(navigation image)
Home American Libraries | Canadian Libraries | Universal Library | Community Texts | Project Gutenberg | Children's Library | Biodiversity Heritage Library | Additional Collections
Search: Advanced Search
Anonymous User (login or join us)
Upload
See other formats

Full text of "History of the early settlers of Sangamon County, Illinois : "centennial record""

THE UNIVERSITY 

OF ILLINOIS 

LIBRARY 



I 

X II i oo ws> H t-ertbr* -Su*- 




HISTORY 



OF THE 



EARLY SETTLERS 



OF 



SANGAMON COUNTY, ILLINOIS. 



CENTENNIAL RECORD. 



ASSISTED BY HIS WIFE, 

MRS. S. A. POWER. 



UNDER THE AUSPICES OF THE OLD SETTLERS' SOCIETY. 



SPRINGFIELD, ILL.: 

EDWIN A. WILSON & CO- 

1876. 



Entered according to Act of Congress, in the year 1876, by 

JOHN CARROLL POWER 
In the office of the Librarian of Congress, at Washington, D. C. 




SPRINGFIELD, ILL.: 
E. L. MERRITT & BRO., PRINTERS, 

1876. 



LIBRARY 

OF THE 

UNivcn:;:v cr !LL:;:O;S 



OUR OWN PRELUDE. 



^-p , 




OUR OWN PRELUDE. 



It is with unfeigned satisfaction that I write these closing words, for that is what" 
they are, although placed at the opening of the volume. 

It. will be found, by consulting the book, that in settling Sangamon county every 
one of the original thirteen States are represented, also every State organized before 
Illinois; and that the descendents of the early settlers of this county may be found in 
every State organized since Illinois; also in the District of Columbia, and in every 
Territory belonging to the United States government. Remarkable as it may appear, 
there is not a State or Territory in our whole nation but has some chord that centers 
in Sangamon county. Many European countries might be included also. Thus it 
will be seen that the homogeneous character of our whole people could not be more 
forcibly illustrated than by this volume. 

It is my hope that it will be an educator, in suggesting the idea of how to arrange 

o | and continue a family history. There are family histories presented here that will be 

'.' prized for many generations, and yet but few of them would ever have been written 

11 up by the families themselves. ' It is surprising that there are not more families who write 

up their own histories. Family pride is commendable, and, viewed properly, should 

^ be a powerful stimulant to right living, but it can have no reliable foundation without 

written history. Let a man rise to eminence and all'are eager to learn something of 

>- his origin and history. I could not cite a more remarkable instance of this than has 

already been developed in this county, in the history of Abraham Lincoln. There are 

I.P hundreds of families in the county from whom, to all human appearance, a great man 

} is as likely to spring as in the case mentioned, and yet they have no family records, or 

; if they do keep them, they only give dates without locating events. Look at your 

y family Bibles and see if you can learn from them where any event connected with 

your ancestors took place. You must remember, however, that this all requires labor. 

If you wish to test it, go to work and prepare a sketch of a numerous family such as 

you find here. 

I expected to complete this in one year, but when the magnitude of the work 

dawned on me I thought it might take two vt-ais. Nearly that time was >>pent in 

collecting the materials. The two years has doubk-d, and with four months added, 1 
find myself putting on the finishing touches. Thus you have the result of more than 
four years labor on my part, and about two years by Mrs. Power. She has, during 
that time, written nearly two thousand letters of inquiry to the descendents of early 
settlers, and has incorporated the information obtained by their replies, in the family 

86746 



OUR O WN PREL UDE. 



sketches to which they properly belong, besides rendering me much other valuable 
assistance, in all parts of the book. 

To Edwin A, Wilson, not only thanks, but much more substantial tokens of ap- 
proval are due. He has done that which none of the early settlers seemed disposed to 
do. Without his co-operation, in furnishing the sinews of war, I should not have 
undertaken the work. 

To Messrs. Preston Breckenridge, N. W. Matheny and N. M. Broadwell, the com- 
mittee of the Old Settlers' Society, who have so heartily entered into the spirit of the 
work, I not only tender my thanks, but venture to express the hope and belief that 
every family represented in the book will feel under lasting obligations to them for the 
impartial manner in which they have discharged the duties devolving upon them. 

To the families of the early settlers, who so kindly and courteously responded to 
my inquiries, and extended to me the hospitalities of their homes, I cannot find words 
to express the thanks I feel; but ardently hope that the perusal of the book will 
return to you some of the pleasure I enjoyed in visiting your families. In the book we 
lay before you, we think all will admit that every pledge has been more than redeemed. 
What I say about myself and rny associates will be seen the first time by them, as it is 
by you here in print. 

And last, though not least, I reverently bow with thanksgiving and praise to 
Almighty God, that He granted to me uninterupted health from the beginning to the 
end of this work. J- ^" P- 

SPRINGFIELD, ILL., December, 1876. 



SKETCH OF THE AUTHOR. 



FROM THE 

UNITED STATES BIOGRAPHICAL DICTIONARY. 

ILLINOIS VOLUME, PAGE 86 1876. 



TOHN C ^RROLL POWER was born September 19, 1819, in Fleming county, Kentucky, 
between Flemmgsburg and Mount Carmel. His grandfather Joseph Power, with 
six brothers older than himself, were all living near Leesburg, Loudon county, Vir- 
ginia at the beginning of the American Revolution, and all became soldiers m the cause 
of freedom Some of the elder brothers served through the whole seven years strug- 
<rle for Independence, the younger ones entering the army as soon as they arrived at a 
suitable age. Joseph was but sixteen years old when he enlisted, and that was during 
last year of the war. He was married a few years later, and, in 1793, started with 
his wJfe, children and household goods, on pack-horses, and in company with several 
other families crossed- the Allegheny mountains to Pittsburgh They descended he 
Ohio river in boats, landing at Limestone, now Maysville, and afterwards settled 
what became Fleming county, Kentucky. 

John Power, the second son of Joseph, born November, 1787,, in London county, 
Virginia, was the father of the subject of this sketch. He was a farmer in comfortable 
circumstances and the owner of a few slaves; but with his numerous fam.lv he could 
not send his children from home to acquire that education wh.ch ,s now to be obtained 
in district schools, within the reach of all; consequently this son of whom we wr 
grew to manhood without having mastered more than the simplest rudiment, of the 
English language. 

Like many other men who have struggled against adverse circumstances, he com- 
nftnced his education a, a period of life when he should have been ,n possess,. 
He takes pleasure in attributing to a great extent the measure .of success he 1 as attain- 
ed both morallv and mentally, to his selection ot a wife. He was marned May ,4, 
SS Miss S-arah A. Harris. The marriage was solemnized about ,wenty.s,x miles 
betw Cincinnati, in Aurora, Indiana. Miss Harris was born there Octobe, ,, 
1824, of English parentage. 

Her ^ndfathcr, on the maternal side, was the Rev. John Wadsworth, who was 
Rector off single parish of the Protestant Episcopal church near Manchester, England, 
more than a Ihiri of a century. His daughter Catalina was the mother ol Mrs. 
Power. 

On her father's side the history reaches back to her great-grandfather, William 
Fox, who was a wholesale merchant in London. He was also deacon of a Bapti 
church in that city. By his business travels he became conversant with the i 



SKETCH OF THE AUTHOR. 



and destitute condition of the poor people of the kingdom, and made an effort to in- 
duce Parliament to establish a system of free schools; but failing in that, he next un- 
dertook to persuade his friends to unite with him in organizing and supporting a sys- 
tem of week-day instruction so extensive that "every person in the kingdom might be 
taught to read the Bible." When he had gone far enough to realize that the magni- 
tude of the work was almost appalling, his attention was providentially drawn to the 
consideration of Sunday schools, in order to determine whether or not thev would an- 
swer the same pnrpose. Becoming convinced that they would, he zealously adopted 
the latter plan, and on the yth ot September, 1785, he organized in the city of London 
the first society in the world for the dissemination of Sunday schools. That society 
stood for eignteen years without a rival, and during that time it was instrumental in 
establishing Sunday schools ..wherever Christian, missions had unfurled the banner of 
the cross. 

William Fox had two sons and three daughters- The eldest daughter, Sarah, be- 
came the wife of Samuel Harris, a druggist of London. They had a son and daughter. 
The son, William Tell Harris, was married April 24, 1821, in England, to Catalina 
Wadsworth, daughter of Rev. John Wadsworth, as already stated. They came to 
America soon after their marriage, and settled in Aurora, Indiana. They have both 
been dead many years. Their only living child, -Sarah A., was educated at private 
schools, and a four years' course in Granville Female Seminary, an institution under 
the auspices of the Protestant Episcopal church, at Granville, Ohio, from which she 
graduated in 1842. After her marriage to Mr. Power, in 1845, a * his request she 
directed his studies, and when he began to write for publication she became his critic; 
in that way rendering the best possible assistance, which she continues to the present 
time. 

Mr. Power was brought up a farmer, but engaged in other pursuits a number of 
years, always cultivating habits of study and occasional writing, but without any 
thought of becoming an author until well advanced in life. He met with serious 
reverses about the beginning of the great rebellion; and at its close, finding himself in 
possession of a few thousand dollars, determined to return to agricultural pursuits. He 
accordingly removed to Kansas, purchased a farm and prosecuted the tilling of it for 
three years. The grasshoppers destroyed the crops of 1866 and 1867, and the drought 
of 1868 made almost a total loss of those three years, with all the expense of farming. 
In April, 1869, he accepted the first and only offer he ever received for his farm, 
returned to Illinois, and since that time has devoted himself almost exclusively to 
literary pursuits. 

His prize essay on Self-Education, for which the Illinois State Agricultural Society 
awarded him a premium in 1858, was revised and published in "Harkness' Magazine;" 
the editor expressing the opinion that those who read it would find it "one of the most 

profitable, instructive and mentally and morally invigorating essays they ever read." 



His "History of the Rise and Progress of Sunday Schools," published in 1864, by 
Sheldon & Co., New York, was his first publication in book form. It is the only con- 
nected history of that noble branch of Christian work ever attempted, and appears by 
common consent to be accepted as the standard authority on that subject. Mr. Power 
has written several books and pamphlets on various local subjects; also magazine 
articles on a great variety of topics. 



SKETCH OP THE AUTHOR. 



An open letter by him to the Postmaster-General, on the subject of addressing mail 
matter, is a brief and interesting magazine article. Some of his ideas are quite novel, 
and will bear investigation. The main point he aims to enforce is, that all mail matter 
should be addressed by first writing the name of the state in full, next the county, then 
the postoffice, and end with the name of the person or firm expected to receive it; thus 
reversing the order practiced from time immemorial. He considers that essay his con- 
tribution to the great American Centennial. 

Perhaps his most finished work is the latest his monumental edition of the "Life 
of Lincoln." It is a fitting tribute to the nation's martyred dead. His style is pecu- 
liarly clear, concise and original. He treats every subject most thoroughly and com- 
prehensively, yet with an ease and grace of manner that charms the reader. A gen- 
tleman of the highest literary attainments, connected with Madison University, 
Hamilton, New York, in a note to the publishers, says: "I have read your 'Life of 
Lincoln' by Power. It has the charm of a novel." 

Mr. Power is now engaged on a history of the early settlers of Sangamon county, 
Illinois, which, of course, includes the city of Springfield, his place of residence. This 
work, upon which he has spent more than four years' constant labor, will be issued in 
1876. It is awaited with expectant interest by his numerous friends. He has other 
literary work laid out, sufficient to keep him employed for years to come, and will 
doubtless continue in that pursuit the remainder of his days. 



EARL1 SETTLERS OF 



CONTENTS. 



PAGE. 

Additions, Omissions and Corrections ................................ 16 

Letter A .................................................... 73- 

B .......................................................... 87 

C .......... ..." ............................................. 165 

D .................................... ..................... 242 

' 



H ....................................................... 346 

.......................................................... 397 



. 
K ......................................................... 42 1 

L ......................................................... 435 

M ................ ................................... ...... 47i 

J? ............................................... : ....... '537 

......................................................... 54P 

p ..... ............................ ' ....................... 552 

*'. .................. . ................................... 59< 

o ....................... .............................. . ... 633 

T ........................................... ............. 6 99 

u .............................. .......................... 733 

V- ........................................................ 735 

W ........................................................ 745 

Y ....................................................... --789 

z ......................................................... 79 6 

Deep Snow ........ ............................................... 62 

Extract from 111. Vol. United States Biographical Dictionary ........... 5 

Historical Prelude ................................................. 25 

Long Nine ........................................................ 494 

Miscellaneous ..................................................... 62 

Note of 101 citizens ....... ............................. ............ 48 

Old Settlers Society ................................................ 9 

Ordinance of 1787 .............................. . ................. 27 

Our own Prelude ...... . .......................... ........... ' ...... 3 

Railroads ......................................................... 43 

Sangamon County ................................ ................. 31 

Springfield. .... ................. . ................................. 44 

State Capitals ..................................................... 45 

Sudden Change ................................................... 6=5 

Trayler Brothers ......................................... . ........ 720 

Wars Black Hawk ............................................... 54 

" Winnebago ................................................ 53 



OLD SETTLERS'* SOCIETY. 



ORGANIZATION 



OF THE 



OLD SETTLERS' SOCIETY OF SANGAMON COUNTY. 



ITS MEETINGS AND MOVEMENTS TO HAVE A 

HISTORY OF THE EARLY SETTLERS 

WRITTEN AND PUBLISHED. 



A call for a meeting of the early settlers of Sangamon county, Illinois, was drawn 
up May 25, 1859, by Pascal P. Enos, and circulated by him until sixty-one signatures 
were obtained, proposing a meeting of all those who were citizens of the county pre- 
vious to the winter of the "deep snow," 1830-31; for the purpose of organizing a 
society to preserve the history of Springfield and Sangamon county. The call was 
published in the Jotirnal and Register of May 27th, and the meeting was held June 
1st, and adjourned to June 15, 1859. 

The OLD SETTLERS' SOCIETY OF SANGAMON COUNTY was then organized by 
adopting a constitution, in which it was declared that all persons were old settlers who 
came to the co.untv previous to the "deep snow." Thomas Moffitt was chairman, and 
Pascal P. Enos secretary of the meeting. It was declared that October 2oth of each 
year should he celebrated as Old Settlers' Day, in honor of the first cabin in the county 
having been raised by Robert Pulliam, October 20, 181 7. It was also declared that 
until the first Monday in June, 1860, the officers of the society should be Thomas 
Moffitt, President, and Pascal P. Enos, Secretary. 

The old settlers and their descendents assembled on the morning of Oct. 20, 1859, 
in the vicinity, formed in procession, and, headed by a hand of music, marched to 
where the first cabin stood. Two wagons had been drawn together on the spot to 
serve as a platform. The President, Judge Moffitt, called the meeting to order, and 
the exercises were opened with prayer by Rev. Wm. S. Prentice, the presiding elder of 
the Springfield district of the M. E. church. The hand then played the red, white and 
blue, after which the Hon. James H. Matheny was introduced and delivered an oration, 
suitable to the occasion. Several other brief speeches were made after which they 
held a festival in picnic style, and thus passed the day, to the general satisfaction 
of all who assembled there. 

It was fully expected that those meetings would he held annually, but nine long and 
eventful years passed before the e arly settlers of the county held another reunion. The 
2 



io OLD SETTLERS^ S 



next year, at the proper time for holding the meeting, the whole country was abla/e 
with the political excitement of the campaign that terminated in the election of 
Abraham Lincoln one of the least pretentious of the early settlers of Sangainon 
county to the office of President of the United States. .Then followed war, that 
terminated in the abolition of slavery and the death of President Lincoln. 



RE-ORGANIZATION OF THE SOCIETY. 

July 28, 1868, a call appeared in the Jotirnal and the Register, proposing to hold 
a meeting at Clear Lake, seven miles east of Springfield, on the 2oth day of August. 
The call was signed by thirty-two of the early settlers. 

CLEAR LAKE, August 20, 1868. 

The meeting was called to order by the chairman of the committee of arrange- 
ments, Strother G. Jones, Esq. Exercises were opened with prayer by Rev. C. B. 
Stafford. Speeches were made by Munson Carter, Rev. John England, Gen. M. K. 
Anderson, and Samuel Williams, when they adjourned for dinner, which was taken in 
pic-nic style. After dinner Preston Breckenridge gave an account of his three first years 
in the county, 1834-5-6. The year 1835, ' ias always been remembered as a time of great 
suffering. Other speeches were made and the meeting adjourned. 



CLEAR LAKE, Aug. 20, 1869. 

The annual meeting of the Early Settlers' of Sangamon County was called to 
order at 12 o'clock by S. G. Jones, the President. After prayer by Rev. Mr. Holton, 
of Springfield, speeches were made by Rev. Dr. Bergen, Revs. C. B. Stafford and 
David England, and adjourned for dinner. After that, more speeches by J. Wickliffe 
Taylor, P. Breckenridge and J. H. Matheny. The meeting was then closed for the 
purpose of effecting a more permanent organization, which was done by enrolling 
eighty-six names of early settlers, of both sexes. They provided for future business by 
the election of P. Breckenridge, President; Samuel Preston and Strother G. Tones, 
Vice Presidents; John F. King, Secretary. 



CLEAR LAKE, Aug. 31, 1870. 

Mr. Breckenridge not being present, Vice President S. G.Jones called the meeting 
to order. Prayer was offered by Rev. Francis Springer, who followed that with an 
address. Brief speeches were made by Elisha Primm, David England and Samuel 
A. Grubb, and after dinner, Samuel Williams read a paper full of historical reminis- 
cences. Speeches were made by Cg>\. Thomas Bond of Taylorville, Joab Wilkinson 
of Macon county, and John Fletcher of Sangamon, and adjourned. 



IRWJNS GROVE, Sept. 23, 1871. 

Mr. Breckenridge called the meeting to order, and the exercises were opened with 
prayer by the venerable Daniel Wadsworth of Auburn. Thomas S. Parks, the 
secretary, read the minutes, followed by a brief 'speech from Samuel Williams. 
Governor Palmer was then introduced and made a speech depicting many scenes 



OLD SETTLERS'* SOCIETY. ir 



and incidents in the lives of the early settlers, not forgetting his own experience in 
courting, by taking his girl behind him on horseback to camp meetings, picnics, etc. It 
was regarded as the most mirth 'provoking speech ever delivered at an old settlers' 
meeting. After that came dinner, followed by a letter from General McClernand and 
speeches from J. H. Matheny and Hon. John T. Stuart. Then came the election of 

officers, as follows: 

P. BRECKENRIDGE, President. 

NOAH MASON, Vice President. 
THOMAS S. SPARKS, Secretary, 



Oak Ridge Park, adjoining Springfield on the north, SEPTEMBER 29, 1872. 
The meeting of the Old Settlers was called to order at eleven o'clock. As a change 
in the usual programme, the Society proceeded at once to the election of officers for 
the ensuing year. Job Fletcher was elected President, with seventy Vice Presidents, 
and Noah W. Matheny, Secretary. After dinner, General John A. McClernand was 
introduced and spoke about three-fourths of an hour in a chaste' and eloquent style. 
The next speech was by Rev. William J. Rutledge. He said that thirty-three years 
betore he had run a saw mill on Spring creek and sawed stringers used in laying the 
track of the first railroad ever built in the State of Illinois. The latter part of his 
speech was exceedingly humorous and closed amid a roar of laughter. Major Elijah 
lies then took the stand and in a conversational way related many interesting incidents 
of his experience among the early settlers. He was followed by Revs. J. D. Randall, 
of Edwardsville, and William S. Prentice and F. H. Wines, of Springfield. George 
R. Weber made the closing speech, and the meeting adjourned. 



PLEASANT PLAINS, August 29, 1873. 

The Old Settlers assembled in full force. A long train of cars well filled, came from 
Springfield, bringing the old settlers from all other parts of the county. The Presi- 
dent, Captain Job Fletcher, called the meeting to order, and an address of welcome 
ws delivered by Rev. John Slater, of Pleasant Plains. The exercises were formally 
opened with prayer by Rev. Mr. Lyon of the M. E. church. Governor Palmer \v;is 
then introd\ ced and made an excellent old settlers' speech in his usual mirth provoking 
style. Next came dinner, after which several more speeches, and then the following 
officers were elected for the ensuing year: Rev. Samuel M. Wilson, of Pleasant 
Plains, President; James Parkinson, Vice President; and N. W. Matheny, Secretary. 



Crow's Mill, or Cotton Hill, SEPTEMBER 10, 1874. 

The Old Settlers assembled in large numbers to-day, in Stout's Grove, to find that 
the most ample provision had been made for their comfort by the local committee, 
William Burtle, Philemon Stout, Davis Meredith and Job Fletcher. The President, 
Mr. Wilson, not having arrived, the meeting was called to order by Captain Fletcher. 
After a few short speeches, dinner was announced and partaken of with H keen relish 
by all. More speeches were then made, and a vote of thanks was tendered the retiring 
President, Rev. S. M. Wilson. The following officers were then elected: William 



12 OLD SETTLERS* SOCIETY. 



Burtle, President; Alexander B. Irwin and Dayis Meredith, Vice Presidents; Noah 
W. Mathenv, Secretary. 

CANTRALL, ILL., Aug. 21, 1875. 

The Old Settlers' of Sangamon and Menard counties held a union meeting here to- 
day. William Burtle, President of the Old Settlers' Society of Sangamon county as- 
sumed the chair, and the meeting was opened with prayer by Elder Vawter of Cant- 
rail. Speeches and feasting occupied the time until just previous to adjournment, 
when the following were elected as officers for the ensuing year: Alexander B. Irwin, 
President, E. C. Matheny, Secretary. 



Fair grounds, near SPRINGFIELD, ILLS., Aug. 31,' 1876. 

The Old Settlers' of Sangamon county, assembled here to-day by thousands. They 
came by the Chicago & Alton Railroad, in wagons and carriages, on horseback and on 
foot. Alexander B. Irwin, the President, being detained by sickness, the assembly was 
called to order by Gen. M. K. Anderson. Brief speeches were made, but the princi- 
pal one was by Hon. William H. Herndon. It was rich in incidents and anecdotes, 
and flashed with brilliant thoughts throughout. After this speech one hour was de- 
voted to dinner in pic-nic style. A few more short speeches were made and then the 
following were elected as officers' of the society for the next year: Alexander B. Irwin, 
President; Gen. M. K. Anderson, Vice President; E. C. Matheny, Secretary. 

OLD SETTLERS HISTORY. 

In June, 1872, I was called upon by Hon. Preston Breckenridge, who was then 
serving his third term as President of the Old Settlers' Society of Sangamon County. 
He stated, in substance, that the early settlers of the county had for some years been 
talking of having something written and published that would serve as a history of 
the county and biographical sketches of themselves; that thus far they had not found 
any person qualified for the work who was willing to undertake it. He further stated 
that a copy of the small pamphlet history of Springfield, prepared and published by 
myself, under the auspices of the Springfield Board of Trade, had fallen into his hands, 
and that after perusing it, and conversing with some of his friends who knew me, he 
determined to form my acquaintance, and see if I could be induced to engage in the 
enterprise. He very frankly told me there was no fund to defray the expense, that the 
only inducement they could offer would be their co-operation in collecting information 
and giving their subscriptions for the book. The following communication was the 
result of that interview : 

Hon. P. Breckenridge, President of the Society of Old Settlers of Sangamon 

Cozmty : 

SIR: You, as the representative of your society, having expressed to me a desire 
to have a book written and published, to preserve, as far as possible, the biographical, 
historical and other reminiscences of the early settlers of Sangamon county, and having 
requested me to suggest a plan upon which I would be willing to undertake such a 
work, I offer the following as my views upon the subject: The materials are so 
abundant, that I would not be willing to engage in it if I were required to compress 
all in a very small, cheap volume. I propose to undertake to write and publish a book 



OLD SB / TL ERS^ S O CIE 7 T. 13 

upon that subject, to contain not less than five hundred octavo pages, with a small map, 
showing all the townships, villages, towns and cities, with other objects of interest, in 
the county all to he printed on the best quality of book paper, and bound in the finest 
of English cloth, provided I can obtain subscriptions for one thousand copies at five 
dollars per copy. 

If this plan should meet the views of your society, I should expect old settleas to 
co-operate with me, by furnishing all the information they may respectively possess. 
It would be more satisfactory for those interested, if you would appoint a committee of 
three a majority of whom shall reside in Springfield to whom I can submit all copy 
for their approval, before publication. 

J. C. POWER. 
Springfield, Aug. 14, 1872. 

At a meeting of a committee of the Society of Old Settlers, on the fifteenth of 
August, the above communication was laid before them, whereupon the following reso- 
lutions were adopted: 

Resolved, That this society heartily endorses the proposition of Mr. Power, and 
we hereby pledge ourselves, as a society and as individuals, to co-operate with him in 
obtaining the requisite number of subscribers and in collecting information and com- 
piling the book. 

Resolved, That the President of this society, Hon. P. Breckenridge, is hereby re- 
quested to appoint two old settlers of this count)-, who reside' in Springfield, to act 
with himself, the three to form the committee to point out sources of information to 
Mr. Power, and examine his manuscript, for the purpose of correcting all errors before 
publication. 

Resolved, That for the purposes of this book, all persons are considered old 
settlers, who were citizens of Sangamon county previous to December 31, 1840. 

Mr. Breckenridge appointed Noah W. Matheny and Judge N. M. Broadwell as 
his colleagues so that the committee is composed of Hon. P. Breckenridge, Hon. N. 
W. Matheny, and Hon. N. W. Broadwell. 

The Old Settlers' Society by this action did all that was necessary to place the sub- 
ject in its true light before the public, but the undertaking was one involving so much 
time, labor and money, that nearly two months elapsed before I decided to go on with 
the work, when the following was added, and the canvassing commenced: 

With the view of rendering' the book of general interest to all the citizens, I shall 
make the history of the county as full as possible, to the date given in the third resolu- 
tion. In this history all old settlers will be incidentally mentioned, but for those who 
take sufficient interest in it to subscribe for one or more copies of the book, a concisely 
written biographical sketch will be given of themselves and families. The order of 
arrangement will be, first, the history, then the biographical sketches. 

At a meeting of the Old Settlers' Society in Springfield, August 22, 1874, for the 
purpose of agreeing on the time and place of holding the next annual festival, and for 
the transaction of any other business that might come before it, the following report of 
special committee was read, and on motion ordered to be included as part of the pro- 
ceedings of the meeting: 



14 OLDISETTLERS^ SOCIETT. 



GENTLNMEN: We, the undersigned, committee appointed by your honorable body 
two years ago this day, to co-operate with Mr. J. C. Power, and so far as necessary, 
direct his movements in preparing a history of the old settlers of Sangamon county, 
beg leave to report that we have examined his work, and find that he has canvassed 
the whole county outside of Springfield, and that we are highly pleased with the pro- 
gress made. Mr. Power has collected a much greater quantity of material than we 
had expected; and the work, when completed, we believe will be a source of much 
pleasure to the surviving Old Settlers, and of increasing interest to their descendents 
in all coming time. He is more than redeeming every promise made at the commence- 
ment, and it will amply repay all the patrons of the work to wait with patience the 
few months longer that will" be necessary to complete it. 

In view of the fact that there is such a vast fund of interesting information, we 
have advised Mr. Power that if there be any families of old settlers who do not take 
sufficient interest in the subject to aid by their subscription in carrying forward the 
work, that he omit any extended sketches of them, in order to devote more space to 
historical matters of general interest. 

PRESTON BRECKENRIDGE, 
N. W. MATHENY, 
N. M. BROADWELL. 

My time was fully occupied for nearly two years in writing up and arrangino- the 
materials in my hands, and incorporating additional matter constantlv coming in. 
This brought us to our "Centennial" year, and the following Joint Resolution was 
passed by the Senate and House of Representatives of the United States, and approved 
by the President, U. S. Grant, March 13, 1876: 

Be it resolved by the Senate "and House of Reprvsentatives of the United States of 
America, in Congress assembled, That it be, and is hereby recommended by the Sen- 
ate and House of Representatives to the people of the several States that thev assemble 
in their several counties or towns on the approaching centennial anniversary of our 
national independence, and that they cans* to have delivered on such a day an histori- 
cal sketch of said county or town from its formation, and that a copy of said sketch 
may be filed, in print or manuscript, in the Clerk's office of said county, and an addi- 
tional copy, in print or manuscript, be filed in the office of the Librarian of Congress, 
to the intent that a complete record may thus be obtained of the progress of our insti- 
tutions during the first centennial of their existence. 

Hon.J. L. Beveridge, Governor of Illinois, issued a proclamation April 25, 1876, 
recommending to the people in every county and town in the State, that they take 
measures to carry out the recommendations of the Joint Resolution of Congress. The 
following correspondence was in compliance with the recommendations: 

MR. J. C. POWER: 

Sir: As Congress has, by joint resolution, recommended to the people of the 
several States, that they cause to be prepared and preserved in a certain manner, histo- 
ries of the different places, "to the intent that a complete record may thus be obtained 
of the progress of our institutions during the first centennial of our existence;" and as 
the Governor of Illinois has by proclamation, called upon the people of this State to 
prepare such record, we, as Advisory Committee of the "Old Settlers' Society," of San- 



OLD SETTLERS' SOC1ETT. 



gam on county, in the absence of any action on this subject by the city or county 
authorities, suggest that your "History of Sangamon County" be supplied by you in 
compliance with the requirements of the resolution of Congress, as the Centennial 
record. 

Having examined two hundred and fifty pages of the advance sheets of your work, 
it appears to fill the requirements both as to Sangamon county and the city of Spring- 
field, and is more complete and full than any similar work could be, if gotten up and 
prepared in the brief time yet remaining for such business. 

NOAH W. MATHENY, 
N. M. BROADWELL, 
PRESTON BRECKENRIDGE. 
Springfield, 111., May 8, 1876. 



On behalf of the officers of Sangamon county we heartily concur in the foregoing 
suggestions, believing that the object desired will be completely attained thereby. 

JAMES H. MATHENY, County Judge. 
JOHN J. HARDIN, County Clerk. 



Messrs. Matheny, Broadvcell, Breckenridge^ Matheny and Hardin : 

Your note of the 8th instant is before me. In reply, I would say that my work of 
nearly four years' incessant toil on the history of the Early Settlers of Sangamon 
County is drawing to a close. I very willingly acquiesce in your suggestion that it be 
adopted as the "Centennial record." It is passing through the press as rapidly as pos- 
sible: two hundred and fifty of the six or seven hundred pages are already printed. It 
may not be entirely finished by the arrival of the Centennial anniversary, but when com- 
pleted I will have copies bound in the most durable manner, and deposited at the places 
designated in the joint resolution of Congress, with special reference to the pleasure it 
may afford your descendents in perusing its pages at our second Centennial anniversarv. 

Respectfully yours, 

J. C. POWER. 
Springfield, Ills., May 9, 1876. 

SPRINGFIELD, ILL., Dec. 21, 1876. 
1. C. POWER, ESQ.: 

Sir : Having given your book entitled, "History of the Early Settlers of Sanga- 
mon County, Illinois," a somewhat careful examination, we are free to say that it more 
than fulfills the promises made by you in undertaking the execution of the work. 

X. M. BROADWELL, J 

X. W. MATHKNY, / Committee. 

PRESTON BRECKENRIDGK, \ 



ADDITIONS, OMISSIONS AND COEEECTIONS. 



ABEL, ROSWELL, Sen., 
His wife, Mrs. Elizabeth Abel, died Aug. 
9, 1876, in Rochester, 111. 

ALEXANDER, JOHN S., 
See his name, page 77. His son WIL- 
LIAM, died Aug. 21, 1876, at Williams- 
, ville, 111., and was buried at Oak Ridge 
vCemetery, Springfield. 
N AMOS, Mrs. SARAH Seeker 
name, page Si. The name of her son, 
Judge Samuel K. Swingley, is there erro- 
neous 1 '// spelled Swinley. 

ANBERSON/Gen. MOSES 
K.. See iii.3 name, page 82. His son, 
WILLIAM WILKES, was married 
Aug. 14, 1876, near Hillsboro, Fleming 
county, Ky., to Emma L. Jones, a native 
of that county. He continues his studies 
at Transylvania University, Lexington, 
Kentucky. 

BEAM, JACOB H. See his name, 
page 105. He died Dec. i, 1876. 

BENNETT, Rev. WIL- 
LIAM T. See page in. His daugh- 
. ter, REBIE //., was married June 6, 
1876, to Geo. W. Freto, and resides in 
Mechanicsburg, Illinois. 

BRADLEY, WILLIAM, was 
born in 1786, in Gieen county, Kv., and 
was married there Sept. 20, 1810, to Eliz- 
abeth Crowder. They moved to Sanga- 
rnon county, arriving September, 1831, in 
what is now Ball township, bringing 
eight children, and had three born there. 
Of their children, the eldest 

MART, born Aug. 4, 1810, in' Green 
county, Ky., was married there to Jacob 
Greenawalt. See his name, page JJQ. 
He died and she was married Oct. 29, 1863, 
to Michael Fay, as his third wife. He 
was born July 18, 1824, i n Baden, Ger- 
many, and was brought by his parents to 
Sangamon county, in 1831. Mr. and Mrs. 
Fay reside in Cotton Hill township, south- 
west of New City, Sangamon county, 111. 
Mrs. Fay is the only one of her father's 
family living in the county. 

William Bradley died Dec. 20, 1849, in 



Sangamon county. His widow lives with 
her son, Thomas, near Owaneco, Chris- 
tian countv, Illinois 1874. 

BROWN, ROBERT T., See his 
name, page 150. His daughter, MAR- 
GERY I., was married Sept. 6, 1876, to 
Thomas S. Sawyer, and lives near Can- 
trail, Illinois. 

BULLARD, WESLEY. See his 
name, page 158. His son, JAMES R., 
born Oct. 10, 1846, died July" 16, 1876, in 
Mechanicsburg, Illinois. His son, JOHN 
N., was married May 10, 1876, in Spring- 
field, to Lillie May Pinckard, daughter of 
Thomas Pinckard, of the State journal 
office. . 

CALLERMAN, E VAN H., page 
169. He died September, 1876, in Wil- 
liamsville, Illinois. 

CANTRALL, JULIA, was married 
June 17, 1876, in Buffalo, 111., to William 
Campbell. 

CANTRALL, ZEBULON P., died 
April 24, 1876, at Chesnut, Illinois. 

CLAYTON, JOHN C., was 
born March 10, 1810, in Caldwell county, 
Ky. He came to Sangamon county in 
1829, with his cousin and brother-in-law, 
John S. Clayton. See his nume, page 
205. John C. Clayton was married Jan. 
24, 1^30, in Beardstown, Illinois, to Gin- 
sev (jane) Clack, who was born March 17, 
18*15, in Caldwell county, Ky., also. They 
had four children who lived to maturity. 
Mr. Clayton was a soldier in a company 
from Saugamon county, in the Black 
Hawk War of 1832. Early in 1856, he 
moved his family to the vicinity of Urbana, 
Champaign county, Illinois. Of their 
four children 

HUMBERT, born August 17,' 1839, 
in Alton, Madison county, 111., brought 
up in Sangamon county, married April 
14, 1867, in Decatur, Illinois, to Marietta 
Fry. They reside near Chatham, Sanga- 
mon county, Illinois. 

ELI AS W., born Oct. 6, 1843, in San- 
gamon county. In the war to suppress 



SANGAMON COUNTY. 



the rebellion, he became first lieutenant of 
Co. 13, 3d Alo. Cav., and was killed in 
battle at Little Rock, Arkansas, in 1864. 

JO1L\ HARD1N, born June 16, 
18-17, in Sangamon county, brought up in 
Champaign county, Illinois, and married 
at Neosho, Newton county, Missouri, 
May 7, 1875, to Justie E. W b'ster, who 
was born Nov. 19, 1854, at Pleasant .Hill, 
Cass county, Missouri. She is a graduate 
of Central Female College, Lexington, 
Missouri. Since 1874, J. H. Clayton has 
been a. member of the mercantile firm of 
Whitsitt & Clayton, and resides at Nevada, 
Missouri. 

ANNA E., born May 26, 1851,111 San- 
gamon county, brought up in Cham- 
paign county, Illinois, arid in 1868 went to 
make her home with an uncle in Missouri. 
She was married Sept. 21, 1871, to C. E. 
Whitsitt. They have one child, LENA 
A. He is a member of the mercantile 
firm of Whitsitt & Clayton, and resides at 
Nevada, Vernon county, Missouri. 

John C. Clayton died April 7, 1856, 
near Urbana, Illinois. Mrs. Clayton was 
married June 2, 1859, to William Craig. 
She died Dec. 18, 1868. 

CONSTANT, JONATHAN. His 
son, LEWIS A., was married Dec. 17, 
1875,10 Augusta J. Elder, and lives in 
Springfield, Illinois. 

CONSTANT, THOMAS, was 
horn August 14, 1776, erroneously printed 
i 796, on page 219. 

DARNEILLE, JAMES W. See 
page 2-1.2. He moved from Chicago to 
l>clvidere, Illinois, where his wife, Mrs. 
Belle Moulton Darneille, died in Novem- 
ber, .1876. 

CULLOM, SHELBY M. Sec his 
name, page 298. He was elected Gov- 
ernor of the State of Illinois Nov. 7, 1876, 
and will be inaugurated Jan. 3, 1877. 

D 1 XO N , J A M.E S M . See page 
252. His daughter 

HBS TER D., married Thomas Sto- 
ker. They moved from Buffalo to the 
vicinity of Illiopolis, Illinois. His son 

RlCHAj.ll) Dixon, was married May 
6, 1874, to Elizabeth E. Logan. They 
have one son, and reside near Mechanics- 
burg, Sangamon county, Illinois. 

'DODDS, F. EW1NG. See page 
22j. His daughter, Virginia E., was 
married Nov. 15, 1876, to Ninian E. Ken- 
ney. 



DRENNAN, WILLIAM. 
Sec his name, page 264. He ditd Sept. 
28, 1876. He had been for several years, 
and was at the time of his death, the oldest 1 
citi/en of Sangamon county. His funeral 
sermon was preached by Rev. J. C. Van 
Patten, from Psalms 23-4: "Yea though 
I walk through the valley of the shadow 
ot death, I will fear no evil; for Thou art 
with me; Thy rod and Thy staff they 
comfort me." 

ELK1N, GARRETT. See page 
282. His son, CHARLES N., born 
April 12, 1846, near Springfield, Illinois, 
enlisted May, 1864, for one hundred days, 
in Co. K, I33d 111. inf., ai.<l suved full 
term. In June, 1865, he enlisted for one 
year in Co. E, I54th 111. Inf., and served full 
ttrm. He was married May 16, 1867, to 
Harriet Regin, who died Jan. 16, 1873. 
He was married Sept. i, 1874, to Ella 
Welsh. He is conductor on the Spring- 
field City Railway, and lives in Spring- 
field, Illinois. EDWARD S. was with 
his brother, Charles N., in the three 
months service, and after that served two 
years in Co. A, loth 111. Cav. He mar- 
ried Mary A. Brown, has one child, LKK, 
and lives in Springfield, Illinois. 

ELLIOTT, TEMPLE, was elected 
Nov. 7, 1876, sheriff of Sangamon county 
for two years. See page 285. 

FERGUSON, Mrs. LUCY. 
See her name, page 293. Her son, 
WILLIAM //., left four children, J. H., 
ELLEN, WILLIAM and MARTHA, 
now living near Decatur, Illinois. Her 
daughter, LUCY C., born in 1809, in 
Culpepper county, Virginia, married there 
in 1831 to Rev. Isaac Haines, of the M. 
E. Church, who was born in 1806, in 
Rappahannock county, Virginia. They 
lived a short time in North Carolina, re- 
turned to Virginia, and from there to 
Sangamon county in 1836. They had 
two children, WILLIAM C., born Sept. 
21, 1832, in Wilmington, North Carolina, 
brought up in Sangamon county, married 
Dec. 14, 1859, in Christian county, Illinois, 
to Lucy E. Young, who was born Jan. 12, 
1840. She died Dec. 16, 1865, leaving 
one child, DORA E. William C. Haines 
was married Jan. i, 1866, in Missouri, to 
Margaret Hancock, who was born in 
1846, in Henderson county, Kentucky. 
They have two children, LUCY i:. and 
WILLIAM c.. jun., and reside near Taylor- 



i8 



EAR LI SETTLERS OF 



ville, Illinois. LUCY A. Haines, born in 
1835, in Albemarle county, Virginia, 
married in 1854 in Taylorville, Illinois, to 
J. V. Clark. They have one child, MAKY 
.\. In 1859 they moved to Charleston, 
Missouri, and now reside in Mississippi 
county, opposite Cairo, Illinois. Rev. 
Isaac Haines died in 1838, near Rochester, 
Sangamon county, Illinois, and Mrs. Lucy 
C. Haines died August, 1850, near Tay- 
lorville, Illinois. PHILIP C. Ferguson's 
son, EZEKIEL, horn August 5, 1839, in 
Sangamon county, married January, 1869, 
to Htster Kelly. They have two chil- 
dren, iVTLip c. and HIRAM K., and live 
near Tavlor\ ille, Illinois, Dr. Philip C. 
Ferguson died Feb. 28, 1864. His widow 
and four children, the eldest of whom is 
THOMAS J., reside near Wathena, 
Doniphan countv, Kansas. 

FORTU'N E, THOMAS E. 
S-ee his name, page 306. His daughter, 
ELIZABETH, J. B., married Samuel 
Odor Butts, who was born in February, 
1809, and died August 26, 1840* leaving 
three children. JULIA F. was married 
in 1852 to Isaac Allen, have four children, 

JESSIE, BEXJA.MIX, CHARLES and HKR- 

MAN, and live in Jacksonville, Illinois. 
ANNA E. married Josiah Burrows, have 
three living children, ALBERT s., E. LEE, 
and HELEN G., and live near Jacksonville, 
Illinois. THOMAS S. lives in Colorado,. 
Mrs. E. J. B. Butts married Barnabas Bar- 
rows. They had one child, CHARLES, 
born Jan. 3, 1854, near Jacksonville. Bar- 
nabas Burrows died May 18, 1876, and his 
widow and son reside near Jacksonville, 
Illinois. 

POSTER, JOHN S. See page 
His wife's maiden name is erro- 
neously spelled. It should be Eliza A. 
Corson. 

FOSTER, THOS. VEATCH, 
was born Sept. 25, 1788, in Harrison coun- 
tv, Kentucky. He was a brother to Ivins 
Foster. See pzg'e jog. Thomas V. Fos^ 
ter was twice married and had four chil- 
dren who lived to maturity bv each 
marriage. He moved to Sangamon 
county, Illinois, in 1826, and settled 
seven miles southvyest of Springfield, 
where he died of cholera November 15, 
1832. His youngest child by the first 
marriage, THOMAS VEA TCH FOS- 
TER, Jnn., was born July 29, 1821, in 
Harrison county, Kentucky, was married 



June 24, 1847, in Sangamon county, to 
Polly E., daughter of Augustine E. Fos- 
ter, a younger brother of Ivins Foster. 
Two years later Thomas V. Foster, Jun., 
and wife moved to the vicinity of Elkhart, 
Logan county, Illinois. They had five 
children. Their second child, WILLIAM 
A. Foster, born June 27, 1849, in Sangamon 
county, Illinois, five miles west of 
Chatham, and brought up in Logan coun- 
ty. He took a three years literary course 
in the Illinois Weslevan University at 
Bloomington, and graduated Feb. 10, 1876, 
at the, Hahnemann Medical College, 
Chicago. He is now December, 1876 
a druggist in Springfield, Illinois. 

FOUTCH, JOHN, was elected Nov. 
7, 1876, to represent Sangamon county 
for two years in the Legislature of Illinois. 
He resides at New Berlin. Page JTO. 

GALT, THOMAS, was born 
Sept. 12, 1805, in Lancaster county, Penn- 
sylvania. He received his literary educa- 
tion at Jefferson college, Canonsburg, 
Penn., and his theological education at the 
Presbyterian Theological Seminary at 
Allegheny City, Penn. He was licensed 
to preach June 18, 1834, by the Presbytery 
of Ohio. He was married Oct. 6, 1834, in 
Washington county, Penn., to Sarah 
Happer, who was born in that county 
Sept. n, 1809. They moved west in the 
spring of 1835, anf ^ a ' ter spending a few 
months in Peoria, came to Springfield in 
the autumn of that year. Rev. Dr. John 
G. Bergen introduced Rev. Mr. Gait to 
the Farmington Presbyterian church, of 
which he soon after became pastor. Mr. 
and Mrs. Gait had four living children, 
namely 

JAMES J., born Sept. 28, 1835, in 
Sangamon county, was married October, 
1857, to Mary A. Brown. They have 
eight children, and live near Palmyra, 
Nebraska. 

JOHN, born Nov. 30, 1838, in Sanga- 
mon county, married Feb. i:, 1862, to 
Margaret A. Epler, who was born July 
30, 1841, in Morgan countv, Illinois. They 
had six children, MARTIN E. died 
young, WILLIAM A., CHARLES E., 
ANNABEL, CARRIE and LILLIE 
live with their parents. John Gait and 
family resides at the family homestead 
where his parents settled in 1835, and 
where he wes born. It is one mile east of 
Farmingdale, Sangamon county, Illinois. 






SANGAMON COUNTY. 



MARTIN H., born Sept. 9, 1841,111 
Sangamon county, married Nov. 19, 1865, 
to Clara Spillman. They have three 
living children, and live near Manti, Fre- 
mont county, Iowa. 

THOMAS, Jun., born July 10, 1844, 
in Sangamon county. He was married 
August, 1869, at Otisville, New York, to 
Jennie McFarlane. They have three 
children. Rev. Thomas Gait, Jun., is 
pastor of the First Prcsbvterian church of 
Aurora, Illinois, and resides there. 

Mrs. Sarah Gait died Jan. 25, 1849, near 
Farmingdale, and Rev. Thomas Gait, 
Sen,, married Margaret S. Moore. They 
had one living child. 

ELIHU L., born Feb. 13, 1850, in 
Sangamon county, married April 9, 1872, 
in Petersburg, Illinois, to Lou Bergen. 
They have one child, and reside in Peters- 
burg. 

Rev. Thomas Gait, Sen., died Sept. 12, 
1857, near Farmingdale, Sangamon coun- 
ty, Illinois. Mrs. Margaret S. Gait re- 
sides in Petersburg, Menard county, 111. 

GARRETSON, THOMAS P. 
See his name, page 324. He was born 
Sept. 18, 1818, in Anne Arundel county, 
Maryland, came in 1839 to Sangamon 
countv, was married July 2, 1845, ' n 
Menard county, Illinois, to Martha M. 
Harrison, a native of Kentucky. They 
had two children, both of whom died in 
infancy, and Mrs. Garretson died April 
26, 1848, in Springfield. He was married 
Feb. 22, 1854, in Menard county to Phebe 
Campbell, who was born April 26, 1831, 
in Butler county, Ohio. They had ten 
children. The three eldest, VINCENT, 
AMANDA and ALBERT died of scar- 
let fever from the 241)1 to the 28th of 
September, 1858. The other seven, 
COR Ni. LI US, BEAUREGARD, 
L O U R E N A M A Y, J A M E S T., 
SARAH J., WILLIAM L. and AN- 
N ETTA, live with their parents. 
Thomas P. Garretson is a carpenter by 
trade, and was working within six feet of 
Winchester House, on the steeple of the 
First Presbyterian church in Springfield, 
in 1842, when Mr. House was thrown 
from the steeple by lightning and killed. 
Mr. Garretson and family reside ten miles 
west of Lincoln, Logan county, Illinois. 

GREENING, ZACHAR? T. 
See page Jjp. His wife, Mrs. Marv 
Greening, died in February, 1876. 



HAINES, CHRISTOPHER. 
His son, FRANCIS A., was born March 
22, 1832, in Sangamon county. In 1852 
he went overland to the Pacific coast, and 
in 1856 and '7 was a volunteer soldier 
against the Indians in the north of Oregon. 
In November, 1858, he started for Illinois, 
arriving in Springfield Januarv ist, and 
was married in Ihireau county Jan. 17, 
18:59, to Zerelda'G. Britt. They had two 
children, ELLA BELLE and MINNIE, 
both died young. Mr. Haines enlisted 
Jan. 13, 1864, in Co. C, 2cl 111. Artillery, 
served to the end of the rebellion, and 
was mustered out with the regiment Aug. 
3, 1865. He and his wife reside at New 
City, Sangamon county, Illinois. 

HAND, ELI AS, was born about 
1770,111 Cape May county, New Jersey. 
He was married there to Miss Say re. 
They had four children in New Jersey, 
and moved to Sangamon county,, arriving 
May 30, 1838, in what is now Gardner 
township. Of their children 

DANIEL died, aged thirty years. 

MARIA married John Robinson, and 
lives in Minnesota. 

JESSE married Mary Hagin, and 
lives in New Jersey. 

ELIZABETH,\>Q\n in New Jersey, 
married in Sangamon county to Franklin 
Bradley. They had one son, FRANK, 
who is a minister in the M. E. Church, 
and in 1873 lived in Davisville, Michigan. 
Franklin Bradley died Sept. 14, 1845, an< ^ 
his widow married John G. Ransom. See 
his name. 

Elias Hand died November, 1856, and 
his widow died in 1869, aged eighty-seven 
years. 

HARBUR, LEV I. See page 
354. He died Nov. 27, 1876. 

HARDIN, JAMES T. Page 
J56. His son, Benjamin, was married 
August 2, 1876. 

HARROWER, WILLIAM. 
Page j6o. His daughter, A GA'S //., 
widow of Dr. James B. Smith, died Xov. 
5, 1876, in Springfield, Illinois. 

HEDRICK, ALFRED, was 
born near Greenville, Tennessee, came 
with his father, Charles Hedrick, to San- 
gamon county among the early settlers. 
Alfred Hedrick lives in Taylorville, 111., 
Of his two sons 

\\~1I.LIAM, born Jan. 25, 1844, in 
Sangamon county, married April 8, 1865, 



20 



EARLY SETTLERS 



o Martha M. Kimball, who was born . 
Jan. 1 8, 1844, in Vermont. They now 
^874 have four children, MARION C., 
NATHAN K., ALFRED C., and 
ROBERT A., and live four miles south 
of Rochester, Illinois. 

HENRT R., born Feb. 25, 1848, in 
Sangamon county, married Dec. 30, 1869, 
to Laura J. Johnson, has two children 
and lives four miles south of Rochester, 
Illinois. 

HEDRICK, JONATHAN, 
born in Kentucky, and married there to 
Julian Holland, a native of Maryland. 
They had two children in Fleming 
county, Ky., and moved to Sangamon 
county, Illinois, arriving in the fall of 
1830, at Buffalo Hart grove, thence to 
what is now Clear Lake township, where 
they had four children. Of their six chil- 
dren 

REBECCA, born Oct. 8, 1828 in 
Fleming county, Ky., was married Oct. 
16, 1847, to Joshua Cantrall. See his 
name. 

ROSETTA, born in Fleming county, 
Kv., married in Sangamon county to Ab- 
ner Clark. She died, leaving a son, 
WILLIAM Clark. 

BARTON, died, aged twenty-five 
years. 

NARCISSA, married McDonald Can- 
trail. See his name. 
FLEMING, died aged fifteen years. 
MUNSON, iiorn in Sangamon county, 
enlisted in 1862, for three years in Co. C, 
h 111. Inf., and died at Vicksburg, a 
short time after it was captured in 1863. 

Jonathan Hedrick and wife reside in 
Athens, Illinois. 

HI C KM AN, GEORGE T. His 
son, WILLIAM H., enlisted Aug. 5, 
1862, in Co. B, i3Oth 111. Inf., and died 
Jan. 19, 1863. Another son, JAMES 
F., married Sophia C. Burns, and lives 
near Buffalo Hart, Sangamon county, Illi- 
nois 1876. 

HOUGH.TON, ALVIN, born 
June 12, 1810, in Madison, Somerset 
county, Maine, was married Sept. 6, 1835, 
at Skowhegan Falls, Maine, to Betsy 
Hilton, who was born June 17, 1815, at 
Anson, Maine. Alvin Houghton came 
to S ringfielcl, Illinois., in June, 1837, and 
brought his wife in the spring of 1840. 
He was a carpenter by trade, and worked 
at that business for about twelve years, 



after which he kept a dairy until 1851, 
when he moved twenty miles east of 
Springfield, on a farm, and remained there 
until the fall of 1869, and then moved to 
Washington county, Kansas. 

Alvin Houghton and wife had five chil- 
dren 

AMEL1 A, died in her second year. 

ERVIN, O., born Dec. 14, 1841, in 
Springfield, 111., was married Sept. 13, 
1866, in Sangamon county to Sarah Jane 
Wall, who was born Feb. 6, 1842, in 
Allegany. county, Pennsylvania. They 
have two children, LAURA E. and 
LILLIAN, and live four and a half miles 
northeast of Illiopolis, Illinois. 

AUSTIN E\, born May 29, 1844, in 
Illinois. Lives with his parents. 
> CLIMENA B., died in her second 
year. 

A VILLIA B., born Jan. i, 1853, lives 
with her parents, near Butler, Washing- 
ton county, Kansas. 

HUDSON, JOHN. See his 
name, page 385. His son, JOHN M., 
died Oct. 12, 1876. His son, ANDRE W 
J., having been married fourteen years, 
has -an only child, MARGARET MA- 
RIA, born Feb. :i, 1876. 

ILES, ELIJAH, Sen. His wife, 
Mrs. Melinda lies, died in May, 1866. 

INSLEE, JOSEPH. His son 

NEWTON JASPER, born Dec. 
31, 1832, in Sangamon county, married 
May 16, 1852, to Eliza A. Keys. They 
had five children. ANN E., died in her 
second year. EMMA J., MARY L., 
MELISSA and JOSEPH W.; the four 
latter live with their parents near Cotton 
Hill postoffice, Sangamon county, 111. 

JAYNE, Dr. GERSHOM, 
page 406. His daughter, JULIA M., 
married Hon. Lyman Trumbull. Their 
son, Walter Trumbull, was married Sept. 
27, 1876, in Chicago, to Hannah M. Sla- 
ter. 

JOHNSTON, ADAM, was 
born April 14, 1816, in Glasgow, Scotland. 
Wh 'n he was four days old his parents 
embarked on bo rd a vessel, and after a 
short stay at Belfast, Ireland, sail-, d for 
America. Ian ling during the summ r of 
that year in Philad Iphia, Prim. I e was 
brought up in that city and learned the 
busin ss of a marble mason. During that 
time he assist' d in building Girard Col- 
lege. He went in 1837, to Jefferson city, 



SAN GAM ON COUNT*. 



21 



Missouri, and after filling a contract on 
the State House, then in course of con- 
struction there, he came to Springfield, in 
the spring of 1839, and worked as a jour- 
neyman on the State House of Illinois. 
Mr. Johnson was married July 3, 1846 to 
Barbara A. Wolgamot. He has been 
continuously and successfully in business 
in Springfield, nearly thirty-eight years. 
Adam Johnson and wife now Decem- 
ber, 1876 reside in Springfield, Illinois. 

JOHNSON, LUE. See ^ his 
name, page 413. His son, ORSON D., 
born April 23, 1827, in Vermont, was 
married in Rochester, Sangamon county, 
111., to Lydia Eggleston. They have four 
living children, ELLEN, born Sept. 16, 
1848, in Rochester, was married in Mount 
Pulaski, April 16, 1865 to Aaron G. 
Given, and have four children, FLORA, 
i.i K, GEORGE, and MIXDRED, and live in 
Mt. Pulaski, Illinois. OLLIE, born 
Aug. 6, 1851, in Rochester, 111., was mar- 
ried in Mt. Pulaski, Jan. 6, 1868, to Walter 
McGraw, and died April 30, 1874, leaving 
one child, RALPH. BET TIE, born July 
6, 1858,. and WILLIAM, born Dec. 11, 
1861, both in Mt. Pulaski. Orson, D. 
Johnson and family, live in Mt. Pulaski, 
Logan county, Illinois. 

JONES, HASK1NS, was born 
in Maryland, and married in JtfFerson 
county, Term., to Lucy Tolley, and came 
to Sangamon county, in 1835, settling in 
Sand Prairie, five miks east of Roches- 
ter. Th< y had thirteen children 

JOHN F., married Lucinda Pike 
and died, leaving one child, CHARLES 
T. 

ELIZABETH, married John L. 
Firey. See his name. 

DA VI D C , married Ann Griffith and 
liv s mar Breckenridge, 111. 

NANCY, married James Campbell, 
and lives in Edinburg, 111. 

MART P., married John B. Eaton. 
See his name. 

CARTER T., born Aug. 17, 1834, in 
Jefferson county, Tenn., married in San- 
gamon county, April 23, 1863, to Theiv- 
saTalb.rr, has four childr n, FANNY, 
LUCY, BETTY and CARTER T., 
Jun., and lives four milts south of Roches- 
ter, Illinois. 

HASK1NS, Jun., married Lettie 
Swe< t, who died, and he married Again, 
and lives near Breckenridge, Illinois! 



LUCY J., married John H. Martin, 
and lives near Taylorville, Illinois. 

PR ISC ILL A, married Thomas 
Stokes. See his name. He died and she 
married James Lay, and lives in Kansas. 

Haskins Jones died in 1842, and his 
widow died April, 1873, he in Sangamon, 
and she in Christian county, Illinois. 

KENNET, NINIAN E. See page 

425. He was married Nov. 15, 1876,10 
Virginia E. Dodds, daughter of F. Evving 
Dodds. See his name, page 255. 

KEYS, ISAAC, Jim.. See puge 

426. His son, EDWARD D., was mar- 
ried Oct. 10, 1876, to Lulie Todd, in 
Springfield, Illinois. His daughter, AN- 
NIE E., was married Dec. 7, 1876, in 
Springfield, to Alvin B. Hoblet, of Pekin, 
111. Mr. Hoblet is cashier of the Farmers' 
National Bank of that city. 

KEYES, CHARLES A. See page 

427. His infant daughter, ELIZABETH M., 
died July 18, 1876. 

LAMB, SUSAN M. See page 435: 
Her daughter, Hannah M. Slater, was 
married Sept. 27, 1876, in Chicago, to 
Walter Trumbull. 

LANTERMAN, PEJ^ER. Page 
443. He died Oct. 9, 1876, near Elkhart, 
Illinois. 

LINCOLN, ABRAHAM. Page 
456. An attempt was made on the night 
alter the Presidential election, Nov. 7, 
1876^0 steal his body from the sarcophagus, 
in the National Lincoln Monument. The 
thieves were detected in the act but 
escaped. Two nit n are under arrest. 
charged with the crime, and are now 
December, 1876 in jail at Springfield, 
awaiting trial. Their reputed object was 
to secure a large reward in money, and the 
release of an engraver, who is serving a 
ten y<ars term in. the Illinois Penitentiary, 
.for engraving and issuing counterfeit 
money. 

LINDSAY, JOHN, was born in 
1773 at Fort Pitt, now Pittsburgh, Penn. 
He was taken by his parents to Fleming 
county, Kentucky. He was married there 
in the year 1800 to Mary Glass. She died 
January, 1811, leaving five children, and 
Mr. Lindsay was married there in Sep- 
tember, 1811. They had one child in 
Kentucky, and moved in 181710 St. Clair 
county, Illinois, where they had one child, 
and moved to what is now Sangamon 
county in 1819, settling in what is now the 



EARL? SE'lTLBRS OF 



vvestern part of Springfield. Of his chil- 
li-en 

REBECCA, born September, 1802, 
in Kentucky, marriecl in Sangamon coun- 
ty to Andrew Orr, and died within one 
year. 

POLLY, born September, 1804, in 
Kentucky, married James Smith, and died 
there, leaving one child, AMANDA. 

DA VID H., born February, 1807, in 
Fleming county, Kentucky, married in 
1832, in Sangamon county to Mary A. 
Dorrance. They had four children, 
MAR\ S., born March, 1833, died Jan. 
6, 1869, in Shelby county, Illinois. MAR- 
GARET A., born March, 1836, married 
B. F. Sinard. She died, leaving a son, 
MILTON siiVARD, wholives in Mt. Auburn, 
Illinois. fMARQUIS D., born March 
23, 1839, enlisted August 9, 1861, for three 
years, in Co. B, 3Oth 111. Inf., served full 
term, and was honorably discharged Aug. 
27, 1864. He was married in Sangamon 
county Oct. 31, 1866, to Margaret Kinney, 
who was born April 6, 1839, in Cazenovia, 
New York. They had two children. 
LOGAN L. lives with his parents. IDA 
MAY died in her fourth year. M. D, 
Lindsay lives near Loami, Illinois. 
MARTHA, born March, 1842, married 
Daniel Young. Mrs. Mary A. Lindsay 
died in 1846, while her husband was in 
Mexico. David H. Lindsay was a soldiei 
in the 4th 111. Inf., under Colonel E. D. 
Baker. He served one year from June, 
1846, returned home and died in 1847, * 

: in the army. 

ORGE G., born November, 1808, 
in Kentucky, married in Sangamon county 
to Margaret Ward, and died there, leaving 
one child, JAMES. 

AMANDA L., born December, 1810, 
in Kentucky, married in Sangamon coun- 
ty to John Morgan, and died, leaving four 
children, ELIZABETH, SALLY ANN, 
JOHN W. and SOPHIA S. 

Bv the second wife: 

JOHN P., born July, 1814, in Flem- 
ing county, Kentucky, married in Sanga- 
mon county in 1839,10 Virginia B. Young. 
They had six children in Sangamon coun- 
ty. MARY J., bom July 22, 1840, mar- 
ried Seth Moore, and lives in Lawndale, 
Illinois. MELISSA G., born. Dec. 23, 
1841, married Charlie E. Morton, and 
lives near Centerville, Iowa. James N., 
born July 30, 1842, is unmarried, and lives 



in Centerville, Iowa. ELIZABETH, 
born Feb. i ^, 1846, died aged seven years. 
ELIZA ANN, born Sept. 15, 1848," mar- 
ried William A. Smith, and lives in Col- 
fax county, Nebraska. JOHN W., born 
March 22, 1850, is unmarried, and lives in 
Russell county, Kansas. Mrs. Virginia 
B. Lindsay died May 2, 1850, in Sanga- 
mon county, and J. P. Lindsay married 
Eliza A. McCandless, and in 1853 moved 
to Logan county, where they had five 
living children, SOPHIA BELLE, FLO- 
RENCE P., ALMA M., CHARLES 
E. and WINNIE M. John P.Lindsay 
resides near Lincoln, Logan county, 111. 

ABRAHAM L., born April to, 1819, 
in St. Clair county, Illinois, was married 
in Sangamon county to Ann Wise. They 
have seven living children. JOHN D. is 
married and lives in Ottawa, Kansas. 
NANCY J. married B. H. Lake and 
and lives in Mount Pulaski, Illinois. 
SOPHIA MAY, marrried N. Elkin, and 
lives near Elkhart, Illinois. WILLIAM 
H., EVA E., GEORGE B. and HAR- 
RIET C. live near Elkhart, Logan coun- 
ty, Illinois. Mrs. Ann Lindsav died Jan- 
uary, 1865, near Elkhart, Illinois, and 
Abram L. Lindsay now 1876 lives in 
Russell county, Kansas. 

LORD, JOSEPH T., was an 
earlv settler of Sangamon county. His 
son," WILLIAM N. Lord, lives near 
Breckenridge, Sangamon county, Illinois. 

MCCLELLAND, JOHN. His son, 

Dr. Robert McClelland, was married 
Sept. 8, 1874, to Susan Turley, near Wil- 
liamsville, Illinois. 

McGINNIS, JOHN J, See his 
name, page 499. His widow, Mrs. Eliza- 
beth McGinnis, was married in December, 
1874, to Y. B. Clark, and lives at Clarks- 
dale, Christian county, Illinois. 

McGRAW, ABSOLOM D., 
See his name, page 501. He died in the 
autumn of 1876 near Springfield, Illinois. 

MeKINNIE, WILLIAM A. 
'Page 504. His wife, Mrs. Emma Mc- 
Kinnie, died Nov. 22, 1876. 

McMURltT, ARTHUR B. His 
daughter, MARTHA J., marriecl Robert 
Elder, and live near Girard, Crawford 
county, Kansas. His son, LEWIS S., 
lives near Girard, Crawford county, Kan. 

McMURR T, L O GAN. His daughter, 
Mary E., married Hiram F. Robhins, who 
was born in Warren county, Pennsylvania, 



EARLY SETTLERS OF 



came to Ogle county, Illinois, enlisted 
M-irch, 1862, in Co. A, I2th 111. Cav., for 
three years, and was honorably discharged 
March. 186^, went to Maple Grove, Kan- 
sas, in May, 1866, and was married there 
[uly 26. 1868. 

NUCKOLLS, JOHN. See his 
name, page 548. His widow, Mrs. Ann 
Nuckolls, died Sept. 30, 1876, aged nearly 
ninety years. 

ORR, ROBERT, was born in 
Wythe county, Virginia, and was there 
married to Sarah Messersmith. They 
moved to Ohio in 1817, to Connersville, 
Indiana, in 1818, and to Springfield, Illi- 
nois, in 1826. They had ten children 

AX DREW, M'E LINDA; ALEX- 
AX HER S. married Eliza J. Wallace, 
and lives near Auburn, Illinois. ELIZ.A- 
BETH, NANCY J.; HIRAM mar- 
ried Savilla Ranch, and both died. 
ROBERT, MARGARET; SA)[- 
UEL married Jane Laswell, and lives 
near Auburn, Illinois. 

Robert Orr and his wife both died near 
Auburn, Sangamon county, Illinois. 

POWER, GEORGE. See his 
name, page 578. He was awarded the 
premium of a gold headed cane for the 
most skillful feat of horseback riding, by 
an elderly gentleman, at thp fair of the 
Sangamon county Agricultural Society, 
in September, 1876. He was in his' 
seventy-ninth year, and the eldest of five 
competitors. The cane was presented in 
presence of the largest number of visitors 
during the fair, by the president of the 
society, ex-Governor John M. Palmer. 

PRICKETT, Mrs. CHAR- 
LOTTE G. See page 581. She died 
Nov. 2, 1876, in Springfield. 

PURSELL, WILLIAM. See 
Jiis name, page jpo. His daughter, 
ALICE BELLE, was married Nov. 2, 
1876, to William T. Kincaid, near Farm- 
ingdale, Sangamon county, Illinois. 

RIDGELY, CHARLES, was born 
Jan. 17, 1836, in Springfield, Illinois. He 
is the eldest son of N. H. Ridgely page 
616 by his second witV, who was the 
daughter of Jonathan Huntington, and 
was born in Boston, Mass. Her brother, 
Hon. George L. Huntington, deceased, 
was mayor of Springfield in 1 86 1-2. 
Charles Ridgely entered the preparatory 
department of Illinois College at Jack- 
sonville, in October, 



March, 1852, withdrew from the col- 
lege to accept a position in Clark's Ex- 
change Bank, which was organized at that 
time in Springfield by his father in con- 
nection with some eastern capitalists. 
June 22, 1853, he became cashier of the 
bank, which position he occupied until it 
was wound up, March 29, 1855. His 
father, N. H. Ridgely, succeeded to the 
business of Clark's bank, as a private 
banker. Charles took the place of cashier 
with him, where he continued until April 
i, 1859, when he was admitted into part- 
nership with his father in the banking bus- 
iness; the new firm name being N. II. 
Ridgelf & Co. Charles' brother, William 
was admitted as a member of the firm 
April i, 1864, and its business continued 
until Oct. i, 1866, when it was^ merged 
into theRidgtly National Bank. Chas. 
Ridgely became vice president at the 
organization, and now December, 1876 
continues to hold that position. In 
1871, he was mainly instrumental in or- 
ganizing the Springfield Iron Company, 
and building the Rolling Mill at Spring- 
field. He bee 'me, and continues to be the 
President of that company. As a compli- 
ment to the President of the company, the 
new postofrice at the mills bears the name 
of Ridgely. Charles Ridgely is also a 
member of the firm of Beard, Hickox & 
Co., proprietors of the North Coal Shaft. 
In 1870 he was honored with the nomina- 
tion of the Democratic party as candidate 
for the office t>f state treasurer of Illi- 
nois, but the party being in the minor- 
ity, he, in common with the entire ticket, 
was defeated. He has served two terms 
as a member of the Board of Education of 
the city of Springfield. He was married 
June 10, 1857, to Jane M., youngest 
daughter of James W. Barret. She 
was born in Island Grove, Sangamon 
county. They have four children ; WIL- 
LIAM BARRET, E DWARD, 
FRANKLIN and MARY LEE. Chas. 
Ridgely, wife and children reside in 
Springfield, 111. 

SHORT, CALEB. His grandson, 
JOHN* K., died Feb. 24, 1876, in Nodaway 
county, Missouri. 

SMITH, DEWITT C., was elected 
Nov. 7, 1876, to represent Sangamon 
county two years in the Legislature of Illi- 
nois. He resides at Bates. 



SANGAMON COUNT?. 



SMITH,, GEROGE M. See 
his name, page 666. His son, JACOB 
H., was marrit d, not in Hennepin, but in 
Washington, Tazewell county, Illinois, to 
Joanna Higgins, who was born Oct. 26, 
1819, in Cumberland county, Ken ucky. 
They have eight children, namely, 
GEORGE D., was married Sept. 3, 1874, 
in Missouri, to Mattie Force, and now 
lives in Hope, Hempstead county, Ark. 
MARY J. was married June 21, 1866, in 
Saline county, Missouri, to Dr. Robert S. 
McNutt. They have four children, 

SAMUEL, JOANNA, MARY and ROBERT, and 

live in Rocheport, Boone county, Missouri. 
WILLIAM T., born April 28, ^850, in 
Saline county, Missouri, and now 1876 
lives in Berlin, Sangamon county, Illinois. 
MATILDA J. was married Dec. 2, 1871, 
to John H. Herring, have one child, WIL- 
LIAM s., and reside near Herndon, Saline 
county, Missouri. ANNA E., ALICE 
W. and MATTIE F. live with their 
father, near Marshal, Saline county, Mo. 
FREDERICK N. lives with his brother, 
George D., in Arkansas. George M. 
Smith's son, JOHN W., left five chil- 
dren, namely, AMANDA, married 
George W. Parrish, and has one child, 
DAISEY MAY. MARY M. and CARRIE 
live with their sister, Mrs. Parrish, in 
Oshkosh, Wisconsin. JOSEPH B. and 
WILL A. live with their uncle, Fox, in 
Quincy,. Illinois. George M. Smith's 
daughter, ELSIE A., born Dec. 20, 
1830, in Jennings county, Indiana, married 
in Sangamon county, Illinois, July 4,1842, 
to Stephen Butler, who was born Nov. 
13, 1815, in Adair county, Kentucky. 
They have ten children, namely, JOHN, 
born May 5, 1843, MARY C., born Oct. 
8, 1844, in Sangamon county, was married 
May 7, 1864, to D. A. Russell, and live in 
Harrrison county, Iowa. H. G., born 
Sept. 20, 1846, married March 11, 1876, to 
Ida Willes.. MARTHA M., born Feb. 
19, 1848, married Dec. 2, 1868, to Alfred 
H. Fairchilds, and lives in Jefferson coun- 
ty, Iowa. SOPHRONIA, born F^b. 23, 
1850; ELIZABETH, born July 1,1852, 
in Sangamon county, Illinois. HAR- 
RIET, born Sept. 7/1855; OWEN, born 
Sept. 16, 1857; BASSETT, bora July 
16, 1859, and SAMANTHA, born July 
7, 1863, the four latter in Jefferson county, 



Iowa. Stephen Butler and family now 
November, 1876 reside near Missouri 
Valley postoffice, Harrison county, Iowa. 
Smith, Lawson H. See his name, page 
108. He died Dec. 12, 1876, near Roches- 
ter, Illinois. 

STEPH E N SON, JAMES. 
See his name, page 684. He was born 
July 3, 1872. His son, WILLIAM C., 
born Oct. 10, 1812. HANNAH A., born 
Oct. 12, 1814, married Jacob Zwingle. 
He died Feb. 8, 1876. Their son, WIL- 
LIAM M. Zwingle, was married May 
25, 1876, to Eliza Graham. JAMES 
W., born May 20, 1816, moved from 
Audrain county, Missouri, to Pike county, 
Illinois. FINIS E., born Sept. 29, 1818. 
He moved from Chandlerville, Illinois, to 
Wichita, Kansas. HARRIET married 
William N. Spears. She moved from 
Lincoln, in 1876, to Tallula, Menard 
county, Illinois. 

THAYER, WILLJAM P. See 
his name, page 710. His daugh'er, 
BERTIE, was married Nov. 30, 1876, 
to Lee Hickox, in Springfield, Illinois. 

WALLACE, WILLIAM. See his 
name, page 747. His son, BENJAMIN 
F., moved from Keokuk, Iowa, to Macon, 
Macon county, Illinois. His daughter, 
JANE ELIZABETH, married Dr. John 
F. Sanders. See his name, page 637. 

WEBSTER, BE LA C., was 
one of the early merchants of Springfield. 
A sketch of him was expected but had 
not arrived when this record closed, Dec. 
15, 1876. 

WHITESIDES, NICHOLAS B. 
Page 764. His daughter, EMILY C., 
was married Nov. 21, 1876, to James F. 
Demmit, of Logan county, Illinois. 

W ILK I SON, GARY, was born 
in Kentucky, and married there to Nancy 
Moon. They came to Sangamon county, 
Illinois, among the early settlers. They 
had four children. Their son,jREUBEJV, 
resides in Taylorville, Illinois. 

Cary Wilkison died in 1834, and his 
widow married James Snodgrass, Jun. 
See his name, page 671. 

TOCOM, SAMUEL. Page 792. 
His daughter, REBECCA, married John 
W. Ham, not Horn. See his name, page 
352- 



LIST OF POST OFFICES'* SANGAMQH COUNTY ILLINOIS 



Cross Plains 
Cyrran 
Daw son 



Berlin 

Berry at 

Bradforton(not orfan/t. edj 

Brekinridge 

Buffalo 

Buffalo Heart 

CanLntt 

Chatham 

Cotton Hill 



lies Junction 
III i op olis 
Loami 
Lowder 



Salisbury 

Sherman 

$f""i$fielc/ 



New Berlin 
New City 
Pawnee 




SANGAMON OUNTY 



JOHN CARROLL POWER 
SPFVNGflELO /LLINO/S 

Ji. Wilson & Co. 




> 



HISTORICAL PRELUDE. 



THE first white men who explored the upper Mississippi valley were Jesuit mission- 
aries from New France now Canada. They visited the southern shores of the 
great northern lakes, for the purpose of communicating a knowledge of Christianity 
to the ahoriginal natives. 

Jacques Marquette, a Roman Catholic priest, and Louis Joliet, a merchant from 
Quebec, with two canoes and five men, left Green Bay and went down the Wisconsin 
river to the Mississippi, entering the latter stream June 17, 1673. They floated down 
the "father of waters," making frequent stoppages among the Indians, and passed be- 
low the mouth of the Ohio river. Here they found the savages disposed to be hostile, 
which caused them to return. On approaching the mouth of the Illinois river, on their 
way up, they were told by the aborigines, that if they would follow the course of that 
stream their route to the lakes w r ould be much shorter. Accepting this advice, the 
party reached Lake Michigan, at a point where Chicago now stands. Other French- 
men came by the way of Canada and the lakes, and in a few years all this region of 
country was considered a part of New France. The French being entitled to it by 
right of discovery, their possession was undisputed for about ninety years. 

Difficulties arising between France and England, at home, the British government sent 
an army of one thousand regular soldiers under Gen. Edward Braddock, to make war 
against the French and their native allies in the new world. General Braddock landed 
at Alexandria, Virginia, and after increasing his army to twenty-two hundred men, by 
the addition of provincials, or citizens of the country, he marched to attack Fort Du- 
Quesne, where Pittsburgh now stands. Colonel George Washington, who was well 
acquainted with the Indian character, accompanied the expedition as a volunteer aid. 
General Braddock refused the counsels of Colonel Washington, and the result was the 
surprise and defeat of his whole army by the French and Indians. The commander 
was slain in the engagement, which took place July 9, 1755- 

In 1758 the English government sent another army, which was more successful. It 
took Fort Duquesne, and the war raged until 1763, when the fall of Quebec left the 
English victorious; and by the treaty which followed, the whole of New France was 
ceded to Great Britain. 

Previous to the year 1673 the upper Mississippi valley was known only to the abori- 
gines or Indians. From the year of its discovery by the explorations of Marquette 

4 



26 HISTORICAL PRELUDE. 



and Joliet, for more than half a century there was no attempt at organized government. 
The first effort was made in 1718, when the "Company of the West" was formed in 
Paris for the government of- the New World. In that year the building of Fort De- 
Chartres was commenced, and when completed was occupied as the military headquar- 
ters of the French. It was about sixteen miles above Kaskaskia, in the American bot- 
tom, three miles from the bluft and three-fourths of a mile from the river. At the 
time New France was ceded to England, in 1763, Fort DeChartres was occupied by 
M. St. Ange de Bellerive, as commandant and Governor of the Illinois country. He 
continued in possession of the fort until 1765, when Captain Sterling, of the forty- 
second Royal Highlanders, was sent out and took possession of the fort and country, in 
the name of the British government. He died about three months after his arrival. 
Fort Chartres continued to be the headquarters of the British until 1772, when part of 
the fort was destroyed by a great rise of water in the Mississippi river. The English 
garrison was then removed to Kaskaskia. 

In 1763 the population of what is now the State of Illinois, did not exceed three 
thousand. About one-third left the country upon its change of masters ; so that when 
the English took possession, the entire population, including French, English and 
negroes, was about two thousand. Speaking of their new seat of government, Rev. 
John M. Peck says: "In olden time, Kaskaskia was to Illinois what Paris is at this 
day to France. Both were, at their respective days, the great emporiums of fashion, 
gayety, and I must say, happiness also. In the year 1721 the Jesuits erected a monas- 
tery and college in the village of Kaskaskia, and a few years afterwards it was char- 
tered by the French government. Kaskaskia for many years was the largest town 
west of the Alleghaney mountains. It was a tolerable place before the existence of Pitts- 
burgh, Cincinnati or New Orleans." 

The English government became fairly settled in their occupation of the country 
wrested from France, and then commenced that series of parliamentary enactments for 
the taxation of the American colonies, without permitting them to have any voice in 
her national councils, which led to the revolutionary struggle. Open hostilities com- 
menced at Lexington, Massachusetts, April 19, 1775. Couriers were despatched, on 
the most fleet-footed horses, and in a very few days the infant colonies were ablaze with 
excitement, and the call to arms was responded to from Maine to Georgia. The first 
Congress met in Philadelphia, Sept. 5, 1774, and continued its meetings by successive 
adjournments, until July 4, 1776, when the American colonies were declared to be free 
and independent States. The familiar events of the war for independence, followed 
each other in quick succession, until all parties were engaged in the conflict along the 
Atlantic coast; but there were British outposts in the west which had until 1778 r - 
mained undisturbed. It was known that these posts were depots for supplying the 
Indians with arms and ammunition, that they might practice deeds of cruelty and mur- 
der against the frontier settlers. The general government had not power to command 
without consent of the States, even the limited resources of the country ; but what there 
was, in the way of soldiers, seemed imperatively demanded on the seaboard. Under 
these circumstances, Colonel George Rogers Clarke, of Virginia, volunteered to lead 
an expedition against the British garrison west of the Alleghanies; and the Governor 
and Council of Virginia took the responsibility of sending him out. Two sets of 
instructions were given him : One, which was public, was for Col. Clarke to raise 



HIS TORI CA L PRE L ( 'D /: . 



2 7 



se\en companies, and proceed west. The secret and real instructions were for him to 
raise seven companies, of fifty men each, proceed to Kaskaskia, and take and destroy 
the garrison of Fort Gates at that place; and that the object of the expedition must be 
kept a profound secret. The instructions were given January 2, 1778, by the Governor 
at \Villiamsburg, then the Capital of Virginia. Col. Clarke left Virginia on the fourth 
of February for Pittsburgh. He took with him twelve hundred pounds in depreciated 
currency to defray the expenses of the expedition, and raised three companies in Pitts- 
burgh. He procured boats, and with his supplies, arms and ammunition, descended the 
Ohio river to "Corn Island," opposite the present city of Louisville, Kentucky, where 
he was met by Captain Bowman, who had gone down through Kentucky to raise a 
companv of men. When all were assembled on the island, Col. Clarke first declared 
to them that his point of destination was Kaskaskia, in the Illinois country. From 
Corn Island he descended with his forces to Fort Massac, at the west side of the Ohio 
river, about forty miles above its junction with the Mississippi. The party left their 
boats at this point, and marched across the country to Kaskaskia, a distance of one hun- 
dred and twenty miles, through an unbroken wilderness. 

Thev arrived within sight of the village on the morning of July 4, 1778. He con- 
cealed the main body of his men, and sent out spies to reconnoitre. At night the men 
were divided into two bodies, one to take the village and the other, Fort Gage. After 
all was in readiness, with the soldiers drawn up in line on the banks of the Kaskaskia, 
Col. Clarke delivered a short address to his troops, in which he reminded them that it 
was the anniversary of the Declaration of Independence, and that they must take the 
fort and village at all hazards. Fort Gage was a work of considerable strength, 
mounted with cannon and defended by regular soldiers. So secret had been the move- 
ments of the attacking party, and so little were they expected, that they reached the 
very gates of the fortifications unperceived. In addition to this, they were so fortu- 
nate as to get into communication with an American belonging to the fort, who led a 
detachment of soldiers, under the celebrated Simon Kenton, inside, through a back 
gate. The first intimation the Governor had of their presence, was by Kenton giving 
him a shake to arouse him from his slumbers. The conquest was achieved without the 
shedding of a drop of blood. The rhortification of Governor Rocheblave was so great 
when he found himself a prisoner in the hands of so small a body of raw malitia, with- 
out having an opportunity to fire a gun, that he refused to acknowledge any of the 
courtesies extended to him on account of his official position. The only alternative for 
Colonel Clarke, was to send him in irons to the Capital of Virginia. 

Soon after the capture of Kaskaskia Colonel Clarke communicated the result of his 
expedition to the Governor, and expressed a desire to have civil government extended 
over the conquered territory. An act was passed by the law-making powers of Vir- 
ginia, in October, 1778, to establish the county of Illinois. " It embraced all that part of 
Virginia west of the Ohio river, and was probably the largest county in the world, 
exceeding in its dimensions the whole of Great Britain and Ireland." To speak more 
definitely, the county of Virginia, called Illinois, embraced the territory now included 
in the States of Ohio, Indiana, Illinois, Wisconsin and Michigan. 

After capturing Fort Gates, the next point to be reduced was Fort St. Vincent, now 
Vincennes, Indiana. This fortification, with Governor Hamilton and seventy-nine men, 
fell into his hands February 24, 1779. 



28 HISTORICAL PRELUDE. 

Until this stage of its history, the Illinois country had been successively under savage, 
military, and monarchial rulers; but the time for another change was at hand. The 
first republican Governor of Illinois was no less a personage than the renowned Patrick 
Henry, the great orator of the American Revolution. He became the Governor of 
Virginia in 1776, and by re-election continued to hold the office until 1799. The law 
of Virginia establishing the county of Illinois having been enacted in October, 1788, it 
was in this way that he became the first republican or democratic Governor of Illinois. 

On the twelfth of December, 1788, Governor Henry appointed John Todd civil com- 
mandant and Lieutenant Colonel of the new county. He wrote Commandant Todd a 
lengthy letter of instructions, in which he says : " The grand objects which are disclosed 
to your countrymen, will prove beneficial or otherwise, according to the nature and 
abilities of those who are called to direct the affairs of that remote country. * * * 
One great good expected from holding the Illinois is to overawe the Indians from war- 
ring against the settlers on this side of the Ohio." Near the close of his letter, Gov- 
ernor Henry says : " I think it proper for you to send me an express once in the month 
with a general account of affairs with you, and any particulars you may wish to com- 
municate." 

The headquarters of Commandant Todd, or the seat of government for the county, 
was at Kaskaskia. The stay of Colonel Todd in Illinois was not of long duration. 
Being under orders to return to Virginia, he made it convenient to visit his family at 
Lexington, Kentucky, on the way. While at Lexington, news came that the Indians 
west of the Ohio were crossing over into Kentucky. He returned at the head of his 
command, to assist in repelling the savages, and was killed at the battle of Blue Licks. 
See sketch of the Todd family in this volume. 

In 1 780 Congress recommended to the several States having waste or unappropriated 
lands, in the western country, to cede it to the United States government for the com- 
mon benefit of the Union. In January, 1781, Virginia responded to the overture of 
Congress, by yielding her claims to the territory northwest of the Ohio river, with cer- 
tain conditions annexed. By an act of Sept. 13, 1783, Congress proposed to comply in 
the main with the wishes of Virginia, but suggested some modification of the terms. 
On the 2oth of Dec. following, the General Assembly of Virginia passed an act accept- 
ing the modified terms proposed by the United States Congress. By this settlement 
the United States was to refund to Virginia all the money that had been expended by 
that State in her military operations in conquering and holding the territory. It was 
also stipulated that a quantity of land, not exceeding one hundred and fifty thousand 
acres, promised by the State of Virginia, should be allowed and granted by the United 
States to General George Rogers Clarke, and to the officers and soldiers of his regi- 
ment who inarched with him when the forts, Gates, at Kaskaskia, and St. Vincent, 
now Vincennes, were reduced; and to the officers and soldiers who were afterwards 
incorporated into that regiment. By this act the representatives of that State, in Con- 
gress, were instructed and empowered to transfer the territory, by deed, to the United 
States. The deed was executed March i, 1784, and signed by Thomas Jefferson, 
Samuel Hardy, Arthur Lee, and James Monroe. By Virginia protecting the frontier 
settlers from the cruelties of Indian warfare, she very justly goes down to posterity with 
the honor of having donated to the general government, territory from which has grown 
five of the very best States of the American Union. But while she was generous to 



ORDINANCE OF 1787. 39 



the public, she failed to be just to the man who was instrumental in bringing so much 
honor upon herself. In Butler's history of Kentucky it is said of George Rogers 
Clarke: " The government of Virginia failed to settle his accounts. Private suits were 
brought against him for public supplies, which ultimately swept away his fortune, and 
with this injustice the spirit of the hero fell, and the General never recovered his ener- 
gies, which had stamped him as one of nature's noblemen. At the same time it is feared 
that a too extensive conviviality contributed its mischievous effects." The latter was, 
most likely, the real cause of his misfortunes. 



THE ORDINANCE OF 1787. 



July 13, 1787, an ordinance for the government of the Northwestern Territory, ceded 
by Virginia to the United States, was enacted by Congress, and General Arthur St. 
Clair appeared at Marietta, on the Ohio river, and put the new government in opera- 
tion. Washington county was the first organized, and included a considerable portion 
of the present State of Ohio. In February, 1790, Governor St. Clair and his Secre- 
tary, Winthrop Sargeant, arrived at Kaskaskia and organized the county of St. Clair, 
which embraced more than half the present State of Illinois. The first legislative body 
for the Northwestern Territory assembled at what is now Cincinnati, September 16, 
1789. On the third of October, General William H. Harrison was elected the first del- 
egate to represent the Northwestern Territory in the Congress of the United States, 
and for more than ten years its government continued without change. 

May 7, 1800, an act of Congress provided for the organization of a territorial gov- 
ernment to be called Ohio. November 29, 1802, it was admitted to the Union as a 
.State, with its seat of government at Chillicothe. 

From the time the territorial government of Ohio was organized, the remainder con- 
tinued to be governed as the Northwestern Territory. The same year Ohio was 
admitted as a State 1802 the Territory of Indiana was organized, with William 
Ilenrv Harrison as Governor. In 1803 the first legislature of Indiana Territory assem- 
bled at Vincennes. Illinois being then a part of Indiana Territory, St. Clair county 
sent three representatives. Indiana was not admitted as a State into the Union until 
1816, but seven years previous to that time had lost more than half its area. 

By an act of Congress, approved February 3, i 809, Illinois was separated from In- 
diana, and provision made for organizing a Territorial Government. Hon. Ninian 
Edwards, Chief Justice of Kentucky, was appointed by President Madison, to be the 
first Governor of the Territory of Illinois. The government was organized, in the 
absence of Governor Edwards, by Nathaniel Pope, Territorial Secretary, April 28, 1809. 
Governor Edwards arrived at Kaskaskia early in June, and on the eleventh of that 
month took the oath of office. He was Governor during the whole territorial existence 
of Illinois. His first commission was dated March 7, 1809; re-appointed November 



3 o HISTORICAL PRELUDE. 

12, 1812; again re-appointed Jan. 16, 1816. From 1809 to 1812 all the legislation was 
done " By authority of the Governor and Judges." They did not enact laws, hut selec- 
ted from the territorial laws of Indiana, and from the State of Kentucky such as were 
suitable to the situation, and declared them to be the laws of the Territory of Illinois. 
During those three years the Territory was without a voice in Congress. 

The first election in Illinois was held by order of Governor Edwards, March 14, 
1812, for the purpose of ascertaining if the people generally desired to take part in the 
government and relieve the Governor and Judges of so much responsibility. The re- 
sult of the election was favorable to the change. That involved the necessity for 
another election, which was ordered for October ninth, tenth and eleventh, for the pur- 
pose of choosing a delegate to Congress and members of the Territorial Legislature. 
The members thus elected assembled at Kaskaskia November 25, 1812, being the first 
legislative body in the territory. From that time to 1818, all business was done in the 
name of the "Legislative Council and House of Representatives." That body asseni- 
bled annually in December. 

By an act of Congress, approved April 18, 1818, the people of Illinois were authori- 
zed to advance from a Territorial to a State Government. In August an election was 
held for State officers and a representative in Congress. The State was admitted into 
the Union Dec. 3, 1818. Shaclrach Bond, who had been a delegate in Congress from 
1812 to 1815, and receiver in the land office from that time until the State was admitted 
to the Union, was elected the first Governor under the State organization. Ex-Gov- 
ernor Edwards and Jesse B. Thomas were chosen by the legislature to be the first 
United States Senators. 



SANGAMON COUNTY. 



When Illinois was admitted to the Union it was composed of thirty-three counties, 
but Sangamon county and Springfield were unknown. The county was created, by a 
law of the State, entitled : 

"An act establishing the County of Sangamon" Approved January 30, 1821. 

SECTION i. Be it enacted by the People of the State of Illinois, represented in 
the General Assembly, That all that tract of country within the following boundaries, 
to-wit: Beginning at the northeast corner of township twelve north, on the third 
principal meridian, thence north with said meridian to the Illinois river, thence down 
the middle of said river to the mouth of Balance or Negro creek, thence up said creek 
to its head, thence through the middle of the prairie which divides the waters of the 
Sangamon and Mauves Terre, to the northwest corner of township twelve north, range 
seven west, of the third principal meridian, thence east along the north boundary of 
township twelve to the place of beginning, shall constitute a separate county to be called 
Sansramon. 



SANGAMON COUNTY. 31 

SECTION 2. Be it further enacted, That so soon as the county commissioners of 
said county shall be elected and duly qualified into office, they shall meet at some con- 
venient place in said county, and determine on some place as near the centre of the pop- 
ulation of said county as circumstances will admit, and such place, when selected by 
said county commissioners, shall be the temporary seat of justice for said county, until 
otherwise provided by law: Provided, however, that if any settler or settlers, owner or 
owners, of the place so selected as aforesaid, shall refuse to ,have the temporary seat of 
justice fixed on his, or her or their improvements, then the said commissioners may de- 
termine on such other place contiguous thereto as they may deem proper. 

SECTION 3. Be it further enacted, That said county commissioners shall be allowed 
the same compensation for the time necessarily employed in fixing the temporary seat 
of justice as in other cases. 

SECTION 4. Be it further enacted, That the citizens of Sangamon county arc here- 
by declared in all respects entitled to the same rights and privileges as are allowed in 
general to other counties in thus State; Provided, always, that in all cases where free 
holders only are capable of performing any duty, or are entitled to any privilege; house- 
keepers shall, for all such purposes, be considered as free holders in the said Sangamon 
county, and shall and may do and perform all duties appertaining to the different offices 
in the county. 

SECTION 5. Be it further enacted, That the county of Sangamon shall compose a 
part of the first judicial circuit of the State. 

That all may understand the difference between the boundaries of the county when 
organized, and the present bouadaries, it is only necessary to spread before you any late 
township map of the State and trace the following boundaries: Commencing at the 
northeast corner of Locust township, in Christian county, thence north to a point on the 
Illinois river, about two miles west of the city of Peru, thence down the middle of said 
river to what is now the boundary line between Cass and Morgan counties, thence east 
to the northeast corner of Morgan county, thence south on the line between Morgan 
and Sangamon counties, to the northwest corner of Otter township, in Macoupin county, 
thence east to the place of beginning. It will be seen that the boundaries between this 
county and Morgan, Macoupin and Montgomery, are unchanged. The original metes 
and bounds of Sangamon county, as given, embraced the following counties and parts 
of counties, as at present constituted : Part of Christian, a small part of Macon, all of 
Logan, part of McLean, all of Tazewell, part of Woodford, part of Marshall, part of 
Putnam, all of Mason, all of Menard, and all of Cass. 

The territory constituting the county was thus set apart by law, but it was without 
officers. For the purpose of supplying them an election was held Monday, April 2, 
1821, at the house of John Kelly. At this election William Drennan, Zachariah Peter, 
and Rivers Cormack were elected county commissioners. They met the next day, 
each took the oath of office, and at once entered upon the discharge of their duties. 
The following is a transcript from the original records of their first term of court: 

APRIL 3, 1821 : 

At a Special Term of the County Commissioners' Court for the County of Sanga- 
mon, begun and held at the house of John Kelly, on Spring creek, on the third day of 



3 2 HISTORICAL PRELUDE. 



April, 1821: Present, Zachariah Peter, Rivers Cormack, and William Drennan, com- 
missioners. Ordered by the Court that Charles R. Matheney be appointed Clerk of 
the County Commissioners Court for the county of Sangamon; who thereupon took 
the oath prescribed by law, also the oath of office, and entered into bond, as the law 
directs, with James Latham his security. Ordered that court adjourn. 

ZACHARIAH PETER, 
WM. DRENNAN, 
RIVERS CORMACK. 

The Commissioners met again in Special Session, April 10, 1821, at the same place. 
Present: Z. Peter and Wm. Drennan. John Spillers was allowed ten dollars for con- 
veying election returns to Vandalia. James Sims was appointed County Treasurer. 
John Lindsay, Stephen Stillman, and John Robinson, were appointed to the office of 
Justice of the Peace. The following report was made with reference to the location 
of the county seat : 

WHEREAS, the Act of the General Assembly, entitled An Act, establishing the 
county of Sangamo, required of the County Commissioners when elected and qualified 
into office, to fix a temporary seat of justice for said county: Therefore, we, the under- 
signed, County Commissioners for said county, do certify that we, after full examina- 
tion of the situation of the population of said county, have fixed and designated a certain 
point in the prairie near John Kelley's field, on the waters of Spring creek, at a stake 
marked Z. & D., as the temporary seat of justice for said county; and do further agree 
that the said county seat be called and known by the name of Springfield. 

Given under our hands this loth day of April, 1821. 

ZACHARIAH PETER. 

WM. DRENNAN. 

There is no explanation of letters used in marking the stake, but it is probable that 
the onlv two commissioners present agreed to use one initial from each of their names. 

The point chosen was near what is now the northwest corner of Second and Jeffer- 
son streets. The first court house in the county was built on the same spot. 

We find the county of Sangamo organized, and the county seat temporarily located 
and named. It may be interesting to note some of the incidents that influenced the 
selection of that pai'ticular spot. Towns and cities are born, live, and die, subject to the 
contingencies of birth, life, and death, analagous to that of human beings. About the 
year 1818, an old bachelor by the name of Elisha Kelly emigrated from North Carolina 
to this State, stopping first in Macoupin county. Mr. Kelly was exceedingly fond of the 
chase, and in prospecting for good hunting grounds, wandered in between two ravines, 
a couple of miles apart, running in a northwesterly direction, and emptying into Spring 
creek, a tributary of the Sangamon river. The deer with which this country abounded 
before the advent of civilization, made their homes in the timber along the larger water 
courses. In the morning they would leave the heavy timber, follow up the ravines, 
along which the trees became smaller, and finally ran out on the open prairie, They 
would pass the day amid the tall and luxuriant grass, roaming about and grazing at 
pleasure, and as nightfall approached, return down- the ravines, to the places they had 
left in the morning, each to seek its lair for repose. The deer in passing down these 
ravines, gave Mr. Kelly an opportunity for the full gratification of his ambition for 



. \G.\MO.\ cor.vrr. 33 



game. It seemed to him so much like a hunter's paradise, that he returned to his old home 
and induced his father, Henry Kelly, and his four brothers, John, older than himself, 
and Elijah, William and George, younger, to emigrate with him, those who had fam- 
ilies bringing them. He induced other families among his acquaintances to emigrate 
also. More families continued to move into the country, and generally settled at long 
distances from each other, but the principal settlement clustered around the Kellvs. 
NVhen the commissioners came to locate the county seat, it was discovered that the 
Kellev settlement was the only place in all the county, large as it was, where enough 
families could be found in the vicinity of each other to board and lodge the members 
of the court and those who would be likely to attend its sessions. 

The records do not show that anything more than locating the countv seat was done 
that day, but in another part of the book we find a copy of a contract that was evi- 
dently entered into after adjournment, and before they separated. There is no evidence 
of any advertising for proposals to build a court house, but here is the contract: 

Article of agreement entered into the loth day of April, 1821, between John Kelly, 
of the county of Sangamo, and the undersigned, county commissioners of said countv. 
Tin said Kelly agrees with said commissioners to build, for the use of the said countv, 
a court house of the following description, to-wit: The logs to be twenty feet long, 
the house one story high, plank floor, a good cabin roof, a door and window cut out, 
the work to be completed by the first day of May, next, for which the said commis- 
sioners promise, on the part of the county, to pay the said Kelly forty-two dollars and 
fifty cents. Witness our hands the day and date above. 

JOHN KELLY, 
ZACHARIAH PETER, 
WM. DRENNAN. 

As the temple of justice approached completion the commissioners found that it 
would be a very nice summer building, but they evidently had some doubts about it 
for winter. So we find another contract, of which the following is a copy : 

Jesse Brevard agrees with the county commissioners to finish the court house in the 
following manner, to-wit: To be chinked outside and daubed inside. Boards sawed 
and nailed on the inside cracks, a good, sufficient door shutter, to be made with good 
plank and hung with good iron hinges, with a latch. A window to be cut out, faced 
and cased, to contain nine lights, with a good, suificient shutter hung on the outside. 
A fire place to be cut out seven feet wide, and a good, sufficient wooden chimney, 
built with a good, sufficient back and hearth. To be finished by the first of September, 
next. 

JESSE BREVARD. 

June I, 1821. 

June 4, 1821, the court assembled in the court house for which they had signed the 
contract twenty-four days previous. A contract was entered into that day to build a 
jail, first drawing up the specifications and then writing the contract on the back, of 
which the following is a copy: 

Robert Hamilton agrees to build the within named jail for the county of Sangamo, 
and to have the same completed by the first Monday in September, next, for the sum 
of eighty four dollars and seventy-five cents, for which the commissioners agree, on 
~ 5 



34 HISTORICAL PRELUDE. 

the part of the county, that the said Hamilton shall be entitled to a warrant on the 
county treasury for the sum of eighty-four dollars and seventy-five cents, as aforesaid. 

ROBERT HAMILTON. 

June 4, 1821. 

The following is a "description of a jail for Sangamo county," to-wit: The timber 
to be cut twelve feet long, hewed twelve inches square, raised seven feet between the 
floors, the upper and also the under floor to be of the same kinds of timber, hewed 
and fit on the sill with a shoulder of at least three inches. The under sill to be let in 
the ground so as to let the floor rest on the surface of the earth. The logs to be 
matched with a half dove-tail, and made to close. The building to be covered with a 
good cabin roof, a window cut eight inches square, half cut out of the timber above 
and half below. A bar of iron let into the log above and one below, one-half inch 
thick and two inches wide; three bars of iron standing upright one inch square, let in 
through the top and bottom bar and into the timber. One door cut three feet in width 
and five feet high, to be faced, or cheeked, with good timber, three inches thick, put on 
with good spikes; a strong door shutter, made of good oak plank, put together cross- 
ing and angling, with rivets, at least four in each cross of the plank, and fourpenny 
nails, drove from each side of the door, not more than one-half inch apart. To be 
hung with three good, strong, iron hinges, so turned as not to admit of the door com- 
ing off, and a good, strong bolt lock. The building to be completed by the first Mon- 
day in September, next. 

June 4, 1821 : 

At the meeting of June 4th John Hamblin and David Black were appointed con- 
stables. To this time the records show that the name of the county had been written 
Sangamo, but without any apparent reason, we find a letter added, making it Sanga- 
mon. 

June 5, 1821 : 

At a meeting of the commissioners under this date, we find that John Kellv was 
allowed $42.50 due him on contract for building the court house, and he was allowed 
$5.00 for extra work. At a meeting September I, 1821, Jacob Ellis was allowed $4.50 
for Judge's seat and bar in the court house. The meeting of December 4, 1821, shows 
that Jesse Brevard was allowed $20.50 for finishing the court house, making a total of 
$72.50 as the total cost of the first court house of Sangamon county, but even here we 
see that the cost nearly doubled the original contract of $42.50. 

Continuing the business done on June 5th, we find that the county was divided into 
four election districts, or townships, called, respectively, Sangamon, Springfield, Rich- 
land and Union. Overseers of the poor were appointed, two for each township. 
and a board of three trustees to look after the overseers of the poor. It does not 
appear that any one was appointed to look after the trustees. At that meeting James 
C. Stephenson was appointed county surveyor, and George Hay worth county treasurer, 
in place of James Sims, who refused to qualify. Provision was made for levying a 
tax on houses, neat cattle, wheel carnages, stock in trade and distilleries. 

July 1 6, 1821. Ordered, that one-half of one per cent, be levied on all property for 
the purpose of paying for the public buildings, and for other purposes. 



SANGAMON COUNTT. 35 



December 4, 1821. John Taylor came into court and entered his protest against the 
sufficiency of the jail. At the same term it was ordered that Robert Pulliam be allowed 
to keep a tavern, or public house of entertainment, upon his executing a bond and pay- 
ing to the county the sum of three dollars, and that he be allowed to charge the follow- 
ing ratc-s, to-wit: Meal of victuals, 25 cents; bed for night, 121^ cents; feed for horse, 
121^ cents; keeping horse all night, 37^ cents; whisky, for half pint, 12^. 

March term, 1822. Erastus Wright was authorized to keep a ferry across the Illinois 
river, opposite Fort Clark, now Peoria. Rates of charges were fixed in the license. 
We learn that he never kept the ferry. 

Elijah Slater, on filing his bond, with Dr. Gershom Jayne as security, was granted 
license to keep a tavern, or public house of entertainment, in the town of Springfield, 
and a schedule of charges fixed similar to that annexed to Mr. Pulliam's license. 

George Havworth, the county treasurer, made what was probably intended as his 
annual report, although the county had been organized only about eleven months. The 
amount of taxes collected for 1821 was $407.44; fines collected, $40.00, making the 
total receipts $447.44. The amount paid out was $420.183^. This included the pay- 
ment of all the officers, and of all bills connected with the building of the court house 
and jail, leaving $27.261^ cents in the treasury, and no public debt. From the official 
papers it appears that the entire salary of the county treasurer for that year was 
$22.26^. 

July 29, 1823, the amount of taxable property returned to the court was $129,112.50. 
After reducing the territory of the county to about one-seventh of the original area, 
we find that the taxable property now 1876 amounts to about thirty-five millions of 
dollars. 

Adam Hamilton, county treasurer, reported at the May term, 1824, total amount of 
collections was $875. 87^, and the disbursements $753.90, leaving a balance of $121.97 

in the treasury. 



After the temporary location of the county seat, a contest sprang up, looking to the 
permanent location of the same. At an election of members of the legislature, two 
opposing candidates went before the people on the merits of two localities. I. S. Pugh 
was the candidate for Springfield, and William S. Hamilton, a son of the distinguished 
statesman, Alexander Hamilton, represented Sangamo, a beautiful site for a town on 
the banks of the Sangamon river, about seven miles west, bearing a little north from 
Springfield. Hamilton was elected, but Pugh went to Vandalia, the capital, as a 
lobby member, and succeeded in having commissioners named in the next paragraph 
appointed, who proved to be favorable to Springfield. 

An act of the General Assembly, approved December 23, 1824, provided for reduc- 
ing the boundaries of the county, and named James Mason, Rowland P.Allen, Charles 
Gear and John R. Sloo, as a board of commissioners who should permanently locate the 
county seat. A proviso in the law forbade its being located unless thirty-five acres of 
land was donated on the spot. The commissioners assembled March 18, 1825, and 
confirmed the former location. More than the requisite donation was made, forty-two 
acres being conveyed for that purpose by Elijah lies and Pascal Enos. The land con- 
veyed was parts of sections thirty-four and twenty-seven, in town sixteen north, range 



M7S TOR 1 CA L PREL UDE. 



hve west, of the third principal meridian. The work of the special commission wa 
consummated when the county commissioners accepted the deeds. They soon afte 
ordered all the land to be laid out into town lots, and, after reserving one square to 
county buildings, had the remainder sold. Wm. S. Hamilton was appointed to lay oi 
and map the town lots. At the same meeting it was ordered that the sale of lots shoulc 
begin on the first Monday in May, 1825, and that it should be so advertised in th 
Edwardsville Spectator, and in the Intelligencer, at Vandalia. Mr. Hamilton failed to 
lay out the lots, and Tom M. Neale did the work. At a meeting of the commis- 
sioners, May 2, 1825, Mr. Neale was appointed crier to sell the lots, and Erastus Wright 
to clerk at the sale. The following report of two days' sales will show the contrast 
between the value of Springfield real estate then and now : 



FIRST DAY. 


Lots. 


Block. 


Amount. 


Garret Elkin. bought 


i 


22 


$25 75 


James C. McNabb " 


-} 




] 2 OO 


fames Adams . " .... 


5 


22 


17 . 7; 


Robert Hamilton ". " .... 


7 


22 


lf>. 5p 


SECOND DAY. 
Garrett Elkin bought 


2 


22 


71 OO 


Elijah lies. ' 


A 


22 


20 oo 




4 


27 


40.00 




r 


27 


H.oo 


James Adams 


6 


22 


17.25 


Garrett Elkin 


8 




17 5614 


T M Neale 




21 


21 OO 




2 


' 2 3 


17.25 


Thomas Cox. . 


I 




H.OO 


C. R. Matheny .... 


8 


27 


IO. 25 











At the June term, 182=5, of the county; commissioners' court, John Taylor, sheriff, 
made the following return or report : 

Taxes collected for 1824 $600.00 

Fines collected same year 23.00 



Total $623.00 

Amount paid out 549.97 



Balance in favor of the county $73.03 

July term, 1825. The county commissioners began to think the time had arrived for 
building a larger and better court house. They passed an order that the county pro- 
ceed to build a court house, not to exceed three thousand dollars, provided one-half the 
expense be made up bv subscription. It was to be of brick, two stories high. The 
failure to raise the money bv subscription defeated the whole project. 

It will be remembered that the court house built in 1821 cost, on the original contract, 
$41.50; for extra work, $5.00; for a seat for the Judge, $4.50; and for finishing the 
building, so as to make it habitable for winter, $20.50, making a total of $72.50. 



SAN GAM ON COUNTY. 37 



Coming down from their project to build a $3,000 court house, we next find a con- 
tract in the office of the county clerk, made September, 1825. Log buildings could no 
longer be tolerated, and this was to be a frame. The contract price was $449.00, 
which did not include the flues. That was let to another party for $70.00, making a 
total of $519.00. The old log court house was sold at auction to John Taylor for 
$32.00, nearly half the original cost. The new frame court house was built at the 
north-east corner of Adams and Sixth streets. It must have been a magnificent struc- 
ture, judging from the fact that at the term of the court in June, 1826, Robert Thomp- 
son was allowed two dollars and twenty-five cents for the plan of the court house. 

It may be a matter of some interest to say a few words here about the method of 

raising revenue to keep the machinery of government moving. At a term of com- 

; missioners' court, March 23, 1827, a schedule was made of the kinds of property to be 

taxed, beginning: "On slaves and indentured or registered negro or mulatto servants, 

on pleasure carriages, on distilleries," etc., etc. 

Only a few years elapsed until the frame court house was thought to be inadequate 
i to the growing wants of the people. It is recorded in the county archives that in Feb- 
ruary, 1830, the county court appointed three agents or commissioners to superintend 
the erection of a brick court house. On the third of March the commissioners reported 
to the court that thev had entered into contracts with two parties. One for the brick 
work, at $4,641, the other for the wood work, at $2,200, making a total of $6,841. 
This edifice was completed early in 1831, and stood in the centre of the public square, 
bounded by Washington and Adams, Fifth and Sixth streets. It was a square build- 
ing, two. stories high, hip roof, with a cupola rising in the centre. From the time that 
court house was erected, all the business of the town collected around the square. 

In 1837, wr en Springfield was selected as the future capital of the state, with a 
pledge to raise fifty thousand dollars to assist in building the state house; also to furnish 
the site upon which it should stand, it was not an easy matter to agree upon a location. 
If land was selected far enough from the existing business to be cheap, the fifty thousand 
dollars could not be raised. Those already in business around the square refused to 
contribute, because the state house, being so much larger and more attractive, would 
draw the business after it, thus depreciating the value of their property. After dis- 
cussing the question in all its bearings, it was found that the only practicable way to settle 
the matter was to demolish the court house and use the site for the state house. Under 
that arrangement the business men around the square pledged themselves to contribute 
to the fifty thousand dollar fund to the extent of their ability. The court house was 
accordingly removed, early in 1837, anc ^ wol "k on tne state house commenced. This 
square, with the court house and other buildings on it, were valued at sixteen thousand 
dollars, about one-third of which was lost in the destruction, of the buildings. 

Having thus summarily disposed of their court house, and having engaged to do so 
much towards building the state house, the people of Sangamon countv were unable 
to undertake the building of another. In order to supply the deficiency, the county 
authorities rented a building that had been erected for a store house by the Hon. Nin- 
ian \V. Edwards. It is at the west side of Fifth street, five doors north of Washington, 
and was used as a court house for about ten years. Mr. Edwards still owns it, and it 
is yet used as a business house. After the state house was built, the fifty thousand 



38 HISTORICAL PRELUDE. 



dollars paid, and the county emerged from the general wreck caused by the financu 
crash of 1837-8, Sangamon county hegan to take measures for erecting another coin 
house. In the month of February, 1845, a lot of ground was purchased at the south 
east corner of Washington and Sixth streets, as the site for the building. On tht 
twenty-second of April a contract was made by the county commissioners for the built 
ing, according to plans and specifications previously adopted. The edifice was to cc 
$9,680, to be paid in county orders. It was completed according to contract, and w; 
used as the court house of Sangamon county nearly thirty-one years, until Januan 
1876. 

When the movement for building a new state house was made, early in 1867, it w 
deemed politic on the part of the friends of Springfield that Sangamon county shoul 
purchase the old state house, erected from 1837 to 1840, and make it the court house c 
the county. The law providing for the building of a new state house, which was 
proved by Gov. R. J. Oglesby, February 25, 1867, with a supplementary act two da} 
later, contained a clause for the transfer of the state house to Sangamon county and th 
city of Springfield, which was afterwards changed, making the county alone the pui 
chaser. It was" stipulated that the Governor should convey the public square, cor 
taining two and a halt acres of land, with the state house upon it, to Sangamon count} 
in consideration of two hundred thousand dollars, to be paid to the state of Illinoi 
and for the further consideration that the city of Springfield and the county cause t 
be conveyed to the State a certain piece of land, described by metes and bounds in th 
bill, and containing between eight and nine acres, upon which to erect the new stat 
house. The law also provided that the state should have the use of the old state hou 
until the new one was completed. The land was secured at a cost to the city of sevent 
thousand dollars, and conveyed to the state; the two hundred thousand dollars was 
paid by the county, and the property conveyed by the state to the county. That was 
done in 1867, but the countv did not come into possession of the property for seven 
years. During that time the simple interest, at ten per cent., on the two hundred thousand 
dollars purchase money, would have amounted to one hundred and forty thousand dol- 
lars, making the cost of the old state house to Sangamon county three hundred and 
forty thousand dollars. The state vacated the house in January, 1876, and the 
county authorities at once took possession. It will thus be seen that in fifty-five years 
the county has had five court houses, and been ten years without any. The first one 
cost forty-two dollars and fifty cents, and the last three hundred and forty thousand 
dollars. 

CIRCUIT COURT. 

While the commissioners were busy putting the machinery of the county in working 
order, we find that the Circuit Court for the county was organized also. The follow- 
ing is the complete record for the first term : 

Sangamon Circuit, May Term, 1821: 

At a Circuit Court for the county of Sangamon, and State of Illinois, begun and 
held at the house of John Kelly, on the first Monday of May, (7th day), in the year c 
our Lord, one thousand, eight hundred and twenty-one. 



SANGAMON COUNTT. 39 

Present: JOHN REYNOLDS, Judge. 

CHARLES R. MATHENY, Clerk. 

JOHN TAYLOR, Sheriff. 

HENRY STARR, Prosecuting Attorney, pro tern. 

The following list of Grand Jurors were empanneled and sworn: 

Daniel Parkinson, foreman. George Hay worth, 

Claybourn James, William Eads, 

Henry Brown, Thomas Knotts, 

John Darneille, James McCoy, 

Archibald Turner, James Tweddell, 

William Davis, Aaron Hawley, 

Abraham Richey, Field James, 

Abraham Carlock, Mason Fowler, 

Levi Harbour, Isaac Keys, 

Elias Williams. 

Charles R. Matheny presented his bond and security as clerk, which was approved 
y the court. 

John Taylor presented his bond as sheriff, with security, which was approved by 
the court. 

Suit was commenced by Samuel L. Irwin against Roland Shepherd, for trespass, 
and dismissed at plaintiff's cost. 

The Grand Jury came into court and returned two indictments for assault and bat- 
ten and one for riot. Trial deferred until next term, and court adjourned. 

The next term was October 8, 1821; held but one day, and proceedings covered 
two pages of the record. 

Next term commenced May 6, 1822; lasted three days, and proceedings covered 
nine pages of the record. Now, in 1876, with the county reduced to about one-seventh 
of the territory it then occupied, the Circuit Court continues about eighteen weeks, 
annually, or three terms of about six weeks each, and the proceedings of each term 
cover from three to five hundred pages of the record. 

In those days, when the electric telegraph was unknown, and it required from 
twenty days to one month for a letter or newspaper to be brought from the Atlantic 
coast, the early settlers were under the necessity of giving an amusing turn to passing 
events when it was at all practicable. An incident illustrating this is related by men 
who witnessed the facts. When the court was held in the first log court house, an 
attorney by the name of Mendel violated the rules of decorum as understood by his 
Honor, Judge John York Sawyer, who ordered Mendel to be arrested and sent to 
jail for a few hours. On repairing to the court house next morning, the Judge, lawyers 
and others were surprised to find the court in session before the hour to which it had 
adjourned. A large calf was on the platform usually occupied by the Judge, and a 
flock of geese cooped up in the jury box. Mendel, having been released from jail, was 
inside the bar; bowing first to the calf and then to the geese, he commenced his plead- 
ing: "May it please the Court, and you gentlemen of the jury." 



40 HISTORICAL PRELUDE. 

The first three or four years of the records of the Circuit Court reveals nothing. 
more than the ordinary routine in such tribunals. The most startling event in the 
community occurred August 27, 1826. A murder was committed that day near the 
Sangamon river, in what is now Menard county, ahout five miles above where Peters- 
burg now stands. A blacksmith named Nathaniel VanNoy had, in a fit of drunken ] 
frenzy, killed his wife. He was arrested and lodged in jail the same day. The sheriff, 
Col. John Taylor, notified Judge Sawyer, who at once called a special session of the 
Circuit Court. A grand jury was empanneled and sworn, consisting of the following \ 
citizens: 

Gershom Jayne, foreman, Jesse M. Harrison, 

Stephen Stillman, Robert Cownover, 

John Morris, James Turley, 

John Stephenson, Jr., Aaron Houton, 

James White, John Young, 

Thomas Morgan, John Lindsay, 

James Stewart, Charles Boyd, 

Jacob Boyer, Win. O. Chilton, 

Robert White, Job Burdan, 

John N. Moore, Hugh Sportsman, 

Wm. Carpenter, Abram Lanterman. 

Upon hearing the evidence a true bill was found against the accused, and a petit 
jury called, consisting of the following persons : 

Boling Green, foreman, Wm. Vincent, 

Samuel Lee, Philip I. Fowler, 

Jesse Armstrong, John L. Stephenson, 

Levi W. Gordon, Levi Parish, 

Thomas I. Parish, James Collins, 

Erastus Wright, Geo. Davenport, 

A foreman was appointed, the jury sworn, and the trial commenced on the 28th. 
Attorney-General James Turney acted for the people; James Adams and I. H. Pugh, 
for the defendant. A verdict of guilty was rendered on the 29th, and sentence was 
pronounced the same day, that the condemned man be hung November 26, 1826. Thus, 
in less than three days was the murder committed, the murderer tried and condemned 
to be hung. The sentence was carried out at the time appointed, in the presence of 
almost the entire community. Many are yet living who witnessed the execution. 
Having already sold his body, it was delivered to the surgeons, who immediately com- 
menced dissecting it in an old open house. The spectacle was so revolting that they 
were compelled to desist and remove it to a more private place. In a country so new, 
the settlers so widely separated, and so little that was interesting or exciting to furnish 
topics for conversation, the excitement caused by that event cannot be imagined by the 
people at the present time. The writer has, time and again, had the dates of events, 
such as the advent of families in the community, marriages, births, deaths, and incidents 
too numerous to mention, all settled beyond a doubt by its having occurred "the fall 
VanNov was hunfif!" 



SANGAMOX COr.\ V)-. 41 



PROBATE COURT. 

Having given an account of the organization of the Commissioners' Court and of 
the Circuit Court, the department of justice would not be complete without a Probate 
Court. The following from its records will show when and by whom that court was 
organized : 

SPRINGFIELD, SANGAMON COUNTY, 

STATE OF ILLINOIS, June 21, 1821. 

Agreeable to an act of Assembly establishing Courts of Probate, approved February 
10, 1821, the court was opened at Springfield, Sangamon county, an the 4 th day of 
June, 1821. Present, James Latham, Judge. 

The court proceeded to issue letters of administration to Randolph Wills on the 
estate of Daniel Martin, deceased. After which the court adjourned until court in 
course. 

JAS. LATHAM, Judge. 

After which court met and adjourned three times without transacting any business, 
until August 26, 1821, when the filing and recording the will of Peter Lanterman 
occupied the attention of the court one entire term. 

October, 1821, we find the following will recorded: 

Before the witnesses now present, Louis Bennett, in perfect memory, does give to 
the daughters of Kakanoqui, Josett Kakanoqui and Lizett Kakanoqui, two thousand 
livres each, and six hundred livres for praies for his father; also, six hundred livres for 
him, if for prayes, and thirty dollars for prayes promised, and one hundred dollars for 
Kakanoqui, the rest of his money to be given to his brothers and sisters of Louis 
Bennett. After duly hearing read over before the witnesses now present, and signing 
the same will, he does voluntarily appoint Joseph D. Portecheron and Louis Pencon- 

neau, Senr., as exacquators of his will. 

His 

LOUIS -f BENNETT. 

mark. 

JOSEPH D. PORTECHERON, 1 

JOSEPH DUTTLE, I ..... 

nlg ^ Witnesses. 

FRANCOIS -h BARBONAIS, 

mark. J 

NEWSPAPERS. 

During the winter of 1826-7 tne "Sangamo Spectator' 1 '' was established in Spring- 
field by Hooper Warren. He says, in a letter to tne old settlers' meeting, October 20, 
1859: " It was but a small affair, a medium sheet, worked by myself alone most of the 
time, until I made a transfer of it, in the fall of 1828, to Mr. S. Meredith." Mr. War- 
ren is yet residing at Henry, Illinois. 

The Sangamo Journal was, established by Simeon and Josiah Francis. See their 
names. The first number of the paper was issued November 10, 1831, and has con- 
6 



42 HISTORICAL PRELUDE. 



tinned to the present time, and is now known as the Illinois State Journal, and has 
been published weekly and daily since June 13, 1838. Its present proprietors are 
the "Illinois Journal Company," composed of D. L. Phillips, Prest.; E. L. Baker, 
Sec.; J. D. Roper, Treasurer; and Charles Edwards and A. J. Phillips. 

The Illinois State Register, first established at Vandalia, was removed to Spring- 
field in 1836, by Walters & Weber. It has been published as a weekly and daily since 
January 2, 1849. Its present proprietors are E. L. & J. D. Merritt. 

SANGAMON RIVER NAVIGATION. 

The transportation question will always be a leading one in civilixed communities, 
and especially so in their early settlement. To the first settlers of Illinois it was of un- 
usual importance, on account of the vast extent of undrained soil, so rich and soft as to 
be almost impassible, in its natural state, for half of every year. For the transporta- 
tion of heavy articles long distances, no other mode was thought of except by water. 
They could be conveyed three or four times the distance in that way, much cheaper 
than on a straight line by any known method. Consequently, efforts were made to 
navigate every stream to the highest point possible. In the Sangamo Journal of 
January 26, 1832, there appears a letter from Vincent A. Bogue, written in Cincinnati 
and addressed to Edward Mitchell, Esq., of Springfield. Mr. Bogue says he will at- 
tempt the navigation of the Sangamon river if he can find a suitable boat, and expresses 
the opinion that if he succeeds it will revolutionize the freight business. This is an 
editorial paragraph from the Springfield Journal of February 16, 1832: 

"NAVIGATION OF THE SANGAMO. We find the following advertisement in the 
Cincinnati Gazette of the I9th ult. We hope such notices will soon cease to be novel- 
ties. We seriously believe that the Sangamon river, with some little improvement, 
can be made navigable for steamboats for several months in the year." Here is the 
advertisement : \ 

" FOR SANGAMO RIVER, ILLINOIS. The splendid upper cabin steamer, Talisman, 
J. M. Pollock, Master, will leave for Portland, Springfield, on the Sangamon river, 
and all the intermediate ports and landings, say Beardstown, Naples, St. Louis, Louis- 
ville, on Thursday, February 2. For freight or passage, apply to Capt. Vincent A. 
Bogue, at the Broadway Hotel, or to Allison Owen." The same boat was advertised 
in the St. Louis papers. 

After the above notices appeared in the Journal, the citizens of Springfield and 
surrounding country held a public meeting, February 14, 1832, and appointed a com- 
mittee to meet Mr. Bogue with a suitable number of hands to assist in clearing the 
river of obstructions. Another committee was appointed to collect subscriptions to 
defray the expense. The Journal of March 8 announces the arrival of the steamer at 
Meredosia, where its further progress was obstructed by ice. The Sangamo Journal 
of March 29, 1832, says: "On Saturday last the citizens of this place (Springfield) 
were gratified by the arrival of the steamboat Talisman, J. W. Pollock, Master, of 
i 50 tons burthen, at the Portland landing, opposite this town. (Portland was at the 
south side of the Sangamon river, between where the bridges of the Chicago & Alton 
and the Oilman, Clinton & Springfield railroads now stand.) The safe arrival of a 
boat of the size of the Talisman, on a river never before navigated by steam, had 






SANGAMON COUNTT. 43 

created much solicitude, and the shores for miles were crowded by our citizens. Her 
arrival at her destined port was hailed with loud acclamations and full demonstrations 
of pleasure. When Capt. Bogue located his steam mill on Sangamon river, twelve 
months ago, and asserted his determination to land a steam boat there within a year, 
the idea was considered chimerical by some, and utterly impracticable by others. The 
experiment has been made, and the result has been as successful as the most enthusiastic 
could expect; and this county owes a deep debt of gratitude to Captain Bogue for getting 
up the expedition, and his never tiring and unceasing efforts until the end was accom- 
plished. Capt. Pollock, who is naturally warm and enthusiastic, entered fully into the 
feeling of our citizens, who visited the mouth of the river to render any and every 
assistance in their power; and much credit is due him for his perseverance and success. 
The boat experienced some difficulty from drifts, and leaning timber on shore, which made 
her trip somewhat tedious. The result has clearly demonstrated the practicability of navi- 
gating the river by steamboats of a proper size; and by the expenditure of $2,000 in re- 
moving logs and drifts and standing timber, a steamboat of 80 tons burthen will make 
the trip in two days from Beardstown to this place. The citizens of Beardstown man- 
ifested great interest for the success of the enterprise, and some of them accompanied 
the boat until the result was no longer doubtful. They proposed the cutting of a 
communication or canal from the bluffs to their landing about five miles whereby 
seventy-five miles of navigation may be saved, and offered one thousand dollars to 
assist in completing it. It is to be hoped that the next Legislature will afford some aid 
in making the river safe and pleasant in its navigation. Springfield can no longer be 
considered an inland town. We have no doubt but within a few months a boat will 
be constructed for the special purpose of navigating the Sangamo river. The result 
which must follow the successful termination of this enterprise to our county, and to 
those counties lying in its neighborhood, it would be impossible to calculate. Here is 
now open a most promising field for the exercise of every branch of honest industry. 
We congratulate our farmers, our mechanics, our merchants and professional men for 
the rich harvest in prospect, and we cordially invite emigrating citizens from other 
states, whether rich or poor, if so be they are industrious and honest, to come hither 
and partake of the good things of Sangamo." 

A ball was gotten up in honor of the arrival, and several yards of machine poetry 
appeared in the next number of the Journal, detailing the various incidents connected 
with the wondrous event. The boat was unloaded, and immediately started on its re- 
turn, but the river had so fallen and brought the water within so narrow a channel, 
that it was impossible to turn it around, and they were compelled to back it out the 
entire distance. The only mention ever made of her afterwards was a newspaper re- 
port that the Talisman was burned at the wharf in St. Louis in the latter part of the 
next April. No attempt was ever made after that to bring a boat up the river. Thus 
ended the dream of navigating the Sangamo, across which a man may walk almost 
dry shod for nearly half of every year. 

RAILROADS. 

The navigation of the Sangamon river being a failure, left the problem of transporta- 
tion still unsolved. Brains and hands were at work in another land, that were destined to 



44 HISTORICAL PRELUDE. 



revolutionize all former ideas on the subject in this, but their labors had never been 
heard of by the people, with the exception, probably, of an occasional extensive reader 
of the news. The railroad was then in its very infancy in England. The steam loco- 
motive, about that time, found its way to this side of the Atlantic, but it required a 
few yeai's more for it to reach Illinois. The first rail laid in the state was at Mcredosia, 
on the Illinois river, May 9, 1838, on what was called the Northern Cross Railroad. 
The first locomotive arrived at the same place September 6, 1838, on the steamboat 
Chariton, and was put on the track and first turned its wheels on the 8th of November 
following. It required more than three years to complete the road to Springfield. The 
first locomotive was run into Springfield, February 15, 1842, on what is now the 
Toledo, Wabash and Western Railroad. George Gregory see his name was the 
engineer, and Thomas M. Averitt see his name was the fireman, both of whom are 
yet living in this county. The State of Illinois has now over six thousand miles of 
railroad, and Springfield has railroads by which travelers may enter and leave the city 
in eight different directions. 

SPRINGFIELD. 

We have already said that a temporary county seat was chosen for Sangamon count}-, 
April 10, 1821, and called Springfield. The first survey of public land in the county 
took place that year. The Rev. John M. Peck, in his Pioneer History of Illinois, says 
that Springfield was laid out in February, 1822, referring, no doubt, to Calhoun, which 
was the name given to the first plat of what is now a part of Springfield. It is in the 
northwestern part of the city. The first sale of public lands in Sangamon county took 
place November 7, 1823. At that sale the lands were purchased upon which Calhoun 
had been laid out. Four different parties entered each a quarter of as many sections 
cornering together. The town plat of Calhoun was recorded December 5, 1823. It 
was under a law approved December 23, 1824, that the county seat was permanently 
located by the commissioners, who assembled March 18, 1825, and confirmed the 
former location at Springfield. The land donated by Elijah lies and Pascal Enos was 
laid out into lots, making the streets correspond with those of Calhoun. There was 
great prejudice against the name of Calhoun, (afterwards the great millifier of South 
Carolina,) many refusing to recognize it, and it soon ceased to be used except in the 
conveyance of lots. 

The first legislation on the part of the state, with reference to Springfield, was ap- 
pi-oved February 9, 1827. By this act the court of county commissioners was required 
to appoint street commissioners for the town, and levy a tax for improving the same. 
A general law for the incorporation of towns was enacted and approved February 12, 
1831. April 2, 1832, Springfield was incorporated under that law. October 18, 1832, 
the county court ordered a re-survey of the town, in order to adjust the discrepancies 
between the plats of Calhoun and Springfield. The survey was made and acknowl- 
edged June 1 8, 1833, and recorded November 9, 1836. 

The first board of trustees after the town was incorporated, April 2, 1832: 
C. R. Matheny, President, Elisha Tabor, 

Cyrus Anderson, Mordecai Mobley, 

John Taylor, Wm. Carpenter. 



SANGAMON COUNTY. 45 

1833: John R- Gray, President. 

1834-5-6-7-8: C. R. Matheny, President. 

1839: Peleg C. Canedy, President, and Abraham Lincoln a member of the 
town board. 

By an act of the General Assembly, approved February 3, 1840, a city charter was 
granted to Springfield. This law provided for an election to be held the first Monday 
in April, being the sixth day, to adopt or reject the proposed charter. It was adopted, 
and the first election for city officers was held April 20, 1840. 

Benjamin S. Clements was elected Mayor, and James R. Gray, Washington lies, 
Joseph Klein and William Prentiss, Aldermen. The following were the successive 
Mayors from that to the present' time: For 1841, Wm. L. May; 1842, David B. 
Campbell; 1843, Daniel B. Hill, who resigned and Andrew McCormick was elected 
to fill the vacancy; 1844, Andrew McCormick; 1845, J ames C. Conkling; 1846-47 
and '48, Eli Cook; 1849-50 and '51, John Calhoun; 1852, William Lavely; 1853, 
Josiah Francis. In 1854 the number of Aldermen was increased from four to twelve, 
and William H. Herndon was elected Mayor; 1855, John Cook; 1856-57 and '58, John 
W. Priest; 1859, William Jayne; 1860, Goyn Sutton; 1861-62, Geo. L. Huntington; 
1863, John W. Smith; 1864, John S. Vredenburgh; 1865, Thomas J. Dennis; 1866, 
John S.Bradford; 1867, Norman M. Broadwell; 1868, William E. Shutt; 1869, N. 
M. Broadwell; 1870, John W. Priest; 1871 and '72, John W. Smith; 1873, Charles 
E. Hay; 1874, the wards were increased from four to six, and Obed Lewis elected 
Mayor; 1875, Charles E. Hay; 1876, this is printed in February, and the election takes 
place in April. 

SPRINGFIELD, THE^STATE CAPITAL. 

t 
From the discovery of the country by the French in 1673, there was no attempt at 

organized government in the territory now composing the State of Illinois, until 1718, 
when the " Company of the West" was formed in Paris, for the new w r orld. Kaskaskia 
had been settled between 1680-90, and is regarded as the oldest permanent settlement 
in the Mississippi Valley. 

Judge Caton, in his oration at the laying of the corner stone of the new state house, 
October 5, 1868, described the building which was used as the capitol when the terri- 
torial government was organized, in the following language: "It was a rough build- 
ing in the centre of a square in the village of Kaskaskia, the ancient seat of the western 
empire for more than one hundred and fifty years. The body of this building was of 
uncut limestone, the gables and roof of the gambrel style of unpainted boards and 
shingles, with dormer windows. The lower floor, a long, cheerless room, was fitted 
up for the House, whilst the council sat in the small chamber above. This venerable 
building was, during the French occupancy of the country, prior to 1763? the head- 
quarters of the military commandant. Thirty years ago the house was a mass of ruins, 
and to-day, probably, there is not a stone left to designate the spot where it stood." 
That building was the capitol during the territorial existence of Illinois, and the state 
government was organized in it also. 

The state constitution of 1818 required the General Assembly to petition Congress 
for a grant of land upon which to locate the seat of government for the state. In the 



46 HISTORICAL PRELUDE. 



event of the prayer of the petitioners being granted, a town was to be laid out on said 
land, which town should be the seat of government of the state for twenty years. The 
land was granted. "At the session of 1819, m Kaskaskia, five commissioners were 
appointed to select the land appropriated by Congress for the state capital." The 
commissioners made their selections further up the Kaskaskia river. Having selected 
the site, the commissioners were sorely puzzled in their efforts to select a name that 
should be so euphonious as to attract the attention of the whole world. Governor 
Ford, in his history of Illinois, gives the following humorous account of the way it 
was done : " Tradition says that a wag, who was present, suggested to the commis- 
sioners that the ' Vandals ' were a powerful nation of Indians, who once inhabited the 
banks of the Kaskaskia river, and that ' Vandalia,' derived from the name, would per- 
petuate the memory of that extinct but renowned people. The suggestion pleased the 
commissioners, the name was adopted, and they thus proved that the cognomen of 
their new city if they were fit representatives of their constituents would better 
illustrate the character of the modern, than the ancient inhabitants of the country." 

Having located and named their town, it was at once laid out, and the dense growth 
of timber cut away and a two story frame building erected on the square set apart for 
the State capitol. The building was placed on a rough stone foundation in the centre 
of the square, and was of very rude workmanship. The lower floor was for the House 
of Representatives, and the upper divided into two rooms, the largest one for the 
Senate and the smaller one for the office of Secretary of State. The State Auditor 
and Treasurer occupied detached buildings. The archives of the State were removed 
from Kaskaskia to Vandalia in December, 1820. That wooden State house was burned 
a few years later, and a much larger one built of brick on the same ground. The 
rapidity with which emigration filled up the northern portion of the State made it ap- 
parent, long before the twenty yeai's it was to remain at Vandalia expired,, that it would 
be necessary to remove the capital further north, and as early as 1833 the question be- 
gan to be agitated in the General Assembly. 

In the Legislature of 1836-7 Sangamon county had two Senators and seven Repre- 
sentatives. They were the most remarkable delegation from any one county to the 
General Assembly, being much taller than the average of human stature. Some of 
them were less and some more than six feet, but their combined height was exactly 
fifty-four feet. They were then and are yet spoken of as the " Long Nine." The 
names of those in the Senate were Archer G. Herndon and Job Fletcher; in the 
House, Abraham Lincoln, Ninian W. Edwards, John Dawson, Andrew McCormick, 
Dan Stone, Wm. F. Elkin and Robert L. Wilson. One or two were as tall, but none 
taller, than Abraham Lincoln, who, quoting his own language, was " six feet, four 
inches, nearly." It was known that a movement would be made to re-locate the State 
capital. The "Long Nine" were united for securing it, and nothing could 
turn one of them from their purpose. They were ready to yield anything else, 
but when any other point was yielded, it secured votes for Springfield as the capital. 
Their opportunities were great. The people of Illinois were, at that time, almost in- 
sane on the subject of internal improvements. Not one in ten thousand of them had 
ever seen a railroad, but they had heard of them, and thought the prairies of Illinois 
the best place in the world to build them. The first movements began in the General 
Assembly in 1833, but the first charter was: "An act to incorporate the Chicago and 



SANGAMOA COUNTT. 



47 



Yincennes railroad company with an authorized capital of $3,000,003," and was approved 
January 17, 1835. Within one year and four days from that time, charters were 
granted for building railroads in the State, of which the combined capital authorized was 
$18,200,000. In this legislation the State did not propose to furnish any capital, only 
authorized capitalists to invest their money. Not a mile of railroad was ever built 
under any of those charters. Before the next session, the Legislature realized that 
there were no capitalists to build railroads, and a new system was inaugurated. The 
most remarkable act ever passed by a legislative body in the State was approved Feb- 
ruarv 27, 1837, and was entitled "An act to establish and maintain a general svstem of 
internal improvements." Two supplementary acts were approved March 4, 1837. 
The three acts fill thirty-two octavo pages. The object was to construct public works 
at the expense of the State, in all parts of the same. Under this law appropriations 
were made for canals, and the improvement of rivers, to the amount of $650,000; also, 
for the building of railroads, $9,550,000, making a total of $10,200,000. During the 
month of February and March, 1837, bills were passed chartering twenty-two railroad 
companies with authorized capital stock to the amount of nearly $8,000,000, making 
an aggregate of about $30,000,000 involved in the vain endeavor to legislate railroads 
into existence in the State of Illinois before their time. 

While the internal improvement bill was pending, the "Long Nine" were busy. 
Thev said little or nothing in locating proposed railroads, but would assist other localities, 
where votes could be secured for locating the capital at Springfield. The result was 
the passage of "An act permanently to locate the seat of government for the State of 
Illinois," which was approved at Vandalia, February 25, 1837. This law provided for 
a joint session of the two houses, on the twenty-eighth of the same month, to select a 
situation. An appropriation of fifty thousand dollars was made, to commence building 
the State house. The law also declared that no place should be chosen unless its citi- 
zens contributed at least $50,000 to aid in the work, and not less than two acres of land, 
as a site for the capitol. W'hen the two houses assembled on the twenty-eighth, the 
question was decided by the following 



BALLOTINGS. 



Springfield 35 

Jacksonville 

Vandalia 

Peoria 

Alton j 15 

Scattering 

Illiopolis 



(St. 


2nd. 


3rd. 


4 th. 


35 


43 


53 


73 


14 


i.S 


9 


i 


1 6 


15 


16 


15 


16 


12 


ii 


6 


i.S 


1 6 


'4 




> - 


7 
10 


15 
} 


7 











That settled the question, and Springfield was declared to be the future capital of the 
State. 

A supplemental act was passed on the third of March, authorizing the commissioners 
of Sangamon county to convey the land, as a site for the new edifice, to the State. It 
also named Dr. A. G. Henry, of Sangamon; Archibald Job, of Cass, Wm. Herndon, 
of Sangamon, as commissioners, who were authorized and instructed to superintend the 
work of erection. It was expected that the new capital would be completed in time for 



48 HISTORICAL PRELUDE. 

* 

the first meeting of the Legislature in Springfield, which was fixed for the special ses- 
sion of 1839-40. Finding that the building could not be sufficiently advanced, the Second 
Presbyterian church, on Fourth street, was secured as Representatives' Hall. The build- 
ing was then quite new, and was, by far, the largest church edifice in the central and 
whole northern part of the State. It was built of brick, stood a few feet north of the 
site of the present magnificent Second Presbyterian church, until the latter was erected. 
The old building was torn down in the summer of 1875. The Methodist church was 
used for the Senate chamber, and the Episcopal church for the Supreme Court, both 
wooden buildings. The Legislature first convened in special session December 9, 1839. 

It was thought by many to be unreasonable to require a little town of eleven 
hundred inhabitants, struggling with the disadvantages of a new country, to pay the 
$50,000 pledged. During that special session, Hon. Stephen A. Douglas, then a mem- 
ber from Morgan county, proposed to bring in a bill, releasing Springfield from the 
payment of the same. The sterling honesty of Abraham Lincoln manifested itself on 
this, as on all other proper occasions. He interposed his objections, although he fully 
appreciated the kindly feelings that prompted the proposal, but he insisted that the 
money should be paid. Arrangements were entered into for paying it in three instal- 
ments. The two first payments were made without any great difficulty ; but the third 
pressed more heavily, as the financial crash that swept over the whole United States, 
while the new State house was in course of construction, impoverished many. Under 
these circumstances, it became necessary to borrow the money to make the last pay- 
ment, from the State Bank of Illinois. A note for the amount was signed by one 
hundred and one citizens, and deposited with the bank, the money drawn, with which 
internal improvement scrip or stock was purchased and paid into the State treasury, 
thus paying the last instalment in the State's own evidence of indebtedness. From 
that time it was a matter between the State Bank and the citizens who signed the note. 
Soon after the note was given, the State Bank failed, and some of the payments were 
made in the depreciated paper of the bank, for which it had received par value when 
it was paid out. The original note is preserved in the Ridgely National Bank, but 
the following is a copy of the same: 

$16,666.67. SPRINGFIELD, March 22, 1838. 

One year after date, we, the undersigned, or either of us, promise to pay to the Pres- 
ident, Directors and Company of the State Bank of Illinois, sixteen thousand, six. hun- 
dred and sixty-six dollars and sixty-seven cents, for value received, negotiable and pay- 
able at the bank, in Springfield, with interest until paid, at the rate of six per centum 
per annum, payable semi-annually. 

John Hay, Thomas Mather, C. R. Matheny, 

L. Higby, Tho. Houghan, William Butler, 

Joseph Thayer, D. Prickett, P. C. Canedy, 

William Thornton, J. Calhoun, Jos. Klein. 

M. O. Reeves, Josiah Francis, P. C. Latham, 

W. P. Grimsley, Washington lies, A. G. Henry, 

William Wallace, Joel Johnson, Ninian W. Edwards, 

John B. Watson, C. B. Francis, J onn T. Stuart, 

C. H. Ormsby, Wm. S. Burch, Jonas Whitney, 



SANGAMON COUNTT. 



49 



Mosrs ColVman, 
Gco. Pasfield, 

B. C. Wclister, 
S. M. Tinsley, 
Ephriam Darling, 
Jon:i. Merriam, 
Ira Sanford, 
Charles Arnold, 
John L. Turner, 

Joshua F. Amos, 
Sullivan Conant, 
And. McClellan, 
Alexander Shields, 
A. Trailor, 

C. C. P helps, 

R. B. Zimmennan, 
William Hall, . 
James L. Lamb, 
M. L. Knapp, 



J. M. Shacklcford, 
B. Ferguson, 
Benjamin Talhott, 
Jesse Cormack, 
B. C. [ohnson, 
Thomas Moffatt, 
John F. Rague, 
Simeon Francis, 
Nathaniel Hiv, 
Robert Irwin, 
Virgil Hickox, 
George Trotter, 
Stephen T. Logan, 
Robert Allen, 
James R. Gray, 
J. Adams, 
J. S. Britton, 
W. B. Powell, 
F. C. Thompson, 
E. M. Henkle, 
James W. Keyes, 
Wm. Porter, 
Wm. H. Marsh, 
W. Ransdell, 
[oshua S. Hobbs, 
John G. Bergen, 
B. S. Clement, 



Erastus \\' right, 
John Todd, 
E. D. Baker, 
A. Lincoln, 
Garrett Elkin, 
John Capps, 
Alexr. Garrett, 
( lershom Javne, 
T. M. Xeafe, 
\\'illiam G. Abrams, 
Devvey Whitney, 
M. Mobley, 
Foley Vaughn, 
Abncr Y. Ellis, 
X. A. Rankin, 
S. H. Treat, 
Elijah lies, 
Henry F. Luckett, 
James P. Langford, 
Henry Cassequin, 
J. M. Cabaniss, 
James Maxcy, 
Z. P. Cabaniss, 
E. G. Johns, 
Amos Camp, 
Thos. J. Goforth, 
Benj. F. Jewett, 
W. M. CoweUl. 



From a tooting up of the principal and interest on one side of the note, the final 
settlement appears to have been made February 19, 1846. The principal and interest 
to that time was $17,918. 

Soon after the Legislature adjourned at Vandalia, in March, 1837, and the members 
returned to their homes, a public festival was given in Springfield in honor of the new 
legislation for the removal of the capital. Among the toasts and speeches that followed 
the dinner, were the two following: 

By Abraham Lincoln, Esq: "All our friends they are too numerous to mention 
now, individually, while there is no one of them who is not too dear to be forgotten or 
neglected/' 1 

By S. A.Douglas, Esq.: "The last winter's legislation May its results prove no 
less beneficial to the whole State than they have to our town." 

A tradition still lingers here that something stronger than water was used in drinking 
the toasts on that occasion, as there was not a man to be found after the festival that 
could tell who made the last speech, and that important fact is lost to history. 

The commissioners appointed to superintend the building at once entered upon the 
discharge of their duties, and on the fourth of July, 1837, the corner stone of the State 

7 



50 HISTORICAL PRELUDE, 



house was laid with grand civic and military demonstrations. After it had been lowered 
to its place in the wall, it 'was mounted by E. D. Baker, afterwards United States Sen- 
ator from Oregon, and the lamented Colonel of Balls Bluff memory, who delivered 
one of those thrilling and eloquent speeches, for which he was so famous. It was 
estimated that the building would cost $130,000, but $240,000 was expended before it 
was completed according to the original design. When the State house was completed 
it was looked upon with wonder and admiration by the people. It was thought to be 
so enormous in size that it would answer all the purposes of the State for all time to 
come; but from the time it was built until the breaking out of the great rebellion the 
growth of Illinois was beyond anything that could have been imagined by the early 
settlers. 

When the rebellion came to an end, and what was left of the tivo hundred and fifty- 
six thousand men from Illinois, who assisted in carrying the stars and stripes until 
there was no armed foe to conquer, returned to their homes, furled their banners, and 
assumed their accustomed places in the peaceful avocations of life, it soon became ap- 
parent to all who had occasion to visit Springfield, that the building of another State 
house could not be delayed for any great length of time. The State had so far out- 
grown the edifice, which had been regarded as a wonder of magnificence and archi- 
tectural beauty only a brief quarter of a century before, that its records were unsafe, 
and many branches of its official business had to be transacted in rented buildings, 
where much of its valuable property was exposed at all times to the danger of being 
destroyed by fire. The question had been very generally discussed in a quiet way, 
and soon after the Legislature assembled in January, 1867, Hon. James C. Conkling 
presented a bill providing for the erection of a new State Capitol at Springfield, and 
laid it before the House of Representatives. It passed both houses, and was approved 
by Governor Oglesby February 25, 1867, with a supplementary act two days later. 
That law provided for the conveyance by the Governor of the square containing two 
and a half acres of land, with the State house upon it, to Sangamon county, for a 
court house, in consideration of $200,000, to be paid to the State of Illinois, and for the 
further consideration that the city of Springfield, and Sangamon county, cause to be 
conveyed to the State a certain piece of land, described by metes and bounds in the 
bill, and containing between eight and nine acres, upon which to erect the new State 
house. The law also provided that the State should have the use of the old State 
house until the new one should be ready for occupancy. The land was secured at a cost 
to the city of $70,000, and conveyed to the state; the $200,000 was paid by the county, 
and that amount, with $2^0,000, to be drawn from the State treasury, making $450,000, 
was appropriated to commence the work. The total cost of the building was limited 
to $3,000,000. The design by J. C. Cochrane was adopted July 15, 1867, and Jan. 14, 
1868, he was appointed architect and superintendent. Excavation commenced early in 
the spring, and the first stone was laid June n. On the fifth of October the corner 
stone was laid by the Grand Master of Free Masons of the State of Illinois, with the 
imposing ceremonies of the order, and surrounded by members of the craft from all 
parts of the State. 

The ground plan is in the form of a great cross. The grand outlines are, total 
length from north to south, 359 feet, exclusive of porticos; and from east to west, 266 
feet, with twentv feet additional in the grand portico at the east end, which is the prin- 



SANGAMON COUNTY. 



cipal front. The body of the edifice above ground consists of the, FIRST STORY, PRIN- 
cii'Ai. STORY, SECOND PRINCIPAL STORY and GALLERY STORY. 

July 2, 1870, the people of Illinois voted on the question of adopting or rejecting 
a new constitution, that had been prepared by a convention legally called for that pur- 
pose. It was adopted by a large majority. A clause in the new constitution prohibited 
the legislature making appropriations for the State house, then in course of construc- 
tion, beyond a total amount of three and a half millions of dollars, unless the question 
of additional appropriations was first submitted to a vote of the people. The money 
within the constitutional limit has all been appropriated. The dates of approval by 
the Governor, and amounts, are given below. The fourth appropriation was to be ex- 
pended equally in the years 1873-4: 

February 25, 27, 1867 $450,000 

March 1 1, 27, 1869 650,000 

June 14, 1871 600,000 

March 19, 1873 ' 1,000,000 

March 24, 1 87 =5 800,000 

Total $3,500,000 

There is much work yet to be done, but whether an additional appropriation, re- 
quiring a vote of the people, w^ll be necessary to complete the grand edifice, is a 
question for a future legislature to determine. The building was so far advanced that 
the State archives were removed thereto, and the State officers took possession of it in 
January 1876, and in that way the State of Illinois inaugurated the great American 
Centennial. 

GOVERNORS OF ILLINOIS. 

TERRITORIAL. 

Ninian Edwards from 1809 to 1818 

STATE. 

Shadrach Bond 18181822 

Edward Coles 18221826 

Ninian Edwards 18261830 

John Reynolds 18301834 

Lieutenant-Governor Casey, elected with Gov. Reynolds in 1830, was elected to 
Congress in 1832. Wm. L. D. Ewing, a member of the Senate, was chosen President 
of the Senate. Gov. Reynolds was elected to Congress in August, 1834, and left the 
State for the national capital about the middle of November. Wm. L. D. Ewing, as 
President of the Senate, was Governor fifteen days, until the assembling of the Legis- 
lature in December, and the inauguration of the governor elect. 

Joseph Duncan from 1834 to 1838 

Thomas Carlin . . / from 1838 to 1842 

Thomas Ford from 1842 to 1846 

The constitution of 1848 changed the time of the assembling of the Legislature 
from December to January, and ordered a new election in November, 1848, for four 
years. Consequently 



52 HISTORICAL PRELUDE. 

Augustus C. French was Governor from 1846 to 1853 

Joel A. Matteson from 1853 to 1857 

Wm. H. Bissell from 1857 to 1860 

He died March 18, 1860, and 

Lieutenant-Governor John Wood from 1860 to 1861 

Richard Yates from 1861 to 1865 

Richard J. Oglesby from 1865 to 1869 

John M. Palmer from 1869 to 1873 

Richard J. Oglesby, inaugurated in 1873, but immediately elected to the U. S. Senate, 

when the Lieutenant-Governor 

John L. Beveridge from 1873 to 1877 

TOWNSHIP ORGANIZATION. 

A law was enacted by the General Assembly of Illinois, and approved by the Gov- 
ernor, February 10, 1849, providing for township organization, but leaving it optional 
with counties to adopt it or not. Sangamon county never took any action under that 
law. 

Another law was enacted and approved February 17, 1851, providing for township 
organization, and differing from the law of 1849 in some of its provisions. Under that 
law a petition was laid before the commissioners' court, June 5, 1860, praying the court 
to cause to be submitted to the voters of the county the question of township organiza- 
tion. The court, having heard the petition, ordered that the prayer of the petitioners 
be granted, and the subject be submitted at the next general election, which was held 
Tuesday, November 6, 1860. The vote was canvassed by the court on the tenth of 
December following, when it was ascertained that there was a majority of 859 votes in 
favor of township organization, on a total vote of 7,241. The following action was 
then taken : " Ordered by the Court, that John S. Bradford, John Gardner, Sen., and 
Joseph Campbell be appointed commissioners to divide Sangamon county into towns or 
townships, in accordance with the fifth and sixth sections of the General Law of the 
State of Illinois, in relation to township organization." March i, 1861, the commis- 
sioners submitted their report, and the following are the names of the townships: 

Auburn, Island Grove, 

Ball, Loami, 

Buffalo Heart, Mechanicsburg, 

Campbell, now Chatham, Power, now Fancy Creek, 

Cartwright, Pawnee, 

Clear Lake, Rochester, 

Cooper, Sackett, now Salisbury, 

Cotton Hill, Springfield, 

Curran, Talkington, 

Gardner, Williams, 

Illiopolis, Woodside. 

New Berlin has since been formed from part of Island Grove, and Wheatfield from 
part of Illiopolis, making a total of 24 townships. 



SANGAMON COUNTY. 



An election was held for choosyig supervisors, Tuesday, April 2, 1861. The first meet- 
ing of the Board of Supervisors was held April 29, 1861, on a call of eight members, 
which was the method pointed out in the law. From that to the present time the bus- 
iness of Sangamon county has been transacted by a Board of Supervisors, elected 
annually. 

POST OFFICES IN SANGAMON COUNTY. 

Auburn, Illiopolis, 

Barclay, Loami, 

Bates,' Lowder, 

Berlin, Mechanicsburg, 

Berry, New Berlin, 

* Bradfordton, f New Harmony, 
f Breckenridge, Pawnee, 

Buffalo, Pleasant Plains, 

Buffalo Heart, Richland, 

Cantrall, Riverton, 

Chatham, Rochester, 

Cotton Hill, Salisbury, 

Cross Plains, Sherman, 

Curran, Springfield, 

Dawson, Wheatfield, 

Farmingdale, Williamsville, 

lies Junction, Woodside. 

* This is a new office authorized by the post office department, but not yet organized. Feb., 1876. 

t The original name of this office was New Harmony, but is aboiu being changed to Breckenridge. 

SANGAMON COUNTY IN THE INDIAN WARS. 

I shall have occasion, all through the biographical part of the work, to make frequent 
mention of the part taken in the Winnebago and Black Hawk wars by the early set- 
tlers of the county; for that reason I deem it best to give a brief account of them here-. 

THE WINNEBAGO WAR: When the war of 1812-14, w ' tn England, drew to a 
close, there were many Indians in the territory of Illinois. They generally gave way 
as civilization advanced, yielding the ground, sometimes reluctantly, but peaceably, 
until the summer of 1827. It was known to the white settlers that the different tribes 
of Indians along the northern and western frontier were at war among themselves. 
After the discovery of lead around what is now Galena, the white people flocked to 
that region in great numbers. In their search for minerals they encroached upon the 
lands of the Winnebago tribe. Being thus irritated, a small party of their tribe sur- 
prised a party of twenty-four Chippeways and killed eight of them. The United 
States Commander, at Fort Snelling, on the upper Mississippi, caused four of the offend- 
ing Winnebagoes to be arrested and delivered to the Chippeways, by whom they were 
shot for murder. Red Bird, the chief of the Sioux, though acting with the Winneba- 
goes in an attempt to obtain revenge for the killing of the four members of their 
tribe, was defeated by the Chippeways. He then determined to wreak his vengeance 
on the white people who had assisted his enemies and invaded his country. June 2yth 



54 HISTORICAL PRELUDE. 



two white men were killed near Prairie DuChien, and on the thirtieth of July two 
keel boats, carrying supplies to Fort Snelling, were attacked and two of the crew 
killed. The news soon spread among the settlers, and upon a call from Gov. Edwards, 
four companies of infantry and one of cavalry were made up in Sangamon county. 
The cavalry company was commanded by Edward Mitchell, and the four infantry 
companies by Captains Thomas Constant, Reuben Brown, Achilles Morris and Bowlin 
Green. The whole under command of Col. Tom. M. Neale, with James D. Henry as 
adjutant, (the latter was at that time sheriff of Sangamon county,) marched to Peoria, 
where the regiment was more fully organized, and continued to Galena. Before their 
arrival in the Indian country, Red Bird with six of his warriors, voluntarily gave them- 
selves up to the U. S. forces under Gen. Atkinson, to save their tribe from the miseries 
of war. Thus ended the campaign, and the Sangamon county soldiers returned to 
their homes. 

Of the six Indians held as prisoners, some were acquitted and others convicted and 
hung, more than a year after they were captured. Red Bird, whose proud spirit could 
not endure the humiliation and confinement, sickened and died in prison. His fate was 
much deplored by the whites, for he had been a true friend to them until the United 
States Government compelled his Winnebago friends to give up the four men to the 
Chippeways to be shot. 

THE BLACK HAWK WAR: The Sac and Fox Indians were first recognized by the 
United States Government in 1787, in a treaty at Fort Harmer, negotiated by Gov. 
St. Clair, in which the Indians were guaranteed protection. In 1804, in a treaty con- 
ducted by Wm. H. Harrison afterwards President of the United States their title to 
a large scope of country on Rock river was extinguished, but they were permitted to 
occupy the country as a hunting ground, their principal village being at the north of 
Rock river, near where the city of Rock Island now stands. A third treaty was en- 
tered into in 1830, by the terms of which they were to remove from the lands they 
had sold, east of the Mississippi, and peaceably retire to the west side of the river. 

The two principal chiefs of the nation were Keokuk and Black Hawk, the latter of 
whom was born in 1767, at the largest village of their tribe, at the mouth of Rock 
river. He had fought on the side of the British in the war of 1812, at the head of 200 
savages, for which he annually received payment to the time of their removal west of 
the Mississippi. Consequently, their band was always called the British Band. Black 
Hawk moved reluctantly, claiming that his tribe had been injured by the people of the 
United States. Keokuk determined to abide by the treaty, and drew the larger part of 
the tribe after him, but Black Hawk declared all the treaties void, and in the spring of 
1831, at the head of 300 warriors, crossed to the east side of the river and engaged in a 
series of acts exceedingly annoying to the few settlers who had purchased the sites of 
the former homes of the Indians, from the government. The Indians would throw 
down fences, destroy grain, throw the roofs from their houses, and declared that if the 
settlers did not leave they would kill them. Governor John Reynolds, on being in- 
formed of the state of affairs on Rock river, determined to expel the Indians. He 
issued a proclamation, May 27, 1831, calling for volunteers, and named June loth as the 
time, and Beardstown as the place of rendezvous. More than twice the 700 men called 
for volunteered. Finding so many willing to go, it was decided to accept the services 



SANGAMON COUNTT, 



55 



of the whole 1,600 men. They were organized into two regiments, one spy and one 
odd battalion. James D. Henry, of Springfield, who had been the adjutant in the 
Winnebago Avar, was appointed to command the first regiment. I will now confine 
myself to the part Sangamon county took in the campaign. James Campbell, Adam 
Smith, and Jonathan R. Saunders each commanded a company. When the Indian 
town was reached at the mouth of Rock river, it was found to be deserted. The In- 
dians had taken advantage of the darkness and fled to the west side of the Mississippi 
river, near where the cities of Davenport and Rock Island now stand. The savages 
having escaped, the soldiers took vengeance by burning the village. Gen. Gaines, who 
commanded the United States soldiers, sent an order to Black Hawk, requiring him 
and his band to return and enter into a treaty of peace. He failed to come, when a 
more peremptory order, with the threat of following them with all the troops at his 
command, brought in about thirty chiefs, including Black Hawk, and a treaty- 
was signed on the 3Oth of June, 1831. By that treaty the Indians agreed to remain 
west of the river, and never to cross it without permission from the President of the 
I nited States. After distributing the food intended for sustaining the soldiers, among 
the Indians, the volunteer army disbanded and returned to their homes, without the 
loss of a single person by disease, accident, or otherwise. 

Before the Indians were forced to leave their village and return to the west side of 
the river, Xaopope, a chief of the British band, and next to Black Hawk in authority, 
had started on a visit to Maiden, Canada, to consult his English father some com- 
mander there, probably concerning the right of the Indians to retake possession of 
their lands on Rock river. On his return he also visited White Cloud, the prophet of 
the Winnebagoes, at Prophetstown, 3:5 miles from the mouth of Rock river. White 
Cloud assured his visitor that not only the British but the Ottawas, Chippewas, Pota- 
\\attomies and Winnebagoes yvould assist his tribe in regaining their village and the 
lands around it. When Xaopope returned, in the summer, he found his tribe west of 
the river, and bound, bv a new treaty, not to interfere \vith the whites in possession of 
their former homes. Notwithstanding this, he communicated to Black Hawk the en- 
couragement he had received. Black Hawk immediately commenced recruiting to in- 
crease the number of his braves, and sent a messenger to Keokuk, requesting his co- 
operation. The latter refused, and counseled Black Hawk to abstain from any hostile 
movement, assuring him that the promises of support could not be relied on. Black 
Hawk rejected such good advice, and resolved to bid defiance to the .whites. He spent 
the winter of 1831-2 in recruiting, and raised about ^oo warriors. His headquarters 
were at what is now the city of Fort Madison, Iowa. In the spring he started, with 
his warriors, on horseback, while the squaws, papooses and baggage were loaded in 
canoes, and all moved up the river. April 6, 1832, the whole party crossed the Missis- 
sippi, opposite the mouth of Rock river, and commenced ascending that stream, osten- 
sibly for the purpose of entering the territory of the Winnebagoes and raising a crop 
\vith them, but the real object was to secure them as allies. 

Gen. Atkinson, in command of Fort Armstrong, on Rock Island, sent messengers 
ordering them to return west of the Mississippi river. Black Hawk positively re- 
fused to go. When this became known in the settlement the greatest consternation 
prevailed, and the settlers fled from their homes in search of safety. Messengers were 
dispatched to Yandalia, and Gov. Reynolds issued a call, on the i6th, for volunteers to 



HISTORICAL PRELUDE. 



assemble at Bearclstown on the 22(1 of the month. Gen. Atkinson at the same time 
called for volunteers to aid the regular soldiers at Rock Island. Gov. Reynolds, at the 
time of issuing the call for volunteer soldiers, addressed an open letter to the citizens 
in the northwestern counties, and sent influential messengers among the people, and in 
every wav endeavored to encourage enlistments. Eighteen hundred men rallied under 
this call at Beardstown, on the 22d of April. Among them were three regularly or- 
ganized companies from Sangamon county. One was commanded by Thomas Moffitt, 
one by Jesse Clay well, of which Rezin H. Constant afterwards became Captain, and 
one by Abraham Lincoln. They were divided into four regiments and a spy battalion. 
The First regiment was commanded by Col. DeWitt, the Second bv Col. Fry, the 
Third by Col. Thomas, the Fourth by Col. Samuel M. Thompson. In the latter 
Abraham Lincoln commanded a company. Col. James D. Henry commanded the spy 
battalion. The whole brigade was put under the command of Brigadier-Gen. Samuel 
Whitesides r of the State militia, who had commanded the spy battalion in the first 
campaign. 

On the 2yth of April Gen. Whitesides began his forward movement, accompanied 
by Gov. Reynolds. The army proceeded by way of Oquawka to the mouth of Rock 
river, where it was agreed between Generals Whiteside and Atkinson, in command 
of the regulars, that the volunteers should march up Rock river to Prophetstown, 
and there feed and rest their horses. On arriving there the volunteers burned the town, 
and Gen. Whiteside continued the march in the direction of Dixon, arriving at the lat- 
ter place, the General ordered a halt, and sent out parties to reconnoitre. Here he 
found two battalions, consisting of 275 mounted men, from the counties of McLean, 
Tazewell, Peoria and Fulton, under the command of Majors Stillman and Bailey. 
Major Stillman was from Sangamon county. (See his name.} The officers of this 
force had previously been ordered in advance of the main body to protect the settlers, 
and now they asked to be put forward on some dangerous service, in which they could 
have an opportunity to distinguish themselves. They were accordingly ordered further 
up Rock river, to spy out the Indians. The forward movement began on the I2th of 
May, Major Stillman being chief in command. He moved up Rock river, on the 
southeast side until they came to a small stream that rises in Ogle county and empties 
into Rock river. This stream was then called Old Man's creek, but from that date has 
borne the name of Stillman's run. There he encamped for the night, and in a short 
time a party of Indians were seen on horseback about a mile from the camp. A party 
of Major Stillman's men mounted their horses, without orders or commander, and were 
soon followed by others, and in this belter skelter manner pursued the Indians, who, 
after displaying a red flag, endeavored to make their escape, but were overtaken and 
three of them slain. This brought on an attack from the main body of Black Hawk's 
army, numbering about 700 warriors. Those who, by their insubordination, brought 
on the fight, retreated, and, with their horses on a full run, dashed through the camp 
of Major Stillman, who did all that was possible by ordering his men to retreat in 
order and form on higher ground, but they never found a rallying point until they 
reached Dixon, thirty miles distant. Both Ford, and Davidson & Stuve, in their his- 
tories of Illinois, exonerate Major Stillman and his men from all blame, and rightly 
attribute the disaster to want of discipline and that experience which is necessary to 
"five soldiers confidence in their officers and in each other. 



SANGAMOX COUNTY. 



57 



That opened the war, and there could be no cessation of hostilities until one side or 
the other yielded the ground. It is not my purpose to attempt following out all the 
details of the war, but will hasten to a close. For a time the Indians scattered them- 
selves over the country. They would lay in ambush and shoot down detached bodies 
of armed men, or murder and scalp unprotected women and children. Men were gen- 
erally enlisted for short terms, and sometimes, when the main body of the Indians were 
almost in their grasp, the term of enlistment would expire, and they would insist on 
being discharged. To fill their places with new recruits required time. At the time of the 
repulse of Major Still man and his men, there were about twenty-four hundred men under 
arms, including the volunteers from Illinois and the regular soldiers from Fort Arm- 
strong, under Gen. Atkinson. They could have killed, or driven every Indian across 
the Mississippi river in one month, but the term for which they had enlisted had nearly 
expired, and they were anxious to be discharged. The Governor had previously issued 
orders for raising two thousand men. He then called for a volunteer regiment from 
among those whose time had expired, to hold the Indians in check until the new re- 
cruits could be brought to the scene of conflict. It was soon raised and put under 
command of Col. Fry and Lieutenant-Col. James D. Henry. Gen. Whiteside volun- 
teered as a private. This body of men had a number of encounters with the savages 
before the new recruits were brought into the field. The new levy assembled at 
Beardstown, and were at once ordered to Fort Wilburn, on the south bank of the Illi- 
nois river, about one mile above the town of Peru. There the volunteer forces were 
organized into three brigades. The first and second were organized June 16, 1832, 
with 1,000 men each. Alexander Posey was elected General of the first and Milton 
K. Alexander, General of the second brigade. The third brigade was organized June 
1 8th, with 1,200 men, and Col. James D. Henry was elected General. This made the 
volunteer force consist of 3,200 men, exclusive of the regular soldiers under Gen. At- 
kinson. Many weeks were spent in trying to find the main body of Black Hawk's 
warriors. They were all the time working their way further north, hoping to elude 
their pursuers. The army was continually undergoing changes. July 15, 1832, 
found Gen. Henry, Gen. Alexander and Major Dodge far up in Wisconsin, at a place 
called Fort Winnebago. Some Winnebago chiefs came in and reported that Black 
Hawk was encamped on Rock river. The three officers above named held a council 
and, although it was in violation of orders, they decided to march directly for the Indian 
camp, hoping to take them by surprise. General Alexander soon announced that his 
men refused to go, and Major Dodge that his horses were too much disabled to go, but 
a body of men soon after arrived from Galena to join Major Dodge's battalion, which 
made his effective force 120 men. Gen. Henry's brigade was by this time reduced to 
between five and six hundred men, but only about four hundred and fifty had horses. 
While making arrangements to start, Gen. Henry discovered that his own men, in- 
fluenced by association with those of Gen. Alexander, were on the point of open 
mutiny. Lieutenant-Col. Jeremiah Smith, of one of his regiments, presented to the 
General a written protest, signed by all the officers of his regiment except Col. Fry, 
against the expedition. Gen. Henry quietly but firmly ordered the men under arrest 
for mutiny, assigning a body of soldiers to escort them back to Gen. Atkinson. Col. 
Smith begged permission to consult a few moments with the officers before anything 
further was done. In less than ten minutes they were all at the General's quarters, 
pleading for pardon and pledging themselves to return to duty. Gen. Henry replied 
8 



58 HISTORICAL PRELUDE. 

t 

in a few dignified and kindly remarks, and all returned to their duty. Gen. Alexanders 
men marched back, and the others started in pursuit of the enemy, under the direction 
of competent guides. Three days' hard marching brought them to Rock river. Here 
three Winnebagoes gave intelligence that Black Hawk was further up the river. Pre- 
parations were made for a forced march the next morning, and Dr. Elms Merriman, 
of Springfield, in company with W. \V. Woodbridge, of Wisconsin, and a chief called 
Little Thunder, for a guide, were started about dark that evening to convey dispatches 
down the river to Gen. Atkinson. They had gone but a few miles to the southwest 
when they fell into a fresh broad trail of the enemy endeavoring to escape. Little 
Thunder hastened back in terror to the camp to warn the Indians that their efforts to 
deceive the commanding General were detected. They were all arrested by Major 
Murrey McConnell, of Jacksonville, and taken to the tent of Gen. Henry, and confessed 
that they had come into camp and given false information to aid the Indians in their 
retreat. On the next morning, July 19, a forced march commenced in pursuit of the 
Indians. On the third day, about four o'clock in the afternoon, the advance guard was 
fired upon by the savages secreted in the grass. The fight continued until dark, and 
the men lay on their arms until morning, when it was discovered that the Indians had 
all crossed the Wisconsin river during the night. Sixty-eight Indians were left dead 
on the field, and twenty-five more were found dead along the line of march. Only one 
white man was killed and eight wounded. This has always been known as the battle 
of the Wisconsin. 

The next dav Gen. Henry found his men too much worn down by fatigue and want of 
food to pursue the retreating Indians. After two days march he joined Gen. Atkinson 
at Blue Mounds, with the regulars, and Alexander's and Posey's brigades. It was soon 
apparent to General Henry and his officers that General Atkinson and all the regular 
officers were deeply mortified at the success of the militia, who they did not intend 
should have any credit in the war. After two days' preparation, the whole force, under 
direction of General Atkinson, took up their line of march, July 25th, in pursuit of the 
Indians. Crossing the Wisconsin river, and striking the trail of the Indians, the regu- 
lars were put in front, Dodge's battalion and Posey's and Alexander's brigades came 
next, and Gen. Henry, with his command, was placed in the rear, in charge of the 
baggage. All parties clearly understood this to be an insult to Gen. Henry and his 
brave volunteers for having found, pursued and defeated Black Hawk and his warriors, 
while the regulars, and Alexander's brigade, who had refused to accompany Henry, 
were taking their ease at a long distance from the scene of danger. Gen. Henry's 
brigade keenly felt the insult, and claimed the right to be placed in front, but the Gen- 
eral never uttered a word of complaint, and his men, following his noble example, 
quietly trudged on in the rear. After a full week of weary marching, at ten o'clock on 
the morning of August 2cl, the army reached the bluffs of the Mississippi river, which, 
at that point, was some distance from the margin of the stream. Black Hawk had ar- 
rived at the stream a day or two before, and the Indians were crossing as fast as they 
could. On the first day of August the steamboat Warrior, which had been employed 
to convey supplies up the river for the army, was coming down, and notwithstanding 
the Indians displayed a white flag, the captain affected to believe it was only a decoy, gave 
them fifteen minutes to remove their women and children, when he fired a six-pound can- 
non, loaded with cannister, into their midst, followed by a severe fire of musketrv. In less 



SANGAMON COUNTT. 59 



than an hour twenty-three Indians were murdered, it might almost be said, in cold 
blood. Black Hawk now turned all his energies to reach the opposite bank of the 
river. With that object in view he sent twenty warriors to the high bluff. When 
Gen. Atkinson reached the bluffs on the morning of August 2d, his men were greeted 
by firing from behind trees. The tall grass made it impossible to learn anything of 
the force they had to contend with. According to instructions from Black Hawk, 
when all became engaged they were to retreat to a point three miles up the river. 
Dodge's battalion led in the chase after the twenty Indians, followed by the regulars 
and Alexander's and Posey's brigades, all under the immediate direction of Gen. At- 
kinson. In the hurried pursuit Gen. Henry was called on for a single regiment to 
cover the rear of the pursuing forces. Otherwise his whole brigade was left without 
orders. 

Despite the intention to disgrace Gen. Henry and his men, fortune now seemed to 
favor them. The men under Major Ewing, of the latter brigade, discovered that the 
trail by which the main body of Black Hawk's forces had reached the river was lower 
down, and that they were much nearer than the point to which the twenty decoy In- 
dians were leading the main forces. He who had been placed in the rear as a mark of 
special disfavor, by the strategy of a few savages, who had thus far triumphed over the 
veteran General, was now thrown again to the front, and well did he make use of this 
favorable circumstance. Gen. Henry, being notified of the discovery of the main trail, 
descending to the foot of the bluff, and there leaving his horses, prepared for an attack. 
The trail from there to the river was through drift wood, brush and weeds. Eight men 
were ordered forward to the perilous duty of drawing the fire of the Indians, to ascer- 
tain where they were. Fully aware of their dangerous mission, they moved boldly 
forward until they were in sight of the river, when they were fired upon by about fifty 
Indians. Five of the eight fell, either killed or wounded. Gen. Henry immediately 
ordered the bugle sounded for a charge. The fiftv Indians fell back to the main body, 
amounting in all to about three hundred warriors. This made the force about equal on 
both sides. The fight became general along the whole line; the inspiring strains of the 
bugle cheering on the volunteers; the Indians were driven from tree to tree until they 
reached the bank of the river, fighting with the most sublime Courage, and contesting 
every inch of ground. At the brink the struggle was desperate, but of short duration. 
The bloody bayonet in the hands of the excited soldiers drove them into the surging 
waters, where some tried to swim to the opposite shore, others only aimed to reach a 
small willow island. 

All this was done before the commanding General was aware that the volunteer 
General and men, whom he intended to punish for having found and defeated the In- 
dians at the battle of the Wisconsin river, had again found and almost exterminated the 
main body of the enemy, while he was leading the largest portion of his army after 
twenty straggling Indians, whom he had not been shrewd enough to detect in their 
false movements. After the Indians had been driven into the river, Gen. Henry de- 
spatched Major McConnell to give intelligence to Gen. Atkinson of his movements; 
but while pursuing the twenty Indians he had heard the firing of Gen. Henry's brigade, 
and hastening to share in the engagement, met the messenger near the scene of action. 
Some of the newly arrived forces chai'ged through the water to the island and kept up 
the fight until all were killed, drowned, captured, or made their escape to the opposite 



60 HISTORICAL PRELUDE. 



shore of the river. It was estimated that the Indian loss amounted to one hundred and 
fifty killed, and as many more drowned, including women and children. But fifty 
prisoners were taken, mostly squaws and papooses. The largest portion of the Indians es- 
caped across the river before the battle commenced. The American loss was seventeen 
killed and twelve wounded. This was called the battle of the Bad Axe, because it 
was fought in Wisconsin, a short distance below the mouth of the river Bad Axe. It 
was above Prairie DuChien. 

That Black Hawk brought that great calamity on his people there can be no question, 
but that he was devoted to their interests his last move testifies beyond a doubt. Find- 
ing himself and followers almost in a starving condition, pursued by a foe well fed, and 
otherwise stronger than his own forces, he approached the brink of the river, hoping 
to reach the opposite bank before his pursuers could overtake him, His means of 
transportation being inadequate, he finds it impossible to escape. Knowing that his 
fate is sealed, he doubtless gives hasty orders that the canoes be plied as fast as possible, 
and looking for the last time upon many who had trusted their all to his guidance, he 
places himself at the head of a handful of faithful followers, and boldly sallies out to 
meet the foe one hundred and fifty times stronger than himself, his only hope being to 
turn them aside until his own people should escape. How his heart must have sunk 
when he heard the firing and knew there was but one way for it to terminate. When 
Gen. Atkinson, discovering the ruse, ceased the pursuit of the few and marched to 
where the battle was raging, Black Hawk, with his twenty followers, made their es- 
cape up the Mississippi and passed over to the Wisconsin river. They were finally 
captured, far up that stream, by a party of Sioux and Winnebago Indians, who pro- 
fessed to sympathize with Black Hawk and his followers, but were ready, like blood 
hounds, to hunt them down when they most needed friendship, and when there was a 
seeming opportunity to gain favor with the strong and victorious party. Black Hawk 
and his friends were delivered to Gen. Street, the United States Indian agent at Prairie 



DuChien, and sent by Col. Zachary Taylor down to Rock Island. Upon arriving 
there the cholera was raging, and they were sent down to Jefferson Barracks, Mo., 
where a treaty was made. Black Hawk and his party were held as hostages for the 
good behavior of their tribe. They were taken to Washington City, and from there 
to Fortress Monroe, where they remained uutil July 4, 1833. They were then released, 
by order of President Jackson, and escorted to Baltimore, Philadelphia, New York, 
and other cities, and returned by way of the New York canal and northern lakes, 
thence to their own people, west of the Mississippi river. Black Hawk died, October 3, 
1840, on the Des Moines river, in Iowa. 

Many of the men engaged in that campaign acquired state and some of them national 
reputation. Among them may be mentioned Joseph Duncan and Thomas Ford, who 
became Governors of Illinois, Henry Dodge, who became Governor of Wisconsin, 
and Zachary Taylor and Abraham Lincoln, who became Presidents of the United 
States. 

The most remarkable man of all engaged in that campaign was Gen. James D. 
Henry, and if that had been an age of newspapers and reporters, he would have ac- 
quired a national reputation at once. That he was the hero of the two principal bat- 
tles fought in expelling the Indians in that campaign, was known beyond a doubt, and 



SANG AM ON COUNTY. 61 



so well understood by the Illinois soldiers from all parts of the State, that the opinion 
was freely expressed that if he had lived he would have been elected Governor by an 
overwhelming majority, against any other man. Strange as it may seem, he was 
scarcely heard of outside of the State. This was all owing to the fact that there was 
but one paper in the State north of Springfield, and that was edited and published by 
the kind of man that brings odium on the press whenever he touches it. 

Dr. Addison Philleo was one of the men who almost publicly commenced dissecting 
the body of VayNoy, who was hung in Springfield in November, 1826. He was 
compelled by the citizens to desist from the disgusting spectacle tmtil the body, was re- 
moved to a more private place. Dr. Philleo had removed to Galena, and at the time 
of the Black Hawk war was publishing a paper there, called the Galenian. He at- 
tached himself to the battalion of Major Henry Dodge, of Wisconsin. Major Dodge's 
battalion was a part of Gen. Henry's brigade when Black Hawk and his forces were 
discovered by Gen. Henry. Gov. Ford, in his history, describing the chase of Gen. 
Henry after Black Hawk, says: "On the third day, about noon, also, the scouts ahead 
came suddenly upon two Indians, and as they were attempting to escape, one of them 
( was killed and left dead on the field. Dr. Addison Philleo, coming along shortly 
after, scalped this Indian, and for a long time afterwards exhibited the scalp as an 
evidence of his valor." 

That was the kind of man the world was dependent upon for a history of the Black 
Hawk campaign. He was the only newspaper man with the army. After the battle 
of the Wisconsin, Dr. Philleo wrote an account of it for his paper, and that being the 
first paper it was published in, was copied all over the United States. He chronicled 
the doings of Major Dodge only, and always spoke of him as General Dodge. Gen. 
Henry, the real commander, was never mentioned except as a subordinate. By this 
deception many histories now assert that Dodge was the commander in that war. Gen- 
eral Henry never made a report of any part of the campaign, and those errors were 
never officially contradicted. In that campaign he contracted disease of the lungs, and 
afterwards went south, hoping that the climate and medical treatment would restore 
his health, but he gradually sank until March 4, 1834, when he died in New Orleans. 
See his name in the biographical department. 

I have been thus minute in this sketch of the Indian wars, because almost even* 
family among the early settlers of Sangamon county were represented in the army; 
and, although they were at a comparatively safe distance from the scene of conflict, 
yet their sympathies were naturally drawn out towards those who were in danger. 
Another reason why I have given the subject such prominence is that there is no recent 
history of those wars accessible to the public. 

The mention I shall make of the part taken by the descendents of the early settlers 
of Sangamon county in suppressing the great rebellion will partake of a much wider 
range, but the comparatively recent date of that event, and the publications in almost 
every house concerning it, precludes the necessity of my attempting any extended ac- 
count of it here. 



62 HISTORICAL PRELUDE. 



MISCELLANEOUS. 

Under this head I shall record some events that will occasionally he referred to in | 
the biographical part of the work. By describing them fully here, a bare reference to 
them hereafter will be understood. The two most important were the " deep snow " 
and the " sudden change." 

THE DEEP SNOW : What is here spoken of as the " deep snow " must be taken 
relatively. Snows fall almost every winter much deeper in New York, the New 
England States, Canada and in the northern latitudes generally. This, however, is 
distinguished from all others as the "deep snow," because, in this latitude, the like of 
it was not known before, and has not been known since. A description of it by Rev. 
J. M. Sturtevant, President of Illinois College, in an address before the Old Settler's 
Society of Morgan county, at Jacksonville, a few years ago, is the best authority I can 
find. Having been brought up where such snows were nothing unusual, he would be 
less likely to be deceived in his judgment than one who had never witnessed the like 
before. President Sturtevant says: 

"In the interval between Christmas, 1830, and January, 1831, Snow fell all over cen- 
tral Illinois to a depth of fully three feet on a level. Then came a rain, with weather 
so cold that it froze as it fell, forming a crust of ice over this three feet of snow, nearlv, 
if not quite, strong enough to bear a man, and finally, over this crust of ice, there was 
a few inches of very light snow. The clouds passed away, and the wind came down 
upon us from the northwest with extraordinary ferocity. For weeks, certainly not less 
than two weeks, the mercury in the thermometer tube was not, on any one morning, 
higher than twelve degrees below zero. This snow fall produced constant sleighing 
for nine weeks." 

The recollection of some of the early settlers is that rain fell for some days, until the 
earth was saturated with water, and the day before Christmas the rain turned to snow, 
and the flakes were so large that in a few hours it attained a depth of six inches. I 
have, time and again, heard this snow described as much more than three feet deep, 
and no doubt the experience of those making the statements justified them in it. The 
situation was rather alarming, even to a New England man. There, a few hours of 
wind blows all the snow from exposed places, and deposits it in valleys and behind hills, 
where the wind cannot reach it. It is only where the roads cross these receptacles that 
it is necessary to break a track. It is made the occasion for a frolic with New England 
people to turn out with ox teams and sleds to break a road, and then thei'e is no more 
trouble until the next snow storm. Such work here would have been useless. In this 
level countrv the drifting never ceases as long as the snow lasts. Any number of teams 
might break a track, but it would fill behind them in a few moments. The only way 
they finally made roads here was by wallowing through it, and going as near the same 
place as they could, until the snow was trodden hard and rounded up like a turnpike 
road. Many instances have been related where teams, attempting to pass each other 
on these raised roads, found it too narrow, and the result was that one if not both the 
vehicles would be upset, leaving the occupants and teams floundering in the snow. To 



SANGAMON COUNTY. 63 

regain the proper position on the road was not always an easy task. Long after the 
great body of the snow melted off, these roads remained. One man, describing them, 
said they looked like silver threads, stretching over the prairies as far as the eye could 
reach. 

Railroads were not then dreamed of, but they would have been, for several weeks, as 
utterly useless as though they were sunk out of sight in the earth. Snow plows would 
be of no avail in such a storm as that, for the track would fill, in less than an hour, 
behind any train that might force its way though. Quoting again from President 
Sturtevant, he says: "It is a consolation that such a winter has never occurred but 
once in the memory of man. But what has happened once may happen again. If it 
docs we shall get a very definite idea how important our railroads are to us, and we 
shall be very glad that the snow is not over the telegraph wires." In the latter clause 
he no doubt had reference to the fact that in those days, when everything was right, 
they did not have or expect a mail more than once a week, but even that was inter- 
rupted for several weeks during the " deep snow." 

That snow come so early in the season that it caught nearly all their corn in the 
fields, and it was very difficult to obtain enough of it to keep stock from perishing. 
Few had any milling done, and the devices were numerous to reduce the grain to a 
condition fine enough to be baked into something resembling bread. Some of them 
will be described. I will here give a few incidents illustrating some of the straits the 
people were put to in order to preserve life and property. 

Among the earliest settlers on Sugar creek was a man by the name of Stout no re- 
lation to any of that name now in the county. He had raised a family, but his wife 

had died, and his children had married and left him alone. He built a small cabin in 

i 

the woods, and in that he did his own cooking, slept, and worked at making bread 
trays, wooden bowls, rolling pins, wooden ladles, and such other implements as every 
household was in need of. He traded the products of his labor for something to eat or 
wear, seldom receiving or expecting any money. He lived very comfortably until the 
" deep snow " come. Then his open cabin and scant supply, of bedding was not suffi- 
cient to keep him warm. He went around among his neighbors and tried to obtain 
some addition to his bedding, but found them all deficient in that respect themselves. 
He finally solved the difficulty by felling a large tree near his cabin, took a cut from it 
of suitable length, and made a trough inside, the full length of his body, and hewed it 
oft" on the outside until it was light and thin enough for him to handle easily. He 
would then make his bed on some chips or shavings, as he had done before, first bring- 
ing his trough along side, and when snugly covered up, he would take the trough and 
turn it over himself for covering. As soon as the warmth of his body filled the space 
he would be comfortable, and could lay snug and warm until morning. There was 
neither floor nor chimney to his cabin, so he made the fire on the ground. When the 
weather was extremely cold he would move his fire just before retiring, scraping the 
coals and ashes carefully away, and then make his bed where the fire had been during 
the day. This is a new proof of the oft repeated adage, that " Necessity is the mother 
of invention." 

DEATHS ix THK SNOW: Very many cases occurred of persons being lost in the 
snow, ending in death. I will mention a few here, but others will be referred to in the 
succeeding parts of the work. 



64 HISTORICAL PRELUDE. 



A man named William Saxton lived, on Lick creek, above Loami. He went hunt- 
ing, and failing to return, his friends and neighbors went in search of him, and found 
his body about one mile from his home, where he had sunk down, and appeared as if 
asleep. 

Samuel Legg started from Sugar creek, not far above where the C. and A. railroad 
now crosses, intending to go to Richland timber, near where Pleasant Plains now 
stands. He was not heard of until the next April, when the remains of himself and 
horse were found, nearly consumed by wolves. He had gone but a few miles, as the 
body was found on what is now the farm of John B. Fowler, a few miles west of 
Chatham. A bottle with a small quantity of whiskey was found near his remains. 

A man started from the timber on Horse creek to chase a wolf while the snow was 
falling. He was not seen nor heard of until the next spring, when his body was found 
at a place called Willow grove, in Shelby county. His horse and dog were found with 
him, and all had perished together. The distance was about forty miles from where 
he started. It was thought that he became bewildered by the falling snow, and con- 
tinued his efforts until his horse, dog and himself sank down to die. 

William Workman w>ent hunting in the Lick creek timber, south of Loami. He 
walked on the crust of the snow, and was approaching a deer for the purpose of shoot- 
ing it. Without being aware of it, he was over a ravine of considerable depth. The 
crust broke and he went down. Raising his rifle gun he could barely reach the crust 
with it. By tramping the snow under his feet until it became solid, he found himself 
gradually rising with the slope of the ground, and by reaching up with his gun and 
breaking the crust, he finally escaped, but he says it was a long and laborious operation. 
Simeon Vancil relates an experience very similar. 

So completely did the snow cover everything that wild game was accustomed to 
feed upon, that the deer, turkey, and some other kinds of game, were almost extermi- 
nated. There was another reason why it was destructive to the deer. That animal 
runs by a succession of leaps, and, as a natural consequence, the faster they ran the 
greater would be the force with which they struck the snow. When pursued by dogs, 
a few vigorous leaps would stop them short, their small, sharp hoofs breaking through 
the crust, would leave them helpless, with their bodies resting on the snow. At the 
same time a dog or wolf of equal weight would pass safely over, because, by their 
manner of running, they did not strike the snow with such force, and even if they had, 
their soft, pad-like feet would be less likely to break the crust. 

It required but a short time, thus shut off from food, for the deer to become too lean 
for venison. All thoughtful people then abstained from killing them, but there were 
others who thought only of the sport, and destroyed them where and when they could. 
Dogs and wolves, learning that they could be made to break through the crust and be- 
come disabled, chased down and destroyed great numbers of them. From all these 
causes the deer were almost exterminated, and they never become plentiful afterwards. 

Mr. Simeon Vancil, who came to the county in the fall of 1818, says that it was 
very common to see large quantities of buffalo bones on the highest points of land. In 
explanation of that there was a tradition among the Indians who remained in the 
country to hunt, after the white settlers come in, that there had been a " deep snow " 
about thirty years before, say about 1800, and that the buffalo, herding together on the 



SANG AM OX COUNTT. 6; 



highest ground, because the snow was thinnest, remained there and perished with cold 
, and hunger. Of course this was only given as a tradition, coming from the Indians. 
There could be no corroborative testimony from civilized men, for the simple reason 
that there were none in the country. 

THE SUDDEN CHANGE: Soon after commencing the collection of materials for 
this work, I was frequently asked the question, " Has any person told you about the 
sudden change?" My answers at first would, for obvious reasons, be in the negative. 
The interrogator would then undertake to give me an account of it, but I was never 
able to learn that any person in the county had kept a record of the indications of a 
thermometer at that time, or that there was a thermometer in the county; and fora 
long time I could not ascertain the year in which it took place. 

In an interview with Mr. Washington Crowder, the date was settled in his own 
peculiar method. Mr. Crowder remembers that on the morning of December 20, 1836, 
he started from a point on Sugar creek about eight miles south of Springfield, to the 
latter place, for the purpose of obtaining a license for the marriage of himself and Miss 
Isabel Laughlin. He had finished his courting on the nineteenth, with the understand- 
ing that the marriage was to take place on the twenty-first, leaving the twentieth for 
obtaining the license. There were several inches of snow on the ground, but rain was 
then falling slowly, and had been, long enough to turn the snow to slush. Every time 
the horse put his foot down it went through the slush, splashing it out on all sides. 
Mr. Crowder was carrying an umbrella to protect himself from the rain, and wore an 
overcoat reaching nearly to his feet. When he had traveled something like half the 
distance, and had reached a point about four miles south of Springfield, he had a fair 
view of the landscape, ten or twelve miles west and north. He saw a very dark cloud, 
a little north of west, and it appeared to be approaching him very rapidly, accompanied 
by a terrific, deep, bellowing sound. He thought it prudent to close his umbrella, lest 
the wind should snatch it from his hands, and dropped the bridle reins on the neck of 
his horse for that purpose. Having closed the umbrella and put it under his arm, he 
was in the act of taking hold of the bridle rein, when the cold wave struck him. At 
that instant water was dripping from every thing about him, but \vhen he drew the 
reins taut, ice rattled from them. The water and slush was almost instantly turned to 
ice, and running water on sloping ground was congealed as suddenly as molten lead 
would harden and form in ridges if poured on the ground. Mr. Crowder expressed 
himself quite sure that within fifteen minutes from the time the cold blast reached him 
his horse walked on top of the snow and water, so suddenly did it freeze. 

When he arrived in Springfield he rode up to a store at the west side of Fifth street, 
between Adams and Monroe, a few doors south of where Bunn's bank now stands. 
He there attempted to dismount, but was unable to move, his overcoat holding him as 
firmly as though it had been made of sheet iron. He then called for help, and two 
men come out, who tried to lift him off, but his clothes were frozen to the saddle, which 
they ungirthed, and then carried man and saddle to the fire and thawed them asunder. 
After becoming sufficiently warm to do so, Mr. Crowder went to the county clerk's 
office, obtained his license, and by driving his horse before him, returned to where he 
had started in the morning. The next day he started on horseback, but found the 
traveling so difficult on the ice that he dismounted, tied up the bridle, left his horse to 
9 



66 HISTORICAL PRELUDE. 



find the way back home, and went on foot to the house of his affianced, where he was 
married at the time appointed. Mr. Crowder admits that it was a very thorough test 
of his devotion, but it must be conceded that he proved himself equal to the emer- 
gency. 

Other evidences of the suddenness and intensity of the cold are numerous. Rev. 
Josiah Porter, of Chatham see his name remembers that the cold wave reached 
Chatham about half past twelve o'clock, noon; that he consulted his watch at the time, 
and knows he is correct. His recollection of the suddenness and intensity of the cold 
corroborates the account given by Mr. Crowder. Although Mr. Porter was in Chat- 
ham at the time of the sudden change, and resides there now, he was then doing the 
work of an evangelist, which led to his traveling over a large portion of Illinois and 
Indiana. In the discharge of his duties he became acquainted with a remarkable cir- 
cumstance that occurred in what is now the west part of Douglas county, near the cor- 
ner of Piatt and Moultrie counties. Two brothers by the name of Deeds had gone 
out to cut a bee tree, and were overtaken by the cold and frozen to death. Their bodies 
were found ten days later, about three miles from home. 

The extent of that cold wave may not be generally known. That it first touched 
the earth west or north-west of here is highly probable, from the fact that it reached 
here at half past twelve, noon, according to the time noted by Mr. Porter. He also 
learned that it was nearly sundown when the cold reached the point in Douglas county 
where the two brothers perished. I also learned from a gentlemen in this county that 
at the fime, his father kept a hotel at Labanon, Ohio, and although his account would 
indicate that the cold wave had spent some of its force, yet when it arrived there it froze 
some wagons fast in the mud in an incredibly short time, while some travelers were 
discussing the terms for staying all night. It reached there at nine o'clock. Putting 
the statements as to time and place together, it would appear that the cold wave trav- 
eled something near three hundred miles in eight and a half hours, or about thirtv-five 
miles an hour. These statements have been given to me altogether from memory, 
more than thirty-five years after the event, and no doubt vary greatly from what a 
scientific report at the time would have presented. 

A great many instances have been related to me, in all parts of the county, of the 
suffering by men and animals. It has been told me time and again that chickens and 
geese, also hogs and cows, were frozen in the slush as they stood, and unless they were 
extricated by cutting the ice from about their feet, remained there to perish. 

Andrew Heredith was a merchant miller and pork packer in Cincinnati, Ohio. 
Through misfortunes incident to business he failed. Among other misfortunes, he had 
a pork house burn there. Preston Breckenridge, of this county, happened to be in 
Cincinnati, and remembers being an eye witness to the burning. After his failure, 
Mr. Heredith was aided by friends to commence business in Sangamon county. He 
built a flouring mill about three miles west of Loami, near what is called Lick creek, 
and called the place Millville. He bought wheat and made flour; also bought and 
drove fat hogs to St. Louis. In the fall of 1836 he bought and drove two lots to St. 
Louis, and made some money each time. He used all the capital at his command, and 
all the credit his successes gave him, and collected a third drove of between 1,000 and 
1,^00 hogs, and was driving them to St. Louis. The country was so sparsely settled 



SANGAMON COUNTY. 67 

that he found it expedient to start with three or four wagons, loaded with corn to feed 
the hogs. When a load was fed out there were generally a sufficient number of hogs 
exhausted by traveling to load the wagon. Mr. Heredith had reached a point on the 
open prairie eight miles south of Scottville, Macoupin county, when the cold wave 
overtook him. Finding that men and animals were likely to perish, he called the men 
together, upset all except one of the wagons, in order to leave the corn and hogs 
together, righted up the wagons, and with all the men in them, drove to the nearest 
house, and before they could reach there all became more or less frozen, but none lost 
their lives. 

The hogs, thus abandoned, piled on each other. Those on the inside smothered, and 
those on the outside froze. A pyramid of about 500 dead hogs was thus built. The 
others wandered about and were reduced to skeletons by their sufferings from the cold, 
the whole proving a total loss. Mr. Heredith was a man of good business qualifications, 
and of great energy. He was making superhuman efforts to retrieve his fortunes, but 
that blow crushed him; he never rose again, but sank down and in a short time died. 
In the biographical part, see his name. 

JAMES HARVEY HILDRETH: At the time Rev. Mr. Porter gave me his recollec- 
tions connected with the " sudden change," he told me that some years later he met a 
man in DeWitt county, by the name of Hildreth, who was crippled in his hands and 
feet. He said Mr. Hildreth informed him that it had been caused by his being caught 
away from shelter at the time of the " sudden change." Mr. Hildreth then gave him 
a detailed account of his sufferings and experience, which Mr. Porter gave to me from 
memory. This made such an impression on my mind that I was anxious to know 
more of the incident. In the course of my travels over the county, I was at the house 
of Mrs. Thomas J. Turley. See the Turley and Trotter names. How the subject 
came up I do not remember, but I learned from Mrs. Turley that Mr. Hildreth was 
her cousin. She gave me additional information, and referred me to another cousin 
of herself and Mr. Hildreth Mr. Moses Kenny, of Kenny, Logan county. I deferred 
writing to that gentleman until I was drawing my work to a close, and when I did so, 
was answered by Mr. John Kenny, of the same place, who informed me that his 
brother Moses was dead. Mr. John Kenny answered all my inquiries, and referred 
me to Mr. A. L. Barnett, of Clinton, DeWitt county. He, also, kindly responded. All 
the parties consulted bear the very highest character for truthfulness. It is from this 
mass of information that I give the following account of the case. Although the par- 
ticular event I am about to relate did not occur in this county, it illustrates an atmos- 
pheric phenomena that affected this entire region of country j and was so remakable 
that the like of it is not on record, nor known by any person now living, and it is to be 
hoped that it may never be known again. It is to be regretted that there is no scien- 
tific knowledge on record of the event. The country was so new, and the settlers of a 
class generally of limited education, so much so that I have been unable to learn of a 
family in the county who owned a thermometer at the time. But now to the subject. 

James H. Hildreth was born about 1812, in Bourbon county, Ky. He came to Illi- 
nois about 1833 or '4, and settled on Vermilion river, near Georgetown, Vermilion 
county, and engaged in cattle trading. Mr. Hildreth, then twenty-four or twenty-five 
years of age, was a very stout and rugged young man. He left home on the nineteenth 



68 HISTORICAL PRELUDE. 



of December, 1836, in company with another young man by the name of Frame, in- 
tending to go to Chicago, both on horseback. On the second day out, December 2oth, 
they entered the border of a large prairie, and the next timber was many miles distant, 
on Hickory creek, a tributary of Iroquois river, and now in Iroquois county. It 
rained all the forenoon, and the earth was covered with water. They encountered a 
slough containing so much water they did not like to attempt passing through it. In 
order to head the slough they rode some miles in a northeast direction, and having 
crossed it, turned northwest to regain their course. That was about the middle of the 
afternoon. It suddenly ceased raining and the cold wave came in all its fury from the 
northwest, striking them square in the face. They were then out of sight of any 
human habitation, and their horses became absolutely unmanageable, and drifted with 
the wind, or across it, until dark closed in upon them. How long they were discussing 
what to do is not stated, but they finally agi'eed to kill each the others horse. They 
dismounted and Hildreth killed Frame's horse. They took out the entrails, and both 
crawled into the carcass as far as they could, and lay there, as near as Hildreth could 
judge, until about midnight. The animal heat from the carcass having become ex- 
hausted, they crawled out, intending that Frame should kill Hildreth's horse, and both 
crawl into it. Just then the one having the knife dropped it, and it being dark, they 
were unable to find it. Being thus foiled in their purpose, they both huddled about 
the living horse as best they could, until about four o'clock in the morning. Frame 
by that time was so benumbed with the cold that he became sleepy, and notwithstand- 
ing Hildreth used every exertion to keep him up, he sank down in a sleep from which 
he never awakened. 

The feelings of Hildreth at this juncture can only be left to the imagination. He 
managed, by jumping about, to keep from freezing until daylight, when he got on his 
horse and started in search of shelter. In mounting he dropped his hat, and was afraid 
to get off, fearing he would never be able to mount again. Thus, bare headed, he 
wandered about for some time, until he reached the bank of a stream, supposed to be 
Vermilion river. Seeing a house on the opposite shore, he hallooed as best he could 
until he attracted the attention of the man, who, after learning what he wanted, said 
he could not assist him. A canoe was lying at the opposite shore, but he affected to be 
afraid of the running ice. Hildreth then offered him a large price if he would cut a 
tree and let it fall over the stream so that he could cross. The man still refused, and 
directed Hildreth to a grove which he said was a mile distant, where he would find a 
house. He went, but it was five miles, and the house proved to be a deserted cabin. 
He returned to the river opposite the house, called again for help, and was refused. He 
then dismounted, crawled to the bank, and found that the ice had closed and was suffi- 
ciently strong to bear him, and he crawled over. Arriving at the fence, the brutal 
owner of the place refused to help him, and he tumbled over it, and crawling in the 
house, laid down near the fire. Hildreth lay and begged for assistance, and when the 
man would have relented and done something, his wife restrained him. The 
frozen man lay there until four o'clock that afternoon, when some hog drovers came 
along and moved him to another house, where he was properly cared for. The name 
of the inhuman wretch was Benjamin Russ. After learning of his inhumanity, a move- 
ment was made to punish him, but he fled. Mr. Hildreth always expressed the belief 
that his offering to pay liberally for cutting a tree across the river, led them to think 



SANGAMON COUNTY. 69 



that he had a large amount of money, and that if, by their neglect, he perished, they 
could obtain it. Such a being was very rare among the early settlers of central Illinois, 
who were remarkable for their readiness to divide their comforts with all new comers, 
and especially those who were in affliction. 

Mr. Hildreth met with a heavy loss, financially, by his failure to go to Chicago. He 
was conveyed back to the house of his brother in Vermilion county, where all the toes 
were taken from both feet, and the bones of all his fingers, except one joint of the 
thumb on his right hand, which enabled him to hold a pen or a drover's whip. Soon 
after recovering sufficiently to enable him to travel, he removed to DeWitt county, where 
he continued trading in cattle. He was married, April 7, 1847, in DeWitt county, to 
Adaline Hall. His left foot never healed entirely, and nearly twenty-two years after 
his misfortune, it became alarming, and he had the leg amputated below the knee. It 
soon healed, but his lungs, already diseased, caused his death about the middle of June, 
1858, near Mt. Pulaski, Illinois. 

He has three children now living. Henry resides near Chesnut, Logan county. 
John lives in Logan county, near Kenny, DeWitt county. His daughter Sarah mar- 
ried William Weedman, and resides near Farmer City. Mrs. Adaline Hijdreth mar- 
ried Harrison Meacham, and resides near Clinton, DeWitt county, Illinois. 

Notwithstanding his great calamity, James H. Hildreth was a useful man in the 
community where he lived. Most men would have given up in despair, and become a 
charge upon their friends; but he was active and energetic, and continued in the busi- 
ness of a farmer and stock dealer until he was physically unable to do more. 

Mr. Preston Breckenridge expresses the opinion that the velocity of the cold wave, 
given in another part of this sketch, is too slow. He thinks it must have moved at 
least seventy miles an hour, judging from his present knowledge on the subject. He 
had just taken his dinner, and was sitting near a window, between one and two o'clock 
in the afternoon, in view of a pool of water, ten or twelve inches deep. He heard a 
terrific roaring sound. Suddenly the rain ceased, and it became quite dark. The first 
touch of the blast scooped all the water out of the pool. Some of it returned, but in 
a moment it was blown out again, and scattered in frost and ice, leaving the pool empty, 
and the bottom frozen dry. He says it had been raining slowly all the fore part of the 
day, and so warm that he thinks a thermometer would have stood as high as forty de- 
grees above zero, possibly higher, and that the first touch of the tempest would have 
brought it down to zero in a second of time. Mr. Breckenridge is well acquainted 
with many incidents illustrating the unparalleled suddenness and severity of the cold. 
He relates a case of two young men who lost their lives near Paris, Edgar county, 
Illinois, after efforts to save themselves similar to those made by Hildreth and his friend. 
I might cite any number of incidents illustrating the intense suffering caused by the 
: cold in Sangamon county, but the number of those who perished was comparatively 
small, for the reason that jt was more thickly settled than the county north and east. 
There must have been about ten thousand inhabitants in the county at the time. 

A REMARKABLE INCIDENT: The following incident was related to me by Benj. 
F. Irwin, who received the statement from Rev. John M. Berry, a Cumberland Pres- 
byterian Minister, who resided a short distance northeast of Pleasant Plains. Families 
coming into the new settlements were many times put to great inconvenience to pro 



70 HISTORICAL PRELUDE. 



cure food, and especially breadstuff. Stealing was seldom resorted to, as there was a 
general desire to divide with new comers. A man who owned a mill, occasionally 
missed meal and flour, and concluded to lay in wait and see what would be the result. 
Soon after dark one evening, he placed himself under the bolting chest, and had not 
long to wait. A man entered the mill, and the first thing he did was to kneel down 
and pray fervently for pardon for what he was about to do. He laid his whole case 
before the Lord; told him of his willingness to work, his inability to obtain employ- 
ment by which he could earn bread, and asked the Lord to open the way for him, and 
as though he fully expected his prayer to be answered, he took only a sufficient quan- 
tity of flour to supply his immediate necessities, and was about to depart. The owner 
of the mill recognized the man as one for whom he had formed a feeling of great re- 
spect, and would have been willing to help if he had known that he was destitute. He 
called out from his place of concealment for the man to stop. A real thief would have 
run, but the man with the flour halted without hesitation, when he was told to fill his 
sack, and when that was gone to come and get more. They were friends before, but 
were much warmer friends after, to the end of their lives. The facts were kept quiet, 
and the names of the parties were never known except to a small number of persons; 
but the miller ever after asserted that he had more confidence in that man than any 
other he ever saw. The sequel proved that the miller must have been a man of sterling 
principle, for if he had been like ordinary mortals, the other would have been ruined. 

PANTHERS: -John Harlan was among the earliest settlers. He heard a coon making 
a piteous noise, went out with his gun and found a panther trying to catch it. He shot 
that and two other panthers in succession, and that gave the name to Panther creek, or 
Painter creek, as it was generally spoken. 

A boy by the name of Jordan, at the age of 14 years, shot a panther in the Lick 
creek timber, in what is now Loami township. When dead it was found to measure 
eleven feet from the tip of its nose to the tip of its tail. 

A Mrs. Brown, wife of Henry Brown, who was an early settler on Lick creek, in 
what is now Chatham township, had been to one of her neighbors, and was returning, 
late in the afternoon, on foot, accompanied by two large dogs. The dogs ran to her, 
one on each side, which caused her to look, when she saw a huge panther on each side 
of the road. She walked quietly forward, the dogs keeping close to her side, and so 
passed the danger. She regarded her escape as almost miraculous, and never could 
speak of it without a shudder. 

MILLS AND MILLING: Before mills were built here the settlers had to go to 
Eclvvardsville for grinding; but sixty or seventy miles was too far to take a grist every 
day, and it was necessary that something should be more readily obtained. A piece of 
tin that can now be had anywhere for a few cents, was then an object of great interest. 
Every old tin vessel was saved, torn in pieces, cut to a suitable size, punched full of 
holes, and nailed to a board for a grater. While the corn was. soft, meal could be grated 
in a very short time, sufficient to make bread for a whole family, by rubbing an ear of 
corn back and forth on the grater. That implement is always pronounced by the old 
settlers "gritter" 

Mr. William Drennan remembers that the first mill in Sangamon county was built 
by Daniel Liles on the farm where Daniel G. Jones now resides, near Horse creek, and 



SANGAMON COUNTT. 



on the line between Ball and Cotton Hill townships. It was erected in the fall of 1819, 
and was made on the plan known as a band mill. That was a horizontal wheel, with 
arms fifteen feet or more in length, and of sufficient height for the horses to pass under 
the arms. Several holes would be bored near the outer end of these arms. One wooden 
pin was placed in each one of the arms. A band of rawhide stretched around those 
pins and the trunnel head would communicate the power to the burrs, which were 
usually made of any loose stone picked up on the prairies. A mill of that kind would 
grind eight or ten bushels a day. Liles' mill never had any roof, and when it rained 
the track became very muddy. If his customers complained, he would assume an air 
of injured innocence and ask if they expected him to work in the rain. If they said 
no, but that he should do it when the weather was fair, his invariable reply was, that 
they did not need it then. The people came to this mill thirty or forty miles, and 
although it was kept running day and night, sometimes they would have to wait sev- 
eral days for a turn at the mill. One man told me that when he was a boy his parents 
started him to mill, supplied with an extra quantity of feed for his horses and some 
meat for himself, with the understanding that he was to parch corn as a substitute for 
bread. He had to wait so long for his turn that when it came he had nothing to grind, 
himself and horses having consumed all the corn, and he would have been compelled 
to lose his turn, but the miller kindly loaned him a grist, which he repaid the next time 
he went to mill. 

The earliest mills were only intended for grinding corn, and at first no effort was 
made for bolting flour, but those who raised the first wheat would cut it with the old 
fashioned reap hooks, called sickles, thresh it on the ground with a flail, separate the 
chaff and wheat by a man taking a measure of wheat, standing on an elevated place, 
and pouring it out slowly, with a shaking motion, while two others stood below with a 
common bed sheet, folded double, and taking hold of each end and giving it a quick 
motion toward the failing wheat, would thus blow the chaff away, while the wheat, 
being heavier, would fall perpendicular. The wheat thus cleaned would be taken to 
the corn mill and ground, of course very imperfectly. The next point was to separate 
the bran from the flour. At first this was done by making a light frame, three or four 
feet long, and one and a half by two feet wide, and stretching a piece of the thinnest 
cloth that could be obtained, over it. Some of the wheat meal would be put on this 
cloth and the frame shaken from right to left, after the manner of a seive or meal sifter, 
and the finest part of the wheat meal would go through. That was made into bread, 
usually biscuit. That implement was called a search, usually pronounced sarch. Some 
of the earliest settlers will tell you that the sweetest morsel they ever tasted in 
their whole lives was the first piece of wheat bread thus made, after having been a 
whole year, and sometimes longer, living on the coarsest of corn bread. 

HONESTY OF THE EARLY SETTLERS: John Sims remembers that a few years after 
they came to the settlement their corn was all frost bitten, and he went to Madison 
county to obtain corn for seed and bread. He had to pay $1.00 per bushel for it, and 
wishing to haul all he could, he filled some sacks and laid them across the corn in the 
wagon bed. He stalled in the mud, in Macoupin county, and left his wagon there, 
several miles from any house, and where people traveling hundreds of miles had to 
pass it. When he went home for more teams, some unexpected obstacles presented 
themselves, and it was two weeks or more before he returned. When he did so, some 



72 HISTORICAL PRELUDE. 



of his corn was gone, but closer examination revealed the fact that money was tied in 
the sacks from which the corn was taken. Some was tied with horse hairs and some 
with strings, in small bunches, in all between eight and ten dollars; sufficient to fully 
compensate for the corn taken. He has hauled dry goods and groceries, in large and 
small packages, has stalled and left his wagon for days and weeks, and never knew 
anything to be stolen. 

When the land office was opened, in 1823, in Springfield, the receiver was ordered to 
send the coin to Louisville, Ky. The route was so difficult to travel and so long, that he 
was permitted, after one effort, to send.it to St. Louis for safe keeping. Mr. Sims had a 
good team, and was called on to do the hauling. On more than one occasion he has 
loaded his wagon with boxes of gold and silver, amounting to from thirty to fifty thousand 
dollars. He has gone without any guard, been two or three nights on the road, would 
feed his horses tied to the wagon, sleep on some straw thrown over the boxes, and was 
never molested, and never thought there was danger. 

A SNAKE STORY: Gen. James Adams was bitten by a rattlesnake in 1821, and 
wishing to obtain some rattlesnake oil, he advertised that he would pay fifty cents for 
the first one brought to him, and in order to make sure of getting one, he offered 
twenty-five cents for each additional one. A man by the name of Barnes found a den 
near the mouth of Spring creek, killed all he could, loaded them in a wagon, drove to 
Springfield, and left his wagon in an out-of-the-way place. He first took one snake 
and received fifty cents, then two, and received twenty-five cents each. He then took 
Gen. Adams to the wagon and showed him the whole load. Adams refused to pay for 
them. Barnes then called his attention to the advertisement, but he still refused. 
Barnes then called on two men, Reuben Burden and John White, who counted the 
load, and there were 122 snakes. He then demanded his money, $30.75. This brought 
the General 'to a compromise, and the matter was settled by his paying $5.00 extra. 
Joseph E. McCoy is my authority. 

Albion Knotts says that when they come to the country, in 1819, his father soon 
learned that the next supply of shoes for his family would have to be manufactured by 
himself, although he- had never made a shoe. This discovery was barely made when 
he found that he must produce the leather also, as there were no tanners in the country. 
He first cut down a large oak tree, peeled off the bark and laid it up to dry. He 
dug a trough in the log, as large as it would make, for a tan vat. He then gathered 
up all the hides he could obtain. The next question was how to remove the hair. It 
was known that it could not be done by regular tanners' process, both for want of the 
proper materials, and the knowledge in using them. Some person suggested that it 
might be done with water and ashes, but great caution would be necessary, lest the 
solution be made too strong. In that event it would ruin the hides. In his extreme 
caution he did not make it strong enough, and so removed but a little more than half 
the hair. In place of grinding the bark he beat it up on a stump with the poll of an 
axe. He then put the hides in the trough, covered them with the pulverized bark, put 
on weights to keep the mass down, and filled the trough with water, changing the 
bark several times during the summer. As winter approached he took the hides out, 
though not more than half tanned, and made them into shoes. He made them on what 
was called the stick dou<n plan. That is, in place of turning the upper leather under 
the last, it was turned outward and sewed with a straight awl through the upper and 



SAN GAM ON C O UNTT. 



sole. This would make a walk all around the shoe that a mouse might travel on. It 
was frequently the case that awls could not be obtained. Then they would take a 
common table fork, break off one of the tines, and sharpen the other for the awl. 
Shoes made as I have described, with the upper leather hair side out, not more than 
half of it removed, and without any blacking, would certainly look very odd. There 
can be little doubt that the above is a fair description of the first tanning and shoe 
making ever done in Sangamon county. 

When the first settlers came there were no stores filled with dry goods, as there are 
now, and if the goods had been in the country there was no money to buy them. The 
onlv way families could supply themselves with clothing was to produce the materials 
and manufacture their own goods. Those who first came from the Southern States 
as most of them did brought their cotton, flax and hemp seed, raised the fibre and did 
all the work. They at first picked the seed by hand, carded it on hand cards, spun it 
on wheels designed for 'spinning wool or flax, wove it into cloth, and made it into gar- 
ments for men and women's wear. That which was designed for underclothing was 

o O 

prepared without coloring, as a matter of course, but for outer garments, and particu- 
larly ladies' dresses, something better was required. Some among the earliest brought 
a little indigo, madder, and same other drugs, but for greater variety and economy, a 
large number of barks were used, such as black walnut, butternut, several varieties of 
oak, hickory, etc. When peach trees grew the leaves were used for making one of the 
brightest colors. Some of the cotton yarn, dyed with each of those colors, skilfully 
arranged in weaving, and made into dresses, looked remarkablv well. Some of the 
old boys now living say that the young ladies of their time, thus attired, looked equally 
as charming in their eyes as those of the present era, with their flounces made of goods 
from the looms -of Lyons and the shops of Paris, do to our young men. Flax and tow 
was never colored, and was mostly used for men and boys' wear in the summer. A 
tow shirt, with a draw string around the neck, and reaching below the knees, was a full 
dress in summer for boys up to ten or twelve years of age. Some of our most sub- 
stantial farmers were thus attired in their boyhood days. 

Elisha Primm says that his father built a cotton gin in 1822. He says that from the 
time the first settlers came into the county until .the winter of the "deep snow," 1830 
and '31, this was as good a cotton country as Georgia. He says that this was attested 
by men familiar with cotton growing in the Southern States. Elisha attended the gin 
built by his father, which was run by horse power. The people brought cotton to be 
ginned, from all distances up to twenty miles. Sometimes it would accumulate on his 
hands until he would have as much as 3,000 pounds. The price for ginning was a toll 
of one pound in every eight, after the cotton was ginned. It sold from 12 to i6^i cents 
per pound, and occasionally higher. After the "deep snow" the seasons appeared to 
shorten, and cotton was generally bitten by the frost before it had time to mature, and 
cotton raising was finally abandoned. It seemed as though the seasons were overruled 
so as to be adapted to the wants of the pioneer settlers, when there was no other wav 
for them to be supplied with clothing, but when roads were opened and capital came 
in, bringing merchandise, the seasons gravitated back to their normal condition. 

FIRST PRODUCE MARKETED: Mr. William Drennen believes that the first pro- 
duce marketed in the county was on Sugar creek, in the Summer of 1818. George 
Cox sold half a dozen small green pumpkins to an Indian for twelve and a half cents. 
10 



74 HISTORICAL PRELUDE. 

i 
This note was written while 1 was standing on the spot, a few yards north of the 

Sulphur Springs, south of Loami, where once stood a sycamore tree in which A. E. 
Meacham took a ten foot rail, held it in a horizontal position against his waist, and 
turned entirely around inside the tree. It was about eighteen feet in diameter outside, 
and was long used as a wigwam by the Indians. The entrance was at the east side. 
It was safe when there were only Indians 'in the country, but some vandal, claiming to 
be civilized, set fire to it and burned it down. 

The Sulphur Spring spoken of above, bubbles up at the foot of a hill near Lick creek, 
and in its natural state, when animals approached it to drink the water, was a quag- 
mire, but the early settlers made an excavation, eight or nine feet deep, and walled it 
up, so that the water flows out over the top of the wall, clear and pure. Soon after it 
was thus improved two old topers, on a very hot day, visited the spring, taking with 
them a jug of whisky, intending to have a good time laying in the shade near by, 
drinking their whisky, and for variety, taking an occasional sip at the sulphur water. 
One of them undertook to cool the whisky by holding the jug in the water, and while 
doing so let it slip from his grasp. To cut a forked limb from a tree and make a hook 
of it would be too much work. In order to rescue the jug, the one who let it slip con- 
sented that the other should take him by the heels and let him down head foremost. 
The whiskv was secured in that way, at the imminent risk of drowning one or both of 
the men. It must have been liberally watered or it would not have sunk. 

There are at least one hundred and fifty grave yards and burial places in Sangamon 
county, and nine-tenths of them are so much neglected that, so far as marking any par- 
ticular locality or grave, the following lines, taken from a Scottish grave yard, are 
peculiarly applicable: 

" In this church yard lies Eppie Coutts, 
Either here or hereabouts; 
But whaur it is none can tell, 
Till Eppie rise and tell hersel." 

The first death of a white man in Sangamon county was that of an Indian ranger. 
The Sulphur Spring near Loami was known to the Indians, and was very early a camp- 
ing ground for the whites. When the settlements had not extended farther north than 
the vicinity of Alton, Indians, according to their custom, killed some of the frontier 
settlers, and were pursued by some Rangers. While camped at the sulphur spring 
one of them died, and was buried by his comrades on a beautiful knoll near the spring. 
It was known to the very earliest settlers as the grave of the Indian Ranger, and was 
the nucleus of the present Sulphur Springs Cemetery. The land was entered by 
Jonathan Jarrett, who intended a small part of it for a cemetery and church purposes, 
but died without making a deed. A regular company has been organized, according 
to law, and it is now handsomely fitted up and well cared for. There ought to be a 
monument over the grave of the Indian Ranger, to show that it was the first burial of 
a white man in the county. 



EXPLANATION. 

The names of early settlers, or heads of families, in LARGE LETTER ; 
Names of the second generation in ITALIC CAPITALS; third, in CAPITALS; 
fourth, in SMALL CAPITALS; fifth, in Italics. 



A., 

ABEL, ROSWELL, was horn 
July 23, 1785, on Sharon Mountain, Litch- 
field county, Conn. Three brothers by 
the name of Abel came from England 
about 1750. One of them settled in Con- 
necticut, one in Virginia, and what became 
of the other is unknown. Jonathan, who 
settled in Conn., brought up a family of 
five sons and two daughters. His son 
David was the father of the subject of 
this sketch. David Abel, and two of his 
brothers, William and Andrew, were 
Revolutionary soldiers. William settled 
in Canada after the Revolution, and 
brought up a family there. This branch 
of the family has lost sight of Andrew. 
David was born on Sharon mountain, 
married and lived on the same farm until 
four children were born, and then moved 
to Washington county, N. Y., where six 
children were born. Each brought up 
families. David Abel presented the gun 
which he carried through the Revolution, 
to his son Roswell, with instructions to 
present it to his son, if he had one, but if 
not, to a brother's son. He has it yet in 
his possession, at the home of his son 
Roswell P., to whom he bequeaths it. 
The brass breech bears the inscription 
" Liberty or Death," every letter of which 
is yet distinct. 

Roswell Abel, whose name heads this 
sketch, was married Oct. 22, 1807, to Betsy 
Mason. She was born Oct. 22, 1790, at 
Fort Ann, Washington county, X. Y. 



Her father, Coomer Mason, was a Revo- 
lutionary soldier, also. He had two 
brothers, Shubal and Hail, who fought at 
the battle of Benington. Roswell and 
Betsy Abel had three children, born at 
Granville, Washington County, N. Y. 
They moved to Springfield, 111., arriving 
July 15, 1836. Of their children 

LIZETTE, was born December 4, 
1809, married Oct., 1829, in Essex county, 
N. Y., to Calvin Peabody. They 'came 
to Springfield in 1838. They had five 
living children, namely: CHARLES 
P., born Feb. 25, 1837, married April 5 
1866, to Jane Cheeseman. They have 
three children, HARRY, IDELLA L., and 
MARY. HELEN, born Jan. 28, 1835, 
married Oct. 24, 1865, to Amos Atwood. 
They have two children, HELEN M., born 
Jan. 18,1867, and EMM AC., born August 14, 
1869, and reside near Farmington, Daco- 
tah county, Minnesota. JOHN C., born 
March 13, 1843, married Feb. 4, 1868, in 
Enterprise, Mo., to Emily Kinsman. 
Thev have four children, BURTON, FRANK- 
LIN, WILLIAM and HARRY, and reside in 
Brookfield, Mo. SARAH E., born in 
Sangamon county, married July 11, 1857, 
to Dr. Orlando Lent. They had one 
child, CHARLES j. He died Nov. 4, 
1874, in his 1 7th year, and Dr. Lent died 
while on duty at Paducah, Ky., Military 
Hospital, in 1863. His widow married 
T. M. Elliott, and resides near Grantsville, 
Linn county, Mo. EDWIN R., born 
Dec. 12, 1844, enlisted Dec. 14, 1863, in 
Vaughn's Battery 3d 111. Art. He was 
married Jan. 24, 1867, in Missouri, to 



7 6 



EARLT SETTLERS OF 



Clara Sockman. They have three child- 
ren, ORLEY, FRANCIS and TRUDELLA, 

and reside near Browning, Linn county, 
Missouri. Calvin Peahody moved from 
Sangamon county, Illinois, to Linn county, 
Missouri, in 1865, and died there, Sept. 
7, 1870. His widow resides near Brown- 
ing. 

CHLOE E., born April 19, 1812, in 
New York. Married Nov., 1839, in 
Springfield, to John Armstrong. See his 
names. 

R OS WELL P., born June 30, 1815, 
in Washington county, New York ; came 
to Sangamon county, Illinois, with his 
parents in 1836. Married September 30, 
1846, at Greencastle, Pa., to Margaret J. 
Loose. She was born there, Jan. 22, 1820. 
They reside at Rochester, 111. 

Roswell Abell and wife have been 
married more than 69 years. They re- 
side with their son, Roswell P., at Roches- 
ter, Sangamon county, Illinois. 

ABELL, JEREMIAH, was 
born in 1770, in Rockingham county, Va. 
He was there married to Hannah Aiken, 
who was born in 1771. They emigrated 
to Adair county, Ky. Mr. Abell was the 
owner of some slaves, but he liberated 
them "in Kentucky, and moved with his 
family to Sangamon county, 111., arriving 
hi 1829, in what is now Auburn township. 
Their daughter 

PENELOPE, married in Adair 
county, Ky., to Samuel McElvain. See 
his name. They come to Sangamon 
county with her parents. 

Their son, Dr. J. R. Abell, resides at 
Taylorville. 

Rev. Jeremiah Abell was regularly ed- 
ircated for the ministry, preached many 
years in connection with the Presbyterian 
church, and received the title of Doctor 
of Divinity. After coming to Illinois he 
severed his connection with the Presbyte- 
rian church and united with the Methodists. 
He moved, about 1846, to McDonough 
county, and died there in 1852. 

ADAMS, JAMES, was born Jan. 
24, 1783, in Hartford, Conn. Harriet 
Denton was born Jan. 31, 1787, in 
Hartford, also. They were there mar- 
ried about 1809, and moved to Os- 
wego, N. Y., where they had five child- 
ren. They moved to Springfield, Illinois, 
arriving in the spring of 1821, soon after 
the place was declared to be the county 



seat of Sangamon county. Of their four 
living children, 

LOVENIA E., born May 3, 1813, at 
Oswego, N. Y., married, in Springfield, 
to Peter Weber. See his name. They 
both died in the north part of the State. 
She died Sept. 5, 1 838. 

CHARLOTTE B., born May 2, 
1815, in Oswego, N. Y., and died Jan. 10, 
1832. 

LUC I AN B., born Dec. 10, 1816, in 
Oswego, N. Y.; married in Springfield, 
March 14, 1847, to Margery A. Reed, 
who was born July 9, 1824, in Williams- 
port, Penn. They have four children. 
JAMES L., born Jan. 22, 1848, in Spring- 
field, graduated in a commercial college in 
Chicago, and is employed in a railroad 
office in Vallejo, California. ELDORA 
J., ENOLA A. and HARRIET L., re- 
side with their parents in Springfield. 
Lucian B. Adams studied law arid ob- 
tained license to practice in 1840. For 
twenty years he discharged the duties of a 
justice of the peace, and the greater part 
of that time acted as police magistrate, 
U. S. commissioner and notary public. 
He is now U. S. commissioner. 

VIENNA M., born July 10, 1818, in 
Oswego, N. Y. ; married in Springfield, 
to Charles G. McGraw. See his name. 

James Adams was a lawyer, and en- 
gaged in practice when became to Spring- 
field, in 1821. He was elected justice of 
the peace in 1823 or '4 and was elected 
successively for many years. He took 
part in the Winnebago and Black Hawk 
Indian wars of 1827, and 1831 and '2. He 
was elected Probate Judge of Sangamon 
county, and died in office, August n, 
1843. His widow r , Mrs. Harriet Adams, 
died August 21, 1844, both in Springfield. 

ALEXANDER, THOMAS, 
was born about 1768, in Ireland, and his 
parents came to America when he was 
about four years old, landing at Charles- 
ton, S. C. Lynna Goodlett was born Oct. 
11, 1780, in Greenville District, S. C. 
They were there married, and had three 
children, all of whom died under eight 
years. In 1806 they moved to Christian 
county, near Hopkinsville, Ky., where 
they had two children, and moved to San- 
gamon county, 111., arriving in Oct., 1828, 
three miles east of Auburn. In 1829 they 
moved to what is now Chatham township, 
south of Lick creek. Of their two children, 



SANG AM ON COUNTT. 



77 



MART ANN, born in 1810, in Ken- 
tucky; married in Sangamon county to 
John L. Drcnnan. (See his name.} 

n.\ VID, born Oct. 3, 1814, in Chris- 
tian county, Ky. ; came to Sangamon 
county in 1828; married March 13, 1833, 
to Catharine Darnielle; had 14 children, 
all born in Sangamon county, six of whom 
died in infancy, and LYNNA died at 13 
years. Of the other seven, JOHN T.,born 
Dec. 25, 1835, enlisted on the first call for 
75,000 men, April, 1861, for three months, 
in Co. A., 2nd Kansas Cavalry, served 
full term, and enlisted Nov., 1861, in Co. 
D., 2nd Mo. Art., for three years. Re- 
enlisted as a veteran Jan., 1864. He lost 
his right hand April 13, 1865, at St. 
Charles, Ark., by the premature discharge 
of a cannon, while firing a salute on hear- 
ing of the surrender of the rebel forces 
under Gen. Lee. He now (1873) resides 
with his parents. DAVID S.,born Nov. 
20, 1842, enlisted August 13, 1861, in Co. 
B., 3oth 111. Inf., for three years; served 
until August 9, 1862, when he was dis- 
charged on account of physical disability, 
at Memphis, Tenn. He was brought 
home, and, after a lingering illness, died, 
March 10, 1866. CATHARINE, born 
Dec. 20, 1844; married May 29, 1862, to 
Lafayette Beach. (See his name.} Had 
one child, CHARLES D. HIRAM, born 
March 30, 1847; enlisted March 14, 1864, 
in Co. C., iith Mo. Inf., for three years. 
Served until July 14, 1865, when he was 
discharged on account of physical disabil- 
ity. He was married March 9, 1873, to 
Mary M. VanDoren. They reside five 
miles southwest of Chatham. WILLIAM, 
born Oct. i, 1849; married March 14, 
1872,10 Emma Price, and reside in Chat- 
ham township. MARY BELIZE and 
CYRUS reside with their parents, six 
miles southwest of Chatham, on the farm 
where the family settled in 1829. 

Thomas Alexander died Dec. 18, 183=5, 
and his widow died August 12, 1844, both 
in Sangamon county. 

ALEXANDER, HENRY, 
was born June 10, 1802, in Fleming coun- 
ty, Ky. His father moved to the adjoin- 
ing county of Bath when he was a child. 
He was married June 24, 1827, to Polly 
Gragg, of Nicholas county, and lived in 
Bath county until 1833, wnen ne rnoved 
to Montgomery county. They had four 
children in Kentucky, and moved to San- 



gamon county, 111., arriving Oct. 22, 1835, 
in what is now Rochester township, where 
four children were born. Of their child- 
ren, 

JESSE F., bor.n Dec. 10, 1828, in 
Bath county, Ky., married in Sangamon 
county, 111., March 4, 1852, to Nancy A. 
Hendrix, who was born April 22, 1829, in 
Fleming county, Ky. They had five 
children; one died young. LUCRETIA, 
their second child, born June 26, 1855, 
married March 12, 1874, to Jame^ A. 
Walker. The other three, LAURA, 
GEORGE and REBECCA reside with 
their parents, near Appleton City, St. 
Clair county, Mo. 

HIRAM, born in Kentucky; married 
in Sangamon county to Eliza Hendrix. 
They have seven children, and reside in 
Jefferson county, Iowa. 

LUC1NDA A., born in Kentucky; 
married in Sangamon county to Isaac 
Groves. (See his name.} Their daugh- 
ter Susan married John W. McClelland. 
(See his name.} 

WILLIAM G., born in Kentucky; 
married in Sangamon county to Julia 
Mclntyre. They have four children, and 
reside near Illiopolis. 

JAMES O., born in Sangamon 
county; married Sarah Ham. They have 
three children, and reside in Champaign 
county. 

RE BE C CA and HENR T H., (twins) 
born in Sangamon county. 

REBECCA married' John W. Smith, 
had four children, and she died in 1870. 
Two of the children died also, near Wil- 
liamsville. 

HENRT H. married Emily Sargent, 
and resides in Illiopolis. 

POLLY S., born in Sangamon coun- 
ty; married Benjamin Keck; have three 
children, and reside in Illiopolis. 

Mrs. Polly Alexander died August 2=;, 
1868, and her husband, Henry Alexander, 
resides with his children. 

ALEXANDER, JOHN S., 
was born Sept. 24, 1793, near Lexington, 
Ky.; married Mary Simpson, who was 
born April 16, 1799, in Fayette county, 
Ky. They were there married, and had 
four children. The family moved to San- 
gamon county, 111., arriving in the fall of 
1826, in what is now Fancy creek town- 
ship, where six children were born. Of 
their children, 



EARLT SETTLERS OF 



SARAH S., born Nov. 7, 1820, in 
Kentucky; married March 6, 1837, to 
Samuel D. Cantrall. (See his name.} 

JAMES H., born March 19, 1822, in 
Kentucky; married in Sangamon county 
to Ann E. Hardin. They live in Wash- 
ington Territory. 

HANNAH //., born June i, 1824, in 
Kentucky; married James Kilgour, and 
died. (See his name.} ' 

WILLIAM, born June 12, 1826, in 
Fayette county, Ky.; married in Sanga- 
mon county to Eveline Lacey; had three 
children, and she and all the children died, 
He married Catharine Hill. They have 
three children, FREDIE, FRANKIE 
and a babe, and reside at Williamsville. 

ASA C. and MARGARET C., 
(twins), born March 15, 1829, in Sanga- 
mon county. 

ASA C. married Mary J. Tabor, and 
resides in Ford county. 

MARGARET C. married Harrison 
Blue ; had two children, and he died, April, 
1852, and she married George Martin, and 
resides in Iroquois county. 

GEORGE, born Feb. 13, 1831, in 
Sangamon county; enlisted in a Kansas 
regiment in 1861 or '2, and died in mili- 
tary hospital at Springfield, Mo. 

JOHN S., Jun., married Dorcus A. 
Mills. 

SAMUEL C., born Jan. 31, 1838; 
married Amanda Hall, and lives in Ford 
county. 

MART J., born April 15, 1840, in 
Sangamon county; married August 7, 
1856, to Andrew J. Hedrick, who was 
born August 23, 1834. They had three 
children, HARRISON H., RUTH A. 
and ALICE V. Mr. Hedrick enlisted 
August 15, 1862, in Co. I., 34 Iowa Inf., 
for three years. He was discharged on 
account of physical disability, March 13, 
and died Mav 8, 1863, in Menard county. 
Mrs. Hedrick married, Oct. 12, 1864, to 
William Reesburg. They have one child, 
WILLIAM H., and reside near Illiopolis. 

Mrs. Mary Alexander died Nov. i, 

1852, and John S. Alexander died July 15, 

1853, both in Sangamon county. 
ALKIRE, HARM ON AS, was 

born in 1804, in Bourbon county, Ky. 
His parents moved, when he was quite 
young, to Pickaway county, O. In 1826 
he visited Sangamon county on business 
for other parties. Returning to Ohio, he 



went to -Lafayette, Ind. The next year 
he came to Sangamon county again, on 
business, and was married in Springfield, 
Dec. 31, 1829, to Martha McLemore. She 
was born July 10, 1810, in Burke county, 
N. C. Her parents moved, in 1811, to 
Knoxville, Tenn., and moved from there 
to Sangamon coimty, 111., arriving, Dec. 
23, 1828, at Springfield. Soon after mar- 
riage Mr. Alkire returned to Lafayette 
with his wife. They had two children 
born there, and then moved to Sangamon 
county, arriving, August, 1832, in what is 
now Fancy Creek township, where they 
had eight living children. Of the other 
ten children, 

MART ANN, bom at Lafayette, Ind., 
is unmarried, and resides with her parents. 

JAMES T., born Feb. 3, 1832, at 
Lafayette, Ind.; married, Oct. 4, 1866, to 
Addie H. Ross, who was born March 6, 
1838, in Miami county, O. They have 
two living children, ANNIE ' M. and 
MARGARET" A. J. Y. Alkire is farm- 
ing and practicing medicine. Resides 
three miles west of Sherman. 

MARGARET y.,born Dec. 17, 1833, 
in Sangamon county ; married Isaac Mull, 
who was born March 2, 1820, in Mason 
county, Ky. They have five children, 
IDA M., HENRY E.JENNIE, MAT- 
TIE E. and CHARLES C., and reside 
four miles north of Springfield. 

CAROLINE M., born Jan. 24, 1835, 
in Sangamon county; married April 6, 
1865, to Conrad Shamel. They have 
three children, CHARLES H., CLAR- 
ENCE A. and JOHN Y., and reside 
near Springfield. 

WILLIAM W., born July 26, 1837, 
in Sangamon county; married Judith S. 
Lightfoftt. They have three children, 
HERBERT, EMMETT and AR- 
THUR, and reside four miles southwest 
of Troy, Doniphan county, Kan. 

DANIEL, born in Sangamon countv, 
is a traveling preacher in the M. E. church, 
at present, 1873, resides with his parents, 
recruiting his health. 

ALBERT II., born in Sangamon 
county, is a traveling preacher in Illinois 
Conference, M. E. church, 1873. 

PRISCILLA E., married George 
W. Neer, and resides near Taylorville. 

MATTIE E., married Edward J. 
Myers. They have two children, MARY 



SANGAMON COUNTY, 



79 



A. and EDWARD L., and reside in 
Fancy Creek township. 

LEANDER died June 5, 1871, in his 
i8th year. 

Harmonas Alkire and his wife are liv- 
ing on the farm where they settled in 

1832. It is three miles west of Sherman, 
lie confirms the statement of Washington 
Crowder that the sudden change took 
place December 20, 1836, because he en- 
tered a piece of land that day, and the 
papers bear the above date. 

ALLEN, ROBERT, was born 
in the year 1800, in Greensburg, Green 
county, Ky. He was married there to a 
Miss Anderson, and came to Springfield, 
111., in 1831. Col. Allen engaged in the 
mercantile business as a member of the 
firm of Allen & Blankenship, soon after 
coining to Springfield. He also became a 
mail contractor on a very extensive scale, 
and brought a large number of fine stage 
coaches from Nashville, Tenn., being the 
first ever introduced into the State. He 
made Springfield his headquarters, and on 
some occasions had as many as five hun- 
dred horses on hand at one time. Col. 
Allen was one of the directors of the old 
State Bank. He was connected with the 
army in the Mormon war in 1845, an< ^ U1 
the Mexican war of 1846-7. Not long 
after coming to Springfield, Airs. Allen 
died, and Mr. Allen was married in April, 

1833, to J ane Eliza Bergen. They had 
two children, one of whom died young. 
Their son, 

ROBERT, Jun., born Feb. 28, 1837, 
in .Springfield, and brought up in the city. 
When the rebellion broke out he was 
commissioned, August 28, i86i,as Captain 
of Co. , 30 111. Inf., and served as such un- 
til May 25, 1863, when he was promoted, 
to Major of the regiment, in front of 
Vicksburg. He served part of the time 
in the Quartermaster's department; also 
acted as Assistant Inspector-General of 
the 3d Div. 1 7th Army Corps, and re- 
signed August 8, 1864. Major Robert 
Allen was married Dec. 5, 1865,111 Spring- 
field, to Anna M. Purely, who was born 
May 12, 1838, in Trenton, N. ]. They 
had" three children. GEORGE B., the 
youngest, died August 12, 1872, in his 
second year. HENRY T. and FAN- 
N 1 10 M. reside with their parents in 
Springfield. Major Allen is a practicing 
attorney. 



Col. Robert Allen died Dec. i, 1854, 
and his widow, Mrs. Jane Eliza Allen, 
died March 18, 1857, both one mile north 
of the old State house in Springfield. 

ALLEN, WILLIAM S., was 
born June 16, 1774, in Bourbon county, 
Ky. He was married to Abigail Snede- 
gar. They had five children in Kentucky. 
Mr. Allen came to Sangamon county in 
1835, purchased land and prepared a 
house. He returned to Kentucky and 
brought his family, arriving Nov. i, 1836, 
in what is now Ball township. Of their 
children, 

MARIA L,., born in Bourbon county, 
Ky., was married there to Shelton Watts. 
They had three children there, and moved 
to Sangamon county in 1839. Of their 
children, NANCY J. married John Dren- 
nan, and resides near Tolono, Champaign 
county, 111. WILLIAM S. married 
Sarah Knotts, and resides near Tolono, 111. 
BENJ. FRANKLIN married Isabel F. 
Thompson. See R. B. Thompson sketch. 
Shelton Watts died July 16, 1843, and his 

widow married John Brownwell. See 

j . J 

tits name. 

MART E., born Feb. 28, 1819, in 
Bourbon county, Ky., was married in 
Sangamon county, 111., June 16, 1841, to 
James W. Stephenson. They had nine 
children. MARGARET A., born July 
1 6, 1842, was married Sept. 2, 1875, to 
Andrew Little. They reside near New 
Canton, 111. JAMES A., born June 30, 
1843, WILLIAM E., born July 24, 
1845, FINIS E., born Oct. 18, 1849, and 
PRESLEY B., born March 14, 1851, 
reside with their parents. MARY E., 
born Nov. 7, 1854, was married June 6, 
1872, and resides in Mexico, Mo., and 
ELLEN, born Sept. 9, 1856, resides with 
her parents. Two children died in in- 
fancy. James W. Stephenson and family 
reside near New Canton, 111. 

NANCY died in Kentucky, aged 19 
years. 

WA TERM AN P., born Jan. 8, 1820, 
in Bourbon county, Ky., was married in 
Sangamon county, Feb., 1849, to Louisa 
Watts. Thev have four children. 
MARIA L. and WILLIAM S. reside 
with their father. MARY E. was mar- 
ried Oct. 29, 1873, to John L. Clay ton, and 
resides in Ball township. JULIA A. re- 
sides with her father. Mrs. Louisa Allen 
died Nov. 26, 1857, and W. P. Allen was 



So 



EARLY SETTLERS OF 



married Oct. 18, 1858, to Catharine 
Vaughn. They have six children, MAR- 
GARET E., HARRIET R., LOUISA 
J., JOHN, JOSEPH F. and ALPH. R., 
and reside in Ball township, on the farm 
settled by Mr. Allen's father, in 1836. 

JOHNW.,\)orn in Kentucky, brought 
up in Sangamon county, was married in 
Menard county, Illinois, to Jane Watkins. 
they reside near Atlantic, Cass county, 
Iowa. 

Mrs. Abigail Allen died Sept. 10, 1843, 
and William S. Allen died Dec. n, 1848, 
both in Sangamon county, 111. 

ALLISON, ISAAC F., was 
born July 2, 1801, in Virginia, and his 
parents moved to Mason county, Ky. He 
was married about 1827,10 Deborah Caller- 
man. They lived in Fleming county, Ky., 
a short time, and moved to Sangamon coun- 
ty, arriving in the fall of 1829, on Spring 
creek, where seven children were born. 

JOHN, born in 1828, in Fleming 
county, Ky., raised in Sangamon county, 
enlisted in the 4th 111. Inf., under Col. 
E. D. Baker, in 1846, and died the same 
year at Matamoras, Texas. 

J OSEPH,\)ov\\ in Sangamon county; 
married Hannah Knudson and died, leav- 
ing a widow and three children. 

SUSANNAH, died, aged twelve 
years. 

ELIZABETH is unmarried, and re- 
sides in Kansas. 

JAMES M., born April 13, 1840, in 
Sangamon county ; enlisted August 5, 
1861, in Co. A., 38th 111. Inf.; discharged 
on account of physical disability, March 
29, 1862. He re-enlisted, in Sept., 1862, 
for three years, in Co. K, 115 111. Inf.; 
was transferred, in 1864, to Co. A., First 
U. S. Engineers, and was honorably dis- 
charged with the regiment, Sept. 19, 1865. 
He was married Nov. 18, 1866, in Sanga- 
mon county, to Julia A. Dunham. They 
have two "children, MARTHA D.- and 
ALICE M., and reside five miles north- 
cast of Springfield. 

ELI J API and MINERVA reside 
near Jacksonville, Neosho county, Kan. 

JOHN Jf^born in Sangamon county, 
died June 29, 1868; aged 21 years. 

Mrs. Deborah Allison died May 29, 
1860, in Sangamon county, and Isaac F. 
Allison died December 22, 1869, in Craw- 
ford county, near Jacksonville, Neosho 
county, Kan. 



ALLISON, MARGARET, 
came to Sangamon county as one of the 
family of Thomas Black. See his name. 
She arrived in 1819. Her parents lived 
in Philadelphia. She died within one 
year after arrival, in the 29th year of her 

*ALSBURY, REV.CHAS. D., 
was born Oct. 25, 1817, in Indiana. He 
came to Sangamon county, 111., and was 
married March 14, 1839, to Ann Cordelia 
Cloyd. They had five living children, 
namely : 

THOMAS, born Feb. 12, 1840, and 
died Nov. 6, 1860. 

ANN, born in 1841 or '2; married 
April 4, 1 86 1, to John W. Anderson. 
They have four children. CHARLES 
W., "MINNIE A., JOHN C. and ME- 
LISSA J., and reside in Woodside town- 
ship. 

CAROLINE, married, Dec., 1870, to 
Leander L. Little; have one child, and re- 
side in Montgomery county. 

MARTHA, married, j'an. 3, 1867,10 
John D. Smith. -See his name. 

JOHN C. resides with his mother. 

Rev. Charles D. Alsbury was a preach- 
er of the gospel in connection with the 
Baptist church. He died, and his widow 
resides one and a half miles northwest of 
Woodside. 

AYLESBURY, CHARLES, 
was born in North Carolina and married 
in Virginia, to Mrs. Jan,e Huggins. They 
moved to Kentucky, and from there to 
Springfield, 111., in 1823. Mr. Aylesbury 
entered the land south of the public square. 
They brought some children with them. 
Mrs. Aylesbury's daughter, by her first 
marriage, 

JANE HUG GINS, born in Virginia, 
married William B. Jarrett. Sec his 
name. 

Of the Aylesbury children, 

CHARLES, born in Greenbrier coun- 
ty, Virginia, and married there to Mary 
Reav. They had two children, and came 
to Sangamon county in 1823, and settled 
on Spring creek, where they had nine 
children. JOHN, born in Virginia; mar- 
ried in Sangamon county to Sarah West, 
and reside in Piatt county. ELIZA- 
BETH, born Jan. 8, 1822, in Greenbrier 
county, Va. ; married in Sangamou county, 
August 9, 1849, to George W. Buchanan, 
who was born Nov. 27, 1823, in Morgan 



SA NGA MON C O UNTT. 



Si 



county, 111. Mr. and Mrs. Buchanan had 
six children. MARY j. married B. F. 
Nurbonn, and resides with her father. 
JAMES F. died in 1871, aged 19 years. 
SUSANNA, ELIZABETH, ALBERT and 
ISAAC, reside with their father. Mrs. 
Elizabeth B. died, and G. W. Buchanan 
resides west of Loami. BRICE died in 
Sangamon county, aged 20 years. ED- 
WARD and NANCY are married, and 
live in Missouri. Charles Aylesbury, wife 
and three children reside in Piatt county. 

ALEXANDER, born in Virginia; 
married in Sangamon county, to Ginsey 
Jordan, raised a family, and moved to 
Decatur. He enlisted in an Illinois regi- 
ment, served three years, re-enlisted as a 
veteran, was furloughed home, and died 
in Springfield. 

LE VI, the youngest son, is married, 
and resides in Macon county. 

Charles Aylesbury, Sen., died in 1861, 
in Loami township. His widow resides 
with her son Levi, in Macon county. She 
is now 1873 more than 96 vears old. 

ALVEY. WILLIAM, was born 
Sept. 1 6, 1799, in Washington county, 
Ky. He came to the southern part of 
Illinois in 1824, and to Springfield in May, 
1825. He was married Nov. 6, 1825, 
near Springfield, to Madaline Watson. 
They had six children, all born in Spring- 
field. 

MEL VINA, born July 22, 1826, in 
Springfield; married there to Samuel B. 
Fisher. See his name. 

SIMON B., born Oct. 16, 1827, in 
Springfield, went to Oregon in 1849, was 
married in Yamhill county, Oregon, 
August 30, -1853, to Dollie V. Elder, 
daughter of A. R. Elder, formerly of 
Springfield, 111. They have five children, 
vi/: ALICE M., born Oct. 10, 1854, in 
Yamhill countv; married, August 30, 
1873, to James H. Downey, of Steilacoom 
City, W. T. WILLIAM A., born June 
25, 1864, in Oregon. EDITH S., born 
Sept. 17, 1867. EDWARD B., born 
Feb. 28, 1873, and JUNIA AFTON, 
born June 24, 1874, reside with their 
parents in Steilacoom City, Pierce county, 
Washington Territory. 

Ef.IZA A., born Oct. 17, 1829, in 
Springfield; married at Marengo, Iowa, 
to Dr. George W. Wallace, who was born 
in Columbiana county, Ohio. ' Studied 
medicine with Dr. McCook, one of the 
ir 



celebrated McCook family. Moved to 
Iowa in the spring of 1848. They had 
seven children, namely: GEORG.E W., 
MARY E., FLORENCE, WILLIAM 
A., CLARA, ALFRED F. and LIN- 
COLN. Dr. W. died April 4, 1865, at 
Salisbury, Sangamon county. Airs. 
Wallace and family reside in Springfield. 
^ MART E., born July 12, 1831, in 
Springfield, married, about 1859, to J" 
siah Hickel. Thev reside in Kansas. 

J. WILLJAM,\)orn March 12, 1834, 
in Springfield, was married there, May 
20, 1860, to Alzina A. Brown, (daughter 
of Ira A. Brown.) They have six child- 
ren, viz: MEL VINA; HELEN B., 
JAMES W., HENRY P., HOMER W. 

and , . Mr. J. Wm. Alvey is a 

merchant in Mechanicsburg, Sangamon 
county, 111. 

ALFRED resides in Springfield. 

William Alvey moved to Marengo, 
Iowa, in 1848, and Mrs. Madeline Alvey 
died there, May 12, 1849. He was mar- 
ried April, 1850, to Eleanor Penny. He 
died May, 1855, at Marengo, Iowa. 

AMOS, MRS. SARAH, was 
born June 13, 1793, in Washington countv, 
Md. Her maiden name was Friend. She 
first married Phillip Swinley; had two 
children, and Mr. Swinley died. Mrs. 
Swinley was married the second time, 
August 2, 1810, to James Amos. They 
had two children, and James Amos died 
Feb. 6, 1823, in Maryland, also. Mrs. 
Amos came with her children to Sanga- 
mon county, arriving March i, 1838, in 
Springfield. Of her children, 

BARBARA E. SWINLET mar- 
ried in Virginia to Thomas Lemon, who 
died, and Mrs. Lemon came with her 
child to Sangamon county in 1839, an< ^ 
died in Decatur, April, 1865. Her daugh- 
ter VIRGINIA married Joseph Strong, 
in Decatur, moved to Hannibal, Mo., and 
died there, June, 1872, leaving three child- 
ren. 

SAMUEL K. SWINLET, born 
April 21, 1802, in Washington county, 
Md.; married there to Maria Rice, and 
came to Springfield with his half brother, 
Joshua F. Amos. Mr. Swinley settled 
near where Woodside station now stands. 
While there he served as one of the coun- 
ty judges with J. Wickliffe Taylor and 
Armstrong. His wife died there in the 
fall of 1852. Judge Swinley moved to 



82 



EARLY SETTLERS OF 



Decatur in 1857 or '8, was there married 
to Ruth P rather, of Washington county, 
Md. He died early in 1872, and his 
widow resides in Decatur. 

JOSHUA F. AMOS, was horn Jan. 

28, 1812, in Washington county, Md., and 
came to Springfield, 111., June 10, 1835. 
He was married March i, 1838,111 Spring- 
field, to Julia A. Hay, daughter of John 
Hay, Esq. They had three children born 
in Springfield. SARAH E., born Oct. 
30, 1839, married Oct. 30, 1861, to Levin 
W. Shepherd, who was born in London 
county, Va., Sept. 3, 1836. He served 
one year each, 1860 and 1861, as clerk and 
comptroller of the city of Springfield; 
was a member of the Board of Supervisors 
of Sangamon county in 1868 and 1869. In 
1862 he was appointed by President Lin- 
coln Assistant Quartermaster in the U. S. 
Army, and stationed at Fort Ridgely, 
Minn. Transferred to Keokuk, Iowa, 
where he commanded that Fort for six 
months. Thence to Columbus, Ky., as 
Depot Quartermaster; thence to Chicago, 
as Disbursing Quartermaster; thence to 
Tennessee, thence to Fort Kearney, Ne- 
braska, at which place he resigned, Oct., 
1865, and became a lumber merchant in 
Springfield, 111. Afterwards removed to 
Kansas; was first President of Peoples 
National Bank of Ottawa. Resides now 
in Denison, Texas, which place he laid 
out in 1872, and sold the first lot there. 
Col. Shepherd was twice brevetted for 
faithful services during the war. GEO. 
A., born Sept. 4, 1841, married, Oct. 
30, 1866, to Josephine A. Andrews, 
eldest daughter of Col. George W. An- 
drews, at Wapakonetta, Auglaixe coun- 
ty, Ohio. She was born there, May 

29, 1844. They have two children, 
GEORGIA and ROBERTA, and reside in 
Humboldt, Kansas. Mr. George A. 
Amos is engaged in the practice of law. 
JOHN M., born August 18, 1844. He 
enlisted in Col. Phillips' three months 
regiment. Stationed at Rock Island, 111., 
in 1864. He was married Oct. 30, 1867, 
to Caroline J., youngest daughter of Ora- 
mel Clark, Esq. They have four child- 
ren, JOHN J., GEORGE O., JULIA R., and 

CURTIS H., and reside near Springfield. 
Mr. Joshua F. Amos and wife reside 
adjoining Springfield, on the west. Mr. 
Amos spent six years, from 1845 * 
1851, in Lagrange, Mo. In 1852 he, with 



Nathaniel Hay, established the well 
known firm of Amos & Hay, which con- 
tinued until the decease of Mr. Hay. Mr. 
Amos has retired from active business. 

ROBERT J. AMOS, was born 
March 2, 1815, in Washington county, 
Md. Came to Springfield June, 183=5, 
and settled in Woodside township. He- 
went to Decatur in 1850, and was there 
married, in 1856, to Mrs. Mary Packard. 
They have two children, ANNIE and 
ROBERT, born in Decatur. They 
moved, in 1869, to Humboldt, Kansas, 
where they now reside. 

Mrs. vSarah Amos died Feb. 15, 1847. 
at the residence of her son, Robert J. 
Amos, in Woodside township, Sangamon 
county. 

ANDERSON, JAMES, was 
born in 1784 in Botetourt county, Va. 
Nancy Fletcher was born in 1786, in Rock- 
bridge county, Va. They were there 
married, in 1802, and had two children in 
Virginia. They moved, in 1808, to Ken- 
tucky, where they had three children, 
and in 1813 moved to Indiana, where one 
child was born. They moved to Sanga- 
mon county, 111., in 1820, and settled in 
what is now Ball township. Of their six 
children 

ROBERT A 7 ;, born in Virginia, mar- 
ried, in Sangamon county, to Rebecca 
Wilson, who died, and he married Clarissa 
Woods, moved to Wisconsin, and both 
died there. 

MARGARET L., born March 28, 
1806, in Virginia, married in Sangamon 
county to William Drennan. (See his 
name.} 

JOB F., born in Kentucky, died un- 
married, at 55 years of age. 

JOHN N., born in Kentucky, raised 
in Sangamon county, married in Arkan- 
sas, and died there. 

NANCY, born in Kentucky, married 
in Sangamon county to John Caldwell, 
and died in Texas. 

REBECCA, born in Indiana, raised 
in Sangamon county, went to Arkansas, 
married and died there. 

James Anderson died in 1828 and his 
widow died in 1845, both in Sangamon 
countv. 

ANDERSON. MOSES K.. 
was born Nov. u, 1803, in Butler county, 
Ky. His parents died when he was ten 
or twelve vears of age, and he was taken 



SANGAMON COUNTT. 



by a relative to that part of Davidson 
which is now Cheatham county, on Han- 
peth river, Tenn. Cassariller Stroude 
was born Nov. 2^, 1812, in Dickson coun- 
ty, Tenn. M. K. Anderson and Cassa- 
riller Stroude were married in her native 
countv, Sept. 13, 1827, and moved to San- 
gamon countv. 111., arriving March 2, 
1829, in what is now Cartwright town- 
ship, four miles east of Pleasant Plains, 
and south of Richland creek, where they 
had nine children. Of their children 

THOMAS p\, born Sept. n, 1829, in 
Sangamon countv, married Dec. 25, 1852, 
to Martha L. Child. They had five 
children. LAURA died, aged two years. 
CHARLES, EDWARD, HENRY and 
TAVXER reside with their parents, one 
mile north of Richland Station. 

WILLIE ANN, born Sept. 17, 1831, 
in Sangamon county, married Francis 
Corson, who died, leaving one child, 
MOSES E, and she married George 
Springer. They have five children, 
MARY, CLARA, ANNA, REUBEN 
and CHARLES, and reside in Parsons, 
Kan. 

SARAH J., born March 14, 1834, in 
Sangamon county, married John D. Mc- 
Cullough. They have four children, 
LAURA, WILLARD, EDWARD and 
LILLIE, and reside at Franklin, Morgan 
county. 

MART E., born April 17, 1836, mar- 
ried John L. Child. See his name. 

ME LINDA E., born Nov. 4, 1838, 
married Joseph Potter. They have five 
children, CHARLES, EUGENE, NEL- 
LIE, HATTIE and LULU, and reside 
at Palmer 111. 

CYNTHIA A., born Dec. 10, 1840, 
married Edward D. Ballard. They have 
three children, HARRIET, JAMES A. 
and CLIFTON D., and reside one and a 
half miles north of Richland station. 

GEORGE W., born April 3, 1843, in 
Sangamon county, married near Athens, 
June 12, 1862, to Melinda F. Moran, 
who was born May 16, 1845. They have 
five children, FRANK, MOSES W., 
JAMES W., JENNIE and GEORGE, 
and reside two and a half miles north of 
Richland station. 

M ARENA A., born July 26, 1845, 
married William P. Mitchell. They have 
four living children, MINNIE, WILEY, 



JOHN, and a boy babe, and reside near 
Humboldt, Richardson county, Neb. 

WILLARD WICKLIFFE, born 
April 28, 1848, married April 8, 1869, to 
Susan Moran, who was born Dec. 14, 
1848, in Menard county. They have two 
children, HARRY and CASSARILLA, 
and reside two miles north of Richland 
station. 

Mrs. Cassarilla Anderson died August 
17, 1850, and M. K. Anderson was mar- 
ried Dec. 31, 1850, to Mrs. Marena T. 
Hall, whose maiden name was Stroude. 
They had three children. JOHN T. and 
ELIZA F. died between seven and nine 
years. 

WILLIAM WILKES, born Sept. 

8, 1857, resides with his parents in Spring- 
field, but is now a theological student at 
Lexington, Ky. 

Moses K. Anderson taught a military 
school in Dickson county, Tenn., and the 
old system of military training being in 
vogue when he came to Illinois, he was 
very soon elected captain of a company, 
and in a short time was promoted to Col- 
onel and Brigadier-General. He was ap- 
pointed, about 1838, by Gov. Carlin, Ad- 
jutant-General of the State, and continued 
to hold the office by successive appoint- 
ments, until 1856. During the time, Gen. 
Anderson was called upon to discharge 
the duties of his office in connection with 
the Mormon war, at Nauvoo, and the 
Mexican war. 

W r hen Gen. Anderson came to Sanga- 
mon county he borrowed of Eli Blank- 
enship the money to enter his first So acres 
of land, and paid fifty per cent, for the 
use of the money. He has since given 
each of his children a good farm, and has 
500 acres left. He has been four years 
county judge, six years alderman in 
Springfield, and 20 years justice of the 
peace. He is of the opinion that the 
"deep snow" of 1830-31 was five feet 
deep on a level in the timber. 

ANDERSON, TAVNERB., 
born Nov. 30, 1809, in Butler countv, K\ ., 
went with his brother Moses K., to 'lYn 
nessee, and from there to Sangamon coun- 
ty, 111., arriving March 2, 1829, in what is 
now Cartwright township. He was in 
the Black Hawk war, was married Dec. 

9, 1834, to Polly Pirkins. They had six 
children, in Sangamon countv. 



8 4 



EARLY SETTLERS OF 



AMERICUS, born Dec. 29, 1835, 
was married Oct. 5, 1856, to Emily 
Thompson. They had two children, and 
one died. Mr. A. died Oct. 2, 1860. 

FRANCIS J., born Sept. 28, 1837, 
died young. 

JOSEPH O., born April 23, 1840, 
died April 15, 1847. 

RUFUS B., born Oct. i, 1841, in 
Sangamon county, married Martha Young. 
They have two children, and reside near 
Palmer, Christian county. 

ME LINDA J/., born May 23, 1844, 
married Y. B. Clark. They had seven 
children; all died but one. Mrs. Clark 
died Sept. 3, 1872. Their child is in 
Texas. Mr. C. resides at Clarksdale, 
Christian county, 111. 

HARRIET F., born Jan. 7, 1846, in 
Sangamon county, was married Dec. 5, 
1868, to William' H. McDonald. They 
had four children, two died. They reside 
near Clarksdale. 

GEORGE E., born Dec. 24, 1849, in 
Sangamon county, was married Sept. 33, 
1874, to Mollie Boyd. They have one 
child, and reside near Clarksdale, 111. 

CHARLES T., born August 4, 1852, 
and resides at Williamsville, Sangamon 
county. 

Tavner B. Anderson and wife reside 
five miles southwest of Taylorville, and 
near Palmer City, Christian county, 111. 

ANTLE, REV. JOHN, was 

born April 15, 1789, in Cumberland coun- 
ty, Ky. Elizabeth Buchanan was born in 
Cumberland county, Pa. Her parents 
moved to Lincoln county, Ky., when she 
was seven years old. Her father died in 
that county, and she went to live with a 
married sister in Cumberland county. John 
Antle and Elizabeth Buchanan were there 
married. They had five children. The 
family them moved to Morgan county, 
111., in 1829, and from there to Sangamon 
county, arriving Jan. 9, 1830, in what is 
now Salisbury township. Of their child- 
ren 

POLLY, born in 1810, in Kentucky, 
married in Sangamon county to Henry 
Hadley, and she died. 

SALL Y, born Jan., 181 1, in Kentucky, 
married in Sangamon county, Sept., 1833, 
to Marshall Bragg. Mr. Bragg died, 
and his widow and three children re- 
side in Keokuk county, Iowa. A mar- 



ried daughter resides in Logan county, 
Illinois. 

HENRY, born Sept. 12, 1813, in Cum- 
berland county, Ky., married in Sanga- 
mon county, Jan. 18, 1837, to Nancy Dun- 
can. They have eight living children. 
SARAH A. married Charles Bottroff, 
and resides in Cartwright township. 
SIDNEY D., ELY ANN, JAMES S., 
NATHAN McC., LURANA, MAR- 
THA F. and MARSHAL B., reside 
with their parents, adjoining Salisbury on 
the west. 

ANDRE W 7., born in 1815, in Cum- 
berland county, Kentucky, married in 
Sangamon county to Ann Dardon, Oct., 
1840. They have one child; and reside 
near Scio, Linn county, Oregon. 

MARTHA, born August 8, 1818, in 
Kentucky, married in Sangamon county, 
March, 1839, to Simon Stevens. Thev 
had five children, one died young. JOHN 
enlisted August, 1862, in Co. H., 114 111. 
Inf., for three years, and died in the armv 
in 1863. MARSHALL A., GEO. S. 
and WILLARD T., reside with their 
mother. Mr. Stephens died in 1863, and 
his widow resides in Salisbury township. 

Mrs. Elizabeth Antle died Sept., 1844, 
and John Antle died August 30, 1864, 
she in Menard county and he in Salisbury. 

Rev. John Antle preached to five 
churches, called Separate Baptists. One 
each at Salisbury and McKinnie Settle- 
ment, in Sangamon county, Baker's 
Prairie and Sand Ridge, in Menard coun- 
ty, and one in Morgan county. The only 
pay he received or expected was the hope 
of reward in a better world. 

ARCHER, WILLIAM, was 
born July 30, 1793, in North Carolina, and 
in 1807 his parents moved to Tennessee, 
where he was married to Elizabeth Jack- 
son. They had one child, and moved to 
Madison county, Illinois, where they had 
one child, and Mrs. A. died, and he mar- 
ried Elizabeth Holt, Dec. 20, 1818. She 
was born Dec. 3, 1793? in Oglethrope 
county, Ga., and, losing her parents when 
quite young, she was taken by an uncle, 
Robert White, to Madison county, 111., in 
1811. Wm. and Elizabeth Archer had 
twins in Madison county, and moved to 
Sangamon county,, arriving April 30, 1820, 
in what is now Curran township, where 
they had nine children. Of all his child- 
ren 



SANGAMON COUNTY. 



WINSTON, born Sept. 12, 1814, in 
Tennessee, raised in Sangamon county, 
married Mary Robinson, moved to Cali- 
fornia, and died in 1866, leaving a widow 
and six children, near Petaluma, Sonoma 
county, California. 

MARTHA, born Sept. 24, 1817, in 
Madison county, 111., married in Sanga- 
mon county to John Riddle. See his 
name. 

Bv the second wife 

JA CKSON and CARROLL, twins, 
born Sept. 30, 1819, in Madison county, 
111. 

JACKSON, married Oct. 7, 1844,10 
Elcy F. Meacham. They had three 
children. ELIZABETH J. was killed 
in her eighth year by a fall from a wagon. 
MARY A. born May 14, 1848, married 
Feb. 1 6, 1865, to Andrew Alson, who 
was born March 6, 1838, in Sweden, and 
came to America in 1855. They had 
three children. The second, CHARLES, 
died in his fourth year. ANNA E. and 
CLARA A. reside with their parents, six 
miles west of Springfield. GEORGE 
R. born r\.ugust 13, 1851, resides with his 
mother. Jackson Archer died April 7, 
1852, in southwest Missouri, while on a 
journey for his health. His widow mar- 
ried Wm. Duff. See his name. 

CARROLL married Nov. 24, 1842, to 
Delilah Renshaw. They had three child- 
ren. MARTHA T., born May 27, 1847, 
married to Lorenzo Stillman, have three 
children, and reside near Curran. ANN 
E., born August 5, 1849, married Sept., 
1870, to Edward Robison, and reside in 
Linden, Kan. SARAH C., born Feb. 8, 
1851, married November 21, 1872, to 
Henry Gaines, and resides near Odell, 111. 
Mrs. Delilah Archer died May 31, 1865, 
and Carroll Archer was married Sept. 4, 
1866, to Elizabeth Houghton, who was 
born Oct. 25, 1830,, in Menard county. 
They have two children, EDWIN and 
MARIA BELLE, and reside three miles 
northwest of Curran. 

M'ARY, born May 24, 1822, in Sanga- 
mon county, married Nov. n, 1840, to 
Alexander Penny; had one child, WIL- 
LIAM, born Nov. 3, 1844, enlisted August 
14, 1862, for three years, in Co. F., 14410 
111. Inf., was captured at the battle of Gun- 
town, Miss., June, 1864, and died in An- 
dersonville prison, Feb. 24, 1865. Alex. 
Penny died in 1868, and his widow mar- 



ried Mathew Redman, who was born 
May i, 1828, in county Wexford, Ireland. 
They reside five miles west of Spring- 
field" 

SARAH, born Dec. 24, 1823, resides 
with her mother. 

NANCY,\>Qm. Nov. 13, 1825, in San- 
gamon county, married Samuel O. Maxcy. 
See his name. 

JOHN, born Oct. 3, 1826, married 
Susan Taylor. They have one child, 
AMERICA, and reside in McDonough 
county, near Fandon. He was^a soldier 
in a cavalry regiment from that county in 
suppressing the rebellion. 

MADISON, born August 27, 1828, 
married Margaret Dixon, who died Dec. 
29, 1863, leaving three children, WIL- 
LIAM B., MARY J. and SARAH E. 

THOMAS J., born August 3, 1830, 
and resides near Rossville, Kan. 

WASHINGTON J., born July 19, 
1832, married Dec. 29, 1861, to Mrs. Me- 
linda Hammond, whose maiden name was 
Cox. They have five children, GEORGE 
W., THOMAS C., MINNIE L., MARY 
A. and WILLIAM, and reside three 
miles north of Curran. 

ELIZABETH, born Nov. i, 1838, 
married Jan. 18, 1865, to Peter VanOr- 
man. * Mrs. VanOrman and her child, 
LIZZIE, reside with her mother. 

William Archer died August 31, 1867, 
from the effects of being thrown from a 
horse, and his widow resides at the farm 
where they settled in 1820. 

In the fall of 1873 Mrs. Elizabeth Ar- 
cher, then eighty years of age, gave to the 
writer a piece of a dress made with her 
own hands more than sixty years before. 
The family of her uncle, with whom she 
moved from Georgia to St. Clair county, 
111., in 18 1 1, brought some cotton in the 
bolls, for the purpose of using the seed in 
growing cotton in their new home. Miss 
Holt, as her name then was, obtained the 
consent of her uncle to apply the cotton 
to her own use. She picked it from the 
bolls and separated the cotton from the 
seed with her fingers, and spun it on a 
wheel, borrowed from a neighbor more 
than thirty miles distant. She had a rude 
loom constructed for the purpose, and had 
just commenced weaving, when the first 
assassination among the white settlers by 
Indians took place, as the beginning there 
of the war with England. That occurred 



86 



EARLY SETTLERS OF 



in June, 1812. She, with her uncle's 
family, fled to Fort Bradsby, a rude wood- 
en fortification near by. Appealing- to the 
Lieutenant in command for protection, 
he reported the case to Governor Edwards, 
who authorized him to grant her request. 
A guard was accordingly placed around 
the cabin,"and kept"there until the weav- 
ing was completed. The design was 
unique and beautiful. The cloth was care- 
fully preserved, some of it bleached to 
snowy whiteness, and made into a dress. 
She wore it the first time to a quarterly 
meeting in 1815, just after the close of the 
war, and attracted universal attention as 
the finest dressed lady in all that region of 
country. 

ARCHER, MOSES, came to 
Sangamon county with his brother Wil- 
liam. He was four times married, and 
died at Galena before the rebellion. His 
son 

ROBERT, died in 1870 or '71, leaving 
a widow and three daughters in Christian 
county. 

ARCHER, MICHAEL, came 
to Sangamon county two years later than 
his brother William, and married EfFy 
Duff, moved to Missouri, raised a large 
family, returned to Sangamon' county 
during the rebellion, and Mrs. Archer 
died in Sangamon county. He returned 
to Jasper county, Mo., and died there in 
1871. 

ARCHER, ROBERT, was 
born Sept. 17, 1801, in Tennessee, and 
came with his brothers, Moses, Michael, 
Obadiah, their sister Jemima, and their 
mother, in 1821, to Sangamon county, 
where their brother William had settled 
the year before. Robert Archer and 
Matilda DufF were married Feb. 6, 1825, 
and had three children in Sangamon 
county. 

ELIZABETH J., born August i, 

1827, married Nov. 15, 1850, to Reuben 
Brown. See his name. 

BENNETT, C. D., born July 13, 

1828, died Sept. 28, 1846. 

MARTHA T., born April 15, 1830, 
in Sangamon county, married Leadbetter 
Bradley. See his name. 

Robert Archer died*{October 17, 1859, 
and Matilda, his wife, died July 20, 1863, 
both in Sangamon county. 



. 



ARCHER, JEMIMA, came 
to Sangamon county in 1821 and marrie 
George DufF. See his name. 

ARCHER, OBADIAH, came 
with his mother, sister and brothers to 
Sangamon county in 1821. He has been 
twice married, and resides at Galena, 111. 

Mrs. Martha Archer, mother of William 
Moses, Michael, Obadiah and ^e 
came with her children to Sangamo 
county, in 1821, and died at the house o 
her son Moses, several years later. 

ARMSTRONG, HUGH M., 
born Feb. 13, 1839, in Warren county 
Ky., and moved with his* father and fam 
ily to Madison county, 111., in 1816. Hug 
came to Springfield Nov. 8, 1829. H 
was married in Springfield June 3, 
to Lavina M. Dryer, daughter of Joh 
Dryer. See his name. They had te 
children, in Springfield ; five died young 
Of the others 

CATHARINE L., born July 20, 
1830, was married in Springfield, July i 
1853, to Samuel M. Culver, who w 
born in New York. They had five chil 
ren. CARRIE M. died aged seven year 
CHARLES A., HUGH M., WILLIA 
H. and GILBERT R., reside with the 
parents in Springfield. 

CYNTHIA y., born Nov. i, 183 
was married in Springfield, July u, 186 
to H. F. Hollingsworth, a native of Ca 
roll county, 111. They have one chil 
MAHLON F., and reside near Freepo 
Stephenson county, 111. 

ALBERT H., born July 22, 1845, l 
Springfield, was married Dec. 19, 1868, t 
Jennie Merriweather, who was born Jul 
19, 1845,111 Green county, 111. They hav 
four children, KATE M., AXNI" 
HARRIS HALE and ALBERT D 
and reside in Springfield. Mr. A. 
machinist. 

JOHN D., born August 7, 1852, an 

JULIA M., born August 8, 185 
both in Springfield, reside with thei 
parents. 

Hugh M. Armstrong was brought u 
a hatter and engaged in that business wit 
his brother Hosea in Springfield, in ] 82 
He was afterwards interested in wo 
carding, and, in connection with Josep 
and E. R. Thayer, originated, and f< 
some years conducted, the Springfiel 
Woolen Mills. He now resides on a far 
near Batavia, Kane county, 111. 



SANGAMON COUNTY. 



ARMSTRONG, JOHN, was 
born Nov. 14, 1814, in Chester county, Pa., 
came to Springfield, 111., August i, 1837, 
and was married Nov. 14, 1839, to Chloe 
E. Abel. They had eight children, two 
of whom died young. 

WILLIAM P., born Sept. 7, 1840, 
married Frances E. Maxon. He died 
I-\-l). i% 1874, and she died in June of the 
same year, both in Springfield. 

ROBERT R., born Feb. 20, 1844, 
died Jan. i, 1860. 

/. rCTE.,}wrn Jan. 5, 1846, in Spring- 
field, married Jan. 5, 1870, to C. H. Fos- 
ter. They have two children, GER- 
TRUDE E. and FREDRICK F., and 
reside in Pawnee. Mr. Foster is a mer- 
chant there. 

HENRT JR., born March 27, 1848, 

CHARLES A., born Feb. 10, 1850, 
and 

EDWARD R., born Feb. 20, 1852; 
the three latter reside with their parents. 

Mr. Armstrong has been a contractor 
and builder for many years. He was ap- 
pointed by President Lincoln, in 1861, 
to the office of Post Master in Springfield, 
and' held the office until August 5, 1865. 
He now resides in Springfield. 

ARMSTRONG, THOMAS, 
was born Jan. 27, 1785, in Augusta 
county, Va. He was there married, iSov., 
1815, to Jane Burgess, who was born 
[une 3, 1796, in Greenbrier county. They 
had seven children in Augusta county, and 
moved, in 1827, to Logan county, Ohio, 
where they had two children, and moved 
to Sangamon county, 111., arriving Oct. 21, 
1840, in what is now Cotton Hill township. 
Of their children 

MART W., born March 24, 1816, in 
Virginia, married in Sangamon county to 
James I. Dozier. See his name. 

SARAH J., born May n, 1817, in 
Virginia, married Daniel Keys; had one 
child, SARAH. She married Robert 
Jones, and resides in Kansas. Mrs. Keys 
died Sept. 28, 1844. See his name. 

ABEL, born Oct. 30, 1818, in Virginia, 
came to Sangamon county in 1840. Is 
living with his third wife, near Newton, 
Jasper county, 111. 

ELIZA, born August 8, 1820, in Vir- 
ginia, married in Sangamon county, March 
i; 1849, to George Brunk. See his name. 
She died Oct. 4, 1860. 



THOMAS D., born April 4, 1822, in 
Virginia, married in Sangamon county, 
January, 1849, to Jane Woozley. They 
reside in Christian county. 

NANCY, born Feb. 13, 1824, in Vir- 
ginia, married in Sangamon county, in 
1846, to Moses A.Jones. See his name. 

CAROLINE A., born Dec. 14, 1826, 
in Virginia, married in Sangamon county, 
March i, 1849,10 Rape Funderburk. Sec 
his name. 

ANGELINE, born Nov. 15, 1833, in 
Logan county, Ohio, married in Sanga- 
mon county, to David Hall. They have 
three children, and reside near Nevvtonia, 
Newton county, Mo. 

JOHN B., born June 9, 1839, in Logan 
county, Ohio, raised in Sangamon county, 
married near Pana, to Sarah King, and 
resides in Christian county. 

Mrs. Jane Armstrong died Feb. 13, 
1843, and Thomas Armstrong died Feb. 
i ^, 18^9, both in Sangamon county. 

AVERITT, THOMAS M. 
See his name in connection with George 
Gregory and the first railroad locomotive 
ever run into Springfield. 

IB, 

BAKER, EDWARD DICK- 
INSON, was born Feb. 24, 1811, in 
London, England. His father, Edward 
Baker, was an educated gentleman, and his 
mother a sister of Capt. Thomas Dicken- 
son, of the British navy, who distinguished 
himself at the battle of Trafalger. Ed- 
ward D. was the eldest of five children. 
About the close of the war with England, 
in 1815, his father and family emigrated 
to America, landing at Philadelphia, 
Penn. Here Mr. Edward Baker engaged 
in teaching. On account of the financial 
embarassments of the family, as soon as 
Edward D. was old enough, he was ap- 
prenticed to a weaver. In 1826 his father 
moved to Belleville, 111., where he opened 
a select school, and young Edward D. 
Baker evinced such a taste' for literature 
that the late Gov. Edwards, then a resi- 
dent of Belleville, gave him free access to 
his library. From Belleville young Baker 
went to St. Louis, and to procure funds 
for necessary expenses, drove a dray for at 
least one season. From St. Louis he went 
to Carrolton, 111., and began the study of 



88 



EARLY SETTLERS OF 



law and at the same time acting as deputy 
in the county clerk's office. He was mar- 
ried April 27, 1831, to Mrs. Mary A. Lee, 
a widow with two children. In the spring 
of 1832 Mr. Baker enlisted in the Black 
Hawk war, and in 1835 moved to Spring- 
Held, and soon after became a law partner 
of Stephen T. Logan. He delivered the 
oration at the laying of the corner stone of 
the- old State house, July 4, 1837. ^ n t ^ ie 
latter year he was elected to the General 
Assembly to fill the vacancy caused by 
the resignation of Hon. Dan Stone, and 
was re-elected the following year. In 
1840 E. D. Baker was elected State Sena- 
tor for four years, and elected to Congress 
in 1845. When the war broke out with 
Mexico, Mr. B. hastened home, raised a 
regiment, which was accepted by the 
government as the 4th III. Inf., Col. E. D. 
Baker, commanding. Arriving on the 
Rio Grand, he discovered that the troops 
were in need of additional tent equipage, 
munitions of war, etc., and for a few 
months accepted the position of bearer of 
dispatches to the war department, and re- 
paired to Washington. Congress was in 
session, and not having resigned his seat 
in the House, availed himself of his priv- 
ilege as a member, and made a speech of 
great and almost magical power in favor 
of a vigorous prosecution of the war, and 
in behalf of the volunteers then in the 
field, and rejoined his regiment. After 
the battle of Cerro Gordo, the term of 
Col. Baker's enlistment expired, and his 
men not wishing to re-enlist, he reluctant- 
ly left the field, and, returning home, re- 
sumed the practice of his profession. In 
the spring of 1848 he moved to Galena, 
111. As one of the Whig electors for the 
State at large, he took an active part in 
the Presidential campaign of 1848. He 
took his seat as Representative in Congress, 
the second time, in Dec., 1849. In 1851 
he entered into an agreement with the 
Panama Railroad Company to grade a 
portion of that road, but after several 
months exposure to a tropical sun, he and 
his men fell sick and abandoned the coun- 
try. In 1852 he emigrated with his fam- 
ily to California, establishing himself in 
practice in San Francisco. There he de- 
livered the funeral oration of two of his 
early friends, fallen bv the fatal bullet 
of the duelist, Ferguson and Broderick. 
The latter stands alone as the most bril- 



brilliant funeral oration ever delivered on 
the continent of America. After the 
death of Boderick, Col. Baker moved to 
Oregon, and was elected U. S. Senator 
from there in 1860. For the first time in 
his life he was placed in a position con- 
genial to him. The decorum and courtesy 
that usually marks the intercourse of Sen- 
ators, was most grateful to his habits ot 
thought and feeling. 

Col. Baker was a man of action as well 
as of words, and soon after the fall of Fort 
Sumter he recruited a regiment in Phil- 
adelphia and vicinity, which was called 
the California regiment, and soon after, 
President Lincoln tendered him a Briga- 
dier-General's commission, but he declined 
it, probably because it would have vacated 
his seat in the Senate. At the first ses- 
sion of the 37th Congress, convoked by 
President Lincoln, July 4, 1861, Col. 
Baker was in his seat, and participated 
prominently in the passage of those im- 
portant measures which became necessary 
to place the nation on a war footing. On 
the adjournment of this special session, 
Col. Baker rejoined his regiment, which 
was attached to and formed a part of the 
army of observation on the Potomac. He, 
however, was restless in camp, and a vague 
presentiment of his approaching fate 
seemed to haunt him wherever he went, 
and he said to a friend that since his cam- 
paign in Mexico he could never afford to 
turn his back on an enemy. He returned 
to Washington, settled his affairs, and 
called to bid the President and family fare- 
well, when the lady of the Executive 
Mansion, who, in her, then, high position, 
was gracefully mindful of early friendship, 
gave him a boquet of late flowers. As 
though partially soliloquizing, he said : 
" Very beautiful ; these flowers and my 
memory will wither together." He pressed 
with quiet earnestness on his friend, Col. 
Webb, the measures which might become 
necessary in regard to the resting place of 
his mortal remains, then mounted his 
horse and rode gaily awav to his death. 
He was leading his men at Ball's Bluff, 
and, when ten feet in advance of them, 
fell, pierced by eight bullets, Oct. 21, 1861. 
His body was borne tenderly away, em- 
balmed, and removed to Washington City, 
where appropriate funeral honors were 
paid to his remains; then sent to New 
York City, and from there by steamer to 



SANGAMON COUNT)'. 



San Francisco, where he was buried in 
Lone Mountain Cemetery, of that city. 
Of the two children of Mrs. Baker by 
her first marriage 

A f ARIA L. LEE, born in 1827, was 
married Feb. n, 1845, * J ames H. 
Matheny. See his name. 

FRANK LEE went to California, 
and died there. 

Hon. Edward D. Baker and wife had 
four children, namely : 

LUCT S., born about 1832 in Carrol- 
ton, 111., brought up in Springfield, was 
married in San Francisco to Charles 
Hopkins. They have four children, 
CHARLES, CAROLINE, ROBERT 
and RALPH, and reside at Olympia, 
Washington Territory. Mr. Hopkins is 
U. S. Marshall for that Territory. 

CAROLINE C, born in Carrolton, 
111., brought up in Springfield, was married 
in San Francisco to Robert J. Stevens. 
They have two children, ROBERT and 
CARRIE, and reside in Washington 
City. 

ALFRED W., born in Springfield, 
resides in San Francisco. 

ED WARD D., Jun., born in Spring- 
field, married Saccha Alma Bradshaw. 
He is a Captain in the U. S. Army, and 
is on duty at some western military post. 

Mrs. Mary A. Baker died in San Fran- 
cisco. 

The great and fatal mistake of Col. 
Baker was one that did honor to his noble 
and chivalrous spirit. He had fairly and 
honorably reached the highest position in 
our government that any adopted citizen 
could attain. In the Senate of the United 
States he was the peer of any man in the 
nation, and his counsels there were worth 
a hundred fold more than it could have 
been in the field. When he volunteered 
to lead a regiment, he was liable to be- 
come subordinate to men far, very far, in- 
ferior to himself, and that proved to be 
his destruction ; but he had, no doubt, 
weighed well the step he was about to 
take, and thereby laid the most costly sac- 
rifice on the altar of his adopted country 
that it was possible for any citizen to make, 
even though he were to the manor born. 

BAKER, JOHN L., was born 
June 20, 1805, in Campbell county, Ky. 
He is a brother of Thomas, and was mar- 
ried in 1828, in Butler county, Ohio, to 
Rachel Biggs, who was born in that State, 
12 



Oct. 6, 1 804. They had three children there 
and moved to Shelby county, Ind., where 
they had two children, and from there to 
Sangamon county, 111., arriving in 1835, 
in what is now Loami township, where 
they had two children. Of their eight 
children two died young. 

MARGARET, born April 27, 1829, 
in Ohio, was married in Sangamon coun- 
ty, 111., to Henry Westfall. They have 
seven children, SMITH M., ANN E., 
HELEN, INA, LEONA, GEORGE and 
CHARLES, and reside near Elkhart 
Logan county, 111. 

THOMAS N., born Jan. 28, 1831, in 
Ohio, was married in Sangamon county 
to Frances Freddy. They have six child- 
ren, all born in Sangamon county, namely: 
SIBYL,. JOHN L., ALICE, MARY, 
DON CARLOS and ETTA, and reside 
near Ottawa, Kansas. 

SARAH J., born April 25, 1832, in 
Ohio, was married in Sangamon county 
to Jonathan Jarrett. See his name. 

REUBEN F., born Jan. 24, 1834, in 
Shelby county, Ind., was married in San- 
gamon county to Elizabeth Mahard. They 
have seven children, JOHN, GEORGE, 
JAMES, ORTHELLO, HORATIO, 
ALICE and ARMINDA, and reside 
near Nebraska City, Neb. 

EPHRIAM, born March 31, 1835, in 
Indiana, was married in Sangamon coun- 
ty to Anna Mahard. He died in Sanga- 
mon county, leaving a widow and two 
children, EBEN and CHARLES. The 
widow and children reside in Missouri. 

JOHN W., born Dec. 13, 1837, in 
Sangamon county, 111., was married there 
to Sarah Mahard. They have four child- 
ren,J AMES E., ELIZABETH, THOM- 
AS *and M. ALICE, who reside with 
their parents, near Ottawa, Kansas. 

PAULINE L., born Sept. 22, 1844, 
in Sangamon countv, married James S. 
Cloud. They have four children, M. 
ALICE, DORA, MINNIE E. and 
JESSE M., and reside in Ottawa, Kansas. 
John L. Baker and wife reside in Otta- 
wa, Kansas. 

BAKER, THOMAS, was born 
March 3, 1794, in Campbell county, Ky.; 
brother to John L. Nancy Robertson 
was born Oct. 9, 1806, in Harrison county, 
Va. They were married Dec. 29, 1823, 
in Kanawha county, West Va., at the 
house of Jonathan Jarrett. Sen. Mr. and 



9 



EARLY SETTLERS OF 



Mrs. Baker had two children in West Vir- 
ginia, and moved to Sangamon county, 
111., arriving Nov. 1826, in what is now 
Loami township, where they had eight 
children. Of their ten chilldren 

JOHN, born March 16, 1825, in West 
Virginia, died in Sangamon county, Aug. 

2 9> l8 35- 

CHARLES, born April 12, 1826, in 

West Virginia, married in Sangamon 
county, August n, 1844, to Lucretia 
Minter. They moved in the fall of that 
year to Tarrant county, Texas. He died 
there in 1871, leaving a widow and ten 
children. 

WILLIAM, born Feb. n, 1829, in 
Sangamon county, married Jan. 10, 1850, 
to Margaret Morris. They have ten 
children, and reside near Bancroft, Daviess 
county, Mo. 

MART A., born Dec. 27, 1831, in 
Sangamon county, married Nov. 8, 18^3, 
to Barnard A. VanDeren. See his name. 
They had two children, THOMAS N. 
and MAGGIE L. Mr. VanD. died, and 
she married, Nov. 2, 1868, to John Low- 
ery, who was born Sept. 15, 1837,111 coun- 
ty Down, Ireland. They had two child- 
ren, MARY A. and BARNARD A.; 
the latter died in infancy. Mr. and Mrs. 
Lowery reside four miles south of Loami. 

MARGARET, born Oct. 27, 1834, in 
Sangamon county, married Dec. 18, 1857, 
to James W. Greenwood. See his name. 

THOMAS,]\\\\., born Oct. i, 1836, in 
Sangamon county, married April 23, 
1861, to Mary J. Hall. She died August 
21, 1866, leaving one child, GEORGE 
W. Mr. Baker was married March 19, 
1867, to Mrs. Harriet Cosser, whose maiden 
name was Hall. They have two children, 
JOSEPH F. and HATTIE, and reside 
three and a half miles southwest of Loami. 

NANCY, born March 28, 1839, in San- 
gamon county, married William G. Mil- 
ler. See his name. She died, leaving 
two children with their father, who is 
married and resides in Loami township. 

CYRUS W., born May 19, 1842, in 
Sangamon county, married April 13, 1862, 
to Sarah A. Jarrett. They have three 
children, HENRY, BARNARD A. and 
JO. C., and reside one and a half miles 
southwest of Loami. 

SARAH J., born Dec. 7, 1846, in 
Sangamon county, married Nov. 2, 1865, 
to Joseph O. Joy. They have three child- 



dren, CHARLES W., WILLIE A. and 
JOHN W., and reside three miles south- 
west of Loami. Mr. Joy was a soldier in 
suppressing the rebellion. 

ISAAC N., born Dec. 11, 1849, in 
Sangamon county, married April 21, 1870, 
to Sarah E. Post. They have one child, 
HARRY O., and reside at the homestead 
settled by his parents. 

Thomas Baker, Sen., died Jan. 5, 1852, 
and his widow resides at the homestead 
settled by herself and husband in 1826. 
It is one and a half miles southwest ot 
Loami. 

BAKER, ISAAC, was born near 
Fredericktown, Md. He served as a fifer 
in the Revolution, the last two years of 
the war. Phoebe Waddell was born near 
Baltimore, Md. They were married there 
in 1787, and moved to what became Bour- 
bon county, Ky., where twelve children 
were born, eight of whom married there. 
The parents and four youngest children 
came to Sangamon county in the fall of 
1829, in what is now Rochester township. 
Of their children 

JAMES, born July, 1788,111 Bourbon 
county, Ky. It is believed he was the first 
white child born in the county. He was 
married Sept. 17, 1813, in Nicholas coun- 
ty, Ky., to Nancy Squires, who was born 
Oct. 22, 1794, in Fauquier county, Va. 
They had eight children in Nicholas coun- 
ty, and moved to Sangamon county, 111., 
arriving Nov., 1828, at Springfield, and a 
week later left for what is now Logan 
county. In Jan., 1831, he moved to 
Rochester, Sangamon county. They 
were five days moving twenty miles, 
through what is known as the " deep 
snow." Mr. B. was a soldier in the Black 
Hawk war. Two of his children were 
born in Illinois. Of his ten children, 
S. WILLIS, born Oct. 10, 1814, in Ken- 
tucky, died unmarried, in Illinois, June 25, 
1850. THOMAS J., born March i, 
1816, in Kentucky, died in Sangamon 
county, Oct. 17, 183*2. MARGARET J., 
born Dec. 20, 1817, in Kentucky, married 
in Sangamon county, Nov. 15, 1838, to 
Daniel S. Stafford. She died in less than 
a year. MARTIN E., born Jan. 27, 
1820, in Nicholas county, Ky., married 
March 4, 1852, in Springfield, to Mary 
C. S. Williams, who was born Feb. 3, 
1826, in Montgomery county, Md., and 
came to Springfield in 1839. They have 



SANGAMON COUNTT. 



9 1 



eight children, JAMES w., CORNELIA A., 

MARGARET E., MARTIN E., JUH., NANCY 
E., HORACE W., MARY F. and CHARLES O., 

and reside four miles southwest of Illiopo- 
lis. ELIZA E., born Nov. 7, 1822, in 
Kentucky, died July 3, 1835, in Sangamon 
county. KITTY *A., born Jan. 22, 1824, 
in Kentucky, married in Sangamon coun- 
ty, in 1848, to Oliver Stafford; have seven 
children, and reside in Mt. Pulaski. JOHN 
S., born Nov. 7, 1826, in Kentucky, taught 
school in Sangamon county many years; 
went to California in 1854, and died July 
30, 1873, in San Francisco. WILLIAM 
F., born June 29, 1828, in Kentucky, 
brought up in Sangamon county, married, 
Feb. 7, 1860, in Christian county, to Eliza- 
beth Green ; have four children, and reside 
near Grove City. MARY E., born Oct. 
22, 1830, in Logan county, married, Nov. 
4, 1852, to Leander Green. (See his name.] 
MARTHA A., born August 1 1, 1833, in 
Sangamon county, married Dec. 29, 1859, 
to William Crenshaw; have two children, 
and reside in Georgetown, Ky. James 
Baker died Feb. 14, 1869, and Mrs. Nancy 
Baker died Oct. 3, 1872, both in Christian 
county. 

JACOB, born August 9, 1790, in 
Bourbon county, Ky., was a soldier from 
that county in the war of 1812. He was 
married in Nicholas county, Ky., to Jane 
Branch, sister of Edward Branch. See 
his name. Four of their children were 
born in Kentucky, and he came to Sanga- 
inon county with his father, arriving in 
1829, near Rochester, where five children 
were born. Of his seven children, JULI- 
AN, married first to Alfred Waddell,who 
died, and she married Willis Runnels, and 
both died. Her sons, ALFRED Waddell, 
resides in Greenfield, Mo., JESSE and WIL- 
LIS reside near Nashville, Mo. SUSAN, 
born in Kentucky, married in Sangamon 
county to James Virden, who died, and 
his widow resides seven miles east of 
Springfield. They had five children. 
PLEASANT, born April 25, 1819, in 
Nicholas county, Ky., married in Sanga- 
mon county, June 24, 1846, to Lavina W ad- 
dell, who was born in Kentucky. They had 
five children ; two died in infancy. JULIAN 
and WILLIAM n. reside in Clear Lake 
township. ALVIN resides with his father. 
Mrs. Lavina Baker died April 20, 1857, and 
Mr. B. married Mary E, Cook, a native of 
Scinto county, Ohio. They have five 



children, MARY, SUSAN j., ELIZA A., 
PLEASANT and LAURA E., and reside in 
Clear Lake township. ISAAC, born Oct. 
6, 1821, in Kentucky, married in Sanga- 
mon county to Almyra Pike. He died, 
leaving one child, ISAAC, who resides 
south of Rochester. POLLY A., born 
in Kentucky, married in Sangamon coun- 
ty to Daniel Barr. JANE, born July 15, 
1827, in Kentucky, married in Sangamon 
county to John M. McCune. See his 
name. ALVIN, born in Sangamon 
county, married Hester Hornbaker. He 
died in iS56,leavingtwochildren,En\VAKi> 
and ALONZO. Mrs. Jane Baker died, and 
Jacob Baker afterward married twice, and 
died May 18, 1872. 

THOMAS, born about 1792, in Ken- 
tucky, married there to Sarah Delav. 
They had four children, and came to San- 
gamon county in 1828, with his brother, 
James, and settled near Rochester, where 
one child was born. Of his children, 
ISAAC resides near Medoc, Mo., ELIZA- 
BETH, born in Kentucky, married in 
Sangamon county to Jabez Capps. See 
his name. JOHN resides near Medoc, 
Mo. WILLIAM resides in Virginia City, 
Montana. JEMIMA married and died in 
Mt. Pulaski. Thomas Baker died March, 
1874, and his widow resides near Medoc, 
Mo. 

yOSEPH,\)OYn in 1796, in Kentucky, 
came to Sangamon county in 1828, and 
died in Medoc, Mo. 

SUSAN, born March 15, 1799, in- 
Bourbon county, Ky., married Robert 
Bell. See his name. 

IS A A C, born in Kentucky, never came 
to Sangamon county. He resides near 
Medoc, Mo. 

SQUIRE, born Jan. 8, 1803, in Ken- 
tucky, came to Sangamon county in 1829, 
and resides near Mapleton, Kansas. 

WILLIAM, born in 1805, in Ken- 
tucky, and resides near Mapleton, Kan. 

GREE^Bl^RT, born in Kentucky, 
married in Sangamon county to Ann;i 
Payne, who died, and he married Mrs. 
Mary Johnson, formerly Mrs. Marker, 
and whose maiden name was Williams. 
They had four children. MOSES was a 
Union soldier in the :ith Mo. Inf., and 
was killed while aiding in the arrest of a 
deserter. THOMAS J. was a member 
of the i6th 111. Cavalrv, and died in An- 
dersonville prison. S. \YILL1S served 



9 2 



EARLY SETTLERS OF 



three years in the nth Mo. Inf.; was 
honorably discharged, and married in San- 
gamon county to Matilda Mear. He died 
early in 1874, leaving a widow and two 
children, near Medoc, Mo. EFFIE 
was married in Sangamon county, to 
Joseph Brunk, and resides near Medoc, 
Mo. Mrs. Mary Baker died May 22, 
1842, in Sangamon county. Greenhury 
Baker died March 4, 1873, in Sangamon 
county. 

HARRISQN,\K>V* in Kentucky, mar- 
ried in Sangamon county, to Nellie Bowles. 
They had eight children, born in Sanga- 
mon county, and moved to the vicinity of 
Medoc, Mo. Mr. and Mrs. Baker died 
there in 1872, and were buried in one 
grave. 

POLLY, born in Kentucky, married 
in Sangamon county to Elias Williams. 
See his name. 

PH(EBE,\>m\\ April 5, i8i6,in Ken- 
tucky, married in Sangamon county to 
Josiah B. Williams. See his name. 

Mrs. Phoebe Baker died July 3, 1845, 
and Isaac Baker died in Sept. 1848, both 
in Sangamon county, south of Rochester. 
He was about 100 years of age. 

BAKER, WILLIAM, was born 
about 1798, in Sevier county, Tenn. He 
came to St. Clair county, 111., when a 
young man. Phebe Neeley was born 
Dec. 14, 1799, near Nashville, Tenn., and 
was taken to St. Clair county, 111., when 
she was a young woman. Wm. Baker 
and Phebe Neeley were married about 
1818, near Belleville. They had one child 
born there, and the family moved to Horse 
creek, in what became Sangamon county, in 
the spring of 1819, in what is now Cotton 
Hill township, where seven children were 
born. They then moved to a mill on San- 
gamon river, three miles north of Roches- 
ter, where one child was born. Four of 
the children died under two years. Of 
the other five 

JAMES, born Jan., 1819, in St. Clair 
county, and raised on Horse creek, on the 
farm now owned by Samuel ^Galloway. 
William Enyert, who went to school with 
him, remembers having heard him say 
frequently, in their boyhood days, that he 
would join some Indian tribe at 18 years 
of age. Between 1837 and '40 he went 
west, and came back in 1844, to see his 
mother, who then lived in Rochester. He 
said he had joined the Snake tribe of In- 



dians, and after a stay of about six months, 
he returned to that tribe. But little was 
known of him until 1849, when a party of 
eight persons left Springfield for the gold 
regions of California. William Enyert 
says they found him at the crossing of 
Green river, keeping a ferry. He recog- 
nized Mr. Enyert readily, and treated him 
kindly. Mr. Enyert learned from him 
that he was a chief in the Snake tribe; 
had two wives, one with him and one at 
Foil Bridger, and two children by each. 
His daily receipts were from $500 
to $600 at the ferry. He is yet living 
among the Indians, and is occasionally 
heard from by his friends. Mr. Enyert 
says that when he saw him he was full 
six feet tall, wore his hair long and straight, 
stood erect as any Indian, wore buckskin 
clothes, and in his general appearance 
looked very much like an Indian. Mr. 
Enyert had been a school-mate of his in 
this county. E. C. Matheny saw him 
under similar circumstances. 

\DELIA, born in Sangamon county 
in 1821, died at 15 years of age. 

JOHN, born in Sangamon county, re- 
sides among the Indians, near Fort Bridger, 
Wyoming territory. Went there a few 
years later than his brother James. 

ELIZABETH, born in Sangamon 
county, Cotton Hill township, is unmar- 
ried and resides in Rochester; is the only 
member of the family residing in Sanga- 
mon county. 

ELIZA, born in Sangamon county, 
died at 15 years of age. 

William Baker went to Texas previous 
to 1844, started from there to California 
about 1852, and died on the road. Mrs. 
Phebe Baker died, August, 1861, in 
Rochester. 

BALDWIN, JOH IXfSON, was 
born March 25, 1797, in Scott county, Ky. ; 
was married in Gallatin county, Oct. 24, 
1822, to Betsy Kendall. They had one 
child born in Kentucky, and moved to 
Sangamon county, 111., in company with 
her father, William Kendall, arriving Oct. 
17, 1824, in what is now Curran town- 
ship, where eleven children were born; 
one died in infancy. Of their children 

MARY A., born Sept. 19, 1823, in 
Kentucky, married in Sangamon county 
to Richard Bradlev. Sec his name. 



SANG AM ON COUNTT. 



93 



ALISSA, or ALICE, born Nov. 17, 
1824, in Sangamon county, married John 
Wesley Elliott. See his name. 

HARRIET, horn March 4, 1827, in 
Sangamon county, married John M. 
Smith. See his name. Resides near 
Curran. 

ELIZA, bora Nov. 6, 1828, in San- 
gamon county, married Edward D. Camp- 
bell, and resides near Lancaster, or Mans- 
field, Texas. 

WILLIAM, born Jan. 23, 1831, in 
Sangamon county, married Dec. 22, 1853, 
to Mary J. Parkinson. They had seven 
children. ADDIE C. died 'August 22, 
1871, in her seventh year. LIZZIE died 
in infancy. ELLA M., EUNICE P., 
JAMES O. and OTIS J., (twins), and 
WILLIE O., reside with their parents, 
six miles west of Springfield. 

NANCY, born May 4, 1833, in Sanga- 
mon county, married August 20, 1872, to 
John Mull, who was born Dec. 5, 1821, 
in Kentucky. They reside six miles 
southwest of Springfield. 

EDITH, born Feb. 26, 1837, in San- 
gamon county, married Feb. 13, 1873, to 
Win. Dyer, and resides four miles north- 
west of Curran. 

AGNES,\x>?n Dec. 18, 1838, died Oct. 
5, 1864. 

E MIL T, born August 15, 1841, resides 
with her sister, Mrs. Dyer. 

SUSAN, born Sept. 15, 1843, married 
Wm. B. Gilbert. They have two children 
and reside three miles north of Spring- 
field, on Athens road. 

ELIZABETHAN August 29, 1856, 
in her eleventh year. 

Mrs. Betsey Baldwin died August 13, 
1847, and Johnson Baldwin died Dec. 4, 
1871, both in Sangamon county. 

BALL, JOHN S., born about 
1795, in Madison county, Ky. Went to 
Clarksville, Tenn., and from thei'e to 
Eddyville, Ky., from there to Sangamon 
county, and after spending several years, 
returned to Kentucky ; back to Sangamon 
county, then to JoDaviess county ; from 
there to Missouri, where he left his family, 
went to California, and at the end of three 
years returned to his family in Missouri. 
Now resides with his sons in Morgan 
county. His son 

THOMAS H.., married in Morgan 
county to Eliza A. Hodgson, has two 



children, COLUMBUS A. and IDA 
BELL, and reside in Ball township. 

BALL, JAPHET A, was born 
July 5, 1800, in Madison county, Ky. 
When a young man he went to Clarkes- 
ville, Tenn., where he learned the trade of 
a blacksmith with his brother John S. 
From there he went with his brother to 
Eddyville, Caldwell county, Ky., and 
from there to Sangamon county, arriving 
late in Dec., 1825, in what is now Wood- 
side township. He was married Dec. 2, 
1828, to Sarah Henderson. They had two 
children 

CLARISSA J., born in Sangamon 
county, married Jeremiah Penicks. They 
had four children, and Mr. Penicks died. 
Mrs. Penicks and her children reside at 
Palmer, Christian county. 

JAMES H., died in his fourteenth 
year. 

Mrs. Sarah Ball died March 12, 1832. 
Japhet A. Ball was married May, 1834,10 
Marinda Davis, who died April 12, 1855. 
Mr. Ball was married Sept. 30, 1863, to 
Melissa Morison. They have two child- 
ren 

JOHN M. and 

'f ANNIE M., and reside east of Sugar 
creek, in Ball township, four miles south- 
east of Chatham. x 

Japhet A. Ball enlisted July, 1827, in 
Col. Tom M. Neal's Battalion of mounted 
volunteers, to fight the Indians in the 
north part of the State. This was known 
as the Winnebago war. He again enlisted, 
and was commissioned by Gov. Reynolds 
as First Lieutenant, June 18, 1831. A 
treaty with Black Hawk, the chief, ter- 
minated hostilities. The Indians com- 
menced depredations again, in the spring 
of 1832. J. A. Ball was commissioned by 
Gov. Reynolds, April 28, 1832, as Capt. 
of a Company in Long's Odd Battalion of 
Inf. It was mustered out in June, 1832, 
for the purpose of changing to a mounted 
organization, but that ended his military 
career. Mr. Ball served from 1843 to 
1856 as Justice of the Peace. He was 
elected and commissioned by Gov. Bissell, 
Nov. 14, 1857, as Associate Judge of San- 
gamon county, for four years. The town- 
ship organization being adopted in 1860, 
terminated his official career. The town- 
ship of Ball was named for him. 

Judge Ball says that on the first day of 
Jan., 1831, while the- "deep snow " was 



94 



EARLY SETTLERS OF 



falling, he killed fourteen deer. They 
would founder in the snow, and were 
easily taken. He built a saw mill on 
Sugar creek, and sold a large quantity of 
lumber at the mill, and at times kept 
teams running to Springfield. The scarci- 
ty of money for a few years after the 
financial crash of 1837, was ver y severe 
on the new settlements. The Judge says 
that during one of those years he did an 
extensive business in the lumber trade, 
and his total receipts in cash was exactly 
seventy-five cents. 

BALL, SMITH, was born July 
10, 1810, in Madison county, Ky., came to 
Sangamon county, 111., arriving at the 
house of his brother, Japhet A., in 1829. 
He was married June 13, 1837, * Rebecca 
Moffatt. They had one child in Sanga- 
mon county, and in the fall of 1839 moved 
to Mt. Pleasant, Iowa. In the spring of 
1840 he moved to Jefferson county, where 
they had six children. Of their seven 
children 

EMILY A., born March 27, 1838, in 
Sangamon county, was married in Iowa 
to William Case. They have six children, 
and reside in Marshall county, Iowa. 

MARY M., born March 25, 1840, in 
Iowa, was married there to George B. 
Phillips. They have six children, and 
reside near Wooster, Iowa. 

NANCY y., born August 30, 1842, 
died aged 22 years. 

GEORGE W., born June 7, 1847, in 
Jefferson county, Iowa, is a practicing 
lawyer, unmarried, and resides at ' Iowa 
City. 

MARGARET C., born Dec. 10, 1847, 
in Iowa, was married there to Richard 
Fisher. They have two children, and 
reside near Wooster. 

LE WIS C., born Jan. 18, 1852, and 

FRANK P., born Feb. 25, 1854, re- 
side with their parents, near Wooster, 
Jefferson county, Iowa. 

BALL, WILLIAM, born in 
Madison county, Ky., came to Sangamon 
county about 1835, and moved to Jo 
Daviess county. 

BALL, JANE born in Madison 
county, Ky., married William Richardson, 
came to Sangamon county in 1829, and 
died in this county. Lewis B. Richard- 
son, of Auburn township, is her son. 



BALL, BETHANY, born Aug. 
13, 1796, in Madison county, Ky., mar- 
ried John Brawner. See his name. 

BALL, POLLY, born in Ken- 
tucky, married in Sangamon county to 
John Rames, moved to Missouri, and both 
died there. 

BALL, ELIZABETH, born 
in Madison county, Ky., married William 
Brawner. See his name. 

BALL, LUCY, born in Kentucky, 
married in Sangamon county to Daniel 
Morris, moved to Texas, and after resid- 
ing there ten years, returned to Sangamon 
county, and both died, leaving several 
children. 

Mrs. Nancy Ball, mother of John S., 
Japhet A., Smith, William, Jane, Bethany, 
Polly, Elizabeth and Lucy, came with 
the last of her children to Sangamon 
county in 1829, and died at the house 'of 
her son, Japhet A., in 1846. 

BANCROFT, ISAAC, was 
born April 29, 1776, near Boston, Mass. 
Mercy Coburn was born March 12, 1781, 
in Massachusetts, also. They were mar- 
ried March 5, 1799, and had two children 
in Massachusetts. They moved to St. 
Lawrence county, N. Y., where they had 
ten children, and moved to Springfield, 
III., arriving August 10, 1839. Of their 
children 



BE TS Y married and raised families. 
One of them died in Massachusetts. The 
other resides in Hainesville, Lake county, 
Illinois. 

PRUDENCE, born in New York, 
died May 3, 1824, aged twenty-four years. 

JQNATHANC., born Feb. 2, 1809, 
in New York, married Frances Stone. 
Mr. Bancroft died June 2, 1845, leaving a 
widow and three children in Springfield. 
His son, Coburn, died in 1870, in Spring- 
field. 

ALMA S., born August 20, 1811, and 
died aged 23 years. 

ISAAC, Jun., born May 6, 1815, in 
New York, married Mary Blackman. He 
is now e Congregational minister, and re- 
sides in Green county, Wis. 

JOSEPH, born April 5, 1817, died 
Oct. 16, 1851. 

TIMOTHY^ born Feb. 26, 1819, in 
St. Lawrence county, N. Y.,is unmarried, 
and resides in Springfield. 



SANGAMON COUNTT. 



95 



c* March 3, 1821, in 
St. Lawrence county, N. Y., married 
September 19, 1854,10 Elizabeth C. Cass, 
who was born March 13, 1836, in Mont- 
gomery county, 111. They had five child- 
ren, three of whom died young. ED- 
WARD T. and LUCINDA A. reside 
with their father. Mrs. E. C. Bancroft 
died Feb. 3, 1871, and Benj. Bancroft re- 
sides in Fancy Creek township. 

HARM AN H., born Feb. i, 1823, 
died in Springfield in his 23d year. 

Isaac Bancraft died Oct. 8, 1844, and his 
widow died Feb. 10, 1868, both in Spring- 
field. 

BARBRE, ELI, was born July 
25, 1 798, in Kentucky. He was married 
about 1819, in Posey county, Ind., to 
Nancy Wilkinson, a native of Kentucky, 
also. They had four children in Indiana, 
and Mrs. Barbre died there, in 1828. Mr. 
Barbre moved to Edgar county, 111., and 
was married there Jan. 17, 1829, to Anna 
Wilson. They had two children in Ed- 
gar county, and moved to Sangamon 
county, 111., arriving in the fall of 1835, in 
what is now Island Grove township, 
where they had two children. Of their 
nine children 

ISAA C, born August 10, 1820, in Ind., 
came to Sangamon county with his parents, 
returned to Indiana, married Nancy Ben- 
nett. He served three years in an Indiana 
regiment, for the suppression of the re- 
bellion, and resides in Posey county, Ind. 

WILLIAM, born Nov. 10, 1822, in 
I'nsev county, Ind., married in Sangamon 
county, Jan. 15", 1845,10 Rebecca Smith, 
and had two children. She died, Oct. 18, 
1847, leaving one child. He was married, 
Feb. 6, 1849, to Lucy M. Smith. They 
had nine children. Of all his children, 
NANCY J., by the first wife, married 
James McKee, has two children, LUCY A. 
and MARY H., and reside in Nodaway 
county, Mo. MARY A., married James 
A.Trimble. See his name. MARTHA, 
the twin mate to Mary, died in infancy. 
JOHN E., JAMES W., THOMAS F., 
GEORGE I., RICHARD S., SAMUEL 
M. and MARTHA C., reside with their 
parents, two miles east of Curran. Wil- 
liam Barbre enlisted Sept., 1861, in Co. 
B., loth 111. Cav., for three years. He 
was wagon master and Veterinary Sur- 
geon, and was honorably discharged in 
June, 1863. 



CHARLOTTE, born 1824, in Indi- 
ana, married Wright Miller, has several 
children, and resides in Lynn county, 
Oregon. 

CELIA Z>., born in 1826, in Indiana, 
married, successively, Edward Bennett, 
Charles Wiggins and James Cleveland, all 
of whom died, and she married Henry 
Atkinson, and resides in Clark county, 111. 

SARAH E., born July 5, 1831, in 
Edgar county, married in Sangamon 
county, to Harvey Withrow. See his 
name. 

JAMES L., born March 4, 1834, in 
Edgar county, 111., married, Dec. 28, 18=54, 
to Lucinda Dixon. They had nine child- 
ren, four of whom died under four years. 
The latter five, WILLIAM E., AL- 
BERT F., MARY E., HARRIET C. 
W. and GEORGETTA, reside with 
their parents in Cooper township, three 
miles southwest of Mechanicsburg. 

JOHN A., born Dec. 19, 1835, mar- 
% ried March 5, 1857, to Margaret R. Mc- 
Kee, had six children, JAMES A., WM. 
E., EDWIN H., ANNAH L., JENNIE 
and GEORGE, reside with their parents, 
two and a half miles south west of Mechan- 
icsburg. John A. Barbre enlisted Dec. 
23, 1863, in Co. B, loth 111. Cav., for three 
years, served until Nov. 22, 1865, and was 
honorably discharged at San Antonio, 
Texas. 

MART C., born in 1837, in Sangamon 
county, married Rev. Geo. Keller. 

Eli Barbre died in the fall of 1846, and 
his widow married Wm. Withrow. (Sec 
his natne.) She died in the fall of 1871. 

BARGER, ADAM, was born 
April 8, 1784, in Botetourt county, Va. 
He went, when a young man, to Kanawha 
county, West Va., and was there married, 
August 12, 1810, to Lucinda Nolan. 
They had ten children in Virginia, and 
moved in a family boat to Shawneetown, 
111. He took a farm wagon and two yoke 
of oxen, and hired another team at Shaw- 
neetown, and thus brought his family and 
two loads of household goods, arriving 
Oct., 1826, in what is now Loami town- 
ship, but then called Yankee Settlement, 
where they had three children. Of their 
children 

AL&ARTE.S, born May 26, 1811, in 
Kanawha county, West Ya., married, Dec. 
23, 1829, in Sangamon county, to Marga- 
ret F. Patrick. They had 13 children, 



9 6 



EARLY SETTLERS OF 



JOHN A., born July 21, 1831, died in his 
2 ist year. MAJOR E., enlisted, May 
25, 1861, in Co. I., i4th 111. Inf., for three 
years, served full term, and was honorably 
discharged, June, 1864, at Springfield. 
He is a lawyer, and resides at Loami. 
JANETTA, born June 2, 1834, married 
James J. Henton. (See his name.) 
SOPHIA, born Feb. 10, 1836, married 
Robert E. Berry. (See his name?) WIL- 
LIAM F., born Dec. 19, 1838, enlisted, 
May, 1 86 1, in Co. I, I4th 111. Inf., for 
three years, re-enlisted as a veteran in an- 
other regiment, served to the end of the 
rebellion, was honorably discharged, and 
resides near Loami. JULIA A., born 
Dec. 18, 1840, married Morrison Brown, 
have four children, and reside in Loami 
township. JAMES N., born March 20, 
1842, enlisted, in i86i,in Co. C, nth Mo. 
Inf., for three years, was discharged on 
account of physical disability, acted as 
deputy provost-marshal at Springfield for 
a time, and enlisted in I52d 111. Inf. Served 
to the end of the rebellion, married Mar- 
garet Hunter, has three children, and re- 
sides one mile southwest of Loami. 
CHARLES H., born Nov. 18, 1845, en-' 
listed in Co. , i6th 111. Cav., in 1862, for 
three years. Served full term, and was 
honorably discharged. LEROY, born 
Feb. 20, 1847, res ides with his father. 
GEORGE W., born June 10, 1849, mar- 
ried Mollie McKinney, have one child, 
and reside near Berry Station, Sangamon 
county. ALBERT, LUCINDA J. and 
HARRIET E. reside with their father. 
Mrs. M. F. Barger died Feb. 25, 1876, 
and Albartes Barger resides where he 
settled in 1831, near Loami. 

JULIA A., born Oct. 18, 1812, in 
West Virginia, married in Sangamon 
county to Dr. J. R. Abel. (See his name?) 
Have three children, and reside in Taylor- 
ville. 

THERESA, born May 13, 1814, in 
Virginia, married Thomas Sowell. (Sec 
his name?) 

ZEBULON, M. P., born Dec. 14, 
181^, died in his 29th year. 

6" OP HI A, born April 12, 1817, married, 
her husband died, and the family reside in 
Cass county. 

JOHN, born Oct. 31, 1818, married 
Elizabeth Eustace, had four children, and 
he died. His widow married and lives in 
Wisconsin. 



OLIVIA, born Oct. 28, 1820, married 
Morris Sweet. (See his name?) 

MART A., born July 23, 1822, mar- 
ried Wm. Weir. Had five children. She 
was killed by a runaway team, in Nebraska 
City. Family reside there. 

HARRIET, born Feb. 26, 1824, mar- 
ried John McClure, who died, leaving a 
widow and eight children in Cass county. 

JAMES M,, born Jan. 9, 1826, in 
West Virginia, unmarried, and resides in 
Loami. 

LETHE, born March 29, 1831, mar- 
ried, March 24, 1856, to Daniel Cuppy, 
have two children, MARY E. and HAR- 
RIET V., and reside at Loami. Mr. C. 
served three years in nth Mo. Inf. 

WILLIAM P., born Feb. 12, 1833, 
in Sangamon county, went to California, 
in 1856, resides in Nevada City, Cal. 

Mrs. Lucinda Barger died August 11, 
1853, and Adam Barger married Mrs. 
Deborah Colburn, whose maiden name 
was Phelps. He died August n, 1864, in 
Loami township. His widow resides 
with her children. 

BARNETT, THOMPSON, 
was born Dec. 15, 1795, in Kentucky. 
Ann Pattei'son was bom Sept. 29, 1803, 
in Holston county, Va. When she was 
two years old her parents moved to Adair 
county, Ky. Thompson Barnett and 
Ann Patterson were married there, Jan. 
19, 1822. They had three children born 
in Kentucky, and moved to Illinois, ar- 
riving in the fall of 1829, at Irish Grove, 
Menard county, where one child was born. 
Thompson Barnett died Dec. 12, 1830, at 
Irish Grove. Mrs. Ann Barnett was mar- 
ried May 26, 1836, to Levi Cantrall, and 
brought her four children to his home in 
Fancy Creek township. Of her children 
by the first marriage 

NANCT J., born Nov. 25, 1822, in 
Aclair county, Ky., married in Sangamon 
county to William D. Power. (Sec his 
name?) 

A Rl TINT A M., born March 27, 1825, 
in Kentucky, married in Sangamon coun- 
ty, to Jefferson Vandergrift. They had 
four children, and she died. Mr. V. and 
his children reside in , Wis. 

MART E., born August 29, 1829,111 
Kentucky, married in Sangamon county 
to James Hibbs. Mrs. Hibbs died, leaving 
one child, NANCY J., who married Dor- 
rell Primm, and resides in Menard county. 



SANGAMON COUNTY. 



97 



J. THOMPSON, born April 20, 
1830, at Irish Grove. He married and 
has five children, JAMES, EDDIE, 
NATHAN, ANN and MARY, and re- 
sides in Fancy Creek township. 

For Mrs. Ann Barnett's further history, 
sec Levi Cantrall. 

BARNES, EZRA, was horn 
Sept. 6, 1806, at Groton, New London 
county, Ct. He started from Hartford 
with a team, and, in thirty-one days' driv- 
ing, reached St. Louis, Nov. 13, and five 
days later came into Sangamon county, 
arriving Nov. 18, 1833. For 21 months 
he peddled clocks, after which he com- 
menced farming, raising his first crop in 
1836. He again peddled dry goods, and 
came near being drowned while crossing 
the Sangamon river north of Springfield. 
He was married, Dec. 6, 1838, to Eliza- 
beth Mason. She was born Feb. 4, 1818. 
They had five children, all born in San- 
gamon county, namely : 

EZRA, Jun., born April 30, 1842, in 
Sangamon county, married in 1872 at 
Preston City, Conn., to Prudence A. 
Browning. They reside five miles south- 
west of Chatham. 

SETH A., born in Sangamon county, 
is a member of the firm of Barnes & 
Simpson, druggists, in Taylorville. 

OLIVE F., born in Sangamon county, 
married Feb. 10, 1876, to George Bremer. 

CHARLEY KK\ 

A.YGELINE, reside with their par- 
ents in Ball township, two and a half miles 
south of Chatham. 

BARNES, DANIEL, was born 
Feb., 1807, in Bucks county, Pa. He was 
married in 1832, in Lancaster county, to 
Margaret A. Richardson, who was born 
Jan., 1810, in that county. Mr. Barnes 
kept a book store and bindery in Harris- 
burg, and was the State binder for Penn- 
svlvania for five years. They had three 
children in Harrisburg. Mr. Barnes 
closed up his engagement as State binder 
in the spring of 1840, sold out his book 
store, and came west on horseback, look- 
ing for a location. He selected Spring- 
field as his future home, and was soon 
followed by his family. They had four 
children in Springfield, two of whom died 
voung. Of the other five children 

ALBERT G., born Sept. 4, 1835, in 
Harrisburg, Pa., was with his father in 
Springfield from 1840 to 1855, when he 



engaged in business in Taylorville. Ik- 
was married August 27, 1861, near Mo 
chanicsburg, 111., to Henrietta Branson. 
They have five living children, BENJ. 
LINCOLN, ALBERT G., Jim., MARY 
H., CLARA MAY and HARRY R., 
and reside in Taylorville, 111. Mr. Barnes 
is engaged in the mercantile business and 
banking. 

ALMOND F., born in 1837, in Har " 
risburg, Pa, raised in Springfield and Tay- 
lorville, married in 1863, in Quincy, 111., 
to Nellie Harvey. They reside in Quincy. 
HARRIET A., born in Harrisburg 
and died in 1859. 

CHARLES E., born Dec. 19, 1842, 
in Springfield, married in Taylorville, Jan. 
25, 1871, to Jeanette Overand, who was 
born August 24, 1855, in Hartford, Conn. 
They have one child, RALPH, and re- 
side in Taylorville. Mr. Barnes was in 
business with his father until the death of 
the latter, and is now a hardware mer- 
chant. 

ANNA, born about 1844 or '5, in 
Springfield, married in St. Louis, Mo., to 
J. H. Pierson, and resides in Hearne, 
Robertson county, Texas. 

Daniel Barnes sold dry goods in Spring- 
field, from 1842 to 1849' He was in busi- 
ness with his son, Charles E., until Jan. 10, 
1868, when he died, in Taylorville. His 
widow resides there. 

Gilbert Barnes, the father of Daniel, 
was born in 1780, in Bucks county, Pa. 
He was a soldier from that county in the 
war of 1812. He married and had seven 
children in the same county. Gilbert 
Barnes, and other members of his family, 
came to Springfield with the familv of his 
son, Daniel, in 1840, but I have not been 
able to obtain a full history of the family. 
BARRETT, DR. R. F,, moved 
from Green county, Ky., to Sangamon 
county about the time of the "deep snow" 
of 1830 and '31, and settled on Spring 
creek, in what is now Island Grove town- 
ship. He had a son born there, and in 
1839 Dr. Barrett accepted the position of 
Professor of Materia Medica, in the Med- 
ical College of Missouri, and moved to 
St. Louis. His son 

ARTHUR B., born August 22, 1835, 
on Spring creek, Sangamon county, mar- 
ried in St. Louis to a Miss Sweringen. 
He was for seven years President of the 
company managing the St. Louis Fair, and 



9 S 



EARLY SETTLERS OF 



it was largely through his influence that 
it acquired a reputation unsurpassed by 
any other institution of the kind in Amer- 
ica. He was also President of the Mis- 
souri Life Ins. Co. He was elected Mayor 
of St. Louis, was inuagurated April 13, 
and died April 24, 1875. 

BARROW, ABRAHAM, was 
born Oct. 15, 1803, in Frederick county, 
Va. Mahala Larrick was born Nov. 14, 
1809, in the same county. They were 
married there, Oct. 20, 1831. Two of 
their children were born in Berkley coun- 
ty, Va. They moved to Sangamon coun- 
ty, 111., arriving Sept. 19, 1835, in what is 
now Cotton Hill township, where they 
had four children. Of their children 

JOHN T., born Feb. 27, 1833, in 
Berkley county, Va., was married, Dec. 
12, 1861, in Christian county, 111., to Eliza 
J. Ducker, who was born July 24, 1842, 
in Ohio. They had two children in San- 
gamon county. They moved to Sarpy 
county, Neb., Nov. 6, 1865. Three child- 
ren were born in Nebraska. They moved 
to Texas in 1870, and settled in Dallas 
county, where one child was born. Thence 
to Fort Worth, in Tarrant county, where 
two children were born. Of their eight 
children, six died in infancy. FLORA 
A. and CHARLES H., reside with their 
parents, at Fort Worth, Tarrant county, 
Texas. 

ORANGE P., born in Virginia, died 
in Sangamon county in infancy. 

JOSEPH W., born March 11,1837, 
in Sangamon county, was married April 
12, 1860, to Susan E. Hardin. They have 
four children, MARY V., SARAH E., 
PRESLEY L. and MAHALA D., and 
reside near Taylorville. 

MART y., born March 16, 1840, in 
Sangamon county, married May 3, 1859, 
to Thomas W. Fleming. They had two 
children. MARY A. died July 27, 1874, 
and EMMA L. resides with her mother. 
Mr. Fleming died July 26, 1866. Mrs. 
Fleming was married Sept., 1871, to John 
L. Morgan, who was born in Sanduskv, 
Ohio, and served three years in Co. E., 
1 3th U. S. Inf. He was honorably dis- 
charged August 6, 1868. They reside 
near Zion Chapel, three miles north of 
Pawnee. 

ANN E., born Feb. 13, 1842,111 San- 
gamon county, married John Q. A. Hus- 
band. Sec his name. 



ELIZA V., born March 30, 1851, in 
Sangamon countv, married Feb. 9, 1870, 
to Nimrod Vickers. One child, FRANK, 
died in infancy. They reside in Christian 
county, four miles east of Pawnee. 

Abraham Barrows died April 9, 1862, 
and Mrs. Mahala Barrows died Oct. 18, 
1874, both at the family homestead, six 
miles south of Springfield. 

BARROWS, JOSIAH, was 
born Sept. 17, 1793, in Thompson, Wind 
ham county, Conn. In 1798, his parents 
moved to Bridport, Vt., where Josiah 
was married Feb. 25, 1825, in Lebanon, 
New Hampshire, to Joanna Allen. She 
died Sept., 1826, in Vermont, and Mr. 
Barrows was married Jan., 1829, in Le- 
banon, N. H,, to Emily Young. She 
died Nov., 1831, in Vermont, and he was 
married, July, 1836, in New Haven, Vt., 
to Mrs. T. M. Case, whose maiden name 
was Mills. They had two children in 
Vermont, and came to Illinois, arriving in 
Chatham, Sangamon county, Oct., 1839, 
where they had two children, and moved 
to Springfield about 1846. Of their child- 
ren 

MART P., was born in Vermont in 
1837, anc ^ was niarried Jan. i, 1861, in 
Springfield, to John H. Morse. They have 
three children, JOHN, GEORGE and 
HORACE, and reside at Morse's Mills, 
Jefferson county, Mo. Mr. Morse was 
an avowed abolitionist, and during the 
war to suppress the rebellion, was much 
annoyed by the rebels. His store was 
robbed, but being warned, he had time to 
remove some of the lighter goods. Amid 
all his troubles he continued to flourish, 
and has several times represented his dis- 
trict in the State Senate of Missouri. He 
is always engaged in some public enter- 
prise. 

SAMUEL M., born about 1838, in 
Vermont, raised in Sangamon county, 111., 
married Sept. 1867, in Vineland, Jefferson 
county, Mo., to Ellen Morse. They have 
four children, JULIA, KATIE, ELLEN 
and ARTHUR. S. M. Barrows was a 
Union man, and subjected, like his brother- 
in-law, to annoyance during the war. He 
is Post Master, and resides at Morse's 
Mills, Mo. 

LUCT, died in Springfield, aged about 
sixteen years. 

ANNA, born in Springfield, resides 
with her sister, Mrs. Morse. 



SANGAMON COUNTT. 



99 



LOUISA CASE, daughter of Mrs. 
Barrows by a former marriage, resides 
with her half-sister, Mrs. Morse. 

Mrs. T. M. Barrows left Springfield to 
visit her daughter, Mrs. Morse, in Mis- 
souri, and died there, Nov. 1865. 

Josiah Barrows, after the death of his 
wife, spent his winters in Missouri, and 
summers in Springfield, 111., until 1875. 
lie now resides with his children in Mis- 
souri. 

BARROWS, LUCY, sister of 
Josiah and Franklin, was born March 14, 
1 797, in Woodstock, Conn. Came west 
in 1838. She resided in Sangamon and 
Morgan counties until Jan., 1841, when 
she was married to Erastus Wright. See 
his name. 

BARROWS, FRANKLIN, 
brother to Lucy and Josiah, came to Spring- 
field Nov., 1855. They came too late to 
be classed as early settlers, Mr. Franklin 
Barrows and family continue to reside in 
Springfield. 

Prentiss Barrows, the father of Josiah, 
Lucy and Franklin, was a soldier of the 
Revolution, under command of Benedict 
Arnold, and occupied the same building 
used as Gen. Arnold's headquarters. 
Prentiss Barrows was standing in the yard 
when Arnold left the Americans to join 
the British, and as he passed, something 
heavy in his pockets struck Barrows, and 
it was always believed that it was gold, a 
part of the price of his treason. Prentiss 
Barrows died in 1812, at Bridport, Vt., 
from disease contracted in the army of the 
Revolution. 

BASHAW, MRS. ELLEN, 
whose maiden name was Reed, was born 
about 1 774. Her parents were from Penn- 
sylvania. Ellen Reed was married in 
Bourbon county, Ky., to William Bashaw. 
He was a native of Virginia. They had 
three children, and Mr. Bashaw died in 
Bourbon county. Mrs. Bashaw, with 
her three sons, moved to Sangamon coun- 
tv, 111., arriving in the fall of 1830, and 
settled three miles north of Rochester. Of 
her three children 

JAMES, born Jan. 18, 1800, in Ken- 
tucky, married in Sangamon county, Jan. 
17, 1832, to Mary McCune. They had 
seven children in Sangamon county, 
CINCINNATUS, ELEANOR, EMI- 
LY, HIRAM, CORDIANN, JAMES 
R. and WILLIAM M. James* Bashaw 



died in 1850, and his widow resides two 
miles north of Rochester. 

WI J.LI AM S., born Nov., 1805, in 
Bourbon county, Ky., married in Sanga- 
mon county, in 1834, to Isabel McCune. 
They had nine children; four died young. 
AMANDA, born April 6, 1835, married 
James A. James. See his name. JAMES, 
born Jan. 27, 1838, married Feb. 20, 1862, 
to Mary Bailey, who was born Jan. 26, 
1844, m Hawkins county, Tenn. They 
have three children, LAURA i., GEORGE A. 
and DOKLV, and reside in Clear Lake 
township, eight miles due east of Spring- 
field. HANNAH, married William 
Thomas, and resides one mile west of 
Dawson. CHARLES SPENCER and 
ALEXANDER reside in Clear Lake 
township. Mrs. Isabel Bashaw died July 
27, 1861, and William S. Bashaw died Jan. 
3, 1874, within one and a half miles of 
where he settled with his mother in 1830. 
Wm. S. Bashaw had been five years a 
Justice of the Peace, and was in office at 
the time of his death. 

JA^UELIN, born Nov. 24, 1808, in 
Kentucky, married in Sangamon county to 
Eleanor Poor, had nine children, and he 
died in 1868. His widow married James 
McQuinn, and resides near Rochester. 

Mrs. Ellen Bashaw died Sept., 1852, on 
the farm where she settle in 1830. 

BATES, ISAAC, was born Oct. 
14, 1796, in the town of JafFrey, Cheshire 
county, New Hampshire, and when a 
young man, went to St. Lawrence count v, 
N. Y. CHARLOTTE BRY- 
ANT was born Dec. u. 1805, at Shore- 
ham, near White Hall, Vt., and taken by 
her parents to St. Lawrence county, N. Y. 
Isaac Bates and Charlotte Bryant were 
married and had six children in St. Law- 
rence county. The family moved to San- 
gamon county, 111., in wagons, arriving 
June 30, 1837, at Springfield, and the next 
week (July 4), witnessed the laying of the 
corner stone of the State house, the work 
on which had just commenced. In 1839 
he entered land north of the Sangamon 
river, moved there, and made a home in 
what is now Fancy creek township. Two 
children were born in Sangamon county. 
Of their children 

JOSEPH, born June 16, 1822, in St. 
Lawrence county, N. Y., married in San- 
gamon count}- to Mrs. Rebecca Power, 
whose maiden name was Hrown. Mrs. 



100 



EARLY SETTLERS OF 



Bates had one child by her first marriage, 
MARY J. POWER. She married John 
B. Brown, and lives in Jefferson county, 
Kan. Mr. and Mrs. Bates have six child- 
ren. FIDELIA E. married Winfield S. 
Hay, and lives in Fancv creek township. 
ISAAC D., JAMES \V., JOSEPH F., 
ZIMRI E., and JOHN CARROLL re- 
side with their parents in Fancy Creek 
township, 12 miles due north of Spring- 
field. 

ORLANDO,\x>rn March 20, 1824, in 
St. Lawrence county, N. Y., married in 
Sangamon county to Sarah Brown. They 
have three living children, JANE and 
CHARLOTTE, (twins.) JANE mar- 
ried William Stienberger, and lives near 
Mt. Pulaski. CHARLOTTE married 
Abram Larue, and lives near Williams- 
ville. EMMA lives with her parents in 
Williamsville. 

NELSON, born April 13, 1826, in 
New York. He lost one arm by the ex- 
plosion of a gun when he was 14 years 
old. He married Melinda Ferguson, has 
three children, MINNIE J., WILLIAM, 
and FREDERICK, and lives in Peters- 
burg, 111. 

ALBER T, died, 1829, in infancy. 

FIDELIA,&\z<\. August 31, 1845, a g ed 
15 years. 

ZIMRI B., born Feb. 28, 1833, in St. 
Lawrence county, N. Y., enlisted, Nov. 
25, 1861, in Co. G., loth 111. Cav., and was 
commissioned as 1st Lieutenant. He was 
promoted to Captain, Oct. 20, 1862. He 
served about four years, and resigned in 
Feb., 1865. He was married Sept. 23, 
1866, in Sangamon county, to Hattie 
Stockdale, who was born April 2, 1846, 
in Pennsylvania. They have two child- 
ren, NORA M. and HOWARD R., and 
reside in Fancy Creek township, at the 
home settled by his parents in 1839. 

IRA, died in Sangamon county, Oct., 
1858, in his twelfth year. 

PARTHEN1A, born March 12, 1842, 
in Sangamon county, married William S. 
Constant. See his name. 

JAMES J/., born June 19, 1844, in 
Sangamon county, married Julia Constant. 
They have one child, ETHEL, and re- 
side in Williamsville. 

Isaac Bates died April 23, 1855, in 
Fancy creek township. His widow re- 
sides with her daughter, Mrs. Constant. 
Mrs. Bates is a cousin to William Cullen 



Bryant, the poet, and editor of the NC-JC 
Tork Post. 

BATES, JAMES, was born 
March 2, 1803, in Cheshire county, N. II., 
raised at Potsdam, N. Y., and came with 
his brother Oliver to Sangamon county in 
1833. He was married in the fall of 1842, 
to Eunice Watts who died in June, 1846. 
Mr. Bates was married in May, 1852, to 
Mrs. Irena Holmes, whose maiden name 
was Watts. She died in April, 1865. 
James Bates resides one mile northwest of 
Farmingdale. He never had any children. 

BATES, OLIVER, was born in 
1796, in Cheshire county, N. H. Moved, 
about 1806, to Potsdam, St. Lawrence 
county, N. Y., where he was married to 
Charity Buckman, Sept. S, 1824. She is 
a sister of Joel Buckman, and was born in 
Bethel, Vermont. They had three child- 
ren in New York, two of whom died 
young. They moved in a colony of 52 
persons to Sangamon county, 111., arriving 
in 1833, and early in 1834 settled adjoin- 
ing the present Farmingdale Station, on 
the south, where three children were born. 
Of the four children 

ROXANA, born Oct. 23, 1832, in 
Potsdam, N. Y., was married in Sanga- 
mon county, 111., April 6, 1853, to Jacob 
Foster. See his name. 

ZURA, born Jan. 12, 1836, in Sanga- 
mon county, was married to Mrs. Josephine 
Ellis. They have three children, CHAS. 
B., ELIZABETH A. and ROXANA 
L., and reside in Tavlorville, 111. 

BUCKMAN, born Nov. 6, 1840, in 
Sangamon county, was partially educated 
at Jacksonville, 111., and graduated at the 
.State University, Bloomington, Indiana. 
He began the study of law in Pekin, 111., 
where he died July 13, 1864. 

ELIZABETH, born Feb. 25, 1839, 
in Sangamon county, died at the residence 
of her sister, Mrs. Foster. Oliver Bates 
died in 1865, where he settled in 1834. 
His widow died in March 1869, at the 
residence of her daughter, Mrs. Foster. 

BATTERTpN, AMOR, was 
born May 3, 1772, in Loudon county, Va. 
Nancy Guthrie was born about 1776, in 
North Carolina, and her parents moved, 
when she was a child, to Madison county, 
Ky. They were there married and had 
one child, who was drowned in Kentucky 
river. They moved to Aclair county, 
where they had nine children, and moved 



SANGAMON COUNT*. 



101 



to Madison county, 111., in 1818, and from 
there to Rock creek, in what is now 
Menard county, in 1820, thence to what is 
now Salisbury township, Sangamon coun- 
ty, in the spring of 1822, and settled one 
and a quarter miles northwest of where 
Salisbury now stands. Of their nine 
children 

DA VID, born Nov. 5, 1796, in Ken- 
tucky, married Nancy Yoakum. They 
had eight children, and Mr. B. died in 
Menard county. His family moved to 
Cass county, and his widow died there. 
Their children reside in Menard and Cass 
counties, and in Kansas. Mr. B. was 1st 
Lieutenant in a Company in the Winne- 
bago war. 

NELSON, born July 27, 1798, in Ken- 
tucky, married Betsv Davenport, had four 
children, and Mr. B. died in DeWitt coun- 
ty. Their son WILLIAM was a soldier 
in an Illinois regiment, and died in 1863, 
in the army. MARY and NANCY are 
married, and reside in Minnesota. JAMES 
W. and his mother live in Missouri. 

ANDERSON, born May 3, 1800, in 
Kentucky, married Polly Robinson, who 
died, and he married again and went to 
Arkansas; 

WILLIAM, born Dec. 14, 1801, in 
Adair county, Ky., married Jan. i, 1833, 
in Sangamon county, to Eliza Gaines. 
They had twelve children ; two died young. 
MADISON, born Oct. 20, 1833, enlisted, 
August 13, 1862, for three years, in Co. 
B., i I4th 111. Inf., was captured at Gun- 
town, Miss., June n, 1864, was taken to 
Ander^onville prison and escaped by falling 
in with Gen. Stoneman's men when they 
were about to be exchanged Sept. 14, 

1864, and was mistaken for one of them. 
He left them at Atlanta, was furloughed 
home from Memphis, joined his regiment 
in Jan., 1865, served to the end of his term, 
and was honorably discharged, August 3, 

1865. He was married April 24, 1864, in 
Sangamon county, to Cynthia S. Lemmon. 
They have three living children, MINNIE 
M., JENNIE, and a boy babe, and reside 
four and a half miles north of Salisbury. 
RICHARD, born July 19, 1836, married 
Permelia Miller, have three children, 
ADAM F., MURRAY, and ELIJAH, and re- 
side in Menard county. AMY C., born 
Feb. 19, 1838, married John R. Wells, 
have seven children, and reside in Macon 
county, Mo. ROBERT, born August 4, 



1839, enlisted for three years, August 13, 
1862, in Co. B, i I4th 111. Inf., served full 
term, and was honorably discharged at 
Springfield, June 29, 1865. He died at 
home, August 16, 1868, from the effects of 
camp diarrhea and sun stroke. HENRY 
CLAY, born Nov. 12, 1843, niarried Jan. 
20, 1870, to Maria Maltby, who was born 
May 27, 1850, at Petersburg, 111. They 
have one child, IDA MAY, and reside one 
mile west of Salisbury. MILDRED P., 
born May 4, 1846, married Daniel C. Pel- 
ham. See his name. MARIA, SARAH 
E., CHARLOTTE and GEORGE W., 
reside with their parents, one and a quar- 
ter miles west of Salisbury. 

LE TV, born August 20, 1804, in Ken- 
tucky, married in Sangamon county, 
March 3, 1831, to Dorcas Sackett. They 
had six children. MARY A. married 
Wm. Hines, have ten children, and reside 
two miles north of Salisbury. THOMAS 
S. married Lucy Duncan, have five child- 
ren, JASPER N., ALLIE J., FRANCIS M., 

GEORGE w. and ANDERSON D., and reside 
one and a half miles north of Salisbury. 
ELIAS married Ellen Duncan; have two 
children, HARVEY and ANNIE, and reside 
five miles north of Salisbury. AMAN- 
DA J. married Ira Brown, and resides two 
and a half miles north of Salisbury. 
WILLIAM H. married Mary E. Dun- 
can, has one child, NORA, and resides with 
his parents, two miles north of Salisbury. 
Levi Batterton served in a Sangamon 
county Company in the Winnebago war, 
and drew as a pension, twice, forty acres 
of land. 

MART, born*Dec. 14, 1804, in Ken- 
tucky, married Willoughby Randolph. 
They had four children. Their youngest 
son, LEVI, was a soldier in an Iowa reg- 
iment, was wounded and died at the bat- 
tle of Pittsburg landing. The family re- 
side at Knoxville, Iowa. 

P RISC ILL A,\>vvi\ Feb. 9, 1809, in 
Kentucky, married June 16, 1836, to Wil- 
liam Yoakum, who was born July 28, 
1812, in Claiborne county, Tenn. They 
have one son, WILLIAM F., who mar- 
ried Mary Adams, and resides with his 
parents in Menard count}', two miles 
north of Salisbury. 

SUSANNAH T., born June 7, 1811, 
married Coleman Gaines. See his name. 

E. GEORGE, born June 26, 1814, in 
Adair county, Ky., married Jan. 19, 1843, 



102 



EARLY SETTLERS OF 



in Menard county, to Huberty Clark. 
They had ten children; one died young. 
JOHN C. resides with his parents. 
ELISHA C. married Farinda Duncan. 
They have three children, EMMA j., ED- 
WARD L. and SYLVA v., and reside one 
mile southeast of Salisbury. PRISCIL- 
LA J. married Wm. Tozer, have three 
children, and reside five miles northwest 
of Salisbury. MARY A., MARTHA 
A., MORRIS M., LAURA A., GEO. 
M. and CHARLES L., reside with their 
parents, two miles north of Salisbury. 

Mrs. Nancy Batterton died July 31, 
1835, an d Amor Batterton died August 4, 
1835, both near Salisbury. 

BEACH, J A RED, was born Nov. 
24, 1770, in Essex county, N. J., and was 
married there, Feb. 13, 1794, to Mary 
Harrison, who was born Sept. 18, 1775, in 
the same county. They moved to New 
York City, where they had five living 
children, and in 1835 moved to Spring- 
field, 111. Of their children 

ELECT A, married in New York 
City to Henry Howell, moved west, and 
died, Feb., 1859, in Centreville, Iowa. 

CATHARINE, born Sept. 12, 1805, 
in New York city, married there, August 
3, 1830, to Edmund R. Wiley. See his 
name. 

RICHARD H., born March n, 1808, 
in New York City, married there, in 
1832, to Eliza H. Baldwin, who was 
born in 1814, in 'Cranberry, Middlesex 
county N. J. They had one child, and 
moved to Morgan county, 111., where he 
taught school one year, and came to 
Springfield in 1834, au< ^ ni x ^35 un ited 
with E. R. Wiley in the mercantile busi- 
ness, as Wiley, Beach & Co. They es- 
tablished the first clothing store in Spring- 
field, which they continued many years. 
Mr. and Mrs. Beach had four children in 
Springfield. Of their five children, 
SARAH, born in 1833, in New York 
City, married in Springfield to George 
H. Nolte. They had three children, 

GEORGE E., RICRARD B. and MINNIE G. 

Mrs. Nolte died in 1862, in Beardstown. 
CATHARINE E., born in 1835, in 
Springfield, died in 1848 in Beardstown. 
MARY B., born in Springfield, resides 
with her father. MATILDA B., born 
Feb. 28, 1839, in Springfield, married, 
April 14, 1868, to Rev. William E. Cald- 
well, of Lodi, Michigan. They have three 



children, JENNIE, MINNIE and EDWARD, 
and reside at Clio, Geneseo county, Mich- 
igan. Mr. Caldwell is pastor of the Con- 
gregational church of that place. ED- 
WARD P., born May 27, 1841, in Spring- 
field, married Mayji, 1865,10 Julia E. 
Cone, and resides in Springfield. Mrs. 
Eliza H. Beach died Oct. 31, 1865, and 
Richard H. Beach was married, June 27, 
1867, to Sarah Lavinia Pearson. They 
reside in Springfield. 

ELIZA H., died April 14, 1865, in 
Centreville, Iowa. 

AMELIA, born Sept. 21, 1816, mar- 
ried in 1843, in Springfield, to John Har- 
ris. She died May 22, 1845. 

Mrs.. Mary Beach died Dec. 17, 1836, 
and Jared Beach died March 4, 1852, both 
in Springfield. 

BEACH, JOB A., was born April 
5, 1780, in Morris county, N. J. Susan 
Hathaway was born Oct. 12, 1782, in the 
same county. They were married and 
had eight children in New Jersey, and in 
1817 moved to Butler county, Ohio, and the 
next year to Dearborn county, Ind. Of 
three children born in the latter county, 
one died in infancy. Mrs. Susan Beach 
died there in Oct., 1822, and Job A. Beach 
was married, August 26, 1824, to Judith 
Connelly, who was born Dec. 2, 1805, in 
Washington county, Pa. They had five 
children in Indiana, and the family moved 
to Sangamon county, 111., in the fall of 
1835, and settled south of Spring creek, 
in what is now Gardner township, where 
five children were born. Of the twenty 
children of Job A. Beach 

CHARLES, born Dec. 16, 1801, in 
New Jersey, married in Ohio to Elizabeth 
McGilvey. She died, leaving one child, 
and, when last heard from, he lived in 
Rockville, Ind. 

E UNICE, born April 7, 1803, in Nc-\\ 
Jersey, married in Indiana to Enoch Con- 
ger. They had six children, and moved 
to Oquawka, 111., where the parents died. 

y. MUNSON, born May i, 1806, in 
Morris county, N. J., married near Carth- 
age, Hamilton county, Ohio, August 27, 
1835, to Christiana M. Robinson. They 
came to Sangamon county, 111., arriving 
Sept. 19, 1836, in what is now Gardner 
township, where they had eleven children ; 
two died young. CAROLINE, born 
Tune 3, 1837, married Jan, 15, 1857, to 
George Carr. She died April 5, 1860, 



SANGAMON COUNTY. 



103 



leaving one child, BENJAMIN, who resides 
with his father, in Wisconsin. MARY 
A., born Jan. 23, 1839, married August 
20, 1862, to Henry P. Hart. They have 
six children, HENRY E., WILLIAM M., 

MAKY C., BENJAMIN S., JULIA P. and WAI.- 

TKR A., and reside five miles northwest of 
Springfield. Henry P. Hart enlisted 
August 9, 1862, for three years, in Co. H., 
95th 111. Inf., was corporal and postmas- 
ter in the Company, served until June 6, 
1863, when he was promoted to Captain 
of a Company of U. S. colored troops. 
CORNELIA, born Jan. 15, 1841, mar- 
ried April 3, 1860, to Samuel Cook. They 
have four children, JAMES E., WILLIAM M., 
IOHN and JENNIE, and reside in Chandler-" 
ville, 111. EDWARD M., born Oct. 6, 
1843, enlisted August 20, 1862, for three 
years, in Co. B., I3oth 111. Inf. He was 
corporal and fifer the greater part of the 
time, served full term, and was honorably 
discharged August 15, 1865. He was 
married June 3, 1869, to Maggie Frazee. 
They have one child, LIIIRIE G., and reside 
eight miles west of Springfield. VIR- 
GINIA, born July 8, 1846, married Oct. 

3, 1872, to Charles W. King. See his 
name. JULIA D., born April 6, 1848, 
married Oct. 24, 1870, to Hiram McC. 
Reed. Who was born Aug. 26, 1846, in 
Butler county, Ohio. They have one 
child, MAGGIE c., and reside near Berlin. 
JOSHUA M., born Oct. 4, 1852, died in 
his seventh year. JOSEPH W., born 
Dec. 14, 1855, and ALICE J., 'born Jan. 

4, 1859, reside with their parents, eight 
miles west of Springfield. 

MILTON, born April 25, 1808, in 
New Jersey, married, raised a family, and 
resides in Lawrenceburg, Ind. 

P2.\fELlXE, born May 8, 1810, in 
New Jersey, married in Dearborn county, 
Ind., to Ezekiel Pettigrew, and both died 
in Park county, leaving seven children. 

NANCY, born June 26, 1813, in New 
Jersey, married in Indiana to Jacob Daisy, 
moved to Arkansas, where he died, and 
she married again. 

JANE, born August 24, 1814, in New 
Jersey, married Ephraim Lawler. She 
died in Clay county, 111., leaving four 
children near Louisville. 

1> RUDE NCE, \MV\\ Sept. 25, 1816, in 
New Jersey, married Wm. Bullion, in 
Park county, Ind., and died there. 



22, 1818, in 
Indiana, died unmarried in 1869, at the 
house of her sister, Lavina, near Yan- 
dalia. 

LA VINA, born Nov. 30, 1820, in 
Dearborn county, Ind., married in Spring- 
field, 111., to Stephen D. Perry. They 
have nine children, and reside near Shabo- 
nier, Fayefte county. Of the second 
marriage 

ELIZA, born August 4, 1825, in In- 
diana, died, aged two years. 

JOB ALLEN, Jun., born March i, 
1827, in Dearborn county, Ind., came 
with his parents to Sangamon county in 
1835. He enlisted August, 1862, for three 
years, in Co. I, 130111 111. Inf. He was 
under Gen. Banks in his expedition up 
Red River, was captured and taken to 
Camp Ford, at Tyler, Texas, and after 
six weeks imprisonment, news came that 
they were to be exchanged, and the rebel 
guards becoming less vigilant, he escaped 
and wandered 26 days before reaching the 
Union lines. His comrades remained 
fourteen months in the rebel prisons. Mr. 
Beach served to the end of the rebellion, 
and was honorably discharged in August, 
1865. He is unmarried, and resides with 
his mother, eight miles west of Spring- 
field. 

MARY A., born June 25, 1829, in In- 
diana, raised in Sangamon county, mar- 
ried in Knox county, 111., to Jonathan 
Cacebeer, have one child, and reside at 
Wilton Junction, Iowa. 

LUCY, born April 29, 1831, in Indiana, 
died in Sangamon county, aged sixteen 
years. 

BENJAMIN P., born May 31, 1833, 
in Indiana, raised in Sangamon count}, 
married in Knox county, 111., enlisted at 
Moline, served three years, re-enlisted as 
veteran, served to the end of the rebellion, 
and was honorably discharged. He moved 
to Springfield, Mo., and died there, May 
1 8, 1869, leaving a widow and four child- 
ren. 

SUSAN, born March 17, 1836, in San- 
gamon countv, resides with her mother. 

HARLAN P., born Nov. 20, 1838, in 
Sangamon county, married in Fayelte 
county, to Ellen J. Tharp. He served as 
First Sargeant three years in the iiith 
111. Inf., was with Sherman in his march 
to the sea, served to the end of the rebel- 
lion, was honorably discharged, and died 



104 



EARLY SETTLERS OF 



March 13, 1870, leaving a widow and one 
child in Fayette county. 

MARTIN L., born Feb. n, 1841, in 
Sangamon county, enlisted May, 1862, for 
three months, in Co. G., 68th 111. Inf., and 
died of disease, Sept. 10, 1862, in Wash- 
ington City. 

FRANCIS, born Oct. i, 1843, died in 
infancy. 

LOUISA R., born May 10, 1846, in 
Sangamon county, married Thomas D. 
Barnhart, had one child, and Mrs. B. died, 
Nov. 28, 1871, in Kansas. 

Job A. Beach died April n, 1849,511 
Sangamon county, and his widow resides 
eight miles west of Springfield, with her 
unmarried children. 

BEARDON, SAMUEL L,, 
was born Feb. 27, 1827, in Christian coun- 
ty, Ky. His father moved to Christian 
countv, 111., in 1828. His mother dying 
soon after, his father gave him to John 
French, a friend of the family, who had 
moved to Chatham township, in Sanga- 
mon county. He was brought up by Mr. 
French. Samuel L. Beardon was married 
April 10, 1852, in Sangamon county, to 
Susan Gofor. Thev have four children 

GEORGE 7\," ISAAC N., SAM- 
UEL E., and IRA, and reside two and 
a half miles northeast of Auburn. 

John French died in 1854, in Chatham 
township. 

BEAUCHAMP, JpSHUA, 
was born about 1782, in Washington coun- 
ty, Ky. He was married there to Catha- 
rine Payne. They had seven children in 
Kentucky, and moved to Sangamon coun- 
ty, 111., arriving in what is now Woodside 
township, in the fall of 1827, where two 
children were born. Of the children 

MARIA R., born in Kentucky, mar- 
ried James H. Withrow. See his name, 

The other children 

HENRT N., ED WARD, ELIZA, 
WILLIAM, JOSEPH and AMAN- 
DA, ail married, some died, and the living 
are in Kansas and Missouri. 

Joshua Beaucharnp moved to Missouri, 
and died April i, 1842, in the Platt pur- 
chase. His widow resides in Doniphan 
county, Kansas. 

BEAM JACOB, was born about 
1762, in N. J., and when he was a youth, 
went to Lexington, Ky., which he found 
to be a very small village. Rachel Mc- 
Clure was born in Huntington county, Pa., 



in 1775* an d taken by her parents to Fay" 
ette county, Ky., when she was quite 
young. Jacob Beam and Rachel McClure 
were married at Lexington, and had two 
children there. They moved to Manches- 
ter, Ohio, where they had eleven children, 
and from there to Clarke county, Ind., 
where one child was born, and from there 
to what is now Lincoln, Logan county, 111., 
arriving the day before the election which 
made Andrew Jackson President, in 1828. 
Finding it impossible to obtain food and 
shelter for his family through the winter, 
after a stay of two weeks, Mr. Beam 
moved to Rochester, Sangamon county, 
in the latter part of Nov., 1828. Of their 
children 

JA MES, born near Lexington, Ky., 
married in Sangamon county to Susan 
Hyner, who was born Oct. 15, 1810. 
They had nine children, all of whom are 
dead, except RACHEL, born May 15, 
1831, married Jacob Rape. See his name. 
James Beam died in 1855, in Sangamon 
county, and his widow died in 1858, at 
Mt. Auburn, Christian county. 

J OHN, born in Kentucky, married in 
Sangamon county, to Ellen Williams. 
They have three children, and reside at 
Boscobel, Grant county, Wis. 

ELIZABETH,^ at Manchester, 
O., married in Sangamon county to Har- 
vey Summers. They had six children. 
SIMON P. was accidentally shot in 
Marysville, California, about 1860. JOHN 
WESLEY, was a member of a California 
Cavalry regiment, and was killed by his 
horse running away with him on the march 
to the field of conflict, in 1862. GEORGE 
W. was a soldier in an Illinois regiment, 
captured and died in a rebel prison in 
South Carolina. MARY E. married a 
Baptist minister, and resides in Iowa. 
WILLIAM resides near Rockbridge, 
Green county. SARAH E., resides with 
her father. Mrs. E. Summers died, and 
Harvey Summers resides in Alton. 

MART, born in Ohio, is unmarried, 
and resides with her brother, Joseph 
Beam. 

DA VID, born in Manchester, Adams 
county, Ohio, married in Sangamon coun- 
ty, to Rosanna Ebey, who was born near 
Columbus, Ohio. They had eleven child- 
ren in Sangamon county, five of whom 
died young. GEORGE W. went to 
Washington Territory in 1854, married 



SANGAMON COUNTT. 



there to Sarah Wright, a native of Mis- 
souri. They went over the plains to- 
gether. Mr. Beam died March, 1865, on 
Vancouver's Island, leaving a widow and 
three children. She is again married, 
and resides in San Francisco. JACOB 
H., born April 28, 1834, married Jan. 19, 
1865, to Amanda Cummings, and resides 
in Springfield. LOUISA J. married 
Emery Raymond, and died March i 7, 1863, 
leaving two children. NANCY A. mar- 
ried Lewis Williams, who died, and she 
married Geo. W. Dugger, and resides in 
Virden. WILLIAM T., born Sept. 22, 
1844, married Sept. 25, 1872, to Margaret 
A. Sanders. They have one child, COR- 
DELIA A., and reside in Rochester town- 
ship, near where his grandfather Beam 
settled in 1828. JAMES HARVEY, 
born July 24, 1849, married Oct. 23, 1873, 
to Eliza J. Sanders, and resides on part of 
the farm near where his grandfather set- 
tled in 1828. It is in Cotton Hill town- 
ship. David Beam died Feb. 28, 1853. 
His widow died April 16, 1860. Mr. 
Beam acted as Justice of the Peace for 
many years; was a farmer and miller. 

SARAH, born in Ohio, married in 
Sangamon county, to John A. Maxcy. 
They have two children, and reside in 
Alton. 

NANC Y, born in Ohio, married in 
Sangamon county, to Jacob Miller, and 
both died. They left six children in De- 
Witt county. 

THOMAS, born at Manchester, O., 
and came to Sangamon county with his 
parents. Some of his friends here relate 
an incident in his life that illustrates real 
life among the early settlers. He raised 
a good crop of corn in the summer of 
1830, and in the fall determined to sell it 
and go to the Galena lead mines. After 
making it known in all the settlement, 
he was unable to get an offer for his crop 
at any price in money, but he traded it for 
a barrel of whisky, traded that for a 
three year old steer, and finally sold that 
for $10.00. He took a vow to use that 
for paying his expenses .out of the county, 
and never to live in it again. He went to 
the lead mines, was married in Wisconsin 
to Catharine Reed. They had six child- 
ren In Wisconsin, and moved to California 
in 1863. He is now a wealthy man, and 
resides at Crescent City, Del Norte coun- 
ty, California. 
14 



JANE A., born in Ohio, married in 
Sangamon county to William Cable, moved 
to Wisconsin, and after spending twenty- 
four years there, moved to Iowa, and died 
there in 1872, leaving several children. 

WESLE Y, born in Ohio, married in 
Sangamon county, Dec. 25, 1840, to 
Amelia Rape. They had five children in 
Cotton Hill township; one died in infancy. 
NANCY J. married W.T. Williams; had 
two children, ALBERT L. and THEODORE L. 
Mrs. W. died and they live with their 
father, who married and resides in Cotton 
Hill township. MARY A. married 
James M. Sankey, have three children, 
and reside near Fairbanks, Ind. AMAN- 
DA E. married Wm. Z. Williams, have 
one child, and reside near Shelbourn, Ind. 
JOHN L. is unmarried, and resides in 
Cotton Hill township. Wesley Beam 
died in 1852, in Cotton Hill township, and 
his widow married Mr. Hewlett. See 
Rape family name. 

CORDELIA, born in Ohio, married 
in Sangamon county, to Daniel Fetters. 
They had four children, and she died in 
Cotton Hill township. 

JOSEPH, born July 27, 1820, in 
Clarke county, Ind., married in Sangamon 
county to Mary P. Spicer. They had 
two children. NANCY J. A., married 
Henry Hertel, have one child, ADA LIL- 
LIAN, and reside three miles north of Paw- 
nee, in Cotton Hill township. SARAH E. 
married Isaac Porter, who was born Dec. 
29, 1836, in Monroe county, Ohio. They 
moved to Kansas City, Mo., and she died 
there, May 21, 1869, one month after mar- 
riage. Mr. Porter brought her remains 
back to the family cemetery for interment. 
He has since married Maggie Caldwell, 
and resides in Pawnee. Mrs. Mary P. 
Beam died Oct. 16, 1850, and Joseph Beam 
was married April 25, 1854, to Barbara 
Deardorff. Thev had four children. 
THOMAS W. and LINDSAY C., the 
eldest and youngest, died under three 
years. JOSEPH L. and WALDO P. 
i-esitle with their parents in Ball township, 
ten miles southeast of Springfield. He 
has acted as Justice of the Peace for sev- 
eral years. 

Jacob Beam died March 24, 1838, and 
his widow died April 21, 1851, both 
near where they settled in 1828. 

BEDINGER, CHRISTIAN, 
was born Dec. 24, 1774, in Bcrklev conn- 



io6 



EARLY SETTLERS OF 



ty, Va. Sophia Taylor was born Sept. 
24, 1776? i n Maryland, they were mar- 
ried about 1798, in Maryland or Virginia, 
and made their home in Berkley county 
for a short time, then moved to Harrison 
eounty, near Cadiz, Ohio, where nine 
children were born. The parents and 
three of the children came to Sangamon 
county, 111., arriving in the fall of 1836, in 
Island Grove. Of all their children 

PHILIP, born Nov. 8, 1799, in Ohio 
married in Cadiz to Sarah Hartman 
raised a large family, and resides near 
Nova, Ashland county, O. 

JOSEPH, born June 16, i8oi,in Ohio, 
married there to Deborah Metcalfe, had 
four children, and Mrs. B. died. Their 
daughter SOPHIA came to Sangamon 
county with her grandparents, and mar- 
ried James N. Eckler. JENNIE resides 
with her uncle, Wm. Bedinger. Joseph 
Bedinger has not been heard from for 
many years. 

ISAAC, born June 18, 1807, married 
in Ohio, to Sarah Brown, came to Sanga- 
mon county, and died near Berlin, in 1851, 
leaving a widow and four children. 

GEOR GE, born Feb. n, 1810, came 
to Sangamon county with his parents, re- 
mained four or five years, went to Mis- 
souri, married there to Eliza Carver. 
Both parents died, leaving four children 
near Lockridge, Jefferson county, Iowa. 
WILLIAM, born June n, 1812, near 
Cadiz, Ohio, came to Sangamon county in 
the spring of 1837, man ~ied Nov. i, 1839, 
to Martha Carver, and had three children 
in Sangamon county. ELIZA J., born 
March 3, 1843, married in 1860 to George 
Wolfe, have four children, and reside near 
German Prairie Station. SARAH E., 
born Feb. 25, 1846, married in 1860 to 
John C. Robinson. They have one child, 
MARTHA A., and reside half a mile south 
of Camp Butler. ALBERT, born April 
25, 1849, resides with his father. Mrs. 
Martha Bedingfer died Nov., 18^2, and 
Mr. B. was married Feb. 9, 1863, to Mrs. 
Sarah M. Greenslate, whose maiden name 
was Oliver. They reside half a mile south 
of Camp Butler. 

HENRY, born June 5, 1814, in Ohio, 
married in Sangamon county to Sophia 
Carver, had one child, and he died. She 
married Job Dickenson. 

MARY, born Jan. 6, 1818, in Ohio, 
arried in Sangamon county to Joseph 



Bumgardner. They had six children, 
four of whom died young. ADDISON 
and MATILDA F. reside with their par- 
ents, five miles east of Springfield. 

Mrs. Sophia Bedinger died in 1840, and 
Christian Bedinger died Oct., 1851, both 
in Sangamon county. 

BELL, ZEBULON, was born 
Nov. 1 8, 1799? m Gerrardstown, Berkley 
county, West Virginia. His grandfather, 
James Bell, was born and educated in 
Scotland. The exact date of his coming 
to America is unknown to his descendents. 
. He landed in Philadelphia, and being a mill- 
wright, built a snuff mill in that city, said 
to have been the first machine of the kind 
in America. He went from Philadelphia 
to Frederick county, Va. According to 
traditions in the family, he must have been 
almost a Hercules in physical strength. 
In connection with his business as a mill- 
wright and miller, he is said to have car- 
ried nine bushels of wheat up three flights 
of stairs at a single load. James Bell was 
married in Scotland to Ellen Nelson. 
They brought two children with them to 
America, John and James. The latter, born 
March 18, 1770, in Scotland, was too young 
to remember crossing the Atlantic ocean. 
This would imply that they came before 
or during the Revolution. He married 
Margaret Fulton, a native of Chester 
county, Penn. She was of Irish descent. 
They settled in Gerrardstown, Berkley 
county, West Va., where they had nine 
children, three, only, of whom are living. 
John, born March 23, 1798, resides in 
Quincy, Logan county, Ohio. Launcelot, 
born Dec. 5, 1801, resides near Taylorville, 
Christian county, Illinois, and Zebulon, in 
age between the two latter, is the one 
whose name heads this sketch. 

Zebulon Bell was married Sept. 20, 
1821, in Gerrardstown, Berkley county, 
West Va., to Rachel Swingle, who was 
born Dec. 20, 1801, in the same county. 
They had five children there, and moved 
to Sangamon county, 111., arriving May 6, 
1834, in what is now Woodside township, 
west of Sugar creek, and six miles south- 
east of Springfield, where five children 
were born. Of their ten children- 

BENONI, born July 24, 1822, in 
Berkley county, West Va., married in 
Sangamon county, March 21, 1847, * 
Eliza J. Wills. They had two living 
children. MARGARET C., born March 



SANGAMON COUNT*. 



107 



15, 1848, married, Nov. 25, 1868, to John 
M. Doake, who was born Oct. 3, 1844. 
They have three children, IVA, BENONI M. 
and MARY A., and reside six and a half 
miles southeast of Springfield. WIL- 
LIAM S. resides with his father. Mrs. 
Eliza J. Bell died Jan. 22, 1857, and Mr. 
Bell was married Oct. 12, 1859, in Madi- 
son, Ind., to Mrs. Anna Settle, whose 
maiden name was Taylor. She was born 
Dec. 17, 1833, m Lancaster county, Penn. 
They had five children, three died in in- 
fancy. CHARLES E. was killed by the 
kick of a horse, July 31, 1873, in his fifth 
year. ADA H. resides with her parents. 
Benoni Bell and wife reside within half a 
mile of where his parents settled in 1834. 
It is six and a half miles southeast or 
Springfield. 

JAMBS T., born Dec. 15, 1823, in 
Berkley county, West Va., enlisted in 
Sangamon county, Aug. 27, 1862, for 
three years, in Co. E., 114 111. Inf., served 
his full term, was honorably discharged, 
and now resides near Fountain, Colorado. 

MARIA C., born June 29, 1825, in 
Berkley county, Va., married in Sanga- 
mon county, July i, 1847, to John Bell, 
who was born Jan. 28, 1813, in. Pittsburg, 
Penn. They have one child, RACHEL 
A., born April 9, 1848, married John H. 
Shoup. See his name. John Bell and 
wife reside with their daughter, Mrs. 
Shoup, in Cotton Hill township. 

JOH^V W., born May 2, 1828, in 
Berkley county, Va., married in Sanga- 
mon county, to Sarah E. Gatton. They 
have seven children, viz: MARY C., 
SAMUEL L., JOHN W., ALICE J., 
RACHEL E., EMILY E. and CARY 
L., and reside near Fountain, Colorado. 

ZEBULON N., born April 19, 1830, 
in West Virginia, brought up in Sanga- 
mon county, is unmarried, and resides in 
Christian county, near Old Rienzi, San- 
gamon county. 

MARGARE 7^., born May 31, 1834, 
in Sangamon county, was married Feb. 
23, 1857, to Andrew Anderson, who was 
born in Garrard county, Ky., April 29, 
1832. They have seven children, ARA- 
BEL, AGNES M., RICHARD Y., 
ZEBULON J., MARY S., JAMES and 
RACHEL, and reside in Cotton Hill 
township. 

LAUNCELOT,\)ovn March 17, 1837, 
in Sangamon county, went to Pike's Peak 



in 1860, married there, March 21, 1865, to 
Lydia E. Roberts, who was born in Bour- 
bon county, Ky., Dec. 26, 1846. Of their 
children, MARY M., CLARINDA M., 
IVY FORREST, GEORGE S. and 
FLORA E. The two latter died young. 
Launcelot Bell and wife reside near Foun- 
tain, El Paso county, Colorado. 

STEPHEN, born April 19, 1839, in 
Sangamon county, enlisted August 27, 
1862, for three years, in Co. E., i i4th 111. 
Inf., was taken prisoner June 10, 1864, 
at the battle of Guntown, Miss. He 
spent four months in Andersonville prison 
pen, two weeks at Savannah, Ga., one 
month at Millen, Ga., and was exchanged 
at Savannah, Nov. 24, 1864. He rejoined 
his regiment, served full time, and was 
honorably discharged with the regiment. 
He was married in Sangamon county, 
Jan. 20, 1869, to Louisa L. Womack. 
They have three children, CORA G., 
MAY S. and JAMES E., and reside 
five miles south of Springfield. 

An incident, said to have taken place in 
Andersonville prison, went the rounds of 
the papers at the time, but its truthfulness 
was doubted. It had almost passed from my 
mind, until it was revived by Stephen 
Bell, who says that he was an eye-witness 
to the breaking out of a spring of pure 
water, und.er circumstances that seemed 
almost miraculous. It is not necessary to 
repeat the description of the prison, as 
that has been so often done. It is well 
known that inside the stockade there was 
a line, sometimes imaginary, called the 
"dead-line." If a prisoner crossed that 
line approaching the stockade, he was 
almost sure to be shot dead. A stream of 
water ran through the stockade from north 
to south. All the offal and filth from the 
camp of the rebel guards entered the 
stream above the stockade, and that was 
the only supply of water for the prisoners. 
About i oo yards east of and on ground 15 
or 20 feet above that dirty slough, and four 
or five feet inside the dead-line, or between 
that and the stockade, a stream of water 
spouted up ten or fifteen feet, where there 
was not the least appearance of water be- 
fore. Troughs were put up, and it was 
conducted inside the prison bounds. It 
took place about two o'clock in the after- 
noon, on a bright day in August, 1864. 
There had been a heavy rain the day be- 
fore, ttccompanied by a terrific thunder- 



io8 



EARLY SETTLERS OF 



storm. The torrents of water broke 
down the stockade where it crossed the 
slough. The opening was so wide that 
the rebel authorities feared the prisoners 
would attempt to escape. They caused 
cannon to be fired and their soldiers to 
shout and halloo, and make all the noise 
they could, and in every way present as 
great an appearance of force as possible. 
No effort was made to escape, the breach 
was mended, the waters subsided, the 
clouds passed away, and it was the next 
day, when all was bright and clear, that 
the stream of pure water spouted up from 
the earth. Stephen Bell says he was as 
near it at the time as any other person. 
He thinks that of the 28,000 prisoners con- 
fined there at the time, the larger portion 
of them regarded it as a direct interposi- 
tion of Providence in their behalf. Each 
one had his own way of expressing his 
feelings, some of them neither refined nor 
reverential, but none the less heart-felt and 
sincere. 

James H. Pulliam and Benj. F. Fletcher, 
whose histories may be found in this book, 
were in the prison at the time, and testify 
to the truthfulness of the above statement. 
Mr. Samuel Lewis, of Auburn, was not 
there at the time, but saw the spring after- 
wards. 

MART L., born March 30, 1842, in 
Sangamon county, married Samuel Rea- 
ton. They have three children, IDA, 
JAMES E. and FRANK, and reside 
near Fountain, Colorado. 

ARTHALINDA, bom Sept. 2, 1844, 
in Sangamon county, married Jan. 7, 1859, 
to Alexander Shoup. See his name. 

Mrs. Rachel Bell died Dec. 15, 1852, 
in Sangamon county, and Zebulon Bell 
moved west in 1859, and resides with his 
children, near Fountain, El Paso county, 
Colorado. 

BELL,, ROBERT, was born 
March 8, 1795, in Bourbon county, Ky. 
His father was born in Ireland, and had 
but four children, Robert, and three sisters. 
After his sisters were married, he had no 
knowledge of any relative in America, 
bearing his family name. He was a sol- 
dier from "Bourbon county in the war of 
1812. Robert Bell and Susannah Baker 
were married Feb. 12, 1818, in that coun- 
ty, and moved to Nicholas county, and 
from there they moved with their three 
children to Sangamon county, 111., arriv- 



ing in the fall of 1830, and settled four 
miles south of the present town of Roch- 
ester, where they had six children. Of 
their nine children 

ISAAC B., born June 25, 1820, near 
Carlisle, Nicholas county, Ky., married in 
Sangamon county, March 28, 1840, to 
Susan Stokes. They had six daughters 
in Sangamon county. CAROLINE M., 
born April 18, 1842, married March 29, 
1868, to Lawson H. Smith, who was 
born Feb. 20, 1831, in Carlisle, Ky. They 
have three children, CORDELIA A., \VM. 
RILEY and ANNA BELLE, and reside three 
miles southeast of Rochester. LOUISA 
J. resides with her parents. MARGA- 
RET A., born Sept. 30, 1846, married 
Jonathan G. Crouch. See his name. 
MARY E., EMILY T. and DEBORAH 
S. reside with their parents, one and a 
quarter miles west of Clarkesville. 

JAAfES H., born Nov. 30, 1822, in 
Nicholas county, Ky., married in Sanga- 
mon county, May 7, 1843, to Milla Dot- 
son, who was born Nov., 1822, in Loudon 
county, Va. They had four children. 
JOHN W., the second child, died under 
two years. ELIZA A., born Feb. 25, 
1844, married Sept. 4, 1864, to Benj. C. 
Gray, who was born August 12, 1832, 
near Hopkinsville, Ky. Mr. Gray has one 
child, CHARLES Y., by a former marriage. 
Mrs. Gray died Dec., 1874, and B. C. 
Gray resides near Clarkesville. HIRAM 
F., born Dec. 17, 1852, resides in Califor- 
nia. JAMES M., born August 6, 1836, 
lives with his father. Mrs. Milla Bell died 
March 16, 1870, and James H. Bell resides 
in Springfield. 

MART y., born June 6, 1828, in 
Nicholas county, Ky., married in Sanga- 
mon county, August 31, 1847, to John S. 
Dickerson, who was born April 2, 1824, 
in Nicholas county, Ky., and came to San- 
gamon county in 1851. They have six 
children. JAMES H., born June 24, 
1848, in Daviess county, Ind., raised in 
Sangamon county, graduated at the Eclec- 
tic Medical College of Philadelphia, and 
is a practicing physician near Taylorville. 
Dr. Dickerson was married in 1875 to 
Miss Humphreys. See Humphreys' fatu- 
ity sketch. ISAAC S., born August 28, 
1850, in Daviess county, Ind., married 
March 11,1873,111 Sangamon county, to 
Mary E. Bomhoff, who was born Sept. 
20, 1848, in Sangamon county. They 



SANGAMON COUNTY. 



109 



have one child, SINAI, and reside one mile 
west of Clarksville. ROBERT P., born 
Dec. 4, 1852, SARAH E., born Nov. 14, 
1854, MARY S., born Nov. 2, 1856, and 
ALMARINDA, born Jan. 29, 1859, the 
four latter in Sangamon county, reside 
with their parents, one and a quarter miles 
west of Clarksville. 

PHCEBE E., born Nov. i, 1830, in San- 
gamon county, married March, 1849, to 
John Johnson. See his name. 

ALMARINDA, born Sept. 25, 1832, 
in Sangamon county, married March 28, 
1 850, to James S. Galloway, who was born 
May 7, 1819, in Bath county, Ky. They 
had four children, two of whom died 
young. WILLIAM N. resides near 
Taylorville, and LIZZIE A. resides in 
Cotton Hill township. J. S. Galloway 
died Sept. 14, 1861, and his widow mar- 
ried, Nov. 7, 1865, to Benj. L. Auxier, 
and resides four miles south of Rochester. 

SQUIRE J., born August 10, 1834, 
died July 17, 1847. 

PRESTON B., born Feb. 26, 1837, 
in Sangamon county, married, August 9, 
1863, to Mary Bond, and resides in Roch- 
ester township. 

AUSTIN, born Feb. 13, 1839, was 
killed by the kick of a horse, March 10, 
1850. , 

MEL VIN, born Feb. 9, 1843, in San- 
gamon county, married, Oct. 12, 1865, to 
Rachel Martin, have two children, WIL- 
LIAM J. and ALICE, and reside at the 
Bell family homestead. He is a cripple 
for life, caused by a runaway team. 

Robert Bell died June 25, 1872, near 
IHiopolis, from injuries caused by a runa- 
way team four days previous. Mrs. Sus- 
annah Bell was made a cripple for life by 
the same accident. They Jiad lived more 
than 54 years as man and wife. She re- 
sides on the farm where they settled in 
1830, four miles south of Rochester. 

BELL, BAILEY, was born Nov. 
2, 1776, in Fauquier county, Va., and was 
there married to Nancy Foxworthy, who 
was born April 3, 1785. They had three 
children, and moved to Clarke county, 
Ky., in 1818, where two children were 
born, and thence to Sangamon county, 111., 
arriving in Nov., 1834, at Buffalo Hart 
Grove. Of their five children 

BAILEY F., born Dec. 30, 1807, in 
Fauquier county, Va., was married in 
Clarke county, Ky., Nov. 27, 1827, to 



Mahala Burns. They had one child in 
Kentucky, and the family moved to San- 
gamon county, 111., arriving in the fall of 
1831, in Buffalo Hart Grove, where they 
had six children, and reside near Knox- 
ville, Marion county, Iowa. 

ARIE,\)om Oct. n, i8n,in Fauquier 
county, Va., was married in Clarke coun- 
ty, Ky., Sept., 1834, to Thomas McGowan. 
They had five children, and reside near 
Buffalo Hart station. 

JAMES, born Sept. 13, 1814, in Vir- 
ginia, was married in Logan county, 111., 
to Nancy Brown. They have seven 
children, and reside in Rosemont, Jasper 
county, Iowa. 

BENJAMIN, born May 1 6, 1818, in 
Clarke county, Ky., was married in San- 
gamon county, Sept. 26, 1840, to Amanda 
Starr. They had six children. MARY 
E., born April 9, 1843, married Hugh 
McGorey, and died Oct. 14, 1865. EMI- 
LY, born Dec. 7, 1845, died Sept. n, 
1862. THOMAS J., born Sept. 28, 1848, 
died in his third year. WILLIAM, born 
Nov. 29, 1851, BENJAMIN, Jun., born 
March 29, 1856, and FLORENCE, born 
August 20, 1860, reside with their parents, 
in Logan county, three miles east of Buf- 
falo Hart station. 

THOMAS J., born June 1 8, 1821, in 
Clarke county, Ky., was married in Illi- 
nois to Ann Allen. They have six child- 
ren, CHARLES, ALBERT, CLARA, 
EMMA, ARTHUR, died in his tenth 
year, and LESLIE. Thomas J. Bell and 
family reside at Cornland, 111. 

Mrs. Nancy Bell died August 6, 1843, 
in Logan county, and Bailey Bell died 
Feb. 6, 1846, in Sangamon county, at 
Buffalo Hart Grove. 

BENHAM, JOHN T., born 
August 21, 1789, in Cheshire, New Haven 
county, Conn. In 1805 or 1806 his par- 
ents moved to Ferrisburg, Addison coun- 
ty, Vt. He was a soldier in the war of 
1812, and was in the battle at Vergennes, 
early in 1814. John T. Benham was mar- 
ried Jan., 1818, at Ferrisburg, to Catharine 
Porter. They had six children ; two died 
in Vermont. Mr. Benham moved with 
his family to Sangamon county, 111., in 
wagons, arriving in the fall of 1830. He 
entered land, and settled two and a half 
miles northeast of Rochester, where seven 
children were born. All except five died 
unmarried. Of those five 



no 



EARLY SETTLERS OF 



POLLT A., born Jan. 15, 1819, in 
Vermont, married Jonathan S. Rogers, 
and she died in Sangamon county. 

JOHN W., born Oct. 10, 1824, in 
Vermont, married Mrs. Melissa E. Porter, 
and resides in Pontiac, 111. 

CATHARINE, born July 23, 1826, 
in Vermont, married in Sangamon coun- 
ty, Oct. 3, 1843, to John Robinson. They 
had four children ; three died young. 
JOHN, Jun., accidentally shot and killed 
himself. John Robinson went to Cali- 
fornia in 1849, and was never heard of 
after 1851. His widow married Amos C. 
Derry. They have two children, and re- 
side in Illiopolis. 

HENRY W., born Oct. 30, 1830, in 
Sangamon county, married A-lmena Staf- 
ford. She died, and he married Mrs. 
Frances Austin, whose maiden name was 
Wood, and resides in Charlotte, 111. 

NOAH P., born April 14, 1836, in 
Sangamon county, was married March 9, 
1861, to Elizabeth Stevens, who was born 
Feb. 4, 1847, near Sandusky, Ohio. They 
have four children, MARY C., ERMIN- 
NIE W., GERTRUDE J. and JOHN 
O., and reside two and a half miles east of 
Rochester. 

Mrs. Catharine Benham died June, 1852, 
in Sangamon county, and Mr. Benham 
was married Sept. 7, 18^2, to Mrs. Mary 
Rakestraw, formerly Mrs. Seavers, and 
whose maiden name was Wallin. She 
was born July n, 1816, in Columbiana 
county, Ohio, and came to Illinois in 1837. 
Mr. Benham was in the Black Hawk war. 
Mr. and Mrs. B. reside two and a half 
miles northeast of Rochester. 

BENNETT, WILLIAM A,, 
was born Nov. 5, 1803, near Shepherds- 
town, Va. His father, Van Bennett, died 
in Virginia, and his two sons, William A. 
and Thomas L., with their three sisters, 
Luranah M., Ann Elizabeth and Mary, 
with their widowed mother, Mrs. Phoebe 
Bennett, all left Virginia, Oct. 2, 1833, for 
Illinois, arriving at Paris on the second of 
November. The two brothers came on 
to Springfield, bought land three miles 
east of the city, and returned to Paris just 
in time to be present at their mother's 
death, Dec. 12, 1833. The two brothers 
and three sisters moved to their farms in 
Sangamon county in March, 1834. The 
youngest sister, Mary, who was born 
Nov. 12, 1815, in Virginia, died April 17, 



1834, near Springfield. William A. Ben- 
nett was married August 19, 1843, in 
Morgan county, to Sarah A. Stevenson. 
She was born Oct. 2, 1819, in Scott coun- 
ty, Ky., and was taken bv her parents in 
1829, to that part of Morgan county which 
is now Cass county. Mr. and Mrs. Ben- 
nett had three children, namely 

MARY E., born March i, 1844, in 
Sangamon county, married May 26, 1869, 
to Charles F. Mills, who was born May 
29, 1843, at Montrose, Pa. They have 
two children, MINNIE and WILLIAM 
HENRY, and reside with Mrs. Mills' 
parents, three miles east of Springfield. 
Charles F. Mills was attending Shurtleff 
College, at Alton, 111., when the rebellion 
commenced. He enlisted August, 1862, 
for three years, in Co. C., H4th 111. Inf. 
He was soon after appointed by President 
Lincoln, hospital steward at Camp Butler, 
and remained there nearly three years, 
when, at his own request, in the fall of 
1864, he was ordered to Nashville, Tenn. 
Being in the regular service, his term did 
not expire with the suppression of the re- 
bellion, but he continued until the fall of 
1866, when he resigned, and was mustered 
out at Nashville, Tenn. 

WILLIAM A., Jun., and 

CHARLES S. died in infancy, 

William A. Bennett and his wife reside 
on the farm where he settled in 1834, 
three miles east of Springfield. 

BENNETT, LURANAH 
M., born March 7, 1807, in Jefferson 
county, Va., came with her brothers and 
sisters to Sangamon county, in 1834, re- 
mained several years, and returned on a 
visit, in 1842, to her native place, where 
she was married to Rev. Thomas P. W. 
Magruder, "of fche Presbyterian church, 
who moved with his family to Illinois in 
the spring of 1844. They have three 
children 

ALFRED W., resides at Central City, 
Colorado Territory. 

CHARLES V. resides with his par- 
ents. 

LIZZIE C. married Samuel S. Smith. 
They have two children, a son and a 
daughter, and reside near Rushville, 111. 

Rev. Thomas P. W. Magruder and 
wife reside near Rushville, Schuyler coun- 
ty, Illinois. 

"BENNETT, THOMAS L., 

was born July 6, 1809, in Jefferson county, 



SANGAMON COUNTT. 



i ii 



Va. For family history, see the sketch of 
his brother, William A. Thomas L. Ben- 
nett arrived in Sangamon county first in 
the fall of 1833. He was married Nov. 6, 
1842, at Jubilee College, Robins' Nest, 
Peoria county, 111., to Jeanetta S. Ingra- 
ham, a native of New York City. They 
had four children in Sangamon county 

AGNES, the youngest, died at ten 
years of age. 

HENRT, V. S., visited Greenwood 
county, Kansas, in the autumn of 1868, 
where his father and family joined him in 
the spring of 1869. 

SUSAN C. and 

SOPHIA went with their parents. 
The latter was married Oct. 12, 1871, 
in Kansas, to Alexander F. Crowe. 
They have one child, THOMAS B., and 
reside in Kansas, also. 

Thomas L. Bennett and family reside 
near Line Postoffice, Lyon county, Kan- 
sas. 

BENNETT, ANN F., born 
Dec. 10, 1813, in Jefferson county, Va., 
came to Sangamon county with her bro- 
thers and sisters, in 1834, was married in 
the Episcopal church, at Jacksonville, 111., 
to Samuel H. Treat, now Judge of the 
United States District Court, and resides 
in Springfield. 

BENNETT., REV. WM. T., 
was born Nov. 30, 1805, in or near Shep- 
herdstown, Jefferson county, Va. He 
united with the M. E. church in Shepherds- 
town, in 1828, was soon after licensed to 
exhort, came to Springfield, 111., in com- 
pany with his brother, Van S. Bennett, in 
Dec., 1834. He was married June 6, 
1836, in Ottawa, 111., to Rebecca J. Rob- 
erts, who was born Oct. 5, 1811, in Vir- 
ginia. When she was an infant her father 
liberated his slaves and moved to Wash- 
ington county, Pa. She came with the 
family of her uncle, Dr. James Roberts, 
to Jacksonville, 111., in 1833, and from 
there to Ottawa in 1834. Mr. and Mrs. 
Bennett made their home in Springfield. 
He was licensed as a local preacher, and 
in 1849 was appointed to take charge of 
the M. E. church in Springfield, to fill a 
vacancy. In 1850 he entered the travel- 
ing connection. They had seven children, 
all born in Sangamon county, namely 

ED WARD If'., born August 5, 1837, 
in Springfield, enlisted at Danville, in 
April, 1 86 1, on the first call for 75,000 



men, in Co. E., I2th 111. Inf., and served 
nearly six months. He enlisted June 24, 
1862, at Mechanicsburg, for three years, in 
Co. A., 73d 111. Inf.; was commissioned as 
ist Lieutenant. After the battle of Stone's 
river he was transferred, Jan. 8, 1863, and 
promoted to Capt. of Co. F, same regi- 
ment. He served as such to the end of 
the rebellion, and was mustered out with 
the regiment at Springfield, June 15, 1865. 
He was married at Mechanicsburg, Dec. 
23, 1869, to Harriet N. Fullinwider. They 
have two children, ANNA N. and 
JACOB H., and reside near Mechanics- 
burg. 

EMMA R., born Dec. 18, 1838, in 
Springfield, married August 14, 1861, to 
Stephen A. Short, who was born Oct. 7, 
1836, in Pickaway county, Ohio. He en- 
listed a few days before his marriage, for 
three years, in Co. A, 73d 111. Inf.; was 
appointed Sergeant, and was wounded 
July 20, 1864, at the battle of Peach Tree 
Creek, Ga., which terminated in the am- 
putation of his right leg, above the knee. 
Mr. and Mrs. Short have two children, 
LULU and EDITH L., and reside in 
Mechanicsburg. 

ANN T., born Dec. 1 6, -1841, died in 
her second year. 

ANNA L., born Nov. 13, 1842, in 
Springfield, died suddenly, Oct. 28, 1866, 
in Mechanicsburg. 

JOHN A., born Dec. 28, 1844, in 
Springfield, enlisted Dec., 1863, in Co. F, 
73d 111. Inf., for three years. He was 
killed June 24, 1864, at Kennesaw moun- 
tain, Ga., by a stray shot, while sitting in 
his tent writing a letter. His remains 
were brought home in 1866, and interred 
at Mechanicsburg. 

JULIA A. died Feb. 5, 1849, in her 
second year. 

REBIE H., born in Sangamon coun- 
ty, June 30, 1850, resides with her parents. 

Rev. Wm. T. Bennett continued in the 
effective work of the ministry until 1867, 
when he assumed the superannuated re- 
lation to 111. Conf., and in 1871 was super- 
annuated, and now resides in Mechanics- 
burg. 

Edward Bennett, the father of Rev. 
Wm. T. Bennett, liberated his slaves and 
sold his land, with the intention of mov- 
ing west, but died in Virginia in 1833. 
Edward was brother to Van S., who was 
the father of Win. A. Bennett. See his 



112 



EARLY SETTLERS OF 



name. It will thus be seen that Rev. 
Wm. T. Bennett and Mr. Win. A. Ben- 
nett are cousins. 

BENNETT, VAN S., was born 
Dec. 9, 1802, near Shepherdstown, Va., 
came to Springfield in 1834, with his bro- 
ther, Rev. Wm. T. He never married, 
and died in Sangamon county, Aug., 1873. 

BENNETT, MARGARET 
E., sister to Rev. Wm. T. Bennett, was 
born Dec. 24, 1800, near Sheperdstown, 
Va., came to Springfield, 111., in 1836, re- 
mained five years, returned to Virginia, 
and came back to Sangamon county in 
1841. She never married, and resides 
with her sister, Mrs. Kalb. 

BENNETT, ELIZA, (sister of 
Rev. Wm. T. Bennett,) was born Dec. 27, 
1810, near Hagerstown, Md. Her par- 
ents moved, when she was five years old, 
to Shepherdstown, Va., where they had 
previously resided. She was there mar- 
ried, May 20, 1832, to George W. Shutt. 
They had one child born in Shepherds- 
town, and Mr. Shutt died there in 1835. 
Mrs. Shutt, with her child, moved to 
Springfield, 111., arriving in May, 1836. 
After a residence of five years in Spring- 
field, she returned to Shepherdstown, Va., 
and was there married, Jan. 17, 1841, to 
Daniel G. Kalb, who was born Dec. 4, 
1815, in Frederick City, Md. They had 
two children in Shepherdstown, and 
moved to Washington count}-, Md., where 
they had one child; thence to Loudon 
county, Va., where they had one child, 
and from there to Springfield, 111., arriv- 
ing in October, 1849, where one child was 
born, and in 1856 moved to Round Prairie, 
four miles east by south of Springfield. 
Of her children by her first marriage 

GEORGETTA, born July 18, 1835, 
in Shepherdstown, Va., was married Jan. 
i, 1853, in Springfield, 111., to Philip L. 
Shutt, who was born Nov. 18, 1829, in 
Loudon county, Va. They had eleven 
children, five of whom died young. The 
other six, FRANKLIN, MAGGIE, 
CHARLES, PAUL, HARRY and 
LAURA, reside with their parents in 
Paris, Edgar county, 111. 

Children of her second marriage 

MARTABNER,\>oi-n Dec. 12,1841, 
in Shepherdstown, Va., resides with her 
parents. 

ETHELBERT, born Sept. 18, 1843, 
in Shepherdstown, Va., brought up in 



Sangamon county, and enlisted at Spring- 
field, August 20, 1 86 1, for three years, in 
Co. B., 33d 111. Inf. He served more than 
his full time, and was honorably dis- 
charged, Oct. u, 1864. He is now in 
business in St. Louis. 

WILLJAM E. B., born August 2, 
1846, in Washington county, Md., brought 
up in Sangamon county, 111., enlisted at 
Springfield, March 26, 1864, for three 
years, in Co. G., H4th 111. Vol. Inf., and 
was killed in battle of Guntown, Miss., 
June 10, 1864. 

GEO. BROOK, born Dec. 4, 1848, in 
Loudon county, Va., is a dealer in musical 
instruments in Springfield. 

JULIA M., born Nov. 16, 1854, in 
Springfield, died June 10, 1859. 

Daniel G. Kalb and wife reside at Wil- 
low Dale, one mile northeast of Sanga- 
mon Station. Mr. Kalb was a local 
preacher in the M. E. church from Feb. 
6, 1847, until 1864. His license was signed 
at eight annual renewals by Rev. Peter 
Cartwright, but when it expired in 1864, 
he declined to have it renewed. He was 
engaged in teaching from 1837 to 1854. 
Mr. Kalb enlisted August n, 1862, in Co. 
G., ii4th 111. Vol. Inf., for three years. 
Finding it quite oppressive to march with 
his knapsack and haversack, he obtained 
a wheelbarrow, and not meeting with op- 
position from officers, ran it hundreds of 
miles, and often carried the baggage of 
sick and disabled comrades. He has the 
wheelbarrow yet, and it will doubtless be 
handed down as a memorial of the war to 
suppress the rebellion, and the part he 
acted in it. 

BENNETT, JOHN A., (bro- 
ther to Rev. Wm. T. Bennett,) was born 
near Shepherdstown, Va., came to Spring- 
field in 1835, with George R. Weber, and 
died Dec. 23, 1841. 

BENNINGTON, JAS. M., 
was born May 20, 1826, in Owen county, 
Ind. His father died in 1838, and in his 
1 3th year, he came to Sangamon county 
with his half brother, John Hartsock. 
They arrived Feb. 22, 1839, in what is 
now Ball township. James M. Benning- 
ton was married Sept. 30, 1869, to Mrs. 
Nancy Nuckolls, whose maiden name was 
Drennan. They have one son, JOHN, 
and reside four miles west of Pawnee. 

John Hartsock, half brother to Mr. 
Bennington, married Susan demons, who 



SANGAMON COUNT?. 



died, and he married Mrs. Mary A. Pul- 
liam, whose maiden name was Levi. They 
reside in Christian county. 

Two brothers of Mr. Bennington, Sam- 
uel and Harrison, came to Sangamon coun- 
ty with their mother in 1841, and were 
consequently too late to be included as 
early settlers. 

B E E RS, PHI LO, was born July 
1 6, 1793, in Woodbury, Conn. When he 
was about fifteen years old he was put 
to live with an elder brother, probably 
on account of the death of his parents. 
They could not agree, and he ran 
away, and was gone twelve or thirteen 
years, without his relatives hearing from 
him. During his ramblings he become 
acquainted with Doctor Joseph Bennett 
Stillman, who introduced him to his 
mother and sisters, at Morganfield, Ky. 
Mr. Beers always said that he made 
up his mind, on their first acquaintance, to 
have Miss Martha Stillman for a wife. 
The Stillman family moved to Sangamon 
county, 111., and Mr. Beers went to Car- 
lyle, Clinton county, same State. He was 
first elected a justice of the peace, and 
after serving for a time, was elected to 
represent Clinton county in the Legisla- 
ture of Illinois, when it assembled in Van- 
dalia. While residing at Carlyle he was 
married in what is now Williams town- 
ship, Sangamon county, on the farm of 
John Poorman. In response to a letter of 
inquiry, the author of this book received 
from the clerk of Madison county, 111., a 
reply, dated April 29, 1874, in which it is 
stated that a license was issued at Ed- 
wardsville, Oct. 27, 1820, for the marriage 
of Philo Beers and Martha Stillman; that 
it was returned, endorsed by Elder 
Stephen England, with the statement that 
he had solemnized the marriage Nov. 2, 
1820. The clerk also stated that it was 
the 279th license issued from that office. 
They are believed to have been the first 
couple ever married north of the .Sanga- 
mon river in the State of Illinois; certainly 
the first in what is now Sangamon county. 
The first marriage under a license from 
Sangamon county was between Wm. 
Moss and Margaret Sims, April 20, 1821. 
Mr. Beers took his bride to Carlyle, where 
they had two children. They moved to 
Sangamon county, and settled three miles 
southwest of Williamsville, where one 
child was born. Of their three children 



JOSEPH B., born and died at Car- 
lyle in infancy. 

HENRY CLAT, born in 1824, at 
Carlyle. Philo Beers was the only man 
living in Carlyle who voted for Henry 
Clay for President of the United States 
that year, and the citizens insisted that the 
babe should be named for his father's can- 
didate. Henry Clay Beers was married 
in 1848, in Sangamon county, to Adelaide 
C. McNabb. They had one child, WM. 
PHILO, who died, aged two years. H. C. 
Beers died in 1851, in Springfield. His 
widow married Adolphus Rogers, and 
resides near Cincinnati. He is a merchant 
there. 

CAROLINE M., born Feb. 20, 1827, 
in Sangamon county, married in Spring- 
field, May 13, 1847, to Elder Andrew J. 
Kane. See his name. 

Mrs. Martha Beers died in 1845, an( ^ 
Philo Beers died March, 1858, both in 
Springfield. Mr. Beers moved into Spring- 
field and built a brick dwelling house at 
the northwest corner of Madison and 
Fifth streets, about 1830. It was among 
the first, if not the first, brick dwelling 
erected in Springfield. 

BEERUP, ANDREW, born 
Dec. 12, 1812, in Canandagua county, N. 
Y., and raised in Canada, came to Spring- 
field, 111., in 1837 or '8. He was married 
July 2, 1840, in Sangamon county, to Mary 
A. Maltby, who was born Nov. 27, 1819. 
They had nine children in Sangamon 
county, five of whom died young. Of 
the other four 

CHARLES A., born April 27, 1841, 
married Jan. 14, 1864, to Mary Babcock, 
who was born Jan. 22, 1844, in Musking- 
um county, Ohio. They have three 
children, John R., ALICE J. and LEE 
C., and reside six miles west of Spring- 
field. 

THOMAS A., born June 27, 1843, 

GEORGE E., born Oct. 10, 1854, and 

WILLIA I/ //., born June 10, 1858, 
all reside with their brother, Charles A. 

Andrew Beerup died Nov. 26, 1872, and 
his widow died Sept. 27, 1873, both in 
Gardner township. 

BEERUP, THOMAS, brother 
of Margaret, Andrew and William, was 
born Sept. 17, 1819, in Canandagua coun- 
ty, N. Y. Came to Springfield June 3, 
1840, and witnessed a grand log cabin 
demonstration of the political campaign of 



114 



EARLT SETTLERS OF 



that year to elect a President of the United 
States, as his introduction to the city. 
He was married July 26, 1843, to Sinai A. 
Neale. They had seven children born in 
Sangamon county, namely 

THOMAS N., born Oct. 12, 1844, in 
Sangamon county, enlisted Aug. 9, 1862, 
in Co. B, 114 111. Inf., at Springfield. He 
was wounded at the battle of Jackson, 
Miss., May 14, 1863. A rebel musket 
ball broke his arm (being the first man in 
the regiment to receive a wound). He 
was captured in hospital two days later, 
paroled at Richmond, Va., a month later, 
and was honorably discharged at St. Louis, 
Nov. 17, 1863. He now draws a pension, 
and resides with his parents. 

HALL IE E., born April 15, 1846, in 
New Castle, Henry county, Ky., married 
Nov. 30, 1865, to Edward B. Winslow. 
They have two children, BDWIN M. 
and PRESTON A., 'and reside in Girard, 
III. 

GEO. N., born June 20, 1848, in New 
Castle, Henry county, Ky., died Sept. 15, 
1850. 

PRESTON J., born Jan. 21, 1851, in 
Springfield, Sangamon county, 111., died 
March i, 1872. 

ED WIN M., born in Waverly, Mor- 
gan county, Sept. 13, 1855, died Jan. 8, 
1864. 

MERRIAN E., born Jan. 1 1, 1858, in 
Waverly, 111., died Oct. 8, 1869. 

NE VILLE B., born Nov. 3, 1859, in 
Waverly, 111., resides with his parents. 

Thomas Beerup and wife reside one- 
half mile south of Chatham. 

BEERUP, WILLIAM W., 

was born Sept. 6, 1822, at Sidney, Cana- 
da, and came to Sangamon county in 1843 
to join his brothers, Andrew and Thomas. 
He married Catharine E. Tolley, See 
the Tolley name. 

BEERUP MARGARET, sis- 
ter of Andrew, Thomas and William W., 
was born June 18, 1829, at Beamsville, Can- 
ada, came to Sangamon county, 111., June, 
1844, and was married at Havana, 111., 
June 18, 1849,10 Levi Harpham, who was 
born Dec., 1821, at Hartford, Ohio coun- 
ty, Indiana. They have five children, 
namely 

GEO. E., ALICE J., CHARLES 
F., LEE W. and SILAS ELMER, 
and reside near Havana, 111. 



BEERUP, JANE, sister to An- 
drew, Thomas and William W. Beerup, 
and to Mrs. Margaret Harpham. She 
married Marvin Pond. See his name. 

BERGEN, REV. JOHN G., 
D. D.,was born Nov. 27, 1 790, at Hights- 
town, Middlesex county, N. J., ten miles 
east of Princeton, N. J. Of his ancestors 
the history is preserved for seven genera- 
tions, which will be found designated by 
numbers, ist. Hans Hansen Bergen was 
born in Bergen, Norway. He was a ship car- 
penter, and went to Holland; from there 
he emigrated to New Amsterdam, now 
New York city, arriving in 1633. In 
1639 he was married to Sarah Rapalje 
(now Rapalye). She was born June 9, 
1622, about where Albany, N. Y., now 
stands, and is believed to have been the 
first child of European parentage born in 
in the colony of New Netherlands, which 
then included the present States of New 
York, New Jersey and part of Connecti- 
cut. Hans Hansen Bergen and Sarah 
Rapalje, his wife, had four sons and four 
daughters. 2nd. Joris, Jores, or George, 
their fifth child, was baptized in New 
Amsterdam, July 18, 1649, and married 
Aug. n, 1678, to Sara Stryker. They 
had nine children, and their fourth child. 
3rd. Hans Jorise Bergen was baptized 
Aug. 31, 1684, and married Aug. 16, 1711, 
to Sytje Evert Van Wicklen. They had 
five children. Their eldest son (4th), Jores, 
or George Bergen, married Miss Hoag- 
land. She had three children, and died. 
He married a second time, and had nine 
children. His eldest son (5th), John B. 
Bergen, born March 27, 1739, married 
June 8, 1763, to Sarah Stryker, who was 
born August 25, 1745. They had eight 
children. Their eldest son (6th), George I. 
Bergen, born June 16, 1 764, married in 1 789 
to Rebecca Combs. They had ten child- 
ren, all born in New Jersey. Their eldest 
son was (7th) John G., whose name heads 
this sketch. Both his parents being con- 
sistent Christians, he, under their training 
and example, became a member of the 
Presbyterian church, at thirteen years of 
age. He attended Baskingridge Acade- 
my, and when properly prepared entered 
the junior class at Princeton College, and 
graduated at seventeen years of age. 
Having chosen the ministry, he com- 
menced a theological course of study un- 
der Rev. Dr. John Woodhull, who had 



SANG AM ON COUNTY. 



been appointed by the Synod of New 
York and New Jersey, Professor of The- 
ology, in the absence of a seminary for 
that purpose. At 20 years of age he was 
licensed to preach the gospel. It was his 
desire to mount his horse, go to the west 
and commence preaching, but he was in- 
duced to accept the position of tutor in 
Princeton College in 1810. In Sept., 
1812, he resigned that position, and in Oct., 
1812, accepted a call as pastor of the Pres- 
byterian Church at Madison, N. J. Rev. 
John G. Bergen was married Nov. 10, 
1812, at Freehold, N. J., to Margaretta 
M. Henderson, vyho was born in 1793 in 
that city. Her father, Dr. Thomas Hen- 
derson, was a Judge, member of Con- 
gress, and a ruling Elder in the old Ten- 
nent church at Freehold. The pastor of 
that church, Rev. William Tennent, to all 
human appearance died, and after laying 
three days in what proved to be a trance, 
he opened his eyes just as they were clos- 
ing the coffin for the last time. 

Rev. J. G. Bergen was pastor of the 
church at Madison for about 16 years, 
during which time his labors were greatly 
blessed. They had five children born at 
Madison. George I. Bergen, the father 
of Rev. J, G. Bergen, was a merchant, 
and sustained such losses during the war 
with England, beginning in 1812, that he 
closed hig business, and in the summer of 
1818 emigrated to Woodford county, Ky. 
In 1824 Mr. G. I. Bergen, in company 
with a married son and daughter and their 
father-in-law, Major Conover, six persons 
in all, set out to explore Indiana, and 
camped near where Indianapolis now 
stands. They made up their minds to 
remain there, and one night while they 
were around their camp-fire, they were 
startled with the cry of "Who's here!" 
coming out of the darkness. The words 
were run together, and seemed like a sin- 
gle word, " Hoosier, " and this circum- 
stance is believed to have been the origin 
of that appellation for citizens of that 
State. The traveler who had thus uncer- 
emoniously approached them remained all 
night, and before he left next morning 
had convinced them that it was better to 
go and see the .prairies of Illinois. The 
result was that they settled in Jersey 
prairie, twelve miles north of Jacksonville, 
in Morgan, now Cass, county, 111. George 
I. Bergen died in 1625, and his widow 



married Rev. Mr. Kenner, in 1827, and 
they visited Mrs. Kenner's old home in 
New Jersey. While there her son, Rev. 
J. G. Bergen, resigned his pastorate of the 
church at Madison, Sept. 10, 1828, for the 
purpose of accompanying his mother to 
Illinois. The party started Sept. 22, 1828, 
going b) 1 the way of Lexington and 
Frankfort, Ky., to visit friends. After a 
journey of nearly 1,500 miles, they arrived 
at Springfield, Nov., 1828, bringing their 
five children, namely 

JANE ELIZA, born 1813, in Madi- 
son, N. J., came with her parents to 
Springfield. Soon after their arrival, her 
father built a house on his own lot at the 
south side of Washington street, between 
Fourth and Fifth streets, and in that she 
taught school in 1829. That was believed 
to have been the first school taught by a 
lady in Springfield. She was married in 
April, 1833 to Col. Robert Allen. See his 
name. 

CATHARINE H., born Sept. 21, 
1816, in New Jersey, married in Spring- 
field to Edward Jones. See his name. 

AMELIA M., born July, 1818, in 
New Jersey, married in Springfield, May, 
1840, to Joshua G. Lamb, a cousin of 
James L. Lamb. They are without fam- 
ily, and reside in Alton. 

THOMAS H., born Dec. 15, 1820, at 
Madison, Morris county, N. J., brought 
up in Springfield, married March 29, 1849, 
at Trenton, N. J., to Mary G. Cooley. 
She was born in that city, July 20, 1823. 
Soon after they were married they left for 
Springfield, and while on board a small 
steamboat on the Ohio river, near Wheel- 
ing, West Va., it blew up, killing 17 per- 
sons. They escaped with their lives, but 
lost their entire baggage. They are with- 
out family, and reside one mile east of 
Springfield. 

GEORGE, born April 5, 1824, at 
Madison, Morris county, X. J., brought 
up in Springfield, 111., is unmarried, and 
resides one mile east of Springfield. 

Mrs. Margaretta M. Bergen died Oct. 
1 8, 1853, near Springfield, 111. Dr. Ber- 
gen was married at the latter place, Nov. 
9, 1857, to Mrs. Susan A. Vunhoff. Rev. 
Dr. J. G. Bergen died Jan. 17, 1872, and 
his widow resides in Springfield. 

Dr. Bergen, describing Springfield as 
he first saw it, said it was composed of 
about thirty-five log cabins, two or three 



u6 



small frame houses, without a place of 
divine worship other than a log school 
house just built. That school house stood 
in the street at the crossing of Adams and 
Second streets, in a thicket of hazel and 
brier bushes, and a few tall oaks. It was 
built in the street because (he says) the 
town authorities and owners of the lots 
were too penurious to donate the land. 
Rev. J. G. Bergen found a Presbyterian 
Church that had been organized Jan. 30, 
1828, by Rev. John M. Ellis, a missionary 
from the southern part of the State. It 
was without a house of worship. He 
took charge of the church, and on the 
second Sabbath after his arrival he gave 
notice to the little church and the people 
generally, that he came to Springfield, 
not to make an experiment, but to live, 
labor and die on the field with his armor 
on, and then said: " Come, let us rise up 
and build a house for God. " A brick 
house was accordingly built at the east 
side of Third street, between Washington 
and Adams. He says that was the first 
church built in the central part of the 
State for any Protestant denomination. 
The Methodists of Springfield were build- 
ing a frame house of worship at the same 
time, but they were a few weeks later in 
finishing it. The original members of the 
First Presbyterian Church were Mrs. 
Elizabeth Smith, widow of Rev. John 
Blair Smith, D. D., mother of Mrs. Dr. 
John Todd. The Presbyterian Church of 
Springfield was organized in her house. 
The other members were John Moore, 
John N. Moore, Andrew Moore, Mary 
Moore, Elizabeth Moore, Margaret 
Moore, Catharine Moore, Phoebe Moore, 
James White, Elijah Scott, Jane Scott, 
Samuel Reed, Jane Reed, William Proc- 
tor, Sarah Stillman, Nancy R. Hum- 
phreys, Ann lies and Olive Slater, nine- 
teen in all ; five only lived in Springfield. 
Some lived forty miles distant. The 
Ruling Elders were John Moore, John 
N. Moore, Samuel Reed and Isaiah Still- 
man. Rev. J. G. Bergen preached, as 
stated supply, until 1835, when he received 
a formal call to become Pastor of the 
church, and was installed Nov. 15 of that 
year. That was the only Presbyterian 
Church in the country at that time. Six 
churches have been organized by colonies 
from that church (two of them in the 
city). During the ministry of Rev. Mr. 



Bergen, from 1828 to 1848, when he re- 
signed the pastorate, five hundred were 
added to the church. When he came to 
Springfield he was the eighth Presbyte- 
rian minister in the State, and the farthest 
north of any of them. There were 
twenty-five churches under the care of 
these eight ministers. He lived to see, 
including both branches of the Presbyte- 
rian and the Congregational churches, 600 
ministers and 800 churches in the State. 
He assisted in forming the first Presbytery 
and first Synod in the State; was the first 
Moderator of each. When the Old and 
New school churches were reunited in 
1869, he was the first Moderator of the 
United Synod. 

In 1854, without any previous intima- 
tion of their intentions, Center College, at 
Danville, Ky., conferred on the Rev..John 
G. Bergen the Degree of D. D. 

After his resignation as pastor of the 
First Church, he devoted much of his 
time to writing for the religious press, 
over the signature of " Old Man of the 
Prairies." He has left two large scrap 
books full of these writings. 

BERRY, ROBERT E., was 
born Dec. 3, 1823, in Davidson county, 
near Nashville, Tenn. When a child his 
parents moved, first into Madison, and 
then into Gibson county,- in the same 
State. From there they moved to Wil- 
liamson county, 111., and from there to 
Christian county, in 1844. Robert E. left 
his parents in Williamson county, and 
come to Sangamon county, in what is 
now Cooper township, in Dec., 1840. He 
was married Sept. 8, 1850, to Elizabeth 
Stokes, who was born Aug. 6, 1832. 
They had one child 

AMANDA M., who died at the age of 
seven years. Mrs. Berry died Sept. 25, 
1853, and Mr. Berry was married Oct. 8, 
1856, to Sophia Barger. They have seven 
children, namely 

WILLIAM, FRANCIS M. and 
BENJAMIN F., twins F. M. died in 
his sixth year LA URA E., EMMA D., 
LIZZIE and CHARLES-, the six liv- 
ing, reside with their parents. 

Robert E. Berry resides at Berry post- 
office, Clarksville, Sangamon county. 

BETTIS, JAMESH., was born 
Oct. 18, 1811, in Lincoln county, Ky. 
His parents moved to Hamilton county, 
O., in 1818. James H. came to Sangamon 



SANGAMON COUNTT. 



county in 1839. He was married July 28, 
1844, in what is now Auburn township, to 
Elizabeth Fletcher. They had six children 
in Sangamon county, and in 1855 moved 
to Missouri. In 1864 they moved back to 
Sangamon county. Of their children 

OLIVER F., born in Sangamon 
county, married June 20, 1866, to Jane 
Patterson. They reside in Auburn town- 
ship. 

REBECCA J., born in Sangamon 
county, married Franklin Nicholson, and 
reside near Virden. 

JAMES W., MARTHA E., NAN- 
CY A. and JOHN JR., the four latter 
reside with their parents in Auburn town- 
ship. 

The parents of J. H. Bettis moved 
from Ohio to DeWitt county, 111., before 
he came to the State. After his father's 
death, his mother came to Sangamon 
county, in 1842, and died in 1850. She 
was born in Garrard county, Ky., in 1780, 
and is believed to have been the first 
white child born in that county. 

BEVANS, JpHN, was born in 
Maryland, and married, near Snow Hill, 
to Mary Rounds. They had six children, 
and she died. He married Margaret 
Jones, and had one child in Maryland. 
The family moved to Woodford county, 
Ky., and from there to Sangamon county, 
111., arriving, in 1828, in Island Grove, 
south of Spring creek. Of his seven 
children 

MARl^HA, born in Maryland, mar- 
ried in Kentucky to Alexander Mont- 
gomery, came to Sangamon county in 
1828. They had six children, and the 
parents died in Berlin. Their only child 
living in Sangamon county, MARTiN, 
resides in Springfield. 

WILLIAM, born in Maryland, mar- 
ried, had two children, and died near 
Chillicothe, O. 

DRUZILLA, born in Maryland, mar- 
ried at Island Grove to Fielding Jones, 
have six children, and reside near As- 
sumption, Christian county 111. 

BARSHEBA, born" in Maryland, 
married in Kentucky to Hiram Bailey, 
and died in Indiana. 

JOHN D., born Oct. 5, 1813 in Wor- 
cester county, near Snow Hill, Md., came 
to Sangamon county in 1828. married at 
Island Grove, Jan" 2, 1842, to Nancy 
Foutch. They had eight children: 



THOMAS F., born in Sangamon county 
June 19, 1843, married March 27, 1870, at 
Carbondale, to Carrie L. Collins, who 
was born Oct. 3, 1850, at Wheeling, Va. 
They have one child, EDDIE F., and reside 
in Berlin. The other seven were born in 
Wapello county, Iowa, two of whom 
died young. MARY R., born Sept. 
24, 1847, in Iowa, married Hawes 
Yates. See his name. JOHN D., Jun., 
born Nov. 10, 1850, and HENRY K., 
reside with their mother. MARTHA 
resides with her sister, Mrs. Yates. 
RACHEL lives with her mother. John 
D. Bevans died Jan. 13, 1858, in W'apello 
county, Iowa. His widow resides in Ber- 
lin. 

NANCY, born in Maryland, was mar- 
ried at Island Grove to Amon Blaney. 
Both died in St. Clair county. 

By the second marriage 

SARAH, born in 1824, in Maryland, 
married near Berlin to Thomas G. Men- 
denhall, and reside at Berlin. 

John Bevans died in March, 1837, an< ^ 
Mrs. Margaret Bevans died April, 1859, 
both in Island Grove township. 

BICE, JOHN, born Nov. 4, 1808, 
in Henry county, Ky. He came to San- 
gamon county in 1834, and was married 
May 5, 1835, near Mechanicsburg, to 
Mary A. Pickrell. They settled in what 
is now Williams township, one and a half 
miles north of the present town of Bar- 
clay. They had six children there 

SARAH E., born Feb. 8, 1836, mar- 
ried James F. Hickman. See his name. 

JESSE W., born Oct. 21, 1837, en ' 
listed in Co. A. 3rd 111. Cavalry, Aug. 14, 
1 86 1. He was promoted for meritorious 
conduct at Pea Ridge, to Lieutenant, 
afterwards to Captain, and the last ten 
months he served with the rank of Major. 
He was honorably discharged in Nov., 
1865. In Dec. following he was appointed 
assistant assessor of internal revenue, until 
the office was abolished by Congress, May 
20, 1873. J. W. Bice was married Sept. 
19, 1872, to Belle W r arinner, daughter of 
the late Dr. Warinner, of Bloomington. 
They have one child, JESSIE BELLE. 
Major Bice is now Deputy Sheriff of 
Sangamon county, and resides in Spring- 
field. 

BENJAMIN F. born June 28, 1840, 
enlisted in Co. B, i3Oth 111. Vol. Inf., and 
was mustered in at Camp Butler, Aug. i, 



n8 



EARLY SETTLERS OF 



1862. He was appointed 2nd Sergeant 
of same company, at Memphis, Tenn., 
Nov. 26, 1862, and served until Aug. n, 
1865, when he was mustered out by spe- 
cial order at New Orleans, La., for the pur- 
pose of accepting a commission from Gov. 
R. J. Oglesby, dated July 26, 1865, as 
2nd Lieut. Co. D, 3Oth 111. Vol. Inf. He 
was honorably discharged Aug. 12, 1865. 
B. F. Bice was married in Dec., 1867, to 
Bertha Owen. They have three children, 
MARY, EMMA G. and EVA, and re- 
side near Elkhart, Logan county, Illinois. 

ABEL P., born Dec. 3, 1842. He was 
married in 1863 to Melissa C. Blue. They 
have three children, JOHN H., AR- 
THUR L. and NETTIE B., and reside 
two miles north of Barclay. 

SUE E. resides with her sister, Mrs. 
J. F. Hickman, at the homestead where 
her parents settled in 1835. 

JOHN H., born Feb. 1 1, 1848, enlisted 
in 1863 in i6th United States Inf. Served 
three years, and was honorably discharged 
in 1866. He was afterwards employed on 
the Toledo, Wabash & Western railroad, 
and was killed by an accident Jan. 31, 
1871. 

John Bice, died March 14, 1848, at the 
family homestead, and his widow resides 
with her sister, Mrs. Hall, at Buffalo. 

BICE, SUSAN, born in Henry 
county, Ky., married there to Elijah 
Utterbach. See his name. 

BILLINGS, ROBERT, was 
born Jan., 1801, in Dorchester county, 
Md. Mary Dean was born April 6, 1810, 
in Somerset county, Md. They were 
married Oct., 1829, in Sussex county, Del- 
aware, and had two children born in Sum- 
mit county, Md. They moved into 
Baltimore county, where one child was 
born and died, and then moved to Sanga- 
mon county, 111., arriving Oct. 1840, in 
what is now Rochester township, and had 
nine children in Sangamon county. Of 
their children 

NANCT E., born July 15, 1830, in 
Maryland, married in Sangamon county 
to John Short, had one child, and Mrs. 
Short died. 

MART E., born Feb. 15, 1833, in 
Maryland, married in Sangamon county 
to James Wilson, have two children, and 
reside in Cotton Hill township. 

WILLIAM EDWARD, born in 
Sangamon county, died in his 23d year. 



GEORGIANN, born in Sangamon 
county, married Samuel Long, had one 
child, and Mr. Long died, and she married 
Win. Thompson. They have three 
children, and reside near Lincoln. 

SUSAN JANE,\)o\:n in Sangamon 
county, married John Popp, have three 
children, and reside in Cotton Hill town- 
ship. 

CHARLES //"., born in Sangamon 
county, married Mrs. Martha Mortar. 
He died July 31, 1871. 

JOANNA, born in Sangamon county, 
resides with her parents. 

CHARLOTTE married John Miller, 
have two children, and reside two and a 
half miles south of Rochester. 

CAROLINE married William Glenn. 
They have two children, and reside three 
miles south of Rochester. 

JENNIE, born in Sangamon county, 
Oct. 29, 1853, resides with her parents. 

Robert Billings and his wife reside two 
and a half miles south of Rochester. 

BILLINGTON, JOHN, was 
born Sept. 29, 1819, in the town of 
Shrewsbury, Shrophshire, England. He 
came to the United States, landing in New 
York in June, and arrived early in Aug., 
1840, at Springfield. He lived several 
years in the family of Willard Tinney, on 
Richland creek, to learn farming. He 
had learned the business of baker and 
confectioner in England, and established 
himself in that business in Springfield. 
He was married, in Springfield, to Eliza- 
beth A. Cannon. She died Nov., 1851, 
not leaving any children. He was married 
March 24, 1853, at Buffalo Hart grove, to 
Rachel Constant. They have one child 

MART J., and reside at Dawson. 

Mr. Billington erected a residence for 
hirnself, where Dawson now stands, in 
1854, before there was any station or town 
laid out. When the postofHce was estab- 
lished in that year, he was appointed Post- 
master, which he held about seven years. 
He was also the first station and express 
agent at that place, and is yet (1874) acting 
in that capacity. Mr. Billington's parents, 
four brothers and one sister, came later. 
These were William, the civil engineer, 
now deceased. Thomas resides at 
Mt. Pulaska, Henry at Waynesville, 
James and Mary A. 

BILYEU, PETER, was born 
in 1777, in Alleghany county, Md., and 



SAN GAM ON COUNTY. 



119 



was taken by his parents to Green river, 
Ky. He was there married to Diana 
Blackwill. They had two children in 
Kentucky, and moved to Overton county, 
Tenn., where twelve children were born; 
two died young. The family moved to 
Sangamon county, 111., arriving Oct. i, 
1829, in what is now Loami township, 
where one child was born. Of their 
children 

SARAH, born Nov. 26, 1801, in Ken- 
tucky, married March 23, 1819, to William 
Workman. See his name. 

JOHN, born in 1803, in Kentucky, 
married Elizabeth Workman in Tennes- 
see, came to Sangamon county, raised a 
large family, moved to Christian county, 
and died there in 1867. 

L YDIA, born in Tennessee, married 
David Workman. See his name. 

NANCY, born in Tennessee, married 
Jacob Teeple, moved to Missouri, raised 
a family, and he died there. She died in 
Christian county, 111. 

IS A A C, born in Tennessee, married 
Polly Bilyeu, raised a family, and resides 
in Missouri. 

GEORGE, born in Tennessee, mar- 
ried Elizabeth Workman, raised a family, 
and resides in Christian county. 

E LIZ ABE 777 married Richard Bil- 
yeu. He was killed in time of the rebel- 
lion, in Miller county, Mo., leaving a 
widow and several children there. 

POLLY married James McMullen, 
have children, and reside in Missouri. 

DIANA married Thomas Greening, 
who died, and she married Stephen Work- 
man, Jun. He died, leaving a widow and 
four children in Christian county. 

HANNAH married John WyckofT. 
He died in Christian county. His family 
reside in Missouri. 

CYNTHIA, born Aug. 29, 1827, in 
Tennessee, married in Sangamon county 
to Levi Harbour, Jun. See his name. 

MINER VA married Robert Fowler, 
and resides in Kansas. 

Peter Bilyeu died July 7, 1863, and his 
widow died Sept., 1865, both in Christian 
county, 111. , 

BIRD FAMILY, John Bird was 
born Jan. i, 1767, in Essex countv, N. J., 
and when a young man, went to Wash- 
ington, Mason county, Ky. Abigail Au- 
ter was born May 26, 1780, in Essex 
county, N. J., also, and in 1798 went with 



her widowed mother and two sisters to 
Washington, Ky. John Bird and Abigail 
Auter were married there in 1801. They 
had ten children in Mason county, Ky., 
and the entire family moved, in 1825, to 
Harrison county. John Bird died there, 
of cholera, July 15,1833. Their daughter, 
Sarah, who was married to Jesse Folks, 
died six days before her father, and their 
son John, in his thirteenth year, died seven 
days after his father, all of the same 
disease. Mrs. Bird, with some of her 
children, came to Sangamon county, 111., 
arriving Sept. 6, 1835, ' n wnat ' s n w 
Mechanicsburg township. Her other 
children came the next vear. Mrs. Abi- 
gail Bird died in Sangamon county. Of 
her eight children who came to the 
county 

BIRD, MORRIS, was born Feb. 
19, 1803, in Mason county, Ky., married, 
March 29, 1827, in Harrison county, to 
Sarah Brannock, who was born July 24, 
1808, in Bourbon county, Ky. They had 
four children in Harrison county; one died 
in infancy, and they moved to Sangamon 
county, 111., in 1835, an< ^ settled near Me- 
chanicsburg, where they had twelve child- 
ren, eleven of whom died in infancy, and 
Margaret died, aged nine years. Of the 
other three 

MARY A. C., born Nov. 5, 1828, in 
Harrison county, Ky., married in Sanga- 
mon county, Feb. 21, 1856, to Miles H. 
Wilmot, who was born Jan. 5, 1825, in 
Caswell county, N. C., and came to San- 
gamon county in 1854. He has three 
children by a former wife; two daughters, 
married, and a son. All reside near Shel- 
by, Iowa. M. H. Wilmot and wife have 
no children except an adopted daughter, 
ELLA WILMOT. They reside half a 
mile east of Illiopolis. Mr. Wilmot has 
been elected five years in succession, to 
represent Illiopolis township in the Board 
of Supervisors of Sangamon county, be- 
ginning with the election of April, 1870. 
He was chairman of the board for 1872 
and '3. He also served five years as Justice 
of the Peace and Police Magistrate in 
Mechanicsburg and Illiopolis. 

JOHN M., born April 23, 1834, in 
Harrison county, Ky., raised in Sangamon 
county, married in Griggsville, Pike coun- 
ty, 111., Oct. 6, 1859, to Frances E. Green- 
leaf, daughter of Rev. Calvin Greenleaf, 
of the Baptist church. She was born in 



120 



EARLY SETTLERS OF 



Pike county, June 15, 1841. Mr. and 
Mrs. Bird had three children, CLAR- 
ENCE I. died in his third year. NEL- 
LIE M. and CALVIN MORRIS reside 
with their parents, in Mechanicsburg. 

GEORGE W., horn Nov. 16, 1849, 
in Sangamon county, resides with his par- 
ents. 

Morris Bird and wife reside at Mechan- 
icsburg. He was commissioned as Post- 
master at Mechanicsburg, March 28, 1848, 
during the administration of President 
Taylor, and has held the office under all 
administrations to the present time. 

BIRD, RICHARD, was born 
Nov. 19, 1804, in Mason county, Ky. He 
united with the M. E. church, in 1824, and 
commenced preaching in 1827. His first 
circuit was in the southern part of the 
State, and extended into Tennessee. By 
a singular coincidence, his colleagues bore 
such names as to indicate that the trio be- 
long to the feathered species of animated 
nature, Crow, Martin and Bird. Rev. 
Richard Bird was married, March 8, 1832, 
in Shelby county, Ky., to Lucinda N. 
Fullinwider. They had two children in 
Kentucky, and came to Sangamon county, 
111., settling near Mechanicsburg, and at 
once united with the 111. Conf. M. E. 
church, and commenced the work of a 
traveling preacher. They had seven 
children in Illinois, three of whom died 
under seven years. The two born in Ken- 
tucky died in Illinois, one at five and the 
other at two years of age. Of the other 
four 

FRANCES M., born Aug. 23, 1836, 
in Sangamon county, married Thomas 
Scott, and had four children ; two died in 
infancy. CHARLES W. and HAR- 
RIET B. reside with their mother. She 
was married Jan. 10, 1867, to Rev. Reuben 
Gregg, of the M. E. Church. They have 
three living children, ARTHUR B., EDA F., 
ALLEN c. and LURA R. They reside at 
Augusta, 111. 

RICHARD C, born August 8, 1838, 
in Tazewell county, 111., married, Sept. 26, 
1860, at Chatham, Sangamon county, to 
Addie Hesser. He enlisted in 1862, for 
three years, in Co. A., 730! 111. Inf. He 
was injured, Sept. 26, 1862, in Louisville, 
Ky., by a drunken driver upsetting an 
army wagon, which fell upon him and 
came near causing his death. He was dis- 
charged on account of physical disability, 



Feb. 23, 1863. He lost his right hand by 
firing a salute at Mechanicsburg, July 4, 
1864. Mr. and Mrs Bird had three child- 
ren in Sangamon county, and in the fall of 
1866 moved to Kansas, where they had 
four. Their names are EDWARD T., 
ALLISON E., HENRY E., RICH- 
ARD N., JOHN M., LUCINDA A. 
and HARRIET F., and reside near 
Ottawa, Kansas. 

JACOB F., born August 5, 1846, in 
Sangamon county, married Sept. 16, 1873, 
at Payson, 111., to Mrs. Anna E. Vickers, 
whose maiden name was Hughes. She 
was born Dec. 31, 1849, in Butler county, 
Ohio. They reside at the family home- 
stead, adjoining Mechanicsburg on the 
south. 

THOMAS J/., born Sept. 10, 1848, 
in Sangamon county, married, Oct. 19, 
1871, at Decatur, to Florence M. Wood, 
who was born Sept. 10, 1851, at Clarence- 
ville, Lower Canada. They have two child- 
ren, JOHN RICHARD and ETHEL 
LUCINDA, and reside one and a half 
miles southwest of Mechanicsburg. 

Rev. Richard Bird considers the vicinity 
of Mechanicsburg his home, but continues 
to travel as a preacher in the M. E. church, 
in the Illinois Conference. His residence 
for the conference year of 1875-6 is 
Easton, Mason county, 111. 

BIRD, JOANNA, was born 
Nov. 20, 1807, in Mason county, Ky., 
married to James M. Dixon. See his 
name. He died and she married John C. 
Eckel. See his name. 

B I R D, T H O M AS, was born Dec. 
25, 1809, in Mason county, Ky., came to 
Sangamon county in 1835. He never 
married, and died Sept. u, 1858, near 
Mechanicsburg. 

BIRD, A BRA HAM, born Aug. 
30, 1813, in Mason county, Ky., came to 
Sangamon county in 1836, married, May 
9, 1839, to Nancy Riddle. Thev had one 
child 

DA VII) /?., born April 26, 1841, in 
Sangamon county. He enlisted; was 
with his cousin, Dr. Riddle, all through 
the war to suppress the rebellion. Present 
residence not known. 

Mrs. Nancy Bird died April 26, 1841, 
and Abraham Bird died Feb. 19, 1853, 
both in Sangamon countv. 

BIRD, HENRY, was born Dec. 
15, 1815, in Mason county, Ky., came to 



SANGAMON COUNT?. 



121 



Sangamon county in 1836, was married 
Sept. 30, 1841,10 Margaret J. Hussey,who 
was born April 5, 1821, in Sangamon 
county, 111. Two children were born 
there, and in 1845 they moved overland in 
wagons, to Yamhill county, Oregon. Five 
children were born there, and they moved 
to Portland, Multnomah county, Oregon, 
where one child was born. Of their nine 
children 

CLARISSA, born August 30, 1842, 
in Sangamon county, 111., married in Or- 
egon, July 30, 1861, to Hiram Ransom, 
and resides in California. 

MART E., born June 23, 1844, in 
Sangamon county, married in Oregon, 
Dec. 29, 1869, to W. S.James. She died 
Feb. 19, 1874, in Portland, Oregon, leaving 
two children, viz: ELLA and MARY, 
the latter died August 9, 1874. Mr. James 
resides in Portland. 

NATHAN H., born Dec. 12, 1846, in 
Yamhill county, was married March 15, 
1870, to Alice Talbot. They have two 
children, WALTER and VIOLA, and 
reside near Bellvue, Yamhill county, Ore- 
gon. 

RICHARD, born April 5, 1848, in 
Yamhill county, is unmarried, and resides 
in Portland. 

JOHN, born Sept. 20, 1851, in Yam- 
hill county, is unmarried, and resides in 
Portland. 

CORXELIA E., born Nov. 20, 
1853, in Yamhill county, resides with her 
mother. 

STEPHEN, born Oct. 9, 1855, in 
Yamhill county, resides near Sheridan, 
Yamhill county, on a farm. 

BENJAMIN M., born April i, 1858, 
in Yamhill county, resides with his mother. 
WILLIAM ^born Dec. n, 1862, in 
Portland, resides with his mother. 

Henry Bird died August 20, 1873, in 
Portland, and his widow resides there. 

BIRD, HETTY E., was born 
July 9, 1818, in Mason county, Ky., came 
with her mother to Sangamon county in 
1835. She was married near Mechanics- 
burg, Feb. 25, 1845, to Samuel Powers, 
who was born April 28, 1797, in Hamp- 
shire county, Va. They had one child, 
and Mrs. Powers died, March 16, 1851, in 
Sangamon county. Mr. Powers moved 
to Iowa with his daughter 

RHODA A., born Sept. 19, 1848, in 
Sangamon county, and married in Iowa, 
16 



July 22, 1865, to Barzilla Reeves, who 
was born April 5, 1841. They had five 
children in Iowa. Their second child, 
ISAAC N., died in his fourth year. AN- 
DREW J., DAVID M., GARRISON 
B. and HESTER A., reside with their 
parents, near Sidney, Fremont county, 
Iowa. 

Samuel Powers resides in Atchison 
county, Mo. 

BIRD, ABIGAIL, was born 
Sept. 27, 1824, in Mason county, Ky., 
came with her mother to Sangamon coun- 
ty, 111., in 1835, married, Oct. 12, 1843, to 
Hugh Sutherland. He was born May 4, 
1816, in Edinburgh, Scotland, came to 
America in 1827, remained in the Atlantic 
States until 1841, when he came to San- 
gamon county. Mr. and Mrs. S. had nine 
children, Charles W., next to the young- 
est, died in his third year. Of the other 
eight 

HESTER J., born Dec. 21, 1844, in 
Sangamon county, married March 17, 

1869, to Joseph N. Burcham, have two 
children, REUBEN and JOHN L., and 
reside three and a quarter miles east of 
Mechaniscburg. 

BETST J., born Sept. 17, 1846, died 
Sept. 2, 1858. 

JOHN G., born April 28, 1848, in 
Sangamon county, married, August 31, 

1870, in his native county, to Mary J. 
Peak. They had two children, AR- 
THUR CLARK and CARLOS B. 
The latter died in his second year. Mrs. 
S. died March 12, 1875, in the twenty- 
seventh year of her age. John G. Suther- 
land resides at Warrensburg, 111. 

ELLEN R. born Jan. 30, 1850, in 
Sangamon county, married Feb. 14, 1875, 
to William Upton, and resides three and 
a half miles east of Mechanicsburg. 

ABIGAIL ANN, born Dec. 23, 1851, 
in Sangamon county, married Feb. 7, 
1875, to Charles Mussenden, and resides 
four miles east of Mechanicsburg. 

THOMAS M., born Sept. 8, 1854, 

J IIJGH A., born Dec, 12, 1856, and 

CHAR LET B., born Dec. 29, 1861. 

The three latter reside with their par- 
ents, adjoining Illiopolis on the east. 

BLACK, SAMUEL, was born 
July 2, 1798, in Augusta county, Va. 
Mildred Gaines, a niece of Mrs. Peter Cart- 
wright, was born Oct. 4, 1802, in Char- 
lotte county, Va. They were married, 



122 



EARLY SETTLERS OF 



Feb. 20, 1822, near Hopkinsville, Ky.. 
where their parents had emigrated when 
they were quite young. They had one 
child in Kentucky, and moved to Sanga- 
mon county, 111., arriving Nov. 19, 1825, 
in what is now Cartwright township, 
where they had two children, and in 1828 
moved to Morgan county, where seven 
children were born. Of their children 

ELIZA, horn Dec. 31, 1824, in Ken- 
tucky, married George Ragen, have seven 
children, and reside in Cass countv, Iowa. 

JAMES R., born July 5, 1826, in 
Sangamon county, married Dec. 13, 1863, 
to Arvilla M. McMurphy, who was born 
Nov. 25, 1833, in St. Lawrence countv, 
N. Y. They have four children, VIC- 
TOR C., JENNIE M., IONA C. and 
ALBERT C., and reside one and a quar- 
ter miles north of Pleasant Plains, with- 
in half a mile of where he was born, on 
the farm of his grandfather, Rev. Richard 
Gaines. 

WILLIAM, born April 5, 1828, in 
Sangamon county, married Jane Short, 
and died in three months after marriage. 

SARAH B., born May i, 1833, m Mor- 
gan county, married Til man Sharp, has 
one child, and resides in Morgan county. 

JOHN, born Dec. 3, 1830, just before 
the "deep snow," married Sarah Vaughn, 
have three children, LOU ELLA, J. W. 
and J. R., and reside in Morgan county. 

AMY, born Feb. 5, 1839, died Sept. 8, 
1869. 

MARTHA G., born Feb. 4, 1835, is 
unmarried, and resides with her parents. 

SAMUEL, Jim., born June 27, 1837, 
married, Dec. 2, 1860, to Mary Self, have 
two children, W. E. and C. S., and reside 
in Morgan county. 

MARY J,, born March 9, 1842, mar- 
ried, Sept. 20, 1 86 1, to James Phillips, 
who died, and she married Wm. Self, and 
resides in Cass county. 

MILDRED, born Jan. 7, 1845, mar- 
ried Samuel T. Mattix, has one child, and 
resides in Morgan county. 

Samuel Black and his wife reside six 
miles north of Jacksonville, surrounded 
by most of their children. Mr. Black 
made his first trip to Sangamon county to 
move the mother of Rev. Peter Cart- 
wright. He made, altogether, seven 
round trips with a six horse team, when 
there were no roads,' in moving the Cart- 
wright, Gaines and Black families. 



BLACK, WILLIAM, born 
about 1793, in Edinburgh, Scotland. lie 
came to America when young, landing at 
Philadelphia. A stone cutter by trade, he 
was employed on some of the banks and 
other public buildings in that city, finish- 
ing with a contract on Girard College. 
Anna Young was born April 6, 1 798, in 
the city of Philadelphia. William Black 
and Anna Young were there married, 
Dec. 7, 1820. Their nine children were 
born in Philadelphia, one of whom died 
young. Mr. Black came to Springfield 
in the fall of 1839, and April, 1840, his 
family arrived and moved to a farm he 
had purchased, six miles northeast of 
Springfield. Of their eight children 

JOHA r , born April 12, 1822, is unmar- 
ried. He went to California in 1849, and 
now resides in San Francisco. 

WILLIAM,]m\., born April 21, 1824, 
in Philadelphia, was drowned, April 9, 
1849, in a slough near where the Gilman 
and Clinton railroad crosses the Sangamon 
river. 

HENRY,\>orn July 23, 1826, in Phil- 
adelphia, married, May 3, 1871, in Hum- 
boldt, Kansas, to Mrs. Artenecia A. Cham- 
bers, whose maiden name was Braclshaw. 
They have two children ANNA A. and 
BLANCHE, and reside at Humboldt, 
Kansas. 

JAMES, born July 8, 1828, in Phila- 
delphia, was married March 2, 1852, to 
Amanda A. Cartmell. They had one 
child, and Mrs. Black died, Jan. u, 1854. 
Mr. Black was married, Feb. 5, 1862, to 
Eliza A. Cartmell. They have four child- 
ren. Of his five children, WILLIAM 
L., by the first marriage, and the other 
four, W r ALTER B., ALVIN F., AMAN- 
DA M. and EMMA T., reside with their 
father, on the farm settled by his father in 
1840, six miles northeast of Springfield. 

GEORGE W., born August 15, 1830, 
married Sept. 21, 1858,10 Sarah A. Mann. 
They had eight children, two of whom 
died young. MARY E., ELIZABETH, 
ANNIE L., HENRY F., THOMAS 
M. and CHARLES W., and reside on 
Round Prairie, five miles east of Spring- 
field, between the mouth of Spring Creek 
and South Fork. 

ANNA E., born Sept. 26, 1832, mar- 
ried, Jan. I, 1852,10 Marion F. Whitesides. 
(See his name.') 






SANGAMON COUNTT. 



FRANCIS G., born Feb. 27, 1835, 
married, Oct. 4, 1859, to Elizabeth Ham- 
mond. They had two children, JOHN 
W. and ELIZA J., and Mr. Black en- 
listed August, 1862, in Co. G., i I4th 111. 
Inf., for three years, and died of disease at 
Vicksburg, just after the surrender by the 
rebels, July 4, 1863. His remains were 
brought home and interred near German 
Prairie Station. His children reside with 
their mother, who married A. R. Welch. 

WALTER C., born Sept. 22, 1837, 
enlisted in Co. G., i I4th 111. Inf., for three 
years, August =5, 1862, was twice slightly 
wounded, served full time, and was honor- 
ably discharged, August 10, 1865. He 
was married, Feb. 5, 1866, to Permelia F. 
Cartmell. They have three children, 
ANNA C., FRANCIS E. and ORA 
EVA, and reside two miles southeast of 
Riverton. * 

Margaret Allison lived as one of the 
family of William Black, in Philadelphia. 
She came with the family to Sangamon 
county, and died Sept. 20, 1840, aged 29 
years. 

William Black died Dec. 15, 1858, and 
his widow died July 25, 1874, both on the 
farm where they settled in 1840. Mr. 
Black became a member of the Scots 
Thistle Society soon after his arrival in 
Philadelphia, and remained a member as 
long as he lived. 

BLACK, THOMAS, was born 
Oct. 25, 1768, and went from South Caro- 
lina to Christian co'unty, Ky., where he 
was married to Edith A. Pyle. They 
moved to southern Illinois just before the 
"Shakes" meaning the earthquake of 
1811, that sunk New Madrid, Missouri. 
They fled in terror back to Kentucky ; 
but finding the earth did not all sink, they 
returned to southern Illinois, and moved 
to what became Sangamon county, arriv- 
ing April 9, 1819, in what is now Auburn 
township. Of their children, vix 

.SARAH, born July 3, 1796, in Ken- 
tucky, married there to a Mr. Edwards. 
They had one child, SUSAN, who mar- 
ried W m. Woods. Mr. Edwards died, and 
his widow married Bailey Taylor. They 
had three children, viz: AMANDA mar- 
ried Peter Wheeler. EMMA married Mil- 
ler Bagby. THOMAS B. was married 
in"i866. He had three children ; one is dead. 
Mr. Taylor died, and the family moved to 



McDonough county, 111., and from there 
to Iowa, where she died. 

DA I ID, born Sept. 17, 1798, in Ken- 
tucky, married Jan. 2, 1823, in Sangamon 
county, to Sarah Moffitt. They had six 
children. WILLIAM married Millie 
Moore, and live near Belleville, St. Clair 
county. GEORGE married Viney 
Broom, and resides near Blue Mound, 
Macon county, 111. EDITH A. married 
Wm. Simmons. He died, and Mrs. S. 
married Mr. Brown. They reside in 
Texas. The others are ANN E., LEAN- 
DER and FRANCIS. David Black 
died Oct. 7, 1856, in Chatham township, 
and his widow resides with her youngest 
son, in Macon county, near Blue Mound. 

ELlZABETH,\>orn March 6, 1803, 
in Kentucky, was married in Sangamon 
county to John Harris. They had one 
child, JAMES, who was drowned in a 
mill pond while fishing, aged fourteen 
years. Mr. and Mrs. Harris both died in 
Macoupin county. 

NANCT, born Aug. 4, 1806, in Ken- 
tucky, married in Sangamon county, Aug. 
1 8, 1833, to John N. Viney, who died 
Jan. 5, 1871, and Mrs. Nancy V. died 
May 23, 1871, without children. See his 
name, 

JOHN, born Aug. 8, 1809, in Ken- 
tucky, married in Sangamon county, Aug. 
4, 1831, to Sarah Myers. They had nine 
children; three died young. Of the other 
six, ELMINA died Feb. 23, 1858, aged 
22 years. DRUSILLA, born Aug. 30, 
1837, m Sangamon county, married June 
:o, 1856, to James Babcock. They had 
nine children; one died young. RICHARD 
j. o. died Aug. 4, 187^. WILLIAM died 

Aug. 23, 1875. LAURA, ELLEN, ALI5KRT 
M., ADDIK M., IRA J. and ANNETTA E. 

The family reside near Oreana, Macon 
county, 111". THOMAS, born Oct. 6, 
1839, in Sangamon county, was married 
April 12, 1863,10 Mary M. Leu is, who 
died Dec. 21, 1865, and he was married 
Feb. 3, 1868. to Emily C. (Irave>, who 
died Aug. 10, 1871, leaving one child, 
FLOSSIE L. Mr. Black \vas married Apul 
6, 1873^, to Martha J. Dodds. They have 
one child, a son, and reside two miles east 
of Auburn. ALBERT M., born Sept. 
14, 1843, in Sangamon county, was mar- 
ried June 24, 1 86^, to Salome T. Ham. 
Thev have two children, and reside near 
Pawnee. ADALIXE M., born May -'5, 



I2 4 



EARLY SETTLERS OF 



1847, married Aug. 2, 1865, to Wm. D. 
Patton. See his name. She died Jan. 
26, 1875, leaving two children. JOHN 
W., born Sept. 29, 1851, in Sangamon 
county, married Feb. 2, 1873, to Susan R. 
Kimble. They have two children, JOHN 
D. and EMILY, and reside three miles east 
of Auburn. John Black died Aug. I, 
1855, and his widow, Mrs. Sarah Black, 
died March 18, 1858, both in Auburn town- 
ship. 

THOMAS, born Sept. 3, 1813, in 
Christian county, Ky., married in Sanga- 
mon county, March 7, 1855, to Mary J. 
Wallace, who was born Nov. i, 1831. 
They have three children, EDITH, 
MARY F. and MARCHIE, and reside 
in less than half a mile of where his father 
settled in 1819, about three and a half 
miles east of Auburn. 

CARTER T., born Jan. 24, 1818, 
was married Oct. 8, 1840, to Mary C. 
Coberly, who was born Nov. 7, 1820. Of 
their six children, namely: ELLEN E., 
born in Auburn township, July 12, 1841, 
married July i, 1858, to J. T. Graves. 
They have six children, ROBERT L., MARY 

N., ZILDAH S., WILLIAM J., MARK and 

CATHARINE, and reside in Butler, Bates 
county, Mo. JOSEPH C., born Aug. 
29, 1843, in Auburn township, 111., died in 
Missouri. CHARLES C., born Aug. 22, 
1845, in Andrew county, Mo., died in 
Nodaway county, Mo. WILLIAM T., 
born May 21, 1848, in Andrew county, 
Mo., married in Nodaway county to Mary 
C. Crabtree, Dec. 29, 1869. They had 
one child, JAMES T. Wm. T. Black and 
son died in Bates county, Mo. GEORGE 
H., born March n, 1858, in Nodaway 
county, Mo., and JOHN D., born Sept. 
16, 1860, in Nodaway county, reside there. 

Mrs. Carter Black died May 14, 1875, 
in Nodaway county, Mo. Carter Black 
is now (1876) in Sangamon county. 

Mrs. Edith A. Black died April 15, 
1822, and Thomas Black was married in 
1823 or '4 to Mrs. Rebecca Viney, whose 
maiden name was Shiles. She died Feb. 
13, 1851, and Mr. B. died Nov. 3, 1851, 
aged 84 years, both where he settled in 
1819. 

BLUE, JOHN, was born Sept. 9, 
1777, in South Carolina. His father was 
a soldier in the Revolutionary army, and 
was taken prisoner by the British the 
very day of his birth. His parents moved 



to Fleming county, Ky., when he was 
quite young. Elizabeth McNary was 
born in South Carolina, and taken by her 
parents to Fleming county, Ky., also. 
They were there married about 1806, had 
seven children in that county, and then 
moved to Hopkins county, where they 
had four children. About 1823 they 
moved to Green county, O., where they 
had two children, and then moved to San- 
gamon county, arriving in the fall of 1830, 
in what is now Clear Lake township. 

MARTHA married Robert Blue, had 
six children and died. 

SAMUEL married Isabel Webb, had 
eight children, and resides in Missouri. 

DA VID H., born Sept. 23, 1816, in 
Fleming county, Ky., married in Sanga- 
mon county May 19, 1844, to Fannie 
Webb. They had two children, one of 
whom died young. MELISSA C. mar- 
ried Abel P. Bice. See his name. David 
H. Blue resides two miles north of Bar- 
clay. 

ELIZA married Adolphus Jones, had 
one child, and all died. 

WILLIAM M., born in Fleming 
county, Ky., married in Sangamon county 
to Adaline.Cline. They had five child- 
ren. JAMES H. married Catharine 
Dunlap, had one child, DORA E., and live 
in Fancy creek township. GEORGE 
W., LUCY, DAVID and PARTHEN- 
IA, live with their mother. William M. 
Blue enlisted in Aug., 1862, in Co. C, 114 
111. Inf., for three years. He was killed 
at the battle of Guntown, Miss., June 10, 
1864. His widow married M. Hardman, 
and lives near Cantrall. 

HA RRISON married Margaret Alex- 
ander. They had three children, and he 
died in Fancy creek township. 

CAROLINE married Stephen Can- 
trail. They have six children, and live 
near Kansas City, Mo. 

AMOS went to Oregon when a young 
man, and resides in Jackson county. 

John Blue died in 1842, and his widow 
in 1848, both in Sangamon county. 

BONDURANT. The first known 
of the name in America was Dr. Joseph 
Bondurant, a Huguenot, who was ban- 
ished from France on account of his relig- 
ion, during the reign of Queen Anne, 
about the year 1700. He was wealthy in 
France, but could only bring his library 
with him. He and his companions, Ford, 



SANG A MON COUNTT. 



Agee, O'Briant and Shatteen, all settled 
in Virginia. 

BON DURA NT, JOSEPH. 
The fourth generation from Dr. Joseph 
Bondurant, was born Sept. 15, 1801, in 
Bedford county, Va., moved to Kentucky 
in early life, and was married Oct. 27, 
1823, to Martha Sharp. They moved to 
Sangamon county Oct., 1828. He was 
one of the early school teachers in the 
Dickerson neighborhood. They had 
eleven children, namely 

JOHN T., born June 5, 1824, in Ken- 
tucky, raised in Sangamon county, mar- 
ried near DesMoines, Iowa, in 1848, to 
Virginia Cooney. In 1850 he emigrated 
to California, and died in Sacramento, 
Dec. 23, 1850, of disease contracted while 
crossing the plains, leaving a childless 
widow. 

LUCRE TIA y., born Nov. 4, 1825, 
in Kentucky, married Nov., 1845, in San- 
gamon county, to Joel Churchill. See his 
name. They reside at DeLand, Piatt 
county, 111. 

ELIZABETH T., born April 28, 
1827, in Kentucky, married in Athens, 
111., May 15, 1842, to William Miller, of 
that place, where they resided until 1852, 
when they moved to Mechanicsburg. 
They had nine children, namely: MAR- 
THA E., married Jan. 16, 1872, to T. P. 
Lofland. She died June 14, 1873, leaving 
a son six months old, to be brought up by 
her aunt, Margaret D. Underwood. AN- 
NIE M., JOHN T. and THOMAS B. 
died under ten years. ALBERT D., 
JOSEPH W., SARAH J., AMANDA 
B. and GEORGE L. live with their 
mother. William Miller died July 17, 
1868. His widow and children live in 
Mechanicsburg. 

ALEXANDER C., born Sept. i, 
1829, in Sangamon county. He went to 
Iowa in the winter of 1856, and was mar- 
ried there Oct., i86i,to Margaret Brooks, 
of DesMoines. They had seven child- 
ren, namely: EMMA, FANNIE, LIZ- 
ZIE, FRANK, FLORENCE, BUR- 
TON and NELLIE, and reside near 
Altoona, Polk county, Iowa. 

THOMAS C., born Dec. 29, 1831, in 
Sangamon county, settled in Piatt county 
in 1856, near DeLand, Piatt county, 111. 

SAMUEL T., born Dec. 9, 1834, in 
Sangamon county, married Nov. 15, 1860, 
in Douglas county, to Sarah Ellen Barnett. 



They have two living children, and reside 
near Wabash, Wayne county, 111. He en- 
listed August 7, 1862, for three years, in 
Co. E., ^th 111. Inf. Dec. 2, 1862, he 
was detailed to the Pioneer Corps depart- 
ment of the Cumberland. March 19, 1863, 
he took charge of- four saw mills, on 
Stone's river, Tenn., and put them in or- 
der. Sept. 15, 1863, he was ordered to 
Chattanooga, where he took charge of 
building water-works, on the 8th of Octo- 
ber, doing the civil engineering with a 
common spirit level. He remained in 
charge until May 15, 1865, when he re- 
signed for the purpose of perfecting some 
inventions of his own. He is now en- 
gaged in the lumber trade. 

MAR G ARE 7\/?.,born Jan. 31, 1837, 
married Oct. 28, 1858, to Thomas Under- 
wood. See his name. 

MART E., born Feb. 3, 1840, is un- 
married, and resides with her brother 
Thomas, near DeLand, Piatt county, 111. 

MARTHA K, born March 24, 1842, 
in Sangamon county, married Jan., 1864, 
to William Thornton, of DesMoines, 
Iowa. They have three children, namely : 
LILLIE, LUCY and HARRY, and re- 
side near DesMoines. 

JOSEPHN., born May 2, 1844. He 
went to Iowa in 1866, and married in 1867 
to Sarah DeVore. They had three child- 
ren, WILLIAM, EARNEST and 
FRANK. In 1871 Mr. J. N. Bondurant 
returned to DeWitt county, 111., and re- 
sides near Farmer City. 

AMANDA E., born April 25, 1847, 
in Sangamon county, died Oct. 4, 1858. 

Mr. Joseph Bondurant died April 30, 
1864, at his daughter's, Mrs. Lucretia 
Churchill, near Mechanicsburg. Mrs. 
Martha Bondurant resides with her son 
Thomas, near DeLand, Piatt county, III. 

BOLL, VALENTINE J., was 
born April 22, 1807, at Flersheim, Nas- 
sau, Germany. He came to America in 
1833, arriving June 29, at Baltimore, being 
forty-four days from Bremen. He went 
to New Philadelphia, O., to see a relative, 
thence to St. Louis, and from there to 
Sangamon county, and made pottery for 
Chistopher Newcomer two years. In the 
fall of 1836 he started back to Germany 
by way of New Orleans, and arrived at 
his native town Jan. 2, 1837. He was 
there married, April 2, 1837, to Elizabeth 
C. Heller. She was born Feb. 13, 1819, 



126 



EARLY SETTLERS OF 



in the same town. They embarked June 
12, 1837, at Amsterdam, and were forty- 
nine days on the passage to New York. 
He went via Albany, Buffalo, Cleveland, 
thence to Portsmouth, on the Ohio river, 
thence to St. Louis and back to Sanga- 
mon county, late in 1837. His father, 
step-mother and five children, a married 
sister and her husband, Garred Young, 
and others, making a total of seventeen 
persons, came with him. He made pot- 
tery in Ball township for about eighteen 
years, and then engaged in farming exclu- 
sively. They had nine children, all born 
in Sangamon county, two of whom died 
young. Of the other seven 

GARHARD, born Nov. 2, 1838, in 
Sangamon county, married Jan. 5, 1862, 
to Mary J. Greenawalt. They had five 
children, THOMAS H. and JAMES-A., 
the first and fourth, died young; MARY 
E., AMANDA F. and SARAH M., re- 
side with their parents, one mile northwest 
of Pawnee. 

ELIZABETH, born in Sangamon 
county, married John T. Burtle, Jun. See 
his name. 

PAUL A., born in Sangamon county, 
resides with his parents. 

GEORGE P., born in Sangamon 
county, married Mary M. Mollihorn. 
They had two children, WILLIAM A. 
and CHARLES V., and reside in Ball 
township. 

CATHARINE J. married Patrick 
McAnanry, have two children, MAT- 
THEW and ROSA, and reside at Tallula. 

MARGARET and E VA reside with 
their parents in Ball township, five miles 
southeast of Chatham. 

BALL, JACOB born about 1829, 
at Flersheim, Nassau, Germany, came to 
America, and to Sangamon county, with 
his half-brother Valentine, in 1837. He 
was married in 1867 to Sarah Conner. 
They have two children 

E LIZ ABE TH and THOMA S, and 
reside in Ball township, six miles south- 
east of Chatham. 

BOWEN, ZAZA, was born Oct. 
24, igo6, in Guilford county, N. C. His 
father died when he was two years old, 
and his mother, with her four children, the 
eldest of whom was married, moved to 
Cabell county, West Va., in 1817. Zaza 
Bowen and Mary Knight were married 
June 25, 1827, in that county, and hi the 



fall of that year moved to Sangamon 
county, 111., arriving Dec. 4, 1827, in what 
is now Loami township. They had seven 
children in Sangamon county. The two 
eldest died under five years. Of the other 
five children 

REBECCA J., born June 28, 1831, 
married in 1850, to James W. George. 
They have three living children, and re- 
side near Mt. Auburn, Christian county. 

ABNER, born Feb. 24, 1833, in San- 
gamon county, married March 16, 1856, 
to Frances A. Cutter. They have four 
children. WALTER, N. C., and JOHN 
CALHOUN, twins; ZAZA A. and 
WILLIAM J. Not having a daughter, 
they adopted one, whom they call KATIE 
BOWEN. They reside on the farm set- 
tled in 1828 by Mrs. B.'s father, S. R. 
Cutter. It is two and a half miles north- 
west of Loami. 

ELIZABETH, born Nov. 13, 1834, 
in Sangamon county, married Robert M. 
Park. See his name. 

ISABEL A., born Dec. 26, 1836, mar- 
ried in 1855, to Charles W. Fisher. They 
had five children, MARY E., NANCY 
E., ELIZABETH C., WILLIAM Z. 
and JOHN N. Mrs. F. and her children 
reside three miles west of Loami. 

WILLIAM A., born July 28, 1838, 
died Oct. n, 1860. 

Mrs. Mary Bowen died Dec. 31, 1839, 
and Zaza B. married, Jan. 7, 1841, to Sarah 
Park. They had four children; all died 
under nine years. 

Mrs. Sarah Bowen died Sept. 28, 1860, 
and Zaza Bowen was married, Sept. 17, 
1863, to Mrs. Lydia M. Light, whose 
maiden name was Patterson. They reside 
three miles west of Loami, on the farm 
where he settled in 1836. Zaza Bowen 
remembers Springfield when it was a col- 
lection of round log huts, covered with 
clapboards held on by weight poles. He 
remembers seeing the jail covered with a 
stack of hay. 

BOWLING, JAMES, was born 
March 8, 1790, in Fauquier county, Va., 
was taken by his parents to Tennessee 
when he was nine years old, and from 
there to Logan county, Ky., in 1808. He 
was there married, Oct. 17, 1817, to Mar- 
garet Jones, who was born Nov. 18, 1793, 
in Mercer county, Ky. James Bowling 
and wife left, the day after their marriage, 
for Bond county, 111. They moved on 



SANGAMON COUNTT. 



127 



horseback, each riding a horse and leading 
a pack horse, to carry their goods. One 
child was born in Bond county, 111., and 
they moved to Sangamon county, arriving 
in 1819, in what is now Rochester town- 
ship, on the farm now owned by R. P. 
Abel, adjoining Rochester on the west. 
In 1830 they moved one mile north. They 
had six children in Sangamon county. Of 
their seven children 

ELIZABETH W., born Sept. 22, 
1818, in Bond county, 111., was married in 
Sangamon county, April 27, 1843, to 
lames M. Logan. See his name. ' 

EL}'IRA /*., born Feb. 25, 1820, in 
Sangamon county, was married April 28, 

1844, to Daniel Barr. They had three 
children. JAMES THOMAS married 
Elizabeth Atkinson. They had two child- 
ren, LOUIE and MATTIE, and Mr. Ban- 
died, March 13, 1875, leaving his widow 
and children in Rochester. MARGA- 
RET E., born Oct. 16, 1846, married 
Samuel West. See his name. CHAS. 
E. born August 18, 1850, married, Dec. 2, 

1873, to Louisa D. West, and lives in 
Rochester. Daniel Barr and wife reside 
in Rochester. 

JOHN P., born Jan. 12, 1822, in San- 
gamon county, was married Oct. 14, 1846, 
in Green county, to Maria Lorton. They 
had three children. Their second child, 
SARAH M., died at Mt. Auburn in 1854, 
in her fourth year. WILLIAM K. was 
born Jan. i, 1849, and married August 27, 

1874, to Alice Jernigan, who was born in 
Greenville, Ky., and resides near Virden, 
111. JAMES R., born Aug. 10, 1859, re- 
sides with his parents, near Virden, 111. 

JULIAN F., born Feb. 5, 1824, in 
Sangamon county, was married Sept. 6, 

1845, to Abraham E. Nickolls. He had 
previously been married, and had two 
children. They had seven children, and 
Mrs. Nickolls "died, Feb. 28, 1867, Of 
their children, ANDREW T. resides at 
Rochester, 111. MARGARET A. mar- 
ried William Morgan,1 and resides near 
Mt. Auburn. EMILY S. married John 
Shewmaker, and resides near Decatur. 
MARY J. married William Murphy, and 
resides at Topeka, Kansas. ELIZA- 
BETH A. married Wm. Meek, and re- 
sides at Central City, Colorado. JAMES 
B. and ELVIRA M. reside with their 
father, at Kingsville, Kansas. 



JANE A., born Oct. 6, 1826, adjoin- 
ing Rochester on the west. She was mar- 
ried, Feb. 2, 1854, to John Cassity, who 
was born Jan. 12, 1821, in Bourbon coun- , 
ty, Ky., and came to Sangamon county in 
the fall of 1830. They had five children, 
three of whom died in infancy. WIL- 
LIAM, born May 4, 1857, and FRANK, 
born March 21, 1867, reside with their 
parents, in Rochester, within 200 yards of 
where Mrs. Cassity was born. 

ARMIZA T., born Jan. 30, 1830, in San- 
gamon county, was married, Mar. 10, 1853, 
to John S. Highmore, who was born Sept. 
22, 1828, in Somersetshire, England. He 
came to America in 1849, and to Sanga- 
mon county in March, 1850. They had 
two children. LAURA, born Jan. 27, 
1854, married John F. Miller, (see his 
name^) and resides in Edinburg. AR-* 
MIZA resides with her aunt, Jane A. 
Cassity, who brought her up. Mrs. 
Highmore died August 27, iS=;6, and Mr. 
Highmore was married March, 1860, to 
Mary A. Cloyd. See name of Cloyd. 
They had three children, and Mrs. H. 
died, and Mr. Highmore was married the 
third time, to Mrs. Mary Price, widow of 
Dr. Price, who was born in Virginia. 
They reside in Rochester. He has been 
a member of the county board of super- 
visors from 1863 to 1867, and from 1872 
to 1875. 

Mrs. Margaret Bowling died Nov. 14, 
1846, and James Bowling died April 12, 
1853, both near Rochester. 

BOYD, JOHN, was born Feb. 13, 
1777, in Pennsylvania, and went to Bote- 
tourt county, Va., when a young man. 
Susannah Hiner was born Dec. 22, 1780, 
in Botetourt county, Va., and they were 
there married June 26, 1802. Two child- 
ren were born in Virginia, and they 
moved to Franklin county, O., about 1806, 
where six children were born. The fam- 
ily then moved to Sangamon county, 111., 
arriving in the fall of 1819 in what is now 
Ball township, where one child was born. 
Mr. Boyd was a millwright, and his ser- 
vices were in great demand. In the fall 
of 1830 he was at work on a mill on the 
Sangamon river north of Rochester, 
known afterwards as Baker and Darling's 
mill. Wishing to visit his family, and 
having some business at Springfield, he 
went there first, and then started home. 
A heavy sleet was falling at the time, 



128 



EARLT SETTLERS OF 



which proved to be the precursor of the 
deep snow. The walking was laborious, 
and the next day his body was found by 
his neighbor, Christopher Newcomer. It 
was six miles southeast of Springfield, on 
what is now the farm of William South- 
wick. He was found just as the snow 
began to fall, and if he had lain another 
day would not have been seen until 
spring. Of his children 

HANNAH, born in Botetourt county, 
Va., was married in Sangamon county, 
111., to John Dillon. They botii died near 
the town of Dillon, in Tazewell county, 
leaving six children residing there. JESSE 
went to Arkansas, married and died there. 
SUSANNAH was married Aug. 24, 
1848, to Joseph Meredith, and died Dec. 
24, 1868, in Christian county. MARY 
married Timothy Larramore, and resides 
near Tremont, Tazewell county, 111. 
WILLIAM died in Sangamon county. 
JANE resides with her sister Mary. 
DANIEL served four years in an Illinois 
regiment, and died in Tazewell county. 
JOHN married, and resides in Iroquois 
county, 111. ISAAC died in the Union 
army. 

MARY, born Jan. i, 1806, in Bote- 
tourt county, Va., was married to George 
Brunk. See his name. 

JA C OB, born Oct. 30, 1 807, near 
Columbus, O., married in Sangamon 
county, 111., Sept i, 1833, to Rebecca 
Royal. They had nine children in San- 
gamon county. JOHN T., born in 1835, 
married Sarah E. Clayton. They had 
two children, GEORGE E. and EMERY A., 
and Mr. B. died April 5, 1874, in Taylor- 
ville. WILLIAM H., born May i, 1837, 
was married March 31, 1859, to Mary A. 
Vigal. They have one daughter, FRAN- 
CES D., and reside in Cotton Hill town- 
ship, between Brush and Horse creeks. 
GEORGE B., born Dec. 25, 1839, enlist- 
ed Aug., 1862, in Co. E, 114 111. Inf., for 
three years; served full time, and was 
honorably discharged at Springfield. He 
married Harriet Williams. They have 
three children, CLARENCE E., SUSAN R. 
and PHCKBE c., and reside in Cotton Hill 
township. MARY married Alonzo 
Sparks. They have two children, MAUD 
and RAY, and reside near Girard, Kan. 
SUSAN married Harvey Alexander. 
They have four children, CHARLES M., 
JACOB w., LULIE M., and HATTIE E., and 



reside near Girard, Kan. JAMES O. 
served in Co. I, 7th 111. Inf., from Feb., 
1865, to the close of the rebellion. He 
married Marietta Reed. They had two 
children, REBECCA j. and JESSE M., and 
reside in Cotton Hill township. SARAH 
J. married Elijah D. Lawley. See his 
name. They have two children, LOUIS E. 
and FREDERICK G. DAVIS O. married 
Sarah A. Campbell. They have two 
children, OLIVE and CLARA A., and reside 
in Cotton Hill township. VINCENT 
C. died Aug. 22, 1871, in his eighteenth 
year. Jacob Boyd and his wife reside in 
Cotton Hill township. 

THOMAS, born Oct. 25, 1809, was 
married, and resided in St. Louis at the 
close of the rebellion. He died about 1869. 

JOHN, born Aug. 5, 1811, in Ohio, 
married in Iowa to Elizabeth Dyer. They 
reside near Ozark, Jackson county, Iowa. 
He was a soldier from Sangamon county 
in the Black Hawk war, and served in an 
Iowa regiment during the rebellion. 

BENJAMlN&\z& in his ninth year. 

JOSEPH, born April i, 1816, in 
Ohio, brought up in Sangamon county, 
was married in Iowa to Anna Ray. He 
enlisted in an Iowa regiment, and died at 
Louisville, Ky., leaving a widow and 
three children near Ozark, Iowa. 

CA THARINE, born Oct. 26, 1818, 
in Ohio, died in Sangamon county, aged 
seventeen years. 

SAMUEL, t \)oi-n Aug. 25, 1823, in 
Sangamon county, died in his seventeenth 
year. 

Mrs. Susannah Boyd died Aug. 9, 1848, 
in Sangamon county. 

BOYER, WILLIAM T., was 
born April 4, 1817, in Adair county, Ky. 
Sarah A.Jackson was born Dec. 7, 1820, 
in the same county. They were married 
Oct. 24, 1839, near Franklin, Morgan 
county, 111. They had one child in Mor- 
gan county, and moved to what is now 
New Berlin township, arriving in 1840. 
They had ten children in Sangamon coun- 
ty. Four of their children died under ten 
years. Of the other six children 

SARAH A., born Oct. 19, 1843, in 
Sangamon county, married March 14, 
1867, to John Mitchell. They had four 
children, EMMA M. and LAURA A. 
died under five years. RHODA E. and 
ANNIE, and reside in Talkington town- 
ship, seven miles west of Auburn. 



SANGAMON COUNTT. 



129 



]\IART F., born Sept. 8, 1845, in San- 
gamon county, married, March 30, 1863, 
to John H. Cox. They have three child- 
ren, WILLIAM H., GEORGE W. and 
CHARLEY, and reside near Franklin, 
Morgan county. 

WILLIAM A., born Dec. 5, 1849, re- 
sides with his parents. 

ELIZA J., born March H, 1851, 
married William A. Young, Nov. u, 
1869, have one child, IN A, and reside in 
Talkington township, six and a quarter 
miles west of Auburn. 

ANNIE M. and 

JACOB C. reside with their parents, 
six miles southwest of Loami. 

BOZARTH, WILLIAM H., 
was born about 1796, in Grayson county, 
Ky. Elizabeth Stewart was born in 1797, 
in the same county, and they were there 
married in 1819. They had four children 
born in Kentucky, and moved to Sanga- 
mon county, 111., in Oct., 1825, on Spring 
creek, west of Springfield about two and 
a half miles. Mr. Bozarth was killed by 
a fall from a horse in December follow- 
ing, only two months after coming to the 
county. His widow returned to Ken- 
tucky, was there married to Rawley Mar- 
tin, returned to Sangamon county in the 
fall of 1830, and settled on .Lick creek. 
In 1840 Mr. .Martin moved to Warren 
county, lo.wa. Of the four Bozarth 
children 

HIGGJNSONmi\\-r\e& Mary Bozarth, 
in Grayson county, Ky., and remained 
there. 

OLVER H. P. married Elizabeth 
Brooks, and resides in Grayson county, 
Ky. 

ELI L., born in Grayson county, Ky., 
married in Sangamon county to Artelia 
Peddicord. They had five children. AR- 
MINDA and MINERVA P. died young. 
Eli L. Bozarth died Oct. 29, 1868. His 
son, WILLIAM W., was drowned in 
Sugar creek, April 21, 1869. The other 
two children, VIOLA E. and PHCEBE, 
reside with their mother at the house of 
her father, Jonathan Peddecord, in Ball 
township. 

ISAA C H., born in Grayson county, 
Ky,, married Rhoda Seybold, and resides 
at Blandinville, McDonough county. 

BRADFORD, JAMES M., 
was born Sept. 28, 1795, in Culpepper 
county, Va. His parents moved to Scott 

'7 



county, Ky., when he was twelve years 
old. His commencement in business was 
trading down the Ohio and Mississippi 
rivers. He was married July 4, 1820, at 
Port Gibson, Miss., to Ann E. Barnes, 
who was born Sept. 10, 1802, in North 
Carolina, and in 1807 was taken by her 
parents to Mississippi, where they settled. 
She was educated at Port Gibson in a 
French Catholic convent. After a resi- 
dence of three years there, they moved to 
Scott county, Ky., where they remained 
one year, and moved to Franklin county, 
near Frankfort, and within three miles of 
Dick Johnson's Indian school. They had 
four children in Kentucky, and moved to 
Sangamon county, 111., arriving in the fall 
of 1834, in what is now Gardner town- 
ship. Of their four children 

THOMAS A., born August 2, 1821, 
at Port Gibson, Miss., brought by his par- 
ents to Sangamon county, was educated at 
McKendree College, Lebanon, 111., grad- 
uated at that institution, and was mar- 
ried in Lebanon to Jane Baker. He went 
to Missouri and there enlisted in Co. B., 
Col. Doniphan's regiment, and marched 
overland to Mexico, in 1846. Col. Doni- 
phan had orders, on arriving at Chihuahua, 
to report to Gen. Wool. He was unable 
to learn the whereabouts of Gen. Wool, 
and Thomas A. Bradford was one of six 
men who volunteered to carry through the 
dispatches, which they delivered to Gen. 
Wool at Saltillo, having gone the distance 
of three hundred miles, through an ene- 
my's country, without the loss of a man. 
He was, with John Calhoun, engaged in 
the survey of public lands for the U. S. 
Government, and died Dec. 25, 1856, near 
Wyandotte, Kan., his wife and only child 
having died before. 

ELIZABETH E., born July 31, 
1823, in Scott county, Ky., was married 
in Sangamon county, May 24, 1840, to 
David Madison. He died two years later, 
leaving a son, JAMES B., who died at 
fourteen years of age. Mrs. Madison re- 
sides near Bradfordton, Sangamon county. 

SUSAN, born May 25, 1825, in Ken- 
tucky, married June n, 1858, in Sanga- 
mon county, to William G. Hawkins, 
who was born Sept. 14, 1827, in Boone 
county, Ky., but resided in St. Louis at 
the time of his marriage. They live in 
Sangamon county. 



130 



EARLY SETTLERS OF 



MARTHA A., born May 26, 1832, in 
Kentucky, died while attending school in 
Springfield, August, 1848. Mrs. Ann E. 
Bradford died in Sangamon county, July 
8, 1835, and James M. Bradford was mar- 
ried, Dec. 27, 1836, to Arsenath Talbott. 
They had six children in Sangamon coun- 
ty, one of whom died in infancy. Of the 
other five children 

WILLIAM T., born June S, 1838, 
was married Oct. i, 1861, to Grizella A. 
Parkinson. They had six children. The 
eldest, JAMES, and the fifth one, SUE 
H., died under three years. ELIZA- 
BETH A., THOMAS P., LAURA M. 
and WILLIAM A., reside with their par- 
ents, in Gardner township. 

HARRIET E., born Feb. 3, 1841, 
in Sangamon county, married Hiram E. 
Gardner. See his name, 

ISABELLA M. resides with her 
mother in Springfield. 

SARAH y., born Nov. 3, 1845, mar- 
ried William H. Parkinson. See his 
name. 

EDWARD T., born May 19, 1850, 
was married, Feb. 17, 1870, to Carrie M. 
VanPatten. They have one child, ED- 
WARD M., and reside at Bradfordton. 
James M. Bradford died March 3, 1852, 
and his widow resided on the farm which 
has become Bi'adfordton, on the Ohio and 
Mississippi railroad, until April, 1874, when 
she moved to Springfield, and lives on north 
fifth street. James M. Bradford was a 
soldier in the war of 1812, from Scott 
county, Ky. He served one term in the 
General Assembly of Illinois, elected in 
the fall of 1840. 

BRADFORD, JOHN S., was 
born June 9, 1815, in Philadelphia, Pa. His 
father was a native of Delaware, and died 
in Philadelphia in 1816. John S. learned 
the trade of a book-binder in his native 
city, and in 1835 started on foot for the 
City of Mexico. He walked to Pitts- 
burg, thence to Cincinnati by steamboat, 
from there to Dayton, O., and Rich- 
mond, Incl., working at his trade in all 
the places he passed through. At Rich- 
mond he was induced, in 1837, to join a 
corps of United States engineers who 
were then engaged in constructing what 
was called the National Road. It was a 
wagon road, built at the expense of the 
United States government. The law 
authorizing its construction was enacted 



when the Democratic party was in power, 
with one of its cardinal tenets: opposition 
to all internal improvements by the gov- 
ernment; but President Jackson favored 
this because it was a military necessity. 
The road commenced at Cumberland, 
Md., crossed the Ohio river at Steuben- 
ville, passed through Columbus, O., Rich- 
mond, Indianapolis and Terre Haute, Ind., 
thence to Vandalia, 111. At the latter 
point a determined contest arose between 
the people of the States of Illinois and 
Missouri, whether the point for crossing 
the Mississippi river should be Alton or 
St. Louis, the contestants fully believing 
that the future great city of the Mississippi 
valley depended on the decision of that 
question. Before it was settled the public 
mind became interested in railroads, and 
the National Road ended at Vandalia. The 
corps of engineers disbanded at the latter 
point. The State capital was then in 
transit from Vandalia to Springfield, and 
Mr. Bradford came here, arriving Decem- 
ber,' 1840. In the spring of 1841 he 
bought the interest of Mr. Burchell in the 
book-bindery of Burchell and Johnson, 
and became one of the firm of Johnson 
and Bradford. 

John S. Bradford was married July 15, 
1841, in Brandenburg, Ky., to Adaline M. 
Semple, who was born O.ct., 1817, in 
Cumberland county, Ky. He.r brother, 
Hon. James Semple, was at that time 
Charge de Affaires to New Grenada, 
afterwards United States Senator from 
Illinois, and still later one of the Judges 
of the Supreme Court of the State. 

Soon after coming to Springfield, J. S. 
Bradford became Lieutenant in the 
" Springfield Cadets. " They were or- 
dered to Nauvoo by Gov. Ford in 1845, 
serving two months in the " Mormon 
war. " In 1846 Mr. Bradford enlisted in 
Co. A, 4th 111. Inf., under Col. E. D. 
Baker, and was appointed Quartermaster 
by Gov. Ford. As such he accompanied 
the regiment to Mexico, where he started 
to go twelve years before with a book- 
binder's outfit. After his arrival in Mex- 
ico he was commissioned as commissary in 
the United States army. He was at the 
bombardment and capture of Vera Cruz, 
battle of Cerro Gordo and others, return- 
ing with the regiment to Springfield in 
1847. The result of that war securing to 
us California and the discovery of gold, 



SAN GAM ON COUNTY. 



'3' 



Mr. Bradford started from Springfield 
Jan. i, 1849, by the Isthmus of Panama 
to California, and was eighty-seven days 
on the Pacific ocean, reaching San Fran- 
cisco May 20, 1849. He made Benicia 
his headquarters, and when the military 
commander of the department- of the 
Pacific ordered a government to be 
formed for a new State, Mr. Bradford 
was elected to represent the district bound- 
ed by Oregon on the north, Sacramento 
river on the east, Bay of San Francisco 
on the south, and the Pacific ocean 
on the west. That Legislature organized 
the State without ever having gone 
through a territorial probation, and divided 
it into counties. Mr. Bradford was elected 
in 1850 to represent a district composed 
of the five counties of Solano, Napa, 
Sonoma, Mendocino and Marin, being 
a portion of the district he represented 
in the first Legislature. His family re- 
sided in Springfield, and he retained 
his business relations with Mr. John- 
son also. He returned to Springfield 
in 1851, and since that has served the 
county of Sangamon, in 1857, as Superin- 
tendent of Public Instruction ; was one of 
the Commissioners to divide the county 
into townships and name them, served the 
city of Springfield as Treasurer, Alder- 
man and Mayor. When Illinois was 
calied on for 6,000 of the 75,000 men to 
meet the rebels, Mr. Bradford was ap- 
pointed by Gov. Yates as commissary, 
with the rank of Lieutenant- Colonel, his 
commission bearing date April 16, 1861, 
being the first commission issued by Gov. 
Yates in connection with the war to sup- 
press the rebellion. He prepared quarters 
for the first soldiers rendezvoused by the 
State, and called it Camp Yates. 

J. S. Bradford severed his connection 
with the firm of Johnson & Bradford in 
1869, and opened a book store in Spring- 
field, which he sold out in 1873, and 
moved to Aberdeen, Miss., returning to 
Springfield in Nov., 1875, where he now 
resides. 

Mr. and Mrs. Bradford had seven child- 
ren in Springfield, namely 

WILLIAM, resides at Lake Station, 
Newton county, Miss. 

OSCAR, born Sept. 28, 1845, m 
Springfield, was married in 1871, in 
Owensboro, Ky., to Mary Crutcher. They 
reside in St. Louis, Mo. 



SUSAN A. resides with her parents, 
in Springfield. 

EUGENE S. resides in St. Louis, 
Mo. 

JOHN, ANTRIM C. and DON- 
ALD, reside with their parents in Spring- 
field. 

BRADLEY, TERRY, was born 
in Rutherford county, North Carolina, 
and married there to Chloe Elliott, a sis- 
ter to Andrew Elliott. See his name. 
They had eleven children born in Ruther- 
ford county, N. C., and moved to Sanga- 
mon county, 111., arriving in what is now 
Gardner township, south of Spring creek, 
in 1834. Of their children 

SIMMONS, born March 3, 1811, 
in North Carolina, married March 28, 

1839, in Sangamon county, to Jane Doug- 
las. They had six children; three died 
young. WILLIAM H., born Jan. 5, 

1840, married March 6, 1862, to Mary 
Rannebarger, who was born Jan. 13,1842, 
near Columbus, O. They had three 
children. ELLA j. died, aged two years. 
EDWARD E. and LOTTIE B. reside with 
their parents, seven miles west of Spring- 
field. THOMAS LEVI and JOHN 
ELI, twins, born Nov. 22, 1842. 
THOMAS L., married Nov. 24, 1864, to 
Hannah J. Smith, have two children, and 
reside in Curran township. JOHN E., 
married July 9, 1868, to Nancy A. Sims, 
had one child, HIRAM j., and she died 
April, 1869. He was married Dec. 16, 
1869, to Sarah O'Hara, and reside at Phil- 
adelphia, Cass county, 111. Simmons 
Bradley died Nov. 18, 1866, and his wid- 
ow resides seven miles west of Spring- 
field. 

WILLIAM, born March 26, 1812, in 
Rutherford county, N. C., and came with 
his parents to Sangamon county in 1834. 
He was married Aug., 1846, in Jasper 
county, Mo., to Elizabeth Ragan, a native 
of Kentucky. They came to Sangamon 
county and had six children, one of whom 
died young. In 1857 they returned to 
Missouri, where two children were born. 
Of the seven children, three are married ; 
MOLLIE, the third child, born in Sanga- 
mon courrty, and married in Missouri, 
July 4, 1875, to J. J. Gates, a native of 
Pike county, 111. William Bradley died 
Dec. 13, 1875. His widow and seven 
children, married and unmarried, reside 
near Carthage, Jasper county, Mo. 



EARLT SETTLERS OF 






SARAH, born in North Carolina, 
married in Sangamon county to Caleb 
Darden. They had three children. Their 
son THOMAS was a soldier in an Illinois 
regiment, and died at Memphis, Tenn. 
The entire family are dead. 

WINNIE, born in North Carolina, 
married in Sangamon county to William 
Brundage. They had three children, and 
moved to Dallas county, Tex., in 1854. 

RICHARD, born in Rutherford coun- 
ty, N. C., came with his parents to San- 
gamon county, was married about 1844 * 
Mary A. Baldwin. They had four child- 
ren born in Sangamon county. Mrs. B. 
died Sept. 10, 1852, and the youngest child 
died soon after. Mr. B. moved in the fall 
of 1866, with his three children, to Kan- 
sas. Of his children, RICHARD J., born 
Dec. 8, 1845, m Sangamon county; 
SARAH C., born Feb. 9, 1848, in San- 
gamon county, married in 1870, in Kan- 
sas, to Franklin Campbell, and has one 
child, MARY E. WILLIAM B., born in 
Sangamon county. Richard Bradley and 
his three children reside near Fredonia, 
Wilson county, Kan. 

JONATHAN, born in North Caro- 
lina, raised in Sangamon county, went to 
Texas, was pressed into the rebel service, 
and died there. 

MELINDA, born in North Carolina, 
and died in Sangamon county at 26 or '7 
years of age. 

RHODA, born in North Carolina, 
married in Sangamon county to John 
Brundage, moved to Texas and died there, 
leaving two children, who reside in Kan- 
sas. 

ELIZABETH, born in North Caro- 
lina, married in Sangamon county to 
Abraham Duff, son ot Charles Duff, re- 
sides since 1866 near Neodesha, Wilson 
county, Kan. 

LEADBETTER, born March 17, 
. 1826, in Rutherford county, N. C., came 
with his parents in 1834 to Sangamon 
county, married April 22, 1856,10 Martha 
J. Archer. They have seven children, 
BENNETT C., ANNA, ELIZABETH, 
LOUIE, WALTER L.,LAURIETTA 
and JACKSON, and reside four and a 
half miles west of Springfield, on the 
farm settled by his father in 1834. 

MTRA, born in North Carolina, mar- 
ried in Sang'amon county to William 



King, who died, and she married Henrv 
Morgan. See his name. 

Terry Bradley died in 1835, and Mrs. 
Chloe Bradley died July 20, 1865, both in 
Sangamon county. 

BRANCH, EDWARD, was 
born Dec., 1795, in Virginia, and when he 
was a child his parents moved to that part 
of Bourbon, which afterwards became 
Nicholas, county, Ky. He was there 
married Dec. 2, 1818, to Rebecca Cassity. 
They had four children in Kentucky, and 
the family moved to Sangamon county, 
111., arriving late in Oct., 1830, in what is 
now Rochester township, where they had 
two children. Of their six children 

ZERELDA E., born Nov. 19, 1821, 
in Nicholas county, Ky., married in San- 
gamon county May 16, 1839, to Joel Can- 
trill. See his name. 

MARY J., born April 22, 1824, in 
Kentucky, married in Sangamon county 
to Robert Archer, son of Moses. See 
his name. He died April, 1872, leaving a 
widow and three daughters near Grove 
City, Christian county. 

HONOR A., born March 24, 1827, in 
Nicholas county, Ky., married in Sanga- 
mon county to William A. Whitesides: 
See his name. 

ELIZABETH A., born Jan. 9, 1830, 
in Nicholas county, Ky., married in San- 
gamon county, Sept. 25, 1848, to Joshua 
Graham. See his name. 

LOUISIANA, born July 16, 1832, in 
Sangamon county, married Joseph Miller. 
See his name. 

WILLIAM, born Feb. 28, 1835, in 
Sangamon county, died April 2, 1845. 

Edward Branch died Aug. i, 1835, and 
his widow resides with her daughter and 
son-in-law, Wm. A. Whitesides. 

BRANSON, JOHN, was born 
Jan. 12, 1 764, in North Carolina. He em- 
igrated, when a young man^to the vicinity 
of Charleston, S. C., and married Sarah 
Jones. They had six children in South 
Carolina, and moved to Ross county, O. 
From there to the vicinity of Xenia, 
Green county, Ohio, before the Indians 
had entirely left. They had five children 
there. Some of the elder children mar- 
ried and remained in Ohio, but Mr. Bran- 
son with the younger members of his fam- 
ily, moved to Sangamon county, 111., ar- 
riving Oct., 1822, in what is now Fancy 
Creek township. Of all his children 



SAN GAM ON COUNT?. 



ELI, born in South Carolina, married 
three times, died, leaving a family in Ful- 
ton county. His son, CALVIN, resides 
near Ipava, Fulton county. 

ANDRE W, born in South Carolina, 
and married Susannah Wilkinson. They 
both died, leaving several children near 
Athens, Illinois. 

WILLIAM, born Jan. 9, 1791, in 
North Carolina, and was taken by his par- 
ents to South Carolina, in 1793. In 1811 
the family moved to Chilicothe, Ohio, 
where he was married to Sally M. Graves, 
in 1815. He moved to Indiana, and from 
there to Sangamon county, 111., about the 
time his father came ; moved to Galena, 
and from there to DeWitt county, 111. 
They had seven children, and Mrs. Sally 
M. Branson died May 10, 1840, in DeWitt 
county. In December, 1840, he was mar- 
ried to Martha Cooper^ in Sangamon 
county. In March, 1847, he moved to 
Sangamon county, and March 28, 1848, 
he started overland with his family and 
arrived Sept. 15, 1848, in Polk county, 
Oregon. He had eight children by the 
second marriage. He died Nov. 16, 1860. 
His widow married Michael Shelley, and 
dfed Dec. 24, 1868, near Independence, 
Polk county, Oregon. Nearly all the de- 
scendents of William Branson reside in 
the vicinity of Sheridan, Yamhill county, 
Oregon. His son, B. B. BRANSON, 
Jun., born Sept. 4, 1830, went with his 
father to Oregon, in 1848, married there, 
Sept. 15, 1854, to Eliza' E. Dickey, who 
was born Jan. 19, 1834, in Tenn. They 
have eight living children. SARAH A., 
born July 3, 1855, married Nov. 6, 1873, 
to C. O. Burgess, and resides near Sheri- 
dan. JOSEPHINE, ELIZA JANE, EPHRIAM 

N., ELNORA SHERMAN, LAURA V., IDA M. 

and ORLEY R. reside with their parents, 
near Sheridan, Yamhill county, Oregon. 

CA THARINE, born in South Caro- 
lina, married in Green county, Ohio, to 
Frederick Stipp. They came to Sanga- 
mon county, and two of their daughters 
reside in Springfield, namely: Mrs. Wood 
and Mrs. Moody. Mr. and Mrs. Stipp 
died several years since. 

KEZIAH, born in South Carolina, 
married in Green county, Ohio, to Jesse 
Sutton. They came to Sangamon county 
in 1823, moved to Iowa, and both died, 
leaving several children in VanBuren 
county, Iowa. 



JOHN, Jun., born Oct. 15, 1795, near 
Charleston, S. C. He was a teamster 
from Ohio during the war of 1812, and 
has a crippled hand from an injury re 
ceived while on duty. He was married, 
Sept. 12, 1817, in Clarke county, Ohio, to 
Ann Cantrall, daughter of Zebulon Can- 
trail, who was a brother of William G., 
Levi and Wyatt. They had one child, 
ZEBULON, born June 20, 1818, in Clarke 
county, Ohio, married August, 1840, in 
Sangamon county, to Rachel Braugher, 
and soon after moved to Fulton county, 
where five children were born, namely: 

EMILY, CAROLINE, ISAAC, MARION and 

ZEBULON, jun. Zebulon Branson enlisted 
in the K>3d 111. Inf. for three yeare, in 
1862. He was ist Lieut., and was killed 
June 27, 1864, while leading his company 
in a charge on the rebel fortifications at 
Kennesaw Mountain. His family reside 
near Ipava, Fulton county. Mrs. Ann 
Branson died, and JOHN Branson was 
married, Sept. 12, 1822, in Champaign 
county, Ohio, to Miriam Thomas. They 
had five children, namely: THOMAS 
and CATHATINE, twins, born Dec. i, 
1823; THOMAS married, Feb. 4,1847, 
to Eliza C. Kiger, who was born March 
13, 1830, in Winchester, Va. They had 
three children. MARIA T. died, aged ten 
years. CATHARINE w., born May 25, 
1850, married March 25, 1869, to Thomas 
Neal. They had three children, namely : 
Charles TV., died in infancy ; Thomas and 
Coke reside with their parents, in Mitchel 
county, near Cawker City, Kansas. 
CHARLES, born March n, 1852, re- 
sides with his mother. Thomas Branson 
died March 5, 1864, and his widow resides 
eight miles northwest of Springfield. 
CATHARINE, the other twin, married 
Rev. Hardin Wallace. They have two 
children, namely: Mrs. E. M. Sharp, of 
Mason City, 111., and Mrs. Carlton Gatton, 
of Middletown, 111. Mr. and Mrs. Wal- 
lace reside at Bath, Mason county, 111. 
CAROLINE married Giles Woods. 
They have seven children, and reside near 
Waverly. MARIA married Samuel C. 
Woods. They have one child living, and 
Mrs. W. died, August 20, 1875. Mr. 
Woods resides near Waverly. EMILY 
married Rev. Joseph H. Hopkins. Thev 
had one child, and mother and child died 
in 1848, at Whitehall, 111. Mrs. Miriam 
Branson died, and John Branson married, 



'34 



EARLY SETTLERS OF 



Nov. 8, 1840, to Mrs. Mary Humphreys, 
whose maiden name was McKinnie. 
They had two children. MINNIE mar- 
ried George P. Brahm. They had one 
son CLAUDE, and Mrs. B. died, May 17, 
1872. Mr. Brahm, with his son, resides 
at Kinney, Logan county, 111. JOHN L. 
enlisted in 1862, for three years, in the I3th 
111. Inf. Served about one year, and was 
discharged on account of physical disabil- 
ity. He married Nellie Cain. John 
Branson and wife reside one and a half 
miles northwest of Salisbury. He is in 
his eighty-first year. 

THOMAS, born Feb., 1798, in South 
Carolina, was married Aug. 12, 1829, in 
Cla*k county, O., to Eleanor Thomas, and 
came to Sangamon county with his father 
in 1822. They had three children, and 
Mrs. B, died in Sangamon county Jan 24, 
1840. Thomas Branson married Louisa 
Cole. They had five children, and in 
1857 moved to Texas. Of Mr. B.'s 
children by the first marriage, ADA- 
LINE, born Oct. 9, 1833, was married 
Oct. 3, 1849, to W. S. Dunham, of 
Waynesville, DeWitt county, 111., where 
she died May 29, 1852. ALIDA, born 
Sept. 21, 1837, in Sangamon county, 111., 
is unmarried, and resides in Mansfield, 
Texas. REBECCA, born Nov. 30, 1839, 
in Saugamon county, married Lieut. 
Frank King, U. S. A., in Dallas county, 
Texas, Oct. 14, 1-862. Lieut. King was 
killed in Louisiana, May 8, 1864. Mrs. 
King was married Nov. 2, 1865, to Rev. 
D. D. Leech, in Dallas county, Texas, 
and she died Aug. 23, 1866, in Ellis coun- 
ty, Texas, leaving one child, FRANK K., 
born Aug. 22, 1866, in Ellis county, and 
resides with his aunt Alida, in Tarrant 
county, Texas. 

Of the children of the second marriage, 
ELEANOR, born March 10, 1842, was 
married Dec. 24, 1862, to Samuel Uhl, of 
the 1 2th Texan Dragoons. They have five 
children, viz: SUE E., ADDIE c., LOUISA, 
CHARLES and ALMA, and reside in Dallas 
county. Texas. EMILY, born May 21, 
1844, in Sangamon county, married April 
10, 1867, to Thomas Uhl, in Dallas coun- 
ty, Texas. They have one child, WIL- 
LIAM s., and reside in Dallas county. 
THOMAS C., born April 27, 1848, in 
Sangamon county, 111., was married July 
i, 1875, to Virginia Hill, in Dallas county, 
where they now reside. BENJAMIN 



L., born Oct. 7, 1850, in Sangamon coun- 
ty, is unmarried, and resides in Lancaster, 
Dallas county, Texas. AUGUSTA, born 
June 13, 1853, in Sangamon county, mar- 
ried Aug. 24, 1873, to F. Fox, and resides 
in Slate Spring, Miss. Thomas Branson 
died Oct. 21, 1864, and Mrs. Louisa Bran- 
son died July 5, 1865, both near Lancaster, 
Dallas county, Texas. 

MART, born in Green county, O., 
married in Sangamon county, 111., Sept. 
23, 1824, to Abraham Onstott. They 
have five children. Mrs. Onstott died 
June, 1875. The family reside in Clinton, 
BeWitt county. 

REBECCA, born in Ohio, married 
Elijah Harper, and died, leaving several 
children in Clark county O. 

BENJAMIN B., born Feb., 1810, in 
Ross county, O., married in Mechanics- 
burg, Sangamon county, 111., May, 1837, 
to Mary Thompson. They have two 
children, viz: HENRIETTA, born Aug. 
27, 1839, on Fancy creek, Sangamon 
county, married in Mechanicsburg, Aug. 
27, 1 86 1, to A. G. Barnes. See his name. 
HENRY, born Dec. 2, 1842, on Fancy 
creek, married June, 1867, in Jacksonville, 
111., to Clara L. Lathrop. They have two 
children, and reside at Ottawa, Kan. 
Benj. B. Branson and wife reside in Jack- 
sonville, 111. 

NANCY, born June 4, 1806, in Ohio, 
married in Sangamon county to Dr. 
Charles Winn, who was born Aug. 13, 
1800, in Virginia. He received his medi- 
cal education at Transylvania University, 
Lexington, Ky. He came to Sangamon 
county and practiced his profession on 
Fancy creek ; moved from there to Waynes- 
ville, 111., and from there to Spring- 
field, O. They had seven children. 
GORILLA died Nov. 8, 1855, aged 
twenty-five years. BYRON died March 
1 6, 1854, at McKendree College, in his 
twenty-first year. RICHARD D. died 
in St. Joseph, Mo., March 15, 1872, in his 
thirty-eighth year. CHARLES L., born 
Nov. 11, 1838, married July 22, 1859,511 
Jackson county, Mo., and died, leaving a 
widow and two children in Kansas City. 
ROBERT B., born July n, 1840, resides 
in Chicago. EMMA H., born Dec. 29, 
1842, near Springfield, O., married in San- 
gamon county to A. G. Pickrell. See 
his name. FLORENCE M., born June 
12, 1846, near Springfield, O., married 



SANGAMON COUNTY. 



'35 



William T. Hall. Sec his name. Dr. 
Charles L. Winn died Aug. 17, 1847, near 
Springfield, O., and Mrs. Nancy Winn 
died Nov. 4, 1852, at Columbus, Adams 
county, 111. 

Mrs. Sarah Branson died in Ohio, and 
her husband, John Branson, Sen., died in 
1845, m Sangamon county, 111., aged 
eighty-one years. 

BRAUGHTpN, PETER, was 
born July 6, 1812, in Worcester county, 
Mass. His parents moved to Ross county, 
O., in 1816, and a few years later to Pick- 
away county, about ten miles south of 
Columbus. In 1836 Peter came to Spring- 
field, 111., and soon after settled in what is 
now Williams township. He was married 
in Sangamon county Sept. 30, 1846, to 
Mary D. Utterback. They have four 
children, all born in Sangamon county, 
namely 

SUSAN E., NANCT A., EMILT 
J. and THOMAS J. 

Peter Braughton resides in Williams 
township, three miles each from Sher- 
man and Barclay. 

BRAUGHTON, JACOB, an 
elder brother to Peter, came with him to 
Sangamon county in 1836. He never 
married, but was engaged in farming for 
several years. He started overland to 
California, and died on the road, between 
1850 and 1855. 

BRAUGHTON, WILLI AM, 
a brother to Jacob and Peter, came to 
Sangamon county in 1846, too late to be 
included as an early settler. He resides 
one and a half miles north of Barclay. 
His son Adam married into the family of 
Simeon Taylor. See his name. 

BRAWNER, JOHN, a twin 
brother to William, was born Aug. 9, 
799, in Maryland. His parents moved 
to Fayette county, Ky., when he was a 
child. He was married May 20, 1819, in 
Madison county, to Bethany Ball. Thev 
had four children in Kentucky, and moved, 
in connection with her mother, brothers 
and sisters, to Sangamon county, 111., 
arriving in the fall' of 1829 in what is now 
Woodside township, where they had three 
children. Of their seven children 

NANCY, born in Kentucky, married 
in Sangamon county to R. M. Thompson. 
They moved to Iowa, had nine children, 
and she died. Of their children, HENRY 
resides with his aunt, Mrs. J. B. Ogden. 



JOHN was a soldier in an Iowa regiment, 
and died in the army. THOMAS E. 
served three years in the 55th 111. Inf., re- 
enlisted, and served to the end of the 
rebellion. He is married, and resides in 
Alton. The other children are scattered. 

BASIL, born in Kentucky, married in 
Sangamon county to Sarah Pulliam, and 
live in Iowa. See Pulliam. 

ELI Z ABE TH A., born in Madison 
county, Ky., married in Sangamon county 
to Thomas Knotts, have six living child- 
ren, and reside in Ball township. 

MARY E., born in Madison county, 
Ky., married in Sangamon county to 
Joseph B. Ogden. See his name. 

JOHN S., born in Sangamon county, 
married and died, leaving a widow and 
seven children. 

LE WIS, born in Sangamon county, 
married Hannah Dragoo. He died, leav- 
ing a widow and three children in Cotton 
Hill township. 

MARTHA J. married Abraham Ben- 
nington. They have four children, and 
reside in Montgomery county. 

Mrs. Bethany Brawner died about 1839, 
and John Brawner died in 1841, both in 
Sangamon county. 

BRAWNER, WILLIAM T. 
was born August 9, 1799, in Maryland. 
His father died when he was seven years 
old, and his mother moved to Madison 
county, Ky., when he was eighteen years 
old. He was there married, Dec. 25, 1822, 
to Elizabeth Ball. They had three child- 
ren in Kentucky, and the family moved to 
Sangamon county, 111., arriving in Oct., 
1829, in what is now Curran township, 
where they had seven children, namely : 

JOHN S., born Nov. 18, 1818, mar- 
ried in Sangamon county, to Nancy Mc- 
Credy; have eight children, and reside in 
Ad air county, Mo. 

MAR Thorn Oct. 23, 1825, in Ken- 
tucky, married in Sangamon county to 
William C. Hillerman ; had six children, 
THOMAS A., JACOB, RUTH, HUL- 
DAH, FRANKLIN and MARY, and 
Mrs. Hillerman died, March 18, 1869, 
Mr. H. married in 1870 to Rebecca Dren- 
nan. They have one child, ANN E., and 
reside in Chatham. 

COLUMBIA,^ Dec. 18, 1827, in 
Kentucky, is unmarried, and resides with 
her mother. 



i 3 6 



EARLY SE TTLERS OF 



MINERVA, born May n, 1830, in 
Sangamon county, married William Duval, 
have eight children, and reside in Khox 
county. 

JAMES H., born March 23, 1833, in 
Sangamon county, married Martha A. 
McGinnis. They have three children, 
SALLY, ROBERT S. and WILLIAM 
P., and reside in Chatham township. 

ELIZA H., born Oct. 28, 1835, in 
Sangamon county, is unmarried, and re- 
sides with her mother. 

CLARISSA,\>orv. April i, 1838, mar- 
ried Nelson Combs, and died in March, 
1864, about five months after marriage. 

WILLIAM M., born Sept. 27, 1840, 
in Sangamon county, married April 7, 
1870, to Isabel Works, who was born 
August 12, 1847, in Owen county, Ky. 
They have one child, JOHN H., and re- 
side in Curran township. 

LE WIS B., born Jan. 20, 1843, in 
Sangamon county, married April 18, 1872, 
to Laura F. Tippitt, who was born Sept. 
12, 1856, in Owen county, Ky. They 
.have one child, ELIZABETH, and reside 
in Curran township. 

ISAAC, born Nov. 5, 1845, died at ten 
years of age. 

William T. Brawner died Nov. 12, 
1846, and his widow resides in Curran 
township, south of Lick creek. 

BRECKENRIDGE, PRES- 
TON, was born Aug. 5, 1807, near 
Paris, Bourbon county, Ky. The name 
of Breckenridge originated in a singular 
manner. In one of the wars in Scotland 
between the Protestants and Roman 
Catholics, a family by the name of Mcll- 
vain particpated on the side of the Pro- 
testants, who were defeated. Some of the 
Mcllvain brothers saved their lives by 
taking refuge under a low shrub, called 
brack, which grows on the ridges in the 
Highlands of Scotland. This circum- 
stance so impressed them, that they deter- 
mined to give themselves a new name, 
hence Brack-on-ridge. As Protestants, 
the Breckenridges took part in some of 
the wars in Ireland at a later period, in 
which the great, great grandfather of 
Preston was a leader. The Protestants 
being again defeated, two of the Brecken- 
ridge brothers fled to America. One of 
them settled in Pennsylvania, and the 
other in Virginia. Their first names are 
not preserved, but the descendants of the 



one who settled in Pennsylvania have re- 
tained the original spelling : Brackenridge. 
The brother who settled . in Virginia 
raised a family, among whom was one son 
Alexander, who had a son Robert, who 
had a son John, who had two sons, Rob- 
ert Jefferson, known as the late Rev. R. 
J. Breckenridge, D. D., of Kentucky, and 
Joseph Cabell, the latter of whom was the 
father of John C. Breckenridge, ex-Vice- 
President of the United States. The first 
Alexander also had a son George, who 
had a son Alexander. He was twice mar- 
ried, and the eldest child by the second 
wife was Preston, whose name heads this 
sketch. Preston Preckenridge was mar- 
ried in Nicholas county, Ky., Nov. 17, 
1827, to Catharine Moler, who was born 
in that county Aug. 30, 1804. They had 
four children born in Kentucky, and the 
family moved to Sangamon county, 111., 
arriving Oct. 16, 1834, in what is now 
Cotton Hill township, east of Sangamon 
river, where eight children were born, one 
of whom died in infancy. Of their eleven 
children 

ALEXANDER, born Oct. 31, 1828, 
in Nicholas county, Ky., married May 25, 
1852, to Martha H. Barnhill, who was 
born Aug. 19, 1833, in Wayne county, 
111. They had eight children, two of 
whom died in infancy. The other six, 
ELIZABETH C., MARY A., FELIX 
H., NANCY L., CHARLES A. and 
ROBERT CARROLL, reside with 
their parents, half a mile east of Brecken- 
ridge. 

HUGH, born Dec. 9, 1829, in Ken- 
tucky, married Feb. 22, 1855, to Sarah M. 
Randolph, who was born June 20, 1837, 
in Logan county. They have two child- 
ren, HERBERT C. and EDITH A. 
Hugh Breckenridge enlisted Oct. 10, 1861, 
in Co. B, loth 111. Cav., for three years; 
re-enlisted as a veteran Jan., 1864, served 
full term, and was honorably discharged 
Jan. 6, 1866, at Springfield. He resides at 
Breckenridge. 

CORJVELIUS,\>oi-n March 12, 1831, 
in Kentucky, married Sept. 4, 1855, to 
Elizabeth L. Barnhill, who was born May 
29, 1838, in Wayne county. They had 
five children, two of whom died in in- 
fancy. The other three, ELIZABETH 
F., WILLIAM R. and GEORGE E., 
reside with their parents near Brecken- 



IffllVERSiTY 



SAJVGAMOJV COUNTT. 



'37 



JOSEPH, the last in Kentucky, born 
July 17, 1832, married M arch 28, 1855, to 
Sarah J. Matthew. They had two child- 
ren; one died in infancy. The other, 
PRESTON, resides with his mother. 
Joseph Breckenridge enlisted Sept., 1862, 
in Co. E, H4th 111. Inf., for three years. 
He was taken sick at Camp Butler, and 
died at home, Nov. 29, 1862. 

ELMORE, born Nov. 4, 1834, the 
first of the family born in Sangamon 
county, married Nov., 1857, to. Susannah 
Randolph, had six children, two died in 
infancy, and Mrs. B. died. The four 
children, LEANOR, MARY A., EL- 
MER P. and SIMON F., live with 
their uncles and aunts in Missouri. He 
resides at Forest Citv, Neb. 

CLEOPHAS, born Aug. 7, 1836, in 
.Sangamon county, enlisted Aug. 18, 1861, 
for three years, in Co. D, 33d 111. Inf. He 
was dangerously wounded at the siege of 
Vicksburg, but recovered, served to the 
end of his term, and was honorably dis- 
charged Oct. 18, 1864, at Springfield. He 
was married Jan. 30, 1868, to Lilian T. 
Cave. They have two children, INEZ 
and IDA, and reside with his father, three 
and a half miles west of Breckenridge. 

CATHARINE* born June 19, 1838, 
in Sangamon county, married Jan. 30, 
1856, to Simon P. Randolph. They had 
six children, three of whom died in infan- 
cy. The other three, PRESTON B., 
MAY and EDITH, reside with their 
parents at Seattle, Washington Ter. 

E L IZA BE TH and MAR T (twins), 
born Jan. 13, 1841,111 Sangamon county. 

ELIZABETH, married April, 1862, 
to James H. Abell. They had four child- 
ren, EMMA J., WILLIAM A., JOHN 
P. and HENRY E., reside with their 
parents in Taylorville. 

MART, married March, 1863, to 
Thomas Rishton, and resides at Council 
Bluffs, Iowa. 

PRESTO A 7 , Jun.,born Dec. n, 1842, 
enlisted Aug., 1862, in Co. E, H4th 111. 
Inf., for three years; served full term; was 
honorably discharged at Vicksburg, Aug. 
3, 1865; \v-as sick at the time, but returned 
home with his comrades, arriving at his 
father's house .on the 7th, and died the 
8th of August, 1865, seventeen hours 
after his arrival. 

JA^VE, born F.^b. 9, 1845, in Sanga- 
mon county, v\as married August, 1864, 



to William Kamlage. They have three 
children living, LUCY J., ANNIE M. 
and WILLIAM, and reside at Lincoln, 
111. Mrs. Catharine Breckenridge died 
Feb. 4, 1847, ant * Preston B. was married 
March 29, 1849, to Lucy Robb/ They 
had two children 

DA VID, born Dec. 28, 1850, in San- 
gamon county, is unmarried, and resides 
near Cedar Hill, Dallas county, Texas. 

LUCY D., born Aug. 13, 1854, in 
Sangamon county, was married Oct. 13, 
1874, to William H. Hunter, who was 
born Dec. 10, 1848, in Muskingum county, 
O. His grandfather, Charles Hunter, was 
born and married in Scotland; came to 
America, and settled in Muskingum coun- 
ty, O. His eldest son, William, was the 
father of William H. Hunter, the latter of 
whom, with his wife, reside in Cotton 
Hill township. 

Mrs. Lucy Breckenridge died Nov. 18, 
1854, and Preston Breckenridge resides on 
the farm settled by him in 1834. It is in 
the northeast corner of Cotton Hill town- 
ship, three and a half miles west of Breck- 
enridge. 

Preston B.'s father was sixty-five years 
old when he was born. Their united 
ages to the present time (1876) is one hun- 
dred and thirty-four years. Preston 
Breckenridge was one of the representa- 
tives of Sangamon county in the State 
Legislature of 1851 and '2. Abraham 
Lincoln was a candidate before the con- 
vention, but Mr. B. beat him. Mr. B. 
was a member of the Sangamon county 
Board of Supervisors for 1873. 

Preston Breckenridge remembers that 
the fall of 1834, when he came to the 
county, was dry, and continued dry 
through the winter; that May 12, 1835, a 
great rain storm set in, and rain continued 
to fall for about forty days and nights, 
which so seriously interfered with plowing 
and planting that but very light crops 
were put in. When the rain ceased, and 
hot weather set in, the stagnant water and 
decaying vegetation poisoned the- atmos- 
phere, and chills and bilious diseases pre- 
vailed to such an extent that in many 
cases there were not enough well persons 
to take care of the sick and bury the dead. 
That year has ever since been spoken of 
as the wet and sickly summer and fall. 

The wheat crop looked well in the fall 
of '34, but it nearly all froze out, and in 



EARL? SETTLERS OF 



1835, '^ and '7, the wheat crop was a total 
failure, and wheat bread was so scarce 
that a hiscuit became an object of interest, 
so much that women would send them 
to the children when visiting took place 
between* the families. 

The difficulty of obtaining food during 
the winter of 1835 anc ^ '^ was verv g rea t 
there being nothing for bread in Central 
Illinois except frost-bitten corn. Good 
crops were raised in the southern part of 
the State, and those who could pay for it 
went there for corn. That is believed to 
have been the origin of calling the south- 
ern part of the State Egypt, and not be- 
cause of any unusual darkness prevailing 
there. 

BRIDGES, GEORGE, was 
born in 1793, in Montgomery county, Ky. 
He was married there in 1816, to Rebecca 
Lockridge. They had four children in 
Kentucky, and moved to Sangamon coun- 
ty, 111., arriving Nov. 3, 1835, * n wna t i s 
now Ctirran township, eight miles south 
of Springfield, where they had five child- 
ren. Of their children 

JOHN M., born in 1819, in Kentucky, 
died unmarried, in Sangamon county, 
Nov. 14, 1865. 

WILLIAM, born July 15, 1821, in 
Kentucky, married in Sangamon county, 
Sept. 2, 1852, to Mary E. White. The'y 
had two living children, HORACE W. 
and ALICE M., and Mrs. Mary E. Bridges 
died Sept. 17, 1871, and William Bridges 
was married in Feb., 1873, to Mrs. Helen 
Bird, whose maiden name was Ransom. 
The family moved west in Sept., 1873, 
and William Bridges died, Jan. 30, 1874, 
at Grass Valley, Nevada county, Califor- 
nia, leaving his widow and two children 
there. 

MARGARET H., born in Kentucky, 
married in Sangamon county to J. M. 
Richardson, moved to Iowa, and died 
there, leaving three children. 

ELIZABETH, born Oct. 14, 1827, 
in Kentucky, married in Sangamon coun- 
ty, to William Brownell. See his name. 

MIRANDA, born March 27, 1831, in 
Kentucky, married George Brownell. See 
his name. 

GEORGE H., born Nov. 14, 1840, in 
Sangamon county, married Nov. 22, 1860, 
in Sangamon county, to Rebecca Pyle, 
who was born in Sangamon county, July 
6, 1850. They have four children, JOHN 



H., LAURA M., ADA A. and NORA 

L., and live in Springfield. 
^ MARTIN ., born May 16, 1842, in 
vSangamon county. He enlisted August 
15, 1862, in Co. B., ii4th 111. Inf., for 
three years. He was detailed as drummer 
at the organization of the regiment, pro- 
moted, Jan. I, 1865, to drum-major, and 
was honorably discharged, Aug. 15, 1865. 
He was married, Oct. 3, 1866, in Sanga- 
mon county, to Sarah E. Drennan. They 
have one child, DAVID JOSEPH, and 
reside near Woodside, on the farm where 
his parents settled in 1835. 

Mrs. Rebecca Bridges died in 1848, and 
George Bridges died in 1849, both in San- 
gamon county. 

BRIDGES, MILTON A., was 
born July 20, 1810, in Montgomery coun- 
ty, Ky. He was there married to Mary 
Foster, and had two children in Kentucky. 
The family moved to Sangamon county, 
111., arriving Sept. 25, 1833, in what is 
now Chatham township, preceding his 
brothers, George and William. They had 
two children in Sangamon county. Of 
their four children 

THOMAS J., born Dec. 22, 1831, in 
Kentucky, died unmarried, in Springfield, 
Sept. 19, iS^o. 

AMANDA M., born July 10, 1833, in 
Kentucky, married Robert Crowder. 
He died, leaving a widow and three child- 
ren in Christian county, two "miles east of 
Pawnee. 

CHARLES H., born Jan. 27, 1837, 
in Sangamon county, married to Frances 
A. Matthews. They had four children. 
MARY, the second child, died in her 
second year, JOSEPH M., MAR- 
SHALL and MONTE MAY, and reside 
in Illiopolis. Mr. Bridges is a merchant 
there. 

MARTHA, born in Sangamon coun- 
ty, April 30, 1842, died in infanov. 

Mrs. Mary Bridges died, and Milton A. 
Bridges married Mrs. Ellen H Hatchet, 
who had previously been Mrs. Trumbo, 
and whose maiden name was Hill. Mil- 
ton A. Bridges and wife live in Pawnee. 

BRIDGES, WILLIAM, was 
born May 5, 1793, in Montgon ery coun- 
ty, Ky. Isabella K. Lockridge was born 
in the same county, Nov. 10, 1796. They 
were there married, Julv 4, 1815, and had 
nine children in Kentucky. The family 
moved to Sangamon county, 111., arriving 



SANGAMON COUNTT. 



J 39 



in the fall of 1835, in what is now Wood- 
side township, where they had two child- 
ren. Of the eleven children 

MELINDA, born August 15, 1817, 
married H. Hathaway, who died, and she 
married Richard Wilkins, and they both 
died. 

JOHN W., born June 4, 1819, died in 
his twentieth year. 

BETST A., born July 20, 1821, mar- 
ried Henry Gillen, and she died, Nov. 25, 
1838. 

AMANDA M., born Sept. 25, 1823, 
in Kentucky, married Alfred C. Malone. 
(See his name.) 

MARILDA J., born Feb. 23, 1826, 
married Jacob C. Mitts. They had seven 
children, namely : WILLIAM, born Dec. 
9, 1845, married Sarah Stroude, who was 
born August 24, 1844, in East Tennessee. 
They had two children, FRANK E. and 
WILLIAM j., and reside in Curran township, 
south of Lick creek. Of the other six 
children, COLUMBIA, died at eighteen 
years. HELEN V. and JAMES W. 
reside at the homestead, in Curran town- 
ship. EMMA lives with her uncle, David 
Hermon. MARY and JOHN live with 
their aunt, Lucinda Neal. Mrs. Mitts 
died Nov. 6, 1862, and her husband died 
Nov. 12, 1865, both in Sangamon county. 

LUCINDA, born Feb. 4, 1828, mar- 
ried June 14, 1849, to Erastus R. Whited. 
They had four children; two died young. 
ISABEL K. married, Dec. 29, 1869, to 
Jesse J. Martin. They have one child, 
JULIA M., and reside in Loami township. 
Mr. Martin was born Feb. 21, 1843, in 
Harrison county, West Va., enlisted Aug. 
17, 1862, for three years, in i2th West Va. 
Inf. Served until the suppression of the 
rebellion, and was honorably discharged, 
June 16, 1863. FANNIE WHITED 
died Jan. 21, 1873, in the seventeenth year 
of her age. E. R. Whited died Jan. 4, 
1860, and his widow married, April 8, 
1862, to Stephen B. Neal. See his name. 

EMMA B., born August 19, 1830, in 
Kentucky, married Isaac H. Trumbo. 
See his name. 

JAMES M., born in Kentucky, Dec. 
15, 1832, married Jan. 10, 1866, to Mary 
F. Drennan. They have three children, 
WILLIAM F., MARTHA A. and 
EVA MAY, and reside on the farm 
where his parents settled in 1835, in the 
southwest corner Woodside township. 



WILLIS, born Oct. 20, 1836, in San- 
gamon county, enlisted in Co. B., ii4th 
111. Inf., August, 1862, for three years. 
He was discharged on account of physical 
disability, in 1863, and died of disease con- 
tracted in the army, March 20, 1864, at 
home. 

WILLIAM L., born Sept. 3, 1839, 
married Sarah Card. He died Oct. 6, 
1867. His widow and one child, WAL- 
TER, reside in Menard county. 

William Bridges died Jan. 3, 1873, and 
his widow died June 24, 1873, both on the 
farm where they settled in 1835. Mr. 
Bridges was a soldier from Kentucky in 
the war of 1812, and drew a pension to 
the end of his life. 

The date of birth of William Bridges 
and his brother George indicates that they 
must have been twins, or there has been a 
mistake in giving me the dates. 

BRIDGES, WILLIAM, wa* 
born April 28, 1787, in South Carolina. 
The family moved to Tennessee, and 
when William was a young man, to Green 
county, O. Martha Martin was born 
March 11, 1784, in Clarke county, Ky. 
She was the third child of her parents. 
When they had two children the family 
were, with many others of the settlers, in 
Strode's Station, for protection against the 
Indians. When the savages attacked that 
fortification, which terminated in its de- 
struction, the men were in the fields. The 
women and children collected in one of 
the block-houses. The men finding the 
fort at the mercy of the Indians, thought 
it would be impossible to save their fami- 
lies, and each one looked out for his own 
personal safety. Mr. Henry Martin, of 
all the men, went alone to the block- 
house, and by his earnest entreaties in- 
duced them to open the door. He then 
compelled his wife, against her protesta- 
tions, to accompany him with their two 
children, and they at once entered a cane 
brake, eluded the Indians, and thus saved 
their lives. One old lady followed them un- 
til they crossed a stream, and when she could 
travel no further, concealed herself in a 
cave until the danger passed. The fort 
was burned, and all the others were slain. 
Henry Martin remained in Kentucky un- 
til after the birth of his daughter Martha, 
when he moved with his family to Green 
county, O. William Bridges and Martha 
Martin were married near Xenia, and re- 



140 



EARLY SETTLERS OF 



sided in that city until they had two child- 
ren. Mr. Bridges served one year in the 
war with Great Britain, from the summer 
of 1812 to 1813. He then moved to Fay- 
ette county, Ind., where they had one 
child, and next moved to Sangamon coun- 
ty, 111., arriving about 1824 in Buffalo 
Hart Grove. Of their three children 

SARAH, born Nov. 14, 1812, in Xenia, 
O., married in Sangamon county Feb. 12, 
1829, to John Ridgeway, a cousin to 
Lindsay. See his name. He died, and 
she married Jonathan Constant. See his 
name. 

MARGARET, born Feb. 15, 1816, in 
Xenia, O., married in Sangamon county 
to James Hill. They had two children. 
MARY M. married Mr. Harris, and re- 
side at Staunton, Miami county, Kan. 
WILLIAM married Harriet Stafford, 
and reside at Clarksville. James Hill died 
April 17, 1844, and Mrs. Margaret Hill 
died Jan. 23, 1845. 

ELIZABETH, born Nov. 9, 1819, 
near Connersville, Ind., married in Sanga- 
mon county t John C. Morgan. See 
his name. 

William Bridges died March 12, 1833, 
and Mrs. Martha Bridges died Jan. 31, 
1865, both in Sangamon county. They 
were not related to any other family of 
Bridges in the county. 

BRITTIN, EVANS E., was 
born Oct. 28, 1791, in Bucks county, Pa. His 
father died when he was quite young. His 
mother, with her seven children, moved 
to Virginia, and from there to Ross coun- 
ty, O., in 1800. Evans E.was there mar- 
ried, Sept. 18, 1818, to Mary J. England. 
They had one child, and moved to what 
became Sangamon county, 111., arriving 
in the spring of 1820, in what is now 
Fancy creek township, where they had 
eight living children. Of their children 

STEPHEN, born Aug. 20, 1819, in 
Ohio, married in Sangamon county to 
Jane McClelland. He died Nov. 28/1862, 
and she died in 1864, both in Sangamon 
county, leaving several children. 

MIRANDA, born Jan. 12, 1824, in 
Sangamon county, married John Canter- 
berry. See his name. 

ELIJAH, born Nov. 12, 1825, in 
Sangamon county, married Martha Can- 
terberry. He died March 5, 1873, leaving 
a widow and two children in Marion 
county, Iowa. 



JAMES M. 

EVANS E., Jun.,born Nov. 26, 1829, 
married Melissa Peeler, had two children, 
and she died. He married Elizabeth 
Ridgeway. They have four children, and 
reside near Williamsville. 

WASHINGTON, born July 4, 1832, 
married Eliza Mallory. He died, leaving 
one child, LAURA E., and his widow 
married Thomas Glascock. See his 
name. 

HENRT, born Jan. 8, 1835, in Sanga- 
mon county, married Dec. 9, 1856, to 
Nancy Mallory. They had twelve child- 
ren, six of whom died young. JOHN 
E., HENRY E., ALBERT L., EMMA 
N., WILLIAM A. and ROGER E., re- 
side with their parents. Henry Brittin 
lives near Cantrall, on the farm settled by 
his father in 1820. 

MART J., born Aug. 3, 1837, married 
Thomas Glascock, and she died. See his 
name. 

ELEANOR. 

Mrs. Mary J. Brittin died Aug, n, 
1846, and Evans E. Brittin resides with his 
children. He has twice been a pioneer. 
He remembers that when his mother's 
family moved to Ohio, they had to go into 
Kentucky, sometimes a hundred and fifty 
miles, for breadstuff. After raising grain, 
it was three years before they had a grist 
ground. All that time they beat hominy, 
and sifted out the finest for bread, or 
grated the corn and made bread in that 
way. Coming to Sangamon county was 
a renewal of that kind of life. St. Louis 
was the nearest point at which they could 
buy farming tools, salt and all other arti- 
cles. For grinding meal and flour they 
went to the American bottom, east of St. 
Louis. Mr. Brittin has hauled wheat to 
Springfield and sold it for twenty-five 
cents per bushel, and has known corn to 
be hauled twenty-five miles and sold for 
six and a quarter cents per bushel in trade. 

The Christian Church, organized May 
15, 1820, the first in Sangamon county, 
built its first house of worship on Mr. 
Brittin's farm, near the present town of 
Cantrall. 

BRITTON, BENJAMIN, was 
born June 2, 1797, in Virginia. When 
he was a" youth his parents moved to 
Franklin county, Ohio. He was there 
married, in April, 1816, to Elizabeth 
Brunk. She was a sister to George Brunk, 



SANGAMON COUNT*. 



141 



and was born Oct. 13, 1800, in Franklin 
county, Ohio. They had four children in 
Ohio, and moved to Indiana in 1824, 
and from there to Sangamon county, 111., 
arriving in Oct., 1825, in what is now 
Cotton Hill township, where they had 
seven children. Of all their eleven child- 
ren 

JOSEPH, born in Ohio, died in San- 
gamon county unmarried, at about fifty 
years of age. 

REBECCA, born in Franklin county, 
Ohio, married in Sangamon county, to 
Nathaniel Duncan. Mr. D. died, and his 
widow married Joel Vandever, and resides 
in Pana. See his name. 

James I. Dozier relates an anecdote illus- 
trative of life among the early settlers. 
He remembers that Benjamin Britton 
hired Nathaniel Duncan to haul a load of 
corn to Springfield, which would be a 
day's work for the team. The price agreed 
upon was $1.371^. Twenty bushels was 
all he could haul. Mr. Britton went along 
to do his own selling. Arriving there, 
with all his efforts, Jive cents per bushel 
was the highest price he could obtain. He 
sold the load, paid over the whole proceeds, 
$1.00, but how they settled the other thirty- 
seven and a half cents, he does not re- 
member. That was in 1836. 

ELEANOR died, aged fourteen years. 

MARGARET, born in Franklin 
county, Ohio, married in Sangamon coun- 
ty to Oscar F. Matthew. See his name. 

HANNAH, born in Sangamon county, 
married Sterling Clack, moved to Nevada, 
Vernon county, Mo., where he died, leav- 
ing a widow and five children. 

DA I ID B., born and died in Sanga- 
mon county, aged 21 years. 

ANDRE W J., born in Sangamon 
county, married Sarah McDaniel, have 
four children, and reside near Princeton, 
Colusa county, Cal. 

MARIA J. died at twelve years of age. 

CAROLINE E., born June 6, 1834, 
in Sangamon county, married Geo. W. 
Spicer. See his name. He died, and she 
married Nathan Plummer, and resides in 
Cotton Hill township. 

LORENZO D., born in Sangamon 
county, married Melissa Barfield. They 
had five children, and Mr. Britton died, 
Dec., 1872, leaving his widow and child- 
ren near Clarkesdale, Christian county, 
Illinois. 



LOUISA, born in Sangamon county, 
married Philip Clark, and died in Mis- 
souri. 

Mrs. Elizabeth Britton died August 18, 
1854, and Benjamin Britton died Jan. 21, 
1868, both in Sangamon county. 

BRITT, JOHN P., was born 
July 4, 1804, in Greenbrier county, Va. 
He came to Sangamon county in 1832, 
and was married, Dec. i, 1833, to Sarah 
B. Wilson, who was born Feb. 17, 1815, 
in Union county, Ky. They had five 
living children, namely: 

ZERILDA A., born Oct. 15, 1835, in 
Springfield, was married, Jan. 17, 1859, in 
Princeton, 111., to Francis A. Haines. 
See his name. 

MART J., born August 24, 1840, in 
Springfield, married Feb. 19, 1868, to John 
G. English. They have two children, 
GRACE and PEARL, and reside near 
Taylorville, 111. 

JOHN W., born Oct. 22, 1842, in 
Hancock county, was married, August 17, 
1862, in Springfield, to Caroline Haines. 
She died, and he went to China. He re- 
turned to America, and was last heard 
from in California. 

^ JULIA A., born Nov. 3, 1846, in 
Springfield, and resides with her mother. 

SARAH H., born Jan. 21, 1849, m 
Springfield, was married March 18, 1868, 
in her native city, to John Branch Gilli- 
land, who was born Feb. 29, 1848, in 
Decatur, Ala. They have two living 
children, ALICE BELLE and MARY 
JOSEPHINE, and reside in Springfield. 
Mr. G. is a printer, and has been ten years 
employed in the Journal office. His 
father, Wm. A. Gilliland, is a printer in 
the Register office. 

John P. Bntt died July 7, 1852, in 
Springfield, and his widow married Wm. 
B. Yeamans, who died August 30, 1860, 
and she married, Jan. 19, 1863, to Larkin 
Bryan, who died in 1874, and Mrs. Sarah 
B. Bryan resides in Springfield. 

Obadiah and William Britt, brothers to 
John P., came to Sangamon county, and 
a few years later moved to Bureau county, 
111. Mrs. Jemima Britt, mother of the 
three brothers, came with them to Sanga- 
mon county, and went with two of them 
to Bureau county, where she lost her life 
by falling from a wagon and the wheels 
passing over her. 



142 



EARLY SETTLERS OF 



BROADWELL, JOSIAH, 

was born July 14, 1795, in Morris county, 
N. J. His father, Simeon Broadwell, was 
a brother to Moses Broadwell, represented 
in this book. A cousin to Moses and 
Simeon Baxter Broadwell was the 
father of Judge Norman M. Broadwell, of 
Springfield, a sketch of whom may be 
found in connection with the name of his 
father-in-law, Washington lies. Josiah 
Broadwell went to Dayton, O., in 1815, 
and married near the city May 31, 1827, 
to Priscilla Custid. She died, leaving one 
child. Mr. B. married the second time 
in Dayton, Jan. 13, 1835, to Ann Comfort 
Custer. She died June 5, 1836, without 
children. Josiah Broadwell came to San- 
gamon county about 1840, bringing his 
only son 

OLIVER, \v\\o remained two or three 
years in Sangamon county, went to Iowa, 
married there to Rachel Pearson. They 
had six children, and he died May 12, 
1873, at Pleasant Hill, Saline county, Neb. 
His widow and children reside there. 

Josiah Broadwell was married in Sanga- 
mon county, Oct. 25, 1842, to Mrs. Rachel 
L. Moore, whose maiden name was Mc- 
Carty. They had five children, two of 
whom died young 

CTRUS .P., born March 16, 1846, in 
Sangamon county. He was married Sept. 
i, 1867, in Denver, Col., to Ella Goff, who 
was born Oct. 18, 1850, in St. Louis, Mo. 
They have four children. GEORGE W., 
born June 13, 1868, in Sangamon county; 

RACHEL A., bom Aug. 25, 1870; 

DELIA E., born April 9, 1872 the two 
latter in Missouri and CLINTON, born 
Feb. 24, 1874, near Guide Rock, Webster 
county, Neb., where the family now re- 
side. 

GEORGE and JOS I AH, Jun., live 
with their parents. 

Josiah Broadwell and wife reside four 
miles west of Springfield. 

BROADWELL, MOSES, 
was born Nov. 14, 1764, near Elizabeth- 
town, N. J. Jane Broadwell was born 
Feb. 6, 1767, in the same neighborhood, 
and was Moses' second cousin. They 
were there married Nov. 5, 1788, and soon 
after moved to Hamilton county, O., to a 
fort situated where Columbia now stands, 
five miles above Cincinnati. In 1804 they 
moved to Clermont county, O. They had 
twelve children in Ohio, three of whom 



died young. They moved in a keel boat 
from Cincinnati to St. Louis in the spring 
of 1819, and the next spring came up the 
Illinois river on a steamboat, said to have 
been the first that ever ascended the latter 
stream. They landed at Beardstown in 
June, 1820, and came to Sangamon county 
in the latter part of June or early in July 
of that year, settling on the south side of 
Richland creek, about one mile east of 
where Pleasant Plains now stands. Of 
their nine children 

MARY, born April 27, 1791, in New 
Jersey, was married Dec. 19, 1807, to 
Henry S. Sweet, a native of New York. 
They had one child, and all the family 
died. 

DA VID, born June 1 1, 1794, in Ohio, 
was married to Mrs. Mary A. Drake. 
She died in Menard county, 111., and he 
died May 18, 1858, in Iowa. 

SARAH, born Feb. 16, 1796, in Ohio, 
was married in Sangamon county, in 1837, 
to David Van Eaton. They had no fami- 
ly, and she is now a widow, residing with 
her niece, Mrs. A. B. Irwin. 

JOHN B., born Sept. 27, 1797, in 
Hamilton county, O., was married March 
29, 1817, in same county, to Betsy Pratt. 
They had one child at that place, and 
moved with his father to St. Louis, where 
one child was born, and from there to 
Sangamon county, arriving in Dec., 1819, 
on the south side of Richland creek, one 
mile east of where Pleasant Plains now 
stands, where one child was born. Of 
their three children, JANE S., born Dec. 
19, 1817, in Clermont county, O., married 
in Sangamon county to John S. Seaman. 
They had six living children. JONATHAN 
went to New Orleans in 1857 with a drove 
of horses. He sold out, and expected to 
leave for home in a few days, but his 
friends never heard of him afterwards. 
DANIEL married in Indiana, moved to 
Iowa, and died May 28, 1871, in Michi- 
gan, while on his way to Mineral Springs 
for his health. WILLIAM enlisted at 
Springfield, in 1861, in what became the 
nth Mo. Inf., for three years. Both his 
lower limbs were broken by a falling tree, 
while he was lying sick in tent; one limb 
was amputated. He went to Iowa, mar- 
ried, had one child, and his wife died. 
He resides near Jefferson, Green county, la. 
ISAAC was a sergeant in the 64th 111. Inf. 
Served three years, re-enlisted as a veter- 



SANGAMON COUNTY. 



'43 



an, served to the end of the rebellion, and 
was honorably discharged, and resides 
near Jefferson, Iowa. CHARLES was a 
Union soldier in two Illinois regiments; 
served out his enlistments with honor, and 
resides near Fredonia, Kan. CALISTA 
married Charles R. Pratt, and resides 
near Fredonia. John Seaman died in 
1850, and his widow married Alexander 
B. Irwin. See his name. CINTHELIA, 
born Oct. 17, 1819, in St. Louis, was mar- 
ried in Sangamon county, 111., to Alexan- 
der B. Irwin. See his name. DANIEL 
P., born Sept. 17, 1821, in Sangamon county, 
was married to Irene Holcomb. They 
had six children born in Sangamon coun- 
ty. EMMA c. married in Springfield to 
Benjamin Trumbull, and resides in Em- 
poria, Kan. ALONZO was married March 
6, 1874, in Bloomington, 111., to Clara 
Furrow, and resides in Denver, Col. 
WILLIS married in Springfield to Sophro- 
nia Burge, and resides in Emporia, Kan. 
CHARLES resides near Pleasant Plains. 
HERBERT and ETTA reside with their 
father. Daniel P. Broad well moved to 
Topeka, Kan., thence to Emporia, Kan., 
where Mrs. B. died, Dec. 25, 1869. Mr. 
B. married Mrs. Mary Kingston, and re- 
sides near Emporia. Mrs. Betsy Broad- 
well died Sept. 30, 1823, and John B. 
Broadwell was married March 10, 1825, 
to Elizabeth King, sister of John and 
Jeremiah King. They had six children. 
WILLIAM married Cynthia McMurphy, 
and died, leaving a widow and three 
children in Sangamon county. They re- 
side in California. MOSES J., born 
March 6, 1827, was married in Iowa to 
Mary A. Cann, in Sept., 1862. They re- 
side "in Denver, Col. MARTHA mar- 
ried William Macon, and died in Califor- 
nia. HARRIET married A. Poppeno, 
and died, leaving three children in Sanga- 
mon county. FRANCIS M., born May 
15, 1836, in Sangamon county, was mar- 
ried in Davis county, Iowa, to Sarah 
Allen, moved to Denver, Col., and died 
there. HENRY C. is on the Pacific 
coast. Mrs. Elizabeth Broadwell died 
July 23, 1840, in Sangamon county, and 
John B. Broadwell resides partly near 
Fredonia, Kan., and with his daughter, 
Mrs. Irwin, in Sangamon county. 

WILLIAM, born April 27, 1799, in 
Hamilton county, O., was married in San- 
gamon county, Dec. 15, 1821, to Margaret 



Stevenson. They had one son, WIL- 
LIAM B., born Jan. 3, 1825, in Sanga- 
mon county. He laid out the town of 
Broadwell, in Logan county. He was 
married, and resides in Hutchinson, Reno 
county, Kan. William Broadwell was 
killed at Old Sangamo, in Sangamon 
county, 111., Nov. 22, 1824, while assisting 
in raising a barn. His widow married 
Richard Latham. See his name. 

CHARLES, born Dec. 3, 1800, in 
Hamilton county, O., was married Jan. 9, 

1825, in Sangamon county, to Ellen Car- 
man, daughter of Jacob Carman. They 
had eight children, JACOB, SILAS, 
RACHEL, HELEN, ADELIA, MAR- 
GARET and MARY A. The latter 
married A. P. Brereton, and resides in 
Pekin. Charles Broadwell moved to 
Pekin, and died in 1854. His widow re- 
sides there. 

JEFFERSON, born June 9, 1805, 
in Clermont county, O., died Dec. 10, 
1830, in Sangamon county. 

CTNTHIA, born Nov. 2, 1807, in 
Clermont county, was married, May 21, 

1826, in Sangamon county, to William 
Carson. See his name. 

EUCLID, born Oct. 7, 1809, in Cler- 
mont county, O., was married in Sanga- 
rnon county Dec. 12, 1833, to Laura Far- 
rington. They had eight children, some 
died young, and the family moved to Iowa. 
LOUISA, born Aug. 27, 1836, was mar- 
ried Feb. 21, 1 86 1, in Van Buren county, 
Iowa, to D. S. Jamison, who was born 
Aug. 25, 1822, in Westmoreland county, 
Pa. They have four children, ELSWORTH, 
CORA, SHERMAN and BOB. They reside 
at Keosauqua, Van Buren county, Iowa. 
ROSALINE, born March i, 1839, was 
married Feb. 16, 1860, to Rev. J. W. 
Roe. They had six children, ALLEN, 

CLARA, WILLIAM, LAURA, CHARLES and 

JOHN. Mrs. Rosaline Roe died July 30, 
1874, at Malvern, Mills county, Iowa. 
MARIA, born Sept. 21, 1841, married 
Aug. 3, 1863, to Ephriam Farrington. 
They have two children, ELSIE and EVA, 
and reside at Belle Plain, Sumner county, 
Kan. CHARLES, born April 28, 1846, 
died Oct. i, 1875, in Denver, Col. MIL- 
LIARD F., born Aug. 16, 1850, resides 
at Niles, Van Buren county, Iowa. EL- 
LA, born Aug. 5, 1853, in Macon county, 
111., was married March 31, 1872, to Dr. 
C. L. Crooks. They had two children, 



144 



EARLY SETTLERS OF 



CLARK and BESSIE, and reside at Cantril, 
Van Buren county, Iowa. Euclid Broad- 
well died Feb. 12, 1874, at Niles, and his 
widow resides there. 

Moses Broadwell is said to have built 
the first brick house in Sangamon county. 
He died April 10, 1827, and his widow 
died March 8, 1836, both in Sangamon 
county, 111., where they settled in 1820. 

BROOKS, REV. JOHN F., 
was born Dec. 3, 1801, in Oneida county, 
N. Y. His parents were of New Eng- 
land origin, but emigrated to New York 
in 1792, when the whole region was a 
forest, with here and there a small settle- 
ment. Mr. Brooks graduated at Hamil- 
ton College, in that county, in 1828, and 
afterwards studied three years in the theo- 
logical department of Yale college, New 
Haven, Conn. Be was ordained to the 
gospel ministry by Oneida Presbytery, in 
the autumn of 1831, and was married soon 
after to a daughter of Rev. Joel Bradley. 
They immediately left for Illinois, under 
a commission from the American Home 
Missionary Society. They traveled by 
canal, lake and stage to Pittsburg, thence 
by steamboat, down the Ohio river to 
New Albany, Ind. Any route to Illinois 
by way of Chicago, in those days, was 
not to be thought of, as that place was 
just emerging from the condition of an 
Indian trading station. At New Albany 
Rev. Mr. Brooks purchased a horse and 
" Dearborn," as it was then called, which 
was a one horse wagon with stationary 
cover. In this they continued their jour- 
ney, crossing the Wabash river at Vin- 
cennes. After passing a skirt of timber 
on the west side, they entered the first 
prairie of Illinois, in the midst of a furious 
storm. They were far from any house, 
with only the carriage as a protection, and 
that in danger of being upset by the gale. 
They weathered the storm, however, by 
turning the back of their carriage to it, 
but the prairie was covered with water, 
and they could only disern the path by 
observing where the grass did not rise 
above the water. They sought a house 
to dry their garments, and that night ar- 
rived at Lawrenceville, where Rev. Mr. 
B. preached his first sermon in Illinois, 
the next day being Sabbath. About three 
days after they arrived at Vandalia, the 
State capital, having been five weeks on 
the way from the vicinity of Utica, N. Y. 



After visiting several towns and villages, 
Rev. Mr. Brooks located for the winter 
at Collinsville, in the southern part of 
Madison county, preaching, alternately, 
there and at Belleville. In the spring of 
1832 he moved to the latter place, where 
he continued five years, preaching there, 
and at several other points in St. Clair 
and Monroe counties. 

About the second year of his residence 
at Belleville, he and his wife opened a 
school, which increased so rapidly they 
employed an assistant. They taught all 
grades, from A, B, C, to the classics and 
higher mathematics. Several attended 
that school, who afterwards entered the 
halls of legislation, and other departments 
of public life. In 1837 Mr. Brooks was 
chosen principal of a Teachers' Seminary, 
which benevolent individuals were en- 
deavoring to establish in Waverly, Mor- 
gan county. He taught there with suc- 
cess, but the general embarrassment of the 
country, caused by the financial disasters 
of 1837, compelled a relinquishment of 
that enterprise. During the time he was 
teaching he endeavored to preach one ser- 
mon every Sabbath, but the double labor 
induced bronchial affection, from which 
he has never fully recovered. In 1840 
Mr. B. was called to Springfield to take 
charge of an academy for both sexes, 
though in different apartments, to be 
taught in a new r brick edifice erected for 
that purpose on the west side of Fifth 
street, between Monroe and Market. 
Here he continued his labors, with the aid 
of two assistants, for two years and a half. 
Many persons now prominent in business 
or in domestic life, received a portion of 
their education there. After this he 
labored for two years under direction of 
Presbytery supplying vacant churches in 
this and adjoining counties. His health 
was now much impaired, and designing 
light labor, he opened a school for young 
ladies in a small room near his own house. 
The applications soon outran the size of 
the room, which he enlarged, and his 
wife again assisted him. His school in- 
creased, his health improved, and he pur- 
chased the property on the corner of Fifth 
and Edwards streets, re-arranging the 
two-story frame building internally to suit 
the purposes of a school. This he opened 
as a Female Seminary, the Autumn of 
1849, with three assistants, and Mrs. 



SANGAMON COUNTT. 



'45 



Brooks in charge of the primary depart- 
ment, held in the room he previously 
occupied. In addition to the usual course, 
Mr. Brooks added drawing, painting and 
music; two pianos were introduced, and 
this is believed to have been the first effort 
at teaching music in the schools of Spring- 
field. This Seminary prospered for four 
years, when Mrs. Brooks' health failed, 
and it became necessary to close the insti- 
tution. Since her death in 1860, Rev. 
Mr. Brooks has devoted a large part of 
his time to hearing classes, and giving 
private lessons. 

He was one of seven young men who 
banded together, while in their theologi- 
cal course in New Haven, for the estab- 
ment of a college in this State. Illinois 
College, at Jacksonville is the result of 
their exertions. Mr. Brooks has been one 
of its trustees from the first. 

He relates, as an illustration of the 
change of times in attending Presbytery 
in the State since he entered it, that a 
clergyman in those days must have his 
horse and saddle as certainly as his Bible 
and hymn book. The settlements were 
remote from each other, and a ride of 
three or four days to a meeting of Pres- 
bytery was a common experience. Once, 
in attending such a meeting, Mr. Brooks 
traveled in an easterly direction from Bell- 
ville, for two or three days, and found a 
sparse settlement, mostly of log cabins. 
They had erected a frame church building 
and roofed it, without siding or floor, with 
only a few rough boards for seats. The Pres- 
bytery opened its sessions, several sermons 
were preached, the sacrament administered, 
but rain came on before that body ad- 
journed, and they moved to a private 
house, with only one room and a small 
side appartment. At meal time Presby- 
tery adjourned, that the table might be 
spread, and after evening service, six or 
seven members lodged in the same room, 
on beds spread on the floor. People, in 
sustaining religious worship under such 
circumstances made as great sacrifices, 
according to their means as those who 
build their $50,000 churches do now. At 
this meeting Mr. Brooks was entertained 
at a cabin where the only light admitted 
was through an open door, or one or two 
sheets of piled paper, in place of glass 
windows. He met a man, however, in 
that settlement, from his native town, in 
19 



New York, and he had two glass win- 
dows, but his neighbors thought him ex- 
travagant, and somewhat aristocratic to 
indulge in such a luxury. Rev. Mr. 
Brooks resides west side of Fifth, between 
Edwards and Cook streets, Springfield, 
Illinois. 

BROWN ELL, JOHN, was 
born Aug. 14, 1800, in Rhode Island. 
During his infancy his parents moved to 
Seneca county, N. Y. He came west 
with the family of William Seely. Mr. B. 
and the other members of his family came 
by water to Shawneetown, and from 
there in wagons, arriving in what is now 
Ball township, July 5, 1819. John 
Brownell was married to Nancy Pulliam, 
in 1821. Of their eleven children born 
in Sangamon county, two died in infancy. 
Of the nine living 

WILLIAM, born Dec. 10, 1822, in 
Sangamon county, was married Jan. 20, 
1848, to^ Elizabeth Bridges. They had 
four living children, and Mrs. B. died, 
Feb. 17, 1869. Mr. Brownell was mar- 
ried in Sangamon county, Dec. 29, 1869, 
to Sarah E. Vaughan, who was born Mar. 
3, 1840, in Kentucky. Thev had two 
children. Of the children by his first 
marriage, MARGARET J., born Nov. 
24, 1848, in Sangamon county, was mar- 
ried Nov. 3, 1866, to John M. Sutton, 
who was born July 29, 1845, in Michigan. 
They have three living children, WILLIAM 

N., DELLA M. and BURTIE E. J. M. Sut- 

ton resides in Auburn. JOHN W., MI- 
RANDA I. and COLUMBUS V., and 
by the second marriage, ORAH V. and 
EDWARD, reside with their father. 
William Brownell and family reside in 
Auburn. 

WILSON A'., born Jan. 18, 1825, in 
Sangamon county, was married May 17, 
1855, to Sarah Murphy, a native of Maine. 
They had two children, ELIZA and 
SARAH, and Mrs. B. died, Feb., 1859. 
Wilson K. married Polly A. Lawson. 
They had four children, who all died. 
Mrs. Polly Brownell died, and Wilson K. 
resides in Ball township. 

GEORGE W., born July 16, 1827, 
was married Jan. 20, 1848, in Sangamon 
county, to Miranda Bridges. They had 
ten children. MARY ISABEL, born 
Nov. 5, 1848, was married May 26, 1864, 
to Henry Willard, who was born in Mis- 
souri in 1841. They had two children, 



146 



EARLY SETTLERS OF 



IDA A. and GEORGKTTA. Mr. W. died, and 
she married May 20, 1869, to Calvin Mc- 
Clure, who was born in Ohio Feb. 10, 1829. 
They had one child, GERTRUDE. Mr. 
McClure died March 15, 1873, and Mrs. 
McC. married James McCulley, who Was 
born Aug. 18^ 1848, in Sangamon county. 
They have one child, ISAAC F., and reside 
in Chatham township. JOHN I., born 
June 7, 1850, was married Aug. 27, 1873, 
to Susanna Graves, who was born Feb. 

14, 1849, in Macoupin county. They have 
one child, CLARENCE H., and reside near 
Taylorville, 111. WILLIAM W., born 
Aug. 2, 1852. BEBECCA E., born Jan. 

15, 1855, in Sangamon county, was mar- 
ried Nov. 13, 1872, to James Hurst. 
They have one living child, WILLIAM. 
MELISSA M., born Jan. 25, 1856, mar- 
ried Nov. 20, 1873, to Isaac Bowls, who 
was born in Ohio, in Dec., 1852. 
JOSEPH S., NANC Y J., GEORGE H., 
VIOLA M. and CHARLES E.; the 
latter died in infancy. All the other un- 
married children reside with their parents, 
near Taylorville, Christian county, 111. 

MARY A., born Dec. 12, 1829, was 
married March 13, 1849,10 Pleasant Kent, 
who was born in Ohio. They had twelve 
children, seven living. One child, ELIZA, 
married William Miller. They have two 
children, and reside in Woodside town- 
ship, Sangamon county. 

IRRILDA y., born June 26, 1832, in 
Sangamon county, was married Feb. 22, 
1853, in same county, to L. T. Porterfield, 
who was born May 16, 1833. They had 
eight children; two died young. Of the 
other six, JOHN H., MARIA M., 
AMANDA^J., FRANCIS L., MARY 
L. and HATTIE J. L. T. Porterfield 
died April 26, 1869. His widow and 
children reside in Auburn, Sangamon 
county, 111. 

ELIZABETH M., born Dec. 9, 1835, 
in Sangamon county, was married July 
29, 1856, in same county, to Milton Pike, 
who was born June 5, 1823. See his 
name. They had eight children; one 
died in infancy. ALICE and LILLIE, 
twins, born June 5, 1857; Lillie died June 
13, 1867, and Alice died April 9, 1872. 
MARY M., EDDIE F., HATTIE T., 
FREDDIE B. and MINNIE A. Mr. 
Pike and family reside in Auburn, Sanga- 
mon county, 111. 



MARIA L., born July 24, 1838, was 
married June 2, 1857, m Sangamon coun- 
ty, to Joseph C. Campbell, who was born 
in Wayne county, 111. He enlisted Sept. 
6, 1861, in Co. I, 29th Reg. 111. Vol. Inf., 
died Sept. 15, 1864. His widow married 
James Rape, and they reside near Taylor- 
ville, 111. 

FRANKLIN, born Aug. 23, 1843, 
married Sarah Reed. They had four 
children; two died young. They reside 
in Ball township. 

FRANCIS M., born April 3, 1846, in 
Sangamon county, was married Sept. 4, 
1871, in Macoupin county, to Emma 
Brooks, who was born Jan. 28, 1844, in 
Kent county, Delaware. They reside in 
Auburn. 

Mrs. Nancy Brownell died Aug. 28, 
1856, and John Brownell was married 
March 29, 1860, to Mrs. Maria L. Watts, 
whose maiden name was Allen. They 
reside in Ball township, on land entered 
bv Mr. Brownell in 1822. 

"BROWN, WILLIAM, was 
born April 19, 1779, in Frederick county, 
Virginia. The family have a record 
reaching back through his father, James 
Brown, born April 19, 1742, O. S., in 
Spotsylvania county, Va., to his father, 
James Brown, born April 29, 1708, O. S., 
in Middlesex county, Va., whose parents 
emigrated from England. James Brown, 
the father of the subject of this sketch, 
emigrated from Virginia to Bourbon 
county, Ky., in 1784. William Brown 
was married in 1805, in Fayette county, 
Ky., to Harriet B. Warfield, who was 
born March 3, 1788. They had ten child- 
ren; one died in infancy; all born at the 
family residence except the eldest, who 
was born at the Warfield homestead, near 
Bryan's Station, Fayette county, Ky. 
William Brown was a successful lawyer, 
and for several years before leaving Ken- 
tucky, his home was a country seat, over- 
looking the town of Cynthiana, and the 
valley of the Licking. He led a company 
of volunteers from Kentucky, in the war 
of 1812, in which he won the title of Col- 
onel. He represented Harrison county 
in the Legislature of Kentucky, and later 
represented his district in Congress. He, 
in company with his son-in-law, James D. 
Smith, explored the central region of Illi- 
nois, and in 1832 made large purchases of 
land in and around Island Grove, in San- 



SANGAMON COUNTY. 



147 



gamon county. He brought his family 
the year following, and after providing 
for the erection of a country residence, 
made his home in Jacksonville, Morgan 
county, where, after a brief illness, he 
died, Oct. 6, 1833. Of their nine children 
who accompanied them to Illinois, four 
never resided in Sangamon county, viz: 
ELISHA W., ELIZA .C. and SARAH 
If. reside at Boonville, Cooper county, 
Mo. WILLIAM made Jacksonville his 
home, brough up a family of children, 
and died there, after a life full of useful- 
ness and honor, in 1871. Of the other 
five children 

JAMES N., born Oct. i, 1806, at 
Bryan's Station, Fayette county, Ky., was 
married near Cynthiana, Ky., to Polly A. 
Smith. They had three children in Ken- 
tucky, all of whom died in infancy. They 
moved to Sangamon county, 111., where 
six children were born, one of whom died 
in infancv. JAMES N., Jun., born Julv 
13, i8 3 6;died Feb.' 8, 1851. WILLIAM, 
born June n, 1839, was married, Oct. 18, 
1865, in Covington, Ky., to Sail}- R. 
Smith, who was born Feb. i, 1847, * n 
Harrison countv, Kv. They had three 
children, all of whom died in infancy. 
Mrs. Sally R. Brown died May 6, 1870,3! 
Island Grove. Mr. B. resides at the fam- 
ily homestead. CHARLES S., born 
Oct. n, 1841, was married Jan. i^j, 1874, 
in Middletown," Butler county, Ohio, to 
Sarah E. Bonnell, who was born there, 
May 30, 1843. They reside at the family 
homestead. BENJ/WARFIELD, born 
Oct. 10, 1844, resides at the homestead, 
three miles west of Berlin, Sangamon 
county. MARY H., born March 19, 
1848, and was married Jan. 4, 1872, at Is- 
land Grove, to Samuel N. Hitt, who was 
born Sept. 20, 1834, in Bourbon county, 
Ky. He enlisted Sept. 21, 1861, at Camp 
Butler, in the loth 111. Cav., and was 
elected ist. Lieut., was promoted through 
all the grades to Col., and was honorably 
discharged, Dec., 1866. Mr. and Mrs. 
Col. Hitt had two children; one died in 
infancy. MARY B. resides with her par- 
ents, half a mile east of New Berlin, San- 
gamon countv. Capt. James N. Bi - own, 
* Sen., represented Sangamon county in 
the Legislature of Illinois for the years 
1840, '42, '46 and '52. During the session 
of the last named \ ear he drafted a bill 
and secured its passage, which led to the 



organization of the Illinois State Agricul- 
tural Society. He was elected its first 
President, Jan. 5, 1853, and re-elected in 
1854. He held, to the day of his death, 
offices of public trust, but whilst giving 
much of his time to the State, his love for 
agriculture was not abated, nor his active 
duties in her pursuits neglected, and to his 
sagacity and persistant life-time efforts is 
Illinois largely indebted for her promi- 
nence as a producer of short horn cattle. 
For more than a third of a century he 
was a member of the M. E. church, and 
his active Christian life closed Nov. 16, 
1868. His widow, Mrs. Polly A. Brown, 
died May 18, 1873, both where they set- 
tled in 1833. Their remains are interred 
in Wood Wreath Cemetery. 

RUTH ANN, born April 29, 1812, 
married James D. Smith. See his name. 

MARY, born March 3, 1814, was mar- 
ried in 1831, in Kentucky, to Barton S. 
Wilson. They moved from Jacksonville, 
111., to Island Grove, in 1835, and thence, 
in 1837, * Boonville, Mo., where Mrs. 
Wilson died, in 1858, but three children 
survive her, viz: Mrs. REBECCA 
Brand, JOSEPH and JOHN, all of 
whom, with their father, reside in Neosho, 
Newton county, Missouri. 

REBECCA, born Jan. 4, 1819, was 
married in Jacksonville, 111., to Charles 
W. Price. See his name. 

LLOYD W., born Feb. 22, 1824, in 
Kentucky, graduated in arts at McKen- 
dree College, in 1842, and in medicine, 
from the University of Maryland. In 
1847 he married Rebecca P. Warfield, of 
Lexington, Ky. He practiced medicine 
in that city one year, and came to Illinois 
Dec., 1848, and settled near the town of 
Berlin, in 1849, practiced medicine there 
until 1857, when he abandoned his pro- 
fession for other pursuits, and moved to 
Boonville, Mo. He returned to IHinois 
in 1858, and after a brief stav in Jackson- 
ville, settled on his farm at Lost Grove^on 
the line between Sangamon and Morgan 
counties. Of Dr. L. W. Brown's ten 
children, five died in infancv. The others 
are: HARRIET ,B., born May i, 1852, 
died July n, 1867, at her grand-father's, 
(Dr. Warfield) in Lexington, Kv. She 
is buried in Wood Wreath Cemetery, 
111. WILLIAM B., EDWARD F., 
REBECCA C. and LLOYD W., Jun. 



148 



EARL? SETTLERS OF 



Dr. L. W. Brown is a banker, and, with 
his family, resides in Jacksonville, 111. 

BROWN, WILLIAM B., 
was horn Feb. 2, 1802, in Greensburg, 
Green county, Ky. Harriet L. Allen was 
born Dec. 17, 1804, in the same place. 
She was a daughter of Col. David Allen, 
a pioneer from Virginia. He took an ac- 
tive part in the Indian wars of Kentucky. 
William B. Brown and Harriet L. Allen 
were married in Greensburg, Dec. 31, 
1822. They had five children in Ken- 
tucky, and moved to Athens, 111., in Nov., 
1833, where they had one child, and Mrs. 
Brown died Oct. 7, 1835. Wm. B. Brown 
was married in Athens, June 20, 1837, to 
Laura B. Buckman. They moved to San- 
gamo, in Sangamon county, in 1839. 
They had four living children. Of all his 
children 

DANIEL C. and DA VID A., twins, 
were born Sept. 27, 1824, at Greensburg, 
Ky., and brought by their father to San- 
gamon county. At fifteen years of age 
they sawed all the lath used in building 
the first State House in Springfield, now 
the Sangamon county Court House. 

DANIEL C. then served an appren- 
ticeship to the drug business. He was 
married June 30, 1852, in Petersburg, to 
Catharine L. Cowgill. They have three 
living children, HARRIET CLEMAN- 
TINE, JOHN H. and ELIZA B. Dan- 
iel C. Brown has been for many years, 
and is now, a druggist in Springfield. 

DA VID A., was reading law with 
Col. E. D. Baker in 1846, when the war 
with Mexico commenced. At the suggest- 
ion of Mr. Baker, Mr. Brown commenced 
raising a company. Before it was full, it 
was consolidated with another part of a 
company from Logan county, and became 
Co. I, 4th 111. Inf. Mr. Brown was elect- 
ed Second Lieutenant. He was with the 
regiment at the bombardment of Vera 
Cruz,' and at the battle of Cerro Gordo, 
April 1 8, 1847. The next day Lieut. 
Brown was promoted for gallantry, as aid 
de camp to Col. Baker, then commanding 
the brigade. On returning from Mexico, 
Mr. Brown read law in the office of Lin- 
coln & Herndon, and was admitted to the 
bar. He was then appointed Clerk of the 
Circuit Court of Menard county, to which 
office he was afterwards elected, and served 
in all six years, when he returned to 
Springfield, and practiced law for six 



years. He abandoned the practice, and in 
1859 engaged extensively in farming at 
Bates, in this county. He was elected 
Vice-P:-esident of the State Board of 
Agriculture, and served four years, eroding 
Sept., 1870, when he was elected Presi- 
dent of the Board for two years. He was 
appointed by Gov. Beveridge as one of 
the three Railroad and Warehouse Com- 
missioners, March 13, 1873, confirmed by 
the Senate the same day, and commis- 
sioned by the Governor on the I7th of the 
month. David A. Brown was married 
Dec. 8, 1852, in Sangamon county, to 
Eliza J. Smith. They have six living 
children, SALLIE C., WILLIAM J., 
HARRIET J. MARY E., JAY T. and 
CARRIE A., and reside at Bates. 

WILLIAM J., born March 23, 1827, 
in Greensburg, Ky., raised in Sangamon 
county, was married at Clinton, 111., Nov. 
22, 1854,10 Elizabeth M. Smith, and moved 
soon after to Decatur. They have three 
living children, HATTIE J., ANNIE 
and CHRISTOPHER N. In 1862 Wm. 
J. Brown became Capt. of Co. A, 116 111. 
Inf. He served through the battles of 
Chickasaw Bluff, Arkansas Post, and the 
siege and capture of Vicksburg. Capt. 
Brown resigned in 1863 on account of 
physical disability, took a trip to California 
for recruiting his health, and from that to 
the present time has been in the drug bus- 
iness in Decatur. 

MARTHA T., born and died in Ken- 
tucky, in her sixth year. 

JOHN H., born Feb. 17, 1832, in 
Greensburg, Ky., raised in Sangamon 
county, married in Decatur, Jan. 2, 1856, 
to Clara A. Stafford. They had three liv- 
ing children, DANIEL A., HARMON 
and MARY. John H. Brown was a 
druggist at Cairo, and was Treasurer of 
the city while residing there. He removed 
to Springfield, and continued in the same 
business, until failure of health induced 
him to visit California, where he died, at 
Grass Valley, April n, 1866. His widow 
married Dr. Justus Townsend, and resides 
in Springfield. 

CHRIS7^OPHER C., born Oct. 21, 
1834, at Athens, 111. He was married in 
Springfield to Bettie J. Stuart. They 
had three children, ^STUART, ED- 
WARDS and PAUL. Mrs. Bettie J. 
Brown died March 2, 1869. Part of the 
buildings now occupied by the Bettie 



SANGAMON COUNT*. 



149 



Stuart Institute had been her home, and 
the institution was so named in honor of 
her memory. C. C. Brown was married 
June 4, 1872, in Chicago, to Mrs. Carrie 
Farn'sworth, whose maiden name was 
Owsley. They have one child, ELIZA- 
BETH J., and reside in Springfield. Mr. 
Brown is a member of the law firm of 
Stuart, Edwards & Brown. 

JOEL B., the eldest child of the sec- 
ond wife, was born March 9, 1840, at San- 
gamo, Sangamon county. He was mar- 
ried Jan. 12, 1865, to Ella S. Saunders. 
They have one child, BETTIE J. Mr. 
Brown was in the drug business in Deca- 
tur, from 1859 to 1864. He is now a 
member of the firm of D. & J. B. Brown, 
booksellers and druggists, in Springfield. 

MART L. was born Sept. 7, 1844, ' n 
Sangamon county, and married Albert H. 
Cowgill. See his name. 

FRANKLIN B. was born Nov. 28, 
1848, in Sangamon county, and resides at 
Minneapolis, Minn. 

JAMES B. was born July 24, 1851, 
in Sangamon county, and resides in Spring- 
field. 

William B. Brown was a merchant in 
Kentucky, but on coming to Illinois he 
engaged extensively in land speculations. 
In connection with others, he took part in 
laying out many of the important towns 
in Illinois and Iowa. He died Dec. 14, 
1852, in Petersburg, and his widow, Mrs. 
Laura B. Brown, resides with her daugh- 
ter, Mrs. Cowgill, in Springfield. 

BROWN, REV. JOHN H., 
D. D., brother to William B. Brown, 
came to Springfield too late to be included 
as an early settler. His son, Dwight 
Brown, is a member of the firm of 
D. & J. B. Brown, of Springfield. Dr. 
John H. Brown was Pastor of the First 
Presbyterian Church of Springfield for a 
number of years, and at the time of his 
death was pastor of a church in Chicago.* 
He died in Chicago, Feb. 23, 1872, and 
was buried in Oak Ridge Cemetery. His 
widow resides on North Grand Avenue, 
Springfield. 

BROWN, JAMES L., was born 
Oct. 20, 1786, in South Carolina. He was 
married there May 28, 1806, to Jane M. 
Berry, and soon after went to Union 
county, Ky., where they had eight child- 
ren, and the family moved to Sangamon 
county, 111., arriving, in 1824, in what is 



now Fancy Creek township, where they 
had three children. Of their children 

NANCT H., born Nov. 28, 1808, mar- 
ried George Levan,who died in 1843, and 
she married John D. McCumber, and she 
died March 6, 1872. 

WILLIAM N., born May 25, 1810, 
in Kentucky, married Sarah Kilgour, who 
died, and he married Lucinda Ensor, and 
he died Feb. 19, 1872, in Sangamon coun- 
ty. His widow and six children reside in 
Montgomery county. 

ELIZABETH C., born Dec. 23, 
1812, married Enos Darnall. They had 
six sons, two of whom, JAMES L. and 
WILLIAM, are deaf and dumb, and 
were educated at Jacksonville. Mr. Dar- 
nall died near Wintersett, Iowa. His 
family reside there. 

BENJAMIN F., born March 28, 
1815, in Kentucky, married May 15, 1835, 
to Susannah Dunlap. They had seven 
children. MARY C. married George 
W. McClelland. See his name. AR- 
MINDA M. married Owen G. Allen, and 
reside in Sullivan county, Mo. JOHN J. 
married Mary A. Short, have one child, and 
reside at Heyworth, McLean county. 
EDNA D. died Feb. r, 1866, aged eighteen 
years. JAMES T. died Dec. 30, 1865,111 
his fifteenth year. ANNA F. married 
Martin McCoy, and reside in Fancy Creek 
township. Benjamin F. Brown died Feb. 
21, 1866, and his widow resides four miles 
northwest of Sherman. 

MART H., born June 23, 1817, mar- 
ried James T. Dunlap. See his name. 

THOMAS C.,born Nov. 2, 1819, died, 
aged eleven years. 

SARAH B., born April 3, 1821, mar- 
ried Orlando Bates. See his name. 

E MILT A.^ born May 12, 1823, mar- 
ried John R. Dunlap. See his name. 

MARTHA y., born April 29, 1825, 
married George Groves. See his name. 

S US AN F., born Aug. 27, 1827, mar- 
ried G. Willcockson, have six children, 
and reside in Lawrence county, Mo. 

REBECCA H., born Feb. 24, 1832, 
married William D. Power, Feb. 8, 1847. 
They had one child, and he died March 
15, 1848. His widow married March 22, 
1849, to Joseph Bates. See his name. 

James L. Brown died April 18, 1854, 
and his widow died twenty-seven days 
later May 15, 1854. He was a soldier in 



'5 



EARLY SETTLERS OF 



the war of 1812, and was at the battle of 
New Orleans. 

BROWN, THOMAS, was born 
Feb. 4, 1792, in South Carolina. Martha 
Thaxton was born May 4, 1791, in South 
Carolina also. They were married there, 
and moved to Allen county, Ky., where 
they had five children, and moved to San- 
gamon county, 111., arriving Oct 7, 1827, 
in what is now Fancy Creek township, 
where they had one child. Of their six 
children 

JEMIMA, born June i, 1811, in Allen 
county, Ky., married in Sanganion county 
to Thomas Sales. They had two children. 
MARGARET married William McClel- 
land. See his name. GEORGE T. 
married Susannah Gardner. She died, 
and he married Mrs. Elizabeth Turley, 
whose maiden name was Cline. They 
have two children, THOMAS and MAR- 
GARET. George T. Sales enlisted in 1861 
for three years, in Co. C, 7th III. Inf. He 
was a Lieutenant, served full term, and 
was honorably discharged. He lives near 
Athens, 111. Thomas Sales died, and his 
widow married Philip Crickmour, who 
also died. Mrs. Jemima Crickmour now 
(1874) lives with her sister, Mrs. Tames 
McClelland. 

Aunt Jemima as she is called by the 
young people related to the writer a 
good joke on herself, which serves to illus- 
trate the manners and customs of the peo- 
ple at the time she come to the country. 
She says that when the weather was suffi- 
ciently warm to admit of it, the young 
people, upon going to any public meeting, 
would carry their shoes and stockings un- 
til they approached their destination, when 
they would stop and put them on. As 
soon as they passed out of view, on leav- 
ing, they would again stop, take them off, 
and carry them home in their hands. 
This was done in order to make them last 
as long as possible. She thought it a sin- 
gular custom ; but after seeing her associ- 
ates practice it a few times, decided to try 
it herself. She was then about sixteen 
years of age. Religious meetings were 
held at private houses. She started on a 
Sunday morning to attend a meeting at 
the house of a neighbor, carrying her 
shoes and stockings in her hands. A shoil 
distance from the house she put them on, 
entered the meeting, and all passed off 
well until she started on the return, when 



a young gentleman accosted her at the 
door, and asked permission to accompany 
her home. This placed her in a quan- 
dary. If she wore her shoes the entire 
distance, it would wear them out so much 
earlier; if she stopped and took them off, 
there was reason to fear it would frighten 
her beau away. She was not long in de- 
ciding to wear the shoes and keep the 
beau. Economy in that line was thus 
brought to a sudden termination. 

JAMES, born Nov., 1813, in Allen 
county, Ky. He was married in Sanga- 
mon county to Elizabeth Scott. They 
have three children, and live in Kansas. 
At the time of -the " deep snow " he was 
but sixteen years old. It became neces- 
sary for him to carry a grist to mill on 
horseback. He found the traveling quite 
difficult, in consequence of the crust on 
the snow cutting the legs of his horse. 
A shawl belonging to some of the 
female portion of the familv had been 
wrapped about his person to keep him 
from freezing. He tore that in two pieces, 
took off his suspenders, and with them 
tied a half of the shawl on each of the 
forward legs of the horse, about where the 
snow crust would strike them. In that 
way he was enabled to bring home a sup- 
ply of breadstuff for the family. 

JOHN, born March 4, 1815, in Ken- 
tucky, died in Sangamon county in 1842. 

ELIZABETH, born in Kentucky, 
married in Sangamon county to William 
Cutwright. She died, leaving one son, 
DANIEL, who enlisted in the first call 
for 75,000 men, in 1861, and died m the 
armv. 

MART, born Dec. 25, 1818, in Allen 
county, Ky., married in Sangamon county 
to James McClelland. See his name. 

ROBERT T., born Aug. 21, 1831, in 
Sangamon county, married Dec. 28, 1848, 
to Edna M. Dunlap, who was born Jan. 
J3, 1832. They had seven children; the 
eldest died young. THOMAS, born Oct. 
10, 1851, married Oct. 23, 1872, to Hattie 
L. Short, and live in Fancy Creek town- 
ship. MARY E'., JAMES F., ALEX- 
ANDER, MARGERY I., ROBERT 
U. and JOHN A., live with their mother. 
Robert T. Brown died Feb. 6, 1866, and 
his widow lives near Sherman. 

Mrs. Martha Brown died Sept. n, 
1862, and Thomas Brown died July 23, 
1868, both in Saugamon county. Their 



SANGAMON COUNTY. 



children remember that the first corn Mr. 
Brown raised in the county for sale, was 
hauled away by Abraham Lincoln, as the 
hired man of John Taylor, who owned 
the land where they lived. 

BROWN, JAMES M., was 
born Sept. 28, 1812, in Davidson county, 
near Nashville, Tenn. He came to San- 
gamon county, arriving March 31, 1831, 
at the house of Gen. M. K. Anderson, 
east of Pleasant Plains. He was married 
Aug. 7, 1832, to Elizabeth Willis. They 
had eight living children in Sangamon 
county. Of their children 

MARTHA J., born Oct. 6, 1833, was 
married Sept. 14, 1856, to Daniel T. 
Hughes. They have three living child- 
ren, ADA, LULIE and ARTHUR, and 
reside at Greenview, III. 

CLARISSA M., born July 18, 1835, 
was married June 13, 1852,10 J. S. Young, 
a native of Somerset county, Penn. They 
have seven living children. JOSE- 
PHINE, born August 23, 1854, was mar- 
ried Nov. 20, 1873, to Charles A. Robin- 
son, a native Michigan. They have one 
child, GERTRUDE i., and reside near Oak 
Grove, Seward county, Neb. JEREMI- 
AH S.JAMES M., ROSA B., MARY 
F. DORA E. and CLARA M., and re- 
side near Valparaiso, Saunders county, 
Neb. 

SARAH E., born Dec. 5, 1837, was 
married April 20, 1856, to James K. Van- 
Demark, a native of Ohio. They have 
one child, ROSA S., and reside near 
Valparaiso, Neb. 

MART y., born Sept. 20, 1841, mar- 
ried George W. Sampson. He died Oct., 
1874, near Fail-field, Iowa. Mrs. Samp- 
son and her children, JAMES and NEL- 
LIE, reside with her parents. 

JOHN H., born Jan. 29, 1846, was 
married, August 13, 1865, to Adaline K. 
Adams. He is now (1875) a widower, 
with three children, CHARLES N., 
JAMES W. and ZACHEUS K., and re- 
sides at Crowder, Saunders county, Neb. 

JAMES T., born Dec. 13, 1848, mar- 
ried Amanda A. Pierce. They have one 
child, CHARLES E., and reside near 
Pleasant Plains, Sangamon county. 

LA VINA F., born Jan. 19, 1854, was 
married Sept. 25, 1873, to Thomas Brode- 
rick. They have one child, and reside 
near Pleasant Plains, Sangamon county, 
Illinois. 



JOSEPH C., born March 7, 1853, 
was married, Sept. n, 1873, to Sarah A. 
Snook. They have one child, THEO- 
DORE O., and reside near Crowder, 
Saunders county, Neb. 

James N. Brown and wife reside two 
and a half miles west of Pleasant Plains, 
Sangamon county, 111. 

BROWN, JOSHUA, was born 
May 20, 1792, in Davis county, Kv. 
Nancy Wilcher was born Dec., 1789, in 
the same county. They were there mar- 
ried, early in 1812. They had three child- 
ren in Kentucky, and in Nov., 1818, 
moved to St. Clair county, 111., and from 
there to what became Sangamon county, 
arriving April 18, 1819, in what is now 
Curran township, east of Archer's creek, 
and south of Spring creek, and later en- 
tered one hundred and sixty acres of land 
south of Spring creek, in Gardner town- 
ship. They had five children in Sanga- 
mon county. Of their eight children 

REZIN D., born May 6, 1813, in 
Davis county, Ky., was married in Sanga- 
mon county, 111., May 15, 1834, to Rachel 
Earnest. Thev had twelve children in 
Sangamon county. CATHARINE F., 
born March 7, 1835, was married Nov. 6, 
1855, to John Childs, who was born Dec. 
25, 1829, in Burlington, N. J. They had 
ten children, LEONA L., JOSEPH n., NOAH 

H., KATIE A., JOHN D., TIMOTHY S., ANNIE 
R., CHARLES F., JESSIE B. and HATTIE, 

and reside near Warrensburg, Macon 
county, 111. MARTIN V., born March 
4, 1837, the day VanBuren was inaugura- 
ted President of the United States. Ho 
was married Sept. 26, 1869, to Helen M. 
Cecil. They have one child, and reside 
near Rose Hill, Henry county, Mo. 
MARY A., born May 7, 1838, was mar- 
ried Oct., 1857, to James M. Gait. They 
have eight children, and reside near Pal- 
myra, Otoe county, Neb. CHARLOTTE, 
born Dec. 19, 1839, marrted Feb. 23, 1864, 
to Thomas B. Ray. See his name. She 
died Jan, 9, 1836, leaving one child, CHAR- 
LOTTE, who resides with her grand-pa- 
rents, Brown. JOHN D., born March i, 
1842, married Nov. 6, 1867, to Louisa J. 
Cecil. They have one child, GERTIE, and 
reside near Mt. Rose, Mo. CHARLES 
F., born Sept. 14, 1843, died Sept. 30, 
1853. PETER, born Atlg, 6, 1845, re- 
sides in Alta City Utah. ANNIS, born 
Aug. 1 6, 1847, n i :in "ied Nov. 10, 1869, to 



EARLY SETTLERS OF 



John Happer. They have two children, 
HOWARD H. and NELLIE, and reside near 
Maroa, Macon county, 111. LUANNA, 
born April 8, 1849, married Oct. 17, 1872, 
to Frank Leverton, and reside five miles 
west of Springfield. EDWIN, born May, 
1851, died Feb. 5, 1862. CHARLES, 
born Sept. 16, 1853, resides with his par- 
ents. JACOB J., born Jan. 15, 1856, 
died Jan., 1865. Rezin D. Brown and 
wife reside in the southeast corner of Cart- 
wright township. 

WILLIAM W. was born Feb. 6, 1815, 
in Kentucky, married in Illinois, Feb. 13, 
1844, to Phoebe Poole. They had four 
living children. CLARINDA J., born 
Jan. 12, 1845, man "i e d William Ankrom, 
and reside in Curran township. ZILLA 
A., born July 5, 1848, married Henry 
Dewall. They have one child, and reside 
at Falls City/Neb. JOSHUA T., born 
Feb. 28, 1851, resides in Sacramento, Cal., 
(now, in 1873). MARY M., born Dec. 
23, 1858, resides with her father. Mrs. 
Phoebe Brown died May 14, 1863, and 
William W. Brown was married Nov. 16, 

1869, to Mrs. Almeda DeLaughta, whose 
maiden name was Parker. She was born 
in Livingston pai'ish, near Lake Pontchar- 
train, La. They reside five miles east of 
Berlin. 

JOHN B., born Oct., 1816, in Ken- 
tucky, brought up in Sangamon county, 
and died unmarried, in the spring of 1869, 
in Wisconsin. 

JAMES M,, born Jan. 1820, in San- 
gamon county, married Abigail Gilison. 
They had two children in Sangamon 
county, moved to Iowa, and from there to 
Portland, Oregon, thence to Silver moun- 
tain, California, where he was robbed and 
murdered, about 1867, leaving a widow 
and two children. 

Z.ILLAH, born Nov. 14, 1821, in San- 
gamon county, was married, Jan. 12, 1840, 
to John Hillis, who was born April 30, 
1814. They had four living children. 
JOSHUA W., born April 5, 1843, was 
married near Mt. Rose, Mason county, in 

1870, to Birdie Meleane. They reside in 
Alma county, Colorado. MARY A., 
born June 29, 1845, was married April 17, 
1870, to Byington Owens. They have 
two children, and reside in Waynesville, 
111. JAMES E. and JOHN R., born 
Sept., 1849. JAMES E. was married 
Oct. 24, 1871, to Frances N. Jennings. 



They reside in Waynesville, 111. JOHN 
R. is unmarried and resides in Waynes- 
ville. John Hillis died April 30, 1849, 
and his widow was married Dec. 30, 1856, 
to James Large. They had two children. 
Mr. Large died April 18, 1864, and Mrs. 
Zillah Large and family live in Waynes- 
ville, DeWitt county, 111. 

JOSHUA M., bprn July, 1825, in 
Sangamon county, married Elizabeth A. 
Brown. They had six children, and he 
died Jan. 7, 1867. His widow married 
William Mercer, and resides near Ham- 
burg, Iowa. 

ELM ORE S., was born in 1827, in 
Sangamon county, enlisted in 1847, ' n ^ e 
4th 111. Inf. Served one year in the Mex- 
ican war, returned home, and died in 
1848. 

REUBEN M., was born in Jan. 1829, 
in Sangamon county, was married Nov. 
15, 1850, to Elizabeth J. Archer. They 
had six children, and Mrs. Brown died, 
Sept. 20, 1864. Mr. B. married Mrs. 
Jerusha Smith, whose maiden name was 
Sturtevant. The family reside in Fredo- 
nia, Kansas. 

Mrs. Nancy Brown died June 2, 1847, 
and Joshua Brown was married May u, 
1848, to Mrs. Mary Robinson, whose 
maiden name wasMayhew. She died May 
12, 1861, and he died Sept., 1863, on the 
farm where they settled in 1824. 

BROWN, JACOB J., was born 
August 15, 1781, in Vermont. He was 
married Feb. 24, 1803, in Hartford, jConn., 
to Ann Bacon, who was born there, Sept. 
19, 1786. They had four children in 
Hartford, and moved to Green county, 
Penn., where they had four children, then 
moved to the State of New York, and 
from there to Sangamon county, 111., ar- 
riving in 1823 or '4, in what is now Gard- 
ner township, north of Spring: creek, 
where they had two children. Of their 
children 

DEL OS W., born Oct. 28, 1803, in 
Hartford, Conn., married in Sangamon 
county, to Ruth Morgan, and had three 
children. ELIZABETH married Abner 
Wilkinson, and died. Mr. W. and his 
children reside in Springfield. D. W. 
Brown moved, about 1856, to Atchison 
county, Mo., and from there to Fremont 
county, Iowa. He died, and his widow 
and two children reside near Sidnev, Iowa. 



SANGAMON COUNTY. 



'53 



AMOS W., born March n, 1807, in 
Connecticut. He married three times. 
His second wife was Sophia Earnest. She 
died, leaving one child. 

JAMES J/., born May 16, 1809, in 
Connecticut. He was a soldier from San- 
gamon county, during the Winnebago 
war, came home sick, and died August 22, 
1827. 

MARY A., born April 27, 1811, in 
Connecticut. She was married three 
times, is now a widow Elliott, and, with 
two of her children, resides in Grundy 
county, Mo. 

JULIA ANN, born August 9, 1812, 
in Green county, Pa., married in Sanga- 
mon county, to Jeremiah King. See his 
name. 

LEANDER J., born March 19, 1815, 
married twice, and died, leaving a widow 
and five children near Oakford, Menard 
county. 

HULDAH M., born April 18, 1817, 
in Green county, Pa., married in Sanga- 
mon county to Jesse Ankrom, and lives in 
Springfield. 

LUCY M., born Feb. 13, 1820, in Pa., 
married twice, and died August 4, 1852, 
in Beardstown. 

JACOB y., Jun., born March 8, 1825, 
in Sangamon county, married Nov. 4, 
1850, to Emily M. Ralston. They have 
seven children, and live near Farming- 
dale. 

ELIZABETH A., born Nov. 9, 

1829, in Sangamon county, married Joshua 
M. Brown. See his name. He died and 
she married Wm. Mercer, and lives near 
Hamburg, Iowa. 

Jacob J. Brown, Sen, died Oct. u, 1839, 
and his widow died Oct. 21, 1873, both in 
Sangamon county. 

BRUCE, BENJAMIN P., 
was born May 21, 1826, in Carroll county, 
Tenn. His parents moved to Morgan 
county, near Jacksonville, in the spring of 

1830. His father died there, of cholera, 
in 1833. His mother, with six children, 
moved to Springfield in 1834, and in 1836 
moved back to Morgan county, where she 
was married to George R. McAllister. 
While she lived in Springfield her son, 
whose name heads this sketch, was bound 
to Rev. Joseph Edmondson, of the M. 
E. Church, and taken to St. Clair county, 
thence to Bond county. In 1843 ^ e went 
to Memphis, Tenn., and returned to 

20 



Springfield in 1852, and was married June 
18, 1854, t Ann Gunn, in Morgan coun- 
ty. He enlisted for three years, Aug." 6, 
1862, in Co. H, 114 111. Inf. He was 
wounded in the right eye at the battle of 
Nashville, Dec. 15-16, 1864, recovered, 
served full term, and was honorably dis- 
charged Aug. 3, 1865. Mr. and Mrs. 
Bruce had four children; two died in in- 
fancy. SARAH A. died, aged twelve 
years. WILLIAM T. resides with his 
parents. Benjamin P. Bruce and wife re- 
side three and a quarter miles northwest 
of Springfield. 

His mother, Mrs. Mary W. McAllister, 
whose maiden name was Gunn, resides 
with him. 

BRUNK, DAVID, was born 
Dec. 17, 1819, in Ohio, came with his 
brother George, his mother and step- 
father, Thomas Royal, to Sangamon coun- 
ty, in Dec., 1824. He was married Nov. 
5, 1833, to Maria Shoup. They had four 
children in Sangamon county, namely 

JACOB, born Nov. 5, 1834, married 
Emily J. Mason. They have three child- 
ren, THOMAS M., CHARLES A. and 
ELIZABETH M., and live one half 
mile east of Crow's mill, in Ball town- 
ship. 

SARAH J. married Wm. H. South- 
wick. See his name. 

ELLEN E. married Walter S. Car- 
penter. They had three children, 
CHARLES B. died, aged eight years, 
JACOB H. at three years. MARIA 
CATHARINE lives with her parents, in 
Ball township. 

ANN MARIA married - - South- 
wick. See his name. 

David Brunk died Jan. 23, 1855. His 
widow lives near Crow's mill, in Ball 
township. 

BRUNK, GEORGE, was born 
Dec. 22, 1804, in Miami county, Ohio. At 
seventeen years of age he came to Sanga- 
mon county, 111., arriving in the fall of 
1821. He entered eighty acres of land in 
what is now Ball township, returned to 
Ohio, and brought his mother, and step- 
father, Thomas Royal, with his brothers 
and sisters, to Sangamon county, and set- 
tled them on the land he had entered, 
where Dr. Shields now resides. He en- 
tered more land, built for himself a hewed 
log house, and was married Dec. 30, 1827, 
to Mary Boyd. She- was horn Jan. i, 



'54 



EARLY SETTLERS OF 



1806. They had eight children, three of 
whom died young. 

AMANDA T., born April 7, 1830, 
married Daniel G. Jones. See his name. 

MART E., born Dec. 17, 1831, mar- 
ried Eugene Owens. They had six child- 
ren. The third one, JOHN F., died at 
two years of age. The other five, GEO. 
B., DANIEL G., EMMA E., ULYS- 
SES GRANT and ARTHUR R. re- 
side with their mother, in Cotton Hill 
township. 

SUSANNAH, born May 28, 1833, 
died March 1=5, 1847. 

MARIA C., born Nov. 23, 1835, mar - 
ried Dow Newcomer. See his name. 

EVELINE, born March 26, 1844, 
married Lockwood Rusk. See his name. 
She died, and left one child in Cotton 
Hill township. 

Mrs. Mary Brunk died March, 1847, 
and Mr. Brunk was married March i, 
1849, to Eliza Armstrong. They had 
three children, namely: 

MARTHA yl.,born Jan. 8, 1850, mar- 
ried Thomas J. Nuckolls. See his name. 

THOMAS ALBERT, born July 30, 
1853. He was educated under the guard- 
ianship of Philemon Stout, at Shurtleff 
College, and resides in Ball township. 

GEORGE A., died at six years of 
age. 

Mrs. Eliza Brunk died Oct. 4, 1860, 
and Mr. B. married Dec. 12, 1861, to 
Emily Talbott. They had two children, 
viz.: TALBOTT F. and JOSEPH 
C., who reside with their mother. 

George Brunk died Sept. 2, 1868, near 
where he settled in 1824. His widow 
married Lindsay H. English, and resides 
two miles southeast of Springfield. 

The first entry of land in Sangamon 
county was made Nov. 6, 1823, by Israel 
Archer, being the west half of the north- 
west quarter of section eight, town four- 
teen north, range fourteen west. It is in 
Cotton Hill township, and the Prot. M. 
E. church stands on a part of it now. 

The second entry was made the same 
day, Nov. 6, by Mason Fowler. It was 
the east half of the southwest quarter ot 
section twenty-seven, town fourteen, range 
four west, and is on Horse creek. 

The next day, Nov. 7. Elijah lies, 
Thomas Cox, John Taylor and Paschal 
P. Enos, entered the four quarters on 
which Springfield was laid out. This is 



from a newspaper article written by Geo. 
Brunk. 

BRYAN, GEORGE, was born 
Feb. 15, 1758, in North Carolina. He 
went, or may have been taken by his par- 
ents, to Virginia, and from there to Ken- 
tucky with Daniel Boone, about 1780. 
There he either founded, or by his bold 
daring as a leader, gave the name to a 
primative fortification called Bryant's Sta- 
tion, in what became Fayette county, Ky., 
a few miles from where the city of Lex- 
ington was afterwards established. % It 
will be observed that in applying the 
name to the fortification a letter has been 
added, making the name Bryant, which is 
erroneous. There is a tradition preserved 
by his descendants, that soon after the fort 
was established, the young women belong- 
ing to the families connected with it were 
washing clothes at a stream of running 
water on the outside of the stockade. 
George Bryan and some of the other 
young men stood guard. Not being ap- 
prehensive of danger, they permitted the 
Indians to place themselves between the 
girls and the fort. The guard quickly 
secured a position between the girls and 
the savages, and a skirmish ensued. After 
making the way clear, Bryan, in a loud 
voice, announced that he would marry the 
girl who would enter the fort first. They 
all escaped, and he, true to his word, after 
gaining the consent of the young lady, 
was married in the fall of 1781 to Eliza- 
beth Ragan, who was born in 1760, in 
South Carolina. Mr. Bryan always 
claimed that it was first marriage of a 
white couple in what became the State of 
Kentucky. That was before the era of 
mills in that region of country, and his 
descendants have handed down the state- 
ment, in connection with the wedding 
festival, that he paid ten dollars for a 
bushel of corn meal, to make bread for 
the occasion. They had at least raised 
one crop, and Mr. Bryan rolled pumpkins 
into the fort as a substitute for chairs to 
seat the guests. They had ten or eleven 
children, four of them sons, and Mrs. 
Bryan died. Mr. Bryan was married in 
1829, to Mrs. Cassandra Miller, who died 
in Kentucky, in 1833. In 1834^1'. Bryan 
came to Sangamon county with some of 
his children and grand-children. Of his 
children, who came to this county 



SAN GAM ON COUNTY. 



'55 



NICHOLAS, born March 24, 1794, in 
Bourbon county, Ky. He was a soldier 
in the war of 1812, and was in the battle 
of New Orleans, Jan. 8, 1815. Soon after 
the close of the war, and within that year, 
he was married in his native county to 
Mary Delay Scott, who was horn there 
Dec. 24, 1800. They had four children 
in Kentucky, and came to Sangamon 
county in 1833, settling in what is now 
Woodside township. Their son GEO., 
born in 1818, in Kentucky, married near 
Elkhart, Logan county, 111., in 1839, 
moved to Texas and died there, leaving 
two children. ELIZA C., born Feb. 17, 
1820, in Bourbon county, Ky., married 
July 25, 1837, near Springfield, 111., to 
James Taylor. See his name. MARY 
J., born May 22, 1822, in Bourbon county, 
Ky., married in 1840 in Springfield, 111., 
to Milton H. Wash. See his name. 
ROBERT A., born July 13, 1833, in 
Kentucky, married in Springfield, 111., to 
Hannah Sperry. She died, and his resi- 
dence is unknown, but it is somewhere 
South. Mrs. Mary D. Bryan died Dec. 
25, 1843, in Springfield, 111., and Nicholas 
Bryan was married in 1845 to Adelia 
Trumbull. They had one child, BRY- 
ANAH, and moved to the Pacific coast. 
Nicholas Bryan died in 1855, in San Jose, 
Santa Clara county, Cal., leaving his 
widow and daughter there. 

MB LINDA W., born April 11,1797, 
in Bourbon county, Ky., married there in 
1815 to Abraham Todd, who was born in 
Woodford county, Ky., in 1792. They 
had three children in Kentucky, and Mr. 
Todd died. Mrs. Todd married Thomas 
P. Pettus. See his name. Mr. Pettus 
and wife, with her three daughters by the 
first marriage, came to Sangamon county 
in 1838, and settled near what is now 
Woodside Station. Of the three children, 
ELIZA J. TODD, born April 29, 1816, 
in Woodford county, Ky., married in 
Sangamon county, April 16, 1840, to 
Stephen S. Ferrell. They have a family, 
and reside at Boscobel, Grant county, 
Wis. MARY A. TODD born Jan. 12, 
1819, in Woodford county, Ky., married 
Aug. 12, 1835, in Sangamon county, to 
Thomas B. Morris. They have children, 
and reside near Wyoming, Iowa county, 
Wis. ANNA MARIA TODD, born 
Jan. 19, 1823, in Woodford county, Ky., 
married in Sangamon county to John B. 



Wolgamot. See his name. Also, see 
T. P. Pettus. 

POLLY, born Aug. 20, 1797, in Bour- 
bon county, Ky., married there to Thomas 
Jones. See his name. She died in Ken- 
tucky, but her family came to Sangamon 
county. 

When George Bryan came to Sanga- 
mon county, in 1834, he was in his seventy- 
sixth year, but he continued visiting Ken- 
tucky, riding each way on horseback, an- 
nually for eleven years. He died Nov. 
22, 1845, and was buried near Woodside 
Station, Sangamon county. He was 
eighty-seven years, nine months and seven 
days old. 

It seems almost incredible that a man 
who was of sufficient age to have been a 
soldier in the American Revolution, and 
who took an active part in the stirring 
scenes of the frontier settlements in the 
second State admitted to the American 
Union, should have become an early set- 
tler of Sangamon county, and witnessed 
some of its earliest strides towards civili- 
zation : but the life of George Bryan ex- 
tended over this long and eventful period. 
His grandson, William T. Jones, has a 
great fund of reminiscences of the life of 
his grandfather Bryan, as he received 
them from the lips of the venerable 
patriarch while living. I can only give 
place to two incidents, both of which oc- 
curred in Kentucky. 

On one occasion, when the forests were 
swarming with hostile Indians, Mr. Bryan, 
with six other men, left the Station for a 
scouting expedition. Proceeding cautious- 
ly, they had gone but two or three miles 
when the seven white men were fired up- 
on by just twice their number of Indians, 
who lay in ambush until the white men 
were very near them. The Indians were 
good marksmen with bows and arrows, 
but they had not been sufficiently accus- 
tomed to fire-arms to become expert in 
using them. In their haste they over- 
shot their marks, and never hurt a man. 
The advantage would then have been 
decidedly in favor of the whites, but at 
this juncture three of the latter, supposing 
there was a large force of Indians, took 
to flight. The other three, with Bryan at 
their head, each took to a tree, and com- 
menced firing at the Indians. The fight 
continued ^the whole day, and as the sun 
was sinking to rest, it was discovered that 



'56 



EARL 7 SETTLERS OF 



there were but two men on each side in 
fighting condition: the chief on one side, 
and Bryan on the other, with a single 
man each. The others were all killed or 
severely wounded. A parley ensued, 
which ended in an agreement that the one 
subordinate on each side should cease hos- 
tilities, for the purpose of taking care of 
the dead and wounded, and that the two 
leaders should fight until one or the other 
conquered. Each kept behind a tree, 
with his gun loaded, while they were 
parleying, and when ready to renew hos- 
tilities, each called the other by every 
epithet expressing cowardice that they 
could respectively command, and each 
dared the other to come out and engage 
in open combat. As it was growing dark, 
Bryan put his cap on the end of his ram- 
rod, and moved it from the tree as though 
he was very cautiously preparing to shoot. 
The Indian fired at the cap, and finding 
himself deceived, he ran in a zig-zag 
course, cautiously looking back until he 
thought himself at a safe distance, when 
he took to a tree and began to load his 
rifle. The moment the chief fired, Bryan 
sprang from his tree, and, instead of fol- 
lowing direct, he ran at an angle of about 
forty-five degrees from the course of the 
Indian, and was soon out of the line 
where the latter expected to see him. 
Bryan thus had the Indian in plain view, 
while the latter thought himself secure. 
As the chief raised both arms to ram 
down the load, Bryan fired, the ball enter- 
ing under one arm, it passed out under the 
other, and he fell dead. His clothes 
were covered with silver brooches and 
other ornaments, that were kept in the 
families of Bryan's descendants for many 
years. 

As the increasing number of the whites 
convinced the Indians that they must 
eventually give way, they became less 
hostile. About this time Bryan and a 
comrade spent several weeks in hunting, 
and had taken a large number of skins 
and furs. While the two were alone in 
camp, a considerable number of Indians 
encamped near them ; and very soon two 
of the Indians came to their camp, and, 
without the least ceremony, commenced 
opening and examining the goods belong- 
ing to the two white men. Mr. Bryan 
made up his mind that the result of their 
winter's work was lost, for if the Indians 



chose to take their goods, it would be 
madness to resist with such odds against 
them. Unknown to Bryan, his partner 
was an expert in legerdemain, and the 
thought occurred to him that the Indians 
might be driven off by some deceptive 
movement. He asked one of the savages 
for his butcher knife, and at once went 
through all the motions of swallowing it. 
The other Indian handed out his knife, 
which was swallowed with violent contor- 
tions. The two hurried away to their own 
camp, and soon returned with their chief, 
who held in his hand a much larger knife, 
having a very rough buck-horn handle, 
with a horn spike about three inches long 
at one side. The white man shook his 
head, make signs that the knife was too 
large, that the little horn on the side of 
the handle would be more than he could 
swallow. They insisted, and he made 
signs that he would try. He then in- 
dulged in contortions so violent as to bring 
tears to his eyes; but the knife disap- 
peared. The red men felt of his body, 
and came so near finding where the 
knives were hidden, that he thought it 
would be safer to return them, and com- 
menced casting up and handing each In- 
dian his knife. They, one after another, 
received their knives, each taking his own 
very carefully by the point, between the 
thumb and finger, would smell of it, make 
a wry face, and throw it on the ground. 
The three savages withdrew together, 
leaving their knives where they had fallen, 
and before morning the whole company, 
afraid to steal anything else, stole them- 
selves away. 

Having said so much about his pioneer 
life, in which he was brought in contact 
with wild beasts, savages, and white men 
unused to the restrains of civilized life as 
we now enjoy it, would probably lead the 
reader to infer that he was a rough and 
harsh man; but such was not the case. 
He embraced Christianity in early life, and 
was one of the most steadfast supporters 
of the ordinances of religion. He aided 
in building a Baptist church at Bryan Sta- 
tion, which a grand-daughter of his, now 
living in Springfield, visited in 1860, and 
found it still in use. He was a member 
of that church, and worshipped there as 
long as he remained in Kentucky. He 
always held family worship, in which the 
colored servants were expected to unite. 



SANGAMON COUNT?. 



'57 



He continued the practice to the day of 
his death. 

BRYAN, LARKIN, was born 
Nov. 2, 1800, in Woodford county, Ky. 
He was married thei'e in 1820 to Mrs. 
Harriet Chapman, whose maiden name 
was Thornberry. They moved to the 
Missouri lead mines, and from there to 
Sangamon county, in the fall of 1821, and 
settled five miles northeast of Springfield. 
They had seven children in Sangamon 
county. Of their children 

WILLIAM C, born Jan. 29, 1822, 
married Anna Brennan, have three child- 
ren, and reside near Charleston, 111. 

MART F., born July n, 1824, married 
Presley Chrisman. She died, leaving her 
husband and three children near Promise 
Citv, Wayne county, Iowa. 

RACHEL J., born Dec. 7, 1825, mar- 
ried Willis Chrisman. They have four 
children, and reside in Sangamon county, 
near Waverly. 

JAMES H., born March 7, 1827, is 
unmarried, and resides in Springfield. He 
has a saw mill on South Fork. 

C1NTHIA A., born Oct. 18, 1829, 
married John Kline, and resides in St. 
Joseph, Mo. 

LARKIN A., born March "3, 1830, 
married Nov. i, 1860, to Sarah A. Mitchell, 
who was born April 16, 1842, in Finedon, 
Northamptonshire, England. They had 
five childen. HARRIET E. died in her 
seventh year. JAMES W., JESSIE H., 
LAVINIA A! and CHARLES W. re- 
side with their parents, near Waverly, 111. 

HARRIET M., born July 3, 1832, 
married DeWitt C. Marsh. See his 
name. 

Mrs. Harriet Bryan died April 4, 1862, 
and Larkin Bryan was married Jan. 14, 
1863, to Mrs. Sarah Yeamans, who had 
previously been Mrs. Britt, and whose 
maiden name was Wilson. He died two 
miles north of Springfield, in 1874. His 
widow resides in Springfield. 

BUCHANAN, REUBEN, 
was born March 20, 1809, in Woodford 
county, Ky. His father moved, in 1819 
or '20, to Morgan county, 111. Reuben 
remained there until 1834, when he came 
to Sangamon county, settling at Salisbury, 
where he was married to Barbara Duncan, 
a step-daughter of Solomon Miller. She 
was born March 15, 1812, in Cumberland 
county, Ky. Mr. and Mrs. Buchanan 



had four children, three of whom died 
young. The only one living 

HARRIET A., born Dec. 3, 1838, at 
Salisbury, married Jan. i, 1857, in Spring- 
field, to Lafayette Smith. See his name. 

Mr. Buchanan moved from Salisbury to 
Springfield in April, 1847, and was en- 
gaged in the grocery business until his 
death, which occurred Nov. 14, 1861. His 
widow resides with her son-in-law, Lafa- 
yette Smith, in Springfield. 

BUCKMAN, JOEL, born Nov. 
6, 1790, in Bethel, Vermont. He was the 
second child of Jeremiah Buckman and 
Ruth Banister, his wife. They were born 
in Springfield, Mass; he Sept. n, 1762, 
and she March 20, 1771. Joel Buckman 
and Huldah Tilley were married in Ver- 
mont, and moved to Potsdam, N. Y., had 
six children, and Mrs. B. died, Dec. 17, 
1828. He was married June 19, 1829, to 
Hannah Bowker. They had one child, 
and moved to Sangamon county, 111., ar- 
riving Sept., 1834, at Old Sangamo. Mrs. 
Hannah B. died Nov. 6, 1838. Joel 
Buckman and Sally Watts were married 
in Sangamon county, March 5, 1839. 
They had one child. Of all his child- 
ren 

JOEL, born Dec. 2, 1813, died July 5, 

l8 35- 

L ORENDA,\>orn Sept. 9, 1815, in Pots- 
dam, N. Y., married in Sangamon county, 
June 20, 1837, to William B. Brown. 
See his name. 

LE VINIA, born Dec. 22, 1819, in 
New York, married in Sangamon county, 
Dec., 1835, to Waters Carman. They 
had four children, and she died. He 
moved to Oregon. 

CAL VIN, born Jan. 31, 1822, in New 
York, married in Sangamon county, Nov. 
1843, to Sophia Eastabrook. They have 
seven children, and reside at Delavan, 
Tazewell county. 

HULDAH S., born Feb. 16, 1824, in 
New York, married in Sangamon county, 
Oct. 20, 1842, to Lucius Seeley. See his 
name. 

SILAS L., born Feb. 19, 1828, in 
New York, married Anna Clemens. He 
resides near Farmingdale. 

HANNAH W., born March 26, 1832, 
died in her third year. 

BENJAMIN, born Sept. 6, 1841, in 
Sangamon county, resides with his mother, 
near Farmingdale. 



EARLY SETTLERS OF 



Joel Buckman died March 13, 1872, in 
Sangamon county, and his widow resides 
two miles southwest of Farmingdale. 

BOLLARD, REUBEN, was 
born Dec. 22, 1792, in Caroline county, 
Va. He went to Woodford county, Ky., 
in 1787, and to Shelby county in 1790. He 
was there married in 1803, to Elizabeth 
Gill, who was born Oct. 30, 1779, near 
Charlestown, Va. They had eight child- 
ren in Kentucky, four of whom, Eliza, 
Lucinda, Richard and Nancy J., died 
there, between the ages of fifteen and 
twenty-five years. Mrs. Elizabeth Bui- 
lard died Jan. 6, 1835, and Reuben Bui- 
lard, with three of his children, came to 
Sangamon county, arriving in Nov., 1835, 
in what is now Illiopolis township, one 
son having come before. Of the four 
children 

JOHN, born Feb. 10, 1805, in Shelby 
county, Ky., came to Sangamon county 
April 6, 1830, and made his home partly 
at Buffalo Hart Grove and partly in the 
vicinity of Mechanicsburg, and returned 
to Kentucky in 1833. Sarah S. Fallis 
was born Feb. 3, 1812, in St. Louis coun- 
ty, Mo., her parents having moved there 
from Kentucky. During the war with 
England the Indians became troublesome, 
and the family moved back, in 1813, to 
Henry county, Ky. John Bullard and 
Sarah S. Fallis were there married, Sept. 
4, 1834, and came at once to Sangamon 
county, where they had ten children. 
JOHN W., born Oct. 21, 1836, died May 
6, 1856. NANCY F.,born May 29, 1838, 
married April 30, 1873, to Charles How- 
ard, and reside near Neola, Iowa. WIL- 
LIAM S., born Jan. 7, 1841. He enlist- 
ed August 7, 1862, in Co. A, 73d 111. Inf. 
for three years, was wounded at the battle 
of Franklin, Tenn., Nov. 30, 1864, served 
until the end of the rebellion, and was 
honorably discharged. He was married 
Dec. 28, 1871, to Elizabeth S. Zane. They 
have two children, LETHE IRENE and 
MARY, and reside four and a half miles 
east of Mechanicsburg. REUBEN S., 
born August 31, 1842, married Sept. 23, 
1873, in Shelbyville, Ky., to Marian 
Saunders. She was born there, May 8, 
1849. They have one child, ANNIE, and 
reside four and a half miles east of Me- 
chanicsburg, where his father settled in 
1834. EDNA E., born April 12, 1844, 
married Oct. 16, 1867, to Charles C. Rad- 



cliflfe, a native of Frederick county, Md. 
They have three children, NOR A A., AUBRA 
L. and SALLIE F., and resides in Mechan- 
icsburg. JOSEPHINE, born Dec. 17, 
1845, was married at Mechanicsburg, 
May 27, 1875, to Capt. George Ritchey, 
and reside in Boonville, Mo. MARY J., 
born Dec. 17, 1847, died Feb. 14, 1875. 
WILBER C., born Sept. 19, 1850; 
JACOB B. born Jan. 20, 1854; HENRY 
S., born March 18, 1858, all reside with 
their mother, except WILBUR C., who 
lives in Decatur. John Bullard died Dec. 
26, 1872, and his widow lives in Mechan- 
icsburg. 

MART A., born Sept. 25, 1810, in 
Shelby county, Ky., married there to 
Benjamin Fortune. See his name. 

SARAH AGNES, born March 24, 
1814, in Shelby county, Ky., married 
Jacob N. Fullinwider. See his name. 

WES LET, born July 28, 1816, in 
Shelby county, Ky., married March 23, 
1843, in Sangamon county, to Sarah A. 
Foster, who was born July 18, 1824, in 
Montgomery county, Ky., and came to 
Sangamon county on a visit in 1842. Her 
parents lived, at the time, in Putnam, Ind. 
Mr. and Mrs. B. had eight sons in San- 
gamon county. WILLIAM H., born 
August 16, 1844, enlisted August 4, 1862, 
for three years, in Co. A, 73d 111. Inf., was 
slightly wounded at the battle of Frank- 
lin, Tenn. He served to the end of the 
rebellion, and was honorably discharged, 
June 24, 1865, married in Sangamon 
county, Sept. 13, 1866, to Abbie P. Bald- 
win, who was born Nov. 21, 1847, near 
Monticello, Madison county. They have 
three children, SARAH L., WESLEY c. and 
MARY B., and live five miles east of Me- 
chanicsburg. JAMES R. resides (1874) 
in San Francisco, Cal. JOHN N., 
FRANCIS B., SAMUEL A., GEO. 
W., BENJ. F. and SAY A. FOSTER; 
the six latter live with their father. Mrs. 
Sarah A. Bullard died Feb. 13, 1861, and 
Wesley Bullard was married August 6, 
1863, m Sangamon county, to Mrs. Eliza- 
beth Holsman, whose maiden name was 
Kidd. She was born May 7, 1828, in 
Fluvanna county, Va. Her home was in 
Circleville, Ohio, but she was on a visit to 
Sangamon county at the time of her mar- 
riage. They have two children, JULIA 
and ROBERT A., and live four miles 



SANGAMON COUNTT. 



159 



east of Mechanicsburg, where he settled 
in 1835. 

Reuben Bullard died Sept. 6, 1836, in 
Sangamon county. 

.His father's name was Reuben Bullard. 
He was in the Revolutionary army as a 
non-combatant, and lost his life by drink- 
ing too freely of cold water while he was 
over-heated. He made a gun, which he 
gave to his son, whose name heads this 
sketch. It is now (1874) in possession of 
a son of John Bullard Reuben S. the 
fourth generation from the man who made 
it. The brass plate opposite the lock 
bears the inscription, R. B., J77 2 - It is a 
smooth bore ; the barrel is four feet eight 
inches long, and the whole gun is six feet 
one inch. An anecdote is related of 
it, that when the boys of a former genera- 
tion used the gun, they always hunted in 
pairs, one to do the shooting and the other 
to see that the marksman did not get the 
muzzle beyond the game. 

BURCH, JOHN, was born about 
1770, in Georgia. He was married in 
1800, in Gallatin county, Ky., to Elizabeth 
Hampton, who was born in 1780, in Lou- 
don county, Va. They had six children 
in Kentucky, and Mr. Burch came to 
Sangamon county in the fall of 1828, with 
his son-in-law, James McKee. He went 
back to Kentucky for his family, and died 
there May 10, 1829. In the fall of that 
year his family moved to Sangamon coun- 
ty, and settled near Mechanicsburg. Of 
their six children 

SARAH, born about 1801, in Ken- 
tucky, married there to William Jack, and 
moved to Sangamon county. See his 
name. 

BENJAMIN, born Aug. i, 1803, in 
Gallatin county, Ky., married in Sanga- 
mon to Mary Smith. He died in McLean 
county in 1863. His widow married 
James Waite, and lives, in Bloomington. 

JANE, born in 1805, in Gallatin coun- 
ty, Ky., married there. Jan. 9, 1828, to 
James McKee, and came to Illinois in the 
fall of that year, and settled near Mechan- 
icsburg. 

PRESTON H., born in 1807, in Gal- 
latin county, Ky., married in Sangamon 
county in 1831, to Elizabeth Suter. They 
had five children in Sangamon county. 
SARAH E. married William H. Green, 
and lives at Dubuque, Iowa, with her onlv 
child, I.ULU. LEVARIAN, born Dec. 



2 5 
N 



m Sangamon county, enlisted at 
ewport Barracks, April, 1861, in Battery 
G, 2nd Reg. U. S. Art. He was promo- 
ted to Second Lieutenant, was wounded 
at the battle of Gettysburg, and died of 
his wounds, late in 1863, at Washington 
City. JAMES M.,born Feb. 18, 1839, in 
Sangamon county. He graduated at St. 
Louis Medical College in 1859, and en- 
listed as a private, June 20, 1861, in Co. 
C, 8th Mo. Inf.; was promoted in July, 
'6 1, to Asst. Surg., which he resigned in 
Aug., 1862, and was commissioned Cap- 
tain of Co. K, 94th 111. Inf. He resigned 
that office in Sept., 1863, and was promo- 
ted Lieutenant Colonel of the i6th U. S. 
Colored Troops, at New Orleans, which 
he resigned at Brazos, Texas, in Sept., 
1864. Dr. J. M. Burch was married Oct. 
8, 1860, at Bloomington, to Jennie L. 
McClunn, a native of that city. After the 
close of the rebellion he practiced medi- 
cine at Illiopolis, and died there July 26, 
1874, leaving a widow and four children,. 

FRANK P., ED. R., LEVARIAN and CORA. 

Mrs. Jennie L. Burch and children reside 
at Bloomington. JOHN S., born July 
1840, in Sangamon county, went to 
California in 1861, and was drowned 
March 3, 1865, at San Juan, Nicaragua, 
while on his way home. ELIZA J,, born 
March, 1842, in Sangamon county, is a 
teacher at Mt. Sterling. Preston H. 
Burch enlisted in 1862, at Peoria, in Co. 
, io8th 111. Inf., and died of disease at 
Young's Point, near Vicksburg, Miss., 
Feb. 1 8, 1863. His widow died at Mt. 
Sterling, Brown county, 111., Dec., 1865. 

ELIZA, born in 1810, in Kentucky, 
married in Sangamon county to James 
Smith. They had one child, MARY, 
born in Sangamon county, married Oct. 
8, 1860, to Dr. Edward Stevens, and re- 
side in Bloomington. James Smith died 
Sept., 1845, m Springfield, and his widow 
married Josiah Green. She died Feb., 
1852, and he died July, 1855, both in 
Mechanicsburg. 

WADE S., born Oct. 14, 1815, in Gal- 
latin county, KV., married in Sangamon 
county Jan. 8, 1845, to Mary E. Young. 
They had ten children, seven of whom 
died under seven years. SUSAN B., 
born July 26, 1850, married Jan. 8, 1868, 
to James Newton Moreland, who was 
born Dec. 17, 1840, in Bath county, Ky., 
served nearly four years from Aug. i, 



EARLT SETTLERS OF 



1862 in Co. B, loth Ky. Cav. (Union), 
and was honorably discharged in 1865. 
Mr. and Mrs. Moreland live in Illiopolis 
township. WERTER P., born March 
n, 1861, and HARRY, born Feb. 10, 

1864, live with their parents W. S. Burch 
and wife, reside two miles south of Lanes- 
ville. 

Mrs. Elizabeth Burch died Sept. 20, 

1865, in Curran township. 
BURKHARDT, JOHN M., 

was born Feb. 2, 1807, in Schwarzenberg, 
county of Neuremberg, Kingdom of 
Wurtemberg. He came to America in 
1832, and spent two summers in Pennsyl- 
vania, and as many winters in Mississippi. 
He came to Springfield in 1836, and was 
there married, Aug. 18, 1843, to Mary E. 
Nagle, who was born June 24, 1827, in 
Bavaria, Canton Bergzabern. She sailed 
Oct. 20, 1841, in the ship Oceana. The 
vessel was wrecked off the island of 
Jamaica, Dec. 3, 1841. The passengers 
were all saved, but lost their baggage. 
They were transferred to another vessel, 
and arrived at New Orleans Jan. 8, 1842, 
to find the city in holiday attire in honor 
of Gen. Jackson's victory over the British, 
Jan 8, 1815. Her father died in St. Louis, 
while she was detained by shipwreck. 
She came on to Springfield, arriving in 
March, 1842, and joined her sister, Mrs. 
Catharine Lorch, then and now the wife 
of Charles Lorch. Mr. and Mrs. Burk- 
hardt had eleven children ; two died under 
three years, and Charles A. died, aged 
seven. Of the other eight 

JOHN, born May 20, 1844, enlisted 
July 4, 1862, for three months, in Co. D, 
7oth 111. Vol. Inf., and served five months 
as a Corporal. He again enlisted March 
22, 1864, in Co. G, ii4th 111. Vol. Inf., for 
three years. He was killed June 10, 
1864, at the battle of Guntown, Miss. 

BERTHA, born June 23, 1847, was 
married March 6th, 1874, to Walter F. 
Swift, who was born in New Bedford, 
Mass. They reside in Ottawa, Kan. 

CHARLES A., EMMA, ANNIE 
L., JENNIE C., IDA B. and LIL- 
LIE E., live with their mother. 

John M. Burkhardt died Aug. i, 1868, 
and his widow resides one mile east of 
Springfield, 111. 

BURNS, THOMAS, was born 
August i, 1773, at Alexandria, Va. His 
father was a native of Scotland, and was 



killed by his team running away when 
Thomas was a child. Elizabeth Ridge- 
way was born Nov. 25, 1775, in Berkley 
county, Va. Thomas Burns and Eliza- 
beth Ridgeway were married March 1 1^, 
1794, and had one child in Berkley coun- 
ty; and then moved to Washington coun- 
ty, West Va., where they had three child- 
ren. They then moved to North Caro- 
lina, and after a short stay, moved to Jes- 
samine county, Ky., where they had one 
child, and from there to Clarke county, 
where they had seven children. The 
family moved from there to Sangamon 
county, 111., arriving in the fall of 1829, 
in what is now Mechanicsburg township. 
Some of their children had preceded them. 
Of their children 

RACHEL, born Jan. 30, 1795, in 
West Virginia, died Jan. 30, 1816, in Ken- 
tucky. 

ELIZABETH, born Nov. 28, 1796, 
in West Virginia, died Feb., 1840, in San- 
gamon county. 

ROBERT E., born March 28, 1799, 
in Washington county, West Va., mar- 
ried in Clarke county, Ky., Sept. 15,1825, 
to Patsy Cass, and moved to Sangamon 
county, 111., arriving Oct., ,1825, in Buf- 
falo Hart Grove. They were the first of 
the family to come to the county. They 
had four children in Sangamon county, 
two of whom died young. ROBERT 
FRANKLIN, born Dec. 9, 1830, died 
July n, 1852. ELIZABETH C., born 
June 7, 1838, married April 16, 1854, to 
John T. Constant. See his name. Rob- 
ert E. Burns and his wife reside at Buf- 
falo Hart Station, very near where they 
settled in 1825. Mr. Burns had a neigh- 
bor, Wm. Bridges, who was a blacksmith 
and gunsmith. Wm. and Hiram Robbins 
came to Mr. Bridges to have work done, 
and he had no coal. They told him that 
they had seen coal cropping out of the 
ground in their hunting excursions, and 
gave him directions so that he could find 
it. Mr. Burns took his wagon and team, 
went with Mr. Bridges to the place and 
'dug out a load, and found it good for black- 
smithing. It was in a ravine about three- 
fourths of a mile northwest of where Bar- 
clay now stands. That was in 1826, and 
was the first coal found in that part of the 
country. Mr. Burns raised cotton for 
clothing, and it matured perfectly before 
the "deep snow" of 1830-31. After that 



SANGAMON COUNT*. 



he tried frequently, bringing seed from 
Tennessee several times, but all his 
efforts proved to be such failures that the 
seed ran out and was lost. 

ANN T., born May 27, 1801, in West 
Virginia, married in Kentucky, August 6, 
1817, to Abner Enos. See his name. 
She died there, June 13, 1829. 

JOHN /?., born Oct. 19, 1803, in Jes- 
samine county, Ky., married in Sangamon 
county, April 17, 1828, to Lucy A. Cass. 
He was a soldier in the Black Hawk 
war. They had twelve children, all born 
in Sangamon county, three of whom died 
under five years. MARY J., born Mar. 
26, 1831, married Feb. 28, 1847, to J^ n 
Cass. See his name. THOMAS F., 
born Jan. 9, 1833, married Sept. 30, 1856, 
Ursula Greening. Thos. F. Burns en- 
listed July 25, 1862, in Co. F., ii4th 111. 
Inf., for three years. Served about one 
year, and was honorably discharged 
on account of physical disability. He 
now resides in Mt. Pulaski. WILLIAM 
A., born Nov. 28, 1839, married Dec. 24, 
1867, to Lucy E. Jones. They have two 
children, WM. ELMER and IVA MAY, and 
live near Buffalo Hart Station. MAR- 
THA A., born Feb. 27, 1843, lives with 
her parents. ARMINTA, born Dec. 30, 
1844, married Feb. 21, 1867, to Wm. B. 
Robinson. See his name. SOPHIA, 
born Feb. 13, 1849, married Dec^27, 1871, 
to James F. Hickman. See his name. 
IVA, born March 18, 1851, married Oct. 
25, 1871, to James L. Wright, who was 
born in Lockmaben, Scotland, and resides 
in Buffalo Hart township. JOHN T., 
born Jan. u, 1854, and ROBERT B., 
born Oct. 26, 1856, live with their parents, 
one mile south of Buffalo Hart Station. 

Mrs. Lucy A. Burns says that they 
raised cotton in the summer of 1828; that 
she picked it from the bolls, picked 
the seed out with her fingers, carded it 
with hand cards, spun and wove it, and 
made it up into garments of various kinds. 
In 1829 they raised a much larger quanti- 
ty, and had it ginned on a machine owned 
by William G. Cantrall. They paid toll, 
or part of the cotton, for ginning, the 
same as grinding is done by custom mills. 
When all was done they had eighty 
pounds of ginned cotton left. She says 
that after the " deep snow " it never would 
mature. 



MAHALA, born May 10, 1806, in 
Clarke county, Ky., married there Nov. 
27, 1827, to Bailey F. Bell. See his 
name. 

M BLIND A and LUCINDA, twins, 
born July 23, 1808, in Clarke county, Ky. 

MELINDA, married in Sangamon 
county, Jan. 17, 1830, to Ambrose Bowen 
Cass. See his name. 

LUCINDA, married in Sangamon 
county, Sept. 20, 1832, to John W. Rob- 
ison. See his name. 

EM1L Y, born June 14, 181 1, in Clarke 
county, Ky., married in Sangamon county, 
Jan. 17, 1830, to Clemmon Strickland. 
They had three children. The parents 
and two of the children died. JOSEPH, 
the only living member of the family, 
married Emilv Chance, and lives at Buf- 
falo. 

REBECCA, born Feb. 16, 1814, in 
Clarke county, Ky., married in Sanga- 
mon county to Bennett Wood, a native of 
Kentucky. They lived in Green county, 
111., until they had two children, namely: 
BAZZLE or BASIL M., born June 16, 
1835, in Green county, enlisted July, 1862, 
for three years, in Co. E., n6th 111. Inf. 
Served full term and was honorably dis- 
charged with the regiment, in 1865. He 
was married in Sangamon county, Jan. 25, 
1866, to Nannie J. Graham, who was born 
July 4, 1843, in Morgan county. They 
had two children, FLORA and GRACIE, and 
Mrs. Wood died, Jan. 6, 1872. Mr. Wood 
resides one and a quarter miles east of 
^Illiopolis, with his father-in-law, Mr. 
'Graham. SARAH Wood, born March, 
1834, in Green county, married in Sanga- 
mon county to John Stall. They have 
four children, and live at Niantic. Ben- 
nett Wood died in Green county, and his 
widow married James McGee. Mrs. Mc- 
Gee died in Sangamon county, leaving 
two children: JOHN T. and WILLIAM R. 
McGee reside in Williamsville. 

FRANKLIN, born August 6, 1816, in 
Kentucky, married in Sangamon county, 
March 3, 1836, to Louisa Ridge way. 

They had children. THOMAS 

J. married and resides in Kansas. PAR- 
THENIA married George Sensbaugh, 
and lives near Whiterock, Jewell county, 
Kansas. LOUISA J. married Daniel 
Redman, and lives near Lone Oak P. O., 
Bates county, Mo. MAHALA resides 
with her sister, Louisa J. B. HARDIN 



1 62 



EARL? SETTLERS OF 






lives with his uncle, Robert E. Burns. 
Franklin Burns and his wife are both 
dead. 

PATST, born Feb. 20, 1819, in Ken- 
tucky, married in Sangamon county, Dec. 
26, 1837, to Baldwin Harper. They had 
one child, EVELINE. She married 
Theophilus Kirwood, and lives near 
Warrensburg, Macon county. Mr. and 
Mrs. Harper are both dead. 

Mrs. Elizabeth Burns died Oct. 5, 1830, 
and Thomas Burns died August n, 1836, 
both in Sangamon county. 

BURTLE, WILLIAM, born 
July i, 1780, near Montgomery Court 
House, Md. His parents moved, when 
he was a boy, to Washington county, Kv. 
Sarah Ogden was born in 1786, in St. 
Mary's county, Md. Her father died when 
she was a child, and her mother moved, 
with several children, to Washington 
county, Ky. William Burtle and Sarah 
Ogden were there married, about 1805. 
They had nine children in Kentucky. The 
family moved to Sangamon county, 111., 
arriving October, 1826, in what is now 
Ball township. Mr. Burtle entered land, 
and made improvements for a permanent 
home,, about two hundred yards east of 
where St. Bernard's Catholic Church now 
stands, and moved on it in the spring of 
1828. Of their nine children 

JOSEPH,\>Qvn. in Kentucky, married 
in Sangamon county to Mrs. Maria Mil- 
ler, whose maiden name was Gatton. 
They both died in Sangamon county, 
without children. 

JOHN, born in Kentucky, was mar-* 
ried there to Matilda Simpson. They 
had two children, one of whom died in 
infancy. His daughter married, moved to 
Texas, and died there. John Bnrtle died 
in Ball township. His widow married, 
moved to Missouri, and died there. 

JAMES, born May 25, 1811, in Ken- 
tucky, was married in SangaVnon countv 
to Elizabeth Gatton. They had six child- 
ren. JOHN T. married Eliza J. Simp- 
son. They have six children, JAMES R., 

JOSEPH E., EMMA, SAMUEL, ANNA and 

JEROME. Mrs. Eliza J. Burtle died in 
May, 1875, and John T. Burtle and fami- 
Iv reside in Ball township, seven miles 
southeast of Chatham. WILLIAM O. 
married Mary M. Speak. They have 
three children, MARIA, OSCAR E. and 
MARY M., and reside with his mother"*at 



the family homestead. SARAH E. mar- 
ried John Simpson. Thev had one child, 
and mother and child died." JOSEPHUS 
died in his twenty-fourth year. MARY 
A. died, aged nineteen years. James 
Burtle died, and his widow resides in Ball 
township, six and a half miles southeast of 
Chatham. 

THOMAS, born Aug. 12, 1815, in 
Kentucky, married in Sangamon county 
to Louisa Simpson. They have four 
children. JAMES H. married Sarah E. 
Gatton. They have six living children: 
LOUISA A and MARY L. (twins), ANNA E., 

MARTHA F., WILLIAM J. and THERESA II. 

Mrs. Sarah E. Burtle died in Sept., 1873, 
and James H. Burtle resides in Ball town- 
ship. JOHN T., Jun., married Elizabeth 
M. Boll. They have three children, ED- 
WARD A., JACOB R. and ANN N., and live 
in Ball township. MARY A. married 
Joseph H. Berry. They have five daugh- 
ters, SARAH L., ELIZA C., MAGGIE A., 

MARY A. and ADA F., and live in Ball 
township. ELIZA J. married John A. 
White. They have two children, JOSEPH 
H. and WILLIAM T., and reside with her 
father. Mrs. Louisa Burtle died April 2, 
1875, and Thomas Burtle resides near St. 
Bernard's Catholic Church, in Ball town- 
ship. 

ELLEN died, aged fourteen years. 

MART, born in Kentucky, married in 
Sangamon county, 111., July 24, 1834, to 
Josephus Gatton. See his name. 

BENJAMIN, born in Kentucky, 
married in Sangamon county to Monica 
Gatton. They have six children living. 
MARY E. married William R. Green- 
await. See his name. The other children 
reside with their parents, in Pawnee town- 
ship. 

y&WILLIAM, Jun., born Aug. 9, 1822, 
in Grayson county, Ky., came with his 
parents to Sangamon county in Oct., 1826, 
was married Sept. 4, 1856, to Mrs. Eliza- 
beth A. Simpson, whose maiden name 
was White. Mrs. Burtle had one child 
by her former marriage, JEROME 
SIMPSON. Mr. and Mrs. Burtle had 
two children. IDA F. died March 9, 
1875, in her fourteenth year, and CHAS. 
E. lives with his parents. William Burtle 
has been a school teacher, Justice of the 
Peace, and for more than twenty years 
Treasurer and Collector of Ball township; 
also a member of the Board of Supervis- 



SANGAMON COUNTY. 



163 



ors of Sangamon county. He was also 
elected President of the Old Settlers' 
Society, in 1874, for one year. He now 
lives in Auburn, engaged in mercantile 
business with his step-son, Jerome Simp- 
son. 

William Burtle, Jun., remembers that 
his father and James Simpson sent a re- 
quest to St. Louis that a priest visit their 
neighborhood. Rev. Mr. Dusuaswa came 
in 1829, and held services at the residence 
of Joseph Logsdon. That was the first 
service ever held by a Catholic priest in 
Sangamon county, and long before any 
thing of the kind took place in Spring- 
field. William Burtle remembers that 
there were then but two Catholic families 
in Springfield. The next services were at 
the house of Wm. Burtle, Sen., by Rev. 
Joseph A. Lutz. The next priest to visit 
them was the Rev. Mr. Van Quickenbon. 
Services were held at the house of William 
Burtle, Sen., until 1849, when St. Bernard's 
Church was built. One edifice was burned, 
and the present one was built on the same 
ground. St. Bernard's church is associated 
with that at Virden in sustaining a priest. 

Mrs. William Burtle relates, in a very 
amusing manner, some of her experience 
on coming to the county. She had list- 
ened to the descriptions of the flowers 
blooming on the prairies, and made up 
her mind that it would lend additional 
charms to those she was acquainted with 
to cultivate them on the prairie where the 
wild flowers could grow around them. 
She came prepared with seeds, and at the 
proper season armed herself with a hoe 
and sallied forth to indulge her taste for 
horticulture on the raw prairie. The 
romance all vanished at the firt blow, as 
the hoe rebounded without making the 
slightest impression. Until that time she 
thought plowing with large ox-teams was 
overdoing the work, but then became fully 
satisfied that it was indispensable as a pre- 
paration for the cultivation of the soil. 

ZACHAR1AH, born in Kentucky, 
married in Sangamon county to Elizabeth 
J. Harper. They have five living child- 
ren, JAMES W:, SARAH E., EDGAR 
A., MARY M. and ROBERT E., and 
reside on the farm settled by his father in 
1828, about two hundred yards east of St. 
Bernard's Catholic Church. 

William Burtle, Sen., died July 24, 
1860, and Mrs. Sarah Burtle died Feb. n, 



1868, and both were buried near St. Bern- 
ard's Church. About the time William 
Burtle, Sen., came to Sangamon county 
with his family, his father, Benjamin Bur- 
tle, came, and after remaining two or 
three years returned to Kentucky, and 
died there. 

BURTON, EDWARD, was 
born Oct. 13, 1796, on Roanoke river, 
Va., and went to Rutherford county, 
Tenn. He was there married to Frances 
Hudson, who was born April 10, 1797, in 
Virginia also. They had five children in 
Tennessee, and moved to Sangamon 
county, 111., in 1825 or '6, and settled on 
Lick creek, in what is now Chatham 
township, where they had four children. 
Of their children 

JOHN A., born in Tennessee, married 
in Sangamon county, Aug. 8, 1844, t 
Elizabeth H. Park. He died March n, 
1859, leaving two children. MARY F. 
married July 31, 1861, to William H. H. 
Harris, who was born July 8, 1841, in 
Macoupin county. They have three 
children, ALLIE F., VINETTIE and ZELMIE, 
and live four miles southwest of Loami. 
LEONARD F., lives with his sister, Mrs. 
HaiTis. Mrs. E. H. Burton married Wm. 
S. Morris. See fark family. 

El Z ABE TH G. died, aged twenty- 
five years. 

ELLEN married Blaney Pitts, have 
nine children, and reside near Centralia. 

MART, born Dec. 21, 1822, in Ruth- 
erford county, Tenn., married in Sanga- 
mon county, Oct. 18, 1840, to William 
Edwards. See his name. 

PERMELIA A., born Aug. i, 1826, 
married Oct. 13, 1840, to Henry Edwards, 
who was born Jan. 6, 1820, in Garrard 
county, Ky. He is nephew to his brother- 
in-law, William Edwards. They had 
twelve children; nine died under seven 
years. GEORGE D. died at nineteen. 
ERVING lives with his parents. 
RICHARD S. married Margaret E. 
Adams, have two living children, HENRY 
p. and ADA M., and live in Talkington 
township. Henry Edwards and wife re- 
side in Talkington township also (1884). 

RICHARD S. married Sarah J. Ed- 
wards. He enlisted in an Illinois regi- 
ment, and died at home on sick furlough, 
leaving three children. His widow mar- 
ried, and resides in 



164 



BARLT SETTLERS OF 



yULIETTE married James Jordan 
Edwards. See his name. 

BENJAMIN W. married Rachel G. 
Park. They have two children, NEL- 
SON M. and NANCY E. Mr. Burton 
died Jan. 4, 1861. His widow and child- 
ren reside two and three-quarter miles 
west of Loami (1874). 

LUCINA married James A. Edwards. 
See his name. 

Edward E. (or D.) Burton died at 
Girard 111., April 8, 1859, while attending 
Sangamon Presbytery of the Cumberland 
Presbyterian Church, to which he was a 
delegate. Mrs. Margaret Burton died 
Sept. i, 1859, in Sangamon county. 

BUTLER, NATHAN M., 
born Jan. 30, 1795, in Adair county, Ky. 
He was married in Green county, to Mary 
Harding, who was born in 1795, in that 
county. They made their home in Adair 
county until they had four children, when 
they left for the west, and after a deten- 
tion of seven months in Indiana, arrived, 
Oct. 7, 1824, in Morgan county, 111., 
where they had two children. In the 
spring of 1831 they moved to Sangamon 
county, and settled on the south side of 
Island Grove, two miles northeast of 
where Berlin now stands. Of their six 
children 

WILLIAM A., born July 23, 1817, in 
Adair county, Ky., married in Sangamon 
county, to Mrs. Jane Clark, whose maiden 
name was Trotter. She was born Feb. 
2, 1827, in Ifcdiana, and raised in Sanga- 
mon county. Mr. Butler was city Mar- 
shal of Springfield in 1861, and '2; is now 
farming four miles east of Springfield. 

STEPHEN H., born Nov. 12, 1818, 
in Adair county, Ky., brought up in San- 
gamon county, married in Menard county 
Feb. 27, 1845. to Nancy J. Coats, who 
was born Dec. 6, 1825, in Warren county, 
Ky. They had twelve children; five died 
under six years. ISAAC E., born Jan. 
27, 1846, married Feb. 13, 1873, to Emma 
J. Clark, and resides five miles east of 
Springfield. JULIA B., ,born Dec. 4, 
1847, married Nov. 6, 1868, to James 
Simpson. See his name. MARY L., 
born June 5, 1849, married Joseph Don- 
ner. See his name. WILLIAM, born 
April 12, 1856, JOHN D., born Dec. 5, 
1859. IRA and IDA, twins, born July 
19, 1861, live with their parents. S. H. 



Butler resides four and a half miles east -of 
Springfield. 

JOSHUA C., born Nov. 26, 1820, in 
Adair county, Ky., brought up in Sanga- 
mon county, married April, 1857, in Jef- 
ferson county, Iowa, to Margaret J. Ris- 
tine. She died in Springfield in 1859, 
leaving one child. J. C. Butler was mar- 
ried in Sangamon county to Elizabeth 
Stitt, and has three living children, viz: 
CHARLES B., born June 6, 1850, mar- 
ried June 14, 1871, in Sangamon county 
to Ann Owen. They have one child, and 
live near Virginia, Cass county. MAR- 
GARET J., MARY E. and ROBERT 
L. live with their parents, two and a half 
miles northeast of Berlin. Joshua C. But- 
ler was a member of Co. A., 4th 111. Inf., 
and served under Col. E. D. Baker, in the 
Mexican war, from June, 1846, to June, 
1847. 

ELIZABETH E., born August 4, 
1823, in Adair county, Ky., married in 
Sangamon county to William T. Barrett. 

JOHN C, born April, 1825, in Mor- 
gan county, 111., enlisted in the same com- 
pany and regiment with his brother, 
Joshua C., and was discharged on account 
of physical disability. He married Fran- 
ces Brown. They had two children, both 
of whom died, and Mr. Butler died in 
Springfield. His widow married John J. 
Hardin. See his name. 

RA CHEL R. born in Morgan coun- 
ty, married in Sangamon county to E. 
Riley Pirkins. See his name. 

Mrs. Mary Butler died, and N. M. 
Butler married Mrs. Martha H. Stone, 
whose maiden name was Hunter. They 
had three children, viz 

SALL T H., born in Sangamon coun- 
ty, married Edmond E. Butler, of Ken- 
tucky. They had one child, and mother 
and child died at DesMoines, Iowa. 

SAMUEL H., born in Sangamon 
county, enlisted in 1861, for three years, 
in the loth 111. Cav. Served until Nov., 
1864, when he was honorably discharged 
at San Antonio, Texas. He remained 
there in the employ of the government 
and married in March, 1870, to Matilda 
Ann Blair. They had two children, a 
son and daughter. He was shot by an 
assassin, and died in the year 1872 or '3, 
in Texas. 

JAMES E., born in Sangamon 
county, married March 31, 1869, to Molly 



SANG AM ON COUNTT. 



165 



E. Oglesby. They have three children. 
He enlisted in 1861, for three years, in the 
roth 111. Cav., at Springfield. Re-enlisted 
as a veteran, promoted to First Lieut. 
Served to the end of the rebellion, and 
was honorably discharged. He resides 
near Dayton, Cass county, Mo. 

Nathan M. Butler died April 4, 1842, 
in Sangamon county, and his widow died 
Oct. 14, 1851, in Menard county. N. M. 
Butler was a soldier in the war of 1812, 
and was in the battle of New Orleans. 
He was Col. of a regiment in the Black 
Hawk war of 1831-32. 

BUTLER, WILLIAM, was 
born Dec. 15, 1797, in Adair^ county, Ky. 
During the war of 1812 he was selected to 
carry important dispatches from the Gov- 
ernor of Kentucky to Gen. Harrison, in 
the field. He traveled on horseback, and 
made the trip successfully, although he 
was but fifteen years of age. When a 
young man he was employed in the iron 
works of Tennessee, and after that was 
deputy of the Circuit Clerk for Adair 
countv, Ky. While thus engaged, he 
made the acquaintance of a young lawyer, 
now the venerable Judge Stephen T. 
Logan, of this city. The friendship thus 
formed continued through life. Mr. But- 
ler spent a portion of his time as clerk on 
a steamboat. In 1828 he came to Sanga- 
mon county, and purchased a farm in Is- 
land Grove. On that farm his father, 
Elkanah Butler, lived and died. William 
Butler came to Springfield, and' was soon 
after appointed Clerk of the Circuit Court, 
by his early friend, Judge Logan, March 
19, 1836, and resigned March 22, 1841. 
He was appointed, by Gov. Bissell, State 
Treasurer, August 29, 1859, to fill the 
vacancy occasioned by the resignation ot 
State Treasurer Miller. He was elected 
to the same office in 1860 for two years. 
William Butler and Elizabeth Rickard 
were married Dec. 18, 1832. They had 
three children, namely 

SALOME E., born in Springfield, 
and now resides on South Sixth street, at 
the family homestead. 

SPEED, born Aug. 7, 1837, in 
Springfield. He graduated at the Luther- 
an University in Springfield, in- 1854, 
studied law, and was admitted to practice 
in 1860. When the rebellion came upon 
the country in 1861, Speed Butler was 
selected by the Governor of Illinois to 



carry a dispatch to Washington City, ask- 
ing for an order to remove the United 
States arms from the Arsenal at St. Louis 
to Alton, 111. Railroad and telegraphic 
communication to the Capital was cut off, 
but he managed to make his way through, 
obtained the order, and returned in safety. 
The arms were removed just in time to 
keep them from falling into the hands of 
the rebels. Soon after completing that 
service he was appointed Commissary, 
with the rank of Captain, but was at once 
assigned to duty on Gen. Pope's staff, and 
was with that officer during his campaign 
in North Missouri, at Island No. 10, &c. 
In Sept., 1 86 1, he was appointed Major of 
the 5th' 111. Cav. For gallantry on the 
battle-field at Farmington, Miss., in June, 
1862, he was promoted to Colonel in the 
regular army ; but still, by permission from 
Gen. Wool, he remained on duty with 
Gen. Pope. He shared the fortunes of 
that officer during the Virginia campaign, 
as also in Minnesota against the Indians. 
He served until the close of the rebellion, 
in 1865. 

Col. Speed Butler was married May 26, 
1864, in Milwaukee, Wis., to Jeannie 
McKenzie Arnold, who was born Sept. 
4, 1845, * n Poughkeepsie, N. Y. They 
have three children, ANNIE L., ELIZ- 
ABETH and ARNOLD W., and live 
near Springfield, on the southwest. 

HENRT WIRT, born Feb. 11, 1840, 
in Springfield, graduated in 1859 at Brown 
University, Providence, R. I., and was 
married May 9, 1867, to Helen McCler- 
nand, daughter of Gen. John A. McCler- 
nand. She was born irj Springfield, and 
died April 26, 1870, leaving one child, 
WILLIAM J. H. W. Butler and son 
live in Springfield. 

Mrs. Elizabeth Butler died March 2, 
1869, and Hon. William Butler died Jan. 
11, 1876, both in Springfield. 

o, 

CALDWELL, WILLIAM, 
was born Dec. 15, 1779, in Nansemond 
county, Va. His father, Thomas Cald- 
well, was born in Ireland, and married 
there to Betsy Harris, a Welch lady. 
They emigrated to America, and landed 
at Charleston, South Carolina, where they 
remained a short time, and then moved to 



1 66 



EARLY SETTLERS OF 



Virginia. At the time of Thomas Cald- 
well's death, he and his wife had a home 
in the family of the son William. John 
C. Calhoun was related on the side of his 
mother to the Caldwell family, and there 
is the source from which that distinguished 
statesman obtained his middle name : John 
Caldwell Calhoun. When William Cald- 
well was a youth, his parents left Virginia 
and moved to Jessamine county, Ky. 
Nancy Roberts was born Sept. 24, 1782, 
in Goochland county, Va., and when 
young, went to Jessamine county, Ky. 
William Caldwell and Nancy Roberts 
were married Feb. 7, 1804. They had six 
living children in Jessamine county, and 
the family moved to Green county, 111., in 
1831, and in 1836 moved to Sangamon 
county, 111., and settled in what is now 
Auburn township. Of their children 

GEORGE L., born Dec. 6, 1804, in 
Kentucky, married Sept. 10, 1829, to Polly 
Roberts. She inherited two negro slaves 
(a man and woman) from the estate of her 
father. On May 7, 1830, they took ad- 
vantage of the absence of Mr. Caldwell, 
who was Sheriff of the county at the time, 
and strangled his wife to death with a 
small cord. They then placed her in a 
natural position in bed, bandaged her head, 
and placed such medicines on a stand, 
within her reach, as she would have been 
likely to use if she had been indisposed, and 
left her until it was discovered by other 
members of the family. The bruises on the 
neck excited suspicion, and the blacks being 
charged with the crime, confessed that 
they had taken her life, hoping by that 
means to be sent to their former home. 
The man was an old, trusted carriage ser- 
vant, an.d forced the woman to assist him. 
They were tried, and, upon their own con- 
fession, convicted and hung. George L. 
Caldwell was married Sept. 27, 1831, to 
Eliza McDowell. They had one son, and 
Mrs. Caldwell died June 18, 1839, and 
Mr. Caldwell died Sept. 30, 1840. 
Neither of them ever came to Sangamon 
county. Their son GEORGE M. CALD- 
WELL is the extensive stock-raiser near 
Williamsville, in this county. 

JOHN, born Jan. 21, 1807, in Ken- 
tucky, came to Carrollton, 111., in 1827. 
He was married there Jan. 23, 1834, to 
Mary J. Davis. She was born near Dan- 
ville, Ky., Jan. 16, 1815. When a young 
lady, she rode on horseback from Danville, 



Ky., to Tallahassee, Florida, and returned 
to Danville, and after a short visit, con- 
tinued her journey to Carrollton, 111., a dis- 
tance of at least two thousand miles. 
John Caldwell and wife had five children, 
namely: WILLIAM C., born March 
15, 1835, married Jan. 14, 1864, to Sarah 
C. Baucom, who was born Nov. 16, 1840, 
in Sangamon county, They reside eight 
miles southwest of Springfield. JANE 
Y. died in her eleventh year; BETSY in 
her seventh year; HENRY died in in- 
fancy. BENJAMIN F., born Aug. 2, 
1848, in Greene county, 111., was married 
May 27, 1873, to Julia F. Cloyd, who was 
born March y, 1856, in the southeast corner 
of Curran township, Sangamon county. 
Immediately after their marriage they left 
for New York, via Detroit and Suspension 
Bridge. At New York took steamer 
(June 4th) for Queenstown, Ireland, 
where they landed June 141!!. Passed 
through Ireland to Belfast; thence to 
Scotland, down through the centre of 
England to London; from there through 
Holland, Belgium and smaller German 
States, to Berlin, in Prussia; thence to 
Vienna Exposition, across the Alps into 
Italy, meeting with the unexpected pleas- 
ure of an audience with Pius the IX. 
Returning, passed through Mt. Cenis tun- 
nel, thence by Geneva to Paris; from Paris 
back to London, thence to Liverpool, 
taking steamer for Boston, where they 
arrived Oct. 6th, same year. Distance 
traveled in round trip, 14,000 miles. Mr. 
and Mrs. B. F. Caldwell have one child, 
MARY JANE, who was born March 20, 
1874. They reside near Chatham, Sanga- 
mon county, 111. John Caldwell died of 
heart disease j Aug. i, 1863, after a painful 
illness, and his widow resides eight and a 
half miles southwest of Springfield, and 
one and a half miles north of Chatham. 

JANE R., born April 15, 1809, mar- 
rifed in Kentucky to Minor T. Young. 
Came to Illinois, and she died Jan. 21, 
1844, in Curran township. 

ELIZABETH, born Aug. 17, 1812, 
married Jan. 12, 1831, to Albert G. Tal- 
bott. She died April 29, 1838, leaving 
three children in Kentucky, namely: 
MARY A. married Dr. William Tomlin- 
son. The sons are WILLIAM P. and 
ALBERT G.Jun. 

CHARLES H., born March 18, 1818, 
in Kentucky, died May 24, 1833, at Jack- 



SANGAMON COUNTT. 



167 



sonville, 111., while a student at Illinois 
College. 

WILLIAM, Jun., horn Aug. 14, 1820, 
in Kentucky, married Sept. 30, 1842, in 
Mercer county, Ky., to Mary J. Camp- 
bell. Mr. Caldwell died June 29, 1844. 

His widow married Mr. Moore, and 

resides at Pleasant Hill, Cass county, Mo. 

William Caldwell, Sen., died Aug. i, 
1844, and his widow died Dec. 19, 1858, 
both at the southeast corner of Curran 
township. 

When he moved from Auburn to Cur- 
ran township, in 1841, there was not a 
place for holding religious worship near 
him. In order to afford temporary accom- 
modations, he constructed his residence in 
such a manner that it could be used for 
that purpose. It consisted of a large cen- 
tral room, with three other large rooms 
opening into it. Plans were laid, before 
his death, for building a church, and on 
his death bed he requested that it be called 
Bethel, which was done, as the Christian 
Church near where he lived bears that 
name. Mr. Caldwell was a man of great 
public spirit all his life. He was Captain 
of a company from Jessamine county, Ky., 
in the war of 1812. A younger brother 
was a member of his company, and was 
taken prisoner at the battle of the river 
Raisin. He came near freezing to death 
while confined in a rail pen in Canada. 
William Caldwell was Sheriff of Jessa- 
mine county, Ky., and represented the 
county several times in the State Legisla- 
ture. He represented Sangamon county 
two terms in the Legislature of Illinois. 

CALHOUN, The origin of the 
family in America was with Andrew Cal- 
houn, who was born March 27, 1764, in 
Rye, Ireland. The family record speaks 
of his birth place as " Heland." That 
may have been a provincial name, or the 
original Gaellic name for Ireland. An- 
drew Calhoun was a near relative of the 
father of John C. Calhoun, of South 
Carolina. He came to America about 
1792, and made his home in Boston, Mass. 
March 15, iy9S 5 he was married at Chelms- 
ford, Mass., to Martha Chamberlin, who 
was born at the latter place, Feb. 20, 1 770. 
She was a descendent of the Puritans. 
They had eight children, all born in Bos- 
ton. Their sixth child, JOHN, is the 
one of whom we wish to speak particularly, 
but will first brieflv mention his brothers 



and sisters, that the reader may under- 
stand the character of the family. 

WILLIAM B., was a lawyer, and 
stood high in the profession. He lived in 
.Springfield, Mass.; was speaker of the 
house of representatives eight years, and 
President of the Senate a number of 
years. He represented the Springfield 
district in Congress eight years. CHARLES 
was, for twenty consecutive years, Secre- 
tary of the Senate of Massachusetts. 
ANDREW H., left his native State and be- 
came connected with journalism in the 
State of New York. He served seven 
years on the Board of Canal Commis- 
sioners, and one term as Clerk of the State 
Senate. HENRY was a merchant in Mont- 
gomery county, New York. Later in life 
he was, for many years, Deputy Collector 
of United States Customs in the city of 
New York. SIMEON HOWARD, born 
August 15, 1804, was educated at Harvard 
College, became a Christian minister, and 
joined a mission at Mount Lebanon, Syria. 
He was entrusted with translating the 
Bible into the native language, and 
subsequently established a native col- 
lege near Beirut, of which he is now 
1875 t* 16 President. JAMES, younger 
than John, was for thirty years an active 
business man in Cincinnati, O. There 
were two sisters, SUSAN, older, and MAR- 
THA, younger. The father, Andrew 
Calhoun, after spending the prime of his 
life as an extensive merchant in Boston, 
retired to a farm in Montgomery countv, 
N. Y., where he lost his wife, returned to 
Boston, married again, and died April 14, 
1842. 

CALHOUN, JOHN, was born 
Oct. 14, 1808, in Boston, Mass., and in 
1821 accompanied his father to the Mo- 
hawk Valley, in New York. After fin- 
ishing his studies at the Canajoharie 
Academy, he studied law at Fort Plain, 
both in Montgomery county. In 1830 he 
came to Springfield, 111., and resumed the 
study of law, sustaining himself by teach- 
ing a select school. He took part in the 
Black Hawk war of 1831-2, and after its 
close, was appointed by the Governor of 
the State, Surveyor of Sangamon county. 
He induced Abraham Lincoln to study 
surveying, in order to become his deputy. 
From that time the chain of freindship be- 
tween them continued bright to the end 
of their lives, although they were ardent 



1 68 



EARLT SET7LERS OF 



partizans of different schools in politics. 
John Calhoun was married Dec. 29, 1831, 
in Sangamon county, to Sarah Cutter. 
See Cutter sketch. They had nine child- 
ren in Sangamon county, and in 1854 Mr. 
Calhoun was appointed by President 
Pierce, Surveyor-General for Kansas and 
Nebraska, and he moved his family to 
Kansas. Of all their children 

JOHN, Jun., born Nov. 15, 1832, died 
in his third year, in Sangamon county. 

ANDREW, born June n, 1835, in 
Sangamon county, was killed Jan., 1860, 
by the explosion of a steam saw mill in 
Leavenworth county, Kansas. 

ELIZABETH, born March 18, 1835, 
in Sangamon county, was married March 
i, 1870, in the Catholic church at Leaven- 
worth, Kan., to Henry Jackson, a native 
of England. He is a Lieutenant in the 
yth Reg. U. S. Cav., and is now 1876 
on detached duty in the signal service at 
Washington, D. C. 

SETH y. was born March 4, 1839, 
in Springfield, 111. He went with his 
father to Kansas in 1854, and when the 
rebellion commenced he enlisted in Battery 
H, ist Mo. Art., It had been an infantry 
regiment under Col. Frank P. Blair, and 
after the battle of Wilson creek, changed 
to artillery. It was under Gen. Grant 
from the siege of Fort Donelson to the 
evacuation of Corinth, and under Sher- 
man in his " march to the sea." SethJ. 
Calhoun was wounded July 22, 1864. in 
the battle of Atlanta, Ga., and soon a er 
promoted to second Lieut, of his Battery. 
He served one full term, re-enlisted as a 
veteran, served to the end of the rebellion 
and was honorably discharged. He now 
1875 lives in Leavenworth, Kan. 

ALBERT, born Feb. 10, 1841, in 
Springfield, and died in his fourth year. 

MARTHA, born Jan. 9, 1843, in 
Springfield, resides with her mother. 

6* US AN, born Sept. 8, 1844, in Spring- 
field, 111., married, August 29, 1866, in 
Leavenworth, Kansas, to Virgil W. Par- 
ker, who was born Dec. 16, 1840,511 Rome, 
N. Y. They have one child, ADELIA, 
and reside in Atchison, Kansas. 

MAR T, born May 25, ,1847, and 

JAMES, born Nov. 30, 1852, both in 
Springfield, 111., live with their mother. 

John Calhoun died Oct. 25, 1859, at St. 
Joseph, Mo. His widow and unmarried 



children now 1876 reside in Leaven- 
worth, Kansas. 

Hon. John Calhoun deserves more than 
a passing notice. He entered the political 
field in 1835, being the Democratic candi- 
date that year for the State Senate of Illi- 
nois, but there being a large Whig major- 
ity in the county, he was defeated by 
Archer G. Herndon. In 1838 he was 
elected to represent Sangamon county in 
the State Legislature. In 1841 he, with 
^ John Duff, completed the railroad from 
Jacksonville to Springfield, being the first 
to reach the State Capital. In 1842 he was 
appointed Clerk of the Circuit Court of 
Sangamon county by Judge Treat. In 
1844 he was one of the Presidential 
Electors of Illinois for President Polk. 
In i849-'5<>'5i, he was successively elected 
Mayor of Springfield. In 1852 he was 
one of the Presidential Electors of Illinois 
for President Pierce, and was selected by 
his colleagues to carry the vote to Wash- 
ington City. In 1854 he was appointed, 
by President Pierce, Surveyor General of 
Kansas and Nebraska, and moved his 
family to Kansas. 

Here he entered a political field with 
new and exciting sectional elements. He 
was elected a delegate to the convention 
that framed what has passed into history 
as the Lecompton Constitution. He be- 
came the President of that body, which 
was composed of unscrupulous pro-slavery 
adventurers, with a small number of con- 
servative members, among whom was the 
President. That odious instrument would 
have been adopted by the convention with- 
out submitting it to a vote of the people, 
had it not been for the determined opposi- 
tion of President Calhoun, who threatened 
to resign, and opposed it by every method 
in his power, unless it was submitted; and 
when it came to the polls he voted against 
adopting the pro-slavery clause. That 
instrument provided that the President of 
the Convention should count the vote and 
report the result. 

Soon after this duty was discharged he 
started for Washington City, leaving all 
the returns and papers relating to the elec- 
tion with one L. A. McLane, Chief Clerk 
of the Surveyor General's office. He has 
been described as " A brilliant clerk, but 
vain, vacillating, and ambitious of doing 
smart things, and economical of the truth 
generally. " The instructions given to 



SANGAMON COUNTT. 



169 



him by Gen. Calhoun before starting east, 
was to afford every facility to any body of 
respectable men to examine the returns, as 
evidences of dissatisfaction were already 
apparent, and the conviction soon became 
general that a stupendous fraud had been 
committed against the ballot. Soon the 
excitement became intense, endangering 
the lives of some of the conspicuous 
actors, and McLane became alarmed. 
Gen. Thomas L. Ewing, Jun., and Judge 
Smith called upon him, with a letter from 
Mr. Calhoun, instructing the clerk to let 
those gentlemen examine the returns. 
Mr. McLane falsely stated to Messrs. 
Ewing and Smith that the returns were 
not in his possession; that Gen. Calhoun 
had taken them with him when he left for 
Washington. A few evenings later, Mc- 
Lane attended a ball at Lawrence, where 
he was plied with good cheer, attentions 
and flattery, so grateful to his appetite and 
vanity, and after becoming mellow by the 
occasion, a Lawrence belle, acting the 
part of Deliah, drew from him the secret 
of the coveted papers. The next day he 
was called upon by a committee of the 
territorial legislature, who demanded the 
returns, when he again denied having 
them in his possession. He was then 
summoned before a committee of the leg- 
islature, and there stated under oath that 
Gen. Calhoun had taken the returns with 
him. The cross-questions revealed to him 
the fact that the Lawrence belle had be- 
trayed him. Realizing his position, he 
returned that night to Lecompton, and 
with a few cronies, put the returns in a 
candle box, and buried it under a wood 
pile. A porter in the Surveyor-General's 
office, by the name of Charles Torrey, 
who had for a long time acted as a spy 
for the enemies of Gen. Calhoun, watched 
the operation, and gave the information. 
A company of men from Lawrence soon 
after unearthed the box, and bore away 
the prize. 

The exposure of McLane's villainy was 
now complete, and he precepitately fled 
the Territory, with a mob in close pursuit. 
Thus the odium of the dastardly acts of 
this man were unjustly visited upon 
Gen. Calhoun. Unqualified abuse and 
misrepresentations were heaped upon him, 
and spread broadcast over the country by 
the press. That broke down his spirits, 
and he soon after left the Territory, went 



to St. Joseph, Mo., and died there. He 
deserved a better fate. He was a man of 
genial, hopeful, generous temperament; 
ever ready to serve or defend a friend, but 
rarely defending himself, except on the 
spur of the moment; of great ability, and 
for a time was the best political orator in 
the State of Illinois. He was brilliant, 
but deficient in practical application. 
President Lincoln has been heard to say 
that John Calhoun was the strongest man 
he had ever met on the stump; that he 
could manage Douglas, but that Calhoun 
always gave him his hands full. 

CALLERMAN, DANIEL 
K., was born Dec. 10, 1806, in Fleming 
county, Ky. He came to Sangamon 
county, 111., in company with his widowed 
mother, arriving Nov. 14, 1828, at Spring- 
field. He was married Sept. 29, 1833, to 
Allie M. Henton. They had ten children 
in Sangamon county, two of whom died 
young. Of the other eight 

JOHN, born Aug. 9, 1834, married 
Nov., 1855, in Missouri, to Elizabeth 
Bunn. He is supposed to have lost his 
life in time of the rebellion, leaving a 
widow and three children in Vernon 
county, Mo. 

E VAN H., born Oct. 2, 1836, in San- 
gamon county, and married Henrietta 
Drake. They had three living children, 
WILLIAM "H., CHARLES M. and 
CORA. Mrs. C. died June 9, 1873, and 
he was married March 15, 1876, to Nellie 
Elder, of Sangamon county, a daughter 
of Dr. A. W. Elder, an early settler of 
Morgan county. E. H. Callerman lives 
in Williamsville. 

l^RIAH W., born Jan. 14, 1839, in 
Sangamon county, married May 30, 1875, 
to Mary Curries. They live near Garnett, 
Anderson countv, Kansas. 

BARBARA ELEANOR C., born 
March 21, 1841,111 Menard county, married 
March u, 1860, in Sangamon county, to 
Andrew M. Whitenack, who was born 
Aug. 9, 1830, in Somerset county, N. J. 
They have one child, DANIEL C., and 
live near Edinburg, 111. 

MARTHA A., 'born Sept. 17, 1843, in 
Menard county, married Nov. 27, 1860, in 
Sangamon county, to Minard A. McClel- 
land. They have five children, FRAN- 
CIS A., IDA A., MARSHAL A., 
MAUD M. and MATTIE, and live near 
Garnett, Kansas. 



-22 



EARL? SETTLERS OF 



MARY, born Dec. 19, 1848, in Menard 
county, married Sept. 24, 1868, in Sanga- 
mon county, to John R. W. McNeill. 
They had two children. GEORGE died 
young. WALTER lives with his pa- 
rents, near Edinburg, 111. 

GEORGE W., born Dec. 24, 1851, 
and 

ANN, born June 20, 1857. The two 
latter live with their mother. 

Daniel K. Callerman died Dec. 2, 1873, 
and his widow lives near Williamsville. 

CALLERMAN, URIAH, was 
born Dec. 31, 1798, in Fleming county, 
Ky., and was married there to Eleanor 
McKinnie. They had one child in Ken- 
tucky, and moved to Sangamon county, 
111., arriving in the fall of 1822, four miles 
north of Springfield, where they had 
three children. Of their children 

JOHN L., born June 2, 1822, in Flem- 
ing county, Ky., married in Sangamon 
county, Sept. 18, 1845, to Frances Cole. 
They had one child, JOHN L., Jun., born 
in Sangamon county, married Jan. 8, 1874, 
to Susan M. Lightfoot, and live five miles 
northwest of Springfield. John L. Cal- 
lerman died August 26, 1846, and his 
widow married Levi Branson, and lives 
near Cincinnati, Neb. 

ELIZABETH, born Dec. 26, 1823, 
in Sangamon county, died Sept. 21, 1845. 

NANCY, born March 3, 1826, in San- 
gamon county, married Goodrich Light- 
foot. See his name. 

JAMES W., born April 19, 1828, in 
Sangamon county, married March, 1856, 
to Emma Ash. They have six children, 
and live ten miles southeast of Spring- 
field. 

Uriah Callerman died Sept. 13, 1828, 
and Mrs. Eleanor Callerman died August 
26, 1846, both in Sangamon county. 

CAMPBELL, ANTRIM, was 
born Aug. 5, 1814, in New Jersey. He 
came to Springfield about 1838, and en- 
gaged in the practice of law. He was 
married May 12, 1841, to Mrs. Ann Far- 
quar, whose maiden name was Cranmei. 
Mr. Campbell was appointed, Jan. 24,1849, 
Master in Chancery for the circuit court of 
Sangamon county, and resigned the same, 
Oct. 28, 1861. He was appointed by the U. S. 
Circuit Court, Master in Chancery for the 
Southern District of Illinois. He died in 
office, August u, 1868. His widow re- 
sides at the Leland Hotel, Springfield. 



CAMPBELL, DAVID B., 
came to Springfield with his brother An- 
trim. He was Attorney-General from 
1848 to 1856, and died in office, in Spring- 
field. 

CAMPBELL, ENOS, born 
about 1758, either in Scotland or near 
Trenton, N. J., soon after the arrival of 
his parents in America. He enlisted in 
the Revolutionary army at seventeen years 
of age, and served six or seven years, un- 
til the British army left the American 
shores. Mr. C. drew a pension to the end 
of his life. Enos Campbell and Damaris 
Nowee were married in New Jersey, and 
moved to Uniontown, Fayette county, 
Penn., where they had nine children, and 
moved, about 1806, to Butler county, O., 
where they had one child, and the family 
moved to Sangamon county, 111., arriving 
in the fall of 1835, in what is now Gard- 
ner township. Some of the children had 
arrived before, and some never came. Of 
their children 

SARAH, born in Pennsylvania, mar- 
ried in Ohio to William Gard. They 
raised a family, and both died in Preble 
county, Ohio. 

JOHN N., born April 10, 1794, in 
Uniontown, Fayette county, Pa., married 
Oct. 12, 1818, in Butler county, Ohio, to 
Phrebe Clarke, who was born April 30, 
1791, in Uniontown, Pa., also. They had 
five children in Ohio, and moved to San- 
gamon county, arriving Oct. 3, 1824, in 
what is now Salisbury township, where 
they had four children. Of their children, 
ISRAEL, born in Ohio, married in San- 
gamon county to Mary Jacks, and lives in 
DeWitt county. CHRISTIANA, born 
T une 27, 1819, in Ohio, married in Sanga- 
mon county, to Philip Clark, Jun. See 
his name. CLARKSON, born March 
3, 1821, in Ohio, married in Sangamon 
county, to Ann Kyles. They had two 
children, and live in Minnesota. He 
was Lieutenant in an Illinois regiment in 
suppressing the rebellion. ENOS, born 
Nov. 22, 1822, in Ohio, married in Sanga- 
mon county, Feb. 12, 1851, to Rachel 
Duncan. They have two children, both 
married, and live near Clinton. BAR- 
ZILLA, born July 22, 1824, in Ohio, mar- 
ried in Sangamon county, to Rosanna 
Sackett, moved to Clinton and was Sheriff 
of DeWitt county and Quartermaster of 
the ic>7th Illinois Infantry. They have 



SANG AM ON COUNTY. 



171 



five children, and live at Twin Springs, 
Lynn county, Kansas. LEWIS, born 
Nov. 17, 1826, in Sangamon county, mar- 
ried in Clinton to Philena Argo. They 
have six children, and live at Clinton, 111. 
JOHN N. Jun., born March 24, 1829, in 
Sangamon county, married June 29, 1852, 
to Susan Hendel. He died Aug. n, 1856, 
near Clinton. SARAH A., born May 
30, 1831, in Sangamon county, married 
Sept, 21, 1854, to Robert Boyd, who died 
leaving one child, ADA. Mrs. Boyd mar- 
ried Albert Williams, and both died, leav- 
ing one child in Clinton. MARY A., 
born Dec. 22, 1824, in Sangamon county, 
married James Willis. They have four 
children, and live near Clinton. John N. 
Campbell was a soldier in the war of 1812, 
from Ohio, and the Black Hawk war from 
Sangamon county. He and his wife live 
in Clinton now 1874 both over eighty 
years of age. 

LE WIS, married in Ohio to Leah 
Weaver, came to Sangamon county before 
the " deep snow," moved back to Ohio in 
1832, where he lost his wife, returned to 
Sangamon county in 1836, married Clar- 
issa Willis, had eight children, and lives 
near Athens, Menard county. His 
daughter, Leah, married John Slater. See 
his name. 

RA CHEL, married in Ohio to Henry 
Price, moved to Sangamon county, in 
1835, moved, in 1841, to Iowa, and from 
there to the Pacific coast in 1854. They 
had ten children, and live in California. 

ABIGAIL, married in Ohio to Jacob 
Mann, raised a large family, and lives near 
Paris, Edgar county, 111. 

MART, born in 1790, or '91, in Union- 
town, Penn., married in Ohio to William 
H. Fitz Freeman. They had five child- 
ren in Ohio, and came to Sangamon coun- 
ty in 1837. She died July 21, 1854, in 
her 64th year, and Mr. Freeman died Jan. 
19, 1856, in the 77th year of his age. 
Their son, Abraham Freeman, married 
Margaret Penny, has several children, and 
lives in Springfield. 

JANE, born April 27, 1808, in Butler 
county, Ohio, married Jacob Gard. See 
his name. 

Mrs. Damaris Campbell died April 23, 

1837, and Enos Campbell died June 2, 

1838, both in Sangamon county. 



CAMPBELL, JOHN, was 
born Nov. 4, 1790, in Carter county, Tenn. 
His father, Jeremiah Campbell, settled 
there before the American Revolution, 
and was a soldier during the Revolution, 
under Gen. Francis Marion. He lived to 
be about 100 years old. His youngest 
son, Jackson, was the owner of the old 
homestead at the beginning of the great 
rebellion. The farm had then been in the 
family about 100 years. John Campbell 
enlisted in a company from Carter county, 
in the war with England, served six 
months, re-enlisted and served until March, 
1815. He was an ensign in the last cam- 
paign, and drew a pension to the end of 
his life. He remained in Tennesssee un- 
til 1818, when he went to Madison coun- 
ty, 111., and was there married Nov. 6, 

1818, to Lavina Parkison, who was born 
Feb. 21, 1803. They moved to what be- 
came Sangamon county, arriving March 
22, 1819, on Lick creek, in what is now 
Chatham township, and had seven child- 
ren there, namely 

ALFRED C., was born July 22, 

1819, in Sangamon county, 111. He was 
the first white child born on Lick creek, 
and but two are known to have been born 
earlier in the county. They were Samuel 
Drennan, born May 5, 1819, on Sugar 
creek, and Joseph E. McCoy, born March 
13, 1819, on Horse creek. Alfred C. 
Campbell was married May 3, 1838, in 
Sangamon county, to Polly Foster, a 
daughter of Peyton Foster. They had 
seven children, one of whom, WM. P., 
died young. JOHN P., born August 4, 
1839, in Sangamon county, married Aug. 
26, 1858, in Shelby county to Sarah Elliott. 
They have three children, POLLY, WILLIS, 
and ELEANOR G., and reside near Mowe- 
qua, Shelby county, 111. John P. Camp- 
bell enlisted Oct. 2, i86i,in Co. E, 32d 111. 
Inf. He arose by regular grades to the 
rank of Captain, was wounded at the bat- 
tle of Hatchie, honorably discharged, and 
now draws a pension. ELZIRA, E., born 
April 23, 1844, in Sangamon county, mar- 
ried in 1862, to James W. Clark. They 
have one child, POLLY, and reside near 
Mow.equa, Shelby county. SARAH C., 
born Mar. 27, 1846, in Sangamon county, 
married in 1865, in Champaign county, to 
F. Bechtel. 1 hey have one child, POLLY. 
LEONORA J., born April 15, 1848, in 



I 7 2 



EARLT SETTLERS OF 



Sangamon county, and reside near Mo- 
wequa. ALFRED C., Jun., born May 
26, 1850, in Sangamon county, married in 
1873 to Maggie Hunter. They have one 
child, CARRIE D., and live near Mowequa, 
111. GEORGE W., born May 9, 1853, 
in Shelby county, is a sailor, and when 
lest heard from was in Germany. Mrs. 
Polly Campbell died Jan. 9, 1858, and 
A. C. Campbell was married June 17, 
1859, to Miss Jane Hunt. They are with- 
out family, and reside near Mowequa, 
Shelby county, 111. Capt. A. C. Camp- 
bell enlisted June 10, 1846, in Co. D., 4th 
111. Inf., under Col. E. D. Baker. He 
was commissioned 26. Lieut., and after the 
death of Capt. Achilles Morris, at Tam- 
pico, Mexico, Lieut. Campbell commanded 
the company at the siege and capture of 
Vera Cruz, and the battle of Cerro Gordo. 
When the rebellion broke out he raised a 
company, Oct. 2, 1861, and became Capt. 
of Co. E., 32d 111. Inf., under Col. John 
Logan, and fought in all the battles from 
Fort Donelson to the sea. At Pittsburg 
Landing his company lost thirty-two men, 
killed and wounded, out of fifty-six in 
action. He served three years and four 
months, and was honorably discharged. 
Capt. Campbell moved, in 1851, to the 
vicinity of Mowequa, Shelby county, 
where he now resides. 

WILLIAM P., born Nov. 4, 1820, in 
Sangamon county, married, March 12, 
1843, to Elizabeth Carson. They had 
fourteen children, five of whom died in 
infancy, and one, JOSIAH W., was killed 
in May, 1859, by becoming entangled in 
the harness on a mule, which ran away 
with him as he was leaving his plow to 
escape from an approaching rain storm. 
Of the other eight, JEREMIAH, born 
Jan. i, 1843, married Mary Wheeler, 
have two children. EARNEST L. and EAR- 
LEN R., and reside in Loami township. 
WILLIAM P., Jun., born April 7, 1846, 
married Sarah Dodd, who was born Dec. 
11, 1847, in Bradley county, Tenn. They 
had one child, AMANDA, who died July 18, 
1873, in her second year. They reside 
in Talkington township. JAMES 
S., twin to Josiah W T .. was born June 5, 
1 848, married Rebecca A. Hunter, who was 
born August 15, 1852, in Jersey county. 
They had two children; one died in in- 
fancy, and ETTIE MAY resides with her 
parents, in Talkington township. SIM- 



ON P., born May 17, 1854, married Mar. 
6, 1873, to Kate A. Workman, and resides 
four miles south of Loami. LONELY 
ARIZONIA, ISAAC H., JACKSON 
and BEATRICE, reside with their 
mother. Wm. P. Campbell died August 
24, 1868, and his widow resides three 
miles south of Loami. Mr. Campbell 
was a soldier in the Mexican war, where 
he contracted chronic diarrhea, which 
caused his death more than twenty years 
after. 

JEREMIAH, born Dec. 22, 1822, 
married Luro Combs, and died in 1853, 
leaving a widow and two children in Shel- 
by county. Mrs. Luro Campbell mar- 
ried Abner Smith, and resides near Mo- 
wequa, Shelby county, 111. 

JOSIAH W., born April 5, 1828, 
married Elizabeth Workman. They had 
two living children, and Mrs. C. died and 
he married Angeline White. They have 
three children, and reside in Vernon 
county, Mo. 

PETER C., born Jan. 19, 1832, mar- 
ried May 5, 1852, to Amanda E. Carson. 
They ^iad three children, two of whom 
died in infancy. RACHEL C. resides 
with her parents. Peter C. Campbell 
and wife live in Chatham township, with 
in one mile of where he was born. 

CAROLINE, born Oct. 23, 1834, 
married John Workman. See his name. 

Mrs. Lavinah Campbell died Dec. 13, 
1853, and John Campbell was married in 
1855 to Mrs. Margery Carson, whose 
maiden name was Parkison, a sister of 
his first wife. She died March 5, 1870. 
John Campbell died Feb., 1875, on the 
farm where he settled in 1819, five miles 
west of Chatham, leaving a large estate 
which he had accumulated by industry and 
economy. He, as nearly all the earliest 
settlers, took part in the Black Hawk war. 
The first mill in the county, built by Daniel 
Lisle, was sold by him, and after changing 
hands once or twice, was bought by Mr. 
John Campbell, and moved to his farm on 
Lick creek, where he put it up and ran it 
for years, each customer bi'inging his own 
horses to run it. That kind of mills went 
out of use long ago, and one of the burrs 
was used by Mr. Campbell as a doorstep, 
to the day of his death. 

CAMPBELL, LE VI, was born 
May i, 1818, in Madison county, 111., and 
came to Sangamon county when he was 



SANGAMON COUNT*. 



*73 



quite young. He was married March 4, 
1841, to Susannah Staley. They had 
three living children, namely 

SARAH J. married John Hudson. 
See his name. 

MART F., married Kirk Lacey. They 
have three children, and live in Waverly. 

STALET D., lives west of Loami. 

Levi Campbell was a soldier from San- 
gamon county, in the war with Mexico, 
in 1846 and '7. He died May 22, 1851, 
and his widow married Wm. B. McCray. 
They have three children 

ROBERT D., JAMES A. and 
STEPHEN W., and live west of 
Loami. 

CAMPBELL, MAXWELL, 
was born Oct. 29, 1795, in Cabarras coun- 
ty, N. C. His grandfather, Robert 
Campbell, came from Scotland, bringing 
six sons: Robert, James, John, William, 
Samuel and George. Their arrival in 
North Carolina was not long before the 
American Revolution, and all the six bro- 
thers were soldiers in the Revolutionary 
army. The second Robert was the father 
of the subject of this sketch. Maxwell 
Campbell was married July 25, 1822, in 
North Carolina, to Nancy Plunkett. She 
was born June 15, 1806, in the same coun- 
ty. They came to Sangamon county, ar- 
riving in May 1823, and settled at the 
north side of Richland creek in what is 
now Cartwright township. They had 
six living children in Sangamon county 

ROBERT R.,\>orn August 13, 1823, 
married Dec. 13, 1847. to Cynthia S. Pen- 
ny. They have eight children. SAM- 
UEL lives with his parents. NANCY 
C. married J. Harnsberger. See his name. 
MATILDA C., GEORGE B., PETER 
A., IDA JANE, JOHN D. and CHAS. 
A., live with their parents, two and a half 
miles northeast of Pleasant Plains. 

JOHN H., born May 19, 1828, mar- 
ried Feb. 28, 1851, to Minerva E. Bum- 
gardner. They have three children. 
ISABEL M. married Aaron Thompson. 
NANCY E. and WILLIAM J. live with 
their parents. John H. Campbell enlisted 
Sept. 18, 1862, for three years, in Co. F, 
H4th 111. Inf. Served his full term and 
was honorably discharged in July, 1865, 
at Trenton, N. J. He lives east of Pleas- 
ant Plains. 

JAMES E., born Oct. 8, 1830, mar- 
ried Oct. 4, 1865, to Cordelia Valentine, 



who was born Dec. 20, 1847, in Pickaway 
county, Ohio. They live near Pleasant 
Plains. 

MATILDA D., born April 3, 1833, 
married Jan. 25, 1851, to Wm. F. Irwin. 
See his name. 

WILLIAM V., born May 2, 1836, 
married Feb. 13, 1862, to Mary E.Valen- 
tine, who was born Dec. 14, 1843, in Pick- 
away county, O. They had four children. 
OLIVER H. died young. MAXWELL 
M., JASPER S. and CORA V. live 
with their parents, at the family home- 
stead settled in 1823. 

JASPER J., born May 22, 1839, 
enlisted Sept. 18, 1862, for three years, in 
Co. F, 1 1 4th 111. Inf. He was captured 
at the battle of Guntown, Miss., June 10, 
1864, remained in Anderson ville prison- 
pen until near the close of the rebellion, 
and was marching under rebel authority 
to the Mississippi river for the purpose of 
being exchanged. On the second day's 
march, he being emaciated by starvation, 
fell out of the ranks, and was never heard 
of after. 

Maxwell Campbell and his wife live 
on the farm where they settled in 1823. 
It is four miles northeast of Pleasant 
Plains. 

Maxwell Campbell says he raised the 
three first crops after he came to Sanga- 
mon county, with an ox. He used the ox 
for riding and all other purposes, the 
same as a horse. In working he used 
harness instead of a yoke. He could 
carry a grist of com on the ox to mill, 
hitch him in, do his own grinding, and 
then carry it home. He made a cart, each 
wheel of which was a solid piece of wood, 
and with the ox, did his first hauling. Mr. 
Campbell says that for the first five years 
after coming to the county he never had 
a cent of money. He first built a very 
small cabin, then prepared hewn logs for 
a much larger house. They were hauled 
together and lay two years because he 
had no money to buy whisky for the rais- 
. ing. He then bought a blind horse for 
five dollars in trade. It had a bell on it, 
which Mr. Campbell sold for two gallons 
of whisky, and was thus enabled to raise 
the house in which he has lived more than 
forty years. Soon after trading for the 
blind horse,- he put a sack of corn and a 
boy on the ox, and rode the horse to mill, 
hitched the horse and ox together, ground 



174 



EARLY SET7LERS OF 



- 



out the grist, and then started home. The 
ox threw the boy and sack off. The boy 
caught one foot in the traces, and the ox 
dragged him among the trees and stumps, 
and was likely to kill him. Mr. Camp- 
bell, seeing the perilous condition of the 
boy, ran ahead of the ox, caught it by the 
horns and knowing him to be its master, 
rather than the physical strength he ex- 
erted enabled him to hold it until help 
came and extricated the boy. At this 
point in the story, the old gentleman 
paused, looked wise, and with a comical 
expression of countenance, added in a 
trembling voice : " The neighbors always 
said they knowed that ox afterwards by 
the prints of my fingers in his horns?" 1 

CAMPBELL, ROBERT, was 
born in 1798, in Caborras county, N. C., 
and married there to Mary Hill. They 
moved to Sangamon county, 111., about 
1828, and settled on Richland creek. They 
brought two children with them, and had 
eight in Sangamon county. In 1868 the 
family moved to Kansas. Of their child- 
ren 

JAMES married Nancy H. Stubbs, 
and has two children, ALBERT T. and 
OSCAR, and live in Kansas. 

NANCT married John E. King, and 
live in Kansas. 

SAMUEL, WILET, GREEN, 
JAMES, FRANKLIN, JOHN and 
CARROLL, the two latter twins, all, 
married and unmarried, live near Fredonia, 
Wilson county, Kansas. 

Robert Campbell died Sept. 12, 1872, 
near Fredonia, Kansas, and his widow 
lives with their children. 

CAMPBELL, HUGH, twin 
brother to Robert, was born in 1798, in 
North Carolina, married there and came 
to Sangamon county, 111., in Sept., 1830, 
on Richland creek. They had nine child- 
ren, and Hugh Campbell died August 28, 
1865, and his widow died July 26, 1869, 
both in Rochester. 

CAMPBELL, NELSON, 
youngest brother to Maxwell, Robert and 
Hugh. He was born in North Carolina, 
married in Tennessee to Themy Grady, 
and came to Sangamon county in 1830. 
They had three children. Their eldest 
son 

ROBERT, married Mrs. M. Gale, and 
had two children. He enlisted in 1862, 
for three years, in the H4th 111. Inf. 



Served full term and was honorably dis- 
charged. He died Jan., 1873 near Roch- 
ester. 

Nelson Campbell and wife died in San- 
gamon county. 

CAMPBELL, ROBERT, was 
born Sept. 9, 1783, in Kanawha county, 
West Va. Mary Griffith was born there, 
Sept. 15, 1791. They were married June 
30, 1808, and some of their children were 
born in that county. The family moved 
to Cincinnati, and from there to Sanga- 
mon county, arriving previous to 1835, 
near Loami. Of their children 

SIDNEY S., born May 4, 1810, in 
West Va., married in Sangamon county, 
March 30, 1836, to Barbara A. Neal. 
They had six living children in Sanga- 
mon county. ROBERT D., born Jan. 
27, 1840, enlisted July 15, 1861, in Co. C, 
nth Mo. Inf., for three years; i"e-enlisted 
as a veteran, Jan., 1864, served until Jan. 
15, 1866, when he was honorably dis- 
charged. He was married Sept. 2, 1868, 
to Sarah Shryer. They have one child, 
JAMES E., and live one mile south of 
Bates. MARIA N., born Feb. 9, 1842, 
married Wm. H. Sowell. See his name. 
SAMUEL, born March 12, 1844, en- 
listed Sept., i86i,in Co. B, loth 111. Cav., 
for three years. He was wounded in the 
battle of Little Rock, Ark., from which 
he recovered, but died of disease in hospi- 
tal at that place, Sept., 1863. .HARVEY 
G. born July 7, 1846, lives with his 
mother. AMARINE, born Nov. 7, 
1848, married Morris Lee. They have 
two children, and live near New Berlin. 
ELIZABETH, born Sept. 2, 1856, mar- 
ried James M. Williams, who was a 
Union soldier, also. They have two 
children, and live in Pleasant Plains. 
Sidney S. Campbell died in 1874. His 
widow resides at Loarni. 

HAMILTON, born June 12, 1812, in 
West Virginia, married in Sangamon 
county to Harriet Riddle. They moved 
to Oregon, where he was murdered. 

MART E. V., born Oct. 4, 1814, mar- 
ried Woodford Turpin, who died while a 
soldier in the Mexican war, leaving two 
sons, CHARLES and HAMILTON. Mrs. 
Turpin married Walter Nicholls and re- 
side near Dundee, Rice county, Minne- 
sota. 

JOHN A., born Sept. 30, 1816, in 
Kanawha county, West Va., came with 



SANGAMOM COUNTT. 



'75 



his parents to Sangamon county, and after 
spending a few years near Loami, came to 
Springfield. He was married Oct. 4, 1838, 
to Susan C. Short. They had five child- 
ren, four of whom died young. MARI- 
ETTA, born July 25, 1841, in Spring- 
field, 111., was married there, Oct. 28, 
1860, to Daniel Myers. They had one 
child, CAROLINE, and Mr. Myers died 
Oct. 30, 1863. Mrs. Myers lives with her 
father, in St. Louis. Mrs. Susan C. 
Campbell died April 3, 1852, and John A. 
Campbell married Mrs. Elizabeth Rusk, 
whose maiden name was Hawker. She 
died, and he married Nov. 9, 1856, to 
Elizabeth T. Rich. They have one liv- 
ing child, CYRUS W., and reside, at 921 
North Tenth Street, St. Louis, Mo. 

CHARLES /?., born Nov. 17, 1821, 
in West Virginia, married in Sangamon 
county to Mary Gibson. They have two 
children, and live at Oswego, Labette 
county, Kansas. 

WILLIAM P., born Nov. 24, 1826, 
married Julia Slater. They have three 
children, and live in Springfield. 

NANCT A., born April 27, 1830, 
married George Underwood, and both 
died, leaving three children in Buchanan 
county, near St. Joseph, Mo. 

Robert Campbell died Dec. 10, 1845, 
and his widow died Jan. 26, 1862, both in 
Loami township. 

CAMPBELL, THOMAS, was 
born Oct. 31, 1786, in Yorkville District, 
South Carolina. His father, James Camp- 
bell, was born in county Antrim, Ireland, 
and emigrated to South Carolina. Thos. 
Campbell went, in 1807, to visit his bro- 
ther David, in Caldwell county, Ky. He 
was married in that county, March 22, 
1810, to Elizabeth Robinson, a sister to 
Edward Robinson. See his name. She 
was born May 3, 1788, in Nelson county, 
Ky. Her father, George Robinson, was 
born in Bucks county, Pa., married in 
Maryland, to Elizabeth Griffith, moved to 
Loudon county, Va., and from there to 
Nelson county, Ky. Thomas and Eliza- 
beth Campbell had eight children in Ken- 
tucky. He moved with his familv to 
Sangamon county, 111., arriving about 
Nov. 10, 1823. The first land sales took 
place in Springfield on the sixth of that 
month, and a few days later he entered 
some land south of Little Spring creek, 
and there made a home for his family. It 



is now in Island Grove township, three 
miles northeast of Bates, where they had 
four children. Of their twelve children 
JAMES R. was born March 4, 1812, 
in Caldwell county, Ky. He enlisted in 
a Sangamon county Light Horse Co. in 
the spring of 1831, for the Black Hawk 
war: served three months, enlisted in 
another Sangamon county company, in 
1832, was in the battle of Wisconsin, and 
served until the surrender of the Indian 
chief, Black Hawk. Mr. Campbell en- 
listed at Galena in Co. K, ist 111. Inf., in 
1846, for one year. He was in the battle 
of Buena Vista, Mexico, Feb. 22, 1847, 
in which Col. J. J. Hardin was killed. 
J. R. Campbell never married, and resides 
at the family homestead near Bates. 

MARGARET A., born Nov. 8, 1813, 
in Kentucky, married in Sangamon coun- 
ty, to Allen Short. See his name. They 
had three children, and she died Sept. 23, 



J., born July 18, 1815, in 
Kentucky, married in Sangamon county 
to Pinckney Hughes. They had four 
children. MARY E. married Thomas 
Baker, and lives at Nilwood. THOMAS 
P. married Amanda Ross, and lives at 
Nilwood. ANNIE and NETTIE live 
with their mother. Mr. Hughes died in 
1860, and his widow resides at Nilwood, 
Macoupin county, 111. 

NARCISSA D., born Dec. 9, 1816, 
is unmarried, and resides at the family 
homestead, near Bates. 

DOROTHY M., and POLLY M., 
twins, born Oct. 9, 1818, in Kentucky. 

DOROTHT J/., married in Sanga- 
mon county, to Benj. T. Renshaw, moved 
to Iowa, and had three children, ELIZA- 
BETH L., MORGAN and ELIJAH C. 
Mr. Renshaw was a soldier in an Iowa 
regiment, and died in St. Louis. His 
family live near Clio, Wayne county, 
Iowa. 

POLL!' .]/., married in Sangamon 
county to Robert Wiggins. They have 
one child, CHARLES, and live near 
Nilwood, 111. 

WILLIAM />'., born Jan. 28, 1821, in 
Kentucky, married Oct. n, 1849, to 
Sarah L. Dunbar, who was born June I, 
1825. Thev have five living children, 
CHARLES V., MINNIE A. and 
WALTER L., (twins), VELMA A. 



EARLT SETTLERS OF 



and WILLIAM LINCOLN, and live 
near Oskaloosa, Iowa. 

EDWARD DODDS, born May 29, 
1825, in Sangamon county, married Eliza 
Baldwin. They have two children, 
ELIZABETH and CHARLES J., and 
reside near Hutchins, Dallas county, 
Texas. 

JULIETTE, born June 13, 1827, in 
Sangamon county, married Solomon 
Brundage, moved to Texas, and died in 
time of the rebellion. 

JOHN B., born Oct. 26, 1829, in San- 
gamon county, went to Oregon, about 
1853, and from there to California. Last 
heard from in 1867, at Petalouma, Cal. 

THOMAS, Jun., born Nov. 2, 1834, 
in Sangamon county, married Sarah A. 
Selby. They have one child, THOMAS 
H., and reside near Hutchins, Texas. 

Thomas Campbell was licensed to 
preach the gospel in 1818, by Logan 
Presbytery, of the Cumb. Presb. church, 
in Kentucky, and was ordained after com- 
ing to Illinois. He preached at Irish 
Grove, Menard county, to the church on 
Sugar creek, Sangamon county, and 
preached in his own neighborhood as long 
as he lived. Rev. Thomas Campbell died 
May 11, 1850, at the place where he set- 
tled in 1823, and his widow died there in 
Feb., 1876. 

CAMPBELL THOMAS H., 
was born May 21, 1815, in Pennsylvania, 
came to Henderson county, 111., from 
there to Chester, in Randolph county, 
thence to Springfield. He came by the 
invitation of his old friend, Gen. James 
Shields, to discharge the duties of his 
office, Gen. Shields being then Aditor of 
State. Mr. Campbell was married Oct. 
21, 1845, in Jacksonville, 111., to Catharine 
E. McDougall, a native of New York, 
and sister of the Hon. James A. McDou- 
gall, late U. S. Senator from California. 
Mr. and Mrs. Campbell had four children 
in Springfield, namely 

JEANE7^TE, born Feb. 18, 1847, 
and died Feb. 16, 1862. 

THOMAS H., born Dec. i, 1849, in 
Sangamon county, is a lawyer, and resides 
in Springfield. 

JAMES W., born Dec. 29, 1851, in 
Springfield, is a farmer, and lives with his 
mother. 



TREAT, born Jan. 23, 1855, in 
Springfield, is a student, and lives with 
his mother. 

Mr. Campbell continued in the auditor's 
office until the expiration of Mr. Shield's 
term, and the election of Gen. W. L. D. 
Ewing, who died in 1846. Mr. C. was 
appointed to fill the unexpired term. He 
was elected to the same office in 1848, and 
again in 1852, thus serving in the State 
Auditor's office nearly twenty years, be- 
ing the chief officer ten years of that 
time. Mr. Campbell was appointed by 
Gov. Yac :s, special commissioner to audit 
accounts between the U. S. Government 
and the State of Illinois, in which work 
he was engaged at the time of his death, 
Nov. 22, 1862. His widow resides east 
side of Second, near Edwards street, 
Springfield, 111. 

CANFIELD, JOHN E., was 
born Jan. 12, 1802, in Morristown, N. J. 
He came to Sangamon county in 1831, re- 
turned to New Jersey, and was married in 
New York City, April 14, 1834, to Susan 
LaTourette, who was born Feb. 21, 1806, 
at Somerville, Somerset county, New 
Jersey. In May, 1834, they came to Illi- 
nois, and settled west of Springfield, in 
what is now Curran township. They 
had five children, one of whom died in 
infancy. Of the other four 

DANIEL L., born August 29, 1838, 
in Sangamon county, enlisted April 23, 
1861, for three months, in Co. G, 7th 111. 
Inf. He was commissioned ist Lieut, at 
its organization, and afterwards appointed 
Quartermaster of the regiment. Served . 
full time, re-enlisted Nov. 25, 1861, in Co. 
I, loth 111. Cav. He was appointed ist 
Lieut., and afterwards made Battalion 
Quartermaster. That office was abolished, 
and he was mustered out, April 4, 1862, 
He resumed his position as ist Lieut, of 
Co. I, and died May 7, 1863, at St. Louis, 
of disease contracted in the army. 

HELEN M., born Dec. n, 1840, in 
Sangamon county, was married in June, 
1868, in Morristown, N. J., to Thomas H. 
Taylor, a son of the Rector of Grace 
church, New York City. They have one 
child, THOMAS H., Jun., and reside 
near Plainfield, N. J. 

JOHN C., born Oct. 8, 1842, in San- 
gamon county, was married Feb. 15, 1865, 
in Springfield, 111., to Ella L. Todd, who 
was born August 27, 1846, in Lexington, 



SANGAMON COUNTY. 



177 



Ky. They have two children, ELLA S. 
and MAI L. Mr. Canfield has been a 
merchant in Springfield for the last seven- 
teen years, where he and his family re- 
side. 

JAMES F., born Nov. 4, 1844, in 
Sangamon county, is a clerk in the U. S. 
Postofrice department, at Washington, 
D. C. 

Mrs. Susan Canfield died April 6, 1846, 
in Springfield, and John E. Canfield died 
Jan. 7, 1866, in Jacksonville, 111. 

John E. Canfield was one of the original 
members in the organization of St. Paul's 
Episcopal church, in Springfield, and con- 
tinued a member of the same until ' his 
death. 

CANEDY PELEG C., son of 
Capt. Peleg ana Silence Fobes Canedy, 
was born August 25, 1803, in Enfield, 
Hampshire county, Mass., partly raised at 
Middlebury, Vt., and spent most of his 
early manhood in Washington City, where 
he was accustomed to see Webster, Clay, 
Calhoun, and their comp'eers. There he 
also saw for the last time, his brother, 
Lieut. Philander F. Canedy, of the U. S. 
Navy, who, after having done important 
service in the harbor of Charleston, S. C., 
during the nullification excitement, and 
acted as sailing master of the sloop of 
war Florida, died Jan. 2, 1834, at Pensa- 
cola, Flcrida. Mr. P . C. Canedy visited 
New Orleans, Nachitoches and St. Louis, 
at the latter of which he engaged in busi- 
ness for a time, and came to Springfield, 
111., in Dec., 1830, just in time for the "deep 
snow." He began the drug business, and 
still later added books to his stock. This 
was the first establishment of the kind in 
Springfield. He was married in Morgan 
county, Illinois, August 8, 1838, to Sarah 
Camp, who was born Jan., 1815, in Ver- 
mont. They had three children 

CHARLES FOBES, born June- 4, 
1847, * n Springfield. His early education 
was received in the preparatory depart- 
ment of Illinois University, and at the 
Central High School, both in Springfield. 
His preparation for college was continued 
by his private tutor, Rev. John F. Brooks, 
of same city. He graduated at Yale col- 
lege, July 22, 1869, and graduated at the 
General Theological Seminary, New 
York City, June 27, 1873. While a stu- 
dent he had charge, as lay reader, of St. 
Mark's church, Baskingridge, N. J. He 



was ordained Deacon in the Protestant 
Episcopal church, by Bishop Potter, of 
New York, June 29, 1873. He was or- 
dained Priest by the aforesaid prelate, 
Nov. 23, 1873, and Yale college conferred 
the degree of Master of Arts on him, 
June 25, 1874. Rev. C. F. Canedy is un- 
married, and Rector of St. John's church, 
Monticello, N. Y. 

GEORGE />.died in his third year. 

MART P., born March 31, 1852, in 
Springfield, was partially educated there, 
but finished her education at the Chegaray 
Institute, Philadelphia, and St. Mary's 
school, New York City. She resides 
with her brother, the Rev. C. F. Canedy, 
at Monticello. 

Mrs. Sarah Canedy died Jan. 12, 1855, 
in Springfield. P. C. Canedy was for 
many years deacon and trustee in the 
second Presbyterian church, Springfield, 
111., and before the latter place adopted a 
city government, was member and Presi- 
dent of the Board of Town Trustees. He 
was also one of the committee to receive 
President Lincoln's remains. He has 
always been active and energetic in every 
undertaking which had in view the wel- 
fare and happiness of his fellow citizens. 
A local paper of March, 1863, speaks of 
him as an example of uprightness and 
integrity. Mr. Canedy travels much, and 
is often at Springfield, but considers his 
son's house his home. He is now, March, 
1876, in Springfield. 

CANTERBURY, ASA, was 
born March 7, 1788, in Virginia. His 
father died when he was a child, and his 
mother moved to Bath county, Ky. He 
was married to Peggy Hornback, who 
was born Feb. 6, 1791. She lived in 
Fleming county, on the opposite side of 
Licking river. There being opposition 
to their marriage, they went to Aberdeen, 
O., and were there married. It could 
there be solemnized on short notice, as no 
license was required by the laws of Ohio 
at that time, and runaway wedding parties 
from Kentucky were quite popular. They 
had four children in Bath county, and 
moved to the Fleming side of Licking 
river, where they had three. The family 
moved to Sangamon county, 111., arriving 
in the fall of 1826, in what is now Fancy 
creek township, where they had four 
children. Of their eleven children 



178 



EARLY SETTLERS OF 



JSAAC,born in 1810, in Bath county, 
Ky., married in Sangamon county, July, 
1830, to Elizabeth Morgan. They, with 
four other families, moved, in 1832,10 Des- 
Moines county, Iowa, crossing the Missis- 
sippi river at Flint Hills, now Burlington. 
They were said to be the first white fam- 
ilies that ever moved into Iow;i. They 
had six children, and Isaac Canterbury 
died there in 1848. His widow and child- 
ren still live in DesMoines county, Iowa. 

MARIA, born in 1812, in Bath county, 
Ky., married in Sangamon county, May 
14, 1829, to William Primm. See his 
name. 

CARLISLE H., born Dec. 5, 1814, 
in Bath county, Ky., married, August n, 
1836, to Emily Morgan, who was born in 
Sangamon county. They had thirteen 
children, four of whom died under six 
years. Of the other nine: ASA mar- 
ried Margaret England, and lives in Ford 
county. SARAH married William 
Fuquay, and lives in Ford county. 
WILLIAM M. enlisted August, 1861, 
for three years, in Co. F, 28th '111. Inf. 
He was sick when he left Camp Butler, 
and died at Camp Holt, Ky., Nov. 7, 
1861. RUTH A. married Wm. H. H. 
Holland. See his name. OLIVER P., 
JOHN C., CARLISLE N., LINCOLN 
G. and LAURA E. live with their pa- 
rents, in Menard county, two and a half 
miles west of Cantrall. 

VALENTINE, born in 1816, in Bath 
county, Ky., died in Sangamon county, 
aged seventeen years. 

JOHN I 7 ., born August 27, 1820, in 
Fleming county, Ky., married in Sanga- 
mon county, Feb. 22, 1842, to Miranda M. 
Brittin. They had six children. JOHN 
B., born March 24, 1843, died March 19, 
1864. ASA M. married April 19, 1866, 
to Lucinda Fisk. They had five children; 
three died in infancy. The other two, 
MATTIE E. and ELLIS, live with their pa- 
rents, at Cantrall. MARY J. married 
John J. Stevens. They have three child- 
ren, CHARLES A., JOHN E. and FRANK E., 

and reside at Cantrall. MARGA.RET 
A. married Joseph S. Cantrall. See his 
name. EVANS E. resides with his 
father. WM. H. died in infancy. Mrs. 
Mhranda M. Canterbury died Sept. 22, 
1853, and Mr. C. married Sept. 24, 1854, 
to Harriet E. Purkins, of Menard county. 
They live near Cantrall. John F. Can- 



terbury raised a good crop of wheat in 
1842. He hauled sixty-five bushels of it 
to St. Louis, one hundred miles, and sold 
it for thirty-seven and a half cents per 
bushel. He drove three yoke of oxen, 
was twelve days, and his total receipts 
were $24.371^." 

ELIZA J., born in Fleming county, 
Ky., married in Sangamon county, to 
William Cline. See his name. 

OLIVER P., born July 21, 1824, in 
Fleming county, Ky., married in Sanga- 
mon county to Elizabeth Council. They 
have nine children. MARY E. resides 
with her parents. MARGARET J. 
married William Vandergrift. He served 
three years in an Illinois regiment in aiding 
to suppress the slaveholders' rebellion. 
They live in Fancy creek township. 
MARIA F., MELISSA M.JOHN H., 
ANNIE F., JULIA E., WILLIAM R. 
and NELLIE E. live with their parents, 
in Menard county, two and a half miles 
southwest of Cantrall. 

MARTHA A., born in 1827, in San- 
gamon county, married Elijah Brittin. 
See his name. He died March 5, 1873, 
in Iowa. 

MARGARE7\ born about 1829, in 
Sangamon county, married Stephen Eng- 
land. See his name. 

ABRAHAM,\>v\v\ in 1831,511 Sanga- 
mon county, died aged twelve years. 

JULIA A., born about 1834,111 San- 
gamon county, married Agustus J. Bron- 
son, and reside in Menard county, six 
miles northwest of Williamsville. Mr. B. 
enlisted August, 1862, in Co. C, 114 111. 
Inf. for three years. He was a hospital 
steward from 1863, served more than full 
term, and was honorably discharged in 
1865. 

Asa Canterbury died Oct. 16, 1856, and 
his widow died July 8, 1857. 

CANTRALL. The origin of the 
family in America was with Zebulon Can- 
trail, who came from Wales, and settled 
in Philadelphia, Penn., about the year 
1700. There is a tradition in the family 
that he built the first brick house ever 
erected in that city. Zebulon Cantrall 
had a son, Joseph. He had a son, Joshua, 
who was born August 8, 1748, either in 
Pennsylvania or Virginia, most probably 
the latter. He was a soldier in the war 
for American Independence. This Joshua 
Cantrall married and had nine sons, but 



SANG AM ON COUNTT. 



179 



no daughter. Four of his sons died with- 
out families. Of the other five, Joshua, 
horn in Virginia, raised a family, and died 
August 11, 1840, in DeWitt county, 111. 
The other four, Zehulon G., William G., 
Levi and Wyatt, are the suhjects of the 
following sketches. 

CANTRALL,ZEBULON G. 
was born June 29, 1773, in Botetourt 
county, Virginia. He was a brother of 
Joshua, William G., Levi and Wyatt. 
The family moved in 1789, to Bath coun- 
ty, Kv. Zebulon G. was married there, 
August 31, 1797, to Sarah McCallum. 
They moved to Clarke county, Ohio, 
from there to Sangamon county, 111., ar- 
riving in the fall of 1833. In the spring 
of 1834 they moved to DeWitt county, 
111. They had fourteen children; two 
died young. Of the twelve 

ANN, born August 31, 1798, in Bath 
county, Ky., married John Branson. See 
his name. She died May 16, 1822. 

JOSHUA,\yovn April 3, 1802, in Ken- 
tucky, was married in 1828, in Butler 
county, Ohio, to Eliza Scott. He died 
Oct. 12, 1860, in DeWitt county, and Mrs. 
C. resides with her daughter, SARAH, 
the wife of Irvin Daniels, near Warrens- 
ville, 111. Her son, John S., lives in 
Kansas. 

AGNES M., born Sept. 12, 1806, in 
Kentucky, married John Mclntire. She 
is a widow, and resides with her brother 
William. 

JOHN J/., born Feb. 22, 1808, in 
Kentucky, was married in Champaign 
county, Ohio, Nov. 13, 1830, to Joanna 
M. Jones. They had eleven children; two 
died in infancv. Of the nine children: 
WILLIAM J., ZEBULON D., ELIZA- 
BETH, IRA J., MARY A., (the latter 
died in Nov., 1875.) MILES T., ALMA 
J., EFFIE and JOHN C., the latter died 
in the spring of 1872. John M. Cantrall 
died Feb. n, 1863, and his widow died 
Sept., 1870, both in DeWitt county, 111. 

JAMES M., born April 10, 1810, in 
Kentuckv, was married August 9, 1832, 
to Eliza McLaughlin. They had three 
daughters; one died young. ELMIRA 
married Abner J. Lutz, and lives near 
Lincoln, 111. ELIZA J. married Mr. 
Piatt, and lives in Lincoln. James M. 
Cantrall died April 27, 1866, and his 
widow lives in Lincoln, 111. 



SARAH, born March 14, 1812, in 
Clarke county, Ohio, was married in San- 
gamon county, 111., Jan. 14, 1834, to 
Joshua M. Cantrall. See his name. 

ZEBULON P., born Jan. 17, 1814, 
in Clark county, Ohio, was married in 
what is now Logan county, 111., Oct. 16, 
1838,10 Elizabeth Paulk. They had six 
children; two died young. AMOS A., 
born May n, 1845, in Logan county, en- 
listed Sept., 1861, in Co. L, 4th Ill.'Cav. 
Served until June, 1866, when he was 
honorably discharged. He lives near 
Cisco, Piatt county. MARTHA J., born 
Oct. 3, 1842, was married June 9, 1862, to 
Samuel Mott. They have six children, 
GEORGE A., SARAH E., LEWIS 
A.JAMES A., EFFIE C. and ALVA, 
and live near Argenta, Macon county, 111. 
SARAH A., born Dec. 25, 1844, was 
married March 23, 1871, to Theodore A. 
Funk. She died April 30, 1872. MARY 
E., born Jan. 8, 1848, was married Jan. 
12, 1871, to Edwin C. Hunsley. They 
have two children, LAURA A. and INEZ, 
and live near Cisco, 111. Mrs. Elizabeth 
Cantrall died June 12, 1852, and Z. P. 
Cantrall was married to Mrs. Rachel 
Doyle. She died Oct., 1865, and Z. P. 
Cantrall was married March 14, 1872, to 
Mrs. Mary Harp, whose maiden name 
was Everly. They reside near Chesnut, 
Logan county, 111. 

ELIZA, born July 4, 1816, in Clark 
county, Ohio, was married Oct. 5, 1834, 
to Jeremiah Duncan. She died Jan. 29, 
1854, leaving seven children. MARY 
L., HELEN A., the latter born in 1840, 
in Logan county, was married to George 
Whiteman. They live at Waynesville, 
111. AMY L. married Mr. Condell, and 
he died. WILLIAM W. married Rox- 
anna Cushman. They had two children. 
REBECCA S. married Mortimer Samp- 
son. They have one child, and live in 
Waynesville. JEREMIAH P. livc-s in 
Waynesville. 

REBECCA and RACHEL, twins, 
born July 25, 1818, in Ohio. REBECCA 
married in June, 1836, to Jacob F. Samp- 
son. They had three children. Mrs. S. 
died March 24, 1849. The children live 
in Kansas. 

RA CHEL was married in 1842 to Chas. 
Graves, and resides with her daughter, 
FANNIE Storer, near Plum Grove, 



i8o 



EARLY SETTLERS OF 



Butler county, Kansas. Her son, John 
W. Graves, resides at Centralia, 111. 

WTA TT, born May 1 1, 1821, in Ohio, 
married Louisa Stevens. She died, and he 
married Mary A. Day. He died Jan. 7, 
1875, leaving a widow near Lane, Frank- 
lin county, Kansas. 

WILLIAM L., born May 15, 1823, 
in Ohio, was married Oct. 26, 1843, to 
Melinda Stout. They had eight children. 
ANN, born in 1844, was married in De- 
Witt county to Joel Hopesberger. They 
have four children, and live near Ken- 
ney station. EMELINE, born in 1846, 
married Thomas Watson. They have 
three children, and live near Kenney 
Station. JOHN K., JESSE, WIL- 
LIAM and ADDIE. Mrs. Melinda 
Cantrall died March 10, 1864, and W. L. 
Cantrall was married in 1865 to Christine 
Everly, and lives near Chesnut, Logan 
county, 111. 

Mrs. Sarah Cantrall died May 26, 1843, 
and Zebulon G. Cantrall died Sept. 11, 
1845, both in DeWitt county, near 
Waynesville. 

CANTRALL, WM. G., was 
born Sept. 6, 1784, in Botetourt, Va. His 
parents moved to Bath county, Ky., in 
1789. He was there married, in 1804, to 
Deborah Mitts, who was born Nov. 16, 
1785, in Virginia. Soon after marriage 
they moved from Bath county to the vi- 
cinity of New London, Huron county, 
O., and then moved to Pickaway county. 
They had ten children in Ohio, and the 
family moved to Sangamon county, 111., 
arriving Nov. i, 1824, in what is now 
Fancy creek township, on what was then 
called Higgins creek, but now called Can- 
trail's creek. Two children were born in 
Sangamon county. Of all their children 

DOROTHT, born March 15, 1805, in 
Ohio, married iri Sangamon county to 
Charles Snelson. They had seven child- 
ren, moved to DesMoines county, near 
Burlington, Iowa, where Mrs. Snelson 
died. The family live there. 

ANN, born Aug. i^ 1806, in Ohio, mar- 
ried in Sangamon county to John W. 
Snelson. They had eight children, and 
moved to Keokuk county, Iowa, where 
Mrs. Snelson died. The family live there. 

ELIZABETH, born Aug. 29, 1808, 
in Ohio, married in Sangamon county to 
Joseph D. Langston. See his name. 



JOSHUA M., born Dec. 17, 1810, in 
Pickaway couaty, O., was married in San- 
gamon county, Jan. 14, 1834, to Sarah 
Cantrall. She was born March 14, 1812, 
near Urbana, O. They had eight child- 
ren in Sangamon county; six died under 
eight years. Of the other four: ZEBU- 
LAN G., born May 7, 1835, married 
Elizabeth J. Lillv, a native of Augusta 
county, Va. They have six children, 

MARY A., MELISSA E., ARMINTA and 

AMELIA (twins), CELIA j. and NOAH 
MATHENY, and live in Fancv creek town- 
ship. WILLIAM G., Jun., born Feb. 
20, 1837, married Mary J. Randall. They 
have four living children, MARCUS x., 
SARAH M., MARY L. and LOUISA M., and 
live in Fancy creek township. JACOB 
M., born Dec. 25, 1841, married Marian 
J. Tufts., who was born near Buffalo, N. 
Y. They have one child, ADDIE E., and 
reside in Fancy creek township. MAHA- 
LA E., born Oct. 4, 1845, married Oct. 
9, 1873, to George W. Bailey, being his 
second wife. He was born in Hawkins 
county, Tenn. He was a soldier in the 
5th Tenn. Inf. in the Mexican war, in 
1846 and '7; came from Mexico to San- 
gamon county in 1848. He enlisted in 
1862 for three years, in Co. H, 114111. 
Inf.; was commissioned as Captain at the 
organization of the regiment. His health 
failing, he resigned in May, 1863, and 
lives in Salisbury township. Joshua M. 
Cantrall resides in Fancy creek township, 
eight miles north of Springfield. 

TH2RZA, or THERESA, born 
Nov. 8, 1812, in Ohio, married in Sanga- 
mon county, to Edward Guyott. She 
died Oct. 7, 1851, three months after mar- 
riage. He married again, and lives in 
Springfield. 

ADAM M., born Feb. 27, 1815, in 
Ohio, married in Sangamon countv to 
Delilah Smith. They had nine children. 
JEREMIAH married Etta Drone, and 
live in Fancy creek township. HAR- 
RIET married Wm. Brisentine; moved 
to Dallas county, Texas, in 1853. She 
died there, leaving one child. W M. L. 
BRISENTINE lives with his grand- 
uncle, Joshua M. Cantrall. See his name, 
Adam Cantrall and his wife live at River- 
ton. 

DEBORAH, born Feb. 16, 1817, in 
Ohio, married in Sangamon county to 
Marshal S. Randall. They have twelve 



SANGAMON COUNTt. 



181 



children, and reside near Blue Mound, 
Christian county. Their daughter, Mary 
J., married Wm. G. Cantrall, Jun. See 
his name. 

MAHALA, born Dec. 4, 1818, in 
Ohio, married in Sangamon county to 
Newton Street. She died, and he resides 
in Montgomery county. 

SUSANNAH, born Nov. 23, 1820, in 
Ohio, married in Sangamon county to 
Leonard Mitts. See his name. 

WILLIAM M., born Dec. 22, 1822, 
in Ohio, married in Sangamon county to 
Adaline Claywell. They had nine child- 
ren; two died under six years. JULIA 
A. married Leander Jones, have three 
children, and reside in Salisbury township. 
MIRANDA married Rollin V. Mallory. 
See his name. JAMES M., PERCY- 
DEBORAH J. is a cripple, having had 
eight inches of bone taken from one ot 
her lower limbs -- LEWIS E. and 
SARAH E. The latter is a deaf mute, 
and is being educated at the State Institu- 
tion at Jacksonville. The five unmarried 
reside with their mother. William M. 
Cantrall enlisted July, 1862, for three 
years, in Co. C, 114 111. Inf.; was appoint- 
ed Sergeant at the organization. Disease 
was brought on by over-exertion at the 
battle of Guntown, Miss., June 10, 1864, 
and he died in hospital at Memphis, 
Tenn., July 9, 1864. His widow ancl un- 
married children live in Fancy creek 
township, eight miles north of Spring- 
field. 

MIRANDA J., born May 12, 1826, 
in Sangamon county, married William 
Snelson. They had one child, CHAS. 
H. SNELSON, and William S. died 
March 9, 1853. His widow was married 
March 4, 1858, to Samuel Mellinger, who 
was born Jan. 27, 1832, in Franklin 
county, Pa. They have four children, 

WILLIAM C., MAHALA A., DEBORAH A. 

and LUCY E., live with their parents in 
Fancy creek township. Mr. Mellinger 
had one child by a former wife, SAMUEL 
i. He lives with his father. Samuel 
Mellinger enlisted Aug. 12, 1862, in Co. 
C, 114 111. Inf., for three years; served full 
term, and was honorablv discharged Aug. 
3, 1865. 

ANDRE W y., born Jan. 4, 1829, in 
Sangamon county, died March 15, 1842. 

Mrs. Deborah Cantrall died March 15, 
1856, and William G. Cantrall, Sen., died 



March 6, 1867, on the farm settled by 
them in 1824, in Fancy creek township. 

CANTRALL, LEVI, was born 
Oct. i, 1787, in Botetourt county, Va. He 
was taken by his parents in 1789 to that 
part of Mercer which afterwards became 
Bath county, Ky. He was there married 
Nov. 30, 1809, to Fanny England. They 
had one child in Kentucky, and the family 
moved, in 1811, to Madison county, O., 
where five children were born. They 
then moved to Madison county, 111., in 
Oct., 1819; moved on and arrived where 
Springfield no-v stands, Dec. 4, 1819, and 
reached the north side of the river, in 
what is now Fancy Creek township, on 
the fifth, made the selection of a location 
on the seventh, and commenced building 
a cabin Dec. 8, 1819. They had seven 
children in Sangamon county. Of their 
thirteen children 

THOMAS, born Oct. 1 1, 1810, in Bath 
county, Ky., married Oct. 3, 1831, in San- 
gamon county, to Priscilla D. McLemore, 
who was born Sept. 14, 1814, in Tennes- 
see. They had nine children, namely: 
CLARISSA, born Jan. 20, 1833, unmar- 
ried, and resides at the house of H. H. 
Holland. TURNER H., born May 9, 
1834, last heard from in Alabama. 
YOUNG M.,born April 30, 1836, married, 
1 86 1, to Ellen Graham; had one child, 
THOMAS E., and Y. M. Cantrall enlisted 
in 1862 for three years, in Co. C, 114 111. 
Inf., and died in the army. His widow 
and son reside in Athens. LEVI, born 
July 1 6, 1838, died, aged nineteen. 
NANCY A., born March 25, 1840, mar- 
ried Egbert Mallory. See his name. 
THOMAS J., born Dec. 21, 1842, served 
three years in the loth 111. Cav., was hon- 
orably discharged, and lives in Nebraska. 
FANNY P., born March 2, 1843, mar- 
ried James D. Mallory. See his name. 
MARY E., born Dec. 8, 1844,18 a teacher 
in Springfield. Mrs. Priscilla D. Cantrall 
died, and Thomas C. married June 12, 

1848, to Elizabeth Estel. They had four 
children. MARTHA E., born June 12, 

1849, married and died in Logan county. 
ROBERT H., born July 16, 1851, mar- 
ried Miss GofF, has one child, and resides 
near Athens. WILLIAM M., born 
April 16, 1853, and CHARLES H., born 
Dec. 29, 1855, reside with their mother. 
Thomas Cantrall lost his life by a run- 
away team dragging a saw-log over him, 



lS2 



EARLY SETTLERS OF 



in 1858. His widow and unmarried 
children reside near Athens. 

ANN, born July 17, 1812 in Madison 
county, O., married in Sangamon county 
to Edward Ridgeway. They had three 
children, and Mr. R. died in 1834. His 
widow married F'erdinand Meeker, and 
had several children. She died in Logan 
county. Her daughter, NANCY 
RIDGEWAY, married James Milam, 
and resides in Buffalo Hart, 111. Her 
daughter, DULCIXA MEEKER, married 
Jeremiah Lashbaugh, and resides in Illi- 
opolis township. 

NANCT, born Sept. 15, 1813, in Madi- 
son county, O., married in Sangamon 
county to Turner Holland. See his name. 

STEPHEN L., born April 4, 1815, 
in Madison county, O., married in Sanga- 
mon county to Mary Ridgeway. They 
had three children. FANNY married 
George Provines, has seven children, and 
reside near Clinton. ALMYRA mar- 
ried Samuel Mellinger, and died, leaving 
one child. Samuel Mellinger married 
Mrs. Miranda Snelson, whose maiden 
hame was Cantrall. GEORGE W. en- 
listed Aug., 1862, for three years, in Co. I, 
114 111. Inf., and died in the army. Mrs. 
Mary Cantrall died in Buffalo Hart grove, 
and Stephen L. Cantrall died in 1874, at 
the house of his brother Joshua. 

SELINDA, born Nov. 14, 1816, in 
Ohio, died in Sangamon county, at twelve 
or thirteen years of age. 

ELEANOR, born Oct. 17, 1818, in 
Ohio, married in Sangamon county to 
John Jordan, and resides near Olathe, 
Kan. 

ELIZABETH, born May 26, 1820, 
in Sangamon county, married James Dris- 
kell. Mrs. Driskell died. One son, 
DAVID, enlisted in Co. C, 1 14, 111. Inf., 
in Aug., 1862, for three years, and died at 
home of disease contracted in the army. 
Another son, LEVI, resides in Menard 
county. 

LE VI, Jr., born March 17, 1822, in 
Sangamon county, married to Elizabeth 
C. King, who was born July n, 1828, in 
Tennessee. They had four children. 
JASPER H., born March 23, 1847, mar - 
ried Sarah E. Wagner, has three children, 
WILLIAM H., BERTRAM and JOSEPH, and 
resides near Paxton. WILLIAM M., 
born March i, 1849, married Minnie 
Wells, has. two children, ALVIN N. and 



WILLIAM v., and resides near Illiopolis. 
MARY E. married Sept. 2, 1874, to Ben- 
jamin F. Warren, has one child, HARRY 
N., and resides near Illiopolis. ALFRED 
N. resides with his mother. Levi Can- 
trall, Jr., died March 14, 1868, and his 
widow married Sept. 2, 1874, to Enoch 
Primm. 

RA CHEL, born Feb. 29, 1824, in San- 
gamon county, married John Overstreet. 
See his name. 

CHARLES S., born Jan. 6, 1826, in 
Sangamon county, married Jan. 7, 1845, 
to Emily M. Vandergrift, who was born 
Oct. 6, 1830. They had two children. 
MARY E., born June 13, 1848, married 
Jan. 25, 1866, to Stephen O. Price, has 
two children, and resides near Lincoln. 
MACDONALD, born Aug. 22, .1851, 
married Aug. 4, 1870, to Margaret Peden, 
has two children, and resides in Spring- 
field. Mrs. Emily M. Cantrall died Jan. 
29, 1852, and C. S. Cantrall married June 
20, 1852, to Lucy Swearengin, who was 
born Oct. 15, 1828. She died April 14, 
1853. C. S. Cantrall married April 26, 
1855, to Harriet A. Graham, who was 
born Feb. 17, 1836, in Athens. They 
have nine children, CHARLES H., 
THOMAS D., ALICE, JOHN W,, 
LEVI G., WILLIAM H., FANNY A., 
HOMER E. and IDA. Charles S. Can- 
trall had one leg amputated, caused by 
disease. It was done in Sept., 1871. He 
resides two miles west of Illiopolis. 

JOSHUA, born July 28, 1828, in San- 
gamon county, married Rebecca Hedrick. 
They had thirteen children; three died in 
infancy. Of the other ten, LAFAY- 
ETTE was married July 23, 1874, to 
Gussie Chambers, and lives in Illiopolis 
township. FANNIE SELINDA mar- 
ried Benjamin Capps. See his name. 
CARLISLE, BARTON R.JULIA A., 
MACDONALD, LAURA E., CLARA 
P., LEVI and BENJAMIN, and reside 
one and a half miles west of Illiopolis. 

JESSE, born April 7, 1830, in San- 
gamon county, married Eliza J. Humes. 
They had ten children. He enlisted 
Aug., 1862, for three years, in Co. C, 
ii4th 111. Inf. He was commissioned 2d 
Lieut, at the organization, promoted to 
Captain, and served as such to the end of 
the rebellion, and was honorably dis- 
charged. He moved with nis family to 
Black Bob, Johnson county, Kansas. 



SANGAMON COUNTY. 



'83 



MACDONALD,\>O April 5, 1833, 

in Sangamon county, married Narcissa 
Hedrick. They had one child, and Mr. 
Crantrall died Sept. 15, 1872. His widow 
and son, CHARLES, reside in Menard 
county, five miles northeast of Cantrall. 
Mrs. Fanny Cantrall died Sept. 10, 

1835, and Levi Cantrall married May 27, 

1836, to Mrs. Ann Barnett, whose maiden 
name was Patterson. They had five 
children, three of whom died in infancy. 
Of the other two 

FANNT L., born Oct. 9, 1838, in 
Sangamon county, married Jan., 1857, to 
Henrv Graham. They have four living 
children, MARY A., WILLIAM, AR- 
MINDA D. and JOSEPH, and reside 
near Athens, Menard county. 

JOSEPH S., born Oct. 16, 1841, in 
Sangamon county, married Jan. 14, 1869, 
to Margaret A. Canterbury. They have 
one child, DAISY E., and reside at Can- 
trail. He is one of the proprietors of the 
new town of Cantrall. 

Levi Cantrall died Feb. 22, 1860, and 
his widow resides with their son Joseph 
S., at Cantrall. The town of Cantrall 
was laid out on land he entered soon after 
coming to the country, and was named in 
honor of his memory. 

INCIDENTS. 

From a statement in writing made by 
Levi Cantrall a few months before his 
death, I learn that in building the cabin he 
commenced Dec. 8th, 1819, about half a 
mile west of the present town of Can- 
trall, the mortar froze so that he could not 
plaster it. December 24, 1819, snow be- 
gan to fall, and continued one snow after 
another until it was two feet deep on a 
level. The weather continued intensely 
cold, and 'a company of seven men started 
to the American Bottom for provisions. 
They were Levi and Wyatt Cantrall, 
Alexander and Henry Crawford, M. Hol- 
land, a Mr. Kellogg and John Dixon, 
who afterwards founded the city of Dixon, 
111. Thev loaded their wagons with flour 
and meal and started home on the eight- 
eenth, and on the twentieth rain com- 
menced falling. The rain and melting 
snow set the whole country afloat, and 
when they reached the Sangamon river it 
was too full to cross. They sent back to 
Kelly's where Springfield now stands 



for tools, and obtained an axe and grubbing 
hoe. With these they made a canoe, and 
reached home twenty-one days from the 
time of starting. On the 6th of May, 
1820, the frost killed their growing corn. 
The settlers thought of moving back 
south, but they hauled up provisions before 
the next winter and lived through it. 

Levi Cantrall built a horse mill in the 
fall of 1820. It was a band mill, with a 
wheel forty feet in diameter. It was the 
first mill ever built north of the Sanga- 
mon river, and people came thirty miles or 
more to mill. Mr. Cantrall built a water 
mill on Cantrall's creek, near the present 
town of Cantrall. It did sawing and 
grinding. He says the snow of 1830-31 
was four feet on a level. Levi Cantrall 
kept a tannery where he lived for more 
than forty years. 

CANTRALL, WYATT, was 
born Dec. 20, 1790, in Bath county, Ky., 
the same year that his parents moved from 
Botetourt county, Va. He was married 
in Bath county to Sally England, and 
moved to Clarke county, O., where they 
had three children, and then moved, in 
company with Mrs. Cantrall's father, 
Stephen England, to St. Clair county, 111., 
in the fall of 1818, and in the spring of 
1819 to what is now Fancy Creek town- 
ship, in Sangamon county, where they had 
six children. Of their nine children 

ELIZA, born Sept. 3, 1813, in Ohio, 
married in .Sangamon county to John 
McLemore. He died in 1871, leaving a 
widow and two children at Stirling, 
Whiteside county. 

SAMUEL D,, born Feb. 9, 1816, in 
Clarke county, O., married in Sangamon 
county, March 6, 1837, to Sarah S. Alex- 
ander. They had six living children. 
ALBERT A. married March 6, 1862, to 
Martha Hunt. He enlisted in Aug., 1862, 
in Co. C, 1 14 111. Inf., for three years, and 
was appointed Sergeant. He was captured 
at the battle of Guntown, Miss., in June, 
1864, and was placed in the Andersonville 
prison pen, where he remained about five 
months, and after that was taken from one 
prison to another to prevent being released 
by the Union forces, and was paroled 
Marcn i, 1865, and died of starvation and 
exposure March 5, 1865, at Wilmington, 
N. C. WYA.TT E. married Grizella 
Holland. LUCINDA J. married B. F. 
Horn. HEXRY married Emma E. Gra- 



184 



EARLY SETTLERS OF 



ham. ELIZA married Henry Lake, son 
of Bayless, and MARGARET A. mar- 
ried Isaac Bates, son of Joseph. S. D. 
Cantrall lives two miles north of Cantrall. 

DA VI D 7>.,born May 7, 1818, in Ohio, 
married in Sangamon county to Eleanor 
McLemore, had three children, and she 
died. He married Ursula Bull, has three 
children, and lives in Iowa. 

ZEBULON, born Aug. u, 1823, in 
Sangamon county, and died in 1840. 

WIATT E., born March 22, 1825, in 
Sangamon county, died in 1841. 

STEPHENS., born April 20, 1827, 
in Sangamon county, married Caroline 
Blue. They have seven children, and live 
at Black Bob, Johnson county, Kan. 

WILLIAM J., born July 28, 1829, in 
Sangamon county, married Lucy Kings- 
bury, who died, and he married Calista 
Neil, have three children, and lives at 
Black Bob, Kan. 

POLLY ANN, born Sept. 17, 1832, 
in Sangamon county, married Thomas 
Hethcote, have one child, and live at Stir- 
ling, Whiteside county. 

JOHN H., born Oct. i, 1834, in San- 
gamon county, married Eleanor Stratton, 
have six children, and live in Iowa. 

Mrs. Sally Cantrall died Aug. i, 1840, 
in Sangamon county, and Wiatt Cantrall 
married in the fall of 1841 to Mrs. Polly 
Kingsbury, whose maiden name was Fos- 
ter. They had one child 

JOSHUA P., born in 1843 in Sanga- 
mon county, married Grace Winters. 
They have one child, and live in Chase 
county, Kan. 

Mrs. Polly Cantrall died about 1859, 
and Wiatt Cantrall resides at Stirling, 
Whiteside county. 

CANTRILL,, THOMAS, was 
born April 4, 1775, and Elizabeth Murray 
was born Sept. 19, 1774. The place of 
their birth is not known, but probably in 
Orange county, North Carolina, where 
they were married and had one child. 
They then moved to Green county, Ky., 
where they had five children, and moved 
to Sangamon county, 111., arriving Oct., 
1828, in what is now Rochester township, 
three and a half miles east of Springfield. 
Of their children 

MARY, born in North. Carolina, mar- 
ried in Kentucky to Thomas Perry, and 
came to Sangamon county before her pa- 



rents. They had six children, but all the 
family are dead. 

WILLIAM, born Jan. 17, 1800, in 
Green county, Ky., came to Springfield, 
111., in March, 1825, was married in San- 
gamon county Feb. 14, 1828, to Elizabeth 
Hall, who was born Dec. 8, 1809. They 
had two children, and moved to Decatur, 
April, 1833, where'they had two children. 
Of their children: THOMAS H., born 
Nov. i, 1829, in Sangamon county, raised 
in Decatur, and died in the spring of 1864, 
at Walla Walla, Washington Ter. JANE 
ELLEN, born Oct. 27, 1832, in Sanga- 
mon county, married in Decatur, April 4, 
1857, to A. S. Keller, and lives at Sulli- 
van, Moultrie county, 111. MARY E., 
born Sept. 27, 1835, in Decatur, married 
Dr. William Dillon. See his name. SU- 
SAN L., born July 3, 1844, married Feb. 
3, 1863, to Harl P. Christie, and lives in 
Decatur. Mrs. Elizabeth Cantrill died 
August 4, 1868, and William Cantrill 
lives in Decatur. 

SUSAN, married Robert Bird, had 
two children, and the parents died. 

ANNA married William Black. They 
had six children. The parents and two 
of the children are dead. 

ZEBULON, born April 8, 1807, in 
Green county, Ky., married in Sangamon 
county in 1829, to Elizabeth Enyart. 
They had four children, and he died Jan. 
8, 1840. His widow lives near Mechanics- 
burg. 

JOEL, born Jan. 8, 1811, in Green 
county, Ky., married in Sangamon coun- 
ty, May 16, 1839, to Zerelda E. Branch. 
They had ten children in Sangamon 
county; two died in infancy. LEWIS 
M., born April 9, 1840, married July 23, 
1863, to Elmira M. Lee, who was born 
Oct., 1839, in the State of New York. 
They live at Joliet, 111. EDWARD T., 
born Dec. 27, 1842, enlisted August, 1862, 
in Co. E, U4th 111. Inf., for three years, 
and died July 11, 1863, at Vicksburg, 
Miss. His remains were brought home 
and buried near Rochester. LAURA J., 
the fifth child, died in her fifteenth year. 
WILLIAM B., JAMES N., HENRY 
A. and HENRIETTA, twins, and EM- 
ILY, live with their mother. Joel Can- 
trill died Sept. 4, :866, and his widow 
lives on the farm where his parents settled 
on coming to the county, near Sangamon 
Station. 



SANGAMON COUNT*. 



185 



Mrs. Elizabeth Cantrill died Oct i, and 
Thomas Cantrill died Oct. 3, 1836, both 
near what is now Sangamon Station. 

CAPPS, MRS. MARY, whose 
maiden name was Devas, was a native of 
London, England. Her husband, Charles 
Capps, was for many years a merchant in 
London, and died there. His widow, 
whose name heads this sketch, came to 
America with her sons, John, Benjamin 
and Charles, leaving one son (Thomas) in 
England. They arrived in Springfield, 
111., Nov., 1830. Her sons Jabez and 
Ebenezer having preceded the other 
members of the family several years, Mrs. 
Capps brought some of her daughters, and 
others came later. 

Mrs. Mary Capps died Nov. 8, 1857, at 
the residence of her son-in-law, Dr. Alex- 
ander Shields, in Sangamon county. Of 
her nine children who came to America, 
eight are now living. 

CAPPS, JABEZ, born Sept. 
9, 1796, in the city of London, England, 
came to America in the summer of 1817, 
arriving near what is now Springfield, 111., 
in the spring of 1819, and is believed to 
have been the first school teacher in San- 
gamon county. He was married in 1828, 
near Rochester, to Prudence A. Stafford, 
who was born in Vermont. They had 
three living children, and Mrs. Capps 
died May 13, 1836. Jabez Capps was 
married near Rochester, 111., Sept., 1836, 
to Elizabeth Baker. They had ten child- 
ren, one of whom died young. Of all his 
children 

CHARLES S., born Jan. 31, 1830, in 
Springfield, was married May 3, 1854, to 
Eliza McGraw. They live in Mt. Pu- 
laski. 

EBENEZER S., born Feb. 15, 1834, 
in Springfield, was married in 1856 to 
Eliza Freeman, and live in Mt. Pulaski. 

OLIVER T., born Feb. 13, 1836, in 
Springfield, was married in 1856 to Eliza 
Bush, and live in Mt. Pulaski. 

By the second marriage 

JOHN H., born Nov. 15, 1839, in Mt. 
Pulaski, married Martha Pumpilly, and 
live in his native town. 

PRUDT A., born Dec. 18, 1841, in 
Mt. Pulaski, was married March 8, 1860, to 
S. Linn Beidler, who was born June 23, 
1837, at Mt. Joy, Lancaster county, Pa. 
Of their seven children, one died young. 
MONITOR C., FRANK X., JOHN 

2 4 



LINN, SNOW FLAKE, IMOGENE 
and RELL C., live with their parents at 
Mt. Pulaski, 111. Mr. Beidler is a drug- 
gist, and with the exception of one year 
during President Johnson's administration, 
has been Post Master there since 1857. 

MART, born Oct. 8, 1844, in Mt. 
Pulaska, married Michael McNattin. 

WILLIAM, BENJAMIN, JA- 
BEZ B., ED WARD, HARRIE B. 
and MA UD, all live with their parents. 

Mr. Jabez Capps was a merchant in 
Springfield from 1827 to 1836, when he 
formed a company and laid out the town 
of Mt. Pulaski. Brought his goods from 
Springfield, and continued in business un- 
til 1870. He is now engaged with his 
son in the nursery business. Mr. Capps 
was Post Master at Mt. Pulaski for fifteen 
years, and County Recorder four years. 
He and his family reside in Mt. Pulaski. 

CAPPS, EBENEZER, was 
born May, 1798, in London, Eng. Came 
to Springfield in 1820. He returned to 
Europe in the spring of 1830. On his 
return he went to Vandalia, 111., in the 
fall of same year. He was married in 
Morgan county, 111., March i, 1835, to 
Ann Norwood. They have five living 
children, namely 

SARAH, HANNAH, MART A., 
CHARLES E. and THOMAS. 

Mrs. Ann Capps died Sept., 1855, and 
Ebenezer Capps was married May 29, 
1860, in Springfield, to Rosetta lies. They 
had one child 

ROSETTA. 

Mrs. Rosetta Capps died in Dec., 1861. 
Ebenezer Capps was married to Mrs. 
Elizabeth Snyder, at Lincoln, 111., Oct., 
1863. They had two children 

GEORGE B. and SUSAN. 

Ebenezer Capps and family reside in 
Vandalia, 111. 

CAPPS, MARY, was born in 
1801, in London, Eng.; died unmarried at 
Vandalia, 111., Dec. 3, 1858. 

CAPPS, ANN, was born in 1803, 
in London, Eng. She was married there 
to William Salisch. They came to 
America, arriving at Vandalia, 111., in 1833, 
where Mr. Salisch died the year follow- 
ing, leaving a widow and two children, 
viz 

SALINA died, aged twelve years. 

CHARLES W., born Jan. 24, 1832, 
in London, Eng., came with his parents 



1 86 



EARLT SET7LERS OP 



to Vandalia, and after the death of his 
father, was brought by his mother to 
Springfield, 111., where he was married, 
Oct. 31, 1 86 1, to Anna C. Hughes. They 
had four children. CHARLES F. died 
in his fourth year. RALPH E., CHAS. 
E. and SCOTT A. C. W. Salisch is 
Post Master at Cotton Hill, Sangamon 
county. 

Mrs. Ann Salisch was married in 1837, 
in Springfield, to Dr. Alexander Shields. 
See his name. 

CAPPS, SUSAN, was born in 
1805, in London, Eng. She was married 
in Springfield, 111., to James Gobbett. 
He went to California, and died on his 
way home on the steamer, of Asiatic 
cholera. Mrs. Gobbett lives with her 
sister, Mrs. Dr. Shields. 

CAPPS, SARAH, was born in 
1807, in London, Eng., is unmarried, and 
lives with her sister, Mrs. Dr. Shields. 

CAPPS, JOHN, was born Dec. 16, 
1810, in London, Eng. Came to America 
with his mother, brothers and sisters, 
arriving at Springfield, 111., in Nov., 1830. 
He was married there Sept. 5, 1833, to 
Nancy Clements, who was born Oct. 2, 
1817, in Lincoln county, Ky. (She is a 
cousin of Mrs. Mathew Cloyd.) Mr. 
and Mrs. John Capps had five children in 
Springfield, and in 1844 moved to Mt. 
Pulaski, where they had four, and about 
1855 moved to Decatur, where they had 
three; thence to Illiopolis, Sangamon 
county. Of their twelve children two 
died young 

MART M., born Oct. 6, 1834, was 
married Jan. 19, 1853, to James Sims. 
They have six children, ADA, JOHN F., 
ELLA, HATTIE,RALPH LINCOLN 
and FANNIE, and live in Mt. Pulaski. 

THOMAS W., born Dec. 26, 1838, in 
Springfield, enlisted in 1862 for three 
months, in Co. I, 68th 111. Vol. Inf.; 
served full term, and enlisted in the 
United States Navy. He was married 
Dec. 29, 1869, to Nellie Van Hise, in Mt. 
Pulaski. They had one child, EARL, 
Mrs. Nellie Capps died, Oct. 23, 1873. 
Mr. T. W. Capps lives in Mt. Pulaski. 

CHARLES R., born March ii, 1841, 
in Springfield, was married in Mt. Pu- 
laski, May 29, 1862, to Lizzie Lushbaugh. 
They have four children, LOUIE E., 
ELMER LINCOLN, FRANK and 
MABEL, and live in Mt. Pulaski. 



ALEXANDER S., born May 2, 
1843, in Springfield, enlisted Aug. 9, 1862, 
for three years, in Co. B, io6th 111. Vol. 
Inf., served until Aug. i, 1865, when he 
was honorably discharged. He was mar- 
ried Sept. 3, 1867, to Maggie Ishmael. 
They have one child, KATIE E., and 
live in Illiopolis. 

JABEZ J/., born Aug. 19, 1845, in 
Mt. Pulaski, enlisted in 1863 for one hun- 
dred days, in Co. D, I45th 111. Inf., served 
more than full time, and was honorably 
discharged. He was married June 17, 
1867, to Sallie Bechtel. They have three 
living children, LONE, PEARL and 
GERTRUDE. J. M. Capps is engaged 
in milling at Mt. Pulaski, and lives there. 

ANN S., born Jan. 22, 1848, in Mt. 
Pulaski, was married May 5, 1868, to 
James W. McGuffin. She died in Illiop- 
olis, April 7, 1874, leaving three children, 
BENJAMIN F., WALTER and JOHN 
C. 

BENJAMIN F., born July 21, 1850, 
in Mt. Pulaski, was married Aug. 12, 
1870, to Fannie S. Cantrall. She was 
killed Oct. 8, 1870, near Illiopolis. She 
was mounting a horse, when it took 
fright, drew the rein in a noose around 
her hand, and dragged her until she was 
dead. B. F. Capps married Emma Snv- 
der. They live at Mt. Pulaski. 

ALBERT B., JOHN C. and 
BUNN, live with their parents. John C. 
had a twin mate, who died young. 

John Capps and family reside one and 
a half miles west of Illiopolis. 

CAPPS, CHARLES, was born 
Feb. 7, 1814, in London, Eng. Came 
with his mother, brothers and sisters to 
America, arriving at Springfield, Nov., 
1830, and moved to Vandalia in December 
of the same year. He was married Nov. 
n, 1852, in Sangamon county, 111., to 
Elizabeth A. Gobbett, who was born Oct. 
27, 1836, in Missouri. They had four 
living children 

MART A., born Dec. 3, 1854, was 
married March 13, 1872, to George R. 
Wylie. They have one child, MAUDE 
E, and live in Mt. Pulaski. 

SARAH F., JAMES A. and AMT 
G., reside with their parents in Mt. Pu- 
laski. 

CAPPS, BENJAMIN, was 
born June 24, 1820, in London, England. 
Came to Springfield in 1830, and to Van- 



SANGAMON COUNTT. 



187 



dalia in 1831. He returned to England in 
1844, and remained there until 1852, when 
he went to Australia, and returned to 
Vandalia in 1856. He was married in 
Mt. Pulaski in May, 1862, to Lucy Mc- 
Graw. They have four living children 

IDA, JENNIE, BENJAMINS 
HANNAH ' N. 

Benjamin Capps has always faithfully 
served his adopted country, and votes the 
straight Republican ticket. He, with his 
family, reside in Vandalia, 111. 

CARPENTER, WILLIAM, 
born July 3, 1787^ in the city of Philadel- 
phia, Penn., was the eldest son of Samuel 
and Catharine Carpenter. He had two 
brothers, Charles and Samuel, Jun.; also 
two sisters, Elizabeth and Catharine. His 
father died when William was quite 
young, leaving the family dependent en- 
tirely on their own exertions for a liveli- 
hood. William was baptized in the Ger- 
man Lutheran church in Philadelphia, 
Sept. 23, 1787. Carl Linnensheet and 
Margreth, his wife, (grandparents), spon- 
sors. Arrived at manhood, he and his 
brother Samuel came to Licking county, 
Ohio, then the " far west." In the fall of 
1819 William C. was married to Margaret 
Pence, who is still living. She was the 
daughter of Peter and Catharine Pence, 
and was born Feb. 5, 1803, in Shenandoah 
county, Va. Her mother's maiden name 
was Godfrey,- whose father fought in the 
Revolution, under Gen Wayne, and was 
killed by the Indians, near Wheeling, Va., 
in the summer of 1820. William Car- 
penter, his wife and Samuel, started for 
Illinois. The time occupied in coming 
was six weeks. They passed through 
what is now Springfield, crossed the San- 
gamon river, and built a cabin about two 
miles north of it. At that time the "Kel- 
ly cabins" constituted all the settlement 
at what is now the city of Springfield. 
Samuel C. soon tired of the west, and re- 
turned. When land came into the mar- 
ket, Wm. C. entered the land upon which 
he had settled, and erected a two story 
log house, which is still standing, although 
dilapidated. This afterwards became an 
important point for the stage line on the 
State road leading from Springfield to 
Peoria, and called the " six mile house." 
Their nearest neighbors then were three 
or four miles distant, and the Indians 
(friendly tribes) frequently visited the 



house for something to eat, and a matter 
of considerable alarm to the females when 
the men were away, as was frequently the 
case, "to mill," or "on a hunt." They 
grew cotton, picked, carded, spun and 
wove it into cloth for family use. These 
cards are still in the possession of some of 
the family. For a long time Edwards- 
ville, Madison county, 111., was the nearest 
mill and postoffice. It took two weeks 
to go and return with a grist, usually a 
sack of corn, on horseback. St. Louis, 
Mo., was the nearest market. About the 
year 1828, William Carpenter, with a 
family of five children, moved to Spring- 
field, then grown to the dignity of a town, 
and called Calhoun. He there engaged 
in merchandizing. The farm was after- 
wards rented, and occupied by Hon. S. T. 
Logan, then just arrived from Kentucky. 
Six children were born in Springfield. Of 
their eleven children 

CATHARINE, born Sept. 28, 1820, 
in Sangamon county, was married June 
8, 1843, in Springfield, to Adolphus Wood, 
who was born Nov. 8, 1806, in Chenango 
county, N. Y. They had six children; 
the two eldest died young. Of the other 
four, WILLIAM C., born in Springfield, 
111., Dec. 28, 1848, was married August 
29, 1874, in Chicago, to Emma E. Wood, 
who was born in Springfield, Jan. 2, 1851. 
They have one child, CHARLES o., and 
live on the farm with his mother. ELIZA- 
BETH and GEORGE live with their 
mother. CHARLES is clerk in Diller's 
drug store, Springfield, 111. 

Mr. Wood died Jan. 12, 1861, and his 
widow resides three and a half miles north 
of Springfield. 

CHARLES, born Nov. 12, 1822, in 
Sangamon county, was killed in Spring- 
field by a fall from a horse, March 17, 
1833. 

SAMUEL, born Nov. 12, 1824, in 
Sangamon county, was married Nov. 27, 
1851, to Mary E. J. Kerns, who died 
March 16, 1853, an( ' Samuel C. was mar- 
ried Dec. \6, 1858, to Mrs. Martha J. 
Black, whose maiden name was Short, 
daughter of Rev. Daniel Short. She was 
born Sept. 25, 1831, in Butler county, 
Ohio. They had six children born in San- 
gamon county. ANNA S., WILLIAM 
D.,CARRIEE., MARTHA L,MAKY 
M. and LENA L. Mrs. Martha J. Car- 
penter died July 17, 1873. Samuel Car- 



iSS 



EARLY SETTLERS OF 



penter and his children resides five miles 
north of Springfield, adjoining the farm 
where he settled in 1820. 

ELIZABETH, born Jan. 19, 1826, 
in Sangamon county, was married Nov. 
27, 1851,111 same place, to Richard Cobbs, 
who was born in Cynthianna, Harrison 
countv, Ky., May 22, 1822. They have 
four children, MARIETTA, JOHN W., 
ALBERT R. and MARGATET A. 
Mr. Cobbs is a tailor, and resides in 
Springfield. 

WILLIAM, Jun,, died in his third 
year. 

MARGARET, born Feb. 27, 1830, in 
Springfield, was married June 5, 1848, to 
William A. Browning, who was born 
April 23, 1825, in Licking countv, Ohio. 
They have seven children living; three 
died in infancy. AMELIA E. was mar- 
ried Dec. 28, 1871, to R. F. Gailey. Their 
only child, WILLIAM A., died in infancy. 
They reside in Pana. EVA O., MAR- 
GARET L., MARY J., WILLIAM O., 
LOUISA B. and FLORA M. reside 
with their parents. Mr. and Mrs. Brown- 
ing reside in Pana, 111. 

JOHN, born Nov. 2, 1832, and .- 

GEORGE, born March 28, 1835, in 
Springfield, both reside with their mother. 

EMILY A., born August 8, 1837, 
died Oct. 5, 1854. 

MARY E., born March 28, 1843, and 

SARAH J., born Jan. 26, 1846. The 
unmarried children reside with their 
mother. 

William Carpenter died August 30, 
1859, in Springfield, and his widow re- 
sides at the corner of Seventh and Car- 
penter streets, Springfield, 111. William 
Carpenter was elected Justice of the 
Peace in Ohio in 1820, held the same 
office in Sangamon county about fourteen 
years, and was the second Justice of the 
Peace in Sangamon county. May 15, 
1830, he was appointed Quartermaster 
20th Reg. 111. Millitia, Col. T. M. Neal 
commanding. April 12, 1832, he was ap- 
pointed Paymaster 4th Reg. Mounted 
Vol. Inf., by Col. Samuel M. Thompson. 
In 1834 was elected to represent Sanga- 
mon county in State Legislature, when 
the Capital was at Vandalia. He was 
subsequently a member of the city coun- 
cil for a number of years. In 1837 was 
appointed by President Van Buren, Post- 
master at Springfield, which office he re- 



signed in 1840. In 1844 anc ^ '5 Mr. C. 
with his son-in-law, Adolphus Wood, 
erected a saw and grist mill on the San- 
gamon river, on the Peoria road, which 
has always been known as Carpenter's 
mill, although christened Rock Dam 
Mills. 

CARSON, JOHN, was born 
Aug. 8, 1794, on Saluda river, S. C., and 
raised in Campbell county, Tenn. He 
was in a Tennessee regiment in the war 
of 1812. After the war he came to Mad- 
ison county, 111., with his father, and was 
there married to Margery Parkison, in 
1818. She was born Oct. 19, 1799. They 
came to Sangamon county in 1820 or '21, 
and settled on Lick creek, in what is noW 
Chatham township. They had ten child- 
ren, all born in Sangamon county except 
one. Of their children 

JAMES S., born Oct., 1819, married 
Permelia Swanson. They had fire child- 
ren. He was accidentally shot and killed 
April 12, 1859, by another hunter mistak- 
ing his call for that of a turkey. That 
was in Fayette county. His only two 
surviving children, WESLEY McD. and 
ISAAC M,, reside in Loami township. 

RA CHEL,\>orn. in 1823, in Sangamon 
county, married Ransom Youtsler. They 
both died, leaving five children. Her 
death took place Nov. 9, 1863. 

ELIZABETH, born Dec. 25, 1824, 
in Sangamon county, married William P. 
Campbell. See his name. 

AMANDA E., born April 17, 1829, in 
Sangamon county, married May 5, 1852, 
to Peter C. Campbell. See his name. 

WILLIAM P., born Dec. 25, 1830, in 
Sangamon county, married April t$, 1855, 
to Minerva Workman. They have seven 
children, DAVID, SARAH, JOHN C., 
ELIZABETH, LYDIA A., LEE and 
AMANDA, and live in Loami township. 

ISAAC C., born Feb. 7, 1833, in San- 
gamon county, married Martha Lawson, 
have one child, and live in Crawford 
county, Kan. 

JOHN M., born March, 1836, in San- 
gamon county, married Elizabeth Work- 
man. They have six children, and live in 
Crawford county, Kan. 

LOUISA, born April n, 1840, in 
Sangamon county, married William A. 
Barnes. He was born Aug. 2, 1836, in 
Talladega county, Ala. She died May 
27, 1872, leaving four children with their 



SAN GAM ON COUNTT. 



relatives in Chatham and Loami town- 
ships. W. A. Barnes married Lucy A. 
Allen, and live in Chatham. 

John Carson died in Fayette county, 
Nov., 1844, and his widow married John 
Campbell. See his name. 

CARSON, WILLIAM, born 
July 8, 1799, in Westmoreland county, 
Pa. When he was four years old his 
father moved to Hamilton county, Ohio. 
William was never out of that county un- 
til he was twenty-six years old. He then 
came to Sangamon county, 111., arriving 
Nov. i, 1825, at Springfield. He walked 
the whole distance from Cincinnati to 
Springfield in eleven days. He spent the 
first winter at Sangamo, and was married 
May 21, 1826, to Cynthia Broad well. 
They had fifteen children, seven of whom 
died young. Of the other eight 

SARAH J., born March 2, 1828, 
married Aaron Thompson. Mrs. T. died 
Oct., 1855, leaving two children in Mis- 
souri. 

LEAH A., born July 30, 1829, married 
William De Armand, have nine children, 
and live in Atchison county, Kan. 

ELIZABE7^H A., born Oct. 6, 1831, 
married Oct. 2, 1856, to Jacob King, and 
live in Nodaway county, Mo. 

RACHEL C., born Dec. 22, 1832, 
married Nov., 1863, to Joshua Short, have 
one child, and live in Nodaway countv, 
Missouri. 

MART M., born July 26, 1834, mar- 
ried Jacob Shawver. He was a soldier in 
an Iowa regiment, and died at Helena, 
Ark., in April, 1863. She married Josiah 
Culver, and live In Marion county, Iowa. 

HELEN B., born April 30, 1837, 
married Feb., 1860, to Charles B. Miller, 
have six children, and live in Marion 
county, Iowa. 

WINFIELD S., born May 27, 1843, 
married March 27, 1866, to Emma J. Tay- 
lor, who was born Oct. 30, 1844, in Somer- 
set county, N. J. They have three child- 
ren, WILLIAM E., JENNIE A. and 
CHARLES F., and live near Pleasant 
Plains. 

WILLIAM L., born Nov. 6, 1846, 
married March 12, 1868, in Hamilton 
county, O., to Ella Carson, who was born 
there Sept. 17, 1844. They have three 
children, ROBERT B., ALICE M. and 
NELLIE B., and reside one and a half 
miles east of Pleasant Plains. 



William Carson and his wife are living 
on the farm settled by her brother, John 
B. Broadwell, in 1819. Mr. C. has lived 
nearly half a century within one mile of 
where he now resides, one mile east of 
Pleasant Plains. 

CARTER. PLATT S., was 
born June 29, 1815, in Warren, Litchfield 
county, Conn. He came to Waverly, 111., 
in Nov., 1836, and in Jan., 1837, began to 
improve the farm where J. Milton Lock- 
bridge now resides, one mile west of Au- 
burn. He was advised to abandon the 
project, lest he should freeze to death, 
and was solemnly warned that he would 
be compelled to live without neighbors, 
his improvements being more than two 
miles from the timber. He returned to 
his native town, and was there married, 
July 25, 1839, to Flora M. Carter, who 
was born in the same place, July 25, 1815. 
They came at once to their new home, 
near Auburn, traveling the entire distance 
in wagons. At that time there were no 
improvements southwest nearer than fif- 
teen miles, and the whole area a natural 
meadow. There was an abundance of 
grass ,for thousands of cattle and sheep. 
A year or two later Mr. Carter bought a 
flock of sheep, and that caused great un- 
easiness to some of the neighbors, who 
had a few head of cattle, lest the sheep 
would eat all the grass. Mr. and Mrs. 
Carter had four children in Sangamon 
county, namely 

ADONIRAM, born Nov. 5, 1842, en- 
listed August, 1862, in Co. C, 101 111. Inf., 
but was discharged on account of physical 
disability, without fully entering the arinv. 
He graduated at Michigan University, in 
the class of 1868, and is now a practicing 
attorney at 157, south Clark street, 
Chicago. 

DARIUS, born June 6, 1845, enlisted 
May 2, 1864, in Co. C, I45th 111. Inf., for 
one hundred days, and was honorably dis- 
charged, Sept. 28, 1864. He was married 
April 6, 1869, to Avice Pickett, who was 
born Nov. 9, 1848, at Hartland, Conn., 
and died May 14, 1870. He was married 
April 29, 1873, to Sarah Poor, who was 
born Oct. i, 1850, in Sullivan county, 
Tenn. They reside in the southwest part 
of Loami township. 

LUC1NDA A., born August 31, 1848, 
in Sangamon county, married June 25, 
1874, to Dr. Albert Brown, who was born 



190 



EARLY SETTLERS OF 



June 25, 1849, in Chicago, Illinois. He 
graduated at Bellevue Hospital Medical 
College, New York City, March, 1873, 
and resides in Waverly, 111. 

PLA TT S., Jun., born Dec. 6, 1850, 
in Sangamon county, married near 
Waverly, Morgan county, Nov. 20, 1873, 
to Belle Woods, and resides in Sangamon 
county, near Waverly, 111. 

Platt S. Carter, Sen., is one of the many 
successful farmers of this county. He has 
always taken an active interest in every 
movement calculated to develop the re- 
sources of the country, and to elevate the 
intellectual standard ot the cultivators of 
the soil, and has several times represented 
Loami township in the Board of county 
Supervisors. He has been an energetic 
worker in the interests of the Sangamon 
county Agricultural Society, and was 
President of the same for the year 1875. 
He resides in Loami township, two and a 
half miles north of Waverly. 

CARTWRIGHT, PETER, 
was born Sept. i, 1785, on James river, 
Amherst county, Va. His father was a 
Revolutionary soldier, and soon after our 
independence as a nation was acknowl- 
edged by Great Britain, his parents moved 
to that part of our country known as 
Kentucky, then inhabited by hostile In- 
dians. There not being any wagon roads, 
the moving was done on pack horses. 
Their's was one of two hundred families 
that moved in a body, guarded by one 
hundred young men, well armed. On the 
night of the first Sunday after their de- 
parture, and while they were encamped 
with the women and children in the cen- 
ter, surrounded by part of the men guard- 
ing, while others slept, the father of Peter 
Cartwright heard something moving to- 
wards him and grunting like a hog. 
Knowing there was no swine with the 
company, Mr. C. had his suspicions 
aroused and kept a sharp look-out. He 
soon perceived a dark object much nearer 
him than the sounds at first indicated, and 
readily made up his mind that it was an 
Indian aiming to get as near as possible, 
and then spring upon and murder him in 
the dark. Mr. Cartwright took aim and 
fired. The crack of the rifle raised a 
great commotion in camp, and as soon as 
a light could be procured, an Indian was 
found dead, with a rifle in one hand, a 
tomahawk in the other, and a bullet-hole 



through his head. Their line of travel 
was marked by the dead bodies of white 
people slain by the Indians, with other 
evidences of hostility. As the moving 
party approached Crab Orchard, where a 
temporary fortification had been* erected, 
the last day's march was a very long one. 
Seven of the two hundred families fell 
behind the main body, and worn down 
with fatigue, they encamped and went to 
sleep without guards. In the night they 
were attacked by twenty-five Indians, and 
all except one of them slain. The Cart- 
wright family first settled near what after- 
wards became Lancaster, Lincoln county, 
Ky. After a stay of two years, in the 
fall of 1793 Mr. Cartwright moved his 
family to a place nine miles south of 
Russelville, Logan county, Ky., and with- 
in one mile of the Tennessee line. 

While the family resided there Peter 
entered into the spirit of the rude sports 
and vices that prevailed in the community, 
such as horse-racing, card-playing and 
dancing. His mother had long been a 
member of the M. E. Church, and prayed 
for and plead with her son to turn from 
the error of his ways. He was converted, 
and united with the Ebenezer M. E. 
Church in June, 1801. He displayed 
such talents and fervor in speaking, that he 
very unexpectedly received the following 
paper : 

"Peter Cartwright is hereby permitted 
to exercise his gifts as an exhorter in the 
Methodist Episcopal Church, so long as 
his practice is agreeable to the Gospel. 

"Signed in behalf of the Society at 
Ebenezer. 

" JESSE WALKER, A. P." 

J/oy, 1802. 

In the fall of that year his father de- 
termined to move to Lewiston, near the 
mouth of the Cumberland river. Peter 
applied for letters for his mother, sister 
and himself. Upon receiving his own he 
found that it was not only a letter of dis- 
missal to a sister church, and to exhort, 
but that it gave him authority to hold 
meetings, organize classes, and form a cir- 
cuit. It also required him to report at the 
fourth quarterly meeting of Red river cir- 
cuit the next fall. 

In his new home he found an academy, 
or school of a high grade, and for a time 
prosecuted his studies with great success; 



SAN GAM ON COUNTY. 



191 



but in consequence of persecutions that 
arose, he abandoned the school and com- 
menced organizing the circuit, which he 
reported in the fall of that year 1803. 
In October he became a regular traveling 
preacher, with a colleague, on the Red 
river circuit. His first sermon led to the 
conversion of an infidel. He " received 
twenty-five members during the first quar- 
ter, and six dollars for his support at the 
end of the same. For the years 1805 and 
'6 he was appointed to Sciota circuit, in 
the State of Ohio. 

At the meeting of the Western Confer- 
ence, held in East Tennessee, Mr. Cart- 
wright was ordained Sept. 15, 1806, as a 
Deacon in*the M. E. Church, by Francis 
Asbury, the first Bishop of the church in 
America. He was next appointed to 
Marietta circuit. In the fall of 1806 he 
left that circuit, with a blind horse, almost 
destitute of clothing, and seventy-five 
cents in money, started to travel more than 
five hundred miles to see his parents. The 
next meeting of Conference was held 
Sept. 14, 1807, at Chillicothe, O. His ap- 
pointment for 1807-8 was to Barren cir- 
cuit, in Cumberland district, Ky. About 
the close of his labors in that circuit 

Rev. Peter Cartwright and Frances 
Gaines were married Aug. 18, 1808. She 
was born Aug. 18, 1789, in Charlotte 
county, Va. When she was in her seven- 
teenth year her parents moved to Lincoln 
county, Ky. Her father died there, and 
her mother moved two years later to Bar- 
ren county, where Frances was married. 

The Conference was held at Liberty 
Hill, Tenn., commencing Oct. I, 1808. At 
that meeting Mr. C. was ordained Oct. 
4, 1808 to the office of Elder of the M. 
E. Church, by William McKendree, who 
had become one of the Bishops of the M. 
E. Church. The ordination took place 
Oct. 4, 1808. His next appointment was 
to Salt Creek circuit, Ky. During that 
year his father died, and some time was 
spent in settling the estate. The next 
Conference was held at Cincinnati in the 
fall of 1809. His appointment was to 
Livingston circuit. Cumberland district, 
Ky. Mr. C. continued to preach in Ken- 
tucky until thev had seven children. 
During that time he saw and understood 
the pernicious influence of slavery, and 
after consulting with his wife, who was of 
the same mind, they determined to remove 



to a free State. In the spring of 1823, he, 
in company with two friends, started to 
explore Illinois in search of a home. They 
ascended the Wabash valley, and crossed 
the prairie to the Illinois river above Fort 
Clark, now Peoria. They went west and 
south and then east, crossing the Illinois 
river at what is now Beardstown, where 
there was but one family in a small cabin. 
From there they ascended the valley of 
the Sangamon river to a settlement in 
Sangamon county, on Richland creek, 
where he found a family living in a double 
log cabin, with a few acres of land under 
cultivation. Mr. C. bought the claim, and 
entered the land when it came into market. 

He returned to Kentucky and brought 
out his family, arriving Nov. 15, 1824, at 
the place he had purchased the year be- 
fore, in what is now Cartwright town- 
ship, three-quarters of a mile north of 
Pleasant Plains. They had two children 
in Sangamon county. Of their nine 
children 

ELIZA B., born in Livingston coun- 
ty, Ky., May n, 1810, married Peyton 
L. Harrison. See his name. 

MARIA H., born Sept. 20, 1812, in 
Christian county, Ky., married in Sanga- 
mon county, July 28, 1833, * o R- ev - W- 
D. R. Trotter, who was born near Bowl- 
ing Green, Ky., and came to Sangamon 
county in 1830 or '31. Mr. Trotter was 
a traveling preacher in the M. E. church 
from the time he came to the State until 
1872, when he became superanuated, and 
resides in Jacksonville. They have fivo 
children, all married. 

CYNTHIA, born March 27, 1815, iri 
Christian county, Ky., was killed Oct. 23, 
1824, by a tree, near which they had en- 
camped and kindled a fire, falling on her 
while they were all asleep on the ground. 
They carried the corpse of their child 
twenty miles, and buried it in Hamilton 
county, 111. 

MADISON A., born July 4, 1817, in 
Christian county, Ky., married Dec. 29, 
1835, ' n St. Louis, to Matilda Purvines, 
both of Sangamon county. They had 
six children, namely: WILLIAM T. 
married Emma Slater; had one child, 
EVA A., and he married Florence Moore; 
had two children, EDGAR EVERETT and 
ASBURY i.., and reside in Cartwright 
township. MARTHA J. married Daniel 
Harnett, and died August 8, 1862, at 



192 



EARLY SETTLERS OP 



Pleasant Plains. PETER S. married 
Frances Maria Irwin ; have two children, 
JENNIE E. and ROBERT A., and reside near 
Chanute, Kansas. ELIZABETH F. 
married Peter L. Harrison. See his name. 
JOHN M. and ANNIE M. reside with 
their parents at Pleasant Plains. 

WEAL THT M. J., born August 9, 
1819, in Christian county, Ky., married 
March 17, 1840, to Gorham Eaton, who 
was born in Merrimac county, N. H. They 
had three children, EMILY F. married 
William G. Purvines. See his name. 
MARY A. married A. S. Nottingham. 
See his name. HORACE G. married 
Ella Allen, had one child, ELLEN, and 
Mrs. Eaton died. He resides near Pleas- 
ant Plains. Gorham Eaton died August 
26, 1846, and his widow married March 
26, 1850, to Elmer Mickel, who was born 
in Cape May county, N. J. They have 
six children, ANNIE, CHARLES H., 
CAROLINE M., ARMINDA B., 
MYRA E. and EDWARD LINCOLN, 
and reside two miles northwest of Pleas- 
ant Plains. 

VALENTINE C, born May 19, 
1821, in Christian county, Ky., married in 
Sangamon county, Feb. 9, 1841, to Cin- 
thelia Scott. They have nine children. 
SARAH F. J. resides with her parents. 
THOMAS B. married Mary E. Cloud, 
daughter of Rev. Newton Cloud, of Jack- 
sonville; have two children, MAUD and 
CLAUD, and reside near Waco, Sedgwick 
county, Kansas. CARRIE E. married 
Samuel D. Pallett, and resides near Waco, 
Kansas. HATTIE J. married David O. 
Williams; has one child, LESTER, and re- 
sides near Waco, Kansas. CHARLES 
A. resides near Waco, Kansas. ALBERT 
B., MINNIE P., NEWTON C. and 
WALTER D., reside with their parents. 
V. C. Cartwright lived near Pleasant 
Plains until 1874, when he moved to 
Sedgwick county, near Delano, Kansas. 

SARAH M., born July 2, 1823, in 
Christian county, Ky., married Sept. i, 
1841, to Henry Smith, who was born in 
Cape May county, N. J. They had ten 
children; two died in infancy. MARIA 
F. married Frank N. Elmore. See his 
name. PETER C., born Oct. 24, 1844, 
married Margaret McDonnell, who was 
born Nov. 17, 1844, at Lexington, Ky. 
They have four children, HENRY, MARY 
o., NETTIE and CARROLL, and reside at 



Pleasant Plains. WILLIAM T. died 
Feb. 22, 1869, in his twenty-third year. 
MADISON N. resides west. CARO- 
LINE E., HENRY D. and EDWARD 
P. reside with their mother. Henry 
Smith died March 20, 1873, and his fam- 
ily reside at Pleasant Plains. 

CAROLINE M., born Sept. 9, 1826, 
in Sangamon county, married August 30, 
1848, to Rev. Benjamin Newman. They 
had one child, PETER C., who married 
and resides at Mattoon. Mrs. C. M. 
Newman died May 23, 1853. 

ARMINDA F., born Oct. 3, 1828, in 
Sangamon county, married Aug. 30, 1848, 
to Rev. Levi C. Pitner. They have one 
son, LEE PITNER, and reside at Evan- 
ston, 111. 

Rev. Peter Cartwright, D. D., died 
Sept. 25, 1872, and his widow died Feb. 
7, 1876, both near Pleasant Plains, Sanga- 
mon county, where they settled in 1824. 
Mr. Cartwright had been a member of the 
M. E. Church more than seventy-one 
years, a preacher nearly three score and 
ten years, and a Presiding Elder more 
than half a century. To attempt a de- 
scription of the man and his labors would 
be useless in a sketch like this. Nothing 
but his own " Autobiography " and 
"Fifty Years a Presiding Elder" could 
do justice to the subject. His system of 
theology does not admit of a belief in 
special providences; and yet, it would ap- 
pear to others as though he was especially 
raised up to illustrate what one man can 
accomplish in mental and physical labors 
in a good cause, sustained by the power 
of God. He had just entered upon his 
eighty-eighth year, and his wife in her 
eighty-seventh year. At the time of her 
death she had fifty-three grand-children, 
sixty-two great-grand-children, and five 
great-great-grand-children, a total of one 
hundred and twenty-nine descendants. 

The circumstances of her death were 
exceedingly impressive. She was attend- 
ing a religious meeting at Bethel Chapel, 
about one mile from her home, in the op- 
posite direction from Pleasant Plains. 
The minister conducting the services 
called on her as the first to give her testi- 
mony, which she did, remaining seated. 
She spoke with much feeling, closing with 
the words: "The past three weeks have 
been the happiest of all my life; I am 
waiting for the chariot. " The exercises 



SANGAMON COUNT*. 



'93 



continued until sixteen persons had risen 
and spoken a few words each, the last of 
whom was her eldest son. The lady sit- 
ting nearest her thought she had fainted, 
and the windows were thrown open to 
admit fresh air; but "The chariot had 
arrived. " 

CARTMELL, ANDREW, 
was born March, 1766, in Greenbrier 
county, Va. He went to Bath county, 
Ky., when he was a young man. Nancy 
D. Brown was born Oct., 1772, in Cul- 
pepper county, Va.,and in 1780 was taken 
by her parents to Bath county, Ky. A. 
Cartmell and Nancy D. Brown were mar- 
ried and had eight children in Kentucky, 
and they moved to Sangamon county, 111., 
arriving Oct. 10, 1829, six miles northeast 
of Springfield. Of their children 

WILLIAM W., born Oct., 1800, in 
Bath county, Ky., married there in 1832, 
to Mary Crockett, moved to Sangamon 
county, and from there to Rails county, 
Mo., raised a family of six childi'en, and 
lives near Merton, Grundy county, Mo. 

LUCINDA married in Kentucky to 
John Rudder, had two children, and died 
there. Her children came to Sangamon 
county with their grandfather Cartmell. 
LUCRETIA married Samuel Houston. 
See his name, THOMAS was a soldier 
in the 4th 111. Inf., and was killed in 1847, 
in the Mexican war. 

JOHN M., born August 25, 1802, in 
Bath county, Ky., was married there 
March 23, 1829, to Mildred R. Tacket, 
and came with his parents to Sangamon 
in the fall of that year. They had five 
children. AMANDA A., born April 29, 
1830, married March 2, 1852, to James 
Black. See his name. JOHN W., born 
May 19, 1833, married in Missouri to 
Mary E. Chipps, have four children, and 
reside near Merton, Mo. He served three 
years in Co. C, 23d Mo. Inf., from Aug., 
1861. JAMES H., born Oct. 14, 1837, 
married Martha Crane, who died April 
19, 1871, leaving four children. He mar- 
ried Nov. 19, 1872, to Mrs. Zilpha Hal- 
bert, whose maiden name was Taylor. 
They live four miles east of Springfield. 
ELIZA A., born August 30, 1842, mar- 
ried James Black. See his name. 
MARION, born July 19, 1845, married 
Feb. i, 1872, to M. O. James, have one 
child, ANNIE E., and live six miles north 
east of Springfield. Mrs. M. R. Cart- 

2 5 



mell died April 14, 1875, and John M. 
Cartmell lives where his father settled in 
1830. It is six miles northeast of Spring- 
field. 

JAMES H., born in 1804, in Ken- 
tucky, married there to Elizabeth Duval. 
He died in Sangamon county, July 17, 
1839, and his widow returned to Ken- 
tucky. 

EVELINE, born July 22, 1807, in 
Kentucky, married in Sangamon county, 
Oct. 25, 1830, to Charles Harper. They 
had one child, and she died May 6^1845. 
Her son ULYSSES lives in Texas. 

NANCY, born August 11, 1810, in 
Bath county, Ky., married there to Willis 
Cassity. See his name. 

ELIZA, born in Kentucky, married in 
Sangamon county, to Alex. Rigdon, who 
died, leaving a widow and seven children 
near Mt. Pulaski. 

MART A., born in Kentucky, married 
in Sangamon county to Samuel Harper, 
have four children, and live in Caldwell 
countv, Texas. 

ANDRE W J., born in Bath county, 
Ky., came to Sangamon county with his 
parents, married in Logan county, in 1843, 
to Nancy Edwards. They had six child- 
ren. LOUISIANA married P. O'Bran- 
non,and resides near Mt. Pulaski. PER- 
MELIA F., born Nov. 29, 1846, married 
Walter C. Black. See his name. MARY 
E. married George Hickman, and live 
near Lincoln. JAMES H. lives near Mt. 
Pulaski. TIMOTHY L. lives near W T il- 
liamsville. ALVIN resides near Mt. 
Pulaski. Mrs. Nancy Cantrall died Sept. 
6, and her husband Oct. 20, 1856, both in 
Logan county, p ^.f fw^.U . 

Andrew Gantraii died bept. 12, 1832, 
and his widow died Dec. 5, 1858, both in 
Sangamon county. 

CARVER, JACOB, born March 
10, 1787, in Pennsylvania. Elizabeth 
Hoover was born Dec. 8, 1784, in Virginia. 
They were married near Dayton, O., and 
had nine children there. The family 
moved to Sangamon county, 111., arriving 
in the fall of 1830 in what is now Clear 
Lake township, four miles northeast of 
Springfield. Of their nine children 

WILLIAM, ELIZA and JOHN 
died between thirteen and eighteen years 
of age. The other six are 

H1GHLT, born Jan. 13, 1806, near 
Dayton, O., was married there April 20, 



EARL? SETTLERS OF 



1826, to Philip Shaffer; came to Sanga- 
mon county with her parents; moved the 
same fall to Cass county, where Mr. 
Shaffer died, August 28, 1843, l eavm g six 
children. The widow married Feb. i, 
1846,10 Daniel Lahmon. They have one 
child, and reside near Virginia, Cass 
county. 

SARAH, born Nov. 26, 1810, near 
Dayton, O., married there to Jesse Smith, 
came to Sangamon county with her par- 
ents, had three children, moved back to 
Ohio, where two children were born and 
Mr. Smith died. The family reside at 
New Carlisle, Clarke county, Ohio. 

REBECCA, born Sept. 21, 1812, in 
Ohio, married in Sangamon county to 
Benjamin Hooton, had four children, and 
moved to Ozark county, Mo., where she 
died. 

SOPHIA, born Aug. 19, 1820, in 
Ohio, married in Sangamon county to 
Henry Bedinger. They had one child, 
and Mr. B. died, and she married Job 
Dickson. They had two children, and 
both parents died. Their son, JOHN 
DICKSON, married Mary Collins, and 
resides in Sherman. SARAH DICK- 
SON married Edward Workman. He 
was shot dead, Oct. 4, 1865, by a drunken 
man, because he would not drink with 
him. The widow married Wm. Howard. 
She had one child by each marriage 
WM. H. WORKMAN and JOHN E. 
HOWARD. Mr. and Mrs. Howard live 
four miles east of Springfield. 

JAMES, born Dec. 13, 1825, near 
Dayton, Montgomery county, O. He 
was married in Sangamon county, Jan. 
1 6, 1863, to Martha Workman, who was 
born May 23, 1847, m R- usn county, Ind. 
They have four children, WILLIAM 
W., JOSEPH B., JAMES F. and 
GEORGE H., and live at the homestead 
settled by his parents in 1830. It is four 
miles nortbeast of Springfield. 

FELIX, born Oct. 4, 1828, near Day- 
ton, O., married in Sangamon county, 
Jan. 22, 1857, to Rachel Donner. They 
had five children. FLORA died young. 
LIZZIE, ALBERT, HENRY and 
FRANK. The four latter live with 
their parents, near where Mr. Carver's 
parents settled in 1830. 

Jacob Carver died in 1833, in Ohio, hav- 
ing returned there on business. Mrs. 



Elizabeth Carver died Nov. 8, 1857, on 
the farm where the family settled in 1830. 
CASSITY, ALEXANDER, 
was born in 1793, in Bath county, Ky. 
The father of Alexander and Willis Cas- 
sity built a stockade with block houses 
inside, on Slate creek, in Bath county, in 
the early settling of Kentucky. It was 
called Cassity's station, and was a place of 
refuge from the Indians until thev were 
forced out of the country. Remains of 
that station are yet visible. Alexander 
Cassity was married in Bath county to 
Eliza B. Groves. She died there in 1832, 
leaving three children. He was married 
in the same county to Elizabeth Lock- 
ridge, had one child, and moved to San- 
gamon county, 111., arriving Oct. 26, 1835, 
and purchased a farm in what is now the 
southeast corner of Chatham township, 
where they had five living children. Of 
their children 

JOHN F., born in 1826, in Bath 
county, Ky., enlisted in Sangamon coun- 
ty, Aug. 10, 1 86 1, for three years, in Co. 
B, 3oth 111. Inf., and was promoted to 
Sergeant-Major. He was mortally wound- 
ed at the battle of Atlanta, Ga., July 22, 
and" died July 26, 1864. 

WILLIS H., born March 23, 1828, in 
Bath county, Ky., married Sept. 26, 1865, 
in Sangamon county, to Ella McGriff, a 
native of Preble county, Ohio. They had 
two children. CARRIE E. died young, 
and MINNIE L. lives with her parents, 
in Auburn. 

JAMES L., born in Kentucky, raised 
in Sangamon county, and died in Iowa. 

MARGARET" E. married Andrew 
Ranch. See his name. 

EMMA C. married Jacob Ranch. Sec 
his name. 

FRANCIS M. born in Sangamon 
county, and died unmarried. 

AMANDA I., born in Sangamon 
county, married James T. Hutton. See 
his name. They live on the farm where 
she was born, in Chatham township. 

ALEXANDER M., born in Sanga- 
mon county, and enlisted July, 1862, for 
three years, in Co. I, 73d 111. Inf., was 
wounded Dec. 31, 1862, at the battle of 
Stone's river, and discharged on account 
of physical disability. He was married 
to Mary A. Hutton, and lives in Gentry 
county, Mo. 

LOUISA G. died young. 



SANGAMON COUXTT. 



'95 



MARTHA L. born in Sangamon 
county, married Sept. 5, 1866, to John T. 
Welch. The have two children, ED- 
WIN H. and HARRY K., and reside 
in Auburn. Air. Welch was born June 
30, 1842, in McDonough county, 111. He 
enlisted April, 1861, for three months, in 
Co. D, i6lh 111. Inf. May 24, 1861, the 
whole regiment enlisted for three years. 
Dec. 23, 1863, the regiment re-enlisted as 
veterans. J. T. Welch served through 
all the enlistments to the end of the re- 
bellion. He is now a merchant in Au- 
burn. 

Alexander Cassity died March 12, 1851, 
and his widow died Nov. 16, 1861, both on 
the farm where they settled in 1835. 

CASSITY, WILL IS, brother to 
Alexander, was born Jan. 2, 1805, in Bath 
county, Ky. He was married there Jan. 
24, 1827, to Nancy Cartmell. They had 
two children in Kentucky, and moved to 
Sangamon county, arriving at Springfield 
Oct. 10, 1829. They had one child in 
Sangamon county. Of their children 

JAMES W., born in Kentucky, died 
at twenty years of age. 

ELIZABETH, born in Kentucky, 
married John Parsons. He died August, 
1872, leaving a widow and six children, 
near Salisbury. 

LEV I, born Jan. i, 1836, in Sanga- 
mon county, enlisted Oct. 20, 1861, in Co. 
B, loth 111. Cav., for three years. As a 
non-commissioned officer he commanded 
a section of one of the batteries attached 
to the regiment at the battle of Prairie 
Grove, Ark., Dec. 7, 1862, and lost his 
left arm in that engagement. He was 
discharged on account of physical disabil- 
ity, Dec. 31, 1862. Lev! Cassity was 
married April 23, 1863, to Nancy Dren- 
nan. They have one child, JOHN F., 
and live three and a half miles southeast 
of Chatham. 

Willis Cassity, after coming to Sanga- 
mon county, lived a few years in Logan 
county, and a few years in Missouri. He 
and his wife now live in Ball township. 

CASSITY WILLIAM, cousin 
to Alexander and Willis, was born in 
Bath county, Ky. He was married in 
Nicholas county, Ky., to Honor Wells, a 
native of Pennsylvania. They had five 
living children in Kentucky, and moved 
to Sangamon county, 111., arriving in the 



fall of 1830, in what is now Rochester 
township. Of their children 

GEORGE died in Kentucky, at twen- 
ty-two years ot age. 

JEREMIAH died in Kentucky, at 
sixteen years of age. 

REBECCA, born Feb. 14, 1802, in 
Nicholas county, Ky., married Edward 
Branch. See his name. 

LE WIS, born in Kentucky about 1805, 
and died in Sangamon county, unmarried, 
in 1852. 

MAR T, born Aug. 28, 1806, in Nicho- 
las county, Ky., married there Jan. 4, 
1827, to James W. Neill. See his name. 

William Cassity died in 1844, and Mrs. 
Honor Cassity died Aug., 1854, both in 
Rochester township. 

CASS, ROBERT, was born in 
1768 or '9, in Iredell county, N. C. His 
father, James Cass, was born in England, 
and when he was six or seven years of 
age was pressed into the British navy, and 
trained to a sea-faring life. Being separ- 
ated from his relatives at so early an age, 
he never understood his own name, and 
called himself James Cast. He came to 
Philadelphia, and finally settled in Iredell 
county, N. C. After raising a family 
there, he moved with his children to 
Clarke county, Ky., and there met two 
Englishmen by the name of Cass. After 
becoming acquainted, he found that one of 
them was his brothei', and the other his 
cousin, and for the first time learned that 
the family name was not Cast, but Cass. 
His son Robert, whose name heads this 
sketch, having always been called Cast, 
did not think it prudent to resume the 
original name, but related the facts in the 
case to his children, and his descendants 
have very generally returned to it. Rob- 
ert Cass was married Feb. 26, 1790, in 
Iredell county, N. C., to Lucy Rik-v. 
They had one child there, and moved to 
Clarke county, Ky., where they had four 
children, and Mrs. Lucy Cass died, Feb. 
13, 1809. Robert Cass was married in 
Clarke county, April 26, 1810, to Mary 
Boggs, and had two children there. The 
family then moved to Sangamon county, 
111., arriving Oct. 2, 1826, in Buffalo Hart 
grove. Of his seven children 

AMON, born Sept. 6, 1792,511 North 
Carolina, married March 18, 1813, in Ken- 
tucky, to Patsy Simpson. He raised a 



196 



EARLY SETTLERS OF 



family, and remained in Clarke county, 
Kentucky. -7 

JAMES, born Aug. 12, 1397, m 
Clarke county, Ky., and married there 
Nov. 20, 1817, to Ann Hood. They had 
eight children, and came to Sangamon 
county in 1829. Mrs. Ann Cass died, and 
James Cass married Amanda McKinney. 
They had four children, and he died. His 
widow and living children reside near 
Mt. Pulaski. His son JOHN, born Sept. 
22, 1820, in Kentucky, was married Feb. 
28, 1847, in Sangamon county, to Mary J. 
Burns. They had thirteen children. 
ARTANECIA, born Feb. 5, 1849, was mar- 
ried April 15, 1873, to G. \V. Edwards, 
and lives at Buffalo Hart Grove. AMON, 
born Sept. 3, 1851, lives with his mother. 
ALEXANDER, born Nov. 6, 1853, was 
married near Springfield, 111., Nov. 3, 
1875, to Delia Fenton, and lives at Farmer 
City, DeWitt county, 111. LUCY A., born 
April 30, 1855, was married March 13, 
1872, to Herbert White. They have one 
child, Olive May, arid live at Farmer 
City. ALVI, JOHN L., ISABEL, IDA, ANNA 

E., SOPHIA, ROBERT F., HATTIE J. and 

TROMAS F. w., live with their mother. 
John Cass died Jan. 17, 1872. His widow 
and children live near Buffalo Hart station, 
or Farmer City, 111. FRANK D, born Dec. 
6, 1832, in Sangamon county, was married 
April 29, 1858, to Sarah G. Landis, who 
was born April 8,1833, m Indianapolis, 
Ind. They have one child living, ED- 
WARD K. F. D. Cass studied medicine in 
Mt. Pulaski, teaching school in the mean- 
time. He graduated at Rush Medical 
College in 1864. Was appointed assistant 
surgeon of the I5ist 111. Inf. in 1865, 
served a short time and resigned. Dr. 
Frank D. Cass resides at Mt. Pulaski, 111., 
and is engaged in practice there. 

ARCHIBALD, born Dec. i, 1799, in 
Clarke county, Ky., married there to 
Deborah Mershon. They had three 
children in Kentucky, and came to San- 
gamon county, Illinois, arriving Oct., 
1828, at Buffalo Hart Grove, where they 
had three children. Of their children: 
ROBERT, born Nov. 20, 1821, in Ken- 
tucky, married in Sangamon county, 
Aug. 20, 1840, to Sarah J. Lawson. They 
had four children. MINERVA j. and OR- 
LANDO w. died under two years. FLOR- 
ENCE F., born May 17, 1852, died August 
24, 1869. NOAH MATHENY, born July 9, 



1857, lives with his parents, near Buffalo 
Hart Station. SARAH J., born Oct. 27, 
1826, in Kentucky, married m Sangamon 
county, in 1842,10 George Ridgway,have 
four living children, MARY c., ROBERT,JOH \ 
and ALLEN, and live near Lockhart, Texas. 
WILLIAM L., born Aug. 15, 1829, in 
Sangamon county, died Aug. 20, 1846. 
The other children all died under six 
years. Archibald Cass died Sept., 1852, 
and his widow died later, both in Sanga- 
mon county. He was a soldier from San- 
gamon county in the Black Hawk war in 
1831-2. He was also a member of Co. 
D, 4th 111. Inf., and served one year- in 
1846-7, in the' war with Mexico. He was 
a nurse in the army, and practiced medi- 
cine the latter part of his life. 

PATSr,born Dec. 28, 1802, in Clarke 
county, Ky., married there Sept. 15, 1825, 
to Robert E. Burns. See his name. 

NINIAN R., born April 8, 1806, in 
Clarke county, Ky., married in Sanga- 
mon county to Mary Wade, They had 
seven children. THOMAS F. died in 
1849 at Mt. Pulaski, aged twenty-three 
years. GEORGE W., married Martha 
J. Turley, have nine children, and live 
near Lincoln. EMILY married Daniel 
Dunn, had two children, and died in Mis- 
souri. Her children: THOMAS A., resides 
at Mt. Pulaski. MARY E. resides with 
her aunt, Mrs. Jones. LUCY E., born 
March 28, 1836,111 Logan county, married 
Strother G. Jones. See his name. CAR- 
OLINE A., born August 16, 1838, is un- 
married, and resides at Lincoln. SARAH 
AGNES, born in 1840, married Simpson 
Constant, had one child, CASS CONSTANT, 
and she married Frederick Bush. They 
have two living children, NELLIE E. and 
CARRIE B., and reside at Mt. Pulaski. 
ROBERT enlisted for three years, in 
1862, in an Illinois regiment, and died 
August, 1863, at Murfreesboro, Tenn. 
Mrs. Mary Cass died Dec. 31, 1848. 
N. R. Cass married Mrs. Elizabeth 
Swing, whose maiden name was Laugh- 
ney. She had one child, Belle W. Swing, 
by a former marriage. She married 
T. T. Beach, who is a practicing lawyer, 
and lives in Lincoln. Ninian R. Cass 
died August, 1872, at Mt. Pulaski, and his 
widow resides with her daughter, Mrs. 
Beach, at Lincoln. 

A. 'BO WEN, born Feb. n, 1811, in 
Clarke county, Ky., came with his parents 



SANGAMON COUNTY. 



197 



to Sangamon county in Oct., 1826, mar- 
ried Jan. 17, 1830, to Melinda Burns. 
They had nine children in Sangamon 
county, namely: ELIZABETH E., 
born Nov. 14, 1830, married Nov. 8, 1849, 
to Michael Finfrock. He was born May 
3, 1820, in Chambersburg, Pa., went to 
Miami county O., with his parents in 1836, 
and came to Saugamon county in 1843, 
Mr. and Mrs. Finfrock have seven child- 
ren, BOWEN C., HELEN M., CHARLES M., 
PAUL H., IRVING G., WILLIS and ERNEST 

s. reside with their parents, four miles 
southeast of Buffalo Hart Station. Mr. 
Finfrock was a member of the Sangamon 
county Board of Supervisors at the first 
term in 1861-2, and again from 1872 to 
1876. MARY C., born May 8, 1833, 
married March 31, 1858, to Benjamin F. 
Edwards, who was born July 12, 1823, in 
Madison county, N. Y. They have four 
children, GAYLORD c., JOHN p., BENJA- 
MIN F., Jim., and MARY B., and reside two 
miles southeast of Buffalo Hart Station. 
LUCY A., born August 31, 1835, mar- 
ried April 20, 1869, to Dr. Leslie Gillette. 
They have three children, LESLIE B., 
FANNIE T. and CEOGIANA, and reside at 
Buffalo. LEWIS, born March 10, 1838, 
married Dec. 24, 1862, to Christiana Law- 
son. They had four children. The 
eldest, WILLIAM s., and the youngest, 
ALFRED, died in the second year of their 
ages. CLARENCE F. and ARTHUR F. re- 
side with their parents, five miles south- 
east of Buffalo Hart Station. PAULI- 
NA J., born Oct. 4, 1843, married Oct. 13, 
1864, to Alfred Shrieve, and resides near 
Elkhart. HARDIN, born Sept. 16, 
1845, married Oct. 10, 1866, to Hattie N. 
Landis, have two children, PHILIP and 
LEWIS B,, and reside one and a half miles 
southwest of Buffalo Hart Station. 
SCOTT, born Nov. 20, 1847, MARION, 
born April 12, 1850, and HARRY, born 
born Feb. 3, 1854, live with their parents. 
Ambrose Bowen Cass and his wife reside 
half a mile southwest of Buffalo Hart 
Station, and within one fourth of a mile 
of where his father settled in 1826. He 
was a soldier in the Black Hawk war, 
both in 1831 and 1832, from Sangamon 
county, and was in the battles of Bad Axe 
and Wisconsin. 

LUCY A., born Jan. 15, 1813, in 
Clarke county, Ky., married April 17, 
1828, to John R. Burns. See his name. 



Mrs. Mary Cass died Sept. 14, 1840, 
and Robert Cass died July 9, 1852, both 
near where they settled in 1826. 

CHAMBERS, HENRY B., 
born Jan, i, 1809, near Dover, Del. He 
was married in Delaware to Elizabeth 
Bodie, and moved to Adams county, 111., 
in 1831, and from there to Springfield, in 
1840, where Mrs. C. died, April, 1854. 
He was married Jan. 25, 1855, to Mrs. 
Elizabeth A. Turner, whose maiden name 
was Earnest. They had seven children 

ELIZABETH E., JAMES H., 
JOHN B., WILLIAM R., JACOB 
J., KENDALL and MAGGIE J. 

H. B. Chambers died May 26, 1871, 
and his widow resides four miles west of 
Springfield. 

CHANDLER, ROBERT, was 
born about 1812, in Kentucky. He was 
left an orphan at eight years of age, and 
was bound to Russell Fletcher, who took 
him to Overton county, Tenn., and from 
there to Sangamon county, 111., arriving 
in the spring of 1832. He married Ellen 
Parmenter, who died, and he married 
Elizabeth Carter. They had eight child- 
ren in Sangamon county 

LUCY J. married Christopher Whee- 
lan, and live in Riverton. 

REBECCA died, aged eighteen. 

MARY E. married Stephen Huntsley, 
and live in Christian county. 

MARTHA W., FRANCIS J/., 
GEORGE H., CHARLES O. and 
ED WARD, reside with their parents, 
half a mile from Sherman. 

CHERRY, BENJAMIN, was 
born Jan. 26, 1790, in Franklin county, 
Ga. VVhen he was seventeen years old 
his parents moved to Overton county, 
Tenn. Benjamin was a soldier from Ten- 
nessee in the war of 1812. In the fall of 
1819 he came to Sangamon county, and 
soon after went to work for Edward 
Clark, who came about the same time. 
Elizabeth Strickland was born May 12, 
1799, near the sea coast, south of Charles- 
ton, S. C. Her parents moved to Tennes- 
see, and from there to St. Clair county, 
111., thence to Sangamon county in 1819, 
and Elizabeth came in the spring of 1820. 
Benjamin Cherry and Elizabeth Strick- 
land made arrangements to celebrate the 
4th of July, but could not obtain the li- 
cense from Edwardsville in time, and they 
were married July n, 1820. They had 



198 



EARLY SETTLERS Of 



seven children in Sangamon county, 
two of whom died young. Of the other 
five 

WYATT, born Nov. 9, 1821, married 
in Sangamon county to Susan Hall, have 
several children, and reside near Blue 
Mound, Macon county. 

MARTHA, born in 1826, married 
William Allen, had seven children, moved 
to Missouri, and died near Carthage. 

C LEMON died at twenty-three. 

ALMYRA, born March 20, 1830, mar- 
ried David Huckleberry. See his name. 

BENJAMIN, Jun., married Eliza 
Barnes. They had four children, and 
moved to Pike's Peak. Mr. Cherry died 
there. His widow and only living child, 
CHARLES, live in Springfield. He is 
employed at the watch factory. 

Benjamin Cherrv died in 1874, near 
Riverton. 

CHILD, STEPHEN, was born 
June 12, 1802, in Waitsfield, Vt. His 
parents moved to Barnstown, Lower 
Canada, in 1806, and in 1815 to Hartland, 
Windham county, Vt., where they both 
died. In 1820 Stephen went to Potsdam, 
St. Lawrence county, N. Y., and engaged 
in teaching. He was there married, March 
<j., 1826, to Hannah Lyman, who was born 
Sept. 15, 1808, in Brookfield, Vt. They 
had two children in New York, and came 
to Sangamon county as part of a colony 
of fifty-two persons, arriving Oct. 26, 
1833, in the village of Sangamo. They 
had three children in Sangamon county. 
Of their five children 

JOHN L., born March 23, 1827, in 
St. Lawrence county, N. Y., married in 
Sangamon county, Feb. 17, 1859, to Mary 
E. Anderson. They have two children, 
FRANKIE and CHARLEY, and reside 
near Farmingdale. 

MARY L., born Sept. 27, 1831, in St. 
Lawrence county, N. Y., married in San- 
gamon county to George B. Seeley. See 
his name. They reside in Abilene, Kan. 

MARTHA, born Dec. 8, 1833, in San- 
gamon county, married Thomas Frank 
Anderson. See his name. 

STEPHEN, Jun., born April 14, 
1848, in Sangamon county, resides with 
his mother, near Farmingdale. 

HANNAH, born Nov. 29, 1850, died 
in her third year. 

Stephen Child died Sept. 4th, 1875, and 
his widow resides near Farmingdale. 



Mr. Child was a farmer and teacher all 
his life. He was an original abolitionist, 
and as an agent of the underground rail- 
road, he assisted hundreds of colored peo- 
ple in their flight from bondage. He 
conducted a company of twenty-one at 
one time. It was his custom to go as far 
as he could travel in one night and return, 
but on some occasions he has gone as far 
sixty miles, and then left them in the 
hands of friends who would conduct them 
onward. The last time the writer of this, 
conversed with Mr. Child, he expressed 
special satisfaction that he had assisted so 
many human beings on their way to 
freedom, and gratitude that he had lived 
to see the day that there was not a slave 
in the United States of America. 

CHURCHILL, GEORGE, 
was born about 1766, in Virginia. His 
parents died when he was quite young, 
and he went to Woodford county, Ky., 
where he was married to Sarah Arnold, 
who was born in that county about 1 780. 
They had eleven children in Shelby 
county, Ky., and the family moved to 
Sangamon county, 111., arriving in the fall 
of 1827, near what is now Mechanicsburg. 
Of their children 

MARY, married in Kentucky to Wil- 
liam Threlkeld, brought up in large family, 
and never moved to Illinois. Their 
daughter SARAH J. is the wife of Wil- 
liam P. McKinnie. See his name. 
MARIETTA, born Jan. 31, 1829, in 
Shelby county, Ky., married there, Jan. 
14, 1847, t Joseph H. Agee. They had 
two children born there, and in the fall of 
1851 moved to Sangamon county, where 
seven children were born. Of their child- 
ren: EDWIN ii., born in Shelby county, 
Ky., resides with his mother. 4 MAUY H., 
born Jan. 29, 1851, in Kentucky, married 
in Sangamon county, Oct. 3, 1871, to 
Ambrose B. Cass, Jun. They live at 
East Lynn, Cass county, Mo. ALICE A. 
married Jan. 16, 1873, to Robert W.Jess, 
a native of Bellfast, Ireland. They live 
at Riverton. LIZZIE T., EMMA and j. AL- 
VEY reside with their mother. The sixth, 
seventh and eighth children, viz: LUCYJ., 
WILLIAM s. and CEPHAS L., all died under 
eight years. Joseph H. Agee died Sept. 
25, 1865. The father and three children 
all died within nineteen days. Mrs. 
Marietta Agee and her family reside two 
miles east of Riverton. 



SANGAMON COUNTT. 



199 



LUC1NDA, born in Kentucky, mar- 
ried there to William Crimm, and both 
died in Southern Illinois, leaving seven or 
eight children. The three eldest were 

WIM.iAM, ABSALOM and MARTHA. 

JOHN A., born March 6, 1800, in 
Shelby county, Ky., married there to 
Sarah Scoggin. They had three children, 
came to Sangamon county, and settled 
near Mechanicsburg, where they had six 
children. Of their children. JOEL, 
born July 19, 1823, in Kentucky, married 
in Sangamon county to Lucretia J. Bondu- 
rant. They had eleven living children. 
MARTHA A., MARY L., ELIZABETH j., 

JOHN T., THOMAS A., JOSEPH W., JESSE, 
EDGAR, HARVEY, ETHA G. and ARTHUR. 

Mr. C. and family moved to Kansas in 
1865, an( ^ m x ^75 ^turned to Illinois, and 
live in DeLand, Piatt county. WIL- 
LIAM, born April 4, 1825, in Kentucky, 
married in Sangamon county to Eliza- 
beth Lemon. They reside in Monmouth, 
Polk county, Oregon. ANN, born Jan. 
22, 1827, in Kentucky, died in Sangamon 
county in her eighteenth year. GEORGE, 
born August 15, 1829, in Sangamon coun- 
ty, went to Oregon, and there married 
Hannah E. Sherel. They have three 
children, and live in Linn county, Oregon. 
WILLOUGHBY, born Dec. 23, 1831, in 
Sangamon county, went, when a young 
man, to the Pacific coast, and lives in 
Oregon. SARAH E., born Jan. 4, 1834, 
in Sangamon county, resides with her 
sister, Mrs. Smith, in Illiopolis. JOHN, 
born Feb. 15, 1836, in Sangamon county, 
enlisted July 19, 1861, for three years, in 
Co. I, 41 111. Inf., re-enlisted as a veteran, 
Jan., 1864. He was promoted to Sergeant, 
July, 1863, an< ^ to 2< 1 Lieut., Nov., 1864. 
Was with Sherman in his " march to the 
tea," and was honorably discharged, June, 
1865. He was married Feb. 14, 1867, in 
Sangamon county, to Mary M. Graham. 
They have one living child, ANNA, and 
live three miles north of Illiopolis. 
LOUISA, born April 25, 1838, in San- 
gamon county, married April 10, 1860, to 
Reuben Smith, who was born Nov. 4, 
1833, ' m Duchess county, N. Y. They 
have three living children, GEORGE, ADA 
and HERBERT, and live in Illiopolis. 
MARY, born Dec. 17, 1840, died in her 
eleventh year. Mrs. Sarah Churchill died 
Dec. 30, 1840, and John A. Churchill 
married July 3, 1842, to Mrs. Elizabeth 



Underwood, whose maiden name was 
Lemon. She was born March 29, 1808, 
in Georgetown, Ky. They had two 
children, JULIA, born July 1 2, 1843, in 
Sangamon county, lives with her mother. 
LEMON P. died in his sixth year. John 
A. Churchill died Feb. 4, 1845, anc * n ' s 
widow and daughter reside in Mechanics- 
burg. 

AL VAH, born in Kentucky, married 
there to Burnetta Samples, moved to In- 
diana, and from there to Sangamon coun- 
ty, in 1832, settling near Mechanicsburg. 
They had four children, and moved to 
Iowa; from there to Oregon in 18^53, 
where he died. 

LR WIS, born in Kentucky, married 
in Sangamon county to Mary A. Cooper. 
They had eleven children and moved to 
Iowa; from there, in 1853, to Oregon, 
with his brother Alva. He died Jan. 13, 
1869, leaving a widow and children. 

WILL O C GHB T, born Feb. 1 5, : 809, 
in Shelby county, Ky., married Oct. 6, 
1834, in Sangamon county, 111., to Eliza- 
beth J. Humphreys. They had six child- 
ren in Sangamon county, and in 1851 
moved to the Pacific coast. Mrs. Churchill 
died at Delles, foot of Cascade mountains, 
in Waco county, Oregon, and Mr. C. mar 
ried in Oregon, August 1 1, 1852, to Matil- 
da A. Price, who was born Jan. 12, 1828. 
They had six children. Of his children 
by the first marriage, GEORGE H., born 
May 13, 1837, in Sangamon county, mar- 
ried Catharine Reed, in Oregon. OWEN 
H., born June 16, 1845, in Sangamon 
county, 111., is in Montana. DAVID H., 
born March 31, 1843, in Sangamon coun- 
ty, married July 23, 1875, to Minnie Lord. 
They live in Helena Citv, Montana Ter. 
MARY J., born Oct. 21, 1845, m Sanga- 
mon county, was married in Oregon to 
John M. Roach. They live in Clackamas 
county, Oregon. MARTHA A., born 
August 22, 1848, in Sangamon county, 
died April 18, 1864, in Oregon. Children 
of the second wife, all born in Oregon: 
OLIVER D., born May 19, 1853, 
JAMES E.,born May 18, 1854, LAURA 
B., born May 8, 1856, near Harrisburg, 
was married June 18, 1874, to George 
Jordan. They live near Harrisburg, Or- 
egon. THOMAS A., born July 27, 
1857, and MINNIE D., born July 6, 
1859, lives with her parents. Willoughby 



2OO 



EARLY SETTLERS OP 



Churchill and family reside near Harris- 
burg, Lynn county, Oregon. 

ELIZABETH,\3orn Sept. n, 1811, 
in Shelby county, Ky., married in Sanga- 
mon county to Jesse Pickrell. See his 
name. 

MAJR7WA, born July 16, 1815, in 
Shelby county, Ky., married in Sanga- 
mon county, June 16, 1833, to Griffin 
Fletcher, who was born Dec. 23, 1810, 
near Mt. Sterling, Montgomery county, 
Ky. They had ten living children. 
MARY A., born Sept. 20, 1836, married 
H. C. Stiver, Sept. 28, 1855, in Sangamon 
county. They have four living children, 

KATIE, NELLIE, CARRIE and CHARLES. 

Mr. Stiver moved to Texas in Dec., 1872. 
SARAH J., born Nov. 15, 1838, married 
Zachariah Pope, in 1854, in Sangamon 
county, and died May 3, 1857. RHODA 
E., born Jan. 4, 1841, married Levi S. 
Ridgeway, in Sangamon county, Feb. 16, 
1857. They had four children, IRA H. 
and IDA s. (twins), CATHARINE E., ABBIE 
and LOR A. Mr. Ridgeway died August 
30, 1868, and Mrs. R. and family live 
near Decatur, 111. DAVID C., born 
March 3, 1843, m Christian county, 
married in Sangamon county to Mary 
A. Garvey. See sketch of the Garvey 
family. JAMES L., born Nov. 3, 1845, 
is a grocer in Decatur. JOHN W\, 
born Dec. 2, 1847, married May 10, 
1869, to Emma Clevenger, in Abington, 
Knox county, 111. They have three 
children, MAY D., THERON and STELLA, 
and live in Decatur, 111. ABEL P., born 
Feb. 15, 18^2, and MARTHA J., born 
May 24, 1854, live with their parents. 
Griffin Fletcher and wife reside in Deca- 
tur, 111. 

EL VIRA A., born Sept. 24, 1817, in 
Shelby county, Ky., was married Feb. 6, 
1834, in Sangamon county, to John Gar- 
rett. They moved to the vicinity of 
Pittsfield, Pike county, 111., in 1834, and 
had seven living children. BENJ. F., 
born in 1835, married in Pittsfield to 
Anna E. Adams, June, 1867, and live in 
Newton county, Kansas. MARY E., 
born in 1838, resides with her mother. 
LOUISA A., born in 1843, married S. 
Woolfolk. MARTHA A., born in 1846, 
lives with her mother. SARAH E., 
born in 1848, married July, 1872, to Rob- 
ert Howard. They have one child, 
FLORENCE B., and live in St. Louis, Mo. 



LOTHARIO, born in 1850, and ELIZA 
J., born in 1853, live with their mother in 
Pittsfield, Pike county, 111. In 1866 Mr. 
Garrett sold out, with the intention of 
moving to Kansas. He left home alone 
with a load of goods, and was murdered 
in Bates county, Mo., in Nov., 1866. 

DAVID B., born in 1821, in Ken- 
tucky, was killed by lightning in Sanga- 
mon county, May 7, 1842. 

CC7L VI N S., born June 30, 1824, in 
Kentucky, married July 31, 1845, m San- 
gamon county, to Hester F. King. They 
had nine children; three died in infancy, 
and GEORGE W. died, aged ten years. 
HENRY H., born Jan. 14, 1847, married 
in 1873 to Lizzie Grubb, and resides neat- 
Baldwin City, Kansas. PERMELIA A., 
born June 5, 1849, married William Hous- 
ton. See his name. FIELDING A., 
SALLIE and AMANDA P., reside with 
their parents, near German Prairie Sta- 
tion. 

George Churchill died May 15, 1837, 
and Mrs. Sarah Churchill died Oct., 1847, 
and both were buried near German 
Prairie Station, Sangamon county, 111. 

CLARK, DAVID, born Aug. 2 8, 
1776, in Essex county, N. J. Came to 
Kentucky in 1798, and was there married 
in 1800, to Rachel Rutter. They had 
two children; one died in infancy, and 
Mrs. Rachel Clark died in 1804. David 
Clark moved to Cincinnati, O., in 1805, and 
made brick for the first brick house built 
in that city. He returned to Somerset 
county, N. J., in the same year, and was 
married there in Feb., 1806, to Sallie 
Winans, who was born Oct. 25, 1788, in 
that county. They moved to Miami 
county, O., in 1809, and from there to San- 
gamon county, 111., in 1829, settling on 
Sugar creek. After two years they 
moved to Wolf creek. They had six 
children, one of whom died in infancy. 
Of the other five 

Rev. RICHARD W., born June 16, 
1808, in Somerset county, N, J.. was 
married in April, 1828, to Margaret Clark, 
a native of Fayette county, Ky. They 
have five children living. SALLIE A., 
born Jan. n, 1831, in Sangamon county, 
was married in 1848 to Ezra Clark. They 
have six children, HATTIE A., LODORSKA 

J., PERMELIA A., DAVID M., IRENA and 

NELLIE, and live in Chesnut, Logan 
county, 111. DAVID, born Jan. 2, 1834, 



SANGAMON COUNTY. 



201 



in Sangamqn county, is married, and re- 
sides in New Mexico. ELIZA, born 
Nov. 9, 1841, in McDonough county, was 
married in Logan county, 111., to Jonas 
Shupe, May 13, 1858. He was a native 
of Ohio. They had one child, MARY E., 
who resides with her uncle, Dr. John 
Clark. Mr. Shupe died Jan. 13, 1865, 
and Mrs. Shupe was married Feb. 5, 1871, 
to John R. Ayers. They have one child, 
LENA, who resides with her parents in 
Mt. Pulaski. JOHN W., born Nov. 13, 
1845, * n Logan county, 111., was married 
Dec. 28, 1874, in Chesnut, Logan county, 
to Emma Sterritt, a niece of Enoch 
Moore, of Springfield, recently deceased. 
Dr. John W. Clark is a practising physi- 
cian at Milford, Iroquois county, 111. 
MARY E., born Oct. 16, 1847, was mar- 
ried March 31, 1866, near Mt. Pulaski, to 
Benjamin Harding. They have four 
children, MAY, ELIZA, ELLIS and RICH- 
ARD, who reside with their parents near 
Mt. Pulaski. Rev. Richard W. Clark 
died Aug. 29, 1854, and his widow died 
Dec. 21, 1867, both in Logan county, 111. 

JOHN, born Nov. 25, 1810, in Miami 
county, O., studied medicine there. Came 
to Sangamon county with his father, re- 
mained one year, returned to Ohio, where 
he was married, Aug. 29, 1830, in Miami 
county, to Eliza Tremain, who was born 
May 24, 1810, in New York. They came 
to Sangamon county, and followed farm- 
ing until 1842, when he moved to Mt. 
Pulaski and engaged in the practice of 
medicine. He was County Commissioner 
four years for Logan county, and Justice 
of the Peace seventeen years, during 
which time he married eighty-four couple. 
He has, since 1828, been a member of the 
M. E. church, and a trustee of the same, 
in Mt. Pulaski, from the time the church 
was organized at that .place. Dr. John 
Clark and wife reside in Mt. Pulaski. 

CARMAN W., born May 20, 1815, 
in Miami county, O., married March 29, 
1838, in Sangamon county, to Harriet 
Crocker, step-daughter of David Riddle. 
She was born Aug. 2, 1817, in Leba- 
non, St. Clair county, 111. They had seven 
children; one died in infancy. MARY 
W., born March 24, 1842, in Sangamon 
county, was married Oct. 17, 1866, to 
Alfred C. Wilson. They have four child- 
ren, HARRIE, HARRIET H., CARMAN R. 

and ALFRED, and reside in Mt. Pulaski. 
-26 



JOHN, born April 22, 1848,111 Sangamon 
county, died July 29, 1866. DAVID T., 
born June 27, 1850, in Sangamon county, 
was married Jan. 27, 1876, to Lucy Powel. 
They reside in Mt. Pulaski. RICHARD 
H., born March 26, 1854, in Sangamon 
county, was married Dec. 22, 1875, to 
Mary E. Boggs. They reside in Mt. 
Pulaski. ALFRED R., born July 31, 
1857, in Sangamon county, and MARION, 
born July I, 1862, in Logan county, reside 
with their parents in Mt. Pulaski. 

SALLY H., born Sept. 27, 1817, in 
Miami county, Ohio, was married Oct., 
1834, to John Riddle, in Sangamon coun- 
ty. They have four children, all born in 
Sangamon county, ELIZA C., MARY 
E., FRANCIS A. and SALLIE W., 
and reside near Barclay, Sangamon 
county. 

ELIZABETH, born Dec. 15, 1830, 
in Miami county, Ohio, was married Dec., 
1847, to Alfred Gideon, who was born in 
Champaign county, Ohio. They have 
one child, DAVID C., born Nov. 27, 
1847, was married Sept., 1868, to Sallie 
Row, a native of Ohio. David C. Gideon 
is a practicing physician at Watseka, Iro- 
quois county, 111. 

David Clark was a local M. E. preacher 
for about forty years. His wife died Dec. 
3, 1843, and he died Jan. 6, 1847, both on 
the farm near the present town of Bar- 
clay, Sangamon county, 111. 

CLARK, BARZILLA, and his 

wife, Nancy, came to what is now Salis- 
bury township, Sangamon county, in 
1821. They brought seven children, all 
of whom married and raised families. 
Their eldest daughter, Phebe, married 
John N. Campbell. See his name. Bar- 
zilla Clark died Sept. 23, 1840, and his 
widow died April 19, 1843, both in San- 
gamon county. 

CLARK, ELISHA, was born in 
1797, married in Indiana to Sarah Gard. 
They had three children in Indiana, and 
came to Sangamo, Sangamon county, in 
1823. They had nine children in Illinois. 
Their daughter 

HUBERTY, born July 30, 1824, at 
Sangamo, Sangamon county, married 
E. George Batterton. See his name. 

Mrs. Sarah Clark died in 1853, in Mason 
county, and Elisha Clark died in 1869, at 
Pekin, 111. 



2O2 



EARLY SETTLERS OP 



CLARK, PHILIP, was born 
March 25, 1787, at Rye, England. He 
was married there to Elizabeth Gravett. 
They had five children, and Mrs. Clark 
died. Mr. Clark left his children there, 
and came -to America in 1817, landing at 
Boston, Mass., and traveled by land and 
water to New Orleans, returned to Eng- 
land, and in company with his brother 
Edward, embarked at London in August, 
1818, and landed at Baltimore in October 
following. They traveled on foot from 
Baltimore to Pittsburg, and from there to 
New Orleans by water. They returned 
the same way to the vicinity of Harmony, 
Ind., to visit the family of a relative by 
the name of Morris Burkbeck, who had 
emigrated from England a year or two 
before. He afterwards came to Illinois, 
and was Secretary of State under Gov. 
Coles. The Clark brothers went up the 
river to Shawneetown, and from there 
across the country to St. Louis. They re- 
crossed the river into the American bot- 
tom and stopped with an Indian ranger, 
who told them about the Sangama coun- 
try. They started for it, and arrived in 
November, 1819, on the Sangamon river, 
two miles north of Rochester. Philip 
Clark was married in 1823, in Indiana, to 
Martha Jessup, an English lady, who 
died without children, in Sangamon coun- 
ty. He married in Sangamon countv to 
Polly Whitford, in 1835. Philip Clark 
had his five children sent from England. 
They embarked at London May i, 1824, 
and were received in New York by an 
aunt on the iSth of June. The three 
daughters and one son arrived in Sanga- 
mon county in February, 1825. Of those 
five children 

MARrE.,\>orn in i8io,at Rve, Eng., 
arrived in Sangamon county February, 
1825, married in. 1832 to Samuel Hines. 
They had three children in Sangamon 
county, and moved to Iowa, where they 
had three children. They reside near Cox 
Creek Post Office, Clayton county, Iowa. 

PHILIP, Jun., born Feb. 20, 1812, at 
Rye, Eng., embarked at London May i, 
1824, landed at New York city June iSth, 
was bound by an aunt who came before 
them apprentice in New York to a tailor, 
who treated him cruelly, and he ran away, 
went to Boston, obtained employment in a 
glass factory, saved some money, went by 
water to Philadelphia, walked from there 



to Wheeling, Va. ; worked his way down 
the Ohio river, and up the Mississippi 
river to St. Louis, on a keel boat. At St. 
Louis he fell in with Elijah lies and Rich- 
ard Smith, both of whom knew his father, 
and he came with them to Spr -igfield, ar- 
riving Oct. 15. 1824, to the surprise of his 
father. He was married May 19, 1836, to 
Christiana Campbell, on Richland creek. 
They had four children near Rochester, 
Sangamon county. He went to California 
in 1849, and returned in March, 1850, 
moved to Clinton in November of the 
same year, where three children were 
born. Of their seven children, MARY, 
born Dec. 18, 1839, married in Clinton, 
Jan. 19, 1857, to Robert Millard, have five 
children, and live in Clinton. JOHN G., 
born August 28, 1842, died in his twenty- 
second year. PHEBE, born March i, 
1847, married John Armstrong, and died 
July 5, 1868, in Clinton. SARAH F. 
lives with her parents. LOUIS P. died, 
aged four years. CHRISTIANA and 
MATTIE F. live with their parents, in 
Clinton, 111. 

MAR CARET, horn March 28, 1814, 
at Rye, England, married in Sangamon 
county, about 1834, to Daniel McClees. 
They had seven children in Sangamon 
county; four died in the same county, all 
grown, or nearly so. JOHN and HENRY 
were both Union soldiers. MARY J. mar- 
ried John Spence, who died of disease con- 
tracted in the army. She lives in Spring- 
field. CHRISTIANA married Mr. 
Pettv, and resides in Round Prairie, San- 
gamon county. CHARLES resides with 
his parents. Mr. McClees went to Cali- 
fornia in 1849, came home in 1853, re- 
turned, and his wife did not hear from him 
for fifteen years. They now reside at 
Port Angelos, Washington Territory. 

SELINA, born July, 1816, in Rye, 
England, married in 1838, in Sangamon 
county, to John H. McMinany. She died 
in Fannin county, Texas. 

HENRTR., born April, 1818, at Rye, 
England, married in Sangamon countv, in 
1842, to Jane Trotter. They had two 
children ; both live in Sangamon county. 
Henry R. Clark resides near, Bolivar, Mo. 

Philip Clark died in February, 1853, in 
Sangamon county. His widow married 
again, and resides in Missouri. 

The object of the Clark brothers in 
coming to the country was to engage in 



SAN GAM ON COUNTY. 



203 



the milling business. The site they select- 
ed was a favorable one, on the main San- 
gamon river, about two miles north of the 
present town of Rochester. The Legisla- 
ture passed an act declaring that rive 
navigable, and they abandoned the mill 
site. They went to a point on the South 
Fork, near where Edward Clark lived and 
died, and put a saw mill in operation in 
1824, and a flouring mill in 1825. That 
was the first mill that did good work in 
this part of the country. Soon after they 
came to the country, Philip went to 
Lisle's band mill, and remained three days 
and two nights to get two bushels of corn 
ground. They then bought a hand mill 
in St. Louis for their own use, but it kept 
about thirty families in bread for two 
years, until their own mill on South Fork 
was completed. 

CLARK, EDWARD, was born 
Feb. 16, 1790, in the ancient town of Rye, 
Eng. It was the principal one of the three 
independent ports, which, together with the 
Cinque, or five ports, obtained charters 
granting special privileges from the 
British Sovereigns, in consequence of 
their having fitted out a fleet and con- 
quered the Danish and Scandanavian free- 
booters, thus breaking up the system of 
piracy which had for years been devastat- 
ing the English coasts. The office of 
Lord Warden of the Cinque ports, is one 
of the most ancient in the kingdom, reach- 
ing back to the time of Edward the Con- 
fessor, about the year 1050. Edward Clark's 
grandfathers on both sides were named 
Clark, but were no relation to each other. 
They were both sea captains, and his 
father, Henry Clark, was intended for the 
sea, but could never overcome the tenden- 
cy to sea sickness, and engaged in other 
pursuits, chiefly mercantile and milling, to 
which the subject of this sketch was 
trained in early life. His brother Philip, 
having visited America in 1817, Edward 
sailed with him from London in August, 
1818, and landed in October following. 
They arrived in what became Sangamon 
county in Nov., 1819, and located on the 
Sangamon river, about two miles north of 
the present town of Rochester. For the 
route traveled, see his brother Philips 
name. 

Edward Clark was married March 4, 
1821, to Sarah Viney. Mr. Clark went to 
Edwardsville to obtain a license, and when 



he arrived there, learned that a law had 
been enacted by the legislature, in session 
at Vandalia, and approved by Gov. Bond, 
Tan. 30, 1821, providing for the organization 
of a new county, to be- called Sangamon. 
The clerk declined to issue a license, and 
Mr. Clark insisted that as he was ready to 
marry he did not like to be delayed. The 
clerk told him that if he was determined 
to marry, he could go home, have the 
marriage ceremony solemnized, and after 
the county was organized, have it done 
again. The county was organized April 
10, 1821, and after that a license was ob- 
tained and the marriage again solemnized 
by the same minister who officiated the 
first time, Rev. Rivers Cormack, of the 
M. E. Church. They had eight children, 
all in Sangamon county, namely 

ABRAHAM V., born April 9, 1822. 
He was never married, but went to Cali- 
fornia in 1849, and died Dec., 1850, at 
Sacramento City. 

HENRT P., born Nov. 2, 1823. He 
was married Dec. 15, "1853, to Nancy T. 
Williams. They have four children, 
MARY J., SARAH V., EDWARD S., 
and WILLIAM T., the three eldest in 
Rochester, and the fourth in Oskaloosa, 
Iowa. Henry P. Clark lives one and a 
half miles southeast of Rochester. 

MART JANE, born Feb. 25, 1825, 
married Feb. 25, 1845, to James Richard- 
son. They had three children. Mrs. R. 
died Sept. 6, 1857. Mr. Richardson is 
married again, and resides in Taylorville. 
Her youngest son, Abraham V. Richard- 
son, lives at the homestead, near Roches- 
ter. 

REBECCA S., born May 15, 1827, 
died unmarried, March 18, 1856. 

GEORGE W., born Nov. 11, 1829, 
died Dec. 15, 1855. 

EDMUND J. and CHARLES A., 
twins, born Aug. 27, 1831. 

CHARLES A., died Oct. 25, 1852, in 
Oregon. 

EDMUND J., married Feb. 19, 
1857, to Cassander Lovelace, who was 
born Sept. 9, 1838, in Shelby county. 
They have six living children, WILLIAM 
F., LOUISA J., REASON E., JAS- 
PER N., JOHN S. and ALVIN W., 
and live at the family homestead, two 
miles west of Rochester. 

SARAH A., born Feb. 2, 1835, died 
Jan. 26, 1856. 



204 



EARLY SETTLERS OP 



Mrs. Sarah Clark died March 26, 1837, 
and Edward Clark was married Jan. 10, 
1838, to Nancy Trotter. They had three 
children. 

BENJAMIN F., born Oct. 15, 1838, 
enlisted July 25, 1862, in Co. I, i I4th 111. 
Inf., for three years. At the battle of 
Guntown, Miss., June 10, 1864, he brought 
on disease by excessive fatigue, and died 
March i, 1865, in military hospital at 
Memphis, Tenn. His brother, Henry P., 
brought his remains home, and they were 
interred near Rochester. 

WILLIAM T., born Nov. 16, 1842, 
enlisted Sept. 28, 1861, in Co. G, loth 111. 
Cav., for three years, re-enlisted as a vet- 
eran, served to the end of the rebellion, 
and was honorably discharged Nov., 1865, 
at San Antonio, Texas. William T. 
Clark lives in Oregon. 

NANCT ANN, born March 16, 1845, 
and died Jan. 21, 1856. By looking back 
at dates it will be seen that four members 
of the family died from Dec. 15, 1855, to 
March 18, 1856. Disease, typhoid fever. 

Mrs. Nancy Clark died Sept. 26, 1853, 
and Edward Clark died Jan. 10, 1875, 
both on the farm two miles west of Roch- 
ester, and within five miles of where he 
settled in 1819. 

Wellington was in command of the 
district where Edward Clark lived when 
both were young men, and Mr. Clark 
knew him well. Mr. Clark witnessed the 
launching of the British ship, Victory, at 
the Chatham dock yarks. It was on 
board that ship that Admiral Nelson was 
slain at the battle of Trafalgar, after 
promulgating the famous order which has 
became historic: "England expects every 
man to do his duty." 

Edward Clark was a man of precise 
business habits, better suited to an older 
community than the one in which he 
spent the greater part of his long life. 
He was just in all his dealings, and was 
a model Christian gentleman. He was 
a man of varied and extensive reading, 
and had accumulated a miscellaneous 
library from the standard works of the 
most distinguished authors in the English 
language. 

CLARK, O RAM EL, was born 
August ii, 1792, in Lebanon, Connecti- 
cut, taken by his parents to Berk- 
shire county, Mass., in 1797, and from 
there to Cooperstown, N. Y. He enlisted 



and served as a non-commissioned officer 
in the war of 1812, and moved to St. Law- 
rence county ^N. Y., in 1817. He emigra- 
ted in 1818 to Kaskaskia, 111., and in 1819 
removed to where Athens, Menard coun- 
ty, now stands* He was the third man 
who settled on the north side of Sangamon 
river. In 1820 he returned on foot to visit 
his parents in New York. On returning 
to his home in Illinois, he married Jane 
C. Stewart, on Fancy creek, in Sanga- 
mon county. In 1821 he bought the 
preempted right to a -farm from John 
Dixon (afterwards founder of Dixon, 111.,) 
on Fancy creek, ten miles from Spring- 
field. He remained here until the death 
of his wife, in 1832, when he again visited 
his parents in New York, returning to 
Illinois in 1834. Of his five children 

MARIA died, aged four years, at 
Athens. 

MART J., born Nov. 5, 1824, in San- 
gamon county, was married March, 1842, 
to Abner Riddle. See his name. 

RUSSELL W., born in 1827, in San- 
gamon county, died, aged twenty-one 
years. He was a medical student at the 
time. 

WILLIAM A., born Jan. 4, 1829, on 
Fancy creek, Sangamon county, was ap- 
prenticed to the drug business in Spring- 
field. Was a salesman from 1851 until 1853, 
when he emigrated to California, crossing 
the plains. He was married in Redwood 
City, Cal., Sept. 18, 1866, to Rebecca E. 
Teague, who was born July I, 1849, in 
Springfield, Mo. They had two children, 
viz: GEO. W. and EDWARD O. The 
latter died June 16, 1875. William A. 
Clark and family reside at Redwood City, 
San Mateo county, California. 

EDWARD O., born Dec. 3, 1831, in 
Sangamon county, married Feb. 14, 1855, 
in Waverly, 111., to Virginia F. Harris, 
who was born March 8, 1835, in Morgan 
county, 111. They have one child, 
ESTHER C., and reside near Carlinville. 

Oramel Clark was married the second 
time, Oct. 28, 1836, to Judith W. Davis, 
of Elkhart, 111. She was born August 
12, 1802, in Union county, Ky. They 
moved to Springfield in 1838, and had 
five children, viz 

E ME LINE, born August 20, 1838, in 
Sangamon county, was married in Spring- 
field, March 23, 1863, to Col. N. Martin 
Curtis, who was born May 21, 1835, in 



SANGAMON COUNTT. 



205 



De Peyster, N. Y. He enlisted April, 
1861, was mustered into the United States 
service May 15, 1861, as Gaptain of Co. 
G, i6th N. Y. Inf., and became Lieuten- 
ant Colonel of the 1426. N. Y. Inf., Oct. 
21, 1862, and Colonel -Jan. 21, 1863; 
Brigadier General by brevet Oct. 27, 1864; 
Brigadier General, Jan. 15, 1865, and 
Brevet Major General. The last two pro- 
motions were for gallantry displayed in 
leading the troops in the capture of Fort 
Fisher, Jan. 15, 1865, where he lost his left 
eye. General Curtis was several times 
severely -wounded. The Legislature of 
New York passed resolutions, April 5, 
1865, thanking Gen. Curtis and the officers 
and men of his command (who were all 
New York troops), for their achieve- 
ments on that occasion. Gen. Curtis was 
appointed, August 14, 1866, Collector of 
Customs for the District of Oswegatchie, 
and Special Agent Treasury Depaitment 
March 4, 1867, which position he still 
holds. They have three children, EM- 
MA P., MARY W. and FLORENCE 
R. Gen. Curtis is a breeder of fine stock, 
and resides on his farm near Ogdensburg, 
N. Y. 

MARTHA and S (7SAN(tvf'ms),})orn 
Sept. 23, 1840. 

MARTHA married George W. Burge. 
They have two living children, GEO. C. 
and FRANK F., and reside at Ottawa, 
Kansas. 

SUSAN\?> unmarried, and resides with 
her sister, Mrs. Burge. 

CAROLINE y., born March 5, 1845, 
in Springfield, married Oct. 30, 1867, to 
John M. Amos. See his name, 

Oramel Clark died Sept. 9, 1863, in 
Springfield, and his widow resides with 
her children. 

CLAYTON, JOHN S., was 
born August 2, 1802, in Caldwell county, 
Ky. Elizabeth Clayton was born May, 
1806, in the same county. They were 
there married in 1824, and had one child 
in Kentucky. The family moved to Mor- 
gan county, 111., where one child was born, 
and moved back to Kentucky, where two 
children were born, and they again moved 
to Morgan county, 111., in 1833 or '4, and 
after a few years spent there, moved to 
Sangamon county, in what is now Ball 
township, where they had seven children. 

FKANKLIX JEFFERSON^Q^ 
Feb. 13, 1827, in Caldwell county, Ky., 



married in Sangamon county to Elizabeth 
Scott. They have six children, RUTH 
JANE, GILBERT, AMANDA E., 
PERLEASY, EMMA and SHELTON 
L., and reside in Ball township, near 
Chatham. 

ALEXANDER, born Sept. 16, 1829, 
in Morgan county, 111., married in Sanga- 
mon county to Mary A. Marshall. They 
had two children, CHARLES E. and 
HENRY N., and Mrs. Mary A. Clayton 
died, and he married Theresa J. Penix. 
They have four children, MELISSA J., 
ADA M., MARY A. and JACOB B., 
and live in Ball township, four and a half 
miles southeast of Chatham. 

MINERVA y., born in Kentucky, 
married in Sangamon county to John Og- 
den, who died, and she married William 
Smith, and lives near Moberly, Randolph 
county, Mo. 

MARQUIS D., born March 16, 1834, 
in Kentucky, married in Sangamon coun- 
ty, August 29, 1860, to Susan A. Matthew. 
They had eight children, three of whom 
died young. The other five, CHARLES 
A., SARAH E., FRANKLIN L., 
THOMAS E. and MANFORD E. live 
with their parents, three miles north of 
Pawnee. 

ELZIRA, born in Illinois, married 
William Easley, have six children, and 
live in Clark county, Mo. 

MARY A., born in Illinois, married 
Simon T. Matthew. See his name. 

GEORGE M. married Miss J. Pat- 
terson, who died, and he married Harriet 
E. Debow. They have .one child, NET- 
TIE FLORENCE, and live in Cotton 
Hill township, three miles north of Paw- 
nee. 

MARfETTA, born in Sangamon 
county, married George Lamb. See his 
name. 

JOHN Z., born in Sangamon county, 
married in 1873 to Mary Allen, and lives 
with his mother. 

John vS. Clayton died Sept. 7, 1861, and 
Mrs. Elizabeth Clayton resides in Ball 
township, four and a half miles southeast 
of Chatham. 

CLAYTON, JOHN C., was 
born about 1808, in Caldwell county, Ky. 
He came to Sangamon county in 1829, 
with his cousin and brother-in-law, John 
S. Clayton. He was married at Alton to 
Ginsey Clack. He moved his family to 



ao6 



EARLY SETTLERS OF 



Champaign county in 1856, and died there 
the same year, leaving a widow and four 
children. His son Elias was a. member of 
an Illinois regiment, and was killed in 
battle at Little Rock, Ark., in 1864. A 
daughter is married, and lives in Missouri. 

The widow, with her son Hardin and 
another child, live near Urbana, 111. 

CLEMENTS, GEORGE, was 
born in Amherst county, Va. ; was mar- 
ried to Lizzie Holliday, who was a native 
of Virginia also. They had six children 
in Virginia, and the family moved to Gar- 
rard county, Ky., and from there to San- 
gamon county, 111., arriving early in 1830 
in what is now Woodside township. Of 
the children 

WILLIAM, born Oct. 14, 1797, in 
Virginia, married in Kentucky and died, 
leaving a family there. 

JOHN, born May 13, 1800, in Vir- 
ginia, married in Kentucky to Elizabeth 
Turpin, came with his father to Sanga- 
mon county. They had three living 
children. HENRY D. married Eliza 
Skane, had two children, and she died. 
He lives in Sangamon county. LUCIN- 
DA married William Barger, and resides 
in Mechanicsburg. ELIZA married 
Isaiah Pryor, and live in Missouri. 

THOMAS, born Nov. 22, 1802, in Am- 
herst county, Va., married Sindicey Harris, 
August 2, 1822. They had eight children. 
AMERICA, born July 21, 1823, married 
John C. Cloyd. See his name, LOU- 
ISIANA, born July 16, 1826, married 
John A. Miller. See his name. JAMES 
A., born Nov. 18, 1828, in Ky., married 
Permelia Hatten, who was born in 1826, 
in Garrard county, Ky. They reside four 
miles southwest of Chatham. ELIZA 
A., born in Sangamon county, Oct. 22, 
1832, resides with her sister, Mrs. Matthew 
Cloyd. FANNY, born Oct. 13, 1833, in 
Sangamon county, married Oct. 18, 1848, 
to Matthew Cloyd. See his name. GEO. 
W., born Oct. 14, 1835, died, aged ten 
years. SINDICEY J., born August 28, 
1837, died March, 1854. THOMAS R., 
born May 6, 1839, married Sept. 4, 1861, 
to Elizabeth Ellison, who was born in 
Carthage, O. They have two children, 
ADA and JAMES H., and live in Chatham 
township. HENRY H., born Jan. 3, 
1841, married Emily Sparks, has three 
children, and live near Topeka, Kansas. 
Mrs. Sindicey Clements died Feb. 21, 



1842, and Thomas Clements married in 
1844 t Mrs. Alcey Baucom, whose maiden 
name was Neville. Thomas Clements 
died March, 1855, and his widow resides 
with her daughter, Mrs. T. Gordon Cloyd, 

SINDICET married Henry Collier. 
They have one child, LOUISIANA, and live 
in Rochester. 

ELIZA A., born March 29, 1811, in 
Amherst county, Va., married Samuel 
Cloyd. See his name. 

FANNY, born July 17, 1808, married 
May 19, 1844, to John Levi. He died 
Dec. 23, 1872, and his widow- lives in 
Rochester. 

George Clements and his wife both 
died in Sangamon county. 

CLIFTON, ELIAS, was born 
in Sussex county, Delaware, and married 
there to Sally Carlisle, a native of the 
same county. They had five children in 
that county, two of whom died young. 
The family moved, in 1802, to Fayette 
county, Ky., where one child died, and in 
1816 they moved to Clarke county, Ind., 
and from there to Sangamon county, 111., 
arriving Dec., 1834, in what is now 
Rochester township. Of their two child- 
ren 

CLEMENT, born about 1794, in 
Delaware, married in Clarke county, Ind., 
to Nancy Martin. They came to Sanga- 
mon county a few years later than his 
father. Mrs. Clifton died in 1845. He 
went back to Indiana, and married Mrs. 
Susan Williams, whose maiden name was 
Huckleberry. They had one child, 
ELIAS, who died aged fifteen years. 
Mrs, Clifton died, and he married Melin- 
da Alsop. She died in 1855, and he in 

^57- 

NANCY, born Oct. 31, 1800, in Sussex 

county, Delaware. She was married in 
Fayette county, Ky., April 27, 1816, to 
Uspshear D. Spicer. See his name. He 
died, and Mrs. Spicer married Adam 
Saftly. See his name. 

Mrs. Sally Clifton died March 25, 1346, 
and Elias Clifton died Jan. 3, 1852, both 
in Sangamon county. 

CLINE, JOHN, was born Jan. 2, 
1798, in Frederick county, Va. His pa- 
rents died when he was quite young, leav- 
ing four children. Their grandfather, 
George Sutherland, took them with him 
to Madison county, near London, Ohio, in 
1802. In 1819 he prepared to visit the 



SANGAMON COUNTY. 



207 



western country on horseback. Levi 
Cantrall wa* about moving to Illinois, and 
Mr. Cline engaged to drive his four-horse 
team, and they arrived in the American 
bottom in November. Mr. Cantrall pur- 
chased a supply of corn there, and moved 
to what became Sangamon county, arriv- 
ing in Dec., 1819, in what is now Fancy 
Creek township. Mr. Cline drove the 
team, and arrived at the same time. He 
intended returning to Ohio in the spring, 
but when the time came he decided to 
raise a crop, and while thus engaged he 
was married, July 20, 1820, to Mrs. Lucy 
Scott, whose maiden name was England. 
He made arrangements to visit Ohio in 
fall of 1820, but his wife being sick, he 
deferred it, and has not yet made his visit. 
Mrs. Cline had one child by her first mar- 
riage 

ELIZA SCOTT, born Feb. 15, 1816. 
She is married, has three children, and 
lives in Kansas. 

Mr. and Mrs. Cline had ten children in 
Sangamon county 

WILLIAM, born Oct. 8, 1821, mar- 
ried Sept. 6, 1842, to Eliza Canterberry. 
They had four children. MARIA L. 
married August 14, 1862, to Charles S. 
Jones, who was born July 19, 1844, in 
Ohio. He enlisted a few days before his 
marriage, in Co. C, H4th 111. Inf., for 
three years. He was wounded June 10, 
1864, at the battle of Tupelo, Miss., and 
was discharged on account of physi- 
cal disability. Mr. and Mrs. Jones 
have one child, SCOTT, and live in the ex- 
treme southwest corner of Logan county, 
Post Office, Williamsville. JOHN N., 
born August 23, 1846, married July 29, 
1867, to Dulcina E. Primm. They have 
one living child, NINIAN o., and live five 
and a half miles west of Williamsville. 
ASA M. married March 12, 1873, to 
Melissa McClelland, and live in Fancy 
creek township. WILLIAM F. lives 
with his father. Mrs. Eliza Cline died 
vSept. 7, 1871, and William Cline married 
in 1872, to Maria J. Purkins. They have 
one child, EDWARD E., and live in 
Menard county, near Cantrall. 

GEORGE W., born April 8, 1823, 
married Elizabeth Primm, and died Aug. 
14, 1845, about four months after marriage. 
His widow married Jacob Barnsback, and 
resides near Edwardsville. 



MATILDA A., born May 3, 1825, 
married Andrew Lynch, had seven child- 
ren, and he died, and she married David 
Jones. They have two children, and re- 
side in Menard county. 

E LIZ ABE TH, born August 24, 1826, 
married James A. Turley, and he died 
Jan., 1852, leaving one child, ALMEDA, 
whe married Joseph M. Smith, and re- 
sides near Cantrall. Mrs. Turley married 
George T. Sales. See his name. 

JOHN, born August 30,1828, married 
Jane Council, have six children, and live 
in Menard county. 

DA VID, born June 17, 1830, married 
Jane Hornback, and both died, leaving 
three children. 

ADALINE, born April 25, 1832, mar- 
ried William M. Blue. See his name. 

STEPHEN E., born Nov. i, 1834, 
died August 15, 1853. 

JAMES, born July 17, 1837, mar- 
ried Eliza Hall, have four children, 
MARY E., IDA F., LUCY O. and 
HENRY A., and reside in Fancy creek 
township. 

HENRr,\*orn Oct. 8, 1839, married 
Mary Primm. They have three children, 
WILLIAM A., ALLEN C. and JEN- 
NIE, and live near Cantrall. 

Mrs. Lucy Cline died June 4, 1875, and 
John Cline lives in Cantrall. 

CLJNKENBEARD, WM., 
was born Feb. 12, 1808, in Clarke county, 
Ky. He came to Sangamon county in 
1825, remained one year, returned to Ken- 
tucky, and came back to Sangamon county 
in 1829. He was married April, 1835, to 
Lavina Elder. They had ten children in 
Sangamon county. The fourth, fifth and 
seventh died under six years. Of the 
other seven 

JULA A., born Sept. 15, 1836, mar- 
ried Edward L. Robinson, have three 
children, and live near Berry, Sangamon 
county. 

WILLIAM H., born August 13, 1838, 
in Sangamon county, married August 14, 
1864, to Ann J. Brachear. They have 
two children, HARVEY and LESLIE, 
and live near Pleasant Gap, Bates county, 
Missouri. 

MART, born in Sangamon county, 
married Henry Bryant, have five children, 
and live near Pleasant Gap, Mo. 

THOMAS married Martha Robbins, 
and r<esides near Pleasant Gap, Mo. 



208 



EARLY SETTLERS OF 



JOS I AH, born March 12, 1852, re- 
sides in Buffalo, Sangamon county. 

y. ALBERT and LEV I F. live 
with their parents. 

William Clinkenbeard lived in Sanga- 
mon county until March, 1873, when he 
moved to Missouri, and resides near Pleas- 
ant Gap, Bates county. 

CLOYD, DAVID, was born 
about 1766, in Botetourt county, Va. He 
was married there, moved to Culpepper 
county, and from there to Washington 
county, Ky., about 1815. He moved in 
company with his sons Thomas and Sam- 
uel, and his daughter Polly who married 
Henry Lucas to Sangamon county, ar- 
riving October, 1825, in what is now Cur- 
ran township. David Cloyd died about 
1839, and his widow in 1844 or '5, both in 
Sangamon county. 

CLOYD, THOMAS, son of 
David, was born Jan. 14, 1798, in Bote- 
tourt county, Va., and went with his par- 
ents to Washington county, Ky., in 1815. 
He was married there April 27, 1820, to 
Ann Withrow. They had three children 
in Kentucky, and in 1824 moved to 
Fayette county, 111., where they had one 
child, and from there to Sangamon county, 
arriving October, 1825, in what is now 
Curran township, north of Lick creek, 
where they had two children. Of their 
six children 

ANN CORDELIA, born June 29, 
1820, in Washington county, Ky., married 
in Sangamon county to Rev. Charles D. 
Alsbury. See his name. 

JOHN CAL VIN, born Sept. 6,1821, 
in Washington county, Ky. He was 
married in Sangamon county to America 
Clements. They had two children, one 
of whom died young. DICEY married 
James H. Jones, and lives in Henry coun- 
ty, Mo. Mrs. America Cloyd died, and 
J. C. Cloyd married September, 1848, to 
Sophia L. Lanterman. They have eight 
children. CHARLES married Elizabeth 
J. Branham, has one child, ELIZA M., and 
live in Curran township. ELEANOR 
married Asbury M. Branham. They 
have three children, WILLIAM c., CORD F. 
and a daughter, and live in Curran town- 
ship. NANCYJ., CORDELIA, WAL- 
LACE R., GORDON, AMANDA M. 
and JOHN C., Jun., live with their par- 
ents, three miles southeast of Curran, 



NANCY, born Dec. 25, 1823, in Ken- 
tucky, married Jan. 2, 1840, to Robert 
Cummings. See his name. , 

MATTHEW,\>ovn Sept. 10, 1825, in 
Fayette county, 111., married in Sangamon 
county, Oct. 18, 1848,10 Fanny Clements. 
They have nine children. ROBERT T. 
lives with his parents. ELIZA J. married 
William F. Smith. See his name. WM. 
O. lives with his parents. JULIA F. 
married May 27, 1873, to Benjamin F. 
Caldwell. See his name. MATTHEW 
F., ANN M., HENRIETTA, ALICE 
and SAMUEL, live with their parents in 
Chatham township. 

THOMAS GORDON, born June 7, 
1827, in Sangamon county, married Sept. 
27, 1849, to Priscilla J. Baucom, who was 
born Dec. 31, 1831, in Madison county. 
They have three children, THOMAS, 
JOHN C. and ANNIE E., and live near 
Chatham. Although Thomas G. Cloy 
was but three and a half years old at the 
time, he remembers one incident connected 
with the " deep snow" of 1830-31. That 
was seeing his father drive' a team over a 
stake and ridered fence, and it troubled 
him greatly, fearing that the team would 
go down through the snow and become 
stranded on the fence. 

JOSEPH D., born Dec. 5, 1831, in 
Sangamon county, married Dec. 16, 1852, 
to Sarah M. Byers, who was born Oct. 13, 
1833, in or near Shepherdstown, Va. They 
had nine children; one died young. 
MARY E., SARAH E., VIRGINIA 
B., JOSEPH D., Jun., THOMAS E., 
WILLIS, MARGARET F. and 
LAURA reside with their parents, half 
a mile north of Chatham. 

Thomas Cloyd and wife now June, 
1873 reside near Woodside Statron. 

CLOYD, SAMUEL, brother to 
Thomas, was born Nov. 20, 1802, in Cul- 
peper county, Va. He was taken by his 
parents to Washington county in 1815, and 
to Sangamon county in 1825. He was 
married May i, 1832, in Sangamon county 
to Eliza Clements. They had but one 
child 

MARY A., born Oct. 15, 1832, on Lick 
creek, Sangamon county, married March, 
1860, to John S. Highmore. She died 
Sept. 9, 1872, leaving two children, 
ELIZA A. and MARY E., who live 
with their father in Rochester. See 
Bowling family. 



SAN GAM ON COUNTY. 



209 



Samuel Cloycl died August 5, 1872, in 
Rochester, and his widow resides there. 

COATS, RALPH J., born May 
3, 1817, in Wyoming county, New York, 
came to Springfield Oct. 9, 1840. He was 
married in Livingston county, Michigan, 
May 14, 1845, to Amanda N. Wood, who 
was born in Wyoming county, New York, 
April S, 1823. They returned to Spring- 
field, 111., where they had two children 

ABEL A., born August 4, 1846, in 
Springfield, enlisted May, 1864, in Co. E, 
1 33d 111. Inf., for one hundred days. He 
served full term and was. honorably dis- 
charged with the regiment, Sept. 24, 1864. 
He was married in Springfield; Oct. 30, 

1867, to Charlotte E. Gardnier, who was 
, born April 30, 1850, in Carrolton, Green 

county, 111. They have four children, all 
born in Springfield. NINA B., RALPH 
W., CHARLES A. and MERWIN W. 
Abel A. Coats is in the grocery business, 
with his father, and resides in Springfield. 
PERSfS E., born Jan. 6, 1849, in 
Springfield, was married there, Nov. 19, 

1868, to Charles D. Timothy, who was 
born Jan. 3, 1842, in Franklin Grove, Lee 
county, 111. They have three children 
living, CLARA I., WARREN A. and 
NETTIE B. Mr. Timothy enlisted Feb. 
3, 1864, in Co. G, 75th 111. Inf. On ar- 
riving at Springfield he was detached under 
Gen. Oakes in the mustering in and out 
department, and was honorably discharged 
March, 1866. He was elected a member 
of the Board of Supervisors for 1875, and 
resides two and a half miles north of 
Springfield. 

Ralph J. Coates was elected Alderman 
of Springfield in 1857, for three years, 
was re-elected in 1860, 1864 and 1871. He 
' is now, and has been in the grocery busi- 
ness in Springfield, 111., for eighteen years, 
and resides there. 

R. J. Coates' father was a soldier in the 
war of 1812, for four months. He died in 
Springfield, 111., August 9, 1874, at the 
age of eighty-seven years. 

COE, EBENEZER, was born 
August 25, 1812, in Loudon county, Va., 
and came to Sangamon county, 111., with 
George M. Gi'een, in 1839. He went 
back to Virginia in the fall of 1843, and 
was married in Loudon county, Sept. 17, 
1844, to Jane Grubb, a native of that 
county. He returned to Sangamon coun- 
ty in 1851. Mrs. Coe died near Roches- 
27 



ter, May 10, 1860. Mr. Coe was mar- 
ried March 26, 1861, in Loudon county, 
to Mrs. Julia A. Edwards, whose maiden 
name was Conard. They came soon after 
to Sangamon county, and Mrs. Coe died 
Dec. 22, 1869, leaving four children 

JOSEPH H., SAMUEL B., WIL- 
LIAM C. and MART C. 

Ebenezer Coe was married Dec. 13, 
1870, in Decatur 111., to Harriet Lanham, 
who was born July 25, 1830, in Sangamon 
county. They live one mile east of 
Rochester. 

COLEMAN, MRS. ABI- 
GAIL, whose maiden name was Rob- 
ertson, was born in Surry county, N. C., 
and was married there to Theophilus 
Coleman, who was born in Virginia. 
They had four children in North Caro- 
lina. Mr. Coleman became a soldier in 
the war with England in 1812. He nevei 
returned, and his family never knew his 
fate. Mrs. Coleman, with her four child- 
ren, moved in 181510 Cumberland county, 
Kv., and to Sangamon county, 111., ar- 
rived in the fall of 1820 on Richland creek, 
in what is now Salisbury township. Of 
her four children 

SARAH, born Jan. 6, 1801, in North 
Carolina, married in Kentucky to Joshua 
Crow, came with her mother to Sanga- 
mon county. They moved to Cass county, 
where she died many years ago, leaving 
seven children. 

ELIZABETH, born May 19, 1804, 
in North Carolina, married John G. Pur- 
vines. See his name. 

JANE, born Jan. 28, 1806, in North 
Carolina, married George K. Hamilton. 
See his name. He died, and she married 
Alexander C. Purvines. See his name. 

JOHN /?., born Feb. 29, 1808, in 
North Carolina, married Nancy Harris, 
had two children in Sangamon county, 
and moved to Crawford county, Mo., 
where they had four children, and Mrs. 
Coleman died. He married again, had 
four children, and is now a widower and 
resides in Missouri. 

Mrs. Abigail Coleman was married in 
Sangamon county in 1824, to Robert 
Hamilton. They had two children in 
Sangamon county 

MAHAL A married Mr. Rice, had one 
child, and Mr. Rice died. She married 
James Pease, had three children, and he 



210 



EARLT SETTLERS OF 



died. Mrs. Mahala Pease resides near 
Cuba, Mo. 

JAMES C. married in Missouri, en- 
listed in a Union regiment from that 
State, and died in the army. 

Mrs. Abigail Hamilton died in Sanga- 
mon county, and Robert Hamilton died 
in Arkansas. 

COLEMAN, JONATHAN 
B., was born Nov. 16, i8n,in Ruther- 
ford county, Tenn. When he was about 
seventeen years old he came to Sangamon 
county with his uncle, Charles K. Hutton, 
arriving in what is now Auburn township 
Oct. 15, 1827. He was married Nov. 10, 
1835, to Mary Dodds. They had five 
living children, all born in Sangamon 
county, namely 

JAMES W., born Nov. 21, 1838, 
married Margaret Bowman, had two 
children, CHARLES U. and BELLE, 
and Mrs. C. died. Mr. Coleman mar- 
ried Elizabeth Mengle. They have two 
children, and live in Christian county. 

JOSEPH E., born March 5, 1841, 
enlisted July 15, 1861, in Springfield, for 
three years, in what became Co. B, nth 
Mo. Inf. He served full term and was 
honorably discharged Aug. 12, 1864. He 
married Lydia Dawson. They have one 
child, LETA, and live in Springfield. 
Mr. Coleman is a traveling salesman for 
a queensware house in St. Louis. 

WILLIAM H. married Fanny B. 
Taylor, and lives in Ball township. 

ELIZABETH A. and 
MARGARET E. live with their pa- 
rents, near the Sugar creek Cumb. Presb. 
church, in Ball township. 

COLEY, WILLIS, was born 
Feb. 14, 1792, near Ballston Springs, 
N. Y., and when he was a child his pa- 
rents moved to Cazenovia, Madison coun- 
ty. Willis was there married in Feb., 
1818, to Lucinda Chapin. His father 
owned some land in the military tract be- 
tween the Illinois and Mississippi rivers. 
Soon after Willis was married his father 
sent him out to see it. He came on a 
raft down the Alleghany and Ohio rivers 
to Shawneetown, thence to St. Louis by 
keel boat. He went on foot to the mili- 
tary ti'act, and returned to Edwardsville 
July 4, 1819, he started from that place, on 
foot and alone, for his home in New York. 
At Terre Haute, Ind., he secured cooked 
food, and traveled two hundred miles to 



the Maumee river, without seeing any 
other human beings but Indians. He ar- 
rived at Cazenovia August 7, 1819. 
March 4, 1820, he started with his family, 
consisting of himself, wife and two child- 
ren, accompanied by five or six other fam- 
ilies. They moved by water f o Shawnee- 
town, 111., where Mr. Coley lived three 
years. He then moved in a wagoi. drawn 
by two yoke of oxen, and in March, 1823, 
arrived in what is now Loami township, 
where they had three children. Of their 
five children 

ROBERT W., born in New York, 
married in Sangamon county to Rebecca 

A. Jarrett. She died Feb. 13, 1870, and 
Robert W. Coley died March, 1872. 
Their daughter LA VINA is the wife of 
John A. DeWitt, and lives in Springfield. 
Their son WILLIS lives in Loami. 

CHARLOTTE, born August 15, 1819, 
in New York, married in Sangamon 
county to Reuben Moore, and moved to 
Texas in 1852. Reuben Moore died in 
1863, leaving a widow and seven children. 
LUCINDA, ROBERT E., ELLEN 
and POLLY are married, and live in 
Texas. LAURA, their third child, mar- 
ried Lott Mason, and lives in Auburn, 
Sangamon county. EDGAR and WIL- 
LIE, the two youngest, live with their 
mother, near McKinney, Collin county, 

HUBBARD S., born in Sangamon 
county, married March 4, 18^2, to Susan 
Jacobs. They have two children, AN- 
NIS and MAY, and live in Oswego, La- 
bc'tte county, Kansas. 

JAMES M., born August 23, 1832^11 
Sangamon county, married Oct. 28, 1858, 
to Caroline Greenwood. She died six 
weeks after they were married. Mr. 
Coley married April 19, 1860, to America 
Gibson. They had two children, LEWIS 

B. and MARY F., the latter of whom 
died in her third year. J. M. Coley and 
wife live in Loami. 

ANGELINE, born in Sangamon 
county, married Hugh Forrest, and both 
died. 

Mrs. Lucinda Coley died at Loami, and 
Willis Coley was married Sept., 1851, to 
Mrs. Philena Jenkins, who was previous- 
ly Mrs. Kidder, and whose maiden name 
was Sprague, a native of Windham coun- 
ty, Vt. After a residence of just half a 



SANGAMOA r COUNTY. 



211 



century at Loami, Willis Coley moved, in 
1873, to Oswego, Kansas. 

COLBURN, PAUL, was born 
about 1761, in Hollis, Hillsboro county, 
New Hampshire. He was married in 
Massachusetts, to Mehetibel Ball, who 
was born about 1757- They had eleven 
children born in Sterling, Worcester 
county, Mass. In 1809 the family moved 
to the vicinity of Hebron, Grafton county, 
N. H., where they remained until Sept., 
1815, when Paul Colburn and his wife, 
his son Isaac with his wife and two child- 
ren, his son William and his wife, they 
having been married but a few days, and 
his unmarried daughter, Isabel, started 
from Hebron in wagons to seek a new 
home in Ohio, at that time the " far west." 
On reaching Olean, at the Alleghany 
river, they found the river too low to 
bring all their goods on boats, as they had 
intended. They sold their wagons and 
teams, put their remaining goods and their 
families on a raft, and started down the 
river, reaching Pittsburg on the evening 
of Dec. 24, 1815. Ice was forming in the 
river, and they were compelled to stop 
there for the winter. While they were in 
Pittsburg, Paul Colburn was joined by 
his son Ebenezer, who had been serving 
in the United States army in the war with 
England, then just ended. In the spring 
of 1816, Isaac and Ebenezer went up the 
Alleghany river and made a raft of logs 
suitable for making shingles, and partially 
loaded it with hoop poles. They expected 
to have gone down the Ohio river in 
June, but the whole season was one of un- 
usual low water, and December ar- 
rived before they reached Pittsburg 
with their raft. The whole party went 
down on the raft to Marietta, O., where 
they engaged in farming and other pur- 
suits. Ebenezer was married in Marietta, 
and in the spring of 1820 Paul Colburn 
and his wife, Isaac and his family, and 
Ebenezer and his wife, embarked on a 
raft, leaving William to close up the busi- 
ness at Marietta. They landed their raft at 
Louisville, Ky., and left Isaac there to 
work up and sell their lumber. The other 
members of the family continued down 
the river to Shawneetown; Paul Colburn, 
his wife and daughter remained there. 
Ebenezer and his wife went on to join 
some relatives of her's in Monroe county, 
111., about fifty miles south of St. Louis. 



In August of that year Isaac Colburn 
and his wife died at Louisville within two 
days of each other, leaving six children 
among strangers, and on the first of No- 
vember Mrs. Mehitibel Colburn died at 
Shawneetown. About the time of her 
death William Colburn embarked with 
his family on a boat at Marietta, floated 
down to Louisville, and took on board four 
of his brother Isaac's children, one having 
died, and another been placed in a good 
home. He then went to Shawneetown 
and joined his bereaved father and sister, 
arriving Dec. 24, 1820. 

In March, 1821, Paul Colburn, his 
daughter Isabel, William Colburn, wife 
and three children, the four orphan child- 
ren of Isaac Colburn, and a Mr. Harris, 
started in a wagon drawn by four oxen for 
Morgan county. They traveled through 
rain, mud and unbridged streams for 
about five weeks, which brought them to 
the south side of Lick creek, on what is 
now Loami township, where they found 
an empty cabin. From sheer weariness 
they decided to stop, and Mr. Harris, the 
owner of the wagon and oxen, went on 
to Morgan county. 

Soon after their arrival Wm. Colburn 
gave a rifle gun for a crop of corn just 
planted, and in that way began to provide 
food. He secured a team and went after 
his brother Ebenezer, and brought him 
and his wife to the settlement, arriving 
in October, 1821. 

Having succeeded in bringing so many 
of his descendants to the new country, and 
witnessed their struggles to gain a foot- 
hold and provide themselves with homes, 
Paul Colburn died Feb. 27, 1825, near the 
present town of Loami. Of his children 
who came to Sangamon county, we will 
notice each under separate heads, begin- 
ning with the daughters 

COLBURN, SALLY, born 
June 15, 1789, in Sterling, Mass., married 
there to Daniel Woodworth. They came 
some years after the first of the family 
arrived. They lived many years in 
Springfield, and both died in Sangamon 
county. Their daughter 

LOUISA H., married Gershom Dor- 
ranee. See his name. 

SARAH, has been twice married, and 
lives in California. 

An account is preserved of a ludicrous 
incident that transpired while Mr. Wood- 



212 



EARLT SETTLERS OP 



worth lived in Springfield. A rain storm 
came on suddenly and caught him away 
from home. He started on a run, with 
his head down, hat drawn over his 
eyes, and body bent forward. It so 
happened 'that Governor Ford found him- 
self away from home in the same shower. 
Throwing himself in a similar attitude, he 
started on a run also; but there was this 
difference, they were running in opposite 
directions, and when both were at full 
speed, they came together with a square 
butt, like a couple of sheep. Each, on 
the spur of the moment, thought it was 
intentional on the part of the other, and 
each assumed a belligerent attitude, but 
before a blow was struck, both discovered 
that it was an accident, and with a hearty 
laugh, hurried on. 

COLBURN, MARY, born Feb. 
23, 1792, at Sterling, Mass., married Adna 
Phelps. See his name. 

COLBURN, ISABEL, born 
Feb. n, 1796, in Sterling, Mass., married 
in Sangamon county, to Adin E. Meacham. 
See his name. 

CpLBURN, ISAAC, born in 
Sterling, Mass., married in New Hamp- 
shire, and himself and wife died at Louis- 
ville, Ky., in 1821, leaving six children, 
one of whom died in infancy. 

AZUBA remained in the vicinity of 
Louisville, and married a Mr. Summers. 

ASA came to Sangamon county in 
1832, went to Galena in 1836, and two or 
three years later was killed by a lead mine 
caving in on him. 

LA VINA came to Sangamon county 
in 1836, married in Springfield to Jacob 
Nott, who died, and she married John 
Letterhose, and died in Loami. 

LUCY, married in Sangamon county 
to Levi Sweet. He died, leaving her a 
widow with five children at Scyene, 
Dallas county, Texas. 

COLB'URN, WILLIAM, 

brother to Isaac, Abel and Ebenezer, was 
born June 3, 1793, at Sterling, Mass., 
married Aug. 15, 1815, at Hebron, N. H., 
to Achsa Phelps, who was born at that 
place July 9, 1 796. They came to San- 
gamon county, 111., arriving April 5, 1821, 
in what is now Loami township. They 
had three children before moving to San- 
gamon county, and eleven after, the 
youngest of whom died in infancy. Of 
the thirteen children 



CLARISSA, born Oct. 27, 1816, at 
Pittsburg, Pa., married in Sangamon 
county, Dec. 3, 1831, to William S. 
Walker. See his name. 

ABIGAIL, born April 29, 1818, at 
Marietta, O., married April 9, 1835, to 
Lawrence Underwood. See his name. 

FANNY,\K>rn Jan. 4, 1820, at Marietta, 
O., married in Sangamon county, Jan. 28, 
1843, t David Phelps. See his name. 

MEHEJ^IBEL, born Dec. 5, 1821, 
in Sangamon county, married Dec. 16, 
1838, to David Phelps. See his name. 

SAMUEL PAUL, born Sept. 15, 
1823, in Sangamon county, married Oct. 
23, 1845, to Melinda Colburn, had one 
child that died in infancy, and Mrs. Col- 
burn died Dec. 23, 1865, and he married 
Nov. 14, 1866, to Mrs. Isabel Lucas, whose 
maiden name was Colburn. They reside 
in Loami. 

MARGARETP.,\)orn April .7, 1825, 
in Sangamon county, married Sept. 21, 
1845, to Lewis Cotterman. They had 
two children, WILLIAM A. and FAN- 
NIE, and Mrs. Cotterman died Sept. 6, 
1853. Her children reside with their 
father near Linden, Osage county, Kan. 

ISAAC, born Feb. 22, 1.827, in Sanga- 
mon county, married August 17, 1854, to 
Julia A. Ensley. They had three child- 
ren. ACHSA E., born July 24, 1855, 
died in her eighth year. CHLOE E. and 
CHARLES E. live with their father. 
Mrs. Julia A. Colburn died Dec. 25, 1859, 
and Mr. C. married Sept. 20, 1863, to 
Mandana Phelps. They had three child- 
ren, CORA A., CLARENCE E. and 
MARY O.; all died in infancy. Isaac 
Colburn and wife reside in Loami. 

DANIEL W., born July 2, 1829, mar- 
ried Nov. 28, 1849, to Lucinda Huffmaster. 
They have eight children. SARAH 
married William Greer, has one child, and 
resides with her parents. FANNY mar- 
ried Christopher McLaughlin, who was 
born Feb. 10, 1846, in Montgomery 
county, Ky. They have two children, 
MINNIE and ANDREW, and reside at 
Loami. Mr. McLaughlin enlisted Feb. 
22, 1864, in Co. A, io6th 111. Inf., for three 
years; was honorably discharged at 
Springfield, August i, 1865. SUSAN 
M. married Thomas Huggin, and resides 
in Curran. JAMES E., MARY M., 
WINJEIELD S., DAVID L. and 



SANGAMON COUNTT. 



213 



LAURA A., reside with their parents, 
thi'ee miles south of Curran. 

WILLIAM S., born Feb. 20, 1831, in 
Sangamon county, married July 8, 1853, 
in Fulton county, 111., to Mary Ensley, who 
was born May 23, 1831, near Chillicothe, 
O. They had four children. MILLARD 
F. died in infancy. LINDA A., born 
March n, 1856, married Dec. 26, 1872, to 
Lycurgus L. Smith, who was born June 
20, 1849, at Mt. Pleasant O., and reside at 
Martin's Ferry, Belmont county, O. 
LUELLA R. and WILLIAM H. reside 
with their parents at Loami. 

W. S. Colburn enlisted at Jacksonville, 
111., July 16, 1847, in Co - G > l6th United 
States Inf., for five years or during the 
war with Mexico, and was honorably dis- 
charged August, 1848, at Cincinnati, O. 
In the spring of 1850 he started for Cali- 
fornia, via the Isthmus of Panama. The 
vessel was bestormed and becalmed, so 
that he was on the Pacific ocean seven 
months from Panama to San Francisco. 
He has traveled in twenty-four States of the 
Union, and been on fourteen sea voyages. 
William S. Colburn enlisted June 27, 
1864, in Co. F., 28th 111. Inf., for three 
years; was honorably discharged August 
2, 1865. He was detailed as clerk in the 
medical department soon after entering the 
army, was promoted to hospital steward, 
and served as such to the end of the rebel- 
lion. 

EBENEZER, born April 9, 1833, in 
Sangamon county, married August 17, 
1854, to Nancy A. Huffmaster. They 
had two children, ADNA P. and CLAR- 
ISSA A., and Mrs. Colburn died August 
10, 1859, and Mr. C. was married August 
8, 1862, to Elizabeth Davis. They have 
five children, DANIEL W., HENRY 
W., ALPHA D., JULIA A. and INA 
A., and live in Loami. 

LE VI O., born Nov. 13, 1835, in San- 
gamon county, enlisted July 13, 1862, in 
Co. F, 5 ist 111. Inf., for three years. He 
was ist Sergt., and as such, commanded 
the company part of the time. He was 
wounded in the arm at the battle of Chick- 
amauga, served until June 27, 1865, when 
he was honorably discharged. lie was 
married July 7, 1867, to Christiana Kin- 
ney. They have two children, BERTHA 
O. and WILLIAM E., and live at 
Loami. 



DA VI D P., born Oct. 5, 1837, in San- 
gamon county, enlisted August 9, 1861, 
in Co. B, 3oth 111. Inf., for three years, 
re-enlisted as a veteran, Jan. i, 1864. He 
was appointed 2nd Sergt. at the organiza- 
tion of the regiment; promoted to ist 
Sergt.; commissioned ist Lieut., Jan. 20, 
1865; commissioned Capt., May, 1865. 
Commanded the company from Oct. 4, 
1864. He served until July 17, 1865, when 
he was honorably discharged. He was 
married April 12, 1866, to Tirzah Mengel. 
They have one child, LEONARD L., 
and reside at Loami. 

JOHN 7\, born Nov. 23, 1840, mar- 
ried June 23, 1 86 1, to Martha J. Back, 
who was born April 9, 1845, a ' Loami. 
They had four children. JAQUETTA 
and LILLIE died in infancy. MARY 
A. and MILLIE A. live with their pa- 
rents in Loami. 

William Colburn died June 10, 1869, at 
Loami, and Mrs. Achsa Colburn resides at 
Loami, on the same place settled by her- 
self and husband in 1822, one year before 
the land was brought into inarket. Wil- 
liam and his brother Ebenezer entered 
land together, and cultivated it for several 
years. About 1836 they built a steam 
saw and grist mill at the north side of 
Lick creek, and machinery for grinding 
was soon added. It was the first mill of 
the kind within a radius of ten or twelve 
miles, and around that mill the village of 
Loami grew up. They continued in that 
business for many years, three mills hav- 
ing burned on the same spot. They were 
not always the owners, but their families 
were always connected with such enter- 
prises. The sons of Wm. Colburn are 
now 1874 the owners of a mill within 
one hundred yards of where the first mill 
was built. One mill has burned where 
the new one stands. 

The hardships endured by them and 
their families would be difficult to relate. 
Mrs. Achsa Colburn, now seventy-eight 
years old, has an unlimited fund ot remi- 
niscences connected with their advent into 
the county, and the difficulties of raising 
a large family. A loom was an indispen- 
sible article where all were dependent on 
the work of their own hands for the en- 
tire clothing of themselves and families. 
Mrs. Colburn tried all the men in the set- 
tlement, those of her own family included, 
in order to find some person who could 



2I 4 



EARLY SETTLERS OF 



make a loom, but all declined to under- 
take it, some for want of skill, and all for 
want of tools. Mrs. C. then procured an 
axe, a hand saw, a drawing knife, an 
auger and a chisel, and went to work. 
She made with her own hands a loom, 
warping hars, winding blades, temples for 
the lateral stretching of the cloth, and for 
spools she used corn cobs with the pith 
pushed out. With these appliances she 
wove hundreds of yards of cloth, and 
made it up into garments for her family. 
This she did while caring for her family 
of fourteen children. 

COLBURN. EBENEZER, 
brother to Abel, Isaac and William, was 
born Dec. i, 1794, at Sterling, Mass., mar- 
ried in 1817, at Marietta, Ohio, to Julia 
Smith, who was born April 17, 1797, in 
Suffolk county, Long Island, N. Y. They 
came to Sangamon county and joined the 
other members of the family in Oct., 1822, 
in what is now Loami township. They 
had two children before their arrival, and 
five after coming to Sangamon county. 
Of the seven children 

ADNA A, born August 12, 1818, at 
Marietta^ Ohio, married April 27, 1839, in 
Sangamon county, to Lodasca Sweet. 
They had three children, and Mrs. Col- 
burn died, and A. P. Colburn was mar- 
ried July 28, 1844, to Macca M. Sowell. 
They had seven children, one of whom 
died in infancy. Of all his children: 
ALVA married Hannah VanPelt, and 
resides at Seneca, Nemaha county, Kan. 
URSULA, married Charles Jarrett. See 
his name. GILBERT, enlisted in 1862, in 
Co. I, 73d 111. Inf., for three years. He 
was captured at the battle of Chicka- 
mauga, Sept. 19-20, 1863, and died in 
prison at Andersonville, Ga., July I, 1864. 
THOMAS B. and WILLIAM R. en- 
listed Sept. 20, 1862, in Co. G, i6th 111. 
Inf., for three years. They were cap- 
tured while scouting near Dalton, Ga., 
May 22, 1864, and taken to Andersonville 
prison also. . THOMAS B. died June 19, 
1864, and WILLIAM R.died August 12, 
1864. Thus the three brothers died in the 
same prison in less than two months. 
STEPHEN E.,died in infancy. CHAS. 
C., born Nov. 22, 1849, married Miss 
Coverdale, and lives at Loami. JULIA 
J., born May 24, 1851, married Nelson 
Elmoi^e. See his name. They live in 
.Sangamon county. JAMES B. resides 



with his mother. Adna P. Colburn died 
Feb. 26, 1867, and his widow resides ad- 
joining Loami on the west. 

WILLIAM, born in Monroe county, 
111., married in Sangamon county to 
Eliza Porter; had four children, and Mrs. 
C. died, and Wm. C. married Mrs. Ellen 
Smith, whose maiden name was Clover. 
They have one child, and reside in Chris- 
tian county, at Smith's mill, on the San- 
gamon river, near the line of Sangamon 
county. 

CHARLOTTE, born Jan. 19, 1824, 
in Sangamon county, married Jonas 
Smith. See his name. 

MARIA, born in Sangamon county, 
married Peyton Foster; has a family of 
children, and lives at Atchison, Kan. 

MART P., born in Sangamon county, 
married David Greening. See his name. 

BURFITT G., born in Sangamon 
county, married to Lucy Large, have six 
children, and live in Cooper township. 

ELLEN, married Ebenezer Colburn, 
Jun., and she died. 

Mrs. Julia Colburn died, and Ebenezer 
Colburn, Sen., died April 12, 1864, both 
at Loami. 

COLBURN, ABEL, was born 
Sept. 20, i79 m Sterling, Mass., a 
brother to Isaac, William and Ebenezer. 
He was married in April, i8n,at Hebron, 
N. H., to Deborah Phelps, who was born 
at Hebron in July, 1794. Mr. Colburn 
was a soldier from that place in the war 
of 1812. They had nine children, all born 
at Hebron, and in 1839 Mr. Colburn came 
to Sangamon county, and afterwards 
brought his family. Of their children 

JOSEPH R., born August, 1812, 
married in Massachusetts, to Ruth Fowler, 
and moved to Springfield, 111., in 1838. 
He aided in building the State House, 
then in course of construction. They had 
six children; two died under seven years. 
Of the other four, ABNER K. married in 
Minnesota to Phebe Walters, and resides 
in Portland, Oregon. IRA is married, 
and lives in Minnesota. CHARLES 
lives with Adna Phelps, near Springfield. 
FREMONT lives with his mother. Jo- 
seph R. Colburn died in December, 1870, 
and his widow resides at Preston, Minn. 

EL VIRA M., born April 18, 1814, at 
Hebron, N. H., married at that place 
March 7, 1832, to Stephen F. Fowler. He 
died Jan. 21, 1845, at Quincy, Mass., and 



SANG AM ON COUNTY. 



215 



Mrs. F. was married Oct. 8, 1845, at Troy, 
Wis., to Jeremiah D. Sanborn, who was 
born Feb. 7, 1818, at Franklin, N. H. Mrs. 
S. traveled across the American continent 
on wagons, except in crossing Lake Mich- 
igan, and spent five years in Nevada and 
California, and Mr. S. spent three years 
there. They reside at Loami. 

ISABEL,\*o. April 17, 1816, at He- 
bron, N. H., married Sept. n, 1838, to 
Thomas Lucas, who was born June 19, 
1811, at Romney, N. H. They had five 
children. GEORGE M. went from 
Loami to Springfield, and enlisted July, 
1861, in what became Co. -C, nth Mo. 
Inf., for three years; was ist Sergeant; re- 
enlisted as a veteran Jan. I, 1864, and died 
of disease at Jefferson Barracks, Mo., 
Nov. 14, 1864. He was commissioned ist 
Lieutenant, to date from August 18, 1864, 
but the com mission, did not reach the hos- 
pital until the day after his death. FRAN- 
CEN*A I. died at thirteen. EDWARD 
W. enlisted Nov. 20, 1861, for three years, 
in Co. B, 3Oth 111. Inf.: re-enlisted as a 
veteran Jan. i, 1864; was with "Sherman 
in his march to the sea;" served to the 
end of the rebellion, and honorably dis- 
charged July, 1865; was married October, 
1866, to Mary A. Starr, has one child, 
VALLIE M., and resides at Loami. ISA- 
BELLA E. died at seven years. LUEL- 
LA A. married August, 1867, to James L. 
Mahard, and died March, 1873, leaving 
two children, MARY j. and GEORGE M. 
Thomas Lucas died March 4, 1851, at 
Loami. His widow married Samuel P. 
Colburn. See his name. 

IRA C., born in 1818, married at 
Quincy, Mass., Sept. 4, 1838, to Cyrena 
Chard, a native of Pomfrct, Conn., 
moved to Minnesota, and had three child- 
ren. JOHN E. was a soldier in a Minne- 
sota regiment, veteranized, served to the 
end of the rebellion, and lives in Minne- 
sota. ROMANZA died at seven years. 

A CHS A P., born Feb. 17, 1820, in 
Hebron, N. H., married August, 1838, at 
Quincy, Mass., to John P. Davis, who 
was born April 17, 1815, in Boston. They 
came to Sangamon county with her par- 
ents, and had three children. ELVIRA 
M. married Sanford Withrow. See his 
name. CHARLES W. died in in- 
fancy. LAURA E. married Josiah Jones. 
See his name. John P. Davis enlisted at 
Springfield, July 9, 1847, In Co. D, 4th 



111. Inf., for one year. He served as Ser- 
geant of that company in the war with 
Mexico, until July 9, 1848, when he was 
honorably discharged. He raised Co. B, 
3Oth 111. Inf., entered the United States 
service as Captain of the same, August, 
1861. His company re-enlisted as veterans, 
January, 1864. He was with Sherman in 
his " march to the sea," and was promo- 
ted to Major of the regiment while on the 
trip. He commanded the regiment sev- 
eral months, and was honorably discharged 
July 17, 1865. Now resides at Loami, 
Sangamon county, 111. 

LUTHER P., born September, 1823, 
married in New Hampshire to Lydia 
Whittaker, raised one daughter, and reside 
in Lebanon, N. H. 

NA THAN P., born December, 1826, 
in Hebron, N. H., married in South Read- 
ing, Mass., to Mary J. Eames, had four 
children, moved in 185510 Minnesota, was 
a member of the Convention that framed 
the State Constitution, and has served sev- 
eral terms in the State Legislature. He 
raised a cavalry company and fought the 
Indians in Minnesota in 1863. Was Pay- 
master at one time in the army, against the 
rebellion. He is a practicing attorney, 
and resides at Preston, Minn. 

ME LINDA, born Sept. 13, 1830, 
married Oct. 23, 1845, to Samuel P. Col- 
burn. See his name. 

EMELINE, born July, 1832, married 
in 1848 to William Huffmaster. Sec his 
name. 

Abel Colburn died Oct. 21, 1851, at 
Springfield. His widow married Adam 
Barger. See his name. He died, and 
she resides with her son-in-law, Samuel 
P. Colburn, at Loami. 

CONKLING, JAMES C., was 
born Oct. 13, 1816, in New York City. 
At the age of thirteen he entered the 
Academy at Morristown, N. J., and pre- 
pared for college. He entered Princeton 
in 1833, and graduated in 1835. ^ c 
studied law in Morristown, N. J., about 
three years, and came to Springfield, 111., 
arriving in Nov., 1838, and was admitted 
to the bar the following winter. James 

C. Conkling and Mercy A. Levering 
were married Sept. 21, 1841, in Baltimore, 
Md. She was the daughter of Judge 
Aaron R. Levering, of Georgetown, 

D. C., and was born in that city in Nov., 



2l6 



EARL T SB TTLERS OP 



1817. Mr. and Mrs. Conkling had five 
children 

CLIN7^ON L., born Oct. 16, 1843, in 
Springfield, was educated at Yale college, 
New Haven, Conn., and graduated there 
in 1864. He entered into partnership 
with his father in 1866, as J. C. & C. L. 
Conkling, in the practice of law. He was 
married March 24, 1867, to Georgiana 
Barrell, a native of Brooklyn, N. Y. 
They have two children, GEORGIA and 
KATE, and reside in Springfield. 

CHARLES, born in Springfield, re- 
sides with his parents. 

JAMES, born Jan. 4, 1850,111 Spring- 
field, 111., was married March 23, 1870, in 
Covington, Ky., to Fannie A. Lowry, 
who was born in Springfield, March 23, 
1849. They have two children living, 
MAY and FANNIE. He is a mem- 
ber of the firm of Conkling, Slemmons, 
& Co., Springfield, 111. 

ANNIE V., born July 2, 1853, was 
married Nov. 25, 1875, to Nathan S. 
Wood. He is a banker in Lafayette, Ind., 
where they now reside. 

ALICE resides with her parents. 

Hon. James C. Conkling was elected 
Mayor of Springfield in 1845, being the 
sixth in that office. He was elected repre- 
sentative for Sangamon county in the 
State legislature in 1852, and again in 1866, 
when he drafted the original bill for the 
new State house, and was active in its 
passage. He is a member of the National 
Lincoln Monument Association, which 
has just erected a monument to the mem- 
ory of Abraham Lincoln. He is the head 
of the firm of Conkling, Slemmons & 
Co. James C. Conkling, more than any 
other capitalist of Springfield, uses his 
wealth in extensive building enterprises, 
and for the encouragement of manufac- 
tures. 

CON ANT, SULLIVAN, was 
born Feb. 26, 1801, at Oakham, Worcester 
county, Mass. Lydia R. Heminway was 
was born November, 1803, in the same 
county. They were married Sept. 10, 
1822, at Shutesbury, Mass., where they 
had three children, and moved to Am- 
herst, where they had one child. They 
returned to Shutesbury, and from there 
started west, Nov. 2, 1830, traveling in 
wagons to Troy, N. Y., and from there to 
Rochester by canal, thence by wagon to 
Olean Point, where they embarked on a 



raft and floated to Pittsburg. There they 
took a steamboat down the Ohio, and up 
the Mississippi river to Chester, Randolph 
county, 111., where the youngest child died. 
In January, 1831, Mr. Conant started 
with his family, in a sleigh, to visit some 
old friends near Carrollton, Greene coun- 
ty, 111., going by Illinoistown, now East 
St. Louis. They continued their journey 
by Jacksonville to Springfield, arriving 
Feb. 18, 1831. When they left Chester 
the snow was about six inches deep, but 
when they arrived in Springfield it was 
on four feet of snow, being the height of 
the "deep snow." They had five children 
born in Springfield. Of their eight 
children 

ABIGAIL A., born July 5, 1823, at 
Shutesbury, Mass., was married in Spring- 
field to William W. Lee, who was born 
August 20, 1822, in Delaware. They had 
four children. LAURA A., born Oct. 
15, 1844, in Springfield, was married* May 
7, 1867, to John T. Capps, who was born 
Dec. 30, 1841, in Clarke county, Ky. 
They have two children, OLIVE and WIL- 
LIAM L. Mr. Capps was a student at Illi- 
nois College, Jacksonville, when the rebel- 
lion began. He enlisted August, 1861, in 
Co. B, loth 111. Inf., for three years; re- 
enlisted as a veteran January, 1864; was 
with Sherman in his "march to the sea;" 
served until July, 1865, when he was hon- 
orably discharged. He graduated Feb. 6, 
1866, with the degree of Master of Ac- 
counts, at Eastman's National Business 
College, Poughkeepsie, N. Y. He is now 
of the firm of Dickerman & Co., Spring- 
field Woolen Manufactory. LYDIA E., 
born March 23, 1847, m Springfield, was 
married Dec. 21, 1869, to S. O. Stock well, 
a native of Auburn, N. Y. They have 
one child, CLARA L., and reside in Colum- 
bus, Ohio. THOMAS S., born Jan. 9, 
1849, in Bloomington, 111., was married in 
Springfield, May 29, 1872, to Mary J. 
Eaton. They have one child, ADDIE. T. 
S. Lee is engaged with his father-in-law 
in the grain business, and resides in Edin- 
burg. EDWARD W., born March 9, 
1853, in Taylorville. He was married in 
Springfield, Oct. 6, 1875, to Lou. H. Pas- 
field, adopted daughter of George Pas- 
field, Sen., and resides in Edinburg. Wm. 
W. Lee died July 12, 1870, and his widow 
resides in Springfield. 

WILLIAM S., born Feb. 27, 1825, at 



SAXGAMON COUNTT. 



217 



Shutesbury, Mass., was married in Spring- 
field, 111., to Mary Sykes. They had two 
children. JAMES was born in Peters- 
burg, and is in business with his father. 
KATIE resides with her father. Mrs. 
Mary Conant died in Springfield, Feb. 
12, 1864. Wm. S. Conant was married 
in Menard county to Eliza Kinkead, and 
reside in Petersburg, 111. In 1844 W. S. 
Conant met with an accident from a falling 
derrick which slightly lamed him. A Mr. 
Brodie was killed by the same accident. 
They were raising a pole at a political 
meeting. Mr. Conant is extensively en- 
gaged in the furniture and undertaking 
business. He was the originator, and is 
no\v the owner, of Rose Hill cemetery, 
near Petersburg. 

SUSAN E., born March 10, 1827, in 
Shutesburv, Mass., was married June 26, 
1845, m Springfield, to George R. Con- 
nelly. See his name. He died, and she 
married Charles Dougherty. See his 
name. 

LEV I 7., born Oct. 25, 1831, in 
Springfield, was married there July 28, 
1858, to Elizabeth Brodie. They had 
two children, JOHN B. and WILLIAM 
S. Mrs. Elizabeth Conant died Feb. 14, 
1865, and L. J. Conant was married Mar. 
i, 1875, at Vincennes, Ind., to Mrs. Sarah 
A. Baker, whose maiden name was Har- 
graves. She was born April 24, 1841, in 
Manchester, England. Mr. C. is in the 
grocery business, and resides in Spring- 
field. 

MART A., born July 20, 1833, in 
Springfield, was married there to Cook S. 
Hampton. See his name. 

PHINEAS //., born April 12, 1837, 
in Springfield, was married June 4, 1857. 
to Sarah J. Hobbs, who was born Dec. i, 
1838, in Jacksonville, 111. Thev have 
three children, JULIA E., MINNIE L., 
and PEARL R., and reside in Spring- 
field, 111. P. H. Conant enlisted in Co. 
C, 1 24th 111. Inf., for three years, and was 
mustered in as Corporal. Served until 
Feb. 6, 1864, when he was honorably dis- 
charged on account of physical disability. 
In the spring of 1 866 he was appointed, 
by Mayor Dennis, deputy city marshal; 
served nearly three years. Was deputy 
sheriff under Shoup, and deputy U. S. 
collector under Harper. Sold goods at 
Illiopolis about three years, since which 
time he has been a commercial traveler 
28 



for a Springfield grocery house, and lives 
in Springfield. 

CAROLINE A., born Sept. i, 1843, 
in Springfield, married Rev. Thomas M. 
Dillon, of the M. E. church. He is in the 
traveling connection, and resides (1874) in 
Martinsburg, Clarke county, 111. 

LTDIA J., born July 19, 1845, m 
Springfield, was married there, March 17, 
1868, to George L. Dingle. G. L. Dingle 
wa* a soldier in an Illinois regiment, and 
did his part in aiding to suppress the re- 
bellion. He is now deputy Postmaster at 
Santa Fe, New Mexico, and lives there. 

Mrs. Lydia R. Sonant died May 30, 
1867, and Sullivan Conant was married 
again. He resides in Springfield. 

CONNELLY, JOHN, was born 
in 1794, in the District of Columbia. 
Ann Wetherell was born Feb. 20, 1800, 
in the District of Columbia, also. They 
were there married and had ten children. 
The family moved to Springfield, 111., in 
1837. Mr. Connelly was Register of the 
United States Land Office, in Springfield, 
during the administration of President 
Pierce, and part of the administration of 
President Buchanan. He also, at various 
times, filled a number of local offices. I 
have the history of but two of his child- 
ren. His daughter 

MART J., born in the District of 
Columbia, married in Springfield to John 
O. Rames. See his name. She died in 
1854. 

His second son 

GEORGE 7?., born Jan. 18, 1822, in 
the District of Columbia, was married in 
Springfield, 111., Jan. 27, 1845, to Susan 
E. Conant. They had three living child- 
ren, namely: JOHN L., born March 18, 
1846, in Springfield, graduated at the 
Rush Medical College of Chicago. He 
was married Sept. 3, 1842, at Harristown, 
111., to Nannie Bedford. They had one 
child, MAGGIE P., who died young. Dr. 
J. L. Connelly resides at Harristown, 
Macon county, 111., and is engaged in the 
practice of his profession there. GEORGE 
S., born Feb. 8, 1849, in Springfield, mar- 
ried Sept. 15, 1870, in his native city, to 
Mary Thomas, who was born Dec. 30, 
1850, in Springfield, 111. They have two 
children, ALICE MAY and LILLIE E. George 
S. Connelly resides in Springfield, and is 
engaged in merchandising. LILLIE E., 
born Sept. 2, 1851, in Springfield, married 



2lS 



EARLT SETTLERS OF 



Sept. 19, 1871, to Columbus M. Lloyd, 
who was born March 6, 1849, near 
Wabash, Wabash county, Ind. They 
live near Dawson, Sangamon county, 111. 
George R. Connelly died of cholera, in 
Springfield, June 9, 1854. His widow 
married Charles Dougherty, Jun. See 
his name. 

CONSTANT, JACOB, brother 
to John, who was the grandfather of 
Rezin H. He was also the brother of 
Isaac and Thomas, and was born about 
1765, in Virginia. Eleanor Clinkenbcard 
was born about 1769, in Virginia, also. 
They were there married, and soon 
after moved on pack horses that being 
the only way goods could be transported 
at that time through that mountainous 
country to Fleming county, Ky. They 
had fourteen children in that county, and 
in 1814 moved to Clermont countv, Ohio, 
where they had two children. The fam- 
ily moved to Sangamon county, 111., ar- 
riving* Oct. 26, 1826, in what is now Me- 
chanicsburg township. Of their child- 
ren 

ELIZABETH, born Nov. 17, 1790, 
in Fleming county, Ky., married there to 
Charles Morgan. See his name. 

JOHN, born in Fleming county, Ky., 
went back from Ohio to Kentucky, and 
there married Margaret Wood. They 
came in company with his father to San- 
gamon county in 1826, where they had 
five children, and moved to Pike countv, 
thence to northwest Missouri, where the 
living children now reside. The parents 
are both dead. 

WILLIAM, born in Kentucky, went 
back from Ohio and married Rhoda 
Planck. They never came to Illinois, but 
he died, leaving one child, JOHN CON. 
STANT, who resides near Felicity, 
Clermont county, Ohio. 

MARY, born in Kentucky, married in 
Ohio to Thomas Jones. They had ten 
children, and Mrs. Jones died. The liv- 
ing members of the family reside in and 
near Mt. Olivet, Clermont countv, O. 

ISAAC, born Nov. 17, 1794, in Flem- 
ing county, Ky., was married June 29, 
1823, in Clarke county, Ky., to Nancy 
Peebles, who was born Sept. 13, 1794, in 
that county. They had two children in 
Kentucky, joined his parents in Clermont 
county, Ohio, and came with them to San- 
gamon county, 111., arriving in the fall of 



1826 in what is now Mechanicsburg town- 
ship, where they had two children, and 
moved to what is now Logan county, 
where they had two children, and from 
there to Buffalo Hart grove, in Sangamon 
county, and had one child. They 
moved, in 1857, to Dawson. Of their 
children, RACHEL, born in Clarke 
county, Ky., March 29, 1824, married 
John Billington. See his name. JACOB, 
born August 17, 1826, in Clarke county, 
Ky., married in Sangamon county, May 

16, 1850, to Lillias Wilson, who was born 
May 15, 1825, in Dumfriesshire, Scotland. 
They had seven children, three of whom 
died young, and HELEN MARY died Oct. 
3, 1872. the very day she was thirteen 
years old. NANCY j., WILLIAM E. and 
JAMES H.,live with their parents, adjoining 
Dawson on the east. MARGARET J., 
born July 15, 1829, in Sangamon county, 
married Oct. 26, 1850, to James Deavers. 
They have six children, and live near Mt. 
Pulaski. WILLIAM R., born April 13, 
1832, in Sangamon county, married in 
1852 to Jane Wilson, who was born in 
Dumfriesshire, Scotland. They had seven 
children in Sangamon county, and Mrs. 
Constant died May 7, 1864. Mr. C. was 
married in Dawson to Hattie Grabendich. 
They have two children, and live in Law- 
rence, Kansas. MARY A., born June 

17, 1834, in Logan county, 111., married 
Oct. 17, 1871, at Dawson. to Alfred Rape. 
See his name. SARAH E., born Dec. 
17, 1836, in Logan county, married Sept. 
14, 1856, to Horatio M. Van Winkle, who 
was born Feb. I, 1834, in Shelby countv, 
111. They have one child, LILLIAS E., 
and live in Dawson. Mr. Van Winkle 
enlisted August 15, 1862, in Co. C, 1 241)1 
111. Inf., for three years; served full term 
exactly, and was honorably discharged 
August 15, 1865, at Chicago/ MARTHA 
E., born April 19, 1840, in Sangamon 
county, married Dec. 6, 1869, to John >. 
Clinkenbeard, who was born Dec. 8, 1822, 
in Clarke county, Ky. They have two 
children, ISAAC and NANCY E., and live 
three miles southwest of Illiopolis. Mr. 
C. has two living children by a former 
wife, JOHN w. and MARY E. Isaac Con- 
stant died June 27, 1865, and his widow- 
resides at Dawson. 

HESTER, born in Kentucky, mar- 
ried in Clermont county, Ohio, to Josiah 
Johnson, had one child, and father and 



SAN GAM ON COUNTY. 



219 



child died in Ohio. She came to Sanga- 
mon county, married John Rutherford, 
had four children, and the parents both 
died. Their son, JOHN T. Rutherford, 
was a soldier in an Illinois regiment, and 
died in the army. MARGARET mar- 
ried Matt. Noonan, and resides in Sanga- 
mon county. ALEXANDER is mar- 
ried and lives in Champaign county. 

SARAH, horn Dec. 27, 1799, in Ken- 
tucky, married James Carrico. See his 
name.' 1 , 

ELEANOR, born in 1803, in Ken- 
tucky, married Elijah T. Lanham. See 
his name. 

JACOB, born Jan. 7, 1805, in Flem- 
ing county, Kentucky, married June 4, 
1829, m Sangamon county, to Permelia 
Crocker. They had six children, two of 
whom died young. The other four, 
JAMES H. M., born March 4, 1830, mar- 
ried Catharine Blankenship. have four 
children. He was a soldier in a Sangamon 
county regiment. DAVID C., born Jan. 
28, 1833, married in Texas to Annetta 
Snow. They are teaching among the In- 
dians. THOMAS S., born July 2, 1835, 
married in Mt. Pulaski to Sarah Cass, 
daughter of Ninian Cass. MARY L., 
born Sept 25, 1839, married John Rinker: 
had one child, ANNETTA s. Mr. Rinker 
enlisted in 1861, in 3Oth 111. Inf., and died 
near Vicksburg, in 1863. Mrs. Permelia 
Constant died Feb. 17, 18^.7, and Jacob 
Constant was married June 25, 1847, m 
St. Clair county, to Mrs. Celia Talbott, 
whose maiden name was Wakefield. They 
had four children. CHARLES A. mar- 
ried Sarah Horn, had one child, and live 
near Dawson. HARRIET E. and 
PERMELIA O., SARAH F. died at 
eleven years. Mrs. C. had two children 
by her first husband, THOMAS and 
MARY E. TALBOTT. The latterdied 
in her fourteenth year. Jacob Constant 
and his wife reside one and a half miles 
southwest of Dawson. 

BENJAMIN, born in Kentucky, 
married in Sangamon county to Matilda 
Lakin, had seven children, and Mr. Con- 
stant died in 1855. Two of his sons, 
JOHN W. and NORMAN A. were 
Union soldiers from Greene county, and 
both died in the army. His widow resides 
in Macoupin county. 

JONATHAN, born Sept. 30, 1809, 
in Fleming county, Ky., came to Sanga- 



mon county in 1826, married May 19, 
1836, to Mary Elder. They had five 
children, two of whom died young. Of 
the other three, GEORGE W., born 
June 7, 1837, married July 23, 1857, in 
Springfield, to Sarah Kent; have three 
living children, JOHN D., LYDIA F., NET- 
TIE B. the third child, IDA j., died in her 
fourth year. George W. Constant resides 
two and a half miles southwest of Illiopo- 
lis. JOHN W., born Sept. 22, 1839, 
married in Springfield, Jan. 30, 1865, to 
Clarissa G. Ingels. They have four child- 
ren, MATTIE F., HARRY, MARY P. and 

WILLIE, and reside two and a half miles 
northeast of Illiopolis. SAMUEL W., 
born July, 1843, enlisted August 17, 1861, 
in Co. H, 30th 111. Inf., for three years, 
was captured at the battle of Atlanta, 
Ga., July 22, 1864, was two months in 
Andersonville prison, exchanged Sept. 19, 
1864, and honorably discharged on the 
27th of the same month. He was married 
in Sangamon county, Dec. 24, 1867, to 
MaryJ. Semple. They have one child, 
NELLIE D., and reside in Macon county, 
near Illiopolis. Mrs. Mary Constant died 
Sept., 1847, and Jonathan Constant was 
married Nov. 26, 1848, to Lavina Crocker. 
They had two children. MARY B., 
born Sept. 17, 1851, married June 6, 1872, 
to Squire Campbell, and died Nov. 19, 
1872. LEWIS ALLEN, born Dec. 7, 
1853, resides with his father. Mrs. La- 
vina Constant died August 26, 1858, and 
Jonathan Constant married Dec. 20, 1860, 
to Mrs. Sarah Ridgeway, whose maiden 
name was Bridges. They reside three 
miles northwest of Mechanicsburg. 

MARGARET, married in Ohio to 
Greenbury Lanham, and had one child. 
The father and child died in Ohio. She 
died in Sangamon county. 

NELSON, born in Clermont county, 
Ohio, married in Sangamon county to 
Elizabeth Walker. They have five child- 
ren, and reside near Farmer City, DeWitt 
county, 111. 

Jacob Constant died Sept. 21, 1828, and 
Mrs. Eleanor Constant died Sept. 4, 1835, 
both in Mechanicsburg township, near 
where they settled in 1826. 

CON'STANT, THOMAS, 
brother of Isaac, aUo of John, who was 
grandfather of Rezin H., was born Aug. 14, 
1796, in Virginia. He was married June 
17, 1796, in Kentucky, to Margery Ed- 



220 



EARLY SETTLERS OF 



monson. They had seven children in 
Kentucky, and moved to Xenia, Ohio. 
From there they moved to Sangamon 
county, 111., arriving in the fall of 1820 in 
what is now Fancy creek township. Of 
all their children 

JOHN, born May 9, 1797, in Clarke 
county, Ky., married in Springfield, 111., 
to Man- Latham, daughter of Judge 
Latham. They had four living children, 
and Mrs. Mary Constant died May 3, 
1841. Mr. C. was married to Elizabeth 
Singleton. They had two children. Ot 
the children by his first marriage, JAMES 
T. went to California, and died there. 
The other three were GARRETT, 
MARY and MARIA L. The children 
by the second marriage were JULIA and 
JOHN. Mr. Constant died, and his 
widow and children reside in Springfield. 
ELIZABETH E., born June 14, 
1799, in Clarke county, Ky.. was married 
in Xenia, Ohio, to William F. Elkin. See 
his name. 

ARCHIBALD E., born May 10, 
1801, in Clarke county, Ky., married in 
Springfield, 111., to Maria Latham, daugh- 
ter of Judge Latham. They had five 
children; two died young. MARGERY 
is teaching in the Bettie Stuart Institute, 
in Springfield. MARY married Temple 
Elliott. See his name. KATIE resides 
among her friends. Mr. Constant came 
to Sangamon county in 1819, settling on 
Wolf creek; afterwards moved to Spring- 
field, and purchased a quantity of land in 
what is now the Third ward, and known 
as Constant's addition. He was a Major 
in the Black Hawk war, from Sangamon 
county. He moved to Elkhart, Logan 
county, about 1863. Mrs. Maria Constant 
died there Nov. 13, 1868, and Archibald 
E. Constant died in Elkhart, Jan. 19, 1875. 
WILLIAM, born May, 1803, in Clarke 
county, Ky. He was a physician, and 
was married in Sangamon county to 
Phoebe Johnson. She died, leaving three 
children. Dr. Constant was married in 
Jeffersonville, Ind., and had two children, 
KATIE and JOHN. Dr. William Con- 
stant died in 1865. 

MART, born June 22, 1805, in Clarke 
county, Ky., was married in Sangamon 
county, 111., to Dr. Garrett Elkin. See 
his name. 

NATHAN E., born April 8, 180^, in 
Clarke county, Ky., was married in San- 



gamon county to Sarah Dement. Mrs. 
Sarah Constant died, and he was married 
August 25, 1843, to Mary M. Stewart, 
daughter of James Stewart. See his name. 
They had three children. WILLIAM 
F. married Elizabeth A. Lake. They 
have one child, and reside two miles west 
of Williamsville. NATHAN E., Jun., 
enlisted August, 1862, for three years, in 
Co. G, 1 1 4th 111. Vol. Inf. He was cap- 
tured at the battle of Guntown, Miss., 
June n, 1864, taken to Andersonville 
prison, where he remained three months. 
After that to several other prisons, to 
evade the Union army, then back to 
Andersonville. From there to Florida, 
and guarded in the woods until April 28, 
1865, and released at the close of the rebel- 
lion. He had the usual experience of 
prisoners in the south. He and seven 
others cooked all their rations the first 
three months at Andersonville, in half a 
canteen. Sometimes he would give a 
day's rations for a chew of tobacco, and 
not a very large chew at that. He says 
woi'ds cannot describe the suffering that 
was endured by the Union soldiers in 
southern prisons. Robbery and murder 
prevailed among the prisoners until they 
found it necessary to organize a court and 
a regular jury, convicted six of their num- 
ber and hung them. He says Wirz 
allowed them to go outside to hold the 
trial (of course guarding them), and fur- 
nished the lumber for the gallows. Mr. 
C. says that although ten years have 
elapsed since he was in that den of hor- 
rors, when he is not well the most 
dainty food smells to him like Anderson- 
ville prison rations. One blanket was all 
they were allowed for eight men. Nathan 
E. Constant, Jun., was married, after his 
return from the army, to Amanda Mor- 
ton. They have three children, FANNIE 
E., WILLIAM and FRANK, and reside three 
miles west of Williamsville. Nathan E. 
Constant, Sen., died August 25, 1843, and 
his widow married Miletus W. Ellis. See 
his name. 

ISAAC, born April 5, 1809, in Clarke 
county, Ky., was married in Sangamon 
county, 111., Feb. 14, 1835, to Lucinda 
Merriman, daughter of Reuben Merri- 
man, (now residing in Oregon). They 
had eight children. LAVINIA, born 
March 12, 1834, in Sangamon county, 
was married in Jackson county, Oregon, 



SAN GAM ON COUNTY. 



221 



April, 1854, to Dr. Jesse Robinson. They 
have four living children, EDWARD c., 
CHESTER L., THOMAS and MARY A., and 
reside in Oakland, Cal. WILLIAM T., 
born Nov. 2, 1836, in Sangamon county, 
111., was married in Oregon, April 3, 1862, 
to Jessie Bledsoe. He died August 4, 
1867, leaving a widow and three children, 
ISAAC, WILLIAM T. and JULIA B., in Jack- 
son county, Oregon. ELIZABETH M., 
born Jan. 2, 1839, in Sangamon county, 
married Jan. i, 1856, in Jackson county, 
Oregon, to William T. Leever. They 
have seven living children, w. CONSTANT, 

LAVINIA, IDA, EDMONSON M., JULIAN D., 

THOMAS s. and ADA, and reside in Jack- 
son county, Oregon. JULIA A., born 
Sept. 17, 1841, in Sangamon county, was 
married in Oregon, Dec. 5, 1861, to 
W. A. Owen. They have five living 
children, EUDORA, MINNIE, MABEL c., 
GLENN and WILLIAM, and all reside in 
Jacksonville, Oregon. MARGERY E., 
born Feb. 5, 1845, in Sangamon county, 
was married to Constantine Magruder, 
April 22, 1875. They reside at Central 
Point, Jackson county, Oregon. ELIZA 
A., born Oct. 20, 1851, in Sangamon 
county, 111., died March 3, 1866, in Jack- 
son county, Oregon. Isaac Constant was 
in the Black Hawk war from Sangamon 
county. He went to Oregon in 1849, took 
a claim under the homestead law, and re- 
turned to Illinois in 1850, disposed of his 
nroperty, and with his family and some of 
his neighbors, emigrated to Oregon in 
1852. They were among the first families 
who settled there. After they arrived, 
Mr. Constant had to go two hundred miles 
with pack animals, for provisions. The 
valley was teeming with Indians, but he 
lived to see them all pass away, and sur- 
rounded by a large circle of friends, he 
resides near Jacksonville, Jackson county, 
Oregon. 

MAR THA, born August 23, i8ii,in 
Xenia, Ohio, was married in Sangamon 
county, 111., to William S. Stone. They 
had three children; one died in infancy. 
Of the other two, ELLEN, born in April, 
1837, ' s unmarried. MARGERY, born 
March, 1838, was married in 1855 to 
Thomas Smith, of Independence, Mo. 
They have t%vo living children. Mrs. 
Martha Stone died in St. Louis, Mo., in 
March, 1854. Mr. Stone died in Indepen- 
dence, Mo., in 1870. 



ADALINE, born March 28, 1813, in 
Xenia, Ohio, was married in Sangamon 
county, 111., March 25, 1835, to James D. 
Allen. Of their children, MARTHA, 
born Jan. 6, 1836, was married in Greens- 
burg, Ky., Oct. 31, 1854, to George L. 
Harris. They have three children living, 

THOMAS A., BLANCHE and ADALINE. 

George L. Harris enlisted in the 6th Kan- 
sas Cav. Reg., and was killed July 29, 
1864, at the battle of Fort Smith, Ark. 
Mrs. Harris was married March 21, 1873, 
in Shawnee, Kansas, to James Sharp. 
They reside in Shawnee. JULIA J.. 
born Jan. 19, 1841, in Shawnee, Kansas, 
was married Dec. 10, 1856, in Indepen- 
dence, Mo., to Joseph F. Hagan. He was 
drowned in the Missouri river July 15, 
1860. His widow married Wolf Bach- 
rach, of Kansas City, August 9, 1865. 
They have one daughter living. Mrs. 
Julia Bachrach died in Kansas City, Mo., 
June 2, 1872. HATTIE, born August 
19, 1844, died March 13,1868. EMILY 
F., born Nov. i, 1848, was married in 
Shawnee. Kansas, Jan. 27, 1875, to James 
T. Gillespie. They have one child, and 
reside in Shawnee. THOMAS, born 
Jan. 12, 1838, died July 21, 1845. Mr. and 
Mrs. Allen reside at Shawnee, Kansas, 
where they have lived for nineteen years. 

MARGERY, born Nov. 24, i8"i4, in 
Xenia, Ohio, was married in Sangamon 
county to Josiah Francis. See his name. 

LA VINIA, born Sept. 18, 1816, in 
Xenia, Ohio, was married in Sangamon 
county, 111., April 2, 1839, to William 
Lavely. See his name. 

EMILY, born Nov. 21, 1818, in Xenia, 
Ohio, was married in Sangamon county 
to N. B. Stone. They had six children ; 
three died in infancy. 

JULIA A., born Sept. 20, 1820, in 
Xenia, Ohio, was married in Sangamon 
county to Newton Francis. See his 
name. 

Thomas Constant died Dec. 14, 1840, 
and Mrs. Margery Constant died March 
i, 1842, both in Athens, Illinois. 

CONSTANT, REZIN H., was 
born July 8, 1809, in Clarke county, Ky. 
His grandfather (John Constant) was shot 
in the thigh by an Indian while he was 
with a surveying party in Kentucky. He 
lived fifteen years after, but it finally 
caused his death. His son Jacob was the 
father of Rezin H. Neither this John 



222 



EARL? SETTLERS OP 



nor Jacob ever came to Sangamon county. 
Rezin H. was married in his native coun- 
ty, July 27, 1830, to Abigail D. Constant. 
On the 9th of September following they 
started west with the family of his father- 
in-law who was also his uncle, Isaac 
Constant and arrived in Springfield Oct. 
7, 1830, just in time to experience all the 
hardships connected with the " deep 
snow. " R. H. Constant enlisted at 
Springfield, June 10, 1832,111 Capt. Jesse 
Claywell's company, Col. James Collins' 
regiment, and Gen. James D. Henry's 
Brigade of 111. Vol. Inf. He was com- 
missioned Lieut., and was in the battle of 
Wisconsin, and commanded his company 
at the battle of Bad Axe, August 5, 1832, 
which terminated the Black Hawk war. 
Mr. Constant was one of the representa- 
tives of Sangamon county in the legisla- 
ture of Illinois for 1846 and '47. They 
had eight children in Sangamon county, 
namely 

SARAH A., born Jan. n, 1831, mar- 
ried in Sangamon county to Henry B. 
Grubb. They have five children, RICH- 
ARD, CATHARINE, ROBERT, 
GEORGE and HARLAND, and live in 
Springfield. 

AMANDA, born Feb. n, 1833, mar ' 
ried Charles Dougherty. See his name, 
She died, leaving three children. 

AMY, born Oct. 10, 1834, died in San- 
gamon county, July 25, 1852. 

ALFRED S., born August 19, 1836, 
married in Sangamon county to Mary E. 
Wilson. They have four living children, 
JAMES R., FRANK, LUCIAN L. 
and HARRY W. Alfred S. Constant 
enlisted July 25, 1862, in Co. I, i I4th 111. 
Inf., for three years. Served until Jan. 
16, 1863, when he was discharged on ac- 
count of physical disability. He resides 
near Barclay. 

ELIZABETH P., born March 15, 
1839, married in Sangamon county to 
Nmian M. Taylor. See his name. 

THOMAS S., born April 30, 1841, 
died in Sangamon county, March 26, 

'857; 

GEORGE M., born Jan. 31, 1844, en- 
listed at Springfield, June, 1862, for three 
months, in the 7oth 111. Vol. Inf. Served 
full time, and was honorably discharged 
with the regiment. He was married to 
Margaret E. Bates. They have two 



children, CRESSEY and PEARL, and 
reside at Mason City, 111. 

MART C., born April 22, 1846, mar- 
ried in Sangamon county to David A. 
Taylor. See his name. They live near 
Gibson, Ford county. 

Mrs. Abigail D. Constant died August 
1 1, 1846, and Rezin H. Constant was mar- 
ried Sept. 27, 1847,10 Mrs. Mary L. Har- 
bert, whose maiden name was Halbert. 
They had three children 

CORDELIA P., born April i, 1849, 
in Sangamon county, married there to 
Dr. Hamilton R. Riddle. See his name. 

I REN A, born Sept. 7, 1851, in San- 
gamon county, married Dr. Isaac H. Tay- 
lor. See his name. 

SABRA G., born April 5, 1853, in 
Sangamon county, married Feb. 21, 1872, 
to Russel O. Riddle. See his name. 

Mrs. Mary L. Constant died May 18, 
1863, and Rezin H. Constant resides in 
Clear Lake township, near Barclay. 

CONSTANT, JOHN/ bom 
Sept. 13,1781, in a fort or picketed station 
in Clarke county, Ky. He was married 
March 1 1 , 1802, to Susan Edminston, who 
was bornJuly 27, 1783. They had eleven 
children in Clarke county, Ky., three of 
whom died young, and the family moved 
in company with Robert Cass and family 
to Sangamon county, 111., arriving Oct. 7, 
1826, at Buffalo Hart Grove. Of their 
eight children 

MIRIAM, born Dec. 6, 1802, married 
in Kentucky, August 25, 1825, to Nathan- 
iel Massey, and came with her parents to 
Sangamon county. They had one child, 
SUSAN, that died at fourteen years. 
Mrs. Massey married John Sinclair. See 
his name, with the C or r ell family. 

JOHN W., born Oct. 29, 1804, in 
Clarke county, Ky., married there, Aug. 
i, 1826, to Lucinda Cass, and moved to 
Sangamon county with his father in the 
fall of that year. Thev had four children : 
ARMINTA J., born 'August 6, 1827, in 
Sangamon county, married Horace B. 
Enos. See his name. JOHN T., born 
Feb. 13, 1830, married April 16, 1854, to 
Elizabeth C. Burns. They had six child- 
ren, two of whom died under three years. 
MATTIE s., ROBERT F., EMMA M. and 
CORA K. reside with their parents at Buf- 
falo Hart Station. ZACARIAH, born 
August i, 1832, died Oct. 31, 1856. 
WM. R., born Sept. 26, 1833, enlisted 



SAN GAM ON COUNTY. 



223 



August, 1862, for three years, in Co. A., 
73d 111. Inf. He had two fingers shot 
from his right hand at the battle of Stone's 
river. Served to the end of the rebellion, 
and was honorably discharged with his 
regiment. He was married March 14, 
1867, to Mary A. Perry. They have two 
children, and reside near Sabetha, Nemaha 
county, Kan. Mrs. Lucinda Constant died 
Feb. 23, 1836. and John W. Constant was 
married March 22, 1838, to Susan Grove. 
They had one child, ADAM H., born 
April 26, 1839, enlisted July 26, 1862, in 
Co. I, i i4th 111. Inf., for three years. 
Served full term, and was honorably dis- 
charged August 8, 1865. He was married 
August 26, 1862, (one month after he en- 
listed), to Mary F. Greening. They had 
three children. ULYSSES GKANT died 
young. ALFRED H. and GERSHOM K. 
live with their parents, three miles east of 
Buffalo Hart Station. John W. Constant 
died August 29, 1838, eight months before 
the birth of his son, Adam H. His wid- 
ow resides with her son, Adam H. 

JACOB D., born Oct. 15, 1807, in 
Clarke county, Ky., married April 4, 1832, 
in Sangamon county, to Sarah Correll. 
They had four living children. LOUISA 
J., born Feb. 18, 1833, married Geoi'ge 
McDaniel. See his name. MARY E., 
born August 8, 1834, died March 23, 1851. 
HARRIET L., born Dec. 31, 1835, tlied 
Mav 26, 1855. SUSAN, born June 20, 
1837, marr i ef i Augustus Bruce; had three 
children. HELEN died in her third year. 
ADELAIDE and WILLIAM reside with their 
parents, at Corinne, Box Elder county, 
Utah. Mrs. Sarah Constant died Feb. 8, 
1842, and Jacob D. Constant married Han- 
nah Garretson. They had two children. 
ANN E., born Sept. 20, 1844, married 
Eleazer Tuttle, have two children, and 
live in Atlanta. THOMAS, born Jan. 
19, 1846, lives with Robert McDaniel. 
Jacob D. Constant died Oct. 19, 1846, and 
Mrs. Hannah Constant died Oct. 22, 1850, 
both in Buffalo Hart Grove. 

MAR(rERY, born March 20, 1810, in 
Clarke county, Ky., married to Isaac 
Dawson, and died without children, Feb., 
1845, in Sangamon county. 

HARRIET L., born "Dec. 22, 1811, in 
Clarke county, Ky., married in Sangamon 
county, Aug. 13, 1829, to Isaac L. Skin- 
ner. They had one child, SALLY, 
born Jan. 10, 1831, (in time of the " deep 



snow.") She went to Clark county, Ky., 
on a visit, and was there married, Feb. 6, 
1851, to Henry Hall. They had two 
children. Mrs. Hall died May 29, 1860, 
at Kankakee. BELLE and ISAAC N. Hall 
reside with their father at Momence, Kan- 
kakee county, 111. Isaac L. Skinner went 
to Kentucky to visit his father, and died 
there Aug. 26, 1831. His widow married 
in Sangamon county, Nov. H, 1838, to 
James W. Langston. See his name. 

THOMAS E., born Nov. 15, 1813, in 
Kentucky, died in Sangamon county Sept. 
9, 1830. ' 

WILL I AM A., born Jan. 29, 1816, in 
Clarke county, Ky., married in Sangamon 
county, March, 1842, to Mary A. Starr. 
They had seven children. JOHN E., 
born March 29, 1843, enlisted at Spring- 
field, 111., July 20, 1861, for three years, in 
what became Co. B, nth Mo. Inf.; re- 
enlisted as a veteran in same company and 
regiment, Jan. i, 1864, and was honorably 
discharged Jan. 15, 1866. He was married 
Jan. 15, 1871, to Hester F. King, have one 
child, EARL, and live near Buffalo* Hart 
station. HARRISON CLAY, born 
Sept. 14, 1844, married Nov. 12, 1867, to 
Mary E. Enos. They have one child, 
CHARLES EDWARD, and reside one mile 
east of Buffalo Hart station. ALLEN 
S., born Aug. 7, 1846, enlisted May 3, 
1864, in Co. I, 1 33d 111. Inf., for one hun- 
dred days, and was drowned July, 1864, 
at Rock Island, while bathing in the 
Mississippi river. EMMA, born Aug. 
12, 1848, ALICE, born Dec. i, 1850, re- 
side with their mother. HARVEY, 
born July 14, 1853, died Oct. 9, 1860. 
WILLIAM T., born Oct. 13, 1855, re- 
sides with his mother. William A. Con- 
stant died Aug. 15, 1855, and his widow 
married March, 1857, to Casper Byerline. 
They have two children, CHARLES F. 
and NOAH, and reside one mile east of 
Buffalo Hart station. 

ELIZA J., born Oct. 23, 1821, died 
Oct. 19, 1837. 

John Constant died Nov. 18, 1835, and 
his widow, Susan Constant, died March 
1 8, 1864, both in Sangamon county. 

CONSTANT, ISAAC, brothcr 
of Thomas, Abigail, John and Jacob. He- 
was born April 3, 1789, in Clarke county, 
Ky.; was married July 4, 1811, in the 
same county, to Amy Dean. They had 
eight children in Kentucky, one of whom 



32 4 



EARLY SETTLERS OF 



died there. The family moved to Sanga- 
mon county, 111., arriving Oct. 7, 1830, in 
what is now Williams township. Of their 
seven children 

JOHN, born July 7, 1812, in Ken- 
tucky, died in Sangamon county Sept. 20, 

iS35- 

REBECCA, born Aug. 21, 1813, in 

Kentuckv, died in Sangamon county Nov. 
18, 1832.' 

ABIGAIL D., born May 3, 1815, in 
Kentucky, married Rezin H. Constant. 
See his name. 

MART A., born Dec. 23, 1816, in 
Kentucky, married in Sangamon county 
to Miletus W. Ellis. See his name. 

GEORGE W., born Oct. 23, 1818, in 
Clarke county, Ky., married in Sangamon 
county, 111., Nov. 26, 1840, to Martha B. 
Stewart. They had three children in 
Sangamon county. WILLIAM S. mar- 
ried Parthenia Bates. They have one 
child, and live two miles northwest of 
Williamsville. JAMES H. married 
Mary Keagle. They have two living 
children, WILLIAM and LUCY, and live two 
and a half miles northwest of Williams- 
ville. MARY A. married March 29, 
1871, to James H. Groves, and reside two 
miles east of Williamsville. Mrs. Martha 
B. Constant died June i, 1850. G. W. 
Constant was married Oct. 7, 1852, to 
Mary W. Stapleford. She was born in 
Milford, Kent county, Del., and came to 
Springfield Oct. 14, 1836, in company 
with her brother-in-law, Benjamin S. 
Clements, who was the first Mayor of 
Springfield. George W. Constant and 
wife reside at Williamsville. 

A VERT G., born June 8, 1821, in 
Kentucky, married in Sangamon county 
to Louisa Fisher. They had six children. 
JULIA, the third child, married James 
Bates. See his name. ELLEN and 
ALBERT died young. CHARLES A. 
lives .in Springfield. ISAAC F. and 
A VERY live with their mother. Averv 
G. Constant died March 6, 1858, and his 
widow resides at Williamsville. 

.SAM TEL D., born Feb. 21, 1823, 
died, aged six years, in Kentucky. 

JAMES, born July 12, 1825, in Ken- 
tucky, died in Sangamon county March 2, 
1842. 

"*"Tsaac Constant died Dec. 25, 1854, and 
his widow died July 7, 1860, both in Wil- 
liams township. 



COOPER, A M BROSE, brother 
to Meredith, was born Dec. 18, 1796, in 
Botetourt county, Va., and taken by his 
parents to Smith county, Tenn., where he 
was married to Mary Kilbraith. They 
had two children in Tenn., and in 1821 
moved to St. Clair county, 111., where they 
had one child, and moved to Sangamon 
county in the fall of 1823, and settled two 
miles east of the present town -of Sher- 
man, where they had one child. Of their 
four children 

HUGH L., born in Tennessee, and 
married in Sangamon county, to Elizabeth 
Taylor. They moved to Iowa, where he 
died, leaving a widow and five children. 
One of them married and remained in 
Iowa. The mother and four children 
moved to Piatt county, 111. Two of the 
sons married there, and moved to Kansas. 
The widow and two children live in 
Piatt county. 

WILLIAM, born in Tennessee, 
raised in Sangamon county, went to Cal- 
ifornia, and was married there to Sarah 
Ide. He came back to Sangamon coun- 
ty, and after a stay of some years, started 
on his return to California with his family. 
He died at sea, one day's sail from New 
Orleans, leaving a widow and two child- 
ren. ANN E. is married and lives at 
Lebanon, Linn county, Oregon. ALICE 
and her mother reside at Red Bluff, 
Tehama county, Cal. 

ANN, born in St. Clair county, married 
Samuel Yocom. See his name. 

MEREDITH C., born May 29, 1824, 
in Sangamon county, married in 1846 to 
Frances A. Chapman. They have five 
children, and live in Williams township. 

Mrs. Mary Cooper died Oct. 17, 1827. 
Ambrose Cooper was a soldier from San- 
gamon county in the Black Hawk war, 
in 1831, and when the campaign was over 
he went to the Galena lead mines, remain- 
ing until the spring of 1832, where he en- 
listed in another campaign against the 
Indians, and was in the battles that 
finally subdued them. He returned to 
Sangamon countv, and was married in 
April, 1836, to Eliza Wilson. They had 
seven children, four of whom died young. 

STEPHEN L., born May 6, 1840, in 
Sangamon county, enlisted in Springfield, 
July 20, 1861, for three years, in what be- 
came Co. B, nth Mo. Inf., served full 
term, and was honorably discharged Aug. 



SANGAMON COUNTY. 



225 



i, 1864. He was married Oct. 11, 1865, to 
Rebecca Summers, who was born Nov. 
5, 1842, in Bracken county, Ky. They 
have two children, RUFUS and AL- 
VEY, and live near Dawson. 

HENRY, born Aug. 12, 1842, enlisted 
in Springfield July 20, 1861, in what be- 
came Co. B, nth Mo. Inf., for three 
years; re-enlisted as a veteran January, 
1864, and was honorably discharged Jan. 
20, 1866, and resides with his parents. 

DABNEY, born Sept. 2, 1846, lives 
with his parents. 

Ambrose Cooper and wife are now 
(1874) both living one mile south of Bar- 
clay. 

COOPER, MEDEDITH,born 
April 7, 1792, in Botetourt county, Va. 
His parents moved to Smith county, 
Tenn., when he was a young man. Polly 
Witcher was born July 21, 1794, in Cocke 
county, Tenn., and her parents moved to 
Smith county when she was but fifteen 
years of age. Meredith Cooper and 
Polly Witcher were there married, June 16, 
1812. In September of that year Mr. 
Cooper enlisted for three months in a 
Tennessee regiment, and served four 
months against the Indians in Alabama, 
who were the allies of the British govern- 
ment, with whom we were then at war. 
Mr. and Mrs. Cooper had two children in 
Tennessee. In the spring of 1817 Mr. 
Cooper went to St. Clair county, 111., 
raised a crop, and returning, brought his 
family in the fall of that year. The mov- 
ing was done on two horses, as there were 
no wagon roads; and if there had been, 
they were unable to own a wagon. As a 
specimen of real life at that time, I give 
the statement of Mrs. Cooper, now quite 
aged, that she rode one horse, carried a 
child in her arms, and with a feather bed 
lashed to the saddle behind, wended her 
way, while her husband carried the other 
child, with all the household goods and 
farm implements he could put on the other 
horse. Three of their children were born 
in St. Clair county. The fame of the rich 
soil of the San-ga-ma country was known 
in St. Clair county, and Mr. and Mrs. 
Cooper resolved to emigrate thither. This 
time they put all their worldly goods and 
five children in an ox-cart, and arrived in 
the autumn of 1823 in what is now called 
Fancy Creek township, near the present 
29 



town of Sherman, where they had seven 
children. Of all their children 

MARTHA, born Oct. 26, 1814, in 
Tennessee, married in Sangamon county 
to William Branson. See his name. 

JAMES W., born Sept. 16, 1816, in 
Tennessee, was married in Sangamon 
county to Zarilda Taylor. They had four 
children. MELISSA married Charles 
Wood. They have one child, and live 
near Edinburg, 111. PRISCILLA mar- 
ried James Wright. They have four 
children, and live near Riverton. JAS. 
M. married Ellen McGinnis. They have 
two children, and live three miles south- 
east of Williamsville. AMBROSE died 
Jan. 27, 1874, in Williams township. 
James W. Cooper went to Texas, hoping 
to improve his health, and died there in 
1853. His widow died the next year in 
Sangamon county. 

MINERVA, born Sept. 21, 1818, in 
St. Clair county, 111., was married in San- 
gamon county to Jesse Yocom. See his 
name. 

MARGARET y.,born Sept. i, 1820, 
in St. Clair county, was married in Sanga- 
mon county to George W. Yocom. See 
his name. Three of their children, 
NETTIE, CLARA and MINNIE, died 
in the winter of 1876. 

MARY, born July 28, 1822, in St. Clair 
county, was married in Sangamon county, 
111., Jan. 30, 1851, to John Wilson, who 
was born Feb. i, 1821, in Dumfriesshire, 
Scotland. They have three children, 
ANN, JAMES M. and THOMAS H., 
and reside one and a half miles east of 
Riverton. 

NANCY, born May 7, 1825, in Sanga- 
mon county, married John Keagle. They 
have seven children. CHARLOTTE 
married Nathan Hussy. See his name. 
SIDNEY married Samuel Smith. She 
died, leaving one child, LETITIA, who 
married Silas Skinner and died. JOSEPH, 
SUSAN, HARLAN P. and HAR- 
RISA B., reside with their parents in 
Logan county, 111. 

REBECCA, born Aug. u, 1827, in 
Sangamon county, married James Mills. 
She died Oct., 1871, in Sangamon county. 
James Mills died in the spring of 1874, in 
Moultrie county. Of their children: 
MARY F. married Samuel Harsh, and 
resides near Sullivan. LOUISA and 



226 



EARLY SETTLERS OF 



EMMA reside near Sullivan, Moultrie 
county, 111. 

AMBROSE, born Sept. 13, 1829, in 
Sangamon county, married Dorothy 
Keagle. They have five children, MARY 
J., JOHN M., AUGUSTA, GEORGE 
E. L. and JAMES W., and reside near 
Brownsville, Mo. 

DA VID D., born August 10, 1831, in 
Sangamon county, ma.rried Juliet With- 
row. They have seven children, SUSIE, 
JAMES A., DOUGLAS, LEE, AU- 
GUSTA and EUGENE, and reside one 
and a half miles east of Sherman. 

ROBERT, born July 8, 1834, in San- 
gamon county, was married Feb. 9, 1869, 
to Lavina Garner, who was born in Wash- 
ington county, Indiana. They live near 
Sherman, Sangamon county, 111. 

MEREDITH, Jun., born Sept. u, 
1836, in Sangamon county, was married 
in March, 1873, to Mrs. Emma Jones, 
whose maiden- name was Watson. They 
have one child, ANNA LEONORA, 
and reside in east St. Louis, 111. 

LOUISA, born Feb. 3, 1839, in San- 
gamon county, was married Dec. 26, 1855, 
to Isaac M. Raynolds, who was born in 
Pike county, Ohio. They have five child- 
ren, CHARLES M.JAMES A., POL- 
LY E., EDWIN S. and BERTHA M., 
and reside one and a half miles east of 
Sherman. The place was for many years 
a trading post for the Indians, and from 
about 1832 to 1856 was the family home- 
stead of the Coopers. Some of the 
younger members of the family i - emember 
a visit to their house by Abraham Lincoln 
on business. A large back log had just 
been put on. It was cut from the fork of 
a tree, and one limb projected quite a dis- 
tance up the chimney. The children 
were greatly amused to witness Mr. Lin- 
coln's interest in trying to determine how 
they brought it through the door and put 
it in the fireplace. Meredith Cooper, 
Sen., died Nov. i, 1870, in Williams 
township, and his widow resides with 
their daughter, Mrs. Raynolds. 

COOPER, JOHN, born in 1772, 
married in South Carolina, ai.d seven of 
his children were born there. He moved 
with his family to Jefferson county, Tenn 
Some of his children preceded him to 
Sangamon county. He came with his 
wife Elizabeth, and remaining children, 
about 1822, to what is now Cooper town- 



ship. Nine daughters and three sons 
came to Sangamon county. The follow- 
ing are the names of the daughters, 
with the surnames of the men they 
married 

BETST, Moffit: NANCY, Smith; 
MART, Smith; LTD I A, Moore; 
RACHEL, Bragg; FANNY, Dicker- 
son; LUCY, Mathews; EDITH, Saun- 
ders; and SUSANNAH, Keagle. 

Mrs. Elizabeth Cooper died March 10, 

1845, an d J onn Cooper died April 10, 

1846, both in Cooper township. Of their 
three sons 

COOPER, EP HRI AM, brother 
to Rev. John and Jacob Cooper. He was 
born about 1802. in Jefferson county, 
Tenn., came to Illinois when a young 
man, married, raised a family in Christian 
county, and died there Feb. 20, 1847. 

COOPER, JOHN, was born 
June 3, 1794, in South Carolina, and was 
taken bv his parents to Jefferson county, 
Tenn., where he was married to Susannah 
Peyton, had one child, JULIA G., and 
Mrs. Cooper died. Mr. Cooper was mar- 
ried in the same county to Susannah 
Giger, who was born Sept. 26, 1795, had 
two children in Tennessee, and moved to 
Sangamon county, 111., arriving April 2, 
1820, and settled two miles north of where 
Rochester now stands and one year later 
moved to what is now Cooper township, 
south of the Sangamon river. They had 
nine children in Sangamon county. Of 
all his children 

JULIA G., born Feb. i, 1814, mar- 
ried in Sangamon county to John Weicli. 
He died in 1840, leaving three children. 
JOHN <C. died, aged seventeen. WIL- 
LIAM H. married Harriet Cooper. He 
enlisted in 1861 in Co. C, 27th 111. Inf., 
for three years, re-enlisted as a veteran 
Jan. i, 1864, and was severely wounded. 
He died January, 1870, and Mrs. Welch 
died later. They left two children. 
JAMES S. WELCH is a practicing phy- 
sician at Sullivan, Moultrie county, 111. 
Mrs. Julia G. Welch married Chesley 
Dickerson. They had one child. SUSAN- 
XAH married David Clark, and resides 
at Breckenridge. Chesley Dickerson died 
in 1846, and Mrs. Julia G. Dickerson 
married Daniel D. Johnson. See his 
name. They i - eside near Breckenridge. 

Children of John Cooper by the second 
marriasre 



SANG AM ON COUNT*. 



227 



MARY A., born Aug. 18, 1817, in 
Tennessee, married in Sangamon county 
to Lewis Churchill. See his name, 

WILE}' 6 1 ., born July 30, 1819, in 
Tennessee, married in Sangamon county 
to Eliza Clawson, and live in Shelbyville. 

LEWIS W., born Aug. 5, 1822,^11 
Sangamon county, married to Elizabeth 
Todd. He died July 19, 1872. 

BENJAMIN H., born Nov. 1 1, 1824, 
died Aug. i, 1841, aged seventeen. 

PATRICK, born June 29, 1826, in 
Sangamon county, married Elizabeth 
Firey, have four children, JOHN H., 
JACOB P., MARY E. and LAURA 
B., and reside near Edinburg, Christian 
county, 111. 

JAMES M., born Aug. 3, 1828, in 
Sangamon county, married April, 1851, 
to Mary A. Sutcliffe. They had three 
children, and all died under five years. 
Mrs. Cooper died Dec. 29, 1858. James M. 
Cooper was married Feb. 14, 1860, at 
Rochester, to Susan Stier, who was born 
May 19, 1833, in Harrison county, Va. 
They had four children, EMELINE F., 
IDA B., JAMES F. and MARY 
MAUD, and reside in Cooper township, 
fives miles east of Rochester, on a part of 
the farm where his parents settled in 1821, 
and where Mr. Cooper was born. 

Ml VERY A y., born June 12, 1830, 
died in Sangamon county March 4, 1842. 

SARAH A., born Nov. 2, 1832, in 
Sangamon county, married William T. 
Sudduth. See his name. 

JOHN S., born Aug. 14, 1836, in 
Sangamon county, married to Minerva 
Ross, who was born in Ohio They have 
three children, AMY, SARAH ELIZA 
and ANNIE, and reside at Shelbyville, 
Illinois. 

GEORGE G., born June 8, 1839, in 
Sangamon county, died Nov. 10, 1842. 

Mrs. Susannah Cooper died Sept. 21, 

1859, and Rev. John Cooper died January, 

1860, both in Cooper township. He was 
a local minister in the M. E. church, and 
preached almost as regularly as the minis- 
ters in the traveling connection. He sol- 
emnized the marriage of many couple 
among the early settlers. He was a jus- 
tice of the peace and one of the county 
commissioners for many years, and when 
the township organization was affected 
his name was given to the township in 



which he lived as a mark of respect to his 
memory. 

COOPER, JACOB, was born 
Dec. 18, 1800, in Jefferson county, Tenn., 
was married there to Anna Walden. One 
child was born in Tennessee, and they 
came to Sangamon county, 111., with his 
brother, Rev. John Cooper, in 1819. 
Their second child was born in Sangamon 
county. One child died, and Mrs. Anna 
Cooper died Feb. 22, 1830. Jacob Cooper 
was married to Jane Kelly, daughter of 
William Kelly, of Springfield. They 
had five children. Of his children 

JOHN WESLETvfas born Dec. 18, 
1822, in Sangamon county ; went to Mis- 
souri when grown, and married there to 
Anna Waldron. He died there, leaving 
a widow and two children. 

Children of the second marriage were 

MELCINA A., born Nov. 22, 1830, 
in Sangamon county, married March 3, 

1848, to Milton D. McCoy. See his name. 

MEL VINA C., born Aug. 27, 1832, 

in Sangamon county, married Dec. 27, 

1849, to Benjamin F. Stokes. See his 
name. She died Sept. 15, 1850. 

ELZIRAH C., born May 29, 1834, 
married Benjamin F. Stokes. See his 
name. 

ALMARINDA, born June 26, 1836, 
married Joseph A. Waddell. They have 
six children, and reside in Rochester town- 
ship. 

WILLIAM JAMEISON, born Jan. 
4, 1844, in Sangamon county, married 
Dec. 7, 1865, to Mattie S. West, of 
Rochester. They have two children, 
NORA BELL and MATTIE. Mrs. 
Mattie Cooper died April 25, 1873, and 
Wm. J. Cooper married Dec. 31, 1874, *x> 
Leonora O'Leary, of East. St. Louis. W. 
J. Cooper resides two miles south of 
Rochester. 

Jacob Cooper died Aug. 22, 1864, and 
Mrs. Jane Cooper died Aug. 24, 1864, 
both in Sangamon county, 111. 

COOK, ELI, was born Nov. 4, 
1809, in Butler county, Ohio, and married 
there, April 7, 1829. to Sarah Jones, who 
was born Feb. 2, 1809, in Preble county, 
Ohio. They moved to Indiana, and from 
there to Effingham county, 111., thence to 
Springfield, in 1837. Of their nine child- 
ren, two died young, and of the other 
seven 



228 



EARLY SETTLERS OF 



E ME LINE, born March 7, 1832, in 
Indiana, was married in Springfield, July 
4, 1850, to William Morgan. Their only 
child, FRANKLIN, is a printer, and 
lives in Springfield. She married for a 
second time, April 22, 1857, to John Fuller. 
They have one child, CLARENCE. 
Mrs. Emeline Fuller is now a widow, and 
lives in Springfield. 

AD ALINED born Sept. 6, 1833, in 
Efringham county, 111., was married in 
Springfield, Oct. 28, 1850, to George 
Fessenden, a native of Boston, Mass. 
They have three children. ASA, a tele- 
graph operator, lives in Springfield, 111. 
JULIA and ISABEL, the two latter re- 
side with their mother, in Chicago. 

ANGELINE, born Sept. 6, 1833, in 
Effingham county, 111., was married in 
Springfield to James W. Watson. See 
his name. 

H. FRANKLIN, born Sept. 14, 1836, 
in Butler county, Ohio, was married in 
Springfield, Dec. 23, '1858, to Lucinda 
Parker, adopted daughter of J. E. Roll. 
They had one living child, LEONARD, 
and Mrs. Lucinda Cook died Sept. 10, 
1864. Mr. Cook was married in Spring- 
field, Aug. i, 1872, to Rebecca E. Baird, 
a native of New Jersey. H. Franklin 
Cook is a commercial traveler, with resi- 
dence in Springfield. 

MART E., born May 20, 1833, in San- 
gamon county, was married in Spring- 
field, Sept. 24, 1863, to Charles H. Ed- 
mands, who was born in Charlestown, 
Mass., Jan. 10, 1832. They had six child- 
ren; four died young. FREDERICK D. 
and GEORGE A. reside with their pa- 
rents, in Springfield, 111. Hr. Edmands 
is a manufacturer and dealer in stoves and 
tinware. 

^ JULIA R., born Dec. 16, 1839, in 
Springfield, was married Feb. 21, 1861, to 
James Gormley, of New Jersey. They 
have three children, DORA, MAY and 
AUSTIN, and live in Virginia City, 
Montana. 

ELB RIDGE C., born June 29, 
1841, in Springfield, is married, and lives 
in Cicero, Indiana. 

Mr. Eli Cook was a hatter by trade, 
and followed that business in Springfield. 
He was Mayor of the city three terms, in 
1846, '47 and '48. In 1849 he left for the 
Pacific coast, and died in Nevada City, 



California, March 25, 1853. His widow 
resides in Springfield. 

CORRELL, LEVI, was born 
June 22, 1767, in New Jersey. When a 
young man he went to Kentucky, and 
was married Nov. 6, 1794, in Bath county, 
to Mary Hicklin. They had eleven 
children, four of whom died young. Of 
the other seven 

JOSEPH, born Oct. 8, 1795, died 
when a young man. 

ELIZABETH, born Jan. 18, 1797, 
in Harrison county, Ky., married March 
23, 1820, to Jonathan McDaniel. See his 
name. 

HUGH, born July 6, 1804, in Harrison 
county, Ky. He was married May 2, 
1826, in that county, to Mary Y. Sinclair. 
They had two children in Kentucky, and 
moved to Sangamon county, 111., arriving 
in the fall of 1830 in what is now Mechan- 
icsburg township, where they had four 
children. Of their six children, ELIZA- 
BETH, born May 9, 1827, in Kentucky, 
married in Sangamon county to Robert 
P. McDaniel. See his name. He died, 
and she married James H. McDaniel. 
See his name. CYRUS, born July 16, 
1829, in Kentucky, came with his parents 
to Sangamon county, married at Concord, 
Morgan county, to Mary Brown. Cyrus 
Correll died Dec. 23, 1868, in Sangamon 
county, leaving one child, CORA, residing 
with her mother, who is the wife of Pierce 
Kiser, and lives in Mechanicsburg. COR- 
DELIA, born Feb. 23, 1833, in Sanga- 
mon county, married Feb. 18, 1858, to 
John M. Carpenter, who was born March 
26, 1829, in Butler county, O., and came 
to Sangamon county in 1850. They have 
three children, WINFORD H., DORA B. and 
MINNIE c., and reside three and a half 
miles northeast of Buffalo. DAVID, 
born March 29, 1836, in Sangamon coun- 
ty, is unmarried, and resides two and a 
half miles south of Dawson. STEPHEN, 
born May 12, 1838, in Sangamon county, 
married March 12, 1868, to Ann M. Sem- 
ple, who was born Dec. 29, 1846, in Ire- 
land. They have two children, WILLIE 
and MARY D., and reside two and a half 
miles south of Dawson, at the family 
homestead. MARY, born Sept. 7, 1840, 
in Sangamon county, married Mar., 1864, 
to Jesse Wheelin. Mr. Wheelin died Feb. 
i, 1871, and Mrs. W. died Aug. 21, 1871. 
Their only living child, CYRUSE., born July 



SANGAMON COUNTT. 



229 



8, 1865, in Sangamon county, resides at the 
family homestead, two and a half miles south 
of Dawson. Hugh Correll died June I, 
1854, and his widow died Sept. 7, 1874, 
both where they settled in 1832, on the farm 
two and a half miles south of Dawson. 

MARTHA, born March 13, 1806, in 
Kentucky, married Hugh McDonald. 
They had five children and moved to 
Texas, where Mr. McDonald and two 
sons, JAMES and THOMAS, and a 
daughter, MARTHA, died. Mrs. Mar- 
tha McDonald returned, and died in San- 
gamon county. MARY E. married Mr. 
Glider, and lives in Decatur, Texas. 
SUSAN died at Quincy 111., September, 
1875. ANNA resides with her uncle, 
Thomas Correll. 

THOMAS, born Jan. 18, 1808, in Har- 
rison county, Ky. He was there married. 
Oct. 7, 1830, to Sally McDaniel. (She 
was born Aug. 28, i8n,in Clarke county, 
Ky.) They moved immediately after 
they were married to Sangamon county, 
111., arriving in the fall of 1830111 Mechan- 
icsburg township, where they had eight 
children. Of their children, M. MAR- 
GARET, born July 13, 1832, married 
Edwin Tomlin. See his name. WIL- 
LIAM FLETCHER, born Oct. 16,1833, 
married Feb. 25, 1868, to E. Fannie Pur- 
viance. They have two children, FRANK 
and KATE, and reside in Macon county, 
111., two and a half miles southeast of Illi- 
opolis. D. SIMPSON, born Sept. 3, 
1835, married Feb. 25, 1874, to Lizzie 
Peclen, who was born Oct. 19, 1855, in 
Morgan county, O. They live two miles 
south of Illinois. WARNER H., born 
May i, 1837, married Dec. 20, 1866, to 
Anna Simpson, who died in 1867, and he 
married March, 1871, to Lizzie St. Clair. 
They have three children, THOMAS, SAM- 
UEL and ESSIE MAY, and live near Pleas- 
ant Plains, 111. CORNELIUS, born 
May 19, 1839, married March 12, 1863, to 
Carrie A. Cass. She was born Dec., 1845, 
and was a daughter of William Riley 
Cass. They had two children, FLORA c. 
and VIRGIL, and Mrs. Correll died 
April i, 1866. Mr. Correll was mar- 
ried Nov. 16, 1869, to Lidie N. Davies, in 
Philadelphia. She was born there May 
30, 1843, of Scotch and English parents, 
and graduated in 1865 in one of the insti- 
tutions of learning in her native city. They 
had three children, FANNY MARY, JESSIE 



NEWTON and HEBER WILBER; the latter 
died in infancy, and Mrs. Lidie N. Correll 
died March 23, 1874. Cornelius Correll 
is a graduate in the Law department of 
Michigan University, Ann Arbor. He is 
now a member of the firm of Correll & Co., 
druggists, Springfield. JOHN, born June 
5, 1841, resides with his parents. LEVI 
S., born Aug. 14, 1843. He is a graduate 
of the Medical department of Ann Arbor 
University, Michigan. He is member of 
the firm of Correll & Co., composed of 
the brothers Cornelius, John and Levi S., 
druggists, Springfield. Levi S. was'mar- 
ried July 8, 1874, in Springfield, to Lou 
Freeman. They reside in Springfield. 
FANNIE, born August 22, 1846, in San- 
gamon county, married Oct. 29, 1869, to 
Isaac Funk. They have two children, 
ARTHUR and MABEL; the latter died in in- 
fancy. They reside at Funk's Grove, 
near Shirley, McLean county. Thomas 
Correll and his wife reside within one mile 
of where they settled in 1830. It is two 
and a half miles southeast of Dawson. 

Thomas Correll says* that he raised a 
crop of corn in Kentucky, during the 
summer of 1830, and sold it for $75.00 
He spent $5 oo in getting married, and 
brought the remaining $70.00 with him. 
He fed his father's stock during the winter 
of 1830 and '31, (being the winter of the 
" deep snow,") for which he received $30, 
making an even $100. With that money 
he came to Springfield and entered his 
first eighty acres of land. Having secured 
his land, he had not a cent of money to 
pay a hotel bill, and a man by the name of 
Constant hearing him relate his situation, 
kept him over night and trusted him for 
it. The ferryman at the Sangamon river 
took him over on the same terms, and that 
was the way he laid the foundation for his 
home. When they commenced keeping 
house they had neither a table nor chair. 
He made a shelf on the wall, and from 
that the first meal was taken standing. 
His wife's uncle, Henry McDaniel, was 
with them, and he praised her cooking, to 
keep her courage up. Mr. Correll, dur- 
ing the summer of 1831, rode eight miles 
to help David Riddle harvest his wheat, 
and returned home every night. He re- 
ceived sixty-two and a half cents per day 
for his labor. The first wheat he raised 
for himself he harvested with a reap hook, 
or sickle, tramped it out with horses, 



2 3 



EARL? SETTLERS OF 



hauled it to St. Louis, one hundred miles, 
and sold it for fifty cents per bushel. As 
he accumulated some money, he bought 
fat hogs, and drove them to St. Louis. 
One year he made some money, and feel- 
ing liberal, he overpaid some of the men 
who helped him. The next year he lost 
all, and was thirty-seven and a half cents 
short in money to pay his hired help. 
One of those who had been overpaid by 
him the year before, would not suffer any 
reduction, and he had to raise the money 
in some other way. He thought that was 
not very encouraging, but his success in 
life since, makes the contrast very strik- 
ing. 

SUSANNAH, born Oct. 9, 1809, in 
Kentucky, married Jacob Morgan. See 
his name. 

SARAH, born Dec. 31, 1811, in Ken- 
tucky, married Jacob Constant. See his 
name. 

Mrs. Mary H. Correll died July TO, 
1816, in Kentucky, and Levi Correll was 
married July 17, 1817, to Mrs. Elizabeth 
Sinclair, whose maiden name was Phillips. 
She was born July 27, 1807, in Northum- 
berland county, Va. Her father died 
when she was quite young, and her 
mother, with her son and daughter, moved 
to Harrison county, Ky. Mr. and Mrs. 
Correll had two children in Kentucky, 
and moved to Sangamon county, 111., ar- 
riving in the fall of 1830, in what is now 
Mechanicsburg township. Of their two 
children 

WILLIAM, born August 16, 1818, in 
Harrison county, Ky., was married in 
Sangamon county, Dec. 7, 1848, to Per- 
melia A. Simpson. They had three 
children. CYRUS died in infancy. 
HENRY OWEN married Ada Elkin, 
and lives near Mechanicsburg. MARY 
EVA lives with her parents, three miles 
west of Mechanicsburg. William Correll 
says that himself and his half-brother, 
John Sinclair, broke forty acres of prairie 
in 1831, northeast of the old state house 
square, in Springfield. It included the 
land where Everybody's Mill, the jail, 
Opera House and Journal office now 
stand. 

ELIZA, born Dec., 1821, in Kentucky, 
married in Sangamon county to Talbott 
Lyon. They had four children, and Mr. 
Lyon and all the children died. Mrs. 
Lyon married in Sangamon county to 



Gardner Bruce. They reside at Atchison, 
Kansas. Mrs. Elizabeth Correll has two 
children by her first husband, Mr. Sin- 
clair. 

MART }'. Sinclair, born July 27, 
1807, in Northumberland county, Va., 
married Hugh Correll. Sec his name. 

JOHN Sinclair, born in 1808, in 
Virginia, married in Sangamon county 
to Mrs. Miriam Massey, whose maiden 
name was Constant. They had several 
children, and the parents and all except 
two of the children are dead. Their 
daughter, Miriam, married Narcissus 
Rivaud, and reside at Kankakee. John 
Sinclair, Jun., went to South America, 
married a Spanish lady, and resides there. 

Levi Correll died May 2, 1845, and 
Mrs. Elizabeth Correll died Nov. 10, 
1852, both in Sangamon county. 

COUNCIL, DAVID G., was 
born Jan. 15, 1817, in Montgomery county, 
Tenn. Came to what is now Christian 
county, 111.; then to Sangamon county in 
the autumn of 1830. He came to Spring- 
field in 1838, where he was married 
March 28, 1839, to Mary J. Donaldson, 
who was born in Kentucky in 1818. 
They had seven children, namely 

LOUISA, born May 14, 1841, was 
married Dec. 28, 1865, to Jacob S. 
Wright, who was born June n, 1841, in 
Owen county, Ind. They have one child, 
CHARLIE. Jacob S. Wright came to 
Springfield in August, 1866. His father 
was a soldier in the war of 1812; was 
wounded in the head during an engage- 
ment with the Indians, and but for the 
interposition of Tecumseh would have 
been killed. He was made prisoner, taken 
to Sandusky, and retained there until 
exchanged. J. S. Wright enlisted at Lin- 
coln, 111., as a private, in Co. E, yth 111. 
Inf.; served three months, and re-enlisted 
in 1862 in Co. H, io6th 111. Inf.; was at 
the siege and capture of Vicksburg, and 
in the expedition and capture of Little 
Rock, Ark.; served full time, and was 
honorably discharged in 1865, at Spring- 
field, 111., where he now lives. 

WILLIAM M., born Feb. 8, 1843, in 
Springfield, was married Jan. 5, 1864, to 
Mary E. Huffman, who was born May n, 
1845, m Cincinnati, Ohio. Mrs. Mary 
E. Council died Sept. 2, 1871, leaving two 
children, MINNIE and ARTHUR, who 
reside with their father. William M. 



SANGAMON COUNTY. 



2 3 [ 



Council was married June 9, 1875, in 
.Springfield, to Jennie Barkley, who was 
born Sept. i, 1841, in Lafayette, Christian 
county, Ky. W. M. Council lives in 
Springfield. 

ffAMES, born Feb. 9, 1845, '" Spring- 
field, 111., was married there, April 30, 
1860, to Alsinda A. Shawn, who was 
born Sept. 4, 1848, in Newark, Ohio. 
She is a niece of Judge Shawn, of Me- 
nard county. They have two children, 
FRANK A. and FLORENCE A. 
James Council is a contractor and builder, 
;iml resides in Springfield, 111. 

DA \'ID G., Jun., born Dec. 2, 1846, in 
Springfield, was married there, July 15, 
1868, to Mrs. Jennie Kimble, whose 
maiden name was Richmond. She 
was born in 1846, in Painesville, O. 
Thev have one child, OLIVE L., and 
live in Springfield, 111. 

MART E., born June 15, 1851, in 
Springfield, was married there, August 
12, 1869, to Thomas D. Hirst, who was 
born June 7, 1836, in Loudon county Va. 
Thev have two children, EDDIE L. and 
HARRY E. T. D. Hirst is running a 
plaining mill in Clinton, 111., and lives 
there. 

MARTHA J.. born August 2, 1853, 
and 

JOHN 7\ born June 4, 1856, reside 
with their mother. 

When D. G. Council came to Illinois, 
he left five sisters in Tennessee, whom he 
completely lost sight of. He accidentally 
heard that one sister had moved to Marion 
county, 111. He visited her family, and 
after the close of the rebellion he visited 
his old home in Tennessee. He found his 
sisters still residing there with their fami- 
lies. Some of their sons had been in the 
Union army, and others had joined the 
rebels. One of his nephews from Chris- 
tian county, 111., was a prisioner at one 
time, and guarded by another nephew. 
(The boys were own cousins.) Two of 
those who went in the rebel army were 
killed or died in the service, and the re- 
mainder were doing well, and still resided 
in Tennessee. D. G. Council was the 
pioneer of stair building in Springfield, 
and foreman for Hannan & Ragsdale in 
their extensive contracts. He died in 
Springfield, 111., August 28, 1875, and his 
widow resides in the citv. 



COUNCIL, WILLIAM, born 
Oct. i, 1791, near Tarboro, Edgecomb 
county, N. C. He was a brother to Hardy 
Council. About 1800 the family moved 
to Tennessee, thence to Barren county, 
Ky., and from there to White county, 111. 
William Council was there married, Nov., 
1819, to Mary Graves, who was born 
June 15, 1802, in East Tennessee. Thev 
had one child, and moved to Sangamon 
county, arriving in the fall of 1821 north 
of Springfield, and kept a ferry on Sanga- 
mon river near where Carpenter's mill 
now stands. They had nine children in 
Sangamon county, namely 

GEORGE W., born Jan. 2, 1820, in 
White county, 111., married Sept. 28, 1843, 
in Sangamon county, to Jane Mitts. 
They had eleven children, namely : 
WILLIAM C., born Oct. 26, 1844, en- 
listed August, 1862, in Co. C, 114111 111. 
Inf., for three years, served full term, and 
was honorably discharged Aug. 3, 186^. 
He was married April i, 1869, in Illiopo- 
lis, to Melissa A. Meredith, who was born 
June 25, 1849, in Orange county, Ind. 
She died April 29, 1873. He lives three 
miles west of Illiopolis. MARY A. mar- 
ried Charles Sweet, have two children, 
WILLIAM and ANNIE, and live in Topeka, 
Kan. JOHN M., born June 7, 1851, 
married Sept. 21, 1871, in Sangamon 
county, to Elizabeth E. Hay, born June 
9, 1850, in Holmes county, O., have two 
children, FLORA BELLE and ROBERT AR- 
THUR, and live four miles west of Illiopo- 
lis. NELSON L., ELIZABETH, 
CHARLES F., HENRY N., FLORA 
M., EMMA E., GEORGE G. and AN- 
NIE J., live with their parents, four miles 
west of Williamsville. 

MARTHA A., born Jan. 30, 1822, in 
Sangamon county, married Stephen Yo- 
com. See his name. 

SARAH, born Nov. 23, 1826, in San- 
gamon county, resides with her brother, 
Hardy F. M. 

NANCT J., born May 27, 1828, mar- 
ried John Cline. See his name. 

ELIZABETH, born April 3, 1830, 
married Oliver P. Canterbury. See his 
name. 

WILLIAM R., born March 30, 1832-, 
married March 23, 1871, to Nancy E. 
Wigginton, and live in Menard county, 
three and a quarter miles northwest of 
Williamsville. 



232 



EARLY SETTLERS OF 



MART (7., born Feb. 26, 1834, mar- 
ried Dr. Henry Van Metre. See his name. 

NELSON Z., born Jan. 18, 1839, mar- 
ried Mary Lynch. They have seven 
children, and reside in Menard county, 
four miles northwest of Williamsville. 

HARDT F. M., born Feb. 10, 1841, 
enlisted August, 1862, in Co. C, U4th 111. 
Inf., for three years, served full term, and 
was honorably discharged Aug. 3, 1865. 
He was married Feb. 10, 1870, to Charity- 
Ray, who was born in Ohio Jan. 22, 1850. 
They have one living child, OLIVER P., 
and reside at the homestead settled by his 
father in 1821. It is in Fancy Creek 
township, five miles west of Williamsville. 

William Council died July 8, 1846, and 
his wife died Jan. 25, 1869, both in Sanga- 
mon county. 

COUNCIL, HARDY, born 
Sept. 20, 1793, near Tarboro, N. C., was 
taken by his parents to Tennessee, thence 
to Barren county, Ky., and from there to 
White county, near Carmi, 111. He was 
there married, in 1818, to Jane Hanna, 
who was born Feb. 25, 1795, in Kentucky, 
They moved on horseback the next year 
to Sangamon county, 111., arriving in 
August, 1819, in what is now Fancv 
creek township, preceding his brother 
William two years. Mrs. Council car- 
ried a sack of wheat on the horse she 
rode, besides many household implements. 
Mr. Council carried all he could in the 
way of tools and other articles necessary 
for farming. He commenced improve- 
ments by building a camp or rough cabin. 
He was unable to obtain a plow, but being 
anxious to raise some wheat for a begin- 
ning, he took a grubbing hoe, or old fash- 
ioned mattock, and dug up about one acre 
and a half, near the junction between 
prairie and timber, and on the ground 
thus prepared, sowed the wheat brought 
by his wife, and raised a good crop. 
When the land was surveyed and brought 
into market, there was a line between his 
cabin and where he raised his crop of 
wheat. He could only enter one piece, 
and he chose that with the house on it. 
The land where the wheat grew was en- 
tered bv another person, who never culti- 
vated it, but allowed a growth of young 
cottonwood trees to start on it, which has 
made quite a grove, that can be seen for 
several miles; many of the trees are more 
than two feet in diameter each. Mr. 



Council and Robert McClelland came 
together, and they cut an ample supply of 
grass, and stacked it for their horses and 
cattle. They knew nothing of the danger 
of prairie fires, and before they were aware 
of the importance of protecting it, their 
hay was all burned. They kept their 
stock alive by cutting down elm trees, so 
that they could eat the buds. Mr. and 
Mrs. Council had seven sons born at that 
place, two of whom died in infancy. Of 
the other five 

JOHN //., born May 19, 1822, mar- 
ried Edna Lake. They have five children, 
JAMES H., CHARLES F JOHN W. 
and GEORGE R., the two latter twins, 
and ANNA F., and reside near where his 
father settled in 1819, three miles west of 
Sherman. 

WESLEY, born Nov. 21, 1824,- was 
married April 14, 1853, to Martha A. 
Wigginton. They had twelve children, 
nine of whom died under thirteen years, 
the other three, JOHN, WILLIE and 
NELLIE reside with their parents in 
Williamsville. 

WILLIAM F., born Jan. 21, 1828, 
married Rosanna England. They have 
seven children, MARY F., WILLIAM 
H., FLORA J., DAVID E., GEORGE 
A., NORA E. and U. S. GRANT, who 
reside with their parents in Menard 
county. 

ROBERT, born March 23, 1831, mar- 
ried Ellen Cresee. They have three liv- 
ing children, JOHN W., MABEL and 
LILLIE M., and reside in Menard coun- 
ty, five miles northwest of Williamsville. 

GEORGE W., born August 6, 1834, 
enlisted Oct. 25, 1862, in Co. B, i3Oth 111. 
Inf., for three years, was transferred to 
Co. G, ist New Orleans Vol. Inf., in 
which he was 2d Lieut. He served in 
that capacity nearly one year after the 
close of the war, and was honorably dis- 
charged. He was married March 24, 
1868, to Olivia L. Miller, who was born 
Feb. 17, 1851, in West Liberty, O. They 
have two children. CLIFFORD and 
IDA E., and reside at the homestead set- 
tled by his parents in 1819, in Fancy 
creek township. 

Mrs. Jane Council died March 30, 1863, 
and Hardy Council died July 26, 1873, 
both in Sangamon county, 111. 

COWGILL, WILLIAM M., 
was born near Lebanon, Warren county, 



SANGAMON COUNTT. 



2 33 



Ohio, and was married early in 1832, in 
Lebanon, to Clemantine Sayre, a native of 
the same county. They moved in the 
spring of that year to Springfield, 111., and 
had five children, namely 

WILLIAM B., born March 29, 1833, 
in Springfield, and married in his native 

glace May 16, 1855, to Margaret D. 
prigg, who was born Aug. 18, 1833, in 
Effingham county, 111. They have three 
children, born in Springfield. WILLIAM 
C., born March 12, 1858; JOHN AL- 
BERT, Jan. 17, 1860, and DUNCANS., 
Oct. 6, 1868, all reside with their parents 
in Springfield. William B. Cowgill is a 
dealer in real estate. 

CATHARINE L., born in Spring- 
field, married June 30, 1852, to Daniel C. 
Brown. See his name. 

ALBERT H., born in Springfield, 
married Mary L. Brown, and live in his 
native city. 

MART CLEMANTINE and 

CORNELIA SATRE, reside in 
Springfield. The former is a teacher in 
the Bettie Stuart Institute. 

William M. Cowgill was engaged in 
mercantile pursuits from 1832 to 1844, 
in Springfield, when he moved to 
Petersburg. Mrs. Clemantine S. Cow- 
gill died in 1854, and William M. Cowgill 
died in 1862, both in Petersburg, Menard 
, county, 111. 

COX, GEORGE, was born in 
South Carolina, came to Sangamon county 
with William and Joseph Drennan, in 
March, 1818, and died in November, 1819. 
His son, Jesse Cox, lives in Virden. 

COX, SAMUEL, uncle to the 
Hampton brothers. He had two sons, 
Samuel and Sowell. Sowell owned the 
farm adjoining Mechanicsburg on the 
west. The house in which he lived was 
the only brick house between Decatur 
and Springfield. They came in 1825, and 
about 1838 moved to the vicinity of Pal- 
myra, Mo. 

CRAFTpN, WILEY, was born 
Jan. 25, i8oi,in Lunenburgh county, Va., 
went to Trimble county, Ky., where he 
was married in 1824 to Agnes Chalfant, 
who was born in that county about 1801. 
They had two children in Kentucky, and 
moved, early in 1831, to Vandalia, 111., 
where they had one child, and the same 
year moved to Sangamon county, I linois. 
They returned, in a short time, to Ken- 

3 



tucky, then came back to Sangamon coun- 
ty, where they had four children. Of 
their children 

WILLIAM P., born May 25, 1826, in 
Trimble county, Ky., raised in Sangamon 
county, Illinois, married Nov. 28, 1855, 
in St. Louis, Mo., to Eliza C. Har- 
rison. They have three children, PEY- 
TON L., AGNES E., and WILLIAM 
P., and reside in Springfield. Wm. P. 
Crafton was elected Police Magistrate at 
the Springfield city election, April, 1876. 

THOMAS T., born May 27, 1828, in 
Trimble coimty, Ky., raised in Sangamon 
county, married in Mt. Pleasant, Iowa, to 
Miss Dawson. They have two children, 
and reside in Atlantic, Cass county, Iowa. 

MART, born in 1831, at Vandalia, 111., 
married Dr. J. L. Million, and resides in 
Springfield. 

Wiley Crafton lives in Springfield. 

CRAIG, WILLIAM, was born 
in 1790, in Fayette county, Ky. He was 
married April 20, 1821, near Stanford, 
Lincoln county, to Mary P. Swope, who 
was born there June 20, 1794. In 18?" 
they moved to Williamson county, ne? 
Franklin, Tenn., where they had five child- 
ren. The family moved to Sangamon 
county, 111., arriving in the spring of 1832 
in what is now Island Grove township, 
south of Spring creek, where they had 
two children. Of their seven children 

ANDRE W E., born Feb. 22, 1822, 
in Tennessee, died April 20, 1861, in San- 
gamon county. 

WILLIAM, Jim., born Aug. 24, 1823, 
in Tennessee, enlisted Aug. 15, 1862, for 
three years, in Co. A, io6th 111. Inf., 
served full term, and was honorably dis- 
charged Aug. 12, 1865. 

MARGARE T P., born Feb. 4, 1827, 
in Tennessee, is unmarried, and resides at 
the family homestead. 

JAMES P., born May, 1829, in Ten- 
nessee, died in Sangamon count}' Oct. 19, 
18=52. 

yOHN B., born Nov., 1830, in Ten- 
nessee, died in Sangamon countv Jan. 30, 

MART M., born June 14, 1836, in 
Sangamon county, married Oct. 11, 1867, 
to Ammi C. Cheever, who was born Nov. 
1 6, 1 825, in Boston, Mass. They have two 
children, MARY A. and \VILLIS C., 
and reside at the family homestead, in 



2 34 



EARLY SETTLERS OF 



Island Grove township, three miles north 
of Bates. 

RICHARD B., born Aug. i, 1837, in 
Sangamon county, resides at the family 
homestead. 

William Craig died Oct. 2, 1847, anc ' 
Mrs. Mary P. Craig died Dec. 25, 1871, 
both on the farm where thev settled in 
1832. 

CRESSE, GEORGE, was born 
May 16, 1808, in Cape May county, N. J., 
came to Springfield, 111., in Aug., 1839. 
In the spring of 1841 he returned to New 
Jersey, and was there marrifed, Sept. 2, 
1841, to Maria Marcy,who was born Feb. 
17, 1823, near Hartford, Conn. He came 
with his bride back to Sangainon county, 
arriving Nov. 10, 1841. They moved to 
Menard county, and had four children. 
The family moved back to Sangamon 
county, near Pleasant Plains, in 1857, 
where they had one child. Of their five 
children 

ELLEN, born in Menard county, 
married Robert Council. See his name. 

ED WARD M., CA THARINE L., 
(is a teacher,) MATTHEW IV., and 
CORDELIA S. resjde with their 
father. 

Mrs. Maria Cresse died April 22, 1862, 
and George Cresse, with his two sons and 
two daughters, reside adjoining Sherman 
on the northwest. 1874. 

CROCKER, G. W., was born 
July 29, 1814, in Cheshire county, N. H. 
He was married February, 1839, in Am- 
hcrst, Mass., to Lois K. Thayer, who was 
born there in 1814. They moved to San- 
gamon county in company with his father- 
in-law, Asahel Thayer, arriving at Chat- 
ham May 19, 1839. They had ten child- 
ren, five of whom died in infancy and 
childhood. Of the other five children 

EDWARD A., born March 3, 1840, 
in Sangamon county, was attending Illi- 
nois College, at Jacksonville, when he 
died, aged nineteen years. 

WILLIAM B., born March 9, 1842, in 
Chatham, enlisted in Co. I, 73d 111. Vol. 
Inf., was wounded at the battle of Perrv- 
ville, and died at Taylorville, 111., Aug. n, 
1 86^, aged twenty-three years. 

SARAH T., born March 21, 1846,111 
Sangamon county, was married Sept. i, 
1864, to Dr. B. W. Fox, of Springfield. 
She died in Taylorville, May 15, 1869, 
leaving one child, LOIS F., who resides 



with her grand-parents in Taylorville 
Dr. B. W. Fox died June 20, 1875, at 
Quincy, 111. His remains were buried at 
Taylorville. 

GEORGE B., born Jan. 31, 1849, in 
Chatham, married Nannie Richardson. 
They have one child, EDWARD W., 
and reside at Taylorville. 

ARTHUR H., born May 31, 1857, at 
Chatham, resides with his parents in Tav- 
lorville, to which place they moved from 
Chatham in 1867. 

Mrs. Crocker gives a short account of 
the Chatham Ladies' Aid Society. It was 
organized Nov. 21, 1861, and disbanded 
early in '63. The society was small, but 
they made three large boxes of bedding 
and clothing suitable for tent and hospital, 
besides making up ten webs of domestic 
for the Springfield Soldiers' Aid Society. 

CROW, ROBERT, was born in 
1781, in Wythe county, Va. Margaret 
Kershner was born in 1787, in Augusta 
county, Va., where they were married, and 
soon after moved to Christian county, Ky. 
They had eight children there, and moved 
to Sangamon county, 111., arriving in 1822, 
in what is now Auburn township. Of 
their children 

JANE married Philip Wineman, and 
died. See his name. 

DA \ ID, born in Kentucky, never 
married, and lives with his sister, Mrs. 
Moore. 

EDWARD, born in 1810, in Ken- 
tucky, died unmarried, in Sangamon 
county, July 28, 1868. 

WILLIAM D., married July 17, 1846, 
to Julia A. Messick. They had seven 
children in Sangamon county. MAR- 
GARET E. married George E. Stoke, 
and resides in Ball township. WIL- 
LIAM T., JAMES G., ABRAHAM 
LINCOLN, CHARLES H., PIER- 
BERT A. and ADA M. Wm. D. Crow 
died April 27, 1869, and his widow and 
children reside at Crow's mill. 

MART, born in Kentucky, married 
Wm. McAllister, and had one child. All 
three died at the family homestead, near 
Crow's mill. 

ELIZABETH, born in Kentucky, 
married in Sangamon county to Morrison 
M. Moore. See his name. 

GRANDISON B., born in Chester 
county, Ky., was raised in Sangamon 
county, and went to Oregon in 1847, an< ^ 



SANGAMON COUNT!. 



2 35 



in Sept., 1848, went to California, gold 
having been discovered there in June, 
1848. After spending eighteen years 
there, he returned to Sangamon county, in 
1866, and now resides at the family home- 
stead, in Ball township. 1874. 

FRANCES J/., born in Kentucky, 
married in Sangamon county to George 
Armitage, and resides near Palmer City, 
Christian county. 

Robert Crow died Sept., 1840, and his 
widow died Sept., 1851, both in Ball town- 
ship. 

CROW, WILLIAM, was born 
March 5, 1793, in Botetourt county, Va. 
Three brothers, John, Thomas and An- 
drew Crow, came from Ireland to Amer- 
ica during the Revolutionary war. John 
was the father of him whose name heads 
this sketch. John Crow moved to Barren 
county, Kv., when William was a child. 
William Crow and Miriam Enyart were 
married in Cumberland county, Ky., and 
had one child. In 1819 they moved to 
Madison county, 111., where he was or- 
dained to preach the gospel by the recog- 
nized authorities of the Old School, or 
Regular Baptist, church. In the fall of 
1820 he moved to what is now Salisbury, 
or Cartwright, township, in Sangamon 
county, north of Richland creek, where 
thev had one child, and Mrs. Miriam 
Crow died, Aug. 7, 1823. William Crow 
was married in the fall of 1824, in Cum- 
berland county, Ky., to Susan Hall. On 
his return to Sangamon county, he sold 
out and settled in what is now the south- 
east corner of Cass county, where two 
children were born. Of his four children 

JEROME E., born Sept. 2, 1817, in 
Cumberland county, Ky., was brought by 
his parents to Sangamon county, married 
in Cass county, June 19, 1844, to Eliza J. 
Brockman. They have five children, two 
of whom are married, and all live with 
and near their parents, in the vicinity of 
Humboldt, Richardson countv, Neb. 

REBECCA W., born June 9, 1821, 
ia Sangamon county, and is believed to 
have been the first white child born on 
Richland creek. She was married Oct. 9, 
1844, in Cass county, to Washington A. 
Mitchell, who was born Dec. 21, 1816, in 
Logan county, Ky. They have five 
children, WILLIAM I., CHARLES C., 
JOHN L., ALBERT J. and ANNAH 
E., and reside in the southeast corner of 



Cass countv, one mile southwest of Ash- 
land, 111. 

JOHN H., born March 14, 1826, in 
Cass county, married Sarah F. Dillon, of 
Sangamon county. They have three child- 
ren, and reside in Tecumseh, Neb. See 
Dillon family. 

MARY A., born Dec. 18, 1828, mar- 
ried August, 1848, in Cass county, to 
James L. Beggs. They have eight child- 
ren, three of whom are married, and one 
of the married daughters resides in Chi- 
cago. Mr. and Mrs. Beggs reside in 
Ashland. 

Mrs. Susan Crow died April n, 1845, 
in Cass county, and Rev. William Crow 
died Aug. 22, 1865, at Brownsville, Neb. 
He preached from the time he came to 
Sangamon county until about 1860, a min- 
istry of forty years. He was known to 
all Baptists throughout central Illinois. 

CROUCH, DAVID, born Sept. 
29, 1814, in Nicholas county, Ky., came to 
Sangamon county, Rochester township, in 
August, 1834. He was married March 
29, 1835, to Mrs. Clara Ann Stafford, 
whose maiden name was Gregory. They 
had five children in Sangamon county 

PR CD A ANN, born Jan. 26, 1837, 
married March 18, 1858, to John S.Craig, 
have two children, EMMA L. and 
MARY L., and live near Morrisonville. 

DELIA ANN, born Jan. 25, 1840, 
married in Sangamon county Jan. 8, 1857, 
to A. D. Young, born Feb. 28, 1837, m 
Shelby county, Ky. They have one 
child, JULIA D., born in Anderson 
county, Ky., and live one and a quarter 
miles south of Rochester. 

JONATHAN G., born Jan. 18, 1843, 
married Nov. 26, 1867, to Margaret A. 
Bell. They have two children, FRED- 
DIE and EDDIE R., and live two miles 
south of Rochester. 

WILLIAM H., born Oct. 15, 1846, 
married March 16, 1872, to Emma Crouch. 
They live two miles west of Breckenridge. 

K1T7^Y A., born Oct. n, 1851, mar- 
ried Henry George. They have one 
child, and reside four miles east of Pawnee. 

David Crouch died Sept. 14, 1871, in 
Sangamon county, and his widow resides 
one and a quarter miles south of Roches- 
ter. 

CROWL, JOSEPH, was born 
Sept. 3, 1794, in Shepherdstown, Va. He 
was a soldier from Maryland in the war 



236 



EARL? SETTLERS OF 



of 1812, and was married Jan. i, 1817, in 
Washington county, Md., to Mary A. 
Dillihunt, who was born Feb. 22, 1804, in 
Kent county > Md. They had ten children 
in Washington county, Md., three of 
whom died young. They moved to San- 
gamon county, 111., arriving in the fall of 
1834, at Springfield, and the next spring 
moved to what is now Cooper township, 
south of the Sangamon river, where they 
had five children. Of their twelve child- 
ren 

MORDECAI, born July 20, 1820, in 
Maryland, married December, 1869, in 
Springfield, to Catharine E. Crowl, a 
native of Berkley county, Va. They re- 
side four miles southeast of Pawnee, in 
Christian county. / 

UPTON, born Feb. 7, 1822, in Mary- 
land, served one year from June, 1846, in 
the 4th 111. Inf., under Col. E. D. Baker, 
in the Mexican war. He was married in 

1850, in Sangamon county, to Sarah E. 
Taggart. They had one living child, 
MARY J., born April 22, 1858, married 
Feb. 10, 1874, in Springfield, to Eugene 
W. Renshaw, who was born June 25, 

1851, in Decatur. He is a grandson of 
James, who was a brother to Samuel Ren- 
shaw. See his name. E. W. Renshaw 
lives one and a half miles northeast of 
Berry station. Upton Crowl died March 
8, 1872, and his widow resides one and a 
half miles northeast of Berry, or Clarks- 
ville. 

CORNELIA, born Oct. 18, 1823, in 
Maryland, married in Sangamon county, 
April 1 8, 1839, to Stephen Hussey. See 
his name. 

MART E., born Nov. 13, 1825, in 
Maryland, married in Sangamon county 
to William R. Ross. See his name. 

JOSEPH F. and JACOB J. 

(twins), born Aug. 30, 1827, in Maryland; 
the latter died young. 

JOSEPH F. was raised in Sangamon 
county, went with his sister (Mrs. Hussey) 
to Oregon, and was married May, 1853, 
in Yamhill county, to Julia A. Shortridge. 
They had nine living children. Eight of 
their children were born in Oregon. 
They reside near Nashville, Barton coun- 
ty, Mo. 

ROBERT F., born July 5, 1829, in 
Maryland, died in Sangamon county, 
Aug. 14, 1843. 



MIRANDA, born Oct. 18, 1831, in 
Maryland, married in Sangamon county 
to Isaac T. Darnall. See his name. He 
died, and she married, Feb. n, 1873, to 
George W. Taylor, and live in Cooper 
township. 

VAN BASSETT, born April 8,1836, 
in Sangamon county, married in same 
county, Feb. 9, 1864, to Eliza Crowl. 
They have two children, and live in Chris- 
tian county, four miles southeast of Paw- 
nee. 

VINTON, born June 12, 1838, in San- 
gamon county, died April 19, 1852. 

HELEN, born May 26, 1840, in San- 
gamon county, married Dec. 24, 1863, to 
Thomas F. Morris, who was born Nov. 
12, 1834, in Clarke county, O. They have 
two children, MARY LIDA and ISAAC 
C., and reside in Cooper township, three 
and a half miles southwest of Mechanics- 
burg. 

MARIA A., born Feb. 14, 1843, in 
Sangamon county, married May 11, 1867, 
to Samuel Carper, who was born April 
30, 1829, in Shepherdstown, Va. They 
have three childrenJOSEPH W.JOHN 
B. and MORDECAI I., and reside at the 
family homestead where her parents set- 
tled in 1835, m Cooper township. It is 
one and a half miles north of Berry sta- 
tion, or Clarksville. 

WILLIAM H., born April 14, 1845, 
in Sangamon county, married January, 
1871, to Ella Miller. They have two 
children, and reside five miles southeast of 
Pawnee, in Christian county. 

Joseph Crowl died Sept. 8, 1865, in 
Sangamon county, and his widow now 
(1874) resides on the farm where they set- 
tled in 1835. It is one and a half miles 
north of Berry station, or Clarksville. 

CROSS, ALVIN, was born Oct., 
1799, in Madison county, Ky. Margaret 
Forbes was born June 24, 1802, near 
Jonesboro, East Tenn. Her parents 
moved to Madison county, Ky., when she 
was three months old. In 1816 they 
moved to Humphreys county, Tenn. 
Alvin Cross went to that county, also, 
when he was a young man, and was there 
married, in Feb., 1818, to Margaret 
Forbes. They had four children in 
Tennessee, and moved to Johnson county, 
111., where they had one child, and from 
there to Sangamon county, arriving Jan., 
1829, in what is now Auburn township, 



SANGAMON COUNTY. 



2 37 



where they had seven children. Three of 
their children died young 

SQUIRE, born in Tennessee, married 
in Sangamon county to Mrs. Elizabeth 
Pike, whose maiden name was Baker. 
They have three children, and live at 
Medoc, Jasper county, Mo. 

MART A., born in Tennessee, mar- 
ried in Sangamon county, to Samuel 
Mitchell, and died. 

R1LET and LA VINA, twins, % were 
born in Tenn. 

RILET enlisted in an Illinois regi- 
ment, at Springfield, for the Mexican war, 
in 1846, died in the army, and was buried 
on the Rio Grande in 1847. 

LA VINA, married in Sangamon coun- 
ty to Andrew Williams, and died. 

JOEL McD., born in 1827 or '8, in 
Johnson county, 111., raised in Sangamon 
county, went to California, married, has 
two children, and lives there. 

REBECCA, born in Sangamon coun- 
ty, married John M. Jones, moved to 
Washington county, Iowa, and died there, 
leaving seven children. She had a twin 
mate that died in infancy. 

F. MARION, born Dec. 14, 1838, in 
Sangamon county, married Nov. 16, 1870, 
to Emily A. Hayden. They have one 
child, WILLIAM F., and live in Cotton 
Hill township, four miles north of Paw- 
nee. 

LEROT, born in 1840, in Sangamon 
county, married Jan. 8, 1863, to Candace 
A. Campbell. They had four children, 
JOSEPH A. and MINNIE died young. 
CLARK FORBES and FRANCES 
BELL reside with their parents, in Ball 
township, four miles northwest of Paw- 
nee. Leroy had a twin mate that died 
young. 

ELIZABETH, born in Sangamon 
county, married Sept. 18, 1861, to Benja- 
min F. Davis, a native of Tazewell coun- 
ty, 111. They have one living child, 
GEORGE W., and live two and a half 
miles southeast of Pawnee. 

Alvin Cross died Feb., 1849, in Sanga- 
mon county, and Mrs. Margaret Cross re- 
sides with her daughter, Mrs. Davis. 

CROWDER, PHILIP, was 
born May, 1759, near Petersburg, Va. 
He was married there to Susan Parish. 
They had five children born there. He 
then moved, in company with about forty 
families, to Greene county, Ky. They all 



moved on pack horses, and camped near 
each other every night, with armed men 
standing guard around them, for protec- 
tion against the Indians. Mrs. Susan 
Crowder died in 1794 in Kentuckv, and 
he was there married to Rachel Saunders. 
She had one child, and died there. Philip 
Crowder then married Sally Chandler. 
They had nine children, and moved to 
Sangamon county, 111., arriving in Nov., 
1830, and settled three and a half miles 
southwest of Springfield. Of all his 
children 

REUBEN, born in Virginia, was 
married to Nancy Michael, and came to 
Sangamon county in 1825, preceding his 
father. They had fifteen children; three 
died young. ELIJAH died, aged twenty- 
one. MARTHA was married in Ken- 
tucky to James Robinson, moved to San- 
gamon county, thence to Macon county. 
Mr. R. died, and his family reside in 
Missouri. ELIZABETH married Peter 
Christian. They had two children, and 
Mr. C. died. His widow married Andrew 
Lockwood, and both died. MARY, 
born November, 1813, in Green county, 
Ky., was married in Sangamon county 
Feb. u, 1836, to Benjamin F. Dillard. 
See his name. MATHEW married 
Susan Schoolen. They live in Macon 
county, Mo. THOMAS M., born July 
25, 1818, was married July 22, 1840, to 
Mary J. Dalby. They had seven child- 
ren; three died young. SARAH A., born 
Jan. 12, 1842, was married Dec. 22, 1864, 
to Ole Nelson. They had three children, 
Mary J., Emma E. and Maggie M., 
and live near Springfield. HENRY, 
born June 19, 1844, was married June 8, 
1871, to Margaret E. Williams. She died 
Oct. 3, 1871. He is a practicing physician. 
AGNES E., born April 6, 1847, was married 
April 1 3, 1865, to F. C. Arnold. They have 
two children, Fannie and Alice, and live 
near San Jose, Mason county, 111. MARY A. 
born Sept. 3, 1850, was married Feb. 10, 
1868, to Thomas W. Miller. They have one 
child, Anna M. DOUGLAS, WILLIAM A. 
and JAMES F., live with their parents. 
Thomas M. Crowder and family reside 
four miles west of Springfield. GREEN- 
BERRY married Sarah Scott, and both 
died, leaving two children, in Missouri. 
SUSAN married John Grabeal, who 
died, and she married Philip Meekum. 
They reside in Saline county, Mo. 



2 3 S 



EARLT SETTLERS OF 



RIAL M., born April 1 1, 1821, in Greene 
county, Ky., brought up in Sangamon 
county, was married in Missouri to Ange- 
line Scott. They have seven children. 
Their daughter, LENORA, married Moses 
H. Moore. See his name. The other 
six children, WILLIAM A., MARY j., ISAAC 

M., ALZIRA M., LAURA A. and DAISY L., 

reside with their parents near McKinney, 
Collin county, Texas. JAMES married 
Margaret Martin, and died January, 1876, 
near New Boston, Mo. REUBEN, 
Jun., went, in 1847, to Washington Terri- 
tory, married there, and his wife died. 
He resides near Olympia. AMANDA 
married John Martin. They had four 
children, and she died in .Saline county, 
Mo. CATHARINE married Samuel 
Casebolt, and live near Miami, Saline 
county, Mo. Reuben Crowder died Sept. 
8, 1835, near Springfield, and his widow 
married again. She is now a widow, and 
resides with the family of her son James, 
near New Boston, Macon county, Mo. 

MARTHA, born about 1785, near 
Petersburg, Va., was married in March, 
1805, in Green count v, Ky., to Lewis 
Walker, a native of Virginia. They had 
some children in Kentucky, and came to 
Illinois in 1832, and brought up a large 
family, some of whom are living in Clark 
and Coles counties. Their sixth child, 
JUDIAH, born Dec. 7, 1820, in Green 
county, Ky., came with her parents to 
vJlark county, 111., in 1832, and was mar- 
ried there Dec. 3, 1840, to James C. Rob- 
inson, who was born Aug. 19, 1823, in 
Edgar county, 111. They have eight 
children, all born in Clark county, and 
the family moved to Springfield in 1869. 
Of their children, NATHANIEL p., born 
Jan. 25, 1842, was married in Marshall 
county, 111., to Miss Benedict. SERE- 
NA, born Nov., 1843, married R. S. 
Briscoe. JAMES p., born May 23, 1845, 
married Dora Shaw, a daughter of Judge 
Shaw, of Olney, 111. J. P. Robinson 
is a lawyer, and resides in Olney. 
AMANDA, born April 12, 1848, lives 
with her parents. RICHARD M., born 
August 6, 1851, is a practicing law- 
yer in Denver, Col. JENNIE and JUDIAH 
M. live with their parents in Spring- 
field. Hon. James C. Robinson studied 
law, and was admitted to the bar, in 
Marshall, Clarke county, 111., in 1852 
or '3. He was elected to Congress from 



that district in i858-'6o and '62. He was 
the Democratic candidate for Governor in 
1864, but his party being in the minority, 
he was, not unexpectedly, defeated. He 
represented in Congress the district in 
which Springfield is situated, in 1870 and 
'72. He is now a member of the law firm 
of Robinson, Knapp & Shutt, of Spring- 
field. 

SI'S AN, born in Virginia, was mar- 
ried .in Kentucky to Isaac Le Follett. 
They brought up a family in Kentucky, 
and both died there. 

MA THE W, born in Virginia, married 
Elizabeth Scott. They had five or six 
children, and she died. He married Jane 
Laughlin. They had one child, and he 
died. His family reside in Oskaloosa, 
Iowa. 

ELIZABETH, born May 31, 1790, 
in Virginia, married William Bradley. 
See his name. 

HENRT, the only child by Philip 
Crowder's second marriage, was born in 
Green county, Ky., went to East Tennes- 
see when a boy, and remained there. 

MART, born May 22, 1799, in Green 
county, Ky., and the eldest child by the 
third marriage, married Thomas Willian. 
See his name. 

ABRAHAM, born in Kentucky, mar- 
ried and died without children. 

JOHN C., born in Green county, 
Ky., was married there to Mary Laswell. 
They had two children there, and came 
to Sangamon county in 1826, preceding 
his father four years. Eight children 
were born in Sangamon county. Of their 
children, JAMES H., born Dec. 24, 1823, 
in Kentucky, was married in Sangamon 
county, April 10, 1849, to Mary A. 
Wright*, who was born Nov. 7, 1831, in 
Adair county, Ky., and came to Sanga- 
mon county in 1839. They reside three 
and a half miles southwest of Springfield. 
SARAH J., born Dec. 12, 1825, in Ken- 
tucky, was married Jan., 1850, in Sanga- 
mon county, to E. J. Warren. They had 
seven children, and she died July 17, 1870. 
Two of her children, JOHN c. was drowned 
in 1874, THOMAS j. lives in Springfield. 
The other five reside with their father, 
near Mount Zion, Macon county, 111. 
WILLIAM, born June 5, 1828, in Sanga- 
mon county, married Mary Wood. They 
had three children, and he died. NANCY, 
born Oct. 26, 1830, married John Harris, 



SANGAMON COUNTT. 



239 



and died. MARY E., born April 24, 
1833, died, aged seventeen years. 
THOMAS J., born May 28, 1835^ was 
married June 24, 1856, to Elizabeth F. 
Wright, and she died Nov., 1872. He re- 
sides at Wautiska, Sanders county, Neb., 
and is a Methodist minister. FRANCES, 
born May 21, 1838, married Jesse Per- 
kins. They have four children, and live 
in Williamsville. MARTHA A., born 
Sept. 25, 1840, married Theophilis Lud- 
lam. They have five children, and live 
near Decatur. MATILDA, born April 
28, 1843, died in her fourth year. CATH- 
ARINE A., born Oct. 27, 1845, 'i 1 ' 1 ''^ 
July 15, 1865, to Alexander H.Wright, 
and lives in Springfield. Mrs. Mary 
Crowder died, and J. C. Crowder mar- 
ried Ursula Albans. They had four 
children; one died in infancy. HENRY 
C., bvrn April 21, 1855, died April 23, 
1876. JOHN J. resides at Jacksonville. 
JOSEPH W. resides with his brother, 
James ~H. Mrs. Ursula Crowder died, 
and J. C. Crowder married Mrs. Eliza- 
beth Cox. They had one child, LUELLA, 
and J. C. Crowder died April 10, 1863. 
His widow resides at Berlin. 

WILLIAM, born Feb. 11, 1804, in 
Kentucky, was married there to Mary 
Fawcett. They had two children, born 
in Kentucky, and came to Sangamon 
county in company with his brother-in- 
law, Elisha Sanders, in the fall of 1829, 
where eight children were born. Of 
their children, ROBERT E. and JOHN, 
born in Kentucky, both married in San- 
gamon county, and died. MATILDA, 
born Dec. 9, 1831, in Sangamon county, 
was married Oct. 10, 1855, lo J^ ln J 
Warren, who was born Nov. 3, 1831, in 
Shelby county, 111. They have seven 
living children, MARY A., WILLIAM c., 

THOMAS J., GEORGE I?. M\'., ANDREW .)., 

ROBERT E. and ISAAC w. Two of the 
children are married, and reside east of 
Pawnee. Those that are living and sin- 
gle reside with their parents, near Paw- 
nee. SARAH E. married Hiram White. 
JAMES M. died unmarried, aged twenty 
years. WILLIAM C. married Ruth 
Tillev, and resides in Palmer, 111. 
AARON V. married Martha Ward, and 
lives in Christian countv. ANGELINE 
and BENJAMIN F. died young. STAF- 
FORD and JESSE W. reside with their 
parents, near Pana. 



F'ANNIE married William White, in 
Kentucky, came to Sangamon county in 
1830, and soon returned to Kentucky. 

CHANDLER, born in 1808, in Ken- 
tucky, married Lucinda Sanders. They 
had four children: JOHN married Cath- 
arine Stroude. They have three children, 
and live in Cotton Hill township. Chan- 
dler Crowder was drowned in 1839, while 
attempting to cross Sugar creek to reach 
his sick family. 

HORA T1O, born in Kentucky, came 
to Sangamon countv in 1829. He mar- 
ried Sallie Woozley. They had two 
children in Sangamon county. NATHAN 
W., born Nov. 4, 1833, was married Dec. 
28, 1853, to Margaret Todd. They have 
four children, JOHN H., GEORGE A., HENRY 
M. and JAMES H., and reside in Pawnee. 
SARAH J., born Oct. 12, 1835, was mar - 
ried Jan. 28, 1853, to Seth Underwood, 
who was born June 16, 1829, near Sparta, 
White county, Tenn. They have seven 
children, JOHN H., SARAH F., AVERY c., 

THOMAS )., JEREMIAH, LEWIS ALFRED 

and WILLIE, and reside in Cotton Hill 
township, Sangamon county, 111. Horatio 
Crowder died about 1835, and his widow 
married John M. Mathews. See his 
name. She died Dec. 28, 1850. 

WASHINGTON, born July 9, 1813, 
in Green county, Ky., came with his 
father to Sangamon county in 1830. He 
was married Dec. 21, 1836, to Isabel 
Laughlin. They have seven children: 
JOHN F., (Dick), born Dec. 25, 1837, 
married April 12, 1860, to Jane E. Las- 
well. They had one child, ELM EH K., 
who died in infancy, and Mrs. C. died 
May 7, 1863. Mr. C. was married Sept. 
f2, ~\ 864, to Mary F. McMurry . They had 
three children, LUELLA H., GKORGIE M. 
and ESTELLA. Mrs. Mary F. Crowder 
died June 16, 1873, in Springfield. J. F. 
Crowder was married June 10, 1874, to 
Nannie Womack, have one child, CLIN- 
TON CARROLL, and live in Pawnee. 
MARY A. died in her eighth vear. 
WILLIAM A., born April 16, "1843, 
married Nov. 30 1865, to Isabel W. Lan- 
terman. They had four living children, 

HORACE A., CHARLES L., FRED and ETHEL, 

and live in Springfield. LUCELIA J. 
died July 19, 1862, in her eighteenth \ear. 
SADIE E. and CHARLES W." live 
with their parents. GEORGE L. died 
May 11,1870,111 his eleventh vear. Wash- 



240 



EARLY SETTLERS OF 



ington Crowder and wife reside in Spring- 
field, 111. See his account of the sudden 
change. 

ALBERT G., born Oct. 16, 1816, in 
Green county, Ky., came to Sangamon 
county with his parents in 1830. He was 
married Dec. 29, 1840, to Sarah A. Bart- 
lett. They had two children born in 
Sangamon county. MARY J. married 
W. W. Lapham. They have two child- 
ren, w. ALF.ERT and MINNIE F., and live 
at Decatur. FANNIE married John 
Jamison. He was born Sept. 24, 1834, in 
Glasgow, Scotland. They have three 
children, MARY F., SARAH and MARIA L. 
D. Mr. Jamison resides in Auburn. 
Albert G. Crowder died in 1847, an< ^ ^is 
widow died in 1848, both in Sangamon 
county. 

Philip Crowder died February, 1844, 
and his widow died in September follow- 
ing, both in Sangamon county. Philip 
Crowder was a soldier in the revolution. 
An elder brother, who had a family, was 
drafted, and Philip volunteered in his 
place. It was not long before the close of 
the war when he was about sixteen years 
of age. His son Washington remembers 
hearing him repeatedly state that he was 
at the siege of Yorktown, and witnessed 
the surrender of Cornwallis; that he saw 
the British commander hand his sword to 
Washington, and that they wept and em- 
braced each other. Seeing Cornwallis so 
much affected, Washington said: " Never 
mind it; this is the fate of war. " 

CUTTER. The origin of the fam- 
ily in the west was with Seth Cutter, who 
was born in Boston, Mass., about 1760. 
Family tradition makes him a descendant 
of a family who came over in the May- x 
flower in 1620. He was married in Boston 
to Mary Reed. In 1790 he joined a col- 
ony and decided to move west. One 
account says that his five eldest daughters 
rebelled, saying they would not go where 
they were in danger of being devoured by 
wild beasts or killed by Indians. Another 
account fails to mention that he had any 
daughters at the time, which leads to the 
inference that if such an incident took 
place, they were sisters, and not daughters. 
He had but one child (a son) in Massachu- 
setts. The colony went under the protec- 
tion of the United States army, command- 
ed by Gen. Anthony Wayne, who estab- 
lished a military post where Cincinnati, 



O., now stands. Seth Cutter opened a 
farm which became part of the city. Por- 
tions of it are yet in possession of some of 
his descendants, while other portions, al- 
though leased soon after his death (about 
1800), the title still remains in the family. 
Cutter street indicates the locality where 
he settled. He brought one child Seth 
R., of whom we will yet speak more fully 
and had three daughters, at what be- 
came Cincinnati. Martha, who is believed 
to have been the first white child born in 
Cincinnati, became the wife of Abraham 
Price. Susan married Samuel Foster, of 
Petersburg, Ky., and Mary married 
Abraham McFaren. Mrs. Mary Reed 
Cutter died, and Seth' Cutter married 
Roxena Shingledecker. They had three 
children. Abigail married William Bern- 
ard, Abijah became a farmer in Hamilton 
county, and Lorena, born Dec. 9, 1805, 
married September, 1823, to Nicholas 
Goshorn. One of their sons, A. T. 
Goshorn,is now (May, 1876,) Superintend- 
ent General of the Centennial Exhibition 
at Philadelphia. Seth Cutter was killed 
in Cincinnati about 1800, by the caving in 
of a well. His son 

SETH R. CUTTER, born Jan. 
i, 1785, in Boston, Mass., taken by his 
parents, in 1790, to Cincinnati, Ohio. 
After the death of his mother, and 
the second marriage of his father, he 
left home and went to Grainger county, 
Tenn., where he was married in June, 
1806, to Elizabeth Easley, daughter of 
William Easley. In December, 1809, he 
returned with .his family to Cincinnati, 
where he engaged in the provision trade, 
mostly in New Orleans and Cuba. He 
continued in that business about twenty 
years. They had six children in Cincin- 
nati, and then moved to Sangamon county, 
111., arriving in July, 1828, in what is now 
Loami township, where they had three 
children. Of their nine childi'en 

SARAH, born Aug. 24, 1812, in Cin- 
cinnati, O., married in Sangamon county 
to John Calhoun. See his name. 

ABIGAIL, born Nov. 10, 1814, in 
Cincinnati, O., married in Sangamon 
county to Frederick Hawn. See his name. 

ALBERT, born Jan. 16, 1817, in Cin- 
cinnati, O. He was a confirmed invalid, 
and died in Sangamon county Jan. 30, 1841. 

SUSANNAH, born March 19, 1827, 



SANG AM ON COUNT*. 



241 



in Cincinnati, O., married in Sangamon 
county to John C. Hall. See his name. 

MARTHA A., born Sept. 10, 1821, in 
Cincinnati, O., married in Sangamon 
county, January, 1842, to Oliver Diefen- 
dorf. See his name. She died six weeks 
after marriage. 

CAROLINE E., born Feb. 13, 1825, 
in Cincinnati, O., raised in 'Sang.'imon 
county, and married in her native city to 
Oliver Diefendorf. See his name. 

\VILLIAM F., born Oct. 8, 1828, in 
Sangamon county. He served from June, 
1846, one year in the 4th 111. Inf., under 
Col. E. D. Baker, in the war with Mexico. 
In 1848 he went to California, where he 
spent several years in mining, and died 
there of consumption. 

JOHN W. and ELIZA.; twins, born 
during the "deep snow," Jan. 11, 1831, in 
Sangamon county. 

JOHN W. married in 1853 to Juliette 
Greening. They have five children: 
ALBERT lives with his parents. CAR- 
OLINE, born Jan., 1857, was married 
Jan., 1873, to James Mahanna, has one 
child, EDITH, and lives near Lake City, 
111. ANDREW, LAURA and OLI- 
VER live with their parents. John W. 
Cutter and wife live near Lake City, 
Moultrie county, 111. 

ELIZA, married March 24, 1857, at 
Weston, Mo., to Samuel A. Graham, who 
was born July 19, 1825, at Charlotte, 
Mecklenburg county, N. C. They have 
five children, EVA B., MARGA- 
RET, OLIVER, MARY, MALCOLM 
E. and ISABEL, and reside in Spring- 
field, 111. Mr. Graham enlisted in Co. F, 
Georgia Battallion, Mounted Volunteers, 
in 1847, and served in the war with Mexi- 
co, until June, 1848, when he was honor- 
ably discharged, and came to Springfield, 
111. In 1863 he was elected to represent 
Loami township in the Sangamon county 
Board of Supervisors, and in Nov., 1867, 
was elected, for two years, Surveyor of 
Sangamon county. 

Mrs. Elizabeth Cutter died Sept., 1835, 
in Sangamon county, and in May, 1830, 
Seth R. Cutter married Mary Prosser 
Wariner, who was born March 18, 1808, 
in Henrico county, Va. Her parents 
were married in Virginia. Her mother 
inherited some slaves, but refused to keep 
them, and to evade the influence of shivery, 
moved to this county. Mr. Wariner was 

3 1 



an old school, or regular Baptist preacher, 
and preached in the vicinity of Loami 
many years. Mr. Cutter and wife had 
one child 

FRANCES A., born Feb. 12, 1837, 
in Sangamon county, married March 16, 
1856, to Abner Bowen. See his name. 
Mrs. Bowen has some embroidery work 
done by her mother nearly half a century 
ago. 

Mrs. Mary P. W. Cutter died Feb. n, 
1861,, and Seth R. Cutter died Sept. 8, 
1869, both at the homestead settled by 
him in 1828, in Loami township. 

Mr. Cutter was engaged in pork pack- 
ing in Cincinnati with Andrew Heredith. 
See his name. When they came west 
they built a steam flouring mill about 
two miles northwest of Loami. A village 
called Millville grew up around it. The 
mill, owners and village have all passed 
away. 

CU M M I NGS, THOMAS, was 
born about 1800, in Breckenridge county, 
Ky., married to Margaret Smith, came 
to Sangamon county, 111., about the time 
his father-in-law (Thomas Smith) came, 
in 1822. Thev had eight children, name- 

iy- 

MAHALA died unmarried, at thirty- 
five years of age, in Sangamon county. 

REBECCA J. married John L. 
Smith. They had nineteen children, all 
except two of whom are living (1873). 
They had five sons who were Union sol- 
diers in Illinois regiments. The parents 
and nearly all their living children live in 
Logan countv, five miles northeast of 
Williamsville. 

ROBERT, born Sept. 12, 1817, in 
Washington county, Ky., was brought to 
Sangamon county when he was about 
five years old, married Jan. 2, 1840, to 
Nancy Cloyd. They had six children. 
THOMAS N. married Sarah B. C. Har- 
rison, have one living child, THOMAS o., 
and live in Woodside township. MAR- 
GARET A. died at two years old. 
AMANDA E. married Jacob Beam. See 
his name. MARY J. married Isaac M. 
Jones, and reside in Woodside township. 
JOSEPH R. and EMMA S. reside with 
their parents, one and a half miles north- 
west of Woodside station. 

WE SLE T E. married Melinda Ow- 
ens, had two children, and the parents 



242 



EARLY SETTLERS OP 



both died. Their children live in Macou- 
pin county. 

WSZsLIAAf married Jane Owens. He 
died, leaving his widow and three child- 
ren, in Litchfield, 111. 

JOHN T. married Melinda Richard- 
son. She died, and he married Margaret 
Adams, has five children, and lives in 
Christian county. He is a traveling min- 
ister in the M. E. church. 

ELIZABETH married John Kear- 
ley, had one child, and all died of cholera 
about 1850. 

THOMAS H. married Mrs. Emma 
West, whose maiden name was Woods. 
She had two children by her first mar- 
riage, and they have three children, and 
live in Jersey county. 

Thomas Cutnmings died September, 
1846, and his widow died October, 1849, 
both in Sangamon county. 

.ID 

DARNEILLE, JOHN, was 
born June 8, 1791, in Bourbon county, 
Ky. He served foui'teen months in the 
war of 1812-13, half the time as first 
Lieut., and was then promoted to Cap- 
tain. Margaret Norton was born Oct. 
25, 1793, in Bourbon county, also. They 
were married there, Feb. 20, 1814, and had 
three living children in Kentucky. The 
family moved to Sangamon county, 111., 
arriving Nov., 1819, in what is now Chat- 
ham township, first at a place called Tur- 
key Point, and in the spring of 1820, 
moved further up Lick creek, and made a 
permanent settlement five miles west of 
the present town of Chatham, where they 
had nine living children. Of their child- 
ren 

MARTHA, born April 7, 1815, in 
Kentucky, married in Sangamon county 
to Thomas S. Hunter. See his name. 

CATHARINE, born Aug. 2, 1817, in 
Bourbon county, Ky., married in Sanga- 
mon county to David Alexander. See 
his name. 

BENJAMIN F., born Jan. i, 1819, 
in Bourbon county, Ky., married in San- 
gamon county, Dec. 17, 1840, to Mary 
Jacobs, who was born Oct. i, 1821, in 
Clarke county, Ky. They had eight 
living children in Sangamon county 
ELIZABETH married Samuel C. Sump- 
ter, who was born in Sangamon county. 



He enlisted July 20, 1861, at Springfield, 
for three years, in what became Co. C, 
nth Mo. Inf. ; reenlisted as a veteran, Jan., 
1864, at LaGrange, Tenn., served until 
Jan. 15, 1866, when he was honorably dis- 
charged at St. Louis, Mo. Mr. and Mrs. 
Sumpter have three children, CORA, DORA 
and HOMER A., and reside five miles west 
of Chatham. MARGARET C. mar- 
ried James M. Greening. See his name. 
MARTHA J. married Lee R. Graham. 
See his name. MARIA F. married 
John Garvey. See his name. LORIN- 
DA J. married Feb., 1875, to Col. John 
Watson, and live in Auburn. EMMA S. 
married Dec., 1873, to William Vandoren. 
See his name. JULIA A. and BENJ. 
F., Jun., reside with their mother. Ben- 
jamin F. Darneille died Dec. 5, 1872, and 
his widow resides six miles west of Chat- 
ham. 

Mrs. Darneille relates some incidents 
both instructive and amusing, of her early 
married life. She says that when herself 
and husband went to set up housekeeping, 
he had but ten dollars. Cooking stoves 
were not in fashion, but they bought pots, 
skillets, pans, spoons, knives and forks, etc., 
thus securing their outfit, and had some 
money left. Lamps and burning fluids 
were unknown, and for nearly ten years 
their only candlesticks were made by tak- 
ing gourds and cutting off about half the 
bowl end, so that they would sit upright, 
and then cutting off the necks and insert- 
ing the candles. The first crop of oats 
Mr. Darnielle raised he hauled thirty 
bushels to Springfield, and gave the load 
even for eight yards of calico to make a 
dress for his wife. 

THOMAS J., born Oct. 4, 1820, in 
Sangamon county, married Martha Mc- 
Ginnis. They had two living children in 
Sangamon county. JOHN D., born Nov. 
29, 1848, married in Warsaw. Ky., to 
Jennie Brown, a native of that city, and 
resides there. They have two children, 
MELINDA and JAMES w. JAMES W., 
born in Sangamon county, vSept. 16, 1850, 
married Oct. 31, 1871, in Belyidere, 111., 
to Belle Moulton, a native of Minneapolis, 
Minn. They have one child, MABEL, 
and reside in Chicago. Mrs. Martha 
. Darnielle died, and Mr. D. married Mrs. 
America Gibson, whose maiden name was 
Forrest. Thos. J. Darnielle died Nov. 21, 
1854, in Sangamon county. His widow 



SANG AM ON COUNTY. 



243 



married Jan. 13, 1859, to John R. Neal. 
See his name. 

JAMES M., born Jan. 22, 1822, in 
Sangamon county, married Jan. i, 1852, 
to Clarrissa Kinney. They have six child- 
ren, CAROLINE K., MAGGIE H., 
JOHN H., FLORENCE E., CHAS. 
A. and JAMES M., Jim., reside with 
their parents, in Chatham, Sangamon 
county, 111. 

EMILY, born July 28, 1823, in San- 
gamon county, married Willis Webb. 
They had two children, and the whole 
family died. 

LORINDA, born Jan. 31, 1825, in 
Sangamon county, married William Mc- 
Ginnis. See his name. 

ELIZABETH,\>orn Dec. 10, 1826, in 
Sangamon county, married Abraham 
Gish, had two children. Mrs. G. and one 
of the children died. The other child, 
BENJAMIN F., resides with his father, 
in Auburn tomnship. 

HENR T, died, aged fifteen years. 

MARGARET, born Jan. 25, 1830, in 
Sangamon county, married James Hall. 
See his name. 

HIRAM H., born May 16, 1833, died, 
aged twenty-one years. 

JOHN W., born Feb. 3, 1836, in San- 
gamon county, married Melinda Drennan, 
had one child, and all died. 

John Darneille died March 10, 1854, 
and his widow, Mrs. Margaret Darneille, 
died April 30, 1875, both on the farm 
where they settled in 1820. 

John Darneille learned to write by fire- 
light, and in the absence of paper, peeled 
buckeye bark from the trees, and when it 
become dry, did his writing on that, until 
he learned to keep accounts of all his 
business transactions. He acquired euch 
fame as an accurate and legible penman, 
that he became the neghborhood letter 
writer. He was on the first grand jury 
that was ever empanneled in Sangamon 
county, May 7, 1821. They held their 
deliberations, some sitting on a pile of 
rails, and some on gopher hills out on the 
prairie, within the present limits of Spring- 
field. He was elected as one of the Rep- 
resentatives of Sangamon county in the 
State Legislature of 1840, the first that 
ever assembled in Springfield. 

DARNALL, AMELIA, whose 

maiden name was Yocom, sister to 
Jacob Yocom, was born October, 1793, 



near Lexington, Ky., and was married 
there, August, 1813, to Samuel Darnall. 
Seven children were born in Kentucky, 
and they moved to Indiana, where they had 
one child, and moved in 1829 to Funk's 
Grove, McLean county, 111., where they 
had one child. Mr. Darnall died August, 
1830. Mrs. D., with her nine children, 
moved to Sangamon county, 111., arriving 
in the fall of 1830 in what is now Williams 
township. Of her children 

BENJAMIN F. died at twenty-one 
years of age. 

E VELINE married Levi Smith, has 
eleven children, and live near Mt. Pleas- 
ant, Iowa. 

SALLYdieA at sixteen years of age. 

HARVEY, born August 10,1821, in 
Bourbon county, Ky., married in Sanga- 
mon county to Agnes Simpson. They 
have eight children. MARY married 
Stephen Hussey, and live in Logan 
county. WINFIELD SCOTTJAMES 
M., JOHN F., STEPHEN H., JESSE 
HARVEY B. and LILLIE E.,live with 
their parents near Barclay. 

NANCY J. married Franklin Yocom. 
See his name. 

JAMES died at thirty-five years of 
age. 

MEL VINA married Thaddeus Evans, 
and died in Montgomery county, leaving 
six children. 

E LIZ ABE TH married David Bailey, 
has ten children, and live in Mason 
county. 

REBECCA, born in Illinois, married 
March 6, 1866, to Oliver McGarvey, has 
one child, WILLIAM N., and she lives 
with her mother. 

Mrs. Amelia Darnall resides (1874) one 
mile northeast of Barclay. She is more 
than eighty years old. 

DARNALL, ISAAC T., born 
Oct. 17, 1809, in Montgomery county, 
Mel., and came to Sangamon county in 
December, -1840, in Cooper township, 
south of the Sangamon river. He was 
married Dec. 14, 1852,10 Miranda Crowl. 
They had five living children 

HILLERY W., JOSEPH E., 
BENJAMIN F., CHARLES A., and 
MARYLAND. 

Isaac T. Darnall died Sept. 10, 1871. 
His children reside with their mother, 
who was married Feb. 11, 1873,10 George 
W. Taylor. He was born Dec. 14, 1836, 



244 



EARLT SETTLERS 



in Wayne county, Ind. They reside in 
Cooper township, three miles southwest 
of Mechanicsburg. 

DAWSON, JOHN, was born 
Nov. 24, 1791, in Fairfax county, Va. 
His parents moved to Bracken county, 
Ky., in 1805. He enlisted in Bracken 
county in the war against England in 1812, 
and was wounded and captured at the 
battle of River Raisin. After being held 
as a prisoner in Canada by the Indians 
who had captured him, his friends paid a 
ransom for him, and he returned home. 
Cary Jones was born May 22, 1801, in 
Nicholas county, Ky. John Dawson and 
Cary Jones were married in Nicholas 
county, Oct. 9, 1817. They had one child 
in Nicholas county, and moved to Bracken 
county, where they had three children, 
and the family moved to Sangamon coun- 
ty, 111., arriving Oct. 24, 1827, north of the 
Sangamon river, in Clear Lake township, 
where they had six children. Of their 
ten children 

NAPOLEON B., born June 10, 1820, 
is an invalid, and resides with his mother. 

MARIA L., born July 22, 1822, in 
Bracken county, Ky., married in Sanga- 
mon county to George B. Merriman. 
See his name. 

LUCY M., born March 7, 1825, in 
Bracken county, Ky., married in Sanga- 
mon county to Lindsay Ridgeway. See 
his name. 

BERTRAND, born April 10, 1827, 
in Bracken county, Ky., is unmarried, 
and resides adjoining Dawson on the 
south. He is an extensive farmer and 
stock i-aiser. . 

MARTHA W., born Oct. 21, 1829,111 
Sangamon county, married Sept. 24, 1850, 
to James Vanvoris, of Pennsylvania. She 
died April 2, 1853, in Washington county, 
Pa. 

MART ' J., born Dec. 17, 1831,511 San- 
gamon county, married John S. Merri- 
man Nov. 9, 1848. See his name. 

ISABEL, born Dec. 22, 1833, resides 
with her mother. 

SARAH E., born July 31, 1837, in 
Sangamon county, resides with her 
mother. 

JOHN, Jun., born March 22, 1840. 
He went to Cairo 111., in 1862, and enlist- 
ed in the United States navy, served one 
year, and died at home Oct. 26, 1869. 



DICK A., born April 3, 1842, in San- 
gamon county, died at eleven years of age. 

John Dawson died Nov. 12, 18=50, in 
Sangamon county. His widow resides 
on the farm where they settled in 1827. 
It is three miles southwest of Dawson. 

Mr. Dawson was Captain of a company 
from Sangamon county in the Black 
Hawk war of 1831. He was elected to 
represent Sangamon county in the State 
Legislature of 1831 and '2. He was again 
elected in 1835, and continued, by re-elec- 
tion, to represent the county until 1840, 
and was consequently one of the " Long 
Nine" who secured the removal of the 
State capital to Springfield at the session 
of i836-'7. [See article: "Long Nine."] 
Mr. C. was also a member of the conven- 
tion that framed the State constitution of" 
1848. The ball received in his lungs at 
the battle of River Raisin was never ex- 
tracted, and was the cause of his death. 

DALLY, CRAWFORD, was 
born about 1795, in Pennsylvania, mar- 
ried in Virginia to Susan Sanders, and 
made their home in Washington county, 
Pa., until four children were born, and the 
family moved to Sangamon county, 111., 
in the spring of 1835. Of their four 
children 

HESJ^ER A., married three times, 
and died at Belleville, 111. 

MART y., born Aug. 22, 1824, in 
Washington county, Pa , married in 
Sangamon county, to Thomas M. Crow- 
der. See his name. 

SUSANM., born in 1826 in Pennsyl- 
vania, died in Sangamon county, aged 
twenty-four years. 

AGNES E., born in Pennsylvania, 
married Andrew Armstrong, and died. 

MIL TON, born in 1831, in Pennsyl- 
vania, married in Sangamon county, to 
Nancy J. Sappington, had five children, 
moved to Missouri, and she died. He was 
a Union soldier in a Missouri regiment. 

Mrs. Susan Dally died in 1835, and 
Crawford Dally died December, 1839, 
both in Sangamon county. 

DAVENPORT; GEORGE, 

was born about 1781, in North Carolina, 
married, had one child, and his wife died 
there. When the child was three weeks 
old he carried it on horseback to Casey 
county, Ky. He was there married to 
Winney Clifton, a native of that county. 
They had two children, and moved to 



SANGAMON COUNTY. 



245 



Sangamon county, 111., in the fall of 1819, 
and first camped where Springfield now 
stands, and three weeks later moved six 
miles west, at the north side of Spring 
creek, where seven children were born. 
Of his children 

THOMAS, horn in North Carolina, 
raised in Sangamon county, married, and 
is living with his second wife near Inde- 
pendence, Mo. 

WILLIAM, born in Kentucky, raised 
in Sangamon county, has his second wife, 
and resides near Mt. Pleasant, Iowa. 

ELIZABETH, born in Kentucky, 
married Thomas Davis, has six children, 
and resides in Vernon county, Mo. 

ALFRED S., born June 24, 1820, 
married Lucinda Tolley. They have 
seven children, JAMES, GEORGE, 
JOHN, ADOLPHUS, MARY, SO- 
PHIA and NOAH, and reside two and a 
half miles northeast of Berlin. 

MARY married Thomas Andrews, 
who died, leaving three children, and she 
married John Runnels, and he died, leav- 
ing a widow and two children, near Dal- 
las, Texas. 

NANCY married Jeremiah Kendall, 
had four children, and she died, leaving 
her family in Oregon. 

URIAH L. was a soldier in the 4th 
111. Inf. under Col. E. D. Baker, and was 
wounded at the battle of Cerro Gordo, 
Mexico, and died eight or nine days later. 

JOB C., born January 4, 1823, in San- 
gamon county, was married Dec. 4, 1845, 
to Alice J. Mosteller, who was born Nov. 
29, 1830. They have five children, JOHN 
H. ?/ LAURA (the latter was married May 
9, 1875,10 William Say re, and resides near 
Pleasant Plains), CHARLES M., NEW- 
MAN and WILLIAM EDWARD. All 
the unmarried children live: with their 
parents in Menard county, near Salisbury, 
Sangamon county. 

ADOLPHUS died in 1850111 Chicago, 
aged about twenty-four years. 

AMANDA married Allen Baker, and 
died in 1849. 

RHODA married Thomas Ray. They 
have four children, and reside in Vernon 
county, Mo. 

Mrs. Winner C. Davenport died Jan. 
15, 1845, and George Davenpoit died 
Feb. 14, 1845, both in Sangamon county, 
eight miles west of Springfield. 



DAVIDSON, SAMUEL, was 
born Oct. 19, 1821, in Morgan county, 
East Tenn. His parents moved, in 1826, 
to Macon county, 111., and in 1828 to 
Macoupin county. Samuel spent most of 
his time in Sangamon county until 1840, 
and fforn that time he made his home in 
Ball township, where he was "married 
May 9, 1850, to Amanda Nuckolls. They 
had nine children, one of whom, John D., 
died Nov. 26, 1869, in his seventh year. 
The other eight 

ANNIE E., GEORGE W., EM- 
MA A., SAMUEL M., THOMAS J., 
AMANDA V., MIRIAM M. and 
CHARLES CARROLL reside with 
their parents, three and a half miles west 
of Pawnee. 

DAVIES, JOHN,, was born in 
Wales, and came to America when a 
young man. He was married in Adair 
county, Ky., to Catharine Antle. They 
had ten children in Kentucky, and Mr. 
Davies died there about 1810. His widow 
moved to Sangamon county about 1826, 
and settled near Salisbury. Of her child- 
ren 

GEORGE married in Kentucky to 
Catharine Tolley, came to Sangamon 
county before his mother, and died in 
1856. His widow and two children live 
in Kansas. 

POLL Y married in Kentucky to Rich- 
ard Walker, came to Sangamon county in 
1826, and died in 1870, leaving two child- 
ren in Bond county. 

MICHAEL, born in Kentucky, mar- 
ried twice in Sangamon county, leaving a 
widow and five children in Menard count v. 

HENRY, born Oct. 30, 1805, in Cum- 
berland county, Ky., came to Salisbury, 
Sangamon county, in 1828. He was mar- 
ried there May 5, 1835, to Lucy Mc- 
Glasson, who was born July i, 1817, in 
Adair county, Ky. They had ten child- 
ren in Sangamon county, namely : JULIA 
A. was killed by a falling chimney, at four 
years of age. ELIZABETH, born Jan. 
30, 1839, married Ebenezer Colburn. See 
his name. MARY M., born July 2,1841, 
married John HufFmaster. See his name. 
SALLIE A. died young. MARION, 
born Sept. 6, 1848, and ALONZO, born 
Jan. 2, 1852, live with their parents. 
EMILY J., born Sept. 5, 1854, lives with 
her sister, Mrs. Colburn. IRA JASPER, 
born May 25, 1857, and MATILDA, 



246 



EARLY SETTLERS OF 



born Nov. 12, 1860, live with their par- 
ents. Henry Davies and wife now (1874) 
live in Loami. 

NANC T married in Kentucky to Ben- 
jamin Ballenger, and died near Natchez, 
Miss. 

WILLIAM, horn in Kentucky, mar- 
ried Elizabeth Duncan, and both died, 
leaving two married children in Salisbury. 

SALL T, born in Kentucky, married 
Thomas Miller, who died, leaving a widow 
and six children in Menard county. 

JOHN, born July 23, 1815, in Ken- 
tucky, married in Sangamon county, 
November, 1834, to Polly Duncan. They 
have five children ; two of them married, 
and all live in Salisbury. 

MIL7^ON, born in Kentucky in 1817, 
married Lucy A. McMurphy, have two 
children, and live in Salisbury 

Mrs. Catharine Davies died in 1846, in 
Salisbury. 

DAVIS, AQUILLA, was born 
in 1756, in St. Mary's county, Maryland, 
and taken to Fauquier county, Va., when 
a youth. He was a soldier in the Revolu- 
tion, and married in the latter county to 
Isabella Briggs. They had six children in 
Virginia, namely: Edward, William B., 
Alexander B., Thompson and Hezekiah, 
and a daughter Marion. They emigrated 
to Kentucky, where they had two child- 
ren. In 1820 they moved to Illinois, set- 
tling first where Elkhart now is, which 
was then Sangamon county. Aquilla 
Davis laid out the town of Elkhart. In 
1822 or '3 they moved to Fancy Creek, 
ten miles from Springfield. After several 
years Aquilla Davis and family returned 
to Elkhart. Thers are but three of their 
children living now, viz 

HEZEKIAH, born in Virginia, re- 
sides with his son in Tazewell county, 
Illinois. 

BENJAMIN F., born in Kentucky, 
resides at Norwood, Franklin county, 
Kansas, and 

JUDITH W., born August 12, 1802, 
in Union county, Ky., was married Oct. 
28, 1836, to Oramel Clark. See his 
name. 

Aquilla Davis died August 23, 1832, 
and Mrs. Davis died Jan. 23, 1833, both 
near Elkhart, Logan county, 111. 

DAVIS JOHN, was born Oct. 
15, 1809, in Baltimore county, Md. He 
was married there in May, 1829, to Mrs. 



Margaret Davis, whose maiden name was 
Gore. She was born Oct. 6, 1806, in 
the same county, and vras married first in 
September, 1824, to Capt. Robert Davis, 
a soldier in the war of 1812. They had 
two children, and Capt. Davis died May, 
1827. 

John Davis and wife had two children 
in Maryland, and moved in 1832 to Preble 
county, O., where they had one child, and 
from there to Darke county, where one 
child was born. The family then moved 
to Sangamon county, 111., arriving Feb., 
1837, in what is now Gardner township, 
where they had three children. Of the 
two children of Mrs. Davis by her first 
marriage 

ELIZABETH, born Sept. 3, 1825, 
near Baltimore, Md., married in Sanga- 
mon county to Samuel H. Reid, Jun. See 
his name. 

NANCY, born Aug. 6, 1827, near Bal- 
timore, married in Sangamon county to 
Henry H. Foster. See his name. 

Of the seven children by the second 
marriage 

ELLEN, born Dec. 12, 1830, in Mary- 
land, married in Sangamon county Jan., 
1855, to Joseph McCoy. They have one 
child, JOHN, born in Sangamon county, 
and reside in Missouri. 

JAMES, born Jan. 23, 1832,111 Mary- 
land, brought up in Sangamon county, 
and went to California in October, 1853. 
The family have not received any reliable 
information from him since June 8, 1856,' 
and have no hope that he is living. 

MARTHA'J., born March, 1834, in 
Preble county, O., and died in Sangamon 
county, November, 1848. 

MAR G ARE T, born in 1836, in Darke 
county, O., died in Sangamon county 
March 31, 1853. 

SARAH, born September, 1840, in 
Sangamon county, married in the same 
county to James Bruce, has one child, 
ANNIE, and live near White Oak post- 
office, Montgomery county, 111. 

JOHN, Jun., born Dec. 12, 1842, in 
Sangamon county, enlisted September, 
1 86 1, in Co. B, loth 111. Cav., for three 
years, and re-enlisted as a veteran Decem- 
ber, 1863. He served until Jan. 5, 1866, 
when he was honorably discharged in 
Springfield, being the last man of the 
regiment. He was killed by lightning 
July 5, 1875, while attending to some 



SANGAMON COUNTY. 



247 



stock on his father's farm, near Curran, 
Sangamon county. 

DALLAS, born Oct. 4, 1846, in San- 
gamon county, married Dec. 31, 1868, to 
Louisa Smith. They have two children, 
MARY A. and THOMAS O., and live 
two miles east of Curran. 

John Davis and wife reside two miles 
east of Curran, Sangamon county, 111. 

DAVIS, ISRAEL, was born Jan. 
21, jgiy, in Rutherford county, near Mur- 
freesboro, Tenn. His parents died when 
he was about five years old. At the age 
of fourteen years he joined a family who 
was moving, and came -with them to 
Green county, 111., and from there to San- 
gamon county in 1834, and made his home 
in what is now Auburn township. He 
was married June 30, 1844, to Jane Kes- 
sler. They have five children 

CA r J HARINE married James Dren- 
nan, and lives in Auburn. 

GEORGE lives in Auburn. 

SUSAN married Joseph Rectric, and 
lives in Carlinville. 

VIRGINIA and MART live with 
their parents, in Auburn. 

Mr. Davis was for many years employed 
at the depot of the Chicago and Alton 
railroad, at Auburn, and resides there. 

DAVIS, RICHARD, was born 
April, 1800, in Kentucky. Elizabeth 
Neal, (sister to Mrs. Edward Williams. 
See his name.), was born about 1803, in 
Nelson county, Ky. They were married 
and had one child in Kentucky, and the 
family moved to Sangamon county, arriv- 
ing before the deep snow of 1830-31, in 
Springfield. They had three children in 
Sangamon county. Of their four child- 
ren 

GEORGE L., died unmarried in 
1856. 

DIANA, born July 16, 1832, in Spring- 
field, married Nov. 8, 1855, to Philip 
Loeb, who was born Oct. 15, 1831, in 
Baden, Germany. They had three living 
children, PHILIP E., MARY C. and 
ARTHUR R. Philip Loeb died Sept. 
17, 1866, in Springfield, and his widow 
and children live four and a half miles 
northwest of Springfield. 

JOHN H., born Feb., 1836, is unmar- 
ried, and resides with his sister, Mrs. 
Loeb. 

JAMES E, married Rosella La- 



grange. They have two children, and 
live in Springfield. 

Mrs. Elizabeth Davis died March, 1850, 
and Richard Davis died April, 1865, both 
in Springfield. 

DAWLEY, HARRISON, was 
born July 17, 1817, in Chatauqua county, N. 
Y., came to Springfield in March, 1839, and 
four or five years later went to Island 
Grove, where he was married, Oct. 26, 
1847 to J ane Campbell, a daughter of 
Hugh Campbell. She was born March 
n, 1826, in Tennesse, and raised on Rich- 
land creek. They had nine children; 
three died voung, namely 

PA TIENCE was killed in her third 
year, by a runaway horse belonging to 
Dr. J. M. Gibson. 

MATILDA died in her third year, 
and 

MAXWELL died in infancy. 

CYNTHIA A., born Sept. 4, 1848, 
married Oct. 28, 1869, to M. F. Kibbey. 
They have three children, and live at El 
Paso, Sedgwick county, Kan. 

JOHN H., WILLIAM E., ED- 
WARD, JOSEPH C.and GEORGE 
7"., live with their parents two miles south 
of Rochester. 

DAY, GEORGE, was born Mar. 
5, 1810, in Sheffield, Mass. His parents 
died when he was three years old, and he, 
with another brother and a sister, were 
taken by an aunt to Granby, Conn. He 
next lived with a half-sister, at Elbridge, 
N. Y. At fifteen years of age he went to 
Hartford, Conn., and engaged to travel in 
Ohio for a clock company. He sold 
clocks four years, returned to Hartford, 
and prosecuted the same business two 
years in Pennsylvania. Henrietta Shank 
was born March 19, 1816, at Hagerstown, 
Md. The family moved to Mercersburg, 
Pa., where her father died, and her moth- 
er married Jacob Divelbiss. See his 
name. The family moved to Ligonier, 
Pa. George Day and Henrietta Shank 
were married Feb. 20, 1834, had one child 
there, and moved to Illinois, arriving at 
Havana Oct. 29, 1837. They visited 
some friends who had left comfortable 
Pennsylvania houses, and were living in 
rail pens, covered with sod. Their bread was 
made from wheat ground without bolting. 
Mr. Day became a walking earthquake 
having the chills and fever but he was 
not happy, and determined to return to 



284 



EARL T SJS TTLERS OP 



the Pennsylvania hills. His wife per- 
suaded him to come to Springfield, where 
they arrived in Nov., 1837. When the 
grass and flowers appeared the next spring, 
he became reconciled, and has been well 
satisfied from that to the present time. 
They had seven living children in Sanga- 
mon county, namely 

SOPHIA H., born March 15, 1836, at 
Ligonier, Pa., married in Sangamon coun- 
ty, March 20, 1854, to David Ayers, who 
was born July 27, 1833, in Auglaize coun- 
ty, Ohio. Mr. Ayers died May 30, 1866, 
at Jacksonville, 111. Mrs. Ayers resides 
with her parents. 

HENRIETTA, born Feb. 16, 1840, 
in Springfield, married Dec. 7, 1865, to 
Joseph F. Boyd, who was born Jan. 4, 
1837, in Hagerstown, Md. They have 
one child, GRACIE D., and live in 
Springfield. 

WILLIAM, born Sept. 14, 1842, in 
Springfield, was married May 18, 1865, to 
Margaret E. Keyes. They have five 
children, EFFIE S., CATHARINE H., 
and CHARLES R., DAISY D. and 
MAGGIE M., and reside three miles 
north of Springfield. 

/?O#.E/?7; born Jan. 30, 1845, enlisted 
April 27, 1864, for one hundred days, in 
Co. A, 1 33d 111. Inf., served one hundred 
and forty-seven days, and was honorably 
discharged Sept. 24, 1864. He lives with 
his parents. 

ELLIE M., born July 27, 1847, 
JULIA C., born June 13, 1850, and 
GEORGE E., born Jan. 12, 1854, 
live with their parents. 

George Day and wife reside three miles 
northeast of Springfield. 

DEARDORFF, ANTHONY, 
was born in 1786 in Pennsylvania. Eliza- 
beth Powell was born in 1800, in Bedford 
county, Pa. They were married in 1818, 
in Franklin county, O., and had four 
children there. The family then moved 
to Sangamon county, 111., arriving in the 
fall of 1823, in what is now Ball town- 
ship, where they had six children. Of 
their ten children 

MART, born in Ohio, married in San- 
gamon county to Morgan Matthew, who 
(lied, leaving a widow and three children 
in Missouri. 

CATHARINE, born in Ohio, mar- 
ried in Sangamon county to John Kent. 
He died in the United States armv at 



Vicksburg,'jn 1863. His widow and five 
children live in Missouri. 

PETER, born in Ohio, married in 
Sangamon county to Nancy Williams. 
They had four children, and Mrs. D. died. 
Mr. D. and his children live in Iowa. 

CHARLES P., born in Ohio, mar- 
ried in Sangamon county to Mrs. Sarah 
Rummerfield. They have five children, 
and live in Cass county, 111. 

REBECCA, born in Sangamon coun- 
ty, is unmarried, and lives in Ball town- 
ship. 

BARBARA, born in Sangamon coun- 
ty, married Joseph Beam. See his name. 

ELIZ.ABE TH, born in Sangamon 
county, died at sixteen years old. 

WILLIAM P., born in Sangamon 
county, married Catharine Parvin. He 
died, leaving a widow and two children in 
Cass county, 111. 

JOHN died at eighteen years of age. 

SUSAN, born in Sangamon county, 
married Henry Shipman, and live in 
Adair county, Mo. 

Anthony DeardorfF died in 1834, and 
his widow married Simon Matthew. See 
his name. She died Oct. 21, 1850. 

DEARDORFF, PETER, 
brother to Anthony, was born in Penn- 
sylvania, married in Ohio to Hannah 
Brunk, came to Sangamon county in 1824 
with George Brunk. They had four 
children. She died in 1874. 

DELAY, -JOHN, was born in 
Virginia, taken by his parents to Bath 
county, Ky., and was there married to 
Elizabeth Branch, a sister to Edward 
Branch. See his name. She was born 
Nov. 25, 1785, near Lynchburg, Va. 
They had eleven children in Bath county, 
and moved to Sangamon county, 111., in 
1829, and settled near Rochester. Of 
their children 

SARAH married in Kentucky to 
Thomas Baker. See his name. 

JANE died in Kentucky, aged eigh- 
teen years. 

JEMIMA died in Kentucky, aged 
sixteen years. 

JUDITH, born March S, 1809, in 
Kentucky, married in Sangamon county 
to Joseph Williams. See his name. 

S7^EPHEN, born in Kentucky, mar- 
ried in Sangamon county, March 4, 1841, 
to Susan Baker, had nine children, and he 



SANGAMON COUNT?. 



249 



died April 16, 1870. She lives in Cotton 
Hill township. 

It LIT. A, born April 19, 1813, in Bath 
county, Ky., married in Sangatnon county 
to William Taft. See his name. 

rOLLY, born Jan. 5, 1820, in Bath 
county, Ky., married in Sangamon county 
to Samuel Torrence. See his name. 

ELIZABETH, born in Bath county, 
Ky., married in Sangamon county to 
Samuel Keys. See his name. 

GREENE ERR T, born in Kentucky, 
died in Sangamon county, aged fifteen 
years. 

AL J YA r died in Kentucky, aged eight 
years. 

John Delay died Dec. 23, 1850, and his 
widow died Oct. 3, 1869, both in Sanga- 
mon county. 

DICKERSON, SAMUEL, 
was born about 1793, in Virginia. His 
parents moved to Pendleton county, Ky., 
when he was a boy, and his father engaged 
in salt-making at Grant's Lick. Susan 
Kane was born in 1800. They were mar- 
ried, and had six children in Kentucky. 
They moved to Logan county, 111., in 
1830, and in February, 1831, arrived in 
what is now Illiopolis township, five miles 
east of Mechanicsburg. Of their child- 
ren 

HUGH W., born Oct. 25, 1811, in 
Pendleton county, Ky., married in Sanga- 
mon county, Aug. 7, 1833, to Catharine 
Greene. They had five children in San- 
gamon county. WILLIAM H., born 
July ii, '834, enlisted in 1862 in Co. E, 
ii6th 111. Inf., for three years, married 
Sarah Enlow, has two children, and lives 
in Franklin county, Kan. ELIZA J. 
married John Taylor. Sec his name. 
ALEXANDER, born Oct. 12, 1844, en- 
listed August, 1862, in Co. B, 1 30th 111. 
Inf., for three years. He was on duty at 
the capture of Vicksburg, though sick at 
the time, was sent to hospital at Memphis, 
where his father took charge of him in 
July, and started for home. He died on 
board a steamboat, Aug. 12, 1863. His 
remains were brought home and buried in 
Williams township. JOHN, born in San- 
gamon county, is publishing the Gazette, 
at Terrc Haute, Ind. SAMUEL resides 
with his father. Mrs. Catharine Dickerson 
died in 1850, and H. W. Dickerson was 
married April I, 1852, to Edna C. Rice. 
They had seven children. JOSIAH, AN- 

3 2 



N A M. and ROBB Y died under four years. 
MARY, CHARLES E., OLIVER P. 
and IDA BELL, the six living, reside 
with their parents near Barclay, in Wil- 
liams township. 

POLL Y married William Hunter. 
See his name. Both died. 

ARCHIBALD, born May 6, 1816, in 
Kentucky, married in Sangamon countv 
to Celia Hunter. They had nine child- 
ren. HARRIET married Michael Der- 
ry, and live near Bowling Green, Mo. 
JAMES R. enlisted July 19, 1861, in Co. 
I, 4 ist 111. Inf., for three years, was 
wounded at the battle of Pittsburg Land- 
ing, April 6, 1862, was brought home 
and died on the fourteenth of the same 
month. SAMUEL, enlisted April, 1861, 
on the first call for 75,000 men, served 
three months, re-enlisted in 1862, in Co. 

1, 41 st [111. Inf., and served three vears. 
He was married to Ellen Shinaman, 
have four children, and live near Mt. 
Auburn, Christian county, Illinois. 
LUCINDA, born November, 1845, 
married to Harry Blair, April, 1871, have 
one child, KATIE, and live near Illiopolis. 
AMANDA J., born Dec. 25, 1847, mar- 
ried John McGuffin, and reside in Illiopo- 
lis township. ZACHARY T., born 
Dec. 29, 1849, married Dec. 3, 1873, to 
Louisa S. Ream, and live in Illiopolis 
township. JOHN HENRY, born Sept. 

2, 1852, ARCHIBALD, born Dec. 2, 
1854, and ERASTUS, born Sept. 10, 
1857, live with their mother. Archibald 
Dickerson was killed Sept. 2, 1865, at 
Harristown, Macon county, 111., bv an 
accident on the T., W & W. R. R. " His 
widow resides three and a half miles 
southwest of Illiopolis. 

MARTHA, born in Kentucky, mar- 
ried John Hunter, and both died, leaving 
a family in Christian county. 

C. ALEXANDER, born April 11, 
1827, in Campbell county, Ky., married 
April 12, 1848, to Melinda Ridgeway. 
She was born Jan. 26, 1831, in Sangamon 
county. They have eight children, 
HENRY CLAY, JOHN HARDIN, 
WILLIAM F., SAMUEL O., REU- 
BEN J., SARAH J., ULYSSES 
GRANT and CHARLES, and reside in 
Illiopolis township, five miles east of 
Mechanicsburg, where his father settled 
in 1832. 



250 



EAR LT SETTLERS OF 



AMELIA J. married Samuel Garret- 
son. See his name. 

Samuel Dickerson died in the fall of 
1856, and his widow died in June, 1859, 
both in Illiopolis township. 

DICKERSON, CHESLEY, 
a younger brother to Samuel, was born in 
Virginia, married in Gallatin county, Ky., 
to Betsy Lillard, and came to Sangamon 
county with his brother Samuel in 1831. 
They had four children. . Their son 

WILLIAM, born in Sangamon coun- 
ty, enlisted July 19, 1861, in Co. I, 41 st 111. 
Inf., for three years, came home on sick 
furlough, and died March 20, 1862. 

FRANCES, born in Sangamon coun- 
ty, married Philip Fredericks. They live 
near Ottawa, Kansas. Mr. F. was a sol- 
dier for three years in Co. I, 41 st 111. Inf. 

ERASTf S, born in Sangamon coun- 
ty, married Lottie Enlow, and lives at 
Ottawa, Kansas. 

MARIA, married and died. 

Chesley Dickerson and wife both died 
in Sangamon countv. 

DICKSON, " GEORGE, was 
born March 18, loot, in Tennessee, came 
to Illinois with his parents, and was mar- 
Nov. 13, 1823, to Fanny Cooper, (sister to 
John Cooper, the father of James.) She 
was born July 16, 1804, in Tennessee. 
They had seven children 

MART A., born Nov. 7, 1826, died 
Jan. 31, 1846. 

SUSAN A., born Jan. 7, 1829, died 
Dec. 21, 1848. 

ELIZABETH E., born April 10, 
1831, died August 21, 1851. 

JOHN C, born Dec. 26,. 1836, mar- 
ried in 1869 to Ida Johnson. They have 
two children, and reside in Chatfield, 
Minn. 

MELISSA N., born Feb. 10, 1838, 
married June 3, 1858, to George Flower, 
had two living children, and she married 
for a second time to James Prunk, have 
one child, and reside in Mechanicsburg. 

THOMAS M., born May 18, 1841, 
was a soldier in an Illinois regiment, mar- 
ried in 1863, to Susan Lvdic, in Christian 
county, have four children, and reside at 
Lamar, Barton countv, Mo. 

SARAH A., born Oct. 26, 1845, in 
Christian county, married Benjamin H. 
Giger. See his name. 

George Dickson died Jan. 7, 1849. in 
Christian county, and his widow resides 



with her daughter, Mrs. Giger, in Me- 
chanicsburg. 

DIFENDORF, OLIVER, 
was born March 12, 1819, in Canajoharie, 
Montgomery county, New York, and 
came to Springfield, 111., in November, 
1840. He was married Jan., 1842, to 
Martha Ann Cutter. She died six weeks 
after their marriage. Mr. Diefendorf, 
about the time of the death of his wife, 
entered upon the duties of deputy clerk, 
at Springfield, in the circuit court of San- 
gamon county. He continued to discharge 
the duties of that position until June, 
1846, when he volunteered in Co. D, 4th 
111. Inf., was commissioned ist Lieut., and 
went into the Mexican war under Col. 
E. D. Baker. He was subsequently com- 
missioned as 2d Lieut, in the i6th U. S. 
Inf., and served until the close of the war. 
He was married Oct., 1848, in Cincinnati, 
Ohio, to Caroline Cutter. They had 
three children, all of whom died in in- 
fancy. Aug. 23, 1850, they moved to 
Weston, Platt county, Mo. He was 
elected, Aug., 1851, for four years, clerk of 
the court of common pleas of that county. 
He was two years clerk in the office of 
the Surveyor-General of Kansas; was one 
of the thirty-two original proprietors of 
the city of Leavenworth, laid out in 1854. 
In 1856 he became a citizen of Kansas, 
and in the spring of 1857 a permanent 
resident of the city of Leavenworth. In 
Nov., 1867, he was elected clerk of Leav- 
enworth county; re-elected in 1869, again 
in 1873 and in 1875. He is now 1876 
in office, and resides in the city of Leaven- 
worth. 

DILLARD, WILLIAM, born 
April 1 6, 1786, in Virginia. Elizabeth 
Jacobs was born Oct. i^, 1791, in the same 
State. They had two children born there, 
and moved to Todd county, Ky., where 
four children were born, and the family 
moved to Sangamon county, 111., arriving 
late in 1830, and settled three and a half 
miles west of Springfield. Of their child- 
ren 

BENJAMIN F., born Aug. 10, 1810, 
in Virginia, married in Sangamon county, 
Feb. n, 1836, to Mary Crowder. They had 
seven children, two of whom died young. 
EUSTACIA A., born Dec. 30, 1836, 
married June 6, 1861, to Edward Keyes. 
See his name. JOHN J., born Sept. 10, 
1838, died Feb. 7, 1865. ^WILLIAM R., 



SANGAMON COUNTT. 



born Jan. 14, 1842, married Jan. 15, 1873, 
to Eliza J. Randall, who was born April 
29, 1847, in Sangamon county. They 
live five miles northwest of Springfield. 
MARY E., born April 9, 1844, lives with 
her mother. RIAL MARTIN, born 
Jan. 22, 1847, married Feb. 9, 1871, to 
Lerue Kincaid, and live in Logan county, 
near Elkhart. B. F. Dillard died Sept. 
5, 1868, near Elkhart, and his widow (in 
1874) resides five miles southwest of 
Springfield, on the farm where they set- 
tled in 1837. 

AD A LINE, born March 17, 1813, 
married Lewis Tomlinson. See his name. 

SARAH married James Hannah. They 
had two children, and he died. She and 
her children reside near Chester, Ran- 
dolph county. 

ELIZABETH married Henry Dye, 
and resides near Chester. 

VIRGINIA married William Bradley, 
who died, leaving a widow and three 
children in DuQuoin. 

MARIAN married James Hannah. 
They have two children, and reside in 
Perry county, 111. 

JOHN A. married Mary Hathaway, 
have four children, and reside near Ches- 
ter, Randolph county. 

Mrs. Elizabeth Dillard died Nov. 28, 
1854, in Sangamon county, and William 
Dillard died Oct. 7, 1868, in Randolph 
county, 111. 

DILLON, JOSHUA, was born 
Oct. 4, 1806, in Fauquier county, Va. 
The grandfather of Mr. Dillon sprang 
from Quaker ancestors. He resided in 
London county, Va., and was a soldier in 
the army that achieved American Indepen- 
dence. His son, Samuel, married in 1800 
to Nancy Fletcher, and served his country 
in the war of 1812-15. Samuel Dillon 
and wife raised two children, Joshua, 
whose name heads this sketch, and Har- 
riet. Joshua Dillon was married March 
29, 1829, in Culpepper county, Va., to 
Elizabeth S. Jeffries, who was born there, 
August 10, 1808. They united in Vir- 
ginia with the Regular Primitive Baptists 
in 1832-3, and still belong to that church. 
They moved to Sangamon county, 111., 
arriving June 18, 1834, in what is now 
Fancy Creek township. They brought 
four children with them, and seven were 
born in Sangamon county. Of their 
children 



WILLIAM, born Jan. 31, 1830, in 
Fauquier county, Va., raised in Sangamon 
county, married in Macon county, April 
14, 1853, to Mary E. Cantrill. They had 
ten children, FANNIE and ELLA 
MAY died young. WILLIAM S., 
LOUIS E., FRANK, GEORGE J., 
MARY E., ROBERT LEE and AN- 
NIE SHEPHERD, twins, and PAR- 
THENIA J., reside with their parents. 
Dr. William Dillon is a practicing physi- 
cian, and resides at Pavson, Adams coun- 

ty, in. 

ROBERT, born June 29, 1831, in 
Culpepper county, Va., raised in Sanga- 
mon county, married March 16, 1858, in 
Decatur, 111., to Maria F. Jennings, who 
was born Nov. 10, 1837, in New Jersey. 
Mr. Dillon enlisted in 1862, in Co. E,4ist 
111. Inf., and after four months service, he 
was honorably discharged on account of 
physical disability. In the spring of 1866 
they moved to Nebraska, and from there 
in April, 1871, to Colorado; thence to 
New Mexico in 1873. They have six 
children, FRANCES H., JOSHUA L., 
RICHARD O., SARAH E., PAR- 
THENIA A. and WILLIAM J., and 
reside near Trinidad, Colorado. 

SARAH F., born July 27, 1832, in 
Culpepper county, Va., married in San- 
gamon county, 111., Sept. 5, 1849, to John 
H. Crow. See his name. She died Jan. 
19, 1855, leaving three children. HENRY 
L., the second child, died, age,d twenty- 
two years. ELIZABETH H. was mar- 
ried Oct. n, 1874, to Albert D. Harrison. 
They ha"ve one child, LOUIS ARTHUR, the 
first great-grand-child of Joshua Dillon. 
Mr. Harrison is a druggist In Tecumseh, 
Neb. ISAAC R. Crow resides with his 
father. 

ANN ELIZABETH, born Oct. 7, 
1833, in Culpepper county, Va., married 
in Sangamon county, Oct., 1853, to Reuben 
McDannold. They have seven children, 
JOHN L., PART HENIA L., MARY 
A., WILLIAM R., THOMAS I., EM- 
MA J. and EDDIE, and reside three miles 
west of Springfield, 111. 

HARRIET E., born March 20, 1836, 
in Sangamon county, died in her twelfth 
year. 

MART E., born Oct. 18, 1837, in San- 
gamon county, was married Oct. 23, 1852, 
to Eli Ulery, and died Dec. 5, 1864, at 
Mt. Zion, Macon county, 111. Three 



252 



EARL 2 SETTLERS OP 



only, of her seven children are living, 
DONNA L, PERLIE and ELL They 
reside with their father. 

THOMAS J., born July 15, 1839, 
died in his twelfth year. 

PARTHENIA R., was born Nov. i, 
1841, in Sangamon county, married Mar. 
23, 1862, in Macon county, to John H. 
Crow. They have two children, SA- 
RAH F. and LILLIE R., and reside in 
Tecumseh, Neb. See his name. 

J OB A., born June 5, 1843, m Sanga- 
mon county. He enlisted for three years, 
in 1861, in Co. E, 4151 111. Inf., was cap- 
tured at Jackson, Miss., spent seventy- 
three days in a rebel prison at Belle Isle, 
and was honorably discharged at the ex- 
piration of his term of service. He was 
educated at Mt. Zion, 111., graduated in 
1867, at the Law school in Albany, N. Y. 
He was married in June, 1867, in Sanga- 
mon county, 111., to Huldah J. Oder. 
They have one living child, JESSE P., 
and reside in Tecumseh, Neb. Job A. 
Dillon moved to Nebraska in 1868, was 
elected to the State Senate in 1872, 
and is a practicing lawyer in Tecumseh. 

JOSEPH J., born Feb. 5, 1845, in 
Sangamon county, was married Jan. 26, 
1869, to Sophia J. Irwin. They have one 
child, JOSHUA, and reside near Tecum- 
seh, Neb. 

AMANDA JANE, born July 6, 1847, 
in Sangamon county, 111., educated at 
Mt. Zion, 111., married May 30, 1865, in 
Springfield, 111., to Dr. S. B. McGlum- 
pherv, who was born Aug. 27, 1831, in 
Washington county, Penn. He* attended . 
college at Waynesburg, Green county, 
Penn., and arrived in Decatur, 111., Oct. 
25, 1859. He graduated at Rush Medical 
College, Chicago, 111., Jan. 27, 1864. He 
moved to Tecumseh, Neb., arriving April 
20, 1872, and was appointed by the Gov- 
ernor assistant physician to the Nebraska 
Hospital for the Insane, Aug. 18, 1874. 
Dr. S. B. McGlumphery and wife have two 
living children, LENA B. and NELLIE 
S., and reside in Lincoln, Neb. 

Joshua Dillon and wife reside near 
Tecumseh, Xeb. 

DIXON, JAMES M., was born 
Aug. 3, 1807, in Harrison county, Ky. 
He was married in that county, Jan. 23, 
1827, to Joannah Bird, who was born 
Nov. 20, 1807. They had four children 
in Mason county, Ky., and moved to San- 



gamon county, 111., in the fall of 1834, in 
what in now Mechanicsburg township, 
where they had two living children. Of 
their six children 

WILLIAM A., born Nov. 10, 1827,511 
Kentucky, died in Sangamon countv, in 
his twenty-fifth year. 

SARAH ^4., born Oct. i, 1829,111 Ken- 
tucky, raised in Sangamon county, mar- 
ried in Logan county to Abraham Cop- 
land. They had five children, and Mrs. 
C. died, Feb. 26, 1872, leaving her family 
near Mt. Pulaski. 

JESSE D., born Oct. 10, 1831, in 
Kentucky, raised in Sangamon county, 
went to Oregon in 1849, married there to 
Louisa Milligan, has three living children, 
JOANNAH, RICHARD and JOHN, 
and lives at Lafayette, Yamhill county, 
Oregon. 

LUCINDA, born Sept. 6, 1833, in 
Mason county, Ky., married in Sangamon 
county to James L. Barbre. See his 
name. 

HESTER D., born Feb. 9, 1840, hi 
Sangamon county, married Sept. 4, 1861, 
to Thomas Stoker, who was born Dec. 27, 
1836, in Fairfield county, O. They had 
four children. DAVID A. died in in- 
fancy. JAMES A. died at six years of 
age. ARTHUR E. and ARMANEL- 
LA live with their parents in Buffalo. 

RICHARD, born Feb. 29, 1844, in 
Sangamon county, married May 6, 1874, 
and lives near Mechanicsburg. 

James M. Dixon died Dec. 19, 1843, 
near Mechanicsburg, and his widow mar- 
ried John C. Eckel. See his name. 

DIXON, JOHN, was born Oct. 
8, 1784, in the village of Rye, Westchester 
county, N. Y. After spending fifteen 
years as a merchant in New York city, 
he closed his business there and started, 
April 13, 1820, for the west. He came 
by the way of Pittsburg, Pa., and Shaw- 
neetown, 111., passing over the site of the 
city of Springfield before there was any 
thought of a town rising there, and set- 
tled nine miles further north, in what is 
now Fancy creek township. Four years 
later he moved to Fort Clark, where 
Peoria now stands. At the end of six 
years he moved north, into the country 
owned by the Winnebago Indians, and 
April ii, 1830, bought a ferry on Rock 
river from a half-breed Indian. From 
that time it was known as Dixon'^ ferry. 



SANGAMON COUNTY. 



253 



As a village began to grow, it was abbre- 
viated to Dixon, and has now grown to 
the city of Dixon, Lee county, 111. This 
is merely a synopsis of a long and useful 
life. John Dixon is now (1876) in his 
ninety-second year. Of his family, I 
have no record. He lives in the city 
founded by himself, and bearing his own 
name. 

DIXON, JOSEPH, was among 
the earliest settlers on Horse creek. He 
was the principal mover in establishing 
Zion chapel, in Cotton Hill township, to 
which he afterwards deeded five acres of 
land for church and cemetery purposes. 
His family are buried there, but he died in 
1844 at the house of a daughter, near 
Franklin, Morgan county, 111., and was 
buried there. 

DIVELBISS, JACOB, was 
born March 29, 1 797, in Franklin county, 
Pa. He was there married, Jan. 19, 1819, 
to Catharine Shank, who was born Dec. 
3, 1791, in Washington county, Md. They 
had three living children born in West- 
moreland county, Pa., and moved west, 
traveling from Pittsburg by water to 
Beardstown, 111. Mr. Divelbiss and his 
son Noah walked from there to Spring- 
field, the family following in a hack, 
and arriving may i, 1838. Of their three 
children 

CA7^HAR1NE, born July 8, 1822, in 
Westmoreland county, Pa., was married 
there April, 1838, to Richard Hodge. See 
It is name. 

\O.\If, born Nov. 28, 1824, in West- 
moreland county, Pa., was married in 
Springfield, Aug. 8, 1848, to Cordelia 
Watson. They had five children. NOAH, 
Jim., born April 27, 1849, was killed by a 
railroad accident at Sag bridge, near Le- 
mont, Cook countv, 111., July 17, 1873. 
ABBIE lives with her parents. 
CHARLES died in infancy. FREDDIE 
died in the eleventh year of his age. 
NELLIE lives with her parents. Noah 
Divelbiss came to Springfield with his 
father, and was deputy and acting clerk of 
the Supreme Court of Illinois from 1844 
to 1848. He is now teller in the Marine 
and Fire Insurance Company's Hank, and 
resides in Springfield. 

AM AX DA, born Feb. 3, 1829, in 
Westmoreland county, Pa., was married 
in Springfield, Sept. i, 1846, to Frank 
Hickox. lie is a brother of Virgil, but 



came to Sangamon county too late to be 
classed as an early settler. Mr. and Mrs. 
Hickox had eight children, two of whom 
died young. ALICE, born June 23, 1847, 
was married May 26, 1864, to William 
Warner, and resides at Selma, Alabama. 
FRANK, born April 4, 1849, was mar- 
ried June 27, 1872,10 Matilda C. Bailey, 
a native of Newport, Indiana. They live 
in Springfield, 111. ELBERT W., born 
March 14, 1852, in Petersburg, was mar- 
ried in Springfield Jan. 10, 1875, * Kate 
Griffith, of St. Louis. They reside in 
Springfield. IDA MAY, born Nov. 9, 
1854, was married in St. Louis, April 15, 
1870, to William J. White. They have 
one child, MAGGIE, and reside in Spring- 
field. NELLIE and her mother reside 
in Springfield with Mrs. Hickox's father. 

Jacob Divelbiss was elected Assessor 
and ' Treasurer of Sangamon county in 
1853, serving two years. He learned the 
wagon-maker's trade in his native county, 
and prosecuted the business in Springfield 
for many years. He made a hand in the 
shop a full half century. Mrs. Catharine 
Divelbiss died Aug. 18, 1875, and Jacob 
Divelbiss died suddenly Feb. n, 1876. 

DODDS, MRS. MARGAR- 
ET, the mother of Joseph and Rev. 
Gilbert Dodds, was married three times. 
Her maiden name was Craig. She was 
born in South Carolina, and first married 
a Mr. Watson, who died, and she married 
a Mr. Kirkpatrick. He was a patriot sol- 
dier, who, while serving in the Revolu- 
tionary army, was captured, and died in 
the British prison on Sullivan Island, near 
Charleston. She lost two brothers in the 
Revolutionary army, also. The soldiers 
of the English anm took all her provis- 
ions, and when she begged the officer in 
command to leave her sufficient corn and 
oats for seed, he replied with a volley of 
profanity, and told her she would have no 
use for it, as some loyal subject of the 
king would occupy her plantation. She 
remembered having seen Washington and 
his army, and Cornwallis with his army. 
After the death of Mr. Kirkpatrick, she 
married James Dodds. Thev had five 
sons and a daughter in Carolina, and in 
1795 started to move their family to Ken- 
tucky. Before they passed out of Caro- 
lina the father and daughter sickened and 
died. Mrs. Dodds, with her five sons, 
moved on; but, on arriving at Red river, 



2 54 



EARL? SETTLERS OP 



Tennessee, decided to stop, and there re- 
mained two years, when they again moved 
on, and arrived in Caldwell county, Ky., 
in 1797 or '8. After her son Joseph came 
to Sangamon county, she came and spent 
two years with him, then returned to 
Kentucky. Twelve or fifteen years later 
she again came to Sangamon county, and 
spent her remaining days in the families 
of her sons Joseph and Rev. Gilbert 
Dodds. She died in Sangamon county, 
Jan. 17, 1846, in the ninety-seventh year 
of her age. 

DODDS, JOSEPH, born May 
28, 1785, in Abbeville District, South Car- 
olina. He was taken by his mother to 
Caldwell county, Ky., in 1797 or '8. He 
was there married, May 3, 1810, to Mattie 
Drennan. They had three children in 
Kentucky, and in Oct., 1817, he accom- 
panied his father-in-law, William Dren- 
nan, to Illinois. In November they stop- 
ped on Wood river, in Madison county, 
two miles north of Alton, and remained 
there until the next March, when the men 
and boys connected with four families 
started for Sugar creek, Sangamon county, 
piloted by William Moore, an Indian 
Ranger. They reached their destination 
on the first of March, 1818, stopping in 
what is now Ball township, northwest of 
Sugar creek. There had not been any 
survey made, but the spot selected by 
Mr. Dodds, and on which he built his 
cabin, is now section twenty-nine, town 
fourteen, range five west, and that of Wil- 
liam Drennan is section thirty-two, same 
town and range. Mr. Dodds had been 
too busy with his crop to build anything 
better than a double rail pen for the pro- 
tection of his family. One son was born 
in Madison county, and Mr. Dodds brought 
his family to their new home Nov. 3, i8rS, 
where seven childi'en were born. Of 
their eleven children 

WILLIAM D., born Sept. 18, 1811, 
in Caldwell county, Ky., was married 
Sept. 18, 1834, to Polly Eades, in Sanga- 
mon county. They moved, in 1835, to 
DesMoines county, Iowa, where they 
brought up fifteen children, namely : 
WILLIAM E., born Oct. 13, 1835, was 
married Jan. 6, 1857, to Deborah C. 
Maines, who was born Jan. 29, 1839, in 
Clermont county, Ohio. They had five liv- 
ing children : REBECCA s., born Nov. 4, 
1837, was man 'i e d Dec. 3, 1874, to Edwin 



G. Moran, who was born Oct. 22, 1854, 
in Kane county, 111. They have one 
child, Ethel L,, and reside near Bartlett, 
Fremont county, Iowa. SARAH L. and 
JOSEPH w., twins, JAMES H. and MARY E. 
The four latter live with their parents, 
near Bartlett, Fremont county, Iowa. 
JOHN H., born Nov. 27, 1838, was mar- 
ried Sept. 13, 1866, to Lucy Parrott. 
They have one living child, WILLIAM D., 
and reside near Danville, Iowa. JOSEPH 
R., born Jan. i, 1841, was married Feb. 
7, 1 86 1, to Sarah E. Maines. They 
have four living children, MARY L., CAR- 
RIE B., LULU A. and CYRENE E., and 
live near Corning, Holt county, Mo. 
CYRENE E., born Oct. 22, 1842, was 
married March 19, 1864, to Henry 
Mathews. They have five children, 

HENRY L., HOWARD A., WARREN L., 

SAMUEL w. and MARY L., and live near 
Danville, DesMoines county, Iowa. 
JAMES H., born Sept. 9, 1844, died Jan. 
21, 1863. REBECCA J., born August 
25, 1846, was married March 9, 1861, to 
George W. Collis. They have one child, 
CHARLES L., and live near South Flint, 
Iowa. SAMUEL C., born July 28, 1848, 
was married Jan. 22, 1869, to Sarah Alli- 
son. They have two children, FREDDIE 
A. and MARY E., and live near Danville, 
Iowa. CHARLES W., born April 15, 
1850, was married Dec. 2, 1874, to Sonora 
Parrott, and live near Greenwood, Polk 
county, Iowa. OLIVER E., born Mar. 
25, 1852, was married to Lillie A. Clark, 
Oct. 20, 1875, and live near South Flint, la. 
MARTHA L., born Dec. 24, 1853, was 
married to James J. J. Redding, Feb. 22, 
1869. They have two living children, 
WILLIAM D. and LAURA L., and live near 
Pleasant Grove, DesMoines county, Iowa. 
AILSEY, or ALICE E., born Jan. n, 
1856, married Jan. 15, 1874, to William F. 
GRIFFEL. They have one child, 
CLARA E., and live near South Flint, Iowa. 
MARGARET E., LAVINA V. V., 
AARON E. and FINIS E. live with 
their parents. William D. Dodds and 
wife reside near South Flint, DesMoines 
county, Iowa. 

JOHN, born Jan. 26, 1814, in Cald- 
"well county, Ky., was married March 10, 
1836, in Sangamon county, 111., to Re- 
becca King. They had four children: 
JOSEPH C. married Elizabeth Levi. 
They have three children, and live in 



SANGAMON COUNTY. 



2 55 



Pawnee township. MARY M. lives 
with her mother. JOHN H. was mar- 
ried Dec. 12, 1872, to Mary J. Funder- 
hurk, and lives in Auburn township. 
SAMUEL K. lives with his mother. 
John Dodds died Oct. 21, 1859, and his 
widow, Mrs. Rebecca Dodds, lives in 
Auburn township. 

MART, born Jan. 16, 1816, in Cald- 
well county, Ky., was married in Sanga- 
mon county to Jonathan B. Colcman. Sec 
his name, 

J. WILSON, born May 28, iSiS, 
near Alton, Madison county, 111., was 
married Feb. 27, 1845, in Sangamon coun- 
ty, to Minerva J. Easley. They had fif- 
teen children; three died young. BEN- 
JAMIN A. died July 30, 1873, aged 
twenty-seven years. PERXECIA E. 
was married to John W. Phelps. They 
have two children, and reside in Ball 
township. MARTHA J. was married 
April 6, 1873, to Thomas Black, Jun. See 
his name. MARY E., JAMES F. E., 
AMANDA C., WILLIAM D., ED- 
WIN E. and FREDERICK B. (twins), 
EMMA A., JOHN G. and JOSEPH Al; 
the nine latter live with their mother. J. 
W. Dodds died March 8, 1875, and his 
family reside in Ball township, near the 
Cumberland Presbyterian church. 

MARGARET, born July 2, 1820, in 
Sangamon county, was married Oct. 22, 
1840, to James B. Easley. See his name. 

SAMUEL, born June 3, 1822, in San- 
gamon county, died unmarried, aged 
forty-two years. 

JOSEPH, born Sept. 5, 1824, in San- 
gamon county, was married March 30, 
1847, to Elizabeth A. Holland. They 
have six living children, ISABELLA J., 
WILLIAM A., MARTHA E., JO- 
SEPH N., ABNER L. and MARY E., 
who reside with their parents in Ball 
township, two hundred yards west of 
where his parents settled in 1818, and four 
miles southeast of Chatham, Sangamon . 
county. 

MARTHA A., born Nov. 22, 1826, in 
Sangamon count v, was married April 16, 
1846, to Strawther Eades. They have 
six children. EVA was married Oct. 24, 
1867, to William M. White. They have 
one child, and reside in Bates county, Mo. 
MARY E. was married May 6, 1869, to 
W. E. P urcell. They have one child, 
and live in Auburn township, Sangamon 



countv. REBECCA J. was married 
Nov." 1 6, 1871, to B. F. Peacock. They 
reside near Springfield. WILLIAM A., 
FINIS E. and MARTHA A., reside 
with their parents near Johnstown, Bates 
county, Mo. 

FRANCIS E WING, born Jan. 27, 
1829, in Sangamon county, was married 
Feb. 22, 1855, to Pauline K. Fletcher. 
They had four children. JOHN S. died, 
aged ten years. MARTHA F., VIR- 
GINIA E. and HENRIETTA A., live 
with their parents. F. E. Dodds and fam- 
ily live near Pawnee, Sangamon countv. 

NANCY E., born Sept. 14, 1831, was 
married Oct. 30, 1856, to Chester F. 
Maltby, and died Oct. 7, 1870. C. F. 
Maltby resides in Virden. 

ALEXANDER R., born July 27, 
1834, was married Dec. 24, 1860, to Ame- 
lia R. Planck, and died Jan. 4, 1864, leav- 
ing a widow and one child, EVA M., in 
Springfield, 111. 

Mrs. Martha Dodds died Jan. 10, 1853, 
and Joseph Dodds died Jan. 21, 1868, 
both on the farm where they settled in 
1818. Joseph Dodds became very much 
dissatisfied soon after coming to Sangamon 
county, and determined to return to Ken- 
tucky. He sold all the property he could 
spare to obtain money to defray the ex- 
pense, and* loaded his wagon; but his 
horses strayed away the night previous to 
the time he intended starting, and before 
he could find them his money was gone. 
He was thus compelled to remain. After 
becoming reconciled, he often expressed 
his thanks to those horses for running 
away. 

DODDS, GILBERT, born June 
6, 1793, in Spartanburg District, S'outh 
Carolina, and was taken by his mother, 
first to Tennessee, and from there to Cald- 
well county, Ky. He was married Oct. 
12, 1815, in Caldwell county, to Mary 
Clinton. Her father (James Clinton) was 
Captain of a company in the Revolution. 
Gilbert Dodds and wife had four children 
in Kentucky, and moved to Sangamon 
countv, 111., arriving in August, 1824, in 
what is now Ball township, and joined 
his brother Joseph, who came six years 
previous. They had eight children in 
Sangamon county, namelv 

JAMES C\, born Oct. 30, 1816, in 
Caldwell county, Ky., raised in Sanga- 
mon county, was married in Morgan 



256 



EARLY SETTLERS OF 



county April 12, 1840, to Jane Boulware. 
They had six living children. JAMES 
W. enlisted for three years, Aug. 9, 1862, 
at Springfield, in Co". B, ii4th 111. Inf. 
He was a Sergeant, and commanded his 
company at the battle of Guntown, in 
June, and was killed in battle at Tupelo, 
Miss., July 15, 1864. A cenotaph at the 
Cumberland Presbyterian church, on Su- 
gar creek, gives the above facts. PHILIP 
B. died, aged ten years. RICHARD N., 
born Nov. 25, 1851, is a druggist in Spring- 
field. NANCY C. married William 
Mason. See his name. MARY was 
married August, 1874, to Henry Wyatt, 
at Franklin, Morgan county, 111. FRED- 
ERICK C. lives with his sister, Mrs. 
Mason. Mrs. Jane Dodds died July, 1869, 
and James C. Dodds died April 12, 1872, 
both in Sangamon county. 

NANCY y., born Jan. 30, 1819, in 
Caldwell county, Ky., was married Dec. 
15, 1842, in Sangamon county, to John L. 
Drennan. See his name. He died July 
22, 1853, and his widow married John B. 
Weber. See his name. 

MINER VA, born Aug. 22, 1820, in 
Caldwell county, Ky., lost a limb by a fall 
from a horse in 1840, in Sangamon coun- 
ty, and has been an invalid since that 
time. She resides with her sister, Mrs. J. 
B. Weber. 

FRANCIS N., born Oct. 8, 1822, in 
Caldwell county, Ky., and brought up in 
Sangamon county, was married Dec. 9, 
1857, in Cass county, to Margaret Brady. 
They moved to Lykins county, Kan., 
where his wife died April 21, 1866, leav- 
ing one child, EMMA F., who resides 
with her grandmother Brady, in Virginia, 
Cass county, 111. F. N. Dodds was mar- 
ried Nov. 6, 1867, to Mrs. Mary C. 
Pedig. Thev have four children, 
CHARLES E., MARY A., CORA B. 
and SARAH L., who live with their 
parents. F. N. Dodds was a soldier in the 
Mormon war of 1845, and the Mexican 
war of 1846 and '7, from Sangamon coun- 
ty. He was in a Union regiment from Kan- 
sas, and aided in suppressing the slave- 
holders' rebellion. They reside near 
Colona, Carroll county, Mo. 

\\'ILLIAM D., born July 3, 1825, in 
Sangamon county, was married to Ange- 
line Corbev, in Sept., 1855. They have 
five children, HARRIET, ROSA, VIR- 
GINIA, ALBERT and FREDERICK, 



and live at Chilicothe, Livingston county, 
Mo. W. D. Dodds is a minister, con- 
nected with the Cumberland Presbyterian 
church. 

AMANDA E., born Dec. 22, 1827, in 
Sangamon county, was married Jan. i, 
1852, to Chester F. Maltby, who was 
born July 13, 1825, in New York. Mrs. 
Maltby died Dec. 21, 1852, in Petersburg, 
leaving one child, AMANDA E., who 
was married Jan. 16, 1873, to John G. 
Cheney, and resides near Auburn, Sanga- 
mon countv. 

JOHN H., born Feb. 14, 1830, in San- 
gamon county, was married July 3, 1855, 
to Ellen Goldsby. They had four child- 
ren, JULIA A., JAMES E., GILBERT 
and CHARLES H. John H. Dodds 
died Sept. 7, 1873, near Petersburg, Me- 
nard county. His family reside four miles 
south of Petersburg. 

ALFRED S., born May 20, 1832, in 
Sangamon county, studied medicine. He 
enlisted in Co. K, I33d 111. Inf., in 1861, 
for three years, as a private, but acted as a 
surgeon. He served three years, and was 
honorably discharged Jan., 1865, at New 
Orleans. ' He was married Sept. 10, 1863, 
to Maggie Cunningham. Thev have four 
children, WILLIAM, HARRY, 
RAPLH and FLORENCE. Dr. A. S. 
Dodds is a practicing physician at Bolckow, 
Andrew county, Mo. 

THOMAS C., born Nov. 6, 1834, 
served sixteen months in Co. F, 28th 111. 
Inf. He was honorably discharged Nov. 
24, 1862. at LaGrange, Tenn., and was 
married Nov. 4, 1869, to Lauretta Colby. 
They have three living children, EL- 
BERT C., EUNICE A. and MARY C., 
and reside six miles south of Petersburg, 
Menard county, 111. 

MARGARET A., born Oct. 8, 1837, 
died unmarried, Feb. 21, 1875, at the resi- 
dence of her sister, Mrs. J. B. Weber. 

MARY E., born Nov. 2, 1840, in San- 
gamon county, was married Jan. 16, 1868, 
to W r illiam Colby. They have three 
children, ALFRED L, "LYDIA and 
ALICE, and reside near Annawan, Hen- 
ry county, 111. 

IRA ~R., born Feb. 16, 1843, in San ' 
gamon county, 111., served three years and 
eight months in Co. F, 28th 111. Infi, and 
was honorably discharged July, 1865, at 
New Orleans. He is unmarried, and re- 



SANG AM ON COUNT*. 



2 57 



sides near Hutchinson, Reno county, Kan- 
sas. 1875. 

Rev. Gilbert Dodds became a minister 
in the Cumberland Presbyterian church 
in early life. He was for many years 
pastor of the Sugar creek church, and 
was always an active, energetic advocate 
of temperence. In 1847 ^ e move d to 
Menard county, a few miles south of 
Petersburg. Mrs. Mary Dodds died July 
9, 1866, and Rev. Gilbert Dodds died 
May 3, 1872, both near Petersburg. 

DOHERTY, JAMES HILL, 
was born June 3, 1775, in Virginia. His 
father, Cornelius Doherty, was a native of 
Ireland, and emigrated to America about 
1760, settling in Virginia. He was mar- 
ried there to Mary Hill. They had 
twelve children six of each sex. The 
family moved to Kentucky the year after 
Daniel Boone, and lived in the fort known 
as Estell station, for seven years. The 
son, James Hill Doherty, was married in 
1819 in Cumberland county, Ky., to Mary 
Foster, who was born in 1794, in South 
Carolina. They had two children in Ken- 
tucky, and moved to Sangamon county, 
111., arriving in the fall of 1824 on Rich- 
land creek, near where Pleasant Plains 
now stands. They had one child there, 
and Mrs. Mary Doherty and her second 
child Elizabeth died in the fall of 1824. 
In 1832 James H. Doherty left Sangamon 
county and moved to Missouri, thence to 
Arkansas, and in 1836 to Decatur county, 
Tenn., where he died July 22, 1852. Of 
his two children 

JOHN F. P., born Dec. 21, 1820, in 
Cumberland county, Ky., partially brought 
up in Sangamon county, 111., continued 
with his father until 1842, when he left 
Tennessee for Texas. He returned two 
years after, and was married Oct. 22, 1844, 
in Decatur county, Tenn., to Elizabeth J. 
Maxwell, who was born Sept. 6, 1823, in 
Humphreys county, Tenn. They had 
one child born and died in Tennessee, and 
eight in Texas, namely: JAMES H., 
born June 29, 1848, in Rusk county, 
Texas, resides with his parents. MARIA 
L., born April 5, 1850, in Nacogdoches 
county, Texas, married Jan. 20, 1871, to 
James H. Hall, a native of Mississippi. 
They have one child, FAXNIE j., born Jan. 
20, 1874. Mr. and Mrs. Hall reside in 
Coryell county, Texas, near Rainey's 

33 



Creek postoffice. WILLIAM J., born 
March 17, 1852, in Rusk county, Texas, 
resides with his parents. ROBERT R. 
P., born Oct. 26, 1853, and died Nov. 28, 
1874. JOHN P., born April 7, 1856, 
CHARLES F., born Aug. 3, 1858, and 
SUSAN M., born Nov. 28, 1862 the 
three latter in Nacogdoches county and 
SARAH E., born Sept. 14, 1867, in 
Limestone county, all reside with their 
parents. John F. F. Doherty and wife 
reside near Rainey's creek postoffice, Cor- 
yell county, Texas, and twenty-eight 
miles from Waco, the nearest express 
office. 

MART, born Sept. 18, 1824, in San- 
gamon county, was married there, Nov. 
30, 1847, to Charles W. Smith, who was 
born Jan. 31, 1823, in Overton county, 
Tenn. They have five children, NANCY, 
MATHIAS M., ELIZABETH, JOHN 
D. and MARY, who reside with their 
parents in Maco'upin county, ten miles 
northeast of Carlinville, 111. 

DOUGHERTY, CHARLES, 
was born Feb., 1792, near Derry, county- 
Donegal, Ireland. In 1817 he came to 
America, landing first in Canada, and 
from there to New York. He was mar- 
ried about 1820, in Washington county, 
Pa., to Mrs. Susannah Gants. She had 
nine children by her first marriage. Mr. 
and Mrs. Dougherty moved to Wheeling, 
Va., where they had one child, and from 
there to Greenup county, Ky. In 1835 
they moved to Coles county, 111., and from 
there to Sangamon county, arriving in 
May, 1838, in what is now Riverton. Mrs. 
D. died there, March 5, 1852, Their only 
son 

CHARLES,]\.m., born Oct. 10, 1822, 
in Wheeling, West Va., married Feb. 
20, 1849, to Amanda Constant. She died 
March i, 1858, leaving three sons, JAMES, 
REZIN and JOHN. Charles Dougherty, 
Jun., was married March 5, 1859, to Mrs. 
Susan E. Connelly, whose maiden name 
was Conant. They have three children, 
OMAR, ALLEN" and LYDIA J., who 
live with their parents, one mile northwest 
of Dawson. 

Charles Dougherty, Sen., resides with 
his son, Charles, Jun. 1874. 

DONNER. A family named Don- 
ner lived near Salem, Rowan county, N. 
C., in the latter part of the eighteenth 
century. The parents were German 



2 5 8 



speaking, but it is not known whether 
they emigrated from Germany or were 
born in this country. They had three 
sons and three daughters, all born in 
North Carolina, and moved to Jessa- 
mine county, Ky., about 1811. They 
moved with their children to Decatur 
county, Ind., and in 1828 came to Sanga- 
mon county. Both died at a very ad- 
vanced age, and were buried about three 
miles east of Springfield, near the Ben- 
nett school house. Of their children 

DONNER, LYDIA, born Dec., 
1783, near Salem, Rowan county, N. C., 
accompanied her parents to Jessamine 
county, Ky., and was there married to 
James Walters. They had nine children 
in Kentucky, and in 1829 moved to Deca- 
tur county, Ind., where Mr. Walters 
died in June, 1830. Mrs. Walters moved 
to Sangamon county, arriving in Auburn 
township in 1839. See Lydia Walters. 

DONNER, ELIZABETH, 
was married in Jessamine county, Ky., to 
William Walters. See the name of their 
son 

GREEN B. Walters. 

DONNER, GEORGE, was 
born about 1786, in Rowan county, N. C., 
came with his parents to Jessamine coun- 
ty, Ky., and from there to Decatur county, 
Ind. He was there married and had five 
children. Mrs. Donner died there, and 
Mr. D., with his family, came to Sanga- 
mon county, 111., in the autumn of 1828, 
settling about three miles northeast of 
Springfield. George Donner was married 
in Sangamon county to Mary Blue. 
They had two living children, and Mrs 
Mary Donner died in Sangamon county. 
Mr. Donner's five eldest children married 
in the latter county, and in 1838 he took 
his two children by the second marriage, 
and, in company with his son William 
and family, and his brother Jacob and 
family moved to Texas. They raised one 
crop fifty miles south of Houston. Not 
liking the country, they all returned in 1839, 
and George Donner moved on the farm he 
left. About two years afterwards he mar- 
ried Mrs. Tamsen Dozier, whose maiden 
name was Eustace. They had three 
children (all girls) born in Sangamon 
county. Of the five children of George 
Donner by his first marriage 

MARY, born in Indiana, was married 
in Sangamon county, 111., to George 



Weaver. They had four children, and 
Mr. Weaver died, and she married Adam 
Harmon. They had two children, and 
Mr. H. died at Island Grove. The family 
live near Libertyville, Iowa. 

WILLIA M, born May 3, 1812, in De- 
catur county, Ind., was married March, 
1832, in Sangamon county, 111., to Eliza- 
beth Hunter, who was born May i, 1819, 
in Gallatin county, Ky., and came to San-' 
gamon county in the autumn of 1830. 
They had two children, and in 1838 moved 
to Texas with his father, where one child 
was born. He returned to Sangamon 
county in 1839, where two children were 
added to the family. Of their five child- 
ren: JAMES W., born Jan. 7, 1834, in 
Sangamon county, was married April 20, 
1857, to Elizabeth Snodgrass, who was 
born Feb. 6, 1837, in Harrison county, In- 
diana. They have six living children, 

GEORGE A., CHARLES F., NETTIE J., IRV- 
ING, ALBERT F. and DORA E., and live in 
Clear Lake township, one mile south of 
Riverton. James W. Donner enlisted 
August 8, 1862, in Co. H., ii4th 111. Inf., 
for three years. He was severely wound- 
ed by a musket ball, through the hip 
joint, at the battle of Guntown, Miss., 
June 10, 1864, was captured and taken to 
Mobile. After one month, sent to Ca- 
hawba, remained three months, thence to 
Macon, Georgia, and from there to the 
prison pens at Andersonville. As the 
close of the rebellion approached, all the 
prisoners who could travel on foot were 
removed, leaving about one hundred there. 
The prison was surrounded by artillery, 
bearing on the stockade. The rebel 
guards, in order to escape capture, cut 
down the wheels of the artillery, and fled 
before the Union forces. J. W. Donner, 
with others in like situation, was sent by 
Capt. Wirz to Thomasville by railroad, 
thence to the Union lines at Jacksonville, 
Florida, which was reached the latter part 
of April. They were sent by water to 
Hilton Head and Annapolis, Md. Then 
by railroad to Chicago and Springfield, 
reaching home July 10, 1865. He now 
draws a pension. SARAH E., born 
Sept. 27, 1836, was married July 27, 1855, 
to Gilbert Sponsler, who was born Sept. 
18, 1833, in Dauphin county, Penn., came 
with his parents to Sangamon county in 
1841, and settled in what is now Wood- 
side township. They have four children : 



SANGAMON COUNTT. 



259 



WILLIAM A., GEORGE A., MARY F. and 

ALICE j., and reside in the Donner settle- 
ment, four miles east of Springfield. 
GEORGE T., born May 27, 1839, in 
Texas, enlisted at Springfield, August, 
1862, in Co. G.. ii4th 111. Inf., for three 
years, served full time, and was honorably 
discharged with the regiment at the close 
of the war. He was married March, 
1868, to Sarah Scott, east of Springfield. 
They have three children, WILLIAM, 
NANCY M. and HARVY o., and reside near 
Latham, Logan county, 111. RACHEL 
T., born May 7, 1842, was married Jan. 
20, 1857, to Felix Carver. See his name. 
JOSEPH, bom Sept. 30, 1845, enlisted, 
May 22, 1862, in Co. B, 68th 111. Inf., for 
one hundred days, served four months, 
and was honorably discharged. He was 
married Nov. 22, 1868, to Mary L. But- 
ler, who was born June 5, 1849. They 
have one child, LINNIE B., and reside with 
his mother, near Springfield, 111. William 
Donnor died July 22, 1867, within two 
miles of where his father settled in 1828. 
His widow, Mrs. Elizabeth Donnor, re- 
sides four miles east of Springfield. 

ELIZABETH, born in Indiana, was 
married in Sangamon county, 111., to 
Absolom Harmon. They had six or seven 
children, and reside near Libcrtyville, Jef- 
ferson county, Iowa. 

SUSANNAH, born in Indiana, was 
married in Sangamon county, 111., to 
Daniel Blue. They had three children, 
and moved to Hancock county, 111. 

L YDIA, born in Indiana, was married 
in Sangamon county, 111., to John Vancil. 
They had three or four children, and 
moved to Hancock county, 111. 

Of the children of George Donner's 
second marriage 

ELITHA CUMI, born in Sangamon 
county, 111., lived through the disaster on 
the mountains, in 1846, and was married 
in California to Perry McCoon. He was 
killed by a runaway horse. His widow 
was married Dec. 8, 1853,10 Benjamin W. 
Wilder. They have six children, and re- 
side at Elk Grove, Sacramento county, 
California. 

LEANNA C, born Dec. 5, 1834, near 
Springfield, 111., lived through the disaster 
on the mountains 1846-7, was married in 
Sacramento City, Cal., Sept. 26, 1852, to 
John App. They had four children. 
REBECCA, born Feb. 9, 1854, resides 



with her parents. LEONARD F. died 
in his sixth year, in San Francisco. 
JOHN Q. and LUCY E. reside with their 
parents near Jamestown, Tuolumne coun- 
ty, California. 

Children of the third marriage 

FRANCES E., born July 4, 1840, in 
Sangamon county, 111., lived through the 
disaster on the mountains, was educated 
at St. Dominie Catholic school, at Benicia, 
was married Nov. 24, 1858, in California, 
to William R. Wilder. They reside near 
Point of Timber, Contra Costa county, 
California. 

GEORGIANA, born Dec. 3, 1841, 
near Springfield, 111., lived through the 
disaster on the mountains, was educated at 
Benecia Catholic school, and married Nov. 
4, 1863, to Washington A. Babcock, in 
California. They have three children 
HENRY A., FRANK B. and EDITH 
M., and reside at Mountain View, Santa 
Clara county, California. 
^ ELIZA P., born March 8, 1843, near 
Springfield, 111., lived through the disaster 
on the mountains, was educated at St. 
Dominie Catholic school, at Benicia, Cal.j 
was married in same State, Oct. 10, 1861, 
to Sherman O. Houghton, who was born 
April 10, 1828, in New York city. She 
is his second wife. He served in the ist. 
regiment N. Y. Vol. Inf. through the 
Mexican war, was Mayor of San Jose, 
Cal., in 1855 and 1856, represented Cali- 
fornia in the 42d and 43d Congress. They 
have six children, ELIZA P., SHER- 
MAN O., Tun., CLARA H., CHAS. 
D., FRANCIS F. and STANLEY W., 
all born in California except the last, who' 
was born in Washington, D. C. Hon. S. 
O. Houghton and family reside in San 
Jose, Cal. He is a practicing lawyer. 

George Donner was a good man. It is 
said by his former neighbors in Sangamon 
county, that it appeared to be a pleasure 
for him to do a kind act. For an account 
of the sad fate of himself and wife, see 
sketch of the Reed and Donner emigrant 
partv. 

BONDER, TOBIAS, born in 
1788, near Salem, Rowan county, N. C., 
was a brother of George and Jacob, and 
the three sisters, Susannah, Lydia and 
Elizabeth. He moved with his father's 
family to Jessamine county, Ky., and was 
married there to Nancy Bettis, and moved 
to Decatur county, Ind. From there to 



260 



EAR LI SETTLERS OP 



the vicinity of Athens, Menard county, 
111., where they brought up a family. 

DONNER, JACOB, was born 
about i79 near Salem, Rowan county, 
N. C., accompanied the family to Jessa- 
mine county, Ky.,