(navigation image)
Home American Libraries | Canadian Libraries | Universal Library | Community Texts | Project Gutenberg | Children's Library | Biodiversity Heritage Library | Additional Collections
Search: Advanced Search
Anonymous User (login or join us)
Upload
See other formats

Full text of "A history of Delaware County, Pennsylvania, and its people;"

NYPL RESEARCH LIBRARIES 

3 3433 08181385 '3 



» \ 



A HISTORY 



OF 



DELAWARE COUNTY 

PENNSYLVANIA 

AND ITS PEOPLE 



UNDER THE EDITORIAL SUPERVISION OF 

JOHN W. JORDAN, LL D. , ' 

Librarian of the Historical Society of Pennsylvania, Philacielphia 



ILLUSTRATED 



VOLUME II 



NEW YORK 

LEWIS HISTORICAL PUBLISHING COMPANY 

1914 



^<S- 





THE NEW YORK 






PUBLIC LIBRARY 

67260G 






ASTOR, LENOX AND 

TILD N FOUNDATIONS. 

R '9H . L 






Copyright 




Lbwis Historical Publishing Company 


.';' ;.' ■ 


1914 





CHURCHES OF DELAWARE COUNTY 

From the beginning of creation there has been no force which has playetl 
a greater part in the hves of nations and the history of races than the super- 
natural, and no rehgious rites or practices whose work has been grander or 
more sublime than that effected by Christianity. The causes for settlement oi 
most of the American colonies were religious, many people in the old countries 
of Europe being willing, nay, glad, to face the hardships of new lands and the 
cruelties of hostile tribes, rather than sutler the noble and lofty principles for 
which they stood to be scorned and mocked by those of different belief. Her- 
bert, the celebrated English writer of religious works and poems, wrote in his 
poem, "The Church Militant:" 

"Religion stands on tip-toe in our land, 
Ready to pass to the American strand," 

and no more prophetic words were ever spoken, for immediately thereafter 
persecution drove the Puritans from their native land, and the flight of religion 
to America had begun. 

To the Society of Friends belongs the honor of erecting the first house of 
worship in (now) Delaware county — the old Friends meeting house in Haver - 
ford township, built in 1688-89. Here Governor William Penn preached soon 
after its erection, and often attended worship. For years it has^b^eji. a land- 
mark in the county, a monument to the staid, simple foJk'whQ tiicrem wpfS'iip- 
ped their Creator according to the unpretentious tenets of tllfeir'1?elief. jT-o this 
sedate and pious sect the county, and, indeed, the state, ; Owe^s kvuf^'-pf its 
strength and stability, which was drawn from their very sdiyefe aaid:"jncor- 
porated into the laws of the communities which they founded; piaWH^''them 
strong and firm to withstand the ravages of time and the abuses which it 
brings. Their faith was their life, by it they ordered their existence. To liv.' 
in peaceful quiet and to have honorable dealings with their fellow-men, was to 
them assurance of a blessed hereafter. 

Education was a large factor in the life of the Friends, that being one of 
the forms of pleasure which they exercised to the fullest. With them learning 
was not a duty, it was a privilege ; and, since it meant self-improvement, was 
necessary to all men. Therefore, their efforts were early directed to the dis- 
semination of useful knowledge, these efforts later resulting in Haverford 
and Swarthmore colleges, institutions of great value, fully treated elsewhere 
in this work. 

The second church erected in Delaware county was an Episcopal house of 
worship, "Old Radnor," in Newtown township, known as St. David's. It was 
erected previous to 1700, and around it have grown up traditions that have 
lived through the decades. One is that Rev. David Jones, the Baptist preacher 
of the Great Valley Church, in Chester county, holding a service there 
during the Revolution, was so incensed by the sight of several able-bodied and 
active young men sitting comfortably in their pews that he disregarded his 



394 DELAWARE COUNTY 

sermon entirely, tlircw back a heavy cloak he wore, disclosed himself in an 
American uniform, and launched a terrific philippic at their indolence and 
lack of patriotism, demanding to know why they were not in the American 
army. The old man himself later entered the army as chaplain. The poet 
Longfellow, during the national centennial, visited the old church and was so 
impressed by the beauty and dignity of the edifice, with its arched windows 
and ivy-covored walls, sheltered protectingly on all sides by overhanging trees 
and surrounded by tombstones marking the graves of its former members, 
that he immortalized the sanctuary in a short poem entitled "Old St. David's 
at Radnor," characterizing it as "an image of peace and rest." 

The Roman Catholic church had its first mission in what is now Delaware 
county, about 1730, in Concord township, at the home of the Wilcox family, 
the congregation later building St. Thomas' Church. The followers of this 
religion have become more numerous in past years, and one of the county's 
large educational institutions, Villanova College, was founded by the Catholic 
church. 

The causes for mentioning the above churches in more detail than the 
others, are not because they are more important than those of other denomina- 
tions, but because of their priority of erection and the interest which is naturally 
attached to them as land-marks. Baptist, Presbyterian and Methodist churches 
are numerous throughout the county, owning many large and pretentious houses 
'.of wovsJiip., Another of the county's educational institutions, Crozer Theo- 
' iogtcaJ.St^milwri-jf, ii'J^'i Baptist origin, mentioned elsewhere in this work. 

• Tljc fi''»^l org'ahi"z(?d church to exist in (now) Delaware county, was the 
Swedish iiiflici'ai:, founded by the Swedes, who settled on the Delaware in 
lO^y.'AuA i<vj!:_ While Lutheran was a term at first applied to all Protestants 
bdicving'in':ni)'{:<,lc>ctrines taught by Martin Luther, it had become the estab- 
lished state religion of Sweden, and was adhered to by the early settlers of 
that race, who made early settlement. After them came the English Friends, 
and members of the Established Church of England. With the Scotch-Irish 
came Presbyterianism, then Catholicism — all of which religions took strong 
root in the county and have prospered. At a later day the Methodists and 
Baptists entered the field, and have borne an active part in the religious de- 
veloi)ment of the county. Other religious .sects have also established in the 
county and have aided in the upbuilding of a strong religious community. 
There has been no persecution on account of religious faith. The early set- 
tlers, fleeing from intolerant conditions, did not in Pennsylvania emulate the 
example set by the Puritans of New England, but gave every man the right to 
worship God according to the dictates of his own conscience. Common sense 
and freedom have gone hand in hand, resulting in a religious history in which 
there is nothing to conceal, and in the upbuilding of a strong Christian senti- 
ment in all parts of the county. 

( )ne of the first efforts to Christianize the .\mcrican Indian was made l)y 
Rev. John Campanius, in the little log Lutheran church at Tinicum, over 
which he officiated until May, 1648. In order to be able to give the best of 




z 
o 

h- 



S 
> 

< 

o 

X 

I- 



r 
o 

IT 

D 
I 
o 
o 

_l 

o 

X 



"YhFnew yokk| 

PUBLIC LIBRARY^ 






A8TOR, LtNOX AND 
TILDEN FOUNDATION*. 




DC 
U 

co 
u 

I 
o 

< 

CO 

Q 
Z 
UJ 

£C 

li. 

u. 
o 

UJ 
CO 

D 

o 

z 

o 

z 

I- 

UJ 

1- 

CO 

a: 



f2 



DELAWARE COUNTY 395 

himself in liis work, he undertook the study of their language and mastered 
it sufficiently to make a translation of the Lutheran Cathechism into the ilialect 
of the Lenni Lenape family of the great Algonquin tribe. He was the first 
person to translate a book into the Indian language, although his work was 
not published until 1696, when, by command of royalty at Stockholm, it was 
printed ; nevertheless, his efforts were made a few years previous to Eliot's 
Indian translation of the Bible, made in New England, and published thirty 
years before the former work. 

Joseph H. Lewis, in his "History of Chester County," relates how the 
Swedes in those early days used to attend church at Tinicum "to which they 
came in canoes from New Castle and other places along the Delaware, both 
rtbove and below the Island." The church was on land belonging to Armegat 
Printz, a proud and haughty woman who had inherited it from her father. In 
her pride and arrogance she had great contempt for those of poorer station, 
and tu show her disregard for the humble Swedes who worshipped on her 
property, she sold the church bell by which they had formerly been called to 
worship, but the devout and earnest congregation repurchased the bell, paying 
therefor "two days' labor in harvest time." 

The old Birmingham Friends meeting house which stood in old Birming- 
ham township before its site in that political division was made part of Chester 
. coimty. was erected in 1722, on grounds donated for that purpose by Elizabeth 
Webb, and about its ivy-covered walls tradition has woven many a thread of 
fanciful history. One of the stories connected with the ancient edifice is linked 
with the battle of Brandywine, in which conflict the American riflemen used 
the stone-walls surrounding the burial-ground, for breastworks. The dark 
blots on the oaken floor were said to have been made by the blood of wounded 
.soldiers, as the building was used as a hospital for nearly a week, until the 
British army marched to the Boot Tavern. Another story asserted that a 
young British gentleman, a close relative of the Duke of Northumberland, was 
killed near the meeting house, a report which was later denied by relatives in 
England. 

Friends' Meeting Houses. — The first recorded meeting of Friends in the 
Province of Pennsylvania was at the house of Robert Wade, at Upland, in 
1675, when William Edmundson, an eminent minister from England, then on a 
religious visit to America, was present. Previous to the coming of Penn, at a 
monthly meeting held 11 mo. 7, 1681, it was agreed: "A meeting shall be 
held for ye service and worship of God every First Day at ye Court House in 
Upland." In the old meeting house erected by Chester Monthly Meeting, 
William Penn often spoke, and services were held therein for forty-three years 
until 1736, when a larger building was erected. The Friends meeting house 
at Shoemakerville, was built in 1828, on land donated by Enos Sharpless. 

The Friends meeting house in Birmingham township was first erected in 
1722, of cedar logs. About 1763 a stone building was erected, to which later 
additions were made. When Delaware county was erected, the ground on 



396 DELAWARE COUNTY 

which the old church stood fell to Chester county, but for nearly two centurie-. 
Friends of Lower Birmingham have there worshipped. 

Concord Friends meeting house is erected on land leased to trustees in 
1697. At a monthly meeting held at the house of George Pearce, 4 mo. 10 
1697, it was agreed to build and subscriptions taken. The building, however, was 
not completed until 1710. In 1728 the modern structure gave way to one of 
brick, which in 1788 was destroyed by fire. The walls, however, were left 
intact, and were used in the new and larger building at once erected. The 
question of human slavery was often discussed in the old meeting, but not 
until 1800 was it possible to make the announcement that Concord Quarterly 
Meeting was "clear of importing, disposing or holding mankind as slaves." 

The records of Darby Meeting, begin 2, 5 mo. 1684, but "there is some 
evidence that the business of a monthly meeting had been transacted at Darby 
a short time prior to the date of the first regular minute." The meetings were 
held in private homes until 1687, when John Blunston acknowledged in court 
a deed "for one acre of ground in the township of Darby to build a meeting- 
house thereon." The first building, presumably of logs, was replaced by a 
more substantial structure begun in 1699, but not completed until 1701. This 
building stood for a full century, then gave way to a stone structure completed 
in 1805. The first marriage in Darby Meeting was that of Samuel Sellers 
and Anna Gibbons, in 1684; the first marriage in the first meeting house was 
that of John Marshall and Sarah Smith. The first marriage in the third meet- 
ing house was that of Hugh Mcllvain, of Philadelphia, and Hannah Hunt, of 
Darby. 

In Haver ford township, Friends erected the first place of worship in now 
Delaware county, about 1688 or 1689. The first marriage solemnized therein 
was that of Lewis David to Florence Jones, 20, ist mo., 1690. An addition 
was erected in 1700, and the older structure replaced by another in 1800. In 
1700 William I'enn preached in the new building, but as Welsh was principally 
spoken by the members, many could not understand him. A Friends meeting 
house is also located on the grounds of Haverford College. 

Media Monthly Meeting was founded in 1875 by Friends who were resi- 
dents there, withdrawing from other meetings. They erected a stone church on 
Third street, wherein they worship. In an iron safe in this building, the rec- 
ords of Chester Meeting are preserved. Providence meeting house (Hicksitc) 
is also located in Media. The old house of worslii]) was torn down in 1812 
and re|)lacc(l by the structure now in use. 

In .Middletown township, a Friends meeting was authorized by Chester 
Quarterly Meeting, held 3, 3 mo. 1686. Early in 1700 the appointed com- 
mittee reported that they had decided upon the burial lot in Middletown as the 
site for a meeting house, a building being erected that was finished in 1702. 
This was followed many years later by another that is still used as a house of 
worshi]). After the division in the society in 1828, the Orthodox branch of 
Middletown meeting held their meetings in a school house until the completion 
of their meeting house in 1835. 




i*t 











D 
O 
I 
o 

z 



CO 

a 

z 



^ 



THE 



NEW 






_ DELAWARE COUNTY 397 

The earliest mention of a Friends" meeting in Newtown township is found 
in the records of Haverford Monthly Meeting under date of 14-11 mo. 1696. 
This record states that "Wilham Lewis and some friends having proposed to 
this meeting to settle a meeting at Newtown they were left to their freedom 
therein." The meeting was established, services being held at the residence 
ol members, but under the control of Chester, and later Providence monthly 
meetings. On the 30th day, 8 mo., 1710, "Newtown meeting laid before the 
meeting their intentions of building a meeting house by Friends "burial yard 
in Newtown," which met with the approval of Providence meeting. In 171 1 
the building was completed, replaced in 1791 by the structure now in use. 

Providence Friends meeting was authorized by Chester Quarterly Meet- 
ing, 3 mo., 1696, the minutes stating that it was agreed to settle a meeting "At 
Thomas Minshall's every First and Fourth day." On 9 mo. 4, 1700, the first 
day and week day meeting was ordered to be removed from Thomas Min- 
shall's to the meeting house, and on 12 mo. 12, 1700, the meeting at Randall 
Vernon's was also "removed to the new meeting house." The building of logs 
erected in Nether Providence township was improved by a stone addition in 
1727. In 1753 the remains of the original structure were removed and a stone 
addition erected in its place. 

While Radnor Friends did not commence to build their first meeting 
house until 1693, there was as early as 1686 a sufficient number of Friends in 
the township to establish an independent meeting. The early meetings were 
held at the home of John Jerman, a Quaker minister, and at the residence of 
John Evans, where the first marriage was solemnized, 2, 3 mo. [686, between 
Richard Ormes, of Philadelphia, and Mary Tyder, of Radnor. In 1693 the 
Radnor Friends built their first meeting house, and in 1718 began the erection 
of a new building which was not completed until after 1721, a later addition 
being erected for school purposes. 

The first Friends' meeting house in Springfield township was erected in 
1700 at Friends' graveyard, at the junction of the Springfield and Darby 
loads, on the line between Springfield and Marple townships. Friends in the 
township had, however, held meetings at the homes of Francis Stafford and 
Bartholomew Coppock as early as 3d mo., 1686, under authority granted by 
Chester Quarterly Meeting. The first meeting house was destroyed by fire in 
1737, the erection of a second building beginning the following year. This 
second building was of stone, with a date stone bearing the inscription "Re- 
uuilt 1738." After serving for one hundred and thirteen years, it was torn 
down and a third structure erected, yet used by the Springfield meeting. In 
the second building, tradition states the future of Benjamin West, the great 
painter, then a boy, was discussed. He was a birth-right member of the So- 
ciety, and the painter's art was not sanctioned by them. It was, however, 
af'reed that young West, in view of the great talent he displayed, should be 
given the sanction of the meeting, strong friends pleading his cause. A private 
meeting was appointed at the house of his father, which was largely attended. 
After addresses had been delivered in a strain of extraordinary eloquence, "the 



398 DELAW^ARE COUNTY . 

women arose and kissed the young artist, ami the men one by one laid their 
hands on his head and prayed that the Lord might verify in his Ufe the value 
of the gifts whicli had induced them, in spite of their religious tenets, to allow 
him to cultivate the faculties of his, genius." The after career of this great 
artist must have been in some measure the result of this solemn meeting of 
the sini])le, earnest h'riends of Springfield meeting. 

In Ridley township, Eriends were authorized to hold meetings at the 
house of John .Sinnock, by Chester Monthly Meeting, held 7 mo. 11, i6<S2. 
The meeting was later changed to "Walter Faucet's house on Ridley creek." 
Friends never erected a public meeting house in Ridley, nor were the meetings 
at l-'aucet's house continued after the erection of the Chester meeting house. 

Protestant Episcopal Churches. — St. David's Episcopal Church at Radnor, 
Newtown township, in point of age ranks second in Delaware county. Haver- 
ford h'riends meeting house being tlie oldest. The exact date at which a church 
organization was effected in Radnor is not known, but it was prior to 1700. A 
certificate given by the church wardens of Radnor, ilated July 28, 1719, Rev. 
Evan l^vans, states, "that the Rev. Dr. Evans has preached the Gospel at 
Radnor at the home of Mr. William Davis, one of the subscriliers, once a fort- 
night from November in the year 1700, all the time he was resident in Phila- 
deljihia, without any reward from us ; and since his return from England, 
which was on the 22nd day of March, 1716-17, until the latter end of June 
past, he preached at St. David's Church at Radnor." Rev. Evan Evans, in a 
letter to the .Society for the Propagation of the Gospel in Foreign Parts, Lon- 
don, luigland, states that he "preached in Welsh once a fortnight for four 
years, till the arrival of ]\lr. Nicholas, minister, to Chester in 1704." He 
recommends: "Could a sober and discreet man be procured to undertake that 
mission, he might be capable by the blessing of God to bring in a plentiful har- 
vest of Welsh Quakers." This resulted in the appointment of John Chubb, a 
Welshinan, who had been a schoolmaster in Philadelphia. ITe had occasion- 
ally conducted services at the church prior to 1 7 14, when he was appointed mis- 
sionary to the Radnor and O.xford churches, he being in the latter year in 
England. He reached Philadelphia in August of that year and reported to 
the Society for the Propagation of the Gospel in Foreign Parts (who sent him 
out) that the "i)eople of Radnor" had met him "unanimously and heartily 
engaged to build a handsome Stone Church." The laying of the corner stone 
is described by Acrelius: 

"'I'lie Laying of a Comer Stone — Bnt something peculiar is to be seen among the 
English at tlie laying of the foundation of a church. On the 9th of May 171S, Pastor 
Saiulcl was invited to attend the laying of the foundation of Radnor Chnrch sixteen 
miles from Philadelpliia. First, a service with preaching was held in a private house; 
then they went in procession to the place where the church was to be built — There a 
prayer was made : Clergymen laid a stone according to tlie direction of the Master 
Mason." 

For over a half century after the church was built, no floor was laid, and 
no pews, the worshipers being seated on benches, at first furnished by the 




-3* ^5» ■^S*_/*«^ %Sr 










D 

m 

X 

o 
a: 

X 

o 

CO 

b 

> 

< 



THE 's.- ■ '^RK 
""fi'JC LIBKARY 



A.STOR, LENOX AND 
TILOEN FOUNDATIONS. 



PUb- - BRAfiY 



ASTOH, LtNOK AMD 
TILDEN FOUND* T«j«4«, 




4 
I 

i 



n 
O 

CO 

£ 
u 
h- 

co 

UJ 

X 

o 

X 

o 

cc 

D 
I 

o 

CO 
U 
D 
< 



5 



R 



DELAWARE COUNTY 399 

occupant, but later placed there by the vestry and leased to the congregation. 
The old record states : "William Evans and Hugh Jones are to have ye upper 
bench above ye door for two pounds." Later pews were introduced, the cus- 
tom being to sell the ground, the purchaser to make the improvements, thus: 
"At a vestry held December 5, 1763, the vestry granted to Robert Jones the 
privilege to build a pew on a piece of ground in St. David's Church, adjoin- 
ing Wayne's and Hunter's pugh, he paying for ye ground four pounds ten 
Shillings." In 1765 the church was floored; in 1767, a vestry house built on 
the site of the later Sunday school, and in 1771 a gallery was added. Captain 
Lsaac. father of "Mad" Anthony Wayne, was the chief mover in the latter 
improvement, and under his direction it was built. The church suffered greatly 
during the Revolution, and seldom during that contest were religious services 
held within the building. In 1783 Rev. \VilIiam Currie again took charge, and 
collected funds to repair the old church building and graveyard wall. In 1786 
the church was admitted to membership in the Diocesan Convention of Phil- 
adelphia. In August, 1792, while Rev. Slaytor Clay was rector, the church 
was incorporated, and during his incumbency the body of Gen. Anthony Wayne 
was removed from Presque Isle to Radnor churchyard, by his son, Col. Isaac 
Wayne. On July 4, 1809, a plain marble monument was erected at his grave 
by the Pennsylvania Society of the Cincinnati, although the body was placed 
there at a later date. On July 30, 1820, the first confirmation ever held in St. 
David's was conducted by Bishop White, sixteen persons being admitted to 
membersliip. In 1824 the Sunday school was organized, and about 1830 that 
part of the old gallery which passed over the front door was taken down, 
the highbacked old fashioned pews taken out, the pulpit enlarged, and the 
sounding board removed. In 1844 the present rectory was built. There is ;i 
tradition that Queen Anne presented the Radnor church with a communion 
service. This service was taken by a marauding party of soldiers during the 
Revolution and was never recovered. In 1861 the corporation of St. David's 
purchased an acre of land and enlarged the graveyard. In 1871 the church 
was repaired and a new vestry-room erected. In 1876 the poet Longfellow 
visited Old Radnor Church, and was so impressed that he wrote his poem 
entitled "Old St. David's at Radnor." In 1881 he said in an interview, relat- 
ing the story of his poem: 

"I was stopping at Rosemont and one day drove over to Radnor. Old St. David's 
Church with its charming and picturesque surroundings attracted my attention. Its 
diminutive size, peculiar architecture, the little rectory in the grove, the quaint Church- 
yard, where Mad Anthony Wayne is buried, the great tree which stands at the gateway 
and the pile of gray stone, which makes the old Church and is almost hidden by the 
climbing ivy, all combine to make it a gem for a fancy picture." 

Old St. Paul's Church, in Chester, was built in 1702, on land on the south 
side of Third street, east of Market Square, the land having been first donated 
to the Swedish church early in the history of the settlement of Upland. Where 
the first St. Paul's Church was erected, there was previously a burying place 
for the Swedes in Upland. This is established by the report of Mr. Ross to 



aft 



4UU DELAWARE COUNTY 

the Society for the Propagation of the Gospel in Foreign Parts in 1714. The 
foundation of the ancient structure was laid in July, 1702, and January 24 of 
the following year, St. Paul's Day, Rev. John Talbot preached the first ser- 
mon delivered therein. The church was of stone, twenty-five feet in height, 
with a wooden stcejile containing the bell. In 1835 extensive repairs were 
made, the number of jiews was increased, the large pews subdivided, the old 
fashioned highbacks lowered, a gallery built in the west end, and under it a 
large mam entrance made. Tn 1850 agitation was started among the congre- 
gation for an entirely new church structure, preparations were made, and the 
corner stone was laid July 25. 1859, on the north side of Third street, ad- 
dresses being made by Right Rev. .-Mfred Lee, D. D., Bishop of Delaware, 
and Rev. Charles W. Quick. The building was built of pointed stone, in 
Gothic style, with a spire one hundred and twenty- four feet high. In 1872. 
the building was once more remodeled, later suffering two accidents, being 
struck by lightning on June 3, 1777, and catching fire on March 9, 1884. 

Calvary Episcopal Church was organized by Richard S. Smith, in an up- 
per room of his nail factory at Rockdale, Aston township. There was no 
other Episcopal church within five miles, so the mission was well attended. .A 
Sunday school was all that was attempted at first, Mr. Smith acting as super- 
intendent, and his wife and daughters fulfilling the duties of teachers. Soon 
it was re,solved to form a church congregation. Bishop Onderdonk authorized 
Kingston Goddard, a student of Divinity, to till the offices of lay-reader at 
Rockdale, and, the field being promising, the Rev. Marmaduke Hurst was de- 
tailed as missionary, under the auspices of the Advancement Society, the 
church receiving the name of Calvary, and being admitted to representation 
in the Episcopal Convention. On August 18, 1836, Bishop Onderdonk laid 
the corner stone for a building, a movement which Mr. Smith had labored dili- 
gently to further. The basement was pushed to completion, and here church 
and Sunday school services were held until sufficient funds could be raised to 
finish the entire work. In 1868 the church was enlarged and in other ways 
improved, the whole being "as a thank-offering for the blessings of peace." 

Rev. J. Coupland, rector of St. John's Cliurch, Concord, held services at 
Chadds Ford, according to the Episcopal church ritual, at irregular intervals, 
as did his successor. Rev. J. J. Sleeper, but it was not until 1884 that St. 
Luke's Church was organized. J. M. Baker was largely instrumental in the 
erection of the church, the corner-stone of which, was laid June 11, 1883. by 
Rev. W. H. Graff, of l^hiladelphia, and which was first used for divine ser- 
vice on May i, 1884. 

Another church dedicated to St. Luke was organized in Chester. Novem- 
ber 28, 1868, and was at first in the parish of St. Paul's Church. Rev. Henry 
Brown had charge of the chai^el, for such it was at first intended to be. The 
congregation began worship in the uncompleted building, as the construction 
funds had been exhausted. Thomas R. List, a student at the Philadelphia Di- 
vinity School, discharged the duties of lay-reader from .May 8. 1870. to June 



DELAWARE COUNTY 401 

19. 1873, when he was ordained as rector. In 1880 the entire debt of tlie churcli 
was paid, and work begun afresh on an unencumbered basis. 

Tlie ground upon which St. Martin's Episcopal Church of Birmingham 
township was later erected was given to the adherents of the Church of Eng- 
land by Walter Martin, a Friend of Upper Chichester, who had become em- 
bittered against his sect because of being "dealt with" according to the cus- 
toms of that society. In 1702 the few believers of that faith purchased a rude 
frame building, formerly a blacksmith sliop, from John and Tobias Hendrick- 
son, for the sum of £5. which they moved to the ground granted them by Wal- 
ter Martin. The Society for the Propagation of the Gospel in Foreign Parts 
established it as a missionary station, in connection with St. Paul's of Chester 
and the church at Concord. In 1745 the old frame structure becoming insuf- 
ficient, a fund was raised and a small brick church erected, the old sanctuary 
coming into use as a school-house. In 1845, one hundred years later, the build- 
ing had fallen into such dilapidation that it was determined to build a new edi- 
fice, which was accordingly done, making the third building occupied by the 
congregation. In 1822, St. Martin's separated itself from St. Paul's parish, 
and has since continued as an independent organization. John Larkin Jr., in 
1879 presented the church with a tract of two acres adjoining the old church- 
yard of St. Martin's, which had been crowded with the bodies of those who 
had fallen under the scythe of the Grim Reaper. 

The Rev. Evan Evans first mentions what later became St. John's Epis- 
copal Church of Concord, in a letter dated London, September 18, 1707, in 
which he writes on "the state of the church in Pennsylvania, most humbly of- 
fered to the venerable Society for the Propagation of the Gospel in Foreign 
Parts." In 1702 John Hannum donated a plot of ground at the northwest 
corner of his tract, on which to erect a church, and a log structure was built 
that year. In 1769 part of the proceeds of a lottery held in the province was 
assigned to St. John's, and with this sum a brick end was added to the church 
in 1773, and in 1790 a stone end was erected adjoining the brick section on the 
site of the frame building. Another addition was made in 1837, but on June 
IS. 1844, a new building was begun, since the scope of the church work had 
been so enlarged and widened that this step was made necessary. In this 
building was placed a large chancel window, a memorial to Bi.shop Onclerdonk, 
whose long service had endeared him to the members of the church of which 
he was so sturdy a pillar. 

On May 5, 1872, Rev. James S. Pjrooke, rector of St. George's Church, 
West End, officiated at the first sei-vices of St. Stephen's Church in Upper 
Darby, held in the village school-house, and on October 27 that year com- 
munion was administered for the first time, fourteen persons uniting. In 
May of the following year a Sunday school was organized, and led a pros- 
perous existence. The congregation was composed mainly of the mill-workers 
and their families, and although their slender incomes were not sufficient to 
support the mission in a pretentious manner, nevertheless, their earnest efforts 
were bent toward the realization of a church of their own. Oborn Levis 
26 



402 DELAWARE COUNTY 

donated several lots on the Baltimore turnpike, and enough money was raised 
to warrant the erection of a church, even with the handicap of a sum of money 
lost in the failure of the h'ranklin Savings l'"unil of Philadelphia. The corner 
stone was laid October 12, 1878, and (jn Sunday morning, Marcn 16, of the 
following year, the house of worship was dedicated by Bishop Stevens, and, 
owmg t(i the generous subscription, was able to begin its existence free from 
any hampering debt. The Iniilding was of pressed brick, stone trimmed, orna- 
mented with colored brick design, and finished inside with hard stained wood. 
On October 9, 1880, the corner stoni' of a Sunday-school and parish building 
was laid, with impressive exercises. Th-j structure was the gift of Thomas 
A. Scott, then president of the Pennsylvania railroad. .\ brass tablet on its 
walls bears this inscription : "Erected in memory of Thomas A. Scott, Jr., 
who died Ascension Day, 1S79. Of such is the Kingdom of God." Ground 
adjoining the church vestry was received by gift of Dr. R. A. Given and 
Thomas A. Scott, and thereon, in the fall of 1882, the erection of a rectory 
begun and the building completed the following year. The church grew rap- 
idly, and in the midst of the vayi'id increase in the population of Clifton Heights 
has been expanding its activities and has offered a church home to many who 
have accepted its offer of Christian fellowship, always carrying out its mission 
as an active instrument for good. 

The first religious services in Media imder the Episcopalian ritual, were 
held in the court house during the summer of 1853, the congregation later 
erecting Christ Church. From that time until the erection of a church edifice, 
services were held in the courtliouse, and the Methodist church. Letters of 
incorporation were granted by the court of Delaware county, August 28, 1854, 
and the cornerstone ot the church laid July 5, 1858, Right Rev. .Mfred Lee, 
D. D., Bishop of Delaware, officiating. Consecration was made June 21, i860, 
by Right Rev. Alonzo Potter, D. 1)., LL.D., liishop of Pennsylvania, Right 
Re . Alfred Lee assisting. During the rectorship of Rev. Edward Lounsberry, 
•ormerly of the diocese of Iowa, a tower was built ui)on the church, and a pipe- 
jrgan installed. The young ladies of Brooke Hall made presentation of a 
chancel-rail and marble font. To meet the needs of the younger members of 
the parish, a Sunday school was organized, an institution which has grown 
steadily and prospered exceedingly from its inception. 

Prior to the organization of the Church of the Good Shepherd, in Radnor 
township, the congregation frequently held divine service at Woodfield, while 
Sunday .school was conducted at the house of Mrs. Supplee, in Radnor town- 
ship. At a meeting held in Wayne Hall, July 7, 1869, the parish was organized 
and .services were begun there in July, 1869, Rev. H. P. Hay, D. D., being 
elected rector in the fall of that year, all former services having been con- 
ducted by supply clergymen. The corner-stone of the church was lain July 
25, 1871, Bishop Stevens conducting the services. Mission services had been 
held in the i)ublic school-house, near Radnor station since- 1869, hut on July 25, 
1880, Bishop Stevens officiated at the laying of the corner-stone of the Chapel 
of the Good Shepherd, which was completed the next year. A parish building 



DFXAWARE COUNTY 403 

and rectory have also been built on ground adjoining the Church of the Good 
Shepherd, the former in 1888, the latter, 1884. Various institutions have 
sprung up about this church, not the least important of which was the Hospi- 
tal of the Good Shepherd, opened formally by Bishop Stevens, on June 11, 
1874, with accommodations for twelve children, to whose use the building is 
restricted. As proof of the need and usefulness of this hospital, two children 
were entered as soon as the institution was opened. 

Christ Church of Media holds supervision over the Church of the Atone- 
ment, an Episcopal church erected in 1880. The early meetings were held at 
the home of Miss Sue Pearce, later in a cottage belonging to J. H. Irwin, who 
donated the lot upon which the church was built. 

Presbyterian Churches. — Presbyterianism is the contribution of those 
sturdy settlers of Scotch-Irish descent to the religious life of this country. The 
denomination is widespread in its influence, embraces all sections of the lam I, 
and has as permanent, as extensive and as efficient an organization as any 
religious sect in the United States. The founding of this church in Chester 
county dates from shortly after 1718, as in that year the Scotch-Irish began 
[heir settlement, and it was characteristic of the people that the establishing 
of the church followed soon after or simultaneous with that of the home. The 
earliest church records have been destroyed, but it is highly probable that the 
church was founded in 1728 or early in 1729, as on April i, 172Q, the New 
Castle Pfesbytery, responding to the request of the people of Newtown to be 
permitted to build a church, acceded thereto, with the condition that the mem- 
bers would continue "a united congregation with Brandy wine." In 1729 a log 
church was built in Middletown, although the land was not conveyed to the 
trustees until 1751. when the building is nienti(inc(l in the deed. It has been 
incontrovertibly establishcrl that a full organization of the church was effected 
and a meeting-house built in 1735. in which year Dr. Isaac Watts presented the 
"Protestant Dissenters" with a folio copy of one of Baxter's works. There 
was no regular pastor until 1770, and until that date services were held on an 
average of once a month. The congregation was widely scattered, many 
journeying ten or twelve miles to hear the two sermons preached on a Sunday, 
which, if the specimens which have been preserved to us intact are fair exam- 
ples, were not of the best. On May 10, 1762, Robert McClellan, one of the 
congregation, conveyed to William Lindsay, Hugh Linn, James Lindsay, John 
McMinn, James Black, Charles Linn, Joseph Black, James Hemphill, and 
Thomas Trimble, three-quarters of an acre of land for the use of a Presby- 
terian church, which was erected soon after. In 1770 Rev. James Anderson, 
a young man of twenty-one years of age, was called to the pulpit, spending 
almost all the years of his manhood in that service, until his death in 1793. 
In 1846 the ancient building was so out> of repair that it was entirely rebuilt, 
and was used until 1870, when it was burned to the ground. 

The Lower Brandywine Presbyterian Church was established in Birming- 
ham township in 1720, the first house of worship being a log structure. After 
the Revolution the site of the church home was moved to Centreville, Dela- 



404 d]:la\\'are county 

ware, where services were held at the "old log meeting," as often as a speakej 
could be procured. June 3, 1878, a church was dedicated at Dilworthtown, 
and a short time afterward Sunday school work was begun. 

Previous to 1850, the Presbyterian residents of Chester had been com- 
pelled to attend divine service conducted after the ritual of some other denom- 
ination than tiieir own, since there was no Presbyterian church in the city. 
But in the fall of that year, Rev. James \V. Dale began to hold services 
accoreh'ng to the Presbyterian tornnila in the court house, every Sunday after- 
noon, continuing for over a year, when, largely through the generosity of 1. 
E. Cochran Sr., and Joseph H. Hinkson, a church was erected on ground 
donated by Mr. Cochran. The sanctuary has been considerably enlarged 
and remodeled since its erection. 

The founding of the Chester City Presbyterian Church was a direct out- 
growth from the estaljlishment of a Sunday school in the western end of the 
city, designed to meet the necessity for religious instruction among the chil- 
dren of that neighborhood. On December 14, 1862, the school was organized 
in the .Academy building, and so rapid was its growth that it was determined 
to enlarge the works so as to inchulc the adult population. To this end. 
Thomas Reaney, of the firm of Reaney, Son & Archbold, erected a building 
and tendered it to the congregation as his contribution, the expense of the fur- 
nishing being borne jointly by Mr. Reaney and Mr. Perkins. Until the com- 
pletion of the church proper, worship was held in the lecture room, after 
organization had been effected under the direction of the Presbytery of Phil- 
adelphia. The first pastor was the Rev. Martin P. Jones, who was called 
in 1866. 

The Third Presbyterian Church of Chester was organized as a result of 
division in the First Presbyterian Church, the organization first named holding 
their early services in a Sunday school mission erected by the latter body. The 
congregation in 1873 enlarged and rebuilt the structure at a cost of $15,000 
and dedicated it October 5 that year. 

The Presbyterian Church of Darby Borough was organized by the con- 
gregation of the mission conducted by the Darby or Knowle's Presbyterian 
Church of Darby, during the pastorate of Rev. J. Addison Whittaker. Ser- 
vices were first held in the public school house, and in January, 1854, a fund 
had been raised for the erection of a church building. In 1858 the edifice 
was completed and ready for use. In 1862 a parsonage was built on a lot 
adjoining the church. In the course of all this improvement and advancement, 
the church had contracted a heavy debt, the dissipation of which in 1873 was 
marked by a joyous jubilee meeting. There is a large Sunday school con- 
nected with the church, which, under excellent management, has been a force 
of inestimable potency in the preparation of the younger generations for the 
assumption of the duties and responsibilities of church work. Charles O. 
Raird, son of Matthew Baird, erected a handsome stone chapel in the spring 
of 1 88 1 as a monument to the honored memory of his father and mother. The 
dedicatory sermon was preached by Rev. Dr. Cattell, of Princeton. 



DELAWARE COUNTY 405 

Tlie first services of what later grew into the Presbyterian Church of 
Media, were held in a room over John C. Beatty's store, the Rev. Dale, pas- 
tor of the Middletown Presbyterian Church, officiating. Soon after, before 
a church was built, a Sunday school was organized, with Mr. Beatty's home as 
a meeting place. The corner-stone of the church was laid July 4, 1854, on a 
site of one acre donated by Mr. Beatty, who was the moving spirit. On 
October 11, 1855, the church, of Doric design, was dedicated amid most impres- 
sive ceremonies. Since then the church has prospered, and its value to the 
community is inestimable. With its increasing financial prosperity, a parson- 
age was erected adjoining the church. 

One of the church structures erected about the middle of the 19th century, 
to which more than usual interest was attached, was that built at Todmor- 
den, by William T. Crook, for the benefit of the employees of his mills. The 
building was erected to serve not only as a church, but was provided with 
reading, school, and lecture rooms. It was dedicated September 30, 1850, and 
marked a new epoch in the relations between employer and men which boded 
well for peaceful and profitable business, as well as inspiring and helpful 
social and religious work. 

From public services held in Wayne Hall, beginning Sunday, June 5, 1870. 
and the organization of a Sunday school on June 19, of the same year, grew 
what came to be known as the Wayne Presbyterian Church of Radnor town- 
ship. On June 21, 1870, a meeting preliminary to church organization was 
held in Wayne Hall, and commissioners appointed by the Presbytery met in 
the same place three days later, organizing the Wayne Presbyterian Church, 
with a membership of nine. A call was extended to Rev. S. P. Linn to becom.' 
pastor, which he accepted, and was duly installed on July 5, 1870. Until 
the completion of the church edifice, for which ground was broken March 21, 
1870, meetings were held each Sabbath morning in Wayne Hall. The laying 
of the corner-stone was performed by Rev. John Chambers, Rev. R. H. Allen, 
D. D., Rev. John McLeod and Rev. T. J. Aiken, assisting. At the dedication 
services on December 8, 1870, the sermon was preached by Rev. Charles 
Wadsworth, D. D. The building and ground was the gift of J. Henry Askin. 
Es(j., whose deep and heartfelt interest in the church life found its outlet in the 
presentation of this handsome sanctuary. A parsonage was likewise the gift 
of Mr. Askin, a building which was recently sold and another, more spacious 
than the first, erected. The various departments of church work, foreign 
and home missionary, guild, and Christian Endeavor societies, as well as a 
large Sunday school, are in excellent and efficient working order, producing 
remarkable results. 

Before the erection of the Ridley Park Presbyterian Church in 1876, 
two attempts had been made to establish there a church of that denomination. 
but both had failed, the first by Rev. Ewing, in 1873, when he held Sunday 
afternoon services in the depot; and the second, by Rev. J. E. Alexander, in 
1874. In the latter year Mr. Smith, superintendent of Ridley Park, tendered 
the use of the hotel dining room for Sunday school services during the win- 



4o6 DELAWARE COUNTY 

ter, an oficr wliich was gratefully acce])tcd. The next year, after securing the 
services of Dr. Grier for a year, a movement was inaugurated for a church 
organization. A stone church of Gothic architecture was erected, Rev. Dr. .\i. 
Grier and Rev. jMowry, of Chester, conducting the services. 

Baptist Cliurclics. — Delaware county boasts of the third Baptist church 
erected in Pennsylvania a log structure built in 1718, when the church organi- 
zation, formed in 1715, had outgrown the homes of its various members as 
meeting places. It is said that religious services were held on the same ground 
in Birmingham township twenty-five years previous to the erection of the 
church, but this is merely tradition. In 1770 the primitive building was razed 
and a stone structure erected on its site, which did duty until i8j(>, when the 
tiiird church iiome of the congregation was dedicated. Several of the pas- 
tors have been graduates of the county's Baptist educational institution, Cro- 
zer Theological Seminar)^ their endeavors and labors casting a worthy reflec- 
tion upon their alma mater. 

A church erected in the interests of Methodism, May 17, i860, later 
becoming a Church of England mission, was purchased by Mrs. Sarah K. 
Crozer, and for ten years was conducted as a mission by the Crozer Theolog- 
ical Seminary, the students of the seminary filling the pulpit. In 1881 it 
was released from its dependency and became a separate church. Rev. Miller 
Jones being the first pastor, and has since flourished exceedingly well. 

A mission under the control of the Upland Baptist Church was estab- 
lished at Bridgewater in 1874, on a lot purchased from Samuel Haigh & Com- 
pany. The services are held by students from Crozer Theological Seminary, 
an arrangement satisfactory to both parties, as the cost of maintenance of the 
church is considerably lessened by this plan, and the students acquire practical 
speaking experience. 

The first services held in Chester by Baptist clergymen were conducted 
by itinerant ministers at irregular intervals, and it was not until 1854 that ser- 
vices were had at regularly stated times, when Rev. William Wilder, of the 
Upland Bajjtist Church, established worship in the court house, this continuing 
as a meeting ])lace for four years. In 1858 John P. Crozer donated land which 
he had kept idle until the time should come when it could be used for a Baptist 
church. In the sunnner of that same year Benjamin Gartside built a chapel 
for temporary use, at his own expense, and herein worship was held every 
Sunday afternoon. In the spring of iiS63 an effort was made to have a build- 
ing erected, unsuccessful because of the excitement attendant upon the inva- 
sion of the' north by Lee's army, but in the fall of that year, September 24, 
the chapel was dedicated as the First Baptist Church of Chester, and Rev. 
Levi G. Beck was called as its first ])astor. May 24. 1864. In tlie same year a 
sufficient sum of money was pledged for the building of a house of worship. 
proceedings were begun, and July 2, 1864, the corner stone was laid. By fall 
■ the structure was so far advanced lliat the lecture room was put into imme- 
diate use. and in the fall following the entire building was ready for occu- 
pancy, but as the congregation had decided that the main part of the church 



DELAWARE COUNTY 407 

should not be used while it was under a debt of any kind, the large auditorium 
remained unused for several weeks, when the debt of $16,000 was paid in full. 
On December 28, 1865, amid great rejoicing, the dedication services were 
held, Rev. J. Wheaton Smith, D. D., officiating. 

John P. Crozer, prominent in llaptist enterprises and institutions, and 
founder of Crozer Theological Seminary, in 1851 began the erection of a Bap- 
tist church in Upland borough, a locality which had previously been depend- 
ent u])nn the chance of a Baptist clergyman being in the vicinity to conduct 
worship. In March, 1852, the edifice was dedicated, and November 17, 1852, 
when it was fully completed, prominent Baptist church dignitaries publicly 
recognized it as a house of worship, Rev. John Duncan occupying the pulpit 
as the first pastor. In i860 and 1873 extensive additions and alterations were 
made to the original building, and not only did the church grow and prosper 
at home, but caused its influence to be felt abroad by the establishment of four 
missions, — at Leiperville, Bridgewater, \illage Green and South Chester. 

At a meeting held at the home of James Irving, in North Chester bor- 
ough, a few representative Baptists of the locality decided upon the erection 
of a church. This was later done, the sanctuary being the gift of James Irv- 
ing. The dedication services were held in June of 1873. 

The Baptist Church of Marcus Hook was organized May 3, 1789, with 
seventeen members, the funds for the church edifice being raised by popular 
subscription. The cost of the building was £164 i6s. )4d. The church was 
admitted into the Philadelphia Baptist Association, October 6, 1789. When 
the original building had outlived its usefulness, a new one was erected, the 
corner-stone of which was laid September 10, 1853. The evening of the day 
of the corner-stone laying, the box deposited in the stone was broken open and 
despoiled of its contents. 

In October, 1832, several Baptist residents of Newtown township and the 
neighboring region met at the residence of Deacon Samuel Davis, in Haver- 
ford, to discuss the organization of a Baptist church. Meetings had been held 
in the locality by H. G. Jones, Joseph H. Kennard, William S. Hall, and others. 
before the existence of the Newtown Baptist Church, but this was the first 
concerted effort at organization. At a meeting held November 10, 1832, at 
Dr. Gardiner's residence, the church was organized. Letters of dismissal 
from various churches were read, a church covenant and articles of faith were 
agreed to and signed, and, on behalf of the church. Dr. Gardiner was given 
the right hand of fellowship. Before a church was erected, meetings were 
held in the upper part of Dr. Gardiner's carriage house, while his daughters 
organized a Sunday school, using the house as a place of meeting. Immedi- 
ately after his ordination in 1834, Rev. Samuel J. Creswell was installed as 
pastor, and August 30 that year a house of worship was dedicated, Rev. H. G. 
Jones, of Lower Merion, officiating. 

The Radnor Baptist Church originated in the days of the slavery agitation, 
in the Great Valley Baptist Church. Members of the latter church, strongly 
opposed to slavery, were desirous of forming an organization where there 



4o8 DELAWARE COUNTY 

would be no dissension or argument over this issue, and obtained letters to 
form a new church. This took the name of the Radnor Baptist Church, and 
worship was conducted in a hall originally known as the I-ladnor Scientific 
and Musical Hall, where formerly meetings of an atheistical character had 
been held. The first pastor was Rev. J. Newton Hobart. 

The first Baptist organization perfected in Ridley township was the Rid- 
fey Park Baptist Church, founded in 1832, a stone house on the Lazaretto 
road doing service as a sanctuary. In 1872 a new church building was erected 
and the old structure used as a Sunday school. On December 11, 1837, the 
trustees purchased one hundred and seventeen square perches of land adjoin- 
ing the old church lot for burial purposes, reserving the right to dam a run 
near by for a space of twenty-four hours for baptismal purposes. The mem- 
bers of the Ridley Park Baptist church, not to be left in the rear by the onward 
march of progress, determined to build a new church at the time when the 
Ridley Park .Association began work on improving what is now Ridley Park. 
The town of Ridley Park was chosen as a good central location, the Ridley 
Park Company donating the lot upon which the edifice, whose cornerstone was 
laid July 3, 1873, was erected. The church and all its departments have flour- 
ished, and the organization wields a mighty influence for good. 

Methodist Episcopal Churches. — The oldest Methodist Episcopal church 
in Delaware county is the Radnor church, whose record extends far back 
into the history of Methodism and touches upon the lives of many of the most 
illustrious pioneers of that faith in this continent. Soon after the Revolution- 
ary war, Radnor became a regular preaching place and was supplied by circuit 
preachers, the house of worship then being the home of the James family. 
"The Mansion House." When this little group was first organized, Radnor 
was included in the Philadelphia circuit, the preachers being John Cooper and 
George Main. In 1873 the name of the circuit became Chester, it having once 
before been changed from Philadelphia to Pennsylvania circuit, and Octo- 
ber 20th of the same year Evan Jones and his wife Margaret go on record as 
having recorded with Justice Thomas Lewis that for the sum of seven shillings 
they sold one-half an acre of land "on which a meeting house was to be built 
for Francis Asbury and his assistants, in which the doctrines of John Wesley, 
as set forth in his four volumes of 'Sermons' and his 'Notes on the New Tes- 
tament,' were to be preached, and no other." Work on the church was imme- 
diately begun and after seemingly unsurmountable difficulties had been over- 
come, the project was pushed to completion. By 1833 the congregation had so 
increased that it was necessary to erect a new church, and while the same 
was in process of construction, open-air services were held under the trees in 
front of the building. Because of the necessity of having the house of wor 
ship completed before winter set in, the work was rushed to the utmost, and 
in the fall of the year it was begun. Rev. (afterwards Bishop) E. L. James, 
preached the dedicatory sermon, soon after which the building was ready for 
occupancy. In 1822 considerable inside alteration and repair work was done. 



DELAWARE COUNTY 409 

and in the following year Radnor Church, which had previously been affiliated 
with the Bryn Mawr and Bethesda churches, was made a separate station. 

The Mount Hope Methodist Church was erected over a century ago, on 
land in Aston township, donated by Aaron Mattson, a noted paper-manufac- 
turer of the day, whose body rests in the old churchyard. In the deed to 
Powell Clayton, Edward Carter, Daniel Carter, Robert Johnson, John Little, 
George Sneath. and Peter Longacre. it states that the lot shall be held "forever 
in trust, that they shall erect and build thereon a house or place of worship 
for the use of the members of the Methodist Episcopal Church in the United 
States of America, only those preachers appointed by the general conference, 
and none others, to preach and expound God's Holy word therein." The 
church was built of stone, and was plainly furnished. For many years the 
church was dependent upon the services of a circuit preacher, and in his 
absence the local minister led the congregation. In the early struggles of the 
church, valuable and timely aid was lent by a visit from Rev. James Caughey, 
a famous revivalist from England, whose preaching at the Mount Hope Church 
was heard by the people for miles around, greatly stimulating the pulse of inter- 
est in the institution, whose life and vitality -had become exceedingly low. 
From then on, the number of its members steadily increased, a strong inde- 
pendent congregation being the result. In 185 1 the church was part of Mount 
Hope Station, and the following year became Village Green Circuit. 

In the autumn of 185 1 a number of the members of the Mount Hope Cir- 
cuit, residing in or near Rockdale, actuated by the belief that the erection of 
a church at Rockdale would be of great benefit, met at the home of Rev. John 
B. Maddox, near Village Green. After deliberation, trustees were elected, 
and a committee on building appointed. At the first meeting of the trustees, 
held in the Parkmount school house, November 18, 1851, John P. Crozer do- 
nated a lot and subscribed a generous amount to the building fund. In 1852, al- 
though no structure had been erected, a petition was presented at the Philadel- 
phia Conference, urging that body to separate the Rockdale church from 
Mount Hope, and establish it as a regular station. L^pon the favorable consid- 
eration of this request. Rev. George W. McLaughlin was appointed the first 
pastor, holding his initial services in Temperance Hall at Taylortown, later 
known as Lenni. In the meanwhile the construction of the church building 
had been pushed forward at a rapid rate, and June 27, 1852, Rev. Dr. William 
Ryan, of Philadelphia, preached the dedicatory sermon, and conducted the 
contributory service, at which nearly $750 was realized. A resolution was 
presented at the Quarterly Conference, held February 19, 1853, that, as a rec- 
ognition of the generosity and favors extended to the society by Mr. Crozer, 
the name of the church be changed from Rockdale to Crozerville, an order 
which was made, and under that title incorporation papers were granted in 
December, i860. Attendance and membership increased rapidly, and by the 
indefatigable eflforts of the trustees the congregation was entirely free from 
aebt in 1866. Ten years later a parsonage was erected near the church, and a 
few years later the church was completely renovated and remodeled. 



410 DIiLAWARK COUNTY 

An association of Methodists in 1872 purchased a farm in Aston town- 
ship, on the Bahimore Central raih-oad, and was incorporated as the Chester 
Heights Camp Meeting Association. The tract purchased contained about 162 
acres, of which sixty was woodland, and was inclosed with a fence seven feet 
in heigiit. Within is a large building, 70 by 120 feet, a portion of which was 
two stories in height, and was used as lodging rooms, while the remainder was 
one-story, open at the sides, 'so constructed that in bad weather it could be 
used for religious services. In front of this structure were backed benches 
with a seating capacity of about 3500. The use of these grounds was not con- 
fined to camp meetings, but any organization renting them for any purpose 
whatsoever was required to conform with the discipline of the Methodist 
Church. 

The Siioam Methodist Church is a branch of the Bethel Church of Dela- 
ware, and was organized in 1852. Ground for a church in Bethel tovvnshi]) 
was donated by Samuel Hanby and Samuel Hance, and thereon was erected 
a stone edifice. The basement was in condition to be used before the main 
body of the church was completed, and services were held there until .Septem- 
ber 24, 1854, when Rev. Hurey and Rev. Andrew Manship, of Philadelphia, 
conducted the dedication services. The cost of the building was $4,500, of 
which sum one-half had been raised from time to time, when the edifice was 
in tlie course of construction, the remaining half being made up by subscrip- 
tions on dedication day. The church was embraced in the Mount Lebanon 
circuit, and tiie first pastor was Rev. William II. Burrcll. The growth and 
expansion of the church led to the establishment of a mission at Chelsea, in a 
chapel originally built by Dr. Phineas Price, which was purchased by the con- 
gregation and dedicated July 22, 1 87 1. 

The Union African Methodist Episcopal Church was organized in Ches- 
ter by a freed slave, Robert Morris. An humble beginning was made in a 
room of a house occu])ied by a colored family, named Williams, the attendance 
and interest gradually increasing, until in 1831 a lot was jnirchased and a 
frame house of worshiji erected thereon. Rev. Samuel Smith was the first 
local preacher. During the second pastorate of Rev. Benjamin Jefferson, the 
stone structin-e, which had been built during his first ministry, was rebuilt 
Union Church became a strong institution, and established a mission church at 
Media, which has likewise jjrosjjercd. 

Rev. Stephen Smith, of Philadelphia, was the founder of the Asbury Afri- 
can Methodist Episci^pal Church, which he organized on October 26, 1845. ^'^ 
this same year church property was purchased and a building erected, the pul- 
pit being filled at first by circuit ])i\'aclKTs, altlinni;li lattr Idcal ck-rgynien con- 
ducted the services. The first regular pastor was Rev. Henry Davis, ajipointed 
in 1849. During the ministry of Rev. Jeremiah Young, who came to Chester 
in 1863, the church was rebuilt, and on November 25, 1867, the A.sbury African 
Methodist Episcopal Church was incorporated. While Rev. C. C. Felts was 
pastor, a parsonage was purchased on Madison street. The church conducted 



DELAWARE COUNTY 41 1 

the William Murphy church as a mission for a time, the Rev. M. F. Slubey 
being installed as its first pastor in 1883. 

The South Chester Methodist Episcopal Church was organized in South 
Chester, under the direction of Rev. S. W. Gehrett, in 1870, and in this year 
a chapel was erected as a mission chapel of Trinity Methodist Episcopal church 
of Chester, and was dedicated in November, 1871, Rev. Urie, of Wilmington, 
preaching the dedicatory sermon. 

The Madison Street Methodist Episcopal Church of Chester had its begin- 
ning in meetings conducted by John Kelley, in 1818. Mr. Kelley had formerly 
been a preacher in St. George's Church, Philadelphia, and through his influence 
a class was formed and the conference prevailed upon to make the place a 
regular station on the circuit preacher's route. For many years services were 
held in the court house, where it is said the noted Bishop Asbury preached on 
several occasions. The congregation grew rapidly, but all efforts for the erec- 
tion of a house of worship were futile until 1830, when a stone church was 
erected on Second street, largely through the efforts of David Abbott, and was 
named Asbury Chapel, in honor of the bishop. In 1845 the congregation had 
become so large that it was freed from dependency upon the circuit preachers, 
and was established as a regular station, with Rev. Isaac R. Merrill as the 
first pastor. In May, 1846, the church was incorporated, and the erection of a 
second stone meeting-house was begun. Rev. Dr. Hodgson, of Philadelphia, 
and Dr. Kennedy, of Wilmington, assisting the pastor in the laying of the cor- 
ner-stone. From 1847 to 1872, thirteen pastors occupied the church pulpit as 
duly appointed preachers, and in 1872, the old building being inadequate, the 
corner-stone of a new edifice was laid by the pastor. Rev. James Cunningham, 
Rev. Henry Brown, rector, of St. Paul's, and Rev. A. W. Sproull, pastor of 
the First Presbyterian Church, assisting. The church was constructed of green 
serpentine stone, trimmed with granite, and having corner-blocks of the same 
material. 

For the convenience of the Methodist residents in the South Ward of 
Chester, the Quarterly Conference decided to effect a church organization in 
that section of the city, in consequence of which services were held in Crozer 
Academy, on Second street, while on June 26, 1865, Trinity Methodist Episco- 
pal Church was incorporated, and August 25 of that year the court granted an 
amentled charter. In the summer of that year, under the leadership of Rev. 
Twiggs, the erection of a building began, but the structure had been barely 
roofed in, when, in October of 1865, a terrific northeast storm sweeping 
through the city, entirely demolishing the whole work, heaping it in the cellar, 
a mass of ruin and debris. In this condition affairs remained until the follow- 
ing year, when a chapel was erected on the ground to the west, a Sunday 
school built, and work recommenced on the main building. In the fall of 1866 
the chapel was completed and dedicated, $5000 of the $20,000 debt which the 
congregation had incurred, being raised on the occasion. During the pastor- 
ship of Rev. George W. F. Graff, the main church was completed, and at the 
dedication services Bishop Simpson received subscriptions amounting to $5000. 



412 DELAWARE COUNTY 

By 1875 the entire debt was paid, and the church was free from any obligation 
for the first time in ten years. Even during tliis period of adversity, the mis- 
sionary spirit had been alive, and a mission chapel was supported, which has 
since grown into the South Chester Methodist Episcopal Church. 

St. Daniel's Methodist Episcopal Church was organized in South Ches- 
ter, with Rev. Henson, officiating as the first pastor. 

The African Methodist Episcopal Bethel Church was organized in the old 
school house on the public grounds in South Chester. A lot was purchased for 
the consideration of one dollar (a gift) from John M. Broomall, and by the 
eflforts of William Murphy sufficient money was subscribed for the erection of 
a brick edifice which was dedicated June 6, 1872, and Rev. G. T. Waters in- 
stalled as pastor. 

In 1835 the organization of St. George's Methodist Church was effected, 
the indirect cause of which was the visit of Rev. Brooke Eyre to Marcus 
Hook. He preached a sermon in a shoemaker's shop, and succeeded in arous- 
ing such interest that immediately after his departure subscriptions were taken 
and a plain wooden structure erected on Discord Lane, William McLaughlin 
selling the land upon which it was built for a small consideration. The con- 
gregation was poor and depended entirely upon circuit preachers for regular 
services, but what it lacked in wealth it made up in interest and earnestness of 
purpose. On February 20, 1839, Lewis Massey and wife made a deed of a 
house and lot on Broad street in Marcus Hook, as a ])arsonage for the minis- 
ter of the Chester circuit, which was held by the Wilmington Conference until 
St. George's Church became a station in 1870. At that date the trustees peti- 
tioned the court to be empowered to convey to the trustees of Marcus Hook 
Methodist Church one hundred feet on Broad street and extending in depth 
the whole length of the lot, to be used for the erection of a church thereon, 
and to sell the remaining part of the lot to John A. Stevenson for $2500. which 
sum was to be used in the purchase of another parsonage, the house in Alar- 
cus Hook, then dilapidated, being six miles distant from the place where the 
clergyman of Chester circuit was appointed to preach. The court authorized 
the trustees, in November, 1873, to make the deed to Stevenson in fee-simple, 
and discharged from all the trusts mentioned in the deed of trust. On Satur- 
day, July 8, 187 1, the cornerstone of a new building was laid, as the old church. 
in thirty-five years of constant use, had begun to show the ravages of time and 
was fast becoming too small. The new edifice was a large and imposing struc- 
ture, a worthy instrument for a holy use. 

The Hebron African Methodist Church was organized about 1837, the 
first meetings being held in a little log house on the road from Dutton's cross 
roads to Upper Chichester cross roads, in Lower Chichester township. ,A lot 
was purchased from John Mustin in 1844, and a frame church erected during 
the pastorate of Rev. Abraham C. Crippin. The first pastor was Rev. Israel 
Gcott. 

In 1842 the African ]\Iethodist Episcopal Church of Darby township was 



DELAWARE COUNTY 413 

organized, a frame church being erected on Horntown road, which was re- 
placed in 1854 by a brick edifice. The first pastor was Rev. J. W. Davis. 

The nucleus of Mount Zion Methodist Episcopal Church was founded in 
1807, when about twenty believers in the Methodist faith residing near Darby, 
formed a class for divine worship. At some time subsequent to that date, Dr. 
Phineas Price purchased a lot on the Springfield road from Joseph Wood, 
and erected thereon a stone church. Upon the death of Dr. Price, who had 
held title during his lifetime, Mary, Ann M. and Henry Price conveyed the 
building and ground to Samuel Levis, Charles Levis, Samuel Sungren, David 
Dunbar and Jonas Morton, trustees of the church. When the congregation 
decided to move the church seat to Darby, a lot in the borough was purchased 
and a brick church costing $9400 was erected, and the dedication services held 
by Bishop Matthew Simpson. 

A society of Methodists in Upper Darby township, who held meetings for 
worship at the homes of the various members from 1834 to 1837, resolved 
to erect a place of worship, and June 27 of the latter year laid the corner-stone 
of the Methodist Episcopal church at Pleasant Hill, Rev. M. Coomer officiat- 
ing. The church was under the care of the Philadelphia Conference, and after 
the organization of the Qifton Methodist Church, in 1871. the older organiza- 
tion was placed under that charge. 

The Clifton Methodist Episcopal church was organized in 1871. and that 
year the building of a brick sanctuary was begun, the funds being furnished 
largely by Richard Young, of Springfield. The corner-stone was laid Augusi 
10, 1871, Rev. F. A. Fernley and other clergymen prominent in the denomina- 
tion, assisting the pastor. Rev. M. H. Sisty. A Sunday school also sprang 
from the main body of the church, and is both well supported and enthusi- 
astically attended. In 1884 a parsonage was built on a lot adjoining the church 
property. 

In 183 1 an organization was formed in Haverford township under the 
name of the Bethesda Methodist Episcopal Church, with Rev. William Crider 
as its first pastor. The following year a building for worship was erected in 
the southwest quarter of the township, which was enlarged and remodeled 
in 1871. 

The Methodists hold the honor of being the pioneers in organized religious 
work of any kind in Media, for in 1851 Rev. John B. Maddox, pastor of the 
Village Green Church, preached in the Media Temperance Hall, after which a 
class of five members was organized, of which John Hardcastle was the leader. 
During the winter, prayer and cla'^s meetings were held in the home of Joseph 
Iliff, and in August, 1851, a lot was purchased, with the idea of erecting a 
house of worship as soon as possible. Until 1854 meetings were held under 
the apple tree in the lot in summer ; in the winter, in the court house and an 
upper room in Mark Packard's barn. Rev. Ignatius Cooper, who had charge 
of the circuit, published an appeal for aid in the "Delaware County Republi- 
can." By August 7, 1854, the $2000 necessary to complete the fund of $3500 
had been raised, and on that date Rev. Dr. H. G. King and Rev. J. S. Lane 



414 DELAWARE COUNTY 

conducted services at the laying of the corner-stone. In the spring of 1858 
the entire structure was completed and an excellent and impressive dedication 
service was preached by Rev. Franklin Moore, D. D., the church becoming 
an independent station the following year. During the pastorate of the Rev. 
G. T. Ilurlock, extensive repairs and alterations were made to the church and 
a parsonage erected. 

In 1833, William L. Fox, Eleanor Fox, James Permar, John Pyle and 
four other ])ersons, organized a Methodist society at Lima, in Middletowii 
township, with James Riddle, a local preacher, in charge. For about six 
months services were held in the dwelling of Mr. Fox; later the school house 
was rented for the purpose, and services conducted there by the circuit preacher. 
On August. 19, 1835, in consideration of $75, John Rattew conveyed to Henry 
Permcr, Charles McCally, John Pylc, Lewis M. Pike, John Daniels, Seth 
Rigby, William L. Fox of Middletowii, Caleb G. Archer of Aston, and Joshua 
Smitii, of Edgemont, trustees, an acre of land "forever, in trust, that they 
shall erect and build or cause to be built thereon a house of worship for 
Methodist Episcopal church of United States of America." On this site was 
built a stone meeting house which in 1873 was rebuilt and enlarged. The 
dedication services of the new building were held Sunday, April 0, 1873, and 
March 23, 1873, the court of Delaware county incorporated the Lima Metho- 
dist Episcopal Church. A Sunday school has also been formed, its advance- 
ment being steady from the date of organization. 

The Honeycomb Methodist Episcopal Church was formed by a number of 
colored people of Middletown in 1872, and a building erected near the Bishop 
Hollow road. 

The Union Methodist Episcopal Church of Nether Providence township 
grew from a class organized in Hinkson's Corners, about 1812, composed of 
residents of Nether Providence and neighborhood. On January 28, 1813, the 
trustees, William Palmer of Aston, Edward Levis and William Coflfman, of 
Sjjringfield, Joseph Dicks, Caspar Coffman and John Esray of Nether Provi- 
dence, Christopher Snyder and Rudolph Temple; of Springfield, and William 
Morris of Upper Providence, purchased a lot of eighty square perches of land 
from I'enjamiii Houlstoii, for $110. Hereon a stone church was erected. 
which was enlarged and repaired about 1878. The church was under the same 
charge as the Mount Hope church, both being in Village Green Circuit. 

The organization of the Stony P>ank Methodist Church was effected in 
1810, the first meetings being held in the Stony Bank schoolliouse while a place 
of worship was being erected. This was finished in 1812, a stone structure, 
that was used until 1870, when work was commenced on a new edifice, the 
cornerstone being laid on July 28 of that year. Dedication services were held 
May 27, 1871. 

The Bethlehem Methodist Episcopal Cliurch of Tliornbnry was not in- 
corporated until November 26, i860, but the class from which it grew was or- 
ganized in 1845, and March 26 of the following year Albin Pyle conveyed a 
lot at Thornton to the trustees to be used for the erection of a church building, 



DELAWARE COUNTY 415 

as well as for a burial ground. Soon after a meeting house was built, remain- 
ing under the charge of the Chester circuit for many years, and being depend- 
ent upon that body for ministers to conduct services. In 1871 the building 
was repaired throughout and reopened on Sunday, November 19, 1871, with 
elaborate services at which Revs. Hughes, Wallace, Alcorn, and Watson spoke, 
$500 being raised to defray the cost of renovation. 

The Thornbury African Methodist Episcopal Church was organized from 
a class formed for worship, and used the old frame schoolhouse on the West- 
town road as a place of meeting. 

The Kedron Methodist Episcopal Church of Springfield township was or- 
ganized with about forty-five members in 1859, who, until the erection of their 
church, held meetings in the drawing-room of John S. Morton's mansion, later 
in a wind-mill back of the mansion, and for a time in a chapel built on the 
church lot. The lot was donated by Thomas T. Tasker, and the cornerstone of 
the building was laid September 6, i860. The dedication services were held 
[une 19, 1862, conducted by Bishop Levi Scott. 

In April, 1878, a class of Methodists purchased a lot in Ridley township, 
and obtaining a charter August i, 1878, erected a brick structure named the 
Prospect Methodist Episcopal Church, which was dedicated June i, 1879, by 
Bishop Matthew Simpson. Rev. J. H. Pike was the first pastor. 

Catholic Churches. — Although in the localities where they have placed 
their missions and churches the Roman Catholic church has been a potent fac- 
tor in the development of the religious life of that community, in Delaware 
county the churches of that denomination are not numerous. The first Cath- 
olic church in this county was St. Denis", founded in 1825. Dennis Kelly, a 
v.oolen and cotton manufacturer, donated the ground and the burial lot, also 
subscribing largely to the building fund. The direct cause of its erection was 
for the accommodation of those of Catholic faith employed in Kelly's mills on 
Cobb's creek. 

For many years the Catholic residents of Aston township attended wor- 
ship at St. Mary's Church, the noted mansion of the Willcox family at Ivy 
Mills, Concord township, but eventually the congregation became so large that 
a place of worship for those living in Rockdale, was necessary. A tract of land 
was purchased from Nicholas F. Walter, the deed being dated August 26, 1852, 
and made to Right Rev. J. N. Newman, bishop of the diocese of Philadelphia, 
the ground to be held in trust for the congregation of Ivy Mills. On Sunday, 
August 29, 1852, the Rev. Sourin, of Philadelphia, conducted services at the 
laying of the cornerstone of the church of St. Thomas, the Apostle, an edifice 
which was completed in 1856, on October 20 of which year Rev. Charles Jo- 
seph Maugin was appointed the first pastor. In 1858 a frame parsonage was 
erected, which on Tuesday night, February 4, 1873, was entirely destroyed by 
fire, the church building, which stood in close proximity, being saved from a 
like fate only by the most strenuous exertions on the part of the fire-fighters. 

The history of the church of St. Michael the Archangel dates back to 
1842, when a number of Catholics in the city and vicinity determined to erect 



4i6 DELAWARE COUNTY 

a place of worship, the nearest sanctuary of that denomination being ten miles 
distant. Upon apphcation to Right Rev. Francis Patrick Ken.lrick, Bishop of 
Philadelphia, Rev. Philip Sheridan was assigned to the parish. On July 12, 
1842, a site was jjurchased on the Edgenmnt road, and September 29 the same 
year the cornerstone was laid by Bishop Kcndrick. On June 25, 1843, Right 
Rev. Dr. Moriarty preached the sermon, dedicating the church under the pa- 
tronage of St. Michael the Archangel. Until 1850 no regular pastor was as- 
signed, although occasional visits were made by Fathers Sheridan, Lane, Sour- 
in, Walsh, .\mat, and Dr. O'Uara, but that year Rev. Arthur P. Haviland. 
who had been ordained the month previous, was appointed to the charge. His 
ardent and earnest labors soon increased the number of communicants to such 
an extent that the building became insufficient for the needs of the worship- 
pers, so fhe congregation was divided, and the Church of the Immaculate 
Heart established in the South Ward. Notwithstanding this temporary relief 
from the overcrowded condition, the necessity for a new church was plainly 
evident, and on November i, 1874, Right Rev. Bishop Wood laid the corner 
.vtone of the new sanctuary, a building of Leiperville granite, trimmed with 
polished granite and columns from Maine. The church is handsomely deco- 
rz^ted within, wonderful frescoes adorning the walls, and matchless work in 
carved marble, filling one with amazed admiration. On October 3, 1880, Arch- 
bishop Wood performed the solemn and impressive ceremony of blessing the 
cross surmounting the center tower of the church, in the presence of two 
thousand people. 

The Church of the Immaculate Heart was, as before stated, an outgrowtli 
of the Church of St. Michael the Archangel. The parish was organized in 
1873, with Rev. John B. Kelly as pastor. A frame chapel was first erected as 
a meeting place, and September 23, 1874, Right Rev. Bishop Wood officiated 
at the laying of the corner-stone of the new church, which was dedicated on 
Rosary Sunday, October i, 1876, by Most Rev. James F. Wood, D. D., Arch- 
bishop of Philadelphia, assisted by Rev. A. J. McConomy, chancellor of the 
arch-diocese, with Revs. E. F. Pendercese, Francis P. O'Neill, A. J. Gallagher, 
T. J. Barry, James Timmins, and Thomas J. McGlynn, assisting. 

Several years previous to 1849, ^ Catholic mission was established at 
Kellyville, l^pper Darby township, which later became the Church of St. 
Charles Borromeo. The ground for the church structure was donated by 
Charles Kelly, the building being erected and dedication services held .Sunday, 
October 13, 1850, Very Rev. F. X. Gartland, V. G., conducting the ceremony, 
and Rev. Dr. Moriarty preaching the dedicatory sermon. 

Undenominational Churches. — Other churches have sprung up in the 
county, which, either because of their irregular origin or because of their scar- 
city, could not be treated under separate denominational heads. The story of 
these churches follows : 

In the early part of the nineteenth century a few residents of Ridley town- 
ship organized a Free Christian Church, and erected on a lot conveyed, Decem- 
ber 29, i8i8, by Isaac Culin, to John L. Morton, John Price, .'\braham Wood, 



DELAWARE COUNTY 417 

Jonathan Bond, and Samuel Tibbetts, trustees, a stone house of worship, Rev. 
Frederick Phimmer, of Philadelphia, becoming its pastor. At his death the 
organization weakened and finally dissolved, the last meeting being held 
about 1865. 

In 1832, George Bolton Lownes, of Springfield, who seems to have had the 
true essence of religion in his heart, set apart a tract of land on his farm for 
church and burial purposes. He erected a church building, dedicated to no 
denomination, but free to the use of any which cared to hold services therein. 
Services were held by Baptist, Methodist and Presbyterian ministers, and at 
times members of the Society of Friends have made it their meeting house. 

The Wayside Church, erected by a society of Protestants of different 
faiths, organized in 1871, was intended for much the same purpose that the 
Free Church was erected, with this difference, that the Free Church was for 
the use of all faiths, while the latter confined its invitation to all of Protestant 
faiths. The lot upon which the church was built was donated by William H. 
Erwin, the building being dedicated May 3, 1874, by Rev. Dr. Speer, an Epis- 
copal divine of Philadelphia, assisted by Rev. George W. Gaul, of the Metho- 
dist church. Rev. Abel C. 'I'liomas, of the Universalist church. Rev. Lynn, of 
the Presbyterian church, Rev. Worrell, of the Baptist church, and Darlington 
Hoopes, a Friend. 

James Lindsay about 1818 erected on the Logtown road, in Aston tnwii 
ship, a church building which was always known as the Blue Church, and which 
on ;\larch i, 1822, he conveyed to William Glenn, James McMullen, and Sam- 
uel Hunter, trustees of the First Branch of the United Presbyterian Congrega- 
tion _of Aston, Providence and Springfield, "for and in consideration of the 
love of God and ^.roinotion of Religion, and also in consideration of the sum of 
one dollar." 

Rev. John Smith was the first and only pastor of the Mount Gilead 
Church, as he named it. The church later fell into disuse. 

In August, 1878, the organization of St. Paul's German Lutheran Church 
was effected under the charge of Rev. J. T. Boyer, and in May, 1879, a meet- 
ing house, formerly the property of the Methodists, was purchased from George 
H. Crozer. The church was consecrated Sunday, May 18, 1879, by Rev. Dr. 
C. Shaeffer, president of the Lutheran Ministerium of Pennsylvania, A. T. 
Geissenheimer, of Philadelphia, and J. Lewberger, of New Jersey. The build- 
ing was remodeled throughout, and July 10, 1879, was dedicated by the pastor. 
The services are held in the German language. 

Prior to 1830, James Robinson, who had been a lay preacher of the 
Swedenborgian Church in England before emigrating to America, began the 
teaching of that faith in Upper Darby, holding services in the picker room of 
the factory now owned by the Thomas Kent Manufacturing Company, and in 
the academy building at Haddington. At the laying of the corner stone for a 
church of the denomination Mr. Robinson explained the principles of the New 
Jerusalem faith. The Rev. Carll, of Philadelphia, also spoke, stating that 
"they had laid the corner-stone of that church in the name of Jehovah, one 
28 



4i8 



DELAWARE COLXTY 



God, and tliat Jesus Christ was that God." expressing the hope "that the 
church erected thereon might never be appropriated to the worship of a Trin- 
ity, or more tlian one God, as distinct and separate beings." The church was 
built on land owned by Frederick and Edward Levis, and it was not until July 
31, 1833, that the ground was conveyed to Morris W. Heston and George G. 
Trites, church trustees. Incorporation papers were obtained September 2, 
1861, under the name of the New Jerusalem Society of Edenfield. Delaware 
county. 

DENOMINATIONAL ST.VTISTICS. 

Methodist Episcopal. — Delaware County Methodist Episcopal churches, 
with the twenty-three churches in Philadelphia, and a few others in Chester 
county, form the South District of the Philadelphia Conference of the JNletho- 
dist Episcopal Church, Bishop Joseph ¥. Berry, president. From the min- 
utes of the Annual Conference held in 1913, the following statistics are taken: 



Chester 



Churches. 
Madison street 
Providence Avenue 
South Chester 
Trinity ] 

Clifton 
Cruziervillc 
Darby 

East Lansdowne 
Eddystonc 

Elam and Bethlehem 
Glen Mills and Stony Bank 
Gradyville 
Lansdowne 
Lima 

Llanerch and Bethesda 
Marcus Hook 
Media (First Church) 
Morton 
Mt. Hope 
Norwood 
Ridley Park 
Sharon Hill 
Siloam 
Swarthmore 
Trainer 

Union and South Media 
Upland 

Baptist. — Delaware County Baptist Ciuu\-lK-' form a part of the Delaware 
Lninn .Association of the Pennsylvania Baptist General Convention. From 
the minutes of that convention the following statistics are taken: 

Churches are located as follows: 





Value of 


Pastor of 


church property. 


William H. Shafer 


$52,000 


F. J. Andrews 


11.000 


Geo. W. Sheetz 


35.000 


Samuel McWilliams 


25.000 


J. W. Perkinpine 


28,000 


G. E. Archer 


10,000 


J. W. Bennett 


20,000 


W. S. Houstnan 


9,000 


H. F. Hamer 


•30,000 


C. J. Benjamin 


$3,000 and 8,000 


Geo. R. Tompkins 


6,500 


R. J. Knox 


3,000 


N. B. Masters 


21,000 


A. B. Peterson 


6,300 


J. H. Royer 


21,000 


J. R. McDade 


10,000 


H. S. Noon 


13,000 


F. W. Z. Barnett 


12.000 


J. G. Smith 


16.000 


R. H. Kiser 


12,000 


Bertram Shay 


16,000 


S. W. Purvis 


15.000 


J. S. Tomlinson 


5,000 


W. L. McKinney 


12,000 


T. W. Bare 


10,000 


John Stringer 


6,000 


A. A. Thompson 


5.000 



DELAWARE COUNTY 419 

Brandywine Church, Chadds Ford, organized 1715 ; pastor, J. L. Foreman ; member- 
ship, 172; vakie of church property, $16,000; seating capacity, 600. 

Chester: — six churches. First church, organized 1863; pastor, Frank MacDonald; 
membership, 540; value of church property, $53,900; seating capacity, 900. Calvary, 
organized 1903; A. R. Robinson, pastor; membership, 660; value church property, 
$10,400. Emmanuel, organized 1899; H. J. Lane, pastor; membership, 258; value of 
church property, $25,000; seating capacity, 450. North Chester, organized 1873; pastor, 
M. M. Lewis; membership, 86; value church property, $12,500; seating capacity, 450. 
South Chester, organized 1873; pastor, R. A. Rook; value of church property, $11,500; 
seating capacity, 1400; membership, 268. Union, organized 1902; pastor, J. W. Brown; 
membership, 50. 

Crum Lynne, organized 1879; pastor. C. J. Dauphin; membership. 46: value church 
property, $24,500; seating capacity, 300. 

Marcus Hook, organized 1878; pastor, W. H. Van Toor ; membership, 137; value 
church property, $13,000; seating capacity, 350. 

Media, First Church, organized 1832; pastor, W. S. Staub ; membership. 313: value 
church property, $40,000; seating capacity, 450. 

Moores, Prospect Hill, organized 1889; pastor, W. R. McNutt ; membership, 206; 
value church property, $28,500; seating capacity, 500. 

Ridley Park, organized 1830; membership. 78; value of church property. $20,000; 
seating capacity, 400. 

Village Green, organized 1880; pastor, Alfred Lawrence; membership, 46; value of 
church property, $9,000; seating capacity. 250. 

Churches of Delaware county belonging to the Philadelphia Association : 

Media, Second Baptist, organized 1894; membership, 163; value of church property, 
$6,000; seating capacity, 250. 

Moores, Second Church, organized 1908; pastor, G. E. Chambers; membership, 30. 

Newtown Square, organized 1832; pastor, G. H. Dooley; membership, 183; church 
property value, $14,000 ; seating capacity, 500 

Lansdowne, organized 1898; pastor, C. M. Phillips; membership, 136; value of 
church property, $14,000; capacity, 300. 

Garrettford, organized 1908; pastor, L. C. Drake; membership. 61: value of cliurch 
property, $12,000; seating capacity, 250. 

Collingdale. organized 1888; pastor, F. P. Langhorne; membership, 128; church 
property value, $15,000; seating capacity, 250. 

Upland, organized 1852; pastor, R. D. Stelle ; membership, 625. 

Churches of Delaware county, belonging to the Central Union Association : 

Wayne, First Church, organized 1841 ; pastor, W. O. Beazley; membership, 75. 

Second Church, organized 1897 ; pastor, George Washington ; membership, 105. 

Central Church, organized 1897; pastor, P. E. Wilmot; membership, 126. 

The church at Yeadon was organized in 1912 with twenty-one members, the church 
having a seating capacity of 150. 

Presbyterian Churches. — The Presbyterian churches of Delaware county 
are part of the Chester Presbytery of the Pennsylvania Synod. The churches 
follow : 

Bethany church, of Chester, organized 1S90, Egidius Kellmayer. pastor; Chambers 
Memorial of Rutledge. organized 1889. George L. Van Alen. pastor: First Church of 
Chester, organized 1852, P. H. Mowry, D. D., pastor, membership 258: Sgcond Church 
of Chester, organized 1866, Harvey W. Koehler, pastor, membership 316; Third Church 
of Chester, organized 1872, Abraham L. Latham, Ph. D., pastor, membership 902; Fifth 
Church of Chester, organized 1899. Thomas M. Thomas, pastor: First Italian Church 



420 DELAWAI-;!-: COIXTY 

of Chester, organized 1911; Memorial Cluircli of Chichester, organized 1886, Josiah L. 
Estliii, D. D., pastor, membership 65 ; First Church of Clifton Heights, organized 1887, 
William R. Huston, pastor, membership 123; Church of Darby Borough, organized 
1855, James R. Kerr, pastor, membership 521 ; Church of Dilworthtown, organized 1878, 
Martin L. Ross, D. D., pastor, membership 70; First Church of Glenolden, organized 
1840, David Winters, LL.D., pastor, membership 204; Glen Riddle, organized 1880, 
vacant ; First Church of Lansdowne, organized 1887, William Boyd, pastor, membership 
536; Leiper Memorial, G. A. Marr, stated supply; Llanerch, organized 1909, Charles S. 
Richardson, D. D., pastor; Marple, organized 1834, Ralph A. Garrison, pastor, member- 
ship 132; Media, organized 1866, S. Harper Leeper, pastor, membership 256; Middletown, 
organized 1720. William Tenton Kruse, pastor; Radnor, of Wayne, organized 1906, 
Frank C. Putnam, pastor, membership 176; Ridley Park, organized 1875, Samuel T. 
Linton, pastor, membership 335 ; Sharon Hill, organized 1908, Alexander Mackie, pastor ; 
Swarthmore, .organized 1895, William M. Woodfin, pastor; Wallingford, organized 1891, 
Edwin E. Riley, pastor, membership 107; Wayne, organized 1870, W. A. Patton, D. D., 
pastor. 

Protestant Episcopal Church. — Tlie Protestant Episcopal Church of Dela- 
ware county is a part of the Diocese of Pennsylvania, the officials of which 
follow : Bishop of the Diocese, Right Rev. Philip Mercer Rhinelander, D. D., 
LL.D., D. C. L. ; Bishop Suffragan of the Diocese, Right Rev. Thomas James 
Garland, D. D., D. C. L. ; secretary to the Bishop and of the Diocesan Com- 
mittees, Rev. W. Arthur Warner; Treasurer of the Diocese, Mr. Ewing L. 
Miller. The churches of the county, as listed in the report of the Diocese of 
Pennsylvania, for 1912, are as follows: 

St. Luke's, of Chadds Ford ; St. Luke's of Chester, admitted to the diocese 1874, 
rector. Rev. Henry J. Beagen, membership 115, aggregate value of church property, 
$19,000; St. Paul's of Chester, admitted to diocese 1786, Rev. Francis M. Taitt, rector, 
membership 684 ; St. Stephen's of Clifton, admitted to diocese 1879, no rector, value 
parish property $25,000, membership 120, (at direction of Bishop of the Diocese, Rev. 
H. M. G. HufT assumed duties of minister in charge until appointment of minister in 
charge) ; Trinity Mission of Collingdale, Rev. Charles A. Ricksecker, missionary, (this 
mission, February 15, 1912, established Darby Mission) ; St. John's of Concord, admitted 
to diocese 1786, Rev. Thomas L. Josephs, rector, membership 35, value of parish property 
$8,000; Darby Mission, Rev. Charles A. Ricksecker, missionary, membership 100, value 
parish property, $8,500; St. David's of Devon, admitted to diocese 1786, Rev. James Hart 
Lamb, rector, membership 169, value parish property $16,500, endowment fund, $10,000; 
St. John the Evangelist Mission of Essington, Rev. Gilbert Pember, B. D., rector, mem- 
bership 38; St. John the Evangelist of Lansdowne, admitted to diocese 1897, Rev. Cross- 
well McBee, rector, membership 529, value parish property, $45,000; St. Martin's of 
Marcus Hook, admitted to diocese 1786, Rev. R. M. Doherty, rector, membership, 85; 
Christ's of Media, admitted to diocese 1858, Rev. Harry Ransome, rector, membership 
381, value parish property, $25,000; Church of the Atonement of Morton, admitted to 
diocese 1886, no rector, membership 95, value parish property, $12,000; St. Stephen's of 
Norwood, admitted to diocese 1908, Rev. H. Bakewell Green, rector, membership 114, 
value parish property, $8,800; St. James Mission of Prospect Park, Rev. William Howard 
Davis, missionary, membership 43, value parish property $8,000; St. Martin's of Radnor, 
admitted to diocese 1887, Rev. George Warrington Lamb, M. D., rector, membership 
129. value parish property, $40,000; Christ's of Ridley Park, admitted to diocese 1881, 
Rev. Gilbert Pember, B. D., rector, membership 200, value parish property $26,000; 
Calvary of Rockdale, admitted to diocese 1835, Rev. J. Frederic Weinmann, rector,. 



DELAWARE COUNTY 421 

membership 153; Trinity of Swarthmore, Rev. Walter A. Matos, priest-in-charge, mem- 
bership "JT, value parish property, $9,000; St. Mary's Memorial of Wayne, admitted to 
diocese 1889, Rev. C. M. Armstrong, rector, membership 350, value parish property, 
$105,000. 

Society of Friends. — The Meetings of the Orthodox Bianch of the So- 
ciety of Friends in Delaware county, are as follows : 

Chester, held ist and 4th days, 10 o'clock; Middletown, ist and sth days, 10 
o'clock; Media, ist and 4th days, 10 o'clock, 4th day meetings are omitted in weeks of 
quarterly and monthly meetings; Landsdowne, ist and sth days, 10.30 o'clock; Con- 
cordville, ist day at 10 o'clock, and 4th day at same hour, except monthly meeting, which 
is on 3d day, at 9.30. 

Friends Meetings (Hicksite) : 

Darby, founded 1684, meeting house at Darby; Lansdowne, at Lansdowne; Chester 
Monthly Meeting, founded 1681, preparative meetings at Providence, Middletown and 
Chester; Concord Monthly Meeting, founded 1684, preparative meetings at Concord and 
Chichester ; Swarthmore, founded 1893, meeting house at Swarthmore ; Birmingham, 
founded 1815, set off from Concord, preparative Meeting at Birmingham; Newton, at 
Newtown Square. 

Catholic Churches. — The Roman Catholic church in Delaware county is 
embodied in the Archdiocese of Philadelphia, with Most Rev. Edmond F. Pren- 
dergast, D. D., as Archbishop. The Archdiocese of Philadelphia contains a Cath- 
olic population of approximately 6o5,cx30, and to it are assigned one Archbishop, 
two Bishops and 654 priests. In it are contained 271 churches, 3 colleges, and 
149 parochial schools, the latter having an attendance of 65,912. The various 
Catholic churches in Delaware county, are enumerated below : 

Chester, six churches: — St. Michael's, Rev. Joseph F. Timmins, rector; Rev. Joseph 
V. Sweeney, assistant rector; school-sisters of the Holy Child. Immaculate Heart of 
Mary, Rev. Peter J. Ryan, rector; Revs. John J. McMahon and Francis P. McGinn, 
assistant rectors; school-sisters of Immaculate Heart of Mary. St. Hedwigs (Polish), 
Rev. Leon Wierzynski, rector, pro tern.; school-sisters of the Holy Family of Nazareth. 
Holy Ghost (Rutherian), Rev. Lucas Bilansky, rector. Chapel of St. Anthony of 
Padua (Italian), Rev. Antonio Garritano. Church of the Resurrection, Rev. August L. 
Canister, rector. 

Qifton : — Sacred Heart (Polish), Rev. A. Kulawy, rector pro tern,; mission, Our 
Lady of Czestechowa B. V. M. Eddystone — St. Rose of Lima ; Rev. Thomas F, Ryan, 
rector; Rev. Patrick D. Houston, assistant. Ivy Mills — St. Thomas the Apostle, Rev. 
Daniel A. Dever, D. D., rector; Rev. James J. Devine, assistant. Mission, Kaolin, first 
Sunday each month, station, Glen Mills, House of Refuge every Sunday. Kellyville — 
St. Charles Borromeo, Rev. Michael G. Scully, rector; Rev. John J. CunnifF, assistant; 
school-sisters of Immaculate Heart of Mary. Lansdowne — St. Philomena's, Rev. F. J. 
Markee, rector; Rev. John J. Toohey; school-sisters of Immaculate Heart of Mary. 
Lenni — St. Francis de Sales, Rev. William C. Farrell, rector; Rev. Joseph J. Conway, 
assistant; school-sisters of St. Francis; station, Delaware County House of Refuge for 
Girls. Media— -Nativity of Blessed Virgin Mary ; Rev. Francis A. Brady, rector ; school- 
sisters of St. Francis. Morton — Our Lady of Perpetual Help, Rev. James J. Wilson, 
Tector. Norwood — St. Gabriel's, attended from Ridley Park. Ridley Park — St. Made- 



422 DELAW ARE COUNTY 

lines, Rev. William J. McCallen, Ph. D., rector. Sharon Hill— Holy Spirit, Rev. Joseph 
Paul Monvillc, rector; Rev. Francis E. Higgins, assistant; school-sisters of the Holy 
Child; Chapel, Convent of Sisters of Holy Child. Villanova— St. Thomas of Villanova, 
Rev. H. A. Gallagher, O. S. A., rector; Rev. A. J. Viger, O. S. A., and Augustinian 
Father assistant; school-sisters of Mercy; chapel, Augustinian Monastery, Reverend 
Augustinian Fathers; St. Rita's in St. Rita's Hall. Wayne— St. Katherine of Sienna, 
Very Rev. Joseph F. O'Keefe, V. F., rector. 

There are churches of other denominations than those mentioned in the 
foregoing chronicle, whose work for the advancement of the cause of Chris- 
tianity and the uplift of the community in which they have been placed, has 
been just as productive of good as have the etforts of the churches of the 
more numerous denominations, to whom more space has been granted. 




'M> 




X 

o 

X 

I 
o 

to 

z. 

u 

X 

a. 
u 

H 



S 
D 
-I 
>- 

< 

z 
< 

I 
a. 
a: 
o 

Q 

cc 

D 

m 
u 

X 
H- 



f2 
6 



— p 



'"sue iZfy; 



--^r.',;-:. 



EDUCATION* 

With the first settlement of the territory now known as Delaware county, 
began the fight for educational advantages, now so marked a feature of the 
progress and enlightenment of the county. From 1684, when the first employ- 
ment of a teacher is noted, the advance along educational lines has been rapid, 
until now no locality is without its public school, no borough without its high 
school : many private schools flourish, while three great institutions of national 
fame are located within the borders of Delaware county — Swarthmore College, 
Haverford College, and Pennsylvania Military Institute, all of which will have 
further and extended mention. 

The first public utterance on the question of education for the people at 
large, is found in the general laws enacted by the second General Assembly, 
held at Philadelphia, March 10, 1683, over which William Penn presided. 
Chapter CXII, general laws provided: 

".And to the End that Poor as well as Rich may be instructed in good and commend- 
able learning, Which is to be preferred before Wealth be it, etc. That all persons in this 
Province and Territories thereof, having Children and all the Guardians or Trustees of 
Orphans, shall cause such to be instructed in Reading and writing; so that they may be 
able to read the Scriptures and to write by that time they attain to twelve years of age. 
.And that they may be taught some useful trade or skill that the poor may work to live 
and the rich if they become poor may not want. Of which every county court shall take 
care: And if such parents, guardians or overseer, shall be found deficient in this respect 
every such parent, guardian or overseer shall pay for every such Child, five pounds. 
Except there should appear an incapacity in body or understanding to hinder it." 

This law was in force for ten years ; it was repealed when William and 
Mary took the government of the Province out of the hands of Penn and com- 
missioned Benjamin Fletcher, the Governor of New York to be Captain Gen- 
eral of Pennsylvania and the territories annexed. However, in the laws made 
that year the one numbered 25, entitled "The law about education of youth," 
the same law was reenacted with some changes — that part applying to guar- 
dians and trustees of orphan children, their obligation to have such minors 
taught to read and write depending upon their wards having, "sufficient estate 
and ability to do so." Neither of these acts, however, can be considered as 
meaning free public instruction, as no public funds were set apart to pay even 
the slight cost of education in the branches named, reading and writing. Free 
public education did not come for many years thereafter, and only then after 
a fierce fight. 

The first schools were established by the Society of Friends, Christopher 
Taylor, a classical scholar, and prominent in the public life of the first decade, 
had a school on the island of Tinicum about which little is known. It was the 
first school of high grade in Pennsylvania. It was ordered by the Alonthly 
Aleeting, held at Darby, September 7, 1693, "that Benjamin Clift is to teach 



*For much of the material of this chapter we are indebted to the excellent "History 
of Delaware County" of Henry Graham Ashmead. 



424 ■ DELAWARE COUNTY 

schoole," his term to begin "ye 12th of ye 7 mo." and to continue "One whole 
yeare except two weeks." The annual salary was £12, but board was probably 
included. These Friends schools have always been a feature of the educational 
system of Delaware county. Teachers that had the proper qualifications were 
few, therefore progress was slow, but each monthly meeting maintained a com- 
mittee on education which had oversight of those schools established. In 1788, 
Concord Meeting had three schools, and the rcjiort of the committee was that 
they believed there were no Friends' children "but what received a sufficiency of 
learning to fit them in a good degree for the business they are designed for." 
There were also schools at Darby, Radnor, Haverford, Middletown, Springfield 
and Upper Chichester and in connection with almost every Friends Meeting 
throughout the county. These schools, although established for the benefit of 
the Friends, were open to every denomination and being superior to any other 
schools of that day were well patronized. Many, indeed, were of so high a 
character that when the general system of free public education was finally es- 
tablished, there were many who doubted whether any benefit would result 
from the change. It must also be set down to the credit of the Friends that 
the proper education of the colored population claimed a share of their atten- 
tion. 

In 1777, while the British troops were scouring the territory, the I'riend- 
Yearly Meeting recommended that each local meeting should buy ground suf- 
ficient for a school house and a house, garden and cow pasture for the teacher. 
The idea was to secure a permanent teacher for each neighborhood of Friends. 
This plan practically covered Delaware County. 

The education of the youth of Delaware county, outside these Friends 
schools, during the early years, was largely through a system of subscription 
schools established in the several townships. The subscriptions were voluntary, 
but when once made could be collected by law. This practice had become quite 
general by 1750 and many townshiijs had school houses l)iiilt and scliooU iinin- 
tained through this system of voluntary contribution. The school houses were 
usually built of logs, with desks and seats of pine slabs. The teachers, some 
of whom were men of learning, were as a rule hardfisted failures in life, 
who ruled as despots in their little kingdoms. They were often itinerant, 
mostly poorly paid, and had difficulty in collecting their dues. A few were 
perfect Godsends to their children. But the quality of the teachers improved 
as the population increased, better text books came into use and better facilities 
were aflforded the boys and girls. Yet, from these rude schools, boys and girls 
were turned out who went forward and rose to heights of prominence in both 
state and church. 

The Delaware county superintendent in describing these schools in 1877, 
says : "There was no system of public instruction but the education of children 
was almost wholly a matter of private concern. The family school was suc- 
ceeded by the neighborhood school. . . . Township lines were disre- 
garded. Certain persons were made trustees, who had charge of the property 
and mostly appointed the teachers. The teachers were paid by their patrons 



DELAWARE COUNTY 425 

at the rate of two or three dollars a quarter for each child and sometimes some- 
thing ndditional for wood and ink.'' 

The pay of the early teacher averaged about $25 monthly, the terms 
varying in length from three to seven months. The old subscription and Quaker 
paved the way to the public schools and only gave way before that great ad- 
vance in educational methods. They did a great work in the training 
of the children of the early settlers, and, it must be remembered, trnim- I and 
launched upon the seas of every vocation, craft and profession, many men and 
women who became famous, many who became noted, and many, many thou- 
sands who filled the humbler walks of life faithfully and well. They furnished 
the only opportunity for general education during the long period between 
1700 and the public schools of 1834, and were, next to the churches, the great- 
est force for good in the new world. 

All through these years of "subscription" schools, however, there had 
been the great idea of a "free school for every child," and in the constitution of 
1776 there was a clause which provided that "A school or schools shall be es- 
tablished in each county by the legislature for the convenient instruction of 
youth, with such salaries to the teachers paid by the public as may enable them 
to instruct youth at low prices." This did not, however, bring the free school 
into existence, and in the constitution of 1790 another eflfort was made by the 
friends of education to reach the goal of free education. The seventh clause 
of the new constitution provided that "The legislature shall, as soon as con- 
veniently may be, provide by law for the establishment of schools throughout 
the state, in such manner that the poor may be taught gratis." But friends 
were arising who made valiant effort. In 1794, Dr. William Martin, of Ches- 
ter, advocated in a lengthy article in the "Aurora" (published in Philadelphia), 
the necessity of establishing ptiblic seminaries of learning, and on April 4, 1809, 
the legislature passed a law that the children of parents too poor to provide for 
their child's education, should be properly instructed at the public cost, and 
directed the manner in which this expense should be defrayed. _ 

All effort along the line of public education had been in behalf of the poor 
child, and was not regarded at all as a duty the state owed its citizens. How- 
ever, by the passage of the act of April 3, 1831, a real start was made and 
means provided for the cost of maintaining public schools. This act provided 
that all money due the State by holders of patented land, and all fees received 
by the land office, should be invested until the interest annually would amount 
to $100,000, after which time the interest was to apply to the support of the 
public schools throughout the commonwealth. When the act of April i, 1834, 
providing for a system of general (uiblic education was passed, about $500,000 
had been received from the sources named, and the many n])iu)ncnts of the act 
contended that the legislature had violated the law of 1831 in providing for the 
support of the public school by direct taxation, instead of waiting until the 
fund set apart by that law had reached the sum of $2,000,000, when the interest 
thereon would have been available for the support of the schools. The act of 
1834 was violently opposed not by the illiterate, but by great numbers of the 



426 DELAWARE COUNTY 

ablest and best men of the State, who should have been loudest in its favor. Dr. 
George Smith and Samuel Anderson, senator and representative from Dela- 
ware county, were both warm friends of the law establishing public schools. 
Dr. Smith being particularly active in its support. When the act was sub- 
mitted to the various townships of Delaware county, the canvass showed four- 
teen townships in its favor and seven opposed to the adoption of the law. The 
opponents of public schools in Delaware county held a meeting October 30, 
1834, at the public house of Isaac Hall, in Nether Providence, that was pre- 
sided over by so influential a man as Benjamin Pearson, Jonas P. Yarnall act- 
ing as secretary. This meeting adopted unanimously the following resolution : 
"Resolved, That we disapprove of the law passed at the last session of the leg- 
islature as a system of general education, believing that it is unjust and im- 
politic. That it was never intended by our constitution that the education of 
those children, whose parents were able to educate them, should be educated 
at the public expense." 

The meeting also appointed Dr. Joseph Wilson, Joseph Gibson, James S. 
Peters, George Lewis and Benjamin Pearson, a committee to draft a memorial 
to the General .Assembly, which, while it did not disapprove of the constitution 
of 1790 providing for the education of the poor, gratis, declared the law of 
1834 was oppressive, because it: "imposed a disproportionate and unreasona- 
ble burden on the middle class of the community, who can partake but little of 
its benefits." The memorial also objected that the authority of the school di- 
rectors, under the provisions of the new law. was unlimited, having power to 
tax the citizens to any extent, and "being responsible to nobody" ; that the as- 
sessments for state and county purposes were sufficiently oppressive "without 
any addition to carry into operation an experiment of doubtful efficacy," and 
for these reasons they petitioned for the repeal of the law. Captain James Ser- 
rill and Joseph Bunting were appointed a committee to have the memorial 
printed, and a committee of sixty-four persons was appointed to circulate 
printed copies for signatures and return ihcm to the chairman by November 
1st following. 

In the meantime, friends of the act creating a public school system were 
equally active. On November 4, 1834, the school delegates from all the town- 
ships except Aston and Concord met with the county commissioners in the 
court house at Chester, in accordance with the provisions of the act. George 
C. Leiper was chairman, and Homer Eachus secretary. The proceedings were 
stormy, but by a vote of thirteen to nine it was ordered that $2500 should be 
appropriated for school purposes, and a meeting of the citizens at the usual 
place of election in each township was called to be held November 20th follow- 
ing, to ratify or reject the action of the delegates and commissioners. A meet- 
ing of those favoring the appropriation was held at Hall's Tavern, in Nether 
Providence, November 13, William Martin acting as president, J. Walker Jr. 
and I. E. Bonsall vice-presidents; J. S. White and A. D. William.son, secre- 
taries. The following resolution was adopted • 



DELAWARL; LOfXTY 427 

"That the tax levied by the commissioners and delegates ought to be extended to 
bonds, mortgages, stocks, etc., in the same proportion as on real estate, and that in order 
to raise an additional tax for the support of common schools, that the directors in the 
several districts shall meet as directed in the seventh section and determine whether 
there shall be an additional tax, and, if they decide in the affirmative, then the clerk of 
the board shall notify the directors, who shall determine the amount and be authorized 
to levy and collect such tax on bonds, mortgages and profitable occupations, as well as 
real estate, and the proper officers of the townships constitute a court of appeals in case 
any person may think himself aggrieved in the amount of tax so levied by said directors." 

The same meeting adopted second and third resolutions. The second en- 
dorsed the course of Governor Wolf in the matter of public education, as also 
that of the members of the assembly who had voted for the measure ; the third 
resolution appointed a committee to prepare a memorial to be presented to the 
legislature. This memorial declared that the signers were "deeply impressed 
with the importance of a proper system of education by common schools 
throughout the State. They have examined the last act passed at the last session 
of the legislature for that purpose, and are of the opinion that the objects con- 
templated by the law would be greatly promoted by an alteration in the mode 
of raising the money necessary to support public .schools. So far as the law 
bears equally on all they cheerfully acquiesce in it, but some of its provisions 
they deem burdensome and unequal m their operations on a portion of their 
fellow citizens. The landed interest, as the law now exists, pays nearly the 
whole expense of the system, while many that are proper objects of taxation, 
contribute but a very small proportion." The memorial, after suggesting the 
taxation of bonds, mortgages and money at interest and the method of collect- 
ing from the townships concludes : "Your m.emorialists remonstrate against a 
repeal of the law. and are only desirous that the matter may have your deliber 
ate consideration : sensible that such amendments will be adopted as you may 
deem most beneficial and just, tending to equalize the operations of the law, 
the effects of which will strengthen the system, disseminate knowledge among 
the people, the only sure means of perpetuating the principles of national lib- 
erty." 

This memorial, with twelve other petitions against repeal, signed by 873 
names, was presented to the legislature from Delaware county, a number three 
times greater than from any other county. Thirty-three petitions for repeal 
signed by 1024 names was also presented. The law was never repealed, but 
formed the basis of all following legislation under which the public school 
system of the State has been built up. 

It was not wholly a mercenary motive which induced the opposition to the 
law. The religious denominations had grown up with the idea that education 
was a part of religion and could not be properly severed from it. With this 
idea they had at considerable sacrifice formed a school system which they 
feared, and as shown, justly feared, could not be continued in competition with 
a state supported scheme. It is a matter rather of surprise that so many 
Friends were willing to join with their neighbors, on the ground of the com- 
mon good in supporting the new system of free schools. Dr. George Smith 



428 DELAWARE COUNTY 

cne of their miinber was head of the committee on education in the Senate and 
much of the labor of passing the bill in the early critical days devolved on him. 

The eleven townships of Delaware county that accepted the law on No- 
vember 24, 1834, were: Chester, Haverford, Lower Chichester, Marple, Neth- 
er Providence, Radnor, Ridley, Upper Darby and Upper Chichester, but soon 
afterward it was accepted by all and placed in operation. The report of James 
Findlay, secretary of the commonwealth, dated March 2, 1835, states that in 
Delaware county all the school districts had accepted the law, that the State ap- 
propriation was $1070.93. and that $2200 had been voted to be raised in the 
county by ta.x. From that time each township has operated under the State 
law which determines the powers of school boards in school districts, and plain- 
ly outlines the course to be followed. LTnder this law Delaware county has 
built up a strong system of public schools ; the buildings in which they are 
housed are creditable : the personnel of the teaching corps is as high as present 
•salaries will allow. The county is divided into forty-four school districts, each 
township being suprem? m its power over the districts within its bortlers. In 
19 1 2 the value of school property within the county outside the independent 
districts of Chester, Radnor and Darby, was $1,143,663.11; the average 
monthly salary paid men was $114, and women $53. High schools where stu- 
dents can prepare for college are maintained in eight districts, while in si.x 
schools a course of manual training is part of the curriculum. The countv has 
been fortunate in its selection of superintendents of public instruction, they 
having been uniformly men in full sympathy with the cause of public education, 
each striving to place the schools upon a higher plane of efficiency. 

A great number of parochial schools and those of higher grade have al- 
ways been maintained by the Roman Catholic Church for the education of their 
youth, and at present, schools, seminaries and academies adequate in scope, 
with a sufficient corps of experienced teachers, flourish within the borders of 
Delaware county. No other strictly denominational schools are now main- 
tained in the county, others being open to all religious bodies. 

TOWNSHIP SCHOOLS. 

Aston. — That schools existed in .\ston prior to 1777 is proven by the testi- 
mony of Thomas Dutton, a centenarian, who related that on the da)' the battle 
of Brandywine was fought, he, then a lad of nine years, heard the aged school 
master, James Rigby, say, on hearing booming of the cannon at Chadd's Ford, 
but a few miles away : "Go home, children ; I can't keep school to-day." There 
was, however, no school building, so far as known, until 1802, when on May 
II of that year Samuel Hewes, of Aston, conveyed to William Pennell and 
Thomas Dutton "for the use of a school, a house thereon to be built," a lot of 
land comprising an acre. The lot was to be held "in trust and for the use of a 
school, a house to be built thereon for the use. Ijcnefit and behoof of the sub- 
scribers towards building said house." The building thus erected was known 
as the Octagon building, at Village Green, and therein, about 1820, James Mc- 
Mullen was the teacher. In 1836, when the public school act had gone into ef- 



DELAWARE COUNTY 429. 

feet and the board of directors for Aston township was organized, the old 
school house passed into the possession of the township, and on September 30, 
1836, a school was opened there with Nicholas F. Walter as teacher of the 
lower room, at a salary of $25 monthly, and Mrs. Moore was appointed teach- 
er of the upper room. The Stony Bank school was next opened ; Martins 
school-house next, later known as the "Logtown" school, that name giving way 
in 1880 to its present name — Chester Heights school. Rockdale followed with 
temporary quarters until 1853, when the Aston public school was built at Rock- 
dale. The township now employs eight teachers, the schools being kept open 
nine months in the year. The salaries of teachers range from $40 to $50 
monthly, and the estimated value of school property in the township is $20,800. 
Bethel. — About the year 1800, Caesar Paschal, a colored servant of Mark 
Wilcox, sold a tract of ground to a committee, on which a log school house 
was erected which was used but a short time. Twenty years prior, in 1780, a 
subscription school house of stone was erected on the corner of Kirk road, 
where in later years Thomas Booth had his shops. This building was torn 
down in 1825, having ceased to be used for school purposes several years ear- 
lier. In 1824 a school was opened in a stone building erected on a lot pur- 
chased from John Larkin, on the Bethel road, east of Booth's Corner, that was 
later known as public school No. i, having prior to the act of 1834 been a sub- 
scription school. This building was torn down in 1868 to make way for a new 
school house costing $1600. In 1839 a one-story octagon house was erected at 
Booth's Corner that was used as a school until it was destroyed by fire several 
years later. It was at once replaced by a new building that was used until 
1870, when it was torn down and a building erected, known as public school 
No. 2. School No. 3 was erected in i860 on the Bethel road, a short distance 
west of Chelsea. The township now employs three teachers for a term of nine 
months, at salaries of $40 to $50 monthly. The value of school property is 

$7,700. 

Birmmgham.—Tht first school house in this township was built on a lot 
conveyed by John Burgess, April 30, 1806, "for the use of a school, but for no 
other purpose whatever,"' Burgess reserving the timber growing on the lot. A 
stone school house was built thereon, the cost being defrayed by the neighboring 
residents. The building was located in the southeastern part of the township, 
and was known for many years as Mount Racket. In 1825 Eli Harvey gave 
the use of an old hipped roof house, built before the Revolution, it is said, for 
school purposes. In addition to the free use of this house, Mr. Harvey also 
furnished firewood grates. About i82f) Joseph Russell lived at the Baptist 
ch.inch, and taught school in the shed adjoining his dwelling. About 1828-30. 
Milcena Gilpin taught a subscription school in the dwelling house near the (jld 
Butcher mill, the property then being owned by her father, Isaac G. Gilpin. 
Near Dilworthtown, on Thomas Williamson's property was a frame school 
house which Williamson sold for one dollar. This school was discontinued in 
1841. There was also an octagon shaped building, erected near the residence 
of Squire Robert Frame, that was known as the "Frame school house" ; anoth- 



430 DELAWARE COUNTY 

er near Robert Bullock's, called the ISuUock school house. All these buildings, 
after the public school law was accepted, became the pro|)ert)' of the township. 
The township at the present time is divided into three school districts, and em- 
ploys three teachers, receiving salaries from $40 to $50 monthly. The esti- 
mated value of school property in the district is S6550, and the schools are open 
for a term of nine months. 

Upper Chichester. — In 1793 the Society of Friends established a school in 
Upper Chichester which was maintained by the Society until the public school 
system was introduced. There was also, previous to 1825, a subscription 
school maintained in a brick house built for the purpose on the site of the pres- 
ent public school building No. i, within a short distance of the village known 
successively as Chichester Cross Road, McCaysville and Chichester. After 
the adoption of the public law this building became the property of the town- 
ship and was continued for school ]nu-poses until 1867, when it was torn down 
and replaced with a two-story building at a cost of $2500, for the lower story, 
the second story being paid for by subscriptions of citizens of the township, in 
order that they might have a room for Sunday school purposes and for public 
meetings. John Talbot was the first teacher under the new law, but, being un- 
able to maintain discipline, the school was closed until the directors could se- 
ctu-e a more efficient teacher, he appearing in the person of Joseph Henderson. 

The Button school house, on the road leading from Aston to Marcus 
Hook, was built many years prior to the adoption of the free school system, 
and was known as the Stone, or White school house. After the schools be- 
came free, this school passed under the control of the township, and an addi- 
tion was added in 1838. In May, 1837, Elizabeth llarvey began teaching there, 
but December 18 of the same year John Lloyd was teacher. In 1870 the school 
directors innxhased land adjoining the school lot, the ancient stone building 
was removed, and a modern school building erected. ISy 1842 these two schools 
became so overcrowded that an additional school was opened December 9, in a 
house of Salkeld Larkin on the Chichester and Concord road, Luke Pennell be- 
ing the first teacher. This school, known as No. 3, was kept at the Larkin 
house until 1859, when the Larkin school house was erected ; school continued 
in the building until 1874, then was discontinued, but again opened and contin- 
ued until fune, 187C), when the school was finally closed. The township now 
contains four school districts, and employs four teachers, for a term of nine 
months, at salaries varying from $45 to $65 monthly; value of school prop- 
erty, $5500. 

Lo'iVcr Chichester. — The first school of which there is record in Lower 
Qiichester was conducted under the auspices of the Society for the Propaga- 
tion of the Cospel in Foreign Parts, and was held in the frame house of wor- 
ship on St. Martin's lot, after the first brick church was erected in 1745, and 
continued for nearly sixty years. In 1801 a brick school house was erected on 
the church lot, the cost being borne by members of the parish. Here all public 
meetings of the township were held it would appear, but certainly so after 
1805. The old church house was torn down in i860 by William Trainer, who 



DELAWARE COUNTY 431 

gave $100 for the materials. About 1854 the Cedar Grove school house, near 
the Baptist graveyard, was erected, aud old St. Martin's school, after sixty 
years of usefulness, was discontinued. After the passage of the school law of 
1834, the directors erected a school house near Linwood Station, on land do- 
nated by John D. White, one of the directors. The building was so poorly con- 
structed that it was torn down, and in 1844 another school house was built at 
Rocky Hill. In 1880 a modern school building was erected on the Southern 
post road at Trainer's Station. In i860 and for some time thereafter, the 
Misses Emanuel conducted a private educational institution in Lower Chiches- 
ter, known as Linwood Seminary. The township now comprises seven school 
districts, employing seven teachers, for a term of nine months. The value of 
school property in the township is estimated at $15,000. 

Concord. — The first schools known in Concord were conducted by the So- 
ciety of Friends. In 1827 a two-story school house was erected, and in it there 
was a separation of the children'into grades. In the following year the Friends 
division came, and henceforth Orthodox and Hicksite children were educated 
in separate schools. The first board of directors, under the act of 1836, met and 
arrived at a .decision, best expressed in the following notice posted throughout 
the township : 

"Notice : At a meeting, Concord, September 2, 1836. To all concerned : The direc- 
tors of the district of Concord have resolved to open three schools in said district, viz : 
At Millers or Lower school and Union school near Newlin's store and Upper school, 
Concord Hill, on Second Day, the 12th inst. for the reception of all children over four 
years old, for tuition and instruction. By order of the Board, Reece Pyle, Secretary." 

The first teachers employed were Neal Duffee, at Mattson's : Jesse Green, 
for the Flam school ; and Alexander McKeever for Concord. In 1853 the 
school houses in the township were Hatton's No. i ; Mattson's No. 2 ; Gam- 
ble's, No. 3 ; and Sharpless No. 4. 

The first school house erected in the township, except that of the Friends, 
was upon land donated for the purpose by Levi Mattson. It was a one-story 
stone building, the lot containing half an acre, located on the north side of the 
great road from Concord to Chester. The cost of the building was borne by 
subscriptions from those living near by, and school was held therein and is the 
school mentioned in the foregoing notice as Miller's, or Lower School. From 
1812 to 18x5, John McClugen whose Saturday night libations at the Cross 
Keys Tavern often incapacitated him from Monday morning appearance at 
school, was the teacher. In 1859 another stone school house was erected on 
the lot at a cost of $9-14. A school house was also built on the»road leading 
from Naaman's creek to Concord road in 1827, which under the public school 
act became in 1836 public school No. 3, and so continued until 1856, when a 
new school house was erected at Johnson's Corners, and the old property sold. 
In 1837 a school was established at the house of Matthew Ash, in the vicinity 
of Concord Friends' meeting house, in which a public school was maintained 
for a long time. The first agitation for a school house in Concordville was 



432 DELAWARE COUNTY 

made in i860, hut nothing was accomplished until 1873-74, when a comtnodiou& 
two-story brick building was erected at a cost of $4000, located on the State 
road at the western end of the village. 

On June 15, 1847, the directors purchased land of Caspar Sharpless and 
erected a stone school house which was opened May 15, 1848, with Sarah C. 
Walton as the first teacher. In 1870 the lot was exchanged with Fairman Rog- 
ers for one in close proximity to JMarkham Station, on which a building forty 
by forty feet was erected. The Spring Valley school house was erected in 
1852, and was in use for school purposes until 1870, wlien it was abandoned, 
the district being combined with Concordville and McCartney districts. The 
McCartney lot was purchased about 1878, and a school house erected, now 
known as No. 5, situated in the southern part of the township, below Smith's 
Crossing. The Concord township was the home for years of Maplewood In- 
stitute, founded in 1862, by Prof. Joseph Shortlidge ; and of Ward Academy, 
founded in 1882, both now passed out of existence. The township employs six 
teachers, at salaries varying from $45 to $65 monthly, who teach nine months 
each year. School property in the district is valued at $20,560. 

Darby. — On September 25, 1837. the school directors of the western school 
district purchased a lot from the administrator of the estate of John Shaw Jr., 
on which they erected a one-story building which was used until 1874, then re- 
placed by a modern brick school building. The Southern school, located on 
Calcon Hook, has existed since 1850, when the first school house was built, 
but replaced in 1871 by the present building. African school is located on the 
Horntown road. The first school building was of frame, and stood on a lot 
originally owned by George G. Knowlcs until 1875, when it was replaced by 
the present brick structure. The schools of Darby borough will appear else- 
where. Darby township is now divided into seven districts, and employs 
seven teachers, for a term of nine months, at salaries varying from $45 to $55 ; 
value of school property $69,000. 

Upper Darby. — The first official record of land being set apart for school 
purposes in Upper Darby is in a deed made in 1779, conveying twenty-four 
perches of ground on the Darby and Haverford road, near the residence of 
Isaac Garrett. On this lot a school house was erected, that is distinctly shown 
on John Hill's "Map of Philadelphia and its Environs," published in 1807. In 
that school Isaac Garrett was one time a teacher, and William and John Sellers 
pupils. Formerly under control of a board of trustees, it was transferred to 
the township school directors after the passage of the public school act of 
1836. On February 18, 1833, a lot was granted, and later a school house 
erected and ^ school maintained there, known as the Union school. On this 
site the present stone school house near the William Walker grist mill was erected, 
the Union school being transferred by its trustees to the township, after the 
passage of the act of 1836. 

On the Springfield road, west of Clifton, is a building which for many 
years was used as a school house, continuing as such until 1871. On March 
23, :87i, a lot was purchased and the present two-story brick school house 



DELAWARE COUNTY 433 

erected at a cost of nearly S6000, the old school house and lot being sold for 
$1000. The Central school house above Garrettsford was erected in 1838, and 
in 1873 another school house was built on the same lot, and schools have since 
been conducted in both buildings. In 185 1 a school house was built at Kelley- 
ville, and used until 1871, when the school was discontinued. 

On June 6, 1873, the residents of Pattonville (now Fernwood) petitioned 
for a school, which was granted, and the old Methodist church was leased for a 
schoolroom and used until 1875, when the present two-story brick building was 
erected. In 1869 the brick building used for the parochial school of St. Charles 
Borromeo Church at Kelleyville was erected, and is under the control of the 
Catholic church. Upper Darby now employs the services of twenty teachers, 
for a term of ten months. \'alue of school property, $80,000. The township 
maintains a high school with five teachers, also for a term of ten months, the 
course covering four years of study. A special course in music is also included 
in the course. The building is a two-story brick, on Lansdowne Drive ; Hen- 
derson M. Mendenhall, prinfcipal. 

Edgmont. — One of the first school houses in Edgmont of which there is 
recorfl, was built about 1760, in the eastern part of the township, near the line 
of Upper Providence. This house was of stone, the mortar used, a composi- 
tion of clay and straw. Thomas Hammer was a teacher there, and also taught 
in Upper Providence, but in 1799 was a shot keeper in Edgmont. This old 
school house was not in use in 1800, and about 18(10 was torn down. What 
was later the Central District, was known as Big Edgmont. There a stone 
school house was erected in 1749, and in 1809 a new stone building was erected 
upon its site, which remained in use until 1870, when the present school house 
was erected. Isaac Wood was the first teacher in the second house. In 1841 
the school directors purchased a lot in the southern part of the township, on 
which they erected a stone school house, that was abandoned after being in 
use about ten years. The stone school house in the western district, known as 
No. I, was built in 1867. A stone school house erected in the southern district 
in 1843, known as No. 3, was in use until 1875, when a lot was purchased from 
Jesse Green and Isaac Sharpless, about three hundred yards from the old 
building, and a new stone school building erected. 

A private school building known as Edgmont Central Seminary was 
erected in 1809, and a school maintained for several years. This Iniilding 
erected of stone was torn down in 1870. Edgmont now employs three teach- 
ers, for a term of nine months, at salaries from $40 to $50; value of school 

property, $6500. 

Havcrford. — While doubtless schools were maintained from a much earlier 
date, the first recorded purchase of land for school purposes was on October 
28, 1799, when a lot was bought in the southwestern part of the township, 
near the present school building, "for the purpose of erecting a school house 
thereon, and for no other purpose or use." A stone building was erected 
which was used for school purposes until 1883, when it was abandoned, a 
substantial stone building having been erected to take its place. 
29 



434 DELAW ARR COUNTY 

On tlic Townsond Cooper property, formerly owned b_\- Levi Lukes, a 
stone school hoii.se was built about 1814. It was torn down about 1835, not hav- 
ing been used as a school house for several years prior to that date, .\bout 1830 
another school house was built on the lands of Jonathan Miller, near tlie Dick- 
inson grist mill, on Cobb's creek. John Moore was a teacher there for several 
years. On a corner of the Darby road and a roafl leading from the West Chester 
road to Clifton mills, a stone school house was built al)Out 1874. on a lot pur- 
chased from William Davis. Another school house was built near the Mont- 
gomery county line, on Mrs. Sarah O'Connor's property, east of Cobb's Creek. 
In Haverford township is also located that |)rospcrous and useful institution — 
Haverford College, .that will have extended mention elsewhere. Haverford 
township employs twenty-two teachers, for a term of nine and a half months, 
at salaries varying from S40 to $160 monthly. A two-story stone high school 
building has recently been completed at Oakmont. within which five teachers 
give instruction in a four years course of study, with special teachers in draw- 
ing and music. School property in the township is valued at $122,800; while 
$178,000 has been voted for school buildings not yet completed. Principal 
of high school, Joseph W. Huf¥. 

Mar pic. — The first school of record in .Maiple was established in 1785. On 
May 31, 1 79 1, Enoch Ta}ior and wife conveyed a quarter of an acre of ground 
on the west side of the Marple road, in trust, for use of a school to be kept un- 
der the direction of the Chester Meeting of Friends. On December 20 of the 
same year, David Hall and wife conveyed a lot adjoining for the same purpose. 
On these lots a school house was erected and used until about 1836. when it 
was abandoned. On December 24. 1836. the schcjol directors ]iurchased land 
,in wdnich they erected a school house to succeed the first mentioned one. In 
1857 the second school house was sold to Nathan W. Latcher. and a new- 
building erected on the site wdiich was used until 1877. In the latter year the 
present brick school house, known as No. 2. was erected. On August 28. 1877, 
the court authorized the Chester Friends Meeting to sell the old lot. and it be- 
came the ])roperty of Malachi Stone, he paying $1000 for the property. On 
March 21, 1818, John Craig, in consideration of one dollar and that a school 
house should be built thereon, conveyed a piece of ground near firoomall, on 
which a stone school house was erected. This school was under the care of 
trustees until the school law of i83r) went into efl'ect, when it was transferred 
to directors. The house of 18 18 was used until 1855, when it was removed and 
a two-story building erected in its place. On February 22. 1837, a lot was 
bought from Benjamin Garrett and a stone building erected. This lot was con- 
veyed in "consideration of i^romoting the education and literary instruction of 
the youth, resident in or belonging to the township of Marple." Thai building 
was used until the present stone building was erected in 1877, on the same lot 
but nearer the road. This is known as the Ce<lar Crove school house. Marple 
school district employs four teachers, at salaries of $30 to $33 monthly; value 
of school property $6300. 

Miiliilrin'ii')!. — Documents arc e.xtant that show that as early as 1740 a 



DELAWARE COUNTY 435 

school of considerable importance existed in Middletovvn, the building in which 
it was located having been donated by Thomas Yarnall and Thomas Minshall. 
This school was at one time in charge of George Deeble, a one-armed Eno-- 
lishman, a very capable instructor. On May 16, 1749, a plot near the Presby- 
terian Church, on the Edgemont road, was conveyed to trustees for school 
purposes. On this lot a stone school house was built, which was standing in 
1835, as in that year it was mentioned by the school directors as "near Mid- 
dletovvn Meeting House" and designated as school No. 3. As early as 1783, 
Friends of Middletown established a school at their meeting house, the old 
stone building in which it was held now standing unused on the church lot. 
The society maintained this school until 1827, when the separation into two 
bodies placed it under the control of the Hicksite branch, who continued it for 
several years. Three well known teachers— John Hutton, Jacob flaines and 
Jehu Broomall— taught in this school during the period 1815-20. James Emlen, 
at the time the Friends separated, was teaching a private school in a house near 
the old Emlen mill. At the same house the Orthodox Friends held their meet- 
ings and kept their school until 1836. After completing their meeting house, 
about that year, they erected a stone school house upon the same lot that has 
been used as a school building until a recent date. 

In 1813 a school house is mentioned in the road docket as "William Smed- 
ley's school house," which was used as a house in 1808. It was located at the 
forks of the Rose Tree and Middletown roads ; was accepted by the school di- 
rectors in 1835 : designated school No. 2 and discontinued in 1839. In 1837 a 
half-acre of land was bought from Nicholas Fairlamb and a school house was 
erected. At a meeting of the school directors in November of that year, it was 
determined that the Fairlamb school house "lately erected, shall be called No. 
I ; the school house near William Smedley. No. 2 ; the school house at the Mid- 
dletown Meeting House, No. 3 ; and the school house lately erected near Riddle 
factory, No. 4." On December i. 1837, the directors decided these schools 
should open December 19 that year. Public notice was given that four. teachers 
would be employed, but five were examined and employed for a term of three 
rfionths, the fifth school being located in a house near the Pitts farm, where 
later a school house was erected. 

In 1839 a school house was built in the western part of the township, on 
land purchased from Joshua Sharpless. In 1841 another school house was 
built at what is known as the "Barrens." which was used until 1868, when it 
was replaced by a much larger and better building, known as No. 8. The 
building known as No. 5 was completed in June, 1840. The report of the di- 
rectors, dated July 16, 1849. show that in the townshiji at that time there were 
six schools open seven months of the year, employing four male and two fe- 
male teachers, instructing 192 male and 228 female pupils. The average num- 
ber attending each school was 70; the amount of tax collected $1015.43; cost 
of instruction, $1008. School No. 7 was built near Knowltoir m 1850, and at 
the same time a hall was rented at Spring Hill for school purposes. In 1858 
Samuel Riddle's ofifer to furnish a room for school purposes was accepted, and 



436 DELAWARE COUNTY 

the school was known as Glen Riddle school. This was later abandoned and 
the Knowlton lot sold in 1869. In 1861 the present No. 7 school was built at 
Lima. In 1864 a school house was built on land secured from Samuel Riddle 
and school opened there November 28, 1864. The old buildings becoming aged 
and inadequate, were in the following years replaced with ones more modern 
and changes made in the numbering. The township employs nine teachers, at 
gilaries varying from $45 to $65 ; value of school property, $11,100. 

Ncwtoivn. — One of the earliest schools in Delaware county was maintained 
ut old Newtown Square, early in the last century. It was used as early as 
1750, for Benjamin West, the famous painter, then a lad of twelve years, 
attended school there that year. It was built of logs, the rude desks being 
fastened to the sides of the building. The log house was removed in 1815 
and a similar building erected which was used until 1820. No trace of it now 
remains. For many years a copybook was preserved in which young West, 
"while at school in Newtown Square, had drawn numerous pictures of vari- 
ous animals, etc., and there is a tradition that these were made as compensa- 
tion for assistance given him in arithmetic by another schoolboy named Wil- 
liamson, the owner of the book, the youthful artist not having much taste for 
figures." 

In 1749, a stone school house was erected on a knoll in front of St. 
David's Church, in which school was kept until 1820. This building was 
removed in comparatively recent years. About 181 5, the Friends of Newtown 
Meeting erected a one-story octagon shaped school house on the meeting 
house lot. This school was maintained by subscription, as was usual in 
the early days, and on the death of Dr. Jonas Preston, in 1836, by his will, 
his estate was charged with the annual payment of $200 towards the sup- 
port of this school. This fund for a great many years paid the salary of the 
teacher. After the law of 1834 became operative there being no school houses 
in the township except this one, application was made by the school directors 
to the Society for its use, but the request was denied. On August 11, 1836, a 
stone octagonal shaped school house was erected on the West Chester road, 
above Newtown Square, which was continued in use for many years, until the 
stone building known as Chestnut Grove Seminary was built to take its place. 
On July 23, 1839, a piece of land was bought from Isaac Thomas, located on 
the road leading from Berwyn to St. David's post office, and was erected 
thereon a stone school house which continued in use until 1870, when a lot was 
purchased on the Leopard road, at .St. David's post office, and a stone house 
erected in the same year, the old building then being abandoned for scliool pur- 
poses. In 1841 a lot located on the west side of the West Chester road, east of 
Newtown .Square, was donated for school purposes by Isaac Foulk, the deed 
providing that in case the ground ceased to be used for school purposes it should 
revert to his heirs. A stone school house was erected thereon by the directors 
and used for about twenty-five years, then was abandoned. There are now em- 
ployed five teachers, for a nine month? term, at salaries of $53 to $73. A high 



DELAWARE COUNTY 437 

school is maintained in the township, giving a two years course. M. Adele 
Caley, teacher; value of school property, $13,500. 

Nether Providence. — On February 10, i8io, a lot was purchased and later 
a stone school liouse erected at what is now Hinkson"s Corners. A school was 
there maintained, known as a Union school until April 26, 1841, when it was 
transferred by the trustees to the school directors. In January, 186 1, it was 
transferred of the school district, which at the same time purchased land ad- 
joining. In June, 1866, the old house was torn down and the present structure 
erected, and in 1881 an addition was built. One of the early teachers was Ca- 
leb Pierce, a noted pedagogue, who taught there in 1821. In 1812 the Friends 
near what is now the borough of Media built a school house on their land, in 
which school was kept until 1840, when a school house was built in what is now 
the borough of Media. When the borough schools were organized in 1856, 
this school was used jointly by borough and township for a time, then became 
the property of the borough, then sold and converted into a dwelling house. In 
1857 the township being without a school in that section, erected the present 
brick school house at Briggsville. 

In 1840 a lot was purchased at Pleasant Hill, and a stone school house was 
erected at a cost of $3000. The Todmorton school was first kept in the lower 
story of the Presbyterian church, erected by William T. Cook, at his mills. 
This is in Crookville school district, over which there were legal proceedings 
necessary in order to establish their right to be a separate school district and 
maintain a school. The school at Avondale Mills was built in 1840 of stone, 
one-story high. This was used until after 1861, when it was abandoned and 
became a ruin. Although Nether Providence at first refused to recognize the 
validity of the public school act of 1834, they later came into line, and the cause 
of education is there warmly supported. There are ten teachers now employed 
in the township, for a term of nine and a half months, at salaries ranging from 
$58 to $90 monthly. A high school is also maintained, giving a two years 
course. This school, known as Wallingford High School, is housed in a two- 
story stone building, employs two regular teachers, with special teachers in vo- 
cal music and drawing ; value of school property, $22,500. 

Upper Providcnee. — The present Blue Hill school house stands on the 
site of one of the ancient school buildings of the county. When the first 
building was erected is not known, but in 1877 a school was in existence there. 
Some of the early teachers of this school were Jesse Haines, Martha Crom- 
well, Thomas Hammer, Samuel Brown, Thomas Megarge, Elizabeth Pass- 
more, John Hammer and W. Light foot. The first building was evidently of 
logs, but prior to 1797 a stone school house was built by subscription. George 
Miller, by will dated January 12, T794, probated 1797, devised to Jacob Min- 
shall one acre, two square perches, of land, "with all buildings thereon," in 
trust, for the "Society of Protestants, commonly called Quakers," of Chester 
Monthly Meeting, for "the use of a school to be kept thereon" under the care 
of Friends. School was kept there under the direction of the Chester :\leet- 



438 DELAWARE COUNTY 

iiig until 1837, when the old Blue Hill school passed to the school directors of 
the towushii). In 1872 the old school house was rebuilt. 

Sandy Bank school Xo. 2 was established on the Providence road below 
Rose Tree in 1837, and school maintained in the original building until 1870, 
when a brick building was erected on a lot adjoining. Prior to 1872 a school 
had been maintained in a house belonging to Samuel Bancroft, near the 
Burnt ^lills (Manchester Mills), the present brick building known as dis- 
trict Xo. I, having been erected in 1872. Upper Providence now employs six 
teachers for a term of nine months, at salaries varying from $50 to $65 
monthly; value of school property, $15,500. 

Radnor. — Prior to the adoption of tlie public school law oi 1834, schools 
had been rnaintained in the township from its early settlement. They were sub- 
scription schools, mainly kept open only in the winter and for periods of vary- 
ing length. The first court record of schools is in 1825, when it is known 
school trustees ("school men") were elected. In 1827 it is recorded that land 
was purchased by the "school men" of ^lordecai Lewis, on which to erect a 
Union school. 

In 1837 the first jiurchase of land by school directors under the new act 
was made. In 1855 another purchase was made, and others have continued as 
necessity required. Suitable buildings have at all times been provided, and in 
public education Radnor compares favorably with other townships. In this 
township X'illanoya CoUege, belonging to the Catholic Brotherhood of St. Au- 
gustine, is located. This college, an offshoot of St. Augustine's, of Phila- 
delphia, was founded by Rev. John Possidius O'Dwyer. The first building 
was the two and a half story stone house, tlie former residence of John 
Rudolf, from whom the property was purchased. Building after building has 
been added on a large scale until nov^f the college comprises a convent with 
novitiate and study house for members of the order ; a college for the educa- 
tion of the laity of the church, in the classics, arts and sciences; church, 
chapel and all the varied buildings attached to a complete monastic and edu- 
cational institution of this class. The grounds are extensive, the buildings 
costly, stately and beautiful, wholly adapted to their intended uses. 

Radnor township is an independent .school district, of the third class, em- 
ploying thirty-six teachers for a term of nine and a half months, at salaries 
varying from $45 to $168 monthly. This includes all grades from primary to 
high school inclusive. 

Tiniatm. — From the earliest settlement of the island of Tinicum in the 
Delaware, schools in form not differing from those of other townships of 
Delaware county, have been maintained. Public schools have existed since 
their creation by the act of 1834, and the township now employs five teachers 
for a term of nine months, at .salaries ranging from $50 to $60 monthly. 
School property in the township is valued at .$19,000, including the new school 
building <ledicated to educational jmrposes, November 11, 191 1. The building 
contains four large well lighted rooms, with suitable furniture, light and heat. 

Thornhury. — In 1715 a deed wa.s made for a lot located near the Chester 



DELAWARE COUNTY 439 

county line, on the road leading from Concord to Dilworthtown, and there at 
about the same time a school house was built that was destroyed by fire in 
1810 and rebuilt. The lot was transferred to the school directors of the town- 
ship in 1837. and school was kept in the second building until December, 1842, 
when that building also was destroyed by fire. A third stone house was built 
on tlie site and used until 1872, when it was removed and the present brick- 
building erected, now known as Western District school house. In the ancient 
deed the right to a foot ])ath three feet w^ide to a spring not far distant, was 
granted. This right granted in 171 5 was taken advantage of by the pupils 
until 1880, when a water supply was furnished much nearer the school house. 

The Eastern District school house, erected in 1863, was substituted in that 
year for a stone school house built in 1839, a half mile south of the present 
building. The first school house in the Central District of Thornbury was 
built in 1820, located on ground belonging to Nathan Hunt, who taught school 
in a frame house built by himself. Here in 1840 the school directors built a 
stone school house that existed until 1863, when the present brick building 
was erected. 

-A school district exists in the northwestern part of the township, which is 
formed from a part of Westtown township, Chester county, the school house 
for this district lying in Westtown township. This district, created by act of 
legislature, J\Iay i, 1852, is known as the Westtown and Thornbury School 
District. In 1861 the residents living east of the district just named also peti- 
tioned for the erection of an independent and separate school district. This 
was granted by act of April i, 1861, and the district was enlarged by act of 
April 9, 1873 — the district known as Union School District of Chester and 
Delaware counties. Thornbury employs five teachers, at salaries of $45 to 
$55 monthly; value of school property, $13,300. 

Springfield. — A school was maintained in Springfield as early as 1793, un- 
der the care of the Society of Friends. The Yellow school house was erected 
prior to 1800, on land lying along the Springfield and Darby road, at its inter- 
section by the road froiu the Rhoads farm to the Chester and Springfield road. 
One of the early teachers was an Englishman named McCue. who taught for 
several years, but at last fell a victim to his intemperate habits, being found 
dead in a haxmow. The Yellow school house was used until 1852. when the 
present Central school house was built. .About 1822 a stone school house was 
built near the line of Ridley township, one mile south of Oakdale post office, 
that was use<l until 1857, when the Oakdale school house, called Oakdale Sem- 
inary, was built, and the old school house near Ridley abandoned. In 1855 the 
'school house on Darby creek, near Hey's mill, was erected, and is still standing. 
In 1830 a school house was erected by trustees, that was in use from 1836 to 
1857 by the township as a public school. On April 1. 1857, Seth Pancoast, the 
surviving trustee, sold the lot to the school directors, who erected the present 
two-story stone building, the upper story being used for a hall, the expense of 
its construction having been defrayed by subscription. 

The present two-story brick house at Morton was erected in 1875, at a 



440 DELAWARE COUNTY 

cost of $3500. The lower part was built by the townshi]). the upper story by a 
stock company, the township having the right to lake it for school purposes, 
should necessity require, by paying the stockholders $2000. The lot on which 
it is built was donated by Alexander Young. The township now employs five 
teachers, at salaries of $50 to $rx) monthly : value of school property, $14,294. 

Springfield township is also the home of Swarthmore College, founded in 
1866, that is the subject of a separate article. Swarthmore Preparatory School 
is a flourishing school for boys, near the college. During its whole history it 
has been under the efificient control and ownership of Arthur H. Tomlinson. 

Ridley. — In 1800 a school house was erected by subscription on land do- 
nated by Caleb Davis, located on the north side of the great road. The first 
teacher was Jacob Fenton, a graduate of Dartmouth College. An agreement 
made with him is of interest. It provided he should "teach a regular day 
school, subject to the direction of the trustees of said school, in the rudiments 
of the English language, reading, writing, arithmetic, book-keeping, geography, 
and either or every branch of the mathematics, at the rate of $2 a quarter, for 
every scholar subscribed for the term of three months to commence on the 
twentieth day of tenth month 1800: and the undersigned subscribers to said 
school agree to pay the said Fenton, or order, $2 for every scholar subscribed, 
together with a reasonable charge for wood and ink." Before the winter had 
passed, Fenton was in financial difficulties. He sent his bills before they were 
due, refused to allow for time lost by absence, and at the end of his term bade 
the trustees defiance and kept possession of the school. The trustees resolved 
to eject him. The following brief entry, January, 1801, is significant: "On the 
morning of the 23rd, the foregoing resolution of the trustees was carried into 
eflFect." 

On August 20, i8oo. a school lot was conveyed, lying on the Lazaretto be- 
tween the Southern post road and ]\Ioore's Station. The donor was Lewis 
Morey, the land to be used "to build a school house thereon, and for no other 
purpose." The school house was built at once, as it appears on Hill's maps ; 
was under the charge of trustees, then passed to the control of the school direc- 
tors of the township, who maintained a school there until 1879, when the Nor- 
wood school house was built. The old house was then abandoned and sold. In 
T819, Thomas Leiper erected a stone school house on the Leiper church lot, 
which was in use until the Thomas Leiper school house was erected in 1870 by 
the school directors, just across from the old building that has long been in 
ruins. 

The Kedron school house, a one story structure, was built in 1862, on the 
road from Morton to Norwood Station. In 1870 the two-story brick school 
house on the south side of the Southern post road, a short distance south of 
Crum Lynne. was erected, and in 1873 enlarged. In 1876 the building at the 
northwest corner of Lexington and second street, Eddystone, was built, and in 
1879 the directors erected the two-story brick school house at Norwood. Rid- 
ley is now employing twelve teachers, for a term of nine months, at salaries 
$43 to $65 monthly : value of school property, $26,000. 



DELAWARE COUNTY 441 

Borough schools, in addition to the foregoing have been built and main- 
tained ; these will be treated separately, as will the schools of Chester, the only 
city in Delaware county. 

CHESTER CITY. 

Chester City Schools. — There is abundant evidence that in the early days 
the youth of the locaHty, now known as the city of Chester, were educated 
in the rudiments at least, in subscription schools, or by the ministers of the 
Church of England sent out by the Society for the Propagation of the Gospel 
in Foreign Parts. It was a part of the duties of these ministers to give instruc- 
tion in reading and writing, but the records are silent concerning the establish- 
ment of schools prior to 1770. 

Joseph Hoskins, in his will, dated 12 mo. 31 day, 1769, devised a lot of 
land for school purposes. He did not die until 1773, but so secure were his 
neighbors, that the ground had been so devised, that in 1770 they built a school 
house on the lot, their only security being his word that the land would come 
to the trustees at his death, which it did and more with it. He allowed more 
land to be taken than was at first intended, so that an ample play ground was 
provided. In his will he further directed that £30, then a large sum, should 
be paid to John Eyre and James Barton, to be applied "for the schooling and 
educating of such poor children belonging to the inhabitants of the borough 
and township of Chester, as the said Preparative Meeting for the time being 
shall think fit to order and direct." The school house was built of bricks, laid 
in Flemish bond, the ends of the headers being burnt black, a style much in 
vogue at that time. In the south gable large numerals, 1770, were inserted in 
the wall, the figures being formed b\- the black ends of the headers. This 
was the beginning of free public instruction in Chester, and the importanr 
part played therein by Mr. Hoskins has been recognized in the naming of the 
new building erected at the corner of Fifth and Welsh streets, in 1882, the 
Joseph Hnskins school. One of the noted pupils who attended the first Welsh 
street school was the future Admiral Farragut, then living in the family of 
Commodore Porter. From 1824 to 1830, William Neal was in charge of the 
school, at which time it was known as Chester academy. 

The first private school of record in the borough was taught by Mrs. Irvin, 
and restricted to primary pupils. The following years Miss Eliza Finch kept 
a school in the old Logan house, on Second street, near Edgmont. Among 
her pupils was the future Admiral David D. Porter and his brothers. She 
retired from teaching in 1830, and was followed by Caleb Pierce, who in a 
summer house in the rear of the Columbia instructed in his select school the 
youths of Chester whose parents would not allow them to attend the Welsh 
street school, which was classified under the act of 1802 as a "charity school." 
In 1834, James Campbell, a graduate of Union College, New York, taught the 
Chester Academy, and the same year a Mr. Jones was principal of the Chester 
High School. 



442 DELAWARE COUNTY 

Jn 1840. the pul)Iic scliool system having l)eeii generally accepted, Caleb 
i'ieixc discontinned his "select" school and accepted a position as teacher in 
the Old Welsh street school. In 1843 that school was enlarged, James Rid- 
dle was appointed ijrincijial. and four women teachers appointed. In that year 
Mrs. Frances I'.iddle established a day school for young ladies in the Sunday 
school room (if St. raul's C'hurcli. In 1845, James Dawson had a private 
school in one of the rooms of the school building, the public demand not 
requiring the use of all rooms in that building. In 1850, however, the school 
was so taxed for room that the Franklin street school in the south ward wa> 
built in 1853, and the Eleventh street school in the north ward erected in 
1858. The jiressure became so great on the schools that in 1864 schools were 
established in Crozer Academy on Second street; in 1864 and 18C17 primary 
schools were opened in the Baptist chajiel on F'enn street, and in the basement 
of the African Methodist church on .'Second street, the latter exclusively for 
colored pupils. .At this date a school for advanced colored scholars was main- 
tained by the directors in a frame house on .Second street. In 1867 the higli 
school Inn'lding was erected, in 1870 the Morton avenue building, and in 1871 
the Patterson street school hiuise was bnih and set aside as a colored school. 
In 1874 the Eleventh street house was enlarged and remodeled. In 1875 the 
old school building on \\'elsh street was taken down, and a large brick school 
house built. In 1878 the Howell street school house was erected, and in 1882 
the Joseph Hoskins school building was dedicated, followed in 1883 by the 
purchase of the lot at the corner of Eleventh and Madison streets, formerly 
occupied by the Larkintown Sunday school, and a large building er-ected there 
in 1885. 

Other school buildings have been added as needed, until Chester, a school 
district of the second class, has a jniblic school system of which a larger city 
might justly be proud. In December, 1912. the total number of scholars en- 
rolled in all grades was 5068, distributed among the twenty-two named schools 
of the city as follows : 

High school 488 Liiui)hi 467 

Dr. Starr 2gg Howell 24.S 

Harvey 115 Dcvvcy Gr:miiiiar .... 296 

Morton 251 Horace Mann 320 

Larkin Grannnar .... 570 I luirlow ...... 248 

Graliam 240 Clayton .... 156 

Martin 301 .MoCay 27 

Powell 142 Jolni .A. Watts 369 

John Wetherill 20 Harrison 48 

Gartside ...;.. .322 George Jones 55 

Patterson 171 CiiHraded soliool . iS! 

These twenty-two schools em])loy, for a school year nf nine and a half 
months, the services of 156 teacliers, under the management of a lioard of di- 
rectors of nine persons, who ap])oint a citv superintendent, and four supervi- 
sors in primary work, drawing, music and pcnmansliip. ,\ system (<\ medical 







■ •'■■ .'''j ■■■■ ,'; ■■ 



o 
o 
I 
o 
to 

I 
o 



'•UBL/C LIBRARY 



:!^^o:^. 



DELAWARE COUNTY 443- 

inspection by four physicians safeguards the health of the pupils and teachers. 
The assessed valuation of school real estate on June 30. 1912, was $562,352, 
and of school personal property. $30,000. The financial condition of the school 
district of Chester city was shown on the same date to be most satisfactory, as- 
sets over liabilities being $391,250. There was paid in teachers" salaries during 
the year, $91,000, and for other salaries, $5620. The city superintendent re- 
ceives a salary of $2500 per year, with a secretary's service at $1000. In the 
department of supervision, the supervisor of primary grades receives a salary 
of $80 monthly ; the supervisors of writing, drawing and music, $75 monthly ; 
attendance officer, $20 weekly. Principals" salaries are graded from $210.52 
per month down to S52.50, the principal of the high school receiving the high- 
er amount, principals of two room buildings, the latter. Teachers in the high 
school receive salaries graded from $60 to $1 10 monthly ; those in the Larkin 
and Dewey Grammar schools, $65 per month : teachers holding permanent 
certificates, $55 per month ; teachers having two years experience and holding 
professional certificates, $50 per month : teachers with less than two years ex- 
perience, or not having a professional certificate, $40 monthly. A Teachers" 
retirement fund has been established and a savmgs fund for the pupils. This 
latter fund, established February 24, 1890, showed for the year ending June 
30, 1 89 1, a total amount deposited of $12,315.87, and a balance un hand of 
$8055.83. For the year ending June 30, 1912, deposits were $17,597.26, with a 
balance on hand of $36,224.67. 

The course of study in the high school covers four years, and f<.)ur free 
scholarships in Swarthmore College arc among the prizes for which graduates 
may strive. The city superintendent of schools, Thomas S. Cole, is a man well 
fitted by education and experience for the responsible position he occupies. 
The principal of the high school, Joseph G. E. Smedley, A. B., is an educator 
of high standing, while the principals of the grammar, intermediate and pri- 
mary schools have been selected for their peculiar fitness. The teachers in the 
various schools are chosen as far as practicable from those holding diplomas 
from the city normal school, and it is hoped that soon holders of these diplomas 
vvill be placed upon a level with graduates of state normal schools. 

BOROUGH SCHCKJLS. 

Aldan. — Employs four teachers for a term of ten months, at salaries rang- 
ing from $55 to $65. School property is valued at $16,250. 

Clifton Heights. — The borough employs ten teachers for a term of ten 
months, at salaries ranging from $40 to $90 monthly. .School property is val 
ued at $37,000. 

Collingdale. — Collingdale school property is valued at $28,800: employs 
nine teachers for a term of nine and a half months : salaries ])aid vary from $45 
to $75 monthly. 

Cokvyn. — Eight teachers are employed in Colwyn schools for a term of 
ten months, at salaries of $40 to $70 monthly : value of school property, $(;8oo. 

Eddvstonr. — Schools in Eddystone are open for a term of nine and a 



444 DELAWARE COUNTY 

half months, six teachers being employed at salaries of $40 to $65: school 
property valued at $20,800. 

Darby. — The first record of a school within the limits of what is now 
Darby borough is found in the minutes of Darby Monthly Meeting, 7 mo. 7 
day, 1692. This record relates to the engagement of Benjamin Clift to teach 
school beginning 7 mo. 12 day, 1692, to continue one year, except two weeks. 
He was also hired for the next year at a salary of ii2. It is supposed this 
school was kept in Friends' Meeting House. This school in Darby was sup- 
ported by Friends Society all through the years up to i8oo. Michael Blun- 
ston, who died there in 1736, bequeathed "£50 in trust to school the children 
of poor Friends in Darby Monthly Meeting." Mention is also made of 
Friends Meeting in 1788. and in 1793 the Friends Society had seven schools 
in Delaware county, one located at Darby. Friends' schools have regu- 
larly kept since that date, and since 1820 women have been members of school 
committees. The law providing for free public education gradually superseded 
Friends' schools, although as late as 1854 John H. Bunting, of Darby, gave 
the sum of $10,000, the interest to be used to support schools maintained by 
the Society. Such of these schools as yet remain are of an elementary char- 
acter, but excellent results are obtained from them. 

Prior to 1735, Davis Thomas of Darby, granted a lot on which to build a 
school house. The Iniilding was erected, another school was kept in a one- 
story brick house which stood until 1843 o" P^i"* of the site of Mt. Zion burial 
ground. In tliis old building, on June f>. 1818, a meeting of citizens of Darby 
and adjoining townships was held, when it was resolved "that we will discour- 
age the use of ardent spirits as an article of drink; we will not procure, use or 
give it to others as such in the time of gathering our hay and harvest, at the 
raising of buildings or on other jniblic or social occasions." In 1841 the direc- 
tors erected a stone school house in the village of Darby, which was used 
until 1855, when it was abandoned on the completion of the "Yellow" school 
house. The borough of Darby was incorporated in 1833 and became an inde- 
pendent school district. The old school house built in 1841, was sold to the 
borough and later was used as a jail. After the creation of the borough, a 
two-story stone building was erected, to which a two-story brick addition was 
built and rooms for six grades jirovided. In 1878 a one-story brick school 
house was built at Sharon Hill, .\fter the population of Darby as a borough 
had reached the required number, 5000, application was made for the crea- 
tion of an indej^iendent school district of the third class, under which classi- 
fication the borough schools now exist. The governing body is a board of 
seven school directors, elected for a term of six years. The management of 
the schools is under a superintendent who is responsible to the board and 
appointed by them. Two buildings, known as the Walnut and Ridge Avenue 
buildings, are in use, the former being the home of the high school. Thirty- 
four regular teachers are employed, and three substitutes for a school year of 
ten months. In the high school, five teachers are emjiloyed. including Ellen 
S. Bonstein, principal. In the same building the grammar school employs 



DELAWARE COUNTY 445 

six teachers and the primary grades eight teachers. A special department of 
manual training and a drawing department, with one teacher each, is also 
maintained in the Walnut street building. 

The Ridge Avenue scliool, Elizabeth A. Hemphill, principal, employs 
four teachers in the grammar school grades, eight in the primary grades, and 
a special teacher in drawing. The high school course covers four years of 
study in two courses : — Latin, scientific and commercial. The minimum salary 
in the high school is $500 yearly, with an annual increase of $25 until a max- 
imum salary of $700 is reached. Grammer and primary teachers receive a 
minimum salary of $400 yearly, with an annual increase of $25 until a maxi- 
mum salary of $600 is reached. The Walnut street building, built in 1896, 
was enlarged to its present size in 1907. In it are located the high school, 
grammar and primary schools, also the high school auditorium, with a seat- 
ing capacity of 600. Here also the superintendent has his office. The Ridge 
Avenue building, erected in 1903, contains fifteen rooms, accommodating gram- 
mar and primary departments, also a room used by the board of school direc- 
tors for the meetings. The real estate of the borough was valued at $110,000; 
furniture, apparatus and books, $15,000. A later assessment increases the 
total valuation to $135,000. For the year ending July 11, 191 1, 1286 pupils 
were enrolled, with an average daily attendance of 911. For the year 191 1 
these figures were slightly increased. For the same year, 117 high school 
scholars were enrolled, with an average daily attendance of 89. 

Charles P. Sweeney, borough superintendent of public instruction, is an 
educator of forty-five years experience. He began teaching at the age of 
eighteen years, in Delaware county. New York; taught one year in Ohio, 
several years in New York, nine years in Cape May county. New Jersey, then 
taught in the Classical Institute on Thirteenth street, Philadelphia ; was prin- 
cipal of Lykens borough school, Pennsylvania ; principal of Orwigsburg, 
Schuylkill county, Pennsylvania ; principal of Slatington schools, Lehigh 
county, Pennsylvania; then in 1898 came to the Darby schools. He was 
principal of the Lykens and of the Orwigsburg schools when the first classes 
were graduated, and of Darby high school when the first class graduated from 
that institution. In 1913 he will complete his fifteen years of successful 
educational work in Darby Borough. 

Glenolden. — Schools in Glenolden are open nine months in the year ; seven 
teachers are employed at salaries varying from $50 to $75 monthly : value of 
school property, $27,500. 

East Lansdozme. — This newly created borough had no school buildings at 
the time of its erection. Ground, however, was at once secured, and in 1913 
a handsome new building was completed. Three teachers are employed for a 
term of ten months, at salaries of .$45 to $60 monthly. 

Lansdozvne. — This borough employs 26 teachers in its various schools, 
including ten in the high school, one in the department of manual training, one 
in physical culture classes, and two in kindergarten work. A gymnasium is 
connected with the high school, and a siiecial course in art and music is pro- 



446 DELAWARE COUNTY 

vided. A playground owned b\' the borough is used for organized play work, 
with teachers specially fitted for that position. School property in the borough 
was valued at $130,000 at the close of the school year of 1912. The high school 
course covers four years of study; l'rinci]jal, Walter L. Phillips. 

Marcus Hook. — Six teachers arc employed in Marcus Hook schools, for 
a term of nine months, at salaries varying from $50 to $85 ; school property is 
valued at $17,000. 

Media. — Sixteen teachers are employed in Media schools for a term of 
nine and a half months, salaries ranging from $65 to $180 dollars. Six teachers 
are employetl in the high school and ten in the grades below. The high school 
course covers four years of study, including a special course in art and music. 
also a commercial course for those clectmg that branch. The high school is 
presided over by W. C. Joslin, Ph.D. School property in the borough is val- 
ued at $50,500, and a bond issue of 875,000 has recently been authorized for 
the erection of a new high school building. 

Morton. — In Morton the school term is nine months, and four teachers 
are employed at salaries of $50 to $75 monthly. School property is valued at 
$4800. 

Norwood. — This borough has school property valued at $15,500, and em- 
ploys for a term of nine months nine teachers, at salaries of $55 to $80 monthly. 

Pros[<cct Park. — Thirteen teachers are employed in Prospect Park schools 
for a term of nine months. This includes five teachers employed in the high 
school, the course covering a period of three years. A commercial course is 
also provided for those desiring it. Salaries varying from $50 to $140 monthly. 
\'^alue of school property, $26,000. Principal of high school, Owen E. Batt. 

Ridley Falls. — This is an independent school district, employing one teach- 
er at a salary of $40 monthly, for a nine months term. The school property 
is valued at $2500. 

Ridley Park. — Thirteen teachers are employed in Ridley Park schools, 
five in the high school and eight in the grades below. The high school course 
covers four years of study, and includes a course in domestic science; also a 
course in music. Salaries range from $60 to $180 monthly, the school term be- 
ing nine and a half months. Principal of high school, J. Fred Parsons. \'alue 
of school property, $49,000. 

Rutledgc. — Rutledge employs five teachers for a term of nine months, at 
salaries of S50 to S75 monthly ; value of school property. §8000. 

Sharon Hill. — Sharon Mill has school property valued at $26,000. Six 
teachers are employed for a term of nine and a half months, at salaries vary- 
ing from $60 to $80 monthly. 

Swartliiitore. — Swarthmorc employs sixteen teachers in its various 
schools, seven being assigned to the Iiigh school, R. Holmes Wallace, principal. 
The high school building was completed in 191 2 at a cost of $60,000, on 
gfround costing $13,000. The course covers a period of four years, and reg- 
ular instruction is given in manual training, art, domestic science and music. 
The high school building contains twenty-one class-rooms, board room and 



DELAWARE COUNTY 447 

library, principal's room, manual training room, art room, domestic science 
room, gymnasium, lunch room, and an auditorium seating 400, all of which 
are suitably furnished and equipped for their intended purposes. Value of 
school property in the borough, $92,300. Length of school term, nine months ; 
salaries paid vary from $72 to $244 monthly. 

Upland. — The schools of Upland are presided over by eight teachers, 
drawing salaries ranging from $56 to $85 monthly, for a school term of nine and a 
half months. School property is valued at $21,500. 

Yeadon. — On September 16, 191 1, Yeadon school board, teachers and 
scholars celebrated the one hundredth anniversary of the establishment of 
public schools at that place. The printed programme contained pictures of 
the new school building, and of the old building that only gave way to the 
new after a continuous service of seventy-six years. Many who attended the 
old school forty and fifty-eight years ago gave interesting reminiscence of the 
"olden times." The borough now employs teachers for a term of nine and a 
half months, at salaries of $55 to $67 monthly. School property is valued at 
$16,525. 

Milbourne. — This borough as yet has no school property, it being so sit- 
uated that it is deemed advisable to pay for the tuition of the children of 
the borough in neighboring schools. 

PRU'ATE SCHOOLS. 

A great number of private schools have existed in addition to the early 
"subscription" and Quaker schools. During the war of 18 12, Joseph Neef, a 
Frenchman, attempted to establish a school at X'illage Green, wherein pupils 
should be taught according to the system employed by Pestalozzi. but prior to 
1820 the school was closed. 

About 1845, Rev. Benjamin S. Huntington established a seminary for 
young ladies at Aston Ridge, which flourished greatly, his scholars being drawn 
largely from the southern states. Rev. Huntington, however, was so constant- 
ly enlarging his building that he became bankrupt. About 1857, J. Harvey 
Barton established a seminary at Aston Ridge in a large brick building on the 
Rockdale road, near the Baptist church. Both sexes were received, a fine 
corps of instructors employed, the school attaining high rank and flourishing 
until 1866, when it passed out of existence. 

The city of Chester, aside from its most excellent public schools, is also the 
home of the Pennsylvania Military Academy (see special article), and Chester 
Academy, founded in 1862, by Charles W. Deans, at one time superintendent 
of public instruction for Delaware county. It was first known as the Chester 
Academy and Normal School. In 1865, Professor George Gilbert, then of 
Philadelphia, purchased Mr. Deans' interest, reorganized the institution, en- 
larged the building, thoroughly revised and advanced the course of study and 
employed additional teachers. This school has had a successful career, ha.s 
doubled in size, and affords facilities for students preparing for college, for 
the teapher's profession, or for a business career. 



448 di-:l.\\v.\re corxTY 

111 1793 the Friends established a school in Upper Chichester, which was 
coniiiuied by the meeting until the public school system was accepted, when it 
was discontinued. 

In Lower Chichester the first school of mention was conducted under the 
auspices of the Society for the Propagation of the Gospel in Foreign Parts, 
and was continued for sixty years. In 1801 a new brick school house was 
erected on the church lot, the expense being borne by subscription by the 
members of the parish. 

.\ noted school of the long ago was located in Darby, at Sharon Hill, 
known as Sharon Hill Academy. John Jackson, a noted Friend of Darby, 
after his marriage to Rachel T. Tyson, a highly educated woman, in 1834 de- 
termined to established a female boarding school, and about 1835, after the 
death of his father, Halliday Jackson, located at Sharon Hill, the family estate. 
The school soon became famous and was at one time one of the most noted 
of female educational institutions in the middle states. John Jackson died in . 
1855, his widow continuing the school until 1858, after which it was conducted 
by Israel J. Graham and Jane P. Graham. About 1870 the school was pur- 
chased by the Rev. C. J. H. Carter, a Catholic priest, and has since been con- 
ducted as a church school for females. 

In Haverford township is located Haverford College, founded in 1832 by 
prominent members of the Society of Friends in the middle states, principally, 
however, from Philadelphia. This valuable institution, now presided over by 
Dr. Isaac Sharpless, will have special mention elsewhere. 

The borough of Media long had its P.rooke Hall Female Seminary. The 
buildings were erected in 1856 by H. Jones Brooke, after whom the school is 
named, a warm friend of education, and one of Delaware county's honored 
citizens. In the fall of 1856 the school was opened as a seminary for young 
ladies by Miss M. L. Eastman, and had a long career of usefulness. Brooke 
Hall, conducted under the influence of the Episcopal church, became widely 
known as one of the best seminaries of its class in the state. 

In 1874 Swithin C. Shortlidge removed his school for boys from West 
Chester to Media, opening in the building formerly known as the Haldeman 
House. This was enlarged until it contained fifty-five lodging rooms, witH 
studv, class and dining rooms, ami near the main structure a well equipped 
gj'nmasium. A large corps of teachers was employed and the school for many 
years enjoyed great popularity, Init is now closed. 

Joseph Shortlidge in 1862 established at Concordville, Maplewood Insti- 
tute, a school for both sexes, incorporated in 1870, that was well conducted 
and po|nilar and was continued under the care of his son, Chauncey Shortlidge. 

In the fall of 1872, Miss .-\nna M. Walter, for several years a teacher in 
the grammar school, established a private school that later was known as 
Media Academy, This school prospered until 1884, when it was closed, Miss 
Walter accepting a position in Friends' school at Fifteenth and Race streets, 
Philadelphia. 

In Middletown township, is located the Pennsylvania Training School for 



PUBLIC L 



ASTOR, LENOX ANO J 



DELAWARE COUNTY 449 

Feeble Alinded Children, the third institution of its kind erected in the United 
States. 

In Radnor township is located Villa Xova College, belonging to the Cath- 
olic brotherhood of St. Augustine, established as a branch of the parent house 
in Philadelphia in 1842. In 1848 the college was empowered by the legisla- 
ture of Pennsylvania to confer degrees. The buildings are ample and the 
college ranks as one of the leading colleges of the church. 

In Springfield township the Friends have another educational institution 
that has acquired a national reputation — Swarthmore College, the cornerstone 
of which was laid in 1866. This institution, now presided over by Dr. Joseph 
Swain, will have more extended notice elsewhere. 

The first man elected Superintendent of Public Instruction in Delaware 
county was Dr. George Smith, elected in June, 1854, serving until September, 
1855, when he resigned. He was followed by Charles W. Deans, appointed in 
September, 1855, to fill out Dr. Smith's unexpired term, then was elected, serv- 
ing until June, 1863. James W. McCracken, the next superintendent, served 
from June, 1863, until December, 1868, when he resigned. James W. Baker, 
appointed to fill out Mr. McCracken's term, was elected later, and served 
until June, 1878. He was followed by Albert B. Stewart, who served from 
June, 1878, to June, 1887. The sixth superintendent, A. G. C. Smith, assumed 
the duties of the office in June, 1887, and has been continuously in office until 
the present date, 1913. Beginning with 1914, the term of county superinten- 
dent will be four years instead of tliree, as heretofore. All teachers are exam- 
ined for fitness by the county superintendent, except State Normal graduates, 
holders of permanent certificates and holders of professional certificates, the 
holders of such certificates being greater in proportion in Delaware county 
than in other counties of the state. 

In 1887 Delaware county contained twenty-eight school districts, twenty- 
one townships, six boroughs, and one independent district. Two boroughs. 
North Chester and South Chester, have been annexed to the city of Chester. 
There was but one high school in the county — that at Media. One hundred 
and seventy-one teachers were employed, of whom twelve were males; of 
these, forty-four held normal diplomas. The average wages then paid was : 
male teachers, $47.95 ; female teachers, $42.57. The highest salary was $100 
per month, paid in Media, to a female teacher. The highest salary paid a male 
teacher was $60 paid in Lower Chichester. 

In 191 1 there were forty-one school districts, twenty townships, twenty 
boroughs and one independent district under the care of the County Superin- 
tendent. Besides these Chester, Darby and Radnor have their own organiza- 
tions. There were ninety school houses in the county, against ninety-seven in 
18S7, ten having been taken from the county by the annexation of North and 
South Chester boroughs to the city of Chester; seven by the creation of Rad- 
nor_ township into an independent district, and two in Darby borough, the lat- 
ter two having superintendents of their own, and not included in county figures. 
At the close of the school year, June. 1911, after twenty-five years under Sup- 
.30 



450 DELAWARE COUNTY 

erintendent Smith's administraticn. there were 286 teachers employed in the 
coimly, under his jurisdiction, tiie number now being 309. Of these 286 teach- 
ers in 1911. 159 were normal graduates. 52 had iiermanent certificates, 27 had 
professional certificates, and 28 were college graduates. Cut 18 of the teachers 
v.ere males. It is further to be noted that Xnrth Chester, South Chester, Rad- 
nor and Darby, which employ al^out on.e hundred teachers, that were under the 
sui)ervision of the county superintendent in 1887. are no longer so. The aver- 
age salary paid for the }car ending June, 1910. for male teachers, was $114.21. 
the highest being paid in Lansdowne. $250. The average salary ])aid female 
teachers for the same year was $53.27, the highest being Sioo, paid liy Radnor 
and Swarthitiore. 

During most of the time since 1887, Delaware county has stood at the head 
of the list of counties in the state for average length of school term and average 
wages paid for teachers, both male and female. AUeghen\' county is the only 
county in the state that challenges Delaware in average salaries paid, and this 
comes from the fact that Pittsburgh, where higher salaries are paid, is included 
in the report. In 1 910, Lackawanna county led in average length of school 
term, with 9.46 months, Delaware county second, with 9.44 months. 

In 1887 the cost per pupil was $1.23 and in 1910 $2.16 per pupil. This 
means better salaries, and more free text books furnished. While Delaware 
county leads in average salary paid male and female teachers and in average 
length of school term, the tax rate for school purposes and building purposes, 
5.80 mills in 1910, was three mills less than the average school tax for the state. 
The directors of Swarthmore organized a mantial training department in their 
public schools in 1894, Lansdowne and Colwyn follow^ing later. Lansdowne 
has maintained a Kindergarten department since 1894, two teachers now being 
regularly employed. Nether Providence also has a Kindergarten department. 
Special instruction in drawing and mtisic has for several years been given in 
the schools of Darby. Lansdowne, Media, Radnor, Haverford, Nether Provi- 
dence and Swarlhmore. Special instruction in music is also given in .\ldan, 
Clifton Heights, Collingdalc. Colwyn. Glenolden, I'pper Darby and other dis- 
tricts. Yeadon has special instruction in drawing: Colwyn in sewing. In sev- 
eral districts one of the regular teachers gives special instruction in music or 
drawing. Ridley Park and Swarthmore maintain domestic science depart- 
ments. A well e(|nipped playgroimd has been established in Ridley Park, to be 
kept open all the summer months in charge of a specially instructed play 
ground teacher. Lansdowne also has ac(|uircd a suitable piece of ground for 
organized playground work, and in Colwyn and Collingdale one or more of 
the regular teachers have taken courses of study in organized playgrotind 
work and supervise the children's play during recess periods, when the schools 
are open. Medical inspecti(jn is re(|uired in Colwyn, Lansdowne and Media. 

In 1897 Radnor township elected their supervisin,g principal, township 
superintendent, which resulted in bringing the schools under closer supervision 
and greatly increasing their efficiency. In December, 1908, Darliy borough fol- 
lowed the example of Radnor, v.'ith the same good results. 



T 
F 



i*-4 




HAVERFOflD UNION-ROBERTS HALL AND BARCLAY HALL. 




FOUNDERS' HALL, HAVERFORD COLLEGE 



DELAWARE COUNTY 451 

In 1888 the school directors of the county formed a Directors Associa- 
tion, which has held two meetings annually ever since, one in connection with 
the Teachers' Institute, the other in February. Representatives from the 
association assisted in forming the State School Directors Association, and 
regularly appointed delegates to attend the annual meeting of the State 
Association. 

In 1888, a committee from the Directors Association, acting with County 
Superintendent Smith, prepared a course of study for the rural schools. It 
provided for a county diploma to be given those who could pass a satisfactory 
examination in specified studies. This plan has been the means of keeping the 
children in the rural schools two or three years longer and making the attend- 
ance more regular. At present the superintendent, assisted by six teachers, 
conducts the examinations at seven different centers, the same day. The next 
day they meet, examine the papers, and announce the results. From eighty to 
one hundred scholars have presented themselves annually for several vears, 
and from sixty to seventy-five of them have been successful. The school directors 
are required by law to send the successful ones to the nearest high school and pay 
their tuition. This becomes an additional incentive to more regular attendance, 
and the plan as carried out has been very beneficial to the school interests of the 
county. 

A Teachers' Institute is held in the county each year, at which every 
teacher in the county, outside of the city of Chester, must be present, unless 
satisfactory reason for absence is given the county superintendent. Three dol- 
lars daily is allowed the teachers for attendance at the institute, and a like 
amount deducted from salaries for non-attendance. 

In conclusion it must be noted that, all through the county, good school 
buildings is the rule. The furniture and equipment of the schools is of the 
best modern type; ventilation, light and heat is carefully considered in all 
new buildings; and ample playgrounds surround each school. The teaching 
ability of the instructors is high. Salaries, if not always adequate, are the 
highest in the state outside of a few cities, and there is a "free school 
for every child," as contemplated by the fathers of the public school system. 
While all concerned in bringing about these most excellent results are deserv- 
ing of high praise, too much cannot be said of the results accomplished under 
the present and for twenty-six years past. Superintendent A. G. C. Smith. 

HIGHER INSTITUTIONS. 

Haz'erford College. — Although there is no documentary evidence to the 
effect that the founding of Friends' Central School, afterward Haverford 
School and Haverford College, was due to the great schism which in 1827 
rent asunder the Society of Friends in America, the coincidence of time points 
to that supposition. At the yearly meeting of Friends held in Philadelphia in 
x8,'^o, a committee was appointed consisting of five Friends from each Quar- 
terly Meeting, to "enter fully into a consideration in all its parts, of the deeply 
interesting subject of the right education of our youth." That there was 



452 DELAWARK COUNTY 

great feeling on the subject uf a school exclusively for Friends is evidenced by 
the following extract from an article which appeared in a Friends' publication 
of the day: "It is a fact which, although painful, ought to be known to our 
members, that many children of Friends are placed at the colleges of other re- 
ligious societies, such as Yale, Princeton, iMuhlenberg's on Long Island, and at 
the Roman Catholic College in Maryland. The latter has frequently had as 
many as six or eight at once." 

A corporation which was independent of the Yearly Meeting was formed 
for the proposed institution, which met on the 30th day, i2mo, 1830, and ef- 
fected the first organization for the management of the school, as follows: 
Secretary, Henry Cope ; treasurer, Benjamin H. Warder ; managers — Samuel 
Bettle, Thomas P. Cope, Thomas C. James, John Paul, Isaac Davis, Abraham 
L. Pennock, John G. Hoskins, Thomas Evans, Daniel B. Smith, Thomas Kim- 
ber, Charles Yarnall, George Stewardson, Isaac Collins, Samuel B. Morris, 
Bartholomew Wistar, John Gummere, Thomas Cock, Samuel Parsons, Lindley 
Murray, Samuel F. Mott, John Griscom, Gerard T. Hopkins, Joseph King 
Jr., and Benjamin W. Ladd. The new managers were authorized to select a 
site and to purchase ground for the school, which, after extensive investigation 
and deliberation, they finally did — "an oblong tract of one hundred and ninety- 
eight and a half acres, lying on both sides of the Haverford road, near the ten- 
mile stone, and extending from that road to the Pennsylvania railroad, being 
nearly south of the eight-mile stone on the Lancaster turnpike." 

After the incorporation of the organization as the Haverford School As- 
sociation, the selection of a head and a corps of instructors for the infant insti- 
tution was considered seriously, the final choice for. superintendent falling upon 
Samuel Hilles, of Wilmington, Delaware, a man of singular gentleness and 
sweetness of character. Affiliated with him as the faculty were Dr. Joseph 
Thomas, the distinguished author of Thomas' "Biographical Dictionary" and 
Lippincott's "Pronouncing Gazeteer of the World," instructor in Latin and 
Greek ; John Gummere, instructor in mathematics ; and Daniel B. Smith. The 
latter was one of the best loved of the host of noble men who have graced 
Haverford College as members of the faculty. His genial companionable spirit 
made him a favorite of the .students, a regard which continued no less in the 
class room than in recreation hours, and made the lesson periods more endura- 
ble and the lessons more understandable. 

One of the principles which characterized the early days of the school was 
the enforcement upon the students of an adherence to the "doctrines and testi- 
monies of the Society of Friends." Early in its history it held a position as 
merely a Friends' hoarding school, later, as it broadened its course of study, 
enlarged its enrollment capacity and was incorporated as a college in 1S56, it 
gradually grew into the Haverford College of to-day, historic, strong in vitality 
and usefulness, an educational center from which an ever-widening stream of 
graduates goes forth yearly. 

To give a detailed history of Haverford College through all the stages of 
its development would require a volume the size of the one containing this 



DELAWARE COUNTA" 453 

sketch. It is therefore necessary to touch 1)Ut Hghtly upon the advancement 
of the school, its steady increase in size and influence until overcome by disas- 
ter in 1845, when lack of funds compelled the managers to close its doors. The 
dark years from 1845 to 1848, when the ultimate fate of the institution was in 
grave doubt, must be passed over with only a mention of the valiant efforts of 
those who labored so desperately for its revival. In 1848 the school was 
reopened, with Lindley Murray Moore as superintendent, and once more the 
institution entered upon what promised to be a prosperous career, a promise 
that has been more than fulfilled. 

One phase of the college life at Haver ford that has probably done more 
than any one thing towards making the Haverford man what is commonly 
known as "well-read," that is, truly well-educated, has been the society life. 
The large number of literary and debating societies that have been organized 
at Haverford since the founding of the school is eloquent testimony to the 
effect that the students were quite as interested in their mental improvement 
and the acquirement of culture as the most zealous of their professors. Of 
the societies of this nature the one first organized was the Loganian, founded 
1st month 21, 1834, and reorganized 5th month 29. 1848. This was a literary 
society of high rank, composed of the college men whose ambitions were above 
mere pleasure seeking, and who were banded together for the sake of com- 
mon fellowship and improvement. The society was the owner of a rather 
e.xtensive library, and many a member confessed to a love of good literature 
acquired from the numerous volumes which lined the walls of the library. 

The Penn Literary Society existed about 1840. The purpose of its organ- 
ization was the promotion of the declamatory art, debating being their chief 
exercise. The Haverford Literary Society existed contemporaneously with 
the Penn Literary Society, its object being much the same. Other minor socie- 
ties, whose term of life was shorter and whose activities were more fitful were 
the Franklin Literary Society, the Historical, the Rhetorical, and a society 
which, because of its cumbersome title, was universally known as the C. F. 
D. D., its full name being Circulus Familiariter Disputando Delectandoque. 

The Haverford Lyceum was a literary society organized loth month 25, 
1853, which soon disintegrated, its chief distinction being that it was the par- 
ent institution of the Athenaeum Society. Another organization which led 
but a brief career was the Henry Society formed in 1854. A society whose 
purpose should have insured it a longer existence was in the Euethean Society. 
Its object was the promotion of good morals among the student body, its motto 
being "Mens sibi conscia recti." The society was in reality the forerunner of 
College Y. M. C. A. work, and with a stronger backing would have endured 
until supplanted by that association. 

The most famous of Haverford's societies were the Athenaeum and the 
Everett. The former of these was established 12th month 17, 1855, by twelve 
students— George M. Tatum, James E. Carmalt, Thomas C. Steele, Stephen 
LTnderhill, Theodore H. Morris, James W . Cromwell. Walter G. Hopkins, 
Edwin Tomlinson. Roberts \'aux, John S. Witmer, George Wood, and Wil 



454 DELAWARE COUNTY 

Ham II. W'dixl. In the preamble of the constitution it was stated that "Being 
sensible of the influence of sound learning in disciplining the mind and matur- 
ing the understanding, and also being desirous of cultivating in themselves a 
correct taste for literature and a love for scientific pursuits, do hereby asso- 
ciate themselves together for these purposes." The organization acquired a 
large membership and flourished from the start. Great rivalry was felt 
between it and the Everett Society, and for years there was great competition 
in regard to membership, first one and then the other forging ahead in the 
race. At length, because of the increasing activites of the college, it was 
deemed expedient to effect a consolidation of the two, which was accordingly 
done. 

The grounds of the college have been increased until they now cover two 
l.undred and twenty-five acres, some of which is woodland, although, under 
the direction of a skillful landscape gardener, sixty acres were laid out in a 
level, smoothly rolling lawn, intersected by walks shaded by century-old trees, 
and plentifully dotted with shrubs and low-growing trees, making a campus 
unexcelled by any in the country. Here and there upon the grounds one comes 
upon a quaint old building, a relic of former days, standing proudly beside its 
fellow of a later day, the old mingling with the new and giving the whole an 
historical and almost a classical appearance. The various buildings which have 
been occupied by the college are as follows : Founders Hall, erected in 1833 : 
the Observatory, built in 1852 and enlarged in 1883 ; Alumni Hall, established 
in 1863 and enlarged to meet the growing needs of the library ; Ilarclay Hall, 
a dormitory, erected in 1877 by friends of the college ; the Mechanical Labora- 
tory, built in 1884. supplanted by a new building in i8go which was burned in 
1896 and whose place was taken by Whitall Hall, a building of three stories ; 
the Biological Laboratory, established in 1886: the Physical Laboratory, built 
in 1888; Chase Hall, for recitations and lectures, erected in 1888; and the 
Cricket Shed, built in 1893. In later years, through the lively interest and 
hearty cooperation of the Alumni Association building operations have been 
progressing at a rapid rate and the college is being supplied. with an equipment 
of which it may justly be proud. The augmenting of Haverford's natural beau- 
ties with architecture fitting gives an ideal result, and with the thousand mem- 
ories and attachments connected with each spot, it is small wonder that the 
wandering steps of the alumnus ever bring him back to the place he came to 
know and love so well. Haverford's spell, once woven, is never broken, and 
the charm of the historic school begins to wind itself about the new student 
even while he is in the throes of his first homesickness, so that the final part- 
ing with the college in which he has spent four such joyous years is to him far 
more sad and cheerless than the leaving of his home upon matriculation. 

The buildings which have been erected in recent years are Lloyd Hall, a 
dormitory built in 1899: the large and finely equipped g>'mnasium, completed 
in 1900; Roberts Llall, the gift of Lucy Branson Roberts, with college offices 
and a large auditorium, erected in 1902; Merion Hall, a dormitory remodeled 
in 1903 from the old Havcrford Grammar School Building; a wing added ta 



DELAWARE COUNTY 455 

the Founders Hall in 1905 for dining-rooms and a kitchen; a heating and light- 
ing plant, installed in 1906; an enlargement of Merion Hall in 1907; Haver- 
ford Union, a building erected in 1909. presented to the college by Alfred Per- 
cival Smith, of the class of 1884; the Chemical Laboratory, built in 1910; and 
the Infirmary, completed in 1912, the gift of John T. Morris, of the class of 
1867, and a new section of Lloyd Hall the gift of the Strawbridge family in 
1913. In addition to these buildings there are a number of residences on the 
campus, occupied mainly by professors, thus making quite a college com- 
munity. 

Haverford College has had the prominent place it has held in the world of 
athletics, not always because it has turned out championship teams, but for the 
sjiirit and enthusiasm that has ever characterized her representatives. No team 
could ever be sure of a victory over Haverford, no matter how strong its line- 
up, for in the joy of contest and the glory of battle Haverford teams often be- 
came the possessors of prowess to which, on paper, they had absolutely no 
right. For many years cricket was chiefly indulged at the college, and in this 
sport the college ranked high. In due time foot-ball and soccer found their 
places in the recreation of the students, and at the present time the college is 
represented by many teams. 

Previous mention has been made of the societies which have at different 
times existed in the college. Of these only one remains, the Loganian Society, 
whose chief object is for instruction and practice in debating. The Classical 
Club is an organization for the study of the life and literature of the Greeks 
and Romans. Membership is held by both faculty and students. There \> 
also a chapter of the Phi Beta Kappa, an honor fraternity. The Campus 
Club is an association for the study and preservation of trees, shrubs, birds, 
and wild animals found on the campus and in the vicinity. Another college 
organization is the Haverford Union, open to alumni and students, whose 
aim is the promotion of social fellowship at the college. It is housed in a 
large and handsome building, the gift of Alfred Percival Smith, '84, and has 
a library, comfortable lounging rooms, and sleeping accommodations. 

The periodicals of the institution are the Haverford College Bulletin, pub- 
lished eight times a year by the college ; "The Haverfordian" issued monthly by 
the students ; and the "College Weekly,' also edited by the students. 

Haverford College has real estate worth .$1,500,000, and a productive 
endowment of $1,800,000. It owns a library of 60,000 volumes and many 
thousand pamphlets, and an excellent equipment in Astronomy, Biology, Chem- 
istry and Physics. Its students nearly all reside in dormitories on the College 
grounds and take their meals in a common dining room. Picked by Entrance 
Examinations, and kept to their work by the stimulus of close association with 
the Professors and the necessity for a good record, they hold a high place at 
graduation. They are received at Harvard and other universities on equal 
standing with their own graduates, in advanced scholarly or technical work. 

The College has given its energies to general cultural studies rather than 
professional. All of its courses embrace languages, literature, science and the 



456 DELAW'ARI': COUNTY 

otiicr essentials of a liberal education, and it is in this field that it has earned 
its laurels. 

The curriculum of the college permits it to award degrees in three courses, 
arts, science, and engineering. The faculty is large and efficient for the num- 
ber of students, and in 1913 is as follows: Isaac Sharpless, Sc. D., LL.D., 
L. II. D., president and professor of ethics; Allen Clapp Thomas, A. M., 
librarian and professor emeritus of history ; Lyman Beecher Hall, Ph.D., 
John l'"arnuin, professor of chemistry; Francis Barton Gummere, Ph.D., 
1,1,. I)., Litt. D., professor of English literature; Henry Sherring Pratt, Ph.D., 
David .Scull, professor of biology; James Addison Babbitt, A. M., M. D., pro- 
fessor of hygiene and physical education; Rufus Matthew Jones, A. M., Litt. 
D., professor of philosophy; Oscar Marshall Chase, S. M., registrar and 
instructor in drawing; Albert Sidney Bolles, Ph.D., LL. D., lecturer on com- 
mercial law and banking; Don Carlos Barrett, Ph.D., professor of economics; 
Albert Elmer Hancock, Ph.D., professor of English ; Legh Wilber Reid, Ph.D., 
professor of mathematics; William Wilson Baker, Ph.D., associate profes- 
sor of Greek; Frederic Palmer, Jr., Ph.D., dean and associate professor of 
])liysics; Leon Hawley Rittenhouse, M. E., associate professor of mechanics 
and electricity; Richard Mott Guoimere, Ph.D., associate professor of Latin; 
Thomas Kite Brown, Jr., A. M., instructor in German; Alexander Guy Hol- 
born Spiers, Ph.D., associate professor of romance languages ; Rayner Wick- 
ershain Kelsey, Ph.D., associate professor of history; Albert Harris Wilson, 
Ph.D., associate professor of mathematics ; Henry Joel Cadbury, Ph.D., instruc- 
tnr in Biblical literature; Edward Eugen Krauss, instructor in physical train- 
ing ; X'ictor Oscar Freeburg, A. M., instructor in English ; William Otis Saw- 
telle, .\. W., instructor in physics; William Henry Collins, A. M., superinten- 
dent of grounds and buildings ; Helen Sharpless, assistant librarian ; Charles 
Otis Young, S. B., assistant in chemical laboratory ; Paul \\'. Weaver, assistant 
in engineering. 

The corporation governing Haverford College has as its officers T. Wistar 
Brown, |)resident ; J. Stogdell Stokes, secretary ; and Asa S. Wing, treasurer. 
There is also a board of managers of twenty- four members, of which the pres- 
ident of the corporation is president, ex officio. 

The present jiresident of the college. Isaac Sharpless, .Sc. D., LL.D., L.H. 
1)., h.-is hi'ld that ])osition of honor, trust, and responsiljility for twenty-six 
years. He was born 12th month I'l, 1S48, and attended the Friends'. Boarding 
Sciiool at Westtowii. Pennsylvania, whencr he was graduated in 1867, and 
wIktc he taught Uiv the four \ears following his graduation. In 1S73 he 
was graduated S. 1!. from the Lawrence Scientific School at Harvard, and 
two years later his connection with Haverford began, when he was called to 
fill the chair of Mathematics at the college. In 1879 he became professor of 
astronomy, a subject upon which lie is a well-known authority. In 1884 he 
was made dean of the college, and on May 17, 1887. his formal inauguration as 
president was held. 

Doctor .Sharpless is the author of several scientific work's, and in connec- 



PUBLIC UBRARY 

A8TOR, ^^''°\':;*° 

TILDE N FOUNDATION*^ 



DELAWARE COUNTY 457 

tion with Professor Phillips, of West Chester State Normal School, has pub- 
lished treatises upon astronomy and physics. In early recognition of his scien- 
tific researches the University of Pennsylvania, in 1883, conferred upon him 
the honorary degree of Doctor of Science. 

He is also the author of a volume on "English Education," and of several 
treatises on Pennsylvania History — "A Quaker Experiment ui Government," 
"Quakerism and Politics" and "Two Centuries of Pennsylvania History." 

In the quarter of a century that Dr. Sharpless has been at the head of 
Haverford College, the institution has had an era of unprecedented growth and 
expansion, due to the loyal support of many friends. 

Swarthnwre College. — The Society of Friends, finding its immediate im- 
pulse in the Puritan Revolution, shared the sympathy of the Puritans in a 
widespread and thorough-going system of education. Throughout the subse- 
quent history of the society it has laid especial stress upon the importance of 
education, not merely for the sake of a better understanding of the Bible af- 
forded thereby, but because it has recognized as man's highest duty the culti- 
vation of every means by which the Inner Light may be best comprehended, 
and the voice of the Christ Within may be distinctly heard and most effectually 
obeyed. The founders of the Society emphasized the value of education as the 
handmaid of religion, and when the Friends, very early in their history, turned 
their faces towards America, they brought with them this belief as the pal- 
ladium of their intellectual and civil liberty. 

It was not so much the meeting-house and the block-house, as in New 
England, nor the church and the courthouse, as in Virginia, as it was the 
meeting-house and the school which served as the bulwark of Quakerism in 
the wilds of the New World. The materializing influences of the Colonial 
struggle for existence were counteracted by the ideals of a common-school edu- 
cation : and when, in the first half of the nineteenth century, the more insidious 
influences of commercialism, following in the wake of the industrial revolution, 
asserted themselves so powerfully in .America, the Friends came to appreciate 
the higher education as an idealizing force in sustaining the spiritual life. It 
is noteworthy that this conviction was first definitely expressed by Friends who 
dwelt in that part of America where the doctrine that "Cotton is King" had led 
:o the enthronement of human slavery as well. 

Benjamin Hallowell, of Alexandria,' Virginia, and Martha Tyson, of Bal- 
timore, Maryland, in the dark days just before the Civil War, made so earnest 
an appeal to their fellow-Friends in Baltimore that the Yearly meeting of that 
city appointed a committee to promote their plan of establishing a Friendly 
institution of higher education. This committee issued in the first year of the 
war an address to the Friends in the Middle States and Maryland urging "the 
establishment of a boarding-school for Friends" children ami for the education 
of teachers," and it began the collection of $150,000, the sum of money deemed 
necessary for the purpose. During the four years of the Great Struggle which 
"^olved the problem of slavery for America, the Friends furthered their educa- 
tional project, and in 1864 a charter was secured from the General Assembly 



45« DELAWARE COUNTY 

and Governor of Pennsylvania incorporating Swarthmore College. This name 
was derived from Swarthmore Hall, the Northern England home of George 
Fox, the founder of the Society of Friends. Its first suggestion for the college- 
is ascribed to Benjamin Hallowell's wife Margaret, although Martha Tyson, 
suggested and advocated it at the meeting in which the name was chosen. 

The second section of the charter states thus succinctly the purposes of the 
corporation : 'That the said corporation be authorized to establish and maintain 
a school and college, for the purpose of imparting to persons of both sexes 
knowledge in the various branches of science, literature and the arts ; and the 
board of managers shall have power to confer upon the graduates of the said 
College, and upon others, when, by their proficiency in learning they may be 
entitled thereto, such degrees as are conferred by other colleges or universities 
in the United States." 

The site chosen for the college, and purchased in 1864, combined the vir- 
tues of country environments with easy access to a great city. It w^as a large 
tract (now- comprising over two hundred acres") of beautiful lawn and wood- 
land, about ten miles west of Philadelphia and overlooking the Delaware river 
and its valley, all of which are so rich in historic memorials of the Quaker 
Founders of Pennsylvania. The United States postal authorities had given- 
to the post office standing on the edge of the college tract the name of West- 
dale, in commemoration of the fact that Benjamin W'est, the first great Ameri- 
can artist and president of the Royal Academy, had been born in a house still 
standing on the college campus — and had there given the first crude expres- 
sion to the forms of beauty which his eye perceived amid the modest environ- 
ments of his parents' Quaker home. 

The selection of a site was followed in the same year by the appointment 
of a president. The choice of the managers for this important position fell 
upon Edward Parrish, of Philadelphia, who was at the time professor of ma- 
teria medica in the Philadelphia College of Pharmacy, and president of the 
American Pharmaceutical Association. Retiring from his arduous duties in 
the middle of the second year after the college opened its doors to students. 
Dr. Parrish was appointed soon afterward by President Grant to undertake a 
friendly mission to the Indians, and in the course of its performance he died, 
September 9, 1872, at Fort Sill, Indian Territory, 

It was not until the second year after President Parrish's appointment that 
the corner-stone of the first college building was laid (]\Iay 10, 1866), and 
three years more elapsed before its doors were opened to students (November 
8, 1869). The delay in commencing and completing the erection of the first 
building was due to the fact that the requisite sum of money ($304,000) had 
come in slowly, and to the determination that the college should not enter on 
its career burdened by a load of debt. To this first and largest building has 
been given the name of Parrish Hall, in commemoration of the services of 
the first president. 

Twelve years after its completion (September 23, 1881), Parrish Hall 
was almost completely destroyed by fire, nnly the solid stone wall and one sec- 



DELAWARE COUNTY 43' >' 

tion containing the Friem's' Historical Library being left standing. This mi.-.- 
fortune, instead of being fatal to the young and struggling institution, only 
served to rally its friends the more enthusiastically to its aid, and by June of 
the following year the commencement exercises were held as usual in the re- 
built though still unplastered assembly hall ; and in the following October the 
students were again installed in the resurrected building. During the interval 
of rebuilding, the college had taken up its abode in two large boarding-houses 
in the borough of Aledia three miles distant, where, with the loss of only a fort- 
night and of three students, it held its own against cramped quarters and inade- 
quate equipments. The magazine published by the students for the 
past thirty-one years has borne the name of The Phoenix, in commemoration 
of the conflagration and the swift and complete rejuvenation which followed. 

The students who first ca.me to Swarthmore numbered 170, and comprised 
82 girls and 88 boys. This approximate equality has been preserved to the 
present day, and has facilitated the maintenance of co-education. \\'hen 
Swarthmore was founded, co-education had been adopted by three colleges and 
one State University (Indiana) in the west, but it was still looked upon with 
doubt or disfavor in the eastern states. The theory and practice of the Society 
of Friends in home and church determined them, however, in their organiza- 
tion of school and college as well ; and throughout the forty-four years of 
Swarthmore's history their faith in co-education — in "college life in a home 
setting" — has been justified and strengthened. 

In order to encourage, and, when necessary, to make possible post-grad- 
uate study, especially on the part of those desirous of teaching, five fellow- 
ships of from $400 to S525, each, have been established. 

More than seventy scholarships varying in sums from $25 to $350 are 
awarded annually by the college and individuals to undergraduate students 
of bright promise and limited means. 

The completion of Parrish Hall in 1869 has been followed by the erection 
of 20 other college buildings. Most of these are built of Delaware county's 
famous building stone, and they form a group which dominate the Borough 
and serve as a land-mark for many miles around. 

By 1871 the collection of books, which had commenced before the col- 
lege opened, had become large enougli to justify the appointment of a librar- 
ian ; and ten years later there were 3600 volumes in the general library. 
These were all destroyed in the fire of 1881 ; but the friends of the college 
speedily repaired this disaster, and the number of bound volumes has grown 
to over 40,000. The Friends' Historical Library, founded in 1871 by Anson 
Lapham, of Skaneateles, New York, contains over 6,000 books and pamphlets, 
which, together with photographs and manuscripts, form one of the most 
valuable collections extant of materials relating to the history of the Society 
of Friends. 

The five scientific departments have been equipped with adequate labo- 
ratory facilities, the expense and labor of whose collection and arrangement 
have been borne by many individuals. Perhaps the name which stands out 



46o DELAWARE COUNTY 

most promiiuMilIy is that of Dr. Joseph Leidy, who for eleven years before 
the tire, and for four years after that disaster destroyed the first fruits of his 
labor, devoted himself with peculiar assiduity and success to building up the 
biological and geological museums and laboratories. 

Commencing in 1869 with 170 students, the number rose to 289 in 1883. 
The gradual cutting-off of the preparatory .school began soon afterward,s and 
the number declined until, in 1897-8, five years after the abolition of the pre- 
paratory classes, it reached 162. From that time the number slowly increased 
to 207 in 1901 ; and beginning with the new era of 1902 the number has risen 
more rapidly to 420 in 191 3- 14. The present number comprises college stu- 
dents only, and as such repre.sents a gain of more than 1500 per cent, over the 
26 college students of the year the college opened 44 years ago. Although the 
great majority of the students have always come from the four Middle States 
and Maryland, they have come to represent in the present year twenty-five 
states of the Union, extending from Maine to Hawaii, and from Florida to 
Montana. 

The first class graduated in 1873 and the 41st in 1913. The total num- 
ber of graduates is 1265, of whom 27 women and 36 men have died; 
33 women and 84 men have received second degrees at Swarthmore, with 
4 as the smallest in 1885, a"'! 83 as the largest in 19 13. The twenty classes 
graduated before 1892, when the preparatory school was discontinued aver- 
aged 15; the twenty-one classes graduated since that time have averaged 43. 
A number of the children of alumni have entered the college, and several of 
these have also graduated from the college. 

Although one of the younger colleges, with a comjjarativelv small num- 
ber of alumni, Swarthmore is justly proud of the useful and distinguished rec- 
ord of her sons and daughters; and one of her chief causes of gratitude as - 
well as one of her most marked characteristics, is the enthusiastic loyalty and 
self-sacrificing devotion with which her alumni have encircled her spirit, even 
as the ivies planted by departing classes have enveloped her walls. 

Commencing in 1869 with fourteen instructors, the number has grown 
to 44; at first there were three resident professors, now there are 15; then 
there were four separate dejiartnients, now there are 18. This increase not 
so much in the number of instructors as in the number of full professorships 
and departments of study, is an emphatic evidence of the growth of the insti- 
tution into full college rank. For example, the subjects of ethics, chemistry 
and natural science were first taught by an instructor, who acted also as presi- 
dent of the college; at present there are 5 (le|)artinents in languages and litera- 
ture, 5 in science, 7 in history, economics, philosophy, law, art, political science, 
and education, and the department of physical training. 

In accordance with the catalog of 1912-13 the 44 instructors have been 
students in 24 colleges and universities; 12 have studied in 16 universi- 
ties in Europe ; they have received degrees from 35 colleges and universities ; 
10 are .Swarthmore graduates; 7 have taught at Swarthmore for more than 
10 years each. 



DKLAW ARE COL'NTV 461 

Among the historically prominent names are those of Dr. Joseph Leidy, 
who gave weekly lectures in natural history from 1870 to 1886; Dr. Joseph 
Thomas, who gave weekly lectures in English literature from 1873 to 1887 ; 
Professor Eugene Paulin, who filled the chair of French from 1872 to 1888; 
Arthur Beardsley, professor of engineering from 1872 to 1898, and the organ- 
izer and care-taker of the Friends' Historical Library from its establishment 
to the present time; Susan J. Cunningham, who had charge of the depart- 
ment of mathematics and astronomy from the opening of the college until 
1906; and Dean Elizabeth Powell Bond, who for twenty years (1886-1906^ 
infused into the social relations of the college those elements of sweetness 
and light which Iiave done so much to realize Swarthmore's ideal of "a col- 
lege life in a home setting." An important source of scholarly and moral 
impulse in the college has been lectures delivered each year by men and women 
of high character and distinction ; among these have been Goldwin Smith, 
Thomas Hughes, Matthew Arnold, Mary A. Livermore, Julia Ward Howe, 
Thomas Went worth Higginson, William Goodyear, David Starr Jordan, 
Charles Wagner, Baroness von Suttner. John W. Foster, Jacob A. Riis, An- 
drew D. White, Woodrow Wilson. William J. Bryan and Horace Howard 
Furness. 

During the year and a half of Dr. Parrish's tenure of the presidency after 
college opened, Edward H. Magill, was professor of Latin and French and 
principal of the Preparatory School. When Dr. Parrish resigned in the mid- 
dle of the year 1870-71, the president's duties devolved -upon Dr. Magill, who 
was formally inaugurated president in June 1872 and continued to fill that office 
until June 1889. After one year spent abroad, Dr. Magill returned to assume 
the professorship of French, whose duties devolved upon him alone from 1890 
to 1900; in the latter year an assistant professor was appointed, and from 
1902 to 1907 Dr. Magill was emeritus professor, lecturing occasionally on 
French and other themes. Thus it is seen that Dr. Magill's name and ser- 
vices link the earliest days of the college with the recent past, and form a gold- 
en chain bright with achievements and lustrous with the affections of an 
entire generation of college students. Among his more important services 
to the college should be mentioned three things which were due in a large 
measure to him : the recovery from the great fire, the abolition of the prepar- 
atory school, the collection of a sum of money for the endowment of a profes- 
sorship which led immediately to the endowment of three more. To the teach- 
ing of French he contributed a grammar and readings, and the system of 
international correspondence ; and to the cause of education in general he con- 
tributed the foundation of the Association of Colleges and Preparatory Schools 
of the Middle States and Maryland. 

William Hyde Appleton, professor of Greek from 1872 to 1905, and of 
German and English for fifteen year periods each, was acting president in 
1889-1890, and president in 1890-91. Preeminently a teacher, and finding his 
chief happiness in filling his students' minds with an abiding enthusiasm for 
the good, the true, and the beautiful in the literature of ancient Greece, of Ger- 



^62 DELAWARE COUNTY 

many, and of England, Professor Appleton reluctantly accepted the office of 
president, and gladly returned as soon as possible to his professor's chair. 
Although the diplomas of twenty-four graduates bear his signature as presi- 
dent, he is best known to a thousand other Swarthmore students as the gen- 
tleman and scholar who first inspired them with a discriminating appreciation 
of the best things in the world's literature. 

Charles De Garmo, at present the head of Cornell University's School of 
Pedagogy, came to Swarthmore as president in 1891, and for seven years de- 
voted himself to its varied interests. His own chief interest and his chief suc- 
cess at Swarthmore lay in developing and organizing the course of study. The 
members of his class in pedagogy realized his logical strength and keenness as a 
teachei , and his colleagues in the faculty profited by the stimulus of his scholar- 
ship. 

\\'illiam W. Birdsall was elected Swarthmore's fifth president in 1898, 
and served a four years' term in that capacity. Having been engaged in the 
work of secondary schools during the twenty years since his graduation from 
college in 1878, President Birdsall was anxious to strengthen the relations be- 
tween the college and its natural constituents, the Friends" preparatory schools, 
and he devoted himself largely to that task, resigning the presidency in 1902. 

Joseph Swain coming to Swarthmore as presitlent in 1902, at the end of 
the first generation of the college's career, commenced a new era in its history. 
Having found a most successful and congenial field of usefulness as president 
of Indiana University, with which as a student, professor and president he had 
been associated for twenty-one years, it was with great difficulty that he was 
persuaded to accept Swarthmore's leadership. One of the conditions of his 
acceptance was that the college should be placed upon a solid financial basis 
within three years by increasing its endowment from $400,000 to $1,000,000; 
this condition was fulfilled before the Commencement of 1905. The introduc- 
tion of the system of prescribed, major, and elective studies, which Dr. Swain 
had helped to inaugurate and administer in Leland Stanford Junior and Indiana 
Universities ; the strengthening of the faculty and the endowment of profes- 
sorships ; the erection of thirteen buildings ; a closer relationship between the 
college and the public school system, with which he has been prominently iden- 
tified in the West ; a marked increase in the number of students ; and the in- 
trodiK-tion of regular and frequent means of publicity, have followed his inaug- 
uration eleven years ago. 

Cro::cr Theological Seminary. — A direct result of the deep interest in the 
cause of cdncatinn displayed by John P. Crozer during his lifetime, this insti- 
tution for the preparation of men for a holy calling stands not only as a 
monument to his memory, but also as a testimony to the public spirit and the 
generosity of his widow, sons, and daughters. The location is a beautiful 
elevation overlooking the Delaware river, at Upland, selected by Mr. Crozer, 
on which he erected a substantial stone building that was opened as a 
secular school in 1858. Many causes contributed to the non-success of 
this school, which only continued a few years under Mr. Crozer's patron- 




CBOZER THEOLOGICAL SEMINARY. 



THE Ny ^' 



DELAWARE COUNTY 463 

age. After his death, his children and widow, desiring that the property might 
in some way be used for the purpose intended, were favorably disposed toward 
a proposition made by one of their number that a school for the preparation 
of young men for the ministry of the Baptist church be therein established. 
Leading Baptists finally removed all objections by securing the consent of the 
officials of Lewisburg L'niversity for the removal of their theological depart- 
ment to the new institution, when it should be ready. Accordingly, on Xovem- 
ber 20, 1866, the Crozer heirs jointly endowed the new seminary with land, 
"buildings, and invested funds, amounting in value to $275,000, "a princely 
gift." On April 4, 1867, the legislature of Pennsylvania incorporated the 
board of trustees of Crozer Theological Seminary, with Samuel A. Crozer as 
president of the board. The first president of the seminary was Henry G. 
Weston, D. D., LL.D., a minister of the Baptist church, a man of learning, 
piety, tact, and great organizing ability. The first faculty consisted of Rev. 
G. D. B. Pepper, D. D., a graduate of Amherst, professor of Christian The- 
ology, and Rev. Howard Osgood, D. D., a graduate of Harvard, professor of 
Hebrew and Church History. The first annual catalogue contained the names 
of twenty students, and at the first commencement exercises, in June, 1870, 
a class of eight was graduated. As the school prospered, new chairs were 
established: Biblical Interpretation, a separate chair of Church History, Sys- 
tematic Theology, Old Testament Exegesis, Biblical Theolog}' ; and in 1900 
a chair for the Interpretation of the English New Testament. Courses of 
study have been revised several times, the general plan now including three 
distinct courses — the regular course, including the study of the Scriptures in 
toth Hebrew and Greek, and two years in Systematic Theology: the Greek- 
course, identical with the regular, except that English is substituted for He- 
brew in the study of the Old Testament; the English course, in which the 
English Bible only is studied, and a shorter course of one year in Systematic 
Theology. The first president of the institution. Dr. Weston, continued its 
Iionored head for forty-two years, then was succeeded in 1909 by Professor 
Milton G. Evans, D. D. The number of students steadily increased from 
20 to 56 in 1886, then in 1895 to 103, the last annual catalogue (1913) con- 
taining the names of 83 students. 

The founders have at various times made suttstantial additions to the orig- 
inal endowment fund, including $50,000 given by the children of Mrs. John P. 
Crozer after her death to endow in her name the chair of Preaching and Pas- 
toral Duties. The seminary campus contains twenty-five acres, heavily wooded 
with drives, shrubbery, and flower beds, making, with the handsome buildings, 
grounds unsurpassed, if equalled, among the theological schools of the LTnited 
States. The buildings consist of a main building, two hundred feet front, in 
substantial colonial architecture; Pearl Hall; and residences for faculty mem- 
bers. Pearl Hall is a large fire-proof library building, the gift of William 
Bucknell in memory of his wife, Margaret, who was a daughter of John P. 
Crozer. In addition to the cost of the hall, $30,000, he gave $25,000 for the 
immediate purchase of books, and $10,000 for an endowment fund. 



4^4 DELAWARE COUNTY 

The present faculty consists of Milton G. Evans, president, and Mrs. 
John r. Crozer, professor of Comparative Theology ; Barnard C. Taylor, pro- 
fessor of Old Testament Literature and Exegesis; Henry C. \'edder, professor 
of Church History ; Alvah S. Hobart, professor of Interpretation of the Eng- 
lisli New Testament, and secretary of the Faculty ; Eugene E. Ayres, professor 
of New Testament Literature and Exegesis; Edward B. Pollard, professor of 
Homilectics; Spenser B. Meeser, professor of Systematic Theology; Frank G. 
Lewis, librarian and instructor in Hebrew. The following are the instructors 
appointed by the faculty : Eli S. Reinhold, instructor in rhetoric and logic ; 

, instructor in elementary Greek; Silas S. Nefif, instructor in 

public speaking and reading ; Frank S. Dobbins, instructor in missions : Ed- 
ward ^L Stephenson, instructor in Sunday school method and pedagogy ; Carl- 
ton B. Sanford, director of physical training ; Eli S. Reinhold, registrar and di- 
rector of correspondence courses; Edith M. West, assistant librarian. The of- 
ficers of the present board of trustees are : George K. Crozer, president ; I'^ran- 
cis E. Weston, secretary ; Robert H. Crozer, treasurer. 

Inseparably linked with Crozer Theological Seminary, and bound to that 
institution with the associations of over forty years of continuous service, is 
the memory of Henry G. Weston. Beginning his connection with the seminary 
soon after its incorporation, as its first president, his tactful handling of all 
the school's problems brought it safely through a stormy infancy and into its 
full inheritance as an instrument for the preparation of men for the execution 
of the Great Commission. 

He was born in Lynn, Massachusetts, September ii, 1820, son of Rev. 
John E. Weston, who founded the first Baptist weekly publication in America. 
"The Christian Watchman," now known as "The Watchman." He prepared 
for college in Lynn Academy, graduating from Brown L^niversity in 1840. He 
at once began study in the Newton Theological Institution, but hereditary 
weakness of the lungs compelled him to abandon his studies before the end of 
his second year. To ofifset his physical weakness he began the practice of deep 
breathing out of doors for an hour or an hour and a half daily. Compelled to 
seek a more favorable climate, he went to Kentucky, and was ordained at 
Frankfort in 1843, spending the next three years as a missionary in Illinois. 
For thirteen years he was pastor of a Baptist church in Peoria, and from 1859 
10 1868 occupied the pulpit of the Madison Avenue Baptist Church, New- 
York City. The fruits of his pastorates were bountiful, his breath of human 
sympathy and lovable nature adding force to the doctrines he expounded from 
the Book he knew so well. A noble power was added to the educational world 
when Dr. Weston became president of Crozer Theological Seminary. Nature 
had intended him for a great preacher, had favored him with an impressive 
presence, a kindly bearing, and a voice powerful in volume and sympathetic in 
tone; but his qualifications and gifts as a teacher were no less abundant. His 
knowledge of human nature, his friendly aspect, his ready understanding and 
as ready humor, his loftiness of spirit and faith in mankind, all contributed to 
make him the honored and revered head of the seminarv, the confidant of the 



A8T0R, LENOX AND 
TILOEN FOUNDATIONS, 




X 

< 

i 



z 
< 
> 

-I 
>• 

(0 

z 
z 

UI 

a. 



DELAWARE COUNTY 465 

students, the "big brother" of the graduates, and the vital moving spirit of the 
entire institution. His magnetic personality was felt by all with whom he came 
into contact, and his absence from his accustomed place in morning chapel 
caused a void that persisted, whatever the occasion. When a delegation from 
a graduating class waited upon him to consider a change in the commencement 
program, he remarked, "You do not seem to be afraid of me, gentlemen," and 
in answer one of the committee, said, more in earnest than in jest, "You know. 
Doctor, that perfect love casteth out fear." His death, at the advanced age of 
eighty-nine years, was deeply and sincerely mourned by the wide circle of 
friends he had bound to him in spirit during the forty-one years of his con- 
nection with Crozer Theological Seminary. After his long life of labor and 
usefulness in the cause of the Master, his life with Him is surely one of perfect 
peace and happiness, confirmed and ratified by the Divine "Well done, thou 
good and faithful servant, enter thou into the joy of thy Lord." 

Pcnnsyk'ania Military College. — By act of Assembly, April 8, 1862, the 
Pennsylvania Military Academy was incorporated as a university under the 
title, Chester County Military Academy, which the court of common pleas of 
Chester county, on application for the board of trustees, immediately changed 
to Pennsylvania Military Academy, a name it held until the organization of a 
collegiate department, when the word "college" was substituted for "academy." 
Its first location was at West Chester, and as a military institution it was at 
once brought into the public eye by the enlistment of several of its students in 
the LInion army. For the first few years of its life the academy specialized 
in military instruction rather to the neglect of academic and scholarly pursuits, 
but peace between the states turned it again to the original purpose, and a high 
educational standard was set up which, through the six decades since its incep- 
tion, has never fallen, increasing, on the contrary, in scope and efficiency. At 
the close of the war, the buildings of the Crozer Normal School, which had 
been utilized by the United States government for hospitals but were then 
vacant, were procured by the officials of the academy, and the school was moved 
there in 1865. Three years later, the facilities at this site having been out- 
grown, a more spacious site was sought and found in its present location in 
Chester, northeast of the city, and an imposing group of buildings was here 
erected. The main edifice burned to the ground on the afternoon of February 
16, 1882, the fire originating in the laboratory from an unknown cause. 
Although the school organization was somewhat demoralized by this accident, 
twenty days later the regular routine of the institution was being followed in 
temporary quarters at Ridley Park. After the necessary adjustment of the 
losses by the insurance companies, plans were subriiitted and work begun upon 
a new building, of pretentious size and ornate architecture. Besides the main 
hall and laboratory, a large drill hall and a gymnasium were built, both fitting 
to perfection the purposes for which they were designed. The present grounds 
are upwards of twenty acres in extent, including cadet limits, dotted with the 
following college buildings : the College building, accommodating one hundred 
and fifty cadets, together with the resident members of the faculty and mili- 
31 



466 UELAW ARR COUNTY 

tary staff the Chemical Laboratory; the Theodore Hyatt Memorial Observ- 
atory; the Hospital building; the Drill Hall, and Cannon House; the Gym- 
nasium, and the Riding Hall. 

The courses of study include preparatory courses, courses in languages, 
and the collegiate — courses in civil engineering, chemistry and arts. The mili- 
tary department has an especially thorough course in military science, theo- 
reticat'aria~practical. The faculty is composed of college graduates of high 
standing in the educational world, well fitted to carry on the work of an insti- 
tution of such high scholastic standing. The combination of military and 
ordinary college life puts forth graduates of graceful carriage and vigorous 
powers of body, with habits of neatness, system, and punctuality, trained both 
to command and to obey, results obtained nowhere but iri a military school. 
Believing that physical well being is essential to the best mental effort, athletics 
are given a prominent place in the curriculum of the Pennsylvania Military 
College. All indoor sports are encouraged, while the outdoor games are 
indulged in by almost the entire body of students. The teams representing 
the college have gained a wide reputation for both the cleanness and excel- 
lence of their play, and the generous manner in which they accept victory, as 
well as the sportsmanlike reception they accord defeat. The optional cavalry 
drill is another department of the routine which properly comes under the 
head of athletics, and is wonderfully popular with the students. The char- 
acter of the drill gives it a peculiar value to an educational system, inasmuch 
as it developes alertness of mind and the prompt and vigorous response of 
body, together with a continuous demand for self-control under varying and 
trying conditions. 

The faculty and instructors of the college are as follows: Charles E. 
Hyatt, C. E., LL. D., president: Milo C. Burt, A. M., Ph.D., vice-president, 
professor of geology; Carl H. Miiller (graduate United States Military 
Academy), professor of military science and tactics; Levi P. Wyman, A. M., 
Ph.D., secretary and professor of chemistry: Herbert J. Wild, C. E. (mem- 
ber American Society of Civil Engineering), professor of engineering; Henry 

B. Sachs, A. M., Ph.D., professor of modern languages ; Carton S. Greene, 
A. M., professor of English language and literature ; Frank K. Hyatt, B. S.. 
professor of mathematics; Edward Brautigam, C. E., assistant professor of 
mathematics and instructor in military science and tactics; Harold C. Bird, 

C. E., assistant professor of engineering; Albert Blohm, A. M., assistant 
professor of Latin and English ; F. Otis Bryant, M. D., instructor in anatomy 
and physiolog}'; Stanley F. Brown, A. B., instructor in chemistry; Frank 
R. Thomas, Jr., C. E., instructor in mathematics and engineering field work ; 
Carleton B. Sanford, instructor in gymnastics. The board of trustees has the 
following officers: lion. John Wanamaker, president: Hon. William X. Ash- 
man, vice-president; Oliver B. Dickinson, secretary. 

IVilliavison Free Scliool of Mechanical Trades. — This school illustrates to 
the complete satisfaction of its friends the great value of vocational institutions 
of such character. When modern trade unionism closed the doors of many 




4 

o 

z 
< 

I 
o 



o 
o 

I 
o 

10 

u 

Ul 
IT 
u. 

z 
o 

CO 

< 



im^^^. 



PUBL\C 



UBR^R'^ 






DELAWARE COUNTY 467 

trades to all but a few apprentices, hundreds of American youths were de- 
prived of an opportunity to learn useful occupations that otherwise would 
have remained open to them. To reopen the closed doors is the mission of 
the vocational school. While not by any means the only trade school, nor the 
largest, it is apparent that under the apprenticeship system practiced at the 
Williamson School, has been found the ideal way to develop high-grade effi- 
cient workmen in the five trades there taught by instructional methods. Al- 
though the first class was not received until 1891, 965 pupils were graduated as 
follows up to the year 1913; Bricklayers, 223; carpenters, 210; stationary en- 
gineers, 95; machinists, 254; and pattern makers, 183. These graduates had 
not only pursued the three year courses as apprentices and had become intelli- 
gent, skillful journeymen mechanics, but the scientific and thorough methods 
of the courses had prepared them to embrace readily any opportunity for ad- 
vancement in their respective trades, and a large number of them have reached 
positions of special responsibility, while others have entered into business for 
themselves as contractors, builders, etc. 

The school was founded December i, 1888, by Isaiah V. Williamson, a 
wealthy merchant and philanthropist of Philadelphia, for the purpose of giving 
poor and deserving boys a good education, for training them in habits of moral- 
ity, economy, and industry, and for teaching them trades. Professional schools 
abounded but places were few where a knowledge of useful trades was taught 
and the boys provided for during their apprenticeship years. Himself a poor 
boy and the architect of his own fortunes, Mr. Williamson was desirous of us- 
ing his wealth to aid other boys along life's pathway and chose as one method 
the founding of this vocational school. He outlined the plan in his deed and 
gave a generous sum for endowing the school that bears his name. 

The school property consists of forty buildings located on two hun- 
dred and thirty acres of ground in the beautiful hill section of Delaware coun- 
ty, near Media, sixteen miles from Philadelphia, on the Central division of the 
Philadelphia, Baltimore & Washington railroad, and is also reached by trolley 
from Philadelphia, via Media. After suitable buildings were erected, pupils 
were received, but it was not until 1891 that all was in readiness for the first 
class. Admission is made in April of each year, none being received who are 
under sixteen or over eighteen years of age. Candidates are required to pass 
scholastic, moral, and physical examinations, after which a selection is made of 
the number the school can accommodate. Other things being equal, preference 
in admission is made in the following order : To those born in the city of Phil- 
adelphia : to those born in Bucks county, Pennsylvania ; to those born in Mont- 
gomery and Delaware counties, Pennsylvania ; to those born elsewhere in Penn- 
sylvania ; to those born in New Jersey. Only natives of the United States are 
eligible to admission and none are admitted save those who intend to follow 
for a livelihood the trades there taught them, and only those are accepted who 
are able-bodied, moral, intelligent, and possessed of a natural aptitude for me- 
chanical pursuits. The candidates v;ho are accepted are given a preliminary 
trial. Those acquitting themselves creditably are indentured for a term of 



468 DELAWARE COUNTY 

three years as apprentices to the trustees, each apprentice taking but one of the 
six courses, the assignment to the same being made at the lime of admission. 
These courses or trades are : agricuhure, inchiding a practical and scientific 
course in dairying, horticulture, general farming, and poultry raising, car- 
pentering; bricklaying, including range, furnace, and boiler setting; the ma- 
chinists trade in all its usual branches ; operating engineering, including care 
of steam and electrical appliances, steam-fitting, etc., and pattern making. The 
course for several years included only the five trades, agriculture having been 
recently added. 

The school is in session eight hours daily on five days of the week, and 
three hours on Saturday, each apprentice spending about one half of the time 
in the shops during the first year, the proportion gradually increasing until the 
last few months of the senior year, when it includes the entire day. During 
the last year of the course there is evening instruction three days in the week 
in strength of materials, higher mathematics, and theory of the steam engine. 
The branches taught in the academic de])artment are reading, writing, gram- 
mar, arithmetic, algebra, geometry, trigonometry, physical and political geog- 
raphy. United States history, English literature, physical science, physiology 
and hygiene, civil government, chemistry, elementary vocal music, theory of 
the steam engine, strength of materials, building construction, mechanical and 
freehand drawing, and estimating. The instruction in drawing pertains directly 
to the apprentice's particular trade. The school is not a factory and nothing is 
made for sale, its sole object being the benefit of its apprentices. The school 
is open all the year but regular exercises are suspended during the month of 
August, when such students as desire it are given a vacation. 

The domestic life of the school is that of good family government. The 
students are divided into families of twenty-four, each having its own matron 
and its own cottage, eared for by the occupants. The cottages contain no 
kitchens, dining-rooms, or laundries, these being located in other buildings. 
The central building is a larger stone and brick three story structure called the 
Administration building, although one family of twenty-four is located therein. 
Otherwise it is used for offices, class, and instruction rooms. By the terms of 
Mr. Williamson's deed of endowment, the benefits of the school are entirely 
free. This includes board, clothing and instruction during the entire course. 
The school is non-sectarian, but each student is required to name the church 
of his choice and thereafter attend its service regularly at its place of wor- 
ship in the neighborhood. 

The graduates' record is excellent. Ninety-five per cent, enter at once on 
trade work at wages of sixty to one hundred per cent, of full journeyman's 
pay, nearly all receiving the latter within twelve months, some within three, and 
not a few begin on full pay. Experience has proved the value of the instructional 
methods of the Williamson School, employers reporting that graduates are as 
an average more valuable and proficient than shop apprentices. The manage- 
ment of the school is in the hands of a board of trustees consisting of seven 
members, a president and superintendent. The board as now constituted con- 



DELAWARE COUNTY 469 

sists of Isaac H. Clothier, Lincoln Godfrey, Alfred C. Harrison, John Story 
Jenks, George H. McFadden, John M. Shrigley, John Wanamaker. The pres- 
ident is Harry S. Bitting. 

If there were any doubts as to the efficacy and practicality of the meth- 
ods pursued at Williamson School, a visit would dispel them all. To see the 
air of interest, industry, and activity that prevails everywhere, the well-disci- 
plined and orderly groups of boys eagerly absorbing information and instruc- 
tion from an expert mechanic or a professor, would prove to the most skep- 
tical observer that, with the spirit that is present, Williamson School must needs 
be a success. The most desirable result obtained by the course of training at 
the school is not that it sends forth mechanics superior to those taught in the 
old method, but that it is graduating young men who are well equipped to con- 
sider the various questions of the day and to act upon their own judgment 
and not the advice of some one else; that tastes in literature and culture have 
been devolepd that will not be content with daily labor and drudgery, but will 
reach outward and upward for the better things of life; and that its graduates 
are men who in the coming days will make less plain the line of demarcation 
between the man of trade and the man of business or profession, and will raise 
the one to the level which it should occupy, upon the same plane as the other. 

The founder, Isaiah \'. Williamson, was born in Falsington, Bucks county, 
Pennsylvania, February 3. 1803. son of Mahlon and Charity (Vansant) Wil- 
liamson, and fifth in line of descent from Duncan Williamson, a Scotchman, 
who came to Pennsylvania about 1661, twenty or more years prior to the com- 
ing of William Penn. Isaiah \'. Williamson obtained a limited education in 
the public schools, and at the age of thirteen years became a clerk in Harvey 
Gillingham's store in Falsington, continuing until he was of legal age. During 
that period of his life he formed those strict habits of economy as to personal 
expenditure, and the careful investment and reinvestment of any surplus 
means, which continued throughout his long and useful life. In 1825 he 
opened a retail dry goods store on Second, near Pine street, Philadelphia, but 
after a few months formed a partnership with William Burton and moved his 
place of business to Second street and Coombe's alley. One year later the firm 
dissolved, Mr. Williamson purchasing the store of John S. Newlin, at 9 North 
Second street. In 1834 he formed a partnership with H. Nelson Burroughs, 
his clerk, which continued until 1837, when he retired from active business as 
a merchant but retaining an interest as special partner in the firm of William- 
son, Burroughs & Clark. Thereafter he engaged in a variety of public enter- 
prises, investing his means wisely, and at the age of seventy years was reputed 
to be worth about $4,000,000. He then yielded to the impulse of his naturally 
kindly sympathetic nature, and began a system of wise, judicious, and libera) 
distribution of his fortune. He gave in a broad, catholic spirit, both money and 
property to hospitals, schools, homes, and similar charitable and educational in- 
stitutions. He gave away in the years from the age of seventy to eighty-six, 
about $5,000,000, yet so wisely had he administered his investments that he was 
far richer than when he began. He left at his death an estate valued at $10,- 



470 DELAWARE COUNTY 

000,000, one-tenth of which was also used for charitable purposes. The par 
value of the securities given as a building and endowment fund to the Wil- 
liamson Free School was $1,596,000, having an appraised value at the then 
market price of $2,119,250. 

In founding his Free School for Mechanical Trades, Mr. Williamson 
profited by the failure of other philanthropists to have their wishes carried out 
after their deaths, and avoided hostile litigation by doing it during his life- 
time. The trustees selected by himself in the foundation deed selected the 
present site, and but a few days before his last illness Mr. Williamson visited 
it and expressed in warm terms not only his satisfaction but his pleasure in the 
choice, this -approval being the last business act of his life. Just before the 
closing of his long, honorable, and useful life on March 7, 1889, he sank into 
unconsciousness, from which he never rallied. He was eighty-six years of 
age at his death, but so correct had been his life and so regular his habits that 
he enjoyed uniformly good health. His physical activity was umlimiiiished 
and his mental faculties unimpaired ahnost to the last, his death being due to 
the debility attending old age rather than to any acute disease. He lived a life 
of integrity, self-denial, and industry, regarding himself as onlv a steward of 
the vast fortune he had acquired. He carefully thought out his plan for the 
Free School arid in his Foundation Deed outlined the method of procedure 
and operation to the minutest detail, the school being conducted at the present 
time upon practically the same lines laid down by the founder. 

Iiislitiite for Colored Youth. — This institution had its origin in a bequest 
of $10,000 made by Richard Humphreys in 1827, the object of which was 
iefined as "the benevolent design of mstructing descendants of the .\frican race 
n school learning, in the various branches of the mechanic arts and trades, 
and in agriculture, in order to prepare, fit and qualify them to act as teachers." 
The following will show how thoroughly the terms of the bequest have been 
followed, and with what highly gratifying results. 

In 1837 the Institute was established u]ion a farm on the York road, and 
m 1842 a charter was procured from the Pennsylvania legislature. In 1 85 1 
the work was located on Lombard street, Philadelphia, and in 1866 was moved 
to Tenth and Bainbridge streets. There, in 1885, an industrial department 
v.-as added, and the school was contiiuied with an enrollment of about 350 in 
the academic department, and 300 in the industrial department, until 1903. 
In this year the resignation of the principal, Fannie Jackson Coppin, was 
acce])ted, and the work was reorganized. In order to best carry out the wishes 
of the founder, the managers decided to move the school to the country, and 
to there concentrate the resources of the Institute upon the development of a 
high grade normal school for negro pupils. This was accordingly done, and 
the success of the school for the past ten vcars has more than vindicated the 
judgment of the managers and the wisdom of their decision. The school, 
located at Cheyney. Delaware county, Pennsylvania, consists of the three 
buildings originally erected — Humphreys Hall. Emlen Hall, and the principal's 
house — together with the Carnegie Library building, the Cassandra Smith cot- 



DELAWARE COUNTY 47' 

tage, the Susanna Brinton cottage, and barns and other buildings for the 
accommodation of the Hve stock owned by the Institute. A new dormitory 
costing $30,000 is in the process of construction, the nucleus of the building 
fund, $5000, having been donated by Joshua L. Baily, on the condition that 
the other $25,000 be raised before Sixth month 30, 1912. 

The Institute offers to the negro who has the true welfare of his race at 
heart, an education that will prepare him to enter upon a work in behalf of 
his people which will be of inestimable value to the negroes in raising them to 
a plane where they will be able to become useful members of American com- 
uumities. Instruction is given in English, drawing, physiology, hygiene, gym- 
nastics, wood-working, domestic science, domestic art, iron working, and agri- 
culture, and the graduates are sent as teachers to colored schools in all parts oi 
the country. Because of the increasing importance of all agricultural matters 
today, especial stress is laid upon this branch of the curriculum in training 
young men and women to be able to inspire negro rural communities with the 
worth and dignity of farm life. The agricultural department has charge of the 
garden from which much of the produce used in the Institute is procured. Al- 
though many of the graduates accept positions in the north, where they were 
born and reared, by far the greater number take up their work in the form- 
er slave states, where the need for their services is greater because of the lowly 
state of the negro in those places, caused by the degrading effects of his previous 
condition of servitude. :\11 of the graduate teachers keep in constant touch 
with the Institute, writing for advice on particularly knotty problems in their 
schools, and receiving helpful suggestions in return. The Institute often offers 
aid in a much more substantial manner, in many cases sending discarded tools 
and other apparatus and appliances which have outlived their usefulness at 
the home institution. 

The record of the Institute since moved from Philadelphia to Cheyney 
has been full of encouragement. In the ten years which have elapsed there 
have been sixtv-nine graduates sent out from the Institute, now engaged in the 
r<ccupations enumerated below : Teachers, fifty-one ; secretarial work, three ; 
teaching in private institutions, thirty-three : teaching in public institutions, 
eighteen ; pursuing advanced studies, three ; scientific embalmer, one ; cabinet- 
maker, one : postal clerks, two ; and dressmaker, one. Thirty-one of these are 
teaching in the former slave states, of whom thirteen were born and lived in 
the north. 

Too much credit for this great and good work cannot be given to the So- 
ciety of Friends, under whose direction the board of managers has constantly 
acted. The board of managers, always guided by the advice and counsel of an 
advisory educational board, consisting of men of well-known reputation in the 
educational world of to-day. That the work may have a prosperous continu- 
ance, that the teachings of the Institute at Cheyney may be world-wide in their 
effect, and that Divine guidance may direct the efforts of the graduates to the 
best possible good of the race, is the prayer that should rise from every hearth- 



472 DELAWARE COUNTY 

stone. The task is hard and the road rougli, but the goal worthy of all the 
hardship and toil. 

The board of managers consists of George ]M. Warner. Philadelphia, sec- 
retary : George S. Hutton. Philadelphia, treasurer ; George \'aux, George 
Vaux Jr., and Walter Smedley, Philadelphia ; Walter P. Stokes, Moorestown, 
New Jersey : James G. Biddle, \\'allingford, Pennsylvania : J. Henry Bartlett, 
Tuckerton, New Jersey : Davis H. Forsythe, West Grove, Pennsylvania ; Al- 
fred C. Elkinton, Moylan, Pennsylvania : David G. Yarnall, Philadelphia, 
Pennsylvania ; John L. Balderston, Kennett Square, Pennsylvania ; Edward 
f.rinton. West Chester, Pennsylvania : Thomas C. Potts, Philadelphia : Stanley 
R. Yarnall, Philadelphia, secretary of the board of managers. The Advisory 
Educational Committee has as its members President Isaac .Sharpless, of Hav- 
erford College. Pennsylvania ; Principal Booker T. Washington. Tuskegee In- 
stitute • Dean James E. Russell, Teachers' College, New York City ; Professor 
John Dewey, Teachers' College, New York City ; President Joseph Swain, 
Swarthmore College, Pennsylvania. The members of the faculty of the 
Clieyney Institute for Colored Youth are ( igi2) : Hugh M. Browne, princi- 
pal, applied physics and general methods ; Evangeline R. Hall, English and ed- 
ucation ; Naomi B. Spencer; Laura Wheeler, drawing; Clayda J. Williams, 
physiology, hygiene, and gymnastics ; George K. Conway, iron-working ; Lew- 
is \^'. S. Comegys, wood-working; R. Mabel Moorman, domestic art; Julia 
Phillips, domestic science ; Harriet ]M. Hodge, applied domestic science ; Wil- 
liam M. Berry, agriculture; Louise P. \\'alton. matron; Lottie N. Conway, 
secretary ; Thomas L. Harrison, applied domestic science, and assistant secre- 
tary. 

Convent of the Ho!\ Child. — Sharon, now the Convent of the Holy Child, 
was once the Sharon Boarding School founded by John Jackson. Quaker min- 
ister, in 1837. The mutual interest which Mr. Jackson and his wife took in the 
subject of education led him to institute a school in which the usual course of 
instruction should be combined with a religious training. His own varied 
knowiedge. his eloquence and governing powers fitted him for the task and his 
wife's accomplishments and refinement helped the project to its fulfilment. 
From a little volume, "A Brief Memoir of John Jackson," printed in 1856, after 
his death, these extracts are taken, proving the sincerity of the man and the 
deep seriousness which he brought to bear upon his mission : 

'Ti mo.. iS,?7. The religious instruction of children has often licen to my mind a 
subject of deep interest and concern. To direct the young mind to the influence of those 
principles of action wliich should govern the whole course of human conduct, is. in my 
view, one of the most effectual and powerful means of preserving them from the tempta- 
tions of the world. And the improper indulgence of those feelings and i)ropensities which 
are invariably followed by misery and nnhappiness. The command which was given to 
the Israelites to teach diligently the law which God had given them. is. no doubt, a per- 
petual obligation binding upon all generations of men. The minds of children should be 
directed to principles, not to opinions. The soul by obedience advances in righteousness, 
and is prepared to receive new disclosures of the Divine Will. ."Xs the minds of children 
are directed to the important truths of religion, they learn to cultivate an acquaintance 



DELAWARE COUNTY 473 

with themselves, and understand their relation, as accountable creatures, to the Author 
•of their being." "It was his aim," his Memoir tells us, "not only to cultivate and expand 
the intellect, but also to imbue the tender minds of the children with the necessity of a 
life of daily self-denial, in order to enjoy that peace which the world cannot give nor 
destroy." 

It was a worthy object he had in view; it was a high ideal that he set before himself, 
.and imparted to his pupils. That they respected him, and responded to his teaching, their 
own words prove. One of them, in writing of the influence of Mr. Jackson, said : "I can 
never tell what I owe to his instruction. How many and what pleasant memories come 
with his name ! I feel that it was no ordinary privilege to be taught by him. I never 
■went with a question to him without having it answered fully, plainly; there was always 
time, there was always a smile with which to answer every inquiry. And now I cannot 
look at a pebble, or go in imagination to the farthest extremity of the universe, but I feel 
that he has led the way, and I follow dimly and afar oflf, where he has gone shedding 
light on mystery. Truly can I say that I always felt in those Sharon days that worship 
was exalted when he mingled in it. Social life was purified when in his presence, and 
that as a teacher, he led and guided us with fatherly love and care." 

Reference is made in this extract to his love of scientific studies. He considered a 
knowledge of natural science indispensable. "Every page of the great volume of nature," 
he said, "is full of living and instructive truth. There is a beautiful relation between mind 
and matter, between the works of God and our capacity to contemplate them. Our 
intellectual nature is as much a gift of God as the gift of grace, and we are as respon- 
sible for the culture and improvement of one as for the other. I have no idea that so 
noble a talent is to be buried in the earth, that it is to be employed merely in procuring 
food and raiment for these frail temples which are so soon to moulder into dust. Far 
otherwise! Placed in the midst of a beautiful creation, we are invited to meditate on 
the workmanship of its Author. Such an exercise of intellect is profitable to us, for it 
leads to humility, and while it makes manifest the feebleness of man, and our compara- 
tive nothingness amidst the immensity of Creation, it exalts our view of the wisdom, 
goodness, and power of the Creator." 

Mr. Jackson was also an eminent astronomer, and had an observatory fitted 
up for his own use and that of his pupils, with a Framenhoffer equatorial tel- 
escope, at that time the largest in America. He had a fine collection of fossils 
and minerals, and an extensive library which was open to all who cared to use 
it. He was a botanist, and his conservatory contained plants and exotics of 
different countries. Even to-day tlie Sharon grounds show, in their rare trees 
and shrubs, the results of his labor in this direction. Besides being a mem- 
ber of the Delaware County Institute of Science, John Jackson was continually 
in communication with the Smithsonian Institute at Washington, and his ob- 
servations and services were an acknowledged help to the Coast Survey Depart- 
ment of the Government. 

It was natural that girls brought up under the care and direction of such 
a man should develop sterling qualities of mind and heart, and should go forth 
stamped with the hail mark of genuineness. Still Sharon life in those days was 
not without its escapades, its small breaches of discipline, its youthful reaction- 
ary rashness, its irrepressive mirth, and all the wild, windy outbursts which at- 
tend the "equinoctial gales of youth." Many old Quaker ladies, who come 
back from time to time to review the scenes of their school-days shake their 
heads in reminiscent enjoyment over "scrapes" and "pickles" which once called 



474 DELAWARE COUNTY 

forth the stern rebuke of "L'ncle John" and the mild reproach of "Aunt Re- 
becca" Jackson. After all, these Quakeresses were not so demure and im- 
movable as we once supposed ! 

In 1863 the Jackson school was purchased by Father Carter. For the 
work of Catholic education, he gave it to the Sisters of the Holy Child, and 
here the convent was established on the sixteenth of July, 1864. 

The first days at Sharon were memorable ones for all. The quaint Quak- 
er buildings with its peaceful aloofness, seemed to wield an attractive influence 
upon their children, who ever remain devotedly attached to their alma mater. 
The atmosphere seemed in every way suitable to the work undertaken, and 
the school soon became known, not alone for the thoroughness of the education 
imparted, but for the stamp of refinement and cultured life upon its pupils, and 
this in its measure may be claimed as a special characteristic of the work of 
the society wherever its schools have been established. 

The old Jackson house was a three storied building, but the needs of the 
school, in a few years outgrew these limits. An addition became imperative 
and a mansard roof was planned. The quaint Quaker house submitted to this 
first innovation in 1870. In 1877, a chapel was built, which in its turn, was re- 
placed by the beautiful little Gothic Church in 1899. The Holy Child's School 
was partially erected in 1890 and used in its unfinished state until 1900 when it 
was completed. 



COURTS AND LAWYERS. 

Crude as were the statutes administered, there is no doubt that at Tinicum. 
in the present county of Delaware, justice was first dispensed in the state of 
Pennsylvania, and there is little doubt that there was held the first court in the 
entire Delaware river territory. The Swedish Governor Printz was required, 
in obedience to instructions given him, to "decide all controversies according to 
the laws, customs and usages of Sweden." This was a difficult task to impose 
upon a military man, as the codification of all the Swedish statutes, manners 
and customs had then but recently been made. There were, fortunately for 
the peace of mind of the well meaning governor in 1647, but one hundred and 
thirty-eight souls living under his jurisdiction, yet he often found difficulty in 
adjusting nice points of law, often also under the embarrassment of acting in 
the dual capacity of plaintifif and judge. The governor thus describes his own 
plight : "Again, I have several times solicited a learned and able man to 
administer justice and attend to the law business, sometimes very intricate 
cases occurring, in which it is difficult, and never ought to be. that one and the 
same person appear in the court as plaintiff as well as judge." Governor Printz 
was clothed with both civil and criminal jurisdiction : he was especially directed 
to enforce obedience and order, and could punish great offenders, not only 
with imprisonment, but even with death, "according to the crime," but all must 
be done under legal forms and in accordance with the ordinance. The records 
of this Swedish court are very indistinct, and little can be learned of this period, 
while the Dutch records that follow are hardly more explicit on the subject of 
e:ir]y tribunals among the early settlers on the Delaware prior to the English 
conquest. 

fean Paul Jacquet, who was appointed vice-director, November 29, 1655, 
was instructed to "administer law and justice to citizens as well as soldiers," 
while Andrew Hudde. the secretary, was "to book all matters, complaints, de- 
faults, arrests, with the reasons there." also "all judgments, sentences and deci- 
sions." The court, where branches of the ordinances were to be tried, was a 
meeting of the council, which was to be called only by order of the vice-direc- 
tor, and all cases pending before that body to be decided by a "majority of 
votes," but, in case of a tie, the vice-director was to have a double vote. This 
tribunal seems to have exercised legislative as well as judicial powers, as there 
are ordinances regulating various practices, as early as February 13, iC^S^*' =1"'' 
several arrests for their violation are recorded. Jacob Alrichs, vice-director of 
the city's colony on the Delaware (part of the Delaware territory from Chris- 
tiana river to Bombay Hook had been transferred to the city of Amsterdam by 
the Dutch West Indian Company for moneys advanced) in the latter part of 
April, 1657, arrived at New Castle. That there then was a court held on the 
river is proven from the prayer of the Swedish inhabitants that a court mes- 
senger and provost might be appointed for them, which was done. This court 
evidently was not in accordance with Director Alrich's ideas of what a court 
of justice should be, as on March 30, i''>58, he writes Governor Stuyvesant, 



4/6 DELAWARE COUNTY 

complaining of its crudities. But there was a court, and at least one practicing 
attorney, as, under the same date, he mentions paying certain sums to the "At- 
torney Schelluyn." On May 8, 1658, the Swedish magistrates at Tinicum pre- 
sented a petition to Governor Stuyvesant, who was then visiting the Dutch set- 
tlements on the Delaware, requesting that they might be properly instructed in 
the discharge of their duties, and that a court messenger or officer should be 
appointed to serve summons, make arrests and enforce sentences of the courts. 
From a letter written April 28, 1660, to Governor Stuyvesant by William 
Beekman, vice-director, a great deal of information is gleaned concerning the 
customs of the magistrate and something of the people they governed. This 
letter relates. to the present Delaware county, all the persons mentioned hav- 
ing resided within the limits of the present county, and is interesting as being 
conclusive that, at that time, no other court existed within the territory be- 
longing to the present state of Pennsylvania. 

When Sir Robert Carr, in command of the English forces, subjugated the 
Dutch Provinces on the Delaware, the articles of capitulation dated October, 
1684, stipulated that "the schout, the burgomaster, sheriffe, and other inferior 
magistrates, shall use and exercise their customary Power in .-\dminis'on of 
justice within their precincts, or until his Ma'ties pleasure is further known." 

Under the terms of this agreement the Dutch magistrates continued in 
ofiUce until April 21. 1668, when Governor Lovelace commissioned Sir Robert 
Carre schout, and Hans Block, Israel Helme, Peter Rambo, Peter Cock, Peter 
.A^lricks, or any two of them, as councillors, "to advise, hear and determine, by 
the major vote, what is just, equitable and necessary in the case or cases in 
question." Steadily but slowly, Governor Lovelace from that time began bring- 
ing the judicial system of England into use, but so gradually that no radical 
change would be made, and at the same time do no violence to the colonv. by 
unsettling quickly the whole body of ordinances, manners and customs with 
which the people had grown familiar. The attempted rebellion of the Long 
Finn in the summer of 1669 afforded the governor an opportunity to make 
some sweeping changes in criminal procedure, and that case will ever be mem- 
orable in county annals, inasmuch that for the first time there is undoubted 
record of a trial on the Delaware wherein the defendant was formally indicted, 
and a jury of twelve men impaneled, who were subject to challenge on the part 
of the prisoner, and charged after the testimony was concluded, by the com- 
missioners, to find "the matter of fact according to the evidence." Governor 
Lovelace, knowing well the power of pomp and display, hedged the bench with 
all the pomp and circumstance necessary to impress the citizen of that day with 
the importance and dignity fif the judicial office. In ifiji he instructed Captain 
Carre, on the Delaware, to set up the King's arms in the court house, and to 
have the same insignia of majesty borne on the staffs carried by the officers in 
attendance. The records show a town court was established at New Castle, 
May 17, 1672, to be presided over by a bailiff and six assistants, to have juris- 
diction over all cases of debt and damage not to exceed ten pounds, and there 
is inferential evidence that a similar court was established ;u l']i''"i''' August 



DELAWARE COUNTY 477 

8, 1672. Certain it is, however, that when the Enghsh standard was lowered 
and the Dutch again became masters on the Delaware, the Dutch council at 
New York, July 30, 1673, established "one court of justice for the inhabitants 
of Upland, to which provisionally shall resort the inhabitants both on the east 
and west banks of Kristina Kill and upwards toward the head of the river." 
At the same time council instructed the inhabitants of the Delaware river ter- 
ritory, "for the maintenance of good order, police, etc.," to nominate eight per- 
sons in each of the judicial districts as magistrates, and from the names thus 
submitted council would select and appoint these officers. These courts were 
of limited jurisdiction, council ordering that all important cases be sent for trial 
before the governor general and council. Yet they had legislative powers that 
made them of considerable importance in the government. The same docu- 
ment from the council instructed how persons should be elected to the higher 
offices, a system that was adopted by the British after the territory again 
passed under their rule, and was maintained in a large measure even after 
Pennsylvania had in turn cast off the English yoke. By the terms of the treaty 
between Great Britain and Holland, the Dutch authority ceased. on February 9, 
1674, but as Major Edmund Andross, the representative of the Duke of York, 
to whom the King had reconfirmed the province after it became an English de- 
pendency, did not take formal control until the 31st of October following, it is 
to be presumed that judicial matters up to that time were conducted according 
to the Dutch form of procedure. Two days thereafter the governor ordered 
that the old magistrates on the Delaware, excepting Peter Alricks, who were 
in office when the Dutch captured the province in July, 1763, should be "estab- 
lished for the space of six months, or further orders." On November 4, Cap- 
tain Edward Cantwell, who had been the former sheriff under the English 
rule, was reappointed to the same office. The magistrates thus reappointed 
were : Peter Cock, Peter Rambo, Israel Helme, Lars Andriesen, Wolle Swain : 
and William Tom was appointed clerk. 

The jurisdiction of the several courts on the Delaware river seems not to 
have been extended so as to give them cognizance of the higher grade of 
crimes. Hence a special commission was issued by Governor Andross, Febru- 
ary 21, 1675, for holding a court of oyer and terminer at New Castle for the 
trial of several prisoners charged with rape, which commission was addressed 
to five justices of New Castle court, and Justices Cock, Rambo, Helme, An- 
driesen and Swain, of Upland court, requiring any seven or more of them, as 
soon as conveniently may be, "to sitt one or more times during the space of one 
week, if occasion require, for the hearing, trying, giving judgment, and causing 
the same to be put in execution according to law." 

A celebrated case of the period was the trial of James Sandelands, of Up- 
land, for the death of an Indian forcibly ejected from his house. The case 
was tried at New Castle, at a special court held May 13, 1675, Governor Sir 
Edmund Andross presiding in person, assisted by three commissioners — one 
each from New Castle, from Upland and Whore Kill. "The bench," old docu- 
ments state, was "called over and placed on the governor's left hand : Governor 



478 DELAWARE COUNTY 

Philip Carteret, of New Jersey, on the right of Mr. Samuel Edsall ; Mr. Thom- 
as Wandall, Mr. Joseph Smith, Mr. John Jackson, Mr. William Osborne." 
The jury, as provided by the Duke of York's laws, which had not yet, how- 
ever, been extended to the Delaware river settlement, consisted of seven free- 
men. The verdict of the jury : "They find the prisoner not to be Guilty. Hee 
is ordered to be cleared by Proclamation." 

On September 22, 1676, Governor Andross promulgated an ordinance in- 
troducing the Duke of York's laws and establishing courts of justice on the 
Delaware in conformity therewith. ( )nc of the tribunals was located at Up- 
land, and was to consist of justices of the peace, three of whom would consti- 
tute a quorum, the oldest justice presiding, having the powers of a court of 
sessions, with jurisdiction over all matters under twenty pounds in civil cases, 
and in criminal cases, excepting where the punishment extended to life impris- 
onment or banishment, when appeals were to be allowed to the court assizes. 
The sessions were to be held quarterly, beginning on the second Tuesday of 
the month, and rules governing practice, unless repugnant to the laws of the 
government, could be made by the court and were to continue for one year. 
A record of all proceedings was to be kept in the English language, to which 
every person should have free access "at due or seasonable times," and for that 
purpose a clerk was appointed by the governor on the recommendation of the 
court. In pursuance of the ordinance, on November 14. 1676, the first court 
under the code of laws was convened at Upland, where Captain John Collier 
and Captain Edmund Cantwell, specially authorized by Governor Andross, ad- 
ministered the oath of office to the newly commissioned justices — Peter Cock, 
Peter Rambo, Israel Helme, Lace Andricsen, Wole Sweinsen and Otto Ernest 
Cook. Ephraim Herman was appointed clerk. (From this date to the second 
Tuesday of September the original records of the Lapland court are in posses- 
sion of the Historical Society of Pennsylvania, and in i860 were published by 
the Society with copious notes and an introduction by Edward Armstrong.) 

One act of that court was the appointment of Jan Jansen and Morton 
Mortensen as guardians for the heirs of Hendrick Johnson, deceased, it being 
represented to the court that the estate of the minors was being wasted. This 
is the first instance of record in this state of such appointment, and, while the 
guardians were instructed to prepare an inventory of the estate, they do not 
seem to have been required to give honfl for the faithful performance of the 
trust. 

At a court of quarter sessions held June 13, 1677, the most important 
case was one of assault and battery committed on Justice Helme by Oele Oel- 
sen. The dignity of the court was upheld, and Justice Helme secured the verdict, 
which he afterward remitted as the "saide Oele was a poore man." The court 
established by Governor Lovelace and administering the Duke of York's laws 
continued with little change until the coming of William Penn, and even then 
there was little attempt made at change for several years. Trial by jury was 
uncommon, there being but two instances of a jury being impaneled in the en- 



DELAWARE COUNTY 479 

tire period covered by the record of the Upland court. The first case above 
cited was tried on November 12, 1678; the second, October 13, 1680. 

Although after Penn came he advocated radical change in the criminal 
and civil code, removing much of the severity of the former, he continued the 
courts already established and did not confuse the people with new judicial 
procedure. The changes that were made were authorized by legislative bod- 
ies, and, by enlarging the responsibilities of the individual, increased the in- 
telligence of the masses. The law enacted December 7, 1682, requiring all per- 
sons who were not by birth subjects of Great Britain, to declare within three 
months their intentions to become "freemen," resulted in retiring for the time 
being all the Swedish judges. At the February session of the court, held 
1682-1683, John Simcock, a newly appointed justice, presided, but at the June 
term of 1683, when Penn personally presided, the familiar figure of Justice 
Cock again was seen on the bench. 

To this court, held June 27, 1683, the first grand jury of record in the 
civil court of Pennsylvania was summoned, the grand inquest consisting of 
seventeen persons. While the powers of the court at this period covered many 
points and details not now considered judicial subjects, their jurisdiction was 
restricted so far as the higher grade of crimes were concerned, until the consti- 
tution of 1790 gave the judges of the court of common pleas, in each county 
the right to act as justice of oyer and terminer and general jail delivery for 
the trial of capital and other otifences. 

A feature of the act of March 10, 1683, now unknown, were the "peace- 
makers," — three persons in every precinct, chosen yearly, to whom dispute 
could be referred in writing, and the decision of these "peacemakers" was as 
conclusive as that of the court. The act of March 10, 1683. also directed the 
justices of each county to sit twice a year "to inspect and take care of estates, 
usage and employment of orphans," this constituting the first orphans' court 
in the province. The first court under this title was held at Chester on the 
"3rd day in ye ist week of ye 8th month, [687." 

Previous to the act of May 10, 1684. there was no high appellant court in 
the province other than the governor and council, but on that date a provincial 
court was created, consisting of five judges, which was ordered to sit twice a 
year at Philadelphia, (and two members of the court, at least every fall and 
spring, were directed to "goe their circuit into everie respective county in the 
province) to hold a court of appeals, as well as to try all criminal cases of a 
high grade, questions of title and all other causes over which the county court 
had no jurisdiction. The following year the assembly took away their right 
to try cases which involved title to real estate and reduced the number of 
judges to three, but later the original mimber was restored. 

A little over a year after Penn first came to the province, no provincial 
court having then been established, he was called to preside over a witchcraft 
case, eight years before the cruel craze attacked North Carolina. The verdict 
was "guilty of having the common fame of a witch, but not guilty in manner and 
form as she stands indicted." Some of the acts of Penn, and those of Colonel 



48c DELAWARE COUNTY 

Benjamin, who was appointed governor of Pennsylvania by the King, October 
20, 1693, aroused the wrath of David Lloyd, the first lawyer of whom there is 
record in the county. He was the leader of the battle for popular liberty, and 
dared to oppose Penn when his plans were thought to be in opposition to the 
general welfare. He was a member of the assembly from Chester county in 
1693, and as speaker of the house the following year bore the full brunt of the 
anger of Governor Fletcher. This brave Quaker lawyer was the father of the 
bar of Pennsylvania, and that bar to-day is benefitted by his battle for the 
rights of the people waged over two centuries ago. 

By the act of October 27, 1701, county courts were required to be held 
in Chester on the third day of the last week in February, May, August and No- 
vember, their -practice to conform as nearly as possible to that of the common 
pleas of England, "all fictions and color in pleadings to be avoided." They 
had equity powers, and all matters of maritime disputes not cognizable in the 
court of admiralty were to be heard. 

The judges of the supreme provincial court were to go on circuit twice in 
each year, the acts requiring such court to be held in Chester on the "2nd day 
of eighth month," "and on the i8th day of second month," for the trials of 
all felonies, and to have appeals in civil cases, but, by the act of February 10, 
1710, the supreme court justices were not required to go on semi-annual cir- 
cuits to counties outside Philadelphia unless cases were pending there for trial, 
and commissions of oyer and terminer were issued by the governor. 

The act of 1710 was repealed in 1713 by Queen Anne, and on July 20, 
1714, Lieutenant Governor Gookins, following the precedent of Governor 
Evans, published an ordinance of like tenor establishing the several courts in 
the province. The courts of common pleas in the several counties continued 
to exercise in the main tlie jurisdiction conferred by the act of 1701, but all 
through the colonial period all the courts were subject to legislative enactments, 
and prolonged controversy arose between the assembly and the governors rep- 
resenting the crown. The courts of quarter sessions, as distinctive from the 
county courts, created by Governor Evans' ordinance, in 1707 were directed to 
be held in Chester on the last Tuesdays of February, May, August and No- 
vember, and their powers defined. By an act of September 29, 1759, the jus- 
tices of the court of quarter sessions were forbidden from being commissioned 
justices of the common pleas. The last court held at Chester before the erec- 
tion of Delaware county was on August 29, 1786, and continued by adjourn- 
ment until August 31, when the session ended. 

The first court held after the erection of Delaware county was on Novem- 
ber 9, 1789, Justice John Pearson presiding. There being no bar, William 
Tilghman, afterward chief justice of Pennsylvania, addressed the court and 
moved his own admission. After he had been sworn in, Mr. Tilghman moved 
the admission of William L. Blair and others, eight lawyers qualifying that day 
as hu-iiiIktn of the Delaware county bar. L'ndcr the judicial redistrictint;- 
caused by the adoption of the constitution of 1790, Delaware county, together 
witli the counties of Philadelphia, Bucks and Montgomery, formed the first ju- 



DELAWARE COUNTY 481 

dicial district. James BiddTe was commissioned president judge of the district, 
continuing until June 19, 1797, wlien he was succeeded by John D. Coxe, he 
being succeeded in 1805 by WilHam Tilghman. 

The first president judge, and the only one prior to the constitution, was 
Henry Hale Graham, who died January 23, 1790, while attending the constitu- 
tional convention as a delegate. John Pearson, who presided over the first 
court for one day, was appointed president judge to fill out Judge Graham's 
term, serving until the appointment of Judge Biddle under the constitution 
of 1790. 

On February 24, 1806, the State was redistricted, Delaware county with 
Chester, Montgomery and Bucks, forming the seventh judicial district. In 
April, 1806, Governor McKean appointed Bird Wilson president judge, he 
serving until 1817, when he resigned. 

On January 28, 1818, Governor Findlay appointed John Ross, of Easton, 
president judge of the seventh judicial district, he then being a member of 
congress. By the act of March 12, 1812, the fifteenth judicial district was cre- 
ated, comprising the counties of Delaware and Chester, and on May 22, 182 1, 
Governor Heister appointed Isaac Darlington president judge of the new dis- 
trict. Judge Darlington held his first court under this appointment in the old 
court house at Chester, October 23, 1821, being then forty years of age, and 
served until his death in April, 1839. 

On May 16, 1839, Governor Porter appointed Thomas S. Bell to fill the 
vacancy caused by the death of Judge Darlington, who served until his pro- 
motion to the supreme bench, December i8, 1846. Governor Shunk appointed 
John M. Forster, of Harrisburg, to succeed Judge Bell, but he failed of a 
confirmation by the senate. The governor then appointed James Nill, of Cham- 
bersburg, who also was rejected. The March term was presided over by As- 
sociate Judges Engle and Leiper, but by the next term the governor had ap- 
pointed his son-in-law, Harry Chapman of Middletown, who was confirmed 
and served with great acceptance until November 26, 185 1, when an amend- 
ment to the constitution changed the office of president judge from an ap- 
pointive to an elective one. During Judge Chapman's incumbency the county 
seat was moved to Media, the last court being held in the old court house in 
Chester, May 26, 1851, adjourning Friday, May 30, following. Judge Chap- 
man declining the nomination, Townsend Haines, of West Chester, was elected 
the first president judge of the courts under the new law, retiring on the last 
day of the November term, 1861. Judge Haines was succeeded by Wil- 
liam Butler, elected October, 1861, presiding until 1874, when a vacancy 
was caused by the erection of the thirty-second judicial district. This vacancy 
was filled in April, 1874, by Governor Hartranft appointing as president judge 
John M. Broomall, whose family had been prominent in Delaware and Chester 
counties for two hundred years. Judge Broomall was succeeded by Judge 
Thomas J. Clayton, as the first elective president judge under the constitution 
of 1873. His ancestry also traces to the earliest days, his ancestor settling at 
Marcus Hook prior to the granting of the royal charter to Penn. 
32 



482 



DELAWARE COrXTY 



The following is a list of all associate justices and judges of the courts 
of Delaware county from its erection until the constitution of 1874 (which 
abolished the office) with date of commission: 



William R. Atlee 
Richard Hill Morris 
Thomas Lewis 
John Pearson 
George Pearce 
EHsha Price 
Joel Willis 
John Sellers 
Ricliard Riley 
Mark Wilcox 
Hugh Lloyd 
Benjamin Brannon 
John Crosby 
John Pierce 
Wilham Anderson 
Joseph Engle 
Henry Meyer 



September 28, 1789 
October 12, 1789 
12. 1789 
" 12, 1789 
" 12, 1789 
March 16, 1790 
July 15, 1790 
September 17, 1791 
17. 1791 
17. 1791 
April 24, 1792 
June 5, 1794 
April 26, 1799 
January 5, 1823 
•• 5. 1826 
5, 1827 
December 27, 1833 



George Smith 
Joseph Engle 
Joseph Engle 
George C. Leiper 

George G. Leiper 
James Andrews 
Sketchley Morton 
Frederick J. Hinkson 
James Andrews 
Chas. R. Williamson 
George Smith 
James Andrews 
Thomas Reese 
Bartine Smith 
Thomas Reese 
Bartine Smith 



December 28, 1836 
January 26. 1842 
March 11, 1847 
February 25, 1843 

Admitted 
February 16. 1848 
November 10. 185 1 
ID. 185 1 
" 12, 1856 

12, 1856 
January 10. i860 
November 23. 186 r 
23. 1861 
8. 1866 
8, 1866 
" 17, 1871 

17, 1871 



CHARACTICR SKETCHES OF PRESIDE.N'T JUDGES AXD OTHERS. 

Henry Hall Graham, the first president judge, was born in London, Eng- 
land, July I, 1 73 1, son of William Graham, who came to Pennsylvania in 173,^. 
settling finally in Chester. Judge Graham studied law under Joseph Parker, 
then deputy register of Pennsylvania for the county of Chester, and on his 
death in 1766, Mr. Graham was appointed to the vacant position, then includ- 
ing the duties of prothonotary, register and recorder. He had been commis- 
sioned one of the justices of the county in 1761, and again was honored in 
1765. He was neutral during the Revolution, his leanings being toward the 
mother country. For this reason he was not reappointed in 1777. After the 
Revolution he was practicing attorney in the Chester courts. On November 7, 
1789, he was appointed president judge of Delaware county, but, not being at 
the time a justice of the peace, could not act as president of the court of quar- 
ter sessions and orphans' court, hence the court of common pleas was opened 
and presided over the first day by justice William Richardsijn Atlee, holder of 
the oldest commission among the justices constituting the bench. On Novem- 
ber 9, 1789, Governor Alifllin commissioned him justice of the peace, and the 
next day. November 10, appointed him president judge, he at once assuming 
the duties of that office. He was elected a member of the constitutional con- 
vention of 1789-90, and died in Philadelphia, January 23, 1790, while attend- 
ing the meetings of that body. 

Tames Riddle was the second president judge of Delaware county, and the 
first under the constitution of 1790 that placed Delaware county in the first dis- 
trict with Philadelphia, Hucks and Montgomery cnimties. He served imiil Jidy 
19, 1797. He was succeeded on that date by John .S. Co.xe, who on .\pril 6 of 
that year had been appointed one of the judges of the high court of errors 



DELAWARE COUNTY 483 

and appeals, but resigned that office to accept the office of president judge of 
Philadelphia and the courts of the first judicial district. Both Judges Biddle 
and Coxe were learned in the law, and jurists of a high order. 

When Delaware county was created under the act of September 26th. 
1789, naturally there was no bar, and, through an error, no president judge of 
common pleas, quarter sessions or orphans' court. The latter difficulty was 
overcome, and then William Tilghman arose and addressed the bench setting 
forth the peculiar circumstances and moving his own admission. The court 
saw in this the best solution of the difficulty, and William Tilghman was sworn, 
becoming the first member of the Delaware county bar. Fifteen years later, 
on July 31, 1805, he was appointed by Governor McKean president judge of 
Delaware county courts. Judge Tilghman, one of the most conspicuous figures 
of his time, was a native of Talbot county, Maryland, and began reading law 
in 1772, when sixteen years of age, under the preceptorship of Benjamin Chew, 
of Philadelphia. In 1783, after eleven years of study, he was admitted to the 
Maryland bar. In 1789 he moved to Philadelphia, where he rapidly rose to the 
front rank in his profession. In 1801 he was appointed chief judge of the 
circuit court of the United States, but the act under which this court was con- 
stituted was repealed the next year and the judge returned to private practice. 
He only held the office of president judge of Delaware county seven months, 
when he was appointed chief justice of Pennsylvania to fill the vacancy caused 
by the death of Chief Justice Shippen. Judge Tilghman died in 1827. 

When the act of February 24, 1806, creating the seventh judicial district, 
became operative, the government m April of that year appointed Bird Wilson 
president judge of the new district. He was a son of James Wilson, a signer 
of the Declaration of Independence, and for eleven years presided over the 
courts of Delaware county, sitting for the last time at the October term of 
1817. He then resigned and became a minister of the Episcopal church, for 
which he had prepared while still a judge, studying under Bishop William 
White, whose biography he wrote. Judge Wjlson also edited Bacon's "Abridge- 
ment of the Law," first published in seven volumes. 

The next president judge of the seventh district, John Ross, of Easton, 
was appointed by Governor Findlay, January 28, 1818. He had served in the 
eleventh, fourteenth and fifteenth congresses, resigning office to accept the ap- 
pointment as judge. He presided for the first time over Delaware county 
courts April 13, 1818, and at this session the first conviction for murder was 
secured since the erection of the county twenty-nine years earlier. When the 
act of 1821 divided the seventh judicial district Judge Ross continued to pre- 
side over the counties of Bucks and Montgomery until April, 1830, when he 
was appointed an associate justice of the supreme court of Pennsylvania. 

By the act of May 21, 1821, Chester and Delaware counties became the 
fifteenth judicial district, and on May 22, 1830. Governor Heister appointed 
Isaac Darlington to be president judge of the new district. He first presided 
at the old Chester court house. October 23, 1821, Judge Darlington had pre- 
viously served two terms in the Pennsylvania legislature and one term in con- 



484 DELAWARE COUNTY 

gress, declining a renoniination. He made an excellent judge, serving until his 
death, April 27, 1839. At the suggestion of the bars of Delaware and Chester 
counties in December, 1838, Judge Darlington resigned before the constitution 
of 1838 went into effect, although having two more years to serve. He was 
reappointed by Governor Ritner for another full term of ten years, but Gover- 
nor Porter, who was inaugurated in January, 1839, regarded this as a trick 
to deprive him of the appointment. He directed Attorney General Douglass to 
sue out a writ of quo warranto to test the validity of Judge Darlington's com- 
mission, but, two days before the case was to be argued before the supreme 
court, the judge had passed away from all scenes of contention and strife. 
When his death was announced to the supreme court, Chief Justice Gibson dis- 
missed the proceedings, at the same time eulogizing the character and learning 
of the dead jurist. 

Thomas S. Bell, appointed May 16. 1839. by Governor Porter to fill out 
the unexpired term of Isaac Darlington, was president judge from May, 1839, 
until August, 1846. He was a scholarly gentleman, refined in manner, and a 
brilliant lawyer of the Chester county bar. He had been a member of the 
constitutional convention of 1837, and in 1838 was state senator, but in Janu- 
ary following was unseated. He was highly esteemed in Delaware county, and 
was raised to a seat on the supreme court bench by Governor Shunk in De- 
cember, 1846, his term not having expired. He was an able jurist; his opin- 
ions were clear and learned, and were confidently relied on by the best lawyers 
of the country. 

After two appointments to fill the office of president judge made vacant 
by the appointment of Judge Bell to the supreme bench, and the holding of 
the March term of 1848 by Associate Judges Engle and Leiper, Governor 
Shunk appointed Henry Chapman, of Doylestown, as president judge. He 
presided over the last court held in the court house at Chester, May 26, 185 1, 
and over the first court held in Media, November 24, 185 1, and, although of- 
fered an unopposed nomination by the unanimous bar of both counties, refused 
an election for the term, only serving until his successor was commissioned 
in the same year. 

The act of assembly which took eft'ect in 1852 made the office of president 
judge elective, and, at the preceding October election, Townsend Haines, of 
West Chester, was chosen as the first elected judge of the Chester, Delaware 
district, known as the fifteenth judicial district. He had been a member of the 
Pennsylvania House of Assembly and secretary of the commonwealth, serving 
until February, 1850, when he was appointed by President Taylor treasurer of 
the United States, an office he resigned when elected judge of the fifteenth dis- 
trict. He first presided in Delaware county at the February term in 1852, the 
county seat then being located at Media. Judge Haines had a well trained 
mind, and in the writing of a charge was a paragon of caution and care, few 
of his decisions ever being reversed. As a lawyer and advocate he was most 
eloquent, giving to his speeches a depth of feeling most effective on jury and 



DELA^^■ARE COUNTY 485 

audience. He presided over the courts of Delaware county until the Novem- 
ber sessions of 1861, and then declined re-election on account of his years. 

At the October election of 1861, William Butler, of West Chester, was 
elected president judge of the district embracing Chester and Delaware coun- 
ties. He had been a successful lawyer of Chester county for sixteen years, and 
in 1856 had been elected district attorney, holding that office until 1859. He 
was commissioned judge November 30, 1861, presiding in Delaware county for 
the first time at the Februarj- term in 1862. He was an able, upright and 
learned judge, and attained high rank as a jurist. He presided at the Udder- 
zook trial, which was one of the first cases in the United States where murder 
was committed to secure large life insurance. Judge Butler's charge to the 
jury in that case is still cited as a mode! of a clear comprehensive charge to a 
jury. He was elected president judge in 1871, but. Delaware county being set 
oflf in 1874 as a separate judicial district. Judge Butler presided from that date 
over the Chester county courts only. On February 12, 1879, h^ ^^'^s appointed 
by President Hayes judge of the United States district court for the Eastern 
district of Pennsylvania, which vacancy was caused by the death of Judge 
John Cadwallader. Judge Butler held his honorable position with dignity and 
great credit for twenty-five years, resigning in 1904, at the age of eighty-two 
years. He died in ^^■est Chester in 1908. His son, William Butler, junior, is 
now a judge in Chester county. 

Delaware county is now the thirty-second judicial district. The vacancy 
which that change made on the bench was filled in April, 1874, by Governor 
Hartranft appointing John M. Broomall president judge to serve until the fol- 
lowing election and qualification of the judge, then elected. 

John M. Broomall was born in Upper Chichester, Delaware count)', Janu- 
ary 19, 1816. He was a highly educated man, learned in the law, of pro- 
nounced literary and scientific tastes, and a strong well balanced lawyer. He 
was admitted August 24. 1840. and in 1848 was appointed deputy attorney 
general for Delaware county by .-Utorney General Cooper, but resigned, prose- 
cuting all state cases before the courts at the November term of that year. He 
was elected to the House of Representatives in 185 1 arid 1852, being appointed in 
1854 a member of the State Revenue Board. He was a presidential elector on 
the Republican ticket in i860, and, when Maryland was invaded in 1862, was 
captain of Company C, i6th Regiment State Militia. In the elections of 1862 
he was chosen to represent his district in congress, and while in office took the 
field in 1863 as captain of Company C, 29th Regiment Emergency Men, serving 
in the Gettysburg campaign. He followed his service in the Thirty-eighth Con- 
gress by returning to the Thirty-ninth and Fortieth Congresses. In 1872 he 
was presidential elector, and in 1873 was a member of the constitutional con- 
vention. He served under appointment as president judge of the newly cre- 
ated Thirty-second judicial district ; and was nominated by the Republican 
party to succeed himself, but was defeated by Thomas Gayton, running as 
an independent Republican with a Democratic endorsement. Judge Broomall 
died June 3. 1894. 



486 DELAWARE COUNTY 

Thomas J. Clayton, the first elected president judge of the Delaware 
county courts, was born in Bethel. June 20. 1826. He read law in Wilmington. 
and was admitted to the Delaware county bar November 24, 1851. He located 
in Philadelphia, was admitted to that bar January 7, 1852, and tor twenty-four 
years practiced in that city, residing, however, most of that period near Thur- 
low, now a part of the city of Chester. He was an adroit politician, al- 
though until his election as judge, never held an office, lie built up a strong 
political machine in Delaware county that in 1874 elected him judge over the 
much abler lawyer and jurist, Judge John M. Uroomall. He served a full term 
of ten years, and was re-elected in 1894, when he was nearly seventy years of 
age, holding until his death, January 30, 1900. He was an energetic and suc- 
cessful lawyer, had a bright retentive mind, and was able as a judge. 

The present judge. Isaac Johnson, was appointed in January, 1900. to 
fill the vacancy caused by the death of Judge Clayton, .^t the November elec- 
tion he was chosen to serve a full term of ten years and in 1910 was again 
elected to the same high position. He was born in Ridley, studied law, and has 
the distinction of being the only member of the Delaware county bar ad- 
mitted without an examination. Judge Clayton admitted him on motion of 
ex- Judge John M. Broomall, who stated that his qualifications were such as to 
render examination unnecessary. He was very successful as a lawyer, a popular 
orator, and as a jurist has displayed great wisdom and legal acumen. He 
served as captain in the Civil War, and previous to his elevation to the bench 
had for twelve years held the office of prothonotary and clerk of the courts of 
Delaware county. 

In IQ07 the growth of the county so increased the work of the courts that 
a bill was passed by the legislature granting Delaware county an additional law 
judge. On March 17. 1907, Governor Stuart appointed William B. Broomall 
to that position, and at the Novemlier election of that year he was elected for 
a full term of ten years. 

Judge William B. Broomall, son of Judge John j\i. Broomall, was born in 
Chester, Pennsylvania, January 30, 1843: was graduated from Haverford Col- 
lege in 1861, and then began the study of law. In 1862 he enlisted in Com- 
pany D, 124th Regiment Pennsylvania \'olunteer Infantry; was in hard active 
service in the .\ntietam and Chancellorsville campaigns, and at the close of 
his term of enlistment received honorable discharge. He then returned to 
legal study, and in 1864 was admitted to the Delaware county bar. He rose 
rapidly in his profession, appearing in almost every case of importance, and 
became a recognized leader of the county bar. As a judge he has worthily up- 
held the traditions f)f this one of the strongest bars in Pennsylvania. 

As.^oriA! I-: jrncF.s of notf.. 

William Richardson Atlee was commissioned one of the justices of the 
com-t of common pleas of Delaware county two days after the act of Sep- 
tember 28. 1789. erecting the county, became a law. He was also appointed 
the same day prothonotary and clerk of the quarter sessions and orphans' 



DELAWARE COUNTY 4S7 

court. On September 4, i/gi. he was reappointed by Governor ]\Iifflin to the 
office of prothonotary, and again on March 16, 1792. He was indicted for ex- 
cessive fee charges, but was acquitted. He held office until April 6, 1796, and 
the 26th of July folUiwing was admitted to the county bar. 

Richard Hill ^lorris was commissioned October 12, 1789, having previous- 
ly been a justice of quarter sessions of Chester county. George Pearce, of As- 
ton, was commissioned the same day, also having been a justice in Chester 
county. He held the rank of lieutenant-colonel of the Third Battalion of Mili- 
tia during the Revolution. John Pearson, also commissioned on the same day, 
was a resident of Darby and a Revolutionary soldier, first lieutenant of the 
Pennsylvania line, promoted captain September 7, 1777, and active all through 
the war. 

Thomas Lewis, commissioned the same day with Justices Morris, Pearce 
and Pearson, was also a Revolutionary soldier, ranking as captain. He held 
many offices in Chester county, and in 1799 was commissioned lieutenant-colo- 
nel of the 65th Regiment Pennsylvania Militia. 

In 1791 Richard Riley was appointed associate judge. He was born in 
Marcus Hook, of English parents. He was county assessor, a justice of the 
county, and member of the legislature prior to his apixiintment as judge. He 
was an ardent patriot during the Revolution, a member of the Chester county 
committee of correspondence, delegate to the first and second Provincial con- 
vention, member of the committee of safety of Chester county, and inspector 
of arms. He died August 27, 1820. aged eighty-five years. 

Alark Wilcox, commissioned September 17, 1791, was a son of Thomas 
Wilcox, who about 1727 built on the west branch of Chester creek the second 
paper mill in the United States — the Ivy Mills. Judge Wilcox was a member 
of the assembly from Chester county in 1799, lieutenant-colonel of the iioth 
Regiment, and for thirty years associate judge of Delaware county. He died 
in 1827, aged eighty-four years. 

Hugh Lloyd served as associate judge of Delaware county courts a third 
of a century, the longest term in the judicial history of the county. P)orn in 
1742, he took active part in the war for independence, and serving two terms 
in the Pennsylvania Assembly : he was a man of usefulness, and lived to the 
great age of ninety-three years. 

Benjamin Brannon, of Upper Darby, was an ardent patriot, and in I77ri 
was appointed to instruct the people of Chester county in the mode of making 
saltpetre for the state powder mills. In 1777 he was one of the sub-lieutenants 
of the county, was county commissioner in 1779; member of the Assembly 
from Chester county 1782; and commissioned associate judge June 5, 1794. 

John Crosby, appointed April 26, 1799. was a first lieutenant of the First 
Battalion Pennsylvania Militia, saw service, was captured at his home in Ridley, 
taken to New York, and confined on the British ship "Falmouth." He served 
as associate judge until 1826. 

William .Anderson, a A'irginian, joined the Continental army when fif- 
teen vears of age: was present at the siege of Yorktown and witnessed the 



488 DELAWARE COUNTY 

surrender of Cornwallis. He settled in Chester, and in ijyO purchased the 
Columbia House. He was a member of the Eleventh, Twelfth and Fifteenth 
Congresses ; made the address to Lafayette in response to the sentiment, "The 
Nation's Guest," in the State House at Philadelphia, September 29, 1824. He 
resigned as associate judge to accept a position in the Philadelphia custom 
house. He held the military rank of major, and died December 16, 1829, 
aged sixty-seven years. 

Joseph Engle, born 1770, was thirty-six years of age before attaining any 
office of prominence in the county. In 1806 he was appointed commissioner, 
and on May 24, 1809, was commissioned prothonotary, recorder, register and 
clerk of the courts, commissioned January 14, 1812, and again December 20. 
18 14. He was well acquainted with judicial procedure from his years of ex- 
perience with the courts, and frequently during Judge Darlington's term 
as president judge, was obliged to preside, charging the grand jury and trying 
cases. Associate Judge Engle died October 18, 1857, in his eighty-eighth 
year. 

Henry Myers was prothonotary, recorder, register and clerk of Delaware 
county courts for three terms prior to being commissioned associate judge, De- 
cember 27, 1833. In 1826 he was elected state senator, serving four years, 
retiring from ])ublic life at the expiration of his term. He left his home on 
February 23, 1855, a bitter cold day, and was found frozen near Cobb's Creek 
the following day. 

Dr. George Smith, a graduate of the University of Pennsylvania, 1820, 
practiced in Darby five years, then coming into a fortune he retired from his 
profession. From 1832 to 1836 he was state senator, and as chairman of the 
committee on education drafted a bill in the interest of the public schools, the 
first practical enactment respecting free public education secured in the state. 
Governor Ritner appointed Dr. Smith associate judge of Delaware countv in 
1836, and in 1840 he was elected for a second term. He was superintendent 
of public instruction in the county for several years, and president of the 
school board for Upper Darby. In September, 1833. with four others, he 
founded the Delaware County Institute of Science, and for nearly fifty years 
he was its president. In 1862 he published his "History of Delaware County," 
a much quoted authority on history of the county. He died February 24, 1884, 
full of years and honors. 

George Gray Leiper was appointed associate judge by Governor Porter. 
He was a graduate of the University of Pennsylvania, 1803. at the age of 
seventeen years, and settled after his marriage on the Leiper estate in Ridley 
township. In 181 1 he established the first Sunday school in the county. He 
served in llic war of i8ij as lieutenant of the Delaware County Fencibles. 
In 1818 he built at his own expense the Ridley Presbyterian Church. In 1822- 
1823 he was a member of the legislature, and so strongly urged state aid for 
the maintenance of the Deaf and Dumb .\sylum in Philadelphia that he was 
chosen a director of that institution, continuing as such until his death. In 
1828 he was elcclecl a memlu'r of the Twentv-first ('nnoress. but decliniti"' a 



DELAWARE COUNTY 



489 



renomination. In 1843 he was appointed associate judge, continuing on tlie 
bench until the office was made elective. He died November 18, 1868, in his 
eighty-third year. 

James Andrews and Sketchley Morton were the first two associate judges 
of Delaware county elected by the people. They were elected November 10, 
1851, Judge Andrew being re-elected in 1856; and in 1861, at the expiration of 
his term, being then seventy years of age, he retired. Judge Morton served 
but one term, and was more the merchant than the public man, although he 
served a term in the legislature. He was president of the Delaware County 
Mutual Insurance Company from 1852 until October, 1878, when he resigned. 
He died February 9, 1878, aged sixty-seven years. 

Frederick J. Hinkson Sr. was elected in 1856. He was born Novem- 
ber 8, 1803, in Upper Providence, and learned the tailor's trade, obtaining lat- 
er an education, and taught school. He entered the employ of the Bank of 
Delaware County in Chester, 1828, and as clerk, cashier and president was con- 
nected with that institution until 1864, when he resigned. He was for twenty 
years treasurer of the borough of Chester, was trea.surer of the first building 
and loan association in the borough, and held many offices of trust. He re- 
signed his office of associate judge before his term expired. 



THE BAR. 



Beginning with William Tilghman. who moved his own admission to the 
bar of Delaware county, the opening day of the first court ever held in Dela- 
ware county, the following is a list of the attorneys of Delaware county, with 
the date of their admission : 



William Tilghman 
William Blair 
Joseph Thomas 
Thomas Ross 
William Graham 
Benjamin Morgan 
Anthony Morris 
John Todd 
Alexander Wilcox 
Wm. Bradford, Jr. 
Jacob Bankson 
Elisha Price 
Robert Porter 
Thomas B. Dick 
Moses Levy 
William Rawle 
Benjamin Morgan 
Anthony Morris 
Sampson Levy 
Matthias Baldwin 
J. D. Sergeant 
•George Campbell 
John Thompson 



November 9, 1789 
9, 1789 
9, 1789 
9, 1789 
9, 1789 
9. 1789 
1789 
1789 
February 9, 1790 
9, 1790 
9, 1790 
9, 1790 
9, 1790 
" 9, 1790 
9, 1790 
9, 1790 
9, 1790 
9, 1790 
May II. 1790 
" II, 1790 
November 9. 1790 
9. 1790 
9. 1790 



Nicholas Diehl 
Robert H. Dunkin 
John C. Willis 
Isaac Telfall 
Seth Chapman 
Thomas Armstrong 
Robert Fraser 
John Ross 

Thomas W. Tallman 
John D. Cox 
Joseph Hemphill 
John Horn 
Caleb Pierce 
William Sergeant 
James Hunter 
David Moore 
William Martin 
William R. Atlee 
Michael Kepple 
Alex. James Dallas 
Bird Wilson 
William Ewing 
W. L. Hannum 



May ID, 1791 

" 10, 1791 

" 10, 1791 
August 10, 1791 
November 9, 1791 
December 2, 1791 
July 30, 1792 

" 31. 1792 
January 3,' 1793 
April 30, 1793 
October 1793 
January 29. 179S 
29, I79S 
April 27. 1795 
October 1795 
January 23, 1796 
April 1796 
July 26, 1796 

" 26, 1796 
November i. 1796 
April 7, 1797 
October 30, 1797 
April 1798 



-!90 



DELAWARE COUNTY 



Joseph Reed 
Jonathan T. Haight 
Charles Chauncey 
John Sergeant 
John Taylor 
William Hemphill 
Xich. G. Williamson 
Jonathan W. Condey 
Rich. Peters, junior 
Richard Rush 
John Evving, junior 
W. Robinson, junior 
Isaac Darlington 
Thomas Bradford 
James D. Barnard 
Peter Arrell Brown 
Charles F. Frazer 
Charles Kissellman 
Rich. Bache. junior 
Samuel Edwards 
Joseph Barnes 
Benjamin Shober 
Jno. Edwards, junior 
B. Newcomb, junior 
William H. Todd 
Thomas R. Ross 
Ziba Pyle 
Samuel H. Jacobs 
Jonathan Dunker 
Edward IngersoU 
Randall Hutchinson 
Thos. D. Anderson 
Clymer Ross 
Charles Harland 
James M. Porter 
Michael W. Ash 
Charles J. Cox 
Charles Catlin 
William Bowen 
Wm. A. Dillingham 
Thos. F. Pheasants 
James Henderson 
Jonathan Hampden 
John Kerlin 
Robert H. Smith 
Benjamin Chew 
Isaac D. Barnard 
Archibald T. Dick 
Samuel I. Withy 
Matthias R. Sayres 
Henry C. Byrne 
Edward D. Cox 
Thomas Kitters 
Henry G. Freeman 



May 2, 1798 
January 28, 1799 
28, 1799 
July 30, 1799 
April 1800 
July 1800 
January 1801 
April 1801 
■' 1801 
■' 1801 
July 20, 1801 

" 25, 1802 

" 25, 1802 

" 25, 1802 
April 30, 1804 
May I. 1804 
October 30, 1804 
30, 1804 
May I, 1805 
April 30, 1805 
October 23, 1806 
January 21, 1807 
October ig. 1807 

19, 1807 
April 17, 1809 

17. 1809 
July 17. 1809 
January 21. 1811 
July 24, 181 I 
January 20, 1812 
" 20. 1812 
" 23. 1812 
April 13. 1812 
" 13. 1812 
July 26, 1813 
" 26, 18 1 3 
" 26, 1813 
January 17. 1814 
April 12, 1814 
" 12, 1814 
" 12, 1814 
July 28, 1814 
" 28. T814 
" 28. 1814 
January 16. 1815 
April 10, 1815 
January 16, 1816 
16. 1816 
April 8, 1816 
July 22, 1816 
August 26, 1816 
October 22, 1816 
January 20, 1817 

20, iSt7 



Matthew Morris 
John Kentzing Kane 
James C. Biddle 
Samuel Rush 
Charles Sidney Cox 
John J. Richards 
Joseph P. Norburry 
Nathan R. Potts 
David Paul Brown 
Wm. Wilnior, junior 
John Duer 
Arthur Middleton 
Richard C. Wood 
Robert R. Beale 
William Williamson 
Edward Darlington 
William Martin 
Aquilla A. Brown 
John P. Owens 
John M. Reed 
William S. Haines 
Thomas S. Bell 
Thomas F. Gordon 
Bond Valentine 
Edward Richards 
Thomas A. Budd 
A. Marshall, junior 
Thomas Dunlap 
Francis E. Brewster 
Nathaniel Vernon 
William Kimber 
John P. Griffiths 
Mordecai Taylor 
Daniel Buckwalter 
John S. Newbold 
William Darlington 
Samuel Chew 
H. H. Van Aminge 
William T. Smith 
Lewis G. Pierce 
John Cadwalader 
Joseph J. Lewis 
Joseph S. Cohen 
John K. Zeilin 
Owen Stoever 
David H. Hoope 
F. A. Reybold 
John W. .^shmead 
John H. Bradley 
William C. Brown 
David J. Desmond 
James A. Donath 
Levi Hollingsworth 
Robert E. Hannum 



April 14, 1817 
" 14. 1817 
•' 14. 1817 
October 19, 1818 
19, 1818 
January 19, iSiP' 
July 16, 1819 
" 16, 1819 
" 16, 1819 
" 16, 1819 
August 18, 1819 
18, 1819 
18. 1819 
October 17, 1820 
January 17, 1821 
April 9, 182 1 
April 27, 1821 
January 21. 1822 
April 8, 1822 
June ig, 1822 
July 22, 1822 
April 14. 1823 
" 14. 1S23 
" 14. 1823 
July 28, 1823 
" 28, 1823 
" 28, 1823 
October 23, 1823 
23, 1823 
April 13, 1824 
13. 1825 
13. 1825 
July 27, 1825 
January 26. 1826 
" ' 26, 1826 
July 24, 1S26 
" 24, 1826 
" 24, 1826 
" 24, 1826 
" 24, 1826 
January 16. 1827 
April 9, 1827 
" 9, 1827 
August 10, 1827 
October 15. 1827 
" 16. 1827 
January 22, 1828 
April 14. 1828 
October 20, 1828 
20, 1828 
January 22, 1829 
.\pril 15, 1829 
15, 1829 
July 27, 1829 



DELAWARE COUNTY 



491' 



P. Frazer Smith 
John C. Daniel 
Peter Hill Engle 
Andrew T. Smith 
John C. Nipper 
George L. Ashmead 
Charles C. Rawn 
John Rntter 
Thomas W. Morris 
Robert R. Dodson 
Thomas R. Newbold 
John Swift 
David H. Mulvany 
J. Hemphill, jnnior 
Horatio Hubbell 
Samuel F. Reed 
Daniel McLaughlin 
Joseph Williams 
Horatio G. Worrall 
Wm. M. Tilghman 
James Hanna 
Wm. H. Keating 
Wm. M. Meredith 
Henry J. Williams 
John Freedley 
Thomas M. Jolly 
John B. Sterigere 
•William E. Wliitman 
John D. Pierce 
Saunder Lewis 
Frederick E. Hayes 
Elihue D. Farr 
John M. Broomall 
\J. V. Pennypacker 
Christopher Fallon 
B. Franklin Pyle 
Charles B. Heacock 
Isaac S. Serrill 
Addison May 
Garrick Mallery 
Paul Beck Carter 
William D. Kelley 
James Mason 
Lewis Allain Scott 
Mortimer R. Talbot 
William P. Foulke 
John M. Simmes 
Ben. C. Tilghman 
Henry Chester 
Wm. R. Dickerson 
Matthew A. Sanley 
John Smith Futhey 
Edward Hopper 
Samuel Hood 



November 22. 1829 
January 18, 1830 
April 13, 1830 
■■ 14. 1830 
March 2, 1831 
April II, 1831 
November 28, 1831 
28, 1831 
30. 1831 
November 27, 1832 
August 27, 1832 
April 22, 1833 
February 25, 1834 
May 30, 1834 
August 23, 1835 
November 24, 1835 
August 22. 1836 
" 27, 1836 
February 27, 1837 
•' ' 28, 1837 
May 22, 1837 
August 28, 1837 
" 28, 1837 
" 28, 1837 
30. 1837 
30, 1837 
June 4, 1838 
" 7, 1838 
November 27, 1838 
27, 1838 
May 25, 1840 
" 26. 1840 
August 24, 1840 
" 26. 1840 
November 24. 1840 
August 23, 1841 

24, 1841 

25, 1841 
November 25, 1841 

25, 1841 
May 23, 1842 
" 23, 1842 
August 23, 1842 
November 30, 1842 
30, 1842 
May 22, 1843 
" 22, 1843 
" 22, 1843 
" 27, 1843 
August 28, 1843 
November 27, 1843 
27. 1843 
.30. 1843 
March i. 1844 



Thos. H. Speakman 
Jesse M. Griffith 
Ashbel Green 
Constant Guillou 
Robert Frazer 
Wm. W. Hubbel 
R. Rundel Smith 
James B. Everhart 
Joseph P. Wilson 
Samuel B. Thomas 
John A. Gilmore 
Nathaniel B. Brown 
R. C. McMurtrie 
William F. Boon 
Robert M. Lea 
Nathaniel B. Holland 
Marshall Sprogell 
Samuel A. Black 
Robert McCay 
George Palmer 
Wash. Townsend 
James H. Hackleton 
Henry B. Edwards 
George W. Ormsby 
John Banks 
Joseph R. Morris 
William Butler 
Gilbert R. Fox 
Henry Freedley 
Enoch Taylor 
Harlan Ingram 
Thomas H. Maddock 
Charles D. Manley 
Ezra Levis 
Paschall Woodward 
Wm. Hollingshead 
John Markland 
Robert Alsop 
John F. Roberts 
Thomas Greenback 
Jesse Bishop 
John H. Robb 
John Titus 
Joseph R. Dickinson 
Thomas Leiper 
George Norton 
Thomas J. Clayton 
Francis Darlington 
James M. Goodman 
William B, Waddell 
Benjamin A. Mitchell 
A. Lewis Smith 
Edward Olmstead 
J, Williams Biddle 



August 20, 1844 
November 5, 1845 
February 24. 1845 
24, 1845 

24. 1845 
May 6. 1845 
August 25, 1845 

25, 1845 
November 24, 1845. 
February 26, 1846 
26, 1846 
May 25, 1846 
" 25, 1846 
•' 25, 1846 
August 24, 1846 
24, 1846 
24, 1846 
November 23. 1846' 
February 22, 1847 
22, 1847 
August 23. 1847 
23, 1847 
November 22, 1847 
February 27, 1848 
May 22, 1848 
August 28, 1848 
28, 1848 
28, 1848 
28, 1848 
28, 1848 
November 27, 1848 
27. 1848 
February 26. 1849 
May 28. 1849 
" 28, 1849 
" 28, 1849 
August 27. 1849 
February 25. 1849 

25. 1849 
May 27. 1850 

" 27, 1850 

" 27, 18.50 
August 26. 1850 
November 25, 1850 
May 26. 1S51 

" 28, 185 1 
November 24, 1851 
February 23. 1852 

26. 1852 
May 24, 1852 
August 23, 1852 
October 15, 1853 
March 6. 1854 

6, T854 



492 



DELAWARE COUNTY 



William Vodges 
Robert S. Paschall 
Edward A. Price 
George E. Darlington 
William Nicholson 
Robert D. Clialfant 
John W. Stokes 
James Otterson 
Andrew Zane 
Peter Wychoff 
John Hibberd 
Samuel Simpson 
M. J. Mitcheson 
Francis C. Hooton 
Aaron Thompson 
John K. Valentine 
Jacob F. Brynes 
John P. O'Neal 
William Ward 
Joseph R. T. Coates 
O. Flagg Billiard 
Frank M. Brooke 
H. Ryland Warriner 
John S. Newlin 
Richard P. White 
Nathan S. Sharpless 
John C. Laycock 
J. Alex. Simpson 
John H. Brinton 
John Eyre Shaw 
A. V. Parsons 
T, Passmore Hanbest 
William T. Haines 
David M. Johnson 
M. J. Micheson 
William O'Neill 
James Doyle 
Wayne McVeagh 
John B, Hinkson 
James Barton, Junior 
James H. Lytle 
William B, Broomall 
John Dolman 
John O'Bryne 
William H. Sutton 
George F. Smith 
Eldridgc McKonkey 
T. H. Oelschlager 
William F. Johnson 
William M. Bull 
Jesse Cox, Jimior 
William H. Yerkes 
J. Howard Gendell 
Ceorge Hasty 



May 22, 1854 

■■ 24, 1854 
February 25, 1856 
May 26, 1856 
June 6, 1856 

" 6, 1856 
November 24, 1856 
August 24, 1857 
February 22, 1857 
May 24, 1857 

" 24, 1857 

" 24, 1857 
August 28, 1857 
November 23, 1857 
May 2j, 1859 
23, 1859 
23, 1859 
23, 1859 
August 22, 1859 
22, 1859 
" 22, 1859 
October 17, 1859 
December 29, 1859 
June 4, i860 
August 25, i860 
September 3. i860 
October 15, i860 
November 26, i860 
27, i860 
January 25. 1861 
September 21, 1861 
September 21, 1861 
March 30, 1862 
June 21. 1862 
August 27, 1862 
November 26. 1862 
November 26. 1862 
May 26. 1863 
August 24, 1863 
November 23, 1863 
December 28, 1863 
February 24, 1864 
July II, 1864 
November 28, 1864 
February 27. 1865 
August 30, 1865 
November 27. 1865 
May 28. 1866 

" 28. 1866 

" 28, 1866 
August 27. 1866 

" 27. 1866 

March 2, 1867 

2. 1867 



William F. Judson 
Wencel Hartman 
George M. Pardoe 
A. S. Letchwnrth 
James Parsons 
A. P. Reid 
John C. Bullitt 
Alex. Reed 
Wm. H. Dickinson 
Orlando Harvey 
James Ross Snowden 
Geo. H. Armstrong 
Thomas J. Diehl 
William J. Harvey 
Henry C. Howard 
P. M. Washabaugh 
Charles Eyre 
Christian Kneass 
W. W. Montgomery 
W. W. Wistar 
Samuel Emlen 
W. McGeorge. Junior 
Edward C. Diehl 
J. L. Farren 
Rees Davis 
Morton P. Henry 
Carroll S. Tyson 
V. Gilpin Robinson 
Tames O. Bowman 
James V- McGinn 
Wesley Talbot 
Abram H. Jones 
John B. Thayer 
John R. Reed 
George M. Rupert 
Paul M. Elsasser 
J. V. McGeoghegan 
I. Newton Brown 
Edward H. Hall 
David F. Rose 
George M. Booth 
H A, L. Pyle 
Hutchinson Sprogel 
C. W. Beresford 
Thomas H. Foreman 
William H. Caley 
Henry G. Ashmead 
George B. Lindsay 
Wilbur F. Calloway 
Theo. F. Jenkins 
S. Davis Page 
William McMichael 
R. Jones Monaghan 
Joseph F. Perdue 



May 27, 1867 
February 25, 1868 
March 24, 1868 
September 28, 1868 
28, 1868 
28, 1868 
28, 1868 
28, 1868 
November 8, 1868 
25, 1868 
February 22, 1869 
22, 1869 

22. 1869 
.September 27. 1869 
November 23, i86g 

23, 1869 
" 24, 1869 

February 28, 1870 
March 2, 1870 
2, 1870 
November 28, 1870 
February 27, 1871 
May 25, 1871 
February 29, 1872 
March 4, 1872 
" 26, 1872 
" 26, 1872 
August 26, 1872 

" 29, 1872 

September 21, 1872 

November 25. 1872 

25, 1872 

25, 1872 

" 25, 1872 

December 23. 1872 

" 23. 1S72 

June 23, 1873 

August 24, 1873 

November 24. 1873 

24. 1873 
February 23, 1874 
June 1874 
August 27, 1874 
September 28. 1874 
October 26. 1874 
November 24. 1874 
February 23. 1S75 

23, 1S75 
23. 1875 

March 22. 1875 
22, 1875 
22. 1875 
22. 1875 

June 29, 1R75 



DELAWARE COUNTY 



493- 



George W. Bliss 
John T. Reynolds 
Walter S. Pearce 
John V. Rice 
Alfred Driver 
Alfred Tyson 
Henry M. Fiissell 
James McKenlay 
A. S. Biddle 
A. C. Fulton 
D. Smith Talbot 
Joseph W. Barnard 
John F. Yonng 
Weldon B. Heyburn 
Wm. M. Thompson 
Harry L. Kingston 
H. Pleasants, Junior 
Henry C. Townsend 
William B. Huston 
John B. Hannum 
William S. Windle 
Benjamin F. Fisher 
Albert T. Goldbeck 
F. C. Cleenann 
J. B. Dickeson 
J. M. Broomall, Ju'r 
Benjamin L. Temple 
Edmund Jones 
Townsend E. Levis 
Patrick Bradley 
William S. Sykes 
J. N. Shanafelt 
S. Grafton Davis 
John A. Groff 
Truxton Beale 
Rowland Evans 
Charles A. Logan 
David Garrett 
Oliver B. Dickinson 
Ward R. Bliss 
George T. Bispham 
Oliver C. McClure 
Wm. E. Littleton 
Curtis H. Hannum 
Edward C. Quinn 
Horace P. Green 
Garrett Pendleton 
W. Ross Brown 
Edward H. Weil 
Abraham Wanger 
Nelson H. Strong 
Joseph M. Pyle 
H. F. Fairlamb 



September 20, 1875 

22, 187s 

November i, 1875 

December 13, 1875 

13. 187s 
January 3, 1876 
" 17, 1876 
June 8, 1876 
■■ 13, 1876 
September 19, 1876 
" 19, 1876 

October 9, 1876 
9, 1876 
November 6, 1876 
6, -1876 
December 7, 1877 
January 8, 1877 
8. 1877 
February 5, 1877 

s. 1877 

March 5, 1877 
" 12, 1877 
" 12, 1877 
April 12, 1877 
June 4, 1877 
September 17, 1877 
20, 1877 
December 3. 1877 
March 4, 1878 
April 7, 187S 
" 7. 1878 
March 6, 1878 
June 3, 1878 
6, 1878 
September 16, 1878 
29. 1878 
October 14, 1878 
December 2, 1878 
3. 1878 

3. 1878 
February 3, 1879 
March 5, 1879 

" 14. 1879 
June 3. 1879 

" 9. 1879 

" 9, 1879 
July 7, 1879 

" 7, 1879 
September 22, 1879 
November 3, 1879 
December 3. 1879 

4. 1879 
June 16. 1880 



James S. Cummins 
Jesse M. Baker 
William A. Porter 
Henry J. McCarthy 
E. Wilson, Junior 
Edward W. Magill 
John B. Booth 
Samuel S. Corning 
Benjamin H. Lehman 
David W. Sellers 
John B Robinson 
William Herbert 
A. Gordon Bromley 
Garrett E. Smedley 
George C. Johnson 
Edward S. Campbell 
Henry L. Broomall 
Harwell A. Cloud 
Isaac Chism 
Joseph L. Caven 
Alfred F. Curtis 
John W. Shortlidge 
William W. Lamborn 
Joseph T. Bunting 
William B. Thomas 
Isaac Johnson 
Wm. A. Manderson 
Edmund Randall 
Damon Y. Kilgore 
(Mrs.) C. B. Kilgore 
Samuel Lyons 
Wm. L. Mattheus 
W. C. Stoever 
Henry S. Calloway 
Ale.x. Simpson, Jr. 
Jolin J. Pinkerton 
Oliver Troth 
Wm. H- Harrison 
Henry R. Major 
Adolph Myer 
Thomas B. Reeves 
Samuel U. Ward 
Joseph H. Hinkson 
George H. Morris 
Lewis L. Smith 
H. Hathaway, junior 
Samuel A. Price 
Thomas J. Hunt 
A. A. Cochran 
Horace L. Cheyney 
John Lentz Garrett 
Henry W. Smith 
Horace Haverstick 
W. R. Fronefield 



September 20, 1880 
" 22, 1880 

25, 1880 
2, 1880 
27, i8,So 
27, 1880 
December 6, 1880 
6, 1880 
6, 1880 
21, 1880 
March 7, 1881 
" 14, 1881 
" 14, 1881 
September 22, 1881 
December 8, 1881 
20, 1881 
February 6, 1882 
6, 1882 
16. 1882 
March 4. 1882 
June 5, 1882 
November 6, 1882 
December 19, 1882 
April 2, 1883 
September 24, 1883 
December 17, 1883 
March 17. 1884 
April 7, 1SS4 
" 7, 1884 
June 2, 1S84 
June 2, 1884 
Nov. 10, 1884 
January 5, 1885 
February 2, 1885 
" ' 2, 1885 
March 16, 1885 
December 20, 1885 
February I, 1886 
I, 1886 
March 8, 1886 
" IS, 1886 
April 5. 1886 
June 15. 1886 
December 13, 1886 
June 15. 1886 
January 3, 1887 
March 7, 1887 
June 6. 1887 
May 2, 1887 
June 13, 1887 
" 13. 1887 
July 5. 1887 
September 19. 1887 
19. 1887 



494 



DELAWARE COUNTY 



Eugene S. Daley 
Benj. C. Potts 

D. Stuart Robinson 
Samuol L. Clayton 
William I. Schaffer 
William L. Delahunt 
J. Hazleton Mirkil 

A. J. Wilkinson 
James W. Mercur 
Frank B. Rhodes 
Charles Palmer 
Joseph M. Dohan 
Frank R. Savidge 
Isaac Elwell 

E. G. Hamersley 
Robert J. Williams 
T. L. Vanderslice 
Milton C. Work 
Wm. H. Ridley 
Edward P. Bliss 
Charles I. Cronin 
C. D. M. Broomall 
J. Russell Hayes 
C. Percy Wilcox 
S. H. Kirkpatrick 
Josiah Smith 

W. A. Shoemaker 
William B. Harvey 
John C. Hinkson 
Henry V. Massey 
Morton J. Paul 
C. Y. Audenreid 
George T. Butler 
George K. Cross 
Conrad C. Wilfred 
T. Speer Dickson 
George Vaux. Jr. 
Henry Ashton Little 
James Henry Scott 
Francis G. Taylor 
Louis S. Hough 
Louis T. Finnegan 
Albert D. MacDade 
Alexander B. Geary 
J. Henry Mclntyre 
Benjamin C. Fox 
George J. Parker 
William S. Ellis 
John E. McDonough 
William T. Brennan 
Edwin A. Howell 
John R. Valentine 
Walter Washabaugh 
John S. Freeman 



October lo, 1887 
November 9, 1887 
December 19, 1887 
February 13, 1888 
13. 1888 
March 5. 1888 
April 2, 1888 
December 17, 1888 
March 25, 1889 
December 2, 1889 
April 7, 1890 
May 5. 1890 
5. 1890 
June 2, 1890 
November 3, 1890 
November 3, 1890 
10. 1890 
January 12, 1891 
March 23, 1891 
May 5, 1891 
July 6, 1891 
September 21, 1891 
June 7, 1892 
September 26, 1892 
October 12, 1892 
December 22, 1892 

22, 1892 
March 6, 1893 
May I, 1893 
June 19, 1893 

" 19. 1893 

" 19. 1893 
July 3, 1893 
October 9, 1893 
December 4, 1893 
4. 1893 
4. 1893 
January 3, 1894 
March S, 1894 
May 7, 1894 
September 3, 1894 
17. 1894 
17, 1894 
December 3. 1894 
February 4. 1895 
March 5, 1895 
" 25. 189s 
May 6, 1895 
June 3, iSq? 
March 2, 1896 

" 9, 1896 

" 2, 1896 
May 4, 1896 

" 4. 1896 



Charles D. White 
Albert J. Williams 
Jesse M. Johnson 
Wm. C. .\lexandL-r 
H. J. Makiver 
William C. Lees 
Frank Marion Cody 
Edwin P. Hannum 
William B. Knowles 
D. yi. Johnson, Jr. 
Frank G. Perrin 
Charles B. Galloway 
James H. Osborne 
Eleanor J. Wilson 
Carolus E. Hough 
Frederick T. Pusey 
Isaac E. Johnson 
Cypriana Andrade 
F. F. Eastlack, Jr. 
K. Montgomery 
George B. Harvey 
J. M. (3) Broomall 
Joshua C. Taylor 
John McConaghy 
Harry Schalcher 
Isaac D. Yocum 
Stephen E. Taylor 
Thomas S. Williams 
B. Frank Fenton 
Henry W. Jones 
J. R. Robinson 
James B. Robertson 
John De H. White 
J. B. Hannum. Jr. 
Edward J. Mingey 
Frances ."Xnne Keay 
Frank S. Morris 
Wm. Taylor 
John A. Poulson 
Wm. B. Northam 
Theo. J. Grayson 
A. S. Longbottom 
Joseph Hill Brinton 
George W. Carr 
Charles F. Da Costa 
A. Culver Boyd 
John Booth Miller 
Morton A. Cooper 
Samuel W. Mifflin 
J. De H. Ledward 
Ernest LeRoy Green 
Matthew Randall 
Boyd C. Barrington 
Robert Oglesby 



September 21, 1896 
December 7, 1896 
March I. 1897 
■■ 2. 1897 
.Vpril 5. 1897 
June 7, 1897 
■■ 7, 1898 
July 6, 1897 
September 20. 1897 
March 7, 1897 

" 7, 1897 
June 6. 1898 
September 19, 1898 
19, 1898 
December 5, 1898 
5, 1898 
5. 1898 
S. 1898 
May I, 1899 
" I. 1899 
March 6. 1899 
June 26, 1899 
December 4, 1897 
.-^pril 7, 1900 
November 12, 1900 
April 2, 1900 
January 8, 1901 
January 14, igoi 
December 30, 1901 

20, 1901 
March 11, 1902 
April 14, 1902 
March 25, 1902 
June 16, 1902 
December 2. 1902 
" 4. 1902 

" 29. 1902 
" 29, 1902 
" 30. 1902 
" 30. 1902 
" 30. 1902 
July 20, 1903 
March 7, 1904 
7, 1904 
7. 1904 
" 28. 1904 
28. 1904 
September 19. 1904 
December 5. 1904 
September r8, 1905 
October 4, 1905 
November 15, 1905 
27, 190S 
March 20. 1906 



DELAWARE COUNTY 



495 



Walter S. Mertz 
D. Reese Esrey 
J. J. Pinkerton 
C. H. Pennypacker 
F. A. Moorehead 
Edwin S. Dixon 
W. F. McClenachan 
F. B. Calvert 
Albert N. Garrett 
Samuel P. Hansom 
T. O. Haydock, Jr. 
Albert E. Holl 



September 17, 1906 
October 22, 1906 
March 17, 1908 
" 31, 1908 
June I, 1908 
August 5, 1908 
September 30, 1908 
February 27, 1909 
27, 1909 
" 27, 1909 
March 20, 1909 
" 20, 1909 



James F. Casey 
John J. Stetson 
John J. McCann 
Elvvood J. Turner 
E. C. Bonniwell 
E. W. Chadwick 
Howard E. Hannum 
Harwell B. Button 
Walter R. White 
Howard W. Lutz 
James L. Rankin 
E. E. West 



December 6, 1909 

II, 1909 
October I, 1910 
December 10, 1910 
March 13, 191 1 
June 6, 1911 
June 6, 1911 
December 9, 1911 

" II, 1911 
March \2, 1913 

" 10, 1913 

" 10, 1913 



EMINENT LAWYERS. 



While the Delaware bar has always ranked among the l>est in the state, 
there are several members who have so far outranked their contemporaries as 
to be worthy of special mention. Among the earliest of these notables was 
William Graham, fifth of the group admitted on the first day of court. He was 
the only son of Judge Graham; was chief burgess of Chester in 1794, and 
commanded a troop of cavalry from Delaware county during the "Whiskey 
Insurrection." For many years prior to his death, December 19, 1821, he was 
unable to speak in public through loss of voice from exposure. 

Thomas Brinton Dick was admitted January 9, 1790. He was an espec- 
ially strong character, and ranked as one of the ablest advocates of his time. 
He lost his life in a blinding snow storm, April 21, 181 1, while out shooting 
•ducks from a skiff on the Delaware. 

Robert Frazer, of Thornbury, was admitted July 30, 1792. He was the 
father of the plan to remove the county seat from Chester to Media, he pre- 
paring the petition to the legislature in 1820, praying for the removal to a more 
central location. 

William Martin, although a native of Philadelphia, moved to Chester at 
an early age. He was both physician and lawyer, admitted April, 1796. He 
was chief burgess of Chester in 1789. and in April made the address of wel- 
come to Washington, who stopped there when on his way to New York to be 
inaugtirated as the first president of the United States. Mr. Martin died Sep- 
tember 22, 1798, a victim of yellow fever. 

Samuel Edwards, born in Chester township, March 12, 1785, died No- 
vember 25, 1850, admitted April 30, 1806. He was a member of the assembly 
in 1814 and 1816, and a member of the Sixteenth and Nineteenth Congresses, 
and with George C. and Samuel Leiper, Levi Reynolds and James P.uchanan, 
was credited with the control of political affairs in Eastern Pennsylvania un- 
der Presidents Jackson and Van Buren administrations. 

John Edwards. Junior, was born at the Black Horse Tavern. July 15, 
1786, died October, 1846. He was admitted 'October 19, 1807: was deputy 
attorney general for the county in 181 1 and in 1S24: was of counsel for Well- 
ington for murder of Bonsall. He owned rolling mills, and was largely inter- 



496 DELAWARE COUNTY 

ested in the iron business. He was elected to congress in 1838 and served two 
terms. He died in October, 1845, aged fifty-nine years. 

Thomas Dixon Anderson, only son of Major and Judge William Ander- 
son, moved to Tennessee, where he became attorney general of that state. 
Later he was United States consul at Tunis and Tripoli for several years. 

John Kerlin was the fourth president of the Bank of Delaware County. 
In 1824 he began four )ears service as state senator, and in 1828 was again 
elected for a like period. He died in Philadelphia, May 21, 1847, aged fifty- 
four years. 

Isaac D. Barnard became clerk in the prothonotary's office when a boy of 
thirteen years, serving two years at Chester and a like period in the office of 
the prothonotary of Philadelphia county. He was a gallant officer of the war 
of 1812, captain of a company in the Fourteenth Regiment United States Cav- 
alry; he was promoted major for gallant conduct at Fort George, and at 
Plattsburg commanded the regiment, all his superior officers having fallen. He 
had a large practice, but gave up a great deal of his time to the public service. 
He was state senator in 1824-26; was appointed secretary of its common- 
wealth, and in the same year, 1826. was elected United States senator, serving 
until 1831, when he resigned, broken in health. He died February 18, 1834. 

John K. Zeilin was deputy prothonotary and clerk of courts under Henry 
Myers. He read law with Edward Darlington, and seems to have been more 
prominent in military and public life than in the law. He held many offices, 
both state and federal, and was colonel of the Forty-seventh Regiment Penn- 
sylvania Militia, and offered his regiment for service in the Mexican war. He 
di(d in I^hiladelphia, August 6, 1876, in his seventy-third year. 

Samuel Baldwin Thomas practiced in Philadelphia, but located in Media 
in 1857. He was deputy secretary of the commonwealth, and in 1863 was at 
the head of the military department of the state, ranking as colonel. After the 
war he was commissioner of the revenue board, and later commissioner in 
bankruptcy. 

Edward Darlington in 1824 was deputy attorney general for Delaware 
county; was elected by the Whigs to the Twenty-third Congress by the Anti- 
Masons, to the Twenty-fourth, and again by the Whigs to the Twenty-fifth. In 
1851 he was elected district attorney, ^ml was the first president of the Deia- 
w.are County Bar Association. He died in Media, November 21, 1884, in his 
ninetieth year. 

Abraham Lewis Smith has been a mitable figure for over fifty years. He 
was born in Upper Darby township, November 12, 1831, son of Dr. George 
and Mary (Lewis) Smith. He was graduated A. B. from the University of 
Pennsylvania, 1850, and received his A. M. in course; entered the law depart- 
ment of the University and was graduated LL.B., 1853, and admitted to the bar 
the same year. He has been in active practice over fifty years and has covered 
a wide range of practice. In his knowledge of the law of real estate, probably 
no member of the bar is his ec|ual. From 1858 to 1883 he was secretary of 
the West Chester & Philadeljjhia Railroad Company ; was one of the founders 



DELAWARE COUNTY 497 

and the first president of the West End Trust Company, organized in 1891, and 
is still a member of the board of directors and of the finance committee. He 
has been president of the Delaware County Historical Society since its organ- 
ization ; is a member of the Historical Society of Pennsylvania; Sons of the 
Revolution ; Colonial Society of Pennsylvania, the Genealogical Society ; and 
the Delaware County Institute of Science. At the University of Pennsylvania 
he belonged to the Philomathean Society, later to the Phi Beta Kappa. No 
member of the bar is held in deeper respect, nor is there one more deserving. 
No one ever saw him show a trace of anger, and his presence at a trial insures 
confidence. He resides in Media. On October 15, 1903, the bar of Delaware 
county gave him a complimentary dinner and reception in commemoration of 
the fiftieth anniversary of his admission to that bar. Thirty-five members of 
the bar attended the dinner, which was given in the Flemish room of the Un- 
ion League at Philadelphia. 

On May 26, 1906, George E. Darlington, another veteran, was tendered a 
picnic and reception at the club house of the Rose Tree Hunt, in Upper Provi- 
dence, the occasion being the fiftieth anniversary of his admission to the bar. 
Mr. Darlington was born in Chester, Pennsylvania, in August, 1832, and was 
educated in the public and private schools. He studied law under his father, 
Edward Darlington, in Media, and was admitted in 1856. He enlisted during 
the civil war, attaining a rank of first sergeant in actual service. In 1889 he 
was elected district attorney, and held many positions of honor and trust, both 
professional and practical. He has been a member of the Masonic order since 
1864, and has filled well every position to which he has been ca)led. For thirty 
years he was an enthusiastic fox hunter and rode with the hounds. In 1890 
he toured Europe, and although now past eighty years has a well preserved 
body and continues in active practice. 

William Ward, a graduate of Girard College, read law with John M. 
Broomall ; he was admitted in 1859, and became his preceptor's partner ; later 
was with his son, W. B. Broomall, as Ward & Broomall. He was president of 
council and city solicitor of Chester ; member of the Forty-fifth, Forty-sixth 
and Forty-seventh Congresses, and a most able skillful lawyer. He died Feb- 
ruary 27, 1895. 

Ward R. Bliss was the compiler of "A Digest of the Special Laws of Del- 
aware County," and very prominent politically. He was a member of the state 
legislature from 1888 to 1902, chairman of the committee on appropriations, 
and died while in office. 

John B. Hinkson was a lawyer of the highest class. In 1893 he was 
elected mayor of Chester. On April 28, 1890, he was admitted to practice be- 
fore the supreme court of the United States, on motion of then Solicitor Gen- 
eral Taft, later President of the United States, 1909 to 1913. Mr. Hinkson 
died May 22, 1901. 

The present bar, as composed, is an able body of lawyers that maintain 
the high standard always characteristic of the Delaware bar. Many of them 
are holding important positions in state and in nation, and all are men of high 
33 



498 



DELAWARE COUNTY 



character and praiseworthy anihition. Under the changed cduiHtions, recogni- 
tion is not easily obtained and the fight for honors not easy to win, yet the ethics 
of the profession are rigidly observed, the older members honored and de- 
ferred to, the young members encouraged and helped. The Law Library 
Association was formed by members of the bar December 4, 1871, and 
May 30, 1872, incorporated with John M. Broomall as the first president and 
Charles D. Manley as the first secretary. 

List of Deputy Attorneys General from the erection of Delaware county 
until the office was abolished by the act of May i, 1850, which act also pro- 
vided that district attorneys, "learned in the law, should be elected in each 
county to serve a term of three years," is given below : 



February session 
August " 

October " 

January " 
October " 
January 
April 
January 



April 
January 
April 
January 



1790 Thomas Ross 

1790 Joseph Thomas 

1791 " " 

1795 William Sergeant 

1796 Thomas Ross 

1797 William Sergeant 
1799 Thomas Ross 

1799 Richard Bache. ]\\ 

181 1 John Edwards 

18 1 2 Edward Ingersoll 

1813 Benj. Tilghman 

1813 Edward Ingersoll 

1814 John Edwards 
1814 Edward Ingersoll 
181=; Robert H. Smith 



.-^pril session 

January " 
October 

January " 

April " 

August " 

March " 

February " 

November " 

February " 

Mav 



1815 W. H. Darlington 

1817 Henry G. Freeman 

1818 Samuel Rush 
1821 Archibald T. Dick 
1824 Edward Darlington 
18,10 John Zeilin 

1833 Robert E. Hannum 

1836 John P. Griffith 

1839 P. Frazer Smith 

1845 Robert Frazer 

1845 Joseph J. Lewis 

1848 J. M. Broomall 

1850 Charles D. Manley 
1850 T. H. Speakman 



List of District .Attorneys and date of election from 1850. when the office 
was created, until the present date, 1913: 



Robert McCay, Junior, appointed to serve 
during the year 1850 to 1851. 

1851 Edward Darlington. 

1854 Jesse Bishop, resigned and on No- 
vember 24, 1856, the court appointed 
Edward A. Price to finish out the term. 

1857 Edw. A. Price 1863 F. M. Brooke 

iSrxj John Hibbcrd 1866 C.D.M.Broomal! 



1869 G.E.Darlington 
1872 D. M. Johnson 
1875 V. G. Robinson 
1878 " 

1881 Jesse M. Baker 
1884 Jesse M. Baker 
1887 J. B. Hannum 
1890 J. B. Hannum 



1893 W. I. Schaffer 
1896 W. I. Schaffer 
1899 Josiah Smith 
igo2 Josiah Smith 
19OS A. D. MacDade 
1908 A. D. MacDade 
lOTi J B.Hanni'.m.Jr. 



THE NEW COURT HOUSE. 

The new Court Hou.se in Media now rapidly approaching completion in- 
cludes the old building with its east and west wings with a frontage of 127 
feet and a depth of 145 feet. To each side has been added another wing of 39 
feet making the present total frontage 205 feet. The depth was not changed 
except at the main front entrance, which has been extended to make a more 
commodious lobby and a more imposing entrance. The added wings are in the 
form of a II, and meet the old building at front and rear, allowing a small 
court yard and giving ample light to both old and new offices. The height re- 



DELAWARE COUNTY 499 

mains unchanged, except that of the old wooden clock tower was torn down : a 
new clock will be placed in the front of the building. The entire edifice, the 
old sections included, is of West Grove ( Pennsylvania) granite, with founda- 
tions of Georgia granite. Eight magnificent columns grace the entrance. The 
interior work — pilasters, columns, stairways, etc.. are of various marbles — 
Italian and Tennessee predominating. 

On the facade of the Court House is this inscription : "This Court House 
was built in 1850 and rebuilt in 1913. It is the sixth in this judicial district, in 
direct succession from the first Court House in Pennsylvania." 

The above enumeration is deduced by counting the public house of Neeles 
Laerson, which was devoted to the sittings of the Court from 1668 to 1677, as 
the first. The judicial administration of Governor Printz at Tinicum was ear- 
lier, but this was conducted by him in the exercise of his general powers con- 
ferred on him by the crown of Sweden. It was thus exercised at Printz Hall 
where he resided, and was for the most part a personal administration rather 
than a court administration. Hence the Neeles Laerson house is counted the 
first. It was situate at Upland, now Chester, between Edgmont Avenue and 
Chester Creek and between Second and First streets. The second Court 
House was the House of Defense, which stood within the lines of the subse- 
quently laid out Edgmont Avenue, nearly opposite the Neeles Laerson house. 
It was used from 1677 to 1684-5. The third Court House was adjoining and 
northwardly of the House of Defense. It was in use from 1684-5 to 1694. 
The fourth was on the west side of Edgmont Avenue, in the vicinity of the 
others, and was in use from 1694 to 1724. The fifth was the building yet 
standing and used as a City Hall, on the west side of Market street, between 
Fourth and Fifth streets, Chester. It was used as a Court House from 1724 
to 1850. This inakes the present Court House at Media the sixth. It has been 
in use since 1850. 




MEDICAL HISTORY. 

In preface to a chronicle of the physicians and medical societies of Dela- 
ware county, it is eminently fitting and proper that tribute be paid to the 
father of the physician of to-day, the country doctor. In direct contrast to our 
modern white-robed, hospital physician or surgeon, with his immense and 
scientific knowledge of every atom of the human organism, or opposed to the 
fashionable, businesslike city physician, making his calls in a handsome limou- 
sine, is the homely old-fashioned, simple-minded, great-hearted figure once so 
well known and loved in every country district. He was the forerunner of 
our present day healer, and yet his healing often went deeper than any remedy 
for physical ills, for often he was the family confidant and advisor, the haven 
to which they fled in time of trouble or distress. He filled an important posi- 
tion in every rural district — the local minister, schoolmaster, and he, forming 
a trio representing to the country folk the acme of learning and the heights 
of wisdom. 

His medical service was more often than not, a labor of love, or else 
his payment was in the form of any article of value in the household. Office 
hours were unthought of, and a case of colic often called him from his bed in 
the middle of the night for a ride, perhaps through a driving storm, to the 
bedside of a painracked infant; while a crash of falling timber might take 
him from his noonday meal to the bloody task of amputating the leg of a work- 
man crushed by falling timber. 

In mentioning our present day physicians and surgeons, to whom a human 
being is but a combination of nerves, tissues, muscles, bones, arteries and veins, 
let us not forget his predecessor, now unknown, who was the close friend of 
each of his patients, treating their bodily ills with large doses of ill-smelling 
compounds and sugar pills, the while he cheered them with helpful consoling 
and enlivening conversation, brightening the sick chamber with the very charm 
of his presence. 

Probably the first physicians, or "barbers," as they were then called, in 
Delaware county, were brought over by Governor Printz. Their acquaintance 
with their art was in all likelihood very primitive, for frequent fevers and 
bccurges visited the colony, causing many deaths, although much of this could 
be blamed upon the rigors of the climate and the undue exposure necessitated 
during the erection of homes. Another of the practices, which modern scien- 
tific investigation has proved a fallacy, which they indulged, and which prob- 
ably accounts for some of the inefficiency of their treatment was the extensive 
use of alcoholic beverages as medicine. 

One of the earliest physicians in the county was Dr. Timon .Stiddem, 
who came to this country at the same time as Governor Rising, landing at 
Fort Casimir, May 21, 1654, residing for a time at Upland. On December 
18, 1663, he was appointed by Dr. Jacop to succeed the latter as doctor of the 
Dutch Company, but his api)ointment was objected to and he settled at Wil- 
mington, where Governor l,nvelace granted him a tract of land upon which. 



DELAWARE COUNTY 501 

much of the city now is built. It is stated by Professor Keen in his article, 
"Descendants of Joran Kyn," that the descendants of the doctor still pos- 
sessed the metal case, engraved with his name and title' in which he used to 
carry his surgical instruments when making calls in the Swedish Colony. 

The next doctor to come to the colony was Surgeon Jan Costing, who was 
succeeded by William Van Rosenberg. The latter was evidently busily en- 
gaged in the practice of his profession during the voyage to America, for up- 
on his arrival he presented a bill for a hogshead of French wine and one of 
brandy furnished to those sick of scurvy during the protracted voyage. 

Governmental guidance and direction was early given to the practice of 
the healer's art in this statute, embodied in 1676 in the Duke of York's Book 
of Laws : 

"That no Person or Persons whatsoever Employed about the Bed of Men, Women 
or Children, at any time for preservation of Life or Health as Chirurgions, Medicines, 
Physicians or others, presume to Exercise or put forth any Arte Contrary to the known 
approved Rules of Art in such mistery or Occupation, or Exercise any force, violence 
Cruelty upon, or to the Bodice of any whether Young or old ; without, the advice and 
Counsell of the such as are skillful in the same Art (if such may be had) or at least of 
some of the wisest and gravest then present and Consent of the patient or patients, if 
they be Mentis Compotes ; much less Contrary to such Advice and Consent upon such 
severe punishment as the nature. Of the fault may deserve, which Law nevertheless, is 
not intended to discourage any from all Lawful use of their skill but rather to encourage 
and direct them in the right use thereof, and to inhabit and restrain the presumptions 
arogancy of such as through Confidence of their own skill, or any sinister Respect dare 
bouldly attempt to Exercise any violence upon or toward the body of young or old, one 
or other, to the prejudice or hazard of the Life or Limb of man, woman or child." 

In 1678-9, Dr. Thomas Spry is recorded as a witness in a case tried at 
Upland. Sluyters and Dankers, in their visit to Tinicum township in 1679, 
state that on that island was a Swede, Otto Ernest Cock by name, whom they 
mention as a "late medicus," showing that at some previous date he had been 
a practicing physician. The following remark, made by Gabriel Thomas, 
loses some of its truthfulness and hence some of its force in face of the num- 
ber of physicians who were in that locality prior to 1698: "Of lawyers and phy- 
sicians I shall say nothing, because this country is very peaceable and healthy. 
Long may it so continue, and never have occasion for the tongue of one nor the 
pen of the other, both equally destructive to men's estate and lives, besides, for- 
.sooth, they hangmen like have a license to murder and make mischief." 

Dr. John Goodsonn is recorded as being a practicing physician in Chester 
in 1681, holding the title "Chirurgeon to the Society of Free Traders," while in 
1694 he was appointed deputy governor under Williain Markham, his comtnis- 
sion being signed by William Penn. Joseph Richards is also named as a physi- 
cian in Chester prior to 1700, as well as an extensive landowner. 

Isaac Taylor, sheriff of Bucks county in i'')93 and a surveyor of no mean 
ability, was according to Professor Keen "at the time of his death a resident 
of Tinicum Islaml. practicing the art of surgery," although this statement is 
flatly contradicted by Gilbert Cope, in his "History of Chester" who gives 



502 DELAWARE COUNTY 

Thornbnry as the place where his death occurred. His son John followed the 
profession of his father, leaving his practice to enter business, erecting the 
Sarum Forge, on Chester creek. 

Alexander Gandonett, a "Practioner in Physyck," made a unique petition 
on file in West Chester for a license for the sale of liquor. "Your Petitioner, 
by way of his Practice, is Obliged to Distill several sorts of Cordiall waters, 
and it being often Requested by several of the inhabitants of this County to 
sell the same by small measure your Petitioner Conceiving that the same be of 
absolute necessity by way of his Practice yet it may be Considered to be within 
the Act of Assembly for selling liquor by small measure, prays your honours for 
the premises.". Nothing is known what action was finally taken upon his plan 
for the legalizing of his sale of "Cordiall waters," as it was labelled "Referred 
to further Consideration" ; but the doctor continued in practice in Chester, for 
m January, 1747, he presented a bill to the province for medicine and attend- 
ance upon the sick soldiers of Captain Shannon's company quartered there. 

Although not a regularly authorized member of the profession because of 
his lack of medical education, John Paschall, of Darby, acquired quite a repu- 
tation in the vicinity as a doctor, becoming especially famous as the compound- 
er of "The Golden Elixir." advertised throughout the region as "Paschall's 
Golden Drops," widely used by the country folk as a cure-all and defender 
against old age, in much the same manner as the early explorers of Florida 
expected to employ the waters from Ponce de Leon's "Fountain of Youth." 

To Dr. Jonathan Morris was granted a remarkably long life, his death 
occurring in his ninetieth year, until which time he practiced the art he had 
learned under Dr. Bard, of Philadelphia, in Marple, where his venerable, 
well-borne, erect figure, was well known and as well loved by the people 
among whom he practiced. 

Paul Jackson, buried in St. Paul's graveyard, in Chester, was graduated 
from the College of Philadelphia, and for many years practiced in Chester. 
There he became chief burgess, at that time an office of great honor, dignity 
and responsibility. His death occurred when he was thirty-six years of age, 
but even in that short span of life he had gained an enviable reputation as a 
scholar and linguist ; eminence in his profession ; renown as a soldier ; and the 
love of his associates for the clean, honorable upright life he led. The Penn- 
sylvania Magazine of History states, in speaking of his scholarly ability, "His 
Latin compositions, which were published, secured for him a reputation for 
correct taste and accurate scholarship." Cpon the marble slab marking his 
grave is this inscription: "Here lies PAUL JACKSON, A. M. He was the 
first who rcceiveil a Degree in the College of Philadelphia. A man of 
virtue, worth, and knowledge. Died 1767, aged 36 years." 

His brother, David Jackson, was likewise a physician, being a member 
of the first medical class graduated from the University of Pennsylvania. He 
held the office of surgeon general of the Pennsylvania troops during the 
Revolutionary war. 

For a I'ing time one of the most conspicuous figures in the locality was 



DELAWARE COUNTY 503 

Dr. Bernhard \'an Leer, the centenarian pln-sician. He was born in Ger- 
many and came to this country with his father, later returning to his native 
land to engage in the study of medicine. He was a learned and efficient 
physician, having a reputation for the mildness of his remedies, which were 
for the most part compounded from vegetable formulae. Two of his sons, 
Branson and Benjamin, followed the profession of their father, the former 
filling the post of county physician. It is interesting to note from one of his 
reports that he evidently believed in the more powerful and stringent methods 
of the profession — plasters, bleeding, powders, juleps, and purging ingredients, 
being frequent items in his course of treatment. The comrade of Bernhard 
\'an Leer's journey to Germany for the study of medicine was John Wor- 
rall, whose purpose in going abroad was the same as that of his companion. 
Upon his return from the continent he settled in Upper Providence, practic- 
ing there until his death, aged eighty-six years. 

Drs. John Cochran, director general of the military hospitals during 
the Revolution, and Samuel Kennedy, surgeon of the Fourth Battalion of 
Pennsylvania troops and senior surgeon in the military hospital, were residents 
of what is now Delaware county, but their practice was confined to the mili- 
tary organizations of which they were a part. 

William Currie, a native of Chester county, had been intended for the 
ministry, but his ambition and desire were diverted from his original inten- 
tion, and he began the study of medicine, graduating from the College of Phil- 
adelphia. At the outbreak of the Revolutionary war his father, rector of his- 
toric St. David's Episcopal Church at Radnor, a strong loyalist, opposed his 
desire to enter the Continental service, but despite the opposition, he enlisted, 
being attached as surgeon, first to the hospital at Long Island, later at Amboy. 
At the close of the conflict he settled in the borough of Chester, there estab- 
lishing his practice. In 1792 he moved to Philadelphia, where he spent his 
remaining years in the compiling of three works, which at the time were of 
great value — "Historical Account of the Climate and Diseases of the United 
States," "Views of the Diseases most prevalent in the United States, with 
an account of the most improved methods of treating them," and a "General 
View of the Principal Theories or Doctrines which have prevailed at different 
periods to the present time." 

John Morton, third son of Jojin Morton, a signer of the Declaration of 
Independence, was a surgeon in the Continental service during the Revolution, 
was captured, and died on the British prison-ship "Falmouth." in New York 
harbor. 

A physician of Lower Chichester, during the Revolutionary period, was 
Dr. John .Smith. 

One of the most eventful careers ever led by a member of the medical 
profession, was that of Dr. Peter Yarnall. who practiced his profession with 
great success in Concord between 1780 and 1791. He was a Friend by birth- 
right, but when eighteen years of age quarrelled with the master under whom 
he was serving his apprenticeship and ran away, enlisting in the army. He 



504 DELAWARE COUNTY 

was released from the service through the influence of his family and was in- 
duced to engage in the study of medicine, a pursuit which was interrupted by 
his vohinteering for service in the American army. The war over, he took his 
degree at the Philadelphia College of Medicine and returned lo the service as 
surgeon's mate on the privateer "Delaware," later resigning and beginning 
practice in the Pennsylvania Hospital. From 1791 until his death in 1798, he 
practiced in Montgomery county. 

Dr. Elisha Cullen Dick was a native of Delaware county, and practiced 
at Marcus Hook for a number of years. After his marriage he followed his 
profession with good success in Alexandria, Virginia. He and Dr. Brown 
were called upon by Dr. Craik as consulting physicians at the bedside of George 
Washington, during his fatal illness. Thomas Maxwell Potts, in his sketch 
of Dr. Dick in the "Centenary Memorial of Jeremiah Carter," says that Dr. 
Dick, when all hopes of Washington's recovery with less extreme remedies 
had been abandoned, proposed an operation which he ever afterwards thought 
might have proved eltective in saving the general's life, but it did not meet 
with the approval of the family physician. 

In 1799, Jane Davis is credited with keeping an "apothecary shop" in 
Chester, the first establishment of its kind in the county, although at about the 
same time Dr. Sayres of Marcus Hook had a store for the sale of drugs at his 
home. In this year the following physicians were in active practice of their 
profession in Delaware county: William Pennell, Aston; Nicholas Newlin and 
Caleb S. Sayres, Lower Chichester : Joseph Shallcross and William Gardiner, 
Darby; Jonathan Morris and Bernhard Van Leer. Marple; John Knight, Mid- 
dletown ; Jonas Preston, Newtown; John Cheyney, Thornburv. 

Dr. William Martin, grandfather of John Hill Martin, author of the "His- 
tory of Chester and its Vicinity," was a physician who gained a great deal of 
prominence in the civil as well as the professional life of Delaware county. He 
was a lawyer, justice of the peace, and chief burgess of Chester, and in April 
of 1779, when General Washington passed through Chester on his way to Phil- 
adelphia, then the seat of government. Dr. Martin made the speech of congrat- 
ulation to the new President tendering liini the hearty and enthusiastic sup- 
port of the people of the city. Dr. Martin, always filled with a dread of yel- 
low fever, was extremely cautious in such cases as came under his care during 
the death-dealing scourge of 1798, even refusing to enter homes in which it 
prevailed, prescribing from the outside, yet met his death through the agency 
of that terrible disease while attending the sailors of a British vessel lying in 
the harbor, all of whose crew had contracted the malady. 

Another physician of the county who was a victim of the yellow fever 
l)lague, yet whose death was not directly due to the disease, was Dr. Caleb 
.Smith Sayres, whose arduous labors in combating the epidemic undermined 
his health, so lowering his vitality that he died at the early age of thirty-one 
years. .At the time of his death he was surgeon of the Eighth Battalion of 
Militia nf the county of Delaware, commanded by Lieutenant Colonel Edward 
V^enion. 



DELAWARE COUNTY 505 

Dr. Jonas Preston, of Delaware county, obtained his medical education in 
this country and abroad, first studying under Dr. Bond of Philadelphia, and 
-attending lectures at the Pennsylvania Hospital, later being graduated from the 
University of Edinburgh and completing his studies in Paris. Returning to this 
■country, for a while he practiced in Wilmington, Delaware, and Georgia, finally 
moving to Delaware county, acquiring an extensive practice in this and Ches- 
ter county, confining his attention almost entirely to obstetric cases, becoming 
one of the most famous and best reputed accoucheurs in this continent. Dur- 
ing the Whiskey Rebellion of 1794 he volunteered for duty in the army de- 
tailed to put down the insurrection. This warlike move was contrary to the 
doctrines of the Society of Friends, of which he was a member, and caused 
him to be expelled, or "read out" of meeting. He became extremely prominent 
in the political alTairs of the commonwealth, his well balanced judgment and 
discerning foresight making him the choice of Delaware county for the legis- 
lature eight consecutive terms, while in 1808 he was elected state senator. Be- 
sides his professional and political interests. Dr. Preston had numerous busi- 
ness associations, holding the office of president of the Bank of Delaware Coun- 
ty, and was also a supporter and contributor to many benevolent and philan- 
thropic organizations. At his death Mr. Preston made a clause in his will 
by which he left $400,000 "towards founding an institution for the relief of 
indigent married women of good character, distinct and unconnected with any 
hospital, where they may be received and provided with proper obstetric aid 
for their delivery, with suitable attendance and comforts during their period of 
weakness and susceptibility which ensues." By this provision was established 
the Preston Retreat in Philadelphia, one of the noblest and most happily con- 
-ceived institutions within the state. 

Dr. William Gardiner had a son, Dr. Richard Gardiner, a graduate of the 
University of Pennsylvania, who practiced for a time in Darby, later moving 
to Newtown, finally establishing in practice in Philadelphia, where he studied 
homeopathy, and was graduated in 1848 from the Homeopathic College. 

Drs. Jacob Tobin, Brown and Tidmarsh are all recorded as having prac- 
ticed in Chester about the beginning of the nineteenth century, as well as Dr. 
George Bartram, who conducted a drug store and for a number of years was 
justice of the peace, chief burgess of the village, and customs officer at the 
Lazaretto. Previous to 1818 Dr. Edward Woodward practiced in Middle- 
town, where he resided, and in 1808 Dr. Nathan Hayes was a practicing 
physician in Edgemont. 

Dr. Isaac Davis, son of General John Davis, studied medicine under Dr. 
Joseph Shallcross, of Darby, and in 1810 began practice in Edgemont, but at 
the outbreak of the war of 1812-14 was appointed surgeon of the Sixth Regi- 
ment United States Infantry, dying in the service at Fort Jackson, Mississippi. 
July 21, 1814. 

Dr. Job H. Terrill was a noted physician of Chester, where he came in 
1809, and was famed for his engaging and interesting conversational powers 
and his innate love of fine-bred horses, of which he was always the admiring 



5o6 DELAWARE COUNTY 

owner. It does not seem fitting that the thing he loved so well should he the 
cause of his death, hut one day, while entering his sulky, his horse started, 
suddenly throwing him against the wheel of the vehicle, injuring him so 
severely that he contracted a thigh disease which ultimately proved fatal. 

Dr. Samuel Anderson, although not a native of Delaware county, neverthe- 
less, gave so much of his labors to the county that he is closely identified there- 
with. He early entered the LTnited States navy, as assistant surgeon, but 
resigned his commission and located in Chester, where he soon attained a 
position high in his profession. During the war of 1812-14 he raised a vol- 
unteer company, the Mifflin Guards, and in the fall of 1814 served for three 
months as its. captain at Fort Du Pont. For three years he represented the 
county in the legislature, and in 1819 was elected sheriff. He was once more 
appointed to an assistant surgeonship in the United States navy and assigned 
to the West India Station, under command of Commodore Porter, but ill 
health compelled his resignation. After his return to Delaware county he 
was elected to the legislature in 1823-4-5, and the following year represented 
in congress the district comprising Delaware, Chester and Lancaster counties. 
He was a member of the legislature, 1829-33, in the last year being speaker 
of the house. In 1834-35 he was again returned to the legislature and made 
the report of the joint committee of the two houses relative to alleged abuses 
in the eastern penitentiary, at that time one of the most talked of scandals in 
the state. In 1841 he was appointed inspector of customs at the Lazaretto, 
and in 1846 was elected justice of the peace in Chester, an office he filled until 
his death, January 17, 1850. 

A brief record of the physicians who practiced in Delaware county after 
1800 follows: Ellis C. Harlan was in practice at Sneath"s Corner, Chester 
township, in the early part of the century. His practice was taken over by 
Dr. Jesse Young, whose associate. Dr. James Serrell Hill, succeeded him. 
Dr. David Rose was Dr. Young's successor. 

Drs. Benjamin Rush Erwin, Joseph Leedom, James Boyd, James Wilson 
and William L. Cowan are names which were familiar in L'pper and Nether 
Providence from 1800 to 1850. Dr. Gideon Humphreys was a practicing phy- 
sician in Aston in 1820; Dr. George R. Morton, at Village Green, in 1827; 
Dr. Byington at Aston, in 1833; Dr. Samuel A. Barton there previous to 1840: 
while Dr. Richard Gregg, then residing at Wrangletown, had quite a nmnber 
of patients in that vicinity. Dr. Joseph ^\'ilson, prominent in the political af- 
fairs of the day, practiced in Springfield in 1812; in 1837 Dr. James Jenkins 
and Dr. Joseph Elackfan were in Radnor; Dr. J. F. Huddleson, in Thornbury. 
In 1833, Dr. M. C. Shallcross was in practice in Darby, later associating him- 
self with Dr. J. P. Stakes, of Philadelphia, continuing his practice in Delaware 
county. In 1823. Dr. Joshua W. Ash began practice in Upper Darby, continu- 
ing until his death in March, 1874. He belonged to the Society of Friends, 
and was prominently connected with the Delaware County Institute of Science 
and the Training school for Feeble Minded Children. In 1S48 he jniblisbed the 
first map of Delaware county drawn from actual surveys. In 1833, Dr. Caleb 



DELAWARE COUNTY 507 

Ash was in Darby, while prior to 1848 Dr. George Thomas had an office at the 
same place, although in 1845 he located in Newtown or Edgemont ; while in 1833 
Dr. William Gray Knowles was in Darby. In 1852, Dr. J. P- Hoopes was in 
practice in Upland, and Dr. James Aikens in 1852, and Dr. H. Bent, a botanic 
Thomsonian physician in 1842, in Edgemont. Dr. Phineas Price was located in 
Bethel in 1840: in 1844, Dr. J. H. Marsh, in Concord, as was Dr. George Alar- 
tin in 1852. 

Dr. William Gray, a member of the family from which Gray's Ferry 
takes its name, studied medicine with a relative. Dr. Warfield of Maryland, 
after graduation settling in Chester. Dr. John M. Allen practiced in Chester 
in 1844, later abandoning his practice and opening a drug store, a business he 
conducted very profitably. In 1861 he was appointed surgeon of the 54th Regi- 
ment Pennsylvania Volunteers, subsequently becoming medical director of the 
Department of West Virginia, and surgeon-in-chief of stafi', in which capacity 
he served until 1864 when, his health failing, he received an honorable dis- 
charge from the service after being in the hospital for several months. Until 
1855, Dr. James Porter practiced in Chester. Dr. P. K. Smith, a physician at 
Chichester Cross-roads, was succeeded by Dr. Manley Emanuel, whose son, 
Dr. Lewis M. Emanuel, began practice at Linwood immediately after gradua- 
tion, serving as assistant surgeon in the field during the war between the states. 
Dr. Jesse Kersey Bonsall, a Delaware countian by birth, was a graduate of 
the University of Pennsylvania, and followed his profession during his earlier 
years at Manila, in the Philippines. In 1842 he returned to Delaware county 
and pursued his calling until his death in 1838. 

Dr. Tracey E. Waller, of Marcus Hook, was a physician of the county, 
whose untimely death was deeply regretted by the members of the medical fra- 
ternity, as well as bv his hosts of friends. Dr. Waller retired one night in ap- 
parentlv perfect health and was foimd dead in bed the following morning, from 
no a]jparent cause. 

Dr. loshua Owens, of Chester, was a graduate of Jefferson College, 
Philadelphia, and during the Civil War was senior surgeon of Pennsylvania, 
and the first volunteer surgeon to reach Washington after the first fire on 
Fort Sumter. He was one of the first medical directors of divisions, his assign- 
ment to duty being with the Army of the Potomac. In 1863 he was commissioned 
surgeon-general of New Mexico, a position he held for two years, at the end 
of that time resigning to make a tour of Europe on foot, on which journey he 
was accompanied by his two sons. Dr. Mordecai Laurence, a practitioner of 
Haverford, died there February 21, 1880, in the seventy-seventh year of 
his age. 

One of the native Delaware countians whose labors have redounded greatly 
to the credit of the locality which produced him, was Dr. George Smith, born 
in Haverford, February 4, 1804. Fie received his degree at the L^niversity 
of Pennsylvania in 1820, and practiced in Darby for five years, when, coming 
into the possession of a large estate, he laid aside the active duties of his 
profession, superintending his estate and devoted his leisure moments to literary 



5o8 DELA\\ARE COUNTY 

and scientific pursuits. He was not however suffered to remain long in 
retirement, for in 1832 he was elected state senator from the district com- 
prising Delaware and Chester counties. While a member of that body he was 
appointed chairman of the senate committee on education, and it was in this 
capacity that he performed a service which has been of incalculable advantage 
to the people of the state. This was the drafting of the public 
school bill, which, ably and warmly supported by Thaddeus Stevens and 
George Wolf, was passed almost in its entirety as reported by Dr. Smith. 
Thus the first step in free public education was taken in Pennsylvania, 
and the magnitude of the vision seen by the authors of the bill is shown by 
the immensity of Pennsylvania's present public school system, employing 
thousands of teachers and operated at a cost of millions of dollars yearly. 
On December 8, 1836, Governor Kitner appointed Dr. Smith an associate judge 
of Delaware county, and in 1840 he was re-elected. Dr. Smith's interest in 
the public school system was so deep and genuine that he consented, at great 
personal sacrifice, to act as county superintendent for several years, until the 
workings of the organization should be planned a little more smoothly and the 
rough edges in the system rubbed off. Besides this work he was also pre- 
vailed upon to accept the presidency of the Upper Darby school board. He 
remained in both positions until a plan of procedure from year to year had 
teen definitely decided upon and until the public schools had demonstrated what 
a vital and important institution they could become under careful and skillful 
management, and how essential to the proper education and development 
of the youth of the state. 

In September, 1833, he was one of five men who founded the Delaware 
County Institute of Science, of which he was president for almost half a cen- 
tury. In 1844 the Institute appointed Dr. Smith, John P. Crozer and Min- 
shall Painter a committee to prepare and submit an account of the terrific rain- 
storm and flood of August 5 of that year in Delaware county. The greater part 
of the preparation of this work, an octavo pamphlet of fifty-two pages, 
printed in small pica type, was done by Mr. Smith, an achievement upon which 
be was publicly congratulated and thanked by the institute. In 1862 he pub- 
lished his "History of Delaware County." which for interest, accuracy and 
thoroughness of treatment, will long stand as a gem of historical composition. 
It is an unquestionable authority uyxin the district of which it treats, and pre- 
serves many of the most interesting facts and traditions of the county. Dr. 
George Smith died February 24, 1884, after a life of sixty-four years, lived for 
the elevation and enlightenment of the commonwealth of his birth. 

Dr. Isaac Taylor Coates, born in Chester county, March 17, 1834, taught 
school in Delaware county in order to procure funds to complete his medical 
■education. He was graduated M. D., l^niversity of Pennsylvania, in 1858, 
and began his professional career as surgeon on the packet ship "Great Wes- 
tern," and as such made several voyages to Liverpool. During the war be- 
tween the states he volunteered his professional service to the government, 
serving throughout the war. In 1867 he was surgeon of United States cavalry 



DELAWARE COUNTY 509 

under General Custer. In 1872 he visited Peru and was there appointed medi- 
cal director of the Chimbota & Hua?.az railroad, then being built over the 
Andes mountains by Henry Meigs, the American. In 1876 he returned to the 
United States and settled in Chester where he practiced until 1878. He then 
joined the Collins expedition to Brazil, as surgeon, sharing to the fullest de- 
gree the hardships and sufferings of the members of that illfated company of 
adventurers. Broken in health, as a result, he spent several years in the west 
dying at Socorro, New Mexico, June 23, 1883. He was an eloquent speaker 
and a writer of national reputation. He held membership and took active part 
in the workings of the American Geographical Society, the Pennsylvania His- 
torical Society, the Academy of Natural Sciences of Philadelphia, and other 
scientific bodies. 

Dr. Alfred M. Owens, son of Dr. Joshua Owens, a surgeon in the United 
.States navy and a native of Delaware county, died at the Pensacola Navy Yard, 
August 22, 1883, of yellow fever, his wife dying with the same disease five 
days later. 

Dr. Jonathan Larkin Forwood, whose personal and family sketch appears 
elsewhere in this work, is yet an honored resident of Chester, rounding out a 
long and successful professional career, marked also by important public ser- 
vice. 

Dclazvarc County Medical Society. — To Dr. Ellwood Harvey, then of 
Birmingham, and to Dr. George Martin, of Concord, this society owed its first 
existence. They agreed upon the necessity of such an organization, and to that 
end a meeting of physicians was held in Chester, May 2, 1850. A temporary 
organization was effected. Dr. Joshua Owen being chairman ; Dr. Martin, sec- 
retary. A committee appointed to draft a constitution, and at a meeting held 
in Chester, May 30, 1850, it was adopted and officers elected. Dr. Jesse Young 
was chosen president ; Dr. Joshua Owens, vice-president ; Dr. Robert Smith, 
secretary ; Dr. Ellwood Harvey, treasurer. For several years regular meetings 
were held at the homes of members and a great deal of good accomplished. In 
1851 a geological survey of the county was made by Drs. Harvey and Martin, 
m association with Dr. Samuel Trimble, of Concord township. The chart and 
reports made by these capable men were published in the Transactions of the 
State Medical Society, and have been made the basis of all subsequent geo- 
graphical publications in reference to Delaware county. 

In 1852 the Delaware County Medical Society, in connection with a simi- 
lar society in Chester county, entered into an arrangement for the publication 
of a quarterly journal, The Medical Reporter, the first issue appearing in July, 
1853. Two of the editors were from Delaware county — Dr. J. F. Huddleson 
and Dr. George Martin. This journal was published for three years, then 
passed out of existence. The society languished until February 24, 1857, when 
a resolution "that it is expedient that the Delaware County Medical Society 
be and it is hereby dissolved" was adopted by a unanimous vote. On March 16, 
1857, a meeting of the physicians of Delaware county was called at the Wash- 



510 



DRI.AW ARE COUNTY 



ington House, Chester, to reorganize the society. On .March 30th, an ad- 
jciirned meeting was held at the Charter flouse, Media, and an organization 
effected by the election of Dr. Hillborn Darlington, president: Dr. Manley 
Emanuel, vice-president ; Dr. George B. Hotchkin, secretary ; and Dr. Charles 
H. Uudd, treasurer. But life had not yet been restored, the society languishing 
until May 10, 1861, when the society was permanently re-established by the 
election of Dr. Manley Emanuel, president; Dr. Joseph Parrish. vice-president; 
Dr. George B. Hotchkin, secretary ; and Dr. Joseph Rowland, treasurer. The 
Civil War made such demands upon the physicians of Delaware county 
that those remaining at home were kept too busy to attend the occasional meet- 
ings of the society. At the conclusion of the war, an adjourned annual meet- 
ing was held-at the office of Dr. J. L. Forwood, and officers were elected, but 
nothing further seems to have been done until March 16, 1869, when a meeting 
was held at Dr. Parrish's Sanitarium at Aledia, which was addressed by Dr. 
Emanuel, who appealed to the medical practitioners of the county to awaken 
from their lethargy- and co-operate for the common good, through the means of 
an energetic and well organized medical society. The following officers were 
then elected : Dr. Manley Emanuel, president : Dr. J. L. Forwood, vice-presi- 
dent ; Dr. Isaac N. Kerlin, secretary ; Dr. Theodore S, Christ, treasurer. This 
began a new era for the society, and the meetings have since been well attended 
with interchange of opinions and discussion of the various papers on the science 
and practice of medicine, resulting in great benefit to the profession. The 
membership of the society, ]«st and present, follows : 



Dr. George Martin, 
Manley Emanuel 
Elhvood Harvey 
Charles S. Heysham 
Robert K. Smith 
Joshua Owens 
Charles J. Morton 
Caleb Ash 
Joseph Wilson 
Samuel A. Barton 
Thomas Turner 
Reuben H. Smith 
J. C. Hutton 
Joseph Rowland 
A. W. Matthew 
George Smith 
J. Howard Taylor 
Jesse W. Griffith 
J. P. Mcllvain 
J. T. Huddleson 
J. Morris Moore 
Hillborn DarHngton 
James S. Hill 
J. .Siter Parke 



Concordville 

Linwood 

Chester 

Newtown Square 

Darby 

Chester 

Chester 

Darby 

Darby 

Village Green 

Village Green 

Media 

Chelsea 

Media 

Aston 

Upper Darby 

Concordville 

Ridleyville 

Media 

Thornbury 

Newtown 

Concordville 

Chester Township 

Radnor 



David Rose 
Edward Maris 
Cliarles H. Budd 
Henry M. Lyons 
John G. Thomas 
Jacob Boon 
Samuel Trimble 
D. Francis Condie 
Henry M. Corse 
Edwin Fussell 
Linnaeus Fussell 
Edward T. Gammage 
John W. Eckfelt 
Dillwyn Greene 
Francis F. Rowland 
Ri-bccca L. Fussell 
Daniel W. Jefferis 
John B. Mitchell 
Joshua Ash 
D. G. Brinton 
George R. Vernon 
Joseph H. Horner 
Robert A. Given 
Conrad J. Partridge 



Sneath's Corner 

Howellville 

Darby 

Media 

Newtown Square 

Darby 

Lima 



Media 

Chester 

Haverford 

Marcus Hook 

Media 

Media 

Chester 

Clifton Heights 

Media 

Clifton Heights 

Thornton 

Clifton Heights 

Ridlev Park 



DELAWARE COUNTY 



5" 



Edward Young 
John A. Thompson 
George B. Hotchkin 
James W. Hoey 
John M. Allen 
Jonathan L. Forwood 
Joseph Parrish 
Isaac N. Kerlin 
James J. McGee 
William H. Forwood 
Charles D. Meigs 
Henry Pleasants 
Charles W. Pennock 
Henry M. Kirk 
W. T. W. Dickeson 
Isaac T. Coates 
F. Ridgeley Graham 
T. L. Leavitt 
Theodore S. Christ 
J. Pyle Worrall 
Lewis M. Emanuel 
C. C. V. Crawford 
Orrin Cooley 
Francis E. Ileenan 
Samuel P. Bartlcson 
William B. Ulrich 
James E. Garretson 
M. F. Longstreth 
William C. Bacon 
John T. M. Forwood 



Chester 


D. K. Shoemaker 


Chester 


Chester 


Eugene K. Mott 


" 


Media 


John Wesley Johnson 


" 


Lenni 


Williain S, Ridgely 


" 


Chester 


Philip C. O'Reiley 


" 


Chester 


Mrs. F. W. Baker 


Media 


Media 


T. P. Ball 


Chester 


Media 


John B. Weston 


South Chester 


U. S. Navy 


A. Edgar Osborne 


Media 


Chester 


Pennypacker 


" 


Thornbury 


Robert H. Mitner 


Chester 


Radnor 


F. Marion Murray 


Lenni 


Howellville 


H. H. Darlington 


Concordville 


Upper Darby 


Henry B. Knowles 


Clifton Heights 


Media 


William B. Fish 


Media 


Chester 


Henry C. Bartleson 


Fernwood 




T. C. Stillwagon 


Media 


Chester 


J. W. Phillips 


Clifton Heights 


" 


William Bird 


Chester 


Media 


Fletcher C. Lawyer 


Howellville 


Linwood 


C. W. DeLannoy 


Chester 


Village Green 


Joseph C. Egbert 


Radnor 




L. M. Bullock 


Upland 


Chester 


Charles Carter 


Wallingford 


Clifton Heights 


William S. Little 


Media 


Chester 


Henry Seidell 


South Chester 


Darby 


Mrs. H. J. Price 


South Chester 


It 


Henry C. Harris 


Landsdowne 


Upper Darby 


George M. Fisher 


South Chester 



Chester 



Present officers of the Society elected to serve until January 1914: 



President, Fred. H. Evans, Chester. 
Vice-Pres., J. William Wood, Chester. 
Secretary, C. Irvin Stiteler, Qiester. 
Treasurer, D. W. Jefferis, Chester. 
Reporter, Walter E. Egbert, Chester. 
Librarian, Chas. B. Shortlidge, Lima. 
Asst. Librarian, Amy E. White, Chester. 

Censors : 
J. Harvey Fronfield, Media. 
Daniel J. Monihan, Chester. 
H. Furness Taylor, Ridley Park. 

Members, August, 1913 : 
Clarence K. Alger, Swarthmore. 
Harry M. ."Krmitage, Chester. 
Frances W. Baker, Media 
Frederick S. Baldi, CoUingdale. 
Edward W. Bing, Chester. 
Ervrit S. Boice, Moores. 
Ellen E. Brown, Chester. 
F. Otis Bryant, Che.s'ter. 
Edwin C. Bullock. Upland. 



Ethan A. Campbell, Chester. 
George H. Cross, Chester. 
George F. Crothers, Marcus Hook. 
S. Ross Crothers, Chester. 
David Dalton, Sharon Hill. 
Horace Darlington, Concordville. 
A. Lovett Dewees, Haverford. 
H. Leno.x H. Dick, Darby. 
Morton P. Dickeson, Media. 
Chas. K. Dietz, Chester. 
Harry C. Donahoo, Chester. 
Henry C. Dooling, Norwood. 
Louis S. Dunn, Chester. 
Alice Rogers Easby, Media. 
Walter E. Egbert, Chester. 
Fred. H. Evans, Chester. 
William B. Evans, Chester. 
W. Knowles Evans, Chester. 
Walter V. Emery, Chester. 
John S. Eynon, Chester. 
Harvey P. Feigley, Eddy.Uone. 



512 



DELAWARE COUNTY 



Jonathan L. Forwood, Chester. 
J. Harvey Fronfield, Media. 
Harry Gallagher, Glenolden. 
Leon Gottshalk, Marcus Hook. 
Stoddard P. Gray, Chester. 
E. Marshall Harvey, Media. 
Hiram M. Hiller, Chester. 
A. Parker Kitchens, Sharon Hill. 
Sylvester V. Hoopman, Chester. 
Henry Horning, Gloucester, N. J. 
Elizabeth W. Howell, Chester. 
Fred. S. Hunlock, Collingdale. 
G. Victor Janvier. Lansdowne. 
D. W. Jeflferis,. Chester. 
Frank E. Johnston, Moores. 
I. Irwin Kalbach, Media, R. F. D. 2. 
Walter A. Landry, Chester. 
Chas. L. LaShelle, Lenni Mills. 
\Vm. F. Lehman, Chester. 
Mary R. Hadley Lewis, Swarthmore. 
J. Chalmers Lyons, Marcus Hook. 
Robert S. Maison, Chester. 
G. Hudson Makuen, Chester. 
Daniel J. Monihan, Chester. 



Alexander R. Morton, Morton. 
Maurice A. Neufeld, Chester. 
Frank R. Nothnagle, Chester. 
Adrian V. B. Orr, Chester. 
Conrad L. Partridge, Ridley Park. 
Jerome L. Pyle, Gradyville. 
William A. Raiman, Swarthmore. 
Victor M. Reynolds, Darby. 
John Byers Roxby, Swarthmore. 
Chas. H. Schoff, Media. 
Jeanette H. Sherman, Ridley Park. 
Chas. B. Shortlidge, Lima. 
Norman D. Smith, Rutledge. 
Herbert C. Stanton, Clifton Heights. 
J. Clinton Starbuck, Media. 
Thos. C. Stelhvagen, Media. 
C. Irvin Stiteler, Chester. 
H. Fumess Taylor, Ridley Park. 
Samuel Trimble, Newtown Square. 
Ross H. Thompson, Moores. 
Katherine Ulrich, Chester. 
Frances Weidner, Media. 
Amy E. White, Chester. 
J. William Wood. Chester. 



Homoeopathy. — The practice of this school of medicine was introduced into 
Delaware county in 1836, by Dr. Walter Williamson, born in Delaware county, 
July 4, 181 1, a graduate of the University of Pennsylvania, class of 1833. 
He settled in Marple township, moving to Xewtown in 1835, practicing accord- 
ing to the teachings of his alina mater until the spring of 1836, when his 
attention was directed to the new system. He carefully studied all the liter- 
ature of the new school, and becoming convinced of its merit began practicing- 
it in his own locality, when Homoeopathy was an unknown word save in the 
family of John Thompson, of Upper Providence. Dr. Williamson rapidly 
gained a large practie, but in 1839 he moved to Philadelphia, his health hav- 
ing failed. He was one of the founders of the Homoeopathic College of Penn- 
sylvania, the first institution of its kind in this country. From 1848 until his 
death in 1899 he filled one of the chairs at the college. 

The second practitioner of this school in the county, was Dr. M. B. 
Roche, who settled in Darby in 1839, continuing there until 1842, when he 
was succeeded by Dr. Alvin E. Small, who espoused the new practice that 
year. Dr. Small continued in Darby until his removal to Philadelphia in 1845. 
Dr. James E. Gross, of New England, a graduate of the Homoeopathic Col- 
lege of Pennsylvania in 1850, practiced in Darby a few months, then moved 
to Lowell, Massachusetts. Dr. Stacy Jones, a graduate of the same college in 
1853, settled in Upper Darby township in 1853, practiced there three years, 
then moved to the borough of Darby . 

The first Homoeopathic physician in Chester was Dr. Charles V. Dare, of 
New Jersey, a graduate of the Hoinoeopathic College of Pennsylvania, class 



DELAWARE COUNTY 513 

of 1854. He practiced in Chester until March, 1858, when he sold to Dr. 
Coates Preston, a graduate of the same college, class of 1853. Dr. Preston 
had practiced in Sculltown and Woodstown, New Jersey, prior to coming to 
Chester, building up in the latter place a good practice. In 1865, being in 
feeble health, he admitted Dr. H. W. Farrington to a partnership, but this was 
soon dissolved. Dr. Preston continued in successful practice in Chester until 
the spring of 1881, when he moved to Wilmington, Delaware, dying there 
August 9 that year. He outlived much of the prejudice and opposition that 
existed in Chester, as elsewhere, against the new practice, and firmly estab- 
lished homoeopathy in the respect and confidence of that community. 

Dr. Davis R. Pratt, born in Newtown, and a graduate of the Homoeo- 
pathic College of Pennsylvania, settled in his native town, where he practiced 
until 1863. In that year he moved to Philadelphia, thence to Trenton, New 
Jersey, where he practiced until his last illness. He died January 28, 1868. 
About 1863, Dr. E. D. Miles practiced homoeopathy in Media, as did Dr. 
John F. Rose, a veteran surgeon of the Civil War, who settled July i, 1865, 
but only remaining one year. 

Dr. Robert P. Mercer graduated at the Homoeopathic College of Penn- 
sylvania in March, 1861, settling the following month in Marshalltown, Ches- 
ter county. In January, 1863, he was appointed to the entire charge of the 
medical department at Chester county almshouse, resigning in 1865 and mov- 
ing to Wilmington, Delaware. In November that year, at the solicitation of 
Dr. Preston, he located in Chester, where he long continued in successful 
practice. Dr. Henry Minton Lewis, a graduate of Hahnemann Medical Col- 
lege, Philadelphia, in March, 1869, settled in Chester and practiced there a 
few years, then moving to P)rooklyn, New York. Dr. Trimble Pratt, a grad- 
uate of Hahnemann Medical College, Philadelphia, March, 1870, settled in 
Media the following June. Drs. Charles W. Perkins, Samuel Starr, William 
T. Urie, Frederick Preston and Franklin Powell located in Chester; Dr. 
Isaac Crothers at Upland. 

The Homeopathic jMedical Society of Chester and Delaware counties was 
organized in October, 1858, Dr. Dufiield of New London, being elected its 
first president. 




34 



^ NEWSPAPERS. 

The earliest among the many newspaper enterprises in Delaware county 
was the Post Boy, of Chester, a weekly folio, fifteen and a half by nine and a 
half inches, owned and edited by Steuben Butler and Eliphalet B. Worthing- 
ton. Their office was in the Colbourn house on Third street ; the date of first 
issue, November 8, 1817 ; its motto, "Intelligence is the life of liberty." There was 
little attention paid to local news, only one purely local incident being recorded 
during the first months : "A Live Eel — An eel w^as caught in Chester creek a 
few days since by Messrs. Sutton and Buck which weighed six pounds and was 
upwards of two feet six inches in length." This may be regarded as the first 
local happening ever printed in a distinctively Delaware county newspaper. In 
the latter part of 1824 Worthington bought his partner's interest and issued the 
tiny sheet until 1826, when he sold it to Joseph M. C. Lescure, who increased 
its size and changed its name to the Upland Union, continuing it until 1838. In 
that year he sold the paper to Joseph Williams and Charles F. Coates, the for- 
mer a lawyer, a good political speaker, and versatile entertainer. He was a 
man of attainments, and one of the secretaries of the constitutional convention 
of 1837. After a short time the paper was sold to Alexander Nesbit, who in 
turn sold it to Alexander Mclveever, an ardent Democrat, who continued its 
publication until March 30, 1852, when he ceased to edit it. In 1858 an effort 
was made to revive the Upland Union by Mr. Brummer, then editing the 
Pennsylvanian, in Philadelphia, and William Cooper Talley, of Delaware coun- 
ty, but publication was finally suspended on February 19, 1861. 

The Weekly \'isitor, owned by William Russell and edited by Strange N. 
Palmer, was first edited in 1828, in the interests of the opponents of the Demo- 
cratic party. The paper existed in a very weak condition until 1832, then gave 
up the ghost. 

The Delaware County Republican was first published on August 31, 1833, 
by Y. S. Walter, who purchased the press and material of the defunct Weekly 
Visitor and moved it to Darby. On October 25, 1841, he moved the printing 
office to Chester, locating on the northeast corner of Market Square. In March, 
1845, he moved to a brick building on Third street, in 1851 to the Penn build- 
ing, and in 1876 to a large office which he erected at Market and Graham 
streets. The paper grew and prospered under Mr. Walter's ownership, he con- 
tinuing its publication until his death in 1882, his editorship extending over a 
period of fifty years, during which time it quadrupled in size. On September 
I, 1882, the Republican was purchased by Ward R. Bliss, who further en- 
larged it. Under Mr. Walter the paper was Whig and afterward Republican 
in politics, and a strong advocate of the abolition of slavery. 

The Morning Republican, now published daily at Chester, is one of the 
official papers of the city, Samuel Burke, editor, Charles R. Long, general 
manager. 

The Delaware County Advocate, first known as the Chester Advocate, was 
])ublished as a weekly newspaper, fifteen by twenty inches, by John Spencer 



DELAWARE COUNTY 515 

and Richard Miller, the first issue coming out on June 6, 1868. Their printing 
office was located on the second floor of the old city hall, where Mr. Spencer 
had previously located his printing office. The paper was distributed gratui- 
tously at first, but in May, 1869, after Mr. Spencer became sole owner, a sub- 
scription price of fifty cents yearly was charged. The paper was well con- 
ducted, and gained so large a subscription list outside of Chester that in Sep- 
tember, 1874, Mr. Spencer changed its name to the Delaware County Advocate, 
and raised the subscription price to $1 a year. This is now one of the best and 
most valuable newspaper plants in Delaware county, and is still owned by 
John Spencer, and published from his building, 517-519 Edgmont avenue, 
Chester, every Saturday. The Advocate is Republican in politics. 

The Delaware County Democrat. — Papers bearing this title have existed in 
Chester since 1835, the first having been published in that year by Caleb Pierce 
to further the gubernatorial ambitions of Henry A. Muhlenberg, but the paper 
had but a brief existence. In October, 1856, John C. Michelon founded a 
weekly called the Upland Union and Delaware County Democrat, but it, too, 
was shortlived. On October 5, 1867, D. B. Overholt established the Delaware 
County Democrat, but soon sold his interest to Dr. J. L. Forwood, of Chester, 
who continued its publication until the fall of 1871, when he sold it to Colonel 
William Cooper Talley. In 1876, John B. McCay became its owner, but soon 
sold the paper to William Orr, then publishing the Democratic Pilot, a paper 
started in 1872, but which had never prospered. The two papers were merged 
but in 1877 were sold by the sheriff on an execution against Orr, to Dr. For- 
wood, who again sold to William A. Gwynne. The latter sold in August, 1879, 
to Edward J. Frysinger, the paper then having less than one hundred and 
seventy-five paying subscribers, the value of the plant being estimated solely on 
the worth of the printing materials belonging to the office. The first issue of 
the Democrat under the Frysinger ownership was on September 4, 1879, Henry 
Frysinger being editor and publisher. Well edited and having the full Demo- 
cratic support of the county, the paper prospered, and has become a remuner- 
ative and valuable property. The paper is published every Thursday at 714 
Edgmont avenue ; Henry Frysinger, editor and publisher. 

The first afternoon paper established in Chester was the Evening News, 
first issued June i, 1872, F. Stanhope Hill, editor and proprietor. On June 
17 following the title was changed to the Chester Evening News. In October, 
Mr. Hill sold his interest to William A. Todd, who published the News until 
his death, August i8, 1879, the paper greatly increasing in size and value. Af- 
ter his death the plant was purchased by William H. Bowen, Oliver Troth, 
and Charles D. Williamson, who further enlarged the paper. Mr. William- 
son dying about two years later, his interest was purchased by the other part- 
ners, who on November 4, 1880, added still another column, further enlarging 
in 1883. The News was always Republican in politics. 

The second afternoon daily in Chester was the Chester Daily Times, es- 
tablished in September, 1876, by Major John Hodgson, who continued its editor 
until March 7, 1877. He disposed of the Times to J. Craig Jr., who managed 



Si6 DELAWARE COUNTY 

it quite successfully until October 20, 1877, when he sold to John Spencer, the 
proprietor of the Delaware County Advocate. Mr. Spencer enlarged and im- 
proved the paper, continuing its publication until April 5, 1882, when he sold 
to the Times Publishing Company. The Times is owned and edited at 418- 
Market street, by John A. Wallace, William C. Sproul and Charles R. Long, is 
an afternoon daily, strongly Rejjublican in politics, and one of the official pap- 
pers of Chester. 

Other papers in Chester are the Herald-Ledger, published every Satur- 
day at Seventh and Market streets, by the Ledger Publishing Company, Wil- 
liam Ward Jr., jjresident, John W. Ward, secretary and treasurer ; the Inde- 
pendent, published at 134 West Third street, by William T. Seth. Other 
papers of Chester that have been founded at various times ; The Weekly Re- 
porter, established March 31, 1881, by Ward R. Bliss, for advertising legal 
notices and reporting in full the opinions of the courts of Delaware county; 
The Chester Business Mirror, established in 1882, by Edward Frysinger ; The 
Chariot, established in 1842, to aid the cause of temperance, but soon discon- 
tinued; the Chester Herald, established in April, 1850, by S. E. Cohen, dis- 
continued at the end of its first year ; the Evening Star, the Chester Adver- 
tiser, the Independent, the Public Press, the Commercial Advertiser, the Tem- 
perance World, later the Chester World — all suspended publication after a 
very short life. The Delaware County Mail, established November 27, 1872, 
by Joseph De Silver & Company, was sold in 1876 to the proprietors of the 
Delaware County Paper, merged with that publication, later known as the 
Delaware County Gazette, and purchased by the Times Publishing Company 
prior to their purchase of the Chester Daily Times. 

In 1884. on February 11, Henry and Edward J. Frysinger issued the first 
number of the Daily Herald, an independent journal designed only to take part 
in the spring election for mayor, but continuing after that time. 

In October, 1833, the first number of the Brotherhood was published 
in the interests of the Brotherhood of the Union, by the Brotherhood Publi- 
cation Society, Charles K. Melville, editor. The paper was the first official 
organ of the order in Pennsylvania, New Jersey, and Delaware. 

The Union and Delaware County Democrat was the first newspajier 
started in Media prior to June, 1852. This was a small sheet and did not long 
survive. The next paper started in the new county seat was the Media Adver- 
tiser, a Republican, seven column weekly, owned and edited by Thomas V. 
Cooper and D. A. Vernon, the first issue appearing March i, 1855. The- 
paper prospered and was enlarged, its title changing on February 27, 1856, to 
the Media Advertiser and Delaware County American. On March 2. 1859, the 
title was again changed, becoming as at present the Delaware County Amer- 
ican. Mr. Cooper retired from the paper July 4, i860, but again became a 
partner July 12, 1865, the finn name then becoming Vernon & Cooper, so 
continuing for many years, but is now published by Mr. Cooper's sons under 
the firm name Thomas V. Cooper & Sons. The American has never missed 
an issue since its first ai)ei)arancc in 1855, and is a valuable newsjiaper prop-- 



DELAWARE COUNTY 517 

erty. It is devoted to the interests of Media and Delaware county, and com- 
mands a most generous patronage in its circulation, advertising and job-print- 
ing departments. Its publication day is Saturday, its politics Republican. 

The Delaware County Record was established in Media on March 23, 
1878, as an independent local newspaper, by J. W. Baiting, C. D. Williamson 
and Joseph Chadwick, under the firm name of J. W. Baiting & Company. The 
paper prospered and was soon enlarged. Mr. Baiting died April 2, 1880, and 
from that date until May 6, 1882, the paper was published under the firm 
name of Chadwick & Williamson. Mr. Chadwick, who had been manager 
and editor since July, 1880, became sole owner in 1882, and still conducts the 
Record as a prosperous enterprise. 

Other newspapers of the county : Progress, a semi-weekly published at 
Darby, by M. H. Maginin, editor. Republican in politics ; the Rockdale Her- 
ald, a weekly, established in 1898, at Glen Riddle, W. E. Driffith, editor; the 
News, established at Lansdowne in 1897, a Republican weekly, S. P. Levis, 
•editor; the Times, a weekly, established in Lansdowne in 1911, George C. 
Johnson, editor ; the Chronicle, an independent weekly, established in Morton 
in 1880, George E. Whitaker, editor; the Delaware County Republican, a 
weekly, Swarthmore, edited by J. Scott Anderson; the Suburban, a Republican 
weekly established in 1895 at Wayne, A. M. Ehart, editor; the Phoenix, a 
monthly published at Swarthmore College by the students of that institution ; 
Sine Nomine, a monthly society journal, devoted to the interests of the Rose 
Valley Section of Delaware county, published at Chester ; the Ledger, a weekly, 
estabhshed in Media in 1891. William Ward Jr., editor. 




CIXIL LIST. 

Members of Congress from Ddazvare County. — In 1789 the members of 
Congress from Pennsylvania, were elected on a general ticket. The Appor- 
tionment Act of 1791 first established congressional districts, and by its pro- 
visions Philadelphia and Delaware county became the First District. In iSoi, 
Joseph Hemphill was chosen, he being the first elective congressman from 
Delaware coimty. By the Apportionment Act of 1802, the same territory, the 
First District, was entitled to three members, Delaware comity furnishing 
Jacob Richards, who served 1803-09, and Major William Anderson, 1809-15. 
The Act of 1812 gave the First District four representatives in congress: Ma- 
jor Anderson served one term as shown: Thomas Smith, served 1S15-17; Wii 
Ham Anderson, 1817-19; Samuel Edward, 1819-27. 

By the Act of 1822, Chester, Delaware and Lancaster counties became the 
Fourth Congressional District, entitled to three members ; Samuel Edwards, 
serving until 1827; Dr. Samuel Anderson, 1827-29; George Gray Leiper, 1829- 
31. The Act of 1832 made no changes in the Fourth District; Edward Darling- 
ton serving 1833-39 '• .John Edwards, 1839-43. By the Act of 1843, Delaware 
and Montgomery counties were made the Fifth Congressional District, with one 
member. The Act of 1852 made Delaware and Chester counties the Sixth 
Congressional District, but under the apportionment of 1862 the same counties 
became the Seventh District, J. M. Broomall being the Delaware county repre- 
sentative, 1863-69. The Act of 1873 made the same counties the Sixth Dis- 
trict, Delaware county sending William Ward, who served 1877-84. In 1890 
John B. Robinson was elected from Delaware county, and was the last con- 
gressman chosen from this county, the successful candidates being residents of 
Chester county. Thomas S. Butler, of Chester county, is the present repre- 
sentative for the district, now known as the Seventh. 

State Senators. — Delaware county has been coupled as a State Senatorial 
District with Philadelphia, then with Chester county, then with Chester and 
Montgomery counties, again with Chester county, and now forms in itself a 
senatorial district. Holders of the office of State Senator from Delaware coun- 
ty, with the date of their taking office, follow : 

lygo — John Sellers; 1794-99 — Nathaniel Newlin; 1808— Jonas Preston; 1812— John 
Newbold; 1816— Maskell Ewing; 1S24-28— John Kerlin; 1832— Dr. George Smith; 1836— 
Henry Meyers; 1839— John T. Huddleson ; 1848— H. Jonas Brooke; 1854— James J. 
Lewis; i860— Jacob S. Serrill: 1869— H. Jonas Brooke; 1874-84, 1889— Thomas V. 
Cooper; 1893— Jesse M. Baker; 1897— John F. Colbourn ; 1901-05-09-13— William C. 
Sproul. 

AssemblyuH-n. — The present representation allotted Delaware county in 
the House of Assembly is three members — one from the city of Chester, and 
two from the county at large. Beginning with the session of 1899. the follow- 
ing have represented the county : 

1899— Ward R. Bliss, Thomas H. Garvin, Richard J. Baldwin, 
igoi- Robert M. Newland, Ward R. Bliss. Tliomas V. Cooper. 



DELAWARE COUNTY 5iy 

1903 — Fred Taylor Pusey, Ward R. Bliss, Thomas V. Cooper. 
1905 — Thomas V. Cooper, Crosby M. Black, Fred Taylor Pusey. 
1907 — Thomas V. Cooper, J. Milton Lutz, Samuel D. Clyde. 
1909 — Thomas V. Cooper, William D. Jones, William Ward, Jr. 
191 1 — V. Gilpin Robinson, Richard J. Baldwin, William Ward, Jr. 
1913 — Richard J. Baldwin, Harry H. Heyburn, William T. Ramsey. 

County Treasurers. — In early days the office of couiuy treasurer seems 
to have been one within the gift of the county commissioners and assessors. 
That it was of cash value to the holder is proven by the offer of John Taylor 
in 1741 to accept the office "without bringing any charge against the county." 
In 1790, when the board of assessors was abolished, the commissioners 
adopted the plan of appointing the outgoing commissioner county treasurer, 
or "commissioner's treasurer," generally observing that custom until 1838, 
when the constitution of 1837 made the office an elective one. Since that date 
the following treasurers have been elected : 

1838 — William Eyre : 1839 — Davis Beaumont ; 1840 — William Eyre ; 1840 — William 
Eyre, Jr. (to fill unexpired term of father) ; 1841 — John Miller ; 1844 — Richard F. Wor- 
rell ; 1846 — Benjamin F. Johnson; 1848 — Marshall Eachus: 1850 — Edmund Taylor; 1852 
—Samuel Button; 1854 — Joseph H. Hinkson ; 1856 — Jackson Lyons; 1858 — Charles R. 
Williamson; i860 — Charles Johnson; 1862 — David R. Ralston; 1864 — William Hinkson; 
1866— William H. Eves; 1868— William F. Matthews; 1870— John J. Hoopes ; 1872— John 
D. Howard; 1874 — Alvin Baldwin; 1876 — Henry B. Taylor; 1879 — William P. Yarnall ; 
1882— Stephen Clowd, Jr. ; 1885— Samuel M. Challenger ; 1888— Gasway O. Yarnall ; 1891 
— B. F. Compton; 1894— William M. Ford; 1897— John J. Buckley; 1900— Edward S. 
Hickman ; 1903 — Wesley S. McDowell ; 1906 — Francis E. Harrison ; 1909 — John Mac- 
Murray; 1912 — Walter S. Westcott, whose term is for a period of four years under the 
new law. 

Directors of the Poor. — The early settlers cared for the bodily wants of 
their poor, infirm, and destitute, but accompanied their charity with the act of 
^lay 31, 1 741. requiring that all persons receiving public assistance, the wives 
and children of such paupers, "shall, upon the Shoulder of the right Sleeve of 
the upper Garment of every such Person, in an open and visible manner, wear 
such a Badge or Mark as hereinafter mentioned and expressed, That is to 
say, a large Roman letter (P) together with the first Letter of the Name of 
the County, City, or Place whereof such Person is an Inhabitant, cut either in 
red or blue Cloth, as the Overseers of the Poor, it shall be directed or ap- 
pointed." The failure of "any such person" to comply with this barbarous 
provision was to render him or her liable to be brought before a justice of the 
peace, he having it in his power to deny them further county aid or to commit 
tliem to the House of Correction, "there to be whipped and kept at hard labor 
for any number of Days, not exceeding twenty one," as the justice saw fit. 
Truly Chester county had a "Scarlet Letter" law equalling the statute made 
famous by Hawthorne. The following are the present directors of the poor 
for Delaware countv : William H. Tones, Clark W. Baldwin, and Arthur Mar- 
tin. ' 

Countv Commissioners. — The office of County Commissioner was estab- 



520 DELAWARE COUNTY 

Iislied about 1820, the duties having been performed prior to that time by the 
justices, grand jury, and the assessors. The board consists of three members, 
and, beginning with the year 1882, has been as follows : 

1882 — Owen VV. Yarnall, Benjamin F. Pretty, Jesse Brooke. 
1885 — William Armstrong, Benjamin F. Pretty, Andrew Armstrong. 
1S88— William Armstrong, William Quinn, Daniel M. Field. 
1891— Harry L. Hippie, W. Lane Qninn, Robert M. Henderson. 
1897— C. Harry Marshall, William P. Hippie, W. Frank Cutler. 
1903— A. A. Sellers, C. H. Marshall, Sidwell B. Green, 
1906 — A. A. Sellers, Thomas B. Allen, George J. Johnson. 
1909 — George W. Allen, Vanleer E. Bond, E. Lewis Barlow. 
1912 — George W. Allen, Jesse D. Pierson, Thomas F. Feeley. 

Sheriffs. — On May 17, 1672, Governor Lovelace and Council decided 
"that the office of Schout to be converted into a Sheriff for the Corporation 
and River, and that he be annually Chosen." In the early days the electors 
named two persons for the office of sheriff, the governor making a selection of 
one of them. This custom, begun by Penn, prevailed under the constitutions 
of 1776 and 1790, and not until the constitution of 1838 were the people given 
the right to elect their own choice of but one person. The following is a list of 
sheriffs since the erection of the county with the year of their election : 

Nicholas Fairlamb, 1789; Nicholas Fairlamb, 1790; James Barnard, 1792; Abraham 
Dicks, 1795; John Odenheimer, 1798; Matthias Kerlin, Jr., 1801 ; John Odenheimer, 1804; 
Richard P. Floyd, 1807; Isaac Cochran, 1810; Daniel Thomson, 1813; Robert Fairlamb, 
1816; Samuel Anderson, 1819; Joseph Weaver, Jr., 1822; John Hinkson, 1825; Jehu 
Broomall, 1828; William Baldwin, 183 1 ; Charles Baldwin, 1834; Samuel A. Price, 1834; 
Evan S. Way, 1837; John Larkin. Jr., 1840; Samuel Hibberd. 1843; Robert R. Dutton, 
1846; Jonathan Esrey, 1849; Henry T. Esrey, 185 1 ; Aaron James, 1851 ; John M. Hall, 
1854; Jonathan Venion, 1857; Morris L. Yarnall, i860; Abraham Vanzant, 1863; Caleb 
Hoopes. 1866; Evan C. Bartleson, i86g; Charles W. Matthew, 1875; John J. Rowland, 
1878; William Armstrong, 188 1 : William F. Matthues, 1884; G. Leiper Green, 1887; 
John D. Howard. 1890: Elwood T. Carr, 1893; J. Humphreys Marshall, 1896; Edmund 
Oliver, 1899 : William E. Howard. 1902 ; David B. McClure, 1905 ; Charles H. Wolfe, 
1908, (Mr. Wolfe died before taking office, Mr. McClure continuing another year) ; S. 
Everett Sproul, 1900. 

Protlionotarics. — The offices of prothonotary, recorder of deeds, and reg- 
ister of wills, were held by one person from 1707 until the act of Assembly, 
February 19, i860, when the offices of prothonotary and recorder of deeds 
were separated and ordered filled l)y dift'erciit persnns. \\y act of March 20, 
1873, the office of register of wills and clerk of the ( Orphans Court were sepa- 
rated. The office of prothonotary, clerk of the Court of Oyer and Terminer 
and General Jail Delivery, and Clerk of the Court of Quarter Sessions has 
been filled since 1875 as follows: 

r875. Isaac Johnson: 1894, Morris P. ll.uiiuun; 1887. Wilhani D. Thomas; 1892, 
Willi.'ini 1,. Mattluics: i<)04. .Andrew J. Dalton. the present incunilient. 



DELAWARE COUNTY 521 

RECORDERS OF DEEDS. 

1863, Frederick Fairlamb; 1872, Frederick R. Culler, whose unexpired term was filled 
•out by Canby S. Smith; 1876, Charles P. Walter; 1881-84-87, Edward Blaine; 1890-93, 
John H. Kerlin ; 1896-99, Thomas D. Young; 1902-05, Richard J. Baldwin; 190S-12, J. 
Lord Rigby. 

Register of Wills and Clerk of the Orphans' Court. — The first incumbent 
of this office under the act of March 20, 1873, was Thomas Lees, who held it 
for four terms, his first commission dating December 13, 1874, his last term 
expiring in December, 1886. He was succeeded as follows : 

1887, Gilbert A. Hazlett ; 1893, William H. Hall; 1899, George G. Patchell; 1905, 
William J. Tazwell; 1912, Theodore F. Kreeger. 

Coroners. — This office, first mentioned in Chester county records in 1684, 
has been held since 1880 in Delaware county by the following: 

1881, Abram J. Quinby; 1884. Horace W. Fairlamb; 1890, L. M. Bullock; 1893, 
Joseph E. Quinby; 1896, Thomas H. Marshall; 1899, Edward S. Fry; 1905, William B. 

C. Gilmour ; 1908, Barney F. Carr, the present incumbent. 

Present Officials and Representatives (1913). — Congressman — Thomas S. 
Butler (Chester county) ; State Senator — William C. Sproul : Assembly — R. J. 
Baldwin, Harry H. Heyburn, William T. Ramsey; President Judge — Isaac 
Johnson ; Judge— William B. Broomall ; District Attorney — John B. Hannum, 
Jr.; Prothonotar)' — Andrew J. Dalton ; Recorder of Deeds— J. Lord Rigby; 
Register of Wills— Theodore F. Kreeger; Treasurer— Walter S. Westcott; 
Sheriff — S. Everett Sproul ; County Commissioners — George W. Allen, Jesse 

D. Pierson, Thomas F. Feeley; Jury Commissioners — Jacob Wise, William 
Stewart ; Directors of the Poor — William H. Jones, Clark W. Baldwin, Arthur 
Martin ; Coroner — Barney F. Carr ; County Auditors — Charles Gallagher, Ja- 
•cob Somers, Harry Sheldon : Surveyor — A. Yocum. 



DELAWARE COUNTY IN THE CI\"IL WAR. 

When on Saturday, April 13, 1861, the American tlag was shot from Forf- 
Sumter, in Cliarkston Harbor, and tlie little band of men who had so gallantly- 
held out in the face of certain defeat marched out and Alajor Anderson offi- 
cially surrendered, the first episode, in what was destined to be the greatest 
sectional conflict the world had ever seen, was completed. Northward the last 
echoes of the firing rolled, and in their flight aroused the passions which had 
been slumbering for forty years. Over North Carolina, \'irginia and Mary- 
land they came, leaving in their wake, martial alarm and a wild unreasoning 
excitement. Reaching Pennsylvania, they transformed a peaceful, industrious 
farming and manufacturing community into a place of excited madmen, drunk 
with patriotic fervor. In Chester, Media, Darby, Rockdale, Kellyville, and 
in every town, borough and hamlet in Delaware county, the pent-up feelings 
of the people broke all restraint. Merchants closed their shops, farmers left 
their plows, and everywhere were groups of men discussing the engrossing 
news. Patriotism was at its highest pitch, and from the top of every store, 
factory, public building and private dwelling the Stars and Stripes floated in 
the breeze. j\Iany were the theories advanced as to the probable course of the 
Federal government, and great the speculation regarding the outcome of the 
struggle which all saw was inevitable. The following day was Sunday ; every 
ear was strained for intelligence from Washington, and in its absence the sus- 
pense became unendurable. Monday morning, April 15, 1861, the public ex- 
citement was given direction, when President Lincoln issued his first call for 
seventy-five thousand volunteers to serve for a period of three months, unless 
sooner discharged. 

In Media, that morning, the tolling of the court house bell summoned the. 
people thither, and after patriotic speeches had been delivered, it was deter- 
mined to form a rifle corps immediately. .\t Chester, on the evening of the 
same day, the old town hall, which had witnessed the formation of companies 
to take part in the Revolution, saw again a like scene which equalled in stern- 
ness and decisiveness of purpose that former one. To the present generation 
the issue of the preservation of the Union was as vital as that of obtaining lib- 
erty had been to their forefathers, and there were as many who were glad, nay 
anxious, to oiifer their lives to maintain the unity of their country. Theirs was 
a sterner duty, for here was no invader or oppressor to be fought, but brother 
would meet brother ; father, son : and the wound of bullet could never equal 
the woimd of heart caused by the thought that perchance a speeding shot had 
found a resting place in the body of a loved one. 

On Wednesday night, at Media, a meeting was called in the court Ikuisc; 
Edward Darlington was chosen ch.airman. with Charles D. Manley, Charlc'^ R. 
Williamson, James R. Cummins, John R. Roland, Robert Playford. and J. 
Crosby Fairlamb, vice-presidents : O. F. Bullard and Thomas V. Cooper, sec- 
retaries. The speakers were John M. liroomall, Joseph Addison Thompson 
and Hugh Jones Brooke. The many rumors of Confederate prejjaration for 



DELAWARE COUNTY 523. 

attack had keyed the feelings of the populace to a higher point, if such were 
possible, and no historical or oratorical goad was needed to spur them on tu en- 
listment. Name after name was rapidly handed in, and in a short time thej 
ranks of the Delaware County Union Rifles were filled, with many disap- 
pointed applicants, clamoring for a place in line with the fortunate ones who 
had been chosen. One Friday morning, April ig, the men assembled before 
the court house, and after a prayer by Rev. Gracey, in which he commended 
the company to the care of an allwise and omnipotent Providence, they 
marched to the cars and left for Philadelphia. In the afternoon they reached 
Harrisburg, encamping on the capitol grounds, and the ne.xt day, .\pril 20,- 
1861, were mustered into service for three months, as Company F, 4th Regi- 
ment Pennsylvania \'ohmteers. The officers were : 

Captain, George Dunn; first lieutenant, T. V. Cooper; second lieutenant, A. McMuron; 
sergeants: William Callum, Richard Stiles, Thomas J. McMillan, J. L. Woodcock; cor- 
porals; Caleb Hooper, James Mulholland, John B. Sully, William Durell; musicians: 
William Quail, Henry Camay. Privates : Henry J. Baker, Thomas Broomall, John Baggs, 
Peter Brantz, William Baggs, John Britton, Matthew Blair, Robert Coppock, John Cot- 
tingham, John Clowney, Thomas Coulter, James Conner, John B. Davis, Thomas Dyson, 
John M. Davis, William Eekil, James Evans, Abel Ford, Allen Ford, Lorenzo D. Farra, 
William Farra, David Grubb, Thomas Griff en, James Gorman, John W. Glen, Benjamin 
Graden, George W. Glen, Harry Greenwood, Hamilton Gillon, Robert Henderson, John 
Hollingsworth, Patrick Hughes, Daniel Harigan. Robert Johnson, Stephen Johnson, Jere- 
miah Ketzler, Thomas Kelly, Thomas Laden, Benjamin H. Magee, Michael Monahan, 
Michael Martin, John McCuen, William McGinnis, Richard J. Nuttle, John Palmer. John 
P. Potts, Joseph Parker, William Roberts, Amos R. Rap, Franklin Redmond_, Antrim 
Redmond, Ephraim Stirk, George Stikes, Samuel N. Techton, William Townsend, John 
Yeehton, Baker E. Wright, James W. G. Weaver, James Walters, James Worrell, John 
Williams, Lee L. Yarnall. 

The 4th Regiment, commanded by Col. John F. Flartranft. was ordered 
on the following day, April 21. to proceed to Philadelphia, where, under com- 
mand of Col. Dare, of the 23rd Regiment, acting brigadier, it was dispatched 
to Perryville, Maryland. The next day it embarked on steamers for Annapo- 
lis, thence to Washington, a direct route, having been abandoned for fear of 
delay and possibly riots at Baltimore. The regiment had been rushed for- 
ward so rapidly that it had been impossible to uniform the men, but all were 
provided with muskets and carried ammutiition in their pockets. Many of the 
men were taken ill, and the regiment encamped about two miles from the city, 
toward Bladensburg. On June 24 the regiment received marching orders and 
proceeded to Alexandria, where on Sunday, June 30, its pickets for the first 
time were engaged with a small detachment of the enemy. The 4th, in Mc- 
Dowell's army, formed part of the 1st Brigade, 3rd Division. Its term of en- 
listment expired Sunday, July 31, 1861, and McDowell, planning an attack,, 
desired the regitnent to remain until the battle, now known as the First Bull 
Run, was fought. The men diflrered as to what course to pursue, but the regi- 
ment finally marched to Washington and thence by rail to Harrisburg, where 
it was mustered out of service. Gen. McDowell, in his report after his crush- 



524 DELAWARE COUNTY 

ing defeat, censured the 4th Pennsylvania severely. The records show that in 
the majority of cases the men performed their duty well on many a bloody 
field in the following four years, when their valor and patriotism were tested 
to the full and tliey were not found wanting. The Delaware County Rifles, 
however, had been discharged from duty the day before, and were thus re- 
lieved from McDowell's unfavorable criticism. 

In Chester, also, steps for the organization of a company were immediate- 
ly taken. On Wednesday following the call for volunteers, more than a suf- 
ficient number had been enrolled to form a company, and the name Union 
Blues was adopted. An election of officers was immediately held, Henry B. 
Edwards being chosen cajjtain, and to him Rev. Talbot presented a sword he 
bad worn when chaplain in the United States navy. The company, in order to 
be ready to responil to orders at a minute's notice, began to drill and to equip. 
On Saturday morning, April 20, i860, the Union tilues were ordered to Har- 
lisburg, and on the evening of that day gathered in front of the Washington 
House in Chester, where they were addressed by Frederick J. Hinkson. He 
assured the volunteers that the citizens of the borough would see that their 
wives and families should suffer in no way during their absence. Several oth- 
er addresses were made by prominent clergymen, among them Rev. Talbot, 
Rev. Sproul and I-iev. Father Haviland. The latter divine contributed largely 
to a fund for equipping the soldiers and for maintaining their families, besides 
personally soliciting subscriptions. Toward evening, as the time of departure 
approached, crowds of people from the outlying districts came into town to 
witness the leavetaking of the "Boys in Blue'^ for the front. At the time there 
was a general feeling in the North that the trouble would be settled in a month 
or so, and at this first leavetaking there was not the air of gloom and depres- 
sion that came in later years of the war, when families had been drawn upon 
tmtil only the youngest son remained, leaving entire towns empty and cheer- 
less. 

The Union Blues reached Camp Curtin at Harri-biirg the following day, 
and on Monday, April 22, were mustered into the 9th Regiment Pennsylvania 
\'olunteers, for three months. On May 4, the regiment moved to West Ches- 
ter, arriving there in the midst of a blinding snow and sleet storm, and quar- 
tered in the old depot. The next day Col. Longnecker selected a location for 
camp, calling it Camp Wayne, in honor of "Mad Anthony" Wayne of Revolu- 
tionary fame. On May 26, i86t, the 9th was ordered to Wilmington, Dela- 
ware, to prevent the organization of Confederate companies there, and camped 
at Hare's Corners, between Wilmington and New Castle. The regiment was 
ordered to Chambersburg June 6, to join Gen. Patterson's command, and was 
attached to the ist Brigade, ist Division, under Coi. Miles. On Simday, June 
16, Col. Miles' brigade crossed the Potomac, the gth regiment on the right of 
column, the troops wading the stream breast high. They were later ordered to 
recross and take a position covering tin- ford. On July i the brigade again 
crossed over in the direction of Martinsburg. and a week later Gen. Patterson 
ordered a movement in the direction of Winchester and Bunker Hill, but the 



DELAWARE COUNTY 525 

order was countermanded. On the 17th of July, Longnecker's brigade marched 

toward Charlestown, encamping there and remaining until the 21st, when it 

marched on to Harper's Ferry. On the 22nd the 9th Regiment proceeded to 

Hagerstown, thence to Harrisburg, where it was mustered out of service, the 

term of enlistment having expired. The roll of Company 1, 9th Regiment 

Pennsylvania \'olunteers, is as follows : 

1 

Captain, Henry B. Edwards; first lieutenant, James G. Stacey; second lieutenant, 
William Blakeley; Sergeants: William B. Stevenson, John Beck, James Williams, William 
Eves ; coroprals : Isaac Weaver, William R. Thatcher, Charles Storey, Jesse Cummings ; 
musicians : Ezra Dransfield and Alexander King. 

Privates : John Booth, Joseph Barker. Joseph Brewster, Lewis Benner, John C. Bar- 
rowclough, Thomas Blythe, Isaac F. Badden, William H. Brown, David Burke, George 
Booth, Thomas W. Bruner, Edward Crowther, Edward Collison, Samuel Cross, Daniel 
Crowther, James Cliff, Allen Carr, Frederick Cutler, Frederick Crider, Simeon Davis, John 
John Doyle, William Elliott, Theodore Ettienne, Robert Fogg, John Farraday, Joseph 
Grooves, William P. Huff, James Hewes, George Helms, William F. Jester, James P. Kel- 
ley, Edward Kay, Jonathan Kershaw. Edward Lilley, Edward Lyons, Thomas McNamee. 
William McNeil, John Marshall, William Marlor, Samuel McDaniel, George McAffee, 
John C. Morton, John Phillips, Daniel Pithie, Thomas F. Pierce, .\nthony Quinn, Francis 
Rodrigos, Robert Reaney, Samuel Shepherd, Francis Scott, Edgar Stevenson, William V. 
Shellinger, John Smith, Samuel Smith, Thomas Toy, Joseph Taylor, junior, Richard 
Turner, George W. Wilson, Joshua L. Wilson, John Wagner. Robert Wright, Alfred 
Woodhead, George Weigan, Reed L. Weaver. 

While the Delaware County Rifles and the Union Blues were the twO' 
largest companies formed in the county, the citizens immediately formed oth- 
ers, so that in case of another call they could take the field at once. All 
through the county, Home Guards were formed and drilled — at Chester, 
Media, Rockdale, Darby, Linwood, Kellyville, Wildeville, Glen Mills, Village 
Green, Upland, and other towns. So rapidly did these organizations become 
proficient in the handling of arms and in drill, that at Chester, on the Fourth of 
July, the Wayne Guards, Captain W. C. Gray ; the Home Guards, Captain H. 
B. Taylor ; Company A, Captain George E. Darlington ; and the Upland 
Guards, Captain George K. Crozer, held a parade, while at the county seat, on 
the same day, the Village Green Guards, Captain Barton; Glen Mills Guards, 
Captain Willcox; Manchester Rifles, Captain Ballentine ; and Upper Darby 
Home Guards, Captain Buckley, joined with the Media Home Guards in a 

parade. 

A meeting, at which were present people from all over the county, was 
held at the Media court house on Tuesday afternoon, April 23, 1861, under 
charge of H. Jones Brooke, for the purpose of raising money to equip troops 
and for the maintenance of those dependent upon the volunteers then in ser- 
vice. The response was generous and hearty, $2500 being contributed that 
day. Moreover, the county was divided into seven districts for the purpose of 
making a house to house canvass in the solicitation of subscriptions. The first 
district was composed of Chester, Ridley and Tinicum : the second, of Media, 
Nether and Upper Providence; and all of Middletown east of Edgemont road;. 



526 DELAWARE COUNTY 

the third, Marcus Hook, Linwood, Lower and Upper Chester, Bethel, and all 
of Aston south of Concord Road ; the fourth, Concord, Birmingham, and 
Thornbury ; the fifth, Aston, east of Concord Road and Edgemont ; the sixth. 
Darby, Upper Darby and Springfield; and the seventh, Haverford, Marple, 
Newtown, and Radnor. Since all present were taxpayers, they called upon the 
county commissioners to appropriate at once $5000 and $20,000 later, for the 
support of the families of those who should enlist. The activity of the several 
committees was remarkable, for in two days they collected $2,700 in addition 
to which Samuel M. Felton, president of the Philadelphia, Wilmington & Bal- 
timore Railroad Company, contributed $1000, a company gift. Further evi- 
dence of the generosity of the company, as well as of the patriotic spirit of 
the directors, was given, when Mr. Felton informed the clerks in the employ 
of the road that in the event of any of them leaving to go to the front, their 
salaries would be paid during their absence, and that their positions would be 
open upon their return. 

It would be difficult to pay a fitting tribute to the courage and fortitude of 
the women of the county, who, in stoical silence, watched their loved sons, hus- 
bands and fathers, march away with the possibility that the present would be 
the last farewell. We may admire and honor the soldier at the front for his 
dauntless courage, his uncomplaining endurance of hardships, his faithfulness 
to his cause, but, in all justice, we must grant the same measure of admiration 
and honor to his wife or mother, who, in the silent desolation of her home, 
waits for intelligence from the battle, longing for, yet dreading, the news that 
may either break her anxious heart, or consign her once more to ceaseless wait- 
ing for the unknown. There was no more suffering at the front during the 
terrible years from 1861 to 1865, than there was by many a hearthstone at 
bome. 

Twcnty-slxtli Regiment. — On May 31, 1861, a company recruited by Wil- 
liam L. Grubb, from Chester and vicinity, for three years, was mustered into 
service as Company K, 26th Regiment. Immediately after, it was ordered to 
Washington, where the main body of the regiment was on guard over the 
quartermaster-general's stores, the arsenal, and the flying bridge at George- 
town. As the company's train passed through Chester, the great throng at the 
station cheered wildly until it passed out of sight. The 26th was assigned to 
Gen. Hooker's division, and in April, 1862, was transported to the Peninsula, 
engaging in the siege of Yorktown, and on May 5th, in front of Fort Magrud- 
er, at the battle of Williamstown, drove the enemy from the riflepits into the 
works, and held its position for eight hours, until reinforced by fresh troops, 
when the fort was taken. The regiment was engaged in the battle of White 
Oak Swamp from noon till night, and just before dusk broke the enemy's lines 
with a gallant bayonet charge, compelling them to retire, and the following 
day took part in the battle of Malvern Hill. On August 20 it was dispatched 
to the support of Gen. Pope, with Heintzelman's corps. During that campaign 
it was engaged at Bristoe Station on the 26th, and the following day connected 
the army with its base of supplies. On the 29th it marched to the battle of 



DELAWARE COUNTY 527 

Bull Run, where Captain Meekins, of Company K, was killed, and the whole 
regiment suffered severely. The next day the 26th supported three different 
batteries, which kept them continually on the march, repelling charges at dif- 
ferent points. When Burnside was defeated at Fredericksburg, it was in the 
front line of battle, engaged with the enemy for thirty hours, with slight in- 
termission. At Chancellorsville, on May 2, 1863, the regiment was ordered to 
reconnoiter in front of Hooker's headquarters to feel the enemy, and on the 
3rd was held as a support to batteries after it had fallen back to the intrench- 
ment, a movement caused by the 72nd New York's breaking and leaving the 
flank of the 26th exposed to a heavy fire by which it lost one hundred men. In 
the Gettysburg campaign the regiment was under Gen. Sickles, and was on 
the field when the battle started on the extreme right of the division, sufifering 
severely. Toward evening it sustained the attack of a Florida brigade, which 
it checked, and, charging, drove the latter into confusion, capturing many pris- 
oners. The 26th entered the battle with 364 men ; its loss was 216 killed and 
wounded, a terrible slaughter. The regiment was in Grant's campaign, on 
May 5, 1864, in the battle of the Wilderness, and held an exposed position on 
the left, although repeated efiforts were made to dislodge it. On the 12th it 
took part in Hancock's memorable charge with the 2nd Corps at Spottsylvania 
Court House, capturing two Napoleon gims. It was engaged at the crossing 
of North Anna river ; on the 27th of May crossed the Pamunkey river at Nel- 
son's Ford, thence marching to Philadelphia, where its mustering out on June 
18, 1864, in front of Independence Hall, saw the end of a career of glorious 
service and the hardest kind of fighting. 

Thirtieth Regiment (First Reserves). — So nobly and so well did the men 
of Pennsylvania respond to President Lincoln's call for volunteers, that for a 
time it seemed probable that none save those already accepted, would be mus- 
tered into service. But. Gov. Curtin, who perhaps had a better knowledge of 
the condition and requirements of the time than any other man in official cir- 
cles in the North (excepting Simon Cameron), realized that many more troops 
would be needed, and determined to form several military camps, and there to 
mobilize the various organizations of the state, to equip and discipline them, 
and to have them in readiness for any emergency. This purpose Gov. Curtin 
carried into effect, and the name Pennsylvania Reserves will ever cling to the 
companies thus formed : and to Gov. Curtin, Pennsylvania owes much of the 
honor it received, for having played such important part in the war. 

In May, 1861, Samuel A. Dyer recruited from Chester and vicinity a 
company of infantry, named the Keystone Guards. For ten days the company 
was quartered in the Chester town hall, maintained by the subscription of sev- 
eral citizens of the borough. After changing the name of the company to the 
Slifer Phalanx, in honor of Hon. Eli Slifer, then secretary of the common- 
wealth, the organization was mustered in at the Girard House, Philadelphia, 
May 31, 1861, where a handsome flag, the gift of the ladies of Chester, was 
presented to the company of Hon. Edward Darlington. On June 4th, the Sli- 



528 DELAWARE COUNTY 

fer Phalanx left for Camp Wayne, at West Chester, where it became company 
C, 30th Regiment, ist Pennsylvania Reserves. 

Another Delaware county company which had difficulty in being accepted, 
but which was extricated from the difficulty by Gov. Curtin's formation of 
the Pennsylvania Reserves, was the Rockdale Rifle Guards, recruited by Wil- 
liam Cooper Talley, at Crozerville and Rockdale. Subsequently the name was 
changed to the Archy Dick Volunteers, in honor of Archibald T. Dick, a de- 
ceased member of the bar of Delaware county, in which he had held an hon- 
ored position. On May 30th, 1861, the company was mustered into the 30th 
Regiment, ist Reserves, as Company F, for three years service. The organi- 
zation of the regiment was not fully effected until June 9, 1861, when Biddle 
Roberts was chosen colonel, he appointing Lieutenant Joseph R. T. Coates, of 
Company C, quartermaster. On July 4, Gov. Curtin reviewed the First and 
Seventh Reserves at West Chester, and on the 21st the ist Regiment was or- 
dered to Washington. At about dusk of the next day the regiment reached 
Baltimore, and Col. Roberts was met outside of the city limits by the police 
authorities, who advised against attempting to pass through the streets because 
of the excitement and possible rioting. Col. Roberts, however, distributed 
ammunition among his men and ordered them to proceed, marching through 
the city without molestation. The regiment was mustered into the United 
States service at Camp Carroll, July 26, thence marching to Annapolis, where 
it was quartered until August 30th in the Naval School, and then moved to 
Tenallytown, Maryland, where it was assigned to the ist Brigade, under Gen. 
Reynolds, of McCall's division. It took part in all the movements preceding 
the peninsular campaign, and in that campaign, at Mechanicsville, was on 
the extreme right of the Army of the Potomac. In the battle of June 26th, 
1862, it was under command of Fitz John Porter. There the ist held the cen- 
ter, and after a three hours fight repulsed the enemy, sleeping that night on 
the hard won field. The next morning it was ordered to fall back, the brigade 
retiring in the direction of Gaines' Mills. On the 27th. the ist and 8th Re- 
.serves moved to the rear for ammunition. Their action alarmed Fitz John 
Porter, who thought they were in flight, and he appealed to Col. Roberts to 
stop them, which upon the general's promise to provide them with ammunition, 
the colonel did with a word, winning the general's warm approval for the 
prompt action, coolness and precision of the Reserves. At New Market, on 
the 30th, the ist Reserves maintained its position for five hours, repulsing 
three heavy attacks with a gallantry that won special mention in McCall's of- 
ficial report. On August 2gth and 30th, in Pope's campaign, it was marching 
nearly all the time, constantly under fire, and for the entire forty-eight hours 
was totally without food. On Sunday, September 14, 1862, at South Moun- 
tain, the regiment charged the gorge and summit of a hill held by a part of 
Hill's corps, gaining the summit with a brilliant rush. The ist Reserves were 
ready at the break of dawn to resume the struggle, but the Confederates had 
withdrawn under cover of darkness. The following morning. Gen. Hooker 
came to the field to compliment the regiment personally. In that headlong 



DELAWARE COUNTY 529 

charge, Second Lieutenant John H. Taylor, of Company C, fell, leading his 
command. On September 16, the eve of Antietam, the First's pickets were 
firing upon the enemy, and at daybreak of the 17th it engaged with the Con- 
federates, fighting until relieved at 9 o'clock. During the greater part of the 
battle, Captain Talley commanded the regiment. Col. Roberts having command 
of the 1st Brigade, and after Hooker was wounded, March i, 1863, Captain 
Talley was promoted to the colonelcy. 

At Fredericksburg, December 13, 1862, the 1st Reserves charged across 
an open plain under a heavy artillery fire, driving the enemy two hundred 
yards behind its entrenchments, when, finding he was flanked on the right, the 
enemy strongly reen forced in front and no supporting troops coming up in the 
rear. Col. Talley "was compelled to retire after having opened the way to 
victory." 

An inspiring scene was enacted when the Reserves, on June 29, 1863, 
were marching with the main army to Gettysburg to repel Lee's invasion of 
Pennsylvania. Col. Talley, as soon as the state line was crossed, halted his 
troops, and, in a few earnest words, besought his men to fight as they had nev- 
er fought before, to cleanse the soil of their native state from the polluting 
step of the invader. With this incentive and their colonel's heartfelt words 
ringing in their ears, the men were sent to the front immediately after arrival 
on the field, July 2, and by a splendid charge upon the right of Little Round 
Top, drove the enemy back upon their reserves. On July ist, the 1st Regi- 
ment, commanded by Col. Talley, occupied the centre of the line in the terrific 
charges made by the ist Brigade. The regiment also took part in the battle 
of Bristol Station, and in the numerous movements of the Army of the Poto- 
mac during the latter part of 1863. In Grant's campaign, on the 5th of May, 
T864, it was engaged in the battle of the Wilderness, and on May 8, Spottsyl- 
vania. In that battle Col. Talley was in command of the brigade, and on the 
enemy's third charge through the pine thickets, was captured by soldiers of 
Ewell's corps, but the following day he and several hundred other prisoners 
were rescued by Sheridan's cavalry. The Pennsylvania Reserves saw their 
last day of service May 31, 1864, when the ist Regiment played a prominent 
part in the battle of Bethesda Church. The next day the Reserves were or- 
dered home, and on June 13th were mustered out of service at Philadelphia. 
On March 13th, 1865, Col. Talley received the rank of brigadier general of 
volunteers, by brevet, for distinguished services in the field. 

Fifty-ciglith Regiment. — Delaware county receives no credit whatsoever 
in the official records for citizens enlisted in the 58th Regiment, except in so 
far as "Philadelphia and vicinity" applies to the county, a condition which is 
found in other organizations as well. The fact is that almost one-half of 
Company H was recruited in Delaware county, while in companies B, C, and 
K, many Delaware county men were the first to enlist. 

Jn March 8, 1862, the 58th was ordered to Fortress Monroe, arriving 
there the following day, Sunday, while the battle between the "Monitor" and 
"Merrimac" was in progress. ■ On May loth it led the advance of Gen. Wool's 
35 



530 DELAWARE COUNTY 

troops, and after the surrender of the city of Norfolk on that day, the flag of 
the 58th was raised over the custom house, where it remained until the regi- 
ment was ordered to Beaufort, North Carolina. While at Norfolk, First Lieu- 
tenant Thomas I. Leiper, of Company A, who had been appointed adjutant 
while the regiment was in Philadelphia, before being ordered to the front, 
was assigned to the stafif of Gen. Thomas L. Kane, under whom he saw ser- 
vice in the battles of Antietam and Gettysburg. When on September 9, 1863, 
Leiper was promoted to the captaincy of Company A, he at once returned to 
his command. On June 27, 1S62, the sSth was ordered to garrison Washing- 
ton, North Carolina, at the head of navigation of the Pamlico river, and while 
there, heavy artillery practice was held daily. One of the most dashing raids 
of the entire war was made on December 16, when Captain Theodore Blakeley. 
of Company B, a daring soldier from Chester, with a detachment of one hun- 
dred men, made a foray into the country, fifteen miles to the south, and sur- 
prised a Confederate cavalry encampment, capturing a captain and sixty men, 
with their horses and equipment, so completely surprising them that they 
yielded without a single shot. Captain Blakeley was accorded the high honor 
of having his expedition especially mentioned in an order from department 
headquarters, and was complimented therefor. The regiment joined the 
Army of the James, ^lay i, 1864, and was in action in the operations against 
Richmond under Gen. Butler. On the 9th, the 58th was engaged near the 
Appomattox river, and the following day destroyed the Petersburg & Rich- 
mond railroad for a considerable distance, thus greatly handicapping the Con- 
federates in their transportation of ammunition and supplies. The regiment 
was subsequently transferred to Grant's army, and at Cold Harbor, June 3d, 
charged the enemy's works, capturing the rille pits, and in the words of a 
New York Herald correspondent, "Here, however, the men found themselves 
close prisoners, for it was utterly impossible for a head or an arm to make its 
appearance without being riddled by bullets. For two long hours the regiment 
held its position until it was reenforced." 

It was in the attack of the Army of the James, to which it had been re- 
turned, on the enemy's lines in front of Petersburg, when the outer works 
were carried. When on June 24 the re-enlisted soldiers were ordered to Phila- 
delphia on the furlough granted to veterans re-entering the service, the second 
term men of the 58th were allowed twenty days beyond the usual time because 
of good conduct and commendable service. Great self-denial was shown by 
Captain Leiper, who remained at the front in command of the men who had 
not re-enlisted and the recruits assigned to the 58th. After the furlough the 
regiment rejoined the army on the north of the James, and on September 28, 
the 58th and the io8th Pennsylvania made a desperate assault upon Fort 
Harrison, under a scathing fire from sixteen heavy calibre guns, when the 
colors of the 58th were shot away three times. Out of the 228 men of that 
regiment who had made the charge, 128 were killed and wounded. Among 
the former was Captain Theodore Blakeley, of Chester. As a result of this 
determined and intrepid attack, the fort, with its cannon, small arms, battle 



DELAWARE COUNTY 531 

flags and garrison was captured. Although it would seem that the 58th and 
io8th regiments had done sufficient service for one day, nevertheless they 
were ordered to assault Star Fort, a mile to the left of the fortification just 
captured. This they did, and although they were able to scale the works and 
spike the enemy's guns, their fatigue and lack of support obliged them to fall 
back under the heavy fire to which they were subjected by the enemy's gun- 
boats. In the final campaign of the war, resulting in the surrender of Gen. 
Lee, it acquitted itself with great credit, and after the disposal of the enemy's 
field force was assigned to duty in the lower counties of Virginia, being mus- 
tered out at City Point, Virginia, January 24, 1866. 

Sixtieth Regiment {Third Cavalry). — It is believed that the first Pennsyl- 
vania men to enlist for a term of three years were those of Captain William 
L. Law's company of cavalry, organized in Delaware county in July, 1861. As 
Pennsylvania's quota was full at the time, Col. William H. Young asked per- 
mission to raise a regiment in any part of the country, the organization to be 
known as Young's Light Kentucky Cavalry. Law's company, for some un- 
known reason, was not accepted as a whole in this regiment, the greater part 
of the men being assigned to Captain William K. Grant, of Company L and 
the remainder distributed among the other companies. The regiment, which 
was entirely recruited in Pennsylvania, excepting Company D (from Wash- 
ington City), was later credited to the Keystone State, and Col. Young's resig- 
nation requested by Gov. Curtin. 

On October 31, 1861, William W. Averill, an officer of the 5th United 
States Cavalry, was appointed Young's successor. The strict discipline and 
adherence to rules exacted by the new commander made him most unpopular 
with the men at first, for under Young their conduct had been lax and unsol- 
dierly, but the honorable record which the regiment now bears is in large 
measure due to the training and discipline of Col. Averill. During the winter 
and spring of 1862 it was constantly in the advance of the army, and was the 
first Union force to enter the Manassas fortifications and ascertain that the 
enemy had abandoned the works. In the peninsular campaign, the regiment 
did most of the reconnoitering for the army staff, and during that week of 
fighting, while the base of the operations was being changed, was almost con- 
stantly in the saddle. At Antietam it was centrally engaged, and when in Oc- 
tober the army crossed into Virginia, it covered the right flank, which brought 
it constantly into contact and battle with Stuart's and Hampton's commands, 
meetings which finally forced the latter to retire to the Blue Ridge. On March 
l6th the Southern cavalry learned that their neighbors of the North were quite 
as skilled in mounted warfare as they, when the 60th encountered Fitz Hugh 
Lee and Stuart's cavalry at Kelley's Ford and decisively defeated them. The 
60th rode in the noted raid which, previous to the battle of Chancellorsville, 
traversed the country in Lee's rear and for a time severed his railroad com- 
munication with Richmond. On June 19th, 1863, it took part in Buford's and 
Gregg's attack on Stuart, between Culpeper Court House and Beverly Ford, 
in which the latter was so signally defeated that for a time it compelled a de- 



532 DELAWARE COUNTY 

lay ill the proposed invasion of Pennsylvania. Two weeks later it was in the 
engagement at Aldie, which resulted in cutting off Lee from the whole of 
Stuart's command, so that the former was without the greater part of his 
cavalry until after the battle of Gettysburg. On July 2, in that battle, the 
60th Regiment sustained the charge of Hampton's division in the latter's at- 
tempt to gain the rear of the Union army, and although driven back by weight 
of numbers, when Custer arrived with reenforcements it rallied and joined in 
the charge, in which the enemy was defeated with heavy loss. After taking 
part in the action at Old Antietam Forge on July 10, and at Shepherdstown on 
the i6th, it led the brave charge near Culpeper Court House, September 13, 
and was complimented in a general order for valor. On October 14 it was en- 
gaged at Bristol Station, and the next day, when the cavalry covered the army 
wagon train of seventy miles, the 60th was detailed as rear guard and re- 
pulsed the attack of Gordon's division, holding its ground for over two hours, 
before supported. Once again Gen. Buford issued an order commending its 
skill and bravery. At New Hope Church, on September 26th, while dis- 
mounted, aided by the ist Massachusetts, it maintained a position against the 
attacks of the Stonewall Brigade for two hours until Sykes' Regulars had 
time to advance to its support. It was constantly engaged in the Wilderness 
campaign under Grant, and acted as escort when Grant and Meade crossed 
the James on pontoon bridges. The history of the engagements preceding 
Lee's surrender is the history of the 60th Regiment, and when on April 3, 
Grant and Meade entered Petersburg, it formed part of the General's escort. 
At Lee's surrender it was in the advance between the lines of battle of the two 
armies. The 60th was mustered out of service August 7, 1865. 

Ninety-seventh Regiment. — Henry B. Guss, of West Chester, wa^ au- 
thorized by the Secretary of War in the latter part of July, 1861, to raise a 
regiment for three years' service. The companies recruited mainly from 
Media, Chester and neighboring vicinities were composed almost entirely of 
men who had been in the three months' service, and had some knowledge of 
military tactics and duties. The following companies were enrolled : Com- 
pany D, the Concordville Rifles, Captain William S. Mendenhall, recruited in 
the western end of the county ; Company G, the Broomall Guards, ( named in 
honor of Hon. J. M. Broomall), Captain Jesse L. Cummings, recruited mostly 
in Media, Chester and neighborhood: Company I. Brooke Guards (so called 
in honor of Hon. Hugh Jones Brooke, post commissary of Pennsylvania, 
who contributed largely to the outfit and comfort of the men), Captain George 
W. Hawkins, recruited mostly from Springfield and Ridley townships. The 
companies encamped at Camp Wayne, near West Chester, where Gov. Curtin 
presented the state colors to the regiment on November 12, the day it left for 
Washington. Shortly thereafter it was ordered to Fortress Monroe and sub- 
sequently to Port Royal, South Carolina, arriving off the harbor December 11, 
but was compelled by heavy weather to put out to sea, and disembarkation was 
delayed for three days. In January, 1862, it took part in the expedition to 
Warsaw Sound, Georgia, which resulted in the capture of Fort Pulaski, and 



DELAWARE COUNTY 533 

on March 5 the 97th was landed from the transport in the Florida expedition, 
capturing Fermandina and Fort Church. In March, Gen. Hunter, relieving 
Gen. Sherman, ordered an evacuation of Florida. In a bold expedition to 
Legarsville, South Carolina, in June, 1862, Company G (Broomall Guards) 
and Company H occupied the town. In the Confederate attack at Secession- 
ville, June 10, the 97th held the most exposed position and bore the brunt of 
the fight until the gunboats could get into position and open an etfective fire. 
The physical condition of the regiment in the fall of that year was very poor, 
and its members suffered severely with intermittent fever, five hundred men 
being on the sick list at one time, while there were also many cases of yellow 
fever, a number of which proved fatal. In April, 1863, it was at Folly Island, 
Charleston Harbor, during the bombardment of Fort Sumter. One of the 
most humane acts in war history, and one which displayed the true bravery 
and true courage of a band of soldiers, more than any fighting against odds, 
or any other war peril could possibly do, was performed at the storming of 
Fort Wagner. The 54th Massachusetts Regiment (colored) led the assaulting 
column and suffered dreadfully under the murderous fire from the fort. 
When the attack failed, Companies C and D (Concordville Rifles), stacked 
their arms, and during the entire night busied themselves carrying off the 
wounded colored soldiers, urged on in their work of mercy by Brig. Gen. 
Stevenson with the oft repeated words, "You know how much harder they 
will fare at the hands of the enemy than white men." With never a thought 
of self, these men crawled to the very brink of the enemy's entrenchment. 
dragging away the wounded black men. No nobler spectacle ever lightened 
the dark days of the war. War may dull men's finer feelings, but then it 
strengthened the bonds of human brotherhood, a gospel as old as creation. 

The 97th was active in the siege of Fort Wagner, which was evacuated 
the night of September 6, 1863. The following month it was ordered to Flori- 
da, where it was engaged mainly in destroying Confederate supply stations. 
In April, 1864, it was attached to the 1st Brigade, 3rd Division, Army of the 
James, under Gen. Butler. On May 9 it led the advance on Petersburg, de- 
tailed to destroy the railroad and telegraph wires : after the accomplishment 
it was engaged at Swift Creek. When Beauregard, on the i8th, attacked the 
Army of the James, the pickets of the 8th Maine were driven back and the 
97th was ordered to retake the position, which was done under a hot and de- 
structive fire of musketry. On the evening of the 19th, when four of the 
companies had been driven back with fearful slaughter and the line broken, 
the remainder of the regiment, including all of the Delaware county compan- 
ies, was ordered to regain it. The attempt to obey the command was made 
eagerly, and the line advanced steadily, despite holes torn in their ranks by 
volleys of grape, canister, and a steady fusilade of musketry. At last they 
were recalled, having sustained the awful loss of 200 killed and wounded. 
Because of its well known calmness under fire and its dauntless courage, the 
regiment was constantly in the advance, and on June 30th, Captain ]\Ienden- 
hall, of Company D. (Concordville Rifles) with 300 men from the companies, 



534 DELAWARE COUNTY 

was ordered to attack the enemy's works in front of the cemetery, to divert 
the latter's attention from the real point of assault. The order was gallantly 
obeyed, the works were captured and held until nightfall, although the real at- 
tack was not made. Over one-third of the force under Mendenhall was either 
killed or wounded. When the mine was exploded, July 30th, Captain Haw- 
kins (Brooke Guards), in command of five companies, successfully charged 
the enemy's riflepits, an attack in which Captain Mendenhall was wounded. 

On the isth of August, the regiment took part in the action at Deep Bot- 
tom, and on the i6th at Strawberry Plains. At Bermuda Hundred, on the 
25th, it was attacked by the enemy while being relieved, and a part of its line 
was captured, which, however, was shortly afterward retaken. It participated 
September 28th, in the capture of New Market Heights, and the same dav in 
the unsuccessful attack on Fort Gilmore. In a short engagement with the 
enemy at Darbytown Roads, on October 27, 1864, Captain George W. Haw- 
kins was mortally wounded. Here the relation of the 97th Regiment and Del- 
aware county ceases, for the period of enlistment expired at the end of 1864, 
and when the regiment was re-formed but little of its original elements re- 
mained. 

One Hundred Si.vfli Regiment. — The lorith Regiment was recruited in 
Philadelphia during the late summer and early fall of 1861, forming part of 
Eiaker's brigade. At the battle of Ball's Bluff, the io6th was just across the 
Potomac on the Maryland side, but for want of transportation could not cross 
to the assistance of the other division, which was overpowered by superior 
numbers, Col. Baker being mortally wounded. At the battle of Fair Oaks it 
supported Kirby's battery against Magruder's assault, the latter having sworn 
to regain possession of the battery, as it had been formerly under his com- 
mand in the United States army. Magruder's efforts, however, were unsuc- 
cessful. .At Savage .Station, exposed to a severe and raking fire, it withstood 
for nearly three hours every attack made against it. at one time being en- 
gaged in a hand-to-hand conflict with the enemy. At Antietam the regiment 
suffered greatlv. and at a fence near Dunker church one-third of the entire 
body was stricken down in ten minutes. At the battle of Fredericksburg, De- 
cember 13. 1862, it charged under a heavy fire to within seventy-five yards of 
the enemy's works, and from noon until sundown held its ground, and on 
May 3, 1863, came to the support of .Sedgwick, commanding the Sixth Corps, 
at Salem Church, when the latter was engaged with overwhelming odds. 

At Gettysburg the io(Sth arrived on the field at midnight of July i, and 
took up a position behind the low stone wall on the right centre of the line in 
front and to the left of Mead's headquarters. The next day, when Sickle-' 
line was broken, the io6th was part of Webb's brigade, which marcherl to the 
gap in the line. As it reached the crest of the hill, the enemy, less than sixty 
yards away, was advancing to what seemed certain victory. The brigade, 
giving one close volley of musketry, charged, striking the enemy on tlic left 
flank and hurling back the advancing column, the lorith and two companies of 
the 2nd New York pursuing them to the Emmitsburg road. The following 



DELAWARE COUNTY 53.5 

day it was at Cemetery Hill, stationed on the right of the Baltimore Pike, near 
Rickett's battery, and there remained under a terrific cannonade until the end 
of the battle. 

During the Wilderness campaign it saw a great deal of action, taking part 
in Hancock's famous charge at Spottsylvania on the morning of May 12. It 
was engaged in the battle at the North Anna ; and in the battle of Cold Har- 
bor, the brigade of which the io6th was a part attempted to drive the enemy 
from its entrenchment, but was unsuccessful. The troops, dropping to the 
ground, remained there until night, when they threw up a breastwork which 
they held. The last engagements participated in by the regiment were before 
Petersburg, June 14, 1864, and the Jerusalem Plank Road a week later. The 
regiment was mustered out of service September 10, 1864. 

One Hundred Twelfth Regiment (2nd Artillery). — On the recommenda- 
tion of Gen. McClellan, Charles Angeroth, of Philadelphia, in October, 1861, 
was authorized by the Secretary of War to recruit a battalion of heavy in- 
fantry, later enlarged to a regiment — the 2nd Pennsylvania Heavy Artillery, 
1 1 2th of the line. On February 25, 1862, seven companies were ordered to 
Washington, where they remained in the fortification until the spring of 1864. 
By this time the regiment had been so increased that it numbered 3,300 men, 
and was divided into two regiments. The second body, receiving the name 
Second Provisional Heavy Artillery, was dispatched to the front, and as in- 
fantry was assigned to the Ninth Corps. It participated in all the battles of 
the Wilderness campaign and sustained great loss at Petersburg. In May, 
1864, the original regiment was assigned to the 18th Army Corps, under Gen. 
Baldy Smith, Army of the Potomac. The story of the two divisions of this 
regiment entails a review of the year of battle ending with Lee's .surrender. 
The Second division. Provisional regiment, was in hard service before Peters- 
burg, losing about one thousand men in four months. It was part of the bri- 
gade which charged into the crater when the mine was exploded and after 
Fort Harrison had been captured, on September 29, 1864, the Second Penn- 
sylvania Artillery and 89th New York were ordered to charge on Battery Gil- 
more, a movement which was disastrous because of lack of proper support, 
the 2nd .Artillery losing in killed, wounded and prisoners, 200 men. The his- 
tory of the regiment is indeed honorable, and its light of valor was surely hid- 
den under a bushel when for so many months it remained in inactivity at the 
capitol, intrusted with the defence of the heart of the nation. 

One Hundred Nineteenth Regiment. — Peter C. Ellmaker, under authori- 
zation of Gov. Curtin, began recruiting for the 119th Pennsylvania, August 
5th, 1862. William C. Gray, of Chester, had raised a company in Delaware 
county, known as the Delaware County Guards, which he offered to the au- 
thorities, to be credited to Delaware county, but was informed that the quota 
was full and that the company could not be accepted. Captain Gray offered 
the company to Col. Ellmaker, the offer was accepted, and the organization 
became Companv E, 109th Regiment, .\ugust 10, 1862. Because of the dire 
reed for troops, the regiment was ordered to Washington before its organi- 



536 DELAWARE COUNTY 

zation was complete, and assigned to rluty at the arsenal. About the middle of 
October it joined the Army of the Potomac, in camp near Antietam — ist Bri- 
gade, 2nd Division, 6th Army Corps. Tiie regiment was in action first at 
Fredericksburg, December 15, 1862, and although m a trying position and ex- 
posed to a heavy artillery fire, maintained its ground like a veteran command. 
Later, when the "Light Division" was formed, it was assigned to the 3d Bri- 
gade, 1st Division, under Gen. Russell. On April 28, 1863, when Hooker ad- 
vanced under cover of darkness, the brigade crossed the Rappahannock at 
]!anks Ford on pontoon boats, drove back the Confederate pickets, and held 
the right bank of the river. The following morning it moved forward and, 
driving the enemy from the riflepits, held the same until May 3, when the Con- 
federates retreated. The 119th and 95tli Pennsylvania regiments were de- 
tached and marched along the plank road in the direction of Chancellorsville. 
At Salem Church the 95th met the enemy, concealed in a wood, and a warm 
engagement at close quarters followed. The iT9th, on the left of the road, 
was met by a vastly superior force, but stoutly maintained its position, al- 
though it suffered severely, losing 12 killed and 112 wounded out of 432 men. 
The following day, Sedgwick, learning that Hooker had been defeated and 
that the corps was outnumbered, recrossed the river. 

The brigade was at Manchester. ^Maryland, when on July i, 1863, it was 
hastily summoned to Gettysburg. At 9 o'clock that evening march was begim 
and w^as continued without halt until four the following afternoon, when the 
field of battle was reached. On the morning of July 3d it occupied the ex- 
treme left of the line, in the rear of Round Top, to meet any attempted flank 
movement, but nothing of the sort developing, the brigade was not engaged. 
The next day it was stationed at Little Round Top, and on the 5th was in the 
advance of the pursuit of the retreating army, with which it had a slight en- 
counter at Fairfield. At this point pursuit was abandoned by ]vleade. but the 
119th on July 13th came upon the enemy at Hagerstown, at once engaging 
their skirmishers, but during the night the Confederates decamped. On No- 
vember 7, 1863. the Confederates held a strong position at Rappahannock 
Station, covering three pontoon bridges, when Gen. Russell, at his earnest re- 
quest, was ordered to storm the woods. This he did in the face of a murder- 
ous fire, and carried the intrenchments with a brilliant bayonet charge, cap- 
turing the whole of the enemy. Public recognition was given to this gallant 
rush by Gen. Meade in his order thanking the regiment for the capture of 
four guns, 2000 small arms, eight battle flags, one bridge train and 1600 pris- 
oners. The 119th lost seven killed and forty-three wounded in this short, 
though fierce conflict. In the ^^'ildcrness campaign, on May 4th. 1864, the 
brigade crossed the Rapidan at Germania Ford, and at noon on the following 
clay entered the engagement, the i loth holding the centre. The fighting con- 
tinued until nightfall, four color bearers being killed or wounded. On May 
10 the fighting was very severe, and in a grand charge through a hail of bul- 
lets, grape and canister, the colors of the regiment were planted on the ene- 
my's works, but lacking support it was forced to fall back, suffering severely 



DELAWARE COUNTY 537 

on the retreat. The regiment used two hundred rounds of ammunition to a 
man in the terrific struggle, known as the "fjloody Angle," or the "Slaughter 
Pen," on the 12th, where the fighting continued from seven in the morning 
until sundown. In the eight days. May 4th-i2th, out of 400 men available for 
duty, the regiment lost 215 killed and wounded. All during this time the 119th 
was led by Captains Landell and Gray, Col. Clark resuming command of the 
regiment on the 12th of the month. 

At Cold Harbor, on June i, the brigade received orders to feel the posi- 
tion of the enemy, and on the 12th lay within one hundred and fifty yards of 
the Confederate line, under constant fire. Major Gray, who had been in com- 
mand of the regiment from the ist to the 12th, and had directed it in all the 
fierce fighting of that time, continued to do so at Bermuda Hundred and be- 
fore Petersburg. When Early was in the Valley of the Shenandoah, the 
Sixth Corps was dispatched to the support of his army. On September 19th, 
at the battle of \\'inchester, the 119th drove the entire Confederate line for a 
half a mile until its advance was checked by the latter's falling back into a 
strong position. At 4 o'clock the Union line was strengthened, and. Sheridan 
leading it forward, drove the enemy, utterly routed. On September 20. the 
brigade was detached for garrison duty at Winchester, remaining there until 
the following November. 

At Petersburg, the 119th was highly distinguished, for, with no aid what- 
ever and under a heavy fire from front and flank, it stormed and carried a 
part of the enemy's intrenchments, capturing the ojiposing force, with artillery, 
small arms and colors. Col. Clark had been wounded early in the action, and 
the command developed tipon Lieut. Col. Gray. On the 6th the fleeing enemy 
was overtaken in a strong position on Sailor's Creek, and the brigade, fording the 
stream in water waistdeep, charged in a body, capturing the entire command. 
.-Xfter marching to Danville, Virginia, to unite with Sherman's army, and after 
the surrender of Johnston, the regiment returned to Washington, being mus- 
tered out at Philadelphia, June 6th. On May 13, 1864, Major Gray was com- 
missioned lieutenant-colonel by Gov. Curtin, and April 6, 1865, the president 
gave him the rank of lieutenant-colonel by brevet, for gallant and meritorious 
services before Petersburg and at the battle of Little Sailor Creek, March 10, 
1865. 

0/)(' Hundred Twenty-fourth Regiment. — The three companies of this 
regiment recruited in Delaware county were Company B, (Delaware Cotinty 
Fusileers), Captain Simon Litsenberg, Company D (Gideon's Band), Cap- 
tain Norris L. Yarnall, and Company H (Delaware County Volunteers), 
Captain James Barton, Jr. The regiment was for a time at Camp Curtin, but 
before organizing was hurried forward on August 12, 1862, to Washington. 
Here it was organized, with Joseph W. Hawley, of West Chester, as colonel; 
Simon Litzenberg, captain of the Delaware County Fusileers, lieutenant-col- 
onel ; and Isaac Lawrence Haldeman (previously on Davis's staff) first lieu- 
tenant of Gideon's Band, major; and was assigned to the ist Brigade, ist Di- 
vision, I ith Corps. It reached Antietam creek on the evening of September 



538 DELAWARE COUNTY 

i6. 1862, having marched all day without rations, and the hungry men were- 
about to receive provisions when an order came sununoning it to the support 
of Hooker, on the right wing. The fighting began in the dull gray light of the 
early morning, when company could hardly be distinguished from company. 
As it grew lighter the struggle grew more fierce and steady combat ensued un- 
til 3 o'clock in the afternoon, when, after positions had been lost and recap- 
tured several times, the enemy's guns were finally silenced. The exhausted 
men, who had been fighting for eight hours, on empty stomachs, were then or- 
dered to the rear, where Gen. Hancock held them in readiness to support the 
batteries on the right, and there passed the night. The regiment, in its first 
battle, lost fifty men killed and wounded, among the latter being Col. Hawley. 
The 124th was subsequently assigned to the brigade commanded by Gen. 
Kane, and when it was transferred to the 12th Corps, Kane still continued its 
brigade commander, in Geary's division. It took an active part in the disas- 
trous campaign culminating at Chancellorsville. On May i, 1863, it held the- 
right wing of the 12th Corps, and in the advance had pushed the enemy before 
until it was in danger of being flanked, when it was ordered to retire to its 
position of the evening previous. On May 2 it advanced along the Freder- 
icksburg plank road, and the brigade, being unable to dislodge the enemy 
from their intrenchments, returned to the breastworks, which thev had hardly 
reached, when the demoralized nth Corps came rushing in from the extreme 
right wing. Geary's division immediately formed to check the pursuing ene- 
my, and from 10 o'clock in morning until 3 o'clock in the afternoon it held its 
position well, until, outflanked, it was compelled to retire to a second position, 
where it readily repulsed every attack. On the 6th it recrossed the Rappa- 
hannock, and on May 9 was forwarded to Harrisburg, where it was dis- 
charged on the 1 6th of the month, its term of service having expired. 

One Hundred Fifty-second Rei/inicnt (Third Artillery). — The Dela- 
ware county men recruited in this regiment were in the batteries ordered to 
the front to take part in the siege of Petersburg, being posted on the Bermuda 
front. The artillery regiments never received the full credit due them, be- 
cause they never acted as a whole, although their conduct was just as gallant, 
their behavior as soldierly, and their bravery as conspicuous as any other regi- 
ment in the war. 

One Hundred Sixtieth Regiment (Fifteenth Cavalry'). — William J. Pal- 
mer began recruiting a battalion of cavalry in Pennsylvania in the earlv jiart 
of .-Vugust, 1862. which was subsequently iru-reased to a full regiment. At 
the time of Lee's crossing the Potomac and advancing into Maryland, 250 
picked men were ordered to the front, the remainder of the regiment to re- 
main in the Cumberland valley. The detachment in the -\ntietam campaign 
did effective duty in skirmishing and scout work; and .'September 15 when 
the Confederate troops were on the retreat from Hagerstown. it charged 
through the village and captured thirty stragglers. The regiment was trans- 
ported to Louisville, Kentucky, November 7, 1862, and a month later joined 
Rosecrans at Nashville. On December 26. Rosecrans, then prejiaring to- 



DELAWARE COUNTY 539 

give Bragg battle, ordered the 15th Cavalry to advance with Gen. Stanley's 
division, but the greater ])art of the regiment stacked arms and refused to 
obey the order. It is greatly to the credit of Delaware county that among 
the three hundred men who, deferring all their real or imaginary grievances 
until a future time for settlement, volunteered to go forward, were the fol- 
lowing : Captain Edward Sellers ; Lieutenants Joseph R. Thomas, Edward C. 
Smith. Annesley N. Morton; Sergeants Isaac Bartram, Simeon Lord, Jr., 
Marshall L. Jones, George W. Lukins, Geoffrey P. Denis, John W. Caldwell ; 
Corporals Hiram P. Eves, Thomas A. Jones, Henry W. Pancoast, Benjamin 
Bartram ; Privates Horatio D. Snyder, Andrew J. Buchanan, Richard 
Pancoast, William Armstrong. Edward W. Jones, Augustus W. Markley, 
Samuel Trimble, Charles P. Sellers, Joseph S. Bunting, and William P. Pow- 
ell. The brave and loyal conduct of those three hundred volunteers from the 
regiment on that occasion was the subject of a commendatory order issued by 
Gen. Rosecrans, and the historian Bates mentions it as follows : "The con- 
duct of the men who followed the gallant Rosegarten and Ward, even under 
the most discouraging circumstances, and met death in the face of the foe, 
will never cease to be regarded with admiration and gratitude." 

Stanley, covering the entire right flank of the Union army with his com- 
mand, attacked the enemy on the 27th, driving them nearly five miles, and on 
the 29th, in the engagement at Wilkinson's Cross Roads, charged the greatly 
superior force of the enemy and finally, overpowered, was compelled to retire, 
although he made one more desperate effort to dislodge them. The detach- 
ment suffered severely during the four days of the battle at Murfreesboro, 
when it was constantly on duty. On January 20, 1863, Rosecrans submitted a 
plan for the reorganization of the regiment, which was accepted, and the 15th 
Cavalry was thoroughly organized and equipped. On April 4, after' its return 
to camp from a successful scouting expedition, Rosecrans received the regi- 
ment, expressing himself pleased with its good conduct and soldierly bearing 
To show his good feeling toward the regiment, which had once taken excep- 
tion to his orders, he detailed three of its companies to act as his personal es- 
cort, while the remainder was instructed to scout and become acquainted with 
the topography of the country in advance of the army. The regiment had be- 
come so expert in scouting that in January, 1865, it was especially detailed to 
watch the enemy, learn its movements, and harass its foraging parties. This 
duty brought it into frequent contact with the enemy and its conduct was uni- 
formly commendable and meritorious. In one bold dash it captured Gen. 
Vance, part of his staff, 150 horses, and fifty men, besides recapturing twenty 
Union baggage wagons and prisoners. A week afterwards it partially re- 
peated this daring stroke by capturing eighteen wagons, ninety mules and sev- 
enty-two of the enemy. The story of its many narrow escapes and death de- 
fying escapades while scouting about the body of the enemy, reads like a book 
of fiction, and the amount of information it was able to bring to the command- 
ing general was of inestimable value, gaining frequent public praise from head- 
<juarters and more than atoning for an error committed in its youth. In pur- 



540 DELAWARE COUNTY 

suit of Hood's demoralized troops after the battle of Nashville, it was emi- 
nently successful and of great advantage to the Union cause, and on May 8, 
1865, while searching for Jefferson Davis, near the banks of the Appalachee 
and Oconee rivers, it captured seven wagons, one containing $188,000 in coin, 
one with $1,588,000 in bank notes and other securities, one containing $4,000,- 
000 of Confederate money, besides considerable specie, plate and valuables, 
belonging to private citizens in Macon. Two days later Company G captured 
Gen. Bragg, his wife and staff officers. At the close of the war the regiment 
went to Nashville, where it was mustered out of service. May 21, 1865. 

One Hundred Eiglity-cighlh Regiment. — Delaware county was repre- 
sented in Companies B, C, F, E and H of the 188th Regiment, recruited out of 
the artillery in- 1864 as infantry and assigned to the i8th Corps, 3rd lOivision. 
It participated in the battle of Proctor's Creek, May 10, 1864, and June 1 was 
engaged at Cold Harbor, where it suffered heavily. On June 16 it was in the 
battle before I^etersburg, and on the 28th it was in the force which charged 
and captured Fort Harrison, turning the guns of the fort U|)un the fleeing 
enemy. The same day it attacked Fort Gilmore, but was repulsed, the killed 
amounting to nearly sixty, and the wounded to more than one hundred. It 
was mustered out of service December 14, 1865. 

One Hundred Ninety-seventh Regiment. — This regiment was recruited 
under the auspices of the Coal Exchange Association of Philadelphia, and 
was known as the Third Coal Exchange Regiment. It was organized at Camp 
Cadwalader, July 22, 1864, with Captain John Woodock, of Delaware county, 
major, and many Delaware county men in Companies A and I. Shortly after 
organization it was ordered to Mankin's Woods, near P)altimore, and instead 
of being sent to the front as the regiment, mostly veterans, hoped, it was or- 
dered to Rock Island, Illinois, where it was assigned to guarding prisoners of 
vvar. There were 9000 prisoners detained therein, and the <Iuties of the iQ/th 
.vere so constant and arduous that the service bore almost as heavily upon 
the men as an active campaign, barring, of course, the casualities of battle. 
Immediately after the regiment's arrival at Rock Island, Captain Barton was 
appointed assistant provost marshal of the island, in which capacity he had 
direct charge over the prisoners. The prison covered about forty acres, sur- 
rounded by a board fence ten feet high, beyond which was a trench twelve 
feet wide, filled with water. The guard was mounted on an elevated platform 
on the outside of the fence, while within were barrack? for the accommoda- 
tion of the inmates. The prisoners were provided with comfortable clothing 
and food from the same larder which fed the men of the regiment, but, not- 
withstanding the excellent treatment, the incarceration broke many a proud 
Southern spirit, and melancholia and nostalgia were diseases far more destruc- 
tive than an epidemic of fever, many deaths resulting therefrom. On Novem- 
ber II, 1864, the 197th was mustered out of service at Philadelphia. 

One Hundred Ninety-eighth- Regiment. — This regiment, which niunhered 
forty-three Delaware county men among the number of Company K. was re- 
cruited under the auspices of the Union League in Philadelphia, in the sum- 



DELAWARE COUNTY 541 

mer of 1864. It required five weeks to fill its ranks. On the morning of Sep- 
tember 19th it was reviewed before the League House, presented by that as- 
sociation with regimental colors, and immediately proceeded to Petersburg,, 
where it became part of the ist Brigade, 5th Division, ist Corps, Army of the 
Potomac. On September 30, it participated in the battle of Peebles Farm, 
and was hardly in position when the enemy opened upon it with a heavy artil- 
lery and musketry fire, but holding its ground it finally gathered for a c/iargt 
and drove the enemy from its first line of ivorks. 

On October 2 it held its lines under a fierce attack and severe fire. At 
the battle of Hatcher's Run, February 5, 1863, at 3 o'clock, the 3rd Brigade 
was being hard pressed when the igSth was ordered to its relief by Gen. 
Sickles, and. crossing an open field at doublequick it fell upon IMahone's "fight- 
ing brigade." The enemy was repulsed, but during the night succeeded in cap- 
turing a part of the Union line by a massed attack. At the first alarm the 
198th delivered a volley, and with muskets clubbed and bayonets drawn, 
charged the enemy in a hand-to-hand conflict, driving them back and regain- 
ing the works. At the battle of Lewis's Farm, March 29, the 198th encount- 
ered the enemy near the old saw mill, and, side by side with the 184th New 
York, charged the enemy across a clear field of one thousand yards, led by 
Gen. Sickles. The entire fire was reserved until close to the fortifications, 
when an effectual volley was given and the foe dislodged. The regiment's 
loss was appalling, it being learned later that three of the best Confederate 
brigades had opposed the Union troops in that engagement. 

On March 31 it was in action at White Oaks Swamp and Five Forks. Its 
last battle was fought April ist, when, after the Union assault had failed. 
Gen. Chamberlain, commanding the division, rode to Major Glenn, command- 
ing the 198th, and asked, "Major, can you take those works and hold them?" 
The latter, turning to his forces, inquired "Boys, will you follow me?" and 
dashed forward, his troops following to a man. Twice, the color bearer was 
shot down, but the standard, caught up by another, was carried forward and 
planted on the enemy's works. For this magnificent deed Chamberlain pro- 
moted Glenn on the field, but the latter had little opportunity to enjoy his new- 
ly won honors, for later in the day he was fatally wounded. The regiment 
was mustered out of service at Arlington Heights, June 3, 1865. 

Tzi'O Hundred Third Regiment. — Delaware county was represented in 
the 203rd Regiment by Company B, nearly all of which was recruited as sharp- 
shooters for Gen. Birney's division, but upon the General's death they were 
disposed of as ordinary infantry. It was organized September 10, 1864, and 
on the 27th reached the army before Petersburg, being assigned to the 2nd 
Brigade, 2nd Division, loth Corps, the same day. In the action at Chapin's 
Farm and New Market Road, the 203rd was employed in picketing Malvern 
Hill and escorting prisoners. On October 7 it participated in the battle, repuls- 
ing the enemy's assaults, and on the 27th was in action on the Darlington road. 
When the Army of the James was reorganized the 203rd was part of the 2nd 
Brigade, 2nd Division, 24th Corps. On December 13, 1864. it embarked on trans- 



542 DELAWARE COUNTY 

ports at Fortress Monroe and accompanied the naval expedition under Ad- 
miral Porter for the reduction of Fort Fisher, North Carolina. On January 15, 
1865, when the attack on the fort was made, the regiment was in the Penn- 
sylvania brigade which drove the enemy from the palisadings. The 203rd 
charged through an opening in the face of two guns, which it captured, carry- 
ing traverse after traverse, and when the 4th was charged. Col. Moore, his 
regiment flag in one hand and his sword in the other, fell dead while urging 
on his men. The fight continued from 3.30 in the afternoon until far into 
the night, when the enemy finally yielded. In this memorable assault the colo- 
nel, lieutenant-colonel, one captain and a lieutenant were killed, and two cap- 
tains and four lieutenants wounded, among the wounded being Captain Benja- 
min Brooke, of Company B. Admiral Porter, in his report, pays this tribute 
to the men under his indirect command : "Fort Fisher was really stronger than 
the Malakofif Tower, which defied so long the combined powers of England 
and France, and yet it was captured by a handful of men under the fire of the 
guns of the fleet, and in seven hours after the attack commenced in earnest." 

On February 11, 1865, the regiment was in the advance on Wilmington, 
thrown out as skirmishers, and succeeded in getting possession of the riflepits 
in front of the enemy's works, but owing to the swampy ground and the 
dense underbrush the line of battle could not advance. Hence the regiment in 
the pits could not withdraw until night, when with cautions stealth they with- 
drew, a few at a time. The works were finally captured by a flank movement 
and the enemy compelled to abandon its fortifications. The 203rd was in ac- 
tive service in all the movements in North Carolina until Johnston's surrender, 
when it was assigned to duty at Raleigh, where on June 22, 1865, it was 
mustered out of service. Captain Brooke, on June 22, 1865, was promoted 
to the rank of lieutenant-colonel. 

Two Hundred Thirteenth Regiment. — This regiment was recruited, as was 
the 198th, under the auspices of the Union League .Association of Philadel- 
phia, and was organized March 2, 1865. On the 4th it was ordered to Annap- 
■olis, Maryland, where it was assigned to duty in guarding Camp Parole, part 
of it being ordered to Frederick City to protect the lines of the Baltimore & 
Ohio railroad. In April it was stationed at Washington, where it remained 
guarding the northern defenses of the city until November 18, 1863, when 
it was mustered out of service. 

Delaware County Militia. — The northern invasion by Gen. Lee, begun 
September 5, 1862, aroused in Pennsylvania almost as much excitement as 
had the first announcement of war. It was believed that Lee in his advance 
through Maryland would gather many hitherto inactive sympathizers with the 
Southern cause to his standard, and, thus strengthened, march northward in 
invincible array, carrying everything liefore him and leaving in his wake 
such dreary desolation as had followed in the path of many a Union army in 
the south. In consequence of these forebodings. Gov. Curtin, of Pennsyl- 
vania, on September 4, 1862. ordered more military organizations to be 
formed, and a week later called 50,000 of the state militia to the field. The old 



DELAWARE COUNTY 543 

■state had responded nobly indeed when the danger was far from her door, 
-but now that the enemy was at hand her exhausted supply of men seemed to 
be magically renewed, and company after company of militia was organized. 
William Frick, at that time a leading business man of Chester, within a few 
hours after the call was issued, hastened to Harrisburg to tender his services 
to the state in any capacity in which he might be used. Gov. Curtin imme- 
diately appointed him colonel of the 3rd Regiment of ^lilitia, but he declined 
pleading that his knowledge of military tactics and movements was too im- 
perfect to permit of the proper handling of so large a body of men, but upon 
the Governor insisting that he should at least be major of the organization, 
he was mustered into service in that capacity. 

Sunday, as a day for religious services, was not observed in Delaware 
county on September 14, 1862, and it is believed that the Recording Angel will 
pardon the oversight, for all day preparations for sending the companies to 
the front were being made. On Monday, May 15, a company was fully re- 
cruited at Media, with Hon. J. M. Broomall as captain, which after being 
mustered in, left the following day for Harrisburg. The same day the Ches- 
ter Guards, commanded by Captain William R. Thatcher, and the Mechanic 
Rifles, of Chester, Captain Jonathan Kershaw, left for the state capital. The 
two latter companies were equipped partly by the borough, which appropriated 
$1500 by public subscription. In Upper Darby, the Darby Rangers, Captain 
Charles A. Litzenberg; a company from Thornbury and Edgemont, under 
Captain James Wilcox ; the Delaware County Guards of Concord and Aston, 
Captain John H. Barton ; and the Upland Guards, Captain James Kirkman, 
were also dispatched to designated rendezvous. The last named organization 
had recruited so many men from the mills at Upland that the factories of that 
place were compelled to close, as every able bodied operator had left for the 
front. The blankets for the militia were supplied by Samuel Bancroft, of 
Upper Providence, who declined to receive any compensation whatever. While 
it is impossible in this work to pay tribute to all of the citizens of the county 
who either by their services or financial assistance served the Union cause, it 
is fitting at this point to say that nowhere in the state was there a more spon- 
taneous answer to appeals for financial aid, and that on September ist, 1862. 
' Delaware county had sent more men to the front, in proportion to its popula- 
tion, than any other county in the state. The troops from this section were, 
after arriving in Harrisburg, assigned to various regiments and hastened to 
Camp McClure, at Chambersburg. The leaders seriously considered, just be- 
fore the battle of Antietam. sending militia over the border line into Maryland 
and advancing them as far as Hagerstown, that they might be within support- 
ing distance of Hagerstown. The companies were informed of this plan and 
told that if the move was made, none but volunteers would be taken for- 
ward. Again the Delaware county contingents responded bravely, less than a 
dozen signifying their intention of remaining behind. However, after the 
Union victory of September 17, 1862, when Lee retreated across the Potomac, 
the crisis having passed, the militia was relieved from further field service. Al- 



544 DELAWARE COUNTY 

though never in actual battle, the value of the moral support thus rendered to 
the L'nion cause was inestimable, for besides the encouragement it ofifered to 
the leaders of the regular army, it had its effect upon foreign nations, who, 
had the outcome been different, or had the North suffered invasion with in- 
difference, might have recognized the Confederate government. 

Iliiicrgcncy Troops. — Hooker's defeat at Chancellorsville in May, 1863, 
once more aroused the hopes of tlie Confederate leaders that a bold, quick in- 
vasion of the northern states might terminate the war and compel the north 
to submit to terms of southern dictation. Gov. Curtin, who had all through 
the war kept in close touch with its every move, saw the threatening danger 
and began preparations to check its advance. Therefore, on June 12th, he 
issued proclamation asking the people of Pennsylvania to cooperate with him 
in raising a home force for the protection of the state. The mass of the peo- 
ple had been deceived so many times by threatened Confederate invasion, that 
the Governor's plan met with little favor and much opposition. It became so 
evident, however, that such was the intention of the enemy, that on June 15, 
1863, President Lincoln called for 100.000 militia from four states, Pennsyl- 
vania's quota being placed at 50,000 men. A short time before midnight on the 
15th, a Confederate force occupied Chambersburg. On Monday, June 15th, 
authentic information was received that Lee had invaded Pennsylvania, and 
for a second time since the initial call for volunteers, Delaware county was 
plunged into wildest excitement. In Chester a meeting was immediately held 
and a company recruited, the Chester and Linwood Guards consolidating, and 
many of the citizens, fully awake to the gravity of the situation, hastened to 
Philadelphia, these uniting with military organizations. In the Crozer United 
States Hospital at Upland, eighty convalescent Union soldiers and several 
men from Bancroft's Mills in Nether Providence, formed a company, with 
Lieutenant Frank Brown, of the 12th New Jersey, as commanding officer, and 
departed for Harrisburg the next day. On Wednesday they were ordered to 
return, transportation having been refused them at Philadelphia on the ground 
that they were in no fit physical condition to endure the rigors of a campaign. 

At Media, conditions were much the same as at Chester. On Wednes- 
day, the 17th, messengers were sent in all directions to summon the people, 
and the court house bell rang out a general alarm, so that at noon a vast as- 
semblage gathered in the court-room, ami steps at once taken for the enroll- 
ment of companies. That evening a company collected by Judge M. Broomall 
started for Harrisburg, Dr. D. A. Vernon and nearly every member of the 
Delaware County American staff volunteered and went to the front. The fol- 
lowing day the Delaware county companies of the 124th Regiment, mustered 
out a month previously, again offered their services and left that night for 
the capital of the state, Company 1'.. Captain Woodcock, and Company D, 
Captain Yarnall. The ranks not being filled, Lieutenant Buckley remained at 
Media to collect the recruits, following on Monday, the 21st, with a number of 
men. Captain James Wilcox, with a company from Glenn Mills, and Captain 
Benjamin Brooks, with a company from Radnor, left for Harrisburg on the 



.DELAWARE COUNTY 545 

17th. John C. Beatty, of Springfield, suspended operations at his edge tool 
works that his employees might enlist. When the news was received at Darby 
on ^Monday, a strawberry festival was being held, which was immediately 
turned into a meeting and a full company organized. While the company 
was being recruited at the one end of the grounds, subscriptions were sought 
at the other for the support of the families of those who would enlist. The 
troops went to the front the following Wednesday morning, commanded by 
Captain Charles Andrews. At Lenni, thirty men joined the Media company, 
and on Wednesday a meeting was held at Black Horse, in Middletovvn, wher'.' 
a number of men enlisted. At Chester about fifty colored men volunteered to 
raise a company of their race, an offer which was not accepted. 

The real seriousness of the condition of affairs was brought home to the 
public when on the afternoon of June 26th, Gordon's brigade of Early's divi- 
sion of Lee's army, occupied Gettysburg and moved onward toward Hanover 
and York. On that day Gov. Curtin issued a proclamation calling 60,000 mili- 
tia to the field for forty days. Wild rumors filled the air, growing with each 
repetition, and none so wild but that it found ready ears to listen and willing 
lips to pass it on. On Sunday, the 28th, it was reported at Media that a Con- 
federate force was marching toward Philadelphia, having come as far as Ox- 
ford already. Intense excitement and anxiety prevailed. By the discharge of 
cannon and the pealing of bells the townspeople were called to assemble. H. 
Jones Brooke was chairman of the meeting, with B. F. Baker secretary, 
Charles R. Williamson and Frederick Fairlamb collected $2300 to be used in 
the payment of bounties to induce enlistment and, when the people gathered, 
the fund was largely increased, Mr. Fairlamb pledging $1000 beyond the 
amount he had already contributed, if it were necessary. The greatest con- 
sternation prevailed after the report of the Confederate advance. Plate and 
valuables were packed for instant flight, and the money in the vaults of the 
Chester bank was collected and carted away by the officers of that institution ■ 
to Philadelphia in order that it might be transported to New York. In Ches- 
ter, on Monday, June 29th, a meeting of the citizens was held in the town hall, 
and, council being assembled, appropriated $10,000 for the maintenance of the 
families of volunteers. In answer to a call for additional men, in an hour 
eighty men enrolled under Captain William Frick. The store of George Bak- 
er was compelled to close for the reason that he and all in his employment en- 
listed in the ranks. Next day the company left for Harrisburg, its ranks 
swollen to over a hundred men. At Upland, on Monday morning, the 29th, 
the people gathered by common impulse, and in a trice a company of seventy- 
two was recruited, with George K. Crozer as captain.. On Wednesday it 
went to Philadelphia, where it was attached to the 45th Regiment, Pennsyl- 
vania Militia (First L'nion League Regiment), Col. Frank Wheeler, and en- 
camped for a day or two at the Falls of the Schuylkill. The regiment was 
soon ordered to Shippensburg, then to Greencastle, near the Maryland line, 
and after the retreat of Lee was stationed at Pottsville, returning home Satur- 
day, August 22, 1863, having served longer than any other Delaware county 
36 



546 DELAWARE COUNTY 

C()ni])any of militia. At Rockdale and Lcnni a cc)ni])any of tifty men was re- 
cruited in addition to the number already raised, and on Tuesday, July 2, was 
forwarded to the state capital. In fifteen days after President Lincoln's call 
on Pennsylvania of June 15, more than Delaware county's quota were on their 
way to Harrisburg. Pver one thousand militiamen had been gathered to meet 
this new emergency. 

In the meantime the Army of the Potomac was advancing steadily to 
meet Lee, who, learning of their approach, summoned his widely spread forces 
to concentrate at Gettysburg. Here he awaited the Union army, and while 
the militia waited for orders at Harrisburg, the armies of the north and of the 
south met death in a grapple at Gettysburg, and there men's bodies were 
strewn over the fields in more careless profusion than seed had been formerly 
strewn, and were watered by their blood as plentifully as spring showers mois- 
tened the crops in peaceful days. Here the battle was fought that dwarfed the 
slaughters of the Old World, that made Agincourt, Waterloo and Marathon 
seem but as a skirmishing of picket lines, and here the whole tide of the war 
turned in favor of the north, while the gallant southern soldiers, defeated 
in body but unconquered in spirit, retreated, to fight for two years with a 
courage that was admirable, for a lost cause. 

The militia companies from Delaware county were distributed as follows : 
Company C (Captain Broomall), Company F (Captain Woodcock), Com- 
pany G (Captain Bunting), Company A (Captain x\ndrews), and Company 
[ (Captain Piatt, Captain Yarnall having been appointed lieutenant-colonel;, 
were assigned to the 29th Regiment, and stationed for a time at Huntingdon. 
Comiiany G (Captain Brooke) was assigned to the 28th Regiment, Company 
A (Captain Frick), and Company F (Captain Huddleson), joined the 37th 
and were at Harrisburg, Carlisle, Shippensburg, and on the Maryland line; 
while Company F (Captain Black), was assigned to the 47th, Col. Wicker- 
sham, and was stationed at Williamsport, afterwards at Reading, and later 
in the mining regions of Schuylkill county, where outbreaks were feared. .-\11 
the companies from Delaware county returned between the ist and 5th of 
August, excepting Captain Crozer's, which, as has been said, was kept in ser- 
vice three weeks longer. 

'In addition to the service of Delaware county companies in the regi- 
ments named, there were many men from Delaware county, who entered and 
served in other Pennsylvania regiments and in regiments from other states. 
Ten [jhysicians from the county served as surgeons in army and navy, and 
Delaware countians served in the 6th California, 48th Illinois, 6th New Jer- 
(iey, 43rd Pennsylvania (ist Artillery), 64th Pennsylvania (4th Cavalry), 
65th Pennsylvania (5th Cavalry), 66th Pennsylvania, 17th Pennsylvania (6th 
Cavalry, Rush's Lancers), 71st Pennsylvania (California three years service), 
72nd Pennsylvania, 77th Pennsylvania (Baxter's Zouaves), 88th Pennsyl- 
vania, 8(jth Pennsylvania, 95th Pennsylvania, onth Pennsylvania, 11, ^h Penn- 
sylvania, 1 18th Penn-ylvania. i6ist Pennsylvania. i8ist Penn,■^ylvania. Ser- 



DELAWARE COUNTY 



547 



vice in these regiments was arduous and many of their killed and wounded 
were men from Delaware county. 

As soon as the government announced that colored men would be re- 
cruited, a number of men of that color, living in Delaware county, enlisted, 
although no colored company was enlisted from the county. The colored sol- 
diers served in the regular United States army in the 3rd, 6th, 13th, 32nd, 
177th regiments, and in the 54th Massachusetts. Drafts were made in several 
of the townships in Delaware county, the last time the fatal wheel turning 
being April 7, 1865. The men who were drafted in Upper and Lower Chi- 
chester responded and the greater part of them were held for service. On 
April 13, Secretary Stanton ordered all enlistments and drafting discontinued 
in every part of the country, and on April 25 the drafted men of Delawai '; 
county were ordered to return to their homes. 

The Navy. — It is extremely difficult to treat the subject of the naval rep- 
resentatives of Delaware county who took part in the Civil War, with any de- 
gree of thoroughness, for the reason that enlistments in the navy were not 
made, as in the army, in bodies. An entire company was not assigned to one 
ship, probably but a few from the same county seeing service on the same 
vessel. It will, therefore, be impossible to mention the numerous enlistments, 
but only to give a brief sketch of the county's sons who have gained a degree 
of prominence in the service. The most noted family in the county whosf 
name appears in naval warfare annals of the United States, is the Porter fam- 
ily, those remarkable sea captains — Commodore David, the father ; William 
David, Admiral David D. and Lieutenant Henry Ogden, his sons. The county 
likewise claims credit for Admiral Farragut, the hero of Mobile and New 
Orleans, who resided in Chester at the time of his appointment, and who was 
there educated. 

The most noted of Porters to serve in the navy was Admiral David D. 
Porter, who is said to have been born in Philadelphia in 1813, but in a letter 
regarding the date stone on the Porter (Lloyd) house in Chester, he speaks of 
Chester as his birthplace. His boyhood was spent in Chester, and in 1829 
he entered the United States navy as midshipman. He took part in the Mexi- 
can war, was in command of the Powhattan, of the Gulf Squadron, in 1861. 
He commanded the mortar boat fleet in the attack on the forts defending New 
Orleans in 1862, and did valiant service on the Mississippi and Red rivers in 
1863 and 1864. He was a conspicuous figure at the siege of Vicksburg, and 
was there created a rear-admiral. In i8fi4 he was in command of the North 
Atlantic Blockading Squadron and rendered most important service at Fort 
Fisher, in January, 1865. In i86fi he was created vice-admiral, and in 1876 
admiral. His father. Captain David Porter, was one of the brightest orna- 
ments of the early LTnited States navy, and in the Essex, which he rendered 
famous in a battle with two British war vessels off the coast of Chili, he cap- 
tured many prizes during the war with England, 1812-1814. 

William David, brother of Admiral David D. Porter, was also a noted 
naval commander in the Civil War, and was so badly scalded by escaping 



548 DELAWARE COUNTY 

steam that he ultimately died of its effects, May i, 1864. This was in the at- 
tacks on Forts Henry and Donelson. Later, though in feeble health, he ran 
the batteries between Cairo and New Orleans, took part in the attack on 
Vicksburg, destroyed the dreaded ram "Arkansas," near Baton Rouge, and as- 
sisted in the attack on Port Hudson. 

Theodoric Porter, another brother of the admiral, was killed in a skirm- 
ish with the Mexicans, April 18, 1846. It is said that he stayed out of camp 
the night before the battle of Palo Alto, and that his body was found the next 
morning, with several dead Mexicans lying around him. 

Another brother, Henry Ogden Porter, was acting lieutenant in the navy 
during the Civil War, and fought his vessel, the gunboat "Hatteras," off Mo- 
bile, in an engagement with the "Alabama," until she sank, her flag proudly 
flying as she disappeared beneath the wave. He was rescued and died near 
Washington about 1870, 

Another brother, Hamilton, was lieutenant in the navy, died of yellow 
fever, August 10, 1844. These Porter boys lived in Chester, and after the 
marriage of David Porter to Evelina, daughter of Major William Anderson, 
they lived in the historic old Lloyd house in Chester, purchased by Major An- 
derson and conveyed to David Porter, February 24, 1816. After the Por- 
ters ceased to use it as a residence, it passed through a variety of tenants un- 
til 1862, when it was leased to Prof. Jackson, a manufacturer of fireworks. 
On Friday morning, February 17, 1882, fire was discovered in the kitchen of 
the old building, and later an explosion of powder stored in the building, kill- 
ing eighteen and wounding fifty-seven persons. 

Commodore Pierce Crosby, of Chester, entered the navy June 5, 1838, 
as midshipman, and at the outbreak of the Civil War held the rank of lieu- 
tenant. He was employed in Chesapeake Bay and the sounds of Carolina, and 
was complimented by Gen. Butler for his conduct at the capture of Forts Hat- 
teras and Clark. In April, 1862, he was in command of the gunboat "Pinola," 
and during the night of the 23rd that vessel and the "Itasca" led the fleet when 
Farragut determined to run by Forts Jackson and St. Philip, and broke 
through the barrier of chains stretched across the Mississippi at these forts. 
He was at the capture of New Orleans, .^pril 25, 1862, and when Farragut 
and his fleet ran the batteries at Vicksburg, June 30, and returned July 15, 
the same year, Crosby, in command of his vessel, shared in the glory of that 
daring deed. On September 13, 1862, he was promoted to captain, and dur- 
mg the year 1863-64, did effective service in command of the "Florida" and 
"Keystone State." Rear Admiral Thatcher, in his dispatches of April 12 to 
the Navy Department, said, "I am much indebted to Commodore Crosby, who 
has been untiring in freeing the Blakeley river of torpedoes, having succeeded' 
in removing one hundred and fifty. A service demanding coolness, judgment 
and perseverance." In the year 1872 he was in command of the frigate 
"Powhattan," and in 1877 was ordered to the navy yard at Leagtte Island, re- 
taining command there until 1881. 

Commodore DeHavcn Manley, son of Charles D. Mauley, entered the 



DELAW.\RE COUNTY 549 

United States navy September 25, 1856, and rose step by step until he reached 
the rank of commander April 5, 1874. 

Captain Henry Clay Cochran was appointed second lieutenant in the 
Marine Corps, and passed the examination August 29, 1861, but his youth \)re- 
vented his being at once commissioned. He served as master's mate until 
March 10, 1863, when he was commissioned second lieutenant. On October 
20, 1865, he was i)romoted first lieutcnaiU. During the war he was in active 
"service under Admirals Goldsborough, Dupont, Farragut, Porter and Lee, in 
the Atlantic Gulf and Mississippi squadrons. 

CASUALTIES TO DELAWARE COUNTIANS. 

Twenty-sixth Regiment. — Company K — John F. Mekins, capt., killed at Bull Run, Aug. 

29, 1862; George W. Rosevelt, sergt., wounded, loss of leg, at Gettysburg; Samuel P. 
Morris, sergt., died of wounds, Gettysburg, July 2, 1863 ; Nathan R. Van Horn, corp., killed 
at Gettysburg, July 2, 1863; James L. Gelsten, corp., killed at Gettysburg, July 2, 1863; 
Isaac Bird, corp., died of wounds, Spottsylvania C. H., May 15, 1864; Henry Abbott, 
wounded at Bull Run, Aug. 29, 1862; Lewis Bail, wounded at Spottsylvania, May 15, 1864; 
George Brannon, wounded at Bull Run, Aug. 29, 1862; Lewis Bail, died at Andersonville, 
June 19, 1864, grave 2180; James T. Bell, died of wounds, Spottsylvania, May 15, 1864; 
John Derlin, killed at Gettysburg, July 2, 1863; Constantine Fuget, wounded at Gettysburg, 
July 2, 1863 ; Brinton Fryer, wounded at Fair Oaks, June 23, 1862 ; James Gleason, died of 
wounds, Spottsylvania C. H., May 15, 1864: William Hayes, wounded at Spottsylvania, 
May 10, 1864; James Higgens. killed at Bull Run, Aug. 29, 1862; John McClem, died at 
Yorktown, Va., April 21, 1862; Samuel Pullen, wounded at Fredericksburg, Dec. 13, 1862; 
William Phillips, wounded at Chancellorsville, May 3, 1863; Andrew Phillips, died of 
wounds, Spottsylvania C. H., May 15, 1864; William Rambo, wounded at Gettysburg, July 
2, 1863; George Roan, killed at Gettysburg, July 2, 1863; Charles Shut, died at Washington, 
D. C, May 23, 1864, buried in Military Asylum Cemetery; Benjamin F. Sutch, wounded at 
Spottsylvani.i, May 15, 1864; Francis Scott, wounded at Bull Run, Aug. 29, 1862; Henry 
Smith, died at Andersonville, Aug. 20, 1864: George Toner, wounded at Mine Run, Nov. 
27, 1863; George Wood, killed at Gettysburg. July 2, 1863; James Welsh, died of wounds, 
Chancellorsville, May 3, 1863. 

Thirtieth Regiment (First Reserves).— Company A — Edward Blaine, wounded at 
Antietam, Sept. 17, 1862. 

Company C— John H. Taylor, 2nd lieut., killed at South Mountain, Sept. 14, 1862; 
George McAflfee, corp., wounded at Bull Run, Aug. 30, 1862; Harry Hobaugh, died Oct. 

30, 1861; R. Mills, died May 31, 1864, of wounds; Thomas McGarvey, died May 31. 1864, 
of wound; James Police, died Nov. 10, 1862, of wounds; J. T. Schofield, killed at 
Bethesda Church, May 30, 1864; William H. Taylor, wounded at South Mountain, Sept. 
14, 1862; Alfred G. Webb, killed at Fredericksburg, Dec. 13, 1862; Solomon Wesler, 
killed at Spottsylvania C. H., Dec. 13, 1864. 

Company F— Charles F. Sh'eaflf, ist sergt., died Aug., 1862; John Fitzgerald, sergt., 
died Dec. 22, 1863; Henry Briggs, wounded at Antietam, Sept. 17, 1862; Isaiah Budd, 
died at Gettysburg, Aug. i, 1863; Henry Bailey, killed at Mechanicsville, June 26, 1862; 
James Clark, wounded June 30, 1862 ; Charles W. Cheetham, killed at Charles City Cross 
Roads, June 30, 1862 ; James Glass, killed accidentally, Camp Pierpont, Va., Nov., 1861 ; 
James Gorman, killed at Antietam, Sept. 17, 1862; John Howard, died of wounds, Charles 
City Cross Roads, June 30, 1862 ; John Kilroy, killed at Bull Run, Aug. 30, 1862 : Haines 
J. Kernes, died at Harrison's Landing. Aug. 13, 1862; Michael Maklem. killed at Spott- 
sylvania C. H., May 12, 1864; Joseph Mills, died at Baltimore, July 10. 1864; John 
McDade, wounded at South Mountain, Sept. 14, 1862; James Oakes, wounded at An- 



550 DELAWARE COUNTY 

tietam, Sept. 17, 1862; John C. Roberts, died in military prison, date nnknown ; John 
Stewart, killed accidentally, at Camp Pierpont, Va., Nov., 1861 ; Edward Smith, killed at 
Mechanicsvillc. June 26, 1862; James Wyatt, killed at Charles City Cross Roads, June 
30, 1S62. 

Fifty-eighth Regiment.— Carnxmny A — Thomas Bnsh, died at Richmond, Va., Feb. 

28, 1865; Thomas Hardy, died at Washington, N. C, March 5, 1864; William Vantine, 
killed in action, April 29, 1863. Company B— Theodore Blakeley, capt., killed at Fort 
Harrison, Va., Sept. 29, 1864. 

Sixtieth Regiment (Third Cavalry) .—Company 1— James Aides, wounded Oct. 15, 
1863, died in service, date unknown. Company F— John O'Brien, died at Philadelphia, 
Oct. 25, 1863. Company M — Benj. McDonald, sergt., died Sept. 12, 1861, of wounds 
received accidentally. 

Ninety-seventh Regiment.— Company D (Concordville Rifles)— W. S. Mendenhall, 
capt., wounded at. Bermuda Hundred, Va., May 20, and Petersburg, July 30, 1864; Isaac 
Fawkes, ist lieut., died May 20, 1864, of wounds, buried in National Cemetery, City Point, 
Va., sec. A, div. I, grave 88; Henry Odiorne, ist lieut., died January 16, of wounds 
received at Fort Fisher, N. C, Jan. 15, 1865; David W. Odiorne, ist lieut., wounded, Sept. 

29, 1864; John W. Brooks, 2nd lieut., wounded May 18, 1864; Philip E. Hannum, isi 
sergt., wounded May 18, 1864; David Morrow, sergt., wounded at Bermuda Hundred, 
Va., May 20, 1864; William McCarty, sergt., wounded Sept. 29, 1864, and at Fort Fisher, 
Jan. 15, 1865: Samuel McBride, sergt., wounded at Bermuda Hundred, May 20, 1864; 
Isaac Sapp, sergt., wounded May 18, July 30, August 4 and 16, 1864, died March 12, 1865, 
buried in National Cemetery, City Point, Va., sec. A, div. 3, grave 36; David H. Freas, 
Corp., died at Point Lookout. Md., of wounds received at Bermuda Hundred, May 20, 
1864; John Goodwin, corp., wounded at Bermuda Hundred, May 20, 1864; Jacob H. Hall, 
Corp., wounded at Bermuda Hundred, May 20, 1864; Tliomas Rutter, corp., wounded 
Sept. 29, 1864; John W. Carter, corp., wounded May 18, 1864; John Jorden, corp., 
wounded May 18 and Sept. 29, 1864; Isaac N. Stout, Corp., wounded at Bermuda Hun- 
dred, May 20, 1864; Harnien B. Cloud, musician, wounded Sept. 3, 1864; Robert Buriey, 
wounded at Petersburg, June 30, 1864 ; James Beaumont, wounded June 3 and August 
16; Robert Babe, wounded, with loss of foot, Bermuda Hundred, May 20, 1864; William 
W. Bullock, wounded Aug. 26, 1864; James Barr, wounded May 18, 1864; James S. 
Bullock, wounded May 18, 1864; Charles H. Blew, wounded May 18 and June 30, 1864; 
Joseph Baker, died at Hilton Head, S. C, July 25, 1862; Joseph Booth, died at Morris 
Island, S. C, Oct. 3. 1863 ; James Brierly, died May 20. 1864, of wound received in action, 
with loss of leg: Henry A. Cloud, wounded at Deep Bottom, Va., Aug. i6, 1864; Charles 
S. Cloud, died near Petersburg, Va., July i, of wounds received June 30, 1864; John 
Dowling, wounded at Petersburg, July 30, 1864 ; Emanuel Derckman, wounded at Deep 
Bottom, Va., Aug. 16, 1864; Benj. Davis, died at Hilton Head, S. C, Sept. 10, 1862; 
Samuel Drake, died at Edisto Island, S. C, June 8, 1862; Joseph L. Eyre, killed on picket 
at Morris Island, S. C, August 4, 1863; Abner Frame, wounded May 18, 1864; William 
H. Griffith, wounded Sept. 29, 1864; James Geary, wounded at Darbytown road, Va., 
1864; James Hamilton, wounded July 26. 1864; Richard S. Howarth, wounded June 16, 
1864; Levi Hadficld, wounded June 16. 1864; Edward H. Hogg, wounded June 6, 1864; 
Michael Hafner, burial record, died June 17, 1865, buried in Cypress Hill Cemetery, Long 
Island; Sniilli Jnnes. wounded July 3, 1864; William H. Kelly, died Aug. 29, 1864, of 
wounds received near Petersburg, Va., buried in National Cemetery, City Point, sec. D, 
div. I. grave 2: Thomas M. Lancaster, died at St. Helena Island, S. C, Dec. 29, 1862; 
Ferdinand Martin, died at Hilton Head, S. C, .April 15, 1863; William W. Mcintosh, 
woinuled June 6, and .at Fort Fisher, N. C. January 75. 1865: James McMannus, 
wounded May 18, 1864; Patrick McGee. wounded June .^o and July 24, 1864; Waller 
Pyle, wounded June 18 and July 75, 1864; Jacob Putell, wounded at Bermuda Hundred, 
May 20, 1864; George K. Pierce, died July 26, 1S64, of wounds received at Petersburg; 
Samuel Parker, wounded at Deep Bottom, .Aug. 16, 1864, died at Salisbury, N. C, Dec. 



DELAWARE COUNTY 551 

16, 1864; John Smith, died at Hampton, Va.. June 5, of wounds received at Bermuda 
Hundred, May 20. 1864 ; John Thompson, wounded at Petersburg, June 30, 1864 ; James 
Wright, died at Hilton Head, S. C, Oct. 23, 1862; Joseph B. West, died at Hampton, Va., 
May 26, of wounds received May 18, 1864; Jesse D. Walters, killed near Petersburg, 
June 29, 1864, buried in National Cemetery, City Point, sec. D, div. 4, grave 65. 

Company G— Gasway O. Yarnall, 1st sergt., wounded at Bermuda Hundred, May 
20, 1864; William H. Eves, 2d lieut., wounded at Petersburg, July 10, 1864; Franklin P. 
Clapp, 1st sergt., wounded at Bermuda Hundred, May 20, 1864; John L. Ray, sergt., 
wounded at Petersburg, June 30, 1864; Simon Litzenhurg, sergt., wounded May 18, 1864, 
killed at Petersburg, July 30, 1864, buried in National Cemetery, City Point, sec. D, div. 
4, grave 174; Reese L. Weaver, sergt., died at New York, Oct. 12, 1863, buried in 
Cypress Hill Cemetery. Long Island, grave 897; Albin Edwards, sergt., killed at Bermuda 
Hundred, May 20. 1864; Ezekiel T. Richie, Corp., wounded near Bermuda Hundred, May 
18, 1864; Henry Hards, Corp., wounded at Bermuda Hundred, May 20, 1864; Henry 
Hoofstiller, corp., died March 17, 1863 ; Henry G. Yocum, corp, died at Fortress Monroe, 
Dec. 21, 1865; Israel Oat, corp., died at Hilton Head, Aug. 10, 1862; Patrick Hughes, 
Corp., killed at Bermuda Hundred, May 20, 1864 ; John Doyle, died at Helton Head, Oct. 
26, 1863 ; John Edwards, corp., wounded at Petersburg, July 30, 1864, died at Weldon, 
N. C, Aug. 21, 1865; John B. Brady, wounded at Petersburg, June 30, 1864; William A. 
Brooks, wounded May 18, 1864; Joseph H. Brensinger. wounded May 18, 1864; Nehemiah 
Baker, died at Fernandina, Fla., Jan. 8, 1864; Lewis Bentz. died at Point of Rocks, Md., 
Aug. 19, 1864; John Dickson, died at Hilton Head, Oct. 21, 1863; William Dawson, killed 
at Fort Fisher, Jan. 16. 1865; William Efoux, killed at Petersburg, June 30, 1864; 
George Green, died at Hilton Head, Sept. 20, 1862; Isaac A. Hoopes. killed at Bermuda 
Hundred, May 20, 1864; Hend. L. Herkins, wounded at Bermuda Hundred, May 20, 
1864, died at Wilmington. N. C.. March ig, 1865 ; Frederick Heitz, killed at Bermuda 
Hundred, May 20, 1864, buried in National Cemetery, City Point, sec. F, div. i, grave 
128; Thomas T. Jones, died at Fortress Monroe, June 10, of wounds received at Bermuda 
Hundred, May 20. 1864 ; Charles Kuhn, wounded at Petersburg, July 20, 1864 ; Samuel 
H. Lloyd, wounded at Petersburg, June 30, 1864; John Laughlin, wounded at Bermuda 
Hundred, May 20. 1864; Herman Meiser, wounded at Bermuda Hundred, May 20, 1864; 
William Maloney, died at Fernandina, Fla., Dec. i, 1863; William D. Murray, died at 
Raleigh, N. C, May 18, 1865; Thomas Mcintosh, wounded June 16, 1862, September I, 

1863. and May 20, 1864; Terrence O'Brien, wounded at Bermuda Hundred, May 20, 

1864, killed at Strawberry Plains, Aug. 17, 1864; William Papjoy, wounded May 18, 
1864; Joseph Ray, wounded Sept. i, 1863; Merritt C. Reeves, wounded at Bermuda 
Hundred, May 20, 1864; James Russell, died at New York. Jan. 8, 1864. buried in Cypress 
Hill Cemetery, Long Island; William T. Snyder, wounded at Bermuda Hundred, May 20, 
1864; Alexander Seaborn, wounded May 18, 1864, died at Alexandria, Va., Oct. 10, of 
wounds received at Petersburg, July 30, 1864; Theodore Solomon, wounded at Peters- 
burg, Aug. 24, 1864, died at Raleigh, N. C, May 26, 1865, buried in Cypress Cemetery, 
Long Island, grave 2887; A. McD. Talbot, wounded at Petersburg, June 30, 1864: O. 
Rees Walker, wounded May 18, 1864; Patrick Waters, wounded May 18, 1864; Thomas 
P. Waddell, wounded May 20, and June 25, 1864; James Wright, died at Fernandina, 
Fla., Nov. 20, 1863; Edward E. Wade, died at Salisbury, N. C, Dec. 18, 1864; John Wor- 
rell, died at Hilton Head, S. C, May 12, 1862. 

Company I (Brook Guards) — George Hawkins, capt., died Aug. 28, of wounds 
received at Darbytown road, Va., Oct. 27, 1864 ; George W. Duffee, capt., wounded at 
Fort Gilmore, Va., Sept. 23, 1864. and at Fort Fisher, N. C, Jan. 15, 1865 ; Sketchley 
Morton, 1st lieut., died at Hilton Head, S. C, Nov. 12, 1862; William H. H. Gibson, ist 
lieut., wounded at Bermuda Hundred, May 20, 1864; George M. Middleton, wounded at 
Bermuda Hundred, May 10, 1864. and at Fort Fisher, Jan. 15, 1865 ; William Ottewell, 
wounded Aug. 26, 1865 ; James E. Engle, ist sergt., wounded with loss of arm, at Ber- 
muda Hundred. May 20, 1864; William K. Wood, ist sergt., wounded at Bermuda Hun- 



552 DELAWARE COUNTY 

dred, May 20, 1864; William P. Haymeii, scrgt., wounded at Bermuda Hundred, May 20. 
1864; William H. Reese, sergt., wounded at Darbytown road, Va., Oct. 27, 1864; Thomas 
Creigan, Corp., wounded at Bermuda Hundred, and at Fort Fisher, Jan. 15, 1865; James 
Graff, Corp., wounded Aug. 16, 1864; Charles Stewart, Corp., wounded at Bermuda Hun- 
dred, May 20, 1864; Francis Todd, corp., wounded at Fort Fisher, Jan. 15, 1865; Adolph 
Fry, Corp., wounded, loss of arm, Fort Fisher, Jan. 15, 1865; William F. Green, corp., 
woimded at Bermuda Hundred, May 20, 1864; John L. Morton, corp., died at Fernandina, 
Fla., March 28. 1862; Robert Trowland, corp., died at Philadelphia, Nov. 4, 1863; Harry 
Hunter, musician, died at Hilton Head, S. C., April, 1862; Morton Brontzman, wounded 
at Bermuda Hundred, May 20, 1864; William H. Baker, died at Hilton Head, Aug. 2, 
1864; Philip Clark, wounded July 16 and Aug, 16, 1864; Elias Cole, wounded at Bermuda 
Hundred, May 20. 1864; William Davis, wounded at Bermuda Hundred, May 20, 1864; 
William J. Dunlap, wounded July 6, 1864 ; James Donovan, wounded at Bermuda Hundred, 
May 20. 1864; John Donovan, wounded July 15, 1864; James Donnelly, killed at Bermuda 
Hundred, May 20, 1864; William R. Dicker, died on steamer Hero, June 18, 1864; Evan H. 
Everman, died at Philadelphia, August I, of wounds received at Petersburg, June 24, 
1865 : George Frace, died at Raleigh, N. C, May 13, 1865 ; Philander Foster, died at 
Raleigh, July 5, 1865; William T. Gutterson, killed at Bermuda Hundred, May 20, 1864; 
David W. Gaul, killed at Bermuda Hundred, May 20. 1864; Philip Henn, wounded at 
Bermuda Hundred. May 20, 1864: Daniel Harrigan, wounded at Bermuda Hundred, 
May 20, 1864; Nathan T. Harris, died at Hilton Head, May 12, 1862; Caleb Horn, died 
at New York, June 27, 1864, buried in Cypress Hill Cemetery, Long Island, grave 1006; 
John Krissell, killed at Petersburg, July 15, 1864; Daniel W. Lukens, wounded at Ber- 
muda Hundred, May 20, 1864, and at Darbytown road, Va., Oct. 27, 1864; James Lewis, 
wounded at Bermuda Hundred. May 20, 1864; James Mahoney, wounded at Darbytown 
road, Va., Oct. 27, 1864; John McDermott, wounded at Fort Fisher, Jan. 15, 1865; Alex- 
ander G. McKeewen. wounded at Bermuda Hundred, May 20, 1864: David Powell, 
wounded at Fort Fisher. Jan. 15, 1865; William Pine, died at New York, Oct. II, 1864, 
buried in Cypress Hill Cemetery, Long Island ; John J. Richardson, wounded at Peters- 
burg, July 15. 1864; Herbert Rodgers, wounded at Bermuda Hundred, May 20, 1864; 
John W. Sputt, died at Fortress Monroe. July 14, of wounds received at Bermuda 
Hundred, May 20, 1864; Levers Solverson, died Aug. 3, of wounds received at Peters- 
burg, July 30, 1864; Philip Schwartz, killed at Fort Fisher, Jan. 15, 1865; Lemuel J. 
Thompkins, wounded at Bermuda Hundred. May 20. 1864 ; Richard Walraven, wounded 
at Bermuda Hundred. May 20, 1864: Amos G. Webb, died at Beaufort, S. C, July 6, 
1862 ; John Ward, died at Fort Schuyler, N. Y.. Oct. 28, 1863 ; Isaac Wood, killed at 
Petersburg. July 29, 1864; Willard Waterman, died at Raleigh, N. C, May 21, 1865, 
buried in National Cemetery, sec. 20. grave 2 : Jacob Wagoner, died at Portsmouth Grove, 
R. I,. July 20. 1865. 

OiH- Hundred Sixth Regiment. — Company I — Reuben Dansfield, corp., died Aug. 16, 
1862; William Gamble, died Jan. 12, 1863: John Stevenson, killed at Savage Station, Va., 
June 29. 1862. Company E — John McLaughlin, killed at Antietam, Sept. 17, 1862. 

One Hundred Ttvelfth (Second .-Irtillery) — Battery E — Lewis Moulder, died at 
Salisbury, N. C. Jan. 14, 1865; Charles Barges, killed at Petersburg. 

One Hundred Nineteenth Regiment — Company E — Frederick Williams, sergt., 
wounded at Fort Steadman, Va., March 25, 1865 ; Nathan Heacock. died at Winchester, 
Oct. 4, of wounds received at Opequan. Va.. Sept. 19, 1864; James Burns, died at Charles- 
ton, S. C, Oct., 1864: Jonathan Culbert, died at Fredericksburg. Va., May 20, of wounds 
received at Spottsylvania C. H., May 10. 1864: William Ewing, wounded at Spottsylvania 
C. H., May 10. 1864; Robert Elliott, wounded at Wilderness, May 5, 1864: James Louther, 
wounded at Wilderness. May 5, 1864: James McGee, wounded at Wilderness, May 5, 
1864; Isaac Pike, died at Washington. D. C. Aug. 15, 1864, of wounds received at Wilder- 
ness, buried in National Cemetery. .Arlington. Va. : Robert Bcaney, killed at Rappahan- 
nock Station, Va., Nov. 7. 1863: William Roberts, died at Washington. D. C. May 8. of 



DELAWARE COUNTY 553 

wounds received at Salem Church, Va., May 3, 1863 ; George S. Smith, wounded at Fred- 
ericksburg, Dec. 13, 1862; John Steel, died at Annapolis, Md., Dec. 8, 1863, buried in 
Camp Parole Hospital Cemetery; William Stewart, died at Washington, D. C, of 
wounds received at Rappahannock Station, Va., Nov. 7, 1863 ; David Sloan, killed at 
Spottsylvania C. H., May 12, 1864; John B. Tetlow, killed at Salem Church, Va., May 3, 
1863. 

One Hundred Twenty-fourth Regiment. — Company B — George Fields, sergt., wounded 
at Chancellorsville, May 2, 1862; Jacob Barlow, wounded at Antietam, Sept. 17, 1862; 
Jerome Byre, wounded at Chancellorsville, May 3, 1863; Joseph Barlow, killed at Antie- 
tam, Sept. 17, 1862; Edward Kay, died at Washington, D. C, Jan. 20, 1863; William 
Lary, died at Harper's Ferry, Nov. 24, 1862 ; James Makin, died at Washington, D. C, 
March I, 1863. 

Company D — William T. Innis, corp., wounded at Chancellorsville, May 3, 1863; 
James Crazier, corp., died Sept. 21, of wounds received at Antietam, Sept. 17, 1862; H. 
H. Williamson, died at Stafford C. H., Va., Feb. 8, 1863; James B. Aitken, died at Bolivar 
Heights, Va., Oct. 27, 1863; William L. Bittle. wounded at Antietam, Sept. 17, 1862; 
William Heybum, died March 12, 1863 ; Philip R. Johnson, wounded at Chancellorsville, 
May 3, 1863. 

Company H — William G. Knowles, sergt., wounded at Antietam, Sept. 17, 1862 ; 
Thomas H. Jackson, sergt., died at Washington, D. C, Jan. 19, 1863; William Trainer, 
Jr., wounded at Chancellorsville, May 2, 1863; Thomas Burk, died at Harper's Ferry, 
Nov. 3, 1862; J. Ephraim Lobb, died at Stafford C. H., Va., March 8, 1863; Samuel W. 
Neald, wounded at Chancellorsville, May 3, 1863; James Piard, Jr., wounded at Chan- 
cellorsville, May 3, 1863; Horatio N. Piatt, wounded at Antietam, Sept. 17, 1862; Samuel 
R. Zebley, killed at Antietam, Sept. 17, 1862. 

One Hundred Sixtieth Regiment, Fifteenth {Anderson) Cavalry. — Company L — Wil- 
liam H. Powell, died at Nashville, Tenn., of wounds received at Stone River, Dec. 29, 
1862, buried in National Cemetery. 

One Hundred Eighty-eighth Regiment. — Company C — Richard Renshaw, sergt., 
wounded Sept. 29, 1864. Company F — Andrew Kestner, wounded at Fort Harrison, Va., 
Sept. 29, 1864. Company H— Isaac E. Wilde. 2d lieut.. died at Broadway Landing, Va., 
July 26, 1864. 

One Hundred Ninety-seventh Regiment. — Company A — Harrison Hoffman, died at 
Rock Island, Ills., Oct. 22, 1864. 

One Hundred Ninety-eighth Regiment. — Company K — Levi Booth, wounded at Hatch- 
er's Run, Va., Feb. 7, 1865; John Holt, wounded at Five Forks, April i, 1865; Washing- 
ton Hickson, wounded at Hatcher's Run, Feb. 7, 1865 ; George Latch, wounded at Lewis 
Farm, Va., March 29, 1865 ; James Morgan, wounded at Lewis Farm, March 29, 1865 ; 
Edward T. Mason, wounded at Five Forks, April i, 1865; Jesse W. Paist, wounded at 
Lewis Farm, March 29, 1865; Hiram Williams, wounded at Appomattox C. H., April 9, 
1865; Robert Weir, wounded at Lewis's Farm, Va., March 29, 1865; Jeff W. Wetherill, 
wounded at Peebles Farm, Va., Sept. 30, 1864, and Five Forks, April i, 1865. 

Two Hundred Third Regiment. — Company B — Benjamin Brooks, capt., wounded at 
Fort Fisher, Jan. 15, and in action, Feb. 11, 1865; Charles T. Brooks, corp., wounded at 
Fort Fisher, Jan. IS, 1865 ; Andrew Lamport, wounded at Fort Fisher, Jan. 15, 1865 ; John 
J. Clar, died at Hampton, Va.. Jan. 23, of wounds received at Fort Fisher. Jan. 15, 1865, 
buried in National Cemetery; William H. Camp died at New York, March 15, of wounds 
received at Fort Fisher, Jan. 15. 1865. buried in Cypress Hill Cemetery. Long Island; 
John Duffee, wounded at Fort Fisher, Jan. 15, 1865; William E. Fetters, wounded at Fort 
Fisher, Jan. 15, 1865; Elwood D. Fryer, wounded near Wilmington, N. C, Oct. 27, 1864; 
William J. Farra. died at Hampton, Va., Jan. 23, of wounds received at Fort Fisher, Jan. 
15, 1865; John Grim, wounded near Wilmington, Oct. 27, 1864; Edward Haycock, wounded 
at Fort Fisher, Jan. 15, 1865; John M. Hoffstitler, killed at Fort Fisher, Jan. 15, 1865; 
Edmond Kinch, wounded at Fort Fisher, Jan. 15. 1865; William M. Kitts. died at Fort- 



554 DELAWARE COUNTY 

ress Monroe, Jan. 8. 1865; George Major, died at Philadelphia. Sept. 11, 1864; Samuel 
Playford, killed at Fort Fisher, Jan. 15, J865; James Sample, wounded in action, Feb. n. 
1865; William H. Swayne, wounded near Wilmington, Oct. 27, 1864; W. M. Vernon, died 
at Raleigh, N. C, May 30, 1865. 

Si.rly-Afth Regiment. — Company C — John Booth, killed at Harrison's Landing, Va., 
August I, 1862. Company D — Joshua E. Dyer, 2d licut., died in Confederate prison pen, 
Florence, N. C, Feb. 16, 1865. Company H — Samuel Wallace, 1st lieut., killed near Wil- 
liamsburg, Va., Jan. 15, 1863. 

Seventeenth Regiment. — Company L — Levis Miller, Jr.. 1st lient., killed in 1865. 

Sevenly-tirsI Regiment. — Company F — William Farraday, killed at Antietam, Sept. 
17, 1862. 

Seventy-seventh Regiment. — Company E — Joseph Groves, killed at Gettysburg. 

Eighty-eighth Regiment. — Company H — James M. Thompson, sergt., died Nov. 16, 
1862, of wounds received at Antietam, Sept. 17, 1862. 

Eighty-ninth Regiment. — Company L — Joseph Dyson, died near Washington. D. C, 
Jan. 25, 1862. 

Ninety-fifth Regiment. — Company A — John Macon, killed at William.sport, Va. 

Ninety-ninth Regiment. — Company H — William H. Groundsell, died in Andersonville. 

One Hundred and Eighteenth Regiment. — Company H — Edward T. Brogan. died 
Dec. 9, 1864. Company G — George Elliott, killed at Salisbury, N. C. 

Sixth New Jersey Volunteers. — Company I — James B. Lilley, wounded in Wilder- 
ness, May 5, died May 15, 1864. 

One surgeon of Delaware county. Dr. William H. Forward, was wounded in 
service, October, 1863. 

When on April 14th, 1865. the Old Flag was hoisted over Fort Sumter in 
Charleston harbor by Major General Anderson, in the presence of the surviv- 
ors of that garrison which four years previous had evacuated the fort, it was 
believed that the curtain had fallen on the last act of the great war drama. In 
Chester the day was celebrated with great fervor, the festivities closing with a 
general illumination of the city and a grand display of fireworks. Many from 
surrounding townships had gathered in Chester to rejoice over the long hoped 
for conclusion of the war. .^t 9.30, while the festivities were at their height, 
came the unbelievable news, "President Lincoln has been shot." The opera- 
tor at Chester heard this news as it flashed over the wires to the press of the 
great cities northward, but the war time injunction of silence kept him mute, 
and it was not until the following day that the dread news was given to the 
public of Chester. All business ceased, the industrial plants shut down, and 
no business place was open save the news stands. By 8 a. m. the news of the 
President's death was confirmed, and the dry goods merchants were then com- 
pelled to open their stores that the jieople might purcha.se and replace with 
black hangings the buildings that the day before they had dressed with such 
joy in the national colors, — red, white and blue. By 10 o'clock all the build- 
ings bore their sombre garments of crajie. This scene was enacted in every 
town and village in the county, for all were griefstrirkcn over the fall of a 
trusted leader, and all feared for the future. 

On Wednesday, when the funeral of our greatest President was in pro- 
gress in Washington, all business was suspended and every mill in the county 
closed on that day, while at the same hour, in all the churches, services were 



DELAWARE COUNTY 555 

held, and bells tolled in every steeple. At Chester, the revenue cutter "Wil- 
liam H. Seward." lying off the town, fired minute gvms. At Media the court 
room was crowded, and religious services were held therein. The feeling of 
grief, uncertainty and apprehension of the days following the cruel shot that 
deprived the nation of the wisest of rulers, can not be described nor under- 
stood save by those who were of sufficient age to realize the sad facts and 
yet live to relate them. But time, the great healer, has closed the wounds : 
the great armies tliat existed only to destroy, melted away and were absorbed 
M- ; ; t .-Ml-- (.-i jieace from whence they came; dead, the martyred Lincoln 
preached a gospel, that perhaps he could not have preached so effectively liv- 
ing, and now a tiag bearing forty-eiglit stars floats from every flagstaff in the 
United States and her island possessions, — "God reigns, and the Government 
at Washington still lives." 

THE SPANISH WAR. 

Immediately after the Act of Congress approved April 25, 1898, declar- 
ing that a state of war existed between the United States and Spain, the Gov- 
ernor of Pennsylvania was telegraphed to by the Secretary of War, informing 
him that Pennsylvania's quota of the 125,000 men called to the colors by Pres- 
ident McKinley's proclamation, would be ten regiments of infantry and four 
batteries of artillery. It was the wish of the President that the regiments of 
the National Guard or State Militia should be used as far as their numbers 
would permit, for the reason that they were armed, equipped and drilled. 
Later instructions to the Governor notified him the number of men required 
would be 10,800, formed in regiments of 1230 men, in twelve companies to a 
regiment, companies to have a minimum of 81 men. a maximum of loi : and 
that each battery should have 204 officers and men. 

The Governor of Pennsylvania. Daniel H. Hastings, at once issued a call 
for the mobilization of the National Guard at Mt. Gretna. Lebanon county. 
and in accordarrce with his orders the entire Guard, save naval forces, assem- 
bled at Mt. Gretna, ninety-nine per cent, of the total strength being in camp 
on the morning of April 28, 1898. The full quota was secured, and on May 
12 the full division was reviewed by the Governor, who at once sent to the 
.•^fcretary of \\'ar. the following telegram : 

"Ten thousand eight hundred men. as brave and loyal as ever followed a flag or 
defended a country, marched past the Governor in review this afternoon. No grander 
sight has been witnessed since the historic days of '6l and '65. Pennsylvania has re- 
sponded to the call fully and promptly, has given to the nation's soldie'-y a division of 
troops, composed of the best of her citizenship. We deserve recognition by the appoint- 
ment of our general officers. It should, if possible, be done to-morrow. Let us announce 
it here to-morrow, and our troops will be wild with joy. The general officers deserve it. 
For twenty years they have worked to make possible the glorious e.xhibition of patriotism 
on this field to-day." 

lender the second call of the President, issued May 25, 1898, volunteers 



556 DELAWARE COUNTY 

were called for to bring the regiments already sworn in, up to twelve company 
strength. Under this call, companies were offered from all sections of the 
state. In Philadelphia, three regiments were recruited and offered, but the 
troops were taken from dififerent parts of the state, and but two companies, I 
and K, Third Regiment, were taken from Philadelphia under the second call. 
From Delaware county, 327 men were taken in all and apportioned among 
the different companies. No further troops were asked for by the general 
government from Pennsylvania, and before the close of the year 1898 many 
of the organizations were mustered out of the service. The troops from 
Pennsylvania acquitted themselves with credit, although many of them were 
not permitted to see actual warfare. The 4th and i6th Regiments of Infantry, 
the three light batteries and the three troops of cavalry, served in Porto Rico. 
The loth Infantry served in the Philippines. Their colonel. Alexander Haw- 
kins, after a distinguished career in command of his regiment, died en route 
from the Philippines to San Francisco, at sea on board the United States 
transport "Senator," July 18, 1899. The ist, 3rd, sth and 9th Regiments 
were ordered to Chickamauga Park, Georgia, the 3rd going later to Tampa, 
Florida. The 2nd Regiment was detailed for special duty in guarding powder 
works, regimental headquarters, the ist Battalion being stationed at Mont- 
chanin, Delaware ; the 2nd Battalion at Penns Grove, New Jersey. The 6th, 
Sth, I2th and 13th Regiments were ordered from Mt. Gretna to Camp Alger, 
Virginia. The 14th Regiment was divided ; regimental headquarters and six 
companies, viz: A, B, C, G, I and K were ordered to Fort Lott, New Jersey, 
two companies, E and F, to Fort Delaware, Delaware. The 15th was also divid- 
ed ; regimental headquarters and Companies A, B, D, F, G and K proceeded to 
Sheridan Point, Virginia: Companies C and E to Fort Washington. The i Sth 
Regiment was also divided : Company F was ordered to Alliance. Ohio, to guard 
the works of the Morgan Iron Company ; the regiment, with the exception of 
Company F, was ordered to Battery Point, on the Delaware river. Companies 
D, E and H were later ordered to Fort Brady, Michigan. ]Many yielded up 
their lives for their couniry in both hos[)ital and on battle field. Those who 
served in the presence of an armed enemy, never faltered in the midst of dan- 
ger or failed in the performance of their duty. Those who, while performing 
their duty as it came to them, contracted disease in fever stricken camps, met 
death like true soldiers, without flinching, knowing only a soldier's duty, were 
faithful to the end, and, whether oificer or private, the state whose honor they 
had in their keeping will ever revere their memory. 

The representatives from Delaware county were Companies B and C, 
from Chester, and Company H of Media, all of the 6th Regiment, Pennsyl- 
vania National Guard. These companies at the time of the first call were not 
at full strength, but their ranks were quickly filled, and when mustered into 
the United States service on May 12, 1898, at Camp Gretna, the 6th Regiment, 
which arrived in camp April 28, with fifty ofificers and 928 men, had a full 
quota of 132^ men, of which 324 were in the tliicc r('';'\'. -c i- '-im c ininai! 
ies. Company B was led by Captain Daniel H. McDevitt. First Lieutenant 



DELA\VARE COUNTY 557 

Frederick H. Bell, and Second Lieutenant James A. Cooley; Company C by 
Captain Samuel D. Clyde, First Lieutenant William W. Moss, and Second 
Lieutenant Albert F. Damon; Company H, by Captain Walter Washabaugh, 
First Lieutenant Milner C. Tuckerman and Second Lieutenant James E. 
Brooke. The 6th Regiment was commanded to camp by Col. Perry McLaugh- 
lin Washabaugh, (who was rejected by the examining surgeon on account of de- 
fective eyesight), and placed under the command of Gen. John W. Schall. Com- 
panies B and C were composed of men from Chester, and H of men from 
Media or nearby. The service of these companies was identical with the ser- 
vice of the regiment, and consisted more of their willingness to do, than for 
what they did in the way of actual warfare. 

Assembling at Camp Gretna, April 28, they were mustered in May 12, and 
on May 19, 1898, left Camp for Falls Church, Virginia, arriving there the fol- 
lowing morning. Here they remained at Camp Alger until August 3, when 
they inarched to Burke Station, Virginia, twelve miles distant, remaining in 
camp there until the morning of August 5. Their next march brought them to 
the historic battle ground of Bull Run, where they remained two days, the 
right flank camping on the site of an old earthwork. On the morning of Au- 
gust 7th a march of twelve miles to Bristow Station was made. On the morn- 
ing of August 9th the march was resumed, the 6th fording Broad Run in 
water to their armpits, carrying clothes and accoutrements above their heads. 
On reaching the opposite bank the regiment dressed, reformed their ranks, 
and proceeded on their march. Hardly was the column under way than a 
fierce thunder storm broke loose, as thoroughly drenching the men as though 
they had swum the Run in all their clothing. From Bristow Station they 
passed through Gainesville and Haymarket, going into camp about one mile 
from historic Thoroughfare Gap. Here the regiment did provost and camp 
duty until August 24, when they moved to Camp George G. Meade, at Middle- 
town, Dauphin county, Pennsylvania. On September 4, arms and equipment 
were turned into the United States government inspector. September 7th the 
men were paid ofif, each company returning to its home station on furlough un- 
til October 7th, and were finally mustered out October 17, 1898. 

During the Spanish War, other men from Delaware who were in the ser- 
vice of the state, in addition to the men of Companies B, C and H, were as 
follows : Inspector General Frank G. Sweeney, Chester, Pennsylvania ; Ma- 
jors Thomas Edward Clyde, Samuel Aldrich Price and Howard Campbell 
Price: Assistant Surgeon J. M. Broomall, of Chester; Assistant Surgeon John 
M. B. Ward, with rank of first lieutenant ; Chaplain Philip H. Mowry, with 
rank of captain ; Battalion Adjutant Wilmer Worthington Woodward, all of- 
ficers of the 6th Regiment, Pennsylvania Volunteer Infantry. 

The health of the regiment was good during the five months campaign in 
Virginia, and the behavior of the men of the best. Camp discipline was strict- 
ly maintained, sanitary precautions were carefully observed, and all avoidable 
sickness prevented. 

From the foregoing the conclusion is plain that Delaware county men in 



558 



DELAWARE COUNTY 



war have maintained the same high standard that the sons of Delaware have 
ever held, no matter in what profession or business engaged. Their deeds of 
valor as individuals were not excelled by the men of any other states, while as 
leaders of desperate charges or forlorn hopes the record teems with their 
deeds. No braver men ever gave their lives for their country than these hardy 
Pennsylvanians, and when the last bugle sounded, and the ragged veterans re- 
turned to their homes, they were as eager as any to extend the hand of friend- 
ship to their former foes, and with them join again in the peaceful pursuits of ^ 
farm and factory, that in prosperity and peace the scenes of war should be for- 
gotten. Valiant in war, they were no less magnanimous in peace ; and but one 
prayer went up from every hearthstone in the county, and that was that never 
again should our fair land witness the sight of her sons drawn up in battle ar- 
ray, save against a common foe. 



THE END. 



FAMILY AND PERSONAL HISTORY 



Family and Personal History 



The late Dr. George Smith, well known as the author of the 
SMITH "History of Delaware County, Pennsylvania,"' was fifth in descent 

from Richard Hayes, a Friend, who with his wife, Issatt, emi- 
grated from Ilmiston, Pembrokeshire, \\'ales, in 1687. and settled on a tract 
of land in Haverford township, which is still owned and occupied by their 
descendants. Their son, Richard Hayes Jr., was for nearly thirty years a 
member of the Provincial Assembly, was a justice of the courts of Chester 
county, served for a long time as one of the commissioners of the Loan Of- 
fice, and held many responsible public trusts. He married a daughter of Henry 
Lewis, of Narberth, South Wales, who in 1682, accompanied by two of his 
friends, made the first settlement in Haverford township, where he gave much 
of his time to civil affairs and acts of benevolence. Dr. Smith was also de- 
scended from Dr. Thomas Wynne, of Caer-Wys, North Wales, the friend and 
physician of William Penn, and was in direct descent also from Dr. Edward 
Jones, of Merion, and was a lineal descendant of Robert and Jane Owen, that 
brave pair who, whether as Lord and Lady of Beaumaris Castle, or for con- 
science sake, within the gates of Dolgelley jail, commanded the admiration and 
respect of all about them, and whose ancestry is traced by their relative, the 
learned antiquary, Robert Vaughan, of Hengwrt, back to the sixth century. 

George Smith, grandfather of Dr. George Smith, married Elizabeth, 
daughter of Benjamin Hayes, a son of Richard Hayes Jr., above mentioned, 
and their son, Benjamin Hayes Smith, father of Dr. George Smith, represented 
Delaware county in the legislature of Pennsylvania in 1801-02-03-04. and was 
appointed justice of the peace by Governor McKean. although politically op- 
posed to him, and continued to the time of his death, in 1806, to hold that, as 
well as other positions of public trust. He married Margaret, daughter of 
George and Mary (Curry) Dunn, and they were the parents of two children: 
Elizabeth Hayes, born May 22, 1802, married Dr. Isaac Anderson ; and George, 
of whom further. 

Dr. George Smith was born in Haverford township, Delaware county, 
Pennsylvania. February 12, 1804, died at his residence in Upper Darby. Penn- 
sylvania, March 10, 1882. He was brought up in Radnor and Haverford 
townships, and educated in the day schools of the neighborhood and at the 
boarding school of Jonathan Cause, in Chester county, Pennsylvania. He then 
entered the Medical Department of the University of Pennsylvania, and re- 
ceived his degree of Doctor of Medicine, April 7, 1826. He followed his pro- 
fession for five years in Darby and its vicinity, and then retired from active 
practice as a physician to enter upon that wider field of public usefulness for 
which his tastes and cast of mind eminently fitted him. His only business from 
this time forth was that of farming, he coming into possession of a very con- 
siderable estate, and performing the duties of numerous public and private 
trusts. In his farming operations he took great pleasure, and at the time of his 
decease was one of the largest land owners in the county. The execution of 
all trusts confided to him. whether public or private, was carried out upon the 
strictest principles of integrity. 
37 



S62 DELAWARE COUNTY 

He served as State senator in the Pennsylvania legislature for the district 
composed of Chester and Delaware counties from 1832 to 1836, and during 
that time was largely instrumental in establishing a permanent law for free ed- 
ucation, a measure which had long been near his heart, and of which he had 
been for many years an earnest atlvocate. "As chairman of the senate com- 
mittee on education, he drew up a bill embracing the whole subject of public 
schools, and, supported by Thaddeus Stevens and Governor Wolfe, it was 
passed substantially as reported by him, and proved to be the first practical 
and efficient measure on the subject of genera! education in the State of Penn- 
sylvania." On December 8, 1836, he was appointed by Governor Ritner as- 
sociate-judge of the courts of Delaware county, an appointment held by him 
for six years, and renewed by popular vote for five succeeding years from the 
first Monday of December, iSCu. Not being bred to the law, his position was 
that of lay-judge. He was the first superintendent of common schools in Dela- 
ware county under the Act of May 8, 1854, being chosen by the school direc- 
tors of the county on the first Monday in June of that year, in accordance with 
the provisions of that act. For twenty-five years he was president of the 
school board of Upper Darby school district, during all of which period he 
devoted his time and energies to the development and improvement of the sys- 
tem of public instruction, which he had labored so zealously to establish. 

In private official cajwcity, he was president of the Delaware County 
Turnpike Road Company from its incorporation in 1845 "-'"t'' within a few 
months of his death. In September, 1833, with four of his friends, he founded 
the Delaware County Institute of Science, of which he was president from the 
time of its organization until his death, a period of forty-nine years. This as- 
sociation, the object of which is to promote the study and diffusion of general 
knowledge and the establishment of a museum, is in many respects similar to 
the Academy of Natural Sciences of Philadelphia, ami, in Dr. Smith's own 
words, was enabled to accomplish most if not all the objects contemplated in 
its establishment. The institute was incorporated February 8, i83ri, and the 
following year a hall was built in Upper Providence, where the meetings of 
the Institute have since been held and its Museum located. The latter em- 
braces an important collection of specimens in every department of the natural 
sciences, particularly such as are calculated to illustrate the natural history of 
the county. To perfect this collection. Dr. Smith presented to the Museum his 
valuable herbarium. It was in connection with this body and under its auspices 
that he prepared and published the "History of Delaware County, Pennsyl- 
vania, from the Discovery of the Territory included within its limits to the 
present time ; with a notice of the Geology of the County and Catalogues of 
its Minerals, Plants, Quadrupeds and lUrds." This work is an octavo volume 
of nearly six hundred pages, with several mai:is and illustrations, and was is- 
sued in the year 1862. In adflition to the contents as set forth in this title, the 
volume contains seventy-six pages of biographical notices of persons identi- 
fied with the county. Upon this is largely based the historical portion of the 
present work. Dr' Smith held the pen of a ready writer, and contributetl 
numerous controversial articles to the local press on the removal of the seat of 
justice from Chester to Media, and upon other subjects. He also published 
''An Account of the Great Rainstorm and Flood of 1843," and an essay dem- 
onstrating the fitness of the stone quarried at I.eiper's Quarry, in Delaware 
county, for use in erecting the Delaware Breakwater. 

Dr. Smith was a member of Haverford Friends' Meeting; he was a regu- 
lar attendant upon the sessions of religious worship at his meeting, and for 
many years had charge of the First-day school connected with it, in the wel- 
fare of which he alwavs took the liveliest inte'-est. He was a member of the 



DELAWARE COUNTY 563 

Medical Society of Philadelphia, the American Philosophical Society, the His- 
torical Society of Pennsylvania, the Pennsylvania State Agricultural Society, 
the Contributors to the Pennsylvania Hospital, honorary member of the 
Numismatic and Antiquarian Society of Philadelphia, and corresponding mem- 
ber of the Historical Genealogical Society of New England, formerly an active 
and at the time of his death an honorary member of the Delaware County 
Medical Society. 

Dr. Smith married, February 26, 1829, in the city of Philadelphia, Mary, 
daughter of Abraham and Rebecca (Lawrence) Lewis. Qiildren : Abraham 
Lewis, an able and most highly esteemed member of the Delaware County 
bar, and also of the Philadelphia bar ; Mary Wood ; Rebecca, died February 
8, 1856; Margaretta; Benjamin Hayes, a surveyor and civil engineer, held an 
important and responsible position in the Surveyor Generars office at Denver, 
Colorado, for several years; Clement Lawrence, died July i, 1909, was a pro- 
fessor in Harvard College, Cambridge, Massachusetts, and in March, 1882, 
was appointed Dean of the college; George Jr., died March 21, 1872; Richard 
Hayes, died September 18, 1856. 



To one who has given his life and labors to the attainment 
SHARPLESS of one ideal, who has toiled through days and months of 

disappointments and discouragements, who has been re- 
warded by moments of cheering brightness, ever striving ceaselessly onward, 
it must be a great satisfaction to see rising a structure that, though in many 
ways not realizing the fond dream of the toiler, still holds nearly true to the 
magnificent work planned. Such is the solemn pleasure that must come to 
Isaac Sharpless, Sc. D., LL.D., L. H. D., whose connection with Haverford 
College has extended over a period of thirty-nine years, twenty-seven of which 
have been spent as the honored president of that institution. 

Of the ancestry of Isaac Sharpless little can here be said but that he is a 
descendant of John and Jane Sharpless, who came to America from England 
in 1682, founding a family whose members number thousands, the faith of the 
Society of Friends prevailing through the many lines. His father was Aaron 
Sharpless, who married Susanna, daughter of Thomas Kite, a minister of the 
Society of Friends, and after her death married Susanna, daughter of James 
and Ann (Truman) Forsythe. It is of this second marriage that Isaac Sharp- 
less was the eldest child, iDorn 12th month 16, 1848. 

His early education was obtained in the Westtown Friends Boarding 
School, of which his father and mother were superintendent and matron re- 
spectively, whence he was graduated in 1867, being then eighteen years of age. 
So thoroughly had he imbibed the teachings of his instructors that upon his 
graduation he was offered a position as teacher in that institution, and for the 
four following years guided students but a few years his junior over the path 
he had just traversed. He then enrolled in the Lawrence Scientific School, of 
Harvard University, in 1873 being awarded the degree of Bachelor of Science 
from the civil engineering course. Two years after leaving Harvard he was 
tendered the chair of mathematics in Haverford College, which, happily for the 
institution and those who have since there matriculated, he accepted, and since 
that time he has been continuously identified therewith. In 1879 he became 
professor of astronomy, a subject to which he has devoted much study and ex- 
tensive private research, and, while he was at the head of this department of 
the college work, was ceaseless in his efforts to procure more powerful and 
more suitable equipment for the observatory, directing his pleas so forcefully 
and to such good effect that the Haverford observatory became noted as being 



S64 DELAWARE COUNTY 

one of the proiuinenl college observatories in the country. He later filled the 
chair of ethics, probably exerting a strong influence upon tlie student body, al- 
though none who worked with him, be it over a problem in calculus, in the ob- 
servatory, or as a fellow member of the faculty, could but be impressed by the 
dynamic energy, the vast capacity for toil, and the sustaining enthusiasm. In 
1884 he was made dean of the college and endowed with full executive and 
disciplinary powers, in that capacity giving particular attention to the life of the 
students. In January, 1887, he was elected president of the college by the 
board of managers, the formal inauguration exercises being held in Alumni 
Hall on the afternoon of May 17, 1887, Dr. Sharpless signifying his acceptance 
of the high honor conferred upon him in an address in which he touched upon 
the situation then existing at Haverford and outlined the plan that he intended 
to pursue. What concessions, what surrenders, he has been compelled to make, 
is known to none but himself. All may know% however, of his work as pres- 
ident of Haverford. of the multitude of undertakings he has fostered to a suc- 
cessful consummation, all of which stand as present and enduring monu- 
ments of the years he has spent in the service of that college. Many men who 
strive for lofty and noble ends are fated never to see the fulfillment of their 
fondest hopes and visions. To Dr. Sharpless has been accorded the privilege 
of tasting of the fruits of his toil, and at the same time the inestimably greater 
joy of assurance that the precedents he has established and the works he has 
begun will be followed and accomplished when his is no longer the guiding 
hand. 

He has been a contributor to various scientific and educational journals, 
and is the author of several volumes, among them "Quaker Experiment in 
Government," dealing with the early history of his State ; "English Education," 
used as one of the volumes of the International Educational Series ; "Two Cen- 
turies of Pennsylvania History"; and "Quakerism and Politics," a collection of 
essays. Astronomy and physics have also been the subjects of his writings, 
and in collaboration with Professor Philips, of the West Chester State Nor- 
mal School, he is the author of a treatise dealing with those sciences. He has 
been the recipient of several degrees, that of Sc. D. from the University of 
Pennsylvania, in 1883 ; LL.D. from Swarthmore College, four years later ; and 
that of L. H. D. from Hobart College, as well as his first, B. S. He has taken 
advantage of every opportunity for travel that has come to him in the course 
of his busy life, believing in that as one of the best aids to education, and in 
1913 made an extended trip abroad, visiting many European and Asiatic coun- 
tries. He is essentially a student, and has been blessed, as well, with the inval- 
uable ability of engendering in others the desire for scholastic pursuits and in 
creating true appreciation of the boundless benefits of mind culture. Two of 
the reforms he successfully advocated early in his administration of the presi- 
dent's duties was a widening of the scientific courses and a more rational and 
advantageous manner of conducting the literary societies of the college, for 
which it has ever been famous, both for the number of those skilled in the 
forensic art that they produced and in the pleasure derived therefrom. In be- 
half of the students, as a professor and as president, he has sought and ob- 
tained improved facilities for athletic recreation, and through his cooperation 
with the student body has gained its members for his firm friends and sup- 
porters. Ample evidence of this was given as early as the time when he was 
raised to the presidency, the serenade and celebration of that night remaining 
fresh in the memory of many a Haverford alumnus. In closing this greatly 
curtailed account of the career of Dr. Isaac Sharpless as an educator it only re- 
mains to give the following excerpt from his address at his inauguration as 
president of Haverford College, a goal that he placed before himself, and 



DELA\\'ARE COUNTY 56S 

which he has, through his own valiant endeavors and those of the splendid fac- 
ulty that has always assisted him, happily gained ; "A Haverford degree must 
stand for breadth of culture, scholarly spirit, and disciplined powers." 

His religious faith is that of the Society of Friends, to which for genera- 
tions his ancestors have been adherents, and his political action is never fore- 
ordained in favor of the candidates of any particular party. 

Isaac Sharpless married, 8th month 10, 1876, at West Chester Meeting, 
Lydia Trimble Cope, born in West Chester, Pennsylvania, 2nd month 13, 1857, 
daughter of Paschal! and Amy A. (Baily) Cope. Children: i. Helen, born in 
Haverford, Pennsylvania, 7th month 25, 1877 ; a graduate of Drexel Institute, 
employed in library work. 2. Amy C, born ist month 12, 1879, an artist. 3. 
Frederick C, born lOth month i, 1880: a graduate of Haverford College, class 
of 1900, and of the medical department of the University of Pennsylvania, 
class of 1903; now a practicing physician. 4. Edith F., born nth month i, 
1883; a missionary in Japan. 5. Lydia T., born loth month 10, 1885; now 
Lydia T. Perry, Westerly, Rhode Island. 6. Katherine T., born 10 month 17, 
1896. 



The forbears of George M. Booth, of Chester, Pennsylvania, 
BOOTH came with the early emigration of Friends from England, set- 
tling on lands now situated in the townships of Bethel and Up- 
per Chichester. The emigrant ancestor of the Delaware County family was 
Robert Booth, who came from an early Friends' stronghold, Yorkshire, Eng- 
land, a widower with at least two children. He was a member of Knaves- 
borough Monthly Meeting, wherein is recorded his marriage, fifth month 13, 
1698, to Alice Marshall, at Randen, also the births of his children : William, 
born twelfth month i, 1699: Mercy, first month 16, 1702; Jeremiah, seventh 
month II, 1709. On coming to America after the death of his wife he brought 
a certificate from Askwith Meeting, Great Burton, Yorkshire, dated eleventh 
month 26, 1712. He settled in Delaware County, Pennsylvania, within the 
limits of Concord Meeting, purchasing land on both sides of Naaman's Creek, 
now in Bethel and Upper Chichester townships. In the list of taxables of 
Bethel township for 1715, his name appears third. According to the records 
of Concord Meeting, he married ("second) fourth month 23, 1715, Betty Cas- 
ton, who survived him and married ("second") Richard Few, son of the emi- 
grant of the same name. Robert Booth died in April, 1727. In his will he 
mentions, in addition to the living children of his second wife, those of his 
first marriage. Children of second marriage: Robert (2), of whom further; 
Mary, born third month 11. 1718, married William Pyle ; Ann, born seventh 
month 13, 1720, married Samuel Saville ; John, born eleventh month 6, 1723; 
Elizabeth, died young. 

(II) Robert (2), son of Robert (i) Booth and his second wife, Betty 
Caston, was born in Delaware County, Pennsylvania, third month 15, 1716, 
died eleventh month 29, 1796. He was a lad of eleven years when his father 
died, and in 1732 Robert accompanied his stepfather, Richard Few, and fam- 
ily, to a farm in Kennett township, Chester County, on the west side of 
Brandywine Creek, there residing until he attained legal age. He inherited, 
nnder his father's will, the farm in Upper Chichester, and upon attaining his 
majority took possession thereof, continuing his residence there until his death, 
almost sixty years later, he being then in his eightieth year. He married 
(fir.st) at Chichester Meeting, fourth month 18, 1741, Elizabeth, daughter of 
William and Elizabeth (Hayes) Cloud, of Richland Manor, New Castle Coun- 
ty, Delaware. She was a granddaughter of Henry Hayes, who came to Amer- 



S66 DELAWARE COUNTY 

ica in 1705, settling in East Marlborough township, Chester Comity. Children: 
I. William, died 1787; married (first) sixth month 26, 1766, Mary Button, 
(second) fourth month k), 1769, Rebecca Hewes. 2. Jeremiah, married in 
1765, Elizabeth Dutton. 3. John, of whom further. 4. Elizabeth, married, 
in 1776, Robert Steele. 5. Hannah, married, first month 23, 1772, John Ker- 
lin. 6. Joseph, married in 1776, Sarah . 7. Aaron. 8. Mary. 9. Jemi- 
ma, married, in 1784, Benjamin Tovvnsend. 10. Robert (3), married, in 1778. 
Ann Martin. Rolicrt (2) Booth married a second wife, also named Elizabeth, 
who bore him Thomas and Phoebe. The former married Phoebe Cloud, the 
latter, on twelfth month 27, 1784, married Jeremiah Brown. 

(III) John, third son of Robert (2) Booth and his first wife, Elizabeth 
Qoud, was born on the Upper Chichester farm, in 1745, died 11 mo. 16, 
1823. He grew to manhood as his father's assistant but later owned several 
farms, including what is now known as the Booth homestead, on which Booth- 
wyn, a station and postofifice on the Baltimore & Ohio Railroad, is located. Ac- 
cording to the assessors' books of Upper Chichester for that period, John 
Booili and his son Joseph seem to have occupied the property jointly for sev- 
t'ral years, Joseph later inheriting the same. John Booth married, in 1774, 
Elizabeth, daughter of James and Prudence (Dutton) Shelley, and grand- 
daughter of Roger .Shelley and John Dutton, the emigrant. Thomas Reynolds 
and John and Hannah (Simcock) Kingsman were also progenitors of Mrs. 
John Booth. Children: Joseph, of whom further; Sarah, married third month 
12, 1805, William McCay. 

(IV) Joseph, only son of John and Elizabeth (Shelley) P)Ooth, was born 
in Upper Chichester township. Delaware County, Pennsylvania, in 1775, died 
sixth month 24, 1828. He farmed the homestead with his father during the ac- 
tive years of hi^ father's life, later becoming sole owner and residing thereon 
until his death. He married, sixth month 2, 181 1, Martha Hoskins, daughter 
of William and granddaughter of John Hoskins, the emigrant. Children : Wil- 
liam, of whom further; Caleb, born twelfth month 26, 1815, died first month 
19, 1898, married, in 1838, Henrietta Eyre; Sarah, born seventh month 21, 
1817, died sixth month 20, 1838, unmarried; John, born third month 4, 1820,. 
died fourth month 6, 1879, unmarried; Elizabeth, horn eighth month 9, 1823, 
died third month 19, 1848, married, tenth month 4, 1841, John M. Broomall ; 
Martha, born ninth month 0, 1826. died fifth month 9, 1832. 

(\') William, eldest son of Joseph and Martha (Hoskins) Piooth, was 
born on the homestead in Upper Chichester, Delaware County, fifth month 27, 
1812, died there eleventh month i, 1877. He was educated in the old brick 
schoolhouse near Chichester Cross-roads, and a boarding-school in Burling- 
ton, New Jersey. He inherited the home farm and there continued his resi- 
dence until 1848, seven of his children being born in that place. In 1848 he 
moved to the city of Chester and engaged with John Larkin in the lumber and 
coal business on Chester Creek, below Third street, also operating a line of 
packets. .-Mter the withdrawal of Mr. Larkin from the firm, Mr. Booth con- 
tinued the business alone for several years, subsequently admitting his son, 
Bartram, as a partner, and operating a steam saw and planing mill on Front 
street. He also purchased a farm near Chelsea, Delaware County, where he 
gratified his love of agriculture, bred in his blood through many generations of 
farmer forbears. He took an active part in the upbuilding of Chester and 
was one of the leaders in the expansion of that city after the removal of the 
coimty seat to Media. Pie was deeply interested in the building and loan as- 
sociations of his day, encouraging investments in these institutions and thus 
aiding in the starting of many men U]ion a successful business career. He as- 
sisted in the laving out of the Nrirth Ward of Chester, and at the intersection 



DELAWARE COUNTY 567 

of Broad and Madison (the latter street being named by him), he buih his own 
mansion and several other residences. He served as a burgess of Chester for a 
time, although so retiring was his nature and disposition that he shunned pub- 
lic office and held but few official positions. He was one of the early directors 
of the Delaware County Bank, elected November 11, 1864, one of the last board 
elected under the old State charter. Although not a member of Friends' Meet- 
ing, he was a constant attendant at the old meeting house on Market street, and 
lived an upright Christian life, gaining and holding the respect of all who knew 
him. He died November i. 1877. aged nearly sixty-six years. 

Mr. Booth married (first) third month 14, 1833, Hannah, daughter of 
Benjamin and Phoebe Eartram, of Darby, and granddaughter of John Bar- 
tram, the noted botanist. She died in 1838, and he married (second) second 
month 4, 1841, Elizabeth, daughter of John and Sarah (Martin) Broomall, 
and a descendant of Thomas Martin, George Mans, Henry Reynolds, Richard 
Webb, William Clayton, John Davis, James Dilworth, Joseph Baker, and Ben- 
iamin Acton, all men of note in the early settlement of Pennsylvania, and 
nearly all of them officials of the colonial government. Children of first mar- 
riage : I. Martha, born twelfth month 15, 1833. died eleventh month 3, i88g; 
married twelfth month 3, 1855. James Gibson. 2. Henry, born sixth month 4, 
1835, died seventh month 31, 1835. 3. Bartram. born eleventh month 3, 1836: 
married twelfth month 23, i860, Ellen Morris. Children of second marriage : 
4. Sarah Broomall, married twelfth month 5, 1876, Allen Flitcraft. 5. Clar- 
issa, married sixth month 12, 1867, Isaac L. Miller. 6. Hannah Bartram, mar- 
ried second month 24, 1870, J, Newlin Trainer. 7. Ellen Hoskins, married 
third month 26. 1868, Elhvood Harvey. 8. George Martin, of whom further. 
9. John Broomall, married fourth month 2, 1891, Mary Nevin. 

(\T) George Martin, elder son of William Booth and his second wife. 
Elizabeth Broomall, was born at the Booth mansion. Broad and Madison 
streets, Chester, Pennsylvania, September 19, 1851. He was educated under 
private instruction at home until he was sixteen years of age, then for two 
years attended Clarkson Taylor's Academy, at Wilmington, Delaware. He 
was a member of the first class to enter Swarthmore College, and one of the 
first students enrolled in 1869. He continued at Swarthmore one and a half 
vears, then began the study of law under the preceptorship of his uncle, John 
M. Broomall, the eminent lawyer of Media, Pennsylvania. He continued the 
studying of law until 1874, when, on February 2^,. he was admitted to the Del- 
aware County bar. He has continued in legal practice until the present time, 
although his connection with the btisiness and financial institutions of Chester 
has been constant and exceedingly valuable. Shortly after being admitted to 
the bar he organized the Chester Mutual Fire Insurance Company, of which 
his honored father was a director until 1877. The first officers of this com- 
pany were: John (2) Larkin, president; Mortimer PI. Beckley, vice-president, 
and George M. Booth, secretary and treasurer. He continued a potent factor 
in the success of this company until it closed a very creditable career in 1887. 

For years Mr. Booth has been connected with many local corporations, 
either as legal advisor or as an official, his knowledge of the law and wise 
executive ability rendering him most valuable in either capacity. For over thir- 
ty years he has been an official of the Chester Building Association ; for more 
than twenty years, a director and solicitor of the Chester Rural Cemetery ; and 
for over thirteen years solicitor for the Chester School Board. He became a 
well-known and able financier, so highly regarded that in 1887 he was called to 
the presidency of the First National Bank of Chester, being at the time of his 
elevation to this responsible position one of the youngest bank presidents of 
the State. As head of the First National Bank he has broadened and extended 



568 DELAWARE COUNTY 

his knowledge of matters financial, continuing the strong head of this very 
successful institution by successive elections until the present time (see "Banks 
of Chester"). In 1901 Mr. Booth was elected secretary and treasurer of the 
Penn Steel Casting Company, and still continues active in its management. Not 
alone is Mr. Booth the lawyer, financier and business man. He is interested 
in the welfare of his city and proves his mterest in most practical ways. He 
is a friend of education.' active in his sympathy for the unfortunate as shown 
by his service of more than fifteen years as an efficient member of the Glen 
Mills Schools, better known as the House of Refuge. He was chief advisor 
and assistant to the superintendent in the establishing of a female department 
at the school, adding therebv to the usefulness of that institution. In political 
faith Mr. Booth is a staunch Republican, and his church affiliations are with 
the Society of Friends, as are also those of his family connections. He is a 
member of several social clubs and societies, among them the Penn Club, of 
Chester, which he helped to organize and has served on its board continuously 
ever since. 

Mr. Booth married, in 1876, Ellen, daughter of Levis Miller, of Media. 
Children: i. Levis M., now engaged in business in New York City. 2. Eliza- 
beth M., married Robert E. Lamb, of Philadelphia. 3. Newlin T., now a resi- 
dent of the citv of Chester. 



The Bicklev family of Delaware County, Pennsylvania, has 
BICKLEY lieen well and favorably known in the State for considerable 

more than a century. The earlier members of the family came 
to this country, from Germany, but' some branches of it trace their lineage back 
to William the Conqueror, the elder Bickleys settled in Philadelphia. 

(I) Jacob Bicklev married Hannah Horning, and died at an early age. 

(II) Mortimer Horning, son of Jacob and Hannah (Horning) Bickley, 
was born in Montgomery County, Pennsylvania, November 8, 1831, and died 
at his home in Chester, Delaware County, Pennsylvania, April i, 191 1. Hav- 
ing been deprived by death of a father's care when he was a very young child, 
Mr. Bickley was raised by his grandparents, who assumed the parental office. 
His earlier education was acquired in the public schools of his native county, 
and this was supplemented by study in a private school in Norristown. LIpon 
the completion of these studies, at which time he had attained the age of eigh- 
teen years. Mr. Bicklev became a clerk in the drug store of Samuel Simes. in 
Philadelphia. Two years later, in 1851, he came to Chester, Delaware County, 
Pennsylvania, and there commenced "the career of which he had full reason to 
be proud. He found a position in the drug store conducted by Dr. J. M. Allen 
at Fourth and Market streets, and at the same time commenced a course of 
studies at the Philadelphia College of Pharmacy, from which institution he 
was graduated in the class of 1854. Continuing his relations with Dr. Allen, 
these ripened into a partnership, 'January i, 1856, the firm name being Allen 
& Bickley. Just three vears later "this partnership was dissolved and the busi- 
ness was'thcii carried on alone by Mr. Bickley. That he was prosperous in his- 
conduct of aflfairs is evidenced by the fact that he found the premises entirely 
too small to properly accommodate the amount of business he was called upon 
to transact, and he 'accordingly had the large five-story building erected which 
he occupied until his death. The new building was erected on the site of the 
old one, in 1868, and while it was in course of construction temporary quarters 
were located on the opposite side of the street in the building now occupied by 
S. & E. Brandies. At the time of its construction, the Bickley building was 



DELAWARE COUNTY 569 

one of the largest building propositions that had ever been undertaken in 
Chester, and it was considered a wonderful creation in the business world. 

The business ability of Mr. Bickley, however, was not confined to the drug 
trade. He was one of the organizers of the Penn Steel Casting Company, and 
served as president of this corporation from 1892 until the time of his death. 
His executive ability was an important factor in the success of this enterprise, 
and he was always a leading spirit in the deliberations of its executive body. 
He was a member of the board of directors of the First National Bank of 
Chester from January 10, 1871, until his death, and it was due to his personal 
efforts that the fine new building was erected at Fifth and Market streets. 
Shipping interests also occupied his attention. Under his supervision the large 
river steamers "Mary Morgan," "Jersey Blue," and "Sarah Taggart" were 
operated up and down the Delaware river, and he also operated two freight 
lines, one between Chester and Billingsport, and the other to Wilmington. He 
was one of the charter members of the Chester Rural Cemetery. 

Public spirited to a degree, Mr. Bickley assisted materially in furthering 
many projects which would otherwise have been neglected. He was one of 
the founders of the Pennsylvania Military College, and it is owing to him that 
the building is now located in Chester. There was talk of transferring the 
institution to Wilmington when it was destroyed by fire in 1882, as there were 
apparently no funds available for rebuilding purposes. When Mr. Bickley 
tecame aware of this condition of afifairs he threw himself into the breach to 
such good purpose that the structure was rebuilt in the city of Chester. Again, 
the postoffice had formerly been located in a small store on Market street, in 
what would now be the rear of Broomall's store, and the quarters had been 
fully outgrown. The residents and property owners of what was then known 
as the South Ward, located west of Chester Creek, oflfered inducements to 
have the postoffice removed to that section. When Mr. Bickley was made 
aware of this state of aiifairs, he at once advanced money for the erection of 
the building known as the City Hall Annex, now occupied by the city clerk 
and the city treasurer. The postoffice was located in this, and has remained 
there since that time. Although Mr. Bickley served several years as a member 
of the common council of the city, he was never very desirous of holding pub- 
lic office, feeling that he was best serving the interests of the community by 
devoting his time and attention to furthering its welfare in other directions. 
The Masonic fraternity always had the benefit of his cordial interest, and he 
was a member of Chester Lodge No. 256, Free and Accepted Masons ; Ches- 
ter Chapter, No. 258, Royal Arch Masons: and Corinthian Commandery, 
Knights Templar, of Philadelphia. Domestic and unassuming in his habits, 
he was a devoted and loving husband and father. His contributions to the 
cause of charity were many and generous ones, yet he preferred to give in an 
unostentatious manner, and nothing was more distasteful to him than publicity 
in any of his acts of this nature. 

Mr. Bickley married (first) Rebecca, died in January, 1875, a daughter of 
Samuel Weaver. He married (second) December 12, 1883, Caroline Jester, 
of Wilmington. Children, all of the first marriage: i. Mary Abbott, married 
Rev. H. R. Robinson, now resides at Red Bank, New Jersey. 2. Milton Hor- 
ace, see forward. 3. Walter Scott, see forward. 4. Laura, died at the age of 
five years. 

(HI) Milton Horace, son of Mortimer Horning and Rebecca (Weaver") 
Bickley, was born in Chester, Delaware County, Pennsylvania, September 17, 
1862. He was educated in the public schools, being graduated from the Ches- 
ter High School in the class of 1882. He then took a course at Pierce's Busi- 
ness College and when he had been graduated from this entered the drug store 



570 DELAWARE COUNTY 

of his father, and at the same time commenced a course of study in the Phila- 
delphia College of Pharmacy, from which he was graduated in the class of 
1886. at which time he was awarded three prizes. He is now in charge of the 
drug store. As a business man he has been as successful as his father. He was 
elected a director of the First National Bank of C'hester, to succeed his father ; 
is a stockholder, director and treasurer of the Boston Iron and Metal Com- 
pany of Baltimore, Maryland ; is stockholder, director and treasurer of the 
Boldt Anchor Company of Chester; stockholder, director and treasurer of the 
Cassada Manufacturing Company of Chester. In Masonic circles, he is a mem- 
ber of the Chester Lodge, Chapter and Commandery. and Lulu Temple, of 
Philadelphia. 

Mr. Bickley married. October 23. 1892, May. daughter of Charles and 
Jennie (Bowman) I'ahnestock. and they have one daughter, Helen F., born 
November 6, 1895. 



Walter Scott Bickley, son of [Mortimer Horning (q. v.) and 
BICKLEY Rebecca (Weaver) Bickley, was born in Chester, Delaware 

County, Pennsylvania, March 13, 1866. The public schools 
furnished him with a good, practical education, and at the age of nineteen 
years he took charge of the shijiping interests of his father and managed them 
successfully for a number of years. He then took a position at the Penn Steel 
Casting Works, and worked his way through each department of this plant, 
thus obtaining a wjrking knowledge of all details which he could have acquired 
in no other manner. He rose to the position of assistant manager, from that 
to manager, and at his father's death was elected president and general mana- 
ger of the company. His other business interests are as follows : Director of 
the Delaware County Trust Company : was president and one of the organizers 
of the Boldt Anchor Company ; member of the Chester Board of Trade. He 
is a thirty-second degree Mason, and a life member of Lulu Temple. 

He married, March 18, 1889. Josejjhine. daughter of Charles Sharp, of 
liridgeport Township. They have had children: ]\lilton S., Rebecca and 
Charles M. 



Joseph Warner Jones, of Chester, Pennsylvania, a retired farmer 
JONE.S and capitalist well known in liis State, is of direct Welsh origin. 
The immigrant ancestor probably landed at Philadelphia before 
1800. or soon after the ending of the Revolutionary Wav. 

(I) Jones, the Wel-h immigrant, reached the United States from 

Wales, via London. With him came his wife and young family. He was a 
quarryman in Wales and, after prospecting, he purchased the Leeper stone 
quarry, at Leepersville, Pennsylvania. For many years he did a successful 
business. Later he sold the quarry and received for it worthless Continental 
money, which left him in destitute circumstances. He was the father of a 
number of children, among them being \\'illiam. of whom further. 

(II) William Jones, son of the Welsh immigrant, was jirobably horn 
after his parents reached America. He received his education in the district 
schools in the various places in which he lived with his parents. He was taught 
the cabinetmaker's trade, which he pursued for several years. Later he entered 
the mercantile business at No. 8 Fifth street, Philadelphia. Both he and his 
wife were Quakers and members of the Friends' congregation in Philadelphia. 
He died at the age of fifty-one. He married Jane Pennell, of Aliddletown 
Township, Delaware County, Pennsylvania, who died at the age of seventy. 
Children: I. \\'illiam Pennell. burn iirobabl}' in T839, died in New ^'ork City, 



DELAWARE COUNTY 57^ 

in 1903 ; a dry goods salesman for the firm of Townsend Sharpless of Phila- 
delphia : married Hannah Howey. now deceased; one daughter, Sibyl T.. of 
Woodbury, New Jersey. 2. Joseph Warner, of whom further. 3. Edward 
C, born in 1843, ^^^^^ i" 1893,' for thirty years a druggist at the corner of Fif- 
teenth and Market streets, Philadelphia, and for the same length of time treas- 
urer of College of Pharmacy : unmarried. 4. Mary Elizabeth, born December 
25, 1846, died June 8, 1898; unmarried: lived in Philadelphia and Media, 
Pennsylvania. 5. Hannah S., died aged six years. 

(HI) Joseph Warner Jones, son of William and Jane (Pennell) Jones, 
was born July 26. 1841, in Philadelphia. Pennsylvania. He attended the 
Friends' Select School in Philadelphia, and later the Friends" Boarding School, 
at Westtow^n. Pennsylvania. After reaching manhood hi went to Middletown 
Township, Delaware County, Pennsylvania, where he married. He pur- 
chased one hundred and fifteen acres of land in Middletown Township, known 
as the Jonathan Thomas place, which he gieatly improved. The residence was 
remodeled and the land was brought to a high state of fertility and productive- 
ness under his wise guiding hand, using the most approved scientific methods ; 
and here he remained for forty-six years, during which time he accumulated 
wealth. In 1900 he retired from farming and moved to Park Place, Chester, 
Pennsylvania, where he purchased the property called Park Place, with a 
handsome modern structure, which had been built some two years previous, and 
in which he now makes his home, at the corner of Twenty-fourth street and 
Edgemore avenue. Mr. Jones has commanded respect and esteem in every 
community in which he has lived. He is known for his probity, justice and 
fair dealings with his fellowmen, as a good friend and neighbor. Both he and 
iiis wife are members of the Friends' I\Ieeting House, and take an active part 
and interest in the work. On November 7, 1867, he married Sarah L. Web- 
ster (see Webster). Children: i. Elizabeth W., born December 3, 1869, 
died Tune 3, 1908: married Ellis B. Barker: no children. Mr. Barker married 
(second) Elizabeth Moore, and has one daughter, Ruth. After the retirement 
of Mr. Jones from active participation in business affairs Mr. Barker moved 
to the old homestead in ]\Iiddletown Township, where he farms. 2. Jane P., 
born July 31, 1874: died of diphtheria, February 15. 1884. 

(The Webster Line). 

The Webster family of Pcnubylvania has long been established in the 
State, and is of direct English origin. It has contributed many notable men to 
the public life of the United States, lawyers, physicians, divines, teachers, in 
fact there is no walk of life that has not been filled by one or more of the 
name. The Websters of Pennsylvania have all been, more or less, agricultur- 
ists, living on and tilling their own land. 

(I) William Webster, the immediate progenitor of Sarah L. (Webster) 
Jones, was born, reared and educated in Middletown township. Delaware 
County, Pennsylvania. He was a successful farmer and a man of prominence 
in his day. He married (first) a Miss Sharpless: married (second) Agnes 
Yarnell. Children by first marriage: i. Hilary, married William Smeadly, of 

Delaware County. 2. Lydia, married George Smeadly, of Middletown Town- 
ship. 3. Sarah, married .-Vbram Pennell. of Middletown Township. Children 
by second marriage: 4. Phoebe, died June 14, 1913, aged one hundred years 
less four months and was well and hearty up to the last : married Thomas Y. 
Hutton and lived in Waterville, Pennsylvania. 5. William, of whom further. 
6. Caleb, married Hannah Morgan: lives in Middletown Townshi]). 7. Ruth, 
died aged thirty. 

(II) William (2), son of William (i) and Agnes (Yarneiri \\'ebster. 



5/2 DELAWARE COUNTY 

was born in Aliddletown Township, Delaware County, Pennsylvania, in 1816, 
died in the same township October 4, 1891. He was reared on his father's 
farm, received the best educational advantages that the times and the district 
schools afforded, and on reaching his majority took up farming as his life vo- 
cation. By close economy, shrewd judgment and application to his business he 
accumulated a nice property, and retired from active participation in the culti- 
vation of his land in 1885, removing to Media, Delaware County. He married 
(first) Elizabeth Larkin, born in 1816, died March 22. 1877. He married (sec- 
ond) Catherine Scarlet, widow of James Scarlet, who died in 1899. Children 
by first marriage: i. Hannah, born February 23, 1840: married Samuel 
Moore, of Middletovvn Township: he died in Philadelphia, she died May 20. 
1908: no children. 2. Sarah L., now Mrs. Jones. 3. Nathan, born February 
22, 1844. died WsLTch 24. 1844. 4. Rebecca, born December 18, 1845, died Oc- 
tober 30, 1847. 5- Edward, born April 16, 1847, died in 1890; he was a farm- 
er and later a milk dealer in Philadelphia : married Emma England : one son 
Lawrence. 6. Ruthanna, born February 24, 1849, died April 17, 1880; mar- 
ried Samuel Moore, of Chester County, Pennsylvania; three daughters. 7. 
William, born March 6. 185 1 : milk dealer at 3224 Woodland avenue, Phila- 
delphia; married Cynthia Dora Kester ; two children. 8. Pennell L., born 
August 9, 1853: milk dealer in Media, Pennsylvania: married Mary W. Yar- 
nell; two children. 9. Owen Y., born February 26, 1855: died in 1908: was a 
farmer in Middletown Township ; married Clara England : children : Agnes, 
Evelina, England, deceased: Mildred. 10. Elizabeth, born November i. 1856; 
makes her home with her sister, Mrs. Jones. 11. Richard G., born Tune 23, 
1861 ; a veterinary surgeon in Chester, Pennsylvania ; married Annie Hutton : 
three children. 



The Hathaways of New England, from whom descend the 
HATHAW.AY Hathaways of Chester, Pennsylvania, spring from Nicho- 
las Hathaway, who with his son John, a lad of ten years, 
came to New England from England, in 1639, settling at Taunton. Massachu- 
setts. John, the son, became a prominent public man, married and left three 
sons, who in turn married and founded families. A branch settled in the 
State of Connecticut, where William ( i ) Hathaway was living in 1809. 

William (2) Hathaway, son of William (i) Hathaway, was born in Con- 
necticut in 1809, died in Chester, Pennsylvania, in Marcli, 1888. He was a 
naval architect and engineer, employed on the Connecticut river at one time, 
later at Coburg, Canada, and constructed the first steamboat that sailed the 
Great Lakes. He also built the first drydock. built west of the AUeghenies. at 
Cairo, Illinois, and for twenty-five years was general superintendent of the 
Pennsylvania Coal Company at Rondout and Port Ewen, New York. He 
was a delegate from Ulster, New York, to the National Democratic Conven- 
tion that nominated Stephen A. Douglas for the presidency in i860, and was a 
prominent member of his party in Ulster County. He married Lucy Gardner 
Williams, daughter of Samuel and Mercy Williams, of New London. Con- 
necticut. On her paternal side she was a descendant of Roger Williams, the 
first Baptist minister in New England, and on the maternal side she descended 
from Lion Gardiner, the early jjroprietor of Gardiner's Island, in Long Island 
Sound, New York. Children of William (2) Hathaway: i.and2. Susan and 
Frank, died young. 3. William, born in Rondout, New York, 1837. <''«! at 
Port Ewen. New York, in 1886. He was a sea-faring man; was purser of a 
line of steamers ruiuiing between New York and Savannah, and was captain of 
the steamer "Greyhound," concerned in the Mason and Slidell incident during 



DELAWARE COUNTY 573 

the Civil War, known as "The Trent Affair," which threatened war between 
Great Britain and the United States. 4. Hiram, of further mention. 5. Sam- 
uel, born in Rondout, in 1843, died in New York City; an employee of the 
United States Customs House. 6. Erven, born in Rondout, in 1852, now a ho- 
tel proprietor of New York City, with summer residence on Long Island. 7. 
Hawley, born in 1855 ; spent several years in the West ; was a mail carrier and 
for several years associated with Buffalo Bill ; now a resident of New York 

City. 

Hiram Hathaway, son of William (2) and Lucy Gardner (Wilhams) 
Hathaway, was born in Esopus, New York, January 11, 1840. He was edu- 
cated in Kingston (New York) Academy, leaving there in 1856, and for eigh- 
teen months thereafter was clerk in the wholesale dry goods store of Barnes 
Lyman & Company. The three succeeding years he was permit clerk for the 
Penn Coal Company at Port Evven, New York, and in 1861 came to Chester, 
Pennsylvania, where until 1864 he was bookkeeper and cashier for Frick & 
Thomas, boat builders. From 1864 until 1867 he was engaged in the sale of 
oil supplies at Tionesta, Pennsylvania. In the latter year he moved to North 
Carolina, where he engaged in boat building for the canal trade, later return- 
ing to Chester, where for a time he edited the Delaware County Democrat. 
He later was cashier for Charles A. Weidner, a builder of iron boats, then for 
thirty-six years and until 1910 was employed in the accounting of the Pennsyl- 
vania Railroad. In that year he retired and is now a resident of Chester. He 
is an attendant of St. Paul's Protestant Episcopal Church ; was master in 1873 
of Lucius H. Scott Lodge, Free and Accepted Masons, and since 1874 has been 
its efficient secretary. 

He married Maria Bartram Hannum, born in Chester, died while on a 
visit to Richmond, Virginia. March 31, 1900, daughter of Robert E. Hannum, 
deceased, a lawyer of Chester, and his wife, Georgianna M. Bartram, born in 
Philadelphia. Children of Hiram Hathaway: i. Hiram (2), of whom furth- 
er. 2. Robert H., born September. 1866, died at Shanghai, China, March, 
1908; captain of the Pacific Mail Steamship "Mongolia." 3. Lucy Gardrier, 
a resident of Chester, a member of the Daughters of the American Revolution 
and of The Colonia'l Dames. 4. Georgianna Bartram, born 1872 ; married Al- 
bert F. Huntt, a leading architect of Richmond, Virginia ; children : Albert and 
Spottswood. 5. William R., born 1879; now resident engineer for the Du- 
Pont Powder Company, at Houghton, Michigan ; married Frances Holmes, of 
Reading. Pennsylvania: children: Frances Holmes and William Hathaway. 
6. Alfred, died young. 

Hiram (2) Hathaway, eldest son of Hiram _(i) and Maria I'.artram (Han- 
num) Hathaway, was born in what is now the First Ward of Chester, Pennsyl- 
vania, October 27, 1863. He was educated in the public schools and is a 
graduate of Chester High School, class of 1883. He then began the study of 
law in the office of Hon. William Ward, Chester, and in January, 1886, was 
admitted to the Delaware County Bar. He at once began practice in Chester, 
where he has attained unusual prominence in both branches of his profession, 
civil and criminal. For many years he was in charge of the legal side of all 
the real estate transactions for the Pennsylvania Railroad and has been coun- 
sel for the defence in fifteen murder cases, in none of which has a verdict 
carrying the death penalty been enforced against him. His offices for the past 
sixteen years have been in the Chester Real Estate Building, and here he trans- 
acts a very large and lucrative general law business. He is a Democrat in 
politic?, and in 1885 was elected city recorder, serving most efficiently for five 
years. He has also been the candidate of his partv for State Senator and other 
important offices, but the normal Republican majority in his district has been 



574 DELAWARE COUNTY 

too great to be overcome, except the one office mentioned, when his victory 
was regarded as a most remarkable one and a flattering testimonial of the high 
regard in which he is held in his own city. Mr. Hathaway has been admitted 
to all State and Federal courts of his district; is a member of the State and 
County Bar associations ; the Colonial Society of Pennsylvania, and is an at- 
tendant of St. Paul's Episcopal Church. 

He married in Wilmington, Delaware, January, 1908, Elizabeth, daughter 
of John Rowe, a contractor of Philadelphia, now deceased. Cliildren : Eliza- 
beth, born at Ridley Park, Pennsylvania, February 3, 1910; Alary, February 
12, 1911. 



For over forty years the name of McDowell has been one 
McDowell connected with the coal and lumber business of Chester, the 
business established by the father, continued by his sons 
until 1909, and since then by his son, Wesley S. McDowell. The founder of 
the family in Chester, John McDowell, was born in County Antriin, Ireland, in 
1820, died in Chester, Pennsylvania, in June, 1885. He was educated, grew to 
-manhood and married in Ireland, which was his home until 1854, when he 
came to the United States, settling at Rockdale, Delaware County, Pennsyl- 
vania, where he first worked in the cotton mills, but in 1862 established a 
coalyard. He continued in that business until 187 1, when he moved to Ches- 
ter where he established a similar business, continuing successfully until his 
death. He was a member of the Methodist Episcopal church, and a Republican 
in politics, serving as school director for eighteen years. He married in Ire- 
land, Agnes McQuillan, born in County Antrim, died in Chester, September 3, 
1900, daughter of William McQuillan, a farmer of Antrim. Children (first 
two born in Ireland, four m Rockdale, Pennsylvania) : i. James, born 1850, 
died, 1912, in Chicago, Illinois; an employee of the Pullman Car Company; 
married Mary Davis, who survives him. 2. William J., born 1852, died in 
Chester in 1909; married Anna J. Little, who survives him. He was a partner 
of William J. McDowell & Brother. 3. Thomas A., born 1854, now a plas- 
terer of Chester ; married Susanna McCoy. 4. Archibald, born 1856 ; married 
Emma Green and resides in Chester, a plasterer. 5. Elizabeth, born 1858, re- 
sides with her brother Wesley S. 6. Wesley S., of whom further. 

Wesley S. McDowell, youngest son of John and Agnes (McQuillan; Mc- 
Dowell, was born in Rockdale, IJelaware County, Pennsylvania, May 12, i860. 
He was educated in the public schools of Rockdale and Chester, his parents 
moving to South Chester in 1871. At the age of sixteen he finished his school 
years and was given a position in his father's coalyard. He continued his 
father's assistant until the death of the latter in 1885. then in partnership with 
his brother, William J., contmued the business as William J. McDowell & 
Brother. On the death of the senior ])arlner in 1909, Wesley S. purchased his 
interest from the estate and has since conducted the business alone. The old 
yards, now a part of the city of Chester, have been greatly enlarged since the 
early days of the firm, and the business extended to include all coal lines, lum- 
ber, cement, lime, terra cotta and builders' supplies of kindred nature. 
The business is an extensive, prosperous one and ably managed. Mr. Mc- 
Dowell is a director of the Penn National Bank of Chester, vice-president of 
the Iron Workers Building .\ssociation, and treasurer of the West End Free 
Library. 

He is a Republican in [)olitics, and in 1886 was elected to fill the vacancy 
on the Chester school board, caused by the death of his father, serving until 
1912. In 1902 he was elected treasurer of Delaware County, holding that re- 



DELAWARE COUNTY 575 

sponsible position for three years. For ten years he served as secretary of the 
executive committee of the RepubUcan County Committee, was alternate dele- 
gate to the Republican National Convention that nominated William McKin- 
ley for presiden*^ in 1896, and has since been delegate to innumerable State and 
County conventions of his party. He has always been interested in the \^olun- 
teer Fire Department of Chester ; was one of the organizers and a charter mem- 
ber of Felton Engine Company, and for eighteen years served as its president. 
He is prominent in the Masonic order, belonging to Chester Lodge, No. 236, 
Free and .\ccepted Masons: Chester Chapter, No. 258. Royal Arch Masons: 
Chester Commandery, No. 66, Knights Templar, and Lulu Temple, .\ncient 
.A.rabic Order Nobles of the Mystic Shrine, of Philadelphia. He also belongs 
to the Junior Order of American Mechanics, and to the Young ]\Ien's Republi- 
can Club. In religious faith he is a member of the Methodist Episcopal 
Church. 

Mr. McDowell married in Chester, November 25, 1888. Elizabeth K. 
Law, born in Philadelphia, January 14, 1870, daughter of John (born in Ire- 
land) and Martha (Doak) Law, he a brick manufacturer and an ex-burgess 
of Chester, where both now reside. Children of Mr. and Mrs. ]\IcDowell, 
both born in Chester : Harold, March 29, 1892, educated in the public schools 
and Swarthmore Preparatory School, now engaged in business with his father: 
Wesley J. (2), born September 23, 1899. 



\M:i!e three generations of this family have been prominent 
MORRIS in the business and professional life of Chester, they originally 

came from Delaware, where Charles J. Morris, grandfather of 
Frank S. Morris, was born in 1833. He was a posthumous child, his father 
dying two months prior to the birth of his son. Charles J. Morris learned the 
sailmaker's trade and moved to Boston where he established a sailmaker's loft : 
later he moved to Machias. Maine, remaining two years ; he then returned to 
Boston and vicinity, and finally in November, 1867, he came to Chester, where 
he again established a loft, but later moved his business to Philadelphia, re- 
taining his residence in Chester, where he died in 1885. He married, in Bos- 
ton, Almira Josephine Gardner, of Machias, Maine, a descendant of the 
Massachusetts family of Colonial and Revolutionary fame. She died in 1902, 
aged sixty-nine years. 

Qiarles E., son of Charles J. and .\lmira Josephine (Gardner) Morris, 
was born in Boston, May 8, 1856. He followed the many removals of his par- 
ents, obtaining some schooling, but early became a bread winner. When a 
lad of twelve years he hired as cook for a number of fisherman, who lived dur- 
ing the season in a cabin on the shores of Delaware Bay, but there was a poor 
catch and there was no money for the cook's wages. He helped in the restau- 
rant his parents kept in Chester for a time and picked up such jobs t!.s came in 
his way. In December, 1871, he found employment as a helper at John Roach's 
ship-yard, where he remained until the following March, then shipped on the 
L^nited States revenue cutter, "Colfax," but later was transferred to the "Ham- 
ilton." In the fall of 1872, being then but sixteen years of age, he left the 
vessel and upon returning from a day"s shooting of reed birds on Chester 
Island, he was apprehended by L^nited States authorities and when the facts 
were presented to the department he was discharged from the service in De- 
cember. He worked in the restaurant until the summer of 1874, then opened 
a stand for the sale of refreshments at the Market street wharf in Chester. 
When the river season closed, he shipped as cook on the revenue cutter, 
"Seward," but the crew were soon discharged. Returning to Chester, he en- 



5/6 DELAWARE COUNTY 

tered the employ of Irving & Leeper, a manufacturing company; he then 
worked at Henry Goff's hotel until 1878, when he secured work in the folding 
department of the Eddystone Print Works, at a salary of six dollars weekly. 
In 1879 he married, and after the wedding fee was paid was the proud posses- 
sor of a wife and two dollars in cash, but he had an immense capital of courage 
and encrg)', and he contrived to make a living for both by doing extra work. 
In March, 1881, he secured a position at forty dollars per month, with the 
I'nited States Coast Survey, then charting the Delaware River. During the 
following winter he worked in Roach's ship-yard, and gvmned for ducks, then 
a profitable occupation. In May, 1882, he became bartender at the Washing- 
ton House, a pre-revolutionary hostelry with an interesting history, then kept 
by Henry Abbott. It was at the Washington House that in April, 1902, the 
Delaware County Chapter of the r)aiighters of the Revolution placed a bronze 
tablet in commemoration of the fact, that there at midnight, September 11, 
1777, General Washington wrote the only report of the battle of Brandywine, 
and at the same hotel, April 20, 1789, he received the congratulations of the 
people of Chester upon his election as first president of the United States. 

Mr. Morris remained with Mr. .\bbott ten years, and when the latter was 
appointed assistant sergeant at arms of the Pennsylvania House of Represent- 
atives, Mr. Morris was promoted to be manager, with an agreement that vir- 
tually amounted to a partnership. On December 13, 1894, Mr. Morris entered 
into a contract with Mr. Abbott to purchase the Washington House at a valu- 
ation of fifty-seven thousand dollars, and in February, 1895, he became abso- 
lute owner and proprietor. He has had a prosperous career and from time to 
time has added to the value of hi'= property by extensive and costly modern 
improvements. 

Charles E. Morns married. January 20, 1879, Ellen I. P., daughter of 
John and Mary Stewart. Children: Frank S., of whom further; Herman 
jardella. born October 13, 1881, died May T2, 1889. 

Frank S., son of ("harles E. and Plllen I. P. (.Stewart) Morris, was born 
in Chester, Pennsylvania. January 21, 1880. He was educated in the public 
scliools of that city. In 1898 he entered the law office of John B. Hannuni, as 
clerk, and at once began legal study, continuing there until 1902, when he 
passed the required examinations and was admitted to the bar. He practiced 
with his preceptor, Mr. Hannum, then with Ward P. Bliss, later with A. B. 
Geary, then established his own offices in Chester and practiced alone. He 
has given a great deal of attention to criminal law and for the length of 
time he has been a member of the bar has figured in practically as many im- 
p(irtant criminal cases as any other member of the Delaware County bar. He 
ha= been a successful advocate, and is rapidly acquiring not only local but state 
reputation in criminal law. He is a deep student and in the conduct of his 
cases makes careful study and search for precedent. In a recent case of a 
tenant seeking relief from an extortionate landlord, Mr. Morris, with the aid 
of A. B. Geary. Esq., unearthed a law passed by the English Parliament in 
1267 that bore so plainly on the case at issue, that he secured a favorable ver- 
dict for his client. With his deep knowledge of law and his capacity for work, 
it needs no prophet to determine Mr. Morris's future as a lawyer. He has a 
trained mind, quartered in a healthy body that is kept at concert pitch by ath- 
letic exercise of all kinds, his favorite sports being horseback riding, fishing 
and yachting, the latter perhaps his special delight, his handsome yacht being 
kept in commission in all but the extreme winter months. He is a contributing 
member of Essington Fire Company ; member of the Alpha Boat Club ; The 
""I'oung Men's Rci)ubHcan Club, The Essington Republican Club and the Tini- 
cum Republican Club. He is a member of the Benevolent and Protective Or- 



DELAWARE COUNTY 577 

der of Elks and Fraternal Order of Eagles, of Chester. In politics he is a 
Republican, but beyond serving as judge of election and county committeeman 
from the Tinicum District of Delaware County, has never accepted public 
office. 

He married, in Camden, New Jersey, December, 1904, Gerzella, daugh- 
ter of William and Jennie (Rogers) Miller, of Essington. William Miller, de- 
ceased, was a hotel proprietor of Essington and is there survived by his wife 
and five children. 



From early days the name of Dutton has been known in Dela- 
DUTTON ware county. In 1682, on October 8, Charles Ashcom, a sur- 
veyor returned five hundred acres of land laid out for John 
Dutton on the west side of Upland Creek in .Aston township and tradition 
says that John Dutton settled on the land, built a house in the meadow near 
the creek, but being disturbed by floods, removed a few rods farther away and 
erected his dwelling on a large rock near a small rivulet. It is also stated that 
the family of John Dutton followed an Indian path through the forest, when 
they moved from Chester to their land. 

Jonathan Dutton founded a family in Middletown township and on No- 
vember 12, 1792, bought a grist mill from Nicholas Fairlamb. When his son, 
John Dutton, became of legal age he was placed in charge of the mill, which 
became his property at the death of Jonathan Dutton, the father in 1820. 
Jonathan (2) Dutton succeeded his father John in the ownership of the mills 
and in 1843, during the great flood, was driven from floor to floor by the rising 
water and finally just before the mill was swept away leaped into the rushing 
torrent and succeeded in reaching safety one hundred yards below. The mills 
were rebuilt in 1844 and on the death of Jonathan (2) Dutton. September 18, 
1880. they were inherited by his son George G. Dutton, the fourth generation 
of Duttons to own and operate the mills during a period covering nearly a 
century. 

Thomas Dutton, a grandson of Richard Dutton, was born in Aston town- 
ship, February 2, 1769, died in the same township, his span of life having cov- 
ered one hundred years, seven months and eleven days. He was a boy during 
the Revolution, remembered hearing the cannon fired in Philadelphia, at the 
-signing of the Declaration of Independence, voted for George Washington for 
his second term and except for Monroe at his first term, had voted at every 
presidential election, casting his last ballot for Gen. Grant in November, 1868: 
On February 2, 1869, when Thomas Dutton completed his century of life, his 
family connections and friends assembled at his home in Aston township in 
celebration of the event. Only three instances are recorded in Delaware coun- 
ty of persons who lived to a greater age than Thomas Dutton. 

In 1850, Nathan P. Dutton, while attending a public sale of household 
goods, at a house near Village Green, was struck by lightning and lived but 
five minutes thereafter. Rachel Dutton, his mother, was in an adjoining 
room, but was unhurt. On being told of the fate of her son, she came to him 
at once and labored over him for nearly half an hour, then gradually lost con- 
sciousness and died about three-quarters of an hour after the death of her son. 

The Duttons were members of the Society of Friends for many genera- 
tions, from the emigrant John Dutton, the early settler in Aston township. 
Many of the name yet adhere to the austere faith of their fathers, while others 
have connected with other christian denominations, but whether as Friends, 
Presbyterians, Baptists or Methodists, they have ever been a family of high 
standing in their communities. God-fearing, honorable and upright 
38 



578 DELAWARE CC^L'XTY 

Harwell Beeson Dutton of Chester, Pennsylvania, is a son of Frank and 
Martha (Lieeson) Dutton of Chester, Delaware county, where Frank Dutton 
was born March 3, 1850. He was educated in the public schools of Upper 
Chichester township and at Barlons Boarding School at Village Green. He 
was a farmer and butcher of Twin Oaks until the year 1900, when he retired 
and is now living in Chester, Pennsylvania. He is a Republican in politics 
and for many years served as school director and supervisor of Upper Chi- 
chester township. He is a member of the Methodist Episcopal Church and 
for many years served as steward and trustee. He belongs to the Masonic 
order, affiliated with Lucius H. Scott Lodge, No. 352. He married .Martha, 
daughter of Amor and Louisa (Cloud) Beeson, he a deceased farmer of Dela- 
ware county. His widow married (second) William H. Henderson, a farmer 
of Centreville, Delaware, whom she also survives, a resident of Wilmington, 
Delaware. Children of Frank Dutton, all born in Upper Chichester township : 
Elmer G., born May iq, 1878, now a clerk in the Chester National Bank, mar- 
ried Lena P.onsall and resides in Chester; Lawrence A., born June 11, 1880, 
now a farmer and butcher of Twin C^aks, married Eunice Whiteley of Wil- 
mington, I^elaware : Louisa B., born August 29, 1882, married Lloyd Norris 
PTall, a salesman for the Carnegie Steel Company, residing at Ridley Park; 
Harwell Beeson (see forward) ; F. Herman, born April 24. 1888. now a mer- 
chant and farmer of Twin Oaks, married Amy Erwin ; Wilmer C. born Sep- 
tember II, 1890, clerk for James Boyd & Company, married Florence Bardsley 
and resides in Ridley Park ; Irwin V., born April 29, 1892, clerk. First Nation- 
al Bank, Chester, Pennsylvania. 

Llarwell Beeson Dutton was born at Twin Oaks. Delaware county, Penn- 
i^ylvania, December 28. 1886. He attended the public schools of Upper Chi- 
chester township. Twin Oaks and Boothwyn in Delaware county, then entered 
Chester high school, whence he was graduated class of 1904. He then took a 
course at Swarthmore College, graduating class of 1908, then matriculated at 
the LIniversity of Pennsylvania, law department, whence he was graduated 
LL.B. class of 191 2. He was admitted to the Delaware county bar in December 
1911, and on receiving his degree from the University began the practice of his 
profession in Chester with offices at No. 40 and No. 42 Cambridge Building. 
He is a member of the Delaware County Bar Association ; has served as secre- 
tary of the Chester Board of Trade from February. 1912, till March, 1913; is a 
member of Theta Lambda Phi, legal fraternity. University of Pennsylvania: 
I^ucius H. Scott Lodge, No. 352, Free and Accepted Masons, a charter metii- 
ber of the Chester Club, and is a communicant of Mount Hope Methodist 
Episcopal Church at \'illagc Green, lie is gaining a .satisfactory practice and 
is devoted to his profession. 



From the maritime country of Louth. Province (if Leinster. 
WATSON Irelanfl, came Thomas, son of Roliert Watson, who lived and 

died in his native isle. 
Thomas Watson was born in Louth in 1834. was left an orphan at an early 
age, came to the United States and died in Chester, Pennsylvania, February 7, 
1900. He was eighteen years of age when he came to the L'nited States in 
company with his sister Bridget and brothers. James and Patrick. He located 
in Holmesburg, now a part of Philadelphia, where he followed his trade of 
horseshoer. In 1859 he located in Chester, where he established the business 
now owned by his son. He contintied there in prosperous business, honored 
and respected until his death in 1900. He was a Democrat in politics and a de- 
voted member of the Roman Catholic Chiuxh. He married Sarah McPherson, 



THE Ni... ....... 

PUBLIC LIBRARY 



A8T0R, LENOX AHO 
TILDEN fOUNDATK3»«. 






/^ /7^<^^- 



j^E ^EW YOKK 



^iiqlG UBRARV] 



DELAWARE COUNTY 579 

born in county Donegal. Ireland, who died in Chester in 1896, daughter of 
John and Kate McPherson, he a grain merchant of Castle Finn, County 
Donegal. Children (all but the first born in Chester, Pennsylvania) : Robert 
(of further mention) ; John, born August 2, i86i, now superintendent of the 
American Steel Foundries at Chester, married Mary Welsh ; James, born 
March 3, 1864. now a horseshoer of Chester, married Elizabeth Bradbury ; 
Thomas, born October 29, 1866, now superintendent of the pattern department 
of the New Castle Steel Casting Company, married (first) Mary Mackey, 
(second) Ida Eioyer; Catherine, born 1868, now Sister Agatha of the Con- 
vent of The Immaculate Heart. Oak View. Delaware county, Pennsylvania; 
Mary, born 1870. married John Hamilton, an employee of the Sharpless Man- 
ufacturing Company and lives in West Chester. Pennsylvania: Joseph, born 
1872. died 1890: Frances, Sarah and Susanna, all died in childhood. 

Robert Watson, son of Thomas and Sarah (McPherson) Watson, was 
born in Byberry township, Bucks county, Pennsylvania, June 15, 1859. He 
was but two months old when his parents moved to Chester and there his life 
has been spent. He attended the public schools of Chester, entering high 
school where he remained until 1875. He then secured a position in the armor 
plate weighing department at the Roach Ship Yard, remaining two years, then 
going with his father who taught him the horseshoer's trade. He worked at 
his trade for five years, then in 1882, entered the employ of George B. Wood- 
man, grocer at Thirteenth and Market streets, Philadelphia, with whom he re- 
mained until 1888. In that year he returned to Chester, resuming work at his 
trade with his father, continuing until the death of the latter, when he became 
owner of the business which he continues very successfully at No. 119 East 
Fifth street. He is a Republican in politics and from 1903 until 191 1 served 
as member of the city council from the Third Ward. He was then employed 
by Mayor Ward, commissioner of highways, his term to expire in 1915. He 
has proved a most efficient commissioner, the number of macadamized streets 
in 1912, exceeding that of any previous year in the history of the city. He is 
also president of the Keystone Wire Board Box Company, incorporated in 
the state of Delaware. He has been a member of Hanley Fire Company twen- 
ty-five years and has served as trustee nine years. He is Past Grand Worthy 
President of Chester Lodge. No. 159, Fraternal Order of Eagles; Past Dictator 
of Chester Lodge. No. 285. Loyal Order of Moose, and for four years was a 
member of the credentials committee : member of the Heptasophs. and of the 
Modern Woodmen of America, Charter Oak Camp, No. 5806. 

Robert Watson married in Chester. August 26. 1896, Bessie Harkins, 
daughter of Joseph and Elizabeth (McGlone) Harkins. both born in Ireland, 
came to the Ignited States, where he died in 1906. aged ninety-eight years ; his 
wife died in 1902. Children: Frances, died young: Catherine, burn in Chester, 
June I, 1909: Dorothy, born in Chester, April 3, 1911. 



Just why the term "Captains of industry" should be applied to 
ROACH present day financiers, solely because tliey have financed great ■ 

industries, is not easily explained. But among those who justly 
bear the proud title must ever stand foremost. John Roach and his no less capa- 
ble son. John B. Roach, and when the industrial record of the United States 
shall be made up for final inspection, no names will have better title to the 
"Roll of fame" than they. The name Roach foriginally Roche) is best known 
in connection with iron and steel shipbuilding on the Delaware river at Chester, 
although for years prior to the coming to Pennsylvania, John Roach was a fore- 
most iron manufacturer and heavy engine builder of New York City. When 



58o DELAWARE COUNTY 

the demand for an iron clad navy arose, it was to John Roach that the govern- 
ment turned for their first steel ships, yet it was from the hands of the same 
government that he received the blow that swept away his fortune and carried 
him to his grave. 

John Roach, shipbuilder and manufacturer, was born at Mitchelstown, 
County Cork, Ireland, December 25, 181 5, son of a merchant of high standing 
and integrity. His mother was a woman of intelligence, an untiring worker 
with a keen and a buoyant spirit, qualities she transmitted to her son. John 
was the eldest son of a large family and until he was thirteen years of age re- 
ceived the best educational advantage his birthplace afforded. At that age a 
crisis occurred in his father's affairs caused by his endorsing heavily for a 
friend, and in the struggle to make his endorsement good, he broke down his 
health and soon afterwards died. At the age of sixteen John decided to come 
to the United States, believing his industry and ambition would there bring 
him better returns than elsewhere. He landed in New York and then traveled 
sixty miles on foot to Allaire, in Monmouth County, New Jersey (now a for- 
gotten village), and there secured work at the Howell Iron Works, then a pros- 
perous enterprise in a prosperous village. He began at a wage of twenty-five 
cents daily, but by his industry and bright cheery manner, made a most favora- 
ble imjjression on the owner of the works, James P. Allaire, who advanced 
liim and gave him every advantage possible. In a few years he had by careful 
saving and increasing his savings in other ways, twelve hundred dollars on de- 
posit with Mr. Allaire, and in 1840 he drew five hundred dollars of it and jour- 
neyed westward to Illinois, where he purchased three hundred acres of land 
where the city of Peoria now stands, paying his five hundred dollars as a par- 
tial payment. About this time i\lr. Allaire failed and Mr. Roach lost not only 
the seven hundred dollars, due him, but also the five hundred dollars paid on his 
land. He at once obtained a position in New York City, where he learned to 
make marine engine castings and similar foundry work, receiving one dollar 
per day. He again accumulated a small capital, then in company with three 
of his fellow workmen he purchased a small foundry in New York and was 
again started on the road to prosperity. He soon bought out his partners, en- 
larged his works and in 1856 was worth thirty thousand dollars. In that year 
his plant was destroyed by the explosion of a boiler; he was not able to collect 
the insurance, and after paying all his debts and obligations of every kind, 
found liimself again without a dollar. But he had established a name in the 
business world for enterprise and integrity, that now proved to have a money 
value. He was able to secure substantial credit, rebuild his works and as the 
Etna Iron Works entered upon an era of great prosperity. He specialized in 
the heaviest type of marine engine, and built up an immense business. He 
built the great engines for the steam ram "Dunderberg;" those used in the 
steam frigate "Neshaning," and in the Sound steamers "Bristol" and "Provi- 
dence," all of which were the largest ever built in the United States at that 
time. In 1868 his business was increased to such an extent that he purchased 
the immense plant of the Morgan Iron Works in New York City, and soon 
afterwards the Neptune Works, the Franklin Forge and the .Allaire Iron 
Works, and Reany Son & Archbold shipyard at Chester, Pennsylvania. This 
latter [irojierty was already a well established yard, fairly well equipped, with 
a river frontage of about a quarter of a mile on the widest and deepest portion 
of the Delaware river. A number of vessels had been built there, including 
several monitors for the United States Government. The firm of John B. 
Roach & Son was now re-organized as the Delaware River Iron Shipbuilding 
& F.ngine Works, the Chester plant in charge of John B. Roach, becoming the 
largest part of their business. This plant will be more fully spoken of in the 



DELAWARE COUNTY 581 

portion devoted to John B. Roach, who was in charge there, his father rarely 
visiting the works oftener than once a week. John Roach, as president, con- 
ducted the financial affairs of the corporation from New York, and supervised 
the operation of the New York Works. The great bulk of the work done at 
both Chester and New York was, until after the Civil War, with private parties 
and corporations. Previous to 1865, the only work done for the government 
was in the building of large engines for government war vessels. He became 
convinced that a radical change was required in the construction of marine 
engines and advised the government that much of the machinery they were 
buying was a waste of money. This resulted in the Navy Department order- 
ing Mr. Roach to build compound engines for the "Tennessee." He had great 
plans for building up our merchant marine and interested prominent statesmen 
in his project. In 1875 he constructed a sectional dry dock at Pensacola and in 
1883 began the construction at Chester, of the famous dispatch boat "Dolphin," 
and the cruisers "Atlanta," "Boston" and "Chicago," the first ships of the new 
navy. These were built under the direction of the Naval Advisory Board, au- 
thorized by Congress and appointed by the President, consisting of two civi' 
engineers and several naval officers, who drew plans, models and specification , 
for the cruisers. When the "Dolphin" was completed, she was accepted by 
the board, after a trial, as coming up to the conditions and requirements of the 
contract. The then secretary of the navy, William C. Whitney, refused to ac- 
cept the vessel and appointed another board to put her through further special 
tests. He also ruled that Mr. Roach's contract was not legal. As his large 
capital was involved in these contracts, his failure to effect a settlement with 
the government led him for the protection of his bondsmen and creditors to 
stop business. On July 18, 1885, he made an assignment and from that day 
until he lost consciousness he could never refer to the subject without uncon- 
trollable emotion. His life was a marvel of industrial labor and he impressed 
his genius and individuality upon the time in which he lived, probably to a 
greater extent than any other .-\merican manufacturer. His life was typical 
of the great possibilities open to a man of courage, initiative and energy, being 
dominated by rare fortitude, courage and perseverance, and combined with his 
abilities, commanded national and international regard, closing as it did amid 
circumstances that excited the warmest human sympathy. Under the strain 
his powerful constitution and iron will broke, and he died January 10, 1887, 
of cancer of the mouth, similar to that which caused the death of General 
Grant. 

He married, in 1837, in New Jersey, Emmeline Johnson. Two of his sons 
were eminent in the business world, John Baker Roach, of whom further, and 
Stephen W. Roach, who was connected with the Morgan Iron Works, of New 
York City. 

John Baker Roach was born in the city of New York, December 7, 1839, 
second in a family of seven sons and two daughters. He was educated at 
Ashland Collegiate Institute, Greene County, New York, and began business 
life in a wholesale coffee establishment, but later entered his father's office. 
The confinement was injurious to his health and for a time he was manager 
of a large farm in Dutchess County, New York, owned by his father, where he 
regained health and strength. After the purchase of the Morgan Iron Works 
by John Roach in 1867, he admitted John B. Roach as a partner under the 
firm name, John Roach & Son. In 1871 when the shipyard at Chester was pur- 
chased, it was decided to place the son in active management of that branch, 
which later made the name of Roach famous. Immediately after the purchase 
of the yard and the organization of the Delaware River Iron Shipbuilding and 
Engine Works, John Roach, president, John B. Roach, Secretary, and repre- 



.-,82 DELAWARE COUNTY 

sentative of his father, they began building iron steamships on a scale hitherto 
unheard of. New Hnes were established, and old ones encouraged to add to 
ilieir fleets the style of iron ships, which the old sea captains contemptuously 
iubbed "tin ships." One after another the steamship companies placed orders 
for the "Roach ships," and in three years a force of two thousand men, drawn 
from the surrounding states, was employed at the Chester Works. At the 
other Roach industries an equal number were employed in the furnishing of 
material and building engines for the ships at Chester. The great forges, foun- 
deries and shops were kept running at full speed and an era of great prosperity 
for Chester set in. The first iron vessel built by the Roach firm was the "City 
of San .Antonio," a small vessel for the Mallory line, followed by many others 
for the same company, including in 1904 the "San Jacinto," a double screw 
steamship, the finest coasting steamer ever constructed. On March 18, 1874, 
the Pacific Mail Steamship "City of Peking" was launched, at that time the 
largest ship in the world, except the "Great Eastern." There stands to the 
credit of the Roach yard the first compound engines ever built in this country ; 
the first iron sailing ship, and the first steel ships, the "Dolphin," "Chicago," 
"Boston" and ".Atlantic," the first vessels of our modern navy. After the as- 
signment made by John Roach, on July 18, 1885, the business on hand was 
closed up and in 1887 the company re-organized with John B. Roach, presi- 
dent of the Delaware River Works and vice-president of the Morgan Iron 
Company. He was in complete charge of the Chester plant and in a short 
time the company was again in a prosperous condition. The Roaches were 
pioneers in iron shipbuilding, and in all the years since, their shipyard has been 
one of the leading yards in the country. There have been built the finest of 
steamships, steamboats, ferry boats, yachts and sailing ships to the value of 
many millions of dollars, and at the great works has been educated one of the 
finest bodies of mechanics to be found in any industry in the country. Dur- 
ing all the years no strike, or serious difficulty, has occurred at the yards, Mr. 
Roach's policy having always been to deal with his men direct and to listen in 
person to every legitimate complaint. These men built the "Priscilla," then the 
largest and handsomest steamboat leaving New York Harbor, and the product 
of their skill may be found in every United States Port. Mr. Roach was per- 
sonally familiar with the details of the construction of every vessel laid down 
in the vard, and few men in any business so completely grasped the details of 
a complicated industry as he. Every mechanic in the yard recognized him as 
a critical judge of the work and all strove for his approval. Besides his large 
interests in the shipbuilding company, he became a director of the Seaboard 
Steel Casting Company, the Chester National Rank, the Cambridge Trust 
Company, and gave financial sujjport to many enterprises of a minor nature. 
His career as a shipbuilder rivals that of his father, whose close business asso- 
ciate he was for many years, while as representative and successor at the head 
of the great Chester shipbuilding plant he has always been supreme. True 
"Captains of industry" both, and identified with every plate, beam, bolt, shaft 
or part of the great engines and ships they built. Pioneers in a full sense, 
they gave to the world a new industry and to the city of Chester a posterity 
and a name that shall ever endure. In political faith Mr. Roach is a Republi- 
can. He is a member of the Union League of Philadelphia, the Engineers' 
Club of New York, and the Penn Club of Chester. 

He married, in 1861, Mary Caroline, daughter of David and Gertrude 
Wallace of Staatsburg, New York. Of their eleven children, five grew to adult 
years: Sarah E., died in 1893, married Charles E. Schuyler, of New York; 
Emmcline Wallace, married, in 1892, \\'illiam C. Sproul. the capitalist and 
statesman of Chester; Marv Garretta, married (first) in 1803, Dr. Frederick 



THE NEW YORK I 
PUBLIC LIBRARY 



DELAWARE COUNTY 583 

Farwell Long Jr.. who died in May, 1906, and she married (second) in Decem- 
ber, 1912, George Forbes, lawyer, of Bakimore. Maryland; John, married, in 
.89CJ. Hortense Moller, of Hoboken. New Jersey, and resides in New York; 
William AlcPherson. 

William McPherson Roach, youngest son of John B. Roach, was born in 
Chester, Pennsylvania, December 23, 1877. He was educated in private 
schools, Pennsylvania Military College, Chester, and Columbia University, 
leaving the latter in his junior year. He resides in Chester engaged in the 
management of his own private estate. He is a Republican in politics. He 
married, in the City of Mexico, April 25, 1906, Julia Josefina Enriqueta Hidal- 
goy de Vries, daughter of Senator Don Juan Hidalgo. Child : Juan Federico 
Farwell Hidalgo Roach, born in Mexico City, February 2, 1907. 



Although a resident of Chester since childhood, Mr. Benjamin C. 
FOX Fox was born in Germany, bemg brought to Chester when young. 
He was born February 24, 1868, and obtained his primary educa- 
tion in the public schools of Chester. In 1889 he entered Pennsylvania Mili- 
tary Institute at Chester, continuing through a course of three years. Choos- 
ing the profession of law he began study under the preceptorship of Judge 
W illiam B. Broomall, continuing his studies under the judge's instruction un- 
til 1895, when he was admitted to the Delaware County bar. He at once be- 
gan the practice of law in Chester and now is well established in practice with 
offices in his own, the Fox Building, on Welsh, near the corner of Fifth street, 
Chester. He has been for several years largely interested in real estate in all 
sections of Chester, and until recently was the owner of the large building on 
the corner of Fifth and Welsh streets, now used by the New Chester Water 
Company. The Fox Building adjoining, recently completed, is an office build- 
ing and one of his latest improvements to the city. 

Mr. Fox has always been interested in public affairs ; is a firm believer in 
the commission form of government for American cities, and in his study of 
the best forms of municipal government has traveled all over the United States, 
Great Britain, and the countries of Continental Europe. He is a Republican in 
politics and in 191 1 was a candidate at the primaries for the nomination for 
mayor of Chester. He is an active member of the Chester Board of Trade, 
served for three years as secretary, and in 1909 was president. He is a mem- 
ber of the Masonic order belonging to Chester Lodge, No. 236, Free and Ac- 
cepted Masons; Chester Chapter, No. 258, Royal Arch Masons; Chester Com- 
mandery. No. 66, Knights Templar, and Lulu Temi)le, Nobles of the Mystic 
.Shrine, of Philadelphia. He is also a member of the Tall Cedars, No. 21, 
and Chester Lodge, No. 488, l^jenevolent and Protective Order of Elks. 

Mr. Fox married, December 30, 191 1, in New York City, Ingeborg Jor- 
genscn, born in Copenhagen. Denmark. 



Tracing English family history back through the centuries, 
DOWNING the antiquarian finds a clear line of Downing descent from 

Geoffrey Downing, born March 7, 1524. He was a dignitary 
of county Essex, styled ''gentleman" and bore arms : "Gules a fesse naire, be- 
tween two lions passant, quadrant ermine." Crest : "Out of a ducal coronet 
a swan or." The quartering and color show royal descent, which came 
through the marriages with Plantagenets. of both Geoffrey Downing and his 
grandson Calybut. Geoffrey married October 8, 1548, Elizabeth Winfield and 
died September 17, 1593, leaving male issue. 



584 DELAWARE COUNTY 

/\rtliur Downing, son of Geoffrey Downing, was Ijorn at the family seat 
in county Essex, England, Pynest, Poles, Belchano, born x\ugust i, 1550, died 
at Lexham, county Norfolk, England, September 19, 1606. He married June 
lO- 1573> Susan Calybut and had issue: Calybut, see forward; John, born 1581, 
died 1617: Dorothy, born 1584, died 1651 : Anna, born 1586, died 1658; Susan, 
born 1589, died 1642. 

Calybut Downing, eldest son of Arthur Downing, was born June 1. 1574, 
and had his estates in Sherrington, Gloucestershire, England, where he died in 
1642. He married (first) January 8. 1594, Elizabeth (Winfield) Morrison, 
widow of Edward Morrison. He married (second) August 5, 1604, Anna 
Ilogan ; children: Emanuel, see forward: Calybut (2), born 1596, died 1644; 
Elizabeth, born 1598, died 1660; Susan, 1601, died 165 1. 

Emanuel Downing, son of Calybut Downing, was born at Sherrington, 
Gloucestershire, England, December 10, 1594, died in London. England, July 
26, 1676. He resided in Sherrington, Dublin, Ireland, Salem, Massachusetts 
(coming to America in 1638), and London, England. He married (first) 
June 7, 1614, a Miss Ware of Dublin, ( second) April 10, 1622, Lucy Win- 
throp ; children by second marriage : George, born 1625. died 1654 ; Nicholas, 
born 1627, died 1698; Henry, see forward. 

Henry Downing, son of Emanuel Downing, was born March 10, 1630, 
died September 25, 1698. He held an officer's commission in the Kings Own 
Guards and had his family seat at East Hatley, Cambridgeshire, England. He 
married, June 2, 1665, Jane Clotworthy, and had issue : .Adam, see forward ; 
John, born 1667, died 1736; George, born 1668, died 1729: Elizabeth, born 
1669, died 1740: Daniel, born 1670, died 1733; Anne, born 1672, died 1674; 
Margaret, born 1675, died 1723; Anne, born 1678, died 1757. 

Colonel Adajii Downing, eldest son of Henry Downing, was born March 
18, 1666, died May 17, 1719. He was a resident of London (Downing street) 
for many years ; a strong partisan of King William of Orange and accompan- 
ied him to Ireland in 1689, holding the rank of colonel ; fought at the siege of 
Londonderry ("Derry"), and was later deputy governor of Londonderry coun- 
ty. He married, November 15, 1693, Margaret Jackson, of Colerain, county of 
Derry, Ireland, and had issue: Henry, born 1697, died 1712: John, see for- 
ward. 

John Downing, youngest son of Colonel Adam Downing, was born April 
16, 1700, died September 3, 1762. He was a resident of Dawsons Bridge, Bel- 
fast and Rowesgift in Derry. He married, June 10, 1727, Margaret Rowe, 
of Rowesgift, and had issue: Clotworthy, see forward: Dawson, born 1739, 
died 1808; John, born 1740, died 1792. 

Clotworthy Downing, son of John Downing, was born April 4, 1728, spent 
fiis life at Dawson's Bridge. Ballaghy and Rowesgift in Derrv, and died No- 
vember 13, 1801. He married, June 14, 1753. Elizabeth Gifford, and had is- 
sue: William, see forward: John, born i/fio. died 1820: Gifford. born 1762, 
died 1830. 

William Downing, son of Clotworthy Downing, was born March 13, 1754, 
died .\pril 10, 1803, after a life spent in his native county at Dawson's Bridge, 
Ballaghy and Rowesgift. He married August 5, 1784, Jane Colwell, of Money- 
more, in county Derry; children: \\'illiam Colwell, born 178^1. married 181 1, 
died 1868; James, see forward. 

James Downing, son of William Downing, was born November 10, 1798, 
resided at Moneymore, comity Derry, and died February 14. 1874. He mar- 
ried, October 20, 1830, Elizabeth Brown Dufif, and had issue: Robert William, 
see forward: Jane Elizabeth, born 1837, died 1839. 

Robert William Downing, (nily son of James Downing, wa- Ixini January 



DELAWARE COUNTY 585 

22, 1835. He became a resident of the city of Philadelphia, where he rose to 
exceptional prominence in civic affairs. He also became an official of the 
Pennsylvania railroad, holding the position of assistant comptroller by appoint- 
ment in February, 1872, and being elected to that position in May, 1874. He 
resided in the fourteenth ward of Philadelphia, where he held the office of 
school director and represented that ward in select council 1871 to 1875, serv- 
ing as president of that body 1874-1875. He was also a member of the com- 
mission in charge of the erection of the city hall, Broad and Market streets ; 
member of the board of Fairmount Park commissioners ; member of the Board 
of City Trusts; member of the Board of Prison Inspectors for Philadelphia 
county and comptroller of the Board of Education. He served in the war be- 
tween the states as a non-commissioned officer of the Seventeenth Regiment 
Pennsylvania Volunteer Infantry. In poHtical faith he was a Republican. 

He married (first) March 8, 1854, Elizabeth Lefferts Addis, born March 
8, 1836, died December 13, 1885. He married (second) February i, 1887, 
Catherine Parker Dackson, of Pittsburgh, Pennsylvania. Children, first six by 
first marriage, two by second marriage ; Charles Gardner, born December 26, 
1854, married Mary Leah Brown, of Philadelphia, born September 17, 1857; 
Frank Taggart, see forward ; Robert Brown, born and died 1858 : William Col- 
well, born April 16, i860, married, 1883, Martha Jane Taylor of Philadelphia, 
born September 11, 1861 ; Lillian, born 1861, died 1882; Robert William (2), 
born 1864, married November 4, 1886, Charlesanna Heritage Myers of Phila- 
delphia, born August 5. 1866: Spencer Brown, born 1893; Roberta Brown, 
1895. 

Frank Taggart Downing, son of Robert William Downing and his first 
wife, was born in Philadelphia. February 21, 1857, resided in Moylan, Penn- 
sylvania, where he died in the fall of 1905. He was a well educated man and 
at the time of his death was assistant to the comptroller of the Pennsylvania 
railroad. He was a member of the Union League Club and a Republican in 
political affiliation. 

He married, in 1882, Belle Rank Howard, of Philadelphia, born May 13, 
1857: children: Frank Taggart (2), born and died February 7, 1885: Elizabeth 
Addis, born December 27, 1886, in Philadelphia, married Elwood J. Turner, 
(q. v.); Addis Howard, see forward: Isabel, born May 17, 1891, mar- 
ried, January 15, 1913, Charles Willing Huber, and resides in Merion, Penn- 
sylvania. 

Addis Howard Downing, son of Frank Taggart and Belle R. (Howard) 
Downing, was born in Philadelphia, February 14, 1889, of the fifteenth re- 
corded generation of his family, dating from Geoffrey Downing of Essex, Eng- 
land, 1524-1595. He attended a private school in Media, Pennsylvania, until 
he was twelve years of age, then until 1006 was a student at the Episcopal 
Academy on Locust street, Philadelphia ; then entered Phillip's Academy, Exe- 
ter, Massachusetts, whence he was graduated class of 1910. and then for one 
year was a student of the Wharton school. University of Pennsylvania. In De- 
cember, 1912, he located in Chester, Pennsylvania, establishing the real estate 
and insurance firm of A. H. Downing & Company, with offices in the Cam- 
iDridge building, where he is conducting a satisfactory business. He is an en- 
ergetic, capable young business man and inherits the many virtues of his 
sires. He is an independent in politics : an attendant of the Presbyterian 
church; member of Phi Kappa Psi (University of Pennsylvania). Kappa Epsi- 
lon Psi (Phillips Exeter Academy) ; the Canteen Club (University of Pennsyl- 
vania), and the Springhaven Country Club. 

Mr. Downing married. June 23, 1913, in St. Paul, Minnesota, Ruth Eve- 
lyn, born in St. Paul, daughter of Edward A. Konantz, a lumber dealer of that 



586 DELAWARE COUNTY 

citv and his wife, .Minnesota Hcndrickson. The family home is in Moylan, 
Delaware coiintv. 



From far-away Germany came about 1850. William 
NOTHNAGLE Nothnagle. born in Hesse' in 1837. who located in Ches- 
ter. Pennsylvania, where he engaged in the Initcher bus- 
iness until he retired in 1888. His death occurred in 1905. His widow. Ber- 
tha (Weis) Nothnagle. born in Germany, survives him. a resident of Chester, 
with her grandson. Dr. Frank R. Nothnagle. Children of William and Bertha 
(Weis) Nothnagle: i. Frank, born in Chester in 1861. now engaged in the 
butcher business there: married Lizzie Henry, of Chester, deceased. 2. 
Charles .-\.. of whom further. 3. Edward, born in Chester in 1865. now a 
painter and decorator: married Margaret GofT. and resides in Chester. 

(II) Charles A., son of William and Bertha (Weis) Nothnagle. was born 
in Chester. Pennsylvania. October 3. 1863. and is now a resident of Paulsboro. 
New Jersey. He'was educated in "the high school of Chester, and grew up as- 
his father's assistant in the meat market. I,ater he moved to Paulsboro, New 
Jersey, where he is now engaged in the same line, being proprietor of a mar- 
ket and meat business. He is a member of Chester Lodge. No. 236. Free and 
Accejned :\Iasons : in politics is a Republican : and in religion a member of the 
Episco])al Church. Mr. Nothnagle married Josephine Ireland, born in Chester, 
daughter of Joseph and Mary iVeland. both deceased: children: William, died 
in childhood": Charles, born 'February <). 1886. in Chester, now a machinist, 
married Beatrice Miller, of Paulsboro. where they reside: Frank R.. see for- 
ward. 

(HI) Dr. Frank R. Nothnagle, youngest son of Charles A. and Josephme 
(Ireland) Nothnagle, was born in Chester, Pennsylvania, July 9, 1888. He at- 
tended the public school there until he was about nine years of age, when his 
parents moved to Paulsboro, New Jersey. Here he continued his studies, and 
was graduated from the higli school in 1906. In September, 1906. he entered 
Jefferson Medical College." Philadelphia, whence he was graduated M. D. in 
"the class of 1910. He served one year as interne at Chester Hospital and 
then began private practice, locating at Second and Penn streets, Chester, 
where he is becoming well established as a safe, skillful and honorable physi- 
cian. He is on the obstetrical staff of Chester Hospital, and is a member of 
the American Medical Association, the State Medical Society and the Delaware 
County Medical Society. He also belongs to Chester Lodge No. 236. Free and 
Accepted Masons. . 

Dr. Nothnagle married. January 23. 1913. Florence Dyson, born in Ches- 
ter, daughter of George and Sarah ("Miller) Dyson, the latter born in England. 



The Alonihans of Ireland have long been an agricultural fam- 
MONIH.\N ily of that isle, some of them land owners, all men of good 
standing and intelligence. 
In this country the family was founded by James Monihan. who was 
well educated, a good linguist, and in New York was for many years interpre- 
ter at the emigration offices, aiding emigrants. He married and had issue. 

John, son of Tames Monihan. was born in Ireland in 1843- He came 
to the I'nited States before his marriage, settling in Brandywnnc, Pennsylvania, 
later moved to Landenberg, where he yet resides. He entered the employ of 
the Pennsylvania Railroad, served for many years and is now upon the retired 
list. He is a Democrat in politics, and state vice-president of the .Ancient Or- 



DELAWARE COUNTY 587 

der of Hibernians of Delaware Division, No. 4. In religious faith he is a 
member of the Roman Cathohc church. He married Juha Haley, born in 
Ireland, daughter of Matthew Haley, who settled in Brandywine prior to the 
marriage of his daughter and there died. Children of John Alonihan : i. James, 
married Mary Curry, of Bellefonte, Pennsylvania ; now is general yard master 
for the "Nickel Plate"' Railroad at Cleveland, Ohio. 2. Ella, married James 
Riley, of Philadelphia, both deceased. 3. Andrew, married Emily Murray, of 
Conshohocken, Pennsylvania ; resides in Philadelphia, freight claim investiga- 
tor for the Pennsylvania Railroad. 4. Julia, married Peter Lafferty, a rail- 
road conductor, now of Buffalo, New York. 5. Josephine, a teacher in the 
iVvondale, (Pennsylvania) high school. 6. Daniel Joseph, see forward. 

Dr. Daniel J. Monihan, son of John and Julia (Haley) Monihan, was born 
in Landenberg, Chester County. Pennsylvania, March 19, 18S2. He was edu- 
cated in the public schools, West Chester State Normal, leaving the latter in- 
stitution and taking a business course at Goldeys Business College at Wilming- 
ton, Delaware, in 1897. He then entered the employ of the Pennsylvania 
Railroad at Broad Street Station, Philadelphia, continuing until 1903, when he 
began the carrying out of a long formed plan. He entered the Medical De- 
partment of Medico-Chirurgical College, whence he was graduated M. D., 
class of May, 1907. After graduation he served as interne in the college hos- 
pital for eight months, then as interne in the Philadelphia General Hospital at 
Rlockley for eighteen months. He then began general practice at Crum Lynne, 
Delaware County, but in 1909 removed to Chester where he is now well estab- 
lished in practice, with offices at Broad Street and Morton Avenue. He was 
a member of the Surgical Society at college : is a present member of the Penn- 
sylvania State Medical Society, Delaware County Medical Society, Blockley 
Medical Society, Philadelphia Medical Club, .\mericus Council, No. 242, 
Knights of Columbus. In political faith Dr. Monihan is an independent, and 
he is a communicant of the Roman Catholic Church. He i~ unmarried. 



The Northams trace to ancient A'irginia families on both ma- 
NORTHAM ternal and paternal lines, the Northams and Byrds being of 
both Colonial and Revolutionary fame. The Byrd ancestry 
leads back to William Byrd, born 1A74, died 1744. He was educated in Eng- 
land, The Netherlands and France: was a fellow of the Royal Societv of 
England and came to \'irginia as receiver general of that province. He also 
served under three appointments as Colonial agent for \'irginia in London. 
For thirty-seven years he was a member of the provincial council of Virginia 
and was chosen its president. He had in his famous Virginia home "West- 
over," the largest private library in America and was one of the literary lights 
of his day. An excerpt from the Westover manuscripts left by him was pub- 
lished in Senator Lodge's "Classics of Literature." The home seat of the 
Northams was in .Accomack county, Virginia, where W'illiam Thomas Nort- 
ham owned a farm. He was of Revolutionary ancestry. 

William Byrd Northam, son of William Thomas Northam, was born at the 
family seat in Accomack county, October i. 1848, now a resident of Chester, 
Pennsylvania. He was educated in X'irginia, but at the age of twenty years lo- 
cated in Cape May county. New Jersey, where he engaged in farming. Later he 
moved to Phoenixville, Pennsylvania, where until 1888 he was employed in 
the iron works. In the latter year he located in Chester, Pennsylvania, where 
he is connected with the Chester Traction company. In political faith. Mr. 
Northam is a Republican, and in religious belief a Baptist. He belongs to Mo- 



588 DELAWARE COUNTY 

zart Lodge, Philadelphia, Free and Accepted Masons; the Junior Order of 
American Mechanics: the Shield of Honor and Knights of Malta. 

He married Mary Elizabeth Spare, born in Montgomery county, Pennsyl- 
vania, daughter of John Spare, a Civil War veteran, a survivor of the battle of 
Gettyslnirg, hift died the following August. He was a farmer of Montgomery 
county and a man of substance. His wife, who was Miss Bitting, died when her 
daugliter, Mary Elizabeth, was quite voung. Children of William Byrd Northam : 
George V., born .August 25, 1875, now foreman of the Lorain Steel Company at 
Lorain, Ohio, married Elizabeth Mathers of Chester, Pennsylvania ; Harry S., 
born November 18, 1877, now an electrician in Ohio, luarried ^laime Reynolds 
of Chester; William Byrd (2) (of whom further); Ella, born February 14, 
1881. married Alfred C. Thorpe, a coal dealer of Chester, their home; J. Al- 
bert, horn April, i88.^, now a salesman for Lewis Brothers, wholesale grocers, 
married Annie Taylor of Chester: Margaret M., born in 1885, married Harry 
Ruch, foreman of the Hot Water plant at Sharon Hill, Delaware county, Penn- 
sylvania ; Elsie, born IMarch 12, 1888, married Harry Hunter, clerk with the 
American Foundry Company and resides in Chester; Emily, born August 24, 
1891. married Albert P. Taylor, advertisement broker, and resides at LTpland, 
Pennsylvania ; Charles B., born April 24, 1895, now stenographer for the Tex- 
as Oil company and resides in Chester. 

William Byrd (2) Northam was born at Port Providence, Montgomery 
county, Pennsylvania, July 27, 1879. He attended the public schools of Ches- 
ter county ; in Schuylkill, township ; Oak Grove and Spring City. From the age 
of eleven to sixteen years he worked in the cotton mills, except for one term 
in the Chester schools. In 1895 he entered Williamson's Free Trade School, 
situated two miles from Media, took a full course and was graduated a ma- 
chinist and mechanical draughtsman in 1899. For three years of that period he 
worked in a Chester machine shop, that being the practical part of the course 
of study. In 1900 he began the study of law under the preceptorship of George 
B. Lindsay and William B. Harvey and on December 29, 1902, was adiriitted to 
the Delaware county bar. He at once began practice in Chester, opening offices 
at 140 East Seventh street, where he is well established in a satisfactory 
and growing practice. 

He is an independent Republican in politics ; a member of the Baptist 
Church ; the Junior Order of .'vmerican Mechanics, Col. David Houston Coun- 
cil No. 739, of which he is past councillor ; the Patriotic Sons of America, 
Washington Camp No, 81 ; and of the Delaware County Bar Association. Mr, 
Northam is unmarried. 



From Robert Taylor, of the Society of Friends from 1681, 
T.\"\T.OR down to the present, the Taylor family has been a leading one 

in Chester and Delaware counties. Robert Taylor from Little 
Leigh, Cheshire, England, came to this country in 1682. On March 3, of 1681. 
he purchased one thousand acres in Chester county, Pennsylvania, of which 
six hundred were in the neighborhood of the present village of Broomall, four 
hundred were situated south of the Springfield water basin and all conveyed 
to him under an original grant from William Peim, made March 3, 1681, 
surveyed, November 11, 1682. Robert Taylor was a mcmlier of the Society of 
Friends, married and the founder of an important, influential family. From 
him through the line of his eldest son sprang the author and poet. Bayard 
Taylor, and from the line of his seventh son, springs James Irvin Taylor, of 
Chester. 

Thomas Taylor, son of Robert Taylor, married Mary Howell. 



THE NEW 
PUBLIC U8«A^>J 



A8T0R, LENCHC ««• 
TIUOEN FOUND* ■nOKt. 




^r^A^^-^-^ <j<^-^^^^5^^ 



DELAWARE COUNTY 589' 

Thomas (2) Taylor, eldest son of Thomas (i) Taylor, married Mary 
Adams. 

Robert (2) Taylor, eldest son of Thomas (2) Taylor, married (second) 
Catherine McCloskey. He was a soldier in the Revolution. 

Robert (3) Taylor, son of Robert (2) Taylor, and his second wife, mar- 
ried Catherine Cummings, of Scotch descent. His father-in-law, James Cum- 
mings, was a soldier of the Revolution. William Taylor, son of Robert (3) 
Taylor, was born in Chester county, Pennsylvania, March i, 1815, died in 
1903. a Methodist in religious faith, a Republican in politics, but later a zealous 
third party Prohibitionist. 

He married, in 1836, Jane Boyd, with whom fifty years later he cele- 
brated the golden anniversary of his wedding day, surrounded by children, 
grandchildren and friends. His sons are : James W., Robert and Henry ; 
daughters : Eliza, Mary, Kate and Hannah. 

Robert (4) Taylor, son of William and Jane (Boyd) Taylor, was born 
in New London, Chester county, Pennsylvania, in 1838, died in March, 1891. 
He received a good English education and early in life engaged in farming; 
later became a contractor and builder. In 1884 he removed his residence to 
Chester, where he continued contracting and building with remarkable success. 
In one year he erected buildings valued at nearly one hundred thousand dollars 
and in each year gained in favor as an honorable, trustworthy and capable 
builder, and a man of upright character. He was a devoted member of the 
Methodist Episcopal Church, a faith he embraced when sixteen years of age. 
He was for many years a trustee of Trinity Church in Chester, superintendent 
of the Sunday School, and a most active, liberal supporter of all church inter- 
ests. He was a strong advocate of temperance and allied with the prohibition 
party in political faith. He served as school director of Aston township, Del- 
aware county, and always aided the cause of education to the full extent of 
his ability. He was a member of the Benevolent Lodge No. 50, Independent 
Order of Odd Fellows, but would never accept the lodge monetary benefits to 
which he was entitled. He married, in 1862, Lydia E. Howard, a daughter of 
Benjamin and Henrietta (Miller) Howard, the latter, daughter of Daniel (2) 
Miller, and granddaughter of Daniel (i) Miller, a .soldier of the Revolution; 
children : James Irvin, William H., Howard D., Ruth W.. and Charles W. 

James Irvin Taylor, eldest son of Robert (4) and Lydia E. (Howard) 
Taylor, was born in r^Iiddletown township, Delaware county, Pennsylvania, 
August 6, 1863. He was educated in the public schools and at West Chester 
State Normal, attending the latter, however, but one term. He then began 
learning the carpenter's trade under the direction of his father. He worked 
at his trade in the residential districts of Philadelphia, remaining there until 
his father had established a contracting business in Chester. He then joined 
him until 1891. when upon the death of his father he began contracting on his 
own account. After the death of Robert (4) Taylor in 1891, J. Irvin Taylor 
formed a partnership with his younger brother, Howard D., and under the 
firm name, J. I. Taylor & Brother, operated one year, erecting twenty-two 
buildings during that period. They then dissolved, and J. Irvin Taylor con- 
tinued again alone. He has continued steadily along until the present time, 
keeping a force of mechanics at work continuously, and has added eight hun- 
dred dwellings to the taxable property of Chester. Many of these, perhaps 
half, he has built himself and later sold. Some were for business and public 
purposes, but the greater part by far have been beautiful, well planned, desira- 
ble residences. The development and improvemnt in the Eighth and Market 
street district, is due to his enterprise, while at Third and Upland streets he has 
erected twenty-four residences. But all over the city of Chester may be found 



590 DELAWARE COUXTY 

residences and buildings erected by bim. He is now construciing a real estate 
office building at Sixth and Market streets. 

Not only has Chester benefitted by his public spirit and enterprise, but he 
has also given much time to the public service. He was tour years a member 
of common council, and for nine years a useful member of the board of edu- 
cation. He was instrumental in having the city build the Ninth street bridge 
over Chester Creek and in his building operations has been the means of add- 
ing to the city, West Ninth street, Spruce street ; Dupont, Barclay street, Penn 
street. Fifth street and Taylor Terrace. In politics he was for many years a 
Republican, but in the campaign of 1912 joined with the Progressive party 
and was then candidate for the legislature. In 1905 he was a candidate for the 
Republican nomination for mayor of Chester, and in religious faith he is a 
member of .Madison Street Methodist Episcopal Church, Mr. Taylor is a 
member of the Masonic order, belonging to Chester Lodge No. 236, Free and 
Accepted Masons; Chester Commandery No. 66, Knights Templar, and to 
Lulu Temple, Nobles of the Mystic Shrine, Philadelphia. Other orders with 
which he is connected are: Leiperville Lodge No. 263, Independent Order of 
Odd Fellows, of which he is Past Noble Grand ; Chester Lodge No. 488, Be- 
nevolent Protective Order of Elks; Chester Camp, Modern Woodmen of the 
World, and the Order of Heptasophs. 

In early manhood. Mr. Taylor, in his reading and study, became interested 
in phrenology, and in 1886 took a course in that science at the Institute of 
Phrenology in New York city, from whence he was graduated. The science 
he retains for his own satisfaction only, never having attempted its use pro- 
fessionally, regarding himself simply as an amateur, but deriving a great deal 
of pleasure from the private exercise of his knowledge. He has the respect of 
his community as a citizen and a well established standing as a capable, honor- 
able, substantial business man. 

Mr. Taylor married, (October 5, 1887, Emma Beaumont, in Calvary Epis- 
copal Church at Rockdale, Rev, James Walker performing the ceremony. She 
is the daughter of Richard and Hannah (Mills) Beaumont, both parents born 
in Huddersfield, Yorkshire, England ; children : Robert Leslie, born in Upland, 
Pennsylvania, graduate Chester high school, Pierce's Business College, now a 
student at the University of Pennsylvania ; Helen Beaumont, graduate Chester 
high school: Paul I., deceased: Emma Marguerite, a student in high school; 
Charles James Irvin, student in Chester high school : Frank Howard, attend- 
ing Lincoln school; Chester. The family home is at No. 512 West Ninth 
street, Chester, Pennsvlvania. 



Born in England, Basil Cooper when a young man came to this 
COOPER country settling in Talbot county, Maryland, later in Kent coun- 
ty, Delaware, where he spent his life engaged in farming. He 
was a leading member of the Methodist Episcopal Church and in political 
faith was a Democrat. He married Miss Cooper of Talbot county, Maryland, 
and founded the family of which Clarence C. Cooper of Chester. Pennsylvania, 
is representative: children: Mark (see forward) : Mary, died in Kent county, 
Delaware, married James Hcndrickson. 

Mark Cooper, son of Basil Cooper, the English emigrant, was born in 
Kent county, Delaware ; there lived and died aged forty-eight years. He was 
a farmer all his life; a Democrat and a Methodist. He married Lucretia Hill, 
who did not survive her husband but a short time, dying at the age forty-five 
years; children: John, born in 1849, died in Kent county, a farmer. He mar- 
ried Lizzie Killein, who survives him a resident of Harrington city, Delaware; 



DELAWARE COUNTY 591 

Lucretia, born in 185 1. married William Billings, a farmer of Kent county — 
both deceased: James B. (see forward): Mark (2), born 1855, deceased, a 
farmer, he married Emma Scott, who survives him a resident of Harrington 
city: Elizabeth, born i860, deceased, married William Rosenstock, now resid- 
ing in Norwood, Pennsylvania. 

James B. Cooper, son of Mark and Lucretia (Hill) Cooper, was born in 
Kent county, Delaware, at Harrington city, September 22, 1853. He was edu- 
cated in the public schools, became his father's farm assistant and until 1910 
was constantly engaged in the business of a farmer. In that year he joined 
his son, Clarence C. Cooper, in the general produce commission business in 
CThester and there continues. He is a Democrat in politics and an attendant of 
the Methodist Episcopal Church. He married Anna, daughter of Alexander 
and Lydia (Lewis) Simpson of Harrington city, both deceased. Alexander 
was a son of Clement C. Simpson, born in Maryland in 1809, died in Kent 
county, Delaware in 1883, a farmer and an active member of the Methodist 
Episcopal Church. He married .Ann Morris, born 1815, died in Kent county 
in 1880. Children : Alexander, married Lydia Lewis, who was the mother 
of his nineteen children of whom Anna, wife of James B. Cooper, was the eld- 
est. Eight of these children are yet living ; three died unnamed ; two died 
young, the others reaching years of maturity. Both Alexander and his wife 
Lydia (Lewis) Simpson are deceased. Mary, died unmarried: John, resides 
in Carbondale, Kansas, a farmer. He married a widow, Mrs. Wachneyer ; 
Ezekiel, died in Harrington city, a carpenter. He married Louisa Calloway, 
who survives him : James, married Sarah Meredith and resides at Harrington 
city, a farmer: Sarah, married Andrew Melvin, a farmer and resides in Dor- 
chester county, Maryland : Annie, died young. Children of James B. Cooper : 
Clarence Cecil (see forward) : Bessie, born August 24, 1883, died October 28, 
1913, married Clarence Martz, a clerk in Chester, now deceased. She resides 
in Chester with her two children. Hazel and Cooper. 

Clarence Cecil Cooper, only son of James P>. and .\nna (Simpson) Coop- 
er, was born at Harrington city, Delaware, June 16, 1881. He was educated 
in the public schools of Kent county, continuing his studies until 1898. He 
began business life as an employee of the Pennsylvania Steel Casting Com- 
pany in Chester, remaining until 1901. He then entered the employ of Brigh- 
ton and Tohnson, commission merchants of Chester, remaining with that firm 
tmtil 1906, becoming thoroughly familiar with the commission business, find- 
ing it both, congenial and profitable. In 1906 he formed a partnership with I. 
M. Wolf and started a similar business for himself. This association continued 
until igio, when the firm dissolved, Mr. Cooper continuing in the same lines but 
alone, at No. 210 Edgemont .Avenue, Chester. He also has a larger office and 
storage rooms at Second and Edgmont .Avenue. He has been very successful 
in his business, has a good line of shippers from many localities and holds 
their entire confidence. His dealings are based on the principle of the "square 
deal" and both his shippers and customers have found that this principle is 
strictly adhered to. Mr. Cooper is a member of the Franklin Fire Company 
of Chester, having joined in 1902 in coming of age : also belongs to the Junior 
Order American Mechanics- is a Democrat in politics and attends the Episco- 
pal church. 

He married in Chester. August 15, 1906, Minnie Brighton, born in Bos- 
ton, England — her parents, Abram and Jane (Lawton) Brighton, coming to 
the United States when she was an infant and settling in LTpland, Pennsylvania, 
but now living in Chester, retired. Child: James Brighton, born in Chester, 
January 21, 1908. 



592 DELAWARE COUNTY 

A monument still standing to the memory of John Hoskins, 
HOSKINS the emigrant ancestor, is the old Hoskins House (Edgemont 
Avenue, below Third street) Chester, built in 1688. 

John Hoskins and wife Mary, came from England in 1682 and settled 
at Chester. He was one of the original purchasers under Penn, from whom 
he bought before leaving England, two hundred fifty acres which were laid 
out to him in Middletown township in 1684. In August, 1684, he purchased 
from John Sinnock, the property in Chester upon which he built the house in 
1688. John Hoskins was a member of the Society of Friends ; member of 
General Assembly of 1683. and kept the old house as an inn. His will is signed 
John Hodgskins, but his executors in their report spell it Hoskins. He left 
iwo children, John (2) and Mary, also a widow Mary, who married (second) 
in 1700, George Woodier of Chester. She was an active member of the 
Friends Meeting at Chester, of which she and Ann Posey were appointed over- 
seers in 1696. 

John (2) Hoskins was elected sheriff of Chester county in 1700, being 
then not more than twenty-three years of age and continued to hold that office 
until 1715, except during the year 1708. He married in 1698, Ruth Atkinson, 
who died in 1739 — he died in 1716. They had issue: John (3), born 1699; 
Stephen, born 1701 ; George, born 1703, died young; Joseph, born 1705, and 
JMary, born 1707. From John (2) Hoskins springs the Chester family herein 
recorded. 

A later John Hoskins, was born in Chester and died in Rockdale aged 
eighty years, born about 1750. He was a contractor and farmer, a Democrat 
and a member of the Methodist Episcopal Church. He married Mary Evans, 
born in Chester, died in Middletown township, who bore him John R., married 
Mary Chever; William (of further mention); Joseph, died in Maryland, a 
farmer; A'linerva, married Aaron Massey ; Hannah, married Joseph Griswold. 

William Hoskins, son of John and Mary (Evans) Hoskins, was born in 
Rockdale. Delaware county. Pennsylvania, died at Lima, Pennsylvania, in 1880, 
aged about seventy-three years. He was a farmer all his active life ; a Demo- 
crat and an active member of the Methodist Episcopal church. He married 
Charlotte Taylor, born in Media, Pennsylvania, who died aged about seventy- 
four years, daughter of John Taylor, born in Village Green, Delaware county. 
John Taylor was a revolutionary soldier, captured at the battle of Long Island, 
and confined on a prison ship in the harbor at New Haven. Connecticut, where 
he nearly died from starvation and privation. He was finally released through 
the kindness of a commission merchant of New Haven and returned to his 
home, but not until he had married a Miss Richards of New Haven. He spent 
the remainder of his days a farmer of Delaware county. Children of William 
Hoskins: loseph, married ]\liss Broomall of Delhi, who survives him a resident 
of Darby township ; John, a wheelwright, married Jane Brown, both deceased ; 
Aaron M. (of whom further) ; Cheyney, died aged twenty-two years: Henry, 
a contractor, married Sarah James and now resides in Berwyn, Pennsylvania ; 
Hamilton, a farmer, married Emma Baumgarten, both deceased ; Esther, died 
young: Martha, married Robert Johnson, whom she survives a resident of 
Lima ; Anna, married Thomas Garrett, whom she survives, residing in Lima. 

Aaron M. Hoskins, son of William and Charlotte (Taylor) Hoskins, was 
born in Village Green, Delaware county, Pennsylvania. May 18, T836, died at 
Elwyn in the same county, March 8, 191 1. He was a farmer and cattle dealer 
of Delaware county all his life, an active energetic man of business and a 
good citizen. For many years he was an elder of the Presbyterian Church and 
in politics a Democrat. He married Josephine \^'illiams. born in East Media. 
January 24. 1844. daughter of Thomas T. and Catherine (Thomas) Williams 



DELAWARE COUNTY 593 

— he a farmer and blacksmith of Elwyn, son of Ambrose and Phoebe (Trim- 
ble) Williams, who both died at their farm in Middletown township, Tresby- 
terians, and he a Democrat. Ambrose Williams was born in Ireland and the 
founder of his family in Delaware county. Children of Thomas T. Williams : 
Josephine, married Aaron M. Hoskins, of previous mention; Emma, born in 
"1843, died in 1885, unmarried ; JNIary Harper, born in 1885, now residing with 
Mrs. Josephine Hoskins, widow of Aaron M. Hoskins at Elwyn ; John, born in 
1847, died in 1897, a blacksmith: Alfred, born in 1854, died in 191 1, married 
Margaret Griel, who survives him a resident of Lancaster. Children of Aaron 
M. Hoskins: Thomas Herman, born January 18, 1871, now an ice and coal 
dealer in Elwyn ; John (of whom further) ; Mabel, died aged nineteen. 

Dr. John Hoskins, son of Aaron M. and Josephine (Williams) Hoskins, 
and a descendant of John and Mary Hoskins, the emigrant, was born at 
Elwyn, Delaware county, Pennsylvania, November i, 1873. He was educated 
in Media high school ; Media academy, Philadelphia College of Pharmacy, 
Ph. G., class of 1895 ; University of Pennsylvania, M. D., class of 1898. He 
at once located in Chester, Pennsylvania, where his learning and skill in the 
treatment of diseases have brought him the reward of a large practice. He 
opened his first office at No. 2407 West Third street, where he has always re- 
mained. He is a member of Delaware county Medical Society ; a communicant 
of the Presbyterian church : a Democrat in politics and for two years a mem- 
ber of council. He is unmarried. 



The emigrant ancestor of the Palmers of Delaware County, 
PALMER Pennsylvania, settled in the Township of Concord, Chester 
(now Delaware County), Pennsylvania, about 1688. The first 
reliable account of him is the purchase of one hundred acres of land which 
was patented to him in 1688. He married Mary Suddery (Southery), daugh- 
ter of Robert Southery, of Wiltshire, England, she died in I745- 

(H) John (2), son of John (i) Palmer, the emigrant, was born in Con- 
cord Township, Chester (now Delaware County), about 1690, died May 5. 
1771. He followed farming all his life, first on the farm inherited from his 
father, later (1712) he purchased one hundred and seventy acres in the wes- 
tern part of Concord Township, on which he lived until his death. He did not 
move to his new purchase until about 1748, when he deeded the old home to 
their son, Moses, stating the act to be from "the natural love and affection they 
bear to him as well as for his better preferment in the world." John (2) 
Palmer married in Concord Monthly Meeting of Friends, June 9, 1714, Mar- 
tha, born June 14, 1696, daughter of John and Elizabeth Yearsley, who came 
from Middlewich, England, in 1700, and settled in Thornbury, Pennsylvania. 

(in) Moses, son of John (2) Palmer, was born in Concord Township, 
May 26, 1721, died June 20, 1783. In early life he learned and followed tlie 
occupation of cordwainer, but soon left it and became a farmer. He was giv- 
en the home farm in 1748, later purchasing the adjoining tract on the south, to 
which he removed a few years prior to his death. He married (first) April 17, 
1745, in Concord Monthly Meeting, Abigail Newlin, who bore him an only 
child, John. He married (second) November 22, 1752, Abigail Sharpless, 
daughter of Joseph and Mary Sharp, of Chester County, and widow of William 
Sharpless. By this marriage he had .A^aron, mentioned below. 

(IV) Aaron, son of Moses Palmer and his second wife, Abigail (Sharp) 
Sharpless, was born at Angora, Delaware County, Pennsylvania, July 17, 1765, 
died March 10, 1842. He married Sarah, daughter of William and Jane Wilton, 
of North Carolina. 
39 



594 DELAWARE COUNTY 

(V) Joseph, son of Aaron Palmer, was born at Angora, 1795, died in 
West Philadelphia. Like his father he was a farmer all his life and a mem- 
ber of the Episcopal church. He married his second cousin, Mary Palmer, 
He owned property on the banks of the Schuylkill, that is yet in possession of 
his descendants. 

(VI) Thomas, son of Joseph and Mary Palmer, was born in Palmertown, 
Delaware County, February 23, 1827, died in W'allingford, same county. May 
9, 1908. He was a merchant for many years at Darby, Pennsylvania ; later be- 
came a farmer and for the last twenty years of his life lived retired. He was 
an Independent in politics, and an attendant of the Episcopal church. He mar- 
ried Mary Rudolph Dickinson, born at Garrettford, Delaware County, died in 
Wallingford. Children, all born in Darby except the first: i. Ida May, born 
August 27,. 1854: married Samuel P. Carr, deceased, a merchant tailor; she 
resides in West Philadelphia. 2. Joseph Henry, born November 23, 1855. 3. 
Andrew Linwood, see forward. 4. Thomas Plumsted, born September 12, 
1859, died young. 5. Thomas Bradshaw, born in Darby, August 21, 1861 ; 
married Emma Bishop, and resides in Wallingford, a farmer. 6. Ernest, 
born December 26, 1862 ; married S. Belle Larkin, and resides in Wallingford, 
a contractor. 7. Walter, born. October 10, 1864. deceased; married (first) 
Rebecca Wilde, (second) Lena Barton; was in business with his brother, .An- 
drew L. Palmer, at Chester, several years. 8. Marian, born May 11, 1866, 
resides in Wallingford, unmarried. 

(\"II) Andrew Linwood, second son and third child of Thomas and Mary- 
Rudolph (Dickinson) Palmer, was born in Darby, Pennsylvania, August 17, 
1857. He attended the public schools of Darby and Wallingford, Pennsyl- 
vania, until 1876, and remained at the home farm as his father's assistant until 
1889. In that year he established in the hardware business at No. 621 Edge- 
mont avenue, Chester, in partnership with his brother, Walter, continuing until 
1893, when the firm was dissolved by the death of Walter Palmer. The firm 
then became Palmer & Gayley, by the admission of W. W. Gayley, a first cou- 
sin. Mr. Palmer has been very successful in business under both partnerships, 
and the firm now transacts a very large business in hardware and kindred lines. 
He is an Independent in politics, always active in public afYairs ; has held many 
city offices and the past eight years has been city committeeman. He is liberal 
in his opinions, contributes generously to the support of the churches, but is 
not a member, inclining, however, to partiality for the Society of Friends, the 
ancient creed of the Palmers, also the religion of his mother and her family. 

Mr. Palmer is a member of Chester Lodge, No. 284, Benevolent and Pro- 
tective Order of Elks ; Chester Camp, Modern Woodmen of the World ; is 
president of the Delaware Building and Loan Association ; director of the 
Chester Real Estate Company, and one of the seven owners of the Home Bene- 
ficiary Association of Pennsylvania, with offices in Philadelphia. 

He married (first) Susanna T^roughton Worrell, born in Media, Pennsyl- 
vania, died in California, in 1900. Child: Arthur T., born in Media, Novem- 
ber 17, 1894, a student at Nazareth Hall, Nazareth, Pennsylvania, whence he 
was graduated June, 1913. Mr. Palmer married (second) in June, 1905, in 
Chester, Annie R. Sidwell. of Cecil County, Maryland, daughter of Stephen 
and Jane (Williams) Sidwell. Stcjihcn Sidwell, now deceased, was a farmer; 
his widow resides with her daughter .Annie in Chester. Children of Mr. Pal- 
mer's second marriage: Andrew L. (2), born July 3, 1906; Richard S., Sep- 
tember, 1907; Thomas Rudolph, February, 1909; Ruth .Anna, February 2, 
1911. 



THE ;-.'r:'-V YORK'p 
PUBLIC library'' 



A8T0R, LENOX AND 
TIUOfH FOUNDATION*. 




C^^^^S^^^-^^"'^^^^'^-^*''^''^ 





■. v; 1 u L\ u ■ 




LIBRARY 


A8TOR 


, LEHOi 


TlLOrN 


FOUNT 





S(V-^, ^' ^<3^ 



DELAWARE COUNTY 595 

Joseph Henry Palmer, eldest son of Thomas Palmer (q. v.) 
PALMER and Mary Rudolph (Dickinson) Palmer, was born in West 

Philadelphia. Pennsylvania, November 23, 1855. In 1857 his 
parents moved to Darby, Pennsylvania, where he attended public school until 
he was fourteen years of age. In 1870 his parents moved to Nether Provi- 
dence township, and from there he was sent to the Friends School at Darby. 
He then took a course at Pierce's Business College, Philadelphia, whence he 
was graduated in 1875. He then returned to the home farm in Providence 
township, remaining his father's assistant until 1B79, when he began farming 
for himself on the old Richard Ogden farm in Springfield township. He con- 
tinued farming until 1882 when he entered the employ of Wanamaker & 
Brown, "Oak Hall," Sixth and Market streets, Philadelphia, remaining one 
year. In 1883 he returned to farming, locating in Nether Providence town- 
ship, continuing until 1893. In the latter year he opened a boarding house in 
Wallingford, at the same time holding a position with the Provident Life and 
Trust Company of Philadelphia. In i8gg he opened a coalyard and feed store 
at Wallingford, which he still successfully conducts, also having a similar busi- 
ness at Moylan. He is a member of the "Board of View," a body having jur- 
isdiction over cases on roads, sewers, street damage, etc. ; is vice-president of 
the Pennsylvania Retail Coal Merchant's Association ; member of the Kohl, 
Philadelphia-Breaker, an association composed of railroad and coal men ; mem- 
ber of the Media Club, director, now chairman of the entertainment committee, 
formerly treasurer ; member Spring Haven Country Club, formerly serving on 
the membership committee. In religious faith he is a Presbyterian ; for fif- 
teen years he has been president of the board of trustees and superintendent 
of the Sunday school for the same length of time. In politics he is an inde- 
pendent Democrat. 

He married, April 9, 1888, in Chester township, Delaware county, Han- 
nah Bryans Lukens, who died November 24, 1899, daughter of Abram C. 
and Mary (Pauling) Lukens, he a farmer of Chester township and a county 
commissioner for six years. There was no issue by this marriage. He mar- 
ried (second) Mrs. Sarah (Levis) Pancoast, September 25, 1902, born in Up- 
per Darby township, daughter of John and Elizabeth (Lukens) Levis. John 
Levis was a farmer of Upper Darby all his life; his widow yet survives him, 
residing in Upper Darby, which township has been the home of the Levis fam- 
ily since 1682. Sarah Levis married (first) Samuel Pancoast and had a son, 
John Lawrence Pancoast, born April 25, 1900. Children of Joseph H. Palmer 
by his second wife: Elizabeth Levis, born October 8, 1903; Florence Miller. 
April 16, 1905; Joseph Henry (2), May 4, 1906. All attending Friends Se- 
lect School in Media; Sarah, born .April 29, 191 1. 

(The Levis Family). 

Mrs. Joseph H. Palmer descends from the French Huguenot family of 
Levis, who are traced to the year 1575. They sought refuge from persecution 
in England, but in 1682 the eldest brother returned to France, recovered pos- 
session of the family estates and resumed the title. The family became num- 
erous in England between 1575 and 1684 and were of substance and high 
standing. The will of Christopher Levis, father of Samuel, the American an- 
cestor, dated October 19, 1677, is sealed with a crest, a dolphin transfixed with 
a spear. Arms : A chevron ermine, between three dolphins coronet. This 
coat-of-arms is that of the original de Levis family of France, quartered with 
the arms of de Montmorency. 

Samuel Levis, son of Christopher, son of Richard, son of Richard Levis, 



596 DELAWARE COUNTY 

was born in Hanly, England, 7 mo. 30, 1649. He came to America in 1682, 
bringing servants and material for a building to be used as a home. He later 
returned to England, coming again in 1684 with wife and son Samuel. He be- 
came prominent in the province; was a member from Chester County to the 
Provincial Assembly 1 686-89-94-98- 1700-01 -06-07-08-09 ; justice of the peace 
1686-90-98; in 1692 a member of the governor's council, died 1734. The house 
he built in what is now .Springfield township, Delaware county, is yet in good 
condition and has always been in the possession of one branch of the Levis 
family. Samuel (i) Levis was succeeded by his son Samuel (2), who was a 
member of the provincial assembly 1720-21-22-23-30 and 1731. He died in 

1758. . 

His son, John Levis, married Rebecca, daughter of John Davis, of Wales, 
and had a son, Thomas Levis, who was born in the Springfield township 
homestead, built by his great-grandfather, Samuel Levis, and there spent most 
of his life. When the War of the Revolution broke out he said he would hang 
up his Quaker garb, put on soldier clothes and fight for his country, and it is a 
matter of record that Captain Thomas Levis did his full share in securing in- 
dependence. He married Sarah Pancoast, a daughter of Seth and Esther 
Pancoast and granddaughter of Bartholomew Coppock, who was a member of 
the governor's council in 1688 and 1690, also of the provincial assembly 1686- 
87-92-95 and 1697. Captain Thomas Levis was the father of thirteen children 
and from them descend the present family. Wealth, prosperity and honor 
have ever attended them, and perhaps no emigrant founded in Pennsylvania 
a family that has more worthily borne through the years that have passed the 
name of their sire, than did Samuel Levis. 

Charles Levis, seventh child of Captain Thomas and Sarah (Pancoast) 
Levis, married Margaret DeBarger and lived on the old Levis homestead in 
Springfield township, where all his eleven children were born. 

John Levis, youngest child of Charles and Margaret (DeBarger) Levis, 
was born at the old homestead April 12, 1831. He remained at the home farm 
until 1862, obtaining his education in the public school and West Chester Acad- 
emy. In 1862 he moved to ITpper Darby township near Llanerch, where he 
purchased a farm upon which he resided until his death, January 18, 1882. He 
was a consistent member of Darby Monthly Meeting, Society of Friends ; was 
for many years a member of the school board and in all things was the upright 
exemplary citizen. He married Elizabeth, only daughter of Nathan and Sarah 
N. (Lincoln) Lukens. Children: Nathan L., married Elizabeth Pancoast; 
Charles, married Alida Conrow ; Florence, married Benjamin J. Miller ; Sarah 
Lukens, see forward ; Margaret, born September 20, 1867 ; Elizabeth L., June 
10, i86g: Mary H., married X-N'illiam Ridpath ; Caroline Lutton ; John Edgar, 
born May 22, 1874 : Helena L., September 6, 1880. Both the Levis and Lukens 
families are prominent, not only in Delaware and Chester counties, but hold 
similar standing in many parts of the United States. 

Sarah Lukens, second daughter and fourth child of John and Elizabeth 
(Lukens) Levis, was born February 2, 1865 ; married (first) Samuel Pan- 
coast, (second) Joseph H. Palmer. 



From 1688, when John Palmer settled in what is now, Dela- 

PALMER ware county, Pennsylvania, the family has been prominent in 

the county, as tillers of the soil, and professional and business 

men. Thomas Palmer (q. v.), born 1827, died 1908, married Mary Rudolph 

Dickinson and had issue including Thomas Bradshaw, the fifth son. 

Thomas Bradshaw Palmer was born in Darby, Pennsylvania, August 21,. 



THE ME W YORK 1 
PUBLIC LIBRARY •; 



THE N!- 



ASTOH, LENOX AND 
TILOf N FOUNDATION" 



d 




QU^u^^SL.Ji^\ic^^ 



DELAWARE COUNTY 597 

1861, and spent his early childhood there. In 1870 his parents moved to Nether 
Providence township, Delaware county, where he attended the public schools, 
also spent a year at Sh.ortlidge's Academy in Media. In 1881 his father pur- 
chased the farm of one hundred and two acres, located on the "Pike" at what 
is known far and near as "Palmer's Corner" and here Thomas B. Palmer has 
ever since resided. I'ntil 1886 he worked as his father's assistant, then he and 
his brother Ernest for two years worked the farm on shares with their father, 
but since 1888, Thomas B. has operated it alone, renting the farm from the 
heirs, the property never having been divided. Mr. Palmer has prospered in 
business and has gained the warm regard of the community, in which thirty- 
two years of his busy life have been passed. He is a member of Brookhaven 
Grange, Patrons of Husbandry ; also a director and treasurer of the Keystone 
Grange Exchange, established and maintained by that grange for mutual bene- 
fit. He is a Democrat in politics and has served Wallingford township one 
term of three years as collector of taxes and five years as school director, filling 
these offices with fidelity and devotion to duty. He is a member of the Presby- 
terian church. 

Mr. Palmer married, March i, 1888, Emma Bishop, born in Chester, 
Pennsylvania, August 9, i860, daughter of Thomas Bishop, born in Eastown 
township, Chester county, a farmer, now deceased ; he married Thomazen 
Otley: children: Ruth Ann, married John W. Ramsey; Thomas D. Winfield ; 
Mary, married Elwood Baldwin; Sarah Josephine, married George A. Frame; 
Charles ; Margaret C, married William Shank ; John F., and Emma, wife of 
Thomas B. Palmer. Mr. and Mrs. Palmer have children : Thomas Earl, born 
September 10, 1891 ; Joseph Paul, September 16, 1893; Marian Estellena, De- 
cember 26, 1895 ; Dorothy Fromfield, October 23, 1897. 



The biographical history of any people is interesting by reason 
PALMER of the valuable lessons it inculcates, and the many invaluabk 

details which are furnished in this manner and which are not to 
be found in a general history of the country. In many cases the record of or- 
dinary household occurrences gives a better idea of the manners of the time 
in question, than the events recorded in a more formal history. Delaware 
county, Pennsylvania, has many instances of this kind to offer, some of its 
settlers having come there in the very early days of the settlement of that sec- 
tion. The Palmer family, of which Ernest Palmer is a representative in the 
present generation, has been identified with the life of the county many years, 
the father of Mr. Palmer having made his home there. 

Ernest Palmer, son of Thomas Palmer (q. v.) and Mary Rudolph (Dick- 
inson) Palmer, was born on Summit street, near Darby, Pennsylvania, Decem- 
ber 26, 1862, during the stirring times of the civil war, when the state was torn 
with the struggle of contending factions. His early years were spent at 
"Palmer's Corner," a property which had been successfully developed by his 
father, who had made his home there when his son was hut six years of age. 
Young Palmer was educated in the public schools of the district, then attended 
the Shortlidge Academy at Media, Pennsylvania, from which he was graduated 
in 1889. Two and a half years were spent in the study of law in the Universi- 
ty of Pennsylvania, after which Mr. Palmer engaged in agricultural pursuits, 
on the family homestead, and was identified with this vocation for a period of 
twenty-one years, a part of this time being spent at Todmorden. He then 
removed to Wallingford, Delaware county, Pennsylvania, in which place he 
has been resident since that time. About one year ago he established himself 
in the contracting and road building business, operating under the firm name of 



598 DELAWARE COUNTY 

Palmer & Snyder, and has achieved a very satisfactory amount of success. He 
has had practical experience in the building of roads, having held the office of 
road commissioner in the year 1902. In 1890 he was elected one of the school 
directors, and served a term of three years. His political affiliations are with 
the Democratic party and he has served as a member of the Democratic Coun- 
ty Committee. He and his wife are consistent members of the Presbyterian 
church. 

Mr. Palmer married. April 18, 1900. Sarah Belle Larkin, born August 5, 
1871, in Bethel township, Pennsylvania. She is the daughter of Isaac Ell- 
wood and Isabel ( Savres) Larkin, the former born in Bethel township in 
1829, died in the same'place in 1891 : the latter born in Wilmington, Delaware. 
They had children : Ann Sayres : Sarah Belle, see above ; Caroline. Mr. and 
Mrs. Palmer had children : Ernest. Jr., born April 6, 1903, and Isabel, born 
December 13, 1904. Mr. Palmer is an energetic, wide-awake business man. 
Although only about one year has elapsed since he established himself in his 
present business, he has undoubtedly made a fine success of the undertaking. 
He is possessed of a happy combina'tion of industry and sound judgment, and 
his undaunted ambition must surely bring victory. He is as well informed up- 
on the leading topics of the day as upon his special business affairs, and enjoys 
the confidence of all with whom he comes in contact. 



The Hannums are first of mention in Delaware county, Penn- 
HANNUM sylvania, in 1686, when on March i, John Hannum bought 
two hundred acres of land near IMarkham Station, Concord 
township, patented March i, 1682, to Jeremiah Collett. John Hannum was 
the grandfather of Colonel John Hannum, of the Revolution, who was the 
controlling mind in causing the removal of the county seat to West Chester, 
an act later led to the erection of Delaware county. John Hannum gave 
the ground at the northwest corner of his two hundred acre tract on which St. 
John's Episcopal Church was built and on the same farm it is said Colonel 
John Hannum was born. He was the third John Hannum in lineal descent and 
was an active influential citizen of Chester county until his death. February 7, 
1799. His farm was in East Bradford township on the Brandyvvine and Val- 
ley Creek, purchased by him from his father. He was a zealous participant in 
all the movements which led to and resulted in the independence of the United 
States; held the rank of colonel; filled many responsible offices in Chester 
County ; married and left a large family. 

.A. later marriage of a Hannum with a Bartram unites them with an old 
and famous family of Chester (now Delaware) county, founded Ijv John P.ar- 
tram, an Englishman, made famous by his grandson. John I'.artrani. one of the 
earliest American botanists and the first to establish a botanic garden in Amer- 
ica. 

|ohn Bartram. the emigrant, came in 1683. died September i, 1697, in 
full unity with the Societv of l-'riends. He settled in Darby township, west 
of Darl)y Creek, had a wife Elizabeth and sons John, Isaac, William. 

William Bartram. son of fohn Bartram. married at Darby Meeting, 
March 27, 1696, Elizabeth, daughter of James Hunt, and had two sons, John 
(the botanist) and James. 

John (2) Bartram, "the botanist," son of ^^'llllam Bartram, was born in 
Darby township. March 23, 1699, died September 22, 1777. shortly after the 
battle of Brandvwine. his death having been hastened by a fear that "his darl- 
ing garden the' cherished nursling of almost half a century," might not be 
snared fnun the ravages of the approaching British army. He early began na- 



DELAWARE COUNTY 599 

ture study, and conceiving the idea of a botanic garden purchased the well 
known site of "Bartram's Garden" on the bank? of the Schuylkill in 1728. He 
was one of the first and most eminent of American botanists and his life has 
been most fully written in the literature of botany. He was twice married, in 
accordance with the discipline of the Society of Friends, of which he was a 
member until 1758. when he was disowned for holding opinions not in accord- 
ance with the doctrines of Friends. Over the door of an apartment devoted to 
studv and retirement he engraved with his own hands the following, which ex- 
presses his religious belief: "Tis God alone Almighty Lord, The Holy One 
by me adored, John Bartram 1770." He married (first) Alary Maris, (second) 
Ann Mendelhall. 

Moses Bartram, son of John (2) Bartram, "the botanist," and his wife, 
Mary (Maris) Bartram. was born m 1732, died in 1809. He married in 1764, 
Elizabeth Budd. who died in 1807. leaving isHie including Moses. 

Moses (2) Bartram, son of Moses (i) Bartram, was a wealthy land own- 
er of Philadelphia. He married and had issue. 

(fieorge \Vashington Bartram, son of Moses (2) Bartram, was born in 
Philadelphia. Pennsylvania, November 17, 1784. died at Chester, Pennsylvania, 
Julv 8. 1853. He was for many years engaged in the drug business in Chester, 
was an alderman, a Whig in politics and a warden of St. Paul's Protestant 
Episcopal Church. He married .Anna Alaria, daughter of George Adam and 
.Anna Catherine Baker, who survived him. dying in Chester, July 28, 1856, 
aged sixty-eight ycar^. Children: Anna Catherine, born February 9, 1806; 
Henry. December 28, 1807. died December 8. 1837: Abijah. May 22. 1810; 
Georgeanna Alaria. July i, 1814, died January 30, 1815: Georgeanna Alaria, of 
whom further: Pocohontas, August 29, 1829, died October 28. 1875. 

Georgeanna Alaria Bartram, daughter of George Washington and Anna 
Alaria (Baker) Bartram, was born in Philadelphia, Pennsylvania, February 6, 
1817, died in Chester, Alarch i, 1876. She married Robert Evans Hannuni, a 
descendant of John Hannum. the English emigrant. 

Robert Evans Hannum was born December 10, 1805, died in Chester, 
Pennsylvania, February 15, 1893. He prepared for the practice of law. was 
admitted to the Delaware county bar, July 27, 1829, and became one of the 
leading lawyers at that bar. He was a great sufTerer during his latter years 
from rheumatism, which reduced him to a sadly crippled condition. Children 
of Robert E. and Georgeanna Alaria (Bartram) Hannum: i. Maria, born 
.August 10. 1838. deceased: married Hiram Hathaway. 2. Susanna, born May 
14, 1840: married (first) Conly Jones, (second) Preston Wilson, now a re- 
tired manufacturer of Chester, their home. 3. Georgeanna, born Noveiuber 
13, 1841 ; educated in Chester, Philadelphia and Upland Normal School; now 
a resident of Chester with her brother Robert E. ^. Robert E., of whom 
further. 5. Catherine Bartram, born .April 19. 1846. died young. 6. Louisa, 
born .April 19, 1848, deceased; married Jeremiah Hotaling. of Port Ewen, 
New York, where he now resides. 7. Alary .Ann, born July 19, 1849: resides 
in Chester, with her brother, Robert E. 8. Pocohontas Bartram, born Novem- 
ber 17, 1851 ; resides in Chester with her brother Robert E. g. George Bar- 
tram, born March 23, 1854; now connected with Crozier Hospital at Upland, 
Pennsylvania. 10. Elizabeth, born Alarch 22. 1856, died young. 11. Eliza- 
beth (2), born Alarch 20, 1858, died 1912: married Samuel Bailey, who sur- 
vives her. a resident of Holmes, Pennsylvania. 12. William G., born October 
16, i860: resides in Holmes. 13. Pauline Graham, born June 19, 1863, died 
young. 

Robert Evans (2) Hannum, son of Robert Evans (i) and Georgeanna 
Maria (Raker) Hannum. was born in Alarket «treet, Chester, Pennsylvania, 



6oo DELAWARE COUNTY 

November 22, 1843. He attended private school in Chester and Oak Grove, 
then entered Episcopal Academy, Twelfth and Locust streets, Philadelphia, 
but his plans for an education were completely altered by the outbreak of the 
war between the states. He enlisted August 13, 1862, and was honorably dis- 
charged at Nashville, Tennessee, June 21, 1865. He was a private of the 
Fifteenth Regiment Pennsylvania Cavalry and was first attached to the Army 
of the Potomac and fought at the battle of Antietam. He was then transferred 
to the Army of the West, serving at Nashville, under Generals Rosecran and 
Buell ; at Stone River; Chattanooga; Lookout Mountain under General Hook- 
er and at the last named battle had two horses killed, but he escaped unhurt. 
Shortly afterward, however, he was taken sick and spent several months in the 
hospital at Nashville, recovering in time to march with Sherman to the Sea. 
He was with his regiment in pursuit of the fleeing president of the Confed- 
eracy in 1865, and although they did not capture him they captured a wagon 
train with four hundred thousand dollars in specie belonging to the Confeder- 
ate government. After the war, Mr. Hannum became a professional nurse 
and continued in that profession many years, but now lives retired at No. 2344 
Providence avenue, Chester. He has traveled a great deal, spending a long 
period in Colorado Springs and Cripple Creek, Colorado, and in other parts of 
the West. He returned from his travels, June 13, 1909, and has since made 
Chester his home. He is an Independent in politics, a member of Chester 
Lodge, No. 352, Free and .\ccepted Masons; Guard Mark Chapter, No. 214, 
Royal Arch Masons, Philadeljihia. of which he is a life member, and of the 
Veteran .Association of the Fifteenth Pennsylvania Cavalry. 

Mr. Hannum married at Marcus Hook, Pennsylvania, June 27. 1866, 
Mary E. Farson, born in Philadelphia, Pennsylvania, in 1845, daughter of 
Enoch S. Farson, a sea captain, later in the refrigerating business in Philadel- 
phia, and his wife, Lavinia (Hackett) Farson, both deceased. Children: i. 
Albert B., born in Chester, April 5, 1867; resides in Philadelphia, a detective, 
unmarried. 2. Henry, born in Chester in 1869; now residing at .Sea Isle City, 
New Jersey. 3. Leon, born at Marcus Hook in 1871 ; resides in Philadelphia. 
4. Enoch, born at Marcus Hcok in 1873; resides in Philadelphia. 5. Norval, 
born at Marcus Hook in 1875 : resides in Philadelphia. 6. Martha, born at 
Marcus Hook in 1877; resides in Philadelphia. 



The ancestry of Mrs. Sallie P. (Eyre) Price traces to the stirring 
PRICE Coloniel times preceding the Revolution and to the early settlement 
of Delaware county. She is a descendant of Elisha Price, (son of 
John Price and nephew of Elisha Catchall, a lawyer of prominence) who rep- 
resented Chester comity at a Provincial meeting of deputies from the several 
counties in Pennsylvania, held in Philadelphia, July 16, 1774. Elisha Price 
was appointed at that meeting one of a committee to prepare and report a draft 
of instructions to be presented to the General Assembly, a.sking that body to 
appoint delegates to the Continental Congress, then in session. Elisha Price 
was also a member of the body who met in Carpenter's Hall, June 18, 1776, 
assembled by the committee of correspondence from each county in the prov- 
ince to "adopt such government as shall in the opinion of the representatives 
of the people, best conduce to the happiness and safety of their constituents in 
])articular and America in general." .\fter making provision for representa- 
tion of every county in the province and for an election of members to the 
proposed Constitutional Convention, this Provincial .Assembly adjourned June 
24, 1776, after each deputy had signed a declaration which slated their "will- 
ingness to concur in a vote of the congress declaring the united colonies free 



DELAWARE COUNTY Cxdi 

and independent States." Elisha Price was commissioned justice of the courts 
of common pleas and quarter sessions, March i6, 1790, and was a prominent 
opponent of the removal of the county seat from Chester to West Chester. 

Mrs. Price also descends from Robert (born 1648) and Ann (Smith) 
Eyre of Bethel, Pennsylvania, the English emigrants who first settled in New 
Jersey. Their son, William Eyre, married 1723, at Haverford Meeting, Mary 
David, daughter of Lewis David of Darby, and resided in Bethel until his 
-death. 

Isaac Eyre, son of William and Alary Eyre, settled in Chester, where in 
1766 in Chester Meeting he married Ann, daughter of Jonas and Jane Preston. 
He took so active a part in the measures for securing the independence of his 
country that he was disciplined by the Society and dismissed in 1775. In 1783 
he made acknowledgment and was restored to membership in the meeting. 
In 1786 he married Abigail, daughter of Nathan Dicks, but because the cere- 
mony was performed by a magistrate he was again punished by dismissal. 

Jonas Eyre, eldest son of Isaac and Ann (Preston) Eyre, was born 4 mo. 
28. 1767, married (second) 11 mo. 11, 1801, Susanna, daughter of Joshua and 
Mary Pusey of London Grove, Chester county, born 10 mo. 17. 1776. 

William Eyre, youngest son of Jonas Eyre and his second wife, Susanna 
Pusey, was born in Chester, April 25, 1807, died March 6, 1863 (another au- 
thority says that he was born 7 mo. 14. 1803, and that Joshua was his twin 
brother, this however is an error as the family bible in possession of Mrs. Price 
shows the birth of William as stated above, the latter being the date of birth of 
his brother, Joshua.) In early life he and his brother. Joshua, began business as 
general grocers which then meant trading in all kinds of farm produce. Their 
old sloop "Jonas Preston" made weekly trips to Philadelphia carrying produce 
to market and returning loaded with goods for the store. William Eyre was 
engaged in the lumber business, at that time the only lumber yard in Chester. 
Prosperous in their business and universally esteemed they early retired from 
active business, yet occupying many high positions of trust in their community. 
Joshua P. Eyre represented the county in the legislature 1840-42. He refused 
nomination to Congress. Both were directors of the Delaware Mutual Safety, 
the old Delaware County Insurance Company, a Chester institution originally, 
now of Philadelphia. Excellent likenesses of both brothers by the celebrated 
Philadelphia portrait painter, Waugh, adorn the directors' room of the com- 
pany, a tribute of respect and in remembrance of their long faithful service. 
The close friendship and lifelong companionship of the two brothers was re- 
markable and was ever the subject of favorable comment. Both were tall, 
slender men, like most of their name and generation ; kind, gentle and cour- 
teous in their manners and in their friendships "true as steel." They built the 
"Old National Hall" in Chester and in all their business dealings were partners. 
Joshua never married and always lived with his brother and after the death of 
the latter, continued to live with the children, their guardian and friend and at 
his death his large fortune was divided among them. The old farm now a part 
of Chester, was long their home, but after their retirement from business they 
occupied the handsome residence erected in Chester by Archibald T. Dick. 

William Eyre married (first) March 4, 1835, .Anna Louisa, daughter of 
Dr. Job H. Terrill of Chester, who bore him two children : Joshua Pusey Eyre 
and another who died in infancy. He married (second) November 26, 1844, 
Rebecca P.. daughter of Caleb Churchman, who bore him Caleb C. : William 
P. and Rebecca, who married William Wilson, now living retired in Chester. 

Dr. Job H. Terrill was born in New Brunswick, New Jersey, November 
18, 1786. In 1807 after receiving a certificate from the Supreme Court of New 
Jersey admitting him to practice medicine he started on horseback to find a 



6o2 DELAWARE COUNTY 

suitable place to locate. He travelled to Washington, D. C. Returning he de- 
cided to settle in Chester. Here he married Margaret .Smith. They had two 
daughters, Emineline, married John O. Deshong, and Anna Louisa, married 
\\"illiam Eyre. Dr. Terril! was one of the most prominent physicians of Dela- 
ware county. He died January 20, 1844. 

Joshua Pusey Eyre, only son of William Eyre and his first wife, Anna 
Louisa Terrill, was born in Chester, January 19, 1836, died there September 
25, 1889. He resided in Chester all his life, his home being the old family 
residence, Preston Place, on Concord Road ; in 1876 he built a new house near 
the old one, facing on Seventh street. He was a large property owner and gave 
his attention solely to the care of his private estate. 

He married, June 25, 1862, Martha .Smith Pennell. born in Chester, March 
17, 1837, who survives him a resident of Washington, D. C. She married (sec- 
ond) George Gray Knowles of L'pland. Pennsylvania, now living retired in 
Washington. Martha Smith Pennell is the daughter of Edmund and Eliza- 
beth Jaquett (Price) Pennell and granddaughter of Jonathan and Ann (De- 
Laney) Pennell of Chester. Elizabeth Jaquett Price was the daughter of John 
and Elizabeth (Smith) Price of Chester, Wilkes-Barre, Pennsylvania, and 
again of Chester. John Price w^as an attorney and a soldier of the War of 
181 2, holding the rank of major. He was the son of Elisha Price, the patriot, 
whose valuable service to the Colonial cause has been given. Children of 
Joshua Pusey Eyre : William, died young, and Sallie Pennell. 

Sallie Pennell Eyre, onh- daughter of Joshua Pusey and Martha Smith 
(Pennell) Eyre, was born in Chester Pennsylvania, July 19, 1872. She at- 
tended private school in Chester until twelve years of age, then until sixteen 
years was a student at the Friend's School, Fifteenth and Race streets, and of 
Miss Agnes Irwin at her private school in Philadelphia. Later she studied at 
the Academy of Fine Arts, and advanced English and history under the instruc- 
tion of Miss Susan Wharton of Philadelphia. She is a member of St. Paul's 
Episcopal Church of Chester, Delaware county, and of Daughters of the 
American Revolution. 

Miss Eyre married, June i, 1893, '" Philadelphia, at Church of the As- 
cension, by Rev. G. Woolsey Hodge, William Gray Price Jr., son of William 
Gray Price, of distinguished Pennsylvania ancestry. John Price, his paternal 
ancestor, who died in 1773, married Elizabeth Alrick, daughter of Peter (2) 
Alrick, who was a grandson of Peter ( i ) .\lrick, (also spelled .Alrich and Al- 
ricks). Peter (1) was ensign and commissary of the fort near Cape Henlo- 
pen, built in 1659: commander of Towns and Forts 1683: Counsellor under the 
Duke of York 1667: Deputy Governor 1673-1674; Member of Assembly 1682- 
i''>83: Provincial Councillor 1685-1689: Justice 1677- 1678- 1680- 1684- 1689, and 
July 7, 1690, was commissioned as one of the Associate Judges of the Supreme 
Court of Pennsylvania, holding until 1693. After the transfer of the province 
to William Penn, Peter Alrick was the first commander of the standing mili- 
tary forces, which Penn was compelled to maintain. Peter (2), grandson of 
Peter (i) Alricks, married Dorcas Land, a granddaugliter of Samuel Land, 
prominent in the afi'airs of the province, and recorded as being one of the nine 
persons who were in the fort and witnessed the surrender of the fort and gov- 
ernment to William Penn. October 28. 1682. and was a signer of the Declara- 
tion of Obedience to his governinent on the same date. Elizabeth, daughter of 
Peter (2), married John Price. 

Samuel Price, son of John and Elizabeth (Alrick) Price, was a member 
of the Committee of Observation of the Chester County Associators, Decem- 
ber 20, 1774, also a private in the company of Captain William Price, First 
Battalion of riie-^tcr count\' militia and served in the Revolution. He married 



DELAWARE COUNTY Cos 

Ann Richards, a descendant of Joseph Richards, who was one of the first pur- 
chasers under Wilham Penn. 

Major Samuel Alrich Price, son of Samuel and Ann (Richards) Price, 
was born in 1796, died in 1861. He was a major of the early Pennsylvania 
militia and a man of importance. He married, Sarah, daughter of Thomas 
and Sarah (Davis) Bickam, of Philadelphia. 

William Gray (i) Price, son of Major Samuel Alrich Price, was born 
1828, died in 1906. He held the rank of lieutenant in the 37th Pennsylvania 
Volunteer Regiment. He married Jane E. Campbell, born in Rockdale, Penn- 
sylvania, August 28, 1837, eldest daughter of James Campbell, born in Stock- 
port, England, in 1805, died at Chester, Pennsylvania, in 1862, the pioneer cot- 
ton cloth manufacturer of that city; married Angeline. daughter of John and 
Mary Turner Garsed (three of whose sons fought in the Civil War). James 
was a son of Joseph and Mary Dodge Campbell of Campbelltown, Argyleshire, 
Scotland. Children of William Gray (i) Price and Jane E. Campbell: Edward 
A., William Gray and Howard Campbell Price, Captain U. S. A. 

William Gray (2) Price, son of Lieutenant William Gray (i) Price, was 
born in Chester, Pennsylvania. March 23, 1869, and was educated in private 
and public schools of that city. He entered the employ of the Delaware Coun- 
ty Trust Company. Chester, in 1887, continuing with at that corporation six 
years. On March 11, 1893, he located in Philadelphia, there engaging in the 
coal business for two years, then engaging as an operative builder on an exten- 
sive scale. He was continuously in successful business until the Spanish-Amer- 
ican War when he tendered his services to the Government, which were accept- 
ed and temporarily drew him away from private business. He was mustered 
out in October, 1898, and until 1906 was engaged in the same line of business 
in Philadelphia and Pittsburgh. In that year he returned to his native city, 
Chester, and is there engaged in building operations, similar to those engaged 
in, in Philadelphia and Pittsburgh, and also is president of the Wyoming Sand 
and Stone Company of Wilkes-Barre, Pennsylvania. 

Mr. Price has held a distinguished military career in the Pennsylvania 
National Guards, beginning in his seventeenth year when he entered as a pri- 
vate in Company B, Sixth Regiment, on May 24, 1886. He has inherited his 
military ardor from his many warlike ancestors and when once started in mili- 
tary life his progress was rapid. On February 11, 1889, he was made corpor- 
al; elected second-lieutenant of Company B, Sixth Regiment, April 13, 1891; 
elected first lieutenant of Company C, December 20, 1892; July 7, 1893, was 
appointed adjutant of the Third Regiment; March 11, 1895, appointed battal- 
ion adjutant of the same regiment ; May 24, 1895, he was commissioned ma- 
jor ; March 18, 1898, lieutenant colonel and on April 23, 1901, was elected 
colonel, being unanimously re-elected colonel in 1906. In April, 1910, he was 
appointed by Governor Stuart a brigadier general in the National Guard of 
Pennsvlvania and assigned to command the First Brigade, consisting of the 
First, Second and Third Regiments of Infantry. During the .Spanish Ameri- 
can War he served as lieutenant colonel of the Third Regiment Pennsylvania 
Volunteer Infantry, being commissioned l\Iay 11, 1898, and was mustered out 
with his regiment October 12, 1898. General Price belongs to many social 
and patriotic societies ; is an original member of the .State Armory Board, hav- 
ing been appointed by Governor Pennypacker, September 20, 1906. Among- 
his other memberships is that of the Sons of the Revolution, Naval and Military 
Order Spanish-American War, and the L'nion League of Philadelphia. He is 
a vestryman of St. Paul's Church of Chester. In politics he is an active ardent 
Republican, but never accepted other than military office. He married as 
stated, [une i, 1893, Sallie Pennell Eyre, of equally distinguished colonial 



(»4 DELAWARE COUNTY 

descent. Children of Gen. William Gray and Sallie Pennell (Eyre) Price; 
Josluia Pusey Eyre, born April 25, 1894, in Philadelphia, graduate Chester 
high school, now a student at the University of Pennsylvania, class of 1915; 
Terrill Eyre, born in Philadelphia, November 13, 1895, graduate Chester high 
school, now a student of the L'niversity of Pennsylvania, class of 1915 ; William 
Alrich, born in Philadelphia, February 22, 1897, now a student at Chester high 
school ; Martha Eyre, born at Secane, Delaware county, Pennsylvania, August 
13, 1899; Elizabeth, born at Secane, April 15, 1902; Virginia, born at Secane, 
August 7, 1903 ; these three now attending Friends School at Media ; Sarah 
Eyre, born in Chester, Pennsylvania, August 27. 1907. 



The Bagshaws of England have long been seated in that 
BAGSHAW country, the first of this branch coming to the United States 
when a young man, being the only one of a large family to 
leave England for a home in this country. 

William Bagshaw born in Manchester, England, in 1824, died in Delaware 
county, Pennsylvania, in November, 1900. He came to Pennsylvania before 
his marriage, taking passage in one of the sailing vessels of the Cope line, con- 
suming six weeks on the voyage. He settled at Leiperville, Delaware county, 
where he was employed in a mill, thence coming to Chester, following the same 
employment until 1873. He was an energetic, careful man and accumulated suf- 
ficient capital to start in 1873, a confectionery and ice cream establishment in 
Chester, which he successfully conducted until his death. He was a Democrat 
in politics, but supported William McKinley for the presidency when opposed 
by William T- Bryan. He married Ann Robinson, born in Manchester, Eng- 
la'nd, in 1823', died in Chester in 1890; children: John, died young; William L., 
died in Chester in February. 191 1. He was associated with Prof. Jackson in 
the manufacture of fireworks, later was a confectioner in Chester. He mai-- 
ried (first) Miss Hoopes, (second) Miss Worrell, who survives liim a resi- 
dent of Harrisburg, Pennsylvania ; ATary Ellen, died in Chester aged twenty- 
three years, unmarried; James R., see forward. 

James R. Bagshaw, youngest son of William and Ann (Robinson) Bag- 
shaw", was born in Chester, Pennsylvania, July 29, i860. He attended the pub- 
lic schools of Chester and was a student in high school, when in 1873 he left 
school to assist his father in his business, later becoming a partner and was the 
active manager of a prosperous and constantly increasing ice cream and con- 
fectionery business until 1898. He then retired from the firm and until 1906 
was in the employ of Wanamakcr and Brown at Sixth and Market streets, 
Pliiladclphia. In 1906 he returned to business in Chester, opening a clothing 
store, having gained an expert knowledge of that business during his eight 
years in one of the best known of Philadelphia's clothing stores. He opened 
his store at the corner of Edgmont avenue and Welsh -treet, where he has 
built up a very large business in clothing and gentlemen's furnishings. ^In his 
shoe department he has very strong lines, including the sole agency in Chester 
for the W. L. Douglas shoes. Mr. Bagshaw has been engaged in retail mer- 
chandising since a lad of thirteen years of age and for fifteen years has devoted 
himself exclusively to his present line. He is a wise buyer, a good salesman 
and manages his large business with a wisdom that results in a constant 
growth, a loyal army of patrons and a satisfactory balance sheet. 

Mr. Bagshaw has also been prominent in the public and official life of 
Chester. In 1887 he was the successful Re])ublican nominee for common coun- 
cil, serving through successive elections five years. From 1893 to 1896 he was 
chief of police, then was elected to select council, serving for twelve consecu- 



DELAWARE COUNTY 605 

tive years, having retained home and residence in Chester during the years he 
was in business in Philadelphia. He also was appointed to fill out an unex- 
pired term in the office of City Comptroller. He served his city well in official 
capacity and left behind him in each position held, a record of duty faithfully 
performed. He attends St. Paul's Protestant Episcopal Church; is a mem- 
ber of Chester Lodge No. 236, Free and Accepted Masons; Larkin Lodge, 
No. 78, Knights of Pythias ; Chester Lodge, Patriotic Order Sons of America ; 
Chester Evrie No. 159, Fraternal Order of Eagles, of which he is past presi- 
dent; Chester Lodge, Loyal Order of jNIoose, of which he is dictator; treasurer 
of the Moyamensing Hook and Ladder Company, of which he has been a mem- 
ber twenty-five years, and was chairman of the general committee of the State 
Fireman's Convention held in Chester in the summer of the present year 1913. 
He has interests outside those mentioned and is president of the Edgmont 
Avenue Business Men's Association. 

Mr. Bagshaw married. May 14, 1895, in Chester, Esther Turner, born in 
Rockdale, Pennsylvania, daughter of George W., deceased and Jane (Faulk- 
er) Turner, who survives her husband, a resident of Chester; children, all 
born in Chester: James R. (2), born May 18, 1896, graduate Chester high 
school class of 1913 ; Leon, born February 3, 1898; Mary E., August 4, 1900. 



Alexander Brooke Geary, of the Delaware county bar, with 
GEARY offices in the city of Chester, Pennsylvania, resides at Walling- 

ford, in Nether Providence township, Delaware county, Penn- 
sylvania, where he was born, November 24, 1870. His education was obtained 
in the public schools of that township, which he attended until he was fourteen 
years of age. After leaving school he worked on a farm until he was seven- 
teen years of age, and then worked in the Baldwin Locomotive Works until 
October, 1892, when he entered the office of Oliver B. Dickinson, Esq., of 
Chester, Pennsylvania. He was admitted to the bar of Delaware county on 
December 3, 1894. 

Soon after his admission he opened an office and has since been engaged 
in general practice, being a member of the Delaware county bar, the Philadel- 
phia bar, the Supreme and Superior Courts of Pennsylvania and the United 
States Courts for the Eastern District of Pennsylvania. He has been counsel 
in a number of important cases and in public investigations. At the unanimous 
request of the grand jury in 1899, he acted as special counsel in the investi- 
gation of a bridge contract. He was also of counsel for a committee of citi- 
zens in the audit of the accounts of the Directors of the Poor, which resulted 
in the surcharging of the officers and also the prosecution of them. When the 
stuffing of the jury wheel for the December court of 1912 was discovered, he 
was appointed chairman of a Bar Association committee to investigate the 
matter, and at this writing the committee is engaged in the discharge of its 
duties. He has never represented an applicant for a liquor license, but has 
consistently appeared as counsel in opposing the granting of licenses and is at 
the present time counsel for the No-License League of Chester. 

In politics he is a Democrat, and has been a member of the Democratic 
county executive committee since attaining his majority. In 1905 he was se- 
lected as the candidate for district attorney on the fusion ticket, and while de- 
feated, an adverse majority of about 15,000 of the previous year was reduced 
to 1400. He was also the candidate of his party for state senator in 1912. He 
was elected school director in Nether Providence township in 1899, and served 
for a term of three years. During his term the old Union school house was 
abandoned and the handsome new building erected on the Providence road, at 



■6o6 DELAWARE COL"NTY 

Wallingford. He was the moving spirit in the organization of the Horace 
Howard Furness Free Library at Wallingford, the name of which has since 
been changed to the Helen Kate Furness I'"ree Library, and has been the treas- 
urer of the corporation since its organization. He is actively engaged with the 
other officers and directors in preparing for the erection of a new library 
building for the library. 

In January, 1909, the county commissioners elected him county solicitor, 
and he served as such for one year. During his term in that capacity he gave 
strict attention to the duties of the office and saved the county considerable 
money by insisting that officials should not be paid more than they were enti- 
tled to by law, so careful was he of the county's interests that the bosses 
brought pressure to bear upon the county commissioners and at the end of the 
year he was dismissed from the office. He is the editor and publisher of "The 
Weekly Reporter," the legal journal of the county, which in book form is 
known as "The Delaware County Reports." 

He is a descendant of James Geary, who came to America with a brother 
during or immediately preceding the Revolutionary War. The father of Tames 
was an officer in the English navy, and as the boys were sympathizers with the 
colonies it seemed best that they should come here. James settled in Bucks 
county, Pennsylvania, and married Dinah Carrell, a direct descendant of James 
Carrell, who was one of the founders of the old Log (Presbyterian) church 
in Bucks county. Dinah, the wife of James, was the daughter of Solomon and 
Mary Carrell. Solomon was a soldier in the Revolutionary army, and was 
killed or died while with the American army on Long Island. His widow 
Mary afterward married Charles Ryant, a member of the Society of Friends 
of Concord township. After his death she purchased a tract of land in Nether 
Providence township and erected a house upon it which is still standing, and 
in which she resided until her decease. She lived to the advanced age of 104 
years. Her daughter, Dinah Geary, also lived to the age of 104 years, leaving 
to survive her three children, one of whom, William, was the grandfather of 
the subject of this sketch. William was born in Philadelphia in 1789, and died 
in Nether Providence township m 1880. He was a soldier in the war of 1812. 
He was a carpenter by trade, and for a number of years taught school. He 
married Ann Abbott, a native of Chester county, Pennsylvania. He left three 
sons — Davis, who died without children ; Albert, who died in Nether Provi- 
dence, leaving five children ; and George, the father of Alexander B. 

George Geary was born in Philadelphia, in 1827, and died in Nether 
Providence in 1913. He married Susannah Armstrong, a native of county 
Armagh, Ireland, and who died in 1898. George Geary worked at farming, 
in an axe factory, and as a genera! laborer. In 1868 he purchased a property 
in Nether Providence and resided upon it until his decease. George and Su- 
sannah Geary were the parents of twelve children : Charles C. Susannah E. 
Bishop, George, Robert, Catharine Dietrich, William H., John B., Annie V. 
Vernon, Sarah E., .Alexander B.. Laura E. and Joseph L., ten of whom are 
living in 1913. 

.Alexander B. Geary is a member of George W. Bartram Lodge, F. and 
A. M., of Media, Pennsylvania : Chester Lodge No. 253. I. O. O. F. ; Penn Club 
of Chester, Chester Club, the Lawyers' Club of Philadelphia, and the Demo- 
cratic Club of Philadelphia. He is also a member of the Laymen's Evangeli- 
cal .Association of the Chester Presbytery, and of the Carrell Reunion. He 
is a member of the Wallingford Presbyterian Church of Wallingford, and for 
several years was superintendent of the Sunday school connected with that 
■church. 

On May 10, 1902. he was united in marriage with Miss Eleanor J. Wilson, 



DELAWARE COUNTY 607 

•of Chester, Pennsylvania. Mrs. Geary is a daughter of Joseph Osgood Wil- 
son and Isabel (Cornog) Wilson, the former of whom was born in the state 
of Delaware, and the latter in Delaware county, Pennsylvania. Mr. Wilson is 
a veteran of the civil war, having served in the navy, and the inventor of a 
number of patented appliances in connection with stationary steam engines and 
boilers. 

Mrs. Geary was educated in the public schools of Chester, and is a gradu- 
ate of Peirce School of Philadelphia. She studied law with George M. Booth, 
Esq., of Chester, Pennsylvania, and was admitted to the Delaware county bar 
on September 19, 1898. She has not been engaged in practice since her mar- 
riage, but has been interested in many movements for civic advancement. She 
is a member of the Woman's Club of Media, Pennsylvania, of the Philadelphia 
Music Club of Philadelphia, Pennsylvania, and of the Women's Christian 
Temperance Union of Delaware county. After marriage, Mr. and Mrs. Geary 
lived in Chester until 1906, when they moved to their present residence, then 
newly erected. They reside on part of a large tract which was granted by 
William Penn to the Vernon family in 1682, and this portion of which remained 
in that family until 1870. Mr. and Mrs. Geary are the parents of two children: 
Eleanor Wilson, born in 1903, and Alexander Brooke, born in 1906. 



Six generations of Bossards have lived in Monroe county, 
BOSSARD Pennsylvania, the first settler of the name being Philip Bos- 
sard, born in France in 1687. He was a man of means, bring- 
ing ten thousand dollars with him to this country. He purchased from the 
Penns a large tract of land, now included in Monroe county, Pennsylvania, 
where he died in 1777. Of his five sons, only Peter grew to manhood, the oth- 
ers being killed by the Indians, who passed the log home of the FSossards on 
their way to the Wyoming Valley, where the massacre soon afterward fol- 
lowed. Peter alone of the children escaped. The name was originally spelled 
Bossert. 

(II) Peter, son of Philip Bossard, was a farmer of Monroe county, Penn- 
sylvania. He married and had a son Peter, of whom further. 

(III) Peter (2), son of Peter (i) Bossard, was also a farmer of Mon- 
roe county, Pennsylvania. He married and had a son Melchoir, of whom 
further. 

(IV) Melchoir, son of Peter (2) Bossard, was a farmer of Monroe coun- 
ty, Pennsylvania. He married and had a son Jacob, of whom further. 

(V) Jacob, son of Melchoir Bossard, was born in Monroe county. Penn- 
sylvania, died in Ida Grove county, Iowa, in 1910. aged nearly ninety years. 
After a life spent in farming in Monroe county he moved to Iowa in his old 
age with his wife, who was a Miss Reis, who died there in 1908, aged eighty-five 
years. Children, all born in Monroe county: i. Samuel, see forward. 2. Ed- 
ward, a coal dealer in Wilkes-Barre, Pennsylvania, where he died in 1903. 3. 
Ida, twice married, all deceased. 4. Alice, married John Hauser, a building 
contractor, now residing in Wilkes-Barre. 

(VI) Samuel, son of Jacob Bossard, was born in Monroe county, Penn- 
sylvania, in the autumn of 1841, died in Chester, Pennsylvania, March, 1909. 
He was a farmer and school teacher of Monroe county until his retirement in 
1904, when he joined his son in Chester. He was a veteran of the Civil War, 
serving in a Pennsylvania regiment for three years. He was captured at the 
battle of Antietam and held a prisoner in Libby Prison for six months, then 
exchanged. He rose to the rank of sergeant. In political faith he was a 
Democrat, a man of high character and respected by all. He married Mar- 



6o8 DELAWARE COUNTY 

garet Edinger, born in }\lonroe county. Pennsylvania, in 1840, died in Strouds- 
burg, Pennsylvania, in March, 1909, daughter of Abraham Etlinger, a member 
of the Pennsylvania Legislature and a wealthy cattle dealer; he married a 
Miss Fennel!. Children of Samuel Bossard, all born in Monroe county: i. 
I\lartha, born in 1865; married George F. Bartholomew, a clerk, and now re- 
sides in Stroudsburg. Pennsylvania. 2. Susan, born in 1867 ; now residing iit 
Chester, unmarried. 3. Catherine, born in i86g; married Allen Musselman, 
now proprietor of Chester Steam Laundry. 4. Robert Lee, see forward. 5. 
Frederick Philip, born in June. 1876 : now a partner in business with his 
brother Robert L. ; he married Lizzie Morgan, of Stroudsburg, Pennsylvania. 

(\'II) Robert Lee, son of Samuel and Margaret (Edinger) Bossard, was- 
born in Monroe county, Pennsylvania, August 27, 1874. He attended the pub- 
lic school until 1890, then began business life as a grocer's clerk, continuing un- 
til 1893. In that year he visited the World's Fair, held in Chicago, later re- 
turning and working in a grocery store for one year. He then became a cloth 
weaver, working at .Stroudsburg. Pennsylvania, until 1896. He then engaged 
in the manufacture of cigars in Stroudsburg, continuing until 1902, when he 
moved to Philadelphia, opening a branch laundry office. In 1904 he located in 
Chester, forming a partnership with his brother. Frederick P. Bossard, and 
establishing an ice-cream and confectionery business. They have prospered 
exceedingly and now have two large well-stocked and furnished stores at No. 
314 Market street and No. 607 Edgmont avenue. The brothers are well 
known business men and prosecute their business with an energy that means 
success. Mr. Bossard is an Independent in politics : a member of the Benevo- 
lent and Protective Order of Elks, of Chester, and the Woodmen of the World. 

He married, in New York City, in November, 1907, Margaret Brennan, 
born in Schuylkill county, Pennsylvania, daughter of Milton Brennan, de- 
ceased. Children, both born in Chester: Roberta, December 20, 1908; Sam- 
uel, February 4, 1912. 



The original Eyre settler in Delaware county was Robert 

CHEETHAM Eyre, a member of council and a man of importance. The 

line of descent from him to Mrs. Philena Eyre Cheetham, is 

through his grandson. Adam Eyre, who w-as a son of either Robert (2) Eyre 

(jr his brother, William Eyre, both sons of Robert Eyre, the emigrant from 

England. 

Adam Eyre was born in Delaware county, died in Ohio, grandson of Rob- 
ert (i) Eyre. He was a farmer and a member of the Society of Friends. He 
married .'^arah Larkin. born May 14, 1771, in Bethel township, Delaware coun- 
ty, died in Ohio, daughter of Joseph and Ann (Salkeld) Larkin, and grand- 
daughter of John Larkin, who came from England: children: i. Joseph, born 
1798. 2. William, born l\Tarch 18, 1800, married and had issue: Mary Ann, 
Sarah Jane, Melcina, William and Phoebe. 3. Nathan L. (see forward). 4. 
Lewis, died young. 5. Lewis (2), born March 14, 1805, married Jane Hunter 
and had a son William H., who married Hannah Graham, whose children are: 
Harry C, William H. (2) married Millie Haas and has a son \A'illiam H. 
(3), died March 30, 1910. Lewis G.. married Mamie Detra and has a daugh- 
ter Dorothy May. 6. Elizabeth Ann. born January 12, 1808, married William 
Heacock. 7. Ann S. Price, born September 15. 1812, died April i. 1863, mar- 
ried Joseph Larkin, had daughter Sarah Elizabeth, married .\lfrcd England. 
They had daughter Ella Irene. 

Nathan L. Eyre, third son of .Adam and Sarah (Larkin) Eyre, was born 
in \'irginia, February 22, 1803, died in Bethel, Delaware county, Pennsyl- 
vania, August 9, 1864. He moved with his parents settling in Highland coun- 



DEL.VWARE COUNTY 609 

ty, Ohio, but after their deaths came to Delaware county where he finished his 
education, married and engaged in farming until his death. He was a member 
of the Society of Friends and of the Independent Order of Odd Fellows. 

He married, September 26, 1838, Ann Larkin, born in what is now the 
city of Chester, April 7, 1806, died April i, 1863. She was the daughter of 
Salkeld and Sarah (Pennell) Larkin, both of old Delaware county families; 
children (all born in Bethel township, Delaware county) : i. Sarah, born 
March i, 1839, died at Bethel, January 17, 1859, unmarried. 2. Joseph Lar- 
kin, born January 26, 1840. He enlisted in 1861 in the 97th Regiment Penn- 
sylvania Volunteer Infantry and was killed at Port Royal, South Carolina, Au- 
gust 4, 1863. 3. Philena (see forward). 4. Pennell, born August 30, 1843, 
now living in Chester. He married, May 19, 1864, Eliza A. Hanby, deceased. 

5. Louisa, born April 29, 1846, died May 25, 1853. 6. Nathan, born May 28, 
1849, "ow living in Chester, married Sarah Cheetham, deceased. 

Philena Eyre, daughter of Nathan L. and Ann (Larkin) Eyre, was born 
in Bethel township, Delaware county, Pennsylvania, August 21, 1841. She 
was educated in the public school and Friends school at Ercildoun, Pennsyl- 
vania, also was taught privately at home. She is a birth-right member of the 
Society of Friends and a woman of charming gracious manner. 

She married, April 26, 1865, James Cheetham, born October 13, 1840, in 
Aston township, Delaware county, died in Chester, Pennsylvania, May 30, 
1902, son of Charles and Sarah Lawrence (Elliott) Cheetham. Charles Cheet- 
ham, born in England, came to the United States when a young man, natural- 
ized and became a resident of Delaware county. He rented the mills now 
known as the John B. Rhodes mills, which he operated successfully for a time, 
later bought and operated the Concord Cotton mills. James Cheetham was ed- 
ucated in the public school and until his marriage worked in his father's mills. 
He then engaged in farming until 1869, when he established and maintained a 
successful dairy business until his death. He was a veteran of the Civil War, 
serving for one year with the 124th Regiment Pennsylvania Volunteer Infantry. 
He later re-enlisted, was commissioned second-lieutenant, but his command 
was not again called into service. He was a Republican in politics and a man 
of high character. Children: i. Sadie, born July 17, 1866, died November 3, 
1886. 2. Anna Eyre, married. June 18. 1902, James H. McClymont, a promi- 
nent architect of York, Pennsylvania ; child. James Cheetham. 3. Madella, 
born in Maryland, married January 2, iC}Oi. William Harlan Rigby, born in 
Concord, Delaware county, a descendant of the early Sharpless family which 
came in 1682; child: Madella Johps. 4. Samuel Dutton. 5. Jean Meyer, mar- 
ried January 8, 1902, Hugh Carlon .Aiken — children : Richard Page and Louise 
Eyre. Hugh Carlon Aikin was ? member of Company C, Sixth Regiment, 
National Guard Pennsylvania, and served during the Spanish-American War. 

6. Joseph Larkin Eyre, married October 12, 191 1, Catherine Marguerite 
Hughes — child: Joseph Larkin Eyre (2) ; Joseph Larkin Eyre Cheetham was 
a member of Company C, .Sixth Regiment, National Guard Pennsylvania, and 
served during the .Spanish-American War. 7. Philena Pennell. 

Mrs. Cheetham, since becoming a widow, has continued her residence in 
Chester, her home being at Eleventh and Madison s<^reets. 



In early times the Garretts were important millers of Upper 
GARRETT Darby township, Delaware county. William Garrett came in 
1683 from England, settling on two hundred and three acres 
that was surveyed to him March 5. if^i88. In 1766, William Garrett was as- 
sessed on a leather mill and a blade mill, also in 1774 on a fulling mill and a 
40 



6io DELAWARE COUXTY 

blade mill. In 1782 Osborn Garrett was assessed on a fulling mill and in 
1788 on a skin mill, also on a plaster mill. In 1798. Thomas Garrett owned a 
tilt mill at the site of the later Union Mills and there Thomas and Samuel 
Garrett conducted the tilt mill, oil mill and cotton factory for many years. 
These were all descendants of the emigrant, William Garrett, the founder of 
the Garrett family of Delaware county. The line of descent from William (i) 
to Edwin Garrett of Chester is through William (2) Garrett and Alary Smith, 
married in Darby Meeting 1-5-1726 or 1727. Their second son. Isaac Garrett, 
and his first wife. Elizabeth Hatton, who were married in Concord Meeting 
3-26-1742; their son, Isaac (2) Garrett and Elizabeth Thatcher, who were 
married in Concord Meeting 4-24-1783. They settled on one hundred forty 
acres in Willistown township, Chester county, inherited from Isaac (i) Garrett. 

Their youngest son, William Garrett, born 2-1-1800, died 4-22-1854 — 
killed in an accident. He was a paper mill owner and a farmer of Willistown, 
where he inherited a part of his father's land. He married in Goshen Meet- 
ing, Eliza Sharpless. born 6-26-1807. died 11-25-1889, daughter of Jesse and 
Ann (Harvey) Sharpless of East Goshen. 

Their third son, Harvey S., born 6-16-1834, is now a resident of West 
Chester, Pennsylvania. He owned and operated the [)aper mills in Willistown 
for many years and also owns a large and fertile farm in Chester county. He 
married Mary D. Worrall of Upper Providence township: children: Edwin (of 
further mention) : Phelena, died aged eighteen years: Joseph Harvey, lives on 
the old farm and operates the paper mills there, married Emma Williams; 
Phoebe S., married Willard Evans. 

Edwin, eldest son of Harvey S. and .Mary 1). ( Worrall ) ( larrett. was born 
in Willistown township, Chester county. Pennsylvania, October 10, i860. He 
attended the public school of Willistown, finishing his studies at the Westches- 
ter Normal School. He worked in his father's paper mills until 1884, then 
moved to Chester, Pennsylvania, and there established a stationery store at 
No. 516 and 518 Welsh street. He has been very successful and does a large 
business, both wholesale and retail. In 1891 he bought the Francis Tempest 
paper mill at Beaver \'alley. which he also operates. For fourteen months he 
resided at Beaver Valley, then purchased a residence in Media at No. 7 West 
Third street, where he now resides, dividing his time between mill and store. 
He is an active resourceful business man, honorable and upright, as the Gar- 
retts ever were and in political faith a Republican. Mr. Garrett married at 
Westtown, Chester county, Pennsylvania, Belle Hoopes, born at Westtown. ed- 
ucated there and at West Chester, daughter of Elwood and Minerva (Bernard) 
Hoopes, both deceased, farm owners : children : Elwood Hoopes, born March 
9, 1892, graduate of Media high school, finishing his studies at Mercersburg 
academy — now engaged with his father; Laura, born March 9, 1894, educated 
in the public schools of Media and in George's school in Bucks county, Penn- 
sylvania. 

(The .Sharpless Line). 

The Sharpless family of Pennsylvania spring from Geoffrey and Margaret 
Sharpless of Wybunbury, Cheshire. England, through their son John Sharp- 
less, who was baptized at Wybunbury, August 15, 1624, died 4-11-1685, near 
Chester, Pennsylvania. The date of his coming is fixed as in 1682 and it is 
supposed that he came in the ship "Lion," arriving the 13 da. of 6 mo. John 
Sharpless became a land owner of Chester county and was a member of the 
Society of Friends. He married, April 27, 1662, Jane Moor, born 1638, died 9 
mo. I, 1722. 

Joseph Sharpless, son of John (i) Sharpless, was born at Hatherton. Ches- 



DELAWARE COUNTY 6ii 

hire county, England. 1678, died in Middletown. Chester (now Delaware) 
county, Pennsylvania, 1758. He was a land owner, constable of Nether Provi- 
dence township and an elder of the Middletown Meeting. He married at Hav- 
erford !\Ieeting, 3-31-1704, Lydia Lewis, born in Glamorganshire, Wales, 
1683, died 1763. 

Jacob Sharpless, sixth son of Joseph Sharpless, was born in Middletown, 
Delaware county, 10-14-1722, died in Concord. 7-19-1775. He married at Con- 
cord Meeting, Ann, daughter of Charles and Susanna Blakley, who came to 
Philadelphia from England, died 10-8-1811. 

John Sharpless, eldest son of Jacob Sharpless, was born 9-2'8-i749, died 
10-29-1834. He was an industrious farmer, prosecuting his business with en- 
ergy and acquiring considerable real estate. One season he raised eighty bush- 
els of cloverseed, which he sold for twenty dollars per bushel, which feat 
caused his fame to spread widely. Both his marriages were performed by a 
magistrate, which caused him to be disowned, but he was later received with 
his family into the society. It is said that as fast as his children married, he 
placed them upon farms, but as he had twelve children, this would imply vast 
holdings or small farms. He married (first) Elizabeth Yearsley, born 12-11- 
1752, died 7-31-1796, daughter of Nathan and Susanna (Wright) Yearsley of 
Thornbury. 

Jesse Sharpless, third son of John Sharpless, by his first wife, was born 
in Concord, Pennsylvania, 2-II-1779, died in East Goshen 6-22-1866. He set- 
tled after marriage on a part of his father's land in East Goshen on the road 
from Rocky Hill to Goshenville. In 1818 he purchased from Evan Griffith and 
wife an adjoining farm of eighty-three acres. He married, 3-14-1805, at Ken- 
net Meeting, Ann Harvey, born at Pennsbury, 5-31-1783, died in East Goshen 
8-28-1866, daughter of Amos Harvey, son of William (2) son of William (i) 
Harvey, who came from Worcestershire, England, in 1712. 

Eliza, second of the nine children of Jesse and Ann (Harvey) Sharpless, 
married in Goshen Meeting, William Garrett, of previous mention, and they 
became the grandparents of Edwin Garrett of Chester and Media, previously 
recorded. 



That passing years and changing conditions have not served 
SCHAFFER to dim the lustre which has been characteristic of the Dela- 
ware County Bar from the earliest times, sufficiently appears 
by any review of the character and attainments of the lawyers of the county in 
this present day. among whom no name stands out more prominently than 
that of William I. Schafifer. A notable member of a bar of which much is 
expected, his reputation marks him already, when barely in his prime, as an 
advocate worthy of the best traditions of his profession. His ability as a 
lawyer and his other gifts have already made him a state wide figure, and 
broader fields seem merely to develop latent powers, with splendid promise of 
future years and further triumphs in political and forensic endeavor. 

Mr. SchaflFer comes of Scotch-Irish and German stock, and is the son of 
George A. and Mary H. (Irwin) Schaffer, having been born in Germantown, 
Philadelphia, on February 11, 1867. In 1874 his parents moved to Chester, 
Pennsylvania, where he obtained his education in the public schools ; so that 
he may be truly claimed as a product of the county. After leaving school, he 
acted as clerk for a short time, but his natural aptitude and inclination were 
toward a professional career. Mr. SchafFer confesses even yet to some weak- 
ness toward the study of medicine, but financial difficulties stood in the way of 
acquiring a medical education, and an opportunity opening to study law with 



6i2 DELAWARE COUNTY 

William B. Broomall, Esq., who was already a giant in the profession, direc- 
tion was thus early given to his career. Although a mere boy, he at once dis- 
played the qualities of mind which have since marked him, and by intense ap- 
plication and unflagging industry he not merely mastered his student tasks, but 
acquired a proficiency in stenography which stood him well in hand in his stu- 
dent and early professional days. He was prepared to seek admission to the bar 
before he had attained the minimum age of eligibility, so that on his twenty-first 
birthday, February ii, 1888, he achieved the first step of his ambition and be- 
came a lawyer. One year later he was admitted to practice in the Supreme 
Court, being one of the youngest men of his generation admitted to practice 
before that tribunal. 

He continued to be associated in his professional career with Mr. Broom- 
all as first assistant, and in the office of his former preceptor he found not only 
opportunity for valuable experience, in cases involving every form of legal 
procedure, but the advantage of association with a senior of pre-eminent abil- 
ity. He early won his spurs as a trial lawyer by his defense in the famous 
"Fire-bug" case, and thereafter his services were in constant demand. Since 
then he has figured on one side or the other, in most of the important causes 
tried in the county, and in many tried in other jurisdictions in the state, nota- 
bly in the famous "Capitol" cases in Harrisburg, in which he was one of the 
leading attorneys for the defense. His success is attributable not merely to 
his more than first rate ability in all the peculiarly professional fields, but to a 
winning personality and a loyalty to friends and clients which with him raises 
advocacy to the highest plane of service. 

In lyoo he was appointed Reporter of the Supreme Court of Pennsyl- 
vania, which position he continues to liold. He is now engaged in practice in 
Chester, with offices in the Gibson Building. 

Mr. Schaffer has been interested in political affairs from his youth. He 
is a lifelong Republican and early in life was engaged as an organizer and 
campaign speaker, his services being in constant demand. He served many 
terms as a member and chairman of the county committee ; was a frequent 
delegate to county conventions and in 1890 was a delegate to the State Con- 
vention of his party. In that convention, he was a supporter of General Hast- 
ings for the gubernatorial office and in an eloquent speech seconded his nomi- 
nation. At the Harrisburg Convention of 1894, he made the speech nominating 
John B. Robinson for Lieutenant Governor, and in 1903, he placed William L. 
Mathues in nomination for State Treasurer. One of his nominating speeches 
which attracted widest attention was that placing Judge Robert van Moschzis- 
ker in nomination for Justice of the Supreme Court of Pennsylvania. He has 
done yeoman service for his party friends and has not been unrewarded. The 
convention of 1891 nominated him as a delegate at large to the Constitutional 
Convention, and in 1893, he was elected District Attorney of Delaware county, 
taking office January, 1894, serving through a re-election, a period of six years. 
He won general cornmendation for his administration of his office, one which 
by learning, experience, energy and ability as a public speaker, he was eminent- 
ly qualified to fill. His gifts as an orator have brought him many calls for 
speeches, not only in his own, but in other States, where hard political battles 
were being fought. He is a member of the American Bar Association, the 
State and County Bar Associations and of many societies, organizations and 
clubs, including the Masonic Order and the Union League of Philadelphia. 

Mr. Schafifer married. December 23, 1893, Susan A., daughter of Charles 
F. Cross, of Towanda, Pennsylvania. 



DELAWARE COUNTY 613 

The Green family in America springs from English stock and 
GREEN it is highly probable, in fact, every item of information concern- 
ing the early members of the family confirms it, that the progeni- 
tors of the American family were socially and politically distinguished and 
prominent, as well as possessing great wealth. The following letter, published 
in "The Nation." at Boston, in October, 1888, serves to throw some light upon 
the early generations, whose history and traditions are closely shrouded in 
time's misty veil : 

To the Editor of the Nation. 

Sir — I may perhaps be trespassing on your space if I ask you to publish the following 
"Simple Tale." 

I happen to be the Rector of the parish of Green's Norton, Northamptonshire, Eng- 
land. In the parish church are several mutilated tombs, belonging to the family of 
"Green," who, for si.x generations between the fourteenth and fifteenth centuries were the 
lords of the manor. The first Sir Henry Green was Lord Chief Justice of England about 
the end of the thirteenth century ; the last Sir Thomas Green was the father of Maud 
Green, who married Sir Thomas Parr, of Kendal, Westmoreland, and was mother of 
Kate Parr, Queen of England by marriage with Henry VIII. 

The only information I can arrive at by inquiry from the oldest inhabitant of this 
parish about the Green family is that many years ago a gentleman from America (my 
informant mentions Boston doubtfully) came to this church, presumably to inspect the 
beautiful tombs and brasses belonging to the Green family. 

We are about to undertake the re-arrangement of the church. I write to you to know 
if it is within the limits of your rules as editor to allow the letter to appear in your 
columns, as perhaps some member of the Green family would wish to have a voice in the 
disposal of the effigies which still remain as witnesses of their wealth and position. 

I may only add that I am "a constant reader" of your paper and an occasional con- 
tributor thereto. 

Yours sincerely 

S. BEAL, D. C. L. 
The Rectory, Green's Norton. Towchester, England, September 29. 1888. 

Horace Plankinton Green, a grandson of George Green, a prominent char- 
acter in the history of Delaware county, and son of Isaac and Phoebe H. 
(Plankinton) Green, as born in Edgmont township, Delaware county, Penn- 
sylvania, June II, 1854. He obtained his early education in the public schools, 
continuing his studies in the West Chester State Normal School and the Maple- 
wood Institute at Concordville, Pennsylvania. Deciding to follow the legal 
profession he placed himself under the preceptorship of the Hon. John M. 
Broomall, of Media, and after two years study creditably passed the examina- 
tions and was admitted to the bar of Delaware county in June, 1879. beginning 
active practice immediately. In 1883, he formed, with V. Gilpin Robinson, the 
law firm of Robinson & Green, an association that continued with pleasure and 
profit to both partners until 1892, when each opened a separate office. For 
many years Mr. Green's office occupied the corner of South avenue and Front 
street, in Media. 

To mention his law practice is to praise it, for in the over a quarter of a 
century that Mr. Green was engaged in active practice, he was retained in 
many of the most notable cases tried in the courts of the county, in none of 
which he was worsted because of an opponent more skilled in legal lore than 
he. His clients were assured of a speedy settlement without the delay and liti- 
gation resorted to so often for the purpose of a larger fee. While a fluent, 
and, when occasion demanded, an eloquent speaker, he was wont rather to 
couch his argument in strong, clear, direct phrases, than to resort to the tear- 
ful plea or the thousand and one arts of the profession so frequently used as 
appeals to the sentiment of the jurors. As guardian, executor, administrator, 
trustee, and assignee of estates and valuable properties, Mr. Green's assiduous 
fidelity to his client and the faithful administration of the client's best inter- 



6i4 DELAWARE COUNTY 

ests, gained for liim a reputatidii that caused his services in that hne to be 
greatly in demand. His skill in the preparation of all legal papers affecting ti- 
tles or rights was widely known, his documents offering no loop-hole of escape 
or entry to a possible contestant. 

With all of his professional duties, Mr. Green nevertheless found ample 
time to fulfill the duties owed by every good citizen to his community, that is 
to promote its welfare, to be watchful of its prosperity, and to contribute to 
its development. For six years he was a member of the borough council, of- 
ficiating for part of that time as president. The excellent results obtained 
from his administration of the duties of that office were equalled bv those for 
which he was responsible when president of the local Board of Education of 
which board he was al.so a member for nine vears. Until his resignation he 
was a director and vice-president of the Charter National Bank, of which he 
was an organiser. He also helped in the organization of the Media Title and 
Trust Company, filling the offices of director, solicitor and vice-president for 
that corporation, besides holding positions upon the directorates of several 
other financial institutions. In the Masonic order he was prominent, holding 
the past mastership of the George W. Bartram Lodge, No. 298, Free and Ac- 
cepted Masons, and the past high priestship of :\Iedia Giapter, No. 234, Royal 
Arch Masons. 

Upon partially laying aside the cares of business life, Mr. Green .seized 
the opportunity to gratify a long-felt desire for travel and made two trips to 
Europe, one in ifp^') and another in 1909. His exceedingly active mind and 
unabated energy could not content itself with mere pleasure-seeking and sight- 
seeing, in consequence of which he made a complete and exhaustive study of 
the sociological problems of the countries through which he traveled, becoming 
more thoroughly acquainted with the subtle class distinctions and observation.^ 
)f caste in European countries than probably any man who had not made such 
research his lifework. 

In conclusion it is only right that recognition should be granted the ver- 
latility of Air. Green's personality. Imagine a man active legally, politically, 
.'diicationally, financially, scientifically, fraternally and socially, and not only 
active but a leader in each activity, the force of whose character and the 
warmth of whose personality, together with an irrepressible enthusiasm, 
carry one along on the flood tide of achievement, and you have the late Horace 
Plankinton Green. 

He married, October 7, 1880, Ida Mrginia, daughter of John and 
Mary P. Beatty, of Chester township, Delaware county, Pennsylvania. Child, 
Ernest LeRoy, of whom further. Horace P. Green died in Media, Pennsyl- 
vania, April 4, 191 1. 

Ernest LeRoy, son of Horace Plankinton and Ida Mrginia (Beatty) 
Green, was born at Media, Delaware county, Pennsylvania. .August 4, 1881. 
He obtained his early education in the public schools of the place of his birth 
and was graduated from the Media High School in June, 1897. With the pur- 
pose of matriculation at Swarthmore College, he spent one vear in Swarth- 
more Preparatory School and graduated there, entering the college in the fall 
of 1898, whence he was graduated and received the degree of A. B. in 1902. 
With a hereditary liking for the law as well as inherited ability he decided to 
follow the legal profession and accordingly was enrolled in the law depart- 
ment of the University of Penn.sylvania. He here achieved brilliant success, 
the forerunner of that to come, and was graduated LL.B. in the cla.ss of 1905 
with the highest honors of the year. He immediately started upon the prac- 
tice of law in Media, and has ever since continued there. His practice is large 
and hu-rative, his legal activitie>> (|uite equalling the high standard set bv his 




/fc)v>x*^A-Ai^*«^p^J.*'vx.^^ 



THE NEW YORK 
PUBLIC LIBRARY 



ASIO", LfHOX *N0 
TILDtN FOUND*TIOW>. ^ 



DELAWARE COUNTY 615 

honored father. He is a member of the bars of Philadelphia and Delaware 
counties as well as of the appellate courts of Pennsylvania, to all of which he 
was admitted in 1905. The various activities of his town claim a considerable 
portion of his time and attention, as he is a member of the board of directors 
of the Media Title and Trust Company, likewise a member of the ]\Iedia 
school board, holding the office of secretary. 

He is a prominent member of the Masonic Order, being a Master Mason 
of George \V. liartram Lodge. No. 2q8, Free and Accepted Masons, a Com- 
panion of Media Chapter, No. 234, Royal Arch Masons, and a Noble of Lu Lu 
Temple, Ancient Arabic Order Nobles of the Mystic Shrine. He has also tak- 
en the thirty-two degrees in Scottish Rite Masonry, belonging to Philadelphia 
Consistory. He is a member of the Delta LTpsilon fraternity, which he joined 
while at college, and the Order of the Coif, a legal fraternity, admission to 
which is based upon scholastic standing. His clubs are the Hare Law Club, 
the Gentlemen's Club of Media, the Springhaven Country Club, and the four 
alumni associations of the institutions of learning which he attended, he being 
corresponding secretary of the society of alumni of the Law Department of 
the University of Pennsylvania. 

He married, November 12, 1913, Julia Fries Roberts, daughter of the 
late Harry F. and Emma Van Buskirk Roberts, of Philadelphia. 



The P)roadbeIt family, which has been domiciled for a 
BROADBELT number of generations in the state of Pennsylvania, has 

been an honored one in this country, and probably had its 
origin in England, as the style of the name would indicate. They have been 
chiefly engaged in agricultural pursuits, and have ever done their duty as good 
citizens and patriots in defense of their country. 

Alfred Broadbelt was engaged in farming throughout the active years of 
his long life and is now living in well earned retirement. He removed from 
Darby in 1871 to a farm one mile north of Media. Delaware county, Pennsyl- 
vania, and his life has been spent there since that time. While he has never 
taken an active part in the political life of the section of which he is a resident, 
he has given his staunch support to the principles of the Republican party, and 
has kept in touch with all public questions of importance. He and his wife 
are consistent supporters of the Methodist Episcopal church. Mr. Broadbelt 
married Susan Crozier, and they celebrated the fiftieth anniversary of their 
marriage, February 5, 1913, at the house of their son, Alfred C. 

Alfred C. Broadbelt was born in Darby, Delaware county. Pennsylvania, 
December i, 1868. He was but three years of age when his parents removed to 
Media, and in the district schools of that section of the country he obtained the 
educational advantages which usually fall to the lot of a farmer's son. He as- 
sisted his father in the cultivation of the home farm, obtaining in this manner 
a thorough, practical knowledge of the many details to be considered in suc- 
cessful farming. At the age of eighteen years he was apprenticed to learn the 
blacksmith's trade, but abandoned it at the expiration of three years, as he 
found the work too heavy for his strength, and again engaged in farming. 
Ten vears were thus occujiied. and he then received the appointment of su]:)er- 
intendent of Media Cemetery, and so satisfactory has been his management of 
all matters connected with this that he is still holding the office at the present 
time (1913). The cemetery is an old one, having been founded in 1857, and 
additions have been made from time to time, so that it now covers a tract of 
twenty-seven acres. It is located on elevated ground, one mile north of Media, 
and commands a fine view of the surrovmding country. Mr. Broadbelt is also 



6i6 DELAWARE COUNTY 

a member of the board of trustees of the MecHa Cemetery, and his opinions 
carry weight in the councils of the board. 

Mr. Broadbelt married, June 9, 1892, Hannah B., daughter of WilHam 
and Lydia (Hoops) Henry, of Chester, Pennsylvania, the latter having died 
aIkh her daughter was but five years of age, and the former named died 
in June, 1913. Mr. and Mrs. Broadbelt have had children : Frances Baker, 
born August 5, 1894: Bertha May, October 6. 1901 ; Sue Crozier, November 
13, 1906. Mr. Broadbelt has always been Republican in his political affiliations; 
and while he has never desired to hold jniblic office, always takes a deep and 
beneficial interest in all matters concerning the welfare of the communitv in 
which he lives, as well as in those concerning the country at large. He is an 
active member of the Patriotic Sons of America, and he and all the members 
of his family, are members of the Methodist Episcopal church, and are active 
workers in the interests of that institution. Tn his private, as in his public life, 
Mr. Broadbelt has displayed a most exemplary character, and is held in the 
highest respect and esteem by all in the community. 



The Engles were among the earlier settlers in Chester county, 
ENGLE Pennsylvania, and Burlington county. New Jersey, members of 
the Society of Friends, land owners, men of good repute, promi- 
nent ill church and public affairs. Harry P. Engle. of Media, is a descendant 
of the Chester county family, hi? ancestors having settled in Delaware frori 
Chester county. 

Edward Engle, father of Harry P. Engle, was a blacksmith of Chester 
county, Pennsylvania. Settled later in L'pper Providence township, Delaware 
coimty, where he pursued that calling until his death in 1875. His wife. Alary 
(Phillips) Engle, born in Delaware county, yet survives him, a resident of 
Media. 

Harry P. Engle was born in Upper Providence township. Delaware coun- 
ty, Pennsylvania, January 23, 1871. When four years of age his father died, 
and until he was eight years old he attended the township schools. He then 
was admitted to Girard College, Philadelphia, where he remained nine years, 
obtaining a good education and enjoying all the benefits of that most valuable 
institution. He then for one year worked as a machinist's apprentice, but 
finding that trade unsuited to him, he became a baker's apprentice, working at 
that trade until he had mastered its every detail, finishing with a Philadelphia 
concern. He spent two inore years working at his trade in West Chester, 
Pennsylvania, then located his own bakery at South Media, continuing until 
1898, then moved to his present location at the corner of State and ( )range 
streets. Media. His plant is a modern one, equipped with every aid to sani- 
tary baking, his trade an extensive one covering Media and surrounding lior- 
oughs. During his fifteen years in Media, Mr. Engle has not only obtained a 
solid substantial standing as a business man, but has won a high place in public 
regard as a useful, loyal citizen, and has the honor of being the first Democrat 
to hold the office of burgess since 1893. He is a director and treasurer of 
the Second Media Building and Loan Association, one of the solid financial 
institutions of the borough and one to which Mr. Engle gives his closest atten- 
tion and best business judgment. He is a member of the Independent Order 
of Odd Fellows and the Knights of Pythias and has held all the office chairs 
in both orders. He is a member of the Baptist church and a liberal patron of 
all worthy causes. 

In February, 1909, Mr. Engle was elected burgess of Media as a Demo- 
crat, but his party in that borough is the minority one and the election of a 



DELAWARE COUNTY 617 

Democrat is a rare occurrence and only happens when the candidate possesses 
such strong qualifications for office that they cannot be ignored. Mr. Engle 
has given the borough a wise business administration and has vastly improved 
•conditions ; since taking the office of burgess, streets have been improved, the 
water works system extended and greatly improved, and each department of 
"borough affairs brought to a higher state of efficiency. Both aggressive and 
progressive. Burgess Engle is the right man in the right place. 

He married, December 25, 1895. Cora, daughter of Pierce and Sidney 
(Iford) Bunes, of Chester county, Pennsylvania. Children: Sidney Bunes, 
Mary S., Mildred Bunes. 



The Worrall and Worrell families of Pennsylvania descend 
WORRELL from John W^^rrall (or Worrell) who settled in Chester 
township, then Chester county, Pennsylvania, in 1648, sup- 
posed to be a descendant of Sir Hubert de Warel, who lost three sons at the 
"battle of Hastings. John came to Pennsylvania from Oare, Berkshire, Eng- 
land. Descendants settled in Marple township, now Delaware county, where 
John, Joseph, Peter and Joshua Worrall had various sized tracts of land as 
early as 1683. Peter Worrall was a tanner and founded a family in Marple 
township, as did Joseph, but of Joshua little is known. The family have ever 
been members of the Society of Friends and people of the highest standing and 
substance. 

Joseph W., father of Frank Brooke Worrell, of Media, was a large land 
rand mill owner of Radnor township, Delaware : his mills, which he also oper- 
ated, being known as the Brooke Mills, established by Jesse Brooke, as early 
as 1802, consisted of saw, grist and plaster mills. In addition to his milling in- 
terests he also had a large farm which he cultivated. His business interests 
were large and his standing in the township was of the highest. He was very 
public spirited, using his wealth and influence to further the best interests of 
his community. 

He married Catherine Sharpless Palmer, of the well known Palmer fam- 
ily. Both were members of the Radnor Monthly Meeting of the Society of 
Friends and both are buried in the Friends cemetery near Ithan postoffice. He 
died in March, 1900, she surviving him until February, 1904. 

Frank Brooke Worrell, son of Joseph W. and Catherine Sharpless Wor- 
rell, was born at Radnor. Delaware county, Pennsylvania, December i, 1859. 
He attended the public schools of the township and of Radnor, working on 
the farm during vacation months. He remained at the home farm, his father's 
assistant, until he was twenty-one years of age, then entered Coe College at 
Cedar Rapids, Iowa, continuing until his senior year, when failing eyesight 
compelled him to abandon all thoughts of completing his college course. Leav- 
ing college he returned to his home at Radnor, where he remained one and one- 
half years. He next entered the employ of the government as a teacher in the 
Indian schools at Cheyenne and Darlington Agency, Indian Territory. This 
position he held but a short time when he was appointed superintendent of the 
schools under Colonel Miles, continuing until called home by the illness of his 
father. He remained at home several years, then established in the real estate 
business with offices at North Penn Square and Market street. Philadelphia. 
He there conducted a most successful business, handling large properties and 
continuing until the death of his father in March, 1900, at Media, then his 
home. He then gave up his Philadelphia business and joined his mother at 
Media, where he yet resides. He remained at home with his widowed mother 
Tjntil her death in 1904, then after settling the estate established in 1906, a real 



6i8 DELAWARE COUNTY 

estate office in Media. Although at the time of opening his Media office he 
ilid not have even one piece of property listed, he quickly became known as a 
most capable man and has built up a large and prosperous business. During 
his first three years he made three hundred and nineteen sales, and since 1909 
his business has increased even more rapidly, his office consummating a greater 
number of sales than any other agency in Delaware county. His business cov- 
ers the entire range of a real estate office, buying, selling, renting, making loans 
and selling estates. In the business done for others he also manages a great 
deal of suburban and town property that is his own. He has attained high 
standing in his community, a position won by uprightness and business meth- 
ods of strictest integrity. His wife is a member of the Baptist while he is a 
member of the Presbyterian church, of Media. He is a Republican in politics, 
interested in public afifairs, but never accepting public office. 

Mr. Worrell married December 21, 1903, Deborah P., daughter of Mar- 
shall R. and Lydia (Campbell) Worrell, of Media. Children: Marshall R., 
born April 21. 1905; Frank Brooke (2), born November ij , kjo8. 



The name of Babbitt has been well known in the New England 
B.\BBITT states for many years, members of it having gained note in 
business and professional circles. It is connected by marriage 
with a number of the old colonial families who bore their share gallantly in 
defence of the rights of their country in the old and in the more recent strug- 
gles. 

Thomas H. Babbitt, whose death occurred in August, 1882, was a machin- 
ist by occupation and, at the time of his death, held the res])onsible position 
of superintendent of a large plant at Worcester, Massachusetts, whence the 
family had removed from Harrisvillc, Rhode Island. He married Mary S. 
Boss, who died at the home of her son, Angell B., in February, 1910. She was 
a daughter of Captain Benjamin Boss, who was in active service in the war of 
the revolution, and her maternal ancestors had also taken part in that mem- 
orable struggle. 

.\ngell B. Babbitt, son of Thomas H. and Mary S. (Boss) Babbitt, was 
born in the village of Harrisville, Rhoilc Island, August 21, 1859. He was four 
years of age when his parents decided to remove to Worcester, Massachusetts, 
and his early education was acquired in the public schools of that town. He 
was graduated from the high school with honor in 1879, ^^^ then became a 
student at Harvard University, from which institution he was graduated in 
the class of 1883 with the degree of liachelor of Arts. The earnest .spirit 
which marked the beginning of his career has been apparent throughout its 
progress. He determined to devote his life to teaching, and his successful ca- 
reer as an educator is ample evidence of the wisdom of his decision. During his 
thirty years in school life he has been an indefatigable worker, and has applied 
himself closely to his chosen duties. He commenced his pedagogical work in 
the Shortlidge .Academy, an institution which gained a national rc]nitation, and 
was engaged in teaching the classics there for a period of eight years. The 
De Lancy School in Philadelphia was the next field of his activities, his posi- 
tion being that of classical master, and the connection with this institution has 
been unbroken since that time. He was appointed to the position of head of 
the upper school, and in 1910 was made associate head master, which respon- 
sible ])osition he is filling at the present time (1913). This school also has 
a broad and national reputation, certificates awarded by it enabling the stu- 
dents to obtain admission to the best universities and colleges. Mr. I'abbitt ob- 



DELAWARE COUNTY 619 

tained high honors while a student at Harvard. Second year and final honors 
in classics were conferred upon him, by special examination, and he was 
elected to membership in the Harvard Chapter of Phi Beta Kappa, an honor 
bestowed only upon those of the highest scholarly attainments. 

Mr. Babbitt married, September 2, i(S84, Ida L., born May 11, i860, a 
daughter of John Quincy and Martha (Taft) Adams, of the old New England 
family of that name, in Milford, Massachusetts. Her father enlisted as a sol- 
dier in the civil war when a young man, and died in the hospital at Alexandria. 
Mr. and Mrs. Babbitt have had children: Louis A., born July 9, 1885; Ethel 
Adams, August 20. 1887: Earle O.. January 21, 1890: Walter Hathaway, Feb- 
ruary 23, 1892; Clarence Stephen, September 30, 1894. The family home is 
located at the southwest corner of Jackson and Third streets. Media. Mr. 
Babbitt is a member of the Classical .Association of the ]\Iiddle States. His 
religious affiliations are with the L'niversalist denomination, in which faith he 
was born, but he is not a member of any church. He will not allow himself to 
be fettered in the expression of his political opinions by party ties, preferring 
to form his opinions in an independent manner. He is a member of the execu- 
tive committee of the Media Civic Association, and is vice-president of the 
Media Free Library Association. 



Harry Leedom Smedley, M. D., D. D. S., Ph. G., traces his 
SMEDLEY descent from George Smedley, who was born in England, and 
came to Pennsylvania about 1682, making his first purchase of 
land from William Penn in Dublin township, Philadelphia county. He after- 
wards removed to Middletown (now Delaware county ), and later to Willistown 
township, Chester county, Pennsylvania, where he died in March, 1723. He 
was a member of the Society of Friends. He was married in Friends' Meet- 
ing, Philadelphia, in 1687. to Sarah Goodwin, widow of John Goodwin, and 
daughter of Thomas Kitchen, of Dublin township, Philadelphia county. The 
line of descent is through his second son, George (2), who married Jane Sharp- 
less, daughter of John and Hannah (Pennell) Sharpless, who bore him thir- 
teen children. 

William ( i), son of George (2) Smedley, married, in Providence Friends' 
Meeting, Elizabeth Taylor, a descendant of Peter Taylor, of Chestershire, 
England, who also came to Pennsylvania in 1682. 

William (2), youngest son of William (i) Smedley, married, in Middle- 
town Friends' ^Meeting, Deborah Lightfoot, a descendant of Thomas Light- 
foot, a highly esteemed minister of the Society of Friends of England and 
Ireland. 

Jacob, youngest son of William (2) Smedley. was born on the old Smed- 
ley homestead, which his father bought and inherited, December 31, 1801, and 
died in Media. Pennsylvania. September 26, i88fi. He was an elder of the 
West Chester Meeting, Commissioner of Delaware county, and a man of sub- 
stance. He married in Middletown jMeeting, November 13, 1826, Jane Yar- 
nall, daughter of Isaac and Mary (Pennell) Yarnall, of Edgemont, Chester 
county. 

Abram Pennell Smedley, second son of Jacob and Jane (Yarnall) Smed- 
ley, was born in Edgemont, Chester county, Pennsylvania, January 5, 1829, 
died in Media, Pennsylvania, December 9. 1895, having lived in that town 
since i8t2. He was an expert dentist and practiced in ]\Iedia forty-three years. 
He was a Republican in politics and both he and his wife were members of the 
First Methodist Episcopal Church, of Media. He was a man of active habits. 



620 DELAWARE COUNTY 

fond of out-of-door exercise and thought little of walking from Media to 
Philadelphia and returning the same way. While always interested in puhlic 
matters he took no active part in local affairs, beyond expressing his prefer- 
ence at the polls. He was highly regarded as a dental practitioner, and held in 
like esteem as a friend and neighbor. He married, in Philadelphia, January 
1,3, 1858, Lydia Emma Bishop, born in Edgemont, April 20, 1835, daughter of 
William and Mary (Ottey) P)ishop, of Media, Pennsylvania. One son Frank, 
died in infancy; for their only other child, see forward. 

Dr. Harry Leedom Smedley. son of Dr. Abram Pennell and Lydia Emma 
("Bishop) Smedley. was born in Media, Pennsylvania, October 12, 1858. His 
primary, intermediate and preparatory education was obtained in the Media 
public school and Friends Central School, 15th and Race streets. Philadelphia. 
He then entered Swarthmore College after which he entered the Philadelphia 
College of Pharmacy, whence he was graduated Ph. G., class of 1880. He then 
entered the University of Pennsylvania (dental department), whence he was 
graduated D. D. S.. class of 1882. He continued at the university (medical 
department) obtaining the degree of M. D., class of 1883. having taken the 
dental and medical courses together until his last year, when he attended medi- 
cal lectures only. He at once after graduation began practice with his father, 
electing from the three professions he was qualified to follow, that of dentistry. 
He practiced in association with his father until the death of the latter, since 
then practicing alone. He is thoroughly modern in his practice : his offices be- 
ing equipped with the latest electrical and other devices pertaining to the den- 
tal profession and every attention paid to perfect sanitary and hygienic con- 
ditions. He is a member of the Pennsylvania State Dental Society and the 
Chester and Delaware Counties Dental Society, having served as president of 
ihe latter society. He belongs to George W. Bartram Lodge, No. 208, Free 
and Accepted Masons of Media : the Media Club ; Media Hook and Ladder 
Company. No. i. of the fire department, having been a member since its or- 
ganization. In politics Dr. Smedley is an independent Republican and has al- 
ways been most active in his interest in borough affairs. He served three years 
on the board of education, being president of that board one year : was elected 
burgess of Media by the votes of the people, irrespective of party, serving 
three years, introducing many needed reforms that tended to better civic con- 
ditions, particularly in the matter of public health and general appearance of 
streets, alleys and vacant lots in the borough. He is a member of the Delaware 
county board of prison inspector? and in all things is the friend of progress 
and reform. 

He married. January 28, 1892, in .Springfield, Ohio, Mary .\., daughter of 
George Henry and Rebecca (Clark) Christian, of Media, both deceased. Both 
the doctor and his wife are members of the First Methodist Episcopal Church 
of Media, and both are active, useful workers in church and Sunday school, 
he having been superintendent of the .Sunday school for a number of vears 
and is a member of the oflicial board, governing the church. Mrs. Smedley is 
a member of the Woman's Club, of Media, and prominent in the social life of 
the town. The family home and the doctor's offices arc at No. 13 East Wash- 
ington street, one of the best and most desirable residence districts of Media. 
The doctor like his father, is fond of out-of-doors and gives his sanction and 
encouragement to all wholesome athletic sports. TTe is a most desirable citi- 
zen and is held in the highest esteem, both professionally and socially. 



DELAWARE COUNTY 621 

The Westcotts of Media, Pennsylvania, represented in the 
WESTCOTT present generation by Walter S. Westcott, county treasurer, 
and proprietor of the Charter House, the oldest hotel in 
Media, descend from the New Jersey family founded by Daniel Westcott, a 
prominent public official at Stamford, Connecticut, in 1639, representing his 
district in the general assembly three terms. The Westcott family is spoken of 
in the "History of Devonshire, England," four centuries ago, as "an ancient 
and honorable one as far back as A. D., 1170." The name was then de West- 
cote, a form yet retained in some branches. 

Daniel Westcott, of Stamford, aforementioned, was voted town lands for 
"services rendered against our common enemy," presumably meaning the In- 
dians. In 1694 he disposed of all his property in Stamford, and with a number 
of other citizens of that town removed to New Jersey, naming the locality in 
which they settled Fairfield, the name of their hoine county in Connecticut. 
Mr. Westcott died in 1702, leaving sons, Samuel, Daniel, Ebenezer, who were 
among the founders of settlements in Salem and Cumberland counties. The 
Westcotts were active in founding the First Presbyterian Church at Fairfield, 
many of them serving as ministers, elders and deacons. All of the New Jer- 
sey branch of the family trace their descent from Daniel Westcott through his 
three sons, aforementioned. 

The first of the family to settle in Media, Pennsylvania, was Henry West- 
cott, born in Cedarville, New Jersey, died in Media, in October, 1907. After 
completing his studies in the cominon schools of his home town, he learned the 
trade of carriage builder, which occupation he followed for a number of years, 
establishing a shop and factory in Media, whither he removed about the year 
1870. Five years later he removed to a farm in Marple township, Delaware 
county, Pennsylvania, where he engaged successfully in agriculture until 1883, 
when his buildings, stock, implements and grain were totally destroyed by fire, 
this proving a serious loss. Nothing daunted by this misfortune, he at once 
set about repairing the damage. He remodeled another house which was on the 
property, occupying it as a dwelling, erected a new barn and other buildings, 
and continued his operations thereon, putting the property into excellent condi- 
tion, continuing until failing health caused his retirement from active labor. He 
then returned to Media, where he again engaged in the carriage building busi- 
ness, which he followed until about two years prior to his decease, which oc- 
curred in the year 1907. He was an active member of the Presbyterian church,, 
devoting his time and means to its welfare, and a staunch and earnest Republi- 
can, although never seeking or holding public office, preferring to devote his 
time to his other interests. He was a man of the highest integrity and upright- 
ness of character, honored and esteemed by all who knew him, and had he so 
chosen could have had any position in the gift of the people. He married Mary 
Stewart, born in Ridley township, Delaware county, Pennsylvania, a devoted 
member of the Baptist church, whose death occurred January 18, 1912, and 
whose body was interred beside that of her husband in Media cemetery. 

Walter S. Westcott, son of Henry and Mary (.Stewart) Westcott, was 
born in Media, Pennsylvania, January 18, 1873. He spent several years of his 
early life on the farm in Marple township, and his education was acquired in 
the public schools of Cedar Grove and Media. Completing his studies at the 
age of twelve years, he at once sought employment and secured work as an 
operator with the Media Telephone Exchange. Later he became an office boy 
for George Darlington and Horace Manley, attorneys remaining for one year, 
and then entered the employ of William Campbell, proprietor of a grocery and 
feed store, remaining four years, receiving a salary of one hundred dollars 
yearly. Having obtained as thorough a knowledge of the grocery business as 



622 DELAWARE COUNTY 

was possible under the circumstances, he spent a year in Philadelphia as man- 
ager of a grocery establishment, returning to Media at the expiration of that 
period of time. He then became outside collector and solicitor for the "Dela- 
ware County Record," serving in that capacity for six years, during which time 
he became well known as a perfect encyclopedia of information concerning 
Delaware county, its road, villages, farms and people. He then engaged in the 
grocerv business in Media, continuing in business until May, 1912, when he 
disposed of the same, having been elected county treasurer the previous No- 
vember, taking ofifice, January i, 1912. His market, to which he. later added a 
meat department, was located on the corner of State and Orange streets. He 
was highly successful in this enterprise, receiving an extensive pati'onage 
which increased in volume and importance with each passing year. In .August, 
1912, Mr. Westcott leased the Charter House, in Media, which under his cap- 
able management has taken on a new lease of life, Mr. Westcott and his wife 
doing all in their power to promote the comfort of their many guests and pa- 
trons. There is no bar connected with the house, hence all their efforts are di- 
rected to insuring clean rooms, good and comfortable beds, wholesome and 
well cooked food, and every little attention which goes to make up an ideal 
hotel. Mr. Westcott is a loyal Republican, active and prominent in local poli- 
tics, and aside from the office of county treasurer, which he is filling to the sat- 
isfaction of all concerned, he served for three years on the Republican county 
committee. He is public-spirited and enterprising, and every movement in his 
community which has for its object the betterment of the place finds in him a 
hearty supporter. He is a member of the Methodist Episcopal church, to 
which he contributes liberally of his time and means. 

Mr. Westcott married, on Thanksgiving Day. 1896, Clara J., daughter of 
Hubert J. Riley, of Chester, Delaware county, Pennsylvania. They are the 
parents of one son, Milton Riley, born August 16, 1898. Mrs. Westcott is a 
member of the Episcopal church, and a helpmate to her husband in the broad- 
est sense of the word. 

An almost lifelong resident of Media, Mr. Westcott has there met his re- 
verses and scored his successes. Known to more people than any other man 
in the county, probably, he has been honored by them with the most important 
office in their gift. From bovhood to the present he has lived an active, ener- 
getic life, and by his own honorable exertions and moral attributes has 
carved out for himself, affluence and position. By the strength and 
force of his own character, he overcame obstacles which to others less 
hopeful and less courageous would see unsurmountable, difficulties but 
serving as an incentive to greater efforts. He is as well liked as well known, 
and numbers his jiersonal friends by the hundreds and his acr|uaintances l)y the 
thousands. 



The Fronfields were early settlers of Montgomery county, 
FRONFIELD Pennsylvania, and there Dr. iM-onfield's father, Joseph M. 

Fronfield, was born. He was a miller and farmer, holding 
the town offices of school director and justice of the i)eace for many years. 
He was a member of the Episcopal church, while his wife Eliza (Rogers) 
Fronfield, was a member of the Society of Friends (Hicksite), and of high 
standing in the society. Joseph W. Fronfield died in March, 1897; his wife 
died in April, 1892; and both arc buried in Oakland Cemetery, West Chester. 
J. Harvey Fronfield was born in Phoenix ville, Chester county. May 31, 
1859. He nrejiared for college in the ]niblic schools, finished the course, and 
was graduated in 1876. He then entered the University of Michigan, taking a 



DELAWARE COUNTY O23 

course in chemistry. Then he taught in the pubhc schools of Chester county 
for five years, but abandoned that profession and began the study of medicine 
in the office of Dr. Isaac Massey, of West Chester. He next entered the Medi- 
cal Department of the University of Pennsylvania, whence he was graduated 
M. D., class of 1883. Dr. Fronfield began to practice in Chester county near 
White Horse, continuing there for five years. In the spring of 1888 he located in 
Media, where he has since been in continuous practice for a period covering a 
quarter of a century. His large practice, both medical and surgical, is general 
in character, and his reputation as a skillful physician and surgeon, rests on 
his many years of successful treatment of difficult cases. Dr. Fronfield is a 
member of the American Medical Association, Pennsylvania State Medical 
and Delaware County Medical societies, having served as president of the 
county society. He also belongs to the Masonic order, the Independent Or- 
der of Odd Fellows and the Spring Haven Country Club. Outside of his 
private practice Dr. Fronfield has many public engagements. He is surgeon 
for the Pennsylvania railroad, physician to the county jail, and examiner for 
many insurance and fraternal organizations. In political faith he is a Democrat, 
and he is an interested observer of public affairs. 

Dr. Fronfield married, June g, 1887, Frances A., daughter of William H. 
and Anna (Taylor) Pyle, of West Chester. Their only child, Marian, is a 
graduate of Media High School, Swarthmore Preparatory School and Swarth- 
more College. Mrs. Fronfield is a member of the Woman's Oub, and inter- 
ested in the social life of Media. The family home is at the corner of Second 
and Jackson streets, where Dr. Fronfield has his offices. 



The name Allison occurs quite frequently among the Scotch- 
ALLISON Irish, who settled in the southwestern part of Chester county, 

Pennsylvania, from 1718 to 1740. Perhaps the most influential 
person of the name, during the early period, was Rev. Francis Allison, D. D., 
born in 1705, in county Donegal, Ireland; educated at the University of Glas- 
gow, Scotland : came to Pennsylvania in 1735 ; licensed as a Presbyterian min- 
ister, 1735; soon afterward installed over the church in New London. Chester 
county, remaining fifteen years: located in Philadelphia in 1752; was in charge 
of an academy there : became vice-provost of the college, now University of 
Pennsylvania, on its establishment, 1755: was professor of moral philosophy; 
also assistant pastor of the First Presbyterian Church of Philadelphia; Yale 
College conferred on him the degree of Master of Arts in 1756, and the L^ni- 
versity of Glasgow that of Doctor of Divinity, 1758. It is said he was the 
first clergyman in this country to receive the degree of D. D. He married 
Hannah, daughter of James Armitage of New Castle. Delaware ; his death oc- 
curred November 28, 1779. 

The name was for many years a very prominent one among Philadelphia 
matuifacturers, made so by the famed car builders. Murphy & Allison, suc- 
ceeded by the still more noted W. C. Allison & Sons, and the Junction Car 
W^orks and Flue Mill. The founder of this business, William C. Allison, was 
born of Quaker parentage in Chester county, Pennsylvania, in 1817. When 
six years of age his father died, and at ten years he was left an orphan, de- 
pendent upon his own efforts. He obtained an education and a trade before 
he was nineteen years of age, for at that age he established in business on P)road 
street, near Vine, as a wheelwright and wagon builder. Hardly had he become 
well established when the panic of 1837 occurred and made his undertaking a 
more difficult one. He struggled along until 1841, when he was obliged to surren- 
der along with many an older Philadelphia industry. But perhaps this failure 



624 DELAWARE COUNTY 

was a blessing as it brought forth his latent strength and energy, and while it left 
him penniless, it proved the man. He soon regained the lost ground and after 
discharging every obligation against him, found himself with an established 
reputation for integrity, that he ever afterward upheld. At about this time 
there was a demand from railroads for rolling stock, he turned his attention to 
car building. Having no blacksmith shop, he was obliged to depend on a neigh- 
bor for iron work. This was John Murphy, with whom he later, in 185 1, en- 
tered into partnership for the manufacture of cars, under the firm style Mur- 
phy & Allison. They soon had a flourishing business and were in fact for 
many years the only car builders in the state of Pennsylvania. They furnished 
most of the work for the large transportation companies between Philadelphia 
and Pittsburgh and for the West Chester road and the Germantown & Norris- 
town railroad. After the completion of the Pennsylvania railroad and the al- 
teration of the state road by which the termmus was fixed on ^^larket street, 
Philadelphia, the firm of Murphy & Allison erected extensive shops on Market, 
west of Nineteenth street, which they equipped with the most perfect machin- 
ery for car building then obtainable. The demand for cars of all kinds was 
enormous and the enlarged shops were run to fullest capacity. It was there 
that the first really comfortable passenger cars were built, and the first sleep- 
ing car constructed. An era of street car extension was then at hand and the 
firm enlarged their business by entering into the manufacture of street cars. 
In 185G they bought the Girard Tube Works on the Schuylkill, at Filbert street 
wharf, and added the manufacture of butt welded gas and steam pipes to their 
car building operations. There were but two other plants similar to the 
Girard in the whole country, and the demand for pipes was enormous. In 
May, 1863, their car building plant at Nineteenth and Market streets was de- 
stroyed by fire, entailing a heavy loss upon the firm as they had on hand an 
immense stock of material to be used in government contracts, as well as large 
railroad orders, on which they could not, of course, make deliveries, but within 
a fortnight they had extemporized a plant and were doing their best to meet 
the demands being made on them. They leased for a time the large buildings 
in West Philadelphia at Thirty-first and Locust streets, belong to the Archi- 
tectural Iron Works Company, and within two months they were again building 
cars. About this time they began the erection of a very large plant, later 
known as the Junction Car ^^'orks and Flue Mill, covering ten acres in West 
Philadelphia, between the tracks of the West Chester and Philadelphia and the 
Connecting railway. This was during the dark days of the civil war and the 
prospects were far from bright, but they persevered, and in 1864 occupied the 
new works conceded to be the largest and best equipped in the country at that 
time. The plant had a capacity of two passenger coaches, six city passenger 
cars and thirty-five freight cars weekly, was run to full capacity. In 1866 
they discontinued the building of passenger cars, but added a new branch, the 
making of lap welded iron tubing for boiler flues and for oil well purposes, the 
demand for both then being immense. The amount of business done was enor- 
mous, particularly in the oil region, where the Allison tubing has gained the 
highest reputation. The line required the erection of large additional buildings 
and machinery, requiring nearly a year to complete and in the meantime the 
firm was dissolved by the death of Mr. Murphy. A reorganization was quick- 
ly effected, however, by the introduction of the two sons of William C. Alli- 
son, J. W. and Thomas EUwood Allison, both of whom had been for several 
years associated with their father in the varied business of Allison & Murphy. 
They were now admitted as partners, the firm becoming William C. Allison & 
Sons. The buildings were completed and a most prosperous business conducted 
imtil July 25. 1872, when the fire fiend again exacted tribute, destroying almost 



DELAWARE COUNTY 625 

the entire plant with its acres of buildings. The insurance of three hundred 
thousand dollars, did not cover the actual loss, without taking into considera- 
tion the great loss from interruption of business. The firm again returned to 
their old quarters at Thirty-first and Locust streets, and there with inferior 
facilities managed to continue manufacturing. Meanwhile they again rebuilt, 
erecting more complete and more substantial buildings, and on May i, 1873, 
occupied their new works and resumed business on a more extended scale than 
heretofore. At the height of their prosperity, fifteen hundred men were em- 
ployed, fourteen acres were occupied, more than seven acres of which were 
covered with roofed buildings, and a train of twenty freight cars produced 
each day. Over three miles of railroad tracks traversed the grounds on which 
the company used their own locomotives, while a business of from five to six 
millions of dollars was annually transacted in eighteen separate and distinct 
departments. An idea of the magnitude of their business may be gained froiu 
the fact that the works annually consumed twenty iriillion feet of lumber, sev- 
enteen thousand tons of wrought iron, eight thousand tons of cast iron, four 
hundred thousand pounds of brass, six hundred and seventy-five feet of tin, 
eighty thousand gallons of oil, twenty thousand car axles, forty thousand car 
wheels, fifteen hundred tons of bolts, nuts and washers, and five thousand kegs 
of nails, with equally enormous amounts of raw material and supplies of a 
varied nature. In addition to all their other industries, the firm in 1874 built 
a large wharf on the east side of the Schuylkill, above the South street bridge, 
capable of loading four vessels and several canal boats at the same time. Their 
old plants connected with their jilant at Thirty-second and Chestnut streets, 
and their lines, included besides those mentioned, lumber by the cargo, iron 
works, forgings, bridge work and contractors supplies. The Allison boiler tub- 
ing was rated so highly among engineers that in a few years no salesmen were 
employed, the demand being so well established. William C. Allison continued 
at the'head of the business until his death, November 30, 1891, after an active 
business connection of over half a century. From the little wagon shop of 
1837 he rose through sheer merit, energy and undaunted courage, to the head 
of the then largest concern of its kind in the State. He established a new in- 
dustry — car building — in his State, and left an impress on the tube industry 
that neither trusts nor competition can ever efface ; a selfmade man and one 
who, in every particular, was a credit to the city and State that claimed him 
as a son. 

Thomas Ellwood Allison, son of William C. Allison, was born, reared, 
lived and died in the city of Philadelphia. He was well educated and early in 
life became associated with his father, then junior member of the firm of 
Murphy & Allison. He was employed in the various departtuents, and on the 
death of Mr. Murphy, in 1866, he was so well qualified to assume large respon- 
sibilities, that he was admitted, with his brother, as a partner, the firm re-or- 
ganizing as William C. Allison & Sons. He bore with his father and brother 
the burdens of the immense business, and proved most competent. He could 
not, however, continue under the load of responsibility, and March 23, i88t, he 
died from pneumonia. His father continued as president until 1891, when he 
was succeeded by Frank Ross Tobey, the Allisons retiring. Thomas Ellwood 
Allison married Florence Gregory, born in Philadelphia, who still survives him. 

T. Ellwood Allison, only and posthumous child of Thomas Ellwood and 
Florence (Gregory) Allison, was born in Philadelphia, June 29, 1881. He was 
educated in the Hill School at Pottstown, Pennsylvania, and at the University 
of Pennsylvania and is now a resident of Delaware county. Pennsylvania, with 
offices in Media. He is largely engaged in handling Delaware county real estate 
and is one of the energetic, useful young capitalists of that section. He is in- 
41 



620 DELAWARE COUNTY 

terested in piililic affairs, is generous and philanthropic in disposition and al- 
ways willing to assist in those enterprises that promise to improve conditions 
in his community. He is a member of the Masonic order; Phi Delta Theta 
fraternity: a Republican in politics, and both he and his wife are members of 
the Episcopal church. He married, June i, 1905, Eleanor K., daughter of Ed- 
mund B. and Emily (Bailey) Aymar, of New York City and Philadelphia, re- 
spectively. Children: T. Ellwood (2), Aymar K., and Eleanor M. Allison. 
The family home is a beautiful mansion in Wallingford, Delaware county. 



Work well performed may not always bring a visible reward to 

SMITH the doer, but in the present instance the reward has followed 

closely. A faithful teacher, A. G. Criswell Smith was elevated 

to the liighest educational position under the public school system and for 

twenty-six years has made Delaware county schools the paramount interest of 

his life. 

A. G. Criswell Smith was born near Cochranville, Chester county, Penn- 
sylvania, September 16, 1853, son of Jesse Jackson and jMary M. Smith. He 
was educated in the public schools of West Fallowfield township, Chester 
county, at Hebron Hall in Cochranville and in a private school kept in his 
father's house, known locally as the "Smithsonian Institute." He did not take 
kindly to his father's occupation as farmer, but in 1873 began teaching, his first 
school being in Sadsbury township, Lancaster county. Feeling the need of 
better equipment for the teacher's profession, which he had decided to perma- 
nently follow, he resigned his school in March and entered Millersville State 
Normal School, whence he was graduated in June, 1876. The next year he 
taught a school in East Donegal township, Lancaster county, then two years 
in Highland township in Chester county. He resigned the latter position in 
March, 1879, to accept the principalship of the Lansford borough schools in 
Carbon county. He continued there, gaining experience and reputation until 
1881, when he was elected principal of public schools in Media and moved to 
that borough. After four years of successful service there he was elected 
principal of the schools of Lower Chichester township in Delaware county and 
in 1885 entered upon the duties of that position. He was not, however, long 
allowed to continue, as in May, 1887, he was elected by the school directors of 
Delaware county, superintendent of public instruction for a term of three 
years. So well did he fill this position that he was again elected in 1890 and 
has been reelected each succeeding three years until in 1914 he will complete 
his ninth term as the able head of the county public school system. 

With an ardent love for the profession of teaching, Air. Smith would 
have risen, to perhaps greater heights, but it can safely be questioned whether 
in any other field he could have been more genuinely useful. He has grown 
with the schools of the county ; has led his teachers to higher planes of effi- 
ciency; inspired school boards with a spirit of progressive interest that has re- 
sulted in modern school buildings, modern equipment and modern methods in 
every department. The work accomplished by Mr. Smith, through his school 
boards and teachers is fully set forth in the chapter on education in this work. 
He has proved "the right man in the right place" and all unite in his honor. 
Besides his deserved prominence in his own county, he has a reputation state- 
wide and is well know in educational circles through his work at national 
educational conventions. He has not been a man of one idea but has taken 
active interest in other departments affecting the public good. He has for years 
been a director of the Media Loan and Savings .\ssociation, serving at one time 
as its treasurer. He is a member of the Media Club and was a former treas- 



DELAWARE COUNTY 627 

iirer and governor of the club. He is a volunteer fireman and has held the 
highest civic honor Media can bestow, that of chief burgess. 

He is a member of the Masonic order : is past master of George W. 
Bartram Lodge, Free and Accepted Masons, in which he was made a Mason 
in February, 1882; is past high priest of Media Chapter, Royal Arch Masons; 
past thrice illustrious master of Philadelphia Council, Royal and Select Mas- 
ters and past puissant master of the Grand Council of Pennsylvania ; past emi- 
nent commander of St. Alban Commandery, Knights Templar, of Philadelphia. 
In Scottish Rite Masonry Mr. Smith has attained the highest honor that can be 
bestowed in that rite. He secured the fourteenth degree and is a past thrice 
potent master of Philadelphia Lodge of Perfection ; is past sovereign prince 
(i6th degree) of De Joinville Council, Princes of Jerusalem, and Commander 
in Chief of Philadelphia Sovereign Consistory, Sovereign Princes of the Royal 
Secret (32nd degree). In T903 he secured the highest degree obtainable in 
American Masonry, that of Sovereign Grand Inspector General 33rd degree 
Ancient Accepted Scottish Rite. At that time no other man had been honored 
with this degree — perhaps as yet there is no other in the county. This degree 
conferred upon him by the supreme council, held in Boston September 16, 
1903, is never conferred except for valuable service rendered the order and 
cannot be applied for, the Supreme Council selecting those who have earned 
such distinction. Mr. Smith is also an Odd Fellow and a past noble Grand of 
Kossuth Lodge. 

He is a life-long member of the Presbyterian Church, having in early life 
joined the Faggs Manor congregation. He is now a member of the Media 
Church : has served as trustee, treasurer, member of sessions, clerk and sup- 
erintendent of Sunday school. He has represented the church as commission- 
er to the state synod and at the general assembly of the church. He has also 
been active in county Sunday school work, serving upon the executive commit- 
tee of the County Sunday School Association. 

He married (first) September 9, 1879, Ada M. Davis, daughter of John 
and Hannah E. Davis. She died in August, 1885, leaving two sons : Norman 
Davis, born April i, 1882, now a practicing physician in Rutledge, Delaware 
county ; H. Ross, September 6, 1884, now a teacher of mathematics in South- 
ern High and Manual Training High schools of Philadelphia. Mr. Smith 
married (second) December 8, 1887, Alice A., daughter of Isaac and Phoebe 
Green, of Edgemont, Delaware county. Mr. Smith maintains his residence at 
Media, but his time is largely spent visiting the different schools under his 
supervision. 



The Jack family, originally French Huguenots, escaped from 
JACK France to Ireland, later coming to this country prior to the Revolu- 
tion, in which one of the two Jack brothers served. The family 
were associated with the growth and development of Chester county and Eas- 
tern Pennsylvania and were people of prominence and wealth. 

Josiah Jack, father of Dr. Louis Jack, was born in Chester county, was 
there educated, grew to manhood, married and became a contractor and build- 
er. About 1840 he moved to Beaver county, Pennsylvania, where he continued 
in the same business until 1849, then joined a party of gold seekers, crossed the 
plains to California, where he remained eighteen years. He returned East in 
1867 totally blind from a disease of the eyes. In the meantime his family had 
returned to Chester county, where he joined them, dying soon after his return. 
His wife, Elizabeth (Foster) Jack, died in 1869, leaving six children, two hav- 
ing died in infancy. 



628 DELAWARE COUNTY 

Dr. Louis Jack, eldest child of Josiah and Elizabeth (Foster) Jack, was 
born in Germantown, Philadelphia, Pennsylvania, March 26, 1832, and is the 
last survivor of his immediate family. He was a lad of about eight years 
when his parents moved to Beaver county, settling in the town of Rochester, 
where he attended the public schools and Beaver Academy. At age of nineteen 
years he came to Philadelphia to begin the study of dentistry, a profession 
upon which his ambition had decided. He entered the Philadelphia Dental 
College and in 1854 was graduated wnth the degree of D.D.S. He at once 
began practice, choosing Philadelphia as a location and there remained three 
years. In 1857 he located in Germantown, wdiere he practiced seven years, 
then returned to Philadelphia where he continued in active practice until 
1908, then retired after a continuous practice of fifty-four years. After grad- 
uation he was private coach and tutor in the college for two years until the 
demands of his practice consumed all his time. He rose in his profession, 
wrote and delivered many addresses in the various professional societies to 
which he belonged and was a recognized exponent of advanced dentistry and 
anaesthetics. He belonged to the City, Stale and National Dental Societies 
and served a term as president of the State Society. He still retains a lively 
interest in matters pertaining to the profession in which he was so long a prom- 
inent figure. Flis friends were legion outside his profession, his culture, 
learning and genial nature winning and holding the friendship of men of 
similar tastes. He is a Republican in politics, and in religion is a member 
of the Church of the New Jerusalem. (In March 15, 1909, he left the old 
Philadeljihia home and took up his residence in that delightful suburb of 
Media, Moylan Park, his home being one of the most attractive in that locality. 

Dr. Jack married (first) December 25, 1855, Thankful, daughter of Sam- 
uel Corbus, of Beaver county, Pennsylvania. Children : Arthur G., of Ches- 
ter, Pennsylvania ; Elizabeth, married Giarles C. Shoemaker, of New Mexi- 
co ; L. Foster, now a dentist in Philadelphia; Mary Margaret, married Owen 
Shoemaker, of Philadelphia: Anna C, married Dr. Frank R. Smith, of Balti- 
more, Maryland. The mother of these children died September 16, 1867. Dr. 
jack married (second) July 20, 1870, Caroline, daughter of Charles and 
Rachel Shoemaker, of Baltimore, Maryland. Charles Shoemaker was a teach- 
er in select schools for many years ; a member of the Society of Friends- 
(Hicksite) and resided until his death in Baltimore; children by second mar- 
riage : three who died in infancy and Charles Shoemaker Jack, now a practic- 
ing dentist of Philadelphia, but residing in Media. 

Full of years and honors, Dr. Jack is spending his latter years in the en- 
joyment of his beautiful country home and in the knowledge of a life well 
spent. The success of his sons in the same profession is most gratifying to 
him and should their fame ever eclipse that of their honored father, he will be 
loudest in his congratulations. 



Dr. Charles Shoemaker Jack, son of Dr. Louis Jack, was born at 
JACK the family residence, No. 1533 Locust street, Philadelphia, Sep- 
tember 4, 1874. His boyhood was spent at Arden farm near Media, 
obtaining his preparatory education in the public schools, Penn Charter and 
Dclancy Academy in Philadelphia, a graduate of the latter institution, class of 
189^. lie then entered as a student the college department of the University 
of Pennsylvania, whence he was graduated, class of 1897. He began the prac- 
tice of dentistry at 1533 Locust street, Philadelphia. He is a member of 
the National, State and City Dental Societies, and in political faith an inde- 



DELAWARE COUNTY 629 

pendent Republican. His clubs are the Racquet of Philadelphia, the Rose Tree 
Hunt of Media and the Spring Haven Country of Wallingford. 

Dr. Jack married, June 4. 1902, Mary Miller Lewis, born in Media, 
Pennsylvania, January 22, 1874, and now resides in the same house in which 
she was born. " She is the only child of George Miller Lewis, born in Spring- 
field township, Delaware county, Pennsylvania, died in INIedia, November 2, 
1904, a member of the stone quarrying firm of Leiper & Lewis. He married 
Sarah Brooke, who survives him, aged sixty-three years, a daughter of H. 
Jones and Jemima Elizabeth ( Longmire) Brooke. George M. Lewis was a 
son of John Reese and Nancy (Miller) Lewis. Children of Dr. Charles S. 
and Mary M. Jack: Sarah Lewis, born October 13, 1905: Mary Miller, J^Iarch 
II, 1910. 

The Taylor family, represented in the present generation by 
TAYLOR William' Taylor, a member of the Delaware county bar, suc- 
cessfully engaged in the practice of his profession in Media, 
where he is well known and highly esteemed, is one of the old ones in the 
state of Pennsylvania, and has been prominent in professional life, a number 
of the members of the family having, been closely identified with the public 
affairs of the communities in which they have resided. 

(I) William Taylor, son of Israel Taylor, was born in Aston township, 
Delaware county, Pennsylvania, on a farm where Wawa is now situated. He 
was engaged in farming in Edgemont township, on "Castle Rock" farm, as the 
old homestead was called, where he died in his eighty-sixth year. He was an 
active worker in the interests of the Republican party, and served his com- 
munity as county supervisor and as school director. He and his wife were 
members of the Society of Friends. He married Mary Marshall. Children: 
Caleb M., of whom further: William H., married Eliza Malin : Anna M., mar- 
ried Joshua E. Hibbcrd : Eliza, died young. William H. is now deceased. 

(II) Caleb Marshall, son of William and Mary (Marshall) Taylor, was 
born in Willistown township, Chester county, Pennsylvania, August 23, 1837. 
He was reared in Edgemont township, and was educated in the public schools, 
and at Foulkes' Boarding School, Gwynedd, Montgomery county, Pennsyl- 
vania. He now resides in West Chester, where for the past twenty years he 
has been engaged in surveying and conveyancing. He has been firm in his 
allegiance to the Republican party, and for many years served as school direc- 
tor in Edgemont township. Mr. Taylor married Susan Wilson, born in White 
Marsh township, Montgomery county, Pennsylvania, daughter of Benjamin 
and Ann (Wilson) Jones, the former, who died at the age of seventy-six years, 
having been a farmer. Children of Mr. and Mrs. Taylor: Anna, married Wil- 
liam P. Davis; Eliza, died in infancy; Wilson J., went west, where he died 
May 26, 1909; George Maris, who died at the age of twenty-one years; Wil- 
liam, of whom further ; J. Hibberd, married Lydia W. Foulke ; Caleb Marshall 
Jr., married Jane Bentley. 

(III) William (2),' son of Caleb Marshall and Susan Wilson (Jones) 
Taylor, was born in Edgemont township, Delaware county, Pennsylvania, Oc- 
tober 17, 1875. His early years were spent in Edgemont townshi]), where he 
attended the public schools, and he was also a pupil in the Friends' School, 
Newtown Square, and in the George School, Bucks county, Pennsylvania, 
from which he was graduated in the class of 1896. .\fter clerking for a few 
years he took up the study of law in the office of Isaac F. Johnson, under 
whose competent preceptorship he was prepared for admission to the bar of 



630 DELAWARE COUNTY 

his native county, and since the year 1903 he has been engaged successfully in 
independent practice in Media, Delaware county, Pennsylvania. His success 
has been largely due to his own efiforts and abilities, and his standing at the 
bar is of recognized credit. Public-spirited to a noteworthy degree, he is ever 
foremost in the advocacy and support of every movement that tends to ad- 
vance the best material welfare of his borough, or that is calculated to promote 
the common interests of the community at large. Personallv he is a man of 
profound legal understanding and marked intellectual strength, coupled with 
qualities and attainments that render him a pleasant companion and which 
have served to make him many lasting friendships both in professional and 
social life. He has taken an active part in the councils of the Republican party, 
and has been a member of the Republican county committee for the past two 
years. His fraternal affiliations are as follows:' George W. Bartram Lodge, 
Free and Accepted Masons, of which he is a past master; Media Chapter^ 
Royal Arch Masons; Media Club. He and his wife, as well as his parents, 
are members of the Society of Friends. 

Mr. Taylor married, June 6, 1906, Ellen Williams Haines, born in New- 
town township, Delaware county, Pennsylvania, August 17, 1878, daughter of 
Amos W. and :Martha H. (Williams) Haines, the former of whom was born 
in New Jersey, died in Media, Pennsylvania, and the latter was born in \Miite 
Marsh township, Montgomery county, Pennsylvania, and they were the par- 
ents of three children: Charles, died young; Ellen Williams, mentioned above; 
Hannah W., married :\Iaurice C. Alichener. Amos W. Haines farmed for 
several years in Newtown township, and later was a merchant in Aledia. con- 
ducting his business under the firm name of Haines & Williams. Children of 
Mr. and Mrs. Taylor : Haines Marshall, born June 27, 1908 : \Mlliam Jr., Sep- 
tember 25, 1909; Eleanor Williams, January i, 1912. 



No name perhaps is better known in our country, certainlv not in 
JAYNE Pennsylvania, than that of Jayne, through their long connection 
with the ministry, medicine and science. The family was founded 
in Connecticut by William Jayne, born in Bristol, England, from whom the late 
Dr. Horace Jayne descended through his son, William (2) Jayne, born in 
Connecticut, where his grandson, Ebenezer, was a Baptist minister and the 
father of Dr. David Jayne, founder of the world famous Jayne lemedies. 

Rev. Ebenezer Jayne was educated for the ministry of tlie Baptist Qiurch, 
and in addition to his eminence in his holy calling was the author of a Baptist 
hymn book and of various polemical essays. 

Dr. David Jayne, son of Rev. Ebenezer Javne, was born in Alonroe county, 
Pennsylvania, July 22, 1799, died in Philadelphia, Pennsylvania, March 5, 
1866. He spent his early life in Pennsylvania and New York, obtaining his 
early education in the public schools. After graduating from the University 
of Pennsylvania he practiced his profession in Salem. New Jersey, where his 
father was minister of the Baptist Church, and later in Philadelphia, about 
1830 he began to manufacture and sell on a large scale the cough medicine 
he had prescribed in his own practice, now known as Jayne"s "Expectorant." 
From the profits derived. Dr. Jayne began the erection "of a large building for 
office purposes in Philadelphia, commencing in 1849 and before his death had 
erected several large buildings of marble and granite that bore his name. He 
is said to have been the first manufacturer to publish almanacs as an advertising 
medium and these he printed in all the modern languages of Europe and Asia, 
<!ven including some of the minor dialects of India. He possessed wonderful 



DELAWARE COUNTY 631 

capacity, combining with the skill of a trained physician, the qualities necessary 
to the executive management of his large business. In political faith he was a 
Whig, later a Republican, and in religion adhered to the Baptist Church. He- 
was thrice married ; his third wife, Hannah Fort, born in Burlington, New- 
Jersey, being the mother of Dr. Horace Jayne, Bertha, who died in infancy, 
"and a' son Henry La Barre, born in 1857, now an attorney of Philadelphia, who 
married Elizabeth Matthews of Boston and resides at No. 1035 Spruce street. 
Mrs. Hannah (Fort) Jayne died in Philadelphia, May 15, 1904. 

Dr. Horace Jayne, second son and third child of Dr. David and Hannah 
(Fort) Jayne, was born in Philadelphia, Pennsylvania, March 17, 1859, where 
his early life was spent. He prepared in private schools, was graduated from 
the University of Pennsylvania, A. B., class of 1879, then entering the medical 
department of the University, was graduated ]\I. D., class of 1882. He went 
to Europe the same year and continued during 1883 the study of biology at 
the University of Leipsic and at Jena, under the great scientist, Heckel. Re- 
turning to the United States, he studied at Johns Hopkins University, 1883 
and 1884. During his college years, Dr. Jayne won honors; was junior orator 
of his class, and vice-president of the Franklin Scientific Society and in the 
medical school was awarded the Henry C. Lea prize for the best graduation, 
these also taking the Anomaly prize. 

In 1883 he began his long connection with the University of Pennsylvania 
as an instructor, being first appointed assistant instructor in biology. In 1884 
he became professor of vertebrate morphology, continuing until 1894; secre- 
tary of the faculty of biology from 1884 to 1889: director of Wistar Institute 
of .\natomy and Biology from 1894 to 1905, and dean of the college faculty 
from 1889 to 1894. He was an authority on human and mammalian anatomy 
and the author of many works of a scientific nature, including "Monstrosities 
in North American Coleoptera," "Revision of the Dermeotidae of North 
America," "Notes on Biological Subjects," "Origin of the Fittest,"' "Mammal- 
ian Anatomy" (1889) and numerous contributions to the scientific journals. 

He was a Fellow of the College of Physicians and Surgeons, Philadelphia, 
and ot the American Association for the Advancement of Science ; was a mem- 
ber of the American Philosophical Society; The Philadelphia Academy of 
Natural Science ; The Society of American Naturalists ; The American Ento- 
mological Society ; The American Academy of Political and Social Science ; 
The Franklin Institute of Philadelphia: a trustee of Drexel Institute; a direc- 
tor of ilie Academy of Music of Philadelphia, and president of the Free Li- 
brary of Wa'linglord. He was contributing editor of "The Journal of Mor- 
phology," "The Anatomical Record" and "The Journal of Exp. Zoology." His 
clubs were the University and Rittenhouse of Philadelphia, botii of which he 
served as treasurer. 

Dr. layne married, October 10, 1894, Caroline Avgusta Furnc:.^, born 
January 3, 1873, died June 23, 1909, daughter of Horace Howard Furness, 
Ph.D., LL.D., L. D. D., the greatest of modern ShaK-es])crian scholars ; chil- 
dren : Kate Furness, born July 29, 1895 ; Horace Howard Furness, June 9, 
1898, both attending private schools in Philadelphia. 

Dr. Jayne, who was eminent in the world of science, was a most kindly 
approachable man, numbering as his most devoted friends those of lowly life 
who served him with a willingness that can only come from unselfish regard. 
He held the honorary degree of Ph.D., conferred by Franklin and Marshall 
College in 1893. He died July 9, 1913. 



'^32 DELAWARE COUNTY 

The Leedom family, of wliicli Jo.se])h B. Leedom of Media, 
LEEDOM Delaware county, Pennsylvania, is a member, were among the 
pioneer settlers of the State in various sections, and their en- 
ergy contributed greatly to its prosperity. 

(I) John Leedom, who was born in 1 Sucks county, Pennsylvania, settled 
in Merion township, Montgomery county. Pennsylvania, where he was engaged 
in farming, and there his death occurred in 1842'. Two of his brothers, Daniel 
and Edward, settled in Delaware county, in the same state, and founded the 
homestead in Upper Darby. John Leedom married Elizabeth Bond, and had 
children: Charles: Joseph B., see forward; John; Elizabeth: Samuel; Esther; 
Ruth Anna. 

(II) Joseph B., son of John and Elizabeth (Bond) Leedom, was born in 
Montgomery county, Pennsylvania, in March, 1796. died in March, 1864. He 
was brought up on a farm, and engaged in farming operations until the year 
1828, at which time he became identified with the milling industry, operating a 
saw and grist mill on Darby creek, in Haverford townshi]x Political matters 
interested him to a certain degree, and he was a fairly influential factor in the 
local councils of the Whig party, and later in those of the Republican party. 
His religious affiliations were with the .'Society of Friends, to which his ances- 
tors had also belonged, and he was an elder in the Hicksite meeting house. 
Mr. Leedom married Mary Maris, who died in August, 1865, at the age of 
seventy-nine years, a daughter of Elisha Worrell, of Springfield township, 
Delaware county, Pennsylvania. Children, all deceased except Joseph : Myra 
W,, married Charles M. Worrell; John, married Hannah Worrell; Maris ^^'., 
married Elvira Clark ; Joseph, see forward. 

(III) Joseph, son of Joseph B. and Mary Maris (Worrell) Leedom, was 
born in Haverford township, Delaware county, Pennsylvania, January 2, 1827. 
His early years were spent on the homestead farm, his elementary education 
being acquired in the public schools, this being su]iplemented by attendance at 
the Friends' .School conducted by Joseph Faulk, in Montgomery county. He 
learned the milling trade under the personal supervision and direction of his 
father, succeeding him in this business and becoming associated with his broth- 
ers in a partnership. Later he operated the grist mill independently. He pur- 
chased a farm near Manoa, Haverford township, in 1868, and up to the pres- 
ent time has been engaged in farming. He has been a staunch upholder of 
the principles of the Republican ])arty and, while of a modest and retiring dis- 
position, has had a number of public offices thrust upon him. For a period of 
twenty years he served as a member of the school board ; was treasurer of the 
West Chester turnpike for twenty years and director of the poor, thirteen 
years. He and his wife are members of the Hicksite Friends' Church, the 
Haverford Meeting House, which \\'illiam Penn was accustomed to attend 
when he came out from Philadelphia. He married, in 1852. Emily, daughter 
of Jonathan and Naoma (Parsons) Pyle, the former a stone mason in Haver- 
ford, where he died at the age of eighty-four years. Mrs. Leedom was born 
August 30, 1826, and is still in the enjoyment of excellent health. Tonathan 
Pyle and his wife had children: Rebecca, married Lewis Worrell: William, 

married Susan ; Thomas, married Elizabeth Moore; Emily, married 

Mr. Leedom, as mentioned above; Phoebe, died unmarried: .A-nna, married 
Hebbert Barrett. Mr. and Mrs. Leedom had children: .Amanda R., who died 
untnarried at the age of twenty-one years ; \\'illiam P., is a farmer in Haver- 
f<M-d, and married Louisa Enoch, and had two sons, Harry T. and Ehvood B., 
the latter deceased; Joseph B., sec forward; George Touman, dietl at the age 
of sixteen years ; John L., is a farmer in lT])])er Darby, and married Elizabeth 



DELAWARE COUNTY 633 

Hart ; Walter L., deceased, married Zaidee Thomberry, and had Emily Pru- 
dence. Mary T., Dorothy. 

(IV) Joseph B. (2), son of Joseph and Emily (Pyle) Leedom, was born 
in Haverford township, Delaware county, Pennsylvania, April 25, 1858. He 
attended the public schools of his native township, and resided there until he 
had attained the age of thirty-five years. Upon the completion of his educa- 
tion he was apprenticed to learn the carpenter's trade, and hom that branched 
out into the contracting line in which he was engaged in Haverford from 
1886 until 1892. In the latter year he came to Media, having been appointed 
to the office of clerk in the office of the recorder of deeds, John H. Kerkin, 
then served in the same capacity under Dr. Young. From 1898 until 1904 
Mr. LeeJom was assistant postmaster of Media, Harriet Gault being postmis- 
tress. In 190.1, undt r .\. J. Dalton, he entered upon his office as deputy pro- 
thonota'-v, an office he is still filling in a very efficient and capable manner. 
He has always been a staunch sujiporter of the Republican party, and his re- 
ligious faith is that of the Baptist denomination. He is a member of the fol- 
lowing organizations : Cassia Lodge, Free and Accepted Masons, of Ardmore, 
Pennsylvania; ^ledia Republican Club; Media Fire and Hook and Ladder 
Company, of which he has been the treasurer for a long period of time. 

Mr.' Leedom married, October 14, 1885, L. Emma, born February 11, 
1863, daughter of Charles B. and Mary (Haskins) Tyson, of Newtovvn town- 
ship. The former, who is a farmer, was born in Middletown township, while 
his wife was a native of Chester county, and they had children : Elsworth, un- 
married, is a salesman in New York, where he also resides ; L. Emma, men- 
tioned above: IMary H., lives in Media, married George Regester, a general 
agent; William, unmarried, lives in Morristown, Pennsylvania; Lucy, unmar- 
ried, lives in Philadelphia. Mr. and Mrs. Leedom have had children: Mary 
Ethel, born August 14, 1886: Joseph, Jr., born April 12, 1888; Ira T., born 
in November, tSqi, died June i, 1896: Anna W., born November 22, 1904. 



This family has been identified with some of the most im- 
PARLETTE portant interests of Delaware county, Pennsylvania, and its 

various members have always shown a public spirit in all 
matters concerning the welfare of the community in which they have lived, 
which has been highly commendable. The name would indicate that this fam- 
ily is of French origin, and they are probably descended from the French 
Huguenots, many of whom sought and found refuge in this country. 

(I) George W. Parlette was born near Baltimore, Maryland, March 7, 
1807, and died in South Media, Delaware county, Pennsylvania, in 1888. He 
was a farmer by occupation, and the greater part of his life was spent in Har- 
ford county, Maryland. He married Ariel Standeford and they had children : 
Elizabeth, born December 25, 1837, died July 31, 1862; David Oliver, born 
February 25, 1839, died in 1912: Dennis Standeford, born April 25, 1840; 
George W., born May 23, 1842, lives in South Media; William Henry, see 
forward ; Hannah Ann, born January 2, 1846, now deceased ; Zachariah Tay- 
lor, and Winfield Scott, twins, born May 19, 1847, W. Scott, deceased: James 
W., born March 19, 1849; Cordelia S., born July 11, 1850: Claudius Richard, 
born January 28, 1855. Mrs. Parlette died in 1893. She and her husband were 
members of the Methodist church. 

(II) William Henry, .son of George W. and Ariel (Standeford) Par- 
lette, was born in Harford county, Maryland, March 18, 1843, ^nd died in 
South Media, Pennsylvania, in November. 1882. His childhood was spent in 
Harford county, and it was there that he learned his trade as a wheelwright. 



034 DELAWARE COUNTY 

About 1870 he located in \^'ilmington, Delaware, and lived there about teiv 
years. He then removed to South Media, Delaware county, Pennsylvania, 
where he was identified with his trade until his early death. ' He had' a shop 
at Hinkson Corners, which was destroyed by fire in 1881. He then estab- 
lished a shop in Media, on the same site and in the same building as the present 
post office, where he carried on his business until his death. Mr. Parlette 
married Margaret, born in Wilmington, Delaware, 1850, died in Philadelphia, 
1907, a daughter of Benjamin Franklin AlcDaniel, a millwright in Lee's Mills, 
A\'ilmington, Delaware, where he died in 1856. She had one brother, Benja- 
min Franklin McDaniel, Jr., who lives in Wilmington. Children of Mr. and 
Mrs. Parlette: Frank M., unmarried, lives in Philadelphia; William P., un- 
married, lives in Media; H. Leslie, see forward; Willard A., married, lives in 
Philadelphia ; May, died in infancy. 

(HI) H.' Leslie, son of William Henry and Margaret (McDaniel) Par- 
lette, was born in Wilmington, Delaware, March 19, 1877. He was a very 
young child when his parents removed to Media, Delaware county, Pennsyl- 
vania, and he there attended the public schools. He completed his education'in 
Upper Providence School No. i. He commenced his business career at the 
early age of eleven years becoming clerk in a grocery store, a position he re- 
tained for one year. He then worked two years in the mills at Rose Valley and 
at the age of fourteen years began an apprenticeship in a blacksmith's shop in 
Media where he remained seven years and then entered the employ of J. W.. 
Moyer & Company, who were engaged in the manufacture of Overhead Tram- 
rail Systems. He remained with this concern for a period of four years, at 
which time they went out of business. He then established himself in Wash- 
ington, District of Columbia, later making his headquarters in Baltimore, Mary- 
land, and after he had completed all of his contracts in and around that city^ 
he shipped his equipment to Media, Pennsylvania, opened a factory there in 
1905, and has since been located in that place. Some of the important con- 
tracts he has been called upon to engineer have been Cuba ; South America ; 
Baltimore ; Washington, District of Columbia ; Racine, Wisconsin ; Houston, 
Texas ; Charleston, West Virginia ; Hartford and Bridgeport, Connecticut ; 
Concord, New Hampshire. The goods are now made in Media and shipped 
all over the country, being used in abattoirs, factories, etc., wherever heavy 
shifting is done. In political matters Mr. Parlette favors the Republican 
party, and he and his wife are members of the Presbyterian church. 

Mr. Parlette married, February 4, 1903, Elizabeth, born in Manayunk, 
Pennsylvania, April 3, 1876, a daughter of Llewellyn Clevenger, Sr., a native 
of Philadelphia, who died in South Aledia, October 11, 1907; he was a carder 
in a woolen mill, and married Mary Smith, who was born in Shrewsbury, 
York county, Pennsylvania. They had children: Elizabeth, mentioned above; 
.Vlgernon, married Mamie Wetzel; L. M., married Edith Harrison Black; 
Oliver, married Mae A'laridith ; Albirdic. (lied unmarried; Annie; John; Lou- 
ise; Lettie. Mr. and Mrs. Parlette have had children: H. Leslie, Jr., born' 
March 31, 1904; Elizabeth, born December 3, 1905; Llewellyn, born August 2,. 
1907; William H., born December 28, 1908; Robert W., born January n, 1910. 



From North of Ireland ancestry comes John B. Robinson, 
ROBINSON eminent lawyer, state senator and L^nited States marshal, 

now a resident of Media, Pennsylvania. He is a grandson 
of General William Robinson, a member of the Pennsylvania legislature, the 
first mayor of .Allegheny City, after its corporation (now Pittsburgh, North 
Side), first president of the Exchange Bank of Pittsburgh. United .States 




^ 




THE NEW YORK 
PUBLIC LIBRARY 



ASTOO, LENOX AND 
TILOEN founoationi. 



DELAWARE COUNTY 635 

Commissioner in 1842, a man thoroughly respected and honored. He is said 
to have been the first white child born north and west of the Ohio river, and 
died 1868. 

W'ilHam O'Hara, son of General William Robinson, was a leading lawyer 
of Pittsburgh and, in 1844. was United States district-attorney for the West- 
ern District of Pennsylvania 

John Buchanan, son of William O'Hara Robinson, was born in Allegheny 
City, Pennsylvania, May 23, 1846. He attended the private schools in Pitts- 
burgh, entered Western University, finishing at Amherst College. In 1862 
he attached himself to Captain Riddle's company of the 15th Pennsylvania 
Emergency Regiment, and in 1864 enlisted in the active service. But the 
family already had two sons at the front, one of whom. Captain William' 
O'Hara Robinson, was killed at the battle of the Wilderness, May 6, 1864,. 
and through the influence of his grandfather. General Robinson, John B. was 
released from service, much against his wish. As compensation he was ap- 
pointed a cadet of the United States Naval Academy, Annapolis, by Congress- 
man Thomas Williams, and sworn into service for eight years. He was grad- 
uated four years later in 1868, and was engaged in active sea duty until 1875, 
when he resigned, having risen to the rank of lieutenant. During his naval 
experience he visited nearly every country. He was three times in Europe, 
• sailed around the world in the flag ship "Colorado," flying the pennant of Rear 
■Admiral Rodgers. He was in Japan at the time of the American expedition 
to Corea, in which Lieutenant McKee and a number of sailors and marines 
lost their lives in the attack on the Corean forts located along the Hong river. 
In that same year, 1871, in company with Lieutenant Chipp (afterward lost 
with the Jeannette Polar expedition) Lieutenant Robinson was on the United 
States steamer "Monocacy," commanded by Captain McCrea, engaged on the 
hydrographic survey of the Yang-tse river. In the same year, as navigating 
officer of the United States sloop of war "Idaho," commanded by Captain J. 
Crittenden Watson, he went through the exciting dangerous experience of a 
typhoon, which nearly sunk the "Idaho," although at anchor in Yokohama 
harbor. While in Japan, Lieutenant Robinson was one of a company of 
United States naval officers accorded an interview with the hitherto rigidly 
exclusive Mikado of Japan, the interview having been arranged by Sir Henry 
Parkes, K.C.B., British minister to Yeddo, in defiance of precedent. In 
.August, 1871, Lieutenant Robinson, with a party of .American officers, made 
the ascent of Fieji-Yama, the famous mountain peak of Japan, and accur- 
ately measured its height by instruments. Returning to the United States 
he served in 1873 on the Great Lakes on the steamer "Michigan," and in the 
fall of that year was ordered to New York as watch officer on the "Juniata." 
Later he sailed in the "Juniata" under sealed orders which proved to be to 
proceed to Santiago de Cuba and peremptorily demand the surrender of 
American citizens seized on the "Virginius" by the .Spanish authorities. ( )n 
January I, 1875, ^.iter eleven years service, Lieutenant Robinson retired from 
the naval service, his resignation having been handed in the previous year. 

He returned to Pennsylvania and began the study of law under John G. 
Johnson in Philadelphia. In 187G he was admitted to the Philadelphia bar. 
and in 1878 removed to Delaware county, where he was admitted to the bar of 
that county, and in the same year was admitted to practice in the Supreme 
Courts of Pennsylvania. He advanced rapidly in his profession, and as senior 
counsel for the defence in the case of Samuel Johnson, a colored man, charged 
with the murder of John Sliarpless, he won a state-wide fame. This is one of 
the celebrated cases in Pennsylvania reports and was heard on appeals through 
different courts, finally reaching the board of pardons. Mr. Robinson fought 



-636 DELAWARE COUNTY 

this case with sucli ability and pertinacity argued with such eloquence, that he 
saved the hfe of his client. Along with the practice of his profession Mr. 
Robinson has carried a burden of official political responsibility. In 1884 he 
was elected to the state legislature from Delaware county, was re-elected two 
years later, and prominently mentioned for speaker. He was in the thick of 
the fray in the House, making many noted speeches, particularly his anti-dis- 
crimination speech, his speech against Governor Pattison's veto of the indigent 
soldiers' burial bill, and his speech in favor of an increase in the length of 
school terms, which resulted in passing the bill. In 1888 he was a candidate 
for renomination to the House, Ijut was defeated. In the following campaign 
he was on the stump for his successful rival, and later was engaged bv the 
Republican National Committee as a speaker in New York, Connecticut and 
New Jersey. In 1889 he secured the nomination for state senator from the 
Ninth senatorial district, winning the honor on the first ballot over Jesse M. 
Baker, James Watts Mercur and Geoffrey P. Denis. In this contest he was 
antagonized by the liquor interests and by those controlling federal patron- 
age. He led a successful fight, and as the "People's Candidate" completely 
changed the complexion of the old time Re])ublican rule in the county, also 
establishing himself as a leader in state politics. He won over his Democratic 
competitor by 1559 majority, and served with great honor as senator. JMr. 
Robinson is one of the most trenchant and vigorous political leader-writers in" 
his state, and both pen and voice have often spoken in aid of great 
reformatory measures. Staunchly Republican, he is not so partisan as to 
smother independence, nor is he in the slightest degree a demagogue. He has 
opposed men and measures in his own party and has always had the support 
of the voters of his district in a large degree. As a speaker he is logical and 
•convincing, often rising to the heights of true eloquence. He has delivered many 
memorable addresses on "Memorial Day" in different cities, and one yet spoken 
of in praise was delivered at the reunion of the veterans of the 97th Pennsyl- 
vania Volunteers in November, 1889. He has also gained success as a writer. 
While in the naval service he wrote a series of brilliant letters for the "Com- 
mercial Gazette" of Pittsburgh, and has since been a frequent and welcome 
contributor to the leading New York and Philadelphia journals. In 1881-82 
he was chief editorial writer for the "Delaware County Gazette," of Chester, 
then owned by August Donath In the winter of 1880, Mr. Robinson made 
his first essay on the lecture platform, beginning a career of success that 
brought him into prominence as a lecturer 

Mr. Robinson is a member of the Independent Order of Odd Fellows: 
the American Protestant Association : Knights of Pythias ; Order of Chosen 
Friends ; Knights of the Golden Eagle ; Improved Order of Red Men ; Inde- 
pendent Order of Mechanics: Bradbury Post, No. 149. Grand Army of the 
Republic, of which he was elected commander in 1884; and holds member- 
ships in various other societies. A man of fine natural talents, developed in 
contact in political and professional life with the best association, blessed with 
a comprehensive education greatly e.\'teiidcd by foreign travel, Mr. Robinson 
has used his gifts wisely and well. He illustrates in his own life the peculiar 
characteristics of the best birthright of the best type of American citizen, the 
ability to succeed in political and professional life without resource to trick- 
ery. After a public and professional life of nearly forty years, Mr. Robinson, 
' from the heights of success, can truly say that every step of his way has been 
honestly won, and that principle was never sacrificed for sordid gain. Since 
1901 he has held the position of United States marshal in the I'liiladclphia 
District. 

Lieutenant Rubinson nijirried in St. Louis, Missouri, October 29, 1874. 



DELAWARE COUNTY 637- 

Elizabeth Waddingham, daugliter of Charles L. Gilpin, then of St. Louis, 
Missouri, granddaughter of Mayor Charles Gilpin, of Philadelphia, a lineal 
descendant of Joseph Gilpin, of Dorchester, Oxfordshire. England, who came 
to Pennsylvania in 1696. settling in Birmingham. Delaware county. Joseph 
Gilpin was of the sixteenth generation from Richard de Gueylpin. who had a 
grant in the reign of King John (1206) of the estate of Kentmore. in the 
county of Westmoreland, England. By the union of Mr. Robinson and Miss 
Gilpin there were seven children born, four of whom survive: Mrs. Elizabeth 
Wyckoff, Pittsburgh, Pennsylvania: Mrs. Adele Gilpin Miller and Mrs. 
Helen Robinson Anderson and Miss Mildred Robinson, the three last named 
of Media, Pennsylvania. These children through their mother trace through 
twenty-one recorded generations of Gilpins to the days of Magna Charta. 
The family home of the Robinsons, the "Gayley." is in Media. Pennsylvania. 

Besides the before named offices held by Mr. Robinson, he was appointed 
by President McKinley, May ist. 1900, L'nited States marshal for the Eastern 
District of Pennsylvania, was reappointed in 1905 by President Roosevelt, 
and again reappointed in 1912, by President Taft, and served until December 
1st, 1913, when he was succeeded by Frank S. Xoonan. a Democrat appointed 
by President Wilson, in flagrant violation of all civil service reform and his 
own civil service professions. During the time Mr. Robinson was marshal, 
he was elected a national delegate to the Republican Convention in 1908, which 
nominated Mr. Taft for president. Of other offices held by Mr. Robinson 
was the presidency of the Republican League of Clubs of Pennsylvania, dur- 
ing the years 1891-1802 and 1893, succeeding the first president of the league, 
Hon. Edwin S. Stuart. He has been a candidate for minor offices, among 
those for lieutenant-governor of the State in 1S94, being defeated for the nom- 
ination, although electing ninety-seven delegates against the combined oppo- 
sition of all the prominent leaders of the party in the commonwealth. He was 
an unsuccessful applicant for the position of assistant secretary of the navy 
In 1897, the president, Mr. McKinley, appointed Theodore Roosevelt through 
cinnati, Ohio. 

During Mr. Robinson's service in congress he was on the Columbian 
Exposition Committee and the Naval Committee, and twice was a member, by 
appointment of the speaker, to the board of visitors to the Naval Academy 
at Annapolis, Maryland. In 1896 in this position he was president of the 
the influence of Mrs. Bellamy Storer, one of the Longworth family of Cin- 
board, and delivered the annual address at the commencement of the graduat- 
ing class. His public record. State and National, covers a period of over forty 
years, and he is yet, although a private citizen, one of the most active and in- 
fluential of the Republican leaders of the county of Delaware, and the state 
in whigh he resides. 



This branch of the Brown family was for many years seated in 
BROWN Yorkshire, England, and while on a visit to the old family home, 

Arthur Brown occupied the seat in church that for fifty years 
had been his grandfather's. This old gentleman, Benjamin Brown, never left 
his native shire, both he and his wife living there until a good old age, leaving 
issue. 

George Brown, son of Benjamin Brown, was born in Yorkshire, England, 
October 21, 1831, and there received in private schools of high degree, a liberal 
education. He became a woolen manufacturer of England and on coming to 
the United States, established in the same business in Lancaster, Pennsylvania, 
where after a successful business life he yet resides aged eighty-three years. 



638 DELAWARE COUNTY 

He espoused the Tory cause in England and in Lancaster became a supporter 
of the Republican party, serving as city councilman. His wife, Esther Beard- 
sal, was the daughter of a Yorkshire woolen manufacturer; children: Thom- 
as, married .Mary Horrtn-k and resides in Mount Joy, Lancaster county; Ar- 
thur, of whom further ; Walter, married Izella Garside ; Sarah, married Jo- 
seph Battye, whom she survives; Benjamin, married Annie Henry; Emma, 
married John Zellers ; George, married Annie Keller ; Annie, married .\braham 
Shelley, whom she survives ; Elmer, married Sarah Heilig, deceased ; Lily, died 
unmarried. The living all reside in Mount Joy, Lancaster county. The mother 
died in Philadelphia, aged thirty-eight years, a member of the Established 
Church of England ; Mr. Brown is a vestryman. 

Arthur Jjrown, son of George and Esther (Beardsal) Brown, was born in 
Yorkshire, England, August 25, 1857. He was brought to this country when 
an infant by his parents, who after a brief residence in Trenton, New Jersey, 
moved to L'pper Darby township, Delaware county, thence to Mount Joy, Lan- 
caster county, Pennsylvania. Arthur Brown began his education in the public 
schools of Upper Darby at age five years, continuing and finishing at the Epis- 
copal academy, Juniper and Locust streets, Philadelphia. He began working 
in his father's woolen mill, continuing until thoroughly mastering the details of 
woolen manufacture. He then in association with his brothers, Thomas and 
Walter, founded a corporation known as (ieorge Brown's Sons, establishing 
their mills in Gcrmantown, Philadelphia, where for four years they continued 
successful manufacturers of woolen goods. They then moved to Mount Joy, 
Lancaster county, Pennsylvania, where their main plant is now located. They 
established a branch mill at Lenni, Pennsylvania, which is under the direct 
management of Arthur Brown. 

Mr. Brown is a member of George W. Eartram Lodge, Free and Accepted 
Masons ; is a Republican in politics and both he and his wife are members of 
the Episcopal Church. 

He married Anna Brown, born in Philadelphia, August 18, 1861, daugh- 
ter of John Brown, a retired farmer, now living at Drexel Hill, Delaware coun- 
ty, and his wife, Anna Fryburg. They had issue: Anna, wife of Arthur 
Brown ; Eliza, married Charles Drewes and resides at Darby, Delaware coun- 
ty. Mr. and Mrs. Brown have five children, one daughter and four sons: 
Anna S., Maurice, Lawrence, Edwin, John. 



Harry P. Ottey, engaged in business as a book and job printer in 

OTTEY Media, Delaware county, Pennsylvania, is a man of many-sided 

ability and versatility in business and social life. His services have 

been appreciated in financial affairs as well as in general business, and be has 

taken a prominent part in all matters tending to the public welfare. 

Albin Pyle Ottey, his father, was born December 28, 1839, and died Oc- 
tober 4, 1912. He was one of the earliest volunteers at the outbreak of the 
civil war, serving in Company A, First Regiment, Pennsylvania Reserve Vol- 
unteer Infantry, from 1861 to 1864, and retired from the service with his 
health impaired by the hardships and dangers through which he had passed. 
From 1867 until 1882 he held the position of clerk in the Delaware County Fire 
Insurance Company, then established himself in the shoe business, and was 
afterwards tax collector. He married Jane Smedley Phillips and had children : 
Harry P., whose name heads this sketch; Albin Lewis, who lives in Media; 
and married Julia German, of Philadelphia ; William Rupert, lives in West 
Chester, and married Sarah Pancoast. 

Harry P. Ottey was born in Media, Pennsylvania, July i, 1865. He re- 






A«To 






fc, 



NO 




- i .1 S-7 A^y 




'^a^^. 



PL^ 



DELAWARE COUNTY 639 

-ceived his general education in the pubHc schools of his native town, and then 
commenced the study of law under the preceptorship of V. Gilpin Robinson. 
but never took the examination for admission to the bar. In 1882 he became 
associated with his father in the shoe business which the latter established, and 
continued his connection with this until January, 1894. In the meantime, 
however, he had established himself independently in the job printing business, 
and, when he had placed this upon a secure footing, devoted his entire time and 
attention to the printing business. In this he has been eminently successful 
and has a fine establishment at No. 31 West State street, Aledia. Since Octo- 
ber, 1912, he has filled the office of notary public of the First National Bank 
of Media. His political affiliations are with the Republican party, and he will 
be a candidate for the office of tax collector at the next Republican primaries. 
He is an active member of the Media Fire and Hook and Ladder Company, 
No. I, in which organization he is one of the most energetic workers. His re- 
ligious connection is with the First Methodist Episcopal Church of Media, and 
he is a member of the Media Club and of the Sons of Veterans, in which order 
he has filled all the chairs, and is now holding the office of past commander. 

Mr. Ottey married in Media, September 18, 1893, at the parsonage of the 
First Methodist Episcopal Church, the Rev. Henry Wheeler, D. D., officiating, 
Ida Pancoast, daughter of John S. and Sarah B. (Briggs) Braden, and they 
have one child : Albin Pyle, Jr., born June 3, 1902. The untiring diligence and 
application of Mr. Ottey have made him a most efficient and serviceable citi- 
zen. His clear mind and remarkable tenacity of purpose have enabled him 
to discharge the varied duties which he has been called upon to perform with 
distinction and ability, and his career most forcibly illustrates the possibilities 
which are open to a man who possesses sterling business qualities and knows 
how to make the best use of the opportunities which are presented. 



There are many names so closely connected with the steel in- 
SCHOEN dustry in the United States that they are credited with the in- 
ventions that forced the industry into the front rank of Amer- 
ican enterprises. In reality they were merely the managerial heads, and in most 
instances men without mechanical skill or ability. A notable exception is 
Charles T. Schoen, inventor, patentee, owner, and manufacturer, of the Schoen 
pressed steel system of car construction, and father of the pressed steel car, 
BOW in use on every railroad of any importance in the Ignited States and on 
many foreign roads. His connection with the construction of pressed steel 
cars has not only been in a supervisory capacity, but in the beginning of the 
manufacture of pressed steel parts in Philadelphia, Mr. Schoen was one of the 
four workers in his shop, drawing the hot plates from the fire side by side 
with the others, and it is his proud boast that he "could do the same today." 
To invent and to bring into existence such a great business as the manufacture 
of pressed steel cars has become would satisfy even an extraordinary man, but 
not Mr. Schoen, who, seeing the inadequacy of the cast iron car wheel for the 
high speeds and heavy loads of modern railway service, developed a forged 
and rolled steel car wheel, now in general use on engine trucks and tenders, 
passengers and freight steam railway cars, elevated, subway and street cars. 
So to Mr. Schoen's creative genius and mechanical ability our country owes an 
entirely new business of vast proportions. He is a real "captain of industry," 
a title gained not by manipulation, governmental favor, or lucky association, 
but by virtue of genius, courage, brain, muscle and hard work. A pleasing 
feature of Mr. Schoen's life is the fact that all his hopes for the success of 
the pressed steel car and the forged steel wheel have been realized during his 



640 DELA\\'.\RE COUNTY 

life-time. Nowhere can he go hy rail bin he Hstens to the chcking 
and humming of wheels invented by himself, bearing to their destina- 
tion cars also of his own invention, both, perhaps, of his own man- 
ufacture. To this he adds the thought that he has more nearly insured the 
safety of life, increased the pleasure of travel, and added to the wealth of his 
country. These are the rewards that daily and hourly come to the kindly 
hearted, great man, who, upon dropping the cares of a large business, has 
sought amid the rural beauties of Delaware county a home for his declining 
years. 

Charles T. Schoen is a son of Henry Casper and Emmeline (Robinson) 
Schoen, of the State of Delaware, who had other sons, William, Henry H., and 
James Allen. He was born in the state of Delaware, December 9, 1844, and 
at the ])resent date is in his sixty-ninth year. When he was four years of age his 
parents moved to Wilmington, Delaware, which was his home until 1878. There 
he obtained his education and there learned, under his father's instruction, the 
trade of cooper. At the age of eighteen years he had saved enough money to 
attend Taylors Academy, at the same time working four hours daily in the 
shop. He read, studied, and worked in Wilmington in 1865, a key to his suc- 
cess being found in such mental and physical activity as the story of his youth 
indicates. In 1865, being then married and ambitious, he sought a wider field 
than Wilmington furnished, going to Philadelphia, where he worked at his 
trade. This brought him into relation with Taylor and Gillespie, sugar re- 
finers, the latter l.'ecoming h\z esjiec-al frienii. Desirous of establishing in bu •.'- 
ness for himself he entered into a contract with Mr. Gillespie to supply his 
firm with molasses barrels. Thus at the age of twenty-one years he was mar- 
ried and owned a business emjiloying twelve men. He continued in successful 
business for a time, but through a bad debt failed. Not discouraged, in com- 
pany with a friend he went West, arriving in Chicago early in the morning, 
their combined cash capital amounting to seventy nine cents. Before night he 
had secured work at his trade, but after two months returned to P^hiladelphia. 
Soon after his return he secured a position with Charles Scott as manager of 
his car spring works, at a salary of twelve dollars per week. He took a great 
interest in his new work, determining to become, sooner or later, a partner in 
the business. He lived on five dollars a week, sending the balance to his wife 
in Wilrnington. Soon he was receiving fifteen, then eighteen dollars weekly,, 
and at the end of a year demanded an interest in the business. Mr. Scott flatly 
refused, but later changed his decision by giving Mr. Schoen fifteen hundred 
dollars a year salary and a one-fifth interest. This amounted at the end of 
the first year to about seventeen thousand dollars. The second year Mr. 
Schoen made several improvements and took out some patents for the firm 
that netted a profit of thirty-five thousand dollars. He then demanded and 
received a one-third interest in the firm. 

Being in Washington one day with several hours to spare he visited the 
railroad yards and while looking over the construction of the freight cars was 
impressed with the feasibility of using pressed steel for the different parts, 
then made of cast iron. He studied out the problem and soon took out his first 
patent on a pressed steel stake pocket. This he followed with others, all in his 
own name, considering pro]ierly that as they did not affect the car spring busi- 
ness of his own firm, that the patents were his individual property. This 
caused a rupture that led to Mr. Schoen's withdrawal from the firm. Speaking 
of this period in 1900, he said : "I had saved sixty thousand dollars, so in 1888, 
after I had withdrawn from the spring business, I started in the manufacture 
of pressed steel. My shop was only fifty by one hundred feet and there were- 
only four of us to work in it, my nephew, who is vice-president of the present 



DELAWARE COUNTY 641 

company, my son. who is a director, another man. and myself. I drew the hot 
plates from the furnace and handed them to my nephew and my son. who at 
that time were mere lads. I could do the same to-day. We kept right at 
work, the business grew, and in a short time we were making many parts of 
pressed steel for wooden cars. I paid strict attention to business, as a man 
must do to succeed, and in a short time we enlarged the plant and employed a 
number of men. Then I engaged my brother, who has since died, as sales- 
man." 

He had organized as the Schoen Pressed Steel Company, and manufac- 
tured only under his own patents. In 1889 he moved his business to Pitts- 
burgh, establishing his plant at Schoenville, near that city. At this time, 1890, 
his payroll consisted of but fourteen names, men and boys. He had been 
constantly at work perfecting his designs for an entire pressed steel car and 
after going to Pittsburgh continued in this work until he had it completed and 
entirely covered with patents. The entire number of patents issued to Mr. 
Schoen on cars and car parts is about one hundred and twenty-five, this number 
including a graduated car spring, invented while connected with the Scott Car 
Spring firm. He continued manufacturing steel parts for some time, in the 
meantime seeking to interest railroad officials in an entire pressed steel car for 
freight service. In 1897 there was a rumor afloat that the Pittsburgh, Besse- 
mer & Lake Erie Railroad was to change hands. Mr. Schoen saw in this an 
opportunity and asked for an order for the pressed steel cars. He thus tells 
the story : 

"I immediately set at work on a drawing and worked like a beaver. When 
the new interest gained control I was persistent in my efforts to get the order." 
A part of the work may be inferred from the following letter. 

Skibo C.\stle, July 5, 1898. 
DE.^K Mr. Schoen — Many thanks for tlic Ijeautiful illustrations of your great work. 
I am watching the steel car question with deep interest and just because I am so anxious 
that it should prove a success, I am not without any anxiety. 

If your steel cars are to displace wooden cars you take your place with the few 
great benefactors. We now boast of Pittsburgh's Westinghouse and Brashear, and I hope 
we are to add a third name ere long. 

Wishing you deserved success and with renewed thanks, 

.\lwavs very trulv vours, 

(Signed) ANDREW C.A.RNEGIE. 
To Charles T. Schoen, Esq., 

President Schoen Pressed Steel Co., 
Pittsburgh, Pa. 

•"Finally I got the order, not for twenty but two hundred cars. Then 
the railroad people thought that if they were to order any they might as well 
plunge, so the order was increased to six hundred cars. The problem that 
then confronted me was how to fill the order. I had not the facilities for 
building even one car, and the money involved was six hundred thousand 
dollars, but I had the pressed steel works for making parts and I had plenty of 
energy. We started in the old shop and kept enlarging. At length we aver- 
aged one car a day, then two, three, four, and finally, eight, .^t the end of 
nine months the order was filled and a five hundred thousand dollar plant had 
been erected over the heads of the workmen. 

"Where is the next order to come from? I asked myself. If the railroads 
don't take hold of this I shall be ruined. I hardly slept until after arguments 
and exemplifications I had secured an order from the Pittsburgh & Lake Erie 
Railroad, an order for one hundred and fifty cars. Then came one from the 
Pennsylvania Railroad for two hundred, closely followed by one from the 
42 



642 DELAW'ARE COL'KTY 

Pitsburgh & Western Railroad for five hundred cars. I had saved the day. 
Then I broke down in health and was wafted away to Bermuda for six weeks' 
rest." 

The capital required to finance these large operations was secured by the 
organization of the Pressed Steel Car Company, which took over the property 
of the Schoen Pressed Steel Company and the one hundred and twenty-five 
I)atents issued to Mr. Schoen. The capital of the new company was twenty- 
five million dollars, JNlr. Schoen retaining a very large interest and becoming 
president of the company, his nephew vice-president, his son a director. 

Orders flowed in and within one year the company had four million dol- 
lars worth of untouched orders upon its books. In 1898 the Fox Pressed 
Steel Company was absorbed. A plant was erected in .A.llegheny which in 1900 
was turning out forty cars daily ; the Pittsburgh plant was building sixty cars 
daily ; and thirty thousand tons of steel was being used monthly. This large 
business naturally attracted the attention of the Carnegie interests, who were 
only prevented from building a rival plant by a contract for steel for a period 
of ten years, involving a sum of one hundred million dollars. The value of the 
steel car for all forms of heavy freight service was soon demonstrated and in 
the year 1900 the company had not only these works at Pittsburgh in full oper- 
ation, but also one at Joliet, Illinois. They employed nearly ten thousand men 
and were doing an annual business of thirty millions of dollars, with Mr. 
Schoen constantly at work in the direction of a still more general application 
of the all steel pressed system to special cars of passenger type. In 1902 he 
resigned from the presidency of the company, also from the board of directors 
and sold practically all his stock in the compariy. At that time, the Pittsburgh, 
Bessemer & Lake Erie Railroad, his first custoiner, had bought four thousand, 
three hundred all steel cars of the "hopper" and "gondola" types, the Penn- 
sylvania, nine thousand, while every leading railway of the country was rap- 
idly adding all steel freight cars to their equipment. Sales had also been made 
abroad and in 1900 Henrik von Z. Loss, a noted engineer, presented the claims 
of the Schoen Pressed Steel system on car construction to the International 
Railway Congress in Paris. Mr. Schoen's connection with the company ceased 
in 1902, but he had seen the fruition of his hopes in the adoption of the "all 
steel" car to every branch of the railway service. 

For four years he had devoted himself to experiments in solid forged and 
rolled steel wheels for railroad cars, both passenger and freight, expending in 
experiinenting, patents, etc., one and a half million dollars of his own money. 
He finally perfected his invention and erected a large plant for the manufac- 
ture of solid forged and rolled steel wheels, under his own patents. The value 
of the all steel car to the railroads had so impressed the railroad officials that 
when he announced a new wheel superior to the ones they were using they 
immediately responded with orders. The value of the wheel is so great that 
it is to-day'in use on steam and electric roads everywhere in the L^nited States, 
Europe and Africa. The Schoen Steel Wheel Company, Ltd., have a plant in 
Leeds, England, in which Mr. Schoen is largely interested, and which manu- 
factures wheels under his patents. The following relating to steel wheels is 
from his old friend of early pressed steel car days : 

Skibo Castle, July 11, 1908. 
My De.\r Mr. Schoen— I have faith in your prediction. You have proved a true 
prophet before. Nothing like steel. 

Very truly yours. 

(Signed) .\NDRE\V CARNEGIE. 
Charles T. Schoen, 

101 Arcade Building, 

Philadelphia, Pennsylvania. 



DELAWARE COUNTY 643 

In 1907 he sold his plant and patents to the United States Steel Corpora- 
tion and retired to his estate in Delaware county, Pennsylvania, leaving upon 
the annals of steel manufacturing and railroading a name and a record that 
even time cannot efiface. Without a falter he placed reputation and wealth 
upon a conviction that could only be the fruit of a master mind. He con- 
quered obstacles that would have appalled many, and mankind is his debtor. 
Certain it is that but few men have lived to see the results of their ambitions, 
perseverance and brains, as plainly and to as great an extent as has been the 
lot of Air. Schoen. 

After his retirement from the steel wheel manufacturing business. Mr. 
Schoen retired to his estate in the beautiful Rose Valley of Delaware county, 
where in 1903 he had purchased the Osborne farm of seventy-five acres, on 
which was water power and the ruins of an old woolen mill. He tore down the 
old farm house and on its site erected "Schon Haus," a beautiful modern 
country gentleman's mansion. With the instinct of a true husbandman he 
planted extensive orchards and otherwise improved on a liberal basis. In 
1908 he bought Todmorden farm of two hundred and ten acres, the Levis 
farm of forty-four acres, later purchasing fifty-one acres from the Rose Val- 
ley Association, combining all under the name "Rose Valley Farms." He 
has either built or repaired all the buildings thereon, and otherwise added to 
the beauty and attractiveness of this most charming rural locality. 

The term "retired" in Mr. Schoen's case only means that he has turned 
to other forms of activity. In 1909 he built on the old waterpower on his es- 
tate a mill for the manufacture of that "giant in power" but "miser in fuel," 
the Feps carburetor, and of flexible metallic hose for conveying under high 
pressure and heat, steam, water, oil, air, etc., made in brass, bronze, or steel. 
These articles are manufactured by the Schoen-Jackson Company, Mr. Jack- 
son being his son-in-law. The name Feps is coined from the first letters of the 
four cardinal features of the new carburetor, F for flexibility, E for economy, 
P for power, and S for speed. The plant is equipped with the most modern 
machinery and has a capacity of ninety thousand carburetors yearly as well as 
a testing laboratory for motors and carburetors, probably the most perfectly 
equipped in the United States. Mr. Schoen has built for his private use. as 
well as that of the Schoen-Jackson Company, a stone office building of 
quaint and beautiful design. This is ostensibly his working place, but the cares 
of business have long ago been laid aside or placed on younger shoulders, and 
the office is rather his resting place than his place of business, although the af- 
fairs of Schoen-Jackson are vigorously prosecuted by the junior partner, who 
profits by the experience and advice of his senior. An item of interest in Mr. 
Schoen's life is the fact that he was one of the first men in this county to carry 
a large amount of life insurance. 

Mr. Schoen and his wife are members of the Park Avenue Methodist 
Episcopal Church of Philadelphia. He is a Republican in politics, and in 1912, 
was prominently mentioned as a candidate for Congress. He is a member of 
the Union League and the Manufacturers' Club of Philadelphia, the Lawyers' 
Gub of New York, the Duquesne Club of Pittsburgh, and many railroad and 
manufacturing associations. 

Mr. Schoen married, in 1864, Lavinia J., daughter of James and Mary 
North, of Wilmington, Delaware. Children: i. Edwin A., who died at the 
age of thirty-seven years ; he was associated in business with his father from 
his boyhood to his death, being the son alluded to as receiving the hot plates 
from the father in the little shop in Philadelphia ; he married Mary Louise, 
daughter of Senator Charles A. Porter, and he left a son, Edwin (2). 2. 
Elsie, married Martin Hawley McLanahan, of Philadelphia, and resides in 



644 DELAWARE COUNTY 

Rose Valley ; they have a son, Alexander, now in college. 3. Emeline, married 
Dr. Reuben Held, of New York City: they have a son, Charles Johnson. 
4. Lenore, married M. R. Jackson, junior iiartner in the Schoen-Jackson Com- 
pany ; their residence is a handsome country mansion at the upper end of Rose 
Valley; their children are Lenore and Jane. 

The foregoing record of the principal events in the life of one of Ameri- 
ca's great business men. may properly close with his own words, uttered to a 
friend in 1900: 

You ask me if I had any inspiratinn ? I think Smiles' Httle book, "Self-Help," which 
I read when a boy. sowed within me the germ of ambition. I am a great believer in a 
young man having self-confidence. He will then undertake almost anything, and will 
grasp opportunities which he would otherwise be too fainthearted to undertake. Modesty 
ill a young man is becoming, and a modest young man may have energetic powers in a 
high degree. Of course to a great e.xtent we are creatures of circumstance even after 
we have done the best we can. I never had n day of despair in my life, and I think that 
what you are pleased to call my success has been entirely due to my innate determination 
and pluck. 

> 

Resting in a thicket of old pine and spruce trees, on a knoll in the beauti- 
ful Rose \'alley below Moylan, "Schon Haus," the home of Mr. and Mrs. 
Charles T. Schoen, could have no more appropriate title than that which has 
been given it from the quaint tongue of the Nord Deutsche. "Schon Haus" 
and "Rose \'alley Farm" on which it stands, form a combination of mansion 
and country gentleman's estate that is distinctive and delightful. The house, a 
gem of architecture, was originally built in 1862, and remodeled in 1904 for 
Mr. Schoen by his son-in-law. Martin Hawley McLanahan, who also designed 
and built many of the houses in Rose \'alley. The house belongs to no single 
one of the old schools of architecture, but the best of many schools has gone 
to make the "House Beautiful." P.uilt of stone and plaster and topped by a 
red tiled roof with far-])rojecting eaves, its air of substantiality impresses one 
as it is seen from the drive through the stately evergreens which surround it. 
No detail of the landscape gardener's art that could add to the general attrac- 
tiveness has been overlooked in laying out the grounds. One most interesting 
and beautiful feature is the pergola leading from the quaint water tower to 
the main house, which, in the varying seasons, is covered by the clustering 
blooms from which the valley derives its name. Another is the old-fashioned 
flower garden, a riot of color, reached through a rose arbor. The orchards, al- 
ready in bountiful bearing, contain four thousand trees, planted ten years ago, 
classed as among the best apple orchards in the state. There is an orchard on 
each of the three original farms comprising Rose Valley, covering in all about 
one hundred acres. "Schon Haus" is never closed and within is a perfect ex- 
ample of the exquisite taste that makes for home comfort, with its massive 
furniture, unique wood carving, sculpture, and many works of art. 

No visitor ever leaves "Schon Haus" without first looking over the 
"farm," of which the owner is justly proud. Over four hundred acres are in 
a perfect state of cultivation, well stocked with valuable farin animals. As one 
listens to the various bits of history connected with his live stock, it is hard to 
lealize that this gentleman farmer is the man who was decorated with the Le- 
gion of Honor by the French government for having by his inventions "re- 
duced the cost of railroad transportation" for the entire world. 

Tn one corner of the garden is a sun dial made from a huge steel car 
wheel, bearing the mimbcr one hundred and two, one of the first two hundred 
wheels manufactured by Mr. Schoen under his own patents. "It represents 
to me some of my early struggles" says this quiet, unassuming owner of the 
"House Beautiful." 



DELAWARE COUNTY 645 

Son of a native born manufacturer of Delaware county, Mr. 
RHODES Harry W. Rhode? has also spent his entire life within the con- 
fines of that county, beginning business life as clerk and rising 
to his present position at the head ot Media's only Title and Trust Company. 

Harry W. Rhodes was born in Chester, Pennsylvania, March 15, 1865, 
son of William K. and Lydia (Cummins) Rhodes, both born in Delaware 
county of old and prominent families. William K. Rhodes was for many years 
a contractor and brick manufacturer. later in life joining with his brothers, 
John B. and Samuel Rhodes, in manufacturing enterprises. He was a Dem- 
ocrat in politics, but although influential in party and business, never accepted 
public office. He died in October. 1S87, his wife in 1893— both buried in the 
cemetery of Calvary Church, at Rockdale. 

Harry W. Rhodes was educated in the public schools and Gilbert Acad- 
emy, finishing his studies in Chester high school. He began his business career 
as clerk in the office of the Robert Wetherill Company, at Chester, remaining 
with that company three years. He then entered the clerical service of the 
First National Bank, of Chester, continuing three years, then accepted a posi- 
tion with the newly organized Chester County National Bank, at ^Media. After 
four years with that, now well known institution, he assisted in the organiza- 
tion of the Media Title and Trust Company and was elected in 1892 its secre- 
tary and treasurer. The trust company began business in 1891, Mr. Rhodes 
continuing as its secretary and treasurer until May 14, 1908, when he was 
chosen president to succeed George Drayton, deceased. Mr. Rhodes brought 
to his high position a valuable banking experience of nearly twenty-five years, 
seventeen of which had been as a high official of the institution, of which he 
is now the honored head. The trust company maintains a general banking and 
savings department as well as title, trust, real estate and safe deposit depart- 
ment. The company has been a very successful one and shows by its annual 
report a most flattering condition, surplus and individual profits exceeding its 
capital stock of one hundred and twenty-five thousand dollars. The officers 
and directors of the company are men of high standing and in his official ca- 
pacity, Mr. Rhodes shows ability as a wise conservative financier. His is the 
wisdom born of experience and knowledge of true banking and trust company 
operations, as well as of the general laws governing all financial transactions. 
The condition of this company but reflects the wisdom of its management. He 
has also other business interests that show a like prosperity. 

Mr. Rhodes is a Democrat in politics, and as an active interested citizen, 
not as a politician, has served his borough as school director and in other pub- 
lic capacities. He is a member of the Masonic and Odd Fellow fraternities, 
and one of the organizers and a charter member of the Spring Haven Country 
Club. He is a member of the Episcopal church, of Rockdale. 

Mr. Rhodes married, June 5, 1902, Anna L., daughter of John B. and 
Ann (Warren) Rhodes, of Delaware county. The family home is at Moylan, 
Delaware county, where they are prominent in social life. 



The Tylers of the United States are descended from an ancient 
TYLER English family, the ancestor coming to England in the train of 

William the Conqueror and fighting at the battle of Hastings in 
1066. For six hundred years thereafter the family throve and spread to other 
parts of England. Abciut 1685 three brothers Tyler came to America, one set- 
tling in New England, one in X'irginia— the ancestor of President John Tyler, 
and William, who came to West Jersey about 1688, and purchased a large tract 
of land on the north side of Monmouth river, of John Champney, said tract 



646 DELAWARE COUNTY 

being a part of the two thousand acres that John Fenwick deeded in 1676 to 
James and Priscilla (Fenwick) Champney. Mr. Tyler had married in Eng- 
land, about 1676, Johanna Parson. They had four cliildren born in England 
and the followmg certificate given by his friends in England, shows conclusive- 
ly his place of residence and standing: 

"Whereas VVilliam Tyler of Walton in Somerset, yeoman, intends to transport him- 
selt .and family into the province of Pennsylvania in America if the Lord will, and has 
desired a certificate on his behalf. We, therefore, whose names are subscribed do hereby 
certify that the said William Tyler hath professed the truth for several years past and 
that we do not know but that his conversation hath been answerable to his profession 
and that we do know that he hath been ready and willing to contribute to the service of 
truth, as opportunity hath offered and occasion required, and that as to his dealings with 
the world, he has been punctual and of good report as far as any of us know or have 
heard, and we know nothing of debts or other entanglements on his part but that he 
may with clearness, prosecute his intended voyage. In testimonv whereof we have here- 
unto subscribed our hands." Dated the "eleventh dav of seventh month called September 
in the year 1685," (signed by fourteen men). 

It is evident that Johanna died a short time after their arrival in the Fen- 
wick colony. His second wife was named Elizabeth. William Tyler was a 
farmer and also operated a tannery. He made his will in second month, 1700, 
m which he bequeathed a large landed estate to his sons. There appears no 
reliable record of his death, but family belief is that it occurred in 1701. Chil- 
dren of first wife, all born in England': i. Marv, at Welton, in the county of 
Somerset, nth month, 1677: married Abel, son of Samuel Nicholson; children: 
Sarah, Rachel, Joseph, William T., Ann, John, Ruth and Samuel. 2. William 
(2), of further mention. 3. John, born "5th month, 1682, inherited from his 
father, eight hundred acres in the lower^ part of Alloways Creek township. 
Salem county, New Jersey, together with other lands in the same township. 
He married Hannah, daughter of Samuel Wade, and had a son, Benjamin, 
whose son. Job, was a noted stock raiser. He exhibited a prize ox in Philadel- 
phia, weighing two thousand one hundred and sixty-five pounds. This fact so 
filled the Salem folks with local pride that for many years the bank of Salem 
carried the impress of the Tyler ox on their one dollar bank notes. 4. Johan- 
na, born 1684, married Jonathan Waddington. Children of William (i) Ty- 
ler by his second wife, Elizabeth: 5. Catherine, born 13th of 5th month, 1690. 
6. Philip, 6 mo., 1692, married Elizabeth Denn. 7. Elizabeth, iC^4, married 
William Murdock. 

(II) William (2), eldest son of William (i) Tyler and his first wife, 
Johanna Parson, was born in Walton, county of Somerset, England, 5th of 7th 
nio., 1680. .At the death of his father he was twenty-one years of age, and to 
him was left the Champney property of four hundred acres. His father had 
such confidence in him, that in his will it was directed that he have charge of 
the younger children and he was left executor of the will. .-\s executor, he 
received through Elias Osborne, of England, agent of his uncle, Thomas Par- 
sons, of Philadelphia, a considerable sum of money from England. 

William (2) Tyler, married Mary .Abbott, a sister of George Abbott, the 
emigrant. A short time before his death in 1733, he made a will and left the 
plantation on which he lived to his son, William '(3) Tyler, other lands to oth- 
er sons, moneys to his daughters, and to his wife, Mary, and daughters, Edith 
and Rebecca, all his personal pro]ierty, after his funeral expenses and just 
debts were paid, to be equally divided, al.so his wife, :\Tary, one-half of his best 
mansion house to dwell in, a!^o the keep of a horse and cow as long as she 
lived there. Children: i. William (3), born 2nd of 5 mo., 1712, executor of 
his father's estate and heir to the homestead — he, however, to pay his sisters, 
Edith and Rebecca, fifty pounds in four years. He married Elizabeth, daugh- 



DELAWARE COUNTY 647 

ter of Joseph and Sarah Thompson, and Hved where Allowaystown is now lo- 
cated. 2. Edith, born 24th of nth mo., 1714: married Samuel Thompson, 
who was also an executor of the will of his father-in-law. He was a son of 
William, and grandson of Andrew Thompson, who came in 1677. 3. Rebecca, 
born 29th of 3rd mo., 1716, married William, son of Samuel Abbott, of Elsin- 
borough. 4. ^lary. born i6th of ist mo., 1718. 5. James, born 30th of 12th 
mo., 1720. He married Martha Simpson, and in 1745 built a brick house on 
the Alloways Creek homestead. He died, aged eighty years, leaving two chil- 
dren, James and Ruth. 6. Samuel, of whom further. 

(Ill) Samuel, youngest child of William (2) and Mary (Abbott) Tyler, 
was born 26th of loth mo., 1723, died at Salem, New Jersey, 26th of 11 mo., 
1778. He was about ten years of age when his father died, and when nearly 
eighteen he apprenticed himself to Benjamin Acton, of Salem, to learn the 
tanning business. An indenture found among his papers, dated 1741, signed 
Samuel Tyler and witnessed by his mother, ^larv Tyler, specified that he was 
to serve four years. Soon after the expiration of his term he sold the Allo- 
ways Creek farm, inherited from his father, and bought of Rebecca Edgil, of 
Philadelphia, the property at the upper end of Salem, on what has since been 
known as Tyler street. In the deed for this purchase, dated 1746, the house is 
called "a new brick house." Samuel Tyler carried on the tannery business in 
.Salem for many years, living to see all his children grow to maturity. 

In 1751 he married Ann, died 23rd of 2nd mo., 1777, daughter of John 
(2), and granddaughter of John (i) Mason, the emigrant. Children: i. Wil- 
liam (4), of whom further. 2. John, born 7th of 9 mo., 1755. He located in 
Salem, New Jersey, where he bought a property on Eourth street, built a 
dwelling house, in which he and his sister, Mary, resided. He carried on a 
tanning business all his life and became quite wealthy. Late in life he joined 
the Society of Friends in whose mode of worship he had been educated. He 
never married and died in 1825. Said a contemporary at the time of his 
death: ".\n honest man is gone." 3. Mary, born tith of 8th mo., 1756, never 
married and spent her life of forty-eight years with her brother, John. 4. 
Samuel, born in 7th mo., 175B; was a farmer, his property adjoining his boy- 
hood home. He married a widow, Grace Acton, daughter of Peter ,\mbler, of 
Mannington ; children : i. Ann, married Mark Smith, ii. Elizabeth, married 
John Miller, of Gloucester county. New Jersey, several times member of the 
New Jersey legislature, and a judge of Gloucester county. 5. Rebecca, born 
in 6th mo., 1764; she never married and lived in deep retirement with her 
brother, John; at the death of her aunt, Mary Mason, and of her sister, Mary 
Tyler, Rebecca inherited a considerable amount of money. She built a house 
on Broadway, Salem, where she lived several years, then moved to Gloucester 
county, spending her last years with her niece, Elizabeth IMiller; she died in 
1843, aged seventy-nine years. 

(IV) William (4), eldest son of Samuel and .Ann (Mason) Tyler, was 
born 3rd of nth mo., 1752. He was twenty-six years of age when his father 
died, his mother dying the year previous. According to the law at that time he 
was, as the eldest son, entitled to all the landed estate. He was not, however, 
unmindful of his brothers and sisters, but assigned to each a share of their 
father's property ; a maternal aunt, Mary Mason, became housekeeper for the 
family and all remained at home until the marriage of William (4) Tyler, 
when the family departed, William continuing at the old home. His first wife. 
Beulah Ridgway, whom he married in 1792, lived but a short time after their 
marriage. He married (second) in 1796, Catherine, daughter of Hugh Low, 
of Philadelphia. Hugh Low was the son of English parents, members of the 
Society of Friends, who came from England to Philadelphia, when he was a 



648 DELAWARE COUNTY 

child in arms. William (4) and Catherine lived together for twenty-seven 
years. He was a man of retiring disposition, of few words, honest and impar- 
tial in his dealings with his fellows. She was considered a discreet, sensible 
woman with a warm affectionate disposition ; was devotedly pious, sprightly in 
character and anxious that her children might be brought up right and that 
they might become good, useful, worthy citizens. Possessing abundant means 
and holding assured positions in the regard of their community, their lives were 
spent in quiet happiness. He died after an illness of two weeks in 1823 in his 
seventy-second year, she died 23rd of 3rd mo., 1825. Children all born in 
Salem, New Jersey: i. John JMason, born 28th of 5th mo., 1797. He was 
adopted by his uncle, John Tyler, whom he succeeded in business. He mar- 
ried, in 1832, Dorothea Graham Hoskins, of Radnor, Pennsylvania, daughter 
of Joseph and Mary (Graham) Hoskins; children: Catherine Low. born 
1833, and William Graham Tyler. 2. Hannah Gillespie, born 30th of 8th mo., 
1798; married, in 1818, Clement Smith, of ]\Iannington, son of William Smith, 
and a lineal descendant of John Smith, of Smithfield ; child : ^^'illiam Clement 
Smith. 3. Hugh Low, of further mention. 4. Mary, born 21st of nth mo., 
1801, a remarkably intelligent and gifted woman: died unmarried. 5. Wil- 
liam (5), born i6th of 9 mo., 18c/): after arriving at manhood he made an ex- 
tended tour of the western states, located in Philadelphia in 1832 and estab- 
lished in the leather business, becoming prosperous. He and his sister, Mary, 
maintained a home until 1847, when he married Ann, daughter of Enos Paint- 
er, a farmer and large land owner, in Delaware county, Pennsylvania : chil- 
dren : William Enos, born 1848, died 1873; John J., born in 185 1. 

(V) Hugh Low, second son of William and Catherine (Low) Tyler, was 
born in Salem, New Jersey, 20th of 3rd mo., 1800. He was a prosperous 
farmer until 1850, when he moved to Delaware county, Pennsylvania; his w'ife 
having inherited a valuable farm from her father at his death. This farm, 
"Blue Hill," had been originally deeded by William Penn to a Miller, the emi- 
grant ancestor of William Tyler. The Tyler farm, on which they had lived 
since marriage, was sold when the}- moved to Delaware county, that property 
having been in the Tyler name for more than one hundred years. Hugh Low 
Tyler li\'eci the life of a gentleman farmer in Delaware count}' for tliirtv- 
three years, dying March 2. 1883, honored and respected. He married, in 
1835, Mary Shippen Miller, who died at Blue Hill in November, 1872, daugh- 
ter of George and Mary (Levis) Miller, of Delaware county, Pennsylvania, he 
an extensive landowner. Children: i. William Levis, born in 1836, died in 
1872, unmarried. 2. George M., of whom further. 3. John Edgar, born in 
1842, who met his death by fire, his clothes catching afire as he was burning 
leaves in November, 1890. He married Anna Hicks. Hugh Low Tyler, his 
wife, and his children were all members of the Society of Friends. 

(VI) George Miller, second son of Hugh Low and Mary Ship]x-n (Mil- 
ler) Tyler, was born in Salem, New Jersey, in 1838, died in Media, Pennsyl- 
vania, May 14, 1908. He attended ])rivate schools in Salem until he was 
twelve years of age, when his parents moved to the Miller farm, at Blue Hill, 
Delaware county, Pennsylvania. He there attended ])ublic school, the private 
school of Aaron Ivens in Media, also taking a course at Haverford College, but 
not graduating. His farm at I'.lue Hill, in Copper Providence townshfp, claimed 
his attention diu-ing his active years, but he finally retired to Media, his home 
until death. He served in the Civil War in the Twenty-ninth Regiment Penn- 
sylvania \"olunteer Cavalr\-. He was an independent in ])olitic^, serving his 
township two terms as school director. He married Emma Weaver, born in 
Philadelphia, still living (1913). daughter of Jacol) Weaver, who in company 
with his hrother-in-law. Henrv \ ;ilkmar, was in the stove business at Third 



DELAWARE COUNTY 649 

and Spruce streets, Philadelphia, for many years. A stove made by this firm 
and sold in Media years ago, is still in good condition, after forty years service. 
Jacob Weaver married Caroline Valkmar, who bore him two daughters : Em- 
ma, married George M. Tyler ; Caroline, died unmarried in 1897. Children 
of George M. and Emma Tyler: i. William P., of whom further. 2. 
Frank, born April 30, 1870, died in the ?\Hlitary Hospital at Santiago, Cuba, 
October i, 1898, while in the military service of his country, unmarried. 3. 
Mary, twin of Frank, now residing at Blue Hill, unmarried. 4. Louellen, 
born December, 1879, resides at Blue Hill, unmarried. 

(\'II) William Preston, eldest son of George Miller and Emma (Weav- 
er) Tyler, was born at Blue Hill, Upper Providence township, Delaware coun- 
ty, Pennsylvania, April 14, 1868. His early life was spent at the Blue Hill 
farm, where he attended the public school in Media, then entered Friends Se- 
lect School at Fifteenth and Race streets, Philadelphia, later attended Short- 
lidge's Academy in Media, finishing his student life at Swarthmore College. 
During vacation periods he assisted his father in farming operations, and from 
1885 to 1888 was with him in Maryland, where his father owned a farm of 
three hundred eighty-six acres. In 1888, William P. journeyed to Florida, in- 
tending to there establish in orange culture. During the years until 1892 he 
was not actively engaged, except for a period of nine months with the Westing- 
house Electric Company. In 1892 he entered the employ of the Pennsylvania 
railroad as clerk in the master carpenter's office, continuing seven years. Since 
that time he has been inspector of bridges for the same company. Mr. Tyler is 
a Democrat in politics but has never accepted public office. 

He married, November 15, 1902, Sarah L. Evans, born in Chester, Penn- 
sylvania, daughter of John Hickson Evans, born January 12, 1825, died in 
Chester, September 17, 1883, a cabinet-maker and undertaker, also a practical 
farmer and land owner. He married Sarah Lowe, born February 17, 1842, in 
Chester, died June 23, 1905: children: Virginia, married Samuel Harrison; 
Lewis, married Grace Robinson ; Mabel, married William Allen : Charles L., 
married Grace Pennell ; Sarah L., married ^^'illiam P. Tyler; Harry, married 
Margaret Maris; Elizabeth, married E. Shirley Borden; Helen, married 
Charles R. Cotton. Children of William P. and Sarah (Evans) Tyler: George 
Miller, born May 10, 1904; John W., October 23, 1906. 

The family home of the Tylers is in Media, Pennsylvania, where they 
have resided since June 22, 1903. 



The family history of Colonel Jose])li Williamson Hawley, 
H.-\WLEV ex-president of the First National Bank of Media, Pennsyl- 
vania, is an unusually interesting one, dating back to the end 
of the seventeenth century. According to the records kept by Benjamin Haw- 
ley, the ancestor of the Chester county family, we have the following account : 

"My Father's Name was Thomas Hawley. Citizen and Guiimake.r, London, in the 
Parish of Olive Old Jewry at the corner ne.xt Coleman Street and Lothbury. My mother 
was Frances Malin of a village called Paulus Perry (Alias Potters Perry). Northampton- 
shire, by whom he had ten children, five sons and five danghters. whose names being 
worked on a sampler were 

Thomas and Anna. Thomas and Mary. 
Frances. Snsannah and Sarah. 
Joseph and Thomas and little Benjamin. 
Thomas and I'Vances had these children ten. 

I was born on the 5th day of tlie 8th month called October in the year of onr Lord 
'70,3. Old Style. My Mother departed this life on the loth day of the 7th Mo. (called 



650 DELAWARE COUNTY 

September), in the year 1714, old style, in the 52nd year of her age and was buryed in 
the grave yard belonging to the Parish church of Olive Old Jewry. My Father lived in 
widowhood until sometime in the Month called January 1717-18. My sister Mary kept 
his house during his widowhood. He departed this Life in the month aforesaid in the 
63rd year of his age and was buryed in the same grave with my mother. My sister 
Mary being left whole and sole Executrix of his last will and Testament, she put me out 
apprentice to John Hosey of Channel Row, Westminster, citizen and gunmaker of 
London, with whom I staidc until the month called July 1722. Then I left him and went 
on board the Britania, snow. John Head master, bound for >Ladeira and Philadelphia. 
We had a long passage and suffered much for want of Provisions and water. We were 
becalmed some weeks and several died for want. I think it was reckoned when we made 
the land of Virginia we had not eight pounds of Bread and Beef on board for sixty 
persons. Our captain went with some hands ashore to seek water and provisions but 
could get no water to bring off, but shot four hogs, a sheep and hawk, thv.- hawk I had for 
my share. We buried four at sea, one upon Cape May, another at Philadelphia who died 
coming up the river. William Passmore and Tertulain Johnson were two of the Passen- 
gers that I had some knowledge of. I stayed on board till the vessel was loaded and 
went out, and then myself and two or three more of the servants whose time were not 
disposed of were put on board another ship belonging to the same owners, where we 
staid till she was loaded and went out. which was some time in January, 1722-3. Myself 
and another, which was all that was left of the servants, was sent down to George Ash- 
bridge's in Goshen, for him to dispose of our time. There I had a severe fit of sickness 
and kept my bed for two weeks. Mary .-\shbridge was as good to me as if I had been 
her own son. Some time in the 12th month (called February) it pleased the Lord to 
Restore me to my health again and about the latter end of the first month (called March) 
1723, I came to live with John Willis the younger, in Thornbury Township, where I staid 
till my 5 years servitude was expired, which was the 12th of the 9th Mo. (called Novem- 
ber) 1727." 

It may be explained that his first leaving home was without the knowledge 
or consent of his master, and that to obtain his passage he sold his services for 
five years after his arrival in Pennsylvania. It is even said that he changed 
his name to avoid detection. 

Benjamin Hawley was married on the 5th of March, 1730. to Dinah Ga- 
biter, daughter of Jolin Gabiter, of the parish of Giles-in-the-Fields, London. 
In September, 1735. he made a voyage to liis native land and spent the winter 
there, and on his return rented a plantation in the forks of Brandywine (West 
Bradford), till 1743. when he removed to East Bradford and followed farm- 
ing until 1757. He next taught school two years in Birmingham, and thert 
went again to England to look after an estate left him by his sister, Susanna 
Arrowsinith. Returning to America near the close of 1759, he made his 
home with his son, Benjamin, at times, and taught school at Birmingham in 
the intervals. His wife died 11 mo. 26, 1761, in her sixty-third year, and on 
the 20tli of .^Ih month, 1763, he was married at Birmingham Meeting to 
Catharine Hillborn. He continued to teach school until 1769, when he made 
a third voyage to the place of his birth. .\ few of the last years of his life 
were spent in the home of his son, Joseph, in West Bradford, where he died 
7 mo. 29, 1782, and was buried at Birmingham Meeting. His widow died 5 
mo. 13. 1789, aged ninety-three years and three months. 

By his first wife he had six children: i. Benjamin, born November 18, 
1730: died 10 mo. 2(\ 1815: see forward. 2. Mary, born October 3, 1732; 
married Hugh Kirgan. 3. Joseph, born March 21, 1735: married Elizabeth 
Siiackman : died 11 mo. 21, 1817. 4. William, born September 17, 1737; died 
6 mo. 2, 1826; married Hannah Taylor, Elizabeth Evcnson and Plicbe Hoopes. 
5. Susanna, born March 28, 1740: died 7 mo. 21, 1770; married Christopher 
Nupher. 6. John, born March 11, 1743: probably died young. The births of 
the above children were entered in a Bible, printed 1599, which was given to 
the father by his sister, Mary Hawley. February 13, 1735-6. Benjamin Haw- 
ley was admitted to membership with Friends at Birmingham, 3 mo. 10, 1763. 
Benjamin Hawley Jr. was admitted into membership at Bradford Meet- 



DELAWARE COUNTY 651 

ing. I mo. 15, 1756, and was married there. 4 mo. 22, 1756, to Mary, daughter 
of Robert Johnson, of East Bradford, said to have been from England, and 
Katherine (Knott) Johnson, his wife. They settled on his farm in East Brad- 
ford, just across the Brandywine from his brother, Joseph. They had four- 
teen children: i. Caleb, born 4 mo. 23, 1757: married Hannah Battin, 5 mo. 
30, 1782. 2. Thomas, born 12 mo. 6, 1758; died 4 mo. 17, 1781, unmarried. 
3. Joseph, born 6 mo. 6, 1760: died 10 mo. 5, 1856; see forward. 4. Robert, 
born 3 mo. 28, 1762; married Patience Yearsley, 11 mo. 21, 1787. 5. Rachel, 
born 8 mo. 3, 1763; married Arthur McCann. 6. Hannah, born 4 mo. 7, 
1766; unmarried in 1807. 7. Mary, born 9 mo. 2, 1767: married John Ingram. 
8. Lydia, born 2 mo. 28, 1769: died 12 mo. 28, 1770. 9. Susanna, born 9 mo. 
II, 1770; married Elisha Davis, 12 mo. 12, 1793. 10. Tamer, born 5 mo. 2, 
1772; married Joshua Hicklin, 12 mo. 17, 1801. 11. Rebecca, born i mo. 9, 
1774; died 3 mo. 18, 1859, unmarried. 12. Dinah, born i mo. 18, 1776; mar- 
ried John Hicklin, 5 mo. 21, 1801. 13. Benjamin, born 5 mo. 18, 1777; died 
8 mo. 17, 1857; married Deborah Hoopes. 14. Phebe, born i mo. 14, 1779; 
died 2 mo. 11, 1782. The mother of these children died 4 mo. 27, 1822, in her 
eighty-ninth year. 

Joseph Hawley, the third child, was married, 5 mo. 23, 1798, at Nantmeal 
Meeting, to Rebecca Meredith, born 8 mo. 10, 1766, died 6 mo. 12, 1851, daugh- 
ter of Simon and Dinah (Pugh) Meredith, of Coventry. They settled in 
Uwchlan township, and Joseph died at Lionville in his ninety-seventh year, 
having been blind for several years. They had children: i. Mary, born 3 
mo. 2, 1799; died unmarried, 8 mo. 27, 1821. 2. Simon, born 4 mo. 6, 1801 ; 
died 7 mo. 26, 1863. He married Mary Lewis. 3. Benjamin, born 4 mo. 13, 
1803; died 7 mo. 27, 1850. He married Alary Beitler. 4. Joel, see forward. 

5. Jesse, born 2 mo. 14, 1806; died 10 mo. 6, 1887. Married" Esther Meredith, 
and had : Jesse G., deceased, who was the proprietor of the Reading "Eagle." 

6. Dinah, born 10 mo. 30, 1808; married, 2 mo. 17, 1830, Charles Moore, and 
had a son : Henry J., who was engineer of the city of Pittsburgh at the time 
of his death, 1872. 

Joel Hawley, son of Joseph and Rebecca (Meredith) Hawley, was born 
10 mo. 7, 1804: died 4 mo. 8, 1883. After his marriage he was a merchant in 
Lionville, Uwchlan township. In 1871 he was elected an associate judge of the 
courts of Chester county for a term of five years, and was the last person to 
hold that position, the office being abolished by the new constitution. He and 
his wife retired to West Chester, where their deaths occurred but a few hours 
apart, and they were buried in one grave at Oaklands Cemetery. 

Joel Hawley married, 12 mo. 11, 1833, Catharine B. Williamson, who died 
4 mo. 7, 1883. Children : Hannah Mary, who married Levi C. Griffith, of Ox- 
ford : Joseph Williamson, see forward ; Samuel W., married Ellen Lewis and 
lived in Media. 

Colonel Joseph Williamson Hawley, son of Joel and Catharine B. (Wil- 
liamson) Hawley, was born in Lionville, Chester county, Pennsylvania, July 
14, 1836. His early boyhood was passed in the public schools and in the coun- 
try store owned by his father. His further education was received in the 
schools of Jonathan Cause and Dr. Franklin Taylor, and at the West Chester 
Academv, then under the charge of Professor William F. Wyers, A-Ir. Haw- 
ley spent one year at each of these schools, and in the interim taught two 
years in the public schools. At the close of the term with Professor Wyers, the 
latter offered him the position of assistant teacher, which was accepted, and he 
remained in that institution until i860, when he received the appointment of 
paying teller in the National Bank of Chester county, and at once entered upon 
the duties of that position. He was thus engaged during the early part of the 



652 DELAWARE COUNTY 

civil war. when President Lincoln called for troops to repel the rebel army 
which, under General Lee, was advancing into Pennsylvania. His patriotism 
aroused, he obtained permission from the board of directors to recruit a com- 
pany of soldiers to aid in the protection of the state. In ten days the required 
number of men, one hundred, were enlisted, met at Downingtown, and organ- 
ized by the election of Joseph W. Hawley as captain, Allen M. Davis as first 
lieutenant, and Charles W. Roberts as second lieutenant, and immediately 
afterward took train for Camp Curtin, at Harrisburg, where Captain Hawley 
and the other officers received their commissions August 12, 1862, from Gov- 
ernor A. G. Curtin. 

Captain Hawley's company was one of the first ten to arrive at Harris- 
burg. and these were formed into the One Hundred and Twenty-fourth Regi- 
ment. Pennsylvania \'olunteers. The regiment, under command of Captain 
Hawley, was transported to Washington, where it became a part of the Army 
of the Potomac, then in motion to meet General Lee's army moving northward. 
On August 16, Captain Hawley received from Governor Curtin his commis- 
sion as colonel, and he led his regiment into the battle of Antietam on Septem- 
ber 17, 1862, being placed in position at the extreme right of the line. By nine 
o'clock in the morning the regiment was under a heavy fire in what is known as 
the "Bloody Cornfield," where it lost many killed and wounded. Among the 
latter was Colonel Hawley, who received a bullet in his neck, and was carried 
of? the field to the Miller house, but, as that building was within range of the 
enemy's heavy guns, the wounded were carried back into the woods and finally 
conveyed to Boonsboro. After being sufficiently recovered. Colonel Hawley 
was removed to his home in Lionville. The bullet still remains imbedded in 
one of the bones of his neck. Upon recovery, Colonel Hawley rejoined the 
regiment at Harper's Ferry, and served with it imtil it was honorablv dis- 
charged, May 17, 1863. 

Returning to his duties with the Bank of Chester county. Colonel Hawley 
remained but one day. when the governor of the state called for additional 
troops to repel a second invasion which General Lee was then projecting north- 
ward. In one day one thousand troops were raised in Chester county and for- 
warded to Harrisburg the same night. The Twenty-ninth Emergency Regi- 
ment was formed partly from Delaware county men, and on June 19, 1863. 
Colonel Hawley was again commissioned colonel. He was assigned to the 
command of a brigade consisting of his own and two New York regiments, 
and to him General Couch conunitted the protection of the bridges of the Penn- 
sylvania railroad against their threatened destruction. Upon the retreat of 
Lee from Gettysburg, Colonel Hawley was ordered to follow and harass his 
rear, and he moved with such celerity that he reached the Potomac the day 
previous to Lee's crossing, and his troops engaged in a slight skirmish at Clear 
Spring. 

Returning to his home, Colonel Hawley resumed his duties in the bank, 
where he remained until January i, 1864. On that date the First National 
Bank, of West Chester, was organized and, being offered a more liberal salary, 
he accepted a similar position in this. On February i, he was invited to assist 
in the organization of the First National Bank, of Media, which was opened 
March 21, 1864, witli Colonel Hawley as cashier, a position he held until the 
death of its ]>residenl. Thomas J. Haldeman, in 1894, when Colonel Hawley 
was chosen to fill the vacant office. This he did to the great benefit of the in- 
stitution until his resignation from office October i, 1906, since wliich time he 
has lived a retired life. The name of Colonel Hawley appears among the di- 
rectors of a number of other institutions, in all of which he has taken an active 
part. ( )ne of hi^ favorite fields of nsefulne^s is the Hnuse of Refuge, at Glen 



DELAWARE COUNTY 653 

Mills, of which he has been a director and one of the most hberal and zealous 
patrons and friends for many years. 

Colonel Hawiey married, October fi. 1864, Anna, daughter of Levis and 
Ann ( Mcllvain) I\Iiller, of Media. They had one child : i\Iary Miller, born 
April 14, 1868, married, November 15, 1893, Justice AL Thompson, of Phila- 
delphia. 



The Kreeger family, which has been prominent in Philadel- 
KREEGER phia and vicinity for the last half century, traces its ancestry 
to a long line of German forbears, who in their native coun- 
try belonged to the class upon which rests the entire superstructure of German 
prosperity and prominence ; upon which is based her military and mercantile 
prowess ; and which has raised Germany to the height of a leading world pow- 
er. Many of the traits conspicuous in these ancestors remain in the family to 
the present day and have made the three American generations prominent in 
their dififerent spheres of life. 

(I) Charles August Kreeger. the immigrant ancestor of the family, set- 
tied in Philadelphia, Pennsylvania, upon his arrival in this country, and imme- 
diately established a grocery and provision business, which he personally con- 
ducted and which proved highly remunerative, owing to his good business qual- 
ities and management. He married Henrietta Dubeoron, who bore him five 
children, namely: i. Wilhelmina, married Henry Schulke ; resides in Philadel- 
phia. 2. Henrietta, married John Culp ; both are now deceased. 3. Edward 
Charles, married Sallie Pancoast ; both are now deceased. 4. Theodore E., of 
whom further. 5. Albert John, resides in Cynwyd. Montgomery county, Penn- 
sylvania ; married (first) Clara B. Hag}-, deceased ; married (second) Margaret 
C. Evans, deceased. The father of these children died July i, 1894, the mother 
died August 8, 1894. 

(H) Theodore F. Kreeger. son of Charles August and Henrietta (Du- 
beoron) Kreeger, was born in Philadelphia, Pennsylvania, April 2, 1848, died 
in Norwood, Pennsylvania, October 2, 1907. He obtained his early education 
in the public schools of Philadelphia, his studies being interrupted by the out- 
break of the civil war, in which he entered and served with the Thirty-third 
Pennsylvania X'olunteer Militia and Battery I, Third Pennsylvania Volunteer 
Heavy Artillery, discharging his duties with promptness and efficiency. After 
the war he engaged in the manufacture of paper boxes, under the firm name of 
Kreeger & Connolly, which business is still conducted by his estate. He was 
a member of the school board of Ridley township for fifteen years. He was a 
prominent member of the Lutheran Church, holding the office of elder. He 
married (first) Martha J. Roberts, born in Philadelphia, Pennsylvania, Feb- 
ruary 22, 1847, died at Norwood, Pennsylvania, March 27, 1890, daughter of 
Robert and Sarah (Davis) Roberts, the former named of whom was killed in 
the Mexican war. and the latter named was born in Philadelphia, February 
23, 1816, died there, October 28, 1871. He married (second) Emma Davis, 
born in Philadelphia, Pennsylvania, July 31, 1851, daughter of Michael and 
Amelia Davis, both deceased. Mrs. Kreeger .survived her husband, and resides 
at the homestead, Norwood. Pennsylvania. Children of first wife: i. Theo- 
dore F., died in infancy. 2. Theodore F., of whom further. 3. Charles 
Strouse, married Maude C. G. Seger : children: Martha J. R. and Dorven 
Theodore: they reside in California. 4. William R., married Elsie M. Tor- 
pey ; resides in Philadelphia. 5. Lillian C, resides at the old homestead, Nor- 
wood. 6. H. Allan, also resides at tlie old homestead. 

(HI) Theodore F. Kreeger, son of Theodore F. and Martha J. (Roberts) 



654 DELAWARE COUNTY 

Kreeger, was born in Philadelphia, Fenns^vlvania, July 20, 1871. He attended 
the public school at Norwood, Delaware county, Pennsylvania, and was grad- 
uated from the Ridley Park high school in the class of 1887. After graduation 
he entered the employ of the Baltimore & Ohio Railroad Company, which he 
served in various capacities for twenty-five years, resigning his railroad posi- 
tion to accept the office of Register of Wills and Clerk of the Orphans" Court 
of Delaware county, to which offices he was elected in 191 1. He is a Republi- 
can in politics and has been actively connected with the political organization 
of his locality ever since attaining his majority. He has been auditor of Ridley 
township, and for ten years was a school director of the borough of Norwood, 
serving nine years as secretary and one year as president, declining re-election 
the following term. He has been for seventeen years a member of the Dela- 
ware County Republican Executive Committee, being treasurer for fourteen 
years of that time. He is a director of the Norwood Building and Loan Asso- 
ciation. He is affiliated with several fraternal and social orders, among them 
being Prospect Lodge, No. 578, Free and Accepted Masons, of which he has 
been secretary for twenty years ; Chester Lodge, No. 488, Benevolent and 
Protective Order of Elks; Chester Castle, Knights of the Golden Eagle; Nor- 
wood Assembly, Artisans' Order of Mutual Protection ; Norwood Fire Com- 
pany, No. I ; Young Men's Republican Club of Chester ; the Chester Club, 
and the Republican Club of Media. 

Mr. Kreeger married, October 7, 1896, Emma A. Smythe, born at Wilkes 
Barre, Luzerne county, Pennsylvania, February 8, 1873, daughter of James 
C. and Mary Elizabeth (Hay) Smythe, who were the parents of three other 
children, namely: Anna Elizabeth, married William A. Halleck ; Maud, mar- 
ried H. K. Von Hottenstein ; Claude M., married Anna Padburg. James C. 
Smythe was born in Wales, died in Mexico, aged forty years ; he was a coal 
operator. His wife was born in Wilkes Barre, Pennsylvania, now deceased. 
Child of Mr. and Mrs. Theodore F. Kreeger : Martha Marion, born Novem- 
ber 2, 1897, a student at Friends Central School, Philadelphia, Pennsylvania. 
Mr. Kreeger, his wife and daughter are members of Immanuel Lutheran 
Church of Norwood, Pennsylvania. 



The name of McClenachan, which has been known in 
McCLENACHAN this country since the middle of the eighteenth cen- 
tury, is probably of Scotch or Irish origin, although 
the earliest bearers of it in this country, came here from England. 

(I) William McClenaclian, the immigrant ancestor of the family, came 
to this country about 1759, with his brothers and a sister, namely: John, Blair 
and Anna. They were of the Presbyterian faith. William McClenachan mar- 
ried and had children : William, see forward ; John ; Anna ; and Robert. He 
came as a missionary of the Presbyterian Church and settled in Philadelphia, 
Pennsylvania, where he formed a church which was the first of that faith in 
that city. 

(II) William (2), son of William (i) McClenachan, was born in Phila- 
delphia, Pennsylvania, where he was engaged in mercantile business. He also 
was a Presbyterian. He married Anna .Stewart. 

(III) George B., son of William and Anna (Stewart) McClenachan, 
was born in Philadelphia, where he was a bookkeeper. He was a member of 
the Presbyterian Church. He married Isabella Kerr, born in Philadelphia, 
May 25, 1802. They had one child, George B. 

(IV) George B. (2), son of George B. (i) and Isabella (Kerr) Mc- 
Qenachan, was born in Philadelphia, December 20, 1826. His occupation was 



DELAWARE COUNTY 655 

that of cooper and gauger. During the Civil War he was a member of the 
Union Corps for a short period of time, but was incapacitated for further ser- 
vice by a gun shot wound received in his hand. His pohtical affiliations were 
with the Republican party. In religion he is a member of the Presbyterian 
Church. Mr. McClenachan married at West Farms, New York, September 
I, 1857, Mary Booth, born at West Farms, June 28, 1840, a member of the 
Episcopal Church. They have had children : W. I. Blake, see forward ; 
George Booth, born in Philadelphia, July 19, i860; Samuel Clark, also born 
in Philadelphia, December 19, -1862. 

(V) W. I. Blake, son of George B. and Mary (Booth) McClenachan, 
was born in West Farms, Westchester county, New York, July 3, 1858. His 
education, which was a practical one. was acquired in the public schools of 
Philadelphia, whither his parents had removed, and in Becks' Quaker School. 
Under the able supervision of his father, he learned the trade of a cooper and 
guager, but abandoned this about 1885, and engaged in the real estate business. 
His career has been intimately connected with the public matters of the State 
of Pennsylvania, as the following record shows. He was Deputy Recorder of 
Deeds from January i, 1890, to 1898; in the Department of Internal AfTairs, 
Harrisburg, from 1899 to 1901 ; and Deputy Recorder of Deeds since 1901. 
In the field of real estate he has been one of the leaders in progressive meth- 
ods. On a fourteen acre tract of land in Lower Chichester township, he built 
between thirty and forty modern two-story houses, making a great improve- 
ment in that section, and he has named it McClenachan Terrace. He is also 
one of the directors of the Delaware County Building Association. Mr. Mc- 
Clenachan has always been a staunch supporter of the principles of the Re- 
publican party, and in religion he is a member of the Protestant Episcopal 
Church. Fraternally he is associated with L. H. Scott Lodge, No. 352, Free 
and Accepted Masons of Chester, and Chester Lodge, No. 488, Benevolent 
and Protective Order of Elks. 

Mr. McQenachan married (first) in Philadelphia, August i, 1883, Ella 
B., daughter of John W. and Mary Barry: he married (second) in Philadel- 
phia, October 9, 1909, Elizabeth, born in Belfast, Ireland, daughter of Wil- 
liam and Orcilla E. Hollywood. Children, all by first marriage: Ella Barry, 
born May 5, 1884, was graduated from the Chester High School, and is a 
school teacher ; William Blake, born March 13, 1886, was also graduated from 
the Chester High School, and is now a lawyer: Mary Booth, born May 15, 
1888, was graduated from the West Chester Normal School, and is a school 
teacher. 



The name of Flounders is in all probability of English 
FLOUNDERS origin, and bearers of it have been settled in Pennsylvania 

for some generations. 
(I) William L., son of Edward Flounders, was born in Edgemont town- 
ship. Castle Rock, Pennsylvania, where he was educated in the common school 
of that section. This was a round school house, the one room being three- 
cornered in shape. Upon the completion of his education he found employ- 
ment with a butcher, and was engaged in the provision trade from that time 
until he formed a connection with the Baldwin Locomotive Engine Works, 
where he became the foreman of a gang of men. In politics he was a Repub- 
lican, and in religious affiliation, a Methodist. He married Eliza Worrell, a 
member of the Baptist Church. She is a daughter of James Worrell, a farm- 
er on the Rose Tree road in Upper Providence, who died at the age of seventy- 
six years. Mr. Worrell married Mary Newson, and they had children : Eliza- 



656 DELAWARE COUNTY 

beth : Eliza and Penrose, twins: May: and Hannah. Mr. and Mrs. Flounders^ 
had children, of whom the last four named are now deceased: W. Howard, 
see forward; Ada Mae, Weldon S.. Clyde ;\I., Charles B. J., Ella, Edward, 
Sarah. Penrose. 

(II) W. Howard, son of William L. and Eliza (Worrell) Flounders, 
was born in Edgemont township. Castle Rock, Delaware county, Pennsylvania, 
January 30, 1881. He was one and one-half years of age at the time his par- 
ents removed to Media, Pennsylvania: he attended the schools of that town. 
His first position after leaving school, was as a clerk in a grocery store, a 
business with which he was identified for a period of seven years. Having by 
this time accumulated a considerable capital, Mr. Flounders decided to estab- 
lish himself in business independently. He had made careful and shrewd ob- 
servations as to what would be apt to be the most profitable, and finally opened 
a store which- he called "The Candy Shop" which is well and luxuriously 
equipped in the most modern manner as a candy and ice cream store. The 
successful results he has already achieved attest to the wisdom of his decision. 
It is one of the most prosperous places of business in the town, and in all prob- 
ability will have to be enlarged in the near future. Mr. Flounders, who takes 
a lively interest in all athletic sports, has been manager of the Media Base 
Ball Team for one season. In his political affiliations he is Republican, but as 
yet has never aspired to public office. He and his wife are members of the 
Methodist Church, in whose interests they are active workers. 

]\Ir. Flounders married, June i, 1904, Adeline Lewis, who was born in the 
city of Philadelphia. She is" the daughter of Henry Smith Lewis, who was 
born in Philadelphia, where he was a stationary engineer, and died in Chester 
at the age of fifty-six years. Mr. Lewis married Esther Wilkinson, who was 
born in Media, and died in Chester, in 1910, at the age of seventy-six years. 
They had children as follows, the last two now deceased: Mary May, Eliza- 
beth'. Lavinia, Alice Laura, Adeline, mentioned above: William, Ellen. 



Joseph Lewis, grandfather of Mrs. Frances D. (Lewis) 
TWADDELL Twaddell, of West Philadelphia. Pennsylvania, was born in 

Bucks county, Pennsylvania, and was engaged in farming 
after his removal to Newtown township, Delaware county, Pennsylvania. He 
married Elizabeth, daughter of Caleb Yarnall. in 1788, and both died at their 
homestead in Newtown, their deaths occurring one week apart. Their chil- 
dren were: Caleb Y. ; John P., a physician: James J., of whom further; 
Joseph ; Eliza ; Reuben E. : all deceased. 

Tames J. Lewis, son of Joseph and Elizabeth (Yarnall) Lewis, was born 
in Newtown township. Delaware county, Pennsylvania, April 13, 1803, died in 
the same town. May 19, 1883. He was a selfmade man in the best and highest 
sense of the word. Public-spirited to a degree, the value of his counsel was 
appreciated at its true worth. It was largely owing to his instrumentality that 
the county seat of Delaware county obtained its present favorable location. 
He was a member of the State Legislature, and served as a Director of the 
Poor for many years. His political affiliations were with the Republican party. 
He married Lydia D., born November 25, i8og, died March 18, 1871, daugh- 
ter of William and Anna Crawford, January 12, 1831. William Crawford, a 
farmer of Delaware county, Pennsylvania, was the son of David and Lydia 
(Lloyd) Crawford, of Bucks county, Pennsylvania, who were married in Old 
Christ Church, Philadelphia, on the 12th day of August, 1756. Anna Craw- 
ford was the daughter of Benjamin and Frances Davis, of Radnor, Delaware 
county, Pennsylvania. The children of James J. and Lydia D. Lewis were: 



DELAWARE COUNTY 657 

Frances D., of whom further ; Eliza Emily, deceased, married J. P. Twaddell ; 
Anna Crawford, deceased ; iMary Davis. 

Frances D., daughter of James J. and Lydia D. (Crawford) Lewis, was 
She married, June 4, 1856, Dr. Lewis Henry Twaddell, born in West Philadel- 
born in Newtown township, Delaware county, Pennsylvania, October 30, 1831. 
phia, Pennsylvania, July 22, 1828. Not wishing to follow his profession, he 
was farmer and was greatly interested in the raising of fine cattle, and was the 
first person to import a cow from the Island of Jersey into the state of Penn- 
sylvania, and this breed of cattle have now become world famous. His father, 
John Pawling Twaddell, was born near Chadds Ford, Delaware county, Penn- 
sylvania, was an iron merchant in Philadelphia, and lived in that city until his 
death in 1844. In 1825 he married Lydia B. Lewis, born in what is now West 
Philadelphia, died there, January 20, 1886. Their children were : Dr. Lewis 
Henrj', George W., Thomas P., Emma L. Children of Dr. Lewis Henry and 
Frances D. (Lewis) Twaddell: Anna Crawford, Ellen W., Lucy G., Frances 
L., Mary L., Horace G., a sketch of whom follows this in the work. 



Horace G. Twaddell, whose beautiful home is one of the 
TWADDELL show places of Springfield township, Delaware county, 

Pennsylvania, is a member of a well known family of that 
section of the country. His parentage will be found in the sketch which 
precedes this. 

He was born in West Philadelphia, June 13, 1871, and his personal inter- 
ests have always centered in his native state. His elementary education was 
acquired in the public schools of West Philadelphia, and this was supple- 
mented by attendance at Pierce's Business College, at the corner of Ninth 
and Chestnut streets, Philadelphia. Upon the completion of his education he 
was engaged in building operations for a period of seven years, then took up 
farming, locating in Nether Providence, Delaware county, Pennsylvania, and 
was thus successfully occupied for a period of sixteen years. He then pur- 
chased a farm of fifty acres in Springfield township, on which his present 
home is situated. The location is an ideal one, on very high ground overlook- 
ing the new short line trolley from Sixty-ninth street to Media. He has made 
many improvements since locating here, and his residence is a most commo- 
dious one, equipped with all the conveniences which are necessary to the mod- 
ern idea of solid comfort. He is Republican in politics but has never cared to 
hold public office. Mr. Twaddell married, December 16, 1896, Adelaide J. 
Selfridge, born in Bethlehem, Lehigh county, Pennsylvania. She is the daugh- 
ter of General James L. Selfridge, also a native of Lehigh county, who was 
president of the Lehigh Navigation Company, and whose death occurred in 
Philadelphia in 1894. He married Emma Butler, born in Philadelphia, and 
had children : James L. Jr., married Julia Todd ; Harriet, unmarried, resides 
in Media ; Adelaide J., see above ; Franklin B., deceased. The mother resides 
in Media. Mr. and Mrs. Twaddell have an only child, Crawford L., born 
March 12, 1898. They are members of the Presbyterian church at Swarth- 
more, and Mr. Twaddell is a member of the Rose Tree Fox Hunting Club, 
and has had charge of the race meetings for many years. He is a man of 
warm sympathies, liberal in his charities, and his benefactions are bestowed 
without ostentation. Cordial in his manner and of unbounded hospitality, Mr. 
Twaddell has numerous and sincere friends, and his upright life has earned 
him the respect and esteem of all who know him. 

43 



658 DELAWARE COUNTY 

The Smith family, represented in the present generation by 
SMITH James H. Smith, an active and prominent citizen of Lima, is one 
of the oldest and most honored in Delaware county, and it has 
been conspicuous in its many generations for men of sterling character and 
capability of a high order, which has been the means of bringing to them af- 
fluence, position and friends. 

The first ancestor of the family of whom we have definite information 
was John Smith, who received an original grant from William Penn for seven 
hundred acres in Edgemont township, Delaware county, Pennsylvania, which 
was gradually divided among his descendants down to the time of the father 
of J. Harvey Smith. 

James Smith, a descendant of the above named John Smith, was born in 
Edgemont township, Pennsylvania, there spent his life and died. He married 
Mary Pyle and among their children was Joshua, of whom further. 

Joshua Smith, son of James and Mary (Pyle) Smith, was born in 
Edgemont township, Pennsylvania, November 8, 1801, died November 26, 
1873, in the same place. He was a farmer. He married Hannah Worrall 
Broomall, born January 6, 1806, died March 18, 1867, daughter of Daniel and 
Sarah (Worrall) Broomall, and granddaughter of David and Martha Broom- 
all. Children : Sarah Ann, born April 24, 1825, died August 2, 1901 ; Mary 
Jane, born September 23, 1827; James Monroe, of whom further; Eliza Pyle, 
born in 1832; Hannah B., born in 1834; Mattie, born December 18, 1837, mar- 
ried Joseph P. Yarnall ; Americus X'espucius, born in 1840 ; Lydia Emma, 
born March 30, 1843, died August 29, 1854; Wesley Worrall, born Alarch 18, 
1846. Mr. Smith wa> a Whig in oolitic;;. 

James Monroe Smith, son of Joshua and Hannah W. (Broomall) Smith, 
was born in Edgemont township, Pennsylvania, May 5, 1830. He was reared 
in his native township, and educated in the public schools and Unionville Acad- 
emy, Chester county, which was under the principalship of Milton Durnall. 
Foi nine years, from 185 1 to 1800. he taught school in Edgemont, Thornbury, 
Middletown and Upper Providence, and then returned to the homestead farm 
and assisted in the cultivation of it imtil 1878, when he was appointed steward 
of the alms house, which position he held for five years, resigning on account 
of the death of his wife. He then made his home with his brother on the 
homestead farm, remaining until 1889, but was not engaged in active business, 
devoting considerable time to traveling. He served as president, superintend- 
ent, member of board of directors, secretary and treasurer of the Cumberland 
Cemetery Association, was justice of the peace for thirty-seven years in 
Edgemont and Middletown townships, was a member of the Home Guard, 
but never in action, and in 1908 was elected director of the poor, which posi- 
tion he held until his death. He was a member of the Sons of Temperance, 
Independent Order of Odd Fellows, Improved Order of Red Men, Ancient 
Free and Accepted Masons and Mark Chapter, Royal Arch Masons. He mar- 
ried (first) March 14, 1861, Anna Laura Pyle, born August 30, 1835, died June 
28, 1862; (second) April 19, 1866, Mrs. Elizabeth Ashbridge Green, born 
September 22, 1831, died May 12, 1881, daughter of John and Elizabeth Wood, 
the former named having been engaged in the powder business in state of 
Delaware, where he died ; he and his wife were the parents of six children : 
James, Aaron, John Jr., Elizabeth A., Mary and Sarah. Children of James 
Monroe Smith; i. Anna Laura, born November i, 1867; married, June 4, 
1890, David A. Vernon, son of David A. and Annie Jane (Bacon) Vernon; 
children ; May Elizabeth, born May 13, 1891 ; David Ashbridge, October 18, 
1892; James Monroe, June 15, 1896; Clinton Wesley, August 24, 1898; Annie 
Alma, June 12, 1900; Forrest Larnize, in 1903. 2. James Harvey, of whom 



H 


^^^^pl^^s 


Mfii^^^l^^^^^^^^^^^^^^^^^^^l 


■ 


^^^^^^^B^^^^^^^^l 




^^1 


^1 


HP 1 


^^^^^^^^^^^HBE| -^ 


-'""t^^^^^l 


^^^1 




^^^1^^ 


"^> ^^^^^^^^^^H 


^^^^^H 






i^^^^^^l 


■ 


1 


^^ 


^H ^^S^p^^^^^H 


'^^^^^^^H 


R^^^^^^H 




V^VP' ■' '^^^^ft*^^^^^^^! 


^t^^^^^ 


^ jH 






^^^^H 


^H^HK^^n^^^jj^^^^^l 




^^^a^H 


^^^^H 


^^H*'-' ^ 




"■ 


^^H 


^Hfefk' 


TvA^^^^^^^^^^^Bwi°^ - 


^^1 


^^^^^^H 


^^^^^B^^^^^^^^^^^^B 






^^^^^^H 




THE NEW YORK 
PUBLIC LIBRARY 



AS' :«. l.'NOX AND 
T\\.r> < co'nOATIONI, 



DELAWARE COUNTY 659 

further. James Monroe Smith died in Middletown township, November 26, 
1910, mourned by all who had the honor of his acquaintance. 

James Harvey Smith, son of James Monroe and Elizabeth A. (Wood- 
Green) Smith, was born in Edgemont township, Delaware county, Pennsyl- 
vania, August 4, 1869. He spent his early life there on the homestead farm, 
attended public school until twelve years of age, then Lock Haven Normal 
School, from which he graduated in 1888: then Lafayette College, of Easton, 
Pennsylvania, from which he graduated in 1894 ; then Ohio Wesleyan Uni- 
versity, of Delaware, Ohio, from which he graduated in 1898; then matricu- 
lated in the University of Pennsylvania, Philadelphia, entering the Medical 
Professional School, where he studied for three years, but on account of ill 
health was forced to leave before his graduation. He then spent one year as 
reporter on the "Morning Republican," of Chester, giving entire satisfaction 
in the performance of his duties. In 1900 he was elected jury commissioner 
and served three years, was appointed deputy prothonotary and deputy clerk 
of the court in 1902, in which capacities he served until 1913, when he was 
elected to the offices of prothonotary and clerk of the court, his nomination for 
office being without opposition, this fact being an eloquent testimonial of his 
qualifications for the position. His political beliefs have always been in har- 
mony with the principles of the Republican party, being secretary of the Re- 
publican Executive Committee of Delaware county for a period of eleven 
years, and he has co-operated with the organization since attaining his major- 
ity. He is secretary and treasurer of the Cumberland Cemetery Company; 
president of Media Republican Club, and a member of the following organ- 
izations : George W. Bartram Lodge, No. 298, Free and Accepted Masons, of 
Media ; Chapter, No. 234, Royal Arch Masons, of Media ; Tammanade Tribe, 
No. 149, Improved Order of Red Men, of Edgemont township ; Edgemont 
Council, No. 833, Independent Order of American Mechanics ; Chester Lodge, 
No. 488, Benevolent and Protective Order of Elks; Qiester Aerie, No. 159, 
Fraternal Order of Eagles; Chester Lodge, Forest No. 21, Tall Cedars of 
Lebanon; Chester Lodge, No. 285, Royal Order of Moose; Alpha Boat Club, 
West End Boat Club of Chester, and several other social and political organ- 
izations. 

Mr. Smith married, August 22, 1893, Grace Estelle Hoskins, of Berwyn, 
Chester county, Pennsylvania, daughter of William Henry, of Aston township, 
and Sarah Elizabeth (James) Hoskins, of Upper Providence township, the 
former named a carpenter and builder, still living in Berwyn. Children of 
Mr. and Mrs. J. Harvey Smith : Minerva Ella, born June 19, 1895, and 
Beatrice Manilla, born August 13, 1898, at the time General Dewey entered 
the harbor at Manila Bay, died August 7, 1908. Mr. and Mrs. Smith are 
members of the Methodist Episcopal church, taking a keen interest in the 
work of the various societies connected with it, and are equally prominent in 
the social life of the community. 



Born in the neighboring State of Delaware, and a Pennsyl- 
ROBINSON vanian by adoption, yet the boyhood of V. Gilpin Robinson 
was spent in localities far remote from those states. But from 
the age of fifteen years he has been a resident of Delaware county, Pennsyl- 
vania, and since 1900 a leading member of the Philadelphia bar. 

Mr. Robinson is a son of Jacob F., and a grandson of Joseph Robinson, 
of English ancestry, both native born sons of the state of Delaware. Joseph 
Robinson was well known in Wilmington and Philadelphia, especially in ship- 
ping circles, he having been owner and operator of a line of packets plying on 



66o DELAWARE COUNTY 

the Delaware between those cities for many years. This Hne, known as Rob- 
inson's Packets, was an important one and was a favorite passenger and freight 
line of that day. He died in 1818, leaving a large family of children. 

Jacob F., eldest son of Joseph Robinson, was born in Wilmington, Dela- 
ware, there he was educated, married, and spent the earlier years of his man- 
hood. Later he moved to the state of Indiana, thence to Paris, Bourbon coun- 
ty, Kentucky, but on the outbreak of the Civil War returned east, settling in 
Philadelphia. Later he moved to Chester, Delaware county, Pennsylvania, 
where he died in 1867. His wife, Rebecca Ellen Little, was born in York, 
Pennsylvania. 

Vincent Gilpin, eldest of the five children of Jacob F. Robinson, was born 
in Wilmington, Delaware, August 21, 1851. He accompanied the family in 
their travels through Indiana, Kentucky and Pennsylvania, obtaining in vari- 
ous schools a good English education. At the age of sixteen years his father 
died and he became the head of the family.' His first position was as clerk in 
the office of O. F. Bullard, prothonotary of Delaware county, with offices in 
the court house at Media. Here he obtained his ambition to become a lawyer 
and two years later he resigned his clerkship and began study under the pre- 
ceptorship of Edward A. Price, a capable lawyer of the Delaware county bar. 
He passed the required examination, and on August 26, 1872, being then twen- 
ty-one years of age, he was admitted to the bar. He at once began practice 
in Media, continuing with Mr. Price for one year, then and until 1883, contin- 
uing in practice alone. He quickly took a leading position at the Media bar, 
and in 1S75 was elected district attorney of Delaware county, and in 1878 was 
re-flccted. In 1876 he applied for and was admitted to practice at the Phila- 
delphia bar, and from thai date has been in continuous practice in the Phila- 
delphia and Delaware county courts, as well as all State and Federal courts of 
the Eastern District of Pennsylvania. In 1883 he formed a law partnership 
with Horace P. Green, practicing until 1892 as Robinson & Green. After this 
partnership was dissolved, Mr. Robinson continued to practice law in Media 
until about 1894, when he became a member of Rich, Robinson & Boyer, of 
Philadelphia, having offices at .Sixth and Chestnut streets. This firm dissolved 
about 1895, and Mr. Robinson has been alone in practice ever since, and is 
now located in the Stephen Girard Building. He has had a very successful 
career as a lawyer, being especially strong in trial cases. He has been promi- 
nentlv connected with important will cases, and has been uniformly successful 
in his legal contentions. Perhaps his most notable case was the Letitia Robin- 
son will case, tried in Media by Mr. Robinson, associated with his former law 
partner, Mr. Green. This, one of the celebrated cases of Pennsylvania courts, 
was begun on October 9, 1901, the verdict not being rendered until November 
i6th following. The case was bitterly contested, and the victory brought Mr. 
Robinson well deserved congratulation. He is learned in the law, carefully 
prepares for his legal battles, and is most skillful in the application of his 
knowledge. 

A Republican from his youth, he was the youngest candidate ever pre- 
sented for the office of District Attorney in Delaware county. His re-election 
was a deserved recognition of the value of his services to the county as pros- 
ecutor, and but for his youth he would have followed his second term by be- 
ing elected county judge. He took active part in Delaware county poHtics dur- 
ing his residence in Media, serving as secretary of the Republican County Com- 
mittee, and sitting as delegate to many conventions of his party. In Novem- 
ber, 1910, he was elected representative for the Second Delaware Legislative 
District, serving on the committees on judiciary general, judiciary local, mili- 
tary pensions and gratuities, public health and sanitation, and railroads. In 



DELAWARE COUNTY 66i 

1879 he began his long connection with the Pennsylvania National Guard. He 
was commissioned in that year major and judge advocate, served in various 
offices until July i, 1895, when he resigned as aide-de-camp with the rank of 
captain on the staff of Brigadier General John W. Schall, commanding the 
First Brigade. 

Mr. Robinson has not confined his activity entirely to his profession, but 
is interested officially with the Rittenhouse Trust Company of Philadelphia, 
of which he was vice-president and solicitor, and he is also director, solicitor 
and one of the incorporators of the Media Title and Trust Company. He is a 
member of the Masonic order, belonging to George W. Bartram Lodge, No. 
298, Free and Accepted Masons : Aledia Chapter, No. 234, Royal Arch Ma- 
sons, of which he is past high priest : and is a thirty-second degree Mason of 
Philadelphia Consistory, Ancient Accepted Scottish Rite. In religious faith 
he is a member of the Protestant Episcopal church, and has served Christ 
Church. Media, many years as a vestryman, and has held the same position af- 
ter moving to Philadelphia, in St. James Church, Twenty-second and Walnut 
streets. He is a member of the National, State and County Bar Associations, 
and of many clubs and organizations, including the L^nion League. Lawyers 
and Young Republican of Philadelphia, and the Historical Society of Penn- 
sylvania. He is fond of travel, and his days "off duty" each year are 
usually spent in touring the United States. Europe, China. Japan, or some oth- 
er country whose history and people he wishes to become more familiar with. 
This gives one a fair idea of Mr. Robinson's character ; he never does any- 
thing solely because he will gain pleasure from the doing, but all his trips 
and vacations are planned with the double motive, pleasure and benefit. He is 
genial, friendly and generous, delights in association with his fellows ; sees 
the good there is in men, and is always willing to "lend a hand" in any good 
work. He is held in the highest esteem by his brethren of the bar and has 
many friends. 

He married, November 17. 1874, Sallie M. Baker, who died in 1883. 
daughter of J. Mitchell Baker, of Chester county, and sister of Captain Jesse 
M. Baker, a law student under his brother-in-law, Y. Gilpin Robinson, dis- 
trict attorney of Delaware county, and a major in the United States service. 
On December 5, 1894, Mr. Robinson married A. May, daughter of Dr. John 
Whartenby, a well known Philadelphia physician ; she died February 8, 1902. 
On July 16, 1908, he married Mary A. Kent, daughter of Thomas Kent, a 
manufacturer of Clifton Heights, Delaware county, Pennsylvania. The fam- 
ily home is at Clifton Heights, Delaware county. 



The Daltry family, of which John Lewis Daltry, of Media, 
DALTRY Delaware county, Pennsylvania, is a representative, is of Eng- 
lish origin, the father of Mr. Daltry having come to this coun- 
try about the middle of the nineteenth century. 

James Daltry was born in Oldham, England, January 21, 1841, died in 
Philadelphia, Pennsylvania, September 3, 1893. Until the age of eighteen 
years he lived in England, where he was educated, then decided to come to the 
United States. At first he lived in Philadelphia for a time, then removed to 
St. Clair, where he found employment as a fireman at a furnace. Later he 
took up mining in Schuylkill county, at which he continued until the strike 
of 1874-75, when he removed with his family to Philadelphia, and the remain- 
der of his life was spent in that city and Chester. He obtained a position 
with the Frog & Switch Company of Philadelphia, and with other railroad 
supply companies. He was a Republican in politics, but never held public 



662 DELAWARE COUNTY 

office. Mr. Daltry married, October 14, 1866, Winifred Phillips, born in 
Wales, July 4, 1844, and now living in Philadelphia, daughter of a miner in 
Schuylkill county. Mr. and Mrs. Daltry had children : i. John Lewis, of whom 
further. 2. Jennie, now deceased, was the wife of Thomas AI. iMudford, a 
machinist, and lived in Philadelphia. 3. Alice, died at the age of two years. 
4. James, died when he was about thirty-three years of age. 5. Paul, a 
molder, married Margaret Vogel : lives in Philadelphia. 6. Elwood, engaged 
in the insurance business ; married Mabel Spence ; lives in Philadelphia. The 
father and mother of these children were members of the Primitive Metho- 
dist church. 

John Lewis, son of James and Winifred (Phillips) Daltry, was born in 
St. Clair, Schuylkill county, Pennsylvania, March 23, 1868. The early years 
of his life were spent in St. Clair, but he attended the public schools of Phila- 
delphia, where he acquired an excellent and practical education. The first 
position he occupied in his business career was that of messenger boy at Wan- 
amaker"s. In 1881 he became an employe of the factory of the Frog & Switch 
Company, where he worked at intervals for a period of twelve years. He 
next entered the employ of Mr. Roach, the well known ship builder, and fol- 
lowing this engagement was connected with work on the Chester lines of the 
car trolley system. His duties, during the period he was with this company, 
were varied and interesting, and his work took him in all directions from 
Chester. In 1897 Mr. Daltry accepted a position under the County Commis- 
sioners, remaining until December, 1907, when he was transferred to the pro- 
thonotary's office at Media, Delaware county, Pennsylvania, where he is still 
engaged. In political matters he is a Republican, and his religious adherence 
is given to the Baptist denomination. He is a member, and has filled all chairs, 
of the Order of Independent Americans, and the Improved Order of Red 
Men, also a member of the Patriotic Order Sons of America and Command- 
trv of same. 

Mr. Daltry married, October 18, 1888, Clara E. Blizzard, born in 
Chester, April I, i8')8. da ighter ot \\illiam and Elizabeth (Donaldson) Bliz- 
zard, the former a lumber sorter, and stdl living at the Soldiers' Home, in 
Hampton Roads, at the age of seventy-five years. Mrs. Daltry had sisters and 
brothers: i. Mary, deceased, married George S. Brod. 2. Thomas, died in 
early youth. 3. Frank Black, a pipe welder in Youngstown, Ohio ; married 
Agnes Pollock. 4. Lillian Price, lives in Chester ; married Dr. F. L. Hamil- 
ton, now deceased. 5. Harry, lives in Camden. Mr. and Mrs. Daltry have 
had children, i. Lewis C, born August i, 1889; a clerk in Chester, where he 
also lives; married Edna L. Pollock, and has two children: Louis C. Jr. and 
Arthur Holmes. 2. James, born February 19. 1891 ; lives in Media and works 
in a pattern shop; married Bertha E. Habersett. 3. Harry, born February 
25, 1896. 4. Paul, born February 6, 1898. 5. Lillian, born July 23, 1904. 
6. Jack, born December 23, 1906. 7. Frank, born .\ugust 16, 1908. 



As superintendent of the Springfield Water Works, A. B. 
CHEYNEY Cheyney is in charge of one of the most compact, complete and 

best equipped water supply systems to be found anywhere. The 
main building of the plant and pumping works is located near Springfield, 
Delaware county, on Crum Creek, where the works were first established ; the 
old ])lant having been superseded by the {^resent works. The buildings, of 
tasteful design, are buih of dressed stone and surrounded by carefully kept 
grounds. The machinery is of the most modern and wonderful construction, 
and consists of four engines, one capable of pumping five million gallons of 



DELAWARE COUNTY 663 

water daily, one of two and a half million gallons, one of two million gallons, 
one of two million six hundred thousand gallons — four thousand eight hun- 
dred and fifty horse power being necessary to drive these monsters. The 
Springfield \\'ater Company controls the water rights of the district with pow- 
ers to prevent pollution of the sources of supply. The system includes five res- 
ervoirs and two stand-pipes, that supply the towns of Delaware county within 
a radius of ten miles from the central station at Springfield. There the water 
is impounded in a large settling basin, with a capacity of ten million gallons, 
then passed through thoroughly modernly constructed sand filters to the sup- 
ply reservoir, thence the gigantic pumps force it into the mains, clear, pure 
and wholesome to the homes of the consumers. A daily analysis of the water 
is made by a chemist, under the direction of the state board of health, and 
every precaution made to insure absolute purity. The officials of the com- 
pany are : Joseph H. Keen, president ; Bayard Hodge, secretary ; George 
Bunting, treasurer ; H. P. Keen, general superintendent operating department ; 
J. W, Ladoux, chief engineer; Arthur B. Cheyney, superintendent of the 
Springfield Works ; George ]\Iitzky, division superintendent. 

Arthur B. Cheyney, son of Charles B. M. and Sallie (Hall) Cheyney, was 
born in Bethel township, Delaware county, January 25, 1865. His early edu- 
cation was obtained in the public schools, after which he entered Drexel Insti- 
tute, Philadelphia, from which he was graduated electrical engineer. After 
graduation he was retained in the service of the institute as electrical engineer 
for three years, going thence to a similar position at the Warden Power Build- 
ing, in Philadelphia, remaining two years. After two years in the same capac- 
ity at the Mutual Life building, Philadelphia, he became officially connected 
with the Springfield Water Company, and in December. 1898, was ajipointed 
to his present position, superintendent of the Springfield Works, a position he 
most efficiently fills. 

Mr. Cheyney is a Republican in politics and both he and his wife are mem- 
bers of the Presbyterian church. He married (first) Clara Maxwell, (second) 
in June, 1897, Margaret, daughter of Emil and Margaret (Love) Le Claire. 
By the first marriage Mr. Cheyney has two children. 



Originally of a Lycoming county family, Mr. William Harvey 
SWANK Swank came to Delaware county about 1886. He is the son of 
of John R. Swank, born near Shamokin, died at Pennsville, 
Pennsylvania, in 1891. He was a wheelwright by trade, an ardent Democrat 
and a member of the Lutheran church. His wife, Catherine Bussler, born in 
Lycoming county, died in Pennsville: children: Edward, deceased: Henry, de- 
ceased; Jeremiah; John; Jam.es: William Harvey (of whom further); Kate; 
Regina, (deceased) ; Clara and Mary. 

William PL Swank was born at Hartley Hall, Lycoming county, Pennsyl- 
vania, April 8, 1862. He was educated in the public schools, finishing at the 
County Normal School at Muncy. whence he was graduated with honor after 
a special course. He engaged in teaching in Lycoming county, continuing for 
several years, then coming to Springfield township, Delaware county, where 
he has been engaged in teaching in the public schools. His record as an edu- 
cator is of the best, the schools over which he has presided showing a marked 
efficiency in scholarship and attendance. During his thirty-six years as an in- 
structor^ I\Ir. Swank has missed but one day of a regular school session, a 
most remarkable record and one showing his devotion to his chosen profes- 
sion. He is one of the oldest teachers in point of service in Delaware county, 
and is there thoroughly appreciated and highly respected, both as teacher, citi- 



664 DELAWARE COUNTY 

zen and neighbor. He is a member of Cassia Lodge, No. 273, Free and Ac- 
cepted Masons of Ardmore : Rose Tree Lodge, No. 275, Independent Order of 
Odd Fellows, of which he is a past noble grand. 

Mr. Swank married in 1891, Ella, daughter of Samuel F. and Mary Eliz- 
abeth (Leech) Pancoast, of an old Delaware county family. Children: Mary; 
.Seth Ellsworth; Samuel Levis; Elizabeth: Martha: Laura and Ella, wife of 
William Harvey Swank ; child : Viola. The family attend Friends' Meeting. 



.-\mong the citizens of Lansdowne may be mentioned the 
UNDERHILL name of Frederick S. Underbill, who belongs to that class 
of men who are worthy of the respect and esteem of their 
fellows, men who labor earnestly to build up our commerce and manufactures, 
who give employment and labor to others, and whose efforts tend to im- 
prove the section in which they reside. 

Frederick S. Underbill was born in Montreal, Canada. November 12, 
1865, son of John and Annie (Ireland) l^nderhill, who were born in Man- 
chester, England, and Belfast, Ireland, respectively. They left their native 
lands prior to their marriage, which took place in IMontreal. Canada, where 
they resided until the year 1871, when they removed to Philadelphia, Pennsjd- 
vania, and there he established in business as an optician, a profession he 
studied in early life, and he continued along that line until his death in the 
year 1877, survived by his wife, whose death occurred in 1910. aged about 
seventy years. They were members of the Episcopal church, and Mr. Under- 
bill was a member of the Benevolent Order of Buffaloes. Their family consisted 
of four children; Clara, deceased; Frederick .S., of whom further; Morley, 
deceased : John P., a lumberman, resides in Evergreen, North Carolina. 

Frederick .S. Underbill attended the public schools in the neighborhood 
of his home, and later, in order to supplement the knowledge thus gained, 
was a pupil in the night school of the City Institute. Being deprived by death 
of his father when he was only twelve years of age, he was early thrown upon 
his own resources, beginning his career at that time by engaging as office boy 
for the Baldwin Locomotive Works, remaining with them for four years, dur- 
ing which time he was promoted from time to time until he became assistant to 
the manager of the extra parts department. He then secured employment 
with George I. McKelway, a chemist, remaining with him for three years. He 
then became a manufacturer of umbrellas at No. 905 Vine street, Philadel- 
phia, which business he disposed of after conducting it successfully for sev- 
eral years, and then engaged as stenographer with Thomas Potter, Sons & 
Company, serving in that capacity for some time. In 1888 he became asso- 
ciated with James Strong & Company, lumber dealers, with whom he re- 
mained for ten years, during which time he gained a thorough knowledge of 
the business in all its details, and then felt competent to engage in business 
on his own account, entering into partnership with R. Wyatt Wistar, under 
the firm name of Wistar & Lhiderhill, conducting a wholesale lumber business. 
A few years later a Mr. Nixon was admitted as a member of the firm 
and the name was then changed to Wistar, LTnderhill & Nixon, which still 
obtains. They have a mill in South Carolina and assembling yards in West 
Virginia and Nashville, Tennessee, and from these they ship to the Middle 
Atlantic and Eastern States, also to Canada, and having connections through- 
out the entire United States are capable of filling orders of all kinds expedi- 
tiously and efficiently. They make a specialty of hardwoods, having an ex- 
tensive supply constantly on hanfl from which they fill their many orders 
for this article. They have about twenty-five experienced men constantly 



DELAWARE COUNTY 665 

on their payroll, and also give employment to many others when the necessity 
arises. The members of the firm are men of the highest integrity and of un- 
questioned business ability, and the large degree of success which has attended 
their efforts is the natural sequence of events. 

Mr. Underbill is prominent and active in business circles, and has been 
chosen by his fellow business men to act as president of the Lumber Exchange 
of Philadelphia, president of the Philadelphia Wholesale Lumber Dealers' 
Association, and first vice-president of the National Hardwood Lumber Asso- 
ciation, trustee of National Wholesale Lumber Dealers Association, in all of 
which he is serving at the present time, and is also first vice-president of the 
American Lumber Trades Congress and vice-president of the American For- 
estry Association. He has served as school director of Lansdowne, where he 
has resided since 1893, when at home, being elected on the Republican ticket. 
He has attained prominence m the Masonic Order, affiliating with Washing- 
ton Lodge, No. 39 : LTarmony Chapter, No. 52 ; Pennsylvania Commandery, 
and Lulu Temple. 

Mr. LTnderhill married, November. iSSfi, Hannah W. Dukes, a native of 
Tuckahoe, New Jersey, daughter of Captain John M. Dukes, a sea captain. 
Mr. and Mrs. Underbill have no children of their own, but they have adopted 
as their f)wn two nieces and two nephews, namely : Rosalind W.. A. Morley, 
Arthur B., Alma C. The young men are now in the senior and freshman 
■classes, respectively, at Pennsylvania State College. 



Prior to the arrival of William Penn, came Daniel Walton to 
WALTON Pennsylvania, where he founded the family of Walton so well 
and favorably known in Eastern Pennsylvania. He vv'as one of 
four brothers: Nathaniel. Thomas, Daniel, and William, who arrived in New 
Castle early in 1675. all young and unmarried men. From New Castle they pro- 
ceeded along the Delaware in search of a place for settlement, carrying their 
whole stock of farming and cooking utensils on their backs. While there is a 
statement made that they settled at Byberry in 1675 and bestowed that name 
in honor of their English home, the statement is controverted and later author- 
ities state they settled there in 1682. which would make their arrival coinci- 
dent with that of Penn. The four Waltons were sons of William Walton of 
Oxhill, in the county of Warwick. 

Daniel Walton, one of the four sons, was a well-to-do, res- 
pected member of the Society of Friends, and lived a long and useful life. He 
married Mary Lamb in 1688. died 1719, leaving six sons and a daughter, Mary. 

Daniel (2) Walton, the second son of Daniel (i) Walton, married Eliz- 
abeth Clifton, and spent his life in Byberry, a farmer and a Friend. 

Daniel (3) Walton, only son of Daniel (2) Walton, married Ann Knight 
and settled on the homestead farm in Byberry, where he died in 1776. 

Daniel (4) Walton, eldest of the two sons of Daniel (3) Walton, settled at 
Sandyford, near Philadelphia. He married Mary Woolens. 

Charles D. Walton, son of Daniel (4) Walton, was a resident of Philadel- 
phia. He married Henrietta F. Spittall. 

Charles Spittall Walton, son of Charles D. and Henrietta (Spittall) Wal- 
ton, was born in Philadelphia, April 16, 1862. He was educated in the city 
schools, entered the University of Philadelphia, whence he was graduated 
Bachelor of Science, class of 1882, having taken the mining engineering 
course. He early in his business career became connected with the leather 
manufacturing house of England, Walton & Company, successors to England 
and Bryan, the original founders of the house, prior to the civil war. Begin- 



666 DELAWARE COUNTY 

ning in an inferior position, Mr. Walton has advanced through successive 
step? to the presidency of the company. He has been successful as an up- 
builder of trade and during his connection with the company as executive, their 
business has largely increased. The company is now erecting a large addition 
to their building at Third and \'ine streets, which will, when completed, give 
them greatly increased facilities for handling their constantly increasing busi- 
ness. He has other large and varied business interests ; is president and direc- 
tor of the Central Trust and Savings Company ; treasurer and director of the 
Tanners [Mutual Fire Insurance Company: director of the Union National 
Bank ; the National of the Northern Liberties ; the T'idelitv Mutual Fire Insur- 
ance Company ; the Employers Indemnity Company and the American Bap- 
tist Publication Society. In all these comjianies he takes active official interest 
and is a prominent factor in shaping their business course. 

He is a member of the Baptist church, an active helpful member and one 
who by personal effort and example promotes the growth and extends the in- 
fluence of his church. He is deeply interested in the work of the Young Men's 
Christian Association. During the campaign for funds to erect the new associ- 
ation building on Broad street, Philadelphia, he not only gave liberallv person- 
ally, but entered into the campaign with all his energy aiid was very helpful. He 
is a director of the Philadelphia Young Men's Christian Association, and in 
every department of the Christian work of the association has aided by freely 
giving of his time and business sagacity. In political faith he is a Republican, 
and for the past thirteen years has served as treasurer of the school board of 
Wayne township, Delaware county, where he is now erecting a magnificent 
country seat. 

Through the Quaker emigrant. Daniel (i) Walton, Charles S. Walton 
obtains membership in the Colonial Society of Pennsylvania ; his clubs are 
the L-nion League and Manufacturers of Philadelphia. 

Mr. Walton married. May 1 1, 1887. Martha, daughter of Thomas Y. 
England. She is also a devoted member of the Baptist church, and co-oper- 
ates with her husband in his Christian work ; children : Thomas E. ; Martha ; 
Charles Spittall (2) and Joseph W. 



The name of Furness, known wherever the English language 
FURNESS exists in printed form, is worthily borne in the present by 
\\' alter Rogers Furness, Horace Howard (2) Furness and 
William Henry Furness, M. D. They are sons of Horace Howard (i) Fur- 
ness, the world famous Shakespearean scholar and author; grandsons 
of Rev. William Henry Furness, the equally eminent Unitarian divine, anti- 
slavery advocate and author : great-grandsons of William, born March 3, 1767, 
died April 8. 1836, and Rebecca (Thwing) Furness, of Medford, Massachu- 
setts, great-great-grandsons of John, of Boston, born September 3, 1733, died 
May 24, 1810, and Ann (Hurd) Furness, and great-great-great-grandsons of 
Jonathan and Elizabeth (Millikcn) l-'urness. Jonathan Furness, of distin- 
guished English ancestry, died in Boston in .April, 1745, married September 16, 
1731, Elizabeth Alilliken, a sister of Mary Milliken, wife of his brother, Benja- 
min. 

Rev. William Henry Furness was born in Boston, Massachusetts, April 
20, 1802, son of William and Rebecca (Thwing) Furness. He was a graduate 
of Harvard College in 1820, studied theology at the School of Divinity, Cam- 
bridge, and from 1825 to 1875 was pastor of the First Unitarian Church of 
Philadelphia, Pennsylvania. He as then made pastor emeritus and practically 
retired from the ministry; during the next twenty-one years he preached fre- 



DELAWARE COUNTY 667 

quently in various I'nitarian pulpits. He died in Philadelphia, January 30. 
1896, at the great age of ninety-four years. 

Harvard College conferred upon him in 1847 the degree of D.D., and 
Columbia in 1887, that of LL.D. Dr. Furness belonged to the extreme hu- 
manitarian school of Unitarian thinkers. He maintained the essential historic 
truth of the Scriptures and accepted most of the miracles of the New Testa- 
ment, accounting for them by the moral and spiritual forces of the Saviour, 
whom he considered an exalted form of humanity. In his writing and preach- 
ing, his constant endeavor was to obtain the historical truth and develop the 
spiritual ideas relating to the life of Christ. He took an active interest in the 
anti-slavery movement and ''wrought mightily" in the cause, both from the 
pulpit and in the practical form of personal assistance to escaping slaves. In 
1845 he became editor of an annual called the "Diadem," holding that position 
three years. He published between 1835 and 1866: "Remarks on the Four 
Gospels," "Jesus and His Biographers," "Domestic Worship," "A History of 
Jesus," "Discourses," "Thoughts on the Life and Character of Jesus of Naza- 
reth," "The Veil Partly Lifted Jesus Becoming Visible," "The Unconscious 
Truth of the Four Gospels," "Jesus," "The Power of Spirit ^Manifest in Jesus 
of Nazareth," "The Story of the Resurrection Told Once More," "Verses, 
Translations and Hymns." His translations from the German are numerous ; 
his translations of Schiller's "Song of the Bell" being considered the best in 
the English language. He married in 1825, Annis Pulling Jenks. 

A worthy son of the old divine followed his honored father in the public 
eye, Horace Howard Furness. Ph.D., Litt.D., LL.D. He was born in Phila- 
delphia, November 2, 1833, died in his native city, August 13, 1912. He was 
a graduate of Harvard University 1854, spending the following two vears in 
Europe. On his return he began the study of law and in 1859 was admitted 
to the bar. An unfortunate loss of hearing prevented his following his chosen 
career and altered his whole course of life and slowly cut him ofif from the 
pleasures he loved most, music and dram.a. But it only altered his career and 
.in another field he won imperishable honors. Barred by his deafness from 
being a soldier, when he offered himself in 1861, Dr. Furness joined the San- 
itary Commission, and in this service saw many of the battle fields of the civil 
war, ministering to the sick and wounded. After the war he returned to Phil- 
adelphia and began the work that later made him famous, his variorum edition 
of Shakespeare, which is accepted m America, England, and by Shakespearean 
scholars everywhere as the standard work of its kind, supplementing, as it 
does. Malone's edition of 1821, with the results of Shakespearean study and 
investigation during the last half of the nineteenth century and the first decade 
of the twentieth. He published the first volume of the variorum edition, 
"Romeo and Juliet." in 1871, and was at work on the sixteenth volume "Cym- 
beline," at the time of his death. During the last seven years of his life he 
was assisted by his son, Horace Howard (2), who completed his father's un- 
finished work. 

The first volume of the series was immediately greeted with warm ap- 
preciation by the leading critics of America and England, and as each new vol- 
ume appeared at intervals of from two to three years, it was enthusiastically 
welcomed by scholars and critics. As the work progressed. Dr. Furness slight- 
ly modified his manner of treatment, especially in the matter of the main text. 
In the earlier volumes he constructed a text for himself by collation and com- 
parison with others, giving other readings in his notes. This system he aban- 
doned, and gave the main text, that of the first folio, pure and simple, with all 
its errors and difficulties, the subsequent readings being given at the foot. A 
reviewer in Blackwood's Magazine wrote in 1890 : "In what is called the 



668 DELAWARE COITNTY 

Variorum Edition of Shakespeare, America has the honor of having produced 
the very best and most complete edition, so far as it has gone, of our great 
national poet. For text, illustration (happily not pictorial), commentary and 
criticism, it leaves nothing to be desired. The editor combines with the pa- 
tience and accuracy of the textual scholar, an industry which has overlooked 
nothing of value that has been written about Shakespeare by the best German 
and French, as well as English commentators and critics : and what is of no 
less moment he possesses in himself a rare delicacy of literary appreciation 
and breadth of judgment, disciplined by familiarity with all that is best in the 
literature of antiquity as well as of modern times, which he brings to bear on 
his notes with great effect." In the course of his work. Dr. Furness accumu- 
lated a collection of Shakespearean material unequalled elsewhere in America. 
He was a trustee of the University of Pennsylvania, and took time from his im- 
portant work to prepare the article on "Homoeopathy" in the American edition 
of the "Encyclopedia Eritannica," also serving on the "Seybert" commission 
for investigation of modern spiritualism. The University of Halle conferred 
upon him the honorary degree of Ph. D. ; Columbia University, L.H.D. ; Har- 
vard University, I-L.D.. and Cambridge, England, Lilt. D. He also was a mem- 
ber of the American Philosophical Society, the American Academy of Arts 
and Sciences, and of the Academy of Arts and Letters. 

Dr. Furness married Helen Kate Rogers, who died October 30, 1883, 
daughter of Evans Rogers, a wholesale hardware merchant of Philadelphia 
and New Orleans. He died in Philadelphia in 1869, aged seventy-four years. 
His wife, Caroline Augusta Fairman, bore him two children: Fairman, and 
Helen Kate, wife of Dr. Horace Howard Furness. Mrs. Furness published 
a "Concordance to Shakespeare's Poems ; an index to every word contained 
therein," intended as a supplement to Mrs. Cowden-CIarke's concordance to 
the plays published in 1873. This work of Mrs. Furness has been accepted as 
a standard work. Both Dr. and Mrs. Furness were members of the Unitarian 
church. Their children were : Walter Rogers, mentioned below ; Horace 
Howard, mentioned below ; William H., mentioned below : Caroline Augusta, 
deceased, married Dr. Horace Jayne. 

While the foregoing outlines the lifcwork of Dr. Furness. there is another 
side to his character, the human one, that has been most beautifully dwelt 
upon Ijy the novelist. Owen Wistcr, in a memorial published in the "Harvard 
Magazine" of December 12, 1912, from which the following extracts are 
taken : 

"In August in the days that followed the sudden and quiet death of Dr. Furness, 
amid international comment and huiient that learning must now do without the world's 
greatest Shakespeare scholar, an unexpected voice spoke in verse. It came not from a 
colleague, a fellow academic, a man of letters, it was not a tribute to fame; the touching 
lines were written by a waiter at a club and he told only of his personal sorrow and of 
how he had lost and would miss a friend who had been like no one else. Nothing in the 
many columns of appreciation printed about Dr. Furness throws upon him a more 
revealing light. The waiter's verse must have been read with nods of silent assent by 
engineers and firemen in their cabs, by signalmen at their crossings, by conductors of 
street cars, by an unnamed and unknown company of workingmen and women all over 
Philadelphia and its neighborhood. These had loved the deaf old editor of the New 
Variorum, because to their call for assistance he had never been deaf; to their halls, 
schools and associations he had been wont to come and read Shakespeare in his beautiful 
silvery voice and thereby draw gate money into the purses they needed to fill. Similarly, 
when some corner stone was to be laid, some library opened, tablet unveiled, anniversary 
connnemorated, he had given himself lavishly to the occasion, journeying forth from his 
chosen seclusion, ear trumpet and manuscript in bag. to deliver the requested and care- 
fully pondered speech. * * * Creature of books anil of tongues ancient and modern, 
thougii he was, never did his learning come between him and the unlettered; in those 
speeches by corner-stone or tablet, the genial kindness, the tender sympathy and the 



DELAWARE COUNTY 669 

excellent sense which radiated from his words, found their direct way home to the 
hearers, and so the large motly scattered army that these had grown to be, was made one 
by a single throb of grief at the news that he would never speak to them again, and never 
again would they smile and warm up at the sight of that quaint, courteous figure in black 
clothes and silk hat, along with the lawyer's bag wherein was the ear trumpet. It wasn't 
merely that Dr. Furness always handed up the morning paper to the engineer or fireman, 
as he walked by their locomotive, halted in Broad street station at the end of its suburban 
run. — some other passengers do this kindly act ; his paper went up into the cab, accom- 
panied by a smile or word in which twinkled something, something particularly his own. 
This same winning quaintness seemed to sparkle in his very gesture when he twisted 
up and whirled the afternoon's paper to the flagmen at the crossing. By the same con- 
juring fellowship were the hearts of every sort of human being opened to him; he learned 
oddities of thought and fact from beggars, peddlers and people on ferry-boats. To the 
conductors on the street cars he talked, and in the streets his figure was so marked, so 
well known, that often the glances of passersby, who were unknown to him, followed 
him with a sort of smiling atifccfion, as much as to say: 'There goes our Dr. Furness.' 
Children, too, became absorbed in him. directly he began to pour out for them his delight- 
ful fancy. Two months before his death he went to Boston to be pall bearer at the 
funeral of Professor Goodwin. Inveterate in his dislike of Pullmans, he shared a seat 
in the crowded car with a mother and baby, Italians, whom the conductor wished to 
remove. Dr. Furness stopped him, and during the several hours they journeyed together, 
he played with the baby and kept it amused. Beside the garden walk in front of his glass 
enclosed porch was built a small platform, where in days of snow the birds came by habit 
to find the seed always kept in store for them. Before going to his morning's correspond- 
ence, he seldom forgot to make sure that the platform was well sprinkled with seed and 
often he stood enjoying the sight of the feathered breakfast party. He rejoiced in all 
animals, domestic or not, his favorite bird being (I think) the crow, whose wild call 
enthralled him and whose social gifts, when tamed, endlessly interested him. He knew 
when best to plant flowers and vegetables and how best to buy a cow. To sec him going 
about his garden or farm yard giving directions, one might easily have supposed this to be 
his chief knowledge and concern. Indeed a stranger could have talked with him for a 
day and never guessed he was an editor. Shakespeare had shut him in from nothing, 
but rather opened to him everything the more. He followed the daily news, politics, 
science ; our best American modern writing he completely enjoyed. He said to a friend 
upon a recent occasion, when their common bereavement induced confidence : 'When I 
found I was going to be deaf, I determined it shouldn't spoil my temper.' He used to 
thank his deafness for saving him from all the tiresome empty words the rest of us 
had to endure ; but this was part of his game of making light of it. At his own table 
(where tiresome words were uttered by none unless by some unusual visitor) it was 
plain how often he wanted to catch the back and forth of the talk, and when the not rare 
hilarity burst out to him visibly, he would begin to laugh, too. and often demand 'what 
is it? what on earth is it?' And when the joke or the story was told through the ear 
trumpet — how he joined then! Some people do not laugh well. Dr. Furness laughed 
with a whole soul, musically and contagiously. I am sure this cheered him often in his 
struggle through dark ways. He could tell anecdotes at his own expense until he and 
the listener would be rocking helplessly, tears of mirth coursing down their cheeks. 

"Though he sallied forth from it, his library was his lair, his treasure house, his fit 
frame and his fittest hour was the deep of the night. With stillness in the garden trees 
and in the house. In the winter perhaps best of all, with the white snow and the tree 
rising dark from it — shut in safe beneath the walls of books, pictures and relics, the 
ceiling light shining down upon his silvered head, and here and there a light falling upon 
some open volume, some pile of manuscript he was correcting at the request of a friend, 
then was the time to listen to him. to be alone with him in the stillness. So in his sweet 
voice the old editor would sing the folk-tune that he had caught on the plains of Castile, 
sixty years before, ere his deafness had come upon him, and then it would be bedtime 
for the listener and Shakespeare time for the editor — that work (in later years) was done 
between the hours of midnight and two, three or four. The morning was given to his 
heavy correspondence and to reading the books, pamphlets and manuscripts, which 
importunate authors loaded upon him. If the listener happened to return to the door, 
and standing there stole a last good night look back into the room, there at its far end, 
beneath the walls of books, sat the editor bending over his page, the many volumes to be 
consulted standing before and around him, the light streaming down upon the round 
silvered head. Yes. the gods loved him, .Ariel and Puck stayed with him to the end. and 
ah! by his nativity was he brother to Beatrice, for then was a star danced and under 
that was he born." 

Walter Rogers, eldest son of Dr. Horace Howard and Helen Kate 



67° DELAWARE COUNTY 

(Rogers) Fiirness, was born in Philadelphia, June 7, i8C)i. He spent his 
early years in Philadelphia and Wallingford, Pennsylvania, prepared in pri- 
vate schools, entered Harvard I'niversity, whence "he was graduated A.B., 
class of 1883. He followed the profession of architect for a few years, then 
returned to his private estate. He is a member of the Masonic 'order, and 
of the Rittenhouse, Racquet, Country and Gun clubs of Philadelphia. He is a 
Republican in politics, and both he and his wife are members of the Unitarian 
church. He married, June 2, 1886, Helen Key Bullitt, born in Philadelphia, 
February 26, 1867. daughter of John C. Bullitt, born in Louisville, Kentucky, 
died m Philadelphia, aged seventy-nine years, an eminent attorney. His wife, 
Terese Laughorn, also born in Louisvil'le, bore him thirteen children, among 
them being: William C, married Louisa Horowitz; Therese, married [ohn 
Coles of the United States navy; Logan M.. married Maria Stockton Brown; 
Juha D., married (first) Frank M. Dick, (second) .A. Haller Gross; lohn c'. 
(2), married Edna Dever ; Rev. James F.. married ALirgery Emmons. Children 
of Walter Rogers and Helen Key (P.ullitt) Furness : i. Helen Kate, born 
May 18, 1887; married Wirt Lord Thompson, member of the banking firm of 
Brown Brothers & Company, and resides in Abington, Pennsylvania : 2. Fair- 
man Rogers, born January 6, 1889, unmarried, now (1913) in St. Petersburg, 
Russia, as member of the diplomatic corps of the United States government." 
The family home is at Wallingford, Pennsylvania. 

Horace Howard (2) Furness was born in Philadelphia, January 24, 
1865. second son of Dr. Horace Howard and Helen Kate (Rogers) Furness. 
He prepared in private schools in Philadelphia and at St. Paul's School, Con- 
cord, New Hamp,shire, and entered Harvard l^niversity, whence he was 
graduated A. B., class of 1888. He then entered the department of music of 
the LTniversity of Pennsylvania and after a three years' course was granted a 
certificate of proficiency in 1891. From 1891 to 1901 he was instructor in 
physics at the Episcopal Academy. Locust and Juniper streets, Philadelphia. 
then until his father's death, associated with his honored father as co-editor 
of the variorum edition of Shakespeare, and completing the unfinished work 
after the latter's death. He is a member of the American Philosophical So- 
ciety ; the Franklin Institute and the Shakespeare Society of Philadelphia. 
His clubs are the Rittenhouse, Merion, Cricket and Racquet of Philadelphia; 
his college fraternity. Delta Phi. In political views, he is a Republican, and in 
his religion. Unitarian. He married in Philadelphia, in May, 1901, Louise 
Brooks, daughter of William Davis Winsor. Their residence is at No. 2034 
De Lancey place, Philadelphia. 

Dr. William Henry (2) Furness, third son of Dr. Horace Howard and 
Helen Kate (Rogers) Furness, was born at the family home in Wallingford. 
Delaware county, Pennsylvania, August 18, 1866, and there still resides. His 
early life was spent in Wallingford and Philadelphia, preparing for college in 
private schools. He entered Harvard University in 1884, whence he was 
graduated A. B., class of 1888. He cho.se the profession of medicine, entered 
the medical department of the University of Pennsylvania, receiving his de- 
gree of M. D., class of 1891. He spent some time in the University Hospital 
and at Johns Hopkins Hospital, Baltimore, but is especially distinguished as a 
traveler and writer. He has made six trips around the world, dwelling in 
many out-of-the-way places, gathering material for his literary work. He is 
a member of the American Philosophical Society ; the Societe de Geographic 
of J'aris; Fellow of the Royal Geographical Society, London, and the .An- 
thropological Society of Great Britain. He is the author of "Home Life of 
Borneo Head Hunters ; its Festivals and Folklore ;" "Uap, the Island of 



DELAWARE COUNTY 671 

Stone Money," and of many monographs of the American Philosophical So- 
ciety. His clubs are the Rittenhouse and Oriental of Philadelphia. 

Dr. Furness has never married, but maintains his residence in the 
family mansion at Wallingford, situated in the midst of spacious grounds, 
made beautiful by the landscape gardener's art. He is devoted to his literary- 
work, and has many interesting experiments being wrought out at his country 
home. One of his theories is that the ape, monkey and chimpanzee can be 
taught a great deal beside useless tricks, and in carrying out his theory, 
he has two orang-outangs and a chimpanzee, in an apartment in his green- 
house, that he has taught most marvelous things, and which seem to bear out 
his theory that they possess an intelligence that can be taught to think and 
speak. 

Several years ago the Horace Howard Furness Free Library was found- 
ed, and has occupied a room in the public school building in Wallingford. In 
his will. Dr. Horace Howard Furness left a bequest to this library of five 
thousand dollars, on condition that its name be changed to the Helen Kate 
Furness Free Library. This condition was accepted and an exclusive free 
library and readingroom will be erected on the grounds included in the Fur- 
ness estate, owned by Dr. Wiliam Henry Furness, and donated by him for 
the librarv site. 



The Hamiltons of this record spring from John Hamilton, 
HAMILTON born in county Tyrone, Ireland. November 5, 1822. He 

attended the public schools of his native parish and worked 
on the home farm until he was eighteen years of age. In 1840 he came 
to the United States, settling in Philadelphia, where he learned the trade of 
boxmaker, but later journeyed to Olean, New York, and worked at farming 
for a time. On returning to Pennsylvania, he farmed for a while in Bucks 
county, then returned to Philadelphia, where he was employed until 1874, 
when he located in Chester, establishing a box factory. This he successfully 
operated until 1902, when he retired, with a competence, to his present resi- 
dence on West Broad street, Chester. He is a Republican in politics, but has 
never accepted public office. He married in Philadelphia, Margaret Arm- 
strong, born in county Tyrone, Ireland, in 1823, daughter of .Mexander Arm- 
strong, a road supervisor under the Crown in Ireland, who died there, and his 
wife Sarah, who died in Chester, Pennsylvania, in 1899, aged ninety-five years. 
Children: i. Alexander R., born in Olean, New York, in 1857; settled in 
the South, operating a sawmill at Norfolk, \'irginia, for many years, and 
there died. 2. Thomas M., born in Philadelphia, in January, 1861, now 
cashier of the Delaware County Bank; married Ida Howard, and resides in 
Chester. 3. James M., see forward. 4. Elizabeth, born June 6, 187 1, in 
Philadelphia; married Charles T. Vance, a mining company auditor, and re- 
sides at San Luis in the Accacia Valley, California. 5. Sarah, born in Jan- 
uary, 1874, at Philadelphia, a graduate of Dr. Sargent's School, and is a 
teacher of physical culture, residing in Chester at the family home. She is a 
woman of great energy and a leader in the live progressive movements in her 
city. 6. Margaret, born in Chester, in 1876: married John M. Broomall, of 
Media, Pennsylvania. 

James M. Hamilton was born in .Spinnerstovvn, Bucks county, Pennsyl- 
vania, September 11, 1864. He attended the public schools of Philadelphia 
and Chester until he was fifteen years of age, then began business life in his 
father's box factory, located on Front street, near Franklin street, Chester. 
He continued his father's valued assistant until 1902, when he bought the bus- 



672 DELAWARE COUNTY 

iness, .Mr. Hamilton Sr. retiring. The business in 1893 had been greatly- 
enlarged, by the addition of a planing mill, for the manufacture of sash, blinds, 
doors and interior wood finish. The business has been successfully conducted 
along these dual lines and the tirm is known as one of the prosperous manu- 
facturing concerns of Chester. Of strong Republican principles, Mr. Hamil- 
ton has been for the past fifteen years in opposition to the regular party or- 
ganization in Delaware county, and true to the fighting spirit of his race, has 
had a leading part in the constant warfare between the two elements in his 
part}', but has never been driven from the fight to free his party from the 
domination of those who would use the organization for selfish ends. In igo2 
he was a leader in the organization of the Lincoln party, and was the candi- 
date of that party for the office of sherifif of Delaware county. In the three- 
cornered fight that followed, Mr. Hamilton was defeated by about six hundred 
votes, but had the satisfaction of having fought a good fight and establishing 
a spirit of independent political freedom in the county that will never die. He 
remained as chairman of the Lincoln party county committee for three years. 
but in 1904 supported Theodore Roosevelt for the presidency. In 191 1 he 
was again a candidate for sheriff, but again the forces opposed to him were 
too strong. In 1912 he was the nominee of the Republican party for mayor of 
Chester. This resolved itself into one of the bitterest political fights ever known* 
in the city, and while there were political principles involved, it virtually nar- 
rowed down to a temperance issue and an attempt to unseat a powerful or- 
ganization that was closely allied with the state leaders. ]\Ir. Hamilton was 
defeated, but his opponents will long bear scars of the fight. He was in charge 
of the campaign of Mr. McDade against Judge Johnson, for judge of Dela- 
ware county, but the judge running on both the Keystone and Democratic 
tickets, triumphed. On February 6, 1912, Mr. Hamilton was appointed post- 
master of Chester, an office which came to him unsolicited. He has taken an 
active interest in the Chester Fire Department, having been for thirty years 
a contributing member of Franklin Fire Company, and for ten years was in 
active service, never in that time being absent from a fire in the city. He is 
a member of Chester Lodge, No. 48S, Benevolent and Protective Order of 
Elks, has filled all the chairs and is now exalted ruler ; is also venerable 
consul of Chester Camp, No. 5808, Modern Woodmen of America. 

Mr. Hamilton married, .'-September 15, 1887, in Chester, Pearlla V. Val- 
entine, born there in 1866, daughter of Thomas Valentine, a former businesss 
man of Chester, now deceased, and his wife Margaret Williams. Through 
maternal lines, Thomas Valentine was a descendant of John Morton, a signer 
of the Declaration of Independence. Children, all born in Chester : Thomas 
v., born in July, 1888, now in business with his father; Norman A., born ifr 
January, 1891, now with the Automobile Car Manufacturing Company, Phil- 
adel])hia; Itasca, born in 1894, now a student at Sargent School of Physical 
Culture, Boston ; Wayne, born in 1898, now a student at Chester High School ; 
Vernon, born January 31, 1901 ; Gordon L., born in April, 1909. 



Matthias Treat, the immigrant ancestor, was born in England and 
TRE.\T died in Wethersfield, Connecticut, July 8, 1662. He is thought 

to have been a nephew or near relation of Richard Treat Sr. 
No trace has been found of him in England. He was made freeman. May 21, 
1657. In the Connecticut colonial records he appears as a party in several 
law suits from 1646 to 1649. He lived in Wethersfield on the east side of 
Broad street, on the old .Samuel Boardman place, and later he lived on the 
west side of Sandy lane. The inventory of his estate was dated September 



DELAWARE COUNTY 673 

16, 1662. He married, about 1648. Hilary, daughter of Richard Smith, of 
Wethersfield. She married (second) before 1676, Anthony Wright, of Weth- 
ersfield; he was a member of the first troop of cavalry; he died in 1679; he 
was appointed administrator of Matthias Treat's estate, after his marriage with 
Mary (Smith) Treat. Children, born in Wethersfield: Henry, mentioned 
below; Susanna, born about 1651 : Richard, about 1655; Elizabeth, about 
1657 ; Abigail, about 1659 : Dorcas, about 1662 

(H) Henry, son of IMatthias Treat, was born in Wethersfield about 
1649, died in East Hartford, Connecticut. In September, 1662, he was thir- 
teen years of age, and lived in Hartford, whither it is thought he moved about 
1661. He signed a petition, March 14, 1673-74. at Marblehcad, Massachu- 
setts, for a general town meeting to be held on the sixteenth of the month. 
The inventory of his estate was dated September 5, 1681. Three administra- 
tors were appointed on his estate September 7, 1681, to dispose of the prop- 
erty for the best interests of the children. On June 5, 1710, Henry Burnham, 
of Wethersfield, was appointed administrator of the estate by the court of 
probate. He married, about 1673, Sarah, daughter of Edward Andrews, of 
Hartford. She owned the covenant in the First Church of Hartford, March 
15, 1695-96. She was alive in 1714. Children, born in East Hartford: Sarah, 
born about 1674; Matthias, mentioned below. 

(HI) IMatthias (2), son of Henry Treat, was born at East Hartford, 
about 1676, died there October 26, 1726. In 1704 he signed the petition to 
the general court for the permission to pay the minister's tax on the west side 
of the Connecticut river, and on the east side, but the petition was not granted. 
On May 4, 1707. he owned the covenant of the First Church of Hartford. 
The inventory of his estate was dated October 26, 1726, and his widow and 
Abraham Warren, of Wethersfield, were granted administration on his estate 
by the court of probate, March 7, 1726-27. He married, about 1700, Hannah 

. Children, born at East Hartford: IMatthias, mentioned below ; Henry, 

born about 1707. 

(IV) Matthias (3), son of Matthias (2) Treat, was born about 1705 
in East Hartford, died there about 1766, in the part called Hockanum, where 
he lived. He married, about 1750, Mrs. Dorothy (Buckland) Bidwell, who 
died December, 1797, daughter of Daniel and Esther Buckland. Children, 

born at East Hartford : Matthias, mentioned below ; Mary, married 

Raymond; Theodore, born August 15, 1754; Esther, born 1755, baptized Au- 
gust 31, 1755 ; Russell, born 1758, baptized April 23, 1758. 

(V) Lieutenant ]^Iatthias (4) Treat, son of Matthias (3) Treat, was 
born at East Hartford about 1750, was baptized there December 3, 1750, died 
June 15, 1827, aged seventy-six, at Hockanum, East Hartford. He served 
in the revolution as private in Captain Jonathan Woll's company, and marched 
to Boston at the time of the Lexington Alarm in 1775, receiving pay for six 
days' service. From January 7, 1778, until after March 7, 1778, he was a 
private in Captain Roswell Grant's company, in the regiment commanded by 
Colonel Obadiah Johnson. They were stationed in Rhode Island. In 1794 he 
was a lieutenant in the militia. He married, December 20, 1778, Tryphena 
Risley, who died April 5, 1822, aged sixty-one, daughter of John Risley, of 
Hartford. Children, born at East Hartford: Tryphena, born April 11, 1780; 
EHzabeth, November 18, 1781 ; Clarissa, January 18, 1784; Olive, October 29, 
1786; Matthias, July 28, 1789; Sylvester, September 8, 1792; Oliver, men- 
tioned below; Henry, May 8, 1798. 

(VI) Oliver, son of Lieutenant Matthias (4) Treat, was born at East 
Hartford, .May i, 1795, died in Westfield, Massachusetts, January 21, 1875. 
He and his wife were adtnitted members of the First Church of Hartford, 

44 



6/4 DELAWARE COUNTY 

October, 1820, and dismissed in 1833. He engaged in business at Hartford, 
wiieii twenty-one years old. and had a good fortune when he was thirty-seven 
years of age, but lost it at that time by unfortunate business ventures. He 
moved to \\ estfield in 1833, and lived there the remainder of his life, a inan 
respected for his honor and integrity and true Christian spirit. He married 
daughter of Ekazar Porter. He married (second) October 9, 1834, Statira 
.\dams, at Southwick, Massachusetts, where she was born February 19, 181 1, 
died at Westfield. February 10, 1861 (see Adams MI). He married (third) 
October 11, 1862, in Alontville, Massachusetts, Almira Phelps, who died at 
Westfield, March 25, 1867, daughter of Benajah and Sarah (Newton) Phelps. 
He married (fourtli) October. i8()/. Mrs. Mary Orville Bridges. Children 
by first wife, born in East Hartford: i. Oliver Porter, born February 9, 
1817. died March 28, 1871 ; married, May 12, 1840, Emeline Stedman. 2. 
George, borii October 27, 1821, died November 24, 1856; married, December 
20, 1844, Sarah Antoinette Johnson. 3. Mary Elizabeth, born November 22, 
1827: married, October 13, 1853, Edward M. Dewey. Children, born in West- 
field by second wife: 4. Ellen Louisa, born October 25, 1838, died September 
II, 1849, in Westfield. 5. Edward Adams, born November 2/. 1845; married 
(first) November 22, 1870, Clara Jane Tirrell, (second) June 5, 1883, Joseph- 
ine \'alentine. 6. Frederick Howard, mentioned below. 7. Anna Frances, born 
February 8, 1834. died September 18, i8qo. at East Weymouth, Massachu- 
setts; married, starch 18, 1874, William H. Pratt, and had children, born at 
East Weymouth; .\nna, May 2, 1881, died same day; Anna Treat, Septem- 
ber, 1890. 

(\TI) Frederick Howard, son of Oliver Treat, was born March 4, 1851, 
in Westfield, Massachusetts. He attended the public schools in his native 
town and the Westfield Academy. He then becatne engaged in the dry goods 
business at Westfield, continuing for four years. In 1871 he entered the em- 
ploy of Cofiin, Altemus & Company, with offices and warehouses in Philadel- 
phia, New York, Boston and Baltimore. He built up a large western and 
southern business. He continued with this firm for a period of twenty-four 
years. In 1888 he formed an alliance with Clarence P. King in building and 
operating electric street railways, from Wilmington to Delaware City, Phanix- 
ville to .Spring Citv. They purchased control of the Pottsville railway, and 
built large extensions to different points around Pottsville : they also pur- 
chased control of the railways of Chattanooga, Tennessee, and made large ex- 
tensions ; they purchased control of the Washington, Alexandria & Mount 
Yernon railway and the Washington. Arlington & I-"alls Clnn-ch railway and 
combined them into the Washington- Yirginia Railway Company. They pur- 
chased the Schuylkill Haven Gas & Water Plant, the Consumers Gas Com- 
pany of Atlantic City, and built the New Jersey Gas Company of New Jer- 
sey, with 240 miles of mains. 

In 1896 his connections with Coffin, .\ltemus & Company were severed. 
Mr. Treat then entered into partnership with Harman Wendell, under the 
firm name of Wendell & Treat, for the development of real estate and sub- 
lU'han prtjpertv about the cities of Pliiladelijhia, New York and Washington, 
D. C. They built the towns of Wayne, St. Davids, Devon and Wynnewood. 
They are also building a town at Essex Fells, New Jersey, having about one 
thousand acres of land : Bradley Hills, four thousand acres of land near 
Washington, is now being built by them, and Rosemont, near Washington. 
Mr. Treat is at the present time president of the Washington L^tilities Com- 
pany of Washington, D. C. ; president of the New Jersey Gas Company; 
president of the Pottsville Gas Company ; vice-president of the Wayne Title 
&. Trust Company; vice-president of the Fidelity Storage & Warehouse Com- 



DELAWARE COUNTY 675 

pany ; director of the Eastern Light & Fuel Company ; United States Trust 
Company of Washington, D. C, and Bradley Hills Land Company. He is 
a member of the Union League of Philadelphia, Merion Cricket Club, Com- 
mercial Club of Washington, D. C, and the St. Davids Golf Club. He is a 
commissioner of Radnor township, Pennsylvania. In politics he is a Republi- 
can. He is affiliated with the Sons of the Revolution, and a prominent member 
and trustee of the Radnor Presbyterian Church of Wayne, Pennsylvania. 

He married at Peoria, Illinois, October 24, 1878, Mary Lucie Day, bom 
at Brattleboro, ^^ermont, daughter of Lucius L. and Elizabeth L. (Farr) Day. 
Children: i. Howard Day, born July 21, 1879, died May 7, 1883. 2. Her- 
bert Adams, born at Philadelphia, September 14, 1882; married Edith P. 
Ball, daughter of Joseph A. Ball, of Boston, Massachusetts ; children : Edith 
Adams, born August 24, 1909, New York ; Anne MacPherson, born March 
12, 1912, New York. 3. Frederick Howard, born March 31, 1887. 4. Mary 
Lucia Day, born in Philadelphia, January 2, 1890: married Dr. William Arm- 
strong De Witt, son of William F. De Witt, of Troy, Pennsylvania, August 
28, 1912. 

(The Adams Line) 

(I) Statira (.Adams) Treat was a descendant of Henry Adams, the emi- 
grant ancestor of the Adams family of .America, from which sprang Presi- 
dents John and John Ouincy Adams. Henry .\dams, of Braintree, Massa- 
chusetts, arrived in Boston with eight sons and a daughter. The date is "fixed at 
1632 or 1633. The name of his wife is not known, but the belief is that she re- 
turned to England with her son John. Henry Adams died in Braintree, Oc- 
tober 6, 1646, and was buried two days later. President John Adams erected 
a monument to this ancestor, his great-grandfather in the churchyard of the 
old church at Ouincy with the inscription: "In memory of Henry Adams, 
who took his flight from the Dragon persecution in Devonshire, England, and 
alighted with eight sons near Mount Wollaston. One of the sons returned to 
England, and after taking time to explore the country, four removed to Med- 
field and two to Chelmsford. One, only, Joseph, who lies here at his left 
hand, remained here : an original proprietor in the township of Braintree." 

President John Adams was a descendant of this seventh son, Joseph, 
who was his great-grandfather. Joseph (2), his grandfather, Deacon John, 
his father, who married Susanna Boylston ; President John, their son, was of 
the fifth American generation. The line of descent to Statira (Adams) Treat 
is through Lieutenant Thomas, the second son. 

(II) Lieutenant Thomas Adams, son of Henry Adams, of Braintree, was 
born in England, 1612. He came with his father, but moved with his brothers, 
Samuel and John, from Braintree to Concord, Massachusetts, in 1646. 
Thomas and Samuel settled later in the west part of the town of Chelmsford. 
He was chosen chief sergeant of the military company in 1659, but the county 
court refused to confirm him on account of his religious views — later he mod- 
ified his position sufficiently to permit his confirmation. He was chosen en- 
sign in 1678 and lieutenant in 1682, in the company of which his brother 
Samuel was captain. He held other important offices, including selectman and 
representative to the general court. He died in Chelmsford, July 20, 1688. 
He married in 1642, Mary Blackmore, who survived him until March 23, 
1694, aged eighty-two years, the mother of eleven children. 

(III) Samuel, sixth child and fourth son of Lieutenant Thomas Adams, 
was born in Clielmsford, 1652-53. He was a millwright ; moved to Qiarles- 
town, Massachusetts; ihcnce to Canterbury, Connecticut, where he died No- 
vember 26, :727. He was elected. May 31, 1699, a member of the first board 



676 DELAWARE COUNTY 

of selectmen in Canterbury and was prominent in that town. His wife, Mary, 
died in Canterbury, March 28, 1718. He is said to have had twelve children, 
five of whom died young. His will was made and signed with his mark, 
August 7. 1727, and names but two sons, Henry and Thomas. 

(IV) lienry (2), second son of Samuel Adams, was born in Chelms- 
ford, [Massachusetts. He married Sarah, daughter of Richard and Rebecca 
(Davis) Adams; she was born March 8. i''i83. died April 16, 1753. Children: 
Two sons and two daughters. 

(Y) Ahaziah, second son and youngest child of Henry (2) Adams, w^as 
born in Canterbury, Connecticut, January 22, 1715. His wife Eleanor, died 
June 19, 1748-40. Children: One son, Thomas, and four daughters. 

(VI) Susanna, third daughter of Ahaziah Adams, was born in Canter- 
bury, April 20, T742, died in South Canterbury, January 18, 1843. She mar- 
ried, April 5, 1764, Dr. Timothy Adams, born September 5, 1742, son of Isaac 
and Eleanor (Fassett) Adams: seven children, five sons and two daughters. 

(VII) Timothy (2), youngest child of Dr. Timothy (i) Adams, was 
born in South Canterbury, Connecticut, May i, 1779. His first wife, Patty, 
died January 27, 1804. He married a second wife, who was the mother of 
Statira Adams, wife of Oliver Treat (see Treat VI). This family resided 
at Southwick, Connecticut. 



The Temple family, who settled in Pennsbury township, 
TEMPLE Chester county, Pennsylvania, in 1714, are of ancient English 
lineage, the family seat being in Atford, Wiltshire, England, 
the descent tracing from Sir William Temple. 

(I) The emigrant ancestor, William Temple, born in 1700, came to Penn- 
sylvania from England in 1714. leaving home when but a boy on account of 
his stepmother, with whom he could not live pleasantly. His father also at- 
tempted to influence him in a religious matter, which added to his discomfort. 
On his arrival in Pennsylvania he went to live with Joseph Bunton, of Ken- 
neth. In 1725 he married and founded a home in Pennsbury, Chester county, 
where his children were born, and where he owned a good farm. He was a 
member of the Society of Friends. He married, January 18. 1725, Hannah 
Taylor, born March 16, 1700, daughter of Joseph and Elizabeth (Haines) 
Taylor, both of Berkshire, England : children : Thomas, of whom further. 
Hannah, born September 14, 1727, married Isaac Miller; Susannah, Septem- 
ber 9, 1730, married William Seal ; William, February 3. 1733, died unmar- 
ried ; Elizabeth, January 22, 1735, married Benjamin Hutton ; Lydia, May 2, 
1737, married Caleb Seal; Sarah, December 25, 1740, married John Pyle; 
Alice, September 17, 1743, married Benjamin Jones; Benjamin, December 3, 
1745, married Hannah Jones. 

(II) Thomas, eldest son of William and Hannah (Taylor) Temple, was 
born in Pennsbury township, Chester county, Pennsylvania, October 10, 1725, 
died July 21, 1808. He was a Friend; a farmer of Pennsbury; a justice of the 
peace and a member of the assembly. He married, March 16, 1751, Jane 
Brinton, died April 27. 1799, daughter of Joseph and Mary (Peirce) Brinton, 
granddaughter of William (2) and Jane (Matcher) Brinton, and great-grand- 
daughter of William (i) and Ann (Bagley) Brinton, Friends who came from 
England in 1684. Children : Joseph ; William, married Alice Lownes ; Thomas ; 
Mary; .Samuel; Caleb, married Rachel Broomall ; Edward Brinton. of whom 
further; Jane, married Samuel Bettle. 

(III) Edward Brinton, son of Thomas and Jane (Brinton) Temple, was 
born in Pennsbury township. Chester county, Pennsylvania, June 8. 1769, died 




■S .j^sfyi-ura/' .^a^ ^ 



(^<PUi/-^3^^cC /'^ ^iJ^n^utJi^^ 



DELAWARE COUNTY 677 

there June 6, 1853. He came into possession of the original homestead farm 
in Pennsbury, for which a deed was given under WilHam Penn's signature 
and seal. This document is yet preserved in the family. He was a Friend, 
and in poHtical faith a Whig. He married Sidney Hill, born at Lima, Penn- 
sylvania, and resided on a farm, later purchased by the state. She died in 
Pennsbury, March 9, 1847, aged sixty-one years, eight months and seventeen 
days. Child: Norris, of whom further. 

(IV) Norris, only child of Edward Brinton and Sidney (Hill) Temple, 
was born in the old homestead in Pennsbury, Chester county, Pennsylvania, 
May 2, 1808, died in Edgewood, in the same township, March 23, 1872. He 
was a farmer all his life, a Friend and a Whig — later a Republican. He mar- 
ried Susan L. Smith, born November 12, 1806, died in West Chester, Penn- 
sylvania, November 13, 1891. Children: i. Edward, born September 
28, 1834; married, December, 1862, Mary Jane Gunton, died with- 
out issue. 2. Charles, of whom further. 3. George B., born September 9, 
1838; married, in April, 1862, Lydia P. Marshall. 4. Sidney, born November 
4, 1840, died unmarried. 5. Mary Ann, born January 11, 1842, died unmar- 
ried. 6. Jane Bettle, born March 15, 1846, the only survivor. Susan L. 
(Smith) Temple, was a daughter of John M. and Ann (Rowan) Smith, mar- 
ried January 25, 1778. They had three other children : Mary, born December 
28, 1780, died 1863, married George Ehrich ; Phoebe, born December 22, 1783, 
married, December 7, 1805, William Jones; William, born May 5, 1786, died 
unmarried, September 22, 1849. 

(V) Charles, second son of Norris and Susan L. (Smith) Temple, was 
born at the old homestead in Pennsbury township, Chester county, Pennsyl- 
vania, April I, 1836, died in Concord township, Delaware county, Pennsylva- 
nia, March 31, 1892. He was educated at Friends' Boarding School at West- 
town, Chester county, Pennsylvania, and was a carpenter and builder by trade 
until his marriage. He then moved to Concord, Concord township, Delaware 
county, where he bought a farm of one hundred acres and there devoted 
himself to general and dairy farming. He was progressive and followed the 
modern system of crop rotation and dairying. He led a busy and useful life, 
winning the esteem of a large acquaintance. He was a member of the Society 
of Friends, and a Republican in politics. He married, March 4, 1869, Phil- 
ena, daughter of Thomas and Emily (Paxson) Marshall (see Marshall VI) 
of Concord township, Delaware county, Pennsylvania, the former a farmer; 
Emily Paxson was a daughter of Jacob and Mary Paxson, of Montgomery 
county, Pennsylvania. Children: i. Mary M., born March 28, 1870, died 
April 6, 1870. 2. Edward Brinton, of who further. 3. William Paxson, 
born June 15, 1873; married, November 6, 1905, Mary Griffith Baldwin; one 
child, Sarah Baldwin Temple, born October 31, 1912. 4. Horace, born No- 
vember 10, 1874; married, April 29, 1907, Elizabeth Paul Fleming. 5. Jacob 
Paxson, born November 18, 1880; married. May 10, 1902, Ada Underbill. 
Since the death of her husband, Philena (Marshall) Temple has resided with 
her son, William Temple, at the homestead in Concord township; by recent 
purchase an adjoining farm was added to the property, now the hoine of her 
son, Horace Temple. In addition to farming and dairying they have built 
large mushroom houses and are actively engaged in that business. 

(VI) Edward Brinton (2), eldest son of Charles and Philena (Mar- 
shall) Temple, was born August 28, 1871, in Concordville, Delaware county, 
Pennsylvania. He was educated in private schools at Concordville, and at 
Swarthmore College, from the engineering department of which he was grad- 
uated in 1891. Immediately after leaving college he entered the employ of 
the construction department of the Pennsylvania Railroad Company, and was 



678 DELAWARE COUNTY 

assigned to duties on an engineer corps in making surveys and inspecting con- 
struction work. Among the large pieces of work on which he was employed 
were the extension of the Filbert Street Elevated Railroad, the erection of the 
new Broad Street Station, Philadelphia, and the Delaware River Railroad and 
Bridge Line. In 1897 ^Ii"- Temple was transferred to the drafting department 
in Broad street Station and later was made assistant engineer. In 1901 he was 
given charge of that department and the preparation of the plans for the stone 
arch bridges and the masonry plans for steel bridges. He remained in that posi- 
tion until January i, 1905, when he was appointed assistant to the chief engin- 
ci-r, and on .March I. upf), was promoted to the position of assistant chief 
engineer, with offices at Broad Street Station, Philadelphia. He is a member of 
the Franklin Insitute, the American Society of Civil Engineers and the Amer- 
ican Railway Engineering Association. He resides at Swarthmore, Pennsyl- 
vania, and takes great interest in the college and borough affairs, and is pres- 
ident of the Swarthmore National Bank. While at college, Mr. Temple played 
on the football team, and took an active part in track athletics ; joined the Phi 
Kappa Psi fraternity, and is a member of the Society of Friends. 

He married, October 17, 1895, Lucy T., daughter of William and Ellen 
(Thorn) Bartram, and a direct descendant of John Bartram. the noted botan- 
ist. Children: Charles, born November 19, 1896: Elizabeth Bartram, No- 
vember 21, 1903. 

(\T) Jacob Paxson, fourth son of Charles and Philena { Alar.shall) Tem- 
ple, was born at Concordville, Delaware county, Pennsylvania, November 18, 
1880. He attended Leggett's School, Concordville; Friends' Graded School, 
West Chester; Swarthmore Preparatory School, from which he was gradu- 
ated in 1898, and Swarthmore College, thus obtaining a thoroughly practical 
education which prepared him for the activities of life. His first employment 
was as rodman on the Pennsylvania Railroad, in the construction department, 
entering the service in 1899. and attained the position of assistant engineer in 
1906, in which capacity he is still serving (1913). In 1907 he gave his atten- 
tion to dairy farming, purchasing a farm of two hundred and sixty acres at 
Tauquy, Chester county, Pennsylvania, which he is still operating, meeting 
with exceptional success. He is public-spirited and progressive, aiding to the 
best of his ability in every movement for the development of the various 
sections of the state in which he is interested, and performing well his duty as 
a citizen, casting his vote for the candidate who in his opinion is best quali- 
fied for office, irrespective of party affiliation. He is a member of the Hick- 
site Branch of the Friends, and holds membership in the Chester County His- 
torical Society, Crange, Chester County Farmers' Association, and the Del- 
aware County ,\utomobile Club. 

Mr. Temple married at Glen Head, Long Island, New York, May 10, 
1902, Ada Underbill, daughter of Richard and Mary (Kirby) Underbill, the 
former named a farmer. Children: Emily Marshall, born February 7, 1904; 
Richard Underbill, February 3, 1906; Jacob Paxson Jr., January 24, 1909, the 
two eldest attending Friends' Graded Schools of West Chester. 

(The Marshall Line). 

(!) Mrs. Philena (Marshall) Temple descends from John Marshall, 
from Elton in Derbyshire, England, who settled in Darby township in 1687. 
It is believed that previous to this he lived in Blockley township, Philadelphia 
county. He was married, 10 mo. 19, 1688. at Darby Meeting to Sarah Smith, 
theirs being the first marriage solemnized in Darby Friends Meeting House. 
She was a sister of Thomas Smith, an early settler in Darbv, coming from 
Croxton, Leicestershire, England. John Marshall obtained sixty-four acres 



DELAWARE COUNTY 679 

of good land on Cobb's creek in Upper Darby in 1689 and one hundred and 
fifty acres adjoining to the southward in 1692. He took an active part in the 
aflfairs at Darby Meeting, at which he was an overseer, and in the township 
filled various offices. He died 9 mo. 13, 1729. His widow survived him until 
5 mo. 16. 1749. Children: i. John, born 6 mo. 16, 1690. died 8 mo. 14, 1749; 
married (first) Joanna Passchall, (second) Widow Elinor Shenton. 2. Will- 
iam, born 2 mo. 11, 1692, died 1727; married ^lary Sellers. 3. Thomas, of 
whom further. 

(H) Thomas, son of John and Sarah (Smith) Marshall, was born 12 
mo. 10, 1694, died about 1740. He settled on a farm in Concord township, 
just south of Concordville, where he successfully farmed until his death. He 
married, 2 mo. 24, 1718, at Concord Meeting, Hannah Mendenhall, born 6 
mo. II, 1696. died about 1770. daughter of Benjamin and Ann (Pennell) Men- 
denhall. In 1727, Thomas Marshall erected the house on his farm, yet occu- 
pied by his descendants. His widow. Hannah, married (second) Peter Grubb. 
an ironmaster, whom she survived several years. Children of Thomas Mar- 
shyll : I. Ann, born 9 mo. 18, 1719: married Francis Hickman, 2. Sarah, 
born II mo. 4, 1721. died young, 3. Benjamin, born 11 mo. 1722: mar- 
ried Hannah Underwood. 4. Moses, born i. mo. 22. 1725, died young. 5. 
Thomas, of whom further. 6. Martha, born 10 mo. 28, 1729, died 10 mo. 
13, 1804. married William Levis. 7. Hannah, born 2 mo. 23, 1733: married 
John Way. 8. John, born 11 mo. 22, 1734 or 35, died about 1815; married 
"Hannah Jones. 9. May. born 6 mo. 4, 1738: married Caleb Janic-. 

(HI) Thomas (2), son of Thomas (il and Hannah (Mendenhall) 
Marshall, war born 7 mo. 26, 1727, died about i7''io. He inherited one-half 
his fathei 's lands and settled thereon, but died while still a young man. He 
married. 8 uo. 19. 1752, at Concord Meeting, Edith, daughter of Nathaniel 
and Esther (Metcalf) Newlin, who survived him, marrying (second) Sam- 
uel Schofield, of Bucks county. Pennsylvania, and with her children moved 
to her husband's farm in Bucks. Children of Thomas (2) Marshall: i. 
E.sther, married Thomas Allibone. 2. Hannah, died young. 3. Thomas, of 

whom further. 4. Phoebe, married (first) Ste])hen , (second 1 Joseph 

Heston. 

(IV) Thomas (3), son of Thomas (2) and Edith (Xewlin) Marshall, 
was born in Concord. Delaware county, Pennsylvania, 12 mo. 8, 1766, died 
there 8 mo. 13. 1844. In 1773 he accompanied his stepfather to Bucks county, 
later learning the tanner's trade near Uwchlan, Chester. On coming of age 
he became owner to the paternal farm in Concord. Delaware county, where 
he established a tan yard. He married (first) at Concord Meeting, 4 mo. 21, 
1779, Mary Grubb, born 3 mo. 25, 1756, died 11 mo. 24, 1791, daughter of 
Samuel and Rebecca (Hewes) Grubb, of Pennsbury township, Chester coun- 
ty, Pennsylvania. He married (second) 8 mo. 12, 1795, Margaret, daughter 
of William and Ann Swayne, of East Marlborough ; no issue by second mar- 
riage : children by first marriage: i. Edith, born i mo. 16, 1780: married. 5 
mo 6, 1S02. Isacher Schofield. 2. Samuel, born 2 mo. 2. 1782, died 1786. 
3. Thomas, born 6 mo. i, 1784: married 11 mo. 20. 1805. Sidney Hatton. 4. 
Rebecca, born 7 mo. 16. 1786. died 7 mo. 3. 1828: married Jesse Chandler. 
5. Samuel, of whom further. 

(V) Samuel, youngest son of Thomas (3) and Mary (Grubb) Marshall. 
was born 3 mo. 24, 1789, died 8 mo. 27, 1832. He carried on the tanning 
business, established by his father at the old homestead in Concord, until his 
death. He married, 11 mo. 25, 1812. at Londongrove Friends Meeting, Phi- 
lena Pusey. born 5. mo. 24, 1794, died 12 mo. 30. 1842, daughter of Ellis 
and Abigail (Brinton) Pusey, of Londongrove. Surviving her husband. Phi- 



(380 DELAWARE COUNTY 

lena Marshall married (second) Samuel Wollaston, of Wilmington, Delaware. 
Children of Samuel Marshall: i. Margaret, born 7 mo. 29, 1813, died 6 mo. 
10, 1896; married Morris Palmer. 2. Ellis P., born 10 mo. 22, 181 5, died 
7 mo. 20, 1892; married (first) Anna Bartram, (second) Mary Scarlett; he 
owned the old homestead. 3. Thomas, of whom further. 4. Samuel, born 
11 mo. 24, 1820; president of Marshall and Illsley Bank, Milwaukee, Wi- 
consin; married (first) Elizabeth Grubb, (second) Emma Hager. 5. Nathan. 
born 2 mo. 20, 1823, died 9 mo. 6, 1825. 6. William, born 12 mo. 15, 1825, 
died I mo. 19, 1826. 7. William Pusey, born 12 mo. 21, 1826, died 10 mo. 17, 
1901 ; he was a director, vice-president, and from March 27, 1895, president 
of the National Bank of Chester County ; vice-president of the Dime Savings 
Bank; trustee of the West Chester State Normal School, and for twenty-four 
years served on the board of prison inspectors; he married Frances Lloyd 
Andrews. 8. Henry, born 2 mo. 28, 1829, died unmarried 12 mo. 1854. 9. 
Edward Statileo, born 10 mo. 5, 1832; married Sarah Thompson Johnson. 

(VI) Thomas (4), son of Samuel and Philena (Pusey) Marshall, was 
born 8 mo. 26, 1818, in Concord township, at the old Marshall homestead, 
died 8 mo. 22, 1880; married Emily Paxson, and they were the parents of 
Philena Marshall, now widow of Charles Temple. (See Temple V). 



The ancestry of the Stackhouse family is traced back 
STACKHOUSE in England to 1086, and in America to 1682, at which 

time Thomas Stackhouse, and his uncle, also Thomas 
Stackhouse, came here. The elder Thomas Stackhouse was born at Stack- 
house, a village near Settle, Yorkshire, England, about 1635. He and his 
wife, Margery (Heahurst) Stackhouse, arrived at New Castle, Delaware, 10 
mo. 27, 1682, and settled on a tract of land on the Neshaminy creek, in the 
section now known as Langhorne, Middletown township, Bucks county, Penn- 
sylvania. His wife died 11 mo. 15, 1682, a short time after their arrival at 
their new home, and this was one of the first burials at Middletown. Thomas 
Stackhouse married (second) at Middletown Meeting, i mo. 1702, Margaret, 
widow of Christopher Atkinson, and settled at Bensalem township, where he 
died in 1700 in his seventy-first year. His will was proved 9 mo. 2, 1706, and 
as no children are mentioned it is presumed that he left none. 

(I) Thomas Stackhouse, nephew of the Thomas Stackhouse in the pre- 
ceding paragraph, and great-grandson of the Benjamin Stackhouse who wrote 
the Stackhouse Bible in 1617, is supposed to have been twenty-one years of 
age when he arrived in this country, which was probably in the year 1682. 
He died 4 mo. 26, 1744, and was buri'ed at Middletown. He represented Bucks 
county in the colonial assembly of the province, 171 1, 1713 and 1715, and was 
re-elected the following year but refused to serve. Mr. Stackhouse married 
(first) at Middletown M'eeting, 7 mo. 27, 1688, Grace, born i mo. 14, 1667, 
died 8 mo. 8, 1708, daughter of Robert and Alice Heaton ; he married (sec- 
ond) at Falls Meeting, i mo. 1, 171 1, .'\nn, widow of Edward Mayos; she 
died 5 mo. 6, 1724; he married (third) at Wright&town ^vleeting, 8 mo. 1725, 
Dorothy, widow of Zebulon Heston, who survived him. Children of first 
marriage : Samuel, John, Robert, see forward ; Henry, Grace, Alice, Thomas, 
Joseph, Benjamin. Children of second marriage: Isaac, Jacob, Ann, Sarah, 
Isaac. There were no children by the third marriage. 

(II) Robert, son of Thomas and Grace (Heaton) Stackhouse, was born 
9 mo. 8. 1692, and died in 178S at the advanced age of ninety-six years. He 
removed with his family to P.erwick, on the Susquehanna river. Pennsylvania, 
where he resided up to the time of his death. He married Margaret Stone 



DELAWARE COUNTY 68 1 

and had children: Thomas, Joseph, James, see forward; Grace, Benjamin. 
Alice, William, Robert, who was killed by a fall from his horse in 1788, at 
which time he was forty-eight years of age. 

(Ill) James, son of Robert and Margaret (Stone) Stackhouse, was born 
II mo. II, 1725 or 1726, died 5 mo. 16, 1759, and his remains were interred 
at Arch street cemetery. He married Martha, born 4 mo. 27. 1722, died 
6 mo. 24, 1806, daughter of Samuel and Mary Hastings. Children : IMar- 
garet, Hastings, Mary, Amos. jNlartha, James, Amos, see forward: William. 

The Hastings family trace their ancestry back to the year 1843, when 
"Hastings the First," a sea king or pirate Norman chieftain, invaded France 
and after plundering the provinces of the Louvre, returned to Denmark or 
Norway. The following year he entered the Seine, approached as far as 
Paris, and returned to his own country laden with the spoils. In the year 
893 he appeared off the county of Kent, England, and entered the Thames, 
but was defeated by Alfred the Great, who made prisoners of his wife and 
two sons and only restored them to him upon the condition that he depart 
the kingdom. It is claimed by the author of "Pictures of Hastings," that the 
town of Hastings, near the sea coast, where the battle of Hastings occurred, 
was named in honor of this Danish pirate. In the year 1200, Henry, Lord 
Hastings, married Adama, daughter of David, Earl of Huntington, and 
brother of William, King of Scotland, who, dying without issue, John Hast- 
ings, son of Henry Hastings, became a competitor for that crown with John 
Balliol and Robert Bruce. In the early records of Chester county. Pennsyl- 
vania, the name of Henry Hastings as a juror is found as early as September 
13, 1681. and as the ship "John and Sarah," from London, and "Factor." 
from Bristol, did not arrive until the twelfth of the fourth month following, 
it is supposed that the Hastings family, who owned a large tract of land on the 
Delaware river between Chester and Marcus Hook, were a part of the New 
Haven colony that settled on the Delaware about 1640. Joshua Hastings, sup- 
posed to be a son of Henry Hastings, resided in the neighborhood of Chester, 
represented the county in the colonial assembly, and removed to Philadelphia 
about 1700. Two sons survived him. John and Samuel; John married Grace 
Stackhouse, daughter of Robert Stackhouse, and their son Samuel Hastings 
married Alary Hill, who bore him a daughter, Martha, who became the wife 
of James Stackhouse. 

(I\') Amos, third son of James and Martha (Hastings) Stackhouse, was 
born 5 mo. 4, 1757, died 4 mo. 5, 1825. He married, i mo. 14, 1779, Mary, 
born 7 mo. 9, 1763, died 7 mo. 15, 1841, daughter of John and Susanna 
Powell. Children : Susanna, Hastings, Martha, Powell, see forward ; Esther, 
Martha. James, Samuel. Amos. Robert, Robert, Mary, John. 

The earliest ancestor of the Powell family of whom there is authentic 
tecord was William Powell, who signed with John Woolston and two hundred 
and ten other Friends the Yearly Meetings' epistle of the 7 mo. 1692, against 
George Keith. Robert Powell, presumably a brother of William Powell, 
came in the ship "Kent," 6 mo. 16, 1677, O.S., and settled near Burlington, 
West Jersey. Among the children born to Robert Powell and his wife Pru- 
dence, was a son, John Powell, who married Elizabeth Woolston. They were 
the parents of six children, the youngest of whom was Isaac Powell, who mar- 
ried Elizabeth Purdey, and their eldest son, John Powell, by his marriage 
to Susanna Bryan, became the father of four children, the eldest of whom 
was Mary, who became the wife of Amos Stackhouse. 

(V) Powell, son of Amos and Mary (Powell) Stackhouse, was born at 
Mount Holly, New Jersey, 3 mo. 21. 1785. died 12 mo. 27, 1863. He was a 
young lad when he was brought to the city of Philadelphia, where he learned 



682 DELAWARE COUNTY 

the trade of cabinet making. Later he became a pattern maker, and finally 
a foundryman. He built a foundry in Coates' alley, above Front street, and 
conducted his Ijusiness there very successfully until he retired in 1840, at 
which time he installed his son Amos in it. His death occurred at his home 
at Nos. 256-8 North Front street. He was a staunch supporter of Quaker 
tenets and frequently preached to his fellow Friends. He married, i mo, 31, 
1809, Edith, born i mo. 16, 1787. died 11 mo. i, 1865, daughter of Charles 
and Mary (Taylor) Dilworth. Children: i. Charles D., born November i, 
1809: married, November 27, 1834, Alice Meredith. Children: Joseph I\L, 
born November 28, 1835, ^i^d January 18, igoi : Dilworth, born November 
12, 1837, now residing on the old homestead: Pennell, born December 17, 
1839, resides in Middletown township, near Lima: Kate M., born April 5, 
1846, died April 16, 1882: Charles D., born May 6, 1850, died December 8, 
1876. 2. Emfen, see forward. 3. Joseph D.. married Sarah Shaw and had 
children : Powell, Rebecca and Alexander. 4. Powell, died young. 5. Powell, 
was in the real estate business, and died in Philadelphia. He married Emily 
Townsend and had children : Myra, Julia W., Samuel T., Clara and Edith D. 
6. Amos, a lumber manufacturer and dealer, died in North Carolina. He 
married (first) Rebecca Shaw, and had a son, Ellison: he married (second) 
.\nna Williamson, and had children : Elizabeth, Rebecca, Anna Mary and 
Thomas W. ; he married (thir.d) Anna Myers, and had children: Amos and 
Charles. 7. Sarah D., married (first) Franklin, son of David Townsend, of 
West Chester. Pennsylvania: (second) Abram \'andervoort, of Williams- 
burgh, New York, and had one son : Abram. 8. Susan L., married Daniel J. 
Morrell, and had one daughter : Anna S. 9. Anna D., never married. 10. 
Dilworth. 11. Llewellyn. 

James Dilworth, the pioneer ancestor of the Dilworth family was a min- 
ister and, accompanied by his wife, Ann (Wain) Dilworth, their son William, 
and a servant man by the name of Stephen Sands, came from Thornlev. in 
Lancastershirc, England, in the ship "Lamle,"' of Liverpool, Captain John 
Teach, and arrived in the Delaware river, 8 mo. 1682. He settled in Bucks 
county, Pennsylvania, and his death occurred i mo. 3, 1698. William, son- 
of James and Ann (W^aln) Dilworth, married Sarah, daughter of Richard and 
Elizabeth Webb, and their eldest son. James Dilworth, married Lydia, 
daughter of George and Lydia Martin. Among the children born of this 
union was a son, Charles Dilworth, who married at Trinity Episcopal Church, 
Oxford township, i mo. 27, 1765, Mary, daughter of John and Sarah Taylor. 
Eight children were the issue of this union, one of whom, Edith Dilworth, 
became the wife of Powell .Stackhouse. 

(VI) Emlen, son of Powell and Edith (Dilworth) Stackhouse, was born 
in Philadelphia. He married and settled on the farm which was the Meredith 
homestead, on which his wife was born and which came to her bv inheritance. 
He was of a quiet and retiring disposition, and never held public office, al- 
though he was a staunch supporter of the Republican party. Like all of his 
family he was a member of the Society of Friends. He married Catherine, 
a daughter of Joseph Meredith, who was brought to Delaware county from 
Montgomery county, where he was born. He married and bought a farm of 
two hundred acres in Edgemont township, and he and his wife were mem- 
bers of the Society of Friends. They had children : Alice, who married 
Qiarles D. Stackhouse. and occupied a part of the family homestead, and 
Catherine, mentioned above. Emlen and Catherine (Meredith) Stackhouse 
had children: i. Edith, married James Yarnell, and died in Edgemont 
township. 2. Sarah, is now the widow of Levis Baker, and lives in West 
Chester. 3. .Mice, married James Bailey, born in Chester county, Pennsyl- 



DELAWARE COUNTY 683 

vania, now lives retired in West Chester. 4. Martha, died unmarried at the 
age of fifty years. 5. Meredith, died in young manhood. 6. Anna, married 
Henry Hoopes, retired from business and now resides in West Chester. 7. 
Ella, unmarried, resides in Johnstown. 8. Susan, is the widow of Dr. Web- 
ster Loman, and lives in Johnstown. Pennsylvania. 9. Emien, see forward. 
10. Mary, died unmarried. 

(VII) Emlen (2), son of Emlen (i) and Catherine (Meredith) Stack- 
house, was born in Edgemont. Pennsylvania. He was educated in the public 
schools of Howellville, and was brought up on the homestead farm. At the 
age of sixteen years he left home to go to Willistown. Chester county, Penn- 
sylvania, where he remained four years, learning the milling and lumber bus- 
iness thoroughly. He then returned to his home and there managed the farm 
for a period of ten years. After his marriage he rented a farm which he cul- 
tivated for a period of three years, after which he went to Haverford, where 
he rented an old-fashioned saw and grist mil! on the Merris Leedom estate, 
which he conducted successfully for six years. Alarch i, 1893, he came to 
Lansdowne and established himself in the coal and feed business on Burmont 
avenue, and has been identified with this since that time. He is a strong sup- 
porter of the Republican party, and his religious affiliation is with the Quakers. 
He married, March 2, 1883. Ida. born in Chester county. Pennsylvania, daugh- 
ter of Levis and Phoebe (Hall) Rogers. 



While a branch of the Cooper family settled in Chester county, 
COOPER Pennsylvania, in 1675. the ancestors of this branch settled 
first in New England, where William Cooper, an English emi- 
grant, took part in King Philip's war. Later he came to New Jersey, where 
he owned a iract of land where now in part stands the city of Camden. His 
seven sons settled in the now states of New Jersey, Pennsylvania, Maryland 
and Georgia. One of these sons was the ancestor of James Fenimore 
Cooper, the noted author, and from another sprang James Cooper, grand- 
father of Thomas \'. Cooper, the patriotic journalist of Delaware county, 
Pennsylvan'a. 

James Cooper, born at Pittsburgh, Pennsylvania, was the son of a revo- 
lutionary soldier, who was an orderly under Washington ; was promoted lieu- 
tenant, and after the war settled in Pittsburgh. When Lafayette visited 
Pittsburgh in 1824. Lieutenant Cooper had the distinction of being the oldest 
revolutionary soldier present at the reception given the distinguished French- 
man. James Cooper, son of Lieutenant Cooper, lived to the wonderful age 
of nniety-ninc years, but even this was almost equalled by one of his sons, 
Major Samuel Copper, who lived to be ninety-seven years of age, and at the 
age of seventy-seven years entered the military service of his country during the 
war betwcen'the Nortli and the South. He was also the author of the Scott- 
Cooper system of military drill long in use in the L'nited States army. 

Dr. j. W. Cooper, another son of James Cooper, was a skillful physician, 
residing at diiifercnt times in New York, Philadelphia and Chester, Pennsyl- 
vania, the latter city having been his home for more than a half century. Dr. 
Coo])er commanded a company of militia, the Pennsylvania Blues, and with 
his company took; active part in suppressing the Anti-Catholic riots in Phila- 
delphia in 1844. He married Henrietta Fields, of Hagerstown. Maryland, 
who bore him seven children. 

Thomas \'. Cooper, son of Dr. J. W. and Henrietta (Fields) Cooper, 
was born January 16, 1835, in Cadiz, Ohio, where for a short time only his 
parents resided, and died in Media. Pennsylvania. December 19. 1909, the 



684 DELAWARE COUNTY 

result of an accident. He obtained a good English education, learned the art 
of typesetting and printing before he was twenty years of age, and in 1855 
founded, i;i association with Dr. D. A. Vernon, the "Media Advertiser." 
The following year the name was changed to the "Media Advertiser and 
Delaware County American," and in 1859 the present title, "Delaware County 
American," was adopted. From 1855 until his death, a period of fifty-four 
years, Mr. Cooper was connected editorially with the "American," excepting 
the civil war period, when he was in the field, there striving as a soldier to 
uphold the cause he had advocated as a journalist. He was at the time of 
his death one of the very few editors in Pennsylvania who, with pen and type, 
aided in creating the sentiment that brought the Republican party into being, 
and advocated the election of the candidates of that party in 1856, and for a 
half a century thereafter continued unfailingly to support the same party. Mr. 
Cooper was an alternate delegate to the Republican Convention of i860 that 
nominated Abraham Lincoln for the presidency, and voted the delegates of 
his congressional district for Mr. Lincoln, whose nomination was assured 
by the withdrawal of Simon Cameron and the releasing of the Cameron 
delegates. 

On April 19, 1861, the 26th Pennsylvania Regiment passed through Bal- 
timore, en route to Washington and, while not suffering from mob attack so 
severely as the Massachusetts regiment, had rather an unpleasant experience. 
Shortly afterward Mr. Cooper enlisted in Company C of that regiment, serv- 
ing three years with the army of the Potomac, in victory or defeat, the great- 
est army ever assembled in this country. He was mustered out with the 26th 
Regiment in front of Independence Hall, June 14, 1864. The battle flags of 
the regiment are inscribed with the names of many of the historic battles 
of the war betv.'een the states: Yor