the use of obsidian implements; the Nahua tra- 
dition of the arrival of civilized strangers from the northeast. And 
Baldwin, in reviewing the various traditions recorded by many of the 
earliest Spanish chroniclers of Mexico, concludes by saying that it seems 
not improbable that the Huehue, or 'Old Tlapalan' of their tradition, was 
'the country of our mound-builders' on the Mississippi. Albert Gallatin 
thinks that the works erected indicate 'a dense agricultural population,' 
a population 'eminently agricultural,' a state essentially different from 
that of the Iroquois or Algonquin Indians. Yet, he also expressed the 
opinion that the earthworks discovered might have been executed by a 
'savage people.' Brinton also thinks that these earthworks were not 
the production 'of some mythical tribe of high civilization in remote 
antiquity but of the identical nations found by the whites residing in 
these regions.' Schoolcraft says that the Indian predecessors of the 
existing race 'could have executed' these works. Lewis Cass believed 
that the forefathers of the present Indian 'no doubt' erected these works 
as places of refuge and security. Jones is of the opinion that the old 
idea that the mound-builders were a people distinct from the Indians is 
'unfounded in fact, and fanciful.' Lucian Carr in an elaborate article 
says there is no reason 'why the red Indians of the Mississippi valley, 
judging from what we know historically of their development, coukl not 
have thrown up these works.' Dr. C. A. Peterson, in a paper read before 
the Missouri Historical Society in 1902, concludes that 'there never was 
an iota of evidence in existence tending to establish the contention that 
some people, other than the American Indian, erected the mounds and 
earthworks found in connection with them ; and the physical condition 
does not justify the belief that any of them were erected more than one 
thousand years ago. In support of this view he says, 'an immense memo- 
rial earthwork over the body of a popular Osage chief was erected by 
his tribe, citing Beck's Gazeteer. But J. F. Snyder asserts that the 
Osages 'built no earthen mounds,' and that the mound mentioned by Dr. 
Beck as having been built by them near the head-waters of the Osage 
was the result of glacial action. Snyder also quotes Holcomb, who states 
that 'the mysterious races of beings, termed mound-builders never dwelt 



38 HISTORY OF COOPER COUNTY 

in Vernon County,' and that no fragments of pottery have ever been 
found there, nor noteworthy archaeological specimens,, and few, if any 
flint, arrow-heads, lance-heads, stone-heads, etc., although he admits that 
the Osages erected stone heaps occasionally over the bodies of their dead 
to preserve them from the ravages of wild beasts. 

One remarkable discovery made by Mr. Thomas Beckwith, who has 
devoted many years to the careful and intelligent exploration of the 
mounds of the Mississippi country, would seem to tend to support the 
contention that the more ancient mound-builders of the Mississippi valley, 
at least, belonged to the Nahual race of Mexico. It should be observed 
that in making his explorations Mr. Beckwith always proceeds with the 
greatest circumspection, not, like so many others, hastily digging and 
burrowing into mounds, looking only for perfect pottery ware, carelessly 
overlooking and throwing everything else away; on the contrary, nothing 
is too small for his notice, and it is his invariable practice to gather up 
and preserve every fragment, small and insignificant though it may 
appear. The exploration of the mound does not always satisfy him. In 
some instances where the surrounding country seems to warrant it, he 
also explores the soil for several feet below the surface at present sur- 
rounding the mound. In making such sub-surface explorations Mr. Beck- 
with, at a depth three feet below the present surface, in a number of 
instances, found pottery balls imbedded in the clay, near mounds ex- 
plored by him. During his various explorations of mounds, he has col- 
lected in this way perhaps a half-bushel of such pottery balls of various 
forms, some ovoids, some round, about the size of a walnut, others again 
lenticular; the ovoids being in the form of Roman glandes, as described 
by Evans ;that is, fusiform, or pointed. Such pottery balls of various 
shapes were in use as sling-stones among the Charrus of South America. 
The Marquis de Nadailicc says that the Chimecs, who were of the Nahuatl 
race, in their wars used bows and arrows and 'slings with which they 
flung little pottery balls which caused dangerous wounds.' Such artificial 
pottery sling-stones, being uniform in size and weight, gave a greater 
precision of aim, an advantage which is recognized by the barbarous 
tribes of New Caledonia today, where sling-stones made out of steatite 
are used by the natives. The sling was an offensive weapon of the Aztecs, 
and the stones thrown with great force and accuracy. Among the Mayas 
of Yucatan slings were also extensively used. But as an offensive weapon 
it was unknown among the North American Indians." 

The chroniclers of the past, delving into ancient lore, have pronounced 



HISTORY OF COOPER COUNTY 39 

Egypt to have the oldest written history. Man, calling to his aid the 
hieroglyphic records of Egypt, as well as the inscribed bricks and cylin- 
ders of Assyria, can trace back the annals of man's history no further 
than fifty centuries. Egypt was schooled in the sciences and nobler arts, 
and rich in knowledge when Remus and Romulus were unborn and Italy 
inhabited by uncouth and barbarous savages, when Athens was not 
spoken, nor Greece begun ; when Europe, now teeming with her millions, 
was wilderness and sparsely inhabited by races unlettered and unlearned, 
yet Egypt has her ruins of unnamed cities where a people of a forgotten 
civilization trafficked and traded, pushed and jostled. 

The prehistoric remains of Egypt are a never-ending source of his- 
torical revelation to the student of archaeology. Even the supposed myth 
of Troy vanished in the face of these established facts ; yet more wonder- 
ful — beneath the ruins of discovered Troy, the excavator has found the 
ruins of another city. It would seem that wherever the soil would sup- 
port and the climate permit, there man has lived and had his being, and 
that practically every country produces evidence of a forgotten and pre- 
historic race. 

In the Dark Ages, a few centuries back, ruthless might, with its 
accompanying wreck and ruin, effaced much of the world's gems of art, 
literature and architecture, and even the torch of learning was kept but 
faintly burning in the cloisters of the monk. The world is littered with 
the devastations of war; and ever, man has built and destroyed. 

The years, as we know them in written history, may be but as a day 
in the eons upon eons of man's development. Generation after genera- 
tion of men in a ceaseless flow have passed, and the earth is filled with 
the graves of the forgotten, above which we "strut and fret our brief 
hour upon the stage." Our country's history is the history of the white 
man. We have but filmy traditions of the Indians, and if another race 
preceded it, it must be discovered in what is commonly termed the Indian 
mounds. 



CHAPTER II. 



EXPLORATIONS 



THE NEW WORLD— PONCE DE LEON— DE SOTO— CORONADO— MARQUETTE AND 
JOLIET— LA SELLE— FRENCH SETTLEMENTS— TREATY OF ILDEFONSO— 
PURCHASE OF LOUISIANA TERRITORY— ORGANIZATION OF TERRITORY — 
VARIOUS CLAIMS TO MISSOURI. 

When the new world was discovered and had wonderfully revealed 
itself to the adventurers and daring men of the Old World, the enterprize 
of Europe was startled into action. Those valiant men. who had won 
laurels among the mountains of Andalusia, on the fields of Flanders, and 
on the battlefields of Albion, sought a more remote field for adventure. 
The revelation of a new world and a new race, and communication between 
the old and the new, provided a field for fertile imagination. The fact 
was as astounding to the people then as it would be to us should we learn 
that Mars is peopled and that communication could be established between 
that planet and the earth. 

The heroes of the ocean despised the range of Europe as too narrow, 
offering to their extravagant ambition nothing beyond mediocrity. Am- 
bition, avarice, and religious zeal were strangely blended, and the heroes 
of the main sailed to the west, as if bound on a new crusade, for infinite 
wealth and renown were to reward their piety, satisfy their greed, and 
satiate their ambition. 

Amei-ica was the region of romance where their heated imagination 
could indulge in the boldest delusions, where the simple ignorant native 
wore the most precious ornaments, the sands by the side of the clear 
runs of water, sparkled with gold. Says the historian of the ocean, these 
adventui-ous heroes speedily prepared to fly by a beckoning or a whis- 



HISTORY OF COOPER COUNTY 41 

pering wheresoever they were called. They forsook certainties for the 
lure and hope of more brilliant success. 

To win provinces with the sword, divide the wealth of empires, to 
plunder the accumulated treasures of some ancient Indian dynasty, to 
return from a roving expedition with a crowd of enslaved captives and 
a profusion of spoils, soon became ordinary dreams. Fame, fortune, life 
and all were squandered in the visions of wealth and renown. Even if 
the issue was uncertain, success, greater than the boldest imagination 
had dared, was sometimes attained. 

It would be an interesting story to trace each hero across the ocean 
to the American continent, and through the three great gateways thereof, 
through which he entered the wilds of the great west. The accounts of 
the explorations and exploitations into the great west read like a romance. 
The trials through which the explorers passed were enough to make the 
stoutest hearts quail and to test the endurance of men of steel. 

Juan Ponce de Leon, an old comrade of Christopher Columbus in his 
second voyage across the Atlantic, spent his youth in the military service 
of Spain, and shared in the wild exploits of predatory valor in the 
Granada. He was a fearless and gallant soldier. The revelation of a 
new world fired within him the spirit of youth and adventure. He was 
an old man, yet age had not tempered his love of hazardous enterprise 
to advance his fortune by conquest of kingdoms, and to retrieve a repu- 
tation, not without blemish. His cheeks had been furrowed by years of 
hard service, and he believed the tale which was a tradition, credited in 
Spain by those who were distinguished for intelligence, of a fountain 
which possessed the virtue to renovate the life of those who drank of it 
or bathed in its healing waters. In 1513, with a squadron of three ships 
fitted out at his own expense, he landed on the coast of Florida, a few 
miles north of St. Augustine. Here he remained for many weeks, pa- 
tiently and persistently exploring and penetrating the "deep, tangled 
wildwood," searching for gold and drinking from the waters of every 
stream, brook, rivulet, and spring and bathing in every fountain. The 
discoverer of Florida seeking immortality on earth, bereft of fortune and 
broken inspirit, found the sombre shadow of death in his second voyage 
in 1521. Contending with the implacable fury of the Indians, he died 
from an arrow wound received in an Indian fight. He was laid to rest 
on the island of Cuba. 

Thus began the Spanish claim to that vast territory west of the 



42 HISTORY OF COOPER COUNTY 

Mississippi, which included the Louisiana Province from the Mississippi 
west to the Rocky Mountains (including Missouri). 

Hernando De Soto, who had been with Pizarro in his conquest of 
Peru in 1533, inspired with the same hopes and ambitions as Ponce de 
Leon, and undismayed by his failure, and inspiring others with confidence 
in his plans, collected a large band of Spanish and Portuguese cavaliers. 
In 1538, his splendidly equipped six or seven hundred men, among whom 
were many gentlemen of position and wealth, set sail in nine vessels for 
the wonderful Eldorado. In addition to his men, he carried three hun- 
dred horses, a herd of swine, and some bloodhounds. It would be inter- 
esting to follow this expedition in its hazardous wanderings, but to do so 
in this sketch, would be going "far afield." His route was in part through 
the country already made hostile by the cruelty and violence of the 
Spanish invader, Narvaez. On April 25, 1541, De Soto reached the banks 
of the great Mississippi, supposed to be near the Lower Chickasaw Bluffs, 
a few miles below Memphis, thus achieving for his name immortality. 

Here he crossed the river and pursued his course north along its 
west bank into the region in our own State now known as New Madrid. 
So far as the historian can determine, he was the first European to set 
foot on Missouri soil, and thus he strengthened the claim to the vast 
wilds of the far west. He reached a village called Pocaha, the northern- 
most point of his expedition, and remained there forty days, sending out 
various exploring parties. The location of Pocaha cannot be identified. 

He explored to the northwest, but if he did really penetrate what 
is now the central part of the state, how far he went is but speculation. 
The country still nearer to the Missouri was said by the Indians to be 
thinly inhabited, and it abounded in bison in such numbers that maize 
could not be cultivated. We have in this story no further interest in De 
Soto's exploration and wanderings, save to say that the white man, with 
his insatiable greed, injustice, and cruel adventure, was made known to 
the red man of the far west. Because of the white man's traits, a hatred 
arose on the part of the Indians, which by succeeding outrages ripened 
in after years to a venom that cost the lives of thousands of harmless 
settlers. Other explorations followed in succession, and though the ex- 
periences would read like a romance, the scope of this work precludes 
an account, even of the wonderful exploits of Coronada about the same 
period. Upon the result of these expeditions Spain based her claims of 
the Louisiana Province, afterwards acknowledged by European precedent, 
to be justly founded. 

While De Soto pierced the wilderness from the southeast, another 



HISTORY OF COOPER COUNTY 43 

Spanish cavalcade under Francisco de Coronado, at practically the same 
time, invaded it from the southwest. 

Coronado. — The expedition consisted of three hundred Spanish ad- 
venturers, mostly mounted, thoroughly armed, richly caparisoned, and 
well provisioned. They started their march with flying colors and bound- 
less expectations. The Vice-roy of Mexico, from whence they started, 
accompanied them for two days on the march. Never had so chivalrous 
adventurers gone forth to hunt the wilderness for kingdoms. Every 
officer seemed fitted to lead an expedition wherever danger threatened 
or hope lured. More young men of the proudest families of Spain, than 
had ever before acted together in America, rallied under the banner of 
Coronado. 

An Indian slave had told wonders of the seven cities of Cibola, the 
land of buffaloes that lay at the north between the oceans and beyond 
the deserts. He represented this country as abounding in silver and 
gold beyond the wildest dreams. The Spaniards, in what was then called 
New Spain, trusting implicitly in the truth of this story and hundreds 
of others equally mythical, burned with ambition to subdue the rich 
provinces. Several historians who were participants in this expedition 
have preserved the events of the adventurous march, and it would seem 
that with so much written evidence based on what the participants of 
the expedition saw and experienced, at least the course pursued, the routes 
followed, and the distances traveled by Coronado and his army, ought to 
be free from doubt. This, however, is far from being the case, and the 
entire matter is left largely in doubt. 

It seems to be well authenticated, however, that Coronado entered 
Missouri in the southern part, but how far north he went, we do not 
know. Some have claimed, and with some reason, that he reached the 
Missouri River in the central part of the State. 

Cruelty of Spanish Explorers. — Coronado and De Soto both treated 
the Indians with barbarous cruelty. Their great hopes of limitless riches 
and conquered province became as ashes in their hands. Their men, 
after long marches for months through the wilderness, became tattered, 
disgruntled and surly. They were burdens upon the red men whom they 
visited in the different villages, and consumed their maize. The Indians 
were distrustful and suspicious, and an inborn hatred for the white man 
insistently grew in their breasts, and was handed down by tradition with 
growing rancor, to future generations. The fabled cities of Cibola were 
found to be miserable mud huts. Indian guides lured them from place 



44 HISTORY OF COOPER COUNTY 

to place with wonderful stories in order that the white men might be 
held from their own country. 

It is related that a heroic young Zuni brave represented that he was 
not a Zuni, but an enemy of that tribe, and belonged to the country of 
Quivera far to the north. In a glowing word picture he described his 
country and insisted that the Spaniards visit there, in these words: 
"Come with me, mighty chief, to my country, watered by the mighty 
river Quivera. wherein are fishes as large as the horses you ride, and upon 
whose currents float large and beautiful boats with many colored sails, 
in which rest the lords of the country at ease, on downy couches and 
canopies rich with gold. Come, see our gardens of roses, where our great 
ones take their siesta under the spreading trees that pierce the very 
heavens in their towering height. There gold and silver are but as stones 
on a rocky way. Precious jewels and riches beyond the dreams of avarice, 
mighty chief, is yours for the asking. What you can take is but as a 
cup of water from the great lake. Come. mighty chief, and follow me, 
for I will guide thee to the land of riches and plenty." 

Tradition has it that Coronado, arriving near the Missouri, the Zumi 
brave said to him, "I have lied to you. I am a Zumi. I witnessed your 
cruelties to my people, and I have brought you here. I hope you will 
perish before you reach your home. I am satisfied, and now I am ready 
to die." 

The young Zumi suffered the direst penalty, and gave his life for his 
tribe. 

Coronado remained at this point about 25 days. 

The French claim to the Louisiana Province was based on the dis- 
coveries of Marquette and Joliet in 1673. Marquette was of the patrician 
"Marquettes of Laon", thought to have been descendants of Celtic nobles 
whom Rome, in her wise policy, attached to her standard by leaving them 
in possession of their ancestral territory, but nominally dominated by the 
"eternal city." 

Father Marquette and Joliet. — Father Marquette was 29 years 
of age when his feet first touched American soil. From all the con- 
temporary accounts of the expedition it is evident that Father Marquette 
was its leader, its very soul. But as an ecclesiastic he could not take 
command of an army, however small; as an ambassador of Christ to 
foreign heathen nations, he could not act as the agent of a king of France. 
It was accordingly arranged that Sieur Joliet, a native of Canada, should 



HISTORY OF COOPER COUNTY 45 

command the expedition, and that Marquette should accompany it as its 
missionary. The choice of Joliet was a wise and happy one. 

They left the connecting strait between Lakes Michigan and Huron 
on the 17th day of May, 1673. In the language of Marquette, 
"We were embarking on a voyage the duration of which we could not 
foresee. Indian corn, with some dried meat, was our only provisions. 
With this, we set out in two bark canoes. M. Joliet, five other men and I 
firmly resolved to do all and suffer all for a glorious enterprise." 

On the 17th day of June, 1673, they, with their attendants in 
two bark canoes, reached the Upper Mississippi. They followed in their 
frail barks the swift current of the river to the mouth of the Illinois, and 
thence into the mouth of the Missouri, called by Marquette, Pekitonoui, 
that is, Muddy Water. 

Shea in his "Discovery of the Mississippi Valley", says that Pekitonoui, 
or "Muddy Water", prevailed until Marest's time (1712), when it was 
called Missouri, from the name of a tribe of Indians known as Missouris, 
who inhabited the country at its mouth. More than 100 years after 
DeSoto discovered the Mississippi the claim of the French was founded. 
Until 1762 these two great nations contended for the right of sovereignity 
of the wilderness west of the Mississippi. 

The limits of this work forbid following the varying fortunes of any 
of the explorers, and reference is made to them sufficient only to show 
the claims of France and Spain to that expanse of territory of which the 
present Cooper County was a part. 

La Salle. — Continuing these references we must advert to La Salle. 
On the 14th day of July, 1678, with Tonti, an Italian, and about 
30 other men, he arrived in Quebec. In September, he sailed from 
Rochelle, France, and was joined by Louis Hennepin, a Franciscan friar. 
After leaving Frontenac, in Nov., 1678, they spent about 18 months 
among the Indian tribes exploring the northern lakes and rivers. 
They experienced many hardships. After returning to Canada for addi- 
tional supplies, La Salle, with about 20 Frenchmen, 18 Indian braves and 
10 Indian women, descended the Illinois to the Mississippi, which they 
reached on the sixth of Feb., 1662. On the fifth of April, La Salle accom- 
plished the purpose of his expedition, which was to discover the three 
mouths of the Mississippi through which its great volume of water is 
discharged into the Gulf of Mexico. 

By ceremony of great pomp, La Salle took possession of the country 



46 HISTORY OF COOPER COUNTY 

in the name of Louis XIV of France, in whose honor the country was 
named Louisiana. And here on an elevation La Salle, amid the solemn 
chants of hymns of thanksgiving, planted a cross, with the arms of 
France ; and in the name of the French king took possession of the river, 
of all its branches, and of the territory watered by them. The notary 
drew up an authentic act, which all signed with beating hearts. A leaden 
plate upon which were the arms of France and the names of the dis- 
coverers, was, amid the rattle of musketry, deposited in the earth. The 
plate bore this inscription, "Louis le Grand Roi de France et de Navarre, 
Regne; le Neuvieme Auril, 1682." Standing near the planted cross, 
La Salle proclaimed with a loud voice, that in the name of the most high, 
mighty, invincible and victorious Prince, Louis the Great, by the grace of 
God, King of France and Navarre, 14th of the name, this ninth day of 
April, 1682, he took possession of the country of Louisiana, comprising 
almost indefinite limits and including, of course, the present territory of 
Missouri. 

The colonial policy of the Spaniards was not based on theory or fancy, 
although at this period, less enlightened than the French, they had the 
advantage of larger experience. The English by reason of their indom- 
itable perseverance and fixedness of purpose had, in these respects, an 
advantage over their rivals. Yet the French, by their superior attitude 
in assimilating with the savages, and adroitness in winning confidence, 
had a clear advantage over both. 

French Settlements. — The only settlements at that time in what is 
now Missouri, were Ste. Genevieve and St. Louis. There were at least 
five settlements in what is now Illinois. These settlements were situated 
along the east bank of the Mississippi, for about 75 miles extending from 
near the mouth of the Missouri river to the mouth of the Kaskaska. They 
were Kaskaskia, with a white population of about 400; Prairie View 
Rocher. with about 50 inhabitants; Fort Chartres. about 100; Philippe, 
about 20; Kahoki, about 100, making a total of 670 whites. The negro 
population was about 300, which brings the total up to nearly 1,000. 

These settlements were made by the French. It seems unreasonable 
to assume that these adventurers, seeking fame and fortune, did not 
explore the Missouri River far beyond the limits of Cooper County. 

Early in the 18th century the French sent men into what is now 
Missouri to search for silver, and although they failed, they did a great 
deal of exploring in this region. Again the French settlers in Kaskaskia, 



HISTORY OF COOPER COUNTY 47 

and other Illinois settlements, which were established in the late 17th and 
early 18th centuries, soon made their way on hunting and exploring 
expeditions up the Missouri. Naturally this activity on the part of the 
French aroused the fears of the Spanish at Santa Fe, which resulted in 
their fitting out an expedition in 1720 for exploration. This expedition 
is popularly known as the "Great Caravan." It consisted of a large num- 
ber of soldiers, artisans, and farmers, together with their families, flocks 
and herds. 

But Houck in his "History of Missouri", says that recent investiga- 
tions seem to make it clear that there were not more than 50 soldiers 
in the expedition, and while there may have been helpers they were not 
intending settlers. However that may be, the expedition failed com- 
pletely, owing to an attack made by hostile Indians. Only one man belong- 
ing to the ill-fated expedition escaped with his life to relate the story of 
the disaster. 

It is claimed that this attempt of the Spanish to establish a post on 
the Missouri in 1720, led directly to the founding of Fort Orleans by the 
French in 1723. 

De Bourgmont, who previously spent some years trading with the 
Indians along the Missouri, was captain and commandant of Missouri in 
1720. The exact site of Fort Orleans cannot be definitely determined. 
It has been claimed that it is on the south bank of the Missouri near 
what is now Malta Bend in Saline County. Recently the ruins of an old 
fort, and the remains of French weapons, have been unearthed near Malta 
Bend. These finds are taken by some as evidence supporting the claim 
that Fort Orleans was on the south bank of the Missouri at that point. 
These facts ?ra important because they establish a foundation upon which 
a reasonable inference can be drawn that what is now Cooper County was 
invaded by the white man, and that trade had been carried on with the 
Indians long years before we have positive record of exploration by the 
white man. 

Treaty of Ildefonso.— From 1763 to 1800, Spain held undisputed 
sovereignty over the Louisiana province. In 1800, Europe was a seething 
caldron of contention and diplomacy. There were wars and rumors of 
wars. Napoleon Bonaparte was at the zenith of his glory. With the iron 
hand of power, guided by a wily diplomatic policy, and jealous ot the 
growing sovereignty of Spain and England in the New World, Napoleon 
forced Spain into the treaty of Ildefonso, Oct. 1 , 1800, by which she ceded 



48 HISTORY OF COOPER COUNTY 

to France all the territory known as Louisiana, west of the Mississippi 
in consideration that the son-in-law to the King of Spain should be estab- 
lished in Tuscany. 

This treaty took its name from the celebrated palace of St. Ildefonso 
which was the retreat of Charles V of Spain when he abdicated his throne 
in favor of his son. It was situated about 40 miles north of Madrid in 
an elevated ravine in the mountains of Gaudarruma. 

Purchase of Louisiana Territory. — Napoleon Bonaparte in 1803, for- 
seeing that Russia, in conjunction with Austria and England, was pre- 
paring to send clown her Muscovite legions into France, realized that he 
could not hold his possessions in America and determined to dispose of 
them to the disadvantage of England. The treaty of Ildefonso, in 1800, 
whereby Spain ceded to France all of the Louisiana Province, had been 
kept a profound secret until 1803. Thomas Jefferson, then president of 
the United States, was informed of the contents of this treaty. He at 
once dispatched instructions to Robert Livingston, the American minister 
to Paris, to make known to Napoleon that the occupation of New Orleans 
by the French government would bring about a conflict of interest between 
the two nations, which would finally culminate in an open rupture. He 
urged Mr. Livingston not only to insist upon the free navigation of the 
Mississippi, but to negotiate for the purchase of the city and the sur- 
rounding country, and to inform the French government that the 
occupancy of New Orleans might oblige the United States to make com- 
mon cause with England, France's bitterest and most dreaded enemy. 

Mr. Jefferson, in so grave a matter, appointed Mr. Monroe, with full 
power to act in conjunction with Mr. Livingston in the negotiation. Before 
taking final action in the matter, Napoleon summoned his ministers and 
addressed them as follows : "I am fully aware of the value of Louisiana, 
and it was my wish to repair the error of the French diplomats who 
abandoned it in 1763. I have scarcely recovered it before I run the risk 
of losing it ; but if I am obliged to give it up, it shall hereafter cost more 
to those who force me to part with it, than to whom I sell it. The English 
have despoiled France of all her northern possessions in America, and now 
they covet those of the south. I am determined that they shall not have 
the Mississippi. Although Louisiana is but a trifle compared to their 
vast possessions in other parts of the globe, yet, judging from the vexa- 
tion they have manifested on seeing it return to the power of France, I 
am certain that their first object will be to gain possession of it. They 
will probably commence the war in that quarter. They have twenty 




il. li COURT HOUSE, SECOND ONE AT BOONVILUE 



HISTORY OF COOPER COUNTY 49 

vessels in the Gulf of Mexico, and our affairs in St. Domingo are getting 
worse since the death of LeClerc. The conquest of Louisiana might be 
easily made, and I have not a moment to lose in getting out of their reach. 
I am not sure but that they have already begun an attack upon it. Such 
a measure would be in accordance with their habits ; and, if I were in their 
place I should not wait. I am inclined, in order to deprive them of all 
prospect of ever possessing it, to cede it to the United States. Indeed, I 
can hardly say that I cede it, for I do not yet possess it ; and if I wait but 
a short time, my enemies may leave me nothing but an empty title to 
grant to the Republic I wish to conciliate. I consider the whole colony 
as lost, and I believe that in the hands of this rising power it will be more 
useful to the political and even commercial interests of France than if I 
should attempt to retain it. Let me have both your opinions on the 
subject." 

One of Napoleon's ministers agreed with him, and the other dis- 
sented. Ever quick to think and to act, the next day he sent for the 
minister who agreed with him, and thus expressed himself: 

"The season for deliberation is over. I have determined to renounce 
Louisiana. I shall give up not only New Orleans, but the whole colony, 
without reservation. That I do not undervalue Louisiana, I have suffici- 
ently proved, as the object of my first treaty with Spain was to recover 
it. But though I regret parting with it, I am convinced that it would be 
folly to try to keep it. I commission you, therefore, to negotiate this 
affair with the envoys of the United States. Do not await the arrival of 
Mr. Monroe, but go this very day and confer with Mr. Livingston. 
Remember, however, that I need ample funds for carrying on the war, 
and I do not wish to commence it by levying new taxes. For the last 
century France and Spain have incurred great expense in the improve- 
ment of Louisiana, for which her trade has never indemnified them. Large 
sums have been advanced to different companies, which have never been 
returned to the treasury. It is fair that I should require repayment for 
these. Were I to regulate my demands by the importance of the terri- 
tory to the United States, they would be unbounded ; but, being obliged to 
part with it, I shall be moderate in my terms. Still, remember, I must 
have fifty millions of francs, and I will not consent to take less. I would 
rather make some desperate effort to preserve this fine country." 

The negotiations were completed satisfactorily to both parties to the 
contract. Mr. Livingston said, "I consider that from this day the United 
(4) 



50 HISTORY OF COOPER COUNTY 

States takes rank with the first powers of Europe, and now she is entirely 
escaped from the power of England." 

Napoleon Bonaparte, seemingly as well pleased said, "By this cession 
of territory, I have secured the power of the United States, and given to 
England a rival, who in some future time will humble her pride. How 
prophetic were the words of Napoleon. Not many years after in the 
very territory of which the great Corsican had been speaking the British 
met their signal defeat by the prowess and arms of the Americans. 

On Dec. 20, 1803, the Stars and Stripes supplanted the tri-colored 
flag of France at New Orleans. March 10, 1804, again the glorious banner 
of our country waved at St. Louis, from which day the authority of the 
United States in Missouri dates. 

The great Mississippi, along whose banks the Americans had planted 
their towns and villages, now afforded them a safe and easy outlet to the 
markets of the world. 

Organization of Territory. — In the month of April, 1804, Congress, 
by an act, divided Louisiana into two parts, the territory of Orleans, and 
the district of Louisiana, known as Upper Louisiana. Upper Louisiana 
embraced the present state of Missouri, all the western region of country 
to the Pacific Ocean, and all below the 49th degree of north latitude not 
claimed by Spain. 

On March 26, 1804, Missouri was placed within the jurisdiction of the 
government of the territory of Indiana, and its government put in motion 
by Gen. William H. Harrison, then governor of Indiana, afterwards pres- 
ident of the United States. In this he was assisted by Judges Jacob, 
Vandenburg and Davis who established in St. Louis what was called 
Courts of Common Pleas. 

On March 3, 1805, the district of Louisiana was organized by Con- 
gress into the territory of Louisiana, and President Jefferson appointed 
General James Wilkinson, governor; and Frederick Bates, secretary. The 
legislature of the territory was formed by Governor Wilkinson, Judges 
R. J. Meiger and John B. C. Lucas. 

In 1807, Governor Wilkinson was succeeded by Captain Merriwether 
Lewis, who had become famous by reason of his having made the expedi- 
tion up the Missouri with Clark. Governor Lewis committed suicide in 
1809, under very peculiar and suspicious circumstances, and the President 
appointed General Benjamin Howard of Lexington. Kentucky, to fill his 
place. 



HISTORY OF COOPER COUNTY 51 

Governor Howard resigned Oct. 25, 1810, to enter the War of 1812, 
and died in St. Louis in 1814. 

Captain William Clark, of Lewis and Clark's expedition, was appointed 
governor in 1810, to succeed General Howard ; he remained in office until 
the admission of the state into the Union in 1821. 

For purposes of purely local government, the settled portion of Mis- 
souri was divided into four districts. Cape Girardeau was the first, and 
embraced the territory between Pywappipy Bottom and Apple Creek ; Ste. 
Genevieve, the second, embraced the territory of Apple Creek to the Merri- 
mac River ; St. Louis, the third, embraced the territory between the 
Merrimac and the Missouri ; St. Charles, the fourth included the settled 
territory between the Missouri and the Mississippi Rivers. The total 
population of these districts at that time, including slaves, was 8,670. 
The population of the district of Louisiana when ceded to the United 
States was 10,120. 

Various Claims to Missouri. — The soil of Missouri has been claimed 
or owned as follows: First, from the middle of the sixteenth century 
to 1763, by both France and Spain. Second, in 1763, it was ceded to 
Spain by France. Third, in 1800, it was ceded from Spain back to France. 
Fourth, April 30, 1803, it, with other territory, was ceded by France to 
the United States. Fifth, October 31, 1803, a temporary government was 
authorized by Congress for the newly acquired territory. Sixth, October, 
1804, it was included in the "District of Louisiana." then organized with 
a separate territorial government. Eighth, June 4, 1812, it was embraced 
in what was then made the "Territory of Missouri." Ninth, August 10. 
1821, admitted into the Union as a state. 

When France, in 1803, vested the title to this vast territory in the 
United States, it was subject to the claims of the Indians. This claim 
our government justly recognized. Therefore, before the government of 
the United States could vest clear title to the soil in the grantees, it was 
necessary to extinguish title by purchase. This was accordingly done by 
treaties made with the Indians at various times. 

When Missouri was admitted as a territory in 1812 by James Madison, 
it embraced what is now the state of Missouri, Arkansas, Iowa, Minnesota, 
west of the Mississippi, Oklahoma, North and South Dakota, Nebraska. 
Montana, and most of Kansas, Colorado and Wyoming. It has therefor. 1 
been truly said that Missouri is the mother of all the great west. 



CHAPTER III. 



EARLY SETTLEMENTS. 



DANIEL BOONE— BOONSLICK COUNTRV— FIRST TEMPORARY SETTLEMENTS— 
LEWIS AND CLARK — NATHAN AND DANIEL BOONE MAKE SALT— CHRIST V 
AND HEATH— BENJAMIN COOPER— FIGHT WITH INDIANS— INDIANS MEET 
GENERAL CLARK— COOPERS AND COLES SETTLE PERMANENTLY— FIRST 
SETTLERS SOUTH OF RIVER— CONDITIONS MET— FIRST SETTLERS IN BOONS- 
LICK COUNTRY— OTHER SETTLERS SOUTH OF RIVER — ENGLISH STIR UP 
INDIANS— FIRST DEEDS RECORDED. 

While the preceding chapters deal with history, largely speculative 
and inferential, leading up to the year 1804, when the United States took 
possession of Upper Louisiana, the present chapter is the story based on 
actual facts from 1804 to 1812, of the Central Boonslick country, and 
particularly that portion of the same on the south and north banks of 
the Missouri, in what is now the northern part of Cooper County and the 
southern part of Howard. So intimately correlated are the events on 
both banks of the river, that the story of one is the story of the other. 

Over a century of time has elapsed since the first hardy pioneer built 
his cabin in the wilderness which is now known to the world as Cooper 
county. During the period which has passed since the first settler braved 
the hardships and privations of the unknown and undeveloped country 
bordering upon the shores of the mighty Missouri, a wonderful trans- 
formation has taken place. 

Cooper County has risen to become one of the wealthiest in Missouri 
and is one of the leaders in value of farm crops and farm wealth. It 
has become famous for enterprise and industry, and ranks among the 
first counties of the great state of Missouri in the prosperity of her 
citizens. All this has been accomplished by the men and women who 



HISTORY OF COOPER COUNTY 53 

have delved into its rich soil and developed the limitless resources of the 
county. 

It has furnished to the state and nation men eminent in the councils 
of both and famed in statesmanship. Its citizens have won distinction 
in the professions and in letters, have been in the van of advanced agri- 
culture, horticulture and stock-breeding, and have in remote sections of 
our great country, carried with them the vigor of mind and body that 
shed luster in their adopted homes. 

Schools have multiplied and towns have been built upon the broad 
expanse of her territory ; the old trails have given away to well-kept 
highways; steam locomotives haul palatial trains where once the slow 
moving ox-teams transported merchandise to and from the Missouri. 

Even the buggy and carriage, once the evidence of prosperity, have 
been superceded lay the more elegant, more comfortable and speedier 
means of travel, the automobile. The telegraph, the telephone and the 
wireless have bound together distant communities. Distance has been 
eliminated and time conserved. 

The history of Cooper County, from t^he time of the red men and the 
first hardy adventurers and pioneers, involves a wondrous story which 
is well worth preserving. States and nations preserve their history, but 
the story of a county and its creation and development touches a chord 
of home life and home making which is dearer and nearer than that 
which is purely informational. 

Danie! Boone, whose name is so intimately connected with the early 
pioneer history of Kentucky, when an old man, lost his holdings in 
that state by reason of defective land titles. Though learned in wood- 
craft and versatile in Indian lore, he knew little of man-made laws. 
Chagrined and baffled, but with never quailing heart, he determined to 
move farther west where he would not be elbowed by a crowding civil- 
ization. He secured a grant of land on the Femme Osage, in what is 
now St. Charles County, in the state of Missouri, and eventually located 
there about 1797. He was strong and vigorous, and for several years 
thereafter hunted and trapped up and down the Missouri River, depend- 
ing solely and alone upon nature and his trusty rifle for all his wants. 

When Hunt, in his expedition across the continent, on Jan. 17, 1811, 
touched with his boats at Charette, one of the old villages founded by the 
original French colonists, he met with Daniel Boone. This renowned 
patriarch of Kentucky, who had kept in advance of civilization and on the 
borders of the wilderness, was still leading a hunter's life, though then in 



54 HISTORY OF COOPER COUNTY 

his 83d year. He had but recently returned from a hunting and trapping 
expedition, and had brought nearly 60 beaver skins as trophies of his 
skill. This old man was still erect in form, strong of limb and unflinching 
in spirit. As he stood on the river bank, watching the departure of an 
expedition destined to traverse the wilderness to the very shores of the 
Pacific, very probably his pulse beat the faster and he felt a throb of his 
old pioneer spirit impelling him to shoulder his rifle, and join the adven- 
turous band that was to travel lands heretofore unexplored, again braving 
the wilderness and the savage. 

Boone flourished several yeai-s after this meeting in a vigorous old 
age, the master of hunters and backwoodsmen, and he died full of sylvan 
honor and renown, in 1820, in his 92d year. 

John Peck, that noted pioneer Baptist preacher, in his memoirs of 
the Louisiana Territory, thus describes Boone: 

"His high, bold forehead was slightly bald, and his silvered locks 
were combed smooth, his countenance was ruddy and fair and exhibited 
the simplicity of a child, a smile frequently played over his countenance; 
in conversation his voice was soft and melodious; at repeated interviews 
an irritable expression was never heard ; his clothing was the coarse, plain 
manufacture of the family, but every thing denoted that kind of com- 
fort that was congenial to his habits and feelings, and evinced a busy, 
happy old age. His room was a part of a range of log cabins kept in order 
by his affectionate daughters and grand daughters. Every member of the 
household appeared to take delight in administering to his comforts ; he 
was sociable and communicative in replying to questions, but did not intro- 
duce incidents of his own history. He was intelligent, for he had treas- 
ured up the experience and observation of more than fourscore years 
"not moody and unsociable as if desirous of shunning society and civil- 
ization." This was in 1816, four years before the death of Boone. 

This brief mention of Daniel Boone is but a small tribute to the man 
from whom, because of his noble traits and unique career, the Boonslick 
Country. Boone County, and Boonville take their names. 

Boonslick Country. — In one of his many hunting and trapping expe- 
ditions, Boone came into Hov/ard County and discovered certain salt 
ings, about eight miles northwest of what is now Now Franklin. These 
springs were for many years thereafter known as Boonslick, from them 
this section of country took its name. All of the present state of Mis- 
souri lying west of Cedar Creek and north and west of the Osage river, 
and extending practically to what is now the state line on the west and 



HISTORY OF COOPER COUNTY 55 

north, was for many years known as the Boonslick Country. The first 
settlers who came to this section knew it only by that name, as at that 
time no counties were formed in the central part of the state. There is 
no reliable evidence nor substantial tradition that Boone ever permanently 
resided at this Lick, but it is certain that he camped near there, prob- 
ably on many occasions. Nor is there substantial evidence that be ever 
resided in the present county of Cooper, yet it is very probable that he 
frequently crossed to the south side of the Missouri river, and trapped 
and hunted along the Missouri in what is now Cooper County. 

Samuel Cole, a member of one of the first white families which settled 
in the present limits of Cooper County, has been positive in his statement 
that Daniel Boone never lived farther west than St. Charles County. The 
conclusion, therefore, is inevitable that those who have assumed that 
Boone ever resided permanently in either Howard or Cooper County are 
in error. However, John W. Peck, who in the early days traveled in this 
section, gives a very interesting account of his observations and experi- 
ences. 

A few years before the old hunter's death, Peck visited him in his 
home in what is now St. Charles County. He states that Boone pitched 
his tent for one winter at the salt springs, afterwards known as Boone's 
Lick, and later put up a cabin there. Mr. Peck does not give the date. 
The presumption is that he got his information from the lips of the old 
hunter himself, and we would further suppose that Boone camped there 
between the years 1797 and 1804, likely nearer the former date than the 
latter for the reason that he was at that time younger and more robust, 
and more inclined than he was later to enjoy sylvan sports, the chase and 
the hunt. 

First Temporary Settlements. — Joseph Marie, in the year 1800, set- 
tled upon lands situated near what is known as "Eagle's Nest", about one 
mile southwest of where Fort Kincaid was afterward erected, in what is 
now Franklin township, Howard County, and erected improvements 
thereon. This has been controverted, but we give it again for what it is 
worth. 

The" first authentic record we have dealing with any settlement is a 
deed executed in the year 1816, transferring the above lands by this same 
Joseph Marie to Asa Morgan, whose name is so intimately connected with 
some of the first land deals in this section, and who with Lucas laid out 
the town of Boonville. We give this deed at the end of this chapter. 

Also in the year 1800, the Lieutenant-Governor of Upper Louisiana, 



56 HISTORY OF COOPER COUNTY 

Charles Dehault Delasus, granted to Ira P. Nash, a large tract of land 
in what is now Howard County. This land was surveyed on Jan. 26, 
1804, and certified to on Feb. 15th of that year. We also append at the 
end of this chapter a copy of the deed transferring this land. In the latter 
part of February, Ira P. Nash the above named, a Deputy United States 
surveyor, together with Stephen Hancock and Stephen Jackson, came up 
the Missouri River and located a claim on public lands nearly opposite the 
mouth of the Lamine River, north of Cooper County. They remained 
there until March, of the same year, employing their time in surveying, 
hunting and fishing, and during that month returned to their homes, on 
the Missouri River, about five miles above St. Charles. 

In July of the same year, Ira P. Nash, with James H. Whiteside, 
William Clark arid Daniel Hubbard came again into what is now Howard 
County, and surveyed a tract of land near the present site of Old Franklin. 
On this trip, it is stated, Mr. Nash claimed that on his former trip when he 
came up the river in February, he had left a compass in a certain hollow 
tree. He and two other companions started out to find it, and agreed to 
meet the remainder of the company the next day at what was known as 
"Boone's and Barkley's Lick." This he did, bringing the compass with 
him, thus proving beyond a doubt that he had visited the country before. 
This incident is remembered as having been important, in the early days, 
in bearing on the title of Nash's land. 

Lewis and Clark Expedition. — When Lewis and Clark in their won- 
derful exploring expedition across the continent to the Pacific Ocean, came 
up the Missouri river, they arrived near where the Boone Femme flows 
into the Missouri river, on the north side, and camped there for the night. 
This was on June 7, 1804. < When they arrived at the mouth of the Big 
Moniteau Creek, they found a point of rocks covered with strange heirog- 
lyphic paintings that deeply aroused their interest, but this place was 
infested with such a large number of rattlesnakes, that a closer examina- 
tion was rendered hazardous and practically impossible. As they traveled 
up the river they arrived at the mouth of the Lamine on June 8th and 
on the 9th they reached what is now Arrow Rock. This expedition re- 
turned from its journey in 1806, after thrilling experiences, having suc- 
cessfully accomplished all the purposes for which it was sent out. 

In passing down the Missouri River, on Sept. 18th, the expedition 
camped on the north side of the Missouri river, opposite the mouth of the 
Lamine. Passing up the Missouri in 1804, and down on their return trip 



HISTORY OF COOPER COUNTY 57 

in 1806, they passed the present sites of Boonville and Franklin, and 
doubtless made short explorations on both sides of the river. 

The next positive evidence that we have of any white person being in 
the country is the following: 

Nathan and Daniel Boone Make Salt at Boonslick. — In 1807, Nathan 
and Daniel M. Boone, sons of old Daniel Boone, who lived with their father 
in what is now St. Charles County, about 25 miles west of the city of St. 
Charles, on the Femme Osage Creek, came up the Missouri River and 
manufactured salt at Boone's Lick in what is now Howard County. After 
they had manufactured a considerable amount of salt they shipped it 
down the river to St. Louis, where they sold it. It is thought by many 
that this is the first instance of salt being manufactured in what was at 
that time a part of the territory of Louisiana, now the state of Missouri, 
however soon after this sale was manufactured in large quantiitiies, salt 
licks being discovered in many parts of the state. 

These were the first white persons who remained for any length of 
time in the Boonslick country, but they were not permanent settlers. They 
came only to make salt or hunt, and left soon thereafter. 

So far as authentic records give us light, the foregoing were the first 
white settlers who came to this section of the Boonslick country. Thus 
we see that prior to 1808 three parties had entered it while on exploring 
and surveying expeditions. Two parties had been to its fine salt licks to 
make salt. It must not be assumed, however, that these were the first 
white men who came into this section of the state. There had been for 
many years settlements in the eastern part of the state and especially on 
the Mississippi River. Doubtless many of these hardy pioneers, on their 
hunting expeditions, tracked the forest to the Boonslick country. Many 
years before 1800, French traders and Spanish voyageurs were wont to 
trap, hunt and traffic with the Indians, up and down the Missouri River. 
Suffice it to say that these white men who came to this section were not 
looked upon by the Indians in surprise and wonder. They knew the ways 
of the white man, and gave evidence of having had previous dealings with 
him. 

Christy and Heath Make Salt in Cooper County.— William Christy 
and John J. Heath came up from St. Louis in 1808, and manufactured salt 
in what is now Blackwater township, Cooper County, at a place now known 
as Heath's Lick. For years afterwards, Heath made salt at the same 
place every summer and shipped it to St. Louis, in hollow logs closed at 



58 HISTORY OF COOPER COUNTY 

each end by chunks of wood and clay. The salt springs where Heath's 
salt works were located is known as Heath's Creek, named after him, as 
was also Heath's Lick. 

In 1804, when the United States took formal possession of the province 
of of Louisiana, it became the territory of Louisiana, and was afterwards 
divided into the Upper Louisiana Territory, and the Orleans, or Lower 
Louisiana Territory, to the former of which this section belonged. It was 
then that the rugged American pioneer looked with longing eyes towards 
the West, seeking cheap lands, a new home and adventure. Soon there 
started a stream of immigration from the south, east and north, but the 
first settlers were principally from the southern states. 

Benjamin Cooper First Settler in Boonslick Country. — Benjamin 
Cooper was the first permanent settler in the section. In the spring of 
the year 1808, he and his family, consisting of his wife and five sons, 
moved to the Boonslick country, about two miles southwest of Boonslick 
in the Missouri River bottom. Here he had sought cheaper lands and a 
new home, together with the necessary adventures second to his sturdy 
nature. He built a cabin cleared a small piece of ground and began the 
preliminary work for a permanent home. However, he was located so far 
beyond the protection of the government that Governor Merriweather 
Lewis, then governor of the territory issued an order directing him to 
return below the mouth of the Gasconade River. Cooper was so far ad- 
vanced in the Indian country, and so far away from the protection of the 
government, that in case of Indian wars, he would be without other aid 
and unable to protect himself against the depredations of the ruthless 
savages. So he returned to Loutre Island, about four miles below the 
mouth of the Gasconade River, and remained there until the year 1810. 
This precaution was perhaps due to the fact that Indians were being 
stirred and exploited by our then quandam friends, the English, in some 
cases being supplied by them with guns and ammunition. 

As Stephen Cole and Hannah Cole and families were the first perma- 
nent settlers in Cooper County, it may be of special interest to the reader 
to learn something about them. 

Stephen Cole ;ind William Temple Cole Fight With Indians. — Stephen 
Cole and William Temple Cole were bora in New River, Wythe County. 
Virginia. There they married sisters named Allison, and emigrated to 
the southern part of the Cumberland, Wayne County. Kentucky. In 1807, 
they came to Upper Louisiana, and settled on or near Loutre Island, about 
the same time that the Coopers settled on that island. 



HISTORY OF COOPER COUNTY 59 

In 1810, a roving band of about eighteen Pottowattomies, led by a 
war chief named Nessotingineg, stole a number of horses from the settlers 
of Loutre Island on the Missouri. A volunteer company consisting of 
Stephen Cole, William Temple Cole, Sarshall Brown, Nicholas Gooch, 
Abraham Potts, and James Mordock, was formed with Stephen Cole, then 
captain of the militia of Loutre Island, as leader. The company proposed 
to follow the Indians and recapture the stolen property. 

The volunteer company followed the Indians up the Loutre Creek, 
about 20 miles, and came to a place where the Indians had peeled bark, 
evidently to make halters, there the white men stopped for the night. 
The next morning they followed the Indian trail about thirty miles across 
Grand Prairie, just as they emerged from a small patch of timber, sud- 
denly discovered the Indians with the horses. 

William Temple Cole and Sarshall Brown, on the fastest horses, 
started in pursuit, the others following them. So hard did they press 
their pursuit upon the Indians, who did not know the number of whites 
chasing them, and who were apprehensive that they might be captured in 
their wild flight, that they threw their packs into a plum thicket near a 
pool of water, and they scattered in the woods. These packs, consisting 
of buffalo robes, deer skins and partly tanned leather, they had stolen from 
Sarshall Brown. 

Night overtaking the party, they went into camp on the Waters of 
Salt River at a place known as Bonelick, 65 miles from the Loutre settle- 
ment, and about a mile or two northwest of the present city of Mexico, in 
Audrain County. Here contrary to the advice of their leader Stephen 
Cole, they without posting any sentinels, tied their horses in the thicket. 
After broiling some meat for supper, they went to sleep, with the excep- 
tion of Stephen Cole, who with the sagacity of the experienced frontiers- 
man, was apprehensive of an attack. They had not been asleep long, 
when Cole thought he heard the cracking of a bush. He told his bi-other 
to get up, for he believed the Indians were near. However everything 
remained still, and solemn quietude prevailed. Stephen Cole pulled his 
saddle against his back and shoulders, and sought again his repose after 
the hard day's chase, but still impressed with impending danger. The 
Indians, who had crawled up so near that, by the light of the little camp 
fire, they could see the faces of their unsuspecting victims, waited but a 
short time till all was quiet then they opened a volley upon the party, 
instantly killing Gooch and Brown, wounding William Temple Cole and 
another one of the men. A hand-to-hand struggle between the Indians 



60 HISTORY OF COOPER COUNTY 

and Stephen Cole then took place in which Cole killed four Indians and 
wounded a fifth ; the remaining members of the Indian band disappeared. 

Stephen Cole then went into a nearby pool and squatted in the water 
to wash the blood from the many wounds which he had received. After 
a little while the Indians returned, found Temple Cole and killed him. 
Patton, who had managed to get off some distance, also was found dead 
near a little sapling. Stephen Cole, after stanching the flow of blood from 
his wounds left the scene of the bloody encounter. The next morning, 
after he had gone about two or three miles, he sat down on a small gopher 
hill to rest, when he discovered two mounted Indians some distance away. 
They eyed him for a few minutes, then wheeled their horses and disap- 
peared. He reached the settlement on the third day nearly famished, 
having had not a morsel to eat during all this time. James Moredock 
escaped unhurt, and it is said that if he had acted with one-half the 
bravery of Stephen Cole, the Indians would have been defeated. 

Samuel Cole, a son of William Temple Cole, says that the Indians did 
not scalp the whites in this encounter. Peace was supposed to prevail 
between the Indians and settlers. This skirmish proved to be the begin- 
ning of the Indian troubles on the Missouri River. 

It is possible that this band of Pottowattomies had been on the war 
path against the Osages, and since the war trail from the Pottowattomies' 
led to the mouth of the Gasconade, near which Loutre Island is situated 
in the Missouri River, the temptation to steal some of the horses of the 
settlers had been too great for the Indians to forego. At any rate, so far 
as we know they did no personal injury to the settlers, except yielding to 
their penchant for stealing. If they had been bent upon more serious 
mischief, they undoubtedly could and would have perpetrated it. 

James Cole, a son of Stephen Cole, says that in this fight Stephen 
Cole received 26 wounds, and that on his way home he chewed some elm 
bark and placed it on his wounds. Stephen Cole was killed by the Indians 
on the banks of the Rio Grande near El Paso in 1824. Cole was a strong, 
virile, robust, uneducated, but sagacious frontiersman. On one occasion 
he was present at a session of the legislature, says Houck, when two mem- 
bers who had been opponents in a spirited debate during the session, 
engaged in a fight, after adjournment for the day and clinched. This was 
a common occurrence in those days when physical strength and prowess 
were so greatly esteemed. Governor McNair, who happened to be pres- 
ent, tried to separate them, but Cole seized the governor and pulled him 



HISTORY OF COOPER COUNTY 61 

away, saying, "In sich a scrimmage a governor is no more than any other 
man." 

Saukees and Renards Meet with General Clark. — It was shortly after 
the Loutre Island incident that a delegation of the Saukees or Sacs, and 
the Renards or Foxes, had a meeting with General Clark in St. Louis and 
assured him that they were peaceably inclined. Quashquama, in a speech 
to Clark, said: "My father, I left my home to see my great-grandfather, 
the president of the United States, but as I cannot proceed to see him, I 
give you my hand as to himself. I have no father to whom I have paid 
any attention but yourself. If you hear anything, I hope that you will 
let me know, and I will do the same. I have been advised several times to 
raise the tomahawk. Since the last war we have looked upon the Amer- 
icans as friends, and I shall hold you fast by the hand. The Great Spirit 
has not put us on the earth to war with the whites. We have never struck 
a white man. If we go to war it is with the red flesh. Other nations send 
belts among us, and urge us to war. They say that if we do not, the 
Americans will encroach upon us, and drive us off our lands." 

This was fine-sounding and very romantic speech in light of what fol- 
lowed. In the war that started in 1812, and from then until its close, 
in 1815, these same Saukees and Renards, some of whom lived in this sec- 
tion, committed atrocious deeds, and gave the early pioneer settlers much 
trouble. But all the tribulations of the settlers at this time cannot be 
attributed to these tribes alone, as other roving bands of savages infested 
'the country. 

This section of the Boonslick country was not destined to be left long 
to the reign of the wild beasts and the savage Indians. It was attractive 
and presented advantages which those seeking homes where they could 
find the richest of lands and the most healthful of climates, could not and 
did not fail to perceive. Its fertile soil promised, with little labor, the 
most abundant of harvests. Its forests were filled with every variety of 
game, and its streams with all kinds of fish. It is no wonder that those 
seeking homes looked upon this section as a "promised land", where pro- 
visions could be found, and that they should select and settle the rich 
lands here, accomodating themselves to the scanty fare of the wilderness, 
and risking all the dangers from the wild beasts and the Indians who lived 
in great numbers nearby. 

Two years after the first settlement of Benjamin Cooper and after 
his removal to Loutre Island, the first permanent and abiding settlement 



62 HISTORY OF COOPER COUNTY 

was made in this section this was but a forerunner of the stream of emi- 
gration which soon followed. 

Coopers and Coles Settle Permanently. — On Feb. 20, 1810, Benjamin 
Cooper with several others returned to what is now Howard County. They 
came up on the north side of the Missouri from Loutre Island, and all of ' 
them, except Hannah Cole, the widow of William Temple Cole, and her 
family and Stephen Cole and his family, settled in Howard County, north 
of the Missouri River. 

Hannah Cole and Stephen Cole, together with their families, settled 
in what is now Cooper County; Stephen Cole settled about one and one- 
half miles east of Boonville, at what is now called the old "Fort Field" 
once owned by J. L. Stephens ; and Hannah Cole, in what is now East 
Boonville, on the big bluffs overlooking the river at a point of rocks where 
the old lime kiln was located. 

Benjamin Cooper settled in Howard County, at the same pmce and in 
the cabin which he had built two years before. This cabin had not been 
disturbed by the Indians, although they had occupied all the adjacent 
country, and doubtless had passed it many times. 

When the families of Hannah Cole and Stephen Cole, settled in what 
is now Cooper County, there was no white American living in Missouri 
west of Franklin and south of the Missouri. Those who came with them 
and settled north of the Missouri were their nearest white neighbors, but 
most of these were two or three miles distant from them. 

Names of First Permanent Settlers South of River. — The families' 
that were the first settlers south of the river were composed of the follow- 
ing members: Hannah Cole, the widow of William Temple Cole, and her 
children Jennie, Mattie, Dickey, Nellie, James, Holburt, Stephen, William 
and Samuel ; Stephen Cole, and Phoebe, his wife, and their children, James. 
Rhoda, Mark, Nellie and Polly, making seventeen members in the two 
families who made the first settlement in what is now Cooper County, but 
what was then a wilderness, untrodden save by savages. Here they were 
surrounded on all sides by the Indians, who pretended to be friendly, and 
who stoically camouflaged their malice, but sought every opportunity to 
commit petit larceny and other depredations upon the settlers. All of 
these have gone beyond the Great Divide. They have passed their brief 
hour upon a stage, filled with thrilling adventures. Each lived in his own 
limited sphere, has passed on and is seen no more. Their memories are 
perpetrated; their noble deeds and self-sacrifices are cherished. Their 



HISTORY OF COOPER COUNTY 63 

descendants are many and are scattered throughout the different counties 
of this state, and the west from the Mississippi river to the Pacific coast. 

Conditions Met. — When the Coopers and the Coles came to this sec- 
tion, there was neither road nor path for them to pass through the wilder- 
ness, save here and there the trail of the savage or the path of the wild 
beast. They had to take care as the course in which to travel any open- 
ing which they could find in the thickets or through the forest, that would 
permit the passage of their wagons and animals, and frequently were com- 
pelled to chop their way through with the axe, an essential accouterment 
of the early pioneer. 

When they arrived where old Franklin now stands, Hannah and 
Stephen Cole looked with longing eyes to the beckoning forests on the 
south side of the river, and desiring to cross the river with their families, 
were compelled to use a large canoe or perogue, as it was then called, 
compelling their horses to swim behind them. At this time throughout 
Cooper County up and down the south side of the Missouri, the land was 
covered by a vast forest, extending several miles inland. The Saukee, or 
Sacs, and Renards, or Foxes, were their only neighbors. The Saukee 
under their leader, Quashquami, lived on the Moniteau Creek in the south 
part of Cooper County. They were in a measure nomadic, and moved 
from place to place seeking the easier and better hunting ground. 

When these brave settlers first came here, the Indians professed to 
be friendly to them, and gave apparent evidence of desiring to live in peace 
and amity, but as is generally true with all savages, they were petty 
thieves, stole horses and committed various other depredations. During 
the war of 1812, these Indians took sides with the British against the 
Americans. After the conclusion of the war the Saukee Indians were 
ordered off to the Grand River, and from thence to Rock River. Other 
chiefs with whom the early settlers came in contact during this time, were 
Keokuk and Blundo, the latter one, half French, the other a full blooded 
Indiana. 

The whites of that day, although they well knew the treachery of 
the Indians, were accustomed to hunt and fish with them and at times to 
visit them at their villages. When in the presence of the whites, the 
Indians were kind and accomodating, yet the settlers always endeavored 
to guard against the wary savage and his treachery. 

In the Indian war of 1832. known as the Black Hawk War. Blundo was 
really and according to the Indian law and tradition chief of the tribe, 



64 HISTORY OF COOPER COUNTY 

but Black Hawk, a wily and restless agitator, seemed to sway his fellow 
savages and became in this war the leader of the Saukees and Renards, 
sometimes called the Sacs and Foxes. 

When the first settlers came to what is now Cooper County, wild game 
of all kinds was very abundant, and was so tame as not to be easily fright- 
ened at the approach of the white man. This game furnished the settlers 
with all their meat, and, in fact, with all the provisions that they used 
for most of the time they had little else than meat. 

There were large numbers of deer, wild turkeys, elk, and large ani- 
mals, and to use the expression of an old settler, "They could be killed as 
easily as sheep are now killed in our pastures." The settlers spent most 
of their time hunting and fishing, as it was a needless waste to plant crops 
to be destroyed by the wild game. Small game, such as squirrels, rabbits 
and the like swarmed so abundantly around the homes of the settlers and 
in such numbers that when the men attempted to raise a crop of any kind 
they were forced to kill the small game in large numbers in order to save 
a part of it. But these inoffensive animals, dangerous only to their crops, 
were not the only ones which filled the forests. Such terrible and blood 
thirsty wild beasts as the bear and the panther could be seen very often 
lying in wait for any unwary traveler who ventured near their lairs. 

Where the present residences of E. A. Windsor and M. E. Schmidt 
now stand in the city of Boonville, a panther which measured eleven feet 
from the end of its nose to the tip of its tail, was one day killed by Samuel 
Cole. This panther was thought to be one of the largest ever killed in the 
state of Missouri. 

Thus were the early settlers and their families abundantly provided 
with meat and food by nature. Their menu was brief, but it was enough 
to supply with vitality the red corpuscles that coursed through their veins 
and gave them rugged health, vigor and strength of body. The domestic 
animals also were furnished with everything necessary to their well-being. 
The grasses were so good during the whole year that the stock lived with- 
out being fed by their owners. Even when the ground was covered with 
snow, the animals, taught by instinct, would in a few minutes claw from 
under the snow enough grass to last them for the day. The only use for 
corn, of which the settlers planted very little, was to make bread. Bread 
made from corn was the only kind they had. 

These first settlers of what is now Cooper County, remained here 
nearly two years without any neighbors nearer than those on the opposite 



■ 



mi i 



i 1 




HISTORY OF COOPER COUNTY 65 

side of the Missouri. For nearly two years they encountered alone the 
dangers of the forest, and lived in peace and quietness, although at times 
they feared an attack from the Indians who lived south and west of them. 
The treacherous nature of the Indian as well as because Cooper was in fact 
trespassing upon the lands of the Indians, was the reason that Merri- 
weather Lewis, then governor of the territory, issued the order directing 
Benjamin Cooper to return below the mouth of the Gasconade River, from 
his first settlement in what is now known as Howard County. 

The Indians with which our early settlers had to contend were idle, 
shiftless, vicious and treacherous. In the presence of the white settlers 
they were apparently frank, accomodating and kind, yet they nursed the 
tradition that the white man was their natural enemy, and would event- 
ually dispossess them of their "happy hunting grounds." 

Names of First Settlers in Boonslick Country and Whence They 
Came. — Those who settled in the Central Boonslick country in 1810 are 
as follows: From Madison County, Ky., Lieut.-Col. Benjamin Cooper. 
Francis Cooper, William Cooper, Daniel Cooper, John Cooper, Capt. Sar- 
shall Cooper, Braxton Cooper, Sr., Joseph Cooper, Stephen Cooper, Brax- 
ton Cooper, Jr., Robert Cooper, James Hancock, Albert Hancock, William 
Berry, John Berry, Robert Irvin, Robert Brown, Joseph Wolfscale, William 
Thorpe, John Thorpe, Josiah Thorpe, James Thorpe, Gilead Rupe, James 
Jones, John Peak, William Wolfscale, Adam Woods. From Estill County, 
Ky., Amos Ashcraft, Otho Ashcraft, Jesse Ashcraft, James Alexander. 
From Tennessee, John Ferrell, Henry Ferrell, Robert Hancock. From 
Virginia, James Kile. From South Carolina, Gray Bynum. From Georgia, 
Stephen Jackson. From Ste. Genevieve, Peter Popineau. Previous resi- 
dence unknown, John Busby, James Anderson, Middleton Anderson, Will- 
iam Anderson. From Wayne County, Ky., Hannah, Jennie, Mattie, Dickie, 
Nellie, James, Holbert, Stephen, William, Samuel, Stephen, Phoebe 
(Stephen's wife), James, Rhoda, Mark, Nellie, and Polly Cole. 

Those from Wayne County, Kentucky, settled south of the river. 
The women belonging to some of these families on the north side of the 
river did not arrive until the following July or August. There may have 
been others, but the above list is all that we are able to trace. 

There can be no doubt that a daring Frenchman had even prior to 
the year 1800 explored this section lying contiguous to the Missouri River, 
several years before its settlement proper and before there existed within 
(5) 



66 HISTORY OF COOPER COUNTY 

the present limits of this county a trading post. The names of the 
streams, such as Bonne Femme, Moniteau, etc., attest the fact that they 
were of French origin, and had been seen and named by the French traders 
and explorers. 

Levens and Drake, in their condensed but carefully prepared history 
of Cooper County say: "While Nash and his companions were in Howard 
County (1840), they visited Barclay's and Boon's Lick, also a trading 
post, situated about two miles northwest of Old Franklin. This trading 
post was kept by a white man by the name of Prewitt. The existence of 
the trading post, and the fact that Barclay's and Boone's licks had already 
received their names from the white men who visited them, show con- 
clusively that this portion of the country had been explored by Americans 
even before this. But no history mentions this trading post, nor does any 
give the name of Prewitt, hence, we are unable to determine when he came 
to the Boonslick country, how long he remained, or where he went; 
he evidently left before the year 1808, as Benjamin Cooper, who moved 
to Howard county in that year, said there was then no settlement in this 
part of the state. 

Other Settlers Move South of River. — In the latter part of the year 
1811 some more adventurous spirits moved to the south side of the river, 
and began to settle around and near the present site of Boonville. They 
were Joseph Jolly, Joseph Yarnell, Gilliard Rupe, Mike Box, Delaney Bolin, 
William Savage, John Savage, Walter and David Burriss and families. 
They settled near one another, so that in time of danger they could readily 
gather at one place. This timely arrival revived the spirits of the set- 
tlers, for already could be heard the dim mutterings in the distance, which 
foreshadowed a long and bloody conflict with the Indians who had been 
induced by the emissaries of the British government to take sides with 
that country against the United States of America. 

English Stir Up Indians. — Several years before the War of 1812, the 
British along the lakes and in the Northwest industriously fomented dis- 
satisfaction among the Indians; consequently they were restless even 
before the declaration of war; dissatisfied and openly hostile. Frequently 
these Indians, between 1809 and 1812, visited the British agents on the 
lakes, and by them were generously supplied with rifles and fusils, powder 
and lead, and liberally with almost everything else that they needed. 

As early as 1808 the subagent on the Missouri wrote General Clark, 
Superintendent of Indian affairs at St. Louis, that the Indians had fired 



HISTORY OF COOPER COUNTY 67 

upon one John Rufty about six miles above Fort Osage and killed him. 
Nicholas Jarret, in 1809, made an affidavit that the British agents were 
stnring up the Indians at that place and on the frontiers of Canada, but 
this statement was denied by these British agents. The Osages and the 
Iowas also were on the warpath in 1810 and in that year some of the 
Osages were killed not far from the present city of Liberty. 

The first blacksmiths in the Boonslick country were: William Canole, 
Charles Canole and Whitley. 

The first marriage was that of Robert Cooper and Elizabeth Carson, 
in 1810, at the home of Lindsay Carson, the father of "Kit" Carson, the 
great Indian scout. 

Thomas Smith was the. first shoemaker, his wife being an adept at 
making moccasins. 

Dr. Tighe was the first physician. 

These people lived on the north side of the river from what is now 
Boonville, and the settlers on the south side were for some time served 
by them. 

Lindsay Carson apprenticed his son "Kit" to David Workman, a 
saddler, to learn that trade, but this vocation did not suit "Kit's" roving 
and adventurous nature, and 1826, he literally shook the dust from his 
feet and sought the Rockies, gaining national renown as an Indian scout. 
He died in 1869. 

First Deed Recorded. — The first deed executed and recorded in the 
Boonslick country was as follows : "Know all men by these presents that 
I. Joseph Marie, of the county and town of St. Charles, and territory of 
Missouri, have this day given, granted, bargained, sold and possession 
delivered unto Asa Morgan, of the county of Howard, and territory afore- 
said, all the right, title, claim, and interest, and property that I, the said 
Joseph Marie have or may possess or am in any legally and equitably 
entitled to in a certain settlement right on the north side of the Missouri 
River, in the aforesaid county of Howard, near a certain place known and 
called by the name of Eagle's Nest, and lying about one mile, a little west 
of south from Kincaid's Fort, in the said county of Howard, which said 
settlement was made by me sometime in the year 1800, for and in con- 
sideration of value by me received, the receipt whereof, is hereby acknowl- 
edged, and him the said Asa Morgan forever discharged and acquitted. 
And I do by these presents, sell, transfer, convoy and quit-claim to the 
aforesaid Asa Morgan all the claims and interest which I might be entitled 



68 HISTORY OF COOPER COUNTY 

to either in law or equity from the aforesaid improvement of settlement 
right, together with all and singular, all the appurtenances to the same 
belonging, or in any wise appertaining to have and to hold free from me, 
or any person claiming by or through me. 

In testimony whereof, I have hereunto set my hand and seal, the 13th 
day of April, 1816. 

(Seal, JOSEPH MARIE. 

Signed, sealed and delivered in presence of Urh. I. Devore, A. Wilson. 

Second Deed Recorded. — The second deed we also give because of its 
peculiar phraseology and terms. It will be noted that the word "arpent" 
is used instead of "acre." An arpent is practically five-sixths of an acre. 

"To all to whom these presence shall come greeting; — Know ye that 
we, Risdon H. Price, and Mary, his wife, both of the town and county of 
St. Louis, and territory of Missouri, for and in consideration of the sum 
of four thousand eight hundred dollars, lawful money of the United States 
to us in hand before the delivery of the presents well and fully paid by 
Elias Rector of the same place, the receipt whereof is hereby acknowledged 
and thereto, we do hereby acquit and discharge the said Elias Rector, 
his heirs and assigns forever. Have given bargained, granted, and sold, 
and do hereby give, grant, bargain and sell unto the said Elias Rector, 
his heirs and assigns forever, subject to the conditions hereinafter ex- 
pressed, one certain tract and parcel of land, containing one thousand six 
hundred arpens, situate in the county of Howard, in the territory of 
Missouri, granted originally by the late Lieutenant-Governor Charles De- 
hault Delassus, to one Ira Nash, on the 18th day of January, 1800, sur- 
veyed on the 26th day of January, 1804, and certified on the 15th day of 
February, of the same year, the reference being had to the record of said 
claim in the office of the recorder of land titles for the territory of Mis- 
souri, for the concession and the boundaries thereof as set forth in or 
upon the said certificate or plat of survey thereof will more fully, cer- 
tainly, and at large appear, and which said survey is hereto annexed and 
makes part and parcel of this deed, and being the same tract of land 
which the said Risdon H. Price claims as assigned of the sheriff of the 
county of St. Charles, who sold the same as property of said Ira Nash, 
as by deed thereof dated the 15th day of October, 1815. reference thereto 
being had will more fully and at large appear. 

To have the said granted and bargained premises with the appur- 
tenances and privileges thereon, and thereunto belonging unto him, the 



HISTORY OF COOPER COUNTY 69 

said Elias Rector, his heirs and assigns forever. And it is hereby declared 
to be the agreement, understanding and intention of the parties afore- 
said, that should the said tract of land be finally rejected by the United 
States within three years from this date, or should the same not be sanc- 
tioned and confirmed by the government of the United States at or before 
the period last mentioned, or in case the said Elias R. Rector, his heirs, 
executors, administrators, or assigns, shall by due process and judgment 
at law, be evicted, dispossessed, and finally deprived of said tract of land, 
then and in that case, the said Risdon H. Price, his heirs, executors, or 
administrator, shall only pay or cause to be paid to the said Elias Rector, 
his heirs, executors, administrators or assigns, the said sum of four thou- 
sand eight hundred dollars, lawful money of the United States, with the 
lawful interest thereon, at the rate of six percentum per annum, from 
the date of this deed, until the time of such rejection, not being sanc- 
tioned as aforesaid, or until such eviction as aforesaid, with the legal 
cost upon such suit or suits at law, and which shall be in full of all dam- 
ages under any covenants in this deal, and if such claim be rejected as 
aforesaid or not confirmed as aforesaid, or in case the said Elias Rector, 
his heirs, executors or assigns, shall be evicted therefrom as aforesaid, 
that then, and either of these cases, the said Elias Rector, his heirs, 
executors, or assigns, shall by proper deed of release and quit-claim, 
transfer to said Risdon H. Price, his heirs, executors, administrators and 
assigns, the claim of said Elias Rector, his heirs, executors, and assigns, 
said premises at tte time of receiving the said consideration money, 
interest, and costs tforesaid. 

In witness whereof, we have hereto set our hands and seals, this 22nd 

day of June, 1816 

Risdon H. Price (SEAL) 

Mary G. Price (SEAL) 

Elias Rector (SEAL) 

Signed, sealed and delivered in presence of Jerh. Connor, M. P. 
Laduc." 



CHAPTER IV. 



PIONEER LIFE 



FIRST DWELLINGS— IHE HOMINY-BLOCK — SPI&IT OF HELPFULNESS— EARLY 
FARMING IMPLEMENTS— PIONEER WOMEN— EARLY PIOXEER DESCRIBED, 
HIS HABITS. HOME, BEE-HUNTING. 

In the preceding chapter, the history of the Central Boonslick coun- 
try has been traced from the year 1804 to 1812, with special reference to 
its initial beginning between the years 1810 and 1812. The settlers 
mentioned by name in that chapter, who blazet! the way through the 
wilderness for us and advancing civilization, have kuilded wiser than they 
knew. They were experienced pioneers with hearts of gold. With ruddy 
health and hardy sinews, they coped with and conquered the wilds. They 
despised the coddling ease of luxury and the wintiy winds, sleets and 
snows, had no terrors for them. They determined the time by the 
shadows, and guided their paths at night by the stars. They knew the 
approaching storm. Tho oky was to them an open look. Schooled in 
ffrwAi-cran and learned in Indian lore, they tracked thtir game and fol- 
lowed the trail of the savage. They read the story of the broken twig 
and fallen leaves. Their vision was piercing, and their hearing acute. 
Accountered with rifle, hunting knife and axe, they cont?sted with the 
forest, and wrested from it food, shelter, and raiment. 

Their first care was to protect themselves from the basts of Feb- 
ruary, the month in which they arrived. The first shelter they erected 
was a cross between a hoop cabin and an Indian bark hut. Soon after, 
however, the men assembled for the real cabin raising. The forest fur- 
nished the timber, and from it the strong arm of the pioneer with his 
axe, fashioned logs. The earth supplied the clay. None of these first 
cabins is now in existence, but the following is a fair description: 

First Dwellings.— "These cabins were of round logs, notched together 



HISTORY OF COOPER COUNTY 71 

at the corners, ribbed with poles, and covered with boards split from a 
tree. A puncheon floor was then laid down, a hole cut in the end and a 
stick chimney run up. A clapboard door was made, a window was opened 
by cutting out a hole in the side or end two feet square, and finished 
without glass or transparency. The house was then "chinked" or 
"daubed" with mud, and the cabin was ready to go into. The household 
and kitchen furniture was adjusted, and life on the frontier was begun 
in earnest. 

"The one-legged bedstead, now a piece of furniture of the past, was 
made by cutting a stick the proper length, boring holes at one end one 
and a half inches in diameter, at right angles, and the same sized holes 
corresponding with those in the logs of the cabin the length and breadth 
for the bed, in which were inserted poles. 

"Upon these poles the boards were laid, or linn-bark was interwoven 
consecutively from pole to pole. Upon this primitive structure the bed 
was laid. The convenience of a cook-stove was not thought of, but in- 
stead, the cooking was done by the faithful housewife in pots, kettles 
and skillets, on and about the big fire-place, and very frequently over 
and around, too, the distended pedal extremities of the legal sovereign 
of the household, while the latter was indulging in the luxuries of a cob- 
pipe, and discussing the probable results of a deer hunt on the Missouri 
River or some of its small tributaries." 

"The acquisition of glass windows was impossible for these first 
settlers. When white paper could be secured, it was greased and used 
for window panes, through which the light could come. The doors were 
fastened with old-fashioned wooden latches, and the latch-string always 
hung out for friends and neighbors. These humble domociles sheltered 
happy hearts, while palaces, with all their splendor and riches many 
times have been but the resting place of misery. 

"True it is, that Home is not four square walls, 

Though with pictures hung and gilded, 
Home is where affection calls, 
Around the hearth that love hath builded." 

The Hominy-Block. — Those pioneers were home builders, the very 
foundation of a nation, the true root of patriotism and love of country. 
They appreciated the frufEs of their own industry, and manufactured or 
made most of their own utensils. The home-made hominy-block is doubt- 



72 HISTORY OF COOPER COUNTY 

less not within the memory of our oldest citizens. This they made some- 
thing in this manner: 

A tree of suitable size, say from 18 inches to two feet in diameter, 
was selected in th eforest and felled to the ground. If a cross-cut saw 
happened to be convenient, the tree was butted, that is, the kerf end 
was sawed off so that it would stand firmly, when ready for use. If 
there was no cross-cut saws in the neighborhood, strong arms and short 
axes were ready to do the work. Then the proper length, from four to 
five feet, was measured off, and sawed or cut square. When this was 
done, the block was raised on end, and the work of cutting out a hollow 
in one of the ends was commenced. This was generally done by a com- 
mon chopping axe. Sometimes a smaller one was used. When the cavity 
was judged to be large enough, a fire was built in it, and carefully watched 
until the ragged edges were burned away. When completed, it somewhat 
resembled a druggist's mortar. Then a pestle or something to crush the 
corn was necessary. This was usually made from a suitable sized piece 
of timber, with an iron wedge attached, the large end down. This com- 
pleted the apparatus. The block was ready for use. Sometimes one 
hominy-block accommodated an entire neighborhood. It was a means of 
staying the hunger of many months. 

Spirit of Helpfulness Among Pioneers. — A person not many years 
ago in contrasting the social and moral status of his latter years with 
those of his early pioneer days, said, "Then if a house was to be raised, 
every man turned out, often the women too, while the men piled up the 
logs, and fashioned the primitive dwelling-place, the women prepared the 
dinner. Sometimes it was cooked over big fires near the site where the 
cabin was built. In other cases it was prepared at the nearest cabin, and 
at the proper hour was carried to where the men were at work. If one 
man in the neighborhood killed a beef, a pig, or a deer, every other 
family in the neighborhood was sure to receive a piece. We were all on 
an equality. Aristocratic feelings were unknown, and would not have 
been tolerated. What one had, we all had, and that was the happiest 
period of our lives. But today, if you lean against a neighbor's shade 
tree, he will charge you for it. If you are poor and palsied, you may lie 
and suffer unnoticed and almost unattended, and will probably go to the 
poorhouse, while just as likely as not, the man who reports you to the 
authorities as a subject of county care, charges the county for making 
the report." 

Thus our early settlers, burdened with what we deem today, untold 



HISTORY OF COOPER COUNTY 73 

hardships and deep privations, looked back, in the latter days of their 
lives, to the good old days; and even in our own generation, we may find 
many, who decry the great progress of the present and long for other 
clays. It is ever thus, and ever will be. Even the reader, should he 
search his memory, will recall as a pleasing recollection some trial or 
danger or experience through which he has successfully passed and even 
our failures are not necessarily unpleasant to recall. 

Much has been written regarding the log house of the early pioneer. 
It furnished an inexpensive and convenient shelter, and around it clus- 
ter many pleasant recollections that are even yet dear to those of us 
who had the good fortune to have been reared within its sacred portals. 
Unpretentious, uniform in size and architecture, the log house of the 
early pioneer was the greatest democratizing agent of the early day. !•&> 
social lines could be drawn based on the grandeur of dwelling places, and 
consequently each and every one was valued at their true worth, de- 
termined solely by their every day life and character. The era of the 
log house is a space of time as distinct from others in its peculiar cus- 
toms as is the Paleozoic or the Stone Age. There is a song which ends, 
after trailing through innumerable verses reciting the trials of the log 
house bachelor, which runs as follows: 

"Oh, the hinges are of leather, and the windows have no glass 

And the board roof lets the howling blizzard in, 
And I hear the hungry coyote as he sneaks up through the grass 
Near my little old log cabin on the hill." 

Early Farming Implements. — The farming implements of the pioneers 
were crude affairs, adapted, however, to the conditions that surrounded 
them and to their circumstances. The bull-plough, the mould-board of 
which was generally of wood, was adapted to the fields abounding in 
stumps and roots. Occasionally the mould-board was part iron, and; 
possessor of such a bull-plough was looked upon as real progressive. 

Other implements and utensils were of like character. When the 
clothes the settlers brought with them began to wear out, the wild nettle 
furnished them a substitute material. This, by process of drying and 
stripping, they would weave into a cloth, sufficient for their needs until 
the coming of the wintry blast. Then the furs of the wild animals were 
requisitioned with which the pioneers braved the snows and sleets in 
the coldest weather. 

The prairies were not often settled until after the first pioneer 



74 HISTORY OF COOPER COUNTY 

period, therefore the forests of the timbered lands in small tracts were 
cleared, leaving the fields prolific in stumps and roots. Hence the cradle 
and the bull-plough were well suited to the cultivation thereof. 

The Pioneer Women. — Of the women, we adopt largely the words of 
Solomon: "The heart of her husband did safely trust her. She did him 
good all the days of her life. She rose while it was yet night and gave 
meat to her household. She girded her loins with strength and strength- 
ened her arms. She laid her hands to the spindle and her hands held 
the distaff. She knew little of fashion plates, yet fashioned her raiment 
from the material at hand to meet the approbation of those she cher- 
ished. She was nature's child. The sun kissed her cheeks and painted 
thereon the bloom of health. She filled her lungs with the pure and 
fragrant air, and reveled in the beauties of nature. Hearty, healthy, 
happy, she met with unflinching fortitude the perils of her situation, and 
complained not of privations. Strength and honor were her clothing, and 
she rejoiced in the time to come. She looked well to the ways of her 
household, and ate not the bread of idleness. She gave of the fruit of 
her hands, and let her own works praise her in the gates. She was 
indeed the helpmate of the pioneer, his help in time of need, his solace 
and his comfort. Resolutely and cheerfully she bore her burdens, and 
laughter was in her heart. We do not think the picture is overdrawn. 

Early Pioneer Described. — The male pioneer and head of the family 
fias been described by one who sojourned in the Boonslick country for 
several years as follows: "You find that he has vices and barbarism 
peculiar to his situation. His manners are rough. He wears, it may be, 
a long beard. He has quantities of bear or deer skin wrought into his 
household establishment, his furniture and his dress. He carries a knife, 
or a dirk in his bosom, and when in the woods has a rifle on his back 
and a pack of dogs are among his chief means of support and profit. Re- 
member that all his first days here were spent in dread of savages. Re- 
member that he still encounters them, still meets bears and panthers. 
Enter his door and tell him you are benighted, and wish the shelter of 
his cabin for the night. The welcome is, indeed, seemingly ungracious: 
T reckon you can stay,' or T suppose we must let you stay.' But this 
apparent ungraciousness is the harbinger of every kindness that he can 
bestow, and every comfort that his cabin affords. Good coffee, corn 
bread and butter, venison, pork, wild and tame fowls, are set before you. 
His wife timid, silent, reserved, but constantly attentive to your comfort 
does not sit at the table with you, but like the wives of the patriarchs, 



HISTORY OF COOPER COUNTY 75 

stands and attends you. You are shown the best bed that the house can 
afford. When his kind of hospitality has been extended to you as long 
as you choose to stay, and when you depart and speak about your bill, 
you are most commonly told, with some slight mark of resentment, that 
they do not keep a tavern. Even the flaxen-haired urchins will run away 
from your money." 

Along about the year 1823, a gentleman of culture and refinement, 
Gottfried Duden, of Germany, came to the United States, and finally 
located in Montogomery County, Missouri. He wrote many interesting 
letters to Germany, describing the country, and recounting his experi- 
ence. These letters were finally printed in book form, known as "Gott- 
fried Duden's Report, 1824-1827." This book was circulated extensively 
in Germany, and was read by thousands. It had much to do with en- 
couraging emigration from Germany to this country and is graphically 
descriptive of the period. We take excerpts from one of his letters writ- 
ten in September, 1825, which have been but recntly translated into Eng- 
lish, which describes the immigrants of this particular time, the houses 
in which they lived, and the manner of their construction. "During this 
season of the year, there arrive daily numbers of immigrants from Ken- 
tucky, Ohio, Virginia, Pennsylvania, etc. If these people had to travel 
in European manner, their desire for emigration would soon vanish. 
However, all that is done differently here. 

"A large wagon (and if the needs of the family require it, several) 
are loaded with the household goods, which are stored away in such a 
manner that a part of the covered space of the wagon is reserved for 
the travelers. In addition to the household goods, tents and provisions 
such as smoked pork, beans, peas, rice, flour, cheese and fruit are taken 
along, and, for at least the first few weeks, bread for the passengers and 
maize for the work horses. Thus the migration is begun. Sometimes the 
owner rides with his wife and children in a separate wagon, sometimes in 
a coach, or he may ride on horseback. If he owns male slaves, one of 
these acts as driver, otherwise he himself or some other member of his 
family attends to this. On the entire journey, which may extend over 
1,200 miles they never think of stopping at an inn. At noon, while the 
horses are being fed, the operations of the kitchen also begin. The 
vicinity of a spring or a brook is usually selected as a stopping place, and 
the travelers sit in the shade or in the sun, just as the weather conditions 
may invite. A fire is quickly made and the operations of preparing a 
meal proceed just as they would at home. In the evening more attention 



76 HISTORY OF COOPER COUNTY 

is paid to the selection of a camping place. If there is need of cooking 
utensils or of victuals, halt is made near a farm house. Tents are pitched, 
especially when the weather is rainy. Some of the party busy themselves 
with the animals, for if the journey is not too great, cattle are taken 
along too, others are busy with the kitchen, and finally the night's lodg- 
ing is prepared. Wherever the wagon-train stops the people obligingly 
grant whatever is asked for. Household utensils are loaned, provisions 
are sold cheaply, and to the horses and cattle pastures are assigned, 
unless the owner should prefer to leave them in the open. The latter plan 
rarely offers any difficulties. Usually it is only necessaxw to put a bell 
on the leader of the herd and to hobble his feet so as to make walking 
somewhat difficult. The animals are tired and hungry and will not easily 
leave a good pasture, moreover, a well trained dog would soon find their 
tracks. Nevertheless there are instances where such animals have taken 
advantage of a moment of freedom to run back to their old home. No 
distance and no stream can hold them back, and straight on, even through 
great forests, they know how to find their old homestead. In my neigh- 
borhood are two oxen which have come back 100 miles and have swum 
through the Missouri to get home. A horse came back from Franklin, a 
distance of 120 miles. Horses are not as ready as cattle to swim through 
great streams. For this reason ownerless horses are always to be found 
on the point where the Missouri and the Mississippi join. These horses 
have run away from the plantations on the upper course of the river and 
are trying to get back to their old homes in Kentucky, Ohio, Virginia, etc. 

"As soon as the migrating family has arrived at the site of he new 
homestead, they stop near the spot where the buildings are to be erected, 
and build an enclosure for the temporary protection of the household 
goods and tents, which are now pitched for a longer time. The enclosure 
is necessary to keep the cattle of other settlements away. In this in- 
closure the young calves are also kept, in order to cause the cows, which 
graze out in the open to come home regularly. These cows supply the 
family with milk and cream without requiring the least attention or 
care. For the house a site near a good spring or brook is preferably 
selected. Over the spring a small house is at once constx-ucted, in order 
to prevent the pollution of the water, and to afford a place to keep milk, 
butter and meat cool. 

"The next concern is the building of a dwelling house, which is done 
in a manner already described by me in an earlier letter. The timbers 
are not hewn, however, for at first only a barn-like structure is intended. 



HISTORY OF COOPER COUNTY 77 

for a temporary shelter. For the negroes a similar building is erected, 
then a barn and a small building to serve as a smoke-house. The trees 
are felled near the building site, to which they are dragged by horses or 
oxen. The raising of the house is done with the aid of the neighbors, if 
the hands of the family are not sufficient for this purpose. Buildings 01 
this nature, however, do not require more than four or five workmen. 
Boards are cut for the doors and the floors. For the latter trees are 
sometimes split in two, for which purpose the ash and hackberry trees 
(celtis crassifolia) are especially suited. The hearth together with the 
chimney are made, in the simplest manner possible, of wood, which is 
lined with stones on the lower, inner side and daubed with mud in the 
upper portion. When the chimney is half a foot higher than the gable 
of the house, the smoke will not bother in the least. Danger of fire de- 
pends entirely upon the condition of the rock lining and the clay coating. 

"He who despises such a. dwelling does not know the nature of the 
local climate. I have been in many such dwelling, where cleanliness and 
good furniture afforded an extremely pleasing effect. Many families de- 
sire no other house, although they live in easy circumstances, indeed in 
affluence. What I have to criticise about these houses is the fact that 
they usually have no cellar, so that in the summer time the humus earth 
under the rough floor gives out a mouldy odor, which, though it is rarely 
offensive, nevertheless is manifestly not conductive to good health. A 
floor constructed by a carpenter removes this inconvenience completely. 
He who does not wish to go to this expense can attain practically the 
same end by first removing the humus entirely from the building site, or 
by burning wood of the clearing on the spot and thus baking the ground. 

"When the work of building is ended, which required hardly more 
than two or three weeks, the family already feels much at home, and then 
the clearing of farm land is begun. Usually they begin by fencing in a 
selected tract, in order to use it as a temporary pasture for the horses 
and oxen which must be kept in the vicinity for work." 

The hunting of bee trees by the settlers was both pleasant and profit- 
able, and bee hunters were common. 

In a letter written in June, 1826, Duden describes bee hunting in 
these words: 

"When I, according to my custom, wandered through the woods yes- 
terday, I found two bee-hunters. The mode of procedure of these people, 
which is so new to the European, had been described to me long ago, but 
this time I was to learn to know it from a practical standpoint. You 



78 HISTORY OF COOPER COUNTY 

must know, first of all, that in the woods of Missouri also there are many 
wild bees which have their hives in hollow trees. If the method of find- 
ing these trees is well understood, a great deal of honey and wax can 
be gathered in a short time. It is generally said that America originally 
had no bees, and that the wild bees are the descendants of swarms brought 
from Europe to the eastern coast. Be that as it may, the Indians under- 
stand the bee-hunt even better than the whites. The two bee-hunters of 
yesterday were white men and live in Missouri. They proceeded as fol- 
lows: On the ridge of a hill between two valleys, they chose their first 
stand. On a place, free from trees, they built a small fire and laid some 
honeycomb on it, so that the wax melted, without being consumed by the 
fire. In this manner a pronounced scent of honey was distributed, which 
in a short time attracted all sorts of flying insects and also a few bees. 
Now it was the duty of the hunters to watch the bait fixedly, in order 
to be able to follow the bees with their eyes, when they took flight. By 
and by three of them took flight, and all of them flew in the same direc- 
tion, which direction was carefully noted, knowing that a laden bee flies 
straight to its swarm. One of the hunters thereupon took a burning coal 
and walked about two hundred paces away on the same ridge, leaving his 
companion at the first stand. 

He proceeded in the same manner as before, and anew distributed 
a strong scent of honey. Here, too, the bees soon came. Some of them 
went off in exactly the opposite directions. The hunter noted both and 
called out to his companion to follow the first indicated direction. He 
found himself started in the direction which was practically the one 
which his companion took. I accompanied him. We had hardly gone 
three hundred paces through the woods when we met the other hunter. 
Now they looked about for a while, and in a dry oak, about fifty feet 
above the ground, we saw a small opening, where bees swarmed in and 
out. The cleverness of these two natural mathematicians surprised me, 
and I felt more pleasure in the discovery of the tree than they them- 
selves. Since the hunters surmised that, because of the earliness of the 
season, not much honey had been gathered, the hive was not robbed. The 
bee-hunters designated their find by blazing the tree, which is universally 
regarded as the inviolable right of possession, and then proceeded in pur- 
suit of the third direction noted above." 

In concluding this letter, Duden tells about having seen a negro boy 
who robbed such a bee tree with the intention of selling the honey, a 
practice which owners of slaves generally permitted. 



CHAPTER V. 



TRANSPORTATION AND HIGHWAYS 



EARLY RIVER TRANSPORTATION— COUREUR DE BOIS— PIONEER ROADS AND 
TRAVEL— FIRST FERRIES— FIRST STEAMBOATS— ARRIVAL AT FRANKLIN- 
ARRIVAL OF SECOND STEAMBOAT— DESCRIPTION— GREATEST ERA— PRIMI- 
TIVE BOATS— GROWTH— COST— WRECKING— SANTA FE TRAIL — BOONSVILLE 
ACTIVE MART— USE OF OXEN— FIRST RAILROADS— REBUILDING OF BRIDGES 
—ROAD IMPROVEMENT. 

Advanced transportation and good highways are indices of a people, 
certain . evidences of their culture, progressiveness and prosperity. As 
are these so are the people. Good transportation, advanced civilization; 
or advanced civilization, good transportation; either way one follows the 
other as certainly as the night the day, or the day the night. 

Transportation has been, is, and will be a process of evolution. Could 
we turn back the scroll of time and witness the primitive methods of the 
early pioneer, great would be our astonishment; could we project our- 
selves into the future one hundred years, and observe the method of 
transportation then, doubtless it would be beyond our comprehension. 

Early River Transportation. — When our first settlers arrived at the 
Missouri River, the routes of commerce and travel were largely the water 
courses. For this reason the settlements made were on the banks of the 
Mississippi and the Missouri. At this time there was neither steamboat 
nor railroad. The pirogue, the canoe, the bateau, the mackinaw, the bull- 
boat and the keelboat were the means of all river transportation. The 
pirogue was a small type of canoe. The canoe was the most commonly 
used, and was the simplest of all river crafts. It was usually made from 
a cottonwood log, hollowed out, and was usually from 15 to 18 feet long, 
and was generally manned by three men, one to steer and two to paddle. 
It was used chiefly for local use, though occasionally employed for long 



80 HISTORY OF COOPER COUNTY 

trips. The mackinaw was a flat boat, pointed at both ends, and was of 
varying lengths, from 40 to 50 feet. Its crew usually consisted of five 
men, one steersman and four oarsmen. The bullboat was usually used 
on shallow streams because of its light draft. It was constructed of 
buffalo bull hide sewed together, and stretched over a frame of poles, 
and required two men to handle it. The keel boat was the aristocratic 
craft, and the largest, from 60 to 70 feet long, with the keel running 
from bow to stern and the latest improvements in river transportation 
prior to the steamboat. It was capable of carrying a larger cargo than 
any of the others mentioned. It was usually propelled by means of a 
cordelle. The cordelle was a line practically 1,000 feet long, one 
end of which was fastened to the top of the 30 foot mast in the center 
of the boat, well braced from this mast the rope extended to the shore. 
At the shore end of the line, some twenty or thirty men walking along 
the river bank, would pull the boat up stream. Cordelling was never 
used except in breasting the current of the stream. It was more or less 
difficult, and in some places it was absolutely impossible by reason of the 
cliffs on the river bank. At such points poles were used. Sails were also 
used very effectively at times in this manner of transportation. Not- 
withstanding the difficulty with which this type of boat was propelled, it 
was employed prior to the invention of the steamboat more extensively 
than any other kind for long distance voyages up stream. In fact it 
continued to be used along with the steamboat for many years after 
the appearance of the latter. 

Coureur de Bois. — An average day's voyage for the keel boat was 
from twelve to fifteen miles. It was the means of transportation used 
by the coureur des bois. It is claimed that as early as 1700, there were 
not less than one hundred coureur de bois, or trappers, domiciled among 
the tribes along the Missouri River. The coureur de bois was a French 
Canadian, sometimes a half-breed, and in his habits were blended the 
innocent simplicity of the fun-loving Frenchman and the wild traits and 
woodcraft of the Indian. Born in the woods, he was accustomed from 
childhood to the hardships and exposures of the wild life of the wilder- 
ness, and was a skillful hunter and trapper. 

His free and easy manners, peaceful disposition, and vivacity quali- 
fied him for associating with the Indians, whose customs he adopted, and 
often marrying into the tribe, himself became a savage. It was the 
ceureur de bois as he wandered up and down the Missouri River who gave 



o 

< 

H 

w 

r 
> 
•z 




HISTORY OF COOPER COUNTY 81 

the poetical and musical French names to its tributaries and prominent 
localities which they bear to this day, as follows: Bonne Femme, good 
woman; Lamine, the mine; Pmeem de terre, apple of the earth, the po- 
tato ; Moreau, very black ; Niangue, crooked ; Gasconade, turbulent ; Aux 
Vase, very muddy; Creve Couer, broken heart; Cote sans Dessein, hill 
without a cause; Petit sas Prairie, little cradle of the prairie; Marias des 
Cygnes, river of swans; Roche Percee, pierced rock; Petit Saline, little salt. 

The history of the Missouri for more than two hundred years is the 
history of the country through which it flows. On its muddy waters the 
Indians paddled their canoes for centuries before the advent of the white 
man. Then came the French voyageur and his pirogue, canoe, bateau, 
his mackinaw and his keel boat, without which the fur trade, the principal 
commerce in the early day, could not have attained its great proportions. 

Pioneer Roads and Travel. — In 1815, the tide of immigration, which 
had been halted by the War of 1812, began with increasing force to flow 
steadily to the Boonslick country. The settlers brought with them wagons, 
horses and mules, and by degrees they began to mark out roads and to 
cut their ways through the forest. Oxen were also used for transporta- 
tion, and continued to be so used for many years thereafter. 

The prairie presented few obstacles to travel, but to penetrate a 
primevial forest was an entirely different matter, and necessitated a wise 
selection of a route else arduous labor in felling trees and fording streams. 

No public roads were laid out in what is now Cooper County until 
1819. No work was done upon the roads nor were they thought of for 
a number of years thereafter. The first petition for a public road in 
Cooper County was presented by B. W. Levens. It asked for the location 
of a road leading from Boonville to the mouth of the Moniteau Creek. 
The second petition, for the location of a public road was by Anderson 
Reavis, presented on the same day. The road petitioned for ran from the 
mouth of the Grand Moniteau to the Boonville and Potosi road. Cooper 
County was then organized as a county. The stream of immigration then 
to the south side of the river was great. Travel was greatly increased 
and highways needed. 

However, prior to this, when what is now Cooper County was a part 

of Howard County, which was organized July 8, 1816, the first court held 

in Howard County was on the south side of the river in what is now 

Cooper County, at Cole's Fort, at which time the first road laid out by 

(6) 



82 HISTORY OF COOPER COUNTY 

authority of the court in what is now Cooper County, was the route from 
Cole's Fort on the Missouri River, to intersect the road from Potosi in 
Washington County at the Osage River. 

First Ferries. — Also at this same term of court and on the same day 
Hannah Cole was granted a license to conduct a ferry on the Missouri 
between Boonville and Franklin. This was the first licensed ferry in 
what had been known as the Boonslick country, although, for some time 
prior thereto, the Cole boys had operated one on this part of the Mis- 
souri. At the same term of the court, Stephen Turley was granted the 
right to keep a ferry across the Lamine River. B. W. Levens, Ward, and 
Potter, and George W. Cary were also granted a license to keep a ferry 
across the Missouri at the present site of Overton. However, for some 
years prior to this, a ferry had been operated across the Missouri River 
from Boonville to Franklin. The rates charged at the Levens ferry were 
as follows: For man and horse, fifty cents; for either separately, twenty- 
five cents ; for four horses and four wheeled wagon, two dollars ; for two 
horses and four wheeled carriage, one dollar; for horned cattle, four 
cents each, and for polled cattle, two cents each. 

First Steamboats. — Coincident with the opening of the first roads 
in Cooper County by the Cooper County Court, was the arrival at Franklin 
of the steamboat Independence, the marvel of marvels, and what seemed 
to our first settlers the acme of the evolution of transportation. Prior 
to this, however, and leading up to the navigation of the Missouri River, 
coincident with the first Anglo-American settlement on the Missouri in 
1807 was the first successful application of steam as a motive power, the 
trip of the North River steamboat up the Hudson from New York to 
Albany; and again, coincident with the first Anglo-American settlements 
in what are now Howard and Cooper counties in 1810, was Fulton's and 
Livingston's proposition to the legislature of Upper Louisiana, of which 
St. Louis was the seat of government, to operate steamboats on the 
Mississippi and Ohio. The proposition, however, was not acted upon. It 
seemed a visionary dream. It was not until seven years afterward, in 
1817, that the first steamboat, the Zebulon M. Pike, landed at St. Louis. 
Its hull was built like a barge. It had but one smokestack, its engine was 
of low pressure, and when the current was swift, the crew used poles to 
furnish additional power. The trip from Louisville to St. Louis took six 
weeks. 

Arrival of First Steamboat at Franklin. — The trip of the Indepen- 
dence from St. Louis to Franklin and return deserves more than ordinary 



HISTORY OF COOPER COUNTY 83 

mention. The Independence left St. Louis May 15, 1819, and reached 
Franklin opposite Boonville on May 29th. Captain John Nelson had charge 
of the steamboat. Among the passengers were Col. Elias Rector, Stephen 
Rector, Captain Desha, J. C. Mitchell, Dr. Stuart, J. Wanton, and Major 
J. D. Wilcox. 

The settlers on both sides of the river were wild with excitement 
and elation on the arrival of the boat at Franklin. A public meeting was 
held at which Asa Morgan who with Charles Lucas, laid out Boonville, on 
the first day of August, 1817, was chosen president and Dr. N. Hutchin- 
son vice-president. The "Franklin Intelligencer," May 28, 1819, speak- 
ing of that event says : 

"On Friday last, the 28th ult., the citizens of Franklin, with the most 
lively emotions of pleasure, witnessed the arrival of this beautiful boat, 
owned and commanded by Captain Nelson, of Louisville. Her approach 
to the landing was greeted by a Federal salute, accompanied with the 
acclamations of an admiring crowd, who had assembled on the bank of 
the river for the purpose of viewing this most novel and interesting 
sight. We may truly regard this event as highly important, not only to 
the commercial but agricultural interests of the country. The practica- 
bility of steamboat navigation, being clearly demonstrated by experi- 
ment, we shall be brought nearer to the Atlantic, West India and Euro- 
pean markets, and the abundant resources of our fertile and extensive 
region will be quickly developed. This interesting section of country, so 
highly favored by nature, will at no distant period, with the aid of science 
and enterprise assume a dignified station amongst the great agricultural 
states of the west. 

"The enterprise of Capt. Nelson cannot be too highly appreciated by 
the citizens of Missouri. He is the first individual who has attempted 
the navigation of the Missouri by steam power, a river that has hitherto 
borne the character of being very difficult to and imminently dangerous in 
its navigation, but we are happy to state that his progress thus far has 
not been impeded by any accident. Among the passengers were Colonel 
Elias Rector, Mr. Stephen Rector, Capt. Desha, J. C. Mitchell, Esq., Dr. 
Stuart, Mr. J. Wanton, Maj. J. D. Wilcox. 

"The 'day after the arrival of the Independence, Capt. Nelson and 
the passengers partook of a dinner, given by the citizens of Franklin, in 
honor of the occasion.." 

The trip of the Independence from St. .Louis to Franklin was the 
beginning of a stupendous river traffic upon the Missouri, and was the 



84 HISTORY OF COOPER COUNTY 

chief factor in the development of Boonville and Cooper County. How- 
ever, prior to 1831, only an occasional steamer ventured up the dangerous 
Missouri. The steamboat arrivals ascending the river at Boonville, in 
1831, were only five. 

Arrival of Second Steamboat. — The second steamboat to arrive at 
Franklin was the "Western Engineer," a small boat constructed for scien- 
tific purposes. It carried an expedition projected by the United States 
to ascertain whether the Missouri River was navigable by steamboat 
and to establish a line of forts from its mouth to the Yellow Stone. The 
vessel reached St. Louis, June 9, 1819, and proceeding on the voyage, 
arrived at Franklin June 13, of the same year. Its progress up the river 
excited the greatest fear among the Indians, many of whom flocked the 
river banks to see it, while others fled in fear to the forest or prairie, 
thinking it an evil spirit, a very devil with horned head, and breath of 
fire and steam. The St. Louis "Inquirer" of June 16, 1819, gives this 
description of it: "The bow of the vessel exhibits the form of a huge 
serpent, black and scaly, rising out of the water from under the boat, his 
head as high as the deck, darted forward, his mouth open, vomiting • 
smoke, and apparently carrying the boat on his back. From under the 
boat, at its stern issues a stream of foaming water, dashing violently 
along. All the machinery is hid. Three small brass field pieces, mounted 
on wheels, stand on the deck; the boat is ascending the rapid stream at 
the rate of three miles an hour. Neither wind, nor human hands are 
seen to help her; and to the eye of ignorance the illusion is complete, 
that a monster of the deep carries her on his back smoking with fatigue, 
and lashing the waves with violent exertion." 

Description of Early Steamboat. — Captain Joseph Brown, in a paper 
before the Missouri Historical Society, wrote what he had seen and known, 
as boy and man, of the primitive steamboat: 

"They had but one engine, and no 'doctor' or donkey engine. The 
boats themselves, and particularly those for the upper rivers, were small, 
sometimes made like a flat boat, with broad bow and stern, and a stern 
wheel. There was nothing above the boiler house deck but the pilot 
house and chimneys, or rather one chimney, for they had cylinder boilers ; 
that is, there were no flues in the boilers. Having but one engine, the 
shaft ran entirely across the boat, and when at a landing the engine bad 
to run the pump to supply the boilers with water, the wheels had to be 
uncoupled to let the engine work. As I said before, the donkey engine 



HISTORY OF COOPER COUNTY 85 

had not been invented, and I do not doubt but that many explosions oc- 
curred for the lack of it. 

"The cabin was a very primitive affair. It was on the lower deck, 
back of the shaft, in the after part of the boat. There were no state- 
rooms then, but, like a canal boat, there were curtains in front of th"e 
berths. It was quite common to see a bowsprit sticking out in front of 
the boat, such as are seen on ships, but, being useless, they were soon 
dispensed with. Stages had not been invented then. Two or three planks 
were used, if need be, tied together. Whistles were unknown, but bells 
were rung, and the captains were very proud of the big bell. For a num- 
ber of years there was no signal for meeting or passing boats, which 
resulted in many collisions. 

"There were no packets then. A boat started for Pittsburg was just 
as likely to go to St. Paul as anywhere, or up any of the other rivers, 
and they had no regular or even days of starting. I have known boats 
to have steam up for a week, telling people and shippers the boat was 
going in an hour, and even have their planks all taken in, all but one, 
and then launch out their planks again. All this was done to decoy 
people on board. The clanging of bells, the hurrah of agents and the 
pulling and hauling of cabmen and runners were most confusing, more 
particularly to unsophisticated emigrants. There was no fixed price for 
anything ; it was all a matter of bargaining, and very often deception was 
practiced. The engines being small and very imperfect in those days, 
the boats were very slow. I have known some boats in the case of a 
sudden rise in the river and consequently strong current, to be unable to 
stem it at the old waterworks point, which was at the foot of Carr Street. 
They would have to go over to the other side of the river and fight it 
out there, sometimes for hours, in sight of the city. * * * 

"In 1849, when the gold fever was at its height, there were fifty- 
eight fine steamers plying regularly on the Missouri River; on the Upper 
Mississippi, about seventy-five ; on the Illinois, twenty-eight fine steamers ; 
to New Orleans, about one hundred ; on the Ohio, about one hundred and 
fifty ; on the Tennessee, about fifteen. Owing to the rush of immigration 
at that time, boats could not be built fast enough. It was said of a cer- 
tain boat-yard at Freedom, Pennsylvania, that they kept a lot of straight 
bodies of boats put up. When a man wanted a boat, they took him down 
to the yard and asked him how long he wanted her; then just put two 
ends onto a body and he had a boat. But a really fast and fine boat cost 



86 HISTORY OF COOPER COUNTY v 

about $100,000 to $150,000 and took about eight months to build. The 
average life of a boat was about five years. After that they were com- 
pelled either to build a more modern boat, or raise and rebuild the one 
that had sunk or blown up. Need I tell you that in one bend of the river 
there lie the wrecks of one hundred ^nd three steamboats, between St. 
Louis and Cairo?" 

Greatest Era of Steamboating. — Steamboating reached its highest 
prosperity in the year 1858. There were then not less than sixty packets 
on the river, besides probably 30 or 40 transient boats called tramps, 
which came on the river from other streams and made one or two trips 
during the season. The packets carried the United States mail, express, 
freight, papers, both semi-weekly and daily, and their arrival was looked 
forward to along the Missouri River with a great deal of interest and 
people flocked to the wharves at the time of their arrival. 

So numerous were the boats on .the lower river during this period, 
that it was no unusual sight to see as many as five or six lying at the 
landing at the same time ; and during the boating season, which continued 
from March to November, at no time was a boat out of sight. These 
were prosperous days for the river towns. 

During this banner year of prosperity for steamboating on the Mis- 
souri River, some of the finest and most popular boats were : Kate Howard, 
John D. Perry, David Tatum, Clara, Platte Valley, Asa Wilgus, Alonzo, 
Child, F. X. Aubrey, Admiral D. S. Carter, Emigrant, E. A. Ogden, Em- 
pire, State, Isabella, James H. Lucas, Meteor, Minnehaha, Polar Star, 
Peerless, Spread, Eagle. War Eagle, Southwestern, C. W. Sombart, Twi- 
light, Thomas E. Tutt, White Cloud and Edinburgh. Those which came 
later were the R. W. Dugan, D. H. Dui-fee, Phil E. Chapel, Montana, Da- 
kota, A. L. Mason, State of Missouri and State of Kansas. These boats 
were built for some special trade. Some ran as late as 1888. when steam- 
boat navigation on the Missouri ceased. 

The Missouri is one of the most difficult streams in the world to 
navigate because of its shifting channel, its swift current and its many 
bends which with the innumerable snags therein were a continual menace 
to life in the days of the steamboat, and no pilot approaches one, espe- 
cially at night, without trepidation and fear. 

Primitive Boats, Canoes, Etc. — The pirogue, as used by the early 
French fur-trader, was really a double pirogue, or a double canoe, built 
in the shape of a flat-iron, with a sharp bow and a square stern. Two 
canoes, or pirogues, were securely fastened together a short distance 



HISTORY OF COOPER COUNTY 87 

apart, the floor being formed by boards, or puncheons, laid across. On 
the floor was placed the cargo, which was protected from the weather by 
hides. The boat was propelled upstream by oars or line, steered by an 
oarsman, who stood on the stern. A square sail was also resorted to 
going upstream, when the wind was in the right quarter, and a distance 
of from ten to fifteen miles could be made under favorable conditions. 

Such boats were usually from 30 to 40 feet long, and from six to 
eight feet beam, and being light, were good carriers. They were much 
safer than the canoe, because of their width they could not be easily upset. 

The bateau, used by the French trader, was a flat bottomed, clumsily 
constructed boat, especially adapted to transporting a cargo of fur down- 
stream, and did not differ materially from the flat bottomed boat. It 
was usually from 50 to 75 feet long, and 10 to 12 feet deep. Gunwales 
were hewn from cotton logs, and the bottom was spiked into cross beams 
running lengthwise of the boat. The bow and stern were square with a 
sufficient slant toward the bottom to make easier the progress of the 
boat through the water. The oars, the pole, the line and the sail were 
the appliances relied upon for motive power in ascending the stream, but 
in going down the boat was allowed to float with the current, being kept 
in the channel by the steersman. The flat-boats, when they reached 
their destination going downstream, were usually sold for lumber. 

Growth of Steamboating. — In the year 1836, on the 30th day of 
September, the arrivals at the same port had amounted to more than 70. 
The population along the Missouri River had increased so rapidly along 
about 1840, that there was demand for additional transportation facili- 
ties. This brought about the building of a better class of boats. They 
had full length cabins, double engines with a battery of boilers in place 
of the single engine. Great improvements were also made in the hulls, 
and they were so constructed as to have the same carrying capacity as 
before but to draw much less water. 

The same genius that had invented the steamboat was continually 
making improvements, both in the machinery and the hull, so as to add 
to the speed of the boat and also increase her carrying capacity. There 
were 26 steamboats engaged regularly in the lower river trade during 
the year 1842. They were generally from 140 to 160 feet long, about 30 
feet beam and six foot hold, and were a much better class of boats than 
those formerly built. They had side wheels and the cabins were full 
length. 

We have been unable to secure information concerning the arrivals 



88 HISTORY OF COOPER COUNTY 

and the departures of boats from Boonville during that year, but at Glas- 
cow there were 312. 

The years between 1850 and 1860 are popularly termed by some as 
the "Golden Era" in steamboat navigation on the Missouri River, but 
Capt. .A. J. Spahr thinks the period from 1866 to 1868, inclusive, to be 
the most prosperous. The improvements which had been made both in 
the machinery and in the construction of the hull, the adaptation of the 
state-room cabin, and the systematizing of the business all tend to lessen 
the danger of navigation and to increase the profits. 

The advance made in navigation on the Missouri River had kept 
pace with the march of commerce in other parts of the world. Phil E. 
Chappel says in a "History of the Missouri River:" 

"The first navigator on the Missouri River was the little blue-winged 
teal ; the next the Indian, with his canoe ; then came the half -civilized 
French voyageur, with his pirogue, paddling up stream or cordelling 
around the swift points. At a later day came the fur-trader with his 
keel-boat; still later there came up from below the little "dingey" — the 
single engine, one-boiler steamboat, which has been described. At last 
the evolution was complete, and there came the magnificent passenger 
steamer of the '50's, the floating palace of the palmy days of steamboat- 
ing, combining in her construction every improvement that experience 
had suggested or the ingenuity of man had devised to increase the speed 
or add to the safety and comfort of the passenger. 

"The fully equipped passenger steamer, in the heyday of steamboat- 
ing on the Missouri River, was a magnificent specimen of marine archi- 
tecture. She was generally about 250 feet long, 40 feet beam, and had 
a full-length cabin, capable of accommodating from 300 to 400 people. 
The texas, occupied solely by the officers, was on the hurricane roof. In 
addition to her passenger accommodation, she had a freight capacity 
of 500 to 700 tons. She was well proportioned, symmetrical, trim, fast 
and sat on the water like a thing of life. Her two tall smoke-stacks, 
with ornamental tops, between which was usually suspended some gilt 
letter or device, added much to her beauty. The pilot, on top of the 
texas, was highly ornamentel with glass windows on every side; a fence 
railing of scroll work surrounded the guards of the boiler deck and texas. 
The entire boat except the smoke-stack, was painted a dazzling white. 

"The cabin of the boat, a long, narrow saloon, was a marvel of beauty 
in its snow white splendor. The floors of the cabin were covered with 
the softest of Brussels carpets, and the state-rooms were supplied with 



HISTORY OF COOPER COUNTY 89 

every convenience. Indeed, the bridal chambers were perfect gems of 
elegance and luxury. The table was elegantly furnished, and the menu 
unsurpassed by that of any first-class hotel. Each boat had, in the ladies' 
cabin, a piano, and generally a brass band, and always a string band 
was carried. After the table was cleared away at night a dance was 
always in order, the old Virginia reel being the favorite dance. The social 
feature of a trip on one of these elegant boats was most charming." 

Costs of Steamboats. — The estimated cost of one of the boats above 
described, during the period between 1850 and 1860 was from $50,000 to 
$75,000. The captains received about $200 per month, clerks $150, mates 
$125, engineers about the same as mates. These wages included board, 
and were based on the size of the boat, labor and danger as well as the 
profits of the business. The pilot, however, received princely wages, 
sometimes as much as $1,600 per month. He was the autocrat of the 
boat, and absolutely controlled her navigation. It was for him to deter- 
mine when the boat should run or "lay by." 

However, piloting on the Missouri River was a science, demanding 
of the pilot great skill and a wonderful memory of localities. The river 
channel, its bends, cliffs, bars and obstructions were visualized in his 
mind as well in the darkest night and densest fog as if seen on the clear- 
est day. The weal or woe of the floating palace, with its rich cargo of 
merchandise and human freight, depended upon his skill and ever alert 
vigilance. 

Locally Owned Steamboats. — Capt. A. J. Spahr, known in the pros- 
perous river days as "Bud" Spahr, was one of the leading pilots on the 
Missouri. It is his opinion that the most prosperous period in steam- 
boating on the Missouri were the years 1866, '67 and '68. He tells of a 
certain pilot on the Missouri who entered into a contract to pilot at $1,600 
per month for eight months, "work or play." Also that Capt. C. H. 
Brewster of Boonville, who was clerk on the "Cora," a boat of about 
5,000 tons, on his return from St. Louis to Fort Benton, turned over to 
the owner of the "Cora," Capt. Joe Kinney, the sum of $45,000 — profits 
of the trip. 

From Captain Spahr, we gather the following information: Capt. 
Joe Kinney, who lived on the opposite side of the river from Boonville, 
was the owner of the following boats at different times: Kate Kinney, a 
side wheeler and a fine boat ; Kate Kinney, stern wheel ; St. Lake, Bacon, 
Fannie Ogden, Cora, stern wheel ; Cora, side wheel ; R. W. Dugan and 
Alice, and a large interest in the W. H. H. Russell, Twilight and Omaha. 



90 HISTORY OF COOPER COUNTY 

Among those of our local citizens engaged and interested largely in 
steamboating were: Capt. Joe Kinney, as above stated; Capt. Henry 
McPherson, owner of, or largely interested in, the Jennie Lewis ; J. L. 
Stephens, Cavier, Lieut. Girard D. Allen, Captain St. John; Capt. Dave 
Kaiser, Wm. Linge, pilot; "Bud" Spahr, pilot; Geo. Homan, pilot; Jesse 
Homan, pilot; "Billy" Young, pilot; Capt. C. H. Brewster, C. W. Sombarts 
(owner of C. W. Sombart) , and Capt. D. DeHaven, captain of South West- 
ern owned by a company of Boonville citizens. There were doubtless 
others but we have been able to get information concerning only the 
foregoing. 

Wrecking of Steamboats. — Space will not permit us in this chapter 
to give the names of the boats wrecked and destroyed on the Mississippi, 
nor to give an account of any of these unfortunate events. Suffice it to 
say that the list of lost boats contains the names of over 300. Of those 
names, 193 were sunk by coming in contact with snags, 25 by fire, and 
the remainder by explosions, rocks, bridges, storms and ice. 

As most of the boats ran in the lower Missouri, more than three- 
fourths of the number were wrecked between Kansas City and the mouth 
of the river. It has been stated on authority that there are buried in 
the lower bends of the river the wrecks of more than 200 steamboats, 
covered with the accumulated sands of more than a half century. 

Santa Fe Trail, William Becknell Founder. — Next in importance to 
the magnificent steamboat traffic which so directly added to the growth 
and prosperity of Cooper County, was that of the Santa Fe trail. The 
first concerted organized effort to reach and open up trade and commerce 
with Santa Fe. New Mexico, was inaugurated by William Becknell, who 
lived on the north side of the Missouri, not far from Boonville. 

Becknell published an advertisement in the Franklin "Intelligencer" 
"to enlist a company destined to Santa Fe for the purpose of trading for 
horses and mules, catching wild animals of every description that might 
be for the advantage of the company." It was emphasized that all men 
joining the expedition were to bind themselves by oath to submit to such 
orders and rules as the company when assembled might adopt. The num- 
ber of men sought to be enlisted in this expedition was limited to 70, and 
applications were to be received up to Aug. 4, 1822. These applicants 
were directed to meet at the home of Ezekiel Williams, known as the 
"lost trapper," on the Missouri River, five miles above Franklin, to secure 
a pilot and appoint officers. At this meeting, however, only 11 men 
assembled, and Becknell was chosen captain. It was then determined 



HISTORY OF COOPER COUNTY 91 

that 30 men would be the number sufficient to undertake the expedition, 
and that the company as organized should cross the Missouri River at 
Arrow Rock on September the first. 

The expedition was highly successful, and the men returned in Jan- 
uary, 1822. William Becknell became the founder of the phenomenal 
Santa Fe Trail, of which Franklin, for a number of years, was the thriv- 
ing center. But, alas, for more than 80 years the treacherous waters of 
the Missouri have eddied the shifting sands of the treacherous stream 
and have covered the places where the restless, indomitable and adven- 
turous early settlers met and jostled, traded and trafficked, fitted and 
equipped the caravans for the great trade of the wilderness; and who on 
their return from successful trips, boasted of exploits and adventures, 
and displayed the evidences of their prosperity and wealth. 

Boonville Becomes Active Mart. — A few years after 1826, the year 
in which the waters of the turbulent Missouri commenced encroaching 
upon the beautiful city of Franklin, Boonville assumed its dominant posi- 
tion on the Santa Fe trail. Steamboats began to land in increasing num- 
bers along the river front, especially at the foot of what is now Main 
street, and there continued for years a wonderful activity. 

The hum of activity; the loud and strident voices of mates, frequently 
punctured with oaths as they drove the stevedores to greater activity ; 
the monotonous songs of the negroes chanting the river melodies, as they 
strove, heaved and perspired; the long line of prairie schooners with 
teams of patient, plodding oxen loading for the great trail of the wilder- 
ness ; the flare of the torches at night reflected in the waters ; and the 
indescribable grace of the steamboat as she gently pressed the wharf 
and lowered her gang-plank and the hurly-burly; the passengers crowd- 
ing the rail eagerly gazing on the shore scene, or with sparkling eyes 
ready to pass the gang-plank; all are now but sweet memories of halcyon 
days, .obscured by the sands of more than half a century. 

Use of Oxen. — Experience demonstrated along about 1821 that oxen 
were better adapted to the Santa Fe trail than mules, and from this time 
on the oxen were more generally used than the mules. 

When oxen were used, the day was divided usually into two drives 
of six or eight miles each day. As soon as early dawn approached, the 
first drive started and its termination was in a measure decided by the 
most favorable camping place where grass and water were to be found 
in plenty. About midday the wagons were corraled and the cattle were 
given food. In very hot weather the afternoon drive was not ordered 



92 HISTORY OF COOPER COUNTY 

until about three or four o'clock in the afternoon. On such days the 
drive continued until nine or ten o'clock at night. When the oxen were 
unyoked, they were turned over to the night herder, who kept watcn 
over them as they moved about seeking the best grass. As it was only 
necessary for the herder to keep track of the leader of the herd, one 
man could easily watch over as many as 300 or 400 head of oxen at night. 
In the herd on the trail, there developed, very soon after the start on 
the trail, one animal which all the others recognized as a leader. Wher- 
ever the leader of the herd went, the rest of the herd followed. The night 
herder always kept track of the leader, and frequently got off his mule, 
drove a peg in the ground to which he attached a long rope, that allowed 
the mule some range, rolled himself up in his blanket and went to sleep. 
Moreover, when the grass was scarce, the leader would wander about the 
plains, and all the herd would follow, thus requiring the night herder to 
follow and keep awake. 

If the grass was plentiful the herd would often obtain a sufficient 
supply in three or four hours, and would then lie down until morning. 
At the first appearance of dawn, the night herder rounded up the oxen, 
and started for the corral. When in close proximity, he would shout 
"Roll out, roll out, roll out." This was the signal for the men to prepare 
breakfast and be ready to yoke up. When all was ready, each teamster 
answered, "All set." Then came the order, "Fall in." The second order, 
"Stretch out." Then with creaking yokes and rattling wheels, the train 
moved on with the dignified pace of oxen. 

First Railroads. — The building of railroads in Missouri, commenced 
in 1859; this year marked the completion of the Hannibal & St. Joseph 
railroad, the first railway extending to the Missouri river. This sounded 
the death knell of steamboat traffic on the Missouri, and by the same 
token, there passed into the dimly remembered past, the trials and thrills 
of the Santa Fe trail. 

The first rail of the first railroad built in the United States was laid 
on July 4, 1828, by Charles Carroll, who was at the time the only surviv- 
ing signer of the Declaration of Independence. 

For a year or two, cars and coaches were drawn by horses, but after 
that the locomotive engine was introduced. Fifteen miles of this road 
had been completed by 1830. Other railroads had been planned, and in 
a few years were under construction, so that by 1850, a little more than 
9,000 miles of railroad had been built in the United States. 

Notwithstanding this progress in railroad building throughout the 



HISTORY OF COOPER COUNTY 93 

country, not one mile was constructed in Missouri until 1851. However, 
a peculiar i*oad was started in 1849 or 1850, which extended to a point on 
the Missouri opposite Lexington, was operated by horse power, and its 
rails and cross ties were built entirely of timber. Missouri was fortunate 
in having great natural highways of Commerce in the Mississippi and Mis- 
souri rivers and their tributaries. The steamboats then coming into gen- 
eral use made these natural highways all the more important and profit- 
able to Missouri by establishing connections not only with the outside 
world, but also between different parts of the state. Along the Mississippi 
and Missouri and their tributaries were thriving and prosperous towns, 
and these seemed well satisfied with the conditions, as they then existed. 
Eastern capitalists either were not able to take up railroad building in 
Missouri, or did not consider it to their advantage to do so. However, 
agitation for railroad building began as early as 1836. A railroad con- 
vention was held on April 30, of that year, at St. Louis. Delegates to the 
number of 59, representing 11 different counties, including Cooper, 
assembled at St. Louis at this time, and passed various resolutions in 
which the advantages of railroads were set forth. 

It seems to us at this day, rather strange that they recommended two 
lines of railroads running out of St. Louis, one to Fayette, by way of St. 
Charles, Warrenton, Fulton and Columbia, for the purpose of opening up 
an agricultural region, the other to the valley of Bellvue in Washington 
County, with a branch to the Merrimac Iron Works in Crawford County, 
for the purpose of developing the mineral region. 

Congress was also petitioned by this convention to grant 500,000 
acres of public lands to encourage these enterprises, and it was 
also urged that the state of Missouri place its credit at the disposal of 
the companies that would undertake to build these roads. 

Governor Boggs, in the fall of the same year, in his message to the 
Legislature, strongly urged a general system of railroad construction. 
Doubtless, inspired by this convention of railroad delegates,, and the 
recommendation of the governor, the Legislature proceeded to incorporate, 
during the months of Jan. and Feb., 1836, at least 18 railroad com- 
panies whose aggregate capital stock amounted to about $7,875,000. 

The early thirties were a period of general speculation throughout the 
United States, and the Missouri Legislature in granting franchises to rail- 
road companies so freely and generously, was only following the example 
of many other states. However, little progress was made, in railroad 
building by these companies, due doubtless, in a large part, to a panic in 



94 HISTORY OF COOPER COUNTY 

1837, and for 10 years thereafter, failing to do so, the public lost interest 
in railroad enterprises. The 500,000 acres of land granted by Congress 
to assist in internal improvements in Missouri, were divided among the 
various counties of the state, to be used in the construction of roads. 

It was not until 1850 that the people again became interested in rail- 
road building. At this time the population of the state had increased to 
682,044. This increase in population was not confined to the older settled 
portions of the state, that is along the Missouri and Mississippi Rivers, 
but also in the more inland sections. The country had recovered from 
the panic of 1837, and the spirit of enterprise was aroused throughout the 
country. St. Louis became roused. In 1850, her population was 80,081, 
and she was the leading manufacturing center in the Mississippi valley, 
but Chicago was rapidly gaining upon her. 

Missouri was being roused. Governor King proposed to the legis- 
lature in his message in 1850, that the state should lend its credit to the 
railroad companies by issuing bonds, and lending them the money realized 
from the sale of these bonds. The companies were to pay an annual 
interest at the rate of six per cent, and to pay off the principal in 20 years. 

On Feb. 22, 1851, a law was passed by the Legislature, granting aid 
to two railroad companies, the Hannibal & St. Joseph, and the Pacific. 
The first was granted $1,500,000, and the latter $2,000,000. The Hannibal 
& St. Joseph, which had been incorporated in 1846 was to build a road 
which would connect Hannibal, on the Mississippi, with St. Joseph, on the 
Missouri. The Pacific, which had been incorporated between 1847 and 
1851, was to construct a road which would run from St. Louis to Jefferson 
City, and from thence to the western boundary of the state. 

We shall follow the history of railroad building no further in the state 
of Missouri, save only where it directly affects Cooper county. 

It was in the building of the Missouri Pacific railway, that Boonville, 
and Cooper county, in all probability, lost her great opportunity. Boon- 
ville had the advantage of water transportation, and was the most im- 
portant and most popular town or city in this section of the state, and 
some of its business men, though farsighted and prosperous, thought that 
any railroad coming west from St. Louis through a region of country sur- 
rounding Boonville, or within 20 or 30 miles of its proposed route, would 
naturally deflect from its course, and take in Boonville. Efforts to secure 
the road was not characterized by that activity and enthusiasm usually 
manifested by men who were attempting to avail themselves of an enter- 
prise, the success of which would greatly and grandly enure for the 



HISTORY OF COOPER COUNTY 95 

benefit of their town, and the speedy building up of its material interest, 
as well as the interest of the county. 

The golden prize (the Missouri Pacific), with all its promised for the 
future, was really to be given to the Vine-clad city, upon certain condi- 
tions but, through the lukewarmness, indifference and tardiness of those 
who believed the Missouri Pacific road would come to Boonville whether 
solicited or not, it was bestowed upon another and far less pretentious 
raval and claimant. Had they acted upon the advice of the poet, who 
said: 

"Shun delays, they breed remorse," 

they would have taken the instant "by the forward top", and would have 
had no cause for repentance and regret. 

The citizens of Boonville had a meeting and instructed Dr. Wm. H. 
Trigg, one of their most wealthy and prominent business men, to go to 
St. Louis and confer with Mr. Allen, who was at the time manager of 
the Missouri Pacific railroad. The doctor waited upon Mr. Allen at his 
office in St. Louis, and had an extended interview with him in reference 
to bringing the road by way of Boonville. Nothing definite, however, was 
arrived at or agreed upon. 

The road was chartered Feb. 21, 1857, to run from a point between 
Jefferson City and Round Hill, in the direction of Topeka, Kansas. The 
first meetings of the company took place before the war. In 1860, the 
charter was amended, so as to permit the construction of the road north 
to Boonville. The county of Cooper then subscribed $150,000 in bonds to 
the road. During the war the road bed was graded, and after the close 
of the war the county subscribed the additional sum of $100,000 in bonds. 
The road was finally completed through Cooper County in the spring of 
1869. 

The road was commenced in 1870. Cooper County subscribed $100,- 
000 toward its construction through the county ; Boonville township, 
$100,000; Pilot Grove township, $40,000; and Clear Creek township, 
$30,000. The road was completed in 1873. 

Previous to 1870, a railroad bridge had been talked of by such prom- 
inent citizens of Boonville as Captain Jo L. Stephens, H. Bunce, J. L. 
O'Bryan, and others of Cooper County, Colonels Elliott and Estill, of 
Howard County, and Messrs. Marvin and Barrett, of Sedalia but no steps 
were taken to secure the building of the same until the months of October 
and November of that year. During these months a preliminary survey 
was made by General Wm. Sooy Smith, which fully demonstrated the 



96 HISTORY OF COOPER COUNTY 

practicability of constructing a bridge at moderate cost. The work, how- 
ever, did not begin in earnest until the road bed and franchise belonging 
to the Tebo and Neosho railroad passed into the hands of the Missouri, 
Kansas and Texas railroad company. That powerful corporation infused 
new life into the enterprise and determined to push the work to rapid 
completion. A charter was obtained, and an act of Congress passed 
authorizing the construction of the bridge. A proposal was made by the 
American Bridge Company, and accepted by the Boonville Bridge Com- 
pany for the building of the bridge. Men and machinery made their 
appearance about the middle of Sept., 1872. During the fall and winter 
following, cribs and caissons for the foundations were framed, the abut- 
ments built, quarries opened, and machinery and materials got in a gen- 
eral state of readiness for the spring and summer work. The bridge was 
completed about Jan., 1874. 

Rebuilding of Bridges — Road Improvement. — In Sept., 1905, the local 
rains were so heavy that all the streams within Cooper County were swollen 
beyond precedent. They overflowed the banks and covered much of the 
adjoining land in many places. Most of the bridges of the county were 
washed away or wrecked. Iron structures of which the county felt proud 
were but straws in the way of the surging waters in what were in ordinary 
times small streams. This was an unfortunate occurrence and seemed 
to be a severe blow to the county. A difficult problem faced the county 
court. There was nothing like sufficient money in the treasury nor funds 
to be anticipated to rebuild and reconstruct these bridges necessary to the 
traffic of the county. Necessity is truly the mother of invention, and the 
county court was compelled to pursue an ingenius course. All were 
clamoring for bridges in their respective localities. Being unable to meet 
the demands the county court informed those petitioning for bridges that 
as soon as the money was available the court would at once build the 
bridges but that it was impossible to construct all that were needed at 
once. In determining what bridge or bridges would be first constructed 
they informed the petitioners in the immediate locality of the bridges that 
they would construct first the bridge in the locality where the greatest 
subscription was raised and sent the court for such purpose. This at 
first met with some opposition, but the people realizing the wisdom of the 
court's action and that those in the immediate locality of the particular 
bridge would be benefited more than those further removed, they re- 
sponded to the court's suggestion and soon thereafter the action of bridge 
building across the streams of Cooper County began. Much sooner than 
had been hoped by the most optimistic. Every bridge in Cooper County 



HISTORY OF COOPEE COUNTY 97 

was restored. This also was the beginning of an aroused interest in bet- 
ter roads and a few years after bridges were constructed the court adopted 
a policy with reference to cutting down hills and establishing better grades 
for roads, in other words, it offered to the people for the purpose of reduc- 
ing the grade of any road as much from the county treasury as the local 
people would subscribe. This action on the part of the court met the 
hearty approval of the people and many bad grades throughout the county 
were greatly improved. About this time was also established and marked 
out the Santa Fe trail from Boonville through Cooper County to the 
Cooper County line on the road to Arrow Rock. This entire stretch of 
road was graded in the best and most approved manner. Drag districts 
were established. This highway was kept in the best condition for travel. 
Many tourists passing over it from other states pronounces it to be the 
best dirt road in our country. In different portions of the county the 
people then began to form special road districts and adopted the extensive 
use of drags. The automobile made its appearance among the farmers 
and every owner of an automobile became a "good roads" booster. It will 
be remembered that upon the first appearance of the automobile in our 
county the farmers were antagonistic to its use and so bitter and unrea- 
sonable was the opposition on the part of some that various and numerous 
obstructions were placed in the roads to make hazardous and impede the 
use of this, then, new mode of travel. However, it is now the farmer 
who owns the automobile. It is, to him, a necessity, as it in a measure 
eliminates space and time. There is at this time a strong sentiment and 
agitation for hard surface roads. In 1918 the Boonville special road dis- 
trict voted bonds to the extent of $100,000 which together with a like 
amount that will be received from the government, to-wit, another $100,- 
000 will go far to further improve our roads. 

No prophet of the present day, however great his vision, can foretell 
the transportation and mode of travel of the future. Even now man prac- 
tically dominates the air and, in speed and distance of flight, puts to shame 
its feathered inhabitants. It was but the other day that Captain John 
Alcock and Lieutenant A. W. Brown, in a bombing areoplane crossed the 
Atlantic from New Foundland to Ireland, a distance of l.TJOO miles in 16 
hours and 12 minutes. Our government is at the present time arranging 
for a flight around the world and mail routes by aeroplane are being estab- 
lished. 

Less than half a century back Jules Verne in his story of how the 
(7) 



98 HISTORY OF COOPER COUNTY 

imaginary Phileas Fogg had encircled the globe in 80 days, set the 
world to talking and marveling about the accelerated speed of life, yet less 
than 20 years after or about 30 years ago Nellie Bly, a reporter for a New 
York paper, in actual travel, clipped eight days off the record of the 
marvelous trip of Phileas Fogg. In 1911 Andre Jaeger-Schmidt made 
the planetary loop in a trifle less than 40 days. Thus from 1872 when 
Verne calculated Phileas Fogg record-setting tour until 1911 only a matter 
of 39 years, mankind had come a half nearer the flying heels of time. 
Thus the imagination and vision of Jules Verne has been discounted by 
actual facts. What we may yet expect we would not hazzard a conjecture. 



CHAPTER VI. 



THE WAR OF 1812 AND INDIAN TROUBLES. 



ERECTION OF FORT,S— KILLING OF SMITH— CAPTURE COURSAULT— TODD AND 
SMITH KILLED— DISCOVERY OF INDIANS— CHASED BY INDIANS— SETTLERS 
TAKE UP TRAIL— CAMPBELL KILLED— SETTLERS MOVE TO SOUTH SIDE OF 
RIVER— BRAXTON COOPER, JR., KILLED— JOSEPH STILL KILLED— KILLING 
OF WILLIAM McLEAN— ATTEMPT TO KILL AUSTIN— GREGG KILLED AND 
DOUGHTY CAPTURED— NEGRO "JOE" KILLED— COURSAULT KILLED— MURDER 
OF RAMSEY FAMILY — CAPTAIN SARSHALL COOPER MURDERED — TWO NE- 
GROES CAPTURED— RANGERS COME TO RELIEF— DODGE AND COOPER 
CONTROVERSY— LETTER TO GOVERNOR— SAMUEL McMAHON AMBUSHED— 
BUILDING OF HANNAH COLE FORT— INDIAN TREATY— ADDITIONAL INCI- 
DENTS. 

In time of profound peace, a British man-of-war of superior force, 
made a surprise attack upon the Chesapeake in the waters of the United 
States, and in consequence thereof, President Jefferson, in July, 1807, 
issud a proclamation of embargo. This caused much excitement among 
the people and fomentation among the Indians of the Northwest and on 
the borders of the territory. It naturally filled the minds of the settlers 
on the frontier with anxiety. 

The difficulties between England and the United States remaining 
unadjusted, and becoming greater with the lapse of time, war was 
declared in 1812. 

Erection of Forts. — The settlers in the Boonslick country began the 
immediate erection of forts. The largest fort of the settlement was 
Cooper's Fort, a stockade flanked by log houses erected in a bottom prairie 
near the present town of Glascow, near the Missouri River. About 150 
yards between it and the river, a common field of 250 acres was worked 



100 HISTORY OF COOPER COUNTY 

by all the inhabitants of this fort. Twenty families and a number of 
young men resided in the fort. 

McLean's Fort, afterwards called Fort Hempstead, was erected on a 
high hill near Sulphur Creek, on the bluff about one mile from the present 
town of New Franklin. Fort Kincaid was near the river, about one and 
one-half miles from the present site of Old Franklin; the first was so 
named in honor of David Kincaid. Then, there was Head's Fort, four 
miles above Rocheport on the Big Moniteau, near the old Boonslick trail 
from St. Charles, not far from what was then called the Spanish Needle 
Prairie. It was the most easterly fort of the settlement. 

These forts were on the north side of the river. On the south, the 
first fort erected was Cole's Fort, which was located in the "Old Fort 
Field", about one and one-half miles east of the present site of Boonville, 
north of the Boonville and Rocheport road. The second fort erected on 
the south side of the river, was the Hannah Cole Fort, located on a bluff 
overlooking the river, at a point of rocks, where a lime-kiln once stood. 
This last fort, however, was not erected until 1814. This place was selected 
by the settlers as the most suitable for defense, being located at the edge 
of a very steep bluff and easily defended, and also affording facilities to 
obtain a good supply of water. In order to make the supply of water 
,secure during an Indian attack, the settlers ran a long log over the edge 
of the bluff, and attached to it a rope and windlass to draw up the water. 

McMahan's Fort also was located on the south side of the river, sup- 
posed to be about five miles from Cooper's Fort, but we have been unable 
to determine its exact location. 

When Stephen Cole, assisted by his neighbors, had completed the 
erection of the first Cole fort, all the families living around, especially on 
the south side of the river, gathered at this fort for protection from the 
savages. 

The Cole fort consisted of a stockade flanked by log cabins, and here 
lived all the families south of the Missouri, during a greater part ot tne 
War of 1812. Many mouths were to be fed, and they were hearty feeders. 
Their meat consisted entirely of wild game, which they killed and secured 
from the forest, or fish caught from the river. For this purpose they 
sent out hunting parties from day to day. At this time all was not ease 
and comfort within the fort, and the white men were denied the freedom 
of the forest bv the wily savage. The hunter who sallied forth, as it was 
necessary for him to do was like Argus with his hundred eyes, and Briar- 



HISTORY OF COOPER COUNTY 101 

eus, with his hundred hands, first to watch and then to guard. When 
chased or surrounded by the Indians, figuratively speaking, he put on the 
helmet of Pluto, which made him, invisible. 

Killing of Smith. — A few months after Cole Fort was completed, 
Indians were reported in the neighborhood. The Indians consisting of a 
band of about 400, made, their appearance before the fort. At this time 
there were two hunting parties in the forest after game, in one of which 
were two men by the names of Smith and Savage, who on their return 
to the fort were espied by the Indians. Smith and Savage endeavored 
to break through the cordon of Indians surrounding the fort. They were 
pursued by the Indians, and the savages shot at them several times. In 
the first fire Smith was severely wounded, but struggling, he staggered on 
to within 50 yards of the fort, where the Indians again fired, two balls 
taking effect and felling him to the ground. Only Savage succeeded in 
attaining the fort. 

As soon as Savage saw his companion fall he ran to his assistance, 
but Smith, realizing that he was mortally wounded and that his end was 
near, handed Savage his gun and told him to flee and save himself. The 
Indians were in close pursuit, and in order to save himself, Savage was 
compelled to leave his unfortunate companion and make his escape. 
Although he was shot at perhaps 25 times, he succeeded in reaching the 
fort unhurt. The Indians scalped Smith, and barbarously mutilated his 
body, as was then their custom. They then withdrew to the adjacent 
woods and laid seige to the fort. 

The Indians, who pursued Savage in his successful endeavor to escape 
to the fort, came into full view of the settlers in the fort, and several of 
them might have been killed had the settlers deemed it wise and expedient 
to do so. 

Indeed, it is said that Samuel Cole, who was in the fort at the time, 
begged his mother to let him shoot an Indian. Samuel then was but a 
little shaver about twelve years of age. Doubtless he burned with ambi- 
tion and his little heart throbbed by reason of his eager and earnest desire 
to kill the red men, thinking not of the consequences. However his 
mother, Hannah Cole, with wisdom born of experience, forbade him to 
shoot. 

The Indians had as yet shown no disposition to fire upon the fort, and 
the inmates, there being but six men in the fort, did not wish to rouse 
their anger by killing any of them. They also hoped that before an attack 



102 HISTORY OF COOPER COUNTY 

was made by the Indians, that those settlers who were yet out hunting 
would arrive and thus augment the forces within the fort. 

They realized that against such overwhelming forces they could not 
long maintain themselves, and that their only hope was escape. During 
the following day the remaining settlers who were outside the fort evaded 
the vigilant cordon of savages, and doubtless following the route up or 
down the river reached the fort. However dire their straits, aid came 
fortuitously, or by act of Providence. On the following day a boat loaded 
with Indian goods and containing 25 kegs of powder, 400 pounds of balls, 
and a keg of whiskey, in charge of Captain Coursault and belonging to 
French traders of St. Louis, was going up the river for the purpose of 
trading these articles with the Indians. 

Capture of Coursault — Escape of Settlers. — This aroused the indigna- 
tion of the settlers, and Benjamin Cooper admonished Coursault of the 
danger and impropriety of supplying the Indians with ammunition under 
existing conditions, for with the ammunition the white settlers would be 
slain. Coursault seemed to see and appreciate the danger of this and 
promised to return down the river. It seemed to the settlers, however, 
that he agreed with reluctance, and as they were in doubt whether or not 
he would descend, they established a guard on the river. Their suspicion 
was well founded, and their caution well taken, for a day or so afterwards, 
about two o'clock in the morning, Coursault was intercepted attempting 
to go up the liver, the oars of his boat muffled. He was commanded to 
run his boat ashore, but he did not stop, and refused to obey the com- 
mand. Then Captain Cooper fired, but Captain Sarshall Cooper knocked 
the gun up, thus saving Coursault's life. Coursault, realizing that the 
settlers were in deadly earnest, brought his boat to the shore. The 
ammunition and whiskey were confiscated by the settlers and Coursault 
himself held captive for a short time.- He was finally allowed to return 
home with his goods, except the ammunition and the large keg of whiskey. 

After this, however, Coursault proved himself loyal to the Americans 
in the War of 1812. He bravely assisted in the defense of Cotesans Des- 
sein, when it was attacked by the Indians, and during the war he loyally 
aided in the defense of the country against the Indians. He was captairt 
of the Cote sans Dessein Company. In this engagement, an account of 
which is given in this chapter, Coursault lost his life. 

By reason of the capture of this boat, the settlers were enabled to 
make their escape from Fort Cole. They crossed the river in this boat to 



HISTORY OF COOPER COUNTY. 103 

Fort Kincaid or Fort Hempstead, which was located about one mile from 
the end of the great iron bridge over the Missouri River at Boonville. 
They succeeded in taking with them their families, all their stock, furni- 
ture and belongings of other nature. The fort was surrounded by savages 
on all sides, save on the river front, and yet, in the face of all this, the 
white men saved not only themselves, but all their personal property in 
the fort, as well as their live stock. 

After they had crossed the river, the Frenchmen and their leader, 
Coursault, were permitted to return down the river with their boat, with 
the strong admonition that if thev ever dared come up the river again 
with supplies for the Indians they would handle them with "short shrift". 

The ammunition captured and confiscated at this time, was sufficient 
to last the settlers for a long time. 

Previous to this, Joseph Jolly had supplied them with powder, manu- 
factured by himself from saltpeter found in a cave near Rocheport. 
Whence came the saltpeter? "If true," as Houck says in his history of 
Missouri, "it is a fact also to be noted." 

Smith was the first man killed within the present limits of Cooper 
County. All the settlers on the south side of the river had now moved 
to the north side. 

Todd and Smith Are Killed. — In the early spring of 1812 prior to the 
killing of Smith on the south side of the river, Jonathan Todd and Thomas 
Smith started down the Missouri either to pick out a piece of land on 
which to settle, or to find a stray horse, possibly both. Todd and Smith 
lived on the north side of the Missouri. They had gone as far as the 
present line between Howard and Boone Counties, when they were unex- 
pectedly attacked by the Indians. The struggle was long and hard, and 
several Indians were killed, but Todd and Smith eventually paid the forfeit 
of their hardihood with their lives. The savages, after killing them, cut 
off their heads, and literally cut out their hearts and placed them on poles 
by the side of the trail. Soon the news of the killing of Todd and Smith 
was brought to the fort, and a party of men was sent out to recover their 
bodies. After they had traveled several miles, they captured an Indian 
warrior, who seemed to be spying on their movements, and they started 
to the fort with their captive in order to secure information from him. 
On their return, when they arrived within two miles of the fort, the Indian 
prisoner suddenly broke away from them, and attempted to make his 
escape. The Indian was fleet of foot, and although the settlers pursued 



104 • HISTORY OF COOPER COUNTY 

him about one-half a mile, they found that they could not overtake him 
and capture him alive. Then with unerring aim they shot him, killing 
him instantly. 

The killing of these white settlers happened before the settlers on the 
south side had moved to the north side of the river. Immediately the 
settlers on both sides of the river organized and began to act with one 
accord. They sent out scouting expeditions in different directions to 
ascertain the lay of the ground, whether the Indians were in the neighbor- 
hood and whether they were really upon the warpath. 

Discover Indians. — James Cole and James Davis were sent out upon 
one of these scouting expeditions. After scouting around for some time, 
they were unable to discover any trace of the savages in the neighborhood, 
or to find out anything about their plans. They were preparing to return 
to the fort, when they discovered a large band of Indians in pursuit of 
them, and directly between them and the fort, in which were their fam- 
ilies and friends, unconscious of their danger. They could not withstand 
the attack of the large body of Indians in the open woods, and they knew 
that they would soon be surrounded. Their return to the fort was seem- 
ingly cut off. However, they started for what then was called Johnson's 
Factory, a trading post kept by a man named Johnson. It was situated 
on the Moniteau Creek, in what is now Moniteau County, about two hun- 
dred yards from the Missouri River. They reached the factory or trad- 
ing post that afternoon, and the Indians immediately surrounded the place. 
Cole and Davis knew, as true scouts, that it was their duty to warn their 
friends and neighbors, and that unless they received the warning they 
would easily fall prey to the savages. That the forts might be warned 
of their danger in time to prepare for the attack, which seemed certain, 
these hardy rangers and scouts determined at all hazards to escape and 
bear to them the tidings. As long as they remained at the trading post, 
they were safe from the shots of the enemy, at least for a time. To leave 
the fort, they ran the hazard of the scalping knife, and mutilated bodies. 
They resolved upon a daring method. At about midnight, with the utmost 
caution as to noise, they took up a plank from the floor of the factory, 
crawled through the floor, and with stealth and cunning reached the creek. 
Fortunately, there they found a canoe, and silently floated down to the 
river, evading the vigilance of the savages. But just as they reached the 
river, an unlucky stroke of the paddle against the side of the canoe, 
revealed them to the Indians, who at once started in pursuit in canoes. 



HISTORY OF COOPER COUNTY 105 

The Indians pursued them to what is known as Big Lick, in Cooper County, 
where being closely pressed, Cole and Davis turned, and each killed an 
Indian. The Indians then left off pursuit. The two settlers reached 
Cole's Fort in safety, and announced to the astonished settlers that they 
were indeed on the verge of a long and blood war, with Indians on the 
war path in the immediate vicinity. 

From there the tidings were conveyed to the other forts. The hearts 
of the bravest were filled with dismay. They knew that their numbers 
were few, and that to withstand the attack of the great Indian nations 
living around them would try the courage and the sagacity of the stoutest. 

However, no attack was made by the band of Indians who had pur- 
sued Cole and Davis. Doubtless because they knew that their presence 
was known in the neighborhood, and they well knew that the forts would 
be prepared and expecting to receive them. 

Chased by Indians. — Nothing being seen or heard of Indians for some 
time, in the summer of the same year, Samuel Cole, Stephen Cole and 
Muke Box started from Kincaid's Fort on a hunting expedition and crossed 
the river where Boonville now stands, penetrating the forest t6 the Petit 
Saline Creek. They hunted and fished for two days and were preparing 
to return upon the third, when they heard the sound of shooting in the 
direction of the river, where they had left their canoe. Knowing that 
there were no whites on the south side of the river, except themselves, 
they concluded that the shots were fired by Indians. However they im- 
mediately started by a circuitous route to the river, to gain possession 
of their canoe. When they arrived at the residence where once lived 
Delaney Belin, they discovered that a band of Indians was in pursuit of 
them. Not knowing the number in pursuit, but supposing them to be 
numerous, they immediately separated, and took different routes through 
the woods. They agreed to meet at the place where they had left their 
canoe. Here they met, but the Indians had stolen their canoe. As the 
Indians were still in hot pursuit of them, they hastily lashed three cotton- 
wood logs together, placed their guns, clothing, equipment, etc., upon this 
small but hastily constructed raft, and swam over the river, pushing it 
before them, and landed on the north side of the river, about two and 
one-half miles below the present city of Boonville. They reached the fort 
in safety that evening, and reported their adventure with the Indians. 
The settlers then made their preparations against any attack by the 
savages. Next morning tracks of Indians were discovered around and 



106 HISTORY OF COOPER COUNTY 

near the fort, and it was found that the fort had been reconnoitred during 
the night by a band of eight Indians. 

At this time there were very few men in Fort Kincaid. They, there- 
foi'e, sent to Cooper's and McLean's Forts for reinforcements, as they 
supposed that this band of eight was but the scouting party of a large 
number of Indians. 

Settlers Take Up Trail of Indians. — The other forts sent reinforce- 
ments to the number of forty-two, which soon arrived, and together with 
the men belonging to Kincaid's Fort, they started in pursuit of the Indians 
of whom by this time they had discovered to be but a small band. They 
found their trail, pursued them for some distance, and surrounded them 
finally in a hollow within about four miles of the present site of New 
Franklin. 

The Indians concealed themselves in the brush and thickets, and 
behind timber, not being able to see the Indians, the fire of the settlers 
at first was very much at random. The fight continued for a long time. 
However, four Indians were killed, and the remaining four, though badly 
wounded, escaped. None of the settlers were killed and only one, a man 
named Adam Woods, was severely wounded, but he afterwards recovered. 

Night came on and the pursuit was deferred. The next day the 
rangers again took up the trail of the surviving four Indians, which was 
plainly marked with blood. They followed it to the river, and there found 
the canoe, which the savages had two days before stolen from Samuel 
Cole and his companion. In this canoe the Indians had hoped to make 
their escape. The sides of the canoe were covered with blood, showing 
that the Indians had attempted to push it into the river, but on account 
of being weakened by loss of blood, could not do so. After hunting them 
for some time in vain, the party returned to the fort. 

In August a band of eight Indians was followed by a party of 25 or 
30 men from Cooper's and Kincaid's Forts. These Indians had killed 
some cattle and had stolen about 10 or 12 horses. They drove the horses 
away to the high ground not over three or four hundred yards from the 
bottom to a place about three miles from the present town of Franklin, 
where they tied the horses in the thicket. 

Captain Cooper, with 25 or 30 men, among them Lindsay Carson, the 
father of Kit Carson; David Boggs, Stephen Jackson; William Thorpe, 
afterward a Baptist preacher; and James Cole, who in 1867 gave Draper 
this version of the affair, found the horses in the thicket, and then fol- 
lowed the trail of the Indians into the hollow below. 



HISTORY OF COOPER COUNTY 107 

After going not much more than a quarter of a mile, they divided 
into three parties ; Captain Cooper, with one party, going up to the left, 
another party going direct up the hollow, and the third party up the 
eastern bank, skirting the hollow. 

After entering the mouth of the hollow, five of the men, whose feet 
had become blistered from long and hot pursuit, remained behind and sat 
down on a log, some one hundred yards above where the hollow commenced 
at the river bottom. Among them was James Barnes, whose horse had 
given out. As the three parties of whites advanced, the Indians, who as 
the event proved were in the hollow, seeing that the approaching settlers 
were too numerous for them, hid in the bushes till they passed. Then 
they ran out and came unexpectedly upon the men on the log, who when 
they saw the Indians fired on them. The Indians returned the fire and 
wounded Francis Woods through the thigh; they also wounded Barnes' 
horse. Both parties then sought the protection of the trees; this was 
about mid-day. When the three parties heard the firing they quickly re- 
turned, being but a short distance away, arrived nearly simultaneously 
and surrounded the Indians before they were aware of it. Captain Coop- 
er's party was on the high point skirting the western side of the banks, 
twenty or thirty feet above the Indians and fired down on them. The 
Indians concealed themselves in the thick fern grass which was three or 
four feet high and they would rise up and shoot, then drop down and 
reload their guns. 

Captain Cooper then oi-dered a charge and the whole party being near 
enough to hear, suddenly ran down upon the Indians. One Indian who 
had his ball about half way down his rifle was knocked down by Lindsay 
Carson, and David Boggs shot off his gun between Carson's legs, the 
muzzle close to the Indian's head, shattering his head beyond recognition. 
Just then, Lieutenant McMahan with savage ferocity ran up and plunged 
his knife into the Indian's dead body, broke off the blade and made a 
flourish of the handle. In this encounter five Indians were killed, all shot 
to pieces. 

A few days afterwards another dead Indian was found on the river 
two or three miles above the scene of Conflict. He had attempted to leave 
there, but was too feeble to do so, and had died on the bank of the river. 
Unquestionably he was one of the band Captain Cooper had encountered. 
The above account we take from Honck's History of Missouri. 

The party of whites then took possession of the horses and the Indians' 
guns and carried home Woods, who though badly wounded, recovered. 



108 HISTORY OF COOPER COUNTY 

It is not known to what tribe these Indians belonged. However, it is 
thought that they were affiliated with the Saukees and Renards, or they 
may have been, as General Dodge supposed, Miamis. 

Campbell Killed.— In July, 1812, a man by the name of Campbell, com- 
monly called by his associates, "Potter", because of his trade, was killed 
on the north side of the river, about five miles northwest of the present 
site of Boonville. He and a man named Adam McCord went from Kin- 
caid's Fort to Campbell's home to tie some flax. Savages, who were in 
ambush, concealed in some underbrush, fired upon them and shot Campbell 
through the body, but he ran about a hundred yards, climbed the fence, and 
pitched into the trunk of a tree which had blown down and there expired. 
The Indians, though they hunted for the body, did not succeed in finding it. 

Adam McCord escaped without injury, and going to the fort, reported 
the death of Campbell, and the circumstances under which he had been 
killed. 

The fact that later in 1814, Campbell's gun was found in the possession 
of the Miamis, by Colonel Cooper, when he had his altercation with General 
Dodge, on the south side of the river opposite Arrow Rock, leads us to 
believe that the savages that killed Campbell were a party of Miamis. The 
finding of Campbell's gun in the camp of the Miamis led up to the memor- 
able quarrel between Colonel Cooper and General Dodge. 

Settlers Move to South Side of River. — Not having seen any Indians 
for several months, in the spring of 1813 the settlers from the south side 
of the river who had gone to Kincaid's Fort in the previous spring, returned 
to their homes on the south side. 

The year before, no crops had been raised, and they were anxious to 
put in their crops for the coming year. In order that they might put in 
their crops with safety, and be advised of the approach of the Indians, 
they stationed a guard in each corner of the field in which they were at 
work. From this time on, even after the establishing of peace in 1815, the 
settlers were kept continually on the watch against the savages, tor every 
month or two, some small band of Indians would suddenly attack and slay 
some unsuspecting settler who had for the moment forgotten his usual 
caution, and who feeling secure from attack, because the Indians had not 
appeared for some time, suffered the severe penalty of his negligence. 

The Indians, from this time on, never marched in large bands against 
the settlements, but came in small scouting parties, with the hope of way- 
laying and shooting down some unsuspecting, unwary settler, or murder 
unprotected women and children. 



HISTORY OF COOPER COUNTY 109 

Several men of the Boonslick country were killed by the Indians during 
the two or three years following the return of the settlers from Kincaid's 
Fort to this side of the river. There may have been others of whom we 
can gain no trace, or find any record. 

Braxton Cooper, Jr., Killed. — Braxton Cooper, Jr., was killed in Sept., 
1813, two miles north of the present site of New Franklin. The Indians 
attacked him as he was cutting logs to build a house. He was a young 
man of much physical strength and courage. He was armed with rifle 
and hunting knife. The trampled condition of the ground and broken 
bushes gave certain evidence that the fight had been fast and furious. The 
howling of young Cooper's dog attracted attention from the fort, and this 
faithful friend of his master stood watchful sentinel until David Boggs 
and Jesse Turner crawled out during the night to the place. There they 
found Cooper dead, lying on his face. By his side lay his gun, and in his 
clenched right hand was his knife, bloody to the hilt: He was not scalped 
nor mutilated, positive evidence that the savages were put to flight before 
Cooper succumbed to his wounds. Not far from him was found an Indian 
buckskin shirt, with two holes in it, saturated with blood. How many of 
the Indians were killed or wounded the settlers could not determine, for the 
savages had removed all that might have given information, except the 
hunting shirt. The Indian trail was followed for a short distance, but was 
soon lost, and the settlers abandoned the pursuit as useless. 

Joseph Still Killed. — Joseph Still and Stephen Cooper, the latter a 
youth of sixteen years, both belonging to the rangers of Fort Cooper, 
were sent up the Chariton River on a scouting expedition. On their return, 
when within about twenty miles of the fort, a band of one hundred Sac 
Indians intercepted them. The course that seemed most feasible was for 
them to break through the savage band and make for the fort. So the 
two rangers with cocked rifles unswervingly rode forward toward the 
waiting enemy. When within one hundred yards of the band, both fired 
and putting spurs to their horses charged furiously upon the Indians. 
Cooper killed one Indian brave and Still wounded another, but Still on 
reaching the Indian line was shot dead from his horse. Cooper, however, 
was more fortunate, and with waving rifle and strident battle cry suc- 
ceeding in escaping the shower of bullets, arrows, and missiles aimed at 
him. He rode a fleet horse, and thus soon outdistanced his pursuers and 
reached the fort. This was in October, 1813. 

Killing of William McLean.— William McLean was killed in Oct., 1813, 
by the Indians in what is now Howard County near the present site of 



110 HISTORY OF COOPER COUNTY 

Fayette. William with Ewing McLean and four other men went to Mc- 
Lean's Fort, to pick out a piece of land, on which some one of them ex- 
pected to settle. When they arrived at a short distance southwest of the 
present site of Fayette, they were attacked by a band of about 150 Indians. 
As soon as McLean and his companions saw them, McLean retreated 
towards the fort, and just as the white men were ascending a slant lead- 
ing from a long, deep ravine, to the Moniteau Creek, the Indians fired a 
volley at them. One shot struck William McLean in the back of the head 
and he dropped dead from his horse. After satisfying themselves that he 
was dead, his remaining companions left his body, and continued their 
retreat to the fort, which they reached in safety. The Indians scalped 
McLean, cut out his heart, and literally hacked him to pieces. 

Attempt to Rill Austin. — Not long before the negro "Joe" was killed, 
a man by the name of Austin, who was stopping at McLean's Fort, while 
coming around the corner of a fence about two miles from the fort, dis- 
covered an Indian in the act of firing upon him. He suddenly reined up 
his horse and the ball passed through his horse's head. The horse fell 
upon Austin. 

One Hough and Nicolas Burckhardt, who were some distance in the 
rear, saw what had happened, and Hough shot and wounded the Indian 
as he was jumping over the fence to kill Austin. Austin soon extricated 
himself, and reached the fort; so did Hough, but Burckhardt, who ran 
into the woods, did not come in until the next morning. This man Hough 
remained temporarily in the Boonslick country. He was a hunter and 
trapper on the Upper Missouri. 

Gregg Killed and Daughter Patsy Captured. — Jesse Cox, and his son- 
in-law, William Gregg in 1814 made a settlement on the south side of the 
river above Arrow Rock. There they built a block house, a sort of family 
fort, and called it Cox's Fort. They began to make improvements, hunt- 
ing also for subsistence. Gregg and Cox killed a bear on the twenty-third 
of October, and the next day Gregg went out on his horse to get it. He 
subsequently went to feed his hogs, and while doing so, was shot by an 
Indian lying in ambush. Gregg ran to the blockhouse, a hundred yards 
off, got inside the stockade, grasped his gun, and fell dead. It is said that 
seven bullets hit the gate-post of the stockade. It is said that after the 
Indians killed Gregg, they made an attack on the cabin and captured his 
daughter Patsy, and took her away as a prisoner. A party was immedi- 
ately organized among the settlers to pursue the Indians. The girl was 
riding on horseback behind an Indian brave. One of her hands was tied 



HISTORY OF COOPER COUNTY 111 

to the Indian's hand. The horse, on account of this double load, lagged 
behind the others. She in the hope of seeing some of the settlers fol- 
lowing to rescue her, constantly looked behind. At last she discovered 
horsemen approaching, and prepared to escape, waiting until the white 
men were within 50 yards of her, when with her unbound hand, she sud- 
denly seized and extracted the Indian's knife from its sheath, and cut the 
thong which bound her hand to his. She sprang to the ground and rushed 
into the brush on the side of the trail and disappeared. The pursuing 
party then fired on the Indians, who fled precipitatly. Jesse Cox and 
William Gregg were members of Sarshall Cooper's company. 

According to another account, the Indians tomahawked their prisoner 
and fled, but she recovered. It is also said that Patsy Cox was the name 
of the young woman captured and that it was not Gregg. 

Negro "Joe" Killed. — A negro named Joe, belonging to Samuel Brown, 
was killed by the Indians near Mr. Burkhard't farm about three quarters 
of a mile from what is now Estil's Station on the M. K. & T. railroad. 

Coursault Killed. — Captain Coursault was killed in 1814 at Cote-sans 
Dessein in the attack on Roy's Fort. Cote-sans Dessein, now Bakersville, 
Callaway County, was a village of considerable importance and was located 
at the mouth of the Osage River. It is said that but for a Spanish land 
claim the capital of Missouri would doubtless have been located near this 
place. 

It was settled by French families about 1810. Several block houses 
were erected there. One was called Tebeau or Tebo's Fort and one Roy's 
Fort. These forts were about three hundred yards apart; between them 
was a log house that served as a powder magazine for both forts. 

One day Baptiste Roy went out to kill some venison, but when he had 
gone about a mile, he discovered that the Indians were hidden in the 
bushes, grass and weeds, so he immediately turned his horse and fled, and 
when nearing Tebo's Fort, he cried, "Indians, Indians." 

All the men of the fort who were armed, hastened at once to meet 
the enemy, leaving only a few old men and a half dozen unarmed and par- 
tially grown negroes in the fort. Louis Roy was at his block house which 
was some two or three rods from Roy's Fort, which was vacant at the 
time. 

When the others rushed forth to meet the Indians, Louis Roy excused 
himself by saying that he was fixing his ramrod, and kept busily at work 
scraping it. 

About a mile or two below the fort, the settlers met the Indians, and 



112 HISTORY OF COOPER COUNTY 

there the fight continued nearly all day, all fighting from behind trees. 
Finally the Indians were apparently driven away, but not before Captain 
Coursault and four or five others were killed. The number of Indians 
slain was never known. In the meantime, the Indians divided their forces 
and sent a band to attack Roy's Fort. They at once began the attack upon 
the block house in which were, at the time, Roy, his wife, Francois, and 
several other women. 
t Only two guns were to be had in the block house. These, however, 
Roy used effectively, the women keeping them loaded as fast as he fired. 
So accurate was his aim that he killed 14 Indians. The Indians 
disappeared, but warily returned, creeping up under the river bank. Sud- 
denly they emerged between the two forts and made for the log house, 
which was used as a magazine. They took dry cedar which they had 
found, split it with their knives and tomahawks, and piled it around the 
log house magazine and set fire to it. 

There were perhaps 40 or 50 Indians in this band. They were 
armed for the most part, with only bows and arrows. They yelled and 
capered with fiendish glee around the building as the fire spread. Soon, 
however, the flames reached the powder and their merriment and glee 
was changed to consternation. A tremendous explosion sent timbers and 
rafters flying into the air; Indians and parts of Indians were hurled in 
every direction; according to one account, about 20 of them, including 
those who ran and jumped into the river to soothe their anguish, were 
killed. The remainder of the party quickly disappeared. 

Murder of Ramsey Family. — The most horrible incident of this war 
was the atrocious murder of the Ramsey family. Although it happened 
on the Femme Osage in St. Charles county the news of the atrocity spread 
far and wide, and stirred the indignation and resentment of the settlers 
of the Boonslick country. 

Mrs. Ramsey having gone out to milk, was fired upon by the Indians 
and shot through the body. Her husband was a cripple, having but one 
leg. He saw his wife fall and managed to get her to the house, but as he 
reached the door, he received a wound in the thigh. At this time his 
three children were playing a short distance from his cabin. The Indians 
chased them around the house, and finally caught them and scalped them 
in the yard before the eyes of their parents. Ramsey and his wife both 
died from their wounds. 

Capt. Sarshall Cooper Murdered. — One of the saddest events of the 
war was the tragic death of Sarshall Cooper, after whom Cooper County 



a 

o 




HISTORY OF COOPER COUNTY 113 

was named. His death touched the hearts of the frontiersmen as had 
no other death in this section. He was, in fact, the beloved and acknowl- 
edged leader of the settlers north of the Missouri River. 

The night of April 14, 1814, was dark and stormy, and the watchful 
sentinel could not see an object six feet in front of the stockade. Captain 
Cooper lived in one of the angles of the fort, and one day while sitting at 
his fireside with his family, his youngest child on his lap, and the others 
playing around the room, his wife sitting by his side sewing, the storm 
raging without, a single warrior crawled up to the fort, and made a hole 
just large enough for the muzzle of his gun through the clay between the 
logs. The noise of his work was drowned by the howling storm; he dis- 
charged the gun with effect fatal to Cooper, and Sarshall Cooper fell from 
his chair to the floor, a lifeless corpse, amidst his horror-stricken family. 

Sarshall Cooper was a natural leader; he was about five feet 10 inches 
tall, of fine physique, a superior horseman, cool and deliberate. His wife 
was Ruth, a daughter of Stephen Hancock, the Boonsboro pioneer with 
Daniel Boone. 

The muster-roll of Capt. Sarshall Cooper's company, dated April, 
1812, is not without interest, and gives the names of the following officers 
and men: 

Wm. McMahan, 1st lieutenant ; David McQuilty, 2nd lieutenant ; John 
Monroe, 3rd lieutenant ; Ben Cooper, ensign ; John McMurray, 1st sergeant ; 
Sam McMahan, 2nd sergeant; Adam Woods, 3rd sergeant; David Todd, 
4th sergeant; John Mathews, 5th sergeant; Andrew Smith, corporal; 
Thomas Vaugn, corporal; James McMahan, corporal; John Busby, cor- 
poral ; James Barnes, corporal. Private Jesse Ashcraft, Jesse Cox, Sam 
Perry, Solomon Cox, Henry Ferrill, Harmon Gregg, Wm. Gregg, John Was- 
son, Josiah Higgins, David Gregg, Robert Cooper, Gray Bynums, David 
Cooper, Abbott Hancock, Wm. Thorp, Wm. Cooper, John Cooper, Jos. 
Cooper, Stephen Cooper, Wm. Read, Stehen Turley, Thos. McMahan, Jas. 
Anderson, Wm. Anderson, Stehen Jackson, John Hancock, Robert Irvin, 
Francis Cooper, Benoni Sappington, Jas. Cooley, Nathan Teague, Jas. 
Douglass, John Sneathan, Wm. Cresson, Jos. Cooley, Wm. McLane, Jas. 
Turner, Ervin McLane, Wm. Baxter, Peter Creason, David Burns, Price 
Arnold, John Smith, John Stephenson, Alfred Head, Gilliard Roop, Daniel 
Durbin, Jas. Cockyill, Jesse Tresner, Mitchell Poage, Townsend Brown, 
John Arnold, Robert Poage, Francis Berry, Lindsay Carson, David Boggs, 
Jesse Richardson, Robert Brown, John Peak, John Elliot, Jos. Beggs, 
(8) 



114 HISTORY OF COOPER COUNTY 

Andrew Carson, John Colley, Reuben Fugitt, Seibert Hubbard, John Berry, 
Wm. Brown, Francis Woods, Wm. Allen, Robert Wells, Jos. Moody, Jos. 
Alexander, Amos Barnes, Daniel Hubbard, Harris Jamison, Abraham 
Barnes, Wm. Ridgeway, Enoch Taylor, Matbew Kinkead, John Barnes, 
Henry Waedon, Otto Ashcraft, John Pursley, Wm. Monroe, Isaac Thorn- 
ton, Stephen Feils, Dan Monroe, Giles Williams, Henry Barnes, Wm. Sav- 
age, Thomas Chandler, John Jokley, Stephen Cole, Wm. Robertson, Wm. 
Bolen, Mixe Box, Sabert Scott, John Savage, Jas. Cole, Stephen Cole, Jr., 
John Ferrill, Delaney Bolen, Jas. Savage, Jos. McMahan, Braxton Cooper, 
Robert Hancock. 

Every enlisted man furnished his own equipment and an order was 
promulgated so ,that "citizen soldiers may not be ignorant of the manner 
in which the law requires him to be equipped, he is reminded that it is 
his duty to provide himself with a good musket, with bayonet and belt, 
or fusil, two spare flints and a knapsack pouch, with a box thereon to 
contain not less than 24 cartridges ; or a good rifle, knapsack, powder- 
horn and pouch, with 20 balls and one-quarter of a pound of powder." 

Two Negroes Captured — Indians Chased. — Two negroes, belonging to 
James and John Heath, while cutting wood for making salt, were captured 
by the Indians in May. A party of fully 60 men assembled and on horse- 
back pursued these Indians, in a northerly direction 50 or 60 miles far up 
the Chariton. However the Indians escaped with their prisoners. 

Rangers Come to Relief of Settlers. — So great had been the depreda- 
tions of the Indians, so inhuman the murders committed by them in their 
predatory war in the central portion of the Boonslick country that Gen. 
Henry Dodge was ordered to take command of 350 mounted rangers 
and proceed to the relief of the settlers. This -was in September, 1814. 
There were in Dodge's command companies under Capt. W. Compton of 
St. Louis, Capt. Isaac Vanbibler of Loutre Island, Captain Daugherty of 
Cape Girardeau, and a company of the Boonslick settlers under Capt. 
Benjamin Cooper. Nathaniel Cooke and Daniel M. Boone were majors. 
In this campaign, Dodge carried with him blank commissions, and it was 
at this time that he appointed Benjamin Cooper, an elder brother of 
Sarshall Cooper, a major. According to Draper's "Memoirs" there were 
with Dodge's company forty friendly Indians, but John M. Peck says 
there were 50 Delawares and Shawnees. They were under four Indian 
captains: Na-kur-me, Kisk-ka-le-wa, Pap-pi-pua, and Wa-pe-pil-le-se. The 
two latter were fully 70 years old and both had served in the early Indian 
wars. 



HISTORY OF COOPER COUNTY 115 

Dodge marched to the Boonslick country, and arrived on the north 
side of the Missouri opposite Arrow Rock, close to Coopers' fort, where 
he was joined by Captain Cooper and his company. Dodge and his men 
crossed the river to the southern bank by swimming the stream. The 
crossing was effected by selecting for the advance, six of his most active 
men, good swimmers on horseback, the others following flanked on both 
sides by canoes, and with a vanguard of canoes above and below the main 
body, stemming the swift current. About half way across, the men struck 
the current, which soon carried them to the southern bank in safety. Only 
two hours were thus consumed in crossing the river with horses and 
baggage. 

Having arrived on the south side, Dodge sent out his Indian allies as 
scouts. They soon located the hostile Mi-am-mis, and found that they 
had thrown up a small entrenchment. Dodge's men pushed forward sev- 
eral miles up the river, and surrounded the Indians at a point in what is 
now Saline County, since known as Miami's Bend. The Indians, seeing 
that the whites were in overwhelming force, proposed to the Shawnees to 
surrender themselves as prisoners of war. 

General Dodge called a council of his officers for the purpose of seek- 
ing their advice, and after explaining the whole matter to them, they all 
agreed to receive the Indians as prisoners of war, and agreed that the 
prisoners' lives should be sacredly preserved. The Coopers and other 
Boonslick officers assented. General Dodge then told all the officers that 
he would hold them personally responsible not only for their own conduct, 
but also for that of their men, particularly in their treatment of the sur- 
rendered Indians. 

Dodge understood quite well his responsibility. He was well acquainted 
with the disposition, temper and peculiarities of the western settlers. He 
knew that they had been harassed, and those near and dear to them 
slaughtered in ambush. He feared that something might occur to arouse 
their anger and stir them to reciprocal vengeance, should any untoward 
event occur, and in order to prevent a massacre, he exacted an explicit 
pledge from the officers of the several commands. 

Dodge and Cooper Controversy. — The Indians, consisting of 31 war- 
riors and 122 women and children, surrendered to him and were received 
under his protection as prisoners of war. The following morning, Cooper 
and other settlers under his command, began looking through the Indian 
camp, purposing, if possible, to find stolen property. In this search, the 
well known rifle of Campbell, whose murder, in the Boonslick region, we 



116 HISTORY OF COOPER COUNTY 

have previously referred to, was found. This discovery greatly infuriated 
Cooper and the settlers. They construed the finding of the gun evidence 
that these Miamis had perpetrated the killing of their friend and neighbor. 
They came galloping up to General Dodge and demanded the surrender 
of the Indian who had killed Campbell, their purpose being to make an 
example of him. This demand General Dodge peremptorily denied. Cooper, 
feeling outraged, threatened that his company, who surrounded him with 
cocked rifles, would kill the Indians unless his demand was acceeded to, 
and his men assumed a shooting attitude, Dodge, with commendable cool- 
ness, without even turning to the men, drew his sword, and thrusting it 
within six inches of Cooper's breast, reminded him of his pledge to protect 
the Indians on their surrender and treat them as prisoners of war. He 
then cautioned Captain Cooper that should his threat be carried out, he, 
Cooper, would be the first to feel the consequences. At this juncture, 
Major Boone rode up, and took his position at Dodge's side and announced 
that he would stand by him to the end. He also reminded Cooper of their 
pledge, and that the execution of his, Cooper's, threat would be an act of 
treachery. By this time Cooper's temper had abated, and he reluctantly 
yielded to superior authority, and with his company rode away. Cooper 
and his men took the position that Campbell had been treacherously mur- 
dered, and that the perpetrator of the deed was not entitled to the protec- 
tion afforded prisoners of war, but should be summarily dealt with as a 
murdered according to the custom of the west. 

It is said that by reason of this incident a strong attachment sprang 
up between Kish-la-lewa and Dodge, and that long afterwards at Fort 
Worth in 1835, there was an affecting recognition between the two men. 
Dodge is said to have looked upon his conduct in saving these prisoners 
as one of the happiest acts of his life. 

However, for many years, General Dodge, by reason of his magnani- 
mous conduct on this occasion, was exceedingly unpopular in the Boons- 
lick country. Dodge was afterwards governor of Wisconsin Territory, and 
twice United States senator from the state of Wisconsin. 

Cooper was a fearless man, and just, according to his standards. He 
and the settlers had been too long beyond the boundaries of civilization 
to yield readily to the reasoning of Dodge and Boone. They had been 
accustomed to rely solely upon themselves for protection and to adminis- 
ter justice according to western traditions, considering only the right and 
wrong in every instance. Their comrade and friend had been shot from 
ambush, and it was clear to their minds that these Miamias should pro- 



HISTORY OF COOPER COUNTY 117 

duce the murderers, or they should not be entitled to the privileges of 
prisoners of war. 

Letter to the Governor. — When at the outbreak of the war the gov- 
ernor of the Territory wrote Benjamin Cooper advising him and the 
settlers to move nearer to St. Louis to receive protection against the 
Indians, Cooper wrote in reply the following characteristic letter. While 
its literary merits are subject to criticism, yet it breathes in every word, 
whether correctly or incorrectly spelled, the brave spirit of the pioneer, 
and evidences a stamina and heroism of the soul superior to polite 
erudition : 

"We have maid our Hoams here & all we hav is here & it wud ruen 
us to Leave now. We be all good Americans, not a Tory or one of his 
Pups among us, & we hav 2 hundred Men and Boys that will Fight to the 
last and have 100 Wimen and Girls that will tak their places wh. Makes a 
good force. So we can Defend this Settlement wh. with Gods help we will 
do. So if we had a flew barls of Powder and 2 hundred Lead is all we ask." 

David Barton, afterwards United States senator, was a volunteer in 
Compton's company, refusing any rank, but offering General Dodge any 
service he was able to render him. 

Samuel McMahan Ambushed. — Samuel McMahan, who lived in what 
is now Lamine township in Cooper County was killed on Dec. 14, 1814, 
near Boonville. McMahan had been down to the settlement at Boonville. 
As he was returning home, he came upon a band of Indians who were lying 
in ambush for some of the settlers who were cutting clown a bee tree not 
far away. McMahan was on horseback and unsuspectedly rode into the 
midst of the Indians. The savages fired upon him, wounding him and 
killing his h6rse. He jumped when his horse fell, and though severely 
wounded, succeeded in reaching a ravine leading to the river. The savages 
soon overtook and killed him, sticking three spears into his back. They 
afterward cut off his head, and scattered his entrails over the ground. 
The Indians then scattered, and, pursuing different routes, made their way 
out of the countiy. 

The settlers, not knowing the numbers of the Indians, since roving 
bands of savages, large and small, had so frequently passed through this 
section, sent for reinforcements from the opposite side of the river, and 
on the following day sent out a party of men to secure McMahan's body, 
and get all information possible of the Indians. James Cole, the son of 
Hannah Cole, and the brother of Samuel Cole, secured the body and 
carried it before him on his horse. David McGee brought the head 



118 HISTORY OF COOPER COUNTY 

wrapped in a sheepskin. The body of McMahan was buried under the 
Linn tree, which formerly stood in the center ring at the old fairground. 
The child of David Buness who was burned to death, was also buried under 
this tree. 

Building of Hannah Cole Fort. — The next day after the killing of 
McMahan, all the settlers living near the present site of Boonville, assem- 
bled at the house of Hannah Cole which stood on the bluff in what is now- 
East Boonville. This was considered by the settlers as the most suitable 
and available place for strong defense against attacks of the Indians. All 
the men came with their teams, cut down trees, dragged logs to build 
the fort and were continuously at work until it was completed. It required 
them one week to finish the building. During the time that they were at 
work, it was necessary for them to keep men stationed around the fort 
at some distance to guard against the approach of the enemy, whom they 
expected to appear at any hour. 

As soon as the Hannah Cole Fort was completed, the old fort of 
Stephen Cole's situated on the bluff above the river, one mile above the 
new fort, was abandoned. All the families gathered into the new fort, 
so. as to be a protection one to the other. 

The treaty of peace between England and the United States was signed 
at Ghent on Dec. 24, 1814, nevertheless the Indians, emboldened by Black- 
hawk's repulse of the forces of Maj. Zachriah Taylor on Rock River al- 
though advised that peace had been declared, thought themselves able to 
cany on an independent warfare. 

Indian Treaty. — All treaties with the Indians which had been made 
regarding the cession of Indian lands prior thereto were ratified at this 
conference. It was not, however, until 1833 that every Indian claim to 
land title in the state of Missouri was eliminated. 

Major Stephen Cole was the acknowledged leader of the settlers living 
south of the Missouri River, and he survived the war. Having made every 
effort to protect his loved ones, and his neighbors, during the trying period 
of the War of 1812, when peace was declared in 1815, the love of wild 
adventure led him to become a pioneer in the trade with Santa Fe, in 
1822. He was killed by the Indians about 60 miles southwest of Sante 
Fe, on the Rio Grande River. With and associated with him at the time, 
was Stephen Cole, the son of Hannah Cole. Cole was also killed at 
that time. 

We have endeavored to give the names of all the men of whom we 
have been able to secure any record who were killed in the Boonslick 



HISTORY OF COOPER COUNTY 119 

country during the Indian War, from 1812 to 1815, together with a brief 
account of how they came to their death. The peculiar atrocities attend- 
ing the killing of some of them make even the stoutest shudder. 

During the war the Indians stole so many horses from the Boonslick 
settlement, that for two or three years after the declaration of peace, they 
were compelled to plow their corn with oxen, and even milch cows. 

The reader should remember that the Indian was a savage and was 
intellectually dwarfed. In the eyes of our forefathers, the Indians had 
no rights, at least none to impede the onward march of civilization. We 
had not then adopted the benevolent policy of treating the Indians as 
wards, the modern colonial policy affected by our government in the 
Philippines. The Indians were continually driven back, giving ground 
before the oncoming white colonists, until they retreated far inland. 
Through war, liquor and disease, their numbers have decreased. How- 
ever, amalgamation and benevolent assimilation have wrought a wondrous 
change. A humane policy has preserved them from extinction, and has 
changed once implacable, treacherous and cruel enemies into loyal friends, 
citizens and staunch allies in the cause of liberty and justice. In the 
World War, just ended, 1,000 Indians enlisted in the navy. In the army, 
6,500 Indians enlisted. They now hold a $50 Liberty Bond for every man, 
woman and child of their race. The romance of the American Indian is 
not ended. He is a striking, living illustration of what a humane policy 
will do to bury racial hatred in the land of the free and the home of 
the brave. 

Additional Incidents of the Period. — James Davis was an intimate 
companion and associate of Daniel Boone in many of his hunting expedi- 
tions. On this occasion to which we refer, Boone, by reason of infirmities 
of age, or disability, did not accompany Davis. It was in the winter of 
1813. None but a hardy and adventurous character would venture alone 
through the wilderness at this time. Davis was intrepid and experienced, 
and fearlessly started upon his expedition, and arrived near the western 
boundaries of the territory, where he was captured by the Otoes Indians. 

The Otoes were said to be the most civilized as well as the most 
sanguinary and cruel of all the tribes west of the Mississippi River. They 
lived in substantial log houses with roofs of dirt and sod, and were so 
fearless and warlike that no satisfactory treaty was ever made with them 
until the latter part of 1828. 

After having captured him, they stripped him of everything that he 
possessed, took his gun and ammunition and turned him loose as naked 



120 HISTORY OF COOPER COUNTY 

as he was when he came into the world. However, as if in mockery, they 
gave him an old English musket with one load. They did not torture him, 
but turned him loose to meet his fate. None but the most vigorous con- 
stitution could have stood successfully the trial. He traveled until about 
nightfall, and while seeking shelter in some place where he could protect 
himself from the winter winds, he saw a bear taking his winter sleep. 
With the cunning and caution of the frontiersman, born of experience, he 
approached the bear, and placing his old musket within a few inches of 
its head, fired the charge into the bear's brains, and killed it instantly. 
Necessity to him was the mother of invention. With the flint of his old 
musket he succeeded in skinning the bear. Having done this, he fashioned 
it as best he could, and before the heat had left the hide, he clothed him- 
self therewith, placing his feet and arms where the legs of the bear 
had been, and drawing the head well over his own head and face, he lay 
down by the side of the bear and slept through the night in the skin that 
he had appropriated. 

At daylight, feeling refreshed, he set out on his long journey to the 
settlement, taking enough of the meat to last him through the toilsome 
journey. He had more than a hundred miles of snow and wilderness to 
traverse, and no implement with which he could make a fire, but his fur 
suit kept him warm, and raw bear meat furnished him nutriment. 

It took him several days to make the journey, but finally he arrived 
at the house of Jonathan Bryan in the Boone settlement late in the eve- 
ning. Davis grasped the latch-string, which usually was hanging on the 
outside, and pushed the door open. Sitting alone by the fire was an old 
Scotch schoolmaster, who had evidently stopped at Bryan's for a few 
days. The opening of the door attracted the schoolmaster's attention, and 
by the light of the fire, he could plainly see the rough outlines of this 
weird figure, which to his excited imagination was transformed into an 
evil shape. Filled with fear, he jumped from his chair, and fled from the 
room, crying, "Devil, devil, devil." However, Jonathan Bryan, hearing 
the disturbance, rushed into the room, and recognizing Davis, soon quieted 
the apprehensions of the schoolmaster. The bear's skin had become so 
dry and hard that it required considerable effort to restore the old hunter 
to human shape. 

This story is said to have been handed down by tradition by Jonathan 
Bryan himself. James Davis was an eccentric and picturesque character. 
He was the first man indicted by grand jury that assembled in the Louisi- 
ana Territory under American auspices for the murder of William Davis. 






HISTORY OF COOPER COUNTY 121 

However as the evidence showed, it possessed none of the elements of 
murder, and Davis was acquitted by the jury that tried him. 

In an account of the expedition from Pittsburg to the Rocky Moun- 
tains in the years 1819 and '20, by order of Hon. J. C. Calhoun, Secretary 
of War, and under the command of Maj. Stephen H. Dong, compiled by 
Edward James, we take the following: 

"A Mr. Munroe of Franklin related to the party that in 1816 he found 
on a branch of the Lamine, (4) the relics of the encampment of a large 
party of men, whether of whites or of Indians he did not know. Seeing 
a large mound nearby, which he believed to be a cache for the spoils of 
the party, he opened it and found the body of a white officer, apparently 
a man of rank, which had been interred with extraordinary care. The 
body was placed in a sitting posture, upon an Indian rush mat, with its 
back resting against some logs, placed around it in the manner of a log 
house, enclosing a space of about three by five feet, and about four feet 
high, covered at top with a mat similar to that beneath. The clothing 
was still in sufficient preservation to enable him to distinguish a red coat 
trimmed with gold lace, golden epaulets, a spotted buff waistcoat, furnished 
also with gold lace, and pantaloons of white nankeen. On the head was a 
round beaver hat, and a bamboo walking stick, with the initials J. M. C, 
engraved upon a golden head, reclined against the arm, but was some- 
what decayed where it came in contact with the muscular part of the leg. 
On raising the hat, it was found that the deceased had been hastily scalped. 
To what nation he belonged, Mr. Munroe could not determine. We ob- 
served, however, that the button taken from the shoulder, had the word 
Philadelphia moulded upon it. The cane still remains in the possession 
of the narrator, but the button was taken by another of the party." 

Leven's and Drake, in their "History of Cooper County," written in 
1886, gives the following interesting incident: 

"In the year 1818, Joseph Stephens, who died in 1836, Maj. Stephen 
Cole and William Ross, the hatter, started west on a hunting and exploring 
tour, and traveled as far as Knob Noster. At that time, all the country 
west of the present boundary line of Cooper County, was a wilderness, no 
person living in it. About six miles southeast of the present site of 
Sedalia, in Pettis County, on a farm now owned by a man by the name of 
Warren, near Flat Creek, they discovered what appeared to be a large, 
high and peculiarly shaped Indian mound. They examined it pretty closely, 
and found on one side that the wolves had scratched an opening into it. 
After enlarging it, so as to admit them, they beheld a remarkable sight. 



122 HISTORY OF COOPER COUNTY 

They found themselves in what resembled a room, about eight feet square, 
with a ceiling of logs, just high enough to permit' a tall man to stand erect. 
On the side opposite where they had entered, sat an officer dressed in full 
military uniform, with gold epaulets upon his shoulders, gold lace fring- 
ing every seam of his coat, cocked military hat, knee breeches, lace stock- 
ings and morocco slippers. As he sat erect upon a seat hewed out of a 
log, nothing but the ghastly hue and leathery appearance of his skin 
would have suggested but that he was alive. By his side stood a heavy 
gold-headed cane. His features were complete, and his flesh free from 
decay, though dried to the consistency of leather. The place in which 
the body was found, was very peculiar. A place about eight feet square 
and two feet deep had been dug in the earth. The sides had been walled 
up with sod, until it was high enough for the purpose, reaching several 
feet above the surface of the ground. The. top was then covered with 
poles which ran up to a point in the center like the roof of a house. Then 
the poles and the surrounding walls were covered with sod two or three 
feet deep, cut from the prairie nearby, thus excluding entirely the rain 
and air. When they left the place, William Ross, being the eldest man of 
the party, took the cane as a momento, but nothing else was touched. 

"Who this officer was, from whence he came, what he was doing in 
this part of the country, what was the cause of his death, and when and 
by whom he was thus singularly entombed, has not, and perhaps never 
will be known. But he was supposed, by many, to have been a British 
officer, who, during the War of 1812, passed around by way of Canada 
into the Indian country, to incite the Indians against the whites; yet 
this is only conjecture, though those who discovered his body, account for 
him in that way. 

"Soon after this, Joseph Stephens, Sr., now living near Petersburg, 
on the 0. V. & S. K. Railroad, in company with James D. Campbell, went 
into that part of the country bee hunting, and visited the burial place of 
this officer. They found that part of the roof had fallen in, and that the 
wolves had eaten all of the flesh off the body, so that nothing but the 
skeleton and clothes remained. Joseph Stephens took the epaulets, as a 
momento, but nothing else was disturbed. As his mother objected to his 
keeping the epaulets, he melted them into a large ball, which was worth 
$15 or $20, as it was solid gold. This description of the burial place, &c, 
was obtained from the last mentioned Joseph Stephens, and is correct, 
although several different accounts have been published." 



CHAPTER VII. 



FROM 1815 TO 1819. 



IMMIGRATION — ORGANIZATION' OF COUNTIES — EARLY COURTS — PROCEEDINGS — 

OFFICERS— ELECTIONS— "NEW COMERS"— LAND SPECULATION— SALE OF 

PUBLIC LANDS— PREEMPTION CLAIMS — SAMUEL COLE'S EXPERIENCES — 
EARLY CHURCHES — A. FULLER'S LETTER. 

During the War of 1812, more properly called the "Second War with 
Great Britain," there was some immigration into the Boonslick country. 

When peace was established with England, and the treaty of peace 
was finally entered into with the Indians in 1815, a steady and ever in- 
creasing stream of immigration poured into the Boonslick country, and 
continued in an unending flow for many years thereafter. 

But even during the war with the Indians, some hardy and brave 
settlers settled in the Boonslick country, though few ventured to locate 
except near enough 'to reach the forts at the first approach of the Indians. 

Organization of Counties. — When the territory of Missouri was estab- 
lished in 1812, the eastern portion of the state was at once organized into 
counties, and the territorial law, by means of territorial courts, was ex- 
tended over them. But the Boonslick country had not been sufficiently 
settled to justify its organization, and the expense of holding terms of 
court within its limits. 

Now, however, conditions were different. With increasing immigra- 
tion the demand became strong and loud for organized courts. 

It will be remembered that from 1804 until Oct. 1, 1812, the territory 
of Missouri was divided into four districts. At that date, in accordance 
with an act of Congress, requiring him so to do, Governor Clark issued a 
proclamation, reorganizing the four districts into the five following coun- 
ties: St. Charles, St. Louis, St. Genevieve, Cape Girardeau, and New Ma- 



124 HISTORY OF COOPER COUNTY 

drid. In 1813 the county of Washington was created from a part of St. 
Geneveive. In 1814, the county of Arkansas was formed, and during the 
winter of 1814, and 1815, the county of Lawrence was organized from the 
western portion of New Madrid. 

Under an act of the General Assembly of the Territory of Missouri, 
approved Jan. 13, 1816, the county of Howard was created, being the ninth 
organized county of the territory, and was taken out of the counties of 
St. Louis and St. Charles. It included among other counties what is now 
Cooper County. Its territory was more than one-third of the present 
state of Missouri. It was almost an empire, presenting an area of nearly 
23,000 square miles. It was larger than Vermont, Massachusetts, Dela- 
ware, and Rhode Island. Missouri at that time had not been admitted 
into the sisterhood of states. From its territory have since been organized 
the following counties: 

Adair, organized Jan. 29, 1841. Called after Gen. John Adair, of 
Mercer County, Kentucky, who was elected governor of that State in 
1820 and died May 19, 1840. 

Audrain, organized Dec. 17, 1836. Called for James S. Audrain, who 
was a representative from St. Charles in the Missouri Legislature in 1830, 
and who died in St. Charles, Nov. 10, 1831. 

Bates (part), organized Jan. 29, 1841. Called for Frederick Bates, 
second governor of the State, who died Aug. 4, 1825, before the expiration 
of his term. Lieutenant-Governor W. H. Ashley, having resigned, Abra- 
ham J. Williams, of Columbia, president of the Senate, became Governor 
until the special election in September, same year, when John Miller was 
elected. Williams died Dec. 30, 1839, and an old fashioned box-shaped 
limestone monument marks his grave in Columbia Cemetery. 

Benton (north part), organized Jan. 3, 1835. Called for Thomas H. 
Benton, United States Senator, 1820-1850. Died April 10, 1858. 

Boone, organized Nov. 16, 1820. Named for the old pioneer and Indian 
fighter, Daniel Boone. Died in St. Charles County Sept. 26, 1820. 

Caldwell, organized Dec. 26, 1836. Called for Capt. Matthew Cald- 
well, commander of Indian scouts and a hunter of Kentucky. Joseph 
Doniphan, father of Gen. A. W. Doniphan, belonged to his company. Gen- 
eral Doniphan was chiefly instrumental in having the county named in 
honor of his father's old comrade. 

Camden (part) , first named Kinderhook, after the home of Martin Van 
Buren, organized Jan. 29, 1841. On Feb. 23, 1843, name changed to Cam- 



HISTORY OF COOPER COUNTY 125 

den, in honor of Charles Pratt Camden, an English statesman who was 
a warm advocate of the American colonies. 

Carroll, organized Jan. 3, 1833. Called for Charles Carroll, of Carroll- 
ton, one of the signers of the Declaration of Independence. Died Nov. 
14, 1832. 

Cass, organized Sept. 14, 1835. First called Van Buren ; changed to 
Cass Feb. 19, 1849, in honor of Lewis Cass, United States Senator from 
Michigan. Died June 17, 1866. 

Chariton, organized Nov. 16, 1820. John Chariton was the name of 
a leader of the French fur-traders who at an early day located on the 
Missouri River at the mouth of the creek which was ever afterwards 
called Chariton. Hence the name of the creek and county. 

Clay, organized Jan. 2, 1822. Called for Henry Clay, of Kentucky. 
Died June 29, 1852. 

Clinton, organized Jan. 15, 1833. Called for Governor DeWitt Clinton, 
of New York. Died Feb. 11, 1828. 

Cole, organized Nov. 16, 1820. Called for Capt. Stephen Cole, an old 
settler, who built "Cole's Fort," near Boonville. 

Cooper, organized Dec. 17, 1818. Called for Sarshel Cooper, who 
was killed by an Indian in Cooper's Fort opposite Arrow Rock and near 
the present village of Boonsboro, Howard County, on the night of April 
14, 1814. 

Daviess, organized Dec. 29, 1836. Called for Col. Joe Hamilton Daviess, 
of Kentucky. Killed in the battle of Tippecanoe, Nov. 7, 1811. 

De Kalb, organized Feb. 25, 1845. Called for Baron John De Kalb, a 
Frenchman of Revolutionary fame, who was killed in the battle of Cam- 
den in 1780. 

Gentry, organized Feb. 12, 1841. Called for Gen. Richard Gentry, of 
Columbia, who was killed in the battle of Okeechobee, Fla., Dec. 25, 1837. 

Grundy, organized Jan. 2, 1843. Called for Felix Grundy, United 
States Senator of Tennessee. Died Dec. 19, 1840. 

Harrison, organized Feb. 14, 1845. Called for Albert G. Harrison, of 
Fulton, Mo., member of Congress from 1835 to 1839. Died Sept. 7, 1839. 

Henry, first named Rives in honor of William C. Rives, of Virginia, 
organized Dec. 13, 1834. Changed to Henry in honor of Patrick Henry, 
who died June 6, 1799. 

Jackson, organized Dec. 15, 1826. Named in honor of Andrew Jack- 
son. Died June 8, 1845. 



126 HISTORY OF COOPER COUNTY 

Johnson, organized Dec. 13, 1834. Called for Richard M. Johnson, of 
Kentucky. Died of apoplexy, Nov. 19, 1850. 

Lafayette, first called Lillard and organized Nov. 16, 1820, after James 
Lillard, an old citizen. Changed to Lafayette, Feb. 16, 1825, who died at 
Paris, May 20, 1834. 

Linn, organized Jan. 7, 1837. Called for Lewis F. Linn, United States 
Senator from Missouri, 1830-1843, who died at St. Genevieve, Oct. 3, 1843. 

Livingston, organized Jan. 6, 1837. Called for Edward Livingston, 
Secretary of State under President Jackson. Died May 23, 1836. 

Macon, organized Jan. 6, 1837. Named in honor of Nathaniel Macon, 
of North Carolina, of the Seventh, Eighth, and Ninth Congresses and 
United States Senator in the Nineteenth and Twentieth. Died June 29, 
1837. 

Mercer, organized Feb. 14, 1845. Called for John F. Mercer, a soldier 
of the Revolution from Maryland. Died Aug. 30, 1821. 

Miller (north part), organized Feb. 26, 1837. Called for Gov. John 
Miller, of Missouri ; was Governor from 1825 to 1832. Died March 18, 1846. 

Moniteau, organized Feb. 14, 1845. An Indian name, and doubtless 
a corruption of Manito, an Indian name for Deity or Great Spirit. 

Monroe (part), organized Jan. 6, 1831. Called for James Monroe, 
President. Died July 4, 1831. 

Morgan, organized Jan. 5, 1833. Called for Gen. Daniel Morgan, of 
the Revolution, who displayed great bravery at the battle of the Cowpens 
in the defeat of Tarlton and died in 1802. 

Pettis, organized Jan. 26, 1833. Called for Spencer Pettis, member 
of Congress from St. Louis from 1829 to 1831, who was killed in a duel 
by Maj. Thomas Biddle, Aug. 27, 1831, aged 29 years. 

Putnam, organized Feb. 28, 1845. Called for Gen. Israel Putnam, of 
Bunker Hill fame, 1775. Died, 1790. 

Randolph, organized Jan. 22, 1829. Called for John Randolph, of 
Roanoke, Va. Died May 24, 1833. 

Ray, organized Nov. 16, 1820. Called for John Ray, a member of the 
constitutional convention of 1820 from Howard County. 

St. Clair (north part), organized Jan. 29, 1841. Called for Gen. 
Arthur St. Clair, of the Revolution. 

Saline, organized Nov. 25, 1820. Named because of its salt springs. 

Shelby (part), organized Jan. 2, 1835. Called for Gov. Isaac Shelby, 
of Kentucky. Died July 18, 1826. 

Sullivan, organized Feb. 16, 1845. Called for James Sullivan, of Revo- 



HISTORY OF COOPER COUNTY 127 

lutionary fame, a member of the Continental Congress of 1782. Died 
Dec. 10, 1808. 

Worth, organized Feb. 8, 1861. Called for Gen. William J. Worth, 
of the Florida and Mexican Wars. Died at San Antonio, Texas, May 7, 1849. 

Also the following counties in Iowa: Parts of Taylor and Adams, 
Union, Ringgold, Clarke, Decatur and Wayne, and probably parts of Lucas, 
Monroe and Appanoose. 

Its boundaries were established as follows: Beginning at the mouth 
of the Osage River, which is about 10 miles below the city of Jefferson 
and opposite the village of Barkersville in Callaway county, the boundary 
uprsued the circuitous course of said stream to the Osage boundary line, 
meaning thereby the eastern boundary of the Osage Indian Territory, or 
to the northeast corner of Vernon County, where the Osage River, two 
miles east of the present town of Shell City, runs near said corner ; thence 
north (along the western line of St. Clair, Henry, Johnson and Lafayette 
counties), to the Missouri River, striking that stream west of and very 
near Napoleon, thence up said river to the mouth of the Kansas River 
(where Kansas City is now located), thence with the Indian boundary 
line (as described in. the proclamation of Gov. William Clark issued the 
9th day of March, 1815), northwardly along the eastern boundary of the 
"Platte purchase" 140 miles, or to a point about 36 miles north and within 
the present county of Adams, in the state of Iowa, near the town of 
Corning in said county, on the Burlington and Missouri River railroad; 
thence eastward with the said line to the main dividing ridge of high 
ground, to the main fork of the river Cedar (which is the line between 
Boone and Callaway counties in Missouri) ; thence down said river to the 
Missouri; thence down the river Missouri and in the middle of the main 
channel thereof, to the mouth of the Great Osage River, the place of 
beginning. 

Howard County was reduced to its present limits by an act of the 
Legislature approved Feb. 16, 1825. The history of what is now Cooper 
County is inseparably connected with that of Howard County until the 
organization of Cooper County in 1819. 

Early Courts. — The act under which Howard County was organized 
located the seat of justice at Hannah Cole's Fort. The first circuit court 
of Howard County, which was the first Court held in this section of the 
State, was held at the house of Joseph Jelly in Hannah Cole's Fort, which 
was situated in what is now East Boonville. The Court opened on the 
eighth day of July, 1816, and discharged under the territorial laws all 



128 HISTORY OF COOPER COUNTY 

the duties of the Circuit, County and Probate Courts of the present day. 

Hon. David Barton was the presiding judge; Nicholas T. Burkhartt, 
the sheriff; Gray Bynum, the clerk; and John G. Heath, circuit attorney. 
The attorneys who attended this term of court were Edward Bates, 
Charles Lucas, Joshua Barton, and Lucius Easton. Few in number, but 
their names became intimately and prominently associated with the fu- 
ture development of the state of Missouri.. 

The following are the proceedings of this term of court: — 

John Munroe was appointed coroner of Howard County, and Benjamin 
Estil, David Jones, David Kincaid, William Head and Stephen Cole were 
appointed commissioners to locate the permanent county seat, which was 
temporarily located by the territorial legislature at Hannah Cole's Fort 
as above stated. 

The following persons composed the first grand jury: Stephen Jack- 
son, foreman ; Adam Woods, Sr. ; Asaph Hubbard, John Pusley,' George 
Tompkins, Isaac Drake, William Anderson, Samuel Brown, Robert Wilde, 
Davis Todd, William Brown, Robert Brown, John Snethan, Ezekiel Wil- 
liams, William Monroe, Jr.; John O'Banon, James Alexander, Muke Box. 

The first license to operate and run a ferry was issued to Hannah 
Cole. The charges were fixed by the Court, and will be found in the chap- 
ter on "Transportation and Highways." 

Harper C. Davis was licensed to conduct a tavern at Kincaid's Fort. 

The first road laid out by the authority of the Court in the county 
was a route from Cole's Fort on the Missouri River to intersect the road 
from Potosi, in Washington County, at the Osage River. Stephen Cole, 
James Cole, and Jumphry Gibson were appointed commissioners to mark 
out this road. 

The first indictments returned by the grand jury were United States 
vs. Samuel Heirall, and United States vs. James Cockrell, both endorsed 
a true bill. 

At the first election held in the county, the electors voted at Head's 
Fort, McLean's Fort, Fort Cooper and Cole's Fort. The first civil action 
was styled Davis Todd vs. Joseph Boggs. The following amusing incident 
and example of retributive justice happened at this term of court: 

Maj. Stephen Cole was fined, by Judge Barton, one dollar, for con- 
tempt, for misconduct in the presence of the court. Cole objected to pay- 
ing the fine, but supposing he would be able to retaliate some time, at last 
paid it. And his time for retaliation came sooner than he expected. That 
afternoon, Cole, who was a justice of the peace, organized his court on a 



- 





- 




HISTORY OF COOPER COUNTY 129 

log in front of the fort. As Judge Barton was returning from dinner, he 
stopped in front of Cole and leaned against a tree, watching the proceed- 
ings of the justice and smoking his pipe. Cole looked up, and assuming 
the stern look of insulted dignity, said, "Judge Barton, I fine you one 
dollar for contempt of my court, for smoking in its presence." Judge 
Barton smilingly paid his fine, and went to open his own court, acknowl- 
edging that he had been beaten at his own game. 

The following order established the rate of taxation at that time: 

"Ordered by the court that the following rates of taxation for county 
purposes for the year 1816 be established in the county of Howard, to-wit: 

On each horse, mare, mule or ass above 3 years old $ .25 

On all meat cattle above 3 years old -0614 

On each and every stud-horse, the sum for which he stands the 

season -0614 

On every negro or mulatto slave between the ages of 16 and 45 — .50 

For each billiard-table 25.00 

On every able-bodies single man of 21 years old or upwards not 

being possessed of property of the value of $200 .50 

On water, grist-mills, and saw-mills, horse-mills, tan-yards and dis- 
tilleries in actual operation 40 cents on every $100 valuation." 

Five marriage certificates were recorded in the year 1816. We give 
verbatum copies of four. 

I do hereby certify, that on the 27th day of March last, I celebrated 
the rights of matrominy between Elijah Creason and Elizabeth Lowell, 
both of the county of Howard and territory of Missouri. 

Given under my hand, this 12th day of April, 1816. 

JAMES ALCORN, J. P. 
Territory of Missouri, 

Howard County, To-wit: 

Be it known, to whom it may concern, that on the 26th day of April, 
1816, by virtue of the power and authority vested in my by law, a preacher 
of the Gospel, I joined in the holy state of matrimony Abraham Barnes, 
and Gracy Jones, of the said territory and county, as man and wife, satis- 
factory proof having been given of the legal notice as requested by law 
and parents' consent obtained. 

Witness my hand, the 22nd day of April, 1816. 

DAVID McLAIN. 
Territory of Missouri, 
(9) 



130 HISTORY OF COOPER COUNTY 

County of Howard, To-wit: 

Be it remembered to all whom it may concern, that on the 10th day 
of May, 1816, by virtue of the power and authority vested in me by law 
a preacher of the Gospel, etc., I joined in the holy state of matrimony 
Judiah Osmond and Rosella Busby, of the said territory and county, as 
man and wife. Witness my hand, this 3d day of July, 1816. 

WILLIAM THORP. 

I hereby certify, that on the second of June last passed, I celebrated 
the rights of matrimony between John Cooley and Elizabeth White, both 
of the county of Howard and territory of Missouri. 

Given under my hand, this 12th day of April, 1816. 

JAMES ALCORN, J. P. 

The first election held in Cooper County after its organization was 
on the second day of August, 1819. It was held to elect a delegate to 
Congress from the territory of Missouri. John Scott and Samuel Ham- 
mond were the candidates. The townships which voted at said election 
were, as heretofore stated, Arrow Rock, Miami, Tebo (sometimes in those 
early days spelled Tabeaux, and Tabeau), and Lamine. The latter town- 
ship included the town of Boonville. The votes cast in Tebo township 
were thrown out because the poll-book of said township did not state for 
whom the votes were cast, and this poll-book was not put on file with the 
others; thei'efore the only votes counted were those cast in the other 
three townships. John Scott received 127 votes, and Samuel Hammond 21 
votes, making the total count, 138. 

We infer, and on a reasonable hypothesis, that this was nothing like 
the total vote of the county at that time. The county was sparsely settled 
and there was then no newspaper published in Cooper County. News of 
the election, in the main, had to be spread by word of mouth, and it is 
very probable that many of the voters 'did not know the day of the same; 
and again by reason of the distance from their voting places, failed to 
record their votes. 

Robert P. Clark, county clerk, called to his aid James Brufee and 
Benjamin F. Hickox, two justices of the peace, to assist him in counting 
the votes. 

The next election hold in the county was to select delegates to the 
state convention, called by proclamation of the Governor to frame a con- 



HISTORY OF COOPER COUNTY 131 

stitution for the state of Missouri, and was held on the first, second and 
third days of May, 1820. The following was the result in the county: 
Robert P. Clark, William Lillard and Robert Wallace were elected. The 
townships in which this election was held and the votes cast were as 
follows: Arrow Rock township, 120 votes; Lamine township, 408 votes; 
Tableaux township, 150 votes ; Moreau township, 101 votes ; Miami town- 
ship, 40 votes. Total vote of Cooper County, 819. 

At the time of this election, Cooper County was bounded on the east 
and south by the Osage River, on the west by the Indian Territory, and 
on the north by the Missouri River. Lamine township then included about 
all within the present limits of Cooper County, and some territory not 
now included in its limits. 

The next and third election was held on the 28th day of August, 1820, 
to elect a member of Congress, and State and county officers. The follow- 
ing townships voting at this election, and the votes cast, were as follows: 
Arrow Rock township, 57 votes; Lamine township, 503 votes; Jefferson 
township, 110 votes; Osage township, 78 votes; Miami township, 28 votes; 
Moreau township, 71 votes; Tableaux township, 125 votes. The vote of 
Cooper County, 972. Thomas Rogers, Thomas Smiley and William Lillard 
were elected representatives ; William H. Curtis, sheriff ; and Bryant 
Saunders, coroner. 

Immigration. — In writing of the immigration at this period, Dr. John 
Mason Peck has this to say: "The 'new-comers,' like a mountain torrent, 
poured into the country faster than it was possible to provide corn for 
breadstuff's. Some families came in the spring of 1815. But in the winter, 
spring, summer and autumn of 1816, they came like an avalanche. It 
seemed as though Kentucky and Tennessee were breaking up and moving 
to the "Far West." Caravan after caravan passed over the prairies of 
Illinois, crossing the 'gi^eat river' at St. Louis, all bound to the Boonslick. 
The stream of immigration had not lessened in 1817. Many families came 
from Virginia, the Carolinas and Georgia, and not a few from the Middle 
States, while a sprinkling found their way to the extreme West from 
Yankeedom and Yorkdom. Following in the wake of this exodus to the 
middle section of Missouri was a terrific excitement about land." 

Land Speculation. — This was a period of some wild and hazardous 
land speculations ; not only by reason of the large immigration into the 
Boonslick section, or rather into Howard County, but because of the earth- 
quake in New Madrid in the years 1811 and 1812. 

In 1815, Congress passed an act affording liberal relief for the suf- 



132 HISTORY OF COOPER COUNTY 

ferers from the earthquake. The land owners were permitted to give 
up their present holdings and to locate with the certificates received for 
their New Madrid possessions on other public land. This opened a wide 
door for fraud, speculation and litigation. The actual sufferers were in 
nearly every instance defrauded. Before they had knowledge of the pass- 
ing of the act of Congress, the New Madrid country was filled with 
speculators from St. Louis, who purchased their property at a rate of 
from $40 to $60 per claim, a claim sometimes embracing as much as 640 
acres. After acquiring the rights to the injured land, certificates of dis- 
location were issued by the St. Louis land office to the purchasers of these 
injured properties. The owners of these certificates, of course, hunted 
around for the most valuable property and located their certificates on 
it. The demand for certificates became very great, the more unscrupulous 
and dishonest New Madrid settlers would sell their claims several times 
to new speculators anxious to buy. All this led to endless litigation. 
Under New Madrid certificates so issued much valuable property was 
located in the Boonslick country. 

Sale of Public Lands. — Dec. 6, 1816, marked the setting for the first 
time of the Jacob Staff, to survey the public lands of this state, prepara- 
tory to placing the lands on the market for sale for home-makers. Prior 
to that time, nothing had been surveyed by legal authority, except those 
lands known as the old French and Spanish claims. The survey, however, 
progressed slowly and intermittently, and it was not until Aug. 3, 1918, 
when by order of the President's proclamation the land sale was held at 
St. Louis. The President also issued a proclamation that the land sales 
at Franklin. Howard County, would begin Sept. 7, 1818, but there was 
quite a spirited controversy about the legality of offering the lands for 
sale, as they were thought yet to be within the boundary lines of the Sac 
and Fox Indian Reservation, and one officer to conduct the sale resigned. 
The sales, in consequence thereof, were continud to Nov. 2, 1818. at which 
day the land sales began, Gen. Thomas A. Smith being receiver, and 
Charles Carrol, register. The crowd in attendance upon these sales was 
said to have numbered thousands of well-dressed and intelligent men from 
all parts of the east and south. At the first public sales, there seems to 
have been quite a spirit of competition among the bidders, but this was 
evidently caused by those from a distance, for the settlers had a tacit 
understanding not to bid against each other for the land they wanted, and 
in after years there seems to have been no competition for the lands at 
public sales. 



HISTORY OF COOPER COUNTY 133 

Preemption Claims. — At this time there arose the very interesting 
question of preemption claims. The settlers in the Franklin, or Howard 
land district, had given notice to the officers of the land office of the pre- 
emptions. So universal was the preemption right claimed, that the settlers 
there were called "preemptioners." This disputed question was of such 
deep interest and import to the settlers and was so much discussed, that 
it became the all-absorbing question, to the exclusion of every other. 

On March 3, 1819, Congress passed an act confirming the right of 
preemption, to the people of this district. It is said that many of the 
most illustrious men of our state were among the preemptioners, and they 
in after years became potent factors in the evolution and progress of 
our great state. 

Levens and Drake, in their "History of Cooper County," give some 
amusing interesting incidents of this period: 

"Sometime during the year 1817, William Gibson, now living a short 
distance east of the city of Boonville, was appointed by the Territorial 
Court, constable of that part of Howard County lying south of the Mis- 
souri River. His jurisdiction extended from the Missouri, on the north, 
to the Osage River on the south. Soon after his appointment, there being 
some trouble down on the Osage, he was sent there with a warrant for 
the arrest of the man who had caused the trouble. The distance was 
between 60 and 70 miles. After arresting the man, he returned to Boon- 
ville with his prisoner. As he was on his journey back, having an execu- 
tion against- a man who lived on the road, he stopped at his house and 
proceeded to levy on the feather beds, as nothing in those days was 
exempt from levy under execution. But, as soon as he made his purpose 
known, four women, who were the only persons at home, threatened to 
give him a thrashing, so he was forced to retire as fast as he could, and 
return the execution unsatisfied. To add to this, the court only allowed 
him, for his journey of 140 miles, which occupied four days, the magni- 
ficent sum of 25 cents. Mr. Gibson thinking the office not quite lucrative 
enough to justify him in devoting his whole time to its duties, arid not 
wishing to risk his life at the hands of angry women, quietly sent in his 
resignation, thus establishing the precedent that officers should resign 
when not paid a living wage. 

"While Samuel Cole was living at his mother's fort in East Boonville, 
in the year 1817, there was a dance at William Bartlett's boarding house, 
on the flat near the ferry landing, at the mouth of Rupe's Branch. Al- 
though Samuel wished very much to attend, his mother refused to permit 



134 HISTORY OF COOPER COUNTY 

him, as his wardrobe at that time, was entirely too limited to permit him 
to associate with the "elite." He had no pants, his sole garment consist- 
ing of a long tow shirt, which reached entirely to his heels. But Samuel, 
though always, from his own statement, an obedient son, was not to be 
deprived of so great a pleasure, by this, to him, a very trivial excuse. So 
he determined to attend that dance, and then make the best arrangement 
he could to meet the "wrath to come." Not having any horse, he bridled 
a tame bull, which was at the fort, and thus mounted, rode up to the door 
of the house in which they were dancing. After looking in for some time, 
and by his strange looking steed and attire, attracting a large crowd about 
him, he drove his bull down to the river, and riding in, he slid back over 
its haunches, and caught hold of its tail. In this way they swam down 
the river to Hannah Cole's fort, when he and his strange companion came 
out of the water and sought their homes. This story has often been pub- 
lished, but never correctly, as all former accounts represented him as 
swimming the river to attend a wedding, but our version is correct, as it 
was obtained directly from Samuel Cole himself. 

"About the 15th day of November, 1817, Joseph Stephens, with his 
large family and several friends, crossed the river to where Boonville now 
stands, and camped near the foot of Main street. The next day after 
they crossed Samuel Cole, who was then a boy of sixteen years of age, 
appeared at their camp and asked Mrs. Stephens if she would like to have 
some venison. Upon her replying that she would, as she was nearly out 
of meat, Samuel shouldered his gun and marched off into the woods, tell- 
ing her to wait a few minutes and he would kill her some. Samuel Cole, 
at that time, although there was a slight snow on the ground, was bare- 
footed and bare-headed, his breeches reached only to his knees, the collar 
of his shirt was open, and he carried an old flint lock rifle. About fifteen 
minutes after he left the camp, Stephens and his family heard two shots 
in the direction in which he had gone. Pretty soon Samuel appeared, and 
told them that he had killed two deer, that they must go out and bring 
them to the camp, as he could not by himself bring in even one of them. 
So they started out and found the two deer lying on the side of the hill 
just north of the present residence of William H. Trigg. After they had 
skinned them and cut them up, the party brought them to the camp and 
presented them to Mrs. Stevens. This shows what little exertion was 
necessary at that day to obtain meat. 

A few days afterwards, Joseph Stephens moved, with his family, to 



HISTORY OF COOPER COUNTY 135 

the farm which he had bought about one-quarter of a mile north of the 
present site of Bunceton. About Christmas, in the same year, Samuel 
Cole rode up to Joseph Stephen's camp, and Mrs. Stephens asked him to 
alight and take dinner. He asked her whether she had any honey, and 
she told him she had not. He said he could not eat without honey. And 
although she insisted that he remain, he still refused. In the meantime, 
Larry and Joseph, two of her sons, and a negro named Basil, who had 
been cutting wood, came up to the camp carrying their axes. Samuel 
turned to them, and told them to go with him and get some honey for 
dinner. They at first, supposing him to be joking, refused to go. But as 
he still insisted, they consented. After going some two hundred yards 
east of the camp, Samuel suddenly stopped, and pointing to a tree, told 
them to cut it down. The others not seeing anything about the tree that 
would induce anyone to think that it contained honey, yet willing to accom- 
modate company, cut it down, and it was found to be filled with nice 
honey. While they were cutting down this tree, Samuel found another a 
short distance away, and having cut down this one also, they returned 
home with six buckets of fine honey, having taken nothing but the clear 
part. Before he left, Samuel taught them the way in which he found the 
trees. He told them, that if they would examine the ground around the 
tree, they would find small pieces of bee-bread, and occasionally a dead 
bee. This was an infallible sign of a bee tree. Then afterwards, following 
his direction, they searched and found, in a small space, thirteen trees 
which were filled with honey; and as they had no sugar, this was a great 
help to them. They sometimes had as much as four hundred pounds of 
honey on hand at one time." 

Early Churches. — It has been stated with authority, that on the 8th 
day of April, 1812, Mount Pleasant Church was organized in a log house, 
doubtless at Kincaid's Fort, situated a short distance from Old Franklin 
in Howard County. In the year 1817, there came renewed activity of 
church-building. Of the five churches in central Missouri: Mount Pleasant, 
Bethel, Concord, Mount Zion and Salem, all Baptist, which in 1818 united 
to form the Mount Pleasant Baptist Association, three had organized the 
previous year. 

The Concord Church was organized in 1817 by Elders William Thorpe, 
Edward Turner and David McLain, and was located in the settlement south 
of Boonville. In 1823, the church gave its name to the Concord Baptist 
Association. Elder Luke Williams was chosen pastor, at the second meet- 



136 HISTORY OF COOPER COUNTY 

ing of the church in 1817, and continued in this capacity until his death 
six years later. The second pastor was Elder Kemp Scott, who moved to 
the little settlement a year or two after the death of Elder Williams. 

Among the pioneers who helped to organize the church and who con- 
stituted its first membership, were: Luke Williams, Polly Williams, Wil- 
liam Savage, Mary Savage, Delaney Bolen, Judith Williams, Absalom Huff, 
Susanna Savage, Joseph Baze, Lydia Turner, Charles Williams, Patsey 
Bolen, Sally Baze and Elizabeth Williams. 

Judge Phillips, of imperishable memory, gives the following vivid de- 
scription of the old Bethel Church, typical of the church of the period, 
as he recalled it, after a lapse of more than seventy years: 

"Built of heavy, flawless ash logs, it did, indeed, stand 'four cornei'ed 
to every wind that blew.' Measured by the conception of its architects it 
was quite capacious, but in fact it was not over 24x34 feet. It had one 
door and two small windows in front, one window in each end, and a two 
pane window back of the pulpit. 

"That pulpit when the door of ingress and egress was shut, made the 
preacher look as if he were forted against assault from without; and it 
might be aptly termed a ministerial sweat-box. The men and women 
were entirely separated as they sat in church, the men on one side and 
the owmen on the other side of the single aisle. * * * It never oc- 
curred to the church committee in charge that to enable the occupants 
of the rear seats to see the speaker in front, the floor should be con- 
structed on a rising scale. Instead they made the pews on an ascending 
scale, so that the rearmost pew was about four feet from the floor, and 
the occupants had to vault or climb into them like getting into the upper 
berth of a Pullman sleeper without a step ladder. 

"The pastor of Bethel Church during the greater part of his attend- 
ance there, known as 'Father Jimmie Barnes,' was recalled by Judge 
Philips as a man 'powerful in exposition and fervid in delineation.' He 
seldom spoke less than an hour and it seemed to me that the hotter the 
day the longer the sermon. The seasons have their time to change and 
the leaves their time to fall, but Father Barnes never changed his garb 
of home made blue jeans, autumn, winter, spring or summer. He wore 
invariably the conventional high, stiff black stock, over which timidly 
peeped a fringe of shirt collar. 

"About one hundred yards to the northwest of the church was the 
camp ground. I can see the log huts, with bed quilts for partitions and 
straw for beds, covered with sheets and quilts. I can almost catch the 



HISTORY OF COOPER COUNTY 137 

aroma of roasting beef, chickens and sweet potatoes in the barbecue 
ditches. There was one figure about that camp ground indelibly fixed in 
my memory. It was 'Uncle Billie Street', the leader of revival songs. He 
was a mountain of flesh, weighing, when in good singing condition, about 
three hundred pounds. He had a voice that out-bellowed the bulls of 
Bashan, and when sinners were to be called to the mourner's bench, the 
very air vibrated with his Olympian verberation. I do not exaggerate in 
saying that I heard him one day from a pasture three quarters of a mile 
away singing his favorite revival song with the refrain, 'When this world 
is all on fire, glory Hallelujah.' " 

One hundred years ago a gentleman by the name of A. Fuller, who 
had been in the Boonslick country a few months wrote to his chum the 
following descriptive letter, which will doubtless be read with interest. 

"Franklin, Mo., Dec, 1819. 
Dear Tom : 

You need not scold; I have had too much to do to write to you fel- 
lows that live in civilized society. Here I am, on the extreme frontier of 
the settlements of our country, but would not exchange places with you 
for all your boasted luxuries. I can, within a mile or so, kill as many 
prairie chickens as I choose, and all other game of the season. 

The settlers of the country moved out of the forts last spring, and 
are about as happy a set as you can find on the earth to think that the 
Indians are to let them alone hereafter. I have become acquainted with 
most of the citizens of the town. The Hon. Judge Todd and family arrived 
here last summer, one of the most agreeable families that I have ever met. 
He is too liberal and kind for his own good; also Dr. Hutchinson, Dr. 
Lowry and General Smith. I do not think that you can understand the 
nobleness of such minds, as it is only here in the extreme west, where all 
have been accustomed to facing dangers every day, that they can be 
appreciated. We have three stores in this thriving place, an old gentle- 
man, Mr. Gaw; Stanley and Ludlow; and Sanganette & Bright, all doing 
fair business. We had two arrivals of steamboats during the summer, 
one a government boat. Western Engineer, on an exploring expedition. 
In place of a bowsprit, she has carved a great serpent, and as the steam 
escaped out of its mouth, it runs out a long tongue, to the pei-fect con- 
sternation of all Indians that see her. They say, "White man bad man, 
keep a great spirit chained and build fire under it to make it work a boat." 
The other was a boat loaded with government supplies, for the troops in 
the forts above here, also two hundred thousand dollars in specie. A 



138 HISTORY OF COOPER COUNTY 

large portion of her cargo was Monongahela whiskey. It looks like a 
dispensation of Providence that she should be sunk soon after leaving. 
The officers and visitors were desecrating the Sabbath by card playing and 
drinking. She left here and ran up to the head of the first island above 
here when she struck a snag and sank immediately, without the crew 
being able to save anything out of her. There she lies with all her silver 
and freight on her. There are in the neighborhood several forts, that 
were used by the people during the Indian difficulties. Fort Hempstead, 
about three miles back from the river; Cooper's Fort, ten miles above 
here, where were many of the hairbreath escapes of the wild west. At 
one time, when it was besieged by a large body of Indians, and they needed 
to communicate with the fort here, not having men to spare, a daughter 
of Colonel Cooper ventured to run the gauntlet, and mounting a fleet horse 
dashed through the Indians, reached the fort here, got the assistance 
needed, and was back in time to relieve her friends. Is there one of your 
city belles who could accomplish a similar feat? I guess not. I tell you, 
Tom, there is an independence and nobleness in the bearing of the young 
folks here, dressed in their home-made clothing, — the ease of gait and 
carriage, — that puts affectation and fine dresses in the shade. I am not 
carried away entirely by the nobleness of the wild frontier people, but 
there is a frank generosity with them that you in the east know nothing 
of, therefore you cannot appreciate it. There is also a fort across, the 
river from here called Cole's Fort, that had its share of trouble ; also one 
above the La Mine River. One of them, Mr. McMahan, from there, was 
coming down to Cole's Fort on business, when about two miles above here 
he was fired upon and killed by the Indians. One of the young Coles and 
one of the Roups were cutting a bee-tree in the woods near the path, and 
it is thought the Indians were crawling upon them, when Mr. McMahan, 
passing, was fired upon and killed. The men, Cole and Roup, hurried back 
to their fort for aid, and went to see what mischief the redskins had' been 
doing. Mr. McMahan was shot through the body. He ran his horse 
toward the river for about a quarter of a mile when he fell dead. The 
Indians, it is thought, saw the two men running for the fort and thought 
it safest to leave, which they did without following the flying men. I 
believe I could have set till this time, hearing of the hairbreadth escapes 
of the early settlers. They have laid out a town opposite here on the 
river, called Boonville, which they expect to eclipse this place, but the 
traders think Franklin will eclipse any town out west. I think likely it 
will if the river will let it alone. I went over the river last summer to 



HISTORY OF COOPER COUNTY 139 

attend the first sale of lots, intending to purchase some to build on, but 
they were run up to a fabulous price, away beyond my reach. There were 
some of the voters who appeared to be affected by patriotism acquired at 
the only (what was termed) tavern in the place, kept by a hard looking 
old fellow named Reames, who bowed politely to all who came in and asked 
for something to drink, and I was told the whiskey had actually not had 
time to cool before it was dealt out to the customers, having been brought 
all the way from a Mr. Houxe's where there is a horse mill and distillery ; 
so the people of Boonville, cannot only have liquor, but can have their corn 
ground ready for sifting. The mill and distillery are about a mile from 
the town. Adieu." 



CHAPTER VIII. 



FROM 1819 TO 1821. 



COOPER COUNTY FORMED— FIRST CIRCUIT COURT— FIRST RECORD OF CIRCUIT 
COURT— MARCH TERM, 1819— FIRST JUDGE OF ELECTION— FIRST CON- 
STABLE— JULY TERM, 1819 — FIRST LETTERS OF ADMINISTRATION— FIRST 
JURY CASE— PROCEEDINGS TO DIVIDE PROPERTY ON WHICH BOONVILLE 
IS LOCATED. 

Two years after the organization of Howard County the immigration 
began to flow so steadily into the southern part of the county that there 
was a great demand for the division of Howard County and for the 
formation of another county south of the Missouri River. Yielding to 
and in compliance with this demand the territorial Legislature on Dec. 
17, 1818, formed the new county of Cooper which included all of Howard 
County south of the Missouri River or, in other words, that territory 
included between the Missouri River and the Osage River extending west- 
wardly to the western territorial boundary. This territory embraced 
what are now eleven whole counties and five parts of counties. However, 
the limits of Cooper County were gradually decreased by the formation 
of new counties and in 1845 the boundaries of Cooper County were as they 
are today. The counties formed from the original territory of Cooper 
and when organized are as follows: Bates County, Jan. 29, 1841; Benton 
County, Jan. 3, 1835; Camden County, Jan. 29, 1841; Cass County, Sept. 
14, 1835 ; Cole County, Nov. 16, 1820 ; Henry County, Dec. 13, 1834 ; Jack- 
son County, Dec. 15, 1826; Johnson County, Dec. 13, 1834; LaFayette 
County, Nov. 16, 1820; Miller County, Feb. 26, 1837; Moniteau County, 
Feb. 14, 1845, being the last county organized from the original Cooper 
County; Morgan County, Jan. 5, 1833; Pettis County, Jan. 26, 1833; St. 
Clair County, Jan. 29, 1841; Saline County, Nov. 25, 1820. leaving the 
present Cooper County with its present boundaries. Only parts of the 



HISTORY OF COOPER COUNTY 141 

counties of Bates, St. Clair, Benton, Camden and Miller were included in 
Cooper. 

Although the act of the territorial Legislature creating the county 
was passed and approved in Dec, 1818, it was not, in fact, fully organized 
as a county vested with all the powers, privileges and immunities of a 
separate and distinct political subdivision until March 1, 1819, when the 
first Circuit Court was held in the county. The commissioners appointed 
by the Legislature to locate the county seat were Able Owens, William 
Wear, Charles Canole, Luke Williams and Julius Emmons. 

First Circuit Court. — The act of organization provided, that "the 
courts to be holden in the said county of Cooper, shall be holden at such 
place in said county as the commissioners of said county, or a majority 
of them, shall adjudge most convenient, until a place be fixed on by such 
commissioners, and a court-house and jail erected thereon; provided, that 
the first court for said county or Cooper be held at Boonville," and in 
accordance therewith, the first court of the newly organized county of 
Cooper, was held in the present limits of the city of Boonville, on the first 
day of March, 1819. It was held at the boarding-house of William Bart- 
lett, called the Boonville Tavern, which was situated on the flat just east 
of the mouth of Rupe's branch, and south of the Missouri Pacific passenger 
station. This court under the territorial laws of Missouri, exercised the 
present duties of the county, probate and circuit courts. The duties of 
these three courts continued to be exercised by this one court until the 
year 1821, when the duties of the probate and county courts were separated 
from those of the circuit court, and a new court, called the "county court", 
was organized. 

First Record of Circuit Court — March Term 1819. — Be it remembered 
that on the first day of March in the year 1819 at the house of William 
Bartlett in the town of Boonville, in the County of Cooper, the place 
directed by an act of the Legislature of the Territory of Missouri entitled 
"an act to establishing a part of Howard County into a separate county by 
the name of Cooper, the Honorable David Todd produced a commission 
from the governor of this territory appointing him Judge of the North- 
western Circuit of the said territory, as also a certificate of his qualifica- 
tions which are in the words and figures following, to-wit: Frederick 
Bates, Secretary of the Territory of Missouri and exercising the govern- 
ment thereof, to all who shall see these presents — Greeting! Know ye 
that reposing special trust and confidence in the integrity, ability and 
diligence of David Todd, I do appoint him Judge of the Court of the North- 



142 HISTORY OF COOPER COUNTY 

western Circuit, composed of the counties of Cooper, Howard, Montgom- 
ery, Lincoln and Pike, and empower him to discharge the duties of the 
said office according to law: To have and to hold the said office, with all 
the powers, privileges and emoluments to the same, of right appertaining 
from and after the first day of February next. In testimony whereof, I 
have hereunto affixed the seal of the said territory. Given under my hand 
at St. Louis the first day of January in the year of our Lord 1819 and of 
the Independence of the United States, the forty-third — 

FREDERICK BATES. 
Territory of Missouri, 
County of Howard, 
ss: 

Be it remembered that on the first day of February in the year of 
our Lord 1819 personally came David Todd and took the following oath, 
to-wit: An oath to support the constitution of the United States, and an 
oath to discharge the duties of Judge of the Court of the Northwestern 
Circuit in Missouri Territory to the best of his abilities and understanding 
and without fraud or partiality. 

Given under my hand and seal at Franklin the day and year written 
above. 

AUGUSTUS STORES, Justice of the Peace. 

Who then proceeded to open and hold a court for the said County of 
Cooper. 

William McFarland produced in court his commission from the gov- 
ernor of this territory appointing him sheriff of Cooper County in the 
following words and figures, viz: Frederick Bates, Secretary of the Tei 
tory of Missouri and exercising the government thereof. To all who shall 
see these presents, Greetings! Know ye that reposing special trust and 
confidence in the integrity, ability and diligence of William McFarland, T 
do appoint him sheriff of the County of Cooper and to administer oaths of 
office, within and for- the said county and empower him to discharge the 
duties of said office according to law. To have and to hold the said office, 
with all the powers, privileges and emoluments to the same of right 
appertaining for two years from first day of February next unless sooner 
removed. In testimony whereof, I have hereunto affixed the seal of the 
territory. Given under my hand at St. Louis the first day of January in 
the year of our Lord, 1819 and of the independence of the United States 
the forty-third. 

FREDERICK BATES. 



HISTORY OF COOPER COUNTY 143 

as also certificate of his qualification in the words and figures following, 

to-wit : 

Territory of Missouri, 

Northwestern Circuit, 

To-wit : 

This is to certify that on this 17th day of Feb., 1819, William Mc- 
Farland personally appeared before me, David Todd, the judge of the said 
circuit aforesaid including the County of Cooper, and took the oath to 
support the Constitution of the United States and faithfully to discharge 
the duties of his office of sheriff of said County of Cooper, according to 
law. Certified under my hand and seal the date above named. 

DAVID TODD, 
Judge of the Northwestern Circuit. 

And also a bond executed by him in vacation the words and figures 
following, to-wit : Know all men by these presents that we William McFar- 
land, Robert Wallace and Jacob McFarland, of the County of Cooper in the 
Territory of Missouri and held and firmly bound unto William Clark, the 
governor of the Territory of Missouri, and his successors in office in the 
penal sum of $5,000, current money of the United States, to which pay- 
ment well and truly to be made, we and each of us bind ourselves and 
our heirs executors and administrators jointly and severally firmly by 
these presents, sealed and dated this 17th day of February in the year 
1819. 

The condition of the above obligation is such that whereas the above 
bound, William McFarland hath been appointed and commissioned sheriff 
of the county of Cooper. Now the said William McFarland shall faith- 
fu'ly discharge the duties appertaining to his said office of sheriff of the 
said county of Cooper, according to law during his continuance in office, 
then this obligation to be void else to remain in full force and virtue. 
William McFarland, Robert Wallace. Witness, David Todd, J. N. McCart. 

March Term, 1819. — John S. Brickey produced his commission from 
the governor of this territory appointing him prosecuting attorney for the 
Northwestern Circuit, in the words and figures following, to-wit: "Fred- 
erick Bates, Secretary of the Territory of Missouri, and exercising the 
government thereof. To all who shall see these presents, Greeting. Know 
ye that reposing special trust and confidence in the integrity, abilities 
and diligence of John S. Brickey, I do appoint him Circuit Attorney for 
the Northwestern Circuit, composed of the counties of Cooper, Howard, 



144 HISTORY OF COOPER COUNTY 

Montgomery, Lincoln and Pike and empower him to discharge the duties 
of said office according to law. To have and to hold the said office with 
all the power, privileges and emoluments to same of right appertaining 
during the pleasure of the Governor of the Territory. In testimony 
whereof I have hereunto affixed the seal of the Territory. Given under 
my hand at St. Louis the first day of January in the year of our Lord 
1819 and of the independence of the United States the 43d. 

FREDERICK BATES. 



As also certificate of his qualification as following, to-wit: 

Missouri Territory, 
Northwestern Circuit : 
ss: 

I do hereby certify that the within named John S. Brickey appeared 
before me this first day of March, in the year 1819 and took the oath to 
support the Constitution of the United States and also to discharge the 
duties of prosecuting attorney for the Northwestern Circuit of Missouri 
Territory according to law. 

Given under my hand and seal the day and date above written. 

DAVID TODD, 
Judge of Northwestern Circuit. 

Samuel Peters foreman and Muke Box, John Savage, James Cham- 
bers, Britan Williams, John Roberts, Carroll George, John Davis, James 
Savage, Clatian Hurt, Joseph Smith, William Gibson, Eliot Henry, Fred- 
erick Haux, Thomas Twentyman, William Noland and Delaney Bolin were 
sworn a Grand Jury of inquest for the body of this county and having 
received their charge retired and after some time returned and having 
nothing to present were discharged. 

Ordered that process issue against John Cathy, Zephmiah Bell, Henry 
Geiger, George Cathy, Daniel Doogan and James Campbell, to cause them 
to appear at our next term to show cause if any they have or can say why 
the court should not proceed to fine them for not attending at this term 
as Grand Jurors returnable here at the next term. 

Ordered that court be adjourned until tomorrow morning at 10 o'clock. 

DAVID TODD. 



"Tv 








MM 


rWfww^SsKsS^HBHB^KBr* 






* 




, 






t 




r Mtm- 


c&fc — * * 








ShI 








, ifleg a -• b 


#- * 






iHh 8^1 


-Ibib^i 






JUa ft ' Jfl 








IN J 










^H"^j^ wVw^B^Hb 


















•f'ffli Itffl 






•,,.luju mu» 


5hHB? 


,«Kg|| • 






- 1 ■I^B 








..',.._. 


» 


^^■^■^■T '!■■■ Bi' K^H 



HISTORY OF COOPER COUNTY 145 

Tuesday, March 2, 1819. 
Present the Judge. 

Ordered that county be laid off into five townships as follows, to-wit: 

Moreaa Township: Beginning at the mouth of Saline Creek thence 
up the creek till the range line between ranges 15 and 16 strikes it, thence 
with that line south to the River Osage down the same to its mouth and 
up the Missouri River to the beginning. 

Lamine Township: Beginning at the mouth of Saline Creek thence 
up the Missouri River to the mouth of Lamine River, thence up the same 
and its south fork, to where the range line between ranges 21 and 22 
strikes the same thence south with said line to Osage River and down the 
sarrte to range line between 15 and 16 ranges will strike it, thence north 
with the line to the Saline Creek and down to its mouth, the place of 
beginning. 

Arrow Rock Township: Beginning at the mouth of the Lamine 
River up the Missouri to where the range line between ranges 20 and 21 
strikes the river, thence with said line south to the south fork of Lamine 
River and down said river to its mouth, the place of beginning. 

Miami Township: All that part of Cooper County, bounded on the 
north by Missouri River, on the east by range line between ranges 20 and 
21, on the west by the range line, between ranges 24 and 25, and south by 
the Osage River and county line. 

Tebo Township: All Cooper County bounded north by the River 
Missouri, east by range line between ranges 24 and 25, west by county and 
territorial line, and south by Osage River and county line. 

First Judge of Election in Cooper. — Ordered that William Weir, John 
Vertain and John Alexander be appointed judges of the election in Moreau 
Township and that said elections be held at Paul Whitneys in said town- 
ship. 

Ordered that James Bruffey, Robert Wallace and Benjamin F. Hicock 
be appointed judges of election in Lamine Township and that said election 
be held at the house of William Bartlett in said township. 

Ordered that William Lillard, Benjamin Chambers and James Ander- 
son be appointed judges of election in Arrow Rock Township and that said 
election be held at the house of William Cooper in said township. 

Ordered that Col. Jno. R. Thomas, Paul Eastes and John Evans be 
appointed judges of election in the township of Miami, and that such 
election be held at the house of Andrew Rupels in the said township. 
(10) 



146 HISTORY OF COOPER COUNTY 

Ordered that Julius Emmans, Gilliad Rupe and Abel Owens be ap- 
pointed judges of election in the Tebo Township and that such elections 
be held at the house of Mathew Coxe in the said township. 

First Constable Appointed. — This court appoints Paul Whitley 
constable in the Moreau Township upon his entering into bond and 
security in the clerks office in the penalty of $500 conditioned according 
to law. 

This court apoints John Potter constable in Lamine Township upon 
his entering into bond with security in the clerk's office in the penalty of 
$1,000 conditioned according to law. 

This court appoints Jacob Ish constable in Arrow Rock Township upon 
his entering into bond with security in the clerk's office in the penalty 
of $800, conditioned according to law. 

This court appoints Elisha Eva constable in Miami Township upon his 
entering into bond with security in the penalty of $400, conditioned as 
the law directs. 

This court appoints Green McCofferty constable in Tebo Township 
upon his entering into bond with security in the clerk's office in the penalty 
of $500 conditioned as the law directs. 

On the motion of Stephen Turley a license is granted him to keep a 
public ferry across Lamine River from the north side thereof, in the 
northeast quarter of section 10 in range 18 and township 48, to the south 
side of the river and it ordered that he charge and receive only the follow- 
ing rates for transportation, to-wit : For man and horse, 25c ; for each 
of either, 121/oc for wagons and teams of four horses, if loaded, $1.00; for 
wagon and team if empty with four horses, 75c; for each 2 wheel carriage 
with horse, 50c ; for horned cattle, 3c one head ; for meat cattle, 2c per 
head, and it is further ordered that he pay a tax therefor of five dollars 
who together with Henry Terrell his security entered into and acknowl- 
edges bond in the penalty of $400, conditioned according to law. 

On the motion of Bazadeel W. Leving, a license is granted Bazadeel 
W. Leving, Ward and Parker and Georgia Karr to keep a ferry from the 
south bank of the Missouri River in section numbered 33 of township 
numbered 49 of range numbered 15 west — to the opposite bank of the 
said river and it is ordered that he pay therefor a tax of five dollars and 
charge and receive only the following rates for transportation, to-wit: 
For man and horse, 50c; for either, 25c; for four wheeled loaded wagon 
and team of four horses or more, $3.00 ; if unloaded, $3.00 ; for 2 wheeled 



HISTORY OF COOPER COUNTY 147 

carriage and load, $1.00; for homed cattle, 4c per head; for meat cattle, 
3c per head — who together with Andrew Reaves their security entered 
into and acknowledged bond in the penalty of $500, conditioned as the law 
directs. 

On the motion of William McFarland, high sheriff of this county, 
ordered that Williamson H. Curtis be appointed under sheriff for this 
county, who took the oath as required by law for an under sheriff. 

On the motion of Bazadeel W. Leving who presented a partition for 
the same therefore' ordered that Richard Stanford, David Troller, William 
George and Benjamin Clark or any three of whom being first sworn do 
proceed to view and mark out a way for a road proposed to be opened 
from the town of Boonville to the bank of the Missouri River opposite the 
mouth of Moniteau Creek which enters into said Missouri River on the 
north side and make report to this court as the law directs. 

Bird Lockhart and George Tompkins who were appointed to examine 
the qualifications of the applicants for the office of surveyor, for the 
County of Cooper made their report, therefore this court doth nominate 
to the governor of this territory, William Ross as a fit and proper person 
to discharge the duties of the said office to be commissioned according to 
law. 

On the motion of Andrew Reaves who filed a petition therefor, ordered 
that Francis Travis, William Lewis and John Savage or any three of whom 
being first sworn do proceed to view and mark a way for a road beginning 
on the Missouri River, opposite the mouth of the grand Moniteau from 
thence in the most direct way towards Potosi so as to intersect the pro- 
posed road from Boonville to Potosi, near where it crosses little Moniteau 
Creek, and make report as the law directs to the court. 

John Potter with Ada Morgan and William Ross his securities entered 
into and acknowledged bond as constable in Lamine Township in the 
penalty of $1,000 conditioned according to law and also made law as 
directed by law. 

This court appointed James Bruffer, Benjamin F. Hicock and Robert 
Wallace commissioners to superintend the building of a court house and 
jail for this county and to perform all other duties as required by the act 
establishing Cooper County. 

On the motion of Peyton Thomas who filed a petition, therefor — 
Ordered that William Savage, David Reaves, Frederick Haux and Halbert 
Cole or any three of whom being first sworn do proceed to view and mark 



148 HISTORY OF COOPER COUNTY 

out a way for a road from Boonville to Turley ferry on Lamine River and 
reoprt the same to this court as the law directs. 

Ordered that court be adjourned until court in course. 

DAVID TODD. 

July Term, 1819. — At a court held within and for the county of 
Cooper, at the house of William Bartlett in the town of Boonville on Mon- 
day, the fifth day of July, in the year 1819. Present, the Honorable 
David Todd, Esq. 

Robert P. Clark produced in court a commission from the governor 
of this territory appointing him clerk of the Circuit Court for the County 
of Cooper. 

Peyton R. Hayden, Esq., produced in court a license and certificate 
of qualification as an attorney and counselor at law in this territory which 
was examined by the court. He is therefore allowed to practice as such 
in this court. 

James Bruffer, foreman ; Peter Stephens, Henry Small, Mansfield Hat- 
field, Stephen Tate, Joseph Biler, Benjamin F. Heckcose, James Turner. 
Joshua W. Butcher, Spear Fort, William Savage, Humphrey Gibson, 
Edward Robison, John Brock, Ephraim Elison, John Ross. 

David Burris, Joseph Westbrook and James D. Campbell were sworn 
a grand jury of inquest for the body of this county and having received 
their charge retired and after some time returned an indictment against 
Stanley G. Morgan for assault and battery, a true bill and having more 
business to consider of, retired. 

United States, plaintiff vs. John Cathey, defendant, for contempt. 
This day came as well the prosecuting attorney as the defendant in his 
proper person and after hearing the defense of the defendant it is con- 
sidered that he pay the cost herein expended, therefore it is considered 
that the United States recover against the said defendant the cost herein 
expended and defendant may be taken, etc. 

Same, plaintiff vs. Henry Geyer, defendant, for contempt. This day 
came as well the prosecuting attorney as the defendant in his proper 
person and after hearing the defendant it is considered by the court that 
he make his fine to the United States by the payment of one dollar and 
the cost hereof and may be taken, etc. 

United States, plaintiff vs. George Cathey, defendant, for contempt. 

This day came as well the prosecuting attorney as the defendant in 
his proper person and after hearing the defendant it is considered by the 
court that he pay the cost hereof and may be taken, etc. 



HISTORY OF COOPER COUNTY 14!) 

United States, plaintiff vs. Zephimah Bell, defendant, for contempt. 
This day came as well the circuit attorney who prosecutes for the United 
States as the defendant in his proper person and after hearing the defend- 
ant it is considered by the court that the said defendant make his fine to 
the United States by the payment of one dollar and pay the cost herein 
expended and may be taken, etc. 

First Letters of Administration. — On the motion of Joseph Irwin, 
letters of administration is granted him on the estate of Joseph Irwin, 
deceased, who made oath and together with David James and William 
McFarlin his securities entered into and acknowledged bond in the penalty 
of $4,000 conditioned as the law directs. 

On the motion of Joseph Irwin, administrator of the estate of Joseph 
Irwin, deceased, ordered that Littleberry Estes, John Evans and Anthony 
Thomas, who being first sworn do inventory and appraise the personal 
estate and slaves (if any) of the estate of Joseph Irwin, deceased and 
make return thereof to this court as the law directs. 

First Case Tried Before a Jury. — United States, plaintiff vs. Stanley 
G. Morgan, defendant, case. This day came as well the defendant in 
discharge of his recognizance as the prosecuting attorney, whereupon the 
said defendant being arraigned upon the indictment in this cause plead 
not guilty and for his trial put himself upon God, and his country, and 
circuit attorney also, whereupon came a jury, viz: William Burk, William 
Black, Gabriel Titsworth, William Dillard, Michael Hornbeck, Nicholas 
Houck, William Reed, Alexander Dickson, David Reavis, Frederick Houk, 
David McGee, and Samuel Peters, who being elected, tried and sworn the 
truth to say, of and upon the issue joined upon their oaths do say that the 
defendant is guilty of the assault and battery whereupon it is considered 
by the court that the said defendant make his fine to the United States 
by the payment of the sum of five dollars and pay the cost hereof and be 
taken, etc. 

Proceedings to Divide Property on Which BoonviHe is Now Located. — 
Ada Morgan, plaintiff vs. Mary Gillman and the representative of Charles 
Lucas, defendant. Petition for division of land. The commissioners ap- 
pointed by an order of the Howard Circuit Court on the petition of Ada 
Morgan, to divide the land held jointly between said parties above named 
returned this day a report of having in part executed said order, and a 
majority of said commissioners, to- wit: Gray Bynum and Augustus 
Storis appeared in court and acknowledged the said report to have been 
signed and executed by them which being examined was approved of by 



150 HISTORY OF COOPER COUNTY 

the court and together with the plat of the town of Boonville the lots of 
which were divided and which plat was returned by them as a part of their 
report is ordered to be recorded. 

William Ross produced in court a commission from the governor of 
this territory bearing date the 28th day of April 1819, appointing him 
surveyor of the county of Cooper, who made oath as the law directs, and 
who together with William Gibson and Stephen Cole his securities entered 
into and acknowledged bond in penalty of $2,000 conditioned according 
to law. 

At the July term, 1819, the Grand Jury shows activity. The offenses 
were trivial. The early settlers were gradually learning obedience to 
written statutes. 

The Grand Jury impanelled and sworn this court returned again into 
court, presented an indictment against John H. Moore and Churchwell 
Box. Stephen Cole, Jr., Stephen Cole, Sr., and John Roberts "a true bill" 
and then they retired and after some time returned an indictment against 
Stanley G. Morgan "a true bill" also an indictment against William War- 
den "a true bill", also an indictment against Jesse Mann, "a true bill" also 
an indictment against Isaac Renfro "a true bill" also an indictment against 
William Bryant, "a true bill", also an indictment against Williamson H. 
Curtis, "a true bill" also an indictment vs. Samuel Potter, "a true bill" 
and having nothing further to present, were discharged. 

Further reproductions of the records of the court would doubtless be 
wearisome to the reader. There were a number of petitions for roads 
presented and as one would judge from the licenses issued for the estab- 
lishment of ferries across the Missouri River and other streams it would 
verify the fact that immigration south of the Missouri River was increas- 
ing from day to day. 

That the settlers were beginning to feel the force and effect of written 
statutes and courts is evidenced by the fact that at the March term, 1820, 
the following men were indicted by the Grand Jury for swearing: Jesse 
Mann, Isaac Renfro, William Warden, William Bryant, Thomas Brown, 
Stephen Tate, John S. Moreland, David Fine. This action, however, 
seemed to be more to caution than to punish. These indictments were 
afterwards dismissed by the court for want of jurisdiction. 

Up to Jan. 23, 1821, the following attorneys were enrolled and prac- 
ticing in this coui't: Peyton R. Hayden, being the first enrolled; George 
Tompkins, John S. Brickey, Cyrus Edwards, John S. Mitchell, Hamilton R. 
Gamble, Andrew McGirk, Robert McGavock, Abiel Leonard, John F. 



HISTORY OF COOPER COUNTY 151 

Ryland, Arinstedd A. Grundy, Dabney Carr, William J. Redd and John 
Payne. Among these we find the names of many who afterwards occu- 
pied offices of trust in the state of Missouri. Indeed, all of them are noted 
as being fine lawyers and honorable men. 

The records of the court show that during the year 1819, there were 
but four peddlers and six merchants within the limits of Cooper County, 
and that the total amount of revenue on the tax-book for 1819, as charged 
to William Curtis, sheriff, at the July term of this court, 1819, was $488.34. 

All these terms of court were held at William Bartlett's boarding 
house called the Tavern of Boonville. This was but a crude log cabin 
but answered well the purpose of those early days. During the year 1819 
there were but seven marriage certificates recorded. We herewith give 
some of the (jrst marriages. On the 11th day of February, 1819, John 
Turner and Nancy Campbell were united in marriage by Benjamin Proc- 
ter, a minister of the gospel. On the 3d day of May, 1819, Peyton Newlin, 
M. G., joined together in the bonds of matrimony, John Smith and Sally 
McMahan. William Weir, on the 28th day of June, 1819, solemnized the 
nuptials of Jeremiah Meadows and Anne Music. The same William Weir, 
Justice of Peace, on the 8th day of July, 1819, performed the ceremony 
uniting Henry Cowin and Honor Howard. On the 6th day of May, 1819, 
Benjamin F. Hickcox, Justice of Peace, performed the marriage ceremony 
between John Green and Nancy Boyd. On the 12th day of Sept., 1819, 
James Bruffee, J. P., joined together in the holy state of matrimony, 
Charles Force and Betsy Connor. On the 13th day of April, 1820, David 
Coulter and Eliza Stone were united in marriage by William Weir, J. P., 
and on the 17th day of July, 1820, Finis Ewing, M. G., who was the father 
of Cumberland Presbyterianism, performed the marriage ceremony 
between Larkin Dewitt and Hannah Ewing. 

Beginning in 1817 the settlers of the territory of Missouri were 
clamoring steadily and strenuously for statehood. In Jan., 1818, a 
memorial was presented to Congress by the Hon. John Scott, the delegate 
from the territory. In this memorial the petitioners gave potent reasons 
why the new state should be organized. Other petitions were sent up 
from various sections of the state and many of the settlers of Cooper 
County were signers of the petitions, and active in the movement to have 
the territory admitted as a state. All these petitions § have been lost 
except one. A few years ago Representative Bartholt, of St. Louis, acci- 
dentally discovered one of these petitions, said to be the only one in exist- 
ence, in the capitol, at Washington, and had it sent to the M. S. S. Division 



152 HISTORY OF COOPER COUNTY 

of the Library of Congress where it has been framed and is thus perm- 
anently preserved. In Dec, 1818, the territorial Legislature of Missouri 
took up this subject and also adopted a memorial praying for the estab- 
lishment of a state government, supplementing the original petition. This 
agitation at this time marks the beginning of the great contest between 
the advocates of slavery and those who opposed that institution. The 
controversy in Congress was bitter and the admission of the territory 
into the union as a state was delayed by reason of slavery restrictions 
sought to be placed upon the admission of the Missouri territory as a state 
into the union. The admission of the territory into the union as a state 
thus became a national question, eliciting the deepest interests and 
energies of the greatest intellects of our nation. The anti-slavery move- 
ment was strong, especially in the east. So vital had beconfe this ques- 
tion which was involved in the formation of the new state of Missouri that 
Thomas Jefferson, erudite, scholarly and a deep student of governmental 
affairs, expressed the fear that it would eventually disrupt the Union. 
Cooper County at this time was a slave holding county and its citizens 
largely from the southern states, were deeply interested in the terms upon 
which the state would be formed. However, a bill was passed by the 
House and Senate generally known as the "Missouri Compromise" author- 
izing the people of the Missouri territory to form a constitution and state 
government and for the admission of such state into the Union on an equal 
footing with the original states and limiting slavery in other territory. 
This act was approved the 6th day of March, 1820. The state of Missouri 
had at this time been organized into 15 counties. An election was held 
on the first Monday and two succeeding days of May, 1820, to choose 
representatives to a state convention which was to meet at the seat of 
government (then St. Louis), on Monday, June 12th of the same year. 
Cooper County sent, as its representatives, Robert P. Clark, Robert Wal- 
lace and William Lillard. 

Forty-one representatives met at the designated time in St. Louis 
at the Mansion House on the corner of Vine and Third streets and con- 
cluded their labors by signing the constitution that was framed on the 
19th day of July. David Barton was the president of the convention. 
Barton was one of the ablest and most remarkable men that Missouri has 
ever produced. On the admission of the state into the union, he was 
unanimously elected to the United States Senate and it was through his 
influence that Benton, at the same session of the legislature, was elected 
to the Senate as his associate. He served in the United States Senate 



HISTORY OF COOPER COUNTY 153 

from 1821 to 1831, was afterwards elected to the State Senate while a 
citizen of Cooper County, and finally ended his brilliant career by depart- 
ing this life, demented, at the house of William Gibson, one mile from 
Boonville. His remains are interred in Walnut Grove cemetery at Boon- 
ville. 

It would be going too far afield for us to go farther into the history 
of the admission of our state into the Union. Suffice it to say that on the 
26th day of July, 1821, the territorial Legislature of Missouri in special 
session adopted a solemn public act declaring assent of the state to the 
fundamental condition of admission and forthwith transmitted to the 
president a copy of same. On Aug. 10, 1821, President Monroe proclaimed 
the admission of Missouri into the Union to be complete and the state 
took its rank as the 24th of the American Republics. 



CHAPTER IX. 



FROM 1821 TO 1834. 



SIZE OF COOPER COUNTY REDUCED— FIRST COUNT V COURT— FIRST OFFICERS- 
COUNTY SEAT LOCATED— FIRST COURT HOUSE— FIRST WILL PROVED— JOHN 
V. SHARP— ELECTIONS — PARTY LINES— FALL OF OLD FRANKLIN. 

The territory of Cooper County was considerably decreased in size 
in Nov., 1820, by the formation of the counties of Saline, Lafayette and 
Cole. 

The first county court held in the county was on the 8th day of Jan., 
1821, and its first session was held at the house of Robert P. Clark, on 
High street, in the city of Boonville. This court then exercised the powers 
and performed the duties of the present county and probate courts. Here- 
tofore these duties had been performed by the Circuit Court. 

The County Court continued to perform the duties of both County 
and Probate Court until the year 1827, when by act of the Legislature, the 
Probate Court was separated from the County Court, and invested with 
separate powers and prerogatives and was required to perform certain 
duties, and so continues separate till the present time. 

James McNair, the governor of the Territory of Missouri, appointed 
as the justice of the County Court, James Bruffee, James Miller and Archi- 
bald Kavanaugh. Robert P. Clark was appointed by the court as its 
clerk, and William Curtiss as sheriff. 

On the 9th day of April, 1821, Robert P. Clark produced his commis- 
sion from the governor, as clerk of the County Court, "during life or good 
behavior." 

After Missouri entered into the sisterhood of states, and these 
officers became elected, it would seem that the people confirmed the judg- 
ment of Governor McNair, for they kept Clark in office during life and 
determined that his behavior was good. 



HISTORY OF COOPER COUNTY 155 

George Crawford was appointed assessor and Andrew Briscoe col- 
lector of Cooper county. On the same day the will of Thomas McMahan, 
deceased, was probated, this being the first will proved before this court. 
Also constables were appointed for the different townships of the county 
as follows: Boonville township, John Potter; Lamine township, Bryant 
T. Nolan ; Moniteau township, Martin Jennings ; Clear Creek township, 
James C. Berry. 

George C. Harte was appointed commissioner to run a dividing line 
between Cooper and Cole Counties. 

When Messrs. Morgan and Lucas laid out the town of Boonville, they 
donated fifty acres to the county on condition that the commissioners 
selected to locate the county seat would locate the same at Boonville. The 
commissioners, named in the preceding chapter, located the county seat 
at Boonville, deeming it the best place to hold the courts. A part of the 
land donated by Morgan and Lucas was sold by the county, and the County 
Court thereupon commenced the building of a court house, which was 
located on the land donated to the county. It was adequate for the courts 
of the period and sufficient for the needs of the officers of the court. 

It was a small two-story brick building, very much the style of the 
one recently torn down by the present generation, although much smaller. 
It was completed in 1823. It was torn down at the time the second court 
house was built, and some of the brick were used in the construction of 
the second court house. It will be remembered that the present court 
house is the third one erected by Cooper County. The second court house, 
which was situated on the same spot on which the old one was located, 
was completed in the year 1840. It was a large and commodious two-story 
brick building, and was situated on a high piece of ground overlooking the 
river, from the cupola of which an excellent view could be had of Cooper 
and Howard Counties. The present elegant court of justice occupied prac- 
tically the same location, being somewhat further west of the site of the 
second building. 

The first will proved in the County Court, which then had jurisdiction 
in probate matters, was that of Thomas McMahan, Sr. Its quaint phrase- 
ology, as well as the time it was made, may interest the reader, and we 
here reproduce it. "In the name of God, Amen, I, Thomas McMahan, Sr., 
of the Arrow Rock township in Cooper County and State of Missouri, 
being weak in body, but of sound mind and memory, thanks be given unto 
God, calling unto mind the mortality of my body, etc., do make and ordain 
this my last will and testament. That is to say principally and first of 



156 HISTORY OF COOPER COUNTY 

all I give and recommend my soul into the hand of Almighty God, who 
gave it, and my body I recommend to the earth to be buried in decent 
Christian burial at the descretion of my friends. And as touching such 
worldly estate wherewith it hath pleased God to bless me in this life, I 
give demise and dispose of the same in the following manner and form. 

First, I lend to by beloved wife, Diana McMahan, during her natural 
life, the whole of my estate, real and personal for her own proper use and 
benefit. Under the care of my executors hereinafter named. 

Second. At the death of my wife, I will that all my personal estate 
be equally divided amongst my four children hereinafter named or their 
representatives. (That is) I will that all the children of my daughter, 
Elizabeth McGee, deceased, have one childs part equally divided amongst 
them. I will that my daughter, Mary McMahan, have one child's part, 
which I give to her and her children forever. I give to the children of 
my son, Samuel McMahan, deceased, one child's part of my personal estate 
to be equally divided amongst them as their property forever. I will 
that my daughter, Susannah McMahan, shall have a child's or fourth part 
of my personal estate to her and her heirs forever. 

Third. After the death of my said wife I give and bequeath unto 
my son, Thomas McMahan, my negro man, Samuel, instead of giving 
him any part of my personal estate, which negro Samuel, I give to him 
and his heirs forever. 

Fourth. After the death of my said wife, I give and bequeath to 
my son, James McMahan, my negro woman, Edey, instead of giving him 
any part of my personal property, which negro woman and her increase 
after the death of my wife, I give to him and his heirs forever; but in 
case either of the aforesaid negroes, Samuel or Edey, should die or 
lost before the death of myself and wife then, and in that case I will that 
my son, Thomas or James, or both, as the case may be should have an 
equal child's part of my personal estate with the afore named children 
that are to share my personal estate, or if my negro woman, Edey, should 
have any living children in the lifetime of myself or wife aforesaid, I 
leave it with my said children to divide such increase amongst them as 
they may think fit and proper, or should the personal estate amount to 
more by valuation at the time of the division, to each share than the value 
of one of the said negroes then my will is that after each sharer getting 
the value of one of said negroes the over plus, if any, be equally divided 
amongst all my children or their representatives as aforesaid. And lastly 
I do hereby constitute and appoint my two sons, Thomas McMahan and 



HISTORY OF COOPER COUNTY 157 

James McMahan executors of this my last will and testament, requesting 
and enjoining it on them to faithfully execute every part of this my will 
and make all such dividend with the other heirs as are herein mentioned. 

And I do hereby utterly disallow, revoke, and disannul all and every 
other former testaments, wills, legacies, bequests and executors by me 
in any wise before named, willed, or bequeathed, ratifying and confirming 
this and no other to be my last will and testament — IN WITNESS whereof, 
I have hereunto set my hand and seal this twenty-first day of January in 
the year of our Lord 1821. 

P. S. — Should myself or wife, or both, become helpless and dependent 
on our children, I also will that them that takes care of us should be paid 
for their trouble out of my personal estate before any division is further 
made. THOMAS McMAHAN. 

Signed and sealed in the presence of us who in his presence and at 
his request and in presence of each other have hereunto set our names. 
Peyton Nowlin, Bryan T. Nowlin, Pewton W. Nowlin." 

During the year 1821, John V. Sharp, a soldier who had served in the 
Revolutionary War, and who was living in Cooper County, became paralyzed 
and as helpless as a child. He soon, not having any means of his own, 
became a charge upon the county. The cost of to the County Court was 
two dollars per day for his board and attention to him, besides bills for 
medical attention. 

After having endeavored in vain to raise sufficient funds to take care 
of him, the County Court, in the year 1822, petitioned the General As- 
sembly of this state to defray the expenses of his support, stating in the 
petition, that the whole revenue of the county was not sufficient for his 
maintenance. This may sound strange to a person living in a county in 
which thousands of dollars are levied to defray its expense. But the 
whole revenue of the county for 1822, as shown by the settlement of the 
collector, was only $718, and the support of Mr. Sharp, at two dollars per 
day, cost $730 per year, besides the cost of medical attention, which left 
the county, at the end of the year 1822, in debt, without counting in any 
of the other expenses of the county. The petition not having been 
granted by the General Assembly, the court levied, for his support, during 
all the years from 1823 to 1828, a special tax of 50 per cent, of the state 
revenue tax, being an amount equal to the whole of the general county 
tax ; and in 1828, ten per cent, of the state revenue was levied for the same 
purpose. He must have died some time during the year 1828, as no 
further levy for his support appears upon the records of the county, thus 



158 HISTORY OF COOPER COUNTY 

relieving the county of a burdensome tax. If these facts were not matters 
of record, they would seem too incredible to be believed. 

In the heated contest for the presidency, between Clay and Jackson 
in the year 1824, Cooper County cast her vote for Clay. It was to pay a 
debt of gratitude to Henry Clay for his great services as a member of 
Congress in the struggle of the state of Missouri for admission into the 
Union. The vote of the county for President at this election cannot be 
found. Only four books of this election are obtainable. They show that 
Henry Clay had 136 and Andrew Jackson 53 votes according to these four 
poll books. Of course this was but a small part of the vote cast by the 
county at that election. 

On the eighth day of December, 1825, there was held a special elec- 
tion for governor, to fill the vacancy caused by the death of Frederick 
Bates. David Todd, the first circuit judge of Cooper County and holding 
that office at this time, John Miller, Wm. C. Carr and Rufus Easton were 
the candidates. David Todd received a large majority in Cooper County. 
At the election on the first Monday in August, 1826, John Scott and 
Edward Bates were candidates for Congress. Scott had a majority of 
124 in the county. 

Michale Dunn, Jordan O'Bryan, James L. Collins and John H. Hutch- 
ison were candidates for representatives. Michale Dunn and Jordan 
O'Bryan were elected. W. H. Anderson and David P. Mahan were candi- 
dates for sheriff. Anderson was elected by 53 majority ; and Hugh Allison 
was elected coroner. 

This was the first election in which party lines were closely drawn, 
for before that, men had voted for the man whom they considered best 
qualified ; and not because he belonged to any party. The poll books of 
the presidential election could not be found, but the August election for 
Representative in Congress and county officers, having the same principles 
at issue, will show pretty clearly how the presidential election went. There 
were two tickets, viz: Adams and Jackson, and the tickets on which the 
men were, who were elected is marked opposite their names. 

At the election in Nov., 1828, the county voted for Jackson over 
Adams, by a majority of about 230 votes ; and also in 1832 Jackson was 
re-elected, and received a large majority in this county. 

It should be remembered that up to 1826, Franklin was the mart of 
commerce and the thriving metropolis of that section of territory formerly 
known as the central Boonslick country. It had sprung into opulence on 
the banks of the turbulent Missouri as if a magician had waved his magic 



HISTORY OF COOPER COUNTY 159 

wand over the wilderness. It became the center of a great trade, and 
here the caravans destined for Santa Fe and the great southwest were 
equipped and supplied for that trade. Its local trade reached out for 
many miles in every direction, and settlers of Cooper traded and bartered 
there. Boonville was then but a hamlet of log cabins of the period plain, 
unadorned, but comfortable. 

In 1826, Franklin had a population variously estimated at from 1,800 
to 3,000, a substantial population in part. Some of whom, however, were 
of the shifting, adventurous, speculating element. It numbered among 
its residents wealthy, enterprising and cultured men, mostly from Tenn- 
essee, the Carolinas, Virginia and Kentucky, and some from the eastern 
states, many of whom rose to prominence, and left their ineffaceable 
impress upon our state. 

In the spring of that year, the Missouri river overflowed its banks. 
Franklin was built upon shifting sand and because of its low and flat loca- 
tion, suffered greatly from the high water, and as well from the malaria 
which followed. 

The constant falling in and washing away of the river banks inun- 
dated the buildings. This occurred to a great extent in 1826, many 
houses going into the river. Its citizens became satisfied that every 
future effort to protect the banks from the river would be futile upon their 
part, and thus believing, many residents and business men left the place, 
some of them settling in the town of New Franklin, two and a half miles 
back from the river in Howard County, just in edge of the hills; some in 
Fayette, then the county seat of Howard; and some came to Boonville, a 
few of the latter bringing not only their goods, but their houses. 

This marked the beginning of the rapid growth of Boonville, and the 
time when she became the supply center for the Santa Fe trade and of the 
great southwest territory. 

Franklin had been greatly shorn of its influence. The county seat 
had been moved to Fayette. Much of the business which had been trans- 
acted by its merchants and tradesmen had been withdrawn and turned 
into other channels. 

James L. Collins, William Harlin, Andrew Adams and others, had 
located at Boonville and were conducting a successful and extensive trade 
with the Santa Fe country a trade which had heretofore contributed to 
the business of Franklin and the wealth of those who were thus engaged. 

This year also marked the beginning of a rapid settlement and de- 
velopment of Cooper County. 



CHAPTER X. 



FROM 1834 TO 1847. 



NATIONAL AND LOCAL POLITICS— VIGOROUS CAMPAIGNS— CLAY .VXD POLK— "O. K." 
—INDIAN ALARM— MORMON WAR— FLOOD OF 1S44— MEXICAN WAR— COOPER 
COUNTY COMPANY. 

The county gave a small majority to Martin Van Buren, in 1836. 
The county remained Democratic until 1840, when the Whigs made a clean 
sweep, electing their full ticket. Reuben A. Ewing, a Whig, was elected 
State Senator over David Jones, Democrat; and Jno. G. Miller, Jordan 
O'Bryan and Lawrence C. Stephens, Whigs, over John Miller, B. F. Hickox 
and Henry Crowther, Democrats, by an average majority of about 75 
votes. There was great excitement during this election and politics ran 
very high. The Whigs held public meetings in regular order on each suc- 
ceeding Saturday in each township, until the full rounds were made. They 
had a band of music engaged for the occasion, flags and banners, with 
mottoes inscribed thereon also with songs appropriate for the occasion, 
and eloquent speakers, the prominent ones among which were John G. 
Miller, Jordan O'Bryan, John C. Richardson, Robert C. Harrison and others. 

The Democrats, however, made little or no display, condemned the 
tactics of the Whigs as noisy, boisterous and unseemly; pronounced the 
Whigs as deceivers and humbuggers and taunted them with using cain 
efforts to win votes by exciting the people. The Democrats held their 
meetings and had frequent public speakings without any display or show. 
Their candidates for the Legislature were John Miller, Benjamin F. Hickox 
and Henry Crowther. The campaign was lively, vigorous, stormy and 
frequently the personal element entered bitterly in the discussion. 

The county remained Whig as long as the Whig party remained in 



HISTORY OF COOPER COUNTY 161 

existence. The last candidate on the Whig ticket was General Scott, who 
was succeeded by Franklin Pierce. 

The campaign of 1844 was lively with more parade and ostentation 
on the part of the Whigs than was exhibited in 1840 or the years before. 
For President, Henry Clay, of Kentucky, was the nominee of the Whig 
party, and James K. Polk, of Tennessee, of the Democratic party. 

During this exciting campaign, many songs were written, but none 
was more popular than the following, which was the effusion of some 
Boonville poet. It was written for the Boonville Register during the cam- 
paign of 1843. 

Henry Clay and James K. Polk. 

"The whigs call Henry Clay a coon, 
And say he'll be elected soon; 
But James K. Polk will got it alone, 
And make old Henry walk jaw-bone. 
So get out of the way, old Kentucky, 
And clear the track for one more lucky. 

"The whigs cried out for 'home perfection,' 
And think to gain old Clay's election. 
They hold conventions, shout and sing, 
'Huzza for Clay!' he is our king. 
But get out of the way, old Kentucky, etc. 

"The whigs of '40 did invent 
All schemes to elect their president, 
And were successful, it is true, 
But now 'humbuggery will not do. 
So get out of the way, etc. 

"Their coon-skins and barrels of cider 
Have opened the people's eyes some wider; 
They cannot now be gulled so soon 
By this very same old coon. 
So get out of the way, etc. 
(11) 



162 HISTORY OF COOPER COUNTY 

"The squatters on the public land 
Will all unite into one band; 
Then will the 'lawless rabble' say, 
You cannot come it, Henry Clay. 
So get out of the way, etc. 

"The people of this mighty nation 
Will not submit to coon dictation ; 
So Mr. Clay may rest content, 
He never can be president. 
So get out of the way," etc. 

Not long ago the following query appeared in the "Evening Post" 
of Indiana: "People constantly write the letters '0. K.' to say all right. 
How did this practice originate?" The Post gave the following answer: 
"The practice got its start in the days of General Jackson, known to the 
men of his time as Old Hickory. It was said that General Jackson was 
not as proficient in spelling as in some other things, and so in the abbre- 
viating which he practised, '0. K.' stands for 'all correct' ('Oil Korrect.') 
This is as near as our data at present allows us to come to the origin of 
the now wide practice. 

Reading this answer, a gentleman who signs his initials J. W. D., 
addressed the editor of the "Evening Post," the following: "I note what 
you say about the origin of the practice of using the letters '0. K.' to 
signify 'correct' or 'all right.' It seems to be that your informant is 
wrong. I am quite sure that this practice originated during the Clay 
and Polk campaign. At that time the writer was a boy, living in Boon- 
ville, Mo. You all know what a lively campaign the Clay and Polk cam- 
paign was. Mr. Clay was the idol of the Whigs, and was affectionately 
called 'Old Kentucky.' Those who favored his election put up their flags 
on ash poles, at all the cross-roads, country taverns and wood yards on 
the river, while the Dmocrats put up hickory poles with poke bushes 
at the top, the Whigs using for a flag a square of whole cloth with the 
letters '0. K.' signifying 'Old Kentucky.' The Democrats used a streamer 
with 'Polk and Dallas,' Oregon and Texas.' 

"The town of Boonville boasted two newspapers, one the 'Observer,' 
a Whig paper, conducted by one Caldwell, a very brilliant young man, 
the other the 'Boonville Register,' conducted by one Ira Van Nortrick. 
Toward the close of the campaign the editor of the 'Register' came out 



HISTORY OF COOPER COUNTY 163 

in a very salty editorial, denouncing the ignorance of the Whigs and 
demanding to know 'What does "0. K." mean anyhow?' Caldwell came 
back at him with the information that he would find out '0. K.' meant 
'Oil Korrect' in November. The expression took like wildfire; the boys 
yelled it, chalked it on the fences. Like other slang, it seemed to fill a 
want, and upon the inauguration of the telegraph, in '46, the adoption 
of '0. K.,' I was informed by one of the first operators in the country, 
Mr. E. F. Barnes, introduced to the business public, as he was one of the 
parties organizing the system of signals used by the company. Then it 
passed into general use. Of course Missouri was not the only place 
where Mr. Clay was called 'Old Kentucky.' A favorite song of the Whigs, 
both in Missouri and Kentucky, only a line or two of which I can now 
recall to mind, sung to the tune of 'Old Dan Tucker,' ran about thus : 

" 'The balky hoss they call John Tyler, 
We'll head him soon, or bust a biler !' 
"Chorus : 

" 'So get out of the way, you're all unlucky. 
Clear the track for "Old Kentucky" !' " 

An incident of this campaign, illustrative of the attendant excite- 
ment, and doubtless bitterness engendered among the thoughtless and 
reckless class, is referred to in an article we take from the "Boonville 
Observer." It will be noted that the "Observer" in no mincing or apolo- 
getic words condemns the rowdyism mentioned, though evidently com- 
mitted by one or more persons of its political persuasion: 

"One of the most shameful acts that we have ever known perpe- 
trated in any community or on any occasion, was committed in this city 
on last Friday night, at the Whig gathering in the court-house, where 
a part of the convention had assembled to hear speaking. Some debased 
' tch during the evening cut the Howard and Lafayette banners which 
had the portraits of Mr. Clay on them. They were cut about the throat 
of the picture, and also in other places. If a Democrat used the hand 
and knife that slit those banners, we do not know that it would be much 
too severe a punishment upon him to be served likewise. No prudent 
Democrat can object to the Whig party's emblem or banners. It is the 
privilege of all parties in this country to have them, and an uplifted 
voice of indignation should chase the wretch who will molest the banner 
of his opponent when exercising only the same privilege that our insti- 



164 HISTORY OF COOPER COUNTY 

tutions guaranteed to him. As a Democrat, we sincerely regret that so 
mean an act could have been committed here on that occasion. The 
Club here, we understand, has offered a reward of $100 for the detection 
of the man who committed this foul stain upon our community ; and the 
Democrats will do their utmost also, to detect him. In the political point 
of view it will do no harm, but good citizens want no man who is capable 
of such a deed among them." 

We will at this time continue no further the political history of 
Cooper County, but will revert to the year 1836. In that year, wild 
reports and rumors were circulated that the Indians had broken out, 
and were attacking the settlers living within the present limits of Pettis 
County, then part of Cooper and Saline counties, and were slaying men, 
women and children as they went. The excitement was great, and men 
began to assemble in that portion of the county to aid in the defense of 
the homes of their neighbors. The place of rendezvous for those who 
went from Cooper County was Wooley's Mill, on the Petit Saline Creek. 
Here they organized and elected their officers. After doing so, they 
marched to the supposed seat of war, but on their arrival, they found no 
Indians had been there, and that it had been entirely a false alarm. It 
was a practical joke. It seems that some men, for their own amusement, 
dressed themselves as Indians, and went down to a cornfield where some 
men were at work, and giving the Indian yell, shot off their guns, pointed 
in the direction of the settlers. They, supposing that the disguised men 
were hostile Indians, endeavoring to slay them, took to their heels, and 
spread the alarm, which, like a tale of scandal, traveled from mouth to 
mouth, and gathered momentum and new versions as it went from lip 
to lip. It is stated that a wealthy farmer of Cooper County, catching the 
alarm, buried his bacon to save it from the bloodthirsty savages. Then 
going to a field in which a large number of his negroes were at work 
waved his hand and shouted at the top of his voice, "Run. run, the In- 
dians will be upon you, the Indians will be upon you." The negroes tak- 
ing the alarm, stood not on the manner of their going, but scattered in 
every direction as though the frightful savages with tomahawks and 
hunting knives were close upon their heels. 

The Mormon War, in 1838, created considerable excitement in the 
State and roused to action the citizens of Cooper County. When the 
Mormons first came to Missouri, they located in Jackson County, and 
the citizens, liking neither their doctrines nor their customs, forced them 
to leave. They then settled in Caldwell County, Missouri, but the citizens 



HISTORY OF COOPER COUNTY 165 

in that part of the State, favoring them no more than did the citizens 
of Jackson County, determined to expel them from the State. They 
called upon Gov. Lilburn W. Boggs for assistance, and to furnish troops. 
Governor Boggs called for 7,000 volunteers to assist in driving the Mor- 
mons from the territory over which he had control. 

In response to this call three companies were raised in Cooper Coun- 
ty. One, called the "Boonville Guards," composed entirely of citizens 
of Boonville this, under the existing laws of the State, was a standing 
company, and equipped at the expense of the State government. The 
second, a volunteer company raised at Boonville, composed of citizens 
of Boonville and the surrounding neighborhood. Of this company, Jessie 
J. Turley was captain, Marcus Williams, Jr., first lieutenant, and J. Logan 
Forsythe, second lieutenant. The third was raised at Palestine, the offi- 
cers of which are not known. Of the forces raised in Cooper County, 
Joel E. Woodward was brigadier general, Joseph Megguire, inspector 
general, and Benjamin E. Ferry, aide-de-camp to Gen. Henry W. Crowther. 

These companies marched twice towards the Mormon settlement and 
the seat of war. The first time they marched as far as Jonesborough, 
Saline County, where the commanders, supposing from reports which 
reached them that there were sufficient troops already at the scene of 
war to conquer the Mormons, ordered them to return. They were shortly 
afterwards again ordered to the seat of war, and marched to Lexington, 
where they crossed the Missouri River. They then advanced about two 
miles into the prairie, and there camped for two days. The Mormon 
troops having in the meantime surrendered to Gen. John B. Clark, Sr., 
these companies returned home without having the pleasure of meeting 
the enemy or having the opportunity of testing their valor. On their 
arrival at Boonville these troops were disbanded. 

The Mormons during this short war were commanded by General 
Weite, an old British officer, who fought against General Jackson in 
the battle of New Orleans. The Mormons, after the conclusion of this 
war, left the State and located at Nauvoo, Illinois, where they remained 
for several years. Having had a difficulty with the authorities of the 
State of Illinois, and their prophet and leader, Joseph Smith, having been 
assassinated, they again "pulled up stakes" and emigrated to the shores 
of the "Great Salt Lake." where they have ever since remained, believ- 
ing and feeling that they are a persecuted people. 

The prisoners taken and retained in jail as the leaders of the Mor- 
mons were Joseph Smith, Lyman Weite, Hiram Smith, Sydna Regdon, 



166 HISTORY OF COOPER COUNTY 

Roberts, Higby, and two others. These men were first imprisoned in the 
jail at Richmond, Ray County, and were afterwards removed to the jail 
at Liberty, Clay County, where they broke jail, escaped pursuit, and 
were never tried. 

The unprecedented and most disastrous rise in the Missouri, Missis- 
sippi, and Illinois Rivers occurred in 1844. About the tenth of June, the 
river at St. Louis commenced to rise rapidly, while intelligence was 
received of the rising of the Illinois and Missouri Rivers, and by the six- 
teenth, the curbstones of Front street were under water, and the danger 
to property and business became quite alarming. 

At first it was thought along the Missouri to be merely the usual 
June rise but the continued expansion of the flood soon convinced the 
inhabitants of its unprecedented and alarming character. All the bottom 
lands, or lowlands of the Missouri River overflowed and many farms were 
ruined, many being as much as 15 feet under water. Houses, barns and 
fences were swept away, and in many instances human lives were lost. 
In others, human beings clung to floating dwellings, or immense piles 
of driftwood, and some of them were rescued by passing boats, and 
devices improvised especially to save them. The front streets of many 
of the towns along the river were completely submerged. Between 400 
and 500 persons in St. Louis, and vicinity were driven from their homes, 
and great distress prevailed. 

At St. Louis the river reached its greatest height on the 24th of 
June. It was seven feet seven inches above the city directrix, and in its 
abatement the water did not reach the city directrix until the 14th day 
of July. 

A farmer who lived in the bottom about a mile south of New Frank- 
lin by the name of Lloyd, waited during the rise, thinking every day 
that the river would reach its highest point, and did not leave his cabin, 
until he was compelled one morning to make a hasty exit through the 
roof. While getting out some of his household plunder, he spilt some 
corn meal on the roof of this cabin. The third day after leaving, Lloyd 
returned, and found to his surprise that the roof of his cabin had been 
transformed into a menagerie of birds and animals. Among these were 
a cat, a dog, a coon, a fox, a rat, two chickens, and a turkey. He ob- 
served that the meal was gone and was greatly surprised to find these 
animals living together in amity and perfect harmony. A common mis- 
fortune had created among them a sympathetic feeling. The presence 



HISTORY OF COOPER COUNTY 167 

of the great flood had seemingly overawed and overpowered their antag- 
onistic natures, and like the lion and the lamb, of prophetic history, they 
were dwelling together in peace. 

Another farmer who resided in the bottoms, lost a very valuable 
horse. The day he left his cabin, this horse was driven, with other horses, 
and stock, to the hills for safe keeping. Some days afterwards the horse 
was missing, and was not found until the waters had receded, when he 
was discovered, or at least such portions of him as were left, hanging 
by one of his hind feet in some grape vines fully fifteen feet above the 
ground, having on the same halter that he wore when he left. The rise 
of 1844 obtained a greater elevation. 

History records three great disastrous floods prior to this one. The 
great flood of 1785, known as "L'anee des Grandes Eaux,' and the floods 
of 1811, and 1826; the latter being that which set the seal of fate upon 
the future prosperity of Franklin, now referred to as Old Franklin. 

Again the tocsin of war was sounded, in 1846. In the month of 
May of that year, the President of the United States called for volunteers 
to assist in the Mexican War. One company from Cooper County was 
called upon to join the troops in Mexico. 

The alleged cause of the declaration of war by Mexico against the 
United States in April, 1846, was the annexation of Texas, but the more 
immediate cause was the occupation by the American army of the dis- 
puted territory lying between the Nueces and Rio Grande River. 

On the 21st day of May, of that year, the "Boonville Observer" 
issued the following bulletin, or "extra," which we give verbatim: 

"Volunteers. — A proper spirit seems to animate the citizens of our 
country and especially the young men. 

The call for one company from the fifth division has been promptly 
responded to. Forty-three volunteers were raised by General Ferry on 
Monday in Boonville, and on Tuesday, at Palestine, under the direction 
of Generals Ferry and Megguire, the number was increased to 61. They 
then elected their officers, and the following gentlemen were chosen: 

Joseph L. Stephens, captain, without opposition, who delivered to 
the volunteers on that occasion a spirited and handsome address; first 
lieutenant, Newton Williams; second lieutenant, H. C. Levens; first ser- 
geant, 'John D. Stephens; second sergeant, William T. Cole; third ser- 
geant, Richard Norris ; fourth sergeant, James S. Hughes; first corporal, 
Tipton Prior; second corporal, A. B. Cele; third corporal, Wesley Amick; 



168 HISTORY OF COOPER COUNTY 

fourth corporal, A. G. Baber. The company, thus organized, assembled 
in Boonville on Wednesday, where they were exercised in military duty 
by their accomplished and gallant young captain. 

The following is a list of the privates: Thomas Bacon, Samuel D. 
Burnett, Jacob Duvall, Charles Salsman, Ewing E. Woolery, Heli Cook, 
Joel Coffee, Joel Epperson, Jesse Epperson, Hiram Epperson, John Mc- 
Dowell, J. R. P. Wilcoxson, T. T. Bowler, William Sullans, Horatio Bruce, 
William J. Jeffreys, James M. Jeffreys, Hiram Burnam, Edward S. D. Miller, 
John Whitley, Benjamin P. Ford, Philip Summers, George W. Campbell, 
Samuel R. Lemons, John R. Johnson, Thompson Seivers, Charles F. Kine, 
Jesse Nelson, John Colbert, Robert Rhea, Edmond G. Cook, John B. Bruce, 
James P. Lewis, Benjamin C. Lampton, Oliver G. Ford, U. E. Rubey, W. B. 
Rubey, W. H. Stephens, John M. Kelly, George Mock, Samuel , Elliott, 
Alpheus D. Hickerson, Edmond Eubank, Henderson C. Martin, Sprague 
White, William Woolsey, Martin Allison, Henry Francis, Robert H. Bowles, 
Justinian McFarland, Nathaniel T. Ford, James H. Jones, James C. Ross, 
Richard Hulett. 

They departed today (Thursday) on the steamer L. F. Linn for St. 
Louis, where they will be armed and equipped, and immediately trans- 
ported to the army of occupation on the Rio Grande. Our best wishes 
attend them. May victory ever perch upon their banners, and may they 
all return to their friends full of honors, with the proud reflection that 
they have served their country faithfully. 

When the steamer Louis F. Linn, Eaton, captain, Jewell, clerk, ar- 
rived in Boonville, on her downward trip, the company formed in line 
on the upper deck and many friends passed along the line, bidding fare- 
well and shaking each volunteer by the hand. The landing was crowded 
with people. The boat soon started, with cheers from the multitude, and 
waving of handkerchiefs by the ladies. 

The steamer laid up for the first night at Nashville, which is about 
fifteen miles below Rocheport. The members of the company were all 
jolly fellows, and jest and laughter made the time pass pleasantly and 
quickly. The most of them, had never been from home, and longed, with 
the anxiety of children, to see new countries and to take part in other 
than every day affairs of their lives. 

Lieutenant Levers being on watch the latter part of the night after 
they had left Boonville, heard a terrible splash in the water, and on 
inquiring for the cause discovered that one of his men had fallen over- 
board. The deck-hands rescued him, and soon afterwards one of the 



HISTORY OF COOPER COUNTY 169 

company folowed the example of his comrade, and was rescued by the 
same men. The lieutenant becoming alarmed for the safety of the men 
of the company, waked up the captain, informed him of what had hap- 
pened, and told him that if he did not take measures to prevent it he 
might have his company considerably diminished before they reached 
St. Louis, if the men continued to fall overboard as rapidly as they had 
commenced. The captain was greatly surprised at such unexpected acci- 
dents, and placed out a strong guard, which prevented any more occur- 
rences of the kind. The trouble was that some of the men before leaving 
Boonville had imbibed rather freely of intoxicants, and having never been 
on board of a boat before, imagined they were on land and walked off 
without being aware of their changed circumstances. 

They arrived at St. Louis without further accident, and were quar- 
tered at the court-house without any blankets to cover them, or any 
place except the naked benches on which to sleep. Most of the company 
expecting to draw their clothing and blankets at Jefferson barracks, had 
nothing but the shirt and pants which they had worn from home. 

Captain Stephen's company was mustered into service by Gen. Robert 
Campbell. General Taylor, having gained an important victory over the 
Mexicans, and it being thought that he would be able to conquer his 
enemies without any further reinforcements, Captain Stephens' company 
was ordered back, and directed to report to Adjutant General Parsons at 
Jefferson City, whither they hastened on the same boat, expecting orders 
from him to join Doniphan's expedition to New Mexico. General Parsons 
informed the captain that he had no f requisition for Cooper County, but 
to hold his company in readiness to march when called on. The members 
of the company were very much disappointed at being thus summarily 
dismissed to their homes, and felt very indignant at what they considered 
such shabby treatment; and though the company was ready and willing, 
during the whole of the war, to go to the field of battle on the shortest 
notice, it was not called upon. Some of the members of the company 
were so determined to go that they joined other companies of General 
Doniphan's command. The company, although gone from home only a 
short time, had a rough introduction to military life, having been forced 
to live on "hard tack" on the trip to St. Louis and return, without bedding 
of any kind, and many of the men without a change of clothes. Mrs. 
Andrews, an estimable lady of St. Louis, treated the company to as many 
pies as the men could eat, for which they felt always grateful to her. 

But very few of the company had ever seen St. Louis, or any other 



170 HISTORY OF COOPER COUNTY 

city, and it was a pleasing and wonderful sight to these men, who had, 
during all of their lives, been accustomed only to the quiet scenes of 
their every-day life. The company, as it passed through the streets, 
seemed, from the numbers who stopped to gaze at it, to attract as much 
attention as a fantastic company, on account of the queer costumes, arms 
and manners. As the company expected to draw its uniforms at the 
"Great City," and as the men expected to throw their citizen's suits 
away, they were not particular what they wore when they started from 
home. Most of them, being dressed in backwoods style, without uni- 
form or arms, made a rather ludicrous appearance to city folks. But the 
men cared little for that, and some of the city gents were made to meas- 
ure their lengths upon the pavement for their uncalled-for remarks in 
regard to the personal appearance and manners of the strangers. 

Some of the men of the company, while in St. Louis, had a row with 
some merchants on Water street for insulting one of their number. After 
some little quarreling, the merchants threatened to have them arrested 
and confined in the calaboose; but they were told if that threat was 
executed, they would level the calaboose, and if that was not sufficient 
to show their power, they would level the whole city, and that they had 
sufficient men to accomplish that undertaking. So, the merchants, be- 
coming alarmed, did not attempt to have the threat executed, and the 
difficulty was finally arranged without any serious consequences. On their 
return up the Missouri River, on the same boat on which they had gone 
down to St. Louis, a finely dressed "gentleman" unthoughtfully made the 
.remark that "these soldiers were a» rough set." The officers of Captain 
Stephens' and Captain Reid's companies demanded that he should be put 
ashore, and at the next landing he was made to "walk the plank," amidst 
shouts and cheers from the crowd. They thus gave him an opportunity 
of traveling on the next boat, where, perhaps, he might meet with pas- 
sengers more congenial to his nature, and where he would not be forced 
to associate with those whom he considered beneath him in the social 
scale. 

After this they proceeded without further incident to Boonville, 
where they were met by crowds of their friends and acquaintances, who, 
with loud cheers, welcomed them home. Soon after they arrived, the 
company was disbanded by the captain, with orders to be ready to as- 
semble and march to the seat of war on very short notice. From that 
time to the close of the war the members of the company were prepared 
at all times to march to the front, whenever their services should be 



HISTORY OF COOPER COUNTY 171 

required, but they were never ordered forward to take part in the great 
struggle which had then been transferred to the enemy's country. 

This is the only part the citizens of Cooper County took in the war 
of 1846, and though they did not partake directly in the struggle, they 
showed their readiness to do so, by organizing and keeping in readiness 
to march a company composed of some of the best citizens. 



CHAPTER XL 



CONTINUATION OF 1834-1847 AND UP TO 1861 



RISE OP BOOXVILLE— ERA OP PROSPERITY— KEMPER SCHOOL FOUNDED — COUNTY 
SEAT PERMANENTLY LOCATED— EFFORTS TO CHANGE COUNTY SEAT— MILI- 
TARY COMPANIES — TROUBLE BETWEEN COMPANIES — MAJOR FORSYTH 10 
KILLED— SECOND COURT HOUSE ERECTED— DISCOVERY OF GOLD IN CALI- 
FORNIA AFFECTS COOPER COUNTY— McCULLOCH'S COMPANY— TEMPERANCE 
EXCITEMENT — SLAVERY AGITATION — PRO SLAVERY CONVENTION— CONTRO- 
VERSY IN KANSAS— COOPER COUNTY PRO SLAVER V— ELECTIONS OF 1856-1860. 

It is not our intention, nor have we attempted to chronicle the events, 
that make the history of Cooper County, in absolute chronological order. 
Frequently historical data are so closely correlated, one with the other 
that we are forced to pass through a series of years to follow the logical 
chain of events, and are then compelled to "roll back the scroll of time" 
to take up another line of equally important facts. The preceding chap- 
ter deals with the history of Cooper County from 1834 to 1847, yet there 
are events of that period worthy of historical preservation not recorded 
therein to which we will now revert. 

The period between 1830 to 1847 marks a rapid and increasing tide 
of immigration to Cooper County. Large wholesale establishments were 
established at Boonville for the purpose of supplying the great trade of 
the southwest as well as to outfit and provision the great caravans bound 
for the Santa Fe trail. Among those who located here at that time are 
recalled A. L. and C. D. W. Johnson, who, in addition to their mercantile 
establishment operated a large grist mill which was perhaps the 'first 
flouring mill erected at Boonville ; J. Mansker and Company ; N. \V. Mack ; 
Thomas M. Campbell ; Charles W. Smith ; Caleb Jones ; Walter and H. B. 
Benedict, who were engaged in the sale of dry goods and groceries, etc. 



HISTORY OF COOPER COUNTY 173 

Also Allen Porter, the druggist; H. and J. Rhea, tobacconist; H. W. 
Crowther, the rope-maker, which at that time seemed to be a profitable 
and necessary vocation; Jeremiah Rice, tanner; W. P. Roper, a saddler; 
Hook, a gunsmith; David Andrews, a tinner; George W. Caton, a tailor. 
John Dade and James Patton were among the principal hotelkeepers, yet 
at this time there were several others whose names we are unable to 
give. Isaiah Hanna was one of the blacksmiths yet there were several 
others at that time in Boonville and Cooper County. George C. Hart, 
John W. Martin and J. McCutchen are mentioned in the early records 
among the physicians who were then at Boonville, yet there were a 
number of other physicians in other sections of the county. The first 
newspaper in Cooper County was also established during this period, 
about the year 1834 and was called the "Boonville Herald," reference to 
which will hereafter be made in the special chapter on newspapers. 

The foregoing, located at Boonville, as above stated, between the 
years 1830-1840. From the years 1840-1850 the county enjoyed an era 
of prosperity that had not been known "in its prior history. The census 
of Boonville in 1840 gave the population as 1,660. Other newspapers 
were established and a number of educational institutions sprang up in 
different sections of the county. A number of new hotels were erected 
among which may be recalled the City Hotel, Peter Pierce, proprietor; 
The Union Hotel, Lewis Bendele, proprietor; The Virginia Hotel, 
John Dade, proprietor; and Baley's Mansion House. These were located 
in Boonville. The latter house was the central office of the stage line 
running from St. Louis to Independence, Mo. At this time Boon- 
ville was the most prosperous and flourishing town west of St. Louis 
and the prosperity and trade of Boonville materially effected and 
added to the thrift and enterprise of other sections of Cooper County. 
Business men were attracted and among those who came to Cooper 
County and settled in Boonville may be mentioned E. F. Gillespie, whole- 
sale and retail dealer in drugs and medicines ; Bremermann and Cuno, 
forwarding and commission merchants ; Dr. William H. Trigg, forward- 
ing and commission merchant, extracts from whose interesting diary 
will be found in the preceding chapter; Moseley and Stanley, forward- 
ing and commission merchants ; Hammond and Judd, lumber merchants ; 
N. Hutchison, wholesale druggist; S. D. Falls, dry goods; Thomas B. 
Veasey, hardware merchant; Aehle and Kuechelhan, wholesale druggists; 
Walter and Keill, liquors, dry goods and clothing; Nelson Jones and Com- 



174 HISTORY OF COOPER COUNTY 

pany, dry goods, groceries, etc. ; Peters and Hill, forwarding and commis- 
sion merchants; and Talbot and Lanny, clothing. 

In the year 1844, Prof. F. T. Kemper arrived in Boonville and estab- 
lished here a private school laying broad and wide the foundation for the 
Kemper Family School which through years of prosperity and to meet 
changing conditions became the Kemper Military School under the super- 
intendency of Col. T. A. Johnston. This prosperous military school has 
just closed the year and celebrated its 75th anniversary with about 500 
pupils and a graduating class of 77. 

It was during this period, at different times, that great interest was 
taken by the citizens of Cooper County in changing the county seat. It 
will be recalled that Boonville was made the county seat and the first 
court house was completed in 1823. Asa Morgan and Charles Lucas, 
when they laid out Boonville, agreed to donate 50 acres of land to the 
county provided that Boonville was made the permanent county seat. 
Lucas, however, did not live to carry out his agreement. He was killed 
in a duel with Thomas H. Benton on Sept. 27, 1817, on Bloody Island 
near St. Louis. However, on Aug. 13, 1819, in compliance with this agree- 
ment a deed was executed by Asa Morgan and Mary Gilman as the 
executrix of Charles Lucas, deceased, conveying to the commissioners 
of Cooper County 50 acres of land bound on the north by the Missouri 
River, on the west by the west line of Main street, and on the south by 
Chestnut street, on the east by a line 30 feet west of Eighth street, 
parallel with Eighth street. This tract of land embraced all of lots num- 
ber 9, 10, 11, 12, 13, 14, 15, 16, 17, 18, 19, 52, 53, 54, 55, 56, 57, 58, 59, 60, 
61, 62, 79, 80, 81, 82, 83, 84, 85, 86, 87, 88, 89, also what was known as , 
the Court House Square, being that land lying and situated between 
Main and Fifth streets and Sixth street and High and Court streets, and 
also the following lots: 122, 123, 124, 125, 126, 127, 128, 145, 146, 147, 1 
149, 150, 151, 152, 153, 154, 155, 172, 173, 174, 175, 176, 177 (being the 
lot upon which the jail is located), 178, 179, 180, 181, 182, 199, 200, 201, 
202, 203, 204, 205, 206, 207, 208, 209, 236, 237, 238, 239, 240, 211, 242, 243, 
244, 245, 246, 249, 250, 251, 252, 253, 254, 255, 256, 257, 258, 259, and 
a strip 60 feet wide off of the west side of lots 8, 63, 78, 129, 144, 183, 
198, 247 and 248, all in the city of Boonville, Cooper County, Mo. 

The commissioners to locate the permanent county seat were Robert 
Wallace, Benjamin F. Hickcox, and James Bruffee. The property above 
donated to the county is at this time the heart of Boonville and its value 
would run into hundreds of thousands of dollars. 



HISTORY OF COOPER COUNTY 175 

Four distinct efforts were made to change the county seat from 
Boonville. The first attempt was made in 1832, the second in 1838, the 
third in 1842 and the fourth in 1844. These attempts to change the 
county seat resulted in spirited campaigns and aroused some temporary 
bitterness which is usually the result of county seat removal contests. 

The third campaign (in 1842) is of some historical interest and 
was very bitter. The bitterness arose largely from an unfortunate occur- 
rence that gave soul and life to the desire to change the county seat 
from Boonville. It had its origin in the intense excitement existing be- 
tween the militia and an organization known as the "Fantastic Com- 
pany," of which we here give an account. 

From the organization of the government of the state until the 
year 1847 there existed a militia law, requiring all able-bodied male citi- 
zens, between the ages of 18 and 45 years, to organize into companies 
and to muster on certain days. They had, during the year, at different 
times, a company, a battalion, and a general muster. A company muster 
was the drilling of the members of one company ; a battalion muster 
consisted in drilling the companies of one-half of a county ; and a gen- 
eral muster was a meeting of all the companies of a county. 

Muster day was, for a long time after the commencement of the 
custom, a gala day for the citizens, and was looked forward to with con- 
siderable interest, especially by the different officers, who appeared in 
full military dress, captains and lieutenants with long red feathers stuck 
in the fore part of their hats, and epaulettes upon their shoulders. The 
held officers mounted on their fine steeds, with continental cocked hats, 
epaulettes upon their shoulders and fine cloth coats ornamented with gold 
fringe, rode around among the men and gave orders, making themselves 
the "observed of all observers." Also the venders of Avhiskey, ginger- 
cakes, apples and cider took no small interest in the anticipated muster 
clay, for on that day, every person being excited, bought more or less 
of these things. Always on muster days, after the muster was over, 
the rival bruisers of a neighborhood tried their strength upon one an- 
other, thus furnishing a great deal of amusement for those who attended. 
The little folks were also happy in the anticipation, if not in the enjoy- 
ment, of being presented with a ginger-cake and an apple upon that day. 

But after a lapse of time these musters became tiresome to a por- 
tion of the citizens, as they were obliged to lose so much of their valuable 
time in order to attend them, or were compelled to pay a fine of one dollar 
for each failure to attend on muster day; besides they could see no real 



176 HISTORY OF COOPER COUNTY 

use in continuing the organization, as there seemed no prospect soon of 
the state requiring any troops, as all was peaceful and quiet within its 
borders. Also, at the elections for officers, many of them were chosen 
on account of their personal popularity, instead of their qualifications to 
fill the office for which they were elected. Musters, after their novelty 
had worn off, became very unpopular, the citizens believing them to be 
an unnecessary burden upon them. 

Therefore, some time before the battalion muster, which was to take 
place at Boonville, during the year 1842, a company, the existence of 
which was known only to its members, was formed at that place, among 
the members of which were some of the best citizens of the city. This 
company was styled the "fantastic company," on account of the queer 
costumes, arms, etc., of its members, they being dressed in all manner 
of outlandish costumes, carrying every conceivable kind of a weapon, 
from a broom-stick to a gun, and mounted upon horses, mules and jacks. 
The company was intended as a burlesque upon the militia, and to have 
some fun at their expense. 

The regiment of the state militia which was to be mustered out at 
the above mentioned time was commanded by Col. Jesse T. Turley and 
Maj. J. Logan Forsythe, and was composed of all the companies then in 
the north half of the county. On the morning of the muster day Colonel 
Turley formed his regiment in front of the court house. After they 
were organized and ready for muster and drill, the fantastic company, 
which was commanded by John Babbitt, each member dressed in his 
peculiar costume and carrying his strange weapon, marched up into full 
view of Colonel Turley's command, and commenced preparations to drill. 
Colonel Turley, feeling indignant that his proceedings should be inter- 
rupted by such a "mob," and believing that it was intended as an insult, 
ordered his command to surround the fantastic company. 

There was a high fence on the eastern side of the vacant lot on 
which they were mustering, and Colonel Turley's command surrounded 
the "Fantastic Company." by approaching on High street, on the alley 
between Fifth and Sixth streets, and on Sixth street, thus hemming them 
in on the vacant lot. The latter, being closely pressed, retreated back 
across the fence, and then commenced a fight by throwing brickbats. The 
fight immediately became general and promiscuous, and resulted in seri- 
ous damage to several members of the State militia. Col. J. J. Turley 
was struck in the side by a stone, and two or three of his ribs broken. 
Maj. J. Logan Forsythe was struck by a brickbat in the face, just below 



•Jl 

O 
- 
O 
O 

a 
o 
o 
v. 

< 

r 
H 

S 
: 




HISTORY OF COOPER COUNTY 177 

his right eye, and died the next day of his wounds. The members of 
the fantastic company then dispersed and scattered in every direction. 

The death of Major Forsythe caused great excitement throughout 
the county, and great indignation was felt against the citizens of Boon- 
ville, so much so, that a- petition was immediately circulated, asking that 
the "county seat of Cooper County be removed from Boonville," to a 
more central point of the county." So great was the excitement that some 
persons living within three miles of Boonville signed this petition. But 
the county seat, after a severe struggle before the County Court, was 
retained at Boonville. 

The death of Major Forsythe was greatly regretted by all parties, 
for he was an excellent citizen and a very popular officer. It produced 
an ill-feeling throughout the county, which lasted many years. After 
the fight was oVer, the militia went through with their usual exercises, 
under the command of their subordinate officers, as Colonel Turley and 
Major Forsythe were unable, on account of their wounds, to drill them. 

The last effort was as stated, in 1844, by the people of Palestine 
township. The citizens of that township held a meeting in March of 
that year, and agreed to submit the question of changing the county seat 
to a vote of the people, which was accordingly done at the succeeding 
August election. The question was decided adversely to those who favored 
the change. 

The second court house erected was completed in the year 1840. The 
County Court at its May term ordered that the public square be laid off 
into lots and sold to raise money to build a new court house and at the 
same time it was ordered that the old court house (the first court house) 
be sold. The money, however, realized from the sale of these lots and 
the sale of the old court house was not sufficient to erect the new build- 
ing. The first appropriation made in money for this purpose by the 
court was the sum of $10,800. Other appropriations were made from 
time to time until the completion of the building, the entire amount appro- 
priated being about $30,000. This building, now wrecked and upon whose 
site stands the present handsome court house, was the scene of many 
political gatherings of the past and spirited legal contests by the best 
legal minds of the state. It will be cherished in the memory of the pres- 
ent generation. A picture of this building appears in this volume, as 
well as one of its successor, the present elegant structure. We can but 
wonder how those that come, after us will look upon our last effort in 
(12) 



178 HISTORY OF COOPER COUNTY 

erecting a court of justice. In 50 years will they consider it as inade- 
quate, as antiquated, as dangerous and unsanitary, as we of today con- 
sidered its predecessor? Doubtless more so, for the human race, not with 
mincing steps but with giant strides, is moving forward. 

There are few living at the present time who recall the intense 
excitement of the years 1849 and 1850 caused by the discovery of gold 
in California. At this time, the period of its greatest excitement, the 
people generally throughout the American Union became deeply inter- 
ested and thousands upon thousands were filled with the lust for gold. 
It would be strange indeed, if this mania did not penetrate Cooper County 
and arouse to action the hardy and adventurous settlers of that day. 
While it may not be a beautiful sentiment, yet in a measure mankind 
responds to the expression of the poet, 

"Gold is the strength, the sinews of the world ; 
The health, the soul, the beauty most divine." 

Cooper County sent forth to the gold fields of California many of 
her sons, some of whom were past the middle age with silvered locks, 
others were boys still in their teens, all animated with the hope and 
strong desire that their labors, their sacrifices, their dangers, and their 
bravery would be rewarded with an abundance of the glittering and 
precious ore. The desert plains over which they traveled to reach the 
gold fields were littered with broken wagons and carcasses of beasts of 
burden and here and there the mouldering remains of men. Joaquin 
Miller, the poet of the Sierras, has said, "The coward never started and 
the weak did not arrive." We are unable to give the names of all those 
hardy seekers after gold who left our county at this time, however, we 
here give the names of a portion of the companies of Capt. Robert Mc- 
Culloch and Solomon Houck: 

Robert McCulloch's company: Spotswook McCulloch, Joseph McCul- 
loch, John McCulloch, Robert Douglass, Charles Lewis, Merriweather 
Lewis, Nicholas Lewis, Abraham Weight, John Simmons, Joseph Potter, 
Nelson Potter, John Hornbeck, Perry Taylor, Alfred Hornbeck, C. W. 
Sombart, Julius Sombart, Robert Allison, Love Wadly, Erhart, Sr., Au- 
gust Erhart, Albert Erhart, William Hardcastle, Reuben Stevens and 
James Humes, of Moniteau County; Ewing Kelly, Joseph Hess, John 
Kelly, Peter Kelly, Bear, Sr., Frank Bear, John Carey, William Son, George 
Kelly, Oldhausen and son and Richard Bidel, of St. Louis County; Louis 
Brant, Dr. Antrim, and Abraham Reidmeyer, William Reidmeyer and 
John Hahn, from Ohio ; Joseph Byler, Calvin Wilson, Simon Boyd, Doctor 



HISTORY OF COOPER COUNTY 179 

Cooper, Universalist preacher; C. B. Combes, Thomas Chambers, Charles 
Mitchell, Absalom Meredith, John Baldwin, Jacob Gype, John Mars, Cal 
Mason, John Oglesby, Thomas Mitchell, Jacob Harrier, Horace Hutchin- 
son, William Samuels, William Wheatley, Samuel Row, John Porter. 

Upon the eve of his departure for California, one of the Cooper 
County boys thought to be the late Col. Horace A. Hutchison penned the 
following beautiful and touching farewell: 

Farewell, farewell, my native land, 
I leave thee only with a sigh, 
To wander o'er a foreign strand, 
Perchance to live, perchance to die. 
Adieu, my friends, whom kindred ties 
Unite, though distant we may rove, 
• How ardent as time onward flies, 

Fond memory clings to those we love. 

O'er the broad plains, far away, 
Beyond the Rocky Mountain's crest, 
Our wayward feet awhile shall stray, 
And press the gold-besprinkled west. 
But 'mid the gaudy scenes of strife, 
Where gold to pride enchantment lends, 
We'll ne'er forget that boon of life — 
Companions dear and faithful friends. 

And in the lapse of coming years, 
Should fortune be not too unkind, 
We'll hope reward for parting tears, 
In smiles from those we left behind. 
We go — yet hoping to return, 
Friends of our youth, to home and you, 
For these do cause our hearts to yearn, 
E'en when we sigh Adieu — Adieu. 

There are few now living in Cooper County who were old enough 
in 1853 to remember the intense excitement and the bitterness incident 
thereto, caused by the temperance movement inaugurated by the Crystal 
Fount division of the Sons of Temperance in that year. 



180 HISTORY OF COOPER COUNTY 

Sixty-six years ago saloons were common in Boonville, and in all 
probability, there were four times as many as at the present time. 
Whiskey was cheap, and its use was common. The "worm of the still" 
could be found wherever the thirst demanded. As a rule drug stores, 
grocery stores, general merchandise stores, dry goods stores, and nearly 
all mercantile establishments carried their barrel or barrels of whiskey. 
Although a merchant may have depreciated the sale of intoxicating 
liquors, he was practically forced to yield to the common custom by 
reason of the practise of his competitors. 

The Sons of Temperance secured the services of Rev. William Ross, 
Deputy Grand Worthy Patriarch of Missouri, who delivered a number 
of stirring lectures in the Methodist, Episcopal and Presbyterian 
churches in this city. The Reverend Ross was pugnacious, possessed of 
fervent eloquence, and used a trenchant tongue. Like the woodman 
he cared not where the chips flew. He was more belligerent than dis- 
creet, but withall, his methods were well calculated to arouse intense 
interest and excitement in his hearers. He was radical in his views, and 
by the bold and denunciatory manner in which he spoke of the liquor 
traffic, and those who drank, incurred the resentment and displeasure of 
the saloon-keepers of the town, as well as those who patronized them. 

The interest in his subject by his listeners deepened and continued 
to increase from day to day until it reached its culminating point on 
July 17, 1853. Upon that Sunday, a meeting of the friends of temper- 
ance was advertised to be held at the Presbyterian Church, where Rev. 
William Ross would deliver one of his interesting lectures. 

H. D. Benedict was the mayor of the city of Boonville at that time. 
Fearing serious results from the bitterness manifested on both sides, 
on the 16th of July, the day preceding the day of the lecture, he had 
published the following proclamation, which speaks for itself: 

"Whereas, a certain itinerant lecturer, calling himself "Billy Ross," 
has been disseminating discord and dissention in this community, by 
vituperation and abuse, under the guise of temperance lectures; and, 
whereas, it is said that sundry persons have armed themselves and 
threatened to assemble for combat — some to encourage and others to 
stop said Ross in his course — these are therefore to forbid all such riotous 
and unlawful assemblages. And the police of this city are hereby re- 
quired to suppress and disperse all riotous and unlawful assemblies in 
this city. 



HISTORY OF COOPER COUNTY 181 

In testimony whereof, I, H. B. Benedict, mayor of the city of Boon- 
ville, have hereunto set my hand and caused to be affixed the seal of the 
city, at office, this 16th day of July, 1853. 

"H. B. BENEDICT, Mayor." 

Following his proclamation by action, the mayor immediately organ- 
ized a force numbering 62 men, of which he was the leader, and marched 
to the Presbyterian Church on the 17th of July, where he took posses- 
sion of the church and premises. Many came to the church, at the ap- 
pointed hour, but were prevented from entering the building by the 
mayor and his force, and the assembled crowd was quietly dispersed. No 
resistance was offered nor was there any riotous demonstration. The 
partisan of the respective parties to the controversy commended and 
condemned in turn the action of the mayor, according to the respective 
inclinations, and their interest in the imbroglio. 

However, a committee was appointed by the temperance organiza- 
tion of Boonville, and in the following language., gave vent to their feel- 
ing, and thus expressed their views of the action of the police force: 

"Who made up that (so-called) police force? Everybody in Boon- 
ville knows. Whisky traders, grog-shop keepers and their bloated cus- 
tomers, black-legs, infidels — some known long and truly, to be infidels 
alike towards all that is divine in Christianity, and pure and sacred in 
the principles of a well-ordered domestic and social life. When Mr. Ross 
together with his peacable, forbearing, but deeply outraged audience, 
assembled at the church-yard gate, around the church enclosure, and 
looked over, they saw men who for weeks before had been breathing 
"threatenings and slaughter" against Mr. Ross (for no other reason 
than this only; that he had assaulted within the walls of the churches 
of this city, the Hydra monster whisky), herded together, all who heart- 
lessly trade in, and fatten upon the profits of the poison. 

"Large numbers of ladies, with the general multitude, lingered 
around the gate, and gazed with mingled feelings of pity, suppressed 
indignation and contempt upon the motley mass of disgusting, animan 
and moral putrescence that made up almost the entire number of the 
legalized mob that invested, by barbarian, bacchanalian authority the 
peaceful premises of that deeply dishonored sanctuary." 

From the past, we often learn the present. Thus it is seen that in 
those years long past, the men and the women who passed their brief 
hour upon the stage, and whose memory we honor and revere, gave vent 



182 HISTORY OF COOPER COUNTY 

to their feelings and convictions, in language at times virile, vigorous 
and bitter, much as we today are wont to do, losing sight of the senti- 
ment and the poet's vision, 

"Life is too brief 
Between the budding and the falling leaf, 
Between the seed time and the golden sheaf, 
For hate and spite. 

"Life is too swift 
Between the blossom and the white snow's drift, 
Between the silence and the lark's uplift, 
For bitter words." 

As heretofore stated, the admission of Missouri into the Union 
aroused such intense and bitter agitation throughout the whole country 
that it was feared by some of the wisest statesmen of the day that it 
would disrupt the Union. Thi-oughout the years succeeding the admis- 
sion of Missouri until the close of the Civil War, the pro-slavery and 
anti-slavery agitators were busy and active. In 1855 the feeling became 
intensified. Cooper County at that time was settled mostly by people 
from the southern states and their deep sympathy was with the pro- 
slavery cause. At this time the German population of Cooper County 
was not large, yet not being slave holders nor attached by tradition to 
the slave holding cause, they were not in sympathy with the pro-slavery 
movement. 

At a meeting of the citizens of Cooper County, held at Bell Air, on 
Saturday, June 30, 1855, for the purpose of appointing delegates to attend 
the pro-slavery convention to be held at Lexington, Mo., on the 12th day 
of July, 1855, the following delegates were appointed: Boonville town- 
ship. J. L. Stephens, W. Douglass, A. W. Simpson, J. M. Nelson, J. W. 
Torbert, W. N. Ragland, Isaac Lionberger, John Combs, T. V. Hickox, 
Benjamin Tompkins; Lamine township, Freeman Wing, Jesse B. Tiuiey, 
S. W. McMahan; Saline township, John L. O'Bryan, W. T. Thorton, J. K. 
Ragland, A. W. Lucky; Clarks Fork township, Robert McCulloch, Henry 
Mills, A. Greenhalgh, Charles Q. Lewis; Moniteau township, A. K. Longan, 
D. Jones, D. P. Swearingen, J. Baughman, Dr. William H. Ellis: Kelly 
township, W. McCurdy, A. Nelson, Dr. E. Chilton; Palestine township, 



HISTORY OF COOPER COUNTY 183 

William Bradley, R. L. Bradley, B. C. Clark, R. H. Menefee, James L. 
Bell, L. C. Stephens, R. A. Ewing; Clear Creek township, James B. Harris, 
George S. Cockrill, Samuel B. Mahan; Pilot Grove township, Dr. W. W. 
Harriman, Dr. J. K. McCabe, W. M. Taylor, John Miller; Blackwater 
township, N. Sutherlin, Thomas L. Williams, Richard Marshall, John A. 
Trigg; Lebanon township, Richard Willis, Thomas McCulloch, Dr. Sam- 
uel H. Saunders, H. W. Ferguson, Geo. Harland. L. C. Stephens, presi- 
dent; William Bradley and J. M. Nelson, vice-presidents; Bennett C. 
Clark, secretary. 

About this time great efforts were being made by both the contend- 
ing forces in the slavery controversy to settle the State of Kansas with 
their respective adherents. It would be difficult and it is not the purpose 
in this volume to portray the unreasonable bitterness arising therefrom, 
but that our old citizens of Cooper were active in the controversy and 
the Kansas troubles of 1856 is evidenced by the fact that on Aug. 20, 
1856, a call was made in Boonville for men and money from the citizens 
of Cooper County to aid the pro-slavery party in Kansas. One of the 
posters announcing the call is as follows: "A meeting of the citizens 
of Cooper County will be held at the court-house, in Boonville, on Satur- 
day, the 23rd, for the purpose of raising men and money to aid the law 
and order men in Kansas. Let every pro-slavery man attend. Bring 
your guns and horses. Let us sustain the Government, and drive back 
the abolitionists who are murdering our citizens." The above was signed 
by some of the prominent citizens of the town, who sent men and money 
to Kansas. 

The practical unanimity among the citizens of Cooper County as to 
the slavery issue was manifested in the elections of 1856 and 1860. In 
1856 there were three candidates for President in the field, namely: 
James Buchanan, Democrat; Millard Fillmore, American; and John C. 
Freemont, Republican. There was no ticket in Cooper County for Free- 
mont. Millard Fillmore carried the county over James Buchanan by 
about eight votes, so nearly even were the two parties, but so small 
the adherents of the Republican pai'ty that no ticket was in the field. 

At the next presidential election in 1860 the candidates were Stephen 
A. Douglas, Union Democrat; John C. Breckenridge, Southern Democrat; 
Abraham Lincoln, Republican; and John Bell, Union. 

Douglas carried Cooper County by a small majority, Bell running 
him close. Breckenridge had a small vote and Lincoln but twenty votes. 



184 HISTORY OF COOPER COUNTY 

So strange it seemed at that time that any one should vote for Lincoln 
that the names of those who voted for him were afterwards published 
in the newspapers as an item of curiosity. The result of the foregoing 
elections demonstrates that while the citizens of Cooper County were 
for slavery, yet they were against secession and loyally in favor of the 
Union. 



CHAPTER XII. 



CIVIL WAR PERIOD 



CIVIL WAR A MEMORY— BATTLE BELOW BOOXVILLE— HOME GUARDS IN COOPER 
COUNTY— PRICE'S RAID— SHELBY'S RAID— PRICE'S RAID INTO COOPER 
COUNTY. 

The novelist will take the most fragile thread of fact, and from this, 
with cunning skill, weave a fabric of romantic and surpassing beauty. 
The historian in comparison must be prosy, eschewing all of the myths, 
and avoiding legends, the essence of poesy and songs. As one has said, 
he must "nothing extenuate, nor set down aught in malice." History is 
a skeleton of the past. It is not in the power of man to visualize it 
with flesh and blood, make the dead past the living present. 

After the lapse of more than half a century, the bitterness of the 
Civil War is but a memory, and with the younger generation, only a 
tradition. It is not intended in this chapter to discuss the causes and 
long chain of events that led up to the sanguinary and internecine war of 
1861-65. Suffice it to say that human slavery is abolished. Who can 
now regret it? The Union is established, one and inseparable. The 
hand of God has fashioned a nation. In the time of need, He has been 
the giant of strength, to stay the ruthless onward rush of might. To 
the peoples of the earth, and the powers of the world, our country pro- 
claims the doctrine that the right of man must prevail over the might 
of kings and classes. 

To give a detailed account of all that transpired here in the war of 
rebellion, or the Civil War, would require a much larger volume of space 
than we have at our command. The following pages only profess to 
give without comment, some of the facts as they occurred. 

Cooper County suffered a great deal during the war. Her territory 
was nearly all the time occupied by either one party or the other, and 



186 HISTORY OF COOPER COUNTY 

the citizens were called upon to contribute to first one of the contending 
forces and then the other. Again, some of the most inexcusable crimes 
and murders were committed within the territory of Cooper County, 
which, while not a part of the war proper, will be given in another chapter. 

Battle Below Boonville. — Governor Jackson and General Price, on 
June 11, 1861, left Jefferson City, where the Legislature was in session, 
sought an interview with Generals Lyon and Blair, and made proposi- 
tions for a compromise, on the basis of neutrality, etc. The two last 
mentioned generals refused to make any compromise whatever. They 
claimed the "unrestricted right to move and station the troops of the 
United States throughout the State, whenever and wherever, in their 
opinion, they thought it to be necessary, either for the protection of 
loyal citizens of the Federal Government, or for the repelling of an 
invasion. 

Governor Jackson and General Price, after this unsuccessful en- 
deavor to bring about peace, returned to Jefferson City, and the Governor 
issued a proclamation, calling into the active service of the State 50,000 
men. General Lyon, a few days afterwards, issued a counter proclama- 
tion, in justification of his course in refusing to compromise with Gov- 
ernor Jackson and General Price. 

General Lyon then moved his troops to Jefferson City, and on his 
arrival at that place, he found that Governor Jackson had moved his 
forces 50 miles above, to Boonville, cutting the telegraph lines, and 
destroying the bridges on the railway as he proceeded. General Lyon, 
leaving Colonel Boernstein in command of a small force at the capital, 
on the afternoon of the 16th day of June, 1861, embarked his forces on 
three steamers, and ascending the Missouri River, they arrived at Roche- 
port about six o'clock on the following morning. There he ascertained 
that the State troops, under General Marmaduke (Price at that time 
being sick), were in full force a few miles below Boonville, and that 
resistance might be expected from them 1 , should he attempt to reach 
Boonville by that road. Leaving this place, and taking the steam ferry- 
boat, Paul Wilcox, General Lyon's command ascended the river to the 
island, eight miles below Boonville, which was reached at about seven 
o'clock a. m., and on the southern shore of which the command disembarked. 

No enemy being in sight, and the scouts reporting no sign of any, 
the troops at once marched up the Missouri River towards Boonville, and 
followed the road about a mile and a half, to the place where it ascends 
the bluffs, from the river bottom. At this place, several shots from 



HISTORY OF COOPER COUNTY 187 

General Lyon's scouts announced the driving in of General Marmaduke's 
pickets. General Lyon then advanced for nearly a mile, and found Gen- 
eral Marmaduke well posted at the brow of the ascent. Captain Totten 
opened the engagement by throwing a few nine pound bombshells into 
the entrenchments of the State troops, while the infantry commenced 
a heavy volley of musketry, which was well replied to, the balls flying 
thick and fast among the ranks of the troops, and wounding several on 
both sides. 

The State troops, under the command of General Marmaduke, were 
posted in a lane running from the Rocheport road in the direction of 
the river, and west of the residence of William M. Adams, on the north- 
west corner of the junction of the two roads. During the fight a couple 
of bombs were thrown through the east wall of Mr. Adam's house, caus- 
ing the inmates to retreat to the cellar for protection. A heavy fire from 
Colonel Shaefer's German infantry, General Lyon's company. of regulars, 
and part of Colonel Blair's regiment which were stationed on the left 
of the road, compelled the troops of General Marmaduke to retreat. 

His force then clambered over the fence into a field of wheat, and 
again formed in line just below the brow of the hill. They then advanced 
some twenty steps to meet the Federal troops, and for a short time the 
artillery of Captain Totten was worked with great rapidity. Just at this 
the State troops opened a galling fire from a grove just on the left 
of the Federal center, and from a shed from beyond and still farther 
to the left. 

What had been before this a skirmish now assumed the magnitude 
of a battle, which continued only about a half hour. The State troops 
finding the Federals too strong and too well armed and drilled to be 
successfully opposed by raw recruits (most of them had never been under 
fire) and having no artillery with which to return the fire from General 
Lyon's batteries, abandoned the fight and retreated. Captains Cole and 
Miller took possession of "Camp Bacon," where the State troops had been 
encamped for two days. 

General Lyon continued his march towards Boonville. He was met 
on the hill near the residence of T. W. Nelson, by James H. O'Bryan, 
acting mayor of Boonville, Judge G. W. Miller, and other prominent citi- 
zens, who formally surrendered the town to him, and he immediately 
marched into and took possession of it. 

General Marmaduke commanded the State troops on this occasion. 
General Price was in ill health, and on the day on which the battle 



188 HISTORY OF COOPER COUNTY 

occurred he left Boonville on a steamboat for Lexington. Governor Jack- 
son was on the battleground in the forenoon, but left Boonville on the 
Georgetown road about 11 o'clock of that day. In this engagement two 
of Lyon's men were killed and nine wounded. Among the State troops, 
three were killed and several wounded, but the number of these is 
unknown. 

Kelly's was the only well organized and well drilled company under 
the command of General Marmaduke, and it did not participate in the 
battle. It is said that General Price was opposed to making a stand 
against General Lyon at the time, as all of his troops, except Kelly's 
company, were raw recruits and very poorly armed and drilled, having 
rallied at Boonville during the preceding three days. There was consid- 
erable controversy among the officers and men, whether, considering the 
circumstances, a stand or retreat should be made; but some of the most 
enthusiastic, whose counsel prevailed, said that they had come to fight 
and they intended to do so. There were several prisoners taken by Gen- 
eral Lyon, but they were afterwards released on parole. 

The next day after the battle, General Lyon issued a proclamation, 
offering full pardon to all who would lay down their arms, return to 
their homes, relinquish their hostility to the United States Government, 
and persons who did this were assured that they would not be molested 
for past offenses. Many w'ho had taken part in this battle availed them- 
selves of the opportunity offered by General Lyon, and some of them 
never took up arms again during the war. 

General Lyon remained at Boonville for several weeks, during which 
time he purchased a large outfit of wagons, horses and mules, paying 
fair prices for them, no pressing or forced sales being made. He a] 
captured every steamboat that passed down the river. On the third day 
of July, having received reinforcements of an Iowa regiment, he took 
his departure for the southwest, his objective point being Springfield. 
A short time before, General Blair left for Washington, to take his seat 
in Congress, he having been elected a representative from St. Louis. 

This being the first battle of the Rebellion which was fought on 
land, the taking of Fort Sumter having occurred only a short time before, 
produced great excitement throughout the United States, and General 
Blair on his way to Washington was met by great crowds of his friends, 
and lionized, feasted, and toasted, as the "hero of the hour." 

Before General Lyon left Boonville, Maj. Joseph A. Eppstein organ- 
ized two companies of home guards, composed entirely of Germans, which 



HISTORY OF COOPER COUNTY 189 

were commanded by him. They thi-ew up fortifications at the old fair 
grounds. When he moved to Springfield, he left Major Curly, who was 
shortly afterwards succeeded by Col. John D. Stephenson, in command 
at the fortifications. 

Doctor Quarles was among the killed of the State troops. His body 
was found in the wheat field late in the evening after the battle, he hav- 
ing been severely wounded in the thigh, and not being discovered, bled 
to death. Young McCutchen was also wounded in the thigh, and although 
properly cared for, all their efforts could not save him. He died a few 
days after the battle. The death of these two gentlemen, so young, so 
.remising and kindhearted, cast a gloom over the entire community, 
and their loss was universally regretted by all parties. The other gentle- 
man killed, who was from Pettis County, was shot in the head, and his 
name is not remembered. 

General Parsons, with the artillery belonging to the State troops, 
arrived too late to engage in the Battle. He came in on the Boonville 
and Tipton road, via Wilkin's bridge, and halted at the top of the hill, 
south of Boonville, near Dr. William Trigg's present residence, where, 
learning that General Marmaduke had been defeated and was retreating, 
he took the road leading from Boonville to Prairie Lick in a southwest 
direction, and soon formed a junction with Governor Jackson's state troops. 

General Lyon, two days after the battle of Boonville, sent a detach- 
ment of his force southwest, by way of Syracuse, as far as Florence, 
Morgan county, in pursuit of Governor Jackson. But finding that the 
state troops had moved still farther south, the command returned to 
Boonville without meeting any of Jackson's command. 

Home Guards in Cooper County. — General Nathaniel Lyon, on the 
20th day of June, 1861, organized and mustered into service a company of 
German home guards, consisting of 135 men. Of this company Joseph A. 
Eppstein was elected captain ; Emil Haas, first lieutenant ; Ernest Roeschel, 
second lieutenant; and John A. Hain, orderly sergeant. This company 
was, on the fourth day of August, ordered to Jefferson City for the pur- 
pose of aiding in the protection of the capital. They together with Colonel 
Brown's 7th Missouri regiment, wei-e, a short time afterwards, ordered to 
Otterville. They went by rail to Syracuse, and marched on foot the bal- 
ance of the way to Otterville, which they immediately occupied. 

A large number of southern men living in the vicinity had organized 
a company, and under the command of Captain Alexander, James B. Harris, 
and others, were camped near by. These two commands for some reason 



190 HISTORY OF COOPER COUNTY 

not wishing to attack each other, made the following compromise which 
was suggested by the southern commanders, and after some parley, ac- 
cepted by Colonel Brown. It was agreed that if the Federal troops would 
withdraw from Otterville, Captain Alexander would disband his forces, 
and Colonel Brown ordered his command back to Jefferson City. 

Afterwards, the home guards, with part of Colonel Worthington's 
command, were ordered to Boonville. They ascended the Missouri River 
in a steamboat, and arrived at Boonville very early on the morning of 
the day following their start from Jefferson City. The morning was very 
foggy, so that the boat could hardly be seen from the shore. It passed 
Boonville under cover of darkness and the fog, and landed at Haas' brew- 
ery, situated about one-half of a mile west of the city. Here the home 
guards disembarked, and from thence marched around and surrounded 
the town before the citizens were aware of their presence. Colonel 
Worthington, with the men of his command, dropped down on the steam- 
boat landing at the foot of Main street, and marched up into the town. 
He then took a number of prominent citizens prisoners, and confiscated 
the contents of two tin stores and one shoe store, the owners of which 
were charged with selling goods to the Confederates ; he also took posses- 
sion of the Observer printing establishment, then owned by A. W. Simp- 
son and had the presses, type, etc., boxed up and shipped to Jefferson City. 
This was all done under the orders of Colonel U. S. Grant afterwards 
president of the United States, who was then in command at Jefferson 
City. The home guards, together with Colonel Worthington's command, 
on the afternoon of the same day, took with them the prisoners and the 
property which they had confiscated. The prisoners were afterwards 
released, and returned home; but most of the property, except that be- 
longing to the printing establishment, was never seen again by its owners. 

Aug. 28th, in the same year, Gen. Jeff C. Davis ordered the home 
guards to reinforce Colonel Mulligan at Lexington, Missouri. Two days 
before the 2d Illinois regiment of cavalry had been ordered to the same 
place, and had started. When Colonel Eppstein, the commander of the 
home guards, arrived at Tipton, he heard that a part of the 2d Illinois 
cavalry was at Boonville, and concluded to go there also, and reported to 
headquarters, that if they had any orders for him, to forward them to 
him at that place. 

Colonel Eppstein was ordered by Gen. Jeff C. Davis, then stationed 
at Jefferson City, to remain at Boonville and occupy the breastworks, 
which he did. 



HISTORY OF COOPER COUNTY 191 

Sept. 1, 1861, the troops around Boonville formed themselves into a 
battalion, consisting of two and one-half companies; companies A and B, 
infantry, and one-half a company of cavalry. The officers of the battalion 
were Joseph A. Eppstein, major; Emil Haas, surgeon; and John A. Hayne, 
adjutant; of company A, infantry, were John B. Keiser, captain; John 
Roterd, first lieutenant; Charles Koch, second lieutenant; of company B, 
infantry, were Charles Beihle, captain; Joseph Weber, first lieutenant; 
John Fessler, second lieutenant. The half company of cavalry was com- 
manded by Peter Ostermyer. 

About four days afterwards, this battalion received information that 
it would be attacked by the Confederates from several surrounding 
counties. Colonel Eppstein immediately arrested a number of the most 
prominent southern men in Boonville, viz: N. H. Ells, Rev. H. M. Painter, 
William E. Burr, J. W. Draffen, James Harper, and Joseph L. Stephens, 
and held them as hostages, hoping thereby to prevent the contemplated 
attack. But about six o'clock on the morning of the 13th day of Sept., 
1861, while Eppstein's command was at breakfast, the pickets having all 
come in, the breastworks were attacked by a force of about eight hun- 
dred men under the command of Colonel Brown, of Saline County. The 
fortifications were attacked on the west, southwest and southeast sides. 
The first attack was from the southwest, the next through Lilly's field 
on the southeast, and finally extended around to the west side. At first, 
the firing was very rapid from the southwest and southeast, and soon 
afterwards from the side of the fortifications, the balls falling thick on 
every side. Colonel Brown led the attack on the southeast, and made 
two charges upon the breastworks, but was compelled to fall back each 
time under the heavy fire from the intrenchments. In the second attack 
Colonel Brown was mortally wounded, and fell within 50 feet of the breast- 
works. A short time afterwards, his brother, Captain Brown, was also 
mortally wounded, and fell about ten feet behind him. The Browns were 
both brave men, and fought with desperation and with utter disregard 
of their own safety. After the two Browns had fallen mortally wounded, 
and Major Poindexter been left in command of the Confederates, Mr. 
Burr, who was one of the prisoners at the breastworks, having become 
satisfied that the entrenchments could not be taken, asked, and was 
granted pel-mission to visit the Confederates, under a flag of truce, in 
order to see what arrangements could be made so as to bring about a 
cessation of hostilities. The two commanders finally agreed upon an 
armistice for seven days, Major Poindexter's troops to be withdrawn from 



192 HISTORY OF COOPER COUNTY 

the breastworks and city, a distance of three miles, and were not to enter 
town only for medicine during that time; Poindexter was to return all 
horses taken from Union men, and surrender the arms of the men who 
had fallen in the engagements. If the terms of the armistice were broken 
by Poindexter, then Rev. H. M. Painter was to be shot. 

The home guards numbered about 140 effective men. Their loss was 
two killed and seven wounded. The names of the killed were John A. 
Hayne, adjutant, and Kimball, a private. The number of Colonel Brown's 
command who were killed and wounded is not known. Colonel and 
Captain Brown were, after the battle, taken to a hospital at Boonville. 
The colonel died of his wounds the same evening; the captain lingered 
until the next day, when he too died. Their bodies were taken to Saline 
County for burial. 

At the commencement of the battle, messengers were dispatched by 
three different routes, viz: by way of Tipton, Jefferson City road and 
down the river in a skiff, asking for reinforcements. Of these messengers, 
none reached Jefferson City except Joseph Read and Joseph Reavis, who 
went down the river. Those who went by the way of Tipton and the 
Jefferson City road, were captured by Colonel Brown's men while they 
were on the way. 

On the 14th, at 10 o'clock p. m., the force at Boonville was reinforced 
by the 5th Iowa regiment, under the command of Colonel Worthington, 
which came up the river on a steamboat. After the armistice had ex- 
pired, Major Poindexter drew off his men and marched up the river to 
join General Price, at Lexington. 

In Nov., 1861, a scouting party of three men belonging to the home 
guards, started out to gain information in regard to a band of bush- 
whackers, who were thought to have their headquarters somewhere in 
Clark's Fork township, in this county. While approaching the house of 
William George, in said township, they were fired upon from the house, 
and one of their number killed. The scouts then returned to Tipton, and 
having obtained reinforcements, returned and burned William George's 
house. 

On Sept. 16, 1861, Colonel Eppstein's battalion was commanded by 
Colonel Worthington to take possession of and guard the bridge across the 
Lamine River, on the road from Boonville to Arrow Rock. Before their 
arrival at the bridge, they heard the firing of several minute guns behind 
them, which were intended to warn the. state troops of the approach of 
Colonel Eppstein's men. They reached the bridge in the night, and were 



> 



o 



n 



o 
o 




HISTORY OF COOPER COUNTY 193 

fired upon from the opposite side of the river by the state troops, who 
seemed to have taken possession of the bridge. Colonel Eppstein returned 
the fire, and mortally wounded a young man named Herndon, who lived in 
Lamine township, in this county. He was taken to the house of Mr. 
William Higgenson, where he soon afterwards expired. The state troops 
soon retreated and left Colonel Eppstein's troops in possession of the 
bridge, where they remained, until Sept. 19th, when they were ordered 
to return to Boonville. 

Soon afterwards, Colonel Worthington ordered Colonel Eppstein to 
take his command with him and burn this same bridge, it having been 
reported that General Price's army was marching towards Boonville from 
that direction, and would probably cross the Lamine at this point. Colonel 
Eppstein endeavored to dissuade him from this purpose by telling him 
that this would only delay Price a single day, as he could cross a short 
distance above; but Colonel Worthington replied that it must be done, 
as he deemed it to be a military necessity. So the bridge was burned 
according to his order. This proved to be a false alarm, as Price was not 
on his way to Boonville, and did not attempt to march in that direction. 

Under a special law of congress, passed on account of a general dis- 
satisfaction among the home guards all over the state, Colonel Eppstein's 
battalion was reorganized, and became a part of the Missouri state militia. 
Six companies were raised and organized at Boonville, and to these were 
added two companies from St. Louis, thus forming the 13th regiment 
of the Missouri state militia cavalry. The company of infantry which was 
commanded by Capt. Charles Biehle, joined the 1st Missouri state militia 
infantry. Afterwards the 13th infantry was consolidated with four com- 
panies of the 12th regiment, and Schofield's "hussars", and from that 
time formed the 5th regiment, the old 5th having previously been dis- 
banded. 

The officers of this regiment were Albert Sigel, colonel ; Joseph A. 
Eppstein, lieutenant-colonel; John B. Kaiser, major; and John Fetzer, 
surgeon. This regiment after being thoroughly organized and fully 
drilled and equipped, was ordered to Waynesville, in the Rolla district, 
where they remained and from which place they operated during the war. 
Part of this regiment was under the command of Colonel Brown during 
his pursuit of Shelby, when in October, 1863, he made his raid through 
the state in the direction of Boonville. 

Price's Raid. — Six companies of the 5th regiment, under the command 
(13) 



194 HISTORY OF COOPER COUNTY 

of Colonel Eppstein, composed a portion of the forces of General Sanborn 
during his operations against General Price in his raid through Missouri 
in the fall of 1864. General Sanborn, at first supposing that General 
Price would march in the direction of Rolla, concentrated his forces at that 
place, but finding that General Price was making for Jefferson City, he 
moved his command to the latter place, on the way marching nearly 
parallel with the Confederates ; for while he was crossing the Osage River 
at Castle Rock, General Price was crossing the stream eight miles below. 
Colonel Eppstein's command had a slight skirmish with the Confederate 
advance guard between the Osage and the Moreau creek, but he succeeded 
in reaching Jefferson City first. 

General Sanborn had concentrated at that place, 3,000 infantry and 
4,000 cavalry, most of them regulars, and all of them well-armed and 
drilled. General Price's army numbered about 20,000 men, yet there were 
thousands of them who had no arms, and had never seen anything like a 
battle. Neither had his troops been organized and placed under com- 
manders, as many of them had flocked to his standard as he had marched 
through the state. As he was continually on the march, he had no oppor- 
tunity to effect organization in the ranks at this time although shortly 
afterwards he had them under perfect control. 

Price only made a slight attack on Jefferson City with a small por- 
tion of his forces, then withdrew without a general battle, and marched 
across the country in the direction of Boonville. General Sanborn, as 
soon as he learned the true state of affairs, started his cavalry in pursuit 
of the Confederates. The cavalry had skirmishing with the Confederal e 
rear guard, which was commanded by General Fagan at Stringtown, Rus- 
selville, and California, on the 10th clay of Oct., 1864. During these 
skirmishes, three of Colonel Eppstein's men were killed and 13 wounded. 
The loss of the Confederates is unknown. Price camped, on the night of 
the 10th, on the Moniteau creek just within the limits of Cooper County, 
and on the next day marched to Boonville. 

The P'ederals moved west and camped on the upper Tipton road, 
about eleven miles south of Boonville, at Crenshaw's farm. On the 12th 
of Oct., Colonel Graveley, with about four hundred mounted men of San- 
bora's command, advanced by way of the Tipton road to within about 
one-half of a mile of Boonville, to test the strength, and if possible, to 
find out the contemplated movements of General Price's command. At 
what is known as the Vollrath place, about one-half mile south of Boon- 
ville, Colonel Graveley came upon some Confederate companies in camp, 



HISTORY OF COOPER COUNTY 195 

and some lively fighting ensued, but finding the Confederates too strong 
for them, the Federals retreated to the main army. 

On the 12th, Colonel Eppstein with about 350 men of his command, 
moved toward Boonville, and camped at Bohannon's farm, about seven 
miles south of Boonville. Early on the morning of the 13th, he was 
ordered to advance as far as he could in the direction of Boonville, and 
reconnoitre General Price's position. Immediately upon receiving this 
order he commenced his march with the above mentioned number of men 
and two mountain howitzers, and on arriving at Wilkin's bridge, across 
the Petite Saline creek, his command was fired upon by a band of about 
400 men under the command of General Fagan, who were guarding the 
bridge. Colonel Eppstein returned the fire, and ordered four mounted 
companies to dismount and deploy as skirmishers. After some little 
skirmishing along the banks of the creek, General Fagan, leisurely re- 
treated toward Boonville. After going north about one-half of a mile, 
to where a lane crosses the main road, south of Mrs. McCarty's house, 
Colonel Eppstein, who was in pursuit, found that General Fagan had barri- 
caded the road with trees, etc. Here Miller's and Murphy's companies 
had a close fight with the Confederates, even using swords and bayonets. 
These two companies were surrounded at one time and ordered by the 
Confederates to surrender but the other two companies of Colonel Epp- 
stein's command coming up to their aid, General Fagan again fell baei,\ 
At this place two of the Federals were wounded, but none hurt upon the 
other side. 

General Fagan next made a stand at Anderson's branch, and here 
the two forces had a more severe battle. Three of the Federals were 
killed, and seven wounded. The killed were: Fred Hoecher; a man 
named Jones ; while the name of the other is not known. The loss of the 
Confederates, as was afterwards learned, was considerable. 

General Fagan by this time had brought up four pieces of artillery, 
and commenced shelling the woods .-".long Anderson';, branch in which 
cnel Eppstein was stationed. The Federals then received orders to f?.ll 
back, and retreated to California, Moniteau County, to obtain supplies. 
They soon afterwards returned to Crenshaw's farm, and there halted 
and took dinner. Here General Sanborn learned that Price had left Boon- 
ville, so marching west he camped for the night at New Nebo church. The 
next morning he continued his march in the direction of Georgetown. 

In. Aug., 1864, Captain Parks with two companies, of which Franklin 
Swap was first lieutenant and provost marshal, being a part of the Iowa 



196 HISTORY OF COOPER COUNTY 

cavalry, had command of the post at Boonville. Finding but little to do 
on this side of the river, they crossed over into Howard County, in search 
of Anderson's bushwhackers — passed through New Franklin, and took 
the road east leading to Rocheport. Although warned by the citizens of 
his danger, as Anderson was known to be in full force 'in the neighbor- 
hood, Captain Parks marched on. When about one mile east of > T 
Franklin, his command was suddenly attacked by Anderson's men, and 
cut into two parts, seven of them being killed by the first fire. The 
greater part of his command retreated to a house in the Missouri River 
bottom, and kept Anderson at bay by firing through the cracks of the 
house. Captain Parks, at the outset, became separated from his men. 
and retreated towards Fayette until he met Major Leonard's command, 
which happened to be marching in that direction. With this he returned 
to the relief of his company, and Anderson having learned of his approach, 
drew of his men and retired. 

The part of Captain Park's company which had been besieged in the 
house, finding that Anderson had drawn off his men, mounted horses, 
came back to Old Franklin in the night, and crossed the river in safety, 
although several men were missing. This part of the company knew 
nothing of Captain Parks until the next day, when he made his appearance. 
They then recrossed the river, and having recovered the bodies of their 
companions who had ben killed, buried them in one grave at the city ceme- 
tery, in the southwest part of Boonville. 

In the winter of 1862 and 1863, Colonel Pope was the commander of 
several companies of home militia, with headquarters at the fair grounds 
at Boonville. They disbanded in 1863, and Colonel D. W. Wear formed a 
battalion and was commander of the post at Boonville. The battalion did 
considerable scouting, the details of which are not sufficiently known to 
be given. 

Lieutenant-Colonel Reavis, while under Colonel Pope, learning that 
some Confederate recruiting forces had crossed the river, making their 
way in a southern direction, immediately started in pursuit and overtook 
them while in camp in the brush, near Thomas Tucker's house, about two 
miles east of Bunceton in Cooper county. He fired upon them, killing two 
men and wounding one. The recruits then separated and made their way 
out of the country by different routes. The names of the Confederates 
who were killed were Joshua Lampton and Jones, from Boone County. 
They were buried at the "Vine" or Concord church. The wounded man, 



HISTORY OF COOPER COUNTY 197 

after recovering, was paroled by Colonel Pope, and l-eturned to his home 
in Boone County. 

Shelby's Raid. — General Joseph Shelby, of the Confederate army, 
made a raid into Cooper County during the month of Oct., 1863. He 
passed through Otterville on the night of the 9th of said month, and 
burned the Pacific railroad bridge near that town. On the night of the 
10th, he camped near Bell Air, in a pasture belonging to Mr. Nathaniel 
Leonard, and on the next day he marched to Boonville. His movements 
becoming known in Boonville the night before, a meeting of the citizens 
was called by Mayor McDeramon. After some delay, the conclusion was 
reached that the only alternative was to surrender the city to General 
Shelby. Citizens were sent out to meet him, who returned without being 
able to gain any information as to his whereabouts, and they conveyed the 
impression that he would not pay his compliments to the city during this 
expedition. 

Therefore, his arrival at Boonville on the 11th day of October, was 
quite a surprise to the citizens. Several of the citizens had crossed the 
river into Howard County the night before, having concluded that dis- 
cretion was the better part of valor, that their presence in Boonville would 
accomplish no good, and that there would be more safety in making them- 
selves scarce. J. L. Stevens, R. F. O'Brien, A. H. C. Koontz, Alex Frost, 
D. C. Koontz, Leonard Ware and D. S. Kcontz were in this party. 

Just as General Shelby marched into Boonville from the south, Major 
Leonard, with about 250 Federal troops, appeared on the north side of the 
river and commenced crossing his men. The first boat load had almost 
reached the Boonville shore, when some one called to those in the boat 
that the town was full of Confederates, and that they had better retreat. 
The pilots immediately turned the boat around and made for the Howard 
shore. At this time some of Shelby's men appeared and commenced firing 
upon the boat with muskets. But the boat, having gotten out of reach 
of this fire, the Confederates brought up some artillery and opened fire on 
the boat, two shots striking it before it reached the shore. As soon as 
Major Leonard landed his forces, the artillery was turned upon them, and 
they were soon forced to retire beyond the reach of the shells. 

At the same time, Colonel Crittenden, with about one hundred men, 
was seen steaming up the river in a boat, but on learning the situation 
of affairs at Boonville, he droped down the river and landed a short dis- 
tance below, in Howard county. 



198 HISTORY OF COOPER COUNTY 

General Shelby remained in Boonville the balance of the afternoon 
of that day, and encamped for the night west of the city on the George- 
town road. He came here to obtain supplies, such as clothing and pro- 
visions, which they found in great abundance, and which they took, 
wherever found. M. J. Wertheimer and Messrs. Lamy & McFadden were 
the greatest sufferers, each losing about $4,000 in clothing. The Con- 
federate troops did not molest any person during their stay ; not a single 
man was killed or wounded, and they were very polite and gentlemanly 
to every person. 

While the Confederates were in Boonville, the Federals, under Gen- 
eral Brown, were close behind them, and on the 11th day of October, were 
within eight miles of Boonville, on the Bell Air road. On that day Gen- 
eral Brown moved a portion of his troops west to the junction of the 
Sulphur Springs and the Boonville and Georgetown roads, which is about 
seven miles southwest of Boonville. But during the night he marched 
his command back again to the Bell Air road, and camped near Billings- 
ville. The next morning after General Shelby had left, the Federals 
passed through Boonville in pursuit, their advance just behind the Con- 
federate rear guard. Two of General Shelby's men who had stopped at 
Mr. Labbo's house, about one and one-half miles west of Boonville to get 
their breakfast, were killed by some Federal scouts as they appeared at 
the front door, in order to make their escape. 

A running fight was kept up at intervals, all along the route from 
Boonville to Marshall. The fight became pretty spirited between the Sul- 
phur Springs and Dug Ford; and at Dug Ford two Federals were killed 
and fell from their horses into the water. During the long running fight 
there was quite a number killed on each side, but the number is not known. 

At Marshall, a battle took place, in which a number were killed and 
wounded on each side. But General Shelby succeeded in escaping from 
his ursuers with the loss of only a small portion of the stores which he 
had obtained at Boonville. 

This raid, of course produced great excitement, and in the heat of 
passion, considerable censure was heaped upon the commanding officer, 
whether justly or unjustly, is left to the reader to determine. General 
Shelby succeeded in getting back to the lines without any great loss, but 
whether his entire anticipations in regard to obtaining supplies and rein- 
forcements were fully realized, is not known. Major Leonard and Colonel 
Crittenden crossed their commands over the river to Boonville about ten 
o'clock on the morning of the 12th, and after stopping for dinner, they 



HISTORY OF COOPER COUNTY 199 

started in the direction of Marshall. Boonville, then was once more clear 
of troops, and the citizens had time to gather together provisions to feed 
the next lot of hungry soldiers who happened to land whether Federals 
or Confederates. Thus ended the famous "Shelby's Raid," as far as 
Cooper county was concerned. 

Price's Raid Into Cooper County. — The Federal troops in the fall of 
1864, having all abandoned Boonville, three companies of home guards 
were organized for the protection of the city against what were known 
as the bushwhackers. Two of these companies were composed of 
men belonging to both parties, who had joined these companies with the 
understanding that they would only be required to protect the city against 
bushwhackers and plunderers, and would not be compelled, against their 
wills, to fight against the regular southern troops. 

Although there were frequent alarms, the bushwhackers never 
attacked Boonville, but often during the war made raids through the 
county, in which many citizens were killed. They always took anything 
they wished, no matter in whose hands it was found. There were also 
bands of robbers moving continually through the county, who cared noth- 
ing for either party, and who robbed and killed without discrimination or 
regard to party. During the year 1864, many good citizens, belonging to 
each side, were shot down, first by one party and then by another, and 
many citizens abandoned their homes, seeking places of more security. 
The details of these murders and robberies are too disgraceful and sicken- 
ing to enumerate in this brief history. 

On the 11th day of October, 1864, scouts brought information that a 
large hostile force was approaching Boonville. These three companies, 
being under the impression that these were Andersons bushwhackers, 
immediately erected a strong barricade across Fifth street, at Thespian 
hall, in Boonville. They were strengthened in the belief that these were 
bushwhackers from the fact that they had received a dispatch that after- 
noon from Mexico, Missouri, stating that General Price had been repulsed 
at Jefferson City, and was retreating by way of Tipton. 

So these companies of home guards, expecting no quarter from Ander- 
son's men, prepared to sell their lives as dearly as they could, thinking 
anyway, that it would be certain death to fall into the hands of Bill Ander- 
son. Soon afterwards Shelby's command entered the town with a dash, 
killing a German scout near Mrs. Muir's residence, about one mile east 
of Boonville. The home guard fired one round at the advance guard of 
Shelby's command as they advanced along Vine street near the Baptist 



200 HISTORY OF COOPER COUNTY 

church, but their fire injured no one. 

Learning that this was but the advance guard of General Price's large 
army, and that resistance would be useless, the home guards surrendered 
as prisoners of war. These prisoners were quartered at the court house 
and closely guarded, but the commissioned officers were paroled. General 
Shelby, with his command, entered about sundown on the above mentioned 
day. General Price and his staff made their headquarters at the City 
Hotel, on Morgan street. On Tuesday, the 13th day of October, the prison- 
ers were marched in front of the city hall, ranged in line, and General 
Price made them a speech and gave orders for their parole, on the condi- 
tion that if they were ever found with arms against the south they would 
be shot. 

Price had about 20,000 men, many of them late Missouri recruits, 
without arms. Some of his command were well armed and drilled, but 
the greater part were very poorly armed. Their general conduct toward 
the citizens during their stay in Boonville was good. 

On the night of the 13th, while Captain Shoemaker, who was on 
parole, was going from Capt. John Porter's house to his residence, on the 
corner of Central avenue and Sixth streets, he was captured by some men 
who were afterwards discovered to be Anderson's men, taken to the fair 
grounds, killed and his body thrown into the river. Two men, named Neef 
and Boiler, were killed near their homes about four miles west of Boon- 
ville also a negro man who was concealed in a corn-shock on the farm of 
J. M. Nelson, situated two miles west of Boonville. These were all the 
persons killed in this part of the county, who were not slain in battle, 
whose names are now recollected. 

Thousands of volunteers in Missouri flocked to the standard of Gen- 
eral Price, believing that he would be able to hold the state. The rear 
guard of General Price's army and the advance guard of General San- 
born's command, skirmished, at intervals, from Jefferson City to Boon- 
ville. General Sanborn's command consisted of about 4,000 mounted men. 
The infantry command under Gen. A. J. Smith, was also in pursuit, but 
never came within fighting distance of the Confederates. 

There was considerable skirmishing and some hard lighting south and 
southeast of Boonville, during Price's three day's sojourn at that place, 
in which a number were killed and wounded on both sides. The Arkansas 
militia, under the command of General Fagan, who were left to protect 



HISTORY OF COOPER COUNTY 201 

the rear of General Price's army, were the greatest sufferers among the 
Confederates. 

A dash was made upon General Price's outposts by a few companies 
of Federals, who came so near Boonville that the firing could be heard and 
the smoke of the battle seen from the city. General Price's artillery was 
brought into requisition and soon compelled the Federals to retire. The 
greater part of Price's regulars was then called out, and a general charge 
having been made all along the line, the Federal army fell back on the road 
leading from Jefferson City to Georgetown, via Bell Air and following that 
road, camped about four miles west of Bell Air, near the farm of A. J. 
Read. 

Price's army left Boonville during the night of Oct. 14th, having 
remained three days. His army took all the horses in the northern part, 
and the Federal troops all in the southern part of the county. Both parties 
foraged upon the people of the county for the support of their respective 
armies, and left the county pretty destitute, especially of horses, hardly 
a good one being left. This was virtually the end of the war as far as 
Cooper county was concerned, no more battles being fought in it between 
organized armies. 

Tompkin's Inn was known in the early days as a hostelry of some 
importance. The stage coach that used to run between Boonville and 
Jefferson City in the very early days, during the Civil War times, made a 
stop at Tompkin's Inn. 

This inn was situated just below Prairie Home and was known as the 
Albert G. Tompkins Inn, and was located on the site of the residence of 
W. F. Carpenter. Here were not only the stage coach horses changed, 
but the hungry travelers were fed from the substantial fare of the times, 
and frequently were bedded for the night. 

During the Civil War, a squad of Federal troops came from Boonville, 
and lodged at this inn one night. Captain Boswell, who lived at the time 
on the Henry Kuhn farm, west of Prairie Home, in command of a squad 
of Confederates made an attack upon these Federal troops, and in the fight 
Captain Boswell was wounded. A few days thereafter, he died from the 
effects of the wound. The Union troops had guards out, one of them 
being Felix Imhoff, who after faithfully patrolling his beat, until relieved, 
lay down on the ground, weary, and went to sleep. So sound and peaceful 
were his slumbers, during these war times, especially on this particular 



202 HISTORY OF COOPER COUNTY 

occasion, that the fight above referred to was all over before he came 
from slumberland. He was aroused from his sleep by one of the men, 
and told of the fight. The story goes that he was intensely indignant 
because he had been thus neglected, and it was several years before he 
was restored to good humor. It seemed to be a matter of deep regret to 
him that he had missed the fun. 

Captain Boswell was buried in the Pisgah cemetery and Albert G. 
and Tompkins, who was the proprietor of the inn, is buried about 150 
yards south of the Carpenter residence. 



CHAPTER XIII. 



INCIDENTS OF THE WAR. 



JOSEPH SIFERS KILLED — RELIGIOUS SERVICES INTERRUPTED — PETER MITZEL 
AND OTHO ZELLER MURDERED— JOHN DIEHL. NICHOLAS AND THOMAS 
COOPER KILLED— MURDER OF ELLIS AND GRAVES— KILLING OF WILLIAM 
MAYO BY BILL ANDERSON— THOMAS BROWNFIELD'S EXPERIENCE— McDEAR- 
MON AND A SOLDIER KILLED— OTHER DEPREDATIONS AND MURDERS BY 
BUSHWHACKERS— KROHN AND BASS KILLED— ANDERSON'S MEN AND HOME 
GUARDS CLASH— JOHN BALLINGER KILLED— TRAGEDIES IN CLARKS FORK 
AND PRAIRIE HOME TOWNSHIPS. 

The following narration of the incidents and killing during the Civil 
war, of the citizens of our county, by lawless bands, upon either side, is 
doubtless correct in the main, yet in view of the considerable lapse of time 
since the occurrence of these events, the fallibility of the human memory, 
and many other circumstances which would have their effect, it would not 
be strange should error exist in some of the more minute details. 

Considering in the order of time in which it occurred, we mention first 
the killing of Joseph Sifers, two miles north of Pilot Grove, which took 
place about the beginning of the war. He was a Union man, whose house 
was surrounded at night by unknown men, who demanded of him his fire- 
arms. Purporting to have them hidden upon the outside of his dwelling, 
he went out intending to discover who they were, when, doubtless, under 
the belief that his life was in danger, he ran, endeavoring to reach a corn- 
field adjacent, but in the attempt was shot down by a sentinel of the party. 
It was never known who perpetrated this outrage. 

In the summer of 1864, during a revival meeting in the Southern 
Methodist Episcopal church at Pilot Grove, Captain Todd, one day during 
the hour of service, surrounded the building with a company of about sixty 
savage looking bushwhackers, who rudely entered the sacred house, stopped 



204 HISTORY OF COOPER COUNTY 

the services, and uncermoniously ej'ected the worshipers. Aftei refresh- 
ing themselves with the eatables prepared for the occasion, and selecting 
such horses as they desired, from the many secured to the trees near by, 
they departed, taking with them two citizens, Peter Mitzel and Otho Zeller 
as hostages, as they called them, whose safety would depend on the good 
conduct of the citizens, in not pursuing, intercepting or informing on 
them, there being at that time, state militia stationed at various places 
around. 

These two unfortunate men were that night barbarously butchered 
some miles east of Pilot Grove, near Lone Elm Prairie, and their bodies 
found a day or two later. Zeller had belonged to the state militia, which 
fact, to those who knew the character of the guerrillas, accounts for the 
reason of his being killed. Mitzell was loyal, though a very quiet and 
inoffensive man he had a short time previous, met a squad of guerrilas 
and mistaking them for militia, had doubtless, indiscreetly expressed his 
sentiments, for which offense, in a time when men were killed for opinion's 
sake, he paid the forfeit with his life. 

The same party of bushwhackers, returning a day or two later, passed 
through the German settlement three miles west of here, and killed two 
citizens, John Diehl and Vollmer, who, it seems, unfortunately fell into 
the same error as Mitzell, of mistaking them for Federal troops, as a 
number of them were dressed in blue. 

A Mr. Nichols was killed near Bell Air, in this county, during the same 
summer of 1864. This act was committed by a band of Hall's state 
militia. Mr. Nichols was a Kentuckian, a conservative Union man, and 
very quiet and peaceable. The provocation of this crime, if any, was 
never known. 

Thomas Cooper, of this vicinity, was arrested in the fall of 1864, in 
James Thompson's store, in Boonville, by militia, taken to a secluded spot, 
near the fair grounds, and brutally murdered and his body mutilated. 
Cooper was a southern man, and known to his neighbors as quiet, tolerant 
and inoffensive. 

In 1861, a number of horses were taken from Mr. Richard P. Ellis, by 
Mulligan's men. Mr. Ellis was then living in Cooper County, on land 
entered by him in 1839, in Lebanon township, near Syracuse. Some time 
after the horses were stolen, a soldier in citizen's garb was seen to possess 
one of the animals, and upon it being recovered from him by Mr. Ellis, 
he reported to certain soldiers at Syracuse, and a squad made their appear- 
ance and committed some depredations in the neighborhood. The family 



HISTORY OF COOPER COUNTY 205 

of Mr. Ellis were not at home, but Mr. Ellis, deeming it unsafe to be 
around, started to Lexington, and placed himself under the protection of 
General Price's army at that place. His deepest sympathies were with 
the south, but he did not enter the army, as age and other matters pre- 
vented him. He had a son, however, who was in the Confederate army. 
This was in October, 1861. Matters assuming a more peaceful stage, 
made it safe for him to return; which he did in 1862. Upon the order 
calling upon all citizens to apear at the various military headquarters to 
enroll, he went with his neighbors to the Lamine bridge to obey. Having 
enrolled, he was returning with his nephew, Mr. Graves, his son, and a 
Mr. Veulesman, when about a quarter of a mile from the bridge, they 
were met by a squad of soldiers who ordered them into the woods ahead 
of them. They did not like either the appearance or the manner of these 
men, and feeling well satisfied that it was their intention to shoot them, 
Mr. Ellis objected. When, after some parley, the squad fired into them, 
killing instantly Mr. Ellis and Mr. Graves, and severely wounding Mr. 
Ellis' son. Mr. Veulesman escaped unhurt. Thus died Richard P. Ellis, 
shot down without a cause and without a moment's warning. His untimely 
death struck sorrow to the hearts of his many friends. He was very 
popular and great sympathy was felt for his grief-stricken family. 

Mr. Edward H. Harris, of Pilot Grove, Missouri, has given the writer 
the facts relative to the killing of William Mayo. It will be seen from the 
account to follow that Mr. Harris had a very good reason to remember 
the details of this incident, though nearly eighty-eight years of age, Mr. 
Harris' mind is strong and active, and his memory especially good. 

It was in the spring of 1864. There was no town or village of Pilot 
Grove at that time, yet the post-office had been given the name Pilot 
Grove. Samuel Roe served Uncle Sam as postmaster, and received and 
distributed the mail at his log residence on his farm, in what is now Pilot 
Grove. William Mayo was a polished gentleman, a man of considerable 
means, who came from Kentucky, and located within a few miles of Pilot 
Grove. On a beautiful spring morning, he passed by Mr. Harris' house 
about a mile from Samuel Roe's residence, and together he and Mr. Harris 
started for the mail at Samuel Roe's. They were horseback. Mr. Mayo 
told Mr. Harris that a few days before, a man had come to his house and 
demanded a horse from him, which he refused to give. Mayo seemed 
to think little of the incident at the time. Mr. Hams said that he thought 
at the time it might be some of Bill Anderson's men, and that trouble 
might arise therefrom. Arriving at the postoffice, they joined other 



206 HISTORY OF COOPER COUNTY 

neighbors, who had gathered upon that bright day sitting on the front 
porch, awaiting the arrival of the mail, and discussing the events of the 
day, as neighbors then did when gathered together on such occasions. 

Presently some one called attention to about twenty men on horse- 
back, beyond where the M. K. & T. depot is now located. At this time 
where the depot is now located was but a pond, or small lake. Mr. Harris 
remarked that they did not appear to be Union soldiers. Union soldiers, 
however, were not far from the neighborhood. 

Presently the horsemen rode up, and then it was discovered that 
they were Bill Anderson and his men. Those sitting upon the porch 
were ordered out and lined up. Anderson then called upon them for 
their valuables. Mr. Harris says that he remembers distinctly that a 
boy about fifteen or sixteen years of age passed down the line to relieve 
them of their possessions. When he came to him, Mr. Harris said to 
him, "Son, don't take that money, I had to work for it." The boy imme- 
diately responded, taking his pocket-book, "Well, you can work and get 
some more." Mr. Harris said then, "Do not take my papers." The boy 
then returned the papers, and at the same time handed him a dollar, 
saying, "This will give you a start." William Mayo wore at that time 
upon his person, a gold watch and chain. This he objected to giving up, 
when Bill Anderson fired at him with his pistol, or rather fired at his 
feet, evidently not intending to hit him. At this, Mayo turned, and im- 
mediately fled, running behind Roe's house, where he was joined by 
Thomas Brownfield, who had been hiding, and had not lined up with 
the others. 

Bill Anderson and another man on horseback pursued them, and 
when Anderson got to the rear of the house, he asked an old nei 
woman which direction they went, and she, waving her hand, said, "T 
way." Anderson, then on horseback, started in pursuit of Mayo, who 
was going in the direction of what is now known as Robert Ma 
farm, evidently attempting ot reach a thicket of plum tret-s. Brownfield, 
however, veered off to the right, and went towards Mr. Hai i ;• ' farm, seek- 
ing some brush, and low shrubbery to hide in. 

When Mayo had reached the point about where, or a little beyond 
Otto Kistenmacher's present residence, he turned his head, at which 
time Anderson, in close proximity fired at him, and shot him in the 
middle of the forehead, killing him instantly. The other man in pursuit 
of Brownfield was not so successful. After having emptied his revolver 
at Brownfield's fleeing figure, Brownfield immediately turned, and with 



HISTORY OF COOPER COUNTY 207 

cool courage, pointed his pistol at the trooper, which caused him to nalt. 
Brownfield did not shoot, knowing full well that the other men would 
search the country, and wreak their vengeance upon him. Instead, he 
fled for his life, and in the meantime, the man who was pursuing him, 
reloaded his revolver, and started in pursuit. When Brownfield was 
climbing over a fence into Mr. Harris's farm, the pursuing horseman 
shot at him several times, and finally wounded him in the hand. Brown- 
field, however, succeeded in reaching the brush, and in its friendly shel- 
ter, concealed himself. 

Anderson, in the meantime, joined the other man, and together they 
sought to find Brownfield, but Anderson, being apprised by his compan- 
ion that Brownfield was nervy, and was well-armed, they desisted from 
further search, and returned to their men. 

This band had evidently been operating in the county several days, 
despite the presence of militia or Union soldiers. A day or so before 
the killing of Mayo, this same band appeared at Nathaniel Leonard's, the 
father of the late Capt. Charles E. Leonard, near Bell Air, and had it not 
been, for the timely intercession of Miss Minnie Corum, who was known 
to be of southern sympathies, would have doubtless have done much 
wanton damage, if not committed worse crimes. Capt. C. E. Leonard 
belonged to the State militia. Mr. Harris thinks that this band came 
direct from Leonard's to Pilot Grove with purposes of robbing those 
whom they knew were accustomed to gather at the postiffice at Samuel 
Cole's. 

The facts of the following incident were given by Dave Brownfield, 
the nephew of Thomas Brownfield. This is the same Thomas Brownfield 
that escaped Bill Anderson's ire, on the occasion .iust above related. 

At the close of the war, Thomas Brownfield was living where one 
of the Wittmans now lives, in a three room log cabin with a loft. His 
half-brother, Abraham Brownfield, was with him on this occasion, and 
was sleeping in the front room, whereas the family was sleeping in the 
room to the rear. 

It was in the winter time, and after all had retired, Thomas Brown- 
field thought he heard some men in front of his cabin. After listening 
a while, he concluded that they were there for no good, and he judged 
that they were marauders bent on mischief. Stepping into the front 
room, he climbed a ladder into the loft, and -with his gun, from the open- 
ing of the loft, commanded the door leading into the room from the outside. 

Presently admission was demanded, bill no one answered. Then 



208 HISTORY OF COOPER COUNTY 

the door was forced, and as a man entered, who proved afterwards to be a 
Mr. Brownlee, Mr. Brownfield from the opening of the loft, shot him, 
and he fell to the floor. He struggled to get out of the door, but Abraham 
Brownfield seized him, and pulled him back, and slammed the door. 

Thinking their leader was dead, the others upon the outside set fire 
to the house. Brownlee, however, was not dead. Realizing his condition, 
and that he would be burned, rather than to save the house and lives of 
others, he shouted to his men to put out the fire — not to burn him up. 
This they did after some difficulty. 

Then Thomas Brownfield entered into a parley with the men upon 
the outside, and promised them if they would leave, that he would send 
for a doctor, and have Brownlee properly attended to, would not turn 
him over to the authorities, and when he had recovered would release 
him. This agreement was entered into. Brownfield was not only cool 
and courageous, and a man of great discretion, but of rectitude as well. 

As soon as possible, he sent for Doctor Pendleton, who came and 
dressed the wounds of Brownlee, and in every respect, Thomas Brownfield 
faithfully carried out his agreement. 

A few days after the tragic event of the death of Peter Mitzel and 
Otho Zellar at the hands of rebel bushwhackers, who took them from the 
old Pilot Grove Methodist Church during a "protracted" revival meeting 
in the summer of 1864, and killed them at camp near Old Palestine the 
same night, Thomas Cooper and Robert Magruder, citizens of Pilto Grove 
neighborhood, were in Boonville together. Cooper and Magruder were at 
the church the day Mitzel and Zellar were taken from the congregation, 
but it happened that they were not in the house but were lying together 
under the shade of a tree in sight of the open windows, when the squad 
of bushwhackers rode up. They were surrounded by the squad, who 
engaged them in conversation, which fact was observed by some persons 
in the congregation. 

It seems that this incident led to a report which had come to the 
ears of the Home Guard militia of Boonville, that Cooper and Magruder 
informed the bushwhackers that Mitzel and Zellar were in the church, 
thereby implicating them in the apprehension and killing of the latter. 

Cooper was shot and killed in a drug store on Main street in Boon- 
ville by members of the Home Guard, and diligent search was made for 
Magruder, who would have met the same fate, if they had found him. 
Magruder's life was saved by the effort and presence of mind of Colonel 





VINE CLAD BRIDGE 
BOONVILLE. MO 



.■Jb^. 





VINE CLAD BRIDGE. BOONVILLE. MO. 




ST. JOSEPH'S HOSPITAL, BOONVILLE, MO. 



HISTORY OF COOPER COUNTY 209 

Pierce, who kept the Pierce Hotel (now Powell's Rooming House), on 
High street. 

Magruder was lying on a lounge in the office of the hotel when sev- 
eral militiamen entered and inquired of Pierce whether a man named 
Magruder had been there. Having heard of the shooting of Cooper a 
little while before, Pierce, with rare presence of mind, assured the soldiers 
that Magruder had been there, but had gone away. Not knowing Ma- 
gruder personally, the soldiers were deceived, and left to continue their 
search. After they were gone, Pierce searched Magruder and later smug- 
gled him on board of a river steamboat bound down the Missouri River, 
and he left Cooper County to return only after the end of the war. 

Our fellow county man, Walter Barron, gives us the following inci- 
dent in the killing of a soldier whose name he does not now recall, and 
Frank McDearman: In the winter of 1861, the 37th Illinois Infantry 
was then stationed near Boonville. The regiment to which the infantry 
belonged, and to which our friend, Mr. Barron, was a member, was 
located on the Lamine River near Otterville, during the winter of 1861. 

Mr. Barron knew the soldier well, although at this time he does not 
recall his name. He was reputed to be reckless, and of a desperate char- 
acter. He was also well acquainted with and was a friend of Frank 
McDearmon, who then lived in Boonville. 

In the winter of 1861, a dance was given, in a two story frame build- 
ing, in east Boonville, known as the Ainsle house, although Ainsle was 
not occupying the house at the time, he having been drowned in the 
Missouri River many years before. 

The elite of the city and surrounding country were not invited nor 
expected to attend this dance. The attendance was rather made up of 
those who desired a jolly, reckless and rip-roaring time, rather than the 
refinement of a gathering of the best society. The character of those 
who attended was not closely scrutinized. There were whisky and liquor 
in profusion, and many participated in the flowing bowl until they be- 
came not only loquacious, but argumentative, jealous and pugnacious. 

Frank McDearmon and the soldier had some controversy, and heated 
argument. After the same, when Frank McDearmon entered the room 
where the dance was being conducted, he met the soldier, and at once 
with a pistol, shot him, inflicting a wound that proved fatal. However, 
before expiring, the soldier, with a knife, cut McDearmon nine times, 
(14) 



210 HISTORY OF COOPER COUNTY 

from which wounds McDearmon also expired. Both parties died on the 
scene of action. 

In the fall of 1864, numerous small bodies of men, supposed to be 
guerillas from the north side of the river, made incursions into Cooper 
County, committing many depredations, and in some cases, murdei-s. 
During this year a small body of men attempted to capture Tom Mercer, 
and followed him to the Widow Careys' home. Mercer and some five 
or six men were in the house at the time, and seeing the approach of 
these marauders, Mercer called upon the men to defend the house. They 
were well armed. As the marauders approached the house, Mercer picked 
out one, and told one of the other men to pick out another. Aiming their 
guns they fired. Mercer succeeded in killing his man, but the other, so 
far as known, was not as successful. Mercer and the men in the house 
then made their escape through a cornfield. 

On Aug. 31, 1864, a tragedy occurred seven or eight miles south of 
Boonville on the farm known as the Major Moore place, in which then 
lived Christian Krohn. Krohn was assisting his wife and little ten months 
old son to dismount from a horse when a party of horsemen, supposed to 
be guerillas, rode up. Mr. Krohn was commanded to go into the house. 
He turned the child over to its mother and started to do as he was bid 
when a volley was fired into him and he fell dead at his own threshold. 
In innate brutality the men proceeded to set fire to the house and the 
widow was commanded to get what articles she wanted to save. Tom 
with grief and desperate, she replied, "You have killed my husband so 
you might as well burn my house too." At this some pity must have 
touched the heart of one of the men for he returned to the house and 
extinguished the fire, whereupon they rode away. The ten months old 
infant mentioned in this incident has grown to manhood and is now our 
popular county man, John F. Krohn. 

Radford Bass, a Southern sympathizer, was killed in the fall of 
1864, near the Lutheran Church, two and one-half miles southeast of 
Gooch Mill. He was captured by a band of men and held in captivity a 
short time according to one version, and was turned loose. After he had 
left and traveled but a short distance he was followed by a boy, who 
belonged to the capturing band, of about 17 years of age who came upon 
him and shot him in cold blood. Another vei*sion is that a rope was put 
around his neck and he was dragged by a man on horseback until he was 
exhausted and was practically choked to death and shot. 

Another man by the name of Hill was killed in the fall of 1864, on 
the day of Bass's murder, northeast of Prairie Home. He was captured 



HISTORY OF COOPER COUNTY 211 

by a squad of men who left him in charge of one of their number. A 
short time afterwards this man joined the squad and upon being asked 
what had become of his prisoner, said that he objected to being held in 
captivity and that he had disposed of him. Different versions have been 
given of this affair, one is that the man who had charge of this prisoner, 
desiring to join the squad, had killed the prisoner, as the easiest method 
of ridding himself of an unwelcome charge. 

On the same day that Radford Bass was murdered the same squad, 
consisting of nine men, killed Squire Handshaw. Squire Handshaw was 
a man of about 80 years of age. This gang of men went to his home 
about two and one-half miles southeast of Gooch Mill and called him out 
of his house, made him get upon a fence and then shot him. He imme- 
diately expired. 

It will be noted that most of these crimes and depredations were 
committed during the end of the Civil War and the excuse as given in 
many instances was that of reprisal. On the north . side of the river 
were Anderson's men under various captains. In the earlv fall of 1864 
it was reported, whether true or not, that numerous crimes had been com- 
mitted by the Home Guards upon Southern sympathizers in Saline town- 
ship. At this time the sentiment of the people on both sides of this cause 
were as seething cauldrons and men seemed to have lost their reason. 
Rumors were not thoroughly investigated and irresponsible talk was plen- 
tiful. In any event, Captain Todd, with a squad of Bill Anderson's men 
swam the Missouri River on horse-back and entered Cooper County in 
Saline township in quest of the Home Guards. About noon on Oct. 7, 
1864, they saw coming up the hill by Granville Smiths, about one and 
one-quarter miles south of Gooch Mill, a squad of men of the militia 
under command of Capt. Bernhardt Deidrich, consisting of the following: 
Frank Hafferburg, Henry Weaver, Erhardt Blank, John Blank, Jacob 
Blank, Mr. Deil (grandfather of Theodore Deil, of Wooldridge), Mr. 
Hute (grandfather of Peter Hute of Prairie Home), Mr. Ader, Ernest 
Speiler and Otto Speiler. Todd's men were upon the brow of the hill and 
as these men approached coming up the hill got in close proximity, they 
at once attacked them and succeeded in killing Capt. Bernhardt Deid- 
rich, Frank Hafferburg, Henry Weaver, who was said to have been scalped 
and brained. He was an old man. Erhardt Blank, Deil, Hute, Ader, were 
also killed. Ernest Speiler, who was shot through the arm. Otto Speiler, 
John Blank and Jacob Blank escaped. 

John Henry Boiler, the father of our fellow townsman, Fred J. Boiler, 
was murdered on June 15, 1864, near Boonville. We get the details of 



212 HISTORY OF COOPER COUNTY 

this incident from Mr. Fred J. Boiler. On the day above mentioned, John 
Henry Boiler was coming to Boonville, on the public road riding in a 
buggy when he passed what was then known as the Miller place. Three 
men, to-wit: Bill Stewart, Carter and Sloan, were resting under the shade 
of a tree. When Mr. Boiler had passed, one of the men asked Sloan who 
he was. Sloan told him. The three men then followed Boiler to near 
what was known as the Ripley place, and stopped him and demanded 
his money. Mr. Boiler complied with their demand by showing them his 
watch, but evidently not anticipating trouble, drove on. When he did 
so, they immediately began to fire upon him, shooting him four or five 
times. After they had robbed him, old man Kiele came along and they 
robbed him. 

Mr. Boiler came to Boonville and as he neared the Missouri Pacific 
station, Mr. Back, noticing his bloody and weakened condition, took him 
into his house to administer to him. Mr. Boiler died immediately. 

The militia was then stationed at Boonville. It was notified of the 
killing of Boiler, and started at once in pursuit of the murderers. In 
the Labbo neighborhood, they came upon Sloan, whom one of the militia 
succeeded in shooting in the side of the head. Although Sloan recovered 
from this wound thereafter he was blind. Carter and Stewart were not 
found at the time, and it is not known what became of Carter. Bill 
Stewart, however, was killed in 1865 at Franklin, north of the river. A 
cattleman had stopped at a hotel at Franklin and the landlady in charge 
of the same, seeing Bill Stewart approaching, told the cattleman that the 
notorious desperado, Bill Stewart, was coming to the hotel, and for him 
to be on his guard. The cattleman closed the door, Stewart came and 
being unable to open the door, demanded admittance. Not receiving the 
same, he broke open the door, and as he entered, the cattleman, who was; 
armed with a revolver, shot him dead in his tracks. 

As illustrative of the conditions that existed in the county during 
and at the close of the Civil War, the following incident is given: Ross 
Montgomery, a bad negro lived in Saline township during the war. and 
was formerly a slave belonging to the late H. B. Hopkins. He was right- 
fully accused of burning several barns and residences of Southern sym- 
pathizers and threatening the lives of several prominent Southern men. 

At the close of the war, the boys returned home. This negro was 
engaged in cutting cordwood near Overton on a certain day. When quit- 
ting work on the evening of that day, he started home by way of an aban- 
doned well in the woods. He disappeared, no one knew where. Several 



HISTORY OF COOPER COUNTY 213 

years afterwards, John Wainwright, having built a cabin in the woods, 
went to this well to clean it out to supply water for his family, and after 
getting a lot of stumps out of the well, he found the skeleton of a man, 
and by the shoes and clothing, which were identified by Ross' wife as 
belonging to the negro, they solved the mystery of his disappearance. 

In Clarks Fork township on the farm where Henry Schubert now 
lives, in the fall of 1864, Chris Fricke, uncle of Henry F. Fricke and Henry 
Schultz were killed by a small band of four or five men supposed to be 
querillas. 

In the winter of 1861 and 1862, two members of the Home Guards, 
seeking to impress wagons to haul soldiers to Tipton, rode up to William 
George's house in Clarks Fork township on their mission. Mr. George 
was not at home at the time. John Oakman, however, was there, and 
doubtless mistaking their purpose, shot and killed one of the Home 
Guards. The other, the late Albert Muntzel, was not injured. 

A man by the name of Charles Wagner was killed near Pisgah in 
the early part of the war. We are unable to give any further details of 
this incident. 

At the time of Price's raid, Captain Shoemaker was the head of a 
Provisional Militia company. When Price's- army left Boonville and vi- 
cinity, Shoemaker could not be found and was never heard of again. His 
disappearance has never been accounted for. The supposition, however, 
is that he was killed, although the body was never found. 

Jeremiah Good and father were killed between Big Lick and Prairie 
Home shortly after the Civil War. A small party of four or five men 
were approaching the house. When the Goods started from the barn to 
the house they were immediately shot down. It is stated that a small boy 
of about fifteen, a Good, was in the house at the time, and shot one of 
the men. It seems that John Good, a brother of Jeremiah Good, during 
the war had shot a man at a blacksmith's shop at Big Lick and it was 
supposed that these men were seeking John Good when they approached 
the Good house. John Good, however, was not here at the time when 
his father and brother were killed. 



CHAPTER XIV. 



PERIOD OF READJUSTMENT 



PREJUDICE— CONSTITUTIONAL CONVENTION— RADICALS— "DRACONIAN CODE"— 
"IRON CLAD OATH"— CONSTITUTION ADOPTED— LATER AMENDED AND RADI- 
CALISM DEFEATED— BROWN ELECTED GOVERNOR— UNPOPULARITY OF 
DRAKE— PRESBYTERIAN CHURCH DURING AND AFTER THE WAR. 

The time intervening between the close of the Civil War in 1865 and 
the early seventies, was properly called in the South the "period of recon- 
struction," but in Missouri, the "period of readjustment." Prejudice was 
inflamed to a high pitch, and in Cooper, the inevitable result of the many 
oturages committed during the war was calculated to leave scars on the 
very souls of many that the soothing unction of time alone could eradicate. 

In times of intense excitement, when passions are aroused, whether 
in state or more local matters, the reason seems dethroned, and the evil 
in man comes uppermost. At such times, those of light mentality, who 
"tear the tatters" most, and feed with vehemence upon passions, preju- 
dice and malice, too often rise to prominence for a brief time, yet long 
enough to stab and wound. 

Robespierr was such a one, who wept at the death of a pet bird, yet 
with his guillotin drenched the streets of Paris with blood. When a 
stagnant pool is stirred, and its waters violently agitated, the sediment 
rises to the top, only to sink again to its proper place at the bottom when 
the calm succeeds the agitation. 

A Constitutional Convention assembled in St. Louis on Jan. 6, 1865, 
and continued in session until April 10th of that year. The Radicals of 
the state were in the saddle, and like a beggar astride, rode violently. 
This convention was composed of 66 members, three-fourths of whom 
were of the radical element. These men were known but little throughout 



HISTORY OF COOPER COUNTY 215 

the State, and at the close of the convention, when their work had been 
completed, most of them went back into immediate obscurity, and were 
heard of no more. 

The great dominating figure of this convention was Charles Drake. 
He was the radical of radicals. His career had been kaleidoscopic, and in 
politics, he was a regular turncoat. He was first a Whig, a Know Nothing, 
a Democrat, and then the radical of radicals. At this time, he became 
easily the leader of the extremists. The constitution adopted became 
known as the Drake constitution, and because of Drake's leading part in 
framing this constitution, and because of the severities of many of its 
sections, it called to the minds of many people, the laws of Draco of 
ancient Greece, which were noted for the heavy penalties that were levied 
for their violation. For these reasons the constitution of 1865, was fre- 
quently called the "Draconian Code." 

The test oath provided by this constitution disfranchised at least one- 
third of the electors of the State. It soon became intensely unpopular, 
even with members of the Radical party. Not only were elaborate disquali- 
fications for voting provided, but in another section, the religious, chari- 
table, social and business relations were invaded, and a provision was made 
for an "expergatorial" oath, for ministers of the Gospel, attorneys, and 
teachers. Under that section, no person was permitted to practice law, 
or be competent as a preacher, priest, minister, deacon or clergyman, of 
any religious persuasion, sect or denomination to teach, or preach, or 
solemnize marriages, unless such persons should first take, and subscribe, 
and file the prescribed oath of loyalty. 

So comprehensive in details was the test oath that was required to 
be taken by those who sought to vote, or practice any of the above pro- 
fessions, that it was known as the "Iron-Clad Oath." This constitution 
was submitted to the people for their adoption or rejection June 6, 1865, 
but only those who could take the oath of loyalty prescribed, by the con- 
stitution itself, were allowed to vote upon its adoption. 

The fight was bitter from beginning to end, especially in the Missouri 
River counties, including Cooper, of course. The constitution was adopted 
by a majority of less than two thousand. The votes stood 43,670 for, and 
41,808 against. The advice of loyal Union men, such as Hamilton R. Gam- 
bel, Frank P. Blair, B. Gratz Brown, and a short time afterwards Carl 
Schurtz, prominent and leaders in the cause of the Union, true men and 
patriots, went unheeded. 

The election of 1868 marked the high tide of Radical success. Under 



216 HISTORY OF COOPER COUNTY 

the leadership of such men as Blair, and others, many patriotic Union men 
throughout the State, were arrayed in violent opposition, and protested 
against the indignities of the test-oath. 

Under the leadership of Carl Schurtz, a Liberal Republican ticket was 
nominated with B. Gratz Brown, as candidate for Governor. The Radicals 
renominated McClurg. Brown was elected by a majority of nearly 42,000. 

But more significant and important than the political success of the 
Liberal Republican ticket, was the adoption of the several constitutional 
amendments, the one abolishing the test-oath, being carried by a vote of 
137,000 to 16,000. 

With the election of the Liberal Republican ticket in 1870, or rather 
the defeat of the radicals, their most prominent leader, Drake, passed from 
the stage as an actor in the public affairs of the State. In all probability 
no other political leader ever left Missouri politics with greater unpopu- 
larity than Drake. 

While this chapter may in a measure be discoursive, it shall bear the 
merit of being brief. Its purpose has been simply to state a general con- 
dition without making specific and local applications. We have mentioned 
no local incidents of this period, for fear that in doing so, or mentioning 
names, we might open some sores of which the editor himself is not in- 
formed. Those strenuous times are passed, passion and prejudice have 
vanished, and amity and friendship now prevail. No good could be accom- 
plished by going into specific incidents that might have a tendency to 
arouse in part a bitterness that has long disappeared. 

The Presbyterian Church During and After the Civil War. — These 
matters, of difficult adjustment and mutual agreement, grew out of cer- 
tain declarations • made by the General Assembly of the Presbyterian 
Church in the United States of America, during the war period, and bear- 
ing upon the questions which vitally concerned the people of both the 
North and South. They were deliverances of the General Assembly, made 
when intense feeling ran high, and brotherly love was at low ebb. The 
Presbyterians, living south of the Mason and Dixon line, promptly re- 
sented these deliverances of the General Assembly. Later on they with- 
drew and established what is now known as the Presbyterian Church of 
the United States. 

During this volcanic eruption in the church, the Presbyterians of Mis- 
souri stood neutral. Harmony and usefulness of the church was the para- 
mount question. The Synod of Missouri met in the Boonville Presbyterian 
Church in the autumn of 1866. The all engrossing subject of the ecclesi- 



HISTORY OF COOPER COUNTY 217 

astic union was there ably and vigorously debated. Rev. Dr. Nicolls and 
Rev. Dr. James H. Brooks, both of St. Louis, led the party standing for 
union with the northern branch of the church. As no agreement could be 
reached by this Synod as then organized, Doctor Nicolls and his adherents 
withdrew from the church building, and held their meeting of Synod in the 
parlor of the Home of Mrs. Pauline E. Rush on Main street, and carried 
the churches they represented into the northern branch of the church. 

The remaining members of the Synod of Missouri in the church build- 
ing concluded their meeting by adopting what was known and termed a 
"declaration and testimony" deliverance. This action, on the part of the 
declaration and testimony party held the Presbyterian Churches in Mis- 
souri of southern trend, neutral for several years, when they formed a 
union with the southern branch, known as the Presbyterian Church of 
the United States. 

Those were trying days to church people. The drastic deliverance 
of the General Assembly were gradually modified or withdrawn. Now the 
question of organic union of these two great branches of one great church, 
is being urgently advocated and growing in favor, both in the North and 
South. It is most unfortunate that political differences should ever enter 
into any church discussion or action. The Boonville Presbyterian Church 
has been free from this error. Christian fellowship and co-operation 
should ever be the ruling spirit. 



CHAPTER XV. 



TOWNSHIPS 



BOONVILLE TOW NSHIP— BOONVILI.E AS IT IS TODAY— BLACKWATER TOWNSHIP- 
CLEAR CREEK TOWNSHIP— PILOT GROVE TOWNSHIP— KELLY TOWNSHIP— 
LAMINE TOWNSHIP— NORTH AND SOUTH MONITEAU TOWNSHIPS — PALESTINE 
TOWNSHIP— PRAIRIE HOME TOWNSHIP— CLARKS FORK TOWNSHIP— SALINE 
TOWNSHIP— LEBANON TOWNSHIP— OTTERVILLE TOWNSHIP 

Boonville Township evidently took its name from Boonville, and Boon- 
ville was thus named in honor of the great hunter, pioneer and Indian- 
fighter, Daniel Boone. When it acquired this name is not known, but it 
has been so-called from "time whereof the memory of man runneth not 
to the contrary." Boone was intimate with the Coles, and visited at Ste- 
phen Cole's Fort and at Hannah Cole's Fort, and being a man of much 
repute and fame among the early settlers they honored him by calling 
this settlement Boonville. 

The history of Boonville and Boonville township is the earliest history 
of Cooper County, much of which has heretofore been given in this volume. 
Hannah Cole, who was mentioned in the preceding chapter, located and 
took a preemption claim in 1810, which included what is now Boonville 
and afterward sold the same Jan. 25, 1819, for a mere trifle to Bird Lock- 
hart and Henry Carroll. 

Aside from the Coles, if indeed they were located in the limits of old 
Boonville, was Gilliard Rupe, who built his cabin near the corner of Spring 
and Third streets, and on the south side of Spring street near where was 
located the old cement factory. Rupe next erected a building as a ferry 
house at the mouth of the branch which today bears his name. Mrs. 
Hannah Cole operated the first ferry. Soon thereafter several log cabins 
were built on the bottom land below this branch, extending south as far 



HISTORY OF COOPER COUNTY 219 

as the cornel* of Morgan and Second streets before the < town was laid off. 

The pioneer business house was kept by a Frenchman by the name of 
A. Robideux. This was located in the flat of the Rupe branch. RobideUx 
came from St. Louis, and was doubtless an Indian trader before settling 
in Boonville. Soon after Rodideux commenced business, a man named Nolin 
opened a grocery near the mouth of Rupe branch. It is said his store in 
trade consisted mostly of whisky and tobacco. Their houses were log and 
pole cabins and were erected along about 1816 and 1817. During the same 
period, Mrs. Reavis and William Bartlett kept boarding houses in the same 
locality and Thomas Rogers built a cabin at the corner of High and Second 
streets, and used it as a residence, hotel and store. 

Mrs. Margaret Stephens, who was the wife of Judge Lawrence Ste- 
phens, and the daughter of William Moore, was one of the early pioneers 
of Cooper County. In the fall of 1816, after her father had settled in this 
county she went to Boonville with her uncle, Mr. McFarland, and after 
looking around she asked where Boonville was. She thought she was com- 
ing to something of a town. Her uncle pointed to Robideux's store, a round 
log cabin with bark on the logs, and said, "there is Boonville." They then 
dismouunted, and after making some purchases, returned home. 

Boonville was laid out by Asa Morgan and Charles Lucas, and plat 
filed on Aug. 1, 1817. It was surveyed by William Ross. The first lot sold 
was before the filing of this plat. The deed was made on the 16th clay of 
July, 1817, by Asa Morgan of the county of Howard and Charles Lucas of 
the town of St. Louis, both in the territory of Missouri, conveying to Rob- 
ert Austin of the county of Howard in said territory for and in considera- 
t ; on of $75, one lot or parcel of ground in the town of Boonville, containing 
90 feet front on Water street and 150 feet more or less in depth, being lot 
number 43, on the plat of said town of Boonville. 

The first lot sales were held in 1819. A donation of 50 acres was 
made by Morgan and Lucas to Cooper County for a permanent county seat. 
The first donation lots were sold in 1821. 

The first houses built after the town was laid off were two brick 
structures on Morgan street, one east of the jail and the other east of and 
near the Central National Bank, both built by Asa Morgan, after whom 
Morgan street was named. 

From the history of Howard and Cooper Counties, written in 1883, 
we take the folloiwng: 

"Some old houses now standing are Doctor Trigg's on Morgan street 
and a log house on the north side of High street on the comer of Seventh, 



220 HISTORY OF COOPER COUNTY 

now occupied by a colored woman by the name of Carter. Also a brick 
house on High street northeast of the court house built by T Ion. R. P. 
Clark, and owned by Joseph and William Williams." 

The next merchants after Robideux and Nolin were Jocab and Wyan 
and Archie Kavanaugh. Their store and residence was located north of 
the court house square. Other early merchants were McKenzie, Bousfield, 
Colonel Thornton, Mrs. Dobbins, Thomas M. Campbell and Judge C. H. 
Smith. 

Justinian Williams built the next hotel, and afterward sold it to John 
Dade, a part of which is still standing and is used as a hotel known as the 
Santa Fe Inn. This building of course has been added to, and greatly modi- 
ged. There was also a hotel on the lot north of the jail, once occupied as 
the residence of Judge C. W. Sombart, and is now a portion of the yard 
of the present residence of C. A. Sombart, son of the judge. 

Boonville up to 1826 was but a hamlet of straggling log cabins and 
its growth had been slow. However, in the summer and fall of IS26 it 
entered an era of prosperity never known before in its brief history. This 
was the year in which the angry waters of the Missouri sapped the foun- 
dations and forever put an end to the future prosperity of the thriving 
town of Franklin on the north side of the river, reference to which has 
heretofore been made. From this time Boonville began to assume import- 
ance and in a few years the wholesale and supply center for the great 
southwest territory. Many merchants from Franklin moved to Boonville 
as also did business men from other sections of the country. 

The first macadamized street was Main street, laid in 1840. During 
the year 1843, Moseley and Stanley operated a brewery. Between the 
years 1840-1850 real estate in Boonville commanded a better price than 
it ever had before or has since, except within the last few years. 

Luke Williams is celebrated as being the first preached in Cooper 
County, having located in Boonville several years before the county was 
organized. He was a farmer and a Baptist. 

Justinian Williams deserves special mention in the history of Cooper 
County. He was born in Virginia, and while young, emigrated to Ken- 
tucky, and there married. He then moved to Howard County, Mo., and 
from there to Cooper County, and settled in Boonville in 1818. In this 
year he located the first Methodist Church in Cooper County. He was 
a cabinet maker by trade, and followed that business for several years 
and organizing churches at intervals. He was also the local preacher at 



HISTORY OF COOPER COUNTY 221 

Boonville for several years. In 1834, he built a steamboat called "The Far 
West," about two miles above the mouth of Bonne Femme Creek in How- 
ard County, and was the commander of the same for some time. During 
that year he emigrated to Tennessee, where he died. He was a unique and 
forceful character in the time in which he lived. 

We have been unable to trace the local records of Boonville further 
back than Feb. 3, 1836. On that day there was an organization of the 
trustees of the town of Boonville, of which body, C. P. Powell was chair- 
man, and Charles G. Lewis, Alexander Hanna, David Andrews, and John 
Rea, were trustees. Washington Adams, who afterwards became one of 
the prominent lawyers of the State, was secretary. 

At the succeeding town election, Edward Lawton was elected chair- 
man, and Richard B. Holeman, secretary. 

The city was incorporated by an act of the General Assembly approved 
Feb. 8, 1839, and the first organization thereunder was affected May 3, 
1839. The following officers were elected by the people, under the charter, 
to-wit: Marcus Williams, Jr., mayor; J. Rice, president of the board; Wil- 
liam Shields, J. L. Collins, Jacob Wyan, David Andrews, Charles Smith, 
J. S. McFarland, and J. H. Malone, councilmen. 

Marcus Williams, the first mayor of Boonville, was a brother of Jus- 
tinian Williams, both of whom were uncles of the late lamented Judge 
William M. Williams. Marcus Williams was a brick mason, and manu- 
factured the first bricks ever made in Cooper County. He opened a lime 
kiln in the western part of Boonville. At the Vollrath place, in 1840, he 
made the first stoneware ever manufactured in western Missouri. He emi- 
grated to California at the time of the gold excitement in 1849, and settled 
in San Jose, and died about the year 1860. It is related that just before 
he left Boonville, he had an altercation with one of the prominent citizens 
of Boonville. This altercation resulted in an assault upon his part. lie 
was arrested, and a small fine placed upon him. It seems that he had 
had some trouble about a mortgage this citizen held upon some of his 
property. He felt that he had been badly treated, and determined to shake 
the dust from his feet, and leave the town. Having loaded all his remain- 
ing possessions in a wagon, with his team he drove down Main street, and 
stopped. Then called together a crowd of citizens and from his wagon, 
made them a speech, in which he told them that he had cast his lot among 
them, endeavoring to build up their town and country, but that he had 
not been appreciated, but instead had been mistreated. He told the as- 



222 HISTORY OF COOPER COUNTY 

sembled crowd that he proposed to shake the dust from his feet, and raising 
one foot, he literally shook the dust from it, then lashed his horses with 
his reins, and started on his trip to California. 

The year 1840 was distinguished as being the time when the first 
steamboat built and successfully launched at Boonville. It was constructed 
under the superintendence of Captain McCourtney, and was intended for 
the Osage. It was called the "Warsaw." 

As a port of entry at this time, Boonville excelled any other town on 
the river except St. Louis. As many as five or six steamboats would often 
land during the day and night, for the purpose of taking on and discharg- 
ing freight. 

During the year 1850, the whole number of deaths that had occurred 
in Boonville was 45, as shown by the sextons report. Thirty-eight of these 
were white persons, and seven were negroes. Eleven of these were strang- 
ers who had just arrived in the city, or who were passing through. The 
population of the city at that time was estimated at about 2,800. 

During the decade between 1850 and 1860, several newspapers were 
established and discontinued. Notably among these were the "Central Mis- 
sourian," and the "Boonville Missourian." 

The Missouri State Agricultural Society held the first fairs at the 
Fair Grounds near Boonville in 1853 and 1854. In 1855 the foundations 
were laid for Thespian Hall, which was begun during that year. At the 
time of its construction, it was considered one of the largest and most 
magnificent buildings to be found west of St. Louis. It was erected by a 
number of stockholders and occupies the northeast corner of Fifth and 
Church street, now called Vine street. The building is constructed of 
brick, 50x100 feet, with 10 feet open space in front, supported by four 
brick colums, 4x4 feet square. The Thespian Hall is four feet above the 
ground, and 20 feet high in the clear. The second story was divided into 
three apartments, two halls originally for use of Masonic and Odd Fellow s' 
Associations, fronting on Fifth street, 23i/2 x 43 feet, a town hall fronting 
Vine street, 35x47 feet. The basement story was designed for reading 
rooms. This building has since been remodeled, the basement room and 
first story being converted into an opera house. The second story is used 
entirely by the Masonic Fraternity. 

The first bank established in Boonville was the William H. Trigg, in 
1847, particular reference to which will be found in the chapter on banking. 

In May, 1883, the Boonville Water Company was organized with the 
following stockholders : John Elliott, John Cosgroye, Speed Stephens, Lon 



HISTORY OF COOPER COUNTY 223 

Stephens, Henry McCourtney, W. Whitlow, T. B. Perkins, W. C. Culwey- 
house and J. H. Johnson. Perkins was the promoter, and took the contract 
for building the system. The plan pursued in the construction of this im- 
portant enterprise was known as the Perkins system. 

July 1, 1905, the city of Boonville, after negotiations covering a period 
of two years, acquired all the property, rights and franchises of the Boon- 
ville Water Company. The price paid for the property totaled $52,500, and 
was based upon a valuation made by engineers employed by the city in 
1903, to which was added the investment by the company up to the time 
the purchase was consummated. 

The property consisted of some 31,000 feet of distribution mains, about 
20 acres of land, and some buildings and reservoirs, pumping station and 
equipment, and a brick tower with wooden tanks. Of the original prop- 
erty, only the distribution system and land are still in service. All build- 
ings have been added to and improved since the purchase. This applies 
similarly to reservoirs which have been enlarged. The purchase was made 
possible by the authorization and issue of a bonded debt of $75,000 bearing 
interest at the rate of four per cent per annum. 

By Dec. 31, 1918, all the $4,000 of this issue had been returned. The 
city has acquired and operated a property which represents a gross invest- 
ment of $121,000 in 14 years, and paid therefor with a net tax assessment 
of about 17 cents per $1,000 valuation in excess of that, which would have 
been necessary to pay for fire hydrant service under private ownership. 

The first board of public works which had charge of this system were 
appointed in March, 19 — , as follows: W. F. Johnson, president; M. E. 
Schmidt, secretary ; S. H. Stephens and W. A. Sombart. The present board 
is Jeff L. Davis, president; Fred Dauwalter, secretary; George A. Weyland, 
Clarence Shears. 

At our request, Mayor C. W. Journey has prepared a short article on 
Boonville as it is today, which we herewith give : 

Boonville as It is Today. — The present population of the city of Boon- 
ville is about 6,000 ; the assessed valuation of property in the city for the 
year 1918 was $2,300,000. The city revenue for the same year from all 
sources was about $26,500 ;' and the city indebtedness is only $29,000. 

The tax rate for 1918 was $1.10. The rate for this year of 1919 will 
be reduced from that of 1918. 

The city has, since 1905, in fourteen years, purchased and paid for 
the water works plant, together with 27.82 acres of land acquired, by the 
original purchase, all representing a gross investment of $121,000 (this 



224 HISTORY OF COOPER COUNTY 

does not include advanced value of real estate) ; has set aside $33,000 for 
depreciation, has accumulated $6,000 surplus, made all necessary additions 
and betterments, and today, the plant is in first class working order, giving 
us as good and pure water as is to be found anywhere. Of the $75,000 
bonded indebtedness 14 years ago in the matter of the purchase of ths 
water plant, on July 1, 1919, only $3,000 of the same will remain unpaid. 

Boonville now has three banks, and another practically organized and 
ready for business. Boonville now has, among other things, the following : 

A large public school building, the high school building (a magnificent 
and beautiful structure), Kemper Military School, a large and splendid in- 
stitution, and with a larger attendance this year than ever before in its 
history, the new Sumner school for colored people, the Missouri Reforma- 
tory, and Dunkle's Business School, nine churches, one large flouring mill, 
a beautiful new court house, a pipe factory employing 150 or more people, 
a large shoe factory now in course of construction, its estimated cost when 
completed is $110,000, and will employ 300 workers, a large ice plant and 
laundry employing 30 persons the year round, the Armour packing plant, 
employing 30 to 40 persons, a large brick plant, sand-works and a lime kiln. 

There are now fifteen grocery stores ; three large and up-to-date cloth- 
ing stores ; four dry goods stores, not counting combination dry goods and 
grocery stores ; four millinery and three drug stores ; one large tin, glass- 
ware and notion store ; one dealer in books ; one fruit store, and two com- 
bination fruit and stationery stores; two furniture stores; two hardware 
stores ; two exclusive boot and shoe stores ; one second hand store ; two 
restaurants, and numerous eating booths; three ice cream parlors, and 
numerous tailor, blacksmith and tin shops ; two large wholesale houses, 
both under the same management. Boonville also has eight garages. 

The paved streets in the city are as follows: Main (or Fifth) street, 
from High to the top of Trigg Hill in the southern limits of the city ; High, 
from Second to Eighth streets ; Morgan, from First to Tenth ; Spring, from 
Main to Tenth, and from First to the Boonville and Sedalia road; Sixth, 
from Locust to the Boonville and Jefferson City road ; Chestnut, from Sixth 
to Third ; Third, from High to Pine street ; Court, from Fifth to Sixth ; 
Locust, from Main East to the Catholic Cemetery, thence south to the 
southeast corner of the Cooper County Infirmary Farm, being practically 
to the city limits; Shamrock Heights, from the north part of Shamrock 
Heights to what is known as the "New-Cut Road" ; Eighth, from High to 
Morgan; Second street, from Spring to Water street, and there is now 




RESIDENCE STREET, BUXCETON, MO. 




IIIHII SCHOOL, BUNCETON, MO. 



HISTORY OF COOPER COUNTY 225 

under construction the paving of Walnut street from Sixth street, west- 
wardly to Shamrock Heights. 

At this writing, the city council has made arrangements to call a spe- 
cial election to decide on the proposition of issuing bonds for $35,000 for 
the purpose of laying a new water main from the water works to the city. 
This is not only to guard against serious damage by fire and great public 
inconvenience in case the single line now existing should break, but to give 
water service to new territory, and improve and extend the water service 
gnerally ; and to issue bonds in the sum of $12,000 for constructing an addi- 
tional sewer main, and serve the new addition in the western part of the 
city, now an assured fact; and to issue bonds for $10,000 for the purpose 
of improving the City Park. 

Walnut Grove Cemetery, one of the most beautiful in the State, had 
its inception in 1852. In that year Charles F. Aehle, Robert D. Perry, Dr. 
A. Keuckelhan and others purchased a piece of ground containing two 
acres from William S. Myers to be used as a cemetery. Upon this ground 
was a beautiful grove of walnut trees, hence the name Walnut Grove 
Cemetery. This tract has been added to from time to time. The first 
body interred in the cemetery was that of Mrs. Sarah Ann Quarles, who 
died Aug. 24, 1852. Others buried about the same time were Mrs. H. A. 
Massie, James McDearmon, and Ida Aehle. Also the remains of David 
Barton, first United States Senator of Missouri, was removed from the City 
Cemetery and buried here, where now stands an appropriate monument 
erected by the State. Up to 1880 this cemetery was under the care of 
Mr. Aehle, in which year the cemetery was made public under certain rules 
and restrictions by the purchase of the same from Mr. Aahle by and 
through a corporation organized for that purpose. The charter, however, 
was not issued until June 7, 1881. 

The people of Boonville and Cooper County are justly proud of this 
beautiful cemetery where rest the remains of their loved and lost. It has 
grown from year to year and its management has been such as to add to its 
beauty with years. While not all but much of the credit due to the superb 
management of this cemetery is credited to Dr. William Mittlebach, who 
for years has been superintendent and secretary of the same. The present 
board of dirctors are T. A. Johnson, president; W. W. Trigg, vice-presi- 
dent; R. W. Whitlow, treasurer; William Mittlebach, superintendent and 
secretary; Hilliard Brewster, Fred G. Lohse, Starke Koontz, and Charles 
Doerrie. The executive committee consists of William Mittelbach, W. W. 
(15) 



226 HISTORY OF COOPER COUNTY 

Trigg, and Fred G. Lohse. Lawrence Geiger, Sr., is the present sexton. 

Blackwater Township. — Blackwater is bounded on the north by Lamine 
township ; on the east by Pilot Grove and Clear Creek township, and on the 
west by Saline and Pettis Counties. It is practically surrounded by water, 
the Blackwater River on the north and the Lamine on the east and south. 

The soil is rich and very productive. It has much bottom land which 
is especially adapted to the growing of corn, wheat and alfalfa. 

Lead and iron ore are found in abundance. Springs are very numer- 
ous, some of which are salt. Salt was manufactured in this township as 
early as 1808 and from that time until 1836 it was manufactured pretty 
extensively by Heath, Bailey, Christie, Allison and others. 

William Christie and John D. Heath settled here in 1808 temporarily. 
James Broch was the first permanent settler, arriving in 1816. Enoch 
Hambrich came in 1817. David Shellcraw in 1818, George Chapman, the 
father of Mrs. Caleb Jones, came in 1818; Nathaniel T. Allison in 1831, 
Cleming Marshall and Robert Clark in 1832, Nathaniel Bridgewater in 1835. 

The village of Blackwater is the metropolis of Blackwater township 
and is surrounded by fertile and enterprising country and thrifty farmers. 
The town has a population of about 500 and the mercantile business repre- 
sents practically every line of business found in a village of that size. It 
has one newspaper, two banks, and an electric light plant. The merchants 
are prosperous and enjoy a good trade. Blackwater is one of the oldest 
trading points in Cooper County. It takes its name from the stream 
Blackwater, from which also the township takes its name. 

Clear Creek Township. — Clear Creek is bounded on the north by the 
Lamine River; on the east by Pilot Grove and Palestine townships; on 
the south by Lebanon and Otterville townships, and on the west by Pettis 
County. 

Some rough land is found in this township in the north and west part 
but in the east and south are found some of the best farms in Cooper 
County. James Taylor and sons, William, John, and James were the first 
settlers. They came from Georgia by the way of New Madrid and settled 
here in 1817. The farmed a large tract of land and were the early corn 
kings of Cooper County. 

At one time when com was very scarce throughout the county, and 
very little could be had for love or money, two men came to Mr. Taylor's 
house asking to purchase some corn, of which he had a large quantity, on 
credit, as neither of them had any money with which to pay. One was 
very poorly dressed, with his pants torn off below his knees, and what 



HISTORY OF COOPER COUNTY 227 

there was remaining of them patched all over. The other was almost 
elegantly dressed. Mr. Taylor sold the poorly dressed man, on credit, all 
the corn he wished. He told the other one that he could get no corn there, 
unless he paid the money for it, and that if he had saved the money which 
he had squandered for his fine clothes he would have had sufficient to pay 
cash for the corn. 

He had a large number of negroes, and required them during the day 
to perform a great deal of work. Shovel plows were mostly used in his 
day, and the wooden mole board just coming into use. It is related that 
the shovels of Mr. Taylor's plows had, at one time, worn off very blunt, 
and he was averse to buying new ones, so that one negro man plowed once 
around a field before he discovered that he had lost the dull shovel to his 
plow, the plow running just as well without as with it. He was a leader in 
the Baptist Church, and was a devoted member, a kind neighbor and a 
strictly honest man. 

Jordan O'Bryan, son-in-law of James Taylor, settled here in 1817. He 
represented the county in the State Legislature in 1822, 1826, 1834 and 
1840 and in the State Senate 1844 to 1848. He was an orator, a man of 
great ability and an uncompromising Whig. 

Charles R. Berry, the father of Finis E. Berry, Isaac Ellis and Hugh 
and Alexander Brown, are among the oldest citizens ; others of a later date 
were Herman Bailey, William Ellis, Samuel Walker, A. S. Walker, H. R. 
Walker, Finis E. Berry, James and Samuel Mahan, the Rubeys, Jeremiah, 
William G. and Martin G. Phillips, Samuel Forbes, Ragan Berry, Hiram 
Dial, Samuel and Rice Hughes and Willis Ellis. 

Pilot Grove Township. — Pilot Grove is bounded on the north by La- 
mine ; on the east by Boonville and Palestine ; on the south by Clear Creek 
and Palestine, and on the west by Clear Cleek and Blackwater. It is a 
very irregular in shape and offers quite a variety in surface features. The 
township derived its name from the following facts : When travelers were 
passing on the route from Boonville to Independence, or in the neighbor- 
hood of this route, as it led through the township, they were enabled at 
once to determine their position by the small grove of trees which was 
plainly visible for miles around. Very little of the present timber was in 
existence except as low brush, so that the group of trees standing promi- 
nently above all the rest proved a pilot to the traveler in his journey 
across the then extensive prairie. Hence the name "Pilot Grove." 

It was settled about 1820. Among the early settlers were John Mc- 
Cutchen, John Houx, Jacob Houx, L. A. Summers, James McElroy, Samuel 



228 HISTORY OF COOPER COUNTY 

Roe, Sr., Samuel Woolridge, Enoch Mass, Absalom Meredith, Azariah Bone, 
who was a Methodist minister; John Rice, a blacksmith; a Mr. Magee, after 
whom "Magee Grove" was named, and Samuel Gilbert, whose success in 
after life as a cancer doctor was a surprise to all and a familiar theme of 
conversation among the old settlers. There were also William and James 
Taylor, Jr., who were among the pioneers. 

This township was distinguished in the early times by the number and 
variety of camp meetings which were held within its borders. The Metho- 
dists and Presbyterians were rivals for the honor of conducting the biggest 
and best camp meeting each year. People attended from great distances. 

Thomas P. Cropper was the first noted teacher in this township. He 
taught in 1828 and 1829. 

The first mill erected in this township was by a man named Hughes. 
It was a horse-mill and stood on one of the branches of the Petite Saline. 

Pilot Grove is located in the northeast quarter of section 5, township 
47, range 18 in Pilot Grove township and surrounded by large and beautiful 
farming country. The town and township take their name from the post- 
office called in the early day Pilot Grove. The town was laid off in 1873 
by Samuel Roe and is situated on the Missouri, Kansas & Texas railroad 
twelve miles southwest of Boonville. As early as 1836 the Government 
located a postoffice about one mile from the present town site and called 
it Pilot Grove. In those days freighters and travelers to the great south- 
west guided their course across the broad prairies by a beautiful grove of 
hickory trees that stood on what is now known as the Coleman farm and 
within the present limits of the town of Pilot Grove. This grove of trees 
became known as the Pilot Grove, hence the name of the postoffice, Pilot 
Grove, which gave the name to the town. 

Pilot Grove is a city of the fourth class and has a population of be- 
tween 800 and 1,000 inhabitants. There is one newspaper, five churches, 
two elevators, two banks, a good public school conducted in a new and up- 
to-date school building, stores in which are found large stocks of goods 
and representing every line of the mercantile business, garages, blacksmith 
shops, lumber yard, telephone system, electric light system, and in fact 
every enterprise usually found in the most up-to-date town of similar size. 

Kelly Township. — Kelly township is bounded on the north by Palestine 
and Clarks Fork, on the east by Moniteau, on the west by Lebanon, and 
on the south by Moniteau County. It is named in honor of John Kelly, one 
of its oldest and most respected citizens. 

Its surface is comparatively regular, consisting of prairie diversified 



HISTORY OF COOPER COUNTY 229 

with timbered portions. It is thought to have been settled first in 1818. 
The first settlers were: John Kelly, William Stephens, James D. Campbell, 
James Kelly, William J. Kelly, Caperton Kelly, William Jennings, Gen. 
Charles Woods, Philip E. Davis, Rice Challis, Hugh Morric, Jesse White, 
Hartley White, Jeptha Billingsley, Joshua Dellis, and William Swearingen. 

James Kelly was a Revolutionary soldier and died in 1840. 

John Kelly, Charles Wood and James D. Campbell served as soldiers in 
the War of 1812. 

The Kellys came originally from Tennessee the Campbells from Ken- 
tucky. William Jennings, the first preacher, came from Georgia in 1819. 
He was a wealthy slave owner and was for many years pastor of "Old 
Nebo" Church. Campbell was for many years justice of the peace, a 
prominent politician, and a noted Democrat. 

Gen. Charles Woods was for many years the leading Democratic 
politician of the township. He was a forceful speaker, a gentleman in 
every respect. He died in 1874 at the age of 78 years. 

Joseph Reavis with his sons, Lewis, William T. Jackson and Johnston, 
settled in this township in 1823 and for many years were manufacturers 
of wagons, at which trade they attained quite a good deal of prominence. 

Joseph S. Anderson was probably the first schoolmaster in this town- 
ship. He settled here in 1824. He taught a very successful school for four 
years when he was elected sheriff of Cooper County, 1828, re-elected in 
1830. Previous to his death he was elected to the Legislature. He became 
a large land owner and very wealthy. His residence was on a hill north of 
Bunceton. His schoolhouse was near the ground on which Hopewell Church 
is located. William Robertson, a Baptist minister, continued this school for 
a number of years. 

Robert McCulloch operated the first mill in the township. Rice Challis, 
a carpenter, was a prominent Whig and in respect to his politics stood al- 
most alone in his neighborhood. 

The soil of Kelly township is very fertile and some of the best farms 
in the State of Missouri are to be found within its borders. 

Bunceton was laid out in 1868 by the late Harvey Bunce, from whom 
it derives its name. It lies almost in the geographical center of the county 
and is surrounded by a great trade territory of fertile and highly improved 
farms. The population of the town is now about 1,000. Sam T. Smith is 
mayor and the city council is composed of W. E. Harris, Frank Gholson, 
Joe C. Stephens and Edgar C. Nelson. F. C. Betteridge is city clerk. 

Bunceton has about 20 stores, representing all lines of business. It 



230 HISTORY OF COOPER COUNTY 

also has two banks with resources of $1,000,000, a modem garage, a tele- 
phone system, an up-to-date hotel and a cafe, an ice plant and an electric 
light plant furnishing a 24-hour service, two grain elevators, a barber shop, 
a newspaper with the largest circulation in the county, a fine theatre, a 
grist mill, a splendid accredited four-year high school, four churches, three 
lodges.. 

The business section of the town is composed of modern brick build- 
ings, while in the residence sections are to be found many modern and 
attractive homes. Sunset Hill, a new addition to the town, promises to 
attract many new home-owners. A building and loan association organized 
in 1914 has been very successful in supplying funds for many new homes 
in the town. The streets of the town are well kept and the town has many 
blocks of concrete sidewalks. Beautiful shade trees and well kept lawns 
are a feature of the town. 

Two county farmers' organizations, the Cooper County Farmers' Mu- 
tual Fire Insurance Company and the Farmers Live Stock Insurance Com- 
pany, maintain offices in Bunceton. The Bunceton Fair, now the county 
fair, organized more than a quarter century ago, is famous for its motto, 
"For Farmers, not Fakirs," which it has lived up to. The Cooper County 
Shorthorn Breeders' Association also has headquarters in Bunceton. 

Bunceton is the shipping point for much live stock, hundreds of cars 
of cattle, hogs, sheep and mules going to market from the town each year. 
It lies in the center of a great pure-bred stock community and attracts 
many buyers from a distance. 

The Bunceton postoffice serves four rural mail routes which cover a 
big territory. Miss Mary Shackleford is postmistress. 

The people of Bunceton are cultured. They seek and enjoy the better 
things of life. Schools and churches are well supported. Its citizenship 
is high. 

The present Bunceton Fair had its inception at a meeting of farmers 
and stockmen held in the office of the "Bunceton Eagle" on March 21, 1896, 
when plans for an agricultural fair were discussed. The actual organiza- 
tion was perfected on May 9, 1896, when a board of 13 directors were 
elected. They were E. H. Rodgers, Henry Fricke, John G. Burger, N. A. 
Gilbreath, A. B. Alexander, A. A. Wallace, T. A. Nelson, E. F. Lovell, J. U. 
Starke, J. R. Conway, T. V. Hickox, Theo. Brandes and Dr. P. E. Williams. 
E. H. Rodgers was the first president; John G. Burger, first vice-president : 
Henry Fricke, second vice-president; T. A. Nelson, treasurer; W. I,. Nelson. 
secretary, and E. F. Lovell, assistant secretary. 

Thirty-seven acres belonging to W. L. Allison and lying a half-mile 



HISTORY OF COOPER COUNTY 281 

west of Bunceton, was selected as a site for the fairgrounds. It was at 
first leased and later bought. On Wednesday, Sept. 9, 1896, the gates were 
thrown open to the first meeting ever held by the association. 

The association has held a successful meeting every year since its 
organization. It adopted in its early history for its motto, "For Farmers 
and Not Fakers," and has consistently lived up to the motto. 

The present board of directors (1919) is composed of F. C. Betteridge, 
Ben Harned, S. H. Groves, H. L. Shirley, Joseph Popper, George Morris, 
Ben Smith, Clyde T. Nelson, and G. A. Gilbert. F. C. Betteridge is presi- 
dent and Edgar C. Nelson is secretary and treasurer. 

During its existence the following men. have served the association 
as president: E. H. Rodgers, 1896; T. A. Nelson, 1897-8-9 and 1907; J. E. 
Burger, 1900-01 ; Henry Fricke, 1902-03 ; P. E. Williams, 1904-05 ; G. W. 
Morris, 1906; George A. Carpenter, 1908; Ben Harned, 1909-10-14; S. H. 
Groves, 1911-16-17-18 ; J. A. Hawkins, 1912-13 ; F. C. Betteridge, 1915-19. 

During its existence the fair has exerted a great influence on the agri- 
cultural and live stock interests of the county. It has always been con- 
ducted on a high plane and has been clean in every particular. It has 
become known over the corn belt as a model country fair. 

Lamine Township. — Lamine township is located in the northwest part 
of Cooper County and is just across the river from Howard. It is bounded 
on the east by Boonville township, on the south by Pilot Grove and Black- 
water and on the west by Saline County. 

The surface is rolling and was originally covered with a heavy growth 
of timber. The soil is rich and very productive. It was settled first in 
1812 by David Jones, a Revolutionary soldier, Thomas and James McMahan, 
Stephen, Samuel and Jesse Turley, Saunders Townsend. 

Those who arrived later were John Cramer, Bradford Lawless, John 
M., David and William Reid, Hezekiah Harris, Elijah Taylor, John, Peter, 
Samuel and Joseph Fisher, William and Jesse Moon, Rudolph Haupe, 
Isaac Hedrick, John Smelser, William McDaniel, Wyant Parm, Harmon 
Smelser, Samuel Larnd, Pethnel Foster, Julius Burton, Ezekiel Williams, 
and some others at present unknown. 

"Fort McMahan" was built in the year 1812 or 1813 but it can not 
be exactly located. 

Lead has been found in paying quantities in bygone days and lumber 
and cord-wood were for many years shipped extensively from the town- 
ship. In the early days, fish from the Blackwater and Lamine Rivers 
were sent regularly to Boonville. 

Samuel Walton erected a business house in the village of Lamine 



232 HISTORY OF COOPER COUNTY 

in 1869. Redd and Gibson opened a store in November, 1871, which 
was broken into in February, 1881, the safe blown and about $700 in 
money taken. 

North and South Moniteau Townships. — These two townships, origi- 
nally one, are separated by the Moniteau Creek. They are bounded on 
the north by Clarks Fork and Prairie Home townships, on the east and 
south by Moniteau County and on the west by Kelly township. 

The surface near the Moniteau Creek tends to be rough, which 
gradually gives way to prairie both in the north and south. 

Mr. Shelton, a blacksmith, settled near where the town of Pisgah 
now stands in 1818. He was. quite a noted "artificer in metals" and was 
the only blacksmith in the county outside of Boonville. 

Among other early settlers were Thomas B. Smiley, Seth Joseph, 
Waid and Stephen Howard, William Coal, James Stinson, Hawking Bur- 
ress, David Burress, Charles Hickox, Samuel McFarland, Carroll George, 
James Snodgrass, Martin George, Mathew Burress, Jesse Martin, Alex- 
ander Woods, William Landers, Jesse Bowles, James Donelson, William 
A. Stillson, Samuel Snodgrass, James W. Maxey, Job Martin, James 
Jones, David Jones, Augustus K. Longan, Patrick Mahan, Valentine Mar- 
tin, John Jones and John B. Longan. 

Thomas B. Smiley, who represented Cooper County in the Legisla- 
ture in 1820, was a man of considerable information and a good historian. 
He reared a large family of children and died in 1836. 

David Jones settled at Pisgah prior to 1820, since his vote was re- 
corded in that year. He, with Archibald Kavanaugh, was elected to the 
State Legislature in 1830, 1832, 1834 and in 1836 he was elected State 
Senator, re-elected in 1848. He died in 1859. 

Pisgah and Mount Pleasant churches were built by the Baptists in 
an early day and were presided over by John B. Longan and Kemp Scott. 
The first school in this township was probably taught by James Donelson. 
He only professed to teach arithmetic as far as the "double rule of three". 

A man named Howard erected the first mill at what was afterwards 
known as "Old Round Hill". An Englishman by the name of Summers. 
and Judge C. H. Smith also kept a store in this place. 

Patrick Mahan later built a tread-mill which was a considerable 
improvement over the old fashioned "horse mill". Richard D. Bonsfield 
at a very early date erected a store at Pisgah. 

Palestine Township. — Palestine is bounded on the north by Pilot 
Grove and Boonville townships; on the south by Kelly and Lebanon; on 



HISTORY OF COOPER COUNTY 233 

the west by Clear Creek and Pilot Grove, and on the east by Clarks Fork 
township. It is generally prairie, but a bit rough on the east side and 
the soil is of the most excellent quality. 

The first settlers of this township were William Moore, and Joseph 
Stevens. William Moore came from North Carolina with his family which 
consisted of seven sons and three daughters. Margaret married Judge 
Lawrence C. Stephens in 1818 ; Sally married Col. John G. Hutchison and 
Mary married Harvey Bunce. 

Mrs. Margaret Stephens told of the first church she attended in the 
neighborhood, which was held at the house of one of the settlers. Luke 
Williams, the preacher, was dressed in a complete suit of buckskin, and a 
great many of his audience was dressed in the same style. She was so 
dissatisfied with the appearance of things in this county that she cried 
during the whole of the services, but soon became accustomed to the new 
order of things, and was well contented. At that meeting grease from 
the bear meat, stored in the loft above the congregation, dropped down 
and spoiled her nice Sunday shawl, which was a fine one, brought from 
North Carolina, and which could not be replaced in this backwoods 
country. 

Joseph Stephens, Sr., and family settled in Palestine in 1817, being 
piloted to their new home by Maj. Stephen Cole. In 1818, Samuel Peters 
settled two miles farther north at a place now called Petersburg. 

When Samuel Peters raised his dwelling he invited his neighbors to 
come and help him, stating that he would, on that occasion, kill a hog and 
have it for dinner. As this was the first hog ever butchered in this part 
of the state, and as very few of the settlers had ever tasted pork, it was 
no little inducement to them to be present and assist in disposing of such 
rare and delicious food for the settlers, previous to that time, had sub- 
sisted entirely upon wild game. Always, on such occasion, they had a 
little "fire-water" to give life to the occasion. 

Colonel Andrew and Judge John Briscoe settled in the same township 
in 1818. They were both very prominent men, and prominent leaders in 
their respective parties, Andrew being a whig, and John a democrat. 
Some of the other early settlers were Henry, Hiram, Heli and Harden 
Corum, Mr. Tevis, the father of Capt. Simeon Tevis, Thomas Collins, Jacob 
Summers, Michael, James and Williamson, John and Joseph Cathey, James, 
David and John H. Hutchison, Nathaniel Leonard, John and Andrew Wal- 
lace, Henry Woolery, Holbert and Samuel Cole, James Bridges, James 
Simms, Russell Smallwood, Thomas Best, Greenberry Allison, William C. 



234 HISTORY OF COOPER COUNTY 

Lowery, Anthony F. Read, and others. No better citizens than those 
mentioned above ever settled in any community. 

The first schools in Palestine township was taught by Lawrence C. 
Stephens, Dr. William H. Moore and a young man from Virginia by the 
same name. The latter was considered the best scholar in this part of 
the country in the early days. A dancing school was opened at the resi- 
dence of B. W. Levens in 1832 by a man named Gibson. He was the first 
to introduce cotillions in this part of the country. Mr. Gibson also had 
schools at Boonville and Arrow Rock, teaching two days at each place. 
It is presumed that he rested on the Sabbath. 

Prairie Home Township. — Prairie Home township is bounded on the 
north by Saline, on the east by Moniteau County, and on the west by 
Clarks Fork township, and on the south by Moniteau township. Prairie 
Home was carved from the territory of Clarks Fork, Saline and Moniteau 
townships and organized in 1872. 

The surface is generally level being mostly prairie. The soil is very 
fertile and some very excellent farms are to be found within its boundary. 

The oldest settlers, according to the best information that can be 
obtained, were James McClain, Lacy McClanahan, Adam McClanahan, 
Jacob Carpenter, Absalom McClanahan, Michael Hornbeck, Samuel Car- 
penter, William N. McClanahan, William G. McClanahan, and Jeremiah 
Smith. 

The early history of this township cannot be dissociated from that of 
the parent townships enumerated above. 

Prairie Home, one of the best inland towns in this section of the 
country had its beginning at a very early date when James Boswell erected 
a store. John Zimmerman established a business here in 1874. 

The Prairie Home Institute was organized in 1865 by the Rev. A. H. 
Misseldine. 

Prairie Home has a population of about 300. It has one bank with a 
capital stock of $12,000, two churches, the Methodist Episcopal Church 
South and the Baptist, a good school with three teachers, electric lights, 
eight stores, one hotel, one mill and one blacksmith shop. The present 
mayor is Dr. R. L. Meredith. 

Clarks Fork Township. — Clarks Fork township is bounded on the 
north by Boonville township; on the east by Prairie Home and Saline; 
on the south by Moniteau and Kelly, and on the west by Palestine. The 
township derives its name from Clark's Fork which with its tributaries 
drain it. It is practically all prairie land. John Glover was probably the 



HISTORY OF COOPER COUNTY 235 

first settler in this township locating here in 1813. He built his cabin 
near where Rankin's Mill now stands. John C. Rochester settled here 
shortly afterwards. He was a grandson of the founder of Rochester, 
New York. Having lost a large fortune, he sought seclusion by emigrating 
to the frontier country where people required nothing save honesty and 
industry to admit a person into their social circles. He married Miss 
Sally Kelly, the daughter of James Kelly, who was a honored soldier of 
the Revolution. 

Some of the old citizens of this township were Joshua H. Berry, 
William Read, William and Ruben George, Clayton Hui't, Samuel Car- 
penter, Edward, Andrew and Charles Robertson, James, Robert and John 
Johnston, Samuel, Robert and William Drinkwater, Gabriel Titsworth, 
William Shipley, Acrey Hurt. Peter Carpenter, George Crawford, George 
W. Weight, Martin Jennings. 

George Crawford was Cooper County's first assessor, afterwards a 
member of the legislature from the county. Judge George W. Weight 
was born in New York, Feb. 27, 1784. Left an orphan he emigrated to 
West Virginia and from thence to Ross County, Ohio, where he married 
Miss Elizabeth Williams. He came to Howard County, Mo., with his 
family in 1820, and in 1822 he settled in Clarks Fork township and lived 
there until his death, Feb. 29, 1857. He was a school teacher, a good 
violinist, and in his early day taught dancing school. He was county 
judge, county surveyor and later state representative. 

Clarks Fork township is strictly a farming community. Practically 
every acre of it is devoted to the production of grain and hay, which in 
turn was converted into finished meat producing animals which find a 
ready market in St. Louis and Kansas City. 

Saline Township. — Saline township lies in the northeastern part of 
the county. It is bounded on the north by the Missouri River; on the 
east by Moniteau county ; on the south by Prairie Home township, and on 
the west by Clarks Fork and Boonville townships. It contains quite a 
good deal of hilly territory and much bottom land. 

Joseph Jolly, with his two children, John and William, settled in this 
township as early as 1812. He set out the first apple orchard and built 
a mill which would grind a bushel of corn an hour. William Jolly was a 
gunsmith, a wheel wright, a blacksmith, a cooper, a miller, a distiller, a 
preacher, a doctor and a farmer. John kept a ferry across the Lamine. 

Some of the other early settlers were William Lamm, James and John 
Turner, Joseph Pursley, Levi Cropper, Henry Levins, B. W. Levins (the 



236 HISTORY OF COOPER COUNTY 

grandfather, and father of Henry C. Levins of Boonville), Josiah Dickson, 
Charles Force, John Farris, Thomas Farris, Jesse Wood, David Fine, 
Joshua and Lacy McClanahan, George Dickson, Frederick and James F. 
Connor, John Calvert, Adam and Absalom McClanahan, Elverton Caldwell, 
Noding Caldwell, Joseph Westbrook, Alexander Woods, Robert Givens, 
Leonard Calvert. August McFall, Alexander R. Dickson, William Calvert, 
Jr., James Farris and Robert Dickson. 

Big Lick church, of which John B. Longdon was the first pastor, was 
built at a very early date. John M. Stilman (1820) taught the first school 
at a place now occupied by the Highland school. A town by the name of 
Washington was laid out by B. W. Levens near the Missouri River a'oout 
one mile below Overton. Lots were sold, houses built, businesses estab- 
lished and quite a rosy future promised but in time it disappeared and the 
spot on which it was located cannot be designated by any living man. 
Another town was promoted on the banks of the Missouri River opposite 
Rocheport. It was called Houstonville. It was laid out by B. W. Levens 
and John Ward. The site on which it stood now forms a part of the bed 
of the Missouri River. 

Woolridge was incorporated Feb. 5, 1904, with A. F. Nixon as mayor, 
who through the years has held and now holds that office. The town has 
a lumber yard, grain elevator and flour mill, also an ice plant. It also 
has two general merchandise stores, two restaurants, one grocery, one 
drug store, one hardware store and one furniture store. It also has one 
harness shop, one blacksmith shop and one garage. 

Lebanon Township. — Thomas J. Starke, who has imperishably pre- 
served the early history of Lebanon and Otterville townships, has joined 
"the innumerable caravan that moves to that mysterious realm where 
each must take his chamber in the silent halls of death." He departed 
this life at Otterville on Saturday, June 27, 1903, at the ripe age of eighty 
years. He had spent almost three score and ten years in Cooper County 
where he grew to manhood, married and died. He was the father of Mrs. 
D. S. Koontz of Boonville. Thomas J. Starke was an admirable man of 
lovable traits and Cooper County had no better citizen. 

"About the fall of 1819 and the spring of 1820, the following named 
persons moved to New Lebanon, and into that neighborhood embracing a 
portion of the territory now known as Lebanon township, in Cooper county. 

Rev. Finis Ewing, Rev. James L. Wear, John, James H. Wear, who 
was the father of William G. Wear, of Warsaw, and Samuel Wear, now of 
Otterville; Alexander Sloan, Robert Kirkpatrick, Colin C. Stoneman, Wil- 



HISTORY OF COOPER COUNTY 237 

Ham Stone, Frederick Casteel, Reuben A. Ewing, Jas. Berry, Thomas 
Rubey, Elizabeth Steele, sister of Alexander Sloan's wife, a man named 
Smiley, Rev. Laird Burns and his father, John Burns, John Reed, Silas 
Thomas, James Taylor, Hugh Wear, who was a brother to James L. and 
John Wear, James McFarland and Rev. William Kavanaugh. This country 
then extended south to the Osage River. 

The Rev. Finis Ewing was a distinguished minister of the gospel, 
and one of the original founders of the Cumberland Presbyterian church. 
He was from Kentucky ; was ordained a minister in the year 1803, and in 
conjunction with Samuel McAdam and Samuel King, founded that church 
in 1810. 

The cause which gave rise to the establishment of the branch of the 
Presbyterian church was, that the mother church required her ministers 
to possess a classical education before ordination, which was by the new 
church not regarded as absolutely indispensable, though its ministers were 
required to cultivate a knowledge of the elementary branches of the Eng- 
lish language. 

At New Lebanon these early pioneers pitched their tents, and soon 
began the erection of a rude building as a sanctuary, which, when com- 
pleted, they called New Lebanon, in condistiction to the house in which 
they had sung and worshipped in the state from which they had formerly 
emigrated. It was built of hewed logs, and the settlers of this little colony 
united in the project of building, each furnishing his proportionate quota 
of the logs requisite to complete the building. These logs were double ; 
that is, each log was twenty-four feet in length, being joined in the middle 
of the house by means of an upright post, into which the ends were 
mortised, thus making the entire length of the church forty-eight feet, 
by thirty feet in width. This building served as a place of worship for 
many years, until about the time of the war, when the new and neat brick 
church of the present day was erected on the site of the old one, which 
was torn away. 

The members of this church constituted the prevailing religion of 
the neighborhood for many years, and most of the characters portrayed 
herein were connected with this denomination. 

The Rev. James L. Wear was also for many years a Cumberland 
Presbyterian preacher. He was a good man, and lived close to New 
Lebanon, where Frank Asberry now lives. He died at the old mansion 
in about 1868. He was a brother of John Wear, who first lived at New 
Lebanon at the place now owned by Mr. Majors and afterwards at Otter- 



238 HISTORY OF COOPER COUNTY 

ville where Mr. Anson Hemenway now lives. The first school taught in 
Otterville, or in Otterville township, was taught by his son, known by the 
sobriquet of Long 'George.' They were originally from Kentucky, moved 
to Howard County in 1817, and afterwards to New Lebanon at the date 
above indicated. 

Samuel Wear, Sr. and James H. Wear were brothers, and came from 
Tennessee, the latter being the father of William G. and Samuel Wear, Jr., 
as before stated, and lived in the place now occupied by William Walker. 
He was a successful fanner and died in good circumstances. 

Samuel Wear, Sr., lived where Wesley Cook now lives and sold a large 
farm there to Samuel Burk, late of this county. 

Alexander Sloan was from Kentucky and settled the place now owned 
by Peter Spillers. He was the father of William Sloan, who died at 
Otterville several years ago, and also of the Rev. Robert Sloan, who was 
an eminent minister of the Cumberland Presbyterian church, and who 
married a daughter of the Rev. Finis Ewing. 

Robert Kirkpatrick was a Kentuckian and lived near the New Leb- 
anon graveyard. He died many years ago. He was a revolutionary 
soldier, and had a son named David, who was an able minister of the 
Cumberland Church. David met his death by accident; he was thrown 
from a carriage, severely wounded and afterwards died from the ampu- 
tation of his leg. 

Colin C. Stoneman was from Kentucky and lived at the old cabin still 
to be seen standing near Andrew Foster's place. He was a practitioner 
of medicine of the Thomsonian school, and died a good many years ago. 

William Stone was a Kentuckian, a plain old farmer, and lived on the 
farm now owned by the Rev. Minor Neale. He was a good man and died 
at an advanced age. 

Rev. Frederick Casteel was a minister of the gospel of the Methodist 
church and lived near the place now owned by Mrs. Abram Amick. 

Reuben A. Ewing and his brother, Irving Ewing, were Kentuckians, 
and lived east of Lebanon. The former was a successful farmer, a good 
man and died at an advanced age, honored and respected. 

James Berry was also a Kentuckian and one of the oldest settlers 
of this new colony. He lived where his son, Finis E. Berry now lives. 

Thomas Rubey was from Kentucky and lived at Pleasant Grove. 
Henry Small lived at the Vincent Walker place. 

Mr. Smiley was also a Kentuckian and settled where Mr. Thomas 
Alexander now lives. Rev. Laird Bums was a Cumberland Presbyterian 



HISTORY OF COOPER COUNTY 239 

preacher and lived where Mr. John P. Downs now lives, in what is known 
as the Ellis neighborhood. 

John Burns was his brother and lived close to New Lebanon. He was 
a soldier in the war with Britain, was present at the battle of New Orleans 
and would often with pride talk about that great event, of the fearful 
roaring of the cannon, of the sharp whistling of the bullets and the thrill- 
ing echoes of martial music, which stirred the hearts of the soldiers to 
deeds of valor, and enabled the brave army of General Jackson to achieve 
the glorious victory which ended the war with 'Old England'. 

Rev. John Reid was also another minister of the Cumberland Presby- 
terian church, a Kentuckian ; he first lived at Honey Creek and afterwards 
at so many different places, that for want of space in this brief sketch 
I dare not undertake to enumerate them. Suffice it to say, that he set- 
tled more new places in the neighborhood than any half dozen pioneers of 
the infant colony. He was a very eccentric character in his younger days, 
would fight at the 'drop of a hat' and was never known to meet his match 
in a hand to hand combat. The writer of this sketch was intimately 
acquainted with him for many years, during the latter period of his life, 
however, and can truly say he never knew a man of steadier habits, nor 
one more remarkable for strict rectitude of conduct, or exemplary piety. 

Reid was driving a team for some man who was moving to this county 
with Mr. Ewing, who had ear bells on his six horse team. The young man 
liked the jingle of these bells so well that he begged Mr. Ewing to allow 
his teamster to divide with him, in order that he might share the music, 
but Mr. Ewing 'could not see it' and refused to make the division as re- 
quested. Whereupon Reid bought a number of cow bells and hung one 
on each horse of his team, which soon had the effect of bringing the 
preacher to terms. He was so much annoyed with the discord produced 
by these coarse bells that he soon proposed a compromise by giving Reid 
his sleigh bells, provided he would stop the cow bell part of the concert. 

Silas Thompson was another Kentuckian and lived on Honey creek 
near where Lampton's saw mill stood a few years ago. 

James Taylor, better known as 'Old Corn Taylor', lived in an old log 
cabin which may still be seen standing a short distance west of the 
Anthony place. He was another remarkably eccentric character. He 
had a host of mules and negroes; always rode with a rope bridle and 
raised more corn and kept it longer than any half dozen men in Cooper 
County. This he hoarded away in pens and cribs, with as much care as 
if every ear had been a silver dollar, in anticipation of a famine, which. 



240 HISTORY OF COOPER COUNTY 

for many years he had predicted, but which, happily, never came, though 
the neighborhood was several times visited with great scarcity of that 
valuable commodity. Although he was miserly in this respect, yet during 
these times of scarcity, he would generally unlock his granaries, and like 
Joseph of old, deal it out to his starving brethren, whether they were 
able to pay for it or not; that is, if he thought a man was industrious, 
he would furnish him with what corn he considered necessary; but tradi- 
tion inform us that he invariably refused the required boon to a man who 
was found, on examination, to wear 'patched breeches', especially if the 
patch happened in a particular locality, which indicated laziness. 

Hugh Wear was from Kentucky, and lived in the Ellis neighborhood. 
He was the father of the Rev. Wm. Bennett Wear, another Cumberland 
Presbyterian of considerable distinction. When his father, who was a 
Revolutionary soldier, enlisted, Hugh, although too young to enter the 
army, was permitted to accompany his father and served during the war 
as a soldier notwithstanding he was under the age prescribed for military 
duty. This was done to prevent his falling into the hands of the tories. 

Rev. Wm. Kavanaugh was a Kentuckian and another Cumberland 
Presbyterian preacher of considerable note. It was said of him, that he 
could preach louder and longer than any of these old worthies. 

William Bryant was a Kentuckian and was with General Jackson at 
the battle of New Orleans. He first settled at New Lebanon, on the place 
which he afterwards sold to Finis Ewing; the old brick house where Mr. 
Kemp now lives. He then moved to the farm now occupied by William B. 
Harlan. 

Samuel Miller was from Kentucky and settled on the place now owned 
by Green Walker. He was a farmer and afterwards moved to Cold Neck. 

There yet remains but one other man to notice who belonged to New 
Lebanon. He was a member of the numerous family of Smith, whose 
Christian name I cannot now recall. He settled at a very early period on 
what is known as Cedar Bluff, at a nice, cool, clear spring, not far from 
the place where Mrs. John Wilkerson now lives. Here he erected what 
was then called a 'band mill', a species of old fashioned horse mill, so com- 
mon in those days. It was connected with a small distillery at which he 
manufactured a kind of 'aqua mirabilis' with which the old folks in those 
days cheered the drooping spirits in times of great scarcity. But Mr. 
Smith never 'ran crooked.' He paid no license, and sold or gave away his 
delicious beverage without molestation from revenue agents, iust as he 




PATRIOTIC PARADE. BUNCETON, MO. 



t 







i 


1 












^^^1 










!^, << 




^mwrs' 








H '■**? 












! J '^7 


m wm 


K 












«| 41 ■ 




■ 















BICLL AIR RI'RAL lIKill SCHOOL 



HISTORY OF COOPER COUNTY 241 

i 

deemed fit and convenient. Revenue stamps and revnue agents were un- 
known then, and good whiskey (there was none bad then) was not only 
considered harmless, but drinking hot toddies, eggnog and mint juleps 
was regarded as respectable, as well as a pleasant and innocent kind of 
amusement, and quite conducive to good health." 

Otterville Township. — "I have thus briefly glanced at the early settle- 
ment in the vicinity of New Lebanon, and come now to treat of the colony 
which was planted south and west of the Lamine and which was peopled 
at a subsequent period, known as the Otterville township, and which will 
perhaps embrace a portion of the adjoining territory included within the 
limits of Morgan and Pettis counties. 

Thomas Parsons was born in the state of Virginia in the year 1793, 
moved to Franklin, the county of Simpson, Kentucky, about 1819, emi- 
grated to this county in the fall of 1826, and settled at the place now 
owned by James H. Cline, northwest of Otterville. About the last of 
October of that year, Parsons sold his pre-emption right to Absolom Cline, 
the father of James H. Cline. In 1826, the time Mr. Parsons came into 
this neighborhood, there were only three families living west of the Lamine 
in this vicinity. These were James G. Wilkerson, William Reed and Wil- 
liam Sloan. 

Mr. Parsons established the first hatter's shop south of Boonville, 
and was an excellent workman in that line. He was an honest, upright 
citizen, lived to a ripe old age, and was gathered to his fathers honored and 
respected by all who knew him. At the time of his death, which occurred 
on the 7th day of Sept., 1768, he was the oldest Free Mason in Cooper 
county, having belonged to that institution nearly three score years. 

William Reed, mentioned above, was, perhaps, the first white man 
who settled in this neighborhood. He was a Tennesseean, and lived near 
the old camp ground, a little west of what was then known as the Camp 
ground spring, in the old field now owned by George W. Smith, a short 
distance southwest of the old graveyard. He was the grandfather of A. 
M. Reed, now of Otterville. He was remarkable for his strict integrity 
and exemplary piety. 

James G. Wilkerson was from Kentucky and settled the farm now 

owned by George W. Smith, one mile west of Otterville. The old mansion 

stands, although almost in a complete state of dilapidation, to remind the 

passer of the perishable quality of all human labor. He sleeps, with sev- 

(16) 



242 HISTORY OF COOPER COUNTY 

I 

eral other members of his once numerous family, on a gentle eminence a 
few yards south of the decayed and tottering tenement in which he spent 
many years of honest toil. 

William Sloan, the son of Alexander Sloan (mentioned in the notes 
pertaining to New Lebanon), was the last of the three mentioned above. 
He first settled the place where Charles E. Rice now lives, in 1826, but 
afterwards lived, until his death, at the place now owned by Joseph Minter. 
He was always noted for his scrupulous honor and piety. 

Elijah Hook was from Tennessee and settled near where Henry 
Bender now lives in 1827. He was a hunter and trapper and obtained a 
subsistence for his family like Nirmod, his ancient predecessor, mentioned 
in the Bible as the 'mighty hunter.' 

James Brown was a Kentuckian, a farmer, a hard working man, and 
settled where T. C. Cranmer lives in 1827. He was also a 'Nimrod', and 
hunted with Daniel Boone. 

James Davis was a Tennesseean and settled the place now known as 
the McCullough farm, in 1827. He was an industrious farmer and a great 
rail splitter. 

James Birney was a Kentuckian and married the daughter of Alex- 
ander Sloan, of New Lebanon. He was a farmer and a man of some note. 
He settled in 1827, the farm where John Harlan now lives. He had a 
grandson, Alexander, who was formerly a lawyer at Otterville. 

Frederick Shurley, the mightiest hunter in all the land round about 
Otterville, in 1827, settled the place now owned by his son, Robert Shur- 
ley, southeast of Otterville. He was with General Jackson in the Creek 
War, and was present at the memorable battle of Horse Shoe Bend, where 
the Indians, by the direction of their prophet, had made their last stand. 
He used to recount with deep interest, the thrilling incidents connected 
with this muzzle to muzzle contest, in which over half a thousand redskins 
were sent by Jackson and Coffee to their happy hunting grounds. 

Nathan Neal was a Kentuckian and settled the old place near Lamine, 
two miles north of Otterville, in 1827. He was an orderly, upright and 
industrious citizen. 

George Cranmer was born in the state of Delaware in 1801, moved to 
near Paris, Kentucky, while young, and Boonville, Missouri, in the year 
1828. He was a millwright and a very ingenious and skilful mechanic. 
He settled at Clifton in about 1832, and shortly afterwards he and James 
H. Glasgow, now living on the Petite Saline creek, built what was then 



HISTORY OF COOPER COUNTY 243 

known as Cranmer's, afterwards Corum's mill, precisely where the Mis- 
souri, Kansas and Texas railroad now crosses the Lamine. Cranmer 
named the place Clifton. The principal mechanics who helped to build 
this mill were Benjamin Gilbert, James Kirkpatrick, Nathan Garten, son- 
in-law of William Steele, Esquire, a blacksmith named John Toole, Noah 
Graham, and the renowned 'Bill' Rubey, known to almost all the old settlers 
south of the Missouri River. Cranmer lived first at the milli and after- 
wards at what was known as the John Caton place, where Thomas C. 
Cranmer was born in 1836. The old log cabin is still standing, as one of 
the few old landmarks yet visible, to remind us of the distant past. Cran- 
mer died at Michigan Bluffs, California, in 1853. 

Another man will perhaps be remembered by some of our old citizens. 
He was crazy and although harmless, used to wander about to the great 
terror of the children of those days. His name was John Hatwood. 

Clifton was once a place of remarkable notoriety. In those early 
days it was not unfrequently called the 'Devil's Half Acre.' There was a 
grocery store kept there, after the people began to manufacture poisoned 
whiskey, which had the effect of often producing little skirmishes among 
those who congregated there. It was not uncommon for those fracases 
to end in a bloody nose, a black eye, or a broken head. Happily, however, 
these broils were generally confined to a few notorious outlaws, whom 
the order-loving people would have rejoiced to know had met the fate of 
the cats of Kilkenny. 

There are many amusing incidents connected with the history of the 
place, but space forbids allusion to only one or two. A man by the name 
of Cox, who was a celebrated hunter and trapper in this neighborhood, 
was known as a dealer in tales, connected with his avocation, of a fabulous 
and Munchausen character. There is a very high bluff just below the old 
mill ; perhaps it is nearly five hundred feet high. During one of his num- 
erous hunting excursions, Matthew met with a large bear,*which, being 
slightly wounded, became terribly enraged, and attacked the hunter with 
his ugly grip before he had time to reload his rifle. This formidable con- 
test between bruin and Matthew occurred just on the verge of the fearful 
precipice above described and every struggle brought them nearer and 
nearer, until they both took the awful leap, striking and bounding against 
the projecting crags every few feet, until they reached the bottom of the 
terrible abyss. You will naturally say, 'Farewell, Matthew,' but strange 
to relate, he escaped with a few slight scratches. The bear had, fortun- 
ately for Matthew, been on the under side every time they struck, till they 



244 HISTORY OF COOPER COUNTY 

reached the bottom, when he loosed his hold of the hunter and closed his 
eyes in death. 

Matthew Cox's tales were generally much like this, almost always 
terminating favorably to himself, and fatally to his adversaries. This 
anecdote gave rise to the name 'Matthew's Bluff,' well known to everybody 
in this neighborhood. 

Sometime during the year 1832, the people of this neighborhood 
became alarmed by the report that the Osage Indians were about to attack 
and massacre all the settlers in this vicinity. This report started first by 
some means at old Luke Williams on Cold Camp creek. The people became 
almost wild with excitement. They left their plows in the fields, and 
fled precipitately in the direction of the other settlements towards Boon- 
ville. Some of them took refuge in a fort at Vincent Walker's, some at 
Sam Forbes', and others at Collin Stoneman's and Finis Ewing's. Hats 
and caps, shoes and stockings, pillows, baskets and bonnets might have 
been seen along the old military road to Boonville, lying scattered about 
in beautiful confusion all that day and the next, until the excitement had 
ceased. Fortunately the scare did not last long, as it was soon ascer- 
tained that the alarm was false, and that the Osage Indians had not only 
not contemplated a raid on the white settlements, but that they had 
actually become frightened themselves and fled south of the Osage River. 
But the panic was complete and exceedingly frightful while it lasted. A 
fellow by the name of Mike Chism lived near the Bidstrup place. Mike 
had a wife and two children. They were already preparing for a flight. 
Mike's wife was on horseback and had one child in her lap and one behind 
her and Mike was on foot. 

At this moment, a horseman came galloping up in great trepidation, 
and informed the little family that the Indians were coming by the thou- 
sands and that they were already on this side of Flat creek. 

On receiving this intelligence, Mike, in great terror, said to his wife, 
"My God, Sallie, I can't wait for you any longer', and suiting his actions 
to his words, took to his scrapers in such hot haste that at the first frantic 
jump he made, he fell at full length, bleeding and trembling on the rocks. 
But the poor fellow did not take time to rise to his feet again. He 
scrambled off on 'all fours' into the brush like some wild animal, leaving 
his wife and children to take care of themselves as best they could. He 
evidently acted upon the principle that 'It is better to be a live coward 
than a dead hero.' 

Reuben B. Harris was from Kentucky. He was a country lawyer, 



HISTORY OF COOPER COUNTY 245 

had no education, but was a man of good natural ability. He settled the 
place where Montraville Ross now lives, on Flat Creek. He settled here 
in 1827. He was also a great hunter. 

Hugh Morrison was a Kentuckian. In 1827, he settled the place 
where the widow of Henderson Finley now lives. 

John Gabriel was also from Kentucky and settled at Richland, at a 
place two and one-half miles east of Florence. He moved there at a very 
early period, in 1819, or 1820. He had a distillery, made whiskey and 
sold it to the Indians. He was a rough, miserly character, but honest in 
his dealings. He was murdered for his money in his horse lot, on his own 
plantation. He was killed by a negro man belonging to Reuben B. Harris. 
The negro was condemned and hung at Boonville. Before his execution, 
this negro confessed that he had killed Gabriel, but declared that he had 
been employed to commit the murder by Gabriel's own son-in-law, a man 
named Abner Weaver. This villain escaped punishment for the reason 
that the negro's testimony was then, by the laws of the United States, 
excluded as inadmissible. Justice, however, overtook him at last. His 
crime did not stop at the instigation of Gabriel's murder. He was after- 
ward found in possession of four stolen horses somewhere in Texas. In 
endeavoring to make his escape, he was shot from one of these horses, and 
thus ended his villainy. 

The first church erected in this neighborhood was built by the Cum- 
berland Presbyterians. It was of logs, and stood near the old graveyard. 
It was built about the year 1835. Here, for many years, this denom- 
ination annually held the old-fashioned camp-meetings, at which large 
numbers of the old citizens were wont to congregate and here many of 
them would sometimes remain for days, and even weeks, on the ground 
in camps and tents, engaged in earnest devotion. But this order of things 
and this manner of worship have long since gone into disuse. Not a 
hawk's eye could discern a single mourners track, and every vestige of 
the old church and camp have vanished like the mist before the morning 
sun and the primitive religious customs have been entirely abandoned. 

In the foregoing sketches, I have briefly glanced at the characters 
of most, in fact, nearly all of the older citizens who figured in the history 
of New Lebanon settlement, which then comprised our own township, and 
included the country between the Lamine and Flat Creek. Most of them 
belonged to a class of men which have since passed away. 

It is not my purpose to make invidious comparisons between them and 
those of the present day. It is but justice, however, to say, that with 



246 HISTORY OF COOPER COUNTY 

few exceptions, they were men of great moral worth, of true and tried 
patriotism and scrupulous integrity." 

Otterville.— "I come now to take a brief survey of matters connected 
with a later date. The town of Otterville was first called Elkton. It was 
laid out by Gideon R. Thompson, in the 1837. The first house built, stood 
where Judge Butler's now stands. The public square occupied the space 
ground now lying between Butler's and Geo. W. Smith's, extending east 
to a line running north and south, near the place where Frank Ami's 
house formerly stood. William G. Wear entered the forty acres on which 
Elkton was built, in the year 1836, and sold it to Thompson in 1837. 
About that time, H. Thompson built the first house as before stated, and 
he and George Wear built a storehouse directly east of Thompson's dwell- 
ing, and little George Wear built a dwelling house on the present site of 
Colburn's house. James Alcorn built on the north side of the square 
about the same time. 'Long' George Wear built the first house within 
the present limits of Otterville proper, where W. G. Wear's house now 
stands. 

The town of Otterville was regularly laid out by W. G. Wear in 1854, 
though several houses had been built previous to that time within its 
present limits. 

There was no postoffice at Otterville until about 1848. The mail for 
this neighborhood was supplied from Arator postoffice, kept by General 
Hogan, where Van Tromp Chilton now lives. W. G. Wear was the first 
postmaster. He held the office until 1851, when the writer of these 
sketches was appointed, who held office about ten years. The mail route 
was a special one from Arator and was carried on horseback. W. R. But- 
ler was the first contractor and employed James H. Wear, son of W. G. 
Wear, to carry the mail twice a week. The mail carrier — then a small 
boy — now one of the leading merchants of St. Louis, made the trip twice 
a week, riding a small grey pony called 'Tom', which had been bought of 
Tom Milham, who was then a well known character of the neighborhood. 
About the time the town was first established, several houses were built 
on or near the public square. 

Among these were the Masonic hall ; the dwelling house built by 
George Embree, north of the hall ; one by Samuel Wear, now occupied by 
John D. Strain ; one by Harrison Homan, in which he now lives ; and about 
this time Robert M. Taylor built an addition to the Taylor house. The 



HISTORY OF COOPER COUNTY 247 

brick store house known as the Cannon & Zollinger store house, was not 
built until about the year 1856. 

The Masonic lodge, called Pleasant Grove Lodge No. 142, A. F. and A. 
M., was established on the 15th day of July, A. D., 1854, A. L. 5854. The 
dispensation was granted by the M. W. G. M., of Missouri, L. S. Cornwell, 
on the 6th day of November, 1854. This dispensation was granted to the 
following named persons : Wm. E. Combs, Harrison Homan, S. H. Saund- 
ers, Wm. Devine, Tarleton E. Cox, Strawther O'Rourke, Moses B. Small, 
Aaron Hup, Wm. A. Reed, Wm. R. Butler, Robt. M. Taylor, and George W. 
Embree. The charter was granted May 31, 1855, and signed by L. S. 
Cornwell, G. M., Oscar F. Potter, D. G. M. ; J. W. Chenoweth, D. G. E. ; 
Henry Van Odell, J. G. W. The first officers were as follows : S H. Saund- 
ers, W. M. ; Aaron Hupp, S. W. ; H. Homan, J. W. ; R. M. Taylor, treasurer ; 
W. R. Butler, secretary ; George W. Embree, S. D. ; Strother O'Rourk, J. 
W., and R. J. Buchanan, tyler. 

The Odd Fellows lodge was established in October, 1856, under the 
name of the Otterville Lodge No. 102, I. 0. 0. F. 

The first officers were as follows : W. G. Wear, N. G. ; H. A. B. 
Johnston, V. G. ; Samuel M. Homan, secretary, and John S. Johnston, 
treasurer. 

The present Cumberland Presbyterian church was built by Milton 
Starke, in the year 1857. 

The old Presbyterian church was built by John D. Strain, in 1866, 
and is now owned by the Baptists. 

The Mehtodists and Christian churches were built about the same 
time, in the year 1872. The former was built by M. C. White, and the 
latter by T. C. Cranmer and T. M. Travillian. They are both neat brick 
buildings, and an ornament to our village. 

The public school building was erected in 1869, costing $6,000. 

The Pacific railroad was completed to Otterville from St. Louis in 
1860, and this place for a short time became the terminus. Whilst the 
road remained here, and in fact for a long time previous, Otterville com- 
manded quite a brisk trade, presenting a very active and business-like 
appearance, and, indeed, for a time it flourished like a "green bay tree." 
But it was not destined to enjoy this prosperity long. The railroad com- 
pany soon pulled up its stakes and transferred its terminus to the then 
insignificant village of Sedalia, which, -at that time, being in its infancy, 



248 HISTORY OF COOPER COUNTY 

had scarcely been christened ; but, though young, it rose like magic from 
the bosom of the beautiful prairie, and in a few years Sedalia became the 
county seat of one of the richest counties in the state, and a great railroad 
centre, while truth compels me to say that Otterville sank back into its 
original obscurity. 

The town of Otterville was incorporated by an act of the Legislature 
of Missouri, on the 16th day of Feb., 1857. 

About the year 1860, for a short period, a considerable wholesale 
business was done here. Among the wholesale establishments were the 
following: W. G. Wear and Son; Cloney, Crawford & Co., from Jefferson 
City ; Clark & Reed ; Concannon ; The Robert Brothers ; Lohman & Co., 
etc., etc. 

About this time the Mansion house was built by a man named Pork, 
the Embree house by George Embree and Chris. Harlan. The latter was 
quite a large hotel near the depot, and was afterwards moved to Sedalia 
by George R. Smith, and about the same time several houses were moved 
by different parties to that place. There was, after this time, a consider- 
able business done in a retail way around the old public square. Among 
the most prominent merchants here were W. G. Wear & Son, and Cannon 
& Zollinger, who carried on a large and profitable trade for many years. 

But having already extended these notes far beyond what I had first 
anticipated, I am admonished to close them rather abruptly, lest they 
become wearisome. They were prepared at a very short notice, and might 
have been made more interesting had sufficient time been given the writer 
to arrange them with some regard to order. 

I hope that due allowances will be made by an appreciative public for 
this defect in this hastily-written memorandum. 

In conclusion, I will take occasion to say, that one hundred years ago, 
where we meet now to rejoice together at the happy coming of our first 
centennial, this part of Cooper County, nay, even Cooper County itself, 
was a howling wilderness. The hungry wolf and bear; the elk and the 
antelope; the wild deer and the buffalo roamed about undisturbed, save 
by the feeble arrows of the red man. 

Today, through the little village of Otterville, within a very few yards 
of this spot, a double band of iron, stretching from the Atlantic to the 
Pacific, connects San Francisco with the city of New York. Over these 
lines of metal rails ponderous trains are almost continuously passing to 
and fro, freighted with innumerable articles of the rich merchandise of 



HISTORY OF COOPER COUNTY 249 

the east ; the varied productions of the west ; the teas and silks of China ; 
the silver of Arizona, and the gold of California. 

Otterville contains at this time about four hundred population. It 
has three general stores, one hardware and grocery store, two drug stores, 
one confectionery, one furniture store, two blacksmith shops, one saloon, 
two hotels, four churches, one school." 

The town of Otterville at this time has a population of 500. It has 
two banks with a capital stock of $30,000, a good system of schools with 
an enrollment of 160 and eight teachers. It has five churches, electric 
lights system, twelve stores, one hotel, lumber yard, one newspaper, two 
blacksmith shops, and one elevator company. While Otterville has not 
grown rapidly in population, it is and has been substantial through the 
years and its population is made up of an excellent citizenship. 

The inauguration of rural delivery has a tendency to decrease the 
number of postoffices and there are not so many in Cooper County now as 
there were several years ago. The following are a list of the postoffices 
as they exist today: Boonville, Billingsville, Blackwater, Bunceton, Clif- 
ton City, Lamine, Otterville, Overton, Pilot Grove, Pleasant Green, Prairie 
Home, Speed, Vermont, Wooldridge. 



CHAPTER XVI. 



SCHOOLS. 



PIONEER SCHOOLS AND TEACHERS, FIRST SCHOOLS IN COOPER COUNTY — DAVIS 
SCHOOL-COOPER COUNTY SCHOOLS— BOONVILLE PUBLIC SCHOOLS— SCHOOL 
I >l RECTORS— SUPERINTENDENTS— FACULTY— SUMMER S C H O O L— CATHOLIC 
SCHOOL— COOPER COUNTY INSTITUTE— OTTERVILLE ACADEMY— McGUIRE 
SEMINARY— KEMPER MILITARY SCHOOL— PILOT GROVE COLLEGIATE INSTI- 
TUTE. 

The history of the schools of Cooper County would be the history of 
its people. For whenever and wherever Americans have been thrown 
together there has invariably been a school established. The first schools 
of Cooper County were rude, crude affairs, with dirt floors and split log 
benches. And the teachers were picturesque characters who were pos- 
sessed with more cunning than brains, and preferred this easy method of 
eking out a precarious existence to one of hardship and toil incident to 
the work in the frontier country. The teacher "boarded out" among the 
families lie served and received as wage often as much as ten or fifteen 
dollars per month which was collected as tuition. All schools prior to the 
year 1839 were strictly private affairs, since it was not until this year 
that any adequate provision was made by the state for the establishment 
of public schools. At this time the common school fund, the county 
school fund, and the township school fund were constituted, by legislative 
enactment, and the money derived from the sale of the sixteenth section 
to be invested and the proceeds be used for the advancement of the public 
schools of the state was again reaffirmed. 

The first school in the present limits of Cooper County was taught by 
John Savage in the year 1813, about one mile east of Boonville, on Lilly's 
Branch. There were fifteen pupils, as follows: Benjamin, Delany and 



HISTORY OF COOPER COUNTY 251 

William Bolin, Hiram and William Savage, Hess and William Warden, John 
and William Yarnall, John and William Jolly, Joseph and William Scott, 
John and William Rup'e. John and William seem to have been choice 
names for boys in this early day, and unless girls were named John and 
William they were evidently in the minority at this time or else their 
education was neglected. The pupils sat upon one log in the open air and 
the teacher upon another log facing his pupils. The tuition was one dol- 
lar per month, payable in anything the settler had that was worth one 
dollar. This school continued only one month. Fear of an attack by the 
Indians who commenced a series of depredations about this time caused 
the settlers to keep their children under the protecting walls of the fort. 
During the period from 1813 to 1820 Judge Abiel Leonard, William H. 
Moore, Dr. Edward Lawton looked after the education of the boys and 
girls of the early settlers of Boonville. The first school house in Boonville 
was a brick building located near the residence of Dr. M. McCoy. 

In the early schools of Cooper County the subjects taught were read- 
ing, writing, arithmetic, geography and English grammar, their import- 
ance indicated by the order in which they are enumerated. 

As the population increased and the desire for more and better facil- 
ities for education became general, the academy grew up in answer to 
the demand for "higher education". The academy that flourished in Mis- 
souri from 1820 to 1890 was an outgrowth of the old English grammar 
school that very early put in its appearance in New England embellished 
with the ideas that permeated the "Aristocratic" private schools of the 
south prior to the Civil War, notably those that flourished in Virginia 
and Kentucky. 

Among the early schools of Cooper County outside of Boonville was 
a subscription school taught by Henry Severns. It met in an old log 
house which was located across the road from whei-e the home of Mr. R. S. 
Roe, of the Bell Air neighborhood, is now located. This school was main- 
tained during the early forties, and prospered until the public school of 
Bell Air was established. It is asserted, on good authority, that Prof. 
Severns' salary was sixty-five dollars, but whether this means for the 
month or for the year I have found it impossible to ascertain. 

The following history of the Davis school is typical of many schools 
in Cooper County. 

Davis School.— By D. R. Culley.— "Prior to the close of the Civil War 
no public school organization existed as we now have it in this district. 

The people in this and adjoining territory had emigrated largely 



252 HISTORY OF COOPER COUNTY 

fiom the states of Virginia, Kentucky and Tennessee, bringing with them 
the educational plans that prevailed in those states. 

A teacher desiring a school would canvass a neighborhood and have 
the parents subscribe so many pupils for a specified term at so much per 
month. Hence, schools were then known in the country as subscription 
schools. 

About the year 1854 the Baptists erected a church building about a 
mile southwest of the present school building and some two miles east of 
Vermont. It was built in the southeast corner of the farm now owned 
and occupied by W. H. H. Rowles and family. This was known as Hope- 
well Baptist Church and was used for both church and school purposes. 
It was a typical building of those days. It was built of hewed walnut logs 
and was about twenty feet square; there was a small window in the mid- 
dle of the east wall and one in the west wall; batten doors were in the 
middle of the north and south sides ; a high, home made pulpit in the west 
end, and home made benches fronting west. It was here that the resi- 
dents of the community and those for miles around congregated once a 
month, in large numbers, to get the news as well as to hear the preacher. 
Whole families were present and the good ladies served dinners that could 
not be surpassed anywhere. 

During the year 1859, the citizens erected a good, modern building 
about three-quarters of a mile to the west and a mile east of Vermont. 
This was known as Vermont Academy. D. R. Culley was employed as 
teacher for a term of ten months at a salary of $60.00 per month. 

This was probably the first time a teacher was employed in this dis- 
trict at a fixed salary. This school continued for five years when condi- 
tions growing out of the Civil War caused many families to move else- 
where and the community as known prior to 1860 was almost entirely 
broken up. 

In the fall of the year 1858, D. R. Culley opened a school in the church 
building and it was intended to serve the purpose of an academy as well 
as to meet the demands of what would now be termed the graded course 
in our district schools. The term continued for ten months. The larger 
boys attended for the full term and were not taken out of school as now, 
to assist with the farm work. It was also observed that the pupils were 
more advanced in years than now. There were no grades. If a pupil 
could make two grades during the term well and good, and many of the 



HISTORY OF COOPER COUNTY £06 

pupils did this ; no pupil was held back on account of the weakness or 
slowness of others. 

The first year of school closed with oral examinations and an address 
by Prof. John W. Sutherland of Boonville. 

Pupils from other counties came here and boarded with families near 
by. Young men walked a distance of four or five miles and of those now 
living are our best and most prominent citizens. The late Rev. A. E. 
Rogers, D. D., attended this school for three years and he often remarked, 
that it was here that he received the best training that which was of the 
most worth in after life. 

Rev. Rockwell Smith, D. D., for many years a missionary to Brazil, 
was an unusually bright young man who began his literary career here. 
Those who in after life became bankers, civil officers, financiers, the best 
of farmers and the best and most useful citizens as well, received their 
early school training here. 

After the close of the Civil War, the regular organization of what 
is now termed our public school system as observed in our district schools, 
took place." 

A subscription school was maintained before the war, in the Green- 
wood district, in a small house erected by Mrs. William Guyer for a Meth- 
odist church. It was used as school and church both until it burned sev- 
eral years later. Pisgah was formerly a part of the Greenwood district. 
About 1887 an effort was made to divide the district. The Pisgah people 
insisted that they did not want to send their children to Greenwood because 
the children carried ticks, and the Greenwood vicinity came back at them 
with the argument that the Pisgah children had fleas. The fight between 
the factions became so heated that in the latter part of the year 1887 the 
district was divided. This shows the length to which neighborhood quar- 
rels may be carried. 

There were enumerated in the Cooper County schools for the year 
ending June 30, 1918, 4,307 white children and 741 colored, a grand total 
of 5,048. The enrollment shows a total of 3,802 white pupils and 651 
colored. These pupils attended school 439,673 days, and there was spent 
on them during the year $100,230, of which $71,921.51 was spent for 
teachers' wages, $16,176.32 for incidentals, and $12,132.17 for building 
purposes. 

The assessed valuation of taxable property was $11,556,679 and the 



254 



HISTORY OF COOPER COUNTY 



average levy for school purposes was 57 cents on $100 valuation. In the 
spring of 1918 there were 203 pupils finishing the common school course 
of study, and there were all told throughout the county 141 teachers in 
the public schools, teaching in 76 districts. The average salary of these 
teachers was $67 per month. 

Although Missouri ranks thirty-second in the matter of education 
and although little progress has been made in the rural schools in the 
state as a whole, Cooper County, however, has made marked progress in 
the building up of a system of up-to-date school with modern buildings 
and competent teachers. 

It has been said that should a Rip Van Winkle wake up in a modern 
barn he would realize that he had slept 150 years, but should his waking 
take place in the average Missouri rural school he would turn over to 
finish his nap. Be this as it may. Cooper County is fast forging to the 
front among the counties of Missouri in the matter of efficient rural 
schools and when this spirit of improvement and progress permeates the 
whole of its citizenship, Cooper County schools through the generosity 
of its people and because of their pride in the boys and girls, will be made 
the best possible, and the rural community will offer to its children the 
same advantages now enjoyed by the city children. 

COOPER COUNTY SCHOOLS 1918-19. 



-iJ 








o 


>> 
















03 0> 






5 


Name of District <u as 

bo -o . 


District Clerk 


P. O. Address 


4-1 


a! c 






O 








o 


> ->-> 






£ 


< < 







Overton 15 

Woodland 32 

Bluffton 12 



Westwood 

Clear Spring 

Locust Grove_. 
Pleasant Grove. 



8 Oakwood 



9 
17 
33 

18 
2 



40,083 Chas. Windsor Overton 

109,438 B. J. Boillott Boonville R. D. 

96,976 J. B. Hickam Boonville R. F. D. 

52,589 H. E. Fuser Boonville R. F. D. 

108,200 A. H. Moehle Boonville R. F. D. 

125,200 J. H. Turley Lamine 

160,275 G. R. Kelly Blackwater 

91,275 E. R. Schuster Blackwater 



HISTORY OF COOPER COUNTY 



Zoo 



9 Oakwood No. 2_ 21 105,025 

10 Willow Grove__ 15 97,400 

11 Sappington ___ 000 8,575 

12 Cotton Patch__ 18 109,678 

13 Shackleford ___ 15 39,227 

14 Buffalo Prairie. 16 100,875 

15 Franklin 9 48,073 

16 Peninsula 15 57,438 

17 Becker 19 44,550 

18 Chouteau 36 68,225 

19 Simmons 12 71,600 

20 Prairie View— 22 109,875 

21 Hickory Grove. 21 83,946 

22 Billingsville ___ 13 126,700 

23 Mt. Sinai 7 119,810 

24 Stony Point ___ 9 68,524 

25 Concord 18 111,450 

26 Crab Orchard. _ 19 122,006 

27 Hail Ridge 15 88,460 

28 Pleasant Valley 12 42,361 

29 Fair View 17 62,287 

30 Oak Grove 28 91,963 

31 Highland 16 105,164 

32 Lowland 13 44,683 

34 Woolridge 64 104,780 

35 Liberty 17 116,925 

42 Washington ___ 23 115,558 

44 Lone Grove 5 183,613 

45 Lone Elm 14 160,125 

46 Independence . 15 60,610 

47 Palestine 43 111,318 

48 Bell Air 32 191,575 

49 Mt. Nebo 18 136,205 

50 Cottonwood ___ 18 53,576 

51 Oakland 13 97,225 

52 Mt. Vernon 14 65,125 

53 Harriston 11 83,775 

54 Pleasant Green_ 33 89,500 

55 Reinhardt 15 70,750 



Jesse Kincheloe Blackwater 

J. Roy Jeffress Blackwater 

Noland Taylor Nelson 

C. W. Racy Nelson 

Chas. McLaughlin Nelson 

Louis N. Hoff Pilot Grove 

W. B. Kella Blackwater 

A. H. Alley Blackwater 

A. H. Hartman Pilot Grove 

H. E. Brownfield Pilot Grove 

A. W. Tally Pilot Grove 

L. M. Immele Boonville R. F. D. 

M. C. Johnmeyer_ _Boonville R. F. D. 
A. S. Chamberlain__Boonville R. F. D. 

M. R. Sloan Boonville R. F. D. 

W. A. Whitehurse Speed R. F. D. 

Clark E. Bower Boonville R. F. D. 

J. P. Reiser Boonville R. F. D. 

T. B. Robertson___Boonville R. F. D. 

L. M. Swarner Boonville R. F. D. 

Theo. Lebbing Boonville R. F. D. 

T. H. Swanstone. .Boonville R. F. D. 

Clay Groom Boonville R. F. D. 

Lee Eager Woolridge 

F. B. Hopkins Woolridge 

H. H. Warmbrodt Woolridge 

E. L. Shirley Boonville R. F. D. 

Walter Toellner_._Bunceton R. F. D. 

F. H. Muntzel Boonville R. F. D. 

Geo. Chamberlin__Boonville R. F. D. 

Wm. Walje Speed 

Chas. P. Mitzel Bunceton 

R. E. Downing Pilot Grove 

John Dwyer Pilot Grove 

H. J. Meyer Boonville R. F. D. 

E. E. Tavenner__Pilot Grove R. F. D. 

W. A. Straub Pleasant Green 

J. S. Parrish Pleasant Green 

Frank Clevorn Pleasant Green 



256 



HISTORY OF COOPER COUNTY 



56 Oakland 10 81,862 

57 Vollmer 14 93,455 

104 Lamine 36 28,650 

59 Clifton City___ 42 113,963 

62 Rockland 20 30,126 

63 Oak Hill 22 76,408 

64 Lebanon 27 51,972 

65 Mt. Zion 18 72,500 

66 West Fork 7 106,375 

67 Bethlehem 20 134,941 

68 Gillroy 19 108,794 

69 Glendale 21 98,925 

70 Franklin 000 132,986 

71 Davis 15 139,850 

72 Baxter 27 73,688 

73 Dick's Mill 28 29,313 

74 Keener 15 34,539 

78 Whitlinger 15 30,638 

79 Felder 23 46,482 

80 Martin 000 8,150 

81 Mt. Pleasant... 15 31,677 

82 Gill 15 35,988 

83 Cross Roads___ 000 24,675 

84 Excelsior 000 24,600 

85 Lone Elm 15 41,550 

87 Byberry 15 441,172 

(1) Consolidated __ 98 509,387 

(2) Consolidated __ 195 378,490 

(3) Consolidated __ 150 459,366 

Boonville 556 2,255,613 

Bunceton 176 457,820 

Pilot Grove 108 358,700 

Blackwater ___ 111 302,605 



P. G. Meisenheimer_ -Pleasant Green 

Frank Vollmer Pleasant Green 

G. H. Bidstrup Beaman 

J. E. Potter, Jr Clifton City 

G. W. Tomlinson Bunceton 

S. L. Willis Pleasant Green 

C. L. Thomas Bunceton 

A. A. Strickfadden_Otterville R. F. D. 
J. S. Funkhouser Bunceton 

D. C. Grove Otterville 

R. E. Hutchison Syracuse R. F. D. 

Elmer Fry Tipton R. F. D. 

F. C. Betteridge Bunceton 

Ben M. Draff en Bunceton R. F. D. 

A. N. Pedego Tipton R. F. D. 

J. B. Hodges Bunceton R. F. D. 

F. D. Williams Clarksburg 

Luther Moore Clarksburg 

E. J. Roedel Jamestown R. F. D. 

A. F. Zey California R. F. D. 

Wm. Hess Clarksburg 

J. A. Birdsong Clarksburg 

L. J. Stephens Clarksburg 

Stephen H. Martin Tipton 

P. J. Knipp Tipton 

A. L. Gochenour Byberry 

T. W. Howard Bunceton 

J. L. Spillers Otterville 

Wm. H. Byler Prairie Home 

Wm. Mittlebach Boonville 

G. H. Meeker Bunceton 

Otto Kistenmacher Pilot Grove 

C. Q. Shouse Blackwater 



The Public Schools of Boonville.— The Missouri Legislature during 
its session passed March 12, 1867 an act authorizing cities, towns, and vil- 
lages to organize for school purposes. On the 29th of the same month 
the following notice was issued: 




R. F. W VAN'S RESIDENT E 




MAIN STREET. HOOXEYIEEE 



HISTORY OF COOPER COUNTY 257 

"The undersigned resident free holders of the city of Boonville re- 
quest an election of the qualified voters of said city at the mayor's office 
on Tuesday, April 9, 1867, to determine whether they will accept the pro- 
visions of an act authorizing any city, town or village to organize for 
school purposes, with special privileges, approved March 16, 1867 ; and 
organize said city in accordance therewith. — C. W. Sombart, H. L. Wallace 
John Bernard, Thos. Plant, J. L. Stephens, Nicholas Walz, Stephen Weber, 
J. P. Neef, Jacob Zimmer, E. Roeschel, J. F. Gmelich, John Fetzer. 

The election was held April 9, 1867, at which 30 votes were cast, 29 
for and one against organization for school purposes. On the 23d of the 
same month the following citizens were elected to constitute the Board 
of Education: Jos. L. Stephens, Jos. A. Eppstein, C. W. Sonbart, John 
Bernard, H. A. Hutchison, Franklin Swap. 

The schools were opened Sep. 23, 1867, with Joseph C. Mason, prin- 
cipal, and Mrs. Clara Atkinson, Mrs. Mary E. Schaefer, and Miss M. E. 
McKee, assistants in the school for white children, and S. G. Bundy and 
wife teachers in that for colored pupils. 

A building 22x60 feet and located on Sixth street was purchased of C. 
H. Allison for $5,250, and used as a school for white children. 

The enrollment during the first year was as follows: White chil- 
dren, 377 ; colored, 199 ; a total of 576. But the average attendance of 
white children was only 207, and of the colored only 77 — making a total 
average attendance of only 284. It is interesting to note that the enum- 
eration at this time was 1,302. 

Two wings were added to the original building in 1870, which con- 
stitute the north and south wings of the building at the present time. 
In 1896 the original center of the building was torn down and a new 
center erected. 

The high school from this time on developed rapidly and soon out- 
grew the cramped quarters afforded at the Central school. So a special 
election was held March 2, 1914 and $65,000 voted for the erection of a 
modern high school building, 587 votes being cast for and 219 against the 
bond issues. The new building was completed Sept. 1, 1915 at a cost 
(including furniture and equipment) of about $85,000 and is recognized as 
one of the finest in the state. The building was named "The Laura Speed 
Elliott High School" in honor of and as a memorial to the deceased wife 
of Col. Jno. S. Elliott who presented to the Board of Education and through 
them to the citizens of Boonville the site on which the building stands. 
(17) 



258 HISTORY OF COOPER COUNTY 

The lot was valued at $10,000 and is an ideal location for such a building. 

The Laura Speed Elliott High School building consists of 25 rooms 
including auditorium, gymnasium, library, cooking room, sewing room, 
commercial department, laboratories, class rooms and offices. It has 
modern heating, ventilating and lighting systems, and is used by various 
organizations as a community center. 

Following the modern trend in education, Boonville is adapting the 
curriculum of her schools to meet the twentieth century demands. Courses 
that have been added in recent years are agriculture, bookkeeping, type- 
writing, stenography, cooking, sewing, general science, teacher-training, 
Spanish, French and vocational home economics. 

The trend in education is away from the strictly classical course to 
the more practical, but none the less cultural, semi-vocational course, 
which has for its aim the making of better citizens, better able to take 
their place in the complex modern society and earn an honest living. If 
the school does not develop better men and women, a higher type of 
citizen, out of the material it takes in, then it is a failure. 

Modern education looks to the development of a healthy body along 
with a trained mind. Too often in the past we have ignored the health 
of the child in our endeavor to educate him, as a result the present genera- 
tion is only about sixty per cent, efficient physically. A large share of 
the blame for this condition must be assumed by the schools. 

Statistics obtained by the army in the recent draft show that prac- 
tically one-third of the young men were physically inferior and that 
seventy-five per cent, of this inferiority could have been overcome had 
the right training been administered at the proper time. The schools, 
therefore, must wake up to the necessity for adequate physical training, 
which is of even more importance than mental training. Because the first 
requisite for a sound mind is a sound body. Mental development at the 
expense of physical well-being is not only undesirable but nonsensical. 
Physical training in the school need not interfere with mental training 
but should rather supplement it. The universal criticism of athletics in 
the past has been that it is administered to the five per cent, rather than 
the hundred per cent. In the modern school the health of the pupil is of 
first considei-ation and each is given the training best calculated to fit 
him for a vigorous, healthy, successful life. 

Thus have the Boonville schools developed through the years, until 
today we have a system that ranks among the best in the state, and of 



HISTORY OF COOPER COUNTY 259 

which we are justly proud. It may be of interest to review the list of 
citizens who have served on the Board of Education, and the superin- 
tendents who have come and gone. 

School Directors from 1867-1919.— Jos. L. Stephens, 1867-1881 ; Jos. 
A. Eppstein, 1867-1870; C. W. Sombart, 1867-1895; John Bernard, 1867- 
1882; H. A. Hutchison, 1867-1870; Franklin Swap, 1867-1881; John Fet- 
zer, 1870-1873 ; John O'Brien, 1870-1873 ; John B. Holman, 1871-1881 ; J. 
F. Gmelich, 1873-1876; George Sahm, 1876-1879; E. Roeschal, 1877-1895; 
D. D. Miles, 1880-1884; C. H. Brewster, 1881-1882; John N. Gott, 1881- 
1882 ; Sam Acton, 1882-1885 ; W. W. Taliaferro, 1882-1894 ; John Cosgrove, 
1882-1884; W. Speed Stephens, 1884-1917; Chas. J. Burger, 1884-1887; 
S. H. Stephens, 1885-1894 ; *R. W. Whitlow, 1887-1919 ; *Wm. Mittlebach, 
1894-1919 ; W. A. Smiley, 1894-1897; J. T. McClanahan, 1895-1898 ; Richard 
Hadelich, 1895-1898 ; C. P. Gott, 1897-1903 ; R. L. Moore, 1898-1904 ; Win. 
Gibbons, 1898-1901; C. C. Bell, 1901-1904; *Wm. F. Johnson, 1903-1919; F. 
R. Smiley, 1904-1913; John C. Pigott, 1904-1913; *M. E. Schmidt, 1913- 
1919; T. F. Waltz, 1913-1916; John Cosgrove, 1916-1919; A. C. Jacobs, 
1917-1918; *Wm. B. Talbott, 1918-1919. 

*Still members of the board. 

Superintendents, Boonville Public Schools From 1867-1919.— J. C. 
Mason, 1867, 1868, 1870; E. A. Angell, 1869; R. P. Rider, 1871, 1872; Wm. 
A. Smiley, 1873; S. H. Blewett, 1874-1875; R. R. Rogers, 1876; D. A. 
McMillan, 1877-1883 ; H. T. Norton, 1883 ; G. W. Smith, 1884-1889 ; F. W. 
Ploger, 1889-1895 ; D. T. Gentry, 1895-1899 ; W. A. Annin, 1899-1903 ; M. 
A. O'Rear, 1903-1913; C. E. Chrane, 1913-1919. 

The high school enrollment during the past year was 204. This is 
a 15 per cent, increase over the year previous. Sixty-four of these pupils 
were from the rural districts. 

There were enumerated in the Boonville school district May 1, 1919, 
795 white children and 194 colored— a total of 989, and the total enroll- 
ment during the school year was 728. 

The Boonville Board of Education employs 23 teachers to run its 
schools. The faculty for the coming year 1919-20 is as follows : 

High School Faculty.— C. E. Chrane, superintendent; E. H. Johnson, 
Principal High School, Science; Edna Ginn, History; Alberta Cowden. 
Home Economics; Helen Dauwalter, Latin, Mathematics; Grace Graves, 
teacher-training; Pauline Holloway, English; Leota Moser, French, Music; 
Mildred Amick, Commercial. 



260 HISTORY OF COOPER COUNTY 

Grade School Faculty. — Emma Stegner, principal, 7, 8 grades, Vergna 
Hopkins, Gladys Brown, Lilia Dritt, Emmorie Holtman, Hazel Moore, 
Helen Gantner, Elizabeth Hayden, Dora Hennicke, Elizabeth Varnum. 

Sumner School, Boonville. — The Sumner school for colored children 
was established in 1868 and has been open continuously since that time at 
the corner of Fourth and Spruce streets. 

The following statistics that are taken from the 1910 census of the 
United States will give some idea of the effectiveness of the work of this 
school. 

The census of 1910 gives the colored population of Boonville, 910. 
The number of illiterate is given as 124, which shows that illiteracy among 
the colored people in our city has been reduced from 100 per cent, in 1869 
to less than 12 per cent in 1910. 

Following the same line of investigation, the Boonville colored people 
compare favorably with those of the other cities and towns of the state. 

The motto of the school is "Grow or Go," and every one is so busy 
that the loafer or laggard so inbibes the spirit of work from the atmos- 
phere surrounding him, that sooner or later he takes up the work with a 
hearty good will. 

All children old enough to help the family and themselves are encour- 
aged to work outside of school hours, because it is found that the child 
who is kept busy makes a better scholar than the loafer or idler. In 
other words, it is more of a help than a handicap to be forced to work. 

The Sumner High School was established in 1884. The first pupil 
graduated in 1886. This pupil afterwards attended Oberlin College and is 
now one of the prominent teachers in the state. Since this time some 
thirty-eight classes have finished the two-year high school course. 

More than 50 per cent, have gone to the higher institutions of learn- 
ing, where they finished courses in medicine, law, pharmacy, nurse-train- 
ing, teaching, theology, engineering, commercial business course, etc. But 
one of the greatest benefits has been received by the rank and file of the 
race, as shown by the improved conditions of the colored people of our 
city. 

The number of taxpayers has increased from none in 1869 to 161 at 
present; besides, the colored people own two good churches, two parson- 
ages and one lodge hall valued at $5,000. 

A new six-room building, modern in every respect, was completed in 
1916. Courses in cooking, sewing and manual training have been added 
to the curriculum. 



HISTORY OF COOPER COUNTY 261 

Faculty of School. — C. G. Williams, principal ; Ida Hill, Millie Proctor, 
Josie E. Williams. 

Catholic Parochial School, Boonville, 1848. — The Catholic church was 
built in Boonville in the year 1848, and the school was started soon there- 
after. It is an elementary school teaching only the first eight grades of 
school work. Examinations are given twice each year by the priest. 
There are at the present time two teachers and one housekeeper in charge 
of the school, and they have sixty-seven pupils enrolled. 

Cooper County Institute, 1863. — The Cooper County Institute was 
established at Boonville in 1863, by the Reverend X. X. Buckner, a Baptist 
minister. It was sold in 1865 to Q. W. Marston who had charge of it until 
the year 1868. It was discontinued from 1868 to 1870 at which time 
Professor Anthony Haynes took charge and. moved it to a suite of rooms 
over the Stephen's Opera House. Later it was moved to the building now 
known as the Quinly apartments. In addition to the conducting of a suc- 
cessful day school Professor Haynes had a boarding department which 
proved very popular to the people of Cooper County who were at a distance 
from Boonville and out of touch with educational advantages. The school 
was maintained until the year 1877 when Professor Haynes was forced 
to give up his chosen work on account of ill health. 

Prairie Home Institute was founded at Prairie Home in 1865 by Rev. 
A. H. Misseline. In the fall of 1869 it was sold to the public school dis- 
trict by Washington A. Johnston. In May, 1871, it was converted into a 
co-educational boarding school. The building with its contents was 
destroyed by fire in 1874. A new building was substituted for the old and 
school reopened April, 1875, and continued until 1880. After 1880 the 
school had a precarious existence, being alternately opened and closed, 
and was finally forced to close altogether a few years later. 

The Otterville Academy was organized in the year 1891. Prof. Wm. 
Curlin was employed as the first principal. He stayed with the school 
two years. The school closed in 1907. 

McGuire Seminary was established in Boonville, Mo., in 1892, 
by Mrs. Julia McGuire. This was a very select school for young ladies 
and offered an exceedingly fine course in music. Mrs. McGuire died in 
1902. Mrs. Roller took charge of the school and attempted to keep it up 
to its former high standard of excellence and enrollment, and she suc- 
ceeded until 1905, when discouraged because of the lack of interest that 
was manifest in private schools and academies, generally, at this time, 
it was closed. 



262 HISTORY OF COOPER COUNTY 

Kemper Military Schools. — This large enterprise and distinguished 
school, like all other affairs worthy of growth and development, had a 
small and humble beginning. In 1844, Professor F. T. Kemper located 
in Boonville and started a private school which in the course of years 
became known as the Kemper Family School. This school opened with 
but five students, only one of whom, D. C. Mack, was a Boonville boy. 
The school was conducted in a humble frame building that stood on the 
corner of Morgan and Spring streets, on the present site of the Citizen's 
Trust Company building. A little frame house situated a little farther 
west was the residence of the school family and another small house 
served as an office to piece out the scanty accommodations. 

Mr. Kemper did all the instructing himself and by the end of the year 
the enrollment of students had increased to 35 and a portion of the second 
story of the building now known as the Green Hotel was secured for the 
school. The next year a location for a permanent home for the school was 
secured where it and its famed successor, the Kemper Military School, has 
ever since remained. Professor Kemper was a ripe scholai% an elegant 
gentleman, and possessed of a strong personality which he impressed upon 
his pupils. During the years the Kemper Family School became noted 
for its discipline and thoroughness. Soon after founding the school, 
Kemper associated with himself the brothers Tyre C. and James B. Harris. 
This association, however, continued but a short time. In the early his- 
tory of the school there were also associated with Kemper, James and 
John Chandler, William and Roberdeau Allison and J. A. Quarrels; and 
again during the Civil War the school was under the joint management 
of Mr. Kemper and Edwin Taylor, brother of Mrs. Kemper. During the 
years from 1867 to 1868, Mr. R. Allison was associated in the manage- 
ment. It was in the year 1867 that T. A. Johnston, now the superintendent 
of the Kemper Military School, entered this family school as a student and 
continued thus until 1871 when he entered the State University of Mis- 
souri where in 1872 he received the degree of Bachelor of Arts, later 
receiving the degree of Master of Arts, and at once returned to Boonville 
and became associate principal of the Kemper Family School. The man- 
agement of the school was thus continued until the death of Professor 
Kemper in 1881. The school then passed to the management and control 
of T. A. Johnston and continued under this management to prosper with 
an ever widening patronage. Yet its growth was not phenomenal as has 



HISTORY OF COOPER COUNTY 263 

been that of the Kemper Military School. From 1865 until 1890, 50 was 
the average enrollment. Col. T. A. Johnston with a far sighted vision 
realized the changing conditions, and gradually converted the institution 
into what now is known throughout the length and breadth of the land 
as the "Kemper Military School." It was not until 1904 that the enroll- 
ment of 100 was reached, and in 1909, 150 students appeared at Kemper 
while in 1916 saw an enrollment of 217 ; and this year, 1919, a total enroll- 
ment of 527. The Kemper Military School represents an investment of 
half a million dollars. It occupies 30 acres of ground and has five modern 
barracks, two study halls, an auditorium that will seat 500, a gymnasium, 
library, manuel training and machine shops and employs 29 teachers and 
officers. For the last five years it has been among the 10 Honor Military 
Schools of the United States and this year ranks second among the 10, 
and is the first in rank of the military schools west of the Mississippi 
River. 

The Pilot Grove Collegiate Institute is but a memory, dear to the 
students and instructors who once occupied and spent pleasant and in- 
structive days within its walls. This institution had its beginning in the 
establishment of a private school by the Rev. Geo. Eichelberger, in 1878 
in a two story frame building located where are now the residences of 
J. A. Thompson and R. A. Harriman, in the city of Pilot Grove, Missouri. 
In 1879, Prof. Charles Newton Johnson organized a company and pur- 
chased this building from Mr. Eichelberger. He had associated with him 
his mother, Mrs. C. B. Johnson, and the school flourished from the begin- 
ning. It was chartered in 1881 as the Pilot Grove Collegiate Institute 
and during this year he had also associated with him W. F. Johnson, the 
author of this volume. Prof. Chas. N. Johnson died in the summer of 
1882. The management of the school then fell into the hands of Prof. 
Chas. B. Johnson (the father of C. N. and W. F. Johnson) and W. F. John- 
son and under this management it was continued until 1887, or 1888 in- 
creasing in enrollment year by year. 

At this time Prof. Chas. Foster and D. L. Roe purchased and became 
the proprietors of the school and conducted the same for several years 
when Prof. Foster retired and Prof. Roe continued the management. 
Prof. Roe was eventually succeeded by Prof. Taylor and he in turn by 
Prof. Buckmeister who conducted a private school in the college building 
for two or three years when he gave up teaching. The property has been 



264 HISTORY OF COOPER COUNTY 

recently wrecked and two residences built upon the site of the old institu- 
tion. 

This school drew its patronage not only from many counties in the 
state but from other states especially Kentucky and Tennessee and had 
pupils from a distance varying 1 from sixty-five to eighty and an enroll- 
ment in all averaging from 150 to 175 pupils. 



CHAPTER XVII. 



CHURCHES. 



BAPTIST — METHODIST — PRESBYTERIAN— CHRISTIAN— GERMAN EVANGELICAL- 
LUTHERAN— EPISCOPAL— CATHOLIC. 

Churches have ever been established coincident with settlement, and 
the pioneer considered his church of primary importance. In that early 
day, 

"A church in every grove that spread 
A living roof above their heads," 
formed their only place of worship and to them, 

"No temple built with hands could vie 
In glory with its majesty." Thus in nature's magnificent 
cathedrals, and with hearts in tune with the simplicity of the Gospel, the 
early settlers worshipped their Creator, and felt the quickening power 
of duty done. They lived humble and devout lives and consistently prac- 
ticed the precepts, and tenets of their faith. 
It was Alexander Pope who said, 

"Honor and shame from no condition rise, 
Act well your part, there all the honor lies." And it was 
the pioneer who, above all else, exemplified this truth. In rude cabins 
and huts the early preachers proclaimed the same gospel that is preached 
today in the magnificent palaces, that, under the name of church, decorate 
the cities of our fair land. 

Since it was impossible to obtain information regarding each indi- 
vidual church in the county we thought it best to confine our discussion 
of churches to those of the early day. Not that a discussion of the more 
recent churches would not be profitable and interesting to a majority of 



266 HISTORY OF COOPER COUNTY 

our readers, but because it is almost an impossibility to get accurate 
information on such a subject. 

The number of churches in Cooper County has increased with amazing 
rapidity during the past few years, until today there is probably not a 
community in the county that is not served by one or more church houses, 
and there is not a family in Cooper County who cannot, if they so desire, 
worship in the church of their choice any Sunday, with but little effort. 

BAPTIST. 

The Baptists were probably the first to become active in Cooper 
County. 

Concord Church was organized May 10, 1817 by Elders Edward Tur- 
ner, William Thorp, and David McLain. The following were the first 
fourteen members : Luke Williams, Polly Williams, William Savage, Mary 
Savage, Delaney Bolen, Judith Williams, Absalom Huff, Susanna Savage, 
Joseph Baze, Lydia Turner, Charles Williams, Patsey Bolen, Sally Baze 
and Elizabeth Williams. 

Concord Church was located in the settlement south of Boonville and 
was called Concord Association in 1823. Elder Luke Williams was pastor 
for six years, beginning in June, 1817. After his death which occurred 
at the end of his pastorate, Elder Kemp Scott was chosen pastor. The 
church had a membership of about 45. Dec. 26, 1846, Concord church 
united with a neighboring church known as "The Vine" which strength- 
ened materially the old church. The charter members of this church were 
Luke Williams, Polly Williams, William Savage, Mary Savage, Delaney 
Bolen, Judith Williams, Absalom Huff, Susanna Savage, Joseph Baze, 
Lydia Turner, Charles Williams, Patsey Bolen, Sally Baze and Elizabeth 
Williams. 

Mount Nebo Church is located about one mile north of the present 
site of Bunceton and it was organized in 1820. An early list of members 
contains 63. names. Rev. A. P. Williams was the first pastor. The first 
church building was erected in 1838. The present building was erected 
in 1856. Earliest members were, Lydia Corum, Jordan O'Bryan, Abra- 
ham and Nancy Woolery. 

Big Lick Church was a constituent of the Concord Association and 
was organized Aug. 24, 1822, under an arbor, one mile north of where 
the present church now stands. John B. Longan and Jacob Chism com- 
posed the council. There were sixteen in the original membership. John 



HISTORY OF COOPER COUNTY 267 

B. Longan (822-845), Tyre C. Harris (1845-1851) were followed as pastors 
by Robert H. Harris, D. G. Tutt, J.' B. Box, J. D. Murphy and J. S. Palmer. 
In 1847, the membership was 350. 

Pisgah Baptist Church was organized at a meeting held at the resi- 
dence of Lewis Shelton on June 19, 1819, with the following charter mem- 
bers: The Rev. William Jennings, Rev. Jacob Chism, Priseilla Chism, 
David Jones, Tabitha Jones, James Maxey, William Howard, Leven Savage, 
Pollie Savage, Joseph McClure, Elizabeth McClure, John Bivian, Mary 
Bivian, Rhoda Stephens, Isabella Pontan, Sarah Woods, the Rev. John B. 
Longan, John Apperson, Sela Apperson, Jesse Martin, Mary Martin and 
Pollie Longan. The first meeting house was erected not long after the 
congregation had effected an organization and was situated at a point a 
half mile east of the present edifice. This somewhat primitive church 
building was in time supplanted by a brick building, which in 1871 gave 
way to the much larger frame building which has since then supplied the 
needs of the congregation. Mrs. Jane York, who died on March 15, 1919, 
joined this church in 1849 and at the time of her death was the oldest 
continuous member of the church, her connection with the same having 
covered the long span of 70 years. 

Providence Baptist Church was organized in Nov., 1879, at Prairie 
Home by Rev. B. T. Taylor. The church building was erected in 1881 at 
a cost of $1,000 by Rev. J. B. Box, the first pastor. Charter members 
were Miss E., Miss R. and Miss J. McLane, A. Slaughter, Mrs. L. W. 
Slaughter, Mrs. M. Simmons, W. E. Watt, Mrs. L. F. Watt, William Sim- 
mons, Mrs. Lizzie Simmons, Mrs. Saline Smith, A. J. Hornbeck, Jeremiah 
Hornbeck, Mrs. E. Hornbeck, Mrs. Josie, Miss Sallie, Miss Nevada, Miss 
Fannie, Miss Minerva, Miss Nannie, Miss Henrietta and C. C. Don Carlos, 
Miss M. J. and Mrs. Mary Adair, Mrs. Mary, Miss Laura, Miss Lillie and 
Miss Mattie Taylor, Thomas F. and Mrs. Sallie B. Hall, Gabriel, Miss Sarah 
Stemmons, Miss Sudie and Miss Nannie Stemmons, George W., Mrs. Mary 
and Clara Carey, Mrs. Melinda Dungan, Miss Jennie and Amanda Max- 
well and Bettie Hudson. 

First Baptist Church, Boonville, was organized Dec. 30, 1843, by Rev. 
A. M. Lewis and A. B. Hardy. A brick building was erected in the sum- 
mer of 1847. Some of the early pastors were Tyra C. Harris, Robert 
Harris, John W. Mitchell, Spencer H. Olmstead, X. X. Buckner, M. M. 
Paderford, Charles Whitting, J. L. Blitch. Original members were, 
Reuben E. McDaniel, Alfred Simmons, David Lilly, Lawrence B. Lewis, 
Jordan O'Bryan, Elizabeth Dow, Sarah Gates, Maria Elliott, Eliza Ann 



288 HISTORY OF COOPER COUNTY 

Hickman, Susan D. Conner, Delia McDaniel, Elizabeth N. Richardson, 
Jane E. Richardson and Francis B. Major. The present pastor is C. Rus- 
sell Sorrell. 

First Baptist Church, Otterville, was organized in 1866, by J. W. 
Williams and Brother Parish. The church building was bought in 1874 
from the Cumberland Presbyterians for $360. Some of the early pastors 
of this church were William Pastors, John K. Godby, T. V. Greer, W. N. 
Phillips, E. F. Shelton. Original members were George I. Key, James 
Shackelford, Samuel Swearingen, William H. Bowdin, Martha L. Key, 
Sarah Willard, Catherine L. Key, Angeline Cook, Mary C. Golladay, 
Josephine Butler, Mahala Price, Jane Trimble, Margaret A. Shackelford, 
Temperance E. Swearingen, Mary A. Bowdin, Sophia Cook and Sarah 
Ellixon. 

Mt. Herman Church is located in Clark's Fork township. It was or- 
ganized Jan. 3, 1868, by Jehe Robinson who was its first pastor. The 
church building was erected in 1879 at a cost of $1,800. Charter mem- 
bers were Mrs. Margaret Reid, Sarah Cartner, Lucy Brown, Margaret 
Cartner. 

Pilot Grove Baptist Church was organized in 1876 by Rev. N. T. Alli- 
son. A frame church building costing $1,000 was built in the same year. 
Original members, Rev. N. T.- Allison and wife, J. R. Jeffress, A. N. Spencer, 
J. Tomlinson, B. F. Chamberlain and wife, L. L. Chamberlain and wife, 
Miss Rebecca Massie, Miss Millie White and Mrs. Sarah Kaley. 

Second Baptist Church, Colored, is located on Morgan Street, Boon- 
ville. It was organized in 1865 by Rev. W. P. Brooks. A building was 
erected in 1870 at a cost of $1,600. There were 216 members in 1883. 
Original members were: Richard Taylor and wife, William Jackson and 
wife, Dilcey Thomas, Rebecca Sharp, Hannah Alexander, Washington 
Whittleton, Minerva Smith, Jane Smith, Duke Diggs and wife, G. Fowler 
and wife, Jane Douglass, Ellen Woods, Abbey Smith, Green Smith, Cvnthia 
Nelson, P. Watkins, P. Wilson. 

Sixth Baptist Church, Colored, is located in Boonville and was organ- 
ized in 1874 by Rev. S. Bryan. A building was erected in 1876 at a cost 
of $1,000. This church had a membership of one hundred in 1883. Orig- 
inal members were: Green Wilson, William Jackson, David Watson, Paul 
Donaldson, Smith Barnes, Rebecca Sharp, Martha Tibbs, Clacy Waller, 
Esther Rollins, Clara Johnson, Dilcey Thomas, Sarah Jackson, Arrena 
Watson. 



HISTORY OF COOPER COUNTY 269 

METHODIST. 

The Methodist Episcopal Church, South. — The first religious service 
ever held in Boonville of which we have any record was held in a private 
house by Reb. John Scripps, a pioneer preacher in 1817. A church was 
organized by Rev. Justinian Williams who was a brother of Marcus Wil- 
liams, the first mayor of Boonville and who was a great uncle of the late 
Judge W. M. Williams. The charter members were Justinian Williams 
and wife, Frederick Houx and wife, and Allen and Louisa Porter. From 
1818 to 1834 the church was a part of the Lamine circuit, but in 1844, it 
was called the Boonville circuit. In 1840 it was made a station and was 
the first station outside of St. Louis made in the state. The first church 
building was begun in 1832, and dedicated by Bishop Soul in 1838. The 
second building was erected in 1880 during the last year of the four years 
pastorate of C. H. Briggs, and was dedicated by C. C. Wood. A modern 
church edifice was erected in 1917, at a cost of $40,000, and is known as 
the Nelson Memorial Church. Rev. O. E. Vivian is the present pastor. 

The Bell Air Methodist Church, South, was organized in 1850. James 
Bell and wife, Thornton Bell and wife, and Jacob G. Shutler and wife, were 
among the oldest members. The building was erected in 1870, and was 
dedicated by D. K. McAnally. 

Prairie Home Methodist Episcopal Church was organized in 1881, 
by Rev. Vandiver. The church building was dedicated and organized in 
1881 by Rev. Phillip. The original members were Sarah Tompkins and 
Eleanor Huff. 

Pilot Grove M. E. Church, South, was organized in 1826. Samuel 
Roe was one of the original members of this church. A building was 
erected in 1850 and rebuilt in 1879. 

Methodist Episcopal Church, South, Bunceton, was organized in April, 
1879. by Rev. C. H. Briggs, who was then stationed at Boonville. A church 
building was erected in 1880 on a plot of ground contributed by Dr. H. C. 
Gibson, of Boonville. The original members were: Mrs. Marie Stephens, 
Capt. S. P. Tevis, George Dorsey, James Moon, Mrs. Jane Moon, George 
Dameron, Mrs. Lucy Dameron, O. F. Arnold and Mrs. M. E. Arnold. 

The German Methodist Church, Boonville, was organized in 1850. A 
brick church building was erected in 1852 at a cost of $1,200. Some of 
the early pastors were A. Klippel, Jacob Feisel, John Hausn, H. Lahrman, 
William Schreck. The original members were as follows: H. Gaus, 



270 HISTORY OF COOPER COUNTY 

Helena Gaus, J. H. Reckmeyer, Emilie Reckmeyer, Peter Birkenbeil, Eva 
M. Birkenbeil, Henry Muhlenbruck, Mina Muhlenbruck, John Otten, 
Johanna Otten, H. Blum, Theresa Blum, Carl Vollmer, Henriette Kuhl, 
Maria Hausman. 

PRESBYTERIAN. 

Boonville Presbyterian Church was organized April 28, 1821, by Rev. 
Edward Hollister with 23 members. The church was in the beginning 
known as the Franklin Church due to the fact that the parent church was 
located in Franklin prior to its being washed away. It continued to be 
called "Franklin" until 1830. Some of the early ministers of this church 
were Rev. Pomeroy, W. P. Cochran, Hiram Chamberlain. A building was 
erected in 1841 at a cost of $4,500 on the site of the present building. A 
second building was erected in 1871-72 at a cost of $12,618.65. A third 
building was erected in 1904 at a cost of $40,000. The present pastor is 
Rev. J. E. Green. 

New Lebanon Cumberland Presbyterian Church, possibly the oldest 
Cumberland church in Cooper County was organized in 1820 by Rev. Finis 
Ewing. It got its name from the fact that a majority of its members 
came from Lebanon Church, in Logan County, Kentucky. Robert Kirk- 
patrick, Alexander Sloan, John Miller, Thomas Ruby were the first elders 
of the church. A log church was built in 1821. A brick house was put 
up in 1860. Rev. R. D. Morrow, in 1824, organized a school in this neigh- 
borhood for young preachers which was largely attended. The names of 
the constituent members were Robert Kiikpatrick and wife, Thomas Ruby 
and wife, Alexander Sloan and wife, John Wear and wife, James Wear and 
wife, Robert Allison and wife, John Miller and wife, and Mr. Stone an .1 
wife. 

Mount Vernon Cumberland Presbyterian Church is lo> tout one 

mile southwest of Pilot Grove, and was organized in April, 1833. Some 
of the early preachers were Samuel C. Davidson. Archibald McCorl 
William Kavanaugh and Finis Ewing. Original members were William 
Houx, John Miller, James Deckard. John Houx, Sr., Frederick Houx, 
Gideon B. Miller, Benjamin Weedin, Daniel Weedin, Jacob Houx, William 
Miller, Charlotte Houx, Anne McCutcheon, Harriet L. McCutcheon, Chris- 
tina Deckard, Ellen B. Crawford, Regina Houx, Mary Miller, Sr., Mary 
Miller, Jr., Catherine Weedin, Mary Weedin, Elizabeth and Rachel Weedin, 
Ann Rennison, Elizabeth H. C. Berry, Margaret Houx. 

Highland Cumberland and Presbyterian Church was organized Feb. 



HISTORY OF COOPER COUNTY 271 

20, 1867, by Rev. A. W. Thompson. A building was erected in 1870 at a 
cost of $1,600. The original members were John Fluke, John Knikshire, 
Nancy R. Durnil, Louisa Fluke, Wm. E. Clayton, Andrew J. Roberson, 
Margaret Knikshire, Elizabeth Edwards, Mary L. Duncan, Isaac Henry, 
Frederick Fluke, James D. McFall, James Bankston, Jane Tucker, George 
Fluke, Frank Guthrie, Dow Vaughan, Sallie Messicks, Julia Fluke, Lavina 
Clayton, Wm. E. Clayton, Jr., Elizabeth Duncan, Patsey Henry. 

New Salem Cumberland Presbyterian Church is located in Prairie 
Home township and was organized in 1821 by Rev. Robert Morrow at the 
residence of Alexander Johnston. A log house was erected in 1828 which 
was replaced by a brick building in 1853, which was again replaced by a 
more commodious building in 1877. Early preachers were Rev. Finis 
Ewing, and Robert W. Morrow, Daniel Weedin, Samuel Kind, Thomas Ish, 
and John E. Norris. The original members were Alexander Johnston, 
Joshua Lewis, Mrs. Mary (wife of Alex. Johnston), Mrs. Mary (wife of 
James Johnston) , Robert Johnson and Margaret Johnson (mother of Alex- 
ander and Robert Johnston.) 

Presbyterian Church (Union) Bunceton, was organized 1860 by Rev. 
W. G. Bell, of Boonville. The constituent members were Mrs. Mary 
Phillips, Dr. E. Chilton and wife, John J. Hoge and wife, Isaac Hewitt and 
wife, Miss M. Hewitt, James Hewitt and Mrs. E. Russell. 

New Zion. Cumberland Presbyterian Church, is located in Moniteau 
township and was organized in 1871 by W. W. Branin, its first pastor. 
In 1883 it had a membership of 100. The names of the original members 
were: Martha J. Miller, Catherine Lawson, Nancy Holloway, Harriett 
J. Hollaway, Joseph Pierce, Margaret A. Thompson, L. C. McDaniel, Henry 
Bowers, P. P. Lawson, Caroline R. Bowers, Thomas L. Pierce, Susan J. 
Williams. 

CHRISTIAN. 

Lone Elm Churcn, was organized in 1842. It was the first Christian 
Church organized soutn of the Missouri River. The first ministers of this 
congregation were Nelson Davis and Allen Wright, and the original mem- 
bers were George W. Baker and wife, Peter and Elizabeth Poindexter, 
Rice and Elizabeth Daniel, B. R. and Lucy Waller and Mary A. Poindexter. 

Lamine Church, was organized in 1843 but was discontinued after a 
few years. It was recognized in 1865 by Elder P. Donan. with the follow- 
ing white membership: Samuel R. Collins, Sarah L. Collins, Wm. B. Col- 
lins, J. P. Collins, Marietta M. Collins, Drusilla E. Thomas, Susan Biddie,. 



272 HISTORY OF COOPER COUNTY 

Melinda E. Kincaid, Mary F. Tyler, Catherine Wing, Freeman Wing, Julia 
A. Turley, Ellen Pope, Josephine Wall, J. P. Wall, Moses Napier, Mary J. 
Mello, Nancy Reed, Elizabeth Courtney, George W. Kincaid, Francis M. 
Kincaid, A. L. Kincaid, J. B. Baker, Martha J. Baker, Theo. Turley, Jas. 
O'Howell, Thos. Mello, Thos. Staples, C. F. Younger, F. Harris, Lucy C. 
Hieucleher, Pamelia Williams. Eighteen colored person were included in 
the membership of this church in the beginning, but soon after organ- 
izing, they withdrew and built a church of their own. 

Walnut Grove, was organized by Elder O. P. Davis, on the first Sun- 
day in Dec, 1862. The following were the charter members of the 
church: Lewis D. Reavis, Henry York, Eli P. Adams, Sarah J. Adams, 
Matilda Cary, Samuel R. Davis, 0. P. Davis, Eliza J. Hawkins, Martha A. 
Davis, Mary F. Logan, Margaret A. Davis, Mary York, Caroline York, 
Isabelle Clawson, Sarah Parmer and James Eldredge. Early in its history 
the church numbered over 150 members. The original church building 
was replaced by a commodious, modern church building in 1914. This 
building was completely destroyed by a cyclone in the summer of 1917. 
Immediately thereafter the congregation met and determined to replace 
the building that had been destroyed by an even better edifice, which was 
accordingly done. 

Boonville Christian Church, was organized by C. Shouse, Dec. 25, 
1887, with about 20 charter members, six of whom are still living, viz., 
Mrs. Frank Swap, Boonville, Mo. ; Mrs. W. R. Baker, Montana ; Mrs. Albert 
Elliott, Chillicothe, Mo. ; Miss Lizzie Bacon, Kansas City, Mo. ; Mrs. P. L. 
Starke, St. Louis, Mo.; Miss Lottye Crews, Boonville, Mo. 

The money for the erection of the church building was raised by the 
faithful and persistent efforts of J. I. Quigley. It was dedicated by J. H. 
Garrison, of St. Louis, in 1889. The Rev. W. W. Gibbony is the present 
minister. 

GERMAN EVANGELICAL. 

Boonville Evangelical Church, was organized in 1853. Rev. John 
Wettle was the first pastor. The first building was erected in 1854 due 
mainly to the energy and labor of George Vollrath, one of the early mem- 
bers. A school building was erected in 1857 and a parsonage in 1879. 
The school was discontinued in later years. The present building was 
erected in 1887 and dedicated by Rev. C. A. Richter, of Jefferson City, 
Missouri. Rev. R. M. Hinze served as pastor of this church from 1907- 
1917. During his pastorate the church was refurnished and redecorated 
in 1908. In 1915 the church was enlarged by the addition of several 




LONE ELM SCHOOL 




ST. JOSEPHS CHURCH AND SCHOOL. PILOT GROVE 



HISTORY OF COOPER COUNTY 273 

Sunday school rooms. A pipe organ was presented by Mrs. Doris Gmelich, 
which was installed at the time of the addition. Early pastors were C. 
L. Greimer, J. Lange, E. Schneider and L. Kohlman. Original members 
were George Volbrath, J. H. Boiler, William Haas, St. Weber, Paul Steg- 
ner, Philip Back, William Gemmer, Peter Back, Jacob Thauer, J. E. Hof- 
lander, David Rau, Sophia Hain, Frederica Reinhart, Erk. Hirlinger, Jacob 
Neef, George Goller, L. Holzmueller, Adam Sandrock, Fred. Metz, J. Mitta- 
meyer, Philip Stahl, J. F. Fickel, J. Lotz. 

St. Peter's Evangelical Church at Pleasant Grove was the first church 
organized by the German speaking people of Cooper County and was 
organized in 1849 under the ministry of the Reverend Kewing, who for 
some time remained as pastor, being succeeded in turn by the following 
pastors: The Reverends Rauchenbush, Hoffmeister, Lange, Streit, Von 
Teobel, Dellwo, Kraft, Woelfle, Mohr, Leutwein, Klingeberger, Alber, 
Egger, Rasche, Jennrich, Lehmann, Bredehoeft, Leibner and Beissenherz, 
the latter of whom was installed as pastor in the fall of 1917 and is now 
serving the congregation. 

The first meeting house erected by the congregation of St. Peter's 
was a little log church building, which served the needs of the pioneer 
congregation until a more commodious edifice could be built. The pres- 
ent building was erected in 1877. The charter member of St. Peter's 
^Evangelical church were the following: Adam and Jacob Schilb, Nich- 
olas Blank, George Knorp, Fred Stock, J. A. Spieler, J. G. Spieler, William 
Baker, F. Schenck, T. Miller, E. Kirschman, Jacob Schilb, Jr., Henry Meyer, 
H. J. Meyer, A. Kaempfer and William Hobrecht, with their respective 
families. 

May 20, 1918, the congregation at its semi-annual business meeting 
voted to discontinue the use of the German language entirely. So time 
brings its changes, always to remind us that nothing is permanent. 

Pleasant Grove church also believes in its Sunday School and for 
many years has taught the Bible to both old and young. The following 
have been superintendents in their time: David Schilb, J. E. Derendinger, 
K. M. Seifert, John J. Blank, F. N. Blank, and H. Spieler, the present 
incumbent. 

St. Peters Church has lately been re-roofed, repainted, and a few 

years ago a first class piano was bought and in the spring of 1919 the 

church was re-decorated on the inside. Several new members joined 

again recently, all of which goes to prove that the St. Peters congregation 

(18) 



274 HISTORY OF COOPER COUNTY 

is still a very live one. 

Billingsville Evangelical Church. The first meeting of the originators 
of this church was held in 1855 at the home of J. E. Hoflander. Those 
taking part were as follows : John E. Hoflander and wife, two sons, Joseph 
and Paul and two daughters, Mary and Barbara ; John Peter Stegner and 
wife, one son, August, and two daughters, Mary and Christina ; and John 
Paul Stegner and wife. Mrs. Hoflander led in prayer and read the scrip- 
tures at this service while John Peter Stegner led the singing. 

These meetings were held regularly on each Sunday until the Civil 
War. Sunday services were resumed in 1866 and were held in the Oak 
Grov School building and were led twice a month by Father Greiner, who 
was at that time pastor of the Evangelical congregation of Boonville. 

Frederick T. Kemper, founder of Kemper Military Academy con- 
ducted each Sunday, Sunday School services in which all the young people 
of the community took part. A building was erected at Billingsville in 
1879 at a cost of $1,100. A parsonage building was built in 1895 and 
W. F. Herman was installed as the first legal pastor in 1896. The present 
beautiful building was erected in 1916 at a cost of over $7,000 under the 
leadership of E. W. Berlekamp. 

LUTHERAN. 

Lutheran Emanuel Church, is located in Prairie Home township. It 
was organized in 1855 by Rev. August Lange. The church building was 
erected the same year. Original membership, Rev. August Lange, Henry 
Meyer, Frederick Stock, Jacob Edes, G. Knorp, Henry Meyer, John Kemp- 
fer, Dietrich Molan, John Snauch, Christine Hecherman and Ludwig 
Mentz. 

The German Evangelical Lutheran Church, located in Clarks Fork 
was erected in 1860. Its first pastor was Rev. Henry Jorngel. A building 
was erected in 1867 at a cost of $2,500, on a three acre plot of ground, by 
Fred Frieke. Original members, Peter Muntzel, Albert Muntzel, Daniel 
Muntzel, John King, Fred Frieke, John A. Schmidt, Nicholas Schmidt, 
Leonard Schmidt, David Rauh, William Kahle, Henry Lankop, Ferdinand 
Lankop, William Lankop, Christian Brandis, Sr., Lewis Lebbing, Marimus 
Longers, Henry Kaune, Sophia Fredmeyer, Christian Fredmeyer, Henry 
Fredmeyer, Ferdinand Ohlendorf, Peter Norenberg. James Martinson, 
Jacob King, Otto Smolfield, Berhard Vieth, Charles Brandis, Peter Weh- 
meier. 



HISTORY OF COOPER COUNTY 275 

EPISCOPAL. 

Christ's Episcopal Church, was probably organized in 1835 and a first 
church building was erected in 1844 under the leadership of Rev. Almond 
David Corbyn, rector. It is thought that the Rev. F. F. Peak preceded 
him and was probably the first Episcopal pioneer preacher in Boonville. 
Among the early members were Dr. E. E. Buckner and wife, Richard 
Thompson and wife, Mrs. Tompkins and C. B. Powell and wife. 

CATHOLIC. 

St. Peter's and Paul's Parish, Boonville. — Before 1850 Boonville was 
visited by Fr. Helias S. J. of Taos, and from Jefferson City. Rev. George 
Tuerk's name appears on the baptismal register from Nov. 1, 1850 to Oct. 
11, 1851. Rev. U. Joseph Meister attended Boonville from Oct. 27, 1857 
to July 3, 1856. He attended quite a number of places: Pilot Grove, 
Moniteau (Cedron) Brunswick, St. Andrews (Tinton), Glasgow, Fayette, 
Franklin, Round-Hill, Saline County, Chariton County, Pisgah, Boons- 
borough. Father Meister purchased the present church site July 22, 1856. 
Rev. B. Hillner took charge and may be considered the first priest perma- 
nently located at Boonville. He remained until April 18, 1869. He built 
a brick church and erected a small school building. He also visited Cedron, 
Glasgow, Cambridge and Brunswick. 

Rev. Henry Meurs was in charge from May 16, 1869 to April 24, 1875. 
He built a two story rectory. 

Rev. John A. Hoffman was in charge from May 15, 1875 to January 
7, 1885. He built a transent, sanctuary and sacristies as an addition to 
the church at an expense of $5,000. He took a great interest in the 
Catholic school and made the one story building of Fr. Hillner two stories, 
the upper story containing the living rooms of the sisters, and the first 
story having two school rooms. Rev. L. M. Porta had charge from Jan., 
1885. to Aug. 17, 1895. 

Rev. Theodore Kussman took charge Aug. 17, 1885, and still remains 
(1917). He was born in Germany, Jan. 19, 1843. and came with his par- 
ents to St. Louis in the fall of 1847. There he attended the Holy Trinity 
parochial school. He attended the Christian Brothers School 7th and 
Cherry and St. Francis Seminary near Milwaukee. After studying phil- 
osophy and theology at Cape Girardeau, he was ordained there by Arch- 
bishop Kenrick, May 27, 1866. Two years after his appointment to Boon- 



276 HISTORY OF COOPER COUNTY 

ville, he was made irremovable rector and has been in charge now over 
thirty-one years. Various improvements were made during his stay, the 
most important being the building of the new church, and putting an addi- 
tion to the rectory, making it double the previous size. March 2, 1890, the 
old church caught fire and was damaged $2,125. The old church was 
torn down. A new part with tower and side turrets, was erected and con- 
nected with Fr. Hoffmans transent, sanctuary and sacristies, at the ex- 
pense of $11,200. 

May 27, 1916, Rev. Theodore Kussman celebrated his golden jubilee 
in the presence of a large gathering. Rt. Rev. Thomas F. Lillis and thirty 
priests honored the occasion with their presence. For the last seven 
years the parish school has been free. Since Sept. 1, 1913, Boonville has 
had as assistant priests Revs. P. J. Downey, F. S. MacCardle, F. J. Dono- 
van, and P. J. Kennedy. 

The societies are B. V. M. Sodality, St. Anne's Society, St. V. St. 
Paul's Society, Extension Society, Propagation of the Faith, and Knights 
of Columbus, with a membership of 91. 

The Benedictine Sisters have been here eleven years, conducting a 
private hospital for Dr. C. H. Van Ravensway. 

The parish numbers about 500 souls, and has 65 pupils in the Paro- 
chial school. 

St. Joseph Church at Pilot Grove, was established by Rev. Father 
Pius Conrad, O. S. B., Jan. 1, 1895. In 1893 the cornerstone of St. Joseph 
Church was laid and Sept. 16, 1894, the church was dedicated by Rt. Rev. 
Abbot Frowin Conrad, O. S. B. of Conception Abbey, Mo., Rev. Father 
John Conrad, O. S. B. Pastor of Clear Ci-eek built St. Joseph Church and 
held service in it until Rev. Fr. Pius came. From Jan. 1, 1895. Pilot Grove 
had regular services every Sunday and Holy day. When the parish was 
organized, 35 families belonged to it, the present number of families is 90. 
In 1898, the priest house, costing $2,500, was built. As soon as Clear 
Creek had a resident priest, Rev. Fr. Pius held service every Sunday in 
Pilot Grove and Martinsville. He worked hard for God's honor. In 1907 
the church was enlarged by adding to the old church a new sanctuary, rais- 
ing the ceiling about six feet and erecting new altars at the cost of 
$5,650.00. Jan. 1, 1909, Rev. Fr. Pius took charge of Martinsville but 
lived at Pilot Grove until Sept., 1911, when he moved into the new resi- 
dence at Martinsville. St. Joseph cemetery consists of two acres and is 
situated one mile south of the church. 



HISTORY OF COOPER COUNTY 277 

Jan. 1, 1909, Rev. Father Philip Ruggle, 0. S. B. took charge of St. 
Joseph Parish and stayed here until Sept. 1, 1915. From Sept. 1, 1915, 
to Dec. 4, Rev. Father Berthold Jaggle 0. S. B. was the parrish priest. 
December 4, 1915, Rev. Father Hildebrand Roesler, 0. S. B. took charge. 
In 1900 the convent and school was built at the cost of $4,000.00. The 
parochial school started in 1902 with 50 children. Benedictine Sisters 
were the teachers. In 1917 a new school building was erected at a cost 
of $14,000. The attendance is 90-100. Benedictine Sisters from Shool 
Creek, Ark., are the teachers. 

St. Martin's Church.— On May 16, 1870, a little log structure, 18x24 
feet, called St. Martin Chapel was erected and a cemetery laid out on one 
and one-half acres of land donated by Daniel Martin. This location was 
afterwards known as Martinsville. ■ 

The original families of St. Martin Church were the following, viz, 
Daniel Martin, John Martin, Leonard Martin, John Martin, Jr., Jacob 
Gross, Nic. Schank, Anton Wiemholt, Philip Wiedel, Mr. Bonan, George 
Bergerhaus, J. Carvel. 

Martinsville was a mission of Boonville, from 1870-1877. It was in 
charge of Reverend Murus, 1870-1874; Reverend Hoffman, 1874-1877. 
Martinsville was a mission of Clear Creek, 1877-1897. It was the charge 
of Rev. W. F. Boden, 1877-1880. Under the direction of Father Boden 
the second St. Martin's Church, a frame structure, was built. In 1880 
this mission was taken care of by Rev. N. Reding; in 1881 by Reverend 
Conrad, O. S. B. of Conception Abbey ; in 1895 by Rev. Pius Conrad of 
Conception Abbey. Martinsville was a mission of Pilot Grove, 1897-1908, 
under the charge of Rev. Pius Conrad O. S. B. 

The present and third St. Martin's Church is a solid brick structure, 
erected on 2.24 acres of land on the Boonville and Sedalia public road, 
about one-fourth mile north of the M. K. T. railroad station known as 
Chouteau Springs. The corner stone was laid in 1908 by Rev. Leo, O. S. 
B. It was dedicated by Rt. Reverend Ignatius of Subiaco, Ark. January 
1, 1909. Reverend Pius O. S. B. became pastor of St. Martin's Parish. On 
Aug. 31, 1911, Father Pius moved to St. Martin's Rectory. On Jan. 13, 
1915, Father Pius was succeeded by Rev. J. A. Koehler of the Kansas City, 
Mo., Diocese. 

The St. Martin Parish at present consists of fortv progressive an I 
prosperous Catholic families and is in a flourishing condition. 



CHAPTER XVIII. 



AGRICULTURE. 



NATURAL ADVANTAGES— PRODUCTION— SURPLUS PRODUCTS— COP. X PRIZE WIN- 
NERS—ORCHARDS AND VINEYARDS — LIVE STOCK— SHORTHORN" HERDS — 
HOGS— HORSES— MULES-MARKET PRICES FROM 1886 TO 1915— LIVE STOCK 
PRODUCTS— SHEEP— SOILS. 

The Garden of Eden might have been located in Cooper County. 
There is nothing that will not grow within its bounds and its fertile soil, 
equable climate, and beautiful natural scenery make it one of the most 
desirable portions of the globe. In location it is fortunate. It is south 
to the "Yankee" ; north to the "southerner" ; west to the "easterner" ; 
and east to the "westerner." 

It furnishes a variety of seasons unequalled by any plot of earth of 
similar size. Weather here gives expression to a variety of moods which 
are as numerous as are the sand grains of the seashore. From the cold 
and snow and ice of winter it is but a short step to the hot, dry, torrid 
conditions oftimes experienced in August. Yet these extremes are rare 
indeed; and winter's chilling blast seldom penetrates so far south, and 
summer's' intense heat is usually thwarted in its designs by cooling zeph- 
yrs. Taking all in all, the climate of Cooper County is ideally adapted to 
the arousing in man of those desires for activity which makes the tem- 
perate zone the place of civilization's greatest progress. 

Diversified farming is practiced extensively. No one crop is counted 
on in any season. All grains, fruits, and vegetables, adapted to temperate 
regions, have a natural habitat here. It has outdone Kentucky in the 
production of prize blue grass ; Kansas in the acre yield of wheat ; Illinois 
in the production of prize corn; Virginia in the production of premium 
tobacco; Iowa in the production of choice hogs, and the United States in 
the production of choice fruit. 

Resplendent in opportunity, Cooper County has a veritable store- 
house of wealth in her soil, and in her people — the best on earth — you 



HISTORY OF COOPER COUNTY 279 

will find a hospitality, a sympathy, an interest, that makes for a cordial 
relationship which makes life worth living. 

Cooper County is the home of many prosperous farmers and stock- 
men. The soil, climate, and topography are especially adapted to the pro- 
duction of grain, hay, and stock in abundance. 

It is drained by numerous small streams which readily find an outlet 
in the adjoining Missouri River. As a consequence the bottom lands 
along the small streams seldom overflow, and if they do become inundated 
it is only for a short time. There is a strip along the Missouri River 
varying in width from one to five miles known scientifically as Loess soil 
that is especially adapted to the production of fruit of various kinds. It 
is equally as well adapted to the growing of farm crops, but is too valuable 
as fruit soil to be used for grain. It is estimated by competent authority 
that nine-tenths of the apples produced in Missouri are grown on the one- 
tenth of apple area found on the Loess soils. The time is coming in the 
not far distant future, when every acre of Loess soil, in Cooper County 
will be used in growing fruit, and the value of such lands is destined to 
increase exceptionally. Outside of the Loess soil area Cooper County soil 
is rich black loam and for the growing of wheat, corn, clover, and alfalfa 
there is none better. 

In 1918 Cooper County produced: 

Average yield Total yield 

Average per acre in bushels 

Oats 17,320 26 bu. 450,320 

Tame Hay 28,710 1.05 ton 30,140 tons 

Corn 71,430 17 bu. 1,214,310 

Wheat 66,000 19 bu. 1,254,000 

Wheat (1919) 88,140 

(Note. — In 1917 Cooper County produced 2,756,416 bushels of corn.) 

Acre Yields, 1911-1918. 

1911 1912 1913 1914 1915 1916 1917 1918 

Corn 20 42 29 24 42 30 35 17 

Oats 16 40 15 18 36 25 40 26 

Wheat 16 15 16 16 11 6 20 19 

Irish Potatoes 16 134 23 64 78 52 68 60 

Sorghum (Gal.) ___ __ __ __ __ __ 61 

Tame Hay (Tons) 74 1.75 .50 .56 1.50 1.43 1.25 1.05 



280 HISTORY OF COOPER COUNTY 

Facts Regarding Cooper County. — Land and water area, 357,120 
acres; land in farms (1910), 340,199 acres; improved farm land (1910), 
273,505 acres; Woodland in farms (1910), 54,760 acres; per cent, of land 
area in farms, 95.3 per cent, of improved farm lands, 80.4 ; average num- 
ber acres per farm (1910), 133.6; area in acres town land and block (1917), 
3.660; land values March, 1918 (improved), $95.00 per acre; land values 
March, 1918 (unimproved), $70.00 per acre. 

Shipments of Surplus Products from Cooper County 1915 (based on 
returns made by railroads and express agents (Redbook, 1917). — Cattle, 
14,109; hogs, 69,800; horses, mules, 2,378; sheep, 8,684; goats, 165; jack 
and stallions, 2. 

Wheat, 530,199 bushels; corn, 5,154 bushels; oats, 5,656 bushels; tim- 
othy seed, 31 bushels; clover seed, 198 bushels; hay, 115 tons: tobacco, 
14,505 pounds; cowpeas, 2,000 bushels; planting and garden seed, 145 
bushels; nuts, 19,381 pounds. 

Flour, 40,000 bbl.; cornmeal, 185,500 lbs.; bran shipstuff, 2,880,000 
lbs.; fee and chops, 250,000 lbs.; coal, 1,050 tons; sand, 52,000 tons; stone, 
344 cars; macadam, 24 cars. 

Forest Products: Lumber, cars, 9; logs, cars, 11; cooperage, cars, 
1 ; walnut logs, cars, 16 ; cordwood, cars, 21. 

Farmyard Products: Poultry, live, pounds, 1,332,145; poultry, 
dressed, pounds, 933,924; eggs, dozen, 977,730; feathers, pounds, 21,233. 

Stone and Clay Products : Brick, cars, 19 ; cement products, tons, 60. 

Packing House Products: Hides and pelts, pounds, 169,467; dressed 
meats, pounds, 10,540; tallow, pounds, 13,640; lard, pounds, 2,251. 

Flowers and Nursery Products : Nursery stock, pounds, 184,425 ; cut 
flowers, pounds, 1,155. 

Dairy Products: Butter, pounds, 44,299; ice cream, gallons, 35,232; 
milk and cream, gallons, 167,480. 

Wool and Mohair: Wool, pounds, 63,948. 

Liquid Products : Wine, gallons, 10 ; vinegar, gallons, 408 ; cider, gal- 
lons, 232 ; natural mineral water, gal.. 38 ; soda water, cases, 3,000. 

Fish and Game Products: Game, pounds, 15,770; fish, pounds, 323; 
furs, pounds, 1,048. 

Medicinal Products: Roots and herbs, pounds, 200. 

Vegetables: Vegetables, pounds, 5,012; potatoes, bushels, 528; 
tomatoes, bushels, 26; onions, bushels, 15; canned vegetables and fruits, 
pounds, 1,387. 

Fruits : Miscellaneous fresh fruits, lbs., 1,000 ; melon, pounds, 24,000 ; 



HISTORY OF COOPER COUNTY 281 

strawberries, pounds, 95,575; apples, bbls., 9,312; grapes, pounds, 200; 
peaches, lbs., 88,245. 

Apiary and Cane Products: Honey, pounds, 595; sorghum molasses, 
gal., 259. 

Unclassified Products: — Washing compound, cases, 1,306; coke, tons, 
40; junk cars, 42; ice ,tons, 4,100; coal tar, gallons, 5,000; pipe stems, 
383,688; steel harrows, 313; bakery products, pounds, 35,000; corncobs, 
cars, 1 ; corncob pipes, gross, 57,653 ; wooden pipes, gross, 7,246. 

Live Stock, January 1, 1919. 

Average Value 
Number Per Head 

Cattle 24,742 

Milch cows $ 77.00 

Under one year 26.00 

V 2 years 60.00 

2 and above 84.00 

Hogs 76,770 19.20 

Sheep 17,245 16.50 (ewes) 

Horses 8,797 105.00 (above) 

(two ) 
Mules 5,997 185.00 (year) 

Cooper is easily the leading county in the state in breeding high class 
corn. This is evidenced by the premium list furnished us by Professor 
Hackleman, Secretary Corn Growers' Association of Missouri. 

Winners of First Prizes From Cooper County, Missouri State Corn 
Growers' Association From 1907 to 1919, Inc. 

Name. Address. 1st prize won on 

1907. 

R. B. Johnson, Boonville, Reid's Yellow Dent. 

Chris Ohlendorf, Boonville, Cartner. 

Albert Johnmeyer, Boonville, Boys' contest. 

1908. 

Chris Ohlendorf, Boonville, Bu. of shelled corn (Cartner Yellow). 

Wm. Johnmeyer, Boonville, Boone County White (bu. shelled). 

Martin Johnmeyer, Boonville, 10 ears mixed corn south of river. 



282 



HISTORY OF COOPER COUNTY 



1909. 

Highest scoring sample (10 ears) any variety exhibited by school 
district in any county, Sweepstakes awarded to Jefferson School District 
near Bunceton. 

Young Men's class (yellow corn). 

Sweepstakes in Young Men's Class. 
Chris Ohlendorf, Boonville, 1st in Variety Class. 



1910. 

Chris Ohlendorf, Boonville, 

1911. 

Chris Ohlendorf, Boonville, 

1914. 

Chris Smith, Bunceton, 

1916. 

H. G. Windsor, Boonville, 

Ewd. Schwalfeldt, Boonville, 

1917. 

H. G. Windsor, Boonville, 



Ben Smith, Bunceton, 

1918. 

H. G. Windsor, Boonville, 



1st on Yellow Corn. 

1st on Yellow Corn. 

1st Black Oats. 

1st 10 ears Yellow Corn. 
Sweepstakes on 10 ears. 
Championship best 10 ears entire show. 
Boy's Class (10 ears Yellow Corn). 

1st 10 ears Yellow. 

Sweepstakes (10 ears Yellow Corn). 

Championship (10 ears Yellow Corn). 

Grand Champion (10 ears Yellow Corn). 

1st Men's Five Acre Yield. 

Sweepstakes on Five Acre Yield. 

1st Men's One Acre Yield. 

Sweepstakes on One Acre Yield. 

Grand Champion on One Acre Yield. 

1st Single Ear of Yellow Corn. 

Sweepstakes. 

Championship. 

Grand Champion. 

1st bu. of Yellow Corn. 

1st best peck of Red Clover Seed. 

1st bu. Yellow Com. 
Grand Champion bu. 



HISTORY OF COOPER COUNTY 283 

Orchards and Vineyards. — Contributed by C. C. Bell. — Cooper County 
and central Missouri was early recognized by the pioneer settlers as a 
fruit and grape growing country, and among those who had orchards were 
Henry M. Myers, Isaac N. Bernard, Benjamin F. Hickox, David Lilly, 
Isaac Lionberger, Wesley Wyan, David Smith, William Gibson, John G. 
Miller, C. H. F. Greenlease, Robert D. Perry, Jacob Newman, Jesy G. New- 
man, Edmund Elliott, William E. Beard, George and Nicholas Vollrath and 
some others. The apple varieties in those days were mostly Jenetin, Bell- 
flowers, Winesap, Limbertwig, Russets and often some very good seedlings, 
mostly brought here by early settlers from Virginia and Kentucky. 

Boonville and surrounding country became specially noted as a grape 
growing section after 1848, when some leading Germans from the fruit 
and wine growing country of the Rhine settled here. Many of them had 
taken part in the German Revolution against monarchy, and had fled to 
America; and recognizing in the soil and hills of the Missouri River Val- 
ley soil equal and superior to the soils of the famous Rhine wine vineyards, 
located in Cooper County. I can well remember George Husman, in that 
day recognized as the best authority on grape growing, who would often 
visit here to advise with those who had started vineyards ; there were 
many planted about Boonville which gave it the name of the "Vine Clad 
City." 

The Boonville Wine Company had the largest vineyard and it adjoined 
the city on the west. It was organized by William Haas, Dr. E. Roeschel, 
M. J. Wertheimer, Maj. William Harley, Capt. C. H. Brewster and Judge 
Christian Keill. Other vineyards were planted by George Vollrath, 
Ignatius Deringer, Rochus Knaup, Henry Weiland, George Rippley, Fritz 
Schacht and others. Several miles west were John Henry Boiler, J. G. 
Neef, Frederick Demffel, Charles Fiedler and George and Peter Walther. 
East of Boonville in the Squire Herman Schmidt neighborhood were Louis 
Gsell, Martin Bonward, Jacob Kramer, Blasious Eflinger, Franz Joseph 
Sady, and others. 

My father, John Adam Bell, planted the first vineyard, peach and 
apple orchard in the Mount Sinai School neighborhood, and was followed 
by John Wilpret and others. I can well remember how those veterans of 
the 1848 German Revolution, at times would discuss the narrow escapes 
some had coming to America. They were all loyal patriots of this their 
adopted country, true to the cause of the Union and their sons answered 
the call of Abraham Lincoln, in defense of our flag, and many of their 
grand-sons have done good service in the World War, fighting Prussian- 



284 HISTORY OF COOPER COUNTY 

ism and Kaiserism, against which their grandfathers had fought in 1848,. 
but lost. In this connection we should remember that large numbers 
(especially southern Germans), are not and never have been in sympathy 
with Kaiserism, Prussianism and Militarism. 

The leading grape varieties were Isabella, Catawba and Virginia Seed- 
ling, later on varieties such as Concord, Delaware, Elvire, Goethe and 
others were planted. However, on account of California extensive grape 
production and wine making, and some other influences the vineyards of 
Cooper County have disappeared, and the large rock-arched wine cellars 
are all there is left of what once was a very promising industry. 

I well recall when Gen. Joseph Shelby made his raid into Boonville in 
Sept. 1863, coming from the south along the Bell Air road, passed father's 
vineyard, which was heavy loaded with ripe grapes. It seemed to me 
that a large part of his men hurriedly stopped off to get ail the grapes 
they could handle. Some of them were very polite and expressed their 
thanks, while others offered to pay in Confederate money; but most of 
them (in war-time soldier style) had nothing to say but took all they 
wanted ; yet there were grapes left, as the crop was very heavy. 

Apple growing has also diminished on account of insect and other 
pests of the orchard. In my boyhood days, we knew nothing of those 
orchard enemies, but now we must fight them by spraying with various 
chemicals, and do it at the proper time. Thirty to 50 years ago when I 
bought apples in Central Missouri, most farmers had a surplus to sell 
from their family orchards; those orchards however, have died out, and 
many farmers from whom I bought apples years ago, now come to my 
orchard for apples for their home use, saying that they can buy their 
apples cheaper than they can fight the insects. 

While this is true, yet when I think of the splendid fruit soils and 
ideal locations along the Missouri River, in convenient reach of large 
markets, I can consistently recommend fruit-growing, provided it is done 
right, and in quantity large enough to make it worth while to equip with 
the best machinery. I would advise planting the best known varieties, 
which are suitable to our soils and localities with work and proper atten- 
tion you can make fruit-growing a great success in Cooper County, and 
in the Missouri River valley. Much of our Missouri soils are the very 
best in the world. We are also well located as to markets with big de- 
mands, and have many advantages over the fruit-growers of the far" west 
and other localities. But it requires work, economy and personal prac- 



HISTORY OF COOPER COUNTY 285 

tical application. Avoid Waste — "Get Busy and Stay Busy", and you can 
soon have a home and plenty in Cooper County, or in Missouri. 

Live Stock. — Cooper easily ranks among the first live stock counties 
in Missouri. It is now almost 100 years since the first hei'd of registered 
animals was established in the county. Today, there are perhaps approxi- 
mately 100 herds of pure bred live stock and this number is constantly 
increasing. At one time this county was credited with having more reg- 
istered Shorthorns than any other county in the United States. While 
this is not true today, the number being somewhat less than at that time 
owing to the weeding-out and greater attention to quality, it is a fact that 
no county in the state excels Cooper. Here have been owned many world- 
famous animals, and from this county has gone the seed stock to estab- 
lish or replenish herds throughout the Mississippi Valley, the great West 
and Southwest, and to South America and other foreign territories. It 
was on a Cooper County farm that young Abbottsburn, grand champion 
Shorthorn bull of the Chicago World's Fair (Louisiana Purchase Expo- 
sition), spent his last days. On another farm only a short distance away 
was Lavender Viscount, champion and grand champion at leading Amer- 
ican shows. On yet another farm was the great Goday, famous in Canada 
and America. So might the list be continued at length. What is true 
of Shorthorns is true in large part of practically all other kinds of live 
stock. 

The location of Cooper County in the very center of the agricultural 
universe, the central county of a great central state, could not be improved 
upon. Here is the center of the bluegrass belt ; here, the aristocratic 
animals in the great herds find their happy habitat; here, too, are the 
homes of people who appreciate and love good animals. In these state- 
ments we have the secret of the success that has so long attended this 
county in live stock production. 

One hundred years is a long span of time in the history of a west- 
ern state. During this period of time, the people of Cooper County have 
not been swayed by passing fads or fancies, but have, with commendable 
conservatism and singleness of purpose, adhered to the well-defined policy 
of maintaining on their farms none but good live stock. As a result the 
county has acquired a national reputation, not only as a producer of 
choice, pure-bred animals but year after year hogs and cattle from this 
county have topped the St. Louis and Kansas City markets. 

As a result of live stock farming as it is here being carried on, the 
soil of the county has been built up rather than depleted. The fields 



286 HISTORY OF COOPER COUNTY 

have retained their fertility, as will always be the case where the crops 
are marketed "on foot". The effect of live stock farming as here prac- 
ticed is reflected in the large yields of corn, wheat, oats and other staple 
crops, as well as of many minor crops with which the county is credited. 

Brief reference has been made to the importance of the Shorthorn 
industry in the county. Not only was this the first branch of pure-bred 
live stock to be established, but it is today the most important. Some 
of the herds now owned in Cooper County are as follows: Ashwood, C. 
P. Tutt & Sons ; Ravenswood, now owned by N. Nelson Leonard but still 
conducted under the name of C. E. Leonard & Son with Ed. Patterson as 
manager; Eminence, A. J. and C. T. Nelson; Prairie View Stock Farm, 
G. A. Betteridge; Idlewild, W. P. Harned; Crestmead, W. A. Betteridge; 
Mt. Vernon Park, Harriman Bros. ; Wayside Valley, P. F. Smith ; Walnut 
Dale Farm, Ben N. Smith ; Buena Vista, Wm. Meyer & Son ; Geo. W. Lowe, 
Glasgow Bros., and many others are also breeding Shorthorns at the pres- 
ent time. 

Many herds have from time to time because of the death or retire- 
ment of their owners or otherwise been dispersed. One of the most 
famous of these was the old Ellerslie herd of Shorthorns established by 
the late T. J. Wallace and by him maintained at a high-water mark for 
a number of years. Following the great show yard triumph of young 
Abbottsburn at Chicago, Mr. Wallace purchased this great roan bull to 
head his own herd. Here, too, was owned Alice's Prince and other 
famous animals. For a number of years Geo. A. Carpenter maintained 
t'fe Ideal Herd of Shorthorns. At the same time John R. Hepler was 
breeding Shorthorns at his Vermont stock farm. 

Two other names that will live long in Cooper County Shorthorn 
history are those of Sam W. Roberts, who had a large herd of Bates cat- 
tle on his farm near Pleasant Green, and F. M. Marshall, who successfully 
bred both Bates and Scotch Shorthorns near Blackwater. Both Messrs. 
Roberts and Marshall have passed to the Great Beyond. For many years 
E. H. Rodgers, now retired and living in Boonville, was a successful 
breeder of Shorthorns as well as horses, jacks and jennets, and other live 
stock on his Cedar Lawn stock farm near Bunceton. Harris and McMahan, 
the latter now deceased, formerly bred Shorthorns at Sunnyside near La 
Mine. The late W. B. Cully, proprietor of the Sunny brook stock farm, 
was a breeder of Shorthorns as well as Poland China hogs. For many 
years W. H. H. Stephens maintained a good herd of Shorthorns on his 
Clover Leaf Stock Farm near Bunceton. 

Owing to the fact that it is necessary to condense this chapter, only 



HISTORY OF COOPER COUNTY 287 

a very brief history can be given of the active Shorthorn herds of the 
county at this time. These individual references follow: 

The oldest herd of Shorthorn cattle west of the Mississippi River and 
one of the oldest in the entire nation, is the Ravenswood herd. Estab- 
lished in 1839, when Nathaniel Leonard purchased the white bull, Comet 
Star for $600 and the Red Heifer Queen, for $500, from George Renick, a 
Kentucky breeder. These were the first registered Shorthorns west of 
the Mississippi River. This was the beginning of the Ravenswood herd 
that has done so much for the upbuilding of the live stock industry in 
Cooper County and the middle west the herd passing in time from 
Nathaniel Leonard to his son, C. E. Leonard, and later to Nelson Leonard, 
the present owner. 

At different times the Leonards have added some of the best speci- 
mens to their herd that money could buy, but they have always been con- 
sidered breeders of, instead of buyers of high class Shorthorn cattle; and 
some of their stock have frequently won prizes at the live stock shows 
over the country. Lavender Viscount was the Grand Champion Short- 
horn bull of America for two years. 

One of the notable sales from Ravenswood was that of Merry Ravens- 
wood 3rd, sold to Walter L. Miller, of Peru, Ind., and shipped by him to 
South America, where one of the calves, "Americus," at the conclusion of 
a successful career in the show ring,- was sold for the sum of 80,000 peos, 
or a little less than $40,000 in American gold. 

The following are among the famous families represented in the 
Ravenswood herd: Lavenders, Duchess of Glosters, Victorias, Campbell 
bred Wimples, Violets, Fancys, Miss Ramsdens, Charming Roses and Rosa- 
monds. 

Some ten years ago A. J. and C. T. Nelson — the latter now located on 
Eminence Farm, two miles east of Bunceton, and the former living three 
miles southwest of Bunceton — established a select herd of Shorthorns 
which is now being maintained under the name of the Eminence herd. 
From time to time new blood is being added so that the herd is each year 
being increased in size and improved in quality. 

Ben N. Smith established some three years ago a small but select 
herd of Shorthorns on the Walnut Dale Farm, which he owns east of 
Bunceton. This herd is being well managed and bids fair to become one 
of the good herds of the county. 

Walter N. Harness has recently established a small but good herd 
of Shorthorns on his farm northeast of Bunceton. 

"Ellerslie" is a name that stands out prominently in the live stock 



288 HISTORY OF COOPER COUNTY 

history of Cooper County. Several years ago this farm was owned by 
T. J. Wallace and later became the property of W. B. Wallace, who two 
years ago sold it to W. L. Clay, the present owner. This farm has always 
been known as the home of good live stock, specializing on Shorthorn 
cattle and high class saddle horses. Here for a time was the home of 
Young Abbotsburn, Grand Champion of the Chicago World's Fair. 

This review would not be complete without a reference to the beauti- 
ful old stock farm, Clover Leaf, where a number of years ago W. H. H. 
Stephens founded one of the well known Shorthorn herds. This farm was 
in the Stephens family for almost a 100 years, having only recently been 
disposed of to George Burger of Moniteau County. 

A pretty 200 acre farm, lying just within the edge of Bunceton, is 
the Ashwood farm, owned by C. P. Tutt. Here will be found a fine herd 
of Shorthorns and Berkshires. Mr. Tutt is one of the well informed men 
on Shorthorn cattle. 

In the Mt. Vernon Park Herd of Shorthorns are many choice Scotch 
and Scotch topped cattle, the property of Col. R. L. and Bert Harriman. 
Several years ago the Messrs. Harriman began the assemblying of a great 
lot of cattle. They bought freely and bred as well as they had bought. 
It is the proud boast of the owners of this herd that every cow has paid 
for herself twice over. 

The old idea was that the breeding of Shorthorns was a rich man's 
game, but it remained for G. A. Betteridge, of the Prairie View Herd to 
prove that it was a good game for a poor man to play provided he wanted 
to get on his feet. In the past thirty years Mr. Betteridge has acquired 
a 200 acre farm and has as fine abunch of Shorthorns as one would care 
to see. 

The Crestmead Herd of Scotch Shorthorns, owned by W. A. Bet- 
teridge, eight miles west of Bunceton, consists of over a hundred head of 
some of the very best breeds. Many of these cattle are Cruickshank 
Orange Blossoms and the remainder are of other leading Scotch families. 
Incidentally it may be said that Mr. Betteridge is one of the best posted 
men on Shorthorn pedigrees in the entire country. 

The history of the Idlewild Shorthorn herd dates back to the year 
1865, when the late George Harned, father of the present owner, W. P. 
Hamed, began its establishment. This herd has a strain of blood from 
one of the original members of the herd, "Sally Washington", purchased 
in Kentucky just after the close of the Civil War, and the farm boasts 
of this strain which is more than half a century old. Mr. Harned is 




- 

r 

z 
*l 



13 
H 

7. 

w 

- 

X 

/, 


^^1 .~^a 

1 E 


"a 


i i—. 



HISTORY OF COOPER COUNTY 289 

especially proud of his "Double Marys", long in the herd. Bates, Booth 
and Cruickshank blood have been represented and much attention is paid 
to the development of milking Shorthorns. 

While Shorthorns, early known to many of the pioneer people as Dur- 
hams, were the first registered cattle to be brought to Cooper County, 
other breeds notably the Herefords, are now represented by some well 
established herds of high quality. Blank & Spieler, in the eastern part 
of the county are extensive and progressive breeders. D. E. McArthur, 
of near Billingsville, has also for many years maintained a good herd of 
Herefords. Other beef breeds are also represented, but the number of 

registered animals are limited. Wear, of Prairie Home, and 

Chris Rasmus who owns a fine farm on the Boonville and Lone Elm road, 
are breeding Angus cattle. Both have well established herds. 

Hogs. — Cooper County has many good herds of hogs, including Duroc 
Jerseys, Poland Chinas, Berkshires, O. I. C's., Hampshires, Mule-Foots 
and other breeds. In an early day, Essex and other breeds, then popular, 
were to be found on many Cooper County farms. The late Judge Baker 
and Thomas Tucker were among the early breeders of pure-bred hogs. 
To attempt to give the names of all who are interested in hog breeding in 
the county would be an utter impossibility, but reference is here made 
to some of the well-established herds. 

Prominent among the breeders of Poland Chinas are: Bert Harri- 
man, of the Mount Vernon Park stock farm, near Pilot Grove; Webb L. 
Clay, who secured a part of the Ellerslie herd of Poland Chinas at the 
time it was dispersed by W. B. Wallace — the herd having been sold at 
auction after Mr. Wallace disposed of the farm which had been owned 
by his father, the late T. J. Wallace. 

In this connection it might be said that some of the highest-priced 
Poland Chinas in the United States have been owned in Cooper County, 
prices of $1,000 or more being not uncommon for a single individual while 
more than $5,000, has been paid for one hog. Seed stock from this county 
has gone to practically every state in the Mississippi valley as well as to 
Central and South America. 

Duroc Jerseys have long been bred in this county, S. Y. Thornton hav- 
ing established the Rose Hill herd near Blackwater many years ago. This 
was one of the early herds to be established west of the Mississippi. Today 
Cooper County has a large number of herds of unusual quality. Among 
these might be mentioned the Fountain Valley herd of Richard Rothgeb ; 
(19) 



290 HISTORY OF COOPER COUNTY 

the Eminence herd owned by C. T. Nelson and containing hogs of good 
individuality and choice breeding. 

Berkshires are extensively bred by T. A. Harris and Sons at their 
Sunnyside Farm near La Mine. This is one of the best herds of Berk- 
shires to be found in the United States, representatives having been 
winners in leading national and state shows. 

A good herd of 0. I. C. hogs is maintained by John H. NefF at River- 
side Farm near Boonville. 

Richard Rothgeb is the proprietor of the Fountain Valley Herd of 
Duroc Jerseys, which he started in the year 1911. Mr. Rothgeb has 
popularized the Duroc Jersey in Cooper County and has succeeded in 
developing a very fine type of the breed. 

The good Blue Ribbon Herd of Duroc Jersey hogs is owned by Paul 
Winders and wife, near Boonville. 

The late W. B. Cully established the Spring Brook Herd of Poland 
Chinas in 1892, when he bought a choice thoroughbred sow from the herd 
of David Finch, a noted Ohio breeder. From time to time additions were 
made to the herd and in 1906 the entire Cedar Lawn herd of E. H. Rodgers 
was added. In this purchase was the first prize six months boar at the 
St. Louis Worlds Fair, Tecumseh Perfection. 

One of the earliest breeders of Duroc Jersey hogs in all the Mississippi 
valley is S. Y. Thornton, of near Blackwater, proprietor of the Rose Hill 
Duroc Jerseys. This herd was established in the early eighties. Mr. 
Thornton has often been called the original "Red Hog Man" in Missouri. 

Chris Ohlendorf is breeding Mule-Foot hogs on his farm southeast of 
Boonville. 

Hampshires are being bred in a limited way by a number of farmers 
and this market is becoming fairly well established in the county. 

Horses. — Cooper County has long been justly famous for its good 
horses, especially saddle horses and light harness horses. In many cases 
the pioneer brought with him favorite animals from Virginia or Kentucky, 
and the same blood lines have been continued until the present time. An 
example of this may be found in the Ashby "Whips", widely known sad- 
dle horses bred in Virginia, and descendants from the original stock of 
which are still to be seen on the farm of Chas. P. Tutt, of Bunceton. 

In an early day and even up to a few years ago the "nodding" running- 
walker, the best real riding horse the world has ever known, was common 
on every Cooper County road. Some of these horses are still to be seen 
here, but with the growing use of the automobile they are rapidly disap- 



HISTORY OF COOPER COUNT.Y 291 

pearing. The five-gaited saddle horse, with his beauty, grace and marked 
show-yard qualities, has here reached a degree of perfection not often 
attained. The truth of this statement is borne out at local fairs, notably 
still at the Bunceton fair, which has been an incentive toward the breed- 
ing of good live stock and especially good horses, for almost a quarter of 
a century. 

The late Capt. Samuel L. Jewett, famous as a miller, farmer and 
stockman, brought to Cooper County, what was known as the "Gold Bank" 
horses. These horses are said by older citizens to have had much stamina 
but to have been high strung. The Glendours and Roebucks were other 
horses which years ago were largely bred in Cooper County, especially in 
the southern part. 

Along about the Civil War period a horse known as Varner's Roe- 
buck was in service near New Lebanon in the southwestern part of the 
county, where there was established a family of grey horses from which 
came some of the best running walkers ever owned in this section. About 
this period and a little later Wm. T. Groves, father of Col. S. H. Groves, 
and of the other "Groves Boys" was breeding, developing and training 
a string of good saddlers. 

Another name familiar to the old timers, is "The Copper Bottoms", 
from which came horses of stamina and endurance. More familiar still, 
to the present generation, at least, seem the Telegraphs. Along about 
this time came the great horse, Denmark Chief, brought to Missouri by 
the late T. J. Wallace. This horse has some wonderfully good sons to 
his credit, especially wheji used on Roebuck mares. 

About five years after the acquisition of Denmark Chief by Mr. Wal- 
lace, the late John F. Rogers, of Boonville, went to Kentucky and there 
purchased Diamond Denmark, later sold to the Luray Stock Farm. 

At this point it is well to briefly review the story of Luray, with which 
the names of Will H. Ewing and Col. R. L. Harriman are intimately asso- 
ciated. It was in 1885 or '86 that Messrs. Harriman anrl Ewing bought 
several car loads of horses in Kentucky and shipped them into Missouri. 
A little later Mr. Ewing went to Pilot Grove, while "Bob" Harriman estab- 
lished himself on Luray stock farm, one mile west of Bunceton. Mr. 
Ewing had gotten hold of the grey horse Dandy Jim and a Nutwood pacer. 
He raced these horses two or three years, then went to Texas with them 
and there disposed of them at high figures for those times. 

A year after the dissolution of partnership with Mr. Ewing, Colonel 
Harriman bought a stallion and a car load of brood mares in Kentucky. 



292 HISTORY OF COOPER COUNTY 

The stallion was a Claybred, Royal Windsor, a large 1,200-pound bay 
horse with fine carriage and having a beautiful mane and tail. In the 
carload of horses just referred to were three Alleys, yearlings and two- 
year-olds, which developed into sensational race horses. These mares 
both trotters were Miss Fullerton and Josephine. There was also Pansy 
Blossom, a mare by General Wilkes. Col. Harriman trained these mares, 
developed them into tip-top race horses and campaigned them for three 
years, during which time they won something like $20,000. Miss Fuller- 
ton was the better of the three, winning 75 per cent, of all the races in 
which she started. At the conclusion of her sensational race career she, 
with Josephine was sold to a Boston capitalist for $5,000. 

Profitable as was the investment just referred to, Col. Harriman de- 
clares that the best race horse that he ever got hold of was a Walnut Boy 
pacer, Gyp Walnut, bought in two-year-old form for $450 from Dr. Robin- 
son, of Windsor. Gyp Walnut could make 2:10 in three-year-old form 
over a good track, and was a steady consistent and game race horse. She 
piled up to her credit in two seasons a little more than $8,000. This sum 
was duplicated when she was sold in her four-year-old form to Jerry 
O'Neal, of Boston. 

With the rare foresight that has been his, Col. Harriman early fore- 
saw the coming popularity of the automobile, and as he puts it, "Got out 
of the horse game in order to keep from being run over by Ford cars." 
Before passing from the hasty review of the work of Messrs. Harriman 
and Ewing, the fact should be mentioned that they bought King Harold, 
of Woodland farm, bringing this good standard bred horse by Harold, sire 
of Maud S., to Cooper County at an initial investment of $1,000. 

Of the younger men who are today successfully engaged in the horse 
business and whose work has been of lasting benefit to the county, Trevor 
H. Moore, Bunceton, R. F. D. 4, is entitled to high rank. Mr. Moore some 
fifteen years ago bought of W. S. Waters, who had come to Cooper County 
from the good horse center of north central Missouri, a string of wonder- 
fully bred horses, including King Turner, The Royal Cross, Forest King, 
Jr., and Top Squirrel, all out of Holivy W. 1787, a black Squirrel. From 
this rare foundation of stock Mr. Moore has consistently bred and de- 
veloped horses of merit and of show yard quality, some of his animals 
selling far up in four figures. Among the good horses that Mr. Moore 
has owned might be mentioned, Missouri King 2960, and Forest Rex 3873, 
the latter now at the head of his stables. 

Prominent among those who have been leaders in the development 
of the horse and mule industry in Cooper County, is Ed Patterson, long 



HISTORY OF COOPER COUNTY 293 

a breeder of tip top saddle horses and of jacks and jennets. Among the 
good horses that Mr. Patterson has owned there might be mentioned 
Bracken King. 

Before passing from the horse history of the county mention should 
be made of the late Col. Robert A. McCulloch. Back in "the days of real 
sport", Col. McCulloch owned a string of racers of the kind that never 
failed to bring the boys up on their toes. The memory of these game 
horses ridden by negro mounts, is a happy one to many who enjoyed see- 
ing the ponies go. The late John R. Allison, of near Bunceton, was also 
a breeder of speed horses. To T. J. Lovell and his son, E. F. Lovell, the 
latter then living on the home farm, near Prairie Home, belongs the credit 
of having owned and developed some of the best harness and saddle horses 
in the county. Mr. Lovell, Sr., has also been an enthusiastic breeder of 
jacks and jennets. On another farm, only a short distance away, the late 
N. A. Gilbreath bred good jacks and jennets. N. A. George, R. A. George 
and the late I. S. Arnold have written their names in the jack and mule 
history of the county. 

In many instances the breeding of horses and of jacks and jennets 
has been so intimately associated that to mention one is to suggest the 
other. Among other names prominent in horse or jack circles, or in 
both, there should be mentioned E. H. Rodgers, J. M. Rodgers, Green 
Martin, Uncle Billie Martin, W. B. Gibson, C. P. Fairfax, W. A. Sombart, 
Arlie Frost, W. B. Windsor, Judge Turley, the late F. M. Marshall, the late 
Steve M. Smith, L. R. Pedego, John Cartner, and the late Capt. C. E. 
Leonard. Mr. Cartner was one of the first men to own good jacks in 
Cooper County, he having established a breeding stable south of Boonville, 
a half century or more ago. To Capt. Leonard, however, belongs the 
credit of being the pioneer jack man of Cooper County, as well as of a 
large part of the entire central west. Not only was Captain Leonard a 
breeder of jacks, but he was also an importer. As a leading spirit in the 
organization of the first jack book association in America, Mr. Leonard, 
had much to do with the establishment of standards, which have since 
become generally recognized in the mule world. Mr. Leonard once face- 
tiously remarked that it was he who put the black in jack. By this he 
meant that color was at his insistence made one of the standards. 

The following tables supplied by Chris Smith and covering a period 
of years show the prevailing prices on cattle and hogs on Cooper County 
farms previous to 1916. Since that time very much higher prices have 
prevailed, cattle passing the 16c mark and hogs reaching 20c per pound 
on the home market. 



294 



HISTORY OF COOPER COUNTY 



Fat 


cattle sold, not including 


Fat 


hogs sold. All 


hogs raised 


cows, 


heifers and calves: 






on farm: 








1886 


20 head @ 


4.25 


per 


b. 


1886 


53 head 


@ 


4.25 per 


b. 


1887 


18 head @ 


4.20 


per 


b. 


1887 


40 head 


@ 


5.00 per 


1,. 


1888 


18 head @ 


3.60 


per 


b. 


1888 


45 head 


@ 


4.00 per 


b. 


1889 


16 head @ 


4.00 


per 


b. 


1889 


50 head 


@ 


3.25 per ' 


b. 


1890 


27 head @ 


4.00 


per 


lb. 


1890 


55 head 


@ 


3.50 per 


b. 


1891 


20 head @ 


5.00 


per 


[b. 


1891 


60 head @ 


4.00 per 


b. 


1892 


23 head @ 


4.25 


per 


lb. 


1892 


45 head 


@ 


5.00 per 


b. 


1893 


26 head @ 


3.60 


per 


b. 


1893 


35 head 


@ 


4.75 per 


b. 


1894 


26 head @ 


4.25 


per 


lb. 


1894 


30 head 


@ 


5.00 per 


lb. 


1895 


19 head @ 


3.75 


per 


b. 


1895 


25 head 


@ 


4.25 per 


lb. 


1896 


23 head @ 


4.10 


per 


lb. 


1896 


55 head 


at 


3.25 per 


lb. 


1897 


20 head @ 


4.35 


per 


lb. 


1897 


60 head 


@ 


3.10 per 


lb. 


1898 


14 head @ 


4.50 


per 


lb. 


1898 


50 head 


@ 


3.50 per 


lb. 


1899 


24 head @ 


5.25 


per 


lb. 


1899 


75 head 


@ 


3.25 per 


ib. 


1900 


26 head @ 


4.75 


per 


lb. 


1900 


60 head 


@ 


4.50 per 


lb. 


1901 


16 head @ 


4.65 


per 


lb. 


■ 1901 


50 head 


@ 


5.00 per 


Ib. 


1902 


16 head @ 


5.75 


per 


lb. 


1902 


40 head 


@ 


6.50 per 


lb. 


1903 


24 head @ 


4.60 


per 


lb. 


1903 


60 head 


@ 


5.25 per 


lb. 


1904 


24 head @ 


4.65 


per 


lb. 


1904 


40 head 


@ 


4.75 per 


lb. 


1905 


28 head @ 


4.50 


per 


lb. 


1905 


35 head 


@ 


5.25 per 


lb. 


1906 


16 head @ 


4.15 


per 


lb. 


1906 


30 head 


@ 


5.75 per 


lb. 


1907 


21 head @ 


4.50 


per 


lb. 


1907 


45 head 


@ 


6.00 per 


b. 


1908 


14 head @ 


4.75 


per 


lb. 


1908 


35 head 


@ 


5.50 per 


b. 


1909 


18 head @ 


4.75 


per 


lb. 


1909 


36 head 


@ 


6.00 per 


b. 


1910 


21 head @ 


5.65 


per 


lb. 


1910 


37 head 


@ 


9.00 per 


lb. 


1911 


38 head @ 


5.25 


per 


lb. 


1911 


40 head 


@ 


6.50 per 


1). 


1912 


24 head @ 


7.75 


per 


lb. 


1912 


40 head 


@ 


7.00 per 


lb. 


1913 


19 head @ 


6.50 


per 


lb. 


1913 


25 head 


@ 


7.25 per 


b. 


1914 


11 head @ 


7.25 


per 


lb. 


1914 


30 head 


@ 


7.75 per 


b. 


1915 


27 head @ 


7.30 


per 


lb. 


1915 


20 head 


@ 


7.75 per 


b. 



Live Stock Products. 

Dairy Products: 

Dairy cows on farms reporting dairy products 5,142 

Dairy cows on farms reporting milk produced 4,898 

Milk produced (gallons) 1,182,479 



HISTORY OF COOPER COUNTY 295 

Milk sold (gallons) 32,315 

Cream sold (gallons) 5,042 

Butter fat sold (pounds) 3,428 

Butter produced (pounds) 299,745 

Butter sold (pounds) 103,998 

Cheese produced (pounds) 330 

Cheese sold (pounds) 200 

Poultry Produces: 

Poultry raised 354,881 

Poultry sold 107,172 

Eggs produced (dozens) 1,150,363 

Eggs sold (dozens) 810,004 

Honey and Wax: 

Honey produced (pounds) 16,085 

Wax produced (pounds) 305 

Wool, Mohair and Goat Hair: 

Wool, fleeces shorn 8,294 

Mohair and goat hair, fleeces shorn 187 

Domestic Animals Sold or Slaughtered: 

Calves , 893 

Other cattle 12,249 

Horses, mules, asses and burrows 2,772 

Swine 78,055 

Sheep and goats 3,306 

Sheep. — As far back as three-quarters of a century, Cooper County 
was noted for its fine flocks of sheep. Among the present day breeders 
of sheep might be mentioned the following: S. H. Groves, R. S. Roe, 
Clayton Glasgow, W. H. Glasgow, J. O. Groves, T. J. Burrus, C. P. Tutt 
& Son. 

The 13th census taken in 1910 gives the following figures relative to 
live stock in Cooper County. Cattle were listed as follows: Dairy cows, 
5,765 ; other cows, 3,251 ; yearling heifers, 2,660 ; calves, 2,547 ; yearling 
steers and bulls, 2,798 ; other steers and bulls, 5,482. 

Horses were listed as follows: Mature horses, 7,932; yearling colts, 
814; spring colts, 382; mules (mature), 4,572; yearling colts, 771; spring 
colts, 328 ; asses and burrows, 214. 



296 HISTORY OF COOPER COUNTY 

Swine were listed as follows : Mature hogs, 44,609 ; spring pigs, 29353. 

Sheep were listed as follows : Rams, ewes and wethers, 9,676 ; spring 
lambs, 6,383 ; goats, 802. 

Soils. — The soil survey of Cooper County made by A. T. Sweet of 
the United States Department of Agriculture, and E. S. Vanatta and B. 
W. Tillman of the University of Missouri, presents a fund of information 
for the farmer and agriculturist of Cooper. It will doubtless be read 
with interest by a large part of our population. We glean from it the 
following : 

The soils of Cooper* County group themselves naturally into four 
principal divisions, the level upland soils, the loessial soils, the residual 
soils, and the alluvial or bottom land soils. 

The origin of the level upland soils is open to some doubt. The soil 
as it exists at the present time is very much like the upland soils of 
northwestern Missouri, which are known to have been derived from glacial 
material laid down either by water or wind. The latter are underlain by 
glacial deposits, while the level upland soils of Cooper County have no 
glacial material beneath them. They lie on the residuary silts and clays 
derived from limestones or on the limestone itself. Typical glacial de- 
posits, like those underlying the northeastern Missouri soil, are not known 
to occur under the level upland soils of central and southern Cooper County. 

The soils in Cooper County are also very much like certain smoothland 
soils in Pettis, Henry, Bates, Vernon, and other counties in southwestern 
Missouri. They extend across the State line into southeastern Kansas. 
These soils are undoubtedly derived from coal measure shales and clays. 
The Cooper County soil is somewhat better soil than the similar soil 
occurring in these counties, but its physical character, the thickness, the 
nature of the subsoil, and relation to the underlying rock are essentially 
the same. Its greater productivity is probably due to its better drainage 
and its higher percentage of humus. 

Because of the absence of underlying glacial material and of the 
close similarity between this soil in Cooper County and those in the 
counties named above, the Cooper County soils have been correlated with 
the latter rather than with the soils of northeastern Missouri, and are 
considered to have been derived from clays and shales of Coal Measure 
age. 

The origin of the loess is not clearly understood, but it is supposed 
to be due, in part at least, to the removal and deposition of materials 
from previously glaciated areas by the wind. The present soils of this 



HISTORY OF COOPER COUNTY 297 

group are the result of weathering of these deposits. The residual soils 
have come from the weathering in place of various beds of rock, prin- 
cipally limestone, occupying the hill slopes between the upland prairies 
and the valley floors. 

The alluvial soils are of recent origin, and have been deposited in 
the flood plains of the streams by which they have been carried to their 
present position. 

The loess soils stretch in a rather narrow belt along the northern 
side of the county. On the extreme eastern boundary the loess disappears 
as a typical deposit. A narrow wedge of it ends one mile west of the 
county line -and north of the Petite Saline. Thence westward the belt 
widens, but it does not attain a greater width than two and one-half miles, 
except in one or two places. 

The loess soils are usually recognized by the somewhat rounded topog- 
raphy of the country over which they are spread ; by the light yellowish- 
brown color of the soil; by its smooth satiny texture; by the high per- 
pendicular bluffs, which shut in the older roads; by the absence of rocks 
of any kind, except occasionally near the bottom of the deepest ditches ; 
by the uniform texture of soil and subsoil : and usually by the strong, 
healthy appearance of the growing crops. 

In elevation the loess soils range from a little over 600 feet above 
sea level on the lower slopes to a little over 750 feet along the crest of 
the ridge which extends almost continuously from near Wooldridge on 
the east entirely across the county. The surface, therefore, has a range 
in elevation of only about 150 feet, yet, except for a few flat areas on the 
higher portions of the western end of this ridge, it has a well-rounded 
billowy topography, which is in marked contrast to the sharper cut 
topography of the residual soils farther south. 

Over a large portion of the area covered by the loess soils the same 
material extends entirely over the surface, covering crests, slopes, and 
valleys. The formation is deepest, however, near the Missouri River and 
thins out toward' the south, its southern boundary being a very indefinite 
line. It also seems to be somewhat thicker on the crest of the ridges 
and at the foot of the slopes than on the slopes, and as the southern edge 
of the area of deposition is approached it appears only upon the ridges. 

Although the greater portion of the country occupied by the loess 
soil is quite undulating, limited areas in the northwestern part of the 
county are- more nearly level and are darker in color. 

The loess soils in this area have been divided into two classes, the 



298 HISTORY OF COOPER COUNTY 

undulating lighter-colored soil, called the Knox silt loam, and the more 
nearly level darker colored soil called the Marshall silt loam. 

A large part of the uplands south of the loess soils is called prairie 
and is distinguished by the absence of natural timber growth. The soils 
here are characterized by an almost level surface and by a black silty 
surface material which grades into a gray silt, and is underlin by a layer 
of stiff resistant clay several inches in thickness, which in turn is under- 
lain by a mottled yellow and gray silty clay. From the very close resem- 
blance between the subsoil of the prairie, as seen in the exposures on 
eroded slopes, and the subsoil exposed near the edge of the loess sheet, it 
would seem that these prairie soils were partly covered along the northern 
side of the county by loess. 

In many places the transition from the prairie soils to the residual 
soils is quite abrupt, only a few steps intervening between the black 
surface soil .with heavy clay subsoil and the reddish-yellow chert-filled 
residual soil; but throughout the greater part of the area the prairie 
soils are bordered by a soil differing from the prairie soil in being gray 
or yellowish-brown at the surface instead of black, in occupying the 
slopes of small streams which extend back into the prairie in places 
covering the narrow ridges between the small streams, and in having, in 
most cases, no well-defined clay layer in the subsoil. This soil may be 
considered a modified prairie soil, the modification in some places being 
due to the erosion of the surface of the prairie, in others to the gradual 
movement or creep of the soil particles down the slopes, and in others to 
a thorough leaching of the soil along the ridge crests. This region was 
formerly timbered to a considerable extent. 

The level upland soils, then, may be divided into the level black 
prairie soil, called the Oswego silt loam, and the modified glacial soil, 
lighter in color and usually without the heavy layer in the subsoil, called 
the Boone silt loam. 

In the rougher portions of the county south of the Blackwater-Petite 
Saline line there is no possible question about the origin of the soil. It 
is a residula limestone soil, partaking of the nature of the rocks that 
underlie it. The soils in the sandstone-shale-clay belt likewise are residual 
soils, derived from these same sandstones, shales, and clays and partaking 
of their nature. Along the river bluffs and extending southward for a 
few miles the foundation rock, whether it be limestone, as it is in most 
places, or sandstone-shale-clay rock, as it is in a few cases, is covered by 



HISTORY OF COOPER COUNTY 299 

the loess, a brown silt deposit. From this material has been made the 
soils of the river hill belt. 

The soils of the uplands south of the Blackwater-Petite Saline belt 
are derived from a silt and clay soil material that lies on limestone but 
has not been derived from it. 

There are at least two possible sources of this material: (1) It may 
be a disintegrated remnant of shales and clays that originally overlaid 
this area. The shales and clays have been broken up by weathering into 
silts and clays, but the material has not been removed by erosion on 
account of the protection afforded by the solid limestone on which it lies. 
(2) It may be a layer of overwash or outwash glacial material that was 
spread out over this region dui-ing glacial times by streams flowing out 
from the glacier. At the present time the former seems to be the most 
probable origin of this material. The general soil belts or areas of the 
county therefore are (1) residual limestone soils, (2) residual sandstone- 
shale-clay soils, (3) loess soils, (4) soils of doubtful origin but probably 
residual soils from shales, clays, and fine-grained sandstones, and (5) 
alluvial soils. The accompanying map shows the distribution of these soil 
areas. The differentation in the field of the residual soils of the sandstone- 
shale-clay belt from the loess soils to the north of it has proved to be a 
difficult matter. They are both silty soils and both brown in color. Where 
the rock does not underlie the soil it is very difficult to locate the boundary. 
The crierion used was the percentage of clay in the subsoil. The loess 
soil has a low clay percentage. When the subsoil had enough clay to make 
it sticky, it was not considered as of loessial origin. The character of 
the native vegetation, especially the trees, was used as a supplementary 
criterion in mapping this difference. 

The alluvial soils are made up from material eroded from all other 
soils of the area, carried by water in suspension and redeposited. They 
vary greatly in character, depending upon the source from which derived, 
the methods of deposition, and the processes they have undergone since 
they have been laid down. 

The alluvial soils in the southern part of the county contain much 
material which has been carried down from the eroded edges of the 
prairie and the gray silt ridges mixed with material from the residual 
soils. Those found along the streams which drain the loess are derived 
almost entirely from that formation and resemble it closely, while those 
deposited along the Missouri River have come from several different 



300 HISTORY OF COOPER COUNTY 

sources, are more complex, and differ essentially in composition from the 
other alluvial soils of the county. 

Closely related to the alluvial soils are the soils found in valleys of 
small streams and along the base of long slopes, where the soils, although 
they have not been carried in suspension, have reached their present posi- 
tion through the gradual work of surface water, which has removed the 
particles from the uplands and the slopes to the lowlands. This drift or 
creep often results in almost flat areas of dark-colored soil, more or less 
similar to the true alluvial types, and where these areas are of suflicient 
extent they have been grouped with the alluvial soils. 

The alluvial soils have been divided into two groups. Those derived 
from the loess, glacial, and residual soils and found along the streams of 
the county have been mapped as Wabash soils, and those found along the 
Missouri River have been classified as Sarpy soils. 

The Knox silt loam is a light-buff or very light yellowish-brown silt 
loam, smooth and satiny in texture. At a depth of about 16 inches this 
material passes very gradually into a heavier silt loam, in which the pro- 
portion of very fine sand found in the surface soil is very much reduced 
while the clay content is slightly increased. The subsoil is also more 
yellow and sometimes shows a reddish tinge. It extends to a depth of 
several feet. In many places at a depth of four or five feet there occurs 
a horizontal layer of material discolored a reddish brown by iron cxide. 
This layer usually contains numerous small iron concretions and in places 
small pipes of the same material. Below this depth the soil grades into 
a more or less mottled gray and yellowish silty clay. Where exposed to 
the direct action of running water or to travel, as in public roads, the loess 
from which the type is derived wears away very rapidly and yet the soil 
seems to be of such a texture, the soil grains of such a shape, or else the 
material is so held together by a very slight cementation that instead oi 
creeping and moving to form slopes it stands in perpendicular banks. Aa 
it weathers it also develops a peculiar system of perpendicular cracks 
which, with horizontal cracks at greater intervals, gives it a peculiar 
columnar structure somewhat resembling basaltic columns. 

This soil was formerly timbered and supported a heavy growth of 
white, bur, and laurel oak, black and white walnut, hickory, elm, hack- 
berry, wild cherry, ash, honey locust, pawpaw, sassafras, wild plum, and 
hazel, but on account of its value for agricultural purposes very few areas, 
and these of small extent, remain uncleared. When the land is first 
cleared, owing to the very large amount of leaf mold and humus at the 
surface, this portion of the soil is quite black, but after weathering and 



HISTORY OF COOPER COUNTY 301 

leaching for a few years, it becomes much lighter in color, and in many 
places the surface when well leached and dry is a light-gray differing but 
little in color or texture from the gray silt ridges of the Boone silt loam. 
As noted already, the Knox silt loam occupies the larger part of the survey 
between the main east and west lines of the larger streams of the county 
and the Missouri River, the area approximating one-fifth of that of the 
entire county. 

As a whole the Knox silt loam is the best soil of the area. It is a 
deep, well-drained soil, yet holds moisture well. This is noticeable during 
periods of dry weather when the crops on it are much better able to 
withstand the drought than those on some of the other soils of the area. 
In the fall, too, the forest trees on it remain green much longer than on 
the more shallow residual soils. This soil is warm, friable, easily culti- 
vated, and productive. The average yield of corn on fields in the best 
condition is about 48 bushels and of wheat 19 bushels per acre. 

The Marshall silt loam, like the Knox silt loam, is of loessial origin, 
but it differs from the latter in color, topography, and character of the 
subsoil. On the other hand, it differs from the Oswego silt loam, which 
it resembles at the surface, in having a deeper surface soil and in lacking 
in places the stiff resistant clay layer found in the subsoil of the latter. 

The surface soil of the Marshall silt loam is a very dark gray to 
black, smooth, friable silt loam, which extends to a depth of about 20 
inches, the lower part of the section usually becoming somewhat lighter 
in color. The subsoil is a brown mottled silty clay grading at a depth of 
24 to 30 inches into a yellowish and grayish mottled silty clay, some- 
what lighter in texture. In the more level areas a heavy, almost imper- 
vious layer of brown silty clay, six to 10 inches in thickness, forms the 
upper portion of the subsoil, but in the more rolling areas this heavy 
layer is almost or entirely wanting. 

The Marshall silt loam is found in only a few small areas in Cooper 
County, the largest of these occupying the more level land in the extreme 
northwestern portion of the county. A few small bodies also occur south- 
west of the town of Blackwater, north of Lone Elm, and in the vicinity 
of Clarks Fork. 

This soil is well supplied with humus and is a friable, easily culti- 
vated productive soil. Corn yields from 40 to 50 bushels and wheat from 
13 to 18 bushels per acre. 

To a depth of 10 inches the Oswego silt loam is a smooth, friable, 
black or very dark brown silt loam, often containing in the first few 
inches an appreciable quantity of very fine sand. Below 10 inches the 



302 HISTORY OF COOPER COUNTY 

dark-colored surface soil grades into a lighter colored gray silt. The soil 
also becomes slightly heavier in texture with increased depth, and at about 
16 inches rests on a very heavy, tenacious, brown silty clay, which often 
contains numerous small iron concretions. The line of contact between 
the soil and this heavy subsoil is very sharp, but the thickness and tenacity 
of this heavy layer varies considerably in different parts of the area, being 
thicker and more resistant on the more level and poorly drained portions. 
At a depth of about 30 to 34 inches this heavy subsoil grades into a 
yellowish and gray mottled silty clay subsoil lighter in texture than the 
soil above and resembling closely the subsoil found in places under the 
loess soils. In the subsoil, usually in the lower portion of the heavy layer, 
small irregularly lime concretions are found, the quantity in places being 
relatively large. 

The Oswego silt loam is one of the extensive soil types in the area 
and occupies the higher and more nearly level portions of the area covered 
by the upland glacial soils. The largest body of it occurs east of Bunce- 
ton and south of Lone Elm, but other large bodies occur in the vicinity 
of Prairie Home, between Moniteau Creek and Stephens Branch jn the 
east and Petite Saline on the west, and between Petite Saline and the 
Lamine. Small areas also occur in the southeastern and in the south- 
western parts of the county. 

Although the soils of these areas resemble each other to a sufficient 
extent to be classified under the same name, there is considerable varia- 
tion in appearance and in crop value, the soils west of a north and south 
line through Bunceton and especially those southwest of Vermont being 
dark-brown instead of black in color, having a somewhat shallower and 
more resistant subsoil, and as a whole being less able to withstand 
droughts. They are also not so well suited for deep rooted crops. There 
are also variations between the soils of areas which drain toward Moni- 
teau Creek and those farther north which drain into the Petite ' 'inn, 
the latter in most places being slightly deeper, darker colored, and re- 
sembling more closely the Marshall silt loam. 

The Oswego silt loam is a corn, timothy, and pasture soil, although 
wheat and oats are grown on it to a considerable extent. Some farmers 
are using portions of it where the subsoil is not too heavy quite success- 
fully for clover. On the average the type yields 42 bushels of corn and 
15 bushels of wheat per acre. 

The Boone silt loam has not only the widest distribution, but also the 
greatest range in variation and crop value of any soil in the area. Typi- 



HISTORY OF COOPER COUNTY ,')03 

cally it consists of a yellowish-brown or grayish-brown silt loam of fairly 
uniform texture, with a depth of about 15 inches, at which depth it 
becomes slightly heavier in texture, grading into the same mottled yellow 
and gray silty clay subsoil found in the Oswego silt loam. This subsoil 
persists to a depth of three feet or more, or where thin rests upon the 
underlying stony material derived from the underlying rocks. This ma- 
terial has a granular structure much like that of the residual limestone 
soils, and where it occurs typically no heavy layer occurs between the soil 
and subsoil. 

The Boone silt loam borders the Oswego silt loam, or prairie soils, 
on all sides, and may be considered a transitional type between the Os- 
wego silt loam and the lower lying residual soils. It is also always more 
or less mixed with both, the prairie soils being washed down and mixed 
with it and the underlying residual soils mixed with it through the move- 
ment of the soil particles down the slope, so that its boundaries are in 
places very indefinite. In origin it is like the Oswego silt loam, and is in 
reality a modified form of that soil, resulting from the removal of ma- 
terial from the surface. In areas where erosion has taken place the yel- 
lowish brown less productive soil is exposed at the surface. Boone silt 
loam where the black prairie soil formerly existed can be noted around 
the source and along the slopes of many small streams which head well 
back into the prairie. 

At the foot of long slopes and especially along the heads of small 
streams the wash may accumulate, forming a deep, often dark-colored 
soil. Where such areas are of sufficient extent they have been mapped 
as alluvial soils, but where too small to be indicated on the soil map they 
have been included with the Boone silt loam. 

Another phase of this soil is to be found along the tops of long, nar- 
row ridges which extend from the prairie out between the upper courses 
of small streams. The soil of these ridges ranges in color from an ashy 
gray to cream color and in texture from that of the loess to a loose flour- 
like silt, probably not loess, the loess areas being found in the northern 
part of the area covered by the type, and the whiter ridges principally 
in the southern part of the county. The light soil of these ridges seems 
to be the result of thorough leaching, in which not only the color but also 
much of the fertility of the soil has been removed. In many places along 
the tops of the ridges a heavy brown clay layer has been developed at a 
depth of from 14 to 18 inches, the transition from the light silt to this 
layer being very abrupt. Below the brown clay occurs the mottled silty 



304 HISTORY OF COOPER COUNTY 

clay, found under the remainder of this soil. These ridges in the northern 
part of the area undoubtedly in many places bear a thin capping of loess 
and approach the loess in crop value, but those farther south are less 
productive. 

A large part of the Boone silt loam was originally timbered by oak, 
post oak and bur oak being the principal growth on the ridges, which 
are locally called "post oak ridges' and have the heavy layer in the subsoil. 

The Boone silt loam as a whole is not so productive a soil as the 
prairie soil on the one side nor the limestone soils on the other. It has 
been one of the worst used soils in the area, is deficient in organic matter, 
and does not hold moisture well, yet is a soil which can readily be built 
up and made to yield profitable crops. 

The Bates silt loam is a dark-gray to grayish-brown silt loam with a 
yellowish tinge which becomes quite noticeable where the soil is eroded. 
At a depth of six to 10 inches this graduates into a yellowish-gray to 
yellowish-brown silt loam. The clay percentage increases downward until 
at 30 inches it becomes plastic and in places quite sticky. The lower 15 
to 20 inches is usually mottled yellow and gray. Bands of brown to 
reddish-brown silt, in places faintly cemented, in others having the iron 
somewhat concentrated in nodules, occur rather abundantly from 24 
inches downward. They lie horizontal. Layers of light ashy gray silt 
and silty clay occur also, showing an ashy gray color in the freshly 
plowed fields when it has been exposed. 

This soil differs from the Knox silt loam mainly in its more yellow 
color and its higher percentage of clay in the subsoil. Its color is also 
much less uniform than is that of the Knox. On plowed hillside fields its 
color varies with the erosion and the color of the particular layer out- 
cropping, while that of the Knox is uniform. 

The timber growth is like that of the Knox, but contains a higher 
percentage of oaks, especially laurel, pin and post oak, and a lower per- 
centage of walnut and elm. 

The Bates silt loam is derived from Coal Measure shales, clays, and 
argillaceous sandstones mixed more or less with the material of the Knox 
silt loam. It occurs in an east-west belt across the northern part of the 
county. Where the surface is flat the soil is essentially the same as the 
Oswego silt loam. It becomes the Boone silt loam only within the areas 
where the surface has been eroded. The belt of its occurrence lies along 
an- east-west pre-Coal Measure valley which was filled with Coal Measure 
material during Coal Measure time. It lies deeper than the same rocks 



Jpji^^fZii*-.*** 


S l ih¥iSS^^^^^^? :y ' : \ 


j 


; j 


-^jftL^*^ j&4|| 




; /*V*t '« 


j3 


'■"if 



VllCW <>F PRAIRIK HOME FAIR 




FROM OSCAR SPIELER'S PENS 



HISTORY OF COOPER COUNTY 305 

on the uplands to the north and south of it. They have disappeared from 
the latter areas, but still exist in this belt. 

The soil of the Clarkoville silt loam is a reddish or yellowish-brown 
silt loam having a somewhat granular structure, by which it can often 
be distinguished from the other silt loams of the area. Typically it ex- 
tends to a depth of about 15 inches, where it grades into a siity clay 
usually brighter, often a brick red, in color. This subsoil may persist to 
a depth of three feet or more, but often at a less depth rests upon the 
underlying bed of chert or limestone, that part of the subsoil immediately 
above the rocks usually being a very stiff red or yellow clay. 

This soil is residual in origin, having been derived from the disinte- 
gration in place of beds of fossiliferous limestone, the principal formations 
being the Burlington and Choteau. These, especially the Burlington, con- 
tain much chert, the disintegration of which takes place much less rapidly 
than does that of the purer limestone, so that the soil is often quite shal- 
low, and fragments of chert are mingled with the soil and scattered over 
its surface. Where the soil is very shallow and the chert fragments are 
so thick as to interfere seriously with cultivation, the areas, if of sufficient 
size to be shown on the soil map, have been mapped as the Clarksville 
stony loam. 

The Clarksville silt loam occurs along the lower slopes of all streams 
in the area, except those in the northern part of the area which are cov- 
ered by loess, the tributaries of Moniteau Creek and some of the tribu- 
taries of the upper Lamine. Where the crests of the ridges and hilltops 
carry no capping of glacial or loessial material the entire surface is cov- 
ered by this soil. 

Originally the Clarksville silt loam was heavily timbered with black 
walnut, laurel oak, elm, hickory, and sassafras, and many splendid groves 
of black walnut are found on it at present in different parts of the area. 
Where of good deoth, comparatively free from chert, and well handled, 
it is probably the best wheat soil of the area. Corn yields range from 
35 to 40 bushels and wheat yields from 16 to 22 bushels per acre. 

The Clarksville stony loam is agriculturally an unimportant type and 
consists of those areas in the Clarksville silt loam in which the percentage 
of rock at or near the surface is so large that they are of little or no 
value for farming. Some of the less stony portions might be cleared of 
stones and used for orchard and pasture, but in many cases the surface 
of the ground is almost or entirely covered with fragments of chert. In 
(20) 



306 HISTORY OF COOPER COUNTY 

other places there is a surface covering of soil, but this is so thin that 
it can scarcely be cultivated. Areas in which limestone outcrops along 
the bluffs and hill slopes have been included with this soil as well as some 
of the stony areas found along Moniteau Creek and surrounded by Baxter 
silt loam. 

The greater portion of the Clarksville stony loam is still timbered, 
usually with post and bur oak, and clumps of these trees in areas of Clarks- 
ville silt loam usually mark the stony areas. Many areas of this soil on 
account of their small size have not been separated from the silt loam. 

The surface soil of the Baxter silt loam consists of a light yellowish 
brown silt loam which, at a depth of about 16 inches, grades into a silty 
granular clay. The subsoil becomes heavier in texture and redder in 
color to a depth of about two feet, where it is mottled in appearance, this 
mottling extending to a depth of three feet or more. 

The Baxer silt loam, like the Clarksville silt loam, is residual in 
origin. It is derived from the disintegration of the less fossiliferous and, 
in this area, more cherty Magnesian limestone which outcrops in the 
southeastern and also in the southwestern part of the county. It differs 
but little in color or texture from the Clarksville silt loam, but on the 
whole is less productive. The timber growth consists principally of white, 
bur, and post oak, the walnut, elm, and other trees of the Clarksville soils 
being almost entirely wanting. Many of the ridges also have the whitish 
appearance of the post-oak ridges of the Boone silt loam. 

This soil in places is three feet or more in depth, but is often underlain 
at a less depth by chert fragments or by limestone. Chert and fragments 
of the soft white "cotton rock" are often scattered over the surface and 
through the soil, making it unfit for cultivation. 

The Wabash silt loam is an alluvial soil composed of material eroded 
from the other soils of the area, worked over by the streams, and rede- 
posited along their flood plains. In the northern part of the county, along 
the lower course of the Petite Saline and the small streams which flow 
into the Missouri, this soil has been derived very largely from the loess ; 
but in other parts of the area it has come from areas occupied by the 
residual soils and the upland soils of glacial origin, the light-colored silt 
from the gray ridges being in many places quite noticeable. 

Although varying considerably in color, texture, and structure the 
Wabash silt loam, as occurring in this area, may be described as a dark- 
gray or, when moist, a black, smooth-textured, friable, light silt loam, 
which becomes lighter in color at a depth of about 12 inches, but shows no 
change in texture to a depth of two feet or more. At this depth the ma- 



HISTORY OF COOPER COUNTY 307 

terial usually becomes darker and heavier, retaining these characteristics 
to a depth of several feet. In places, however, the subsoil is underlain by 
gravel, unconsolidated and residual material, or the solid rock. In many 
places a gray, flourlike silt covers the surface of small areas, and in others 
the gray layer below the surface soil is wanting, the dark, rather heavy 
silt loam extending from the surface to the depth of three feet or more. 
In still other places the surface soil is found to contain a relatively high 
content of very fine sand. Where the light-colored phase occurs it is, like 
the gray silt ridges from which it has been eroded, somewhat less pro- 
ductive than the darker soils. On the other hand, where the very dark, 
rather heavy silt loam extends through the entire soil section the type 
is often poorly drained and somewhat refractory under cultivation. Much 
of the Wabash silt loam is subject to annual or occasional overflow, and 
while this adds to the richness of the soil through the deposition of silt, 
especially when the material comes from the loess or the residual soils, 
these periods of high water usually occur at times when they do consid- 
erable damage to crops. 

Where second bottoms occur they are in most cases above the reach 
of flood water. The soils are also comparatively uniform in texture, well 
drained, and among the most productive of the area. Along the steep 
slope which usually separates the lower bottom from these second bot- 
toms there is often exposed a narrow strip of red residual soil. 

As a whole, the Wabash silt loam, although lacking uniformity, is 
among the best soils of the county. It is especially well a'dapted to alfalfa, 
owing in part to the position of ground water, which is near enough the 
surface for this deep-rooted plant to reach. Corn yields an average of 45 
bushels and wheat between 14 and 20 bushels per acre. 

The Wabash clay is an unimportant type in this area, only a few 
small bodies of it having been mapped, although many others too small 
to be shown on the soil map occur in the lower poorly drained portions of 
the Wabash silt loam. It is a heavy, sticky black clay, which dries and 
cracks at the surface, the soil breaking into small, irregular cubelike frag- 
ments. At a depth of about 16 inches this black soil grades into a stiff, 
waxy clay, somewhat lighter in color, which extends to a depth of throe 
feet or more. The type is of alluvial origin, being the result of deposition 
of the finer soil particles from very quiet water. Its formation has also 
in most places been influenced by conditions of very poor drainage. 

The largest area of this soil found in the county occurs along the 
Lamine River near its mouth, but other small areas are found farther up 
the Lamine Valley and along Blackwater and Petite Saline, much of that 



308 * HISTORY OF COOPER COUNTY 

near the town of Blackwater being somewhat lighter and better suited for 
farming than the typical Wabash clay. This soil is commonly known as 
gumbo, and is cultivated with considerable difficulty, unless handled when 
in just the proper condition. When so handled it produces good crops of 
wheat and grass and is used to some extent for corn. It can, however. 
be greatly improved by thorough drainage and by cultivation. The yields 
of wheat and corn are somewhat lower than on the type just described. 

The Sarpy silty clay is a yellowish dark brown to almost black silty 
clay, underlain at a depth of about 14 inches by a very fine sandy loam, 
light in color and extending to a depth of three feet or more. In places 
thin layers of silt or silty clay are encountered in the subsoil, and in other 
places the heavy surface soil extends to a depth of three feet or more, 
the subsoil being lighter in color than the surface material, but very 
plastic and puttylike. The light-textured subsoil, however, seems to pre- 
vail over the greater part of the type. 

Only a small area of Sarpy silty clay occurs in Cooper County, this 
being near Wooldridge. 

This soil is heavy and cracks and breaks into cubes when dry. It is 
thei'efore somewhat difficult to handle, but is a rich, productive soil and 
well suited to the principal crops of the area, which yield about as well 
as on the Wabash soils. 

The Sarpy silt loam, like the Sarpy silty clay, is of alluvial origin, has 
a level surface, and is subject to occasional overflow. It consists of a 
yellowish-brown rather heavy silty soil, though lighter both in color and 
texture than the silty clay, which extends to a depth of about 16 inches, 
where it is underlain by a lighter-colored fine sandy loam similar to the 
materials found under the silty clay. In places, hoewver, the heavy sur- 
face soil extends to the depth of three feet or more. This soil is easily 
cultivated and very productive. It occurs in only one area located near 
Wooldridge. 

The Sarpy fine sandy loam consists of a rather silty fine sandy loam 
with a depth of about 12 inches, resting on a fine sand. It is an unim- 
portant type in this area, a few small areas only having been outlined 
along the Missouri River. The principal cultivated area is on Terrapin 
Island. 



CHAPTER XIX. 



THE PRESS 



FIRST NEWSPAPER— SECOND NEWSPAPER — "THE COON HUNTER" — OTHER PIO- 
NEER PAPERS— BOONVILLE ADVERTISER FOUNDED— BOONVILLE EAGLE- 
CENTRAL MISSOURIAN — TOPIC — WESTERN CHRISTIAN UNION — PILOT GROVE 
BEE— SHAVE TAIL COURIER— BLACKWATER NEWS— OTTERVILLE MAIL- 
CENTRAL MISSOURI REPUBLICAN— BUNCETON EAGLE. 

The first newspaper in Cooper County was established at Boonville 
about the year 1834, and was called the "Boonville Herald." It was owned 
by James 0. Middleton, and edited by Benjamin E. Ferry, who was after- 
wards county clerk of Cooper County. In the year 1838, Robert Brent 
bought one-half interest in the paper from James Middleton, and on the 
8th of April, in that year, they changed the name of the paper to that of 
"The Western Emigrant." March 7, 1839, C. W. Todd purchased Brent's 
interest in the paper, and the paper was edited about one year by Messrs. 
Middleton and Todd. April 30, 1840, C. W. Todd purchased Middlton's 
interest in the paper, and changed the name to that of the "Boonville 
Observer." C. W. Todd continued as sole proprietor of the paper until 
Feb. 3, 1842, when he sold one-half interest in it to T. J. Boggs. March 
29, 1843, F. M. Caldwell and J. S. Collins purchased the paper from Todd 
& Boggs. They continued to edit it in partnership only until June 7, 
1843, when F. M. Caldwell purchased the interest of Collins, and became 
sole proprietor. Caldwell soon sold one-half interest in the paper to Allen 
Hammond, and it was edited under the firm name of Caldwell & Hammond 
until June 9, 1846, when Caldwell sold out his interest to Allen Ham- 
mond. Hammond continued to edit it alone until Nov. 7, 1850, when F. 
M. Caldwell returned from Virginia, and again purchased a half interest 
in the paper. They continued to edit it in partnership for several years, 



310 HISTORY OF COOPER COUNTY 

when they sold the paper to Augustus W. Simpson, who remained pub- 
lisher of it until it ceased publication in 1861, on account of the excitement 
incident to the war. In politics the paper was Whig until the year 1354, 
when the Whig party ceased to exist. It then became Democratic, and 
remained so until it ceased publication. 

The next newspaper established was the "Missouri Register," pub- 
lished by William T. Yoeman. The first number of it appeared in July. 
1839. It was the first Democratic paper published in western Missouri, 
and was established mainly to aid in the campaign of 1840. On April 22, 
1841, Yoeman sold one-half interest in the paper to Edgar A. Robinson, 
and the paper continued to be published by Yoeman and Robinson until 
Aug. 9, 1843, when Ira Van Nortwick purchased it from them. It waa 
afterwards successively owned by Quisenberry, Price, Ward & Chilton, 
the last named of whom continued to publish it until the great temperance 
excitement broke out in 1853. The paper had previous to this time been 
taken up almost exclusively by political discussions, but it was then pur- 
chased by a man named Benjamin F. Buie, who filled its columns exclu- 
sively with discussions in regard to the great question of temperance, 
which was then agitating the public mind. Buie soon sold out the paper 
to Allen Hammond, and soon after this the paper ceased publication for 
want of patronage. 

During the heat of the campaign of 1840, the editors of the "Missouri 
Register," Messrs. Ward & Chilton, started a weekly campaign sheet, 
which advocated the claims of Van Buren for President. As soon as the 
campaign was over, and Van Buren defeated, the paper ceased publication. 
The name of this paper was the "Boonville Argus." 

"The Coon Hunter" was published by Ward & Shelton, in 1840. The 
next paper was the "Democratic Union," established in the fall of 1844, 
and run by Blair and Chilton. Following this in succession in 1847, was 
a Whig paper, called the "Boonville Bulletin," published by Caldwell & 
Hammond. On Dec. 31, 1850, Messrs. Caldwell and Hammond, proprie- 
tors of the "Boonville Observer," commenced the publication of a sheet, 
called the "Tri-Weekly Observer," which was printed three times a week. 
It was continued unutil March 8, 1851. "The Iris," a college magazine, 
was published in 1851. In 1852, the "Central Missourian" was started, 
but was soon discontinued. It was succeeded by the "Boonville Missour- 
ian," in 1853, which occupied the same office. The paper was edited by 
A. C. Speer, who was a strong advocate of Whig principles, and also a 
staunch friend of the temperance cause. "The Ladies' Garland" was 



HISTORY OF COOPER COUNTY 311 

started in 1856. The next paper was the "Boonville Patriot," which was 
established by a man named John Gill, in the year 1856. It was after- 
wards sold to F. M. Caldwell, who continued to publish it until the year 
1861, when the materials, presses, etc., belonging to the office were seized 
by General Worthington, in command of some Federal forces at Jefferson 
City, and taken by him to the latter place. Soon afterwards, Lewis H. 
Stahl went to Jefferson City, and with the assistance of some of the most 
influential Federals, succeeded in getting possession of the material be- 
longing to the office, which General Worthington had seized, and brought 
them back to Boonville. Immediately upon his return, Messrs. Caldwell 
and Stahl commenced the publication of the "Boonville Advertiser," the 
first number of which appeared June 15, 1862. After publishing it for 
some time, they sold out to Messrs. Drury and Selby, who published the 
paper for a year or two, when F. M. Caldwell & Company again got pos- 
session of it, and continued proprietors of it until April, 1878. The edi- 
tors of this paper, during this period, have been J. G. Pangborn, H. A. 
Hutchinson, George W. Frame, Charles E. Hasbrook, Judge Benjamin 
Tompkins and S. W. Ravenel. 

October 25, 1875, the proprietors of the "Boonville Advertiser" com- 
menced the publication of a daily edition of the same, under the name of 
the "Boonville Daily Advertiser". The "Daily Advertiser" was discontinued 
March 7, 1879. Mr. Ravenel took charge of the "Advertiser" in March, 1878, 
as manager and local editor, and on March 7, 1879, leased the paper, and 
was until 1884 manager and editor. He was succeeded by Walter Wil- 
liams, now the dean of the College of Journalism at the State University. 
He in turn by Messrs. Stahl with James R. Allen, editor. Succeeding Mr. 
Allen as editor was Lucien Wright. Later the paper was pui'chased by 
the veteran editor Capt. C. J. Walden, who is now the manager and editor 
of the same. 

The "Boonville Eagle", a weekly paper, was established in Sept. 
1865, by Milo Blair. Sept. 28, 1875, he took Charles H. Allen into 
partnership with him. In politics it was republican. 

The "Wachter Am Missouri", a paper published in the German 
language was established in 1867, by L. Joachimi. It was purchased in 
1874 by F. W. Ludwig, who changed its name to the "Central Missourier". 
Haller was the proprietor until 1907. It suspended publication Dec. 26th, 
of that year. In politics it was republican. 

The "Boonville News" was started October 1, 1880, by A. B. Thornton, 
who was afterwards killed. The paper was continued for a short time by 



312 HISTORY OF COOPER COUNTY 

his wife, Mrs. M. 0. Thornton, and her daughters. It was politically, a 
greenback paper. 

George W. Ferrell started the "Boonville Weekly Topic", Aug. 18, 
1877, and after running it about eight months, F. M. Caldwell became 
owner. Caldwell published the paper alone till Feb. 8, 1880, when A. B. 
Thornton purchased an interest. September 18, 1880, Col. H. A. Hutchison 
bought Thornton's interest, the paper was edited by Hutchison, and pub- 
lished by Caldwell & Hutchison, Caldwell as business manager. It was 
democratic in politics. Capt. S. W. Ravenel and William McCarty then 
became the owners of "The Topic" until the same was purchased by Col. 
William Switzler, who changed the name to the "Missouri Democrat". 
Switzler in turn was succeeded in the ownership of the "Democrat" by 
W. D. Jones, who, after running it two or three years sold it to Gordon 
Kapp. The Democrat was then changed to a daily and as such prospered 
for a year or so. The last two or three months it was edited and con- 
ducted by N. H. Johnson and Simpson after which Gordon 

Kapp, who was the owner, disposed of the property. Some time during 
the 80's the "Boonville Tri-weekly Star" made its appearance under the 
management of Bert Plant, with whom was associated at different times a 
number of writers and editors. The paper was of a sensational character 
and its columns were open to various writers. It flourished for a while 
and died of mental exhaustion. 

The "Western Christian Union" was started a number of years ago 
by the Rev. E. W. Pfaffenberger, which throughout the years has been a 
pleasing, interesting and beneficial journal. 

The "Pilot Grove Bee" was established in 1882, the first number being 
issued the first week in September, by James Barton. It was a seven- 
column folio, and democratic in politics. This plant was purchased by J. 
J. Dickinson, afterwards major of the 6th Missouri regiment in the Span- 
ish-American War and now a prominent newspaper man in New York City, 
and the name was changed to the "Pilot Grove Record". He was succeeded 
in ownership of the paper by Traughber and he in turn by D. L. Roe and 
Charles Houx, D. L. Roe eventually becoming the owner. D. L. Roe after- 
wards sold the paper to W. F. Johnson, who after conducting it about two 
years disposed of it to W. R. Annan. This paper sometime during the 
years was changed to the "Pilot Grove Record", its present name, and 
through successive changes came into the possession of G. B. Harland, who 
is now the owner and editor. 

In this history of the newspapers of Cooper County, we should not 
omit from the list the "Shave Tail Courier", which deserves honorable men- 



HISTORY OF COOPER COUNTY 313 

tion, because it was much esteemed by the old settlers of that day. 

At an early day, Napoleon Beatty, quite an original character, lived 
18 miles west of Boonville, in Cooper County, on what was called Shave 
Tail Creek. In that vicinity a store was located, the predominating articles 
of trade being tobacco and whiskey, the latter the matutinal drink of the 
old pioneer. Beatty was noted for his bonhommie, and was not only the 
recognized fiddler of the neighborhood where he resided, but was intensely 
fond of and well posted in all the rural games and sports of that day. Dur- 
ing his early manhood he was 

"In wrestling nimble, in running swift; 
In shooting steady, in swimming strong. 
Well made to strike, to leap, to throw or lift, 
And all the sports that shepherds are among." 

His fiddle was his inseparable companion, and when spending an even- 
ing with friends, he had the happy faculty of discoursing to them the most 
delightful music, always accompanying his instrument with a unique and 
improvised song, which was replete with wise and startling hits and felicit- 
ous inuendoes, touching the vulnerability of some one or more of his 
entranced and rustic auditors. 

Beatty was the sole editor and proprietor of the "Shave Tail Courier", 
which appeared, at regular intervals, in manuscript form. The happenings, 
the sayings and the doings of the neighborhood were faithfully gathered 
and garnered by this original chronicler, who read aloud his paper to his 
admirers, in his own inimitable style. If there occurred a dance in the 
locality, a record of it was made in the "Courier". If a quilting party or a 
shooting match came off, the particulars were given in the "Courier". If 
a wedding took place, the event was mentioned in a recherche manner in 
the "Courier". The bride was the special theme for highest eulogium, 
and the wedded pair elicited the warmest wishes for their future happiness, 
in fact, the "Courier", like the good mirror, reflected not only the redoubt- 
able editor's views of matters and things, but reflected as well, on popular 
subjects, the will of the people. 

The "Blackwater News" was established in Blackwater, Mo., in the 
seventies by Thomas Horn, who was a forceful and vigorous writer. It 
was conducted by him until the time of his death and is now successfully 
managed by his widow, Mrs. Horn. 

The "Otterville Mail" of Otterville was established over twenty years 
ago and is now successfully and ably conducted by G. P. Garland. 

The Boonville Publishing Company was organized in 1884 for the pub- 



314 HISTORY OF COOPER COUNTY 

lication of the "Central Missouri Republican". The first issue of this paper 
appeared July 1, 1884. Some of the prime movers and stockholders in the 
enterprise were Eugene Haller, Prof. A. H. Sauter, Martin Haller, and 
Col. C. C. Bell. Others were interested also but we have not the names at 
hand. This journal continued under various editorial management until 
about 1904 when Mitchell and Mitchell became the owners, who after con- 
ducting the paper a year or so, sold it to John M. Grimes, who in turn sold 
it to Meadow. In a short time, however, Mitchell again became the pro- 
prietor and conducted the paper until his death. Ferguson and Harte then 
purchased the same from the widow of Mr. Mitchell on the first day of 
February, 1915. Ferguson retired from any connection in August of that 
year and Mr. Houston Harte is now the proprietor and editor of the same. 
It is an up-to-date, newsy, and bright paper. 

The present Bunceton "Weekly Eagle" was established in Bunceton in 
1888 by the late J. Monroe Norris under the name of the "Bunceton Enter- 
prise". In a short time Mr. Norris sold the paper to Asa W. Pizer and Dr. 
J. B. Norman, who in turn sold it in 1889 or 1890 to W. E. Gold, who 
changed the name to the "Bunceton Weekly Eagle". After publishing the 
paper a short time Gold sold to J. L. (Fritz) Johnson, who in turn sold to 
C. L. Cully, who upon his appointment to the postmastership in Bunceton, 
sold to L. 0. Nelson, in June, 1893. 

Soon after acquiring the "Eagle" Mr. Nelson took into partnership 
with him his brother, W. L. Nelson, and the firm name became L. 0. and 
W. L. Nelson and remained such until Aug., 1915, when L. 0. Nelson re- 
linquished the active management of the paper to become postmaster at 
Bunceton. Edgar C. Nelson, who had been connected .with the "Eagle" in 
a reportorial capacity for several years, became the active publisher and 
the firm name became Nelson Bros. 

The "Eagle" is the most widely read newspaper in Cooper County and 
is known all over Missouri as a county farm and stock weekly. For many 
years special attention has been given to county farm and stock news and 
the "Eagle" has had a wonderful success along that line. It is never less 
than eight pages, all home print, and during the busy season in the spring 
it often carries from 12 to 16 pages. 

In politics the "Eagle" has always been Democratic. It is one of the 
few weeklies in Missouri that is strictly cash in advance as regards sub- 
scriptions, and its readers seem to appreciate this policy. 



CHAPTER XX. 



BANKING AND CURRENCY. 



EARLY CONDITIONS— FIRST BANKS— DR. TRIGG ESTABLISHES FIRST BANK IN 
BOONVILLE— BRANCH OF BANK OF ST. LOUIS ESTABLISHED— CENTRAL NA- 
TIONAL BANK— COOPER COUNTY BANKS — BOONVnJLiE NATIONAL BANK- 
FARMERS' TRUST COMPANY— COMMERCIAL BANK OF BOONVILLE— BANK OF 
BUNCETON — COOPER COUNTY BANK OF BUNCETON — FARMERS' STOCK BANK 
OF BLACKWATER— EANK OF BLACKWATER— PILOT GROVE BANK— BANK OF 
WOOLRIDGE— BANK OF PLEASANT GREEN— FARMERS' AND MERCHANTS 
BANK OF OTTERVILLE. 

Cooper County entered early in the history of the state in the banking 
business. It is true that banking in Missouri is just a little more than 
one hundred years old, yet the first banks were mere efforts and proved 
abortive. The first bank in the state was established in St. Louis in 1816, 
about fifty years after the place had been founded. This bank had been 
chartered in 1813, and called the Bank of St. Louis, and in 1817, the Bank 
of Missouri was chartered. Neither of these banks, however, lasted very 
long. The Bank of St. Louis failed in 1819, and the Bank of Missouri 
went in the same way in 1822. 

. In 1819, there was a country-wide panic, caused by the riotous of 
reckless speculation all over the country, particularly in the newer parts. 
There was a great mania for buying and selling property, especially land, 
in the Boonslick country. It was not until 1821, that Missouri had another 
bank. This was a branch of the United States bank, and was established 
in St. Louis. It in turn had several branches throughout the state, but 
this bank was forced to wind up its business in 1836, by reason of President 
Jackson's veto of the bill to renew the charter of the United States bank. 
At this time, St. Louis had a population of about six thousand people, and 



316 HISTORY OF COOPER COUNTY 

there was a crying need for a bank, and in fact, a number of banks through- 
out the state. 

In 1837 the Legislature authorized the opening of a state bank. The 
Bank of the State of Missouri was for ten years the only bank of sort in 
the state, but in 1847, the Boatsmen's Saving Institution was established 
in St. Louis. This bank still exists under the name of Boatsmen's Bank. 
This year also marked the banking business in Cooper County. 

In 1847, the first bank in Boonville, Mo., was established by Dr. William 
H. Trigg, and was located on the northeast corner of Main and Morgan 
streets. James Quarles was cashier. Dr. Trigg continued a general bank- 
ing business, in his own name, until 1858. He then formed a banking 
association, under the name of William H. Trigg & Co., composed of some 
of the leading capitalists and ablest financiers of central Missouri. After a 
prosperous career this association was compelled to wind up its extensive 
and rapidly increasing business on account of the troubles into which the 
country was thrown by the unfortunate war between the two sections. 
The cashier of the Trigg & Co. bank was John Ainslee, and in the latter 
period of the bank liquidation, John T. Pigott and William M. Johnson were 
the cashiers. 

The next banking enterprise in Cooper County was the opening at 
Boonville of a branch of the Bank of St. Louis in the year 1856. With this 
enterprise were connected William E. Burr, Joseph L. Stephens, James M. 
Nelson, C. W. and J. Sombart, William Harley, John R. French and others. 
In 1865 the Central National Bank was established in which enterprise 
were associated some of the leading financiers of Boonville and Cooper 
County. During the life of Joseph L. Stephens until his death in 1881 this 
was one of the leading financial institutions of central Missouri and con- 
tinued so to be for a number of years thereafter. After the death of 
Joseph L. Stephens, the bank was largely under the control and mrnacrs- 
ment of W. Speed and Lon V. Stephens and for a number of years was a 
strong and flourishing financial institution. Oct. 28, 1916, it was forcer! 
to close its doors by the comptroller of currency and went into liquidation. 
There was no run upon the bank and every depositor received his money. 
The supposed cause of the closing of the bank was a series of bad loans 
running back through a number of years. There is pending at this time 
a suit by some of the stockholders against certain officers of the bank, the 
result of which is not yet determined. The closing of this supposed strong 
financial institution was a surprise and shock not only to the community 
but to central Missouri. Its management had been generous and those 



HISTORY OF COOPER COUNTY 317 

connected with the bank had been liberal and leaders in every enterprise 
in the community. 

There are at this time in Cooper County 15 banks and one Trust Com- 
pany, all safe and sound financially and conducted in a thorough and con- 
servative manner. We have written to each of these banks for a brief 
history of the same and if perchance it does not appear in this chapter it 
is no fault of the editor, but because some officer of the bank has either 
neglected to send the data or has been indifferent to the opportunity 
afforded. The following are the names of the banks of the county : Boon- 
ville National Bank, Boonville, Mo. ; Commercial Bank, Boonville, Mo. ; Bank 
of Bunceton, Bunceton, Mo. ; Cooper Co. Bank, Bunceton, Mo. ; Bank of 
Pleasant Green, Pleasant Green, Mo.; Prairie Home Bank, Prairie Home, 
Mo. ; Bank of Woolridge, Woolridge, Mo. ; Clifton City Bank, Clifton City, 
Mo. ; Pilot Grove Bank, Pilot Grove, Mo. ; Citizens Bank, Pilot Grove, Mo. ; 
Farmers Stock Bank, Blackwater, Mo. ; Bank of Blackwater, Blackwater, 
Mo. ; Bank of Speed, Speed, Mo. ; Bank of Otterville, Otterville, Mo. ; Farm- 
ers & Merchants Bank, Otterville, Mo. 

The Boonville National Bank. — The fact that Boonville boasts the 
largest bank in the United States in cities of 5,000 inhabitants, or less 
should impress the observer as an important fact, and is evidence of the 
prosperity of Cooper County. The Boonville National Bank was opened 
for business Oct. 30, 1916 as the successor to the old Central National 
Bank. In less than three years time it has risen to a place of importance 
and standing in the financial world of the Middle West. In August of 
1913 the Farmers Bank, an old established institution was absorbed by 
the Boonville National, resulting in a substantial increase in the assets and 
deposits of the bank. By this merger the large amount of one million 
dollars was added to the deposits of the Boonville National. 

The Citizens Trust Company of Boonville, subsidiary of the Boon- 
ville National was established in splendid quarters for the purpose of 
handling trust funds and caring for the safe deposit feature of the bank. 
This concern is capitalized at $100,000, with a surplus of $25,000 and the 
old Farmers Bank Building, remodelled, in which the Trust Company is 
located, is owned by the Boonville National. The same directors which 
control the bank are also in charge of the Trust Company. 

The first officers of this bank were E. E. Amick, president : W. A. Som- 
bart, vice-president; W. W. G. Helm, chairman of board; B. M. Lester, 
cashier; R. L. Moore, Jr., asst. cashier. The first board of directors were: 
W. W. G. Helm, J. E. Thro, N. Nelson Leonard, Roy D. Williams, H. T. 



318 HISTORY OF COOPER COUNTY 

Zuzak, A. W. Nelson, E. E. Amick, G. W. Jewett and W. A. Sombart. 

The resources of this bank at the close of business on June 29, 1919 
had reached the grand total of $1,062,759.62. The capital stock of the bank 
was $75,000 with a surplus fund of $25,000. It was the only National Bank 
and the only member of the Federal Reserve System in Cooper County. 

The present officers of the bank are: A. W. Nelson, chairman of the 
board ; E. E. Amick, president ; F. S. Sauter, vice-president ; W. A. Som- 
bart, vice-president ; B. M. Lester, vice-president ; J. L. Meistrell, vice-presi- 
dent; R. D. Williams, counsel; H. T. Redd, cashier; R. L. Moore, Jr., assist- 
ant cashier. The directors are : A. W. Nelson, W. W. G. Helm, L. T. Sites, 
H. F. Blankenbaker ; W. A. Sombart, J. E. Thro, J. A. Fischer, N. N. Leon- 
ard, H. T. Zuzak, R. D. Williams, Julius Oswald, G. W. Jewett, E. E. Amick, 
F. S. Sauter, and W. W. Kingsbury. 

The capital stock of the bank has been increased to $200,000. The 
surplus fund is now $70,000. The deposits has attained to the grand total 
of $2,000,000. 

The Farmer's Trust Company of Boonville, Mo., has been recently 
organized with a capital of $100,000 and a surplus of $35,000. The officers 
are Harry A. Creagan, president; Frank J. Felton, vice-president; Edward 
J. Muntzel, secretary and treasurer; and Fred Dauwalter chairman of the 
board. The Board of Directors are W. A. Whitehurse, Fred Dauwalter, 
Robert P. Burge, Edward J. Muntzel, Frank J. Felton, Homer C. Davis, 
Harry A. Creagan. 

The Farmers Trust Company has secured the south room on the ground 
floor of the Knights of Pythias building on Main street, large and com- 
modious quarters for its banking business. A large fire-proof vault has 
been built, safety boxes installed and the furniture and equipment are 
handsome and elegant and are unexcelled by that of any banking institu- 
tion in central Missouri. 

The Commercial Bank of Boonville, Mo., was oraganized in 1883 and is 
the oldest financial institution in Cooper County and one of the strongest 
and most important in central Missouri. Charter No. 247 providing for 
the organization of this bank was obtained by the following citizens : John 
S. Elliot, R. P. Williams of Fayette, Mo., Col. John Cosgrove, John 
Often, William Johnson, C. W. and Julius Sombart, Joseph Combs, Col. 
Thomas A. Johnston, John Viertel, Jacob F. Gmelich, W. R. Hutchinson, 
B. E. Nance and John Lee of Howard County. These gentlemen were the 
original stockholders of the bank which was organized with a capital stock 



HISTORY OF COOPER COUNTY 319 

of $50,000. John S. Elliot was the first president ; Jacob F. Gmelich was 
the first vice-president and the first cashier was W. R. Hutchinson. On 
January 16, 1888, Mr. Elliot was succeeded as president by Jacob F. 
Gmelich. Upon Mr. Gmelich's election as state treasurer in 1905, Mr. 
John H. Zollinger was elected president of the bank. Mr. Zollinger served 
until July 7, 1913 and was succeeded by the present incumbent of the 
office, Mr. Edward W. Chilton, who had previously served as assistant 
cashier. 

This bank has weathered all financial panics and is conducted on a 
safe, conservative plan which commends it to the hundreds of patrons who 
have always had the utmost confidence in the integrity of the institution. 
The present capitalization is $50,000 ; surplus and undivided profits exceed 
$50,000; and the deposits are over $500,000. The officers of the Com- 
mercial Bank are as follows :, Edward W. Chilton, president ; W. W. Trigg, 
vice-president; R. G. Hadelich, cashier; J. A. Smith, bookkeeper. The 
directors are: E. W. Chilton, John Cosgrove, W. W. Trigg, W. A. Hurt, 
H. G. Windsor, T. A. Johnston, R. G. Hadelich, Thomas Hogan, and M. R. 
McDowell. 

The Bank of Bunceton was organized Aug. 25, 1887, with a paid-up 
capital stock of $10,000 and the following officers: J. H. Goodwin, presi- 
dent, Edward Cramer, vice-president; E. W. Moore, cashier; W. B. Kerns, 
secretary; and with the following directors, J. H. Goodwin, Edward Cramer, 
E. W. Moore, W. B. Kerns, T. J. Wallace, John Coleman, Geo. A. Carpenter, 
Wm. Lusk, Hugh Rogers 

The bank now has a paid-up capital of $50,000 and a surplus of $35,000, 
with resources totaling more than $6,000,000 The following are the pres- 
ent officers: Dr. A. W. Nelson, president; H. .E. Meeker, vice-president; 
Snode Moms, vice-president ; A. Blomquist, cashier ; G. H. Meeker, assist- 
ant cashier. The directors are Dr. A. W. Nelson, R. L. Harriman, Snode 
Morris, Geo. K. Crawford, A. T. .Hockenberry, Geo. A. Carpenter, N. N. 
Leonard, C. W. Oglesby and H. E. Meeker. 

The Cooper County Bank of Bunceton was incorporated on June 26, 
1893, with a capital stock of $20,000. J. A. Waller was the first president 
and W. J. Boschert, cashier. The original Board of Directors consisted of 
the following: John S. Vick, Gordon L. Stephens, John A. Wallace, Newton 
A. Gilbreath, William J. Boschert, Samuel T. Baugman, Edward Cramer, 
E. H. Rodgers, James A. Lander. The present capital stock is $20,000, sur- 
plus and undivided profit earned, $43,000, total deposits $307,500, total re- 



320 HISTORY OF COOPER COUNTY 

sources $380,000. The present officers are W. J. Boschert, president ; 
George W. Moms, vice-president; F. C. Betteridge, cashier; C. W. Olley, 
bookkeeper. 

The Farmer's Stock Bank of Blackwater, Mo. was organized in 1895 
with a capital stock of $10,000. The first officers were: G. A. Cramer, 
president; Erhardt Fischer, vice-president; F. S. Sauter, cashier. In 
1907 F. S. Sauter tendered his resignation as cashier of the above bank 
and C. E. Steele was elected to fill this vacancy which position he has held 
since the above date. The present capital stock is now $20,000 with an 
earned surplus of $25,000 and deposits aggregating $200,000. The present 
officers are: S. Y. Thornton, president; H. C. Griffith, vice-president, C. E. 
Steele, cashier. 

The Bank of Blackwater, Mo. was organized in 1906 with a capital 
stock of $25,000. The officers were: T. B. Gibson, president; Joseph 
Fischer, vice-president; C. M. Shepherd, cashier. C. M. Shepherd served 
three years as cashier of the above bank, and was succeeded by H. T. Redd, 
who served eight years, and he was succeeded by Walter Shouse, the pres- 
ent cashier. The bank now has an earned surplus of $17,000 and deposits 
aggregating $150,000. The present directors are: W. B. Gibson, L. T. 
Sites, R. B. Hill, H. M. Wing, Joseph Thompson, C. P. Hudson, T. B. Gib- 
son, Walter Shouse, Joseph Fischer. 

The Pilot Grove Bank of Pilot Grove is the second oldest bank in 
Cooper County, the Commercial Bank of Boonville being the oldest. The 
Pilot Grove Bank was incorporated June 13, 1884 and was organized by 
Edward H. Harris, who was the president of the same and E. H. Harris, Jr., 
the cashier, with a capital stock of $10,000. This bank had a remarkable 
career in that for over a quarter of a century under the management of the 
Harris not a dollar was lost by bad loans. The capital stock was increased 
from time to time and now, 1919, the capital stock is $20,000, surplus 
$20,000, undivided profits $6,321.26. The total assets of the bank March 
4, of this year, were $371,259.45. The present officers are J. H. Thompson, 
president; Andrew Davin, vice-president; and C. M. Shepherd, cashier. 
The directors are Ham Lusk, E. B. McCutchen, B. J. Felton, Jacob Hoff, A. 
Davin, W. A. Scott, W. B. Simmons, Reuben Thomas, A. C. Harriman, R. 
A. Harriman, B. E. Sly, J. A. Thompson, J. L. Painter. 

The Bank of Woolridge was organized in June, 1902, with a capital 
stock of $10,000 and the following officers: George Vaughan, presi- 
dent; J. K. Bruce, vice-president; M. A. Smith, cashier; and George 




WHAT THE TORNADO I>II> TO MRS. EMMA srHMAI.FEI.HTS RESIDENCE 
JUNE 5. 1917, NEAR LONE ELM 




JPSL 







WHAT WAS LEFT OF ERNEST OERLY'S HOME AFTER THE SAME STORM 



HISTORY OF COOPER COUNTY 321 

Vaughan, W. J. Wooldridge, E. I. Smith, Ben Heying, Charles Leuger, J. 
K. Bruce, and W. L. Hays, directors. M. A. Smith was the organizer of 
the bank. 

The present capital stock of the Bank of Wooldridge is 810,000 with 
a surplus of $8,000, undivided profits of $2,000, deposits amounting to 
$100,000. Corresponding banks are the National Bank of Commerce ot St 
Louis, Missouri; National Stockyards National Bank of East St. Louis, 
III. ; and the Boonville National Bank of Boonville, Mo. 

The present bank officials, at the time of this writing, are: W J 
Wooldridge, president; J. A. Clayton, vice-president; A. F. Nixon, cashier '; 
and F. B. Hopkins, bookkeeper. The directors are: W. J. Wooldridge a' 
F. Nixon, J. A. Clayton, A. D. Renfrew, C. L. Eager, Henry Knorp, 'and 
Carl Lenger. The bank owns its building, a frame structure, erected in 
1902. The Bank of Wooldridge is one of the strongest financial institu- 
tions of Cooper County. 

Bank of Pleasant Green, Pleasant Green, Mo.-The stockholders of 
the Bank of Pleasant Green met on the 11th day of April, 1905 They 
organized by electing Judge J. D. Starke, chairman, and Dr. John S Parrish 
secretary, with a capital stock of $10,000. At the same meeting they 
elected the following board of directors: R. E. Ferguson, J. S. Parrish S 
L. Rissler, W. B. Rissler, A. J. Read, W. E. Roberts, S. W. Roberts and J.' 
D Starke and George Stemberger. The board proceeded to organize by 
electing Dr. J. S. Parrish, president; A. J. Read, vice-president; W B 
Rissler, cashier; and S. W. Roberts, secretary. 

The bank did not pay any dividends until it had an accumulated and 
certified surplus an amount equal to the capital stock, which was in the 
year 1913. Since then it has paid an average dividend of 15 per cent The 
following constitute the present Board of Directors: Adam Bergmann, 

L r\ c^ Hlte ' '• S - ParrlSh ' A - J - Read ' W - B - Riss1 -. Geo. Stem- 
berger, C. E. Stone and J. W. Walker. The present officers are J S Par- 
rish, president; A. J. Read, vice-president; W. B. Rissler, cashier, and J. W 
Walker secretary. There has been no change in the officers since the 
beginning with the exception that of secretary 

Sent T 10 1 4 arm r an f M , erchants Bank < Nervine, Mo., was organized in 
Sept., 1914 with a capital stock of $12,000. The first officers were : H D 
Case president; J. E. Golladay, vice-president; Joe G. Cox, cashier The 

WE STl - H * ^ ^ ^ G ° lladay ' J ° e G - C ° X ' James A - Laws 
Schupp PP ' °- Wilkerson ' C - Rodenbach and August 

(21) 



322 HISTORY OF COOPER COUNTY 

The present officers are the following: H. D. Case, president; J. E. 
Golladay, vice-president; Allen H. Cox, cashier, and Mattie Belle Hupp, 
assistant cashier. 

The present directors are the following: H. D. Case, J. E. Golladay, 
Joe G. Cox, J. S. Bane, W. D. Ross, Charlie Hupp, L. C. Wilkerson, C. 
Kodenbach and August Schupp. 

The capital stock remains $12,000. The surplus is $5,000 ; undivided 
profits, $2,900; loans and discounts, $107,000. The total deposits are 
$136,000. The total resources are over $188,000. 



CHAPTER XXI. 



FLOODS AND STORMS. 



FLOODS OF 17S5. 1811 AND 1S2S — FLOOD OF 1844— GREAT DAMAGE CAUSED — DEVAS- 
TATING FLOOD OF 1905— REBUILDING OF BRIDGES IN THE COUNTY— BUILD- 
ING OF NEW COURT HOUSE— BONDS ISSUED— TORNADO. 

The first unusual high waters of the Missouri River, of which we have 
any account, was in 1785, and of the destruction wrought at that time, we 
know but little. However, we know that there were no settlements in 
Cooper County, or upon the north side of the river. 

In the spring of 1811, the waters of the Missouri rose to an unprece- 
dented height. The first settlements had been made in Cooper County, and 
in Howard County, opposite Boonville, the previous year. Hence there 
were no farms to be injured or crops to be destroyed. 

We have no means of knowing how high the water reached that year. 
The high waters in the spring of 1826 set the seal of fate to Franklin. 
But by far the most destructive flood that ever occurred in the Missouri 
River was in 1844. It was caused as usual by continuous rainfall on the 
lower river, coming on top of the annual rise. The month of May had been 
attended with unusual rains, and for weeks previous to the 10th of June, 
the precipitation had been unprecedented. 

On the 5th of June, the water began to overflow the banks, and the 
river continued to rise until the 18th, when at Jefferson City it came to 
a stand and began to recede. 

The entire bottom from the mouth of the Kaw to the mouth of the 
Missouri was completely submerged, and from bluff to bluff, the river pre- 
sented the appearance of an inland sea. 

The destruction of property, considering the small population, was 
enormous, and much suffering ensued. 

Again in 1845, and yet again in 1851, there were unusual high water, 



324 HISTORY OF COOPER COUNTY 

but the damage was slight compared with the destruction of 1844. The 
next most destructive flood was in 1881. The second bottoms and low- 
lands were under water, and considerable damage was done, especially in 
the lower reaches of the river.* This flood, however, was different from 
the others, that had preceded it, in that it occurred in March and the first 
part of April. It was caused solely by the unusual rainfall, and not from 
the melting of snows in the Rockies. 

It seems the circumstances that attended the flood of 1903 were sim- 
ilar to those attending the great flood of 1844. On Friday morning, June 
5, at seven o'clock, 1903, the government gauge registered a stage of water 
in the river at Boonville, of 30.6 feet. This was just six feet higher than 
the mark of 1881, and lacked but about three feet of that of 1844. 

However, by noon of that day, the water rose to 30 feet and ten inches 
above the low water mark, and remained on a stand until Saturday morn- 
ing, when it began to fall slowly. During the day, there was a fall of 
only two inches, but it was enough to bring gladnesss to the hearts of 
many, and a feeling of relief among those who had so anxiously watched 
for the good news. 

Much damage was wrought by the flood in the vicinity of Boonville. 
Houses on islands and the lowlands were washed away, crops destroyed, 
and much livestock drowned. Cooper County alone suffered much from the 
destruction of ruined crops along the Missouri and Lamine Rivers, and the 
Petit Saline creek, which overflowed its banks from the Missouri and did 
considerable damage to the farms along its bottoms. 

The destruction in the vicinity of Overton and Woolridge was greater 
than in any other part of the county. The greatest damage was done, how- 
ever, in the Howard County bottoms. Both up and down the river from 
Boonville, the water on the north side of the river presented the appearance 
of an inland sea. The water during the high stage reached almost from 
bluff to bluff, submerging land on which were crops of growing corn, and 
almost matured crops of growing wheat. Scarcely any land in this section 
was above the stage of the water. Much livestock was lost also. 

The greatest losses, though, were experienced by those tenants, who 
had all their possessions carried away and destroyed. Many cases were 
reported in which tenants lost all their earthly possessions. Some of these 
were even thankful to escape with their lives, and the clothes which they 
wore. 

As it was impossible at that time to approximate the amount of the 
losses occurring to the farmers in this territory, it is equally impossible 
to make an estimate at this time. 



HISTORY OF COOPER COUNTY 325 

The citizens of Boonville responded nobly to aid the flood sufferers. 
Mayor W. G. Pendleton called meetings, and appropriate committees were 
appointed to raise the necessary funds to meet the temporary and im- 
mediate relief of the sufferers. Over one thousand dollars were raised and 
distributed to those who were most in need. 

The road bed of the M. K. & T. on the north side of the river was 
greatly damaged and traffic upon that road was suspended for several 
days. Probably the greatest damage done the farming and railroad inter- 
ests in the Missouri valley below Kansas City, however, was in the bottoms 
between St. Charles and the rivers mouth. Here was a broad expanse of 
territory in a high state of cultivation and dotted over with residences 
and other buildings. Every vestige of the promising crop of wheat, corn, 
hay, oats, onions, potatoes, etc., was drowned out and washed away. 

Losses to the people in close proximity to Boonville were heavy indeed, 
but compared with those of people in other parts, they did not seem so 
great. 

Charles A. Sombart had every reason to remember the flood of this 
year, because of the threatened damage to his milling property. He had a 
rectangular solid stone about six feet in length planted at the northwest 
corner of his warehouse, on which is indicated by cuts in the stone, the 
highest point in the river June 4, 1844, and June 5, 1903. The latter mark 
is only about two feet and nine inches below the mark of 1844. 

Grand and mighty old Missouri, blessing and destroying, blessed and 
cursed, the great artery of the continent! Old Joaquin Miller has struck a 
noble strain in his spirited poem to the "Missouri". He refers to her as a 
lord of strength, the yellow line and mad molder of the continent, and con- 
cludes with these words : 

"Hoar sire of hot, sweet Cuban seas, ' 

Gray father of the continent, 
Fierce fashioner of destinies, 

Of states thou hast upreared or rent, 
Thou know'st no limit ; seas turn back, 
Bent, broken from the shaggy shore; 
But thou, in thy resistless track, 
Art lord and master evermore. 
Missouri, surge and sing and sweep. 

Missouri, master of the deep, 
From snow-reared Rockies to the sea, 
Sweep on, sweep on eternally." 



326 HISTORY OF COOPER COUNTY 

Again in Sept., 1905, the devastating flood visited Cooper County. The 
cause of this high water was similar to that of 1881. The local rains were 
so great that streams flowing into the Missouri overflowed their banks, 
and practically all the bridges in Cooper County were washed away and 
destroyed, entailing on the county a great loss in dollars and disturbance 
of traffic. 

The county at that time faced a difficult problem because these bridges 
had to be replaced at a great expense. Prior to this flood the county court 
of Cooper County had called an election for a bond issue for the purpose of 
building a court house. By reason, however, of the great loss to the county 
caused by the high water of the various streams, the court saw fit and 
proper to call off this election. 

While the need of a new court house was imperative and patent to the 
voters of the county, no agitation in behalf of the same was made until 
1911. There being a demand on the part of the county votes that the 
city of Boonville should do something in addition, and beyond that done 
by the rest of the county, a proposition was submitted by the city council 
to the voters of Boonville to bond the city for $15,000 to aid in the con- 
struction of a court house. 

The election was held June 5, 1911, and the vote in favor of the bonds 
was practically unanimous, being for, 724, against, 6. The county court 
upon the proper petition called an election for May 11, 1911, submitting to 
the people of the county the issue of a $100,000 5-20 5 per cent, bonds, from 
the sale of which to erect a new and suitable court house. 

The Commercial Club of Boonville took charge of the campaign and 
appointed as managers of the same W. D. Pendleton, then mayor of the 
city of Boonville, and W. F. Johnson, then president of the club. The 
favorable result of .this election was a great surprise to many. The cam- 
paign was quiet and no public meetings were held. An appeal was made 
to the intelligence of the voters which resulted for the bond issue, 1,977; 
against 799. 

It is needless to say that the result of this election caused great re- 
joicing, especially in Boonville, where great crowds gathered on the street 
after supper, as soon as the vote was announced, and by the playing of 
bands, speech-making and shouting manifested their satisfaction. 

As soon as the sale of the bonds were negotiated, the contract for 
building the new court house was let by competitive bids to W. J. Cochran 
of Boonville. Something over a year was consumed in the erection of the 
present beautiful court house, the total cost of which, including the addi- 



HISTORY OF COOPER COUNTY 327 

tional site, together with furniture and fixtures, reached approximately 
$140,000. 

Tornado. — About nine o'clock at night, on Tuesday, June 5, 1917, the 
most destructive storm that had ever visited Cooper County, swept a path 
150 yards wide, and approximately 20 miles long through the northeast 
part of the county. 

It began fts destructive course at Lone Elm store, and swept in a 
straight northeastward direction, leaving the county at a point about mid- 
way between Woolridge and Overton, crossing the Missouri River, and doing 
much damage in Boone County. 

At Lone Elm, a number of trees were blown down. The cattle barn 
of Henry Koenig, one mile east of Lone Elm, was unroofed, and scores of 
forest trees in the woodland pasture, where the annual Lone Elm picnic is 
held, were uprooted. 

Mrs. Emma Schmallf eldt's residence, a nine room frame building, was 
unroofed, with the exception of one room, the walls blown in, and the 
furniture blown away. A part of the barn, a chicken house, and a sum- 
mer kitchen were blown from their foundations. Two chicken houses 
and a smoke house were unroofed. A granary was also demolished. 

The entire east side of the residence of Henry J. Muntzel, located a 
few hundred yards southwest of the Clarks Fork Trinity Luthem Church 
was blown out and the house was unroofed on the east side. A summer 
kitchen was blown off into foundation, and a negro farm hand, Winston 
Carr, who was in the building suffered two broken ribs. A windmill was 
also blown down, as well as fences and trees. The wooden cross on the 
steeple of the large church building was blown down, and the walls of the 
building were cracked by the force of the wind. A new barn at the rear 
of the church parsonage was completely demolished. The school building 
just south of the church edifice was blown from its foundations, and a 
number of monuments in the cemetery were blown down. 

A cattle barn on the farm of Mrs. George Myer was destroyed. The 
Walnut Christian Church, a beautiful edifice, which was erected at a cost 
of over $6,000, and dedicated July 25, 1915, was completely demolished 
and blown northward across a deep ravine, and the wreck was lodged in 
a grove of trees, or carried out into an adjoining field. The floor was 
swept clean of all the furnishings, with the exception of a few chairs and 
the organ, which was not damaged. 

Of the scores of monuments in the church cemetery, only three were 
left standing. William Wisdom, of Prairie Home, who was in the build- 



328 HISTORY OF COOPER COUNTY 

ing at the time, in attempting to leave, was struck down, and blown from 
the building, without receiving serious injury. His horse and buggy was 
hitched near by. The buggy was completely demolished, but the horse 
escaped uninjured. 

A pine timber 1x4 was blown through a tree about seven inches in 
diameter. Large monuments were blown over and the framing of the 
church building was completely demolished. 

The barn of Jesse Newkirk was blown down, and his* residence was 
damaged. The tenant house occupied by the Phipps family, on the T. B. 
Jewett farm was badly damaged, the house being blown off its foundation, 
and several of the rooms were wrecked. Lon and George Phipps had a 
narrow escape from death, when the roof fell in on the bed on which 
they were sleeping. 

John Schmolzi and his family, who lived two miles east of Clarks 
Fork were great sufferers. Mr. Schmolzi grabbed his baby, and rushed to 
a small cave in the yard, and shouted to his wife and three other children 
to follow. However, they were too late, and the house of logs was blown 
down upon them. Mrs. Schmolzi and her young son, Willie, fourteen 
years old, were taken from the ruins of their humble home, badly injured. 
The mother received internal injuries, and the boy sustained a fractured 
skull. Every building on the Schmolzi farm was demolished, farm ma- 
chinery was blown away, the apple orchard destroyed and the poultry 
killed. 

A freak of the storm here was the taking of a corn planter, twisting 
it to pieces, and then taking the axle of the planter with one wheel still 
attached, and driving it into the heart of a big oak tree twelve or fifteen 
feet from the ground. 

A heavy road grader was lifted from the side of the road, crumpled 
into junk, and hurled across the road into a grove of trees. Two barns 
south of the residence of Hogan Freeman were destroyed. One was a 
new structure, 16x30, and the other was 42 feet square, and housed six 
head of work stock, all of which escaped injury. However, seven head 
o fcattle grazing in a pasture were killed by the flying debris from the 
ruined Schmolzi home and outbuildings. 

Auntinie Overton and Nick Robertson, negro farmers, had their 
houses torn 'down. The residence of Mr. and Mrs. Ernest Oerly, located 
on the brow of the hill, a quarter of a mile northwest of Gooch Mill was 
completely demolished and blown away. Mr. Oerly was struck by falling 



HISTORY OF COOPER COUNTY 329 

timbers, and his wife was found lying unconscious in a pool of blood sev- 
eral yards from the side of the house. 

The young son of Nick Blank was in the house at the time and escaped 
uninjured. 

The ground where the residence stood was swept clean of all debris, 
and the timbers carried for hundreds of yards. An automobile was turned 
into scrap iron, and literally scattered over a forty acre field. Cattle and 
horses were maimed and killed and dead poultry was to be seen on every 
hand. 

Tom Christman's house, about a mile north of Gooch's Mill was 
demolished. Allene Oerly, the 13-year-old daughter of Will Oerly, a 
Woolridge merchant, was killed. All the family succeeded in reaching a 
cyclone cellar beneath the summer kitchen, when the storm in its fury, 
picked up Allene and hurled her away in the fury of the wind. Her body 
was discovered about 75 yards away from the cellar. 

The residence on the Joe Hickman farm, occupied by Charles Phipps, 
was destroyed, but no one was injured. Tom Calvert's four-room house, 
where were Mr. and Mrs. Calvert and Thomp Clayton, wife and one child, 
was blown down without injury to any of the occupants. 

In the household of Fred Fluke, Fred Fluke himself was crushed by 
falling timbers and killed, and other members of the family were badly 
injured. The storm moved the house of James Adair from its foundation, 
and broke Mr. Adair's leg. 

About half way between Woolridge and Overton, the storm struck 
the home of Theodore Morchel, killed two children and badly injured the 
wife and mother. 

This was the most appalling calamity that had come to Cooper County 
in years, and the property loss was great. 



CHAPTER XXII. 



THE WORLD WAR. 



UNITED STATUS ENTERS THE GREAT WAR— COOPER COUNTY'S FINANCIAL CON- 
TRIBUTION—LOYALTY OF CITIZENS— COUNCIL OF DEFENSE— PROCLAMATION 
—ARMISTICE SICNED— LIST OF COOPER COUNTY SOLDIERS— COMPANY B, 
THIRD REGIMENT. CALLED— CASUALTY LIST— SUMMARY. 

It is not in the province of the history of Cooper County, nor within 
the purview of this short chapter to attempt a history of the great World 
War that threatened the very foundation of civilization, and seriously 
affected every nation upon the face of the earth. 

President Wilson, in his speech before Congress on April 6, 1918, 
used these eloquent and forceful words that found spontaneous response 
in the true patriotism of America: 

"Let everything that we say, my fellow countrymen, everything that 
we henceforth plan and accomplish, ring true to this response till the 
majesty and might of our concerted power shall fill the thought and 
utterly defeat the force of those who flout and misprize what we honor 
and hold dear. 

"Germany has once more said that force, and force alone, shall decide 
whether justice and peace shall reign in the affairs of men, whether right 
as America conceives it, and dominion, as she conceives, shall determine 
the destinies of mankind. 

"There is therefore but one response for us; force, force to the 
utmost, force without stint or limit, the righteous and triumphant force 
which will make the law of the world, and cast every selfish dominion 
down in the dust." 



HISTORY OF COOPER COUNTY 331 

Cooper County did generously and nobly her part in financing the 
great World War. According tp the best information at hand, the county 
subscribed $2,598,481 to the various war activities. Of this amount, 
almost $100,000, to be exact, $97,131 was actually given by citizens to 
take care of the boys who fought for freedom and for right. 

The Red Cross received splendid support, receiving $54,756, as nearly 
as can be estimated. The Y. M. C, A., $9,375; Salvation Army Fund, 
$1,000; United War Work Fund, $32,000. This vast amount was given 
with no hope of return, other than patriotically aiding in the war. In the 
Liberty Loans, our people invested over two and one-half millions dollars 
in government securities, the amount being divided between the four 
drives as follows: First Liberty Loan, $100,000; Second Liberty Loan, 
$525,000; Third Liberty Loan, $616,350; Fourth Liberty Loan, $846,000. 
Added to this amount is $414,000 invested in War Savings Stamps. 

The above statement does not take into consideration the various 
sums contributed to other causes connected with the war, such as the 
Tobacco Fund, Armenian Relief, French War Orphans, etc. 

It may not be amiss to state here that Cooper County has no German 
citizens, but a goodly number of American citizens of German birth or 
parentage. As a class, they are frugal, saving, prosperous and honest, 
withall good livers. 

Before our entrance to the great war, most of them were in sympathy 
with Germany, and such were not neutral. Germany's great propaganda, 
in which over $100,000,000 were spent, was insidious. The effect of many 
publications like "The Fatherland"- had little to say in favor of their 
government, or of their institutions, but in practically every line eulogized, 
praised and upheld the institutions and theories of the German Empire, 
in direct opposition to American principles and institutions. But with 
the unfurling of Old Glory from the housetops, their hearts beat true, 
and they at once sprang to action, and responded as a class to every call. 
If there were reservations in the minds of a few, the number was indeed 
small, and existed largely in the minds of the suspicious. 

By reason of the peculiar situation of this class of our citizens, the 
editor feels called upon to pay this short tribute. We are Americans, 
regardless of the route each has traveled to become one. We are one 
in love of home and country. The names of our boys who toiled, suffered 
and bled in Flanders field are confined to no nationality. Each is a true 
American. 



332 HISTORY OF COOPER COUNTY 

"About his brow the laurel and the bay 
Was often wreathed — on this our 
Memory dwells — 

Upon whose bier in reverence today 
We lay these imortelles. 
His was a vital, virile, warrior soul ; 
If force were needed, he exalted force; 
Unswerving as the pole star to the pole, 
He held his righteous course. 
He smote at wrong, if he believed it wrong, 
As did the Knight, with stainless 
Accolade ; 

He stood for right, unfalteringly strong, 
Forever unafraid. 

With somewhat of the Savant and the 
Sage, 

He was, when all is said and sung, 
A 

Man, 

The flower imperishable of his valiant 
Age, 
A true American." 

We had no spies to watch in Cooper, yet following the precedent 
established throughout the country, A Board of Defense was appointed, 
consisting of the following gentlemen: Dr. A. W. Nelson, chairman; 
H. A. Jewett, A. H. Harriman, E. E. Amick, D. A. McArthur, A. A. Wal- 
lace, Homer Wear, Roy D. Williams and L. 0. Schaumburg, secretary. 
Their activities were tame, for there was no necessity for unusual vigil- 
ance. 

In Sept., 1918, the above Council of Defense of Cooper County, met 
and passed the following resolutions : * * * 

"WHEREAS, a spontaneous sentiment from every quarter of the 
county, arising from the patriotic hearts of the citizenship of Cooper 
County, has appealed to the Cooper County Council of Defense to take 
action in the matter of suppressing the use of the German language in 
churches, schools, public meetings of every sort, including conversation 
over telephone lines, and also on the public streets and thoroughfares of 
the county; 



HISTORY OF COOPER COUNTY 333 

THEREFORE, it is unanimously resolved by the Cooper County 
Council of Defense that the citizenship of this county be and is hereby 
urgently requested to refrain from communicating in the language of our 
enemy in all public places and on all public occasions as above enumerated 
during the period of the war. 

An appeal is made to our patriotic citizenship to aid with every means 
within our power in carrying out the provisions of this proclamation." 

Early Monday morning, Nov. 11, 1918, the news was flashed through- 
out the country that the armistice had been signed. Great demonstra- 
tions were held throughout the county and especially in Boonville. It 
was a gala day from early morning till late at night. Bands were play- 
ing and demonstrations of all characters were being carried on in jubila- 
tion of the end of the most stupendous tragedy in the history of the world. 

A treaty of peace has been signed and our boys are returning to their 
homes. The material is not at hand to give more than the names of those 
who gave their services to their country. We are not able to give the 
pi-omotions or special deeds of valor of our boys, for any attempt so to do, 
with the meager information at hand would be unjust to many. The 
ladies of Boonville have also prepared a list, and upon comparing their 
list with ours, we find that they have apparently omitted a number of 
names which appear upon our list, and upon the other hand, we find that 
they have names that we have not secured. We therefore give first the 
list that we have secured, and after that, we give those that appear upon 
the list secured by the ladies, which do not appear upon ours. We do not 
vouch for the correctness of either. 

Arnold, Earl ; Anderson, Douglas ; Allison, Earl M. ; Alpers, Wm. H. ; 
Ausemus, C. E. ; Armstrong, John ; Amick, Eugene Earl ; Albin, Jesse 
Vigel; Alpers, John Wm.; Anderson, Hy. 

Burger, Wm. Arthur; Boswell, Merritt H. ; Boswell, Henry; Boggs, 
Thos. J. ; Brown, Oliver Carl ; Brent, Earl F. ; Barnes, Paul ; Burnham, 
Connie; Bell, Jas. V.; Burke, Jaine Martin; Banty, Earl James; Beatty, 
Jas. ; Brown, Louis Alvin ; Bradley, Arthur L. ; Bower, Clark E. ; Brock- 
man, John; Bowmer, Newton; Bishup, Oscar; Bowmer, Jas. R. ; Butts, 
Orville Ray; Brandt, Leon Norrite; Brooks, John H. ; Buckley, Carl A.; 
Berry, Franklin ; Bonham, Alfred ; Brown, Ervine W. ; Bottom, Lawrence ; 
Banks, Coleman C. ; Buchanan, Frank G. ; Brengarth, Henry L. ; Brown- 
field, Veit; Burrell, Ben E. ; Bauman, Lee Ernest; Burger, Wallace Walker; 
Bradley, Frank R. ; Bryan, Lloyd ; Blackstone, Mack L. ; Baker, Henry J. ; 
Baugh, Harry; Burd, Charlie; Baker, Wm. Elmer; Berry, Harry Lon; 



334 HISTORY OF COOPER COUNTY 

Bell, Stanley Ira; Baker, Auburn C; Burger, Joseph A.; Butler, Elaske; 
Bruce, Amos ; Byler, Robert H. ; Buckner, Hallie ; Burrus, John Milton ; 
Byler, Garland ; Brewster, Harry E. ; Barnert, Edgar L. ; Brown, Harvey 
E. ; Binkley, Jas. ; Baldwin, Ira C. ; Blalock, Jas. T. 

Carl, Edward G. J. ; Cave, John ; Coleman, Calvin ; Cramar, Ray ; Con- 
way, Raborn Lee; Coleman, Jas. H. ; Croft, Geo. W. ; Coleman, Wayt J.; 
Clawson, John ; Conway, John Richard ; Conway, Jas. F. ; Chase, John H. ; 
Cornwell, Clarence; Copas, Wm. F.; Crawford, Willie; Clawson, Jas.; 
Crawford, John H. ; Crump, Sherman ; Coats, Wilbur ; Cordry, Omer E. ; 
Chamberlin, Leonadus ; Crockett, Jas. F. ; Coleman, Nelson ; Campbell, 
Roy; Clay, Charlie; Cassell, Charlie; Cooper, Linn; Cardin, Dudley B.; 
Clark, Leonadus M. ; Cochran, William J. ; Cramar, Chas. D. ; Coleman, 
Chas. C. ; Cardin, Chas. E. ; Cox, Allen ; Clark, John B. ; Corum, Martene 
W. ; Conway, John Robert ; Cash, H. M. ; Coleman, Chas. W. ; Corder, F. F. ; 
Cary, H. E. ; Cramar, E. D. ; Callegari, E. ; Cole, F. L. ; Chenault, Clarence 
D.; Cosgrove, D. W. 

Diel, Wm. 0.; Duncan, Herbert; Dohn, J. E. ; Diel, Raymond F. ; 
Davis. Samuel ; Dunfield, Jos. ; Dief endorf , John ; Davis, Porter E. ; Dick. 
John Henry ; Derondinger, Emil E. ; Deurmeyr, Harry ; Diehl, Wm. ; 
Draff en, Lot Elbert; Davison, Harry; Drew, McKinley; Douglass, Ray- 
mond; Davis, Lewis C. ; Diggs. Arthur E. ; Decker, Ray H. ; Dick, Lewis 
Wm. ; Devine, Michael Thos. ; Davis, Harland H. ; Davis, Walter; Drew, 
Isaac; Diemler, Lewis G. ; Daniels, Roy Oliver; Dumolt, Urban A.; Dix. 
Pearlie Lee; Davis, J. E. ; Driver, Wm. Henry. 

Earley, Arnold J.; Evans, Herman B. ; Evans, Loney ; Embry, Sidney 
E. ; Enloe, Lewis M. ; Eubank, Louis A. ; Eichman, Milton R. ; Eades Cha*. 
H. ; Edwards. Robert S.; Ernst, Otto W. ; Enquist, Geo. S. ; Embry. Roy 
H. ; Edson, Henry; Embry, Virgil F.; Evans, Benj. F.; Edwards, Riley 
Bird ; Ellis, Clay W. 

Fry, John R. ; Felton, Leo H. ; Fetters, Ben ; Farris, Nuckols ; Frandes, 
Wm. Carl ; Fowler, Tyre B. ; Fry, Elmer Leon ; Fairchild, Wm. W. ; Fried- 
erich, Herman B. ; Friedrich, Carl; Fry, Jesse A.; Friedrich, Jacob W. ; 
Felton, Francis Richard; Fairfax, Lon ; Friedrich, Edward C; Folkerts. 
Lewis J. 

Griffin, Victor R. ; Gargus, Geo. F.; Grose, Vanmeeter; Gooseberry, 
Ernest; Gantner, Walter E.: Gravell, Jos. Lewis; Golden, Addie; Groves, 
Oscar B.; Gronstedt, Wm.; Givens. Bryan B.; Gillum, Geo. C; Gilson, Ira 
E. ; Gantner, Urban A. ; Gerke, John ; Givens, Clarence A. ; Gunn, J. P. ; 
Givens, Clay Carl; Green, John W.; Golden, Hickman; Goode, Mack J.; 



HISTORY OF COOPER COUNTY 335 

Green, Julian Bact ; Gantner, Earl Jerome ; Good, Isaac N. ; Grazier, Sher- 
man; Gerling, Jos. J.; Gilbreath, Hugh K. ; Geiger, Lawrence; Gavisk, 
Morgan; Gronstedt, Martin; Griffin, Harry B.; Gibson, Robert Lercy; Gil- 
more, Finis Glen; Gensler, Thomas; Grotinger, Ferdinand; Geiger, John 
Wilbur ; Gump, Roy. Jord ; Gantner, Jos. ; Grose, Jas. W. ; Gray, Olaff ; Gar- 
land, Homer; Gibson, Wm. M. 

Hirst, John R. ; Hepler, Jesse J. ; Harris, W. B. ; Hogan, Lenwood ; 
Hopkins, Chas. W. ; Holmes, Wm. ; Haller, Richard W. ; Heisler, Herman 
V. ; Hogan, Alfred ; Henderson, Chas. C. ; Hoellerich, Aug. ; Harris, Loy E. ; 
Holliday, Arthur L. ; Hutchinson, P. T. ; Haley, Joel ; Hull, Wm. S. ; Haley, 
W. L. ; Holmes, Barney ; Hilden, Herman P. ; Hutchinson, Robt. M. ; Harte, 
Houston ; Harris, Chas. D. ; Harris, Edgar W. ; Hogan. Oliver A. ; Huth, 
Wilbur L. ; Hausser, Albert ; Houcker, Geo. F. ; Hupp, Chas. J. ; Huff, Ray- 
mond P. L. ; Hogan, Jas. Otey; Harned, Walter P.; Hardiman, Wm.; 
Howard. Claud ; Holliday, Ernest ; Hale, Frank O. ; Hoff , Edward L. ; Hec- 
tor, Herbert A. ; Hedgpeth, Robt. Geo. ; Huckaby, Samuel T. ; Hotsenpiller, 
Irl H. ; Hopkins, Jesse; Helmreich, Elbert E. ; Hunt, Robert V.; Hams, 
Terry E. ; Hill, Jasper L. ; Hickam, Chas. S. ; Hurt, Ewing; Hammonds, 
Ernest ; Hale, John P. ; Harris, Marion C. ; Hurt, Porter Marion ; Haunsen, 
Aaron W. ; Haller, S. John ; Harris, Wm. J. ; Huckaby, Pearl ; Hain, Geo. 
John ; Howard, Joe ; Harlan, Geo. C. ; Hupp, Isaac Gill ; Holliday, Virgil ; 
Hedrick, Lon M. ; Hoberecht, Ray. 

Irvin, John T. 

Johnson, Leslie Smith; Jones, Brent; Jones, Chas. Elmer; Jegglin, 
Wm. A.; Johnson, Johnny; Jenry, Wm. H. ; Jones, Richard C; Jenry, Job" 
M. ; Johnson, Ellis; Jackson, Walter; Johnson, Robt. Perry; Jegglin, 
Ulmont; Jenkins, Phillip; Jones, Roy E. ; Johnson, Andrew D. ; Johnson. 
Clyde Gail ; Jones, Roy Lindsay ; Johns, Wm. Kelly ; Jaeger, Albert, Jr. 

Knabe, Herman H. ; Kallian, Chas. ; Kraus, Frederick A. ; Kirschman, 
Lester L. ; Klenklen, Wm. T. ; Knorp, John G. ; Krohn, Frederick H. ; Kos- 
field, Herman Henry ; Kaiser, Wm. Theodore ; Kimlin, Fred A. ; Kaiser, Geo. 
F. ; Kibler, Wm. Walter; Kistenmacher, Karl; King, Lawson Lander; 
Knipp, Peter J., Jr. ; Klenklen, Victor S. ; Klein, Elmer Henry ; King, Judd ; 
Kinney, Dorsey ; Koontz, Frank L. ; Kahle, Herman F. ; Kinney, Jewel M. ; 
Korte, Homer E. 

Langlotz, Verner C. ; Long, John T. ; Loesing, Geo. Henry ; Layne, 
John W. ; Long, Chas. Clifford ; Langkep, Walter ; Lusk, Marshall B. ; Lyle, 
Chas. F. ; Lovick, Wm. A. ; Lewis, Edward ; Lance, Geo. ; Lacy, Geo. Whit ; 
Lawson, Barney E. ; Lee, Wm.; Lawson, Roy; Lewis, Harry; Leuckert,. 



336 HISTORY OF COOPER COUNTY 

C. D. ; Langkop, Edward Chas. ; Logan. Urbie Jas. ; Lamm, Oscar Irving; 
Lee, Nelson; Lamm, Jas. Forrest; Lee, Harrison G. 

Miller, Roy F. ; Miles, Homer ; McKinley, Lenwood ; Mersey, Elmer E. ; 
Moore, Jeff T. ; Miles, Eugene ; Mersey, Wm. H. ; Minor, Hogan ; Mayer, 
Chas. H.; Meller, Thos. E. ; Manning, Floyd H. ; Miller, Geo. L. ; Mallory, 
Gilbert; Mcllveny, John; Meredith, Wm. Owen; Moore, LeRoy ; Meredith, 
Geo. H. ; Morris, Clay ; Moore, Hilliard H. ; Miller, H. J. ; Miller, John L. ; 
Madison, Ernest; Myer. Henry Robert; Morris, Warren Cole; McDonnell, 
Paul Brooks; McCleary, James; Meyer, August; Mochel, Wm. F. ; Moehle, 
Geo. E. ; McDowell, Sid ; Marshall, Rudolph ; Minor, J. W. ; Morrison, Paul ; 
Moore, Hugh Shelborn ; Miller, Archie ; Montgomery, Wm. ; Meyers. For- 
rest; Mize, Richard B. ; Meisenheimer, R. D. ; Muessig, Robert; Myers, 
Fred Wm., Jr.; Morrow, Silas A. 

Needy, Forrest; Nichols, Willis; Nookerman, John A.; Nelson, Wm. ; 
Neef, Henry Carl ; Nelson, Ruben C. ; Niederwimmer, H. ; Nelson, Wm. ; 
Newbauer, Emil; Neale, Monroe, Lee. 

Oerly, Frank J.; Ohlendorf, Henry F. ; Odneal, Hugh B.; Oak, Walter 
S. ; Odil, Jan Anderson ; Odom, Radford F. ; O'Neal, Samuel Amos ; Odneal, 
J. Geo. Poindexter; Owings, William T. ; Orendorf, Robert Lee; Oak, W. W. 

Pepper, Herman ; Peeples, Harold ; Palmer, Frank D. ; Pare, Oscar H. ; 
Piatt, Wm. B. ; Paxton, John H. ; Phillips, Paul W. ; Plater, Calvin ; Porter, 
Willie; Poindexter, Alfred; Pulley, Clarence; Parkhurst, Geo. A.; Pearson, 
Carl C; Powers, Elmore; Philpott, James E. ; Phipps, Geo. Wm. ; Parrish, 
James ; Poindexter, Arthur L. ; Phipps, Marion Lee ; Patterson, Jas. W. ; 
Poindexter, John William; Pulley, Leonard B. ; Putnam, Thos. B.; Park- 
hurst, Fred A.; Potter, A. Zabe H. ; Poindexter, Chas. F. ; Poole, Ellis': 
Poertner, Ernest J. ; Powell, Earl ; Pethan, Oscar W. H. ; Perry, Elmer J. ; 
Phillip, Noah; Potter, Lilburn A.; Perry, Hiram; Porter, Chas. 

Quint, Wm.; Quinley, Henry Vernon; Quigley, Wm. Oliver; Quint, 
Geo. 

Read, Chas.; Ronan, Lee Albert; Reavis, Henry F. ; Rassmussen, 
Arthur; Rawlins, Howard M. ; Roth, Louis G.; Richey, Charlie; Redmon. 
Chas.; Richey, Alphus N. ; Runkle, Wm. K.; Ross, James A.; Reynolds, 
H. W. ; Richardson, Clarence ; Reynolds, Geo. S. ; Robinson, Press ; Richter, 
John H. ; Robinson, Carter; Rucker, Ray; Roberts, Roy Daniel; Redd, Roy ; 
Rentschler, Samuel D. ; Ries, Herman ; Reed, John Wm. ; Rolfe. Sidney R. ; 
Riggs, Geo. E.; Roberts, Cecil C. ; Riggs, Oscar; Rau, Frank Joseph. 

Schuster, Wilbur J.; Smith, Edgar E. ; Schilb, Francis Oscar; Stretz, 
Wilbur F.; Sims, Roy B.; Spillers, Guy E. : Simms, John W. ; Schmidt, 



HISTORY OF COOPER COUNTY 337 

Edward Joseph; Simmers, Luther; Sanders, Thos. P.; Stegner, Lloyd E.; 
-Stephens, Ralph ; Smith, Walter R. ; Schupp, Wm. ; Stacy, King George ; 
Sevier, Walker ; Smith, P. L. ; Schupp, R. ; Stephens, Lon V. ; Sanders, Jas. ; 
Stuart, Jesse E. ; Stephens, Clyde; Smalley, Joe B. ; Soph, Raymond; 
Sharp, John W. ; Smallwood, Joe ; Schwartz, Joseph H. ; Stephens, Joseph 
L. ; Scott, Willie M. ; Skith, Henry A. ; Shaw, Robert J. ; Schoen, Frank S. ; 
Shackleford, John; Schlup, Ovey; Simmons, Chas. C. ; Salmon, Thos. J.; 
Straub, John F. ; Sweeny, David, Jr.; Smith, Russell B.; Schultz, Frank; 
Steinmetz, Samuel T. ; Smith, Thomas B. ; Schwartz, John C. ; Sanders, 
Lester J.; Simms, Morrison C. ; Schneibner, Carl F. ; Schmidt, Harry L. ; 
Stephens, Whitney A.; Sullins, Elsa Victor; Schrader, Wm. H. ; Selck, 
Hilliard ; Schilb, Alva E. ; Snyder, Lee F. ; Stretz, Norbert ; Stephens, Reid ; 
Sparks, Daniel ; Sombart, Harry E. ; Sieckmann, Wilhelm ; Schupp, Con- 
rad; Smith, Arthur; Schupp, Fritz; Sutton, Lewis H. ; Scholle, Albro; 
Snider, Alex ; Sanders, Timothy ; Strickf adden, Geo. ; Simon, Russell ; 
Schilb, Enslie Irvin; Stapleton, Winston; Schlotzhauer, Hallie C: Sim- 
mons, Roy E. ; Shinn, Henry; Schoen, Charles; Sites, William Lee; Smith, 
Douglass ; Stephens, Walter ; Smith, J. A. ; Schwartz, Jacob John ; Simms, 
Thomas A.; Simpson, Sylvester; Stephens, James; Speaker, Neal F. ; 
Shafer, William 0.; Shemwell, George; Stockard, Frank L. ; Smith, 
Edward B. 

Thompson, Herman ; Turley, John C. ; Trester, John ; Toler, Frank G. ; 
Toley, William B. ; Taylor, Julius; Thompson, Clem Arnold; Toler, Joseph 
A.; Toennis, John Gustave; Theiss, Lawrence; Thomas, Lewis; Turner, 
William C. ; Todd, Frank; Turner, Henry; Tolbert, Floyd A.; Twenter, 
Albert H. ; Tuirtcis, Paungistis ; Taliaferro, Louis G. ; Tompkins, John 
Cheatham ; Thomas, George M. ; Tuttle, Joseph Morton ; Thoma, Frank J. ; 
Teele, Burke; Thompson, Joseph; Templemire, Edward; Trester, Harry 
Peter; Tumy, William H. ; Thomas, John L. ; Terrell, Arthur. 

Utz, Winfield Roy. 

Varnum, F. R.; Vieth, August William; Vamer, Robert E. ; Verts, 
Joseph L. ; Verts, Harry Lee; Verts, Chalos Isaac; Varnum, George W. ; 
Vaugn, Roy R. 

Westerman, Ernest; Wolfe, Lewis E. ; Wiemholt, Fred A.; Williams, 
Lawrence; Whitlow, Henry C; Windsor, Wilbur C; Wright, Harry; 
Woodhouse, Henry; Willson, Willis; Wallace, Roscoe A.; Woodhouse, 
Albert ; Walterscheid, Peter M. ; Williams, Howard ; Wolfe, Oral W. ; Wil- 
liams, Grover C. ; Windsor, Edward H. ; Williams, Charles ; Wilhite, John 
(22) 



338 HISTORY OF COOPER COUNTY 

F. ; Wide], John B. ; Watkins, Theodore ; Wright, Clarence ; Wall, William 
Arthur; Wilson, Charles W. ; Wolfe, William M. ; Weyland, Morgan L. ; 
Windsor, John II. ; Williams, Roy ; Williams, Edwin A. ; Wendleton, John 
E. ; Williams, Charles A. ; Witt, Jeroid Lee ; Wisner, John B. ; Whitlow, 
Elliot W. ; Windsor, John Leonard ; Wassman, Orion F. ; Wilhite, Elea S. ; 
Wallje, Ernest B. ; White, Arthur F. ; White, Walter C. 

Yeager, Frederick W. L. ; Young, Rudolph H. 

Zimmerman, Robert. 

The following names we give as those that appear upon the list that . 
was prepared by the ladies of Boonville that do not appear upon the above 
list prepared by us. 

Biltz, Rolla ; Blank, Albert ; Bonen, Leo Albert ; Brandes, William 
Carl; Bryan, Charles Virgil; Burke, John Joseph; Barr, David Albert; 
Bamby, Earl James. 

Cash, Horace Miller; Campbell, Arthur Harrie; Cannon, James Nel- 
son; Cramer, Ernest Dewitt; Cole, Charles Betteridge; Collegan, Ernest. 

Deimber, Albert. 

Gooseberry, Ernest; Gabriel, Samuel Emery. 

Hutchison, William Thomas; Huffman, Paul Bush. 

Kreeger, Heo. H. ; Kelly. Dr. R. Q. 

Larrimore, William H. 

Meeker, Hiram; Meagher, Leo. James; McElroy, Charles Willey; 
Matheny, William. 

Pfeiffer, John. 

Reed, Nolan Potter; Reynolds, Virgil Lee. 

Stegner, Joseph William; Skinner, Elvie Elmer; Stewart, Wilbur; 
Schmitt, Urban Frank; Stephens, Robert; Smith, Samuel. 

Tuff, Henry G. 

Wilson, Fred W. ; Watson, George; Williams, Douglas Kyril ; Waller, 
Elliott. 

Company B, Third Regiment Infantry, N. G., Boonville, Mo., was 
called into Federal service March 25, 1917, and drafted into Federal service 
August 5, 1917 and consolidated with Co. B, 6th Mo. Infantry and desig- 
nated Co. B, 140th Infantry. 

Captain, Carl F. Scheibner; 1st Lieutenant, Warren T. Davis; 2d 
Lieutenant, William F. Short; 1st Sergeant, Merl Joseph Barnert; Mess 
Sergeant, Juneious C. Davis; Suply Sergeant, Carl A. Miller; Sergeants, 
John P. Logan, Jr., Forest E. Callahan; Corporals, William Lachneij, 
Joseph C. White, Ewell K. Walden; Cooks, Morrison C. Simms, George 



HISTORY OF COOPER COUNTY 339 

Langhans; Buglers, Monte C. Coulter, Edward T. Willard ; Privates, 
Robert Annly, Stephen Y. Bagby, Daniel Becker, Wayne R. Berry, Rolla 
Biltz, Burke E. Bledsoe, Rolla T. Bottom, John W. Buchanan, Arthur L. 
Campbell, Frank W. Cash, John Cauthon, John Cochran, Charles B. Cor- 
nett, Wyatt Cramer, Oscar Crum, Jesse H. Davis, Oscar J. Dewell, James 
L. Donohew, John C. Edwards, Jewell Fenical, Paul R. Goode, Monte H. 
Haller, Rutherford B. Hayes, George Hayes, James J. Haley, Roy P. Haley, 
Tom A. Hickcox, Harry R. Holmer, Henry J. Hilscamp, Ewing Hurt, 
Charles H. Huber, Cecil Jenkins, Eugene E. Johnston, Eugene F. Kleasner, 
James L. Kreeger, George Leininger, Edgar C. Lohse, Sylvanus W. Malott, 
Andrew L. Mayfield, John H. McMellon, Emett H. McRoberts, Carl W. 
Mock, Sam A. Mock, Charles S. Moore, Kemper Moore, Riley W. Murphy, 
Claude L. Muncy, Walker Oswald, Raymond R. Partee, Phillip Peeples, 
David H. Pfeifer, Otto E. Poertner, George Potter, Robert C. Renfrow, 
Earl W. Russell, Albert Schell, William Scotten, Rodney E. Simmons, Web- 
ster Joseph Simmons, Ernest N. Simpson, Fred Sims, Jo B. Smalley, 
Ernest F. Spaete, Robert H. Stephens, Jesse 0. Stillwell, Curtis Stiner, 
Stanley M. Thatcher, William R. Thomas, Ralph A. Tuckley, Robert Von 
Oertzen, Dewey F. Wells, Lon H. Weyland, James White, Roger E. White, 
Richard N. Windsor, Grady T. Wood, William H. Yontz. 

Casualty List. — Through the kindness of Floyd C. Shoemaker, sec- 
retary of the State Historical Society of Missouri, we herein give the 
casualty list of the Cooper County boys. Mr. Shoemaker, at considerable 
trouble, has compiled this list and it is barely possible that it does not 
contain all the casualties, yet in the main it is correct: 

Annley, Robert, private, Boonville, wounded slightly. 

Barnes, Lucien Nelson, private, Blackwater, wounded slightly. 

Berry, Wayne R., private, Speed, wounded (degree undetermined). 

Bietz, Rolland, private, Bunceton, wounded slightly. 

Blackstone, McLawrence, private, Pilot Grove, died of disease (U. 
S. A.). 

Coleman, Wayt J., private, Woodridge, wounded slightly. 

Coulter, Monte C, corporal, Boonville, wounded severely. 

Cramar, Ray, private, Blackwater, wounded severely. 

Dickinson, Jonathan 0., lieutenant, Boonville, wounded slightly. 

Diel, Raymond Felix, private, Pilot Grove, wounded (degree unde- 
termined). 

Diel, O. William, private, Pilot Grove, died of disease (U. S. A.). 

Dishion, Pierce J., private, Bunceton, wounded slightly. 



340 HISTORY OF COOPER COUNTY 

Duncan, Herbert, private, Overton, wounded slightly. 

Embry, Sidney E., private, Cooper County, killed in action. 

Fairfax, Lon S., private, Otterville, died of disease. 

Fowler, Tyre Boon, private, Boonville, wounded (degree undeter- 
mined). 

Haller, Richard William, private, Boonville, died of disease. 

Harlan, George Clark (navy), died of disease. 

Harris, William, lieutenant, Boonville. wounded (degree undeter- 
mined). 

Johns, William Kelley, private, Boonville, killed in action. 

Johnson, Everett Hale, Blackwater, killed in action. 

Junkerman, Albert F., private, Blackwater, died of disease. 

Klien, George J., private, Blackwater, missing in action. 

Knabe, Henry Herman, private, Boonville, wounded (degree unde- 
termined). 

Knoep, Elmer T., private, Prairie Home, wounded severely. 

Kreeger, George H., corporal, Boonville, prisoner, wounded. 

Langkop, Walter T., private, Bunceton, died of disease. 

Logan, John P., sergeant, Boonville, wounded severely. 

Long, Charles C, private, Pilot Grove, wounded slightly. 

Malott, Sylvanus W., private, Pilot Grove, wounded slightly. 

Mayer, Charles H., private, Boonville, wounded severely. 

McAllister, Arthur T., private, Boonville, died of wounds. 

Meyer, Henry R., recruit, Prairie Home, died of disease (U. S. A.). 

Miller, Carl A., private, Boonville, wounded severely. 

Miller, George True, private, LaMine, wounded (degree undeter- 
mined). 

Miller, John L., private, Speed, wounded slightly. 

Miller, Roy F. (navy), Boonville, died of disease (U. S. A.). 

Mock, Samuel A., lieutenant, Boonville, wounded severely. 

Odneal, Hugh B., private, Prairie Home, wounded severely. 

Ohlendorf, Henry E., private, Boonville, wounded severely. 

Poertner, Otto Ernest, private, Boonville, killed in action. 

Robey, William M., private, LaMine, wounded severely. 

Ross, James Alfred, private, Boonville, wounded severely. 

Sanders, Thomas P., private, Boonville, wounded slightly. 

Salmon, Thomas J., private, Otterville, wounded severely. 

Sears, Ernest Cecil, private (marine), Blackwater, wounded severely. 



HISTORY OF COOPER COUNTY 341 

• 

Simmons, Charles C, corporal, Boonville, wounded slightly. 

Simmons, Henry T., private, Boonville, wounded severely. 

Simmons, Rodney E., private, Boonville, wounded slightly. 

Simmons, Webster J., sergeant, Boonville, wounded slightly. 

Smith, Edward B., private, Cooper County, missing in action. 

Smith, Perry D., private, Blackwater, died of disease. 

Speaker, Neal F., sergeant, Otterville, wounded (degree undetermined). 

Spray, Walker, corporal, Boonville, wounded slightly. 

Stephens, Clyde P., private, Bunceton, wounded slightly. 

Stephens, Robert, corporal, Bunceton, wounded severely. 

Stock, August W., corporal, Overton, wounded slightly. 

Stoner, Curtis, private, Pilot Grove, wounded (degree undetermined). 

Straub, John Franklin, bugler, Pleasant Green, wounded (undeter- 
mined) . 

Taylor, George Estel, private, Boonville, died of disease. 

Thoma, Leonard E., mechanic, Boonville, died of wounds. 

Thomas, William, private, Pilot Grove, wounded severely. 

Vaughn, Harley P., corporal, Boonville, wounded severely. 

Watson, George W., mechanic, Blackwater, wounded severely. 

Whitton, Henry C, private, Blackwater, wounded severely. 

Wilson, Arthur C, private (marine), Pleasant Green, wounded se- 
verely. 

Zoeller, Frank S., corporal, Pilot Grove, wounded (degree undeter- 
mined). 

Summary. — From "Statistical Summary of the War with Germany" 
prepared by Col. Leonard P. Ayres authorized by the War Department is 
extracted the following, which, of course, is of interest to our readers: 

Among each 100 Americans five took up arms in defense of the 
country. 

During the Civil War 10 out of every 100 inhabitants of the North- 
ern States served as soldiers or sailors. In that struggle 2,400,000 men 
sei-ved in the Northern army and the navy. 

Between April 6, 1917, and Nov. 11, 1918, when the armistice went 
into effect 4,800,000 men constituted our land and naval forces. Yet 
a force proportional to that put forth by the North during the Civil 
War would have produced nearly 10,000,000 American fighting men. 

The British sent to France in their first year of the war more men 
than did the United States in the first twelve months. On the other 



342 HISTORY OF COOPER COUNTY 

hand, it took England three years to reach a strength of 2,000,000 men 
in France, while the United States was able to place that number across 
the seas in one-half that time. 

The organization of an immense army as that of the United States, 
its equipment and transportation across the ocean has never been equaled 
in the history of the world. 

Two out of every three American soldiers who reached France took 
part in battle. The number that reached France was 2,084,000 and of 
these 1,300,000 were engaged at the front. 

American divisions were in battle for 200 days and engaged in 13 
major operations from the middle of August until the armistice. 

The American divisions held during the greater part of the time a 
front longer than that held by the British in October. The American 
divisions held 101 miles of line or 23 per cent of the entire western front. 

In the battle of Saint Milhiel 550,000 Americans were engaged, as 
compared with 100,000 on the North side in the battle of Gettysburg. 

The artillery fired more than 1,000,000 shells in four hours, which 
is the most intense concentration of artillery fire recorded in the history 
of the world. 

The Meuse-Argonne battle lasted 47 days, during which 1,200,000 
American troops were engaged. 

During the period of hostilities two out of every 100 American sol- 
diers were killed or died of disease. The total battle death of all nations 
in this war was greater than the total of all the deaths of all the wars 
in the previous 100 years. 

For every man killed in battle seven were wounded. 

Five out of every six men sent to hospitals on account of wounds 
were cured and returned to duty. 

In the expeditionary forces battle deaths were twice as many as 
death from disease. 

The number of American lives lost was 122,500, of which about 
10,000 were in the navy and the rest in the army and marines attached 
to it. 

The war cost of America was $21,850,000,000, or approximately 
$1,000,000 an hour. The greatest number of men sent over seas in a 
single month was 306,000 and the largest returned home in a single 
month at the time of the report was 333,000. 



HISTORY OF COOPER COUNTY 343 

The supplies shipped from the United States to France was 7,500,000 
tons in nineteen months. 

The registration of men for the draft was 24,234,021 and of these 
2,810,296 were inducted into service. The largest number inducted into 
the service in a single month was 400,000. 



CHAPTER XXIII. 



MISCELLANEOUS. 



MEXICAN BORDER TROUBLE— GRAND ARMY OF THE REPUBLIC— UNITED VET- 
ERANS OF THE CONFEDERACY— OTTERVILLE TRAIN ROBBERY— SHERIFF 
CRAMER MURDERED— A. B. THORNTON KILLED— THE PROHIBITION QUES- 
TION. 

Mexican Border Trouble. — Company B, 3rd Infantry, National Guard 
of Missouri, was called with other National Guard units for service on the 
Mexican border on June 18, 1916. Capt. R. A. Johnston, who was in com- 
mand, left Boonville with sitxy-seven men for the mobilization camp at 
the government reservation near Nevada, Mo. 

The departure of this organization caused much sorrow among the 
relatives and friends of the men. The citizens turned out in masse, 
escorted the company to the train, and gave the men a rousing send-off. 
After being in camp at Nevada a few days the citizens sent a committee 
headed by the Mayor and presented the company a beautiful silk United 
States standard. 

On June 30, 1916, the men were examined physically and formally 
mustered into the service of the United States. There were now near 
ninety men in the company as Lt. Carl F. Scheibner had been left in Boon- 
ville when the company departed and had gathered in several recruits. 
Also several men recruited in other places had been assigned to Com- 
pany B. 

The physical examination was most rigid and several were disqualified 
and sent back home, among them the captain of Company B. 

The list of those accepted and mustered in the service of the United 
States follows: 

Company B, 3d Infantry, Missouri National Guard. Called into Fed- 



HISTORY OF COOPER COUNTY 345 

eral service June 18, 1916. Mustered into Federal service June 30, 1916. 

Captain, Rea A. Johnston ; 1st Lt., William F. Short ; 2nd Lt., Carl F. 
Scheibner; 1st Sgt, John S. Cobb; Mess Sgt., Carl A. Miller; Sgts., War- 
ren T. Davis, Martene Corum, John Parker Logan, Juneious C. Davis, Wil- 
liam Bell. Corps.: Forrest Callahan, Fred A. Kimlin, Charles Henry 
Huber, James A. Ross, Merl J. Barnert. Cooks: Morrison C. Sims, Paul 
R. Goode. Artificer: George Potter. Buglers: Ralph Brumbaugh, Monte 
Coulter. Privates : Bailey, Curtis F. ; Bottom, Rolla T. ; Campbell, James 
W. ; Cauthon, John; Cochran, John; Cordes, Dewey E. ; Culp, Henry; 
Deuel, Oscar J. ; Finn, William W. ; Fowler, Ira 0. ; Haley, James J. ; Haller, 
Manfred H. ; Howard, Wallace E. ; Hutchison, Presley T. ; Johnston, 
Eugene E. ; Kane, John D. ; Kidwell, John H. ; King, Judd ; Kohn, William 
P. ; Kratzer, Leroy ; Kreeger, James ; Lachner, William G. ; Langhans, 
George ; Lohse, Edgar C. ; Long, William ; McAllister, William ; McRoberts, 
Emmett F. ; Mock, Samuel A.; Moore, Charles S. ; Pack, Hardie; Paxton, 
John; Peeples, Phillip; Potter, Henry V.; Potter, John R., Jr.; Renfrow, 
Robert C. ; Schroeder, Albert W. ; Shea, John E., Jr. ; Sim, Fred ; Simmons, 
Webster J. ; Smalley, Joe B. ; Spaete, Ernest F. ; Stillwell, Jesse 0. ; Sum- 
merskill, Marshal J. ; Tezon, William ; Von Oertzen, Robert ; Walden, Ewell 
K. ; Webster, James H. ; White, Roger E. ; White, Joseph C. ; Wilhite, James 
F. ; Wilmesher, Herman ; Yontz, William H. 

Organizations of Civil War Veterans. — A Grand Army Post was 
organized in Boonville, on Aug. 19, 1885 with seventeen members and 
with the following officers : Col. Joseph A. Eppestein, Commander ; Judge 
T. M. Rice, Senior Vice-Commander; Capt. George Meller, Junior Vice- 
Commander; P. H. McNulty, Quartermaster; Dr. John B. Holman, Sur- 
geon; Sylvester Young, Chaplain; W. C. Culverhouse, Officer of the Day; 
James Mitchell, Officer of the Guard; Franklin Swap, Adjutant; R. W. 
Whitlow, Sergeant-Major ; and W. W. Taliaferro, Quartermaster Sergeant. 
Capt. E. J. Smith, of Sedalia, Mo., was the special mustering officer on 
the occasion. This organization was named John A. Hayn Post No. 240, 
Grand Army of the Republic. The Boonville battle having been the first 
land battle of the Civil War, and John A. Hayn having lost his life in that 
battle, this post was properly named in his honor, he being the first soldier 
who gave his life for the Union in a land engagement. 

Judge T. M. Rice was elected Commander of the Post on Dec. 21, 
1888, and appointed R. W. Whitlow, Adjutant of the Post, who has since 
continuously served as Adjutant of the Post and holds that office at this 



346 HISTORY OF COOPER COUNTY 

time. Mr. Whitlow is now the only surviving member in good standing 
of the charter membership. 

In all this post has had 234 members. Its present membership con- 
sists of only 27 as follows: Joseph Leiber, Commander; R. W. Whitlow, 
Adjutant; C. C. Bell, Chaplain; Peter Trester, Officer of the Day; John W. 
Rudolph, George W. Rudolph, Mathew R. McDowell, Walter Bai-ron, George 
W. Drennen, James P. Tally, John F. Wassmann ; William T. Tally, Officer 
of the Guard; Joseph Memmel, Charles R. Cartner; F. J. Boiler, quarter- 
master; Gottlieb Baumann, George W. Piper, Junior Vice-Commander; 
John F. Dilthey, Senior Vice-Commander; Daniel Muntzel, August Steg- 
ner, Sergeant ; Henry Hoppe, George A. Jacobs, James H. Wilkinson, Henry 
Roesler, Gilbert L. Wilson, Martin L. Weekly, E. H. Rodgers. 

The George B. Harper Camp No. 714 United Veterans of the Con- 
federacy was organized in the city of Boonville, Aug. 17, 1895, with the 
following roster of attending veterans: 

Robert McCulloch, B. F. Bedwell, J. L. Campbell, A. M. George, F. M. 
Davis, J. C. Berry, Jan Halley, H. Allen, James Powell, E. I. Smith, J. H. 
B. Street, T. B. Simmons, Amos O'Neal, R. A. Kirkbride, W. E. Toler, 0. 
F. Arnold, W. W. Trent, J. E. Fairchild, J. W. Williams, Isaac Henry, J. 
M. Givens, A. W. McFarland, Eph Simmons, A. L. Zollinger, John M. 
Boyles, J. H. Zollinger, R. E. Howlett, W. H. Eades, J. A. Howard, A. G. 
Dinwiddie, John Heplin, Dr. H. H. Miller. 

Gen Robert McCulloch was elected Commander of the camp. He ap- 
pointed the following gentlemen to constitute the staff for the eastern 
district for Missouri: 

Maj. Harry Hill, Adjutant General, St. Louis; Maj. James F. Edwards. 
Inspecting General, Forestell ; Maj. Edmund Casey, Quartermaster-Gen- 
eral, Potosi, Washington County; Maj. John S. Mellon, Commissary-Gen- 
eral, St. Louis; Capt. R. E. Howlett, Surgeon-General, Otterville, Mo.; 
Capt. A. L. Zollinger, Aid-de-Camp, Otterville, Mo.; Capt. W. W. Trent, 
Asst. Adjutant-General, Boonville, Mo. 

In 1904 the Gen. Dick Taylor consolidated with the George B. Harper 
Camp under the name of the latter. 

The last meeting of this camp of which we find any record was held 
at Otterville, Mo., on Aug. 10, 1915. At the present time Dr. R. E. Howlett 
is Commander-in-Chief; James Speed, Second Commander; R. T. Draffen, 
Third Commander; and the following appointive officers, C. N. Zollinger, 
Adjutant; Arch George, Quartermaster; W. G. Streit, Commissary. Some 
of the younger officers are sons of veterans. 

The Blue and the Gray have given way to the khaki, one color, one 



HISTORY OF COOPER COUNTY ,'>47 

Union and a united love of country. The ranks of the old veterans are 
sadly thinning. Alas, alas, the fleeting years go swiftly by ! 

Horace in one of his odes, says: 

"Alas, Postumus, Postumus, the fleeting years glide by, 
Nor can piety bring delay to wrinkles, importunate old age, 
And invisible death." 

The modern poet, in his liberal translation has evolved the following 
touching lines. 

"Ah, Postumus, the years, the fleeting years 
Still onwards, onwards glide; 
Nor mortal virtue may 
Time's wrinkling fingers stay, 
Nor Age's sure advance, nor Death's all-conquering stride." 

Otterville Train Robbery.— On the night of the 13th of July, 1876, a 
passenger train on the Missouri Pacific Railroad, was robbed about one 
mile east of Otterville, in Otterville township, by a band of eight men. 
Their names were Frank and Jesse James, Cole and John Younger, Bill 
Chadwell, Clell Miller, Charley Pitts and Hobbs Kerry. 

After opening the safe of the United States Express Company and 
the safe of the Adams Express Company, the robbers proceeded the same 
night to a point on Flat Creek, where they divided the treasure, which 
consisted of about $22,000 in money, and other valuables, such as jewelry, 
bonds, coupons, and exchange, which were being carried east by the 
express companies. They, however, took nothing with them but the 
money. At the point above named, on Flat Creek, Hobbs Kerry, one of 
the band, separated from his companions. Hiding his saddle and bridle 
in the woods, he turned his horse loose on the prairie and walking to 
Windsor, took the Missouri, Kansas and Texas train to his home at Gran by, 
Mo., where some weeks after he was arrested. He confessed the crime 
and guided the officers of the law to the place where the robbers had 
divided the money, and where was found much of the jewelry and other 
valuables taken by them, being such property as they could not well use, 
and were afraid to have on their persons. 

At the November term, 1876, of the Cooper Circuit Court, Hobbs 
Kerry was indicted, and at the April term, in 1877, Kerry was tried, con- 



348 HISTORY OF COOPER COUNTY 

victed and sentenced to four years' imprisonment in the penitentiary. 
James H. Johnston, prosecuted, and John R. Walker, defended. 

Immediately after the train robbery at Otterville, the robbers were 
joined by one of the Younger brothers, the youngest, who supplied the 
place of Kerry, and all proceeded to Northfield, Minn., where on the morn- 
ing of the 7th day of Sept., 1876, in the attempt to rob the bank at that 
place, Bill Chadwell, Clell Miller and Charlie Pitts, were killed outright 
and the three Youngers were wounded, captured, convicted and sentenced 
to the Minnesota penitentiary. The James brothers made their escape and 
were engaged in many robberies subsequent to that time. Jesse James 
was killed by the Ford boys (Bob and Charley), on the 3d of April, 1882. 
Frank James, afterwards, and in Sept., 1882, surrendered himself to Gov- 
ernor Crittenden, of Missouri, in the executive office, in Jefferson City. 
He quietly walked into the governor's office, announced who he was, un- 
buckled his belt, containing his pistols and cartridges, and handing them 
to the governor, surrendered. 

Sheriff Cramer Murdered. — On the night of March 21, 1890, an inci- 
dent occurred which evolved a train of events culminating in the murder 
of a noble officer, and a hangman's noose for the murderer. A man who 
gave his name when arrested as William E. West, and his comanion named 
Temple were ejected from a freight train at Otterville, on the night of 
March 21, 1890. 

Upon being ejected, West, who after proved to be Turlington, shot at 
the brakeman and when he arrived at Sedalia, he was arrested, and served 
a term in jail for carrying concealed weapons. When his time had ex- 
pired, he was brought to Cooper County on a charge of felonious assault 
with a deadly weapon, the shooting at the brakeman having occurred in 
Cooper County. 

Turlington's personality was pleasing, rather than forbidding, an:'. 
he gave no appearance of being the hardened character and criminal 
he was. It was at this time that the warm heart of Thomas C. Cranmer 
went out in sympathy to his prisoner, and it was upon his insistent request 
that the firm of Cosgrove & Johnson, both warm friends of Sheriff Cran- 
mer, undertook the defense of Turlington. By reason of their efforts 
and the intercession of Cranmer Turlington pleaded guilty and received a 
small jail sentence. 

On Satui-day evening, June 14, 1890, after supper had been given the 
prisoners, Sheriff Cranmer entered the jail and stood at the door of the 
lower cell where Turlington was confined, while a trusty removed the 



HISTORY OF COOPER COUNTY 349 

dishes. He was standing with his left hand resting on the door, when 
Turlington suddenly appeared and said, "Come on, throw up your hands." 
Mr. Cranmer steped back and drew his pistol. West sprang through the 
door and fired. The bullet passed through Cranmer's left arm, just above 
the wrist, entered the left side of the abdomen, passed through and struck 
the left kidney, and lodged in his back, just beneath the skin. Almost 
at the same time, Cranmer drew his pistol and fired at Turlington and 
shot at him a second time before Turlington got out the door. 

Cranmer, although mortally wounded, deliberately turned, closed, 
locked the jail door and went into the residence part of the jail and re- 
ported to his wife that he had been shot. Immediately the alarm was 
given and pursuit was instituted. Quite a number of citizens, among 
whom were Joe Green, John Thro, Alex Frost, William Koenig, Frank 
Stover succeeded in locating Turlington, but as they were unarmed, and 
he still carried his large pistol, surrounded him and sent word for arms. 
Marshall W. W. Taliaferro and policeman Frank Stretz were soon on the 
ground, well armed and at their command, the prisoner surrendered and 
was returned to jail. He was out of prison less than an hour. 

When the dying sheriff heard of the capture, with a characteristic 
desire to see the law respected, he requested that no violence should be 
done his assailant and that he should be dealt with according to the laws 
of the land. 

Death closed the eyes of Sheriff Cranmer at about seven-thirty o'clock 
Sunday morning. The news that Mr. Cranmer was dead spread quickly. 
Men gathered in groups on Main street and discussed the terrible and sad 
affair. The indignation so generally felt through the night was more 
bitter than ever, and the feeling that justice should be meted out to the 
murderer at once became intense. 

About noon, great crowds of friends of Cranmer from different sec- 
tions of the county were gathered at the Central National Bank corner 
and as they looked toward the jail,' their faces were stamped with anger 
and the talk was of taking the prisoner out to his death. 

At this time the Rev. Doctor Broaddus ascended the bank steps and 
attracted the attention of the crowd for a short time. He spoke feelingly 
of he sorrowing family of the deceased and pronounced pleasant encom- 
iums upon the character of Cranmer. He told how the widow and children 
had been left in straitened circumstances and that as the husband and 
the father had been slain, while in the services of the community, if the 
people there assembled desired to do something in memory of a worthy 



350 HISTORY OF COOPER COUNTY 

officer, it became them best to raise funds for the assistance of the family, 
rather than wreak their vengeance upon one whom the law would punish. 

His appeal was eloquent and touched a responsive chord in the hearts 
of his hearers and had much to do with curbing the feeling of those who 
might have eventuated into a mob. 

While Turlington was confined in the jail at Sedalia, he met and 
became acquainted with West Hensley, of Sedalia, a youth of some 
eighteen or nineteen years. Turlington promised him that if he would 
secure for him and bring to Boonville, a pistol, he would pay him three 
hundred dollars, and after he had escaped from jail, would take him into 
the business of robbing and stealing. And thus playing upon the imag- 
ination of Hensley, he elicited his interest. Hensley came to Boonville 
the Friday before the murder and slipped the pistol to Turlington, using 
a ladder to reach the window in the upper tier of cells, through which he 
passed the pistol. Hensley was convicted for his part in the crime and 
sentenced to the penitentiary. 

On Monday night, after the tragedy, Turlington confessed that his 
name was not William E. West, but John 0. Turlington, and that his part- 
ner's name was Temple. He also confessed of having robbed a passenger 
train at Prior Creek, I. T., assisted by Temple. Temple was at the time 
serving a term in the Arkansas penitentiary. Turlington had served 
several terms in jail and two penitentiaries and when arrested in this 
county, was eluding the officers of the Tennessee State Prison. 

Turlington was convicted of murder in the first degree and the penalty 
of death was assessed against him. His case came up for trial at the 
July term, 1890, of the Circuit Court, and on the 25th of that month, the 
jury found him guilty of murder in the first degree and he was sentenced 
to be hanged Sept. 11, 1890. His case was appealed to the Supreme Court. 
That court on the 27th da yof January, sustained the decision of the lower 
court, and Friday morning, March 16, 1891, was the time for his execution. 

While his case was before the Supreme Court, on the night of Octo- 
ber 31, he made his escape from the jail under peculiar circumstances, 
while two guards were on duty. He placed a dummy in his bed and by 
this means deceived those who were guarding him. He was recaptured 
in Caseyville, Ky., and once more returned to Boonville. 

Sheriff A. Hombeck, who succeeded the dead sheriff, kept his prisoner 
in a cell day and night, but had no guards. This plan worked well until 
on the morning of Dec. 26, 1890, when the sheriff found that his prisoner 
had once more escaped. He cut out the top of his cell and went through 



HISTORY OF COOPER COUNTY 351 

the trap door of the roof and by the aid of a rope, descended to the ground. 
He stole the sheriffs horse and was once more at liberty. He was re- 
captured the same night at Otterville by Messrs. George Potter and John 
Hayner. This was his third and last escape from the Boonville jail. He 
was hanged in the jail yard. 

Thus ended the career of a desperate man that had brought death 
and sorrow to the county and had tested the loyalty of our citizenship to 
law and order. 

A. B. Thornton Killed.— On Saturday, Nov. 17, 1881, Thomas H. B. 
McDearmon, shot and instantly killed A. B. Thornton, editor of the "Boon- 
ville News". We copy from the "Advertiser" of Nov. 25, 1881: 

"On Saturday afternoon last, about 4:30, our city was suddenly 
thrown into a state of excitement seldom before witnessed here. The 
cause of the excitement was the hearing of many of rapid pistol firing 
up Main street, and the quickly following report that "Tom McDearmon 
had killed Thornton," which report grated only the truth on the ears of 
the unwilling hearers, for Marshal McDearmon had, at a moment when 
maddened with indignation at the publishing of a very severe articie on 
him by the editor of the "News" sought out and shot and instantly killed 
Dr. Thornton. Some weeks ago, Mr. McDearmon and Dr. Thornton had 
a dispute and difficulty over the settlement of an ice bill, which was fol- 
lowed by the publication of a severe article on McDearmon in the "News". 
Mr. McDearmon, though very much aggravated, listened to his friends 
and took no notice of it and since then there has been no very kind feel- 
ings between the two." 

The shooting was the outcome of a series of articles which Thornton 
had published in his paper derogatory to the official conduct of McDearmon. 

McDearmon had a preliminary examination and was bound over to 
answer an indictment at the succeeding term of the Circuit Court. He 
was prosecuted by John R. Walker, county attorney, and defended by Cos- 
grove and Johnston. The case was taken to Boone County, on a change 
of venue, and there tried at the March term in 1882. 

The case was quite an exciting one, there being much interest taken 
in the proceedings and in the result. McDearmon was acquitted. 

The Prohibition Question.— Again in July, 1887, the vital question, 
"Wet or Dry", or "Saloon or no Saloon", was raised in Boonville. This 
campaign was in sharp contrast to that of 1853, to which we have already 
referred. Deep interest was taken in the campaign, but the appeal to the 
voters was rational and free from malice and passion. It was conducted 



352 HISTORY OF COOPER COUNTY 

by the citizens of Boonville and no imported talent was brought into the 
city to arouse to riotous feelings those who could be so affected. The 
ministers of the city were active, and those in favor of the saloons wer<? 
equally so. The remarkable feature of this campaign was that no hard 
feelings were engendered and after the result of the election was made 
known, friends were yet friends, and neighbors still neighbors. The spirit 
of live and charity prevailed. At this time there were probably twelve 
or fifteen saloons in Boonville, and the temperance wave was not nearly 
so strong and great as it has been in recent years. Yet the saloons pre- 
dominated only by a majority of 105, the vote for the saloons being 428 
and against 323. 

The "Wet and Dry" issue was not again raised in Boonville until the 
year 1915. At this time a large tabernacle, at the cost of between two 
and three thousand dollars, was erected in the city and Rev. Charles T. 
Wheeler was secured to conduct therein a revival. Mr. Wheeler was an 
experienced dry leader and the meeting was soon turned into an organ- 
ization to direct the campaign for the "drys". He was a forceful and 
strong speaker and in his arguments used plain and not always pleasant 
words. 

Great crowds attended the meetings, both from the city and from the 
surrounding country. The support of the preachers and various congre- 
gations were elicited and secured. Day by day the excitement increased 
and the feeling was intensified. On a proper petition, an election was 
called in the city of Boonville for Dec. 3, 1915. Those who advocated 
the saloons or the saloon organization brought into the city speakers from 
a distance, who held their meetings in the opera house, which on each 
occasion was crowded and packed. Yet on the occasion of each of these 
meetings the tabernacle of the Drys was equally thronged. A week or 
so before the day of the election the Drys in squads of fives or sixes 
patrolled the streets and alleys of the city during the late hours of the 
night and the early hours of the morning. 

Just before the election at night a monster and spectacular parade 
was organized by the Drys in which participated men, women, boys and 
girls, both from the surrounding country and the city. They were garbed 
in sheets fashioned around them with a red cross showing in front. Many 
men were horseback and a great number of automobiles, loaded to their 
capacity, made up part of this parade, all of which intensified and 
strengthened the feelings of the respective parties to the issue. 

The result of this election of December 3, was 721 for, 405 against, 
the majority in favor of licensing saloons being 316. 



HISTORY OF COOPER COUNTY 353 

The Drys, however, not being discouraged, by proper petition called 
for an election on the same issue in the county, excluding Boonville. This 
campaign was orderly and well conducted and no special bitterness was 
aroused in the country. The election was held on Feb. 10, 1916, which 
resulted as follows: Against, 1,756, for, 1,445, showing that outside of 
Boonville, the majority against the licensing of saloons was 311. 

It is to be hoped that time will soon heal the wounds caused by the 
campaign of 1915, that the years will not be many before those who were 
deeply interested in the exciting controversy can look back upon it as an 
experience of the past and its incidents not to be held with prejudice 
against those with whom they differed and with whom they now mingle 
and associate from day to day. It is the common experience of mankind 
that when ones interest becomes too deeply intensified and feeling runs 
riot the tongue becomes an unruly member and even he who has' been 
known as well balanced may do and say things that in cooler moments he 
would not care to say and do. It is therefore well to draw the veil of 
charity over the faults and foibles of our neighbors, who perchance may 
have given way to the enthusiasm and excitement of the moment. 

The statu quo with reference to saloons continued until June 30, 1919. 
Saturday, June 28th and Monday, 30th, were active, busy days in Boon- 
ville, especially at nights when the streets were hardly long enough nor 
broad enough to accommodate the numerous automobiles from far and 
near. On these days some of the erstwhile dry leaders as well as the 
occasional Wet advocates and practitioners were protecting themselves 
from the drouth to come. The saloons did an enormous business. On 
both days the crowd was good-natured and there was neither rejoicing 
or shedding or tears. Monday night marked the last night of the saloons 
under the act of Congress closing them during the period of war and until 
the demobilization of the army. National prohibition goes into effect in 
Jan., 1920, but even before the constitutional amendment of prohibition 
was ratified by the states three-fourths of the United States was already 
dry territory. Of the 48 states, 32 were "bone-dry" without any federal 
law, and local option had dried up practically three-fourths of the remain- 
ing territory. Whether or not the saloons will be permitted to open 
before Jan., 1920, the future historian must record. 



(23) 



CHAPTER XXIV. 



BIOGRAPHICAL HISTORY 



Hon. Jacob Friedrich Gmelich. — Success is measured by the degree 
of an individual's accomplishments during his lifetime, what he does in 
his own behalf and in behalf of his fellow men are taken as true crite- 
rions of the measure of his success. If this be true, the late Hon. Jacob 
F. Gmelich, for many years an influential figure in Cooper County and 
Missouri, was a successful citizen in every sense. Coming to America 
from a foreign land in his boyhood days, making of himself a skilled arti- 
san, becoming a shrewd and successful business man, engaging in politics, 
and evincing ability as a statesman, he held two of the highest offices 
within the gift of the people of Missouri when at the zenith of his inter- 
esting career. 

Mr. Gmelich was born July 23, 1839, and died Feb. 21, 1914. At the 
age of 12 years he accompanied his parents, Jacob and Barbara (Walter) 
Gmelich, to America. After remaining in Ohio a short time, the family 
located at Peru, 111., where Mr. Gmelich was reared and educated, learn- 
ing the trade of watchmaker and jeweler. He spent two years in Chi- 
cago, employed at his trade ; then spent one and a half years in St. Louis ; 
was married in 1861, and in May of that year he located in Boonville. 
During the previous year he had made a trip to Boonville and purchased 
the stock and good will of a small jewelry store. During the Civil War 
he was a member of the Missouri State Guards, and participated in the 
Battle of Boonville. When Shelby's raiders captured Boonville, his store 
was looted, but Mr. Gmelich induced the commanding officer to give him 
a receipt for the watches belonging to his patrons which were taken away 
by the Confederates. His store was closed for six weeks while he was 
away on soldier duty. In 1864, he went to St. Louis, made a visit to 
Peru, 111., and then remained in St. Louis until the close of the Civil War 
in 1865. A brother, Gottlieb Gmelich, was a soldier in the Union Army. 
After the war, Mr. Gmelich built up an extensive business in Boonville 
and the surrounding country, and amassed considerable wealth. He pur- 
chased a three-story brick residence on High Street, where the family 
lived for 28 years prior to taking up his residence in Jefferson City. Upon 
his return from the State capital he began building one of the finest homes 
in Boonville, which was half completed when death called him. 



HISTORY OF COOPER COUNTY 355 

Mr. Gmelich served as president of the Boon-ville Commercial Bank 
for a number of years, and owned considerable real estate in Boonville, 
besides his controlling interest in the large jewelry store operated under 
the name of Gmelich & Schmidt. He was also interested in Kansas City 
real estate. 

Mr. Gmelich's political career was a noteworthy one. He served as 
mayor of Boonvile for eight years during a time when the duties of mayor 
included that of police judge. He was always a consistent booster for a 
greater and better Boonville and continuously advocated the securing of 
factories and public improvements for the city. One of his ambitions 
was to secure the building of a wagon bridge across the Missouri River. 
He became prominent in republican politics throughout the State, and in 
November 1904, he was elected to the office of State treasurer, and served 
in this high office from Jan. 1, 1905, to Jan. 1, 1909. His next State 
office was the post of lieutenant governor of Missouri, with Gov. Herbert 
L. Hadley's administration. 

May 8, 1861, Jacob F. Gmelich and Miss Doris Mueller were united in 
marriage. Mrs. Doris (Mueller) Gmelich was born in Germany, Sept. 
27, 1842, and is a daughter of Carl and Johanna (Bishop) Mueller, who 
emigrated from Germany and settled in Illinois, later locating at Collins- 
ville, 111. When 14 years of age, the future Mrs. Gmelich came to Amer- 
ica, accompanied by three sisters and a brother: Mrs. Minna Mueller, 
East St. Louis, 111. ; Mrs. Eliza Raybock, widow of a Union veteran, Col- 
linsville, 111.; and Mrs. Christina Schappino, St. Jacobs, 111.; Emil Mueller 
died in St. Louis. Two brothers were already in America, namely: Ern- 
est Mueller, died later in California, at the age of 94 years ; and August, 
died in St. Louis in 1898; Mrs. Annistina Schmidt lives in California; 
Mrs. Carola Witte, Aberdeen, S. D. 

No children were born to Mr. and Mrs. Gmelich, but they have had 
an adopted child, a daughter of Emil Mueller whom they adopted at the 
age of one and a half year, Louise, wife of Max E. Schmidt, proprietor of 
the Gmelich & Schmidt Jewelry Store. The wedded life of Jacob and 
Doris Gmelich was a very happy and prosperous one. During their 
earlier years, when trials and vicissitudes often came upon them they 
stood side by side and bore their hardships with fortitude and with a 
bright and optimistic outlook into the future. The Gmelich store was 
frequently raided and stripped by the Confederates during the Civil War, 
and one of the interesting relics which is preserved as indicating customs 
of raiders during the Civil War is a receipt signed by the rebel commander 



356 HISTORY OF COOPER COUNTY 

for a bunch of watches taken by force from the Gmelich store and which 
reads: "Taken by Force of Arms — a Batch of Watches." 

During the eighties, Mr and Mrs. Gmelich made a tour of Europe 
and remained for six months. May 8, 1911, their fiftieth or golden wed- 
ding anniversary was celebrated in Jefferson City, Mo., in the governor's 
mansion. A dinner was served and the celebration was a notable one in 
the history of the State Capital, hundreds of people attending from all 
parts of the State. Two days later the golden wedding was again cele- 
brated at the Schmidt residence in Boonville, many relatives and friends 
taking part. 

During the early seventies, Mr. Gmelich served as a member of the 
Missouri State Legislature. At the time of his election to the position 
of lieutenant governor, the vote was so close that Gmelich's margin was 
but 75 votes over Painter, his opponent. Painter instituted a contest 
and it was found that Mr. Gmelich's majority was 275 votes. His attor- 
ner at that time was the present Senator Spencer of Missouri. A hand- 
some silver loving cup was presented to Mr. Gmelich by the Senate of 
the 45th General Assembly of Missouri, over which he presided at the 
close of the session of 1909, as a token of their esteem for him. A hand- 
somely engraved golden loving cup, presented by relatives on the occasion 
of the golden wedding anniversary, and highly prized by Mrs. Gmelich, 
bears the inscription, "1861-1911." 

Mr. Gmelich was a member of the Evangelical Church, and lived an 
upright and Christian life. He was liberal to a fault, loved his home 
city, was charitably inclined and supported all worthy enterprises with a 
free purse and an influential voice. He was prominent in the affairs of 
the Independent Order of Odd Fellows, was patriarch of the Grand Lodge 
of Missouri, and frequently attended the sessions of the Grand Lodge of 
America. Aug. 22, 1880, he received a commission as colonel of the 
First Regiment of Missouri, Patriarchs Militant. He served for one year 
as grand master of the Missouri Odd Fellows. His life was worth while; 
he left memories of a man who did his duty by himself, his family, his 
home city and county, and his country which had given him the opportu- 
nity to make of himself what he was. 

Charles A. Sombart. — The Sombart family have been one of the 
most prominent and substantial families in Boonville for over 80 years. 
Members of this old pioneer family have been closely identified with the 
commercial and industrial history of Cooper County since the first advent 
of the ancestor of Charles A. Sombart into Cooper County in 1837. They 
have been industrial developers, and men of progress and initiative, and 



HISTORY OF COOPER COUNTY 357 

have used their capital for the betterment and advancement of their home 
city. Charles A. Sombart, retired miller, of Boonville, is a worthy de- 
scendent of excellent ancestors, and has been a builder and developer of 
the most progressive type. He was born in Boonville, Nov. 22, 1856. 

The history of the Sombart family begins with William Sombart, 
who was born in Burg by Harrtingen on the Ruhr, Prussia, Sept. 22, 
1796. He came of a good family and was well educated in his native land. 
He studied at the University of Berlin and became a skilled engineer. 
During the German War he volunteered in the army and fought under 
Marshall Blucher in the battle of Ligney, June 16, 1815. When 22 years 
of age he was given the office of inspector of roads in Olpe, and later had 
charge of the roads in Gielenkirchen by Achen. Illness, caused by hard- 
ships endured during his war service, necessitated his retirement from 
the service on a pension. He married Julia Westhoff, the daughter of 
a minister, and after his marriage they resided at Bonn. In 1837 he 
immigrated to America, and after a stay of some months in St. Louis, he 
came to Cooper County and located on a farm near Billingsville, where, 
on account of having independent means of his own, he took life easy and 
lived comfortably. He retired from the farm in old age and located in 
Boonville, where he died at the ripe old age of 82 years. His wife died 
Aug. 7, 1872. They reared a family of seven children. 

His son, Charles William Sombart, father of Charles A Sombart, of 
this review, was born in Olpe, Province of Westphalia, Prussia, May 2, 
1820. He first attended school in Germany and completed his education 
in Cooper County. He was reared on his father's farm, and in 1849, he 
and his brother, Julius, became inoculated with the prevailing "gold 
fever," and made the overland trip to Californa, where they remained 
until 1852. They engaged in mining and trading, and were very suc- 
cessful, laying the foundation of their future large fortunes. Upon their 
return to Boonville, in 1852, the brothers engaged in the milling business 
under the firm name of C. W. & J. Sombart. They commenced with a 
small, old-fashioned mill, a short distance below the Sombart mill in 
Boonville, but a few years later acquired the present Sombart Milling Co. 
property. They soon built up an extensve milling business and by addi- 
tions and improvements to their property created one of the most valu- 
able and best known milling properties in central Missouri. In 1879 the 
concern was reorganized and became the Sombart Milling and Mercantile 
Company, C. W. Sombart, president. 

Aside from his milling business, Judge Sombart dealt, largely in the 



358 HISTORY OF COOPER COUNTY 

purchase and sale of real estate, and became the owner of much fine 
property in Boonville. He was interested in the "Star" line of Missouri 
River steamers. Jan. 6, 1852, he was married to Mi-s. Catherine Thro, 
formerly Catherine Robinrith, born in Alsace, and coming from there to 
St. Charles County, Mo. She died May 10, 1885. The following children 
were born to this marriage: William Alexander, Kate, Charles Augustus, 
of this review; Fannie, Frank Siegel, Robert Nathaniel, and Henry 
Edward. All of these are deceased excepting W. Alexander, a resident 
of Boonville ; Charles A. ; and Robert N., who resides in St. Louis. Judge 
Sombart was married the second time to Mi's. Sophie Hain, widow of the 
late George Hain, of Boonville. Judge Sombart departed this life in 
June, 1898. He was prominent in the affairs of the republican party, 
but was never ambitious for political preferment. He served the people 
in various capacities, such as a member of the Board of Education, and 
judge of the County Court. He held the latter office for four years and 
ably served the people of Cooper County during that time. Judge Som- 
bart was a director in the old Central National Bank, and the Commercial 
Bank of Boonville. 

Charles A. Sombart, of this review, was reared in Boonville, and 
studied at the private school conducted by Prof. Allison, one of the found- 
ers of Kemper Military School at Boonville. When the Sombart Milling 
Company was incorporated in 1876, he became a member of the organiza- 
tion with his brother, William Alexander, and a cousin. After the death 
of Judge Sombai-t, he and a brother, Henry E. Sombart, bought control 
of the milling company and conducted the business successfully until 
1909, when Charles A. Sombart became sole owner of the business, as a 
family corporation. Dec. 25, 1918, he sold the mill to a corporation and 
retired from active business, having been a miller from 1876 to 1896, 
and been engaged in the business for 42 years. Mr. Sombart has well 
earned his retirement. He has, like his father before him, always taken 
a commendable interest in local enterprises and invested his working 
capital so as to benefit his home city. He was one of the organizers of 
the Farmers Bank and the Citizens Trust Company of Boonville, and is 
financially interested in the Boonville National Bank. For some time 
he was president of the Farmers Bank, and was president of the Citizens 
Trust Company until its amalgamation. He is largely interested in 
Boonville real estate, and has always been a worker for the best interests 
of Boonville, its growth and advancement. 

In 1905, Mr. Sombart erected the Hotel Frederick, an imposing, mod- 



HISTORY OF COOPER COUNTY 359 

ern structure, costing over $40,000. This investment was mainly for the 
purpose of providing Boonville with a modern hostelry, and has never 
paid him an adequate return on the investment. Mr. Sombart erected 
this building at a time when there was a crying need for a modern hotel 
in Boonville, and others were loath to place money in a venture which 
did not promise an adequate financial return. 

Mr. Sombart has one of the most beautiful residence properties in 
Boonville, which he erected. Mr. Sombart also built the block at the 
southwest corner of High and Main Streets. He was married Feb. 2, 
1887, to Mary Frances Brechwald, of Galesburg, 111., a daughter of Charles 
Brechwald. Mrs. Mary Frances Sombart died Nov. 17, 1917, at the age 
of 57 years. Three children were born to this marriage, two of whom 
are living: Helen Frances and Frederick Charles, at home in Boonville. 
Frederick C. is a member of the Ancient Free and Accepted Masons and 
Knights of Pythias. Mr. Sombart is a republican, but has never had 
aspiration for office or political matters to any great extent. His children 
are members of the Episcopalian Church, and he is affiliated with the 
Knights of Pythias. 

Charles J. Walden, editor and publisher of the "Weekly Advertiser", 
Boonville, Mo., is a native Missourian, and one of the "old timers" in 
newspaperdom in this section. He was born in Carroll County, Oct. 27, 
1844, and is a son of James M. Walden, a native of Indiana. His father 
went overland to California, and died there in 1851. His mother brought 
her family to Howard County in 1852, and in 1855 Charles was appren- 
ticed to learn the printer's trade. He worked in the office of the "Howard 
County Banner" for four years and then studied for one year at Central 
College, Fayette. 

In 1861 he enlisted for sei*vice in the Confederate Army under Gen. 
J. B. Clark and for six months served with the Richmond Grays. His 
last service was in the Trans-Mississippi department under command of 
Gen. Joseph 0. Shelby. April 13, 1865, he stacked arms with many of 
his comrades at Shreveport, La. Upon his return home he found things 
in such an unsettled state that he went to Illinois. After remaining 
there for about one year he returned to Missouri and settled at Glasgow 
in 1867. 

In 1872, Mr. Walden purchased the "Weekly Advertiser" at Fayette. 
In 1895 he was editor of the Nevada, Mo., "Daily Mail" for one year. In 
1896 Mr. Walden took charge of the "Sedalia Daily Sentinel" and pub- 
lished this paper for three years; was appointed beer inspector by Gov- 



360 HISTORY OF COOPER COUNTY 

ernor Stephens in 1898 and served two years. In 1890 he went to Bruns- 
wick and was engaged in newspaper work in that city until the construc- 
tion work began on the St. Louis World's Fair buildings. He then re- 
ceived the appointment as chief of the Labor Bureau in connection with 
the Exposition and remained in that capacity until the close of the Louisi- 
ana Exposition. In April, 1905, he purchased the "Weekly Advertiser" 
at Boonville, and took charge of the newspaper in May of that same year. 
The "Advertiser" is a newsy, well edited and well printed newspaper 
which has a large circulation in Cooper County. 

Mr. Walden is the father of seven children as follow: Wilbur L., a 
linotype operator, employed on the "Globe Democrat", St. Louis, Mo. ; Jem- 
mie M., wife of J. G. Jones, general manager of the Hamilton Commercial 
College, New York City ; Jessie B., wife of William M. Patterson, a bank 
cashier, Monroe City, Mo. ; Fred H., an advertising man employed on the 
"Globe Democrat" staff; Homer, located in Jersey City, N. J.; Charles, 
buyer for a feed commission house of St. Louis, Mo. ; whose headquarters 
are at Farmington, Mo. ; Spahr, a druggist, St. Louis, Mo. 

Mr. Walden is a democrat in politics and the policy of the "Adver- 
tiser" is democratic. His family are worshipers at the Methodist Epis- 
copal Church, South. He is a Mason and a member of the Knight Temp- 
lars. 

Mr. Walden served as postmaster of Fayette, Mo., for four years and 
six months under the administration of Grover Cleveland. 

Col. Thomas Alexander Johnston. — When one thinks of the Kemper 
Military School of Boonville, it is only natural to think also of Col. T. A. 
Johnston, the commandant and head of this famous institution. The pres- 
tige, strength and popularity of this school throughout the Middle West 
is due to the executive and organizing ability of Colonel Johnston. Pri- 
marily founded in 1844 as a school of higher learning for young men, its 
popularity as a school for training young men both physically and men- 
tally has been enhanced from year to year. The school has had its 
greatest growth since the year 1872, when Col. Johnston, a former stu- 
dent of the school, having graduated from the State University, became 
assistant principal, succeeding to the superintendence^ in 1881. In Col. 
Johnston are combined the attributes of a splendid teacher, a strict dis- 
ciplinarian, an excellent business man and financier — a combination rarely 
found among scholarly men, or among those who have devoted their lives 
to teaching. Col. Johnston was born an educator, became a business 
man, and developed a talent as an organizer which is unsurpassed by men 




COL. T. A. JOHNSTON 



HISTORY OF COOPER COUNTY 361 

of his class. One has but to look at the group of splendid buildings, cost- 
ing many thousands of dollars, which have been erected on the Kemper 
Military School grounds during his regime as superintendent of the school, 
gee with pleasure the fine appearing young men who have had training 
and instruction in the halls of Kemper, to realize that this school is an 
institution of which any Cooper County citizen can rightly boast. Kem- 
per Military School is distinctly a Boonville institution, its builder is a 
native son of Cooper County, and a descendent of one of the older Cooper 
County pioneers, who has spent practically all of his life in the county of 
his birth. Col. Thomas A. Johnston was bom on a farm in Cooper 
County, 11 miles south of Boonville, Nov. 13, 1848. He is a son of John 
Benoni Johnston, and a grandson of Alexander Johnston, who settled in 
Cooper County in 1817, when this section of Missouri was largely an 
unpeopled wilderness. The family is of Southern origin, and its mem- 
bers were among prominent families of Tennessee and the Carolinas. 

The Johnston family is also one of the oldest in America. The his- 
tory of the family in America begins with Gavin Johnston, a native of 
North Ireland, who came to America prior to the Revolution and settled 
in Pennsylvania where he was killed by Indians while plowing in his 
fields. His family or descendents moved to North Carolina and settled 
in the vicinity of Waxhaw. Alexander Johnston, great-grandfather of 
Col. T. A. Johnston, was a soldier in the American Army of Independence, 
and fought at the Battle of "The Cowpens." After the close of the Revo- 
lution, Alexander removed to Tennessee, and settled in the vicinity of 
McMinnville, where he reared his family. His wife, prior to her mar- 
riage: was Margaret Barnett, a daughter of Robert Barnett, an officer in the 
American Army, who served in the Revolution. Alexander Johnston was 
father of four sons, Gavin, Robert B., James, and Alexander, who migrated 
to Cooper County. Mo., in 1817. He had one daughter, Mary. 

Alexander Johnston, grandfather of Thomas A. Johnston, settled in 
the New Salem neighborhood, just north of New Salem Church, and en- 
tered Government land. He developed a farm and there spent the re- 
mainder of his days. He was born July 16, 1787, and died Feb. 2, 1839. 
He married Rachel Thaxton, who died shortly after the birth of John 
Benoni Johnston, father of Col. T. A Johnston. After her death he mar- 
ried Mary Hammond, born March 7, 1795; died Sept. 22, 1863; married 
Dec. 6, 1813. To this marriage were born: Rachel Dillard, Nancy McFad- 
den, Margaret Barnett, Finis Ewing, Sarah Jenkins, Robert Morrow, 
Harbert Hammonds, Martha Ann, Mary Jane. 



362 HISTORY OF COOPER COUNTY 

John Benoni Johnston was born Aug. 30, 1812, and died Feb. 6, 1888. 
He entered land adjoining his father's home place, and spent his life as a 
farmer. He was twice married. His first wife was Elizabeth Ann Rob- 
inson, who was born May 21, 1818, and died Dec. 19, 1844. The date of 
this marriage was Dec. 17, 1835. There were five children born to this 
marriage: Mary Margaret, born Jan. 9, 1837, and died May 22, 1911. 
She became the wife of Shelton Parsons, Aug. 12, 1873, and at her death 
left a daughter, Maggie May. The other children were: Rachel Jane, 
Sarah Ann, Susan Ellen, and Elizabeth Robinson. 

Rachel Jane Johnston was born Dec. 22, 1838. married Robert Willis 
March 26, 1868, and is mother of a son, William Benoni Johnston, of 
Boonville. Sarah Ann Johnston was born June 29, 1840, and died Sept. 
21, 1909. She married Manson B. Simmons Feb. 28, 1866, and bore him 
seven children, four of whom are living: William Henry, Ella, Bettie 
Johnston, and John Kelly Simmons. Susan Ellen Johnston was born Jan. 
4, 1842, and died Jan. 26, 1917. Elizabeth Robinson Johnston, the fifth 
child, died in infancy. The second marriage of John Benoni Johnston 
was on June 1, 1846, with Miss Margaret Harris, who was born Jan. 21, 
1821, and departed this life Aug. 4, 1912. The children born of this 
marriage are: Robert Barnett, Thomas Alexander, William Franklin, 
Elizabeth, George Washington, and James Ewing. Robert Barnett John- 
ston was born March 6, 1847, spent his life as an agriculturist in Cooper 
County, and died March 23, 1908. William Franklin Johnston was born 
Feb. 21, 1857, and resides in Warrensburg, Mo. Elizabeth was born 
April 2, 1853, and is the wife of William A. Hurt, a farmer near Boon- 
ville. George Washington Johnston was born Aug. 22, 1856, and died in 
New Mexico, Feb. 4, 1904. James Ewing Johnston was born Feb. 1, 1859. 
He is an electrical engineer in Denver, Colo. 

The Johnstons were adherents of William the Conqueror, and the 
ancestors of the Johnstons in America received a grant of land on the 
southern border of Scotland for their fealty to the king, the seat of the 
family being known as Johnstown on the River Annan in Annandale, 
Scotland. They took a prominent part in the border warfare between 
the Scottish people and England, and were given the task of guarding 
the border until the pacification of the centuries old warfare which cul- 
minated in the union of Scotland and England under one crown. The 
direct ancestor of Col T. A. Johnston, then, with hundreds of others who 
sought freedom from persecution, moved to the north of Ireland. 



HISTORY OF COOPER COUNTY 363 

The early education of Thomas Alexander Johnston was obtained in 
the district school and Kemper School. After completing his prepara- 
tory course at the Kemper School he entered the State University at 
Columbia, and was graduated from this institution in 1872 with the 
degree of Bachelor of Arts and later Master of Arts. He at once became 
a member of the faculty of the Kemper School, and upon the death of 
Mr. Kemper, he succeeded him as the principal, receiving a well earned 
promotion from assistant principal to the superintendency, March 9, 1881. 

Fro^n the day on which Col. Johnston took charge of the Kemper 
School there has been steady and consistent progress. Each year has 
seen an increase in the enrollment of the school, which now totals 510 
pupils with a faculty of 28 members. New and more modern buldings 
have been erected to accommodate the increasing enrollment, and the 
military training which is given the students is recognized as official by 
the War Department of the Federal Government. The credit of this 
great growth is due to the enterprise, ambition, and able management of 
Col. Johnston, who like a good executive, has surrounded himself with 
capable assistants, who are also imbued with the desire to enhance and 
maintain the enviable reputation enjoyed by the Kemper Military School 
throughout the United States. 

June 27, 1877, Thomas Alexander Johnston and Miss Carrie Frances 
Rea, of Saline County, Mo., were united in marriage. Mrs. Johnston was 
born near Slater, Mo., and is a daughter of Rev. Peter G. Rea, who was a 
prominent minister of the Cumberland Presbyterian Church for many 
years. The children born to this marriage are: Bertha, Rea Alexander, 
Harris Cecil, Alice Ewing. Major Rea Alexander Johnston is assistant 
superintendent and tactical military officer of the Missouri Training 
School at Boonville. He' married Grace Mosher, of Oneida, 111., and has 
one son, William Johnston. Bertha is the wife of Major A. M Hitch, 
principal of the Kemper Military School. Major and Mrs. Hitch have 
two children, Charles Johnston and Thomas Kemper Hitch. Harris Cecil 
Johnston is quartermaster of the Kemper Military School, and has charge 
of all supplies used. He married Georgia Wooldridge and has two chil- 
dren, Marjorie and Caroline. Alice Ewing is the wife of Major R. J. 
Foster, of the United States Army, stationed at Washington, D. C. 

Colonel Johnston is a democrat; he is a director of the Commercial 
Bank of Boonville, and is an elder of the Presbyterian Church of his home 
city. 



364 HISTORY OF COOPER COUNTY 

Hon. John Cosgrove. — For 56 years, John Cosgrove, dean of the 
Cooper County Bar, has successfully practiced law. During his 54 years 
of residence in Boonville, he has not only been an honored and respected 
leader of the legal profression in this section of Missouri, but he has been 
a very useful and progressive citizen, who has always had the vision of 
a greater and richer Boonville. Mr. Cosgrove has filled various official 
and honorary positions with both honor and credit to himself and to 
Cooper County, and his time and talents have been devoted to the upbuild- 
ing of his home city. He has likewise distinguished himself in the halls 
of the National Assembly. Despite his advanced age of four score years, 
Mr. Cosgrove is an erect, upright, commanding figure — a man among 
men — vigorous and alert, both mentally and physically, and a leader of 
men. 

John Cosgrove was born near Alexandria, Jefferson County, N. Y., 
Sept. 12, 1838, and is the son of James and Mary (Farrell) Cosgrove, who 
were parents of nine children. 

James Cosgrove, the father, was born June 18, 1797, and died Nov. 
6, 1879. He was a son of Henry Cosgrove, a native of Ireland, who immi- 
grated to America when a youth, later returned to Ireland, finally dying 
at the home of his son, Dr. Daniel Cosgrove. James Cosgrove married 
Mary Farrell. born Dec. 25, 1806, and died at Redwood, N. Y., May 6, 1892. 
James Cosgrove was a farmer all of his days, and while not a wealthy 
man, was considered as well-to-do. 

Reared on his father's farm, John Cosgrove had few of the advan- 
tages now easily obtained by the youth of the present day. Gifted with 
ambition to excel and to raise himself to a higher position in life, he at- 
tended the Redwood High School and prepared himself for the teaching 
profession. He taught three terms of school after 1859. He became 
imbued with the Western fever. With four companions he set out for 
Pike's Peak in 1859 with a hand-cart containing the baggage and provis- 
ions of the little company from Leavenworth, Kan., the party having come 
up the Missouri River, and made a brief stop at Boonville. Mr. Cosgrove 
was so impressed with the beauty of the location of the then thriving 
town on the Missouri River, and so taken with its possibilities, that he 
ever bore the city in mind until his later permanent location seemed to 
fulfill a dream. The boys started out from Leavenworth, pulling their 
hand-cart, and after 30 days of arduous traveling three of the young 
fellows cried "enough," and started on the return trip. Young Cosgrove 
and Helmer, his other companion, however, were made of different mate- 
rial, and they determined to go the entire distance. Joining another 




JOHN COSGROVK 



HISTORY OF COOPER COUNTY 365 

cavalcade they eventually arrived at their destination. Denver, Colo., 
at that time, was but a small cluster of about 150 shacks. The boys 
prospected for gold in the mountains, and, like countless others, sought 
in vain. After the two young adventurers decided that they had had 
enough of Western mining life, they walked back across the plains. Cos- 
grove stopped at Nemaha City, Neb., on the western bank of the Missouri 
River, and bought a skiff with which he intended to journey down the 
river. Not long after embarking on the journey down the river, the 
boat struck a hidden snag, filled with water and sank. The unfortunate 
traveler managed to get on an island in the river, was taken off to safety, 
and made his way to White Cloud, where he boarded the steamboat, 
"Iatan," and arrived at St. Joseph, Mo., June 30, 1859. He again worked 
his way to Quincy, 111., by way of the Hannibal and St. Joseph Railroad. 
From Quincy he took the Burlington Road to Chicago. Young Cosgrove 
had no money, but the long trip and the outdoor life had so filled him 
with resourcefulness that he persuaded the captain of the "H. E. Mussey," 
a lake steamer, to allow him to work his passage to Oswego, N. Y. Dur- 
ing the second mate's watch some time during the voyage he was called 
out by the first mate to help furl the topsail. He climbed up the main 
mast, but was so weak from privation and semi-starvation that he lost 
his balance as the vessel keeled, and had it not been for his boot catching 
in the "rattle" where the ropes were criss-crossed he would have gone 
into the lake. When the vessel rolled back to an upright position he 
again took hold of the ladder and went down to the deck, dropping a dis- 
tance of 10 feet. The first mate again ordered him to climb the mast. 
He was unable to do so and the mate accused him of mutiny and threat- 
ened him with punishment. The second mate then came on the deck and 
espoused his cause. He eventually arrived at Oswego. Young Cosgrove 
was acquainted with the captain of the steamboat which ran from Oswego 
clown to Alexander and readily received permission to ride home. On the 
trip the engine of the boat broke down and it was 10 o'clock at night 
before the boat arrived at her berth in Alexandria Bay. He started out, 
tired, weary, and hungry, to walk the four miles to his father's home. 
Two and a half miles on the road he stopped at a famous spring, drank 
his fill of water that tasted like nectar, rested, and arrived home like a 
returned prodigal son, at daylight. So ended John Cosgrove's long quest 
for gold. 

Upon his return home, John Cosgrove determined to secure an edu- 
cation. He attended the select school at Redwood and taught school in 
St. Lawrence, Jefferson County, N. Y. At the outbreak of the Civil War 



366 HISTORY OF COOPER COUNTY 

he volunteered for service in the Union Army, but was rejected on ac- 
count of physical disability or lack of strength. During the Civil War 
he was first lieutenant of a company of New York National Guards, and 
in 1864, his company was called for service at St. Albans, Vt., to repulse 
a rebel attack from Canada, serving for 100 days. While teaching school 
he read law in the law office of Hubbard & Lansing, Watertown, N. Y. 
He was admitted to the bar in October, 1863, and practiced in New York 
until November, 1865, when he came to Boonville, Mo. Mr. Cosgrove 
arrived in Boonville, Nov. 19, 1865, with a letter of introduction to Col. 
Jos. L. Stephens, then a prominent citizen of Cooper County. 

He was without a single acquaintance in Boonville, but at once en- 
tered upon the practice of his profession. Being young and inexperienced 
the way was hard and his upward climb in his profession in competition 
with some of the leading lawyers of the State, who were then practicing 
in Boonville, was not without its difficulties and discouragements. He 
soon won an eviable position as an attorney, and for the past 54 years has 
enjoyed a lucrative practice. Mr. Cosgrove was elected city attorney of 
Boonville in 1870, and again elected to the office in 1871. He served one 
term as prosecuting attorney of Cooper County, being elected to this office 
in 1872. He was elected Congressional representative from the Sixth 
District in 1882, and served one term in Congress. Mr. Cosgrove was 
elected on the democratic ticket in succession to former Congressman 
John B. Clark. He was a member of the Committee on Post Offices and 
Post Roads, and the Committee on Private Lands. From this committee 
he reported a bill to compensate Mrs. Myra Clark Gaines who claimed 
title to several hundred acres of land which had been granted to General 
Clark, her father, by the Federal Government. 

Nov. 18, 1874, Mr. Cosgrove was married to Georgia Augusta Bliss, 
a native of Vermont, and cousin to Mrs. Frederick T. Kemper, whose hus- 
band founded the famous Kemper Military School of Boonville. Six chil- 
dren have been born to this marriage: John Bliss, James Warden, Ger- 
trude, George Taylor, Frederick Kemper, and Daniel W. 

John Bliss Cosgrove was born in 1875 and died in 1892 at the Uni- 
versity of Notre Dame, South Bend, Ind., of pneumonia. James Warden 
Cosgrove was graduated from Missouri State University and is a prac- 
ticing attorney at Muskogee, Okla. George Taylor Cosgrove died in 
infancy. Frederick Kemper Cosgrove died in infancy. Gertrude Cos- 
grove was formerly engaged in Government work, and is now teaching 
on Long Island, N. Y. She is a graduate of Missouri State University. 
Daniel W. Cosgrove, the soldier of the family, was born in 1882, gradu- 



HISTORY OF COOPER COUNTY 367 

ated from Kemper Military School, pursued the regular classical course 
at the State University, received the Bachelor's degree, and studied law in 
his father's office. He was admitted to the bar and served for two years 
as prosecuting attorney of Cooper County, and then became his father's 
partner. In August, 1917, he enlisted as a private at Chicago, 111., be- 
coming a member of the 107th Illinois Infantry. He went into training 
at Camp Logan, Houston, Texas, and was promoted to a quartermaster 
sergeant of the first class and was assigned to service with the 108th 
United States Supply Train for service on the western front in France. 
Sergeant Cosgrove landed at Brest, France, in May, 1918, and his last 
station on the firing line was just northeast of Verdun. He was at Cha- 
teau Thierry, and in the great drive begun by the Americans at that 
point which resulted in the defeat of the Germans. From Sept. 2 to 
Nov. 11, 1918, Sergeant Cosgrove describes this great experience as "one 
continuous roar of heavy guns, bursting shells, and the whirring of air- 
planes, without cessation" — when the turmoil suddenly stopped at 11 
o'clock of Nov. 11 — then everything went "dead." 

Mr. Cosgrove has had various legal partners during his long years of 
practice, the firm having been known as that of Cosgrove & Wear, Cos- 
grove & Johnson, and after his term in Congress he was associated with 
W. T. Piggott, who has since served on the bench as judge of the Supreme 
Court of Montana. Mrs. Cosgrove is a member of the Episcopalian 
Church. For over 40 years Mr. Cosgrove has been an Odd Fellow. For 
the past four years he has been a member of the Boonville Board of 
Education, and was recently elected treasurer of the board. He, with 
others, organized the Boonville Electric Light Company, and he served 
as president of the company; J. F. Gmelich was treasurer and later be- 
came lieutenant governor; C. C. Bell was secretary. When the electric 
light plant was built by these citizens the price of artificial gas was 
dropped from the old arbitrary price of $4.50 per 1,000 cubic feet to $1.50 
per 1,000. This was not a profitable venture for Mi*. Cosgrove, and he 
acted as president and attorney for the company without receiving any 
remuneration for his services. He was also interested in the project of 
locating the Sahm Shoe Company here, and made an effort to get the 
stock subscriptions doubled, but his proposition was voted down by those 
interested. 

The city of Boonville had no water company. John Cosgrove was 
one of the original incorporators of the Boonville Water Company, of 
which Col. John S. Elliot, now deceased, was the first president, with Mr. 
Cosgrove as treasurer and attorney. Mr. Cosgrove had 200 shares in 



368 HISTORY OF COOPER COUNTY 

the company. They had a 10-year contract with the city for supplying 
water. The city repudiated this contract, and Mr. Cosgrove lost upwards 
of $12,000 to $16,000 through this effort to provide Boonville with a nec- 
essary modern convenience. The Boonville Water Company is the best 
in Missouri, without exception. At the time these public-spirited men 
built the water plant everybody in Boonville relied upon cisterns for their 
water supply. The stock did not pay on the capital invested, and when 
the city refused to renew the contract Mr. Cosgrove lost $12,000. 

When the city of Boonville voted to build a general sewerage system, 
the City Council hesitated to issue the necessary bonds to finance the 
undertaking. Mr. Cosgrove thereupon agreed to take the tax bills at 
100 cents on the dollar; the sewerage system was established, and today 
Boonville has one of the best and cleanest sewerage systems in the State. 

When the project of paving the main street of Boonville came up 
for discussion, Colonel Elliot and Mr. Cosgrove went on the bond of Thomas 
Hogan, the contractor, for the paving of three blocks on Main Street. 
Colonel Cosgrove then purchased the tax bills so as to pay Hogan for 
putting down the paving. Some property owners refused to pay. Mr. 
Cosgrove sued for payment and won in the Circuit Court. The case was 
carried to the Superior Court and he again was sustained. Since that 
time the city has built miles of splendid paved streets. 

Mr. Cosgrove is a director of the Commercial Bank, and has various 
financial interests of importance. As a lawyer, he is widely and favora- 
bly known, careful and painstaking in his practice, tireless and energetic, 
eloquent in pleading, and more than ordinarily successful in his practice 
before the courts. As a public speaker, he is logical, forceful, and is elo- 
quent. Mr. Cosgrove is a commanding and forceful figure in the affairs 
of Boonville and Cooper County. He is well known throughout Missouri 
and for many years has been a factor in democratic politics in Missouri. 
When most citizens of his age are thinking of retirement and taking life 
easy for their remaining years, he is still attending to business with the 
same vim as of yore, and all indications are that he will continue to do so 

ome years to come. 

Henry E. Sombart. — Time for the earthly sojourn is allotted to each 
man; it behooves him to accomplish his work among mankind while he 
may. The brief half century of time allotted to the late Henry E. Som- 
bart. deaceased prominent citizen of Boonville, was sufficient for him to 
achieve a success and leave a name which will go down in local history. 
Mr. Sombart was one of the best known and successful business men of 
Boonville and central Missouri — a builder of Boonville, a citizen who be- 




HENRY E . SOMBART 



HISTORY OF COOPER COUNTY 369 

lieved in making his home city better and more beautiful — a fitting 
example of his love of the beautiful being the handsome residence which 
he built for his family in Boonville. Henry E. Sombart was born in 
Boonville, June 3, 1863, and died June 7, 1916. He was a son of Judge 
Charles William Sombart, and grandson of William Sombart, a native of 
Germany, who immigrated to America and settled in Cooper County in 
1837. His mother was Mrs. Catherine (Thro) Sombart. 

Henry E. Sombart was educated in the public schools and at Chris- 
tian Brothers College, St. Louis. When a young man he became associ- 
ated with his brother, Charles A. Sombart, in the' milling business, under 
the firm name of the Sombart Milling Company. He continued in the 
milling business until 1908, when he disposed of his interest to his brother, 
Charles A. Sombart, and retired from active business to a considerable 
extent. He erected a splendid brick mansion on Fourth Street in Boon- 
ville in 1892. Mr. Sombart was active in local business and financial 
enterprises, was a director and organizer of the Farmei-s Bank of Boon- 
ville, and was one of the founder of the Citizens Trust Company of Boon- 
ville. He was owner of several buildings in the city, and was interested 
in promoting many public enterprises. 

Mr. Sombart was married on Nov. 24, 1887, to Miss Julia Sahm, born 
in Boonville, a daughter of George Sahm, pioneer shoe merchant and 
manufacturer of Boonville. To this marriage were born the following 
children: G. William and Harry Edward. 

G. William Sombart was born Dec. 8, 1891. He was educated in 
the Boonville High School and the University of Notre Dame, Ind. He 
is a partner in the Boonville Ice and Laundry Company of Boonville, and 
has extensive business interests. Mr. Sombart was married June 10, 
1914, to Miss Bernice McCann, of Versailles, a daughter of J. W. McCann. 
William and Bernice Sombart have one child, Martha Anne Sombart, aged 
one and a half years. 

Harry Edward Sombart, the 'soldier of the family, was born Feb. 15, 
1896, and enlisted in the National Army, Jan. 5, 1918, after receiving four 
years' training and study at Kemper Military School, from which he 
was graduated in June, 1916. Private Sombart was in training at Camp 
Funston, and was connected with the quartermaster's department. He 
was honorably discharged from the service on March 22, 1919, and is a 
partner in the Jeff Davis Shoe Co. 

George Sahm, father of Mrs. H. E. Sombart, was born in Bavaria, 
(24) 



370 HISTORY OF COOPER COUNTY 

Germany, Aug. 1, 1832, and came to America in 1848. After working at 
his trade of boot and shoemaker in Sandusky, Ohio, for three years, he 
came to Boonville. After working at his trade for three years here, he 
started a shop of his own in the spring of 1855. He built up a tremen- 
dous trade and expanded his business to such an extent that in 1877 he 
began the manufacture of his own stocks and for the general markets. 
In 1876, his son, George W. became his partner, and in 1880, Henry, 
another son, joined the firm. He was married to Miss Catherine Dick, 
who bore him the following children: George W., deceased; Mrs. Mollie 
Mittelbach, deceased ; Henry J., Colorado ; Joseph, St. Louis ; Julia Som- 
bart, New York City; and Mrs. Katie L. Davis. Mr. Sahm held various 
official positions in the city such as school director and city councilman. 
He died Nov 17, 1915. Mrs. Catherine (Dick) Sahm was born in 1834 
and departed this life on April 25, 1909. 

Henry E. Sombart was a republican. He took no part in political 
affairs except in such a manner as would benefit his home city. For a 
number of years he served as chairman of the Boonville Water Works 
Board, and was active in promoting the success of this undertaking, 
which has resulted in giving the city of Boonville the finest supply of 
pure water to be found anywhere in the West. He was a member of Sts. 
Peter and Paul's Catholic Church, was liberal in his support of this 
denomination, and in fact was a liberal giver to all charitable and religious 
enterprises. 

Eugene Earle Amick. — The banking career of E. E. Amick, president 
of the Boonville National Bank, Boonville, Mo., began when he was four- 
teen years old at Bunceton, his home city. He rose from janitor and 
messenger boy to the position of cashier in eight years and at that time 
was in all probability, the youngest bank cashier in the State. After 
assisting in the organization of the Boonville National Bank in 1916, Mr. 
Amick was elected president of this concern, which is the largest, most 
important and the strongest financial institution of Central Missouri, and 
the strongest in amount of deposits of any bank in cities of the country in 
population under 5,000. 

Mr. Amick was born on a farm in Cooper County, Dec. 3, 1886. His 
father was Alonzo C. or "Lon" Amick, who was born on a farm in Cooper 
County in 1853 and died in 1903. Mr. Amick's grandfather, Leander 
Amick, whose wife was Melissa Lampton, was a native of North Carolina, 
and was a pioneer settler of this county. Upon attaining manhood, "Lon" 
Amick married Miss Alice Grey Moore, a daughter of Joseph Moore who 



HISTORY OF COOPER COUNTY 371 

was a member of one of the oldest of the Missouri pioneer families. 
Joseph Moore was a son of Major William Hampton and Anne (Cathey) 
Moore. Mrs. Alice Amick resides at Bunceton and is aged 64 years. The 
children born to Lon C. and Alice Amick are: Harry Amick, an insur- 
ance man at Raton, N. M. ; Eugene Earle Amick, of this review; and 
Frances Amick, a teacher in the High School of Butler, Mo. 

Since leaving the district school, Mr. Amick has been a constant 
student and by close application has become well informed. It seems 
that he was naturally inclined and destined for the banking business. 
Entering the Bank of Bunceton when but fourteen years of age, he ap- 
plied himself so diligently and painstakingly to the tasks at hand that he 
was advanced to the post of bookkeeper at the age of eighteen years. 
When he was twenty-two years of age he was serving as cashier of this 
bank. The opportunity presented itself and he came to Boonville and 
became associated with leading and progressive business men of this city 
in the organization of the Boonville National Bank, which is capitalized 
at $200,000 and has interest bearing deposits of over $2,000,000. 

May 23, 1917, Mr. Amick was united in marriage with Miss Gertrude 
Jones who was also born and reared in Cooper County, and is a daughter 
of Gilbert F. and Melcina Jones, residents of Bunceton. Mr. Jones has 
been a fanner and merchant in Cooper County. 

Mr. Amick enlisted in the United States navy in July, 1918, and was 
in training at the Great Lakes Naval Training Station until after the 
signing of the armistice, when he was released from active duty in Dec, 
1918. He is a democrat. He is a member of the Baptist church and is 
high in Masonic circles, a member of the Mystic Shrine, Ararat Temple 
of Kansas City and has taken all Masonic degrees excepting the Scottish 
Rite. He is affiliated with the Knights of Pythias. Personally Mr. 
Amick is agreeable, companionable and optimistic. 

La Roy O. Schaumburg, city attorney of Boonville, Mo., was born in 
this city, Jan. 22, 1891. His father, Otto Schaumburg, was bom in Her- 
mann, Mo., in 1854, and is the efficient superintendent of the brick manu- 
factory at Boonville. Upon attaining young manhood, Otto Schaumburg 
was married to Mary Winkelmeyer, who was born in Boonville in 1855, 
and is a daughter of Henry Winkelmeyer, a former citizen of Boonville 
of German birth who followed cabinet making and was a pioneer furni- 
ture dealer and undertaker of Boonville. Four children were born to 
Otto and Mary Schaumburg: Martin B., manager for the Baker-Vawter 
and Wolfe Company at St. Louis; Mamie, at home with her parents; L. 



372 HISTORY OF COOPER COUNTY 

O. Schaumburg, of this review; Clarence, deputy Circuit Court of Cooper 
County. 

L. 0. Schaumburg was educated in the public and high school of Boon- 
ville and then entered the Gem Business College of Quincy, 111., where he 
completed the course of study in Dec, 1909. For the ensuing two yeai-s 
he was in the employ of the Johns-Manville Company, St. Louis. He 
then returned to Boonville and entered the employ of Judge W. M. Wil- 
liams as stenographer. This position afforded him the opportunity of 
reading law under the tutelage of Judge Williams and he remained with 
the Judge until the latter's death in the fall of 1916. Mr. Schaumburg 
then passed the bar examination and was admitted to the practice of law 
on Jan. 3, 1917. 

Sept. 2, 1914, Mr. Schaumburg was married to Miss Jennie Barr of 
St. Louis, who is a daughter of Mrs. Anna Barr. One child has been born 
of this union: Mary Frances, born March 5, 1916. 

Mr. Schaumburg is a republican and is at present serving as city 
attorney of Boonville, a position to which he was elected in April, 1918. 
Although one of the younger attorneys of Boonville, he has an excellent 
practice. Mr. Schaumburg is a young man of pleasing personality and 
has decided ability in his profession. He is a member of the Evangelical 
church and is affiliated with the Woodmen of the World. 

Hon. Charles Christian Bell. — To obtain a lasting place in the annals 
of his native city, state, and nation, a citizen must have been not only a 
doer and creator on his own behalf, but he must have accomplished things 
of lasting benefit to his fellow men. He should not be selfish and seeking 
solely to advance his own personal interests, it is necessary that his activ- 
ities be so linked with the work of the whole people in some one depart- 
ment which will result in a common good, that history will record of him 
that "He strove that others might benefit, as well as himself." Many 
instances in the life story of Charles Christian Bell, a leading citizen of 
Cooper County and the State of Missouri, when properly portrayed, will 
indicate that during his entire successful career he has been actuated by 
a desire to assist his fellow men. Fame comes to a man of that type. 
More than local recognition usually falls to his lot. His acquaintance 
among public and influential men who are doers in this world of events, 
becomes wide and important, for the reason that his abilities and accom- 
plishments received just and well merited recognition. Such a citizen is 
Charles C. Bell, of Boonville, Mo., Union veteran, president of the Central 
Missouri Horticultural Association, "The Apple King of Missouri," and 




ft 






HISTORY OF COOPER COUNTY 373 

public man of affairs, who was born in Altstadt, in the dukedom of 
Nassau, Germany, Aug. 30, 1848. 

John Adam Bell, his father, was born in Germany, on Feb. 3, 1803, 
and was a son of Henry Bell, who was a son of Thomas Bell. Thomas 
Bell was a Scotchman, born near Edjnburg, and emigrated to Germany, 
where he established himself in business, and his descendents were men 
of affairs in their community for generations, until John Adams Bell, 
father of Charles C. Bell, took part in the Revolution of 1848, led by Carl 
Schurz, Fred Sigel and others against monarchy and the tyranny of the 
grandfather of the lately deposed kaiser of Germany. John Adam Bell 
assisted in organizing volunteers to take part in the movement to estab- 
lish a German republic. The revolt was crushed, and those who were 
prominent in the enterprise were compelled to flee the country. Mr. Bell 
had six sons. He resolved that none of them should ever live under a 
kaiser. Accordingly, he disposed of his real estate and manufacturing 
business as best he could, and set sail for America, but met with ship- 
wreck in mid-ocean. Putting back into Southampton, England, to repair 
the ship, they made another start, and reached New York. Finally, Mr. 
Bell, his wife, six sons and two daughters, landed at Boonville, in October, 
1854. He bought a farm two miles south, opposite Mt. Sinai schoolhouse, 
and there spent the remainder of his life in the peaceful pursuit of agri- 
culture, getting the freedom and liberty which his independent spirit had 
craved, and for which he had sacrificed so much in his native land. 

He planted one of the first vineyards and orchards in that neighbor- 
hood, and taught his son, Charles C, the art of fruit-growing, thus teach- 
ing him a business which has been his to follow much of his active life. 
Mr. Bell died Dec. 11, 1865. His wife, Katherine Sophia (Gross) Bell, 
was born Jan. 10, 1810, and departed this life Aug. 1, 1868. The children 
of John Adam and Katherine Bell were as follows: Henry, born Feb. 15, 
1830, died May 11, 1904; Wilhelnvne, born Feb. 13, 1832, married Casper 
Manger, two of her sons are now millionaires in New York, lied Sept. 13, 
1905; Philip, born June 30, 1834, was killed in the Union service during 
the Civil War; Kalherina, born Aug. 27, 1836, died Sept. 18, 1840; John 
August, born July 17, 1838, killed while serving in the Confederate army 
under Stonewall Jackson, Oct. 12, 18^3; VYilhelm Philip, born Sept. 5, 1840, 
died Jan. 5, 1841; William, born Nov. 29, 1841, died Jan. 9, 1855; Cather- 
ina, bom Jan. 10, 1844, married Adam Cook — whose grandson, Lewis C. 
Cook, is now superintendent of the Bell Fruit Farm— died Jan. 20, 1896; 
Herman, born Jan. 22, 1846, died March 8, 1900 ; Charles Christian, of this 



374 HISTORY OF COOPER COUNTY 

review; John William, born on his father's farm, Nov. 29, 1856, died Feb. 
15, 1906. 

Aug. 2, 1864, Charles C. Bell enlisted in the Union service "cavalry." 
He was captured by Gen. Joe Shelby's command in October, 1864, was 
held prisoner for two days, and was then paroled, but a few days later 
he again joined his command and served to the end of the war, and was 
discharged July 11, 1865. While living at Austin, Texas, he was from 
1872 to 1876 a member of the "Travis Rifles," then the best drilled com- 
pany in Texas. In 1879 he was commissioned by Governor Phelps, first 
lieutenant of Missouri State Guards, serving three years. 

After the close of his Civil War service and the death of his father, 
Mr. Bell operated the home farm for thi'ee years. Upon the death of his 
mother, in 1868, he turned over the farm and estate to Col. Joseph A. 
Eppstein, the administrator, and determined to secure an education. He 
attended the business college in Boonville, from which he was graduated 
in 1869, $115 in debt. He then went to Colorado, making the long, weari- 
some journey on foot. Upon his arrival in the mountains he and a friend 
staked out a claim in Idaho Gulch and began to mine for gold. Meeting 
an old comrade it was decided upon to open a fruit and confectionery 
store at Central City, Colo. This young firm became the pioneers in 
shipping Missouri apples to the Rock Mountain country, transporting 
them by wagons from Cheyenne, Wyo., then the nearest railroad station, 
and for a time they did a thriving business. In the spring of 1870, Mr. 
Bell disposed of his interest, mostly on time, and returned to Boonville; 
his successor, however, soon failed, causing him to lose his investments. 
Being again without means, Mr. Bell's next venture was driving a team 
for the Rev. W. G. Bell from Boonville to Austin, Texas, there being no 
railroad to Texas at that time. At Austin he secured employment as 
porter in a wholesale grocer house, but was soon promoted to be traveling 
salesman. He traveled mostly with team and buggy, but sometimes 
when the Indians were bad he would go horseback. He became widely 
acquainted in that, then frontier, country. Like all Texas frontiersmen, 
in those days, he carrier a Winchester rifle and his Civil War revolvers 
for his personal protection. 

From 1875 to 1877 he was in bi^iness at Austin for himself, having 
received the backing of a large St. Louis firm. In February, 1877, he 
disposed of his business in Texas, and with a capital of about $6,000 he 
returned to Boonville, and with his brother, J. W. Bell, established th<^ 
firm of C. C. Bell & Bro., wholesale shippers of fruit and farm products. 



HISTORY OF COOPER COUNTY 375 

At that time this section of Missouri produced large crops of apples. 
The Bell Brothers handled the surplus of apples from Cooper and adjoin- 
ing counties, building at Boonville a packing and fruit drying house and 
fruit jelly factory. These latter features of the business, however, prov- 
ing to be unprofitable. In 1885, he purchased his brother's interest, and 
made a specialty of buying, packing and shipping apples. From that 
time on his business reached very large proportions. He is justly enti- 
tled to the name, "Missouri's Apple King," given him by the Interstate 
Fruit Growers and Shippers convention held at Cairo, 111. Mr. Bell's plan 
has been to pay the highest cash price for apples and to furnish the trade 
with carefully assorted and best packed apples, and his "Bell-brand" is 
well known in America and on some foreign markets. Since 1906 he has 
not been engaged in buying apples, but as a grower he has planted and 
operated several large orchards. His operations are now confined to a 
single orchard of about 80 acres at Bell Station, four miles east of Boon- 
ville. 

In 1886, Mr. Bell organized the Central Missouri Horticultural Asso- 
ciation, serving as its secretary for 29 years, and is now its president. 
At the annual meeting of the State Horticultural Society, Dec. 6, 1887, 
he was presented with a gold medal for the successful management of the 
horticultural exposition. For years he was the awarding judge of the 
fruit and horticultural department of the St. Louis Fair, and in 1904 
awarding judge of the fruit exhibits at the Louisiana Purchase St. Louis 
World's Fair. 

Mr. Bell called the first meeting in Chicago to organize the "Inter- 
national Apple Shippers' Association" in 1894, and was elected its first 
president. This is now the largest organization of its kind in the world. 
The object of this association was to secure the enactment of just and 
uniform laws throughout the country governing grades, weights, meas- 
urements, etc., and in recognition of Mr. Bell's sei-vice he was elected an 
Honorary member for life. 

At the annual meeting of the Missouri State Horticultural Society in 
Dec, 1896, he was appointed to deliver in person to President-elect 
McKinley, a set of resolutions adopted by that body in regard to the 
introduction of growing sugar beets in Missouri, in which work Mr. Bell 
took a great interest, and he distributed the following spring, without 
compensation, planting information and seed throughout the State. 

Governor Dockery appointed Mr. Bell to make the Missouri Fruit 
Exhibit at the Pan-American Exposition held at Buffalo, N. Y., in 1901, 



376 HISTORY OF COOPER COUNTY 

and the Charleston S. C, Cotton Exposition, 1902, and there served as 
treasurer of the Missouri Commission. He has been for many years 
orchard appraiser for the Wabash Railway Co. in Missouri, and the M., 
K. & T. Ry. in Missouri, Kansas and Oklahoma, and his opinions and 
judgments as to values are accepted as authority upon matters pertain- 
ing to horticulture. He was elected a life honorary member by the 
Luther Burban'k Society of California. 

The political career of Charles C. Bell has been a noteworthy one, 
and he has long been recognized as one of the leaders of the republican 
party in Missouri. From 1882 to 1885 he was a member of the Boonville 
City Council, and president of that body. In 1886, 1887, 1888, he served 
as mayor of Boonville, and while serving in this capacity he introduced 
and carried out a number of reform measures, benefitting the city. From 
1886 to 1897, he was president of the Boonville Board of Trade. In 1888, 
and again in 1890, he was republican candidate for representative in the 
State Legislature. In 1892, he was elected delegate to the republican 
national convention at Minneapolis, and was there chosen to represent 
Missouri on the committee to notify President Harrison and Whitelaw 
Reid of their nominations. He was presidential elector on the republi- 
can McKinley ticket in 1896. He was an intimate friend of the late 
Presidents Roosevelt and McKinley, and as a delegate to the national 
republican convention in 1892 at Minneapolis, made a speech favoring 
McKinley's nomination in 1896. In 1900 he refused the nomination for 
Congressman against Dick Bland on the republican ticket. In 1912 he 
was a delegate to the Chicago progressive national convention, where he 
assisted in organizing the progressive party, and represented Missouri 
on the Roosevelt presidential notification committee In 1916, he was nom- 
inated by the progressive party of Missouri for the office of lieutenant 
governor. 

Mr. Bell was one of the incorporators of the Farmers Bank, the 
Electric Light and Power Company, Walnut Grove Cemetery, and of 
other organizations in Boonville, and was vice-president of the Farmers 
Bank during its entire successful business career. He was appointed a 
delgate to the national monetary convention at Indianapolis in 1897, and 
there introduced his copyrighted Financial Plan, which attracted much 
attention. 

On April 30, 1889, Charles C. Bell and Miss Anna Augusta Luck- 
hardt, of Oregon, Holt County, Mo., were united in marriage. Mrs. Anna 
A. Bell was born Sept. 9, 1869, and is a daughter of George P. Luckhardt, 



HISTORY OF COOPER COUNTY 377 

a native of Germany, born Jan. 17, 1826, who came to America in 1850, 
first located at Johnstown, Penn. ; and there married Henrietta Francisca 
Von Lunen, on Nov. 4, 1852. Five children were born to Charles C. and 
Anna A. Bell, as follows: Minnie Henrietta, Clara Louisa, Capt. C. C. 
Bell, Jr., Frances, and John. Minnie Henrietta is the wife of F. Stanley 
Piper, of Bellingham, Wash. Clara Louisa is the wife of Major Roscoe 
W. Stewart, by profession an attorney of Springfield, Mo., and is now 
serving in the judge advocate general's office at Washington, D. C. Capt. 
C. C. Bell, Jr., is with Battery A, 37th Heavy Artillery Regulars, U. S. A., 
now on duty in Honolulu. He was commissioned a captain at the age of 
22 years. He was a student at Princeton University, when he enlisted as 
private, but was soon promoted to second lieutenant. Frances, aged 15 
years, is attending the Boonville High School. John, the youngest son, 
is five years old. 

Mr. Bell is a member of the Evangelical Church. He is a past mem- 
ber in good standing of the Independent Order of Odd Fellows and Knights 
of Pythias lodges, and is a prominent member of the Grand Army of the 
Republic. He is a member of the World's Court League, in favor of uni- 
versal disarmament and against all militarism ; he would like to see all 
implements of war consigned to the melting furnace, and made into agri- 
cultural machinery or anything that is useful and productive and not 
destructive. Mr. Bell has delivered numerous addresses on Horticulture 
and various subjects, and in a recent talk promulgated the motto, "In 
Time of Peace, Prepare for Peace, and Practice Peace." 

An everlasting monument to the public spirit and philanthropy which 
have been the prime motives guiding the life career of this illustrious 
Cooper County citizen is exemplified in his gift to the city of the beautiful 
Lookout Park, which is built on the bluffs overlooking the Missouri River 
just north of the Bell residence. Mr. Bell built this little park of endur- 
ing stone and concrete as a memorial to his sister, Mrs. Manger. It has 
given pleasure to hundreds and thousands of people who can comfortably 
ail on the benches and gaze at the broad expanse of the Missouri River 
valley stretching below as far as the eye can reach. His creed in life 
has been expressed on a tablet inserted in the paving of the park, which 
reads : 

"Get Busy, Stay Busy, 
Avoid Waster, Vice, Tobacco, Booze, 
and you will have 

Health, Honor and Plenty." 



378 HISTORY OF COOPER COUNTY 

Louis Sylvester Edwards, photographer, chairman of the Democratic 
Central Committee, and a native of Boonville, is living in the house where 
he was born and reared and which was erected by his father in 1859. His 
father, the late 0. D. Edwards, was a native of England, and settled in 
Boonville in 1859. He became a skilled photographer and did a thriving 
business during the Civil War. Mr.- Edwards made photographs of such 
notable warriors as General Stuart and Gen. J. B. Lyons and was patron- 
ized by both Confederate and Union soldiers during the Civil War. For 
over fifty years he was successfully engaged in the photographic business 
in Boonville. He died in 1911 at the age of 76 years. Mrs. Sophia Ebert 
Edwards, mother of L. S. Edwards, was bora in St. Louis, Nov. 12, 1841, 
and died Feb, 14, 1919. There were three children born to 0. D. and 
Sophia Edwards, as follows: Rev. Ward H. Edwards, a member of the 
faculty of William Jewell College, and also a member of the Missouri State 
Library Board; Louis Sylvester is the eldest of the family; Daisy Ed- 
wards, wife of Roger Morton, Kansas City, shipping clerk for the Witte 
Gas Engine Company. 

After his graduation from the Boonville High School, L. S. Edwards 
attended the Singleton Academy, Boonville. Practically his entire life 
has been spent in photography and his photograph gallery is widely known 
and liberally patronized as a place where popular prices are charged for 
the work done. 

Mr. Edwards was married in 1884 to Miss Belle Lucas of Holden, 
Mo., a daughter of the late J. A. Lucas. Mr. and Mrs. Edwards have two 
children: Edith, wife of Walter D. Glascock, Kansas City, Mo., an em- 
ploye of the Kansas City Bridge Company ; Roger L. Edwards, yeoman in 
the United States Naval Air Service, was born Oct. 8, 1892. Yeoman 
Edwards is a skilled stenographer and upon his first attempt to enlist, 
he was rejected on account of light weight and was later called to the 
service. For some weeks he was stationed at Chicago with the recruiting 
office and was then sent to France and is now located at Pauillac, France. 
He enlisted for four years. 

Mr. Edwards is a member of the Christian church and is affiliated 
with the Woodmen of the World, the Royal Arcanum, the Improved Order 
of Red Men, the Knights and Ladies of Security, and the National Union. 
He is a thorough democrat who has always been a hard worker in the 
ranks of his party. He has served as secretary of the Central Committee 
three different times and is now chairman of the county central commit- 
tee. Mr. Edwards has always taken an active part in democratic politics 



HISTORY OF COOPER COUNTY 379 

and is a frequent attendant at the state conventions and has a wide and 
favorable acquaintance among the leaders of democracy throughout Mis- 
souri. 

Charles G. Miller, city clerk of Boonville, Mo., was born May 13, 1857, 
in this city. He is a son of George and Sophia (Fox) Miller, the latter 
of whom is the daughter of the first German to settle in Boonville. She 
is a daughter of Anton Fox, a native of Germany, who arrived in Boon- 
ville, March 8, 1835, with his wife, two sons and three daughters : Charles 
Fox, Frank Fox, Mrs. Amelia Hissrich, Mrs. Rosa Vollrath, Mrs. Fannie 
Eppstein. All of these children are deceased. Mr. Millei's mother, now 
Mrs. Julius Sombart, was bom in Boonville, July 7, 1837. 

Beginning with Anton Fox and ending with the grandchildren of 
Mr. Miller, there have been five genei'ations of the family who have lived 
in Boonville, four of which were born in the city. 

Charles G. Miller was reared and educated in Boonville. He attended 
the Boonville public school and Kemper Military School, of this city. 
After some years of experience in mercantile business in Chicago, 111. and 
Glasgow, Mo., he returned to Boonville in 1885 and was employed with 
the Sauter Mercantile Company for 15 years. He became city clerk of 
Boonville in 1902 and has held the office for 17 years. 

Mr. Miller was married in 1882 to Miss Hattie Briggs, who was born 
in Howard County, a daughter of Reuben P. and Mary J. (Thorpe) Briggs, 
the latter of whom is a daughter of Jackson Thorpe, who was a native 
of Virginia and settled in Howard County, Mo., in 1815. Three children 
were bom to this marriage: Edwin B. Miller, part owner and business 
manager of a newspaper at Plainview, Texas, father of two children, 
Ellen and Jean ; Mrs. Emma Briggs Figge, of N. M., mother of three chil- 
dren: Mary Frances, Charles and Harriet; one child died in infancy. 

Mr. Miller is a republican. He joined the Knights of Pythias in 1880 
and is one of three of the Grand Lodge trustees of this order. 

Frank C. Brosius. — The firm of Nixon and Brosius, engaged in the 
farm loan and real estate business in Boonville, is one of the most im- 
portant and one of the largest concerns of its class in central Missouri. 
The members of the firm are C. W. Nixon and Frank C. Brosius, both of 
whom are natives of this section of Missouri. The business was founded 
in 1909 and its affairs were first conducted in the basement rooms of 
the old National Bank building. In 1917 a handsome suite of offii 
was established in the present location in the northern section of Main 
street. This firm makes farm loans in eight counties of central Missouri 



380 HISTORY OF COOPER COUNTY 

and do an aggregate business of over $1,000,000 annually in farm loans 
besides a large business in buying and selling farms in central Missouri. 

Frank C. Brosius, junior member of the firm, was born Nov. 18, 1885, 
in California, Moniteau County, Mo. He is a son of R. B. and Ella Jane 
Brosius, natives of Virginia and Maryland, respectively. Samuel Brosius, 
the father of R. B. Brosius, came to Missouri from Virginia in 1849 and 
settled in the vicinity of Prairie Home, where he lived to the great age 
of 100 years and seven months. For a number of years R. B. Brosius 
operated a hotel at California and came to Boonville in 1899. He engaged 
in the mercantile business but is now living a retired life at the age of 
82 years. Two children were born to R. B. and Ella Jane Brosius: Frank 
C, of this review; and Clarence L., of Wichita, Kan. 

Frank C. Brosius was educated in the public and high schools of 
Boonville and for eight years he was engaged in the Central National 
Bank, working his way upward from the post of errand boy. In 1909 he 
associated himself with Mr. Nixon in the loan business. 

Oct. 30, 1909, Mr. Brosius was united in marriage with Miss Jessie 
Wooldridge, a daughter of Dr. J. H. Wooldridge, a pioneer in Cooper 
County and was well known in banking and financial circles. Mr. and 
Mrs. Brosius have two children: Jane Elizabeth, aged 12 years; and Mary 
Ellen, born Oct. 5, 1918. 

Mr. Brosius is a Democrat. He is a member of the Presbyterian 
Church and is fraternally affiliated with the Masonic Lodge, being a 
Knights Templar, and a member of the Mystic Shriners. 

Judge William Muir Williams. — Boonville and Cooper County has 
long been noted throughout the state for the strong legal talent which 
has been developed in this city. Members of the bar of Cooper County 
have achieved national renown in the legal profession and many have 
held high official position in the courts, and the halls of the Legislature 
and Congress during past decades. One of the best remembered and one 
of the most able of the attorneys who practiced for many years in Boon- 
ville was the late Judge William M. Williams who was a native of this 
city. Judge Williams was born Feb. 4, 1850, the son of Marcus and Mary 
J. (Howard) Williams. 

Marcus Williams, his father, was a native of the state of Virginia, 
born in Rockbridge County, and came to Missouri in 1840. He was a 
steamboat captain, miller and farmer and was a man of varied pursuits 
who took advantage of many opportunities which presented themselves 
to him in the course of the development of the new country with whose 




WILLIAM M. WILLIAMS 



HISTORY OF COOPER COUNTY 381 

future he had aligned himself. Marcus Williams also operated a pottery 
and was a contractor and builder in Boonville in the early days. 

W. M. Williams was reared in Boonville and was educated in the 
Kemper School. When 17 years of age he received the appointment of 
deputy collector of Cooper County and so successfully did he discharge 
the duties of his position that he was retained in this capacity for five 
years. While holding this position he began the study of law and after 
resigning from the position of deputy collector he entered the office of J. 
W. Draffen to complete his studies. One year later he was admitted to 
the bar and began the practice of law. A short time after his admission 
to the bar he became a partner of Mr. Draffen and the firm was known 
for years throughout central Missouri as one of the ablest, under the 
name of Draffen & Williams. Mr. Williams became prominent in his pro- 
fession and was known as an able and profound attorney to whom was 
intrusted many cases of state wide importance. He practiced in Mis- 
souri and neighboring states and had charge of the merger of the two 
branches of the Presbyterian Church. He represented the International 
Harvester Company in the conduct of the most important litigation which 
took place in Missouri. During the last ten years of his notable career 
Judge Williams practiced almost exclusively before the Supreme Court. 
In 1898 he was appointed a judge of the Supreme Court of Missouri but 
resigned from this high position after one year's service on the bench, 
before his time expired. 

Dec. 16, 1875, Judge Williams was married to Miss Jessie Evans, 
daughter of Dr. E. C. Evans, formerly of Boonville, who survives him. 
Six children were born to this union: Bessie, wife of J. W. Cosgrove, of 
Muskogee, Okla. ; Roy D. Williams, an attorney of Boonville; Mary, wife 
of H. M. Taliaferro, Grand Rapids, Mich.; Edna, wife of T. E. Simrall, 
abstractor, Boonville, Mo. ; Jessie, wife of Dr. Lloyd Thompson, St. Louis, 
Mo. ; Susan, at home with her mother in Boonville. 

Judge Williams died Sept. 19, 1916. He was a pronounced Democrat 
and for many years was one of the leaders of his party in Missouri. He 
was an active and influential figure in the State and national conventions 
of his party for many years. From the very beginning of the establish- 
ment of the Missouri Training School until his death, Judge Williams was 
president of the board of managers for the school. He was an elder of 
the Presbyterian Church and took a great interest in the affairs of this 
denomination. He was a member of the Ancient Free and Accepted 
Masons and served as Grand Master of Missouri. Honors came easily to 



382 HISTORY OF COOPER COUNTY 

Judge Williams by reason of his great ability which was recognized uni- 
versally by all with whom he came in contact. He was a life-long student 
and reader who had a thorough knowledge of the law and had the gift of 
being able to expound and analyze its intricacies. He was a good citizen 
and his death was an occasion for sorrow and regret among the many who 
knew him. 

Roy D. Williams, attorney-at-law, Boonville, Mo., was born in this 
city, Jan. 1, 1881, and although one of the younger lawyers of Cooper 
County is already giving evidence that the ability and genius of his 
father, Judge W. M. Williams has been transmitted in some measure to 
the son. 

Mr. Williams was educated in Kemper Military School and Missouri 
University at Columbia where he pursued the academic course. After 
serving as stenographer for one year in the office of Judge Shackelford, he 
entered his father's law office and studied law for three years and also 
filled the position of stenographer to his father. He was admitted to the 
bar in 1904 and practiced with Judge Williams under the firm name of 
Williams & Williams until the latter's death in 1917. Mr. Williams has 
an excellent legal practice in Cooper and adjoining counties of an impor- 
tant character and is attorney for most of the banking concerns in Cooper 
County. He is serving as trial lawyer for the Missouri Pacific Railroad 
Company in 10 counties of Missouri and handles the cases in which the 
railroad company is interested, or is defendant. He was appointed to the 
important post of chairman of the State Tax Commission by Gov. Gard- 
ner on May 27, 1919. This appointment came to him entirely unsolicited. 

Mr. Williams was married in 1911 to Miss Anna S. Williams, a daugh- 
ter of Dr. P. E. Williams, formerly of Bunceton, Cooper County but now 
in charge of the State Hospital at St. Joseph, Mo. 

Mr. Williams' well appointed offices are located in the Trust Company 
Building on North Main Street and he has what is probably the most com- 
plete law library in central or western Missouri, consisting of 3,000 well 
selected volumes. 

Mr. Williams is a director of the Boonville National Bank and Citizens 
Trust Company. He is a Democrat and takes considerable interest in 
the affairs of his party. He is a member of the Presbyterian Church and 
the Ancient Free and Accepted Masons, being a Past Master of the local 
lodge, a Knights Templar, and holds membership with the Knights of 
Pythias. 




HISTORY OF COOPER COUNTY 383 

Crockett Hickman. — The Hickman family, of which Crockett Hick- 
man, public administrator of Cooper County, is worthy member, is one 
of the oldest of the pioneer families in Cooper County. The advent of 
the Hickmans in this county begins with the settlement of Thomas Hick- 
man, great grandfather of Crockett Hickman, who came from Kentucky 
in the year 1821 and settled at Old Franklin, across the Missouri River 
in Howard County. The great grandfather of the subject of this review 
was Capt. Thomas Hickman, a soldier of the War of 1812, who settled 
upon and developed a large tract of land in Howard County. His son, 
John L. Hickman, married Eliza Hutchinson, a daughter of John Hutchin- 
son, another pioneer who settled at Old Franklin. 

Thomas Hickman, father of Crockett Hickman, developed a large 
farm south of Boonville, in Cooper County, and owned 640 acres. He 
was a very successful farmer and stockman who was well and favorably 
known throughout this section of Missouri. He was born in 1832 and 
died in 1911. His wife was Martha Crockett, and was born in Boone 
County in 1832. She was a daughter of Samuel Crockett, a relative of 
the famous Davy Crockett of St. Alamo fame. Samuel Crockett was a 
native of Kentucky and was a Boone County pioneer. Thomas and 
Martha Hickman were parents of two children: Mrs. George K. Craw- 
ford of Bunceton, Mo., and Crockett Hickman, of this review. Mrs. Hick- 
man resides in Bunceton. 

Crockett Hickman was educated in the district school and attended 
the Kemper Military School. After fanning for some years he became 
connected with the Central National Bank of Boonville and at the end 
of 14 years he was serving as head bookkeeper of the bank. In 1911, 
Mr. Hickman engaged in the real estate and insurance business with 
offices in Boonville. Mr. Hickman does considerable business in real 
estate and handles farm loans in addition to his duties as public admin- 
istrator. 

Mr. Hickman was married in 1906 to Miss Gertrude Gibson, who was 
born in Boonville, a daughter of John J. and Medora Gibson, the former 
bom in Cooper County and died in 1898. Mr. and Mrs. Hickman have 
an adopted child, Martha Frances, aged three years. 

It is worthy of mention that Thomas Hickman, father of Crockett 
Hickman, crossed the Great Plains in 1862 and spent about four years 
in the West engaged in freighting and mining. 

Mr. Hickman is a Democrat of the stanch variety. He was elected 



384 HISTORY OF COOPER COUNTY 

to the office of public administrator in 1912 and was re-elected to the 
office in 1918. He is a member of the Baptist Church and is a Knight 
Templar Mason. 

George A. Weyland. — An interesting and sturdy character who car- 
ries his years lightly and is as vigorous mentally and physically as most 
men who are years younger — is the average summing up of a friendly 
disquisition on the characteristics of George A. Weyland, the aggressive 
and capable member of the widely known and extensive firm of Roeder & 
Weyland, dealers in agricultural implements, wagons, carriages, farm 
machinery of every description. This firm is the most extensive in cen- 
tral Missouri and is one of the oldest established concerns of this section 
of the State. Its extension and the prestige which it enjoys of late years 
has been due principally to the salesmanship, and vigorous personality of 
Mr. Weyland, who is one of the most successful men in his line in Mis- 
souri. He has worked his way upward to a position in the business world 
of Cooper County and central Missouri through his own efforts, and has 
won his position through the exercise of a tireless energy, prompted by 
ambition, and aided by a strong physique and an active and well de- 
veloped mind. 

Louis Weyland, father of George A. Weyland was born in Germany, 
and left his native land because of participation in the Revolution of 1846 
and was exiled. He came to this country and located in Boonville in 1848. 
He had learned the trade of carriage builder. This he followed in Boon- 
ville. 

Mr. Weyland established a shop south of the old court house on 
Court Street where he plied his trade until 1871. He then located at the 
northeast corner of High and Main Streets and built up an extensive busi- 
ness. He made carriages and wagons and in later days operated a re- 
pair shop until 1908, remaining in business in Boonville for 60 years. Not 
long after his arrival in Boonville, he was married in 1848, to Catherine 
Weiland, who was born in Nassau, Germany. Louis and Catherine Wey- 
land were parents of the following children: Mrs. Elizabeth Hill, Los 
Angeles, Calif. ; Katie, died at the age of six months ; Mrs. Mollie Delano, 
Los Angeles, Calif.; Matilda, died at the age of 19 years; William, living 
at DeSota, Mo.; E. C. Weyland, resides in Piedmont, Wayne County, Mo.; 
H. P. Weyland, lives at Muskogee, Okla. ; Chas. C. Weyland, owns and 
operates the Weyland carriage shops in Boonville.; George A. Weyland, 
of this review. 

Reared and educated in Boonville, it was only natural that George A. 




GEORGE A. WKVI.AM I 



HISTORY OF COOPER COUNTY 885 

Weyland should adopt the trade of his father. He finished learning his 
trade of carriage maker in the shops of E. M. Miller, the most famous 
carriage and bus maker m the woi'ld in his day. This was at Quincy, 111., 
and the Miller establishment manufactured none but the highest grade 
carriages and buses for use in the large cities of the country. Mr. Wey- 
land returned to Boonville in 1880 and made a contract with George Roe- 
der, the elder, to take employment with the Roeder concern and he was 
thus employed for 21 years. The firm later became George Roeder & 
Son. For five years Mr. Weyland was a traveling salesman and then 
became a member of the firm of Roeder & Weyland prior to the elder 
Roeder's death. Jan. 1, 1906, the firm became known as Roeder & Wey- 
land. 

In 1880, George A. Weyland and Miss Sophia Heckerman of Prairie 
Home, Mo., were united in marriage. Mrs. Sophia Weyland is a daugh- 
ter of Christian Heckerman. Six children are living out of seven born to 
this marriage: Cozy, Gertrude, Stella, Viola, Grover C, Lon H. Cozy 
Weyland is operating nurse in the hospital at Clinton, Mo. Gertrude is 
the wife of Claude L. Driskill, manager of the Antrum Lumber Company 
of Binger, Okla. Stella is the wife of Lieut. Phillip A. Dickey, who served 
with the A. E. F. in France and is now located in Denver, Colo. Viola is at 
home with her parents. Grover C. Weyland is manager of the J. I. Case 
Plow Works, Kansas City, Mo. Lon H. Weyland, aged 24 years, is a ser- 
geant in the 35th Division and has seen much active service on the battle 
front in France. He enlisted in the Regular Army in November, 1917, 
was trained for service at Fort Sill, Okla., and went to France with his 
command in February, 1918. Sergeant Weyland participated in the battle 
of Chateau Thierry, and fought in the great battle of the Argonne Forest. 

While Mr. Weyland is a Democrat he is proud of the fact that his 
father was a Union man and a Jeffersonian Democrat as well. He has 
generally taken an active and influential part in Democratic politics and 
served as a member of the City Council, having been the only citizen ever 
elected on the Democratic ticket from his home ward. During his term 
as city councilman from April, 1913, to April, 1915, many public improve- 
ments of benefit to the city were made. 

He is a member of the Boonville Board of Public Works. During his 
entire active life Mr. Weyland has been a doer, and is always found in 
(25) 



386 HISTORY OF COOPER COUNTY _ 

the forefront of all good movements for the benefit of Boonville and 
Cooper County. 

William Mittelbach, druggist and secretary of the Boonville Board of 
Education, is one of the most useful and highly respected business men 
of Cooper County. Mr. Mittelbach was born in Boonville, April 2, 1856, 
and is a son of Frederick Mittelbach, a native of Germany who emigrated 
from his native land in 1849, first resided in Cincinnati, Ohio, for a short 
time and came to Boonville in 1852. 

Frederick Mittelbach was bom Jan. 10, 1826, at Seeheim-Hessen, 
Germany, and died at Boonville, Mo., Aug. 12, 1902. He opened a shoe 
shop in this city and made boots and shoes until the factories began turn- 
ing them out by the aid of machinery when he embarked in the retail 
shoe business until his death. He married Elisabeth Hoflander on Jan. 
7, 1865. Elisabetha Hoflander Mittelbach was born in Germany, Aug. 9, 
1830, and was a daughter of John Ernst Hoflander, one of the pioneers of 
the Billingsville neighborhood in Cooper County. She died Jan. 23, 1911. 
To Frederick and Elisabetha Mittelbach were born eight children: Wil- 
liam, subject of this review; Fannie, born Oct. 22, 1857, died Sept. 2, 1903; 
John George, born July 13, 1859, deceased; Amelia Laura, born Jan. 18, 
1862, resides in Boonville; John George, born Nov. 4, 1864, is a shoe mer- 
chant in Iola, Kan.; Henry Mittelbach, born Oct. 23, 1867, died Oct. 20, 
1915, at St. Joseph, Mo.; Friedrich, born June 12, 1870, died March 12, 
1871 ; Mrs. Mary Elizabeth Lamora, born July 25, 1874, resides in Chicago, 
111. 

William Mittelbach, of this review, was reared in Boonville and re- 
ceived his early education in the public and high school here. After 
graduation from the Boonville high school, he studied for two years in 
the State University at Columbia. He then entered the drug business 
and was for four years under the tutelage of the late Dr. Ernest Roeschel, 
th epioneer druggist of Boonville and a splendid citizen. In 1877 he 
entered the Philadelphia College of Pharmacy and was graduated in 1879. 
Later, in 1915 he received the Masters Degree from his alma mater. 
After spending one year in St. Louis he went west to Santa Fe, N. M., in 
1880. This was before the advent of the railroads into the southwest and 
the railroad reached Santa Fe that same year and its arrival as witnessed 
at Albuquerqe by Mr. Mittelbach. Soon afterwards he returned to Mis- 
souri with the intention of beginning his business career in St. Louis. 



HISTORY OF COOPER COUNTY 387 

He was persuaded, however, by his father to open a drug store in Boon- 
ville. This he did in Oct. 1880 and for 38 years, Dr. Mittelbaeh has been 
engaged in business in this city and is the oldest druggist in Boonville 
at this day. The Mittelbaeh Drug Store is one of the landmarks of Boon- 
ville and is a modern, well stocked establishment which enjoys a splendid 
trade. 

Dr. Mittelbaeh was married to Mollie Sahm in 1882. She was a 
daughter of George Sahm, a pioneer shoe merchant of Boonville, a sketch 
whom appears in this history. She died in 1892, leaving two children: 
Leola, a teacher in the primary department of the Kansas City Public 
Schools ; Leonore, wife of D. C. Durland of New York City. Doctor Mit- 
tlebach's second marriage in January, 1899, was with Miss Sophia Rein- 
hart, of Boonville, a daughter of Charles Reinhart, Sr., a former con- 
fectioner and baker of this city. 

Doctor Mittelbaeh is a Republican and is a member and active worker 
in the Evangelical Church of this city. No man in the history of Boon- 
ville has held more positions both honorary and active than this esteemed 
citizen. For the past 20 years he has been connected with the Walnut 
Grove Cemetery Association in the capacity of superintendent and secre- 
tary, a position which he has held for the past six years. The success 
of this association has been due in a great extent to his tireless interest 
and management of the affairs of the cemetery. For the past 26 years 
he has been a member of the Board of Education and has filled the post 
of secretary of the board for the entire time. Doctor Mittelbaeh is a 
member of the Knights of Pythias and stands high in Pythian circles. 
He was the first chancellor commander of the local lodge when it was 
organized in 1883. He served as a member of the Grand Lodge of Knights 
of Pythias several terms, representing the local lodge. Since the organi- 
zation of the Boonville Commercial Club in 1909 he has served as treas- 
urer of the organization. For 24 years he served as treasurer of the 
Missouri State Pharmaceutical Association and also filled the office of 
president of this association. He was formerly active in the affairs of 
the National Pharmaceutical Association and served as president of the 
National Association of State Boards of Pharmacy. Doctor Mittelbaeh 
has served as president of the State Board of Pharmacists and has filled 
all offices of the American Pharmaceutical Association, serving as first, 
second and third vice-president and for five years was a member of the 



388 HISTORY OF COOPER COUNTY 

committee on membership. He has been mindful of his civic responsi- 
bilities and has served two terms as a member of the City Council. Doc- 
tor Mittelbach enjoys the respect and esteem of all citizens of Boonville 
and Cooper County. 

Col. Charles Edward Andrews, a leading citizen of Cooper County of 
the past decade and a scion of an old pioneer family of Boonville, was 
one of the best known of the citizens of this section of Missouri. He was 
a man of intellect and presence, who conducted his business on a large 
scale and had various interests in different sections of the country. Col. 
Andrews was for years engaged in business in Boonville, first in partner- 
ship with his father, the late David Andrews, and then on his own account. 
He became interested in farm development and did considerable business 
in lands ; his financial interests were large and extensive. He was vice- 
president of the Kasigan Oil and Gas Company of Independence, Kans; 
vice-president of the Independence (Kas.) Plate Glass Company; a stock- 
holder in the Boatman's Bank of St. Louis; formerly owned the Sicher 
Hotel, now the Antlers Hotel, of Sedalia, and had other extensive property 
interests in Sedalia. Among his business associates in that city was John 
H. Bothwell, prominent attorney and banker. 

Col. Charles E. Andi'ews was born in Boonville, Feb. 8, 1849, and de- 
parted this life Nov. 24, 1917. He was reared and educated in Boonville, 
attending the Kemper School, and Westminster College, Fulton, Mo., grad- 
uating therefrom in 1867, and entered his father's hardware store as a 
partner in the business when he attained his majority. 

He was engaged in business until 1889 when he retired from business 
and dealt in farm lands and real estate for a number of years. Mr. An- 
drews made a business of buying farms, building them up as regards soil 
and improvements and then selling at a profit. 

Charles Edward Andrews was united in marriage Nov. 9, 1880, with 
Miss Jennie Dobyns of Memphis, Tenn. Four children were bom to this 
union : Florie, Hardage Lane, Charles Edward Jr., and David Adair. Florie 
is the wife of Todd M. George, treasurer of Jackson County, Mo. Mr. 
and Mrs. George reside in Lees Summit, Mo., and have three children: 
Todd M., Hardage Virginia, and Florie Ann. Hardage Lane Andrews 
was born in 1889. He is an official of the General Electric Company of 
Schenectady, N. Y. His profession is that of a railway and traction en- 
gineer in which he is a recognized expert. He married Mittie Huff. Dur- 
ing the World War he was connected with the building of submarine de- 
stroyers in the service of the United States Government. Charles Edward 



HISTORY OF COOPER COUNTY 389 

Andrews Jr. was born in 1886. He is in the employ of the General Elec- 
tric Company of Schenectady, N. Y. During the World War he was in 
the Government service. David Adair Andrews was born in 1893. He 
volunteered for service in the World War and was a second class petit 
officer in the dirigible balloon section of the air service, National Army. 
Mrs. Jennie (Dobyns) Andrews is a member of an old Southern Amer- 
ican family. She is a daughter of Col. Thomas Jefferson Dobyns who 
served as colonel of the Second Polish Brigade of Louisiana in the Civil 
War. He organized three companies of Confederate soldiers in Louisiana 
and commanded the Second Louisiana Regiment during the war. His 
command was known as the "Tiger Rifles" on account of the fierceness in 
which they waged battle. This was a strong fighting organization which 
fought with General Lee at Gettysburg. He was born in 1801 and died 
in 1865 as a result of chills and fever contracted during his arduous serv- 
ice. He was a loyal southern man, so loyal that when he had gone to a 
health resort called the "Springs," a man called out to him "Lee has sur- 
rendered," he replied as he was getting a drink from the spring, "I hope 
I may never live to see Lee surrender." A few weeks later he was again 
at the spring taking a drink. A friend called to him, "General Lee has 
surrendered." Col. Dobyns rolled over, paralyzed and never moved again. 
He had married Martha Caroline Sharpe Feb. 12, 1837, who was the first 
white child born in Moulton, Ala., Sept. 29, 1819, and died in Memphis, 
Tenn., in February, 1887. Eight children were born to Col. Thomas J. 
and Martha Caroline Dobyns, seven of whom were reared, as follows: 
Mollie Thomas, born in Randolph, Tenn., died in Boonville, Mo., in 1912, 
was the wife of Capt. D. DeHaven, a citizen of Boonville, who during the 
Civil War had charge of all the Confederate gunboats and was stationed 
at Selma, Ala.; Flora Roselle, born in Randolph, Tenn., deceased wife of 
James Clare McDavitt, of Kentucky, former Lieutenant of Cavalry in the 
Civil War; Eloise Lee, born in Randolph, Tenn., widow of Edward L. Col- 
burn, a Civil War veteran, formerly resident of Pine Bluff, Ark., and 
now living in Denver, Colo.; Eliza Senora, born in Randolph, Tenn., wife of 
S. W. E. Pegues, of Oxford, Miss., now a government official in the pen- 
sion department at Washington, D. C. ; Emily Coons, .died in May, 1918, 
was wife of Joseph Philip Angell, of Pine Bluff, Ark. ; Thomas .Jeffer- 
son, Jr., born in June, 1851, former railroad man, unmarried, died in St. 
Louis, Mo., in 1881; Mrs. Jennie Andrews of this review; Deslond Beau- 
regard, called "Carrie," bora at Amite City, La., wife of Cyrus Garnsey of 
New York, has a winter residence in Memphis, Tenn. Mr. Garnsey gave 



390 HISTORY OF COOPER COUNTY 

his services without price to the government as assistant fuel inspector 
during the World War, and Mr. and Mrs. Garnsey lost their only son, 
Lieut. Cyrus Garnsey (III), in the battle of the Argonne Forest. Lieu- 
tenant Garnsey was in the artillery and had been twice cited for bravery 
in action with the A. E. F. 

Col. Thomas Dobyns was a son of Thomas Dobyns who was a soldier 
in the War of 1812. Mrs. Martha Caroline Dobyns was a second cousin of 
Gen. Robert E. Lee. 

Members of the Dobyns and Sharpe families have figured prominently 
in the affairs of the nation for over 200 years and by virtue of this an- 
cestry, Mrs. Jennie (Dobyns) Andrews is a member of the Colonial 
Dames, and the Daughters of the American Revolution. She organized 
the local Chapter of the Daughters of the American Revolution and this 
chapter is named in honor of her great-great-grandmother, Jemima Alex- 
ander Sharpe, who was a heroine of the Revolutionary War, working on 
the battlefields caring for the wounded and the dying. Her husband was 
lost while fighting in the Indian Wars and who had five sons who fought 
for American Independence in the American Revolution. Mrs. Andrews 
is also a member of the United States Daughters of 1812, Americans of 
Armorial Ancestors, the Colonial Daughters of America, and the Daugh- 
ters of the Confederacy. She has good and just right to be proud of the 
interesting fact that she has had ancestors and descendants who served 
their country in every war in which Americans have been engaged since 
the early settlement and colonial days. 

Alexander's History of Mecklenburg County has this to say of Jemima 
Alexander Sharp, "On one occasion, Jemima, in company with Mrs. Jack- 
son, the mother of a subsequent Vice-President, and others volunteered 
as nurses to go from Charlotte, N. C, to Charleston to the prison ships 
as nurses. They set out on foot, traveling through a thinly settled cun- 
try, struggling bravely on — these brave, tender, noble women of the 
Revolutionary day — Bible loving, church going women who were willing 
to endure all things in the path of duty." 

Mrs. C. E. Andrews is a member of the Virginia Historical Society, 
Washington Headquarters Association, Maryland Historical Society, and 
the "Ark and the Dove" of Maryland, the latter being the name of the 
vessel bringing over her first ancestors to settle in Maryland and which 
arrived a few years previous to the arrival of the Mayflower at Plymouth. 

Col. Charles Edward Andrews while a student in Westminster Col- 
lege, embraced the Presbyterian faith. He was a Democrat and promi- 



HISTORY OF COOPER COUNTY 391 

nent in the affairs of his party, served as a delegate to the national con- 
vention which nominated W. J. Bryan for President. He was a man dis- 
tinguished and commanding in appearance, handsome and possessed of a 
fine physique, and because of his fine military bearing he was called "Col- 
onel" by his friends and acquaintances until the title became appropriate. 
Practically his entire life was spent in Boonville and he loved his native 
city. He was kind and had kind deeds to his credit, kindly in thought 
and action. He gave liberally to all worthy enterprises to assist his home 
city, was owner of extensive properties in Cooper and Saline counties, 
and was connected with various large enterprises elsewhere. Other con- 
cerns in which he was interested was the Western States Portland Ce- 
ment Company of Independence. Kas., of which he was the largest stock- 
holder and vice-president. He was a large stockholder and vice-president 
of the West St. Louis Water and Light Company. At one time he was 
the largest taxpayer in Cooper County. 

Colonel Andrews easily made and retained friendships, on account of a 
pleasant and winning disposition and was respected and loved by those 
who knew him best. He was a devoted husband, a loving and indulgent 
father and loved his home and fireside. His greatest pleasure was to 
spend his leisure time in his own home surrounded by his children, enter- 
ing into their spoi-ts and teaching them truth, honor, and rectitude by his 
living example — principles which have been followed by his sons, who are 
successful and talented men. 

James Wellington Draffen. — One of the best known and most dis- 
tinguished members of the Cooper County bar was the late James W. 
Draffen of Boonville. Mr. Draffen was born in Albemarle County, Va., 
March 24, 1824, and died April 21, 1896. He was a son of Thomas and 
Mary (Douglas) Draffen, both natives of Virginia, and migrated to Cooper 
County, Mo., in 1836. They settled on a farm in this county whereon 
James W. Draffen was reared. After attending the district school, he 
studied for two years at the Kemper school. He then studied law in the 
office of his uncle, John Draffen, a prominent attorney of Lawrenceburg, 
Ky. He was admitted to the bar in 1852 and entered the office of Judge 
Washington Adams in Boonville. Two years later he began the practice 
of his profession alone. Later he formed a partnership with George 
Vest, who became United States Senator from Missouri, and also prac- 
ticed in partnership with Col. J. L. Stephens, William D. Muir and H. 
A. Hutchinson. He then formed a partnership with the late Judge W, M. 
Williams, which continued until his death. This firm was one of the 



392 HISTORY OF COOPER COUNTY 

ablest in Missouri and handled many notable cases and much important 
litigation, their practice extending over the entire State and even beyond 
its borders. 

In July, 1859, Mr. Daffen was married to Miss Louise Tichenor, of 
Newark, N. J., a daughter of David S. and Jane S. Tichenor. Mrs. Draff en 
was born Dec. 20, 1835, and died April 22, 1911. Eight children were 
born to James W. and Louise Draff en as follows: David T., deceased; 
Edwin L., member of New York Appraisal Company, New York City; 
William M., deceased; James Wellington, Los Angeles, Calif.; Whilton 
Vest ; Frank D., Boonville; Martin T., an officer at Missouri Training School, 
Boonville, Mo. ; Mary H., wife of F. T. Pigott, Boonville. 

Mr. Draff en was a stanch Democrat. Although always greatly inter- 
ested in matters of public concern, he never sought nor desired official 
position, notwithstanding the fact that he was frequently solicited by 
the leaders of his party to become a candidate for high office. He was an 
able lawyer and a good citizen who had the sincere respect and regard of 
his fellow citizens and the members of the bar throughout the State. 

Judge Philips delivered the following touching tribute to the life of 
his long time friend: "For a quarter of a century I met him, term after 
term, at the Circuit Courts of central Missouri. We were generally ar- 
rayed on opposing sides. He was a foeman worthy of any .man's steel 
and an adversary in the arena of • the forum never to be despised. I 
bear testimony, here in the presence of his casket, that a more honorable 
practitioner, a more chivalrous opponent, free from all petty meanness 
and trickery, I never encountered. Do you ask for a record of his achieve- 
ments? Look into the volumes of your Supreme Court, extending from 
the 25th through 100 volumes, and from the 17th to the 50th volumes of 
the Court of Appeals, and you will find his name connected with much 
of the important litigation of the central part of the State. His briefs 
are his monuments. In their sententious vigor, lucidity of statement and 
conciseness of argument, with appropriate citation of authorities, they 
stand as models, worthy the study and imitation of every young lawyer. 

"His client's cause was his own, and to him his client was always 
in the right. There was not money enough in Christendom to induce 
him to betray the cause, however small, of the humblest man committed 
to his keeping. If it be true that 'an honest man is the noblest work of 
God' Draffen was God's nobleman. There was not an element of dishon- 
esty in his composition." 

At the meeting of the members of the bar held at the court house 



HISTORY OF COOPER COUNTY 393 

in his memory, the following resolutions were passed: "Whenever he 
accepted a retainer, he seemed to abandon everything, save honor, in his 
client's interests. He was untiring in his efforts, often forgetting, or 
appearing not to care for, that remuneration which was due for his val- 
uable services. His record as a bold, adroit and able lawyer and advocate 
commanded the admiration of his associates, and is worthy of the emula- 
tion of the younger members of the bar. His integrity was of the highest 
order. His strong characteristics won him a host of friends, in and 
outside of his profession, and gave him great influence with courts and 
juries of the country. His integrity and dauntless courage, coupled with 
his open advocacy of every cause in which he believed, made a valuable 
and worthy citizen, whose death will be seriously felt by all classes. He 
left behind him the record of an honorable man, an able lawyer, an affec- 
tionate husband and father, and a good citizen." 

Whitlow Vest Draffen, successful attorney of Boonville, and a worthy 
son of a distinguished father, was born in Boonville, May 4, 1870. and is 
a son of James Wellington and Louise J. Draffen. He was educated in 
Westminster College at Fulton, Mo., and the State University at Columbia. 
Mr. Draffen studied law in his father's office and was admitted to the 
bar in 1896. He is an excellent attorney, well versed in the lore of the 
legal profession and is an able pleader in the courts of central Missouri. 

Mr. Draffen is a member of the Benevolent Protective Order of Elks, 
the Knights of Pythias, the Royal Arcanum, and the Woodmen of the 
World. 

Walter B. Windsor, owner of "Fairfield" farm of 337 acres in Clarks 
Fork township, six and a half miles southeast of Boonville, is of the pro- 
gressive type of agriculturists and stockmen who have made good in 
Cooper County. He and his sons # are owners of a total of 557 acres of 
rich land. They are cultivating in addition to this land, another very 
fertile tract of bottom land comprising a total of 150 acres. The Windsor 
farm is well improved with a modern residence of eight rooms, silos, 
metal grain bins, barns and buildings all in good condition. The farm 
is devoted to stock raising, all of the grain and forage raised on the place 
being fed to live stock which is sold on the hoof. Mr. Windsor maintains 
a herd of pure bred Angus cattle because of the uniformity and beef 
producing qualities of the breed. His Poland China hogs are pure bred 
as are his Oxford and Shropshire sheep. There are sold from the farm 
and shipped to the markets one load each of cattle, hogs and sheep each 
year. Mr. Windsor is an ardent soil conservationist who believes in get- 



394 HISTORY OF COOPER COUNTY 

ting the maximum yield from the land and keeping it in first class con- 
dition through fertilization and crop rotation. He has raised as high as 
85 bushels of corn to the acre, 40 bushels of wheat, 50 bushels of rye and 
55 bushels of oats. This is a record which can not be excelled anywhere 
in Missouri or the West. The Windsor farm, "Fairfield," is the old home 
place of his father, the late John H. Windsor, who was one of the most 
successful stockmen of his day in Cooper County. John H. Windsor was 
a son of Horace Simeon Windsor, who settled in Cooper County over four 
score years ago. The family is of English descent and the history of the 
Windsors in America begins with Thomas Windsor, of Fairfax County, 
Va. Further details of the Windsor family history will be found in con- 
nection with the biography of Eugene A. Windsor, of Boonville, brother 
of the subject of this review. 

Walter B. Windsor was born April 23, 1862. He was educated in the 
district school and the academy at Boonville. With the exception of eight 
years spent as a traveling salesman he has always been engaged in farm- 
ing. Mr. Windsor is a natural salesman and made a success on the road; 
for a number of years he traveled for the McCormick and Deering har- 
vester companies and has sold farming machinery, live stock, blooded 
stock for breeding purposes, and made good. He began farming on a 200 
acre tract when he was 20 years of age and. has steadily increased the 
acreage owned by himself and his sons. Some idea of the magnitude of 
the farming operations carried on by Mr. Windsor and his sons can be 
gleaned from the fact that this season (1919) they will harvest 300 acres 
of wheat, 200 acres of com, 50 acres of oats, and 20 acres of alfalfa. 

May 30, 1888, Walter B. Windsor and Miss Elizabeth Ann Jewett 
were united in marriage. This marriage has been blessed with children 
as follows: Elmer and Jewett, twins, educated in the Boonville High 
School and Business College, born April 29, 1891; Dorsey W., born Feb. 
24, 1897, educated in the Boonville High School and Business College, 
and like his two older brothers, is a farmer; Alma May, born July 25, 
1893, educated in Boonville High School, and the Warrensburg Normal 
School and Boulder University, Colorado, six years a teacher and for the 
past two years has been in charge of the home district school ; Annie 
Laura, bora April 17, 1895, educated in Boonville High School. The 
mother of these children was born April 3. 1863, in Cooper County, and 
is a daughter of Samuel L. and Martha Jewett, both deceased. The Jewetts 
are an old pioneer family of Cooper County. 



HISTORY OF COOPER COUNTY 395 

Walter B. Windsor is a Democrat of the true and tried variety which 
knows ho deviation from Democratic principles. During the administra- 
tion of Gov. William J. Stone he was appointed by the Governor to the 
office of county assessor for Cooper County and filled this office credit- 
ably for four years. His family worships at the Baptist Church. Mr. 
Windsor is a member of the Knights of Pythias, the Woodmen of the 
World, the Modern Woodmen of America and the Ancient Free and Ac- 
cepted Masons of Boonville, having attained to a membership in the Com- 
mandery at Boonville. Mr. Windsors' recreation is in hunting and fish- 
ing, organizing and carrying out "fish fries," picnics, and barbecues, in 
which he is a past master. In fact no "barbecue" or fish fry is held in 
his neighborhood without he is one of the mainstays and leading promo- 
ters. At the great barbecue held in his neighborhood some years ago 
and which was financed by the merchants of Boonville and to which the 
entire county was invited, he had charge of the roasting and basting of 
the meats over long pits of hot coals and the job was done in an expert 
manner to satisfy the finest epicurean tastes. Over 5,000 people attended 
this barbecue and it was the greatest event of that year. It is probable 
that no Cooper County citizen has more warm friends in this section of 
.Missouri than "Walt" Windsor, who is a welcome addition to any and all 
gatherings because of his unfailing good nature, his desire to please and 
'his many likable qualities. 

John Thomas Pigott, one of the best known of the successful merch- 
ants of the Boonville of a decade or so ago, was a native Missourian. Mr. 
Pigott was born in St. Louis June 14, 1823, and died Nov. 29, 1907. He 
was a son of John T. Pigott, who was bom in Dublin, Ireland, and died 
in Missouri when his son, John Thomas was but a boy in years. Mr. 
Pigott was reared in St. Louis and when a young man he opened a book 
store at Lexington, Mo. He came to Boonville in 1867 and he and Wil- 
liam E. Walton made the first set of abstract books in Cooper County. 
He engaged in the mercantile business in partnership with William H. 
Trigg and Company and was successfully engaged in business until 1899. 
Prior to this he was engaged in banking until 1880. In 1899 Mr. Pigott 
retired from active business and went to his farm southeast of Boon- 
ville where he remained until his death in 1907. 

On March 17, 1859 Mr. Pigott was married to Josephine Trigg, a 
daughter of William H. Trigg of Boonville. Five children were born to 
this marriage: Frank, Los Angeles, Calif.; John C, member of the dry 



396 HISTORY OF COOPER COUNTY 

goods firm of Pigott and McKinley, Boonville, Mo. ; Harry H., living at 
Helena, Mont. ; Fred, a farmer living near Boonville. 

John Thomas Pigott was for 60 years a Mason and at the time of 
his death he was the oldest Mason in Cooper County. 

David Andrews. — The Andrews family is one of the oldest pioneer 
families of Boonville, and the name has been an honored one for many 
years. Ninety years ago, David Andrews, father of the late Charles 
Andrews of Boonville, settled at Old Franklin where he remained until 
the fickle Missouri washed away the business section of the old pioneer 
town. He then came to Boonville where he identified himself with the 
business interests of the city and was one of the builders of Boonville. 
David Andrews came to this section of Missouri, a poor youth, aged 19 
years — so poor that he had but one shirt to his back, and this one he took 
off and washed in the Missouri River as the boat he was traveling on came 
near to the frontier town of Franklin. This boat, upon which he trav- 
eled, was drawn by horses hitched to long ropes and drawn through the 
water in this manner, the horses walking along the banks of the river. 

David Andrews was born in Pittsburgh, Pa., May 2, 1809, and died 
in Boonville, April 30, 1893. He came West in 1820 and lived with a 
brother, Thomas Andrews, in St. Louis until 1828 when he came to Old 
Franklin and thence to Boonville. Thomas Andrews, his brother, was one 
of the first stockholders in the Boatsman Bank of St. Louis, as was his 
brother, David Andrews, at a later date. David Andrews learned the 
trade of tinner in his brother's shop in St. Louis. Upon his arrival at 
Franklin, he established a tin shop and then returned to St. Louis for 
his bride whom he married that same year. She was Margaret Baird, 
who was also born in Pittsburgh, Pa., Jan. 17, 1818, and died in March, 
1901. On two occasions after establishing himself in Boonville, after the 
decadence of Old Franklin, Mr. Andrews had the misfortune to have his 
shop destroyed by fire. Each time he rebuilt and succeeded in amassing 
a competence despite adversity. 

During the Civil War he made canteens for the Southern soldiers. 
This brought him into conflict with the Union forces and he was taken 
prisoner by General Lyon's command. Previous to his being taken pris- 
oner, some soldiers had waylaid him, knocked him down and left him 
lying for dead. His faithful wife found him, succored him, and he was 
then placed under arrest and taken to the prison in Jefferson City. His 
wife also went to the State Capital and so determined and energetic was 
she that she succeeded in getting him freed, in spite of the fact that Gen- 




DAVID ANDREWS 



HISTORY OF COOPER COUNTY 397 

eral Lyons insisted that Mr. Andrews be shot for a rebel sympathizer and 
adherent. 

David Andrews was of Irish descent and was an energetic man of 
business who had the gift of finance and able management of his business 
affairs. He amassed a fortune of over $300,000 and was one of the wealth- 
iest citizens of Boonville in his time. He opened a hardware store in 
Boonville, one of the first to be conducted in the city, and the business 
prospered. By fair and honest dealings and by the exercise of energy 
and the strictest of integrity, Mr. Andrews carved an honored and re- 
.-petted place in the business world of Boonville, and his name will always 
be known as that of one of the real pioneers of the city. He took an 
active and influential part in civic affairs during his long residence here, 
served as a member of the City Council and was mayor of the city for 
some years. He was father of 11 children, ten sons and one daughter, 
five of who were reared to maturity: Hardage Lane, David, Florence, 
Charles Edward, Lonnie or Alonzo. 

Hardage Lane Andrews learned the trade of jeweler, but never fol- 
lowed it. He went West in 1850 and eventually located in San Jose, 
Calif., as one of the pioneer pork packers on the Pacific Coast. He 
amassed a comfortable fortune and died at the age of 50 years, worth 
$60,000. ^ David Andrews also went West to the Pacific Coast and was 
associated with his brother, Hardage L., in the pork packing business. 
He died in San Jose, Calif. Florence Andrews married ex-Congressman 
John T. Heard, of Sedalia. She was born Sept. 7, 1846, and died Sept. 14, 
1886. "Lonnie" or Alonzo Andrews was born in 1854, and died in 1875. 
A sketch of Charles E. Andrews appears in this volume. All of the de- 
ceased children of David Andrews lie sleeping in the beautiful Walnut 
Grove Cemetery in Boonville. Although some of them had wandered far 
from the city of their birth, it was the wish of each that his final resting 
place be in the home town which they loved so well, ahd where their hap- 
piest days had been spent. 

David Andrews was a man eminently fitted for the period in which 
he lived. He was a member of the Methodist Church and was a devout 
man who feared God and loved his fellow men, his wife and his children. 
He was a democrat and a stanch believer and upholder of democratic 
principles of government. 

Charles W. Nixon, senior member of the firm of Nixon and Brosius. 
engaged in the farm loan and real estate business, Boonville, is a native 
of Cooper County and was born in Pilot Grove, Feb. 28, 1870. He is a 



398 HISTORY OF COOPER COUNTY 

son of David F. and Christina (Schlotzhauer) Nixon, well known resi- 
dents of Pilot Grove. 

David F. Nixon was born in Ross County, Ohio, Feb. 19, 1842. His 
father, William H. Nixon, was born in Loudoun County, Va. in 1816 and 
died in 1901. His parents were David and Rachel (Carr) Nixon, both 
natives of Virginia, and settled in Ross County, Ohio, where they reared 
a family of eight children, of whom William H. Nixon was the eldest. 
Mrs. Elizabeth E. (Edmiston) Nixon, mother of David H. Nixon, was 
born in Ross County, Ohio, in 1815. She resided at Old Chillicothe when 
Indians were plentiful in the forests of the neighborhood, and she died 
in 1887. She was a daughter of John and Miss (Teeter) Edmiston, 
natives of Tennessee. The Nixons are of Scotch descent. Three children 
were born to William H. and Elizabeth Nixon: John W., was a veteran 
of the Civil War and ranked as sergeant ; David F. Nixon, of this review ; 
and Emily, deceased wife of James Benner. 

In October of 1861, David F. Nixon enlisted in Company C, 73rd 
Ohio Regiment of Volunteers and served until his honorable discharge 
in 1864. He was hit by a shell in the right leg at the second battle of 
Bull Rnn and was also hit by a minnie ball in the left thigh. He partici- 
pated in the battles of Cross-Kris, Fort Republic, McDowell, Morefield 
and Romney, besides many minor battles and skirmishes. He was trans- 
ferred to the Veteran Reserve Corps in 1863 and was a member of Com- 
pany A 21st Regular Regiment. He was a corporal and was on duty at 
Trenton, N. J., saw a lot of hard work in the ensuing year and was 
mustered out of service in 1864. 

In 1866, David H. Nixon came to Pettis County, Mo., and located on 
a farm. Not long afterward he came to Cooper County and purchased a 
farm located two and a half miles south of Pilot Grove, where he farmed 
extensively for a number of years and was a successful breeder of Short- 
horn cattle. Mr. Nixon has disposed of all his land excepting a tract of 
94 acres. In 1916 he left the farm and moved to a home in Pilot Grove. 

Jan. 30, 1868, David H. Nixon and Christine Schlotzhauer were united 
in marriage. The children bom of this marriage are: Alexander Nixon, 
cashier of the Bank of Wooldridge; Rudy, died in 1905; Katie, is at home 
with her parents ; Charles W. Nixon, of this review, is the eldest of the 
family. 

David H. Nixon is a Republican and served a term judge of the 
County Court for the western district of Cooper County. He is a stock- 
holder in the Wooldridge Bank and assisted in the organization of the 



HISTORY OF COOPER COUNTY 309 

Pilot Grove Bank serving as president of this bank for two years. He 
is affiliated with the Grand Army of the Republic and the Ancient Free 
and Accepted Masons. 

Charles W. Nixon received his education in Pilot Grove College, 
founded and conducted by the Johnson family and which was in charge 
of William F. Johnson for some years. Mr. Nixon fanned in the vicinity 
of Pilot Grove for three years and continued in farming near Bunceton^ 
Mo., until 1902, when his election to the office of county clerk on the 
Republican ticket required his residing in Boonville. He served for four 
years in this office and in June, 1905, became associated with Mr. Brosius 
in the loan and land business. 

In August of 1894, Charles W. Nixon was united in marriage with 
Miss Margaret Rodgers, a daughter of E. H. Rodgers, who now makes his 
home in Boonville with Mr. Nixon. Mr. Rodgers was bom at West Lib- 
erty, W. Va., in 1842 and was a soldier in the Union army during the 
Civil War. After the close of the war he came to Cooper County and 
became a large land owner in this county. Prior to his advent in Cooper 
County he had married Mary Elliot who was born in West Virginia in 
1843 and died in 1915. 

The children born to Charles W. and Margaret Nixon are : Mary Jane, 
a graduate of Sweet Brier College, West Virginia, class of 1919 ; Mar- 
garet, a graduate of Boonville High School, class of 1919 ; David, a grad- 
uate of the Boonville Public Schools, class of 1919 ; Helen, aged six years. 

Mr. Nixon is a member of the Presbyterian Church and is frater- 
nally affiliated with the Knights of Pythias and the Ancient Free and 
Accepted Masons, having attained a membership in Ararat Temple Mystic 
Shrine. He is also a member of the Benevolent Protective Order of Elks. 

Rev. Fr. Theodore Kussman. — For nearly 34 years Father Kussman 
has been in charge of Sts. Peter and Paul's Catholic Church in Boonville, 
Mo. Two years after taking charge of this church, on Aug. 17, 1885, he 
was made irremovable rector and will remain in Boonville during the rest 
of his natural life as rector of this large and prosperous church which is 
one of the oldest in central Missouri and which celebrated Father Russ- 
man's golden jubilee on May 27, 1916. 

Theodore Kussman was born in Germany, Jan. 19, 1843. He is a son 
of Christopher and Clara Gertrude (Sperlbaum) Kussman, who immi- 
grated to America in 1847 and settled in St. Louis, where the father plied 
his trade of carpenter and cabinet maker. 

Theodore Kussman attended the parochial school and Christian 



400 HISTORY OF COOPER COUNTY 

Brothers College in St. Louis. He then spent two years as student in 
St. Francis Seminary near Milwaukee. He next studied for three years 
at the Theological College in Cape Girardeau, Mo., and was ordained in 
the priesthood May 27, 1866. 

Father Kussman's first charge was as substitute priest at Kirkwood 
for six months. He was then pastor of the Richwood, Mo., church for 
one year. He was pastor of French Village Church for two years and 
also had charge of the De Sota, Mo., church at the same time. For the 
next four years he filled the post of pastor of the Palmyra Church and 
also cared for two other churches in the vicinity of Palmyra. For the 
next 12 years he was pastor of the Springfield, Mo., Catholic Church and 
has spent 34 years in Boonville. 

During his long years of service in Boonville he has built the large 
church which is still standing and doubled the size of the rectory. The 
celebration of his golden jubilee on May 27, 1916, was a great occasion 
in the history of the church. 

Dr. Charles Doerrie, the veterinarian, Boonville, Mo., besides being 
a successful practitioner, is a manufacturer. His manufacturing busi- 
ness was first established in 1893 at 404 East Vine Street. The Doerrie 
office, residence and factory is now located at 722 Main Street, Dr.LDoerrie 
having recently purchased the Col. John S. Elliot propei-ty. Dr. Doerrie 
came into possession of an excellent recipe for a facial cream which he 
has named "Hattie's Complexion Beautifier." This is a splendid face 
and skin preparation for the use of both women and men, and each 
year it is becoming more and more popular with the trade. Over 70 
gross were manufactured and sold in 1918, and this business was accom- 
plished without advertising, the goods being sold only through agents 
and the drug trade in all parts of the United States. The quality of the 
product speaks for itself, and the user of a first jar of the beautifier is 
generally a continuous customer who tells of its qualities to others of her 
acquaintance. Dr. Doerrie has been manufacturing and selling the prep- 
aration under the name of the Beautifier Company, Boonville, Mo. 

Charles Doerrie was born in Illinois, June 23, 1862, and was yet an 
infant when his parents located in St. Charles, Mo. Henry Doerrie, his 
father, died when Charles was but a child. Hia mother, Mrs. Louisa 
(Kemper) Doerrie, reared the two children to maturity. Dr. Doerrie has 
a sister. Mrs. Minnie Shubert, residing southeast of Boonville. The 
Doerrie family came to Boonville in 1881 and the mother makes her home 
in Boonville. After the death of Mr. Doerrie she married Peter Young, 
who is deceased. 




DR. CHARLES I" h:ki;i i: 



HISTORY OF COOPER COUNTY 401 

Dr. Charles Doerrie came to Boonville in the fall of 1882, and fol- 
lowed farming and coal mining for the first 10 years of his residence in 
Cooper County. He studied veterinary surgery at the New York Veter- 
inary College and began the practice of his profession in 1893. During 
the past 26 years his practice has ranged over Cooper, Howard, Saline, 
Moniteau, Morgan and Chariton Counties. 

April 22, 1886, Dr. Doerrie was married to Miss Alice G. Bull, of 
Cooper County. She is a daughter of Thomas Bull, of this county. 
Three children have been born to Charles and Alice G. Doerrie. Van 
Lee, resides at home, student in the State University, is the only 
child living. Van Lee Doerrie tried on seven different occasions to enlist 
in the National Army and was finally accepted. Seven days after he 
received notice to report for duty at Austin, Tex., the armistice was 
signed and the war ended. He is a student of architecture at the State 
University. By a former marriage, Dr. Doerrie has a daughter, Mrs. 
Wash Robertson, of Moulton, Iowa. 

Dr. Doerrie is a republican who has served as a member of the Boon- 
ville City Council. He is a member of the Methodist Episcopal Church 
and is affiliated with the Ancient Order of United Workmen, the Wood- 
men of the World and Travelers' Protective Association. 

Fred G. Lohse. — The general store of M. Lohse & Son, managed by 
Fred G. Lohse, is one of the old established and most successful business 
concerns in Boonville. A large room on Main street is stocked with high 
class groceries, dry goods, and feed, and the Lohse store unquestionably 
carries the largest stock of goods of its kind in the city. Some special- 
ties which have made this store famous throughout the country are its 
home roasted coffees, fresh made peanut products or butter, and the 
Heinz products. The Lohse store sells more kraut than all other stores 
in Boonville combined and the store always presents a busy, hustling 
scene, the force of five employees being kept busily employed in caring 
for the large trade. Lohse & Son caters to the highest class of trade in 
Cooper County and makes a distinction in favor of quality of the goods 
sold rather than in the quantity. 

H. Lohse, father of Fred G. Lohse, was born in Hamburg, Germany, 
in 1845, and immigrated to America in 1863 to escape military service in 
the Prussian army. He came to Boonville and engaged in the manufac- 
ture of lime, operating a lime kiln successfully until 1916. He married 
Carrie Stubbins, who departed this life when Fred G. Lohse was but a 
child. The children bom to M. and Carrie Lohse are as follows: Fred G., 
(26) 



402 HISTORY OF COOPER COUNTY 

of this review; William, engaged in the automobile business at St Louis, 
Mo.; Mrs. Flora Hale, died in 1916; Leslie, is connected with the largest 
wholesale grocery corporation west of the Mississippi River with head- 
quarters at Tucson, Ariz. ; Edgar, the youngest of the family, is a soldier 
in the National Army. He enlisted in the army at the age of 16 years 
and saw service on the Mexican border, later going to France when 
America entered the World War. He is a sergeant in Company B, 140th 
Regiment of the famous 35th Division, which so covered itself with glory 
in the severe fighting at St. Mihiel and the Argonne Forest on the west- 
ern front in France. 

Fred G. Lohse was born in Boonville, Mo., March 3, 1881, and was 
reared and educated in this city. He embarked in business in 1898 and 
has risen to become one of the leading and influential merchants of 
Boonville during the past 21 years. The success of M. Lohse & Son 
has been due to his energy, ability, and natural aptitude for business. 
Mr. Lohse was married in 1901 to Miss Mayme Gibbons, a daughter of 
the late Frank Gibbons, who was prominent in the affairs of Boonville 
for several years, was a member of the Commercial Club and was active 
in boosting the commercial advantages of Boonville. 

Mr. Lohse is a Republican, an active and influential booster for Boon- 
ville, liberal in his contributions to worthy causes intended for the ad- 
vancement of the best interests and growth of his native city. For the 
past 15 years he has been superintendent of the Methodist Sunday school 
and takes a just pride in conducting its affairs. He is a member of the 
Knights of Pythias. 

James William Jones, city collector of Boonville, Mo., is a native of 
this county. Mr. Jones was born in Boonville, June 10, 1863, and is a 
son of Thomas P. Jones, who was born in Ireland in 1834 and died 
June 5, 1900. 

Thomas P. Jones was a son of James I. Jones, who immigrated to 
• America in 1840, first resided in New York, and then came to Boone 
County, Mo., and in 1854 located in Boonville. When he attained ma- 
turity he became engaged in the transfer and freighting industry and 
hauled goods from the river front of Boonville to Tipton and points in 
the southwest for a number of years. When the overland freighting 
industry waned and the steam railroads took up the work formerly done 
by oxen and mules, Mr. Jones followed the trade of carpenter. He mar- 
ried Anna Cochran, born in 1842 at Turley, County Mayo, Ireland, a 
(laughter of John Cochran, who came to America in 1850 and settled at 



HISTORY OF COOPER COUNTY 403 

Bconville and engaged in farming in Cooper County. To Thomas P. 
! Anna Jones were born eight children, of whom five are living: J. W. 
Jones is the oldest of the family; Samuel F. is yardmaster in the rail- 
road yards, St. Louis, Mo.; Rosa, at home in Boonville; Alice Jones is 
a trained nurse at the Kemper Military School, Boonville, Mo. ; Margaret 
Jones is a saleslady in Chasnoff's store, Boonville, Mo. 

Desirous of obtaining more education than was afforded by the 
public schools of his day, James W. Jones entered the employ of Pro- 
lessor Kemper and worked his way through the Kemper School, doing 
most of his studying at night after his days work was done. He served 
an apprenticeship in the carpenter trade and went to California in 1885, 
where he followed his trade for the next seven years. He was then 
employed in the rolling stock department of the Southern Pacific railroad 
until he was seriously injured in 1896 by a fall from a moving train. 
Returning to Boonville he engaged in contracting. Mr. Jones built the 
Faimers Bank building, the Gmelich residence, the Schnack home on 
High street, the Colored Public School, and many other fine buildings 
and residences in Cooper County. He retired from business in the spring 
of 1918 and has served as city collector since April, 1918. His old injury 
had manifested itself in spinal trouble and after he had completed the 
erection of the I. O. 0. F. building, Mr. Jones suffered a severe spell of 
sickness which left him incapacitated for further active work. 

Mr. Jones is a Republican, and a member of the Knights of Pythias. 

Thomas P. Jones, when 17 years of age, crossed the Great Plains in 
1851 with a cattle outfit owned and operated by Berry & Potter. After 
he had assisted in driving a large, drove of cattle across the plains to the 
Pacific Coast he remained in California for about four years, engaged in 
mining and farming. 

During the Civil War he was enrolled as a member of the Missouri 
State Guards and took part in some minor battles with his command. He 
owned a few teams of horses and kept his horses at the tanyard. George 
Sahm was then engaged in the shoe business in Boonville and Mr. Sham, 
at the time of Shelbys raid and the capture of Boonville, hid his stock of 
shoes and boots in an empty cistern owned by Mr. .Jones. Shelby's men 
captured Mr. Jones and Mr. Sahm, forced Jones to go for his teams, and 
made Sahm recover his stock of shoes and boots from the cistern. The 
footwear was loaded on Jones' wagon and they were driven out to Caleb 
Jones' place southwest of town, both men being taken along as prisoners. 
'• an opportune time, Mr. Jones eluded his guards who were irttenl on 



404 HISTORY OF COOPER COUNTY 

getting a pair of boots and the team went on. A squad of cavalry met 
him on the road and asked "Where in h — 1 are you going?" Jones an- 
swered, "I am going for another load of boots." The other told him, "Go 
ahead." With Mr. Sahm lying in the bottom of the wagon, Jones drove 
the wagon to Boonville, put up the team and then hid in the brush for 
some time. 

The most important and the largest contract ever undertaken by 
Mr. Jones was the erection of the Phoenix American Pipe Works in 
Boonville. 

Oscar Spieler, proprietor of "The Riverview Stock Farm" in Saline 
township, the "Home of Big Bone Spotted Poland Chinas," is one of 
Cooper County's most progressive and successful stockmen. Mr. Spieler 
was born Aug. 21, 1870, near California, Moniteau County, Mo., a son of 
F. E. and Elizabeth (Young) Spieler, natives of Germany and New York, 
respectively. 

Frederick Ernest and Elizabeth Spieler were the parents of the fol- 
lowing children : Emma ; Maggie ; Mrs. Sophia Schilb, of Pilot Grove, Mo. ; 
Mrs. F. E. Eberhardt, of California, Mo. ; Mrs. Ida T. Farris, of Boonville ; 
Theodore, Richard, and Nora, at home. F. E. Spieler was a Union vet- 
eran. He served in the Civil War for four years, from 1861 to 1865, en- 
listing in Moniteau County, Mo., where he had located prior to the war. 
Mr. Spieler was wounded in a skirmish near Gooch's Mill in Cooper 
County, when he was shot in the right arm. He came with his family to 
Cooper County in 1873 and settled on the farm now owned by Oscar 
Spieler. The father is now deceased and his remains rest in Schmidt 
Cemetery and the widowed mother resides with her son Oscar. Mrs. 
Elizabeth (Young) Spieler was born Oct. 22, i844, in New York City, a 
daughter of Henry and Margaret Young, who settled in Missouri in 1854. 

"The Riverview Stock Farm" is located seven miles east of Boon- 
ville and comprises 240 acres of valuable land on the south bank of the 
Missouri River. This is the home of the Big Bone Spotted Poland China 
hogs. Mr. Spieler purchased his most valuable brood sow in March, 1917. 
In the spring of 1918 he had 15 sows to farrow and from 15 litters raised 
108 pigs, selling 105 from this same herd in 1918, 87 of them being 
shipped out by express. The heads of the herds are "Riverview Mon- 
arch' 'and "Real Giant." "Riverview Monarch" was sired by "Spotted 
Mammoth," which won second honors in the Omaha Swine Show in 1917 
and first honors at the Missouri State Fair in Sedalia, in the age class in 
1918. "Spotted Mammoth" sold for $400 to an Iowa breeder. "River- 



HISTORY OF COOPER COUNTY 405 

view Monarch" now weighs move than 600 pounds and is not yet two 
years of age. "Real Giant" is 11 months old and weighs 350 pounds. Mr. 
Spieler has 20 brood sows and his stock is said to be the best in the 
County. He has stock purchased from H. L. Faulkner, of Jamesport, Mo. ; 
J. O. Riley, of Cainesville, Mo. ; R. G. Sartin, of Fayette, Mo. ; B. B. Me- 
gown, of New London, Mo., and J. D. Gates & Sons, of Ravenwood, Mo. 
There is no better stock to be had than that on the Spieler place. 

Oscar Spieler is numbered among the leading stockmen of this sec- 
tion of Missouri and he ranks highly among the enterprising citizens of 
his township and county. 

E. J. Huber, proprietor and founder of the Huber Jewelry Company 
of Boonville has a handsome and well stocked store in which only de- 
pendable goods of the best quality are sold. Mr. Huber was born in 
Boonville, June 29, 1858, and is a son of Karl F. and Anna (Walz) Huber, 
natives of Germany. 

Karl F. Huber was born in 1829 and died March 10, 1873. He ran 
away from home in the early forties and made his way to America, 
where he first worked in the woolen mills of Massachusetts. He soon 
came west and was employed on the construction of the C. B. & Q. rail- 
road while this line was being built to Galesburg, 111. He opened a board- 
ing house at Mendota, 111., after a period of employment at Peru, 111., and 
in 1857 he came from Mendota to Boonville. He conducted a saloon busi- 
ness in this city until his death. While a resident of Illinois, Mr. Huber 
was married to Anna Walz, who was born in Germany in 1834 and died 
at her home in Boonville in 1892. E. J. Huber of this review, was the 
only child of his parents reared to manhood out of six born. 

In 1873 E. J. Huber was apprenticed to Jacob Gmelich the pioneer 
jeweler and watchmaker of Boonville, after receiving a good common 
school education. After spending a four years' apprenticeship with Mr. 
Gmelich he was then employed by Gmelich for another three years. 
From 1882 to 1893 he was a partner in the business, which was con- 
ducted under the firm name of Gmelich and Huber Jewelry Company. In 
1893 Mr. Schmidt came in as a junior partner. In 1906 Mr. Huber sold 
his interest to Mr. Schmidt and after a period of resting for a few years. 
he spent seven years in business at Blackwater, Mo. He returned to 
Boonville in 1915 and established his present successful business. 

Mr. Huber was first married in 1880 to Miss Laura Hayne, who died 
in 1892, leaving one child, Karl A. Huber. This son was born in 1883 
and has served his country in France. He enlisted in August of 1917, 



406 HISTORY OF COOPER COUNTY 

in the Twentieth Engineer Corps, and was promoted to the post of ser- 
geant. Sergeant Huber's regiment was engaged from the rirst of its 
advent in France in the building of saw mills and railroads on the west- 
ern front in France. Sergeant received his honorable discharge May 27, 
1919, at Camp Dodge, Iowa. Upon his return home he resumed his posi- 
tion in the Huber jewelry store. His grandfather, John A. Hayne, was 
a soldier in the Civil War. He fought in the Battle of Boonville as a 
sergeant. After the battle was won, he jumped to a mound, waved the 
I ..ion flag, shouted "Hurrah for the Union," and was shot twice and 
killed. The local Grand Army post is named in honor of John A. Hayne. 

Mr. Huber's second marriage was with Miss Laura Roerder, 
who departed this life in 1903. Three children blessed this union, as 
follows: George, his fathers' assistant in the -business; Ernest, and Min- 
nie. Einest Huber was for four years a student at the Missouri S'. 
University and graduated in the class of 1916. He enlisted in the Medical 
Reserve Corps of the National Army in 1917 and upon receiving his dis- 
charge from the service he resumed his medical studies at Ann Arbor, 
Mich. In 1915 Mr. Huber was married to Miss Katie Back. 

Politically, Mr. Huber is a Republican. He is a member of the Evan- 
gelical Church and is affiliated with the Independent Order of Odd Fellows. 

Augustus H, Sauter. — Sincere regret was expressed by hundreds of 
people in Cooper County and the surrounding country when the Sauter 
Mercantile Company passed out of existence in April, 1919. For nearly 
50 .. is concern had been doing business in Boonville and the Sauter 

store had become a widely known landmark. The Sauter Mercantile 
Company was established in 1870 as Sauter & Company, the firm being 
composed of Fred Sauter, A. H. Sauter, and John Weber. The busin 
was conducted under the name of Sauter & Company until 1905, when 
it was incorporated under the name of Sauter Mercantile Company, a 
corporation having five members: Fred Sauter, president; J. Memmel, 
vice-president; A. H. Sauter, secretary and treasurer; F. S. Sauter and 
J. L. Sauter. When Fred Sauter died on Sept. 21, 1918, it was decided to 
close out the business. A sale of the stock of goods was carried on for 
several weeks until the remaining stock and good will of the concern was 
disposed of to the Bassett-Gregory Company on March 21, 1919. The 
Sauter Mercantile Company occupied a large building of three floors 
140x180 feet in extent and the stock of goods usually carried for sale 
would exceed $40,000 in value. The volume of business transacted in the 
Sauter store annually exceeded $100,000. This immense trade was car- 



HISTORY OF COOPER COUNTY 407 

ried on each year and the patrons of the establishment were the sub- 
stantial people of Cooper and Howard Counties who had the utmost con- 
fidence in the integrity and honesty of the management and regularly 
made their purchases at this store. 

Augustus H. Sauter, former secretary and treasurer of the Sauter 
Mercantile Company and now engaged in conducting a music store in 
Boonville was born in South Germany, Nov. 17. 1847. He is a son of 
Matthew and Rosa (Knapp) Sauter. Matthew Sauter was horn in 1811 
an 1 died in 1896. With his family he immigi-ated to America in L859 
and ! in Boonville. Oct. 5 of that year. Mr. Sauter was a skilled 

cabinet maker in his native land but when he came to Missouri he i 
ir. farming. He located on a farm 22 miles south of Boonville in Moniteau 
County. Later he came to a farm one and a half miles south of Boonville. 
where he resided until 1882. He then, even in his old age. went to South 
Dakota, homesteaded another farm in that new country and died there 
in 1896. He remained hale and hearty to the end of his days. His wife, 
Rosa (Knapp) Sauter, was born in 1819 and died in 1884. The children 
born to Matthew and Rosa Sauter are as follows : Mrs. John Weber, living 
in South Dakota; Mrs. Fannie Memmel, Fayette, Mo.; Mrs. Bertha Dief- 
endorf, Sioux Falls, S. D. ; Frank S. Sauter, vice-president of the Boonville 
National Bank; J. L. Sauter, with the Boonville Mercantile Company, 
Boonville, and A. H. Sauter of this review. 

A. H. Sauter was 13 years of age when he accompanied his parents 
to Boonville. He had received a good public school training in his native 
land and this was supplemented by further training in Boonville. From 
childhood, Mr. Sauter has had the remarkable gift of the bom musician. 
Hi .; first work in Boonville was as a teacher of music, a profession which 
he followed for 25 years. Professor Sauter taught both piano and organ 
to many Cooper County people when devoting his time and talents to his 
favorite profession. During all the time in which he has been engaged 
in the mercantile business he has carried pianos and organs as a side 
line. Since retiring from the mercantile business Professor Sauter has 
returned to his first love and is following his personal inclinations. He 
has opened a piano and music store vhere his time is mainly spent and 
his natural ability as a musician has full sway. 

Ho embarked in the mercantile business in 1870 and has achieved 
a reputation as a good business man as well as musician, a rare combina- 
tion. He was formerly connected with the Farmers Bank and the Citi- 
zens Trust Company of Boonville and took part in the erection of the 



408 HISTORY OF COOPER COUNTY 

old Trust Company building at the corner of Main and Court streets. He 
was the main promoter in the organization of the Citizens Trust Company 
which purchased the Bankers Bank, and both were subsequently merged 
with the Boonville National Bank, the largest and strongest bank in 
Missouri in cities of 5,000 to 10,000. In a single day Mr. Sauter suc- 
ceeded in securing subscriptions to the stock of the Citizens Trust Com- 
pany to the extent of $100,000. 

Mr. Sauter was married in 1914 to Miss Mary Wenig of Boonville. 
He is a Republican. While not a member of any religious denomination 
Mr. Sauter has been and is a liberal supporter of all churches. He is a 
member of the Knights of Pythias. No group of men stand higher in 
the esteem of the people than the sons of Matthew Sauter, and Augustus 
H. Sauter is one of the best liked and substantial citizens of Boonville 
and Cooper County. 

Henry Carl Friedrich. — The life story of Henry Carl Friedrich, of 
the Billingsville neighborhood, Palestine township, is a record of indus- 
try, energy, good business management, and of an interest taken in good 
works beyond that of the ordinary citizen. Since the purchase of his 
first modest farm of 121 acres in Aug., 1909, Mr. Friedrich has been pros- 
perous and enterprising. His present home place of 214.70 acres is a 
fine farm, good land, which raises good crops each year. This farm, which 
is fairly well improved, was purchased by Mr. Friedrich in 1909 at a cost 
of $74 an acre, or a total cost of $16,000. Mr. Friedrich has done con- 
siderable improving of the property since he purchased it. He has built 
over seven miles of woven wire fencing. He handles pure bred Hereford 
cattle and Duroc Jersey hogs. 

Henry Carl Friedrich was born in Germany, Feb. 11, 1866. He is a 
son of Herman and Martha Elizabeth (Sunshine) Friedrich. His father 
was a public school teacher in Hesse-Cassel, and died in 1868, leaving 
seven children: Mary died in Germany; William came to America, set- 
tled in Cooper County, Mo., and died here in 1897 ; August died in the land 
of his birth ; Ferdinand lives in Pennsylvania ; Charles lives on a farm 
eight miles east of Boonville; Henry Carl, subject of this review; Adam 
resides on a farm south of Bunceton, Mo. The mother of these children 
was born May 3, 1835, and is living at the home of Mr. Friedrich. 

Henry Carl Friedrich received a good education in his native land, 
which he left in 1885, accompanied by his mother and his brother, Adam 
Friedrich. When he arrived in Cooper County, he was possessed of $200 
in cash. He first worked out by the month until he became familiar with 







'31 




En * ^ E f I 




|4 fl ik, 1 p^ 

■mHE 7 




^V^ri^^^l ' * ^B^l - ^f^^^-M 


w *%■ 


B 1 - ^^fl' <£ a 1 C^. 





HENRY ('. FRIEDRICH AND FAMILY 



HISTORY OF COOPER COUNTY 409 

conditions and then began renting land. He has made a success of his 
vocation as an intelligent tiller of the soil. His first farm was bought on 
time payments and the first crop season, that of the famous dry year of 
1901, was a period of discouragement to him. However, everybody suf- 
fered the same hardships and like his neighbors, he managed to pull 
through and has had enough good crops in past years to enable him to 
trade his first homestead for his present place. This trade placed him 
$8000 in debt, but this is all paid and the Friedrich farm is clear of all 
indebtedness. 

Jan. 7, 1892, Henry Carl Friedrich and Miss Lena Grauer were mar- 
ried. Mrs. Lena Friedrich was born March 5, 1872, near Boonville, Mo., 
and is a daughter of Jacob and Catherine Grauer, natives of Germany 
dncl Texas, respectively, the latter of whom died in 1881. 

The children born to Henry Carl and Lena Friedrich are: Ferdi- 
nand, Edward Carl, Arthur Henry, Oscar Harmon, Henry Rudolph, 
Adolph Eugene, Adolph Elmer. Ferdinand William Friedrich was born 
Nov. 19, 1892. He is a farmer and owns 85 acres of land. He married 
Lydia Delius. Edward Carl Friedrich was born Jan. 23, 1895, is a farmer 
and land owner. He was called to the colors to serve in the National 
Army July 26, 1918. He was in training at Camp Funston, received his 
honorable discharge in Jan., 1919, and returned to his home Jan. 14, 1919. 
Arthur Henry Friedrich was born Feb. 7, 1897, and is a land owner and 
farmer. Oscar Herman Friedrich was born Jan. 30, 1899. Henry Ru- 
dolph Friedrich was born Nov. 3, 1902. Adolph Eugene Friedrich was 
born March 27, 1908. Adolph Elmer Friedrich was born July 8, 1916. 

Mr. Friedrich is a republican. For a number of years he has been a 
member of the local school board and is serving as president of the board. 
For the past 13 years he has been trustee of the Billingsville Evangelical 
Church. He is active in educational work, is a teacher of the Bible Class 
in the Sunday School and has been superintendent of the Sunday school 
for a number of years. He is a member of the Modern Woodmen of 
America and is active in lodge circles. He holds membership in the Wood- 
men of the World and he and his brother Charles inaugurated and were 
the principal organizers of the Speed Camp of Woodmen in 1900. He 
is a member of the Ladies' Circle and Auxiliary of the Woodmen. 

Charles Durr, presiding judge of the County Court of Cooper County, 
and senior member of the Durr-Warnhoff Hardware Company and junior 
member of the Durr Brothers Saddlery Company, is a member of one of 
the oldest business families in Boonville. The Durr saddlery concern 



410 HISTORY OF COOPER COUNTY 

was established in 1859 and the hardware business was inaugurated in 
1915. It is one of the best equipped hardware stores in central Missouri 
and a complete and modern stock of hardware, stoves, etc., is carried for 
discerning buyers. The harness manufactory is a fioui'ishing concern 
maintained to supply local trade. Judge Charles Durr was born in Boon- 
ville, Aug. 16, 1872, and is a son of the late John Durr. 

John Durr was born in Germany, Nov. 4, 1837 and died March 4, 
1918. He came to America in 1851 and first located in New Jersey. He 
eventually made his way to Louisville, Ky., where he learned the trad* 
of saddler and harness maker. He was next employed by the J. P. 
Sickles & Company harness and saddle manufacturers in St. Louis until 
1859, when he located in Boonville, where he established the business 
which he carried on successfully until his death. During the Civil War 
he was enrolled as a member of the Missouri State Guards, serving in a 
defensive capacity. He served for a few years as city treasurer of Boon- 
ville and was active in civic affairs during his lifetime. The wife of 
John Dun- was Mary Augusta Sombart, born 1839, died March 7, 1900. 
Mrs. Mary Augusta (Sombart) Durr was a sister of Judge C. W. Som- 
bart. John and Mary Augusta Durr were parents of the following chil- 
dren: John W., of the Durr Brothers Harness and Saddlery Company, 
Boonville; Mary, died at the age of nine years; Charles Frederick, of 
this review. 

Charles Frederick Durr attended the public schools of his native city 
and at an early age he entered his father's shop, where he learned the 
trade of saddler and harness maker. He followed his trade until he en- 
gaged in the hardware business in 1915. Judge Durr was married on 
Nov. 26, 1896. to Julia M. Stammerjohn, a native of Cooper County, and 
a daughter of Claus Stammerjohn. To this union have been born two 
children: Mary, aged 21 years, bookkeeper for the firm; Mildred, aged 
seven years. 

Judge Durr is a Republican and is one of the leaders of his party in 
Cooper County. He was elected to the office of county treasurer in 1906 
and served two terms in this office. In November, 1918, he was elected 
presiding judge of the County Court. Judge Durr is affiliated with the 
Independent Order of Odd Fellows, the Fraternal Order of Eagles and 
the Knights of Pythias. He is popular, genial, well informed, a splen- 
did county official as well as successful business man. 

William E. Crutchfield, manager of the Harris Lumber Company, 
Boonville, Mo., has been a resident of this city in charge of the Boonville 



HISTORY OF COOPER COUNTY 411 

yards of the Harris Lumber Company for the past 10 years. He was 
bom in Randolph County, Mo., Feb. 22, 1878. 

L. A. Crutchfield. his father, was also bom in Randolph County and 
is a ^on of William Crutchfield, of Virginia, who was a pioneer settler 
in Missouri. The Crutchfields are originally from Virginia and the Caro- 
linas and are an old American family. L. A. Crutchfield was born in 
.:), followed farming until late years and is now living in Huntsville, 
Mo. His wife, who was Margaret Richardson, was horn May 1, 1856. 
Eleven children were born to L. A. Crutchfield and wife, as follows: Two 
died in infancy; Annie, died at the age of five years; .Mrs. Josephine 
Graves, lives in Randolph County. Mo.: William E., of this review; Leon- 
ard, lives in Randolph County, Mo.; Mrs. Fannie Robinson, lives at Ya1 
Mo.; Mrs. Edith Owens, and Mrs. Ella Stark live in Randolph county: 
Mrs. Zouri Burton, lives on a farm near Armstrong, Mo.; Margaret, lives 
in California. 

W. E. Crutchfield attended the Huntsville Public Schools and the 
Salisbury Academy. When 19 years old he went to California and lived 
with his aunt, who was conducting a hotel. He remained in California 
for three years and in 1900 he came back to Missouri. In 1901 he be- 
came connected with the Jumber business at Huntsville, Mo., in the em- 
ploy of his uncle. After the purchase of his uncle's yard by the Harris 
Lumber Company, he entered their employ and was stationed at Louisi- 
ana, Mo., and Vandalia, 111., for a year. For the past 13 years he has been 
connected with the Harris Lumber Company, has a financial interest in 
the company and is treasurer of the concern. Mr. Crutchfield located in 
Boonville in 1908. 

He was married Feb. 17, 1904, to Miss Mattie Lee Wallace of Ran- 
dolph County, Mo.; who has borne him two children: Gladys Elzarine, 
born Oct. 4, 1908; and William Elzie, Jr., bom Feb. 17, 1915. The mother 
of these children is a daughter of William Harry and Leora E. (Matlock) 
Wallace, the former of whom was a native of Indiana and the latter of 
Randolph County, Mo. 

W. H. Wallace was born April 16, 1850, in Gibson County. Ind.. and 
died June 21, 1902. He was a son of Robert Wallace, of Scotch-Irish 
descent. He came to Missouri in 1871 and first settled at Moberly. Tie 
was married at Huntsville, Nov. 22, 1877, to Leora E. Matlock, bom Feb. 
8, 1856, a daughter of James A (bom May 4, 1824, died Oct. 30. 1895) ; 
Susan (Gunn) Matlock (born Oct. 19, 1828, died July 3. 1912). Mrs. 
Wallace's parents were natives of North Carolina and accompanied their 



412 HISTORY OF COOPER COUNTY 

respective parents to Missouri in childhood, the trip being made overland 
in wagons, the Gunns making the long trip by wagon in 1829. Michael 
Gunn, a brother of Susan (Gunn) Matlock, made three trips back and 
forth between North Carolina and Missouri and bought a great deal of 
land. Susan (Gunn) Matlock was a daughter of Thomas Gunn, who was 
a son of Thomas Gunn, who married Martha Hooper, and was a native 
of Ireland and founder of the Gunn family in this country. Thomas 
Gunn (II) married Anna Montgomery, a daughter of Michael and Jeanette 
Montgomery, both of whom were natives of Ireland. 

James E. Matlock was a son of James Matlock, who was a son of 
Nicholas Matlock. Mrs. Leora E. (Matlock) Wallace now makes her home 
in Boonville with her daughter, Mrs. Crutchfield. She has one other 
child, Mrs. Lessie Ball, of Macon, Mo. 

Mr. Crutchfield is a Democrat. He is affiliated with the Ancient Free 
and Accepted Masons, the Knights of Pythias and the Travelers' Protec- 
tive Association. He and his family worship at the Methodist Episcopal 
Church. 

Ernest Louis Moehle. — The Moehle family have been resident in 
Cooper County since 1867, when Louis Moehle, father of E. L. Moehle, 
of Boonville, township, came to this county from Prairie City, Iowa, and 
purchased the William Howard farm of 185 acres on the Lamine River 
and also operated a saw mill. 

Louis Moehle, the elder, was born in Germany, married Elizabeth 
Brunscheid, and after coming to this country, settled in Iowa, where he 
built a mill, which he operated until his removal to Cooper County in 
1867. He built a saw mill on the Lamine River and he and his son Gustav 
engaged in the building of steamboats. Some of the boats which the 
Moehles built are still running on the Missouri River. Capt. "Nick" 
Smith bought an interest in the first boat which they built. Gustav 
Moehle later built gasoline boats at Arrow Rock. The father died in 
May, 1892. Mrs. Moehle died in 1891. They were parents of the follow- 
ing children: Mrs. Emma Deit Maring, Covington, Ky. ; Gustav, engi- 
neer on the Boonville Ferry Boat; Mrs. Bertha Hines, Carrollton, Mo.; 
Mrs. Dena Friess, Boonville; Ernest Louis, of this review; Hugo, died in 
Los Angeles, Calif. 

Ernest Louis Moehle was reared in Cooper County and worked in his 
father's saw mill and assisted in the boat building when a boy. In 1885 
he traded for the Friess mill property and operated it as a flour and saw 
mill until 1899. Returning to the family homestead, he rented the tract 




THE MOEHLE RISTKRS 





B. I.. MOEHLE 



MRS. i: I. MOEHLE 




Till; MOEHLE BROTHERS 



HISTORY OF COOPER COUNTY 413 

until 1900. He then bought his present homestead of 129 acres in Boon- 
ville township, west of the city, and moved to the place March 4, 1901. 
Mr. Moehle has rebuilt the residence, built barns, and all fences, and has 
a concrete cellar in rear of the house. The Moehle place is one of the 
most attractive along the highway. 

Ernest Louis Moehle was born in Perry County, Ind. His father, 
Louis Moehle, was concerned in the uprising of the German people against 
the Kaiser in the '40s, met with defeat with his fellow patriots in 1848 
and fled to America to escape the vengeance of the military masters in 
1849. He first located in Indiana and thence to Iowa, thence to Missouri. 

E. L. Moehle was married on Njov. 4, 1879, to Miss Amelia Neff, who 
has borne him the following children: Arthur, Paul, Nora, Harry, 
George, Matilda, Bertha, Ernest L., Martha. Arthur is owner of 145 
acres in Boonville township, purchased for him by his father, married 
Elizabeth Frederick, and has three children: Herbert, Pauline and Irene. 
Paul is in the employ of an oil company in Oklahoma, and has a home 
near Boonville. He married Elgie Lahman, and has three children: Ed- 
win, Melvin, and Vivian. Nora is the wife of Ernest Jaeger, of Boonville 
township, mother of two children: Clara and Martha. Harry is em- 
ployed in the Boonville postoffice, married Mena Bamman, and has two 
children, Martha Jane and Marie. George Ernest, the soldier of the fam- 
ily, was inducted into the National Army, July 26, 1918, spent six months 
in training as a private in the first class, Battery A, 29th Field Artillery, 
at Camp Funston, and was honorably discharged from the service, Jan. 
29, 1919. Matilda is at home with her parents. Bertha is the wife of 
Charles Jaeger, Boonville township, and is mother of a son, Charles. 
Ernest Louis, Jr., and Martha are at home. The mother of these chil- 
dren was born April 24, 1855, a daughter of Jacob and Elizabeth Neff, 
natives of Germany, who immigrated to America in June, 1848, arriving 
here June 15. They left Germany in March, 1848. 

Mr. Moehle is a republican and is a member of the Evangelical 
Church. 

Frank George. — The George and Goodman furniture and undertak- 
ing establishment on south Main street, Boonville, Mo., is the largest and 
finest concern of its kind in Central Missouri. Mr. George, the senior 
member of the firm, has been engaged in business since 1899, but the 
present firm of George and Goodman was organized in 1911. In 1915 
the stock and fixtures were moved to the present location. A large build- 
ing, 50x120 feet, is occupied by the two floors filled with the immense stock 



414 HISTORY OF COOPER COUNTY 

of furniture of the latest and best makes. The undertaking department 
is in charge of Mr. Goodman, the junior member of this enterprising and 
successful business house. 

Frank George is a member of one of the oldest and best known of the 
Missouri pioneer families. He was born in Cooper county, on a farm 
twelve miles south of Boonville, Jan. 27, 1857. 

Thomas L. George, his father, was born in 1824 and died in 1898. 
His mother, Lucy (McCullough) George, was born in 1826 and died in 
1893. She was a sister of Col. Robert McCullough, of Confederate army 
and Civil War fame. Thomas L. George was a native of Cooper County 
and was a son of Reuben George, bom in Tennessee, reared there, and 
rode to Cooper County on horseback from his Tennessee home, made a 
location on the Petit Saline creek and married Sallie McFarland. daugh- 
ter of another pioneer family. Lucy (McCullough) George was a daugh- 
ter of Robert McCullough, of Virginia, who settled in Cooper County in 
1835. During the Civil War, Thomas L. George commanded a company 
of Home Guards and bore the title of captain. He developed a splendid 
farm south of Boonville and reared a family of six children: Charles L. 
George, Boonville; Mrs. Ada Rudolph, deceased; Frank George, of this 
review; Elmer George, judge of the County Court, resides on a farm 
near Bunceton ; Albert, living at Rock Island, Texas ; Margaret, a teacher 
in the public schools of Cooper County. 

Robert McCulloch, grandfather of this subject, was born in Albemarle 
County, Va., Dec. 2, 1781, and died in Cooper County, Mo., June 12, 1853. 
He served his country as captain in the War of 1812, and moved to this 
county in the year of 1835 and settled in Clarks Fork township on the 
Lone Elm prairie and built the first house erected on praiiie land in the 
county. 

Robert McCoIloch, great grandfather of subject, was born in Antrim, 
Ireland, Sept. 4, 1743 ; died in Albemarle County, Va., March 20, 1820. He 
emigrated to America; he first went to Pennsylvania and afterwards to 
Virginia. He had a brother killed in battle at Kings Mountain. He was 
married in Ireland to Miss Sarah Wherry, who died in Albemarle County, 
Va., Jan. 27, 1826, aged 80 years, six months and IS days. 

John McCulloch, great great grandfather of our subject, lived and 
died in Ireland. 

Patsy Mills McCulloch, grandmother of subject on the maternal side, 
was married to Robert McCulloch, subject's grandfather, in Albemarle 
County, Va., Sept. 18, 1806, and died in Cooper County, Mo.. May 25, 1878. 



HISTORY OF COOPER COUNTY 415 

Joseph Mills, the maternal great grandfather of our subject, was a 
native of England and emigrated to America. He married Miss Mary 
Blaekwell, of Virginia. Joseph Mills died in Aug., 1843, at an advanced 
age. His wife died aged 81 years, three months and 28 days. 

Reuben George, father of T. L. George, born Feb. 23, 1792, came to 
the state from Tennessee in the year 1816 and settled on a farm 4 miles 
south of Boonville, on the Petit Saline creek. He married Sarah McFar- 
land, April 1, 1821. Thomas L. George was born on the said farm, Janu- 
ary 5, 1824, had two sisters and one brother, viz: Mrs. Nancy (George) 
Aseltyne, Ellen George and Jacob L. George, all now dead. 

Thomas L. George was married to Lucy McCulloch, June 11, 1850. 
Of this union the following children were born: C. L. George, residing in 
Boonville, Mo.; Ada (George) Rudolph, wife of Judge Adam Rudolph, now 
deceased ; Albert, now residing in Rock Island, Texas ; Elmer, present 
judge of the County Court from the eastern district of this county, and 
Maggie, teaching in the rural schools of the county. 

Jacob McFarland, great grandfather, was born Feb. 21, 1772. Nancy 
(Cathy) McFarland, his wife, was born Jan. 18, 1780, and came to this 
state from North Carolina in the year 1816, and settled on a farm four 
miles south of Boonville, Mo., near the Petit Saline creek. They were 
the parents of Sallie George, wife of Reuben George; Sarah (McFarland) 
George was born in the state of North Carolina in 1802, Jan. 13th. 

Reuben George died in this county, Jan. 13, 1862, and Sarah, his wife, 
Nov. 6, 1873. 

Thomas L. George died in this county, Oct., 1898. Lucy McCulloch 
George, his wife, died May 27, 1893, and was buried in the McCulloch 
cemetery in this county. 

Frank George was reared on his father's farm and engaged in farm- 
ing for himself when he attained maturity. He developed a fine farm 
near Clarks Fork, Mo., and in 1899 moved to Boonville, where he has been 
successfully engaged in business for the past 20 years. He first ventured 
into the implement and grocery business but sold out and has ever since 
been engaged in the furniture business. 

Mr. George was married in 1883 to Virginia, the daughter of George 
and Cornelia (Bear) Shirley, early settlers in Cooper County. Mr. and 
.Mrs. George have three children: Edna George, a teacher in the public 
schools at Durant, Okla.; Ila, wife of George R. Johnson, Webster Groves, 
Mo.; Mrs. Alma Drury, living at home with her parents. 

A few words regarding the McCulIough family would be timely here. 



416 HISTORY OF COOPER COUNTY 

Robert McCullough was born Dec. 2, 1781, in Albemarle County, Va., and 
died in Cooper County, Mo., June 12, 1853. He served as captain of a 
company of volunteers during the War of 1812. In 1835 he came to 
Cooper County and settled in Clarks Fork township. He erected the first 
house built upon the Upland prairie in Cooper County. He was a son of 
Robert McCullough, a native of County Antrim, Ireland, born Sept. 4, 
1743, and died in Albemarle County, Va., March 30, 1820. He became 
very wealthy. A brother of Robert McCullough was killed at the battle 
of King's Mountain during the Revolutionary War. Robert McCullough 
was a son of John McCullough. The wife of Robert McCullough (I) was 
Sarah Wherry, who died Jan. 27, 1826, at the age of 80 years. Patsey 
(Mills) McCullough, wife of Capt. Robert McCullough (II) died May 25, 
1878. She was a daughter of Joseph Mills, a native of England, who was 
a famous Greek and Latin scholar. Joseph Mills died in August, 1843. 
He had married Mary Blackwell. 

Frank George has been a life long republican. He has served two 
terms as sheriff of Cooper County, being first elected in 1902 and was 
re-elected in 1904. Mr. George was elected mayor of Boonville in 1914 
and held the office for one term. He is a member of the Baptist church 
and is an excellent citizen as well as successful business man. 

Joseph Lieber, farmer and Union veteran, owner of a fine tract of 
land in Boonville township, embracing 177 acres, was born in Switzerland, 
July 31, 1843. His parents, Peter and Mary Anna (Fuerer) Lieber, left 
their country in Dec, 1850, and came to America, landing from a sailing 
vessel at New Orleans, La., after a voyage of 33 days. Six days more 
were consumed in making the river trip by boat from New Orleans to 
Jefferson City, arriving there in Feb., 1851. In 1854 the family came to 
Boonville. Peter Lieber had been a charcoal burner in his native country, 
but his skill in this respect not being in demand in Boonville, he worked 
as a laborer. 

The Civil War having broken out, Joseph Lieber, May 10, 1861, ac- 
companied by John Hirth and another young man, named Diringer, 
boai'ded a row boat and made their way to St. Louis, down the Missouri 
River, a distance of 220 miles. He there joined the First Missouri 
Light Artillery, Union Army, went to Rolla with his company and thence 
to Springfield, soon afterward taking part in the battle of Wilson's Creek. 
He was there taken prisoner and held for five days, released on parole, 
promised not to again take up arms against the Confederacy and then 
settled down in St. Louis, where he worked at his trade of tinner. He 




JOSEPH LIEBER 



HISTORY OF COOPER COUNTY 417 

returned to Boonville in 1866 and in 1867 he established a tin shop in the 
city, which he operated until 1883. He then went to Franklin county, 
Ark., and farmed in that county until 1893. Returning to Boonville, he 
again engaged in business, working at his trade until 1916, when he re- 
moved to his farm just south of Boonville. In 1905, Mr. Lieber had pur- 
chased the old Greenlease place of 53.5 acres and has added to this tract 
until he owns 177 acres. 

Mr. Lieber was married in Jan., 1868, to Margaret Fessler, who was 
born in Baden, Germany, in 1843, and came to America, with her parents 
in 1855. Her parents were Franz and Geneva Fessler, who settled in 
Boonville. Mrs. Lieber died in Oct., 1890. She was mother of nine chil- 
dren: Frank, Joseph, John, James, William, Cecilia, George, Roman, and 
Charles. Frank Lieber lives in Dallas, Texas. Joseph Lieber is buried at 
Fort Smith, Ark, his death occurring in 1895. John Lieber lives at Mus- 
cogee, Okla. James Lieber resides in Tennessee. William Lieber lives 
in Boonville. Cecelia Lieber is deceased. George Lieber lives at Parsons, 
Kan. Roman Lieber lives at Muscogee, Okla. Lieut. Charles Lieber, of 
the National Army, A. E. F., in France, was born in 1889. He is one of the 
brightest and most ambitious of Cooper County's young men. While a 
student at Washington University, St. Louis, Mo., he enlisted in the Na- 
tional Army, with the 12th Engineers Battalion, Company C, in May, 
1917. He first went to England with his command in June, 1917, thence 
to France, where he participated in the memorable campaigns with the 
A. E. F. He was connected with the motor department of the American 
Army in France. He was honorably discharged from the army June 1, 
1919, and is now at home. 

The father of Joseph Lieber was well to do in Baden, Germany, and 
came of a family of charcoal burners, whose business it was to supply the 
big iron works near the Black Forest. Wishing to be free and indepen- 
dent and settle in a country where his children would have fuller and 
better opportunities to make careers of their own, he came to America. 
His children received every advantage that he could give them in the way 
of training and education, Joseph Lieber, of this review, having been edu- 
cated in Prof. Alkison's private school in Boonville. 

Although nominally republican, Joseph Lieber is an independent 
voter who does his own thinking along political lines. He is a member of 
the Grand Army of the Republic, John A. Hayne Post, No. 240, and has 
been the Colonel Commanding this Post for the past eight years. 
(27) 



418 HISTORY OF COOPER COUNTY 

Maximilian E. Schmidt.— The jewelry establishment of Gmelich & 
Schmidt, owned and operated by M. E. Schmidt, of this review, is the 
oldest and best known jewelry store of central Missouri. It is one of 
the most complete and best stocked and compares most favorably and 
equals in its appointments and arrangements any concern of the same 
character in the larger cities of Missouri. For nearly 60 years this store 
has been conducted in Boonville and was founded in 1860 by the late Hon. 
Jacob F. Gmelich, who was joined by Maximilian E. Schmidt, his son-in- 
law, in 1893. For some years it was known as the Gmelich and Huber 
Jewelry Company until Mr. E. G. Huber retired from the business in 
1905. The firm then became Gmelich & Schmidt and is at present oper- 
ated under that name with Mr. Schmidt as manager. Since Mr. Gmelich's 
death in February, 1914, Mr. Schmidt has been sole proprietor. 

M. E. Schmidt was born in Peru, 111., April 19, 1865. He is a son of 
Albin and Caroline (Conrad) Schmidt, both natives of Germany. Albin 
Schmidt was a revolutionist in his native land and in 1848 took part in 
the ill fated revolt against the grandfather of the present deposed Kaiser 
of Germany. He was placed under arrest and, eventually exiled from 
his native country. He fled to America with hundreds and thousands of 
his compatriots who sought free homes in this country. He first located 
at Louisville, Ky., where he followed his trade of baker. In 1850 he 
removed to Peru, 111., there spending the remainder of his days, dying in 
1895 at the age of 74 years. His wife, Caroline, was born in 1825 and 
died in 1885. There were six children born to Albin and Caroline Schmidt, 
as follow: Mrs. Josephine Gmelich, widow of Gottlab Gmelich, Peru, 111., 
who was a brother of the late J. F. Gmelich ; Fredrick Schmidt, died in 
Detroit, Mich.; Mrs. Bertha Weberling, lives at Peru, 111.; Mrs. Eliza- 
beth Wagenknecht, Peru, 111. ; Hermine, lives at Peru, 111. ; and Maxi- 
milian E. Schmidt, of this review. 

M. E. Schmidt was reared and educated in Peru, 111. At the age of 
14 years, he went to La Salle, 111., and there learned the trade of jeweler 
and watchmaker. After a two years' apprenticeship in La Salle, he went 
to St. Paul, Minn., and thence to Stillwater, where he completed his 
studentship and began working at the trade of watchmaker. He spent 
one year at Fond du Lac, Wis., after which he followed his trade for 
three years at Chillicothe, Mo. In 1893 he came to Boonville and asso- 
ciated himself with Mr. J. F. Gmelich. 

Mr. Schmidt was married in 1889 to Miss Louise Gmelich, a daughter 
of Jacob F. Gmelich. Three children have blessed this marriage: Albin 
Jacob, Doris Eugenie and Maximilian. 



HISTORY OF COOPER COUNTY 419 

Albin Jacob Schmidt is his father's assistant in the tidiness, mar- 
ried Beulah Randolph, and has one child, Randolph Schmidt, born Feb. 
27, 1918. 

Doris Eugenie is the wife of Alexander H. Stephens, Jr., a grandson 
of Col. Joseph L. Stephens, and resides in Boonville. 

Maximilian Gmelich Schmidt was born March 20, 1909, and is at- 
tending school. 

Mr. Schmidt is a Reupblican and has long been prominent in the 
affairs of his party. He has been a member of the Boonville School Board 
for the past six years and he has served four years as treasurer of the 
Missouri Training School. He is a member of the Episcopalian Church 
and is affiliated with the Ancient Free and Accepted Masons. Mr. Schmidt 
is a Knights Templar, and is a member of Ararat Temple of Mystic 
Shriners of Kansas City. He is a member of the Woodmen of the World 
and is one of the leading, progressive and influential citizens of Boonville. 

Harry T. Manion. — The clothing and mens' furnishing store owned 
and operated by Manion and Muntzel is a gem of its kind and is one of 
the most attractive and handsomest stores in Central Missouri. Equipped 
and furnished with up-to-the-minute fixtures of the latest design it pre- 
sents an attractive appearance both from the front and the interior. This 
store was established in Sept. 21, 1918, and has enjoyed an ever increas- 
ing patronage from the more discerning and particular class of purchas- 
ers since its inception. The arrangements of the store are the result of 
planning and study on the part of Mr. Manion who spent several weeks 
in traveling and making a thorough study of the methods followed by 
stores in other modern cities in the country before opening his own con- 
cern. The Manion and Muntzel store carries a stock valued at $60,000 
and a room 80x25 feet is filled with the Hirsch-Wickwire goods and lines 
of the very best men's furnishing goods. 

Harry T. Manion was born April 4, 1889, across the Missouri River 
in Howard County. He is a son of John W. Manion, a native of Howard 
County, whose father was Amos Manion, one of the early pioneers of 
this section of Missouri. John W. Manion was bora in 1855 and died in 
1893. His wife was Mattie Fielding and she was a daughter of J. W. 
Fielding of Howard County. Mrs. Manion was born in 1867 and now 
resides in Boonville. John W. and Mattie Manion were parents of three 
children: Walter Manion, a merchant of Sedalia, Mo.; Mrs. Lorena 
Capito. living in Howard Countv; Harry Manion, of this review. 

Harry T. Manion resided on the home farm until 1900. He was edu- 
cated in the Sedalia public schools of Sedalia and Central Business Col- 



420 HISTORY OF COOPER COUNTY 

lege of that city. He then returned to the home farm in Howard County 
and remained there operating the farm until 1906. He was then employed 
in Victor's store in Boonville until June, 1918. Until the opening of the 
Manion and Muntzel store he spent several months in visiting eastern 
cities, laying in his stock of goods and getting ideas for the store altera- 
tions and furnishing — a study which has resulted in the creation of the 
handsomest store in central Missouri. 

Mr. Manion was married in 1911 to Miss Elsa Schnack, a daughter of 
Heimnn and Minnie Schnack of this city. Mr. and Mrs. Manion have 
one child, a daughter, Wilhelmina Marie, aged six years. 

Mr. Manion is a republican. He is a member of the Evangelical 
Lutheran church and is a fine type of young, successful merchant who 
has taken his place among the nustling business men of Boonville. 

John W. Rudolph, pioneer farmer and Union veteran, has one of the 
finest prairie farms, consisting of 170 acres, in Cooper County. The 
Rudolph acreage is located in Palestine township and is well improved. 
Mr. Rudolph was born in Hampshire County, Va., Jan. 19, 1844, and is a 
son of Jacob and Rachel (Cooper) Rudolph, who made the trip by steam- 
boat from Virginia to Boonville in 1854. They arrived at Boonville in 
the fall of 1854 and in the spring of 1855 the family located on the Squire 
Bear farm. Jacob Rudolph died the next year, 1856, and the widow was 
left to rear her family of three children, as follows: Adam Rudolph is 
deceased; John W. Rudolph, subject of this review; and George Rudolph, 
living in Clarks Fork township. Mrs. Rachel Rudolph died in 1888, at the 
age of 86 years. 

In the spring of 1863, John W. Rudolph enlisted in Company I. Ninth 
Missouri Cavalry, and served under the Union flag in northern Missouri, 
and other parts of the Southwest, in fighting raiding bands of Confed- 
erates, bushwhackers and guerillas. He took part in the chase aftei 
General Price's army of invasion and assisted in driving the rebel army 
to Red River. Mr. Rudolph was a captain of artillery. His company 
fought a battle in Cooper County, near Boonville. He participated in the 
battle of Independence, Mo., and they had another engagement with Price 
at Pilot Knob. At the battle of the Blue, near Independence, the fighting 
was fierce during the day, but at five o'clock in the evening. Price started 
his memorable retreat with Gen. Joe Shelby guarding his rear. Mr. Ru- 
dolph also took part in the battle at Houstonia, Mo., and the battle of the 
Meries De Cygne, both of which actions took place during Price's retreat 
to the south. 




JOHN W. KI'lMH.I'H 



HISTORY OF COOPER COUNTY 421 

In 1875, Mr. Rudolph settled on his pretty country place in Palestine 
township and has lived there contentedly and prosperously for the past 
44 years. Of late years he is taking life easy, as befits a man of his age, 
and has turned over the cultivation of his land to younger and stronger 
arms. 

Mr. Rudolph was married in March, 1869, to Mary Susan Duncan, 
who was born in 1849, near Rocheport, Cooper County, Mo., a daughter 
of Granville Duncan. The children born to this marriage are: Mrs. Ida 
Wells, Fort Gibson, Okla. ; Patrick Henry Rudolph, an employe of the 
ico Railroad, Kansas City, Mo. ; Mrs. Jessie Hagelberger living on 
the home place. Mr. Rudolph has five grandchildren. Mrs. Ida Wells has 
one child, Rudolph Wells; Patrick Henry has one child, Lottie Rudolph. 
Mr. Rudolph has four great-grandchildren: Rudolph Wells married 
Sallie E. Effort, of Fort Gibson, Okla., and has four daughters, Mary 
Elizabeth, Doris, Pattie Nadine, and Ida Mary. 

The first vote cast by Mr. Rudolph was for Abraham Lincoln while 
on the march after General Price, and he has continued to vote the repub- 
lican ticket for the past 55 years. He is a member of Col. John A. Hayne 
Post, No. 244, Grand Army of the Republic, Boonville, Mo. 

William M. Johnson. — The greater number of the sturdy citizens 
who were pioneers in the business, industrial and professional life of 
Cooper County have passed away. They have gone to their eternal re- 
wards ; memory remains, and their children and descendants are keeping 
it green. One of the best known, successful and highly regarded merch- 
ants of the city was the late William M. Johnson of Boonville. His life 
was so lived that the story of his success will prove an insipration to the 
rising generation. 

William M. Johnson was born in Harrisonburg, Va., July 12. 1828. 
He departed this life in Boonville, Mo., June 29, 1918. His parents were 
Isaac and Mary Johnson. His father was a native of England, came to 
America when young and located in Richmond, Va. He there married 
Mary ('notes and was engaged, in connection with Jacob Cootes, in the 
manufacture of tobacco for a number of years. He later went to Harri- 
sonburg, where he taught school until his death in 18:>6. Jacob Cootes, 
grandfather of W. M. Johnson on the maternal side, was of Holland de- 
nt. After the death of his parents, W. M. Johnson was reared in the 
home of his uncle, Samuel Cootes, of "Oakland'" plantation, situated about 
14 miles from Harrisonburg. 

In 1855 he left Virginia and came to Missouri. St. Joseph, Mo., was 



422 HISTORY OF COOPER COUNTY 

his destination. When the steamboat on which he was traveling stopped 
at Boonville for a few hours, he made his way uptown. Not expecting 
to see anybody that he knew, he was very much surprised when an 
acquaintance, John Keiser, called out, "Hello, Billy Johnson, where are 
you. going? I'll get you a job." He at once changed his mind about 
going on to St. Joseph, got a job and remained in Boonville. Mr. John- 
son's first employment was with the firm of B. and W. W. Jones, whole- 
salers, with whom he remained for three years. He was a trusted em- 
ploye of this firm and was sent on collection trips throughout the south- 
west. On many occasions he would return with large amounts of money, 
as high as $10,000 in his saddle bags. He was afterward employed in 
the dry goods house of George T. Hardcastle until 1860, when he became 
a member of the firm of William H. Trigg Mercantile Company. He re- 
mained with this firm until 1886, when with his two sons he established 
the shoe business which was continued under the firm name of W. M. 
Johnson and Sons until 1907 when the business was closed out by the 
Johnsons and Mr. Johnson retiring from active business. Prior to en- 
gaging in the shoe business he was connected with the banking business 
established by William H. Trigg, who had the first bank in Boonville. 
For a number of years he was connected with the William H. Trigg Dry 
Goods Company, previous to embarking in the shoe business. 

Mr. Johnson was married in 1860 to Miss Juliet A. Trigg, who was 
born in Boonville, Aug. 5, 1838, and is a daughter of the late Dr. William 
H. Trigg, an extended review of whose life appears in this history. The 
children born to William M. and Juliet Johnson were as follows: Sallie, 
died in infancy; Mary L., William Morris, and Wilbur T. 

Mary L. is the wife of Lawson Price, an extensive farmer and land 
owner of Jefferson City, who is also engaged in the real estate and loan 
business. Mr. and Mrs. Price have one child, Juliet Price. 

W. Morris Johnson resides in Boonville and is traveling salesman for 
a wholesale shoe company of St. Louis. He married Miss Byrd Fiery of 
Martinsburg, W. Va. 

Wilbur T. Johnson and his brother, W. Morris Johnson, were en- 
gaged with their father in the shoe business in Boonville until the busi- 
ness was disposed of in 1907. For the past eight years, Wilbur T. John- 
son has been a traveling salesman for the Johannes Brothers Shoe Com- 
pany of St. Louis. On Oct. 26, 1892, he married Miss Rhoda E. Stephens, 
who was born and reared in Boonville, and is a daughter of the late Col. 



HISTORY OF COOPER COUNTY 423 

Joseph L. Stephens, a member of the old Stephens family of Cooper 
County, and who was a widely known attorney. To Wilbur T. and Rhoda 
E. Johnson have been born the following children: Wilbur T.. Jr., and 
Martha S. Johnson. 

Wilbur T. Johnson, Jr., is aged 25 years. He is a lieutenant in the 
National Army, stationed at Camp Dix, N. J. Lieutenant Johnson en- 
listed in February, 1918, studied military science at the Officers' Train- 
ing School, and is now with the 13th Battalion, 153d Depot Brigade. 

Martha S. Johnson is a student in Lindenwood College, St. Charles, Mo. 

William M. Johnson was a lifelong Democrat, but never sought 
political preferment. He was devoted to his business, his family, his 
home city and his church. He was a stanch Presbyterian who took a 
great interest in religious matters and was a liberal supporter of the 
church. From 1862 until his death he was an elder of the Boonville 
Presbyterian Church. While of a retiring, modest nature he was pos- 
sessed of a lovable disposition which endeared him to a large circle of 
friends who still revere his memory as that of an upright, God-fearing 
gentleman who was ever ready and willing to extend a helping hand to 
the needy and deserving. 

William R. Miller, druggist and proprietor of the oldest drug store in 
Boonville, is one of the youngest of the successful business men of Boon- 
ville. The Roeschel Drug Store, which Mr. Miller owns and operates, was 
established by Dr. Ernest Roeschel in 1858 and was later conducted and 
owned by his son, the late William Roeschel. After Mr. Roeschel's re- 
tirement from business, the store was purchased by Mr. Miller on March 
1, 1915. 

Mr. Miller was born in Boonville, Sept. 11, 1887. His father, Joseph 
W. Miller, was also born in Boonville, April 23, 1853, and was a son of 
Joseph W. Miller, a native of Germany, who fled from his native land on 
account of being concerned in the revolution against the Kaiser in 1848 
and he located in Boonville. The grandfather was enrolled as a mem- 
ber of the Missouri State Guards during the Civil War and saw active 
service in Cooper County and vicinity. Joseph W. Miller, the father, fol- 
lowed the trade of wagon maker in Boonville until his retirement in 1915. 
He married Catherine Berster, who was born in 1862 and departed this 
life in 1900, leaving three sons and two daughters, as follows: Robert, 
in the employ of the Railway Express Company, St. Louis, Mo. ; William 
R., of this review ; Florence Miller, a public school teacher in Oklahoma ; 
Clarence, assisting his brother in the drug store, and Mary, bookkeeper 



424 HISTORY OF COOPER COUNTY 

in the Millei- Drug Store. Joseph W. Miller was again married to Eliza- 
beth Kline, who bore him one son: Joseph W. 

After receiving his schooling in the public, parochial and high schools 
of Boonville, William R. Miller studied for two years in the St. Louis 
College of Pharmacy and was graduated in 1910. He had pi-eviously been 
employed in the Roeschel Drug Store in 1904 and until taking up his 
college studies. In 1915 he purchased the business and is making a splen- 
did success of the business. Oct. 3, 1907, he was married to Miss Marie 
Oswald, a daughter of Frank Oswald, a well known farmer and stockman 
residing in Boonville. Mr. and Mrs. Miller have one child, Margaret Cath- 
erine, born Oct. 18, 1918. 

Mr. Miller is a member of St. Peter and Paul's Catholic church and is 
affiliated with the Knights of Columbus, holding the position of Chancellor 
of the local lodge. He is a fine type of business man, courteous, obliging 
and progressive. 

Richard Loftin Windsor, a prominent farmer and stockman of Clarks 
Fork township, has been identified with the development of Cooper County 
for over 50 years. He was born in this county at Boonville, Nov. 23, 
1848, and is a son of Loftin and Louisa (Smith) Windsor, both natives 
of Alexandria, Fairfax County, Va. The Windsor family came to Boon- 
ville in 1848, and for a number of years Loftin Windsor, the father of 
the subject of this sketch, conducted what was known as a "boat store", 
furnishing supplies to boats which were navigating on the river at that 
time. In 1850 Loftin Windsor made the trip across the plains and over 
the mountains to California. He took with him a drove of cows from 
Missouri to California, which he sold after reaching there, receiving from 
$80.00 to $100.00 per head. He had paid from $8.00 to $10.00 per head. 
After remaining in California about two years he returned to Cooper 
County, and located on the farm where the subject of this sketch now 
lives. Here he was engaged in farming and stock raising until the time 
of his death in 1889. His wife departed this life in 1855 and their re- 
mains are interred in Walnut Grove cemetery, Boonville, Mo. She was 
born in Alexandria, Va. To Loftin and Louisa Windsor were bom 
four sons and a daughter: Mrs. Cora Runkle, deceased; R. L. of this re- 
view; Walter, who died in Monterey County, Calif.; Lill, deceased in 1885; 
Eugene, died in infancy. 

Richard Loftin .Windsor was reared in Cooper County, and received 
his education in the public schools. He has made farming and stock rais- 
ing his life's occupation, and is the owner of one of the fine farms of 



HISTORY OF COOPER COUNTY 425 

this county. The place is well improved, with good farm buildings in- 
cluding an eight room residence which was built in 1885. An Old log 
cabin stands on the Windsor farm, which is suggestive of Macauley's epi- 
gram : "To make the past present ; to bring the present near". This old 
relic of bygone days was built in 1855. 

R. L. Windsor was united in marriage March 26, 1879, with Miss 
Cornelia Moore, a daughter of Charles and Martha Mooi-e, pioneer settlers 
of Cooper County, of English descent. They are both now deceased. 
.Mrs. Windsor is one of the following children born to her parents: G. 
Hutch, a farmer at Speed, Mo. ; R. L., Boonville, Mo. ; Gilliss, Kansas City, 
Mo. ; Cornelia ,the wife of R. L. Windsor the subject of this sketch ; Mrs. 
Florence Eller, Fayette, Mo., and Mrs. Gertrude Curtin, Porto, Okla. To 
Mr. and Mrs. Windsor have been born the following children: Martha, 
married William Vieth, Lone Elm, Mo. ; Charles, a railroad man, St. Louis, 
Mo.; Holman, died at the age of one year and 11 months; Gilliss, 
an electrician, Boonville ; Edward, now serving in United States army ; 
Henry resides on the home place ; Corinne, resides at home and Richard, 
who served as sergeant of Company B, 140th Infantry, 35th Division, 
United States army. He volunteered in March, 1917, and went to France 
with his command in May, 1918. He participated in the principal battles 
(iuring the closing months of the World War, and won to his everlasting 
credit a brilliant military record. 

R. L. Windsor has been a member of the Independent Order of Odd 
Fellows for 45 years. He is a Democrat, and has taken a keen interest 
in political affairs and at one time was a candidate for county judge. The 
Windsor family are members of the Baptist Church, and for many years 
have been prominent in Cooper County. 

Richard Norman Windsor, a veteran of the World War, and one of 
Cooper County's progressive young men, is a native son of this county. 
He was born May 19, 1898 and is a son of Richard Loftin Windsor, a 
sketch of whom appears in this volume. Richard Norman Windsor was 
reared on his father's farm in Clarks Fork township, and educated in the 
public schools of Cooper County. He graduated from the Boonville High 
School in the class of 1916. When the United States entered the World 
War he was in the employ of Brownfield & Hurt at Boonville. 

March 26, 1917, he enlisted in Company B, 3rd Missouri Infantry. 
His first service was guarding the railroad bridge at Boonville. Aug. 15, 
1917, he was transferred from Boonville to Kansas City, Mo., where he 
was on duty until Oct. 9, 1917. He was then sent to Ft. Sill, Okla., where 



426 HISTORY OF COOPER COUNTY 

he was trained for over-sea service. Here the 6th and 3rd Missouri 
Infantry were consolidated into the 140th Infantry, and Mr. Windsor 
became a member of that organization. In April, 1918, he was trans- 
ferred with his command to Camp Mill, Long Island, and from there em- 
barked for over-sea, April 25, 1918, landing at Liverpool, England, May 
7, 1918. Here he spent three weeks at a hospital, and on June 1, 1918, 
landed at Havre, France, where he joined his regiment in a three day 
hike near Moncho. From there he was sent with the 140th Infantry as a 
a member of the 3rd battallion to Alsace, and went into the trenches at 
Thann, after which his command rested for a few days at Saluxurex. 
Later, on July 15th, he was sent to the Balmain sector and was relieved 
from that sector Sept. 1, 1918. His command was then sent on to the 
St. Mihiel drive, and acted as reserve from Sept. 12th to Sept. 18th. They 
were sent on the Argonne Forest drive, and went over the top in this great 
battle on Sept. 26th and continued in action there until Oct. 2d. They 
then were sent back to Petit Maritz, about eight kilometers from Barleduc 
and shortly afterwards was returned to the line of action about three 
kilometers from the city of Verdun. Shortly after this Mr. Windsor was 
sent to the officers training school at LaValboreen, about 18 miles from 
Lyons, France. He remained there until Dec. 20th, when he was sent 
to LeMans, France, where he remained until Feb. 2, 1919, when he was 
sent to Brest. On Feb. 11, 1919, he left Brest for the United States, 
arriving at Newport News, Va.. Feb. 28th and on March 7th, left there 
for Camp Taylor near Louisville, Ky. Here he received his honorable 
discharge March 17, 1919 and returned to his home in Cooper County. 

Mr. Windsor served on four different battle fronts while in the 
service, and saw much severe fighting. His company entered the engage- 
ment at Argonne Forest with 194 men and came out of the battle six days 
later with only 17. 

Francis Marion Smith, clerk of the Circuit Court of Cooper County, 
is one of the most popular officials who ever held official position in Cooper 
County and is a very capable court officer. Mr. Smith was bom in Char- 
itan County, Mo., March 25, 1863. He is a son of Jacob and Barbara 
(Smith) Smith. 

Jacob Smith was born in Germany, June 10, 1818, and died on March 
30, 1901. When he was 21 years old he fled from his native land to escape 
military service in the Prussian army and came to America. He located 
in Glasgow, Mo., and followed his trade of miller for a few years. He 
then located in Chariton County, where he developed a fine farm and lived 



HISTORY OF COOPER COUNTY 427 

there for 55 years. During the Mexican War he enlisted and served in 
the famous regiment raised and commanded by Colonel Doniphan. Mr. 
Smith was married in Glasgow to Barbara Smith, who was born in 1832 
and died in 1908. She resided for 57 years upon the farm which she and 
her husband improved in Chariton County. Jacob and Barbara Smith were 
parents of eleven children: Mrs. Barbara Ann Kelly, Boonville, Mo.; 
Jacob Benjamin and John Otto, deceased; Peter Theodore, a real estate 
man at Burns, Wyo. ; Joseph Anthony, employed in the Commercial Bank 
of Boonville ; Francis M., of this review ; Catherine Rosella, deceased ; Marie 
Regina Dempsey, wife of a Kansas City attorney; Mrs. Otilla Ewald, 
Great Bend, Kan.; Mrs. Isabella Magdalena Grantges, Sumner, Mo.; Vic- 
tor W., a successful ranchman of Wyoming. 

After attending the district school in his home neighborhood in 
Charitan County, F. M. Smith attended the State Normal School at War- 
rensburg, Mo. While a student there he taught penmanship and in this 
manner assisted in -paying his expenses while pursuing his course. For 
a number of years he was a salseman and was also engaged in the mer- 
cantile business. He followed the real estate business at Des Moines, 
Iowa, and has always been a hustler. Mr. Smith located in Boonville for 
the first time in 1879 but since that time he spent some years away from 
Cooper County. His first official position was that of deputy county col- 
lector in 1885. His next position was that of deputy clerk of the Circuit 
Court and he was elected to this position in the fall of 1918. 

On November 21, 1906, Francis M. Smith and Miss Anna Jegglin 
were united in marriage. Mrs. Anna Smith was born and reared in Boon- 
ville and is a daughter of John M. Jegglin of this city. 

The republican party has always had the allegiance of Mr. Smith and 
he stands high in its councils. He is a member of Sts. Peter and Paul's 
Catholic church and is a painstaking, conscientious public official to whom 
the art of making and retaining friends is second nature. He has a wide 
and favorable acquaintance throughout Cooper County and Central Mis- 
souri and is a genial, whole souled gentleman. 

Jacob Deck. — The meat market conducted by Jacob Deck is one of 
the best established and well conducted business concerns of Boonville 
and has been in continuous operation by its proprietor since 1892. Jacob 
Deck was born in Alsace-Lorraine, July 24, 1860, and came to America 
with his father in the spring of 1869. John and Anna Marie Deck, his 
parents, were of French origin. The mother died in her native land and 
John Deck located in Kansas City after coming to this country and for 



428 HISTORY OF COOPER COUNTY 

awhile worked as a laborer in the city. He later engaged in farming in 
Douglas County, Kansas, and died in Eudora, within eight miles of the city 
of Lawrence, Kansas. 

Jacob Deck was reared in Kansas City and on the farm in Douglas 
County, Kan. Forty-three years of his life have been spent in the meat 
market business and prior to locating in Boonville he followed his trade 
in Kansas City and in Atchison, Kan. He has prospered since coming to 
Boonville and is regarded as one of the city's substantial citizens. M r. 
Deck was married in 1882 to Miss Anna Fessler, who was born and reared 
in Boonville and is a daughter of John Fessler, who located in this city 
prior to the Civil War. Eight children have been born to Jacob and Anna 
Deck, six of whom were reared to maturity as follows : Mrs. Joseph 
Keithley, Kansas City ; William H., druggist, Pilot Grove, Mo. ; Mrs. Mar- 
garet Gilman, of Sedalia, Mo. ; Jacob, employed in Swift & Co's oifice, 
Kansas City; Raymond is his father's assistant; Herman is attending 
school. 

Mr. Deck and the members of his family worship at the Evangelical 
church. He is a member of the Independent Order of Odd Fellows and 
the Modern Woodmen of America. Independence in politics and voting 
has been his rule for many years, but he has not neglected the duties of 
citizenship and has served as city alderman for six years. 

Albert Jaeger, a prosperous retired farmer, whose fine farm of 186.5 
acres is located on the Old Trails Road about three and a half miles west 
of Boonville, has lived upon his present place since 1909. The Jaeger 
farm is well improved with a large brick house and other farm buildings 
in good repair. Mr. Jaeger's two sons are now operating the farm. 
Albert Jaeger was born in Germany. Nov. 23, 1860. He is a son of August 
and Matilda (Heider) Jaeger, both of whom were born and reared in Ger- 
many. Mrs. Jaeger died in 1882, and the father still resides in his native 
country having attained the great age of 81 years. 

Albert Jaeger was not content to lead a mediocre existence in his 
native country. May 30, 1882 he landed at Boonville with but a few dol- 
lars in his purse. For one and a half years he was employed as gardener. 
He then rented land for four years ; he met with reverses and had no 
money; he then went to Bloomington, III., and for two years he was 
employed as laborer there, three months of which were spent in the Illi- 
nois coal mines. It was only to be expected that his first venture in till- 
ing the soil would not prove successful inasmuch as he had no knowledge 



HISTORY OF COOPER COUNTY 429 

Oi farming, his father having been a merchant in Germany. From Bloom- 
ington, Mr. Jaeger went to Chicago and was employed there for five years, 
three years in the packing house of Armour & Company. He returned 
to Boonville in 1894, worked out for a few months, carefully studied 
methods of farming and made another try at his desired vocation. He 
1 1 nted a farm again. He saved $375 and made a first payment on 80 
acre miles southwest of Boonville. This time he was successful 

and he sold this farm at a profit in 1905 and bought 200 acres in the 
northwest p