(navigation image)
Home American Libraries | Canadian Libraries | Universal Library | Community Texts | Project Gutenberg | Biodiversity Heritage Library | Children's Library | Additional Collections
Search: Advanced Search
Anonymous User (login or join us)
Upload
See other formats

Full text of "History of Du Page County, Illinois"

HISTORY 



OF 



Du PAGE COUNTY, 



NOIS. 



BY IR/QIFUS 



CHICAGO : 

O. L. BASKIN & CO., HISTORICAL PUBLISHERS, 

LAKESIDE BUILDING. 

1882. 



PREFACE. 



A FTER several months of laborious research and persistent toil, the history of Du Page 
Count}' is complete, and it is our hope and belief that no subject of general importance or 
interest has been overlooked or omitted, and even minor facts, when of sufficient note to be 
worthy of record, have been faithfully chronicled. In short, where protracted investigation 
promised results commensurate witli the undertaking, matters not only of undoubted record, 
but legendary lore, have been brought into requisition. We are well aware of the fact that it is 
next to impossible to furnish a perfect history from the meager resources at the command of the 
historian under ordinary circumstances, but claim to have prepared a work fully up to the 
standard of our engagements. Through the courtesy and assistance generously afforded by the 
residents of Du Page, we have been enabled to trace out and put into systematic shape, the 
greater portions of the events that have transpired in the county up to the present time, and we 
feel assured that all thoughtful persons interested in the matter will recognize and appreciate 
the importance of the work and its permanent value. A dry statement of facts has been 
avoided, so far as it was possible to do so, and anecdote and incident have been interwoven with 
plain recital and statistics, thereby forming a narrative at once instructive and entertaining. 

To the many friends who have contributed special portions of the matter herein contained, 
and to those who have assisted Mr. Blanchard with dates and other memoranda, our thanks 
are due, and we trust that the earnest endeavors that we have exercised to present our patrons 
with a work worthy in all respects will, in part, repay them for their kindness. 

NOVEMBER, 1882. O. L. RASKIN & CO. 



"4 






CONTENTS. 






PART I. 

HISTORICAL. PAOE. 

CHAPTER 1. Du Page a Spanish Possession The French Take 
Possession of the Northwest The Country Comes Under 
English Rule George Rogers Clarke Territorial Subdi- 
visions First Conveyance of Lund in Du Page County 
The Pottawatomies Great American Treaty of 1833 
The Chicagon Portage The Removal of the Indians 
Their Present Condition Origin of the name Du Page 
Spanish Conquest and Its Aims Baron de Carondelet 
The Spanish Close the Lower Mississippi County Organ- 
ization and Subdivision Northern Limits of Illinois 
The French Traders Act Organizing Du Page County .. 11 

CHAPTER II. The Pioneer Stephen J Scott The Scott Set- 
tlement Blodgett Hauley Bailey Hobson, the First Set- 
tler of Du Page County Building the First Cabin Cross- 
ing a Slough Williard Scott Social Entertatuments 
Corn Pancakes The Napers First Ground Plowed The 
First School Joseph Naper John Naper The First 
Stove Christopher Paine The First Saw-MillHome- 
made Spinning Wheels and Looms Cold Winter of 1830- 
31 Portage to Chicago The Lawtons The Pottawato- 
mies Flight to Fort Dearborn Horrible Massacre at 
Indian Creek Exploits of Col. Beaubien 25 

CHAPTER III. Capt. Paine arrives at the Naper Settlement 
Fort Paine Built James Brown Shot by the Indians 
Expedition to Half Day's Village Maj. William Whistler 
Arrives at Fort Dearborn Oapt. Paine's Company Return 
to Danville Gen. Scott arrives at Chicago The Cholera 
Gen. Scott Encamps on the Desplaiues Gen. Scott at 
Fort Paine Gen. Scott's Army at Rock Island John K. 
Clark Black Hawk Sent to Fortress Monroe His Death 
Poll-Lists The Pre-emption House Claimants The 
Prairie Schooner The First Grist-MillFowler's Grap- 
ple with the Wolf The Pioneer of Pioneers Early 
Preachers 42 

CHAPTER IV. Public Land Surveys The Land Claim Sys- 
temNecessity for the Higher Law The Big Woods 
Claim Protecting Society The Land Pirate Company 
Land Speculators Indian Burying Grounds The Fox 
River Country Method of Grinding Corn Indian Vil- 
lages Indian Agriculture Indian Modes of Travel 
The Country North, East and South of the Du Page Bat- 
tlementsThe Du Page County Society for Mutual Pro- 
tectionThe Hognatorial Council 55 



CHAPTER V. First Introduction of Slavery into the Colony 
of Virginia First Anti-Slavery Literature Southern 
Origin of Anti-Slavery Societies Action of the Quakers 
"The Genius of Universal Emancipation " Early Abo- 
litionistsThe Old Federal Party Origin of the Demo- 
cratic and Whig Parties Origin of the Republican Party 
Gov. Coles Elihu B. Washburne Stephen A. Douglas 
Abraham Lincoln The Western Citizen Introduces 
Abolitionism into Chicago Its Effect Illinois the First 
State to Take Political Action in the Abolition Movement 
John Brown Fort Sumter 68 

CHAPTER VI. Record of Du Pago County in the War of the 

Rebellion 90 

CHAPTER VII. The First Election County Commissioners' 
Court The County Line Surveyed The County Divided 
into Precincts Townships Organized List of County 
and Town Officers Valuation of Taxable Property The 
First Grand Jury Public Schools The Old Stage Coach 
Railroads Removal of the County Seat The County 
Fair Geology of the County 139 

CHAPTER VIII. Milton Township Its First' Settlers 
Wheaton How It Received Its Name The Galena & 
Chicago Union Railroad Churches of Wheaton Pio- 
neer School Stacy's Corners Babcock Grove Prospect 
Park Its Churches 163 

CHAPTER IX Downer's Grove Township The Old Indian 
Boundary Caes Pierce Downer Thomas Andi us 
Chicago Reminiscences The Village of Hinsdalc Brush 
Hill Memories Clarendon Hills Fredericksburg 
Downer's Grove Village An Ox Team Hitched to an 
Oak Log What Grew Out of It The Underground Bail- 
road 194 

CHAPTER X Napcrville Township List of Early Settlers- 
Village of Naperville Churches Schools Manufacto- 
ries The Northwestern College Temperance Move- 
ments Newspapers Fire Department Military Com- 
pany Nurseries The Lodges Bank Stone Quarry 218 

CHAPTER XI. Lisle Township The First Settler His Hardi- 
hood Thanksgiving A Female Pow-wow The Old Grist 
Mill The Chronic Pioneer His Generosity 240 



S66063 



iv 



CONTENTS. 



CHAPTER XII. York Township Origin of Its Name Its 
Early Si-ttlers The Uesplaines Bridged Sun.lay Service 
on Slab Seats The Pioneer School Mistress The Widow- 
er's Cabin Praying Matches Suicide Bursting Forth 
ofaSpring Elmhurst German Evangelical Seminary- 
Lombard 248 

CHAPTEB XIII. Winfleld Township Warrenville Water 
Cresses Their Consequences Newcomers and Distant . 
Neighbors Parties and Raisings Railsplitting Fourth 
of July The Schoolgirl's Handkerchief- The Old Saw- 
Mill The Hotel and Dancing Hall What was in a Trunk 
of Old Papers Churches The Warrenville Academy 
Gary's Mills Methodist Church at the Place A Shylock 
Member Excommunicated Wlnfield Turner Junction 
John B.Turner 255 

CHAPTER XIV. Wayne Township Pioneer Life of Ite Set- 
tlers Corner on Whisky and Its Result Indian Burtal 
Indian Importunity Wolves on the Rampage Going 
to Mill Father Kimball Pioneer School Gimletvillv 
Ite Hopes Dashed to the Ground Hillocks, Spas and 
Rivulets Wayne Station Relics of the Stone Age 268 

CHAPTEB XV. Bloomingdale Township Indian Burying- 
Grounds The Meachams Pioneer Burials Early Road 
Districts Scene in a Sunday Service Tragical Termi- 
nation of a Law Suit School Districts Petrifactions 
Bloomingdale Village Churches Business Men of 
Bloomingdale Roselle Its Business Men Meacham 
Strange Phenomenon on Kelley's Farm 274 

CHAPTER XVI Addiaon Township The Mountain Daisy- 
Indian Encampment The Army Trail The Soldier's 
Grave The Log Cabin Home Talent The German 
Vanguard The Pioneer Tavern The Old Galena Trade 
Salt Creek Francis Hoffman, a Lay Preacher The 
Village of Addison The German Evangelical Teachers' 
Seminary The Orphan Asylum Professional and Busi- 
ness Men of Addison Itasca Its Business Men Lester's 
Bensonville Schools 284 



PAET II. 

BIOGRAPHICAL. PAOI. 

Naperville Township 3 

Milton Township 46 

Downer's Grove Township 77 

Lisle Township 130 

York Township 1S3 

Winneld Township .7. 112 

Wayne Township 195 

Bloomingdale Township 214 

Addison Township 227 



PORTRAITS. 

Albro, Ira 17 

Bates, Gerry , 89 

Bites, Frederick H 117 

Benjamin, R. Y 279 

Blanchard, Walter 99 

Carr, John 107 

Cnrtiss, Samuel 35 

Fischer, Henry D 135 

Graue, Frederick 243 

Greue, Deidrick 261 

Greene, Daniel M 53 

Middaugh, H. C 125 

Patrick, W. K 153 

Robbins, W 81 

Scott, Willard 225 

Smith, John 143 

Struckmann, Deidrich 63 

Thatcher, A. T 45 

Walker, James B 27 

Warne, John 189 

Warne, Sarah 207 

Wheaton.J. C., Sr. 171 

Wiant, Joel 71 



PART I. 



HISTORY OF Du PAGE 




TY, 



CHAPTER I. 



DU PAGE A SPANISH POSSESSION THE FRENCH TAKE POSSESSION OF THE NORTHWEST THE 
COUNTRY COMES UNDER ENGLISH RULE GEORGE ROGERS CLARK TERRITORIAL SUBDI- 
VISIONSFIRST CONVEYANCE OF LAND IN DU PAGE COUNTY THE POTTAW ATOMIES 
GREAT AMERICAN TREATY OF 1833 THE CHICAGOU PORTAGE THE REMOVAL 
OF THE INDIANS THEIR PRESENT CONDITION ORIGIN OF THE NAME 
DU PAGE SPANISH CONQUEST AND ITS AIMS BARON DE CARON- 
DELET THE SPANISH CLOSE THE LOWER MISSISSIPPI 
COUNTY ORGANIZATION AND SUBDIVISION NORTHERN 
LIMITS OF ILLINOIS THE FRENCH TRADERS ACT 
ORGANIZING DU PAGE COUNTY. 

fl ^HE history of the world has a grandeur, 
-L- like a distant landscape too far away for 
the eye to take in its infinite detail such as 
the delicate tracery of plant life or the stub- 
born structures of rock formations which make 
it up. 

But the history of our age, and especially 
our own locality, comes home to us personally. 
Commonplace as it may seem to us now, in 
the distant future, it will help to make up a 
whole; deepening in interest as time chops off 
the centuries, one after another. All great 
men must have a constituency, but little if 
any inferior to themselves in intellect, and it 
is the actions and deeds of the citizen which 
speak through some representative whose 
talent for becoming their advocate has given 
him a famejustly to be shared by his cotern- 



poraries, and of these, county history is to 
speak. They constitute the delicate tracery 
and details of the historic landscape destined 
some day to be as grand as it is distant. 

We propose to give a history of Du Page 
County from the earliest records pertaining to 
it, to the present time. 

Not long ago, comparatively, as to the world's 
chronology, but primitively as to our history, 
this county was lost for want of a suit of 
clothes, nor was it but a small part of the loss 
for such default. The circumstances are these: 
When Columbus was casting about from king 
to king in Europe to obtain patronage where- 
with to pursue his plans of discovery, he had 
dispatched his brother Bartholomew to the 
court of Henry Vllth of England to beg his 
royal favor and material aid. On his way 



14 



HISTORY OF DU PAGE COUNTY. 



The Pottawatomies, or Peuteowatamis as 
they were sometimes called, were found by the 
French adventurers along the shores of Lake 
Michigan when the country was first discovered 
by them. The position they held was a "com- 
manding one as to locality, as it is known that 
their hunting-grounds extended at one time all 
around the Southern extremity of Lake Michi- 
gan, though shared at various times with the j 
Ottawas, the Cherokees and the Miamis. 

When Alouez was exploring the shores and 
islands of Lake Superior, even before the inte- 
rior of the country had been entered except by . 
Nicolet, he met a delegation of 300 Pottawato- 
mies at Chagouamigon (an island in Lake Su- 
perior) as early as 1668. Among them was an 
old man of 100 winters. Says the relation : 
He appears to have been a great " medicine j 
man " among his tribe, and was regarded by 
them as a wonderful prophet. He could fast 
for twenty days, and often saw the Great Spirit. 
This venerable seer died while on the island on 
his visit to Alouez here. 

Father Marquette makes frequent mention of 
the Pottawatomies in his journal, which he 
kept, in the winter of 167475, at " Chicagou, 1 ' 
and to them and the Illinois tribes was he in- 
debted for many acts of kindness extended to 
him during his detention at Chicago on account 
of sickness. 

This tribe continued to be the transcend- 
ent Indian power along the Southern shores 
of Lake Michigan from its first discovery till 
the final removal of all the Indians from the 
country by Col. Russell in 1836. They took 
sides with the British in the war of 1812, and 
struck heavy blows against the Americans in 
that war, of which the massacre at Fort Dear- 
born and other casualties in the early part of 
that war bear testimony. 

They had joined with other tribes in ceding 
six miles square at the mouth of Chicago River 
to the Americans at the treaty of Greenville in 
1795, as already told, and when the progress 



and development of the country demanded fur- - 
ther cessions of territory, it was to them chiefly 
that the Government looked as the highest au- 
thority to apply to for the purchase of needed 
lands. 

As late as 1833, they had only sold to the 
United States Government the small part of 
their Illinois hunting-grounds contained within 
the limits of the treaty of 1816, and up to this 
time they owned, perhaps, in common with the 
Ottawas and Cherokees, all that part of North- 
ern Illinois which lies east of Rock River and 
northwest of the strip of land ceded by the 
three tribes in 1816. Settlers were coming in- 
to the country and staking out their claims, 
knowing full well that the Government would 
soon extinguish the Indian title. 

Under this pressure, the United States Gov- 
ernment summoned the Pottawatomies, Ottawa 
and Chippewa, tribes to a great council to be 
held at Chicago in September, 1833. This was 
the greatest event the little then mushroom 
town had ever seen. Besides the interest the 
Indians felt in the treaty, there were scores of 
white men gathered around the spot to put in 
various speculative claims as to property al- 
leged to have been stolen by the Indians, or to 
bring in enormous charges for services ren- 
dered to the Government by virtue of contracts 
of an indefinite character. 

The Government had made immense prepa- 
rations to feed the Indians, of whom three tribes 
were on the ground with their squaws and pa- 
pooses stretched on boards or slung in pocket- 
shaped blankets. 

After several days of palaver in which the 
whims of the Indians were artfully humored, 
and the bright side of their natures had been 
brought to the front by those arts which had the 
result of years of practice, the Indians finally 
affixed their sign to the treaty, by which they 
sold the entire northeastern portion of Illinois (an 
area embracing more than ten of its present 
counties, among which Du Page was one) to 



HISTORY OF DU PAGE COUNTY. 



15 



the Government. G. B. Porter, Thomas J. V. 
Owen and William Weatherford, in behalf of 
the Government, negotiated the treaty. It 
bears date of Chicago, September 26, 1833. It 
was the last treaty of importance ever held 
with the Indians in the Northwest, and was the 
instrument by which the Indian title to the 
country became extinguished after its joint oc- 
cupation by the red and white races (the latter 
including the French) ever since 1673, more 
than a century and a half. 

At no other place in America had the In- 
dians lingered so long after the advent of the 
whites, and it is not strange that a great variety 
of associations had sprung up between the 
triple alliances of native, French and English 
races, as they had mingled together at the 
" Chicagou " portage. Here was the great carry- 
ing-place between the immense prairie country 
to the southwest, and the lakes and along the 
shores of Lake Michigan, from " Chicagou " to 
the straits. Indian canoes were frequently 
passing to and fro during the summer season, 
and Mud Lake and the Desplaines Eiver was 
in this direct line of travel. The first interest 
that drove the American element to Chicago 
was the Indian trade, and the American Fur 
Company was its first representative. Most of 
those engaged by this company were men bred 
on the frontier, and felt no repugnance toward 
the Indians, but on the contrary not a few felt 
a friendship for them, strengthened by years of 
companionship in the fascinating sports of 
border life, which not only level social distinc- 
tions, but accept a good fellowship through a 
rough exterior, intolerable to the uninitiated 
civilian, whose motto is " the tailor makes the 
man." Many of the Indians could make nice 
discriminations in issues when natural rights 
were at stake, and the higher law to them was 
a tribunal from which there was no appeal. 
This is not too much to say of them till they 
were brutalized by bad whisky, and their morals 
corrupted by the vices without being elevated 



by the virtues of the whites. The former they 
could imitate, but the latter were sealed books 
to them. The amount of goods dispensed to 
them at Chicago to fulfill treaty stipulations, 
was often very large, and in order to distribute 
them equitably, men were chosen for the 
service whose personal acquaintance with the 
Indians would enable them to do it in the most 
satisfactory manner. On these occasions the 
hugh piles of goods, consisting largely of In- 
dian blankets were dispensed by peace-meal 
to the different Indian families, according to 
their necessities, but sometimes a discarded 
Indian lassie, whose place had been substituted 
by a white wife, came in for an extra share of 
finery as an offset for lacerated affections a 
cheap way of satisfying such claims. Nowa- 
days it costs as many thousand dollars as it 
did then yards of cheap broadcloth. 

The removal of the Pottawatomies from the 
country was effected in 1835-36, as before 
stated by Col. J. B. F. Russell. 

Previous to the death of his widow, which 
took place in the present year 1882, she al- 
lowed the writer to take items from her hus- 
band's journal, and the following is one of the 
items : 

" The first party of Indians left Chicago Sep- 
tember 21, 1835, with the Chiefs Robinson, 
Caldwell an.d La Fromborse, and proceeded to 
their place of rendezvous twelve miles from 
Chicago, on the Desplaines a place of meeting 
usual on such occasions. I met them in coun- 
cil and presented to them the object of the 
meeting, and the views of the Government re- 
lative to their speedy removal to their new 
country. They wished to defer answering what 
I had said to them for two days, to which I 
consented. Sunday, 28th, provided teams and 
transportation for the removal of the Indians." 

The journal next proceeds to detail the par- 
ticulars of his thankless toil in satisfying the 
real and whimsical wants of his captious charge, 
who honored him with the appellation of father, 



16 



HISTORY OF DU PAGE COUXTY. 



and vexed him with complaints continually. 
Their course lay westward through Du Page 
County, and their first stopping place was on 
Skunk River, in Iowa. Patogushah started 
with his band to winter at this place. His was 
the first party to start independent of Govern- 
ment assistance. Robinson had command of a 
separate party, Caldwell another, Wabuusie 
another, and Holliday another, and Robert Kin- 
zie and Mr. Kirchival assisted Mr. Russell in 
superintending the whole. Fort Des Moines lay 
on their route to Fort Leavenworth, near which 
was their reservation on the Missouri River. 
They were to draw their supplies from the fort 
as stipulated by the Government at the treaty, 
after the}- had settled themselves in their new 
home adjacent to it. 

Two years after their settlement, owing to 
feelings of hostility which the frontier settlers 
felt toward them, they were removed to Council 
Bluffs, from whence, after remaining a few 
years, they were again removed to the Kansas 
Territory, where they now live, diminished in 
numbers from 5,000 at the time they left Illi- 
nois to less than half that number, but they are 
now in a prosperous condition. The report 
from the office of Indian affairs in Kansas Sep- 
tember 1, 1878, says : " The Pottawatomies 
are advancing in education, morality, Christian- 
ity and self-support. A majority of them have 
erected substantial homes, planted fruit trees, 
and otherwise beautified their surroundings. 
The average attendance at a school which the 
Government has provided for them is twenty- 
nine, from an enrollment of forty-four. The 
school buildings are well supplied with facili- 
ties for boarding and lodging the pupils, and 
also for teaching the females household duties. 

This reservation contains 77,357 acres of laud 
in Jackson County. Their wealth in individual 
property amounts to $241, 650. On their farms 
they have reapers, mowers, planters, cultiva- 
tors, and other agricultural machinery, all of the 
latest approved patterns. Such is the history, 



and present condition of the people we drove 
from the soil of Du Page County, or rather our 
civilization obliged them to sell out to us, in- 
asmuch as we were mutually unendurable to 
each other. The bones of their fathers are 
now a component part of the dust beneath our 
feet, with no stone to perpetuate their memory, 
except those of Alexander Robinson and Sha- 
bonee, both of whom were esteemed by all who 
knew them for their many manly and benevo- 
lent traits of character, and whose lofty virtues 
deserve historic acknowledgment. A tomb- 
stone marks the grave of each, which is still 
beheld with respect by many who well remem- 
ber them. As already stated, ere the Indians 
had left the country, their grounds had begun 
to be claimed by the pioneer settlers, and his 
plowshare had already scarred the soil never 
before turned up to the mellowing influence of 
the sun. 

The Du Page River had, from time imme- 
morial, been a stream well known. It took its 
name from a French trader who settled on this 
stream below the fork previous to 1800. Hon. 
H. W. Blodgett, of Waukegan, informs the 
writer that J. B. Beaubien had often spoken to 
him of the old Frenchman, Du Page, whose sta- 
tion was on the bank of the river, down toward 
its mouth, and stated that the river took its 
name from him. The county name must have 
the same origin. Col. Gurdon S. Hubbard, who 
came into the country in 1818, informs the 
writer that the name Du Page, as applied to the 
river then, was universally known, but the 
trader for whom it was named lived there before 
his time. Mr. Beaubien says it is pronounced 
Du Pazhe (a having the sound of ah, and that 
the P should be a capital). This was in reply 
to Mr. Blodgett's inquiry of him concerning the 
matter. 

The county organization of the great North- 
west grew into, or, rather, was, reduced into its 
present conditions by successive!}- subdividing 
the immense areas over which its first courts 



LIBRARY 

OF THE 

UNIVERSITY OF ILLINOIS 



HISTORY OF DU PAGE COUNTY. 



17 



held jurisdiction after Territories and States 
had been established. 

After the conquest of the Illinois country by 
Gen. George Rogers Clark, in 1778, according to 
the old Virginia claim, the whole Northwest was a 
part of her territory. This claim rested on her 
original charter from King James (which, ac- 
cording to the view taken of it by Thomas 
Paine, was absurd). But, without discussing 
its merits, let us record the commendable part 
this State took to preserve the fruits of Clark's 
conquest. 

In the spring succeeding it (1779), Col. John 
Todd, under a commission from Patrick Henry, 
then Governor of Virginia, came to Vincennes, 
on the Wabash and Kaskaskia, 111. (over both of 
which places the American flag waved), for the 
purpose of establishing a temporary govern- 
ment, according to the provisions of the act of 
the General Assembly of Virginia, bearing date 
of October, 1778. On the 15th of June, 1779, 
he issued the following proclamation : 

ILLINOIS COUNTY, To WIT: 

Whereas, from the fertility and beautiful situation 
of the lands bordering on the Mississippi, Ohio, Illi- 
nois and Wabash Rivers, the taking up of the usual 
quantity of land heretofore allowed for a settlement 
by the Government of this country: 

I do therefore issue this proclamation, strictly en- 
joining all persons whatsoever from making any new 
settlements upon the flat lands of the said rivers or 
within one league of said lands, unless in manner 
and form of settlements as heretofore made by the 
French inhabitants, until further orders herein 
given. And in order that all the claims to lands in 
said county may be fully known, and some method 
provided for perpetuating by record the just claims, 
every inhabitant is required, as soon as conven- 
iently may be, to lay before the person, in each 
district appointed for that purpose, a memorandum 
of his or her laud, with copies of all their vouchers; 
and when vouchers have never been given or are 
lost, such depositions or certificates as will tend to 
support their claims the memorandum to mention 
the quantity of land, to whom originally granted, 
and when; deducing the title through the various 
occupants to the present possessor. The number of 
adventurers who will shortly overrun this country 



renders the above method necessary, as well to as- 
certain the vacant lands as to guard against tres- 
passes, which will probably be committed on lands 
not on record. 

Given under my hand and seal at Kaskaskia the 
15th day of June, in the third year of the Common- 
wealth, 1779. JOHN TODD, JR. 

The foregoing is the first official act of 
the Americans to organize civil government 
over the Northwest. The Virginia cession of 
1784, rendered it a nullity, and the entire coun- 
try with its 2,000 French^inhabitants, and its 
10,000 Indian population was virtually under 
no national jurisdiction during a period of 
several years. 

Even when St. Clair was appointed Gov- 
ernor in 1787, the English still held possession 
of Detroit, Michilimadnac, St. Joseph on Lake 
Michigan, Prairie du Chien and Sandusky, 
and contrary to treaty stipulations, retained 
these posts till July, 1796. This retention did 
not bring on any conflict of authority between 
St. Clair and Lord Dorchester, who then, as 
Governor of Canada, extended his rule over all 
the towns on the upper lakes, and Oswego on 
Lake Ontario. The reason for this was because 
Washington gave instructions to St. Clair to do 
nothing which might offend the English, but 
wait until amicable negotiations should secure 
our rights. The attitude of Spain was then a 
constant menace and threat against the North- 
west. This power held the mouth of the Mis- 
sissippi River, and all the Territory on its west 
side indefinitely perhaps to the Pacific coast, 
(if she could circumvent the English in her 
claims to what she ultimately held there). Early 
in 1779, war was declared between these two 
powers ; and the Spanish of St. Louis, in their 
zeal to strike a blow at the English, formed an 
expedition against the British post at St. Joseph, 
under command of Capt. Don Eugenio Pierre. 
It started January 2, 1781, with a force of 
sixty-five men, surprised and took the place, 
and by virtue of this conquest made an attempt 
(absurd as it was fruitless) to annex the terri- 



18 



HISTORY OF DU PAGE COUXTY. 



tory intervening to Spain, which would be all 
Northern Illinois. Balked in this attempt at 
the treaty of Paris, which established the Mis- 
sissippi as our Western boundary, Spain sub- 
sequently closed the port of New Orleans 
against the commerce of the Northwest, and 
contrary to treaty stipulations of 1795, retained 
possession of Natchez and one other port on 
the east bank of the Mississippi, at the same 
time forbidding the navigation of the river to 
the western people, except on condition that 
they would secede from the Atlantic States 
and make themselves an independent nation 
under protection of the Spanish Government. 
These were the conditions on which they might 
secure the Mississippi as a thoroughfare to the 
seas. 

Gen. James Wilkinson, after the death of 
Gen. Wayne, succeeded to the command of the 
United States forces in the West, and to him 
the Baron de Carondelet, the Spanish Govern- 
or of Louisiana, sent a messenger named Thomas 
Powers, with a request that he would send no 
force against the posts on the east bank of the 
Mississippi, held by Spain, but would wait for 
the delivery of the posts till the matter could 
be negotiated amicably. Powers, at the same 
time, tried to bribe the people of the Northwest 
to declare themselves independent, and offered 
them $100,000 and the free navigation of the 
Mississippi if they would do so a paltry sum 
whereby to corrupt a State, even if the State 
were capable of the treachery, and its record 
serves rather to reveal the low Spanish esti- 
mate of patriotism than any honor of which an 
American need be proud, for having rejected 
the bribe. Orders were issued for the arrest of 
Powers, as soon as the nature of his mission 
became known to Washington, but he evaded 
pursuit and found his way back to his master, 
the feeble old dotard, who was Spanish Gov- 
ernor of New Orleans at the time. 

Great as his folly was in attempting to divide 
the union of the States, the matter was a cause 



of much solicitude and anxiety in the minds of 
our statesmen at the time, and it required their 
utmost exertions to prevent armed expeditions 
from the Northwest from going down the 
river and forcing a passage to the gulf. John 
Jaj*, one of our ablest men, counseled mod- 
eration, under an assurance that by waiting 
a short time, the force of events would secure 
our rights without war. These rights on 
the Lower Mississippi were not secured fully 
till 1798, during the summer of which year 
the Spaniards reluctantly gave up their 
forts on the east bank of the Mississippi, 
and Gen. Wilkinson erected Fort Adams on the 
spot occupied by one of them, which was just 
above the thirty-first degree of north latitude. 
From that time henceforward, the navigation 
of the Mississippi was never closed against the 
commerce of the Northwest, till by the rebels 
in 1861, who kept it closed three years, when 
by the courage of not a few Du Page County 
soldiers, with others, it was opened. 

It has already been stated that the whole 
Illinois country had been officially organized 
as Illinois County by action of the Governor of 
Virginia in 1779, which became annulled in 
1784 when that State ceded the Northwest to 
the United States. 

Then there followed a hiatus in organized 
government here till St. Clair, who was ap- 
pointed Governor in 1787, had established 
courts in the Northwest the next year, in 1788. 
These courts did not extend their jurisdiction 
to the Illinois country till 1790, at which time 
Illinois Territory became organized as one of 
the four counties in the Northwest, and was 
named St. Clair County, and was represented 
in the Territorial Legislature held at Fort 
Washington (Cincinnati), by Shadrack Bond. 

On May 7, 1800. when the Territory of In- 
diana was set off, which embraced both of the 
present States of Illinois and Indiana, the same 
genera] laws which had hitherto prevailed in 
the Northwest were continued in operation in 



HISTORY OF DU PAGE COUXTY. 



19 



Indiana Territory, and no civil subdivisions into 
new counties were made, till the 28th of April, 
1809, at which time Illinois Territory was set 
off and divided into two counties Randolph 
and St. Clair by Nathaniel Pope, Secretary 
under Ninian Edwards, its Governor. 

St. Clair County embraced its Northern por- 
tion, including the present county of Du Page, 
which then had only transient white inhabitants 
in the employ of French fur traders. 

The next change in counties made was Sep- 
tember 14, 1812, when Governor Edwards es- 
tablished the county of Madison, which em- 
braced the whole portion of the territory north 
of a line extending along the south side of the 
present county of Madison due eastwardly to 
the Wabash River, which included the present 
county of Du Page. 

No further civil divisions were made while 
Illinois remained a territory, but an issue came 
up, on bringing it into the Union, of vital im- 
portance not only to the locality of Du Page 
and its adjacent counties, but to the nation 
itself. 

The terms by which the Northwest was 
ceded by Virginia to the United States pro- 
vided for the number of States into which it 
might be subdivided, which was to be five at 
most, and the ordinance also provided that in 
the event of five States being made of the ter- 
ritory, two should be constituted out of the 
territory north of a due east and west line 
drawn through the territory, intersecting the 
southern extremity of Lake Michigan. 

This being the law, the people of Illinois 
had no expectation that the northern boundary 
of the State could go farther north than this 
point when it should apply for admission into 
the Union. Wisconsin Territory had already 
been set off in 1805, with its southern limits 
on a line due west from the southern limits of 
the lake, in accordance with what nobody had 
yet questioned as the construction of the law. 

Thus matters stood when it was proposed to 



bring Illinois Territory into the Union, in 
1818. Judge Nathaniel Pope then analyzed 
the whole situation, and, by the force of his 
logic, explained away the legal objections to 
the extension of the State of Illinois to a 
point farther north than the act of cession 
from Virginia had provided as just told. 

First let us state his arguments for the 
change, and these were the substance of them : 
Lake Michigan, connected by water communi- 
cation with the Eastern States, and indissolu- 
bly bound the interests of the country 
adjacent to it to them. The Mississipppi 
River and its tributaries exerted the same in- 
fluence in a southern direction with the 1 South. 
Give Illinois a good frontage on Lake Michi- 
gan, with the port of Chicago the terminus of 
the canal to be built, and a mighty State would 
be formed, holding the destinies of both sec- 
tions within its grasp the middle link in the 
chain, and the strongest one. Here was an 
object worth working for, and he laid the case 
before Congress to bring it about. He con- 
tended that Illinois could claim the whole of 
Wisconsin if Congress chose to give her such 
dimensions, inasmuch as the ordinance left it 
optional with the United States to divide the 
territory into only three States, in which case 
Indiana must reach from the Ohio River to the 
British possessions, and Illinois from Cairo to 
the British possessions. But that Wisconsin 
was powerless to establish a boundary which 
should conflict with the powers of the United 
States, who had power to embrace her whole 
area within the limits of Illinois. He carried 
his measure through both Houses, and the 
northern line of Illinois was established on the 
parallel of 42 30', where it now is. If he 
had failed in this, Du Page County would now 
have been a part of Wisconsin, and perhaps 
Illinois would not have had so strong a Union 
element when the issue came up in 1861 
whether the United States was to be divided or 
rent in two. 



20 



HISTORY OF DU PAGE COUNTY. 



The following are Judge Pope's words on 
the subject, which, as we look back upon the 
events which have since taken place, seem to 
have been prophetic : " A very large com- 
merce of the Center and South would be found 
both upon the lakes and upon the rivers. As- 
sociations in business, in interest and of friend- 
ship would be formed, both with the North and 
the South. A State thus situated, having such 
a decided interest in the commerce and in the 
preservation of the whole confederacy, can 
never consent to disunion ; for the Union 
cannot be dissolved without a division and 
disruption of the State itself." 

Du Page County is a part of this strip of 
laud, the title of which was held in dispute be- 
tween the States of Illinois and Wisconsin, and 
on the decision of the issue which decided the 
question of ownership to it, being a momentous 
one ; for it must not be forgotten that when the 
" tug of war " came in the Legislature of the 
State as to vital questions on sustaining the 
Union, the loyalists had nothing to spare in or- 
der to turn the scale, and then it was that the 
influence of the part of the State which laid be- 
tween its northern line and a line drawn due 
west from the southern limits of Lake Michigan, 
suddenly arose into prominence, and verified 
the arguments that Judge Pope made in 1818 
in favor of the line of 42 30', as the northern 
line of the State ; and here it should not be 
omitted, that the influence of our Mr. Lincoln 
himself, potent as it was, in the immaculate 
foot-prints which he had left behind in the State, 
before he left it for the White House, though it 
had an equal share with the northern tier of 
counties in preserving the unconditional loyalty 
of the State, was barely sufficient. These remin- 
iscences are no dream ; they are founded on 
reality, and must ever stand as a memento that 
our county, together with adjacent ones, was in 
that crisis the local hinge on which the issue 
turned, and to record this in history is but an 
act of justice. 



Crawford County was among the first organ- 
ized on the admission of the State into the 
Union, and included all the territory north of 
its present locality. It was soon reduced in its 
area by the organization of Clark County, whose 
dimensions extended from its present boundary 
over the entire northern part of the State like 
its predecessor, which had in turn been laid out 
on a grand scale, and reduced in proportion as 
the progress of settlements had made it neces- 
sar3 r to subdivide the great northern wilderness 
into new counties. 

The next change in counties affecting the 
northern part of the State was January 31, 
1821, under Gov. Bond, at which time Pike 
County was organized, which took in all the ter- 
ritory in the State north of the southern line of 
the present Pike County, the Illinois and the 
Kankakee Rivers. 

Du Page was then a part of Pike County till 
the 28th of January, 1823, when the county of 
Fulton was established, comprising all of Pike 
County except the portion south of the north 
line of the present Fulton County, which change 
brought Du Page under the jurisdiction of Ful- 
ton County, of which Lewistown was the county 
seat. 

All these civil changes were previous to any 
permanent white settlement, and there is no 
record that any of the traders or Indians whose 
erratic habits gave a temporary residence in 
what is now our county, ever applied to the 
constituted authorities for any purpose. Why 
should they ? If any of the traders had a dis- 
pute, they settled it on the spot, perhaps by a 
" knock down argument," or if they wanted to 
marry any of the brunette beauties of the prai- 
rie, first they must be accomplished in the 
manly arts of hunting, or their chances would 
be slender of winning them. Next (to do the 
Indians justice), if any of the daughters of 
the higher-minded class of Indians had made 
themselves indispensable to the happiness of 
any of the traders, either French or American, 



HISTORY OF DU PAGE COUNTY. 



21 



it required no small measure of circumspec- 
tion to gain the father's consent to the marriage, 
and to do this a sound body and a reasonable 
discrimination of the principles of justice on 
the part of the suitor was necessary. 

These essentials being satisfactorily ar- 
ranged, the marriage itself was only a promise 
of fidelity on both sides, and did not in the es- 
timation of these sons of the wilderness need 
the record of official authority either to make 
it binding or to strengthen its force. A few of 
these marriages were permanent, and the writer 
has interviewed the offspring of some of them 
who are now esteemed members of society 
amongst us. 

Peoria County was the next civil division 
under which Du Page fell. It was organized 
June 13, 1825, with the following boundaries: 
" Beginning where the line between Town- 
ships 11 and 12 north intersects the Illinois 
River ; thence west with said line to. the range 
line between Ranges 4 and 5 east ; thence 
south with said line to the range line between 
Townships 7 and 8 ; thence east to the line be- 
tween Ranges 5 and 6 ; thence south to the 
middle of the main channel of the Illinois 
River ; thence up along the middle of the 
main channel of said river to the place of be- 
ginning." On the 7th of December, thecounty 
was divided into three Election Precincts, of 
which Alexander Woolcott, John Kinzie and 
John Baptiste Beaubien were Judges. 

John Dixon was Clerk of the county, and so 
remained till his resignation, May 1, 1830, when 
Stephen Stillman was appointed. 

Cook was the next organized county of the 
now reduced area of Northern Illinois wilder- 
ness. It took in at first the present counties 
of Lake, McHenry, Will. Du Page and Iroquois, 
the act organizing it bearing date of March 1, 
1831. It had three voting precincts the Chi- 
cago, the Hickory Creek and the Du Page, the 
latter of which included the present county of 
Du Page and portions of Will. 



On the 8th of the same month. Samuel Miller 

7 ) 

Gohlson Kircheval and James Walker were 
sworn in as Commissioners, who promptly pro- 
ceeded to legislate for the wholesome regula- 
tion of the infant county. Prominent among 
the laws they passed were those regulating the 
prices of spirituous liquors, which they took as 
good care should not be extortionate, as did 
the French Revolutionists the price of bread 
during the Jacobin Reign of Terror in Prance. 
It was "ordered that the following rates be 
allowed to tavern-keepers, to wit : Each half 
pint of wine, rum or brandy, 25 cents ; each 
pint of wine, rum or brandy, 37 cents ; each 
half pint of gin. 18| cents ; pint of gin, 31 
cents ; gill of whisky, 6^ cents ; half pint of 
whisky, 12 cents ; pint of whisky, 18f cents. 
For each breakfast and supper, 25 cents ; each 
dinner, 37 cents ; each horse feed, 25 cents ; 
keeping horse one night, 50 cents ; lodging for 
each man per night, 12 cents ; for cider or 
beer, one pint, 6J cents ; one quart of cider or 
beer, 12 cents." 

The Commissioners also soon issued permits 
to Alexander Robinson, J. B. Beaubein and 
Madore Beaubein to sell goods, who, added 
to six merchants already established in the 
county, made nine. From the records of the same 
year, 1831, subsequent to those already men- 
tioned, appears the name of Joseph Naper, of 
Naper settlement, who, it appears, was then a 
licensed merchant and the first in the present 
county of Du Page. 

Such are the first laws ever enacted to pre- 
vail over this county after settlers came to it. 
At that time, Chicago, Canal Port, Naperville, 
Desplaines, Keepotaw and Thornton, were re- 
ported as the towns of Cook County. It was 
named after Daniel P. Cook, the same who, with 
the election of Shadrack Bond for Governor, in 
1818, had been elected Attorney General. To 
him the country along the canal owes a lasting 
obligation. At a session of the Legislature, 
January 17, 1825, a law was passed iucorpo- 



HISTORY OF DU PAGE COUNTY. 



rating the Illinois & Michigan Canal Associa- 
tion, with full power to build the canal. By 
the seventh section of their charter, it was pro- 
vided that all immunities, etc., hitherto made 
by the General Government to facilitate the 
building of the canal, should revert to the asso- 
ciation to which the State had granted the char- 
ter to build it. This excess of State authority 
to dispose of the large amount of land (every 
alternate section of a strip six miles wide on 
each side of the canal, which the Government had 
given to aid in building it), by placing the lands 
at the disposal of a private company, was not 
looked upon with favor by the General Govern- 
ment, and, had it not been for the efforts of Mr. 
Cook, the State would have lost the lands, and 
the canal project would have been indefinitely 
postponed. He was then Member of Congress, 
and, seeing the danger, he used his powerful in- 
fluence among his constituents to have the act 
repealed which the State had passed. In this 
he was successful, and the corporations were 
obliged to surrender their charter. 

We come now to the organization of Du Page 
County the last subdivision of Cook. In 1 838, 
this was considered and talked over by the peo- 
ple, and a plan to make four counties out of 
the area of Cook was looked upon with favor. 
To effect this object, committees were appointed 
from each respective locality proposed as the 
territory to be occupied by them. 

It was first proposed by the Commissioners 
to create one county of nine townships in the 
northwest corner of Cook, which, had it been 
done, would have taken the three present town- 
ships, viz., Wayne, Bloomingdale and Addison, 
together with the present townships of Hanover, 
Schaumberg, Elk Grove, Barrington, Palatine 
and Wheeling in Cook, for one of the four new 
counties. Du Page County was to come im- 
mediately south of this, and take in nine town- 
ships, in which case Naperville would have 
been not very distant from the center of the 
county. 



For some cause not known to the writer, the 
Commissioners appointed to mature this plan of 
subdividing Cook County never met at the ap- 
pointed place of rendezvous, which was to have 
been at a certain hotel in Chicago. The conse- 
quence was, the subject of setting-off Du Page 
County came before the Legislature under differ- 
ent forms, and the action of that body specified 
the limits of the county according to the act of 
which the following is a copy : 

SECTION 1. Be it enacted by tfte people of the 
State of Illinois represented in the General Assem- 
bly : That all of that tract of country lying within 
the following boundaries, to wit: Commencing on 
the east line of Kane County at the division line 
between Sections 18 and 19, in Township 37 north, of 
Range 9 east, of the Third Principal Meridian, pur- 
suing the same line eastward until it strikes the 
Desplaines River; thence following the said river up 
to the range line between Township 11 and 12 east, 
of the Third Principal Meridian; thence north on 
said line to the township line between 40 and 41; 
thence west on said line to the east line of Kane 
County; thence south on the east line of Kane 
County to the place of beginning, shall constitute a 
new county by the name of Du Page; provided al- 
ways that no part of the county above described, 
now forming a part of Will County, shall be in- 
cluded within the said county of Du Page, unless 
the inhabitants now residing in said part of Will 
County shall, by a vote to be given by them at the 
next August election, decide by a majority of legal 
voters that they prefer to have the said territory 
make a part of the said county of Du Page. 

SEC. 2. An election shall be held at the Pre- 
emption House, in Naperville, on the first Monday 
in May, next, by the qualified voters of said county, 
for county officers, who, when qualified, shall hold 
their offices until the next general election ; said 
election shall be conducted and returns thereof 
made to the Clerk of the County Commissioners' 
Court of Cook County, as in other cases, and said 
Clerk shall give certificates of election; and when 
said County Commissioners shall be elected and 
qualified, the said county of Du Page shall be duly 
organized. S. M. Skinner, Stephen J. Scott and 
Loren J. Butler, are hereby appointed Judges of 
said election. 

SEC. 3. Said county of Du Page shall be at- 
tached to the Seventh Judicial District, and the 



HISTORY OF DU PAGE COUNTY. 



23 



Judge of said circuit shall fix the terms of said 
court therein, two of which shall be held in said 
county annually at Naperville, where the County 
Commissioners may direct, until the county build- 
ings are completed. 

SEC. 4. For the purpose of locating the per- 
manent seat of justice for said county of Du Page, 
the following-named persons are hereby appointed 
Commissioners, to wit: Ralph Woodruff, of La 
Salle County; Seth Read, of Kane County, and 
Horatio G. Loomis, of Cook, who, or a majority of 
them, shall meet at the Pre-emption House, in Na- 
perville, on the first Monday of June, or within 
thirty days thereafter, and first being duly sworn by 
some Justice of the Peace, shall proceed to locate 
the seat of justice for said county at the most eligi- 
ble and convenient point, provided the said Com- 
missioners shall obtain for the county from the 
claimant a quantity of land, not less than three 
acres, and $3,000 for the purpose of erecting county 
buildings, which sum shall be secured to the County 
Commissioners and paid out under their direction 
for the purposes aforesaid. 

SEC. 5. The Commissioners appointed to locate 
said county seat, shall each be allowed the sum of 
$3 per day for each day by them necessarily em- 
ployed in the performance of that duty, to be paid 
out of the treasury of said county. 

SEC. 6. The qualified voters of the county of 
Du Page, in all elections except county elections, 
shall vote with the district to which they belong 
until the next apportionment, and shall in all 
respects be entitled to the same privileges and rights 
as in general belong to the citizens of other counties 
in this State. WILLIAM L. D. Ewrso, 

Speaker of the Home of Representatives. 
8. H. ANDERSON, 

Speaker of the Senate. 

Approved February 9, 1839. 

THO. CARLIN. 



STATE OF ILLINOIS, ) 

OFFICE OF SECRETARY OF STATE, ( 
I, Alexander P. Field, Secretary of State, do here- 
by certify the foregoing to be a true and perfect 
copy of "An act to create the county of Du Pa?e," 
now on file in my office. In testimony whereof I 
have hereunto set my hand and the seal of State at 
Vandalia February 18, 1839. 

[L. s.] A. P. FIELD, 

Secretary of State. 

Previous to the passage of this act, there had 
been considerable canvassing of public opinion 



as to the division of Cook County, and among 
those who took part in this discussion was Mr. 
J. Filkins, who owned property in Wheeling- 
the northern part of Cook County. His plan, 
as well as that of many others, was to create a 
count}- in the northern part of Cook, which should 
include the present three northern townships of 
Du Page County, with Wheeling for the count} 1 
seat, and in accordance with this proposition, a 
representative from Naperville and one from 
the southeastern part of Cook County had 
agreed to meet at a certain hotel in Chicago to 
agree on some concert of action in the matter. 
The Naperville representative was promptly at 
the place of rendezvous, but the others did not 
attend, and no systematic plan of action was 
determined on. 

Pending these ambitious schemes, which 
local interests as well as real necessities set on 
foot, the citizens of Chicago were in a flutter 
of perturbation lest they should lose some of 
their territory, doubtless feeling their ability 
to govern more instead of being shorn of a part 
of what they then had. 

A convention now being about to assemble 
at Vandalia, to take into consideration plans 
for public improvements, it was necessary for 
the Chicagoans to call a public meeting to 
appoint delegates to attend it. Such a call at 
Chicago would then, as well as now, bring out 
their big guns as well as a full regiment of 
small arms to make a rattle of musketry after 
the cannons had been shot off ; or, in other 
words, to do the cheering after the orators had 
spoken. In obedience to the call, a meeting 
assembled on the 3d of December. 1836, and, 
as the pith of a woman's letter may be found 
in the postscript, so the chief object for which 
this meeting was called, was reserved for the 
closing business. After a few vehement speech- 
es had been made, the animus of which was 
to protest against any further division of Cook 
County, resolutions were adopted in accord- 
ance with these sentiments, and a committee 



34 



HISTORY OF DU PAGE COUNTY. 



of three was appointed to circulate a petition to 
be sent to the Legislature, expressive of the will 
of the people of Cook Count}- on the subject. 

Unfortunately for the people of Chicago, 
Joseph Naper was then representing Cook 
County in the Legislature, and it was like strik- 
ing on a drum that wouldn't sound, to talk 
"such stuff" to him. He himself was a power, 
and two of the most influential members 
of the Senate were his strong friends. One of 
these was Peter Cartwright, of Carlinville, who 
had all the Methodists in the State at his back, 
and the other was old John Barker, from Union 
County, who was regarded by the Egyptians 
as a host. 

Nothing more was heard about the county 
to be set off from the northern part of Cook 
it being probably thought best not to amputate 
another limb from her body at that time. 

It is worthy of record that of the committee 
appointed at the Chicago meeting, Gurdon S. 
Hubbard was one, but for some reason best 
known to himself, he declined to serve. Per- 
haps Mr. Hubbard, in advance of any of the 
rest, saw the impolicy as well as impractica- 
bility of the scheme in question. He came to 
Chicago in 1818, and is still an active man at 
the place, which has grown from a post of the 
American Fur Company to what it now is under 
his eye. As might be supposed, the petition 
was like seed sown in stony ground. 

In due course of legislation, Du Page County 
was organized as per the act already stated, the 
first section of which gave the inhabitants of 
the three northern tiers of sections in Will 
County, the power to choose by a popular vote> 
in the following August, to which county they 
would belong. Had the election taken place 
immediately, it is almost certain that the people 
of the territory in question would have annexed 
themselves to Du Page County, to whose inter- 
ests at Naperville the}' had been allied by his- 
toric as well as social relations from the first; 
but the time between the passage of the 



act and the August election, which was to cast 
the die, was utilized by the Will County inter- 
ests and a formidable opposition to the Du 
Page interests was the result. To add to the 
discomfiture of the Du Page advocates, some 
one brought a bottle of whisky into the arena 
on election day, which roused the indignation 
of the teetotalers of the Will County interests, 
and brought out their full force with their 
thunder thrown in. 

The autumn sun dipped into the western 
green, the polls were closed, votes counted, 
and one majority for Will County was the re- 
sult. There wasn't much poetry about the 
canvass. It need not be claimed that Johnny, 
with the love of his inamorata in his heart, 
voted to please his would-be father-in-law or 
any such kind of moonshine. It was a sharply 
defined local and temporal issue, and for a 
small one, large results have grown out of it ; 
for had the county limits extended south of 
Naperville, as the original bill intended, no 
attempt would ever have been made to re- 
move the county seat, or if made, would not 
have been successful. 

The parties authorized by the fourth section 
of the act creating the new county to locate 
the county seat, met on the 17th of June, 1839, 
at the Pre-emption House in Naperville, and lo- 
cated it at that place. At the same time, a 
deed was executed to the county of an undi- 
vided half of the public square on which the 
county buildings were erected the same year 
by voluntary subscription from the citizens of 
Naperville to the amount of $5,000. Subse- 
quently, the small brick buildings were built for 
storing the records, etc. 

In vain may the records of any State in the 
Union be searched for a parallel in eventful 
epochs involving vital political questions which 
locally came up within their jurisdiction as has 
been thrust upon the State of Illinois, and the 
country around Chicago has been the pivot 
upon which these issues have turned. This is 



HISTORY OF DU PAGE COUNTY. 



25 



only a just conclusion to deduce from the events 
of this chapter. The next will begin with the 
pioneer work begun in Du Page County under 
a new order of things destined to subordinate 
wild nature to the uses of man, and reproduce 
old-settled and time-honored institutions on a 



generous scale, there to multiply under the 
fostering hand of nature. This has been done, 
but let us take a retrospective view of the proc- 
ess by which it was accomplished while the 
living witnesses of it are still on the historic 
stand to testify. 



CHAPTER II. 



THE PIONEER STEPHEN J. SCOTT THE SCOTT SETTLEMENT BLODGETT HAULEY BAILEY HOB- 
SON, THE FIRST SETTLER OF DU PAGE COUNTY BUILDING THE FIRST CABIN CROSSING A 
SLOUGH WILLIARD SCOTT SOCIAL ENTERTAINMENTS CORN PANCAKES THE 
NAPERS FIRST GROUND PLOWED THE FIRST SCHOOL JOSEPH NAPER JOHN 
NAPER THE FIRST STOVE CHRISTOPHER PAINE THE FIRST SAW-MILL 
HOME-MADE SPINNING WHEELS AND LOOMS COLD WINTER OF 1830-31 
PORTAGE TO CHICAGO-THE LAWTONS-THE POTTAWATOMIES 
FLIGHT TO FORT DEARBORN HORRIBLE MASSACRE 
AT INDIAN CREEK EXPLOITS OF COL. BEAUBIEN. 



~TT"7"ITHIN the memory of men now living j 
VV the whole of Du Page County was an 
immaculate tablet on which to make the first 
footprints of progress in the form of agricult- 
ure, architecture and public works. In ancient 
times, when new countries were settled, it was 
done by nations who sent out colonies under 
the especial guardianship of a king's viceroy, 
and this was the case with the first new coun- 
tries settled in America from Europe. All 
this became changed when the American nation 
became the owner of the vast plains of the 
West. Then settlements began to be made on 
private account for the first time in the world's 
history, and such a conception of human rights 
put in such universal practice, as it was here, 
brought into being a class of men different from 
any hitherto known. They were the creation 
of their period in their habits, character and 
their self-sustaining powers. They valued 
themselves not for what their fathers had been, 
but for what they themselves were. It takes a 
few generations for mental force to gather and 
turn the thoughtsof men into new channels, and, 



by the time Northern Illinois was settled, the 
thoroughbred pioneer, in his floodtide of glory, 
came upon the scene. He is the man referred 
to the incarnation of freedom in its broadest 
sense, the man who is a law unto himself, who 
takes a short cut to the ends of justice regard- 
less of technicalities ; the man who evinces 
himself more by what he does than by what he 
says, and scorns unfair distinctions not based 
on merit. 

To describe the American pioneer would re- 
quire the imagery of romance and the force of 
the drama. Behold him, as he turns his face to 
the West, his gun on his shoulder, his dog by 
his side, his horses harnessed to the wagon 
that contains his household goods, his wife and 
babies, behind which follow at a slow pace his 
cattle, driven by his young sons, whose keen 
eyes often dart their irrepressible humor from 
beneath a tattered hat brim. This is the true 
pioneer. His step is firm*; his glance is keen ; 
his whole appearance commands respect, 
though his garments may be of the coarsest 
stuff. To him belongs a singular fame, for he 



26 



HISTORY OF DU PAGE COUNTY. 



is the first to lay the dimension stone of 
a social fabric which is to grow up where 
he plants the seed, and become a lasting mon- 
ument to perpetuate his memory. 

The first of these pioneers who became ulti- 
mate residents of Du Page County were Steph- 
en J. Scott, who came with his family from 
Maryland, and made a claim on the lake shore 
just north of the present site of Evanston, in 
1826. The place was then and is still known 
as Grose Point. It is an elevated sand ridge, 
making an abrupt bank on Lake Michigan, but 
not composed of a soil adapted to the growth 
of the cereals, which is probably the reason 
why Mr. Scott left the place and took up a 
claim at the fork of the west branch of Du 
Page River, which he did in the autumn of 
1830, with his family, among whom were his 
sons, Willard and Willis. 

This became known as the Scott settlement, 
and was the first beginning made which drew 
to the place other settlers. Its locality was 
just south of the Du Page County line in the 
present county of Will, but accretions to it 
soon extended up the stream, within the pres- 
ent limits of the county. 

Early in the following June, 1831, Isaac P. 
Blodgett came from Amherst, Hampshire Co., 
Mass., and settled at the fork, his son Henry, 
now Judge Blodgett, of Chicago, being then 
nine years old. 

Pierce Hawley also came to the place about 
the same time, and, in the summer of the next 
year, 1831, Robert Strong, Rev. Isaac Scarrett 
Capt. Henry Boardman and Isaac Stockwell 
came to the Scott settlement, and became per- 
manentlj' identified with the interests of what 
was then known as the Du Page Country. 
These were near neighbors to the settlement 
began the same year just above them on the 
Du Page, and soon fye little gap of unclaimed 
land that intervened between them was filled 
up with new-couiers. 

But the first actual settler in the county now 



named Du Page was Bailej r Hobson. His 
widow is still living in Naperville, and the 
following is a brief narrative of the events of 
her experiences in coming to the place, as re- 
ported to the writer in June, 1882. 

Mrs. Clarinda Hobson was born in Georgia 
in December, 1804. The family emigrated to 
Orange County, Ind., in 1812, where she 
was married to Mr. Hobson in 1821. In 1830, 
they removed to the present site of New- 
ark, 111., remaining there the succeeding 
winter, when, in the following November 
of the same year, Mr. Hobson went to the 
Du Page River, about two miles below the 
present site of Naperville, and marked out 
his claim, consisting of about five hundred acres, 
lying on both sides of the river. This done, he 
returned to his temporary home to make the 
necessary preparations for building a habitation 
on his Du Page River claim. To this end, he 
again went to the place with a load of shakes 
(clapboards) with which to make a roof for his 
intended cabin, and a hired man accompanied 
him to help cut and haul to the ground the logs 
necessary for its walls. They had only worked 
one day, when the cold was so intense they 
were obliged to abandon their plans and turn 
their course toward home, which they reached 
in safety after two days' toiling over the bleak 
prairie with an ox team. 

With the opening of March, 1831, the work 
was again resumed by sending Lewis Stewart, 
brother of Mrs. Hobson, to the place to cut the 
logs for the cabin, while Mr. Hobson himself 
was to follow with the ox team and wagon 
loaded with their household goods. A new 
dilemma now arose. More than a hundred In- 
dians had just encamped hard by their house 
for the purpose of making maple sugar in an 
adjacent grove, and she dare not stay with her 
five children alone in their midst. Meantime, 
her husband's duties were imperative. He must 
go to the new home to get the house ready for 
the opening of spring. . . . 



LIBRARV 

OF THE 

UNIVERSITY OF ,, UNO|S 



HISTORY OF DU PAGE COUXTY. 



29 



In this emergency, Mrs. Hobson formed the 
resolution to transport her family to a small 
settlement a few miles distant at what was then 
called Weeds', and now Hollenback's Grove. 
Besides the family, were two horses and four- 
teen head of cattle, the same stock that had 
been driven from their home in Indiana. Ac- 
cordingly, her husband started off with their 
furniture, and she, with the family and their 
flock, by a different route, to reach a temporary 
abiding place. On the way, she had a danger- 
ous slough to cross, where the track was buried 
beneath the flood, so deep that she dare not 
trust her little ones on the horse alone, buttook 
them across one or two at a time on her own 
horse and set them on the opposite bank till 
they were all safely landed. The fourteen cattle 
were then driven over and all herded safely in 
the grove, where they were kept on browse and 
what grass they could find on the early spring 
sward. Here she remained awaiting her hus- 
band's return to take the family and their stock 
to their new home. 

A few da} - s brought this about, notwithstand- 
ing the hardships he had encountered in camp- 
ing out on the open prairie on his way, and 
other discomforts not easily imagined by those 
who read of them nowadays. March was nearly 
spent when they arrived at their home. It was 
a rough log cabin with a puncheon floor, but 
no windows. The lack of them was the smallest 
of their grievances, for the unchinked crevices 
between the logs let in light enough. 

Willard, the son of Stephen J. Scott, who had 
recently married the oldest daughter of Mr. 
Hawlej', was then living in the same log cabin 
with his father, and their families being the 
nearest neighbors to the Hobson family, occa- 
sional visits were made between them, and the 
hospitalities of the wilds exchanged in true pio- 
neer style. Their entertainments did not con- 
sist of the modern aesthetic styles of serving 
their dishes, or of the epicurian qualities of 
them, but were simplified down to actual ne- 



cessities. Corn seems to have constituted their 
entire material for bread ; nor had they vege- 
tables or fruits the first year, and the corn it- 
self was in the ear, as it grew at Weeds' (now 
Holderman's) Grove, from whence it had to be 
transported by ox teams. 

The problem now was how to convert it into 
meal, the solution of which, however, did not 
task the ingenuity of a true pioneer to its ut- 
most by any means. The first process was to 
shell it ; the next to immerse it in hot water to 
start the hulls. It was then put into an iron 
kettle and pounded with the head of an iron 
wedge (the tool used for splitting rails,) till it 
was made into meal. The next process was to 
put this meal into cold water and float the hulls 
off, and the meal was ready for use. 

It was made into a batter with water only, and 
fried like pancakes, or, for variety's sake, spread 
on a wooden board and turned up to a fire to 
be baked into bread. Sifting this meal when 
dried left its coarsest portions for hominy, 
which gave them varieties improvised out of 
corn. 

Such was the first household and home 
made in this county, of which a faithful witness 
in the person of Mrs. Hobson is still among us 
in the full enjoyment of her mental faculties. 

The next who came to the county were the 
Napers. They were men of broad ambition 
like the pioneers who had preceded them in 
th^e Scott settlement. While residents of Ohio, 
they had owned a sailing vessel on the lakes, 
named the Telegraph, which they had sold, 
agreeing to deliver it in Chicago in the sum- 
mer of 1831, and in this vessel on its passage to 
this place they came with the families of John 
Murray, Lyinan Butterfield, Henr}- T. Wilson 
and a Mr. Carpenter. It set sail from Ashta- 
bula, Ohio, in June, landing them in Chicago 
in time to reach Du Page early in July. 

The spring preceding, Joseph Naper had 
been to the place, made a claim and hired men 

to come from Chicago and put up a log cabin 

B 



30 



HISTORY OF DU PAGE COUNTY. 



where Naperville now stands. The building 
was made ready and also ten acres of ground 
" broke," as per a contract with Mr. Scott, on 
the arrival of the colony, for such in substance, 
was the Naper settlement. The season was too 
far advanced to plant corn, and in its stead, 
buckwheat was sown on seven acres of it, and 
the balance planted with rutabaga turnips. 
This, together with a few acres of ground 
planted by Mr. Hobson, constituted the first 
tillage of the soil of this county, unless some 
of its red owners, with the assistance of their 
loving brothers the French had raised scan- 
ty patches of corn, beans or pumpkins on it, 
which is quite probable, for as' early as 1790 
the Indians had cultivated extensive fields on 
the Maumee, and also on the Wabash, and 
more than half a century before had, with the 
aid of the French, plowed and planted fields in 
Southern Illinois, and also reaped considerable 
income from working the lead mines of Galena 
on their own private account, all of which goes 
to show that the inevitable crops of corn so 
essential to their existence had ere this been 
planted by them on the fertile lauds of the Du 
Page. Mr. Naper's buckwheat crop was a 
bountiful one, and in the autumn drew to the 
place countless numbers of prairie chickens to 
get a taste of the kind of food then so new to 
them. 

The Naper and Scott settlements, being a* 
they were in such close proximit}- to each 
other, with a reciprocity of interest in all mat- 
ters pertaining to the welfare of newly-settled 
countries, began in September following the 
arrival of the Naper colony, to lay plans for 
the education of their children. To this end, 
preparations were made to build a schoolhouse 
which should accommodate both settlements, 
and the following subscription paper was drawn 
up by John Murray, father of our present 
County Judge, to obtain support for and to es- 
tablish the school. 

The original document is now in possession 



of William Naper, now a clerk in Messrs. Scott 
& Co.'s dry goods store (son of Joseph Naper, 
deceased): 

SEPTEMBER 14, 1831. 

We, the undersigned, whose names are hereto 
affixed, do agree to hire Lester Peet to teach a school 
in our respective district for the term of four 
months, for the consideration of $12 per month. 
Said teacher doth agree, on his part, to teach a 
regular English school, teaching spelling, writing, 
arithmetic and English grammar, if required. And 
the understanding is, that said teacher is to board 
with the scholars. School is to commence by the 
15th of November next. 

N. B. Each subscriber doth agree to pay his 
proportionable part of the teacher's wages, accord- 
ing to the number of scholars that he subscribes for 
or sends, and it is likewise understood that Joseph 
Naper, Christopher Paine and Bailey Hobson be 
and are a committee to superintend said school, 
and to see that there is a suitable house built in due 
season, etc. 

Joseph Naper, six scholars; H. T. Wilson, two 
scholars ; Richard Sweet, two scholars ; Daniel 
Landon, one scholar ; James Green, one scholar ; 
Bailey Hobson, one scholar ; John Naper, one 
scholar; John Manning, one scholar; Daniel Wilson, 
one scholar ; Christopher Paine, three scholars ; 
John Murray, two scholars; Edward A. Rogers, one 
scholar. 

Ere this school had been established, both 
the Naper and Scott settlements had been re- 
enforced by new arrivals, as appears from such 
names not mentioned in the history found among 
the subscribers to support the school. 

But ere we proceed, let us give to the Napers 
an historic recognition of their many worthy 
traits of character. 

Joseph Naper, the oldest of the two brothers, 
began his career as a cabin boy on a steamer 
on Lake Erie. In this occupation he was con- 
tinually exposed to danger, which accounts for 
the bold and daring resolution which character- 
ized him throughout his life. He remained on 
the lakes till he rose to the distinction of Cap- 
tain of a steamer on Lake Erie which plied be- 
tween Buffalo and Detroit from 1828 to 1830. 
As has already been told, he came to the Du Page 



HISTORY OF DU PAGE COUNTY. 



31 



in 1831, and here he soon established a repu- 
tation as a generous benefactor to all who came 
within the reach of his liberality. He donated 
land to all who wished to come to the place 
and build on it, and to those who owed him | 
debts which could not be paid without distress, j 
he always extended clemency, and sometimes 
forgave the debt entirely. 

John Naper was also' a sailor in his tender 
years like his older brother, and as soon as he 
was old enough commanded sailing vessels on 
Lake Erie, and remained in this employment 
till 1830. The two were in partnership together 
in their Du Page colony, bringing with them 
to the place the ironwork for the saw-mill to 
be erected here, and also a stock of goods with 
which to open trade. Whatever may be said 
of the oldest brother as to both his courage and 
generosity, may also be said of John, " and," 
says Judge Murray. " the latter (John) had more 
dash than his older brother. His weight was 
about 200 pounds, his limbs muscular, and his 
whole frame almost as elastic as a circus tum- 
bler." 

Mr. P. F. W. Peck, afterward well known in 
Chicago, came to the Du Page a few weeks 
after the arrival of the Napers, and formed a 
partnership with them in storekeeping, which 
was the first establishment of the kind in the 
country around. The Sauk war, which followed 
the next year, discouraged Mr. Peck, and the 
partnership between him and the Napers was 
dissolved by mutual consent, the latter giving 
to Mr. Peck three lots, each 80x165 feet, on 
South Water street, Chicago, for his interest in 
the store. It was not without misgiving that 
this offer was accepted, but it laid the founda- 
tion for the princely fortune which he ultimately ; 
amassed. 

From Judge Murray, also, the writer has 
learned of the versatile and useful talents of 
Christopher Paine which are worthy of record, 
inasmuch as he was a remarkable representa- 
tive of pioneer ingenuity. 



To him the whole settlement looked for de- 
vising ways and means to accomplish ends. 
Mr. Naper set about building a mill in the au- 
tumn of 1831, and to Mr. Paine was confided 
the building of the dam. This he did by first 
laj-ing logs, next stone and after these the 
buckwheat straw from the ground sowed in the 
summer to help hold the dirt in its place when 
laid on the logs and stone. The dam served 
its purpose, and in the spring of 1832 Mr. Na- 
per's mill the first ever built in Du Page 
River was in running order. 

A grist-mill was needed perhaps more than 
a saw-mill, and Hawley conceived the idea of 
building it. But how to get the mill stones 
" that was the rub." He laid the case before 
Mr. Paine. He scratched his head and " his 
jaws wagged with increased rapidity while 
he kept up an incessant expectoration," (says 
Mr. Murray), and exclaimed " By Jinks, I can 
make them " (the stones). He then selected two 
good bowlders from the grove, and hammered 
and pecked on them till he had fashioned them 
into upper and nether mill stones. 

The stone chisels to do this were probably 
made by Isaac Blodgett, who was a blacksmith 
in the Scott settlement, of whom mention has 
already been made. The mill was a success. 
It was propelled by ox power, by means of a 
sweep. Each neighbor brought his grain to it 
and ground it with his own team. 

As to the toll, no one now knows how it was 
paid. Probably it was a free mill, but without 
doubt Mr. Paine was rewarded for the service 
he had rendered the neighborhood. 

The same year he introduced the culture of 
flax, and made the necessary machinery the 
spinning wheel and loom with which to make 
H into cloth. His wife, not less ingenious than 
her husband, spun the flax and wove it into a 
handsome cloth, coloring a part of the yarn or 
thread, and weaving into the fabric a bright 
plaid check. Of this cloth she made suits for the 
whole family, including herself and her husband. 



32 



HISTORY OF DU PAGE COUNTY. 



They were the admiration of the neighbor- 
hood, but they were thought to be rather cool 
for winter, though Mr. Paine at that season 
wore a warm buckskin sack, tanned and made 
by himself, from beneath which the check 
linen vest showed conspicuously, and is still 
remembered bj- the old settlers of Naperville. 
Mr. Paine was a model of generosity. " Would 
divide his last potato," says Judge Murray, 
"with any one in need." In the fall of 1832, he 
sold out and settled on the Pox River at the 
present site of Batavia, where he was subse- 
quently bought out by Judge Wilson. He 
then went to Geneva Lake, Wis., where he 
started a saw mill. From thence, after again 
selling out, he went to Duck Creek, Wis., and 
again built a saw mill. Here he remained, 
still dispensing his utilitarian labors with a 
generous hand, till he died, respected by all 
who knew him. Returning again to the Naper 
settlement, the severity of the winter of 1830- 
31 should not be left without a record. Snow 
fell to an average depth of four feet, and the 
cold was intense from November till April, 
with but little cessation. The wild turkeys all 
died for want of forage ; and, up to that time, 
the country was full of wild hogs bred from 
those left by the garrison when Fort Dearborn 
was abandoned in 1812. These all died also, 
for they could not penetrate the deep snow for 
acorns in the groves, and the last one starved 
to death. 

The deer fared better because they could live 
on browse, but many of them died also. Mr. 
Willard Scott, banker in Naperville, the son of 
Stephen J., is the authority for the above ; and 
further states that for the next four years suc- 
ceeding the winter of 1830-31, he had often 
passed from the Desplaines River through Mud 
Lake into the Chicago River with the barges 
of the American Fur Company. 

John Baptiste Beaubien was their agent 
there at that time, to -whom some of the In- 
dians brought their furs to sell, packed on the 



backs of ponies, but most of them sold their 
furs to the traders, who had transient stations 
throughout the country. Bernardus Lawton 
was one of these traders, whose station was at 
Plainfleld, but his headquarters were at Chi- 
cago. David Lawton lived on the Desplaines, 
where he kept a tavern at the present site 
of Riverside from previous to 1830 till his 
death. Both were highly esteemed alike by 
whites and Indians. Says Mr. Scott : " Ber- 
nardus had an Indian wife, who was a sensible 
and discreet woman, who ever eujoj-ed the con- 
fidence of her husband." 

From the very first the Pottawatomies, who 
were frequentl3" at the Naper settlement, had 
always been friendly, and highly esteemed Mr. 
Scott, with whom their acquaintance had been 
of several years' duration, and likewise held the 
Naper brothers in like favor, though their ac- 
quaintance had been shorter. The same may 
be said with regard to all the old settlers with 
whom the writer has conversed, all of whom 
speak kindly of the Pottawatomies. Why 
should they not ? They had settled on land 
that the Indians never had sold, and they made 
no attempt to molest them, but treated them 
with kindness. 

In speaking of an interview with the In- 
dians, says Mrs. Hobson : " The Pottawatomies 
frequently called at our house, and were alwa3~s 
friendly up to the spring of 1832, when strange 
appearances began to be manifest. On one 
occasion, three Indians came to her house 
when no one but her two youngest children 
were with her. Two of them seemed friendly 
as usual, but the third betrayed himself to be 
of a strange tribe, and wore a rueful counte- 
nance. He would not eat of the food she 
placed before the visitors, which behavior, so 
eccentric in an Indian, boded no good intent. 
Besides this, she plainly saw that it required 
an effort on the part of the two friendly Potta- 
watomies to prevent an outbreak on the spot." 

When the three left, she saw him conceal a 



HISTORY OF DU PAGE COUNTY. 



carving knife under his blanket, with which she 
had been cutting off some dried beef for her 
visitors, and, as they were departing, she in- 
formed the two friendly Indians of the theft. 
They promptly took the knife from the culprit, 
and restored it to Mrs. Hobson, meanwhile 
evidently rebuking the faithless vagabond for 
his perfidy ; and, at the same time, apologizing 
to Mrs. Hobson by repeating to her " me-o-net ' 
no good Indian, pointing to tlie stranger. 

He was doubtless a Sauk, who had come 
among the Pottawatomies to influence them to 
take up the hatchet against the whites. 

Two days after this adventure at the house 
of Mrs. Hobson, the real alarm came. 

Its incidents are so well told in Kichmond & 
Vallette's Early History, that their relation of 
it has been transferred to these columns by 
permission of Col. Henry Vallette : 

" Never was a ' good time come ' hailed with 
more gladness than was the spring of 1832 by 
the infant colony. A prospect of reward for 
past hardships was before them. All was busy 
preparation for the approaching seed time. The 
labor of breaking and fencing went briskly for- 
ward, and in due time the new-fledged grain 
came peering from the mellow ground. But 
long before the growing fields stood ready for 
the sickle of the glad harvester, the little band 
were obliged to relinquish their cherished antici- 
pations, and flee from their new homes for the 
safety of their lives. 

" The news of the breaking-out of the Black 
Hawk war caused great excitement in the settle- 
ment, and the alarm was heightened by the 
arrival of Shata, an express from the Pottawat- 
omies, who were friendly to the whites, with 
the intelligence that a party of Sac Indians 
were committing depredations among the set- 
tlers on Fox River, some ten miles distant, and 
that the houses of Cunningham and Hollenback 
had been burned to the ground, and their prop- 
erty entirely destroyed. Aware of their ina- 
bility to carry on a successful warfare with the 



Indians, as the colony was in an almost defense- 
less state, and, being liable to an attack from 
them at any moment, the settlers decided to 
send their families, with all possible haste, to 
Chicago, where old Fort Dearborn offered its 
protection to any fearing the incursions of the 
savages. The settlement was now the scene of 
universal disorder and alarm. Bustle and con- 
fusion were the order of the hour. Men were 
hurrying to and fro in eager pursuit of their 
wives and children, while weeping wives and 
crying children were hurrying with equal ra- 
pidity and greater anxiety in pursuit of their 
husbands and fathers. Order was at length, in 
some degree, restored, and while the women 
were engaged in packing such articles of cloth- 
ing and provision as they would require for the 
journey, the men were activety fitting out teams 
to convey them away. 

" Early in the afternoon of the 18th of May, . 
the train started for Chicago. But the family 
of Christopher Paine, who lived near the place 
of S. & D. Babbitt, consisting of his wife and 
six children, were, in the general confusion in- 
cident to their hasty departure, left behind. 
The family were sent in advance of the train, 
with directions to wait at a short distance from 
the settlement for its arrival. Concealing them- 
selves in a thicket by the roadside, near the 
farm now owned by Capt. John Sargent, and 
not hearing the company as it passed, they 
were obliged to remain in their place of con- 
cealment during the night, which must have 
been one of fearful anxiety to the mother, as 
the imaginative dangers of her situation mag- 
nified, while watching over her houseless and 
defenseless children. They returned in safety 
to the settlement next morning, but much ex- 
hausted by fatigue and hunger. 

" The following incidents relating to the alarm 
and sudden flight of Mr. Hobson's family, have 
been kindly furnished by one of its members. 
Mr. Hobson, with Mr. Paine and son, had just 
seated themselves at their noonday meal, relat- 



34 



HISTORY OF DU PAGE COUNTY. 



ing, in the meantime, the intelligence they had 
received while working in the field ; that a band 
of Indians were advancing, and were then only 
thirty miles distant, when they were suddenly 
interrupted by the appearance of Paine's eldest 
son, who rushed into the house, bareheaded and 
breathless, informing them that Specie and 
Ament had just arrived from the Au Sable 
grove, having run their horses down, and per. 
formed a part of the journey on foot, to bring 
the alarming intelligence that a body of Indians 
had that morning passed through Hollenback's 
Grove, killing several settlers, and burning every 
thing in their path. Upon this intelligence) 
immediate preparations for safety were consid- 
ered expedient. Hobson and Paine arose from 
the table, leaving the dinner untasted. Mr. 
Paine, accompanied by his sous, started in great 
haste for their home, while Mr. Hobson pre- 
pared to ride up to the Naper settlement to see 
what the inhabitants there had concluded to 
do, but his wife and children, clinging to him, 
begged him not to leave them ; whereupon he 
saddled the horses, and after seeing the wife 
and children all mounted, except the eldest son ; 
who was to accompany them on foot, they started 
together. They directed their course through 
the east end of the grove, and coming upon a 
rise of ground, beheld a man on horseback, about 
a mile distant. It immediately occurred to Mr- 
Hobson that this was an Indian spy, but it 
proved to be one of a small party of scouts sent 
out from the settlement. He, however, directed 
his wife and children to hasten out of sight. 
They rode into the grove and dismounted. Mr. 
Hobson came up soon after, threw the saddles 
into a thicket, turned the horses into a neigh- 
boring field, and made all possible haste to se- 
crete his family ; directing them to use every 
precaution to evade pursuit, and not to tangle 
nor bruise the grass and weeds as the}' went 
along. Having done this, his attention was 
next directed to his dog, a faithful and valuable 
animal. ' You have been,' said he, ' my com- 



panion and protector for years ; you have never 
been unfaithful to a trust, nor given me cause 
to question your fidelitj- always the first to 
welcome, foremost to defend. But now you 
may betray us, and, saddening as the thought 
may be, I must be reconciled to the thought of 
putting you to death.' So, taking the unsuspect- 
ing victim, he went to a cabin near by, which 
had been but recently occupied by the family 
of Mr. Seth Wescott, his object being to pro- 
cure an ax with which to do the deed at which 
his very soul shuddered. It was supposed that 
the family of Mr. Wescott had received the 
alarm, and fled. What then was his surprise 
to meet him at the threshold of his door, with 
gun in hand, just starting out on a hunting ex- 
pedition. At Mr. Hobson's solicitation, the 
dog was shot ; but he died not, as many pass 
from life, without a tear to consecrate the event, 
or a heart to embalm the memory of the de- 
parted soul his loss was sincerely lamented. 
Mr. Wescott made immediate preparation to 
join the settlers, and Mr. Hobson, fearing that 
the report of the gun might have alarmed his 
family, hastened to meet them. Accompanied 
by his wife, he then returned to the house to 
make preparations, in case it should become 
necessary for them to desert their home. The 
box had been removed from the wagon, but 
with his wife's assistance he was enabled to re- 
place it, and after completing their arrange- 
ments, they again set forth, Mrs. Hobson with 
some food to seek her children in the grove 
while her husband went to the settlement to 
see what preparations were being made there. 
On his arrival he found that the families, with 
a part of the men, had gone to Chicago. He 
informed those that remained of the condition 
of his family, and of his anxiety that they should 
set out that night, in hopes of overtaking the 
advance party. Capt. Naper, Lieut. King, and 
Specie volunteered to return with him to the 
place where he had concealed his family. They 
were all mounted except King, who was on 



LIBRARY 

OF THE 

UNIVERSITY OF ILLINOIS 



HISTORY OF DtJ PAGE COUNTY. 



foot. Having found the family in their hiding 
place, it was a matter that required considerable 
mathematical skill to determine how they were 
to be conveyed. It was at length decided that 
the two eldest children should be placed on the 
horse of Mr. Hobson ; that Capt. Naper should 
take two more on the horse with him ; and that 
Mrs. Hobson, assisted by King, should go on 
foot, carrying the youngest child, then two years 
old. They pressed on toward the north end of 
the grove, where Mr. Hobson had agreed to 
meet them with his team. Emerging from the 
grove they had yet half a mile to go, and Mrs. 
Hobson being fatigued from the journey, one of 
the children was taken from Capt. Naper's horse 
and placed on the horse with the two others, 
while Mrs. Hobson mounted behind Capt. Na- 
per. They started again, one horse carrying 
Capt. Naper, with his huge Kentucky rifle, to- 
gether with Mrs. Hobson, one child, and sundry 
and divers trappings. It is supposed that the 
gallant Captain never presented a more formid- 
able appearance than he did while riding along 
on that memorable occasion, with his burnished 
steel glistening in the moonbeams, although he 
has, since that day, been the hero of at least 
three decisive battles. 

" They arrived in safety at the place appointed 
to meet Mr. Hobson, who soon came up with 
his oxen and wagon, bringing with him such 
things from the house as he could hastily pick 
up in the dark. The announcement of " all 
aboard " soon followed. Mr. Hobson gave up 
his horse to Mr. King, who returned with Capt. 
Naper to the settlement, while the vehicle con- 
taining the family moved on its slow and weary 
way. The night was cold, and rendered still 
more uncomfortable by a heavy fall of rain ; 
but wet and cold are of minor consideration 
when compared with the horrors of an excited 
imagination, which transforms every tree and 
shrub into a merciless Indian foe, with toma- 
hawk and scalping knife in hand, ready to com- 
mit their deeds of cruelty and slaughter. Pass- 



ing a night of the most intense fear and anxiet}', 
they arrived at Brush Hill at sunrise. Crossing 
the O'Plain, they found a habitation, the only 
one on the whole route. They journeyed on 
and soon reached the " Big Prairie," the distance 
across which is about ten miles. Crossing this 
prairie was the most tedious part of the way. 
The wheels, during a greater part of the dis- 
tance, were half imbedded in the marshy soil, 
rendering it almost impossible for the team to 
move on, even with an empty wagon. The chil- 
dren became sickened from exposure and thirst. 
Being unprovided with a drinking vessel, Mrs. 
Hobson frequently took the shoe from her foot 
and dipped the muddy water from the pools by 
the roadside, which they drank with much ap- 
parent satisfaction. They plodded on at a slow 
pace, and reached their destination at a little 
before sunset, much exhausted by hunger and 
fatigue, neither Mr. nor Mrs. Hobson having 
tasted food for more than thirty-six hours. 
They were safely quartered in Fort Dearborn, 
and here we leave them, and return to the 
settlement. 

" Some fifteen or twenty men remained be- 
hind, when the settlement was abandoned by 
the families, in order to protect, if possible, their 
dwellings and other property, from the depreda- 
tions of the Indians, should they come to de- 
stroy them. They quartered themselves in the 
log house of Capt. Naper, and kept vigilant 
guard during the night. On the following 
morning the settlers were visited by Lawton, an 
Indian trader, living on the O'Plain, in company 
with three Indians and a half-breed, named 
Burrasaw. They brought no news, but came 
to gather further particulars in relation to the 
threatened invasion of the Sacs. As the set- 
tlers had heard nothing of their movements 
since the departure of Shata's express, it was 
resolved that a part}', joined by Lawton and the 
three Indians, should go to the camp of the Pot- 
tawatomies, near the Big Woods, some ten 
miles distant, for information. Two men, 



36 



HISTORY OF DU PAGE COUNTY. 



named Brown and Murphy, had been placed on 
patrol that morning, and were out on the 
prairie, a little west of the settlement. The 
party setting out for the Big Woods determined 
to test their courage, and for that purpose, sent 
the three Indians in advance of the main party. 
As soon as the Indians came in sight of the 
patrol, they gave a most terrific war-whoop, and 
darted on after them with the fleetness of so 
many arrows. The patrol, seized with sudden 
consternation, sprang to their horses and fled in 
the wildest dismay first toward the north, but 
being intercepted by some of the company, 
whom they took to be savages, they wheeled 
and took an opposite direction. In this course 
they were again intercepted by the three In- 
dians. Concluding they must be surrounded, 
they came to a halt, laid down their arms, and 
were about to sue for mercy, when they chanced 
to discover in the features of their vengeful 
pursuers a striking likeness to those they had 
left at the settlement. The fact soon dawned 
upon them that they had been successfully 
hoaxed, and their duties ' on guard ' terminated 
with that adventure. 

' The company advanced toward the Big 
Woods. As they drew near the timber, an In- 
dian was observed mounted on a horse, who, on 
seeing them, turned and fled. The three In- 
dians made instant pursuit ; overtaking him 
before he had gone far, they made themselves 
known as friends, and detained him until the 
company came up. Lawton understood the 
dialects of several Indian tribes, and in a con- 
versation with him ascertained that he belonged 
to the Pottawatomies, who were encamped only 
three miles distant. The Indian said the whole 
of his tribe were drunk, and it would be danger- 
ous for the company to visit them. However, 
after brief consultation, they decided to pro- 
ceed to the encampment, and the captured In- 
dian led the way. Although the appearance of 
the company in the camp caused some little ex- 
citement among that portion of the tribe who 



were sufficiently sober to entertain an emotion 
of any kind, yet they were received with no ap- 
parent indications of hostility. On examination, 
the testimony of the Indian was fully substan- 
tiated. Indians were found in a state of beastly 
intoxication in every part of the camp ; while 
others were enjoying the pastime in the most 
picturesque, amusing and fantastic series of per- 
formances that can be imagined. Dancing, 
singing, whooping and screeching, delightfully 
mingled, formed the grand offering which there 
went up at the shrine of bad whisky and worse 
tobacco. One fellow, who seemed to be of a 
decidedly pugnacious turn; was lying on the 
ground, face downward, with his hands secured 
behind him, Samson like, with green withes. 
Frantic with rage, he seemed to utter the most 
vehement and fearful denunciations against all 
who came near him. Upon inquiry, it was as- 
certained that the fellow had violated an im- 
portant law in their code respecting these 
orgies, which law forbids 'a brother knocking a 
brother down,' and he was suffering the penalty 
affixed. 

: ' The company were summoned into the 
presence of the chiefs, who gave them a friendly 
and courteous reception. A council was called, 
and Lawton and Burrasaw were admitted to the 
ring. The consultation lasted for two or three 
hours, and the ' outsiders ' were becoming rather 
impatient. An old Indian woman, known to 
Capt. Naper, while passing near him, uttered in 
his ear the word ' Puc-a-che,' which, being both 
literally and liberally interpreted, signifies 
' Be off".' And the Captain began to think it 
time to heed the advice. 

" Inquiry was made in relation to the delib- 
erations of the council, and Lawton responded, 
that 'there were 300 Sac Indians in the Black- 
berry timber, some four miles distant, and,' 
said he, ' you will see them if you wait here 
an hour.' These Indians will not fight them, 
but will " stop them by talk," if they can, from 
burning your settlement.' The Captain sigui- 



HISTORY OF DU PAGE COUNTY. 



37 



fied no inclination to hold an interview with 
300 Sac Indians, but suggested the propriety 
of retreating to the settlement as soon as pos- 
sible, and sending the most valuable property 
there to Chicago. This plan received the ac- 
quiesence of all the company, and after making 
arrangements with Lawton to send an express 
to notify them of any immediate danger from 
the Sacs, the settlers returned. The packing 
of their goods was immediately commenced. 
All the articles which were inconvenient to 
convey were lowered into a well parti}' dug, 
and all was soon ready for loading_the wagons. 
The horses had been harnessed, and were then 
feeding at a stable some ten or fifteen rods 
from the house. Capt. Naper was in the house 
tying the corners of a quilt, which contained 
the remnant of clothing left behind by his fam- 
ily, when a man rushed wildly into the room, 
shouting at the top of his voice, " the Indians 
are upon us!" The whole company took in- 
stant alarm and with the exception of Captain 
and John Naper, beat a precipitate retreat to 
a thicket of hazel bushes, which, in those days, 
flourished in prolific exuberance on the soil 
now known as Jefferson avenue. The two 
Napers were somewhat unlike the redoutable 
Mr. Sparrowgrass, who was prone to pull trig- 
ger arfd make inquiries afterward. They de- 
cided that inquiry should take the precedence, 
and if it came to that, why they could run 
some. 

"As the horses were near, they removed the 
harness and put on the saddles, that they 
might be in readiness in case of emergency. 
They had scarcely accomplished this, when 
Alauson Sweet came galloping up on his fierce 
charger, exhorting them to instant flight, if 
the}' valued their lives. ' There are at least 
500 Indians upon us,' said he, ' and they are 
not more than fifteen rods off.' Alanson rode 
away, but the Napers resolved to investigate. 
They walked in the direction from which Sweet 
said the Indians were approaching, and soon 



came upon a rise of ground which had con- 
cealed the Indians from view, when lo ! the 
dusk}' visage of their friend Lawton appeared 
before them. He was at the head of about 
fifty brawny Pottawatomies, and had come to 
warn the settlers of immediate danger. Mes- 
sengers were sent out to gather in the fugitives, 
that all might listen to Lawton's story. He 
said that at least sixteen of the Sacs, and how 
man}- more he did not know, had crossed Fox 
River ; that the Pottawatomies could not stop 
them. They were determined to attack the 
settlements, and their ' talk ' could not pre- 
vent them. The settlers, upon this, abandoned 
all idea of saving their property, but deter- 
mined to make every effort to save the wife 
and children of Paine, who were still in the 
settlemeut. The horses were attached to a 
light covered wagon, in which the family was 
placed, and the whole company set out that 
night for Chicago. John Naper insisted upon 
going on foot, and divested himself of every- 
thing in the shape of attire, except his shirt 
and pantaloons. He was earnestly entreated 
to ride, but upon his assuring the party that 
' he could outrun any Sac Indian in the na- 
tion,' further importunity was deemed useless. 
They reached the O'Plain, and encamped for 
the night without taking their horses from the 
wagon, that they might be ready to move on 
at a moment's warning. They had hastened 
on, through fear of being cut off on the north- 
ern trail by the Indians, and being much worn 
with fatigue, all hands slept pretty soundly till 
next morning. The journey was then resumed, 
and the party arrived at Chicago before noon, 
on the 20th day of May. A company of twen- 
ty-five men was raised during the day, to re- 
turn to the settlement. It consisted chiefly of 
settlers, accompanied by Capt. Brown and Col. 
Hamilton. They started on Saturday, May 21, 
and passed the night at Lawtou's. Next day 
they went on to the settlement, where they 
found everything undisturbed. Leaving the 



38 



HISTORY OF DU PAGE COUNTY. 



settlement under the guardianship of several . 
friendlj' Indians, the company proceeded to 
Plainfleld, where they found the settlers safely 
quartered in a fort, which the}- had just com- 
pleted. They then started for Holderman's 
Grove, to ascertain the condition of the settlers 
there. Meeting Cunningham and Hollenback 
on the way, the}' were informed that it would 
be of no use to go farther, as their property 
had been destroyed. Notwithstanding, they 
proceeded to Holderman's Grove. From this 
place they sent an express to Ottawa, to notify 
the settlers of the safety of their property, and 
also sent a messenger to Chicago to apprise 
their friends of their own safety. The party 
remained at Holderman's house during the 
night. Early next morning the express re- 
turned from Ottawa, bringing the intelligence 
of the massacre at Indian Creek. The party 
immediately went to Ottawa, and thence pro- 
ceeded to the scene of the bloody tragedy. 
What they there witnessed was too appalling 
to be described. Not less than fifteen bodies, 
of men, women and children were lying there, 
cut and mangled in the most shocking manner. 
It was ascertained that they were the families 
of Messrs. Hall, Davis and Pettigrew, and that 
two daughters of the Hall family, Silvia and 
Rachel, the one about seventeen and the other 
about fifteen years old, were carried off as pris- 
oners. The party of Indians immediately re- 
treated into the Winnebago country, up Rock 
River, carrying the scalps of the slain and 
their prisoners with them. 'Indian wars are 
wars of a past age. They have always been 
characterized by the same ferocity and cruelty. 
To desbribe this massacre is only to repeat 
what has been written a hundred times ; but a 
brief account of it may not be deemed inap- 
propriate in this place. The Indians were 
about seventy in number. They approached 
the house, in which the three families were as- 
sembled, in the daytime. They entered it 
suddenly, but with little notice. Some of the 



inmates were immediately shot down with 
rifles, others were pierced through with spears 
or dispatched with the tomahawk. The In- 
dians afterward related, with an infernal glee, 
how the women had squeaked like geese when 
they were run through the body with spears, or 
felt the sharp tomahawk entering their heads. All 
the victims were carefully scalped, their bodies 
shockingly mutilated ; the little children were 
chopped to pieces with axes, and the bodies of 
the women were suspended by the feet from 
the walls of the houses. The 'young women 
prisoners were hurried, by forced marches, be- 
yond the reach of pursuit. After a long and 
fatiguing journey with their Indian conductors, 
through a wilderness country, with but little to 
eat, and being subject to a variety of fortune, 
they were at last purchased by the chiefs of 
the Winnebagoes, employed by Mr. Gratiot for 
that purpose, with $2,000, in horses, wampum 
and trinkets, and were returned in safety to 
their friends.' 

" The company assisted in burying the dead 
and returned with sad hearts to Ottawa. There 
they found Col. Stillman's command, consisting 
of about two hundred men, under Col. John- 
son. The settlers, or Capt. Brown's company, 
as it was called, encamped on the north side of 
the river, near where the city of Ottawa now 
stands. Capt. Brown's company being so small, 
he requested Col. Johnson to send an escort 
with his part}- to Chicago, as it was expected 
that they would be attacked by Indians on their 
return. Col. Johnson refused to send men for 
that purpose, but paraded his company and 
called for volunteers. Maj. Bailey and twelve 
privates volunteered to go. But the company 
being still very small, Col. Johnson agreed to 
send a detachment up the river and meet Maj. 
Brown's company at Green's mill. Upon this 
assurance, the settlers left Ottawa and followed 
the river up as far as Green's, but no tidings 
came to them of Col. Johnson's detachment. 
Returning to Holderman's Grove, they found 



HISTORY OF DU PAGE COUNTY. 



39 



everything laid waste. The settlement there 
was a scene of complete devastation and ruin. 
They proceeded to Plainfield, and found the 
garrison in the state of great alarm, occasioned 
by the news of the massacre at Indian Creek. 
The women, who appeared the more courageous, 
provided the company with a good supper, and 
they remained there until next da}-. In the 
morning the settlement was abandoned, and all 
started for Chicago, except a preacher by the 
name of Paine. He refused to accompany them, 
as he had, from some cause, conceived the no- 
tion that the settlers at Chicago had all been 
murdered. He started in the direction of Hol- 
derman's Grove, but was found murdered some 
days afterward, with one scalp torn from his 
head and another from his face. Paine was 
wont to wear a very heavy beard, which ac- 
counts for the scalp being taken from his face. 
There is a tradition of this brutal affair, which 
informs us that the Indians cut off Paine's head 
and carried it with them, supposing, from the 
appearance given to the face by its long beard, 
that they had killed one of the gods of the 
whites. 

" The settlers all reached Chicago the same 
da}- on which they left Plainfield. 

" The Scott families, which should have been 
noticed in another place, did not abandon their 
claims at the Forks, until some time after the 
inhabitants fled from the settlement. A son of 
Robinson, an Indian chief of the Pottawatomie 
tribe, was living with them, and they knew that, 
in case of actual danger from the Sacs, the boy 
would be taken away. When he was removed, : 
they concluded there would be no safety in re- 
maining longer, and thereupon followed in the 
trail of their affrighted neighbors, to Port Dear- 
born." 

The writer will here state that from Judge 
Blodgett himself he has learned that Half Day, 
a Pottawatomie chief, attended a council held 
at this time at Waubonsies village (now Au- 
rora), in which Black Hawk's emissaries were 



trying to persuade the Pottawatomies to come 
to his assistance. This they declined to do, 
advising the Sauks at the same time to aban- 
don their warlike designs, but in vain. 

Half Day then left the council and hastened 
to the house of Mr. Blodgett. warning him of 
the impending danger, when he promptly set 
about starting for Fort Dearborn with his fam- 
ily, at the same time dispatching }'oung Henry, 
then ten j-ears old. to the various families in 
the Scott settlement, to warn them of the dan- 
ger, and they all retreated together to the fort. 

This in no wise conflicts with the statement of 
Richmond and Vallette, but would go to show 
that warning to them came from a different 
messenger than the one who brought the un- 
welcome news to the Naper settlement. 

" Not long after, a scouting party of twenty- 
five horsemen started for the settlement; their 
object being to ascertain whether any of the 
enemy had been there, and to look after the 
property of the settlers. This expedition was 
placed under the command of Col. Beaubien. 
They left Chicago in the morning, and at noon 
reached the O'Plain River, where they found 
Robert Kinzie, with fifty Indians under his com- 
mand. 

" An arrangement was made, by which it was 
agreed that the Indians, under Capt. Kinzie, 
should proceed by the direct trail to the settle- 
ment, and the mounted company should pro- 
ceed to the same place by way of Capt. Board- 
man's, to look after the property there. 

" It was expected that the latter party would 
arrive at the settlement some time before the 
former. Beaubien's company urged their horses 
on as fast as possible, and in a few hours ar 
rived at Ellsworth's Grove. The skirt of tim- 
ber, which then extended over nearly the whole 
area of the present village of Naperville, con- 
cealed the settlement from their view, but to 
their surprise, and we might add, to the dismay 
of some, smoke was seen rising from the place 
where Naper's house was situated. A halt was 



40 



HISTORY OF DU PAGE COUNTY. 



called, and by some of the company, most will- 
ingly obeyed. A hasty consultation followed, 
and John Naper, who was ever ready to ' don 
armor and break a lance ' in the cause of his 
friends, volunteered to ride around the point of 
timber and ascertain whether the settlement 
was in the possession of friend or foe. In case 
he could meet with friends, he was to discharge 
his rifle, to notify his waiting and anxious com- 
rades of that fact. But if foes were encoun- 
tered, he was to return immediately to the com- 
pany. His progress was watched with no small 
degree of interest, until he passed behind the 
point of timber, out of sight. Soon the reports 
of two guns were heard, and Naper did not make 
his appearance. In all probabilit}- he was shot, 
and the alarm among the company increased. 
There was no means of telling how numerous 
the enemy might be, nor how soon the sharp 
report of the rifle might be their own death- 
knell. 

" Two of the company, one of whom was 
mounted on a pack mule, and the other on a 
diminutive pack pony, belonging to the Ameri- 
can Fur Companj', manifested considerable un- 
easiness, as they had found by actual experi- 
ence that neither of their animals was verv 
remarkable for speed, and knew that in case of 
flight they must inevitably fall in the rear, and 
become an easy prey to their pursuers. They 
considered discretion as the better part of valor, 
and ' self-preservation the first law of nature,' 
and, suiting their action to the consideration, 
hobbled off toward the East Branch timber. 
They had not gone far when they were dis- 
covered by Col. Beaubien, who rode on after 
them, loudly vociferating, ' Halt ! halt !' They 
did not heed the command, but concentrated" all 
their efforts to get out of his way. Beaubien 
put spurs to his horse and soon ran them down. 
Coming up to them, he drew a pistol, and, pre- 
senting it, uttered the effective condition and 
conclusion, ' You run ? By gar ! you run, me 
shoot you !' The argument was irresistible, 



and the fugitives were captured and brought 
back. R. N. Murray, who was with the com- 
pany, being well mounted, started to go and 
ascertain what had become of Naper ; but he 
had gone only a short distance when John 
made his appearance and gave the signal that 
friends were in the camp, which signal was 
greeted with a shout as joyous as any that ever 
broke the silence of that grove. On entering 
the settlement, it was ascertained that the In- 
dians under Capt. Kinzie had accomplished the 
journey before them, and had fired the two guns 
as a salute to the gallant Naper, as he rode 
fearlessly into the camp. The company had 
been out all day, and were very hungry, but 
nothing could be found at the settlement in the 
way of provisions. Among the cattle feeding 
on the prairie was a fine, fat steer, belonging 
to R, M. Sweet, and it was decided that it 
should be slaughtered for their evening's re- 
past. The cattle were all very wild, and ran 
off in fright whenever they were approached, so 
that the only method of securing the young 
steer was by shooting it. The Indians being 
anxious to undertake this part of the project, 
about fifty of them were provided with rifles, 
and they sallied forth toward the place where 
the herd was feeding, capering and cutting all 
kinds of antics as they went along. As they 
approached the herd, their victim was singled 
out, and two or three shots were fired without 
taking effect. The affrighted animal ran bellow- 
ing over the field, closely pressed by his assail- 
ants, who kept up a continual fire upon him, 
until the whole round had been discharged. 

" Of the fifty shots directed toward the ani- 
mal, none proved mortal. A rifle ball, how- 
ever, more fatally lodged, sent a tremor through 
his frame, and caused him to slacken his pace. 
The chase continued for some time, when the 
animal, in attempting to cross a slough, became 
mired and was easily taken. ' War seemed a 
civil game,' compared to the uproar that fol- 
lowed the fall of this hero. And as they bore 



HISTORY OF DU PAGE COUNTY. 



41 



him upon their shoulders triumphantly into the 
camp, one would have supposed, from the infer- 
nal yelling and screeching of those Indians, 
which 

" ' Embowel'd with outrageous noise the air," 
that Milton's deep-throated engines were again 
let loose with a certainty. They all shared the 
triumph, and each celebrated the capture of the 
steer as his own special achievement. Nothing 
could exceed the vainglorious vaporing of these 
rude sons of the forest, as the}' strutted about 
and exulted in the heroism of the adventure. 
The animal was properly dressed, and portions 
of the meat were prepared for supper, of which 
all partook with a good degree of relish. 

" After supper, the log store was broken open 
and found to contain, among other things, a good 
supply of the two staple articles of pioneer mer- 
chandise, viz., rum and tobacco. These were 
dealt out profusely to the Indians as a reward 
for their valorous conduct in the evening chase. 
The company remained at the settlement during 
the night. In the evening, to vary the monotony 
a little, the\ - prevailed upon the Indians to get 
up a war dance. This performance, when dra- 
matically considered, is strictly tragic, but it 
must be admitted that the ' bill ' for that even- 
ing had a fair sprinkling of the comic. Scalping 
scenes and tomahawk scenes were presented in 
the most approved Indian fashion, to the infinite 
amusement of a small but ' highly respectable 
audience.' At a late hour, the whole company 
retired, each individual selecting his ' site ' with- 
out respect to the complexion of his neighbor. 

" In the morning the company under Beaubien 
arose with an impatient desire to meet the ene- 
my. They had slept off the fatigue of the pre- 
vious day, and their desire for conflict returned 
with redoubled force with the restoration of their 



bodily energies. They resolved upon committing 
havoc among the Sacs, and fearing that they 
might, in some unguarded moment, slay some of 
their friends, the .Pottawatomies, by mistake, 
they went again to the old log store and procured 
a piece of cotton sheeting, which they tore into 
small strips and tied around the head and waist 
of each friendly Indian. Thus decorated, they 
left the party of Capt. Kinzie, and started for 
the Big Woods. The prairies were scoured, but 
not an Indian, nor trace of an Indian, was to 
be found. 

" The company returned to the settlement 
sadly dejected at the ill success of their Quix- 
otic adventure, and started for Chicago on the 
following morning. Nothing transpired on the 
way worthy of notice, except that the company 
rode as far as Brush Hill, constantly expecting 
to suffer the inconvenience of being shot, through 
the carelessness of one of its members, a young 
man then fresh from New York City, but now 
an individual of some distinction in Chicago 
City. He accidentally discharged his piece three 
times before reaching Brush Hill. The guns were 
strapped to the saddles in a horizontal position, 
and the chances were that the young man's ran- 
dom shots would take effect, if he was allowed 
the range of the whole company much longer. 
Arriving at Brush Hill and attempting to dis- 
mount, bang ! went his gun again. This aroused 
the ire of Col. Beaubien. He could endure it no 
longer, and commanded the youth to surrender 
up his arms. This the young man stoutly re- 
fused to do, whereupon Col. Beaubien made a 
violent descent upon him, threw him down, and 
after a short struggle, succeeded in wresting the 
gun from his grasp, after which there was no 
more ' firing on parade ' that day." 



HISTORY OF DU PAGE COUXTY. 



CHAPTER III. 



CAPT. PAINE ARRIVES AT THE NAPER SETTLEMENT FORT PAINE BUILT JAMES BROWN SHOT BY 
THE INDIANS EXPEDITION TO HALF DAY'S VILLAGE MAJ. WILLIAM WHISTLER ARRIVES 
AT FORT DEARBORN CAPT. PAINE'S COMPANY RETURN TO DANVILLE GEN. SCOTT AR- 
RIVES AT CHICAGO THE CHOLERA GEN. SCOTT ENCAMPS ON THE DESPLAINES 
GEN. SCOTT AT FORT PAINE GEN. SCOTT'S ARMY AT ROCK ISLAND JOHN 
K. CLAKK BLACK HAWK SENT TO FORTRESS MONROE HIS DEATH 
POLL LISTS THE PRE-EMPTION HOUSE CLAIMANTS THE 
PRAIRIE SCHOONER THE FIRST GRIST-MILLFOWLER'S 
GRAPPLE WITH THE WOLF THE PIONEER OF 
PIONEERS EARLY PREACHERS. 

PENDING these excitements, Black Hawk, 
with his army, were- encamped on the 
Rock River, north of Dixon, and Gen. At- 
kinson, who held chief command of the volun- 
teers, was stationed at Ottawa ; and inasmuch 
as the new settlers on the Du Page had no 
means of knowing the real situation, they 
thought it no more than a prudential measure, 
warranted by the circumstances, to build a 
fort, into which the settlers might take refuge 
in case of a sudden invasion. Accordingly, 
Capt. Joseph Naper, Capt. H. Board man and ten 
or twelve others, about the middle of June, 
started for Ottawa to get assistance from Gen. 
Atkinson to do this. He granted their request, 
and detailed Capt. Paine, of Joliet, with a com- 
pany of fifty volunteers from Danville, to assist 
in the work. These, with the company of men 
comprising the settlers on the Du Page, under 
command of Capt. Joseph Naper, soon com- 
pleted the work. 

The following is the muster-roll of the Du 
Page Company : 

Muster-roll of a company of mounted volun- 
teers in the service of the United States in de- 
fense of the northern frontier of the State of 
Illinois against the Sac and Fox Indians, from 
the County of Cook, in said State, in the year 
1832, under command of Capt. Joseph Naper. 



Joseph Naper, Captain ; Alanson Sweet, 
First Lieutenant, now living at Evanston, 111. ; 
Sherman King, Second Lieutenant, afterward a 
resident of Brush Hill, 111.; S. M. Salsbury, 
First Sergeant, dead ; John Manning, Second 
Sergeant ; Walter Stowell, Third Sergeant, 
afterward removed to Newark, 111.; John Na- 
per, Fourth Sergeant, died in Naperville ; T. E. 
Parsons, First Corporal ; Lyman Butterfield, 
Second Corporal ; Israel P. Blodgett, Third 
Corporal, dead ; Robert N. Murry, now Count}' 
Judge of Du Page County. 

Privates P. F. W. Peck, William Barber, 
Richard M. Sweet, John Stevens, Jr., Calvin M. 
Stowell. John Fox, Denis Clark, Caleb Foster, 
Augustine Stowell, George Fox, T. Parsons, 
Daniel Langdon, William Gault, Uriah Paine, 
John Stevens (dead), SethWescott (dead), Henry 
T. Wilson (now ninety-four years old, living at 
Wheaton), Christopher Paine, Bailey Hobson, 
Josiah H. Giddings (living in Wisconsin), Anson 
Ament, Calvin Ament, Edmund Harrison, Wil- 
lard Scott (now living in Naperville), Prez Haw- 
ley, Peter Wicoffe. 

The fort was situated on the spot now occu- 
pied by the house of Lewis Elsworth. It was a 
stockade of about 100 feet square, surrounded 
by pickets set in the ground, on two diagonal 
corners of which were two block-houses, pierced 



HISTORY OF DU PAGE COUNTY. 



43 



with port-holes so as to command the prairie 
in every direction. While constructing the 
block-house, " shakes " (clapboards or shingles) 
had to be used for covering. A quantity of 
these had already been riven out from oak tim- 
ber in Sweet's Grove, two and one-half miles dis- 
tant, and Capt. Paine detached two men with 
a team to haul them to the ground. It was 
driven by James Brown, and a young man 
named Buckley accompanied him to assist in 
loading. Arriving at the grove, they had to 
pass through a pair of bars, and Buckley 
jumped from the wagon to take them away, 
proceeding thence directly toward the pile of 
shakes. Brown drove on toward the spot, 
when, on entering the grove, he was fired on 
by a party of Indians who laid in ambush for 
the purpose of cutting off any one who might 
be so unfortunate as to cross their path. Three 
balls pierced his breast, and he fell. The 
horses, which were spirited animals, took fright, 
and, running, with great force thrust the end of 
the tongue of the wagon two or three inches 
into an oak tree. The three Indians who did 
this dastardly work now came up. scalped their 
victim, cut the horses loose from their confined 
position, mounted them and fled, two of them on 
one horse and the third on the other. 

Young Buckley, who witnessed the cruel fate 
of his companion, fled to the fort, breathless 
and stupefied with terror. On his arrival, it 
was several minutes before he could speak, but 
his blanched face and protruding tongue told 
his story in advance, all but the detail. His 
feet were bare, but he could not remember hav- 
ing pulled off his boots, which he must have 
done to lend speed to his flight. As soon as 
he could give an account of the affair, a com- j 
pany of ten or twelve men well mounted started 
in pursuit. Passing by the spot where the un- j 
fortunate young soldier laid still warm, but a < 
lifeless corpse, they kept on the track of the^ 
vagabonds who had slain him. and followed 
them to a grove near the present residence of \ 



Judge Drummond. Night overtook them here, 
and while the pursued could flee, the pursuers 
could not follow their tracks. Thus balked of 
their purpose, the part}' returned, taking up the 
body of Brown on their way and conveying it 
to the fort. He was buried with the honors of 
war on a rise of ground about twenty rods from 
the fort, and subsequently his remains were re- 
moved to the cemetery at Naperville, where a 
monument perpetuates his memory. He was 
one of the Danville volunteers. 

The night after this unfortunate occurrence, 
under the impression that a large force of hos- 
tile Sauks must be not far distant, Capt. Naper 
and Alanson Sweet started for Fort Dearborn 
at Chicago to get a re-enforcement ; but Gen. 
Williams, who held command there, after con- 
ferring with his subordinate officers, instead of 
granting him the men refused, on the ground 
that he deemed it unsafe a reply illy calcu- 
lated to re-assure the little band alreadj- there, 
and especially the two scouts who had alone 
ventured through a countiy supposed to be 
beset with foes. The two scouts returned to 
Fort Paine, and no further move was made till 
the 4th of July, when a scouting party, under 
command of Capt. Boardman, consisting of 
about twenty well-mounted men, started out 
on a reconnoissance to Ament's Grove, eight 
miles below Oswego. There they encamped at 
the deserted house of Mr. Ament, who, with 
his family, had taken refuge within the walls of 
Fort Dearborn. 

During the night, rain had fallen, making 
a mold for footprints in the well-frequented 
trail that led past the place, and careful exami- 
nation the next morning revealed the tracks of 
two Indians. Of course, in the distempered 
imaginations of the raiders they must be 
Sauks, and they followed them about fifteen 
miles to the village of a friendly Potta- 
watomie chief. While yet a mile distant from 
the village, the figure of an Indian on top 
of one of the tents was plainly discernible, 



44 



HISTORY OF DU PAGE COUXTY. 



evident!}' on the watch for his pursuers. The 
place was soon gained, but all was silent as the 
grave in the deserted place. Careful exami- 
nation now traced the fugitives to the 
river bank opposite an island. Had the harm- 
less but unlucky fleers been found, they would 
have been shot at sight. This they well knew; 
and, instead of either attempting to hold a 
parley with the scouts or to run away before 
their fleet horses, stealthily climbed a tree on 
the island and concealed themselves amid its 
foliage. 

In vain their pursuers searched for their 
tracks along river bank and trail. No trace of 
them could be found, and the party returned 
to Fort Paine. Some weeks afterward, two 
friendly Pottawatomies told the story to Alex- 
ander Robinson, giving point to the recital by 
describing the astonishment of their .pursuers 
as to the mysterious wa}' by which their tracks 
had been concealed. 

They had circumvented White Eagle, as they 
called Mr. Scott, and that was glory enough for 
them. 

Let us now return to Fort Dearborn. Here 
fugitives from the Hickory Creek, Naper, Scott 
and Walker's Grove settlements had gathered 
into close quarters, and nearly all of them des- 
titute of food and a change of clothing. This 
would have been no especial grievance to sav- 
ages, but to the people here assembled, who had 
been bred in the midst of plenty, nothing but 
the value which a cultured citizen places on 
life could make it endurable. 

While these fugitives were amusing them- 
selves as best they could to kill the long days 
of July, the sound of a cannon broke the si- 
lence of the morning. All eyes turned toward 
the lake, and there was an approaching sail. 
Succeeding puffs of smoke, with a corresponding 
number of reports, after brief intervals, threw 
the town into transports, and almost everybody 
flew to the beach. The vessel approached the 
mouth of the river, cast her anchor and low- 



ered her boats. Into these the soldiers leaped, 
and soon came rowing up Chicago River amidst 
the huzzas of the assembled spectators. 

This was a small command under Maj. Will- 
iam Whistler, the son of the same who had 
built the first Fort Dearborn in 1803-04. He 
came as an advance to Gen. Scott to make prep- 
arations for his arrival. Those who were shel- 
tered in the fort were required to leave it. 

For a short time, some still lingered around 
outside, but most of them returned to their 
homes, and the Naper settlement began to as- 
sume its former appearance again. Capt. 
Paine's company of volunteers left Fort Paine 
on the 10th of July, as the danger by this time 
was considered past, as it had been in reality 
long before, for Black Hawk for many days 
with his whole army had been in full retreat 
northwestwardly in Wisconsin. 

'Twas on the 8th of July, at 2 o'clock, dur- 
ing the small hours of morning, that the inhab- 
itants of Chicago were awakened by an outcry 
in the streets. Gen. Scott's army had arrived 
at the place and his soldiers were dying with 
the cholera. When the broad light of morning 
came, sa3's an eye-witness, hardly a resident 
was to be seen in the streets for nearly all had 
fled. Dr. De Camp, the army physician, prompt- 
ly called on those who had the courage to re- 
main to allay their fears, and to assure them 
that the disease would be confined to the garri- 
son. Indian Robinson (chief of the Pottawat- 
omies), John Miller (a tavern-keeper at the 
fort) and Benjamin Hall, at present residents of 
Wheaton, 111., remained at their respective 
posts, but the town, so recently the scene of 
bustle and confusion, presented the solemnity 
of a graveyard. 

In a few days the fleers began to return, but 
kept aloof from the fort where the disease was 
making such havoc that there were scarcely 
well ones enough to take care of the sick and 
bury the dead. Ninety of the soldiers fell vic- 
tims ere the contagion had spent its force, and 



LIBRARY 

OF THE 

UNIVERSITY OF ILLINOIS 



HISTORY OF DU PAGE COUNTY. 



47 



were buried just outside of the fort without the 
usual military honors of a soldier or even the 
civil usages of a coffin. When the last spark 
of life was supposed to be gone out, the corpse 
was hastened to the grave which was ever ready 
to receive the victim, where stood two grave- 
diggers with immobility in their faces and 
spades in their hands to interpose a few fee1>of 
earth between the decaying mass of contagion 
and the living world above ground. While 
this decimating process was going on, Gen. 
Scott was in no condition to take the offensive, 
but soon the disease exhausted all the material 
on which it could work, and abated. A camp 
was then established on the Desplaines River, 
where such soldiers as were still suffering from 
the effects of cholera could recruit their strength 
preparatory to a march across the country to 
the Mississippi River. This done, Gen. Scott, 
with twelve men as a body guard, and two 
wagons drawn by horses, started across the 
country for Fort Armstrong on Rock Island ; 
Fort Paine, on the Du Page, lay on his route, 
and here he arrived on the 20th of July, about 
the middle of the afternoon, and spent the first 
night on his journe}-. 

He conversed very agreeably with the citi- 
zen soldiers at the fort, and started on his way 
early the next morning, taking a straight course 
for Dixon, across the open prairie, which led 
him directly across Du Page County. It is 
worthy of notice here that Luther Nichols, a 
well-known resident of Chicago till his death 
in 1881, was one of the soldiers who accom- 
panied him. Mr. Nichols was also the last 
surviving soldier of Fort Dearborn who went 
through that fearful ordeal. The writer called 
on him but a few months before his death, and 
the following is the substance of his story, 
which verifies what has already been stated. 
He came to Chicago, with his wife and one 
child (as a soldier), in the service of the United 
States Infantry, under the immediate charge of 
.Maj. Whistler. On their arrival, they found 



Fort Dearborn crowded with fugitives from the 
adjoining country, who had fled to the place 
for refuge from the Black Hawk Indians. They 
were ordered to leave at once, and obeyed the 
summons with reluctance, as their fears were 
not 3'et allayed from the danger of Indian scalp- 
ing parties. A few days after their arrival, 
Gen. Scott came and brought the cholera. 
Maj. Whistler then left the fort and built bar- 
racks for his men at the foot of the present 
site of Madison street. Here they remained 
during the prevalence of cholera, and assisted 
in burying the dead of Scott's army. Soon 
after Gen. Scott's arrival, several of the dead 
bodies of such soldiers as had died on the pas- 
sage (of which eighteen had been thrown into 
the lake), were driven by the winds ashore on 
the beach south of Chicago, where he (Mr. 
Nichols) with six of the company, were ordered 
to go and bury them. It was a loathsome task, 
but quickly done. Their graves were soon dug 
in the soft sands of the shore, into which their 
bodies were tumbled and hastily covered, from 
which place the}' have never been resurrected. 

Mr. Nichols witnessed Gen. Scott's treaty 
with the Sauks, at Rock Island, where their 
miserable remnant made their signs to relin- 
quish their homes forever. They were subdued, 
humbled, and so emaciated by hunger and hard 
marching as to look like skeletons with leath- 
ern sacks drawn over them. There was much 
carousing and hilarity among the soldiers. Mr. 
Davenport, after whom the city opposite was 
named, kept a grocery and drinking saloon in 
Rock Island, half a mile above Fort Armstrong, 
where both officers and soldiers made them- 
selves merry on whisky, which was said to be 
of a good brand, but of its. quality Mr. Nichols 
could not judge from his own knowledge. 

These simple facts from the lips of this hon- 
est old man have not only an historic but a 
moral force. Had he been intemperate, like 
some of his comrades, he would not have been 

the last survivor of Fort Dearborn. He was 

o 



48 



HISTORY OF DU PAGE COUNTY. 



born in Otsego Count}-, N. Y., in 1805 ; enlist- 
ed in the regular service in 1828 ; was honora- 
bly discharged at Fort Dearborn in the fall of 
1833, and remained in Chicago till his death, 
in 1881. After the departure of Gen. Scott on 
his way to Rock Island, the command of the 
main body of the army devolved on Col. Cum- 
mings. Many of the men still lay in a feeble 
condition, encamped at the present site of Riv- 
erside on the Desplaines. In a few days, they 
were ready to take up their march, all but four 
or five soldiers. These were carried in the 
wagons, and the army started up the Desplaines 
River to the present site of Maywood ; thence 
in a direct line through Gilbert's Grove on the 
Du Page. They crossed the Fox River three 
miles below where Elgin now stands. Thence 
through a Winnebago village where Beloit, 
Wis., now is. The track they made has since 
been used as a highway, and called the army 
trail, but the same trail was a well-known 
route before Scott's army traveled it. It was 
an old Indian trail from Chicago to the Winne- 
bago village where Beloit now stands, from 
time immemorial. Scott's army were ordered 
to follow it, and they obeyed to the letter, cut- 
ting a wagon road through groves where it 
led that they could easily have gone around. 

The train waited a week for dispatches at 
the Indian village, and, after these came, they 
bent their course down the Rock River to Rock 
Island. It was probably the result of the bat. 
tie of Bad Ax that turned the course of the 
army toward Rock Island instead of toward 
the locality where Black Hawk's army were 
fighting like wild beasts at bay. At the battle 
of Bad Ax, most of his men were dispatched 
to the happy hunting grounds, and many of 
their squaws and papooses also went with 
them, embarking from the fatal island in the 
Mississippi River where, from the steamer 
Black Warrior, and from the company of Capt. 
Taylor (afterward President of the United 
States), a deadly fire was kept up on them till 



the last wretch who had taken refuge thei'e was 
killed, of whatever sex or age they might be. 

Robert X. Murray had enlisted in the serv- 
ice of Col. Cummings as teamster, to sit in one 
of the fifty wagons of which the train was 
composed and hold the ribbons. After the 
first day's ride, he run over a hornets' nest, 
which gave the teams that immediately fol- 
lowed any benefits that might result. 

The retaliation for this disturbance of their 
home was prompt and decisive, as it was indis- 
criminate, for it fell not on the teams that had 
run over them, but on those that followed. 

Maddened into fury by their stings, the horses 
ran away and broke several wagons, and two 
days' detention to make repairs was the result, 
all of which was charged to accident (?). Far- 
ther along, young Murray was promoted from 
driving the baggage wagon, to which he had 
first been assigned, to driving the carriage of 
the Colonel himself, who held command of the 
whole train. This promotion could not have 
been the result of Murray's bold charge on the 
hornets nest, for his modesty forbade that he 
should plume himself, and he said nothing about 
it to any one till he became County Judge> 
when he revealed the reminiscence to the writ- 
er, which is hereby transferred to these columns 
as a fresh bit of history to illustrate the jocular 
spirit of the times that then prevailed. 

In the summer of 1836, Dr. Teffts, of Elgin, 
was passing the spot where this event occurred, 
and there lay iu the prairie grass, the bones of 
a skeleton beside the army trail. Without doubt 
the}- were those of a soldier buried here during 
the detention, and dug up by the wolves after the 
train was out of sight, who, hyena-like, had 
made a hideous repast from his diseased flesh. 
These relics may now be seen in Dr. Teffts' of- 
fice. 

It may want explanation how Gen. Scott, 
while at Chicago, learned of the progress of the 
war, and the locality of the erratic combatants 
engaged in it a knowledge so essential to him 



HISTORY OF DU PAGE COUNTY. 



49 



(the Commauder-in-Chief), before any steps 
could be taken from his position at Fort Dear- 
born. To get this information, he employed a 
man acquainted with the country to go to Dix- 
on, on Rock River, which was supposed to be 
Gen. Atkinson's base. 

The name of the intrepid scout thus emplo3'ed 
to communicate with Gen. Atkinson was John 
K. Clark, an early " habitant " of Chicago, still 
remembered by a few of its early settlers. His 
mother was a captive, who had been taken in 
childhood by the Shawnees from the Virginia 
frontier during Dunmore's war in 1774, and 
subsequently became the wife (after the Indian 
fashion) of John Kinzie, the founder of the city 
of Chicago (in the American sense). Clark was 
the oldest son of this discarded wife after her 
marriage to a worthy Scotch gentleman. He 
executed the mission of Gen. Scott with fidelity, 
taking along with him two half-breeds, equally 
courageous, to assist in any emergency that 
might befall him on the way. Stealthily he 
traversed the open prairie which intervened 
between Chicago and Dixon, passing through 
the northern part of the present county of 
Du Page, avoiding all trails and Indian 
lodges lest he might be captured by emissaries 
of Black Hawk, who were then supposed to be 
prowling about for stragglers. When he re- 
turned with a message from Gen. Atkinson and 
presented it to Gen. Scott, he with his comrades 
received a liberal reward, but the two half- 
breeds tarnished their laurels by a carousal, 
and, before they recovered from the effects of 
it, died with cholera. Mr. Benjamin Hall, now 
living in Wheaton, saw them but a few minutes 
before they were taken down. 

After the arrival of Gen. Scott's army at 
Fort Armstrong, the fifty teams accompanying 
it were sent back to Chicago, young Murray 
being one of the drivers. They had been pur- 
chase^ at Milan, Ohio, but were sold at Chi- 
cago on Government account for the most they 
would bring. The Indian prisoners were sent 



to Jefferson barracks just below St. Louis on 
the 9th of September. Here Black Hawk, who 
was among them, remained till April 26. 1833, 
when he was sent to Fortress Monroe, since 
which time worse men than he have been con- 
fined there. On the 4th of June following, he 
was sent back to the small relic of his tribe, 
then removed west of the Mississippi River. 
On his way, he was received with ovations in 
all the large cities through which he passed. 
Ladies of high rank flattered him with compli- 
ments, which, if anything could astonish an In- 
dian, must have been a surprise to this old 
weather-beaten warrior at the contrast pre- 
sented between the treatment he had received 
at the hands of the white men who first drove 
him from his village with no provocation, and 
the kind sympathy of these elegant ladies. 
Not to be outdone by them in courtesy, he re- 
sponded to their pleasant words and smiles in 
as good English as he could : " Pretty Squaw, 
Pretty squaw." 

On returning to his country, he was restored 
to his tribe as a chief subordinate to Keokuk. 
His last days were spent in quietude, where 
his good squaw attended to his wants till death 
caused him to be 

" Admitted to that equal sky 

To which his faithful dog shall bear him company." 

This was October 3, 1838. He was buried in 
a sitting posture, near the present village of 
Towaville, in Wapello County. A mound six 
feet high was raised over the grave of this ill- 
starred chieftain who must ever stand recorded 
as the last native defender of the soil of the 
Northwest. Thus ended all danger from Indian 
troubles, for no fears were entertained on ac- 
count of the Pottawatomies, though still more 
numerous than the whites throughout NortBern 
Illinois. 

In justice to the memory of Black Hawk, it 
should not be omitted here that according to 
the testimony of Gov. Reynolds, who was in 
the war and an eye witness, it appears that the 



60 



HISTORY OF DU PAGE COUNTY. 



first hostile shot was fired at one of Black 
Hawk's men. who was one of five to convey a | 
flag of truce to the camp of the Americans. 
Two of these white-flag bearers were captured 
and killed by the volunteers, and Stilltnan's 
disgraceful defeat was the result of this affair, 
on which occasion a little handful of Indians 
gave chase to 240 volunteers, and killed 11 of 
them in revenge for their attack upon the five 
truce- bearers. 

The massacre at Indian Creek soon followed, 
which for hellish cruelty has never been ex- 
ceeded in the annals of Indian warfare. Two 
of the Indians engaged in it were supposed to 
be, and probably were veritably identified after- 
ward, and a bill for murder against them was 
found in the Court of the Grand Jury at Ottawa. 
The criminals were placed in the hands of j 
George E. Walker, then County Sheriff of La | 
Salle County ; but as their trial was postponed 
six months, and, in the meantime, the tribe to 
which the two criminals belonged had been re- 
removed beyond the Mississippi River, Mr. 
Walker released them on their own pledge that 
they would return at the next term of court, h'e 
himself signing their baif. 

On the appointed da}-, in stalked the two In- 
dians with the air of their brethren when they 
sing their death song ; but, owing to the floods, 
the judge could not appear, and the court again 
adjourned over to another term. The two In- 
dians again returned to their tribe, supposing 
the matter done with. In this they were mis- 
taken. Mr. Walker was called upon to produce 
them at the next session of court, and he started 
immediately and alone across the country, 
reached the tribe, and the two criminals re- 
turned without hesitation with him ; were tried 
and acquitted for want of identification satis- 
factory to the jury. 

Mr. Walker died in 1874, at No. 34 Indiana 
avenue, Chicago, greatly esteemed b}- all who 
knew him. This information was direct from 
his truthful lips before he died. 



During the absence of the settlers at Naper's 
colony, they had disturbed nothing which had 
been left behind, and when the fleers returned 
they found the warm meals that some of them 
had left on the table untasted, now worse than 
cold hash. 

The sacrifices that had been made by the 
hast}- stampede into Fort Dearborn of the 
Naper settlers, were more than offset by the 
widespread fame and notoriety which the affair 
had given throughout the country, which soon 
began to induce emigration not only into the 
entire northern portion of the State ; and among 
the other wonders that first surprised new 
comers, was the wonder that so fertile a coun- 
try accessible as it was to the world outside, 
had so long remained unnoticed. 

The following poll lists are copied from the 
original documents, which are now in the hands 
of William Naper, son of Joseph Naper. They 
are authentic records of the names of settlers 
then in and contiguous to the Naper settle- 
ment : 

A poll book of an election held in the Scott Gen- 
eral Precinct in Cook County, 111., on Monday the 
6th day of August, 1832. 

VOTERS' NAMES. 

Joseph Naper, P. F. W. Peck, 

Harry Boardman, Israel P. Blodgett, 

Stephen M. Salesbury, Robert Strong, 
John Manning, Walter Stowell, 

Seth Wescott, R. M- Sweet, 

John Naper, Harry T. Willson, 

Pierce Hawley, Peter Wycoff, 

Willard Scott, Bailey Hobson. 

Isaac Scarritt, 

At an election held at the house of Joseph Naper 
in the Scott Precinct, in the county of Cook and 
State of Illinois, on the 6th day of August, in the 
year of our Lord one thousand eight hundred and 
thirty-two, the following-named persons received 
the number of votes annexed to their respective 
names, for the following described offices to wit: 
Joseph Duncan had 14 votes for Representative to 

Congress. 
Jonathan H. Pugh had 2 votes for Representative to 

Congress. 
James N. Strode had 13 votes for Senator. 



HISTORY OF DU PAGE COUNTY. 



51 



James W. Stephenson had 3 votes for Senator. 

Benjamin I. Mills had 16 votes for Representative. 

Stephen B. Forbes had 17 votes for Sheriff. 

Elijah Wentworth, Jr., had 16 votes for Coroner. 

Rufus Brown had 17 votes for County Commissioner. 

Harry Boardman had 16 votes for County Commis- 
sioner. 

Holder Sisson had 16 votes for County Commis- 
sioner. 

James Walker had 1 vote for County Commissioner. 

Certified by us, 

JOSEPH NAPEK, 
HARRY BOARDMAN, 
STEPHEN M. SALESBURY. 

Attest: Judges of Election. 

\ 0^ of Election. 

A poll book of an election in the Scott General 
Precinct in Cook County, 111., on Saturday the 6th 
of October, 1832. 

VOTERS' NAMES. 

Daniel Landon, Lyman Butterfield, 

Joseph Naper, John Manning, 

Harry Boardman, Christopher Payne, 

John Murray, Peter Wycoft, 

Alanson Sweet, Caleb Foster, 

Asahel Buckley, John Naper, 

Sherman King, Pierce Hawley. 

S. M. Salesbury, 

At an election held at the house of Joseph Naper 
in the Scott General Election Precinct in the Flag 
Creek District, in the County of Cook and State of 
Illinois, on the 6th day of October in the year of 
our Lord one thousand eight hundred and thirty- 
two, the following-named persons received the 
number of votes annexed to their respective names, 
for the following described offices to wit: 
Stephen M. Salisbury had 10 votes for Justice of 

the Peace. 

John Murray had 2 votes for Justice of the Peace. 
John Manning had 1 vote for Justice of the Peace. 
Sherman King had 1 vote for Justice of the Peace. 
"Willard Scott had 14 votes for Constable. 
William Laird had 12 votes for Constable. 
John Murray had 1 vote for Constable. 
Sherman King had 1 vote for Constable. 
Certified by us. 

JOSEPH NAPER, 
HARRY BOARDMAN, 
JOHN MURRAY, 

Judges of Election. 
Attest: 

ALANBON SWEET, ) 
JOHN MANNING, 



Clerks of Election. 



. Soon after the election, says Judge Blodgett, 
Henry Pomeroy, Samuel Gooderich, Hiram 
Standish and Capt. John Barber settled at what 
was at this time called the Hawley and Scott 
settlement, which by the next year was so 
much extended by new-comers as to nearly fill 
up the gap between it and the Naper settle- 
ment. 

Among this class of settlers who came after 
the Black Hawk war and became permanent res- 
idents was John Stephens, who in July, 1832, 
bought out a claim of P. F. W. Peck, a part of 
which lies within the present corporate limits 
of Naperville. He remained on it till his 
death in 1862. Philinda, his daughter, mar- 
ried William Laird the next year, 1833, and 
went to the Fox River to live. Mr. Laird died 
in 1834, when Mrs. Laird returned to her father's 
house at Naperville, where she married Hiram 
Fowler in 1844. She and her husband are now 
(1882) both living in Naperville, and from them 
the writer learned the date of the erection of 
the first hotel in Naperville, as well as being 
the first in the county of Du Page. It was the 
Pre-emption House, the frame of which was 
put up by George W. Laird, brother of William. 
He sold it to John Stephens, who partly fin- 
ished and rented it to Mr. Crocker, and subse- 
quently to Mr. Douglas, Mr. Aldrich, and lastly 
to Messrs. Munson & Webster, after which he 
sold it to Gen. Bill. 

When the frame of this old landmark was 
raised, the event was one of no small magni- 
tude in the estimation of those interested. On 
all such occasions in that day, the inevitable 
bottle is passed around at seasonable intervals, 
and it appears that on this occasion a vein of 
sentiment inspired at least one mind, and found 
vent in the following lines, which were spoken 
by Nathan Allen from the ridge pole of the 
frame when finished. 

"This place once a wilderness of savage and owls. 
Where the red man once roamed and the prairie wolf 
howled, 



52 



HISTORY OF DU PAGE COUXTY. 



This house now erected the place to adorn, 
To shelter the living and babes yet unborn, 
We'll name it " Pre-emption" a law that'scomplete, 
For the use of George Laird who says he will treat." 

The author's name is not known, hut nobody 
will accuse him of plagiarism, for the lines them- 
selves were too naively put together to allow 
grounds for such a charge, painting as no other 
language could the spirit of the days of 1834 
at the Naper settlement. Michael Hines, who 
came to the place the next year (1835), arrived 
on Temple's line of stages, passing Barry's 
Point, nine miles west of Chicago, where the 
Widow Barry kept a hotel ; Lawton's, on the 
Desplaines ; Brush Hill, where Mr. Fuller kept 
a log hotel, and Richard Sweet's, a hotel one 
and a half miles east of Naperville. Says Mr- 
Hines : " The Pre-emption House was then the 
only building on the low grounds. On the ele- 
vated grounds were log houses where the Na- 
pers, Mr. Strubler, Dr. White, Dr. Potter and 
Alexander Howard, who kept the post office, 
lived. There was one store also at the time. 
Mr. Hines is now Justice of the Peace in Na- 
perville. But the country all round was filling 
up with settlers, and it may with truth be said 
that its agricultural growth was more rapid 
than its increase in trading interests, for the 
reason that the first wants of the settler were 
simplified down to his necessities, and until 
the farmers of any pew country get revenues 
from their farms, their villages will improve 
slowly. 

The only public surveys that had yet been 
made in the country were of "the lands south- 
east of the old Indian boundary line, which 
only took in about fifty sections in the south- 
east corner of the present county, but settlers 
could not wait for surveys. They were on the 
ground, and when they saw a piece of land that 
suited them, they took possession of it, or, at 
least, as much of it as they felt their ability to 
pay for when it came to be surveyed and 
brought into market by the Government. To 



define the limits of their claims, they plowed a 
furrow around them on prairies, and blazed the 
trees to define claim lines in the groves. The 
first claims thus made were for lands comprising 
both prairie and timber in requisite proportions; 
water also being an important consideration, 
lands on the Du Page River, or those on which 
springs were found, were the first sought for. 
| All lands of this description, for many miles 
around the Naper settlement, were under claim 
as early as 1835, but plenty of open prairie had 
not been taken possession of previous to 1839. 

The second hotel built in the Naper settle- 
ment was the New York House. It was not at 
first intended for a hotel, but for a wagon and 
blacksmith shop, for which purpose it was used 
for a year or more, when it was metamorphosed 
into a house of entertainment, by removing the 
forges which once stood where now the billiard 
table stands in this establishment, which is 
still like the Pre-emption House, one of the 
links that connect the early day to the present. 

R. N. Murray was its first proprietor. While 
the house inside had been purged of every ves- 
tige of blacksmith's cinders honorable in their 
place, but not appropriate in a hotel, still the 
old swings for shoeing oxen outside remained 
for some years after their mission had ended 
there standing as a huge memento of the early 
methods of transportation by these slow, but 
faithful animals, with their cloven hoofs plated 
with iron. 

During all this time, Naperville was the cen- 
ter of attraction. Here was a saw mill, stores, 
shops and two taverns, and it was on the great 
highwa}- that led from Chicago to Ottawa, and 
thence to Vandalia, the capital of the State. 
This road was traveled by a constant stream of 
prairie schooners, as they were called. They 
were large Pennsylvania wagons covered with 
canvas, drawn by oxen. Slowly they moved 
along, with their ponderous burdens following 
the beaten track over the great ocean of waving 
grass, that was omnipresent, with nothing to 



HISTORY OF DU PAGE COUNTY. 



53 



relieve its monotonous grandeur (if the ex- 
pression is admissible) but here and there a 
grove. When night overtook them, their drivers 
fed the oxen from the prairie and berthed him- 
self in the wagon after having eaten his cold 
boiled ham and corned bread, seasoned with a 
swallow from his flask (if he had not joined the 
teetotalers) to tone up his spirits with his di- 
gestion. 

Naperville was a far-famed stopping-place 
for these travelers, and some of its early resi- 
dents have informed the writer that more than 
fifty of these " prairie schooners " anchored 
there during the season of travel every night. 
Whisky was 20 cents per gallon, and they had 
merry times. Far along the verge of the grove 
their shouts rent the air, and their camp-fire^ 
gleamed through the darkness till a late hour- 
The teams from the West were loaded with grain 
for the Chicago market, and those from the 
East with goods to supply the necessities of 
farmers, such as salt, leather, plows and other 
indispensables. 

Besides this travel through the place, there 
was a large travel from every direction to it, to 
bring corn and wheat to a grist-mill, which 
Bailey Hobson and Harry Boardman had fin- 
ished in running order in 1835. This was the 
first and only one of the kind that went by water 
ill a large scope of country around, and here 
the farmers came with their grists, and also took 
the occasion to do a little shopping at the stores. 

It was a great event in the place when this 
mill went into operation ; every one wished to 
help the enterprise along, and let it not be for- 
gotten that in this benevolent work Miss Lucy 
Standish made the bolt cloth, and ingeniously 
put it on the reel. . She is cousin to the wife of 
Mr. F. Mather, a resident of Wheaton, and a 
true descendant of Old Cotton Mather, the great 
foe to Salem Witches. Whether Miss Standish 
is related in any way to the celebrated Miles, 
the writer cannot say, but it is certain that she 
is not his direct descendant, as he died a bache- 



lor, after an unsuccessful courtship, resulting 
from the blunder of sending an agent to do his 
courting, who won the lady on his own account, 
and left poor Miles a lonesome monument of 
the old adage, that " faint heart never won 
fair lady." Albeit the memory of Miles Stand- 
ish is embalmed in history, for his pugnacious 
feelings toward the Indians, who never commit- 
ted an offense against him. His humble name- 
sake, Miss Lucy, whose ingenuity in making 
the first bolt cloth that ever separated bran 
from flour in this county, still lives among us, 
worthy to be represented in these pages. In 
the good old times when she was in the hey- 
day of her vigor, almost everybody partook of 
the " rough and ready " spirit. If anything 
difficult or dangerous was to be done, there was 
little shirking. Nobody was afraid of soiling 
their kid gloves. It's doubtful if there was such 
a thing in the county. 

Hiram Fowler, who still lives as a resident 
of Naperville, now far advanced in years, de- 
lights to rehearse the tales of early life there, 
and amongst other reminiscenses, has a wolf 
story, which, though familiar to his fellow-citi- 
zens, will bear printing for the benefit of those 
who have not heard him tell it. 

In 1836, his home was a mile and a half 
above Naperville, on the bank of the Du Page, 
from which, late one afternoon, he rode to the 
town on horseback to buy some groceries. On 
his return, his dog encountered a wolf some 
distance ahead of him, and he well knew, from 
the fierce snapping and yelping, that a battle 
was going on between the two. Hastening to 
the spot, he dismounted, but he had no weapon, 
not even a stick with which he could take part 
in the evenly matched fight. But, unarmed as 
he was, he ventured to give the wolf a kick in 
the head, or rather make the attempt to, when 
the defender caught the toe of his boot, and 
cut a hole through the upper with a single 
snap, his tooth passing between two of Mr. 
Fowler's toes. 



54 



HISTORY OF DU PAGE COUNTY. 



Nothing daunted by the failure of this first 
charge upon the enemy, he next grappled with 
him, catching him by the hind foot and swing- 
ing him around so violently that he could not 
turn the biting end to defend himself. Mr. 
Fowler saw his advantage, hung to him with 
the grip of a giant, swinging him furiously with 
one hand, while with the other he seized the 
bridle of his horse and leaped upon his back, 
still clinging to the wolf. He now galloped to 
the home of Mr. Bird, half a mile distant, who 
came to his assistance and dispatched the wolf. 

Besides the permanent settler who plants 
himself on the soil of a new country and grows 
up with the country, is another class of men, 
of whom it may with truth be said, lose the 
end in the means to acquire that end. They 
are the incarnation of the true pioneer, and 
their love for settling on the broad face of 
nature, untarnished by the devices of clans or 
even the restraints of conventionalism, amounts 
to a passion, or, as some would say, " a hobby." 
These men are almost always generous and 
self-sacrificing, abhor technicalities and scorn 
thieves. 

They take a short cut toward what they 
consider a principle of justice, though it may 
be across fields of jurisdiction. Mr. Lewis 
Ellsworth, a well-known citizen of Naperville, 
tells the writer an anecdote as to one of these 
men, named Stout, who had made a claim on 
the west side of the East Branch of the Du 
Page, Lisle Township, Section 11. He had a 
large field of corn near the road where the 
travel went from the back country to Chicago, 
and it was a frequent occurrence that passers 
with loaded wagons would take corn from his 
field to bate their teams. When informed of 
this, he replied that it was all right, as he felt 
so strongly imbued with the principle of hospi- 
tality that he felt no desire to put a stop to 
what the mildest name other people would have 
given to it would be a trespass. But Mr. Stout 
came from a backwoods place in Indiana, where 



the generosity of the neighborhood would for- 
bid one to charge pay for a horse feed, and he 
could not bring himself to such a practice. 
Soon after this, there came an avalanche of 
settlers and the machinery of law and society 
was put fairly in motion. Then he left for a 
new field on which to bask in the sunshine of 
immunity from restraints. 

Those who have lived in frontier places can 
best understand the eccentricities of these men. 
The writer once knew one of them to move six 
or eight miles and build a new cabin at the 
spot because his cow had chosen Tier range 
there, which whim would be like the tail wag- 
ging the dog instead of the dog the tail. 
Without drawing any comparison between 
these men and Oscar Wilde, who stands at 
the other end of the pole, it is justly due to 
them to say that, with all their idiosyncracies ) 
thev possess points out of which the romancer 
and the poet weaves the brightest colors into 
his fabric. Cooper's Leather Stocking was 
one of them, and Longfellow's Lover of Evan- 
geline was another. One other class of the 
early day deserves mention, and that is the 
preacher. 

The reverend pioneer was no testhetic. He 
rode an ambling pony from settlement to set- 
tlement, and quartered on the hospitality of 
the people as he went along, which was always 
a steadfast dependence, for no one would turn 
anybody away, especially a preacher. He was 
always verj- much at home, and, if his coat 
often wanted a few stitches to make it present- 
able to an audience, he did not hesitate to ask 
the mistress of the household whose circle he 
honored with his presence to do the necessary 
i needle work. His sermons, if not elegant, 
; were effective, and laid the foundation for more 
' learned and perhaps more effeminate preachers 
to reap where he sowed the seed. 

Kev. S. R. Beggs was one of these early 

preachers, and has written a book relating his 

: early experiences, from which the following 



HISTORY OF DU PAGE COUNTY. 



55 



quotations are taken as good authority to 
show the methods and mission of the early 
preacher. On page 91, he says: " I thanked 
him, and attended morning devotions. The 
thanks and prayers of the Methodist minister 
in those days alwa3's settled the reckoning with 
their hosts." On page 108, continues Father 
Beggs, in 1834 : "I was re-appointed to Des- 
plaines Mission (this included the Du Page 
country), and I returned with renewed zeal, 
which in this case was the more necessary, as 
the rage for speculation was just commencing 
among both settlers and emigrants. It was 
an earnest struggle, and it sometimes seemed 
impossible to hold the attention of the sinner 
long enough to impress him with the great 
claim which the Gospel had on him. Those 
who would not come out to church I followed 
to their houses, conversing with them on the 
highways and by the wayside. It was a doubt- 
ful struggle ; but by the help of the Lord and 
His efficient instruments in the persons of 
Brothers Walker, E. Scarriott and F. Owens 
I saw many souls converted and believers 



strengthened. * * * My worldly goods 
increased, so that, if one could use the paradox, 
I was cursed with blessings. Three years be- 
fore, I owned a horse and $60, now my farm of 
240 acres was nearly paid for, and I had four 
horses, seven cows and forty hogs." 

On page 229, in speaking of Rev. Mr. See, 
Father Beggs continues : "I knew him well, and 
as a good preacher, and if he ' got into the 
brush,' as the pioneers used to say, when one 
was at a loss how to go on with his sermon, it 
was no more than others did who made preten- 
sions to greater advantages when trying to 
preach without a manuscript, and at last did 
not get the brush cleared away after all, as did 
Father See. Indeed, I have often thought of 
the story of one of the ' regular succession,' who, 
while preaching, suddenly discovered that ' third- 
ly ' had been blown out of the window, by means 
of which he lost the thread of his ideas, and 
came to a full stop. And " (continues Father 
Beggs, in defending Mr. See from an attack 
made on him for ' slaughtering the king's En- 
glish ' ), " thank God, he slaughtered sin, also." 



OHAPTEE IV. 



PUBLIC LAND SURVEYS THE LAND CLAIM SYSTEM NECESSITY FOR THE HIGHER LAW THE BIG 
WOODS CLAIM PROTECTING SOCIETY THE LAND PIRATE COMPANY LAND SPECULATORS 
INDIAN BURYING GROUNDS THE FOX RIVER COUNTRY METHOD OF GRINDING 
CORN INDIAN VILLAGES INDIAN AGRICULTURE INDIAN MODES OF 
TRAVEL THE COUNTRY NORTH, EAST AND SOUTH OF THE DU PAGE 
SETTLEMENTS THE DU PAGE COUNTY SOCIETY FOR MU- 
TUAL PROTECTION THE HOGNATORIAL COUNCIL. 

square ; a section is one mile square ; a half- 
section is one mile long and one-half mile wide ; 
a quarter-section is one-half mile square ; a 
half-quarter-section is one-half mile north and 
south, and one-fourth mile east and west ; a 
quarter - quarter - section is one -fourth mile 
square ; a lot is one of the subdivisions of such 
part of a fractional section as is not susceptible 



E public lands of the United States are 
-L ordinarily surveyed into rectangular tracts, 
bounded by lines conforming to the cardinal 
points. These tracts are designated as town- 
ships, sections, half-sections, quarter-sections, 
half-quarter-sections, quarter-quarter-sections, 
and lots. They have, as nearly as may be, the 
following dimensions : A township is six miles 



56 



HISTORY OF DU PAGE COUNTY. 






of division into quarter-quarter-sections, and 
contains, as nearly as may be, the quantity of 
a quarter-quarter-sectiou. 

This plan of survey is called the rectangular 
system. It has been in operation since the 
latter part of the last century. Since its in- 
auguration, it has undergone modifications con- 
tributing much to its completeness. The later 
surveys are, therefore, much more systematic 
and regular than the early ones. 

In applying this system to any portion of the 
public lands, a base line, on a parallel of lati- 
tude, and a principal meridian intersecting it, 
are established as the necessities and con- 
venience of the survey ma}' require ; and they 
are laid clown and marked with great care. 
Other lines are then run corresponding to these, 
and so that the last ones are, as nearly as may 
be, six miles apart each way. 

The rectangular tracts thus formed are the 
townships, and subdivisions of these form the 
sections and fractions of sections. 

A line of townships extending north and 
south is called a range. The ranges are desig- 
nated by their number east or west of the 
principal meridian. The townships in each 
range are named by their number north or 
south of the base line. 

This will be understood by observing upon 
the map of Illinois that a principal meridian is 
laid down from the mouth of the Ohio River 
northward through the State, and that in the 
northeast corner of Washington County it in- 
tersects a base line on the parallel of thirty- 
eight and a half degrees. This principal 
meridian and base line, it will be seen, are each 
numbered both ways from the point of inter- 
section. This is the third of the established 
permanent meridians of the laud survey. 
Springfield, for instance, is thus found to be in 
Township 16 north, in Range 5 west, of the 
Third Principal Meridian. 

The Fourth Principal Meridian begins at the 
mouth of the Illinois River and intersects a 



base line at Beardstown. All of the Slate 
west of the Illinois River, and west of the 
Third Principal Meridian northward from where 
it crosses the Illinois River, is numbered from 
this fourth meridian. The Second Principal 
Meridian extends from the Ohio River, in 
Crawford Count} 7 , Ind., through the State. It 
intersects the base line in Orange County. The 
portion of Illinois east of Range 11 east of the 
Third Principal Meridian, north to the south 
line of Township 31, is numbered from this 
Second Principal Meridian, all the rest is num- 
bered from the Third Meridian, ami Du Page 
County is included in this territory. The public 
surveys had been extended through the entire 
southern and central portions of the State of 
Illinois long before Du Page County or the 
northern part of the State had been settled, 
and on no part of the public domain of the 
wild and unsurveyed territory of the United 
States had so many complex conditions crossed 
the path of the settler as here. 

That this country had so long remained 
comparatively unknown to the world outside, 
was due to the fact that the Indian title to it had 
not been extinguished till the social antagon- 
isms of the white and red races were brought 
face to face with each other, and demanded 
action to prevent violence. The Pottawatomies 
had been no idle observers of the manner by 
which their red brethren east of them had been 
driven from their lands. They had seen these 
tribes take up the hatchet, and though led by 
such renowned chiefs as Pontiac, Little Tur- 
tle and Tecumseh, had been vanquished and 
almost annihilated in the unequal combat that 
followed their efforts to defend their soil from 
the first inroads of the settlers. Hoping to 
avert such a calamity, they attempted to do it 
by submission, and in accordance with this 
policy never molested the settlers who came 
among them, nor could Black Hawk's emissa- 
ries with all their bravado induce them to 
change their peaceful policy. For this reason 



HISTORY OF DU PAGE COUNTY. 



57 



the Government could have no quarrel with 
them, and there was no necessity to extinguish 
their title to their lands till social influences 
under the conditions of peace as already stated 
made it essential to the best interests of both 
the red and white races to do so. This is why 
public surveys in Northern Illinois had been 
retarded so long. The consequence was that 
the settlers, in their haste to secure the best 
lands, were obliged to take possession of them 
in a state of nature, and establish the limits 
and boundaries of their farms themselves, 
which limits of course would have to be 
changed to suit the lines made by the survey- 
ors when they came to be made. To adjust 
these limits whose section lines left portions of 
two or more men's claims in one section, in- 
volved nice distinctions in the natural princi- 
ple of justice, with no precedent or rule as a 
guide. This was only one of many other com- 
plications to be solved on principles of equity 
and fair dealing growing out of land claims. 
The primary object of the settlers was to secure 
homes for themselves, while for the rights of 
the land speculator who came here to take 
possession of the land to speculate on and en- 
rich himself on its enhanced value growing out 
of their labor, they cared nothing. He did 
not come within the pale of this protection; on 
the contrary, he was regarded with jealousy, 
and had a thorny path to travel when he came 
in collision with their interests. 

But the foremost object of the settlers was 
to guard against " claim jumping." This was 
an attempt on the part of some interloper to 
take possession of some parcel of land within 
the limits of a claim already made. The lim- 
its were marked by a furrow in the prairie, and 
in the groves by marking the trees in a similar 
manner to the way in which public surveyors 
" blaze " their lines through the woods in tim- 
bered countries. 

To adjust all the disputes liable to grow out 
of all these circumstantial points, it was 



thought expedient to organize a society and 
appoint a committee of referees with plenary 
power to settle all issues that compromise had 
failed to harmonize between parties interested- 
To this end, on the 6th of February, 1836, 
a meeting of claim-holders was convened at 
the house of Mr. A. Culver, who lived on the 
eastern side of the Big Woods, which lies 
partly in the southeastern corner of Du Page 
County and also beyond to the west in Kane 
Count}-. At this meeting, Dr. Levi Ward, 
Frederick Stolp, A. E. Carpenter, William J. 
Strong and Charles Sidders were appointed a 
committee for the purpose required. These 
gentlemen constituted a court of justice from 
whose decision there was in substance no ap- 
peal. Not that they or their constituency held 
themselves in a position of defiance to law- 
They only made a law unto themselves to pre- 
pare for an emergency for which the laws of 
the land had not made provision. They only 
protected themselves in their natural rights to 
land before it was surveyed, as the Government 
protected pre-emptors after surveys had been 
made. 

It is true that certain contingencies were lia- 
ble to come up with them not possible to pre- 
emptors of public lands, and for these contin- 
gencies they did not hesitate to provide, as the 
sequel will show ; and here the historian would 
be at default if he did not record the fact that 
in no case has the decision of this self-consti- 
tuted court been accused of injustice. The so- 
ciety formed at the house of Mr. Culver was 
called " The Big Woods Claim Protecting So- 
ciety," of which John Warne was Secretary. 
It was the first of the kind in the county and 
consisted of ninety-seven members, including 
officers, all of whom, so far as tradition and 
reports go, were stalwart, justice-loving men, 
who would neither commit an offense against 
justice nor submit to one, quite a number of 
whom are still living. 

As an historic record, a list of those who first 



58 



HISTORY OF DU PAGE COUXTY. 



joined the societj' is inserted : John Warne, 
A. E. Carpenter, James Dyer, John Mosier, 
Joseph Fish, J. M. Warren, John Maxwell, 
Cornelius Jones, John Ogden, Phineas Graves, 
William Hall, David Crane, James Brown, 
Frederick Stolp, Nelson Murray, Taylor S. 
Warne, Jesse B. Ketchum, Barton Eddy, David 
McKee, J. S. P. Lord, Joseph Wilson, Warren 
Smith, Henry M. Waite, Lyman King, Luther 
Chandler, Gilbert S. Kouse, S. H. Arnold, Jos- 
eph Stolp, Reuben Austin, Charles Arnold, 
Levi Leach, Elihu Wright, Nahan Beardsley, 
S. Hurlbut, Darias J. Lamphear, Walter Ger- 
main, John B. Eddy, John Gregg, Samuel 
Mosier, Orrin W- Graves, B. Tubbs, Jr., Joseph 
Thayer, Thomson Paxton, L. Ward, Charles 
Brown, Charles Bidders, James Hj'mes, Nathan 
Williams, William J. Strong, Robert Hopkins, 
Jesse Graves, John Stolp, Allen Williams, A. 
Culver, Thomas N. Paxton, Dennis Clark, 
Amander P. Thomas, Alfred Churchill, R. S. 
Ostrander, A. W. Beardsley, George Laird, 
George C. Howes, Samuel Paxton, William 
Williams, George Monroe, Harvey Higbee, N. 
H. Thomas. Enos Coleman, Linus L. Coleman, 
Eli Northum, Zerah Jones, Reuben Jones, 
George S. Blackman, Blackman & Winslow, 
William E. Bent, J. B. & E. Smith, Ira Wood- 
man, Alden S. Clifford, William Hill, John Fox, 
Nathan Williams. Alanson Arnold, Eleazer 
Blackman, Aurin Ralph, John Bidders, Russel 
Whipple, Sheffield Mills, Jonas Lamphear, Will- 
iam R. Currier, Manus Griswold, Isaac Barnes. 
These gentlemen bound themselves, in the pe- 
nal sum of $1,000 each, to protect and assist 
each other in their respective claims, as per the 
decisions of the committee they had appointed 
to represent and define their rights. 

Their meetings were to be twice a year, or 
oftener if necessary, and the next one met on 
the 6th of August, 1836, at the house of Thomas 
Paxton. This was by the provisions of their 
compact to be the date of their annual meet- 
ing. 



A new committee was chosen at this meet- 
ing, consisting of William J. Strong, Thomson 
Paxton, John Gregg, Warren Smith and Fred- 
erick Stolp. At this meeting, it was made the 
duty of the Secretary to record the description 
of each claim of the different members, who were 
to give the same to him within ninety days. 
The meeting was adjourned to meet again at 
the same place on the 4th of February the suc- 
ceeding year. 

As already stated, the Big Woods' Claim 
Protecting Society was the first one of its kind 
established here ; but previous to its organiza- 
tion a company of land speculators had entered 
the Big Woods, and laid claim to several sec- 
tions of its best timbered land, and for the better 
security of their lands had built a rail fence 
around it. The gentlemen composing this so- 
ciety gloried in the name of the Land Pirate 
Company, but their piratical exploits in monop- 
olizing the timber wanted for the use of the 
settlers never achieved sufficient notoriety to be 
lionized as marine highwaymen were by Byron 
in " The Corsair," for not long after the forma- 
tion of the Big Woods Society the fence they 
had built around their claim disappeared, and 
nobody ever knew who hauled the rails away 
any more than it was known who, under the 
guise of Indian plumes and paint, only sixty 
years before this event, had went aboard the 
English ships in Boston Harbor, and emptied 
their tea chests into the sea. One of these tea 
destroyers survived till about the date of this 
Big Woods Company's birth, having in his lat- 
ter years revealed his identity, and, perhaps, 
some of those who moved away the offending 
rails, by means of which it was hoped to retain 
the timber of the Big Woods, may yet tell how 
it was done, and who did it. Possibly the old 
veteran of Boston Harbor had set them up to 
the business. 

Land speculators at the time of the formation 
of this societ}-, were almost as numerous as the 
actual settlers. The}- made a business of mark- 



HISTORY OF DU PAGE COUNTY. 



59 



iug out claims in a similar manner to settlers, 
and, after making slight improvements on them, 
selling these claims to settlers at a large profit. 
Against this grievance there was no remed}', 
for it was optional with the settler to purchase 
his claim or go farther West and make one from 
the great domain west of the Fox lliver, between 
which and the Rock River no claims had been 
made, except along their immediate banks. 

The land south of the Indian boundary line 
having been surveyed about the year 1830, came 
into market in 1835. Much of it rested under 
claims, and a collision of interest came up when 
the land was offered for sale at the land office 
in Chicago. Speculators began to bid on it as 
high as 10 or $15 per acre, and quite a num- 
ber of actual settlers lost the lands on which 
they had settled and made improvements ; but 
the sale had not proceeded long till the claim- 
ants asserted their rights, backed up by too for- 
midable an array of force and influence for the 
speculators to set at defiance, and no more bid- 
ding on lands under a settler's claim waa ven- 
tured on. The same year, in 1835, the lands 
along Fox River were partly under claims, and 
from Joseph Tefft, M. D., a present resident of 
Elgin, the writer has learned the extent of set- 
tlements from the present site of Aurora, then 
known as Waubonsie's Village, to Elgin at that 
time. 

Mr. Tefts came from Madison County, N. Y., 
and, after making a short stop at a place called 
the Yankee settlement, on the Desplaines 
River, he passed through Naperville, and 
thence to the Fox River, in the autumn of 
1835. Where Aurora now is, he found on the 
west bank of the river a log cabin, where Mr. 
Wilde lived on land he had claimed. On the 
east bank were some settlers also, but not 
more than two or three. Two and a half miles 
up the river, was the Indian bury ing-ground, 
where mounds like those in our cemeteries 
were raised over graves. Here were newly- 
made graves, for the country was still occu- 



pied by a remnant of Waubonsie's subjects. 
Besides those buried in the ground was the 
body of a child, incased in birch bark, attached 
to the limb of a tree far above their reach, 
where it swung to and fro in the wind. This 
custom of depositing the remains of young 
children in trees, thus incased, was not unusual 
among the Indians. Perhaps it was to rock 
them to sleep. A Mr. McNemar then owned a 
claim at the place, including the Indian ceme- 
tery. Farther along, a man named Clybourne 
had a saw mill on a branch of the Fox River 
coming in from the west, near the present site 
of Batavia. At the present site of Geneva 
lived James Herrington, who then kept a store 
at the place, depending on custom from settlers 
from a large radius of country around. At 
the present site of St. Charles lived Mr. Fer- 
sons, father of Reed Persons, on the west side 
of the river. Four miles to the north lived 
Rice Fay, who came to the place the year be- 
fore, and had raised a few vegetables and some 
corn for family use. Not long afterward, Mr. 
Teffts having made a claim and settled a short 
distance above him on the river, he came to 
his cabin to buy a few potatoes, but no per- 
suasion could induce him to sell them ; but, 
just before leaving, he gave him some, in 
which respect he was not unlike many other 
pioneers. Mr. Fay had a large family, and 
ground all their cereals for bread in a coffee 
mill during the winter of 1835-36. 

Farther up, where the army trail crossed 
Fox River, lived Mr. Kendall in a log cabin on 
his claim. Above him, Ira Minard had a claim 
on the ground now occupied by the Elgin 
Insane Asylum. 

Mr. Minard, Reed Persons and B. T. Hunt 
were the founders of St. Charles. 

At Elgin was a log cabin on the west side of 
the river where Jonathan Kimball lived, who 
was subsequently Justice of the Peace at Elgin. 
Phineas Kimball lived on the east side, immc 
diately north of the present site of the depot. 



60 



HISTORY' OF DU PAGE COUNTY. 



North of him lived Ransom Olds, and the next 
who came were James T. Gifford, the founder 
of Elgin, who built a house near where Mr. Or- 
lando Davidson now lives ; Hezekiah Gifford, 
who built a house where George S. Bowen lives, 
and Dr. Tefft, who settled in South Elgin and 
now lives in Elgin. 

There had been a large Indian village be- 
tween the present city of Elgin and Dundee, 
where about three acres of land still bore the 
marks of their rude agriculture. Similar signs 
were also apparent at South Elgin, where even 
some of the tent poles of the Indians were 
standing where their frail tenements had but 
recently stood. 

When the inhabitants of these places changed 
their residence for a winter's hunt, or to make 
a visit to a neighboring town, sometimes they 
all went together, with the papoose baby 
straped to a board which was lashed to the 
back of the mother. The next two oldest put 
one each into saddle-bags, and thrown across 
the back of the pony as we used to take a grist 
to mill in the olden time. The father then 
mounted the pony, and then all were ready for 
a march, the patient squaw having the hardest 
part, as she tugged the papoose along by the 
side of her lord, whose leggings her hands had 
ornamented with porcupine quills or beads. 

Fox River was then full of fish, which were 
caught by the settlers and sometimes salted 
down for table use in the winter. Beyond these 
beginnings on the river-bank westwardly, was 
a waste of prairie presenting no attraction to 
the settler till the Rock River was reached. 
To the north no settlements had been made till 
the vicinity of Green Bay and Fort Howard 
was reached. To the east was the mushroom 
town of Chicago, waiting the completion of the 
canal as a voucher for ultimate grandeur. Be- 
tween this germ cell of a city and the Du Page 
was first a dismal swamp, drained in its western 
verge by the Desplaines River, on the banks of 
which Mr. Barnardus Lawton had established 



a hotel that old settlers still hold in grateful 
remembrance. 

Southward of the Du Page settlement we 
must remember that at this date of which we 
now speak, 1835, it belonged to Cook County 
was a country settled more and more densely 
the farther one went, till he reached Edwards 
Count}', opposite St. Louis. 

These were the surroundings of what is now 
Du Page Count}-, when the claimants of land here 
first put down their stakes, not to be pulled up 
again, and united their wisdom in council at 
the Big Woods, for the purpose of uniting their 
muscle, if necessary, to protect each other in 
getting deeds of the lands which their labors 
were about to make valuable. In this there 
was no law but the higher law to protect them, 
and this they were bound to employ. That dis- 
putes, and what are called old-claim feuds, arose, 
is true, but they had their origin in the same 
misconception of the principles of justice that 
give rise to law suits now, and not in the action 
of the league. 

A society having similar objects in view as 
the Big Woods Society, was formed in Naper- 
ville October 28, 1839. It was called the Du 
Page Countj 1 Society for Mutual Protection. 
For a record of this society, we quote from 
Richmond & Vallett's History : 

Russell Whipple was called to the Chair, and 
James C. Hatch appointed Secretary. Whereupon 
the following report was read to the meeting: At 
a meeting of the settlers of Du Page County, held 
at Naperville on the 29th of September last, to take 
measures for securing their rights and interests to 
and in their respective claims, a committee of ten 
was appointed to draft rules and regulations to pre- 
sent for the consideration of this meeting, in com- 
pliance with which, said committee respectfully beg 
leave lo present the following: 

Situated as we are upon Government lands, which 
have, by the industry of the settlers, already be- 
come highly valuable, and inasmuch as our claims 
lie in such a variety of shapes, and are of such dif- 
ferent dimensions that they cannot in any manner 
correspond with the Government survey, it appears 
necessary, in order to prevent the most fearful con- 



HISTORY OF DU PAGE COUNTY. 



61 



sequences, that the lines of our respective claims 
should be established previous to the Government 
survey, and we ourselves bound by the strong arm 
of the law, to reconvey, as hereinafter mentioned, 
to our neighbors, -whenever these lands are sold by 
the order of the General Government, so as to keep 
our claims as the}' are now established; and to ac- 
complish this end, we recommend the following 
regulations: 

first. We do hereby form ourselves into a so- 
ciety, to be called the Du Page County Society for 
Mutual Protection, and agree to be governed by 
such prudent rules and by-laws as the society may 
hereafter adopt, not inconsistent with the laws of 
the country; and that we will make use of all hon- 
orable means to protect each other in our respective 
claims, as may hereafter be agreed upon and re- 
corded; and that we will not countenance any un- 
just claim, set up by speculators or others ; and we 
declare that the primary object of this society is to 
protect the inhabitants in their claims and bounda- 
ries, so that each shall deed and redeed to the other 
as hereinafter mentioned, when the Government 
survey does not agree with the present lines, or lines 
which may hereafter be agreed upon. 

Second. That there be a committee of five ap- 
pointed at this meeting, three of whom may form a 
board of arbitration, to decide from legal testimony, 
all disputes respecting the lines or boundaries of any 
claim to which they may be called together, with 
the costs of the arbitration, and the party or parties 
who shall pay the same: Provided, It does not ap- 
pear that such dispute has previously been decided, 
by an arbitration held by the agreement of the par- 
ties, which shall be a bar against further proceed- 
ings of said committee, except as to matter of costs. 

Third. That each of the said committee shall 
be entitled to $1 per day, for each day officially en- 



Fourth. That in all cases where the parties 
cannot establish their lines, either by reference to 
their neighbors or otherwise, either party may, at 
any time, by giving to the other ten days' notice of 
his or her intention, call out at least three of the 
board of arbitration, to decide the same, and their 
decision shall be final. 

Fifth. That there shall be one Clerk appointed 
at this meeting, who shall keep a fair record of all 
transactions of this association, and also of all de- 
scriptions of claims presented to him for record: 
Provided, That there is attached thereto a certificate 
from all who have adjoining claims, certifying to 
the correctness of such description, or a certificate 



signed by a majority of any arbitration, met to es- 
tablish any line or lines of said claim; and that the 
said Clerk shall be entitled to 25 cents for recording 
each claim and certificate. 

Sixth. That it shall be the duty of every settler 
to present to :he Clerk, a definite description of his 
or her claim, either from actual survey or other- 
wise, and also to set his or her hand and seal to a 
certain indenture, drafted by Giles Spring, Esq., of 
Chicago, for this society. 

Seventh. That there be a committee of three in 
each precinct appointed at this meeting, for the pur- 
pose of carrying into effect the sixth regulation. 

Eighth. That the settlers on the school lands 
ought to obtain their lands at Government prices. 

Ninth. That we will firmly and manfully pro- 
tect all who conform to the above regulations pre- 
vious to the 1st day of January, 1840. 

Which report and regulations were unanimously 
adopted, and ordered to be embodied in a consti- 
tution. 

Thereafter, on motion, a committee of six was 
appointed by the chair, to nominate a board of ar- 
bitration and Clerk, viz., Lewis Ellsworth, Elihu 
Thayer, Luther Hatch, Cornelius Jones, Job A. 
Smith and David S. Dunning; who, having retired, 
returned and reported Lyman Meacham, Erastus 
Gary and Stephen J. Scott Board of Arbitration, and 
P. Ballingall, Clerk; which nominations were ap- 
proved of. 

Whereupon, it was moved and adopted, that the 
following persons be the precinct committee, viz.: 

Naperville Precinct Stephen J. Scott, Henry 
Goodrich, Nathan Allen, Jr. 

Webster Precinct John W. Walker, James C. 
Hatch, Pierce Downer. 

Deerfield Precinct Luther Morton, Perus Barney ^ 
Moses Stacy. 

Washington Precinct Lyman Meacham, Smith 
D. Pierce, Capt. E. Kinny. 

Orange Precinct Job A. Smith, William Kim- 
ball, Luther F. Sanderson. 

DuPage Precinct Warren Smith, Lorin G. Hul- 
bert, Alvah Fowler. 

Big Woods Precinct John Warne, Levi Leach, 
William J. Strong. 

Resolved, That this meeting adjourn till the first 
Monday in January, 1840. 

RUSSELL WHIPPLE, Chairman. 

JAMES C. HATCH, Secretary. 

At a meeting of the " Du Page County Society 
for Mutual Protection," held at Naperville, the 6th 
day of January, A. D. 1840, in pursuance of ad- 



62 



HISTORY OF DU PAGE COUNTY. 



journment, Russell Whipple took the chair, when, 
on motion of Mr. George Martin, it was 

Resolved, That the time for recording the claims 
of the members of this society, in order to secure 
the benefits of the ninth resolution of the meeting 
held on the 28th of October last, be extended till 
the 1st day of March next. 

On motion of Mr. James C. Hatch, 

Resolved, That the claims belonging to members 
of this society which lie on the line of or in another 
county shall be entitled to record and protection, on 
the member complying with the fifth regulation. 

On motion of Mr. Lyman Meacham, 

Resolved, That when a claim belonging to a mem- 
ber of this association shall border on that of a non- 
resident, or that of a person out of the State, or on 
land not occupied, the same shall be recorded if a 
certificate from the adjoining claimants be attached 
thereto, certifying to such non-residence, absence or 
non-occupancy, and that there is no dispute concern- 
ing the same. 

On motion of Mr. William J. Strong, 

Resolved, That any member of this society who, 
in an arbitration, fails to establish his claim before 
the Board of Arbitration, shall pay the costs thereof 
within six days from the decision being pronounced, 
and failing to make such payment, he shall cease to 
be a member of this society. 

Resolved, That this meeting adjourn until the first 
Monday in March next. 

P. BALLINGALL, Clerk. 

At a meeting of the society held at Naperville, on 
the 6th day of January, A. D. 1840, in pursuance 
of adjournment, Stephen J. Scott was appointed 
Chairman. 

Resolved, That James Johnson and Isaac B. Berry 
be allowed another trial in their arbitration with 
Harry T. Wilson, on condition that said Johnson 
and Berry pay one counsel fee and the whole costs 
of the arbitration. 

Resolved, That the Board of Arbitrators shall have 
power to fill all vacancies occasioned by death, re- 
moval or otherwise, between this time and the first 
Monday in May next. 

Resolved, That the resolution offered by William 
J. Strong, and passed at last meeting, be and is 
hereby repealed. 

Resolved, That the line between Ephraim Collar 
and Timothy E. Parsons is hereby declared to be 

the road leading from to , laid by But- 

terfield, Church and Arnold, as the same has been 
recorded. 



Resolved, That this meeting adjourn till the first 
Monday in May next. 

P. BALLIXGALL, Clerk. 

At a meeting of the Du Page County Society for 
Mutual Protection, held at Naperville, on Monday, 
the 4th day of May, A. D. 1840, pursuant to adjourn- 
ment, John Stevens was appointed Chairman and 
James F. Wight Clerk pro tern., when, on motion of 
Mr. P. Downer, 

Resolved, That the time for settling and recording 
claims of the members of this society be extended to 
the first Monday in June next. 

Resolved, That this meeting adjourn to the first 
Monday in June next, then to meet at Naperville. 
J. F. WIGHT. Clerk pro tern. 

At a meeting of the Du Page County Society for 
Mutual Protection, held at Naperville, on Monday, 
the 1st day (being the first Monday) in June, 1840, 
pursuant to adjournment, Capt. John Stevens was 
appointed Chairman. 

Patrick Ballingall, Esq., having resigned the 
office of Clerk of this society, on motion of Mr. 
Hunt, 

Resolved, That James F. Wight be and is hereby 
appointed Clerk of this society, in the place of P. 
Ballingall, Esq., resigned. 

Resolved, That the time for settling and recording 
claims of the members of this society be extended 
until the first Monday in September next. 

On motion of Mr. James C. Hatch, 

Resolved, That the Clerk hereafter record no cer- 
tificates of claims unless it is certified that they are 
the only claimants adjoining the claim or claims 
offered to be recorded, or, for want of such certifi- 
cate, that the applicant shall make oath that no 
other person except those named in such certificate 
adjoin him. 

Resolved, That the Clerk shall notify all persons 
whose claims are recorded (without their having 
signed the settler's bond) that they sign the said 
bond, or they will not be protected by this society. 

Resolved, That this meeting adjourn to the first 
Monday in September next, then to meet at the 
Pre-emption House, in Naperville, at 1 o'clock P. M. 
JAMES F. WIGHT, Clerk. 

At a meeting of the Du Page County Society for 
Mutual Protection, held at Naperville, on Wednes- 
day, the 3d day of March, 1841, Hon. Russell Whip- 
pie was called to the Chair, and Morris Sleight ap- 
pointed Secretary. 

After the object of the meeting had been stated 
by Stephen J. Scott, the following persons were ap- 




Jj - 



(DECEASED) 



OF THE 
UNIVERSITY OF ILLINOIS 



HISTORY OF DU PAGE COUNTY, 



65 



pointed a committee to draft resolutions expressive 
of the sense of this meeting, viz.: Luther Hatch, 
Stephen J. Scott, William J. Strong and Isaac 
Clark. 

On motion of N. Allen, Jr., Esq., Alymer Keith 
was appointed Clerk of this society, to record claims 
and the certificates for the same, and to keep the 
settlers' book, in place of James F. Wight. 

Resolved, That the time for recording claims be 
extended to the first Monday of September, 1841. 

The committeee appointed to draft resolutions 
reported the following, which were adopted, with 
one or two dissenting votes: 

WHEREAS, It is generally believed that the public 
lands on which we hold settlers' claims will be 
shortly offered for sale, and in order that each 
claimant may obtain and feel secure in the pos- 
session of his just claim, it is deemed necessary that 
there be a uniformity of action and feeling on the 
subject, and believing that the proving up of pre- 
emption claims will have a tendency to create ex- 
citement and confusion, if not to interfere with the 
rights of others; therefore be it 

Resolved, 1. That we will not prove up our pre- 
emption claims, even when justly entitled to do so, 
except in cases where it may be deemed necessary to 
secure the claimant; but that we will not do so with- 
out the consent of a committee to be appointed by 
this union or the several towns, to settle disputes. 

Resolved, 2. Tnat any person who shall attempt 
to obtain a pre-emption, and thereby seize upon any 
part of any other person's claim, shall be deemed a 
dishonest man, not entitled to the protection of this 
union, and shall not be allowed to purchase any 
other land in this county, if this union can pre- 
vent it. 

Resolved, 3. That when the inhabitants of any 
township shall guarantee to those on the school sec- 
tion, and entitled to a float, that they shall have 
their claim at ten shillings per acre, then, in such 
case, if they shall obtain, or attempt to obtain, a 
float, or lay one upon any other claimant's just 
claim, they shall be considered no better than a 
thief or a robber, and shall have no protection from 
this union. 

Resolved, 4. That it is the duty of this association 
to take measures to secure to claimants on the school 
section their claims at government price. 

Resolved, 5. That the protection of this union will 
not be extended to any person who shall either take 
or purchase a school section float, except the town- 
ship refuse to guarantee, as in the third resolution. 

Resolved, 6. That the several townships in this 



county call meetings, and make arrangements and 
adopt such measures as may be thought necessary 
with regard to their claims at the approaching land 
sale. 

Resolved, 7. That the proceedings of this meeting 
be forwarded by the Secretary to the land office in 
Chicago, and ask of the Register and Receiver to 
act with regard to lands in this county on the spirit 
of the resolutions here passed. 

Resolved, 8. That the proceedings of this meeting 
be signed by the Chairman and Secretary and pub- 
lished in the Chicago papers. 

Subordinate claim societies were organized 
in each of the precinct3 of the county ; the set- 
tlers pretty generally joined them, and many 
difficulties were adjusted by this means among 
the squatters. The hard times which followed 
the crisis of 1836 and 1837 discouraged specu- 
lation somewhat, and but few were able to pur- 
chase the land which they had improved, and 
some were unable to do that. The pledges 
made by the members of the claim societies 
were uniformly carried out, and all honorable 
men gave no cause of complaint to their neigh- 
bors. In a few cases some less scrupulous 
refused to deed lands in their possession to the 
rightful owner, and, in consequence, quarrels 
and some suits at law were the result. 

We subjoin a few instances, showing how 
summarily a certain class of claim difficulties 
were disposed of. Many more might be added, 
but let these suffice. 

Two neighbors owned adjoining claims, and 
at the time of the organization of the claim 
society, their land was being surveyed by the 
Government surveyor. One of the men hap- 
pened to be a member of the societj', and the 
other, not. It so happened that the random 
line, run by the surveyor, cut off a portion of 
the claim of the first, and left it in such a man- 
ner that the other would be entitled to a pre- 
emption upon it. When he discovered this, he 
refused to deed the land to the one who claimed 
it. Persuasion was used in vain. He thought 
he had the advantage of his neighbor, and de- 
termined to keep it. In a few days, however, 

D 



66 



HISTORY OF DU PAGE COUNTY. 



matters assumed a different light, and then the 
line was established so as to give back to the 
society man not only what he claimed, but also 
a large corner from his neighbor's tract, and 
now he was entitled to a pre-emption. The ob- 
stinate man was thus induced to join the socie- 
ty, and take upon himself the obligation to 
" deed and re-deed." After being kept in sus- 
pense for awhile, by way of punishment, his 
land was again restored to him. 

There were many of the settlers who did not 
.join the claim societies, but among all bona-fide 
settlers there prevailed a determination to pro- 
tect each other. The first trouble arising from 
'claim jumping," was in 1836, or thereabouts, 
respecting the claim of a Mr. Frothingham, in 
the town of Milton. A family of squatters came 
on and took possession of a portion of his 
claim, without leave or license, and were deter- 
mined to remain there in spite of %ntreaty or 
phj'sical force. The settlement was apprised 
of this state of affairs, and a company of about 
fifty horseman proceeded to the cabin of the in- 
corrigible squatters, who, on seeing them, broke 
for tall timber, leaving but one occupant in the 
cabin, an old lady who had passed the running 
point. The sum of $17 was raised among the 
company to indemnify the family for sundry 
outlays which they had made upon the prem- 
ises. This the old lady received upon condi- 
tion that the family should quit the claim 
without delay. To expedite the execution of 
her part of the contract, the settlers fell to work 
and assisted in the removal of the furniture 
from the house, and in clearing the premises of 
everything that belonged to the family. After 
this had been done, the house was torn down 
and the rubbish thrown into a heap near by, 
preparatory to kindling a bonfire, when the 
" meeting " was called to order and several 
stump speeches, of a decidedly inflammatory 
character, were made. We are not in posses- 
sion of the minutes of those speeches, but have 
been informed that the Hon. Nathan Allen 



figured quite conspicuously in this part of the 
exercises. His speech on that occasion is 
spoken of as being one of his most felicitous 
and pointed "efforts." When the speech-mak- 
ing had subsided, fire was set to the heap of 
promiscuous ruins, and the hut of the interlop- 
ers was soon reduced to ruins. The conduct 
of the settlers in this case proved a warning to 
future intruders, and claim-jumping was rarely 
heard of in that part of the county afterward. 

A man from Plumb Grove happened to be 
on his way to the Naper settlement, and passed 
near the place while the affair just described 
was taking place. Seeing the smoke ascend 
from the spot, and hearing the universal uproar 
among the settlers, he concluded at once that a 
party of Indians was there, killing and laying 
waste. Turning from the beaten track which 
led near the house, he made a circuit around 
the " marauders," and lashing his horses to 
their utmost speed, rode to the settlement, 
warning everybody to flee for their lives. The 
cause of his fright was pretty generally under- 
stood, and therefore he did not succeed in get- 
ting up a very serious alarm. 

A few years after, a contention arose respect- 
ing the Tullis claim, which was situated in the 
same neighborhood. Under a pre-emption law 
passed about that time, a man by the name of 
Harmond undertook to pre-empt a portion of 
the claim of Mr. Tullis, who had already ob- 
tained possession of it under a former pre- 
emption act. In order to comply with the 
provisions of the later act, Harmond built a 
pen of small poles near the center of his claim, 
stayed in it only one night, and started immedi- 
ately for Chicago, to prove his pre-emption. On 
his return, he commenced making repairs upon 
an old block-house .which was already built 
upon his " quarter," and being asked why he 
was doing it, replied that he had pre-empted 
that claim, and was going to live there. This 
aroused the indignation of the neighboring 
squatters, who called a meeting to take into 



HISTORY OF DU PAGE COUNTY. 



67 



consideration the conduct of Mr. Harmond. He, 
being present, was advised to relinquish his 
claim, but he positively refused to do it, and at 
the same time threw out some pretty savage 
threats against the settlers, in case they at- 
tempted to remove him by force. After a long 
consultation, it was concluded that the building 
on the premises should be torn down if he did 
not abandon it without delay. At this decis- 
ion, Harmond became greatly exasperated, and, 
having his rifle with him, threatened to fire 
upon "the first man who should tear off a 
board." Whereupon a fearless Quaker gentle- 
man stepped forth and remarked to Mr. Har- 
mond that if he designed to put that threat into 
execution he had better begin by shooting at 
him, as he considered himself a mark of suffi- 
cient magnitude for a claim jumper to shoot at, 
anyhow. The old Quaker was soon joined by 
Lyman Butterfield, who addressed Mr. Har- 
mond in pretty much the same strain, inform- 
ing him that if he was not willing to waste his 
powder on one man, he would offer the addi- 
tional inducement of placing his own body in 
fair range, so that he might at least kill " two 
birds with one stone." But Harmond could 
not be prevailed upon to shoot, and so the 
party proceeded to the disputed claim, tearing 
down the house, and removing every vestige of 
former occupancy. Before ten minutes had 
elapsed, after the decision of the council of 
settlers, this was done, and Mr. Harmond was 
sent on his way to other parts, not rejoicing, 
but uttering the most awful denunciations 
against such ungentlemanly treatment. 

In justice to a numerous class of our early 
settlers, we deem it appropriate to introduce 
here a brief notice of a society which was formed 
in 1834, and known as the " Hognatorial Coun- 
cil." We have ransacked all the dead languages 
we ever heard of in order to obtain for our 
readers some clew to the origin of thisprcenomen, 
but have been signally defeated in the under- 
taking. Its origin is altogether too obscure for 



us, and we leave the task of tracing it to pro- 
fessional archaeologists. The object of the 
| " council " seems to have been the settling of a 
peculiar class of claim difficulties, which were 
not taken cognizance of by the bona fide claim 
committee, and its operations were designed to 
burlesque the proceedings of that committee, 
as well as to ridicule courts in general. All 
disputes brought before the " Hognatorial " 
were settled in a summary and satisfactory 
manner. We can illustrate this remark with 
but one instance, which occurred in the south 
part of the county. A man by the name of 
Clark, who was firmly grounded in Midship- 
man Easy's doctrine of " what belongs to my 
neighbor belongs also to me," made a " claim ' 
upon another man's land, lying somewhere on 
the Du Page River. Finding that peaceable 
and quiet possession was impossible, he applied 
to a gentleman who happened to be posted in 
" hognatorial matters " for advice. He was, of 
course, advised to bring the matter before the 
" Hoguatorial Council," as that was the only 
reliable tribunal having jurisdiction over such 
grievances. His case was prepared by Nathan 
Allen, a man of superior legal attainments, and 
upon a certain day the Hognatorial Council 
room was crowded to witness the proceedings 
in the case. Allen opened the case b}- giving 
to the jury a plain, unvarnished statement of 
the facts, and closed it by a most pathetic ap- 
peal to their sense of justice in behalf of his 
wronged and injured client. Several witnesses 
were called upon to testify, and the upshot of 
the testimony was that Mr. Clark had a claim 
commencing at a certain point on Du Page 
River, but in what direction his lines ran from 
that point it was impossible to ascertain. Sev- 
eral hours were occupied in examining wit- 
nesses, during which time Clark kept a boy 
running to and fro between the " council cham- 
ber " and his house, to inform his wife of the 
different phases which the case assumed as the 
trial progressed. At length the testimony was 



HISTORY OF DU PAGE COUNTY. 



all in, the closing argument made, and the case 
submitted to the jury. There was but one 
point left for the jury to act upon, and that re- 
lated particularly to the boundary of Clark's 
claim. They were out but a short time, and re- 
turned the following verdict : " We, the jurors 
in this case, decide that Mr. Clark is justly en- 
titled to a piece of land lying on the Dn Page 



River, and described as follows, to wit : Com- 
mencing at a certain point on the east bank of 
said river, and running perpendicular to the 
horizon straight up." This was enough for 
Clark. He hastened to communicate the result 
to his waiting, anxious wife, and afterward pro- 
ceeded to the tavern and got ingloriously 
drunk over the result of his victorious suit. 



CHAPTER V. 



FIRST INTRODUCTION OF SLAVERY INTO THE COLONY OF VIRGINIA FIRST ANTI-SLAVERY LITERA- 
TURE SOUTHERN ORIGIN OF ANTI-SLAVERY SOCIETIES ACTION OF THE QUAKERS "THE 
GENIUS OF UNIVERSAL EMANCIPATION "EARLY ABOLITIONISTS THE OLD FEDERAL 
PARTY ORIGIN OF THE DEMOCRATIC AND WHIG PARTIES ORIGIN OF THE RE- 
PUBLICAN PARTY GOV. COLES ELIHU B. WASHBURNE STEPHEN A. 
DOUGLAS ABRAHAM LINCOLN THE "WESTERN CITIZEN" INTRODU- 
CES ABOLITIONISM INTO CHICAGO ITS EFFECT ILLINOIS THE 
FIRST STATE TO TAKE POLITICAL ACTION IN THE ABOLI- 
TION MOVEMENT JOHN BROWN FORT SUMTER. 



THE history of the war of the rebellion has 
been written by several of the ablest men 
our country has produced as political econo- 
mists and authors ; and while these men have 
given us the fundamental principles that ruled 
in the issue, and even told how these principles 
gathered force in the councils of the nation, 
none of them have made an historical record of 
the special events from the first, which, step by 
step, produced the cause for which the issue 
came into being. Nor have they biographically 
sketched the men who were the instruments by 
which the great change in public opinion was 
wrought, that finally became an " irrepressible 
conflict," to be decided by the sword only. 
This as yet unwritten chapter in history may be 
appropriately introduced here to precede the 
war record of Du Page County. 

Among the first American anti-slavery lit- 
erature to be found since we became a nation 
are some tracts in the private library of George 
Washington, which library was purchased by 



some Boston gentleman, and presented to the 
Boston Athenaeum for preservation, where they 
may now be found. Next in order, exclusively 
anti-slavery, may be cited an oration upon the 
moral and political evils of slavery, delivered 
at a public meeting of the Maryland Society for 
Promoting the Abolition of Slavery, July 4, 
1791, by George Buchanan. M. D., member of 
the American Philosophical Society, Baltimore ; 
printed by Philip Edwards, 1793, and re-printed 
by Robert Clark & Co., Cincinnati, in 1873, as 
an appendix to an address by William F. Poole 
on early anti-slavery opinions, delivered before 
the Cincinnati Literary Club in 1872. Dr- 
Buchanan's oration was a forcible argument 
against slavery, for which he received a vote of 
thanks from the society before whom it was de- 
livered. He was born near Baltimore, Septem- 
ber 19, 1763, and died at Philadelphia of yellow 
fever in 1807, while in the discharge of his 
duties as a physician. 

In Jefferson's Notes on Virginia, which were 



HISTORY OF DU PAGE COUNTY. 



69 



written in 1781-82, occur paragraphs condem- 
ning slavery in forcible language, and canvassing 
different plans for its extinction. In these sen- 
timents Mr. Jefferson was sustained by a very 
respectable constituency of Southern men, 
among whom was George Wythe, of William 
and Mary College. 

Says Mr. Poole in his address already re- 
ferred to : " There never has been a time since 
1619, when the first slave ship a Dutch man- 
of-war entered James Eiver, in Virginia, when 
in our countrv there were not persons protest- 
ing against the wickedness and impolicy of the 
African slave trade, and of the domestic slave 
system. Slavery was introduced into the 
American colonies against the wishes of the 
settlers by the avarice of British traders, and 
with the connivance of the British Government. 
In 1772, the Assembly of Virginia petitioned 
the throne of England to stop the importation 
of slaves, using language as follows : ' We are 
encouraged to look up to the throne and implore 
your Majesty's paternal assistance in averting 
a calamity of a most alarming nature. The 
importation of slaves into the colonies from the 
coast of Africa hath long been considered as a 
trade of great inhumanity, and under its present 
encouragement, we have great reason to fear, 
will endanger the very existence of your Maj- 
esty's dominion." 

No notice was taken of the petition by the 
crown, from which it is manifest that slavery 
was enforced upon America by the mother 
country. 

Even while the first crude thoughts of the 
American Kevolution were revolving in the 
minds of our fathers, an anti-slavery society 
was formed by the Quakers at Sun Tavern in 
Philadelphia, April 14, 1775. 

The next year, 1776, the Quakers disowned 
such of their members as continued to hold 
elaves over the lawful age. 

Patrick Henry in a letter dated January 18, 
1773, to Robert Pleasants, afterward President 



of the Virginia Abolition Society, said : " Be- 
lieve me I shall honor the Quakers for their noble 
efforts to abolish slavery. * * * I believe 
a time will come when an opportunity will be 
offered to abolish this lamentable evil." The 
first anti-slavery society took the name of the 
society for the relief of free negroes unlawfully 
held in bondage. It met four times in 1775, 
but on account of the Revolutionary war did 
not meet again till February, 1784, the next 
year after peace. Benjamin Franklin was Pres- 
dent and Benjamin Rush Secretary of this so- 
ciety in 1787. 

A society in New York was established for 
the manumission of slaves January 25, 1785, 
of which John Jay was President, and Alexan- 
der Hamilton his successor. 

The foregoing are only a few of the leading 
anti-slavery societies which sprung into exis- 
tence in the first half-century of our Govern- 
ment. The American Colonization Society was 
formed in 1816, for the purpose of freeing slaves 
and sending them to Africa, but this was found 
to be of but little avail in the immense work to be 
accomplished. In 1827, there were 136 aboli- 
tion societies in the United States, 106 of which 
were in slave-holding States. Many of the 
later established ones of these, were the result 
of Benjamin Lundj 7 's efforts, who was the main 
connecting link between the old societies 
founded by the Revolutionary fathers and the 
more modern Abolitionists, who revised the 
work that they begun, and carried it on to suc- 
cess amidst a storm of abuse, and sometimes 
great personal violence. 

Mr. Lund} 7 was a Hicksite Quaker, born 
in New Jersey January 4, 1789. In 1821, 
he commenced the publication of The Gen- 
ius of Universal Emancipation at Mount 
Pleasant, Ohio. This name to his paper was 
borrowed from Grattan's eloquent speech on 
the abolition of slavery in the British Do- 
minion. His paper was removed to Tennessee, 
where it was continued till it was again re- 



70 



HISTORY OF DU PAGE COUNTY. 



moved to Baltimore in 1825, .and afterward to 
Philadelphia, where it was continued till de- 
stroyed by a mob at the burning of Pennsyl- 
vania Hall in 1837. 

Mr. Lundy, then undaunted by the murder 
of Elijah P. Lovejoy, went to Illinois to con- 
tinue the work he had begun there by resuming 
the publication of the Genius, where his prede- 
cessor had lost his life in the same cause. 

William Lloyd Garrison, William Goodell, 
Joshua Leavitt, Arthur Tappan and many 
other leaders of the anti-slaver}- movement owe 
their convictions to Lundy's teachings. His 
paper was largely patronized by prominent 
men in the Slave States. In an August num- 
ber of the Genius, 1825, a statement is made 
showing that there were more subscribers to 
the paper in North Carolina than in any other 
State. He died at Lowell, 111., August 22, 1839. 

William Lloyd Garrison was .born at New- 
buryport, Mass., December 12, 1804, and when 
very young, his father died, and he was left to 
the care of a Christian mother. When only 
nine years old, he was apprenticed to a shoe- 
maker, but found his health would not permit 
him to continue the trade. He then, after 
some efforts to secure the advantages of an 
academy, became apprenticed to the publisher 
of a paper in his native town, and, while learn- 
ing this trade, kept up his studies and began 
to contribute for the press. At the age of 
twenty-four, he became editor and proprietor 
of a paper at Newburyport, but this enterprise 
was not a success. In 1827, he became editor 
of a total abstinence journal in Boston, which 
was united later with a temperance and political 
paper in Bennington, Vt. Subsequently, he 
united with Benjamin Lundy, a Quaker, in the 
publication of The Genius of Universal Eman- 
cipation, at Athens, Ohio, where his uncompro- 
mising spirit soon manifested itself, and Gar- 
rison was imprisoned for libel. His fine was 
paid by A. Tappan, and Garrison went to Bos- 
ton, where, January 1, 1831, he issued the first 



number of the historical Liberator. He started 
without money, and did not have even an 
office. In 1832, he visited England, where he 
was well received by many of the leaders of 
public opinion. When the American Anti- 
Slavery Society was organized at Philadelphia, 
he took a prominent part in the work. He 
lectured frequently, and was on one occasion 
dragged through the streets of Boston by a 
mob for pleading the cause of the bondman. 
Garrison was persecuted greatly, and the Gov- 
ernor of Georgia once offered $5,000 for his 
arrest. The warfare he waged against slavery 
was continued until the slaves were set free, 
and January 1, 1866, he published the last 
number of the Liberator. From that time till 
his death, which occurred May 24, 1879, he 
was engaged in writing on various topics. 

Benjamin Franklin Wade was born in Spring- 
field, Mass., October 27, 1800. Like Garrison, 
and many of the most eminent men of this 
country, his earl}- life was a struggle to obtain 
an education a struggle which was success- 
ful. In 1826, he began the stud} 7 of law, and 
two years after, was admitted to the bar in 
Ashtabula County, Ohio. In 1847, he was 
chosen Presiding Judge of the Third District 
of the State, and in 1851 was elected United 
States Senator, and re-elected in 1857 and 
1863. In 1865, he became President pro tern, 
of the Senate and Acting Vice President of 
the United States. In March, 1867, he was 
elected President of the Senate. Senator Wade 
was a strong anti-slavery leader, a stalwart 
Union man, and advocated the homestead bill 
for years, and it was in his charge that it 
finally passed through the Senate. He was a 
member of the San Domingo Commission, and 
favored the annexation of that island to the 
United States. His death occurred March 2, 
1878, at Jefferson, Ohio. 

T. Allan was born in Middle Tennessee, and 
grew to manhood in Huntsville, Ala. In 1832, 
he went to Lane Seminary at Cincinnati, Ohio, 



HISTORY OF DU PAGE COUNTY. 



71 



and soon afterward took an active part in 
slaverj' discussions by the students of that 
institution, always advocating abolitionism. 
This banished him from his father's house in 
Alabama and also from Lane Seminary, to- 
gether with many other anti-slavery agitators 
among the conscientious students. Mr. Allan 
then took the lecture field, and became agent 
of the anti-slaver} r society in Ohio and West- 
ern New York and also in Illinois. For ten 
years this was his main work. He now lives 
at Geneseo, 111. 

William G-oodell, by profession a merchant, 
converted also by Lundy in 1828, was the 
editor at the time of the National Temperance 
Journal at Providence, K. I. He became a 
permanent editor of anti-slavery journals, the 
Friend of Man and Principia. He was the 
main editor and supporter of the Gerrit Smith 
doctrine of the unconstitutionality of slavery, 
on which A section of the Liberty party was 
formed. He died at Janesville, Wis., in 1879. 

Joshua Leavitt, born in the western part of 
Massachusetts, a convert of Lundy's, a minister 
by education and an editor by profession. He 
published the Emancipator, the organ of the 
national Abolitionists, after Garrison's disaffec- 
tion. He was the leader in the foundation of 
the Liberty party of 1840, which 'grew into the 
Republican party of 1860, of which Abraham 
Lincoln became the first successful and official 
representative. Both the Evangelist and the 
Independent of New York have been under his 
editorial charge, and were indebted to him for 
no small share of their influence as anti-slavery 
organs. He died at Brooklyn, N. Y., January 
16, 1873. 

William Ellery Chanuing was born at New- 
port, R. L, April 7, 1780. Coleridge said : " He 
had the love of Wisdom and the wisdom of 
Love." In 1837, his efforts to abolish slavery 
began. In 1841, his book on the subject was 
published, and had a wide circulation. He 
died at Bennington, Vt., October 2, 1842. 



Elijah Parish Lovejoy, "first American mar- 
tyr to the freedom of the press and the free- 
dom of the slave," was born in Albion, Me., 
November 9, 1802 ; educated at Waterville ; 
went to St. Louis, Mo., in 1827 ; ordained in 
1834 ; became editor of the St. Louis Observer, 
a Presbyterian weekly. Required by the pro- 
prietors of the paper to be silent on the sub- 
ject of slavery, he boldly claimed the rights of 
free speech and a free press ; was mobbed in 
St. Louis and St. Charles ; bought the paper ; 
removed it to Alton, 111., where three presses 
were destroyed by violence, and at length, on 
the night of November 7, 1837, while, by the 
Mayor's order, defending his fourth, he was 
shot by an armed mob. His murder roused 
the North against slavery. 

Rev. and Hon. Owen Lovejoy, a younger 
brother of Elijah P., born in Albion, Me., Jan- 
uary 6, 1811. He vowed eternal hostility to 
slavery over the dead body of his brother ; be- 
came pastor of the Congregational Church of 
Princeton, 111., in 1838 ; was elected to the 
Illinois Legislature in 1854, to Congress in 
1856, and for three succeeding terms; died 
while a member, in March, 1864, in Brooklyn, 
N. Y. He was a very able preacher ; had 
wonderful magnetism as a political speaker 
over the masses ; became a leader in Congress, 
asserting and maintaining the right of free 
speech there, against clamorous opposition.* 

James G. Birney was born at Danville, Ky., 
February 4, 1792. He was the first Liberty 
party candidate for the Presidency ; was a 
wealthy Southern slaveholder ; emancipated his 
slaves, and was editor of the Philanthropist at 
Cincinnati, Ohio. His press was destroyed sev- 
eral times. He died at Perth Amboy, N. J., 
November 25, 1857. 

Gammiel Baily, a physician by profession, 
succeeded Birney in editing the Philanthropist. 
He founded the National Era at Washington, 



*H. L. Hammond contributed the sketch of both of the Love- 
joys. 



72 



HISTORY OF DU PAGE COUNTY. 



the paper that first gave to the world " Uncle 
Tom's Cabin." The Era had a great influence 
in popularizing anti-slavery principles. Dr. 
Baily died in 1857 on a passage from Europe. 

John G. Whittier was born in Haverhill, Mass., 
December 17, 1807. He was a shoemaker by 
trade, a Quaker in religion, and a poet by 
nature. He was an early friend of both Garri- 
son and Lundy, from whom his innate abhor- 
rence to human slavery was strengthened, and 
he never ceased to use his able pen against it 
till emancipation was proclaimed. His other 
contributions to American literature have done 
much to elevate its standard. His home is at 
Amesbuty, Mass. 

Arthur Tappan was born in Connecticut May 
22, 1786. He became a wealthy New York 
merchant, well known throughout the whole 
country as the abolition merchant, whose store 
was shunned by the Southern trade. He founded 
the Emancipator ; helped to found Oberlin Col- 
lege, and was ever ready to assist the great 
cause both with his influence and money. He 
died July 23, 1865. 

Lewis Tappan, brother of Arthur, was born in 
Connecticut May 23, 1788. He was also a 
wealthy New York merchant. He founded the 
American Missionary Association, and was one 
of the promoters of the National Era. He died 
July 21, 1873. 

Charles Sumner was born in Boston, Mass., 
Januar} 7 6, 1811. He was the successor of 
Daniel Webster in the United States Senate in 
1851, which place he retained by successive 
elections till his death. During this long and 
exciting period in our country's history, he was 
one of the main pillars in the great anti-slavery 
fabric, which grew into maturity during his 
Senatorial terms. His speech on the rendition 
of Mason and Slidell was one of the most 
masterly arguments of his time, and settled the 
American mind in favor of Seward's policy in 
delivering them up. Mr. Sumner died in Wash- 
ington, D. C., March 11, 1874. 



Lucretia Mott, one of the earliest female anti- 
slavery orators a Quaker preacher was born 
on the island of Nan tucket in 1794, and resided 
through her active life in Philadelphia. She 
was a friend and supporter of Lundy on his 
first appearance as an agitator ; was afterward 
alike the friend and patron of Garrison. More 
than any other woman, should she be known as 
the female philanthropist of America, ranking 
with Elizabeth Fry in England. She died at 
her home, near Philadlphia, in November, 1880. 

Lydia Maria Child, a celebrated woman, edi- 
tor and author, a most elegant writer. She 
edited the National State Slavery Standard, the 
organ of the Garrison party. She wrote the 
famous book, " An Appeal for the African." 
She died in Massachusetts at a very great age, 
in the spring of 1880. 

Sarah and Angelina Grimke, two sisters and 
converted slaveholders from Charleston, S. C. 
The} 7 emancipated their slaves and came North 
to reside, and were active co-workers with the 
Garrisonians of Boston. Angelina married 
Theodore D. Weld. They were both women of 
talent, and devoted philanthropists. 

Theodore D. Weld became a student of Lane 
Seminary in 1833, was a very eloquent orator 
and forcible writer. At one time, he seemed to 
be the literary author of the anti-slavery move- 
ment. " Slavery as It Is " and the so-called 
" Bible Argument " against slavery, works by 
him, were the great guns of the moral conflict. 
He married Angelina Grimke, a fit helpmeet in 
his anti-slavery mission. 

Charles T. Torrey, a minister of the Congre- 
gational Church and editor of the Tocsin of 
Liberty, of Albany, and other papers ; the 
operator on the Underground Railroad ; was 
arrested in Maryland for running off slaves ; 
convicted, sent to prison for life and died in a 
year in the Maryland State Prison. He was a 
devoted Christian man and known now as the 
Martyr Torrey. 

Samuel Lewis, a prominent anti-slavery man 



HISTORY OF DU PAGE COUNTY. 



73 



of Ohio and eloquent lay preacher of the Meth- 
odist denomination. He was a member of the 
Board of Education of the State. He was an 
effective orator, friend and supporter of Birney, 
Bailey and Chase. 

Salmon P. Chase was born in Cornish, N. H., 
January 13, 1808. He was one of the founders 
of the Liberty party, in 1848, a member of 
the Buffalo Free-Soil Convention that nomi- 
nated Van Buren for President. In 1849, 
elected United States Senator from Ohio by 
a coalition of Democrats and Free-Soilers, and 
made a record in the Senate as the uncom- 
promising enemy of slavery. He became Gov- 
ernor of Ohio in 1855, and was re-elected in 
1857, and was appointed Secretary of the 
Treasury^ by Lincoln in 1861, which office he 
held three years, during which time the bank- 
ing system now in use was founded, of which 
he may be called the father. Upon the death 
of Chief Justice Taney, Mr. Chase was ap- 
pointed by Mr. Lincoln to that position, Octo- 
ber, 1864. The fourteenth amendment to the 
Constitution of the United States, which guar- 
anteed civii rights to the Freedman, was among 
the last of the public acts passed under his ad- 
vocacy. He died of apoplexy at the residence 
of his daughter, Mrs. William Hoyt, New York 
City, May 7, 1873. 

Joshua K. Giddings, the famous member of 
Congress from Ohio, who pioneered the slavery 
agitation in that great conservative body, was 
born at Athens, Penn., October 6, 1795. His 
reputation for consistency and honesty as a 
statesman was acknowledged throughout the 
country. He was appointed Consul General at 
Montreal by Abraham Lincoln, where he died 
May 27, 1864. 

Gerrit Smith, a wealthy man of Central New 
York, born in 1798, the most noted philan- 
thropist of the country. He was the -head of 
the intense organization in politics known as 
the Gerrit Smith's Liberty Party. He was a 
friend alike of the two extremes of action 



John Brown and Elihu Burritt. Gave his money 
freely to aid the fugitives, and for John 
Brown's Kansas work, for the support of the 
temperance and anti-slavery cause, and gave 
away land freely to colored men upon which 
to make for themselves farms. He died sud- 
denly in New York in 1874. 

Elihu Burritt was born at New Britain, 
Conn., December 8, 1811. He was a blacksmith 
by trade, and was known throughout the coun- 
try as " The Learned Blacksmith." Besides his 
wonderful linguistic accomplishments, he was 
a persistent searcher into the wants of the com" 
mon people, and to this end made a tour 
through England on foot. He was ever ready 
in America to assist the abolition cause with 
his logical pen as well as every other cause on 
the side of humanity against oppression. He 
died at the place of his birth in March, 1 867. 

Wendell Phillips, the great New England 
orator, born in Boston in 1811, the most active 
of all the agitators; now alive and as aggressive 
as ever in the path to which his tenacious con- 
science leads. His almost unparalleled powers 
of eloquence have become well known through- 
out the country, and the fame of them is destined 
to pass into history. 

Frederick Douglas was a slave by birth, 
who secured his freedom first by flight and 
afterward by paying his master his commercial 
value in cash to enable him to avoid being 
victimized by the Fugitive Slave Law. He 
distinguished himself by writing a book en- 
titled " My Bondage and My Freedom," which 
had a wide circulation, and by some subtle and 
secret methods, found its way into various parts 
of the South, where it caused great commotion. 
Mr. Douglas is now Recorder of Deeds in the 
District of Columbia. 

Jane Gray Swishelm was born in Pittsburgh, 
Penn., December 6, 1815, descended from the 
old Scotch Reformers, and also from the amia- 
ble Lady Jane Gray, the nine days' Queen of 
England. In January, 1848, she started the 



74 



HISTORY OF DU PAGE COUNTY. 



Pittsburgh Saturday Visitor, a paper devoted 
to various reforms, but especially to the anti- 
slavery cause. This paper supported Van 
Buren when a Free-Soil candidate for the Pres- 
idency as she says " to smash one of the great 
pro-slavery parties of the nation, and gain an 
anti-slavery balance of power to counteract the 
slavery vote for which both contended." This 
paper, together with many other anti-slavery 
sheets, were the entering-wedge of disintegra- 
tion to the political policy which had hitherto 
courted the favor of the slavey interest as in- 
despensable to success ; for they forced their 
sentiments into the ranks of the old Whig party 
till there was little left of it but a shell after 
its abolition element was brought to the sur- 
face. In the spring of 1857, Mrs. Swishelm 
established the Visitor at St. Cloud, Minn., soon 
afterward taking the lecture field as an aboli- 
tionist. Her path was a thorny one, but she 
succeeded with her paper in spite of mobs and 
threats, and the old public functionaries of 
Minnesota-recoiled before her oratorical and ed- 
itorial power, and finally sunk below the sur- 
face to rise no more. 

In 1881, Mrs. Swishelm published her book 
entitled " Half a Century," which is a valuable 
record of the stirring time indicated in its title. 
She now lives at Swissvale, near Pittsburgh, 
still vigorous in mind and body. 

Henry B. Stanton was one of the Lane Sem- 
inary students at the time of the anti-slavery 
excitement there. He was from Rochester, N. 
Y. He was a man of talent, a fine speaker, 
and soon took a prominent part in the Aboli- 
tion movement. His field of labor was mostly 
in New England and New York. Some of the 
time he was associated with James G. Birney. 
He was one of the originators of the Liberty 
party. He is still living, hale and hearty a 
New York lawyer. 

Hooper Warren, a native of Windsor, Vt., a 
printer by trade, and an editor by profession. 
The early anti-slavery man in Illinois when 



the State was admitted into the Union, pub- 
lished the Edwardsville Spectator from about 
1820 to 1826, which at the time was the only 
paper that opposed the introduction of slavery 
into Illinois. In that issue, he was a coadjutor 
of Gov. Coles, and first nominated him as a 
candidate for Governor. He was editor, in 
1841 and 1842, with Z. Eastman, of the Genius 
of Liberty. He died at the home of his 
daughter at Mendota, in 1864. He was one of 
those who early shaped the anti-slavery move- 
ment in the West, from Hooper Warren, 
through Lovejoy, on to the culmination of the 
reform in the election of Abraham Lincoln, 
which was manifestly the result of their ef- 
forts. 

Jonathan Blanchard, a native of Vermont, 
took strong anti-slavery ground when he, a 
young man, started out in life, armed with a 
college diploma and an uncompromising spirit 
toward slavery and secret societies. He was 
early associated with the abolition movement, 
and was outspoken as to the impolicy of slav- 
ery when Henrj' Ward Beecher, his associate, 
stood on neutral ground, under the wing of his 
venerable father, Dr. Lyman Beecher, of Cin- 
cinnati. Mr. Blanchard was a settled pastor 
over a church in Cincinnati in 1848, and, dur- 
ing his residence at that place, held a debate 
with Rev. Dr. Rice, a pro-slavery minister of 
his own denomination, which debate was pub- 
lished in book form, and is now a kind of rare 
old relic sometimes found on second-hand 
booksellers' shelves, labeled " scarce," and sold 
at an advance on its original price. 

From Cincinnati, Mr. Blanchard removed to 
Galesburg, where he became President of Knox 
College, after remaining at which place a few 
years he came to Wheaton, and has been Presi- 
dent of the college at this place till 1882, when 
he voluntarily resigned for his son Charles to 
take his place. He is still vigorous in mind, 
with a positiveness of purpose whose limit has 
not yet been overtaken by his advancing years. 



HISTORY OF DU PAGE COUNTY. 



75 



Ichabod Codding was bora in Bristol, Onta- 
rio Co., N. Y., September 23, 1810. Secretary 
Chase acknowledged him to be the greatest 
orator he ever heard. He was educated at 
Middlebury College, Vt, and came to Illinois 
in 1842, by invitation of Mr. Eastman, to take 
the lecture field in the anti-slavery agitation at 
the West, and it is not too much to say that 
his influence in this growing locality had much 
to do in developing that sentiment that made 
it possible to nominate one of its sons to the 
"Presidency of the United States. Mr. Codding 
died at Baraboo, Wis., June 17, 1866. 

Zebina Eastman, born in Amherst, Mass., a 
printer by trade and an educated journalist, 
having studied for that profession, he suc- 
ceeded Mr. Lundy, the pioneer, in editing his 
paper in Illinois, in 1839. In 1841, edited the 
Genius of Liberty, with Hooper Warren. In 
1842, removed to Chicago, by invitation of Dr. 
C. V. Dyer and Philo Carpenter, and com- 
menced the publication of the Western Citizen, 
then the only anti-slavery paper in the North- 
west, with the exception of the Philanthropist, 
at Cincinnati. The Citizen was continued till 
1855. He was a coadjutor with Elihu Burritt 
in his League of Brotherhood and a member of 
the Peace Congress at Frankfort, Germany, in 
1850. He was appointed by Lincoln Consul at 
Bristol in 1861. He now resides near Chicago, 
and is in the employment of the Government. 
The policy of the anti-slavery agitation shaped 
in the Citizen was in some sense distinct from 
the issues of the Eastern Abolitionists. It was 
more definitely political and for the restoration 
of the Declaration of Independence in the 
Government, and was the policy on which anti- 
slavery principles triumphed in the election of 
Mr. Lincoln. 

Dr. Charles V. Dyer, the famous Abolitionist 
of Chicago, and eminent as a manager of the 
Underground Railroad, a noted wit and ever a 
pronounced active man. The colored people 
of Chicago presented him with a gold-headed 



cane for having broken a previous one over the 
head of a slave-catcher. He was appointed by 
President Lincoln Judge of the Slave Trade 
Court at Sierra Leone. Died at Chicago in 
1877. 

Charles Durkee, residing at Kenosha, Wis., 
was the first anti-slavery Congressman from 
Wisconsin, and afterward United States Sen- 
ator. He was a very effective man in the anti- 
slavery cause in the early days of its agitation 
in the Northwest. He was a'member of the 
Peace Congress at Paris in 1849. 

Elihu B. Washburn, born at Livermore, Me., 
September 23, 1816, was elected to Congress 
from Galena, 111., November, 1852, by the votes 
of the Old Whig party and the Abolitionists who 
joined them. He took his seat in the Thirty- 
third Congress in December, 1853, and to the 
utmost of his power resisted the passage of the 
Kansas and Nebraska bill, and voted for every 
measure tending to the abolition of slavery. 
In his eight subsequent elections to Congress, 
he received the entire abolition vote of his dis- 
trict. 

He was a strong advocate for the nomination 
of Mr. Lincoln in 1860, and was his confiden- 
tial friend and adviser during his administra- 
tion. 

Was appointed Secretary of State by Gen. 
Grant in 1869, occupying that position but a 
short time, when he was sent as a minister to 
France, in March, 1869. He held this position 
eight and a half years, during which time the 
Franco-German war took place. 

He was charged with the protection of the 
German nationalities in Paris and France. He 
was recalled at his own request, in 1877, since 
which time he has resided in Chicago. 

Edward Coles was the earliest and most dis- 
tinguished Abolitionist that ever lived in Illi- 
nois, and was the second Governor of the State. 
He was born in Virginia in 1786. His father 
was a large slaveholder, and at his death be- 
queathed to him a plantation with a large num- 



76 



HISTORY OF DU PAGE COUNTY. 



ber of slaves. Determining not to live in a 
slave-holding State, nor to hold slaves, he sold 
his plantation, liberated all his slaves, giving 
to each 1 60 acres of land in Illinois and re- 
moved to Illinois in 1819. From his earliest 
childhood, he imbibed the most intense hatred 
of slavery, and devoted the earlier part of his 
life to the cause of abolitionism. He was 
Governor of Illinois at the time of the colossal 
and desperate struggle to make it a Slave 
State, and all his official and personal influence 
was wielded to defeat that great iniquity. 
To him more than to any other man is Illinois 
indebted for being a free State. 

A sketch of Gen. Coles and of the slavery 
struggle of 1823 and 1824, has been prepared 
by Hon. E. B. Washburn, which will form a 
valuable contribution to early Illinois history. 
Gov. Coles died in Philadelphia in 1868. 

William Henry Seward was born in Florida, 
Orange Co., N. Y., May 16. 1801. When the 
issue of a slavery or anti-slavery policy came 
before the administration, he became an em- 
phatic anti-slavery advocate, and ever after- 
ward was faithful to that principle. He was 
the author of that forcible term, the "irre- 
pressible conflict," which, the sequel shows> 
was no empty name. He was appointed Sec- 
retary of State by Lincoln in 1861, and it is to 
his able foreign policy that our nation owed 
the preservation of peace abroad during our 
Rebellion. Mr. Seward died in Auburn, N. Y., 
October 10, 1872. 

Theodore Parker, an independent Unitarian 
minister of Boston, almost initiated a new school 
in theology, which might be styled the religion 
of humanity, and was a very effective laborer 
in the anti-slavery cause, without attaching 
himself to any of its sects. He was born at 
Lexington, Mass., in 1812, on the consecrated 
ground of the Revolution, and was the grand- 
son of one of its early heroes, Capt. John Parker. 
During the time of the fierce anti-slavery agi- 
tation, he delivered occasionally a great sermon 



or an address, on the intense points of the con- 
test then at issue. At the time of the attempted 
enforcement of the fugitive slave law, he mani- 
fested a most fierce hostility to its enforcement ; 
and, at one time, he addressed a large concourse 
of his fellow-citizens in Federal Hall, counseling 
effective passive resistence, while the corridors 
of the hall were filled with flies of United States 
soldiers with fixed bayonets, ordered there to 
preserve the peace and enforce the law. He de- 
fied the soldiery, and he declared that he should 
march out between their files when he had closed 
his speech ! Horace Greeley, of the New York 
Tribune, was always among the most anxious 
to publish the forcible productions of Theo- 
dore Parker. He died at Florence. Italy, where 
he had gone for the purpose of rejuvenating his 
gradually perishing vitality on the 16th of May, 
1860. This strong and intellectually great man, 
who had lived such an active life, expressed 
regret, when he came to die, that he had accom- 
plished so little for humanity. 

John Quincy Adams, the sixth President of 
the United States, and son of the second Presi- 
dent, was one of the greatest statesmen and 
remarkable men the country has produced. He 
was born at Quincy, Mass., July 11, 1867, and 
was a youth, and doubtless very much inspired 
by the events, during the period of our Revo- 
lutionary war. He should be regarded as 
among the most foremost of the anti-slavery 
men of the country, though he avowed no 
affinity with any of the organizations or sects 
that grew out of the agitation. He was in fact 
the first political victim to the slave power 
of the country, that for a generation slaugh- 
tered its thousands of advanced men, and 
the manhood of millions of the politicians 
of the country ; for it was because he was not 
a slave-holder, and was a man of the North 
more than for anything else that he was de- 
feated for the Presidency for the second term by 
Andrew Jackson ; from this period the sectional 
feeling for the protection of slavery took its 



HISTORY OF DU PAGE COUNTY. 



77 



rise. Mr. Adams, after his return to Congress, 
beginning a new career in political life, after he 
had once run its course to the Presidency, be- 
came specially known as the champion of the 
right of petition ; a sacred political and civil 
constitutional right, which had been smitten 
down in the interest of slavery at the behest of 
the slave leaders. Mr. Adams, from his expe- 
rience in political life from the beginning of the 
Government, and his once personal contact 
with its influence, knew more than any other 
man of the insiduous wiles of the growing 
slave power, and he knew better than any 
other man how to combat it. His was an in- 
dividual life of combat with that power, with- 
out support from party or combination. The 
conflicts with it is one of the sublimest mani- 
festations of the career of the politician and 
statesman the country has ever furnished ; and 
in it he sought for no co-operation from any 
clique or combination, and seems to stand alone 
like the form of a giant, fighting for human 
and constitutional rights of the fellow-men. 
As he had good reason to suspect the iniquities 
that were covered in the heap of meal, he 
delved into the maturing plot, for the robbing 
of Mexico of her province of Texas, and gel- 
ting special information from old Benjamin 
Lundy, who had traveled largely in Texas for 
the purpose of settling a colony of emancipated 
slaves there, he astonished the slave-holding 
plotters and the nation at large by exposing in 
a great speech in Congress in 1836 the whole 
plan of securing the annexation of Texas for 
the purpose of extending the area of slavery, 
as the programme was some years later liter- 
ally carried out. Mr. Adams virtually defined 
the slave power as a political combination, 
though he did not give it that name, when he 
said that it " was a power in American politics 
that governed the .Government." 

He gave no special encouragement to any 
plan of political action in hostility to slavery ; 
gave no special countenance to Garrison or the 



Liberty party, though he waa particularly con- 
fidential with Benjamin Lundy and Joshua 
K. Giddings, but worked on, partially in 
sympathy with the party to which he nominally 
belonged, in hostility to the Jackson party, 
though himself an original Democrat, and the 
last of the Jeffersonian Presidents. Standing 
very much alone, and, for many years, con- 
temned by all parties ; not apparently perceiv- 
ing any ground for a voting opposition to slav- 
ery as an institution bulwarked in the reserved 
rights of the States, and therefore was not a 
political Abolitionist, and looking probably to 
its extirpation by moral force alone, as dis- 
couraging as it then seemed to be. But to 
this wise man above his generation was given 
the foresight to predict the policy and the way 
in which slavery was finally abolished by the 
war power. Abraham Lincoln adopted the 
doctrine of John Quincy Adams when he used 
the war power of the nation to abolish slavery. 
It was this power, which John Quincy Adams 
portrayed in a great speech in 1836, as the 
only possible way in which the nation could 
reach slavery and put it out of existence. The 
slaveholders madly invoked that power, and 
met its recoil in the destruction of their pet 
institution. 

Mr. Adams was suddenly stricken down, 
with his fighting armor on, on the floor of the 
Representative Hall, and taken to a committee 
room, where he died in February, 1848, and his 
last words were remarkable for so remarkable a 
man " This is the last of earth." 

Cassius M. Clay, a native of Kentucky, and 
an early anti-slavery man of the South, who 
made himself most odious in his native section 
for his hostility to their cherished institution. 
He was bora in Madison County, Ky., in 1811, 
and is still alive. He edited, in 1845, the 
True American, an anti-slavery newspaper in 
Lexington, at the time of the most intense ex- 
citement. He defended his press against the 
mob spirit by the well-known efficiency of his 



78 



HISTORY OF DU PAGE COUNTY. 



tried rifle ; but btfing prostrated by severe ill- 
ness, the mob improved the opportunity, and 
they broke up his newspaper establishment and 
shipped the fragments of his material out of 
the State. Horace Greeley, who was foremost 
in encouraging him, published a volume of bis 
anti-slavery speeches in 1848. 

John P. Hale, born in Rochester, N. H., 
March 31, 1806, and died soon after his return 
from Madrid as United States Minister, under 
Abraham Lincoln, November 19, 1873. He is 
distinguished as the leading politician under 
the Liberty party, and was that party's candi- 
date for the Presidency after James G. Birney, 
until it was merged into the Kepublican party. 
He is known as the first successful rebel against 
the slave power, he at that time being a nom- 
inee of the Democratic party for Congress ; op- 
posed the annexation of Texas ; was stricken 
out of the party roll of candidates ; and the 
people taking him up, he was elected United 
States Senator. He was first nominated for 
the Presidency by the Western Citizen of Chi- 
cago, in 1858, and about six months after was 
indorsed by the National Liberty Party Con- 
vention. He was a genial, jovial man, and 
very much annoyed the Southern Senators by 
his pungent criticisms. He was the first anti- 
slavery man in the Senate, followed afterward 
by his coadjutors, Chase, Seward, Fessenden 
and the corps of noble men that in time came 
to the front, to be the supporters of Lincoln in 
his arduous responsibilities as the emancipator 
of 4,000,000 of slaves. 

Kev. C. Cook, Congregational minister, was 
born in Vermont in 1778, graduated at Middle- 
bury College in 1808. preached in the State of 
New York till 1837 : made an anti-slavery ar- 
gument in the Presbyterian General Assembly 
at Philadelphia, in 1836. He settled at Henne- 
pin, 111., in 1837, and gave anti-slavery lectures 
in various parts of the State in 1838 and 1839, 
often being the victim of mob violence. 

In 1840, he removed to Aurora. Kane Co., 



Ill, and became pastor of the First Congrega- 
tional Church. He died at Ottawa, 111., March 
21, 1860, at the house of his son, B. C. Cook, 
where he spent the last fifteen years of his life. 
Horace Greeley was born in Amherst, N. H., 
February 3, 1811. His father removed to West 
Haven, Vt., when Horace was but ten years old, 
where, between the ills of poverty and intemper- 
ance which were ever present with the father, 
the education of the son was sadly neglected ; 
but the young child of fortune possessed by 
nature the wherewithal to educate himself, as 
he paddled his own canoe through the waves of 
the great sea of life. At the age of fifteen, he 
was apprenticed to the printing business, after 
learning which trade he went to New York, ar- 
riving in August, 1831. Here he worked at his 
trade till June 1. 1833, when he became one of 
the proprietors of the Morning Post, the first 
penny daily ever published in America. On 
March 22, 1834, the New Yorker was started 
with Mr. Greeley as editor. In the stirring 
times of 1840, he published the Log Cabin, & 
campaign paper in the interest of Gen. Har- 
rison's election to the Presidency, and the next 
year he commenced the publication of the New 
York Tribune, which paper he planted deep in 
the estimation of every thinker in America, in- 
cluding not only political economists, but even 
erratic dabblers in every species of reform, or 
whatever was claimed to be such all had their 
" say " in the columns of the Tribune. Of 
course, slaver} 7 became a target for his keenest 
darts, and from the first to the last of the con- 
flict between the slavery and anti-slavery in- 
terest he never ceased to " pour hot shot" into 
the ranks of the enemies of universal freedom, 
all the more effective because Mr. Greeley him- 
self was free from any entanglements to cripple 
his own action, having no alliances with any 
party whose interests could be compromised by 
the downfall of slavery. Under his masterl}- 
pen, the Tribune soon took the highest rank in 
American journalism, and its circulation was 



HISTORY OF DU PAGE COUNTY. 



79 



not exceeded by any other paper, although it 
was interdicted in many of the Southern States, 
where, could its editor have been found, he 
would have been lynched on the spot. 

When the convention of 1860 met at Chicago 
to nominate a Republican candidate for Presi- 
dent of the United States, all eyes were turned 
toward Mr. Greeley, who seemed to hold the key 
to the situation ; nor was this hypothesis a false 
one. At that time, there were substantially 
but two candidates in the field Seward and 
Lincoln. Mr. Seward stood high in the estima- 
tion of his party both East and West, and his 
record was untarnished by any political act that 
would not bear the closest scrutiny. Moreover, 
he was well versed in all the affairs of State, 
having been Governor, Senator and Foreign 
Minister, and his soundness on the vital issues 
essential to the fulfillment of the Republican 
doctrines was not to be questioned. These 
qualifications would seem to give him an assur- 
ance of success, and would certainly have done 
so but for the influence of Mr. Greeley. Some 
years before this period, a rupture broke out 
between Mr. Seward and Mr. Greeley, growing 
out of a complaint on the part of the latter that 
the former had neither appreciated nor re- 
warded him for his services in the great Whig 
cause, in which the two were co-workers. As 
to this quarrel between these two distinguished 
and estimable statesmen, the public were, in the 
main, reticent, but, at the convention of 1860, 
it was in vain that Mr. Seward's friends tried 
to win over the great journalist he cast his in- 
fluence in favor of Mr. Lincoln, and turned 
the scale. 

In this sketch of Mr. Greeley, it would be un- 
timely to state the conditions that placed Mr. 
Lincoln in a position so high that only Mr. 
Greeley's influence was necessary to make him 
the winner over the great statesman opposed to 
him, and we will pass to the next point in Mr. 
Greeley's life. When the rebellion broke out, 
he first proposed to let the seceding States go 



in peace under a belief that they would soon be 
glad to come back into the Union, but he did 
not long hold to this theory, and advocated a 
vigorous prosecution of the war. 

Omitting a record of his acts till 1 872, let us 
look on both sides of the question which made 
him accept the nomination of the Democrats to 
be run by them as their candidate for the Presi- 
dency. First, he did not accept a plank in 
their platform which could in any way, even bv 
implication, compromise his life-long teachings 
of Whig and Republican doctrines. The whole 
Democratic party virtually abandoned their 
ground and threw themsfelves at his feet he 
whom they had ever affected to despise. As. 
far as the substance went, this was a sufficient 
vindication of Mr. Greeley's course; but, in 
theory, it. looked otherwise to many who had 
been his friends. He was accused of apostacy, 
and made the butt of unsparing ridicule beyond 
the power of his hitherto philosophic mind to 
bear. He sank rapidly beneath his load of 
humiliation, and died shortly after the election 
a victim to despair. 

His funeral was one of the most impressive 
ever known in New York, and every tongue 
that, but a few days before had spoken ill of him 
was now softened into charity for him who had 
ever been the great the honest the fearless 
mouthpiece of the Republican party. 

John G. Fee was born in Bracken County, 
Ky., in 1816. When a young man, he was 
ostracized by his parents for advocating anti- 
slavery sentiments. He organized three 
an ti- slavery societies in the face of fierce op- 
position, and, continuing his efforts in this 
direction, he became the victim of violent 
mobs in 1856 and later. He was repeatedly 
threatened with death if he did not leave the 
State, but still he continued his labors. Dur- 
ing the war, he helped to establish various col- 
ored schools in Kentucky. He was one of the 
founders of Berea College, and is now pastor 
of a church at that place. 



80 



HISTORY OF DU PAGE COUNTY. 



John Brown was born in Torrington, 
May 9, 1800, of good old Puritan stock, being 
fifth in descent from Peter Brown, who landed 
in the Mayflower in 1620. As a boy, he was 
an industrious, muscular, hardy and a capable 
worker in the great hive of industry that char- 
acterized the age of his youth. But he never 
was a boy except in years, for he felt the 
responsibilities of manhood from a tender age. 
From his earliest recollections he entertained st 
great aversion to slavery, and, in 1854, this 
trait in his character began to take action as 
the Kansas border opened a field for it. Four 
of his sons had settle'd there, eight miles from 
the village of Osawatomie, near the border. 
Here they became an object of great aversion 
to the border ruffians from Missouri on their 
father's account as well as their own, being 
Free- State men, and, in obedience to their call, 
their father came the next year 1855 with 
arms and ammunition to defend them. During 
the next year, he had several successful en- 
counters with the pro-slavery raiders who 
came across the line to commit depredations 
on the Free-State men, and soon gained a repu- 
tation which made him hated and feared by his 
adversaries in the irregular style of warfare 
that was then going on in Kansas. Thirty 
men were now under his command at Osawat- 
omie, and were suddenly attacked by a force 
of five hundred Missourians. Their advance 
was so sudden that half of his men were cut 
off and taken ; but, with the remainder, Brown 
made a glorious retreat, fighting his pursuing 
army as he fled before them, and inflicting 
severe losses upon them. For this gallant 
action he gained the sobriquet of "Osawat- 
omie Brown." 

Six weeks later, he held command of the 
forces to defend Lawrence against a greatly su- 
perior force of the enemy ; but the latter dared 
not make the attack against so obstinate a 
leader. 

These exciting events only served to whet 



the edge of his sword for new encounters against 
the slave power, against which his whole life 
and soul and strength was pitted, and he laid 
his plans accordingly. 

He had read of insurrections among slaves, 
and fully believed that if a respectable nucleus 
of strength could be established in their midst) 
an army could soon be improvised from them, 
who would gather force, like, a whirlwind, and 
sweep through the South. Under this belief, 
so inspiring to his hungry soul, he contemplated 
seizing the United States Arsenal at Harper's 
Ferry, where from 100,000 to 200,000 stand of 
arms were usually stored. 

He was about a year maturing his plans, and 
all things being ready on his part, he, at the 
head of twenty-two men, seventeen of whom 
were white and the remainder colored, made the 
attack at 10 o'clock Sunday night, on the 16th 
of October, 1859. The three watchmen of the 
arsenal were taken prisoners, and the town of 
Harper's Ferry fell into his hands. Private 
houses were entered, and all arms found therein 
were taken. The next morning, he had sixty 
prisoners in his camp, many of whom were work- 
men in the employment of the United States. 

As soon as the temporary stupor caused by 

his audacity had passed away, the citizens of 

j the surrounding country began to gather to the 

' scene, while, unfortunate!}' for Brown, no recruits 

came to his standard except six or eight slaves 

who had been compelled to do so. An attack 

was now made upon the arsenal, which was kept 

up till the next day at noon, with losses on both 

sides. 

Brown's forces were now all killed or mortally 
wounded but three, who still held the engine 
house to which they had taken refuge. At 7 
o'clock, the door of their "last resort" was 
battered in, when Brown, still fighting with the 
courage of Charles XII at Bender, fell beneath 
a sabre stroke, receiving two bayonet thrusts 
after he was down, and the victor}' over this 
strange man was won. 



LIBRARY 

OF liiE 

UNIVERSITY OF ILLINOIS 



HISTORY OF DU PAGE COUNTY. 



83 



Now came his greatest triumph. Senator 
Mason, of Virginia, and Gov. Wise confronted 
him ; but his bearing was dignified and cheer- 
ful. Nor did he lose those masterly qualities 
of his mind, which challenged the respect of his 
enemies even till his death. His trial was put 
off till the 31st on account of his weakness from 
his wounds. 

In the defense which followed, he refused to 
allow his counsel to put in the plea of insanity, 
but he placed his defense solely on the moral 
points in the case, and firmly justified his course 
to the last. He was found guilty by the court 
of the several charges brought against him, and 
hung on the 2d of December. 

During the preparations, he was the calmest 
one of the thousands assembled to witness the 
last end of this hero. 

That he was an offender against the laws of 
Virginia no one can question, and his justifica- 
tion by the almost entire press and people of 
the North was one of the many proofs that the 
higher law is stronger than any that man can 
make when the public will demands its exe- 
cution. 

" John Brown's body lies moldering in the dust ; 
His soul is marching on !" 

became the song of the war, to be chanted by 
thousands of voices in concert, falling upon un- 
willing ears like the voice of a ghost, as the 
Northern soldiers marched through the South. 
He drew the first blood in the war that was 
hastened by his death, and only began in a 
small way, what was soon to be carried on un- 
der the forms of law on a far grander scale. 

His widow visited Chicago in August, 1882, 
and was received with public honors. 

Charles G. Finney was born in Litchfield, 
Conn., August 29, 1792 died in Oberlin, Ohio, 
August 16, 1875 became President of Oberlin 
College in 1852, and held the position till 1866. 
The college over which he presided was noted 
for being a nursery of Abolitionists, from its 
first organization, under his rule. 



A brief sketch of Lane Seminary may be con- 
sidered as exemplary to show the growing 
anti-slavery sentiment that was destined first 
to split asunder churches, colleges and ulti- 
mately, for a time, the nation itself. It was 
established at Cincinnati in 1832 as a theo- 
logical school, when theology by many people 
in America recognized slavery as a patriarchal 
institution, justified in the Old Testament by 
precedent and not explicitly forbidden by the 
new. Dr. Lyman Beecher was President of this 
institution, and Calvin E. Stone held the chair 
of Professor of Biblical Literature, and it was 
the first of its kind established in the West on 
a footing of the first grade. It was patronized 
by the best representatives of the orthodoxy of 
the country. But, unfortunately for Lane as 
for other " solid " institutions of the country, 
there was at that time subtly creeping into the 
public conscience a disintegrating " heresy," 
so called, and the very attempts that the found- 
ers of these various institutions made to sub- 
due the " heresy " (while in the germ cell) only 
served to cultivate it into a vigorous growth. 
What could these perplexed fathers do in this 
dilemma? If they gave full freedom to the 
young mind to discuss anti-slavery sentiments, 
the sturdy old leaders both in church and in 
State would be obliged to come in collision with 
the interests of their Southern associates, whose 
tenacity as advocates for slavery forbids its 
merits to be questioned under penalty of the 
severance of all ties of friendship and alliance. 
Hence, free discussion must be forbidden, in 
order to retain the good will and patronage of 
southern co-workers in religion as well as poli- 
tics. 

Pending this dilemma, in Lane Seminarv 
many of its earnest students became thoroughly 
convinced of the impolicy and wickedness of 
slavery through the teachings of Garrison, as 
well as by the discussions in their own lyceutn 
on the subject, and formed themselves into an 
anti-slavery society. When the preamble and 



84 



HISTORY OF DU PAGE COUNTY. 



resolutions of this society were read to their 
President, the venerable father acknowledged 
the truth and force of them, but averred that it 
was untimely to agitate the subject, and in- 
sisted that they should desist from so doing. 
This requisition the zealous students refused 
to comply with, but published their sentiments 
to the world through the press. The matter 
now became serious. Many papers took sides 
one way or the other, and the students unex- 
pectedly became famous. They were extolled 
as heroes by the Abolitionists, and branded as 
fools, and threatened with mob violence by the 
Kentucky slaveholders and their Cincinnati 
friends. The Trustees of Lane Seminary be- 
held the opening of this issue with consterna- 
tion. Lane Seminary was a " hot-bed of aboli- 
tionism." went forth the cry. Summary meas- 
ures must be taken to arrest this impression 
so fatal to the success of this institution. Ac- 
cordingly, new rules were made ; the students 
must not make public addresses against slavery; 
must disband their anti-slavery society, and the 
executive committee were empowered to dis- 
charge any student from the institution with- 
out notice or trial. Tyranny over minds could 
go no further. All but the victims of this gag 
law were satisfied, and in their transcient hour 
of triumph the authors of it thought they had 
settled the whole matter. It is justice to the 
memory of Asa Mahan, one of the Trustees, 
to state that he protested against these despotic 
rules, but he was powerless to prevail against 
them. He then informed the students of the 
substance of these laws, and heartily sympa- 
thized with them in opposition to them. 

The first step taken by the Trustees under 
the new regulations was to make an order to 
dismiss Theodore D. Weld and W. T. Allan 
from the institution, whereupon H. B. Stan- 
ton, then a student of Lane, and since Secre- 
tary of War, called the attention of the students 
to the situation, saying, " The question now is, 
can we, under the new laws, remain in the in- 



stitution ? Let all who answer in the negative 
! rise to their feet." Three-fourths of the stu- 
| dents promptly rose and bade good-by to Lane, 
leaving her with a mill-stone around her neck 
j that soon sunk her to rise no more, and her 
! fate became that of all parties, politicians and 
institutions that only know enough to step in 
other people's tracks and follow them to de- 
struction, because they happen to be big ones. 
And here it may be meet to say that repub- 
lican institutions, to be consistent with their 
principles, should accept no political rule or 
dogma or faith, except on its positive merits, 
regardless of what interested parties may say 
or pretend to. As long as they do this, and 
dispense even-handed justice to ever} 7 interest 
and every individual, so long will such a gov- 
ernment stand, if it is to the end of time, and 
it is not too much to add that no government, 
of whatsoever form, ever went into decadence 
that had not by its contempt for the rights of 
its own subjects, deserved first their apathy and 
lastly their antagonism. 

Rufus Lumry was of French Huguenot an- 
cestry. He was born in Rensselaerville, N. Y., at 
the close of the last century. He united with 
__ the Methodists, and became a minister among 
them at his maturity. In 1835, he took radi- 
cal anti-slavery grounds at Princeton, 111., for 
which he was arraigned before the conference 
and required to desist. This his conscience 
forbade, and he severed his connection with the 
church and joined the Wesleyans. Subse- 
quently he was condemned to .suffer death on 
board a steamboat, for preaching abolition 
sentiments, and given half an hour for prep- 
aration. He was calmer than his accusers, for 
he told them he was ready, but would not re- 
lent, while they reconsidered and did not kill 
him. He was a co-worker with Owen Lovejoy, 
Z. Eastman, I. Codding and others, and with 
them was kicked, buffeted and despised by the 
populace. The year 1862 found him in Colo- 
rado, pursuing his work of reform, where he 



HISTORY OF DU PAGE COUNTY. 



85 



was accidentally drowned in crossing a mount- 
ain torrent. 

H. H. Hininan was born in Connecticut in 
1822, graduated at Willoughby Medical Col- 
lege in 1846; came to Illinois in 1849, was or- 
dained to the ministry and went as a mission- 
ary to Africa in 1860. In 1866, he returned 
and labored as a home missionary in Wiscon- 
sin till 1873, and the next year came to Wheat- 
on, 111. His first vote for President was for 
Birney in 1844. He always took radical 
ground on the slavery question, advocating its 
universal and unconditional abolition by the 
Government. He helped organize the first 
Republican party, and start their first paper in 
Livingston County. He always assisted fugi- 
tive slaves to get their liberty, and did not con- 
sider himself a violator of law by so doing, as 
he looked upon all laws to enslave them as void. 
He believes in Divine Law as the true basis of 
civil law in the prohibition of the liquor 
traffic the suppression of secret societies, and 
the substitution of international arbitration for 
war. Mr. Hinman's home is in Wheaton, 111. 

J. C. Webster. The pastorates of ministers in 
" ye olden time," were longer than they are now. 
Rev. Josiah Webster presided over his flock at 
Hampton, N. H., about thirty years, and during 
this term of ministerial service, his son, Jesse 
C. Webster, was born. It was in January, 1810. 
From him he inherited his Congregationalism, 
and his love for the ministerial calling. Even 
in that day, slaver}" was abhorred by benevolent 
men, and young Jesse also inherited this sen- 
timent from his father, who, with prophetic vis- 
ion, said that slavery was destined to be " blot- 
ted out in blood." 

Mr. Webster graduated at the theological 
institution at Andover in 1832. About this 
time, a member of the British Parliament came 
to the place to lecture, named George Thomp- 
son. To the conservative element, he was a 
fire-brand, but many conscientious young men 
did not view him in that light, and Mr. Web- 



ster was one of these. He identified himself 
with the agitators, and was reproved by the 
professors of Andover for it, and even rebuked 
for walking arm in arm with Rev. A. A. Phelps 
because he was a coworker with Thompson. 
Mr. Webster left the seminary with its parting 
blessing, cum grano, and soon after delivered 
an abolition lecture, getting pay for the same 
in eggs, unsavory as they were, hurled at his 
head. He next became pastor of a- Congrega- 
tional Church at Hopkinton, Mass., and during 
his long term there, advocated the cause of the 
slave and became President of the American 
Church Anti-Slavery Society, the object of 
which was the exclusion of pro-slavery senti- 
ments from the church. From that day to the 
present, he has been true to the cause, and like 
other Abolitionists has become noted for what 
was once considered a weakness, and he has 
recently been honored with the title of D. D. 
Hia home is Wheaton, 111. 

James B. Walker is one of the well-preserved 
specimens of the pioneer preacher, editor and 
Abolitionist, so few of whom are now among us 
to take us back to early days when men had 
not sought out so many inventions to subordi- 
nate true merit to the control of pretentious 
purposes. He was born in Philadelphia in July, 
1805, but by the death of his father, which took 
place before his birth, his mother was thrown 
into the generous household of her parents, who 
lived twenty miles from Fort Pitt (now Pitts- 
burgh), and here young James' first resolutions 
fastened upon his childish mind to live, and 
grow from the log cabin in which he dwelt to 
the varied positions which he has honored in 
his long and eventful life 

He began his career clad in garments spun, 
woven, cut and made by his mother, on the 
frontier with the first rudiments of science dis- 
tilled into his mind in a log schoolhouse by a 
pedagogue with a rod in one hand and a spell- 
ing-book in the other, and when the former was 
once used on him, Mr. Walker still remembers 



86 



HISTORY OF DU PAGE COUNTY. 



the rueful looks and illy-concealed indications 
of sympathy which little Sarah Trovillo mani- 
fested on the occasion, which a thousand-fold 
atoned for the disgrace of the whipping which 
only hurt for a few minutes, while Sarah's inno- 
cent regrets often call back the flowers of spring 
to blossom again in midwinter. 

Having graduated at this school, young 
James was set to work in a nail factory in 
Pittsburgh, where he passed the red-hot iron 
rods from the furnace to the workmen. While 
thus employed, a benevolent gentlemen, visiting 
the shop, saw something in him that attracted 
his attention, and gave him a silver half-dollar. 
It made him feel richer than he has ever felt 
since. 

During these tender years, Mr. Walker says 
he felt afraid to pass the house of a certain 
blacksmith in the night because he was an infi- 
del. 

Having remained at work in the nail factory 
till the din of hammers there impaired his 
hearing for a time, he was mercifully taken 
from the place and set to work as a store boy 
at Hookstown, near the borders of Virginia. 
It was a rough place, and was universally 
known by the epithet of " The Devil's Half 
Acre." Mr. Walker speaks of the disgusting 
scenes of drunkenness and fighting that he saw 
during his two years' residence at the place, 
sometimes disfiguring and crippling those en- 
gaged in them for life. 

The next change in the life of young Walker 
was to apprentice him to Messrs. Eichbaum & 
Johnston, who published the Pittsburgh 
Gazette the first newspaper published West of 
the Alleghany Mountains. It was edited by 
Morgan Neville. This occupation opened up a 
new field for the genius of the young lad, whose 
talents had hitherto been wasted on pursuits 
for which he was neither mentally nor physic- 
ally fitted. Here he remained five years, in 
which time he learned the printer's trade, 
and received the religious teachings of the 



Scotch Secession Church, of which his mother, 
whose home was now at Pittsburgh, was 
a member. Mr. Walker speaks of early 
Methodism, as it was then, as follows : " The 
men wore a coat of the Quaker form, 
and the women all wore the Quaker, or 
Methodist bonnet. To be a Methodist in those 
days, was to come out from the world in a 
sense not understood at the present time. 
When a young woman was converted, all orna- 
ments were laid aside." 

While at work on the Gazette, Mr. Walker 
says he sent a contribution to the Evening 
Post, of Philadelphia, which was rejected, but 
he reserved the same for publication in a paper 
of his own, which acquisition long ago a 
reality seemed even then a distant possibility 
in his ambitious imagination. 

Mr. Walker's next change was to go to New 
York City. He made the journey on foot 300 
miles in ten days, carrying his pack swung 
from a staff across his shoulder. 

From thence he went to Philadelphia, and, 
like Benjamin Franklin a century before him, 
followed type-setting. After remaining here 
awhile, he again returned to New York, and 
obtained employment for a short season, in the 
capacity of clerk for the celebrated M. M. 
Noah, who had established the first daily paper 
ever issued in New York. Its first name was 
Noah's Ark, which was subsequently changed 
to the Courier and Enquirer. His term of 
service, however, soon ceased with Mr. Noah, 
as he sold out his paper and became Judge of 
the Court of Sessions. On parting with young 
Walker, he gave him a letter recommending 
him to Mr. Booth, a celebrated star actor. His 
son, in 1865, was the murderer of Abraham 
Lincoln. Mr. Booth treated the young appli- 
cant with deserved attention, but informed him 
that there were so many applicants from young 
men wishing to try their fortunes on the stage. 
that he could not give him any encourage- 
ment. 



HISTORY OF DU PAGE COUNTY. 



87 



Mr. Walker's means now became exhausted, 
and he sold a cloak to get money to pay a 
washing bill. He crossed the ferry to Hobo- 
ken, and started into the country on foot, not 
knowing whither he was going. He was soon 
overtaken by a farmer, who gave him an invi- 
tation to ride. In conversation with him, he 
learned that a schoolmaster was wanted in his 
district. He obtained the situation, and with 
it relief. Mr. Walker, having finished his en- 
gagement, subsequently returned to the West 
and bought a half-interest in the Western 
Courier, a paper published in the Western 
Reserve, Ohio. 

Soon after this, he made the acquaintance of 
John Brown, Theodore Weld and other early 
Abolitionists, and espoused the cause in which 
these men were engaged, in which cause he 
was the victim of a determined mob at Hud- 
son, Ohio, while he was a student at the West. 
ern Reserve College at the place, which was 
shortly after his connection with the Western 
Courier. He had been invited to give an anti- 
slavery lecture at the Congregational Church. 
It was known beforehand that violence would 
be resorted to to prevent it, and the preacher, 
either through fear or from other motives, did 
not attend. He might have been like the 
hunter who saw an animal in the woods that, 
in the bushes, looked some like a calf and 
some like a deer, and prudentially fired at it 
with such an aim as to miss it if a calf and 
hit it if a deer. In like manner, many preachers 
took safe ground in the pioneer days of aboli- 
tionism. But, whatever were the motives of 
the minister in question, his wife nailed her 
colors to the masthead and boldly took her 
seat in the church. Young Walker " laid on " 
heavy and unsparing. The mob outside hurled 
stones, battered the doors, broke in all the 
windows, and, not content with this, threw fire 
through the apertures. By this time the audi- 
ence had all fled, but Mr. Walker and the hero- 
ine wife of the minister were the last to leave 



the building. He was not molested on his 
retreat perhaps her presence saved him. 

After graduating at this college, he was 
employed as editor of the Ohio Observer, at 
Cleveland. Subsequently, Mr. Walker removed 
to Cincinnati, where he established a religious 
paper, The Watchman, under the patronage of 
the Synods of Ohio, Cincinnati and Indiana. 
Dr. Stowe, Jonathan Blanchard and J. Benton 
engaged to obtain 1,600 subscribers for his 
paper. Dr. Beecher and Dr. Stowe were then 
professors in Lane Seminary at Cincinnati 
which was thoroughly pro-slavery, and ulti- 
mately went down under the teachings of abo- 
litionism. Meantime, Mr. Walker did not tone 
down his editorials as to the 'subject of slavery 
in the columns of the Watchman, though he 
was requested to do so by some of its time- 
serving supporters. 

While engaged in these editorial duties, he 
wrote and published his book, " Plan of Sal- 
vation." It has been translated into six lan- 
guages, and is a text book in the Theological 
institutions of Europe and America. 

This was the crowning work of his life, but 
since that time he has been pastor of a church 
in Mansfield and Sandusky, Ohio, and latterly 
Professor of Mental Science at Wheaton Col- 
lege, his present home, where he is now enjoy- 
ing a green old age, beloved by all, but most 
by those who know him best. He has no chil- 
dren, but has adopted, raised and educated 
thirteen, and fitted them for responsible posi- 
tions in life. 

Washington and Adams belonged to the 
old Federal party. Jefferson, though in har- 
mony with them as to the fundamental prin- 
ciples of Government, yet through his excessive 
zeal for the broadest forms of liberty, laid a deep 
foundation for a departure from the old Fed- 
eral conservative policy. He was radical, san- 
guine, and his mind was ready to indorse the 
verdict of popular convictions, even though 
sometimes perhaps hasty and ill digested. It 



HISTORY OF DU PAGE COUNTY. 



was due to his diplomacy and his public policy 
combined, that the declaration of the war of 
1812 was made against England, which declar- 
ation was in violation of the sentiment of New 
England, as history abundantly proves. He 
had been Minister to France during the tran- 
sient glories of the Republic, which succeeded 
her revolution of 1798, and his sympathies be- 
ing entirely with her he never lost an occasion 
to give England a thrust in the conflict that 
followed between her and France, and our 
declaration of war against England helped 
France, besides settling old scores on our own 
account. 

The war won nothing in theory, but more 
than an}' one could have hoped for in practical 
results and military glory. Jackson's victory 
at New Orleans, though achieved after peace 
had been signed, placed him at the head of the 
accumulating force that was gathering strength 
in opposition to the old Federal policy of Wash- 
ington, and when these two forms were arrayed 
against each other with John Quincy Adams, 
the standard-bearer for the time-honored policy 
of his father, and Gen. Jackson the exponent of 
the Jeffersonian policy, the latter won the day. 
Jackson became President, and the beloved 
champion of popular rights par excellence. 
Under him the Democratic party became strong 
and invincible, till an issue came up bound to 
crush all partisan organizations. Meantime 
the Western States were rapidly being settled, 
and were destined to become the base of oper- j 
ations, from which the champions of each side 
of the final issue between slavery and anti- 
slavery should inaugurate their policy, and 
put their respective machinery in motion. 

The Whig party, whose success had been but 
transient, was going to seed. It had in its ranks 
too many Abolitionists to live permanently, 
besides its banking policy had been disastrous 
to the country. But a new party rose into 
prominence out of the teachings of the men 
whose brief biographies have just been given, 



and in the State of Illinois this policy gained 
its first substantial success politically, and set 
in motion a train of events as to State policy, 
that soon found its way into the national policy. 
The circumstances are these : 

Soon after the murder of Lovejoy at Alton, 
a meeting was called at Chicago, not as a direct 
abolition meeting, but to characterize the ac- 
tion of the mob that killed him as a blow aimed 
against the constitutional right of the freedom 
of the press. 

Rev. F. Bascom (now living at Downer's 
Grove), the late Dr. C. V. Dyer, Philo Carpen- 
ter and Calvin DeWolf (now living at Chicago) 
were the leading spirits of this meeting. A 
watch was kept outside, lest a mob might assail 
them during their deliberations, but no one 
molested them. 

This was the first meeting ever held in Chi- 
cago that called in question the right of any- 
body to oppose slavery agitation by any means, 
fair or foul. 

As has already been recorded in the biog- 
raphy of Benjamin Lundy, he came to Illinois 
after the death of Lovejoy, and established a 
paper in defense of constitutional rights. 

After his (Lundy's) death in 1 839, his paper 
was continued by Hooper Warren and Z. 
Eastman, the latter now a resident of May- 
wood, Cook Co., 111. 

In 1840, an Anti-slavery Presidential ticket 
was formed in Illinois, in Fulton County, with 
James Birney as standard-bearer. Here was 
the beginning ; but more practical results, 
through Illinois men, followed in due course. 

Warren and Eastman's paper was continued 
at La Salle, on the same press that the old vet- 
eran Lundy had consecrated to the cause, till 
1842, when Rev. F. Bascom invited Mr. East- 
man to come to Chicago, Dr. Dyer being the 
bearer of the invitation. It was accepted, and 
Mr. Eastman transferred his type and presses 
thither the same year (1842), and continued the 
paper under the name of the Western Citizen. 



LIBR'KY 

OF 1,.E 

UNIVERSITY OF HUNOIS 



HISTOHY OF DU PAGE COUNTY. 



On declaring its policy, the Citizen said : 
" We see no reason why our Government should 
be overturned, our Constitution trampled under 
foot or the Union dissolved, or why the church 
organizations should be destroyed. 
We wish it understood that our course is re- 
formatory, and not destructive." 

Icabod Codding soon became associated with 
Mr. Eastman, and took the field as lecturer. 
Chief Justice Chase said he was the most elo- 
quent orator he ever heard. The widow of Mr. 
Codding is still living at Lockport, 111. 

A convention was soon held in Chicago, at 
Chapman's Hall, on the southwest corner of 
La Salle and Randolph Streets, at which the 
new party sat in council, recognizing not only 
the usual methods of propagating their senti- 
ments, but recognizing the Underground Rail- 
road as a means worthy to be used. From this 
time henceforward, the Liberty party always 
put candidates in the field for State elections 
and for Congress as fast as the principles of 
the party gained a foothold in Congressional 
districts. 

The Wilmot Proviso, the Nebraska Bill, 
Squatter Sovereignty, Fugitive Slave Laws, Re- 
peal of the Missouri Compromise, John Brown's 
Raid, and the Dred Scot Decision followed in 
their immutable train and augmented agitation 
till two great Illinois champions were brought 
into the arena destined, the one to rend asun- 
der the Democratic party, and the other to be 
the representative of the new party that was to 
rise into being amidst the din and strife and 
contending emotions that racked the brains of 
politicians opposed to moral sentiment. 
While numerical force was centering into the 
hands of the Liberty part}' during these years, 
the old Whig party still kept up its organiza- 
tion. Hon. K. B. Washburn was one of their 
number, and owed his first election to Con- 
gress to votes from the Liberty party, who 
joined with the Whigs, and astonished the 
stronghold of Democracy by electing him. 



This signal defeat for the Democrats never was 
recovered from ; Mr. Washburn's heavy blows 
fell with great force upon the party to which 
he was opposed, and will descend into history 
as a monument to perpetuate the memory of 
Illinois as the vanguard in the new order of 
things about to take place. The Liberty party 
by this time held the situation in their own 
hands. Not that they outnumbered the Demo- 
crats, but because they held the balance of 
power. The Whigs could do nothing without 
them, and spread their sails to their breezes. 
They were potent in the Legislature, for these, 
too, they held the balance of power, and from 
this time onward they continued to circumvent 
their opponents till strong enough to take the 
field alone in their own name and with their 
own strength. Mr. Douglas' term in the South 
being about to expire, a new election was nec- 
essary in 1858. His joint debate with Mr. 
Lincoln at that time is still fresh in the minds 
of Illinois citizens. Mr. Douglas was elected 
by a majority of eight votes in the House of 
Representatives, which decided the election by 
their vote, but Mr. Lincoln had a majority of 
4,000 popular votes in the State, and won the 
laurels during this debate that made him can- 
didate for the Presidency in 1860. 

An anecdote is told of Mr. Lincoln concern- 
ing his supposed temerity in running against 
Mr. Douglas for the Senate, as follows : An 
inquirer says to him : c< You don't expect to 
beat Douglas, do you ?" To which Mr. Lincoln 
responded that it was with him as it was with 
the boys who made an attack on a hornets' 
nest. " What do you expect to do, boys ?" 
You don't expect to take that hornets' nest, do 
you ?" " We don't know that we shall exactly 
take it," replied the boys, " but we shall be- 
devil the nest." So said Mr. Lincoln, " If we 
don't capture Douglas, we shall bedevil his 
nest." 

Mr. Douglas' magnanimity to Mr. Lincoln 
after his election to the Presidency is well 



90 



HISTORY OF DU PAGE COUNTY. 



known. He, too, was an Illinois man. He was 
the instrument by which the partisan ties that 
originally bound the party to a wrong princi- 
ple were rent asunder, when he became the 
candidate of its Northern wing for President 
at the same time that Lincoln was candidate for 
the Liberty party in 1860. 

Every soldier who went from Illinois to fight 
against the rebellion may well feel pride in 
the part their State took in it, not only in being 
the first State to define the new policy of the 
Government, but in furnishing the great states- 
man to direct the arm of the nation when raised 
in defense of those rights which are essential 
to the grandeur of a State, and especially to 
Illinois, whose central position binds its inter- 
ests alike to every part of the country. The 
record of Du Page County soldiers in the con- 
flict that decided the question that Illinois 
statesmen had been the first to give form and 
system to, is a noble one. 

And, though the county is small, her soldiers 
took part in the most decisive campaigns and 
battles of the war, and those who have re- 
turned and are now living, are among our most 



highly-esteemed fellow-citizens efficient in the 
arts of peace as they were formidable on the 
field of battle. 

The same may be said, as a rule, of all the 
soldiers who went from the North, and it may 
also be said that this fair fame is all the more 
to be prized, because so many share it ; but let 
it not be forgotten that the Liberty party of 
Illinois inserted the first wedge of disintegra- 
tion into the slavery plank of the Democratic 
party. This plank was a fungus growth on the 
trunk of their tree. Jefferson, from whom they 
claim origin, planted no such seed in its virgin 
soil, but it grew there as cancers sometimes 
grow in stalwart frames. The surgeon's knife 
has removed it. All this is simple history, and 
not partisan pleading in any sense. 

Both the officers and men composing the 
Union army, were made up from each political 
party, and partisan issues were lost sight of in 
the transcendent crisis thrust upon the country 
by the hostile shots fired at the American flag 
that waved over Fort Sumter, near the spot 
where Fort Moultrie had repulsed the British 
in 1776. 



CHAPTER VI. 



RECORD OF 1)U PAGE COUNTY IN THE WAR OF THE REBELLION. 



IN the war with Mexico, in 1846-47, the 
quota of Illinois was six regiments, which 
were the first ever raised in this State for 
regular service in the United States. Thirty- 
four years had passed since that time, and 
though the art of war had gone into disuse, 
when Abraham, Lincoln made a call, April 
16, 1861, for 75,000 troops to serve three 
months, ten regiments from Illinois responded, 
though their quota was but six. The number- 
ing began where regiments for the Mexican 
service left off, consequently the number of the 



first regiment raised for service in the war of 
the rebellion was numbered seven. 

SEVENTH REGIMENT. 

The Seventh Regiment of Illinois Infantry 
was among President Lincoln's first call for 
three months' men. It was first organized 
April 25, 1861. Twenty-four men from Du 
Page County enrolled themselves in it as pio- 
neers in a new branch of industry in which they 
mostly if not all as yet were untaught. That 
they soon (like others who followed) became 



HISTORY OF DU PAGE COUNTY. 



91 



efficient, the result proved. After the term for 
which this regiment had enlisted had expired, 
many of the men re-enlisted, and the regiment 
re-organized as veterans for three years' service 
at Camp Yates, Springfield, July 25, 1861. Its 
first destination was Ironton, where it was 
placed under the command of Gen. Prentiss. 
Cape Girardeau was the next point reached, and 
Fort Holt, Ky., its next. 

On the 3d of February, it reached Fort Henry, 
from which place it started on the 12th for Fort 
Donelson, to take part in the siege of that post, 
then in the hands of the rebels, and here it was 
engaged in the last charge made against the 
enemy's works. After the capture of this fort, 
it was dispatched to the Tennessee Kiver, and, 
the following April, took part in the battle of 
Shiloh, and subsequently in the battleof Corinth, 
which took place October 3, 4, during both of 
which days the Seventh was much of the time 
under fire. From the 18th of December, to the 
following year, 1863, in May, it was mounted 
and engaged in raiding and skirmishing. On 
the 22d of December, the regiment re-enlisted 
as veterans. On the llth of January, 1864, it 
was furloughed for thirty days to rest from its 
hitherto unceasing toils, at the expiration of 
which term it was sent to Pulaski, where, being 
again mounted, it went into scouting service in 
Northern Alabama. 

On the 5th of October, 1864, it was in the' 
sanguinary battle of Altoona Pass, where it lost 
143 men. On the 9th of November, it joined 
Sherman's army in its march to the sea, after 
the successful accomplishment of which exploit 
the Seventh, together with its other companions 
in arms, marched in review before President 
Lincoln in Washington, who there beheld the 
men whose hardihood had won the cause for 
which such sacrifices had been made. 

From there the Seventh proceeded to Louis- 
ville, where it was mustered out July 9, 1865. 

Following are the names of the men in this 
regiment : 



COMPANY A. 

Bates, Allen, Wayne, enlisted and mustered in July 
25, 1861; killed at Shiloh April 6, 1862. 

The following were three months' men from 
Du Page County, enlisted April 22 and mus- 
tered in the 25th, 1861 : 

Boutwell, 0. M.; Goodwin, J., Musician; Ham- 
mond, 8. F. ; Oyer, Joseph; Smith, A. R.; Thomp- 
son, T. J. ; Wilson, O. R. 

Three years' service : 
Trick, Richard A., Wayne. 

COMPANY C. 

Bader, Emil, Naperville. 

Battles, Edwin D., Turner Junction. 

Erhardt, John, Naperville, re-enlisted as veteran; 
promoted Corporal. 

Gilhower, John, Naperville. 

Givler, David B., Naperville, Musician; re-enlisted 
as veteran. 

Hamilton, Jesse, Naperville; re-enlisted as veteran. 

Lamb, Lyman, York, discharged May 6, 1862. 

Mitchell, Robert, Warrenville; re-enlisted as vet- 
eran. 

_WaddlehofEer, Charles, Naperville ; re-enlisted as 
veteran. 

Stafflinger, John, Naperville. 

Ward, Stephen D., Warrenville, killed at Rome; 
Ga., August 21, 1864. 
(All the above were enlisted July 18, and mustered 

in the 25th, 1861.) 

Ward, Charles, Warrenville, enlisted September 27, 
1861; discharged May 19, 1862. 

Fisher, William, Naperville, enlisted and mustered 
in December 23, 1863. 

Hubreht, John B., Naperville, enlisted and mustered 
in December 23, 1863; promoted Corporal; killed 
at Altoona, Ga., October 5, 1864. 

Vorhes, William W., Warrenville, enlisted and 
mustered in December 22, 1863; promoted Ser- 
geant. 

TENTH REGIMENT. 

The Tenth Regiment of Illinois Infantry was 
mustered into service at Cairo April 29, 1861. 
It had but one volunteer from Du Page County: 

COMPANY C. 

Goodell, Charles, York, enlisted and mustered in 
August 31, 1864. 



92 



HISTORY OF DU PAGE COUNTY. 



TWELFTH REGIMENT. 

The Twelfth Regiment of Illinois Infantry 
was organized at Cairo, and mustered in Au- 
gust 1, 1861. It had two volunteers from Du 
Page County : 

COMPANY I. 

Bolin, Dennis, Winfield, enlisted and mustered in 

October 25, 1864. 
Hannesey, James, Wayne, enlisted and mustered in 

October 25, 1864. 

THIRTEENTH REGIMENT. 

The Thirteenth Regiment of Illinois Infantry. 
Company K, of this regiment was from Du 
Page County. It was organized at Dixon May 
9, 1861, and mustered into service on the 24th. 
It was first ordered to Caseyville, 111., thence 
to Rolla, Mo., and the succeeding October (the 
25th) was ordered forward to join Fremont's 
army at Springfield. 

Gen. Fremont being now removed, the plan 
of the campaign was changed, and the Thir- 
teenth was ordered back to Rolla, where it re- 
mained till December 12. From there it was 
ordered to Salem to guard against guerrillas for 
two weeks, after which it returned to Rolla, 
where it remained till March 6, 1862, when it 
was sent to join the army of Gen. Curtis, against 
whose army Price's rebels were making demon- 
strations. The junction was made with Gen. 
Curtis on the 18th of March, and on the 8th of 
April the army started for Helena, Ark. The 
march was one unremitting struggle through 
mud and water, and it was not till the 
last of July that their destination was reached. 
Here the regiment was attached to Gen. Steel's 
division of Sherman's army, then about to 
move against Vicksburg, the key to the Lower 
Mississippi, and as such a strategic point of im- 
portance second to no other in the Confederacy. 
On the 22d of December, 1862, an immense 
fleet of transports hung along the banks of the 
river, where the Thirteenth had enjoyed a brief 
respite from the toils of marching. Into these 
the men were closely packed and turned down 



the turbid waters of this stream till the mouth 
of the Yazoo was reached. Here under a con- 
voy of gunboats the}^ steamed up this tribu- 
tary to make an attack on Vicksburg from the 
east. On the morning of the 27th, the line of 
battle was formed, the Thirteenth occupying the 
left wing of the army in Gen. Steel's division. 
The first day was occupied in making ap- 
proaches to the formidable works of the enemy, 
and nothing more was done than to drive in 
their pickets. The next morning opened with 
a skirmish, but in the afternoon the Thirteenth 
and Sixteenth, led by Gen. Wyman, silenced 
some of the batteries of the enemy, while doing 
which Gen. Wyman fell mortally wounded, but 
he still encouraged his men. All this was but 
an insignificant skirmish compared to the work 
to be accomplished before the stars and stripes 
could shadow the defiant town in the closer ap- 
proaches, to which death lurked in ominous 
silence. 

On the 29th, the desperate charge was made. 
'Twas upon the earthworks along the banks of 
Chickasaw Bayou. These were to be taken by 
storm, and before they could be reached, an 
open space must be traversed under fire from a 
sheltered foe from two directions. Into this 
terrible arena the Thirteenth led the way across 
two lines of rifle-pits, which they captured. 
This brought them within thirty rods of the 
frowning battlements yet to be taken. One 
hundred and seventy-seven of their men had 
fallen. To advance was death. The day was lost, 
and they retired in good order. The enemy 
were wild with delight, but the end was not yet. 

At Arkansas Post was a large depot of stores, 
and 5,000 rebel troops to guard them. Gen. 
McClernand was sent to take the place, and 
Gen. Steel's division, among whom was the 
Thirteenth, were a part of his forces. The at- 
tack was suddenly made, and a day's fighting 
was rewarded with the capture of the place, in- 
cluding 5,000 prisoners. This irreparable loss 
to the enemy was soon succeeded by another 



HISTORY OF DL T PAGE COUNTY. 



93 



severe one at Greenville, Miss., in which the 
Thirteenth had a hand, after which it shared 
the triumph of the capture of Jackson, the capi- 
tal of the State of Mississippi, from whence it 
was ordered again to Vicksburg, and there 
manned the trenches which environed the place 
amidst a tempest of shot till it finally surren- 
dered. July 13, 1863 a monument of tena- 
cious hardihood in triumph over audacious 
courage almost unparalleled in the records of j 
modern warfare. 

Chattanooga was the next principal scene of 
battle for the Thirteenth. It guarded the bag- 
gage train of the army to this place ; was fore- 
most in the capture of Tuscumbia, and lent a 
hand in taking Lookout Mountain, which mir- 
acculous achievement was soon followed by the 
victory of Mission Ridge, where the Thirteenth 
captured more prisoners of the Eighteenth Ala- 
bama than their own force numbered. The 
enemy now were in full retreat, and the Thir- 
teenth foremost in pursuit of them, but at Ring- 
gold Gap they made a stand, and, owing to the 
natural strength of their position, held our 
forces at bay. In the first charge that followed, 
many were killed, among whom was Capt. Wal- 
ter Blanchard, of Downer's Grove. 

But a desperate encounter was yet in store 
for this regiment. At Madison Station, Ala., | 
where it was posted, after being reduced by the 
casualties of war to 350 men fit for duty, it 
was surrounded by more than one thousand 
of the enemy's cavalry, with three pieces of 
artillery. After two hours' fighting, it made 
good its retreat, but left behind sixty-six men ' 
as prisoners. The enemy 's loss was sixty killed ' 
and wounded. 

In the summer of 1864, the regiment returned 
to their homes to rest, but soon re-enlisted in 
the Fifty-sixth. The entire loss during the ' 
war, from all causes, was 565 men. 

COMPANY H. 

Babcock, Frederick W., Naperville, enlisted and 
mustered in August 24, 1864. 



Thatcher, Nelson L., enlisted and mustered in 
May 24, 1861 ; mustered out June 18, 1864. 

COMPANY K. 

Captains. Blanchard, Walter, Downer's Grove, 
date of rank May 24, 1861, died December 4, 1863, 
from wounds received at Ringgold Gap; Cole, Jor- 
dan J., Downer's Grove, date of rank December 4, 
1863, promoted from Second Lieutenant to First 
Lieutenant. Term expired June 18, 1864. 

First Lieutenants. Bailey, Eli, Naperville, date 
of rank, December 29, 1862, promoted from Ser- 
geant to Second Lieutenant. Term expired June 
18, 1864; Hobson, Meritt S., Naperville, resigned 
January 22, 1862. 

Second Lieutenant. Naper, George A., Naper- 
ville, date of rank January 22, 1862, promoted from 
Sergeant. Killed at Vicksburg December 29, 1862. 

Sergeants. Page, Edmund E. Lisle, enlisted June 
25, mustered out June 18, 1864, as First Sergeant; 
Ketcham, Hiram, Winfield, enlisted June 25, 1861, 
mustered out June 18, 1864, wounded; Gladding, 
John G., Winfield, enlisted June 25, 1861, discharged 
December 25, 1862; disability. 

Corporals. Pollard, Reuben B., Downer's Grove, 
enlisted June 25, 1861, discharged March 25, 1863; 
Blanchard, Franklin, Downer's Grove, enlisted June 
25, 1861, mustered out June 18, 1864, as Sergeant; 
Farrar, Eugene W.,Downer'sGrove, enlisted June 25, 
1861, mustered out June 18, 1864, as Sergeant; Riley, 
Patrick, Downer's Grove, enlisted June 25, 1861, Col- 
or Sergeant, killed at Ringgold November 27, 1863; 
Kenyon, Israel, Naperville, enlisted June 25, 1861, dis- 
charged February 20, 1862, disability; Hyde, Charles 
W., Naperville, enlisted June 25, 1861, died June 15, 
1863, wounds; Ball, Lewis C., Naperville, enlisted 
June 25, 1861, mustered out June 18, 1864. 

Musicians. Perry, Merritt, Downer's Grove, en- 
listed June 25, 1861, transferred to non-commis- 
sioned staff September 10, 1861, as Principal Musi- 
cian; Sucher, James W., Downer's Grove, enlisted 
June 25, 1861, mustered June 18, 1864; Kenyon, 
John M., York, enlisted June 25, 1861, transferred 
to non-commissioned staff November 20, 1863, as 
Principal Musician. 

Privates. Beckman, Charles, Naperville, June 
25, 1861, discharged March 10, 1864, lost right arm; 
Bader, Adolph, Naperville, June 25, 1861, prisoner 
of war, mustered out June 18, 1865; Bolles, Charles 
E., Turner Junction, enlisted and mustered in March 
8, 1862, discharged February 10, 1863, for wounds; 
Beesing, Lewis, Naperville, June 25, 1861, died 
August 4, 1863; Bullou, Daniel W., Naperville, June 



94 



HISTORY OF DU PAGE COUNTY. 



25, 1861, trans, to Tenth Missouri Cavalry, promoted 
Second Lieutenant; Blanehard, William, Downer's 
Grove, June 25, 1881, discharged April 18, 1862, dis- 
ability; Boettger, Charles, Du Page County, June 
25, 1861, mustered out June 18, 1864; Beuck, Fritz, 
Du Page County, June 25, 1861, mustered out June 
18, 1864; Balliman, William, Downer's Grove, June 
25, 1861, mustered out June 18, 1864; Baugertz, Lor- 
entz, Downer's Grove, June 25, 1861, discharged 
July 25, 1862, disability; Bolles, Essec, Du Page 
County, June 25, 1861, mustered out June 18, 1864, 
as Corporal; Carpenter, Charles, Downer's Grove, 
June 25, 1861, mustered out June 18, 1864; Daniels, 
John, Naperville, June 25, 1861, trans, to Tenth 
Missouri Cavalry, October 1, 1861; Deuel, Charles 
B., York, June 25, 1861, mustered out June 18, 1864; 
Dirr, Adam L., Naperville, June 25, 1861, mustered 
out June 18, 1864; Doerr, Phillip, Naperville, June 
25, 1861, trans, to Tenth Missouri Cavalry, October 
1, 1861; Fowler, Oliver S., York, June 25, 1861, 
mustered out June 18, 1864, as Corporal ; Farrell, 
James, Du Page County, June 25, 1861, re-enlisted 
as veteran January 1, 1864, trans, to Company I, 
Fifty-sixth Illinois, prisoner of war; Ferris, Charles 
H., Lisle, .June 25, 1861, died November 26, 1861; 
Greggs, Joseph, Du Page County, June 25, 1861, 
discharged September 18, 1863; disability; Griffith, 
Charles, Warrenville, June 25, 1861, mustered out 
June 18, 1864; Gokey, Lewis, Warrenville, June 25, 
1861, re-enlisted as veteran January 1, 1864, trans, to 
Company I, Fifty-sixth Illinois; Howard, Abraham 
C., Downer's Grove, June 25, 1861, trans, to Invalid 
Corps September 1, 1863; Hart, Matthias, Naper- 
ville, June 25, 1861, mustered out June 18, 1864, as 
Corporal; Holley, James L., Du Page County, June 
25, 1861, mustered out June 18, 1864; Hunt. Henry, 
Downer's Grove, June 25, 1861, discharged Febru- 
ary 20, 1862, disability; Howland, Charles E., Lisle, 
June 25, 1861, died October 25, 1861; Hintz, Mi- 
chael, Du Page County, June 25, 1861, discharged 
March 30, 1863. lost his arm; Hartigan, Patrick, Du 
Page County, June 25, 1861, mustered out June 18, 
1864; Harris, Charles, Du Page County, June 25, 
1861, re-enlisted as veteran January 1, 1864, prisoner 
of war; Henrick, Christian, Brush Hill, enlisted and 
mustered in June 25, 1861, mustered out June 18, 
1864; Johnson, William, Du Page County, June 25, 
1861, re-enlisted as veteran January 1, 1864; Kuchel, 
Mathias, Lisle, June 25, 1861, mustered out June 
18, 1864; Kreitzer, Ferdinand, Du Page County, 
June 25, 1861, discharged October 1, 186', disability; 
Kniffin, Daniel. Lisle, June 25, 1861, transferred to 



Invalid Corps; Kenyon, William J., Naperville, June 
25, 1861, died April 20, 1863; Miller, John F., Na- 
perville, June 25, 1861, prisoner of war, mustered 
out June 7, 1865; Neas, Baptiste, Naperville, June 
25, 1861, killed at Chickasaw Bayou December 29, 
1862; Naper, JohnN., June 25, .1861, discharged Jan- 
uary 1, 1864, disability; Neaderhauser, Daniel, Na- 
perville, June 24, 1861, died October 27, 1861; Potter, 
William, Naperville, June 25, 1861, trans, to Inva- 
lid Corps September 21, 1863; Potter, Robert K., 
Naperville, June 25, 1861, discharged May 26, 1863, 
disability; Rose, William E., Naperville, June 25, 
1861, mustered out June 18, 1864; Smith, Joseph, 
Lisle, enlisted and mustered in June 25, 1861, mus- 
tered out June 18, 1864; Snyder, Reuben, Naper- 
ville, June 25, 1861, died December 21, 1863, wounds; 
Sucher, Jacob, Downer's Grove, June 25, 1861, mus- 
tered out June 18, 1864; Shuestcr, William, Lisle, 
June 25, 1861, prisoner of war; Standage, Henry, 
Du Page County, June 25, 1861, reported dead; 
Turner, George, Downer's Grove, June 25, 1861, 
mustered June 18, 1864; Townsend, Lysander, York, 
June 25, 1861, discharged December 10, 1863, disa- 
bility; Tuttle, Charles, Du Page County, June 25, 
1861, died December 26, 1861: Toitlet, John, Dow- 
ner's Grove, June 25, 1861, prisoner of war; Wilflin, 
Christian, Du Page County, June 25, 1861, re-en- 
listed as veteran January 1, 1864, prisoner of war; 
Walters, Christian, Downer's Grove, June 25, 1861, 
mustered out June 18, 1864; Woods, Hollis, Win- 
field, June 25, 1861, died January 29, 1863, wounds; 
Webster, Charles, Lisle, June 25, 1861, mustered out 
June 18, 1864. 

Recruits. Griffith, Samuel, Warrenville, Sep- 
tember 10 1861, discharged February 7, 1863, disa- 
bility; Hubbard John B., Naperville, September 10, 
1861, trans, to Invalid Corps; Hall, Henry K., Na- 
perville, September 10, 1861, discharged November 
15, 1862, disability; Ketcham, Abraham, Winfield, 
October 1, 1861, re-enlisted as veteran; Prandleburg, 
Joseph, Du Page County, July 8, 1861, trans, to 
Company I, Fifty-sixth Illinois; Remmel, Matthias, 
Naperville, September 10, 1861, discharged May 26, 
1863, wounded in head; Roush, Jeremiah, Naper- 
ville, September 10, 1861, discharged August 11, 
1863, disability; Rose, William, October 1, 1862, dis- 
charged April 18, 1863, disability; Starnhagen, John, 
Du Page County, enlisted and mustered in July 21, 
1861, died May 24, 1862; Stevens, De Witt, Naper- 
ville, July 7, 1861, killed at Chickasaw Bayou, De- 
cember 29, 1882; Stark, Henry, Dn Page County, 
enlisted and mustered in July 15, 1861, re-enlisted as 



HISTORY OF DU PAGE COUNTY. 



95 



veteran; Tennant, Joseph, Naperville, September 
10. 1861, re-enlisted as veteran; Tilden, Charles, 
Naperville, March 24, 1863, trans, to Company I, 
Fifty-sixth Illinois Infantry; Wescott, Theophilus, 
Warrenville, September 10, 1861, discharged October 
1, 1861, disability. 

FIFTEENTH REGIMENT. 

Fifteenth Regiment of Illinois Infantry was 
organized at Freeport, 111., and mustered into 
service May 24, 1861, being the first in the 
State for the three years' service ; had four 
men from Du Page Count} 7 . It was mustered 
out September 1, 1865, at Fort Leaven worth, 
Kan. 

COMPANY C. 

Truman, Ira, Milton, enlisted and mustered in May 
. 24, 1861; mustered out May 25, 1864. 
Truman, Austin B., Milton, enlisted and mustered 
in May 24, 1861; mustered out May 25, 1864. 

COMPANY E. 

Blaisdell, William E., Wayne, enlisted and mustered 
in May 24, 1861; discharged January 22, 1863. 

Watson, Edward, Wayne, enlisted and mustered in 
May 24, 1861; killed at Shiloh April 6, 1862. 

NINETEENTH REGIMENT. 

The Nineteenth Regiment of Illinois Infan- 
try in its formation dates from the opening of 
the war. Three companies of it, without wait- 
ing till men could be raised, were hurriedly 
sent to Cairo April 14, 1861, under Gen. Swift, 
to guard the place from a threatening attack. 
The regiment was completely organized and 
mustered into service at Chicago June 17, 
1861. and mustered out at the expiration of its 
term of service July 9, 1864. It had one man 
in it from Du Page County. 

COMPANY c. 

Miles, Martin, Wheaton, who remained in the serv- 
ice during its term. 

TWENTIETH REGIMENT. 

The Twentieth Regiment of Illinois Infantry 
was organized at Joliet May 14, and mustered 



in June 13, 1861. It took part in the siege of 
Fort Donelson February, 1862, and in the bat- 
tle of Shiloh the following April. It also was 
in many other engagements during the term of 
its service, till it was mustered out at Louis- 
ville, Ky., July 16, 1865, and arrived at Chi- 
cago the 19th for discharge. It had five men 
from Du Page Count}-. 

COMPANY A. 

Scott, Silas C., First Sergeant, enlisted and mus- 
tered in October 10, 1864. 

Ewing, Robert, Sergeant, Naperville, enlisted and 
mustered in October 12, 1864. 

Bocker, George B., Addison, enlisted and mustered 
in October 12, 1864. 

Wante, Lushing, Naperville, enlisted and mustered 
in October 12, 1864. 

COMPANY B. 

Neff, Martin, Du Page County, enlisted October 14, 
and mustered in the 28th, 1861; died at Cairo Sep- 
tember 2, 1863. 

TWENTY-THIRD REGIMENT. 

The Twenty -third Regiment of Illinois In- 
fantry, known as the Irish Brigade, was organ- 
ized at Chicago May 17, 1861, and mustered 
into service June 17, and mustered out July 
24, 1865. It had fifteen men from Du Page 
Count}' in its ranks as follows : 

COMPANY H. 

Bates, Francis, Wheaton, Sergeant. 

Watson, Casper W., Wheaton, Corporal. 

Armbruster, Adam, Naperville. 

Austin N., Wheaton. 

Beardsley, Jerome G., Wheaton. 

Drullard, Thomas W., Wheaton. 

Getsch, Frank S., Milton. 

Georo, Serophine, Milton. 

Manning, Augustus, Warrenville. 

Kovey, Fred, Milton. 

Kinyon, Albert R., York. 

Ott, Peter, Milton. 

Ulech, Herman W. A., Wheaton. 

Wilskin, Dominee, Naperville. 

Yeates, J. K. P. 

The above all enlisted in March, 1865, and 
were mustered out with the regiment. 



90 



HISTORY OF DU PAGE COUNTY. 



THIRTY-THIRD REGIMENT. 

The Thirty-third Regiment of Illinois Infan- 
try, known as the Normal Regiment, because it 
was composed largely of teachers and stu- 
dents, was organized at Camp Butler in Sep- 
tember, 1861, and mustered into service the 
same month. It moved immediately to Iron- 
ton, Mo., where it remained during the winter, 
doing occasional scout service and fighting the 
battle of Fredericksburg. In March, 1862, it 
moved southward and joined Gen. Curtis' 
army, and took part in the battle of Cache. 
After being engaged here in several skirmishes 
with the enemy, it moved to Pilot Knob, Mo., 
arriving in October, 1862. 

November 15, it moved to Van Buren, Ark., 
in Col. Harris' brigade, Brig. Gen. W. J. Ben- 
ton's division of Gen. Davidson's corps, and 
made a winter campaign in Southeast Missouri, 
passing through Patterson, Van Buren, Alton, 
West Plain, Eminence and Centreville, and 
returned to Bellevue Valley, near Pilot Knob, 
about March 1, 1863. 

It was then ordered to St. Genevieve, Mo., 
where, with the command, it embarked for Mil- 
liken's Bend, La. It was now attached to the 
First Brigade, First Division, Thirteenth Arm}- 
Corps, and with it took part in the battles of 
Port Gibson, Champion Hills, Black River 
Bridge, the assault and sieges of Vicksburg 
and Jackson. 

In August, it moved to New Orleans with 
the Thirteenth Corps. In October, it was en- 
gaged in the campaign up the Bayou Teche, 
and, returning to New Orleans in November, it 
was ordered to Brownsville, Tex., but before 
landing was ordered to Arkansas Pass. It 
disembarked on St. Joseph's and Matagorda 
Islands to Saluria, participating in the capture 
of Ft. Esperanza, and thence moved to Indiau- 
ola and Port Lavaca. 

The First Brigade, while on the mainland of 
Texas, was commanded by Brig. Gen. Fitz 
Henry Warren. January 1. 1864, the regiment 



re-enlisted as veterans, and March 14 reached 
Bloomington, 111., and received veteran fur- 
lough. 

April 18, 1864. the regiment was re-organ- 
ized at Camp Butler, 111., and proceeded to 
New Orleans via Alton and St. Louis, arriving 
the 29th and camping at Carrollton. 

May 17, it was ordered to Brashear City, 
La. Soon after its arrival, the regiment was 
scattered along the line of the road as guard, 
as follows : Companies F, C and K at Bayou 
Boeuf ; Company I at Bayou L'Ours ; Com- 
panies A and D at Tigerville ; Company G at 
Chacahula ; Company E at Terre Bonne ; Com- 
pany B at Bayou La Fourchc and Bayou des 
Allemands ; Company H at Boutte ; regi- 
mental headquarters, Terre Bonne. The dis- 
trict was called the " District of La Fourche," 
commanded by Brig. Gen. Robert A. Cameron, 
headquarters at Thibodeaux. 

September 17, 1864, the non-veterans of the 
regiment were started home, via New York 
City, in charge of rebel prisoners, and were 
mustered out at Camp Butler about October 
11, 1864. 

March 2, 1865, it was ordered to join the 
Sixteenth Army Corps. Near Boutte Station 
the train was thrown from the track, and nine 
men killed and seventy wounded. On the 
18th, the regiment embarked on Lake Pon- 
chartrain for Mobile expedition. Company K 
remaining behind to guard transportation, 
joined the regiment April 11, at Blakely. 

It next moved via Fort Gaines and Navy 
Cove, landed on Fish River, Ala., and marched 
with Gen. Canby's army up the east side of 
Mobile Bay. The regiment was in the First 
Brigade, Col. W. L. McMillian, Ninety-fifth 
Ohio ; First Division, Brig. Gen. J. McArthur ; 
Sixteenth Army Corps, Maj. Gen. A. J. Smith. 

March 27, it arrived in front of Spanish 
Fort, the main defense of Mobile, and, until its 
capture, April 18, was actively engaged. Loss, 
1 killed, 2 died of wounds, and 9 wounded. 



HISTORY OF DU PAGE COUNTY. 



97 



After the surrender of Mobile, it marched, 
April 13, 1865, with the Sixteenth Army 
Corps, for Montgomery, Ala., where it arrived 
on the 25th, and encamped on the Alabama 
River. Here it received the news of Lee and 
Johnston's sin-render, after which its operations 
were not of a hostile character. 

May 10, marched to Selma, and May 17 by 
rail to Meriden, Miss. In the latter part of 
July, the regiment was filled above the maxi- 
mum by men transferred from the Seventy- 
second, One Hundred and Seventeenth, One 
Hundred and Twenty-second and One Hundred 
and Twenty-fourth Illinois, when it moved to 
Vicksburg August 4, 1865, and remained at 
that place until mustered out of service No- 
vember 24, 1865, and ordered to Camp Butler, 
111., for final payment and discharge. It had 
forty-seven men from Du Page County. 

COMPANY B. 
Morgan, Moses J., Naperville, Captain; date of rank 

September 18, 1861. 

Durant, Edward T., Lisle, First Lieutenant; date of 
promotion from Second Lieutenant March 20, 

1864. 
Morgan, Sid. O., Naperville, Sergeant; re-enlisted 

as veteran. 
Lyon, Forester S., Downer's Grove, Sergeant; re- 

enlisted as veteran. 
Barr, James M., Lisle, Corporal; discharged March 

23, 1863, for disability. 
Cotter, Charles M., Lisle, Corporal ; discharged 

March 23, 1863, for disability. 
Green, Frank D., Lisle, Corporal; died at Ironton, 

Mo., February 15, 1862. 
Wakeman, Bradford J , Cottage Hill, Musician; 

promoted to Fife Major. 

PRIVATES. 
Allison, Andrew, Cass; died at Helena October 5, 

1862. 
Andrews, Charles, Downer's Grove; mustered out 

October 11, 1864 
Andrews, Giles, York, mustered out October 11, 

1864. 
Austin, Charles G., Jr., Downer's Grove; re-enlisted 

as veteran. 
Ballou, Morgan, Lisle, mustered out October 11, 

1864, as Corporal. 



Block, Ferdinand, Lisle; re-enlisted as veteran. 

Blodgett, Scott, Cass; re-enlisted as veteran. 

Clark, Luther J., Bloomingdale ; re-enlisted as vet- 
eran. 

Chatfield, Alonzo B., Lisle; discharged for wounds. 

Chatfield, George W., Lisle. 

Cry, Samuel, Naperville; re-enlisted as veteran. 

Clifford, Edward. Cass; mustered out October 11, 
1874. 

Day, Brice, Cass, died at Mound City September 
15, 1862. 

Durant, William E., Lisle; re-enlisted as veteran. 

Fetterman. Cyrus, Cass; re-enlisted as veteran. 

Fischer, Frederick J., Addison; mustered out Octo- 
ber 11, 1864, as Corporal. 

Grothman, Frederick, Addison; discharged October 
4, 1864, term expired. 

Heartt, George, Cass; re-enlisted as veteran. 

Harberger, Jacob, Addison; re-enlisted as veteran. 

Holchany, Frederick, Addison ; re-enlisted as vet- 
eran. 

Hummer, Jacob, Naperville; re-enlisted as veteran. 

Koshner, Charles, Naperville; re-enlisted as veteran. 

Morgan, Henry G., Naperville; discharged Febru- 
ary 11, 1862, for disability. 

Marvin, Hector A., Lisle; died at Ironton, Mo., 
November 19, 1881. 

Rodgers, Lucius B., Milton; re-enlisted as veteran. 

Ridge, Royer, Naperville; re-enlisted as veteran. 

Smart, Wesley, Downer's Grove; mustered out Oc- 
tober 11, 1864. 

Schmidt, Edward, Addison. 

Schwartz, Louis, Addison; died at Ironton, Mo., Oc- 
tober 14, 1861. 

Shimmer, J. C., Addison; mustered out October 11, 
1864. 

Turtlott, James M., Cass; mustered out October 11, 

. 1864. 

Utting, William, Addison; died at St. Louis October 
20, 1861. 

Wheatley, William, Lisle: mustered out October 11, 
1864. 

RECRUITS. 

Grannke, Charles, Addison, enlisted December 2, 
1861; died at Virginia Station, Mo., March 2, 
1862. 

Grothman, Frederick, York, e nlisted October 4, 
1864. 

Hatch, Edward P., Lisle, enlisted September 20, 
1864; discharged July 20, 1865, as Sergeant for 
promotion in U. S. Colored Infantry. 

Renken, Henry, Addison; transferred to gunboat 
service February 7, 1863. 



98 



HISTORY OF DU PAGE COUNTY. 



COMPANY P. 

Lapin, Charles, Warrenville. 

COMPANY H. 

Nelson, Henry, Naperville, enlisted March 20; 
mustered in April 17, 1864. 

Those who were mustered in October 4, 1864, were 
such as did not re-enlist after their terms had ex- 
pired. 

THIRTY-SIXTH REGIMENT. 

The Thirty-sixth Regiment of Illinois In- 
fantry was organized at Aurora, 111., in Sep- 
tember, 1861, and mustered into service the 23d 
of the same month. It was sent to St. Louis, 
where it received its arms, from whence it was 
sent to Holla, where it remained till January 
14, 1862. More active service now began, and 
it was engaged in battle at Bentonville and Pea 
Ridge, subsequent to which it was assigned to 
Gen. Pope's command. It was next engaged in 
the battle of Perryville, where it lost seventy- 
five killed and wounded. But its terrible con- 
flict was at Stone River, where, after six days' 
fighting, it came out with only 200 men. It 
was subsequently engaged in other battles near 
Chattanooga, in all of which its courage was not 
found wanting. It was mustered out at New 
Orleans, October 8, 1865, and arrived at Camp 
Butler the 17th for discharge. It had forty- 
seven men from Du Page County. 

COMPANY A. 

Taylor, John B. F., Wheaton, enlisted August 8, 
and mustered in September 33, 1861 ; discharged 
September 28, 1864. 

COMPANY C. 

Rothemel, Benhard, York, enlisted and mustered 
in October 14, 1864; transferred from Seventy- 
fourth Regiment. 

COMPANY K. 

Captain Adams, John Q., Wayne, date of rank 
August 20, and mustered in September 23, 1861 ; re- 
signed September 7, 1862. 

First Lieutenants Elliot, John F., Wayne, date 
of rank September 7, 1862, mustered in March 12, 
1863, promoted from Sergeant, discharged May 30, 
1864 ; Pratt, Emery W., Wayne, date of rank April 
11, 1865, mustered in July 8, 1865. 



Second Lieutenants Hammond, Mathew J., 
Wayne, date of rank February 15, 1862, resigned 
September 7, 1862 ; Hazelhurst, Charles, Wayne, 
date of rank September 7, 1862, mustered in Novem- 
ber 17, 1862, resigned July 7, 1865. 

Sergeants Smith, Romain A., Wayne, enlisted 
August 12, 1861, re-enlisted as veteran ; Adams, El- 
dridge, Wayne, enlisted August 12, 1861, died of 
wounds January 18, 1863 ; Dickenson, David H., 
Wayne, enlisted August 12, 1861, as Corporal, pro- 
moted to Second Lieutenant U. S. Colored Infantry. 

Corporals Folson, Theodore A., Wayne, enlisted 
August 12, 1861. 
Ketchum, Abram J., Wayne, enlisted August 12; 

1861, transferred to Company K. 

Starr, Robert H., Wayne, enlisted August 12, 1861; 
re-enlisted as veteran. 

Albro, Eugene P., Wayne, Corporal, enlisted Au- 
gust 12, 1861. 

Adams, Aseph J., Wayne; killed in battle at Stone 
River. 

Hemmingway, George W., Wayne, musician, en- 
listed August 12, 1861; discharged for disability. 

Hazelhurst, James, Musician, Wayne, enlisted Au- 
gust 12, 1861 ; re-enlisted as veteran. 

PRIVATES. 

Allen, Henry C., Wayne, enlisted August 12, 1861, 
promoted to Corporal; discharged, February 25, 

1862, for wounds. 

Adams, William, Wayne, enlisted August 12, 1861; 
missing at Chickamauga September 20, 1863. 

Blank, Harrison W., Wayne, enlisted September 20, 
1861; re-enlisted as veteran. 

Clark, John P., Wayne, enlisted August 12, 1861; 
died at Rolla December 14, 1861. 

Delany, James, Wayne, enlisted August 12, 1861; 
discharged September 22, 1864. 

Gordon, John M., Wayne, enlisted August 12, 1861; 
re-enlisted as veteran. 

Grundy, Samuel, Wayne, enlisted August 12, 1861; 
killed at Chickamauga. 

Gates, George W., Wayne, enlisted August 19, 1861, 
killed at Dallas, Ga., May 26, 1864. 

La Rue; Harrison M., Du Page County, enlisted Sep- 
tember 24, 1861, transferred to Fifteenth Cavalry. 

Hillard, Michael, Wayne, enlisted August 12, 1861, 
died at Lebanon, Mo., Feb. 12, 1862. 

Hazelhurst, Frederick, Wayne, enlisted August 12, 
1861, mustered out, September 8, 1864, a* Cor- 
poral. 

Hammond, Daniel, Wayne, enlisted August 12, 1861, 
re-enlisted as veteran. 



LIBRARY 

OF THE 

UNIVERSITY OF ILLINOIS 



HISTORY OF DU PAGE COUNTY. 



101 



Judd, Francis, Wayne, enlisted August 12, 1861, re- 
enlisted as veteran. 
Matteson, Thomas P., Wayne, enlisted August 20, 

1861, promoted to Principal Musician. 
Minkler, John C., Wayne, enlisted August 24, 1861, 

re-enlisted as veteran. 
Monroe, George, Wayne, enlisted August 20, 1861, 

killed in battle at Stone River. 
Monroe, Edward E., Wayne, enlisted August 20, 

1861. 
Piatt, Emery W., Wayne, enlisted August 12, 1861, 

re-enlisted as veteran. 

Paul, John, Wayne, enlisted August 20, 1861, re-en- 
listed as veteran. 
Peterson, John, Wayne, enlisted August 21, 1861; 

transferred to V. B. C. April 17, 1864. 
Skinner, Harrison, Wayne, enlisted August 12, 

1861; killed at Perrsville, Ky., October 8, 1862. 
Simmons, Benjamin W., enlisted August 12, 1861. 

Scales, George M., Wayne, enlisted August 12, 

1861; re-enlisted as veteran. 
Samson, Francis, Wayne, enlisted August 12, 1861; 

died of wounds received at Cassville/Mo., April 

16, 1862. 
Sanders, Harlan, Wayne, enlisted August 12, 1861; 

discharged April 19, 1863, for wounds. 
Tukesbury, Francis, Wayne, enlisted August 12, 

1861; re-enlisted as veteran. 
Tucker, Charles A., Wayne, enlisted August 12, 

1861, re-enlisted as veteran. 
Wood, Orrin, Wayne, enlisted August 12, 1861, died 

January 19, 1863, of wounds. 
Wagoner, Sidney O., Wayne, enlisted August 12, 

1861, discharged March 16, 1864, for wounds. 

Unassigned Recruits Bissell, Charles, York, en- 
listed and mustered in October 14, 1864. 

THIRTY-SEVENTH REGIMENT. 

The Thirty-seventh Kegiment of Illinois In- 
fantry was organized at Chicago in September 
1861, and mustered out at Houston, Tex., May 
15, 1866. It had four men from Du Page 
County. 

Clark, Elijah A., Wheatou, First Assistant Surgeon. 
promoted by the President to Surgeon of Eighth 
Missouri Cavalry. 

Blodgett. Edward A., Downer's Grove, Quartermas- 
ter's Sergeant. 

COMPANY C. 

Newton, Isaac, Wheaton, enlisted September 1, 
1861 ; re-enlisted as veteran. 



COMPANY G. 

Topel, Dedrick, Downer's Grove, enlisted August 
15; re-enlisted as veteran. 

THIRTY-NINTH REGIMENT. 

The Thirty-ninth Regiment of Illinois In- 
fantry began recruiting immediately after the 
firing on Fort Sumter, but was not ready to 
take the field at the first call for six regiments 
from Illinois. It was mustered into service 
August, 1861, at Chicago, and mustered out 
at Norfolk, Va., December 5, 1865. It had 
two soldiers from Du Page County. 

COMPANY O. 

Cook, Ezra A., Wheaton, enlisted September 2, 
1861, discharged in 1864 for disability; Decker, 
Lewis, Wheaton, enlisted August 9, 1861, discharged 
the 80th for disability. 

FORTY-SECOND REGIMENT. 

The Forty-second Regiment of Illinois In- 
fanty was organized at Chicago July 22, 1861 
It bore the brunt of the war, being in the 
principal battles in which the Army of the 
Cumberland was engaged. It was mustered 
out at Indianola, Tex., December 16, 1865, and 
reached Camp Butler January 3, 1866. It had 
seven men from Du Page County. 

COMPANY B. 

O'Brien, Edward, Du Page County, enlisted and 
mustered in September 3, 1860, at Chicago, re-enlist- 
ed as veteran from Du Page County January 1, 
1864, transferred to V. R. C. March 13, 1865. 

COMPANY H. 

Bents, Benjamin, Naperville, enlisted and mus- 
tered in September 3, 1861, re-enlisted as veteran; 
Butts, Benjamin F., Naperville, enlisted February 
16, 1861, re-enlisted as veteran January 1, 1864, 
mustered out December 16, 1865, as Sergeant; Gillis, 
Thomas, Naperville, enlisted and mustered in Aug- 
ust 3, 1861, killed at Farmington, Miss., May 9, 
1862; Itzenhauzer, John, Naperville, enlisted and 
mustered in September 10, 1861, died of wounds 
January 8, 1862; Shimp, William, Naperville, en- 
listed and mustered in September 10, 1861, promoted 
to Sergeant, discharged on account of wounds Sep- 

F 



102 



HISTORY OF DU PAGE COUNTY. 



tember 16, 1864; Wilcox, Elisha, Naperville, enlist- 
ed and mustered in August 18, 1861, re-enlisted as 
veteran. 

FORTY-FOURTH REGIMENT. 

The Forty-fourth Regiment of Illinois In- 
fantry was organized in August, 1861, at Camp 
Ellsworth, in Chicago, and mustered out Sep- 
tember 25, 1865, at Port Lavaca, Tex. Ar- 
rived at Springfield October 15, 1865, where it 
was discharged. In had one soldier from Du 

Page County. 

COMPANY K. 

Goldhammer, Henry, York, enlisted August 1, 
mustered in September 13, 1861, transferred to 
Company K. 

FIFTY-FIRST REGIMENT. 

The Fifty-first Regiment was organized at 
Camp Douglas December 24, 1861. April 2, 
1862, it moved against Island No. 10. It suf- 
fered severely at the battle of Chickamauga, 
being in the thickest of the fight. On Febru- 
ary 10, 1864, the whole regiment mustered as 
veterans. During the Atlanta campaign, it 
lost 3 officers killed, 4 wounded, and 105 men 
killed and wounded. It was mustered out of 
service at Camp Irwin, Tex., September 25, 
1865, and arrived at Camp Butler October 15. 
It had eighteen men from Du Page County, as 
follows : 

COMPANY B. 

Bates, Ansel, Cottage Hill, enlisted October 19, 
1861, mustered in January 23, 1862, promoted Ser- 
geant and Second Lieutenant; Bleasch, Gustave, 
Cottage Hill, enlisted October 19, 1861, mustered in 
January 23, 1862; Burman, Lewis, Addison, enlisted 
December 5, 1861; Foley, John, Cottage Hill, en- 
listed November 26, mustered in December 24, 1861, 
died at Chattanooga June 1, 1864; Hahn, Henry, 
Brush Hill, enlisted December 3, 1861; Hoflman, 
Paul, Cottage Hill, enlisted December 5, 1861; 
Johnson, Christian, Cottage Hill, enlisted Decem- 
ber 7, mustered in the 24th, 1861; Kehler, Phillip, 
Cottage Hill, enlisted December 7, mustered in the 
24th, 1861, died at Paducah June 1, 1862; Keiler, 
Stephen, Cottage Hill, enlisted December 13, mus- 
tered in the 24th, 1861, discharged October 2, 1862; 
Kernan, Mark T., York, enlisted November 26, 



1861; Lapp, Henry, Cottage Hill, enlisted December 
24. 1861, mustered in January 23, 1862, accidentally 
killed March 16, 1862; Lauerman, John, Cottage 
Hill, enlisted December 20, 1861, mustered in Janu- 
ary 23, 1862; Snow, Edgar J., Cottage Hill, enlisted 
October 23, mustered in December 24, 1861 ; Welsh> 
William, Cottage Hill, enlisted November 30, mus- 
tered in December 24, 1861; Werden, Frederic, 
Brush Hill, enlisted December 2, mustered in the 
24th, 1861. 

COMPANY E. 

Hull, Edward E., Naperville, enlisted December 
24, 1863; killed at Kenesaw Mountain June 15, 1864. 

COMPANY I. 

Miller, George W., Cass, enlisted February 25, 
mustered in March 10, 1865 ; Prickett, "William W., 
Cass, enlisted February 25, mustered in March 10, 
1865 

FIFTY-SECOND REGIMENT. 

The Fifty-second Regiment was organized at 
Geneva, 111. Its first active service was at Fort 
Donelson, where it arrived in time to take 
charge of the rebel prisoners taken there and 
deliver them at Springfield and Chicago. It was 
then ordered to join the Army of the Tennes- 
see, and was engaged in the battle of Shiloh, 
where it lost in killed, wounded and missing 
over one-third of its number. It was subse- 
quently in the battles x>f luka, Corinth, Snake 
Creek Gap, Resaca, Lay's Ferry, Rome Cross 
Roads, Dallas, Kenesaw Mountain, Nickojack 
Creek, Decatur and Altoona, after which it 
was with Gen. Sherman on his march to the 
sea, and went from there to Richmond. Was 
next in the grand review at Washington, from 
whence it was ordered to Louisville, where it 
was mustered out only 517 strong out of the 
original 940 men in its ranks, to whom 400 had 
been added as recruits, 823 men having been 
killed or disabled in the battles and hardships 
which this regiment had passed through. It 
had twenty-four men from Du Page County, 
as follows : 

COMPANY A. 

Burnham, Edward, Du Page County, enlisted Oc- 
tober 12, mustered in the 25th, 1861; Giles, Jerry W., 
Naperville, enlisted September 16, mustered in Oc- 



HISTORY OF DU PAGE COUXTY. 



103 



tober 25, 1861; Graves, James D., Naperville, en 
listed October 25, 1861. 

COMPANY C. 

Parks, Isaac, Naperville, enlisted September 15, 
mustered in November 19, 1861. 

COMPANY D. 

Brown, Gilbert N., Winfleld, enlisted September 
10, mustered in November 19, 1861, re-enlisted as 
veteran, promoted to Sergeant; Hammond, James 
W., Winfleld, enlisted January 20, mustered in 
February 27, 1864; Hammond, William H., Winfleld, 
enlisted and mustered in at the same time ; 
Reckenback, Christian, Winfleld, enlisted Sep- 
tember 10, mustered in November 19, 1861 ; 
Stanfer, Lewis, Winfield, enlisted and mustered in 
at the same time, re-enlisted as veteran; Swenson, 
John, Warrenville, enlisted and mustered in at the 
same time, re-enlisted as veteran; Vanderogen, 
John, Naperville, enlisted January 19, mustered in 
February 27, 1864, died near Marietta, Ga., July 
23, 1864. 

Recruit La Plant, Medar, Naperville, January, 
13, 1864. 

COMPANY I. 

Farnham, Thomas E., Warrenville, enlisted Sep- 
tember 11, and mustered in October 25, 1861. 

COMPANY K. 

Cleveland, Sylvester, Naperville, enlisted January 
9, 1864; Currier, William R., Turner Junction, en- 
listed September 6, mustered in October 25, 1861. 

Unassigned Recruit Ford, John, Naperville, 
mustered in February 27, 1864. 

The following were musicians who enlisted 
October 25, 1861, all from Naperville : 

Glines, A. B., Heitzler, John, Mathias, Gregory, 
Sayler, Alexander H., Sayler, Morgan F., Sayler, 
Thomas W., Swartz, Joseph, Vallette, James M. 



FIFTY-THIRD REGIMENT. 

The Fifty-third Regiment of Illinois Infantry 
was organized at Ottawa, 111., in the winter of 
1861-62, and moved to Camp Douglas Febru- 
ary 27. It was mustered out at Louisville, 
Ky., July 22, 1865, and arrived at Chicago the 
28th. It had one man from Du Page County 
in its ranks. 



COMPANY K. 

Kingston, George, Downer's Grove, enlisted as 
recruit October 19, 1864. 

FIFTY-FOURTH REGIMENT. 

The Fifty-fourth Regiment was organized at 
Camp Dubois, Aurora, III, in November, 1861, 
as a part of a Kentucky brigade. It was mus- 
tered into service February 18, 1862. This 
regiment was actively engaged raiding against 
and skirmishing with the enemy much of 
the time during the war, and in consequence 
many of them were taken prisoners, but were 
exchanged December 5, 1864. 

It was mustered out at Little Rock October 
15, 1865, and was discharged at Camp Butler 
the 26th. It had thirteen men from Du Page 
County. 

COMPANY B. 

Miller, Alexander, Milton, enlisted November 21, 
and mustered in February 16, 1861; re-enlisted as 
veteran. 

COMPANY D. 

Cox, William, Downer's Grove, enlisted as re- 
cruit March 31, 1865, died at Fort Smith, Ark., 
September 12, 1865; Cox, Wesley H., Downer's 
Grove, enlisted as recruit March 6, 1862, died at 
Memphis October 1, 1863; Hardsoc, Elzy, Downer's 
Grove, enlisted as recruit March 1, 1865, mustered 
out October 15, 1865. 

COMPANY G. 

Busick, James A., Milton, enlisted December 2, 
1861, mustered in February 18, 1862, re-enlisted as 
veteran; Sutherland, Amaziah, Milton, enlisted De- 
cember 2, 1861, re-enlisted as veteran; Stevens, 
John W., Milton, enlisted December 2, 1861, re-en- 
listed as veteran. 

COMPANY I. 

Farroll, Ezra R., York, enlisted and mustered in 
as recruit March 7, 1865, mustered out October 15, 
1865; Riscoe, John, York, enlisted and mustered in 
March 7, 1865, mustered out October 15, 1865. 

COMPANY K. 

Campbell, James H., Milton, enlisted as Wagoner 
December 10, 1861, mustered in February 10, 1862; 
Boyd, Ithamer, Milton, enlisted December 10, 1861, 
mustered in February 16, 1862; re-enlisted as vet- 
eran. 



104 



HISTORY OF DU PAGE COUNTY. 



TJNASSIGNED RECRUITS. 

Baker, Henry J., York, enlisted and mustered in 
March 8, 1865; Plumby, Andrew J., Milton, enlisted 
and mustered in March 30, 1864, transferred to V. 
R. C. September 22, 1864. 

FIFTY-FIFTH KEGIMENT. 

The Fifty-fifth Regiment of Illinois with the 
Fifty-fourth Ohio Infantry, distinguished them- 
selves by their obstinate valor at the battle of 
Shiloh, where they held the extreme left of the 
Union army against a greatly superior force of 
the enemy till the main body had retired. 
Their loss in this engagement was ten officers 
and 102 killed or mortally wounded. The 
regiment was organized at Camp Douglas, and 
mustered into service October 31, 1861, and 
and mustered out at Little Rock, Ark., August 
14, 1865. It arrived at Chicago August 22, 
where it was discharged. It had in its ranks 
thirty-five men from Du Page County : 

COMPANY c. 

Sanders, Calvin A., Naperville, enlisted Septem- 
ber 26, 1861, discharged January 5, 1863, for dis- 
ability; Summers, Thomas, Du Page County, en- 
listed September 30, 1861, died at Memphis Septem- 
ber 22, 1862; Schultz, Theodore, Du Page County, 
enlisted August 27, 1861, re-enlisted as veteran. 

COMPANY B. 

First Lieutenant. Dixon, William H., Downer's 
Grove, resigned March 13, 1862. 

Privates. Arnot, Hugo, Naperville, enlisted Sep- 
tember 3, 1861, promoted to Corporal; Bautling- 
hause, Amos, Naperville, enlisted September 6, 
1851; Benie, Henry, Naperville, enlisted September 
25, 1861, re-enlisted as veteran ; Baiger, Dedric, 
Naperville, enlisted September 26, 1861, re-en- 
listed as veteran; Dixon, Robert, Du Page County, 
enlisted February 18, mustered in the 27, 1861, 
promoted to Captain from First Sergeant, re-en- 
listed as veteran ; Downing, William, Blooming- 
dale, enlisted March 1, mustered in April 12, 1861; 
Garbs, Richard, Naperville, enlisted September 16, 
died at St. Louis of wounds October 31, 1864; Garst, 
Christian, Naperville, enlisted September 6, 1861, 
re-enlisted as veteran ; Gleastfer, Andrew, Naper- 
ville, enlisted September 9, 1861, re-enlisted as vet- 
eran ; Gushard, Emanuel, Naperville, enlisted No- 



vember 1, 1861, taken prisoner November 3, 1863; 
Gushard, Isaac, Naperville, enlisted September 26. re- 
enlisted as veteran ; Kailer, Frederick, Naperville, en- 
listed September 3, 1861, re-enlisted as veteran; Kei- 
ser, Henry, Naperville, enlisted September 3, 1861, 
re-enlisted as veteran; Kennedy, James, Naperville, 
enlisted September 8, 1861; Kellogg, Samuel C., Na- 
perville, died at Vicksburg July 18, 1863; Leibern- 
guth, Christian, Naperville, enlisted September 6, 
re-enlisted as veteran; Leibernguth, Christian, Cass, 
enlisted January 24, mustered in February 16, 1864, 
promoted fo Sergeant; Misner, Andrew, Naperville, 
enlisted September 19, 1861, re-enlisted as veteran; 
Porter, William, Naperville, promoted to Captain 
April 1, 1863, killed in battle June 27, 1864; Papp, 
Martin, Naperville, enlisted September 20, 1861, dis- 
charged September 26, 1863, for wounds; Porter, 
Martin R., Du Page County, enlisted September 3, 
1861, discharged for disability June 28,1863; Rey- 
nolds, Henry, Naperville, enlisted September 6, 
1861; Reinoehl, Henry, Naperville, re-enlisted as 
veteran January 23, 1864; Reinoehl, Joseph, Naper- 
ville, enlisted November 18, 1861; Shaning, Dede- 
rick, York, re-enlisted as veteran January 23, 1864, 
killed at Kenesaw Mountain June 27, 1864; Shan- 
ing, Richard, Naperville, enlisted September 5, 
1861, re-enlisted as veteran; Stretcher, David, Na- 
perville, enlisted September 5, 1861, re-enlisted as 
veteran; Teisel, Henry, Naperville, enlisted Septem- 
ber 6, 1861; Trinke, Harman, Naperville, enlisted 
October 16, 1861, died at Napoleon, Ark., January 
17, 1863; Warden, Moses, Du Page County, enlisted 
Septembers, 1861, re-enlisted as veteran; Warden, 
John, Du Page County, enlisted September 7, 1861, 
re-enlisted as veteran. 

FIFTY-EIGHTH REGIMENT. 

The Fifty-eighth Regiment of Illinois Infan- 
try was organized with nine companies at Camp 
Douglas, and mustered into service December 
24 and 25, 1861, the remaining tenth company 
being mustered in February 7, 1862. It par- 
ticipated in the capture of Fort Donelson, and 
was in many sanguinary battles during the 
war. It was mustered out at Montgomery, 
Ala., April 1, 1866. Twelve Du Page County 
men were in its ranks, as follows : _ 

COMPANY c. 

Atwater, Benjamin F., York, enlisted December 
12, mustered in the 25th, 1861, discharged June 17, 



HISTORY OF DU PAGE COUNTY. 



105 



for disability: Eldridge, George W., York, enlisted 
January 12, 1862, discharged for disability. 

COMPANY D. 

Mehan, John, Naperville, enlisted December 3, 
1861, mustered in the 20th, 1861, re-enlisted as vet- 
eran; Stuber, Daniel, Addison, enlisted November 
9, mustered in December 31, 1861, killed at Shiloh, 
April 6, 1862. 

COMPANY F. 

Hoehn, George, Corporal, Brush Hill, enlisted 
and mustered in December 31, 1861, re-enlisted as 
veteran; Ugoveck, Albert, Cottage Hill, Corporal, 
enlisted November 12, mustered in December 31, 
1861; Shultz, John, Brush Hill, enlisted October 30, 
mustered in December 31, 1861. 

COMPANY G. 

Battles, Caleb, Winfleld, enlisted and mustered in 
December 31, 1861, transferred to Company I, March 
2, 1862. 

COMPANY H. 

Scoville, George R., Wheaton, enlisted October 8, 
1861, discharged for disability; Scoville, Goodwin 
D., Wheaton, enlisted October 8, re-enlisted as vet- 
eran. 

COMPANY I. 

Dooner, Jeremiah, Turner Junction, enlisted De- 
cember 9, mustered in the 24th, 1861, died of wounds 
received at Shiloh. 

SIXTY-SEVENTH REGIMENT. 

The Sixty-seventh Kegiment of Illinois In- 
fantry was organized at Camp Douglas June 
13, 1862, for three months' service, where it re- 
mained during its term. It had in its ranks 
three men from Du Page County. 

COMPANY B. 

Farnagham, Melvin, Warrenville, enlisted June 
4 and mustered in the 13th, 1862. 

COMPANY D. 

Blanchard, William F., Wheaton, enlisted June 
2, and mustered in the 13th, 1862; Ward, Isaac 8., 
Wheaton, enlisted and mustered in at the same time. 

SIXTY-NINTH REGIMENT. 

The Sixty-ninth Regiment Illinois Infantry 
was organized at Camp Douglas, and mustered 
into service as a three months' regiment June 



14, 1862. It had five Du Page County men in 
its ranks. 

COMPANY B. 

Benedict, Thomas, Wayne, Donovan, Henry, 
Turner Junction; Griffith, William, Turner Junction ; 
Ketchum, Charles F., Turner Junction; Stephens, 
Alonzo S., Winfield; all mustered out at the expira- 
tion of their term. 

SEVENTY-SECOND REGIMENT. 

The Seventy-second Regiment of Illinois In- 
fantry was organized by the Board of Trade, 
Chicago, July 23, 1862. It took part in the 
campaign on the Big Black, siege of Vicksburg, 
battle of Nashville, Fort Pillow, Fort Pember- 
ton and many other lesser battles. It was mus- 
tered out of service at Jackson, Miss., August 
13, 1865. It had fifteen men from Du Page 
County in its ranks. 

COMPANY A. 

Black, Henry, York, enlisted and mustered in 
Octobers, 1864, transferred to Twenty-third Veteran 
Reserve Corps, April 24, 1865; Schurzman, Charles, 
Addison, enlisted and mustered in October 8, 1864, 
died of wounds at Greenville, Ala., April 16, 1865. 

COMPANY C. 

Gleason, Henry J., Milton, enlisted and mustered 
in August 21, 1862, promoted to Captain September 
8, 1864; Gleason, Bishop J., Milton, enlisted Janu- 
ary 4, and mustered in the 31st, 1864, transferred to 
Thirty-third Regiment. 

COMPANY D. 

Graves, Julius, Lisle, enlisted July 28, mustered in 
August 21, 1861. 

COMPANY E. 

Wells, Abraham, Downer's Grove, enlisted Au- 
gust 8, mustered in the 21st, 1862; Wells, Lucian, 
Cass, enlisted and mustered in at the same time; 
Winterton, William, Downer's Grove, enlisted and 
mustered in at the same time. 

COMPANY O. 

Stinson, Thomas, Naperville, enlisted August 12, 
and mustered in the 21st, 1862, died May 28, 1862, of 
wounds. 

COMPANY K. 

Heinricks, Peter, York; Heinrick, Christopher, 
York, enlisted and mustered in October 8, 1864- 



106 



HISTORY OF DU PAGE COUNTY. 



Newhouse, Peter, Addison, enlisted and mustered in 
at the same date; Ross, Charles, York, enlisted and 
mustered in August 23, '1864; Shattman, Ernst, Ad- 
dison, enlisted and mustered in October 8, 1864; 
Williams, William M., York, enlisted and mustered 
in October 14, 1864. 

EIGHTY-SECOND REGIMENT. 

The Eighty-second Regiment of Illinois In- 
fantry, called the Second Hecker Regiment, 
mostly made up of Germans and Scandinavians, 
was mustered into service at Camp Butler, 
August 26, 1862. This regiment always 
honored the German name for toughness and 
endurance. It was mustered out at Chicago, 
June 17, 1865, at which time it had only 310 
men left. One man represented Du Page 

County in it. 

COMPANY K. 

Bumgartner, Andreas, Winfleld, enlisted July 5, 
mustered in September 26, discharged May 5, 1864, 
for disability. 

EIGHTY-EIGHTH REGIMENT. 

The Eighty-eighth Regiment of Illinois In- 
fantry, known as the Second Board of Trade 
Regiment, was mustered in at Chicago August 
27, 1862, and after participating in its share in 
the war was mustered out of service at Chica- 
go, June 14, 1865. Eight men from Du Page 
County were in its ranks. 

COMPANY B. 

Hamilton, Robert, Musician, died at Nashville, 
January 13, 1863; Jones, James H., mustered out 
June 9 as Corporal; Sutherland, James B., died at 
Nashville of wounds January 26, 1863 ; Thomas, 
Samuel 8., transferred to Company E. 

All the above from Milton, and enlisted and 
mustered into service in August, 1862. 

COMPANY G. 

Hubbart, Nicholas, enlisted August 12, mustered 
in the 27th, 1862; Hester, Samuel L., enlisted August 
15, mustered in the 27th, 1862, mustered out as Cor- 
poral; Hester, Samuel, enlisted and mustered in at 
the same time; Kelly, Samuel, enlisted and mus- 
tered in at the same time. 

All the above from Milton. 



EIGHTY-NINTH REGIMENT. 

The Eighty-ninth Regiment of Illinois In- 
fantry was organized at Chicago under the 
united supervision of several railroad com- 
panies, whose parent offices were at the 
place. Hence it was called the Railroad Regi- 
ment. Its first company was mustered into 
the service August, 25, and its last the 27, 
1862. It belonged to the Army of the Cumber- 
land, and Nashville was the last great battle in 
which it was engaged, at which place it was 
mustered out of service June 10, 1865. It had 
seven men from Du Page County in its ranks. 

COMPANY K. 

Watson, Emery B., Turner Junction, Corporal, 
enlisted August 5, mustered in the 25th, 1862, dis- 
charged September 25, 1864, for disability ; Fort- 
man, Louis, Milton, enlisted August 4, and mus- 
tered in the 25th, 1862, died at New Albany, Ind., 
December 12, 1862 ; Leary, John, Turner Junction, 
enlisted August 11, and mustered in the 25th, 1862 ; 
Scott, Otis P., Turner Junction, enlisted August 7, 
and mustered in the 25th, 1862 ; Temple, George, 
Naperville, enlisted January 23, 1864 ; Washington, 
George, enlisted at the same time ; Wright, Wallace, 
Turner Junction, enlisted August 7, mustered in 
the 25th, 1862, killed at Chickamauga September 
19, 1863. 

NINETY- FIFTH REGIMENT. 

The Ninety-fifth Regiment of Illinois Infan- 
try was mustered into the service at Rockford, 
111., September 4, 1862. Its chief field of op- 
eration was around Vicksburg, New Orleans 
and Mobile. It was mustered out at Camp 
Butler, Springfield, August 16, 1865. It lost 
84 men in battle, and 276 of disease. Two 
men from Du Page Count}' was in its ranks. 

COMPANY A. 

Pomery, Luther, Addison, enlisted October 17,1864, 
transferred to the Forty -seventh Illinois Infantry ; 
Smith, Thomas, Turner Junction, enlisted January, 
25, 1865. 

ONE HUNDREDTH REGIMENT. 

The One Hundredth Regiment of Illinois In- 
fantrj- was organized August 28, 1862, and 



LIBR'RY 

OF V.E 

UNIVERSITY OF IUINOIS 



HISTORY OF DU PAGE COUNTY. 



107 



known as the Will County Begiment. It had 
one man from Du Page County. 

COMPANY D. 

Saylor, Peter H., Naperville, enlisted August 1, 
mustered in the 30th. 

ONE HUNDRED AND FIFTH REGIMENT. 

The One Hundred and Fifth Regiment of 
Illinois Infantry deserves a more extended his- 
tory than any other to whose ranks Du Page 
County contributed her citizen soldiers, not be- 
cause these soldiers were better than others 
who had gone from this count}' into the war 
before or after them, but because there were 
more of them than had enlisted into any other 
single regiment from this county. 

The first call for volunteers had been made 
April 16, 1861, more than a year previous to 
the initiatory steps taken to raise the One Hun- 
dred and Fifth Regiment. Du Page County 
had fully contributed her quota to fill the first 
demand made upon her public spirit. Her 
young men had gone forth, with many others 
from the entire North, and the enemy had been 
met on many a field. Sometimes defeat and 
sometimes victory had followed, but as yet no 
substantial results had been reached as to how 
the conflict was to end. The rebels had lost 
none of their confidence ; on the contrary, their 
resolution and courage seemed to be gathering 
force. 

While this was true, it may with equal 
truth be said the inflexible determination of the 
North to conquer them had become the trans- 
cendent sentiment of the pulpit, forum and 
the press, and had fired the ambition of almost 
every young heart to interpose the muscular 
frame that encased it between the sacred shrine 
of his country's freedom and the enemy who 
had attacked it. The pleasing illusions, first 
that the rebels would not fight, and next that 
they could be conquered in three months, had 
vanished the first when they fired on Fort 
Sumter, and the second when they met they 



met the Union forces in the field as "Greek 
meets Greek." 

And, while we condemned them none the 
less, we have been taught to respect them more, 
at least for their fighting qualities. Such was 
the spirit of public sentiment when the One 
Hundred and Fifth Regiment was organized in 
the counties of De Kalb and Du Page six 
from the former and four from the latter. It 
was in response to a call from President Lin- 
coln for 300,000 more men. 

The One Hundred and Fifth Regiment Illi- 
nois Infantry Volunteers was mustered into the 
service of the United States September 2, 1862, 
at Dixon, 111. 

On the 8th, moved to Camp Douglas ; on the 
30th left Camp Douglas for Louisville, Ky.; 
arriving on the 2d of October and reporting to 
Gen. Dumont, was attached to his division, 
Brig. Gen. W. T. Ward's Brigade ; on the 3d 
moved in the direction of Frankfort ; arrived 
on the 9th after a severe march ; were engaged 
in guard and picket duty, with occasional slight 
skirmishing with the enemy. While at Frank- 
fort, made a raid to Lawrenceburg and returned. 
On the 26th moved en route to Bowling Green, 
arriving on the 4th of November, and remain- 
ing one week. Was ordered to Scottville, No- 
vember 25 ; moved to Gallatin, Tenn., Decem- 
ber 11 ; moved to South Tunnel February 1, 
1863 ; returned to Gallatin, remaining until the 
1st day of June, 1863, when it moved to La- 
vergne ; from thence to Murfreesboro, Tenn.; 
returning to Lavergne the last of July, moved 
to Nashville August 19 ; was quartered in Fort 
Negley, doing guard duty in it and the city of 
Nashville ; exchanged the Austrian musket, 
with which the regiment had been armed, for 
the Springfield rifle musket. Meanwhile it was 
attached to the Eleventh Army Corps, Maj. 
Gen. 0. 0. Howard commanding. 

On the 24th of February, 1864, it took the 
line of march in the diriction of Chattanooga, 
Tenn. On the th day of March it arrived 



108 



HISTORY OF DU PAGE COUNTY. 



at Wauhatcliie, at which place it remained 
until the 2d day of May, being brigaded with 
the One Hundred and Second and One Hun- 
dred and Twenty-ninth Illinois, Seventieth Indi- 
ana and the Seventy-ninth Ohio, with which it 
remained during the war. In the meantime, 
the Eleventh and Twelfth Army Corps were 
consolidated under the name of the Twentieth 
Army Corps, Maj. Gen. Joseph Hooker com- 
manding. May 2, moved to Gordon's Mills ; 
May 6, marched to Leet's Farm ; thence to 
Taylor's Kidge on the 7th ; May 10, moved to 
Snake Creek Gap ; May 12, to Sugar Valley ; 
May 13, moved in the direction of Resaca, 
Ga., skirmishing that evening and the next 
day. The morning of the 15th, moved with 
the corps to the extreme left of the lines. Im- 
mediately upon its arrival, took part in a 
charge upon the enemy's works, which were 
carried, losing several men in the engagement 
On the 16th, pursued the retreating army, 
arriving at Calhoun on the 17th. On the 18th, 
moved to near Cassville. On the- 19th, the 
One Hundred and Fifth being in advance, 
skirmished with the rear guard of the enemy, 
driving them at every point. Kemained near 
Kingston until the 23d, when ordered forward, 
crossing the Etoway River; 24th, moved to 
Burnt Hickory. On the 25th, continuing its 
march to Dallas, Ga., encountering the enemy, 
having a brisk engagement until dark -the 
casualties numbering 15, including two com- 
missioned officers. 

From this time until the 1st of June, the 
regiment was engaged in advancing the line, 
building and strengthening the works and 
skirmishing, losing 16 men. 

On the 1st of June, moved to the extreme 
left with the Twentieth Corps. On the 2d, the 
One Hundred and Fifth was ordered out as 
flankers, in which position it lost a most excel- 
lent officer, Surgeon Horace S. Potter, being 
killed by a shell. On the 3d, moved around 
and beyond the enemy's right, encamping near 



Ackworth, Ga. Here it remained until the 6th, 
when it moved forward and took position at 
Golgotha Church, in line of battle, throwing 
up intrenchments and remaining until the 15th, 
when it again moved forward, encountering 
the enemy behind the breastworks. A steady 
fire was kept up until dark. That night and 
the next day (the 16th) was occupied in 
strengthening the position by erecting breast- 
works, being exposed to the fire of the enemy. 
Lost 19 men during the two days. The night 
of the 16th, the enemy retreated. On the 
17th, 18th, 19tb and 20th, followed the retreat- 
ing enemy, with slight skirmishing at inter- 
vals ; 21st, severe skiruYish fighting ; 22d, 
moved forward about a mile, in close proxim- 
ity to the enemy's works, exposed to their fire, 
losing 1 1 men. The enemy evacuated its posi- 
tion during the night of July 2. On the 3d, 
moved in the direction of Marietta, Ga. The 
brigade to which the One Hundred and Fifth 
was attached being the advance, skirmished 
with the enemy, losing 1 man killed and 2 
wounded, camping about four miles from Mari- 
etta, Ga., in plain view of a portion of the 
rebel army. On the evening of the 4th, con" 
tinned the march in the direction of the Chat- 
tahoochie River, camping within two miles of 
that stream, on the north side, the night of the 
6th. Remained there until the 17th, when it 
crossed the river and encamped until the after- 
noon of the 18th ; moved forward about five 
miles and rested until the morning of the 20th; 
crossed Peach Tree Creek and came upon the 
enemy. 

A line of battle was formed, a charge of the 
enemy was repulsed in the afternoon, and sev- 
eral prisoners captured, also the colors of the 
Twelfth Louisiana. The 21st was occupied in 
burying the dead of both sides, and collecting 
and turning over ordnance and other property.. 
On the 22d, moved forward about three miles, 
when the enemy was again encountered, posted 
behind the defenses of Atlanta. Intrenchments 



HISTORY OF DU PAGE COUNTY. 



109 



were immediately thrown up. Kemained in 
this position until the 26th, when relieved and 
placed on reserve ; 29th. moved six miles to 
the right of the line. Making the position 
secure by throwing up works, remained until 
the 2d da}' of August ; returned to the left and 
took position, which was fortified and strength- 
ened. Constant skirmishing and artillery firing 
was kept up until the night of the 25th of 
August, when ordered to fall back to the Chat- 
tahoochie. Here it remained until the 27th, 
when it took position on the north side of that 
stream, doing picket and guard duty. The 2d 
day of September the city of Atlanta surren- 
dered. The regiment remained in the vicinity of 
Atlanta until the 15th of November, when the 
" grand march to the sea " was begun. The 
One Hundred and Fifth, accompanying the ex- 
pedition, bore its full share of the trials and 
hardships incident thereto. 

Passing on the route Decatur, Lithonia, So- 
cial Circle, Rutledge and Madison, at which last- 
named place it arrived on the 19th of Novem- 
ber. From thence marched southward to the 
city of Milledgeville, the capital of Georgia, ar- 
riving on the 22d, and remaining until the 27th. 
Thence to the north of the Mississippi & 
Georgia Central Railroad. Passing through 
Sandersville, Davisboro and Louisville (the One 
Hundred and Fifth and part of the One Hun- 
dred and Second meeting a body of rebel cav- 
alry between the two last-mentioned places), 
reaching Milan on December 3. 

Continuing the march toward Savannah, pass- 
ing through Springfield on the 7th, having a 
slight skirmish with the guerrillas, arriving in 
the city of Savannah on the 10th. The One 
Hundred and Fifth being the advance that day, 
had a brisk skirmish with the enemy's pickets, 
driving them within the defenses of that city. 
Participated in the siege of Savannah, which 
surrendered to a magnanimous foe, to use the 
words of the Savannah Republican. This was 
the crowning success of the campaign, and the 



troops were in ecstacies. They mingled freely 
with the populace, bought hot cakes of the 
pretty, bright-eyed feminine rebels, who didn't 
look so very hostile to the boys as they ate from 
their pie-tins the delicious tid-bits prepared for 
them, " all for greenbacks," of course, and yet, 
greenbacks nevertheless, it was a pleasant 
change to eat food prepared by female hands. 
On the 31st of December, A. D. 1864, and Jan- 
uary 1, 1865, was occupied in crossing the Sav- 
annah River, losing one man by a musket shot 
from the enemy. Moved five miles, and en- 
camped until the 4th of January. Marched 
north to Hardee's farm, and again encamped 
remaining until the 17th, with slight skirmishes . 
at intervals. Moved to Hardeeville, remaining 
there until the 29th, when it started on the 
campaign of the Carolinas. Moving northward, 
nothing of interest occurred until the 2d day of 
February, when the One Hundred and Fifth be- 
ing in the advance, encountered the enemy near 
Lawtonville, strongly posted behind their bar- 
ricades ; it immediately charged the enemy, 
driving them from their position through the 
town, losing eight men in the engagement. 

Continued the march on the 3d, 4th, 5th, 6th 
and 7th, when the One Hundred and Fifth had 
the advance. Had some slight skirmishes 
with Wade Hampton's cavalry ; 8th, 9th and 
10th. were engaged in tearing up railroad be- 
tween Graham Station and Williston ; from 
thence across the North and South Edisto 
Rivers, on the road to Columbia, arriving op- 
posite that city on the 16th, after a very disa- 
greeable march through swamps and marshes. 
Not being able to cross the Congaree at that 
point, moved up the river and crossed the 
Broad and Saluda Rivers, which unite and 
form the Congaree. Marching northward, ar- 
rived at Winnsboro on the 21st. On the 22d, 
the regiment, again in the advance, had some 
skirmishing with Butler's rebel cavalry, and 
crossed the Wateree River ; reached Hanging 
Rock on the 27th ; rested one day ; 29th moved 



110 



HISTORY OF DU PAGE COUNTY. 



forward, arriving at Chesterfield March 3 ; at 
Cheraw March 6. Crossed Great Pedee and 
Lumber Rivers, and arrived at Fayetteville on 
the llth. Resting three days, 15th moved in 
the direction of Raleigh, N. C., some ten miles, 
when it encountered the enemy, heavily in- 
trenched near Averysboro ; then, on the 16th, 
followed the battle of Averysboro, the enemy 
being driven from their position. The One 
One Hundred and Fifth lost six killed and six- 
teen wounded. 

On the 19th, 20th and 21st, took part in the 
engagement near Bentonville ; the enemy evac- 
uated that place on the night of the 21st. Ar- 
rived at Goldsboro on the night of the 24th. 
Thus ended the campaign of the Carolinas. 

Remained at Goldsboro until April 10, 1865. 
Continued the march toward Raleigh, arriving 
at Smithfleld on the llth, and at Raleigh on 
the 13th, encountering but little opposition 
from the enemy. Resting till the 25th, moved 
out some fourteen miles on the Holly Springs 
road, in the direction of Gen. Johnston's 
army. Encamped during the 26th and 27th. 
In the meantime, Gen. Johnston surrendered. 

On the 28th, returned to Raleigh, and imme- 
diately began making preparations for the 
homeward march. On the 30th. left Raleigh 
en route to Washington City, by way of Rich- 
mond, passing through the latter city on the 
llth of May : arrived in the vicinity of Alex- 
andria, Va., on the 19th ; took part in the 
grand review at Washington on the 24th, when 
the regiment received a compliment for their 
movements in the manual of arms and their 
military appearance. Remained in the vicin- 
ity of Washington until the 7th of June, when 
the regiment was mustered out of the service 
and started by rail for Chicago, 111., where it 
arrived on the 10th. Remained at Camp Fry 
until the 17th, when paid off and disbanded. 



LIEUTENANT COLONEL. 



Vallette, Henry F., Naperville; date of rank Sep- 
tember 2, 1862; resigned June 18, 1864. 



Phillips, William N., Wayne; date of rank Sep- 
tember 2, 1862; resigned Decembers, 1862. 

SURGEONS. 

Potter, Horace S., Milton; date of rank Septem- 
ber 5, 1862; killed in battle June 2, 1864. 

Waterman, Alfred, Warrenville; date of rank June 
2, 1864; promoted from First Surgeon; mustered out 
June 7, 1865. 

FIRST ASSISTANT SURGEON. 

Beggs, George W., Naperville; date of rank June 
2, 1864; promoted from Second Surgeon; mustered 
out June 7, 1865. 

NON-COMMISSIONED STAFF. 

SERGEANT HAJOR8. 

Vallette, Jonathan G., Milton; discharged July 6, 
1864, to accept commission in volunteer service. 

Whitlock, Ogden, Milton, mustered out June 7, 
1865. 

COMMISSARY SFRGEANT. 

Clinton, Beach, Winfield; promoted First Lieu- 
tenant and Quarter-master in United States Colored 
Troops. 

HOSPITAL STEWARDS. 

Beggs, George W., Naperville; promoted Assistant 
Surgeon. 

PRINCIPAL MUSICIANS. 

Fuller, Morell, Du Page County. 
Van Vetzger, Walter. 

COMPANY B. 

CAPTAINS. 

Rogers, Theodore S., Naperville, date of rank 
September 2, 1862; resigned September 30, 1864. 

Church, Lucius B., Winfield, date of rank Sep- 
tember 80, 1864; promoted from Lieutenant; mus- 
tered out June 7, 1865. 

FIRST LIEUTENANT. 

Scott, Willard, Jr., Naperville, date of rank Sep- 
tember 30, 1864; promo ted from Second Lieutenant; 
mustered out June 7, 1865. 

SECOND LIRUTENANT. 

Bedell, Gilbert, Winfield, date of rank June 7, 
1865; mustered out (as Sergeant) June 7, 1865. 

FIRST SERGEANT. 

Sedgwick, John A., Naperville, enlisted August 2, 
1862; discharged November 15, 1864. 

SERGEANTS. 

Kelley, Isaac D., Naperville, enlisted July 29, 
1862; mustered out June 7, 1865. 



HISTORY OF DU PAGE COUNTY. 



Ill 



Carpenter, Ashley E., Milton, August 6; died at 
Scottville, Ky., November 30, 1862. 

Bedell, Gilbert, Winfield, August 4; mustered out 
June 7, 1865, First Sergeant; commissioned Second 
Lieutenant, but not mustered. 

Townsend, Perry, Downer's Grove, July 29; mus- 
tered out May 18, 1865. 

COBPOR&L8. 

Naper, Mark A., Naperville, August 6 ; mustered 
out June 7, 1865, as Sergeant. 

Town, Morris, Winfield, August 6 ; mustered out 
June 7, 1865, as Sergeant. 

Cooley, Elias A., Winfield, Augusts, private ; died 
June 22, 1864 ; wounds. 

Freeto, William, Milton, July 29 ; mustered out 
May 13, 1865. 

Burns, Elias, York, August 4 ; died June 32, 1864 ; 
wounds. 

Yock, Nicholas, Naperville, August 4 ; mustered 
out June 7, 1865. 

Foster, Alexander F., Downer's Grove, August 12 ; 
discharged April 7, 1863 ; disability. 

Barr, Samuel A., Naperville, August 6 ; mustered 
out June 7, 1865. 

PRIVATES. 

Beach, Clinton, Winfield, August 5 ; promoted 
Commissary Sergeant. 

Burns, John B., York, August 2. 

Beggs, George W., Naperville, August 6 ; pro- 
moted Hospital Steward. 

Bovvker, George, Bloomingdale, August 7. 

Branch, Royal D., Naperville, August 2. 

Bucks, Wesley, Lisle, August 2. 

Beidleman, William, Lisle, August 3. 

Bachlem, William, Winfield, August 5. 

Buchannan, Albert, Winfield, August 5 ; dis- 
charged June 26, 1863 ; disability. 

Brown, William H., Winfield, August 6 ; pro- 
moted First Lieutenant United States Colored In- 
fantry. 

Bannister, Edmund B., Naperville, August 4 ; 
discharged January 20, 1863 ; disability. 

Babbitt, John H., Naperville, August 4. 

Balch, Homer, Naperville, August 5. 

Butz, Joseph J., Naperville, August 6. 

Coslett, Robert, Winfield, August 6 ; mustered 
out June 7, 1865, as Corporal. 

Cooper, Frederick, Winfield, August 6 ; died at 
Bowling Green, Ky., January 1, 1863. 

Cotes, John S., Winfield, August 11 ; died at Mur- 
freesboro July 25, 1863. 

Cornell, Joseph, Downer's Grove, August 11. 



Chase, Samuel B., Downer's Grove, August 11. 
Davis, Zora B., Naperville, August 6 ; discharged 
October 29, 1864 ; disability. 

Fuller, Morell, Downer's Grove, August 4 ; pro- 
moted Drum Major. 

Fowler, Daniel H., Naperville, August 7 ; trans- 
ferred to Company D, One Hundred and Fifth Illi- 
nois Infantry. 

Fisher, Abram B., Naperville, August 5. 
Fey, Albert, Winfield, August 5 ; mustered out 
June 7, 1865, as Corporal. 

Gager, John T., Lisle, July 29 ; mustered out June 
7, 1865, as Corporal. 

Gushert, Conrad, York, August 4 ; discharged 
January 21, 1863 ; disability. 

Grumbine, Moses, Naperville, August 4 ; dis- 
charged May 2, 1865 ; disability. 
Hand, Lewis J., Lisle, August 5. 
Hickel, George, York, August 6. 
Hynen, Ernest, Lisle, August 4 ; killed at Averys- 
boro, N. C., March 16, 1865. 
Hoffman, Bartholomew, Naperville, August 5. 
Hammschmidt, Joseph, Winfield, August 5 ; mus- 
tered out July 1, 1865. 
Hughes, William S., Winfield, August 6. 
Johnston, William, Naperville, August 4 ; dis- 
charged January 21, 1863 ; disability. 

Jones, Daniel, Downer's Grove, August 6 ; mus- 
tered out July 10, 1865. 

Kenyon, Paris, York, July 29 ; died August 16, 
1864; wounds. 

Kummer, Henry, Lisle, August 6 ; transferred to 
Veteran Reserve Corps March 13, 1864. 

Kimball, Delos, Naperville, August 7 ; discharged 
May 23, 1863 ; disability. 

Kenyon, Nicholas R., York, August 4 ; discharged 
Marcli 2, 1863 ; disability. 
Kessell, George, Naperville, August 6. 
Kopp, Henry C., Naperville, August 6 ; mustered 
out July 22, 1865 ; prisoner of war. 

Lindsey, Merritt, Naperville, August 3 ; died at 
Nashville, Tenn., April 9, 1864. 
Murray, Charles, Winfield, August 5. 
Motzberger, Henry, Milton, August 2. 
Mowry, Henry, Winfield, July 31. 
Meyers, Edwin B., Milton, August 4 ; discharged 
April 6, 1863 ; disability. 
Meyers, Frederick A., Milton, August 4. 
Meyers, William H., Milton, August 4; trans- 
ferred to Engineer Corps August 15, 1864. 
McMillan, James, Naperville, August 5. 
Mayers, Henry, Naperville, August 4. 
McQuinston, William, Lisle, August 6. 



112 



HISTORY OF DU PAGE COUNTY. 



Mussleman, Harrison, Lisle, August 6. 

Norton, Henry, Naperville, August 6 ; died August 
19, 1864 ; wounds. 

Neitz, Moses, Naperville, August 15. 

O'Conner, Hains, Winfield, August 5. 

Pratt, Lorenzo, Wheaton, ' August 5 ; discharged 
April 6, 1863 ; disability. 

Purnell, William, Winfield, August 5 ; mustered 
out May 19, 1865. 

Reynolds, Alonzo L., Naperville, August 5 ; dis- 
charged January 21, 1868 ; disability. 

Rickert, Edwin C., Milton, August 4 ; mustered 
out June 7, 1865, as Corporal. 

Stanley, Joseph, Naperville, August 7 ; absent ; 
sick at muster out of regiment. 

Stephenson, John P., Winfield, August 5. 

Stevens, Matthias A., Naperville, August 7. 

Strong, Robert H., Du Page County, August 3. 

Stutenroth, Charles W., Naperville, August 4 ; 
mustered out June 7 as Corporal. 

Smith, Chauncey G , Du Page County, August 9 ; 
discharged December 20, 1863 ; disability. 

Stanley, Joel, Naperville, August 3. 

Townsend, Augustus, York, July 29 ; discharged 
May 17, 1863 ; disability. 

Tucker, George, Winfield, August 9. 

Van Veltzer, Walter, Downer's Grove, August 4 ; 
promoted Fife Major. 

Van Oven, Adelbert, Naperville, August 9. 

Wallace, Gerry, Downer's Grove, August 15. 

Weaber, Edward, York, August 9 ; mustered out 
June 7, 1865, as Corporal. 

Wright, Albert H., Naperville, August 11. 

Weaver, Daniel R., Naperville, August 4. 

Wiant, 'Albert H., Wheaton, August 6. 

Wilson, Moultrie, Winfield, August 15 ; discharged 
February 20, 1863 ; disability. 

Watson, Sanford, Winfield, August 5 ; transferred 
to Engineer Corps August 15, 1864. 

Wyman, William H., Winfield, August 5 ; dis- 
charged January 20, 1863 ; disability. 

Zeutmeyer, Henry S., Naperville, August 5 ; died 
August 2, 1864 ; wounds. 



RECRUITS. 



Leffler, Jeremiah, Naperville, mustered in No- 
vember 27, 1863; transferred to Company K, Six- 
teenth Illinois Infantry. 

Palmer, Alonzo L. 

COOKS or A. D. 

Perkins, Tillman, mustered in June 1, 1863. 

Link, Robert, mustered in March 17, 1863 ; absent, 
sick, at muster out of regiment. 



COMPANY D. 

CAPTAINS. 

Graves, Amos C., Winfield, date of rank Septem- 
ber 2, 1862; discharged March 30, 1865. 

Graves, Judson A., Winfield, date of rank April 
20, 1865; promoted from Sergeant; mustered out (as 
First Lieutenant) June 7, 1865. 

FIBBT LIEUTENANTS. 

Jeffers, William H., Downer's Grove, date of rank 
September 2, 1862; resigned May 5, 1864. 

Peaslee, Luther L., Naperville, date of rank May 
5,1864; promoted from Second Lieutenant; resigned 
September 24, 1864. 

Coffin, Edward B., Winfield, date of rank April 
20, 1865; mustered out as Sergeant June 7, 1865. 

SECOND LIEUTENANT. 

Brown, George, Du Page County, date of rank 
June 7, 1865; mustered out as Sergeant June 7, 1865. 

FIRST SERGEANT. 

Valette, Jonathan G., Milton, enlisted August 14, 
1862; promoted Sergeant Major. 

SEROEANTS. 

Sedgwick, George G., Bloomingdale, enlisted 
August 14; discharged February 23, 1863; disability. 

Billings,' John, Jr., Winfield, August 11; dis- 
charged February 6, 1863; disability. 

Munk, Edward, Jr., Winfield, August 11; dis- 
charged July 11, 1863, to accept commission Four- 
teenth U. S. C. T. 

CORPORALS. 

Graves, Adoniram J., Winfield, August 12; pro- 
moted First Sergeant, First Lieutenant and Commis- 
sioned Captain. 

Coffin, Edwin, Winfield, August 12; First Ser- 
geant, commissioned First Lieutenant, but not 
mustered; mustered out June 7, 1865; wounded. 

Pinny, Milton, Winfield, August 12; discharged 
April 25, 1863; disability. 

Apthorpe, George, Bloomingdale, August 14; dis- 
charged July 11, 1863, to accept commission in 
Fourteenth U. S. C. T. 

Hayes, George, Bloomingdale, August 8; died at 
South Tunnel, Tenn., December 29, 1863. 

Fowler, Ferdinand F., Naperville, August 12; dis- 
charged February 18, 1863; disability. 

Freer, Theodore R., Downer's Grove, August 14; 
died at South Tunnel, Tenn., January 30, 1863. 

MUSICIANS. 

Watts, Joseph H., Winfield, August 14; mustered 
out June 7, 1865. 



HISTORY OF DU PAGE COUNTY. 



113 



White, Uriah C., Winfield, August 14; mustered 
out June 7, 1865. 

WAGONEH. 

Wood, James H., Milton, August 15; discharged 
July 16, 1864. 

PRIVATES. 

Barrows, James, Downer's Grove, August 14. 

Berry, Isaac J., Winfleld, August 14; mustered out 
June 7, 1865, as Sergeant. 

Billings, Simeon, Winfleld, August 12; mustered 
out May 20, 1865. 

Bostwick, Hiram A., Winfleld, August 12; mus- 
tered out June 7, 1865, as Corporal. 

Bartholomew, Charles, Winfield, August 14; died 
at South Tunnel, Tenn., January 18, 1863. 

Bostwick, Arthur, Winfield, August 14. 

Blakeman, Jacob, Downer's Grove, August 12; 
mustered out May 20, 1865. 

Brown, George, Du Page County, August 11; 
mustered out June 7, 1865, as Sergeant; commis- 
sioned Second Lieutenant, but not mustered. 

Bartholomew, Darius, Naperville, August 14. 

Collins, George, Lisle, August 14. 

Conners, James, Downer's Grove, August 14. 

Cry, David, Naperville, August 14; mustered out 
June 7, 1865, as Corporal. 

Chapman, Edward, Bloomingdale, August 7; 
killed at Dallas, Ga., May 29, 1864. 

Clark, Henry E., Bloomingdale, August 14; died 
at Gallatin, Tenn., February 8, 1863. 

Dalton, Naylor, Winfleld, August 11. 

Dixon, James C., Downer's Grove, Sergeant; 
transferred to Engineer Corps August 7, 1864. 

Denny, Charles, Naperville, August 11; discharged 
September 22, 1864; insane. 

Drullard, Alvaro, Kaperville, August 10; Cor- 
poral; died at Murfreesboro September 2, 1863. 

Elsy, Isaac, Naperville, August 14; died at Gal- 
latin, Tenn., April 9, 1863; accidental wounds. 

French, Joseph G., Bloomingdale, August 12; 
mustered out June 7, 1865, as Corporal. 

Gary, Erastus N., Milton, August 14; discharged 
September, 1864, as Sergeant; wounds. 

Givler, Solomon, Jr., Naperville, August 14 ; died 
at Scottsville, Ky., December 5, 1862. 

Godfry, Luther N., Bloomingdale, August 13 ; 
discharged February 24, 1863 ; disability. 

Gumpsheimer, Christ, Downer's Grove, August 
14 ; discharged January 15, 1864. 
Goodel, Henry, Du Page County, August 12. 
Hatch, Reuben R., Lisle, August 10 ; discharged 
April 1, 1863 ; disability. 



Ingalls, Abner E., Lisle, August 10 ; discharged 
March 14, 1863 ; disability. 

Ingalls, Andrew E., Lisle, August 14 ; died at Gal- 
latin, Tenn., February 14, 1863. 

Kumner, Herman, Milton, August 10 ; mustered 
out as Corporal ; wounded. 

Leonard, Charles, Naperville, August 10 ; killed 
Averysboro, N. C., March 16, 1865. 

Landon, Dwight, Bloomingdale, August 14. 

Lawrence, Charles, Bloomingdale, August 14 ; 
discharged May 29, 1863 ; disability. 

Lilly, Emery A., Bloomingdale, August 14 ; left 
at Scottsville, Ky., November 24, 1862. 

Linck, Antone, Lisle, August 14 ; mustered out as 
Corporal. 

Meyrs, John M., Downer's Grove, August 12 ; 
died at Gallatin, Tenn., Aprils, 1863. 

McQuestion, Christ, Naperville, August 14 ; dis- 
charged December 23, 1863 ; disability. 

Munk, James C., Winfield, August 14 ; killed at 
Resaca, Ga., May 15, 1864. 

Meachem, Lucius, Bloomingdale, August 6 ; dis- 
charged December 5, 1862 ; disability. 

Morey, John, Lisle, August 15; discharged April 
18, 1865. 

Miles, James, Lisle, August 14; discharged De- 
cember, 29, 1862. 

Palmer, Alonzo, Lisle, August 14; transferred to 
Company D March 21, 1863. 

Puffer, Charles, Lisle, August 14. 

Pierce, John H., Bloomingdale, August 14; died 
at Frankfort, Ky., November 13, 1863 

Robberts, Charles, Naperville, August 14; dis- 
charged January 9, 1863; disability. 

Rogers, Bloomingdale, August 7; mustered out as 
Sergeant; was a prisoner. 

Rogers, Dedrich, Lisle, August 14. 

Ruckerick, Henry, Downer's Grove, August 12; 
mustered out June 7, 1865; wounded. 

Richards, Samuel T., Lisle, August 13,; died South 
Tunnel, Tenn., January 28, 1863; wounded. 

Resequie, Lucien V., Winfield, August 14; mus- 
tered out May 19, 1865. 

Streblow, Frederick, Downer's Grove, August 14; 
mustered out as Corporal. 

Shiinelspfenig, Frank, Naperville, August 14 ; 
mustered out as Corporal. 

Schroder, John, Naperville, August 13; trans- 
ferred to Mississippi Marine Brigade March 25, 1863. 

Straul, Antone, Lisle, August 14. 

Straul, Antonie, August 14. 

Shilling, Jacob, Downer's Grove, August 12. 



114 



HISTORY OF DU PAGE COUNTY. 



Stanley, Elisha, Napervillc, August 14; killed at 
Kenesaw Mountain June 16, 1864. 

Taylor, Rufus B., Lisle, August 10. 

Thompson, William, York, August 14; transferred 
to navy June 30, 1863. 

Umberger, Hiram, Naperville, August 13; mus- 
tered out July 1, 1865, as Corporal: prisoner of war. 

Wray, William T., Winfleld, August 12; killed 
at Resaca, Ga., May 15, 1864. 

Wheatley, Isaac, Lisle, August 11; mustered out 
as Sergeant. 

Wilson, Rolon, Winfield, August 12; discharged 
April 4, 1863. 

Wallace, Resell, Bloomingdale, August 14. 

Winop, Daniel, Downer's Grove, August 13; trans- 
ferred to Engineer Corps August 7, 1864. 

Yender, Allis, Lisle, August 14. 

RECRUITS. 

Cline, Lewis, Downer's Grove, October 18, 1864; 
transferred to Company F, Sixteenth Illinois Infan- 
try. 

Edlie, J., Downer's Grove, Oct. 18, 1864; trans- 
ferred to Company F, Sixteenth Illinois Infantry. 

Fowler, Daniel, Naperville; died at Gallatin, 
Tenn., March 28, 1863. 

Graves, James D., Naperville, November 27, 1863; 
transferred to Company F, Sixteenth Illinois In- 
fantry. 

Gieble, John, Downer's Grove, October 18, 1864; 
transferred to Company F, Sixteenth Illinois In- 
fantry. 

Gerlin, John, Downer's Grove, October 18, 1864; 
transferred to Company F, Sixteenth Illinois In- 
fantry. 

Mayo, Alfred H., Naperville, November 27, 1863; 
transferred to Company F, Sixteenth Illinois In- 
fantry. 

Mochel, George, Downer's Grove, October 18, 
1864; transferred to Company F, Sixteenth Illinois 
Infantry. 

Wolf, George, September 20, 1862. 

Winslow, Edward M., September 20, 1862. 

COOKS OF A. D. 

Ayers, Peter, October 14, 1863; died at Nashville, 
Tenn., March 4, 1864. 

Jones, Robert, November 14, 1863; absent, sick, 
at muster out of regiment. 

COMPANY p. 

CAPTAINS. 

Daniels, Seth F., Wheaton; date of rank, Sept- 
ember 2, 1862; discharged June 7, 1865. 



Adams, Samuel, Wayne; date of rank, September 
2, 1862; resigned April 13, 1864. 

rinST LIEUTENANTS. 

Tirtlatt, William M., Milton; date of rank April 
13, 1864; promoted from Sergeant to Second Lieu- 
tenant November 28, 1864. 

Smith, Melvin, Winfield; date of rank April 13, 
1864; promoted from Sergeant. 

SECOND LIEUTENANTS. 

Porter, Warner, York; date of rank September 2, 
1862; resigned April 17, 1863. 

Cram, George F., Wheaton; date of rank June 7, 
1865 ; commissioned, but not mustered ; muster out 
June 7, 1865, First Sergeant ; promoted from Cor- 
poral ; wounded. 

SEROEAXTS. 

Wheeler, Henry C., Milton, enlisted August 8, 
1862; promoted Second Lieutenant Fourteenth U. 
S. C. T. 

Wolcott, Morgan, Wayne, enlisted August 5, 
1862; discharged March 4, 1863, disability. 

Perry, Daniel E., Winfield, enlisted August 9, 
1862: died July 29, 1863. 

COKPOHALS. 

Boutwell, George W., Wayne, enlisted July 31, 
discharged July 6, 1864, to accept promotion in U. 
S. C. T. 

Akin, Sterlin D., Wayne, enlisted August 5, 1862; 
died at Frankfort, Ky., October 24, 1862. 

Smith, George A., Wayne, August 5, 1862; trans- 
ferred to Mississippi Marine Brigade March 2, 1863. 

Perry, Harris, York, August 3, 1862; discharged 
March 6, 1863, as private; disability. 

Meachem, Marchal E., Milton, August 10, 1862, 
died at Scottsville, Ky. , November 25, 1862. 

Thompson, John, Jr., Wayne; enlisted August 5; 
1862; discharged April 20, 1863; disability. 

Knine, George W., Bloomingdale, enlisted Aug- 
ust 7, 1862. 

MUSICIANS. 

Kenyon, George W., York, enlisted July 29, 1862; 
mustered out June 7, 1865, as private. 

Standish, Hiram C., Lisle, enlisted August 11, 
1862; discharged February 19, 1863; disability. 

WAGONER. 

Carter, William, Wayne, enlisted August 5, 1862 ; 
discharged May 20, 1863; disability. 

PRIVATtg. 

Adams, Charles H., Wayne, August 5. 
Ackerman, Alouzo, Milton, August 22. 



HISTORY OF DU PAGE COUNTY. 



115 



Baker, Silas, Wheaton, August 3. 

Bacheider, John, Milton, August 9; promoted 
Sergeant; died August 2, 1864, wounds. 

Braud, David N., Wayne, August 5; died Bowl- 
ing Green, Ky., December 18; 1862. 

Blank, Joel, Wayne, August 5; died Bowling 
Green, Ky., November 14, 1862. 

Boutwell, Charles M., Wayne, August 5; pro- 
moted Sergeant. 

Brannon, Patrick, Winfleld, August 7; died about 
June 25, 1864; wounds. 

Brown, William, Wayne, July 81; discharged 
October 17, 1864; wounds. 

Brody, James, Bloomingdale ; August 5; mustered 
out as Corporal ; wounded. 

Conner, Samuel F., Wayne, August 13; dis- 
charged October 30, 1862; disability. 

Compton, Henry D., Bloomingdale, August 9. 

Gary, Edward, Winfield, August 7; wounded. 

Clark, Norman S., Wayne, July 31; mustered out 
Sergeant. 

Congleton, James A., Bloomingdale, August 7; 
mustered out as Corporal. 

Dissing, Aaron, Naperville, August 22; wounded 
twice. 

Depue, Hanson J., Downer'-s Grove, August 11; 
discharged September 10, 1864; wounds. 

DeWolf, Leonard E., Milton, August 8; dis- 
charged January 3, 1863; disability. 

Ehle, Harmon S., Bloomingdale, August 7; mus- 
tered out June 10, 1865, as Corporal. 

Fairbank, James H., Winfield, July 31. 

Fletcher, W. Nichols, Wayne, August 5; mustered 
out as Sergeant. 

Fancher, Allison, Wayne, August 13; discharged 
January 11, 1863, for disability. 

Filer, Frank, York, August 9 ; absent, sick, at mus- 
ter out of regiment. 

Geer, Daniel V., Winfield, July 26; died January 
16, 1863. 

Geer, Lewis C., Winfield, August 3; discharged 
January 19, 1863, for disability. 

Griswold, Martin E., Wheaton, August 22. 

Grant, Isaac J., York, July 29; discharged March 
8, 1833, for disability. 

Grant, David J., York, August 7; mustered out 
May 22, 1865, as Sergeant. 

Grant, Orris W., York, August 7. 

Green, Edwin, Wayne, August 5; discharged April 
7, 1863, for disability. 

Gray, Virgil V., Wayne, August 22; discharged 
April 13, 1863. 



Holmes, Thomas W., Milton, July 30; absent 
wounded at muster out of regiment. 

Hadley, Amis L., Milton, August 8. 

Hammond, Perry H., Wayne, July 31; died at 
Nashville, Tenn., December 24, 1863. 

Hammond, John, Jr., Wayne, July 31; mustered 
out June 7, 1865, as Corporal. 

Johnston, James K., Downer's Grove, August 9. 

Jipson, Thomas, Milton, August 22; transferred to 
Engineer Corps, August 15, 1864. 

Keniston, Uriah B., Wayne, July 29; wounded. 

Kingsley, Henry S., Milton, July 28; died January 
17, 1863. 

Knickerbocker, Wilson, Milton, July 30; died at 
Louisville, Ky., November 11, 1862. 

Long, Silas, Wheaton, Julr 26. 

Lewis, William, Wayne, August 13; wounded. 

Mills, Samuel, Wayne, August 4; transferred to 
Company I. 

Mattocks, Andrew J., Milton, August 5; died Au- 
gust 5, 1864. 

Miller, George, York, August 8; mustered out as 
Corporal. 

Miller, Albert, York, August 9. 

McGilvery, John, Wayne, August 20; wounded 
twice. 

Minor, Briton, Bloomingdale, August 5. 

McLean, Daniel, Wayne.July 31, Corporal; trans- 
ferred to navy July 15, 1864. 

Mullen, Orlando J., Wayne, July 31; discharged 
March 22, 1864, for disability. 

McGraw, Patrick, Milton, August 6; wounded. 

Owen, ElishaG., Wayne, July 81; died March 28, 
1863. 

Pepper, Patrick, Wayne, August 1 ; transferred to 
Company I. 

Parker, Dexter, Milton, August 15; mustered out 
May 17, 1865. 

Porter, William, Wayne, August 6. 

Rice, Arthur P., Wheaton, July 26; killed at Res- 
aca, Ga., May 15, 1864. 

Rudd, William C., Wheaton, August 10. 

Reed, George B., Wayne, August 13. 

Rush, Green B., Downer's Grove. August 8. 

Sullivan, John, Milton, July 27. 

Stanham, John, Wayne, August 5. 

Samuelson, Gustavus, Wayne, August 10; dis- 
charged April 20, 1863, for disability. 

Stover, Lewis C., Milton, August 10; discharged 
December 15, 1863; wounded. 

Stockton, Joseph, Winfield, August 7; wounded. 

Sayer, Warren M., Wayne, July 31. 



116 



HISTORY OF DU PAGE COUKTY. 



Trick, Richard A., Wayne, July 30; discharged 
December 17, 1862; disability. 

Talmage, George H., York, August 9. 

Vanhoughton, John, Milton, August 22; mustered 
out as Corporal. 

Wright, Benjamin F., Milton, July 28; supposed 
transferred to naval service. 

Wheeler, John W., Wayne, July 29. 

Whitlock, Ogden, Milton, August 20; promoted 
to Sergeant Major. 

Wakelee, William H., Wheaton, August 3; dis- 
charged for disability. 

Wildman, Joseph, Milton, August 5; discharged 
December 20, 1862; disability. 

Wheelon, Peter, Milton, August 13; transferred 
to Company I. 

Yander, Samuel, Lisle, August 13; died February 
23, 1863. 

RECRUITS. 

Grant, Isaac J., Milton, October 15; transferred to 
Company K, Sixteenth Illinois Infantry. 

Hiatt, Luther L., Wheaton, October 15. 

Nash, Delos, Milton, October 15; discharged Jan- 
uary 8, 1863; disability. 

Riley, George W., Milton, October 15; mustered 
out as Corporal. 

Wilcox, Herbert W., Milton, October 15; dis- 
charged May 26, 1865. 

COOK OF A. D. 

Branch, John, June 1, 1863; absent, sick, at mus- 
ter out of regiment. 

COMPANY I. 

CAPTAINS. 

Jones, Enos, Milton, date of rank September 2, 
1862; resigned December 17, 1862. 

Locke, William 0., Addison, date of rank Decem- 
ber 17, 1862; discharged August 25, 1864. 

Bender, George A., Wheaton, date of rank Oc- 
tober 14, 1864; discharged March 18, 1865; promoted. 

Unold, John, Addison, date of rank May 19, 1865; 
mustered out as First Lieutenant June 7, 1865; pro- 
moted. 

FIRST L EUTBNANTS. 

Locke, William O., Addison, date of rank Sep- 
tember 2, 1862; promoted. 

Frank, David, Babcock's Grove, date of rank, 
May 19, 1865; mustered out as Sergeant June 7, 1865. 

PFCOND LIEUTENANTS. 

Fischer, Augustus H., Addison, date of rank Sep- 
tember 2, 1862; died August 13, 1864. 

Reinking, Henry, Addison, date of rank June 7, 
1865, mustered out as Sergeant June 7, -1865. 



SERGEANTS. 

Pierce, Hannibal, Addison, enlisted August 15; 
discharged January 15, 1864, as First Sergeant, to 
accept commission in Sixteenth U. S. C. T. 

Wagner, Joseph, Danby, enlisted August 15; ab- 
sent, wounded, at muster out of regiment. 

Baker, John, Wheaton, enlisted August 15; pri- 
vate, absent, sick at muster out of Regiment. 

CORPORALS. 

Plummer, Sephemus, enlisted August 15. 

Knust, Frederick, Addison, enlisted August 15; 
discharged April 24, 1863. 

Rainking, Henry, Addison, enlisted August 15; 
commissioned Second Lieutenant, but not mus- 
tered. 

Smith, John, Addison, enlisted August 15, mus- 
tered out June 7, 1865, as Sergeant; wounded. 

Wigand, Joseph, Danby, enlisted August 15; mus- 
tered out July 1, 1865; prisoner of war. 

Schmidt, Louis, Addison, enlisted August 15; mus- 
tered out June 7, 1865, as Sergeant. 

Werner, Jacob, Addison, enlisted August 15. 



Ashe, August, Addison, August 15; died May 17, 
1864; wounds. 

Anderson, William, Addison, August 15. 

Andres, Valentine, Addison, August 15; died at 
South Tunnel, Tenn., January 1, 1863. 

Baker, John H., Addison, August 15. 

Brockman, Henry, Addison, August 15. 

Brems, John, Bloomingdale, August 15; trans- 
ferred to Engineer Corps August 15, 1864. 

Brems, Henry, Wheaton, August 15. 

Dohlman, Jochine, Wheaton, August 15. 

Dirking, William, Wheaton, August 15. 

Damermays, Henry, Addison, August 15; died at 
Gallatin, Tenn., February 3, 1863. 

Dollinger, Anton, Danby, August 15; mustered 
out as Corporal. 

Fullman, Frederick, Addison, August 15; died at 
Gallatin, Tenn., June 5, 1863. 

Fredericks, George, Addison, August 15; dis- 
charged January 10, 1863. 

Fischer, Diedrick, Addison, August 15; died at 
Louisville, Ky., Februry 10, 1863. 

Fredricks, John, Addison, August 15. 

Frank, David, Babcock's Grove, August 15, com- 
missioned First Lieutenant, but not mustered; mus- 
tered out June 7, 1865, as First Sergeant. 

Foust, John, Babcock's Grove, August 15; died 
at Louisville, January 8, 1863. 



LIBRARY ' 
OF Ti.E 
UNIVERSITY OF ILLINOIS 



HISTORY OF DU PAGE COUNTY. 



119 



Fork, Gerhard H., Babcock's Grove, August 15; 
died at South Tunnel, Tenn., January 20, 1863. 

Gray, Fredrick J., Addison, August IS. 

Gletcher, Fredrick, Addison, August 15; mustered 
out as Corporal. 

Gimble, John, Addison, August 15; mustered out 
a? Sergeant. 

Huehl, Gerhard, Addison, August 15; discharged 
December 14, 1862. 

Herbst, Henry, Addison, August 15; died at South 
Tunnel, Tenn., January 1, 1863. 

Holdorf, Gotlieb, Addison, August 15. 

Herneman, David, Addison, August 15. 

Hinton, Edward, Addison, August 15; transferred 
to Engineer Corps August 15, 1864. 

Hanebuth, August, Addison, August 15; mustered 
out as Corporal. 

Hanebuth, William, Addison, August 15. 

Heller, Henry, Addison, August 15; absent, sick, 
at mustering out of regiment. 

Jenkins, William F., Addison, August 15; mustered 
out June 7, 1865, as Corporal. 

Kemph, Samuel, Wheaton, August 15; mustered 
out as Corporal. 

Konson, Henry, Wheaton, August 15. 

Koxing, Henry, Cottage Hill, August 15; died at 
Bowling Green, Ky., November 25, 1862. 

Kline, John, Wheaton, August 15. 

Kniepenberg, Henry, Addison, August 15. 

Kessel, Christian, Addison, August 15; mustered 
out July 1, 1865. 

Lenehrson, Frederick, Addison, August 15; mus- 
tered out as Corporal. 

Lenesenhop, William, Addison, August 15; died 
at Gallatin, Tenn., December 18, 1862. 

Leseberg, Frederick, Addison, August 15; died at 
Gallatin, Tenn., February 23, 1863. 

Messenbrink, Frederick, Addison, August 15. 

Messenbrink, Lewis, Addison, August 15; dis- 
charged February 27, 1865; disability. 

Mueller, Philip, Addison, August 15. 

Maas, Peter, Babcock's Grove, August 15; dis- 
charged May 23, 1863. 

Mishe, Augustus, Wheaton, August 15; absent, 
sick, at mustering out of regiment. 

Mills, Samuel, Wheaton, August 15; discharged 
February 19, 1863; disability. 

Mehring, Henry, Addison, August 15; died at 
Murfreesboro, Tenn., July 4, 1863. 

Muss, Nicholas, Addison, August 15; discharged 
February 19, 1863; disability. 

Newman, Andrew, Cottage Hill, August 15; died 
May 27, 1864; wounds. 



Pepper, Patrick, Wheaton, August 15; discharged 
December 31, 1862; disability. 

Ritter, Carl, Addison, August 15; died at Bowling 
Green, Ky., November 27, 1862. 

Ruprecht, Henry, Addison, August 15; transferred 
to Invalid Corps February 24, 1864. 

Schmidt, John H., Addison, August 15; mustered 
out as Corporal. 

Schott, Adam J., Addison, August 15; discharged 
May 3; disability. 

Spangenberg, Christian, Addison, August 15; died 
at Albany/Ind., December 4, 1862. 

Schoh, John W. H., Addison, August 15; died at 
Gallatin, Tenn., May 15, 1863. 

Stuve, Diedrick, Addison, August 15. 

Schultz, Carl, Naperville, August 15; died at Gal- 
latin, Tenn., March 12, 1868. 

Tegtman, Henry, Addison, August 15; died May 
17, 1864; wounds. 

Timmer, Herman, Cottage Hill, August 15; dis- 
charged March 3, 1863, as Corporal; disability. 

Volberding, Lewis A., Addison, August 15; dis- 
charged April 22, 1863, as Corporal; disability. 

Wilke, Charles, Addison, August 15. 

Webber, Frederick, Addison; mustered out June 
19, 1865. 

Wailon, Peter, Wheaton, August 15; transferred 
to Engineer Corps August 15, 1864. 

Weisman, Henry, Addison, August 15; died at 
Louisville, Ky., December 25, 1862. 

Zarzo, John, Bloomingdale, August 15. 

RECRUITS. 

Comro, Adolf, Addison, October 12, 1864; trans- 
ferred to Company H, Sixteenth Illinois Infantry. 

Holt, Henry, Addison, October 12, 1864; trans- 
ferred to Company H, Sixteenth Illinois Infantry. 

Jones, David, Milton; died at Milton, 111., October 
8, 1862. 

Mockling, Henry, Addison, Oct. 12, 1864; trans- 
ferred to Company H, Sixteenth Illinois Infantry. 

Wolf, Christian, Addison, October 12, 1864; trans- 
ferred to Company H, Sixteenth Illinois Infantry. 

COOKS OF A. D. 

Levi, , August 20, 1863; absent, sick, at mus- 
ter out of regiment. . 

Roman, , September 15, 1863; died March 28, 

1865; wounds. 

The date affixed to the names shows the 
time of the enlisnient of each soldier. 

The date of mustering out or discharged is 
also given to such soldiers as were honorably 



120 



HISTORY OF DU PAGE COUNTY. 



discharged before the regiment was mustered 
out. The term " discharged " means an honor- 
able discharge. 

ONE HUNDRED AND TWENTY-SEVENH REGIMENT. 

The One Hundred and Twenty -seventh Regi- 
ment of Illinois Infantry was organized at 
Camp Douglas and mustered into service Sep- 
tember 6, 1862. It started out with 887 men 
and returned with but 231 the survivors of a 
hundred battles who were mustered out at 
Chicago June 10, 1865. It had four men from 
Du Page County in its ranks. 

COMPANY A. 

Mosely, Albert, Naperville, enlisted August 6, 
mustered in September 5, 1862; died at Oswego, 111., 
September 7, 1868. 

Mosely, Henry, enlisted and mustered in at the 
game time; absent sick at muster out of regiment. 

COMPANY F. 

Lemis, Daniel W., Naperville, enlisted August 11; 
mustered in September 5, 1862; detached at muster 
out of regiment. 

COMPANY K. 

Ruckel, Philip H., York, enlisted August 14 and 
mustered in September 5, 1862; died at Walnut 
Hill, Miss., July 3, 1863. 

Regiments from number 132 to 143 inclu- 
sive were enlisted for only 100 days' service. 
These fresh recruits were designed to hold 
places already in possession of the Union 
forces while the veterans were pushing into 
the extreme limits of the South. 



ONE HUNDRED AND THIRTY-SECOND REGIMENT. 

The One Hundred and Thirty-second Regi- 
ment of Illinois Infantry was organized at 
Camp Fry, Chicago, and mustered in for 100 
days' service from June 1, 1864. It moved 
June 6 for Columbus, Ky., and arrived on the 
8th. It was sent to Paducah, 111., where it 
remained till its term expired, when it moved 
to Chicago, and was mustered out October 17 
1864. It had fifteen men from Du Page 
County. 



COMPANY c. 
Ufford, Charles, Naperville, enlisted May 31. 

COMPANY H. 

Sedgwick, John A., Naperville, Captain; date of 
rank June 1, 1864. 
Rook, Stephen, Naperville; recruit. 

COMPANY I. 

Herrick, Herrold C., Naperville, Sergeant, enlist- 
ed May 16, 1864. 

Wright, William P., Naperville, Corporal, enlist- 
ed May 19, 1864. 

Bickford, Levi F., Wheaton, Corporal, enlisted 
May 17, 1864. 

Bunn, Isaac H., Warrenville, enlisted May 18, 
1864. 

Conklin, Lewis, Naperville, enlisted May 17. 1864. 

Denham, George W., Warrenville, enlisted May 
13, 1864. 

Hall, Charles H., Naperville, enlisted May 20, 
1864. 

Hallam, Robert, Naperville, enlisted May 12, 1864. 

Long, Luther, Wheaton, enlisted May 21, 1864. 

McNeal, John, Naperville, enlisted May 20, 1864. 

Sellers, Edward B., Wheaton, enlisted May 18, 
1864. 

Thatcher, Charles D., Naperville, enlisted May 
16, 1864. 

ONE HUNDRED AND FORTY-FIRST REGIMENT. 

The Hundred and Forty-first Regiment of 
Illinois Infantry was mustered into service 
June 16, and mustered out October 10, 1864, it 
being organized for one hundred days' service. 
It had eighty men from Du Page County. 

COMPANY o. 
Town, Albert, Winfleld. 

COLOHEL. 

Bronson, Stephen, Milton. 

CAPTAIN. 

James, Albert S., Danby. 

FIRST LIEUTENANT. 

Churchill, A. Danby. 

SECOND LIEUTENANT. 

McChesney, Joseph R., Danby. 

MUSICIANS. 

Eldridge, David, York. 
Vallette, Edward, Milton. 



HISTORY OF DU PAGE COUNTY. 



121 



I'RIVATKS. 



Ackerman, Miles, Milton; mustered out as Cor- 
poral. 

Bronson, Charles; mustered out as First Sergeant. 

Bird, Henry; mustered out as Corporal. 

Bisbey, Bruce; mustered out as Corporal. 

Barnes, William; mustered out as Corporal. 

Burback, Augustus T., Elgin. 

Churchill, Andrew, Milton. 

Cook, Nathaniel. Milton. 

Cheney, Eugene M., Milton. 

Dodge, Parker C., Downer's Grove. 

De Wolf, Franklin, Milton. 

Doherty, George, Elgin. 

Eldridge, George W., Elgin. 

Efland, Ernst, Milton. 

Edwards, John, York. 

Finnamore, Henry, Milton. 

Ginter, William, Elgin. 

Giblin, Henry, Downer's Grove. 

Gibbons, John J., Elgin. 

Holmes, Alanson N., Milton; mustered out as Cor- 
poral . 

Hockaday, William, Addison. 

Hatch, Henry M., Downer's Grove; promoted 
Sergeant. 

Hennessy. Michael, Milton. 

Hines, Fred, Downer's Grove. 

Hubble, John, Milton. 

Hill, David, Milton. 

Harrington, James H., York. 

Hageman, Francis C., Milton; promoted Assist- 
ant Surgeon. 

Jewell, Andrew, Milton. 

Jamison, Hugh, Milton. 

Johnson, William H., Milton. 

Kane, Thomas, Milton. 

Knutt, Herman, York. 

Kelly, James, Winfield. 

Litchfleld, Cyrenicus W., York; mustered out as 
Sergeant. 

Luke, Robert B., Milton. 

Lichundguth, Michael, Downer's Grove. 

Myers, Edwin R., Milton; mustered out as Ser- 
geant. 

Muzzy, Harrison, Milton. 

McCormic, John, Milton. 

Myers, Charles M., Milton. 

Newton, William C., Milton. 

Nickerson, James D., Milton; mustered out as 
Corporal. 
Peck, Sanford, York. 



Pierce, William H., Bloomingdale. 

Puffer, George W., Downer's Grove; died at Col- 
umbus, Ky., August 19, 1864. 

Peters, John, Elgin. 

Quigley, Adelbert, Milton. 

Rickert, George, Milton; mustered out as Corporal. 

Richardson, Henry, Milton. 

Sandercook, George, Milton. 

Stacy, Philo W., Milton; mustered out as Cor- 
poral. 

Shepherd, William, Downer's Grove. 

Smith, John, Downer's Grove. 
y ;Sabin, Charles A., Milton; mustered out as Cor- 
poral. 

Sprout, William, Milton. 

Steavens, John, Milton. 

Smith, Charles, Milton. 

Thompson, Alexander, Milton. 

Vallette, John O., Milton; promoted Hospital 
Steward. 

Vallette, Henry A., Milton; mustered out as Cor- 
poral. 

Warnock, Benjamin F., Elgin. 

White, James, Milton. 

White, Michael, Milton. 

Wallace, Henry, Downer's Grove. 

Walsh, Thomas, Windfleld. 

Wilson, Alexander, Downer's Grove. 

Weaber, William, York. 

Wing, John P., Milton. 

Young, Andrew, Milton. 

Zeir, Peter, Milton. 

Zerell, Ferdinand, Milton. 

Hagerman, Francis C., Milton; recruit. 

ONE HUNDRED AND FIFTY-SECOND REGIMENT. 

The One Hundred and Fifty-second Regi- 
ment of Illinois Infantry was organized at 
Camp Butler February 18, 1865, for one year, 
and mustered out of service at Memphis, Tenn., 
the following September, on the llth, the war 
having closed before its term had expired. It 
had one man from Du Page County. 

COMPANY o. 
Miller, William R., York. 

ONE HUNDRED AND FIFTY-THIRD REGIMENT. 

The One Hundred and Fifty-third Regiment 
of Illinois Infantry was for one year's service. 



122 



HISTORY" OF DU PAGE COUNTY. 



It was organized at Camp Fry, and was mus- 
tered in February 27, 1865. Its chief mission 
was to defend the Nashville & Chattanooga 
Railroad. It was mustered out at Memphis, 
September 15, 1865. The number of men from 
Du Page County in it was seventy-five, as fol- 
lows : 

COMPANY^ c. 

Adams, Hiram, Wayne. 

Barter, Franklin, Wayne ; died at Nashville, 
Tenn., March 16, 1865. 

Barther, William, Bloomingdale. 

Bushe, George, Wayne. 

Chisholm, Oliver P., Bloomingdale; promoted to 
Second Lieutenant. 

Eastman, Edwin, Bloomingdale, Corporal. 

Fowler, Charles, Bloomingdale, Wagoner. 

Grow, Freeman, Bloomingdale. 

Gage, James H., Wayne. 

Hall, Charles A., Wayne. 

Hammond, Abram, Wayne. 

Hemmingway, Charles E., Wayne. 

Johnson, William H., Milton; promoted to Com- 
missary Sergeant. 

King, George T., Wayne. 

McAleer, John, Bloomingdale, Sergeant. 

McKillips, Albert H., Wayne. 

McKillips, William M., Wayne. 

McNaught, Ezekiel, Wayne. 

O'Brien, Henry, Bloomingdale; discharged June 
1, 1865. 

Ray, Lewis C., Bloomingdale, Corporal; absent, 
sick, at muster out of regiment. 

Shaw, Willis, Bloomingdale, Musician. 

Shaw, George W., Bloomingdale. 

Smith, Albert E., Wayne. 

Turner, August, Wayne. 

Wheeler, Danforth M., Bloomingdale. 

COMPANY D. 

Art, James J., York; mustered out July 25, 1865. 

Atherton, Lucius W., York; absent, sick, at mus- 
ter out of regiment. 

Balcom, Truxton H., York. 

Delano, William B., York; mustered out May 24, 
1865. 

Fuller, Alonzo W., York; promoted to Second 
Lieutenant. 

Hulett, John. 

Sperry, William 0., York ; mustered out as Cor- 
poral. 



Tuttle, Francis L., York; mustered out as Cor- 
poral. 

COMPANY E. 

Brown, Alfred, Addison. 
Buckner, Daniel, Winfleld. 
Johnson, Samuel, Addison. 
Nicholas, Samuel, Addison. 
Reddick, Austin, Addison. 
Williams, John H. 

COMPANY I. 

Warnock, Benjamin F., Milton, Sergeant; pro- 
moted to Second Lieutenant. 

Rickert, George J., Milton, Sergeant; mustered 
out as First Sergeant. 

Cheeney, Eugene M., Milton, Sergeant; promoted 
to Quartermaster's Sergeant. 

Howard, Charles H., Milton; absent with leave at 
muster out of regiment. 

Miller, George T., Milton, Corporal, mustered 
out as Sergeant. 

Miner, Ithamer, Milton, Corporal. 

Wilson, Walter S., Winfield, Corporal; mustered 
out as Sergeant. 

Dore, Thomas, Winfield, Corporal. 

Aitkin, Walter, Winfleld. 

Anderson, Andrew, Winfield. 

Brown, Luther D., York. 

Bristol, Peleg, York. 

Bristol, Augustus, York. 

Bphlander, Philip G., Milton. 

Bohlander, Henry, Milton. 

Boardman, Albert, Winfield. 

Cleveland, Sylvester J., Milton. 

Denham, Robert, Winfield. 

Ginter, William, Milton; wagoner. 

Lewis, Fletcher, Milton. 

Moore, Oscar, Milton. 

O'Brien, Thomas, Winfield. 

Olsen, Sinert, Winfield. 

Perkins, William F., Winfield. 

Platt, William T., Milton; discharged July 16, 
1865, for disability. 

Ranston, S., York; discharged August 31, 1865, 
for disability. 

Stephen, Archibald, Milton. 

Sprout, John, Milton. 

Soler, John Dexter, Winfield. 

Tansel, Rand, Milton; absent, sick, at muster out 
of regiment. 

Town, Albert S., Winfield. 

Weaver, John, Milton. 

Walau, Henry, Milton. 



HISTORY OF DU PAGE COUNTY, 



123 



Wilson, Elliot, Winfield. 

Young, Andrew, Milton ; mustered out as Cor- 
poral. 

ONE HUNDRED AND FIFTY-SIXTH REGIMENT. 

The One Hundred and Fifty-sixth .Regiment 
of Illinois Infantry were enlisted for one year. 
It was mustered into service at Camp Fry 
March 9, 1865, and was detailed to guard the 
railroad between Chattanooga, Tenn., and Dai- 
ton, Ga., and subsequently to do patrol duty at 
Memphis. It was mustered out at Springfield, 
111., in September, 1865. It had ninety-nine men 
from Du Page Count}- in its ranks as follows : 

COMPANY A. 

MUSICIAN. 

Zase, Andrew, Addison, enlisted February 18, 
1865; mustered out September 20, 1865. 

PRIVATES. 

Alexander, Samuel, Addison, February 18, 1865; 
mustered out September 20, 1865. 

Berry, Washington, Addison, February 18, 1865; 
mustered out September 20, 1865. 

Breese, James M., Addison, February 18, 1865; 
mustered out September 20, 1865. 

Durfey, Jefferson, Addison, February 18, 1865; 
mustered out September 20, 1865. 

Killey, Francis M., Addison, February 18, 1865; 
mustered out September 20, 1865. 

Stowers, Robert W., Addison, February 18, 1865; 
absent, sick, at muster out of regiment. 

COMPANY D. 
CAPTAIN. 

Blanchard, William, Downer's Grove, date of 
rank March 9, 1865; resigned June 14, 1865. 



TIRST LIEUTENANTS. 



Bard, Reuben W., Naperville, date of rank March 
9, 1865; resigned May 81, 1865. 

Hudson, David G., date of rank June 12. 1865; 
mustered out September 20, 1865. 

SECOND LIEUTBNANrs. 

Mertz, Solomon E., Lisle, date of rank March 9, 
1865; resigned June 13, 1865. 

Wright, William P., Naperville, date of rank 
June 31, 1865; promoted from Sergeant, then Cap- 
tain; mustered out September 20, 1865. 



8EBGEAXTS. 

Heillegass, William H., Naperville, enlisted Feb- 
ruary 25, 1865; mustered out September 20, 1865, as 
First Sergeant. 

Crampton, William M., Naperville, enlisted March 
1, 1865; absent at muster out of regiment. 

Hall, George, Naperville, enlisted February 25, 
1865; mustered out September 20, 1865. 

Brown. Jones B., Downer's Grove, February 25, 
1865; mustered out May 16, 1865. 

CORPORALS. 

Weaver, Harvey, Naperville, enlisted February 
25, 1865; mustered out September 20, 1865, as Ser- 
geant. 

Dudley, Edward C., Lisle, enlisted February 25, 
1865; mustered out September 20, 1865, as Sergeant. 

Knauss, George F., Lisle; enlisted February 25, 
1865; mustered out September 20, 1865. 

Thatcher, Charles T., Naperville; enlisted Febru- 
ary 25, 1865; mustered out September 20, 1865. 

Kulp, George J., Naperville; enlisted February 5, 
1865; mustered out September 20, 1865. 

Wilson, Alexander, Downer's Grove; enlisted Feb- 
ruary 25, 1865; mustered out September 20, 1865. 

Rich, Lewis M., Downer's Grove; enlisted March 
1, 1865; mustered out September 20, 1865. 

Miller, Levi, Naperville; enlisted February 25, 
1865; mustered out September 20, 1865. 



Shepherd, Ralph A., Downer's Grove; enlisted 
February 24, 1865; mustered out September 20, 1865. 

Aaron, Julius, Naperville; enlisted March 1 ; mus- 
tered out May 20, 1865, as private. 

WAGONER. 

Esher, Martin E., Lisle; enlisted February 24, 
1865; mustered out September 20, 1865. 



Atzel, John, Downer's Grove, March 1, 1865. 

Atwood, William, Downer's Grove, February 24, 
1865; died, date and place unknown. 

Berry, Charles H., Downer's Grove, March 2, 
1865; mustered out February 20, 1865. 

Bateman, John W., Downer's Grove, February 24, 
1865. 

Brown, David, Downer's Grove, February 25, 1865. 

Bapst, Lewis, Downer's Grove, February 29. 

Compte, Eugene, Naperville, February 25. 

Craigmile, Alexander, Downer's Grove, February 
25, 1865. 



134 



HISTORY OF DU PAGE COUNTY. 



Chomann, Jacob, Lisle, February 25, 180"). 

Drew, Robert, Lisle, February 25, 1865. 

Davenport, Oscar, Downer's Grove, March 1, 1865; 
absent at muster out of regiment. 

Essington, Thomas, Lisle, February 25, 1865. 

Ebberly, John B., Lisle, February 24, 1865. 

Flisher, John, Downer's Grove, March 1, 1865. 

Getsh, Anton, Naperville, February 25, 1865. 

Grass, Frederick, Naperville, February 25, 1865. 

Gushart, David, Naperville, February 25, 1865. 

Good, Robert G., Lisle, February 25, 1865; mus- 
tered out May 13, 1865. 

Grassley, Charles, Lisle, February 25, 1865. 

Hintz, Frederick, Downer's Grove, February 24, 
1865. 

Hines, Frederick, Downer's Grove, February 25, 
1865. 

Hubbard, Charles H., Naperville, February 25, 
1865. 

Heim, Henry, Naperville, February 25, 1865. 

Holderer, Christian, Naperville, ^February 25, 
1865. 

Houser, Milton L., Lisle, February 25, 1865. 

Heittler, John, Lisle, February 25, 1865. 

Houser, William, Naperville, February 25, 1865. 

Hammer, Peter, Lisle, February 25, 1865. 

Hinderlong, Christian, Lisle, February 25, 1865. 

Kreyder, Charles, Downer's Grove, March 1, 
1865; mustered out as Corporal. 

Kochley, Joseph, Naperville, February 25, 1865. 

Kline, Jacob, Downer's Grove, February 25, 1865. 

Kreyder, John, Downer's Grove, February 24, 
1865. 

Kline, William, Lisle, February 25, 1865. 

Lent, Lawrence, Naperville, February 25, 1865; 
mustered out as Corporal. 

Lienbundguth, Michael, Downer's Grove, Febru- 
ary 24, 1865. 

Mattis, Sebastian, Naperville, February 25, 1865. 

Mattis, Joseph, Naperville, February 25, 1865. 

Maynard, Levi, Downer's Grove, February 24, 
1865. 

Mertz, Wellington, Downer's Grove, February 24, 
1865; mustered out May 26, 1865. 

Netzley, John W., Lisle, February 25, 1865. 

Oldfield, Joshua, Downer's Grove, February 27, 
1865. 

Porter, Alva B., Downer's Grove, March 2, 1865. 

Peter or Petus, Frederick, Downer's Grove, March 
1, 1865. 

Riddler, William, Naperville, February 25, 1865. 

Rickert, Alexander M., Naperville, February 25, 
1865; mustered out September 16, 1865. 



Rickert, Lichard, Lisle, February 25, 1865; absent 
at muster out of regiment. 

Rehin, Andrew, Downer's Grove, February 24, 
1865. 

Smith, George, Jr., Downer's Grove, March 11, 
1865. 

Smith, Charles, Downer's Grove, March 2, 1865. 

Schmidt, Frederick, Naperville, February 25, 
1865. 

Stoner, Frank A., Naperville, February 35, 1865. 

Stover, Edmund, Lisle, February 22, 1865. 

Shaffer, Alfred, Lisle, February 25, 1865. 

Stroule, George, Lisle, February 25, 1865. 

Strauss, Albert, Lisle, February 25, 1865. 

Shephard, William, Downer's Grove, February 
25,1865. 

Turner, George, Naperville, February 25, 1865. 

Ulrich, Henry, Naperville, March 1, 1865. 

Vogle, Nelson, Lisle, February 25, 1865. 

Wagner, Naperville, February 25, 1865. 

Wheatley, Frederick, Lisle, February 25, 1865. 

Whitney, William C., Lisle, February 25, 1865. 

Wetten, Valentine, Downer's Grove, February 25, . 
1865. 

Yender, George, Lisle, February 25, 1865. 

Yund, Simon E., Naperville, March 1, 1865; mus- 
tered out August 25, 1865, as Musician. 

COMPANY E. 
PBIVATK. 

Kaley, Jefferson, Winfleld, February 28, 1865. 

COMPANY F. 
PRIVATES. 

Cragg, Edward, Winfield, February 28, 1865. 

Cragg, George H., Winfield, February 25, 1865; 
mustered out May 12, 1865. 

Griswold, David M., Winfield, February 28, 1865; 
mustered out May 27, 1865. 

Misener, Merit, Winfield, February 26, 1865. 

COMPANY O. 
PBIVATE. 

Campbell, Garrett, Lisle, March 1, 1865. 
The date of the enlistment of each soldier is 
affixed to his name, and also of mustering out, 
when discharged before the term for which he 
enlisted. 

COGSWELL'S BATTERY. 

West, Louis, Naperville, enlisted February 25; 
mustered in April 6. 1864; mustered out as Sergeant. 



HISTORY OF DU PAGE COUNTY. 



125 



PETTIT a BATTERY. 

Pettit's Battery had one man from Du Page 
County : 

Wesley, Christian, Milton, enlisted in 1862; served 
three years and eleven days; wounded. 

Barker's Dragoons had three men from Du 
Page County : 

Litchfleld, Cyrenius W., York. 
Reihansperger, Lawrence, Winfield. 
Reiley, John, Winfleld. 

FIRST ARTILLERY. 

The First Regiment of Light Artillery had 
three men from Du Page County enlisted in it : 

COMPANY D. 

Schuerman, Jacob, Naperville; mustered in July 
30; discharged September 20, 1861. 

COMPANY M. 

Andreuss, Charles B., York, enlisted and mustered 
in October 14, 1864; died at Camp Butler November 
20, 1864. 

Darst, Jonathan H., Winfield, enlisted and mus- 
tered in October 26, 1864. 

SECOND ARTILLERY. 

The Second Artillery had eighteen men from 
Du Page County : 

COMPANY I. 

Rich, Judson, Naperville, Second Lieutenant; pro- 
moted to Captain. 

Ward, George T., Naperville, First Lieutenant; 
date of rank December 9, 1864. 

Haight, Charles D., Naperville, Quartermaster 
Sergeant; promoted to Second Lieutenant. 

Stolp, Rufus, Naperville, enlisted October 25, 1861; 
re-enlisted as veteran; promoted to Sergeant. 

Stolp, Rufus S., Naperville, enlisted January 1, 
1864; mustered out as Sergeant. 

Black, Neal J., Naperville, enlisted December 12, 
1861; mustered out as Corporal. 

Blackstun, Henry, Naperville, enlisted December 
12, 1861. 

Potter, Robert K., Naperville, enlisted December 
12, 1861. 

COMPANY K. 

Pool, Francis K., Downer's Grove. 
Young, John, Downer's Grove; both enlisted and 
mustered in October 18, 1864, as recruits. 



COMPANY L. 

Gager, Charles M., Brush Hill. 

Coe, Samuel A., Downer's Grove; both enlisted 
February 15, and mustered in the 28th, 1862. 

Coffin, Menzo C., Downer's Grove. 

Fox, Herman M., Downer's Grove; both enlisted 
and mustered in October 18, 1864. 

Ireland, John, York, enlisted and mustered in Feb- 
ruary 28, 1862; discharged March 31, 1864, for dis- 
ability. 

Reynolds, Allen, Downer's Grove, enlisted and 
mustered in February 28, 1862 ; re-enlisted as 
veteran. 

Smith, Otis A., York, enlisted and mustered In 
February 28, 1862; re-enlisted as veteran. 

Buck, Thomas, Winfield, unassigned recruit; en- 
listed and mustered in October 25, 1864. 

SECOND CAVALRY REGIMENT. 

The Second Cavalry Regiment was mustered 
into service August 12, 1861, and mustered out 
of service at San Antonio, Texas, November 24, 
1865. It had one man from Du Page County. 

COMPANY M. 

Preston, Charles, Milton, enlisted June 1; mus- 
tered in October 16, 1864. 

THIRD CAVALRY REGIMENT. 

This regiment was organized at Camp Butler, 
111., in August, 1861, and mustered out at 
Springfield, October 13, 1865. It had four men 
from Du Page County. 

COMPANY H. 

Hubbard, William, enlisted February 25; mus- 
tered in the 27th, 1865; promoted to Sergeant. 

Fischer, James H., Winfield, enlisted February 
28; mustered in March 1, 1865. 

COMPANY I. 

Backus, Myron, Addison, enlisted and mustered in 
February 28, 1865. 

COMPANY K. 

Milner, Henry C., York, enlisted and mustered in 
March 7, 1865. 

FOURTH CAVALRY REGIMENT. 

This regiment was mustered into service at 
Ottawa August 6, 1861, and mustered out in 



126 



HISTORY OF DU PAGE COUNTY. 



November, 1864. It had two men from Du 

Page County. 

COMPANY c. 

Avery, John, Milton, enlisted August 24, 1861; 
mustered out November 3, 1864, as Sergeant. 

Avery, Frank H., Milton, enlisted August 29, 1861; 
discharged April 20, 1862, for disability. 

SIXTH CAVAfRY REGIMENT. 

This regiment was organized at Camp Butler, 
111., November 19, 1861, and mustered out at 
Selma, Ala., November 5, 1865. It had two 
men from Du Page County. 

COMPANY B. 

McKinny, John H., Milton, enlisted and mustered 
in March 14, 1865. 

Rinehard, John, Milton, enlisted and mustered in 
March 21, 1865. 

EIGHTH CAVALRY REGIMENT. 

The Eighth Cavalry Regiment was organ- 
ized at St. Charles, 111., in September, 1861, by 
Col. Farns worth, and mustered in the 18th. In 
October it moved to Washington, and in De- 
cember, to Alexandria, Va. The following 
March, it joined Gen. Surnner's division in his 
advance on Manassas, after which it guarded 
the Rappahannock till May. On the 4th, it 
moved to Williamsburg under command of Gen. 
Stoneham. June 26, it held the enemy under 
Jackson in check at Mechanicsville, after which 
battle a change of base was made by the Union 
forces, in accomplishing which the Eighth pro- 
tected the rear of the army by successful skir- 
mishes with the enemy. At Malvern Hill, it 
led the attack which was made on that place. 
August 30, 1862. it embarked at Yorktown and 
landed at Alexandria the 1st of September, 
from which place it took the offensive and capt- 
ured 220 prisoners, two guns and the colors of 
the Twelfth Virginia Regiment. 

It was next engaged at Antietam, and next 
at Martinsburg, after which it led the advance 
of the Army of the Potomac almost constantly, 
skirmishing with the enemy, till it reached Fal- 



mouth November 23, 1862, after which it was 
on picket duty during the active operations 
that immediately followed. 

The next year, 1863, its earnest work was 
redoubled, and the actions in which it was 
engaged may be enumerated as follows : Sul- 
phur Springs, April 14 ; battle near Warrenton, 
the 17th ; Rapidan, May 1 ; Northern Neck, the 
14th ; Borstly Ford, June 9 ; Upperville, the 
21st ; Fairville, Penn., the 30th ; Gettysburg, 
July 1. It claims the honor of firing the first 
shot at this decisive battle ; Williamsport, Md., 
the 6th ; Boonsboro, the 8th ; Funkstown, the 
10th ; Falling Waters, the 14th ; Chester Gap, 
the 21st ; Sandy Hook, the 21st ; near Cul- 
pepper, Va., August 1 ; Brady's Station, the 
4th ; a raid to Falmouth, the 30th ; Pony Moun- 
tain, September 13 ; Liberty Mills, the 21st ; 
Brady's Station, October 11 ; Manassas, the 
15th ; Warrenton, the 30th ; Rexleysville, No- 
vember 8 ; Mitchell's, the 12th, and Ely's Ford, 
the 30th. 

During the war, the following is a summary 
of the results of their arms, from official rec- 
ords : 

Captured, wounded and killed of the enemy, 
3,946 ; slaves liberated, 3,000 ; horses killed or 
captured, 4,110 ; mules killed or captured, 661 ; 
sheep killed or captured, 1,400 ; cattle killed or 
captured, 2,200 ; wagons captured, 280 ; smug- 
gling crafts destroyed. 208 ; 10 tons of ammu- 
nition ; 7 tons of leather, and 16 tons of pork 
captured ; 7 colors and 6 guns taken, added to 
which were cereals and small arms, valued at 
$2,000,000. These men were among the best 
soldiers in the war, whose bodies were hardened 
into clear muscle and bone, by their unceasing 
activity, made effective by the indomitable 
courage that -held their uplifted arms to the 
service. 

This regiment was mustered out at Benton 
Barracks, Mo., July 17, 1865, and ordered to 
Chicago, where its remnant, less than one-third 
of its original number, received its final pay- 



HISTORY OF DU PAGE COUNTY. 



127 



ment and discharge. It had 197 men from Du 
Page County in its ranks. 

MAJORS. 

Kelley, ElishaS., Milton; date of rank December 5, 
1862; resigned May 23, 1863. 

CHAPLAINS. 

Matlock, Lucius C., Wheaton; date of rank Octo- 
ber 8, 1861 ; mustered out August 25, 1862. 

NON-COMMISSIONED STAFF. 
Cllinr BUOLEBB. 

Bartholomew, George W., Winfield; re-enlisted 
as veteran January 1, 1864. 

VETERAN NON-COMMISSIONED STAFF. 

QUARTERMASTER SERGEANT. 

Gates, Robert W., Bloomingdale; enlisted Janu- 
ary 1, 1864; promoted to Regimental Quartermaster. 

COMPANY A. 

Emery, James H., Wheaton; enlisted September 
8, 1861; discharged April 24, 1862. 

COMPANY D. 

CAPTAI18. 

Gerhart, Jacob S., Bloomingdale ; date of rank Sep- 
tember 18, 1861 ; resigned July 28, 1862. 

SECOND LIEUTENANTS. 

Verbeck, Carlos H., Bloomingdale; date of rank 
September 18, 1861; promoted to First Lieutenant; 
term expired February 1, 1865. 

Dunning, Andrew, Addison; date of rank March 3, 
1865; promoted to First Lieutenant; mustered out 

July 17, 1865. 

mourn* 

Wallis, George, Bloomingdale; enlisted August 20, 
1861 ; discharged February 27, 1862, for disability. 

Clark, Charles L., Bloomingdale; enlisted Septem- 
ber 4, 1861 ; re-enlisted as veteran. 

CORPORALS. 

Dunning, Andrew, Addison; enlisted August 28, 
1861 ; re-enlisted as veteran. 

Farr, Asa W., Bloomingdale; enlisted August 28, 
1861 ; mustered out September 28, 1864, as Sergeant. 

Coe, Curtiss H., Bloomingdale: enlisted August 
20, 1861; died at Alexandria, Va., May, 1862. 

Durland, Garrett P., Bloomingdale; enlisted Au- 
gust 28, 1861; re-enlisted as veteran. 

PRIVATES. 

Avery, Daniel J., Wayne, September 9, 1861: 
transferred to Company M. 



Ackley, John W., Bloomingdale, September 2, 
1861; re-enlisted as veteran January 1, 1864; mus- 
tered out as Corporal. 

Asendorf, Albert, Addison, September 12; mus- 
tered out September 28, 1864. 

Bunnell, Marcus, Bloomingdale, September 9, 
1861 ; re-entisted as veteran November 30, 1863 ; 
mustered out as Corporal. 

Baltz, William, Bloomingdale, August 24, 1861: 
transferred to Company M. 

Churchill, Amos, Milton, August 30, 1861 ; trans- 
ferred to Company M. 

Clark, Morgan L., Bloomingdale, September 5, 
1861; discharged in 1862; disability. 

Cheesman, George B., Addison, September 17, 
1861. 

Chapman, Thomas, Bloomingdale, August 20, 
1861; discharged February, 1862; disability. 

Douglass, James, Bloomingdale, August 20, 1861; 
re-enlisted as veteran November 30, 1863; mustered 
out as Wagoner. 

Deibert, Jacob, Bloomingdale, September 4, 1861 ; 
mustered out September 28, 1864. 

Driscoll, Obadiah, Wayne, September 9, 1861; 
discharged July 31, 1862; disability. 

Eggleston, Surrial G., Addison, September 14, 
1861; discharged March 19, 1863; wounds. 

Ehle, Austin J., Bloomingdale, August 30, 1861 ; 
mustered out September 28, 1864. 

Ehle, John H., Bloomingdale, September 16, 1861; 
died at Alexandria, Va., April, 1862. 

Eggist, Christopher, Bloomingdale, September 16, 
1861 ; transferred to Company M. 

Fink, Barney H., Addison, September 4, 1861; 
discharged November 12, 1862; disability. 

Fournier, Euseba, Bloomingdale, September 5, 
1861 ; re-enlisted as veteran January 1, 1864 ; mus- 
tered out as Corporal. 

Gannon, Thomas, Bloomingdale, September 3, 
1861 ; re-enlisted as veteran November 30, 1863; 
mustered out as Corporal. 

Gerhardt, Livingston E., Bloomingdale, Septem- 
ber 3, 1861; prisoner of war, reported dead, dropped 
from rolls. 

Goodwin, William W., Bloomingdale, August 30, 
1861; discharged November 26, 1862; disability. 

Giedman, Henry, Addison, August 28, 1861; mus- 
tered out September 28, 1864, as Corporal. 

Hackendorf, Henry, Bloomingdale, August 28, 
1861; discharged February 4, 1863; disability. 

Kollinan, Henry, Bloomingdale, September 7, 
1861; transferred to Company M. 



128 



HISTORY OF DU PAGE COUNTY. 



Kohn, Frederick, Bloomingdale, September 17, 
1861 ; transferred to Company M. 

Landon, Allen S., Bloomingdale, August 20, 1861; 
mustered out September 28, 1864. 

Landon, Charles, Bloomingdale, August 30, 1861 ; 
re-enlisted as veteran January 1, 1864; mustered out 
as Corporal. 

Laning, Dedrick, York, September 17, 1861; re- 
enlisted as veteran December 20, 1863; mustered out 
as Saddler. 

Muzzy, Emeric O., Bloomingdale, September 17, 
1861; died at Alexandria, Va., February, 1862. 

Meachem, Sylvester, Bloomingdale, September 17, 
1861 ; mustered out September 28, 1865. 

Mund, Dedrick, York, September 9, 1861 ; died at 
Andersonville Prison September 6, 1864 ; number of 
grave, 7,989. 

Mclntosh, Hugh, Bloomingdale, September 17, 
1861 ; re-enlisted as a veteran November 30, 1863 ; 
mustered out as Corporal. 

Nash, DeWitt, Bloomingdale, September 7, 1861; 
mustered out September 28, 1864. 

Northrup, Albert, Bloomingdale, September 4 ; 
mustered out as Corporal. 

Noon, John, Bloomingdale, September 9, 1861 ; 
re-enlisted as veteran January 1, 1864: mustered out 
as Sergeant. 

Pierce, William D., Bloomingdale, August 20, 
1861 ; transferred to Company H. 

Pflarger, August, Bloomingdale, September 2, 
1861 ; re-enlisted as veteran November 30, 1863 ; 
mustered out as Sergeant. 

Rickert, Jacob D., Bloomingdale, August 20, 1861; 
mustered out May 20, 1862, prisoner of war. 

Rave, William D., Bloomingdale, September 9, 
1861; discharged in 1862. 

Rode, Ernst, York, September 9, 1861 ; discharged 
May, 1862, disability. 

Sedgwick, Estus P., Bloomingdale, September 2, 
1861 ; died at Alexandria, Va., March, 1862. 

Segus, Henry, Bloomingdale, September 5, 1861; 
killed at Culpepper, Va., August, 1863. 

Teimer, Herman, Addiaon, September 7, 1861; 
discharged July 31, 1862, disability. 

Thorne, Alexander P., Wayne, September 16, 
1861; mustered out September 28, 1864. 

Volke, John, Addison, September 5, 1861 ; died at 
Washington, D. C., October 26, 1862. 

Weaber, Benjamin F., Bloomingdale, Septem- 
ber 5, 1861; killed near Boonesboro, Md., July 8, 
1863. 

Weaber, William, Bloomingdale, September 12, 
1861 ; discharged November 26, 1862, disability. 



Wilk, Henry, Bloomingdale, September 9, 1861; 
re-enlisted as veteran January 1, 1864. 

Wedmeir, Henry, Bloomingdale, September 4, 
1861; re-eniisted as veteran November 30, 1863. 

Woodworth, Henry, Wayne, September 16, 1861 ; 
re-enlisted as veteran. 

Way, Edmund, Bloomingdale, August 25, 1861; 
transferred to Company M. 

Wright, Sylvester, Bloomingdale, September 17; 
mustered out September 28, 1864. 

Zooh, Frederick, Bloomingdale, September 7, 
1861; died at Baltimore Cross Roads, Va., in 1862. 

YETEBAKS. 

Bye, William, Bloomingdale, November 30, 1863; 
mustered out as Sergeant. 

Clarke, Charles S., Bloomingdale, January 1, 1864; 
mustered out as Sergeant. 

Dunning, Andrew, Addison, January 1, 1864; pro- 
moted First Lieutenant. 

Durland, Garrett B., Bloomingdale, January 1, 
1864; mustered out as Sergeant. 

Duneka, Henry, Bloomingdale, Dec. 20, 1863. 

Fehrman, Lewis, Bloomingdale, December 20, 
1863; mustered out as Corporal. 

Fehrman, August, Addison, January 1, 1864; ab- 
sent, sick, at mustering out of regiment. 

Rave, August, Bloomingdale, January 1, 1864. 

RECRUITS. 

B W., Bloomingdale, October 13, 1863. 

Brandt, , Bloomingdale, January 20, 1863; 

discharged January 10, 1865; disability. 

Clark, Morgan L., Bloomingdale, February 3, 
1864. 

Dunning, Samuel N., Addison, February 20. 

Elbert, William, Addison, October 8, 1864. 

Miner, William, Bloomingdale, October 14. 

Reinhardt, Henry, Addison, October 8, 1864. 

COMPANY E. 
CAPTAINS. 

Kelly, Elisha S., Milton, date of rank September 
18, 1861 ; promoted Major. 

Jones, Marcellus E., Wheaton, date of rank Oc- 
tober 10, 1864; promoted from Sergeant to Second 
Lieutenant, then First Lieutenant; mustered out 
July 17, 1865. 

Buck, Daniel N., Naperville, date of rank De- 
cember 5, 1862; promoted from First Sergeant to 
First Lieutenant; term expired October 10, 1864. 

FIRST LIEUTENANTS. 

Flagg, Benjamin L., Milton, date of rank Sep- 
tember 18, 1861 ; resigned July 15, 1862. 



HISTORY OF DU PAGE COUNTY. 



129 



Riddler, Alexander McS. S., date of rank Octo- 
ber 10, 1864; promoted from Corporal to Second 
Lieutenant; mustered out July 17, 1865. 

SECOND LIEUTENANTS. 

Taylor, Woodbury M., Milton, date of rank Sep- 
tember 18, 1861; promoted First Lieutenant; pro- 
moted second time Captain Company L by Presi- 
dent April 11, 1864. 

Whitaker, Owen, Milton, date of rank December 
8, 1864; promoted from Corporal; resigned June 9, 
1865. 

Wayne, Edward, Naperville, date of rank June 20, 
1865; mustered out as Sergeant July 17, 1865. 

QUARTEUMA8TEU SERGEANT. 

Foster, George, Milton, enlisted September 5, 
1861; re-enlisted as veteran. 

SERGEANTS. 

Smith, Samuel W., Naperville, enlisted Septem- 
ber 10, 1861; promoted Sergeant Major. 

Hines, Thomas S., Naperville, enlisted Septem- 
ber 10, 1861; mustered out September 28, 1864; 
term expired. 

Mott, Meritt, Milton, enlisted September 5, 1861; 
discharged April 18, 1862; disability. 

CORPORALS. 

Harnes, Benjamin F., Naperville, enlisted Sep- 
tember 10, 1861; discharged February 15, 1863 as 
Sergeant; wounds. 

Oberhallsen, Samuel, Naperville, enlisted Septem- 
ber 10, 1861; discharged November 28, 1862; disa- 
bility. 

Fosha, George, Naperville, enlisted September 10, 
1861 ; re-enlisted as veteran. 

Crosby, Frank, Milton, enlisted September 5, 
1861; discharged October 8, 1864; term expired. 

Ackley, Frank M., Milton, enlisted September 5, 
1861 ; re-enlisted as veteran. 

McNorth, George S., Winfleld, enlisted Septem- 
ber 5, 1861; re-enlisted as veteran. 

BUGLEH. 

Lund, Henry, Milton, enlisted September 5, 1861 ; 
promoted Chief Bugler. 

FARRIER. 

Bond, Samuel, Naperville, enlisted September 13, 
1861; re-enlisted as veteran. 

PRIVATES. 

Benjamin, Henry H., Lisle, September 10, 1861; 
mustered out September 28, 164; term expired. 

Brooks, Edwin H., Milton, September 10, 1861; 
re-enlisted as veteran; mustered out as Corporal. 



Bartholomew, George W., Warrenville, Septem- 
ber 10; promoted Chief Bugler. 

Burnham, Remembrace, Bloomingdale, Septem- 
ber 5, 1861 ; re-enlisted as veteran. 

Cooley, Herbert, Wheaton, September 5, 1861; 
re-enlisted as veteran; mustered out as Sergeant. 

Corbet, Clark S., Milton, September 5, 1861 ; dis- 
charged November 15, 1862; disability. 

Chadwick, William H., Milton, September 5, 
1861; re-enlisted as veteran; mustered out as Corp- 
oral. 

Churchill, William H., York, September 5, 1861; 
mustered out September 28, 1864. 

Ditzler, Eli H., Naperville, September 10, 1861; 
mustered out September 28, 1864. 

Davis, Samuel, Milton, September 5, 1861; mus- 
tered out September 28, 1864. 

Dense, Darwin, Danby, September 14, 1861; re- 
enlisted as veteran January 1, 1864; mustered out 
as Sergeant. 

Dissinger, Aaron, Naperville, September 17, 1861 ; 
discharged April 21, 1862; disability. 

Dodge, Horace O., Milton; September 18, 1861; 
mustered out September 28, 1864; term expired. 

Foster, James, Winfleld, September 5, 1861; dis- 
charged July 25, 1863. 

Franks, Benjamin, Naperville, September 14, 
1861 ; re-enlisted as veteran. 

Flagg, Sewell, Milton, September 14, 1861; Ser- 
geant; killed near Manassas, Va., October 15, 1863. 

Farrer, Judson, Downer's Grove, September 17, 
1861; died at Alexandria, Va., June 18, 1863; 
wounds. 

Guio, Augustus, Milton, September 5, 1861; dis- 
charged January 8, 1863; disability. 

Jacob, Gates, Downer's Grove, September 18, 
1861; discharged November 28, 1862; disability. 

Heim, George, Lisle, September 17; re-enlisted as 
veteran January 1, 1864; mustered out as Sergeant. 

Hardy, Edgar A., Milton, September 5, 1861; re- 
enlisted as veteran January 1, 1864; mustered out as 
Sergeant. 

Hart, Horace, Milton, September 5, 1861; re- 
enlisted as veteran January 1, 1864. 

Hymes, Jacob, Naperville, September 5, 1861; 
discharged April 16, 1862; disability. 

Hale, James O., Winfleld, September 5, 1861; re- 
enlisted as veteran November 30, 1863; mustered out 
as Corporal. 

Hughes, Morgan, Naperville, September 17, 1861; 
re-enlisted as veteran January 1, 1864; mustered out 
as Bugler. 



130 



HISTORY OF DU PAGE COUNTY. 



Hector, Frank, Milton, September 13, 1861; trans- 
ferred to Company A. 

Howell, Charles, Downer's Grove, September 18, 
1861; mustered out September 28, 1864, as Cor- 
poral. 

Havens, John W., Downer's Grove, September 
18, 1861; re-enlisted as veteran; promoted Corporal; 
absent, sick, at muster out of regiment. 

Hyde, James, Naperville, September 17, 1861; re- 
enlisted as veteran January 1, 1864. 

Jewell, Solomon W., Milton, Septembers, 1861; 
discharged November 25, 1862; wounds. 

Jones, William, Milton, September 5, 1861; dis- 
charged January 23, 1863, as Sergeant; wounds. 

Jepperson, Herman K., Warrenville, September 
18, 1861; re-enlisted as veteran January 1, 1864; 
died of starvation February 21, 1865, in rebel hospi- 
tal at Danville, Va. 

Kockley, Jacob, Naperville, September 18, 1861 ; 
re-enlisted as veteran January 1, 1864; died at 
Washington, D. C., August 10, 1864; wounds. 

Kelly, Benton J., Milton, September 17; mus- 
tered out September 28, 1864. 

Kinzie, AbramA., Napervilie, September 17, 1861; 
re-enlisted as veteran January 1, 1864. 

Loser, William, Naperville, September 17, 1861; 
re-enlisted as veteran January 1, 1864. 

Loser, John, Naperville, September 17, 1861: re- 
enlisted as veteran January 1, 1864; mustered out as 
Corporal. 

Mott, Gilbert, Milton, September 5, 1861; re-en- 
listed as veteran January 1, 1864. 

Meachem, Frank, Milton, September 5, 1861 ; dis- 
charged December 5, 1862. 

Mertz, Franklin B., Naperville, September 10, 
1861; mustered out September 28, 1864; term ex- 
pired. 

Mills, George A., Milton, September 14, 1861; 
died at Alexandria, Va., February 22, 1862. 

McCauley, Augustus, Naperville, September 17, 
1861; mustered out September 28, 1864. 

McMillan, Daniel, Downer's Grove, September 18, 
1861; discharged September 22, 1862; disability. 

Plumer, Benjamin, York, September 18, 1861; 
promoted Regimental Commissary Sergeant. 

Poison, Emerick, Milton, September 14, 1861 ; dis- 
charged February 28, 1863; disability. 

Potter, Nelson A., Milton, September 5, 1861; 
transferred to Company A. 

Plant, Roswell. Naperville, September 14; re-en- 
listed as veteran January 1, 1864. 

Pinches, William, Downer's Grove; mustered out 
September 28, 1864, as Corporal. 



Perry, John, Downer's Grove, September 17, 1861 ; 
discharged March 21, 1864. 

Persem, George, Naperville, September 17, 1861; 
killed Funkstown, Md., July 10, 1863. 

Ringman, George, Milton, September 5, 1861; 
killed Morton's Ford, Va., October 11, 1863. 

Rogers, Francis A., Downer's Grove, September 
18, 1861; mustered out September 28, 1864; term ex- 
pired. 

Slyter, Charles, Milton, September 5, 1861; died 
at Alexandria, Va., July 1, 1863; wounds. 

Strouse, Lewis, Lisle, September 10, 1861 ; re-en- 
listed as veteran January 1, 1861; mustered out as 
Corporal. 

Stoner, John, Naperville, September 17, 1861; re- 
enlisted as veteran January 1, 1864. 

Snyder, Daniel, Lisle, September 14, 1861 ; killed 
South Mountain, Md., September 14, 1862. 

Shaeffer, Levi S., Naperville, September 18, 1861; 
discharged October 8, 1864, as Sergeant. 

Stevens, Abraham, Warrenville, September 18, 
1861; discharged February 13, 1863; disability. 

Schuster, Franklin, Milton, September 18, 1861; 
re-enlisted as veteran. 

Tobias, William J., Naperville, September 10, 
1861; re-enlisted as veteran January 1, 1864; 'died at 
Naperville, 111., May 12, 1864. 

Wheeler, Allen, Downer's Grove, September 18, 
1861 

Wentworth, Winfield, Septembers, 1861. 

Weidman, Curtis S., Milton, September 5, 1861; 
mustered out September 28, 1864. 

Wayne, Edward, Naperville, September 17, 1861; 
re-enlisted as veteran January 1, 1864; mustered out 
as First Sergeant; commissionel Second Lieutenant, 
but not mustered. 

Whitaker, Owen, Milton, November 30, 1863; pro- 
moted Sergeant, then Second Lieutenant. 

BEUBU1T8. 

Ashley, Benedict, Downer's Grove, October 18, 
1864. 

Burnham, Oscar D., Naperville, January 10, 1864, 
veteran. 

Britegan, William, Naperville, February 23, 1864; 
absent, sick, at mustering out of regiment. 

Bennett, William, Milton, September 27, 1864. 

Bunn, Henry, Downer's Grove, October 18, 1864. 

Culver, Charles S., Warrenville, Dec. 24, 1864. 

Campbell, John, Naperville, January 1, 1864; died 
at Camp Relief, D. C., July 6, 1864. 

Desenbrock, Henry, Naperville, December 20, 
1863, mustered out; Blacksmith. 



HISTORY OF DU PAGE COUNTY. 



131 



Dixon, Charles G, Downer's Grove, October 18, 
1864. 

Freets, William, Milton, September 9, 1861; dis- 
charged September 18, 1861. 

Graham, James, Naperville, January 10, 1864. 

Gerberick, Levi, Naperville, February 23, 1864. 

Gleason, Watson W., Downer's Grove, October 
18, 1864. 

Hudson, William, Warrenville, December 22, 
1863; died in rebel prison at Richmond, Va. 

Johnson, Oscar, Milton, September 14, 1861, dis- 
charged September 20. 1861. 

Kribill, John, Naperville, December 20, 1863. 

Murray, John, Naperville, January 10, 1864. 

Mertz, Owen, Lisle, February 19, 1864. 

Neff, Joseph, Naperville, January 4, 1864; killed 
at Monocacy, Md., July 30, 1864. 

Robinson, Ashael F., Milton, August 11, 1862; 
re-enlisted as veteran. 

Robinson, Daniel F., Milton, August 11, 1862; re- 
enlisted as veteran. 

Strieker, David, Naperville, December 21, 1863. 

Schaftmetzle, Chas., Naperville, January 1, 1864. 

Statt, .Charles, Downer's Grove, October 18; 1864. 

Wilson, Thomas, Wheaton, February 5, 1864. 

Ward, James A., Warrenville, January 2, 1864. 

Winderburg, Louis, Naperville, Dec. 20, 1863. 

Ward, Charles H., Warrenville, December 24, 
1863; died in District of Columbia July 23, 1864; 
wounds. 

COMPANY P. 

PRIVATES. 

Brown, James, Du Page County, Sept. 4, 1861' 
discharged Sept. 19, 1862; accidental wounds. 

Hawley, Oliver, Du Page County, August 30, 
1861; re-eulisted as veteran January 1, 1864; Ser- 
geant; discharged July 1, 1865. 

NINTH CAVALRY REGIMENT. 

The Ninth Cavalry Regiment was organized 
at Chicago in November, 1861, and mustered 
out at Solma, Ala., October 1, 1865. It had 
three men from Du Page County. 

COMPANY D. 

Toune, Dedrick, Addison, enlisted September 10; 
mustered in the 21st, 1861. 

COMPANY K. 

Bostwick, Henry C., Du Page County, enlisted 
September 10, 1861; discharged September 30, 1862, 
as Sergeant. 



Woodworth, Frank, Bloomingdale, Corporal; en- 
listed September 5, and mustered in October 26, 
1861 ; re-enlisted as veteran. 

TWELFTH CAVALRY. 

After its organization in December, 1861, it 
was promptly sent to Virginia, where, at Win- 
chester, its earnest work began in September, 
1862. It was at Harper's Perry when sur- 
rounded by the rebels, and saved itself from 
capture by cutting its way through their lines, 
escaping into Pennsylvania. It was then joined 
with the Potomac Army, and advanced to Dum- 
fries, Va., where it remained till March, 1863. 
holding the place against the rebel Gen. Stuart. 
It next took part in the famous Stonewall raid, 
a detachment of which, under Col. Davis, 
passed the rear of Lee's army within two miles 
of Richmond. In June, 1863, it was attached 
to the First Division Army Corps, and was in 
active service through the sanguinary campaign 
that followed. It next returned to Chicago and 
recruited to its maximum, when it returned to 
the front, arriving at New Orleans April 1, 1864, 
where it was engaged in picket duty and raid- 
ing till the war was over. It had forty-eight 
men from Du Page County in its ranks. 

COMPANY A. 

Drury, John, Naperville, enlisted January 22, 
1862; died at Camp Butler the following March. 

Muck, Henry, Naperville, enlisted January 9, 
1862, re-enlisted at veteran. 

COMPANY B. 

Miskosaki, Egnes, Naperville; enlisted January 6, 
1862; re-enlisted as veteran. 

COMPANY C. 
CAPTAIN. 

Bronson, Stephen, Wheaton, enlisted and mus- 
tered in February 28, 1862; promoted Major. 

BFCOND LIEUTENANT. 

Ward, George F., Wheaton, enlisted November 
17, 1862; promoted to First Lieutenant. 

Mills, Alexander, First Sergeant, Milton, enlisted 
December 10, 1861; promoted Second Lieutenant 
March 15, 1863; resigned, January 2, 1864. 



132 



HISTORY OF DU PAGE COUNT!'. 



Chadwick, Edwin, Corporal, Milton, enlisted Oc- 
tober 31, 1861; re-enlisted as veteran. 

Paine, Robert E., Milton, enlisted November 30, 
1861. 

Finch, Charles L., Milton, Bugler, enlisted Janu- 
ary 10, 1862; re-enlisted as veteran. 

Standish, Stephen, Lisle, Sergeant, enlisted Octo- 
ber 1, 1861; re-enlisted as veteran. 

Stearns, Benjamin, Winfleld, Blacksmith, enlisted 
December 16, 1861. 

Atkinson, Robert, Wayne, Saddler, enlisted Octo- 
ber 13, 1861. 

Cheeney, E. M., Milton, Wagoner, enlisted No- 
vember 3, 1861 ; discharged October 1, 1862. 

Ackerman, J. D., Milton, enlisted December 27, 
1861. 

Ackerman, S. W., Babcock's Grove, enlisted De- 
cember 24, 1861 ; re-enlisted as veteran. 

Bedford, Franklin, enlisted December 14, 1861; 
promoted to Hospital Steward. 

Bronson, Charles, Milton, enlisted December 31, 
1861 ; discharged for disability. 

Burns, Patrick, Milton, enlisted December 10, 
1861; re-enlisted as veteran. 

Butterfield, Theodore, Milton, enlisted December 
10, 1861; re-enlisted as veteran. 

Cooper, Benjamin, Naperville, unassigned re- 
cruit, enlisted December 29, 1863. 

Ensworth, Edgar, Milton, enlisted January 1, 
1862. 

Finch, Elisha W., Milton, enlisted December 17, 
1861; re-enlistsd as veteran. 

Hickey, Ball, Milton, enlisted December 12, 1861; 
discharged October 1, 1882. 

Higgins, Owen, Wayne, enlisted December 13, 
1861; became prisoner of war and was discharged. 

Gorow, John L., Milton, enlisted December 10, 
1861; re-enlisted as veteran. 

Mason, E. H., Milton, enlisted December 14, 1861; 
re-enlisted as veteran. 

Moon, G. W., Milton, enlisted January 1, 1862; 
re-enlisted as veteran. 

Mott, Willard, Wheaton, enlisted December 1, 
1861; discharged May 14, 1862. 

Riley, John, Wayne, enlisted February 4, 1862; 
re-enlisted as veteran. 

Ushner, Ferdinand, Milton, enlisted January 1, 
1862; killed at Gettysburg July 1, 1863. 

Vintom, William, Cottage Hill, enlisted Febru- 
21, 1862; discharged. 

Wakefleld, James B., Wayne, enlisted January 
16, 1862; re-enlisted as veteran. 



Welch, John, Winfield, enlisted November 15, 
1862; re-enlisted as veteran. 

Wentworth, C. E. H., Wheaton, enlisted February 
1, 1862; promoted to Hospital Steward. 

Wright, William, Milton, enlisted December 1, 
1861; discharged March 1, 1863. 

Ferich, Charles L., Naperville, enlisted as veteran 
March 1, 1864. 

Ferish, Elisha W., Milton, enlisted February 28, 
1864, as veteran. 

The two above mustered in February 29, 1864, as 
veterans. 

Woods, William, Wheaton, enlisted as recruit. 

COMPANY D. 

Brown, Henry D., Wayne, enlisted February 10, 
1862; re-enlisted as veteran. 

Keith, Chas., Wayne, enlisted December 27, 1861. 

Langly, F. M., Wayne, enlisted February 15, 1862; 
re-enlisted as veteran. 

Ogden, Alonzo, Wayne, enlisted February 24, 
1861; discharged June, 1863. 

Panter, Allen, Wayne, enlisted February 24, 1861. 

Panter, J. C., Wayne, enlisted February 26, 1861. 

Rabus, Lewis, Wayne, enlisted March 2, 1861; 
discharged September 4, 1863. 

COMPANY M. 

McGinty, Joseph, York, enlisted December 14, 
1863; transferred to Company H as consolidated. 

THIRTEENTH CAVALRY. 

The Thirteenth Cavalry was organized at 
Camp Douglas December, 1861, and mustered 
out at Springfleld August 31, 1865. It had 
eight men from Du Page County. 

COMPANY A. 

Becker, Friederick, Addison, enlisted September 
19, mustered in December 31, 1861. 

Jenson, Franz Z. F. W., Downer's Grove, enlisted 
September 28, mustered in December 31, 1861. 

COMPANY B. 

Kretzer, Ferdinand, Naperville, discharged Octo- 
ber 2, 1862, for disability. 

COMPANY C. 

Sommer, Wilheiin, Addison, enlisted October 20, 
mustered in December 31, 1861. 

Schroeder, Henry Carl, York, enlisted October 21, 
mustered in December 31. 1861. 



HISTORY OF DU PAGE COUNTY. 



133 



COMPANY E. 

Waskon, William, Addison, enlisted October 23; 
discharged 1862. 

COMPANY H. 

Blackeman, Reuben. 

Eyor, Peter, both of Naperville, and enlisted De- 
cember 1; mustered in the 31st, 1864. 

FIFTEENTH CAVALRY. 

The companies of which this regiment was 
composed were enlisted in the autumn of 1861. 
Company I was mustered into the service Sep- 
tember 23, 1861, but the first orders organizing 
the regiment bears date of Springfield, Decem- 
ber 25, 1862. The term of enlistment of the 
men expired January 1, 1865, when this regi- 
ment was consolidated with the Tenth, and the 
re-enlisted men of both regiments made twelve 
companies. Thirteen men from Du Page 
County were in its ranks. 

COMPANY H. 

Bushell. Joseph, Naperville, Corporal. 
Warner, William, Naperville, Corporal. 
Monk, Joseph, Naperville, Corporal. 
Coffman, Adam G., Wayne. 
Canlon, Arnold, Wayne. 
Rinehart, Charles C., Winfield. 
All the above enlisted August 7, 1861. 

COMPANY I. 

Hagadon, George W., Wheaton, Corporal, en- 
listed August 2, 1861; discharged May 24, 1863, for 
disability. 

Mo wry, Allen, Turner Junction, Corporal; re-en- 
listed as veteran. 

Rathborn, Joshua, Danby, enlisted August 2, 
1861, mustered out August 24, 1864. 

Tucker, Lawrence S., Turner Junction, enlisted 
August 2, 1861; re-enlisted as veteran. 

COMPANY K. 

Larkin, Nathan, Wayne, Corporal, enlisted Au- 
gust 12, 1861; re-enlisted as veteran. 

Balch, Edwin E., Naperville, enlisted August 17, 
1861; re-enlisted as veteran. 

COMPANY L. 

Barr, John C., Du Page County, Sergeant, en- 
listed December 2, 1861; mustered in January 1, 



1862. Private in detached service, missing since the 
massacre of Fort Pillow. 

SEVENTEENTH CAVALRY. 

The Seventeenth Cavalry Regiment was or- 
ganized by John F. Farnsworth under order 
issued from the War Department August 12, 

1863. Eight companies were mustered into 
service January 22, 1864. Four more com- 
panies were mustered in by the 24th of Febru- 
ary, and the regiment was complete. The fol- 
lowing May, on the 3d, it moved to report to 
Gen. Rosecrans, who was then commander of 
the Department of the Missouri. In June, its 
First and Second Battalions were ordered to the 
North Missouri District, while the Third re- 
mained at Alton, 111., which had been head- 
quarters up to this time for the whole regi- 
ment. Companies C and D, of this battalion 
took part in the defense of Jefferson City, Mo., 
against Price's army. The Second Battalion 
were engaged in patroling the country and de- 
fending the railroads against rebel guerrillas, 
etc. The Third Battalion left Alton in Septem- 
ber, 1864, passing through St. Louis in the 
direction of Rolla to prevent the army of Price 
from cutting off its communication with St. 
Louis. More active work was now open for 
this regiment. In connection with other regi- 
ments, it was placed under command of Gen. 
Sanborn, and the Seventeenth took part in the 
attack on Gen. Price at Booneville. On the 22d 
of October, 1864, at Independence, Mo., it dis- 
mounted, and with the Thirteenth Missouri 
gained the rear guard of the enemy and capt- 
ured their artillery. Two days after this, 
1,000 rebel prisoners were taken, among whom 
was the famous Gen. Marmaduke, just over the 
Kansas line. 

The Seventeenth, now with McNeil's brigade, 
pursued the defeated foe in the direction of 
Fort Scott, the rebels, still numerous and 
formidable, oft making bold stands and giving 
battle to their pursuers. They finally escaped 
into Arkansas, and the pursuing column re- 



134 



HISTORY OF DU PAGE COUNTY. 



turned to Springfield, Mo., after a flying cam- 
paign of forty-three days, in which 1,000 miles 
had been traveled, and many spirited skirmishes 
with the enemy encountered. It was mustered 
out in November and December at Fort Leav- 
enworth, Kan. It had sixty-one men from Du 
Page County in its ranks. 

MAJOR. 

Matlack, Lucius C., Wheaton, date of rank Jan- 
uary 23, 1864. 

ADJUTANT. 

Smith, Samuel W., Naperville; date of rank, No- 
vember 25, 1863. 

QUARTERMASTER. 

Homer, Benjamin F., Naperville; date of rank 
July 13, 1865. 

COMPANY H. 

CAPTAIH. 

Smith, Samuel W., Naperville; date of rank De- 
cember 9, 1864. 

FIRST LIEUTENANT. 

Laird, William J., Naperville; date of rank July 
14, 1865; promoted from Second Lieutenant. 

t SECOND LIEUTENANT. 

McMillan, Alexander, Wheaton; date of rank 
July 14, 1865. 

QUARTERMASTER REBGEANT. 

Filler, Thomas, York; enlisted December 23, 1863. 

SERGF.ANT8. 

Oberholsen, Samuel, Naperville; enlisted January 
1, 1864; promoted to First Sergeant. 

Horner, Benjamin P., Naperville; enlisted Janu- 
ary 1, 1864; promoted to Regimental Quartermaster. 

GORPOR1U. 

Money, Abram W., Bloomingdale, enlisted Janu- 
ary 1, 1864; mustered out as Sergeant. 

Porter, Frank H., Wheaton, enlisted December 3, 
1863; mustered out as Sergeant. 

Wells, Milton J., Wheaton, enlisted January 1, 
1864; promoted to Regimental Commissary Ser- 
geant. 

Good, Walter W., Naperville, enlisted January 1, 
1864; mustered out as Sergeant. 

Parsons, Peter, Naperville, enlisted December 25, 
1863; mustered out as Sergeant. 

WAGONER. 

Andrews, Dewey, Wheaton, enlisted December 
3, 1863; mustered out as Corporal. 



PRIVATES. 

Andrews, August, Winfleld, enlisted December 
25, 1863; mustered out as Corporal. 

Blessman, Frederick, York, enlisted November 9, 
1863. 

Boltman, Frederick, Cottage Hill, enlisted No- 
vember 1, 1863. 

Barribal, Henry, Bloomingdale, enlisted January 
1, 1864. 

Bounear, Henry, Addison, enlisted December 15, 
1863. 

Benkert, Lawrence, Naperville, enlisted Decem- 
ber 25, 1863. 

Bond, Elijah, Bloomingdale, enlisted January 1, 
1864. 

Bond, Rosaloo, Naperville, enlisted January 1, 
1864; mustered out as Sergeant. 

Caulkins, Joshua, Naperville, enlisted December 
4, 1863. 

Dunn, Joseph, Downer's Grove, enlisted January 
4, 1864. 

Dissinger, David, Naperville, enlisted December 
25. 1864. 

Fry, William, Naperville, enlisted January 1, 
1864. 

Grambine, Solomon, Naperville, enlisted January 
1, 1864. 

Gebhart, Frederick, Wheaton, enlisted January 4, 
1864. 

Grant, Adelbert, York, enlisted November 10, 
1863. 

Guchart, Samuel, Naperville, enlisted December 
25, 1863. 

Heinburg, Charles, Addison, enlisted January 11, 
1864; died at Fort Scott, Kas., November 16, 1864. 

Hatch, Franklin, Bloomingdale, enlisted January 
1, 1865. 

Kiesling, Augustus, Addison, enlisted December 
23, 1863; mustered ont as Corporal. 

Ketchum, Elias D., Naperville, enlisted January 
4, 1864. 

Lyon, Charles, Wheaton, enlisted December 29, 
1863; mustered out as Corporal. 

Lyman, John F., Wheaton, enlisted December 1, 
1863; drowned at Pleasant Hill, Mo., June 29, 1865. 

McMillan, Alexander, Wheaton, enlisted Novem- 
ber 1, 1863; promoted to Hospital Steward. 

McMasters, Frank, York Centre, enlisted Novem- 
ber 10, 1863. 

Morgan, Royal T., Wheaton, enlisted December 
1, 1863; mustered out as Corporal. 

Meacham, Henry, Naperville, enlisted January 1, 
1864; died at Sedalia, Mo., October 28, 1864. 



LIBRARY 

OF IKE 

UNIVERSITY OF IlllNOIS 



HISTORY OF DU PAGE COUNTY. 



137 



Metzler, Samuel, "Winfield, enlisted January 4, 
1864. 

Meininghous, Louis, Bloomingdale, enlisted Jan- 
uary 4, 1864; mustered out as Corporal. 

Miner, Martin, York, enlisted January 1, 1864. 

Plummer, Benjamin, York, enlisted December 
23, 1863; promoted to Regimental Commissary 
Sergeant. 

Priess, Frederick, Wheaton, enlisted December 
15, 1863. 

Rohker, Henry, Naperville, enlisted January 4, 
1864. 

Stoner, William, Cottage Hill, enlisted January 1, 
1864. 

Sperlon, John, Wheaton, enlisted December 1, 
1863. 

Schofield, Joseph E., Bloomingdale, enlisted Jan- 
uary 1, 1864. 

Scott, Samuel, Naperville, enlisted December 26. 
1863. 

Sininger, John, Babcock's Grove, enlisted De- 
cember 25, 1863. 

Turner, George J., Addison, enlisted January 4, 
1864. 

Votner, William, Wheaton, enlisted January 11, 
1864. 

Warneke, Frederick, Wheaton, enlisted November 
37, 1863. 

Warkle, Christopher, Naperville, enlisted Decem- 
ber 25, 1863. 

Warren, Martin J., Downer's Grove, enlisted Jan- 
uary 4, 1864. 

Detzler, William, Naperville, enlisted February 
27, 1864; drowned at Glasgow, Mo., August 15, 
1864. 

Daniels, John, Naperville, enlisted March 29, 
1864; died of wounds received in battle at Hunts- 
ville, Mo., July 24. 1864. 

Noddlehoffer, William, Naperville, enlisted March 
7, 1864. 

Reinhart, Frederick, Naperville, enlisted March 
7, 1864. , 

Snibley, Henry C., Naperville, enlisted January 
30, 1864. 

RECRUITS FOB THE FIRST AHMT COBPS. 

Linsley, John C., York, enlisted February 7, mus- 
tered in the 20th, 1865; mustered out February 21 
1866. 

Carroll, James L., York, enlisted February 13, 
mustered in the 25th, 1865; mustered out February 
13, 1866. 

Rathburn, Joshua, Milton, enlisted and mustered 
in March 3, 1865; mustered out March 2, 1866. 



The above assigned to Second Regiment U. S. 
Veteran Volunteers. 

Bexler, John, York. 

Needham, James, York. 

Both enlisted and mustered in February 17, 1865. 

Goble, Abraham E., York, enlisted and mustered 
in February 24, 1865; promoted Sergeant. 

The three above assigned to the Fourth Regiment 
U. 8. Veteran Volunteers. 

Carroll, Edward. 

Felthousen, Jacob D. 

Gaskell, Sylvester H. 

Olson, Martin. 

Pomeroy, Winfleld K. 

Thompson, John. 

The above six all from Milton; enlisted and mus- 
tered in March 10, 1865. 

Carpenter, James E., York. 

Kaenig, Adolph, Downer's Grove. 

Hengel, Mathias, Milton. 

Loveland, Henry, Milton. 

McGuire, Francis, Milton. 

The above two enlisted and mustered in March 23, 
1865. 

Cheney, William, Downer's Grove. 

Lutze, George D., Downer's Grove. 

The above two enlisted March 81, 1865, and as- 
signed to the Sixth Regiment U. S. Veteran Vol- 
unteers. 

Tebo, Caleb, York, enlisted and mustered in April 
10, 1865; promoted April 13, 1866, Sergeant. 

The names of Du Page County soldiers are 
recorded in thirty-four regiments of infantry, 
ten regiments of cavalry and five regiments of 
artillery, as follows : 

INFANTRY REGIMENTS NDMBSH of HUH. 

Seventh Illinois Infantry 24 

Tenth Illinois Infantry 1 

Twelfth Illinois Infantry 2 

Thirteenth Illinois Infantry 90 

Fifteenth Illinois Infantry 4 

Nineteenth Illinois Infantry 1 

Twentieth Illinois Infantry 5 

Twenty-third Illinois Infantry 15 

Thirty-third Illinois Infantry 47 

Thirty-sixth Illinois Infantry 47 

Thirty-seventh Illinois Infantry 4 

Thirty-ninth Illinois Infantry 2 

Forty-second Illinois Infantry 7 

Forty-fourth Illinois Infantry 1 

Fifty-first Illinois Infantry 18 



138 



HISTORY OF DU PAGE COUNTY. 



Fifty-second Illinois Infantry 24 

Fifty-third Illinois Infantry 1 

Fifty-fourth Illinois Infantry 13 

Fifty-fifth Illinois Infantry 35 

Fifty-eighth Illinois Infantry 12 

Sixty-seventh Illinois Infantry 3 

Sixty-ninth Illinois Infantry 5 

Seventy-second Illinois Infantry 15 

Eighty-second Illinois Infantry 1 

Eighty-eighth Illinois Infantry 8 

Eighty-ninth Illinois Infantry 7 

Ninety-fifth Illinois Infantry 2 

One Hundreth Illinois Infantry 1 

One Hundred and Fifth Illinois Infantry. . . 398 

One Hundred and Twenty-seventh 4 

One Hundred and Thirty-second 15 

One Hundred and Forty-first 80 

One Hundred and Fifty-third 76 

One Hundred and Fifty-sixth 99 

Total 1066 

ARTILLERY NUHBF.B or MEN 

Cogswell's Battery 1 

Petit's Battery 1 

Barker's Dragoons 3 

First Artillery 3 

Second Artillery 18 

Total. . . ,27 



CAVALRY NCHBI 



Second Cavalry 1 

Third Cavalry 4 

Fourth Cavalry 3* 

Sixth Cavalry 3 

Eighth Cavalry 197 

Ninth Cavalry 3 

Twelfth Cavalry 48 

Thirteenth Cavalry 8 



Fifteenth Cavalry 13 

Seventeenth Cavalry 61 

Total 339 

Recruits for First Army Corps had from Du 

Page County 20 

Grand total 1452 

It is to the credit of Du Page County that 
she not only contributed her quota to the war 
for the Union, but that she took official action 
to reward her soldiers, an historic voucher to 
which is here recorded in the following resolu- 
tions which were passed : 

WHEREAS, The President of the United States by 
his proclamation dated December 19, 1864, has called 
for 300,000 men for military service, and has ordered 
that the number not obtained by voluntary enlist- 
ments previous to the 15th day of next February, 
shall be filled by draft ; and 

WHEREAS, The County of Du Page has promptly 
filled all former calls for troops with volunteers, and 
now desires to retain its good name in the premises, 
and to do its full share in the great work of saving 
the Union, and the necessary power to act having 
been granted to the Board of Supervisors of said 
county by a recent act of the General Assembly, 
therefore, 

Resolved. That the Board of Supervisors of Du 
Page County hereby authorize the payment of 
$400 to each volunteer except commissioned officers, 
who may enlist and be mustered into the service of 
the United States for one year or more, and credited 
to said county under said call of December 19, 1864, 
said sum to be paid in county orders, bearing inter- 
est at 7 percent as follows: One order for $200 pay- 
able out of the bounty war fund of 1865, and one 
order for like amouut to wit: $200 payable out of 
the bounty war fund of 1866. 




HISTORY OF DU PAGE COUNTY. 



139 



CHAPTER VII. 



THE FIRST ELECTION COUNTY COMMISSIONERS' COURT THE COUNTY LINE SURVEYED THE 

COUNTY DIVIDED INTO PRECINCTS TOWNSHIPS ORGANIZED LIST OF COUNTY AND 

TOWN OFFICERS VALUATION OF TAXABLE PROPERTY THE FIRST GRAND JURY 

PUBLIC SCHOOLS THE OLD STAGE COACH RAILROADS REMOVAL OF 

THE COUNTY SEAT THE COUNTY FAIR GEOLOGY OF THE COUNTY. 

up the usual machinery of county organization, 
became apparent. 

The following document shows the official 
action as to the matter : 



TN a previous chapter the organization of Du 
-* Page Count}- has been recorded, which was 
in February, 1839. The following May the 
first election took place for county officers, at 
the Pre-emption House in Naperville. There 
were then no voting precincts, and whoever 
wished a voice in the matter in question must 
go to Naperville to the vote. Stephen J. Scott, 
S. M. Skinner and L. G-. Butler had been au- 
thorized by the law to act as Judges of the 
first election. The officers elected at this time 
were only to serve till the 5th of the following 
August, when a general election was to have 
place. Previous to this election orders were 
issued to make a map of the county, as per 
following official act : 

COUNTY COMMISSIONERS' COURT, June 4, 1839. 
It is ordered by said court that Lyman Meacham, 
Surveyor-elect for the county of Du Page, be and is 
hereby authorized to furnish to the Clerk of this 
court, as soon as possible, an estimate of the expense 
of surveying or taking from the Surveyors already 
made the said county, and making a map thereof 
showing thereby the boundaries of said county of 
Du Page as designated in an act entitled an act "To 
create the county of Du Page, and also showing 
thereby the location of the principal roads therein 
as at present located, and also showing on said map 
the principal groves, villages and settlements in 
said county, together with such other information 
as to the said Surveyors may seem proper." 

COUNTY COMMISSIONERS' COURT, June 29, 1839. 

Ordered by the court, that the Treasurer pay Ly- 
man Meacham, the sum of $13.18 in full for his ac- 
count for surveying the county line. 

Meantime the county was filling up with set- 
tlers, and the necessity for subdivisions, making 



COUNTY COMMISSIONERS' COURT, June 28, 1839. 

Ordered by the court, that all of that part of Du 
Page County, included within the following bound- 
aries, be and is hereafter known as Orange Precinct, 
to wit: Commencing on the northwest corner of 
said county, thence south on the west line of said 
county, far enough to include Job A. Smith, Murray 
and Kline, and to continue east far enough to turn 
due north and strike the west line of Mr. Clark's 
claim, and continue north to the county line, thence 
west to the place of beginning. Their elections 
shall be held at the schoolhouse near Luther 
F. Sanderson, and Job A. Smith, William Kim- 
ball and Daniel Roundy are appointed Judges of 
Election. 

Ordered by the court, that all of that part of Du 
Page County included within the following bound- 
aries be hereafter known as Washington Precinct, 
to wit: Commencing at the northeast corner of the 
county, thence west ten miles to Orange Precinct, 
thence south five miles, thence east to the county 
line, thence north to the place of beginning. Their 
elections to be held at the house of Alanson Wat- 
son, and Charles Hoyt, Lloyd Stearns and Harvey 
Meacham are appointed Judges of Election. 

Ordered by the court, that all that part of Du 
Page County included within the following bound- 
aries be and is hereby known as Deerfield Precinct, 
to wit : Commencing at the southeast corner of 
Washington Precinct, thence running west nine 
miles ; thence south five miles ; thence east four 
miles ; thence north two miles ; thence east to 
the county line; thence north to the place of begin- 
ning. Elections to be held at Luther Morton's 
house, and Daniel Fish, N. B. Morton and L. Q. 
Newton are appointed Judges of Election. 



140 



HISTORY OF DU PAGE COUNTY. 



Ordered by the court, that all that part of Du 
Page County included within the following bound- 
aries be hereafter known as Webster Precinct, to 
wit: Commencing at the southeast corner of Deer- 
fleld Precinct, running west five miles; thence south 
two miles; thence west four miles; thence south five 
miles; thence east three miles ; thence south one 
mile; thence east to the county line; thence north 
to the place of beginning. Their elections to be 
held at the house of Horace Aldrich, and Luther 
Hatch, Pierce Downer and John Talmadge are ap- 
pointed Judges of Election. 

Ordered by the court, that all of that part of Du 
Page County included within the following bound- 
aries be hereafter known as Big Woods Precinct, 
to wit: Commencing at the southwest corner of the 
county, running north six miles; thence east to 
Reuben Austin's west line ; thence south to said 
Austin's southwest corner; thence east three miles 
from the west line of the county; thence south par- 
allel with the west line of the county to the south 
line of the county; thence west to the place of be- 
ginning. Their elections to be held at the house of 
Fred. Stolp, and Ashbel Culver, John Warne and 
Robt. H. Jefferson are appointed Judges of Election. 

Ordered by the court, that all of -that part of Du 
Page County included within the following bound- 
aries be hereafter known as Du Page Precinct, to 
wit: Commencing at the southwest corner of Orange 
Precinct ; thence running east eight miles ; thence 
north one mile; thence east one mile; thence south 
through the center of the county to the northeast 
corner line of Naperville Precinct; thence west to 
the line of the Big Woods Precinct; thence north on 
the Big Woods Precinct line; thence on the county 
line; thence to the place of beginning. Their elec- 
tions to be held at the house of Alfred Tufts, in 
Warrenville, and Warren Smith, George House and 
Angus Ross are appointed Judges of Election. 

Ordered by the court, that all of that part of Du 
Page County included within the following de- 
scribed boundaries be hereafter known as Naper- 
ville Precinct, to wit: Commencing at the southeast 
corner of Du Page Precinct; thence south on the 
west line of Webster Precinct till it strikes the 
Galena State road ; thence east three miles; thence 
south to the county line; thence west nine miles to 
the Big Woods Precinct; thence north on the east 
line of the Big Woods Precinct; thence east to the 
place of beginning. Their elections to be held at the 
Pre-emption House in Naperville, and S. M. Skinner, 
Stephen J. Scott and H. L. Peaslee are appointed 
Judges of Election. 



Ordered by the court, that all of that part of Du 
Page County, included within the following bounda- 
ries, be hereafter known as Cass Precinct, to wit : 
Commencing at the northwest corner of Section 30, 
Township 38, Range 11 ; thence east to the county 
line ; thence south to the Desplaines River ; thence 
west, following the river and county line to the south- 
west corner of Section 18 ; thence north to the place 
of beginning: their elections to be held at the 
house of Alvin Lull, and George Jackson, Thomas 
Andrus and Alvin Lull are appointed Judges of 
Election. 

Ordered by the court, that all that part of Du 
Page County, included within the following described 
boundaries, be, and is hereafter to be known as York 
Precinct, commencing on the east line of Du Page 
County, at the southeast corner of Deerfield Pre- 
cinct ; thence west three miles ; thence south to the 
north line of Cass Precinct ; thence east to the east 
line of Du Page County ; thence north along the 
east line of said county to the place of beginning. 
The elections shall be held at the house now occu- 
pied by Sherman King, and that Benjamin Fuller, 
David Thurston and John Talmadge, be and they 
are hereby appointed Judges of Election in said pre- 
cinct. 

COUNTY COMMISSIONERS' COURT, March 6, 1841. 

Ordered by the court, that the following described 
boundaries constitute, and be hereafter known as 
Washington Precinct, in Du Page County, to wit : 
The whole of Township 40 north, Range 11 east, of 
the Third Principal Meridian ; and, it is further or- 
dered by the court, that all elections to be in future 
held in said precinct, shall be held at the house of 
Ariel Bowman, and that John Lester, Mason Smith 
and Charles H. Hoit, be and they are hereby ap- 
pointed Judges of Election in said precinct. 

Ordered by the court, that the following described 
boundaries constitute and be hereafter known as 
Bloomingdale Precinct, in Du Page County, to wit : 
Commencing on the north line of said county, on 
the line between Ranges 10 and 11 ; thence west on 
the north line of the county four miles ; thence 
south live miles ; thence east to the line between 
Ranges 10 and 11 ; thence north to the place of 
beginning. And it is further ordered by the court, 
that all elections that may be held in said precinct, 
shall be held in the schoolhouse in said precinct, 
near Orange Kent's, and that Harvey Meacham, 
Harry Woodworth and Loyd Stearns, be and they 
are hereby appointed Judges of Elections in said 
precinct. 



HISTORY OF DU PAGE COUNTY. 



141 



COUNTY COMMISSIONERS' COUBT, June 3, 1846. 

Ordered hy the court, that Congressional Town- 
ship 40 north. Range 11 east, of the Third Principal 
Meridian in the county of Du Page, State of Illi- 
nois, constitute and be hereafter known as Washing- 
ton Precinct, and that all elections in said precinct 
shall be held at the house known as the Salt Creek 
House in said township. 

Ordered by the court, that Congressional Town- 
ship 40 north, Range 10 east, of the Third Principal 
Meridian, in the county of Du Page, State of 
Illinois, constitute and be hereafter known as 
Bloomingdale Precinct, and that all elections to be 
held in said precinct shall be held at the school- 
house in the town of Bloomingdale in said precinct. 

Ordered by the court that Congressional Town- 
ship 39 north. Range 11 east, of the Third Principal 
Meridian, in the county of Du Page, in the State of 
Illinois, constitute and be hereafter known as York 
Precinct, and that all elections to be held in said 
precinct shall be held at the house of Hiram Brown 
in said township. 

Ordered by the court, that Congressional Town- 
ship 39 north, Range 10 east, of Third Principal 
Meridian, in the County of Du Page, State of Illi- 
nois, constitute and be hereafter known as Deerfield 
Precinct; and that all elections to be held in said 
precinct shall be held at the house of Jesse C. 
Wheaton in said township. 

Ordered by the court, that Congressional Town- 
ship 40 north, Range 9 east, of the Third Principal 
Meridian, and Sections 1, 2, 3, 4, 5 and 6 in Town- 
ship 39 north, Range 9 east, of the Third Principal 
Meridian, in the county of Du Page, State of Illi- 
nois, constitute and be hereafter known as Orange 
Precinct, and that all elections to be held in said 
precinct shall be held at the house of Joseph Mc- 
Millen in said precinct. 

Ordered by the court, that all that portion of 
Congressional Township 39 north, Range 9 east, of 
the Third Principal Meridian, that lies south of the 
south line of Sections 1, 2, 3, 4, 5 and 6, in said 
township, and Sections 1, 2 and 3 in Township 38 
north, Range 9 east, of Third Principal Meridian, 
together with Sections 5 and 6 in Township 38 
north, Range 10 east, of the Third Principal Me- 
ridian, in the county of Du Page, State of Illinois, 
constitute and be hereafter known as Du Page Pre- 
cinct, and that all elections to be held in said pre- 
cinct shall be held at the house known as the War- 
renville Hotel in said precinct. 

Ordered by the court, that the following bound- 
aries be hereafter known as Big Woods Precinct, in 



the county of Du Page and State of Illinois, to wit: 
Commencing at the northeast corner of Section 4, 
in Township 38 north, Range 9 east, of the Third 
Principal Meridian; from thence west along town- 
ship line to county line between Kane and Du Page 
Counties; thence south along county line to county 
line between Will and Du Page Counties; thence 
east along county line to the southeast corner of 
Section 33, in Township 38 aforesaid; thence north 
to the place of beginning, and that all elections to 
be held in said precinct shall be held at the house of 
Frederick Stolp in said precinct. 

Ordered by the court, that the following bound- 
aries constitute and be hereafter known as Naper- 
ville Precinct, in the county of Du Page, in the 
State of Illinois, to wit: Commencing at the south- 
west corner of Section 34, in Township 38 north, 
Range 9 east, of the Third Principal Meridian; from 
thence north to the northwest corner of Section 10, 
in said township; from thence east to the northeast 
corner of Section 8, in Township 38 north, Range 
10 east, of Third Principal Meridian; thence north 
to township line between Townships 38 and 39, 
Range 10 east; thence east along township line to 
the center of the Du Page River; thence southerly 
along the center of said river to the county line be- 
tween Will and Du Page Counties; thence west to 
the place of beginning; and that all elections to be 
held in said precinct, shall be held at the court 
house in Naperviile in said precinct. 

Ordered by the court, that the following bound- 
aries constitute and be hereafter known as Webster 
Precinct, in the County of Du Page and State of 
Illinois, to wit: Commencing at the northeast cor- 
ner of Section 1, in Township 38 north, Range 11 
east, of Third Principal Meridian ; from thence 
west along the township line to the center of East 
Branch of the Du Page River; thence southerly 
along the center of said river to the section line 
between Sections 22, 23, 26 and 27; thence east to 
the southeast corner of Section 21, in Township 38 
north, Range 11 east; thence north to the north- 
east corner of said Section 21; thence east to the 
county line between Cook and Du Page Counties; 
thence north to the place of beginning; and that all 
elections to be held in said precinct, shall be held at 
the house of Levi C. Aldrich in said precinct, and 
that Jeduthau Hatch, John Stanley and Leonard K. 
Hatch be Judges of Election in said precinct. 

Ordered by the court, that all that portion of 
Township 37 north, Range 11 east, of the Third 
Principal Meridian, that lies in the county of Du 
Page and State of Illinois, and Sections 22, 23, 



142 



HISTORY OF DU PAGE COUNTY. 



24, 25, 26, 27, 28, 29, 30, 31, 32, 33, 34, 35 and 36, in 
Township 38 north, Range 11 east, together with 
those parts of Sections 25, 26, 35 and 36, in Town- 
ship 38 north, Range 10 east, that lies east of the 
center of the East Branch of the Du Page River, 
constitute and be hereafter known as Cass Precinct; 
and that all elections to be held in said precinct 
shall be held at the house known as the Washing- 
ton Hotel in said precinct. 
IN COUNTY COURT OP Du PAGE COUNTY, December 

5, A. D. 1849. 

Commissioners to divide county into townships: 
Whereas, the Legislature of Illinois, did, at its 
last regular session, provide by law for the organi- 
zation of counties into towns ; and, that the law 
containing such provision, should, at the next gen- 
eral election, be caused to be submitted to the people 
of the several counties in said State, for their adop- 
tion or rejection ; and, whereas, at the last general 
election, said law was adopted by the county of Du 
Page, in the State of Illinois, as appears from the 
following abstract of the votes, for, or against, town- 
ship organization, to wit : 

STATE OP ILLINOIS, | 
Du PAGE COUNTY, ) 

We, James P. Wight and Levi C. Aldrich, two of 
the Justices of the Peace, and Hiram H. Cody, Clerk 
of the County Commissioners' Court of said county, 
hereby certify that the following is a true and cor- 
rect abstract of the votes given at an election held 
in the several precincts in said county, on Tuesday, 
the sixth day of November, in the year of our Lord 
one thousand eight hundred and forty-nine, for 
and against township organization, to wit : For 
township organization, there were seven hundred 
and seventy-three votes ; against township organi- 
zation there was one vote. 

Witness our hands and seals at Naperville, in said 
county, this twelfth day of November, A. D. 1849. 
JAMES F. WIGHT, J. P. [SEAL.] 
LEVI C. ALDRICH, J. P. [SEAL.] 
HIRAM H. CODY, Clerk. [SEAL.] 

And, whereas, said law requires the County Com- 
missioners' Court, or the County Court, whichever 
shall be in commission at the next session after said 
election in those counties, which shall adopt said 
law, to appoint three Commissioners to divide such 
counties respectively into towns. 

It is ordered by the court, that, in pursuance of 
the first article of the act to provide for township 
organization, Capt. Joseph Naper, Daniel Fish and 
Erasmus O. Hills, be, and they are hereby appointed 



Commissioners to divide the county of Du Page 
aforesaid into towns, as anticipated and required by 
said act. 

Agreeable to their authority, the Commission- 
ers met and organized the county into townships 
as they now appear on maps of the county. 

The next business was to elect a Board of 
Supervisors, which was done the same year, 
and the following is their official action at their 
first meeting : 

STATE OP ILLINOIS, ) 

Du PAGE COUNTY, f 8fi NOVEMBER 11, 1850. 

The Board of Supervisors of the county of Du 
Page and State of Illinois, met on Monday the llth 
day of November A. D. 1850, for their first annual 
meeting, at the office of the Clerk of the County 
Court in Naperville in said county, and were organ- 
ized by the selection of Russell Whipple as their 
Chairman. 

The following members, upon a call of the roll 
of the towns were present, to wit: 

Addison, Smith D. Pierce; Bloomingdale, Eras- 
mus 0. Hills; Wayne, Luther Pierce ; Winfield, 
William C. Todd ; Milton, Warren L. Wheaton; 
Downer's Grove, Leonard K. Hatch ; Du Page, 
Amasa Morse; Naperville, Russell Whipple ; York, 
not represented. 

On motion, the following standing committees 
were appointed by the Chair: 

On Claims E. O. Hills, Warren L. Wheaton, 
Luther Pierce. 

On Paupers W. C. Todd, L. K. Hatch, 8. D. 
Pierce. 

On Equalization W. L. Wheaton, E. O. Hills, 
Amasa Morse. 

On Court House and Jail S. D. Pierce, L. K. 
Hatch, A. Morse. 

On Finance E. O. Hills, W. L. Wheaton, Luther 
Pierce. 

On motion of W. L. Wheaton, a select committee 
was appointed by the Chair on Printing. 

The Chair appointed W. L. Wheaton, W. C. Todd 
and Amasa Morse. 

Various claims being presented, were referred to 
appropriate committees. 

On motion, the Chair appointed the following 
Supervisors a select Committee on Licenses: 

William C. Todd, W. L. Wheaton, A. Morse. 

A memorial on the subject of License addressed 
to the Board was presented by Supervisor Todd, 
and, on motion, referred to the Committee on Li- 



LIBRARY 

OF THE 

UNIVERSITY OF ILLINOIS 



HISTORY OF DU PAGE COUNTY. 



143 



censes; said memorial was signed by about three 
hundred and fifty ladies. 

The certificates of the Town Auditor of the towns 
of Winfield, Addison, Downer's Grove, Naperville, 
and Wayne were presented by the several Super- 
visors of said towns, and, on motion, referred to the 
Committee on Claims. 

On motion, it is ordered that the board adjourn 
until to-morrow morning at 9 o'clock. 

For ten years previous, no change had been 
made in the general formula of official author- 
ity, but in 1849 the Clerk of the Circuit Court 
was constituted Recorder, ex officio. 

The County Court was composed of a County 
Judge and two Justices of the Peace. The 
County Clerk became the Clerk of the County 
Commissioners. The County Judge and two 
County Justices were a board for the transaction 
of county business, and the County Judge with 
the Clerk were clothed with authority to tran- 
sact probate business. The organization of not 
only the county but the townships, with their 
officers, having been completed, the following 
list of them is here inserted, which will serve 
the reader as a chronological record of the 
progress of the county: 

The following is a list of those who served 
the county in the Legislature of the State : 

1836 Capt. Joseph Naper, of Naperville. 
1838 Capt. Joseph Naper of Naperville. 
1843 Jeduthan Hatch, of Lisle. 
1844 Julius M. Warren, of Winfield. 
1846 Capt. E'. Kinne, of Bloomingdale. 
1848 Warren L. Wheaton, of Milton. 
1850 Willard T. Jones, of Naperville. 
1852 Capt. Joseph Naper, of Naperville. 
1854 E. O. Hills, of Bloomingdale. 
1856 Truman W. Smith, of Winfield. 
1860 F. H. Mather, of Milton. 
1863 A. S. Barnard, of Lisle. 
1864 S. P. Sedgwick, of Bloomingdale, resigned ; 
H. C. Childs, of Milton, elected to fill vacancy. 
1866 H. C. Childs, of Milton. 
1868 -H. C. Childs, of Milton. 
1870 William M. Whitney, of Downer's Grove. 
1874 James Clatlin, of Lombard ; V. Fredenha- 

gen, of Downer's Grove. 
1876 James G. Wright, of Naperville. 



COUNTY CLERKS. 

1839 Clark A. Lewis, of Warrenville ; 
elected July 14, died the same month. 
1839 to 1846 Allen C. Mclntosh, of Naperville. 
1847 to 1852 Hiram H. Cody, of Bloomingdale. 
1853 to 1860 Myron C. Dudley, of Bloomingdale. 
1861 to 1864 C. M. Castle, of Naperville. 
1865 to 1868 F. J. Fischer, of Addison. 

1868 H. B. Hills (vacancy), of Blooming- 
dale. 

1869 to 1876 J. J. Cole, of Downer's Grove. 
1876 to 1882 M. S. Ellsworth, Lisle. 

CIRCUIT CLERKS. 

1839 to 1842 Patrick Ballingall, of Naperville. 

1843 to 1846 E. B. Bill, of Naperville. 

1847 to 1849 John J. Riddler, of Naperville. 

RECORDERS. 

1839 to 1842 S. M. Skinner, of Naperville. 
1843 to 1846 A. S. Jones, of Naperville. 
1847 to 1849 John J. Riddler, of Naperville. 

CLERKS AND RECORDERS. 

1850 to 1851 John J. Riddler, of Naperville. 
1852 to 1855 Peter Northrup, of Addison. 

1856 to 1859 John Gloss, of Wayne. 

1860 to 1867 W. M. Whitney, of Winfield. 

1868 to 1876 John Gloss, of Wayne. 
1876 to 1880 Frank Hull, of Milton. 
1880 to 1884 Thomas M. Hull, of Milton. 

TREASURERS. 

1839 Morris Sleight, of Naperville. 
1839 to 1842 Stephen J. Scott, of Naperville. 

1843 to 1844 Robert K. Potter, of Naperville. 
1845 to 1846 John J. Kimball, of Naperville. 

1847 to 1848 Nelson A. Thomas (vacancy) of Na- 
perville. 

1849 to 1854 Henry F. Vallette, of Milton. 
1855 to 1856 William J. Johnson, of Milton. 

1857 to 1858 Hiram Standish, of Naperville. 
1859 to 1860 Henry F. Vallette, of Milton. 

1861 to 1862 S. M. Skinner, of Naperville. 
1863 to 1868 Daniel N. Gross, of Naperville. 

1869 to 1872 Joel Wiant, of Winfield; Henry M. 

Bender, of Bloomingdale. 

1873 to 1876 Lewis C. Stover, of Milton, from 1876 
to 1880. 

SHERIFFS. 

1839 to 1841 Daniel M. Greene, of Lisle. 
1842 to 1843 Hiram Fowler, of Naperville. 

1844 to 1845 R. N. Murray, of Naperville. 



144 



HISTORY OF DU PAGE COUNTY. 



1846 to 1849 George Roush, of Naperville. 
1850 to 18510. R. Parmlee, of Lisle. 

1852 to 1853-Truman W. Smith, of Winfleld. 
1854 to 1855 A. 0. Graves, of Winfield. 
1856 to 1857 James J. Hunt, of Naperville. 

1858 to 1859 A. C. Graves, of Winfleld. 

1860 to 1861 T. 8. Rogers, of Downer's Grove. 

1862 to 1863 James J. Hunt, of Naperville. 

1864 to 1865 Samuel E. Shimp, of Naperville. 

1866 to 1867 Philip Strubler, of Naperville. 

1868 to 1869 Charles Rinehart,. of Wayne. 

1870 to 1876 John Kline, of Wayne. 

l76 to 1882 Samuel E. Shimp, Naperville. 

COUNTY JUDGES. 

1839 J. W. Walker, of Downer's Grove. 
1839 to 1842 Lewis Ellsworth, of Naperville. 

1843 to 1846 Nathan Allen, of Naperville. 

1847 to 1848 John J. Kimball, of Naperville. 
1849 to 1851 Nathan Allen, of Napevville. 

1852 Jeduthan Hatch, of Lisle. 

1853 to 1859 Walter Blanchard, of Downer's 

Grove. 
1860 Seth F. Daniels (vacancy), of Milton. 

1861 to 1864 Hiram H. Cody, of Naperville. 

1865 to 1868 Seth F. Daniels, of Milton. 

1869 to 1872 M. C. Dudley of Naperville. 
1873 to 1876 A. S. Janes, of Milton. 

1876 to 1877 S. P. Sedgwick, Milton, to fill vacancy. 

1877 to 1882 Robert N. Murray, Naperville. 

COUNTY SURVEYORS. 

1839 L. Meacham, of Bloomingdale. 

1839 to 1846 Joel B. Kimball, of Naperville. 
1847 to 1858 Horace Brooks, of Milton. 

1859 to 1861 J. G. Vallette, of Milton. 

1862 James M. Vallette (vacancy), of Na- 
perville. 

1863 to 1866 A. 8. Janes, of Milton. 

1867 to 1870 James M. Vallette, of Naperville. 

1871 to 1876 A. S. Janes, of Milton. 
1876 to 1882 James M. Vallette, of Lisle. 

CORONERS. 

1839 H. L. Peaslee, of Naperville. 

1840 to 1841 E. G. Wight, of Naperville. 
1842 to 1843 Nathan Loring, of Naperville. 

1844 to 1845 Jacob Keefer, of Naperville. 
1846 to 1847 D. C. Gould, of Naperville. 

1848 LaFayette Avery, of Milton. 
1849 to 1851 C. C. Barnes, of Naperville. 
1852 to 1853 F. C. Hagerman, of Winfleld. 

1854 to 1855 W. B. Stewart, of Naperville. 



1856 to 1857 Alfred Waterman, of Milton. 

1858 to 1861 H. C Daniels, of Naperville. 
1862 to 1863 Dr. Brown, of Milton. 

1864 to 1865 H. C. Daniels, of Naperville. 

1866 Clinton Gushing. 

1867 George W. Beggs, of Napervillo. 
1868 to 1869 F. C. Hagerman, of Winfield. 
1870 to 1876 H. C. Daniels, of Naperville. 
1876 to 1878 George F. Heiderman, York. 

1878 to 1879 George L. Madison, of Winfield. 

1879 to 1880 A. C. Cotton, Winfield, to fill vacancy. 

1880 to 1882 A. C. Cotton, Winfleld. 

SCHOOL COMMISSIONERS. 

1839 to 1842 Lewis Ellsworth, of Naperville. 

1843 R. N. Murray, of Naperville. 
1844 to 1846 Horace Brooks, of Milton. 
1847 to 1848 W. L. Wheaton, of Milton. 
1849 to 1855 Hope Brown, of Naperville. 

1856 Lorin Barnes, of Bloomingdale. 

1857 to 1858 Charles W. Richmond, of Naperville. 

1859 to 1860 Lorin Barnes, of Bloomingdale. 
1861 to 1863 George P. Kimball, of Milton. 

COUNTY SUPERINTENDENTS OF SCHOOLS. 

1864 George P. Kimball, of Milton. 

1865 to 1876 Charles W. Richmond, of Naperville. 
1876 to 1881 J. R, Haggard, Downer's Grove. 

1881 to 1882 H. A. Fischer, Milton. 

COUNTY COMMISSIONERS. 

1839 Josiah Strong, Lisle; J. W. Walker, Downer's 
Grove; H. L. Cobb, Cass; R. P.Whipple, Na- 
perville; Hiram Fowler, Winfield. 

1840 J. W. Walker, Downer's Grove; H. L. Cobb, 
Cass; Noah Stevens, Bloomingdale. 

1841 J. W. Walker, Downer's Grove; J. A. Smith, 
Wayne; Noah Stevens, Bloomingdale. 

1842 Warren Smith, Winfield; J. A. Smith, Wayne; 
Noah Stevens, Bloomingdale. 

1843 J. A. Smith, Wayne; T. Hubbard, York. 

1844 John Thompson, Lisle; J. A. Smith, Wayne. 

1845 John Thompson, Lisle ; Thomas Andrus, 
Cass; T. Hubbard, York. 

1846 John Thompson, Lisle; Thomas Andrus, Cass; 
Asa Knapp, York. 

1847 John Thompson, Lisle ; Smith D. Pierce, Ad- 
dison; Asa Knapp, York. 

1848 David Crane, Naperville; Smith D. Pierce, 
Addison ; Asa Knapp, York. 

SUPERVISORS TOWN OP ADDISON. 

1850 Smith D. Pierce. 
1851 John Pierce. 



HISTORY OF DU PAGE COUNTY. 



145 



1852 Peter Northrup. 

1853 Edward Lester. 

1854 James Wakeman. 
1855 to 1858 Henry D. Fi.=cher. 
1859 to 1860 John H. Franzen. 

1861 James Wakeman. 

1862 Smith D. Pierce. 

1863 to 1865 James Wakeman. 

1866 Henry D. Fischer. 

1867 to 1870 August Meyer. 

1871 James Wakeman. 
1872 to 1875 Henry D. Fischer. 

1876 Henry Korthauer. 
1876 to 1882 Henry Korthauer. 

TOWN OP BLOOMINGDALE. 

1850 to 1851 E. O. Hills. 

1852 H. B. Hills. 

1853 Cyrus H. Meacham. 

1854 J. G. Yearick. 

1855 Daniel H. Deibert. 

1856 Horace Barnes. 
1857 to 1863- Cyrus H. Meacham. 

1864 to 1873 W. K. Patrick. 
1874 to 1876 William Rathge. 

1876 to 1877 A. D. Loomis. 

1877 to 1882 William Rathge. 

. TOWN OF WAYNK. 

1850 to 1852 Luther Pierce. 
1853 to 1854 Luther Bartlett. 

1855 Luther Pierce. 

1856 Ira Albro. 

1857 to 1858 Charles Adams. 
1859 to 1860 S. W. Moffatt. 
1861 to 1862 Samuel Adams. 
1863 to 1867 Warren H. Moffatt. 

1868 to 1873 Daniel Dunham. 
1874 to 1875 A. M. Glos. 

1876 R. H. Reed. 

1876 to 1877 R. H. Reed. 

1877 to 1878 A. M. Glos. 

1878 to 1879 Luther Bartlett. 

1879 to 1881 A. M. Glos. 
1881 to 1882 James Shields. 

TOWN OP WINPIELD. 

1850 to 1852 William C. Todd. 
1853 to 1854 Charles Gary. 

1855 Gurdon N. Roundy. 

1856 Truman W. Smith. 

1857 Charles Gary. 

1858 to 1860 John Fairbanks. 

1861 Alfred Waterman. 



1862 to 1864-E. Manville. 

1865 John Fairbanks. 
1866 Amos C. Graves. 

1867 to 1869 J. H. Lakey. 

1870 E. Manville. 

1871 to 1873 J. H. Lakey. 

1874 to 1875 E. Manville. 

1875 to 1876 J. H. Lakey. 

1876 to 1877 A. T. Jones. 

1877 to 1880 G. J. Atchinson. 
1880 to 1882 C. W. Gary. 

TOWN OP MILTON. 

1850 Warren L. Wheaton. 
1851 to 1855 William J. Johnson. 

1856 to 1857 Frederick H. Mather. 
1858 to 1862 H. C. Childs. 

1863 Erastus Gary. 

1864 to 1865 Hiram Smith. 

1866 Hiram Smith and S. W. Moffatt. 
1867 A. S. Janes and H. Edwards. 

1868 to 1869 A. S. Janes and H. F. Vallette. 
1870 to 1871 A. S. Janes and S. P. Sedgwick. 

1872 to 1873 A. S. Janes and E. H. Gary. 
1874 to 1875 H. G. Kimball and E. H. Gary. 

1875 W. H. Wagner and Erastus Gary. 
1876 W. H. Wagner and S. W. Moffatt. 
1878 W. H. Wagner and S. W. Moffatt. 
1879 Amos Churchill and N. E. Gary. 
1880 Amos Churchill and N. E. Gary. 
1881 Amos Churchill and S. P. Sedgwick. 
1882 Amos Churchill and S. W. Moffatt. 

TOWN OF YORK. 

1850 E. Eldridge. 
1850 to 1852 Gerry Bates. 

1853 W. Burbank. 

1853 H. Whittmore. 

1854 Asa Knapp. 
1855 to 1856 Robert Reed. 

1857 to 1860 Frederick Gray. 
1861 to 1863 George Barber. 

1864 Adam Hatfleld. 

1865 to 1867 Frederick Gray. 

1868 August Meyer. 

1869 George Barber. 
1870 to 1875 Adam Glos. 

1876 Henry Goldermann. 
1876 to 1879 Henry Goldermann. 
1879 to 1882 Adam Glos. 

TOWN OF NAFERVILLE. 

1850 to 1851 Russell Whipple. 
1852 Joseph Naper. 



146 



HISTORY OF DU PAGE COUNTY. 



1853 Hiram Bristol. 

1854 David Hess. 

1855 R. N. Murray. 

1856 Charles Hunt. 

1857 N. Crampton and Joseph Naper.* 

1858 Charles Jenkins and John Jassoy.* 

1859 Jacob Saylor and Michael Hines.* 

1860 James G. Wright and M. 8. Hobson.* 

1861 to 1862 B. W. Hughes and Morris Sleight.* 
1863 Charles Jenkins and Robert Naper.* 
1864-Charles Jenkins and D. C. Butler.* 

1865 to 1866 Charles Hunt and John Collins.* 
1867 B. W. Hughes and H. H. Cody.* 
1868 Charles Jenkins and R. N. Murray.* 

1869 to 1872 Charles Jenkins and M. C. Dudley.* 
1873 Charles Jenkins and James Dunlap.* 
1875 James G. Wright and B. B. Boecker.* 
1876 Christian Wise and Lewis Ellsworth.* 

1876 to 1879 C. Wise and J. J. Hunt. 

1879 to 1880 C. Wise and A. Me. 8. 8. Riddler. 

1880 to 1881 C. Wise and H. C. Daniels. 

1881 to 1882 Adam Keler and Peter Thompson. 

TOWN OP LISLE. 

1850 Amasa Morse. 

1851 Jeduthan Hatch. 

1852 John Stanley. 

1853 Lewis Ellsworth. 

1854 Hiram H. Cody. 

1855 James C. Hatch. 

1856 Amasa Morse. 

1857 John Collins. 

1858 William B. Greene. 

1859 A. S. Barnard. 

1860 Graham Thome. 

1861 John H. Hobson. 

1862 C. H. Goodrich. 

1863 R. 8. Palmer. 
1864 to 1865 Gilbert Barber. 

1866-E. E. Page. 

1867 Lewis Ellsworth. 
1868 to 1875 E. E. Page. 

1875 to 1876 William King. 

1876 to 1881 William King. 
1881 to 1882 B. B. Boecker. 

Presidents of Tillage of Naperville, and ex officio Supervisor!. 



TOWN OP DOWNER'S OBOVE. 

1850 Leonard K. Hatch. 
1851 to 1853 Walter Blanchard. 

1854 G. W. Alderman. 

1855 Walter Blanchard. 

1856 Seth F. Daniels. 

1857 Samuel DeGolyer. 
1858 to 1861 Leonard K. Hatch. 

1862 L. D. Fuller. 

1863 Leonard K. Hatch. 

1864 John A. Thatcher. 

1865 T. S. Rogers. 

1866 to 1868 J. J. Cole. 

1869 J. J. Cole. 
1869 J. W. Rogers (vacancy). 
1870 Alanson Ford. 
1871 to 1872 V. Fredenhagen. 
1873 H. F. Walker. 

1874 to 1875 V. Fredenhagen. 

1875 to 1876 Alanson Ford. 

1876 to 1877 Alanson Ford. 

1877 to 1882 Charles Curtiss. 

The following are the names of the Judges 
who have presided in this Judicial Circuit : 

1840 John Pearsons. 
1841 to 1842 Theophilus W. Smith. 
1843 to 1847 Richard M. Young. 
1847 to 1849 Jesse B. Thomas. 
1849 to 1855 Hugh Henderson. 
1855 to 18578. W. Randall. 
1857 to 1861 Jesse O. Norton. 
1861 to 1867 Isaac G. Wilson. 

1867 to 1874 Sylvanus Wilcox. 

1874 to 1876 Hiram H. Cody, C. W. Upton. Isaac 

G. Wilson, Charles Kullem. 
The total valuation of all taxable property in Du 
Page County in 1840 was $196,292, on which 
$981.46 was paid for county taxes, and $392.58 for 
State taxes, making $1,374.04, the total tax in 1840. 
There were then only State and county taxes, the 
State tax being two mills on the dollar, and the 
county tax five mills on the dollar, making but seven 
mills on the dollar, the full tax. There are now 
(1882), State, county, town, road and bridge, school 
and corporation taxes, added to which are special 
assessments when necessary for specific objects. 



HISTORY OF DU PAGE COUNTY. 



147 



SHOWING THE ASSESSED VALUE OP REAL ESTATE AND PERSONAL PROPERTY IN DU PAGE 
COUNTY FOR THE YEARS 1850 AND 1881. 



TOWNSHIPS. 


FOR 1860. 

Real Estate 
Assessment. 


FOE 1881. 

Real Estate 
Assessment. 


roE 1881. 
Lots. 


TOR 1850. 

Personal 
Property. 


TOE 1881. 

Personal 
Property. 


FOE 1850. 

Aggregate 
Valuation. 


roE 1881. 

Aggregate 
Valuation. 


Addison 


$64 269 


$461 985 


$18 565 


$42 425 


$129 999 


$106 694 


$610 549 


Bloomingdale 


52 007 


435 853 


18 902 


29 978 


89 052 


81 985 


543 807 


Wayne 


90 196 


449 524 


4 985 


31 333 


66 179 


121 329 


520 688 


Winfield 


100 358 


456 021 


77 675 


48 274 


82 972 


148 632 


616 668 


Milton 


108 271 


452 737 


128 683 


34 305 


84 334 


142 576 


665 754 


York 


108 784 


455 124 


84 191 


25 847 


98 253 


134 631 


637 568 


Downer's Grove 


96 785 


604 853 


265 359 


32 280 


144 273 


129 065 


1014 485 


Lisle 


97 767 


456 602 


70 272 


36 663 


98 163 


134 430 


625 037 


Naperville 


165 766 


485 790 


146 828 


67 409 


123 206 


233 175 


755 824 


















Totals 


$884 203 


$4258 489 


$815 460 


$348 314 


$916 431 


$1232 517 


$5990 380 


Amt. R. R. property added. . 














$ 620 032 


















Grand total 














$6610 412 



NOTE. The first aaaeesment of real estate in the county was in 1850. 

I, L. C. Stover, Treasurer Du Page County, do hereby certify that the foregoing statement is correct. 

L. C. STOVEK, County Treasurer for Du Page County, 111. 



148 



HISTORY OF DU PAGE COUNTY. 



Following are the names of the first Grand 
Jury ever impaneled in Du Page County 
summoned to appear at term of Circuit Court 
begun and held at Naperville, in said county, 
by virtue of an act entitled "An act to create 
the county of Du Page, "approved February 
9, A. D. 1837, on the 23d day of September, 
A. D. 1837," to wit: 

William J. Strong, Morris Sleight, George 
S. Blackmail. Luther Hatch, John Thompson, 
Thomas Andrus, Hiland Martin, Moor R. 
Webster, Isaac Clark, Moses Stacy, Jonathan 
Barnes, Luther Morton, Lloyd Stearns, Israel 
P.' Blodgett, David Page, Samuel Curtiss, 
Elisha Fish, William C. Todd, Warren Smith, 
Abel E. Carpenter, James Lamb, Frederick 
Stolp and John Maxwell; and the said Lu- 
ther Hatch was appointed to act as foreman; 
and the first Petit Jury was John Naper, 
Amander P. Thomas, Russell Whipple, 
John Stevens, Jr., Shadrach Harris, Nathan 
Stewart, Harry Goodrich, David G. Parson, 
Harry Meacham, Theodore Hubbard, Nathan- 
iel B. Morton, Levi Ballou, Moses K. Hoyt, 
Pierce Downer, Walter Blanchard,' Horace 
Aldrich, John Tallmadge, Henry T. Wilson, 
Seth Sprague, Ethan Griswold, David Wad- 
ham, Daniel H. Orcutt, John Warne and Jo- 
seph Means. 

PUBLIC SCHOOLS. 

Previous to 1855, a vigorous system of ed- 
ucation prevailed in Du Page County, but it 
was not as general and uniform as at pres- 
ent. 

The Naperville Academy, the Illinois In- 
stitute at Wheaton, and the Warrenville 
Seminary, were in their full tide of success 
during that time, as well as a goodly number 
of district and private schools. 

At that date (1855), Eev. Hope Brown, 
School Commissioner, made a report which 
showed the number of school districts in the 
county to be sixty-eight, four of which had 



no schoolhouses. The number of pupils was 
two thousand or more. Twelve hundred 
studied arithmetic, 500 studied geography, 
250 English grammar, and 100 such higher 
branches as algebra, physiology and natural 
philosophy. 

Schools were taught from six to eight 
months each year, but in some of the districts 
there were no winter schools. 

The wages of female teachers were from 
$8 to $16 per month, besides board; and for 
male teachers, from $16 to $30 per month. 

Five years later, in 1860, the report of Ho- 
race Barnes, School Commissioner, shows that 
there were eighty-one schools in the county, 
and 4,054 children who attended schools, out 
of a school census showing those between the 
ages of five and twenty-one of 4,909. Four- 
teen district libraries were purchased in 1860 
one in Addison Township, six in Bloom - 
ingdale Township, one in Winfield Town- 
ship, and three each in Milton and York 
Townships. The amount raised by direct tax 
in the county for school purposes that year 
was $8, 885. 74, and the amount raised by the 
State fund paid to the County Treasurer was 
$6,480.75, making a total of receipts from 
county tax and State appropriation, for the 
year 1860, to be expended for schools, of $15, - 
366.29. 

The average monthly wages paid to female 
teachers the same year was $12 per month, 
and to male teachers, $24.50. 

The report of C. W. Richmond, the County 
Superintendent of Schools, fur the year 1870 
shows the number of school districts in the 
county to be eighty-seven; number of persons 
between the ages of six and twenty-one to be 
5, 298. The gross receipts for the support of 
schools for the year were $6,109.50, $5,727.- 
15 of which came from school tax direct, 
$359.55 from interest on school, college and 
' seminary fund, and $23 from fines and for- 



IIISTOHY OF DU PAGE COUNTY. 



149 



feitures. Added to this was $6,042.63, which 
should have been paid in from the State tax 
of 2 mills on the dollar the year before, but, 
through some informality, did not come. 
Although it was paid in by the State in 1870, 
it properly belonged to the fund of 1869. 

The same year (1870), female teachers re- 
ceived from $12 to $70 per month, and male 
teachers from $30 to $80 per month. 

The number of graded schools in the 
county was seven, three of which were in 
Winneld Township, two in Milton, one in 
Downer's Grove and one in Naperville Town- 
ship. 

Said Judge Cody, in a Fourth of July ad- 
dress at Naperville in 1876: " We have ex- 
changed the log schoolhotise of 1831 for two 
magnificent colleges, two theological semi- 
naries and for high schools and free schools 
of easy access to every child within our lim- 
its." 

This expresses the general situation at that 
date, showing the complete introduction of 
our school system, which is now in full tide 
of progress. 

The report of H. A. Fischer, County Super- 
intendent of Schools for 1882, shows the 
number of graded schools in the county to be 
six, two of which are in Downer's Grove, two 
in Milton, one in Wiufield and one in Naper- 
ville. 

The number of ungraded schools are 
seventy-seven, making a total number of 
schools in the county, exclusive of private 
schools, to be eighty-three. The total num- 
ber of persons in the county between the ages 
of six and twenty-one was 9,116. 

Sixteen districts have scjiool libraries, the 
total value of which is $1,080. 

The average monthly wages paid male 
teachers was $49.15, and female teachers, 
$32.84. 

The entire receipts for the support of 



schools for the year were $46, 122.91, $1,032.- 

I 11 of which was from income of township 
fund, $6,473.20 from State fund and fines 

; appropriated for the benefit of schools, $37, - 
888.51 from special district taxes, $285 from 
sale of school property, and $127.64 from 
various other sources. 

Of the six graded schools reported in the 
county, four are high schools. The distinc- 
tion between the two grows out of the fact 
that in high schools a regular course of study 
is pursued, and pupils who take the full 
course are entitled to a diploma at gradua- 
tion. 

These schools are located at Naperville, 
Wheaton, Turner Junction and Hinsdale. 

Of the school libraries in the county, Prof. 
Fisher, in his report, speaks in terms of com- 
mendation, stating that they are made up of 
valuable works on history, biography, poetry, 

j science and romance of a high character, and 
almost exempt from the gushing style of dime 
novels. 

As to the discipline of the schools, it may 

I be stated that the moral force of the teachers 
over the pupils is gathering force, and there 
is little, if any, danger that it will ever lose 
its grip certainly not as long as the stand- 
ard of teachers is kept up to its present grade. 

j And here the writer cannot forbear to draw a 
comparison between the teachers of Du Page 

j County schools and the teachers of New York 
City schools, which schools he has recently 
visited, and, in justice to home talent, must 

j give it the preference. Here our most es- 
teemed families are not above letting their 
sons or daughters teach, but in New York or 
Brooklyn such is not the case, and the class 
teachers there have to be taken from ranks in 
society not always clothed with the dignity 
of aristocracy in intelligence. 

By State authority, a 2-mill tax is collected 
on all property and appropriated according 



150 



HISTORY OF DU PAGE COUNTY. 



to the school census of each township, which 
census enumerates those under twenty-one 
years of age. Direct taxes for schools in 
this county are assessed for each school dis- 
trict, according to their iastractions. 

THE OLD STAGE COACH. 

The old stage coach, mail routes and roads 
were an institution once in the heyday of their 
glory in Du Page County, and the old settlers 
love to think of the good old sociables held 
in these vehicles, which jostled the passen- 
gers into good nature with each other, as the 
Jehu in the box bulldozed his horses through 
the sloughs. 

In 1825, a Mr. Kellogg pioneered his way 
across the prairie from Peoria to Galena. 
This was the first road that ever went to the 
place, although it had been settled a century, 
but reached by way of the River. Dixon was 
settled in 1830, and in 1834, a stage line was 
established to it and Galena from Chicago, 
through the following points: Lawton's, on 
the Desplaines; Brush Hill, where Oriente 
Grant opened a tavern next year; Naper' s 
settlement, where a post office was then es- 
tablished named Paw Paw; Gray's Crossing, 
where Mr. Gray lived, at a favorable fording 
place on the Fox River, two miles below the 
present site of Aurora ; Dixon, on the Rock 
River, where Mr. Dixon kept a ferry; Apple 
River, where a fort was built, twenty miles 
southeast of Galena; thence to Galena, the 
termination of the line. This was the first 
legally established road through the county. 
Joseph Naper was one of the Commissioners 
to lay it out under State authority, and Col. 
Warren carried the mail in a lumber wagon 
from Chicago to Naperville till the stage 
line was established. 

Trade between Galena and Chicago was 
then a coveted prize, and road places north 
of the Naper settlement soon began to take 



measures to straighten the line between the 
two -places, in order to bring the travel by 
their own doors. 

St. Charles was the first to lead in this, 
and subscribed $2,000 to lay out and improve 
a road direct from their place to Chicago, 
with this end in view, and, in the summer of 
1836, a force of men and oxen were at work 
along the line all the way between Desplaines 
River and their place, plowing and scraping 
along the flat lands. This was the origin of 
what is now well known as the St. Charles 

! road. 

Elgin did a similar thing, but little, if 
any, later, and established what has ever 
since been known as the Elgin road, passing 

through Bloomingdale, where Col. Hoit 
opened a tavern ; thence east to the Desplaines, 

1 three miles north of the present site of May- 
wood, where Mr. Sherman kept tavern; 

I thence to the old Whisky Point road run- 
ning northwest from Chicago, connecting with 
it at the present site of Jefferson, in Cook 

j County. The old Indian trail that went from 
the western extremity of Lake Erie to what 
is now Rock Island was a well-known path 

I in the early days, and from where it in- 
tersected the Illinois and Indiana State line, 
a road was laid out by State authority, pass- 
ing thence through Lockport, Naperville, 
Warren ville, Dundee on Fox River, McHenry, 
and thence to the Wisconsin line, near Nip- 
issing Creek Col. Warren was one of the 
Commissioners to lay it out. 

The first stage line that ever ran through 
Du Page County was Templeton's line of 

i stages from Chicago to Galena. This line 
first went through Naperville and Dixon, but 

: subsequently changed its route, when Frink 

i & Walker bought out Templeton, in 1838, 

; and lines were established from Chicago to 
Galena via Bloomingdale; Chicago to St. 
Charles by the St. Charles road; and Chica- 



HISTORY OF DU PAGE COUNTY. 



151 



go to Naperville, Aurora and Ottawa. These 
three lines continued to pass through Du 
Page County, all of which carried the mail, 
till railroads were built, supplanting them. 
During the winter months, the Government 
at first suspended the mail to Galena, as it 
involved too much risk. 

GALENA & CHICAGO UNION RAILROAD. 

The following is a history of the Galena 
& Chicago Union Kailroad, now the Chicago 
& North- Western Railroad: 

This road was first chartered January 16, 
1836, which was two years before Chicago 
had been chartered as a city, and it enjoys 
the distinction of being her first railroad. 
Its primary interest was to advance the price 
of real estate, and thereby promote the pros- 
perity of Chicago, which was. then a village 
of 3,820 inhabitants, with room enough to 
grow larger. The capital stock of the rail- 
road company was $100,000, with power to 
increase it to $1,000,000. It was optional 
with the company to run the road either with 
horse or steam power. William Bennett, 
Thomas Pmmmond, J. C. Goodhue, Peter 
Semple, John B. Turner and J. B. Thomp- 
son, Jr., were authorized to receive subscrip- 
tions to the stock. By the conditions of their 
charter, the company were obligated to com- 
mence work on the road within three years, 
and within this time the questionable enter- 
prise was undertaken. 

The first problem was how to get a found- 
ation through the spongy slough that inter- 
vened between the then mushroom town of 
Chicago and terra firma, on the ridge now 
occupied by Oak Park. It was then deemed 
impossible to find bottom in these shaky 
lands, and piles were resorted to, with lon- 
gitudinal stringers, to secure support from 
one to another. Thus the work began along 
Madison street, but was soon abandoned 



as premature, and no farther attempts to 
prosecute it were made till 1846, when 
William B. Ogden, John B. Turner and 
Stephen F. Gale purchased the charter of 
Messrs. Townsend & Mather, of New York, 
who, up to this time, held it, with the assets 
of the company. Ten thousand dollars in 
stock was to be paid down, and $10,000 on its 
completion to Fox River. A preliminary 
survey was made, and the work put in charge 
of Richard P. Morgan, a gentleman from 
Boston, who had earned a reputation for rail- 
road building in Massachusetts. 

The next year, on the 5th of April, a Board 
of Directors was appointed, and books were 
soon opened for subscription to the stock. 

Here fresh difficulties came up. Many 
thought the road would injure the retail 
trade of Chicago (which was all she then 
had, by facilitating the transportation of 
goods to country merchants, and the latter 
feared their trade would suffer such quick 
and easy access to Chicago as the road would 
give to the farmers Despite these difficul- 
ties, through the efforts of Benjamin W. 
Raymond and John B. Turner, in their suc- 
cess in negotiating loans in New York, and 
the reluctant home subscriptions to the stock, 
the road was finally completed to Harlem, 
ten miles from Chicago, December 30, 1848. 
to which place its rickety old second-hand en- 
gine and cars ran, on a slipshod foundation 
of wooden stringers, faced with bar iron. 

During the autumn of the same year, its 
track was laid to Elgin, and the cars were 
running to the place January 23, 1850, for 
which the company owe a lasting obligation 
to Edward W. Brews ter, now a citizen of 
Wheaton. He was then living on his farm, 
at the Little Woods three miles below Elgin, 
and he not only gave the company the right 
of way through his land, but gave them lib- 
erty to cut ties from his grove, without which 



152 



HISTORY OF DU PAGE COUNTY. 



privilege the road could not have been fin- 
ished before another summer, for navigation 
was about to close, and ties could not have 
been procured from any other source. " One 
good turn deserves another." So Mr. Brew- 
ster gave the company the necessary ground 
for grading the road when filling was want- 
ed, but on conditions that he and his family 
should ride free on -the road as long as he 
lived. Little did they then know what they 
were bargaining for. Mr. Brewster still lives, 
though ninety years old, and when he comes 
for his annual pass, the company pleasantly 
tell him, " Yes, Father Brewster, we are will- 
ing to carry you as long as you live, but we 
did not expect you were going to live so 
long." 

Out of this humble beginning, this com- 
pany has grown into gigantic proportions, 
co-equal with the incxease of wealth in Ihe 
country through which it and its various di- 
visions pass. These are the Galena Division, 
313.14 miles; Iowa Division, 622.53 miles; 
Northern Iowa Division, 292.43 miles; Wis- 
consin Division, 555.26 miles; Peninsular 
Division, 290.10 miles; Madison Division, 
461.79 miles; Winona & St. Peter's Railroad 
and Branch, 406.10 miles; Dakota Division! 
342.99 miles; total, 3,284.54 miles. 

Lines under construction: Volga to Ab- 
beyville, Dakota, 24.50; Watertown, D. T., 
to Redfield, 65; Sioux Rapids to Ireton, 
Iowa, 68 ; Narenta to Felch Mountains, North- 
ern Michigan, 36.40; total miles under con- 
struction, 193.96; grand total, 3,478.44. 

This company achieved its first success 
partly in Du Page County, and through its 
center, on this road, passes much freight from 
the Pacific Coast to Europe. Its entrance 
into the business heart of Chicago is direct 
and without detention, affording its business 
men easy access to rural homes in Du Page 
County, the eastern portions of which its 



fast trains reach in forty-five minutes, the 
central portions in fifty-eight minutes, and 
the western portions in one hour and fifteen 
minutes, thereby bringing the towns of this 
county within as quick time to the business 
center of Chicago as the remote but already 
thickly settled streets in the outskirts of this 
city, to and from which the horse cars are 
uncomfoitably crowded constantly, and it is 
an unsolved problem why the thousands who 
have already availed themselves of these con- 
ditions to secure rural luxuries are not mul- 
tiplied, till the whole line of the road is a 
continuous village. This would quickly be 
the case if every citizen of Chicago knew by 
experience the advantages of life among the 
gardens. 

CHICAGO, BURLINGTON & QUINCY RAILROAD. 

The Chicago, Burlington & Quincy Railroad 
passes through the southern tier of towns in 
Du Page County, affording facilities for easy 
access to Chicago, and offering good induce- 
ments for business men to make quiet homes 
along its line. The first beginning or nu- 
cleus of this road was the Aurora Branch 
Railroad, a line of road constructed in pur- 
suance of an act of the General Assembly of 
the State of Illinois, approved February 12, 
1849. 

The Aurora Branch Railroad extended from 
Aurora, Kane County, about thirteen miles to 
a point on the Galena & Chicago Union Rail- 
road, now named Turner Junction. The first 
locomotive was purchased February 20, 1852. 

The original charter was amended June 22, 
1852, and the name of the company changed 
to the Chicago & Aurora Railroad Company. 
On January 26, 1853, the charter was again 
amended, and the name of the company be- 
came the Chicago, Burlington & Quincy Rail - 
road Company, a name formally accepted by 
the stockholders February 14, 1855. 



LIBRARY 

OF THE 

UNIVERSITY OF ILLINOIS 



HISTORY OF DU PAGE COUNTY. 



155 



At a meeting of the Board of Directors 
held February 11, 1862, an act of the Gen- 
eral Assembly, authorizing the construction 
of a branch from Aurora to Chicago, by way 
of the village of Naperville, was formally ac- 
cepted by the Chicago, Burlington & Quincy 
Railroad Company. At the annual meeting 
of the stockholders held June 20, 1862, it 
was resolved to authorize the building of the 
road from Aurora to Chicago. This road was 
completed in 1864, at which time it only went 
to the Mississippi River, but now Northern 
Missouri, the State of Kansas, Southern Iowa 
and Southern Nebraska are directly on its 
lines, and besides these, it claims a share in 
the Colorado and Pacific trade. It had 2,- 
924 miles of railroad in operation January 
1. 1882. 

CHICAGO & PACIFIC RAILROAD. 

The Chicago & Pacific Railroad was organ- 
ized by R. M. Hough in December, 1877. 
The charter bears date previous to 1878, since 
which time the railroad was built, under the 
supervision of R. M. Hough, who was Pres- 
ident of the road. The Directors of the road 
were Thomas S. Dobson (who was also Vice 
President), Walter Pearce, John L. Wilcox, 
George S. Bowen, George Young and Will- 
iam Howard. John L. Wilson was Solicitor, 
and William T. Hewes, Secretary. Fifteen 
thousand dollars was paid to William How- 
ard for the charter. An ordinance was 
passed in the Council to give the right of 
way for the road into Chicago in May, 1872. 
In June following, work was commenced on 
the road, and it was finished to Elgin in the 
summer of 1873. This road is now owned 
by the Chicago, Milwaukee & St. Paul Rail- 
road. 

DU PAGE COUNTY BIBLE SOCIETY. 

In giving a history of this society, we are 
somewhat embarrassed, as we find no record 
of its first meeting. At whose suggestion it 



was called, in what month it was held, by 
whom the meeting was called to order, or 
who participated in its organization, we are 
not informed; we are assured, however, that 
the first meeting was held in Naperville. 
The minutes of the first anniversary indicate 
that Rev. John H. Prentiss was the first Pres- 
ident, and leave us to infer who were his as- 
sociates in the organization: 

NAPERVILLE, February 5, 1841 . 
The society met at the office of Esquire Hosmer, 
and was opened with prayer by Rev. John H. Pren- 
tiss, President. The annual meeting having failed, 
the following were appointed officers of the society 
for the ensuing year, viz.: Rev. Orange Lyman, 
President; Rev. Caleb Lamb, Hart L. Cobb, E. 
Thayer, Eli Nosheram and T. Paxton, Vice Presi- 
dents; John H. Prentiss, Secretary; Aylmer Keith, 
Treasurer; Lewis Ellsworth, Depository ; J. H. 
Prentiss, A. Keith, Pomeroy Goodrich, Isaac Clark 
and Alexander Underwood, Executive Committee. 
At the second annual meeting the following resolu- 
tion was passed: "Resolved, That the first article of 
the constitution be so altered that the name of the 
society shall be the Du Page County Bible Society," 
thereby indicating that it formerly had a local name. 
At this meeting, we find the first report of the 
Treasurer, as follows: " There is now in the treas- 
ury $8 cash, and, as far as can be ascertained, $15.80 
worth of books." In 1843, the Treasurer reported 
eight Bibles and three Testaments on hand, valued at 
$11.72, also cash $6 ($3 of which is counterfeit). 
We may charitably hope this spurious money found 
its way into the Lord's treasury by mistake. The 
first fifteen years, the society held its annual meet- 
ings at Naperville; the sixteenth anniversary at 
"Wheaton Station," from thence it went to Bloom- 
ingdale, returning by the way of Danby to Wheaton. 
After visiting Lombard and Prospect Park, called 
again at Wheaton on its way to Turner Junction, 
Elmhurst being the next stopping place, from which 
we return to Naperville to greet our old friends of 
forty years ago; old friends, did we say? Were we 
to call the roll of those who, forty years ago were 
active in Bible cause, how few would respond ! 
Opposite the names of nearly all we write gone 
dead. The memories of other years crowd upon us. 
The recollection of, and association with, many now 
living, as well as those gone before, during a resi- 
dence of forty-four years in the county, is pleasant. 

i 



156 



HISTORY OF DU PAGE COUNTY. 



We write their history to-day, who will write ours 
forty years hence? 

Eleven venerable men have presided over the de- 
liberations of the society, and eight Secretaries 
recorded its doings. 

We are unable to give correctly the financial his- 
tory of the society, but, from the best sources at our 
command, it has received and disbursed at least 
|15,000, the smallest sum reported in any one 
year being $ 6.25, the largest $949.13. 

L. W. MILLS, Secretary. 

REMOVAL OF THE COUNTY SEAT. 

As stated in foregoing pages, at the organ- 
ization of Du Page County it was anticipated 
to take in tbe three ranges of sections on its 
southern limit, but this plan miscarried, and 
left Naperville at the extreme southern verge 
of the county, which had the effect to jeop- 
ardize her prerogative, and ultimately to 
disinherit her from a right that she, by vir- 
tue of age, numbers and wealth, tenaciously 
claimed, which was to be the seat of justice 
of the county. Albeit her remoteness from 
the center of the county afforded a pretext 
for other ambitions to come to the front and 
assert their claims. 

This rivalry began to take legal action in 
the winter of 1857, when the Legislature of 
the State passed an act authorizing an elec- 
tion to be held on the first Monday of May, 
the same year, to decide the question of the 
removal of the county seat to Wheaton. 

The election was held, but it went against 
removal, setting the matter at rest for ten 
years, when, through the Wheaten interest, 
the Legislature again authorized an election 
for the same purpose. It was held in June, 
1868, and this time gave a small majority 
for removal not without the " inside grip " 
(best known by politicians) being practiced 
on both sides to their utmost limit. They 
made a very interesting polemic out of the 
campaign, which must ever stand as a monu- 
ment of Du Page County grit, but both sides 



were so nearly matched in handling their 
forces that neither gained any advantage, and 
it was the few extra votes that gave Wheaton 
the victory, and not her superior skill. 

After the election, it was many months 
before the court confirmed the decision; this 
done, the Board of Supervisors selected a site 
for the court house, which was donated to 
the county, and the building erected that now 
convenes the court sessions and places crimi- 
nals on the proper side of iron grates. The 
records were removed early one winter morn- 
ing, and, unfortunately, a few of them were 
lost, but not any portion of them that are es- 
sential to show a good chain of title to lands. 
In the summer of 1879, a fire-proof building 
was erected on the north side of the court 
house grounds, with vault and offices for 
Clerks and Treasurer. 

DU PAGE COUNTY AGRICULTURAL AND MECHANICAL 
SOCIETY. 

Fairs had their origin as far back as the first 
Olympiad, 600 years B. C. , when kings ran 
foot races with "news boys," whose occupa- 
tions of turning an honest penny, selling the 
Naperville Clarion or the Wheaton Illinoisian, ' 
was no bar to their social equality with a 
crowned head, at least at the Olympic games. 
When both were stripped, perhaps the "news 
boy ' ' could show the best muscle, and that was 
what counted. These were exhibitions of 
strength, but nowadays men plume them- 
selves more on a big pumpkin and on the 
muscle of their horses, so they always had a 
race-course for the latter to ventilate his fine 
points on and a place in which to show the 
pumpkins, and then in these days of female 
culture, the best room in the building is al- 
lotted to the display of needle work and 
crayon work of the girls, and sometimes a 
few loaves of bread from a matronly hand. 
Du Page County, animated with a laudable 



HISTORY OF DU PAGE COUNTY. 



157 



ambition to stimulate her industries and in- 
genuity, took steps in this direction by call- 
ing a public meeting at Naperville, October 
19, 1853, of which E. O. Hills, of Blooming- 
dale, was Chairman, and James G. Wright, of 
Naperville, Secretary. The society was or- 
ganized with a constitution and by-laws, with 
183 members, Lewis Ellsworth, President; J. 
G. Wright, Secretary. The first fair was 
held at Naperville October 11 and 12, 1854. 
The third annual fair was held at Wheaton 
September 17 and 18, 1856. A charter was 
obtained in February, 1857, soon after which 
fifteen acres of ground were donated to the 
society by J. C. and W. L. Wheaton, for a 
permanent place for holding their fairs. By 
the conditions of the donation, the grounds 
are to revert back to the original owners if 
the society neglects to hold their fairs for 
three successive years. Fairs have been held 
each year at the place ever since, with a good 
showing of the best things in the county. 
Mr. Albert D. Kelly, the present Secretary, 
furnished the above statistics for the work. 

TELEPHONE LINES. 

Telephone lines were established Septem- 
ber 1, 1882, between Chicago, Austin, May- 
wood. Elmhurst, Lombard, Wheaton, Elgin, 
St. Charles, Geneva, Batavia, Aurora, Joliet, 
Lockport and Summit. The intermediate 
towns will be connected as soon as practicable, 
and tte line is to be extended to Eockford 
soon. It would be premature to state at this 
time any limit to the extension of the line. 
The rates now are 25 cents for five minutes' 
conversation. L. C. BROWN, Agent. 

GEOLOGY OF DU PAGE COUNTY.* 

The following diagram shows the order 
and thickness of the several divisions which 
form the geological system of Illinois: 


Quaternary. 
Tsrtittry. 

Carboniferous . 

Mountain 
Limestone. * 

Devonian. 

Upper 
Silurian. 

Lower 
Silurian. 


160 ft. 


Prairie surface. 
Alluvium and Drift 


200 ft. 


Tertiary. 


900 ft. 


Upper, 
Middle 

and 
Lower 
Coal measures. 


300 ft. 


Millstone Grit. 


250 ft. 


Chester Limestone. 


100 a 


Ferruginous Sandstone. 


200 ft. 


St. Louis or Warsaw Limestone. 


100 ft. 


Keokuk Limestone. 


200 ft. 


Burlington Limestone. 


100 ft. 


Kinderhook Oroup. 


40 ft. 


Black Slate. 


120 ft. 


Hamilton Qroup. 


50 ft. 


Orlskany Sandstone. 


300 ft. 


Niagara Limestone. 


100 ft. 


Hudson Kiver Group. 


300 ft. 


Galena or Trenton Limestone. 


150 'a 


St. Peter's Sandstone. 


100 ft. 


Calciferous Sandstone. 


*Coutributed by C. D. Wilber, LL.D. 



158 



HISTORY OF DU PAGE COUNTY. 



The position occupied by Du Page and ad- 
jacent counties is the Niagara division of the 
Upper Silurian. This has been determined 
by the examination of the various quarries 
and from outcrops of rock formation on the 
Du Page River, and also by several artesian 
borings, which have penetrated more than 
one thousand feet. In this division are 
found the quarries of Lemont and Joliet, 
from which are annually shipped vast quan- 
tities of dimension stone and building ma- 
terial. Below it from 700 to 800 feet is 
found the St. Peter's sandstone, which con- 
tains the water supply of the great system of 
artesian wells, of which about one hundred 
are already in active operation in Northern 
Illinois. 

The county of Du Page, it will be seen, 
occupies both extremes of the geological 
series, viz., the Silurian system at the bottom 
and the prairie system at the top. The pres- 
ent article being limited to a few pages, will 
be mainly devoted to a consideration of the 
unfailing, omnipresent question. viz. , "What 
is the Origin of the Prairies? " 

From observation on the smaller lakes and 
lakelets in Illinois, Michigan, Indiana and 
Ohio, Prof. Leo Lesquereux saw, as he 
thought, the outline of a theory which would 
account for the present prairie system. 

After a brief view of the soils of these dry 
lakes, and the tree growths on the margin, he 
says: From these facts, no other conclusion 
can he taken than this: That all the prairies 
of the Mississippi Valley have been formed 
by the slow process of sheets of water of 
various extent, first transformed into swamps, 
and by and by drained and dried. The high 
and rolling prairies, the prairies around the 
lakes, those of the bottoms along the rivers 
are all the result of the same cause, and form 
a whole and indivisable system. 

But since lake bottoms are generally level, 



or present a general concavity of surface, and 
since prairies afford every variety of topog- 
raphy of rolls, hills, slopes, plains, divides, 
inclines, draws, ravines, terraces, bottoms, 
etc.. it seemed quite difficult at the outset to 
meet these formidable difficulties. But the 
heroic Lesquereux sweeps them all away with 
a pen stroke. 

"I believe," says he, "that though undu- 
lated the surface of the prairies may be now, 
as it has been originally horizontal enough 
to form shallow lakes, and then swamps like 
those which now cover some parts along the 
shores of Lake Erie, Lake Michigan, etc. I 
have followed for whole days the sloughs of 
the prairies, and have seen them constantly 
passing lower and well-marked channels, or 
to the beds of rivers by the most tortuons 
circuits, in a manner comparable to the me- 
anderings of some creeks in nearly horizontal 
valleys. Indeed, the only difference is that 
in the high prairies there is not a definite 
bed, but a series of beds extending, narrow- 
ing, winding in many ways. This explana- 
tion seems so natural that I could not under- 
stand how high prairies could be perfectly 
horizontal." 

No person ever appeared more charmed 
with his favorite idea than the bold Lesque- 
reux with his pet theory for the origin of the 
prairies. 

" The level of the low prairies being scarce- 
ly above that of the lakes, their surface after 
an overflow becomes dry by percolation and 
evaporation, rather than by true drainage. 
But wherever the rivers have cut deeper chan- 
nels, the drainage has constantly taken place 
toward these deep channels, and the water, 
though its movements may be very slow, fur- 
rows the surface in its tortuous meanderings, 
and from this results that irregular, wavy con- 
formation, generally and appropriately called 
rolling prairie." 



HISTORY OF DU PAGE COUNTY. 



159 



For illustration of his theory, Prof. Lesque- 
reax refers to the prairie soil of Illinois: 

"Its thickness is first to be considered; it 
varies from one to four feet, and even more 
How has been produced this enormous coat- 
ing of black mold which covers the clay sub- 
soil? and, also, how has this subsoil been 
produced, if not under the influence and ac- 
tion of water ? Complete oxidation of vege- 
table remains has never resulted in the keep- 
ing of such a peculiar thick compound as is 
the soil of the prairies. We must then con- 
sider this prairie soil as formed under pecu- 
liar chemical action by a slow oxidation or 
decomposition of vegetable matter, retarded 
in its action by water, in preventing the free 
access of oxygen, as in formation of peat. 
This (prairie) soil, then, as we have said, is 
half peat and half humus." 

Prof. Whitney, formerly State Geologist of 
California, writing of the formation of prai- 
ries, considers the absence of trees caused bj 
the fineness of the soil, and partly by the ac- 
cumulation in the bottoms of immense lakes 
of a sediment of almost impalpable fineness 
under certain conditions. 

The one great fault with these theories is, 
that they are hasty and indiscriminate, when 
a larger view would include all that these 
theorists have stated, without shutting us up 
to narrow requirements. We can take in all 
that Prof. Lesquereux says, viz., that the 
great prairie system has been covered with 
water, and at the same time understood that 
water action is not, or was not even the re- 
motest cause of the unwooded districts. 
The prairies may come after the existence 
and subsidence of lakes, but they come 
simply in the order of events, and not as a 
consequence of water. There is nothing in 
the water or primitive lake theory that does 
not apply equally to the wooded regions of 
any country. 



Referring to Lesquereux's theory, and 
Whitney's, Prof. Winchell says: " The fatal 
objection to this theory, and all the theories 
which look to the physical or chemical con- 
dition of the soil for an explanation of the 
treeless character of the prairies, is discovered 
in the fact that trees will grow when once 
introduced." 

The numerous lakes of Iowa, Illinois, Wis- 
consin and Michigan are mostly shallow, cov- 
ering often areas five miles by ten or fifteen. 
They have a dark sediment bottom, generally 
upon clay, which, being impervious, like 
leather, will for ages maintain these bodies 
of fresh water as they are. In some cases of 
higher altitude, with smaller lakes, the clay 
can be punctured, and after the escape of 
water the black sediment becomes good soil. 
Or the lake may be drained by cutting down 
its lower edge with a deep ditch. It is ob- 
vious that the concave- shaped clay substratum 
caused the lake, and it appears that the fresh 
water acted as a medium through which the 
sediments, no matter how obtained, were pre- 
cipitated; but directly the lake is drained the 
soil is ready to raise crops of grains, grasses 
or trees but it does not become a prairie. 
West of the Missouri River, and, as far as 
known, west of the Mississippi River, in Ne- 
braska and Kansas, the brown-colored top soil 
is not a sediment of, but instead, the same 
material as the sub-soil, whether loess or 
drift, having the same chemical elements, but 
colored by successive years of decay of 
grasses. Whether these grasses, year after 
year, were burned or disappeared by the 
slower process of oxidation, they were cer- 
tain to contribute both the dark or humus 
color, besides a certain amount of material 
not being sediment in any sense. We are 
agreeably relieved from introducing the need- 
less miracle of innumerable lakes as prairie 
antecedents. 



160 



HISTORY OF DU PAGE COUNTY. 



The evidence of prairie origin deduced from ' 
the disappearance of lakes, large or small, is 
thbrefore rejected as not sufficient. The 
lake patches with subsequent drainage, are 
simply facts by themselves, but not in any 
way related to the origin of the vast un- 
wooded regions of North America. 

The proportion of prairie to forest is so 
great in the Western States and Territories 
as to reverse the order of the inquiry. It 
seems here more proper to inquire, Why have 
we woodland and grove and densely timbered 
tracts in the Canadas and Eastern States, in- 
stead of these " unshorn fields, sublime and 
beautiful, for which the speech of England 
has no name?" 

This leads to another inquiry, viz., Which 
is the normal condition of the surface; which 
has priority, prairie or woods? Are not 
prairies, and pampas, and steppes, and vast 
unwooded areas quite as natural as forest- 
covered plains and hills? Have we not a 
problem quite as intricate in explaining the 
existence and permanence of forests as in pre- 
senting a theory which explains their ab- 
sence ? 

Individual estimates of the comparative 
value of wooded and prairie regions would 
vary as to the tastes or traditions of men; 
but the general summary of an impartial 
census leaves no room for debate on the su- 
perior advantages of prairie surfacea The 
center of empire makes its way westward 
over these natural meadows more rapidly than 
through dense forests. The unprecedented 
advance in the United States since the year 
1840, in political power, wealth and popula- 
tion, is due, mainly, to the prairie system of 
the Western and Northwestern States and 
Territories. 

The landed estate of Illinois is worth 
$1,000,000,000 in forty years, is equal to 
that of Ohio in nearly eighty years, and 



an average prairie county in the interior of 
Nebraska in twelve years attains the wealth 
and population of one in the woods of Ohio, 
of equal size, with seventy-five years of toil. 
After searching all that is known upon the 
subject, we may see that both prairie and 
forset are natural conditions, and that it is 
in the power of man to make or unmake, to 
have either surface, or to combine the two in 
any manner united to his use or caprice. It 
does not matter, therefore, whether grassy 
plains or boundless forests have priority as 
the primitive condition. It would easily ap- 
pear from both geologic and human history, 
that the two orders of surface have alternate- 
ly held possession, and that the present prai- 
ries and timbered areas, wholly, or in part, 
were once covered with forests, and vice 
versa. To that whenever we raise the ques- 
tion of priority, we are at once carried into 
the realm of geologic history, whose faint 
outline can be seen on the shdres of the old 
Silurian Sea,, where the first fronds of vege- 
table life raised their tiny forms, suited to 
the earliest condition of light, air and moist- 
ure consistent with life upon the planet. 
But the two great orders of vegetable life, 
viz., trees and grasses, are so diverse in mode 
of growth, in form and in degree of vital 
force that we may naturally took in the di- 
rection of this diversity for causes that shall 
logically jlead us toward a satisfactory expla- 
nation. 

The superior vital force of grass growths, 
aided by favorable conditions, enables them 
to exclude timber growths, except where pro- 
tected by natural barriers. The constant and 
free action of these relative forces maintains 
the present boundary between prairie and 
timber areas. Whenever these forces are in- 
constant, or irregular, or suspended by human 
agencies, the relative areas of each are varied 
or changed. 



HISTORY OF DU PAGE COUNTY. 



161 



Grass is called " an annual " plant, yet in 
an enlarged sense it is perennial. There is 
more vitality in the rhizoma or roots of grass, 
than in the oak or palm. Whatever -may de- 
stroy a tree or shrub brings no harm to grass. 
An ocean of flame may sweep over the prairie 
and consume every living thing, and leave 
the plain a parched and desolate waste, yet 
in a month the grass is green over the entire 
area, but the trees are dead. "What required 
ten, twenty or a hundred years to accumulate 
as forest or grove, can be replaced only by the 
same mimber of years, while grass will come 
to its best estate in the summer time of every 
year. I offer this primal and fundamental 
relation between grasses and trees, as the 
present and procuring cause in a theory to 
explain, philosophically, the origin of the 
prairies: 

' ' Next in importance to the Divine profu- 
sion of water, light and air, those three great 
physical facts which render existence possible, 
maybe reckoned the universal beneficence of 
grass. Exaggerated by tropical heats and 
vapors to the gigantic cane congested with its 
saccharine secretion, or dwarfed by polar rig- 
ors to the fibrous hair of Northern solitudes, 
embracing between these extremes the maize, 
with its resolute pennons, the rice plant of 
Southern swamps, the wheat, rye, barley, oats 
and other cereals, no less than the humbler 
verdure of the hillside, pasture and prairie 
in the temperate zone, grass is the most wide- 
ly distributed to all vegetable beings, and is 
at once the type of our life and the emblem 
of our mortality. Lying in the sunshine 
among the buttercups and dandelions of May, 
scarcely higher in intelligence than the mi- 
nute tenants of the mimic wilderness, our 
earliest recollections are of grass; and when 
the fitful fever is ended, and the foolish 
wrangle of the market and forum is closed, 
grass heals over the scar which our descent 



into the bosom of the earth has made, and 
becomes the blanket of the dead. 

" Grass is the forgiveness of nature her 
constant benediction. Fields trampled with 
battle, saturated with blood, torn with the 
ruts of cannon, grow green again with grass, 
and carnage is forgotten. Streets abandoned 
by traffic become grass grown like rural lanes, 
and are obliterated. Forests decay, harvests 
perish, flowers vanish, but grass is immortal. 
Beleaguered by the sullen hosts of winter, it 
withdraws into the impregnable fortress of 
its subterranean vitality, and emerges upon 
the first solicitation of spring. Sown by the 
winds, by wandering birds, propagated by 
the subtle horticulture of the elements, which 
are its ministers and servants, it softens the 
rude outline of the world. Its tenacious 
fibers hold the earth in its place, and prevent 
its soluble components from washing into the 
wasting sea. It invades the solitude of de- 
serts, cJimbs the inaccessible slopes and for- 
bidden pinnacles of mountains, modifies 
climates, and determines the history, char- 
acter and destiny of nations. Unobtrusive 
and patient, it has immortal vigor and ag- 
gression. Banished from the thoroughfare 
and the field, it bides its time to return, and 
when vigilance is relaxed, or the dynasty has 
perished, it silently resumes the throne from 
which it has been expelled, but which it 
never abdicates. It bears no blazonry of 
bloom to charm the senses with fragrance or 
splendor, but its homely hue is more en- 
chanting than the lily or the rose. It yields 
no fruit in earth or air, and yet should its 
harvest fail for a single year, famine would 
depopulate the world." 

The forest, however, in its strife for the 
mastery or possession has its peculiar advan- 
tages. From its deep shades it excludes the 
grasses. The lack of light and warmth in 
the twilight of vast forests "the boundless 



162 



HISTORY OF DU PAGE COUNTY. 



contiguity of shade " partly paralyzes vege- 
table growth of all kinds, and nearly obliter- 
ates all traces of grass. The shrubs and un- j 
dergrowth are dwarfed into insignificance, 
and appear unwelcome, like lank beggars in 
a lordly court. 

Grown trees, however, with their spreading 
branches, bearing coronals of leaves, yearly 
increase in this manner their own bulk, and 
at the same time deepen the shade that de- 
prives the shrub or sapling and grass of their 
bread of life. By this regime the forest at- 
tains its majesty, and maintains its regal 
splendor for centuries. By this economy, 
with its steady bracing and blending of 
woody fiber, the tree trunk lengthens towards 
the sun, increases in strength and beauty, 
and contributes to man his house on land and 
his ship at sea. On the border, between the 
forest and plain, both grasses and trees show 
the decimating effect of antagonism in the 
struggle for existence. Trees of high growth 
and rank never grow into columns; but, with 
branches near the ground, dwindle into groves 
in bush forms. Among them, but with 
abated force, the grasses spread, and afford 
only tolerable pasture. It is evidently a 
drawn battle, or an attempt to compromise 
under a flag of truce. The effect of annual 
fires over prairie areas is nearly uniform. 
It is one of the constant forces, varying, of 



course, in direction and power with the wind, 
but passing over, year after year, nearly the 
same areas, and meeting the same barriers to 
stay its progress, thus keeping the same bor- 
der line between the two kingdoms. These 
fires may have originated ages ago, from the 
ordinary lightning, or what is more probable, 
they were caused by the same means that now 
maintain them, viz., human agency. From 
time immemorial, the Indians have, generally 
in the autumn of each year, fired the prairie 
or grass plains, producing thereby that pecu- 
liar phenomena called Indian summer. By 
these annual fires, they secure two results, 
viz., first, the game is driven to the timber, 
where it can be more easily taken; and sec- 
ond, the grasses being burned, the bare 
prairie affords free vision against invasion, 
and also facilitates speed, whether for assault 
or retreat. Compelled thus by a twofold ne- 
cessity to annually burn the prairies, it is 
easy to see that they must have maintained 
for ages the areas that were fixed by natural 
barriers in the indefinite past established 
with no prospect of change, except by a 
change of policy under a different race of 
men. In this case the successful invaders of 
the present vast population of farmers must 
speedily revolutionize the Indian policy and 
the former boundaries between prairies and 
groves. 



MILTON TOWXSHIP. 



168 



CHAPTEE VIII. 



MILTON TOWNSHIP ITS FIRST SETTLERS WHEATON HOW IT RECEIVED ITS NAME THE 
GALENA & CHICAGO UNION RAILROAD CHURCHES OF WHEATON PIONEER SCHOOL- 
STACY'S CORNERS BABCOCK GROVE PROSPECT PARK ITS CHURCHES. 



r I iWO seafaring men, who had risen from 
*- cabin boys to become masters of vessels 
by time they had attained manhood, formed 
a determination to relinquish the calling to 
which they had been trained, and strike oat 
a new coarse in life. These men were the 
two Naper brothers, of whom much has been 
said in previous pages. The new plan con- 
templated the forming of a colony to establish 
itself and grow up with the country some- 
where in the West to which the immense im- 
migration was tending that had loaded their 
vessels westward bound to their utmost ca- 
pacity for the years that they had been sail- 
ors and Captains. The names of two of the 
men who joined their colony are Lyman But- 
terfield and Henry T. Wilson. The vessel 
started from Ashtabula, Ohio, in June, 1831, 
and arrived at Chicago in July. From thence 
the adventurers made their way across the 
spongy flats that then intervened between the 
place and the Desplaines River, and kept on 
to the west till their destination was reached, 
which was the spot where Naperville now 
stands. Here Mr. Butterfield and Mr. Wil- 
son remained a short time, witnessed the 
Black Hawk scare, and the next year took up 
claims a few miles north of the parent set- 
tlement Naperville. Mr. Butterfietd's claim 
was for a half-section of land lying wholly in 
the present township of Milton, in its south- 
eastern corner. Mr. Wilson's claim, made at 
the same time, happened to be where the 
three townships Lisle, Winfield and Milton 



corner together. These two men were the 
true pioneers of Milton Township, just half 
a century ago last June, the time of writing 
this chapter being August, 1882. Mr. But- 
terfield died a few years ago, but Mr. Wilson 
still walks the streets of Wheaton, and stal- 
wart young men, whose fathers he saw in 
their swaddling clothes, now help the old 
man up and steady his tottering footsteps 
down the uneven sidewalks of Wheaton, as 
he goes for the mail or after a newspaper to 
see what is going on in a world of excitement 
of which he has beheld three full generations. 
His grip on life is still tenacious as it is 
chronic. As this goes to press, news comes 
that Mr. Wilson's sands of life are run out 
almost to the last grain. 

Ralph and Morgan Babcock canue to the 
place since called Babcock's Grove, and made 
claims in 1833 of nearly the whole grove, 
with a view of parceling it out to their friends 
who were soon to follow. 

The next year (1834), Deacon Winslow 
Churchill, with his sons Seth, Winslow, Jr., 
and Hiram came to the place and made 
claims all in what is now Milton, except 
that of Winslow, Jr., which was on the 
ground on which the northern part of the 
village of Lombard, in York, now stands. 
W T ith the Churchills also came the wife of 
Morgan Babcock, John D. Ackerman and 
family and Seth Churchill and family. All 
these came from Onondaga County, N. Y., 
arriving at Chicago on the schooner La 



164 



HISTORY OF DU PAGE COUNTY. 



Grange, June 4, 1834; here they procured 
teams, and, loading their household goods, 
started over the prairies, stopping the first 
night, at Scott's tavern, where Lyons now is, 
and the next night at Parson's, where Lisle 
now is; thence over the trackless prairie 
northwardly, to the grove where their home h ad 
been secured to them the year before by a few 
blazes made on trees in the grove and a few 
stakes driven in the prairie by Mr. Babcock. 
In 1835, Moses Stacy and his wife came 
from Windham County, Vt., via Buffalo to 
Detroit, by steamer, thence by schooner to 
Chicago; thence, with a hired team, they 
started for Hennepin, 111., their original des- 
tination, but, on their arrival at Ottawa, they 
found so many cases of malarial fever that 
they retraced their steps in pursuit of a more 
salubrious location to the north. They found 
it '.he last of August, 1858, at the high spot 
of land to which their name has been given 
Stacy's Corners and here Mrs. Stacy and 
one of her sons still live on this spot so beau- 
tifully adorned by generous nature, on the top- 
most of those gravelly ridges that rise in ter- 
races one above another till it crowns the whole 
with a broad plateau, extending indefinitely 
to the north. Here they built a small cabin, 
14x16, with a puncheon floor and a roof of 
split logs, the lower layers of which were 
channeled so as to catch the drainage from 
the upper ones. Soon after it was built, an oc- 
casional traveler called at night for enter- 
tainment. It would not do to turn him 
adri ft, for he had no other refuge. Thus be- 
gan this business of tavern-keeping, which 
grew on their hands till their premises were 
enlarged and rebuilt once and again, and 
still inadequate to supply the demand as the 
country settled to the West, and Stacey's 
Corners gave promise of a central nucleus of 
a metropolitan character, and the name of 
Du Page Center was given it. 



David Christian settled at the place in 
1837, and built a frame house, the first in 
the new settlement. In a few years it had 
two good stores, two blacksmith shops, a har- 
ness stop, a hame factory, a wagon shop and 
all the machinery of a town. 

Even Chicago came to the place to get 
their mechanics to make a dredge to clean 
the mud out of the Chicago Eiver. But there 
was a limit to this prosperity. The laws of 
trade are inexorable and would follow the 
railroads, even from pleasing heights into 
valleys, and when the Galena & Chicago 
Union Railroad came through in 1849, many 
buildings were moved from the Corners to 
Danby, and all the business that had hither- 
to centered at the place. 

But let us return again to the good old 
days of 1835, when log schoolhouses were 
built for earnest children to study in, drawn 
thither by no aesthetic influences. One of 
these was built by subscription in 1835, at 
an opening in the north edge of the grove, 
on a small tributary of the East Fork. It is 
now a lonesome spot, away from the road, but 
was then vocal with young voices on week 
days, and hallowed with divine worship on 
Sundays, as all schoolhouses were in the early 
days. 

The first teacher in this house was Miss 
Maria Dudley, whose brother is now a promi- 
nent lawyer in Naperville. Rev. Pillsbury 
was the pioneer preacher in it, per ordr of 
Presiding Elder Clark, of the Du Page dis- 
trict, the same who had in June the previous 
year, come to the place to preach the funeral 
sermon of a young daughter of Deacon Wins- 
low Churchill Amanda. There was no 
cemetery in which to deposit her remains, 
but she was buried on private grounds with 
solemnities all the more impressive, because 
where people are few and the face of nature 
is ample, the loss of a single individual 



MILTON TOWNSHIP. 



105 



leaves a broader chasm in the home circle 
and in the neighborhood. 

The same year, 1835, William D. Dodge, 
from Rutland County, Vt. , came to the settle- 
ment and made a claim adjoining Babcock's-, 
his family arriving the following October. 
It was no small acquisition to the settlement, 
for he had four sons and nine daughters, all 
of whom settled at the piece. The names of 
the sons were N. Mason. Darwin D., William 
B. and J. S. It is not so necessary to name 
the girls, for they soon became identified by 
other names of a more masculine and less 
transient type, in which capacity they lent a 
hand in building up the country. 

Warren L. and Jesse C. Wheaton, Erastus 
Gary, Peter Crosby, S. H. Manchester, Al- 
vin Simmons, Peter Northrup, all came to this 
township soon afterward, and all of them 
are still active men, which would go to show 
that half a century in Milton Township had 
not tasked nature to her extreme limits, with- 
out counting how much wear and tear these 
gentlemen had before they came here with 
ripe growth in their limbs. These specimens, 
together with other evidences, go to show the 
healthfulness of the place. Its surface 
drainage is good, there being no extensive 
flat lands in the township, though a nar- 
row belt of low interval skirts the East 
Branch of the Du Page River that courses 
through the eastern tier of sections in this 
township. 

These low lands are not built on, but serve 
for pasturage or meadow, being too spongy 
for cultivation. There are groves of good 
timber in the southwestern and central east- 
ern and northeastern portions of the town- 
ship, which have, even up to this day, large- 
ly furnished fuel for farmers and townsmen, 
besides much material for building, fencing, 
etc. The gravel banks along the railroad 
west of the Du Page are very valuable, and 



furnish the necessary material for graveling 
the railroad. 

Milton has eight school districts and BB 
many good schoolhouses, two of which are 
graded. The number of persons between the 
ages of six and twenty in the town is 468. 

In the western part of the town, at Pleas- 
ant Hill, is a creamery that consumes 4,000 
pounds of milk, makes 120 pounds of butter 
and 350 pounds of cheese daily. The dairy 
business is on the increase in the town, 
owing, especially, to the facilities which the 
railroad affords for sending milk to Chicago. 

THE MASTODON. 

To trace the history of this noble animal 
since the timbers of Noah's ark cringed be- 
neath his ponderous tread, would take us 
through many evolutions of nature ere his 
offspring found their way into Du Page 
County. That he finally chose his pasture 
here is an evidence that it was then as now a 
good grazing country, for he was an herb- 
eating animal. His teeth give evidence of 
that and further prove that if he did not find 
grass enough to till his capacious stomach, 
that he could crop the little twigs from the 
trees, or eat the trees themselves level to the 
ground, if they were young forest trees not 
over twenty feet high, for what were such 
saplings between teeth that weighed from 
two to six pounds each, twenty-four in num- 
ber. Some of them were fashioned like 
pruning- shears; his tusks were ten feet in 
length, ten inches in diameter at the base and 
weighed 200 pounds. These are the dimen- 
sions and weight of a pair of them found 
near Aurora a few years ago, while excavating 
for the Chicago, Burlington & Quincy Rail- 
road. Later in the fall of 1869, the bones of 
one fore leg, sixteen sections of vertebrae, 
shoulder-blade and hip-bone of this extinct 
species were found on the land of Mr. Horace 



166 



HISTORY OF DU PAGE COUNTY. 



Jane, two miles from Wheaton. The prob- 
lem is, When did this animal leave his foot- 
prints on our soil ? Lyell says that they be- 
came extinct many thousand years ago, but 
it is evident that he had not consulted Mr. 
Jayne, for he could have given him evdience 
that would have dispelled such a theory. 

Mr. Jayne says he found the bones in a 
comparatively recently filled-up basin of 
water, imbedded in murky accretions from its 
surrounding water-shed. Near the bones 
were small tree trunks still standing with 
their roots pierced into the solid soil below 
the black muck that covered and preserved 
them. This don't look like the work of 
' ' many thousand years, " for this process of 
the filling up of prairie ponds is still going 
on, and much of nature's handiwork in this 
direction has been done within the memory 
of our early settlers. No; we may conclude 
that not more than five centuries ago at 
most that herds of mastodons frisked about 
here like lambs in a June pasture. Perhaps 
they grazed the timber all down where the 
prairies are, and providentially left the groves 
for winter pasture. If this settles the ques- 
tion of the origin of the prairies, it will 'save 
archaeologists a good deal of hard study. 

BISTORT OF THE VILLAGE OF WHEATON. 

Amidst the ' ' banks and braes " of Wind- 
ham County, Conn., there grew up some note- 
worthy historical associations. The place 
was settled in 1686 by good old Puritan stock 
from Boxbury, Mass., whose influence is felt 
to-day in the social circles of Wheaton, though 
transmitted through not less than six genera- 
tions. From Pomfret, in that county, came 
the first settlers of Wheaton, whose courage 
and ambition may have been toned up to a 
good scale by the proximity of their birth- 
place to the cave where Gen. Putnam bearded 
the wolf in his lair and slew him, which was 



quite a feat for a young man not accustomed, 
like the old Romans, to play the gladiator. 
From near the spot where this event had 
transpired, Erastas Gary came to St. Joseph, 
Mich., in the autumn of 1831. Here he 
found a prosperous village, containing about 
twenty-five families, with sufficient attractions 
to determine him to remain for the winter to 
teach the town school and await what might 
turn up. The next spring, having determined 
to see what was on the other side of the lake, 
he started, April 1, 1832, with three compan- 
ions, in a dugout canoe for Chicago, which 
was then the usual method of private travel 
between the two places. Constant toiling at 
the oars along the southern shores of Lake 
Michigan, with two nights spent in camp 
thereon, brought the travelers to Chicago on 
the 3d, and here Mr. Gary only spent the 
night, for the place looked far less inviting 
than St. Joseph. "Westward ho!" was the 
watchword the next morning, and, after 
taking leave of his companions, he took up 
his march toward sunset and gained Law- 
ton's, on the Desplaines, at night, after a 
day of amphibious toil, sometimes for miles 
through water a foot deep. The next day, he 
reached Naperville, which was on the 5th. 
From thence he made his way northwardly, 
and took up a claim at first adjoining the 
claim of Mr. Butterfield, some years before 
the spot where Wheaton now is become his 
residence. 

That there would have been a village at or 
not far from where Wheaton now stands is 
certain in any event, but how it came to be 
located in this precise spot, and how it took 
its name, grew out of the following circum- 
stantial details. 

Warren L. Wheaton, whose limbs had 
gathered pith and whose fires of youth had 
been fanned to manhood's flame, around the 
old classic grounds of Pomfret (his birth- 



MILTOX TOWNSHIP. 



167 



place), as well as Mr. Gary's, came to the 
Gary settlement June 1, 1837, to which E. 
Gary, his fellow-townsman, had preceded 
him. Ever since the Black Hawk war, set- 
tlers had been actively employed in making 
claims, especially contiguous to the Naper 
settlement, and the lands where timber and 
prairie were conbined in desirable propor- 
tions, were all under the bonds of claims, 
which were sacred as deeds, at least till the 
land had come into market, and long enough 
thereafter to give the respective claimants a 
reasonable time to pay for them. 

The amount of land to which the Garys 
and Butterfields had laid claim was much 
larger than they wished for their own use, 
and had designedly been made so for the 
purpose of letting their friends and old fel- 
low-citizens from Pomfret have a portion of 
it. Notwithstanding this propitious chance 
of settling here, young Wheaton had a desire 
to look farther west before he made a de- 
cision, which, as the result proved, was to 
establish him for life. Accordingly, he 
started on foot over the open prairies, in a 
southwesterly direction, sometimes getting a 
ride by stage or otherwise, and in his wan- 
derings visited St. Louis, Quincy and Bur- 
lington. At the latter place .was only two 
houses. Keeping on up the river, he saw 
Dubuque, when it had but a few houses, and 
Galena, when there were only a small cluster 
of buildings at the place. From this place, 
he turned his course homeward, or to what 
afterward became his home, but between 
which spot and himself lay an immense 
plain of waving grasses, almost entirely unin- 
habited. Dixon was his first point to reach, 
to which a well-known trail led and also con- 
tinued on to the east, the main line leading 
to Ottawa and a branch of it to Naperville. 
Over this prairie trail he traveled on foot, 
and by time he had returned, was in a suit- 



able frame of mind to cast his lot with his 
friends, among the undulating swells of land 
where he now resides. Perhaps his long 
stretches of marching between the stopping 
stations and his tired limbs, had something 
to do with this decision, but yet the distant 
hope that Chicago would rise out of the mud 
and become at least a good market for prod- 
U'-e was then in the minds of every one, and 
had its influence with Mr. Wheaton. 

A year had now been spent in prospecting, 
pending which time a Mr. Knickerbocker had 
come to the place, and, liking the lay of the 
land where the Garys and L. Butterfield 
had made a claim, either unwittingly or 
through design, came to the spot with an ox 
team and began to turn over the sod. Thirty 
acres were plowed before he was discovered, 
when intelligence of the trespass came to the 
Garys and Mr. Butterfield. Something must 
be done immediately, and it was planned by 
the aggrieved party promptly to repair to the 
spot with a team rigged to a plow, and com- 
mence breaking the sod by following the fur- 
rows already made by the claim-jumper, as 
Mr. Knickerbocker then was looked upon to be. 
Thus the two rival interested parties contin- 
ued at their work, without saying a word, 
and, as they went round after round on the 
same land, determination gathered force. 
Knickerbocker was the first to raise the flag 
of truce, which he did substantially by com- 
ing to the Gary party to hold a parley. 

During this eventful parlance, young War- 
ren Wheaton, who was a looker-on, took the 
Gary team and hastened to the next rise of 
land to the east, where no claim had yet been 
made, and plowed around about 640 acres or 
more to secure it to himself before Knicker- 
bocker could have time to do it, for Mr. 
Wheaton well knew that he would be driven 
from the grounds of Gary or Butterfield, 
and felt almost certain that he would claim 



168 



HISTORY OF DU PAGE COUNTY. 



the next adjoining land, to which he now 
was making good his own claims. While Mr. 
Wheaton was doing this, the dispute was ad- 
justed by paying Mr. Knickerbocker $120 for 
his service in plowing the land, of which 
there were thirty acres a happy way of set- 
tling the affair, and a generous one on the 
part of the defendants, for claim-jumping 
then was a serious offense, and if condign 
punishment was meted out for it, there was 
no one to question its justice or propriety. 
By this time, Jesse Wheaton, who had arrived 
in the country a few months subsequent to 
his brother Warren, was on the spot, and the 
disputed territory to which Knickerbocker 
had laid claim, was promptly transferred to 
him by his paying for the plowing, which he 
did. 

Perhaps this finale to those negotiations 
was a sort of " all-in-the- family'' arrange- 
ment, for the tradition says that it was then 
supposed that Jesse felt a gentleness toward 
Orinda, the sister of E. and J. Gary, the 
truth of which is confirmed by the subsequent 
marriage of the two, and it is not too much 
to say here that this marriage so promptly 
made verifies the assertion that Cupid is more 
unerring in his darts in new countries, for 
nowadays many long courtships terminate in 
failures. 

These are the circumstances which brought 
the two Wheaton brothers to the place where 
each now live, and for whom the town was 
named. That they came may be set down, 
perhaps, as the result of rivalry or ambition 
to secure a claim ahead of Mr. Knickerbocker, 
and that the town took its name for them, is, 
perhaps, the result of a friendly dinner. 

The circumstances are these: When John 
B. Turner and William B. Ogden came 
through the place, in 1849, prospecting for 
a route and the right of way for the Galena 
& Chicago Union Railroad, they had met but 



slender encouragement from the settlers im- 
mediately east of this place, then without a 
name. Not that the inhabitants objected to 
the road, but they showed a disposition to 
avail themselves of the occasion to get a round 
price for the land needed for its construction. 
Instead of taking any such advantage, the 
Wheatons were in full sympathy with these 
representatives of the road, offered them the 
right of way gratis, and invited the two gen- 
tlemen to dinner. Whether it was this din- 
ner, which was doubtless a good one, or the 
free gift of land, or both combined, that in- 
fluenced the managers of the road to put the 
station here and name the place Wheaton, 
will never be known, but certain it is that no 
amount of finessing and subtlety on the part 
of rival localities, which immediately ensued, 
could change the firm purposes of Messrs. 
Turner and Ogden. They were true to their 
first love and resisted all the blandishments 
of coquetry that followed from whithersoever 
it came. 

Mr. Jewell want so far as to build a depot 
at an expense of $400, so situated as to bring 
the road near to his land, the same now known 
as Jewell's Grove, but it had no effect. 

Dissatisfaction also prevailed in other lo- 
calities where apathy had existed but a short 
time before, ere the people had awakened to 
the importance of the subject.. 

But let us return to trace the first settlers 
who came to the place after the W T heatons 
had set their stakes here. The three next 
were Peter Crosby, who now lives next door 
east of the house of the writer; S. H. Man- 
chester, who now lives close by Wheaton, 
and Avin Simmons, who still lives at the 
place. These five first settlers are all our 
esteemed fellow-citizens to-day, July, 1882, 
after a residence of almost half a century, and 
all able to attend to their daily avocations 
with their accustomed promptness. To them 



MILTON TOWH8HJP. 



169 



may be added Erastus Geary and Henry T 
Wilson, both of whom are citizens of Wheat- 
on, and came to the county several years be- 
fore the first five named, but not to Wheaton 
till many had preceded them. Both these 
gentlemen are well known throughout the 
country. Mr. Gary is still an active mem- 
ber of society, taking an interest in all the 
issues that affect the welfare of our country, 
but Mr. Wilson, now within a few weeks of 
ninety-four years old, has passed his age of 
utility, though he still sometimes walks the 
streets and bids good morning to his old 
friends, of which he has countless numbers. 

There are many others venerable with age 
and honors, but the mention of whose names 
does not belong with a list of first settlers, 
because they came later to the county. 

In the fall of 1849, the Galena & Chicago 
Union Railroad laid their track through the 
place, and thence to Elgin, and built a depot 
here, if poles set in the ground to sustain a 
roof of battened boards and sides, fashioned 
in the same manner, deserves such a name. 
The track consisted of strap iron spiked on 
wooden scantling, on which rickety old sec- 
ond-hand engines ran at slow rates; but this 
means of transportation, though defective, 
was better than the bottomless sloughs that 
intervened between Wheaton and Chicago. 

The first store built here was a grocery. 
"Who ever heard of any other kind of a store 
as a pioneer effort in a new country ? Its 
very name sometimes meant that you could 
buy from its proprietor Kentucky Twist or 
Kentucky Bourbon, or something else more 
fiery, and it also meant that the way-worn 
traveler could find entertainment with a good 
solid bed to sleep in, if the bedstead which 
held it did not break down, and that he could 
luxuriate on nutritious corn-bread for supper 
and breakfast. This is what the pioneer 
grocery in a new country frequently meant, 



and the one opened here by Patrick Lynch 
justified the reputation of these primitive es- 
tablishments, especially those who played 
" Hamlet without the character of Hamlet. ' ' 
The next store was not a grocery store, that 
is, Kentucky Bourbon was not kept in it, al- 
though it kept tea, coffee and sugar and 
everything that sober people wanted from a 
penny whistle to a bass drum, to use a com- 
parison. It was a country store, and Mr. H. 
H. Puller was its proprietor; he, at the same 
time, kept a hotel, was Postmaster, kept the 
depot and a stage office, all of which callings 
have grown into larger dimensions than one 
man could attend to, except the stage office, 
which is now one of the extinct institutions, 
like the relics of mastodons that were dug up 
on the land of Mr. Jaynes, adjacent to 
Wheaton. 

Mr. Fuller has now enough to do to attend 

o 

to the depot, of which he still has the charge. 
His old store stood where the Central Hotel 
now stands, immediately south of the depot. 

The first man here who followed that occu- 
pation to which Elihu Burritt lent so much 
honor (that of a blacksmith), was Mr. Worm- 
with; his shop stood where the store of 
Messrs. Grotte Bros, now stands, and was 
erected in 1850. Mr. Wormwith, a few years 
later, died with consumption. The ware- 
house now occupied by Messrs. Sutcliffe & 
Kelly was built the same year as the black- 
smith shop 1850 by E. Gary and the 
Wheatons. 

On the 20th of June, 1853, the southeast 
quarter of Section 16, Township 36, Range 
10, having been laid out in streets, by W. 
L, Wheaton, J. C. Wheaton and others, a 
plat of it was duly recorded as the village of 
Wheaton. 

From this period to 1859, the town grew 
apace, so as to contain not less than seven or 
eight hundred inhabitants. It was, however, 



170 



HISTORY OF DU PAGE COUNTY. 



stigmatized as "Wheaton's Mud-Hole" by 
some rival localities a name, it must be con- 
fessed, not unmerited in the early spring or 
during excessive wet weather in its primitive 
days, when a mud blockade kept the people 
at home oftentimes when pressing necessities 
urged locomotion. 

Stimulated by these unfavorable conditions, 
the prominent citizens of the place saw the 
necessities of improving the streets and drain- 
ing the sloughs and ponds, of which there 
were many, and, after conferring together, 
decided that the true interests of the town 
required an act of incorporation, in order to 
enforce a system of public improvements. 
Accordingly, a charter was drawn up by the 
United Council of the representative men of 
the place, taking the charter of Naperville as 
a model, with but two modifications, the first 
of which was that the President of the Coun- 
cil Board should not be admitted as a mem- 
ber of the Board of Supervisors of the county, 
and the second was that the Council Board 
should have the power to license or suppress 
the sale of fermented or distilled liquors of 
all kinds. It was stipulated by the charter 
as follows: "The first election shall be held 
on the third Monday of March, A. D. 1859, 
and Erastus Gary, L. J. Bliss, Seth F. Dan- 
iels and J. C. Wheaton, or any two of them, 
may act as Judges of said election. This act 
to be in force from and after its passage." 
Approved February 24, 1859. 

The north half of the southwest quarter 
and the west half of the southeast quarter of 
Section 16, the south half of the northeast 
quarter and the east half of the southeast 
quarter of Section 17 ; Township 39, Range 
10, east of the Third Principal Meridian, 
were the lands comprised in the charter. 

The second charter of Wheaton, the one 
under whose authority the Council now acts, 
was approved March 11, 1S69. It enlarged 



the limits of the town, so as to include in all 
the whole of Section 16 and the southeast 
quarter and south half of the northeast quar- 
ter of Section 17, and the south half of the 
south half of Section 9, and the southwest 
quarter of the southwest quarter of Section 10, 
and the west half of the northeast quarter 
and the northwest quarter of the southwest 
quarter of Section 15, same township and 
range as the first description. ' 

The third article of the charter provided 
that the first Monday in each year should be 
the day of annual election for town officers, 
which officers should consist of a Council 
Board of five that a Justice of the Peace 
and a Constable should be elected biennially 
on the same day of each alternate yoar, and 
that the Council Board shall have power 
to appoint a Clerk, Treasurer, Assessor and 
Street Commissioner. The office of Assessor 
is now discontinued, as the Township Assess- 
or acts in his place and the Treasurer of the 
village corporation is elected by popular vote 
instead of being appointed by the board. 

A liberal system of public improvements 
has been inaugurated in Wheaton as the 
permanent policy of the town. First, the 
streets were piked up with dirt from ditches 
each side, ponds drained by tiling, and stone 
culverts built, but these improvements were 
found insufficient to make the streets pass- 
able in early spring, or during seasons of rain 
and warm weather in the winter, and it was 
determined to grade them with gravel, which 
fortunately abounds in various places near by. 
This work was begun in June, 1877, and, July 
16, 1880, a gravel pit was bought of E. H. 
Gary, for $400, which gives promise of an 
abundant supply of this material so essential 
to the wants of the town. 

Of the manufacturing interest of Wheaton, 

'little need be said. In the summer of 1856, 

Peter Northrup built a grist-mill, with two 



LIBRAKY 

OF THE 

UNIVERSITY OF ILLINOIS 



MILTON TOWNSHIP. 



173 



run of stones propelled by steam power, to 
which a planing-mill was also attached. It 
fulfilled his expectations until it was burned 
down, in December, 1858. It stood north of 
the blacksmith shop of August Michels, across 
the street. About the same time this grist-mill 
was built, a carriage factory was erected just 
west of it by Avery Chadwick, with steam-pow- 
er for machinery. H. C. Chi Ids, who came to 
Wheaton in 1855. full of ambitious ideas, 
bought out this establishment, in 1859, and 
employed about fifteen hands in it in the 
manufacture of locomotive vehicles for chil- 
dren and babies, for which there was quite H 
good home market in such a fruitful country 
as Wheaton and its surroundings. This 
building burned down in 1861, but the de- 
mand for baby carriages kept on increasing, 
notwithstanding. In this emergency, Mr. 
Chi Ids went to work immediately to build 
another factory, the site of which was across 
the street south of the Methodist Church. It 
was finished in 1862, and the same business 
went on it till the supply of baby carts was 
ahead of the demand, for there is a limit to 
the rate of animated reproduction. Mr. 
Childs now bought the ground now occupied 
by the Kelly Block, where formerly stood a 
fine hotel owned by Mr. Kinney (which had 
been burnt in 1861) and here he erected the 
building which now stands on the spot, and 
it is worthy of notice that he established the 
grade of Wheaton business streets by elevat- 
ing his sidewalk several feet above the old 
grade. The next attempt at manufacturing 
here was by E. Blanchard, who established a 
map factory in the Bedel Block, opposite the 
depot, in the autumn of 1871. In a few 
weeks the building burned, and Mr. Blanch- 
ard transferred his business to other quar- 
ters, and ultimately, to his own premises, on 
the grounds of his homestead. On the spot 
made vacant by the burning of the Bedel 



Block was built the Central Block, in 1875 . 
It is the principal business block of the town, 
containing ample stores and basements, with 
a fine hall and offices above. 

Had none of these establishments been 
burned, it is hardly to be supposed that 
Wheaton would ever have attained notoriety 
as a manufacturing town, for the reason that 
no streams of living water run through it, 
but its eligible situation as a place of resi- 
dence commends it to those wishing a home 
in a healthy locality among intelligent and 
thrifty people. The houses in the town are 
ample distances apart to insure a free circula- 
tion of air between each, and, in consequence 
of the college having been located at the 
eastern extremity of the town, and the grad- 
ed schoolhouse at the western, its area pre- 
sents tangent points in each respective direc- 
tion. 

For a place of its size, few have such an 
extended reputation, and it is well known 
that its fame is due to the tenacious religious 
connections, not only of its leading' men. but 
of its every-day sort of people, who follow 
the ordinary occupations of life. This is 
evident from the fact that there are eight 
churches here which support regular preach- 
ing, and at least four more kinds of religious 
beliefs, too weak in numbers to have churches 
and preaching, but not too luke-warm in their 
religious feelings to keep alive in their hearts 
and consciences fidelity to their principles, 
and it is proper here to add that the univer- 
sal charity that the necessity of religious 
sentiment has imparted to the place, has 
thrown its mantel over all who act out relig- 
ion whatever they do or do not profess; and 
it is historically due to Wheaton to say that a 
citizen will be equally respected here if he 
does or does not help support any religious 
faith, other things being equal. 

The remarkable cases of longevity here are 



174 



HISTORY OF DU PAGE COUNTY. 



worthy of mention. Henry T. Wilson, aged 
ninety-four, now able to go out of doors, but 
his mind enfeebled and his memory almost 
gone. He is well known as having been an 
active and useful pioneer and a thrifty farm- 
er. Edward W. Brewster is ninety years 
old; he has seen all our early Presidents, in- 
cluding President Washington, of whom he 
still retains a dim recollection, though but a 
child when he saw him. He has ever been 
foremost in every good work that appeared 
before him to be done during his long and 
useful life. For many years he was a mem- 
ber of the School Board of Chicago, and his 
large list of friends are still found among the 
most intelligent people of that city and other 
places where his life has been spent. His 
mind is still bright, and he may be seen al- 
most any pleasant day at work in his garden. 

Mr. and Mrs. Sanford Manchester, each 
over eighty years old, have lived forty years 
in Wheaton, and, on the 28th of June, 1882, 
celebrated the sixtieth anniversary of their 
wedding-day. They are now enjoying a rea- 
sonable degree of health. 

The elevation of Wheaton at the depot is 
166 feet above Lake Michigan, on the rail- 
road track. From this point, the land grad- 
uates upward, both to the north and to the 
south, except in the channel of a slough, 
which tends to the southwest, and affords a 
good escapement for surface drainage. 

WHEATON COLLEGE. 

About the year 1850, a movement was set 
on foot in the Illinois Annual Conference of 
the Wesleyan Methodist denomination to es- 
tablish an institution of learning somewhere 
in the State of Illinois. 

The originators of the scheme wern mostly 
men who had but little of this world's goods 
and prized learning for the power that they 
saw it gave others, rather than from any ex- 



tensive realization of its benefits in them- 
selves. They were real reformers, and were 
especially interested in the anti-slavery strag- 
gle which was then at its height. 

They saw with deep concern the children 
of anti slavery fathers and mothers, who 
were sent to college, where nothing was said 
against human bondage, soon losing their 
parents' principles and concluding that if 
slavery were as bad as they had been taught 
at home to regard it, the teachers they had 
learned to reverence and love would say some- 
thing about it. 

Their purpose, as his father, who was one 
of them, has often told the writer, was not so 
much to start a denominational, sectarian 
school, as to provide a pJace where their 
principles, by them prized and early taught 
to their . children, should not be smothered 
out by being held in silence by those who 
taught or deslroyed by the active, despotic 
teaching of the times. Wheaton, offering the 
most favorable terms, was chosen as the seat 
of this school. Preparations for building 
began by the founders kneeling in the prairie 
grass on the summit of the beautiful hill now 
crowned by the stately stone edifice known as 
Wheaton College building, and dedicated the 
hill and all that should be upon it to that 
God in whom trusting they had boldly gone 
into the thickest of the fight, not only for the 
freedom of human bodies, but of human souls 
as well. 

Although often being taunted by the enemy 
with being men of but one idea, and some- 
times pleading guilty to the charge, their one 
idea was a grand one, including the whole of 
man, all his interests for this world and the 
next. 

A plain stone building, two stories above 
the basement, forty-five feet by seventy-five, 
was first erected at a cost of about! 10,000. 
In the basement of which, the upper part be- 



MILTON TOWNSHIP 



175 



ing yet unfinished, on the 14th of December, 
1853, the Illinois Institute, for such was its 
first name, was opened under the instruction 
of Rev. John Cross, suceeding whom, the 
next April, the Rev. C. F. Winship, afterward 
missionary to Africa, had charge of the same 
for one year. Subsequently, Rev. G. P. Kim- 
ball, Miss Pierce and the writer of this consti- 
tuted the faculty until the opening of the next 
college yecir, when Rev. J A. Martling became 
"Principal of the first collegiate year." 

On the opening of the school year, Septem- 
ber, 1856, Rev. L. C. Matlach, who had been 
chosen President some years before, entered 
upon his office. He was preceded a little by 
Prof. F. G. Baker, who has, till his recent 
decease, been Professor of Music and Trustee. 
Also by Dr. Hiatt. The Trustees had sold, 
chiefly through the agency of Rev. R. F. 
Markham, for many years Trustee and agent, 
scholarships to the amount of $21,000, of 
which the intention was to use only the in- 
terest, but, in the exigencies of building and 
keeping up current expenses, some $6,000 of 
the principal was either invested in a board- 
ing-hall or used up in paying bills. 

This was in part offset by $2,000 or $3,000 
of interest on scholarships yet unpaid. An 
effort was made to replace the money expend- 
ed by investing all the interest accruing 
thereafter and making up a fund of 13,200 
to run the school for two years, by the faculty 
giving $200 each from their already very 
small salaries, and the Trustees giving each 
a like sum, and securing the balance by sub- 
scription outside. This plan was only par- 
tially successful, but served to help the in- 
stitution along for a time. 

Under the Illinois Institute charter, the 
Trustees were appointed by the Illinois Con- 
ference, and vacancies accruing between its 
sessions were filled by the Trustees them- 
selves. 



The finances of the institution becoming 
more and more involved, the Trustees began 
to cast about for outside aid to meet current 
expenses and pay a debt that had already 
reached the sum of $5,000. This debt, which 
had grown to over $6,000, was afterward paid 
through the efforts of President Blanchard. 
If some people could be found and enlisted, 
who had principles like their own, the school 
could yet be saved and made to fulfill the 
design of its founders. 

The Congregationalists, in their free gov- 
ernment and general adhesion to reform prin- 
ciples, seemed more like them than any other 
church. 

Overtures were accordingly made to the 
Congregational State Association, and also to 
President J. Blanchard, who had recently left 
the Presidency of Knox College. A meeting 
of leading Congregationalists was appointed 
at Wheaton to consider the matter, which 
meeting, as a whole, decided against the prop- 
osition to adopt the college; yet many of 
its leading members promised all the aid in 
their power, if President Blanchard would 
take the Presidency of the college. 

Stipulating that the charter should be so 
changed that the Trustees should be a closed 
board; that the church should make some 
slight changes, and, while retaining its con- 
nection with the conference, should become 
connected with the Congregational Associa- 
tion, President Blanchard consented to take 
the Presidency, although at the same time he 
had similar invitations from five other insti 
tutions some, perhaps all, apparently more 
eligible than the one accepted, for the reason 
that he preferred a college whose principles 
were like his own. The founders, also, were 
careful before giving up the control, to stipu- 
late that the institution should continue to 
teach their principles, which included not 
only opposition to chattel slavery, but as well 



176 



HISTORY OF DU PAGE COUNTY. 



opposition to all spiritual despotism that 
seeks to fetter the souls of men by profane 
and extrajudicial oaths and obligations. 

In January, 1860, President Blanchard en- 
tered upon the duties of his office. The name 
of the institution was changed to Wheaton 
College, and the charter was amended by the 
Legislature of 1861. 

The first class of seven young men, all of 
them from the regular college course, gradu- 
ated on the 4th of July, 1860. 

The Board of Trustees was enlarged to ' 
twenty members, and J. Blanchard, Hon. 
Owen Lovejoy, Dr. F. Bascoin, Deacon Moses 
Pettengill, De Chester Hard, Dr. Edward 
Beecher and F. H. Mathers, Esq., became i 
members of the Board of Trustees. 

On the breaking-out of the war, a large 
number of students went into the army, so i 
that the next year no class graduated. 

In response to the country's first call for ] 
men, several entered the service, among whom 
(jr. W. Wood, of the Freshman class, a noble, 
Christian young man, who, amid many dis- 
couragements, was working his way to a col- 
lege diploma and a life of usefulness beyond 
it, contracted fatal disease while lying en- j 
camped among the swamps of Cairo. He 
lingered long' enough to return to friends at 
Dover, 111., but soon struck his tent and went 
to be with the angels. 

G. H. Apthorpe sickened at the same time ; 
ar/d place, subsequently recovered and was \ 
afterward shot dead while fighting as Captain ; 
of a colored company. 

J. H Dudley, too, succumbed to the ma- j 
laria engendered by the stagnant waters 
about Cairo, dying at his home, in Whiteside 
County, 111. Of this same first quota of the 
college to the war, \V. H H. Mills, a slender, 
beautiful youth, and a universal favorite, 
lost his life while bathing in the Ohio River. 

Subsequently, G. C. Hand, of Elkhorn, ; 



Wis., then a graduate of the college, a young 
man of splendid scholarship, of high, noble, 
j Christian bearing, who went into the army 
to serve his country, not for pelf or prefer - 
; ment, choosing the post of a private when 
i office was offered him, volunteering to go un- 
armed with the surgeons into danger, and, 
when captured, suffering another to go free 
in his place when he might have been ex- 
changed, died by starvation in a rebel prison. 
H. Skinner, " Little Skinner," as we used 
to call him, wiry, withy little fellow, thwarted 
the winning or malice of some practical joker 
or copperhead, who had, during the night, 
placed the hated palmetto flag above the 
great ball surmounting the cupola of the col 
lege, hoping to enjoy the rage of the mass of 
angry youth who, in the morning, should 
hasten to haul it down. The boy's peering 
eyes, before all others, espied it, and, almost 
without an observer, he performed the daring 
feat of climbing the lightning rod and no eye 
again saw that emblem of rebellion. To our 
surprise, for we thought him too small for a 
soldier, one day Skinner donned the blue and 
slung his knapsack and rode away to join the 
country's braves on the field of deadly strife. 
In the morning of that awful day at Pea 
Ridge, Skinner was on the sick list. When 
the order came to march out to battle, forth 
came he from the hospital, but was ordered 
back, but the hospital could not contain him 
while his fellows were fighting for their 
country. Sallying forth, he mounted a horse 
and all day long he was in the thickest of the 
fight, and, at nightfall, insensible, was borne 
by loving comrades back to camp. 

In one of the hard-fought battles of the 
South, while in the midst of a conflict, a rebel 
bullet sent him - to sleep with the immortal 
defenders of liberty. Wheaton College gave 
to the country other sons not here mentioned, 
because not known to the writer, or, if once 



MILTON TOWNSHIP. 



177 



known, not now recalled. Others, no less 
brave, bear honorable sears that tell of their 
fidelity. Among these, Maj. Powell, now of 
the Smithsonian Institute, having buried an 
arm in the grave of the great rebellion, after- 
ward, in the service of science, in the ex- 
plorations of the canons of the great rivers 
of the Pacific slope, performed deeds of dar- 
ing surpassing those of knight-errant, with 
his one strong arm boldly steering his frail 
boat into gloomy canons, which the boldest 
native, with two arms, dared not enter, shoot- 
ing the water falls and coming out safe many 
miles below. MPJ. John Kinley, of the in- 
vincible Eighth Illinois Cavalry, is growing 
prematurely gray from an ugly wound receiv- 
ed in battle, and Sergt. J. F. Ellis, who, 
while carrying his colors into the deadly 
breach, fell by a terrible wound, still lives to 
engage in the ever irrepressible moral con- 
flict against evil. But the great design of 
Wheaton College was not to fit men for car- 
nal warfare. It soon found that in this world 
where error reigns, truth may not be taught 
with impunity. From the first, the college 
had a rule forbidding students to attend se- 
cret societies while in college. The Master 
of the Masonic Lodge gave notice that he 
intended to break down this rule. For some 
months it did not appear how he was going 
to make the attack, till at length a strolling 
lecturer was imported to organize a Good 
Templars Lodge. He said publicly, let the 
students join us, and, if the faculty dare say 
anything we will publish them to the ends of 
the earth, and they will have to shut up their 
doors. Three students were known to have 
joined them, one of whom was made their 
Secretary, and defiantly posted notice of their 
meetings in the college halls. The challenge 
thus boldly given was not declined. When 
arraigned and asked if they knew of the col- 
lege rule, they said they did and intended to 



disregard it. Their parents were then inter- 
viewed, and one of them said that he pro- 
posed that his son should attend the lodge 
and the college too. The students were then 
suspended until they should conform to the 
rule. The falsehood was everywhere pub- 
lished that the college had expelled students 
for belonging to a temperance society. A 
writ of mandamus was sued out to compel 
the faculty to take these students back. 
They were beaten in the lower court and 
appealed, the Master of the Masonic Lodge 
signing the bail bonds for the costs. The 
Supreme Court sustained the decision of 
the lower tribunal, and the first moral conflict 
ended. 

As to birds, there comes a time of nest build- 
ing; so to men and institutions there comes 
a time to build; such was the next great un- 
dertaking of this young college. 

A proposition was made to raise the first 
$10,000 in little Du Page County, and the 
President said that if others would raise this 
amount at home, he would go abroad and se- 
cure other funds to complete the enterprise. 
Part of the sum was raised, and the writer of 
this was appointed to canvass the county and 
complete the subscription. 

The west wing was then inclosed and six 
recitation rooms finished in the connecting 
wing, when all the moneys raised were ex- 
pended, and, in pursuance of the policy not 
to go into debt, building operations ceased. 

About two years fter, the President hav 
ing secured more money, the work of build 
ing was again resumed, and continued until 
the present noble building was completed, at 
a cost of some $70,000, although in doing so 
a debt, in spite of the President's protest, of 
$20,000 was contracted. 

After this period of external material ac- 
tivity, there succeeded a calm which was fol- 
lowed by a moral tornado. 



178 



HISTORY OF DU PAGE COUNTY. 



The immediate successors of the Illinois 
Institute Trustees and faculty felt doubly 
bound, both by their own convictions and by 
the injunction of their predecessors to teach 
their principles, while others who came in 
later, while professing to hold the same prin- 
ciples, wished Wheaton to bo like other col- 
leges that made no stir about these reform 
principles. The secret empire, which, de- 
spising the weakness of this feeble folk, had 
before kept comparatively quiet, now began 
to show signs of war. As before, the local 
lodge issued, by its Master, its brutum fulmen 
against a rule, so now there came from secret 
caverns a hundred miles away an edict that 
the head of this dangerous institution must 
be cut off. Strike, but conceal the hand, is 
the assassin's motto, upon which secrecy al- 
ways acts. The outburst of this real division 
of sentiment in the college and church; the 
sore heads always thrown off by any active 
movement; the financial embarrassment of 
the college, all together, seemed to afford a 
fitting opportunity for action, and for the 
real actors to escape notice. 

One material thing only seems to have es- 
caped their notice. No power on earth could 
perform the desired decapitation outside of 
the Board of Trustees, and the large majority 
of these held the same principles as their 
President, and were men whom neither threats 
could intimidate nor money buy, both of 
which were tried. 

When other measures failed, ecclesiastical 
action was taken, such as, if now attempted 
in any civil court in Christendom, would con- 
demn the actors to an immortality of infamy 
more enduring than that of the Star Chamber 
or the Holy Commission, the result of which 
was to drive from the association of which he 
had been a father, and the college church 
from connection with what had always pro- 
fessed to be a circle of free churches. When 



the mad surges finally are laid, it is found 
; that % God still reigns, and Wheaton College, 
1 head and all, lives. Not only lives, but still 
grows and strengthens, sending downward its 
roots and upward and outward its branches, 
bearing leaves and flowers and fruits, bidding 
fair to become a tree of the centuries, to 
stand, when the errors it was set to with- 
stand have faded from the minds of an intel- 
ligent, free, Christian people. 

The debt of the college, now increased to 
nearly $24,000, still remained unpaid. Prof. 
C. A. Blanchard was planning for much 
needed rest in the summer vacation, when, 
i on reading some passages of Scripture, he 
felt impressed that the debt must be paid, 
and he must take measures to raise it. Times 
were still hard, and sobor business men said 
that nothing short of a financial miracle 
could do it. Contrary to the judgment of 
the President even, Prof. Blanchard got up 
a subscription, payable in case the whole sum 
should be subscribed before the opening of 
, the next fall term. When urged to put the 
! time longer, he said if it was raised God 
must raise it, and he could do it in that 
time as well as longer. Before the time ap- 
pointed, every dollar of he sum was made up 
as a free-will offering. 

The college lives to day out of debt, its 
faculty agreeing to take what money comes 
in during the year, and at the close give :be 
balance of their small salaries, and report no 
debt. 

Owing to the infirmities of age, its old 
President has for two years sought to retire, 
but, by the united entreaties of Trustees and 
faculty, has been induced to retain the office 
till the present 

He now, full of years and honors, gives place 
to his son, Prof. Charles A. Blanchard, who 
comes to the head of an institution every way 
well equipped for duty, having in addition 



MILTON TOWNSHIP. 



179 



to the ordinary college, a prosperous musical 
department, under the charge of Prof. S. 
Wesley Martin; a very successful art depart- 
ment, taught by Mrs. S. H. Nutting, and a 
young and vigorous theological seminary, 
under the charge of President L. N. Stratton, 
one of the first graduates of the college. O. 

F. L0MRY. 

THE COLLEGE CHURCH OF CHRIST. 

The first settlers on the site of the town of 
Wheaton were Hon. Warren L. Wheaton and 
his brother, Jesse C. Wheaton, for whom the 
town was named. They worshiped with a 
small Methodist Episcopal Society, at Gary's 
Mill, in this county. The first society formed 
within the town was by Wesleyans, February, 
1843, and numbered at first fourteen mem- 
bers. 

This society was ministered to by Rev. 
Kufus Lamry, Rev. Milton Smith, Alexander 
McArthur, L. B. Ferris, John Cross, G. Clark, 
William Kimball, H. Moulton, William Whit- 
ten and R. F. Markham, whose labors ex- 
tended to 1855. From that year to 1859, 
the preachers were Joel Grinnell, G. P. Kim- 
ball and L. C. Matlack. 

January, 1860, J. Blanchard. who had been 
called to the Presidency of the college, took 
charge of the church. A new charter was ob- 
tained for the college, and the name of the 
church was changed to the First Church of 
Christ, in Wheaton, February 2, 1860, and 
about one hundred members were received in i 
the first two years of his pastorata The Wes- i 
leyans had a rule excluding members of secret 
orders from the first, seventeen years before the 
change, and they made it a condition of the 
change that their testimonies against slavery 
and secret societies should be faithfully main- 
tained, which condition has been sacredly 
observed. It was, however, thought expe- 
dient to organize a Wesleyan society, and an : 



amicable division took place, which resulted 
in the present Wesleyan Church in Whea- 
ton, November, 1862. Before and since the 
withdrawal of the Wesleyans, the members 
of both churches have all walked in harmony 
from first to last. 

The "First Church of Christ" was so 
named after the manner of the early Congre- 
gational Churches of this county, which 
aimed to be after the strict New Testament 
model, and were not called "Congregational," 
but as in Hartford and New Haven, etc., 
simply churches, designated by number, 
street or locality. Like the early Congre- 
gational Churches, too, it called its commit- 
tees of discipline " Elders. " Its government, 
too, like theirs, is strictly Scriptural, that is 
to say, democratic. 

Several attempts were made to over-ride or 
rescind the rule excluding the secret deistical 
orders, both in the church and in the college, 
but our Circuit and Supreme Courts sustained 
the rule, and the church refused to ignore or 
rescind it. 

The church united with the Fox River 
Union in 1860. It was set off to a new Con- 
gregational association, the Aurora, in 1867, 
and was transferred by request to the Elgin 
association, in 1875. The relations of the 
First Church with the three local associations 
to which it has belonged, have been unexcep- 
tionably harmonious, as also with the general 
association of Illinois. All these bodies have 
on their records, the strongest possible testi- 
monies against the deistic secret orders. In 
1867, the State Association adopted a resolu- 
tion, written by Professor, now President, 
Bartlett, of Dartmouth College, declaring 
Freemasonry '* hostile to good government 
and the true religion," and, at the same ses- 
sion, a report by Dr. Edward Beecher, whioh 
says: "By it (Freemasonry) Christ is de- 
throned and Satan is exalted." And Aurora 



180 



HISTORY OF DU PAGE COUNTY. 



Association refused to license two young 
men who were Freemasons to preach. 

Difficulties having arisen in 1877 of a com- 
plex nature, stimulated by an officer of a Ma 
sonic lodge outside, at the written request of 
above eighty members, in January, 1878, 
the church voted to dissolve and become two 
churches, allowing the members to go with 
either body as they chose. Some thirty act- 
ing members withdrew and afterward ex- 
changed the name of "First Church of 
Christ " for the " First Congregational 
Church," and also struck from the manual 
their testimony against secret lodges. 

The original church, to avoid controversy 
about the name, took the name of the " Col- 
lege Church of Christ, retains the testimonies 
unaltered (1882), worships in the same place 
where it ever has done since its organization; 
has enjoyed several revivals of religion, peace 
in its own membership and charity with all 
churches of Christ JONATHAN BLANCHARD. 

FIRST CONGREGATIONAL CHURCH. 

The organization known as the First Con- 
gregational Church, Wheaton, originated in 
a meeting held at the residence of Joseph 
Chadwick, Sr., in February, 1843. and was 
first known as the Wesleyan Methodist 
Church, its membership numbering fourteen 
persons. Bev. Eufus Lumry was the first 
minister. For several years, no records were 
preserved, but it is known that the follow- 
ing-named ministers preached for the church 
between the years 1843 and 1854: Milton 
Smith, Alex McArthur, L. B. Ferris, John 
Cross, Geo. Clark, Wm. Kimball, H. Moultoni 
Wm Whittin and E. F. Markham. 

The records have been preserved since 
1855, and from these we learn that Eev. Joel 
Grennell preached a few months during that 
year; Eev. G. P. Kimball, four months in 
1856; Eev. L. C. Matlack, in 1856-59. 



In January, 1860, Rev. J. Blanchard was 
employed as supply, and on February 2 suc- 
ceeding, the church voted to adopt the name 
of the First Church of Christ, in Wheaton, 
111., and to send a delegate to the next meet- 
ing of the Fox Eiver Union, a Congrega- 
tional association. At the same time, a 
church covenant, in accordance with Congre- 
gational usage, was adopted. At the meet- 
ing of the Fox Eiver Union, April 25, 1860, 
the church was received into the fellowship 
of the Congregational Churches. For geo- 
graphical considerations, it was dismissed to 
the Aurora Association in 1867, and by that 
body to the Elgin Association in 1875, where 
it still holds denominational connection. 

On November 29, 1862, twenty-eight mem- 
bers petitioned for letters of dismission, to 
form a Wesleyan Methodist Church, which 
were granted. 

In January, 1878, difficulties in the church 
culminated in the withdrawal and subsequent 
excision of a large number of members, who 
organized as an independent body, styled the 
College Church of Christ. 

During the twenty-two years of existence 
as a Congregational Church, nearly seven 
hundred persons have been connected with its 
membership, and its pulpit has been supplied 
by the following clergymen, viz. : E. N. 
Lewis, G. F. Milliken, William H. Brewster, 
J. B. Walker, D. D., Lathrop Taylor and 
Augustine G. Hibbard. The pastoral relation 
has been formally instituted in but two in- 
stances, Eev. G. F. Milliken and the present 
pastor having been regularly installed. 

A house of worship was built in 1878, at a 
cost of nearly $5,500. In January, 1879, 
the name was changed to harmonize with its 
denominational connection, to its present 
title, the First Congregational Church. The 
present membership is forty-three; Sabbath 
school membership, seventy; contributions 



MILTOX TOWNSHIP. 



181 



for twelve months, $1,300. Church Clerk, 
Rev. I. A. Hart; Deacons, Loren Barnes, 
Eev. H. AV. Cobb and E. B. Wakeman; Sun- 
day School Superintendent, William Nunn; 
Trustees, E. W. Fisher, George Maze, S. N. 
Moffatt. AUGUSTINE E. HIBBAED. 

METHODIST EPISCOPAL CHURCH. 

The Methodist Episcopal Church at Whea- 
ton was organized as a circuit October 24, 
1857, with the following officers: Rev. J. 
W. Agard, Presiding Elder; Rev. J. Nate, 
first pastor; Rev. C. Gary, Local Deacon; 
Erastus Gary, Levi Ballou, M. E. Nash, 
John Finnerson, George Reed, Joel Wiant, 
William Ainsworth and Warren L. Wheaton, 
Stewards; Orlando Wakeley, David S. Chris- 
tian and William Miller, Class- Leaders. 

Rev. T. L. Oltnsted, with Rev. George 
Brewster as his assistant, succeeded Rev. J. 
Nate as pastor. 

In 1859, Rev. Luke Hitchcock was Presid- 
ing Elder, and Rev. Thomas Corcoran was 
preacher in charge. 

In May, 1860, Rev. L. Hitchcock was 
elected agent of the Western Methodist Book 
Concern, and Rev. E. M. Boring was ap- 
pointed Presiding Elder of the district. In 
the fall of 1860, Wheaton was made a sta- 
tion, with Rev. L. H. Bugbee as preacher in 
charge, Rev. William Kimball as Local El- 
der, with P. M. Curtis, O. Wakeley, J. C. 
Wheaton and W. L. Wheaton as , Stewards, 
with M. E. Nash and L. S. Phillips as Class- 
Leaders. 

In the winter of 1861, the present church 
was finished, and dedicated by Bishop M. 
Simpson, assisted by Rev. E. M. Boring and 
Rev. O. H. Tiffany. It had eighty-seven 
members and eighteen probationists, and the 
Sunday school connected with it had an en- 
rollment of 160. Wheaton was in the Chi- 
cago District of the Rock River Conference. 



The following is a list of its Presiding El- 
ders, who succeeded Rev. E. M. Boring to the 
present time: Rev. S. P. Keys, Rev. H. 
Crews, Rev. W. C. Damdy, Rev. A. J. Jut- 
kins, Rev. W. C. Willing and Rev. L. Hitch- 
cock. 

The following is the order of pastors since 
the first one: Rev. A. W. Page, Rev. J. O. 
Cramb, Rev. George E. Strowbridge, Rev. S. 
Stover, Rev. John Ellis (during whose charge 
there was a gracious revival of religion), Rev. 
William Goodfellow, D. D., Rev. J. G. Camp- 
bell, Rev. S. Searl, Rev. R. Congdon, Rev. 
William P. Gray and Rev. E. M. Boring. 

The church has had a varied history. 
Many who have been identified with it 
have removed to other localities, and many 
have died in the faith and gone home to 
heaven. 

It has contributed its share to the benevo- 
lent enterprises of the day, both in material 
aid and by its influence, and now stands with 
a fair record and in the enjoyment of a rea- . 
sonable degree of prosperity an honor to the 
cause of Christ, and a blessing to the world. 
It has a membership of eighty-seven, and five 
probationists, and a Sunday school member- 
ship of 225, with an average attendance, dur- 
ing the past year, of 110. 

The writer has just been returned to this 
charge for the third year. The following 
are the present officers of the church: A. B. 
Curtis, Local Preacher; J. C. Wheaton, Sr., 
J. C. Wheaton, Jr., W. I. Wheaton, E. H. 
Gary, N. E. Gary, William L. Gary, William 
H. Wakelee, B. Loveless and H. H. Fuller, 
Stewards; A. B. Curtis, Levi Ballou, C. O. 
Boring, Class- Leaders; J. C. Wheaton, Sr., 
E. H. Gary, William L. Gary, H..H. Fuller, 
H. Holt, J. G. Vallette, J. J. Cole and A. M. 
Ballou, Trustees; C. O. Boring and A. B. 
Curtis, Superintendents of the Sunday school. 
The Trustees hold in trust for the church one 



182 



HISTORY OF DU PAGE COUNTY. 



church valued at $3,000, and one parsonage 
valued at $2 ,500. 

The above report is made from imperfect 
data, and doubtless has many omissions of 
persons and events which should have been 
named. E. M. BORING. 

BAPTIST CHUBCH. 

Rev. Philander Taylor was the real pio- 
neer of the Baptist denomination in this vi- 
cinity. He began his work at Stacy's Cor- 
ners as early as 1846, and succeeded in es- 
tablishing a church at the place, which would 
have been a permanent one, had not the in- 
fluence of the railroad, which left that place 
a mile out of the way in 1849, drawn busi- 
ness to Danby. 

Under such adverse circumstances, it was 
in vain to try to build up the church at the 
Corners, and the building which had been 
erected for its use was removed to Danby, the 
railroad station, where the prospects for a 
village seemed promising. Meanwhile, the 
few Baptists at the Corners, intent on build- 
ing up and re-organizing, chose Wheaton as 
the most propitious place for their second 
attempt, not for its local convenience, but 
because it seemed to give better promise of a 
growing place than any other within the 
same compass. In accordance with this reso- 
lution, the society held their meeting at a 
schoolhouse at this place, after the removal 
of their church, and continued to do so till 
18(53, during which period several citizens of 
Wheaton joined them, and they felt strong 
enough to organize a church, which was done 
in 1864. For the next year, they held their 
meetings mostly in the Universalist Church. 
Meantime, they had commenced a building 
of their own, which was partly finished, and 
meetings held in its vestry room from May 12, 

1866, till the completion of the building, in 

1867. It was dedicated the 5th of Decem- 



ber. Rev. Garrison was the pastor of this 
society from its first meetings in Wheaton 
most of the time till its re-organization at 
that place in 1864. Rev. B. F. McLafferty 
was the first pastor after its re-organization. 
He was succeeded by Rev. S. W. Marston, 
who held charge till 1865, since which time 
Rev. E. O. Brien, Rev. W. W. Smith, Rev. 
A. J. Colby, Rev. F. M. Smith, Rev. S. Ba- 
ker, Jr., Rev. Henry B. Waterman and Rev. 
T. W. Green have in turn been pastors of 
this church. The main church building is 
33x56 feet, added to which is a vestry 18x24 
feet. 

The first Trustees of the church were P. 
W. Stacy, John Sutcliffe, P. S. Driscoll, E. 
S. Kelley and John Roberts. 

THE EPISCOPAL CHURCH IN WHEATON. 

The first services of this church were held 
in June, 1875, by the Rev. Dr. C. V. Kelly, 
who continued to hold occasional services 
until the time of his death, in the spring of 
1876. The Rev. Dr. William Reynolds suc- 
ceeded him in the work in June, 1876, re- 
maining in charge of the mission until his 
death, in the summer of the same year. The 
parish then remained without a clergyman 
for nearly a year, the services being contin- 
ued every Sunday with Mr. William A. 
Shearson as lay reader. 

In May, 1877, Bishop McLaren sent to the 
mission the Rev. Dr. T. N. Morrison, who 
has remained in charge up to the present 
date (October, 1882). 

Until June, 1882, the services of the mis- 
sion were held in the Universalist Church; 
! but on Sunday, the 18th of December, 1881, 
| the Bishop of the Diocese laid the corner- 
stone of the new church, which was completed 
in June of the following year. 

The consecration services were held on the 
1 20th of June, 1882, and were attended by the 



MILTON TOWNSHIP. 



183 



Bishop and a large number of the clergy and 
laity from Chicago and its vicinity. 

The new church, which bears the name of 
Trinity, is built of wood, with stone found- 
ation. Its seating capacity is about one hun- 
dred and fifty, the dimensions of the nave 
being 28x60 feet, and of the chancel 14x10. 
The interior of the church is finished in'oiled 
pine and' stained walnut, and has a handsome 
open timbered roof. The windows are of 
stained glass, and are, in several instances, 
memorial gifts. The chancel is semi-octag- 
onal in form, and is finished like the body 
of the church. The various articles of chan- 
cel furniture are of walnut, and were, with 
the exception of the altar, gifts from individ- 
uals, the altar being given by the Church of 
the Epiphany, Chicago. 

The church, which is entirely free of debt, 
was built and furnished at a cost of about 
$5,100, all of which was contributed by the 
members of the mission and their friends. 
MARY DRUMMOND. 

WESLEYAN METHODIST CHURCH. 

The Wesleyan Methodist Church of Whea- 
ton was organized in February, 1843, at a 
meeting held at the house of Joseph Chad- 
wick, in what is now known as the Hadley 
neighborhood. George C. Vedder was chosen 
Chairman; Joseph Chadwick, Steward; and 
Abial Hadley, Class-Leader. Eev. Rufus 
Lumery was the first pastor. The primary 
reason which led to this organization was the 
connection of the Methodist Episcopal Church 
with slavery, the parties in this movement 
being members of her communion. That 
this band of reformers were justified in their 
action is unmistakably proven by the history 
of the times, the church from which they 
withdrew, as also others, having long since 
indorsed their position. 

The distinctive reformatory principles of 



the church are opposition to slavery, secret 
societies and arbitrary church government; 
methodistical in doctrine and usages, Congre- 
gational in government, the laity being 
equally represented with the clergy in all 
their deliberations. It holds an associated 
relation with a connection of churches known 
as the Wesleyan Methodist connection of 
America. This was the first church in 
Wheaton. Its early history and interests 
were closely identified with those of Wheaton 
College, which was founded by the Wesley - 
ans under the name of Illinois Institute. In 
1860, by mutual agreement, the college passed 
into the hands of the Congregationalists, 
and the church connected therewith assumed 
the name of the First Church of Christ, fol- 
lowing which a re-organization was effected, 
thereby constituting the present Wesleyan 
Church. 

The following persons have served the 
church as pastors: Revs. R. Lumery, Milton 
Smith, A. McArthur, L. B. Ferris, John 
Cross, George Clark, William Kimball, H. 
Maulton, William Whitten, R. F. Markham. 
George Kimball, Joel Grennell, L. C. Mai- 
lack, J. Blanchard, A. H. Hiatt, D. F. Shep- 
ardson, H. R. Will, William Pinkney, Will- 
iam H. Van Boren, J. M. Snyder, J. N. Bed- 
ford, A. F. Dempsey and L. N. Stratton, 
President of Wheaton Theological Seminary. 
L. W. MILLS. 

ST. MICHAEL'S CATHOLIC CHURCH. 
The Catholic congregation of St. Michael's 
Church at Wheaton was organized in 1879. 
Up to that time, and until the new church 
was formally and solemnly dedicated which 
was done on the 29th of June, 1882 the peo- 
ple living in and around Wheaton used to at- 
tend service partly in Winfield, partly in 
Milton, both places being two and a half miles 
distant from Wheaton. In 1879, however, the 



184 



HISTORY OF DU PAGE COUNTY. 



people thought it best to have their own at- 
tendance, and hence they concluded to build 
a suitable church for worship. The founda- 
tion was begun on the 29th of May, 1879, 
and by the 24th of the following month, work 
had advanced so far that the corner-stone 
could be laid, which was done by Very Rev. 
J. McJVlullen, at that time Administrator of 
the Diocese of Chicago. After the comple- 
tion of the basement, work stopped for nearly 
two years apparently for want of means 
but it was resumed in the fall of 1881. The 
edifice, which has a stone basement, on which 
is built a handsome frame church, measures 
45x80. Above the altar in the middle, a 
picture of the Archangel St. Michael, fighting 
the demon, an oil painting by J. Schott, 
Detroit; at the left of the altar, a statue of 
the Blessed Virgin ; and at the right a statue 
of St. Joseph. The whole was finished June 
29, 1882. It is an ornament for Wheaton, a 
proof of the liberality of the rather small 
congregation number of families at present 
being about thirty-five. It was solemnly 
blessed on the above date, by His Grace, the 
Most Rev. Archbishop P. A. Feehan, D. D., 
who appointed the Rev. William de la Porte, 
who, .for over twelve years, was pastor at Na- 
perville, as rector of the new church. WM. 
DE LA PORTE. 

ST. STEPHEN'S CHUHCH AT MILTON. 
This church is as old as St. Peter's at Na- 
perville, from which place it was formerly 
attended up to August, 1866. Then the Rev. 
M. Albrecht took, for a short time, charge of 
the congregation. After his departure, for 
two years it was attended by the Benedictine 
Fathers from Chicago, when the church at 
"Winfield was built, and that place received 
its own pastor. Milton then was regularly 
attended from Winfield twice a month. At 
present, it is under the care of the pastor of 



Wheaton, who visits the church likewise 
twice a month. WM. DE LA POBTE. 

THE GERMAN EVANGELICAL LUTHERAN ST. JOHN'S 
CHURCH OF WHEATON. 

This congregation was organized in the 
beginning of the year 1865. At the time of 
its organization, it numbered some forty fam- 
ilies. Its first services were held in the Uni- 

.versalist Church, Rev. F. W. Richmann, at 
that time pastor of a congregation in Elgin, 
occupying their pulpit every second Sunday. 
On Christmas Day of the same year, the 
congregation tendered a regular call to Rev. 
Prof. C. A. T. Selle, of the Evangelical Lu- 
theran Teachers' Seminary at Addison, 111. , 
who accepted, and remained their pastor for 
nearly seven years. Services were then held 
in the northeast and public schoolhouse. At 
the close of 1871, Prof. Sells left, and Rev. 
G. G. W. Bruegmann, pastor of Rothenberg, 
followed in his place. This gentleman also 
remained for a period of seven years. Dur- 
ing the time of his pastorate, in 1875, the 
congregation bought the southwest end pub- 
lic school property, and fitted it up to suit 
their purpose. In the spring of 1878, Rev. 
Bruegmann accepted a call to Herscher Sta- 
tion, 111., and the pulpit of the congregation 
from that time until the fall of 1880 was 
alternately supplied by the Lutheran pastors 
from neighboring towns, viz., Rev. H. F. 
Fruechtenicht, from Elgin; Rev. M. Grosse, 
from Oak Park; Rev. I. H. C. Steege, from 
Dundee; Rev. H. Freese, from Algonquin; 

! Rev. H. Grupe, from Rothenberg; Rev. L. 
Wagner, from Chicago; and Rev. Prof. Theo- 

. dore Brohm, from Addison. Up to this time, 
the congregation had Gospel service but every 
second Sunday. In the fall of 1880, their 
present pastor, the Rev. Karl Koch, was 
tendered a call, who had just finished his 
theological studies in the seminary, connected 



MILTOX TOWNSHIP. 



185 



with the German Evangelical Lutheran Syn- 
od of Missouri, Ohio and other States, at St. 
Louis. Begular services were now held every 
Sabbath day. The present number of fami- 
lies constituting the congregation is fifty-five, 
with nearly three hundred and fifty souls. 
In connection with the church, an every-day 
school is sustained by tho congregation, 
which is taken care of and taught by the 
pastor himself. The number of scholars last 
winter was sixty-two; in spring, thirty-two. 
The schoolhouse was built in the fall of 1881, 
at an expense of nearly $600. The present 
value of the whole property belonging to the 
congregation is about $3,000. 

Standing in close relation with the congre- 
gation at Wheaton, there is a smaller one at 
Turner Junction, numbering but fifteen fam- 
ilies, where regular Gospel services are led 
by the pastor of the Wheaton Church in the 
afternoon of every second Sunday. The 
place of worship is the Methodist Church, 
the use of which has been secured for a small 
amount of rent. KARL KOCH. 

THE UNIVERSALIST CHURCH OF WHEATON. 

In 1862, a few men met together in Whea- 
ton to form a society. They were not pro- 
fessed Universalists, but this name was applied 
to them, and perhaps fitted them better than 
any other. They resolved to build a church, 
and appointed a committee to this end, whose 
names were C. K. W. Howard, H. C. Childs, 
E. Holmes, J. O. Vallette and Hiram Smith. 
The house was built by subscription, and 
dedicated the same year. S. C. Bulkley was 
the first pastor, who has been succeeded by 
A. M. Worden, A, B. Call, J. O. Barrett, 
Henry Jewell, Samuel Ashton, D. P. Kayner, 
J. Straube and S. Sage. 

Some of the terms of the above ministers 
lasted but a few weeks, and between several 
of them have been vacations without preach- 



ing. It would not be proper to call this body 
of men a church, because they never have 
united under any bond of faith, or instituted 
any church ordinance in discipline. Strictly 
speaking, they are liberals, perhaps no two of 
whom believe alike on religious questions. 
They are bound together by no creed, and 
cannot be rent asunder by apostasy. 

They have occasional preaching, when a 
meritorious speaker offers his services and 
expounds the general theory of a broad relig- 
ion to meet their approbation. 

ANCIENT, FREE AND ACCEPTED MASONS. 

Wheaton Lodge, No. 269, A., F. & A. M., was 
chartered by the Grand Lodge of Illinois Oc- 
tober 6, 1858, working seven months under 
dispensation. The first officers were J. G. Val- 
lette, W. M.; Peter Northrop, S. W.; F. H. 
Mather, J. W.; Harry T. Wilson, Treas.; L. J. 
Bliss, Sec.; William Vallette, S. D.; Henry 
Bird, J. D.; William E. Taylor, Tiler. 

The charter members were J. G. Vallette, 
Peter Northrop, Frederick H. Mather, W. P. 
Abbott, H. T. Wilson, Henry Bird and James 
L. Bliss. 

In 1859, J. G. Vallette was W. M., and James 
L. Bliss, Sec. In 1860, L. J. Bliss was W. M., 
and J. G. Vallette, Sec. In 1861, L. J. Bliss 
was W. M., and J. McConnell, Sec. In 1862, 
L. J. Bliss was W. M., and W. E. Taylor, Sec. 
In 1863, Henry Bird was W. M., and Simeon 
Schupp, Sec. In 1864, H. C. Childs was W. 
M., and W. G. Smith, Sec. In 1865, H. C. 
Childs was W. M., and P. Parmelee, Sec. In 
1866, H. C. Childs was W. M., and Henry E. 
Allen, Sec. In 1867, M. E. Jones was W. M., 
and H. E. Allen, Sec. In 1868, H. C. Childs 
was W. M., and J. B. Clark, Sec. In 1869, 
Melvin Smith was W. M., and James B. Clark 
was Sec. In 1870, Melvin Smith was W. M., 
and William H. Johnson, Sec. In 1871, Mel- 
vin- Smith was W. M., and John Roberts, Sec. 
In 1872, M. E. Jones was W. M., and H. W. 



186 



HISTORY OF DU PAGE COUNTY. 



Grote, Sec. In 1873, Alfred Waterman was W. 
M., and Henry Grote, Sec. In 1874, L. Collar 
was W. M., and H. W. Grote, Sec. In 1875, 
James Saunders was W. M., and Henry M. 
Bender, Sec. In 1876, William H. Johnson 
was W. M., and G. 'H. Thrasher, Sec. In 1877, 
William H. Johnson was W. M., and L. C. 
Stover, Sec. In 1878, Leonard Pratt was W. 
M., and L. C. Stover, Sec. In 1879, William 
H. Johnson was W. M., and L. C. Stover, Sec. 
In 1880, William H. Johnson was W. M., and 
L. C. Stover, Sec. In 1881, William H. John- 
son was W. M., and L. C. Stover, Sec. 

The present officers are M. E. Jones, W. M.; 
I. S. Ward, S. W.; Horace Jayne, J. W.; Will- 
iam H. Johnson, Treasurer ; L. C. Stover, Sec.; 
Fred Jewell, S. D.; William Rothchild, J. D.; 
John Hohmau. Tiler. 

From its organization until May, 1866, the 
lodge held its meetings in the building on the 
corner of North Railroad and Hale streets, now 
occupied by Grote Bros. From that time until 
Ma} 1 , 1870, meetings were held in the third 
story of the Bedell Building. At that time the 
lodge was moved to the building where its 
meetings are now held, then owned by Smith & 
Kimball, and purchased by the lodge in Janu- 
ary, 1872. In December. 1875, the lodge, in 
connection with Doric Chapter, No. 166, R. A. 
M., rented rooms in the second story of the 
Central Block, and held its meetings there until 
July, 1878. when it moved back to its present 
quarters in its own building, where it has since 
held its meetings, enjoying a fair share of pros- 
perity and success. WILLIAM H. JOHNSON. 

Doric Chapter, No. 166, R. A. M. The first 
movement toward organizing a chapter of Royal 
Arch Masons in Wheaton was made by a few 
Companions, who met in the hall of Wheaton 
Lodge, No. 269, November 3, 1874, and, after 
consultation, decided to make an earnest effort 
to establish a chapter in Wheaton. which they 
at once proceeded to do. 



In the meantime, J. Blanchard, hearing of 
the effort that was being made, called an indig- 
nation meeting of the citizens of Wheaton, to 
take measures to prevent the organization of a 
Chapter of Royal Arch Masons here in their 
midst. Accordingly, he and his adherents met 
in the Wesleyan Church, and, after due con- 
sideration, protested against it. Notwithstand- 
ing, on January 13, 1875, a dispensation was 
issued by the Grand High Priest, authorizing 
the formation of a chapter in Wheaton, and 
October 28, 1875, a charter was issued to the 
following Companions : 

John H. Lakey, Edward J. Hill, C. P. J. 
Arion, William H. Johnson, H. T. Wilson, G. 
H. Thrasher, L. Collar, Henry M. Bender, 
Jamess Saunders, Caspar Voll, H. H. Fuller, A. 
H. Wiant, J. McConnell, G. P.Gary, William J. 
Loy, John Tye, John McWilliams, L. Ziemer, 
E. H. Gary, L. B. Church, J. B. Trull, H. Brad 
ley, L. C. Clark, George Webb, 0. M. Hollister, 
A. Campbell, John Kline, L. L. Hiatt, A. Wat- 
erman, A. E. Bisbee and Frank F. Loveland. 

The officers of Doric Chapter, while working 
under dispensation, were, John H. Lakey, H. 
P.; Edward J. Hill, K.; C. P. J. Arion, S.; 
William H. Johnson, C. H.; L. C. Clark, P. S.; 
A. H. Wiant, R. A. C.; John McWilliams, M. 
3d Veil ; G. H. Thrasher, M. 2d Veil ; H. T. 
Wilson, M. 1st Veil; L. Collar, Treas.; J. B. 
Trull, Sec.; A. E. Bisbee, Tiler. 

In 1876, E. J. Hill was H. P., and G. H. 
Thrasher, Sec. In 1877 and 1878, F. F. Love- 
land was H. P., and C. Voll, Sec. In 1879, 
1880, 1881 and 1882, William H. Johnson was 
H. P., and Caspar Voll, Sec. 

While working under dispensation, the chap- 
ter met in the hall of Wheaton Lodge. After 
being chartered, it occupied rooms in Central 
Block jointly with Wheaton Lodge until July, 
1878, since which time it has held its meetings 
in the hall of Wheaton Lodge. 

Its piesent officers are William H. Johnson, 
H. P.; John McWilliams, K.; H. T. Wilson, 



MILTON TOWNSHIP. 



187 



S.; A. H. Wiant, C. H.; James T. Hosford, P. 
S.; A. C. Cotton, R. A. C.; John Kline', Treas.; 
Caspar Voll, Sec.; Henry Grote, M. 3d V.; Ed- 
gar Stephens, M. 2d V.; William T. Reed, M. 
1st V.; L. C. Clark, Chaplain ; I. S. Ward, 
Tiler. WM. H. JOHNSON. 

INDEPENDENT LITERARY ASSOCIATION OF WHEATON. 

This a3sociation was permanently organized 
in November, 1880, by the adoption of a con- 
stitution and by-laws and the election of the 
following officers: Dr. L. Pratt, President; 
W. H. Johnson, Vice President; A. S. Lan- 
don, Recording Secretary; K. A. Patrick, 
Corresponding Secretary; L. E. Do Wolf, 
Treasurer; E. H. Gammon, Marshal; and 
other officers to carry out its objects. The 
originators had in view the establishment of 
a society not controlled by any special inter- 
est except that of the general public good in 
mutual improvement in science and literature. 
It is also hoped and expected that amongst 
its future uses will be the establishment of a 
reading room, winter courses of popular lect- 
ures, and a public library. For two winters 
following its organization, the society has 
provided for a number of public lectures and 
other literary public meetings, which have 
proved of interest to many citizens. 

Its constitution provides for debates, es- 
says and addresses at stated intervals. 

Its membership has increased within the 
past year, and an interest in its utility is de- 
veloped to such a degree that its permanent 
establishment as an important element of 
progress in cultivating moral and intellectual 
attainment is looked upon as a fixture. Its 
meetings are suspended during the extremely 
hot weather and short evenings, and renewed 
with increased interest when summer is over. 

Present officers: George Brown, Presi- 
dent; S. W. Moffatt, Vice President; A. S. 
Landon, Recording Secretary; J. Grove, 



Treasurer; L. H. Wills, Corresponding Sec- 
retary: E. W. Fisher, Marshal. L. PHATT. 

The Sunday school is an institution which, 
like many other kindred societies, originated 
in New England, and from thence it was car- 
ried to every hamlet in America where the 
representative Yankee has planted himself to 
stay. In all Western towns, the question is 
not, Will the Sunday school come? or Has it 
come ? but Who brought it first ? 

The honor of doing this at Wheaton be- 
longs to Alvin Seamans. He settled here in 
1839, having come from Pomf ret, Conn. , the 
home of the Wheatons and Garys, through 
whose example he came to the place, and 
with him came Hezekiah Holt, all the way, 
with a team. 

The school was established in 1850, at a 
schoolhouse where divine service was held by 
the Wesleyan and Episcopal Methodists, each 
occupying it by turns, in those utilitarian 
days, when no good thing was allowed to de- 
cay for want of use. This schoolhouse stands 
a little west of the old Meacham place, and 
went by the name of the Wheaton School- 
house. Old Father Kimball, Mr. Bates, Mr. 
Curtis and Mr. Holt, besides the Wheatons, 
Garys and a few others, were then the chief 
patrons of this " kind of an omnibus school- 
house," whose seats hardly had time to cool 
between the varied sessions with which they 
were occupied. 

Mr. Seamans was Superintendent of this 
Sunday school, and Mr. H. H. Fuller, Secre- 
tary. A library of 100 volumes was obtained, 
and subsequently, with the school itself, 
transferred to Wheaton Institute, then under 
the charge of the Wesleyans, which, a few 
years later, became Wheaton College. The 
old house has had an erratic history, hav- 
ing, after it was no longer wanted for a 
schoolhouse, been moved half a mile west for 



188 



HISTOKY OF DU PAGE COUNTY. 



a farmhouse, next a mile east for the dwell- 
ing of a citizen of Wheaton, and lastly was 
moved from thence to become the home of 
Mrs. Bender, widow of him whose fatal fall 
from a building terminated his life a few 
years ago. 

It is not too much to say that no other 
building in Wheaton has been the abiding 
place of such versatile experiences. Peda- 
gogues, pupils, preachers and people have 
had their day within its walls, since which 
time many a rollicking baby has first seen the 
light of day under its venerable roof. It is 
the oldest building in Wbeaton, and still 
standing in reasonably good order. The 
next generation may whittle it up into charms 
to dispel the misty shrouds that hover around 
their way, if they don't inherit a good foun- 
dation from us on which to build their hopes 
of prosperity and happiness here. 

WHEATON SCHOOLS. 

In almost all newly settled places, the first 
schoolhouses are built by subscription. It is 
as natural that this should be so as it is for 
children to grow in these same new settle- 
ments and multiply their numerical strength, 
and they do this so quickly in these great, 
broad creations of sea room that their parents 
are compelled to make provision for their ed- 
ucation before the slow machinery of govern- 
ment gets into working order and builds 
schoolhouses with public money accumulated 
by taxation. 

Wheaton was like other new places, and, 
when the endless chain of time had turned up 
the figures 1847, a bevy of buxom boys and 
lithe girls were hop-skipping and jumping 
about, and stood in need of something be- 
sides chimney-corner discipline. 

In this emergency, their fathers built a 
schoolhouse and hived a teacher to apply the 
discipline, while ABC, etc., were taught. 



It was erected on the land of Alonzo Crosby. 
This was the honorable pioneer schoolhouse 
of Wheaton, who, though now far outgrown 
of such unpretentious public buildings, 
nevertheless cherishes the memory of them 
with kindly retrospections. This old school - 
house was for seven years the seat of learn- 
ing and the fine arts at the place, and within 
its walls young minds took their first bent, 
and genius aspired to high aims in life, 
though perhaps incased in sunburnt skins. 
In 1854, a new schoolhouse was built by pub- 
lic money, the contract being let to J. G. Val- 
lette, for which he received $750. 

Eight years later, a second building was 
erected, for the primary department, the orig- 
iginal one being too small to seat the increas- 
ing number of children. 

In 1863, the first one was burned, and the 
school was transf erred to the basement of the 
Methodist Episcopal Church, where it re- 
mained till the graded schoolhouse which now 
ornaments the town was built, the finishing 
of which bears date of June 6, 1874. J. C. 
Wheaton, E. Gary and W. K. Guild were 
the Building Committee. It has six large 
school rooms and two recitation rooms, be- 
sides the basement, which could be utilized 
for additional school rooms should necessity 
require it. 

The school is graded in its course of study 
according to the formula of other first-class 
graded schools. Mrs. Frankie Wheaton Sny- 
der is Principal; Miss N. E. Cole, teacher of 
grammar; Miss L. E. Wheaton has charge of 
the intermediate course; Miss E. T. Miller is 
Second Principal; and Miss E. D. Knight 
has charge of the primary department. 

JOURNALISM IN WHEATON. 

It is quite difficult, at this time, owing to 
adverse circumstances, to procure correct data 
and particulars as to the first publication of a 



OF 



OF 



MILTON TOWNSHIP. 



191 



newspaper in Wheaton. So far as the writer 
knows, there are no files available of the news- 
papers published prior to 1861, having been 
destroyed by fire or lost. 

A newspaper was being published at Na- 
perville, then the county seat, but the citi- 
zens of Wheaton, a village on the Galena Di- 
vision of the Chicago & North- Western Rail- 

O 

road, believing the interests of their town de- 
manded such an enterprise, determined to aid 
and assist any one who would make the vent- 
ure. Sufficient encouragement being given, 
in the month of June, 1856, Leonard E. De 
Wolf, a prominent lawyer and a large real 
estate owner, purchased a hand press and 
printing materials of S. P. Rounds & Co., of 
Chicago, and commenced the publication of 
the Du Page County Gazette, employing J. 
A. J. Birdsall as foreman and associate edi- 
tor. It was published about a year, when it 
was discontinued. 

After that, a gentleman from Chicago by 
the name of Nathaniel H. Lewis undertook 
to resurrect the- newspaper enterprise by 
starting the Wheaton Flag. But this paper 
led a precarious life, and, about the year 
1860, was burned out, the fire supposed to 
have been the work of an incendiary. We 
have no knowledge whether the paper was 
resurrected after the fire. 

In June, 1861, Henry C. Childs, a public- 
spirited gentleman, commenced the publica- 
tion of the Northern Illinoian, and remained 
proprietor of it for six years. The paper was 
not a financial success, but was one of the 
best-conducted papers at that time in North- 
ern Illinois, and had much to do in bringing 
Wheaton and Du Page County into promi- 
nent notice. It was during his administra- 
tion of the paper that the county seat fight 
culminated, and no doubt was facilitated on 
account of his zealous efforts. His brother- 
in-law, Philander Parmalee, was in his em- 



ploy, as well as William Marriott and John 
A. Whitlock. 

During the years 1862 and 1864, Benjamin 
F. Taylor, the well-known author and poet, 
was connected with the Illinoian as its lit- 
erary editor. The paper was very much 
sought after on that account, and obtained 
an enviable reputation. 

In April, 1867, H. C. Childs sold out to 
John A. Whitlock, who successfully conduct- 
ed it up of the 16th of April, 1870, when, 
owing to ill health, it was sold to the present 
editor and proprietor, J. Russell Smith, 
changed to the name of Wheaton Illinoian. 

At the time of the starting of the paper, in 
1861, by H. C. Childs, it was made a seven- 
column paper. December 7, 1864, it was en- 
larged to an eight-column. In 1868, John A. 
Whitlock reduced it in size to a six-column, 
enlarging it to a seven-column the same year. 
January 1, 1876, the present owner enlarged 
it to an eight-column, which size it still re- 
tains. 

The Illinoian is and has always been a 
Republican paper, fearless in defending the 
right, but charitable in allowing all parties a 
fair hearing, zealously looking af ter the local 
and general interests of the county. 

In addition to the Illinoian, there is pub- 
lished in Wheaton a literary sixteen-page 
monthly entitled the College Record, Liter- 
ary Union of Wheaton College, publishers; 
established 1865 J. RUSSELL SMITH. 

WHEATON BUSINESS DIRECTORY. 

Attorneys N. E. Gary, E. H. Gary, C. L. 
Blanchard, W. G. Smith, L. E. De Wolf, 
Col. J. W. Bennet. 

Abstract of Titles J. G. Valletta 

Banks Gary & Wheaton. 

Blacksmiths A. Michels, C. W. Watson, 
McDonald, H. Egers. 

Barber John Lawler. 



192 



HISTORY OF DU PAGE COUNTY. 



Clergymen Rev. J. Blanchard, Eev. J. B. 
Walker, Eev. A. H. Hiatt, Eev. L. N. Strat- 
ton, Eev. C. F. Hawley, Eev. W. W. Stew- 
art, Eev. I. A. Hart, Eev. W. O. Hart, Eev. 
H. W. Cobb, Eev. H. Fischer, Eev. A. G. Hib- 
bard, Eev. E. M. Boring, Eev. C. W. G. Koch, 
Eev. C. A. Blanchard, Eev. J. C. Webster. 

Coal Dealer H. H. Fuller. 

Carpenters A. T. Childs, C. W. Miller, 
D. Compton, J. Homer, C. Louts. 

Carriage Painter and Trimmer G. W, 
Matthan. 

Carpet- Weavers Mr. Arakelian, Martha 
Blair. 

Dry Goods and Groceries A S. Landon & 
Co., Grote Bros., Cole & Guild, J. B. Colvin. 

Druggist L. L. Hiatt, W. A. Henninger. 

Dentists J. H. Ashley, P. Learn. 

Dress-Making -Misses Nash, Mrs. Sals- 
bury, Mrs. Vernon, Mrs. I. Lewis, Miss C. 
Scofield. 

Furniture- Dealer Conrad Kampp. 

Grain -Dealers Sutcliffe & Kelly. 

Groceries and Confectionery W. Millner, 
J. H. Vallette, E. W. Bixby, L. W. Mills. 

Hardware John Sauer, H. & E. B. Holt 

Hotels M. Stark, M. Eickert. 

House and Sign Painters William Schatz, 
George Hagermann. 

House-Moving M. E. Jones. 

Harness-Makers Binder Bros. 

Insurance J. G. Vallette, Wm L. Gary. 

Jewelers L. C. Brown, A. Alberts. 

Livery Stables Durland & Congleton, E. 
H. Ehle. 

Lumber-Dealers W. K. Guild, Sutcliffe 
& Kelly. 

Laundry Mrs. J. Wright 

Landscape Gardener and Florist Joseph 
Stanford. 

Boot and Shoe Makers A. Eau, G. Esten- 
felter, O. Horner. 

Merchant Tailor H. Garlic, F. Kusousky. 



Meat Markets C. A. Sohmer, Thoman & 
Webber. 

Masons and Builders A. Austin, C. Gates, 
J. Knippen. 

Millinery Misses Nash, Mrs. West. 

Music Teachers (vocal) S. W. Martin, 
(instrumental) S. W. Martin, Miss Nettie 
Pratt. 

Nurserymen A. H. Hiatt, O. F. Lumery, 
J. C. Wheaton. 

Publishers E. Blancbard, J. E Smith. 

Printers J. E. Smith, A. L. Hamilton, 
F. Miner. 

Postmaster- George B. Vastine. 

Photographer Charles L. Kersting. 

Physicians and Surgeons L. E Pratt, F. 
N. Englehard, A. H. Hiatt, S. P. Sedgwick, 
E. Vogeler. 

Painting and Drawing Mrs. S. H Nut- 
ting, Miss Flora Mills. 

Eeal Estate Agents C. P. J. Arion, H. 
W. Cobb, J. Eussell Smith. 

Eestaurants W. Millner, E. W. Bixby. 

Surveyors J. G. Vallette, A. S. Landon. 

Station Agent H. H Fuller. 

Telegraph Operators Charles Fuller, M. 
E. Griswold. 

Tinners J. P. Sauer, H. & E. B. Holt. 

Veterinary Surgeon J. H. Brown. 

Wagons and Carriages William H. John- 
son, A Stephens, S. Ott, F. Man. 

WHEATON CREAMERY COMPANY. 

Organized February 10, 1882. Capital 
stock, $7,000. James S. Peirronet, President; 
E. H. Gary, Vice President; H. H. Fuller, 
Secretary; J. J. Cole, Treasurer. Brick 
building, 36x75 feet; cost, with fixtures and 
grounds, $7,500. All late improvements, 
including the wire circular vat, Frazier 
gang press (which will press twenty cheeses 
at once), and the Mason revolving butter- 
worker. The milk is conducted from the re- 



MILTON TOWNSHIP. 



193 



ceiving room into vats in the cooling room, 
where the cream is raised. Then the milk is 
drawn from under the cream and carried 
through conductor pipes to cheese vats in the 
manufacturing room. Water is supplied by 
two wells, one twenty feet, the other 1 5 feet 
deep. Capacity of factory is 16,000 pounds 
of milk per day. 

The interior of the building was planned 
by Mr. J. J. Cole, and is entirely different 
from any factory in the State. 

PROSPECT PARK. 

Prospect Park is a village on the western 
fringe of Babcock's Grove. It grew into be- 
ing as a station on the G. & C. U. R. E. Dr. 
L. V. and his brother Lensa Newton bought 
land here of William Churchill previous to 
1849, and when the railroad came through, 
Dr. Newton built a depot. David Kelly kept 
it, and also a tavern and post office in the 
same building He had formerly, in 1847, 
kept a post office on his farm, three miles to 
the north. He also has the honor of giving 
the name of Danby to the place, this being 
the same name he had given to a town in 
Rutland County, Vt, ere he came West. He 
lived to see it changed to its present name, 
much to his regret 

Messrs. Standish & Saylor, in 1853, opened 
the first store at the place. The old depot 
was about this time moved away by the 
owner, and a new one erected by the railroad 
company, which still stands. The original 
one, after it had been moved, was occupied 
for various uses till it had executed its 
mission, and was lastly moved to get it out of 
the way, which was about the year 1862. 
Undecided what disposition to make of it, 
the rickety old structure was allowed to re- 
main on a side-hill, where it stood for some 
months, like the leaning tower of Pisa a 
slipshod monument of early days, as well as 



a target for jokes from railroad passengers 
who beheld ii The site of this town is un- 
equaled by any other in the county in na- 
ture's variety of oval hillocks, rising one 
above another, all underlaid by a substratum 
of gravel, and fanned by the breezes from the 
adjacent grove. It was platted May 20, 1854, 
by L. V. Newton, situate on Section 11, 
Township 89, Range 10. Its elevation above 
Lake Michigan is 162 feet. 

CONGREGATIONAL CHURCH OF PROSPECT PARK. 

This church was organized April 15, 1862. 
After the ceremonies of organization, thirteen 
persons united Mr. H. B. Gifford and wife, 
A. Standish and wife, S. Ventassel and wife, 

i J. P. Yalding and wife, Mrs. Cornelia 
Brooks, Miss Emily Brooks and Mrs. R. Rud- 
dock. Church services were held at Stacy's 
Corners until February, 1863, when the 
building was moved to its site. Rev. E. N. 
Lewis was the first pastor. Nearly one hun- 
dred persons have united with the church 
since its organization, but many have died, 

' and others have left the place; not quite half 
of that number are members to-day. Three 
of the original members Mr. and Mrs. J. 
P. Yalding and Mrs. C. Brooks are regular 
attendants on "all church services. The 
Wednesday evening prayer meeting has been 
sustained ever since the organization, and a 

: ladies' prayer meeting for a few years. 

The church is in a prosperous condition, 
all of its services being well attended. 

Prof. H. A. Fischer, of Wheaton College, 
has supplied the pulpit since the last of May. 
The Sabbath school has a membership of 
over one hundred. 

THE FREE METHODIST CHURCH. 

The Free Methodist Church at Prospect 
Park grew into being in 1880, but yet the 
material which composed it had been accu- 



194 



HISTORY OF DU PAGE COUNTY. 



mulaticg for years prior to that date. The 
immediate action that gave birth to it was 
a series of meetings held by Rev. J. E. Oole- 
man and Rev. J. D. Marsh, and, under the 
pastoral charge of the latter, the church was 
organized from the converts of this series of 
meetings. At the expiration of Mr. Marsh's 
term one year Rev. William Ferris became 
pastor, who was succeeded the next year by 
Rev. James Sprague, the present pastor. 

The above statistics have been furnished 
to the editor by Miss Rose Weidman, Clerk 
of the church. 

The Prospect, Park Library Association is 
a stock company of twenty members, similar 
to the one at Wheaton, kept at A. S. Lan- 
don's. The books are Harper's publications, 
and the Librarian's report shows that the 
books are read and appreciated by the mem- 
bers. They intend to make an effort this 
winter to purchase more books and increase 
their membership, so as to get more American 
publications. The officers of the association 
are: P. G. Hubbard, President; F. W. Stacy, 
Vice President; W. Sabin, Secretary; W. H. 
Luther, Treasurer; and Miss Georgiana 
Allen, Librarian. 



NAMES OF THE BUSINESS AND PROFESSIONAL 
MEN OF PROSPECT PARK. 

Luther Winter, dealer in feed and coal. 
W. H. Luther, agent for the C. &. N. W. 
R. B, 

Miles Allen, store and post office. 

P. G. Hubbard, dealer in broom corn. 

William H. Wayne, blacksmith. 

M. H. Wayne, wheelwright. 

Nelson Dodge, carpenter and builder. 

Brake & Myers, carpenters and builders. 

Will Jellies, carpenter and builder. 

J. R. McChesney & Co., general store. 

H. Wegman, general store. 

Allen R. Walker, tinshop and hardware. 

E. Graff, hotel. 

John Weidman, broom factory. 

John Hayden, store. 

Frank Walworth, stone mason. 

G. M. H. Wayner, commission store. 

R. Blackman, dealer on Board of Trade. 

John Sabin, boot and shoe shop. 

Aug Bregson, boot and shoe shop. 

J. S. Dodge, retired farmer. 

L. C. Cooper, attorney at law. 

James Sanders, M. D. 



CHAPTER IX. 



DOWNER'S GROVE TOWNSHIP THE OLD INDIAN BOUNDARY CASS PIERCE DOWNER 

THOMAS ANDRUS CHICAGO REMINISCENCES THE VILLAGE OF HINSDALE BRUSH 

HILL MEMORIES CLARENDON HILLS FREDERICKSBURG DOWNER'S 

GROVE VILLAGE AN OX TEAM HITCHED TO AN OAK LOG WHAT 

GREW OUT OF IT THE UNDERGROUND RAILROAD. 



~T~A OWNER'S GROVE TOWNSHIP includes 
4-< the Government Township described as 
Town 38, Range 11, and also the three north- 
ern tiers of sections northwest of the Desplaines 
River, in Town 37, Range 11, the portions lying 
in Town 37 being unofficially known and de- 
scribed as Cass. 



The whole of Downer's Grove, except Sec- 
tions 5, 6, 7 and the diagonal halves of 4, 8 
and 18, lies southeast of the old Indian Bound- 
ary line, and was surveyed by the Government 
between the years 1829 (at which time sur- 
veys were commenced at Chicago) and 1835. 
the year of the Government sale of these lands. 



DOWNER'S GROVE TOWNSHIP. 



195 



Besides this Indian Boundary line was another 
running parallel with it twenty miles southeast 
of it, both of which extended from Lake Mich- 
igan to the Illinois River at Ottawa. The strip 
inclosed by these lines had been ceded to the 
United States August 4, 1816, by the Ottawas, 
Chippewas and Pottawatomies, particulars of 
which have been -stated in a former chapter. 
Through this belt of land the Illinois and Michi- 
gan Canal was located, and the alternate sections 
for five miles on each side of it were donated 
to the State of Illinois, to aid in its construc- 
tion. Portions of these donated lands laid in 
Downer's Grove, and were sold by the Canal 
Commissioners, but were not offered for sale 
till some years after the sale of the Govern- 
ment lands, which took place in June, 1835. 

Many of the early settlers of Downer's Grove 
were purchasers both of Government and Canal 
lands. 

Very few of them were land claimants, but 
bona fide purchasers from the first. Mr. 
Downer, whose history is told in connection 
with the village of Downer's Grove, was the. 
first settler of this town. Many other pioneers 
of this town are also mentioned in connection 
with the history of its villages, but one of them, 
who had no participation in village building, 
deserves a page on account of his experiences, 
which are so representative of life here in the 
early day. This was Thomas Andrus, born in 
Rutland County, Vt., from whence he inherited 
those inflexible traits of character that are 
almost certain to make a man pull through 
difficulties. He was born in 1801 ; came to Chi- 
cago December 1, 1833 ; couldn't find anything 
to do, and started back toward sunrise on foot, 
but before he had arrived to the Calumet, a 
man hired him to drive an ox team. This oc- 
cupation lasted till the next year, 1834, when 
a venturesome man determined to erect a three- 
story hotel on the northwest corner of Lake 
and Dearborn street, and carpenters were 
wanted. Of course he was a carpenter ; he 



was a Yankee, and that meant a carpenter just 
then. The next winter it might have meant a 
pedagogue, but whatever it means it always 
means the best of the kind wanted. 

Mr. Andrus went to work and filled the bill 
satisfactorily, and there is evidence that he was 
above par in the estimation of his employer ; 
for when the frame of his building was up, Mr. 
Andrus suggested to him to call his magnifi- 
cent three-story hotel the Tremont House, after 
the still celebrated house of that name in Bos- 
ton. His advice was taken, and the name has 
been transmitted to the third generantion of 
Tremont Houses ; the present one on the corner 
diagonally opposite where the first was built in 
1834, being the third in succession, the second 
one having been burned in the great fire of 
1871. The first one had a billiard table in the 
third story, which then overlooked the whole 
one and two-story town. Dearborn street was 
then the great thoroughfare to the North Side, 
to which it was connected by a draw-bridge 
that lifted perpendicularly by means of wind- 
lasses, but when the next bridge came to be 
built, the Clark streeters subscribed the most 
and won the prize, for money then " made the 
mare go " as well as now, and it made the' 
bridge go. 

Now, let us take Mr. Andrus through one 
more old way-mark in Chicago before he goes 
to settle. It is this : He assisted in driving 
the piles for the foundation of John H- 
Kinzie's warehouse in 1834, the first ever 
built in Chicago, and saw the first lot of 
wheat shipped from it that ever went East 
from the place. In the autumn of the 
same year, Mr. Andrus returned to Ver- 
mont, and the following spring (1835), came 
back with his wife and three children, arriving 
at Chicago in June, and in July settled where 
he now lives, on Section 6, Town 37, Range 11. 
Shadrac Harris had preceded him a few weeks, 
and lived on Section 8, quite near him. Mr. 
Harris is now living at Marengo. 



196 



HISTORY OF DU PAGE COUNTY. 



Dr. Bronson lived on the Plainfield road, two 
miles to the Northeast. He was the first settler 
in the vicinity. Hartell Cobb lived a little 
west of Mr. Bronson. After Mr. Andrus had 
been settled six weeks, an election was held 
for Justice of the Peace, and he was one of the 
candidates. He came within one vote of being 
elected, his rival having three votes while he 
had but two. Mr. Harris, the fortunate wire- 
puller, was duly sworn in, but he had to go 
to Chicago where folks swore to be thus dubbed. 
The next term Mr. Andrus ran against the 
same man for the same office and was elected. 
and could have retained the office a second 
term had not his wife interfered. This tidy 
Vermont girl saw more tobacco juice than profit 
in it (for the trials were held in her parlor), and 
she requested her husband to decline a renomi- 
nation. His acquiescence was no mean exam- 
ple in favor of woman's rights. The first 
schools of the place, says Mr. Andrus, were 
taught in discarded private houses, whose own 
' ers had built better ones, and Miss Nancy 
Stanley was the first teacher. She afterward 
married Mr/Bush, and subsequently Mr. Dryer 
for her second husband. 

Elder Beggs, the same who now lives in 
Plainfield, was their first preacher, and Gen. E. 
B. Bill, the same who got up a company for 
the Mexican war and died in the service, think- 
ing the Methodists had not been sufficiently 
generous with Father Beggs, got up a dona- 
tion party for him, which was well received 
by the devout itinerant, though it came 
from the world's people and not from his own 
flock. 

Mr. Andrus was appointed the first Postmas- 
ter of Cass Post Office, which was organized in 
1834. and held the position fifteen years, during 
which time 5 cents was reported to him as an 
error in his account. Several offices, away from 
the stage line of Mr. Frinck that passed his 
house, were supplied from his office by horse- 
back mail riders. Frinck's line had sixteen 



coaches each way per day. Of course he kept 
tavern in his new house, which he built in 1836, 
and in the dining-room dances were held. How 
were you on tip-toe ? asked the writer of Mrs. 
Andrus. Smiling through the honorable wrink- 
les of eighty years that furrowed her cheek, 
she replied, "Oh, I don't like to recommend 
myself." 

Edgar S., the fourth child of the family, was 
born after their settlement where they now are, 
and was the first white birth of this town. He 
is now one of its residents. 

The above, together with the history of the 
villages of this town, fully represents its pioneer 
days. There are thirteen schoolhouses in the 
town, three of which are graded, and 1,142 per- 
sons between the ages of six and twenty -one. 

THE VILLAGE OT HINSDALE. 

A sailor once said that he didn't see the need 
of any land except enough to build docks to. 
His ideas, like some other people's, were limited 
to his own immediate wants. His whole sphere 
of human knowledge centered in himself. 

"His soul, proud soience never taught to stray, 
Far as the solar walk and milky way." 

Nor even as far as 'tis from Chicago to Hins- 
dale, of which the latter is an outpost, a kind 
of retort, to catch the lovers of nature, and 
hold them among the delightful ranges of the 
place as they pass from the man-made city of 
Chicago, full of turmoil, inductions and seduc- 
tions, into the God-made country, full of 
" Ye banks and braes of Bonnie Doon." 

Here they bloom " fresh and fair," and leave 
no " thorn behind " to the peaceful citizen as he 
sleeps among them, fanned by the summer 
breath, as it moves over a broad heath of prairie 
farms and groves. 

The variegated hillocks, no two of which are 
alike, ou which the town is laid out, seem to 
have been fashioned by the hand of nature for 
a kind of landscape village, and for nothing 
else, for its site never had been utilized for 



DOWNER'S GROVE TOWNSHIP. 



197 



farming purposes before the village was born, 
with a silver spoon in its mouth, to use a met- 
aphor. But, first, let us tell some of the con- 
ditions of the place before the village came 
into existence. Alfred Walker came from 
Windsor County, Vt., to Brush Hill, just north 
of Hinsdale, in April, 1854. Here he found 
a little bevy of settlers nestling in an open- 
ing in the grove around two taverns, a 
store and a blacksmith shop. The old name 
of Brush Hill still clung to the place, and does 
yet, although Benjamin Puller, three years be- 
fore, had incorporated the town and officially 
named it Fullersburg. Mr. Walker bought all 
the land Mr. Fuller owned, and his tavern- 
stand, and became proprietor of the place. It 
had few permanent inhabitants, John Coe and 
Benjamin, Lewis and Reuben Fuller being all 
that Mr. Walker mentions as land owners. One 
of the taverns was a sort of catch-all for new- 
comers, where rooms were temporarily rented 
to them till a place to settle was found, and six 
or eight such families at a time held their tran- 
sient abodes there, where they baked their corn- 
bread and boiled their coffee with fuel gathered 
from the adjacent grove. Mr. Walker's pur- 
chase of Mr. Fuller included the land on which 
his house now stands, half a mile north of the 
depot, and here he built a farm house in 1858, 
in which he now lives, within the corporate 
limits of the town a monument to link Hins- 
dale back to the pioneer times that preceded 
its present age. 

At that time, says Mr. Walker, there was not 
a house south of him for eight miles. All the 
lands were owned by speculators, and held at 
from $7 to $25 per acre. One tract, just over 
the line of Cook County, sold at auction in 
1854, for $5.25 per acre, and, says Mr. Walker, 
"up to 1862, wolves were often seen, and cau- 
tious mothers dared not send their little chil- 
dren into the groves after the cows." 

Two years later was planted the germ out of 
which Hinsdale grew into being. This was 



done by Mr. William Robbins, who, after he 
had purchased 800 acres of land, built the fine 
residence he now occupies, which was finished 
in February, 1864, being the first erected in the 
place. Mr. Robbins' purchase included the 
west half of Section 7 in Cook County, besides 
Section 12, on which was the original plat of 
Hinsdale. The next year, he fenced in the 
whole tract for a stock farm, and the year after 
(1866), laid out the northwest quarter of Sec- 
tion 12 in lots, varying in size from one acre to 
lots of sixty-six feet frontage. The same year, 
the streets were graded, plank sidewalks laid 
and those first trees planted which now lend 
such a charm to the place. Rev. C. M. Barnes, 
the same who now has a large book-store in 
Chicago, bought the first lot of Mr. Robbins, 
and built a house on it, though the family of 
James Swartwout was the first one to. come to 
the place after that of Mr. Robbius. 

Mr. Swartwout occupied one of Mr. Robbins' 
houses. The golden wedding of this vener- 
able pair was celebrated at Hinsdale in July, 
1882. 

In 1866, Mr. Robbins built a stone school- 
house, which, at the time was deemed too large 
for present or even future use, but, in 1880, an 
addition was erected beside it, doubling its ca- 
pacity, and the two combined are now barely 
sufficient to accommodate the multiplying wants 
of the place, where education of the rising 
generation is a prominent interest, and where a 
united public sentiment has provided not 
only a model schoolhouse, but model teachers 
and a school exemplary in its grade and dis- 
cipline. 

In 1866, Mr. O. J. Stough bought eighty 
acres, being the south half of the northwest 
quarter of Section 1, and the next year he 
bought the southeast quarter of Section 11, 
160 acres, and the next year, 1868, by various 
purchases, he bought the most of Estabrook's 
addition to Hinsdale, lying in the southeast 
quarter of Section 2, and the next year, 1869, 



198 



HISTORY OF DU PAGE COUNTY. 



he bought about one hundred and thirty-seven 
acres lying in Section 10 all the above 
purchases situate in Town 38, Range 11, and 
largely on the north side of railroad track, 
along those beautiful terraced elevations that 
rise one above another till the groves of Old 
Brush Hill are reached, and on May 19, 1868, 
1868, his first addition to Hinsdale was re- 
corded, and his second addition June 2. 

Besides making these purchases and sub- 
dividing portions of them, Mr. Stough built a 
church on the north side in 1868, and Rev. 
William Balch, a present citizen and highly 
esteemed minister of the Gospel at Elgin, was 
pastor of this church for two years. A Bible 
class was connected with it of which Hon. Joel 
Tiffany, a present resident of Hinsdale, held 
charge. Neither the church nor the Bible-class 
were wording under any name, but their inde- 
pendent teachings partook of the broad type of 
natural religion. Many of the first patrons of 
the church left the place after Mr. Balch's 
term had expired, and services were suspended 
in it about a year thereafter. 

The first addition made by Mr. Robbins to 
the original town was called W. Robbins' First 
Addition. The second was W. Robbins' Park 
Addition. The latter was laid out by H. W. S. 
Cleveland, Landscape Gardener. 

After making a thorough study of the oval 
elevations and graduating valleys of the place, 
he laid out streets, threading their way among 
them in scroll-shaped curves, the better to 
heighten their scenic effect, and that he suc- 
ceeded admirably in his effort, the present 
natural and artificial beauty of the place bears 
ample evidence. Mansions, birds-nest houses, 
hedge rows, conservatories, vine-clad arbors 
and graveled walks interlacing the ground on 
which they stand, have put the finishing touch 
on the whole. 

This is Hinsdale as it is cheery, beautiful 
and healthful, from both social and physical 
causes. 



THE CONGREGATIONAL CHURCH AT HINSDALE.* 

The Congregationalists residing in Hinsdale 
organized themselves into a church, consisting 
of ten members, August 12, 1866, which was 
duly recognized by a council of neighboring 
churches October 16 of the same year. Mr. 
C. M. Sanders, a student of the Chicago Theo- 
logical Seminary, commenced to preach regu- 
larly in the place a few weeks before the 
organization of the church. He was ordained 
by a council in April, 1867, and continued 
acting pastor of the church till the close of 
1868. 

' During his ministry, thirty-five members 
were added to the original number, and their 
place of worship was changed from the passen- 
ger depot to Academy Hall. 

During several succeeding months, the church 
was dependent for a supply of its pulpit prin- 
cipally on students of the Theological Sem- 
inary. 

In October, 1869, Rev. F. Bascom, then of 
Princeton, 111., accepted their invitation and 
became their resident pastor. He remained in 
charge of the church till May, 1872. He was 
succeeded by Rev. J. W. Hartshorn, who en- 
tered upon his work in November of that vear, 
and remained till the close of 1875. 

From the 1st of February succeeding, Mr. 
Crow, from the Theological School at Evans- 
ton, was in charge of the church for six 
months. 

In the autumn of 1876, Rev. William 
Butcher was engaged as pastor for one year, 
and continued his ministry till December, 
1877. 

The Rev. Mr. Hartshorn, who on retiring 
from this place, had taken charge of the Con- 
gregational Church in Naperville, was now re- 
called, and remained as pastor two years, from 
May, 1878. 

In the summer of 1880, Rev. John Ellis be- 
gan his labors as pastor of the church, which 

Contributed by ReT. Flavel Bodcom. 



DOWNER'S GROVE TOWNSHIP. 



199 



have thus far been attended with growing in- 
terest. 

In 1873, the congregation, needing a more 
commodious place of worship, commenced the 
erection of a stone edifice ; but when the 
walls had reached the height of the basement 
story, the approach of winter and an empty 
treasury, suggested the propriety of postpon- 
ing the erection of the upper story, and the 
finishing of a lecture-room under a temporary 
roof. In that room the congregation has found 
comfortable accommodations for more than 
eight years. 

In the summer of 1881, an effort to complete 
this house of worship was resumed, and pros- 
ecuted with the most gratifying unanimity and 
liberality. But unforeseen difficulties and 
hindrances delayed the work and postponed 
its completion till August, 1882. It was dedi- 
cated to the worship of God on the 6th day of 
that month, free from debt. 

In its origin and history hitherto, this church 
has sought to cherish the spirit and to exem- 
plify the principles of union among evangelical 
Christians of every name. It has been toler- 
ant of unessential doctrines in its membership. 
For a long time it united with another church 
in the place, in sustaining public worship and 
the various forms of Christian work. It has 
always welcomed Christians of every name to 
its fellowship in the privileges and labors of its 
own members, and its prosperity has been 
greatly promoted by such co-operation. For 
the second time it has a pastor ecclesiastically 
connected with another denomination ; but his 
ministry is none the less satisfactory and prof- 
itable to Congregationalists, while it tends to 
obliterate all denominational distinctions in the 
community. 

The whole number of members connected 
with the church since its origin, is 153. Its 
present membership, exclusive of absentees, is 
eighty-four, of whom fifty-two have been re- 
ceived in the last two years. 



THE BAPTIST CHURCH AT HINSDALE.* 

A Baptist Church was organized in Hinsdale 
in 1868. For several months it had no pastor, 
and has preserved no record of its transactions. 
In October, 1869, Rev. James Lisk accepted an 
invitation to the pastorate of the church, and be- 
gan his ministry the first Sabbath of that month. 
Their place of public worship was the wait- 
ing room of the railroad passenger depot, where 
he preached to them very acceptably till the 
spring of the following year, when his accept- 
ance of a call to a larger field left them again 
as sheep without a shepherd. 

In the meantime, they had undertaken the 
erection of a house of worship, the expense of 
which overtaxed their resources, and subse- 
quently involved them in great embarrassment. 
After the completion of their house, they were 
unable to carry the pecuniary burdens which 
they had assumed, and, at the same time, pro- 
vide for the salary of a pastor. They, there- 
_ fore, invited the Congregationalists to worship 
j with them, who accepted the invitation, and 
i both churches united in the support of the 
| Congregational Pastor. In many respects this 
i arrangement was profitable and satisfactory 
j and was continued till May, 1872, when it was 
discontinued by mutual consent. During the 
next year the church had no regular supply of 
their pulpit, but depended principally on the 
Professors and students of the Baptist Theo- 
logical Seminary of Chicago. 

In June, 1873, Rev. George Kline became 
their Pastor, and for about a year labored ear- 
nestly and faithfully to promote the interests of 
the church and community. But his people 
then consented regretfully to his removal, be- 
ing unable longer to pay him the requisite sal- 
ary. And in the prevailing financial embar- 
rassment which was then so disastrous, their 
house of worship passed out of their hands 
irrecoverably. They were already depleted in 
numbers by deaths and removals as well as 

* By Bey. Flavel Btucom. 



200 



HISTORY OF DU PAGE COUNTY. 



diminished in resources. And now the loss of 
their house, added to their former reverses, was 
so discouraging that they voted to disband, 
and authorized their Clerk to give letters of 
dismission to other churches to their few re- 
maining members. 

GRACE EPISCOPAL CHURCH OF HINSDALE.* 

Ill the spring of 1873, a few of the citizens 
of Hinsdale, viz., Messrs. Stuart, Notingham, 
Maydwell, Chant, Slocum, Crocker and Payne, 
met at the house of D. J. Crocker to organize 
the Grace Episcopal Sunday School, of which 
Mr. J. F. Stuart was chosen Superintendent, 
and which formed the foundation for the parish 
which was organized March 31, 1875, under the 
name of Grace Episcopal. Easter services had 
been held previous to this date in the base- 
ment of the Congregational Church, but no 
parish meeting was held till March 31, 1875, 
when Alfred Payne and Robert Slocum were 
elected Wardens, and John Ohls, William B. 
Maydwell and J. F. Stuart were elected Vestry- 
men. At the vestry meeting following the ad- 
journment of the parish meeting, John Ohls 
was chosen Treasurer ; J. F. Stuart, Secretary, 
and Alfred Payne, Lay-reader. The services 
of the Rev. N. F. Tuson were also engaged, and 
for the space of one year he acted as priest-iu- 
charge, allowing us one service a month. 

After his resignation, the same arrangement 
was made with the Rev. Mr. Fiske, of Naper- 
ville, who officiated the last Sunday in each 
month till August 26, 1878, when, pursuant to 
a call from the parish, the Rev. D. F. Smith, 
of Champaign, 111., came to Hinsdale as Asso- 
ciate of the Rev. Mr. Fiske, upon whose resig- 
nation Mr. Smith became priest-in-charge, in 
which capacity he remained, holding three 
services a month in the building known as 
"The Old Baptist Church," till June 11, 1881, 
when he resigned, and services for a 'time were 
entirely suspended. 

*By William C. Payne. 



During the first period of Mr. Smith's charge, 
the church seemed prosperous and progressive, 
but toward the latter part, that discord which 
affects, more or less, all religious bodies, crept 
in and nearly ruined the work which had been 
done before. 

On the last Sunday in January, 1882, serv- 
ices were recommenced in the room known as 
Rath's Hall, where the Rev. Mr. Perry officiated 
on the second Sunday of each month following, 
and in March the Rev. Mr. Lewis, of La Grange, 
as the Associate of Mr. Perry, agreed to hold 
services on the last Sunday of each month, on 
the remaining Sundays being lay services, read 
by Alfred Payne. Up to this date, services 
have so continued, and there is every prospect 
of a church edifice being erected soon, on the 
land northeast of the Congregational Church, 
which has been denoted for building purposes 
by the -kindness of Mr. William Robbins. 

SCHOOLS OF HINSDALE. 

In 1866, when much of the real estate of Hins- 
dale was owned by Messrs. William Robbins, O. 
J. Stough and J- 1- Case, of Racine, Mr. Robbina 
built the first school building in Hinsdale a 
three room stone building having two rooms 
below and one above. The two lower rooms 
only were used for school purposes for some 
time, the upper room being used as town 
hall. 

In the lower room, Miss Stocking taught a 
subscription school, with one assistant, till the 
fall of 1867, when it was organized into a pub- 
lic school as a branch of the Fullersburg Dis- 
trict. The Directors chosen were Messrs. 
Plummer, E. P. Hinds and William R. Banker, 
and Mr. B. F. Banker was appointed Principal. 
The following year the building was bought of 
Mr. Robbins for the sum of $8,000, and Mr. 
Gleason received the appointment as Principal. 
The same year, that portion lying south of the 
C., B. & Q. R. R., was formed into a separate 
district, and so it remained till the 3 - ear 1877, 



DOWNER'S GROVE TOWNSHIP. 



201 



while P. A. Downey was principal, when all 
that portion lying north of the C., B. & Q. 
track, and included within the corporation of 
Hinsdale, was united with the south side. 
After Mr. Downey, Mr. R. A. Robinson became 
Principal of the school, with two assistants, 
and the following year, 1879, an extensive ad- 
dition was made to the building at an expense 
of about $6,000. Mr. Robinson taught three 
years, and before his resignation the school be- 
came very prosperous, giving employment to five 
teachers. Mr. E. L. Harpham succeeded Mr. 
Robinson, and under his charge the school still 
continued to increase, and much interest was 
taken in it, not only by those sending children, 
but also by others. 

Upon the resignation of Mr. Harpham, the 
care of the school devolved upon Mr. P. C. 
Cole, an Ann Arbor graduate, who was chosen 
by the present Directors, Messrs. R. A. Ohilds, 
John Bradley and C. H. Hudson. 

Mr. Cole is assisted by four teachers, and 
the building is nearly filled with pupils, many 
of whom are children of those residents who 
have but lately made Hinsdale their home. 
WILLIAM C. PAYNE. 

Hinsdale Lodge, No. 649, A., F. & A. M. 

This lodge began work under dispensation 
granted by Grand Master Harmon G. Reynolds, 
March 19, 1870, and held its first meeting 
March 24, 1870, in Academy Hall, D. A. 
Courier acting W. M. ; J. M. Barr, S. W., and 
N. H. Warren, J. H. 

The charter was granted by the Grand Lodge 
October 4, 1870, the following-named being 
charter members : D. A. Courter, J. M. Barr, 
N. H. Warren, F. H. Rogers, William Blan- 
chard, L. E. Gifford, I. L. Hinds, C. T. Plum- 
mer, S. A. Coe, B. Plummer, Charles Fox, J . 
H. Alexander, B. E. Terrill, W. R. Banker, 
Ebeu Millions and George H. Burtt. 

The first meeting under the charter was held 
January 5, 1871, when the lodge was consti- 
tuted by G. W. Barnard, Deputy Grand Master, 



and the following persons were installed as 
officers : 

D. A. Courter, W. M. ; J. M. Barr, S. 
W. ; N. H. Warren, J. W. ; Charles Fox, 
Treasurer; Charles T. Plummer, Secretary ; L. 
E. Gifford, S. D. ; B. E. Terrill, J. D., and Eben 
Millions, Tyler. 

The lodge moved into a new hall, purchased 
and fitted up by them January 2, 1873, but the 
panic compelled them to relinquish this and 
secure smaller and less expensive quarters over 
Fox Bros, store, in the spring of 1878, where 
the " three great lights " still burn. 

The present officers of the lodge are William 
Duncan, W. M. ; A. L. Pearsall, S. W. ; A. S. 
Johnston, J. W. ; Charles Fox, Treasurer ; A. 
G. Butler, Secretary ; F. A. Rice, S. D. ; George 
H. Burtt, J. D. ; E. Millions, Tyler. 

The present membership is twenty-eight, 
among whom are eight of the charter members. 
The others have passed beyond, and have been 
consigned to the earth by their brethren in the 
full belief that they had found the perfection 
of light, and reached the last and highest 
degree. A. L. PEARSALL. 

Hinsdale Lodge, A. 0. U. W., No. 182, organ- 
ized April 16, 1881. 

P. M. W., George H. Talmadge ; M. W., J. 
B. R. Lespinasse ; Foreman, Adolph Froscher ; 
Overseer, J. H. Papenhausen ; Recorder, James 
W. Sucher ; Financier, J. C. Merrick ; Guide, 
Philip Bayer ; Inside Watchman, Henry Heinke; 
Outside Watchman, George Trench. 

Damascus Legion, No. 11, Select Knights A. 
0. U. W., organized August 19, 1882. 

Select Commander, J. B. R. Lespinasse ; 
Vice Commander, George H. Talmadge ; Lieu- 
tenant Commander, Wendal Hix ; Select Re- 
corder, J. W. Sucher ; Treasurer and Record- 
ing Treasurer, J. C. Merrick ; Standard Bearer, 
George H. Trench ; Marshal, J. H. Papenhau- 
sen ; S. W., G. H. Steinhoff; J. W., John A. 
Debus ; Chaplain, Philip Bayer , Guard, Rich- 
ard Warde. 



202 



HISTORY OF DU PAGE COUXTY. 



BUSINESS AND PROFESSIONAL MEN OP BINS- 
DALE, ILL. 

Attorneys at Law, D. J. Crocker, K. A. 
Childs, William D. Gates, J. Tiffany. 

Real Estate Dealers, William Bobbins, 0. J. 
Stough, D. L. Perry, A. Walkel, D. Roth. 

Postmaster, Justice of the Peace, Notary 
Public and Insurance, A. L. Pearsall. 

Police Magistrate, Real Estate and Insur- 
ance, A. Dorathy. 

Physicians, J. C. Merrick, T. T. Howard, 
Joseph Williamson, F. H. Van Liew. 

General Store, Fox Brothers. 

Grocery and Provisions, F. Bradley. 

Drugs, William Evernden. 

Hardware and Agricultural Implements, John 
Bohlander. 

Meat Market, John A. Gifford & Co., Will- 1 
iam Hix. 

News Agent and Bakery, Thomas Foster. 

Barber and Bakery, Philip Bayer. 

Cool Dealer, P. S. Townsend. 

Lumber and Real Estate, J. Hulauiski. 

Carpenters and Builders, William Johnston, [ 
S. F. Mills, A. W. Bostwick, carpenter and re- | 
pairer. 

Tailor, J. H. Papenhausen. 

Shoemaker, W. Lislie. 

Blacksmiths, George Trench and Lewis. 

Hotel and Livery, Philander Torode. 

Mason and Builder, Jacob Walliser. 

Painters, A. H. Townsend, William H. At- 
kinson, Thomas Wadsworth, A. Anthony. 

President and Board of Village Trustees. 
D. L. Perry, George H. Talmadge, J. Hulan- 
iski, George W. Hinckley, J. C. Hess, J. C. 
Merrick. 

A. L. Pearsall, Treasurer. 

George Bowles, Clerk. 

Portrait and Landscape Painter, A. Payne. 

Pastor Congregational Church, Rev. John 
Ellis. 

One of the Directors Illinois Home Mission, 
Rev. Flavel Bascom. 



Rev. T. T. Howard. 
Principal of School, T. C. Cole. 
Station Agent, E. A. Lyon. 
The elevation of the railroad track above 
Lake Michigan is 158 feet. 

DOWNER'S GROVE VILLAGE. 

When the grove after which this village was 
named looked, from a distance, like an island, 
and the prairie around it like the ocean sur- 
rounding it, on one summer's day in 1838, six 
yoke of oxen, hitched to the trunk of a large 
tree, patiently toiled along what is now Maple 
Avenue in Downer's Grove. Backward and 
forward, for two miles or more, they dragged 
their ponderous burden, till the prairie turf was 
ground into a well-beaten path, and on this 
path grew the village to its present dimensions. 
If it had not been made here, the village would 
have centered farther to the south, where the 
original trail first went that led from Chicago 
to Naperville, and it was to divert the travel 
from its old channel and turn it where it now 
is that the surface was thus marked, connect- 
ing each way with the first trail. This was 
done by Israel P. Blodgett and Samuel Curtis, 
who held claims within the present corporate 
limits of this village. Soon after doing it, they 
planted on each side of this marked trail those 
sugar maple trees that have now attained^ such 
large proportions, and outrival in arborial 
grace any wayside trees, far or near, in North- 
ern Illinois. They will perpetuate the memory 
of those who planted them for centuries to 
come, as lithe feminine forms beside mascu- 
line ones, slowly pace along beneath their foli- 
age in the twilight hour, when young minds 
take sentimental turns. 

This is the history of the trees and their 
uses. Now let us relate the history of the other 
conditions of the town, less ornamental, but 
quite as essential to its success. 

In the autumn of 1 832, by the means of the 
Sank war, a knowledge of the country west of 



DOWNEK'S GROVE TOWNSHIP. 



203 



Chicago had come to the county of Jefferson, 
in the State of New York, and with a deter- 
mination to cast his lot here, Pierce Downer, a 
resident of that place, came to this spot to 
select a location, and being attracted by the 
beautiful grove, then the favorite abiding place 
of Wawbunsie the Pottawatomie Chief, but 
now named after himself, he made a claim on 
what is now Section 6, Township 38, Kange 11. 
He was a man of a sound body, an energetic 
mind, bred in the ironclad integrity of his age, 
tenacious of his rights and able to defend them, 
as was soon abundantly verified. 

His claim was on the north side of the grove, 
and here he lived alone in the edge of the 
island-like spot, till his family came the next 
year 1833. The same year, also, came his 
son Stephen, Mr. Joel Wells and Mr. Cooley. 
Stephen then made a claim on the east side of 
the grove, and Mr. Wells and Mr. Cooley made 
claims the southeast of the grove all these 
claimants selecting suitable proportions of tim- 
ber and prairie. 

Meantime, Messrs. Wells and Cooley coveted 
a portion of Mr. Downer's claim, and in an evil 
hour commenced erecting a cabin on it. This 
resulted in a collision, the details of which, as 
told by Mr. Downer himself to Walter Blanch- 
ard in 1857, and printed in Richmond & Val- 
lette's History of Du Page County, are here 
quoted : 

" ' I went to Chicago one day to buy some 
provisions, and on returning, thought I saw 
some one working near the northeast corner of 
the grove. I went home and deposited my 
cargo (a back load), and although very tired, 
went out to reconnoitre my premises. To my 
great surprise I found that Wells and Cooley 
had commenced erecting a cabin on my claim. 
I went to a thicket close by and cut a hickory 
gad, but found I had no power to use it, for I 
was so mad that it took my strength all away. 
So I sat down and tried to cool off a little, but 
rny excitement only cooled from a sort of vio- 



lent passion to deep and downright indignation. 
To think that my claim should be invaded, and 
that, too, by the only two white men besides 
myself then at the grove, made the vessel of 
my wrath to simmer like a pent *sea over a 
burning volcano. I could sit still no longer. 
So I got up and advanced toward them, and 
the nearer I approached, the higher rose the 
temperature of my anger, which, by the time I 
got to them, was flush up to the boiling point. 
I said nothing, but pitched into them, shelalah 
in hand, and for about five minutes did pretty 
good execution. But becoming exhausted and 
being no longer able to keep them at bay, they 
grappled with me, threw me on the ground, and 
after holding me down a short time, they 
seemed to come to the conclusion that ' discre- 
tion was the better part of valor ' and let me 
up, when they ran one way and I the other, no 
doubt leaving blood enough upon the field of 
action to induce a stray prairie wolf to stop 
and take a passing snuff as he went that way. 
But, sir, they didn't come again to jump my 
claim." 

As might be supposed, Mr. Wells was now in 
a suitable frame of mind to sell out, and, as good 
fortune would have it, Mr. Israel P. Blodgett, 
the same who had settled in the Scott settle- 
ment alluded to in foregoing pages, was ready 
to buy him out, which he did in 1835, and 
moved to the place with his family, who may 
be enumerated as follows : H. W., now Judge 
of the Court at Chicago ; Israel P., Jr., now liv- 
ing at Downer's Grove ; Daniel, not living ; 
Asiel, now living at Waukegan ; Edward A., 
now living in Chicago ; Wells H., now living 
at St. Louis. 

The year before this 1834 Geary Smith 
came to the place, made a claim, and also bought 
out Stephen Downer. The ground on which 
the railroad depot now stands is on this pur- 
chase. 

On the 14th of August, 1836, Samuel Curtis 
bought a part of Mr. Blodgett's claim, for which 



204 



HISTORY OF DU PAGE COUNTY. 



he paid $1,000 cash down, and on it now stands 
the center of Downer's Grove. He died Feb- 
ruary 25, 1867, aged seventy-seven years, and 
was buried in the cemetery at the place. He 
is kindly re'membered by the many friends he 
made during his useful life. Two of his sons 
Charles and Roswell 0. still live in the village. 

David Page came to the place in 1837 ; 
bought a farm at the south edge of the present 
corporate limits of the town, where he remained 
till he died a few years ago. 

The same year, Walter Blanchard, from Or- 
leans County, N. Y., in connection with Henry 
Carpenter, from Washington County, N. Y., 
bought a farm, part of which is now within the 
the incorporate limits of Downer's Grove. 

Mr. Blanchard's land extended southwardly 
from the present town, and through the more 
elevated portions of it. The old trail went 
leading from Chicago to Naperville ; thence to 
Dixon and Galena by one branch, and by another 
to Ottawa. 

The track made by dragging the log, as al- 
ready stated, shortened this curve that went 
along the portion of Mr. Blanchard's place in- 
tended for his future residence, which had been 
made by the early travelers to find better eleva- 
tions. Like many other young men who came 
West, Mr. Blanchard was without a wife. Here 
was a beautiful location, where he had secured 
a home that any of his female friends left be- 
hind might feel happy and fortunate to enjoy 
with him. He did not share the feelings of the 
young man out here, whose name need not be 
mentioned, who, looking upon the matter in a 
business way, said, " I ain't going to pay no 
freight on a woman, no how, when there's 
enough here !" But, under the influence of 
first impressions, returned East, and promptly 
came back with his new bride ; but, what was 
his [surprise to find the locality of the road 
changed so that his first plans had to be modi- 
fied to suit the conditions. Mr. Blanchard has 
ever since been one of the representative men 



of the place, and nobly died in defense of the 
country at the battle of Ringgold Gap, in 1863. 
His remains were brought home and interred 
in the cemetery at the place. 

Henry Carpenter, who bought land with him, 
did not come to the place to live till 1840. Five 
years later, he opened a store, the first one es- 
tablished in the place. Eli W. Curtis was then 
Postmaster, and, at his request, Mr. Carpenter 
took the duties of the office as Secretary. 

Mr. Carpenter's trade came from the sur- 
rounding country, and in that day he was 
obliged to sell largely on credit. Any one who 
came into his store with his shoes tied up, could 
get trusted, and but few of them betrayed his 
confidence. 

In 1855, Mr. Carpenter sold a half-interest 
in his store to Leonard K. Hatch, and the next 
year sold out entirely. 

A town hall was built by the corporation for 
holding town meetings, elections, etc., in 1877. 
It also had cells for confining vagrants, etc. 
Robert Dixon measured out justice to who all 
came before him for that purpose, and was the 
first judicial magistrate at the place. 

At a drunken row, while raising a building 
on Salt Creek, a man was badly hurt, and Mr. 
Dixon fined the offender $15. After this he 
always refused to taste liquor lest it might set 
a bad example, although the best of people 
then drank moderately, for there was no one to 
say Why do ye so ? Not every public officer 
is as consistent now-a-days. 

J. W. La Salle built a store with a commo- 
dious public hall over it in 1879. 

A company came here in 1872, and bought 
600 acres of land, most of which was in the 
grove which is now being laid off in streets, 
with artistic curves, rustic parks and lawns, 
for elegant residences. Gen. Ducat is the prin- 
cipal proprietor. 

After the Chicago, Burlington & Quincy 
Railroad Company was located, and while it 
was being built, there was some uncertainty as 



DOWNER'S GROVE TOWNSHIP. 



205 



to where the depot should be located in the 
town. To settle this matter, a meeting was 
called, to which Walter Blanchard, Henry Car- 
penter, Samuel Curtis, R. O. Curtis, S. P. Blod- 
gett, N. K. Whitney and a few others attended. 

Five hundred dollars were made up to pur- 
chase grounds for the depot where it now 
stands. The owner of the land, John P. Coates, 
being unfriendly to the road, would not sell 
it short of this sum, which was a round price, 
and, inasmuch as the lands a mile to the west, 
owned by Mr. Dryer, were offered free for the 
depot, it would have been built there had not 
the gentlemen mentioned above bought the 
lands of Mr. Coates and presented them to the 
company. 

The plat of Downer's Grove bears date of 
September 26, 1864, recorded by Norman Gil- 
bert, and situate on part of Section 8, Town 38, 
Range 11. At the railroad track it is 150 feet 
above Lake Michigan. 

THE BAPTIST CHURCH. 

On August 5, 1851, a little band of Baptists 
assembled in a schoolhouse, about one mile 
from the present location of their meeting- 
house, for the purpose of consulting together 
as to the propriety of organizing a Baptist 
Church. After mature deliberation, the seven- 
teen present unanimously resolved to proceed 
to organize, and adopted articles of faith and 
covenant, and at said meeting extended a 
unanimous call to the Rev. G. F. Holt to .be- 
come their pastor, which he accepted. At the 
same meeting, Edward Goodenotigh and Lewis 
Pound were chosen Deacons. A council of 
delegates from several sister churches was 
called to meet with them on the 10th of Sep- 
tember, which council assembled and unani- 
mously voted to recognize the church as a 
Scripturally organized church of Christ, the 
following-named individuals being its constit- 
uent members : Edward Goodenough, Lura A. 
Goodenough, Henry Cruthers, Harmon Good- 



enough, William C. Perry, Lewis Pound, Mary 
C. Pound, Philip Sucher, Emily Sucher, Caro- 
line Gleason, Josephine Gleason, Am. E. Good- 
enough, G. Smith, Antoinette Trumbull, Nor- 
man Gilbert, Emily Gilbert and Sarah M. Smith. 
This little band of pioneers all had a mind to 
work, and with the help of a few accessions to 
their number and the indefatigable labor of 
their pastor for help from those outside, suc- 
ceeded during the first years in building 

and paying for a house of worship, at a cost of 
about $1,200 ; at which time the only settle- 
ments near, besides the farm community, were 
a small store, kept by Messrs. Carpenter & 
Hatch, and a blacksmith, Philip Sucher. 

In 1871, their meeting-house was destroyed 
by fire, without insurance. At that time, the 
church numbered about ninety, less than one- 
fourth being males. They were not discour- 
aged. A meeting was soon called of the church 
and society, a building committee appointed, 
with instructions to procure plans and build a 
new house, which was completed and dedicated, 
free from debt, about one year thereafter, at a 
cost of about $5,000, in addition to which, 
something over $600 was raised to pay for 
organ, carpet and other furniture for the same. 

During the first eight years of the history of 
the church, preaching was only maintained on 
alternate Sundays. Since that time, the church 
has maintained preaching every Sabbath, with 
fair congregations, though three other churches 
have meeting-houses. One or two other soci- 
eties have occasional meetings. The present 
membership is 108 ; a Sunday school with an 
average attendance of 105, there being 168 
names on the Secretary's book. N. K. WHIT- 
NEY, Present Church Clerk, 

CONGREGATIONAL CHURCH. 

The Congregational Church of Downer's 
Grove was organized September 14, 1866. 
Meetings, at first, were held in a hall rented for 
the purpose. In the year 1874, a meeting- 



206 



HISTORY OF DU PAGE COUNTY. 



house was built. The audience-room is pleas- 
ant. A good congregation meets on the Sab- 
bath, and an interesting Sunday school is held. 
The pastors of the church have been T. F. 
Chafer. Joel Grant, A. L. Loomis, G. T. Hoi- 
comb and S. F. Stratton, who is in the fifth year 
of his pastorate. 

ST. PAUL'S CHURCH. 

This church belongs to the Evangelical 
Association. In 1860, Martin Escher, Sr., 
Jacob Rehm, Solomon Mertz, Phillipp Leh- 
man, Michael Hofat and others, purchased, for 
the use of this church, the one which the 
Congregationalists had built some years pre- 
viously. In 1864, this building was moved to 
a more central location, the better to accom- 
modate the members of the church, which then 
had increased to fifty in number. 

The church continued to prosper, and, in 
1873, had increased in numbers to seventy, 
many of whom lived in the village of Downer's 
Grove. It was, therefore, thought best to again 
move the church, to place it in a more central 
location, and to this end an acre of land was 
purchased of Thomas Hustin, in the south- 
western part of the village, to which place the 
church was removed. A flourishing Sabbath 
school, numbering 100 members, is connected 
with the church, of which William J. Boidel- 
man is Superintendent. Rev. Samuel Deikover 
was the first and Rev. Peth the present pastor. 

METHODIST EPISCOPAL CHURCHES. 

The Downer s Grove Methodist Episcopal 
Church was organized by Father Beggs in 
about 1836. The first church was built in 
1852. Lewis Wood, Nathan A. Belden, John 
Howard, F. M. Roe and John Cotes were the 
Trustees. Rev. Stover was the first pastor. 

In 1864-65, Rev. Richard Wake was pastor. 
Rev. Samuel Ambrose, Rev. J. R. Allen, Rev. 
A. W. Patton and Rev. R. D. Russell suc- 
ceeded till 1868. 

Rev. Samuel Hewes was pastor in 1876, and 



left in 1878. Rev. John 0. Foster was pastor 
in 1878-79. In 1880, Rev. T. C. Warrington 
and Rev. C. W. Cordes were pastors. In 1881, 
Rev. A. H. Kistler, with Rev. T. C. Cordes, 
were pastors. 

The church now occupied was rebuilt in 
1879, at an expense of $15,000, besides the 
ground, which had been originally donated by 
Henry Carpenter. 

The membership is now thirty-five, and the 
Sunday school about eighty. The church is 
out of debt, both for church and parsonage. 

The Cass Methodist Episcopal Church was 
organized as early as 1836, probably by Father 
Beggs, who would be more likely to pioneer 
it than s.ny one known to the writer. Services 
were first held in a log schoolhouse. Elisha 
Smart, Old Father Cobb and Mrs. John Old- 
field were among the first members. The pres- 
ent church was built in 1869. Rev. A. W. Pat- 
ton and Rev. J. R. Allen were the ones who 
obtained the subscription to build it. Mr. 
William Smart donated the ground. The 
church is valued at $2,500, all paid for. It 
has the same pastors as the Downer's Grove 
Church, for which reason its history has suc- 
ceeded it, though the church is located in the 
southern part of the town. The Sunday school 
has ninety scholars, and the church numbers 
seventy-five members. 

THE DOWNER'S GROVE PUBLIC SCHOOLS. 

The first schools here were maintained by 
subscriptions or by pro rata assessments ; but 
now schools are supported by a public school 
fund and taxes paid by freeholders. Early 
schools were kept mostly in private houses, 
where accommodations were rude and limited. 
Now comfortable and commodious buildings, 
erected for the purpose, give shelter to our 
public schools. 

As early as the winter of 1836 to 1837, in a 
"lean-to" built to the house of Mr. I. P. Blod- 
gett, Sr., the village schools had their birth- 






82 YEARS OLD. 



DOWNER'S GROVE TOWNSHIP. 



Mr. Hiram Stillson, a student from Oberlin, 
here instructed the children of Mr. Blodgett 
and a few others, who were glad to avail them- 
selves of the opportunities here afforded. 

About the year 1837-38, what may be re- 
garded as the first district school was opened 
in a house built by Mr. John Wallace, on the 
spot where Mr. Meadowcroft's house now 
stands, and of which the old schoolhouse now 
constitutes a part. Here George Carpenter 
taught one term. 

Subsequently, school was kept under the roof 
of Mr. Samuel Curtiss, Sr., taught by Norman 
G. Hurd, followed by E. W. Curtiss. 

Later, Mr. L. K. Hatch taught a school in 
what was then known as the "Norwegian 
House," or the "old shoe shop," which stood 
some distance west of the Blanchard place. 

In 1838, a schoolhouse was built on the 
" west side," near the present home of L. W. 
Stanley. Here Mr. Sherman taught the first 
school, which was made up of children who 
came from far and near. Mr. Slawson, E. W. 
Curtiss, L. K. Hatch and Amos Adams (now 
Judge of Circuit Court in California) served in 
the capacity of teacher. 

In 1846, a redivision of districts took place, 
whereupon a site was purchased and a school- 
house built near the present residence of Mr. 
F. M. Woods, by Directors James Depue, W. 
B. Pratt and John Shepard. O. P. Hathaway 
was employed to teach the first school, and was 
succeeded by Messrs. H. L. Litchfield, J. M. 
Valette, Dayton and M. B. Gregory. Here 
taught, also, Miss Mary Blodgett, who has died 
long since, and Miss Annis Gilbert, now Mrs. 
Paige. Our fellow-townsman, Capt. T. S. Rog- 
ers, here " wielded the birch," " chalked the 
line " and reigned a " monarch of all he sur- 
veyed " from behind the teacher's desk. Here 
J. W. Rogers instructed the youth, who came 
in such numbers "to sit at the feet of this 
Gamaliel," that; unless some class was contin- 
ually on the " recitation floor," all could not 



find seats. Others, whose names have escaped 
the vigilance of memory, here made the best 
of the advantages afforded in instructing the 
youth placed under their care. 

In 1867, it seems the schoolhouse of 1846 
had " served its day and generation," and what 
is now the " north wing " of the present brick 
building was erected by Directors John Thatch- 
er, John Stanley and Gardiner Paige. This 
building contained two rooms, and was dedi- 
cated to the cause of education by the Misses 
Cochrane, who taught the first schools in the 
new building. 

It rapidly increased in numbers, and, in 1873, 
the brick building was full to overflowing, and 
a room was rented on Main street to accommo- 
date a third department. 

Owing to the rapid increase in the population 
of our village, and consequent growth of the 
school, Directors Curtiss, Blodgett and Parrar, 
found it necessary, in 1877, to erect the main 
part of the present building, thus furnishing 
four commodious rooms, all of which are at 
present full to their utmost capacity ; and, judg- 
ing from the unprecedented increase in the 
school population as recently reported to us by 
the Clerk of the School Board, it cannot be long 
ere the sound of the builder's hammer must 
again be heard on the school premises, and an 
increased teaching force will be a necessity. 

In 1876, the school was thoroughly graded 
a tea years' course of instruction adopted- 
embracing two years of high school work. 
Three classes have thus far graduated from this 
school ; in 1879, a class of five members ; in 
1881, a class of seven, and, in 1882, a class 
of six. 

The school, at present under the directorship 
of Messrs. Woods, Blodgett and Curtiss, is in a 
prosperous condition. At no time during the 
seven years' work of its Principal has the out- 
look been more encouraging. Miss Georgia 
Fitch, in the primary ; Miss Elizabeth F. Marsh, 

in the intermediate, and Miss Maria L. Clark, 

L 



210 



HISTORY OF DU PAGE COUNTY. 



in the grammar department, are the assistant 
teachers, all of whom are accomplishing credit- 
able results. JOHN K. RASSWEILER, Principal. 

ABOLITIONISM. 

Abolitionism in this county had its exponents 
in Downer's Grove perhaps to a greater extent 
than in any other part of the county when 
such a political doctrine was stained with dis- 
grace in popular estimation. Its active spirits 
were Israel P. Blodgett, David Page, Robert 
Dixon, Henry Carpenter and Rockwell Guild. 
Walter Blanchard was a Whig Abolitionist, 
' not that he loved Ceesar less, but Rome 
more." He took hold of the work as soon as 
he saw progress. 

Mr. Blodgett had charge of the station on 
the underground railroad. The trains generally 
ran in the night. Aurora was the first station 
west, and Chicago on the east, the depot at the 
latter place being at the house of Philo Car- 
penter. 

From Aurora to Downer's Grove was one 
night's run, thence to Chicago another night's 
run. When passengers arrived on these trains, 
their names were not published on register 
lists ; on the contrary, the passengers were 
often concealed in buffalo hides as they were 
taken from the vehicles in which they rode, 
and carried into a larder room like a quarter of 
beef. This was the way the disciples of Free 
Soil, in their aggressive proselytism, managed 
to inaugurate a system which ultimately over- 
turned the mightiest and haughtiest patri- 
archal institution that ever grew into existence 
on American soil, and it is worthy of mention 
that Du Page County was one of the pioneers 
in this sweeping change in the public policy of 
our nation. 

PROFESSIONAL AND BUSINESS MEN. 

Pastor Baptist Church, Rev. Mr. Van Osdell ; 
Pastor Methodist Episcopal Church, Rev. Mr. 
Cordice. 



Real Estate Agents, Street & Pardee, East 
Grove. 

Western Agent New York Lace House, John 
Radcliffe. 

Jeweler and Watchmaker, V. Simonson. 

Draper and Tailor. N. W. Peterson. 

Blacksmiths and Horseshoers, J. W. Sucher, 
shop, corner Main street and Maple avenue ; 
Peter Werte. 

Tinware, Reapers, Mowers, Old Iron and 
Rags, John Debolt. 

Broom Factory, I. P. Blodgett. 

Boot and Shoe-makers, and all kinds of fine 
repairing, George Diener : Charles Hodgman. 

Ice Cream, Confectionery and Bakery, John 
Welter. 

Wagon-maker, Livery and Sale Stable, C. 
Smith. 

Practical Wagon-maker, William Mergen- 
thal. 

Barber, E. E. West. 

Harness-maker and Fancy Carriage and Sign 
Painting, M. F. Saylor. 

Harness-maker, George Downer. 

Station Agent, Chicago, Burlington & Quincy, 
F. G. Brown. 

Switchman, Chicago, Burlington & Quincy, 
D. 0. Cole. 

Engineer, Chicago, Burlington & Quincy, C. 
W. Frisbie. 

Fireman, Chicago, Burlington & Quincy, 
Wesley Frisbie. 

Pastor Congregational Church, S. F. Strat- 
ton. 

Attorney at Law, A. B. Wilson. 

Police Magistrate, Gardner Paige. 

Postmaster, J. M. Barr. 

Dealers in Lumber, Coal, Hardware, Agricul- 
tural Implements, Salt, Stucco, Lime, Cement 
and all kinds of Builders' Materials, J. W. 
Rogers & Co. ; Mochel & Co. 

Carpenters and Joiners, B. B. Morgan ; F. 
Schindler. 

Druggist, C. J. Meadowcroft. 



DOWNER'S GROVE TOWNSHIP. 



211 



Cheese Factory, Grist and Planing-Mill, Mil- 
ler & Blanchard. Average amount of milk re- j 
ceived per day, 3,000 pounds ; average amount 
of butter made per day, seventy -five pounds ; 
average amount of cheese made per day, 225 
pounds. 

Bricklayer, and all kinds of mason work. W. 
J. Beidleman. 

Painting, Papering, Whitewashing and Cal- 
cimining, C. N. Saylor. 

Beardsley House, Proprietor, E. S. Beardsley. 

All kinds of Millinery work, Mrs. K. C. 
Bates. 

Milliner and Fashionable Dressmaker, Mrs. 

E. H. Andrews. 

Dealers in D^ Goods, Groceries, Ready- j 
made Clothing, Etc., Thatcher & Crescy ; David 
Kline ; La Salle & Co. 

Physicians, J. R. Haggard, M. D., office over . 
drug store ; E. H. Le Due, M. D., office at drug 
store. 

Dentist, Dr. J. F. Thompson, office in New ; 
Music Hall, Chicago, 111. 

Agent for Linden Heights Land Association, 

F. M. Woods, office at post office. 

The principal streets of Downer's Grove Ijave 
been graveled eight inches deep in 1882. The 
gravel has been brought to the place by the 
Chicago, Burlington & Quincy Railroad Com- 
pany from their gravel pits at. Montgomery, 
Kane County, the gravel being laid down at 
the place at a very low rate for the benefit of 
the town. It is designed to gravel Maple avenue 
next year. 

CLARENDON HILLS. 

Clarendon Hills, situate just west of Hins- 
dale, was platted October 29, 1873. James M. 
Walker, Amos T. Hall, Robert Harris and Henry 
C. Middaugh, were the original proprietors. A 
new depot has been built at the place. 

The streets are laid out in curves adapted to 
the graduating rises of ground on which the 
whole town is located, some parts of which are 
the highest points of land on the Chicago, Bur- 



lington & Quincy Railroad" between Chicago 
and the Fox River. The divide on the railroad 
track is two miles west of this place. 

The elevation of the track at the depot at 
Clarendon Hills is 158 feet above Lake Michi- 
gan, from which place the land rises on both 
sides, but more rapidly on the north side, where 
it justifies its name of Clarendon Hills in mul- 
tifarious ovals and convexities, intermingled 
together in Nature's ease. 

FULLERSBURG. 

This village lies within the old Indian boun- 
dary lines, and, consequently, the land on which 
it stands was sold in 1835. 

It was purchased by Robert Jones, of New 
York City. The next year (1836), Orin and 
David Grant, two brothers, came to the place, 
who were its first settlers. They opened a tav- 
ern, and established a post office named Brush 
Hill, and, for many years, it was a well known 
landmark, to which roads, trails and trade 
tended throughout the country. Sherman King 
succeeded him in tavern keeping, who was suc- 
ceeded by Mr. Atkinson in this business, then 
so pi-ofitable, when the ox-team dragged its 
ponderous burden over the muddy roads. John 
S. Coe came to the place in 1839. Jacob W. 
Fuller then lived two miles to the north. His 
son, Benjamin, platted the place January 20, 
1851, when its name was changed to Fullers- 
burg. It is a most delightful retreat, among 
the tree-clad hills just north of Hinsdale, from 
which place sidewalks extend to its central 
streets. 

The following is a list of its business and 
professional men : Rev. F. Boeber, Lutheran 
Church ; A. Ford, merchant ; S. Heineman, mer- 
chant and Postmaster ; C. Eidam, blacksmith ; 

C. T. Coe, blacksmith ; F. Tunk, wagon- maker : 
I. Haff, wagon-maker ; C. Karnatz, shoemaker ; 

D. Moeder, shoemaker ; I. Ruchty, ice-dealer ; 
I. Miller, hotel ; P. Bohlander, hotel ; F. Graue, 
miller ; W. Ostrum, plasterer and mason ; A. 



212 



HISTORY OF DU PAGE COUNTY. 



Froscher, carpenter and builder ; W. Wagner, 
carpenter and builder ; Win. Delicate, painter ; 
L. Kurth, painter ; Win. Ostrum, stone-mason. 
Its Church. In the lovely little village of 
Fullersburg, Du Page County, there is a Ger- 
man congregation, called the " German United 
Evangelical Church of St. John," founded in 
1878 by their present pastor; and numbering 



already fifty families. The congregation owns 
five acres of land, whereon the unpretending 
meeting-house is standing, and wherein the 
dead of the church find their last resting place. 
There is also a day school as well as a Sunday- 
school connected with the German Church, and 
attended by from fifty to sixty children. PR. 
BOBBER, Pastor. 



CHAPTER X. 



NAPERVILLE TOWNSHIP LIST OF EARLY SETTLERS VILLAGE OF NAPERVILLE CHURCHES- 
SCHOOLS MANUFACTORIES THE NORTHWESTERN COLLEGE TEMPERANCE 
MOVEMENTS NEWSPAPERS FIRE DEPARTMENT MILITARY COM- 
PANYNURSERIESTHE LODGES BANK STONE QUARRY. 



THE history of the Naper settlement com- 
prised the cream of the pioneer history 
of the county. It has been told in early 
chapters in sufficient detail to leave little to 
be said here; yet a list of the names of early 
settlers of this township may be a conven- 
ience to the reader, and the following is given: 
Joseph Naper, John Naper, John Murray, 
Christopher Paine, R. N. Murray, Ira Car- 
penter, John Stevens, Michael Hines, A. H. 
Howard, John Warne, Daniel Warren, 
Leister Peet, George Laird, Harry Fowler, 
Hiram Fowler, E. B. Bill, Nathan Allen, 
Louis Ellsworth, S. M. Skinner, A. S. Jones, 
S. Sabin, George Martin, L. C. Aldrich, H. 
L. Peasley, R. Hyde, George Stroubler, G. 
Bishop, T. H. Stevenson, W. Rose, R. Wright, 
E. G. Wight, J. F. Wight, W. Weaver, J. 
Granger, N. Crampton, W. J. Strong, R. 
Whipple. U. Stanley, T. Thatcher, A. T. 
Thatcher, J. Lamb, R. Hill, David Babbitt, 
H. C. Babbitt, J. S. Kimball, J. B. Kimball, 
L. Kimball, R. K. Potter, J. J. Kimball, 
Adial S. Jones, Peter Dodd, Benjamin Smith. 
The Scotts and H. Boardman were settlers 
of Will County, just over the line, but were 



associated with all the interests of the Naper 
settlement. Their history is inseparable 
from that of both Will and Du Page Coun- 
ties, as has already been made apparent to 
the reader. It may also be said that the his- 
tory of Naperville Village further elucidates 
the early history of the county. 

The township has 1,289 children between 
the ages 01 six and twenty-one, ten school 
districts, with a schoolhouse in each, and one 
graded school. 

Outside of Naperville Village are three 
churches, as follows: 

GERMAN BAPTIST CHURCH. 

The German Baptist denomination of 
Christians (commonly known by the name of 
Dunkards) organized as a society in 1855, 
and built a meeting-house in 1860, about 
half way between Naperville and Warren- 
vilJe, in Naperville Township. It was built 
by subscription among themselves. Their 
ministers, Deacons and Elders are elected by 
the members of their society, and none of 
them have any salary. They take care that 
none of their people shall become paupers, 



NAPERVILLE TOWNSHIP. 



218 



or want for the comforts of life, by visiting 
every family among their order and supplying 
them with all that is necessary, if misfortune 
befalls them. They now number between 
fifty and sixty members. Its present officers 
are C. F. Martin, Elder; Jacob Sollenberger, 
Simon Yundt and Hiram Smith, ministers; 
Dorence Vroman, Noah Early, Michael Sol- 
lenberger and John Netzley, Deacons. 

It is against their principles to go to law 
or go to war, or to swear by oath; but they 
affirm when called to give evidence before a 
court of justice. 

Their origin was in Germantown, Penn. 

Christopher Sauer, who brought the first 
printing press to America, was one of the 
founders of this society. 

The name Dunkard is improperly applied 
to them. Their real name is indicated at 
the head of this sketch. 

ST. JOHN'S LUTHERAN CHUKCH. 

The following history of the Evangelical 
Lutheran St. John's Church of Naperville, 
Du Page Co., 111. , from its origin in 1853 to 
the present date, is by H. Horstman: 

The above-named church owes its origin to 
about ten or a dozen German citizens of the 
towns of Naperville and Lisle, in Du Page 
County, who desired to make the attempt to 
lay the foundations for a congregation of 
their own creed, at the same time using ex- 
clusively the German language as a medium 
of communication in divine service, for the 
benefit of those new-comers from the Father- 
land who might happen to'arrive in this vi- 
cinity. 

At that time, in the summer of 1853, the 
Rev. Fr. Ottmann, a member of the Lutheran 
Synod of Missouri, Ohio and other States, 
lived between Naperville and Downer's Grove. 
He had been designated to preach the Gos- 
pel to a number of farmers residing in the 



vicinity of the latter place, and alternately 
held divine service in a schoolhouse near 
Downer's, and in a similar building situated 
in a more northerly direction, on the old plank 
road from Naperville to the Desplaines 
River. 

The above men from Naperville and Lisle 
went to hear Mr. Ottmann from time to 
time, and finally made arrangements with 
him to come to Naperville every third Sab- 
bath morning, to preach a sermon in the old 
court house, and at the same time to make an 
attempt to build up a congregation sufficient- 
ly numerous to sustain their own preacher. 
Mr. Ottmann fulfilled his engagement to the 
best of his ability, establishing for himself a 
well-earned reputation for sincerity and piety, 
but felt compelled, after a duration of fifteen 
months, to abandon his trust, being unable to 
agree with the members in some fundamental 
principles held sacred by the Synod of Mis- 
souri, but which they had been taught to re- 
gard in a more liberal light. In the winter 
of 1854-55, Mr. Ottmann received a vocation 
to Missouri, and left for that State, accom- 
panied by the best wishes of his friends in 
Du Page County. 

About the same time, information was re- 
ceived that, in the fall of 1855, the Rev. E. 
H. Buhre, formerly a member of the Lutheran 
General Council of the State of Now York, 
had arrived in Aurora, Kane County, from 
Williamsburg, N. Y., built up a congrega- 
tion in the former place, and, by the help of 
friends, had even succeeded in erecting a 
church building. The Naperville men, after 
having attended his divine service occasion- 
ally, finally induced Mr. Buhre to visit Na- 
perville every third Sabbath afternoon, and 
for this purpose the building of the Method- 
ist Episcopal Church of that place was kindly 
ceded. Mr. Buhre came to Naperville for 
several months, when the members of the con- 



214 



HISTORY OF DU PAGE COUNTY. 



gregation, which then had assumed a more 
tangible form, secured the services of a Mr. 
Lei-fling, who moved to Naperville in the fall 
of 1856, but was again dismissed by the con- 
gregation in January, 1857, after which time ' 
Mr. Buhre kindly resumed his activity in Na- 
perville, having, during this time, joined the 
Evangelical Lutheran Synod of Northern Illi- 
nois, consisting then mostly of ministers of 
German and Scandinavian, but also of Anglo- 
Saxon, descent, under guidance of the Rev. 
Dr. Harvey, of Springfield. 

In April, 1857, a member of the Lutheran 
congregation at Naperville, who, in the mean- 
time, had in some way, though perhaps not 
formally organized, visited Germany, and 
there secured the services of Mr. Herm Lies- 
mann, a young man of many abilities, and ed- 
ucated by the missionary society at Barmen, 
Ehenish Prussia, to preach the Gospel to his 
countrymen in the United States. Mr. Lies- 
mann arrived in the fall of 1857, and, after 
having been ordained by the above-named 
Lutheran Synod of Northern Illinois, and de- j 
clared their member, forthwith began to for- j 
mally and legally organize the Lutheran con- 
gregation at Naperville. Mr. Liesmann at 
the same time held divine service about six 
miles southeast of Downer's Grove, and built 
and dedicated a church there in the summer 
of 1859 During Mr. Liesmann's stay in 
Naperville, which lasted two and a half 
years, the congregation there bought the old 
meeting-house of the Evangelical association 
of that place, situated on its present site on 
Van Buien avenue, for $600, and, for an equal 
amount, erected a parsonage. Mr. Liesmann 
left for Iowa in the summer of 1860, and in 
his place the congregation chose Mr. H. M. 
Guehl, also at that time a member of the 
Synod of Northern Illinois, but which, shortly ; 
afterward, he left, to be accepted as a mem- 
ber of the Lutheran Svnod of Wisconsin. 



whose doctrines seemed more conformable to 
his views. 

The congregation soon followed his exam- 
ple, organized under a new constitution, and 
numbered about thirty members, several of 
whom, however, moved to other States in the 
course of time. In the fall of 1862, Mr. 
Guehl was called by his synod to Northern 
Wisconsin, and as his successor the congre- 
gation chose the above-named Rev. E. H. 
Buhre, who had long felt inclined to leave 
Aurora. Mr. Buhre also remained in Naper- 
ville two yeard, the same time visiting, on the 
Sabbath afternoon, Downer's Grove, and then, 
owing to some difficulties, vacated the par- 
sonage and removed to a private residence, 
which, in the meantime, he had created. 
Mr. Buhre left in the fall of 1864, and from 
that time to September, 1865, no minister of 
the Lutheran denomination resided at their 
parsonage at Naperville. 

Occasionally during that time, divine serv- 
ice and communion were held by the Rev. E. 
Kenchen, a member of the then United Evan 
gelical Synod of the Northwest, comprised of 
representatives of both the Lutheran and 
Reformed Churches of Germany, as embod- 
ied in the Evangelical Churches of that State, 
though conforming to republican institution. 
The congregation of Naperville soon found 
the doctrines held by that synod more agree- 
able to their views than the ultra- Lutheran 
doctrines of the Synods of Missouri and Wis- 
consin, joined the former, and were, in July, 
1865, by them supplied with a pastor of their 
own, in the person of the Rev. William Bin- 
ner. The members, however, whose num- 
bers had become smaller, organized under a 
new constitution, which, with only one 
amendment, regarding membership, exists to 
this day. 

Mr. Binner, with his family, remained at 
Naperville a little over three Years, and, 



NAPEBVILLE TOWNSHIP. 



215 



though removed by the Lord some seven 
years ago, is stil] kindly remembered by his 
many friends. Mr. Binner left Naperville 
in October, 1868, and was succeeded by Mr. 
J. Kern, a young man of medium capacities, 
who, unaided by experience, ultimately failed 
in his task, and was in turn succeeded, after 
a year's time, by the Eev. T. Lotka, who, 
however, after a short stay of nine months, 
accepted a call for a Professorship at Fari- 
bault, Minn. The Rev. Fr. Lohappel fol- 
lowed in the fall of 1870, and under his guid- 
ance, in 1871, the church building was 
greatly enlarged, a steeple was built and a 
suitable bell procured; the interior also was 
newly and neatly furnished, the whole outlay 
being nearly $2,000. The funds for this 
purpose were raised partly by contribution of 
members, one-half of them, however, present- 
ed to the congregation by Mr. William Preis- 
werk, a wealthy gentleman of Switzerland, 
formerly a resident of the State of Illinois, 
who faithfully remembered his old friends. 

Mr. Schappel having, in March, 1874, re- 
signed his trust, was, in July of the same 
year, succeeded by the Eev. E. Wobus, a 
young man of great ability and sterling char- 
acter, who, however, was called, two years 
afterward, to a theological Professorship near 
St. Louis, Mo., belonging to the Evangelical 
Synod of North America, which, at the pres- 
ent time, comprises in the United States all 
the representatives of their own creed. 

To this day the Evangelical Lutheran Con- 
gregation adheres to that synod, and their 
pulpit has been successively occupied by the 
Eev. A. Teutschel, from September, 1876, to 
the same time in 1877, by Rev. H. Huebsch- 
inanti from April, 1878, to October, 1881; 
the present pastor, Rev. G. Hageman, how- 
ever, residing at Amboy, Lee County, and al- 
ternately holding divine service at Naperville 
and at the former place. Owing to the re- 



moval of many members to Iowa, Kansas and 
other States, the number of them is not large, 
but the prospect of having the ranks again 
filled by emigration from the Fatherland is 
encouraging. 

EVANGELICAL ASSOCIATION. 

The Evangelical Association at Copenha- 
gen, in the southwest part of Naperville 
Township. Six families of this faith came 
to Copenhagen and settled in 1844, from 
Pennsylvania, holding religious services in a 
schoolhouse till 1858, when a church was 
built by subscription. Eev. Lintner was 
their first pastor, who preached at the school - 
house; after whom they had other pastors 
biennially, according to their church govern- 
ment. From its first organization, the mem- 
bership has continued to increase, chiefly by 
immigration. It now numbers about forty 
| members. The church is a neat edifice, and 
i its grounds ornamented with trees. 

The society is in a prosperous condition, 
all of its members thrifty farmers, sons and 
daughters of the first founders of the church, 
who have inherited the religion of their fa- 
thers, as well as their correct habits in social 
life. 

VILLAGE OF NAPEEVILLE. 

The first settlers of Boston were attracted 
there by an excellent spring of pure water 
that broke out of the ground from the base 
of oae of the three hills that originally stood 
at this place, which the Indians called Shau- 
mut. 

Naperville had a like attraction as to the 
spring, which drew settlers here and made it 
the first nucleus of rising power in Northern 
Illinois west of Chicago and east of Dixon. 
Joseph Naper first surveyed and laid out the 
town in streets, and his plat of it bears date 
of February 14, 1842. It was situate on the 
southeast quarter of Section 13, Township 



216 



HISTORY OF DU PAGE COUNTY. 



38, Range 9 east, and henceforward the name 
of the place was Naperville, instead of the 
Naper settlement. The first frame building 
erected in it was done by A. H. Howard in 
the fall of 1833. It stood a few rods south 
of a house in which Mr. J. Horn lived in 
1876. 

Here was the center to which highways 
tended. Here were saw and grist mills, 
stores, and the material out of which to make 
a town, and here existed the necessities for a 
corporate government to regulate certain con- 
tingencies that are sure to come up amidst 
diverse interests in close proximity and pos- 
sible rivalry to each other, and a public meet- 
ing was called at the court house in 1856 to 
take the initiatory steps to bring about the 
desired end. By a vote at this meeting, Hi- 
ram Cody, K. N. Murray, H. F. Vallette and 
H Lor ing were appointed to draft the form 
by which it was desired by the sense of this 
meeting to incorporate the town, and Lewis 
Ellsworth and Nathan Allen were commis- 
sioned to present this document to the Legis- 
lature to be acted on by that body. In ac- 
cordance with their request, an act was passed 
by the Legislature of Illinois, and approved 
by the Governor, Joel A. Matteson, February 
7, 1857, to incorporate the village of Naper- 
ville. Its officers were to consist of a Presi- 
dent and four Trustees, a Clerk, a Police 
Magistrate and a Police Constable. The 
President and Trustees to be chosen annually, 
and the other officers once in four years, and all 
by a vote of the people. 

The first election was held under the new 
corporation May 4, 1857, resulting in the 
election of the following officers: For Presi- . 
dent, Joseph Naper ; Trustees, Hiram H. 
Cody, George Martin, XavierEgerman, Mich- 
ael Hiens; for Clerk, C. M. Castle; Treasurer 
A. W. Colt; Police Magistrate, H. F. Val- 
lette; Police Constable, A. C. Graves. 



At this election, 174 votes were polled; at 
the election in 1860, 230 votes; in 1865, 199 
votes; in 1870, 253 votes; in 1874,389 votes. 
(Returns wanting in 1875.) In 1881, 420 votes 
were polled. 

In March previous to this election, the 
most disastrous flood ever known on the Du 
Page River occurred. It carried away the 
dam above the town, and the accumulated 
waters it held back thus suddenly released 
rose into the streets of the low grounds and 
gave the inmates of the houses barely time 
to escape. The damage caused by the flood 
was over $ 15,000. M. Hines, J. T. Green, 
R. "Willard, C. W. Keith and J. Naper were 
the principal losers. 

The original town lies in the southeast 
quarter of Section 13, in the town of Naper- 
ville, as it is now named, which civil division 
was given to the Government township de- 
scribed as Township 38, Range 9 east, but, 
by subsequent additions made to it, the vil- 
lage extends eastwardly into Range 10, Sec- 
tions 7 and 18, in Lisle Township. The 
elevation at the railroad track above Lake 
Michigan is 146 feet 

The present public square of Naperville is 
the ground occupied by the old court house, 
about half of the grounds laid out in the town 
of Lisle, and was conveyed gratis to Naper- 
ville March 30, 1877. 

Much the largest portion of the village lies 
on the northeast bank of the Du Page River, 
which naturally inclines its surface toward 
the south and southwest, thereby giving veg- 
etation an early start in the spring. The 
ground graduates upward from the river on 
both sides into a great variety of oval eleva- 
tions. One of them, on which the house of 
Mr. Ellsworth stands, was the spot on which 
Fort Paine was built in 1832, it being con- 
siderably higher than any other rise of ground 
near by, but the broad plateau in the back- 



NAPERVILLE TOWNSHIP. 



217 



ground beyond the erosion and bank drainage 
of the river is still a little above any portion 
of the village of Naperville. The town is 
well supplied with springs of very pure wa- 
ter, which rises several feet above the sur- 
face, and is qaade to flow into tanks for con- 
venience to the citizens. 

The following description of the town, 
given by C. W. Richmond and H. F. Val- 
lette, in their History of Du Page County, 
published in 1857, will show what it then 
was, only the next year after it had been in- 
corporated: 

"The mercantile business, aside from agri- 
culture, is the chief business of the town. 
The principal stores employ capitals of be- 
tween $6,000 and $8,000 annually. They 
sell large amounts of goods, not only to the in- 
habitants of this, but to those of surrounding 
towns. Integrity is the marked characteristic 
of the dealings of the merchants of Naper- 
ville. This, in connection with the uniformly 
low prices at which they sell their goods, has 
secured to them a liberal and extended pat- 
ronage. 

" There are two large nurseries near the vil- 
lage, from which trees and shrubs are sent to 
all parts of the Northwest. We have been 
furnished some account of the business of 
these nurseries, which we give below: The 
Du Page Eclectic Nurseries were established 
in 1853, by B. W. and R. B. Hunt. During 
the four years past, these nurseries have prop- 
agated, in each year, from fifty to one hun- 
dred and fifty thousand fruit trees. Orna- 
mental trees and shrubbery have been propor- 
tionately increased, and some thousands of 
foreign trees and shrubs have been added by 
importation, as the business has justified. 
The Du Page County Nurseries of Lewis 
Ellsworth & Co. were established in 1849. 
These nurseries cover at present some fifty 
acres of ground, embracing in their collec- 



tion the most extensive stock and assortment 

' of varieties of fruit and ornamental trees, 
shrubs and plants, to be found in the North- 
west. The yearly increase of trees and shrubs 
by propagation is truly astonishing. The 
proprietors have imported, during the present 
season (1857), from Europe, more than thirty 
thousand young evergreens and other plants. 

i Attached to the establishment is a plant- 
house, arranged for propagating plants dur- 
ing the winter season. The establishment 

i gives employment to a large number of work- 
men, some ten or twelve families deriving 
their entire support from it. Some fifteen 
or twenty men are employed, at an expense 
of over 16,000 per annum." 

The foregoing account of a business so es- 
sential to the comfort and beauty of newly 
made prairie homes serves to show from 
whence came the horticultural development 
of the country around, or at least how a 
branch of industry took its start that has mul- 
tiplied trees and other plants till every 
hamlet and every farm is supplied with 
them. 

Subsequently, C. W. Richmond established 
a nursery here, and continued the business 
for some years, thereby lending a hand to the 

! arduous and useful work of supplying the 
country with trees. 

Ernst Van Oren also established a nursery 
about the same time as Mr. Richmond, and 
still continues the business. 

The Du Page County Nursery, the first one 

1 established here, is still supplying orders for 
trees and other plants, but is not increasing 
its 'stock, or propagating, Mr. Ellsworth, the 
proprietor, wishing to relieve himself of its 
active work and responsibilities. 

The present nursery stock here is not as 
large as it formerly was, but the growing of 
trees is constantly on the increase in the 
country. 



218 



HISTORY OF DU PAGE COUNTY. 



Of other manufacturing establishments in 
Naperville, at the same time, says Richmond 
and Vallette, in their history: 

" The plow and wagon shops of Messrs. 
Vaughan & Peck. It was originally estab- 
lished by A. S. Jones, who is entitled to the 
credit of originating the steel plow now so 
much in use. The manufactory of this plow 
commenced in 1840. They possess many supe- 
rior qualities, for which they have become ex- 
tensively noted throughout the West. From 
its circular we learn that this establishment is 
the oldest in the Western States, having manu- 
factured the steel scouring plow for eighteen 
or twenty years, and always winning first 
premiums at State and county fairs. The 
establishment is capable of making fifteen 
plows per day." 

Say Richmond and Vallette, in 1857: 
Subsequently, this establishment passed into 
the hands of Mr. N. Boughton, who carried 
it on under the name of the Naperville Agri- 
cultural Works, who, having enlarged its ca- 
pacity, employed about sixty hands. These 
workmen, with others employed by manufact- 
uring establishments here, on public days 
made the streets of Naperville lively, espe- 
cially on one 4th of July, 1870, when a dis- 
pute arose between some of them and the 
German citizens of the place about some 
trifling matter of no vital interest, which re- 
quired the utmost efforts of Mr. J. J. Hunt, 
then Police Magistrate, to settle, or rather to 
prevent violence from growing out of, for he 
made no attempt to investigate the " true in- 
wardness " of it, which undoubtedly had been 
bottled up and escaped from such confine- 
ments down the throats and thence into the 
brains of a few otherwise " real good fel- 
lows." Mr. Hunt interposed between the 
unctuous aggressors and the objects of their 
resentment, when they reconsidered their res- 
olution and retreated, muttering, as they 



went, something about the Dutchman, 

i and peace was restored. 

Mr. Boughton, not long after this, removed 
the establishment to Chicago, and took these 
" real good fellows " along with him. Hence 
they did not make "real good plows," but an 
inferior article, and his business ran down, 
but, after a brief cessation, the business was 

i resumed again in Naperville. 

Messrs. Strauss & Getsch, who now turn out 

I plows after the first perfect mold, invented 

by Mr. A. S. Jones, the original proprietor. 

There were two breweries in Naperville in 

i 1857, where the famous beverage of lager 
beer was made. Their annual consumption 
of barley was then 15,000 bushels, and of 
hops 11,000 pounds. Their capacity of 
manufacture was then 186,000 gallons annu- 
ally, which brought in to the manufacturers 

j about $150,000 per year. 

There is now (1882) but one brewery in 
operation here, which was established by John 

' Senger in 1850. It consumes annually 10,- 
000 bushels of barley and from 6.000 to 7,- 
000 pounds of hops. It makes about five 
thousand barrels of beer annually, which is 

sold at Chicago and through the country 
around. 

From the Naperville Clarion of July 25, 

; 1877, we take the following, to show the con- 
dition of the town at that time: 

"Naperville of to-day is an enterprising 
city of about two thousand inhabitants, the 
largest and most important in the county. 
It is situated in the heart of one of the finest 
agricultural districts of Northern Illinois, 
and the fertile acres and healthful climate 
have contributed to make up Du Page County 

! one of the wealthiest sections of the State. 
The city is located on a series of elevations 
overlooking the surrounding landscape of hill 
and dale which, with the glistening waters of 
Du Page River, seen here and there as they 



NAPERVILI.E TOWNSHIP. 



219 



roll through the valleys, form a pleasant view 
to the beholder. 

The streets, which are fringed with shade 
trees, are regularly laid out, and mostly 
graded and provided with sidewalks. Upon 
the business thoroughfares are many two and 
three story blocks, mostly of brick or stone, 
comprising stores and business houses, con- 
structed in modern style of architecture, and 
presenting a front scarcely inferior to the 
business streets of our larger cities. 

The writer of the above, in his further de- 
scription of the place, speaks of the follow- 
ing material interests and business firms then 
prominently known here. Eight churches 
are noted, a district school, the Northwestern 
College, and hotels, among which the Pre- 
emption House was named as an old land- 
mark. The tile and brick works of Messrs. 
Martin & King; the stone quarries of Mr. J. 
Salfisberg; the cheese factory of George H. 
Hunt; the Du Page Valley Mills, under the 
management of L. Rosen treter, the one orig- 
inally built by Joseph Naper; Mr. William 
Shimps. carriage factory ; the drug store of 
Mr. F. Morse; Mr. Th,eo German's merchant 
tailoring house; Willard Scott & Co.'s dry 
goods store; Messrs. Collins & Naper's store; 
Mr. P. Beckman's leather and shoe findings 
store; Messrs. Rickert & Vance's blacksmith - 
ing business; Mr. Fred Long's furniture 
house; Mr. C. Scherer's hardware store ; Mr. D. 
Strubler's carriage factory ; Messrs. Escher & 
Drisler's grocery; Mr. M. Weismantel's jew- 
elry store; Willard Scott, Sr., & Co.'s Bank; ; 
Mr. L. S. Shafer's planing-mill ; Mr. J. Hil- 
terbrand's carriage factory; Mr. Martin Fest's 
boot and shoe factory; Messrs. Reuss& Diet- 
er's clothing store; Mr. P. Marlin's flour and 

O ' 

feed store; Mr. M. Brown's store; Messrs. 
Ditzler & Hosier's store; Messrs. Dunlap & 
Co.'s grocery; Mr. R. H. Wagner's saddlery 
establishment; Mr. W. S. Latsuaw's grocery; \ 



Mr. John Pf ister's hardware store; Dr. H. C. 
Daniels' paint, oil and drug store; Mr. P. 
Strubler's grocery store; Messrs. Ehrhardt & 
Bros.' boot and shoe store ; Mr. George 
Strubler's livery stable; Mrs. Lindeman's toy 
store; Mr. L. G. Kent's grocery; Mr. P. 
Schmelzer's bakery; Mr. M. B. Powell's drugs 
store; Messrs. J. Ehrhardt & Co.'s boot and 
shoe store; Mr. C. Schultz's cigar store; Mr. 
A. Scott's grocery; Mr. M. Hemmer's furni- 
ture store; Mr. B. J. Slicks' grocery; Mr. H. 
L. Peasley's dry goods store; Messrs. W. H. 
Hillegar & Co.'s hardware store; and Mr. C. 
H. Finley's photograph gallery; Mr. C. Ken- 
dig's dental rooms and photograph gallery; 
Mr. Jacob Saylor's lumberyard; Messrs. Hart- 
runf & Son's lumberyard; Mr. C. Boettger's 
meat market; Mr. D. Garst's meat market; 
Thomas Saylor's ice cream and confectionery 
store. Also shoemakers as follows: J. Con- 
grave, - - Compte, G. Friess, G. Fosha, J. 
Fehlman, Mr. Knetzger, J. Stubeurauch and 
Jacob Zimmerman; Mr. Obermayer's cigar 
factory; Mr. F. Strahecker's blacksmith shop; 
Mr.W. Lent's blacksmith shop; Messrs. Strausz 
& Getsch, proprietors of the plow factory; 
Messrs. Bauer Bros., blacksmith shop, and Mr. 
A. Hartrunf s blacksmith shop ; Mr. J. J. 

; Hunt's hardware store; Alfred Shafer's car- 
penter shop; Mat Stevens' carpenter shop; 
R. Swarz's blacksmith shop; John Herbert's 
harness shop; Walter Good's paint shop; 

i Francis Saylor's carriage factory; Mr. Arm- 

bruster's and Mr. Mueller's wagon shops; 

; Fred Miller's taxidermist and painting estab- 
lishment; Mr. Brussel's livery stable; Fred 
Kaylor's clothing store ; Mr. Schloessler's 
cigar factory; and Mr. Michael Hines' shoe 
shop. 

NORTHWESTERN COLLEGE. 

The Northwestern College, under the aus- 
pices and patronage of the Evangelical Asso- 
ciation, is located at Naperville. The college 



220 



HISTORY OF DU PAGE COUNTY. 



building is an elegant, substantial and com- 
modious structure of stone, containing spa- 
cious recitation rooms, a large chapel, society 
halls, reading room, laboratory, and other 
rooms for special college purposes. The sit- 
uation of the building and grounds is in the 
finest part of the village, on a moderate eleva- 
tion, affording a commanding view of the 
rich and beautiful country all around to a 
distance of many miles. 

The college was instituted at Plainfield, 
Will Co., 111., in the fall of 1861. Prior to 
this time, there had been no college institu- 
tion under the support and patronage of the 
Evangelical Association. With the exception 
of several seminaries in the east, no higher 
schools of learning had been sustained by the 
denomination. Indeed, it may be said' that 
the organization of Northwestern College is 
the mark of a new departure iu the history 
of the enterprises of this young and growing 
church. It had long been verified that de- 
nominational schools inured greatly to the 
benefit of the churches which they represent- 
ed. Leading men, ministers and la'ymen, 
believing that the means to support and ma- 
terial to furnish a college were in the pos- 
session of the church, strongly advocated the 
establishment of such an institution. The 
Illinois and Wisconsin Conferences of the 
church were the leaders in this movement. 
Accordingly, a deputation of citizens of Plain- 
field was sent to the sessions of the confer- 
ences in the spring of 1851, with overtures for 
the location of the school in that village. An 
agreement was effected. There was at this time 
a township high school building in process 
of erection at Plainfield. This was conveyed 
to the Trustees of the college, and in the fall, 
when the building was completed, the school 
was opened under the name of Plainfield Col- 
lege. 

Notwithstanding the fact that the college 



opened its doors to the public during the dark 
and lowering days of the first years of the 
war of the rebellion, when public thought 
and interest was intent upon the question of 
the safety of the greater institution our 
united country; when thousands of young 
men, the flower of the land, went forth to the 
tented camp and the battle-field notwith 
standing these discouraging circumstances, 
the institution had an auspicious beginning. 
At the end of the first year, the Indiana and 
Iowa Conferences added their support to the 
undertaking. There was a fair attendance of 
students during the first year, with an in- 
crease from abroad from term to term. The 
institution received its regular collegiate 
i chater in 1865. With the growth of the 
i number of regular college classes, the num 
i ber of instructors was increased. The first 
! class of graduates went out in 1866, since 
which time the college has annually sent out 
from her halls a greater or less number of 
graduates into the active arena of practical 
life. 

In 1864, the name of the institution was 
changed to Northwestern College. While 
public interest in the school was widening 
and manifesting itself in an increase of pat- 
ronage from a distance, it soon became ap- 
parent that certain circumstances essential to 
1 the permanent growth of the college had not 
been practically anticipated when Plainfield 
was chosen for its location. The building 
| soon proved insufficient for the purposes of 
the school. Moreover, the fact that Plain- 
j field was "off the road," eight miles distant 
from the nearest railroad station, was found 
to be increasingly prejudicial as the stage 
coach as a traveling conveyance became more 
and more unpopular. This naturally led to 
the agitation of the question of removal to 
some location more easily accessible. While 
the citizens of Plainfield, as might be ex- 



NAPERVILLE TOWNSHIP. 



221 



pectod, strenuously opposed the proposition, 
facts and circumstances seemed, from year to 
year, to strengthen the warrant to adopt such 
a measure. Various places held out induce- 
ments to the Trustees to be chosen as a new 
location. Among these, Naperville, awake to 
the fact that Northwestern College would 
prove a valuable acquisition, proposed to give 
$25. (XX) toward the erection of the buildings, 
provided that town were chosen. In the 
spring of 1870, nine years after the college 
was opened at Plainfield, after a long and 
animated debate, first on the question of 
making the change, and second as to the pref- 
erence between proposed places, the Board of 
Trustees decided on a removal to Naperville. 

The fall term of 1870 was opened in the 
new building. The citizens of Naperville 
manifested a fair appreciation of their newly 
acquired privileges. The facilities of the 
school were, in many particulars, consider- 
ably enlarged, and Northwestern College en- 
tered upon a new career of growth and pros- 
perity. The history of its development will 
best appear in the following reference to its 
various interests. 

Endowment. From the opening of the 
school, scholarships of various prices and of 
different periods of validity were sold, with a 
view to the establishment of an endowment 
fund. By the addition of direct donations, 
this fund increased from year to year with 
varying degrees of rapidity, so that at the 
present time (1882), it has reached the sum 
of $90,000. 

Faculty. When the school was opened, 
the faculty consisted of five teachers, viz., 
Profs. J. E. Rhodes, John E. Miller, S. W. 
Marston, Mrs. Emily Huntington Miller and 
Miss C. M. Harlacher. Eev. A. A. Smith, 
A. M., was elected President of the college in 
1861, but did not assume the position until 
the fall of 1862. At the same time, H. C. 



Smith, A. M., was appointed Professor of 
Music. In 1863, Eev. F. W. Heidner, A. 
M., was elected to the Professorship of the 
German Language and Literature. In 1864, 
upon the resignation of Prof. J. E. Miller, 
Rev. John H. Leas, A. M., was made Profes- 
sor of Ancient Languages. In 1868, upon 
the resignation of Prof. J. E. Rhodes, H. H. 
Rassweiler, A. M., was appointed Professor 
of Mathematics and Natural Science. In 
1869, Prof. J. H. Leas having resigned, H. 
C. Smith, A. M., was made Professor of An- 
cient Languages and Literature, and was suc- 
ceeded in the Department ot Instrumental 
Music by Miss Emma M. Corbin. Upon the 
removal of the college to Naperville in 1870, 
the faculty was materially increased by the 
appointment of Rev. A. Huelster, A. M., as 
Professor of Greek (Prof. Smith remaining 
in charge of the Latin) ; C. F. Rassweiler, A. 
M., as Tutor; Miss Nancy J. Cunningham as 
Preceptress and Teacher of Drawing; Rev. J. 
G. Cross, A. M., Principal of Commercial 
Department; and Miss Minnie P. Cody as 
Teacher of Instrumental Music. In 1871, J. 
L. Rockey was added as assistant teacher in 
the Commercial Department. In 1875) C. 
F. Rassweiler was promoted as Adjunct Pro- 
fessor of Mathematics. In 1876, G. W. Sind- 
linger, A. M., was appointed Assistant 
Teacher of Greek, and, three years later, he 
succeeded Prof. A. Huelster as Professor of 
that department. In 1878, Miss Cunning- 
ham resigned as Preceptress, and was suc- 
j ceeded by Miss Lizzie E. Baker, who served 
I one year, after which Mrs. N. J. Knicker- 
backer, nee Cunningham, was re-appointed 
Preceptress and Professor of History and 
English Literature. In 1879, Prof. Cross, 
of the Commercial Department, was succeed- 
ed by F. W. Streets. In 1881, the Professor 
| of Mathematics and Natural Science resigned 
1 the first-named department, and C. F. Rass- 



222 



HISTORY OF ])U PAGE COUNTY. 



weiler was made Professor of Mathematics. 
In 1877, Miss Minnie P. Cody was succeeded 
by Miss Rose M. Cody as Teacher of Instru- 
mental Music, and in 1878, Prof. H. C. Smith 
was placed in charge of this department. 

At the present date, the faculty of North- 
western College is constituted as follows: 

Rev. A. A. Smith, A. M., President, Pro- 
fessor of Mental and Moral Science. 

Rev. F. W. Heidner, A. M., B. D., Profes- 
sor of the German Language and Literature. 

H. C. Smith, A. M., Professor of the Latin 
Language and Literature. 

H. H. Rassweiler, A. M., Professor of Nat- 
ural Science. 

C. F. Rassweiler, A. M., Professor of Math- 
ematics. 

G. W. Sindlinger, A. M., Professor of the 
Greek Language and Literature. 

Mrs. N. J. Knickerbacker, Preceptress, 
Professor of History and English Literature. 

H. F. Kletzing, A. M.. Assistant Teacher 
of Mathematics. 

J. L. Nichols, A. M., Teacher of Commer- 
cial Studies and Penmanship. 

H. C. Smith, Professor of Music. 

Mrs. Jennie E. Nauman, Assistant Teacher 
of Piano and Organ. 

Miss Sadie Schutt, Teacher of Painting 
and Drawing. 

Students. The attendance of students 
from the beginning has been encouraging. 
Notwithstanding the fact that, during the 
history of the institution to this time, the j 
country has passed through at least two seri- 
ous financial crises, and while others more 
local and temporary circumstances have 
affected the attendance of students at the 
higher schools generally, the annual enroll- 
ment at Northwestern College has not been 
remarkably fluctuating. The attendance j 
during the last collegiate year (1881-82) was 
about three hundred* 



Graduates. The graduates of the college, 
now precisely 100 in number, are distributed 
over the whole country. These, with the 
hundreds who did not fully complete a course 
of study, represent most of the professional 
and industrial pursuits of life. As a class, 
they are successful men and women, who, by 
their integrity and industry, are reciprocat- 
ing the honor bestowed on them by their 
Alma Mater. 

Departments and Courses of Study. Be- 
sides the regular collegiate or literary de- 
partment, the college maintains a commercial, 
a German, a music and an art department. 
To meet all demands in different lines of 
study, there are nine courses of study pro- 
vided, viz., classical, Latin scientific, Greek 
scientific, English scientific, pure German, 
English German, commercial, music and art. 

Patronage. At first the patronage of the 
college was limited to the territory of the 
Illinois and Wisconsin Conferences. Now 
the Illinois, Wiscoasin, Iowa, Indiana, Ohio, 
Michigan, New York, Canada, South Indiana, 
Des Moines and Kansas eleven conferences, 
are pledged to its support, and are represented 
in the Board of Trustees. In the attendance 
of students, all these territorial divisions, be 
sides other States, are annually represented 

Auxiliary Features. As indicating the 
general activity and practical spirit which 
pervades the institution, mention may be 
made of various organizations maintained un- 
der the auspices of the faculty, but conducted 
chiefly by the students. Among these are 
four literary societies, for practice in public 
speaking, debate and general parliamentary 
procedure; a scientific association, for the 
maintenance of a lively interest in the pur- 
suit of scientific knowledge, building up the 
college museum and providing occasional 
lectures; two religious societies, the Young 
Men's Christian Association and the Young 



NAPERVILLE TOAVNSII1P 



223 



Ladies' Christian Association, holding regu- 
lar meetings for conference and prayer, fur- 
nishing a reading room, and exerting a salu- 
tary religious influence over the whole school. 

Union Biblical Institute. In the year 1875, 
a theological school, under the name of Union 
Biblical Institute, was opened in connection 
with the college. Rev. R. Yeakel, formerly 
one of the Bishops of the church, is Princi- 
pal. This school provides a course of study 
suitable for those who contemplate entering 
the profession of the Christian ministry. 

Church. In 1870, a new congregation or 
society, consisting of teachers, students and 
citizens, was organized. Their Sabbath serv- 
ices and Sabbath school have, from the begin- 
ning, been held in the chapel of the college. 
The Sabbath school of this congregation is 
one of the largest and most interesting in the 
whole denomination. The pastor is appoint- 
ed annually by the Illinois Conference. The 
pastors up to this time have been Rev. E. E. 
Condo, Rev. W. W. Shuler, Rev. H. Messner, 
Rev. W. H. Bucks and Rev. C. Schmucker. 

Object and Outlook. The object of the col- 
lege is to provide for the young men and 
women who are intrusted to its care and in- 
struction the advantages of a thorough, lib- 
eral education, under such moral and relig- 
ious influences as to associate in its culture a 
high degree of mental and moral develop- 
ment, and the inculcation of such principles 
and habits of thought as will best fit the 
student not only for extensive usefulness in 
life, but to meet successfully life's inevitable 
vicissitudes, whether of prosperity or adversity. 
The prospects for the future of the institution 
are bright. With an increasing sentiment in 
its favor among the people of the church under 
whose immediate patronage it exists, and a 
growing appreciation on the part of the gen- 
eral public, Northwestern College is destined 
to take a prominent place among the educa- 



tional institutions of the West. H. H RASS- 
WEILEB. 

CONGREGATIONAL CHURCH. 

This, with one exception, is the oldest 
Congregational Church organized in the State. 
The first organization of this character was 
the church at Mendon, formed in February, 
1833, and, on the 13th day of July follow- 
ing, ' ' By a request of a number of persons 
at Du Page to be organized into a Church of 
Christ, the Rev. Jonathan Porter and Rev. 
N. C. Clark, missionaries for this county, and 
Rev. C. W. Babbitt, of Tazewell County, met, 
and, after prayer and some appropriate re- 
marks, proceeded to examine the credentials 
of applicants." So reads the old record of 
the first Congregational Church, but one, in 
Illinois. 

On this examination, the following mem- 
bers were received: Israel P. Blodgett, Avice 
Blodgett, Robert Strong, Caroline W. Strong, 
Constant Abbott, Isaac Clark, Clarissa A. 
Clark, Leister Peet, Henry H. Goodrich, 
Eliza S. Goodrich, Samuel Goodrich, Lydia 
Goodrich, Pomeroy Goodrich, Lucy M. Good- 
rich. 

With these sixteen persons as members, the 
organization was completed, and Isaac Clark, 
Pomeroy Goodrich and Leister Peet were 
chosen the Elders of the church. The form 
of organization was at first Presbyterian, but 
soon after, it was, by a unanimous vote, 
changed to the Congregational, and the title 
of Deacon substituted for that of Elder. 

The record of the acts of these Christian 
pioneers is exceedingly interesting. Their 
earliest recorded resolutions provide for the 
thorough distribution of tracts; the visitation 
I by the pastor and some member of the church 
of all accessible families; and the imperative 
necessity of attending all the stated meetings 
of the church. It being declared the duty of 
the Moderator to note all absentees and call 



224 



HISTORY OF DU PAGE COUNTY. 



for satisfactory explanation at the first meet- 
ing which they attended after the delin- 
quency. 

These resolutions well exhibit, the deter- 
mined spirit of loyalty to their principles 
which distinguished these early Christians, 
who thus "builded better than they knew." 
The spark they lighted has become a flame, 
burning brightly to-day upon the altar they 
erected so many years ago. They built the 
first steeple upon these prairies, and, from 
year to year, have not only increased their 
membership, but have sent out to many later 
organizations members who have carried the 
same spirit. It may well be styled the parent 
church of this whole region. Rev. N. C. 
Clark, one of the organizers, was the first 
pastor. The meetings were for some time 
held in his house, and afterward, sometimes 
in the " schoolhouse near Samuel Goodrich's," 
in the "schoolhouse in Naperville," and in 
the houses or barns of different members. 

The first money raised for the support of 
the Gospel is spoken of in the minutes of a 
meeting held early in 1834, when it was voted 
to raise $100 for that purpose. At this time, 
and for some years afterward, the church was 
materially aided by the American Home Mis- 
sionary Society. 

Mr. Clark served as pastor until July, 1836, 
when he was succeeded by Rev. E. Strong, 
who remained about a year. After his de- 
parture, Rev. Jeremiah Porter was regularly 
installed as pastor, and served in that capac- 
ity until July, 1840. 

On November 5, 1841, at a church meeting, 
it was resolved "that the church deem it ex- 
pedient and proper to revive the ancient cus- 
tom of annual thanksgivings; and that we 
will observe a day of thanksgiving and praise 
during the present autumn, which is here- 
after to be appointed." No record is made of 
services held, but in the following year, 1842, 



on December 2, it was resolved " that, as a 
church, we observe Thursday, the 8th of De- 
cember inst, as a day of thanksgiving, and 
this community be invited to unite with us in 
the public exercises of the day. This was 
probably the first public celebration of this 
custom in the county. 

From 1840 to 1845, Rev. O. Lyman, Rev 
J. H. Prentiss and Rev. E. W. Champlaia 
successively served as pastors. Rev. J. H. 
Prentiss, was installed on the 12th of July, 
1842. 

On January 28, 1843, it was resolved 
" That the style of this church hereafter be 
' The First Congregational Church of Naper- 
ville,' " and later, in 1845, amongst some 
changes made with a view of according more 
fully with the statute in regard to church or- 
ganization, the name of the society was de- 
clared to be "The First Congregational 
Church and Society of Naperville," by which 
name it is known to-day. 

In September, Josiah Strong, John J. Fra- 
zier, Pomeroy Goodrich, George Blackman 
and Hiram Branch were elected Trustees. 

As early as 1838, a resolution was adopted 
to build a house of worship, and a committee 
appointed to select a location. Naperville 
was chosen as the place to build the church, 
and the building used by the society at pres- 
ent was erected in 1846, and, on the 27th day 
of January, 1847, dedicated to the worship 
and service of Almighty God. The land was 
donated by Capt. Morris Sleight, on condi- 
tion that no part of it ever be used as a bury- 
ing-ground, and that upon the contemplated 
house of worship a cupola for a bell be erected. 

For eleven years the pulpit was filled by 
Rev. Hope Brown, who was installed Novem- 
ber 11, 1845, and resigned his pastorate in 
October, 1856. 

Since that time, the following ministers 
have successively served the people as pastors : 



LIBRARY 

OF THE 

UNIVERSITY OF ILLINOIS 



NAPERVILLE TOWNSHIP. 



227 



Bev. E. Barber, 1856-59; Eev. C. P. Felch, 
1859-64; Rev. E. I. Alden, 1864-66; Eev. J. 
C. Beekman, 1866-68; Eev. J. W. Cunning- 
ham, 1868-74; Eev. C. P. Eeed, 1874-76; 
Eev. J. W. Hartshorn, 1876-78 ; and the 
Eev. J. H. Dixon, from 1879, and who is 
still, at the present date, pastor. 

From the beginning of the organization to 
the present time, the society has had, alto- 
gether, 846 members. The present actual 
membership of the church is ninety- nine 
members. 

The present Deacons of the church are 
Pomeroy Goodrich, one of the original six- 
teen members; E. E. Loomis, H. W. Knick- 
erbacker and C. H. Goodrich. There has 
been a Sabbath school connected with the 
church from a very early day. The present 
Superintendent, H. H. Cody, has filled that 
position for twenty-two years, having first 
been elected April 7, 1860. The Sabbath 
school services are held directly after the Sab- 
bath morning services, and are attended by 
about one hundred persons. The school is 
supplied with a fine library, comprising sev- 
eral hundred volumes. Mr. Eli Ditzler, the 
Librarian, has served in that capacity for 
about ten years. There are held two regular 
Sabbath services, and, during the week, two 
prayer meetings the young people's meeting 
on Tuesday evening, and the regular church 
meeting on Wednesday evening. For fifty 
years, this beacon light has shed its rays over 
this people. Its power has been felt not 
alone within the limits of Du Page County. 
There are churches in Western States that 
owe much to its early influences. In North- 
ern Dakota, in Southern Texas, in Western 
wilds and in Eastern cities, are influences 
working which can be traced directly to this 
church. Yes, farther than this have its 
teachings been carried, for in far-off Japan 
the " old, old story " has been told to many 



an eager listener by one who grew up within 
the shadow of its walls, and sat, Sabbath after 
Sabbath, in its pews, drinking in the blessed 
truths which she has since carried across the 
waters to the joy and salvation of many 
precious souls. 

No one can estimate the extent of the work 
which has been done, but the results which 
can be plainly seen are enough to encourage 
its present supporters to put forth the most 
earnest efforts in the future. A. B. CODY. 

EPISCOPAL CHURCH. 

The Episcopalians in this village have a 
very beautiful house for public worship, 
which has attracted the attention of the 
brethren of surrounding parishes as being a 
model in beauty and style. They likewise 
have a rectory on an adjoining lot, built in a 
atyle corresponding with the church. The 
lots on which these buildings stand are or- 
namented with shrubs and trees, imparting 
to the exterior a pleasing effect, to which the 
interior of the church, in style, completeness 
and furniture, fully corresponds. 

Every organized church or society has a 
history, but every one has not instituted con- 
tinued and preserved records from which the 
historian can write it. Not so with this 
church. Its rectors aud officers have, from 
time to time, furnished material from which 
the following sketch is taken. The first serv- 
ice of the Episcopal Church held in this vil- 
lage was by the Eev. Andrew H. Cornish, 
missionary of Joliette, November 16, 1838. 
In the years 1839, 1840 and 1841, Mr. Cor- 
nish officiated at irregular intervals. The 
Right Eev. Philander Chase, D. D., first 
Bishop of Illinois, made his first visitation 
and officiated in public service May 27, 1839. 
Previous to this and for several subsequent 
years, there being no organization sufficient 
to hold church people together, they sought 



22S 



HISTORY OF I>U PAGE COUNTY. 



fellowship and worshiped with those de- 
nominations having houses of worship till 
June 4, 1850, when a parochial association 
was organized by some thirty persons asso- 
ciating themselves together by the name and 
title of the Parish of St. John's Church, Na- 
perville. In accordance with the purpose of 
this association, July 22, 1850, a parish or- 
ganization was accomplished. At this meet- 
ing, the Rev. Daniel Brown, rector of St. 
John's Church, Lockport, in this diocese, 
presided, and Mr. James D. Wright was 
chosen Secretary. Messrs. S. P. Sherwood 
and Charles Earl were elected Wardens, and 
Messrs. James F. Wight, Charles J. Sellen 
and Delcar Sleight, chosen Vestrymen. This 
organization may be considered a kind of 
starting point, though it effected very little 
in the establishment of a living church; it 
acted as an incentive to more frequent serv- 
ices than would have been held had it not 
been made. Meantime, worship was still 
held with other denominations up to the year 
1858, except occasionally, when some neigh- 
boring rector or the Bishop of the diocese 
visited this place and held service. 

In the year 1858, some church ladies of 
this village feeling deeply the deprivation of 
the mode of worship to which they had been 
accustomed in their beloved church, visited 
Aurora and solicited Bev. V. Spalding, officiat- 
ing rector there, to give the friends of the 
church in this village service at stated times. 
Mr. Spalding consented, and continued to do 
so until he left Aurora, and here it should 
not be omitted that the ladies in this church, 
from its first organization, have been most 
zealous and effic ient workers. Without their 
aid, the church and rectory could not have 
been built, at least so soon, and the church 
could not have prospered at it has. For this 
reason, one of the rectors who has had charge 
of this parish, remarked that the church 



ought to have been named St. Mary's Church, 
instead of St. John's Church, of Naperville. 

During the year 1858, the Eev. T. N. Mor- 
rison, of Aurora, officiated occasionally. 
During the years 1861 and 1862, Bev. Messrs. 
Wilkinson and Gilbert, of Joliet, were en- 
gaged to hold service at stated times. 

The Eev. S. T. Allen, of Aurora, held serv 
ice once every Sunday, from 1861 to 1865, in 
houses of worship belonging to other denomi- 
nations or in Mr. Sleight's hall. Mr. Allen 
may be said to be the first rector of St. 
John's Church, of Naperville, and during his 
rectorship the church had prospered to such 
an extent as to be troublesome to those de- 
nominations which had generously granted to 
churchmen the privilege of holding service in 
the churches belonging to the denominations, 
consequently they began to estimate the cost 
of building a church of their own. 

In 1864, Mr. Sleight presented to the 
church the lot for the church building, and, 
June 1, of the same year, the corner-stone 
was laid by the Bight Bev. H. J. Whitehouse, 
Bishop of the diocese of Illinois. 

January 1, 1865, the church was open for 
the first service, the Bev. Mr. Allen officiat- 
ing, and, April 24, of the same year, the 
church was solemnly consecrated by Bishop 
Whitehouse, assisted by the Bevs. S. J. Allen, 
Clinton Lock, of Chicago, and C. A. Gilbert., 
of Joliet. Mr. Allen closed his labor here 
by resignation. He was highly esteemed 
and beloved by the members of the parish, 
and zealously aided and encouraged them in 
the building of the church, and he possessed 
the business talent necessary to insure suc- 
cess. The consecration service was the last 
service in which he participated in this vil- 
lage, and the members of the parish parted 
with him with sincere regret. 

June 14, 1865, an invitation was extended 
to the Bev. J. H. Knowles to take charge of 



NAPERVILLE TOWNSHIP. 



229 



the parish, which he accepted. Under his 
charge, the church continued to prosper. 
April 17, 1867, Mrs. D. Sleight presented to 
the church a deed of the lot adjoining, on 
which to erect a rectory. June 23, Mr. 
Knowles tendered his resignation, which was 
accepted with regret. 

November 17, 1867, Rev. J. T. Chambers 
received a call to the rectorship, which he 
accepted, and held his first service on the 
twenty-second Sunday after Trinity. During 
his rectorship, the rectory was built, and oc- 
cupied by the rector August 29, 1870. May 
31, 1872, Mr. Chambers resigned. He was a 
hard worker in the vineyard and a good man. 

August 14, Rev. James Cornell was called 
to the rectorship, and served as rector one 
year and seven months, when he resigned. 
Mr. Cornell was succeeded by the Rev. Wal- 
ter F. Lloyd, who commenced his duties as 
rector May 3, 1874, and resigned May 20, 
1875. 

July 1, 1876, Rev. William Allen Fisk, 
having accepted of a call, entered upon his 
duties as rector, it being the third Sunday 
after Trinity. During his rectorship, the 
church was enlarged so as to nearly double 
its seating capacity. Work was commenced 
on the enlargement of the church in June, 
1878. It was finished and re-opened with 
solemn service by the Bishop of the diocese, 
on the 26th of November, 1878. Mr. Fisk 
resigned on the 1st of November, 1880, and 
was succeeded by the present rector, Ruv. 
Martin V. Averill, who accepted of a call and 
officiated the first time July 31, 1881. 

The church is out of debt, and the present 
rector is highly esteemed by his parishion- 
ers. 

No history of this church would do justice 
which did not speak of Miss Alethea Gibbs, 
who may properly be called the Patron Saint 
of St. John's Church of Naperville. She 



not only contributed largely toward building 
the church, and when the building and its 
surroundings were complete, paid the last 
few hundred dollars yet due, and, through 
her generosity, the church was out of debt. 
This made the amount paid into the building 
fund by Miss Gibbs, $868. Miss Gibbs had 
frequently expressed a desire to live to see a 
church of her own faith built in Naperville. 
She watched the progress of the building to- 
ward completion with great interest, and 
finally enjoyed the satisfaction of witnessing 
the consecration of the church by her be- 
loved and now departed Bishop. Soon after, 
this Miss Gibbs was called to her final rest 

The number of baptisms in the church rec- 
ord is 150; confirmations, 78; present com- 
municants, 92; burials, 46; marriages, 19. 

The cost of the rectory as first built was 
$3,000; the cost of the addition, $2,200; the 
cost of the rectory, $2,500. SELINUS M. SKIN- 



NER. 



TEMPEKANCE WORK. 



The loss of records and the death or re- 
moval from the place of those engaged in the 
early temperance work in Naperville make it 
impossible to give more than a very general 
outline of that work. 

The first temperance organization, so far 
as we have been able to learn, was known as 
"Tho Sons of Temperance." It was formed 
some time during the fall of 1850. For sev- 
eral years it prospered greatly. At one time 
it numbered over thr.ee hundred members, 
and included among the number every promi- 
nent business and professional man of the 
town. 

The Daughters of Temperance also had a 
lodge, organized about the same time, and 
published for some time a weekly paper de- 
voted to the interests of the order. Who 
the first officers of these two organizations 
were, how long they flourished, how lasting 



230 



HISTORY OF DU PAGE COUNTY. 



the effects of their labors, and what was the 
cause of their decay, we have been unable to 
discover. The Good Templars were the"next 
to take up the work in the temperance cause. 
The lodge was first organized some time 
during the war of the rebellion, the exact 
date we have been unable to learn. Their 
lodge has been in existence for nearly twenty 
years, and has had a checkered experience; 
seasons of great prosperity have been followed 
by long periods of rest, during which its life 
seemed extinct, but after a time it would re- 
vive and again prosper. March 31, 1873, 
this lodge suspended, and no meetings were 
again held until March 1, 1878, when J. Q. 
Detwile re-organized it, with C. Kendig, Fred 
Long, David Frost, W. M. Hillegas, George 
Porter, J. K. Lutz and several others as char- 
ter members. Regular weekly meetings were 
held by the lodge from this re-organization 
until recently, when, owing to lack of inter- 
est, it suspended active work, and is now en- 
joying a season of rest. Dr. Ross, a lecturer 
of some repute, delivered a series of lectures 
on temperance during the winter of 1872-73, 
and organized what was then called a Tem- 
perance Alliance. The work of this organi- 
zation consisted in securing signers to its 
pledge by personal solicitation. Its exist- 
ence, however, did not exceed two years, and 
the effect of its work is not now apparent. 

The Blue Ribbon Club was one of the 
strongest organizations ever formed in Na- 
perville. About the 1st of December, 1878, 
Liberty Jones, a disciple of Francis Murphy, 
commenced to labor in Naperville. His 
efforts, however, were but poorly repaid for 
some time. He finally succeeded, however, 
in interesting in his work Hiram S. Cody, a 
talented young lawyer of Naperville, and the 
two together succeeded in organizing a club, 
about January 1, 1879. Mr Cody was its first 
President, and continued to hold the office 



until his death, March 3, 1879. Mr. S. W. 
Smith was elected to succeed him, and held 
the office until March 9, 1880, when he re- 
tired in favor of D. B. Givler. June '26, 
1880, the club adjourned for the summer, 
and, notwithstanding some well-directed ef- 
forts at resuscitation, it has never been re- 
vived. The club held weekly meetings for 
more than two years, and at one time had 
710 members. The effects of its work have 

' been lasting. September 13, 1881, the Na- 
perville Temperance Alliance was organized, 
Prof. H. H. Rassweiler being its first Presi- 

dent, and A. B. Cody, its Secretary. The 

; object of the Alliance was to combine for 
united action all other temperance bodies of 
the place. It has a woman's section, a chil- 
dren's sections and a voter's section, and is 
to be a branch of a county organization of 
the same general plan, which in turn is to 

' be an auxilliary of a State association. The 
Alliance has held monthly meetings since its 
organization, and, at the municipal elec- 

j tion, in May, 1882, secured sixty-nine votes 

' for its ticket, which was run on a prohibition 

1 platform. H. H. GOODRICH. 

METHODIST EPISCOPAL CHURCH. 

As early as 1835, a Methodist Circuit, 
where stated preaching was held as often as 
once a month at appointed places, was formed, 
including the whole of Du Page County as 
now located. Rev. Wilder B. Mark was Pre- 
siding Elder. The next year. Rev. John 
Clark succeeded him. Preaching was now 
sustained at Naperville, at intervals of two 
weeks, till 1847, where a church was built on 
land donated to the society by Morris Sleight. 

: Rev. O. Lyman was first pastor, who was suc- 

1 ceeded by Rev. Hope Brown, who remained 
with them till 1856, when he was succeeded 

i by Rev. E. Barber. In 1857, the church 

1 membership was sixty-two. 



NAPEUVILLE TOAVNSHIP. 



231 



BAPTIST CHURCH. 

In 1843, there being a few Baptists at this 
place, Rev. Morgan Edwards made an effort 
to organize a church of that faith, which was 
crowned with success. A society was formed, 
and, though their numbers were small, they 
began to build a house for worship on some 
lots of ground of which they had not yet ob- 
tained a deed. But before they had proceed- 
ed far in their work, a personal difficulty 
arose between the owner of the lots and one 
of the members of the new church to be 
erected on them, and he refused to give the 
expected deed. Meanwhile, the foundation : 
had been partly laid, and the work in a good 
state of progress. The builders now proposed 
to remove their materials already on the 
ground to another locality, but the captious 
lot owner forbade. 

This eccentric conduct on his part de- 
manded prompt action on the part of the so- 
ciety, and they, with the assistance of some 
worthy citizens who made common cause 
with them (despite threats of violence), trans- 
planted the foundation ston and other ma- 
terials on the ground to a lot which Lewis 
Ellsworth donated to the society, and here 
the church was erected and nearly finished 
the next year. The Congregational society 
occupied it on each alternate Sabbath for a 
few months, Rev. R. B. Ashley, their first 
pastor, preaching on the day unoccupied by 
the Congregationalists. He was their pastor 
till 1846, and during his term the church in- 
creased in numbers from nine members at 
its commencement to thirty-six. Rev. Allen 
Glos became their next pastor, remaining 
with them till July, 1848, at the expiration 
of whose term the church numbered fifty six 
members. Rev. S. Tucker, D. D., succeeding 
him, held the charge till October, 1855, when 
he left the church, which now numbered 
ninety six members. Rev. Ira E. Kenney 



was the next pastor, whose term lasted but 
eight months. The church was now in the 
zenith of her prosperity. Their Sabbath 
school numbered about fifty scholars. They 
had enlarged and beautified their church, and 
ornamented it with a belfry, in which a bell 
was hung the first that ever tolled the tid- 
ings of the Gospel in "these valleys and 
hills." 

The doctrines of Spiritualism now subtly 
crept into the church. Some members with- 
drew, and held spiritual services elsewhere; 
others dropped out silently as a flake of snow 
falls from heaven. But still the main body 
of the society held on and carried the burden, 
with exemplary resolution, till all but a very 
few had " stood from under. " 

Rev. George B. Simenson and Rev. E. W. 
Hicks were the two last regular pastors, both of 
whom were estimable men, but causes beyond 
their control had contributed to reduce the 
chiirch in numbers. Students and temporary 
supplies have preached to their congregation 
from time to time since, till the winter of 
1879, since which time the bell has hung in 
silence on its pivots, and the path to the 
church door has been overgrown with green 
grasses. 

OEKMAN EVANGELICAL CHURCH. 

This is one of the largest and oldest con- 
gregations of the Evangelical association in 
the State of Illinois. The first two families 
of this society emigrated from Pennsylvania 
to Illinois, and settled in Naperville in the 
year 1836. They were those of Conrad 
Gross, the father of Daniel Gross, a promi- 
nent resident of Naporville now, and Jacob 
Schnaebli, of whose family there are also 
representatives living in this county. In 
1837, another group of four families, those 
of Martin Escher, the father of George Esch- 
er, John Rehm, who is still living in Naper- 
ville, Adam Knopp and George Strubler, 



232 



HISTORY OF DU PAGE COUNTY. 



whose sons are now leading citizens of Na- 
perville and vicinity, followed, when the first 
class was organized, by the Eev. Jacob Boos. 
The meetings were held in the houses of Con- 
rad Gross and John Rehm. In connection 
with this, there was another class organized 
at Desplaines, in Cook County, which consti- 
tuted the first two Evangelical preaching 
places in the State of Illinois. In 1838, sev- 
eral other families arrived from Pennsylvania, 
and the Rev. Jacob Boos was succeeded by 
Rev. Einsel, who organized a class in Chicago 
and preached in German in the City Hotel, 
where the present Sherman House stands. 

In Naperville ser/ices were still held in 
private houses and partly in the schoolhouse, 
on Scott's Hill. In 1839, the Revs. Stroh 
and Lintner were in charge of the now con- 
siderably increased congregation, who resid- 
ed in Naperville and in the surrounding 
country, on their farms, which studded the 
most beautiful prairies in Northern Illinois. 
The meetings were still held in private 
houses and in the above-named schoolhouse. 
In 1840, four more families arrived Schroei- 
gert, Youngheim, Bishop and Garlach. Up 
to this time, all the families were European 
Germans, except the last three named, who 
were Pennsylvanians. This accession added 
materially to the strength of the society, so 
that the private houses and schoolhouse be- 
came too small to accommodate the attendants 
at the public services. This induced the 
Revs. Hoffert and Kern to commence the 
erection of the small frame church in the 
western part of Naperville (now occupied by 
the German Lutheran congregation of this 
place) in 1840. This comfortable meeting- 
house, as it was then regarded, was completed 
in 1841, to the great joy of the earnest and 
devoted membership. The Presiding Elder, 
Father -Zinser, who recently died at an ad- 
vanced age, added much to the prosperity of 



this and other societies that had now been or- 
ganized. 

In 1844, there was a remarkably large in- 
crease of this society of Pennsylvania Ger- 
mans from Pennsylvania. On the 1 st of May, 
there arrived fourteen families, among whom 
were those of David Brown, father of Martin 
Brown, now a prominent merchant and es- 
teemed citizen of Naperville, of Adam Hart- 
man, Joseph Bessler and Benjamin Frahlick. 
Two weeks after, sixteen additional families 
arrived, among whom were those of Sam 
Rickert, Sam Tobias and Benjamin Hassler. 
and thirteen others, all of whom settled in 
and near Naperville. The little frame church 
now becoming too small, was enlarged by an 
addition, in 1845, so as to accommodate the 
faithful worshipers. 

During the next thirteen years, many other 
families followed their friends to the " beauti- 
ful West " from Pennsylvania and Germany, 
and the society increased numerically to such 
an extent that even the enlarged frame church 
became again too small; hence, the energetic 
Rev. C. Augenstein and the zealous and elo- 
quent Presiding Elder, Sam Baumgaertner, 
induced the now numerous and prosperous 
congregation to build the present substantial 
and commodious brick church, at a cost of 
about $6,000. 

During the winter of 1858-59, while the 
meetings were yet held in the incompleted 
new church, the society enjoyed a glorious 
revival, under the labors of Rev. Sam Dick- 
over, assisted by Rev. G. Kleinknecht, when 
manv were converted and added to the 
church, who are still useful members of the 
same. 

From that time to the present, the society 
has enjoyed several marked revivals, as under 
the ministry of the Revs. William Goessele 
and Henry Rohland. 

In the year 1870. by the removal of the 



NAPERVILLE TOWNSHIP. 



233 



Northwestern College to Naperville, the so- 
ciety gained several families from the Ger- 
man members of the college faculty and valu- 
able working force in the students and teach- 
ers, especially in the Sabbath school, so that 
the latter had for several years about four 
hundred members. With the opening of the 
college, in the fall of 1850, itn English con- 
gregation was organized in the college 
chapel, which has drawn largely on the mem- 
bership of the parent society. But while the 
members of the mother church have been 
somewhat diminished in numbers, the daugh- 
ter has remarkably prospered, so that her 
membership, up to date (1882), is about two 
hundred. 

During the revival under the Rev. H. Roh- 
land, in 1877, the membership rose to over 
four hundred, but through the death of aged 
members, removals, and through the division 
of the Sabbath schools and the passing over to 
the English congregation of those who prefer 
to worship in English, the membership of 
the German and parent church has been 
somewhat, diminished, while, however, in 
reality, the Evangelical Church membership 
in Naperville, as a whole, has gained materi- 
ally, numbering in all about 550. 

The German congregation to which this 
sketch is dovoted is in a prosperous condition, 
and is at present under the faithful pastorate 
of the Rev. J. G. Kleinknecht; but it has in 
its ranks a large number of veterans of the 
cross. A few years more will remove most 
of them from the church militant to the 
church triumphant, but those who will pass 
away and those that remain have the pleasure 
to know that their church, as one of the old- 
est and largest, has, for many years, been a 
blessing to a large portion of the inhabitants 
of Du Page County by preaching and prac- 
ticing the true religion of Jesus Christ. F. 
W. WEIDNER. 



NAPERVILLE PRESS. 

The newspapers of Naperville have been 
published under circumstances adverse to 
success. The earlier inhabitants of the vil- 
lage and immediate vicinity, being largely 
composed of Germans, were not interested in 
the success of an English paper for the rea- 
son that they could read it with difficulty and 
understood less than they could read. Their 
denominational paper was the source from 
which they gleaned all the news they desired 
to hear pertaining to this world or that to 
come. The pioneer custom of exchanging 
commodities of various kinds was practical to 
an extent that took in the local newspaper, so 
that one copy would go the rounds of an en- 
tire school district, doing a great deal of good 
to all readers, but impoverishing the pub- 
lisher. Notwithstanding this custom has be- 
come nearly obsolete, cases occur even in this 
advanced day of civilization, independence 
and prosperity. Then, again, being so near 
the city of Chicago, the newspapers of Na- 
perville, as well as those of other suburban 
towns, have been compelled to eke out an 
existence in the shadow of the metropolitan 
press, circumscribing their patronage, belit- 
tleing their importance and reducing their 
source of revenue to a very limited circle. 
The failures of earlier years may have been 
partially the result of a lack of business tact 
on the part of publishers, but undoubtebly 
the foregoing were the chief causes that re- 
sulted in so many wrecka 

In December, 1849, Charles J. Sellen is 
sued the first paper published in Naperville, 
or in the county, called the Du Paqe County 
Recorder, and for nine months it had a flour- 
ishing existence. The name was then 
changed to the Democratic Plaindealer, and, 
in connection therewith, a small weekly sheet, 
called the Daughter af Temperance, both of 
which soon followed in the wake of their 



234 



HISTORY OF DU PAGE COUNTY. 



predecessors, and were numbered with things 
past. 

The printing material, however, remained 
in the village, and, in January, 1851, the Du 
Page County Observer appeared under the 
management of Barnes, Humphrey & Keith. 
But, notwithstanding the paper met the de- 
mand of that early day, the former failures 
had so weakened the confidence of the people 
in the enterprise that the subscription list 
never grew to paying proportions. In April, 
1852, Mr. Gershom Matin purchased Mr. 
Humphrey's interest in the paper, and con- 
tinued it two years longer, in connection 
with Barnes & Keith, when it, too, perma- 
nently suspended publication. 

With increased facilities, the Du Page 
County Journal was started, in the fall of 
1854, by Mr. Charles W. Keith, and was a 
marked improvement on all that had gone 
before. It changed hands rapidly, however, 
from C. W. Keith to Keith, Edson & Co., 
from that firm to J. M Edson, and then to 
E. M. Day, under whose proprietorship the 
Journal oifice, press, paper, type, materials, 
furniture and all appurtenances and heredita- 
ments thereunto belonging were swept down 
the Du Page River by the freshet of Febru- 
ary, 1857. Portions of the wood type, cases 
and wooden furniture were carried scores of 
miles on the cakes of ice and picked up by 
astonished citizens who went to see the river 
on a rampage. It was decidedly the most 
disastrous "pi" that ever occurred in any 
printing office in Du Page County. 

The News Letter, published by E. H. Eyer, 
came into existence shortly after the Journal 
ceased to appear, but it, too, was destined to 
failure after a prief career. 

Next in order came the Sentinel, published 
by D. B. Birdsall. Its existence terminated 
some time during the year 1862, and was 
succeeded, in August, 1863, by the Press, 



under the management of R. K. Potter, Jr., 
who, in February, 1868, sold the outfit to D. 
B. Givler. 

Mr. Givler, shortly after taking charge of 
the paper, changed its name from the Du 
Page County Press to the Naperville Clarion, 
so that the town in which it was established 
would be represented in the title. In the 
course of time the old type was exchanged 
for tiew; the hand-press gave way to the cyl- 
inder; improved jobbers were purchased, and 
the entire apparatus of the original office 
supplanted by new and improved material, so 
that npw it is safe to say there are few su- 
perior printing offices in any suburban town 
in this State. The Clarion is in every way 
worthy of liberal support, the length of time 
it has been successfully published being an 
assurance of its permanency and a fixed in- 
stitution of the town. D. B. GIVLER. 

NAPERVILLE SCHOOLS. 

The first school ever taught here was in 
the autumn of 1831, Leister Peet being teach- 
er, and probably every child in the settle- 
ment, which then comprised also the Scott 
settlement at the fork, were the pupils 
twenty-two in number, full details of which 
have already been given in preceding pages. 

The Sauk war broke up this school, but 
after the return of the settlers from their 
temporary absence on account of the war, 
Mrs. Hines and Mr. Hiram Standish both 
taught in the same old log schoolhouse, built 
before the war on a rise of ground, about 
thirty rods west of Naper's log store. R. 
N. Murray says he graduated at this school. 
By the year 1835, the settlement had attained 
proportions sufficient to warrant the erection 
of a permanent frame building for school 
purposes, and Joseph Naper circulated a sub- 
scription paper to raise the means to pay for 
it. Settlers had abundance of everything 



NAPERVILLE TOWNSHIP. 



235 



but money, but this was wanting in sufficient 
quantities to bring the enterprise to a suc- 
cessful result, and in this emergency some of 
the friends of the scheme contributed labor 
or materials which was just as good as money, 
for in those days when a public improvement 
was to be made, there was no private pecu- 
lation or friction or any subtle methods of 
depleting the public treasury out of special 
funds for special objects. 

Col. Warren informs the writer that he 
\vas then hauling salt from Chicago, and, the 
subscription paper being presented to him, 
on his arrival with a load of it, he rolled off 
a barrel as his contribution to the desired ob- 
ject. Its value was then $6. The building 
was erected the next year, 1836, and was put 
to immediate use; not for a school only, but 
the early Gospel was dispensed from the ros- 
trum in it designed for the pedagogue, and 
it was, moreover, honored with judicial er- 
mine, for here the Circuit Court held two or 
three sessions. Its location was near the 
present Congregational Church. 

For some cause not known to the writer, 
this schoolhouse was sold by the district, and 
the school had to depend on such rooms as 
were available in which to hold their ses- 
sions. This unsystematic way of conducting 
them was neither creditable to the educational 
enterprise of the town, nor profitable to the 
scholars, but ample amends in due time were 
made for this, what might, with no misnomer, 
be called a hiatus in Naperville schools, by 
erecting an academy building, which was in- 
corporated in 1851, where the higher branches 
of science were taught by competent teachers. 
Mr. N. F. Atkins was its first preceptor, who 
was succeeded the next year by C. \V. Rich- 
mond, from the academy at Great Barrington, 
Mass. Besides common branches of educa- 
tion, the classical course of the best Eastern 
academies were taiight here, including, also, 



music, drawing and painting. The attend- 
ance was good, and the progress of the pupils 
all that could be desired. Up to 1863, this 
academy, together with the public schools 
and a select school, in which the higher 
branches were taught by Miss S. B. Skinner, 

i fully answered the requirements of the place. 
But now the time had come when a public 
graded school was a necessity as an advance 
system of education within the means of every 
one who felt ambitious to pursue the higher 
branches of English education. No general 
law of the State had yet been passed for the 
organization of graded schools, which made 

| it necessary to get a charter for one ere it 
could get its due proportion of the public 
funds for its support. In 1863, Messrs. Val- 
lette and Cody and R. N. Murray drew up 

| the required instrument which was sent to the 
Legislature of the State, and received its le- 
galized authority to act. The incorporate 
act was known by the following style: The 
Directors of the Naperville Graded School. 
The school district had already bought the 
academy building, which had been erected in 
1851. J. L. Nichols was Principal in 1881 
-82, and W. Knickerbocker, C. Wise and Peter 
Thompson, Directors. Mr. Knickerbocker 
was succeeded, July 3, by Casper L. Dilley. 
Mr. Nichols having resigned for a professor- 
ship in the Northwestern College, his place 
was supplied, in 1882, by Levi M. Umbach. 
The Principal, with four assistant teachers, 
gives instruction in botany, history, Latin, 
philosophy, geometry, algebra, physiology, 
chemistry, civil government and the usual fun- 
damental branches taught in normal schools. 
The school justifies the expectations of the 
parents and pupils, and is a model worthy of 
imitation. It enrolls 302 pupils from a cen- 
sus enrollment of 572 children and youths in 
its district, which is No 7 in Naperville 

1 Township. 



230 



HISTORY OF DU PAGE COUNTY. 



FIRE DEPARTMENT. 

The Village Council, after the fire in July, 

1874, deemed it expedient to organize a fire 
department, and, in September, 1874, ordered 
the purchase of a hand- engine, hose cart and 
hose. The committee purchased one Dutton 
No. 3 hand-engine, one hose-cart and 700 
feet of two and a half inch rubber hose. 

Companies were organized to run and man- 
age the same. On the 2d day of January, 

1875, the Council passed an ordinance to 
govern the fire department, and purchased a 
hook and ladder truck, with twenty- four pails, 
in September, ] 875, and 300 feet more hose. 
Total cost of apparatus, 12,800; fixing build- 
ing to store apparatus, $300; expenses for 
repairs and running the department, from 
September, 1874, to July, 1882, about $550; 
amount of property saved by reason of organ- 
ized fire department during that time about 
$20,000. 

The following- named citizens have served 
as Fire Marshal and assistant: 

Marshals Willard Scott, Jr., two terms; 
B. B. Boecker, one and a half terms; J. J. 
Hunt, two terms; A. McS. S. Eiddler, two 
terms. 

Assistant Marshals B. B. Boecker, three 
terms; A. McS. S. Eiddler, M. Weismantel, 
M."B. Hasler, J. Egermann. 

The Joe Naper Engine Company No. 1 
was organized September 17, 1874. Number 
of men allowed, 80; number of men in com- 
pany (average), 35. 

Foreman Daniel Garst; J. Egermann, 
two terms ; M. Weismantel, two terms ; 
Xavier Kreyder, two terms; Jacob Heim, two 
terms. 

Assistant Foremen Nicholas Yack, five 
terms; Alois Schwartz; Joseph Yender, two 
terms. 

Second Assistant Foremen R. W. Shel- 
don, Sebastian Baun, seven terms. 



Secretaries W. Scott, Jr. ; M. Weisman- 
tel, two terms; B. Beidelman, two terms; C. 
Bast, three terms. 

Treasurers Reuss, six terms; X. Krey- 
den. two terms. 

Naperville Hose Company No. 1 was organ- 
ized September 17, 1874. Number of men 
allowed, 20; average number of men in com- 
pany, 18. Officers of said company were as 
follows : 

Foremen A. McS. S. Riddler, four terms; 
Peter Babst, Hoi Seiber; Martin Becker, two 
terms; Henry Seiber, Albert Yost. 

Assistant Foremen Peter Nicholas, Peter 
Babst, Hoi Seiber, Samuel Ney, Martin 
Becker, S. S. Strouse, Charlos Naper, George 
Ehrhardt, B. J. Slick. 

Secretaries O. J. Wright, C. D. Kendig, 
S. S. Strouse, A. McS. S. Riddler. 

Treasurers -George Potter, Albert Yost, 
Hoi Seiber. 

Rescue Hook and Ladder Company No. 1 
was organized on the 29th day of September, 
1875. Number of men allowed, 20; average 
number of men in company, 17. Officered as 
follows: 

Foremen William Naper, two terms; V. 
A. Dieter, T. W. Saylor, Charles Boettger, 
Edward Stover, three terms. 

Assistant Foreman V. A. Dieter, two 
terms; T. W. Saylor, Charles Boettger, Ed- 
ward Stover, William P. Wright, three 
terms. 

Secretaries J. H. Alexander, two terms; 
J. H. Chew, M. D., three terms; T. W. Say 
lor, Eli H. Ditzler, W. W. Wickel. 

Treasurer -M. B. Hastier, eight terms. 

A new company called the Joe Naper 
Engine Company was organized in May 
or June, 1881, and discharged in May, 
1882. John Ehrhardt, Foreman; John F. 
Strohecker, Assistant Foreman. A. McS. S. 
RIDDLER. 



NAPERVILLE TOWNSHIP. 



237 



THE NAPERVILLE GUARDS. 

A company of State militia was organized 
at Naperville August 15, 1877, under the 
general military law of the State. Samuel 
W. Smith and "William J. Laird, by direction 
of H. H. Hilliard, Adjutant General of the 
State, took the initiatory steps to form the 
company out of the abundant material at 
hand the stalwart young men of Naper- 
ville. 

Mr. Smith was its Captain; Willard Scott, 
Jr., First Lieutenant, and William J. Laird, 
Second Lieutenant. Subsequently, Messrs. 
Smith and Scott having resigned, a new elec- 
tion was held, June 26, 1878, when William 
J. Laird was elected Captain; E. Ingals, 
First Lieutenant, and William P. Combs, 
Second Lieutenant. Mr. Ingals next having 
resigned, Mr. Combs was promoted to the 
office of First Lieutenant, and Charles F. 
Hfggins from Sergeant to Second Lieutenant 
early in 1880. The succeeding July he died, 
much regretted by the members of the com- 
pany to which he belonged, and mourned by 
his many personal friends and relatives. 
Sergt. George Ehrhardt was then promoted 
to fill his place, but was discharged, June 22, 
1882. The company now numbers, sixty- 
nine men, all muscular and young, well armed 
with breech-loaders, peaceable as citizens, 
but formidable as foes whenever the State 
demands their service. They drill four times 
a year, preserving good order and good dis- 
cipline, as reported by the Adjutant Inspector 
of the State. 

SOCIETIES. 

Guttenburg Lodge, No. 331, I. O. O, F. 
Was organized at Naperville October 9, 1860. 
Charter members : Charles Schultz, Martin 
Straube, Daniel Garst, Joseph Eggerman, 
Charles Boetiger, Jacob Hein, Xavier Kreyter, 
Simeon Schupp. The lodge had forty mem- 
bers at the end of its first year, since which 



time its meetings have been held once a week. 
Its present officers are : Fred Fochs, O. M. ; 
Adam Armbruster, U. M. ; Otto Siber, Schm; 
John Oestereich, Schr. 

Naperville Lodge, No, 81, I. O. O. F. 
Was organized October 17, 1851. The names 
of the charter members were James D. 
Wright, A. S. Sabin, William C. Mclntosh, 
Sol W. Sonendecker, S. O. Vaughn. It has 
been iri successful operation ever since to the 
present time, meeting once a week, except for 
about three years during the war, at which 
time the greater portion of the members were 
in the field. Since peace was restored, the 
lodge resumed its meetings, which are now 
regularly held. Present officers : John Frost, 
N. G. ; Charles Hunt, V. G.; A. McKillips, 
R. S. ; D. Strubler, Treasurer; W. Marvin, 
P. S. 

Euclid Chapter of Royal Arch Masons, No. 
13, was chartered October 3, 1851. The names 
of the charter members were Aylmer Keith, 
H. P. ; John Eddy, K. ; Harry T. Wilson, 
Scribe. Present H. P. : J. J. Hunt. 

Euclid Lodge, No. 65, A.,F.& A. M., was 
organized October 2, A. D. 1849, under the 
dispensation of the Most Worshipful Master 
William Lavely, Grand Master of the Most 
Honorable Society of Free and Accepted 
Masons in the State of Illinois. Charter 
members: Lewis Ellsworth, John Kimball, 
Nathan Loring, C. C. Barns. Officers: Ayl- 
roer Keith, W. M.; Joseph Naper, Senior 
Warden; Nathan Allen, Junior Warden. 
Attested: William Mitchell, Grand Secre- 
tary; W. Lavely, Grand Master; T. C. Ket- 
cham, S. G. W.; W. C. Tobbe, J. G. W. 
Present officers: J. B. Frost, W. M. ; S. A. 
Ballou, Senior Warden; W. W. Wickel, Jun- 
ior Warden; J. J. Hunt, Senior Deacon; J. 
Soltisberg, Junior Deacon; J. Horn, Treas- 
urer; C. P. Dorn, Secretary; S. Balliman, 
Tiler. 



238 



HISTORY OF DU PAGE COUNTY. 



BANKING. 

Willard Scott, Sr., and his son Thaddeus 
opened a banking and exchange office, in con- 
nection with their general store, in 1854, 
and continued in said business until 1866. 
Thaddeus died in 1866, and W. Scott, Sr., 
retired for a short time. Willard Scott Jr., 
carried on the business with C. M. Castle 
from 1866 to 1870. Then Willard Scott, 
Sr. , again assumed the banking and exchange 
office (which was removed to another building 
and entirely disconnected from the store) 
with C. M. Castle until October 1, 1872. 
Then A. McS. S. Biddler was associated with 
him as Cashier until October 1, 1873, when 
Mr. Jonathan Eoyce entered the firm, and 
retired October 1, 1875, since which time Mr. 
Scott has continued in the business until the 
present time, with A. McS. S. Riddler as 
Cashier. During all these years they have 
had the confidence of the people, and not an 
obligation has been presented that was not 
paid promptly, nor have they ever had a 
check or draft protested. 

TILE AND BRICK MANUFACTURING. 

The Naperville Drain-Tile and Brick Fac- 
tory was established in 1871 by George Mar- 
tin. It started with two hand machines, 
there being but little demand for tile at that 
time. Its utility has since been sufficiently 
demonstrated and the demand for it has war- 
ranted the introduction of machinery pro- 
pelled by steam power to supply the increas- 
ing orders which come in for it from the 
country all around. Two steam tile and 
brick machines are now kept running, with a 
capacity of producing from eight to ten 
thousand linear feet of tile per day, varying 
in diameter from eight to fifteen inches. The 
style of the firm is now Martin & Vanoven. 

A quarry of magnesian limestone crops 
out to the surface on the southwestern bank 



of the river. It was first worked by George 
Martin, but is now worked by Joseph Sals- 
bury. The stone has been tested as to ex- 
posure to frost and atmospheric changes, and 
found to be equal in durability, if not super- 
ior, to any in the country. It is soft when 
quarried and hardens by exposure. The an- 
nual production of the quarry is from five to 
six hundred cords per annum. 

BUSINESS AND PROFESSIONAL REGISTER. 

Agricultural implement dealers W. H. 
Hillegas & Co., J. J. Hunt, Andrew Ory, D. 
B. Hartronft. 

Attorneys Hiram H. Cody, John H. Bat- 
ton, Jr., M. C. Dudley, H. H. Goodrich, 
John Haight. 

Bankers Willard Scott & Co. 

Bakers Joseph Bapst, C. A. Nadelhafer. 

Barbers William McCauly, George 
Knoch, Wert Bros., Andrew Kreyder. 

Blacksmiths Bauer Bros., Charles Hunt, 
Abraham Hartronft, Heim & Stoner, Norman 
Lent, Richard Swartz, Strausz & Getsch, 
Daniel Strubler, J. F. Stroheker, David 
Vance. 

Brewers John Stenger. 

Butchers William Hartronft, L. Halber- 
stadt, Becker & McCain. 

Boot and shoe dealers Collins & Durran, 
W. R. Steward. 

Butter and cheese Naperville has two 
butter and cheese factories. The oldest one 
is run by Mr. George H. Hunt. He came to 
Naperville in 1877, and made butter and 
cheese in Mr. John Stenger's building, from 
1877 to 1880; then he bought the grounds 
and put up the factory he is now occupying. 
In 1881, he paid to his patrons about $50,000 
for milk, averaging 1.18 per 100 pounds. 
The other butter and cheese factory is carried 
on in Mr. John Stenger's building, by Messrs. 
Eggerman & Bauer. They started October 



NAPERVILLE TOWNSHIP. 



239 



1, 1881, and receive about 6,000 pounds of 
milk now per day. 

City Officers President, Peter Thompson; 
Trustees, Valentine A. Dieter, Michael 
Schwartz, H. J. Durran, Louis Keiche; 
Treasurer, Oliver Stutenroth; Clerk, S. M. 
Skinner; City Marshal, William J. Laird; 
Police Magistrate, David B. Givler; City 
"Weigher, Philip Beckman. 

Carriage-makers F. A. Saylor, Joseph 
Hildenbrandt, William Shimp. 

Carpenters Alfred Shafer, Mathias Stev- 
ens, Levi S. Shafer (proprietor of planing- 
mill). 

Carpet weavers Nicholaus Fons. Jacob 
Stroheker, John Fuss. 

Cigar makers and dealers Hiram Ebright, 
Henry Obermeyer, John Schloessler, Kline & 
Bard, Charles Schulz. 

County Judge Robert N. Murray. 

Dentists C. P. Dorn, L. Eberhardt. 

Druggists H. C. Daniels, M. B. Powell, 
Strayer, Wickel & Co. 

Furniture dealers Chas. Bapst, F. Long. 

General stores Martin Brown, Ditzler &' 
Hosier, H. H. Peasly, Willard Scott & Co. 

Gents' furnishing goods Fred Kaylor. 

Grocers Joseph Bapst, Valentine Dieter, 
Saul Drissler, John Drissler, John Marlin, 
David Frost, Wm. Latshaw, Mrs. Linderman. 

Grain and coal dealers B. B. Boecker, 
Elias Mnsselman. 

Hardware dealers J. J. Hunt, W. H. 
Hillegas & Co., John Pfister, Sherer & Yost. 

Harness -makers John Herbert, R. H. 
Wagner, Philip Beckman (dealer in hides 
and leather). 

Hotels American House, B. F. Russell, 
proprietor; Pre-emption House, Jefferson 
Bush, proprietor; Washington House, Jacob 
Keller, proprietor. 

Jewelers M. Weismantel, Collins & Dur- 
ran. 



Justices of the Peace David B. Givler, 
W. R. Steward, J. Haight, E. Musselman. 

Livery stable keepers B. F. Russell, 
George Strubler. 

Lumber dealers E. F. Hartronft, Michael 
Schwartz. 

Marble works Charles H. Kayler. 

Merchant tailors Theodore German, 
George Reuss. 

Milliners Mrs. Butler, Mrs. Strebel, Mrs. 
Scott, Mrs. Blake. 

Newspaper Naperville Clarion, David B. 
Givler, proprietor. 

Notaries public John H. Batten, Jr., M. 
C. Dudley, Jasper L. Dille, Arthur Cody, 
H. H. Goodrich, J. J. Hunt, J. M. Vallette. 

Nursery proprietors Lewis Ellsworth, 
Ernst Von Oven. 

Painters Walter Good, Fred Miller, Mar- 
tin Straube. 

Photographers A. C. Kendig, L. Luplau. 

Physicians Bell & Nauman, H. C. Dan- 
iels, M. R. Cullison, A. L. Freund, T. J. 
Sprague, S. S. Stayer. 

Postmaster Philip Strubler. 

Real estate agent A, McS. S. Riddler. 

Restaurants Ed Clemens, T. W. Saylor. 

Saloon keepers Adam Conrad, Thomas 
Costello, J. Eggerman, Fred Fuchs, Jacob 
Keller, Samuel Kreyder, John Ruchty, Xavier 
Swein, O. A. Siebert, John Krieger. 

Shoemakers John Congrave, Xavier 
Compte, George Ehrhardt & Bro., John 
Ehrhardt & Co., George Friess, Martin, Fest, 
Martin Scherff, Jacob Zimmerman. 

Stone Quarries Jacob Solfisberg, Mel - 
chior Braun, Harry Norbury. 

Tile and brick works Martin & Von Oven. 

Toys and notions -Mrs. Lindeman. 

Undertakers Charles Bapst, Fred Long, 
Philip Orcutt. 

Wagon-makers A. Armbruster, Ferdinand 
Mueller. 



240 



HISTORY OF DU PAGE COUNTY. 



CHAPTEK XI. 



LISI.E TOWNSHIP THE FIRST SETTLER HIS HARDIHOOD THANKSGIVING A FEMALE POW-WOW 
THE OLD GRIST-MILL THE CHRONIC PIONEER HIS GENEROSITY. 



AS early as 1834, as the autumn hunter 
crept along the fringe of the groves that 
grew in patches on the east side of the East 
Branch of the Du Page Kiver, just above 
the fork, if of a contemplative mind, he 
could hardly help forgetting his search for 
game to gaze on and admire the scene. An 
even surface, graduating upward from the 
stream, unbroken except in a few places by a 
spring of living water or the channel of a 
rivulet, dry, alluvial and fertile. Here were 
patches of oak, hickory, black walnut and 
other trees unscarred by the woodman's axe, 
and here was a wealth in the soil waiting the 
touch of the plow to yield " thirty, sixty or an 
hundred fold." 

All this had been abandoned by a people 
who knew not how to utilize it. and here it lay 
spread out before the first one who chose to 
take it for a consideration so small that it 
might be counted as nothing. He passes on 
the squirrels are busy at their nut harvest, the 
wild ducks probe the bottom of the river with 
their flat bills, the prairie chickens whirl past 
him through the air, the sand-hill cranes are 
seen in flocks at a long distance, and the deer 
startle from the thickets of hazel brush before 
his approach. Far beyond all these he sees a 
new sight as he pursues his trackless way. 
There is a log cabin, men and women, children 
hop-skipping around as if a section of New 
England had been cut out and planted here as 
an experiment to see if it would grow. He 
approaches nearer and he hears the convivial 
shouts of the youngsters as they chase each 
other around. Surfeited with with with 



Thanksgiving turkey ? Yes, why not ! It's 
Deacon Pomeroy Goodrich's, and hadn't he a 
right among other Yankee notions he brought 
from New Hampshire to bring the institution 
of Thanksgiving with him ? And who could 
do it with more dignity than a deacon? Besides, 
it was a kind of a relief to throw off the 
deacon at least once in a while, and have a 
good jovial time, and anybody who knew 
Deacon Goodrich knew that he could put it on 
again at a minute's notice if it was necessary to 
apply the brakes to those within his moral at- 
mosphere at least by example. He kept up this 
anniversary as the years rolled along, and kin- 
dred neighbors partook in his hospitalities. He 
planted the institutions of New England here 
. first, and in his labor he was soon reinforced 
by detachment after detachment from the 
parent stem, among whom was Henry Good- 
rich, his brother. But before we proceed 
farther in this direction, let us first return to 
the actual settler who drove the first stake into 
the soil of what is now Lisle, whose name was 
Bailey Hobson. 

This intrepid pioneer, in May, 1830, left his 
home in Orange County, Ind., on horseback, 
bound for the prairie country in Illinois, of 
which he had heard reports. He wended his 
way through the forest path in an almost west- 
erly course, till Fort Clark was reached, the 
original French name of which was Opa. It 
is now Peoria. At the time of Mr. Hobson's 
arrival at the place, it was a county seat, where 
courts were held. From thence he bent his 
course northeastwardly to Halderman's Grove, 
where a small settlement had been begun. Next, 



LISLE TOWXSHIP. 



241 



after taking a look at the Fox River country, 
he turned away from it, and made a claim a 
few miles from the village of the Pottawato- 
mies, which would be south of the present site 
of Aurora. He then returned to his home by 
the way he had come, reaching his destination 
early in July. He had passed many nights in 
his blanket on the ground, his faithful horse 
hobbled and turned out to browse ; but this 
was mere pastime to the trials in store for him. 
On the 1st of September following, everything 
was in readiness, and he started with his family 
for the prairie home that he had laid claim to. 
His means of travel was an ox team hitched 
to a lumber wagon, which by day was a vehicle 
of locomotion, and at night a domicile for his 
family, consisting of three young children, one 
of whom was a baby. Besides these was a 
hired man -Mr. L. Stewart. After twenty-one 
days of toiling through the wilderness path, 
they reached Halderman's Grove, near where 
Mr. Hobson had made a claim a few weeks be- 
fore. Next a cabin was to be built for shelter 
during the ensuing winter. Hay was to be cut 
for his cattle, of which Mr. Hobson had thir- 
teen head, besides a horse, the same on whose 
back Mrs. Hobson had crossed several rivers 
on the way, with her babe in her arms. Mr. 
Hobson, with the aid of Mr. Stewart, after ac- 
complishing all this, broke a few acres of prai- 
rie and sowed winter wheat in it, to provide 
food for the ensuing year. But his supplies for 
the winter were getting low, and something 
must be done immediately to replenish them. 
There were sparse settlements to the east, and 
Mr. Hobson started for them, and after many 
wanderings found some pork for sale. This he 
engaged, and returned to his family to get his 
ox-team to transport it. He accordingly again 
started on this mission, but after a few days' 
absence the snow fell to such a depth that it 
was impossible to travel, and after many vain 
attempts to reach home with his team, he finally, 
after nineteen days' absence, made the tour on 



foot, but not without a strain of muscle that 
would have overtaxed the powers even of the 
average pioueer, with all his hardihood. At 
home again, but not to rest, for there was noth- 
ing there to winter on but some dry corn, and 
a scanty supply of that. In this emergency, 
he again started, through the deep snows, for 
the pork he had bought, taking Mr. Stewart 
with him. Before leaving, a good supply of 
fuel was provided and brought into the house. 
This done, the two men took their departure. 
Two days after they had left, another snow- 
storm came, more terrific than the first. The 
cattle dared not venture from the grove, except 
one cow, who naturally sought protection from 
her friendly mistress, Mrs. Hobson, and coming 
to her door pressed to come in. This could 
not be allowed, and the poor brute laid down 
in the snow, and died in a short time on the 
spot. Mrs. Hobson covered her deep with snow, 
lest she should bait the wolves to the place. 
The spring was a few rods from the house, but 
to this all egress was cut off. and Mrs. Hobson 
melted snow for water, boiled her corn, and ate 
the untempting food, with her little ones, in 
solitude, day after day, till the return of her 
husband. After the lapse of fourteen days, he 
came with relief. He had passed through dan- 
gers and trials that had well nigh reached the 
limits of human endurance, in his desperate 
but vain attempts to contend against the forces 
of nature, for the protection of his family. 

We have now followed the adventures of this 
heroic pioneer to where they were begun in a 
previous chapter, which tells of his coming to 
Du Page County, and here we will leave him 
to note the progress of events. 

The arrival of Deacon Goodrich at the 
place was November 6, 1832. Bailey Hobson 
was his nearest neighbor, but across the pres- 
ent line of Will County was the Scott Settle- 
ment, the nearest resident of which was Harry 
Boardman, at whose home Mr. Goodrich and 
family boarded the ensuing winter after their 



242 



HISTORY OF DU PAGE COUNTY. 



arrival. Theron Parsons had just come to the 
place and made claims to land where Mr. 
Goodrich now lives, which he relinqished 
gratis to him, as he had seen other lands that 
suited him better, to which he immediately laid I 
claim after having relinquished his first one. 

In June, 1833, Luther and James C. Hatch : 
came to the present site of Lisle Station and 
made claims. James C. is still living on the 
same at the present time, where he is enjoying 
a green old age. They were from Cheshire 
County, N. H. Sherman King had preceded 
them a few months, and was then living on his 
claim near by. Benjamin Tapper and Mr. 
Madison came the same year. Mr. Stout, from 
Tennessee, was also here with his family. He 
belonged to that race of chronic pioneers who 
live and thrive best on the broad face of nature 
" untarnished " to them by progressive society 
with its infinitude of wants and refinements. 
The limit of the Stouts' ambition was a log 
cabin to live in, corn bread to eat and home- 
spun clothes to wear. Of his worldly goods, 
he was generous, and his heart was full of love 
for mankind, and everybody respected him for 
his sterling integrity as well as his generosity ; 
but as the means of a better style of living in- 
creased among the settlers, and wants kept j 
pace with these accumulating means, Mr. Stout 
saw himself a kind of speckled bird of the 
flock, and took his leave pleasantly and uncom- 
plainingly for a newer county, where conditions 
were on his plane. Allusion has already been 
made to him in a chapter of pioneer history, 
with a feeling more kind even than charity, for 
the writer does not forget the hospitalities of 
just such people extended to himself while in 
his teens on the frontier. 

In 1834, A. D. Chatfield and Thomas Gates 
came to the place. The former still lives at 
Lisle Station where he first settled. 

The Indians frequently visited these early i 
settlers in a friendly spirit, but sometimes 
made themselves offensive through their total ; 



ignorance of the proprieties of civilized life. 
In the spring of 1834, when the wet ground, as 
well as the damp winds, made camping uncom- 
fortable, a squad of squaws came to Mr. Good- 
rich's door just at night. They did not ask 
permission to stay, but planted themselves on 
the floor of his house before the comfortable 
fire and seemed quite contented. Mr. Good- 
rich could not turn the wretches out in the cold, 
and he and his wife went to bed, but not to 
sleep, for, says Mr. Goodrich, " they kept up 
such a pow-wowing all night as to set sleep at 
defiance." 

In 1834, a log schoolhouse was built, by 
subscription, near where Lisle Station now is. 
It, like many others of its kind, was also used 
for a church, and Rev. N. Catlin Clark, a Con- 
gregationalist minister, preached in it. Rev. 
Jeremiah Porter, that venerable old pioneer 
preacher who is still living, also preached occa- 
sionally at the place. Soon afterward, a church 
was built one and one-half miles east of the 
present station, in which services were held by 
Rev. Orange Lyman. But subsequently this 
church was sold to the Lutherans, about the 
time the railroad was laid out, who moved it 
half a mile south of where it first stood. Serv- 
ices were then held in a new schoolhouse, built 
in 1837, till the Congregationalists built the 
large church that now stands at the Station. 

On March 14, 1835, Daniel M. Green and 
Venelia, his wife, came to Section 26, with their 
own team, from Ogden, Monroe Co., N. Y. 
They arrived at the house of Mr. Strong, a 
resident of the place, at midnight. The wolves 
had followed them along the lonesome prairie 
for the last three hours of their ride, and kept 
up a yelping on either side, as if they were 
hungry for their blood. 

Besides those already mentioned, Mr. Green 
reports the following residents at the place on 
the arrival of himself and family : Jeduthan 
Hatch, John Thompson, from New Hampshire ; 
John Graves, who kept tavern, and now lives 



LIBR^KY 

OF TiiE 

UNIVERSITY OF ILLINOIS 



UPt- ' 

OF I..E 
UNIVtRSIU OF UIINOR; 



LISLE TOWNSHIP. 



345 



in Lisle ; Martin and Stephen Pierce ; Thomas 
Gates, from Ohio ; George and Charles Parmely, 
from Vermont ; John Dudley, from Ogden, N. 
Y. ; Russell Webster ; Isaac Clark ; Huchins 
Crocker a pretty old man, sociable when 
he had plenty of tobacco, but in the slough 
of despond without it ; Harmon and James 
Carman, from New York, and Amasa Moore, 
whose wife was sister to Miss Daphine P. 
Ball, the first schoolmistress at the place. 
She taught in a small log cabin built by 
Deacon Goodrich near his own house, and 
was paid by subscription from the neigh- 
bors who patronized it, which meant everybody 
near by. She subsequently taught in Naper- 
ville. and to her are many men and women, 
now in their maturity, indebted for their first 
lessons, not only in scholastic science, but in 
those courtesies which grace the social circle. 
She is now the wife of Mr. Skinner, of Naper- 
ville. 

In 1836, a Sunday school was established at 
the house of Mr. Green Deacon Goodrich, 
Superintendent. 

Among others who came to the place that 
year was Thomas Jellies, from England. The 
next year, he built a schoolhouse at what is 
now the village of Lisle, the best one in the 
country at that time, and the same already 
alluded to as a place of worship, as well as for 
a school. 

The very first preaching in what is now Lisle 
was by Rev. Isaac Scarritt, who had settled in 
the Scott settlement. It was of the Methodist 
itinerant kind ; but Rev. C. Clark, already al- 
luded to, a Congregationalist, soon after began 
to preach at his own house, on the West Fork 
of the Du Page, about a mile below Hobson's 
Mill. 

This old mill was far-famed, and thither came 
people to it like pilgrims to Mecca, except that 
they did not bow down before it on bended 



knees. There was no mill north of it, not even 
at Galena, which was then a good-sized town, 
but obtained their meal and flour from St. 
Louis, and Chicago received such supplies 
from Detroit ; but the whole intervening inte- 
rior had to pound their corn in mortars, grind 
it in a coffee mill or bring it to Hobson's Mill. 
Mr. Daniel Green ran the mill on shares dur- 
ing the years 1836 and 1837, and the cash 
receipts for meal sold were over $4,000 per 
annum. Mr. Hobson could neither read nor 
figure, but was good at mental reckoning. No 
accounts were kept, not even a scratch to prove 
the terms of their contract. There were the 
receipts in cash, which would show for them- 
selves, and it was as easy to divide them as to 
divide a pint of peas. Mr. Hobson took three 
parts, Mr. Green one. No expense for clerk 
hire, paper, pens or ink. Subsequently, when 
Mr. Green became County Sheriff, Mr. Hobson, 
his quondam friend, was the first to volunteer 
to sign his bail bond, and it surprised the court 
to see how prettily he wrote his name. 

The name of Lisle was suggested by A. B. 
Chatfield. It has nine schoolhouses and 576 
persons between the ages of six and twenty- 
one. 

The village of Lisle is a station on the C., 
B. & Q. R, R., in the midst of a region not sur- 
passed in fertility in the county. A combina- 
tion of circumstances as to land ownership 
and other causes have thus far stood in the 
way of its growth up to the present time. 
There is more milk shipped from this than any 
other station on the road, and the place is li- 
able at any time to rally and become a thriving 
village. Robert Dixon keeps a general store 
here, J. R. McMillen is Station Agent and 
Postmaster and Hart, Nagle & Long carry on 
the blacksmith and wagon-making business. 

The elevation of the railroad track at the 
place is 115 feet above Lake Michigan. 



HISTORY OF DU PAGE COUNTY. 



CHAPTER XII. 



YORK TOWNSHIP ORIGIN OF ITS NAME ITS EARLY SETTLERS THE DESPLAINES BRIDGED- 
SUNDAY SERVICE ON SLAB SEATS THE PIONEER SCHOOL MISTRESS THE WIDOWER'S 
CABIN PRAYING MATCHES SUICIDE BURSTING FORTH OF A SPRING 
ELMHURST GERMAN EVANGELICAL SEMINARY LOMBARD. 



IT took its name from the State of New 
York because its first settlers came from 
there and planted its institutions in the new 
prairie soil of the land of their adoption, 
there to live and grow, which expectation has 
been verified, perhaps, sooner than was ex- 
pected, for they have lived to see villages and 
railroads, schools and churches and farms with 
luxurious houses on them and all the machin- 
ery of old States in working order. 

Elisha Fish was the first. He came in the 
spring of 1833, and settled in what is now Sec- 
tion 26. 

In the spring of 1834, Winslow Churchill, 
Jr., settled where Lombard now is. 

Jesse Atwater and John Talmadge came in 
1834, and it is probable that some other set- 
tlers came in during the same year, among 
whom were German settlers, spoken of under 
the head of Addison. Of these the Graue 
family who settled around Grane's Grove, close 
to the line of Addison, might be mentioned. 
In 1835, Jacob W. Fuller came to this settle- 
ment from Broome County, N. Y., and settled 
on what is now Section 27. He had five sons 
Benjamin, the oldest, Daniel, the third son, 
and Morell and Lewis; the two youngest came 
with him. The next year, 1836, George, the 
second son of Mr. Fuller, came and settled on 
Section 27, where he still lives. The youngest 
brothers, Morell and Lewis, also now live in 
York. Nicholas Torode, Sr., and Philander 
Torode came and settled in Section 24 in 1835, 
and John Bolander came about the same time, 



and settled a few miles to the north of themr 
Henry Reider came the same year. 

The next year, Nicholas Torode, Jr., Peter 
R., C. W. and David H. Torode, came to the 
place, all these from Mount Vernon, Ohio, and, 
Orientc Grant, from the Eastern States. Luther 
Morton, David Talmadge, Edward Eldredge 
and Sherman King, all came in 1836. The lat- 
ter built a saw-mill the next year in the south 
part of the present town, on Salt Creek. The 
same year (1837), a settlement was begun at 
what is now Elmhurst, by the arrival of John 
Glos, Sr., with two other German families, the 
fathers of whom had married his daughters. 
His son, John Gloss, Jr., who is now a resident 
of St. Charles, brought them to the place. 

About this time, the farmers had begun to 
raise something to sell. Chicago was their 
only market, and, insignificant as it then ap- 
peared, there were wholesale dealers there in 
wheat, pork, hides and every substantial kind 
of produce, and how to make the roads toler- 
able to transport them thither was the problem 
In this direction, the first thing to be done was 
to build a bridge over the Desplaines River, 
which was promptly done by the united efforts 
of the settlers of York and Milton. It was 
situated about where the present bridge at 
Maywood now is ; and, let it not be forgotten 
that the early settlers of Du Page County had 
the honor of first bridging this turbulent stream. 

The settlement thus begun, the next thing 
was to have preaching on Sundays. Without 
this consolation, their minds might wander, and 



YORK TOWNSHIP. 



247 



their thoughts vanish into mystery, like their 
vision, as they looked over the lonesome re- 
moteness of the green below, and the blue above 
losing themselves in each other's embrace in 
the dim distance of the prairies ! Besides, the 
Sunday exercises would help to keep the young 
hearts of the boys and girls from getting home- 
sick in thinking of youthful associations left 
behind ! The old folks had less need for diver- 
sion, for they had family cares ; but the young 
were looking forward to them with pleasing 
anticipations and felt the need of instruction. 

The Methodists appear to have understood 
this principle, and were generally the first to 
supply the demand. To this end. Rev. David 
Colson, an itinerant of this circuit, visited the 
place, and was invited to preach at the house 
of John Talmadge. The date of his first advent 
has not been preserved ; but it must have been 
as late or later than 1837, as the seats provided 
for the occasion were made of slabs sawed at 
Mr. King's mill, just spoken of. 

A schoolhouse was built in 1839, which was 
considered as essential a piece of machinery 
as the church, when everything has to be built 
new, and the timber taken from the stumps. 
Both go hand in hand, at least they did in the 
early day, for the schoolhouse then was always 
used on Sunday for a church, and this was, there- 
by affording relief to the then scanty private 
houses, where meetings were held. Miss C. 
Barnes taught school in this house, but she was 
not the first schoolma'am in the place. Miss 
Man- Fuller has that distinction. Her school 
was established in a private house, made vacant 
by the suicide of an eccentric man named Elias 
Brown. Yes, even in that primitive day there 
was one moody sentimentalist wrought up to 
the frenzy of self-destruction. He had come 
to the place alone, made a claim and built a 
comfortable cabin to receive his wife and chil- 
dren, who were to follow as soon as suitable 
preparation had been made to secure a home 
for them. 



Mr. Brown was a good worker and a zealous 
man in prayer meetings. Often held them at 
his lonesome cabin, which, though it lacked the 
magic touch of the female hand to give it an 
air of comfort, was nevertheless visited by the 
neighbors in goodly numbers to hear Mr. 
Brown's unctions prayers, as well as those of 
others. Brown called these meetings praying 
matches. Finally his face of nonchalance was 
missed in the neighborhood, and on going to 
his cabin to see what was the ' matter, he was 
found dead with the cup of laudanum on the 
table, from which he had taken the fatal 
draught to relieve himself from some incubus 
that had laid across his path, intolerable to him- 
self, but unknown to the world. His sons soon 
came to settle his small estate and returned. 
The more common diseases that afflict new set- 
tlements are fevers and chills, and in justice 
to this country it is fair to assume that 
the disease or the cause of it which terminated 
fatally in Mr. Brown's case was contracted in 
the East, through some social grievance not 
common to pioneer settlements. 

A small portion of Babcock's Grove lies in 
York, around which the Churchills and the Bab- 
cocks had settled in 1833 and 1834, but, from 
the most authentic accounts, their claims were 
almost, if not entirely, made within the present 
limits of Milton Township, and their history 
has been given under that head. 

In the spring of 1861, a copious spring of 
water burst out of the ground, with a concus- 
sion that made the ground tremble. It was 
near the house of Robert Reed. The spring 
empties into Salt Creek, about three miles 
above Mr. Graues' grist-mill. 

Walker's Grove, in the southwest part of 
York, occupies land enough to make a full 
section. John Walker settled here in 1835. 

The large grove in the southeast part of 
York, with one on its east line, a little to the 
north of it, would make at least four sections 
of land, which would, with the other groves, 



248 



HISTORY OF DU PAGE COUNTY. 



give one-sixth as the proportion of prairie to 
the timber in York. 

Sections 25, 35, 36 and the diagonal halves 
of Sections 24, 26 and 34 lie within the limits 
of the Indian boundary lines, and were sur- 
veyed at an early date and brought into market 
in June, 1835. 

It is impossible to give the dates of the early 
roads of the country. Most of them had their 
origin in a trail that marked the prairie by 
travel between the most prominent points 
known at the time. 

According to a map of Cook and Du Page 
Counties, drawn by James H. Rees, of Chicago, 
in 1850, a road passed through this township 
leading from Chicago to St. Charles ; another 
from a steam mill where May wood, on the Des- 
plaines, now is, to Warrenville, on the West Fork 
of the Du Page ; another from the house of H. 
Fischer, on Section 35, in Addison, to the saw- 
mill on Salt Creek, in Section 36, thence to 
Brush Hill ; and a short one leading from the 
intersection of the St. Charles road with Salt 
Creek down the stream to the Warrenville road, 
at the junction with which Eldridge Post Office 
is put down, Bingham's tavern on the St. 
Charles road, on Section 12, and Cottage Hill 
and Bates, on Section 2. These are all the 
roads and names on Mr. Rees' map of 1 850. 

The surface of the township is sufficiently 
rolling for good drainage, but not as uneven as 
some other townships in the county. 

The dairy business is a prominent interest in 
the township, but the raising of vegetables, es- 
pecially potatoes, for the Chicago market, is an 
increasing interest. 

York has nine school districts and 875 per- 
sons between the ages of six and twenty-one ; 
$23 is reported as the value of her school li- 
braries. 

The old saw-mill on Salt Creek was burnt 
down in 1848, and in 1852 a grist-mill was 
built in its place by Fred Graue, or Gray (to 
anglicize it), and W. Arche. It has recently 



been remodeled by Mr. Gray by putting in a 
Jonathan mill, with a capacity of 125 barrels 
superfine flour per day. It runs by steam and 
water power both. Mr. Gray was one of the 
I pioneer settlers of Addison, who came to the 
place in 1834. He has been, for the sake of 
convenience, compelled, though reluctantly, to 
change his name from its pure German (Graue) 
to Gray, on account of the faltering manner 
with which Americans write or attempt to 
spell it. 

DRAIN TILE AND BRICK WORKS. 

This establishment, owned by William Ham- 
merschmit, is situated a mile south of Lom- 
bard. It employs from ten to fifteen men, and 
turns out from 60,000 to 70,000 feet of from 
two to ten inches tile per month, with ma- 
chine capacity for turning out from 125,000 to 
150,000 feet per month. Capital invested, 
$11,000. The steam power is furnished by a 
25-horse-power engine. 

ELMHURST. 

This village or rather tavern stand, as it first 
was, went by the name of Hill Cottage, a mis- 
nomer one would say who came from a mount- 
ainous or even a hilly region, yet it was really 
a hill compared to any intervening lands be- 
tween it and Chicago, being 106 feet above the 
lake, the ground graduating upward all the 
way till the place is reached. 

Mr. J. L. Hovey came from Painesville, Ohio, 
here and opened a taven in 1843. His place 
soon presented attractions to the lonesome 
inhabitants of the prairie around in those 
days, and a request was made that he should 
petition for a post office at his tavern stand, 
which soon became the nucleus of a village. 

John Wentworth then represented the dis- 
trict in Congress, and to him the petition was 
sent. The Postmaster General objected to the 
name on the ground that already many names 
of post offices began with hill, and suggested a 
transposition of the name, making it Cottage 



YORK TOWNSHIP. 



349 



Hill instead of Hill Cottage. This satisfied 
the petitioners, and the village was " baptized " 
accordingly. Not long afterward, Dedrick 
Mong also opened a tavern, and soon afterward 
a general store, the first ever established at 
the place. It stood where the store now occu- 
pied by Henry A. Glos stands. 

The Chicago & North- Western Railroad came 
through the place in 1849, and Mr. Mong was 
employed by the company to tend the station. 

The place now began to increase in numbers, 
and another store was opened by Gerry Bates 
on the spot now occupied by the post office. 
Soon after this, wealthy men came from Chi- 
cago, and the building of those palatial resi- 
dences, for which the place is remarkable, was 
begun. These beautiful homes are now shadowed 
by an artificial forest of elm, maple, pine, 
cedar and other trees, surrounded by ramparts 
of arbor-vitse hedges, trimmed with linear pre- 
cision, and during the sultr}' days of midsum- 
mer these tree-clad recesses are as inviting as 
they are ornate. 

They are also glad retreats during the nip- 
ping blasts of winter, toning down its severity 
and taking off its keen edge. But their crown- 
ing glory is at flood-tide during the full moons 
of autumn, when the glitter of her rays mottles 
the ground with radiance beneath the foliage of 
the trees. These suburban delights cannot be 
purchased at any price in large cities, and the 
wonder is that more do not embrace the first 
opportunity to secure them. 

The railroad company named their station at 
the place after the name of the post office 
Cottage Hill, but this was changed to Elm- 
hurst, its present name, in 1869. 

The place has a good public school where 
both German and English are taught, but no 
pupil receives instruction in German till first 
taught to read and write English. Algebra and 
other high branches of scholastic education are 
also taught, besides the common routine of the 
institution. 



The town was platted May 25, 1854, by 
Anson Bates, situated on the east half of the 
northeast quarter of Section 2, Town 39, Range 
11. Its elevation above Lake Michigan is 106 
feet. 

COLLEGE AT ELMHURST. 

This institution is called the Elmhurst 
Troseminar of the German Evangelical Synod 
of North America. It was established by the 
German Evangelical Synod of the Northwest 
in 1869, and two years later was transferred to 
the Synod of North America upon the union of 
the two Synods in 1871. 

The Troseminar is a preparatory school for 
the Theological Seminary of Missouri, and, be- 
sides preparing theological students for said 
institute, it fits teachers for parochial schools 
of the denomination, and admits a limited 
number of pupils to a selected course. 

When the school was founded in 1869, the 
instructors and twelve pupils occupied the resi- 
dence which was on the property at the time of 
purchase. Two years later, a brick building 
was erected, 75x40, and three stories high. The 
number of pupils was increased threefold, and 
the growth of the institution was so rapid that 
five years afterward it was found necessary to 
build again. A handsome structure, costing 
$25,000 was then built, which proved no more 
than sufficient to contain the increased number 
that sought admittance, and since then the 
growth of the school has increased steadily. 

About 130 pupils can be accommodated, and 
all the modern conveniences known to the best 
architects have been adopted in the construc- 
tion of the recitation, study rooms and dormi- 
tories, and the methods of heating, lighting and 
ventilation were carefullly considered. 

In addition to the theological studies, there 
are a classical course and complete courses in 
the German and English languages. Music is 
not neglected ; all are trained in vocal music, 
and the theological students, as well as those 
who are preparing to teach, are taught to play 



850 



HISTORY OF DU PAGE COUNTY. 



on the organ and piano ; the teacher pupils, in 
addition, are instructed in playing the violin. 

The grounds cover about thirty acres, twenty 
acres of which are devoted to a garden, where 
the students find healthful and useful employ- 
ment. Except the cooking and laundry work, 
all the labor is performed by the pupils, who 
are thereby kept from idleness and mischief. 

The School Board consists of a sub-commit- 
tee called Overseers, who report to the Direct- 
ors, a committee who are responsible -to the 
Synod. The school has no endowment, depend- 
ing mainly on free-will offerings for mainte- 
nance. 

The Inspector, or President, in addition to 
the usual duties of such an office, exercises a 
general supervision over all the interests of the 
institution, for which he is personally responsi- 
ble. The present Inspector, Rev. P. Goebel, 
succeeded the late Rev. Philipp Meusch in 
1880. The remaining members of the Faculty 
are : J. Lueder, Professor of Latin, Greek and 
History ; W. J. A. Hogan, Professor in charge 
of the English Department ; H. Brodt, Profes- 
sor of German and Pedagogy ; F. Berchtold, 
Professor of Mathematics, Chemistry and 
Physics ; G. Rosche, Professor of Music. J. 
LUEDER. 

ST. PETER'S CHURCH. 

This belongs to the German Evangelical 
Synod of North America in Elmhurst, and was 
founded May 21, 1876. At this time the num- 
ber of pupils in the college had increased to 
an extent sufficient to warrant the building of 
a church, to enlarge the sphere of its useful- 
ness and turn its teachings in the minds of its 
pupils in a proper direction. The first mem- 
bers and founders of this church were those 



who were residents of Elmhurst but had previ- 
ously attended Immanuel Church at Addison. 
During the first year of its existence, the profes- 
sors in the college acted as pastors. Rev. Chris- 
tian Beck was the first ordained pastor, holding 
the position from April till October, 1877. Rev. 



Frederick Boeber succeeded him till March, 
1882, when Rev. Emil Keuchen, the present 
pastor took the charge. A parsonage and 
schoolhouse has been built adjoining the church, 
and a parochial school is taught under its pat- 
ronage. Fifty-four families constitute its mem- 
bership, the younger children of whom attend 
the school. 

BUSINESS REGISTER OF ELMHURST. 

Lumber, coal, grain, flour and feed, etc. 
Brownell & Strange. 

Dry goods and groceries (general store), 
Henry L. Glos, Charles Most, August Grave. 

Hardware and agricultural implements, 
Adam S. Glos. 

Hardware, stoves and tin shop, William 
Most, Carl Bauer. 

Blacksmiths and wagon-makers, Louis Bal- 
geman and Louis Rakow; William Geise, 
blacksmith; Henry Moeller, wagon-maker. 

Elmhurst Manufacturing Company, manu- 
facturer of patent spoke driver and wagon 
fixtures. 

Elmhurst Creamery, Arthur Robinson, les- 
see. 

Harness-maker and saddler, Peter A. Wolf. 

Boots and shoes and shoe-maker, Nick 
Peter; D. Benjamin Miche, shoe-maker. 

Butchers, Rudolph Kraemer, Edward Dul- 
berg. 

Tailors, John Barge, Henry Gehrke, Albert 
T. Schultz. 

Painters and paper hangers, Jacob Witten- 
burg, Frank Blau, Julius Heegard. 

Carpenters and joiners, Ernst Balgemann ] 
Henry Battermann, William Hanabeth, 
Baker, Arthur Silvers, Hermann Warnecke, 
Hermann Conrad, John Hahn. 

Masons, Henry Boettcher, Henry Morwitzer, 
William Weigrafe. 

Hotel and saloon, William Ohlerich. 

Saloons. Christian Blieveruicht, Franz Boed- 
er, Christian Bell. 



YORK TOWNSHIP. 



251 



Methodist Episcopal, Rev. J. A. Potter. 

Evangelical Lutheran, Rev. E. Kenchen. 

Roman Catholic, Rev. C. J. Neiderberger. 

Physicians and surgeons, F. J. T. Fischer, 
George F. Heidemann. 

Postmaster, Jacob Glos. 

Chicago & Northwestern Railway and Ameri- 
can Express, Albert S. Brownell, Agent. 

VILLAGE GOVERNMENT. 

Trustees, Henry L. Glos, George Sawin, Chris- 
tian Blievernicht, Peter A Wolf, Ernst Balge- 
mann, Henry Hohman, Sr. 

President, Henry L. Glos. 

Clerk, William H. Litchfield. 

Treasurer, George F. Heidemann. 

Street Commissioner, Henry C. Holman. 

EVANGELICAL SEMINARY AT ELMHURST, ILL. 

President, Rev. Peter Goebel. 
Professor, Rev. John Lueder. 
Professor of English, W. J. H. Hogan. 
Professor of Music, George F. Rosche. 
Teachers, H. Brodt, Fred Berchtold. 

CHURCHES. 

Trinity Church. This is located at York 
Center, and was organized in 1868, when the 
church was built. It was first a private school 
a branch of the Addison congregation. 

Rev. Theodore Martens was the first pastor, 
who was succeeded, in 1871, by Rev. C. A. T. 
Selle, Professor in the Addison Seminary, till 
1872, when Rev. G. T. H. Gotsch became pastor, 
who holds the position to the present time. 
Sixty families are connected with this church. 
It has a parish school, numbering about fifty 
scholars ; is connected with the church, in which 
German and English are taught. 

The York Center Metliodist Church was orga- 
nized in 1857. A church was built in 1859, 
and dedicated June 5, the same year. It num- 
bered about twenty-five members, at first com- 
posed of Americans only. The German Lu- 



therans bought a half interest in it in 1879, since 
which time the Germans have increased in 
numbers, while the Americans have diminished. 

The Catholic Church at Elmhurst. This was 
built in the year 1862, by Rev. P. Meinrad, a 
Benedictine Father, and about twelve Catholic 
families. 

In 1864, the Redemptorist Fathers attended 
this mission every second Sunday from Chicago 
until 1876, when Right Rev. Bishop Foley ele- 
vated it to a parish, appointing Rev. Charles 
Becker as the first stationary pastor. 

He was succeeded, in 1877, by Rev. M. Wolly, 
and, in 1 880, by the present pastor, Rev. C. J. 
Niederberger, who has, by his clerical bearing 
in the execution of his duties as pastor, wou 
the esteem not only of his own flock, but of the 
citizens of Elmhurst, who have verified this by 
their contributions to improve the grounds of 
the church and parsonage, with hedge rows and 
trees and flowers, nor did the friends of the 
church stop here. Two fine oil paintings, one 
on each side of the altar, have also been con- 
tributed by them. The subjects are the " Ma- 
dona and the Infant Jesus," which is on the 
left, and the other, " St. Joseph and the In- 
fant Jesus," which is on the right. They were 
painted by H. Kaiser, a pupil of the celebrated 
M. P. Von Deschwandore, of Switzerland. Pict- 
ures of the fourteen stations ornament the sides 
of the church, and the recess, in which is the 
altar, is tastefully adorned with sacred devices 
appropriate to the place, and well calculated to 
inspire the conscientious one who kneels be- 
fore it with good resolutions. The number of 
parishioners has now increased to sixty families, 
one-third of whom are Irish and the other Ger- 
man. 

LOMBARD. 

This is a pleasantly located village on the 
eastern boundary of Babcock's Grove, which 
name was first given to the place. Luther 
Morton and Winslow Churchill, Jr., made 
claims in 1834, where this village now stands, 



252 



HISTORY OF DU PAGE COUXTY. 



and built a log house. Mr. Morton bought his 
land of the Government when it came into 
market, and assigned his certificate to his 
brother, Nathaniel B., in 1843, who sold out to 
Reuben Mink in 1846, May 14, who in turn 
sold out to Josiah Lombard, in 1867, who 
changed the name to that which it now has. 

John Rumble came to the place in 1843, and 
Hiram Whittemore and Levi Ballou in 1846. 
J. B. Hull came to the place and built a house 
and store in 1848. He was also first Postmas- 
ter, and when the railroad came through the 
next year he was the station agent. Chauncey 
Harmon was section boss on the road. 

For many years previous to the completion 
of the railroad, Babcock's Grove enjoyed a wide 
reputation as a kind of center for a future vil- 
lage when the country should become sufficient- 
ly settled to require one. In 1851, there were 
five frame houses and one store at the place, 
besides the building owned by the railroad 
company, which was a depot and hotel and 
kept by Mr. Parsons. 

It was platted by J. S. Lombard and others 
April 28, 1868. Situated on parts of Sections 
5, 6, 7, 8, and 18, Township 39. Range 11. Its 
elevation above Lake Michigan is 127 feet. 

Daniel Shehan came to the place in 1848, 
and succeeded Mr. Hull as station agent, re- 
taining the post till it was occupied by the 
present agent. 

CHURCH HISTORY OF LOMBARD. 

The first church organization which made 
the village of Babcock's Grove (now Lombard) 
its center, was inaugurated on November 28, 
1851. Rev. E. E. Wells, agent of the "West- 
ern Home and Foreign Missionary Association," 
was present to give form to the enterprise. The 
following nine persons were the original mem- 
bers : Rev. Charles Boswell and wife, Mr. Will- 
iam Emerson and wife, Mr. Phineas Ames and 
wife (Mrs. Ames was a daughter of Mr. and 
Mrs. Emerson), Mrs. Pamela Filer, Mrs. Marga- 



ret Dodge (wife of Mr. Pardon Dodge) and Mr. 
Ebenezer Landers. 

The Congregational Church of Babcock's 
Grove, thus organized, stood firm and square, 
not only upon the ancient foundations, but also 
upon the live issues of the day. It opened its 
fellowship to "all who love our Lord Jesus 
Christ in sincerity, who have witnessed a good 
profession before men and practically honor 
their Master ;" but in welcoming to the Lord's 
Supper all such believers, it said also : " Per- 
sons engaged in the manufacture, sale or use of 
intoxicating liquors as a beverage, slaveholders 
and apologists for slavery are not included iu 
this invitation." 

For several years, the Sabbath worship and 
the Sabbath school, which was a year older than 
the church, were held in the village schoolhouse, 
a building about half-a-mile east of the present 
Lombard Station, and now used as the dwelling 
of Mr. D. Klussmeyer. 

In 1852, the little company was increased by 
the addition of Mr. and Mrs. William Neff and 
Mrs. Mary Miller (first wife of Mr. Thomas 
Miller). Rev. James McChesney and wife, Mr. 
and Mrs. Charles Mather and Mrs. Sarah E. 
Somers (a daughter of Mr. William Emerson) 
were added to it in February, 1855. In the 
same month, the church at Danby (now Pros- 
pect Park), which had been organized in Jan- 
uary, 1850, was dissolved, and of its members, 
Mr. Stephen Van Tassel and wife, Mr. Alfred 
Standish and wife, Mrs. R. Rudock, Mrs. Mar- 
tha Dean, Mrs. Fidelia Ober (wife of Mr. David 
Ober), Mrs. Mercy Churchill, Mrs. Cornelia 
Brooks and Mrs. H. Ackerman immediately 
joined the church of Babcock's Grove. 

In the autumn of 1856, the meetings began 
to be held in the Baptist Church at Du Page 
Center (now Stacy's Corners), in the township 
of Milton, that point being more central for 
the congregation as changed by the recent ad- 
ditions. The church, however, still kept as a 
preaching station its old place at " The Grove." 



YORK TOWNSHIP. 



253 



The body had become strong enough in 1860 
to consider the matter of " building meeting- 
houses at Danb}' and Babcock's Grove." A re- 
sult of this movement was the organization, in 
February of that year, of the " Congregational 
Society of Danby," for the purpose of erecting 
a building and caring for the financial affairs of 
the church. No corresponding work was ef- 
fected at Babcock's Grove. 

April 27, 1861, the church unanimously "re- 
solved that this church shall hereafter be 
known as the ' First Congregational Church of 
Danby,' and its regular place of worship shall 
be in that village." 

Of the church whose history is here dropped, 
Rev. Charles Boswell was the first pastor and 
clerk. He died, in the pastorate, in 1852 or 
1853. Kev. Harry Jones seems to have been 
a preacher here, as well as at Danby, in 1853. 
But Rev. James McChesney was pastor of the 
church during the greater part of its existence, 
remaining with it after its location at Danby. 
He acted also as Clerk, and the public is in- 
debted to him for the preservation of his faith- 
ful records of the early times. The first Deacon 
of the church was Mr. William Emerson, who 
held that office until his death, which occurred 
about 1856. 

From 1861 to 1866, no church organization 
existed in the village. The death or removal 
of early supporters and the confusions incident 
to the war conspired to prevent such work ; but 
preaching was sustained pretty regularly and 
the Sunday school was frequently in a vigorous 
condition. Among its early Superintendents 
were successively Rev. Mr. Boswell, Mr. W. Em- 
erson, Mr. Phineas Ames, Mr. Adam Hatfield, 
Mr. Seth Churchill, Mr. - Davis and various 
men who had acted as temporary preachers. 

In 1859, the schoolhouse now in use was 
built, and the congregation removed thither. 

In the autumn of 1864 since which time 
the writer has been familiar with the town his- 
tory and the succeeding winter, Rev. Mr. Wa- 



teman was Superintendent. J. T. Reade served 
from March, 1865, to the close of 1866. This 
brings the school inside the time when a more 
permanent church force began to be operant. 

During the years 1865-69, the population of 
the village was increased by the coming of 
many familes specially interested in Christian 
institutions and public-spirited in giving freely 
for their support. 

In the summer of 1866, Mr. (now Rev.) 
James Tompkins, then a student of Chicago 
Theological Seminary, had been preaching to 
the congregation for several months, the meet- 
ings being held in the schoolhouse. On the 
26th of July of that year was formed 

The First Church of Christ, Babcock's Grove, 
and on August 2, a council of the neighboring 
churches and clergymen met and gave it a 
brotherly recognition. Six denominations 
were represented in the original membership of 
fourteen. It was, as it is claimed to be, a 
Union Church of Evangelical Christians, and 
at first kept free from all ecclesiastical connec- 
tions. The persons thus allying themselves 
were : 

Joseph B. Hull and Fanny E., his wife; Isaac 
Claflinand Mary W., his wife; Josiah T. Reade 
and Christia (now deceased), his wife; Allen 
B. Wrisley and Lucy, his wife; Mrs. Clarissa 
Frisbie (now deceased); Mrs. Margaret A. Mil- 
ler (now deceased), second wife of Mr. Thomas 
Miller; Mrs. Emily Fish ; Miss Lydia M. Hull 
(now deceased); Miss M. Albina Harris (now 
Mrs. Frank Hull); and R. Franklin Claflin. 

The meetings continued to be held mostly in 
the schoolhouse. But, in about two years from 
its organization, the church having increased 
well in numbers and means, a beautiful chapel 
was erected on the lot at the northeast corner 
of Main and Maple streets, the spot now oc- 
cupied by the residence of Mrs. John Bracken. 
It was dedicated on December 3, 1868. This 
building was destroyed by an incendiary 
fire on the night of August 27, 1869. 



254 



HISTORY OF DU PAGE COUNTY. 



Up to this time the church property had been 
owned by the church itself, an incorporated 
body. Immediately after the loss of its edi- 
fice an " ecclesiastical society " was formed to 
manage financial affairs. This body thought 
best to change the church location, and there- 
fore built its new house on North Main street. 
This was used for worship till 1873. 

The pastors of this church were: Rev. James 
Tompkins, from its origin to May, 1869; Rev. 
Osmar W. Fay, from June, 1869. to November 
2, 1869; Rev. Henry T. Rose, from May, 1870, 
to October, 1871; and after this Rev. Josiah A. 
Mack, for a time not recorded exactly. The 
first Deacon of this church waa J. T. Reade, 
and Isaac Claflin was its first Clerk. 

The village, having been incorporated in 
186aas the "Town of Lombard," the church 
underwent a corresponding change of name. 

The First Congregational Church of Lom- 
bard was formed October 22, 1869, with thir- 
teen original members. With the exception of 
three, they came directly from the ' First 
Church of Christ," and were as follows: 

Nathaniel S. Gushing and Elizabeth B., his 
wife; Newton Chapin and Caroline B., his 
wife ; A. B. Chatfield and Emma L., his wife; 
J. Benson Valletta and Ruth M., his wife; Mrs. 
Margaret A. Miller (now deceased); Mrs. J. E. 
Ambrose; Miss Eva C. Cashing; Noah Shep- 
ardson; and Charles M. Lewis (now deceased). 

An ecclesiastical society to work in connec- 
tion with the church was also formed, and a 
church building was immediately commenced 
at the southwest corner of Main and Maple 
streets. It was dedicated May 29, 1870, and 
is still used as a place of worship. 

On January 20, 1870, a council of Congre- 
gational Churches and clergymen met and rec- 
ognized this church as a member of Congrega- 
tional sisterhood. 

Rev. 0. W. Fay, having closed his connec- 
tion with the older church, became pastor of 
this immediately upon its organization, and 



continued with it till 1872. The first Deacons 
were N. S. Gushing and Newton Chapin, and 
the first Clerk was J. B. Vallette. 

The First Church, Lombard. In 1873, the 
impolicy of sustaining two churches of the 
same general faith having been thoroughly dem- 
onstrated, the two were discontinued, by agree- 
ment, and on May 2 of that year, the present 
organization, bearing the above name, was 
formed. It is " Evangelical" in its creed, and 
Congregational in its polity, and belongs to 
Chicago Association. It occupies the " south 
side " church, having sold the other building. 

The church had no regular pastor until April, 
1874. Rev. Charles Caverno then commenced 
his work, in which he still continues. Nathan- 
iel S. Gushing and Allen B. Wrisley were the 
first Deacons. The first Clerk and Treasurer 
was William L. Rogers (now deceased). 

There are now eighty resident members. 
The financial affairs are cared for by an allied 
society of the usual form. Among the enter- 
prises that look hither for their inspiration is 
the church library, partly of religious, but 
mostly of general literature, numbering about 
eight hundred volumes, and now open to the 
general public. J. T. READE. 

BUSINESS MEN. 

I. Claflin, real estate. 

B. T. Teets & Sons, hardware. 
August Koerber, miller. 

C. Fabri, harness-maker. 
R. Grunwald, shoe-maker. 
P. Arnoldi, shoe-maker. 

A. B. Wrisley, soap manufacturer. 

W. Stuenkel, butter and cheese factory. He 
receives 6,000 pounds of milk daily and makes 
300 pounds of cheese; also 200 pounds of but- 
ter daily. 

A. E. and D. C. Hills, general store. 

A. E. Hills, general auctioneer. 

Gray & Malcomb, hardware and farm imple- 
ments. 



WIXFIELD TOWNSHIP. 



255 



L. Marquart & Bros., general store, feed and 
grain. 

John Q. Reber, grocer. 
E. M. Ackerman, butcher. 
John Fischer, blacksmith and wagon-maker. 
C. W. Oleson, physician and surgeon. 
Joseph Gregory, carpenter and builder. 
Richard Wells, ice cream and confectionery. 
Dave Frank, mason and contractor. 
Henry Assman, mason and contractor. 
Levi Castleman, painter. 



N. S. Gushing, retired. 

Martin Hogan, section boss, Chicago & North 
Western Railroad. 

John Patterson, station agent, Chicago & 
North- Western Railroad. 

Melvin Ballou, conductor, Chicago & North- 
Western Railroad. 

0. F. Long, engineer, Chicago & North- West- 
ern Railroad. 

M. C. Carroll, fine groceries, flour, etc. 



CHAPTER XIII. 



WINFIELD TOWNSHIP WARRENVILLE WATER CRESSES THEIR CONSEQUENCES NEWCOMERS 
AND DISTANT NEIGHBORS PARTIES AND RAISINGS RAILSPL1TTING FOURTH OF JULY 
THE SCHOOLGIRL'S HANDKERCHIEF THE OLD SAW-MILL THE HOTEL AND DANCING 
HALL WHAT WAS IN A TRUNK OF OLD PAPERS CHURCHES THE WARRENVILLE 
ACADEMY GARY'S MILLS METHODIST CHURCH AT THE PLACE A SHYLOCK MEM- 
BER EXCOMMUNICATED WINFIELD TURNER JUNCTION JOHN B. TURNER, 



AS we drink at the fountains of nature, 
how little do we know of her subterra- 
nean secrets. In arid deserts, and sometimes 
even in fruitful countries of considerable ex- 
tent, no living springs are found, but they 
occur along the banks of the Du Page River 
at many places, and in profusion at Warren- 
ville. Here they burst out of the ground un- 
tarnished with the tincture of lead or iron 
pipes the bane of water in all large cities 
and in their pebbly-bottomed rivulets a tangle 
of water-cresses overspreads their trickling 
courses to the river. It is said that where 
speckled trout are found in the streams of a 
country, no fever and ague exists there. This 
does not go to show that trout are an antidote to 
the ague. Nor is it claimed that water-cresses 
make pure water, but it is claimed that pure 
cold water makes water-cresses, the same as a 
healthful, well-drained counUy abounding in 
mountain torrents makes speckled trout. Both 
the trout and water-cresses are refined produc- 



tions in animal and vegetable life from the 
laboratory of nature, the handiwork of her 
geological composition whose formula is a 
sealed book to us. 

The delightful springs attracted the attention 
of the first settlers at what is now Warrenville 
and its vicinity, and the following are their 
names in the order in which they came : Eras- 
tus Gary, now living at Wheaton ; Jude P. 
Gary, who died in 1881 on his farm, and The- 
ron Parsons, all came in 1832 and made claims. 
Alvah Fowler and Col. J. M. Warren, both of 
whom now live in Warrenville, came and made 
claims in the spring of 1833. Ira Herrick and 
Jacob Galusha, neither now living, came the 
same year, and made claims near Warrenville. 
Israel Lord and Alfred Churchill both came to 
the vicinity and made claims in 1834. 

These were the true pioneers of what is now 
Winfield Township. To add to tkese names 
those who arrived soon afterward would multi- 
ply words without knowing where to stop, as 



256 



HISTORY OF DU PAGE COUNTY. 



so many settlers soon followed them. Daniel 
Warren, a native of Massachusetts, had settled 
at Naperville in 1833. His family consisted of 
a wife, whose maiden name was Nancy Morton, 
and the following children : Philinda H., who 
married Alvah Fowler, of Warrenville ; Louisa 
G., who married Frederick Bird, and then Silas 
E. Warren as her second husband ; Julius M. 
Warren, after whom Warrenville was named, 
and who now lives at the place ; Sally L., who 
married A. E. Carpenter, brother of Philo Car- 
penter, of Chicago ; Harriet N., who married 
C. B. Dodson, of Geneva ; Maria and Mary 
(twins), the former of whom married S. B. 
Cobb, of Chicago, and the latter Jerome Beech- 
er, of the same place ; and Jane, who married 
N. B. Curtis, of Peoria. 

In the spring of 1834, Alvah Fowler, together 
with a large number of adventurers, made a 
tourof discovery to the north up the Desplaines 
River. After leaving the present site of May- 
wood, no white settlers were found, but the am- 
ple groves on its banks were alive with Indians, 
whose wigwams seemed to be omnipresent. At 
Half Day's village, in the present county of 
Lake, were forty or fifty families housed in their 
rude huts, killing the hours after the time- 
honored custom of their race, whose wants are 
limited according to their disinclination to work. 
There was a large burj-ing-ground at the place, 
and a white flag flying over it as a sacred charm 
to honor the dead. 

To the north, there were no neighbors but 
the Meachams, the Dunklees, the Churchills and 
the Babcocks. At Brush Hill and at Downer's 
Grove, were settlements, and at Naperville, 
which was at their doors, comparative!}' speak- 
ing, and was the parent colony of all. To the 
west was the Fox River Valley, where clusters 
of houses had already been put up at Elgin, St. 
Charles, Geneva and Aurora, and near the pres- 
ent site of Batavia Mr. Dodson had a saw-mill 
on a western tributary of the river. All these 
settlements seemed like neighbors together. 



They visited each other at parties, and assisted 
each other at raisings. The latter was one of 
the olden-time institutions, now almost obsolete, 
but then in the heyday of its glory, and, while 
it served a practical purpose, it also toned up 
the social feeling and became the means by 
which distant neighbors could form a knowl- 
edge of each other's character and a measure of 
their merits on general principles. 

After Col. Warren had made his claim in 
1833, he returned to his native place, and the 
next year (1834) on coming back he found two 
new-comers. Grant Goodrich had come to the 
place and made a claim of 200 acres on the 
west side of the river, intending to make a 
farm. He hired sixteen acres of ground "broke," 
and in the programme took off his broadcloth 
coat, rolled up his sleeves and, with the assist- 
ance of Sidney Able, went to work at splitting 
rails to fence it. Here were two men, the one 
destined to become Judge of the Superior Court 
at Chicago and the other its Postmaster, maul- 
ing an iron wedge into an oak log by alternate 
strokes, not for amusement, but to make rails to 
fence in a corn-field. But these hours of labor 
were not without relief. Fourth of July came, 
and something must be done to leaven the vir- 
gin soil with patriotism, and Naperville was the 
"stamping ground " for all such gatherings. 

The morning came. There were no bells to 
ring They did not need any such stimuleut 
to set their patriotic blood to tingling in their 
veins. When the crowd had assembled, young 
Goodrich was honored with an invitation to 
read the Declaration of Independence, and he 
soon became the most conspicuous man in the 
crowd. The next thing was to get a copj*. 
Here was the fatal balk, for none could be 
found in all Naperville, and faces all round be- 
gan to look rueful, till a sweet little girl stepped 
forward and offered her pocket handkerchief, 
on which this immortal document was printed, 
justly proud of the service she had rendered 
to the convention. Young Henry B. Blodgett, 



WINFIELD TOWNSHIP. 



257 



the son of the stalwart blacksmith, now Judge 
of the court of the United States, at District in 
Chicago, then thirteen years old, sat near the 
honored elocutionist of the day, and paid 
strict attention to the words. Let us return to 
business. Col. Warren wanted to buy out the 
claim of Mr. Goodrich. He contemplated build- 
ing a saw-mill, and needed the land on both 
sides of the river whereupon to build his dam. 
Mr. Goodrich's hands were blistered splitting 
rails, and he was in a suitable frame of mind 
to sell. Col. Warren paid him 50 cents per 
hundred for the rails he had split, and a rea- 
sonable price for the breaking, and he quit- 
claimed to him. 

Col. Warren erected his house the same sea- 
son, hauling the lumber for it from Dodson's mill. 
This was the first frame house ever built at the 
place. His eldest sister kept house for him. 
The next year he built a saw-mill, and the place 
became a lively resort for mechanics, teamsters 
and farmers, as soon as the mill began to turn 
out lumber, a material so much needed in the 
country. A house was soon erected, where the 
strong men who rolled the logs to the saw car- 
riage with "cant-hooks " boarded, and in the 
upper story of it a room was finished off for a 
school, and here the lady who subsequently be- 
came Principal of the academy at the place, 
Mrs. Holmes, taught its first school. 

The next year, 1836, a schoolhouse was built 
by subscription. It is now remodeled into a 
private dwelling and occupied by Joseph Hud- 
son. A post office was established at the place 
in May, 1838, Col. Warren, Postmaster, who 
kept the office at his house. He is Postmaster 
at the present time. 

The same year, 1838, he built a fine hotel and 
spacious hall in it for dancing. It was pat- 
ronized by the elite of Chicago as well as 
Naperville and the Fox River towns, and here 
it was that John Wentworth made his debut 
into social circles, and the lady who first initiat- 
ed him into the graceful motions of the cotil- 



lion, still calls to mind the pleasing remin- 
iscence. No more refined and truly (esthetic 
circles than these dancing and private parties 
have ever graced the elegant drawing rooms of 
even Chicago since that eventful period. 

Their influence has elevated the aims in life 
of many a man and woman now in the best 
ranks of society, aud perhaps some of them 
in their twilight hour of life, in thinking of 
old scars in their hearts not yet quite healed 
over, can fix their dates in Col. Warren's old 
dancing hall. 

Amidst a trunk full of old Warrenville pa- 
pers from which scraps of history have been 
gathered by the writer, the following verses at- 
tracted his attention, and are here inserted to 
show the sentiment of the times. Their author 
is unknown. Perhaps he gave them to some 
inamorata who lost them and they fortunately 
found a place among these old musty records, 
to be rescued from oblivion in the pages of 
this book : 

" fly to the prairie, sweet maiden, with me, 
'Tis as green, and aa wild, and as wide as the sea, 
O'er its emerald bosom the summer winds glide, 
And waves the wild grass like the vanishing tide. 

" Let us hie to the chase, lovely maiden, away, 
And follow the fawns as they gambol and play, 
On the back of the courser so lithe and so fre, 
While circling and bounding o'er heather and lea. 

" The woodman delights in his trees and his shade, 
But the sun leaves no tinge of the cheeks of his maid 
His flowers are blighted, its colors are pale 
And weak is the breath when their perfumes exhale . 

" Soft zephyrs ere play in the prairie breeze, 
And furrow the grasses like waves of the seas, 
And waft o'er the landscape its sweets from the West. 
Aromas delicious, with fragrance possessed. 

" fly to the prairies, sweet maiden, with me, 
Each flower here dimples and blushes for thee, 

. And nightly the moon in her star-studded sky 
Twinkles love in her ray while the katydids cry. 

" There is nothing to cloy in the wilds of the West, 
Each day hath its pleasures where love is confessed, 
My cottage now empty is waiting for thee, 
Will you come to my bower and share it with me ?" 



258 



HISTORY OF DU PAGE COUNTY. 



The same cooling springs now lave the banks 
of the river that then did, and the same water- 
cresses bathe their roots in their pools. They 
might have had something to do with the fine 
sentiments that then lived and grew there. If 
so, their mission may not yet be ended. This 
we will leave to the future, while the progress 
of events is continued. 

The village of Warrenville was platted by" 
Julius M. Warren May 7, 1844. He was then 
a Representative of his district, and again in 
1850. 

Since the era of railroads, it has lost its 
equilibrium with other towns in the scale of 
progress ; but the end is not yet. 

That a brighter prospect will yet open before 
it seems certain, as the magnitude of Chicago 
will create a demand for its beautiful grounds for 
residences, and a way to reach them by railroad. 

The following is a list of the business men of 
the place : 

Cheese factory Consumes 8,000 pounds of 
milk ; makes 200 pounds of butter, and 500 
pounds of cheese daily. R. R. Barnard is pro- 
prietor. 

The Warrenville Grist and Merchant Mill 
was built by Smith & Fowler in 1847. 

It came into possession of Lamb & Co. in 
1857; was burnt August 11, 1879 ; was rebuilt, 
and commenced running in March, 1880. It 
is a full roller mill, using the celebrated Gratiot 
Conical Vertical Gradual Reduction Machine. 
Uses 500 bushels of wheat, and manufactures 
100 barrels of flour per day. Brands Peace- 
Maker and Reliable. 

Blacksmiths J. M. Hollister, J. W. Watson, 
George F. Ressequie. 

Merchants C. A. Bowen, J. D. Hawbecker. 

Boot and shoe-maker D. Stafford. 

Notary Public J. Hudson. 

Justice of the Peace A. T. Jones. 

House painter Henry Wyman. 

Carpenter L. V. Ressequie. 

Clergyman Rev. . Adams. 



WARRENVILLE ACADEMY. 

This institution, while in its prime, was to 
the country around what Oxford is to the En- 
glish Church to-day. The old building now 
stands a silent monument of its once beneficent 
mission. To the teachings within its walls 
many retrospections of youthful ambitious 
revert back with pleasing emotions from men 
and women now mature with life's experiences. 
Who can tell its history best ? thought I, whjle 
looking at the untrodden grass that has en- 
croached upon the threshold of its door. 

For the necessary information I wrote to its 
early Principal, and the following is her reply, 
together with her historical sketch, which is 
better than any other one could write, for who 
else could measure the value and rehearse the 
story and make it live again, at least in mem- 
or_y, as she has done it in her own unaffected 
style : 

" ROCKFORD, July 7, 1882. 

"MR. BLANCHARD : I send you a brief, and. 
I feel, quite imperfect, manuscript. It may, 
however, serve as the basis of a better article. 
I found it difficult to get statistics ; dates may 
not be correct. I wrote to some who were as- 
sociated with me during the years I was en- 
gaged there, but the answers were not satisfac- 
tory, so I have given you the best I have at 
hand. 

' You will see that I have not written this to 
be recognized as its author, only to give the 
facts in my possession as the groundwork of 
what you may say on the subject. 

" Yours very respectfully, 

" S. W. HOLMES. 

" In the settlement of every new country, one 
of the first objects of the settlers seems to be 
to organize some effective system of education. 
In Du Page County, Warrenville aimed to take 
the lead in that direction. As early as 1843- 
44, two schools were opened in Warrenville, 
one under the auspices of the Baptist denomi- 
nation with the design of founding a collegiate 



WINFIELD TOWNSHIP. 



259 



institution, the other under the supervision of 
Misses H. W. Bryant and S. Warren. Both 
these schools flourished for a time, and did 
good work, but both, for some reason, were 
given up. After that time, several teachers 
had commenced operations there, but had 
abandoned the project and gone into more 
promising fields of labor. In 1850, the good 
people of Warrenville and vicinity, aided by 
strong, earnest friends from Chicago, who were 
desirous of sending their children to some 
healthy country place to be educated, succeeded 
in raising an amount necessary for tire erection 
of a suitable building for the accommodation 
of a school. The institution was duly in- 
corporated by an act of Legislature, a Board 
of Directors was chosen, the financial and edu- 
cational charge was intrusted to Mrs. S. W. 
Holmes. The school was opened in September 
1851. Competent teachers were secured. Mrs. 
Holmes converted her own home into a board- 
ing-house for pupils from abroad. The patron- 
age was fair. The number of pupils taught in 
the school for the next four or five years was 
between one and two hundred each year. In 
1855-56, B. F. Taylor was engaged to take 
charge of the male department of the institu- 
tion, and a fine class of young men were sent 
out from Chicago to fit for college under his 
instruction. This measure promised well, but 
owing to Mr. Taylor's resignation, proved an 
unfortunate one for the material interests of 
the school. After some delay, a gentleman was 
found to supply Mr. Taylor's place, but the 
delay was fatal. Mrs. Holmes, although ably 
assisted by Mr. C. Howes and Miss M. C. 
Knight, feeling that it would be difficult to tide 
the school over the crisis, resigned her position. 
The Directors took the finances in charge, and 
the school passed into other hands. The fort- 
unes of the school for the next three or four 
years were fluctuating, when Mrs. Holmes was 
recalled, and, assisted by Mrs. M. V. Bull, 
again took charge of the institution. Mrs. 



Bull remained about two years, and was suc- 
ceeded by Miss M. C. Knight. Under their 
supervision, the school was .brought up to its 
former standard, but the demand for increased 
facilities were greater than the ladies in charge 
could supply, and the school was again aban- 
doned. During these many years, hundreds of 
pupils went out from this school to take their 
places in the active arena of life, with a broader 
outlook, with higher aims and nobler ambitions. 
The course of instruction they had received 
aimed to develop thought-power, to quicken 
mental activity, to rouse latent energy, and 
give the self-reliance necessary for the cumula- 
tive responsibilities that lay before them. So 
far as it accomplished this purpose, its brief 
existence became a moral force, whose power 
must be enduring. At the opening of the civil 
war, many students went out from that school 
and took their places in the ranks of the Union 
army. Ashley Carpenter, Joseph Monk and his 
brother Corelle, Ferdinand and Daniel Fowler, 
William Kay, Alvord Drullard were, within a few 
months, brought back and consigned to their 
final rest in the village cemetery. Dr. J. M. 
Woodworth, Gren. F. A. Starring and his brother, 
Capt. William Starring, followed the fortunes of 
the war to its close. Dr. Woodworth has since 
died at the post of duty in Washington. The 
mission and influence of this school may still 
be traced by the life-record of those who were 
its members, as every seed dropped in the fer- 
tile soil of the young heart germinates and 
bears fruit, ' it may be a hundred fold,' ac- 
cording to the strength of the germ and the 
favoring influence of its environments, so that 
the social and educational force which gave to 
Warrensville an impetus for a few years, may be 
repeated from new centers which trace their life- 
threads back to a starting-point in that village 
school." 

CHURCHES. 

Baptist Church. As early as 1834, steps 
were taken to organize a Baptist Church, so 



260 



HISTORY OF DU PAGE COUNTY. 



says the record, but in 1836 measures were 
taken to organize a society, and a church was 
established numbering sixteen members, Rev. 
L. B. King, pastor. He was succeeded by A. 
B. Hubbard, Joel Wheeler, A. J. Joslyn, P. 
Taylor, Joel Wheeler, S. F. Holt, Freeman and 
H. Wescott. The society first worshiped in a 
private house, and next in a schoolhouse, till 
this church was built, in 1857, which is a com- 
modious edifice, on a beautiful site, and im- 
parts to the town an air of propriety. Mrs. 
Alvah Fowler is now the only remaining one 
living of the original sixteen who formed this 
church. 

Methodist Episcopal Church. This denomi- 
nation has a fine church, eligibly located, at 
which regular preaching is sustained, and also 
a flourishing Sabbath school. Rev. J. R. Wei- 
burn is its present Pastor. 

GARY'S MILLS. 

Just above the southern line of Section 15 
in the present township of Winfield, the West 
Fork of the Du Page River presents unusual 
attractions. Its banks are firm on both sides, 
and graduate upward, without marshy inter- 
vals. The current of the river is active, and 
afforded a mill site of fair promise. There 
was then much valuable timber in the adjacent 
groves, and the three Gary brothers, Erastus, 
Jude and Charles, jointly erected a saw-mill at 
the place in 1837, which then gave a reasona- 
ble assurance of becoming the most important 
town in the county except Naperville. A post 
office was soon organized at the place, Charles 
Gary, Postmaster. A store was next estab- 
lished, kept by William Gary, the present 
banker in Wheaton. A schoolhouse was built 
which proved more permanent than anything 
else built there, as it is still standing and in 
use. The inevitable church organization came 
in with the rest, and this spot became the 
nucleus around which the Methodism of the 
immediate country first planted its principles 



into the soil, " to use a figure." It was under 
the charge of Rev. Washington Wilcox, who 
rode the Du Page Circuit (as this region was 
then called), and preached to the new congre- 
gation in the schoolhouse at Gary's Mills every 
fourth week. Erastus, Jude and Charles Gary, 
Warren L. and Jesse C. Wheaton, Hezekiah 
Holt and family, William Ainsworth, Peter B. 
Curtis and family, Nat. Brown, Mrs. Woodard 
and a few others were members. A black- 
smith shop next came in, where Mr. Foster, 
like others at the place, " struck while the iron 
was hot,",and Gary's Mills became a center at 
which covetous eyes looked with regret that 
they had not made early claims there. The 
old settlers of Turner Junction and Wheaton 
for several years received their letters there. 
It also became the place where camp-meetings 
were held, and the groves near by, which were 
then vocal with singing, are now solitudes. 

When this place was in the heyday of its 
glory, the church there may claim the honor of 
having first established a principle worthy of 
imitation. The case was this : One of its mem- 
bers, Nat. Brown, held a deed for forty acres 
of land near the place, ten acres of which he 
was justly bound, by the rules of Claim Socie- 
ties, to deed back to Mrs. Woodard, whose 
claim, before the surveys were made, covered 
the said ten acres. This he refused to do, and 
in this resolution he had the law on his side, 
but not the higher law of justice. The matter 
came before the church, and he still refused to 
relinquish the land. Here was a dilemma a 
i brother refusing to do an act of simple justice 
because the law did not compel him to do it. 
'Tis true, he might sometime repent of this sin, 
but repentance without restoration was but a 
skin-deep disguise, and if such repentance 
could not be verified by restitution when the 
land was worth but $3 per acre, as at pres- 
, ent, would it be likely to come with this 
i vouchsafe when the land had increased in 
value to five or ten times that amount, as 




DEI-TRICK GRAUE. 



L!BRHY 

OF THE 

UNIVERSITY OF ILLINOIS 



WINFIELD TOWNSHIP. 



263 



such men as the Wheatons, Garys, Curtises 
and Holts must have thought a probability ? 
Any expectation of a remote restitution was 
not to be thought of, and Mr Brown was ex- 
communicated by a clear vote of the church. 

The name of Gary's Mills is still familiar, 
though the mills, having executed their mis- 
sion, which was to saw into lumber all the use- 
ful timber near by, have been suffered to decay. 
The dam has gone with the floods, and the mill 
has been entirely demolished by the ravages of 
time, though the most of the private dwellings 
at the place still stand there, tenanted by till- 
ers of the soil. 

The West Fork of the Du Page passes through 
the eastern portion of Winfield Township. Its 
banks graduate upward in the form of rolling 
lands on both sides, beyond which are exten- 
sive lands sufficiently rolling for drainage, all 
of which are fertile and well suited to dairy 
business or the growth of cereals. 

There are eight schools in the township, in- 
cluding the graded school at Turner's Junction, 
and 782 persons between the ages of five and 
twenty -one years. 

TURNER JUNCTION. 

A brief biographical sketch of the gentle- 
man for whom this village was named cannot 
fail to be of interest to every reader, the more 
so on account of the high standard of integrity 
he ever maintained through a long and useful 
life: 

John B. Turner was born in Colchester, Del- 
aware Co., N. Y., January 14, 1799. His father 
died when he was two years of age ; his mother 
when he was fourteen. He was adopted by 
Mr. and Mrs. Powers at eleven years of age. 
Mr. Powers purchased a farm in Martin, Sar- 
atoga Co., N. Y., upon which he labored for 
nine years. In 1819, he married Miss Martha 
Volentine, formed a copartnership with Joshua 
Parmelee, who had married the twin sister of 
his bride. The}' successfully prosecuted the 



agricultural labors upon the Volentine farm for 
five years. In 1835, Mr. Turner embarked in 
railroad enterprise ; he first contracted to build 
seven miles of the Ransom & Saratoga Railroad. 
In the same year, he constructed a part of the 
New York & Erie Railroad. In this work he 
continued until the crisis of 1837, then he en- 
gaged in the work of building the Genesee 
Valley Canal. In 1841, he contracted to grade 
seven miles of the Troy & Schenectady Rail- 
road. In 1843, he came to Chicago, and in 
1847, was appointed Acting Director of the 
Galena < Chicago Union Railroad Company, 
which had been chartered in 1836. In 1848, he 
accompanied B. W. Raymond to New York, 
and by his previous experience in railroad 
building, and having examined the surveyed 
route of the Galena & Chicago Railroad, aided 
very much in the sale of the bonds and stock of 
the Galena & Chicago Railroad ; work com- 
menced March, 1848, and track laid to Free- 
port, 121 miles. In 1853, the Dixon Air Line 
was commenced, and the same year he organ- 
ized the Beloit & Madison Railroad Company. 
He resigned the Presidency of Galena, Chicago 
& Northwestern Railroad Company. In 1858, 
as a citizen of Chicago, he was not forgetful of 
her local prospects and interests ; was a Direc- 
tor in Boards of Water Commissioners ; organ- 
ized the North Side Horse Railroad Company. 
His wife, mother of his six children, died in 
1853. Two years after, he married Miss Ade- 
line Williams. Among the many whose names 
Chicago is proud to honor and perpetuate, none 
are more deserving than that of John B. Turner, 
with a record of more than seventy years, and 
a character unstained by the many corruptions 
of the present age. His declining years were 
spent amid the sunshine of life, sincerely 
mourned by his many friends, among whom 
he was universally respected and beloved. He 
died on the 26th day of February, 1871. 

Many years before it was supposed that a 
thriving village was to spring up here, the 



264 



HISTORY OF DU PAGE COUNTY. 



land on which it now stands had been taken up 
in claims by settlers expecting to make farms 
of it. 

The claim covering the present village was 
brought by Capt. Alonzo Harvey. Among the 
early residents at or near the place were James 
Conley, from Mount Morris, N. Y., who is still 
a citizen of the town. Sherman Winslow was 
his nearest neighbor to the east. Next in the 
same direction was George W. Easton. Job A. 
Smith, Thomas Brown and William Ribley 
were not far away in the same direction. 

South of him were Warren Towne and Will- 
iam Bailey, and north, John Barre. 

When the railroad came through the place 
in 1849, Michael McDonald came from Chicago 
and opened a general store, but subsequently 
sold out to his brother Joseph, who in turn 
sold the same to Joel Wiant in the spring of 
1857. The place at this date, says Mr. Wiant, 
consisted only of a post office, kept by C. D. 
Smith; a blacksmith shop, by Mr. Foster; a 
doctor's office and about two hundred inhabit- 
ants all told. 

James M. Dale was station agent. Mr. Con- 
ley, in 1848, bought eighty acres of land where 
the graded school now stands, for $3 per acre, 
which is now worth $10 a front foot in lots. 

Mr. A. Archer owned ninety-six acres near 
the center of the town. He did not like rail- 
roads, and refused either to give or even to sell 
the right of way through it, but would sell the 
whole tract for $530.00. The railroad company 
bought it ; a few years later it became worth 
from $200 to $300 per lot. 

The Galena & Chicago Union Railroad Com- 
pany platted the town, and recorded it Sep- 
tember 29, 1855. 

It is situated on the northwest quarter of 
Section 10, Township 39, Range 9, and its ele- 
vation above Lake Michigan is 182 feet. By 
the last census the village contained 1,125 in- 
habitants, having attained these numbers not 
by a spasmodic but a steady growth. 



The machine shops and other buildings of 
the Chicago & North- Western Railroad Com- 
pany consist of a freight-house, built in 1856; 
two water tanks, one built in 1862, the other in 
1865; round-house, built in 1864; rail mill and 
depot, both built in 1869; junction round- 
house and repairs shops, repairs engine tools 
and machinery; at rail mill, rails are cut, 
straightened, drilled and reslotted; twenty- 
horse power engine at round-house, and em- 
ploys thirty-two men; at rail mill, uses forty- 
horse power engine, and employs eleven men. 
Foreman of shop and rail mill, David Hanney. 

SCHOOLS OF TURNER JUNCTION. 

Its pioneer school was taught in a log house 
situated on property now owned by B. Carey. 
Miss Sarah Carter was its first teacher, but in 
1856 school was kept in a small building 
standing on the spot now occupied by the Con- 
gregational Church, when Miss Arvilla Currier 
taught. She is now the wife of Charles M. 
Clark, a well-known citizen of the place. The 
next year a two -story schoolhouse was built on 
North street, in the eastern part of the town, 
in which the school was continued for sixteen 
years. When the present building for the 
graded school was finished, which was in 1873, 
John Tye, William Ripley and Charles M. Clark 
were Directors, and also constituted the build- 
ing committee. The entire cost of the build- 
ing was $23,502.50. It contains four rooms 
being one for each department ; a recitation 
room, a library room and lecture room in the 
basement. 

The course of study includes only English 
branches, but classical and foreign languages 
are taught outside of the regular course. 

Miss H. F. Yakeley has been Principal for 
seven years. Miss Lizzie Davis, Miss Addie 
Everden, Miss Louisa Anthony and Miss 
Annie Lockwood are the names of the teachers. 

Under the charge of the Principal, the school 
has won distinction in the county for its good 



WINFIELD TOWNSHIP. 



265 



discipline. And here it is due to its credit to 
state that Mr. Clark, who has been Director 
ever since 1872, gives Miss Yakeley credit for 
managing the school with so much discretion 
as to leave him little care to distract his atten- 
tion from his daily routine of other responsi- 
bilities. It is also due to the credit of Miss 
Emma Davies, who formerlj' had charge of the 
Primary Department, to say that her system of 
training and gymnastic drilling of the little 
ones under her charge won the admiration of 
all who beheld it. The School Board of 
Rockford, who came to the place to witness it, 
pronounced hers the best drilled class in the 
State. 

A library of 300 volumes has been provided 
for the school, from the proceeds of its exhibi- 
tions. The average attendance is about 250, 
from an enrollment of 300. 

CHURCHES. 

Methodist Episcopal Church. " Just when the 
church at Turner was built the records do not 
show, but believed to have been during 1857 
and 1858. The parsonage was built some ten 
years later. 

" In all this work Charles Gary was a leading 
spirit. His house was a preaching place in 
1835. He was many years a class leader ; 
March 23, 1850, licensed to preach ; four years 
later, assistant preacher; and in 1861 ordained 
Deacon. To his long and faithful services, as 
much as to any other, is due the establishment 
of Turner Methodist Episcopal Church. 

" Most of the fathers have passed to their re- 
ward. As far as we can learn, onlv Erastus 
Gary and Edward D. Wheedon remain of those 
who composed the quarterly conference of the 
original Du Page Circuit. 

" Turner now stands in the front rank of vil- 
lage churches on Chicago District. During the 
last year, 123 different names were on her reg- 
ister, twenty-one were baptized and $198.58 
contributed for benevolent purposes." 



Rev. William H. Holmes is the present pas- 
tor of the church. He has recently written a 
"History of Early Methodism in Du Page 
County and Adjacent Territoiy," from which 
the above sketch has been copied verbatim. 

German M. E. Church. The Methodist Epis- 
copal Church of the Germans was organized in 
the spring of 1864 by about a dozen men. Rev. 
John G. Keller came from Aurora to preach 
; every Sunday, services being held in the Ger- 
man language at the Methodist Church already 
organized by the American portion of the 
community, where English services were 
i held. 

The name of the present pastor is Jacob 
Shafer, who resides also in Aurora, and preaches 
once in two weeks in the German language to 
this church, in the house owned by their Amer- 
ican brethren. 

German Evangelical Church. The German 
Evangelical Protestant Church was established 
in the summer of 1870, and the church edifice 
finished the same year. Mr. John M. Paessler 
was appointed on the building committee, in 
connection with Rev. Julius Schumm. 

Mr. Schumm was pastor nearly two years 
when he was succeeded by Rev. Gustave Koch. 
He was succeeded by Rev. Jacob Furrer, who 
remained nearly two years, when the pulpit was 
supplied for about a year by theological stu- 
dents from the Melancthon College in Elm hurst. 
Rev. Fredrick Boeber was the next ordained 
pastor, who remained about a year. Rev. Hen- 
rich Wolf came next, and remained about three 
years, and was succeeded by Rev. William Hat- 
tendorf, the present pastor. 

The church is out of debt and in a flourish- 
ing situation. 

A parsonage was built in 1881 and a German 
school in attachment to it. The school is taught 
by the minister. 

Congregational Church. On May 17, 1856, 
this church was organized with the following 
members : Dr. J. McConnell, John L. Haga- 



266 



HISTORY OF ])U PAGE COUNTY. 



done, Margaret Hagadone, Mary Town. Rev. 
Lot Church as pastor, assisted by the Rev. Mr. 
Watkins from Vermont, adopting the Constitu- 
tion, Discipline and Articles of Faith of the 
Fox River Union, Dr. J. McConnell and J. L. 
Hagadone its first Deacons. The next minister 
called was Rev. Mr. Champlin, who preached 
off and on until the church was re-organized 
March 30, 1867, finding at that time only 
seven members remaining, and all of them 
females. A meeting was called by the Rev. J. 
E. Roy, who was then acting as Home Mission- 
ary, for the purpose of organizing and building 
a church on the lot given by J. B. Turner, 
where the present church remains at present, 
with the following members : W. J. Wilson, 
Mrs. H. M. Nelson, Mr. Esbon Morrill and wife, 
Mrs. Charlotte Delton, Dr. H. C. French, Msr. 
Julia A. French, making in all fourteen mem- 
bers. Steps were then taken to build a house 
of worship, Rev. J. E. Roy supplying the pul- 
pit, preaching in the Methodist Episcopal 
Church until the church was built, which was 
dedicated March 8, 1868, out of debt. Rev. J. 
D. Davis was called from the Chicago Semi- 
nary, who preached six months during vaca- 
tion (was then a student), after which Rev. I. 

B. Smith was called, and preached about two 
years. The Rev. A. R. Thain was called, and 
preached three years. Rev. Mr. Fox was the 
next pastor, who preached one year. After 
that, the Rev. H. M. Skeels was called, and 
preached five years. The present pastor is 
Rev. E. L. Hill. The church has a member- 
ship of eighty members, with the present offi- 
cers, T. Brown, C. K. Sanders and E. Boynton, 
Trustees ; Watson and Manvill, Deacons ; W. 
J. Wilson. Clerk, with a large Sunday school of 
over one hundred members, with a good libra- 
ry, and the following officers : W. J. Wilson, 
Superintendent ; R. T. Robinson, Assistant ; 
T. Evendon, Librarian ; J. Grove, Clerk ; Mrs. 

C. K. Sanders, Treasurer. W. J. WILSON, 
Church Clerk. 



CATHOLIC CHURCH. 

Services are held once in two weeks by Rev. 
Dominick Spellman, who resides at Aurora. 

LODGES. 

Amity Lodge No. 472, A., F. & A. M., was 
chartered October 3, A. D. 1866, A. L. 5866. 

Charter Members : John H. Lakey, Joseph 
McConnell, Richard W. Bushnell, Joel Wiant, 
H. H. Ketcham, John McWilliams, John Tye, 
F. F. Loveland, J. Newbarger, William Ripley. 
Jr., M. Fessler, A. H. Wiant, G. McAuley and 
Thomas Wiant. The following brethren were 
installed as the officers at that time. John H. 
Lakey, W. M.; Joseph McConnell, S. W.; Rich- 
ard W. Bushnell, J. W. 

After changing places of meeting several 
times, this lodge finally secured a nicely-fitted 
and well-adorned hall in Casper Voll's brick 
block, which was subsequently destroyed by 
fire, the lodge losing everything, but were 
happily insured for money enough to enable 
them to furnish another hall on a more limited 
scale, but comfortable and convenient, with all 
the requisite appurtenances. The present offi- 
cers are G. M. D. Gregory, W. M.; James T. 
Hosford, S. W.; Robert T. Robertson, J. W.; 
Lyman C. Clark, Chaplain ; Henry Bradley, 
Treasurer ; William P. Reed, Secretary ; John 
McWilliams, S. D.; Joseph A. Norris, J. D.; 
George Gary, S. S.; James Funston, J. S.; Ed- 
ward Morgan, Tiler. 

LIST OF BUSINESS MEN AND HOUSES. 

Thomas Hosford, Mayor. 
John C. Neltner, general store. 
Wiant & Stevens, general store. 
J. E. West, general store. 
Reed & Stark, general store. 
Charles Norris, furniture. 
0. C. Woodworth, groceries. 
Prof. Grossman, groceries. 
T. V. Otis, hardware and tin. 
C. W. Gary, hardware and tin. 



WINFIELD TOWNSHIP. 



267 



Mrs. George Briggs, restaurant. 

Clinton Neltner, restaurant and bakery. 

Thomas Barfield, restaurant. 

Mrs. P. Coart, milliner and dressmaking. 

Miss S. Dempsey, milliner and dressmaking. 

L. Renspergher, shoemaker. 

Charles J. Schlupp, shoemaker. 

Joseph Schalz, shoemaker. 

Frederick Thoro, saloon. 

Crist Wahl, saloon. 

Mrs. Hahn, saloon. 

Frank Whitton, butcher. 

Charles Gorham, stock-buyer. 

Abram Pierson, stock-buyer. 

Weger & Bradly, grain and stock-buyers. 

Benjamin Howarth, livery and sale stable. 

John Sargent, livery and sale stable. 

John E. Standize, farm machinery, etc. 

Charles Clark, lumber, coal, lime, salt, etc. 

Frederick Weger, jeweler. 

Henry Boyer, barber. 

Joseph Brown, barber. 

William Ripley, hotel. 

David Springer, hotel. 

Benjamin Whitmarsh, boarding house. 

E. T. Wilcox, physician and surgeon. 

A. C. Cotton, physician and surgeon. 

G. L. Madison, physician and surgeon. 

E. L. Hill, Congregational pastor. 
W. H. Holmes, Methodist pastor. 
William Hottendorf, German Evangelical 

Church pastor. 

Father Dominick Spellman, Catholic priest. 
Conrad Jaeger, blacksmith. 
Charles Jourdon, blacksmith. 

F. A. Elsemis, wagon-maker. 
Herain Vergil, carpenter and joiner. 
Albert Hills, carpenter and joiner. 
John Norris & Son, carpenter and joiner. 
Robert Norris, carpenter and joiner. 
Augustus Norris, carpenter and joiner. 
Henry Keller, carpenter and joiner. 
Anthony Deitch, carpenter and joiner. 
Anthony Gertz, carpenter and joiner. 



James Fisk, carpenter and joiner. 

M. Kipp, carpenter and joiner. 

Nelson H. Lyon, painter and glazier. 

William Foster, painter and glazier. 

Crist Wahl, Jr., painter and glazier. 

John Groves, painter and glazier. 

Charles Goodin, painter and glazier. 

John C. Neltnor, nurseryman, etc. 

D. Wilson, glove and mitten manufacturer. 

Andrew Murphy, stone and brick mason. 

John S. Barber, stone and brick mason. 

Frank Donehoe, stone and brick mason. 

John Almindinger, stone and brick mason. 

Dr. W. J. Wilson, general insurance agent. 

L. C. Clark, life insurance agent. 

Albert Wiant, Government gauger. 

L. H. Manville, mail agent. 

John E. West, music teacher, etc. 

James Lenwyck, railroad blacksmith. 

Thomas McGraw, railroad blacksmith. 

S. P. Tillotson, railroad carpenter. 

M. A. Reiser, boiler-maker. 

Robert Robertson, machinist. 

John Maiden, machinist. 

John Neibergher, machinist. 

Capt. D. Hull, machinist. 

Cheese factory, 5,000 pounds of milk re- 
ceived daily; 400 pounds of cheese and 150 
pounds of butter made daily. John Newman, 
proprietor. 

TURNER RESIDENTS DOING BUSINESS IN CHI- 
CAGO. 

Albert Wiant, Government gauger. 

L. H. Manville, mail agent. 

L. C. Clark, life insurance agent. 

Clarence Bradly. clerk. 

Henry Boyer, Jr., clerk. 

D. Ahern, salesman. 

John Me Williams, salesman. 

Dr. A. Colton, physician, etc. 

John E. West, music teacher. 

N. Allen. 

C. K. Saunders. 



HISTORY OF DU PAGE COUNTY. 



PUBLICATIONS. 

The Fruit and Flower Grower and Vegetable 
Gardener, published quarterly, three numbers 
in one, by John C. Neltner, Turner Junction, 
111. 

Turner Junction News, published weekly, by 
J. Russell Smith. 

WINPIELD. 

This town grew up as a station on the old 
Galena & Chicago Union Railroad, which 
passed through the place in 1849, and John 
Hodges was the first station agent. A store 
was soon after opened at the place, by Andrew 
Vandusen, who also kept a tavern. January 
25, 1853, a plat of the village, made by James 
P. Doe, was recorded as the village of Frede- 
ricksburg, situate upon Sections 12 and 13, 
Town 39, Range 9. The present depot was 
built in 1854, at which time there was an ex- 
tensive brewery at the place, and a lumber 
yard the latter kept by John Collins. p Much 
freight at that time came to and from the place, 
to and from Naperville, it being their nearest 
railroad point. Gilbert S. Higgins is the pres- 
ent Postmaster ; Adalbert Jewell, station agent, 
and the following are the names of the present 
business firms, etc. : 

General stores, George Fehrman & Son ; M. 
Hills. 



Tavern, John Casper. 

Insurance agent and Notary Public, Jacob 
Miller. 

Tailor, Nicholas Berker. 

Blacksmith, Henry Hamschmidt. 

Carpenter, William Hastert. 

Wagon-maker, Valentine Weinrich. 

Boot and shoe-maker, Anton Schmitt. 

Winfield Creamery, consumes 6,000 pounds 
of milk, manufactures 120 pounds of butter and 
425 pounds of cheese daily on an average. 

Parish priest, Rev. John Wiedenhold. 

Church of ISt John the Baptist. This church 
was built in 1867 by the people of Winfield. It 
was first attended to by one of the Benedictine 
Fathers, from St. Joseph's Church, Chicago, 
until 1869, March 1. After this date, Rev. 
Father John Wiederhold was appointed as pas- 
tor of this church, who keeps the pulpit there 
up to this time. The parish numbered, at its 
beginning, about thirty families, but at present 
the number is about eighty-five. In course of 
time, the church, being only 45x30 feet long and 
twenty-seven feet high, became too small for the 
still growing congregation, and in 1879 they 
found it necessary to enlarge the church to the 
extension of 100 feet. In February, 1880, it 
was completed, and duly blessed on the 2d of 
that month by Very Rev. J. McMullen. 



CHAPTER XIV. 



WAYNE TOWNSHIP PIONEER LIFE OF ITS SETTLERS CORNER ON WHISKY AND ITS RESULT- 
INDIAN BUKIAL INDIAN IMPORTUNITY WOLVES ON THE RAMPAGE GOING TO 
MILL FATHER KIMBALL PIONEER SCHOOL GIMLETVILLE ITS HOPES 
DASHED TO THE GROUND HILLOCKS, SPAS AND RIVULETS 
WAYNE STATION RELICS OF THE STONE AGE. 



THREE years before the battle of Tippe- 
canoe was fought by Gen. Harrison, Rob- 
ert Y. Benjamin was born. His father, Daniel 
Benjamin was a brave old pioneer who had set- 
tled on the north side of the Little Scioto Riv- 
er, in Ohio, opposite where Columbus now is, 



and here was the place, then amidst Indian 
alarms and the rough-and-tumble conditions of 
border life, where he raised his family, one of 
whom, Robert Y., is now a citizen of Wayne- 
the first who came to the place and settled in 
mind and body still sound, and seventy -four. 



WAYNE TOWNSHIP. 



269 



Daniel Benjamin, the father, with his four sons 
Andrew, John Joseph and Robert Y. and 
about ten other families, all came to the place 
together with their own teams, from Ohio, ar- 
riving at what is now Wayne on the 12th of 
May, 1834. All these families, except the 
Benjamins and Joseph Vale, whose family was 
one of the party, settled on the Fox River. 
But Robert Y. was attracted to the place where 
he still lives by the famous spring that gushes 
out of the ground from beneath the shadow of 
the beautiful grove at the place, and there he 
set down his stakes ; moreover, he says his wife 
was tired of traveling and liked the location. 
This is a point in favor of female counsel, 
and poorer ones have been made in favor of 
female suffrage, for Mr. Benjamin and his wife 
made a success of their attempt. 

The rest of the family settled not far distant, 
on claims from nature's amplitude of prairie 
and grove as free as it was inviting. Besides 
the Benjamin's Mr. Vale also settled, a little to 
the west of them. Among the necessities which 
he brought to the new country in his wagon 
was a barrel of whisky (a questionable one) of 
which Mr. Benjamin says lie never gave away a 
drop. He was the only one of the company 
who laid in a stock of this emollient, and may 
be regarded as the first monopolist that ever j 
practiced that modern art in Wayne. Here he 
he had a corner on whisky, and shortly after the 
settlement of the place, a band of 300 Pottawat- 
omies came to the grove and encamped. He 
was now bull in the whisky market, having it 
all his own way. At whatever price he sold it, 
Mr. Banjamin says, a riot among the Indians 
was soon manifest, and one of their number 
was killed. 

Next came the interment of the fallen sav- 
age. He was dressed up in his best blanket 
and leggings, and placed in a, sitting position on j 
the ground, his body erect, his head upright 
and ornate with feathers. Thus tableaued his 
friends cut some saplings from the grove and 



built a pen around him, cob house fashion, and 
left him provided with a bow and arrow, and 
an extra pair of leggings for future use in the 
happy hunting grounds. His frail tomb was on 
Mr. Benjamin's land and was frequently visited 
by him out of curiosity. He did not disturb 
the corpse 

" In the grave where an Indian had laid him," 

but the prairie wolves had no respect for In- 
dian rites, and soon pressed between the poles 
that illy protected his clay, and made many a 
late supper from it under cover of night. Sub- 
sequently the Vale boys set the skull up for a 
target to shoot at. The wolves carried away 
the rest of the bones to their lair for Christmas 
toys for their young whelps to play with. 

" Alas, poor Yorick !" 

Mr. Giles Billings and John Laughlin came 
to the settlement the following autumn, and 
soon after him John Rinehardt, Mr. Simpson 
and Patrick Scott. The next year, 1835, an 
officer appeared at Mr. Benjamin's house ; he 
was from an obscure town in the east, named 
Chicago, the same slab city through which Mr. 
Benjamin had passed the year before, and had 
then failed to attract his favorable notice, but 
now the place was coming up in the scale. A 
grand jury was to be impaneled there, and Mr. 
Benjamin was wanted to sit as one of its mem- 
bers. The officer served the summons, mount- 
ed his horse and vanished in the tall prairie 
grass, and Mr. Benjamin set about getting 
ready to obey the call. The next morning he 
started on foot, keeping his course clue east by 
the compass. The soil was spongy, and noon 
found him toiling through the trackless flats 
that border the east margin of Salt Creek. He 
was hungry, but relief soon came. It was roast 
potatoes and a cup of tea, on which he dined at 
the hospitable home of Maj. Giles, who lived 
two miles west of the Desplaines River, with 
his latch string always hanging on the outside 
of the door. This was the only house on his 
waj- to Chicago, along what was then known 



270 



HISTORY OF DU PAGE COUNTY. 



as the St. Charles trail. On Mr. Benjamin's 
return he took the precaution to fill his pockets 
with ginger snaps or some other kinds of bak- 
ery delectables, which Chicago had then begun 
to make for Indian traffic or hungry footmen, 
who had long stretches of prairie marsh to 
cross. 

Of other settlers whose pioneer experiences 
represented the times, were the families of Solo- 
mon Dunham and Edmund Bartlett. 

Both were from the State of New York, and 
both arrived at Chicago in company with each 
other, on the 24th of March, 1835, in their own 
teams all the waj*. Here they rented a small 
house on Randolph street, not far from the 
store of Mr. Dale, the pioneer store-keeper of 
Chicago. The house was a log cabin, with but 
one room, over which was a loft, reached by a 
ladder through an aperture in its loosely laid 
floor. Into this cabin, the two families were 
crowded as a temporary abode, while the two 
heads of them Mr. Dunham and Mr. Bartlett 
started with the team westward to hunt up a 
location on which to settle. 

Mrs. Dunham had two children, and Mrs. 
Bartlett six, making, with themselves, ten in 
the family after their husbands had started on 
their mission. The two men threaded their 
winding way around the sloughs till they reached 
the fertile prairies on the fringe of the timber 
that skirts the eastern banks of Fox River, just 
west of the present site of Wayne Station, and 
here they each bought claims to lands. Mr. 
Bartlett still lives on the same now ; but Mr. 
Dunham died in 1865. Having set their stakes 
here, the two pioneers returned to their families 
in Chicago ; paid up the rent of their wretched 
tenement ($1.25 for the ten days they had 
occupied it), and all started together for their 
new homes. On arriving there, the first thing 
to be done was to build a house, and, of course, 
a log house, for they had neither means nor 
material to build a frame ; and Mrs. Bartlett 
says the one she and her famil}- lived in was 



! very small. The bed was in one corner, and 
the fire-place in one end, with the chimney out- 
side, and yet she sometimes played the hostess 
to travelers overnight, who managed to find a 
spot on the floor not occupied by truudle beds, 
on which they could stretch out full length, 
with perhaps a horse saddle for a pillow, or 
some other makeshift. 

The first year they raised nothing, and Mr. 
Bartlett was obliged to go to Chicago with his 
team for provisions, a trip which required three 
days' time. While thus left alone, except with 
the children, one night an Indian came to her 

i door, entered without knocking, according to 
their custom, and threw his baggage down in 
one corner of the room, " Me stay all night ! 
Me good Indian ! Me no hurt you !" said 
the red intruder, and all her entreaties could 
not dissuade him from his purpose. Mrs. Bart- 
lett had to accept the situation, and laid down 
on her bed, while her red guest snoozed himself 
to sleep, not ten feet away from her. 

He was a good Indian who wanted a night's 
rest, and why should he sleep outdoors when 
there was a house to sleep in, reasoned the hon- 
est child of nature ; and let us be charitable 
enough toward him to believe that had he un- 
derstood the improprieties of his demands as 
civilians do, he would not have insisted on 
lodging in the house when a woman was alone 
in it. On another occasion, when Mrs. Bartlett 
was also alone, a young red rascal came rush- 

; ing into her cabin, crying out, " Bad Indian 
coming ! Kill ! " and immediately fled into the 
adjacent grove. Sure enough there were five 
Indians rapidly approaching her house, on the 
well-frequented Indian trail that passed it, as 
hard as they could gallop on their ponies. On 
arriving, they could easily see that she was ter- 
rified at their presence, and the tirst thing they 
did was to allay her fears by pulling off some 
of their trinkets and giving them to her chil- 
dren, and otherwise exhibiting tokens of kind- 
: ness. This done, they inquired for the first 



WAYNE TOWNSHIP. 



271 



Indian who had visited her, and she told them 
the course he had taken, and that he had called 
them bad Indians. At this they laughed heart- 
ily, and informed her that they were following 
him to get a pony he had stolen. They then 
left in hot pursuit of the fugitive. Sometimes 
large numbers of Indians would encamp near 
the house and remain a day or two, but never 
did any harm, except to sometimes take what 
salt they wanted to eat wherever they could 
find it ; but to do them justice, Mrs. Bartlett 
sa,ys that if they ever took any they soon 
brought its equivalent in value in fish caught 
from the Fox Kiver or venison shot from the 
groves, and many a quarter of this delicious 
meat did the Indians present her family. The 
Indians were very fond of Mrs. Bartlett's bread, 
and one day, seeing two loaves of it on her 
table, took one of them, and gave her a butcher 
knife in return, saying at the same time, " Me 
got two knives, you got two loaves. Me give 
you one knife and take one loaf." She found 
the knife very useful, and kept it many years. 
Mrs. Bartlett said nothing against the Indians, 
but felt glad when they were removed. The 
country was alive with wolves for the first 
few years, and they continually came howling 
around the house like thieving dogs after 
bones, and it was no unusual thing for them 
to come to her door at night and quarrel 
together over bacon rinds or other food" thrown 
out. 

The early settlers here took their first corn to 
mill at Bailey Hobson's grist-mill, near Naper- 
ville, usually carrying it in a bag slung across 
the back of a horse. 

It was a lonesome way, and the wolves often 
followed the horse and rider all the way home, 
if late in the evening ; and sometimes, if they 
came too close, the rider took out one of the 
stirrups of the saddle to defend himself with 
in case of an attack, which weapon would be 
quite effective for close quarters, the iron stir- 
rup with the. straps attached to it working like 



a slung-shot. On one occasion, one of the early 
settlers, late in the afternoon, while returning 
from some distant place with his horses and 
wagon, was followed by a pack of these hungry 
prowlers, who actually tried to leap into the 
hind end of his wagon, and might have done it 
had he not repelled their charge with his whip. 
There are yet a few of these animals sneaking 
about in the groves adjacent, and six of them 
were killed in 1881. 

In the spring succeeding the first winter 
spent at this new settlement, there was a great 
want of potatoes, and one of the settlers was 
sent with a team to the Wabash River in Indi- 
ana, to get seed to plant, which was the nearest 
place where they could be bought. During 
their first year at the place, they had been de- 
prived of this healthful esculent, and when 
they finally got a supply, no table delicacy 
could be more delicious. Daniel and Mark 
Dunham, both now well-known residents of the 
vicinity, are sons of Solomon Dunham, who 
came with Mr. Bartlett, but, as before stated, 
Mr. Solomon Dunham is not living, and Mr. 
Bartlett, though living, feels the effect of eighty- 
one years, and has forgotten much of his long 
and eventful life, but his wife is in the full vigor 
of her mental and physical powers, though the 
mother of ten children, and a monument of the 
health-giving air of Du Page County, and to 
her is the writer indebted for the foregoing 
pioneer reminiscences. Ira Albro, a present 
resident of Wayne, came to where he now lives 
in the autumn succeeding the arrival of Mr. 
Dunham and Mr. Bartlett, and shared the laud- 
able ambitions with the toils of pioneer life 
with the peers of his age. 

Samuel Brand, Mr. Styles, Mr. Whaples 
(father of Mrs. F. Hull, of Wheaton), Daniel 
Roundy (uncle of Capt. Roundy, of Winfield), 
Samuel Tahnadge, the Whittacres, the Ker- 
shaws, Mr. Hemingway, W. Hammond, Ezra 
Gilbert, J. V. King, Charles and Wesley Gray, 
Reuben Walpole, Joseph Davis, W. Farnsworth, 



272 



HISTORY OF DU PAGE COUNTY. 



Joseph McMillen (who established the first post 
office at the place at McMilleu's Grove, Daniel 
Lyra an, John Smith (father of Mrs. Colvin, of 
Wheaton), Luther F. Sanderson, Horace Heed, 
Aaron Wood, James McCabe, Mr. Hilling 
(who subsequently died of cholera at St. 
Charles), Orin Higgins, Thomas Morgan, Lu- 
ther Pierce, JoeJ Wiant and James Davis all 
came to the settlement between the years 1 835 
and 1837. 

In the latter part of 1837, William Kimball, 
a native of Vermont, came to the place. He 
was a Methodist class leader and preacher " to 
the manner born," and here was a field for his 
clerical learning. He built a log cabin for a 
family domicile ; but, in default of any other 
place for divine worship, it became also a rally- 
ing place from whence to dispense the Gospel, 
and thither settlers gathered, even from five or 
six miles distant on foot, on horseback, and 
with ox teams, to hear Father Kimball preach. 
He, with the assistance of his neighbors, built 
a log schoolhouse the next year, which served 
also for a church, thereby giving the family of 
Elder Kimball, consisting of a wife and eleven 
children, more sea-room at home on Sundaj's. 
John Kershaw, brother of A. Kershaw, of 
Wayne, was the first male teacher iu this pio- 
neer temple of science, and Miss Julia Talmadge 
was the first female teacher. She now lives in 
Aurora, the wife of Mr. Weaver. 

It was an event of no small magnitude when 
this school was established, and its reputation 
might be envied by some of our modern col- 
leges. It was a subscription school, and was 
patronized for a radius of four or five miles, 
some distant ones taking board near by to avail 
themselves of its teachings. This settlement 
then belonged to the Du Page Circuit, as the 
Methodists had named it. After the original 
Fox River Circuit had been divided into two. 
Elder Wilcox was the first circuit preacher sent 
here by the Presiding Elder, and Rev. . Gad- 
ding the second. But before either of these 



came, Father Kimball had led the way as al- 
read}' stated. 

The first hopes of a village in this region 
found a rallying point at Wayne Centre. Will- 
iam K. Guild, now a citizen of Wheaton, settled 
there in 1839. The incipient town was on the 
old army trail, and the land around was at- 
tractive. A store was opened at the place by 
Abner Guild and James A. Nind, in 1844, 
and, the inevitable blacksmith shop, by 
John Sherman, about the same time, who 
was succeeded in the muscular art by E. 
Eckhart. 

Wayne Centre had by this time outgrown her 
nickname of Gimletville, and the prospect was 
reasonable that she might become a moderate 
sized village, like her nearest neighbor to the 
south Naperville. Under this impression, she 
must have a church. Accordingly, one was 
organized, first as a branch of the St. Charles 
Church, which was Congregational, that being 
the religion that most of the settlers had brought 
with them to the place. It became an inde- 
pendent organization soon afterward, and held 
services in the schoolhouse till 1852. at which 
time they had completed a church of their 
own, its membership numbering thirty. Rev. 
Ebenezer Raymond was their first settled 
pastor, who was succeeded by Rev. L. E. 
Sykes. Rev. E. W. Kellogg was the next 
pastor, .who was succeeded by his son, L. H. 
Kellogg. 

The influence of the railroad which pierces 
the central portions of the county was now 
fully demonstrated. It had been running three 
years, and while towns on its line were growing, 
those remote from it were decaying. Under 
these discouragements, the church in Wayne 
was sold and removed to a society in Bartlett, 
just over the line in Cook County, in 1879, 
and Wayne Centre preserves nothing of its 
early hopes but its name. 

The township of Wayne is in the extreme 
northwestern part of the county, and is known 



WAYNE TOWNSHIP. 



273 



by Congressional description as Township 40, 
Range 9. Its surface is quite diversified, being 
rather more uneven than that of any other 
township in the county. It has a large num- 
ber of living springs, several small groves of 
timber and many transplanted trees and or- 
chards, giving its whole area the appearance of 
a timbered country. 

The West Fork of the Du Page River has its 
main source in the northeastern corner of the 
township, and waters its eastern portions, but 
a small head tributary of this stream flows from 
Bloomingdale. The little inlets and springs 
from which this stream is made up are nu- 
merous, and present a pleasing landscape as 
they creep along beneath a tangle of vegetation 
toward the larger channel, which is more con- 
stant here, near its fountain-head, than it is 
farther down in extreme low water. A saw- 
mill was erected on it, on Section 14, by Jonas 
Blank in 1849, who died with typhoid fever 
soon afterward. 

The farms are large, and those who own 
them may generally be called wealthy. Fine 
blooded cattle, horses and sheep are a specialty 
with them, but milk and the 'dairy business is 
a growing interest. 

The Chicago & St. Paul Railroad touches its 
northeastern corner, and the Chicago & North- 
Western Railroad passes through its southwest- 
ern portions, and from the elevations of their 
tracks, reported by the engineers of the two 
roads, the average elevation of the surface of 
the township above Lake Michigan is estimated 
by the writer to be about one hundred and 
seventy feet. 

By the school report of 1882, it has eight 
school districts and 351 persons between the 
ages of six and twenty -one years, of whom 218 
are enrolled in school lists. Its contiguity to 
Elgin makes villages unnecessary in the town- 
ship, and there are none except a small one 
named Wayne Station, on the Chicago & North- 
western Railway. 



It sprang into existence when the railroad 
passed through in 1849, at which place Solo- 
mon Dunham was the first Postmaster, and 
Egbert Adams opened the first store, which 
was in the same building now occupied by H. 
Campbell. 

The following lists show the business men in 
the place, in 1870. and 1882 : 

BUSINESS MEN OF WAYNE IN 1870. 

Dry goods and groceries, Campbell & 
Brother, Adam M. Glos. 

Carriage factory, John Arndt. 

Boots and shoes, Hiram Adams. 

Blacksmiths, Vincent Smith, Hasbrook Lo- 
zier. 

Tin and hardware, James Campbell. 

Pressed hay, Case & Arndt. 

Postmaster and station agent, A. D. Trull. 

BUSINESS MEN OP WAYNE IN 1882. 

Dry goods and groceries, Adam M. Glos, 
H. Campbell. 

Wagons and carriages, John Arndt. 

Boot and shoe maker, Peter Carlson. 

Blacksmiths, William Eggleston and Has- 
brook Lozier. 

Tin shop, James Campbell. 

Station agent, H. W. Hubbard. 

Postmaster, A. D. Trull. 

American Express Agent, Adam M. Glos. 

Justice of the Peace, Adam M. Glos. 

Cheese factor}-, three miles east of station, 
owned by C. W. Gould, of Elgin. 

It is due to science to state that Adam M. 
Glos has been collecting Indian relics for the 
past thirty years in Du Page and Kane Coun- 
ties, a great many from Wayne, W infield and 
Napervilje Townships, which consists of stone 
arrows, all sizes and patterns ; also stone axes 
in great variety, and many other relics of the 
stone age. Mr. Glos has explored a great 
many mounds along the Fox River Valley, 
none being found in Du Page County. 



274 



HISTORY OP DU PAGE COUNTY. 



There is a Congregational Church at Wayne 
Station, for which thanks are due to William 
Sayer. - % 

THE CONGREGATIONAL CHURCH. 

This was organized February 18, 1871. Five 
members withdrew their names from the Wayne 
Centre Church, and with the aid of thirteen on 
profession of faith it was organized, with a 
membership of eighteen in number, as follows : 
Simeon Barber, Hulda L. Barber, Albert W. 
Moffatt, Alice Moffatt, Elizabeth Smith. By 
profession : Julia Trull, Cordelia Pratt, Ko- 
land Hall, Esther Hall. Khoda Wolcott, Catha- 
rine Dolph, Nancy Dolph, Harriett Lozier, Mary 
Smith, John Arndt, Ellen Arndt, Janette Pix- 
ley and Kobert Carswell. 



ONTARIOVILLE. 

This is a station on the Chicago and St. Paul 
Kailroad, about one-half of which is in Wayne, 
situated on Section 1. 

It was platted by William Leesburg April 
7, 1874. It affords excellent facilities for 
shipping the produce of Wayne to Chicago, 
especially milk, which is an increasing interest 
in the vicinity. The following is a list of the 
business men of the place : 

E. Bartlett, station agent and lumber dealer. 

M. Debker, Postmaster and general store. 

Fred Freeman, blacksmith. 

Fred Olendorf, general store. 

C. Ackerman, cheese factory. 

C. Humbrocht, hotel. 



CHAPTER XV. 



BLOOMINGDALE TOWNSHIP INDIAN BURYING-GROUNDS THE MEACHAMS PIONEER BURIALS 
EARLY ROAD DISTRICTS SCENE IN A SUNDAY SERVICE TRAGICAL TERMINATION OF A 
LAW SUIT SCHOOL DISTRICTS PETRIFACTIONS BLOOMINGDALE VILLAGE- 
CHURCHES BUSINESS MEN OF BLOOMINGDALE ROSELLE ITS BUSINESS 
MEN MEACHAM STRANGE PHENOMENON ON KELLEY'S FARM. 



r I THIS is the central northern township of 
-"- Du Page County, situated in Township 
40, Range 1. Its average elevation above 
Lake Michigan is above that of any other 
town in the county, as is shown by its being 
the sources of both the forks of the Du Page 
River, and also the source of a western tribu- 
tary of Salt Creek. 

Its general elevation above Lake Michigan 
is estimated to be about 180 feet, except in 
its lower portions. A beautiful grove occu- 
pies the southern parts of Sections 10, 11 
and 12 and the northern portions of Sections 
13, 14 and a corner of 15. This grove at- 
tracted the attention of the aboriginal inhab- 
itants of the country as a refuge to fly to 
during the nipping frosts of winter, and also 



the heat of summer, and here they made 
offerings to appease the supposed wrath of 
the Great Spirit, and here their rights of 
sepulture were devoutly performed in their 
own barbaric way, evidences of which are 
still extant and afford speculations for the 
archaeologist. Their nam for the grove was 
Penneack, which in their tongue was the 
name of an esculent root which they used for 
food and which grew there. What the root 
was tho writer does not know. It might have 
been ginseng. The Indians in their straits 
have often lived on worse fare than this. 
Whatever the root was, the Indians made an- 
nual autumn harvests of it for two or three 
years after white settlements had begun at 
the place which was on the llth day of 



BLOOMINGDALE TOWNSHIP. 



275 



March, 1833, when Silas, Henry and Lyman 
Meacham, three brothers from Rutland 
County, Vt., built, a log cabin there. They 
had traversed the broad face of the country 
that intervened between this spot and their 
home with their own teams. 

The ground was covered with snow, and 
everything on the broad face of nature 
around, except the grove, looked desolate and 
forbidding, but here was a glad retreat and 
here their stakes were set. 

The Meachams were men of broad-gauge 
charity could fellowship their red neighbors 
and lived on good terms with them for the 
few years that they remained at the place 
previous to their removal, and the trust and 
confidence extended to them was never dis- 
honored. Their nearest neighbors were the 
settlements of Jude Gary, Lyman Butterfield 
and H. T. Wilson, near the present corners 
of Milton, Winfield and Lisle Townships 
a distance of about ten miles. The follow- 
ing autumn after their first settlement, Mrs. 
Lyman Meacham died. There was no ma- 
terial at hand wherewith to make her coffin, 
except the wagon box. This was taken apart, 
and the boards of which it was made recon- 
structed into a coffin to receive the remains 
of her who had come to the place in the ve- 
hicle, so soon to serve her for this last 
purpose. In the autumn of the same year, 
Maj. Skinner came to the new settlement, 
and a young mechanic came with him, whose 
name has not been preserved, but he died 
shortly after his arrival, and was buried 
in a coffin made of boards riven from a forest 
tree and dressed with a plane. 

The next years, 1834 and 1835, Daniel D. 
Noble, Capt. E. Kinney, Isaac Kinney, Noah 
Stevens, David Bangs, Elias Maynard and 
Harry Woodworth came to the place. Cupid 
came soon afterward as a regular immigrant 
to settle in the country; and drove the first 



stake of his claim through the heart of young 

! Noble, healing the wound by making a simi- 
lar impression on Miss Sybil Stephens, and 
the priest did the rest by the usual ceremo- 
nial. No wedding cards were printed. 

As settlements increased, public highways 
were necessary. The old army trail road, 
which passed along in its westerly course 
south of the grove, was older than history, 
for, when Scott's army traveled over it, the 
track had hitherto been known as an Indian 
trail, leading from Chicago to the great Win- 
nebago village, where Beloit, Wis., now 
stands. But this road only went in one di- 
rection, and roads leading to neighboring 

1 settlements were soon projected by the au- 
thorities of Cook County, in which this set- 
tlement then was. Road districts were laid 
out, and this settlement and the settlements 
at Warrenville were in the same district, un- 

: der the charge of an official who was called a 
Roadmaster. 

The neighbors all agreed pretty well to- 

| gether, but still the inexorable law demanded 
that they must have a Justice of the Peace 
to settle difficulties that might arise, and 
Lyman Meacham was elected to this honor- 
able office at their voting-place, which was 
Elk Grove, about six miles to the northeast, 
in the present town of the same name in Cook 
County. 

In 1836, Peter Northrup, now a resident of 
Wheaton, came to the place, and the same 
year Deacon Elijah Hough and family Ro- 
selle, one of his sons, since so widely known, 
was then a youth of sixteen, and Cornelia A., 

i his daughter, a girl of ten years. She is now 
the wife of Hackaliah. Brown, of Wheaton. 

Moses B. Elliott came the same year, and 
large numbers soon came in to avail them- 
selves of the advantages of the healthy loca- 
tion and cheap lands that abounded here, 
among whom was L. E. Landon, now a citizen 



276 



HISTORY OF DU PAGE COUNTY. 



of Wheaton, and "Waters Northrup, now liv- 
ing in Bloomingdale. Deacon Allen Hills 
came in 1840, with his four sons Erasmus 
O. and Nubria, who are now living at Chicago; 
Uileman, who still lives at Bloomingdale, and 
H. B., who died at Wheaton in 1881. Be- 
sides these was one daughter Almeda, who 
married T. B. Stevens, an early settler at the 
place, and the same year Dr. Parker Sedg- 
wick and S. P. Sedgwick, his son, now a 
physician in "Wheaton, and Hiram Cody, 
father of Judge Cody, of Naperville, came to 
this settlement. 

We have now a thriving colony of relig- 
iously inclined men, among whom were two 
Deacons, and, of course, divine services 
promptly came in, and the following descrip- 
tion of one of them, written by Mr. Bronson 
Hills, and published, before his death, in the 
Wheaton paper, is a spirited description of 
one of them : 

" Sunday was quite generally observed by 
the settlers attending meeting at the little log 
schoolhouse. We must go, of course, with 
the rest to see what is done. * * The 
seats have no backs. They are made of logs 
split and turned the flat side up, the face of 
them bearing the marks of the ax with which 
they were scored and hewed. Twenty or 
thirty, including children, constitute the au- 
dience, with an addition of about as many 
dogs as men. Curiosity to see our new 
neighbors is the principal item of interest 
now, especially to see the young ladies. That 
trim-looking girl, with large gray eyes and 
jet black hair, is not handsome, but there is 
something peculiar about her looks that in- 
duces one to look that way again. * * 
But it is meeting time. Call in your wan- 
dering thoughts. The minister has come and 
is reading -the opening hymn. A venerable 
gray- haired man arises and announces 'Mear' 
as the tune to be sung. He seems to be cast- 



ing about for a key to the tune. He has no 
tuning-fork, but very soon we hear a hum m. 
Satisfied he is right, he commences the 
hymn; all join in singing with a gusto, when 
lo! half way through the first line the leader 
stops. The audience sing on, but he has 
gone back for a better pitch, and, starting 
the piece again, he is coming on with a 
choir of one. The girls blush, the boys 
giggle, the elderly and pious people trying 
all the while to look grave. The situation 
calls for a compromise. For the sake of 
charity, the audience yield, go back and join 
him, for his deafness was the cause of the 
jargon. The sermon was passably interest- 
ing, and was only disturbed by a dog fight or 
two." 

Every one familiar with pioneer life will 
acknowledge the fidelity with which Mr. Hills 
has described the early meetings, but there 
was purpose in these first ministers, deacons 
and laymen, not lacquered with pretentious 
formula. Virtue had a high standard then, 
but desperate motives, as if by some freak 
of the moral law, lurked in the secret re- 
cesses of a few moody hearts and soon cul- 
minated in a scene of blood. 

THE KENT TRAGEDY. 

Dr. Meacham, the first settler at the pres- 
ent site of Bloomingdale, in 1833, made a 
claim on what became Sections 14 and 15, 
built a house on Section 14, and leased both 
sections to Milton Kent, who came to the 
place in 1835 from the State of New York. 
While Mr. Kant held this lease, he had made 
a claim in Sections 10 and 11, but erected 
his buildings on the land he had leased of 
Mr. Meacham. They consisted of a frame 
house and barn designed for tavern-keeping, 
occupying but a small portion of the leased 
land, which portion Mr. Kent said that 
Meacham had given him. Before the expira- 



BLOOMINGDALE TOWNSHIP. 



277 



tion of the lease, Mr. Kent had sold the 
land, or rather, his claim to it, to George W. 
Green, of Chicago. 

At the expiration of the lease, which was 
in 1837, Mr. Green demanded possession of 
the property of Mr. Kent, which was refused. 
As already stated, Kent had erected his tav- 
ern buildings on the property, which, if not 
at the time in dispute, was liable to be, inas- 
much as he had only a lease of the premises. 
Albeit, let it not been forgotten that none of 
the parties yet held any claim to the property, 
which the United States Government recog- 
nized, but the State of Illinois had passed an 
act guaranteeing to those who first took pos- 
session of public lands and made improve- 
ments on them, could hold them, provided 
they paid for them at government price when 
offered for sale. 

Meacham now, in order to fulfill his con- 
tract of sale with Green, was obliged to bring 
a suit of ejectment against Kent, which he 
did, and the court confirmed the title to 
Meacham, who held the improvements, also, 
that Kent had put on the land, consisting of 
the tavern buildings. 

The next thing was to dispossess Kent. 
This was done in the spring of 1840 by the 
Sheriff of Du Page County, who called in to 
his assistance several men, of whom Thomas 
Muir, a young Scotchman living in the neigh- 
borhood, was one. In giving the writer in- 
formation of the affair, Mr. Mnir speaks of 
the two accomplished and beautiful daugh- 
ters of Mr. Kent and the unpleasant task al- 
lotted to him in removing their toilet furni- 
ture from their rooms, they, meantime, pleas- 
antly inviting him to join them in a game of 
ball, but the law was inexorable, and he, im- 
pervious to their attractions, obeyed the or. 
ders of the Sheriff. 

The ejected family now moved their goods 
to a grove about thirty rods distant, and 



piled up the furniture for a sort of wall and 
overspread these walls with canvas to make 
a temporary habitation. Night came on with 
its glooms, and the Kents determined on ven- 
geance. 

Besides the father, who was a stanch 
old man, F. L. Kent, his son, and James 
Wakeman, who had married one of his daugh- 
ters, and a Mr. Turnbull, who subsequently 
married another of them, were all in council 
together. A quit-claim was drawn up, ready 
for Green to sign, and they intended to force 
him to do it by violence, and to execute this 
purpose appeared at his door the following 
night, which was Saturday. Green had taken 
immediate possession of the house from which 
Kent had been driven, and here the battle 
was to be fought First, one of them rapped 
at the door to gain admission. This being 
refused, the door was burst open. Green 
was armed with a rifle, pistol and butcher 
knife. The first weapon was fired off, but it 
barely missed the neck of elder Kent. The 
men were now in the house, and the elder 
Kent grappled with Green. He snapped his 
pistol at him, but the hammer in the scuffle 
rubbed against his person and did not strike 
the cap with sufficient force to explode it. 
Next came the knife. Green stuck it into 
Kent's heart, and he reeled back outdoors, 
exclaiming, "I am a dead man! " Instantly 
young Kent grappled with Green, bat soon 
he loosed his hold, for his antagonist thrust 
the same dagger into his back that had just 
killed the father. Green in his turn now re- 
ceived a blow over the head with a pistol, 
which brought him down and the conflict 
ended. Young Kent was not dangerously 
wounded. One of the party was left with 
the old man, who was not yet dead, while the 
other seized Green, conducted him to the 
camp of the Kents, presented the quit-claim 
to him and he signed it: he was then brought 



278 



HISTORY OF DU PAGE COUNTY. 



back and left on the doorsteps of his house; 
his wife had fled to the neighbors to give the 
alarm, and they soon returned with her to 
the late scene of conflict. Roselle Hough 
helped dress the wounds of young Kent, and 
others helped nurse Green. Happy would it i 
have been for Mrs. Green had her husband ! 
been killed in the encounter, for he gave her 
poison a few years later, and was tried and 
condemned to be hung for the crime, but he 
anticipated the hangman a few days by hang- 
ing himself in his cell. 

He is said by those who knew him to have 
been totally depraved to all sense of right, 
cruel to his wife, whom every one who knew 
esteemed, and unmerciful to everybody. 
That he once charged a spring with arsenic 
and poisoned three innocent children to drive 
their father away is well known, and Thomas 
Muir, by mistake, became one of the victims 
of this diabolical crime, barely escaping with 
his life. 

Good fellowship is almost always at flood 
tide in all new counties. Leaving one's old 
home for a new place where new associations 
are to be made, stimulates better emotions in 
average individuals and improves them in all 
the social accomplishments that make up a 
neighborhood. But there are some, even | 
among pioneers, who take council only with 
sinister motives, and regard others with whom ! 
they may come in contact as instruments by 
which they may improve their own standing 
pecuniarily, which to them is the only meas- 
ure by which anything can be gauged. Any 
consideration that cannot be measured by 
money, or its equivalent, is a myth to them. 
When two such persons are pitted against 
each other, the result is always hostile. 
Neither have learned how to offset aggressive 
action with discriminative prudence, but act 
only on impulses, and those selfish and evil 
ones. 



These unfortunate people generally mani- 
fest about as much prudence as a hen that 
attacks a bull dog in defense of her chickens, 
or a partisan politician who often persists in 
running for a courted office, when ordinary 
reflection ought to convince him that the peo- 
ple don't want him elected. When two such 
persons are brought into relations with each 
other, the result may be a tragedy, as it was 
in this case. Neither of the men engaged in 
it were accounted idiots, but yet it cannot be 
denied that when men do common-place kind 
of acts, or business, with as little foresight 
as they did criminal acts, they are ac- 
counted fools. It hardly need be told that 
the court did not regard the quit-claim that 
Green had signed to the property on that 
fatal night as binding. 

There are still many persons living in the 
neighborhood who were residents of the place 
at the time this tragedy occurred, and the 
shock it made to the public sense of justice 
is still fresh in their minds, though great 
moral, religious and physical changes have 
since had place. Of the two former, the 
clerical Sunday service is an index. Of the 
physical changes that have come over the 
face of nature, the drainage of low lands and 
dimunition of streams is a marked one. On 
the little rivulet then called Shaw's Creek, 
which took its rise just south of Meacham's 
Grove, Hiram Gooding erected a saw-mill in 
1844. It worked about three months annual- 
ly, but now there is not water enough in the 
little wet-weather brook to propel a saw 
mill, except during some excessive fall of 
rain sufficient to cause a flood. Fine fish 
were caught in this brook in the early day, 
such as pickerel and bass. 

As late as 1850, the southern and western 
portions of Bloomingdale Township were but 
sparsely settled, but the road from Chicago 
to Galena passed along the northern portions, 



OF THE 
UNIVERSITY OF ILLINOIS 



BLOOMINGDALE TOWNSHIP. 



281 



and was one of the principal thoroughfares 
leading to the West, and at that time was of 
as much local importance as a railroad is in 
our day, and it gave promise of future wealth, 
which would have been realized but for the 
railroad system, which subsequently drew 
this trade and travel into other localities. 
The Chicago Pacific (now the Chicago & St. 
Paul Railroad), which was finished through 
the northwestern part of this township in 
1873, sets it now on an equal footing with 
its adjoining ones, as the railroad facilities 
for easy marketing. 

There is no waste land in the township, 
but all of it high, rolling and fertile, afford- 
ing excellent dairy farms, to which interest 
there seems to be a tendency. There are 
twelve school districts, and, by the school 
census, 366 persons between the ages of six 
and twenty-one years. Schools are sustained 
on an average of between seven and eight 
months in the year. 

There is a cheese factory in the southeast- 
ern part of the township which consumes 
4,000 pounds of milk and makes 135 pounds 
of butter and 280 pounds of cheese daily. 
William Rathge and Fred Stnenkel, proprie- 
tors. 

The Coverdale Creamery, in the southwest 
part of the township, does a similar amount 
of business. 

Many petrifactions of nuts and various veg- 
etable forms are found in the creek that runs 
along the northern fringe of Meacham Grove. 

The village of Bloomingdale grew into ex- 
istence as a convenience for the surrounding 
farmers a depot from whence their wants 
for store goods could be supplied. It was 
first called Meacham' s Grove, and, being on 
the early stage road from Chicago to Galena, 
and eligibly located on the border of the 
grove, it had a fair prospect of becoming a 
large village. 



In 1843, there lived at the place H. Meach- 
am, Deacons Hough, Hills and Stevens; 
Moses Hoyt, who kept tavern; Levi H. Kinne, 
F. Kinney, W. Northrup (Postmaster), H. 
Woodruff, James Vint, Hileman Hills, Nu- 
bria Hills, sons of Deacon Hills, together with 
others sufficient to make a good beginning 
for a town. A mile to the east, Mr. Tupper 
kept another tavern. The site of the town is 
said to be the most elevated land of any vil- 
lage in the county, being 190 feet above 
Lake Michigan. The plat of the town bears 
date of January 11, 1845, H. S. Hills, pro- 
prietor situated on the northwest and north- 
east quarters of Section 15, Township 40, 
Range 10. About thirty-five families live in 
the village. An excellent spring of pure 
water breaks out of the ground just west of 
the village, at which place Col. Hoyt kept his 
famous tavern. 

The Congregational society of Blooming- 
dale was established August 22, 1840, and 
held their services in a log schoolhouse at 
the southeastern extremity of Meacham' s 
Grove, by which name the village was first 
known. Rev. D. Rockwell and Rev. Flavel 
Bascom, who at this time live in Hinsdale, 
officiated at the ceremonies of organization. 

Mr. Rockwell was ordained as first pastor 
and remained over this charge till 1842, when 
he was succeeded by H. Colton for one year ; 
B. W. Reynolds, for two years; L. Parker, 
for four years; N. Shapley, for one year; L. 
Parker again, for three years; D. Chapman, 
for one year; H. Judd, for one or more years, 
who was succeeded by others not known to 
the writer. The society built a new church 
in 1851, and, June 13, 1852, it was dedicated, 
but the limits of their prosperity was reached 
not long after the new church edifice was oc- 
cupied. Death removed some, and others 
went West, while none came forward to take 
their places. This decimating process went 



282 



HISTORY OF DU PAGE COUNTY. 



on till 1879, when the church was sold to the 
Lutherans. Between two and three hundred 
members in all have been enrolled on the 
books of this church, which had a Sabbath 
school numbering once fifty, and a library of 
300 books. 

The Baptist Church of Bloomingdale was 
organized in 1841 by Rev. Joel Wheeler. It 
first numbered ten members. The next year, 
a revivalist named Morgan Edwards came to 
the place and preached with effect. Six new 
members were added to the church, but no 
regular preaching was held till Rev. P. Tay- 
lor, of Babcock's Grove, supplied them each 
alternate Sunday. 

In 1848, the society commenced building 
a church. The frame was erected and the 
question arose whether the site of the place 
chosen was destined to be the true center of 
the town. This question hung in suspense, 
and the prairie breeze whistled through the 
naked scantlings and rafters of the unfinished 
edifice while this question was being settled 
by the events of time. Finally, the locality 
was not considered a good one, the work was 
abandoned, another site selected and a church 
built in 1849. Prosperity rewarded their 
efforts, the church proved too small for their 
increasing numbers, and the society sold it 
for a schoolhouse and built a larger one in 
1855, at which time they had over one hun- 
dred members. Rev. P. Taylor was the first 
settled pastor of the church, who remained 
with them until the church was built which 
they now occupy. The number of their 
members is now about fifty. The church has 
regular preaching and a Sabbath school. 

The Evangelical Lutheran Church of 
Bloomingdale was organized in 1878, and 
the next year occupied the church which they 
bought of the Congregationalists. Rev. Gus- 
tave Lambrecht was their first pastor, who 
was succeeded by Rev. A. B. Mysch, the 



present pastor.. About thirty-five families 
belong to this society. 

The following is a list of the business and 
professional men of Bloomingdale Village: 

Brown & Verbeck, proprietors of the Bloom- 
ingdale Flax Mill, consumes 1,000 tons of 
flax straw and manufactures 600 tons of tow 
annually; the firm employs eight ia?n; T. C. 
Ryan, cheese factory, employs three men, 
consumes 8,000 pounds of milk, makes fifteen 
cheeses and 240 pounds of butter daily; bed 
spring factory, by A. R. Kinne, makes 500 
bed springs annually; John Bern-master, tai- 

! lor; Robert Gates, C. Eden, wagon-makers; 
John Shank, George Wallis, William Sleep, 

I Elijah Bond, blacksmiths; O. A. Verbeck, 
Bradford Hills, carpenters; Henry Rohler, A. 
Backhouse, shoe shop; Roger Ryan, Charles 
Hills, Josiah Stevens, artesian well-borers; 
Thomas Saureman, harness shop; Hills & 
Deibert, general store; J. R. Dunning, Post- 
master ai-d general store; Henry Vanderhoof, 

i physician; G. W. Robinson, Baptist clergy- 

| man; A. B. Mysch, Lutheran clergyman; 

: William Rathge, Notary Public ; Robert Gates, 
Henry Woodruff, Justices of the Peace; Jo- 
siah Stevens, Charles Pierce, Constables; 
Henry Holstine. grist-mill, propelled by wind- 
power, manufacturers of flour and grinds feed. 
The village of Roselle, situated in the 
northeast quarter of the southeast quarter of 
Section 3, Township 40, Range 10, was plat- 
ted and recorded October 5, 1874, by Bernard 
Beck. The following is a list of its business 
men: 

Hattendorf & Bagge, general store and 
agricultural implements; M. Seeker, general 

' store; Illinois Linen Company, manufactory 
of linen fabrics, ropes, twines, etc.; a grist- 
mill with three run of stones for flour and 

! feed, Henry Holstine, proprietor; Rudolph 
Milton, blacksmith; grain elevator, by Fred- 
erick Langhurst; meat market, by J. Theo- 



BLOOMINGDALE TOWNSHIP. 



bald; wholesale meat market, by Fred Golt- 
ermann; lumber yard, by Frederick Thies; 
hardware and tiu shop, by Henry Williams; 
H. A. Seeker, hotel; Henry Eincke, hotel; 
Henry Sumner, keeps the depot; J. H. C. 
Hattendorf, Postmaster; a public school; 
Henry Woodworth, Justice of the Peace; Jo- 
seph Fidler, carpenter; John D. Behrer, 
boots and shoes; George Sieging, harness 
maker. 

The elevation of the place is 190 feet 
above Lake Michigan. 

Meacham is a station on the Chicago, St. 
Paul & Pacific Railroad, in Section 1, in 
Bloomingdale Township. It has one general 
store, kept by James Pierce, who also keeps 
the depot and is Postmaster. The Methodist 
Church at the place was first organized aa a 
class meeting by Rev. J. C. Stoughton, in 
1851. Elizabeth Pierce, Mary Ann Battin, 
Grace Lawrence and Mr. and Mrs. B. B 
Miller were the members. They met in the 
old schoolhouse. Here their services were 
held, including their Sunday school, which 
was organized in January, 1858. The next 
year their church was finished and regular 
preaching has been sustained in it till the 
present time. The church when first organ- 



ized numbered only six members. Now it 
numbers thirty-six and is under the pastoral 
charge of Rev. T. C. Warrington. 

Mn. RCFUS BLANCHABD: 

Agreeable to your request, 1 give you herewith a 
statement as to a strange phenomenon that occurred 
on my land in Bloomingdale in August, 1856. 

Observing that one of my fences was prostrated, 
I examined the breach, and found that one of the 
posts had been shattered into splinters from below 
' the second board above the ground, including the 
portion of It set in the ground. The portion of 
the post above where the bottom board was nailed 
to it was whole, without the marks of violence, but 
the lower board nailed to it was somewhat shattered. 
The strangest part of the whole was that in the 
identical hole made in the ground in which the post 
had stood, a deep incision was made as if, by some 
violent operation of nature, something had perfo- 
rated it from below up, the evidence of which 
theory being found from the abundance of dirt 
thrown out and scattered for three or four rods all in 
one direction probably owing to the wind. The 
splinters of the lower part of the fence post were 
also scattered the same as the dirt which had been 
thrown out of the hole. I ran a pole about ten feet 
long down the hole, but could find no bottom, nor 
could I hear pebbles strike any bottom as I dropped 
them down. The hole was about six inches in 
diameter, and as clean a cut as could be bored with 
an auger. DANIEL KKLLEY. 

Subscribed and sworn to before me, a Notary 
Public, the 13th day of September, 1882. 

W. L. GUT, Notary Public. 




284 



HISTORY OF DU PAGE COUNTY. 



CHAPTER XVI. 



ADDISON TOWNSHIP THE MOUNTAIN DAISY INDIAN ENCAMPMENT THE ARMY TRAIL THE SOL- 

DIER'S GRAVE THE LOG CABIN HOME TALENT THE GERMAN VANGUARD THE PIONEER 

TAVERN THE OLD GALENA TRADE-SALT CREEK-FRANCIS HOFFMAN, A LAY PREACHER 

THE VILLAGE OF ADDISON THE GERMAN EVANGELICAL TEACHERS' SEMINARY 

THE ORPHAN ASYLUM PROFESSIONAL AND BUSINESS MEN OF ADDISON 

ITASCA ITS BUSINESS MEN LESTER'S BENSENVILLE SCHOOLS. 



r I ''Tfy. mountain daisy is a handsome white 
* flower, about the size of the old-fash- 
ioned bell-buttons that were fashionably used 
on boys' blue satinet roundabouts in the early 
part of the present century, and discontinued 
about the year 1835. This daisy was cer- 
tainly more ornamental than useful. But 
what had it to do with the history of Addi- 
son ? Let us speculate. The daisy was so 
tenacious of life that it was more difficult to 
kill than blue grass. Wherever it took pos- 
session of the land, it outrivaled every other 
kind of vegetation, and rendered it almost 
valueless for meadow or pasturage. It grew 
in several of the towns east of the Meirimack 
Biver, in the vicinity of Concord, N. H., es- 
pecially in Stoddard and Hillsboro, and forced 
many of the inhabitants away from their 
mountain homes to seek more fruitful locali- 
ties, where a better reward met the hands of 
the husbandman. The writer came from this 
par* of New Hampshire, and speaks from his 
own knowledge. At Hillsboro lived Heze- 
kiah Duncklee, and from this place he emi- 
grated in the summer of 1833. If the mount- 
ain daisy drove farmers away from the place, 
perhaps their gorgeous beauty gave them a 
taste for the ornamental, and may not have 
served a vain purpose. Mr. Duncklee, having 
crossed the Green Mountains, arrived at Pots- 
dam, in the State of New York, safely, where 



he was joined by Mason Smith, and the two 
started together for. the West 

Their road lay along the old historic 
grounds of Fort Stanwix (now Rome), thence 
across the Genesee Eiver at Rochester and 
Buffalo, at which place they took a boat for 
Detroit, where they bought a horse and wag- 
on, and pursued their journey across the State 
of Michigan to Chicago, which they reached 
on the 3d of September. They rested here 
five days, and again started westwardly for 
the Desplaines River, crossing it at the pres- 
ent site of Maywood, from which place a well- 
traveled road bore westwardly across an ap- 
parently boundless prairie. But, before 
starting on this road, they encamped for the 
night in the country so strange to the visit- 
ors. The low, flat prairie, and- the sluggish 
river that drained it, were the least of their 
surprises. The Pottawatomies still owned 
the entire country to which they were emi- 
grating, and 300 of their number were as- 
sembled on the river bank here. It was a 
picture rarely to be looked on to see these 
natives just preparing to leave their homes to 
make room for the new-comers, for they (the 
Indians) were now bending their course to 
Chicago to attend the treaty there, destined 
to convey Northern Illinois east of Rock 
River to those who had already taken pos- 
session of the choicest portions of it before 



ADDISON TOWNSHIP. 



285 



the bargain was made to sell it, and Mr. 
Duncklee and Mr. Smith were two more of 
this class on whom the Indians could look in 
no other light than that of intruders. 

The next morning they resumed their jour- 
ney, following the trail over which Scott's 
army had passed eleven months before. It 
has since been put down on early maps as the 
Elgin road. It enters the present township 
of Addison at its extreme southeast corner, 
and leads thence to the village of Addison, 
on Salt Creek, and this was the' location of 
the road which the travelers took. 

Toiling along their way in this narrow 
path between two oceans of green, they came 
to a grave where one of the soldiers who came 
the year before, under command of Gen. 
Scott, to defend the country from the Sauks, 
had found his last resting-place, and the 
first grave of u white man in Addison Town- 
ship. Farther along, at Salt Creek, were the 
tent poles still standing as the army had left 
them. They crossed the stream and encamped 
for the night on the prairie, amidst the lul- 
laby din of reptile life. But soon these soft 
voices of the night were drowned by the 
sharp yelp of the numerous wolves that hung 
around the camp attracted by the scent of 
strange animal life in their midst, but too 
formidable for them to attack. Pushing for- 
ward the next morning, they reached the 
settlement which theMeachams had made six 
months before. Here two men in pursuit of 
a home met three who had already laid claim 
to one in the verge of a grove that now bears 
their name Meacham' s Grove. Six months' 
experience in a country, wild as nature could 
make it, was productive of much practical in- 
formation. Everything was to be built new, 
and the problem was how to begin. The 
Meachams gave the new-comers the benefit 
of their experience, and the result was that 
they proceeded back to a grove on Salt Creek, 



north of where they had crossed this stream, 
and, on the 12th of September, selected a lo- 
cation on the northern verge of a grove, to 
which the name of Duncklee' s Grove has 
since been given. Mr. Dunckley's claim was 
on what became Sections 10 and 1 5 when the 
country came to be surveyed. It consisted of 
suitable portions of prairie and timber, as 
first claims always did till timber lands had 
all been taken possession of. 

The first thing to be done was to build a 
house. This was no difficult task to accom- 
plish where there was plenty of timber, and 
all the tools required were an ax, hammer, 
saw, and adze to smooth the surface of the 
floor, which was made of split logs, flat side 
upward, called puncheons, besides which a 
frow, with which to rive out clapboards for 
the roof, was necessary. The whole was fin- 
ished in two weeks, and occupied by the first 
freeholder of Addison Township. Mr. Dunck- 
lee' s family arrived the next year, 1834, in 
August, at the new home, amidst the growing 
crops that had rewarded the labors of this 
pioneer farmer. The following June, on the 
18th, was born a daughter, Julia A., who, at 
her maturity, became the wife of Frederick 
E. Lester. She was the first white child born 
in Addison, and became the first school- 
teacher at the place, from which we must in- 
fer that Addison was rather tardy in estab- 
lishing schools, or wished to wait till they 
could grow a teacher on their own soil. Set- 
ting this down to their love of home talent, 
if the latter was the case, we will pass on to 
the next thing done here in a similar direc- 
tion. This was to plant apple seeds, which 
Mr. Duncklee did in 1836, and his orchard 
grew from this seed, as the first school-teacher 
had grown on the fuitful soil of Addison. 
Both were a success. Miss Julia taught a 
good school, and the orchard of Mr. Dunck- 
lee bore fruitfully, affording a handsome in- 



HISTORY OF DU PAGE COUNTY. 



come for its fruit in a few years after it was 
planted. In the summer subsequent to Mr. 
Duncklee's first arrival, there came to the 
place and settled a Mr. Perin, who^took sick 
and died in a few weeks, his being the first 
death in Addison, except the unfortunate sol- 
dier whose grave was seen by Mr. Dunck- 
lee, as already told. 

Early in the summer of the same year 
1834, Ebenezer Duncklee, brother to Heze- 
kiah, came and made a claim adjoining him 
and Richard Kingston. Thomas H. Thom- 
son, James Bean, Demerit Hoyt and D. Par- 
sons, all from the Eastern States, came and 
made claims, mostly at the southern side of 
the grove. 

Thus far, the settlement was exclusively 
American, but close upon their heels, or per- 
haps ere the last of the above-mentioned had 
settled, there came to the place the vanguard 
of the German immigration destined to ap- 
propriate the lands of what, since that time, 
became Addison Township. This vanguard 
was William Henry Bosque, Barney H. Fran- 
zen, Frederick Graue (with his family of five 
stalwart young men Dedrick, Frederick, Jr., 
Luderwich, Heinrich and August and one 
daughter, Willemine, to help the mother gar- 
nish the house and the manners of the boys). 
The main settlement of these Germans was 
at a small grove, in what is now Section 34, 
ever since called Graue's Grove; but some of 
the Graue family settled in what is now York. 
Willemine was soon married to Frederick 
Kraige, who also settled near by. Banhard 
Koeler, who came with Mr. Graue, and Ded- 
rick Leseman, all came the same year, and 
Young Germany took deep root at the place. 
Besides all these, Thomas Williams and E. 
Lamb, from New York State, came in 1834. 
The next year, 1835, Edward Lester, with 
his five sons Marshall, John, Daniel, Fred- 
erick and Lewis came to the place from the 



| State of New York; also two brothers, Charles 
j H. and Hiram Hoit, and George Bouse, came 
from the Eastern States, and Young America 
seemed to hold her own with Young Ger- 
many, but soon again the latter, coming in 
great force, took the lead. J. H Schmidt, 
and his son, H. Schmidt, Jr., and Mr. Buch- 
ols, who was subsequently killed at the rais- 
ing of Mr. Plagge's log cabin in 1838, all 
came in 1835, and the next year, Henry D. 
Fischer, J. L. Franzen, B. Kaler, D. S. Dun- 
ning, Frederick Stuenkle, the Banum broth- 
ers, J. Bertram, S. D. Pierce, C. W. Martin, 
B. F. Fillmore, came to the settlement; and 
the next year, 1837, Conrad Fischer, father 
of Henry D. , also Frederick J. and August, 
two of his brothers, and William Asche, came 
to the place. 

The famous old tavern known as the Buck- 
horn was opened the same year, by Charles 
Hoit. It stood on the Galena road, two miles 
west of Salt Creek. It did a thriving busi- 
ness, the farmers to the west as far as Bock 
River being guests at the place on their way 
to and from Chicago to market their produce. 
Teams also came from Galena, loaded with 
lead, a heavy article to pull through the 
sloughs that intervened between the two 
places. As prices range now for every kind 
i of supply, a teamster would find his bills 
payable larger than his bills receivable, if he 
had lead given to him free, and hauled it to 
Chicago to sell at the going price, if he paid 
common hotel fare and allowed the customary 
rates for the use of his horses and pay for his 
own time; but conditions were different then. 
His horses bated on the prairie for rough feed, 
and ate their allowance of corn or oats from 
the feed trough attached to the wagon, which 
was brought from the farm from whence they 
came. The owner of the team slept in his 
I wagon, except in very cold weather, and 
! brought a portion of his food from home, pat- 



ADDISON TOWNSHIP. 



287 



ronizing the tavern for only an occasional meal, 
or for hay for his horses, when the prairie 
did not furnish grass, which was from the 
time of its being burnt over in the fall till 
the following June. 

It was about this time that Salt Creek re- 
ceived its name. A teamster named John 
Reid, from Onoida County, N. Y., was em- 
ployed to haul lead from Galena to Chicago, 
and on one of his trips, loaded back with salt, 
and, in crossing this stream, got " stuck " in 
the mud. The water was high, flooded his 
load and melted it away ere he could get help 
to pull it out. The consequence was that the 
creek ran brine for a few hours, and received 
a name which is also a memento of the early 
toils of the teamster. 

Everything was cheap then, and a hotel or 
anything else could be carried on at but tri- 
fling expense. If the income was small, the 
outgoes were still smaller. Ten cents for the 
hay for a horse during the night, and 15 cents 
or 20 cents for a meal for the teamster, were 
ordinary charges. 

All other charges were proportionate, in- 
cluding the expense incurred for dispensing 
the early Gospel. Divine services were held in 
sehoolhouses, or sometimes in private houses. 

The Germans who settled this township 
were Lutherans. Rev. Koschon was their 
first preacher. Services were sometimes held 
in the house of Mr. Schmidt. He remained 
pastor for about two years, when his place was 
supplied by Francis Hoffman, the same who 
subsequently opened a bank in Chicago in 
connection with Mr. Gelpke. He now owns 
the model farm of the State of Wisconsin. 
Mr. Hoffman was schoolmaster, as well as 
preacher, and the old log cabin where he gave 
the rudiments of science to the young gener- 
ation of his time stood where the house of 
Lewis Schmidt now stands, in Addison Vil- 
lage. 



The village of Addison is situated on Sec- 
tions 21 and 28, on the east side of Salt 
Creek. Its elevation above Lake Michigan 
is about one hundred and twenty feet. 

It was one of the early settlements of the 
township, and, as these settlements progressed, 
became a central point for a village, post 
office and stores to accommodate them. But 
the chief elements of a village in the place 
are its educational institutions, the history 
of which, together with that of the church, 
will constitute substantially the history of the 
village itself. 

GERMAN EVANGELICAL LUTHERAN CHURCH. 

' The first German settler came to Addison, 
then known as Duncklee's Grove, in 1834. 
As long as a public ministry was not estab- 
lished with them, they would assemble on 
Sundays for prayer and devotional reading 
at their own homes, going the rounds in the 
neighborhood. " Later, they had occasional 
visits of clergymen. In November, 1842, a 
congregation was organized, about twenty 
families joining, some of Reformed, some of 
Lutheran persuasion. Accordingly, they 
adopted the name of the German Reformed 
Lutheran Congregation. Forty-eight acres 
were purchased as a site for a church, parson- 
age and cemetery. The membership increas- 
ing, a Lutheran minister, Rev. E. A. Brauer, 
was called in November, 1847, and by a unani- 
mous vote it was resolved no longer to be a 
mixed, but a truly Lutheran Church. The 
new name, the German Evangelical-Lutheran 
Congregation, was adopted. In the follow- 
ing year, the Reformed members severed their 
connection and organized a new church, re- 
ceiving from the Lutheran congregation 
$170 in return for their former contributions, 
and $65 for their share of church property. 

Following is the confession of faith of the 
congregation, as contained in Section 2 of ita 



HISTORY OF DU PAGE COUNTY. 



constitution : "As such (a Lutheran Church) 
the congregation professes the holy and di- 
vine word of the Old and the New Testa- 
ments, as the doctrine of the same is laid 
down in the public confessions of the Evan- 
gelical Lutheran Church, viz., the three ec- 
umenical symbols, the unaltered Augsburg 
confession, the apology of the latter, the 
Smalealdiaii Articles, the two catechisms of 
Luther, and the Formula of Concord. By 
the rule of these confessions, since they are 
taken from the Word of God, all doctrinal 
and religious disputes that may arise in our 
midst shall be decided." 

The congregation now owns a large brick 
church, 42x85 feet, steeple 150 feet high, 
which was dedicated to its sacred purposes 
December 11, 1861. It was built, furnished 
and provided with pipe organ at an expense 
of about $12,000. Adjoining the church is 
a spacious parsonage, valued at nearly $4,000. 

The members are scattered over a district 
foturteen miles long and twelve miles wide. 
The congregation is subdivided into four dis- 
tricts, three of which support one school each, 
and one two schools, one of the latter graded 
into three classes. All expenses for support 
of church and schools are provided for by 
voluntary contributions of the individual 
members, now numbering over two hundred 
families. 

The pastors in charge from 1847 were: 
Rev. E. A. Branor, till 1856, when he accept- 
ed the call of the Lutheran congregation at 
Pittsburgh, Penn. ; Rev. A. G. G. Francke, 
till January 3, 1879, when he was called off 
by death; Rev. T. I. Grosse, who is still 
pastor at present. 

The congregation strictly insists on having 
the children of its fold instructed and edu- 
cated in the parochial schools of the four dis- 
tricts, presided over by six male teachers and 
one female teacher. The number of pupils 



at present is about three hundred and fifty- 
five. Both the English and the German lan- 
guages are means of instruction, it being the 
earnest desire of the congregation that tboir 
children, whilst retaining their mother 
tongue, should master the ruling language of 
the country. The teachers now in charge of 
the schools are: West District, Mr. H. Bart- 
ling (since 1849), Mr. C. Greve, Miss R 
Heidemann, Mr. A. Meder; East District, 
Mr. H. Cluever: North District, Mr. E. Rosen; 
South District (Elmhurst), Mr. A. Bader. 
H. BAHTLING. 

GERMAN EVANGELICAL LUTHERAN TEACHERS' SEM- 
INARY. 

The German Evangelical Lutheran Teach- 
ers' Seminary at Addison, Du Page Co., 111., 
is an institution for educating Evangelical 
Lutheran parochial teachers. In the year 
1855, several Lutheran pastors and teachers 
in Milwaukee privately opened this normal 
school there. Two years later, they offered 
the institution to the German Evangelical 
Lutheran Synod of Missouri, Ohio and other 
States. The offer was accepted, and the sem- 
inary next located at Fort Wayne, Ind., in 
close connection with the Concordia College, 
another of the several institutions of the 
synod. A Professor was appointed by the 
synod, who became at the same time Director 
of the Seminary Department, and who was 
assisted in his special work by the Professors 
of the college. In 1861, a second Professor 
for the seminary was called. In 1863, it was 
thought expedient to accept an invitation 
from the German Evangelical Lutheran Con- 
gregation at Addison, 111., to permanently 
locate the seminary in their midst. One year 
after this, the necessary buildings for sixty 
scholars and two Professors, with their fami- 
lies, were erected, viz. , a main building; 64x- 
40 feet, containing basement, two stories, 



ADDISON TOWNSHIP. 



289 



and a high and airy dormitory, and, north 
and south from it, two wings, each 32x15 
feet, built of brick, and at a cost of upward 
of $16,000. Later, as the number of stu- 
dents increased, two other large wings were 
added, first one to the north and then one to 
the south, each at the cost of about $10,000. 
The entire length of the building is now 
about 208 feet. The faculty at present con- 
sists of six regular Professors E. A, W. 
Krauss, C. A. T. Selle, Karl Brauer, C. 
Hentzschel, Th. Brohro and E. Homann 
two of whom teach almost exclusively music 
singing, violin, piano, organ. Two of the 
six have their dwellings in the main build- 
ings; here, also, the Steward, Mr. V. von 
Dissen, resides, who has to provide the stu- 
dents with their board. Four Professors are 
supplied with spacious and comfortable frame 
houses. The present number of students is 
about one hundred and thirty, all males. In 
the course of five years, they are taught all 
the branches necessary to qualify them to 
become teachers, both in the German and 
English languages, and, besides, such 
branches as are requisite for a good general 
education. The parochial school, which is 
quite near, affords them the necessary oppor- 
tunity for practical exercises in teaching. 
By the liberality of the synod, they receive 
their tuition and lodgings gratuitously; the 
members of the congregation supply them 
with clean linen, and for board they have to 
pay but very little, since numerous friends 
from far and near send large quantities of 
provisions to the seminary kitchen. The 
annual number of alumni varies from twelve 
to twenty-five. As they did come here from 
all parts of the Union, not to speak of those 
that came directly from Germany, so they re- 
ceive calls from almost all parts of the United 
States; and many more are wanted than the 
institution can furnish. The Board of Su- 



pervisors for the seminary consists at present 
of Revs. T. J. Grosse and H. Wunder, and 
Messrs. E. H. W. Leeseberg, Henry Oehler- 
king and T. C. Diener. C. A. T. SELLE. 

THE GERMAN EVANGELICAL LUTHERAN ORPHAN 
ASYLUM.' 

This asylum is situated in the immediate 
vicinity of the German Evangelical Lutheran 
Teachers' Seminary, and of one of the paro- 
chial schools of the German Evangelical Lu- 
theran Congregation of Addison. It is the 
joint property of twenty-three Lutheran con- 
gregations and societies in Northern Illinois, 
eight of which large congregations are in 
Chicago. This association commits the gen- 
eral management of its business to a board of 
seven persons, elected for a term of three 
years. The members now constituting the 
board are: Rev. T. J. Grosse, of Addison, 
President; Prof. C. A. T. Selle, of Addison, 
Vice President; Rev. F. M. Grosse, of Har- 
lem, Secretary; Mr. H. Bartling, of Addison, 
Cashier; Mr. E. H. W. Leeseberg, of Addi- 
son; H. C. Zuttermeister, of Chicago; L O. 
Piepenbrink, of Crete, 111., Trustees. The 
orphan house is under the superintendence 
of Mr. and Mrs. John Harmening, assisted by 
Mrs. Nickel, one baker and five servants. 

According to its constitution, the Orphan 
House Association proposes to provide for 
and to educate orphans and half orphans that 
I are intrusted to the same to such purpose by 
their guardians or by surviving parent, or that 
God sends by other ways. The association 
educates the children in the full truth of the 
Divine Word, as this truth is intrusted to the 
Lutheran Church, and thus endeavors to lead 
them to the Lord Christ and to heaven ; but 
it is also earnestly solicited to prepare its 
wards for a blessed and hopeful life in this 
world, that may redound to the honor of our 
own great God. In order that this purpose 



2.90 



HISTORY OF DU PAGE COUNTY. 



may be accomplished as far as possible, chil- 
dren must be committed to the care of the as- 
sociation till they are eighteen years of age. 
Up to the time when they are confirmed, they 
stay in the orphan house, and after confir- 
mation, the association, through its officers, 
provides suitable situations for them to 
work as servants, to learn a trade, to pursue 
studies with the view to serving the church, 
it being understood, however, that the asso- 
ciation retains the exclusive control of the 
children up to the completion of their eight- 
eenth year. Whenever it is necessary and 
practicable, the assoication provides for the 
support of its wards also, after this period. 
Orphans are received irrespective of previous 
creed of parents, or of creed of surviving 
parent. (Constitution, Section 4.) 

In 1873, forty acres were bought for $4,- 
425. A little house on this property was oc- 
cupied as a temporary home by the Superin- 
tendent and six orphans, and was* dedicated 
October 11, 1873. In 1874, the east wing of 
the present home (one and a half stories 
high, 65x38 feet, extension 30x28 feet) was 
erected, at a cost of $6,814. 27. It was ded- 
icated October 28, and, at that date, harbored 
eighteen orphans. In 1878, the main build- 
ing, 50x50, two stories, was built, and was 
dedicated November 7. This part cost $5,- 
122.25. 

From October 11, 1873, when the home 
was opened, till June 28, 1882, 154 children 
were received, of which 106 are still in the 
institution; five died, ten were returned to 
their relatives, twenty-nine serve on farms 
and in families, and four are now preparing 
for service in the church two at the Addison 
Teachers' Seminary, two at Concordia Col- 
lege, Fort Wayne, Ind. 

The orphans attend the graded school (three 
classes) of the German Evangelical Lutheran 
Congregation- Here they are instructed in 



the Lutheran faith, German and English lan- 
guages, and in all common branches. 

Funds and endowments there are none. 
The institution depends for its support on 
voluntary contributions. The cash amount 
of these was, in 1873, $3,070.06; in 1874, 
$6,095.03; in 1875, $2,870.24, in 1876, $3,- 
367.82; in 1877, $3,893.85; in 1878, $5,815.- 
j 23; in 1879, $5,090.39; in 1880, $4,762.19; 
in 1881, $4,808.60. The many donations of 
clothing, provisions, etc., are an essential 
source of income. H. BARTLINO. 

IMMANUEL'S CHURCH. 

The Immanuel's Church of the German 
Evangelical Synod was founded in Addison 
in 1859, under the pastoral charge of Rev. 
C. Braemer. He has been succeeded by 
Eeva C. F. Warth, Phillip Albert and Gus- 
tavus Lambrecht, the latter being the pres- 
ent pastor. The present membership of this 
church is ninety families. 

The following are the professional and 
business men of Addison: 

Eotermund & Weber, general store. 

F. Triechler, general store. 

H. Overcamp, blacksmith. 

Charles Harloff, wagon- maker. 

J. G. Franke, M. D. 

Charles Shulle, meat market. 

Henry Schneider, hotel. 

Charles Strauchild, harness -maker. 

John Giehls, custom tailor. 

W. Golterman, custom tailor. 

W. Licht, boot and shoe maker. 

F. Tuon, wood -turner. 

W. Holstein, carpenter and builder. 

H. Hoefener, mason and plasterer. 

Louis Stuenkel, cheese factory 7,000 to 
8,000 pounds of milk daily. 

Rev. J. Grosse, Evangelical Lutheran 
Church. 

H. Bartling, Postmaster and school teacher. 



ADDISON TOWNSHIP. 



291 



Cristian Grerie, school-teacher. 

C. Kraus, Director of Addison Seminary. 

C. Hantchell, Professor of Addison Semi- 
nar}-. 

E. Sella, Professor of Addison Seminary. 

C. Brauer, Professor of Addison Seminary. 

Th. Brolum, Professor of Addison Seminary. 

E. Homann, Professor of Addison Seminary. 

J. Harmening, Orphan Father 110 or- 
phans there at present. 

W. Leseberg, Justice of the Peace and 
Notary Public. 

Itasca is a pleasant village on the Chicago 
& St. Paul Railroad, at its crossing of a trib- 
utary to Salt Creek. Here Dr. Elijah Smith 
settled in 1841, and still lives at the place. 
He platted the town May 14, 1874. The 
banks of the stream that passes through it 
are firm, and graduate upward from it on 
both sides. Its elevation above Lake Mich- 
igan is 170 feet Dr. Smith gave the rail- 
road the right of way to build the road 
through the place, and $400 toward building 
the depot. 

There are two theories as to the origin of 
the name Itasca. If it has an Indian deriva- 
tion, it is from the Ogibwa dialect la, to 
be; totash, the female breast; hence, the lake 
from which the Mississippi draws its first 
source is called Itasca. and this town ia 
named after it. 

Another theory gives the name a Latin or- 
igin Veritas caput, true head. Itas, in the 
first word, and ca, in the last, being used to 
signify that Itasca Lake is the true head of 
the Mississippi River. Which of these is 
the true root of the word the writer is unable 
to determine. 

The following are the business men of 
Itasca: 

Elijah Smith, physician. 

A. G. Chessman, steam power for grain I 
elevator, cheese box and tub factory. 



Henry F. Lawrence, general store. 

A. G. Chesman, Postmaster. 

Chessman & Cramer, carpenters and build- 
ers. 

Henry Ahlenstorf, boots and shoes. 

Ernst Schroeder, blacksmith and wagon- 
maker. 

Lewis Magers, grain elevator, coal and 
lumber. 

William Baruth, general store. 

Henry Dragermuller, blacksmith and wag- 
on-maker. 

August Hartman, meat market. 

Hendricks Bros., proprietors of cheese and 
butter factory; 5,000 gallons of milk used 
daily; 200 pounds of butter and 400 pounds 
of cheese, daily production. 

Henry Senne, agricultural implements. 

John Holland, mason. 

Haberstich Godleib, flax-dresser. 

M. & W. Browne, depot masters. 

Salt Creek, or Lester's, is a station on the 
Chicago & St. Paul Railroad, at its crossing 
of Salt Creek. It is yet very new, and has 
but one store, which is kept by F. E. Lester, 
who is Postmaster at the place. 

It has a cheese factory, owned by Mr. 
Lester. 

BENSENVILLE BY HERMAN H. KORTHAUER. 

The present site of Bensenville, located in 
Sections 13, 14 and 23, was purchased by 
Dedrich Struckmann, T. R. Dobbins and Col. 
Roselle M. Hough, of John Lemarche, in 
1872; shortly after, Hough's interest (one- 
fourth) was purchased by Frederick Hener 
and Henry Korthauer. 

The purchase was subdivided in 1874, two 
years after the Chicago & Pacific Railroad 
was built, and a post office obtained, Henry 
A. Glos being appointed Postmaster. It had 
already become an incorporated village, its 
p'at recorded bearing date of October 10, 1873. 



292 



HISTORY OF DU PAGE COUNTY. 



In 1879, the Chicago & Pacific Company 
becoming insolvent, the road was purchased 
by the Chicago, Milwaukee & St. Paul Rail- 
road, a change greatly beneficial to the north- 
ern portion of the county; new steel rails 
were substituted for the old track, the road- 
bed raised, new buildings erected and in- 
creased facilities given. 

The water supply being insufficient, the 
Chicago, Milwaukee & St. Paul Company 
contracted with W. H. Gray, of Jefferson, 
Cook Co. , 111. , a professional borer of arte- 
sian wells, for an artesian well. Work was 
commenced August 1, 1881, and, after five 
months' continuous labor, day and night, and 
an expense of $5, 000, it was sunk to the depth 
of 21, 198 feet 8 inches, the greater portion 
of the distance being through solid rock. 

The water obtained, on analysis, proved to 
be almost chemically pure. 

It rises thirty-eight feet above the surface, 
and has a temperature of sixty-eight degrees 
Fahrenheit, flowing about one hundred gal- 
lons per minute. 

The village has about two hundred and fifty 
residents, the majority of whom are German. 

This is the largest village in the town of 
Addison, and the most important station be- 
tween Chicago and Elgin. 

The location is high, and an abundance of 
good water is found at a depth of about 
twenty feet. 

The dairy interests of Bensenville and vi- 
cinity are by far the most important. Over 
three hundred thousand gallons of milk are 
shipped annually to Chicago, and double that 
amount is manufactured into butter and 
cheese. During 1881, 150,000 pounds of 
butter and nearly 400,000 pounds of cheese 
were made here. 

Bensenville is the home office of the Ad- 
dison Farmers' Mutual Insurance Company. 

This company was incorporated on the 3d 



of March, 1855, for a term of twenty-five 
years, Diedrich Struckmann, Henry Roter- 
mund, Frederick Schmidt, John E. Kiessling 
and John H. Franzen being the charter mem- 
bers. 

The first officers were: William Roter- 
mund, President; Benjamin F. Filmore, Sec- 
retary ; Henry Rotermund, Treasurer ; Dr. 
A. W. Heise, D. Struckmann, Frederick 
Schmidt and H. Rotermund, Directors. 

In March, 1879, the charter was extended 
thirty years, or to 1909. 

Since the establishment of the company, 
business has increased steadily from year to 
year, all losses have been promptly paid, and 
the affairs managed satisfactorily to the mem- 
bers. 

There are now in force 2,022 policies, 
insuring $2,338,352 of property. 

The present assets are over $125,000. 

A general meeting of the members occurs 
annually, on the second Saturday in January. 

The quarterly meeting of Directors is held 
on the second Saturday in January, April, 
July and October. 

The officers for the current year (1882) are: 
Henry Bosenberg, President; Herman H. 
Korthauer, Secretary; Barney L. Franzen, 
Treasurer; H. Bosenberg, B. L. Franzen, 
Henry L. Glos, L. Wolf, Phillip Bohlander, 
John Longguth and Henry Kolze, Directors. 

The first church in Addison Township was 
organized in 1837 by Rev. E. Benberger. 

For three years, the services were held in 
a small log house on Louis Schmidt's farm. 

In 1840, Rev. F. A. Hoffmann assumed 
charge; there being no house provided for 
the pastor, he was obliged to live with the 
members, moving weekly from house to house. 
During 1840, a frame building was erected 
near the present site of the Evangelical Lu- 
theran Church, where services were held un- 
til 1847. 



ADDISON TOWNSHIP. 



293 



In 1847, Kev. Hoffmann severed his connec- 
tion with the church, and Rev. Ernest 
Brauer, a Lutheran minister, was installed, 
with the understanding that the services were 
to be conducted as formerly to suit both fac- 
tions of the congregations, one portion of 
which was Lutheran and the other Reformed 
Lutheran. 

About six months after, it became evident 
that the union services could not be contin- 
ued; accordingly, a division took place, the 
Lutherans retaining possession of the church, 
and the Reformed Lutherans, twenty-one in 
number, organizing under the name of the 
Evangelical St. Johanne's Society. 

The names of the first members were Henry 
Hoppenstadt, Fred Federke, Barney H. 
Landmeier, J. H. Schoppe, J. G. Landmeier, 
Fred Heine, H. Kolze, Fred Volberding, G. 
Eitermann, W. Niemeyer, John H. Franzen, J. 
H Korthauer, H. Kirchhop, Christian Dunter- 
mann, J. B. Schoppe, H. Volberding, John 
Franzen, H. Hartman, J. H. Duehna, G. H. 
Frazen, F. Dierking. 

A church was built in the winter of 1849- 
50, in Section 12. The first pastor of the 
new congregation was Rev. Wucherer, who 
died one year after taking charge. He was 
succeeded by Rev. Ulrich Moecklin, who re- 
mained until his death, which occurred in 
1868. Rev. Peter Lehmann then assumed 
charge, and was their pastor until 1880. 
Under his pastorate, a handsome church, a 
parsonage, schoolhouse and a dwelling for 
the school teacher was built, eighteen acres of 
land purchased, besides expending a large 
sum in beautifying the church grounds and 
cemetery. 

Rev. Mr. Lehmann resigned in 1880, 
and was succeeded by Rev. Bower, who 
is the present pastor. The church is in 
a flourishing condition, having over 400 
members. 



The following is a list of the business and 
professional men: 

C. A. Franzen, lumber, grain, coal, flour 
and feed. 

P. J. Tiedemann, dry goods, groceries, 
crockery, etc. 

Christian Hiebenthal, Postmaster, grocer- 
ies, boots and shoes. 

Hermann H. Korthauer (Notary Public), 
stoves, agricultural implements and general 
hardware. 

Henry Ernsting, merchant tailor. 

Herman Fiebrandt, tinner, also dealer in 
hardware, etc. 

Louis Harkmann, hotel. 

Christian Koch, hotel. 

Louis Schroeder, blacksmith. 

Charles Martin, blacksmith. 

Charles Sandhagen, wheelwright. 

Henry Wellner, furniture, burial cases. 

Frank Ort, harness, saddles, etc. 

Christian Bauche, mason. 

Henry Schmidt and Louis Biermann, 
manufacturers of tow. 

August Seuf, butcher. 

Frank Hornbostle, butcher. 

William Struckmeyer, butter and cheese. 

Gustaf Gutche, shoemaker. 

Frederick H. Bates, M. D., physician and 
surgeon. 

A. D. Swenson, V. S., veterinary surgeon. 

The town of Addison occupies the extreme 
northeastern corner of Du Page County. Its 
surface is generally quite level, but its drain- 
age good, as its elevation is sufficient to make 

O O 

it so. Its soil is of the best quality, produc- 
ing corn, oats and other cereals in great abun- 
dance. But the dairy business is getting to 
be its chief agricultural interest. The ex- 
tensive groves of this town have been, and are 
I still, of great value to the farmers, affording 
abundance of lumber for fencing, as well as 
a large supply of fuel. They have also 



294 



HISTORY OF DU PAGE COUNTY. 



served a valuable purpose in modulating 
the extremes of summer and winter, and 
have proved a substantial inducement to 
settlers. 

There are now live school districts in the 



have been built, which, together with the lit- 
erary institutions of the village of Addison, 
place the town high in the scale of scholastic 
education. The school census shows the num- 
ber of persons between the ages* of six and 



town, in each of which good schoolhouses | twenty-five in the town to be 525. 




PART II. 





TCHES, 



PART II. 



BIOGRAPHICAL SKETCHES. 



ETAPERYILLE TOWNSHIP. 



FRANCIS P. ABBOTT, farmer, P. O. Na- 
perville, is a native of Ireland, born in the year 
1832, and received but a limited schooling. In 
1851, he came to the United States, and in 
October of that year to Du Page County, 111., 
and worked on a farm by the month for two 
years and four months for one man, and then 
some six years he lived with his mother and 
sister, and worked at odd jobs. He then 
rented a place, and began farming on his own 
account, renting some eight years. He then 
bought a place of his own, and in 1868 came 
to his present place, which contains 100 acres 
located three and one-half miles northwest of 
Naperville. March 29, 1864, he married Miss 
Tamar Simpson, a native of New York. She 
came to Du Page County with her parents. 
By the marriage there are two children Arthur 
E. and Nora M. He is Republican in politics. 

MARTIN BROWN, merchant, Naperville, is 
a native of Lancaster County, Penn., born Au- 
gust 3. 1831, and is the third in a family of five 
children born to David and Mary (Fry) Brown, 
natives of Lancaster County, Penn.; their 
parents were also born in Lancaster County ; 
David and Mary were married in Lancaster 
County, where she died in 1838, leaving five chil- 
dren, all of whom are now living, and grown up. 



About 1839, David married Elizabeth Clinson, 
a native of Lancaster County. He was a black- 
smith by trade, but during the last nine years 
of residence in Pennsylvania he followed farm- 
ing. In 1&44, he came, with his family, in 
company with thirteen other families, to Naper- 
ville, 111., the company being induced to settle 
in this neighborhood by Bishop Seibert, of Lan- 
caster County, who had traveled as missionary 
in this vicinity. The party bought land here, 
and Mr. Brown farmed until about 1867, when 
he sold his place. In 1865, he engaged in mer- 
cantile business with his son, Martin, and was 
connected in mercantile business in all about 
five years, and lived retired thereafter until his 
death, November, 1875. Mrs. B. is living here 
in Naperville. Five children, all of whom are 
living. He served as Road Commissioner in 
Naperville Township; also Assessor. Was a 
member of the Evangelical Church. Our sub- 
ject lived at home until the spring of 1851, 
when he went to Chicago and engaged as clerk 
in the general goods business, wholesale and 
retail, where he remained two years. He then 
determined to go to California, and went via 
New York and Nicaragua route, arriving at 
San Francisco March 24,1853. Remained a 
little over two years, engaged in mining, and 



BIOGRAPHICAL: 



had fair success. Returned to Naperville, and 
worked on the farm for four years. He had 
sent money home, which was invested in land, 
and had to wait until he improved it in order 
to realize upon it, which he did, and in 1860 
engaged as clerk for Mr. Yount, and continued 
about two years. He then, with his father, 
bought out the business of Mr. Yount, and 
continued about two years, when Mr. Brown, 
ST., withdrew and Mr. E. Holler became 
a partner, and continued five years, Mr. M. 
Brown being the sole proprietor since. In 
1856, he married Miss Catharine C. Rickert, 
a native of Pennsylvania, who died in October, 
1869, leaving three children Emma, Lincoln 
and Mary. In 1871, he married Miss Mary A. 
Barr, a native of Pennsylvania, who has borne 
two children Clarence and Irvin. Has been 
connected with the Evangelical Church since 
1843. 

B. B. BOECKER, grain and coal dealer, 
Naperville, is a native of Prussia, born in 
1840, and lived in his native land about twenty 
years ; received a fair education, including a 
high school course. At the age of sixteen, 
he began clerking, and at nineteen he went 
into the army and served as volunteer one 
year. In I860, he came to the United States 
and vicinity of Naperville, where a friend lived, 
and worked several years on a farm. He then 
went to Germany and married Miss Annie 
Ohn ; returned to Naperville and farmed two 
years. He then sold his farm and engaged 
in the lumber business and hay press ; con- 
tinued nine years ; sold out and bought his 
present business ; has served as Alderman and 
Mayor, and is now the Supervisor of Lisle 
Township. He deals in grain and coal, and is 
doing a very thriving business. He has three 
children Theodore, Adolphine and Arnold. 
He is a Democrat. 

D. C. BUTLER, clerk, with W. Scott & Co., 
Naperville, was born in Burlington, Vt., in 
1825, son of Roswell and Ruth (Worden) But- 



| ler, natives of Vermont, in which State they 
were married. Roswell Butler was engaged in 
the lumber business and conducted a farm. He 
I was also interested in a paper-mill and a flour- 
mill ; he died about the year 1830 ; his wife 
came West about 1849 or 1850, and lived in 
Naperville with her sister, Mrs. H. L. Peaslee, 
i until her death, which occurred about the year 
1868. The subject of this sketch received a 
common school education, and afterward took 
an academic course. In May, 1838, he came 
to Naperville with his brother-in-law, Mr. H. L. 
Peaslee, and assisted in the latter's store till 
1840, when he returned to Vermont and at- 
tended school two years. He then moved to 
Chicago, where he clerked in a grocery store 
two years ; thence to Naperville, and again en- 
gaged with Mr. Peaslee, remaining with him 
until he sold out his business, about the year 
1853, and continuing on five years longer in the 
same store in the employ of Mr. Peaslee's suc- 
cessor. In 1858, he formed a partnership with 
H. L. Peaslee, and conducted a general store 
for a year. In 1861, he engaged as Sutler in 
; the Eighth Illinois Cavalry, but afterward sold 
; his business at Washington, D. C., to Col. Bev- 
| eridge. and returned to Naperville and engaged 
! in the hardware business two years. He after- 
: ward engaged as clerk for Robert Naper tor 
two years, and for two years longer with Na- 
per's successors, then as book-keeper for the 
Chicago Ale and Malt Company four years. 
He then returned to Naperville, clerked two 
years in grocery business for L. G. Kent, and 
then engaged with W. Scott & Co., with which 
firm he has since been employed. In 1851. he 
married Freedom Herrick, a native of Vermont, 
who came to Naperville with her mother about 
1 the year 1849. Mr. Butler has been School 
; Trustee two terms, and was President of the 
Board of Naperville for the year 1862. 

DR. J. A. BELL, of the firm of Drs. Bell 
& Nauman, Naperville, is a native of Morgan 
County, Ohio, born March 19, 1838 ; came to 



NAPERVILLE TOWNSHIP. 



Illinois with his parents about the year 1853, 
and settled in Knox County. He received his 
education at Hedding Seminary, of Abingdon, 
Knox County, and began reading medicine in 
1858 with Dr. Andrew McFarland, Superintend- 
ent of the Insane Asylum of Jasksonville, 111., 
under whose tuition he remained until 1861. 
In that year, he enlisted in the Tenth Illinois 
Infantry ; was detailed as Assistant Surgeon 
in the general hospital at Cairo ; served in that 
capacity and on detached duty until December, 
1861 ; then served in the field until August, 
18(52, when he resigned his position and re- 
turned to Jacksonville ; thence he went to 
Cambridge, 111., where he practiced his profes- 
sion until 1866, and in 1868 came to Naperville, 
where he has since been engaged in the practice 
of medicine ; since he came to Naperville, he 
has taken the degree of M. D. at the Hahne- 
niiinn Homoeopathic Medical College of Chicago. 
In 1861, he married Miss Elizabeth Eagle, a 
native of England, who came to the United 
States with her parents, and settled in the vi- 
cinity of Jacksonville, 111. From this union 
two children have been born. The Doctor is a 
member of the Illinois State Institute of 
Homoeopathy. 

BISHOP BARTHOLOMEW, farmer, P. 0. 
Warrensville, is a native of Whitehall, Wash- 
ington County. N. Y., and was born in the year 
1817 ; he was raised on the farm, and received 
a common school education. In 1837, he came 
West ; he went on the Erie Canal to Buffalo, to 
Detroit by the lakes, and, in company with sev- 
eral others, drove by team to Lake Michigan, 
thence to Chicago by boat ; he had $75 when 
he landed in Chicago, and felt that he would 
not give his $75 for the town. He footed it to 
Xaperville, and stopped with Mr. Z. Jones, who 
was formerly neighbor with him East. In 
1838, he married Elrnina Jones, daughter of 
Mr. Z. Jones. She died about 1848. After 
his marriage, he farmed on shares a number 
of years, and then bought a place adjoining his | 



present place, but afterward traded for his 
present place, where he has lived for the past 
twenty-eight years. In 1850, he married Miss 
Asenath McFerren, a native of Vermont ; they 
were married in New York, and came here to 
Du Page County. They have two children 
Henry and Nettie. By the first marriage there 
were three children Susan, Darius and Emma. 
He owns 200 acres of land located on river, 
three miles of Naperville. He is a Republican. 

AMOS BUTZ, farmer, P. 0. Naperville, is a 
native of Lehigh County, Penn., born in the 
year 1811, was raised on the farm and received 
a common-school education. At the age of 
twenty-two, he married Esther Wenner, a native 
of Lehigh County, Penn. He lived at home 
until he was twenty-seven years of age, and then 
bought a place of his own, which he farmed 
until 1845 ; he then came West by team to 
Illinois, and stopped about a month at Naper- 
ville, where he bought his present place, and ; 
except three years' residence in Naperville, has 
lived here since. He owns 116 acres, located 
one and a half miles northwest of Naperville. 
He is a Republican, and has served as School 
Director in his district for some ten or twelve 
years. By the marriage there have been six 
children, five of whom are living Abigail, 
George, Owen W., Aaron, Eva Louise, Anna 
Eliza. He is a member of the Evangelical As- 
sociation since 1835. 

PHILIP BECKMAN, harness, hides and 
leather, Naperville, is a native of Bavaria, born 
in 1836, and received a common-school educa- 
tion up to the age of thirteen ; then apprenticed 
to his trade, and served three years, and came 
to America and stopped nearly two years in 
Cleveland ; thence to Chicago, where he worked 
for about five years. In 1859, he came to 
Naperville, worked as jour until April, 1864, for 
Martin Ward, when he bought him out, and 
continued to the present time. He married 
Miss Elizabeth Pfeiffer in Chicago, in 1858, a 
native of Germany. They have eight children 



6 



BIOGRAPHICAL: 



Pauline, Carl, Mattie, Ellen, Libbie, Lula, 
Bernice and Philip, Jr. Is a Republican. 

ANTONI BAPST, retired blacksmith, Na- 
perville, was born September 25,1817, in Alsace, 
Germany ; is a son of Joseph and Ursal Bapst. 
He came to this county in 1846, and worked 
at the blacksmith's trade at Naperville, which 
he began at the age of sixteen. In 1862. he 
abandoned the business and moved on his 
present farm of eighty acres, near the village, 
in Naperville Township. He was for a few 
years engaged in a grocery store in Naperville ; 
was married in 1849 to Caroline Cooney, who 
blessed him with nine children, viz. : Marv, 
Fannie, Joseph, Antoni, Carrie, Frank, Louisa, 
Annie and Helen. He and wife are the arti- 
ficers of their own fortune, having started their 
married life with $20. They are members of 
the Catholic Church. 

HON. HIRAM H. CODY, P. 0. Naperville, 
is a native of Vernon Center, Oneida Co., N. Y. 
He was born June 11, 1824, and is the son of 
Hiram Cody and Huldah, n6e Hitchcock. His 
paternal grandparents, Samuel Cody and Su- 
sannah, ne'e Carroll, were among the pioneers 
of Oneida County. The former was a soldier 
in the Revolutionar}- army ; the latter, with 
pardonable pride, traced her lineage to Charles 
Carroll, of Carrolltou. His maternal grand- 
parents. David Hitchcock and Mercy, nee Gil- 
bert, formerly of Connecticut, but during many 
years residents of Hamilton, Madison Co., N. 
Y., were universally respected for their many 
virtues. Hiram's parents took a deep interest 
in his early eduaction, and intended to give 
him the advantage of a thorough course of study 
in Hamilton College, five miles from their home. 
Their design was that he should enter the legal 
profession, and in all his instruction, both at 
school and under private tuition, this purpose 
was kept in view, and, being well known to him, 
made a very deep impression upon his hopes 
and aspirations for the future. A sad disap- 
pointment, however, awaited him. His father, 



who was engaged in mercantile business, was 
by a sudden reverse of fortune compelled to re- 
sume the occupation of his earl}- life, that of 
shoemaking. Hiram, the eldest of the five 
children, then about sixteen years of age, was 
expecting to enter an advanced class in college 
the following year, instead, however, he volun- 
tarily left his school and assisted his father in 
the support of the family, pursuing his studies 
afterward to some extent under private instruc- 
tion. This circumstance, though it seemed a 
great calamity, and the destroyer of his highest 
hopes and aspirations proved to him a blessing 
in disguise, by inducing his removal to the 
West and settlement in Illinois. In 1843, with 
his father's family, he removed to Lisbon, Ken- 
dall Co., 111., and one year later the family set- 
tled at Bloom ingdale, Du Page County. In 
1847, Mr. Cody removed to Naperville, having 
beenjelected Clerk of the County Commissoners' 
Court of Du Page County. Two years later, 
upon the adoption of the constitution of 1848, 
he was nominated by acclamation, and in 1849 
elected the first County Clerk of said county, 
and during the six years he held the office 
he applied himself to the study of law. and 
finally, was admitted to the bar, after which 
he retired from public life and devoted him- 
self to his profession. Politically, his views 
were Democratic, but during the war of the re- 
bellion his earnest efforts and eloquent appeals 
in behalf of the Union cause will ever be re- 
membered by his fellow-citizens, and it was to 
these that Du Page County was largely indebt- 
ed for her brilliant record made during the war. 
In 1861, in a convention assembled without 
distinction of party, he was nominated and af- 
terward almost unanimously elected County 
Judge of Du Page County. In 1869, he was 
elected a delegate to the Constitutional Con- 
vention, and was one of its most useful mem- 
bers, being elected by votes irrespective of 
party. He acted with a small number of inde- 
pendents who in the convention really held the 



NAPEKVILLE TOWNSHIP. 



balance of power, which they so used that party 
spirit was more nearly banished from that as- 
sembly than from any deliberative legislative 
body that ever convened in Illinois. He was 
the chairman of the important committee on 
Revision and Adjustment. In 1874, he was 
elected to succeed the Hon. S. Wilcox as Judge 
of the Fourth Judicial Circuit of Illinois (com- 
posed of the counties of Kane, Du Page and 
Kendall) by the largest majority ever given in 
the circuit, every town in his own county giv- 
ing him a majority, and in the three south 
towns, which have been his home since 1847, 
out of a total vote of 1,021 he received 1,007. 
During his official term as Circuit Judge, the 
Appellate Court was organized and the State 
redistricted, the counties of Lake, McHenry, 
De Kalb and Boone being combined with Kane, 
Du Page and Kendall, forming what is now 
known as the Twelfth Judicial District. At 
the end of his term, the Republicans of the new 
circuit held a convention and nominated a party 
ticket for the three Judges then to be elected, 
which resulted in the retirement of Judge Cody 
from the bench, though he was largely sup- 
ported as an independent candidate by those who 
were opposed to making political nominations 
for judicial offices. Although the district had 
a Republican majority of about 12,000, and 
was well organized, the Judge lacked but about 
2,000 votes of being successful against the 
regular party nomination. Immediately after 
the election in 1879, he commenced the practice 
of his profession in Chicago, having formed a 
copartnership with Messrs. B. H. and N. E. 
Gary, the firm being as Gary, Cody & Ga^, 
and having an extended and rapidly growing 
practice. In the fall of 1880, Judge Cody was 
nominated by the Democrats first for the office 
of State Senator for the Fourteenth Senatorial 
District, and soon after for Representative in 
Congress for the First Congressional District, 
both of which nominations he declined. As a 
Judge, he was peculiarly free from prejudices, 



and his thorough investigation of the law, his 
clear perceptions and his careful, deliberate 
and correct opinions made for him a most en- 
viable reputation at home or abroad. During 
his whole term as County Judge, no appeal was 
| ever taken from his decisions, and of the ap- 
j peals taken during his term as Circuit Judge 
over 81 per cent were affirmed by the Supreme 
Court. Judge Cody was married, December 
31, 1846, to Miss Philomela E. Sedgwick, 
daughter of Parker Sedgwick, M. D., formerly 
of Lowell, Oneida Co., N. Y., but since 1843 a 
resident of Du Page County, 111., where he is 
widely known as an eminent and successful 
physician. Mrs. Cody is a lady of intelligence 
and refinement, esteemed for her earnest piety 
and her true womanly qualities ; a devoted 
wife and fond mother. They have from early 
life both been members of the Congregational 
Church. 

HARLOW CROSIER, farmer, P. 0. Naper- 
ville, 111., is a native of Berkshire County, 
Mass., born in the year 1812 ; was raised on 
the farm and received a common-school edu- 
cation. At the age of twenty, he apprenticed 
to the carpenter's trade, and the next year be- 
gan drawing wages. In 1837, he went to Ohio 
and clerked in a tavern in Mentor, and in 1839 
he married Miss Mary S. Nowlen, a native of 
New York, and soon after the marriage came 
to Naperville, 111., and the next year began 
farming near the village, and about two years 
later came to his present place, where he has 
lived since. During his residence here, he has 
worked alternately between farming and build- 
ing, he having built most of the buildings in 
this' vicinity. By the marriage there were six 
children, of whom five are living. Mr. Crosier 
is a Republican in politics. He owns eighty- 
six acres, located on the railroad, three miles 
west of Naperville. 

NATHANIEL CRAMPTON, farmer, P. 0. 
Naperville, was born in Connecticut in 1815 ; 
was raised on the farm, received a very limited 



8 



BIOGRAPHICAL : 



education,|and at the age of twelve years moved 
to Benson, Vt., with his parents. On attaining j 
his majority, he came West, and stopped with 
Robert Strong, who lives in Will County, 111., 
near the Du Page County line. Here he re- 
mained for a time, assisting in the erection of 
a barn ; then went to St. Charles and took a 
claim, which he sold next season ; then came 
to this county. Here he bought for $400 a 
claim of 160 acres, located four miles west of 
Naperville, on the Naperville & Oswego road, 
where he lived until 1878, when he retired from 
farm life and moved to Naperville, where he 
has since resided. On the farm is a fine grove, 
which Mr. Crampton set out about the year 
1870. In 1839, he married Lucy Dudley, a 
native of Connecticut. They have had five 
children, three of whom are living, viz. : Mil- 
ton, Rosetta and May. Mr. Crampton is a 
zealous member of the Congregational Church ; 
has held the office of Supervisor for his town- 
ship and President of the Du Page County 
Agricultural Society. 

EDGAR G. CRANE, farmer, P. O. Eola, 
111., is a native of Naperville Township, Du 
Page Co., 111. He was born in the year 1837, 
and is the third of seven children born to David 
and Catharine W. (Stolp) Crane, who were na- 
tives of Wayne County, N. Y. They came West 
in 1835, and settled on the present place, where 
he lived until his death, June 2, 1849. Mrs. 
Crane lived on the place a number of years, 
when she married Mr. Edgar Galloway, and 
moved to Wayne County, N. Y., where she now 
lives. Our subject was raised on the farm ; he 
received a common-school course of study. On 
becoming of age, he went by team to California, 
and lived there and in Oregon for seven j-ears. 
He was principally engaged in mining. In 

1866, he returned home, and, in the spring of 

1867, went to Montana and mined for a year and 
a half; he then returned and bought out the 
heirs to the place. In January. 1869, he mar- 
ried Miss Salinda M. Griswold, a native of 



Wayne County, N. Y. By the marriage there 
have been five children, of whom three are liv- 
ing George S., Edith May and Charles F. He 
owns 243 acres located on the west county line, 
three miles northeast of Aurora. 

W. M. CRAMPTON, farmer, P. 0. Naper- 
ville, is a native of Du Page County, 111., born 
in the year 1844, and is the third of five chil- 
dren born to Nathaniel and Lucy H. (Dudley) 
Crampton. Our subject was raised on the pres- 
ent place, and received a common-school and 
academic course of study. In 1862, he entered 
the Post Quartermaster's Department as clerk, 
and was located at Springfield, Mo. In 1864, 
he enlisted in the One Hundred and Fifty-sixth 
Illinois Infantry, Company D, and became Ser- 
geant of his company, and served until the close 
of the war, when he came home and occupied 
one of his father's farms, adjoining the present, 
and farmed there until 1873, when he went by 
railroad to California, and lived there for five 
years, during which time he was engaged as a 
clerk with the Central Pacific Railroad Com- 
pany, and located at Oakland and San Fran- 
cisco, though he always lived in the latter 
place. He then returned East, and occupied 
the present place, where he has lived since. In 
1869, he married Miss Minnie A. Kimball, a na- 
tive of Wisconsin ; she came to Naperville, 111., 
with her parents. By the marriage, there are 
two children Genevieve and Florence. Mr. 
Crampton is Republican in politics. In Janu- 
ary, 1882, he was elected President of the Du 
Page Count}' Agricultural Society. 

M. C. DUDLEY, attorney, Naperville, is a 
native of Oswego, N. Y., born October 7, 1820, 
and is the fifth of a family of nine children 
born to Asa and Levina (Olcott) Dudley, who 
were natives of Vermont and Connecticut. In 
May, 1839, he with his family, wife and five chil- 
dren, came West and settled in Bloomingdale 
Township, where one of his married daughters, 
Mrs. Kent lived. He occupied a piece of land 
and took the claim and bought of Government, 



NAPERVILLE TOWNSHIP. 



and farmed the same. Mrs. D. died in winter 
1862-3, after which he lived with his children, 
and in 1868 died at the home of his daughter, 
near Norwood Park, in Cook Count}'. He was 
aged eighty -three, and was one of the early 
County Collectors ; was a Baptist. Our sub- 
ject was educated in New York, principally. 
He early began clerking in a general merchan- 
dise store. At first, when he came West, he 
assisted on the farm, and began teaching ; he 
then worked about two years in a store at 
Peoria, when he returned home and married 
Miss Lucinda Willey, a resident of Du Page 
County ; then entered a claim and followed 
farming until 1853, when he was elected County 
Clerk, and served until 1861. During the 
latter part of his term he, in company with 
David Hate, engaged in general merchandising 
in Naperville, firm of 31. C. Dudley & Co., and 
continued until about 1868, when the business 
was closed up. In 1869, Mr. D. was elected 
County Judge, serving until 1873, since which 
time he has practiced his profession. During 
his terms of office, he read law, and was ad- 
mitted to practice. While County' Judge, he 
was appointed Master in Chancery. His busi- 
ness is principally in that and the County 
Court. He has had born to him five children, 
three of whom are dead, the other two, daugh- 
ters, are living, Ida and Eva. He is a Baptist 
and a Bepublican. 

ELI H. DITZLEB, Naperville, of the firm 
of Ditzler & Hosier, dealers in general mer- 
chandise, was born in Stark County, Ohio, in 
1841, second child of a family of four born to 
Jonathan and Esther ( Alspaugh) Ditzler, natives 
of Pennsylvania. Jonathan Ditzler, who was a 
carpenter by trade, removed with his family to 
this county in 1844 or 1845, and settled in 
Naperville, where he followed his trade until 
his death, which occurred September 18, 1880. 
His wife is still living on the old homestead. 
Our subject received a fair education, and at 
the age of fifteen engaged as clerk in the gen- 



eral store of W. Scott & Co., where he remained 
until 1861. In that year, he enlisted in Com- 
pany E, Eighth Illinois Cavalry. Reserved three 
years, during which time he participated in the 
battles of Beverly Ford, Rappahanuock Station, 
Fair Oaks. Gettysburg, Boonesboro, and all the 
other engagements in which his regiment took 
part. During his last year of service, he was 
detailed as Orderly to Gen. Chapman. In Oc- 
tober, 1864, he returned to Naperville and re- 
sumed his former occupation until February, 
1867, when he formed a partnership with 
Joseph Hilligas in a general merchandising 
business. In 1870, Mr. Hilligas sold his in- 
terest in the business to Alvin Scott, who, in 
1873, sold to Mr. Hosier, the business being 
since conducted under the firm name of Ditzler 
& Hosier. In the spring of 1882, he was ap- 
pointed Treasurer of Lisle Township; has 
served as Village Treasurer for some time. In 
1870, he married Celia A. Babcock, a native of 
Ohio, and at the time of her marriage a res- 
ident of Cook County, 111., who has borne him 
six children, viz.: Hugh W., H. lone, Wenona 
A., Guy E., Lyman B., J. Elmo and Bell Eloise. 
3Ir. Ditzler is a Republican, and polled his first 
vote while in the army. 

XAVIER DRENDEL, farmer, P. 0. Naper- 
ville, is a native of Alsace, France, now Ger- 
many, and was born in the year 1829. He was 
brought up a farmer, and received a common 
school education. He came to the United 
States of America in the year 1846 with his 
parents. Xavier and Theresa (Rhode) Drendel ; 
they were natives of France, and settled in 
Milton Township, Du Page Co., 111., and they 
lived there a number of years, and then moved 
to a farm near by, located in Lisle Township, 
where he died February 15, 1872. Mrs. Dren- 
del owns the old homestead in Lisle, and lives 
with her son-in-law, Mr. Swartz. Our subject 
was seventeen years of age when his folks 
came to the United States of America ; he lived 
at home with his parents until he was twenty- 



10 



BIOGRAPHICAL: 



five years of age, when he went to California 
and lived there two years ; he followed mining, 
and met with fair success ; he went via Pana- 
ma, and returned by the Nicaragua route. In 
the fall of 1857, he married Miss Elizabeth 
Winkler, a native of Alsace, France ; she came 
to the United States of America with her parents 
in 1845, and settled in Will County, 111. By 
the marriage there have been eight children, 
seven of whom are living, four boys and three 
girls. After his marriage, he lived on. the old 
homestead, and in 1869 came to his present 
place, and has lived there since. He owns 200 
acres of land located two miles west of Naper- 
ville. He is a Democrat. 

R. H. DICKINSON, farmer, P. 0. Naper- 
ville, is a native of Otsego County, N. Y., born 
in the year 1834 ; he was raised on the farm 
and received a common school education, and 
taught a short period, on becoming of age. He 
began business on his own account as news 
man, and two years later he became Deputy 
Route Agent on the Syracuse, Binghamton & 
New York Railroad, which position he held 
until 1861, when he enlisted in the Twenty- 
seventh New York Volunteer Infantry, Com- 
pany D, and served two years. He was in the 
first battle of Bull Run and Gaine's Mills. After 
his first year's service he was detailed as Mail 
Agent under Gen. Slocum. After he was mus- 
tered out, he remained with the command as 
News Agent a number of months. He returned 
home and engaged with the United States Ex- 
press Company and resided in Binghamton, 
and in the spring of 1868 came West prospect- 
ing, and in August following located on his 
present place. In 1863, he married Miss Edna 
R. Bennett, a native of Broome Count}-, N. Y. 
They have two children Lewis E. and Lee A. 
He owns 100 acres located on the railroad, two 
miles west of Naperville. 

JOHN DRISSLER, grocer, Naperville, is a 
native of Lehigh County, Penn., born in'1813. 
His parents were poor and his education was 



limited to one month's attendance at the dis- 
trict school. When about twelve 3 T ears of age, 
began working among his neighbors. When 
he became eighteen years of age, he appren- 
ticed to the blacksmith trade, at which he 
served two years and a half; then engaged in 
farming a few years, after which he followed 
teaming about ten years. In 1845, he came to 
Naperville, where he worked a farm on shares, 
and also engaged in teaming to Chicago. From 
1851 to 1865, he was engaged in the furniture 
business, keeping also a stock of groceries, and 
in 1865 sold out the furniture stock, and en- 
gaged in the grocery business exclusively. In 
1876, he sold out his business, and in 1880 
opened his present place, where he has since 
been engaged in the grocery trade. In 1835, 
he married Mary Gilbert, a native of Pennsyl- 
vania, who died March 8, 1872, leaving one 
child William, now a member of the police 
force in Chicago. In May, 1874, he married 
Mrs. Mary Raisley, formerly Miss Mary Stucker 
a native of Pennsylvania. She is the mother 
of five children, one boy and four girls, by her 
first marriage. Mr. Drissler is an adherent of 
the Republican party. 

GEORGE EHRHARDT, boots and shoes, 
Naperville, of the firm of Ehrhardt & Brother, 
dealers in boots and shoes, was born in Alsace, 
France, now German}-. He was apprenticed 
to the shoemaker's trade at the age of fifteen, 
and served three years. He then worked at his 
trade till twenty years of age, when he entered 
the French Army. While in the army, he 
worked at his trade for his regiment, remaining 
till 1852, when he emigrated to the United 
States. In the spring of 1853, he came to 
Naperville, where he has since remained, en- 
gaged in the boot ane shoe business, in part- 
nership with his younger brother, Jacob, whose 
sketch appears elsewhere in this work. In 
1858, he married Louisa Kagler, a native of 
Alsace, France, now Germany, who has borne 
him two children Julia and Carolina. Mr. 



NAPERVILLE TOWNSHIP. 



11 



Ehrhardt is a Democrat and a member of the 
Lutheran Evangelical Church. 

JACOB EHRHARDT, boots and shoes, is 
a native of Alsace, France, born in 1831. At 
the age of fifteen, he was apprenticed to the 
shoemaker's trade, at which he served three 
years. He then worked with his father until 
1854. In that year, he emigrated to the United 
States, and joined his brother, George, in Na- 
perville, with whom, after working a few years 
at his trade, he entered into partnership in the 
boot and shoe business. In 1864, the brothers 
built a store in Naperville, where they have 
since carried on a retail boot and shoe busi- 
ness, doing a good trade. He married, in 1868, 
Mary Catherine Sturm, a native of Alsace. 
From this union three children have been born, 
viz. : Emilia, Minnie and Henry. Mr. Ehr- 
hardt has held the office of City Trustee. He 
is a Republican and a member of the Lutheran 
Evangelical Church. 

JOHN EHRHARDT, of the firm of J. Ehr- 
hardt & Co., manufacturers and retail dealers 
in boots and shoes, is a native of Alsace, France 
(now Germany), born September 12, 1841. His 
father was a shoemaker, and subject learned 
that trade, beginning when fourteen years of 
age. In 1859, subject came to the United 
States, and settled in Naperville, where his 
brothers, who had preceded him, then lived. 
He worked at his trade with his brother till 
July, 1861, when he enlisted in Company C, 
Seventh Illinois Infantry, was chosen Corporal 
of his company, and remained in service until 
the close of the war. He participated in 
the engagements of Fort Donelson, Pittsburg 
Landing, Corinth, was in the Atlanta cam- 
paign, the " march to the sea " and through 
the Carolinas, and was with Gen. Corse at Ala- 
toona Pass. In 1865, he returned to Naper- 
ville, worked at his trade till 1873 ; then opened 
a shop and engaged in business, in company 
with Mr. Gushart. In 1867, he married Maria 
Nadelhoffer, who was born in Alsace and came 



; to the United States in 1860. They are the 
parents of two children, one of whom is liv- 
ing, viz., Maria S. Mr. Ehrhardt is a member 
of the German Lutheran Church. He is a Re- 
publican. 

HON. LEWIS ELLSWORTH, agriculturist, 
P. 0. Naperville, is a son of Nathan and Bet- 
sey B. (Palmer) Ellsworth. He was born at 
Walpole, N. H., July 22, 1805, and lived in his 
native State until his eighteenth year, when he 
moved to Rutland County, Vt, where he learned 
the tailor's trade. In 1827, he went to Troy, 
N. Y., and engaged in the merchant tailoring 
business. In 1836, he sold his business and 
made a trip West, buying an improved Govern- 
ment claim of some four or five hundred acres, 
and in 1837 he opened a general store in Na- 
perville. During this year, he also built a 
frame house on his land, and occupied the 
same with his family in October. In 1848, he 
sold his general store business, and in 1850 en- 
gaged in the nursery business, which he has con- 
ducted until the present time. In December, 
1828, he married Miss Chloe M. Skinner, a na- 
tive of New Lebanon, N. Y. She died October 
16, 1876. Of the five children, two are living. 
In 1839, Mr. Ellsworth was elected the first 
Probate Judge of Du Page County, and served 
four years. He is deeply concerned in the sub- 
ject of agriculture, and from its earliest days 
in Illinois he has taken a leading part. He was 
one of the incorporators of the Union Agricult- 
ural Society (which was the first held in 
Northern Illinois) and subsequently became its 
Vice President and President. He was one of 
the organizers of the county society and also 
one of the constituent members of the State 
Agricultural Society organized at Springfield 
in 1853, and served as its President during the 
years 1859-60 ; also at present a member of 
the State Board of Agriculture. 

WILLIAM FEY, farmer, P. 0. Naperville, 
was born October 7, 1819, in Schuylkill County, 
Penn. ; is the son of Rudolph and Eve (Snyder) 



12 



BIOGRAPHICAL: 



Fey. natives, the former the same county as 
the subject, and the latter Bucks Count}'. 
They were the parents of five children, viz. : 
William, George, Joseph, Paul and Lewis. The 
father was a weaver by trade ; the parents 
were Lutherans. Mr. Fey had some school 
advantages and has always been a farmer ; was 
married, in 1841, to Esther Hoy, the union re- 
sulting in eleven children, all of whom are liv- 
ing Albert, Henry, William, Lydia (Mrs. 
Abert Rickert. who died December 11, 1877), 
Laura (Mrs. Charles Lefler), Elizabeth (Mrs. 
Henry Houser), Emma (Mrs. Joseph Good), 
George, Lewis, Morgan and Anna. Our sub- 
ject came to Illinois in 1854, settling at Naper- 
ville, and soon after rented a farm in Lisle 
Township. In 1855, he bought 145 acres, a 
part of his present farm of 251, on which he 
settled and has remained since. He started 
with scarcely anything but stout hands and a 
willing heart, having experienced man}' hard- 
ships in Pennsylvania. He has been no office 
seeker, yet has served in some of the smaller 
offices. He has always been a temperance ad- 
vocate, and has reared his large family without 
the use of coffee or tea. He nor none of his 
boys ever used tobacco, a very rare case 
indeed. The family are members of the Evan- 
gelical Association at Naperville ; vote the Re- 
publican ticket. 

THOMAS FINLEY, dealer in ice, Naper- 
ville, was born in Massachusetts in 1822. Is 
the second child of a family of seven children 
born to Alexander and Elizabeth (McCray) Fin- 
ley, natives of the North of Ireland. Alexander 
Finley, subject's father, came to the United 
States with his wife and one child about the 
year 1821, landed at Boston, Mass., and settled 
in Meadville, Penn. In 1839, came to Naper- 
ville, where he followed farming, and died in 
1856 ; his wife died in 1858. Subject received 
a common-school education, and lived with his 
parents on the farm till 1850, when lie organ- 
ized a company of thirteen men, and went by 



the overland route to California, where he re- 
mained four years engaged in mining. He then 
returned home, but soon after started on his 
second trip to California, taking with him forty- 
four horses, of which number he had but seven 
when he reached his destination, the rest hav- 
ing either died or been stolen on the way. 
After remaining in California three years en- 
gaged in mining, he returned home in 1857. 
bought a farm in York Township, this county, 
| occupied it three years, then sold it and bought 
j a place near Warrenville, this county, where 
I he farmed for six years, then sold out and came 
to his present place, where he has since fol- 
lowed farming. In 1875, he built an ice-house, 
and has since been engaged in the ice business. 
In 1858, he married Mrs. Butterfield, formerly 
Miss Ann Bennett, a native of this county, her 
father being one of the pioneer settlers ; they 
have a family of three children Charles H., 
Samuel A. and Frances. Mr. Finley is a 
supporter of the Democratic party. 

JOSEPH S. FERRY, farmer, P. 0. Aurora, 
111., is a native of Washington County, N. Y.; 
he was born in the year 1829, and is the young- 
est of three children born to Sylvanus and 
Rhoda (Wilson) Ferry ; they were natives of 
Massachusetts and New York. He was a tan- 
ner, and moved to New York when a young 
man, and married there. In the spring of 1 835, 
they moved to Terre Haute, Ind., and occupied 
a place belonging to his brother-in-law, and 
worked at his trade in the town. In 1 838, they 
moved to Warrensville, in Du Page Co., 111., 
and rented his brother-in-law's (Joseph Wilson's) 
place. The next year he bought a claim, and 
soon afterward Mr. Ferry died. The family 
continued on the place until about 1845, and 
Mrs. Ferry lived with her son thereafter until 
her death in 1879. Our subject was raised on 
the farm, and received but a limited course of 
study in the district schools. When he was 
sixteen years of age, he bought, with the help 
of his uncle, fifty-three acres of land, and, with 



NAPERVILLE TOWNSHIP. 



13 



his mother and sister, occupied the place, which 
he farmed with a yoke of oxen. About 1850, 
he sold the place and bought 120 acres close 
by, and farmed it until 1868, when he moved to 
Aurora to obtain school facilities for his family, 
and lived there six years, during which time he 
built and sold property. He then came to his 
present place, and has lived here since. He 
owns 600 acres, which is divided into three ad- 
joining farms, located two and a half to three 
miles east of Aurora. In 1855, he married Miss 
Sophronia B. Kenyon, a native of Washington 
County, N. Y. She came to Du Page County, 
111., with her parents about 1853. They have 
three children Adelaide, Jennie and William. 
Mr. F. attributes his success to industry and 
economy. He is a Republican in politics. 

ROBERT FREEMAN, retired, Naperville, 
was born in Meadville, Penn., February 21, 
1809. He learned the trade of carpenter and 
joiner, and in 1833 moved to Chicago, where 
he followed his trade for ten years, after which 
he moved to his farm, located in Du Page and 
Will Counties, part of which he had bought as 
early as 1837. He followed farming until 
1876, when he built his present elegant brick 
residence. Mr. Freeman has been thrice mar- 
ried in 1841, to Miss Adaline Bordman, a na- 
tive of New York ; she died September 10, 
1859 ; of their children, two are living 
Mrs. Emma M. Wescott, of Naperville, and 
Eliza Jane Morris, of Keya Paha, Nebraska. 
He married, December 11, 1861, Miss C. J. 
Dewey, a native of New York ; she died 
March 14, 1866, leaving two children Arthur 
R. and Ella C., living at home. The present 
Mrs. Freeman, formerly Mrs. Brown, is a na- 
tive of Du Page County, 111.; her maiden name 
was Miss F. B. Wescott. By the present mar- 
riage there is one child Jessie. Though not 
an office holder, Mr. Freeman has been an act- 
ive partisan, an Old-Line Whig, a strong anti- 
slaver3' man, and a Republican in politics. In 
1820. he became a Presbyterian and continued 



in his faith until he came to Naperville, when 
he joined the Episcopalian Church, in the af- 
fairs of which he has taken an active interest 
D. N. GROSS, merchant, Naperville, is a na- 
tive of this county, born in Lisle Township 
December 1J, 1837, and is the sixth child of a 
family of seven born to George Conrad and 
Salome (Dather) Gross, natives of Bavaria, 
Germany, he born in Limberg, in July, 1796, 
she in Giersbach, July 13, 1804. George Con- 
rad Gross was married in his native land, May 
28, 1825, where two of his children were born. 
In 1832, he, with his family, emigrated to the 
United States, and located in Pennsylvania, 
where he followed farming until 1835 ; then 
came to Illinois and settled on a farm in Lisle 
Township, this county, where he lived until 
1844, when he moved to a farm in the town of 
Naperville, where he died in March, 1850. His 
widow, a number of years after his death, mar- 
ried Jacob Snibley, and lived in Lisle Town- 
ship until her death in May, 1864. Our subject 
began working for himself at the age of fifteen, 
and lived with his brother. When seventeen 
years old, he was apprenticed to the carpenter 

\ and joiner trade, and served with the late John 
Collins, of Naperville, three and one-half years, 
and, having learned his trade, worked with his 
employer until the breaking-out of the late 
war. In September, 1861, he enlisted in Com- 
pany E, Eighth Illinois Cavalr}', was detailed 
as Orderly to Gen. Sumner, and served until 
Jnne 30, 1862, when he was wounded in the 
battle of White Oak Swamp, Va., and remained 
in the hospital in Baltimore until December 13, 
1862, when he was discharged, the severity of 

' his wound having necessitated the amputation 
of his foot. During his term of service, he par- 
ticipated in the engagements of Yorktown, 
Williarasburg, on the Chickahominy, Fair Oaks, 
Savage Station, being wounded the last day of 
the Seven Days' fight. Mr. Gross was an eye 
witness of the naval battle between the Merri- 

1 mac and the Monitor. On deing discharged, 



14 



BIOGRAPHICAL: 



he returned to Naperville. In 1863, was 
elected County Treasurer. Was elected to that 
office three terms, but, owing to the removal of 
the county seat, served but five years. In 
1869, he received the appointment of Postmas- 
ter, which position he held until the spring of 
1882, when he bought a mercantile business in 
Brownsville, Mo., which he conducts at the 
present lime, though he still retains his resi- 
dence in Naperville. He married, January 4, 
1864, Mary E. Dudley, a native of Lisle Town- 
ship, this county. They have five children 
Bertha C., Cheeny C., Dean D., Mary S. and 
Fred A., and also living with the family, Ade- 
line M. Smith, an adopted child of Mrs. Dud- 
ley. Mrs. Gross' sister, now a missionary, will 
also become one of the family. Her mother, 
whose maiden name was Mary Barrows, organ- 
ized and taught the first public school in Chi- ! 
cago. 

HOWARD H. GOODRICH, attorney, Na- 
perville, is a native of this county, born in Lisle 
Township September 25, 1852, was raised on 
the farm, and attended the district schools till 
he was seventeen years of age, when he en- 
tered the Beloit, Wis., College, which he at- 
tended one 3'ear, then, upon the removal of the 
Northwestern College to Naperville, he entered 
that institution, where he completed his classi- 
cal course, graduating in 1876 with the degree 
of M. A., and the honor of valedictorian of j 
his class. After his graduation he taught dis- ! 
trict schools one term. In the spring of 1877, : 
he began reading law with Judge H. H. Cody, : 
and the same year attended the Union College 
of Law, Chicago ; in 1879, he passed an exam- ( 
ination by the Appellate Court, and was ad- 
mitted to the bar by the Supreme Court in ses- 
sion at Mount Vernon, 111. In 1880, he received ' 
the degree of A. M. Began the practice of his 
profession at Naperville, and soon after entered 
into partnership with Samuel W. Smith, who 
however withdrew from the partnership Janu- 
uarj- 1, 1882, and went to Iowa. Mr. Goodrich 



is the eldest child of a family of four born to 
Charles H. and P. Jane (Turner) Goodrich. 

FRANK S. GETSCH, of the firm of Strauss 
& Getsch, manufacturers of the Naperville 
plows, Naperville, is a native of this county, 
born in Milton Township in October, 1850, 
third child of a family of six children born to 
Anthony and Philisitus (Hilts) Getsch, resi- 
dents of this county ; subject was raised on 
the farm, and at twelve years of age hired 
out by the month, and worked on the farm of 
L. Meacham a year and three months : thence 
to Kankakee County, 111., where he worked on 
a farm for a year. He then returned home, 
where he remained a year ; then in 1865 en- 
listed in Company H, Twenty-third Illinois In- 
fantry, and remained in service till the close of 
the war ; then came home, and worked on a 
farm till 1866, when he went to Danby (now 
Prospect Park). There he apprenticed to the 
blacksmith trade, at which he served three 
years and four months, then came to Naper- 
ville, where he worked in the fork shops; worked 
a year in plow works in Chicago, also a year in 
South Elgin Fork Shops, and finally in 1876, 
became partner in present business. In May, 
1876, he married Frances Bapst, a native of 
Naperville ; they have two children, viz., Will- 
iam and Edwin. 

DAVID B. GIVLER, editor Clarion, Naper- 
ville, is a native of Ashland Count3 r , Ohio ; born 
November 20, 1841, and is the fifth in a family of 
seven children born to Solomon and Leah 
(Brown) Givler. They were natives of Lan- 
caster County, Penn.; he was a farmer and 
moved to Ohio, settling on a farm in Wayne 
County ; thence to Ashland County, where they 
farmed until 1851 ; then came to Illinois, and 
settled on a farm in the vicinity of Naperville, 
where he lived until his death, in December, 
1868. He took an active interest in politics, 
and was a Republican ; member of the Evan- 
gelical Church. Mrs. Givler is living in Na- 
perville with her son, David B. Our subject 



NAPERVILLE TOWNSHIP. 



15 



was raised on the farm, where he lived until 
1861, when he enlisted in the Seventh Illinois 
Infantry, Company ; served during the war ; 
was in the battles of Fort Henry, Fort Donel- 
son, Pittsburg Landing, Corinth, Alatoona Pass 
and the Atlanta campaign, and was with Sher- 
man at the surrender of Johnston. He returned 
in 1865, and farmed for one year; he then worked 
as clerk in the grain warehouse at Naperville 
one year. Tn 1868, he bought the Du Page 
County Press, and has published since, having, 
in 1869, changed the name to the Naperville 
Clarion. January 24, 1864, he married Miss 
Abbie Matter, a native of Pennsylvania. (Mr. 
G. married while home from the army on fur- 
lough.) They have six children, three sons and 
three daughters. Mr. G. has served as Justice 
of the Peace, Police Magistrate, Collector, etc., 
etc. 

WALTER L. GOOD, Naperville, house and 
carriage painter, is a native of Lehigh County, 
Penn., born in 1843 ; son of Charles and Mary 
Ann (Miller) Good, natives of Lehigh County, 
Penn., and who were the parents of eleven 
children, subject being the third. Charles 
Good, subject's father, was raised on a farm ; 
learned the tailoring trade. In 1846, he came 
to Naperville, where he learned the painter's 
trade, which he followed until his death, which 
occurred in Naperville in the spring of 1867 ; 
his widow married Mr. Jacob Trumbauer, and 
now resides in Polo, Ogle County, 111. Walter 
L. was raised in Naperville, received a fair ed- 
ucation, and, when eleven years of age, began 
working with his father at the painter's trade, 
remaining till he was seventeen years of age. 
He then went to Chicago, where he worked for 
three years ; then enlisted in Company H, 
Seventeenth Illinois Cavalry ; was chosen Cor- 
poral ; afterward promoted to a Sergeancy, and 
mustered out after a two years' service. His 
regiment operated principally in Missouri, and, 
though in no pitched battles, was constantly 
employed among the guerrillas ; was ten weeks 



on the Price raid, fighting in the battles of Lex- 
ington, Independence and others. At the end 
of his service, he returned to Naperville and 
worked at his trade, with his father, until the 
death of the latter, since which time he has 
worked on his own account. In 1867, he mar- 
ried Sarah Rickert, a native of Geneva, 111., 
who has borne him one child Charles W. Mr. 
Good has held the office of Village Trustee for 
some time ; he is a Republican. 

MICHAEL HINES, Naperville, Justice of 
the Peace, was born in Londonderry, Ireland, 
April 9, 1803, son of Michael and Jane (Walk- 
er) Hines, who emigrated to Canada and set- 
tled on a farm near the Vermont State line. 
At the age of eighteen years, our subject was 
apprenticed in Montreal, Canada, to his trade, 
and served three years. He then worked for a 
time at Grand Isle, in Lake Champlain, and 
in Vermont. In 1834, he came West, stopped 
in Chicago about a year, and, in 1835, came to 
Naperville, and engaged in business in part- 
nership with a friend, Samuel Talmadge. He 
afterward bought out Talmadge's interest, and 
continued business alone, being very success- 
ful ; he built several stores on water street, 
which were swept away in the ice gorge during 
the big flood, his loss being over $10,000. He 
married Lucetta Stephens daughter of Capt. 
John Stephens, who was one of the old pioneers 
of this count}', and who served during the 
Black Hawk war ; the}' have had five children, 
of whom three are living Thomas S., agent of 
the Chicago, Rock Island & Pacific Railroad at 
Moline, 111. ; has been in the employ of that com- 
pany since his discharge from the army ; he 
served three years in the Eighth Illinois Cav- 
alry ; Mrs. Holman,of Creston, Iowa ; and Mrs. 
Smith, of Naperville. In March, 1850, he started 
by the, overland route for California, in company 
with Stephen J. Scott, and accomplished the 
journey in four months and seventeen days. 
After mining for two years in California, he re- 
turned home via the Isthmus of Panama and 



16 



BIOGRAPHICAL: 



New York ; while on the way, he bought a par- 
rot in the city of Menargo, said to be at that 
time forty-two years old. This parrot lived 
with the family in Naperville till it died, in | 
1882, being, therefore, seventy-two years old ; 
Mr. Hines has had it stuffed. Mr. Hines has 
been Presidentof the Board of Village Trustees ; j 
was two years Trustee, and is now serving his 
third term as Justice of the Peace ; he is a 
Democrat. While living in Chicago, he bought l 
a block of land on La Salle street, containing j 
one-half acre, for $150, and sold it the follow- j 
ing year for $1,150. 

JAMES J. HUNT, hardware and agri- 
cultural implements, Naperville, is a native of 
Crawford County, Penn.; was born in the year 
1824, and is the fourth child in a family of nine 
children born to James N. Y. and Sarah (Jewell) 
Hunt, natives of Vermont. He, a blacksmith, 
moved, when our subject was six years of age> 
to Erie, Penn. Our subject received a common- 
school education ; at eighteen, went into his 
father's shop, and at nineteen he visited the 
West, spending one summer in Naperville ; 
then returned home. He married Miss Nancy 
Converse, a native of Erie County, Penn., in 
1843 ; she died in 1872, in Colorado, where she | 
had gone for her health. After his marriage, j 
he lived in Erie one year, then came, in fall of ! 
1844, with his father, mother and six children j 
to Naperville. Subject worked one year here 
in plow shop, and. in 1846, opened a blacksmith 
shop upon the present site of his store, and con- 
tinued about twelve years. Soon after coming 
here, his father and mother moved to De Kalb 
County, where the}' died. He was elected 
Sheriff in 1856, and has served one term since. 
He engaged in the livery business as early as 
1855, and was identified with the business until 
about 1861. He then sold out his business, en- 
listed in the Thirteenth Infantry, and was 
elected Captain of a company. [He had pre- 
viously held the office of Captain of a militia 
company of Naperville, which he had raised.] 



He took his company to Dixon, 111., where he 
turned his office over to Judge Blanchard. He 
had held the office of Major in militia of Penn- 

_sylvania, where he raised a company. He re- 
turned home from Dixon and raised another 
company, and notified Gov. Gates, who an- 
swered that he should disband. He bought 
new stock, having sacrificed his property to go 
to the army, and continued the livery business 
about one year. About 1861, he engaged in his 
present business, buying a small stock of goods 
from another man. The business was small, 
and his sons conducted the same, but when the 
war was over he engaged regularly in the busi- 
ness, which at first was principally a tin shop, 
but gradually grew to what it is now. In 1858, 
he built the present building, where he carries 
on business. He was formerly a Whig, but is 
now a Republican. Has had nine children, four 
of whom are living. He was married, Septem- 
ber 3, 1874, to Miss Lucia A. Davis, a native of 
New York ; no children from second marriage. 
The four children living are Frank W., partner 
with his father ; Charles C., in father's store ; 
James E., now in Dakota ; Eva E.. at home. 
Mr. Hunt has been Justice of the Peace and 
Police Magistrate over twenty years ; during 
the entire time, never had a verdict changed by 
Circuit Court, nor lost a prisoner during his 
term as Sheriff. He has liberally supported 
the enterprises of this community. 

GEORGE H. HUNT, proprietor Naperville 
Creamery, is a native of Madison County, N. 
Y.; he was born March 6, 1847 ; his father, 
Anson Hunt, was a farmer, and George was 
raised on bis father's farm, and received a dis- 
trict school and academic course of study, ob- 
taining a good commercial education. In 1864, 
his father engaged in the creamery business, 
his being the first creamery in Madison County. 
Our subject assisted in his father's business. 
At the age of twenty he married Miss Estella 

j Tuttle, of Madison County, N. Y., and after the 
marriage he began as foreman in a creamery, 



NAPEBVILLE TOWNSHIP. 



19 



and continued in that employ in Madison and 
Boone Counties until 1873, when he took a trip 
West, stopping one year as an officer in the 
State Reform School of Wisconsin, at Wauke- 
sha. He then engaged as foreman of C. W. 
Golds' Creamery at Elgin, 111., where he re- 
mained for three years, when in 1874 he came 
to Naperville and rented a building, and con- 
ducted a creamery for three years, then built 
his present factory, 36x60 feet and two stories 
high, and, being built after his own direc- 
tions, is a model of convenience. Mr. Anson 
Hunt died here in Naperville in 1878. Mrs. 
Hunt, formerly Miss Lydia Wilcox, is living 
here with her son. 

N. B. HOSLER, general store, Naperville, is a 
native of Lancaster County, Penn., born in 1831, 
fifth child of a family of six born to Benjamin 
and Elizabeth (Beamerderfer) Hosier, both na- 
tives of Lancaster County, Penn. Jacob Hosier, 
the father of subject, moved to Schuylkill 
County, Penn., in 1831, where he engaged in 
farming. In 1844, came to this county, and 
followed farming till 1870, when he retired from 
active life, and died in 1879 ; his wife died in 
1866. Subject worked on the farm till 1857, 
when he married Abigail Butts, a native of 
Lehigh County, Penn., who died in the fall of 
1870, leaving seven children, six of whom are 
living at home. After his marriage he rented 
a farm, which he worked three years. In 1866, 
he engaged as clerk with Mr. M. Brown, of 
Naperville, with whom he remained until the 
spring of 1869 ; then engaged in general mer- 
chandising in Bloomingdale, this county, for 
two years, and in 1872 became partner in the 
business in which he is at present engaged. 
He ran a threshing machine sixteen years, was 
also engaged in bu3'ing produce fora number of 
years. 

W. H. HILLEGAS, of Hillegas & Co.. hard- 
ware, agricultural implements, etc., Naperville, 
is a native of Pottsville. Sehuylkill County, 
Penn. ; born in 1840, and is the seventh in a 



family of eight children born to Joseph and 
Sarah Willtrout Hillegas ; they were natives of 
Berks and Schuylkill Counties, Penn. He was 
a gunsmith by trade, which he followed up to 
about 1840, since which he has been farming. 
In 1856, the family came to Naperville and 
bought a farm one mile west of the village, 
and occupied the same, where our subject lived 
for two years. He then engaged as a clerk 
with Mr. A. Friedly, in the hardware business, 
at Naperville, and continued with him until 
1867, when, in company with Mr. Louis Reiche, 
bought the business, and has conducted the 
same since, firm being W. H. Hillegas & Co. 
In 1865, Mr. Hillegas enlisted for one year, or 
during the war, in the One Hundred and Fifty- 
sixth Regiment Illinois Infantry, Company D ; 
was Orderly Sergeant, and served until dis- 
charged in September following, and returned 
to Naperville and took his position in the store. 
In 1862, he married Miss Mary Hartman, a 
native of Lancaster Count}', Penn., born 1840, 
and came to Du Page County, 111., with her 
parents when she was two years of age. They 
have three children, viz., Ida May, Charles W. 
and Harvey H. Is a Republican, and a mem- 
ber of the Evangelical Church since 1857, tak- 
ing an active interest in the Sabbath school, of 
which he has been Secretary a number of years. 
HERMAN HAMMERSCHMIDT, farming, 
P. 0. Naperville, is a native of Westphalia, 
Prussia ; he was born in the year 1830. He 
received, in addition to a common school educa- 
tion, two years' attendance at college. When he 
was eighteen years old, he came with his brother 
to the United States, and bought a farm in 
Naperville Township, Du Page Co., 111., and 
some eight years later Herman bought his 
present place and has lived here since. In 
1856, he married Miss Emma Van Oven, a 
native of Westphalia, Prussia. She came to 
the United States with her married sister in 
1852. By the marriage there have been ten 
children. He is a Republican, and has served 



20 



BIOGRAPHICAL: 



as Assessor for four years ; he has also served 
as School Trustee. He is a member of the 
German Lutheran Church, of which he has 
been Trustee a number of years, and has taken 
an active interest. He owns eight3' acres locat- 
ed three miles west of Naperville and six from 
Aurora. 

S. B. HILL, farmer, P. 0. Eola, 111., is a na- 
tive of the State of Maine, and was born in 
the city of Calais in the year 1823. He was 
raised on the farm, and received a common- 
school education. When he was eighteen years 
of age, he came West to Chicago, and traveled 
transient, stopping at Galena and in the pine- 
ries of Wisconsin. He then came to Warrens- 
ville in 1842, and rented a farm. He also ran 
a thresher, in company with Mr. Daniel Warne, 
until 1849, when he went to California. He 
went with a company of twenty-five men, they 
driving overland by ox teams. He lived about 
three years in California, during which time he 
followed mining and kept a butcher's shop in 
the mountains. He returned, via Panama, to 
Du Page County, and bought his present place. 
He married Miss Caroline, daughter of John 
Warne, of Michigan. She came to Du Page 
County in 1834 with her parents. By the mar- 
riage there have been six children, of whom 
three are living Annie, now Mrs. Paxton, liv- 
ing in this county; Howard, at home ; Lorin, at 
home. After his marriage, he lived on his 
farm, where he has lived since. He is a Re- 
publican in his politics. He is a member of 
the M. E. Church. He owns 425 acres, located 
in Naperville and Winfield Townships, two and 
one-half miles north of Eola. He first bought 
about one hundred and sixty acres, and has 
added the rest since. 

CHARLES JENKINS, farmer, P. 0. Naper- 
ville, 111., is a native of Allegany County, N. Y. 
He was born in July, 1826 ; was raised on the 
farm, and received a common-school education. 
When he was sixteen years of age. he began 
working by the month for himself, and at the 



I 



age of nineteen he came West and stopped 
about six months in Du Page County, 111. He 
then worked about one year in Kane County, 
when he again came to Du Page County, and 
worked by the month until the spring of 1849. 
He then worked on the shares one year, and in 
1850 went overland by team to California, and 
lived there for two years, during which time he 
worked at mining. Returning by the Nicar- 
agua route, he rented his present place, and 
two years later bought it. Mr. Jenkins first 
voted for Gen. Taylor and has been a Repub- 
lican since the organization of the party. He 
has held the offices of Township Trustee, Road 
Commissioner, and has served as Supervisor 
for a number of years. In May, 1852, he mar- 
ried Miss Harriet H. Thatcher, a native of 
Wayne County, N. Y. She came West with 
her parents in 1839. By the marriage there 
are three children. He owns 219 acres of land, 
located three miles west of Naperville. 

H. W. KNICKERBACKER, Naperville, is a 
native of Rensselaer County, N. Y., born No- 
vember 20, 1813, and was raised on a farm. 
At the age of eighteen, he began reading law, 
and in October, 1833, he moved to Chicago, 
where his brother lived (Abram V., Assistant 
Superintendent with Capt. Allen in building the 
harbor); our subject went in the store of P. F. 
W. Peck, and in May, 1834, he came to Naper- 
ville and purchased a claim adjoining the town; 
he then went East and married, returning to 
his claim in the fall and built a frame house, 
considered at that time the best in Northern 
Illinois; though not very pretentious, he lived 
on his claim until 1843, when, upon the death 
of his wife, he went East, in the spring of 1844, 
and, in order not to lose his residence, he re- 
turned in the fall and voted for Henry Clay. 
His first wife was Miss Sarah Groesbeck, a na- 
tive of New York ; the}- had three children, all 
living. He engaged in mercantile business in 
Lansingburg, N. Y., and continued for twenty 
years. In 1847 or 1848, he married Miss 



NAFERVTLLE TOWNSHIP. 



21 



Clarissa A. Seelye, a native of New York. In 
1868, they came to their farm here at Naper- 
ville, where she died in 1875, after which he 
went East, and next year, he went to Adrian, 
Mich., where he engaged in mercantile busi- 
ness for about one year; he then again returned 
to Naperville, where, in 1877, he married Miss 
N. C. Cunningham, a native of Jonesboro, 
Tenn., daughter of Kev. J. W. Cunningham, and 
engaged as Preceptress and Professor of En- 
glish Literature in the Northwestern College of 
Xaperville. Mr. K. was the first Assessor in 
this county. During the war, he resided in 
Lansingburg, N. Y.; he took an active part, 
devoting his time and money to forwarding 
military affairs. He used his influence with 
Governor to establish a hospital at that joint. 
He had been the principal officer of the agri- 
cultural society, and through his influence they j 
gave the location for the hospital on which the j 
Government erected buildings costing over 
$100,000, and during the war our subject made 
daily visits with the surgeons, his object being 
to cheer the patients, who became greatly at- 
tached to him. Is a Freemason; was a Whig, 
and is at present a Republican, and a " no 
license " advocate, also a member of the Con- 
gregational Church. 

CHARLES H. KAYLER, Naperville Marble 
Works, Naperville, is a native of Germany, was 
born in 1837. In 1843, the family emigrated 
to the United States and settled at Cleveland 
Ohio, where Charles H. lived till he was twenty- 
three years of age, his father being engaged 
in agricultural pursuits. At the age of eighteen 
our subject was apprenticed to the marble-cut- 
ting trade, at which he served three years, under 
his brother John, who conducted the business. 
After completing his apprenticeship, he worked 
at the trade as journeyman till 1861, when he 
enlisted in the Sixth Ohio Cavalry, Company C, 
and served till the close of the war. During 
his term of service, he participated in the bat- 
tles of Winchester and Port Republic, and in 



all the engagements in the Shenandoah Valley, 
where his regiment operated under command of 
Gens. Fremont and Pope. At the close of the 
war, he returned to Cle