(navigation image)
Home American Libraries | Canadian Libraries | Universal Library | Community Texts | Project Gutenberg | Children's Library | Biodiversity Heritage Library | Additional Collections
Search: Advanced Search
Anonymous User (login or join us)
Upload
See other formats

Full text of "History of the First Church in Roxbury, Massachusetts, 1630-1904"

^ 






^ 



,-ip 



i>'7 



\ 



DEDICATED 
To THE Memory of 

Deacon SUPPLY CLAP THWING 



PREFAv 



Various records of the church and of the town, incn. 
Eliot's book, and the lives of the ministers and prominent 
members, have been from time to time published, but there 
has hitherto been no attempt to chronicle the history of the 
First Church in Roxbury. My own deep interest in the 
church with which my father was for so many years con- 
nected, has led me to make a systematic study of its founda- 
tion, the lives of the founders, and the chain of events leading 
down to the present time. 

In the arrangement of material each of the jSve meeting 
houses erected on or near the site of the present one has been 
given a chapter. The authorities will be found in the adjoin- 
ing list. From these, extensive quotations have been made, 
and as far as possible the records tell the story. 

The early records of the town, school, and church are very 
imperfect; in Eliot's petition to the General Court, June 29, 
1669, for a renewal of the school charter, he says, " Our first 
book and charter were burned in ye burning of John John- 
son's house" (1645). But from 1652 the records are in a 
tolerably good condition, although the events are not always 
recorded in sequence. Rev. Amos Adams notes in reference 
to the church records-, " Inasmuch as some things worthy of 
notice are not as I find mentioned in this Book and others 
yt are, are mentioned in divers places scattered up and down, 
I have thot proper here to insert ye following articles, follow- 
ing ye Revd. Mr. Eliot and Danforth's annals of events." 



.bury was 

3e on the 

and as no 

bly burned 

■i. ^ inhabitants of West Roxbury, Jamaica 
.-»iOokline (then called Muddy River) worshipped 
•t; church. In 1717 the town of Brookline organized an 
independent church. In 1712 the Congregational Parish of 
West Roxbury was set off from this church, and in 1770 the 
First Congregational Society of Jamaica Plain was organized 
from the West Roxbury Church. In 1821 the Dudley Street 
Baptist Church was organized; in 1822, the Universalist ; in 
1832, the St. James Episcopal; in 1834, the Eliot Congrega- 
tional, and in 1846 the Second Unitarian Church, Mt. 
Pleasant Congregational, now All Soul's. From this we see 
that for nearly two hundred years this was the only church 
within the limits of Roxbury proper. 

It has been difficult to get details of the lives of many of 
those prominent in the church, and many who were prominent 
in the town and in public life are unnoticed, as there is no 
mention of them in the church records. This is by no means 
proof that they were not members. During the last century 
a large number hired seats, and, attending the church regu- 
larly, considered themselves members of the church, but as 
it is well nigh impossible to learn the names of all of these, 
they have been omitted, and I have limited myself throughout 
to those mentioned in the records. In the brief biographies 
of the early members the date of baptism has been given 
whenever possible, as this shows that one or both parents 
were church members. Prior to the year 1752 the year 
began March 25, therefore the double date has been used for 
the first three months of the year as at present computed. 



PREFACE vii 



I beg gratefully to acknowledge the aid rendered by many 
friends and especially by those who have given valuable help 
in oflFering letters relating to their immediate families. It is 
to be regretted that it is not possible to print the whole or 
parts of these letters, but as this is not a genealogical record, 
I have been obliged to restrict myself to the mere facts of 
birth, death, and marriage, the occupation of members as far 
as can be ascertained, and to note any public offices they 
may have held. I shall be grateful to receive any corrections 
if dates or facts are found to be wrong. 

My thanks are due to Mr. William C. Lane, Librarian of 
Harvard University, for thephotograph of the Corlet " Elegy, " 
and to Messrs. Allen A. Brown and William H. Gerrish for 
much information in regard to the choirs. 

I am greatly indebted to our present pastor, the Rev. James 
DeNormandie, D.D., for his introduction, and to my mother ' 
and sister for their encouragement and help in preparing this 
work. 

Two hundred and seventy-seven years have passed since 
a few men and women left home and friends for conscience 
sake, faced the great perils of the wilderness and gathered a 
Church in Roxbury. The seed then sown has borne won- 
drous fruit. The creed has changed but the church sur- 
vives. The spirit of the age and the change in the character 
of the inhabitants of the locality have greatly influenced the 
church membership, but under the able and earnest minis- 
tration of our present Pastor the Church still flourish^. And 
it is the prayer and devout wish of those of us who now 
worship in the old Meeting House on the same site where our 
forefMhers gathered, that here we may continue to worship 
for many years to come. 

Walter Eliot Thwing. 
March, 1908. 



INTRODUCTION 



Man has always had a strong affection for the places of 
his worship. Of many nations these are their only traces 
which remain. Everything else has pa^ed away — theatres, 
museums, libraries, art -galleries, forums, i^s of traffic — 
but we still make pilgrimages to the ruins of their altars 
where they brought their oblations, and sought to escape the 
frown, or gain the favor, of their divinities. 

One cannot pause without emotion, upon a spot, where, 
from a period reaching back to the settlement of a land, and 
without any interruption, generations have gathered, in the 
day of small things, amidst dangers and privations, and in 
the day of rapid increase in wealth, power and prosperity — 
to bring the story of their gratitude, penitence, and prayer to 
the altar of God. However indifferent or neglectful persons 
may have grown to the observance of religious forms in their 
old homes, as soon as they come to a new land they set up 
some place of worship, and confess that need of the 
spiritual realities to which the whole history of man bears 
witness. 

The First Church in Roxbury traces an eventful history 
to the settlement of the plantation. On the same spot, 
without any break in its records, or any pause in its worship, 
with a line of most distinguished ministers from the Apostle 
Eliot, to the great preacher, Dr. Putnam, with a very large 
number of its members eminent in every department of 
civic, professional, and private life (as will appear in this 
book), and with many events of historical significance 

ix 



INTRODUCTION 



occurring within its grounds, this church is rapidly approach- 
ing the end of three centuries. 

The writer of this church history has studied everything 
relating to it, with careful, faithful, and unwearied labor, wide 
research and diligent inquiry for several years, and as few 
churches have had such an eventful history, none has had a 
more devoted chronicler. 

The word "church" is used sometimes for the house of 
God as, " I am going to St. Paul's to-day, " sometimes for the 
body of communic':>,nts, and very often for the whole service 
of devotion as.^ I am going to church this morning." It is 
on account of this varied use of the word that it is difficult 
occ^ ionally to fix the exact date of a church's beginning. 
Some count from the building of the house, some from the 
settlement of a minister, some from the gathering of a few 
worshippers on a ship's deck, or under a spreading tree, or 
in the room of a private house — this latter is the true idea 
of the iKK\r](ria, the assembly. 

The Apostle Eliot's records of the First Church begin thus, 
" Mr. William Pinchon, he came in the first company, 1630. 
He was one of the first foundation of the church at Rocks- 
borough. " Then he goes on' to name several families which 
he says were of the first company in 1630, certainly enough 
to have some kind of a gathering for the worship of God ; and 
in days when worship was so dear to them after the persecu- 
tions they had suffered in England, especially with all the 
loneliness and privations, perils of the wilderness, and perils 
of the Indians, and the rigor of wintry days, in some home 
however humble they must have assembled and constituted 
a true church. When weather permitted, and weather was 
not a serious obstacle in those days to church going, they 
went for awhile through the pathway in the forests over to 
Dorchester, " until such time as God should give them oppor- 



INTRODUCTION xi 

tunity to be a church among themselves." "Mr. George 
Alcock, he came w**^ the first company aiio. 1630. When 
the people of Rocksbrough joyned to the church at Dor- 
chester, he was by the church chosen to be a Deakon esp'c to 
regard the brethren at Rocksbrough : and after he adjoyned 
himselfe to this church at Rocksbrough he was ordained a 
Deakon of this church." The early ministers of these 
plantations, as the first settlements were called, regarded 
themselves as self-constituted chroniclers of whatever took 
place in their sparsely inhabited parishes. They were the 
historians and journalists of the time. If a house was struck 
by lightning, or a great storm came, or any portent in the 
heavens, or some accident befell a settler, or an epidemic 
appeared, or a brother or sister lapsed into heresy, or a ship 
arrived or sailed, or if there was an exceptional season, as 
once the Apostle writes, "not any snow fell this winter," 
if there was an abundant harvest or a threatened famine, the 
minister makes a note of it in the parish book, and frequently 
this is all the history of the times we have. 

There was a special reason in the theology of that day for 
the minister to make these records. According to the Puritan, 
the Church was a company of Christians under the Govern- 
ment of God. Each church was to mark the separation 
of the faithful from the sinners ; it consisted of the " visible 
saints, " and even if the saintship was not always visible, its 
object was to maintain a high standard of purity and holiness 
among its members. Each church was a unit to determine 
its own rules of faith and life. "The kingdom of God," 
said the Puritan Robert Browne, "was not to be begun by 
whole parishes, but rather of the worthiest were they never 
so few." ^Vhen the Independent divines put forth their 
" Declaration, " its preface says, " From the first, every, or at 
least the generality of our churches, have been in a manner 



xii INTRODUCTION 

like so many ships (though holding forth the same general 
colours) lancht singly and sailing apart and alone in the vast 
ocean of these tumultuating times, and exposed to every 
wind of Doctrine under no other conduct than the Word and 
the Spirit, and their particular Elders, and principal Brethren, 
without association among ourselves, or so much as holding 
out common lights to others, whereby to know where we are. " 
No church or union of churches had any right or power to 
interfere with the faith or discipline of any other church, so 
it had to be a jealous custodian of the conduct of its own 
members. There was no disposition to gloss over the faults 
of anyone, man or woman, who, having once taken hold of 
the covenant, had fallen from grace; so the minister was quite 
ready to put down in black and white his spiritual judgment 
of his flock. But with a keen watch for heresy or for sin, a 
tender love and sympathy went with it. The atmosphere of 
every home was known, and any lapsing brother or sister 
was brought to the open confessional or banished the settle- 
ment. On the Rockesbrough Hill fast by the first little 
rough meeting-house stood the stocks and the pillory, 
guardians of peace and terror to evil doers, where the 
offender had to stand in full view of the elect, and where 
every offence against the gospel was sure to be followed by 
the penalty of the law. These records make strange reading 
to-day, but after all the sins make a very small part of them. 
The records of the Apostle Eliot are of surpassing interest, 
because the man is the most interesting figure in the early 
history of New England. There is such a flavor of humanity 
and godliness about them because the man was so human, so 
godly. What tender yearnings come out in a sentence like 
this, about some who had humbled themselves by public 
confession in the meeting house, "we have cause to hope 
that the full proceedings of discipline," (no letting up of 



INTRODUCTION xiii 

discipline) "will doe more good than theire sin hath done 

harm." 

•^ The plan of the writer of this volume has not permitted 

him to go beyond the affairs and statistics relating to the 

church — but many matters of historical interest, and 

especially events connected with the Revolution, cluster 

around the site of the First Church. 

Here Washington came to review the army, the right of 
which was at Roxbury, its main post being on Meeting-House 
Hill. Its first commander was General Thomas, whose 
headquarters were in the parsonage, still standing on the 
high, rocky bluff near the church, almost the last witness to 
the scenes of those stormy days, and with a superb view over 
the city. The lawn in front of the meeting house was the 
grand parade ground of the army. Here the guards for the 
advanced lines on the neck, for the main guard in Roxbury 
Street, and for the other posts, and the fatigue parties em- 
ployed on the fortifications were formed every morning, and 
reviewed by General Thomas, who, with his spy-glass, 
watched from the dormer windows of his house the move- 
ments of the enemy at Charlestown. The Rhode Island 
troops were said to be the best furnished ; while the Southern 
riflemen, in white hunting shirts and Indian moccasins, were 
among the most picturesque, and also the most feared. They 
had been trained to think it disgraceful to shoot game any- 
where but in the head; and at a review a company of them 
fired, at a quick advance, their balls into objects of seven 
inches diameter, at a distance of two hundred and fifty yards. 
The British spoke of them as those " shirt-tail men, with their 
cursed twisted guns, the most fatal widow and orphan 
workers in the world. " 

When the troops started on their march to Cambridge, and 
went down Roxbury Street, the one road to Boston, and past 



xiv INTRODUCTION 



the school-house of the famous grammar school, founded by 
the Apostle Eliot after the type of the grammar schools of 
England, the fires of patriotism could no longer be smothered 
in the teacher, Robert Williams; he dismissed the boys, gave 
the key of the school-house to a pupil to hand to the trustees, 
fell in the march with the soldiers, and served throughout 
the war with a marked distinction which is cherished by his 
descendants. 

Here ^^hitefield came in his great revival journey and 
preached on the lawn in front of the church on Friday, 
April 26, 1740, to an immense congregation coming from 
every part of the country, and in every kind of vehicle, to the 
number, it is said, of at least sixteen thousand. After his 
services he dined with Judge Paul Dudley, the founder of the 
Dudleian Lectureship at our neighboring University. White- 
field was graciously welcomed by the clergy of Boston, with 
the exception of Dr. Cutler, rector of Christ Church, who, 
meeting him on the street, said to him, " I am sorry to see you 
here," to whom \Miitefield quietly replied, "So is the devil." 

In the list of members of the church which stood on the site 
of this present one, and which may be called the church of 
the Revolutionary period, it is surprising to find how many 
were officers of the army. 

Another matter which enters largely into the history of the 
First Church is the great interest taken by the Apostle Eliot 
and members of the congregation in education. In a 
small manuscript roll covered with dark, time-stained vellum 
and tied with a cord of skin is preserved one of the most 
valuable documents in the early history of New England. It 
contains the covenant for the establishment of "The Free 
Schoole in Roxburie, " afterwards known as " The Grammar 
School in the Easterly part of the town of Roxbury, " and 
still later as the Roxbury Latin School. It is dated the last 



INTRODUCTION xv 

day of August in the year of our Lord 1645. The book is 
rich in signatures of EHot, Weld, the Dudleys, Seavers, 
Williamses, Hemingways, Ruggleses, Mays, Dorrs, Sumners, 
Heaths, and many who were prominent in the plantation of 
Roxbury. The method and earnestness with which they 
entered into the matter, and their determination to sustain 
the school at whatever sacrifice is shown by another paper 
the next year wherein, " it is agreed by all those inhabitants 
of Roxbury as have or shall subscribe their names or marks 
to this book for themselves severally and for their respective 
heirs and executors that not only their houses but their fields, 
orchards, gardens, outhouses and homesteads, shall be and 
hereby are bound and made liable to and for the several 
sums and rents before and hereafter in this book mentioned 
to be paid by every of them. " 

I do not know where one can find earlier, more constant, 
more generous, or more consecrated efforts in the interests of 
education, and in the list of subscribers it is remarkable how 
few made their " marks, " for their pledges. 

It is impossible to include in this volume these old-time 
records of what was the heroic age of New England. They 
are not such records as we write to-day, but at heart the 
humanity of these worshippers was of the same type as our 
own. Here is a long and faithful list of those who for genera- 
tions have worshipped on the same spot, and thousands of 
their descendants now scattered throughout this vast land 
will find their names with a touch of grateful memory and 
emotion. For two hundred and seventy-seven years this 
church has been the abode of the highest and most helpful 
ideals to which the human heart can be consecrated, and 
the fire has not been suffered to die out upon the altar, nor 
has the altar been removed. We are not like the Fathers by 
wearing the Puritan dress, nor by subscribing to their doc- 



xvi INTRODUCTION 

trines, but by sacrifices for a new land; by their interest in 
education ; by their efforts to walk together as the truth might 
be revealed to them; by a deeper faith in those few great 
spiritual verities which ever have been, and ever must be, the 
refuge, support, and inspiration of the human soul. 

This church has had a noble past, but the real value of a 
church is not in its past, but in its ability to minister to the 
religious needs of to-day. 

May many generations gather on this spot for their finest 
apprehension of truth, and for their deepest assurances of 
the living God. 

James De Normandie. 

45 Lambert Avenue, Roxbxjet, 
March, 1908. 



CONTENTS 



Jfirgt Meeting IDouse 

Page 

List of Pastors and Officebs 1 

History of the Church 3 

Life of Thomas Welde 15 

Life of John Eliot 17 

Life of Samuel Danforth . 38 

Lives of the Ruling Elders 42 

Lives op the Deacons 43 

Church Members 45 

SeconD ifbeetirxQ Ibouse 

List op Pastors and Officers 67 

History of the Church 69 

Life of Nehemiah Walter 84 

Life op Thomas Walter 112 

Lives op the Ruling Elders 116 

Lives of the Deacons 118 

Church Members 120 

ITbirO /iBectfng "fcouse 

List op Pastors and Officers 137 

History of the Church 139 

Church Members 142 

jFourtb Meeting Ibouse 

List op Pastors and Officers 145 

History of the Church 149 

Life op Oliver Peabody 174 

Life of Amos Adams 175 

Life op Euphalet Porter 178 

Lives of the Deacons 185 

Church Members 186 

xvii 



xviu CONTENTS 



jpiftb /Dbeetlng "(bouse 

Page 

List of Pastors and Officebs 209 

History of the Chtirch 217 

Life of George Pcttnam 240 

Lives of the Deacons 245 

History op the Gjmmunion Table 256 

Church Members 259 

Pew Owners 271 

History of the Music 335 

History of the Sunday School 353 

History of the Horse Sheds 356 

History of the Church Chaeities 358 

Appendix — Presentation of John Eliot's Chair 372 

Lntdex 374 



LIST OF ILLUSTRATIONS. 



Present Meeting House Frontispiece 

Built in 1804, and showing Putnaxa Chapel, built in 1876. The 
large building near the chxu-ch on the left is Stoddard's New Brick 
Building, where services were held in 1803. 

The Coblet Elegy facing 87 

Elegy on Elijah Corlet, the first schoolmaster of Cambridge, by 
Nehemiah Walter, 1687. The original is in possession of Har- 
vard University. Copied through the courtesy of Mx. WiUiam 
C. Lane, Librarian. 

Plan- OF the Third Meeting House, 1736 facing 139 

The Parsonage facing 174 

Built by Oliver Peabody in 1751 and occupied by him and his 
successors. After the death of Dr. Porter by Charles K. 
Dillaway. 

Meeting House Hill in 1790 facing 169 

Showing the Foiulh Meeting House, the Parsonage on the right and 
Horse Sheds near the church on the left. From an oil painting by 
John Ritts Penniman, a painter li\Tng in Roxbury. Taken 
from Francis S. Drake's History of Roxbury, through the courtesy 
of Mr. Edward W. McGlennen. 

Plate facing 218 

This Plate, supposed to have been placed under the corner stone 
of the present Meeting House, was stolen in some mysterious 
manner, and returned anonymously in 1813. 

Plan of the Floor of the Present Meeting House, 1804. 

This remains unchanged, with the exception of the removal of two 
pews near the -pulpit when the present pulpit was built, facing 271 

xix 



XX LIST OF ILLUSTRATIONS 

Plan op the GalXiEries op the Present Meeting House, 1804. 
Showing the square pews and the singers' seats. A change was 
made in 1835 facing 310 

Plan of Galleries op the Present Meeting House. . . facing 317 
Showing the long pews after the change in 1835. The only 
change since then was made in 1888, when four small pews 
attached to the organ were removed when the new organ was 
built. 

View of Eliot Square facing 356 

Showing the Meeting House and the Horse Sheds, taken from 
John W. Barber's Historical Collections of Massachusetts, 
1844. 

Interior of the Present Meeting House looking East, Taken 

IN 1857 facing 232 

Interior of the Present Meeting House looking West, Taken 

IN 1857 facing 234 

Interior of the Present Meeting House looking East, Taken 

in 1900 " 238 

Interior of the Present Meeting House looking West, Taken 

IN 1900 facing 240 

John Eliot's Chair facing 373 

Presented by the First Parish in Dorchester to the First Church in 
Roxbury, Sunday Evening, March 17, 1907. 



AUTHORITIES. 



Recordes of the First Church in Roxbury, including Eliot's Book. 

'I'own Records of Roxbury. 

Town and Church Records of Dorchester. 

Town and Church Records of Boston. 

Town and Church Records of Brookline. 

Massachusetts Archives. 

Suffolk County Deeds. 

Norfolk County Deeds. 

History of New England, 1630-1649. John Winthrop. 

Wonder Working Providence of Zion's Saviour, 1658. Capt. Edward 

Johnson. 
Plain Dealings or News from New England, 1642. Thomas Lechford. 
A Briefe Description of New England, 1660. Samuel Maverick. 
New England's Prospects, 1634. William W^ood. 
Magnelia Christi Americana, 1702. Cotton Mather. 
Journal of a Voyage to New York and a Tour in Several American Colonies, 

1679-80. Jasper Dankers. 
Diary of Judge Samuel Sewall, 1673-1729. 
History of New England, 1873. John Gorham Palfrey. 
Memorials of the Pilgrim Fathers, John Eliot and His Friends of Nazing 

and Waltham, 1882. William Winters. 
Bibliography of the Algonquin Languages, 1891. James Constantino Pilling. 
Massachusetts Historical Society, Collections and Proceedings. 
New England Historic and Genealogical Register. 
Biographical Dictionary, 1809. John Eliot. 
Biographical Dictionary, 1809 and 1857. William Allea, 
Harvard Graduates, 1873-85. John Langdon Sibley, 
Annals of the American Pulpit, 1857. William B. Sprague. 
American Quarterly Register. 

Life of Nehemiah Walter, 1755. Thomas Prince and Thomas Foxcraft. 
Revolutionary Adventures of Ebenezer Fox, 1838. 
Records of Deacon Joshua Felton, 1782-1816. 
Newspapers of the Eighteenth and Nineteenth Centuries. 
Genealogies of Individual Families. 

xxi 



HISTORY OF THE FIRST CHURCH 
IN ROXBURY 



1632-1674 



PASTORS 

Rev. Mr. Thomas Welde 
Rev. Mr. Samuel Danforth 

TEACHER 
Rev. Mr. John Eliot 

RULING ELDERS 
Mr. John Miller Mr. Isaac Heath 

DEACONS 

Mr. George Alcock 
Mr. William Parke Mr. Philip Eliot 

Mr. Giles Paison 

SEXTONS 

John Chandler chosen in 1659 

William Cleaves chosen in 1669 



THE FIRST MEETING HOUSE 



John Eliot was called to be a Teacher to the Roxbury 
people soon after the building of the first meeting house and 
his life and labours, together with those of his Nazing asso- 
ciates, occupy no small space in the evangelical annals of 
New England. 

In the words of Mr. Winters, who wrote from the English 
point of view ; 

As a pioneer and reformer, Eliot stands prominent among the settlers 
and founders of the New World, surrounded and supported by a galaxy of 
Essex Nonconformists of the purest type. It is well known that there is no 
coimty in Old England that can claim precedence of Essex for honest and 
intrepid men, especially those of the Reformation age, who, for the sake of 
truth and liberty, endm-ed the tortures of the rack and fagot; and others of a 
later period feared not to exercise the right of conscience and private judg- 
ment in things agreeable to their religious impressions, imtil overcome by 
the heat of persecution, they were necessitated to cross the stormy Atlantic 
in search of a home in the dreary wilds of the Far West. 

The First Church in Roxbury, whose influence was to 
become great and far-reaching, was the sixth to be gathered 
by the emigrants to New England, being preceded by those 
of Plymouth (1620), Salem (1629), Dorchester (1630), 
Boston (1630), anci Watertown (1630). A company of the 
men who arrived in Winthrop's fleet in 1630, sat down in 
Roxbury, and these, with others who came later in the same 
year and in 1631, were the founders of our church. 

Under the charge of Deacon George Alcock they first 

joined themselves to the church in Dorchester, until such 

3 



THE FIRST MEETING HOUSE 



time as God should give them opportunity to be a church 
among themselves. In 1630 they were taxed for the main- 
tenance of the ministers at Charlestown and Boston. The 
beginning of a church was usually considered to date from 
the signing of the covenant and the ordaining of the first 
pastor, but, unfortunately, the covenant of our church 
cannot be found, though we have the date of the ordination 
of the first pastor. Rev. Amos Adams notes in the church 
book that the church was gathered in 1632. On the other 
hand the words under the clock in the gallery of the present 
Meeting House built in 1804, and placed there by an 
unknown hand, say, "This church was gathered in 1631," 
and Captain Johnson in "Wonder Working Providence" 
heads the paragraph on Roxbury, "The Fift Church of 
Christ gathered at Roxbury 1631." But Johnson did 
not always agree with other authorities as to the date of 
organization. 

To have been without a church, both in the sense of 
a gathering and a building, must have been very trying to 
the settlers, and we may infer that while worshipping 
in Dorchester, they constantly kept in mind their own 
aspirations, and discussed among themselves their hopes and 
plans. 

Judging from the history of other churches of the time, in 
all probability the covenant was signed when the first meeting 
house was built and ready for occupancy, and the first 
Pastor, Rev. Thomas Welde, ordained, in the month of July, 
1632. 

During that year another band of emigrants arrived and 
these were the friends of John Eliot, coming chiefly from 
Nazing and the adjoining parishes. Before leaving England, 
Eliot had engaged with a select number of his pious and 
Christian friends that if they should come into these parts 



THE FIRST MEETING HOUSE 



before he should be in a pastoral care of any other people, 
he would give himself to them and be for their service. It 
happened that these friends transplanted themselves hither 
the year after he came, and chose their habitations in Roxbury, 
and it was no doubt through their influence with the church 
which had already settled Mr. Welde as Pastor, that John 
Eliot was called to be their Teacher, and he was ordained 
Nov. 5, 1632. 

We have no record of the appearance nor the size of the 
first meeting house, but Captain Johnson in his "Wonder 
Working Providence " tells us, in speaking of Roxbury: 

Their streetes are large, and some fayre houses, yet have they built their 
House for Chiu-ch assembly, destitute and unbeautified with other buildings. 
The Church of Christ here is increased to about 120 persons, their first 
Teaching Elder called to office is Mr. EUot, a yong man, at his comming 
thither of a cheerfull spirit, walking unblameable, of a godly conversation, 
apt to teach, as by his indefatigable paines both with his own flock, and the 
poore Indians doth appeare, whose language he learned piuposely to helpe 
them to the knowledge of God in Christ, frequently Preaching in their 
Wigwams, and Catechizing their children. 

The building was undoubtedly small and oblong and at 
first without shingles or plaster, with a thatched roof, and 
without gallery, pew or spire. Probably similar to Dedham 
in dimensions, that being thirty-six feet long, twenty feet 
wide and twelve feet high. 

In other towns the inhabitants were called to meeting by 
beat of drum, and no doubt this custom prevailed here. 

The people sat on plain benches, men and women apart, 
on their respective sides of the house, while the boys had a 
place separate from both with a tything man to keep them in 
order. Two services were held on Sunday, in the morning 
and afternoon, with a short interval between. They con- 
sisted of first a prayer by the Pastor, then the reading and 
expounding of scripture by the Teacher, then the singing of a 



THE FIRST MEETING HOUSE 



psalm in a metrical version without instrumental accom- 
paniment, which was dictated or lined by the Ruling Elder, 
and a sermon of which the approved length was an hour, 
measured by an hour glass which stood upon the pulpit. 
The services concluded with a prayer and a blessing from 
the teacher. 

Cotton Mather describes the Officers of the Church as 
follows : 

The office of pastor and teacher appears to be distinct. The pastor's 
special work is to attend to exortation and therein to administer a word of 
wisdom; the teacher is to attend to doctrine and therein to administer a 
word of knowledge; and either of them to administer the seals of that cove- 
nant unto the dispensation whereof thej' are alike called ; as also to execute 
the censures being but a kind of application of the word the preaching of 
which together with the application thereof they are alike charged withal. 
Forasmuch as both pastors and teachers are given by Christ, for the per- 
fecting of the saints, and edifying of his body, which saints and body of 
Christ is his church, and therefore we account pastors and teachers to be 
both of them church officers, and not the pastor for the church and the 
teacher only for the schools, tho' this we gladly acknowledge that schools 
are both lawful, profitable and necessary for the training up of such in good 
literature or learning as may afterwards be called forth into office of pastor 
or teacher in the church. 

The ruling elder's office is distinct from the office of pastor and teacher. 
The ruling elders are not so called to exclude the pastors and teachers from 
ruling, because ruling and governing is common to these with the other, 
whereas attending to preach and teach the word is peculiar imto the 
former. 

The ruling elder's work is to join with the pastor and teacher in those acts 
of spiritual rule which are distinct from the ministry of the word and sacra- 
ments committed to them of which sort these be as foUoweth. 

1. To open and shut the doors of God's house by the admission of 
members approved by the church, by ordination of officers chosen by the 
church and by excommunication of notorious and obstinate offenders 
renoimced by the church, and by restoring of penitents forgiven by the 
church. 

2. To call the church together when there is occasion and seasonably to 
dismiss them again. 

3. To prepare matters in private that in publick they may be carried an 
end with less trouble and more speedy dispatch. 



THE FIRST MEETING HOUSE 



4. To moderate the carriage of all matters in the church assembled, as 
to propoimd matters to the church. To order the season of speech and 
silence and to pronoimce sentence according to the mind of Christ with the 
consent of the church. 

5. To be guides and leaders to the church in all matters whatsoever par- 
taining to church administrations and actions. 

6. To see that none in the church Uve inordinately, out of rank and place 
without a calhng or idlely in their caUing. 

7. To prevent and heal such oflFences in life or in doctrine as might corrupt 
the church. 

8. To feed the flock of God with a word of admonition. 

9. And as they shill be sent for to visit and pray over their sick 
brethren. 

10. And at other times as opportunity shall serve thereunto. 

The office of a deacon is instituted in the church by the Lord Jesus: 
Sometimes they are called helps. The scriptures telleth us how they 
should be quaUfied. Grave, not double-tongued, not given to much wine, 
not given to filthy lucre. They must first be proved, and then use the 
office of a deacon, being found blameless. The office and work of a deacon 
is to receive the offerings of the church, gifts given to the church and to 
keep the treasury of the chiu-ch and therewith to serve the tables, which 
the church is to provide for: as the Lord's table, the table of the minis- 
ters, and of such as are in necessity, to whom they are to distribute in 
simplicity. 

The office therefore being limited unto the care of the temporal good 
things of the church, it extends not to the attendance upon and administra- 
tion of the spiritual things thereof, as the word and sacraments and the 
like. 

The ordinance of the apostle and practice of the chm'ch, commends the 
Lord's day as a fit time for the contributions of the saints. 

At first ministers were provided for by voluntary con- 
tributions, but soon other methods were employed and the 
salary was raised by taxation or in other ways. In the 
earliest times ministers were ordained by officers of the 
church, but later other churches were asked to assist. 

Children were baptised in the meeting house, generally 
on the next Sunday after their birth. Ministers did not 
officiate at marriages and no religious service took place at 
the burial of the dead. 

Persons were admitted to the church after owning the 



8 THE FIRST MEETING HOUSE 

covenant, but not always at once to full communion. And 
often they were excommunicated for some offence and upon 
repentance received again into the church. In those days 
the discipline of the church was severe and even the min- 
isters were not exempt. 

Lechford in " Plain Dealings " tells us : 

That the most persons at New England are not admitted of their church, 
and therefore are not freemen, and when they come to be tried there, be it 
for life or limb name or estate, or whatsoever, they must be tried and judged 
too by those of the church who are in a sort their adversaries. 

A slight relaxation was admitted in a few years by which 
non-members were empowered to serve a*^ jurymen and to 
vote at town meetings in laying down taxes and choosing 
selectmen, but the severe policy was retained as a whole until 
1665. 

A lecture was regularly preached on some secular day of 
every week. All the established periodical festivals, Christ- 
mas, Easter, etc., were disregarded, but fast days and days 
of public thanksgiving or humiliation were frequent and 
religiously kept. 

In 1634, it being found that the four lectures did spend 
too much time, the ministers with the advice of the magis- 
trates, and with the consent of their congregations did agree 
to reduce them to two days. Mr. Warham at Dorchester 
one 4*^ day of the week, and Mr. Welde at Roxbury the 
next 4*^1 day. 

In 1634 at a meeting of the Assistants it was then informed 
us how Mr. Eliot, the teacher of the church of Roxbury, had 
taken occasion in a sermon, to speak of the peace with the 
Pekods, and to lay some blame upon the ministry for pro- 
ceeding therein, without consent of the people, and for other 
failings as he conceived, we took order that he should be 
dealt with by Mr. Cotton, Mr. Hooker and Mr. Welde. 



THE FIRST MEETING HOUSE 



After the conference with Mr. Ehot he was brought to 
acknowledge his error. 

Oct. 7, 1636 the General Court met here having adjourned 
from Cambridge on account of the small-pox. 

In regard to the followers of Ann Hutchinson in 1637, 
Winthrop says, "the town of Roxbury is required to take 
order for the safe custody of Mrs. Hutchinson" and it is 
said that she was committed to the personal care of Joseph 
Weld, the brother of the minister. The church at Roxbury 
dealt with divers of their members (who had their hands to 
the petition in regard to Mrs. Hutchinson) and spent many 
days in public meetings to have them to see their sin, in 
that, as in also in the corrupt opinions, which they held, but 
could not prevail with them. So they proceeded to two or 
three admonitions, and when all was in vain, they cast them 
out of the church. In their dealings with them they took 
some of them in plain lies, and other foul distempers. 

All town business was transacted in the meeting house, 
and all matters relating to the church were acted upon in 
town meeting. 

Maverick, in his description of New England, says, in 
speaking of Roxbury, " by farming is their most subsistence. " 
William Ward says, " The inhabitants being all very rich. " 

The church prospered under the united labors of Mr. 
Welde and Mr. Eliot, and they worked together in harmony 
until Mr. Welde returned to England in 1641, and the church 
was without a Pastor until Rev. Mr. Samuel Danforth was 
ordained Sept. 24, 1650. 

Sept. 1, 1644 Wee had a solemn and public fast throughout 
ye jurisdiction. 

The relation and interest of the members of this church to 
the "Free Schoole in Roxburie," now more generally known 
as the "Roxbury Latin School," can best be told by what 



10 THE FIRST MEETING HOUSE 

is found in the document of the earhest date in possession of 
the Trustees and dated " last of August, 1645. " 

Whereas the Inhabitantes of Roxbuiy in consideration of their relligeous 
care of posteritie, have taken into consideration how necessarie the education 
of theire children in Literature will be to fitt them for public service, both 
in Church and Common wealthe, in succeding ages. They therefore unani- 
mously have consented and agreed to erect a free schoole in the said Towne 
of Roxbiu-ie, and to allow Twenty pounds per annum to the Schoolemaster, 
to bee raised out of the Messuages and part of the Lands of the severall 
donors (Inhabitantes of the said Towne) in severall proportions as hereafter 
foUoweth imder theire handes. And for the well ordering thereof they have 
chosen and elected seven Feoffees who shall have power to putt in or remove 
the Schoolemaster, etc. 

The Feoffees were John Eliot, Joseph Weld, John Johnson, 
John Roberts, Joshua Hewes, Isaac Morrell, Thomas 
Lambe. Among the founders of this school were Rev. 
Thomas Welde, our former Pastor, Rev. John Eliot, our 
Teacher, Presiding Elder Heath, Deacon Parke, Deacon 
Eliot, Deacon Paison and of the Founders of our church, John 
Johnson, Thomas Lambe, William Dennison, Francis Smith, 
John Leavens, also Mr. Thomas Dudley and Daniel Gookin. 
Thomas Bell, a member of our church, gave his real estate 
to the support of the School and in his will mentions that the 
Minister and two head officers of the said Church at Roxbury 
and their successors should hold his estate in trust only for 
the maintenance of a schoolemaster and free schoole for the 
teaching and instructing of poore mens children at Roxbury, 
aforesaid forever, and to and for no other use, intent or 
purpose whatsoever. And from that day to this the minister 
and two senior Deacons of this church have always been 
members of the Board of Trustees. 

In 1646 the Meeting House was put in safe repaire. 

March 17, 1649/50 a collection for ye poor distressed 
church at Bahamah & yr was about 28 pounds gathered 
in our little congregation. 



THE FIRST MEETING HOUSE 11 

In 1654 the town voted to build two galleries and that the 
selectmen see to it, and in 1656 the ends were clapboarded. 
Mr. Eliot and Mr. Danforth were each of them allowed 
£60, per annum, paid generally in com or otherwise to their 
content, cleared in accounts ordinarily once in the year, they 
both having estate in corn and cattle. 

Certain propositions agreed upon and voted in ye church 
ye 24 of 8mo 1658. 

1. Infants, either of whose immediate perents are in church-covenant, 
do confederate in their parents and therefore are members of ye church, and 
ye church ought to take care that they be duly instructed in the groimds of 
religion, and be trained up imder ye tuition of ye ordinances. 

2. The seed of ye church being thus trained up for Thrift, it is their duety 
when grown to yeares of discretion to owne the covenant their made in their 
parents and (being orderly called thereunto) personally, pubUckly and 
solemnely to avouch ye Lord in an ecclesiacticall way to be their God accord- 
ing to the covenant of Grace, and to submit themselves to ye power and 
government of Christ in his church. 

3. Such of ye seed of ye chm-ch as understand ye grounds of religion, are 
not scandelous and have solemnly owned ye covenant in their own persons 
wherein they give up themselves and their children unto ye Lord, their 
children ought to have baptism administered unto them. 

4. Though ye persons forementioned owne ye covenant according to ye 
premises, yet before they are admitted unto full communion, i.e. to ye Lords 
Supper and to voting, they must so hold forth their faith and evantances 
unto ye judgment of charity, by way of confession, as it may appear unto ye 
church yt they are able to examine themselves and to discern ye Lords body 
and to judge spiritually of spirituall things. 

5. Such as being orderly called to o^oie ye covenant, if after church 
admonition and other due means with patience used, they shall refuse ye 
performance of this great duty or in case they shall notwithstanding like 
meanes applied, any otherwise continue scandalous, they ought to be cut 
off from ye church. 

The vote passed in these words : 

Upon many agitations of disquisitions amongst ourselves, upon much 
advice and counsell and especially that of ye first Synod at Cambridge 
(1647) and ye late councill at Boston (1657) and after more than ten years 
time of consideration about these points in hand, we, ye church of Roxbury 



12 THE FIRST MEETING HOUSE 

are at last come up to this resolution that we judge in our consciences yt 
those 5 propositions are agreeable to ye truth of God and rules, wch we now 
are to walk by. 

On the 30th January 1659/60 it was left to the selectmen 
to repair the Meeting House and to do as they please for the 
strength, warmth and beauty of said house, namely, that the 
house is to be shingled and also two galleries built, with three 
seats in a gallery, one at the one end of the house and the 
other at the other end. Also the house to be plastered within 
side with plaster and haire; also for the seting out of the house, 
that some pinalde or other ornament be set upon each end of 
the house; also the bell to be removed in some convenient 
place for the benefit of the town, and the charge to be borne 
by the several inhabitance by way of a rate. For which work 
Lieut. John Remington is to have twenty-two pounds ; more, 
if the worke deserveth more; lesse, if the work deserveth 
lesse. 

In 1659 John Chandler was to have 50 shillings a year for 
ringing the bell and sweeping and 3 pounds if he would 
"keep ye doore bowlted," and he continued to serve until 
1669. 

The 5 of ye (5) 1659. This day the Teaching and Ruling 
Elders of our church, as messengers of ye church mett at 
Roxbury, with ye messengers of other churches, for to heare 
the Indeans make a relation of the work of God upon ther 
soull; at wch time ther weer six made ther relation in the 
Indian tongue & repeated by Mr. Eliat in Englesh witt- 
nessed unto ye truth of his translation by Mr. Pearson of 
Long Island and Goodman ffolgier of Martin's Vinyard; & 
Mr. Eliat's own son. (This is recorded in the Dorchester 
church records as well as the following.) 

The first of ye (11) 60 ther was also a fast kept at Roxbury 
on ther lecture day. 



THE FIRST MEETING HOUSE 13 

At a Town Meeting Jan. 15, 1665/6 it is stated, "the same 
day it being a complaint of several of the Inhabitance that 
they wanted convenient Rome to sit in the Meeting House to 
their edification by reason of the disturbance the boys make 
in the Gallery, and the voat of the Towne is such they desire 
the selectmen to advise with the elders about removing the 
boys, or building some other Gallery, or making another 
paier stayers or doing anything that may be the best Good 
for the whole. " 

8th. 9 m. 1665 a solemn thanksgiving. 

22. 9 m. 1665 A solemn Fast in reference to ye sickness in 
England. , 

In Jan. 1666/7, " it was voated for making more Rome in 
the Meeting House, that there should be another seate added 
to the men's Gallery, and it was left by the same voate to the 
selectmen, together with the advice of the elders, to consider 
of the making another paier stayers to the said gallery, or 
doeing anything else that way as may conduce to the good 
of the whole body for the end above expressed. " 

April 6, 1666. All the churches in this jurisdiction kept 
a solemn day of Fasting and Prayer. 

John Alcocke in his will dated May 10, 1666, says, "I give 
to ye church of X* in Roxbury £3 to buy them a good wine 
boule." 

1st ino 21. 1666/7. This day our church made a collection 
for Mr. Wigglesworth £4 17s. 

8th 2 mo 1667. Our church made a collection for the 
relief of our brethren and countrymen who were reduced to 
extremities at Cape Feare. The sum was about seven 
pounds. 

In 1669 William Cleaves was appointed sexton and served 
until 1677. 

1670 4 mo 20 day. A soleum conference of 6 churches. 



14 THE FIRST MEETING HOUSE 

viz: ye elders and messengers of ye First Church in Boston, 
of Roxbury, of Dorchester, Weymouth, Cambridge and 
Watertown, met at Braintree at ye request of ye church 
there, for ye hearing and ye heaUng of their divisions and 
distractions, in reference to ye choice of Teaching Elders 
amongst them. 

On Dec. 16, 1672, the Selectmen made a church rate for 
the payment of the Elders which amounted to £120.12.3 and 
the surplus was left in the hands of the Deacons. 

In this Meeting House the people worshipped for forty 
years. Many of the first settlers were dead or had moved 
away and their children were now heads of families. 

The population of the town having increased to such an 
extent that a larger house of worship was necessary and this 
Meeting House being constantly in need of repairs, on Decem- 
ber 10, 1672, there was a full towne meeting in consultation 
about repairing of the meeting-house and it was, " after much 
debate with love and condescending one to another, con- 
cluded by voate to build a nue meeting-house as near the 
other as conveniently may be," provided it exceed not ten 
rods from this spot where it now stands. A committee was 
chosen to have charge of this important affair some time 
during the following year and in 1674 this building was torn 
down and a new meeting-house erected. 



REV. MR. THOMAS WELDE 15 



REV. MR. THOMAS WELDE 

Thomas Welde was born in Terling, four miles west of 
Witham in Essex county, England. He was educated at 
Trinity College, Cambridge, receiving the degree of A.B. in 
1613, and A.M. in 1618 and then settled in the ministry in 
his native place. Here he received into his family the Rev. 
Thomas Shepard six months before the latter took his degree 
at Cambridge, and later when the persecutions of Archbishop 
Laud were driving many across the water, Welde and Shepard 
consulted together whether it were best to let such a swine 
root up God's plant in Essex and not give him some check. 
But they both incurred the penalties of the laws against non- 
conformists and followed their brethren to New England. 

Welde arrived in Boston in the William and Francis, June 
5, 1632, and after many importunings and days of humiliation 
by those of Boston and Roxbury, to seek the Lord for Mr. 
Welde, his disposing, and the advice of those at Plymouth 
being taken, at length he resolved to sit doen with them at 
Roxbury and was ordained Pastor of this church in July, 
1632. 

He took the oath of freeman Nov. 6, 1632. 

Mr. Welde was valiant in the faith, a defender of the truth 
and of the churches in this land both in the pulpit and with 
his pen. His own honest convictions and principles led him 
to take an active part in religious controversies. He was 
very popular with the Magistrates and was often consulted 
in political matters. He was one of the chief inquisitors at 
the trial of Ann Hutchinson, who, after her conviction, was 
banished and her followers disarmed. 

Li 1639 he assisted his colleague and Richard Mather in 
making the New England version of the Psalms. In 1641 



16 THE FIRST MEETING HOUSE 

the colony thought fit to send a commission to England to 
negotiate various matters, and their choice fell upon Mr. 
Welde, Hugh Peters and William Hibbens. The Court so 
moved the church of Roxbury for Mr. Welde that after 
some time of consideration they freely yielded. He went by 
the way of Newfoundland, where he preached to the seamen 
and thence took passage to England in a fishing vessel. 

Mr. Hibbens returned home within a year, but Mr. Welde 
and Mr. Peters prolonged their stay until they seem to have 
suffered no little suspicion from the General Court. In 
Oct., 1645, the Court adopted a vote "that Mr. Peters and 
Mr. Welde, having been long absent, may understand the 
Court's mind, that they desire their presence here and 
speedy return. " But neither came. Mr. Welde was after- 
wards settled over St. Mary's Church at Gateshead in the 
bishoprick of Durham opposite Newcastle. 

Mr. Welde was twice married (1) to Margaret (2) to 

Judith. Rev. Samuel Danforth thus records his death in 

the church book. " March 23 (60) Mr. Thomas Welde some- 
time Pastor to this church dyed in London." 

While in Roxbury he lived east of the town street not far 
frotn the present corner of Washington and Dudley Streets. 
In Eliot's letters to England we find him soliciting aid to 
enable him to purchase Welde's library, from which it may 
be inferred that he was well supplied with literary tools. 

He published about 1644 "A short Story of the rise, reign 
and ruin of the Antinomians, Familists and Libertines, that 
infested the churches of New England." With three other 
ministers he vvrote "The Perfect Pharisee under Monkish 
Holiness, " against the Quakers. He was also the author of 
"The Fallen Jew Detected," against a man who pretended 
to be first a Jew and then an Anabaptist, and " A Vindication 
of the New England Churches. " 



REV. MR. JOHN ELIOT 17 



REV. MR. JOHN ELIOT 

John Eliot, who has been known since his death as the 
Apostle to the Indians, was a son of Bennett and Lettese 
(Aggar) Eliot and was bom in Widford, Hertfordshire, 
England in 1604 & baptised Aug. 5, 1604 in the Parish 
Church, Widford, in which his parents were married Oct. 
30, 1598. In the old record book one reads in letters quite 
distinct, " Anno Dm : 1604 John Elliott, the sonne of Bennett 
Eliot was baptised the 5th day of August in the year of our 
Lord God 1604. " 

His parents early imparted to him religious instruction, 
and it was not without effect. His father held lands in both 
Hertfordshire and Essex from the profits of which the sum 
of 8 pounds yearly was set apart by will, Nov. 5, 1621, for 
the maintenance of John at college. On March 20, 1619, 
John Eliot was entered as a pensioner at Jesus College in 
Cambridge where he was graduated in 1622 with the degree 
of bachelor of arts. 

After receiving his education he was for some time the 
instructor of youth. Rev. Thomas Hooker, who afterwards 
became the first minister of the church in Cambridge (then 
called Newtown), New England and later the founder of the 
church in Hartford, Conn., was at this time a silenced non- 
conformist minister. He had established a grammar school 
at Little Baddow in Essex. In this school Mr. Eliot was 
employed as an assistant teacher. This connection with Mr. 
Hooker proved a great blessing to young Eliot. His exaniple 
and instruction confirmed Eliot in the belief and practice of 
Christianity. "T\Tien I came to this blessed family," said 
he, "I then saw as never before, the power of godliness in 
its lively vigor and efficacy." He here resolved to devote 



18 THE FIRST MEETING HOUSE 

himself to the work of the Christian ministry. This he did 
when there was nothing in prospect for a Puritan minister 
but fines and imprisonments. 

It was this that turned his thoughts towards this Western 
wilderness. With a mind made up to endure the perils 
of the wilderness he embarked on board the ship Lyon 
reaching Boston November 3rd, 1631. The Company that 
came with him consisted of sixty persons, among this number 
were the wife and children of Governor Winthrop. Eliot 
left behind him in England (as Mather quaintly describes 
her) a virtuous young gentlewoman, Hanna (Anna) Mum- 
ford (or Mountfort), whom he had pursued and proposed a 
marriage unto; and she coming hither the year following, 
that marriage was consummated September ¥^, A.D. 1632 
(the first record of a marriage in Roxbury). 

Mrs. Eliot has not received that attention from her hus- 
band's biographers of which she is worthy. From the 
incidental references in Cotton Mather's memoir of the 
Apostle a concise account of Mrs. Eliot may be gleaned. In 
the church records, after giving a list of their children, he has 
written her name in a line by itself, as a member of his church, 
thus: 

" Mris. Ann Eliot, the wife of Mr. John Eliot. " 

That one wife which was given to him truly from the Lord, 
he loved, prized, cherished, with a kindness that notably 
represented the compassion which he (thereby) taught his 
church to expect from the Lord Jesus Christ; and after he 
had lived with her for more than half an hundred -years, for 
she died March 24, 1687 in the 84*i^ year of her age, he thus 
speaks of her death. "lys year my ancient dearly beloved 
wife dyed. I was sick to death, but the Lord was pleased to 
delay me, and keepe in (i.e. retain) my service wch was but 
poore and weak." "How beautiful and touching is this 



REV. MR. JOHN ELIOT 19 

simple eulogy of the Apostle on his departed wife — a 
tribute more eloquent to the heart, than ever any that soiled 
the published page of ostentatious grief," The popular 
affection for Mrs. Eliot's character and memory is beautifully 
illustrated by the following incident. A considerable sum 
of money had been contributed to redeem Mr. William 
Bowen, a fellow townsman, from captivity among the Turks, 
but news of his death arriving "about the time Good oald 
Mrs. Eliot lay at the point of death," it was devoted to the 
erection of a ministerial tomb, and resolved that Mrs. Eliot, 
"for the great service she had done for the town," should be 
honored with a burial there; " but," says the relator, "before 
the Tomb was finished the good oald gentlewoman was 
dead," and she was committed to its sacred care, "wherein 
was never man yet laid. " There mingles with her dust that 
of her descendants for many generations. 

By her did God give him six worthy children, children of 
a character which may forever stop the mouths of those anti- 
christian blasphemers who have set a false brand of disaster 
and infamy on the offspring of* a married clergy. By the 
prudent management of his wife, who looked well to the 
ways of her household, Eliot was enabled to be generous to 
his friends, and hospitable to strangers, and with a small 
salary to educate four sons at Harvard College, of whom John 
and Joseph, ministers of Newton and Guilford, were the best 
preachers of that age, Samuel who died early in life and 
Benjamin born Jan. 29, 1646. This Benjamin was made 
the son of his right hand, for the invitation of the good 
people of Roxbury placed him in the same pulpit with his 
father, where he was his assistant for many years but died 
before his father. 

His family was a little Bethel for the worship of God 
constantly and exactly maintained in it; and unto the daily 



20 THE FIRST MEETING HOUSE 

prayers of the family, his manner was to prefix the reading 
of the scripture; which being done, it was also his manner 
to make his young people to chuse a certain passage in the 
chapter and give him some observation of their own upon it. 
By this method he did mightily sharpen and improve, as 
well as try their understandings, and endeavor to make them 
wise unto salvation. He was likewise very strict in the 
education of his children, and more careful to mend any 
error in their hearts and lives, than he could have been to 
cure a blemish in their bodies. No exorbitancies or extrava- 
gancies could find a room under his roof, nor was his house 
any other than a school of piety; one might have there seen 
a perpetual mixture of a Spartan and a Christian discipline. 
Whatever decay there might be upon family religion among 
us, as for our Eliot, we knew him, that he would command 
his children, and his household after him, that they should 
keep the way of the Lord. 

What estate he became owner of was from the blessing of 
God upon the husbandry and industry of some in his family, 
rather than from any endeavours of his own. Once when 
there stood several kine of his own before the door, his wife, 
to try him, asked him "whose they were?" and she found 
that he knew nothing of them. He could not endure to 
plunge himself into secular designs and affairs, but accounted 
Sacerdos in foro as worthy of castigation as Mercator in 
Templo ; he thought that minister and market man were not 
unisons, and that the earth was no place for Aarons holy 
mitre to be laid upon. His apparel, says Mather, was with- 
out any ornament except that of humility. Had you seen 
him with his leathern girdle (for such a one he wore) about 
his loins, you would almost have thought what Herod feared, 
that John Baptist was come to life again. 

In his manner of living he was very simple. The meat 



REV. MR. JOHN ELIOT 21 

upon which he lived was a cibus simplex, an homely but an 
wholesome diet. Rich varieties, costly viands and poignant 
sauces, came not upon his table, and when he found them on 
other men's he rarely tasted of them. One dish and a plain 
one was his dinner; and when invited unto a feast a friend 
has seen him sit magnifying of God, for the plenty which his 
people in this wilderness were within a few years arisen to; 
but not more than a bit or two of all the dainties taken into 
his own mouth aU the while. And for a supper, he had 
learned of his loved and blessed patron, old Mr. Cotton, 
either wholly to omit it, or to make a small sup or two the 
utmost of it. The drink which he still used was very small ; 
he cared not for wines or drams, and I believe he never once 
in all his life knew what it was to feel so much as a noxious 
fume in his head„from any of them; good clear water was 
more precious, as well as more usual with him, than any of 
those liquors with which men do so frequently spoil their own 
healths, while perhaps they drink those of other men. When 
at a stranger's house in the summer time, he has been enter- 
tained with a glass, which they told him was of water and 
wine, he has with a complaisant gravity replied unto this 
purpose, "Wine, 'tis a noble generous liquor, and we 
should be humbly thankful for it; but as I remember, 
water was made before it." His house stood where the 
People's Bank now stands, at the corner of Washington and 
Dudley Streets. 

We now turn to his public life. As before stated he 
arrived in Boston Nov. 3, 1631, and soon joined himself unto 
the Church at Boston ; 'twas church work that was his errand 
hither. Mr. Wilson, the pastor of that church, was gone back 
into England, that he might perfect the settlement of his 
affairs; and in his absence young Mr. Eliot was he that 
supplied his place. Upon the return of Mr. Wilson, that 



22 THE FIRST MEETING HOUSE 



church was intending to have made Mr. Eliot his colleague 
and their teacher ; but it was diverted and a church being now 
gathered at Roxbrough, now Roxbury, according to an 
agreement with his Nazing friends, he was ordained unto 
the teaching and ruling of that holy society Nov. 5, 1632, as 
colleague to Rev. Mr. Welde, with the title of Teacher, Mr. 
Welde being the Pastor of the Church. These two ministers 
lived together in much harmony. 

So it was m the orb of that church that we had him as a 
star fixed for very near three score years. He that will write 
of Eliot, must write of charity, or say nothing. His charity 
was a star of the first magnitude in the bright constellation 
of his virtues: and the rays of it were wonderfully various 
and extensive. His liberality to pious uses whether publick 
or private went much beyond the proportions of his little 
estate in the world. Many hundreds of pounds did he freely 
bestow upon the poor; and he would with a very forcible 
importunity press his neighbors to join with him in such 
beneficences. It was a marvellous alacrity with which he 
embraced all opportunities of relieving any that were miser- 
able; and the good people of Roxbury doubtless cannot 
remember (but the righteous God will), how often and with 
what ardors, with what arguments, he became a beggar to 
them for collections in their assemblies, to support such 
needy objects as had fallen under his observation. The 
poor counted him their father, and repaired still unto him, 
with a filial confidence in their necessities; and there were 
more than seven or eight, or indeed than so many scores who 
received their portions of his bounty. He did not put off 
his charity, to be put in his last will; but he was his own 
administrator. He made his o^ti hands his executors, and 
his own eyes his overseers. 

In 1634 Mr. Eliot incurred the displeasure of the colonial 



REV. MR. JOHN ELIOT 23 

magistrates by a sermon in which he criticised their conduct 
in making a treaty with the Pequot Indians without first 
obtaining the consent of the people. For these injudicious 
animadversions he was required to make a pubHc apology. 
In 1637 both he and Mr. Welde opposed the wild notions of 
Mrs. Hutchinson and were both witnesses against her at her 
trial. In 1639 they were appointed with Rev. Richard 
Mather, of Dorchester, to make a new version of the psalms, 
which was printed in the following year. For tuneful poetry 
it would not perhaps yield the palm even to that of Sternhold 
and Hopkins, but it did not give perfect satisfaction. Mr. 
Shepard, of Cambridge, thus addressed the translators : 

Ye Roxbury poets, keep clear of the crime 

Of missing to give us very good rhyme: 

And you of Dorchester, your verses lengthen. 

But with the text's own words you will them strengthen. 

It was the first book printed in the English- American 
colonies. The New England Psalms were afterwards 
revised and improved by President Dunster, and they have 
passed through twenty editions. In 1641 Mr. Welde returned 
to England. 

To his congregation Mr. Eliot was a preacher that made 
it his care to give every one their meat in due season. It was 
food and not froth which in his public sermons he enter- 
tained the souls of his people with, he did not starve them 
with empty and windy speculations. His way of preaching 
was very plain; so that the very lambs might wade into his 
discourses on those texts and themes wherein elephants 
might swim; and herewithal, it was very powerful, his de- 
livery was always very graceful and grateful. It yet more 
endears unto us the memory of our Eliot, that he was not only 
an evangelical minister, but also a true New England one; 



24 THE FIRST MEETING HOUSE 

he was a Protestant and a Puritan, and one very full of that 
spirit which acted on the first planters of this country, in 
their peaceable succession from the unwarrantable things 
elsewhere imposed upon their consciences. He was a 
modest, humble, but very reasonable non-conformist with 
the ceremonies, which have been such unhappy apples of 
strife in the Church of England. There were especially two 
things which he was loth to see, and yet feared he saw, falling 
in the churches of New England. One was a thorough 
establishment of ruling elders in our churches, which he 
thought sufficiently warranted by the apostle's mention of 
elders that rule well, who yet labour not in word and doctrine. 
He was very desirous to have prudent and gracious men set 
over our churches, for the assistance of their pastors, in the 
church acts that concern the admission and exclusion of 
members, and the inspection of the conversation led by the 
communicant, and the instruction of their several families, 
and the visitation of the afflicted in their flock, over which 
they should preside. Such helps in governments had he 
himself been blessed withal; the last of which was the well- 
deserving Elder Bowles; and of him, did this good man, in a 
speech to a synod of all the churches in this colony, take 
occasion to say, "There is my brother Bowles, the godly 
elder of our church at Roxbury, God helps him to do great 
things among us:" Had all our pastors been so well accom- 
modated, it is possible there would be more encouragement 
given to such an office as that of ruling elders. 

His benevolent labors were not confined to his own people. 
The natives of the country now possessed by the New Eng- 
landers had been forlorn and wretched heathen ever since 
their first herding here; and though we know not when or 
how those Indians first became inhabitants of this mighty 
continent, yet we may guess that probably the devil decoyed 



REV. MR. JOHN ELIOT 25 

those miserable savages hither in hopes that the gospel of 
the Lord Jesus Christ would never come here to destroy 
or disturb his absolute empire over them. There were, at 
the time, when he began his missionary exertions, nearly 
twenty tribes of Indians within the limits of the English 
planters and were very similar in manners, language and 
religion. 

Mather continues, "I cannot find that anything besides 
the Holy Spirit of God first moved him to the blessed work of 
evangelizing these perishing Indians. It was the spirit of 
our Lord Jesus Christ which enkindled in him a pitty for the 
dark souls of these natives, whom the God of this world had 
blinded through all the by-past ages. But when this chari- 
table pitty had once began to flame, there was a concurrence 
of many things to cast oyl into it. All the good men in the 
country were glad of his engagement in such an undertaking 
the ministers especially encouraged him, and those in the 
neighborhood kindly supplyed his place, and performed his 
work in part for him at Roxbury while he was abroad labour- 
ing among them that were without. Hereunto he was 
further awakened by those expressions in the royal charter, 
in the assurance and protection whereof this wilderness was 
first peopled: namely, To win and incite the natives of that 
country to the knowledge and obedience of the only true 
God and Saviour of mankind, and the christian faith, in our 
royal intention, and the adventurers free profession is the 
principal end of the plantation. " It was among the Massa- 
chusetts Indians that Mr. Eliot began his missionary 
labors. 

The first step which he judged necessary now to be taken 
by him, was to learn the Indian language, the Algonquin 
dialect being the one spoken by the Indians of Massachusetts 
Bay; for he saw them so stupid and senseless, that they would 



26 THE FIRST MEETING HOUSE 

never do so much as enquire after the religion of the strangers 
now come into their country, much less would they so far 
imitate us, as to leave off their beastly way of living, that they 
might be partakers of any spiritual advantage by us, unless 
we could first address them in a language of their own. 
This Massachusetts tribe and its language have long been 
extinct and there are few, if any, living who can translate it. 
He began the study of their language probably about the 
year 1643 or perhaps earlier. In a letter dated 2/12/1648 
he wrote. "There is an Indian living with Mr. Richard 
Calicott, of Dorchester, who was taken in the Pequott 
Warres, though belonging to Long Island; this Indian is 
ingenious; can read; and I taught him to write, which he 
quickly learnt, though I know not what use he now maketh 
of it. He was the first that I made use of to teach me words, 
and to be my Interpreter. " 

At the end of his Indian grammar (Cambridge 1666) Mr. 
Eliot gives the following account of his method of learning the 
language, " I have now finished what I shall do at present : 
And in a word or two to satisfie the prudent Enquirer how I 
found out these new wayes of Grammar, which no other 
Learned Language (so f arre as I know) useth ; I thus inform 
him: God first put into my heart a compassion over their 
poor Souls, and a desire to teach them to know Christ, and to 
bring them into his Kingdome. Then presently I found 
out (by Gods wise providence) a pregnant witted young 
nian, who had been a Servant in an English house, who 
pretty well understood our Language,, better than he could 
speak it, and well understood his own Language, and hath 
a clear pronunciation: Him I made my Interpreter. By 
his help I translated the Commandments, the Lords Prayer, 
and many Texts of Scripture: also I compiled both Exhor- 
tations and Prayers by his help. I diligently marked the 



REV. MR. JOHN ELIOT 27 

difference of their Grammar from ours: ^Vhen I found the 
way of them, I would pursue a Word, a Noun, a Verb, 
through all variations I could think of. And thus I came at 
it. We must not sit still, and look for Miracles; Up and 
be doing, and the Lord will be with thee. Prayer and Pains, 
through Faith in Christ Jesus, will do anything. " 

There is a letter or two of our alphabet, which the Indians 
never had in theirs; though there were enough of the dog in 
their temper, there can scarce be found an R in their language ; 
but if their alphabet be short, I am sure the words composed 
of it be long enough to tire the patience of any scholar in the 
world: For instance, if my reader will count how many 
letters there are in this one word, 

NUMMATCHEKODTANTAMOONGANUNNONASH 

when he has done, for his reward I'll tell him, it signifies no 
more in English than our lusts; and if I were to translate, 
our loves, it must be nothing shorter than, 

NOOWOMANTAMMOONKANUNONNASH. 

Or to give my reader a longer word than either of these, 

KTJMMOGKODONATTOOLLUMMOOETITEAONGANNTJNNONASH 

is in English, our question. 

In 1646 Mr. Eliot began to preach to the Indians in their 
own tongue. About the middle of September he addressed 
a company of the natives in the wigwam of Cutshamoquin, 
the sachem of Neponset, within the limits of Dorchester. 
His next attempt was made among the Indians of another 
place, "those of Dorchester mill not regarding any such 
thing." He first preached an assembly of Indians at 
Nonantum in the present .y of Newton Oct. 28, 1646. 



28 THE FIRST MEETING HOUSE 

The following is the Inscription on the tablet erected near 

the spot : — 

Waban Shephaed Gookin Heath 
Here at Nonantum Oct. 28, 1646 in Waban's Wigwam 
Near this spot John Eliot began to preach the Gospel to 
the Indians. Here he founded the first Christian com- 
munity of Indians within the English O^lonies. 

Isaac Heath, aged 61 years, elder of the church at Rox- 
bury, Eliot's friend and counsellor. 

Thomas Shepard, aged 41 years, pastor of the Church in 
Cambridge. 

Daniel Gookin, aged 34 years, friend and companion of 
Eliot in his work from beginning to end, historian and 
guardian of the Indians. 

After a serious prayer, he gave them a sermon which 
continued about a quarter above an hour, and contained the 
principal articles of the Christian religion, applying all to the 
condition of the Indians present. Having done, he asked of 
them whether they understood, and with a general reply they 
answered, they understood all. He then began what was his 
usual method afterwards in treating with them; that is, he 
caused them to propound such questions as they pleased unto 
himseK; and he gave wise and good answers to them all. 
One immediately inquired whether Jesus Christ could under- 
stand prayers in the Indian Language ? Another asked how 
all the world became full of people, if they were all once 
drowned ? A third question was, how there could be the 
image of God since it was forbidden in the Commandment. 

He preached to them a second time, Nov. 11, and some of 
them wept while he was addressing them. An old man 
asked, with tears in his eyes, whether it was not too late for 
him to repent and turn unto God? Among the other in- 
quiries were these — how it came to pass that sea water was 



REV. MR. JOHN ELIOT 29 

salt and river water fresh ; how the English came to differ so 
much from the Indians in the knowledge of God and Jesus 
Christ since they all at first had but one father; and why if 
the water is larger than the earth, it does not overflow the 
earth ? He was violently opposed by the sachems, and 
pawaws or priests, who were apprehensive of losing their 
authority if a new religion was introduced. When he was 
alone with them in the wilderness, they threatened him with 
every evil, if he did not desist from his labors ; but he was a 
man not to be shaken in his purpose by the fear of danger. 
He said to them, " I am about the work of the great God, and 
my God is with me; so that I neither fear you, nor all the 
sachems in the country. I will go on, — do you touch me, 
if you dare. " With a body capable of enduring fatigue, and 
a mind firm as the mountain oaks which surrounded his 
path, he went from place to place, relying for protection upon 
the great Head of the Church, and declaring the salvation of 
the gospel to the children of darkness. His benevolent zeal 
prompted him to encounter with cheerfulness the most 
terrifying dangers, and to submit to the most incredible 
hardships. He says in a letter, " I have not been dry, night 
or day, from the third day of the week unto the sixth; but 
so travelled, and at night pull off my boots and wring my 
stockings, and on with them again, and so continue. But 
God steps in and helps." May 26, 1647 the General Court 
ordered that ^10 be given Mr. Eliott as a gratuitie from this 
court in respect of his paynes in instructing the Indians in 
the knowledge of God also on Oct. 27, 1648 (upon the 
request of Mr. John Eliot, pastor to the church at Roxbury) 
it was ordered that none in Boston should sell wine to the 
Indians but W™ Phillipps, upon pinnaltie of 20^ to be heard 
and determined by any magistrate in case of drunkeness. 
Whereas Mr. Eliot undertook to procure to the country ten 



30 THE FIRST MEETING HOUSE 

shillings from an Indian for his being drunk, which Indian 
since is dead, the Court therefore thinks meete to release Mr. 
Eliot from his engagm*. 

Martin Moore says Mr. Eliot found that he could not bring 
the gospel to bear a steady and constant influence upon the 
natives, unless they had settled homes and constant employ- 
ment. They must abandon their roving and idle habits, 
and become industrious. He despaired of Christianizing 
them, except he could civilize them. He proposed to Waban 
and his associates to settle a town and conform themselves 
to the rules of civilized society. They readily agreed to this 
proposal. They selected a site for their settlement in the 
eastern part of Newton. The name of their town was 
Nonantum. In their language it signified "rejoicing." 
They were furnished with shovels, spades, crow-bars, etc. 
They surrounded their fields with fences and ditches. They 
called for tools faster than Mr. Eliot could procure them. 
The women partook of the general spirit of improvement. 
The spinning-wheel was introduced into their families, and 
they were clothed with their own fabrics. They soon felt 
the advantages of traffic. They manufactured many articles 
and carried them abroad to sell. They also labored among 
their English neighbors in times of hay-getting and harvest. 
The style of their wigwams was also greatly improved. The 
wigwams of the common people were equal to those formerly 
erected for their chiefs. 

Mr. Eliot had wished for a long time to estabhsh a town, 
modeled after a particular plan that he had in his own mind. 
We should have supposed that he would have fixed on 
Nonantum as the spot for his first town of " Praying Indians. " 
Some considerable improvements had already been made 
at this station. But he had certain msuperable objections 
to making this the site of his model town. The territory was 



REV. MR. JOHN ELIOT 31 

too small. They were surrounded by English neighbors, 
many of whom exerted a bad influence upon them. He 
wished to remove them into the interior, so that they should 
not have much connection with the white people, and that 
there might be room to gather a large body of Indians into a 
society. He wished to make a fair experiment of civilizing 
the Indians. If he could be successful in forming one well 
governed, Christianized town, he hoped to form many more 
after the same model. The converts at Nonantum wished 
very much to be organized on Mr. Eliot's plan. He went 
out several times to explore the woods, to find a proper 
location. He did not find a place that suited his wishes. 
On returning from one of these exploring tours, he stopped 
on the way, retired behind a rock and asked divine direction. 
While he was gone out to hunt for a location, his Indians 
at home were asking God to guide and direct him. Some of 
the Indians that were in company with him mentioned a 
place, the description of which pleased him. Upon a careful 
survey, he fixed on that spot as the future location of his 
town. This place he afterwards called Natick. Gookin 
has very particularly described the mode of laying out the 
town. The Indians removed from Nonantum to Natick in 
1651. The town Natick in the Indian language means a 
place of hills. It consisted of three long streets; two on the 
Boston side of the river, and one on the other. To each 
house was attached a piece of ground. Most of the houses 
were built after the Indian fashion. One large house was 
erected in the English style, the lower apartment of which 
was employed as a schoolroom in the week, and as a place 
of worship on the Lord's day. Afterwards they partitioned 
off a small bedroom for Mr. Eliot to sleep in, when he 
visited them. They also erected a fort and enclosed it with 
a stockade. Mr. Eliot encouraged them to build a foot 



32 THE FIRST MEETING HOUSE 

bridge over the river so as to connect the different parts of 
the town. This was a great work for them ; but it stood the 
spring floods, while a bridge built by the English at Medfield 
was carried away. This bridge was eighty feet long and nine 
feet high in the middle/if When they had finished it, Eliot 
called them together and asked them if they wanted pay for 
their labor. They replied, "no." It was built for their 
own benefit and not for his. They built a meeting house, 
fifty by twenty-five and twelve feet between the joists. This 
was built almost exclusively by themselves. An English 
carpenter helped them a day or two. 

After the settlement of the town Mr. Eliot proceeded to 
organize a civil government according to his own views. He 
took as the basis of his government the advice which Jethro 
gave to Moses, " Moreover, thou shalt provide out of all the 
people able men, such as fear God, men of truth, hating 
covetousness ; and place such over them, to be rulers of 
thousands, and rulers of hundreds, rulers of fifties, and rulers 
of tens." Exodus xviii, 21. In compliance with this 
counsel, about one hundred of them held an assembly and 
chose one ruler of the hundred, two rulers of fifty and ten 
rulers of ten. After the rulers of ten were chosen, they 
placed themselves in order, and every individual arranged 
himself under the one whom he chose. After the establish- 
ment of this town he continued to visit and preach to them 
as often as circumstances would admit. At this distance of 
time, it is not possible to ascertain definitely the progress 
that they made in the arts of living, or in the knowledge and 
practice of religion. There is suflBcient evidence left behind 
to show that Eliot was not an enthusiast as it respected their 
religion. Although the appearance of some was very favor- 
able, yet he continued for a long time to keep them in the 
situation of catechumens. He proceeded very slowly in 



REV. MR. JOHN ELIOT 33 

gathering them into a church estate. He began to preach 
to them in 1646, but did not organize them into a church 
until 1660. 

He made a missionary tour every fortnight, planted a 
number of churches, and visited all the Indians in Massa- 
chusetts and Plymouth colonies, pursuing his way as far as 
Cape Cod in the East to the rocky hillsides of Brookfield in 
the West. Mr. Eliot was one of the most useful preachers 
in New England. No minister saw his exertions attended 
with greater effects. He spoke from the abundance of his 
heart, and his sermons, being free from that labored display 
of learning, from the quibbles and quaint turns with which 
most discourses were at that time infected, were acceptable 
in all the churches. So much was he endeared to his own 
people that they continued his salary after he had offered to 
resign' it, and when he was unable to preach ; and the youth 
were in the habit of visiting him, calling him their father and 
friend. Such attentions chased away the gloom which 
usually hangs over the head of the aged and cheered the 
evening of his life. His moral and religious character was 
as excellent as his ministerial qualifications were great. He 
carried his good principles with him in every situation, 
viewing all things in reference to God. He habitually 
lifted up his heart for a blessing upon every person whom he 
met and when he went into a family he would sometimes 
call the youth to him that he might lay his hands upon them 
and give them his benediction. Such was his charity, that 
he gave to the poor Indians most of his salary of fifty pounds, 
which he received annually from the society for propagating 
the gospel. 

So remarkable was he for his charities, that on one occasion 
when the parish treasurer paid him the money due for his 
salary, he tied the ends of a handkerchief, into which he put 



34 THE FIRST MEETING HOUSE 

it, in as many hard knots as he could, to pr,event him from 
giving away the money before he should reach home. The 
good man immediately went to the house of a sick and neces- 
sitous family and told them that God had sent them some 
relief. Being welcomed by the sufferers with tears of grati- 
tude, he began to untie the knots. After many fruitless 
efforts, and impatient of the perplexity and delay, he gave 
the handkerchief and all the money to the mother of the 
family, saying, "Here, my dear, take it; I believe the Lord 
designs it all for you. " 

In his principles of church government he was attached 
to the Congregational order. Yet he contended earnestly 
for frequent synods or councils, as necessary for the preser- 
vation of union, for the suppression of dangerous opinions 
and heresies, for the correction of abuses, and the healing of 
divisions. In one of his treatises he proposed four orders 
of councils, the congregational, provincial, national and 
ecumenical. He thought that every particular church 
should have ruling elders to assist the minister in the duties 
of government and instruction. In his admissions to the 
church he required of the candidates some evidence that they 
were truly Christians, renewed in their hearts by the Spirit 
of God. He withstood the attempts which were made to 
change the old practice of giving a relation of the work of 
divine grace, which practice, in his view, honored the Saviour, 
and produced an intimate union among his disciples. He 
could not, in conscience, give the cup of the Lord to anyone 
who did not give some evidence of being a sincere Christian. 
With all his excellencies he had some singularities and 
strange notions. He had a most deep-rooted prejudice 
against wigs. He preached against the custom of wearing 
them ; he prayed against it ; he attributed to it the evils which 
overwhelmed the country. He thought, as Dr. Cotton 



REV. MR. JOHN ELIOT 35 

Mather, who himself wore a wig, informs us, "that for men 
to wear their hair with a luxurious, delicate, feminine pro- 
lixity, or to disfigure themselves with hair, which was none of 
their own, but above all, for ministers of the gospel to ruflQe 
it in excesses of this kind," was an enormous sin. But 
fashion would bear sway, notwithstanding his remonstrances, 
and he finally ceased to complain, saying, " the lust is become 
insuperable." His prejudice against tobacco was as strong 
as his aversion to wigs ; but in contempt of all his admonitions 
the hairless head would be adorned with curls of foreign 
growi;h and the pipe would send up volumes of smoke. In 
his old age, not long before his death, he used to say that he 
was shortly going to heaven and would carry a deal of good 
news with him ; he would carry tidings to the old founders of 
New England, that our churches still remained and that their 
number was continually increasing. 

It was with joy that he received Mr. Walter as his col- 
league in 1688. When he was bending under his infirmities 
and could no longer visit the Indians, he persuaded a num- 
ber of families to send their negro servants to him once a 
week, that he might instruct them in the truths of God. 

On the day of his death he was found teaching the alphabet 
to an Indian child at his bedside. " ^Miy not rest from your 
labors now?" said a friend. "Because," replied the vener- 
able man, " I have prayed to God to render me useful in my 
sphere and he has heard my prayer, for now that I can no 
longer preach he leaves me still strength enough to teach this 
poor child his alphabet. " 

He died May 20, 1690, saying that all his labors were poor 
and small, and exhorting those who surrounded his bed to 
pray. His last words were, "Welcome joy." There is no 
portrait of him extant. 

Mr. Eliot published several letters in a work entitled, 



36 THE FIRST MEETING HOUSE 

" The Glorious Progress of the Gospel among the Indians, 
etc." 1649; Tears of Repentance, in conjunction with Mr. 
Mayhew 1653; a Late and Further Manifestation of the 
Progress of the Gospel amongst the Indians, etc., 1659; a 
Brief Narrative of the Progress of the Gospel, etc., 1670. 
A work of his entitled, "The Christian Commonwealth, 
etc." was published in England about the year 1660, written 
nine or ten years before. TMien it was received in Massa- 
chusetts, the Governor and Council, viewing it as full of 
seditious principles against all established governments, 
especially against the monarchy of their native country, re- 
quired Mr. Eliot to make a recantation, which he accordingly 
did, acknowledging, that government by kings, lords and 
commons was not anti-Christian. The book was suppressed. 
A copy is in Colonel Aspinwall's collection of books relating 
to America. In 1661, he published his translation of the 
New Testament into the Indian tongue; second edition, 
1680, and in 1663, his immense work, the translation of the 
whole Bible, in 4to. entitled, "Mamusse Wunneetupana- 
tamwe Up-Biblum God naneeswe Nukkone Testament Kah 
Wonk Wusku Testament. " A second edition was printed 
in 1685, revised by Mr. Cotton, and both of them were 
printed in Cambridge, Mass. The longest word is in 
Mark 1 : 40, 

WUTAPPESITTUKQUSSUNNOOHWEHTUNKQUOH, 

" kneeling down to him. " 

A PORTION OF THE LORD'S PRAYER TRANSLATED 
INTO THE INDIAN LANGUAGE. 

Our Father which art in heaven Nooshun Keesukqut Quttianata 

Hallowed be thy name munach Koowesuonh Pergan- 

Thy Kingdom come moonch Kukketarsootamoonch. 



REV. MR. JOHN ELIOT 37 

Mr. Eliot also published, " Jews in America," 1660, in- 
tended to prove that the Indians were descendants of the 
Jews; an Indian grammar, 1666; a new edition, with notes 
by Du Ponceau and introduction by J. Pickering, 8 volumes, 
1822; also in 2d (Mass.) Historical Collections, ninth volume; 
The Logic Primer, for the use of the Indians, 1672; the 
Psalms, translated into Indian meter, and a catechism, 
annexed to the edition of the New Testament, in 1680; a 
translation of The Practice of Piety, of Baxter's Call to the 
Unconverted, and of several of Shepard's works; the Har- 
mony of the Gospels, in English, 4to., 1678; the Divine 
Management of Gospel Churches by the Ordinance of Coun- 
cils, designed for the reconciliation of the Presbyterians and 
Congregationalists. Nine of his letters to Sir Robert Boyle 
are in the 3d volume of the Historical Collections, and his 
account of Indian churches in the ninth volume. His 
" Christian Commonwealth," is in Historical Collections, 
3d series, volume nine. 



38 THE FIRST MEETING HOUSE 



REV. MR. SAMUEL DANFORTH 

Samuel Danforth, the second pastor of this church, was 
the sixth child and second son of Nicholas and Elizabeth 

Danforth, and was baptized 17th Oct., 1626, in Fram- 

lingham, Suffolk County, England. His mother died in 
1629, and in 1634 his father emigrated to New England, with 
all his children, and settled in Cambridge. Cotton Mather 
speaks of him as : 

A gentleman of such estate and repute in the world, that it cost him a 
considerable sum to escape the Knighthood which King Charles the First 
imposed on all of so much per annum, and of such figure and esteem in the 
church that he procured that famous lectiu-e at Framlingham, where he had 
a fine manor, which was kept by many noted ministers. When the Laudian 
fury scored them he came to New England. 

He died in 1638 and committed young Samuel to the care 
of Rev. Mr. Shepard, the minister in Cambridge who proved 
a kind patron unto him. Samuel was graduated at Harvard 
College in the class of 1643 and was made the second Fellow, 
his class being the second class that was graduated from that 
college. From his being early appointed one of the officers 
of instruction, we may infer that his rank as a scholar was 
high. He was also a member of the corporation, and, to the 
extent of his means, a donor to the college. On May 10, 
1648, he was admitted to the freedom of the colony. Rev. 
Mr. Welde having returned to England the church at Rox- 
bury invited Mr. Danforth to become a colleague to Mr. Eliot 
whose evangelical employments abroad among the Indians 
made a colleague at home very necessary. On May 12, 1650, 
he was dismissed from the Cambridge church and recom- 
mended and admitted to the First Church of Roxbury. He 
was ordained pastor of this church Sept. 24, 1650. 



REV. MR. SAMUEL DANFORTH 39 

"On the 11**1 of the 9*^*1 mo. 1651," says the town record, 
"there was voted a levy upon all the inhabitants for the 
raysing of 50 pounds, towards the building or buying of an 
house for Mr. Danforth, our pastor. " This was nine years 
prior to his purchase of Capt. Joseph Weld's house in the 
town street near that of John Eliot, in which he fiaially 
resided. Here he continued until his decease, and no tempta- 
tions arising, either from the incompetency of the salary 
allowed him to support an hospitable family, or from the 
provocation which unworthy men in the neighborhood some- 
times tried him withal, could persuade him to accept of 
motions, which were made unto him, to remove into more 
comfortable settlements; but keeping his eye on the great 
man's motto, prudens qui patiens, he continued in his 
Roxbury station for three years more than thrice seven 
together. 

Evidence of his uncomfortable proximity to the Grey- 
hound Tavern is also seen in the fact that he exerted his 
influence to have such persons only keep houses of public 
entertainment as would "keep good order and manners in 
them," and when from his study window he saw any town 
dwellers trifling there, he would go over and chide them away. 
What with the venerable apostle Eliot on one side and the 
godly Danforth upon the other, the tavern roisterers would 
seem to have been under a pretty thorough surveillance. 

In early life he devoted some time to scientific pursuits, 
especially to astronomy. He published almanacs for several 
years, some of which were considered valuable for the chrono- 
logical tables they contained. 

That part of the diary in the church records written by 
him is filled with accounts of comets, earthquakes, prodigies, 
and other phenomena of nature. He particularly mentions 
the following in the year 1664. 



40 THE FIRST MEETING HOUSE 

Nov. 17. About this time there appeared a Comet in ye Heavens the 
first time I saw it wch was ye 5th of 10 m. It appeared a little below 
the Crows Bill in Hydra in ye Tropick of Capricorn or neer to it. on 
ye 18th day it appeared in Canis Major 2 degrees below ye Tropick. On 
ye 19th day I observed it to passe on ye upper star in ye Hares foot about 
2 degrees & i above the tropick. It continued till Feb. 4. 

He maintained that a comet is a heavenly body moving 
according to defined laws, and that its appearance is por- 
tentous. 

The sermons, with which he fed his flock, were elaborate 
and substantial; he was a notable text -man, and one who had 
more than forty or fifty scriptures distinctly quoted in one 
discourse; but he much recommended himself by keeping 
close to his main text, and avoiding all remote excursions and 
vagaries; and there was much notice taken of it, and though 
he was a very judicious preacher, yet he was therewithal so 
affectionate that he rarely, if ever, ended a sermon without 
weeping. On the Lord's days in the forenoons he expounded 
the books of the Old Testament; in the afternoons, he dis- 
coursed on the body of divinity, and many occasional subjects, 
and some chapters in the Epistle to the Romans, until the 
year 1661, and then he began to handle the harmony of the 
four Evangelists. He also preached a monthly lecture, and 
on many private occasions, at meetings of Christians in 
families of the faithful. But instead of ever venturing upon 
any extemporaneous performances, it was his manner to 
write his sermons twice over, and it was in a fair long hand 
that he wrote them, he then committed every word to memory 
and his memory was so tenacious that it was never known to 
fail him. His utterance was free, clear and giving much in 
a little time. As a pastor he was unwearied in his attentions 
to his parishioners, visiting faithfully the sick and afflicted. 
There is no theological publication of his, except we con- 
sider his election sermon as such, which is a recognition of 



REV. MR. SAMUEL DANFORTH 41 

New England's errand into the wilderness. It was delivered 
in 1670. 

After his contraction, according to the Old usage of New 
England, unto Mary, the Virtuous Daughter of the Reverend 
Mr. John and Elizabeth (MansjBeld) Wilson, the first 
minister of Boston, whereat Mr. Cotton preached the sermon, 
he was married Nov. 5, 1651, and was blessed with twelve 
children. Two of his sons became eminent divines in this 
State. Rev. John Danforth was minister of Dorchester from 
1682 to 1730, Rev. Samuel Danforth was minister of Taunton 
from 1688 to 1727. Danforth died Nov. 19, 1674, after an 
illness of only six days, contracting a fever while on a journey. 
In the church record under the same date Eliot writes this 
touching passage : 

"Our Rev. pastor, Mr. Samuel Danforth, sweetly rested 
from his labors. It pleased the Lord to brighten his passage 
to glory. He greatly increased in the power of his ministry^ 
especially the last summer. He cordially joined with me in 
maintaining the peace of the churches. We consulted 
together about beautifying the house of God with ruling 
elders, and to order the congregation into the primitive way 
of collections." "My brother Danforth," said he, "made 
the most glorious end that I ever saw. " 

He was thus eulogized in verse : 

Mighty in scripture, searching out the sense, 
All the hard things of it unfolding thence; 
He lived each truth, his faith, love, tenderness, 
None can to th' life as did his Ufe express. 
Om- minds with gospel his rich lecture fed, 
Luke and his life at once are finished. 
Our new-built church now suffers, too, by this. 
Larger its windows, but its Lights are less. 



42 THE FIRST MEETING HOUSE 



RULING ELDERS 

Mr. John Miller was educated at Gonville and Caius 
College, Cambridge, where he took his A.B. in 1627, and in 
the " Magnalia" is included by Mather in his "first classics." 
He came to New England in 1634 with his wife Lydia and 
son John. Freeman May 22, 1639. While in Roxbury he 
was chosen to the office of a Ruling Elder of this church. 
From 1639 to 1641 he was an assistant to the Rev. Ezekiel 
Rogers at Rowley. He returned to Roxbury at various 
intervals and probably preached when any temporary need 
existed. He died, in Groton, June 12, 1663. 

Mr. Isaac Heath was born in Nazing, England, in 1585, 
and came to this country late in 1635, aged 50, in company 
with his wife Elizabeth and daughter Elizabeth. He settled 
in Roxbury and his homestead and farm of three acres were 
near what is now the southwest comer of Washington and 
Vernon Streets. Freeman May 25, 1636. He was by trade 
a harness-maker and was one of the principal founders of the 
Free Schoole. Deputy 1637-8. About 1637 he was chosen 
by his townsmen to the office of a Ruling Elder of this 
church, a special recognition of his prudence, wisdom and 
godliness. This office placed him in intimate relation with 
Eliot, who consulted him in all his plans and difficulties. He 
assisted Eliot in his Indian labors, accompanying him in his 
toilsome expeditions through the wilderness and expounded 
the gospel to the natives. In the meeting house he occupied 
an elevated seat between the deacons' seat and the pulpit and 
continued in office through life. He died, in Roxbury, Jan. 
21, 1660/1. 



DEACONS 43 



DEACONS 

Mr. George Alcock came with the first company La 1630. 
He left his only son in England. His wife, a sister of Rev. 
Thomas Hooker, died soon after he came to this land. 
When the people of Rocksbrough joyned to the church at 
Dorchester, "until such time as God should give them 
opportunity to be a church among themselves," he was by 
the church chosen to be a Deakon, especially to regard the 
brethren at Rocks bo rough. And after he had ad joyned 
himself to this church at Rocksborough, he was ordained a 
Deacon of this church in 1632. He made two voyages to 
England upon just calling thereunto, wherein he had much 
experience of God's preservation and blessing. He brought 
over his son John and also a wife, by whom he had his second 
son Samuel. He was a physician. Freeman, Oct. 19, 1630. 
Deputy to the First General Court, May 14, 1634. He 
lived in a good and godly sort, and died in the end of the lO^ii 
month 1640, and left a good savor behind him, the poor of 
the church much bewailing his loss. 

Mr. William Parke (Parkes) was born in England in 
1604 and came to this country February 1630/1 a single 
man, and was one of the first in the church at Rocksbrough. 
Freeman, May 18, 1631, and ordained a Deacon of this church 
in 1632. He married Martha Holgrave of Salem and lived 
on the North side of the road to Dorchester. He was a man 
of infiuence and wealth, of pregnant understanding and 
useful in his place. Deputy to the General Court for thirty- 
three years, & often selectman. One of the original donors 
of the " Free Schoole" and also a Trustee. He died May 10, 
1683, aged 79 years. 



44 THE FIRST MEETING HOUSE 

Mr. Philip Eliot, son of Bennett and Lettese (Aggar) 
Eliot and brother of Rev. John Eliot, our Teacher, was bap- 
tised April 25, 1602, in Nazing, England, and came to this 
country in 1635 with his wife Elizabeth (Ferian) Eliot, whom 
he had married in 1621 in Nazing, Freeman, May 25, 1636. 
He was probably ordained a Deacon of this Church in 1640 
in place of Deacon Alcock, who died that year. He was a 
man of peace & very faithful, he was many years in the office 
of a Deakon w^^ he discharged faithfully. In his latter years 
he was very lively, usefuU & active for God, & his cause. 
The Lord gave him so much acceptanc in the hearts of the 
people y* he dyed under many of the offices of trust y* are 
usually put upon men of his rank, for, besides his office of a 
Deakon, he was a Deputy to the Gen. Court, Comissioner 
for the govnm* of the towne, one of the 5 men to order the 
prudential affairs of the towne & chosen to be Feofee of the 
Publike Schoole in Roxbury. One of the original donors of 
the Free Schoole. He died 22/8/1657. 

Mr. Giles Paison (Payson) baptised in Nazing May 14, 
1609, was one of the Nazing emigrants and 26 years old when 
he embarked for New England April 3, 1635 in the " Hope- 
well" ; a single man when he came to Roxbury. He married 
Ehzabeth Dowell, a maide servant. Freeman, April 18, 
1637. One of the original donors of the Free Schoole and 
also a Trustee. He held many town offices. He was elected 
& called to ye office of a Deacon 14 (ll"".) 1671 & ye 
Sabbath following, 21. 11. 1671 he was solemnly ordained, by 
prayer and imposition of ye hands of ye Elders, Deacon of 
this church. He died Jan. 28, 1688/9. 



FOUNDERS 45 



FOUNDERS 

William Pinchon, came in the first company, 1630, as one of the Assistants 
of the Company, and he was chosen to that office annually until he left 
Roxbury, and again in later years. His wife died soon after he landed 
and he married (2) Mrs. Frances Samford of Dorchester. When so 
many removed to the Connecticut river he went with them and planted 
at a place called Agawan, now Springfield. He was recommended to 
the church at Winsor until such time as it should please God to provide 
that they might enter into chm-ch estate among themselves. 

George Alcock, see Deacons. 

Thomas Lambe, farmer, came to Roxbury in 1630 with wife Elizabeth, 
m. (2) Dorothy Harbottle. Freeman May 18, 1631. An original donor 
of the Free Schoole. Died March 28, 1646. 

Elizabeth Lambe, wife of Thomas Lambe. 

Thomas Rawlings, carpenter and planter, came in the first company 1630 
with wife Mary. Freeman May 16, 1631. Removed to Weymouth. 

Mary Rawlings, wife of Thomas Rawlings. 

Robert Cole, came in the first company, 1630. Freeman Oct. 19, 1630, 
with prefix of respect. Removed to Salem. 

Mart Cole, wife of Robert Cole. 

John Johnson, farmer, came to Roxbury in 1630 with wife Margery; 
m. (2) Grace Fawer. Freeman May 18, 1631. Constable 1630. Select- 
man. Surveyor general of the ammunition, which, while stored in his 
house, caught fire, blew up the house and all was lost. It was at this 
time that the records were destroj'ed. May 8, 1632, he and Robert Cole 
were chosen from Roxbury to advise with the governor at the next 
General Court. May 14, 1634, Deputy from Roxbury to the first General 
Court of delegates. Artillery Company, 1638. An original donor to 
the Free Schoole. Died Sept. 30, 1659. 

Margery Johnson, wife of John Johnson. 

Jehu Bur (Burr), carpenter, came to Roxbury in 1630. Freeman May 18, 
1631. In 1633 appointed by the Court to see to the bridges between 
Boston and Roxbury. Removed to Springfield with Pinchon. 

GooDWTFE BtTR, wife of Jehu Bur. 

William Chase, came in the fiurst company, 1630, with wife Mary. Free- 
man May 18, 1631. Removed to Scituate. 

MuuiY Chase, wife of William Chase. 



46 THE FIRST MEETING HOUSE 

RiCHAKD BuGBT, Came to Roxbury in 1630 with wife Judith. Freeman 
May 18, 1631. Died before 1641. 

Judith Bugbt, wife of Richard Bugby. 

Gregorie Baxter, farmer, came to Roxbury in 1630. Freeman March 
6, 1631/2; married Margaret Paddy. Removed to Braintree. 

Francis Smith, cardmaker and farmer, came to Roxbmy in 1630. Free- 
man May 18, 1631. Served on the first inquiry held by a coroner, Sept. 
28, 1630. An original donor of the Free Schoole. Removed to Boston. 

GRnTTTH Crofts (Crafts), farmer and carpenter, came to Roxbury in 1630 
with wife AUce; m. (2) Ursula (Adams, Hosier, Streeter) Robinson, her 
foiulh husband; m. (3) Dorcas Ruggles. Freeman May 18, 1631. 
Selectman. Deputy to the General Court, 1638, 1663, 1664. Lt. of 
the Roxbury company. Artillery company, 1668. An original donor of 
the Free Schoole. Held many positions of trust. Died Oct. 4, 1689. 

Alice Crofts, wife of Griffith Crofts. 

William Parke, see Deacons. 

William Dennison, farmer, born at Bishops Stratford, Herts, England, 
came to Roxbury in 1631 with v>n£e Margaret (Chandler). Freeman 
July 3, 1632. Constable, 1634. Deputy, 1635. Appraiser of Wills. 
Disarmed as follower of Ann Hutchinson. An original donor of the 
Free Schoole. Died Jan. 25, 1654. 

Mabgret Dennison, wife of William Dennison. It pleased God to work 
upon her heart & change it in her ancient years, after she came to this 
land & joined to the church in the year 1632. 

Samuel Wakeman, yeoman, came to Roxbury, Nov., 1631, with wife Eliza- 
beth. Freeman Aug. 7, 1632. Removed to Cambridge. 

Elizabeth Wakeman, vsdfe of Samuel Wakeman. 

Richard Ltman, bap. Oct. 30, 1580, in High Onger. Essex Co., England ; 
came to Roxbury, Nov., 1631. Freeman June 11, 1633. Removed to 
Springfield with Pinchon. 

Sarah Ltman, wife of Richard Lyman. 

Phillis Ltman, daughter of Richard Lyman, m. William Hills. 

John Carmen, came to Roxbury in 1631 with wife Florence. Was a 
Patentee of Hamstead, Long Island, and removed there. 

Florence Carmen, wife of John Carmen. 

Thomas Goldthwaight, single man, came to Roxbury in 1631. Freeman 
May 14, 1634. Removed to Salem in 1636. 

Valentine Prentise, came to Roxbury in 1631 with wife Alice. Freeman 
Aug. 7, 1633. Died in 1633. 

Alice Prentise, wife of Valentine Prentise. 



MEMBERS BETWEEN 1631 AND 1650 47 



MEMBERS BETWEEN 1631 AND 1650. 

Robert Gamun, came to Roxbury in 1632. Preeman May 14, 1634. 

Removed to Concord. 
John Perrt, farmer, came to Roxbury in 1632. Preeman March 4, 1632/3. 

Died Sept. 21, 1642. 
John Leavens, farmer, came to Roxbury in 1632 with wife Elizabeth; m. 

(2) Rachel Wright. Preeman March 4, 1633/4. An original donor of 

the Free Schoole. Died Nov. 15, 1647. 

Richard Dummer, bom about 1599 in Bishopstoke, Hants, England, came 
to Roxbury in 1632 with wife Mary. IVeeman Nov. 6, 1632. Built 
the first watermill in Roxbury in 1633. Removed to Newbury. 

Mart Ddmmer, wife of Richard Dummer. She was a godly woman but 
by the seduction of some of her acquaintances she led away into the 
new opinions in Mrs. Hutchinson's time. 

William Talmage, carpenter, and an early member of this church, came to 
Roxbury with wife Elizabeth. Preeman March 14, 1634. Removed to 
Lynn. 

Elizabeth Talmage, wife of William Talmage. 

Mr. Thomas Welde, our first Pastor. 

Margaret Welde, wife of Mr. Thomas Welde. 

Judith Welde, 2nd wife of Mr. Thomas Welde. 

John Watson, farmer, came to Roxbury in 1632. Preeman Nov. 5, 1633. 

m. Alice, widow of Valentine Prentise. An original donor of the Free 

Schoole. Died Jan. 5, 1671/2. 
Thomas Woodforde, a man servant, came to Roxbury in 1632. Freeman 

March 4, 1634/5. Married Mary Blott. Removed to Hartford. 

Margery Hammond, a maide servant, came to Roxbury in 1632. Married 
John Ruggles. 

Mart Blott, a maide servant, came to Roxbury in 1632, m. Thomas 
Woodforde. 

Ann Shelly, a maide servant, came to Roxbury in 1632, married 

Poxall, a godly brother of the church of Sittuate. 

Rebeckah Short, a maide servant, came to Roxbury in 1632, married 
(Walter) Palmer of Charlestowne church. 

William Hills, a man servant, came to Roxbury in 1632, Married Phillis 
Lyman. Freeman May 14, 1634. Removed to Hartford. 



48 THE FIRST MEETING HOUSE 

John Gxjgeshall, mercer, from county Essex, caxne to Roxbury in 1632 
with wife Mary. Freeman Nov, 6, 1632. Removed to Boston, thence 
to Rhode Island. 

Mary Coggeshau., wife of John Coggeshall. 

Wg^LlaM Heath, farmer, came to Roxbm-y in 1632 with wife Mary. Free- 
man March 4, 1632/3. Deputy May 14, 1634. Died May 29, 1652. 

Mary Heath, wife of William Heath. 

William Curtis, farmer, came to Roxbury from Nazing, England, in 1632 

with wife Sarah (Eliot) Curtis. Freeman March 4, 1632/3. Died 

Dec. 8, 1672, aged 80. 

Sahah Curtis, wife of William Curtis. 

Thomas Offitt, came to Roxbury in 1632 with wife Isabel. Freeman 
March 4, 1633. Removed with Pinchon to Springfield. 

Isabel Offitt, wife of Thomas Offitt. 

Isaac Morrill, farmer, came to Roxbury in 1632 with wife Sarah. Free- 
man March 4, 1633. Selectman. Artillery Co., 1638. An origmal 
donor of the Free Schooll. Died Dec. 20, 1661. 

Sarah Morrill, wife of Isaac Morrill. 

Daniel Brewer, farmer, came to Roxbury in 1632 with wife Joanna. 
Freeman May 14, 1634. Died March 28, 1646. 

Joanna Brewer, wife of Daniel Brewer. 

Mr. John Eliot, out Teacher. 

MK's. Ann Eliot, the wife of Mr. John Eliot. 

Abraham Pratt, came to Roxbury from Charlestown in 1632 with wife 

Johanna. Returned to Charlestown. 
Johanna Pratt, wife of Abraham Pratt. 
Mary Gamlin, a maide servant, dau. of Robert Gamlin sr, came with her 

father. Died in 1633. 
Robert Gamlin, Jr., came to Roxbury May 20, 1632, with wife Elizabeth, 

widow of Thomas Mayo of County Kent, England, and her son John 

Mayo. An original donor of the Free Schoole. Died in 1663. 
Elizabeth Gamlin, wife of Robert Gamlin, Jr. 
Samuel Basse, came to Roxbury in 1632 with wife Ann. Freeman May 14i 

1634. Removed to Braintree. 
Ann Basse, wife of Samuel Basse. 
John Tatman (Totman), farmer, came to Roxbury in 1632. Freeman 

May 2, 1638. Had indulgence in 1639 from the General Court for living 

more than half a mile from the church. Died Oct. 28, 1670. 
, Wife of John Totman. 



MEMBERS BETWEEN 1631 AND 1650 49 

t 

Jaspee Rawlings, came to Roxbury in 1632 with wife Jeane. Freeman 

Jmie 11, 1633. Removed to Wethersfield. 
Jeane Rawlings, wife of Jasper Rawlings. 

William Perkins, minister, b. Aug. 25, 1607. Came to Roxuttry in 1632. 
Freeman Sept. 3, 1634. m. Eliz. Woolton. Removed to Weymouth. - 

John Moody, came to Roxbury in 1633 with wife Sarah. Freeman Nov. 5, 
1635. An original donor of the Free Schoole. Removed to Hartford, 
Coim. 

Sarah Moody, wife of John Moody. 

John Walicer. Freeman May 14, 1634. Removed to Boston and then to 
Rhode Island. 

Walker, wife of John Walker. 

Elizabeth Hinds, a maide servant, came to Roxbury in 1633, married 
Alexander , of Boston. 

Elizabeth Ballard, a maide servant, came to Roxbury in 1633, married 
Robert Sever of this church. 

John Porter, farmer. Freeman Nov. 5, 1633. Wife Margaret. Removed 
to Hingham. 

Margret Porter, wife of John Porter. 

Nicholas Parker, yeoman, came to Roxbury in 1633 with wiie Ann. 
Freeman March 4, 1633/4. Removed to Boston. 

Ann Parker, wiie of Nicholas Parker. 

Margret Huntington, widdow, came to Roxbury in 1633. 

Philip Sherman, a single man, came to Roxbury in 1633. Freeman May 14, 
1634. m. Sarah Odding. Disarmed as follower of Ann Hutchinson. 
Removed to Rhode Island. 

Thomas Pigge (Pidge), came with wife Mary. Freeman May 14, 1634. 
Died Dec. 30, 1643. 

Mary Pigge, wife of Thomas Pigge. 

Samuel Finch, m. (1) Martha , (2) Judith . Freeman May 14, 

1634. An original donor of the Free Schoole. Died Jan. 27, 1673/4. 

Martha Pdrke, wife of Deacon WiDiam Parke. 

Thomas Wilson, miller, came to Roxbury in 1633 with wife Ann. Free- 
man May 14, 1634. Removed to Exeter. 

Ann Wilson, wife of Thomas Wilson. 

Joshua Hew^es, a single man, ironmonger, came to Roxbury in 1633. 
Freeman March 4, 1633/4. m. Mary Goldstone. Deputy. Artillery 
Co. 1643. An original donor of the Free Schoole. Removed to Rhode 
Island and thence to Boston. 



50 THE FIRST MEETING HOUSE 

Isaac Johnson, came to Roxbury in 1630 with his parents. Joined our 
church in 1633. Freeman March 4, 1634/5. m. EUza^Porter. Artillery 
Co. 1645. An original donor of the Free Schoole. Capt. Roxbury Co. 
Deputy, 1671 . Killed in the Narraganset fight, Dec. 19, 1675. 

J^iazABETH Johnson, wife of Isaac Johnson. 

Ralph Hinningway (Hemingway), a man servant, came to Roxbury in 
1633. Freeman Sept. 3, 1634. m. Eliza Hewes. Became one of the 
largest land holders in Roxbm-y. Active in town affairs. An original 
donor of the Free Schoole. Died June 1, 1677 or 8. 

Sarah Odding, daughter-in-law to John Porter, married Philip Sherman. 

Thomas Hills, a man servant. He came in the year 1633. He lived 
among us in good esteem and Godly & dyed about the lit or 12t 
month 1634 and left a good savor behind him, he was a very faithfull & 
prudent servant & a good christian. He dyed in Mr. Eliot's family. 

Thomas Hale, a single man. Freeman May 14, 1634. Removed to 
Hartford. Afterwards returned and married Jane Lord, one of our 
members, and returned to Conn. 

Edward Riggs, came to Roxbury in 1633 with wife Eliza. Freeman May 
14, 1634. Died March 5, 1671. Fought in the Pequod War. 

John Graves, came to Roxbury from Nazing in 1633 with a wife; married 

(2) Judith . Freeman April 18, 1637. Died Nov. 4, 1644. 

Ehot calls him "godly brother of the church" and says of him and 
Thomas Ruggles that "these two broke the knot first of the Nazing 
Christians. I mean they first died of aU those Christians that came 
from that town in England." 

Judith Graves, wife of John Graves. 

John Stow, came to Roxbrn-y in 1634 with wife EUzabeth. Freeman Sept. 
3, 1634. Removed to Concord. 

Elizabeth Stow, wife of John Stow. 

John Compton, laborer. Wife Susaima. Freeman Sept. 3, 1634. Removed 
to Boston. 

Hltes, a maide servant. 

William Cornewell, farmer, came to Roxbury in 1634 with wife Joane. 
Removed to Conn. 

Joane Cornewell, wife of William Cornewell. 

Abraham Newell, farmer, came to Roxbury from Ipswich, Eng., in 1634, 

aged 50, with wife Frances. Freeman March 4, 1634/5. An original 

donor of the Free Schoole. Died June 13, 1672. 
Frances Newell, wife of Abraham Newell. 



MEMBERS BETWEEN 1631 AND 1650 61 

William Fbeeborne, came to Roxbury in 1634, aged 40, with wife Mary. 

Freeman Sept. 3, 1634. Removed to Rhode Island. 
Robert Potter, farmer, came to Roxbmy in 1634 with wife Isabel. 

Freeman Sept. 3, 1634. Removed to Rhode Island. 
Isabel Potter, wife of Robert Potter. 
Sarah Burrell, wife of (John) Bmrell. 
Richard Pepper, farmer, came to Roxbury from Ipswich, Eng., in 1634, 

aged 27, with wife Mary. Freeman March 4, 1634/5. An original 

donor of the Free Schoole. 

Mart Pepper, wife of Richard Pepper. 

Elizabeth Howard, a maide servant. 

Robert Sever, came to Roxbury in 1634. Freeman April 18, 1637. m. 

Elizabeth Ballard. Selectman. An original donor of the Free Schoole. 

Died May 13, 1683. 
Phebe Disborowe, wife of Walter Disborowe. 
Christopher Peake, a single man. Freeman March 4, 1635. m. Dorcas 

French. An original donor of the Free Schoole. Died May 22, 1666. 
Mr. Thomas Jenner, came to Roxbury in 1634. Removed to Weymouth. 
Mr. John Miller, see Ruling Elders. 
Lidea Miller, wife of Mr. John Miller. 
Richard Goard, came to Roxbury in 1635, aged 17. m. Phebe Howes. 

Died Sept. 29, 1683. 
John Ruggles, shoemaker, bap. in Nazing, March 25, 1593, came to 

Roxbury in 1635 with wife Barbara. He was a Uvely christian, knowne 

to many of the church in old England where many of the church injoyed 

society together. Freeman April 18, 1637. An original donor of the 

Free Schoole. Deputy 1658, 1660, 1661. Died Oct. 6, 1663. 
Barbara Ruggles, wife of John Ruggles. 
Elizabeth Wise, a widdow. 
IsAAK Heath, see Ruling Elders. 
John Astwood, husbandman from Stanstead Abbey, Co. Herts, Eng., 

came to Roxbury in 1635, aged 26, vdth wife Martha. Freeman March 

3, 1635/6. Removed to MiKord. 
Martha Astwood, vdfe of John Astwood. 
Philip Eliot, see Deacons. 
Elizabeth Eliot, wife of Philip Eliot. 
Giles Paison, see Deacons. 
Edward Payson, a man servant, m. Ann Parke. Freeman May 13, 1640. 

An original donor of the Free Schoole. Removed to Dorchester. 



62 THE FIRST MEETING HOUSE 

Nicholas Baker, stopped in Roxbury only a short time. Removed to 

Hingham. 
Joseph Welde, storekeeper, brother to our first pastor, came to Roxbm-y 

in 1635 with wife Eliza, m. (2) Barbara Clap. Freeman March 3, 

1635/6. Deputy, 1637. Capt. of Roxbury Mihtia. An original donor 

of the Free Schoole. Buried Oct. 7, 1646. 

Barbara Welde, wife of Joseph Welde. 

Thomas Bell, came to Roxbury in 1635. Freeman May 25, 1636. He 
and his wife had letters of Dismission granted and sent to England in 
Sept. 1654. He died in England in 1672, and in his will left all his 
property in Roxbury to the Free Schoole. 

, Wife of Thomas Bell. 

William Webb. Freeman May 25, 1636. Wife Rebecca. Removed to 
Boston. 

Rebecca Webb, wife of William Webb. She followed baldng and through 
her covetuous mind she made light waight after many admonitions & for 
a grosse ly in publik, flatly denying yt after she had weighed her dough, 
she never nimed oflF bitts from each loaf, for all wh grosse sins she was 
excommunicated. But afterward she was reconciled to ye Church & 
lived christianly & dyed comfortably. 

Adam Mott, tailor, with wife Sarah, came to Roxbury in 1635 from Cam- 
bridge, Eng. Freeman May 25, 1636. Removed to Rhode Island. 

Sarah Mott, wife of Adam Mott. 

Mrs. Anna Vassaile, wife of William Vassaile. 

Richard Carder. • Freeman May 25, 1636. Removed early to Bostont 

afterwards to Rhode Island. 
Lawrence Whhtamore, husbandman, from Stanstead Abbey, Co. Herts, 

Eng., came to Roxbury in 1635, aged 63, with wife Eliza. Freeman 

April 18, 1637. Died in 1644. As he had no children he gave his estate 

to the Free Schoole. 
Jasper Gun, aged 29, came to Roxbury in 1635 with wife Ann. Freeman 

May 25, 1636. Removed to Hartford. 
Thomas Birchard, aged 40, came to Roxbury in 1635 vsdth wife Mary. 

Freeman May 17, 1637. Removed to Hartford. 
Mary Birchard, wife of Thomas Birchard. 
John Chenet, shoemaker, came to Roxbury in 1635 with wife Martha. 

Removed to Newbury. 
Martha Cheney, vsdfe of John Cheney. 
INIary Norrice, a maide, dau. of Mr. Edward Norrice, Teacher to the 

Church at Salem. 



MEMBERS BETWEEN 1631 AND 1650 53 

Elizabeth Bowis. 

Henrt Bull, a man servant, aged 25, came to Roxbiuy in 1635. Freeman 
May 17, 1637. Removed to Rhode Island. 

James How, came to Roxbury with wife Elizabeth. Freeman May 17, 

1637. Removed to Ipswich. 

Elizabeth How, wife of James How. 

Me. John Gore, came to Roxburj^ in 1635 with wife Rhoda. Freeman 

April 18, 1637. Art. Co. 1638. An original donor of the Free Schoole. 

Died June 2, 1657. 
Rhoda Gore, wife of Mr. John Gore. 
Mart Swaeste, a maide servant. 
Jane Lorde, a maide servant. 

Elizabeth Dowell, a maide servant. Married Giles Paison. 
Phillis Pepper, a maide servant. 
Edward Porter, came to Roxbury in 1636 with wife Elizabeth. Freeman 

May 17, 1637. An original donor of the Free Schoole. Removed to 

Boston. 

Elizabeth Porter, wife of Edward Porter. 

John Roberts, came to Roxbury in 1636 with wife Elizabeth. Freeman 
May 22, 1639. An original donor of the Free Schoole. "He was one 
of the first fruits of Wales that came to New England called to Christ by 
the ministry of yt Reverend and worthy instrument Mr. Wroth." Died 
Nov. 27, 1651. 

Elizabeth Roberts, wife of John Roberts. 

George Kilborne, a man servant, bap. at Wood Ditton, Co. Cambridge, 
Feb. 12, 1612, came to Roxbury in 1636 with wife Eliza. Freeman 
May 13, 1640. Removed to Rowley. 

Robert Williams, cordwainer, bap. Dec. 11, 1608, in Great Yarmouth, 
Norfolk Co., Eng., came to Roxbury in 1637 with -wiie Elizabeth (Stal- 
ham). Freeman May 10, 1643. Selectman. An original donor of the 
Free Schoole. Died Sept. 1, 1693. 

Elizabeth Williams, wife of Robert Williams. 

Samuel Hagboukne, came to Roxbury in 1637 with wife Catharine. Free- 
man May 2, 1638. A benefactor it the Free Schoole. Died Jan. 24, 
1643. 

Cathard^e Hagbourne, wife of Sa luel Hagboume. 

Abraham Howe, came to Roxbury in 1637 with wife. Freeman May 2, 

1638. Removed to Boston. Held oflace of fence viewer in Roxbury. 

, Wife of Abraham Ho-^ re. 



54 THE FIRST MEETING HOUSE 

Thomas Ruggles, came to Roxbuiy in 1637 with wife Mary (Curtis), from 
Nazing. Freeman May 22, 1639. Died Nov. 16, 1644. 

Maht Ritggles, wife of Thomas Ruggles. An original donor of the Free 

Schoole. 
Edward Bridge, came to Roxbury about 1637 with wife Mary. Freeman 

May 22, 1639. An original donor of the Free Schoole. Died Dec» 20, 

1683, aged 82. 
Mart Bridge, wife of Edward Bridge. 
Thomas Mighill, came to Roxbury in 1637 with wife Ellen. Removed 

to Rowley. 

Ellen Mighill, wife of Thomas Mighill. 

Christian Spisor, a maide servant. 

Rachel Write, a maide servant. Married brother John Leavins. 

Johanna Botse, a maide. 

Matthew Botce. Freeman May 22, 1639. Removed to Rowley. 

, Wife of Matthew Boyce. 

George Holmes, came to Roxbury with wife Sarah. Freeman May 22, 
1639. An original donor of the Free Schoole. Died Dec. 18, 1665. 

Sarah Holmes, wife of George Holmes. 

Jane Stebbins, wife of Martin Stebbius. 

William Chandler, came to Roxbury about 1637 with wife Hannah. 
Freeman May 13, 1640. He Uved a very religious and Godly life among 
us. He died Jan. 19, 1641/2 and left a sweet memory & savor behind 
him. 

Hannah Chandler, wife of William Chandler. 

Walter Blackburn, came to Roxbury with wife Elizabeth. Freeman 

May 22, 1639. Returned to England in 1641. 
Elizabeth Blackburn, wife of Walter Blackburn. 
Richard Peacock, glazier, came to Roxbmy with wife Jane. Freeman 

May 22, 1639. An original donor of the Free Schoole. Dismissed to 

ye church at Boston, 9. 5™, 1665. 

Jane Peacock, wife of Richard Peacock. 

M''^^^ Sheafe, a widdow. 

Arthur Geary, was in Roxbury v ith wife Frances in 1638. Freeman 

March 14, 1639. An original done f^of the Free Schoole. Died Dec. 17, 

1666, aged 67. 

Frances Geart, wife of Arthur Geary. 
M^'^ Greene, a widdow. 



MEMBERS BETWEEN 1631 AND 1650 55 

SiLENC RoBBiNSON, wife of Thomas Robbinson. 

Samuel Chapen, came to Roxbury in 1638 with wife Cicely. Freeman 
June 2, 1641. Removed to Springfield in 1642. 

Cicely Chapen, wife of Samuel Chapin. 

James Astwood, came to Roxbury in May, 1638, with wife Sarah. Free- 
man May 22, 1639. An original donor of the Free Schoole. Dismissed 
to ye new church in Boston. 

Sarah Astwood, wife of James Astwood. 

Dorothy Harbittle, a maide servant, married Thomas Lamb. 

Ann Wallis, a maide servant. 

Thomas Reives, a man servant, came to Roxbury in 1638 and was servant 
of John Gore until 1644. m. Hannah Rowe. Freeman May, 1645. 
Removed to Springfield. 

John Weld, b. Oct. 28, 1623, in England, came to Roxbury in 1638, married 
Margaret Bowen. Freeman May 22, 1650. Served in King Phillip's 
War. Died Sept. 20, 1691. 

Thomas Griggs, came to Roxbury in 1639 with wife Mary. Died May 25, 
1646. 

Mr. Thomas Dudley, second Governor of Massachusetts, was bom in 
Northampton, England, in 1576. At the age of fifty years, with others, 
he undertook the settlement of the Massachusetts Bay Colony and came 
over with the charter as Deputy Governor in 1630, settling first at 
Newtowne, then at Ipswich, and came to Roxbury about 1639. He was 
Governor in 1634, 1640, 1645, 1650, and Deputy Governor or Assistant 
the intervening years. In 1644 he was chosen Sergeant-Major-General, 
the highest mihtary office in the colonies. As Governor of Massachu- 
setts he signed the charter of Harvard College and was a directing mind 
in its affairs. He was a hberal patron of the Free Schoole in Roxbiu-y. 

He married (1) Dorothy , (2) Catherine Hackburn (Hagboume). 

He died in Roxbury, July 31, 1653. 

M*^'^ Dorothy Dudley, wife of Mr. Thomas Dudley. 

John Trumbell, came to Roxbury in 1639. Freeman May 13, 1640. 

Removed to Rowley. 
GowEN Anderson. Freeman May 13, 1640. An original donor of the 

Free Schoole in Roxbm-y. Removed to Boston. 

, Wife of Gowen Anderson. 

Robert Pepper, a man servant, m. Eliza Johnson. Freeman May 10, 

1643. An original donor of the Free Schoole. Given leave to brew 

and sell penny beare and cakes and white bread. Died July 7, 1685, 

"an old Xistian." 



66 THE FIRST MEETING HOUSE 

Elizabeth PiappER, vdfe of Robert Pepper. 

John Hall. Freeman May 13, 1640. Removed to Comi. 

John Bowles, see Ruling Elders, Second Meeting House. 

Dorothy Bowles, wife of John Bowles. 

Thomas Bumstead, came to Roxbuiy July, 1640, with wife Susanna. Dis- 
missed to Boston. 

Susanna Btxmstead, wife of Thomas Bumstead. 

Margaret Cheney, wife of William Cheney. 

Allis , a maide servant. 

John IMays (May), came to Roxbury with vtdfe Sarah about 1640. Free- 
man June 2, 1641. An original donor of the Free Schoole. Died April 
28, 1670, aged 80 years. 

Sarah Mays, wife of John Mays. 

Lewis Jones, came to Roxbury with wife Ann about 1640. An original 
donor of the Free Schoole. Removed to Watertown. 

Ann Jones, wife of Lewis Jones. 

Richard Woody, came to Roxbury with wife Ann about 1640. Freeman 
May 18, 1642. Died Dec. 7, 1658. 

Ann Woddy, (Woody), wife of Richard Woody. 

James Morgan, came to Roxbury in 1640, m. Margery Hill. Freeman 
May 10, 1643. An original donor of the Free Schoole. Removed to 
New London. 

William Lewis, was in Roxbury with wife Amy (Weld), Dec, 1640. Free- 
man May 18, 1642. An original donor of the Free Schoole. Removed 
to Lancaster. 

Amy Lewis, wife of William Lewis. 

John Woody, m. Mary Coggin. Died May 23, 1650. 

Thomas Gardner, was h\ing in Brookline July, 1641. m. Lucy Smith. 

Freeman May 6, 1646. Died July 15, 1689. 
(Ltjcy) Gardner, wife of Thomas Gardner. 

Edward Dennison, was in Roxbury before 1637, as he was disarmed that 
year as follower of Ann Hutchinson, m. Elizabeth Weld. Freeman 
May 10, 1648, with prefix of Respect. Selectman and chosen first town 
clerk. Deputy 1652 and 1655. Died April 26, 1668. 
Jane Stebbins, wife of Martin Stebbins. 
WiDDOW Gardner, wife of (Thomas) Gardner, senior. 
John Matthews, was in Roxbury with his wife July, 1641. Freeman 

May 18, 1642. 
, Wife of John Matthews. 



MEMBERS BETWEEN 1631 AND 1650 67 

Thomas Baker, miller, was in Roxbury with wife Elizabeth Oct. 1641. 
Freeman 1649. " Jan. 30, 1683/4 Old blind godly father Baker buried.' ' 

Elizabeth Baker, wife of Thomas Baker. 

Hugh Phichard, recommended from the chm"ch at Cape Ann. was in Rox- 
bury with wife Eleanor Dec, 1641. Freeman May 18, 1642. Art. Co. 

1643. Selectman. Deputy 1643, '44 and '49. An original donor of the 
Free Schoole. Returned to England about 1650. 

Eleanor Prichard, wife of Hugh Prichard. 
Mart Scarborough, wife of John Scarborough. 
Bridget Dennison, wife of George Dennison. 
Mary Jordan, a maide servant. 
IVIart Turner, a maide servant. 
Mart Grorton, wife of John Gorton. 
JoNET Starkweather, wife of Robert Starkweather. 
Grace Newell, daughter of Abraham NeweU. 

Sarah , maide servant of brother Park. 

Edmund Sheffield, came to Roxbury in 1641. m. Mary Woody. Freeman 

1644. Dismissed to church at Braintree. 

Thomas Roberts, m. Eunice . Art. Co. 1644. Freeman 1645. 

Removed to Boston. 

Phjlip Torie (Torrey), from Combe St. Nicholas, Co. Somerset, Eng. 
Freeman May 29, 1644. m. Mary, widow of John Scarborough, died 
in 1686. 

Richard Woody, Jr., soapboUer. Freeman May 29, 1644. m. Frances 
Dexter. Removed to Boston. 

JoANE Atkins, maide servant of Mr. Prichard, married one Smith. Dis- 
missed to Maiden. 

Hannah Roe, maide servant of Mr. Gore. 

Elizabeth Williams, dau. of John WiUiams. 

Robert Harris, first settled in Roxbury, afterwards removed to Muddy 
River where he was living in 1643. m. Elizabeth Boughey. Freeman 
May 22, 1650. 

George Brand, baker, was in Roxbiiry July, 1643. m. Martha Heath. 
Freeman May 22, 1650. 

Samuel Williams, see Ruling Elders, Second Meeting House. 

Edward White was in Roxbury with his wife in 1643. Freeman May 

26, 1647. An original donor of the Free Schoole. 
William Franklin, jomed the church, Feb. 1643/4, and a month later 

was excommunicated. 



58 THE FIRST MEETING HOUSE 

Henbt Farnham, joiner. Freeman May, 1645. Removed to Long Island, 

New York. 
John Stebbin, bisket baker, was in Roxbury April, 1644. m. Ann Munke. 

Freeman May 26, 1647. Died Dec. 4, 1681. 
Ann Stebbin, wife of John Stebbin. 
Gerrard Bourne, a member of Boston and living at Muddy River, was 

here received in 1643 by communion of chm-ches. 
Daniel Gookin, was bom in Ripple, Kent, in 1612, came with his father to 

Virginia in 1621 and to Boston in 1644. He was recommended to this 

chm-ch, and lived in Roxbmy from 1645 to 1648 when he removed to 

Cambridge. He was the life long and valued friend of John Eliot, and 

his fellow worker among the Indians. 
Ann Direton, a maide servant. 
Elizabeth How, daughter of Abraham How. 
Ann Brewer, daughter of Dan: Brewer. 
Mart Paison, wife of Edward Paison. 
Hannah Wilson, wife of Nathaniel Wilson. 
Elizabeth Clark, vrife of James Clark. 
John Stonhard, was in Roxbury with his wife Aug. 1645. An original 

donor of the Free Schoole. Buried Aug. 15, 1649. 

.Wife of John Stonhard. 

Mary Wise, vdfe of Joseph Wise. 

GooDwiFE Farrow, joined in 1647. 

GooDwiFE Reade. 

Mart Heath. 

Martha Medcalp. 

Elizabeth Davis, wife of William Davis. 

John Turner, was in Roxbury Sept., 1647, removed soon, probably to 

MedEeld. 
Thankfull Pearepotnt, wife of John Peirpoint. 
Hannah Heath, daughter of William Heath. 
March 1649 Mrs Barker a Gentlewoman that came from Barbados hither 

for the Gospells sake we found her not so well acquainted wtt her own 

heart & the wayes & workings of Gods spirit in converting a sinner 

unto God, yet full of sweet affection, & we feared a httle too confident, 

we received her not wth out feares & jealousyes. 
GooDwiFE (Rebecca) Gardiner, wife of Peter Gardiner. 
GrOODWiFE Lton, wifc of William Lyon. 
Goodwife Patchin, a poor old woman. 



CHURCH MEMBERS 59 



CHURCH MEMBERS 

May 12, 1650. — 

Samuel Danforth, recommended and dismissed from Cambridge 

Church and admitted here, our Pastor. 
Mrs. Sarah Alcock, wife of Mr. John Alcock. 
EHzabeth Denison, wife of Edward Denison. 
Susanna Polly, wife of John Polly. 
June 30, 1650. — 

Mr. John Alcock, physician. 

Hugh Thomas, gave his estate for the good of the Roxbury School. 

Died May 6, 1683. 
John Polly. 
Oct. 20, 1650. Hugh Roberts. 
Nov. 17, 1650. John Perepont. See Ruling Elders, Second Meeting 

House. 
June 15, 1651. Nicholsis Williams. 
Nov. 23, 1651. — 

William Garee, farmer. See Deacons, Second Meeting House. 
Isaac Heath. 
March 23, 1651/2. Daniel Weld, recommended from Braintree church, 
was town clerk in 1654 and took so much interest in the schoole, of 
which he was master, that in 1659 the General Court rewarded him 
with 200 acres of land. Died July 22, 1666, aged 81. 

3 m. 23 d. 1652. Peleg Heath. 

4 m. 6 d. 1652. — 

Sister Peake. 
Sister Devotion. 
4 m. 20 d. 1652. — 

Joseph Grigs, lived in Muddy River, died in 1715, aged 90. 
Lydia Eliot, dau. of Deacon Eliot. 
2 m. 3d. 1653. Abraham Newel, junior, a tailor. 
4 m. 26 d. 1653. — 

Susanna Heath, wife of Peleg Heath. 

Hannah Garee, wife of William Garee. 

Magdalen Bullard, a maide servant of Brother Williams, m. John 

Parrich of Medfield. 
John Ruggles, junior, fanner, b. in Nazing, Eng., in 1625, came to 
Roxbury in 1635 with his unde John Ruggles. Freeman May 3, 
1654. m, Abigail Crafts. Sergeant of the military company. Buried 
Sept. 15, 1658. 



60 THE FIRST MEETING HOUSE 

11 m. 29 d. 1653. 

Thomas Weld, son of Mr. Thomas Weld, sometime Pastor of this 

chm-ch. Selectman. Deputy, 1676 & 7. Greatly esteemed. 
Margaret Weld, wife of John Welde. 
Theodea Williams, wife of Samuel Williams. 
8 m. 14 d. 1654. Abraham How, weaver. 

3 m. 3d. 1657. Goodman (Joseph) Griffin, fought in King Philip's war. 
5 m. 19 d. 1657. — 

Mrs. Rebecca Burrows, who came from Virginia yt she might enjoy 

God in his Ordin. in N. E. 
Elizabeth Clark, wife of Hugh Clark, being dismissed from Watertown 
Church. 

10 m. 20 d. 1657. Mris Huntley, wife of John Huntley. 

2 m. 11 d. 1658. John Hanchet. 

7 m. 12 d. 1658. Edward Morris, removed to Woodstock. 

8 m. 17 d. 1658. John Maioh. 

9 m. 14 d. 1658. John Watson. 

9 m. 21 d. 1658. Isaac Williams, removed to Newton. 

11 m. 23 d. 1658. — 

Mary Childe, wife of Benjamin Childe. 
Mary Ruggles, wife of John Ruggles, Jr., 
Mary Heath, wife of Isaac Heath, Jr. 
Mary Griggs, wife of John Griggs. 
Martha Parkes, daughter of Deacon Parkes. 

12 m. 13 d. 1658. Samuel Ruggles, farmer, m. (1) Hannah Fowle, (2) 

Ann Bright; d. Aug. 15, 1692. Lieut, of militia, selectman and 
Deputy. 

3 m. 15 d. 1659. — 

Samuel Mayes. 

Sarah May, wife of John May. 
3 m. 22 d. 1659. — 

Bridget Davis, wife of Tobijah Davis. 

Susaima Newell, wife of Abraham Newell, junior. 

Grace Morris, wife of Edw. Morris. 

Exercise Felton, a maid dismissed from Salem. 
7 m. 11 d. 1659. Hugh Clarke, dismissed from Watertown. 
12 m. 12 d. 1659. Elizabeth Bowen. 
2 m. 29 d. 1660. — 

Mrs. Mary Danforth, dismissed from Boston Church. ' 

Mrs. Dorothie Welde, dismissed from Lynn. 

Sarah May, an aged woman, dismissed from Dorchester. 

Hannah Hopkins, dismissed from Dorchester. 



CHURCH MEMBERS 61 

3 m. 27 d. 1660. John Mayes, junior. 
12 m. 3 d. 1660. Isaac Newell. 

2 m. 7 d. 1661. — 

Mary Griffin, wife of bro. Griffin. 

Elizabeth Brewer, wife of Nathaniel Brewer. 
7 m. 22 d. 1661. — 

Hannah Ruggles, wife of Samuel Ruggles. 

Anne Garee, wife of Nathl Graree. 

Elizabeth Newell, wife of Isaac Newell. 

Mary Watson, wife of John Watson, junior. 

Sarah Peak, wife of Jonathan Peak. 

Hanna Mayo, wife of John Mayo. 
9 m. 24 d.l661. — 

Remember Palfrey, a maid servant, since wife of Peter Aspinwall. 

Dorcas Watson, dau. of John Watson. 
5 m. 6 d. 1662. — 

Mrs. Sarah Eliot, wife of Mr. John Eliot, jimior. 

Eiizabeth Speare. 

1 m. 22 d. 1662/3. — 

John Bridge. 

John More. 

2.m. 5 d. 1663. — 

Elizabeth Harris, wife of Robert Harris. 
Rebecca Craft, wife of John Craft. 
Martha Newell, wife of Jacob Newell. 
Prudence Bridge, wife of John Bridge. 

4 m. Vd. 1663, — 

Richard Meede. 

AHce Davis, wife of William Davis. 

Hanna Brewer, wife of Daniel Brewer. 

2 m. 24 d. 1664. Thomas Woodward, dismissed from Boston. 
12 m. 4 d. 1664. Sarah Frissel, wife of James Frissell. 

1 m. 5 d. 1664/5. — 

William Cheany. 
Robert Hawes. 

2 m. 12 d. 1665. — 

John Chandler, first sexton, removed to Woodstock in 1686. 
Jacob NeweU. 

5 m. 28 d. 1665. — 

Mary Tyler, wife of Job Tyler, dismissed to Mendham. 
Sarah Chamberline, wife of Richard ChamberUne. 
Elizabeth Chandler, wife of John Chandler. 
Sarah Foster, wife of Thomas Foster. 



62 THE FIRST MEETING HOUSE 

4 m. 18 d. 1665. Thomas Foster. 

6 m. 20 d. 1665. — 

Edward Bugbey, an old man. 

Maria Pierrepoint, wife of Robert Pierrepont. 

7 m. 24 d. 1665. John Prentice, son to our sister Watson, brought by 

his father Valentine to N. E. in 1631. Blacksmith, removed to New 
London in 1652. Brought 6 of his children more than a hundred 
miles to be baptised in this church. 

9 m. 5 d. 1665. — 

William Lyons, fought in King Philip's war. 

Samuel Craft, b. Dec. 12, 1637, m. Elizabeth Seaver, d. 1693. Freeman 
1671, farmer and carpenter, held offices in the town, of selectman, 
tithing man and constable. Lieut, in mihtary company. 

9 m. 12 d. 1665. Benjamin Eliot, H. C. 1665, youngest son of Rev. John 
Eliot. 

5 m. Id. 1666. John Gorton, an old man. Given leave to brew and 

seU penny beare and cakes and white bread. 

6 m. 8d. 1666. — 

Mary Polly, wife of John Polly. 
Desire-truth Acrees, wife of John Acrees 

6 m. 22 d. 1666. Jacob Newell. 

7 m. 23 d. 1666. — 

More, wife of John More. 

(Martha) Sharp, wife of John Sharp. 
Elizabeth Buckmaster, wife of Joseph Buckmaster. 
12 m. 1666. Timothy Stevens. 

1 m. 24 d. 1666. — 

Sarah Stevens, wife of Timothy Stevens. 
Mary Marshcraft. 

8 m. 20 d. 1667. Elizabeth Parker, wife of John Parker. 
11 m. 26 d. 1667. Mary Boltstone. 

11 m. 22 d. 1667-8. Elizabeth White, wife of John White, junior. 

2 m. 5 d. 1668. Steven Williams, b. Nov. 8, 1640, m. Sarah Wise. 

Farmer. 
Sarah Williams, wife of Steven Williams. 
4 m. 28 d. 1668. James Qark, lived at Muddy River. 

9 m. 22 d. 1668. — 

Moses Craft, gave .£2 towards building the Second Meeting House. 
Removed to Deerfield. 
• Rebecca Craft, wife of Moses Craft. 



CHURCH MEMBERS 



1 m. 21 d. 1668/9. Mary Johnson, wife of Nathaniel Johnson. 

8 m. 30 d. 1669. Joanna Davies, grand child of Mr. Nicholas Parker. 

6m. Id. 1669. — 

Mary Hemingway, wife of John Hemingway. 

Joanna Hemingway, wife of Joshua Hemingway. 

8 m. 10 d. 1669. , wife of Thomas Andrews. 

12 m. 13 d. 1669. — 

Mr. Joseph Dudley, son of Governor Thomas and Dorothy 



Dudley, bom Sept. 23, 1647, bap. 26, 7 m. 1647. H. C. 1665. 
Studied law. Admitted to this church to full communion Oct. 22, 
1671. Freeman 1672. Deputy to the General Court, 1673 to 1676. 
An Assistant 1676 to 1685. President of New England 1685 and 
1686 by a commission from King James H. President of the Council 
and Chief Justice of the Supreme Court, 1687 to 1689. Chief Justice 
of New York, 1691 and 1692. Deputy Governor of the Isle of Wight, 
England, from 1694 to 1702. Member of the British Parliament, 
and he finally closed his long official career as Grovemor of Massachu- 
setts, 1702 to 1715. He promoted the interests of Harvard College 
and was most influential in giving to its constitution a permanent 
character. He was also a benefactor of the Free Schoole of Rox- 
bury. He married Rebecca Tjng, and died in Roxbury, April 2, 
1720. 
Rebecca Dudley, wife of Mr. Joseph Dudley. 
Mary Parker, daughter of Edmund Parker. 
12 m. 20 d. 1669. Martha Clark, daughter of James Clark. 

2 m. S d. 1670. Mary Lamb, vrife of Caleb Lamb. 

5 m. 17 d. 1670. Hanna White, wife of Joseph White. 

7 m. 4 d. 1670. — 

Mary Swan, wife of Thomas Swan. 

, dau. of sister Pitcher and wife of Bugbee, dismissed 

from Dorchester. 

8 m. 23 d. 1670. Patience Homes, wife of Nathaniel Homes. 

10 m. 18 d. 1670. Decline Lamb, alias Smith. 

11 m. 8 d. 1670. Deborah Tatman, wife of Jabez Tatman. 

12 m. 19 d. 1670. — 

Andrew Gardiner. 

Sarah Gardiner, vsdfe of Andrew Grardiner. 

Sarah Cleaves, wife of William Cleaves. 
2 m. 2d. 1671. Susanna Bennet, wife of John Bennet. 
2 m. 23 d. 1671. John Holdbroke, dismissed from Dorchester. Tanner. 



_riE FIRST MEETING HOUSE 

.. oO d. 1671. — 

Elizabeth Whitney, daughter of Robert Harris. 

Mary Davis, wile of John Davis. 

Hanna Curtis, wife of Isaac Curtis. 

Sarah, wife to Sabin, dismissed to Rehoboth. 

S m. 11 d. 1671. Tho. Lyons. 

5 m. 23 d. 1671. — 

Mary Evans, wife of John Evans. 

Edward Porter, Ann, his wife, his son William Porter, his daughter, 

Elizabeth Nash, Hanna Dinely, Mary Bennit & Deborah Porter 

were aU dismissed to the third Church in Boston. 

8 m. 29 d. 1671. Mary Goard, wife of Richard Goard. 

1 m. 24 d. 1671/2. — 

John Lyons. 

Abigail Lyons, wife of John Lyons. 

John Pason, see Deacons, Second Meeting House. 

Bathsheba Pason, wife of John Pason. 

Rebecca Curtis, wife of John Cmtis. 

Mary Bacon, vdfe of Thomas Bacon. 

Hanna Seaver, wife of Shubal Seaver. 

Abigail Clark, wife of John Clark. 

2 m. 20 d. 1673. — 

William Davies (Davis), emigrant ancestor. Died Dec. 9, 1683. Born 

in 1617 of an ancient Welsh fam. m. (1) Elizabeth ; m. (2) 

Alice Thorpe; m. (3) Jane . 

John Harris, lived in Muddy River. 

Mary Harris, wife of John Harris. 

Mary Denison. 

Hanna Denison. 

Sarah Denison. 

Experience Pierpoint. 

Mary Bowles. 

2 m. 20 d. 1673. — 
Abigail Heath. 
Hanna Heath. 

4 m. 8 d. 1673. — 

Jane Dalies, wife of William Davies. 
Esther Woodward, wife of Thomas Woodward. 
Mary Bacon, wife of Thomas Bacon. 
Mary Parkes, a maid. 

9 m. 23 d. 1673. Samuel Davis, dismissed to North-Hampton. 



CHURCH MEMBERS 66 " 

10 m. 21 d. 1673. Samuel Lyons, dismissed to Rowley. 

11 m. 4 d. 1673. Nathaniel Brewer. 

11 m. 25 d. 1673. Thomas Bacon. 

12 m. 8 d. 1673. — 

Margaret Mason, daughter of sister Denison. 
Sarah Davis, wife of Joseph Davis. 
Sarah Pason, daughter of Deacon Pason. 

1 m. 8 d. 1673/4. Richard Woody with his sons Samuel & Richard 
& daughters Mary, Martha & Elizabeth were dismissed to the 
3d Church in Boston. 

1 m. 29 d. 1674. Joseph White, of Brookline. 

2 m. 5 d. 1674. — 

Shubal Seaver. 
Caleb Seaver. 

2 m. 12 d. 1674. Mr. George Burrows, was a minister, H. C, 1670, 
preaching in various places and finally became a victim to tne witch- 
craft fanaticism in 1692. 

2 m. 19 d. 1674. Susarma Bennett, dismissed to the hithermost Church 
in Boston. 

5 m. 3d. 1674. Joanna, wife to Rob* Harwood, dismissed to the third 

Church in Boston. 

8 m. 24 d. 1674. — 

Nathaniel Seaver, farmer. Killed by the Indians at Sudbury. 
Sarah Seaver, wife of Nathaniel Seaver. 
Sarah Seaver, wife of Caleb Seaver. 

6 m. 30 d. 1674. — 

John Winchester, sen., lived in Muddy River. 
Hanna Winchester, wife of John Winchester, sen. 
John Winchester, jun., lived in Muddy River. 
Joanna Winchester, vdfe of John Winchester, jun. 
John Druse, removed to Newton. 
Mary Druse, wife of John Druse. 



1674-1741 



PASTORS 



Rev. Mr. Nehemiah Walter 
Rev. Mr. Thomas Walter 

TEACHER 
Rev. Mr. John Eliot 

RULING ELDERS 

John Bowles 

John Peirpoynt Samuel Willlaj^is 

John Bowles, Jr. 

There is no mention of an Elder between 1660 and 1674, but the suppo- 
sition is there was one or more. 

DEACONS 

William Parke Giles Paison 

William Gary Samuel Scari^orough John Paison, Sb. 

John Mayo John May John Paison, Jr. 

Edward Ruggles Samuel Gridley 

PRECINCT CLERKS 

Ebenezer Pierpont elected Oct. 3, 1733 
John Sumner elected March 12, 1735/6 

Joseph Williams elected Feb. 20, 1738/9 

67 



68 THE SECOND MEETING HOUSE 

PRECINCT TREASURERS 

John Walley elected Oct. 3, 1733 

Deacon Edward Ruggles elected March 12, 1735/6 
Joseph Warren elected March 20, 1737/8 

PRECINCT COISIMITTEES 
or, as expressed on the records, a Committee to Manage the Precinct Affairs. 

Elected Oct. S, 1733. 

Edward Dorr 
John Walley ' Capt. Joseph Ruggles 

Elected March 20, 1733/4 

John Walley 
John Sumner Col. Joseph Heath 

Elected March 12, 1735/6 

Capt. Joseph Ruggles 
Ebenezer Pierpont John Sumner 

I 

Elected March 16, 1736/7 

John Sumner 
Capt. Joseph Ruggles Eleazer Williams 

Elected March 12, 1738/9 

Capt. Joseph Ruggles . 
Eleazer Williams Col. Joseph Heath 

Elected March 10, 1739/40 

Col. Joseph Heath 
Col. Joshua Lamb Joseph Williams 

SEXTONS 

William Cleaves chosen in 1669 

Widow Cleaves chosen in 1677 

Widow Stevens (alias Cleaves) chosen in 1678 

Edmund Parker chosen in 1680 

John Ruggles, secundus chosen in 1690 



THE SECOND MEETING HOUSE 



April 14, 1674, "the selectmen and the committee met at 
Sergt. Ruggles's and there toke account of the number of 
hands that were hired to help rare the nue meeting-house. " 
To its construction the people of Muddy River (Brookline) 
contributed £104 5s. having no meeting house of their own 
and worshipped here until the organization of their own 
place of worship in 1717, one fifth part of the house being 
allotted to them, they contributing in that proportion £6 45. 
towards the town's expenses. The list of contributors is as 
follows: Thomas Gardner, £10; John White, Jr., £10; 
Peter Aspinwall, £7; John Sharpe, Jr., £5; Thomas Boistan, 
£5 ; Richard Wolford, £1 IO5. ; Andrew Gardner, £5 ; Joseph 
White, £3; Moises Crafts, £2; Clement Corban, £1 IO5.; 
John Evens, 15*.; John Accers, £1 IO5. ; John Winchester, 
£3; Robert Harrise, £4; John Harise, £2; Benjamin Child, 
£2; Denman Meriam, £1; John Clarke, £3; Edward Mills, 
IO5. ; James Clarke, £1 IO5. ; Edward Devotion, £5; Henry 
Stevens, £5 ; John Parker, £1 10s. ; Edward Kube, £1 IO5. ; 
Goodwife Keebe, lOs.; Mrs. Mather & James Rementon, 
£7; Thomas Woodward, IO5. ; Goodman Winchester, £7; 
Samuel Dunkim, £1 IO5. 

They had a Raising and the bill of expenses and provisions 

was £20 155. lOd. There was also £9 5s. to hands for 

etceras. Henry Stevens of Boston contributed £5 towards 

building this meeting house because some of his family 

worshipped here. The first meeting in the new house was 

69 



70 THE SECOND MEETING HOUSE 

on November 15, 1674, only four days before the death of 
Rev. Mr. Danforth, Eliot's colleague. Concerning this event 
Eliot writes, "we first met and worshipped God in our 
new meeting house, but the I'd touched or thigh because 
yesterday my bro Danforth fell sick. " 

1674, 6 d., 10 m., is the first record of a sabbath school. 
'* This day we restored a primitive practice for ye training 
up of our youth," and then reciting, " 1st, that the male 
youth (in fitting season) stey, every sabbath, after morning 
exercise, and the elders examine their remembrance in 
every part of the catechism. 2d, that J^the female youth 
should also meet in one place and their elders examine 
their remembrance in the catechism, and whatever else may 
convene. " 

15 d. 10 m. 1674 a fast held at our church to humble 
ourselves under the mighty & awful hand of God, and to 
seek his favor and guidance of the church, for the healing of 
wounds & beautifying God's house, in all things defective 
or out of order. William Cleaves was the first sexton in 
charge of this meeting house and served until King Philip's 
war when he was killed in the Sudbury fight and his widow 

took his place. She married Stevens within a year 

and continued the duties until 1680 when she was succeeded 
by Edmund Parker. She had been paid £3 for Ringing the 
Bell and sweeping the Metting House. 

In 1678 it was agreed that ." Scollers not to keep Scoole in 
the Meeting House without the consent of the town. " 

In 1680 Edmund Parker as sexton was to have thirty 
shillings of his three pound payd in money, from which it 
may be understood that the rest of his pay was in another 
form. 

4 d. 7 m. 1681 sister Cleaves (alias Stevens) was publickly 
admonished for unseasonable entertaining and corrupting 



THE SECOND MEETING HOUSE 71 

other folks servants & children and hath corrupted Mr. 
Lambs neger. 

In 1682 it was found necessary to enlarge the seating 
capacity, which had been in charge of the Elders and Deacons 
and Selectmen, by building a gallery, and a committee was 
appointed consisting of John Weld senior, Leftenant Samuel 
Ruggles and William Gery to joyne with the Selectmen in 
viewing the work and agreing with some workmen to do it 
as speedily as may be, provided that our brethren at Muddy 
River have information of the met'ing about it, and have 
liberty to send some person to joyne with the above said men 
in consulting and carrying on the aforesaid work, if they 
please. Also they were to consult as to the most convenient 
passage unto the Bell in the inside of the met'ing house and 
to provide for the same. 

15 d. 4 m. 1684. On the admission into the church of 
several women these did orally confess, etc., & also gave in 
the substance of their confessions in writg, all which were 
publickly read yt day, & yei wr received into the fuU com- 
munion of the church by yt. gospel a act o renewing theere 
explicit covenant. 

19 d. 9 m. 1685. Towards the end of this year some 
naughty person made and divulged a libel for which 3 were 
censured by civil authority. The church take notice of Six, 
who humbled themselves by publik confession & we have 
cause to hope yt. the full proceeding of discipline will doe 
more good yu theire sin hath done hurt. 

Dec. 30, 1687, Edmund Parker was granted as usual for 
ringing the bell, etc., half taoney <£3, but in the following 
January by reason of the failure of money the town altered 
the quality of the mony part to countrey pay and added ten 
shillings to it in the same species; for which (being three 
pounds and ten shillings in Countrey pay) sd. Parker cove- 



72 THE SECOND MEETING HOUSE 

nanted to officiated the yeare following. In December of 
the same year he was allowed thirty-two shillings and six 
pence income for the same services. 

July 8, 1688, the Church voted that out of two persons, 
viz. : Mr. John Rogers and Mr. Nehemiah Walter, they would 
make their choice as God should direct for a standing help in 
the Dispensation of the word of God and in order to office. 

July 15 the Church elected by papers and the Voice of 
God by the Church was for Mr. Walter and Sept. 9 the Church 
and congregation gave ISIr. Nehemiah Walter a call to 
accept of office. 

In the Dorchester records we read that on the 7 of Oct. 
1688 was read a letter yt came from ye church at Rocksbery 
desiering ye church to send ther Elders & messengers to ye 
ordaining of Mr. Walters on ye 17 Instant the church ap- 
pointed ye Elders & Deacon Capen & Deacon Preston for 
ji;. work. 

Oct. 17, 1688 Rev. Mr. Nehemiah Walter was ordained 
Pastor by the imposition of hands and prayer. 

Judge Samuel Sewall thus speaks of this event in his 
Diary: "Ride in the Hackney Coach with Governor Brad- 
street, his lady, Mrs. Willard, Mrs. Mercy Bradstreet, Josiah 
Willard, to Roxbury to the Ordination of Nehemiah Walter. 
Mr. Eliot, Allen, Willard, Danforth of Dorchester laid on 
hands. Mr. Eliot ordained. Mr. Allen gave the Right Hand 
of Fellowship. Mr. Walter gave the Blessing. Dined at 
Mr. Dudley's." 

In 1689 the old bell being split and so rendered altogether 
useless or unserviceable in that state, it was voted to procure 
a new bell and Capt. Samuel Ruggles, Mr. Joshua Lamb, 
John Gore and Samuel Gore were chosen a committee to 
act on this matter and to dispose of the old bell toward the 
purchase thereof. 



THE SECOND MEETING HOUSE 73 

In 1690, as the congregation was becoming larger, and so 
making it necessary to enlarge the accommodations, it was 
granted to Joseph Weld Jun., Abiel Davis, Philip Searle, 
Joseph Warren, Richard Davis, Thomas Aspinwall, John 
Walworth and John Sharpe to have the backward seate in 
the lower front Galery in the Meeting house and liberty to 
make it according to their own minds, upon their own Cost 
and charge (not doing any damage to any other Seate), and 
to Enjoy the same to themselves and such as they shall see 
good to take in with them. At the same time John Ruggles, 
Secundus, for his services to the town in looking to the 
meeting house, was allowed .£1. 

In 1692 it was agreed that three men should be annually 
chosen for the seating of persons in the meeting house, one of 
which three men should be of Muddy River and chosen by 
the Inhabitants there, the other two to be Inhabitants of 
Roxbury, and to be annually chosen on the first Monday in 
March in each year, but this plan was not successful and in 
1694 the duty was left to the Church officers and Selectmen 
of the Town until a better way could be found. 

Hitherto the floor of the meeting house had been occupied 
by seats only, but in 1693 the first mention of pews occurs, 
when liberty was given to build pues around the meeting 
house except where the boys do sit, upon the charge of those 
who desire the same, to have consent of the committee, and 
this only to be granted to meet p?;rsons, for them to enjoy and 
they and their families to fill the pews or else the committee 
to do it for them, the use of this grant being to save room 
and not to lose it, but if any died the pews to return to the 
town and no one had the right to sell. 

The locality of the pews were as follows: Behind Mrs. 
Denison's seat, and ranging with Mr. Walter's pew, was 
Palsgrave Alcock's. The remainder of that comer was 



74 THE SECOND MEETING HOUSE 

cut up into two pews, one for Jas. Bailey and one for Capt. 
■Saunders, the one having the innermost to pass through the 
other. Capt. Timo. Stevens built his next the door at the 
South end on the right hand, and John Howard between 
that and the stairs to the women's gallery. Eben Pierpont's 
was on the right coming in at the front door, and Jos. Gard- 
ner's between that and the men's gallery stairs. Opposite 
those was Sam'l Ruggles. On the left of the North door 
was Edward Dor's and between that and the stairs to the 
men's gallery was Edward Weld's. John Gore's was by 
the pulpit stairs. 

March 1695/6 it was voted that the upper galleries be 
lowered and any person might lower the upper gallery who 
would do it at his owti cost. 

In 1699 £3 allowed "by a close vote" to build a porch 
and several young men were given liberty to raise the hind 
seats in the North gallery at their own cost and charges, also 
the hind seat in the front gallery. 

In 1703 the charge of building the Governor's pue was to 
be paid by the town and in the same year the turret was to 
be repaired. It seems that the intention to build pews in 
1693/4 was not carried out, and the proposition was again 
brought up in 1705/6. 

In March, 1707/8, two porches were to be built from the 
£10 18j9. contributed for the redemption of certain captives 
but not improved for that use. Muddy River was to be 
consulted about it. 

In 1706 a considerable number of people who lived in the 
westerly part of Roxbury commonly called Jamaica End 
found it inconvenient to attend worship in the First Church 
and prayed the General Court to be made a separate pre- 
cinct, to be freed from taxes for the old parish, and for aid 
in building a meeting house. This was not granted. 



THE SECOND MEETING HOUSE 75 

On Feb. 7, 1711, they sent an humble address signed by 
thirty-two men to the Roxbury Town ISIeeting, with a 
sincere desire to give Christian satisfaction for any disorderly 
steps in their late proceedings. Their petition was acceded 
to so far as to constitute a new precinct. Eighteen members 
of the First Church were set off to form the Second Church. 

There does not seem to be any evidence in the church 
records that anything was accomplished toward purchasing 
a new bell since the subject was first acted upon in 1689, 
until 1711 when the town took active measures and voted to 
procure a new one and gave orders to Mr. William Clarke 
concerning it, which are as follows : 

Roxbury the 16th of December, 1711. 

]\Ir. William Clarke j'ou being bound for England in Her Majesties Ship 
"Norwich" on board of which ship we have a cask of Bell mettle marked on 
one head W. C. and on the other 3 c 2.11 hereby consigned to yourself the 
Receipt for which you allso have. We desire you'l please to dispose of as 
follows : 

On yoiu- arrival at Plimoth or Portsmouth if the "Norwich" proceed no 

farther towards London we desire you to Land it at either of these ports 

and if you can neither dispose of it there to good advantage nor have it new 

Runn at the usual price please to order it to be carried by land and when it 

arrives at London you'le please to procure a good sound Bell of 3 hundred 

weight at least by the disposal of our mettal and advancing what is proper 

on the different of Cast and uncast mettle or having our mettle new cast 

which done you'le please to pay for the casting thereof for which 

you have a Bill of Exchange of Ten pounds sterling on Mr. James 

Duglas mere' — ^ '" '^iondon out of which take any of the above charges 

after which \> ^ uesire you'le take the first safe opportunity either by any of 

the Queens ships or other good merchant ship with convoy bound to this 

place and ship it on board consigned to any of us allways taking care either 

to enter it at the Custom house as a ship Bell or in cask as other wrought 

mettal that it may be safe, and if after you have effected this matter we 

remain anji;hing in your debt we shall see to the punctual payment thereof. 

We have nothing further to add, not doubting of your utmost care and good 

management we wish you a good voyage and safe return and remain your 

most hiunble and faithful servants. x\t t\ 

William Dudley 

Samuel Ruggles 

John Mayo. 



76 THE SECOND MEETING HOUSE 

In March, 1717, a committee, consisting of Mr. Edward 
Dorr, Mr. Jacob Pepper, Capt. Stephen Williams, Richard 
Hall, Sen., and Mr. Robert Calef, was chosen to seat persons 
in the meeting house and in order to meet the general desire 
they were to have respect to the age and estate of all in their 
seating of them. 

Att a church meeting held the first day of March 1717/8 
it was unanimously agreed and voted as follows : 

1. That it was necessary to chuse some meet person for an assistant to 
oiu" reverend pastor. 

2. It was agreed and voted to chuse such assistant att the present meeting. 
Accordingly the votes being brought in and counted, every vote was for Mr. 
Thomas Walter, son of the reverend pastor. 

3. The said church chose and appointed the deacons a committee to 
acquaint Mr. Walter herewith, and inform the inhabitants of the town in 
their next meeting with the church's doings, in order for their future pro- 
ceeding. 

"May 13, 1718. The town (having had legal warning) 
meet to chuse a representative, and to consider of a settle- 
ment for Mr. Thomas Walter. Voted that there should be 
sixty pounds raised for Mr. Walter, as encouragement to his 
settling among us." 

Rev. Mr. Thomas Walter was ordained Pastor, Oct. 19, 
1718. 

At a meeting held Aug. 7, 1727, it was voted : 

(1) That for the future it shall suflSce to have the relations of such as are 
propounded for the communion read before the church only. 

(2) Whereas there are or may be sundry persons among us Desirous of 
Chiu-ch fellowship who cannot be Persuaded to make a Public Rotation and 
Really scruple the doing it oflF whose profession and Good conversation we 
may have such Testimony as in a Judgement of Charity to think them well 
qualified for the sacrament of the Lord Supper. 

Resolved That if any Person who stands propounded to the commum'on 
of this church whose Profession is according to Godliness and of a blameless 
conversation that Really scruples the making Public Relation before the 
church in order to admission and shall signify such their scruple to the Rev. 
Pastor giving him at the same time such satisfaction as y* he may Recommend 



THE SECOND MEETING HOUSE 77 

them to our communion in that case this church will not Insist upon the 
Public Rotations of such persons. But the Rev. Pastor may proceed to 
take ye Vote of the Church for their admission upon their Renewing the 
Covenant as usual. 

In 1727/8 persons who have wmdows in their pues on the 
lower floor shall maintain the glass belonging to them and 
pews becoming vacant to be disposed of by the Society. 

Paul Dudley, afterwards Chief Justice of Massachusetts, 
was a benefactor to this church as was his father before him, 
and Feb. 24, 1728/9, first showed his liberality by giving to 
the Deacons to take care of, the sum of Fifty pounds in money 
the Principal to be from time to time Let and kept out on 
good security and that the yearly interest was to be applied 
as follows. That at all times hereafter the Relict or widow of 
the minister of the church shall be entitled to the sole benefit 
of the yearly profits or Interest during her widdowhood and 
in case there be no such widow to be bestowed on any one, 
two or three (but no more) of the said church, that may stand 
in need thereof, from time to time at the discretion of the 
Deacons, taking his advice as long as he lived and after his 
decease the advice of the minister of the 2^ Church for 
the time being. He wished so long as Mrs. Rebecca Walter, 
the widow of the late Rev. Mr. Thomas Walter, remained his 
widow that she should have twenty shillings per annum, 
being a part of the Interest. In case Madam Walter, the 
present pastor's wife, should survive her husband and her 
daughter-in-law remain likewise a widow he wished the 
mother to have two thirds and the daughter one third of the 
yearly profits. 

It seems that the congregation was at times disturbed by 
noise the boys made, and in March, 1730, it was voted " That 
all Boys under the age of 14 years shall be restrained from 
going up into the Galleries in time of Public Worship. " 



78 THE SECOND MEETING HOUSE 

The boys' seats had some years before been granted to 
members of the congregation to make them pews, but as 
nothing had evidently been accomphshed, in 1732 Joseph 
Heath and his brother Samuel asked to have the committee, 
appointed for seating the Meeting house, directed to lay out 
their Father's right to a pew in that place adjoining Mr. 
Gore's Pew. At the same time Sarah Williams, Mary 
Shed, Elizabeth Williams, Elizabeth Craft and Hannah 
Ruggles were given permission to fit up the hind seat in the 
Womens' Front gallery to sit in. 

In 1732 another benefactor to this church appeared in 
the person of Mrs. Dorothy William^, wife of Samuel Williams, 
and formerly the wife of William Denison, late of Roxbury, 
gentleman, who in accordance with the will of her former 
husband, as she had been the sole legatee, raised the sum of 
Two hundred pounds by the sale of a piece of land in Rox- 
bury which was part of the Real Estate of the said William 
Denison and also, as was expressed in the will, with the 
advice of Reverd Mr. Nehemiah Walter, and committed it 
to and lodged in the hands of John Mayo, cordwainer, John 
Payson and Edward Ruggles, yeomen, Deacons of the First 
Church of Christ in Roxbury and their successors in oflBce 
to be by them or the major part of them let out upon good 
security at their discretion (but not in sums under Twenty 
pounds) and the annual income or yearly Interest to be 
applied for and towards the support and maintenance of the 
Reverd Mr. Nehemiah Walter, Pastor of the First Church, 
and the Rever^ Mr. Ebenezer Thayer, Pastor of the Second 
Church in Roxbury, and their successors in the Pastoral 
office of the said churches (according to the present con- 
stitution of the churches in New England) in Proportion as 
follows: Three-quarter parts of the annual interest or 
income to be to and for the benefit of the Reverend Mr. 



THE SECOND MEETING HOUSE 79 

Nehemiah Walter for and during the term of his natural life 
and from and after his death to and for the benefit of his 
successors in the church and oflSce aforesaid, the other 
quarter part to be to and for the benefit of the Reverend 
Mr. Ebenezer Thayer for and during the term of his natural 
life and his successors in the office aforesaid in the Second 
Church in Roxbury. The above gift was formerly accepted 
by Deacon John Payson and Deacon Edward Ruggles, Dec. 
19, 1732. 

The yearly expense for the support of the church was 
somewhat different each year. In 1736 £100 was voted for 
the pastor's rate, for the cost of procuring firewood for Mr. 
Walter (which was cut on the common until the supply gave 
out) ; ringing the bell and taking care of the meeting house 
jE22, for procuring help for Mr. Walter in the work of the 
ministry £52, and £13 for other expenses. A Committee 
was appointed each year for many years to procure help for 
our Rev. Pastor. 

In 1734 the precinct at the West End of the town levied a 
tax on several persons and estates in this precinct, so a com- 
mittee, appointed for that purpose, were instructed to assert 
the line of this precinct and to take all due care to prevent 
the said persons being oppressed by obtaining a settlement 
of the line according to the bounds contained in the petition 
the inhabitants of the West End were set off by in 1706. 
This affair was finally adjusted the next year and the town 
was divided by a line showing who should be considered 
members of this church and who of the West End. 

In March, 1736, the subject of building a new meeting 
house was first taken up and its position considered as to 
whether it should be built on the same spot as this one or 
between it and the house of Mr. Samuel Gridley somewhat 
north of this one. One of the spots suggested was between 



80 THE SECOND MEETING HOUSE 

Mr. Gridley's Bam and the West comer of his Orchard as 
near the fence as conveniently may be. 

Hon^i^ Paul Dudley, Coll. Heath, CoU. Lamb, Mr. Shed, 
Capt. Ruggles, IVIr. Eleazer Williams, IMr. Nathaniel Craft, 
Mr. Ebenezer Pierpont, Mr. Ebenezer Newel, John Sumner, 
Capt. Mayo, Mr. Isaac Curtis and ISIr. Joseph Warren were 
chosen a committee to lay before the Precinct at their next 
meeting the Plan of a New Meeting House, also how and in 
what manner the said Building shall be effected, particularly 
the Dimentions of it, the Number of Pews to be in it with the 
Charge of the whole Building as near as they can judge and 
that they agree upon the Dimentions of the Pews and the 
value of them, as well those to be Built on the Floor as those 
to be Built in the Galleries, so as to reach in the whole the sum 
of One Thousand Pounds, and that they agree upon some 
just and equal method for the disposing of the pews. 

The question was raised as to how the money to build a 
new meeting house might be obtained, and a committee con- 
sisting of Capt. Isaac Williams, Capt. Joseph Ruggles, Col. 
Joshua Lamb, Col. Joseph Heath, IVIr. Eleazer Williams 
and Mr. Ebenezer Pierpont was chosen to present a sub- 
scription for that purpose. 
—* It was finally decided that the New Meeting House should 
be built Northward of the Place where the Old Meeting 
House stands not exceeding Four Rods, and that it was to 
be 62 feet long, 42 feet wide, the Posts about 26 feet high, 38 
pews on the floor, one tier of galleries and a Steeple at the 
West end. Number of pews to be built in Galleries shall not 
exceed 12 nor be under 8 at ,£10 each. 

It was also decided that a Rate be made upon the Poles 
and Estates of the Inhabitants of the Precinct to Raise Eight 
Hundred Pounds and the subscriptions to be laid aside. 

Then it was Proposed that no Pew or Pews be sold or 



THE SECOND MEETING HOUSE 81 

alienated by the persons that first have them, or their suc- 
cessors, without first making the offer thereof to the Precinct 
or the Committee, they Have or shall Chose for that Purpose 
giving at least one Month's Notice thereof, and in case the 
Precinct or their Committee wiU repay to such Person or 
Persons the Money Paid for such Pew they shall Have it to 
Dispose of to some other suitable Person as they shall see 
Meet; but in case the Precinct or their Committee Refuse 
the offer, then the owner or Proprietor of such Pew may 
Dispose of it at Pleasure. That the First Offer of the Pews 
be made to such Persons as are of Character and Substance, 
and who in probability may be judged likely to Support in 
good proportion the charge of the Ministry and Meeting 
House in the Precinct; and in case of any competition or 
Equality as to Persons or to Families, then Regard to be had 
to such Persons or Families or their Descendants as were 
among the Antient Worthy Families of this End of the To"^ti 
who were Remarkable for their Character and Support of 
Rehgion among us. In case there should not appear a 
sufficient number of Persons and Families Qualified as 
afores'^ to take the Pews at such a Price as shall be set upon 
them, then the offer to be made to Such Persons as will Pay 
for them, Pro%aded they are likewise persons of good Sub- 
stance and likely to Contribute a good Proportion to the 
charge of the Ministry in time to come and are of good 
Reputation and Sober conversation. A Committee was 
chosen to Dispose of the Pews in the Method above noted 
and consisted of the Hon''^® Judge Dudley, Joseph Heath, 
Esq., John Sumner, ISIr. Ebenezer Pierpont, Maj. John 
Bowles, Esq., IMr. Shubael Seaver, IMr. Eleazer Williams, 
]Mr. Samuel Williams, Mr. James Shed, Capt. Joseph Ruggles, 
Capt. Samuel Stevens, INIr. John Ruggles, INIr. Ebenezer 
Newell, Mr. William Cheany and Coll. Joshua Lamb. 



82 THE SECOND MEETING HOUSE 

It was also voted that Twelve Hundred Pounds be Raised 
by the Pews for the Building of the New Meeting House and 
also that seven Persons be chosen to eflPect the Business of 
Building, and they were to be Capt. Joseph Ruggles, Mr. 
Ebenezer Pierpont, John Sumner, Coll. Joseph Heath, Esq., 
Capt. Edward Dorr, Mr. James Shed and Mr. Samuel Gore. 
Capt. Dorr refused to serve and Mr. John Holbrook was 
appointed to serve in his Room. Capt. John Richardson 
was appointed on above committee in the Room of Mr. 
John Sumner who moved out of town. The above com- 
mittee was given Power to Agree with One Person or more 
to Build it by the Great and not by Days Work. Also they 
were not to exceed the space of Three Years until the whole 
be Finished ; this was cut down to two years from Feb. 1738/9. 
In March 1738/9 another attempt was made to have it built 
on the Northerly side of the Country Road near Deacon 
Sam'l Gridley's orchard but it was frustrated. Deacon 
John Payson (Jr.) was already set off to the West Precinct. 

It had already been voted that Paul Dudley, Esq., have the 
Liberty of Purchasing the two feet more or less overplus of the 
Pews on the east side of the pulpit, he paying therefor in 
proportion to his Pew, and that the two feet more or less on 
thi5 West side of the Pulpit shall be for the use of the Precinct. 
As it had all along been concluded that the Wall pews should 
have but six feet front each and it having been suggested 
that as they are Described in the plan there will be Some 
breakage in Some of the ranges of those pews which the 
Community Desire to have the advantage of, it was therefor 
voted that the proprietors in each range have liberty to 
Divide the same between them, except what was already 
granted to Judge Dudley, provided they should be obliged 
to pay to the precinct Treasurer, for the use of the Com- 
mittee for building, a further sum in proportion to the several 



THE SECOND MEETING HOUSE 83 

prizes already set on their pews in each range respectively. 
And he that refuses so to oblige himself shall forfeit his part 
of said breakage to the rest of the proprietors in the same 
range. It was also decided that stairs going up into the 
galleries be made in the steeple and one porch of the meeting 
house, and that two pews be added on the floor in the corners 
formerly projected for the stairs. The pews were all Drawn 
except five in the galleries. 

In April, 1740, the sum of £Q0 was voted to be raised to 
provide for a Raising Entertainment. 

It was also voted that as soon as the cells of the new meeting 
house were framed that then the old house should be pulled 
down. 



84 THE SECOND MEETING HOUSE 



REV. MR. NEHEMIAH WALTER 

Nehemiah Walter was the Son of worthy Parents, who 
originally came from Lancafhire in England. He had his 
Birth in Ireland fometime in December 1663. And there 
was initiated in Grammar-Learning at one of their beft 
Schools, where he diftinguifh'd himfelf by his Proficiency: 
particularly in the Latin Tongue, which by that Time he 
was 13 years old, he was fuch a Mafter of, as to be capable 
of readily converfing in it, which he often had Opportunity 
to do, with Popifh Scholars in his Neighbourhood, who had 
learnt to fpeak it rather more fluently, by Rote; and in his 
Difputes with them, he found it a fingular Advantage to 
him, that he had such frequent Occafion to tax them of 
falfe Grammar, and cou'd cite them to the Rule: which 
ferv'd to put them to the Blufh or at leaft bring them to a 
Paufe, and to give him Leafure to recollect his Thoughts. 

Sometime in (or perhaps a little before) the Year 1680 
when the Prevalence of Popery greatly threatned L-eland, his 
Father Mr. Thomas Walter removed thence, and came over 
to New England; bringing with him this his hopeful Son. 
Here he was firft put to learn a Trade : but it was foon found, 
his Genius lay quite another Way and inclined him wholly 
to Letters. 

His Book was his Delight. Accordingly, with a View to 
perfect his School-Education, and prepare him for the 
College, he was committed to the Care of the famous Mr. 
Cheever, then Mafter of the Publick Grammar School in 
Bofton; who, upon a fhort Examination and Experiment, 
return 'd him to his Father, with a great Encomium, pronoun- 
cing him already ftock'd with Claffick Learning, and 
abundantly furnifh'd to enter upon Academical Studies. 



REV. MR. NEHEMIAH WALTER 85 

In the 17*^ Year of his Age, he was admitted into Harvard 
College, A.D. 1680, when the very learned Mr. Oakes was 
Prefident, and Mr. Daniel Gookin and Mr. Samuel Andrews, 
Fellows: though the former of thefe soon removing, waf 
fucceeded by Mr. John Cotton, afterwards Minifter of 
Hampton; who always mention'd Mr. Walter's Name with 
peculiar Affection and Refpect, and wou'd frequently take 
occafion to fpeak of his fingular Progrefs in Learning while 
a Student at Cambridge, with much Applaufe. 

Anno 1684, he commenc'd Batchelor of Arts; and Mafter 
in 1687. In the Interim, Mr. Nelson, a noted Merchant in 
Bofton, who had a great Intereft and Trade with the French 
at Port Royal (now Annapolis) in Nova Scotia, made him 
the Offer of a Voyage with him thither, in order to learn their 
Language; which Invitation he gratefully accepted. And 
the more fpeedily to effect his Defign, prefently on his Arrival 
he retired from the Fort, that he might be out of all Englifh 
Converfation, and fojourn'd for feveral Months in a private 
Gentleman's Family at a Diftance, where he could hear 
nothing fpoken but in the Language he was aiming to acquire. 
It was a fober and (in the Romifh way) a religious Family : 
the Heads of which he was wont to fpeak of with great 
Gratitude for their handfom Treatment of him, and to 
exprefs his charitable Hopes concerning them, as really 
pious, upon the Obfervations he had made of them. — After 
paffing a few Months there, he return'd very much a Mafter 
of the Language; in which he afterguards more fully perfected 
himfelf by reading of French Authors, and by frequently 
conferring with fome Proteftant Refugees of that Nation; a 
fmall Affembly of whom fubfifted for many years (and till 
very lately) at Bofton, to which in the Abfence of their 
Paftor, he has fometimes preached, in their own Tongue, to 
their Edification; though at the fame Time he declin'd 



86 THE SECOND MEETING HOUSE 



praying with them in it, perhaps from a modeft Sufpicion of 
his own Sufficiency for doing this either extempore or me- 
moriter, and not chufing to read a written Form. — But he 
was certainly able to difcourfe very promptly in the French 
Language, and good Judges have faid, with great Propriety. 
His Knowledge of that Tongue he accounted a vaft Privilege, 
which he frequently mentioned with Thankfulnefs to God; 
particularly as it gave him the Opportunity of confulting 
many valuable inftructive Books, that otherwife he muft 
have been unacquainted with: and accordingly his well- 
fumifh'd Library confifted, in great Part, of Proteftant 
Authors in the French Language ; among whom thof e famous 
Divines, Meffieurs Claude and Placett were fingularly 
valu'd by him. 

Returned from his Travels, he purfued his Studies at 
College, for feveral Years with clofe Application ; difcovering 
a laudable Thirft after Increafe in all ufeful Literature, and 
giving Proofs of his Liduftry and Ingenuity, by his exemplary 
Proficience in the liberal Arts and Sciences. — He had a 
great Command of the Latin Tongue, became a Critick in 
the Greek, and had a good Infight into the Hebrew: attain'd 
to a confiderable Acquaintance with Philofophical Inquiries; 
and in fhort, poffefs'd a happy Fund both of human and 
divine Learning. — He was indeed much of a Humanif t ; 
though Divinity rather was his Favourite Study. He bore 
fo fuperior a Figure among the Scholars of his Day, that in 
their Debates upon any Point, whether Philological, or 
Theological, ftill He was appeal'd to, and his Opinion was 
wont to be generally decifive. — It reflected a Luftre on his 
Character, that the memorable Mr. Elijah Corlet, Mafter 
of the Grammar School in Cambridge, ufed to exprefs a 
diftinguifhing Value for him, by employing him to officiate 
at Times in the Care of his School, when obliged to be abfent 



T 



A.i KLr.Gr|\CK viiRsr. 

On the 3i>tatl) 



111 ihe ei.„i and FrrJo^trnJ (1 K A M »A K I A N jnd K II L T O K I C I A N, 



M 



r. 



s I. J/ L .,« A i r t K or 




CO y? LE 



E, Who DMj/f.( Ai. 



f'i. 






ON RjKJff Feet mjf ihimbrmg iU«/f[lccIinc\-X 
To wjlk unio hit liUve. Iclt Iir her till ? 



Sic ttcfpiiV, in accoUirsulhii Hcjd 

WithnndcfervciJ bicach. In jini;liMi; Kyt'nc i> 

She things it not convtiicnt lo Dance ♦; 

Upon hii SaciL-d Hcife i Sm ta^umj^: Sicp* i^ 

It McirioHjr oidet'd, fhc comjnitts M 

The rr.oll becoming ot ihij Tiagitk Stcr.c. 1jf 

Could Hcavns ic«i^ B#//(whofc lw>iiri!!cr.\Vcnifc 
MtUicns ol Hamioe Ati:s\ doc* i-gLl- 
Ffom CindU's dall and oleaginous 
TriRit'utcd Bcains, a glowing Aum Jij.*, 
Whicb rnlght a fupcr added LuHtc ^ 




A Common Weal I h nphMd. ;l'v//.(*-likc 
Otviiicly qujltiid vvitti curtoii:^ Skill 
To un-c oui TenpU work, and tloaih the JViV/T 
With I'acrcd K'>l>cs adapud lor the Ufc . . V. 

Of Vuiittioii\ I'u divinc.-i ■ 

Uivcr^ ot tJvjurn.r like Siihr HoW'J 
From hii Valt Ocean, where a Tm/// mi^'-.t 
Surlcit with dtJiif.Iiiiul Ut*j/t hloquctAC. 
InimuTial O-titt '\\Uo\cx^.Jtn miuib i c'le blew 
A Milldcrird wub it.dirp..lcd Speech) ' . 
Surpetliiii; hiv own \^ius, mely pror»ounc*4 
Ui> 0»rriii*rjff ltrc5. uniil% ihcyl'touch'd 
I his l.ydtut Lipii C OkI.F-T . then approv'd 
Thcy'ic kJ.'jweitte pri\j (.Itccm'd. and chaltcng'd 
iifctPnitK JJjiyfiV.^ ihen tpighrouf Vert]; ^jJThe Kj-^jji Tribt: ot Otaton ro Ipend 
T«(h impftjHW!flJj/il*irBrilli;^i!^ (IffWfl^ ^fccTr ^ ut>t i l>y, #t«d yi^i4* ^ hc u /wtft'li fiKtt:>' • 
rich Difplay orGj/-/«'s Vertu^i rare. jt; Into their vtry bottom. — — ^'^ 

" " ■ - • Had tJrf.iJfl Uiatcil and R.^Wit Tonr.ue 

Survtv'd thi* Age within ihclr native SoyI, 
tndUls had hcco their Feud \ ilr.'jfrtiand KVjsj 
Hid fci their Tull/s and i'mttjlh^net to tight 
WithSwotds biandilh'd with thining t/iyjuen^e 
For to decide the Controverfc. and prove ' 
To whom by ri^ht Great COKLHT did pcttain. 
This proTtng unrucccfiful, nought can qutnch 
Their flamirg zeal, iivc hy (C>i jf^xWVc} * 
Ercilinp his large Statue, whofc prou.l Icci 
Might Ux ihcii StaiioD on the Pinadc* - * 
0( each of ihefc Metrop'/iet of Art. ** 

Nor were liis Parts cxclufive of hii> ^ul 
In Ictving his rich Donor. No S-rpc.lt 



Seme 

But this Hrrcult^n labour fofc'd wc deem 
Not fecor.d to tnpc0iht:et. 
This picfln hard our tim'rous heart whence Hoi 
A Torrent of amazing Fcais, whofc it'jtxt 
Bode Uoivcrfat tV/«x« to that Vcrfc 
Thatdaies pretend to equalize his Fjme. 
Crerp then, poor Rvthnei, and like a timii iUre^ 
Encircle his rich Vault, then gently //uV^' ' ' 
Upon his Grave the Center there procfaim 
Tho' he fvbfiJf, yet his -abounding VVutth 
Docs infinitely fuptrftit thy Ij>«. 



% 



Tell to tbcCVorld what Dowries Natuielhowx'd 
Into his laii^e capacious Soul « almult ; 

Prcfafc in laigc Donations v yet kind Art i 

Still adds unto the Itoic, lltiving to reach 
iVr/rfliwr'i Top, during a mrtai flaic. ^ 

Sagacious Nature, provident that nought ^ , 

Other dlfpcnfcd bounty tiutVratc prove. 
Koyh up this Kifli ailittrnir.i to an head, 
WhichovertoppinE of its Banks (he grdcs 
Through Natuics c^rtJuit pf-ei into the Soil 
Ol' lender Tettif; which gaping fuck* it in. 
Like thirtly Surt Bright ihffiut'i liquid /ij^hi. 
t\ M-ijier oj I'll TriJr, whole All trtuMyi/j^rr 
i\U-ri of looted tlrfjiil*- whuft ll.'^utJcii il.;^ht. 



BcjriPg a fulgent Jewel in his Crelt, 
While curfcd Poifon Hcepshi* ve';om'd heart; 
Rut Orjit the Crown ot all Dioie like a Sun 
Fii"r in the Cc iter of that Aturoa/m. 
Blown to the full, pcrlum'd wlih lacrcd fmclL 
Thi* flower llc^l-en ^XucVC. When A jf i<r/r T*^ 
Too fecMc cf'^wirto hear fut'i ponderous ttuic 
J W(;4Vs Churi'^r Mrn on S.vj,-V/ wiii(»s, 
|Mi.unti Vdth f\v» TtcjIufLMg th: pi'it gt B///>, 




THE CORLET ELEGY 



REV. MR. NEHEMIAH WALTER 87 

himfelf; always efteeming his Place well fupply'd by Mr. 
Walter, and fully confiding in his Skill, Prudence and Dili- 
gence. And on Mr. Corlet's Death (Anno 1687 Aet. 77) Mr. 
Walter, to exprefs his Gratitude and Honour to the Memory 
of fo deferving a Perfon, publifh'd an Elegy done in blank 
Englifh Verfe; beginning with a modeft Apology for its 
appearing in that Form, and in that Language. — Mr. 
Stone, the late worthy and aged Paftor of Harwich, having 
made his chief Progrefs in School Learning under that very 
excellent Divine, the Rev. Mr. Nehemiah Hobart of New- 
town, had his laft Preparation for the College by Mr. Walter; 
whom he daily attended at his Chamber in Cambridge, 
travelling thither on Foot every Morning, though above a 
Mile from his Father's Houfe; and for whom he ever main- 
tained a very high Efteem. 

Mr. Walter early began to acquaint himfelf with Church 
Hiftory; in which he grew to be very well verfed: particularly 
in thofe Branches of it referring to the firft Ages of Chriftian- 
ity, to the Romifh Apoftacy, and the Proteftant Reformation. 
— He was well ftudy'd too in the Popifh Controverfies ; in the 
Lutheran, and in the Arminian Controverfies; alfo in the 
Difciplinary Difputes among Proteftants ; — impartially 
reading the Controverfial Writings on all Sides, and weighing 
their feveral Arguments with his beft Skill. Particularly he 
took this Method to fettle his Judgment in the Epifcopal and 
Prefbyterian Controverfies (or thofe between the Church 
and Diffenters in England, and between Prefbyterians and 
Congregationals) confulting the moft eminent Writers on 
each Side of the Queftion : and after much Deliberation, he 
fell in with the way of the Churches in New England as 
thinking their Conftitution and Practice in general, with 
refpect to Worfhip, Difcipline and Order, moft conformable 
to Gofpel-Inftitution and primitive Practice, as well as to the 



88 THE SECOND MEETING HOUSE 

Principles of the Reformation, refpeeting the Rights of 
Confcience and private Judgment, the Perfection and Obliga- 
tion of the Scripture-Rule and the Supremacy of Chrift as 
fole Head of the Church. Accordingly, he was firmly 
attached to the Congregational way; but ftill preferved a 
Candour for pious People of a different Perfuafion; and 
indeed was fometimes ready to think, that certain Modalities 
in Religion, wherein Proteftants vary from one another, had 
an immoderate Strefs laid upon them. 

With him the holy Scriptures were the Teft of Orthodoxy 
and Meafure of Truth. He took the Word of Chrift for the 
Guide of his Thoughts in Religion, and from thence form'd 
his Sentiments upon the feveral Doctrines, which have been 
the Subjects of fo many warm Controverfies in the Church 
from Age to Age. — He had a Reverence for the Memory of 
many of the primitive Fathers, and had a juft Value for their 
Writings: but an equal Refpect for many of the Divines of 
the Reformation, and in Truth to thefe he rather gave the 
Preference in his Judgment, on fome Accounts. He had a 
peculiar Efteem for the famous Calvin, among the firft 
Reformers; and among the more modem Englifh Divines, 
he had a diftinguifhing Value for the learned Dr. Owen, and 
for the great Mr. Howe, whom he feem'd in fome Regards 
to prefer above all: Though at the fame Time he ufed to 
exprefs an Affection and Refpect for many others as Dr. 
Bates, Mr. Charnock, Mr. Flavel, Mr. Richard Taylor, &c. 
He very much approved the Affembly of Divines Confession 
of Faith, and Catechisms; and in particular greatly priz'd 
the Affembly's fhorter Catechifm. However, ftill he had 
not fo learned Christ, as to take any Man or Sett of Men for 
his Standard, and to fubject his Faith to any Scheme of 
Divinity, or his Confcience to any Model of Religion, what- 
ever, of meer human Contrivance. No; but Divine Revela- 



REV. MR. NEHEMIAH WALTER 89 

tion, as it is contain'd in the facred Scriptures, was what he 
repair'd to as the Fountain of Theological Truth, and made 
that the only Rule of his Judgment, in Matters of Faith and 
Worfhip; ever efteeming that a Rule fufEcient, obliging, and 
limiting, both as to Principles and Practices in Religion. 
Guided by the Light of Scripture, he embraced thofe great 
and important Doctrines of the Reformation; the fame that 
are contain'd in the 39 Articles of the Church of England, 
and the fame that have been commonly prof efs'd and preach'd 
in the Churches of New England. — Neverthelefs he care- 
fully avoided all Extreams; and in particular, equally oppofed 
Arminianifm on the one Hand, and Antinomianifm on the 
other, always wifhing the Churches and Miniftry of New 
England might be exempted from both : Yet he would fpeak 
charitably of fome Divines, that leaned to either of the 
Extreams, and always took Care to preferve a Distinction 
between Perfons and Opinions; being very fparing in his 
Cenfures upon the former while he readily bore his Teftimony 
againft the latter. 

With fuch a happy Temper and Furniture of Mind, with 
a Judgment thus poiz'd and fixed, and with an eftablifh'd 
Character of Piety, he at firft set out in the World as a Can- 
didate for the Miniftry; his Pulpit Performances meeting 
with uncommon Acceptance. — There feems to have been 
a fpecial Interpofition of divine Providence, in his firft 
Introduction into Roxbury Pulpit; which perhaps may be 
worth relating. And it was thus, as the Fact lies in the 
Memory of one of us, that heard the Account of it long fince. 
— Mr. Walter had entertain'd Thoughts of travelling abroad ; 
it's fupposed, with a View partly to making further Improve- 
ments in Knowledge; and had actually befpoke his Paffage 
in a Ship for Ireland, or England. But it fo happen'd in 
Providence, that when the Veffel only waited for a Wind, he 



90 THE SECOND MEETING HOUSE 

on a Saturday Afternoon receiv'd a Meffage from Roxbury 
defiring of him a Sermon on the Morrow. Accordingly, he 
then went, and preach'd there (as it was faid) for the firft 
Time; greatly to the Satisfaction, both of Minifter and 
People. They had for a confiderable while been feeking a 
Colleague for their aged Paftor, the famous and venerable 
Mr. John Eliot (the fame who has ufually been celebrated 
as the American Apoftle) and among feveral very worthy 
Candidates, whom they had often heard, their Inclinations 
were fo divided, as to retard their Proceedings. But upon 
hearing Mr. Walter, they were inftantly very much united 
in him, and haft'ned to invite him to conftant Preaching 
among them, with a Profpect of Settlement in due Time; 
which, it was faid, occafion'd the putting off his intended 
Voyage. The good old Minifter was fo charm'd with this 
young Gentleman's Preaching, that on the firft Day of hear- 
ing him, he ftay'd the Church after Evening Service, and was 
for putting it immediately to Vote, whether they would give 
him a Call. But the Hon^ie Joseph Dudley, Esq. (after- 
wards Governor) then prefent, notwithftanding he had 
conceiv'd a high Opinion of Mr. Walter, yet appeared in 
oppofition to fo fudden a Motion, and perfuaded Mr. Eliot 
to defer it for a while. — After a f hort Delay, he receiv'd an 
unanimous Call; the Brethren of the Church making their 
Choice on Lord's Day July 15. 1688 and the Inhabitants 
of the To^vu, in publick Affembly, on Lord's Day, Sept. 9. 
approving and confirming it. Mr. Walter upon the Call 
given him, though it was then a dark and threatning 
Seafon, in the Reign of K. James II, a profefs'd Papift, 
and in the Adminiftration of Sir Edmund Andross, 
Governor of New England, a Tool of the Court, and 
grievoufly tyrannizing over the poor People here, yet had 
the Courage to enter into the Miniftry, at fuch a critical 



REV. MR. NEHEMIAH WALTER 91 



Juncture, and devote himfelf to the Service of Christ in 
thefe Churches. 

On Wednefday, October 17. 1688 (in the 25*^ Year of his 
Age) he was pubhckly and folemnly ordained, with the 
laying on of the Hands of the Prefbytery. INlr. Walter 
himfelf (purfuant to the former Ufage among us) preached 
the Sermon on that Occafion; which was from 2 Cor. iv. 7, 
But we have this Treafure in earthen Veffels that the Excel- 
lency of the Power may be of God, and not of us. — Mr. 
Eliot (then in his 84th Year) prefided in his Ordination and 
gave the Charge. And though a Diftinction was wont to be 
made between the Characters of Paftor and Teacher when 
two Minifters were together in the fame Church (one of them 
being ordain 'd under the former Name, and the other under 
the latter) Mr. Eliot notwithf tan ding faw fit to join both 
Names or Characters in Mr. Walter's Ordination. And on 
their Return from the Solemnity, he took Occafion pleafantly 
to fay to ]VIr. Walter, — " Brother, I've ordain'd you a 
Teaching Paftor; but don't be proud of it; for I always 
ordain my Indians fo." 

After this, Mr. Eliot did not long furvive : for on the 20*^'^ 
of May 1690, he died ; having been Minifter of Roxbury from 
Sept. 1632. and being worn out with Age, and with abundant 
Labours, in the Service of Chrift and Souls, as well among 
the Indians as Englifh. But it was a great Satisfaction to 
him, that he faw his People, before his Death, fo peaceably 
and happily fettled under Mr. Walter's Miniftry. And it is 
well known, how for the Year or two they were together, Mr. 
Walter ferved in the Gofpel with his venerable Colleague, 
even as a Son with a Father, full of filial Duty and Affection; 
and what a vaft Efteem and Parental Love that ancient 
Gentleman had for his Young Colleague, how he honoured 
him before his People, and almoft intirely devolv'd upon 



92 THE SECOND MEETING HOUSE 

him all publick Offices of the Miniftry, from a Senfe of his 
fuperior Abilities. Mr. Eliot wou'd often make the Remark, 
that well beaten Oil was required for the Service of the 
Sanctuary; and to that, he ufed to compare Mr. Walter's 
Sermons. He would therefore feldom preach; that fo he 
might not hinder his People from the Benefit of his defirable 
Colleague's Labours, and might himfelf enjoy the Privilege 
of hearing him. This we find taken Notice of in the Memoirs 
of Mr. Eliot's Life, written above fifty Years ago, by the late 
very excellent Dr. Cotton Mather; where we have the Pleafure 
of feeing Mr. Walter thus characterifed : — "A Perfon young 
jn Years, but old in Discretion, Gravity and Experience; and 
"^one, whom the Church of Roxbury hopes to find a Paftor 
after God's own Heart," It follows, "A^Tio being, by the 
unanimous Vote and Choice of the Church there, become the 
Paftor of Roxbury, immediately found the venerable Eliot 
embracing and cherifhing of him, with the tender Affections 
of a Father. The good old Man, like Aaron, as it were 
difrobed himfelf, with an unfpeakable Satisfaction, when he 
beheld his Garments fpread upon a Son fo dear to him. 
After this, he for a Year or two before his Tranflation, cou'd 
fcarce be perfuaded unto any publick Service; but humbly 
pleaded, It would be a Wrong to the Souls of the People, for 
him to do any Thing among them, when they were fupply'd 
fo much to their Advantage, otherwife," — And it's faid the 
good old Gentleman, when he preach'd at any Time in the 
Morning would excuse the Meannefs and Brokennefs (as he 
called it) of his Performance, but would conclude with 
faying, " My dear Brother here will by'n'by mend all. " — 

Thus, Mr. Walter gave early Prefages of his future Emi- 
nence; and he has all along, from Youth to advanced Age, 
fhewed himself a Workman that needed not to be afhamed; 
a burning and fhining Light, both in the Pulpit and out of it; 



REV. MR. NEHEMIAH WALTER 93 

and through a long Life, abundantly anfwering the high 
Expectations he had raifed in his younger Days. — He was 
Owner of all the valuable Qualifications, intellectual and 
moral, neceffary to conftitute an eminent Character, whether 
as a Chriftian, or a Divine. 

He certainly exhibited a bright Example of perfonal 
Holinefs; which is of the firft Confideration, and the grand 
Requifite in the Chriftian Profeffor, much more in the 
Chriftian Minifter. He gave very convincing Evidences of 
vital Experience in Religion, to a high Degree. He liv'd 
the Chriftianity he preach'd ; fhewing his Faith by his Works, 
and having his Fruit unto Holinefs, in all its various Exercifes. 
He was moft exemplary for Hatred of every Sin; and an 
Inftance of the correcteft Morals appear'd ever devoted to 
the Service and Honour of Chrift; exprefs'd a deep Concern 
for the Advancement of his Kingdom and Intereft; mani- 
fefted an ardent Love to God, and warm Benevolence to 
Men; a great Mortification to the World, and Abftraction 
from earthly Concerns; an habitual Equanimity, and Con- 
tentment with his outward Condition ; Ref ignation in Adver- 
fity, and Moderation in Profperity; Freedom from Envy 
at others rifing Reputation, or flourifhing Circumftances, 
and from all undue Elation with the pecular Refpects 
univerfally paid to himfelf ; was remarkable for his domeftick 
Tendernefs, and Endearingnefs towards his People; for his 
Humility and Modefty, which made him decline fome 
publick Honours that were offer'd him, and very much to 
avoid publick Appearances; was remarkable for an habitual, 
conftant Serioufnefs, Solidity, Veracity and Uprightnefs; 
was ftrictly temperate, exactly juft, and exceeding con- 
fcientious in all his Ways; was moft apparently fpiritually 
minded, and of a heavenly Converf ation ; walking by Faith, 
not by Sight; and adding to his Faith, Fortitude. For, 



94 THE SECOND MEETING HOUSE 

though he was low of Stature, and had a thm and feeble 
Body, as well as a low and weak Voice; yet he poffefs'd a 
great Soul, had a fingular animal Vivacity, with a good 
Meafure of natural Firmnefs and Courage, which being 
fanctify'd, were of Advantage to him, when call'd to appear 
in the Caufe of God our Saviour, He had a Zeal of God, 
and this according to Knowledge; being happily temper'd 
with Meeknefs, Lenity, and Charity, govem'd by Prudence, 
and recommended by a vifible Sincerity and Lowlinefs of 
Heart. — He was of a moft ingenuous Spirit, abounding in 
Candour; was a candid Difputant, a candid Hearer of 
Sermons, a candid Interpreter of others Words and Actions; 
exceeding diftant from all Cenforioufnefs and Detraction, 
from all Bittern efs and Acrimony; yet was a faithful Friend, 
and knew not to give flattering Titles, nor ufed he flattering 
Words, or airy Compliments. Very refpectful was he to his 
Superiours, though fervilely obfequious to none; full of 
Condefcenfion to his Inferiours; and in Honour preferring 
his Equals. He was of a moft placid and pacifick Temper, 
never embroil'd himfelf in Controverfy, kept out of all Con- 
tention, and ever followed the Things that made for Peace. 
— He was very averfe to entangling himfelf in the Affairs of 
this Life; whatever Occafions there might fometimes be 
for it, as having a numerous Family, and an Licome fmall, 
comparatively. However, being fuch a great Lover of 
Learning, he gave three of his Sons a liberal Education, by 
the Affiftance of generous Friends, and at the Expence of 
fome Self-denial at home. — He was inclined to live as 
retired, and to keep as much in his Study, as poffible, for 
devotional, as well as literary Purpofes; and his Work was 
almoft his only Recreation. The Confequence of this, his 
Friends thought to be Gain to them on fome valuable 
Accounts, yet a Lofs to them by the Lifrequency of his 



REV. MR. NEHEMIAH WALTER 95 

defirable Vifits. Though he was but feldom abroad, in 
Company, and did not affect Abundance of it at home, yet 
was eafy of Accefs and receiv'd his Vifitors with much 
Courtefy and Affabihty. There was a vifible Sweetnefs, 
under all his Referve; and in Converfation, where he might 
ufe a Liberty without Danger of giving Offence, he was 
modeftly free and facetious, pleafant, and entertaining; 
always ingenious, always communicative and inftructive; 
but never loud and noify, nor over-talkative; never affuming, 
nor overbearing, nor indecently interrupting, in any Debate 
or Difcourfe: nay, rather flow to fpeak, as well as flow to 
wrath, but fwift to hear, and readier to attend to others, than 
to exert himfelf. Neither did he love Trifling and meer 
Amufement; but was always grave, in the midft of Chearful- 
nefs, and wou'd ever (if he might) be difcourfing on Topicks 
that were ferious, or important and profitable; or otherwife 
be filent. His Converfation turned much on the State of 
Learning, and what pafs'd in the letter'd World, but more 
efpecially on the State of Religion, in the prof effing World ; 
or elfe on fome religious Subject, commonly fuch as he had 
lately been reading on; and wou'd often cite remarkable 
Paffages (efpecially from Authors in the French Language) 
which we were not fo likely to have met with. Indeed, above 
all, he lov'd to be talking of a glorious Christ, and the Grace 
of God in Him, of his Truths and Ways; the Affairs of his 
Kingdom here, and the Hope laid up for his People hereafter. 
— He ever bore upon his Heart the Concerns of the Chriftian 
Church, in general ; but efpecially thof e Parts of it in Great- 
Britain, Ireland, France, and Germany; and was very 
inquifitive about the State of Things in them. Nothing, of 
that Nature, lay more on his Thoughts, or nearer his Heart, 
than the Safety and Profperity of the Proteftant Intereft. 
His Heart, like Eli's, trembled for this Ark of God; greatly 



96 THE SECOND MEETING HOUSE 

lamenting to hear of Degeneracy among Proteftants, at home 
or abroad, whether in Principles or Manners; but equally 
rejoicing in well attefted Informations of a Revival of pure 
and practical Religion any where. — He thankfully admir'd 
the GDnduct of Providence in bringing about the Settlement 
of the Crown of Great-Britain in the illuftrious Houfe of 
Hanover ; and f carce ever made a Prayer, at leaft, in Publick, 
but one of his moft fervent Requefts to God was for the 
Security of the Proteftant Succeffion to the British Throne. 

Simeon's Character was his, a juft Man and devout. He 
gave himfelf to Prayer, as well as to the Miniftry of the Word. 
He appeared to have habitually much of the Spirit of Grace 
and Supplication, and to be much in the Practice of Ejacu- 
latory Prayer. Befides his ftated Prayers in Private and in 
Publick, and other occafional ones, particularly in his paftoral 
Vifitations of the Sick, and at Funerals, Catechifings, &c. 
he affociated with his People at their Family Meetings for 
religious Exercifes, where he conftantly made one of the 
Prayers, whoever preached, or read the Sermon. — And he 
always appear'd eminently qualify'd both with the Gift and 
the Grace of Prayer : nor is it eafy to fay, in which he feem'd 
moft to excel. His Prayers were a continued Series of 
raifed, but unaffected Devotion, filial Reverence and Con- 
fidence towards God, Faith in the Mediator, Self-Abafement, 
Zeal for the Caufe and Honour of Chrift, Love to his Church 
and People, Afpirations after fpiritual Bleffings in heavenly 
Places in Chrift Jesus. — For the Matter of his Prayers, 
they were adjufted to thofe peculiar Doctrines of the Gofpel, 
which he ever contended fo earneftly for. And indeed it 
was a Maxim with him, that as thofe Practices muft be bad 
which one can't pray over, fo thofe Principles may well be 
fufpected, which cannot properly be turned into Prayer. 
This, he thought, look'd with an unfavourable Afpect on the 



REV. MR. NEHEMIAH WALTER 97 

Arminian Scheme, in particular: the Friends of which are 
wont to pray Calviniftically, how differently foever they may 
preach. — And for the Manner of his Prayers, they were all 
in a very natural Method; appofite to the Occafion; exprefs'd 
in the eafieft and mo ft proper Language; fententious and 
concife ; argumentative, and enliven'd with pertinent Scripture 
Pleas; utter'd with a fubmifs Voice, and with a Mein the 
ferious, humble, affectionate; in the whole never prolix. 
There was this remarkable in his Prayers, that he frequently 
called on the Name of Jesus Christ our Lord, more directly 
and explicitly than is ufual. Particularly it was his con- 
ftant Practice in the Adminiftration of the Lord's Supper, to 
addrefs one of the Prayers to the Son of God; adoring his 
Divine Perfon ; giving him the Glory of his Divine Excellencies 
manifefted in the Works of Creation and Providence, but 
efpecially in the aftonifhing Work of Redemption ; acknowl- 
edging Him in his mediatorial Offices; celebrating his won- 
drous Love, in his Humiliation and Sufferings for his People; 
profeffing Repentance for Sin, and Faith in the Blood of 
Christ, as the only and perfect Atonement for Sin, and in his 
prevalent Interceffion, as our Advocate with the Father; 
profeffing to embrace the Promifes, as in him; renouncing 
all Sin, as againft him; engaging to do all Duty, as unto him, 
in his Name; expreffing a Dependence on him alone, for 
Righteoufnefs and Strength; and a Hope in his Power and 
Grace, as raifed from the Dead, and exalted to be Prince and 
Saviour, Head of his univerfal Church of Men and Angels, 
and Head over all Things to the Church, which was now 
alfo commended to his fpecial Care. — Another Thing we 
fhall take Notice of, is, that as he never practifed giving 
Characters of deceafed Persons in Funeral Sermons, fo his 
Prayers at the Houfe of Mourning were calculated to affist 
the Devotion of the Living, rather than to honour the Name 



98 THE SECOND MEETING HOUSE 

of the Dead. So averfe was lie to Flattery, that he ftudioufly 
avoided aU Appearances of it, and all Approaches to it. — 
[For this Reafon, in part, he declined preaching on a certain 
great and annual Occafion, when chosen to do it.] — When 
he catechifed the Children of his Flock, befides praying with 
them, he was wont to give them a fhort and familiar Lecture 
on fome Part of the Affembly's Catechifm: which Practice 
he continu'd fo long as his Strength would well allow him. 

As a Preacher, he was juftly admired by all that heard him, 
and has been often recommended for a Pattern. 

The Matter of his Preaching confifted of the great Things 
of God's Law and Gofpel. He often entertained his Hearers 
with affecting Meditations on the guilty, depraved, con- 
denmed, undone Eftate of the Race of Adam by Nature, in 
Confequence of the firft Apoftacy, and by means of their 
increafed Wickednefs; and on thofe eternal Miferies here- 
after, which they are every Moment expo fed to. Whereby 
he labour'd to awaken the Confciences of Sinners, to alarm 
their Fears, and excite their Concern to obtain the Salvation 
which is by Jesus Christ. — And then his moft beloved 
Themes were the wondrous Counfels and Works of the 
Divine Triiiity, refpecting this great Salvation; the Divine 
Father's Appointment and Miffion of his Son to purchafe it 
for us, and of his Spirit to reveal and apply it to us. Thefe 
were, either directly or reductively, the Subjects of his Preach- 
ing, in general. — More particularly, his frequent Theme 
was the admirable Perfon of Christ in his two diftinct 
Natures, of God and Man; his glorious Office of Mediator, 
in its various Views, Acts and Exercifes; his aftonifhing 
Humiliation and Sufferings, Atonement for Sin, and Satis- 
faction to Divine Juftice; his perfect active and paffive 
Obedience, its infinite Value and Merit, and the everlafting 
Righteoufnefs brought in thereby; his victorious Refurrec- 



REV. MR. NEHEMIAH WALTER 99 

tion, his triumphant Afcenfion into Heaven, and his Exalta- 
tion there to the Government of the whole Creation, and the 
Mediatorial vital Headfhip of his People; his continual 
Sympathy with them, and prevalent Interceffion for them, 
as their merciful and faithful High-Prieft; and his final 
Appearance, as the great Judge of Quick and Dead, when 
he fhall be glorify'd in his Saints, and admired in all them 
that believe. — AKo the Divine Excellencies of the Holy 
Spirit, the Neceffity of his Miff ion and Agency, and eminently 
of his fpecial and efficacious Grace, or faving Influence on 
the Hearts of Men ; convincing them of their Sin and Mifery, 
enlightning their Minds in the Knowledge of Chrift, renewing 
their Wills, and both perfuading and enabling them to 
receive Chrift, in all his Offices, and for all his Benefits; to 
turn to God in and through Chrift, and chufe the glorious 
God, in Chrift, as their fupreme Ruler, Portion and End; to 
embrace the Promifes, to live by Faith and to look for the 
Mercy of the Lord Jefus Chrift unto eternal Life. In Sum, 
he preached Repentance towards God, and Faith towards 
our Lord Jefus Chrift, teftifying the Gofpel of the Grace of 
God, in its Requirements and its Encouragements, it's Pre- 
cepts and Promifes; often taking occafion to fet forth the 
many invaluable Privileges of Believers, both here and here- 
after; and the infinite Wifdom, Holinef, Juftice, Truth, and 
Grace of God, difplayed in the whole of their Salvation. 

On fuch Subjects as thefe, Mr. Walter laid out very much 
of his Miniftry. But at the fame Time, while he conftantly 
affirmed thefe Things, it was to the End that they which have 
believed in God, might be careful to maintain good Works. 
Well knowing, that Men are fanctified through the Truth, 
he preached the Truth, even as it is in Jesus. He was a 
Preacher of Righteoufnefs, in the whole Scripture- Meaning 
of this Character. He adapted his Preaching to the bleffed 



100 THE SECOND MEETING HOUSE 

Defign of promoting Conviction, Converfion, and Sanctifica- 
tion. His Sermons were full of Motives and Directions, to 
this Purpofe. — But he always pointed out the true Caufes of 
Salvation, the Grace of God, the Merits of Christ, and the 
Power of the Holy Ghoft; and keeping thefe in View, he 
much inculcated a diligent Ufe of inftituted Means, under 
Gofpel-Encouragements, ftriving to enter in at the ftrait 
Gate, and to walk in the narrow Way which leadeth unto 
Life. He often and eameftly preffcd the Duties of the Chrif- 
tian Life, and infifted on the Neceffity of our following uni- 
verfal Holinefs, labouring after the higheft moral Improve- 
ments attainable in this Life, and longing for the Perfection 
of the upper World. — Li fhort, he was a moft practical and 
truly evangelical Preacher. For the Proof of this, we need 
only appeal to his printed Works; which are thefe. (1) 
Unfruitful Hearers detected and warned. (This was lately 
re-printed.) (2) The Body of Sin anatomized. (3) A 
Difcourfe on vain Thoughts. (4) The great Concern of 
Man. (5) The Wonderfuhiefs of Christ. (6) The Holinefs 
of Heaven. (7) Faithfuhiefs in the Miniftry; (A Sermon 
preach'd to the Convention of Minifters.) And the following 
Difcourfes, on the 55^'^ Chapter of Ifaiah; with his laft Ser- 
mon annexed. All which bear the vifible Signatures of his 
Piety, Orthodoxy, Skill and Diligence in his Work. We 
may look upon them as the true Tranfcript of his fettled 
Sentiments and habitual Thoughts, as the Exemplification 
of his ufual Frames, and as fo many Specimens of his common 
Preaching, with regard to Subject, Spirit, Style, and Method. 
It was very much his Manner, to felect particular Chapters 
of the Bible, or large Portions of them, and to go over them 
verfe by verfe, in his Sabbath-Sermons efpecially. He had a 
happy Talent at illuftrating the Scripture, and frequently 
with a few plain Words he would fet a diflBcult Text in an 



REV. MR. NEHEMIAH WALTER 101 

advantageous and perhaps uncommon Light. His Method 
of handling a Subject appear'd always exceeding natural 
and juft. With a Dignity of Sentiment, there was ever an 
eafy Train of Tho't. The late Rev. Dr. Colman, who was 
himfelf a valuable Preacher, ufed to fay of him. When one is 
hearing Mr. Walter, it feems as if any Man could preach 
fo; and yet it's difficult preaching like him, and few can 
equal him. So the late Rev. Mr. Pemberton, of the South 
Church in Bofton, who in his Day fhone as a fuperior Light, 
once faid of him (in Converfation with one of us) I know no 
Man, that in his Preaching reconciles Perfpicuity with 
Accuracy, like Mr. Walter. — He ufually difcourfed on his 
Text by way of Doctrine and TJfe, according to the ancient 
Cuftom of the New England Miniftry. He dealt not in 
loofe Harangue, but laid out his Matter clearly, under diftinct 
Heads, and number'd thefe as he went along, for the Eafe 
and Benefit of his Hearers; though for the fame Reafon, he 
was careful not to multiply them to Excefs. He was felicitous, 
in the compofition of his Difcourfes, to digeft Things into the 
beft Order, for common Edification of the Auditory; and to 
enforce every Point with the beft Authority, by citing pertinent 
Scriptures. And when he had fufficiently led them into the 
Underftanding of any Truth, then he apply'd it, to awaken 
their Mind and Heart, to move and guide them to an anfwer- 
able Experience and Practice. Here he often expatiated in 
a Variety of fuitable, practical Reflections and Exhortations; 
yet in the whole was commonly very brief and comprehenfive. 
— And as to his Style, or Diction, it was, not only exceeding 
clear and plain, but withal fo correct, that the Sermons he 
deliver'd in the ftated courfe of his Miniftry (as were the 
enfuing) would bear to fee the Light. His Periods and 
Sentences concife, his Words emphatical and very expreffive, 
and moft eafy to be underftood. He had few Redundancies, 



102 THE SECOND MEETING HOUSE 

and affected nothing of Luxuriancy or Pomp of Language. 
He was like the wife Preacher, Solomon fpeaks of, who 
fought to find out acceptable Words; and that which was 
MT-itten, was upright, even Words of Truth; and thefe he fet 
in Order. Becaufe the Preacher was wife, he ftill taught the 
People Kjiowledge. And the Words of the Wife are as Goads, 
and as Nails faftned by the Mafters of Affemblies, which 
are given from one Shepherd. His Sermons were fcriptural, 
and rational, always fpeaking the Things that become found 
Doctrine, couched in few and familiar Words, with a noble 
Negligence of Style; and in the whole, calculated both to 
enlighten the Mind, and affect the Confcience. Though 
his Organs of Speech were naturally feeble, and his Utterance 
very deliberate, with frequent Paufes ; yet his Afpect, Gefture, 
Pronunciation, and whole Manner of Addrefs, were with 
fuch a Decorum, becoming the Pulpit; fo habitually grave 
and folemn, fo free from every aukward Air and difguftful 
Tone, and from all sign of Indolence, Formality or Affecta- 
tion; his Voice nothing effeminate, and fo well modulated, 
his Words fo juftly accented, his Paufes fo judicioufly placed, 
his Eye and Action under fo proper a Regulation, and fuch 
a Degree of genuine Pathos difcover'd, accompany'd fre- 
quently with Tears, as indicated his Difcourfes to be the 
genuine Breathings of a warm Heart, tho' the Produce of a 
clear and cool Head. — In the Beginning of his Miniftry 
for about feven Years, he preach'd memoriter, or without 
Notes, after the ufual Manner of that Day. But by a fevere 
Fit of Sicknefs, which brought him very low, and of which he 
recover'd only by flow Degrees, he found his Head fo 
affected and his Memory weakened, that when reftor'd fo 
far as to be able to preach, he neverthelefs thought it prudent, 
not to commit his Sermons to Memory, and much lefs to 
venture upon preaching extempore; fo he then took up the 



REV. MR. NEHEMIAH WALTER 103 

Practice of ufing his Notes in the Pulpit, and never faw fit 
to depart from it. And indeed he had a very happy Art in 
ufing them, as though he ufed them not; commonly but 
glancing on them (latterly with the Help of a Glafs in his 
Hand) and then delivering his Matter, with his Eyes erect 
and pointed to the liftning Audience. For his agreable 
Elocution, and his excellent Compofition, added to the 
Importance of his Subject, feldom fail'd to draw the Eye 
and Ear of ferious Hearers, and engage their clofeft Attention ; 
by Means whereof a deeper Silence reigned in the Affembly, 
which gave Advantage to his low Voice, the more eafily to be 
heard : and a great vif ible Solemnity in the Audience increas'd 
every one's Difpofition to attend with Wakefulnefs and 
Reverence. — His Sermons appear excellently good in the 
Reading; but it muft be confefs'd, they appear'd with a 
peculiar Grace and Advantage from the Pulpit. Truly, 
his Doctrine dropped as the Rain, and his Speech, diftilled 
as the Dew. — 

But to leave his Character, which we have only given 
fome imperfect Sketches of — 

About the Year 1717, as we fuppofe, from his long and 
clofe Application to Study, and other Labours of his Charge 
(in Conjunction perhaps with fome Incidents in Providence) 
he contracted a vertiginous Diforder, and fell into fuch a 
State of Debility, as obliged him for a confiderable Time to 
fufpend the Exercife of his Miniftry, to intermit his Studies, 
and throw af ide Books ; — being feldom able to bear a 
Moment's intenfe Thought,. and fcarce capable of carrying 
on Family-Duties or Clofet Devotions, without being quite 
overcome; — though ftill never wholly taken off from con- 
verfing with his Friends. On this melancholy Occafion, 
(if we do not mifremember) his kind People kept a Day of 
Fafting and Prayer; when many from the Vicinity, both 



104 THE SECOND MEETING HOUSE 

Minifters and others, affembled with them, to help together 
by Prayer to God, that he would prolong fo precious a Life, 
and reftore to Health and publick Service. — The Prayer of 
Faith receiv'd an Anfwer of Peace, in a Divine Bleffing on 
the Means ufed for his Recovery. — A. Minifter of Bofton 
put into his hands Dr. Fuller on Exercife, and urg'd him to 
ride. Upon which he took a Journey; and by that and other 
Means, he happily obtain'd fuch a Recruit of Spirit and 
Strength, as enabled him to return to his beloved work. 

For above 28 years he had been in the Paftoral OflSce with- 
out a Co-partner; till October 19, 1718, when his very valu- 
able Son, Mr. Thomas Walter, was ordained his Colleague, 
to his pref ent Help and Support ; and in him he was ready to 
promife himfelf much Comfort, through the whole Remainder 
of his Days. For he was a moft ingenious young Gentleman, 
an accomplifh'd Scholar, an orthodox Preacher, and began to 
be a great Bleffing to the New-England Churches, in bravely 
and learnedly defending their Scriptural Profeffion and Gof- 
pel-Order ; as appears by his printed Works. But the fovereign 
God was pleas'd to take him away by Death on Jan. 10. 
1724, 5. — by which his Father, his Family, his Congregation, 
his TowTi, and the Land in general, fuftain'd a great Lofs. 

And now again the whole Weight of the Paftoral Care 
devolv'd on the Father alone. But his People in Confidera- 
tion of Age advancing upon him, and in Hopes that by the 
Goodnefs of God they might enjoy his Prefence and Labours 
the longer, were at the Expence of affording him Affiftance 
by young Candidates, every Sabbath, for one part of the Day : 
and with the like Views, his Brethren and Sons in the Min- 
iftry, particularly in the Neighbourhood, were always ready 
to give him their Help, as there was Occafion. 

In fhort, Mr. Walter feem'd to be as univerfally lov'd and 
refpected as any Minifter of his Time in all New England. 



REV. MR. NEHEMIAH WALTER 105 

In the Beginning of his Miniftry, his Fathers, the aged 
Minifters (in particular, that venerable Man, his ancient 
Colleague, as before obferv'd) very highly efteem'd and 
lov'd him; his Brethren in the Miniftry continued, or rather 
increafed, in their Regards for him ; and in his Age, the Junior 
Minifters always rofe up before him with Reverence, not only 
honouring the Face of the old Man, but venerating him as a 
Man of God, and honourable, for the fuperior Wifdom and 
Holinefs fo confpicuoufly fhining in him. — And it may be 
proper to note here, that his Excellency, the late Governor 
Dudley, a Gentleman of fine Accomplifhments and a good 
Judge of Worth, was his Parifhioner, and one of us has often 
heard him exprefs the great Satisfaction he had in Mr. 
Walter's Miniftry. Indeed he feldom heard him preach, or 
adminifter a Sacrament, but it was obferv'd he wept : and to 
the day of his Death, he honoured his Minifter with many 
Honours. And the Governor's Son, who fucceeded him in 
his Seat at Roxbury, the late Hon. Paul Dudley, Efq. who 
was for many Years one of his Majefty's Council, and chief 
Juftice of the Province, equal'd (if not exceeded) his excellent 
Father in Love to ]\Ir. Walter's Perfon and Miniftry: and 
memorable are the Honours he did him, living and dead. — 
And other Gentlemen of the greateft Diftinction among us, 
in the Civil (as well as Ecclefiaftical) Character, delighted to 
fhew their Refpects to Mr. Walter, by receiving his Vifits 
and returning them, by fometimes attending his publick 
Lectures, &c. — And truly it is to their own Honour they did 
fo. — As for the Church and Congregation, over which the 
Holy Ghoft had made, and continu'd him, fo wife and 
faithful and aflFectionate an Overfeer, he was conftantly 
belov'd and admired among them, from firft to laft. May 
the Lord deal kindly with them, who have not left off to 
fhew Kindnefs to the Living and to the Dead ! — And a rare 



106, THE SECOND MEETING HOUSE 

Thing it is indeed, for a Minifter to live in fuch unintempted 
Harmony and Endearment with his People, efpecially for fo 
long a Tract of Time. — Yea his Praife was in all the 
Churches, in Proportion as he was known to them by Face, 
or by his printed Works, and by Report. Scarce any Man 
ever pafs'd through the World with a more unexceptionable 
Character or a more univerfal Reputation with all that knew 
him:, every one fpeaking of him with high Efteem, for his 
Piety, his Judgment, and his Minifterial Accomplifhments 
and Performances. In fhort, he has long fhone among us, 
as a Chriftian and a Divine of the firft Figure in our Zion. 
And in very advanced Age, his Wifdom ftill remained with 
him; his mental Powers retaining their Vigour in an uncom- 
mon Degree, and his Graces daily rif ing towards Perfection. — 
But alas, the beft and longeft Life muft have a Period. 

On Decemb. 25. 1749. he was confined to his Houfe, by 
bodily Indifpofitions, which gradually increafed upon him, 
. nd at length terminated in his Deceafe. It is remarkable, 
the Circumftances, both natural and moral, of his final 
Ilnefs and Dying, very much correfponded to the general 
Habit and Tenor of his preceeding Life. For, although he 
had nothing robuft in his Conftitution, but rather was of a 
feeble Make, and although he led a very ftudious, fedentary 
Life (which is much Wearinefs to the Flefh, and exhaufts 
the' Spirits) yet through the Divine Bleffing, by means of 
his ftrict and fteady Temperance, his keeping to an exact 
Regimen in almoft every Thing, and preferving an habitual 
Tranquillity of Mind, he ufually enjoy'd a confiderable 
Share of Health and Eafe; for many Years fcarce knowing, 
by any Experience what Pain or Sickness meant. Even fo, 
in the laft Stage of Life, and under the Approaches of Death, 
he found himfelf ftill very graciouf ly dealt with in this Regard ; 
being never exercifed with any fevere Dolour, or very dif- 



REV. MR. NEHEMIAH WALTER 107 

treffing Malady, during the whole time of his long Confine- 
ment and Decay, And, what was a greater Mercy, he ftill 
enjoy'd much of his ufual Compofure of Thought, and 
Sedatenefs of Temper, free from the Ruffles of Paffion, and 
not overborne by difquieting Reflections, or difmaying 
Apprehenf ions ; but with much Humblenefs of Mind lying 
at the Foot of a holy wife, gracious, and fovereign God, he 
was calmly submiffive to the Divine Will, and in Faith 
refigned himfelf into the Hands of a dear Redeemer. — His 
waking Hours, for the moft part (as it appear'd to his Atten- 
dants and Friends about him) were continually employ'd in 
filent, but fervent Devotion. — He liv'd and died in the 
Belief of the holy Angels Miniftration to the Saints. A 
Friend having obferved to him, that although the Miniftry 
of Angels was not now fo fenfible as in ancient Times, yet 
doubtlefs it was as real; he reply'd, I am fully of that Mind 
and believe that God now ufes the Ministry of Angels to the 
Saints, in their Life and at their Death. Adding withal, 
I am waiting the few remaining Days of my appointed Time. 
Which (in his modeft and ever cautious way of fpeaking) 
might import as much as if he had faid, more peremptorily 
and boldly, in the Language of the memorable Mr. Newman 
(of Rehoboth) on his Death bed, "Now Angels, do your 
Office!" As to his Intereft in the Promifes, which are in 
Christ Yea, and in him Amen, to the glory of God, he appear'd 
to have a good Hope through Grace, without any dif treffing 
Doubts, or the leaft Fear of Amazement. — To a Minifter, 
converfing with him on his Death-bed, he had (among others) 
fome fuch Sayings as thefe: If Hatred of Sin be a good 
Evidence, I think I have That. — Christ is precious to them 
which believe; but the Damned in Hell are perpetually 
blafpheming and difhonouring Christ; and I can't bear the 
Thought of doing This ! — To another Minifter, fpeaking 



108 THE SECOND MEETING HOUSE 

fomething for his Confolation not long before his Death, he 
reply'd, I hope to find Mercy of the Lord in that Day! And 
to a Chriftian Neighbour, he fpake more fully in the Lan- 
guage of Affurance, repeating with Self -Application thofe 
triumphant Expreffions of the Apoftle (2 Tim. 1. 12) I know 
whom I have believed and am perfuaded. He is able to keep 
that which I have committed to him againft that Day. — 
Thus havmg lived by the Faith of the Son of God, he alfo 
died in Faith, and fell afleep in Jesus ; — fatiffy'd with long 
life. 

He expired on the 17*^ of Sept. 1750 when he wanted but 
about 3 Months of being 87 Years old. The longeft liv'd 
Minifter in all New England, we fuppofe, excepting a few 
inftances; two formerly, Mr. Ward of Haverhill, and Mr. 
Higginson of Salem; and two more lately, Mr. Cheever of 
Chelfea, and Mr. Stone of Harwich. — And it feems worthy 
of Remark, that the Continuation of Mr. Ehot's and Mr. 
Walter's Miniftry, who (as already obferv'd) were for a 
Seafon contemporary Paftors of the fame Church, extended 
to almoft a Score of Years above one intire Century; the 
former being INlinifter of Roxbury Church near 58 and the 
latter above 60 Years, fucceffively. An Inftance without a 
Parallel in this Part of the World, and the Hke perhaps not 
to be met with in all Hiftory! — Though it ought to be 
noted, in the mean while Roxbury had two other Minifters; 
viz. Mr. Samuel Danforth (Brother to the memorable Deputy 
Governor Danforth) Colleague with IMr. Eliot, for about a 
fifth Part of the Time, and died (if we miftake not) in the 
49*^ Year of his Age, who has been fam'd for an excellent 
Scholar, and a very judicious, methodical, pathetical, and 
truly evangelical Preacher; and many Years afterwards, 
Mr. Thomas Walter (before mention'd) Colleague with his 
Father. 



REV. MR. NEHEMIAH WALTER 109 

AKo more lately another was chofen in Mr. Walter's Life- 
time to be his Colleague, and was Succeffor to him; viz., Mr. 
Oliver Peabody, an accomplifh'd and very ingenious Young 
Gentleman: but he liv'd not many Months after his aged 
Predeceffor's Deceafe. — And Mr. Adams f ince has fucceeded 
him; for whom we wifh, that he may attain to the Days of 
the Years of the Life of his Fathers, who preceeded in his 
Charge, and have their God to be with him, as he was with 
them. — O how highly favour'd and diftinguifh'd has this 
ancient Church of Roxbury been, in the Enjoyment of fuch 
an excelling Difpenfation of the Word! Efpecially, under 
the long protracted Miniftry of the late incomparable and 
ever-memorable Mr. Walter ! — A rich Favour of Heaven to 
his People, was the Gift and extended Life of fuch a Minifter; 
whereby very eminently a Price was put into their Hands to 
get Wifdom; for which they have Reafon to be exceeding 
thankful, as well as have a great Account to give. And he 
being dead, yet fpeaketh, — particularly by thefe following 
and other his printed Difcourfes, putting them in Remem- 
brance of the Gofpel, which he preached to them ; which they 
have received, and wherein (we truft) they ftand; by which 
alfo they are faved, if they keep in Memory what he preached 
unto them, unlefs they have believed in vain. — His printed 
Works are abiding Remembrances to them of his Thoughts 
in Religion, and of the Leffons of Wifdom he taught them, 
as well as ftanding Atteftations to his Soundnefs in the 
Faith, and to his Fidelity and Skill in Preaching. May they 
ftill remember him who has fpoken to them the good Word 
of God ; and none of them be forgetful Hearers, or unfruitful 
Readers, of his excellent Sermons. 

To our Account of Mr. Walter we fhall only add, as ufual, 
the following Particulars. He marry'd a Daughter (Sarah) 
of the late venerable Dr. Increase Mather (who was long a 



110 THE SECOND MEETING HOUSE 

Minifter of the North Church in Bofton, living to the Age of 
about 85) and had by her a numerous Offspring, His valu- 
able Comfort with four of his Children furvived him, viz., two 
Sons, and two Daughters; but the Younger Daughter fince 
dead. — The Younger Son has for many Years been the 
worthy Minifter of the fecond Parifh in Roxbury. 

May the very aged and pious Widow, with the remaining 
virtuous Offspring of the Deceafed Man of God receive 
the full Anfwer of his fervent and believing Prayers, in 
Showers of Bleffings upon them ! — May his Son in the 
Ministry, and may his prefent Succeffor, and every other 
Minister, as Elisha, take up this precious Mantle of Elijah, 
and with a double Portion of that excellent Gofpel-Spirit, 
which refted on him fo confpicuoufly and abundantly, go on 
and profper in their heavenly and divine Employment! 
May his Flock, and others through the Land, attentively hear 
what the Spirit of Christ faith now to them, and to each 
Church among us (Rev. iii, 8-11). Thou haft a little 
Strength, and haft kept my Word, and haft not denied my 
Name. — Behold I come quickly ! Hold f aft that which 
thou haft, that no Man take thy Crown. 

Boston, March 21, 1755. 

Thomas Prince, 
Thomas Foxcroft. 

The above life is taken from a book published in 1755 
entitled Discourses on The Whole LV Chapter of Isaiah, 
Preparatory to Communion at the Lord's Table, to which 
is added. The Author's last Sermon, by that pious, judi- 
cious, and learned Divine, the Rev. Mr. Nehemiah Walter, 
Late Pastor of the First Church in Roxbury. 

It is headed, "A Preface Containing fome Minutes of the 
Rev. Author's Life and Character. " 



REV. MR. NEHEMIAH WALTER 111 

Since Books are ufually valu'd as well for the Author, as 
the Contents, had the late venerable Mr, Walter's Name and 
Worth been as univerfally known m the World, as he was 
juftly reverenc'd and lov'd by all acquainted with his Perfon 
and Character, the genuine Remains of fo excellent a Divine 
might have been ventur'd abroad upon the meer Credit of 
the Title Page. . . . The Materials of the Account here 
given of him are collected, partly from what has been pub- 
lifhed already, partly from Roxbury Church Records, partly 
from our own perfonal Knowledge and Converfation with 
Him, and partly from Informations receiv'd of his People. 



112 THE SECOND MEETING HOUSE 



REV. MR. THOMAS WALTER 

The second son of the Rev. Nehemiah and Sarah (Mather) 
Walter was bom in Roxbury Dec. 13, 1696, and early gave 
evidence of the most extraordinary genius. In his younger 
days he was not a hard student, being of a convivial turn and 
fond of society, but so retentive was his memory that he 
easily made himself master of almost all the learning of his 
uncle. Cotton Mather, by frequent conversation with him. 
In this way he acquired more knowledge than many others 
could have gained by a whole life's diligent study. He was 
graduated at Harvard College in 1713 and five years after 
received a call to become an assistant pastor to his father, our 
reverend pastor. 

He was ordained Oct. 19, 1718, and on the 25^'^ Dec. of the 
same year married Rebeckak, daughter of the Rev. Joseph 
Belcher of Dedham, by whom he had a daughter Rebeckah 
who died unmarried in 1780. 

In 1719 he engaged in a public controversy with his intimate 
friend and associate, John Checkley, a man who combined 
great wit and humor with infinite learning. 

This was a grief to his father and his uncle. Dr. Cotton 
Mather. Checkley had sarcastically attacked the wholesome 
doctrine of election and predestination, in a pamphlet entitled, 
" Choice Dialogues between a Godly Minister and an Honest 
Countryman, desecting the False Principles of a certain man 
who calls himself a Presbyterian of the Church of England. " 
This Mr. Walter answered in a 12 mo volume of 80 pages, 
under the caption of "A Choice Dialogue between John 
Faustus a conjurer, and Jack Tory his friend ; occasioned by 
some Choice Dialogues lately published concerning Pre- 
destination and Election. By a Young Stripling. " 



REV. MR. THOMAS WALTER 113 



In 1721, Mr. Walter who excelled in the science of harmony, 
being grieved beyond measure, and annoyed at the very 
indifiFerent performances in the sanctuary, published a neat 
12 mo volume, " The Grounds and Rules of Music Explained ; 
or an Introduction to the Art of Singing by Note : Fitted to 
the meanest capacity. " Recommended by several ministers. 

Mr. Walter's other works which have come down to us 
are, "A Sermon upon 2nd Samuel xxiii, 1. The sweet 
psalmist of Irael, " which was delivered at the Boston Lecture, 
1722, printed at the desire of the ministers, and dedicated to 
Judge Dudley. This discourse has been pronounced "the 
most beautiful composition among the sermons which have 
been handed down to us from our fathers. " " The Scriptures 
the only Rule of Faith and Practice, " dictated while languish- 
ing upon his bed of suffering, overcome with pain and weak- 
ness, and written down by a beloved friend, published in 
1728, and two other occasional sermons. 

Mr. Walter was one of the most distinguished scholars 
and disputants of the day. "He had all of his father's 
vivacity and richness of imagination with more vigor of 
intellect." Rev. Dr. Chauncy, in a letter to Dr. Stiles, 1768, 
writes: "Mr. Jeremiah Dummer, Mr. John Bulkley, and 
Mr. Thomas Walter of Roxbury, I reckon the first three 
clergymen, for extent and strength of genius and powers. 
New England has yet produced. I was acquainted with 
the latter, and often had occasion to admire the superlative 
excellence of his natural and acquired accomplishments. 
His genius was universal, and yet surprisingly strong. He 
seemed to have almost an intuitive knowledge of everything. 
There was no subject but he was perfectly acquainted with; 
and such was the power he had over his thoughts and words, 
that he could readily and without any pains, write or speak 
just what he would." In his last illness he was for a time 



114 THE SECOND MEETING HOUSE 

anxious for the salvation of his soul. Cotton Mather, in 
his funeral sermon, has given us a vivid account of his dying 
hours. Prostrated by consumption, "he went over and over 
again through the process of repentance," making just 
reflections upon the youthful errors into v^^hich his good 
temper had betrayed him; and greatly distressed with the 
fear of his miscarrying at last; saying, ' O, it is a great thing 
to die.' " At length his father came to his relief with vic- 
torious and overwhelming remonstrance. "My dear son, 
were our Saviour visibly here, as once in the days of his 
humiliation, and you should prostrate yourself before Him 
and beseech His compassion, and a heart to love him, can 
you imagine he would reject you ? How strange then is this 
unbelief, to be discouraged from that which carries infinite 
encouragement with it. As if His power and goodness were 
less, or our access to Him more difficult, now that He is 
seated on the throne of His glory." His apprehensions 
being thus removed, he said more composedly, "If I perish, 
I will perish in the hands of my Saviour, and though he slay 
me, yet will I trust in him." Thencefore his fears were 
swallowed up in the hope of a blessed immortality. " I shall 
be the most glorious instance of soverign grace in all heaven," 
he said. It was the Sabbath, Jan. 10, 1724/5, and he 
expressed his hope that he should that day be in Paradise. 
His father, as the time drew near for the morning service, 
said to him, "I am gomg to the house of God, which is the 
gate of heaven, but you, I hope, are going to heaven itself; I 
go to the table of the Lord, but you will drink of the fruit of 
the vine new with Christ in the kingdom of his Father." 
Then taking his leave, and not expecting ever to see his son 
alive again, "My child, the Lord Jesus receive thy spirit;" 
"and the Lord fit it for his reception," he replied. Mr. 
Walter lingered until near the close of the afternoon when 



REV. MR. THOMAS WALTER 115 

he gently expired. "He was to me," says Cotton Mather, 
"not unHke what a sister's son was to Paul, and his death 
makes a sorrowful time for us. His rare accomplishments, 
his acute penetration, his copious erudition, with his right 
principles, render him an unknown loss to our churches. 
But that which makes him to be remembered with the more 
honor among us is, that his heart was fixed in his purposes 
and endeavors to employ all those bright abilities in the ser- 
vice of Christ." 

His remains were deposited in the same tomb wherein 
years d.fterwards his father's body was placed. And the 
following account, copied from the original, may not at this 
day be uninteresting : — 

Jan'y 12, 1724/5 

An Acc't of the Funeral Charges of the Rev. Mr. Thomas Walter. 

, £ s d 

To a coffin 2 10 

the pall 12 

opening the tomb 10 

5 dozen and three payrs of gloves, at 45s 12 00 

6 rings 6 12 

a barrel of wine 9 01 6 

tolling the bell 01 6 

a box to put the bones of old Mr. Ehot and others in . . . 06 

pipes and tobacco 03 

three payres of women's mourning gloves, allowed to this 

account by the town, att 36 shil 1 16 



33 12 



Josh. Lamb, 
Caleb Stedman, 
Samuel Stevens. 



116 THE SECOND MEETING HOUSE 



RULING ELDERS 

Mr. John Bowles was an early inhabitant of Roxbury, 

arriving here about 1640, m. (1) Dorothy , (2) Elizabeth 

Heath, (3) Sarah . Freeman, 1640. Artillery Ck). 

1645; one of the founders of the "Free Schoole" of which he 
was for many years a Feoffee and seems to have been active 
and influential in the management of the public affairs of the 
town. He was a leading member of the Massachusetts Cor- 
poration for Colonizing New England, and in 1645 a deputy 
to the General Court. The remonstrance of Roxbury to 
the General Court, £8th of October, 1664, against the sur- 
render of the Royal Charter, was signed first by the Apostle 
Eliot, and next by JohnBowles. In 1674, 4 mo. 6 d., he was 
called to the office of Ruling Elder in this church which office 
he held until his death, Sept. 21, 1680, being killed by a cart 
wheel running over his body. He was always a warm and 
faithful friend of the Apostle Eliot who wrote: "Prudent 
and gracious men set over our churches for the assistance 
of their pastors, such helps in government had he (Eliot) 
been blessed withall ; the last of which was the well deserving 
Elder Bowles." And, again, in a speech to a synod of all 
the churches in this Colony (12 May, 1680) he said, " There 
is my brother Bowles the godly Elder of our Church at Rox- 
bury, God helps him to do great things among us." In the 
will of Mr. Bowles we find the following bequest : " To the 
Rev. John Eliot, twenty shillings in token of my love and 
service due to him." 

Mr. John Pierpont, bom in London, England, in 1619, 
married Thankful Stow. Died in Roxbury, Dec. 7, 1682. 
A malster by trade and he owned the first Fulling Mill in 



RULING ELDERS 117 

Roxbury. He was orderly nominated Ruling Elder 1674. 
4 mo., 6 d., but not yet called, left to consideration. As no 
further mention is made he must have served, as he is men- 
tioned as a Ruling Elder and Selectman of the town and 
Deputy to the General Court. 

Mr. Samuel Williams, son of Robert and Elizabeth 
(Stalham) Williams, was bom about 1632 and was, like his 
father, a cordwainer. Took the Freeman's oath March 
1658. Married Theoda, daughter of Deacon William Parke. 
He was nominated to be called a Ruling Elder of this church 
Nov. 9, 1677. Died Sept. 28, 1698. 

Mr. John Bowles, son of John and Elizabeth (Heath) 
Bowles, was baptised June 27, 1653, in Roxbury. He was 
graduated at Harvard College in 1671. Master of Arts in 
1675. Married Sarah, daughter of John Eliot, Jr. Deputy 
to the General Court 1689-90 and Speaker of the House. 
July 15, 1688, he was called to officiate in the office of a 
Ruling Elder until such time as God please to restore his 
health and capitate him to the ministry. Died March 30, 
1691. 



118 THE SECOND MEETING HOUSE 

DEACONS 

Mr. William Parke (see First Meeting House). 

Mr. Giles Paison (see First Meeting House). 

Mr. William Gary (Geary), son of Arthur and Frances 
Gary, was bom in England in 1629. Came to Poxbury with 
his parents. Married Hannah Curtis. JFreeman 1652. 
Deputy 1675. Ordained Deacon before Jan. 1686/7. Died 
Sept. 4, 1712. 

Mr. Samuel Scarborough, son of Jolin and Mary 
(Smith) Scarborough, was baptised in Roxbury, January 1, 

1645/6. Married Bethia . A cordwainer by trade. 

Ordained Deacon before 1700. Died March 18, 1714/15. 

Mr. John Paison (Payson), son of Edward and Mary 
(EHot) Paison, baptised June 18, 1643 in Roxbury. Married 

(1) Bathsheba Tileston; (2) Hannah . Ordained 

Deacon before 1715. Died Nov. 15, 1719, in Roxbury. 

Mr. John Mayo, son of John and Hannah (Graves) 
Mayo, baptised Feb. 20, 1658/9, in Roxbury. Married Sarah 
Burden. Ordained Deacon before 1711. Died Feb. 25, 
1732/3. 

Mr. John May, son of John and Sarah (Brewer-Bruce) 
May, baptised May 24, 1663, in Roxbury. Freeman 1690. 
Married Prudence Bridge. Selectman of Roxbury. Or- 
dained Deacon before 1711. Died Feb. 24, 1730/1. 



DEACONS 119 



Mr. John Paison (Payson), son of John and Bathsheba 
(Tileston) Paison, baptised Aug. 18, 1678; m. Elizabeth Child. 
Ordained Deacon before 1732 and before March 1738/9 he 
was set off to the Second Precinct where he was a Deacon. 
Died Jan. 6, 1747/8. 

Mr. Edward Ruggles, son of John and Martha (Devo- 
tion) Ruggles, bom Oct. 2, 1691, in Roxbury; m. (1) Hannah 
Crafts; (2) Abigail Williams. A farmer and a man of means. 
Percinct Treasurer. .Ordained Deacon before 1732. He was 
a Deacon in 1748 when Nehemiah Walter, Clerk, Edward 
Ruggles and Samuel Gridley, deacons of the First Church 
in Roxbury, sold a piece of land being a gift to the church. 
He removed to Cambridge between February and July, 
1753. Died Sept. 16, 1765, in Cambridge. 

Mr. Samuel Gridley, a cordwainer, came to Roxbury 

from Pomfret, Conn., about 1727; m. (1) Abigail ; 

(2) Mary George; (3) Abigail Baker. Ordained Deacon in 
1736; For many years he was Town Clerk and Selectman of 
Roxbury. June 3, 1763, he was chosen Moderator to keep 
the meeting alive, as Col. Joseph Williams was obliged to be 
absent to attend Court. Died March 4, 1776. 



120 



THE SECOND MEETING HOUSE 



CHURCH MEMBERS 



Nov. 15, 1674. — 

Samuel Perry. 

Elizabeth Holdridge. 
Jan. S, 1674/5. — 

Samuel Scarbro. 

Rebecca Scarbro, his wife. 

Benjamin Tucker. 

Ann Tucker, his wife. 
Jan. 24, 1674/5. — 

Mary Lambe, wife of Joshua 
Lambe. 

Sarah Onion, dau. of Robert 
Onion. 

Elizabeth Hawly. 

Dorothy Hawly. 
Jan. 31, 1674/5. — 

John Ruggles, junior. 

Martha Ruggles, his wife. 

Elizabeth Crafts. 

Joshua Seaver. 

Hannah Devotion. 
March 7, 1674/5. — 

John Da^is, jimior. 

Mary Davis, his wife. 

Susanna, wife of Thomas Mory. 
March 18, 1674/5. Sarah Cleaves. 
March 28, 1675. — 

John Newel. 

Elizabeth, vrife of Joseph Weld. 

Mary, wife of Robert Baker. 

Abigail Gardner. 

Johanna Gardner. 

Bethiah Wise. 

Katherin Wise. 

Sarah Pepper. 
April 25, 1675. — 

Mr. Thomas Weld. 

Mr. John Bowles. 



June 27, 1675. — 
Elizabeth Onion. 
Hannah Onion. 
Abigail Clark. 
Mercy Clark. 
Abigail Griffin. 
July 15, 1675. Experience Bugby, 

wife of Joseph Bugby. 
Sept. 12, 1675. John Bugby. 
Nov. 28, 1675. Widow of Phillip 

Ciuiis. 
Feb. 13, 1675/6. Samuel Ruggles. 
Feb. 20, 1675/6. Elizabeth, wife 

of John White. 
July 2, 1676. — 

Rebecca, wife of Moses Crafts. 
Sarah Mayes 
Abigail Mays • maids. 
Hannah Porter 
July 23, 1676. INIrs. Mary Morie 
of jMilton, dau. of James Clark. 
Sept. 10, 1676. — 
Mrs. Lidea Elder, dau. of bro. 

Holmes. 
Mary Pepper, widow of Joseph 
Pepper. 
Oct. 1, 1676. Mary Davis, wife of 

John Davis. 
Dec. 3, 1676. Elizabeth, \rife of 

Abiel Lambe. 
Dec. 31, 1676. Elizabeth Lawrence, 

a godly maide. 
Feb. 11, 1676/7. — 
Abigail, wife of William Lyon. 
Johannah, dau. of Thorn. Gard- 
ner. 
Feb. 25, 1676/7. — 
John Weld, jimior. 



CHURCH MEMBERS 



121 



Ann Paison, dismissed to 1st 
Churcli of Dorchester. 
April 29, 1677. John White, senior, 

of Muddy River. 
May 6, 1677. — 

Jonathan Winchester. 

Mary Winchester, his wife. 
July 29, 1677. — 

Elizabeth, wife of W illiam Gary. 

Abigail, wife of John Clark. 

Samuel Weld 



sons of 
Thomas Weld. 



John W eld 

Edmond W' eld 
Aug. 19, 1677. — 

William Lyon, junior. 

Hannah W^inchester. 
Sept. 30, 1677. John Qark. 
Nov. 25, 1677. Uriah Clarke. 
Jan. 27, 1677/8. — 

Experience Peirpoynt. 

Johanna, wife of Joshua Henning- 
way. 

Ruth, wife of John Grovnor. 
March 17, 1677/8. — 

Deborah, wife of Samuel Scar- 
brow. 

Mary, wife of John Hinningway. 
March 24, 1678. Abraham How, 

jr., farmer. 
April 14, 1678, — 

Sarah Gardner. 

Elizabeth Chandler. 
May 5, 1678. John Scot. 
July 7, 1678. Mr. Thomas 

Boylston. 
July 11, 1678. Andrew Gardner. 
Oct. 13, 1678. — 

Sarah, wife of Andrew Grardner. 

Mary, wife of Joshua Seaver. 

Prisdlla, dau. of Robert Harris. 
March 1, 1678/9. — 

Joseph Lyon. 

Widdow Stevens. 



children of 
Edward. 



March 30, 1679. — 

Timothy Stevens. 

Jakob Newell. 

Isaac Newell. 

John Mayo. 
April 13, 1679. John Chandler. 
April 20, 1679. — 

Jabesh Totman 

Samuel Willias "I children of 

Elizabeth WilliisJ Samuel. 
April 27, 1679. Mr. Thomas Weld 

junior. 
May 11, 1679. — 

Elizabeth Gary 

Mehitabel Heath} maides. 

Hannah Mayo 
June 1, 1679. — 

Epraim Paison 

Samuel Paison 

!Mary Paison 

John Devotion. 
Aug. 17, 1679. — 

Margret Parker, dau. to Wido^^. 
Cleaves. 

Joseph Hawly, dismissed to the 
church at Northampton. 
Nov. 2, 1679. — 

Sarah Saben. 

Mary Gardner. 
Jan., 1679/80. — 

Elizabeth Williams, dismissed to 
the chm-ch at Rehoboth. 

Mary Drew, dismissed to th 
church at Cambridge village. 
March 1, 1679/80. John Whi 

junior. 
March 14, 1679/80. Josiah Y> 

Chester, farmer. 
March 28, 1680. — 

DeUverance Dimcan. 

Deborah Devotion. 
April 4, 1680. Mr. John Bowie 



122 



THE SECOND MEETING HOUSE 



May 2, 1680. Edward Paison, dis- 
missed to Rowley. 

July 18, 1680. — 
Elizabeth Colton. 
Sarah Eliot. 
Mary Danforth. 
Dorothy Weld, as widow of Samuel 

Williams, owner of Pew No. 

19, Third Meeting House. 

Jan. 23, 1680/1. — 

Thomas Woodward, junior. 

Esther Woodward. 

Hannah Woodward. 

Sarah Devotion. 
March 20, 1680/1. — 

Joseph Weld. 

Sarah Clark. 

Elizabeth White. 

EUzabeth Heath. 

Hannah Cleaves. 

^arch 27, 1681. — 

Elizabeth Pike. 

- Ory, Widdow Winchester. 

Elizabeth Gary. 
April 24, 1681. — 

Sarah, wife of Joseph Weld. 

Hannah Weld. 

Johannah Brewer. 

Mehitable Mayse. 

Hannah Brewer. 

Elizabeth Morice. 

ug. 21, 1681. — 

Mary Weld 



maides. 



Trace Morrice 

'lizabeth Bowen 

rudence Bridge 

. 2. 1681. — 

bigail Heath. 

aomi Mays. 

. 23, 1681. — 

aak Heath, junior, and his wife. 

athaniel Wilson. 



Jan. 15, 1681/2. Jakob Pigg. 

Feb. 19, 1681/2. John Danforth, 
dismissed from Roxbury to be 
Pastor of Dorchester church. 

June 4, 1682. Elizabeth Phillips. 

Sept. 17, 1682. — 

Mary, wife of Joseph Lyon. 
Haimah, wife of Phihp Searle. 

Feb. 25, 1682/3. 

Benjamin Dowse. 

Jonathan Tory. 

March 11, 1682/3. Joseph Wilson. 

March 15, 1682/3. — 
Martha Sharp. 
Francis Prentice. 

April 22, 1683. — 
Narah Newel. 
Elizabeth Newel. 

Dec. 2, 1683. — 

James Peirpont, son of John. 
William Dennison, son of Edward. 

Jan. 6, 1683/4. — 

John Williams 1 two hopfuU 
William Williamsjyoung scholars. 
Mary, wife of Joseph Gardner. 

Feb. 17, 1683/4. — 
Moses Draper. 
Rebeccah Hubbard. 

Feb. 24, 1683/4. — 
Benjamin Tukker. 
Thomas Lyon. 

March 2, 1683/4. John Davis, 
senior. 

March 9, 1683/4. — 
Benjamin Saben. 
Steven Williams. 
Samuel Scarbro. 

March 23, 1684. — 
John Grigs, senior. 
Thomas Bishop. 



CHURCH MEMBERS 



123 



John Peirpont 

Joseph Griffin 

Jonathan Davis 

Nathaniel Brewer 

Joseph Weld, junior 

Joseph Peirpont 

Benjamin Peirpont 

Joseph Buckmaster 

Mary Searl, wife of John Searl. 



male youths. 



Rebecca Ruggles 
Margret Searl 
Rebecca Newel 
Leah Fisher 
Mary Newel 
Rebecca Mayo 



dan. of John 
Ruggles, jimior. 

female youth. 



March 30, 1684. — 
Abraham Gorton 
John Chandler 
Eleazer Mays 
Daniel Druer, junior 
Phillip Searl, junior 
Jakob Parker 



male youths. 



March 30, 1684. — 
Sarah Gary 
Mary Da^is 
Sarah Brewer 
Rebecca Polly 
Mary Baker 
Hannah Chandler 
Samuel WilUams, junior, 
Joseph Weld, senior. 
John Whitney. 

April 6, 1684. — 
Richard Hall. 
Francis Youngman. 
Elizabeth Crafts. 
Hanna Crafts. 
Ann Tucker. 
Hannah Grigs. 
Mary Swan. 
Mary Lambe, 
Sarah Bowles. 



female youths. 



young persons. 



Hannah Weld. 

Sarah Williams. 
April 13, 1684. — 

John Mays, 

Thomas Chany merchant, 

WiUia Chany 

John Chany young persons. 

Daniel Harris 

Benjamin Child 

Margret Weld 

Sarah Stevens 

Abigail Wise 

Annah Goare 

Abigail Da\'is 

Faith Newel 

Deborah WiUia 

Sarah WiUias 

Mary Willias 

Sarah Homes 

Anna Goare J 
April 20, 1684. — 

Daniel Brewer, senior. 

Samuel Ruggs, junior. 

John Harris. 
April 27, 1684. — 

Nathaniel Homes. 

John Davis. 

Samuel Lyon. 
May 4, 1684. — 

Hannah Ruggles. 

Patienc Homes. 

Hannah White. 

Abiel Lamb. 

Joseph Bugby, senior. 

John Crafts. 

Nathaniel Sanger and his wife. 
May 11, 1684. — 

Joseph Bugby, junior. 

Ebenezer Merice. 

Timothy Stevens. 

Ebenezer Willias. 

Thomas Boylston, junior. 

Thomas Gardner, junior. 



124 



THE SECOND MEETING HOUSE 



Abigal Davis. 

Rebecca Bugby. 

Elizabeth Child. 

Mary Sanger. 

Mary Boylston, junior. 

Mary Duncan. 

Melatiah Hawkins. 
June 5, 1684. Hannah, w. of Joseph 
Groad, dismissed from Dor- 
chester. 
June 15, 1684. — 

Mary Boylston, senior. 

Elizabeth Gore. 

Mary Lyon. 

Sarah Weld. 

Mary Baker. 

Hannah Chamberlain. 

Mary Lambe. 
June 22, 1684. — 

Elizabeth Hall. 

Mary Mashcraft. 

John Leavens. 

Abiel Davis. 

John Simonson. 

John Seaver. 

John Stevens. 
June 29, 1684. — 

Caleb Lamb. 

Joshua Lamb. 

Richard Davis. 
July 6, 1684. Uriah Qark. 
July 20, 1684. — 

John Clark. 

Lddea Clark, his wife. 

Mary Bukmaster. 
Aug. 24, 1684. Isaak Curtis. 
Sept. 7, 1684. Joseph Griffin. 
Dec. 28, 1684. Hannah Wilson, 

wife of Nathaniel. 
March 5, 1684/5. — 

Abigail Newall. 

Sarah Burdon. 

Jakob Chamberlin. 



March 15, 1684/5. — 

Thom. Baker. 

Joseph Baker. 

Thomas Ruggles. 

Edward Bugby. 
March 22, 1685. — 

Thomas Mory. 

Elizabeth Cotton. 

Johannah Winchester. 
April 5, 1685. — 

Hannah, wife of John Devotion. 

Mehitable Aspinal. 

Elizabeth Aspinal. 

Peter Aspinal. 

Nathaniel Aspinal. 

Samuel Aspinal. 

Nathaniel Bruer. 
May 10, 1685. — 

WiUiam Heath. 

Margret Bowin. 

Sarah Bullard. 

Margret Morrice. 

Sarah Brakket. 

Elizabeth Whitney. 

Rachel Davis. 
May 17, 1685. Matthew Brand. 
June 7, 1685. — 

John Marcy, son of the high 
sheriff of Limerick, Ireland, 
born about 1662, m. Sarah 
Hadlock. In April, 1686, he 
moved to Quatosett (Wood- 
stock), Conn. 

Hannah Newel. 

Mary Crafts. 

Elizabeth Crafts. 

Susanna Pike. 
June 14, 1685. — 

Susanna Morey. 

Sarah Frizal. 

Mary Woodward. 

Mary Burden. 

Mehitabel Mayo. 



CHURCH MEMBERS 



125 



July 12, 1685. — 

Mary Murreene. 

Rebecca Murreene. 

Elizabeth Grigs. 

Sarah Grigs. 
Sept. 20, 1685. — 

Phillip Mareen. 

William Mareen. 

Elizabeth Mareen. 
Nov. 22, 1685. Josiah Winchester. 
Nov. 29, 1685. Thorn. Hanshet. 
March 7, 1685/6. Elizabeth, wife 

of Andrew Watkins. 
April 4, 1686. Sister Accor, dis- 
missed to the Church at Dun- 
stable. 
May 30, 1686. — 

Sarah, wife of Mr. John Grore. 

Sarah, wife of Joseph Griffin. 
June 27, 1686. Sarah Peakok. 
July 4, 1686. Abigal Bowin. 
July 25, 1686. — 

Mary Bowin. 

Jane Davis. 
Oct. 10, 1686. Sarah Hadlock. 
Oct. 31, 1686. Isaak Howe. 
Nov. 14, 1686. Nathaniel Gary. 

Dec. 5, 1686, wife of Samuel 

Paison. 
Dec. 26, 1686. Mary Feilder. 
Nov. 26, 1687. Mr. John Gore. 
Jan. 1, 1687/8. — 

Hannah Smith. 

Prudence Wade. 

Katherein Chikkerin. 

Hannah Ellis. 
Feb. 13, 1687/8. — 

, wife of Thomas Cheany; 

junior. 

Elizabeth, wife of Caleb Phillips. 
Feb. 19, 1687/8. Mr. Jonathan 
Peirepoint. 



May 13, 1688. — 

Hannah Williams. 

Elizabeth Williams, dau. of 
Stephen, 

Sarah Crafts, dau. of John Crafts. 

Margret Pairpoynt. 
June 10, 1688. John Baker. 
Oct. 21, 1688. — 

Martha Williams. 

Patience Draper. 

Martha Ramsey. 

Joseph Kingsbury. 

John Davis. 

Mary Holebrook. 

Nathaniel Holmes. 

Ebenezer Holmes. 

Samuel Knight. 

Sarah Knight. 

Thomas Aspinal. 

Joseph Crafts. 
Oct. 28, 1688. — 

Elizabeth Morrice. 

Sarah Mayo. 

Mehittabel Mayo. 
March 2, 1688/9. — I 

Caleb Sever. 

, the wife of Moses Draper. 

April, 1689. — 

John Mayo. 

, the wife of Jacob Pepper. 

May 13, 1689. — 

Mehittabel Heath. 

Abigail Bowen. 
June 30, 1689. — 

Benjamin Griffin. 

Sarah Davis. 
Aug. 4, 1689. — 

John Lyon. 

Hannah Morrice. 

Grace Child. 

Elizabeth Child. 
Nov. 24. 1689. Eh'zabeth ChUd, 
junior. 



126 



THE SECOND MEETING HOUSE 



Feb. 25, 1689/90. Sarah Newel. 

April 13, 1690. — 
John Newel. 
John Davis. 
Pennel Bowen. 
Joanna Harris. 
Mary Chamberlain. 
Sarah Brewer. 

May, 1690. — 

John May. 

Prudence May. 

Elizabeth Nuel. 

Elizabeth Weld. 
July, 1690. — 

Mehittabel May. 

Naomi May. 
Aug., 1690. — 

Hannah Heath. 

Jonathan Curtis. 
Sept., 1690. — 

Ehzabeth Brackett. 

Sarah Davis. 

Mary Mascraft. 
Dec, 1690. Joshua Gardiner. 
Feb., 1690/1. Mary Gardinel:. 
March, 1690/1. — 

John Winchester. 

Sarah Haws. 

Mary Bridges. 
May, 1691. Edward Morrice. 

June, 1691. Robert Baker. 

Oct. 1691. John White, H. C. 
1685. 

Feb. 1691/2. — 

Joshua Hemmingway, moved to 
Framingham. 

Margarett Hemmingway, his wife. 

Anna Grt)ard. 

March, 1691/2. Ehzabeth Hall. 

April, 1692. Timothy Stevens, H. 
C. 1687. 



May, 1692, — 

Josiah Dwight, H. C. 1687. 

Thomas Ruggles, H. C. 1690. 

Grace Onion. 
August, 1692. Daniel Brewer, H. 

C. 1687. 
April, 1693. 

Samuel Weld. 

Susanna Weld. 

Elizabeth Mascraft. 
May, 1693. — 

Ebenezer Morrice. 

John Johnson. 

Hannah Mascraft. 
Aug., 1693. Ruth Greerson. 
Nov. 20, 1693. Hannah Ruggles. 
Dec, 1693. Mary Winchester. 
July, 1694. Katharine Mather. 
Dec. 9, 1694. — 

Christopher Peake. 

Wilham Davis. 

John Simeson. 
June 9, 1695. Mary Holland. 
July 7, 1695. Matthew Davis. 
Sept., 1695. — 

Susanna Pike. 

Sarah Crafts. 

Experience Newel. 
Dec, 1695. — 

Tryphena Woodward. 

Hannah Gary. 
Jan., 1695/6. — 

Joseph Green, H. C. 1695. 

Abigail Williams. 

Hannah Merryfield. 
March, 1695/6. Patience Polly. 
June, 1696. Susanna Sabin. 
July, 1696. Prudence Swan. 
Dec, 1696. — 

Paul Dudley, son of Governor 
Joseph and Rebecca (Tyng) 
Dudley, was baptized Sept. 
8, 1675, in Roxbury. He was 



CHURCH MEMBERS 



127 



graduated from Harvard Col- 
lege in 1690. Studied law some 
time here, and then was sent to 
London to complete his educa- 
tion in the Temple. He returned 
in 1702 when his father was 
made Governor, as Attorney 
General of the Province. He 
was a member of the Legisla- 
ture, of the Executive Coimcil, 
and Speaker of the House. A 
Justice of the Supreme Court 
from 1718 to 1745, and Chief 
Justice from 1745 until his 
death, Jan. 25, 1751. He mar- 
ried Lucy WainvsTight. He was 
an ardent Naturalist, and one 
of the few Americans who have 
been honored by election to 
membership of the Royal So- 
ciety of London. He was a 
benefactor of this chm-ch, of 
the Roxbury Latin School, and 
of Harvard College, and the 
founder of the Dudleian Lecture 
at Harvard College for the 
erection of which he bequeathed 
one hundred pounds. Chief 
Justice Sewall says he was a 
" thorough and accomplished 
lawyer, and shone with great 
lustre upon the bench, dis- 
playing admirable talents, 
quick apprehension, imcom- 
mon strength of memory, and 
extensive knowledge." Owner 
of Pew No. 2, Third Meeting 
House. 
Mary Baker. 

Feb. 7, 1696/7. John Druce. 

Feb. 15, 1696/7. Elizabeth Sanders. 

March, 1697, Faith Nuell. 



May, 1697. — 

Mehittabel Crafts. 

Sarah Aspinall. 

Mary Allen. 
Jime, 1697. Lyddia Bishop. 
Sept., 1697. Hannah Parker. 
Oct., 1697. — 

James Baily,dismissed from Salem. 

James Baily, junior. 
Nov. 13, 1698. — 

Deborah Warren. 

Elizabeth Tucker. 

Priscilla Williams. 
April, 1699. — 

Joseph Buckminster. 

Bathiah Scarborough. 

Sarah Phipps. 
May, 1699. Dorothy Dem'son. 
Sept., 1699. Ebenezer Newell. 
May, 1700. Sarah Henneway. 
Oct., 1700. Mercy Kingsbury. 
Nov. 10, 1700. Joseph Davis. 
Nov, 17, 1700. — 

Joseph Goddard & his wife. 

Deborah Goddard. 
Dec, 1700. Rebecca Johnston. 
Jan., 1700/1. Bethiah Davis. 
May, 1701. Charity Davis. 
June, 1701. — 

Sarah Butcher. 

Mary Bacon. 
Sept., 1701. John Ingram, 
Dec, 1701. Isaac Morice. 
March 1, 1701/2. — 

Margaret White. 

Allice Crafts, 

Elizabeth Crafts. 

Francis White. 
May 19, 1702, Ichabod Davis. 
Jan. 31, 1702/3. — 

Sarah Baker. 

Mary Johnson. 
Feb. 21. 1702/3. Elizabeth Holbrook. 



128 



THE SECOND MEETING HOUSE 



March, 1703. — 
. Benjamin White, son of Joseph. 

Nathaniel Crafts, a turner, miller, 
farmer. 

Patience Crafts, his wife. 

Steven Johns. 

Robert Loverain, cordwainer, m. 
Alice Crafts. 
Jime, 1703. — 

Elizabeth Brown. 

Martha Brown. 

Mehittabel Brown. 

Samuel Sewal. 

Joshua Lamb. 

Rebecca Sewal. 
July, 1703. Susanna Willis. 
Oct., 1703. Huldah Ruggles. 
Feb., 1703/4. Dorothy Bacon. 
March, 1703/4. Lucy Ruggles. 

May, 1704. — 
Theodah Williams. 
Thomas Weld [pius juvenis pre- 
mature objit in Christo urcitur 
viginti annos natus], H. C. 1701. 

June, 1704. — 
Susanna Curtis. 
Mehittabel Curtis. 

Nov., 1704. Isaac Bowen, dismissed 
from ye church at Framingham. 

Jan., 1704/5. — 
Joanna Stevens. 
Lucy Gardiner. 
Rebecca Boylston. 
Francis White. 

March, 1704/5. — 

Peter Boylston and Anne, his wife. 
Thomas Gardner, jun*"., and Mary, 
his wife. 

Shubal Seaver, jun*"., and Abigail, 
his wife. 

Robert and Sarah Sharp. 



April, 1705. — 

Dorothy Weld. 

Abigail Story. 
June, 1705. Mary Bacon. 
July, 1705. — 

Mary Aspinall. 

Mary Stevens. 

Hannah Stevens. 

Abigail Stevens. 

Roger Stainer and his wife Susanna. 
Feb., 1705/6. — 

Mrs. Rebecca Sewall. 

Mrs. Anne Dudley. 
March, 1706. — 

Jacob Bacon. 

Benjamin Crafts, blacksmith. 

Jarvis Pike. 
May, 1706. 

Caleb Stedman, owner of Pew No. 
35, Third Meeting House. 

Hannah Bowen, wife of Isaac 
Bowen. 

Abiel Bacon. 

Sarah Bugbee. 

Caleb Seaver and Hannah, his wife. 

Noah Perrin and Patience, his wife. 

Elizabeth White. 

Cornelius Yoimgman. 
June, 1706. — 

Amos Hill, negro. 

Simon Gossan, negro. 
July, 1706. — 

Richard Hall. 

Anne Baker. 
Aug., 1706. — 

William I^ezon. 

Thankfull Lezon. 

Mary Bugbee. 

Joanna Bugbee. 
Sept., 1706. Mary (Capen) Williams, 
wife of Stephen Williams, jimior. 
Oct., 1706. Deborah Davis. 



CHURCH MEMBERS 



129 



Dec., 1706. — 

John Payson and his wife Eliza- 
beth, see Deacons. 

Samuel Lion. 

Joanna Lion. 

Feb., 1706/7. Samuel White. 

May, 1707. Margaret Griggs. 

June, 1707. — 

Grace Williams, dau. of Stephen 

Williams. 
Caleb Gardiner. 

July, 1707. — 

Sarah Gardiner. 

Elizabeth Wood. 
Sept., 1707. Abigail Cole. 

April, 1708. — 
Park Williams. 

Joseph Williams, removed to Con- 
necticut. 
April 18, 1708. — 

Josiah Winchester and Sarah, his 

wife. 
Esther Alcock, baptised adult. 
May 2, 1708. — 
John Frost, baptised adult. 
Lydia (Crafts) Bedoima, wife of 

Thomas. 
Abigail Williams. 
July, 1708. Susanna Whitney. 
Aug., 1708. Abigail Harris. 
Oct., 1708. — 

Mary Gardner, jim'. 
Hannah Scott, baptised adult. 
Feb. 20, 1708/9. — 
Samuel Stevens, owner of Pew No. 

11, Third Meeting House. 
Hannah Gore. 
March 20, 1708/9. Benjamin Eaton, 
owner of Pew No. 10 in gallery, 
Third Meeting House. 
April 17, 1709. Deborah Weld. 



May 29, 1709. — 
Sarah Weld. 
Patience Holmes. 
June 12, 1709. Mr. Samuel Sewall. 
June 26, 1709. Jeremiah Rogers, 

baptised adult. 
July 10, 1709. Timothy Ruggles, 
H. C. 1707, taught in the Free 
Schoole in 1708 & 1709, minis- 
ter in Rochester, Mass. 
Hannah Ruggles. 
Patience Ruggles. 
Aug. 7, 1709. — 
John Bowles, H. C. 1702, taught 
in the Free Schoole in 1703-5, 
owner of Pew No. 25, Third 
Meeting House. 
Lyddia Bowles. 
Oct., 1709. James Trasty, negro 

man baptised. 
March, 1710. Sarah Hartness. 
June, 1710. Elisha Johnson. 
July, 1710. — 
Joseph Adams, baptised adult. 
Mary Adams, baptised adult. 
Sarah Adams, baptised adult. 
Daniel Adams, baptised adult. 
Oct. 1, 1710. Martha Ruggles. 
Oct. 8, 1710. Dorothy Davis. 
Nov. 5, 1710. — 
Ebenezer Dorr. 
Mary Dorr. 
Thomas Graves. 
Dec., 1710. — 

Samuel Williams, junior, owner of 
Pew No. 10, Ihird Meeting 
House. 
Anne Charter. 
Feb. 19, 1710/11. — 
Samuel Davis. 
John Bailey. 
Sarah Williams. 
Feb., 1710/11. James Shed, farmer. 



130 



THE SECOND MEETING HOUSE 



May, 1711. — 

Eleazer Aspinwall. 

Mary Tucker. 

Mehittabel Howard. 
June, 1711. Sarah Hartness. 
July, 1711. Sarah Ruggles. 
Oct., 1711.— 

John Totraan. 

Caleb Gardiner. 

Abiel Gardiner, 
Nov., 1711. — 

Sarah Pierpont. 

Esther Alcock. 
Dec, 1711. Elizabeth Weld, wife of 

Joseph Weld, jun"'. 
March, 171?. — 
, Thankfull Hohnes. 

Sarah Holmes. 
April, 1712. Lyddia Hams. 
July, 1712, Jacob Chamberiain, 
Aug. 3, 1712. Ebenezer Wilhams, 
H. C. 1709, taught in the Free 
Schoole 1709-12, removed to 
Conn. 
Nov., 1712. — 

Enoch Fariey. 

Mary Holbrook. 
Dec, 1712. — 

James Grant. 

Hannah Blake. 

Dan, negro servant to Capt. 
Ruggles. 
March 15, 1712/3. Anne White, 

wife of Samuel White. 
April 27, 1713. Ichabod Woodward. 
May, 1713. Abraham Woodward. 
Jxme, 1713. Roger Adams. 
July, 1713. — 

George Woodward. 

Nath' Woodward. 
Aug., 1713. — 
Samuel Gardner. 
Martha Gardner. 



Sept., 1713. — 
Peter Gardner. 
Mary Gardner. 
Simeon Buttler. 
Hannah Buttler. 
Rebecca Adams. 
May 9, 1714. Robert Stanton, 

H. C. 1712. 
July, 1714. — 
John Wilson. 
Sarah Wilson. 
John Woods. 
Jemima Woods. 
Richard Cooms. 
Hepsibah Cooms. 
James Goddard. 
Mary Goddard. 
Aug. 1, 1714. Allice Loverain. 
Oct., 1714. — 
Thomas Jones. 
Elizabeth Jones. 
Dec, 1714. Abiel Chamberlain. 
Feb., 1714/15. — 

John Goddard, owner of Pew No. 

27, Third Meeting House. 
Elias Monk. 
Dorothy Monk. 
April 9, 1715. — 

Edward Sumner, owner of Pew 

No. 9, Third Meeting House. 
Elizabeth Sumner. 
Elizabeth Weld, JwoF. 
June, 1715. — 
Thomas Cobbett. 
Benjamin Payson. 
Mary Payson. 
July, 1715. — 
Thomas Gardner. 
Joshua Seaver. 
Oct., 1715. — 
Joseph Ruggles. 
Hezekiah Turner. 



CHURCH MEMBERS 



131 



Nov., 1715. Martha Williams, dau* 

of Isaac Williams. 
Dec, 1715. Hamiah Turner. 
Jan., 1715/16. — 

Edward Clark. 

Sarah Clark. 

Amariah Winchester. 

Sarah Winchester. 
Feb., 1715/16. — 

Joseph Stevens. 

Margarett Chandler. 

Ebenezer Seaver, owner of Pew 
No. 38, Third Meeting House. 

Margarett Seaver. 

Peter Gardner. 

Elizabeth Gardner. 
May, 1716. — 

John Winchester. 

Samuel Healy. 

Mary Williams. 

Ichabod Griggs. 

Isaac Leason. 

Aime Leason. 
Sept., 1716. — 

Jacob Howe. 

Elizabeth Bernard. 
Feb., 1716/17. — 

Sarah Gardner. 

Huldah Lamb. 
Sept. 21, 1717. Thomas Walter, 

H. C. 1713, our Pastor. 
Nov., 1717. — 

Ebenezer Pierpont, owner of Pew 
No. 33, Third Meeting House. 
Taught in the Free Schoole 
1716-18 and 1726-31. 

John Williams. 
June 22, 1718. Hannah Bowen. 
Aug. 17, 1718. — 

Josiah Holland. 

Sarah Walter. 

Hannah Walter. 

Joseph Warren. 



Sept., 1718. — 

Stephen Williams, see Deacons, 
Fourth Meeting House. 

Abraham Howe. 

Jacob Payson. 
Dec, 1718. Joseph Holland. 

April 5, 1719. — 

Ebenezer May, owner of Pew 
No. 32, Third Meeting House. 
Benjamin West. 
Elizabeth Holland. 

Oct., 1719. — 

Hannah Seaver. 

Hannah Meers. 

EUzabeth Holbrook. 

Timothy Parker. 

Mary Parker. 

Titus Jones. 
March, 1720. Hannah Norcross. 

April, 1720. — 
Joseph Mayo. 
EUzabeth Mayo. 

July 30, 1720. — 
Abigail Greenwood. 
Samuel Davenport. 

Aug., 1720. — 

Joseph Craft. 

Susanna Craft. 
Sept., 1720. Mary Stevens. 
Nov., 1720. Margarett Tucker. 
July, 1721. — 

Anna Pepper. 

Sarah Lathgood. 

Elizabeth Scutts. 

March, 1722. Abigail Cheney. 

Aug. 19, 1722. Thomas Weld, Senior 
Sophister H. C. 1723. Taught 
in the Free Schoole 1723-26. 

Dec 9, 1722. — 
Elizabeth Shed. 
EUzabeth Craft. 



132 



THE SECOND MEETING HOUSE 



March 3, 1722/3. Abijah Weld, 

Senior Sophister H. C. 1723. 
March 17, 1722/3. Susanna Gore. 
April 7, 1723. — 

Joshua Lamb, owner of Pew No. 

3, Third Meeting House. 
Susanna Lamb. 
April 21, 1723. Rebecca Davenport. 
Aug., 1723. Eimice Ruggles. 
Oct., 1723. Abigail Table. 
Nov., 1723. — 
Sarah Payson. 

William Bosson, H. C. 1723. A 
preacher, lived in Roxbury. 
Chaplain of Castle William 
many years. Died 1748. Owner 
of Pew No. 5 in Gallery, Third 
Meeting House. , 

Dec., 1723. Elizabeth Pierpont. 
Jan., 1723/4. — 
Katharine Meers. 
John Craft. 
Elizabeth Craft. 
Feb., 1723/4. — 
John Cheny, farmer. 
Mary Cheny. 
March, 1724. Sarah Da^is. 
March 29, 1724. Joseph Warren, 
jr., son of Joseph and Deborah 
(Williams) Warren, bom Feb. 
2, 1696/7 in Roxbury, m. 
Mary Stevens. He was killed 
. by falling from a ladder as he 
was gathering apples Oct. 23, 
1775. He was an highly re- 
spected farmer and an exemp>- 
lary christian. He was the 
father of Dr. Joseph Warren, 
the Patriot. Precinct Treasurer 
from March 20, 1737/8 to Nov. 
12, 1755. Owner of Pew No. 6, 
Third Meeting House. 
April, 1724. John Huit. 



May, 1724. Eleazer Williams, m. 
Sarah Tileston. He served as 
Hogreave, Highway Surveyor, 
Auditor, Selectman, Represent- 
ative, Tax Collector. Owner of 
Pew No. 21, Third Meeting 
House. 
Nov. 8, 1724. Elizabeth Bowen. 
July, 1725. — 

Daniel Williams. 
Hannah Williams. 
July 25, 1725. Abigail Bugbee. 
Dec. 5, 1725. John Sumner, H. C. 

1723. 
Jan. 17, 1725/6. — 

Samuel Crafts, farmer in Muddy 

River and housewright. 
Mehittabel Crafts, wife of Samuel. 
Jan. 30, 1725/6. — 
Edmund Weld. 
Clemence Weld. 
March 27, 1726. Dorothy Dorr. 
April 24, 1726. Elizabeth Pierpont. 
May 8, 1726. Hannah Mather. 
Jan., 1726/7. Sarah Tileston. 
June 3, 1727. — 
Timothy Parker. 
John Hely. 
Hannah Hely. 
July, 1727. — 
Phillip Bacon. 
Patience Bacon. 
Sept. 3, 1727. — 

Ebenezer Dorr, owner of Pew 
No. 36, Third Meeting House. 
Mary Dorr. 
Sept. 10, 1727. Mehittabel Meers. 
Oct., 1727. John Lovel. 
Oct. 9, 1727. Mary Thompson. 
Oct. 15, 1727. — 
Isaac Curtis, owner of Pew No. 

28, Third Meeting House. 
Mehittabell Curtis. 



CHURCH MEMBERS 



133 



Nov., 1727. Rebecca Smith. 
Nov. 12, 1727. Elizabeth Crafts. 
Dec. 10, 1727. Ebenezer Tucker. 
Dec. 24, 1727. — 

Ebenezer Gore. 

Samuel Gore, owner of Pew No. 
11 in gallery. Third Meeting 
House. 

Mary Grore. 

Mary Mayo. 
Jan. 7, 1727/8. — ' 

Ebenezer Warren, owner of Pew 
No. 37, Third Meeting House. 

James Meers, owner of Pew No. 
39, Third Meeting House. 

Hannah Curtis. 

Abigail May. 

WaitstiU Payson. 
Jan. 14, 1727/8. — 
Andrew Bordman. 
Deborah Wilhams. 
Sarah Bordman. 
Jan. 21, 1727/8. — 

Joanna West. 

Mary Sever. 

Susanna Warren. 
Jan. 28, 1727/8. — 

Mary Bowles. 

Elizabeth Payne. 
Feb. 4, 1727/8. — 

Sarah Lathbridge. 

Bethiah Rice. 
Feb. 11, 1727/8. Mercy Eaton. 
Feb. 18, 1727/8. — 

Jonathan Craft, weaver. 

Thankful Craft. 

Rachel Davis. 
Feb. 25. 1727/8. — 

Joanna Rugles. 

Anna Bayley. 
March 3, 1727/8. — 

Anne Pierpont. 

Joanna Stevens. 



Susanna Stevens. 

Ehzabeth Payson. 

Mary Harkness. 

Martha Newel. 

Mary Cheney. 

Ehzabeth Hooper. 
March 17, 1727/8. Paul Davis. 
March 24, 1727/8. — 

Mary Parker. 

Sarah Williams. 
March 31, 1728. — 

John Prentice. ' 

Elizabeth George. 

Anne Wainwright. 
April 14, 1728. — 

Peleg Heath, H. C. 1724. 

Ehzabeth Hinks. 
April 21, 1728. Sarah Craft. 
May 19, 1728. — 

Mary Gore. 

Sarah Pierpont. 
May 26, 1728. Jemimah Woods. 
June 23, 1728. — 

Mary Bosson. 

Sarah Seaver. 
July 21, 1728. Zipporah Towers. 
July 28, 1728. — 

Francis Richey. 

Mary Richey. 
Oct. 13, 1728. — 

Mary Hall. 

Mehittabel May. 
Oct. 20, 1728. Elizabeth Tucker. 
Nov. 10, 1728. — 

Dorothy WiUiams. 

Margaret Seaver. 

Rebecca Macthaden. 
Jan. 5, 1728/9. Experience Cabot. 
Feb. 16, 1728/9. Nathaniel Newel, 

H. C. 1727. 
March 8, 1729/30. Samuel Curtis 

from First Church in Boston. 
April 12, 1730. Abigail Hewes. 



134 



THE SECOND MEETING HOUSE 



June 21, 1730. — 

John Searle. 

Mary Searle. 
Aug. 2, 1730. Abigail Green. 
Sept. 13, 1730. Sarah Mayo. 
Oct. 4, 1730. Ebenezer Cheney, 

large landholder, owner of Pew 

No. 8, Third Meeting House. 
Dec. 12, 1730. Margaret Searle. 
May 2, 1731. Joseph Woods. 
July 26, 1731. Sarah Scott. 
Aug. 15, 1731, — 

Samuel Bayley. 

Anna Bayley. 
July 22, 1731. — 

Ebenezer Davis, owner of Pew 
No. 14, Third Meeting House. 

Sarah Davis, wife of Ebenezer 
Oct. 3, 1731. — 

Thomas Seaver. 

Elizabeth Seaver. 
Jan. 9, 1731/2. Rebecca Abbot. 
April 2, 1732 Steven Choate. 
April 30, 1732. — 

John Ruggles, owner of Pew No. 
15, Third Meeting House. 

Elizabeth Ruggles. 
May 14, 1732. Mary Stevens. 
June 18, 1732. James Tucker. 
Aug. 20, 1732. Anna Heath. 
Dec. 3, 1732. Joseph Heath, dis- 
missed from North Yarmouth, 

owner of Pew No. 22, Third 

Meeting House. 
Dec. 31, 1732. Nathaniel Walter, 

H. C. 1729. 
May 27, 1733, Barnabas Wilson. 
July 1, 1733. — 

Joseph Gardiner. 

Mary Gardiner. 
Aug. 13, 1733. — 

Joseph Williams, son of Joseph 
and Williams, was bom 



April 10, 1708, in Roxbury, 
He married (1) Martha Howell, 
(2) Hannah Dudley, He died 
May 26, 1798, in Roxbury, His 
life was one of great activity, 
devoted to the service of the 
town and his fellow citizens. No 
name occurs oftener in the 
town records than his. For 
many years Selectman, Fre- 
quently moderator of town meet- 
ings and active on committees. 
A member of the General 
Comi, He won distinction in 
the French and Indian Wars 
and in the Revolution, whence 
his title of Colonel, He was 
perhaps one of the largest land- 
holders in Roxbury, his estate 
extending on both sides of Centre 
St., from Cedar St. to Hog 
Bridge. He was elected Pre- 
cinct Clerk of the Church March 
12, 1738/9, and served forty- 
seven years. He was a member 
of the Precinct Committee from 
March 10, 1740/1 to 1788. He 
was owner of Pew No, 13, Third 
Meeting House, 

Martha Wilhams, wife of Joseph. 
Aug. 20, 1733. — 

Col. Aaron Davis, son of Ebenezer 
and Hannah (White) Davis, bom 
in Roxbury April 26, 1709, died 
June 11, 1777, m. Mary Perrin 
of Roxbury, Farmer in West 
Roxbury, Owned land in Cum- 
berland Co., Maine, He was 
chosen to the various offices of 
town government and was se- 
lectman for many years. Repre- 
sentative in the first Provincial 
Congress convened at Concord 



CHURCH MEMBERS 



135 



Oct. 5, 1774. Capt. of the 2nd 
Company of Minute men raised 
in the First Parish. Represent- 
ative in the 2nd Provincial 
Congress and also in the 3rd, 
and instructed "That if the 
Honorable Congress should for 
the safety of the Colonies declare 
them independent of the King- 
dom of Great Britain they the 
said inhabitants will solemnly 
engage to support them in the 
measure." 
Mary Dans, wife of Aaron. 
Aug. 26, 1733. — 
Peter Seaver. 
Hannah Seaver. 
Oct. 11, 1733. — 
Moses Davis. 
Rebecca Davis. 
Oct. 19, 1733. — 
Thomas Cole. 
Sarah Cole. 
March 3, 1733/4. Abigail Table. 
March 10, 1733/4. — 
Daniel Bugbee. 
Abigail Bugbee. 
Nov. 10, 1734. — 
Edward Bilbo. 
Eh'zabeth Bilbo. 
Richard Robertson. 
Dec, 1734. Sarah Ames. 
Dec. 16, 1734. John Bowles, junior. 
March 23, 1735. — 
Thomas Baker. 
Hannah Baker. 
April 12, 1735. Timothy Stevens. 
April 28, 1735. — 
Shubael Seaver. 
Mary Seaver, wife of Shubael. 
Nov. 16, 1735. Robert Loveren. 
Feb. 7, 1735/6. — 
Benjamin Eaton. 



Sarah Eaton. 
May 2, 1736. — 
Ebenezer Payson. 
Sarah Payson. 
May 9, 1736. — 
Ebenezer Crafts, see Deacons, 

Fourth Meeting House. 
Susanna Crafts, wife of Ebenezer. 
Jime 6, 1736. Samuel Griggs, owner 
of Pew No. 40, Third Meeting 
House. 
July 4, 1736. — 
Debora Warren. 
Hannah Warren. 
Nov. 17, 1736. — 
Eleazer May. 
Dorothy May. 
Feb. 6, 1736/7. Caleb Richardson. 
May 1, 1737. Mary WiUiams. 
May 29, 1737. Ebenezer Dorr. 
Sept., 1737. Hannah G^ald. 
Sept. 19, 1737. — 
Noah Perrin, son of Noah tnd 
Patience (Walker) Perrin, birn 
in Roxbury Jan. 18, 1708/9, 
died there Apr. 4, 1788, m. 
Margeret Heley. He was heic 
in high esteem by his fellow 
townsmen, being repeatedly 
chosen to fill important offices. 
He was town treasurer for 29 
years. 
Mary Perrin. 
Dec. 11, 1737. — 
Increase Smnner. 
Mary Sumner. 
Jan. 8, 1737/8. Abigail Stevens. 
Jan. 19, 1737/8. Abigail George. 
April 16, 1738. Elizabeth Williams. 
Aug. 13, 1738. Bethiah Parker. 
Sept 17, 1738. — 
Rebecca Davis. 
Mary Woods. 



136 



THE SECOND MEETING HOUSE 



Oct. 23, 1738. John Holbrook, 
owner o.C Pew No. 12, Third 
Meeting House. 
Jan. 6, 1738/9. — 

Phillip Curtis, H. C. 1738. 

Mary Ciuiis. 
Feb. 25, 1738/9. Sarah Stevens. 
Apr. 15, 1739. Susanna Crafts. 
May 20, 1739. Joanna West. 
May 27, 1739. — 

Benjamin Draper. 

Mary Draper. 
June24, 1739. Bethiah Scarborough. 
Jan. 27, 1739/40. Rebecca Pendle, 

baptised adult. 
Marcli 16, 1739/40. — 

Hopestill Monk. 

Sarah Manser, baptised adult. 
March 30, 1740. — 

Lydia Manser, baptised adult. 

Susanna Manser, baptised adult. 
May 11, 1740. — 

Robert Pierpont, dismissed to Old 



South Church, Boston, Jan. 6, 
1771. 
Hannah Pierpont. 
Deborah Searle. 
Sept. 7, 1740. — 
Ambrose Searle. 
Elizabeth Searle. 
Oct.. 1740. Rebecca Choate. 
May 3, 1741. Maria Walter. 
May 17, 1741. Mary George. 
July 19, 1741. — 
Ralph Holbrook, owner of Pew 

No. 4, Third Meeting House. 
John Salmon. 
Dorothy Holbrook. 
July 27, 1741. Bethiah Ramsel, 

baptised adult. 
Aug. 14, 1741. Samuel Heath, owner 
of Pew No. 20, Third Meeting 
House. 
Aug. 30, 1741. — 

James Shed, owner of Pew No. 

31, Third Meeting House. 
Mary Shed. 



1741-1744 



PASTOR 
Rev. Mr. Nehemiah Walter 

DEACONS 
Edward Ruggles Samuel Gridley 

PRECINCT CLERK 
Joseph Williams, elected Feb. 20, 1738/9. 

PRECINCT TREASURER 
Joseph Warren, elected March 20, 1737/8. 

PRECINCT COMMITTEES 

Elected March 24, 1741/2 

Ebenezer Pierpont 
Capt. Joseph Ruggles Joseph Williams 

Elected March 21, 1742/S 

Ebenezer Pierpont 
Joseph Williams Lt. Samuel Williams 



137 






S"- 



%fL.Pi 














■^1 



.1-li; 



■ "■.•!? ' 









ll^ 



-i 



■\3i 



./te«l 


1 

: i ■ 


2 


"."Ht-.'-^ 


; P_.. 


■ 'f ; 


•f 




.1. 


■:^^ 






:& 





















» >■-• i - 

> ■■ ■ « •. • 

' .- H;- - 
.,_,-, ._-,«^< — 



-S^=^N 






w 

w 

D 
O 

X 

o 
z 

h 
W 
W 



Q 
Qi 

X 
h 

h 

o 

<: 

(X, 



THE THIKD MEETING HOUSE 



The New Meeting House was raised June 25 & 26, 1740, 
according to the Diary of Paul Dudley, and it was completed 
during the summer of 1741, as, at the first meeting held in it 
Aug. 31, 1741, Mr. Ebenezer Newell, Mr. Shubal Sever, IMr. 
Daniel Bugbee, Capt. Joseph Ruggles and IVIr. John Ruggles 
were chosen a committee to seat the said meeting house, and 
at the same meeting it was proposed that the westerly comer 
of the meeting house be a place provided for the negroes to 
set in so as not to intrude on the pews in the said West 
Galleries. 

The owners of the Pews in the New Meeting House were 

to be as follows: 

Cost 

£ 8. d. 

Pew No. 1. The IVIinistry 

2. Hon. Paid Dudley, Esq 49 S 4 

8. Col. Joshua Lamb 49 3 4 

4. Ralph Holbro6k 28 55 

5. Jonathan Seaver 28 55 

6. Joseph Warren 30 7 7 

7. John Williams 36 17 6 

8. Ebenezer Cheaney 28 5 5 

9. Edward Sumner 30 7 7 

10. Lft. Samuel Williams 36 17 6 

11. Capt. Samuel Stevens 36 17 6 

12. Ensign John Holbrook 36 17 6 

13. Joseph Williams 30 7 7 

14. Ebenezer Davis 30 7 7 

15. John Ruggles ,.• ....*.. 28 5 5 

16. Capt. John Richardson • • ■ ; 24 11 8 

17. Capt. Joseph Ruggles . . . . ' 24 11 8 

18. Ebenezer Craft 28 55 

139 



140 THE THIRD MEETING HOUSE 

cost. 
iJ s.d. 

Pew No. 19. Mrs. Dorothy Williams 24 11 8 

20. Lt. Samuel Heath 36 17 6 

21. Eleazer Williams 49 3 4 

22. Col. Joseph Heath 49 3 4 

23. Noah Perrin 22 2 6 

24. Nathaniel Williams 36 17 6 

25. John Bowles 22 2 6 

26. Stephen W^illiams, afterwards Richard Gardner . . 18 8 9 

27. Capt. John Goddard 24 11 8 

28. lit. Isaac Curtis 28 5 5 

29. Jolin Williams, Jr 19 13 4 

30. Jonathan Williams 18 8 9 

31. James Shead 30 7 7 

32. Ensign Ebenezer May 22 2 6 

33. Mr. Ebenezer Pierpont 19 13 4 

34. Dea. Edward Ruggles 18 8 9 

35. Lft. Caleb Steadman 30 7 7 

36. Capt. Ebenezer Dorr 22 2 6 

37. Ebenezer Warren 19 13 4 

38. Ebenezer Seaver 19 13 4 

39. James Mears 19 13 4 

40. Samuel Griggs 19 13 4 

And in the Gallery 
Pew No. 1. Not drawn 

2. Not drawn 

3. Not drawn 

4. Not dra^Ti 

5. William Bosson 8 00 

6. Not drawn , 

7. Jno. W^oods 12 

8. Dea. Samuel Gridley 12 

9. Edward Dorr 12 

10. Benjamin Eaton 12 

11. Samuel Gore 12 

12. Jeams Jervis 12 

For as much as many of the people were of the opinion 
that neither their giving Bond for the price of their pews nor 
being put into present possession of them was such an ample 



THE THIRD MEETING HOUSE 141 

and good title as they ought to have, Therefore in considera- 
tion of the power given the committee chosen in 1736 to dis- 
pose of the Pews and to give a good title to them (subject to 
the exceptions and restraints made and provided in by 
another vote of the Precinct at the same meeting) and in con- 
sideration also of the several sums of money for which they 
had given their bonds, the remainder of this committee 
consisting of Joseph Heath, Joshua Lamb, Samuel Stevens, 
Shubal Seaver, Ebenezer Newell, Samuel Williams, James 
Shead, Eleazer Williams, Ebenezer Pierpont, Joseph Rug- 
gles, John Ruggles did on Dec. 29, 1741, for themselves in 
their said capacity and in the name and behalf of the Precinct 
assign, deliver, convey, and confirm to each and every of 
the said Persons the Respective pew now in his Possession 
as the same is numbered and annexed to his name in the 
written list of schedule to be to him his heirs and assigns 
(except as above) to have and to hold, possess, occupy and 
enjoy the same without any manner of lett or mollestation 
forever. 

The old meeting house not having been torn down in Feb., 
1741/2, it was proposed to sell it, and during that year (1742) 
it was sold for £100. 

As this the Third Meeting House proved to be not quite 
satisfactory in some respects, just what is not mentioned, ^ 
and as the carpenters Messrs. Dickson, Pierpont and Baker 
had sustained some loss by building it, the £100 which the 
old meeting house brought was given to these carpenters. 

Frequent attempts had been made to settle a colleague 
minister but without avail and all the precinct would consent 
to do was to procure help for Mr. Walter. 

In 1743 the necessary expenses were as follows : — Rev. 
Nehemiah Walter salary, £100; as a gift, £60; cutting and 
carting firewood for Mr. Walter, £30; Ringing bell and 



142 



THE THIRD MEETING HOUSE 



sweeping, £10; for help for Mr. Walter, &c., £150; Treas- 
urer's salary, £5. 

On the Lord's day, Feb. 26, 1743/4, soon after Divine 
service in the afternoon, a fire broke out in this Meeting 
House by which this large and costly building was burnt to 
the ground. It occurred as 'twas thought by a stove acci- 
dentally upset with fire in it unperceived which was left in a 
Pew after the assembly was dismissed. 

The congregation worshipped in the Brick School House 
until a new meeting hoi|se was built. 

CHURCH MEMBERS 



Oct. 7, 1741. — 

Abigail Dorr. 

Sarah Dorr, 
Jan. 24, 1742. Lucy Winthrop. 
Jan. 31, 1742. Samuel Williams. 
Feb. 14, 1742. — 

Jeffrey, . 

Bristol, negroes, baptised. 

Guinea, 
March 21, 1742. — 

Ebenezer Eaton. 

Susanna Woods, 
kpril 18, 1742. — 

Mary Draper. 

Abigail Parker. 
May 2, 1742. Joseph Curtis. 
May 30, 1742. — 

James Pierpont. 

Samuel May. 

Abigail Robinson. 
June 13, 1742. Nathaniel Sumner, 

H. C. 1739. 
July 11, 1742. Robert Lee. 



Aug. 15, 1742. Sarah Sumner. 
Sept. 26, 1742. Samuel Sumner. 
Oct. 2, 1742. Sarah Cole. 
Nov. 1, 1742. — 

Joanna Ruggles. 

Elizabeth Ruggles. 

Sarah Payson. 
Nov. 14, 1742. — 

Nathaniel Felton, constable. 

Hannah Felton. 

Jan. 16, 1743. John Giles, from 
Old South Church, Boston. 

Jan. 23, 1743. Phillis, a negro, bap- 
tised. 

March 6, 1742/3. — 
Sarah Williams. 
Mary Williams. 

May 15. 1743. Priscilla Gore. 

June 26, 1743. Elizabeth Crafts. 

July 10, 1743. Ebenezer Newel. 

July 24, 1743. Benjamin Curtis. 

Sept. 18, 1743. Susan Perrin. 



CHURCH MEMBERS 



143 



ADMITTED IN BRICK SCHOOL HOUSE. 



April 1, 1744. — 

Abraham Woodward. 

Sarah Woodward. 
June 3, 1744. — 

Thomas Grigs. 

Margaret Grigs. 

Jeremiah Parker. 

Mary Parker. 

Aug. 26, 1744. — 
Jeremy Williams. 
Catharine Williams. 

Sept. 2. 1744. — 
Samuel Clark. 
Mary Clark. 



Nov. 25, 1744. — 
Jacob Reeves. 
Abigail Reeves. 
Jan. 13, 1745. Samuel Healey. 
Jan. 27, 1745. Elizabeth Weld. 
March 3, 1745. Edward Ruggles. 
April 7, 1745. Martha Perrin. 
May, 1745. Guinea, negro servant, 

maid to Judge Dudley. 
May 31, 1745. Edward Dorr. 

Ebenezer Bodoono. 
Elizabeth Heath. 
Abigail Simmer. 
Ebenezer Gore. 
William Bosson, 



July 28, 1745. 
Sept. 15, 1745. 
Oct. 27, 1745. 
Dec. 15, 1745. 
May 27, 1746. 



jumor. 



®Ij^ 3^0«rtl| Mutiny IJoua^ 
1744r-1803 



PASTORS 



Rev. Mr. Nehemiah Walter 
Rev. Mr. Oliver Peabody 
Rev. Mr. Amos Adams 
Rev. Dr. Eliphalet Porter 

DEACONS 

Edward Ruggles 
Samuel Gridlet 

Stephen Williams 

Ebenezer Craft 

William Gridley 
Samuel Sumner 

David Weld 

Nehemiah Munroe 

Joshua Felton 

PRECINCT CLERK 
Joseph Williams, elected March 12, 1738/9 

PARISH CLERKS 

Title changed April 23, 1788 

Thomas Clarke, elected April 23, 1788 
Nathaniel Ruggles, elected April 29, 1793 

146 



146 THE FOURTH MEETING HOUSE 



PRECINCT TREASURERS 

Joseph Warren, elected Marcli 20, 1737/8 
William Heath, elected Nov. 12, 1755 
Deacon Samuel Gridley, elected June 4, 1762 
Deacon William Gridley, elected Marcli 29, 1774 
Joseph Ruggles, elected April 14, 1783 

PARISH TREASURER 

Title changed April 23, 1788 

Joseph Ruggles, elected April 23, 1788 

PRECINCT COMMITTEES 

Elected March 21, 1743/4 

Ebenezer Pierpont 
Samuel Williams Joseph Williams 

Elected March 20, 1748/9 

Ebenezer Pierpont 

Joseph Williams Ebenezer Newell 

Elected March 21, 1749/50 

John Richardson 
Joseph Williams Noah Perrin, Jr. 

Elected March 20, 1750/1 

Joseph Williams 

Noah Perrin, Jr. Ebenezer Newell 

Elected March 30, 1757 

Joseph Williams 

Eleazer Williams Ebenezer Pierpont 

Elected March 28, 1758 * 
Joseph Williams 
Benjamin Felton Ebenezer Newell 



THE FOURTH MEETING HOUSE 147 

Elected March 27, 1759 

Joseph Williams 

Ebenezer Newell Nathaniel Felton 

Elected March 30, 1768 

Joseph Williams 

Nathaniel Felton William Heath 

Elected March 27, 1771 

Joseph Williams 
Nathaniel Felton Aaron Davis 

Elected April 8, 1776 

Joseph Williams 
Nathaniel Ruggles Increase Sumner 

Elected April 8, 1778 

Joseph Williams 

Increase Sumner William Bowman 

Elected April 14, 1783 

Col. Joseph Williams 

Noah Perrin Capt. Joseph Williams 

Elected April 12, 1784 

Noah Perrin 
Col. Joseph Williams Thomas Clarke 



PARISH COMMITTEES 

Title changed April 23, 1788 
Elected April 23, 1788 

Thomas Clarke 
Joseph Ruggles Ralph Smith 

Elected April 29, 1793 

Joseph Ruggles 
Deacon Nehemiah Munroe John Curtis 



148 



THE FOURTH MEETING HOUSE 



Elected Nov. 11, 1793 

Joseph Ruggles 

Deacon Nehemiah Munroe Moses Davis Rice Curtis 

Elected Jvly 10, 1794 

Joseph Ruggles 

Deacon Nehemiah Munroe Nathaniel Ruggles 



SEXTONS 



Deacon Samuel Gridley 

William Blaney 

Aaron Blaney 

Samuel Croxford 

Stephen Mills 

Thomas Nolen, Jr. 

John Maxfield 

Edmund Grindall Weld 

Edward Turner served 



elected March 20, 1744/5 
served from 1761 to 1768 
served from 1769 to 1774 
served from 1775 to 1782 
served from 1782 to 1784 
served from 1784 to 1786 
served from 1787 to 1792 
served from 1793 to 1795 
from Feb. 27, 1796 to 1804 



THE FOURTH MEETING HOUSE 



The Third Meeting House was destroyed by fire Feb. 26*, 
1743/4, and a meeting of the precinct or parish was held 
March 22, 1743/4, to see what was to be done. At* this 
meeting it was voted that IVIr. John Walley with the two 
Deacons (Edward Ruggles and Samuel Gridley) be a com- 
mittee chosen to wait on our Reverend Pastor Mr. Nehemiah 
Walter and under his wise Direction to proceed and apply 
to such of the neighboring ministers as may be thought best 
that they would lay before the several Congregations of 
there Ryspective Charges the Difficult Sircumstances of the 
precinct under the late awfull Providence (by fire) in order 
to obtain such help and Relief from them, as they shall in 
there Goodness think fit to Grant us, and also that they 
(our precinct) proceed with all Convenient speed to build a 
new meeting house and that they would build said meeting 
House on the Spot where our late New meeting House stood 
and of the same Dimentions as our late meeting House and 
have the Same Number of windows as was in our late meet- 
ing house but the Glass be 7 by 9. In Case Good London 
Crown can be procured of such Dementions. Also there 
be the same Number of Pews on the floor and of the same 
Dementions and the same Number of pews in the Gallerie 
as in our late New Meeting house. 

For building the New Meeting House there was raised : 

& s. d. 

On the Pews in 1744 1500 00 

Tax on the inhabitants in 1744 976 17 8 

Tax on the inhabitants in 1745 494 19 

2971 16 8 
149 



150 THE FOURTH MEETING HOUSE 

and by sundry gifts as follows: 

£ s. d. 

The Hon. Paul Dudley, Esq 120 9 10 

William Bowdoin, Esq 20 

Josiah Willard, Esq 600 

Capt. Joshua Loring 500 

Decon Stone of Newton 200 

The Tovm of INIilton 17 4 

The.old Pariish at Dedham 12 7 

3154 11 1 
Sundry abatements to poor persons 83 11 8 

3070 19 5 
Cost of building the New Meeting House 2905 17 10 

The Remains are 165 1 7 

which were then in the hands of 

£ 8. d. 
Mr. Constable Griggs 145 5 

Mr. William Cheney 12 

Mr Sam'l Gore 10 6 8 



The aoove was submitted by the Committee chosen to 
build the New Meeting House April 15, 1746, 

The necessary aid having been received, the Fourth Meet- 
ing House was completed in 1746 upon the same plan as its 
predecessor, the meetings having been held meanwhile in 
the brick school house. 

Judge Paul Dudley provided a handsome porch. Col. 
Joseph Heath gave a New Church Clock or Time Peace. 

The main entrance of this house,^ in front of which was a 
large flat circular stone, faced the south, and was in the cen- 
tre of the building. The tower and belfry were as at present, 
the gallery entrance being also there. In addition to the 
belfry a spire and vane were erected. The pulpit was on 
the northerly side. There were the same number of pews on 
the floor and of the same Dementions as were in the previous 



THE FOURTH MEETING HOUSE 151 

building and also the same number in the galleries. Some 
of the pews were square, and the seats so made as to fold up 
when the people stood up at prayer, at the close of which 
they would come down with a clatter, fun for the boys, who 
thus responded to the amen. 

In front, the place of honor, were two body pews (so called) 
assigned to strangers and the poor of the parish. 

The women's gallery was partitioned from the men's in a 
parellel line with the front gallery fore seat. The hinder- 
most seat in the front gallery was made into a pew and 
purchased by the following young men under the same 
regulations with the Proprietors of the other pews: — James 
Pierpont, John Richardson, Junr, John Gore Jr., Paul Gore, 
Edw<i. Preston, Eb. Pierpont, Jun^, Sam^ May, Daniel 
Williams, Saml. WilHams, Jun'., Edw^ Ruggles Jun*", Joi^ 
Curtis, Daniel Seaver, Sam^ Weld, Benj. Sumner, Benj. 
Curtis, Saml Gridley Jun""., and the charge of building said 
Pew was the Purchase Price. 

March 20, 1744/5, Deacon Samuel Gridley was chosen to 
have care of the meeting house. 

The precinct allowed Joseph Weld, son of Edmond Weld, 
sum consideration for Ringing the School bell on Sabbath 
Days for the Benefit of the precinct the year past and pro- 
posed the said Joseph go about from Place to place and collect 
as persons may be disposed to give. 

In Aug., 1749, the precinct chose a committee consisting of 
Capt. Eleaz. Williams, Capt. Joseph Williams and Mr. 
Ebenezer Pierpont to wait on their Rev. aged Pastor and to 
desire him to lay before the church the desire of the precinct 
to have a suitable orthodox minister called and settled as a 
colleague with Mr. Walter. In the following March the 
Church made choice of IVIr. Oliver Peabody, who had been 
settled over the little missionary church in Natick, as a 



152 THE FOURTH MEETING HOUSE 

Colleague minister with their Rev*^. aged Pastor, but the 
congregation did not at once concur as they first desired to 
hear him for the space of six weeks. In the following May 
the congregation concurred by a majority of votes (vizt. 
fortey Two Votes for Mr. Peabody and Twenty Three 
blanks), and a committee consisting of Dea. Edw. Ruggles, 
Mr. Ebenezer Pierpont and Capt. Eleaz^ Williams represent- 
ing the church, and Capt. Ralph Holbrook and Ensign Eben- 
ezer Cheney representing the congregation were chosen to 
wait upon Mr. OUver Peabody to acquaint him of their 
choice. 

Mr. Peabody accepted the call, and a committee of five 
consisting of Mr. Ebenezer Pierpont, Col. Joseph Heath, 
Col. Joshua Lamb and the two Deacons were chosen to 
consult with Mr. Peabody upon a time for his Ordination. 

As a settlement for Mr. Peabody ,£1200 old tenor was 
granted by the precinct and £80 as a yearly sallery and 15 
cords of wood during the life of our Rev. aged Pastor and 
such further sum as ye parrish shall think convenient after 
his Decease so long as said Mr. Peabody shall continue our 
minister. 

Rev. Mr. Nehemiah Walter died Sept. 17, 1750, and on 
the 19*^ a committee consisting of Capt. Eleaz^ Williams, 
Capt. John Richardson, Capt. Ebenezer Dorr, Capt. Sami 
Stevens and Deacon Edw<^ Ruggles were chosen to have the 
oversight of the funeral for our late Rev. aged Pastor, Mr. 
Nehemiah Walter (Deacon Sam^ Gridley was especially 
obliged to attend on other business). In Oct. it was voted 
to raise £230 9^. old tenor " to Defrey the charge of the 
funerall of our late Rev. aged pastor Mr. Nehemiah Walter 
Deceased." 

On Oct. 8, 1750, a committee consisting of Lt. Sam'l 
Heath, Mr. Increase Sumner, Lt. Ebenezer Newell, Lt. Eben- 



THE FOURTH MEETING HOUSE 153 

ezer Cheney, Mr. Benj. May was chosen to have charge of 
the ordination of Mr. Peabody, who was ordained Nov. 7, 
1750, the cost of which was £132 9*. 7d. old Tenor. 

In 1751 the precinct voted money for the support of Madam 
Walter giving her <£500 and quarterly contribution voted last 
March for Mr. Walter and M50 also. They also voted to 
change the Lecture Day from Tuesdays to Fridays before 
our Sacrament. In March, 1752, the precinct voted 8 cords 
of wood for Madam Walter and 12 cords for Rev. Mr. Oliver 
Peabody. During this year Coll. Joseph Heath presented 
a Church Bible to the precinct. 

Rev. Mr. Oliver Peabody died May 29, 1752, and the cost 
of the funeral expenses was £81 Is. old Tenor. June 22, 
1752, a committee was chosen to supply the pulpit. 

Ebenezer Pierpont, Deacon Edward Ruggles and Mr. 
Joseph Warren were chosen a committee to wait upon Madam 
Dudley Respecting a Donation or legacy given to this Precinct 
by the Hon. Paul Dudley, Esq., Late of Roxbury and if it may 
be receive the same for the use of the Precinct. 

At a meeting of the Precinct held Feb. 28, 1753, Deacon 
Edward Ruggles presided as moderator and it was probably 
his last official connection with this church as he removed to 
Cambridge soon after. 

At this meeting the congregation unanimously concurred 
with the church in the choice of Mr. Amos Adams as Pastor, 
and a committee was appointed to wait upon Mr. Adams. 
As a settlement it was voted to give him £1200 old Tenor, 
being £400 for each year for three years and £90 as a sallery 
with 20 cords of wood and the loose money put into the box 
be annually granted so soon as he shall settle with us and 
have a family. Mr. Adams accepted the call as follows: 



154 THE FOURTH MEETING HOUSE 

H. College Maech te 27, 1753. 
To THE First Church of Christ and Inhabitants of the First Parish 

IN ROXBURT 

Christian Frieistds: For as much as it has pleased God who orders the 
bounds of every ones habitation in the Cource of his providence to Bring 
me among you and after Humble Supphcation to Heaven, for Guidance & 
Direction in the choice of a minister; You have Been Inchned to Give me 
an Invitation to take the Pastoral Charge and over Sight of you in the Lord 
(of the honour and Respect you Have Done me therein I am not Insensi- 
ble) I have made these matters, the Subject of my Serious Consideration, 
with an Eye to the fountain of wisdom for Direction I have Also consulted 
those who we Trust are hearty Friends to the Kingdom of Jesus Christ and 
Considering the Happy unanimity at Present Subsisting among you, I can 
Chearfully and by these Unes do Signify my acceptance of your Invitation 
to settle among you in the work of the Gospel ministry upon the Terms 
Proposed — 

and Since God is thus Bringing us into so near a relation may it be the 
foundation of much peace and Happiness to both you and me — Cease not 
my Dear friends to Beseech the Head of the Church to Give me that portion 
of his spirit and Grace to assist and Strengthen me that I may Speak as 
becomes Sound Doctrine and Conduct my Selfe in the whole of my ministry; 
with that wisdom and Prudence that fidellity and meakness which becomes 
a minister of the Gospell. That I may save my own Soul and the Souls of 
those Committed to my Charge. Pray preserve the unity of the Spirit in 
the Bond of peace. Live in peace; and the God of Love & Peace shall be 
with you ; and may be all Be Brought in Due Time to Rejoyce together in 
the Kingdom of Glory to Eternity and be mutual Possessors of that King- 
dom which is Incorruptable, undefiled, and that fadeth not away. 
I am Your Servant in the Gospel of Jesus Christ 

Amos Adams. 

In March, 1753, the precinct voted to build a spire on the 
steeple of the meeting house the cost being £68 15s. 2^d. 
—£515 Us. Id. old tenor. On the Lord's day, Sept. 2, 1753, 
the congregation in the Old South Church, Boston, was 
stayed and a Letter read from the l^* Church in Roxbury 
desiring their Assistance in Council at the Ordination of Mr. 
Amos Adams. Granted. Messengers, Our Brethren that 
are or have been of the (Governor's) Council, the Deacons 



THE FOURTH MEETING HOUSE 155 

and Messrs. Edward Broomfield and Isaac Walker. INIr. 
Adams was ordained Sept. 12, 1753. Oct. 14, 1753, the 
Church was stayed & the question was put whether the 
custom of asking for Publick Testimony for such as are 
admitted to communion shall be henceforth disused in this 
church & it passed in the affirmative. Nov. 30, 1753, Two 
Deacons were chosen. Deacon Stephen Williams (formerly 
Deacon of the 2d Ch. in this towm) and Brother Ebenezer 
Craft in the room of Deacon Ruggles removed to Cambridge. 

In 1754 a committee consisting of the three Deacons with 
Capt. Sam'l Stevens, Capt. Eleazer Williams, and Sam'l 
Heath were chosen to obtain subscriptions towards purchas- 
ing a Bell for the meeting house. On Oct. 3, 1754, it was 
" Proposed wheather it be the Desire of this precinct that there 
may be no fire brought into this meeting by stoves and passed 
in the affirmative. 

In 1755 the old bell was sent to England to be recast as per 
following letter of instructions: 

Sr. We herewith Deliver to your care the remains of our old Bell "am* 
To Two hundred «Sc Eighty weight (or thereabouts) Neet which we Desire 
you would Take due care to ship for Great Brittain by the first opportunity 
in order to its Being Cast with the needfull addition into a new Bell of Be- 
tween five & six hundred weight. The size we apprehend suitable for our 
steeple; and wish it may return with speed for our use. \NTien we will 
Endever You shall receive the Just Ballance that may be due with our Grate- 
full acknowledgements for all favours. Desiring You would use Your 
Dycrefsion respecting Insurence as well as Dispatch; which is all needfull 
from Sr Your Humble Servants; In The name and Behalf of the First Free* 
or Parish in Roxbury 

Jo Williams 



Roxbury Sept. Ye 1, 1755 

To IMr. Tho^ Gunter — merchant. 



} 



XT T> r Prect Comtte 

Noah Perrin 



In 1756 the precinct voted to have the Deck on the Top 
of the steeple sufficiently leded and also to have a frame to 
hang the new Bell upon 



156 THE FOURTH MEETING HOUSE 

In March, 1758, Mr. William Blaney was directed to remove 
the chairs that stand By the front Doer and Encumber the 
passageway. 

At the precinct or parish meeting held March £7, 1759, it 
was proposed " wheather the precinct In Consideration of the 
Extreordinary price of provision at this present day and in 
answer to the memorial of our s^ Rev. Pastor respecting the 
Difficulty of Supporting his family, will make him any con- 
sideration Voted the sum of Ten pounds money be granted." 

The addition of Ten pounds was made each year until 
1762 when he wrote to the precinct as follows: 

RoxBURT, March 29 1762 
My Brethren: I may not omit this Opportunity of thanking you for 
the punctual PajTnent of my Salary, as also for the additional Ten Pounds 
which I have received: I likewise heartily thank those of you who have 
afforded me private Benefactions ; these I receive as the kind Testimonials 
of your Affection, and they have been a considerable assistance to me in 
the support of my Family. 

I have understood that it hath been Intimated by some, that I am growing 
rich, and lajang up money for my Family ; Justice therefore to myself and 
compassion for my Family require me to set that matter in a true Light. 

I have now reed, from you Nine years salary. I do not know how it was 
possible for me or my family to Uve with greater care & Frugality, both as 
to clothing & provisions, than we have lived, consistent with that Decency, 
wliich I know you would have your minister preserve. I have neither right 
Title claim or Interest in any real Estate in the World, besides the Half 
Acre on which my little Barn and unfinished, imadomed House do stand, 
I have neither clock in my house, nor Watch in my Pocket, nor a Horse to 
ride on ; neither have I any way the means of purchasing one, nor have I 
cash to the value of £3. L. M. and on the Balance of Accounts, I can 
assure you, I do owe £250. O. Tenor more than I have due me in the World. 
... I cannot think it unreasonable to propose that my salary be fully made 
good according to the expences of a Family; I am sure if you were able to 
give Me ,£90 p. annum When I settled you are able to afford me at least 
the full Value of that now, — and Would it not be hard in so antient and 
able a Parish as this to be obliged to live in a pinching manner, and not- 
withstanding be imable to lay up anything for my Family — forgive the 
Thot; I am perswaded you are imwilling this should ever be the 
Case — 



THE FOURTH MEETING HOUSE 157 

The affecting Providence of God in taking away in so awful a Manner 
my Firstborn & dear Son (I remember the wormwood and the Gall) I 
desire may teach me not to be too greatly distressed for my Family; child- 
ren are Tender plants easily cut down ; but is it possible for a faithful Hus- 
band & Tender Father to consider a prudent Wife and his dear children 
liable, whenever their head is taken away, to be scattered in the World 
without any provision for feeding and clothing them, as is now the real con- 
dition of Mine ? 

Ani I unworthy ? let me ask your compassion to my wife and children, 
who I am sure have never forfeited your regards. 

I am deeply sensible I have done nothing to Claim your favours. If 
my poor Imperfect services meet with any degree of acceptance from any of 
you it is as much as I could expect — If I have done anything acceptable 
to my INIaster I adore the Grace that will accept & reward an unprofitable 
servt. 

If my Ministrations have been of Spiritual profit to any amongst us, 
(give the glory to God) I account that my labour hath not been in vain in 
the Lord. 

I am your imworthy servt in the Gospel 

Amos Adams. 

At the above meeting held March 27, 1759 it was Proposed, 
*' Wlieather they would come into any method to Build a pew 
or pews in the hindermost Seat in the mens Gallery at or 
near the South Easterly corner of the meeting house in said 
Prec't and Pass in the aflSrmative and voted that the Prect 
Committee be and hereby are Impowered (on a Suteable num- 
ber of Young men applycation for Liberty to build a pew or 
pews at the place or places afforesaid). To agree with and 
Grant them Liberty to build the afforesaid pew or pews and to 
hold and Ocupey the same as there property on Such Terms 
as the pews in our late new meeting house were held. Wee 
who are hereafter mentioned Do agree to Complect the said 
seat in a hansom manner with your consent that we have and 
enjoy the same acording to the Vote of the Prect." The above 
was signed by Jonathan Hall, Caleb Howard, Aaron Davis, 
H. Howell Williams, Moses Dorr, John Bowen Jun""., Joseph 



158 THE FOURTH MEETING HOUSE 

Williams Junr,, Francis Dana, Lemuel May, Ebenez"" Dorr 
Tertius, Stephen Williams, John Davis Williams and they 
were approved by the Prect Committee. 

At the same time and for the same purpose another peti- 
tion was presented signed by Richard Leathbridg, James 
OiT, Jona Hall. In 1762 as the bell purchased in 1755 was 
no longer fit for use they voted to have a new bell as near 
the pattern of y® Rev. Mr. Boyles bell as may be and the 
next year they purchased it weighing 6. 3. 26 and its entire 
cost including freight on the old bell metal was £22 Os. Id. 
Abel Rudhall of Gloucester, England, made it. A grateful 
acknowledgment was made by the Precinct to JNIr. William 
Jones Marchant in Bristol who generously gave the Pre- 
cinct all his trouble and Commissions in this affair and to the 
Hon. James Bowdoin, Esq., who had given the precinct a 
quantity of Bell mettle towards the charge of the aforesaid 
new bell (being about one hundred weight of mettle) and to 
Isaac Winslow, Esq., for his assistance in serving the pre- 
cinct by writing to his friend Mr. Jones afforesaid, respect- 
ing the procuring said new bell. They voted to have the 
same hung on the top of the Tower where the Late new Bell 
was hung, and that the precinct Committee be Desired to 
Imploye sum faithfuU workmen to do all that may be thought 
needful to Brace and Strengthen the Steeple in the best 
manner they are able to do and that the sum of Twenty 
pounds be granted and raised lq the usual manner as soon as 
may be to Defrey the charges thereof and other necessary 
charges in the precinct ye year ensuing. 

In 1763 the three seats to the right of the clock in the 
center of the gallery (lately occupied by them) were appro- 
priated for "such persons as are and may be inclined to sit 
together for the purpose of singing on Lords Days and 
other times of Divine Service" and that they have Liberty to 



THE FOURTH MEI>TIXG HOUSE 159 

make such alterations for their own convenience as may be 
thought needfiil so as not to marr or hurt the house. 

In 1764 there were three stones one at eaxih door of the 
porch on the South side of the meeting house. In this year 
the precinct voted £90 salary for our Rev. Pastor Mr. Adams 
and the further sum of £10 as a gift in consideration of the 
price of provisions and £16 for his firewood. Also £30 for 
sweeping and Taking care of the meeting house and to 
Defrey other charges in the precinct the year ensuing. At 
the annual meeting in \Iarch the Petition was presented of 
Daniel Bugbe, John Bowing, Jonathan Davis and Aaron 
Davis *■ Humbly Shewing that wheirias it is Generally thought 
that the foure hind seats in the body of our meeting house 
might be very well spaired and no waise Discommode it; 
but be ornamental! to have foure Pews built in theire Roome 
— we theirefore Desire that vou woold take it into vour 
Consideration and if in your great wisdome you thinck fit: 
you woold Grant Liberty to your Petitioners to Erect foure 
Pews for the use of theire famileys in those seats in so doing 
you will oblidge youre Petetioners; and they as in Duty 
bound shall ever pray." 

At a meeting held in May, 1764, it was Toted "that Mess. 
Aaron Davis, Capt. John "Williams and Mr, Xath^ Felton 
be a committee to regulate and seat the Several seats in ye 
meeting house By Desireing so many Elderly persons to 
come down out of the Gallery as to fill up the Body Seats 
Below." Then enquiray was made respecting the pews 
occup^ by Mess. Thomas Bell and Jno. Pierpont & others 
and Mr. Bell being present was questioned concerning his 
occuping the late Capt. Jarvis^ Pew and answered That as 
Mrs. Jarvis had not Disposed of her estate in the Town 
he thought himself Intitled to set in the Pew on such Terms 
as she and he might agree and had accordingly set in the 



160 THE FOURTH MEETING HOUSE 

said Pew with, his family. . A committee was immediately 
chosen to enquire into the Disposition of the Pews sup- 
posed to be disposed of contrary to the votes of the Parish 
and to make report at the anniversary meeting in March 
next ensuing, at which meeting the committee reported 
that Lt. William Cheeney had made an offer of the Prec* or 
there com*** of the pew now occup<i by Mr. John Pierpont. 

Sept. 20, 1768. This church and Congregation in con- 
junction with other churches unanimously agreed to keep this 
day as a day of fasting and prayer in the present threatening 
state of public affairs. 

At a meeting held in March, 1772, a petition was pre- 
sented signed by Thomas Williams, Ebenezer Dorr, Aaron 
Davis Jr., Sam'l Sumner, Thadeus Partridge, Will™ Bosson, 
Caleb Hay ward, Sam'l Sumner Jr., Edw^ Sumner, John 
Woods, James Mears, Benja Curtis, Stephen Williams, 
which showed that it was their earnest desire to have a good 
Clock to the Meeting House and for that purpose humbly 
prayed that the precinct would set of and make four new 
pews from of the Body seats two on each side so as to include 
the ally on the side of the Body seats in said pues and that 
these pues when finished may be Disposed of in such way 
and Manner as the Committee or inhabitants of said precinct 
shall think Best, that the money which the said pues shall 
be so sold for may be applied towards the Purchasing the 
said clock for an Ornament for the said Meeting House. 
That the attendance at the services was increasing is shown 
by the fact that a meeting was called in February, 1774, 
to consider a proposal to enlarge the Meeting House. The 
proposal was for an addition of about 30 feet in length at 
the Easterly End of said House, said addition to be made 
without weakening or injuring the house or in any manner 
spoiling its proportion; and the whole cost or expense of 



THE FOURTH MEETING HOUSE 161 

such an alteration or addition being on a moderate computa- 
tion £333 Qs 8d. which a sufficient number of subscribers 
appear to pay. The Petitioners named below will take and 
receive the new pews or seats subject to the following regu- 
lations : 

(1) That there be 24 new pews on the floor equal in bigness to those in 
the present house. 

(2) That the additional room in the Gallery be offered to the Precinct 
with the seats or pews Built compleet and finished if they shall choose it 
at the sum of £57 10s. or otherwise that there be 10 pews built in the Gallery 
to be Disposed of by the Petitioners under Due regulations so as to raise the 
said sum. 

(3) That moving the Pulpit, seats, pews and porches &c be done with- 
out any expense to the Precinct. 

(4) That those persons who have seats removed shall have liberty to 
take the same situation in the new house from the Pulpit. 

(5) That the timber windows and all the stuff that may be taken out of 
the easterly end of the present house be allowed to help make the addition. 

(6) If there be more subscribers than can be accomodated then those to 
be admitted first who stand highest on the Precinct role of Valuation for 
their own estates. 

(7) That the pews pay the whole expense of the addition and alteration 
(in case Ten are built in tlie Gallery) otherwase to pay all the ex-pense (ex- 
cept only £57 10s.). To be paid by the Precinct if they shall choose to 
retain the Galleries for seats or to their own use. 

(8) If there should not be a sufficient nmnber of subscribers appear at 
first those pews that are not taken up shall be the Property of the subscribers 
to be disposed of under the Direction of the Parish Committee. 

(9) That if any Person or Persons should at any time hereafter Incline 
to Dispose of his or there Pew or Pews they shall be under the same regu- 
lations of those in the Present house and make the first offer to the Precinct 
or their Committee by the space of one month before such Disposal. 

(10) That one half the money for the addition be paid by the subscribers, 
within one week after the Building be raised and the remainder when the 
Precinct Committee shall judge the work is completed. 

(11) That if any of the subscribers shall be in arrears for their pew three 
months after the house is finished: it shall be in the power of the sub- 
scribers to sell the same with the approbation of the Parish Committee. 



162 THE FOURTH MEETING HOUSE 

(12) In case the work be not completed without Troubling the sub- 
scribers on or before the last day of Oct., A.D., 1774, then those persons 
who have subscribed may be at Liberty to make the agreement void. 

(13) The 24 pews added on the lower floor to be all of a price: Numbered 
and Drawn by a lottery by such persons as shall appear and subscribe for 
them agreeable to the before mentioned conditions and Regulations. 

(14) In case the Precinct should not Incline to keep the Room in ye 
Galleries to themselves ; Neither in seats nor pews at the sum of fifty seven 
pounds ten shillings lawfull money above mentioned. Then the same 
shall belong to the said Twenty four persons to be made into pews and 
Disposed of for their advantage under the regulations afforesaid. 

(15) As it is always intended and so to be understood that the said Twenty 
four persons to whom the said pews on the floor shall be assigned are to be 
answerable for all the cost and charge of said addition to the House (except 
as before excepted) 

Moses DaAns Aaron Davis 

Stephen Williams James Mears 

WiUiam Bowman Susanna Davis 

Caleb Haj'ward Thos. Wyman 

Jolm Greaton, Jr. John Bowen 

Nehemiah Munroe Aaron Blaney 

Nath^ Eaton Samuel Langley 

Jonathan Patten Ebenezer Cheney 

Joseph Smith John Slack 

Jonathan Parker Sam'l Whittemore 

Jeremiah Parker, Jr. and by the Parish vote 

James White Jos. Williams for 

Richard Lethbridge William Dudley 

Adam Pattie Aaron Da\'is 

Stephen Williams for Ebenezer Davis 

Ralph Smith Nath. Ruggles 

Ebenezer Wales Abijah Sever. 

The precinct took the gallery room and made it into seats 
All the above votes passed. 

May 12, 1774, a petition was signed by Stephen Williams 
2n<i, Moses Davis, W™ Bowman, Caleb Hayward, Stephen 
Williams, Adam Pattie, Thad. Partridge, and addressed to 
the Committee of the first Precinct or Parish which humbly 



THE FOURTH MEETING HOUSE 163 

requested them to notify and call a meeting of all the free- 
holders and inhabitants of said Precinct Quallif'^ to vote in 
Precinct affairs To assemble at the meeting house in said 
Precinct on friday the Twentieth day of May instant at 
five of the clock in ye afternoon then and there to know 
whether they will give Liberty to open the said meeting 
house in or near the middle so as to build ye proposed 
new addition of thirty feet in the middle of the said 
house. 

March 29, 1775, it was Voted that Messrs Thomas Clarke, 
Samuel Croxford, John Porker, Ezekiel Jones, Benj^ Stevens, 
Jacob Whittemore, Jabez Parter, John Smith, Ebenezer 
Smith, John Hopkins and Mathew Davis be and hereby are 
allowed to have and hold the new Pew at the Westerly End 
of the front Gallery built in the place of the hind seat on 
their paying to the prect or their committee thirteen shillings 
& four pence each for their seat in the said pew and being 
obliged to give the first offer thereof to the Precinct for the 
same sum in case they shall incline to Dispose thereof at 
any time hereafter by the space of one month next before 
they shall sell the same. 

No public meetings were held in the meeting house be- 
tween March 29, 1775, and April 8, 1776. 

No religious meetings could be held here while the siege 
of Boston lasted, and the building was used as a signal 
station for the army. A constant and conspicuous target 
for the British cannon, the meeting house was pierced through 
in many places, one ball passing through the belfry. The 
pews and the bell had been taken out by the parish com- 
mittee, and the communion plate carried by Rev. Mr. 
Adams to Medfield. 

April 8, 1776, it was Voted the sum of Two hundred 
pounds Like money be Granted and raised in usual manner 



164 THE FOURTH MEETING HOUSE 

the year ensueing to Defrey the Charge of repareing the 
meeting house and to make Good former Deficiences and 
to Defrey the Charge of the funeral of our late Rev. pastor 
Mr. Amos Adams Deceased and all other necessary Charges 
in the Prect. ye year ensuing. 

There are no entries in the records between April 8, 1776, 
and March 24, 1777, on which latter date the precinct voted 
to pay Mr. Croxford, the sexton, his bill for twelve shillings 
for services at the funeral of Mr. Amos Adams. 

The members of the parish were scattered, and until 1782 
there was no settled minister. 

In 1780 Mr. James How and others requested "for liberty 
to Ring ye Bell at ye hour of one of ye Clock and Nine at 
night in case a suteable number will subscribe to Defrey ye 
charge thereof. Voted they may have Liberty to employ 
the Sexton for the Purposes affores^ and provided they will 
Defrey ye Charges and Take Due care that ye meeting house 
and Bell are not Damnified. 

August 20, 1781 it was voted That our three Deacons be 
added unto the Committee for supplying the Pulpit &c. 
At a parish meeting held March 25, 1782, Doctor Jonathan 
Davis and Robert Pierpont presented a petition in which 
they begged leave to Represent that the Long seats in the 
body of the meeting house were not generally filled, that 
they apprehended four pews might be built on the back 
seats without the least inconvenience to any person what- 
ever and the committee reported that they found it expedi- 
ent to build the four pews and to sell the same at vendue. 

At a meeting held July 5, 1782, the church having voted 
unanimously to call Mr. Eliphalet Porter, the congregation 
voted 61 to 1 to call him, that one vote says "not Disposed 
to concur" and a committee was appointed to wait on Mr. 
Porter. 



THE FOURTH MEETING HOUSE 165 

At a meeting held Aug. 30, 1782 it was announced that 
four of the new pews were owned by 

No. 1. Nehemiah Munroe cost $105. — 

No. 2. Increase Sumner " 235. — 

No. 3. Mr. David Wait " 205. — 

No. 4. John Read " 135. — $680. — 



At this same meeting the Precinct received the answer of 
Mr. Eliphalet Porter wherein he manifested his acceptance 
of the call Given him to the Pastoral Care of this Church 
and Congregation which is as folio weth viz: 

RoxBTjEY, Aug. ye 24th 1782. 
Friends Bretlieren & Fathers 

The Invitation which you have been Pleased to Give me 
to Settle with you in the Gospel ministry I have endeavoui-ed to consider with 
That Seriousness and attention which its importance requires, I have looked 
to The fountain of wisdom for Direction, and have not failed to ask Councel 
of those my friends, & fathers in the ministry whom I have had the oppor- 
tunity of consulting — as the result of my Deliberations, and the advice which 
I have Received, I Now accept your Invitation with cherfulness, & Desire 
to Retiu-n my unfeigned thanks for that Testimony, which you have Given 
me of your affection & Esteem. Nothing could have had Greator influence 
on my mind in this Determination, or have afforded me more pleasure on 
the Present Ocation, than the union which you have manifested in your 
choice, imless yovu imanimity had been perfect. I thank you for the support 
which you have offered me, and have the fullest confidence in your Gen- 
erossity shod the State of things be such as to Render it insufficient to 
answer the Designe proposed. I am senceable that my undertakeing is 
Great and arduous & I desire to make my Dependance on the Divine aid & 
assistance may & at all times have that wisdom which is proflBtable to Direct, 
and obtain mercy of the lord to be found faithfull, may my Serxaces among 
you be usefull and acceptable and may there never be Reason for the com- 
plaint that I have laboured in vain. Permit me to assure you of that affec- 
tion & attachment which I feel Towards you & to express my earnest desire 
Ever to Enjoye a place in the Eand and Effectionate regards of you all and 
in your Remembrance of me at the throne of Grace — may the Shepherd 



166 THE FOURTH MEETING HOUSE 

of Iseral he that leadeth Joseph like a flock take you & me by the hand & 
lead us on in the way of Duty & in the paths of Peace & love til we shall 
Joyne the redeemed Company and Church of the first Bom in heaven. I 
am with sinsear affection & Regard your friend & Servt. 

Eliphalet Porter. 

The following letter was also sent to the Churches under 
the Pastoral Care of 

The Rev^ Mr. Porter of Bridgwater 
The Rev^i Mr. Haven of Dedham 
The Rev<i Dr. Cooper of Boston 
The Rev^ IMr. Jackson of Brockton 
The Rev. Mr. Payson of Chelsea 
The Rev. Mr. Abbot of Roxbury 
The Rev. Mr. Elliott of Boston 

The first Church of Christ in Roxbury to the first Church of Christ in Boston 
vmder the Pastoral Care of the Revd. Doct"^ Charles Chaimcy and the 
Revd John Clark sends Greeting — 

It having pleased God in his holy providence to lead the Church of Christ 
in this place together with the Congregation to the Choice of Mr. Eliphalet 
Porter to the Pastoral Office among us, and to incline him to accept of our 
Call & in^^tation thereunto. We have thought fit to appoint Wednesday the 
2d day of October next for his Solemn Separation to that important Office 
according to the directions of the Gospel. 

We earnestly request the presence & assistance of your Revd Pastors & 
such Delegates as you shall think fit to send with them to unite with the 
Revd Pastors & Messengers of several other Churches in such Acts & 
Offices as the Solpmnities of the Day may require. 

We ask your Prayers to Alm ighty God for his blessing on our important 
imdertaking, and that the Gospel of the blessed Jesus may have its proper 
Effect among us. We wish Grace, mercy & peace from God the Father and 
our Lord Jesus Christ may be multiplied unto you and subscribe oiu- Selves 
your Brethren in the faith & fellowship of the Gospel. 

W^. Gridlet 
Inc. Sumner 

Jos. RUGGLES 

Ralph Smith 
David Wait 
John J. Spooner 
Thos. Clarke 
Roxbury, Sept. 16, 1782. 



Committee of the 

Church & 
Congregation 



THE FOURTH MEETING HOUSE 



167 



The Council were desired to meet at the House of I. Sum- 
ner Esq. at 10 o'clock A M. & from thence to proceed to 
the Meeting House & begin the Solemnity there exactly at 
two o'clock in the afternoon. 

Mr. Porter was ordained Oct. 2, 1782, the Charge being 
given by Rev. Dr. Cooper of Boston, and the Rev. Mr. Abbot 
of the Second Parish in Roxbury presented the Right Hand 
of Fellowship. The total cost of the ordination was £51. 
Mr. Porter's salary was fixed at .£240 lawfull money, £120 the 
first year of his ministry with us, £120 the second year of his 
ministry among us, and £120 granted annually as a sallery, 
also 20 cords of wood for him after he shall have a family 
annually. 

The Names of the Male members of the First Church of 
Christ in Roxbury when the Rev. Mr. Porter was ordained 
were — 



Doct. Thomas "Williams 
Mr. Moses Davis 
Mr. Ebenezer Bugbee 
Mr. Stephen Williams 
Mr. Nathaniel Felton 
Mr. Joshua Felton 
Mr. John Curtis 
Mr. Thaddeus Partrige 
Dea. Samuel Sumner 
Col. John Greaton 
Mr. Charles Belknap 
Mr. Edmund Weld 
Mr. James Mears 
Mr. Aaron White 
Mr. John Williams 
Mr. John Williams, Jr. 
Doct. Samuel Cheeney 
Mr. John Brewer 
Mr. Noah Perrin 
Mr. Thomas Macarty 
Dea. William Gridley 



Mr. Nathaniel Patten 
Mr. Samuel Bowen 
Mr. Joseph Ruggles 
Mr. Thomas Clark 
Mr. Ralph Smith 
Mr. John Pierpont 
Mr. Robert Pierpont 
Dea. Ebenezer Craft 
Mr. Simeon Pratt 
Mr. John Ward 
Mr. Jon* Craft 
Gen. William Heath 
Mr. Peleg Heath 
Mr. Samuel Heath 
Col. Joseph Williams 
Mr. Thomas Dana 
Mr. Joseph Smith 
Mr. Daniel Monroe 
]Mr. Nehemiah Monroe 
Mr. John Bowen 
Mr. Joshua Bowen 



168 THE FOURTH MEETING HOUSE 

Capt. Joseph Williams Mr. Jona. WiUiams 

Mr. Jona Parker Mr. Corey 

Mr. John Davis "Williams Mr. Thomas Nolen 

Mr. Samuel Wittemore, Jr. Mr. Nathaniel Sparhawk 

Mr. Samuel Williams Hon. Increase Sumner 

Capt. William Heath Mr. William Dudley 
Whole number 54. 

In 1787 a number of gentlemen living in the vicinity of the 
meeting house presented the precinct with a clock which was 
placed on the Bell tower. 

At a meeting held Wednesday April 23, 1788 a letter from 
Joseph Williams Esq. (who has been Parish Clerk for Forty 
seven years past) being laid before the Parish wherein he 
signified his resignation of the Oflfice of Clerk and Assessor 
on a motion made and seconded Voted unanimously that the 
resignation of the said Joseph Williams Esquire be accepted, 
and that the thanks of the Parish be, and hereby are given 
to the said Joseph Williams Esquire for his long and faithful 
services in the offices aforesaid. 

At this meeting the titles of all the officers were changed 
from Precinct to Parish. 

At this meeting it was voted that the Committee provide 
a suitable seat for the Sexton and direct him to hand the box 
round the Meeting House on every Lords Day in the after- 
noon after sermon is ended in order that the People may have 
an opportunity of contributing towards the Parish tax as may 
be convenient to them. And that all the loose monies that 
may be contributed be for the Rev. Mr. Porter over and above 
his Salery. 

At a meeting held April 28, 1790, Deacon Joshua Felton, 
Capt. Joseph Williams and Deacon Nehemiah Munroe were 
appointed a Committee to repair forthwith to the Singers 
Seats, view the same, and report what repairs in their opinion 




•rrvS'l ' I 







o 



h4 



CO 
D 
O 

O 
2 

h 
W 
W 



THE FOURTH MEETING HOUSE 169 

are necessary to be made thereon ; who reported " that several 
Doors are wanting, and that several parts thereof require 
some repair," whereupon, Voted that the Parish Committee 
cause such repairs to be made on said seats as they shall 
think expedient. Whereas on the 29*^ day of March 1775 
the Parish Voted, that the Young men's seats scituate at the 
South Westerly part of the Galery, fronting the Pulpit, should 
be granted to Thomas Clarke, and others on the conditions in 
the said vote mentioned ; and Whereas, by reason of the com- 
mencement of the War immediately after, the said conditions 
were never complied with, whereby the said seat still remains 
the property of the Parish. Therefore Voted, that the Parish 
Committee be and hereby are directed to cause the said seat 
to be put in decent repair, and to sell the same for the most 
they will fetch for the benefit of the Parish. At this meeting 
the sexton was desired to occupy the seat made for him on 
the top of the Pulpit stairs. In 1792 setting up Stoves in the 
Meeting House was refused. 

Among the few sermons of this century which have been 
handed down to the present day is one delivered in this Meet- 
ing House Nov. 16, 1794, by Samuel Kendall, A.M., Pastor of 
the Congregational Church in Weston entitled "Love an 
essential Attribute of Deity." 

May 1st 1795, the parish committee let thirteen seats in the 
back pew in the Gallery to Mr. Samuel Langley at two 
shillings each for one year. 

May 9, 1796, Messrs Aaron Davis, Ralph Smith, John 
Swift, Ebenezer Brewer and James Howe were appointed a 
committee to ascertain the expense of a room, candles and 
fewel necessary to accommodate the Singers for one year and 
to open a subscription for the probable amount. At this 
meeting it was voted that the rent already due for the Parish 
pew below and the thirteen seats in the long pew in the Gallery 



170 THE FOURTH MEETING HOUSE 

belonging to the Parish be appropriated towards said expenses 
of the singers. 

The Parish received at various times the following legacies : 

From Joshua Lamb of .£13 65. Sd. for the poor widdows 
of the First Church, Roxbury, 

From Lieut. Caleb Stedman of £4 for the poor of the 
First Church, Roxbury. 

From Ebenezer Warren of £6 135. 4>d. for poor widdows of 
the First Church, Roxbury, 

From an unknown hand of £13 65. 8d. for the poor 
widdows of the First Church, Roxbury, 

From Judge Dudley of £7 12*. for the poor widdows of 
the First Church, Roxbury. 

Contributions in the First Parish in Roxbury for the 
sufferers by Fire were 

Apr. 20, 1787 70 dwelling houses in South part of Boston 
£23 185, 

Mch. 9, 1788 home of Capt. Sam'l Langley of Warwick 
£15 I85, 

Nov, 13, 1793 house of Nathan Shed £12. 

July 30, 1794 45 houses South end Boston £70 7.9, 

May 22, 1796 house of David Ockington, Needham $48.58, 

Jan, 30, 1797 furniture James Tolman of Dorchester $36.00, 

Apr, 2, 1797 Eben, Fox of Roxbury part of Building $79,16, 

Saturday Aug, 4, 1798 the New Bell was suspended in the 
Balcony of the Meeting House the committee having pre- 
viously bought it of Paul Revere, being one made at his bell 
foundry. Bell weighed 862 lbs, cost $371,13 less old bell 
$130,17 making net cost as $240,96, 

May 27, 1799, Voted not to build a new meeting house. 

July 4, 1800 at the Request of the inhabitants of the Town 
of Roxbury an Oration was pronounced in this House in 
commemoration of American Independence by Luther 
Richardson, 



THE FOURTH MEETING HOUSE 171 

In 1801 a committee was chosen to endeavour to revive the 
singing in the congregation. 

April 29, 1802, it was voted to take measures for building a 
new meeting house. The Parish committee was directed to 
procure a room and to furnish candles to accomodate the 
Singers one night in a week to practise. 

May 4, 1802, three different plans were exhibited and it 
appeared to the committee that the Plan of the Newburyport 
meeting house is the most elligible for Roxbury with a few 
alterations and Messrs. William Blaney, John Sawen, and 
Humphrey Bicknell were appointed a sub-committee to 
draught a plan for our meeting house similar to Newburyport 
meeting house with alterations, as expressed by the committee, 
and report estimate of the cost with brick and the cost with 
wood. 

May 31, 1802, it was agreed that the amount to be assessed 
on the pews in this meeting house should be $2160, being 
$30.00 per pew on floor and $15.00 per pew in gallery, show- 
ing that there were 68 pews on floor and 8 square pews in 
gallery. In June the parish voted to build a new meeting 
house of wood but with a long spire. 

Aug. 5, 1802, the Committee chosen to build the new meet- 
ing house were Mr. Ralph Smith, Joseph Ruggles, Esq., 
Capt. Joseph Williams, Mr. William Blaney & Nathaniel 
Ruggles, Esq. 

At a meeting held April 7, 1803, it was voted that the old 
meeting house be put up at auction and voted that the 
thanks of this parish be given to the middle parish in Rox- 
bury for their kind offer to accomodate our congregation in 
their meeting house during the time that ours is building 
and that the parish committee be directed to express the 
same to the Rev. Mr. Gray. 



172 THE FOURTH MEETING HOUSE 

April 14, 1803, the parish committee reported that they 
had procured Capt. Stoddards new brick building oposite 
the meeting house, unfinished, for the congregation to meet 
in, for devine service, until the 20 of October next for the 
sum of one hundred & twenty dollars. They then adjourned 
for one hour to give time for the sale of the old meeting 
house. The conditions of sale were — The highest bidder to 
be the purchaser. Any dispute arising between two or more 
bidders the premises to be put up again. The building 
to be taken away and the ground around the same to be 
cleared by the first of May next. The purchaser to 
carefully take down the Bell and frame thereof with the 
two clocks & apparatus. The house to be sold as it 
now stands, excepting the moveables, the bell & frame. 
Clocks and apparatus. The underpinning stones & steps to 
be left. The Building, as now mentioned, to be sold on a 
credit of two years with satisfactory security on interest from 
the first of May next. 

The Hon^ie John Read Esq. was the highest bidder and 
it was struck off to him for the sum of Six hundred dollars 
$600. Then after the sale. Voted that the parish committee 
have a plan taken of the pews & their situation in the old 
meeting house before it be removed, and that they advertise 
in the parish, for the pewholders in the old meeting house, 
to exhibit their claims to pews and parts of pews, clearly 
designated, to the parish committee before the first of Octo- 
ber next in order that the compensation voted by the parish 
may be awarded to the proper owners. 

Two days after the Parish committee gave notice that 
they have a plan of the situation of the pews in the old meeting 
house, but this plan cannot be found. 

April 17, 1803, was held the last Meeting of the Congrega- 
tion in the old Meeting House for Public Worship and on 



THE FOURTH MEETING HOUSE 173 

the next sabbath the 24th the first meeting m Capt. Stoddard's 
New house for public worship. 

The plan of rebuilding encountered opposition. Heath's 
manuscript journal under date of April 18, 1803, says : " This 
day the meeting house in the First Parish of this town was 
begun to be pulled down. It was not half worn out, and 
might have been repaired with a saving of $10,000 to the 
parish. It has been sold for $600. Whether every genera- 
tion grows wiser or not, it is evident they grow more fashion- 
able and extravagant." 



174 THE FOURTH MEETING HOUSE 

REV. MR. NEHEMIAH WALTER 

Sketch of his life under Second Meeting House. 

REV. OLIVER PEABODY 

Oliver Peabody, son of Rev. Oliver and Hannah (Baxter) 
Peabody of Natick, vras bom Jan. 15, 1725/6, and a graduate 
of Harvard College in 1745. At a Precinct meeting held May 
28, 1750, it was voted to call Mr. Peabody, who had been 
settled over the little missionary church in Natick, as colleague 
pastor with Rev. Mr. Walter by a vote of 42 yeas against 23 
blanks. He was ordained Pastor Nov. 7, 1750, nearly two 
months after the death of Mr. Walter. He was a preacher 
of acknowledged ability, but his ministry and his life were 
brief, as he died May 29, 1752, about a year and a half from 
the time of his settlement. He was never married. He 
built the house situated on the north side of Eliot Square, 
standing well back from the road and commanding a fine 
view of Boston in the rear, which has since been tenanted 
by his successors Rev. Amos Adams and Rev. Dr. Porter 
(Rev. George Putnam boarded there until his marriage) 
and afterwards owned and occupied by Deacon Charles 
Kiiapp Dillaway until his death. At the time of the siege of 
Boston it was the headquarters of General Thomas. 



REV. AMOS ADAMS 175 



REV. AMOS ADAMS 

Amos Adams, the eldest of eleven children of Henry and 
Jemima (Morse) Adams, was bom in Medfield, Mass., Sept. 
1, 1728, and a graduate of Harvard College in 1752. He 
married (1) Elizabeth Prentiss, Oct. 18, 1753, in Cambridge, 
who died m Aug. 1769; (2) Mrs. Abigail Mears, Feb. 15, 1770, 
in Roxbury, who died the next year; (3) Sarah, daughter of 
Dr. Charles Chauncy of the First Church of Boston, July 16, 
1771, in Boston. 

He was ordained Pastor of this church Sept. 12, 1753. 
He was a very popular preacher. His delivery is said to have 
been animated and energetic, his voice musical and of great 
power. He was praised in other churches as a very accom- 
plished preacher, but many were disgusted with his plainness 
of speech, the length of his discourses, and his very desultory 
observations. All allowed him to discover some knowledge 
of human nature, in the addresses he made to his hearers. 
His preaching was calculated to prick the consciences of 
sinners, though they wanted correct discrimination and 
smoothness of period. His memory was tenacious and his 
reading very extensive. He was an ardent patriot from the 
first, earnestly co-operating in the efforts of the people to stop 
importation from the mother country and to encourage 
domestic manufactures. An instance of the spirit that per- 
vaded all classes at that time is found in the fact that one 
day in September, 1768, nearly sixty young women of Roxbury 
met together at the minister's house and gave Mrs. Adams 
the materials for and the spinning of about one hundred 
score of linen yard. "Such an unusual and beautiful 
appearance," says the chronicler, "drew a great number of 
spectators from town and country, who expressed the highest 



176 THE FOURTH MEETING HOUSE 

satisfaction at such an example of industry." He was scribe 
of the convention of ministers at Watertown, which in May, 
1775, recommended to the people to take up arms. 

He spent his time and strength with pleasure in the service 
of a grateful people, till by the distress of the times, they were 
dispersed and he himseK obliged to leave his habitation and 
pulpit, from which time his labors were increased, but through 
an affection to the people of his charge, he went through 
them with cheerfulness, attending the small remainder of 
his flock every Sunday, though his family was removed to 
a distance among his friends. He not only visited his own 
flock but the soldiers who were stationed among the people 
of his parochial charge. He died Oct. 5, 1775, in Dorchester. 
At the time he was seized with his last sickness, the result of 
preaching in the open air to the soldiers, he was engaged as 
chaplain to Col. David Brewer's Ninth Continental Regiment 
of 900 men, who paid the funeral honors to his remains on 
the Saturday following his death. The Boston Gazette in 
the notice of his death says, " His family as well as his church 
and people now driven into various parts of the country, 
refuse to be comforted. " 

His publications never appeared to satisfy the expectations 
of those who heard them from the pulpit; they needed his 
animated delivery. Among his published sermons are the 
following: — On the Death of Madam Lucy Dudley, 1756; 
Artillery Election, 1759; Thanksgiving for the Reduction of 
Quebec, 1759; at the Ordination of S. Kingsbury, 1761, and 
of John Wyeth, 1766; The Only Hope and Refuge of Sinners, 
1767; Dudleian Lecture entitled Diocesan Episcopacy at 
Harvard College, 1770; the manuscript of this last is now in 
the library of the college; it bears testimony to the learning 
of the writer. The discourses which gave him the most 
reputation were two upon religious liberty, 1767, and two on 



REV. AMOS ADAMS 177 

the general fast, April 6, 1769, in which he gave "A Concise 
Historical View of the Difficulties, Hardships and Perils 
which Attended the Planting and Progressive Improvement 
in New England, with a Particular Account of its Long and 
Destructive Wars, Expensive Expeditions, etc. " These were 
reprinted in England in 1770, not as sermons, but with the 
title of a "Concise History of New England." The evan- 
gelical sentiments are curtailed. We see little more than 
the dry bones of a skeleton not well hung together. All his 
printed discourses are bound in two volumes, 8vo, which he 
presented to the College Library. 



178 THE FOURTH MEETING HOUSE 



REV. ELIPHALET PORTER, D.D. 

Eliphalet Porter, son of John and Mary (Huntington) 
Porter, was born June 11, 1758, in Abington, now North 
Bridgewater, Mass. 

He was beneath the common stature, straight and well 
proportioned. His hair, which was of chestnut color, was 
little if any changed at his death. Neither he nor his father 
ever used spectacles. 

He entered Harvard College in 1773 and was graduated 
in 1777, the youngest of three brothers in the same class. 

He held a highly respectable rank as a scholar, and was 
distinguished by the sobriety and correctness of his habits. 
His theological studies he prosecuted under the direction of 
his father. 

The pulpit of the First Church of Roxbury had been 
vacant since the death of the Rev. Amos Adams in 1775, and, 
having heard various candidates, the precinct finally, in 1782, 
extended a nearly unanimous call (61 to 1; that one vote says 
"not Disposed to concur") to Mr. Porter, of which in due 
time he signified his acceptance. He was ordained Pastor 
of this church Oct. 2, 1782, the sermon being preached by 
his venerable father, the charge delivered by Dr. Samuel 
Cooper of Boston, and the Rev. Mr. Abbot of the second 
parish in Roxbury presented the Right Hand of Fellowship. 

His ordination created considerable opposition from some 
of the first families of Roxbury. Dr. Williams joined the 
Episcopal Church. He showed a decided opposition to Dr. 
Porter till on arriving at the age of 70 he gave a dinner and 
invited Dr. Porter for the first time to his house. Captain 
Joseph Williams, another principal opposer, was converted 
into a firm friend by a funeral sermon delivered by Dr. Porter 



REV. ELIPHALET PORTER, D.D. 179 



on the death of two sons of Captain Williams, and when the 
Doctor shortly after went to see him, he greeted him most 
cordially. 

Although in the pulpit he exhibited few, if any, of the 
characteristics of a popular preacher of the present day, few 
modern preachers are listened to more attentively or regarded 
with more reverence than he was. The effect he produced 
was not that of excitement; he was not excitable himself, 
and was therefore not likely to produce excitement in others. 
There was a calmness and solemnity in his manner which 
gave to his discourses a peculiar impressiveness. He was 
never dogmatical or bigoted. He had clear and settled 
opinions on the controverted points of theology, and was 
always ready to sustain them; but he had no taste for con- 
troversy, and therefore rarely preached on subjects which 
occasioned it. 

When religious disputes were started he had a remarkable 
faculty of discerning points of difference, of allowing to each 
controversialist his proper merit and of bringing the subject 
to an amicable decision. 

His devotional services were highly appropriate though 
but little varied. 

Of his pastoral character it was suited to the times in which 
he lived. Frequent visits, for social intercourse merely, were 
not expected; for these he had neither taste nor fitness; his 
manners were grave and did not encourage familiarity, nor 
had he that easy flow of language so essential to sustain a 
conversation on the familiar topics of the day. But in the 
chamber of the sick, or wherever there was affliction which 
the sympathies of a pastor could alleviate, he was a constant 
and welcome visitor. When he uttered anything it was 
obvious that it was in words fitly spoken. 

In October, 1801, he was married to Martha, daughter of 



180 THE FOURTH MEETING HOUSE 

Major Nathaniel Ruggles of Roxbury. She died without 
issue in December 1814. 

In 1807 he was honored with the degree of Doctor of 
Divinity by Harvard College. 

Rev. Charles Lowell writes of him as follows : — 

" My recollections of Dr. Porter are of course very distinct. 
He was the minister of my childhood at Roxbury. I attended 
his catechising, which was held once a year. We recited the 
Assembly's catechism. Dr. Porter was usually taciturn when 
I knew him in Roxbury. I remember it was a subject of 
great solicitude with my sisters, how they should entertain 
him, when he made a visit at our house. When I knew him 
as a brother minister, he bore his full part in conversation. 
He was a man of good sense and good judgment, and, in 
addition to this, he had a good deal of what is termed dry wit 
or humor, though he looked so sedate, not to say grave; and 
he had great shrewdness and adroitness in parrying a pleasant 
thrust at him. 

" He was on a visit to one of his parishioners one afternoon, 
where there was a little party of young people. The lady of 
the house told the Doctor, hesitatingly, that the young folks 
would be glad to have a little dance with the aid of the piano- 
forte, but were afraid to do it lest he should be offended. 
*Oh, no,' said he, 'let them dance; only I hope they will 
excuse me, as I have my boots on.' " 

May 31, 1810, Dr. Porter preached the Annual Sermon at 
the Convention of the Congregational Ministers of Massachu- 
setts, and this perhaps may be considered the most prominent 
event of his life. The controversy between the two parties, 
known as the "orthodox " and the liberal, was really at that 
time no new thing ; but, so far as the latter class at least were 
concerned, it had rarely, if ever, been introduced into the 
pulpit, especially on any great public occasion. Dr. Porter, 



REV. ELIPHALET PORTER, D.D. 181 

on the occasion referred to, stepped aside from the course of 
his predecessors, and, without making any very distinct state- 
ment of his own views, brought out a bold and earnest defence 
of some of the general principles for which the liberal party 
were contending. The sermon produced great excitement 
at the time, and it has been acknowledged, by those who 
disliked as well as those who liked it, to be the ablest of 
Dr. Porter's printed productions. It is important now, chiefly 
as having marked a sort of epoch in the controversy and as 
indicating the then existing state of theological opinion. 

The subject of the Discourse was " The Simplicity that is 
in Christ, and the Danger of its being corrupted." 

Its general spirit and character may be sufliciently indicated 
by the following extract : — 

But it will be asked if the simple proposition which has been mentioned 
(Jesus of Nazareth is the Christ) is all that we have to demand in the way 
of Gospel belief. What are we to think of those articles of faith which have 
been long received in the Church, and considered, perhaps generally, as 
fundamentals, and essential to be believed? What are we to think, not of 
those doctrines which have been exploded by Protestants, and which have 
had, and now have, their turn of being viewed as essential, more extensively 
than any others; but of those disputed articles of faith which have been 
retained or taught and required in the Catechisms and Confessions of Protes- 
tant and Reformed Churches, and in particular among ourselves ? Or, to 
be more explicit still, for I wish to be understood, what are we to think of 
the doctrines of original sin and total depravity; of imputation of sin and 
righteousness; of a trinity in unity; of the mere humanity, superangelical 
natiu-e or absolute Deity of Christ; of particular and general redemption; 
of unconditional decrees of personal election and reprobation; of moral 
inability, and the total passiveness of man in regeneration; of the special 
and irresistible operation of the Holy Spirit ; of perseverance, or the impossi- 
bility of the believer's total apostacy ; and, to mention no more, the absolute 
eternity of the torments to which the wicked will be sentenced at the last day. 

My individual belief in respect to the truth or error of these points, can be 
of but little importance, and my subject no way requires that it should be 
given. It rather becomes me to follow the example which has been some- 
times set by learned judges on the bench, when difficult questions suggested 
themselves, but whose decision the main subject before them did not require; 



182 THE FOURTH MEETING HOUSE 

and prudently say, — Neque teneo, neque refello. But it is pertinent to 
the object of this discourse, and consonant to my serious and dehberate 
con^^[ction, to observe that I cannot place my finger on any one article in the 
list of doctrines just mentioned, the belief or the rejection of which I con- 
sider as essential to the Christian faith or character. 

I beheve that an innmnerable company of Christians who never heard of 
these articles, or who were di\aded in their opinions respecting them, have 
fallen asleep in Jesus; and that imnmierable of the same description are 
following after. 

Rev. Dr. A. C. Thompson in his Eliot Memorial says, 
" The transition of this church from its Calvinistic attitude 
to Liberalism appears to have taken place at the close of 
the eighteenth century and the first years of the nineteenth. 
This sermon was among the earlier public disclosures of 
a change which had been quietly going on in this neighbor- 
hood." 

As a citizen, his mfluence was widely and beneficially 
felt. A man so distinguished for great practical wisdom 
as he was, could not escape frequently calls for his counsel 
and assistance in the secular affairs of the to^Ti. In the 
support and management of institutions for objects of 
charity, or for the promotion of education and religion, his 
services and counsels were conspicuously useful and in con- 
stant request. The various offices of trust, to which he was 
called, were fulfilled with a characteristic caution, prudence, 
and fidelity, which obtained and justified unlimited confi- 
dence. 

He was a highly valued member of the Overseers of Har- 
vard University, and in 1818 was elected a Fellow of the 
University and until his death a member of the Corporation. 
The period of his connection with this institution was one of 
great difficulty, and he took his full share of the labors and 
responsibilities incident to his official position. His affection 
for the college was ardent and constant. The notice of his 



REV. ELIPHALET PORTER, D.D. 183 

death on the records of the Corporation manifests their 
strong sense of " the great loss our hterary and rehgious com- 
munity have sustained by the death of this learned divine and 
exemplary Christian, vs^hose intelligence, fidelity and zeal 
in support of the interests of literature, and especially of 
those connected with the prosperity of Harvard University, 
they have had uniform occasion to witness during the 
many years he has been one of the members of this Board." 

By his will he bequeathed one thousand dollars to the 
Theological School of Harvard College. 

He was Treasurer for many years of the Massachusetts 
Congregational Charitable Society, whose funds are appro- 
priated to the support of ministers' widows and orphans. 
In this trust he gave great satisfaction. He was an original 
trustee of the Massachusetts Bible Society founded in 1809. 
He was among the founders of the Society for the Suppres- 
sion of Intemperance. For many years he was moderator of 
the Boston Association, by whom he was greatly valued for 
judicious counsel. He continued his stated labors with- 
out much interruption till he was past seventy, when it be- 
came apparent to both himself and others that his strength 
was inadequate to the full discharge of the duties of his 
office. Accordingly it was agreed that he should have a 
colleague; and Mr. George Putnam was called and settled, 
with his hearty approbation. The relations which existed 
between the Senior and Junior Pastors were mutually kind 
and agreeable, and when the former died, the latter, in a 
Funeral Discourse, rendered a warm and grateful tribute to 
the memory of his venerated friend. During the three and 
one-half years he had a colleague he preached but eleven 
sermons. 

The 7**1 of October, 1832, the Sabbath next succeeding 
the completion of fifty years of his ministry. Dr. Porter 



184 THE FOURTH MEETING HOUSE 

preached a sermon containmg some historical sketches of his 
parish, and particularly a review of his own ministerial 
labors. Having referred to his Ordination he says: — 
The solemn transactions of that day were adapted to excite 
reflection, lead to resolutions, and make impressions on the 
mind, which half a century ought not, and, as the speaker 
trusts, has not, wholly effaced from his mind. But he 
laments that they have not had a more constant, powerful 
and salutary effect on his life and labors. He laments 
that he has not better fulfilled the ministry he received of 
the Lord, and better performed his vows. A sense of his 
many neglects, and defects in duty, he can truly say, is the 
greatest burden of his life; and he would this day humble 
himself before God, and in the presence of the great con- 
gregation, for his want of greater diligence and activity, 
constancy, faithfulness, and zeal, in the discharge of the 
work given him to do. 

His death occurred on Saturday, December 7, 1833, and 
his funeral was attended on the succeeding Wednesday, by 
a large concourse. The sermon, by his surviving colleague, 
was from Genesis xxv, 8, and was published. A list of his 
publications includes: Thanksgiving Discourse of the 
Peace, 1783; Discourse to the Roxbury Charitable Society, 
1794; Fast Discourse, 1798; Sermon on the Death of Gov. 
Sumner, 1799; Eulogy on Washington, 1800; Discourse 
before the Humane Society, 1802; Sermon at the Ordina- 
tion of Rev. Charles Lowell, Jan. 1, 1806; Before Society 
for Propagating the Gospel, Nov. 5, 1807; Convention Ser- 
mon, May 31, 1810; Artillery Election Sermon, June 1, 
1812; Sermon at the Ordination of Rev. J. G. Palfrey, 
June 17, 1818. 



69 



70 



71 



72 



73 



74 



75 



76 



l~l 



78 



79 



60 



61 




68676665 



PULPIT 



64 


<=ARSONAGE 
1 


63 


2 


62 


3 


6 1 


A 


60 


5 


59 


6 


58 


7 


57 


8 


56 


9 


55 


10 


54 


1 1 


53 


12 


52 


1 3 


5 1 


14 


50 


1 5 


49 


I 6 



85 



80 



87 



86 



108 107106 105 



32 


33 


31 


34 


30 


35 


29 


36 


28 


37 


27 


38 


26 


39 


25 


40 


24 


4 1 


23 


42 


22 


43 


21 


44 


20 


45 


1 9 


46 


1 a 


47 


1 7 


48 



89 



90 



LAN OF THE FLOOR OF THE PRESENT 
MEETING HOUSE, 1804. 



104 



103 



102 



'00 



99 



98 



97 



96 



95 



94 



93 



92 



DEACONS 185 



DEACONS 

Mr. Edward Rttggles, see Second Meeting House. 

Mr. Samuel Gridley, see Second Meeting House. 

Mr. Stephen Williams, son of Capt. Stephen and Mary 
(Capen) Williams, b. in Roxbury March 9, 1701/2, died there 
in 1773; m. Sarah Payson. Ordained Deacon Dec. 23, 
1753, and served until his death. He was owner of Pew 
No. 26 in the Third Meeting House. 

Mr. Ebenezer Craft, son of Ebenezer and Elizabeth 
(Weld) Craft, b. in Roxbury May 22, 1705; died there Sept. 
1, 1791; m. Susanna White. A cordwainer by trade and 
also extensively engaged in farming. He was a large 
land owner in Roxbury and adjoining towns. Ordained 
Deacon Dec. 23, 1753, and served until his death. He 
was owner of Pew No. 18 in the Third Meeting House. 

Mr. William Gridley, son of Samuel and 

Gridley, b. in Roxbury in 1732; buried there Dec. 15, 1786; 

m. Lydia . Ordained Deacon Apr. 4, 1773, and 

served until his death. 

Mr. Samuel Sumner, son of John and Susannah (Stevens) 
Sumner, b. in Roxbury, Dec. 29, 1732; died there Oct. 11, 
1813; m. (1) Susannah Boylston, (2) Elizabeth Bugbee. 
He was active in town affairs and one of the Committee of 
Correspondence in the Revolution. Ordained Deacon 
May 14, 1779, and served until his death. He was owner 
of Pew 91 in the Fifth Meeting House. 

Mr. David Weld, son of Daniel and Elizabeth (Tucker) 
Weld, b. in 1734; d. in 1821; m. Sarah Davis. He held 
various town offices. Representative. One of the Com- 
mittee of Correspondence in the Revolution. Collector in 
1785. Ordained Deacon Dec. 5, 1785, and served until his 
death. 



186 THE FOURTH MEETING HOUSE 



Mr. Nehemiah Munroe, son of William and Sarah 
(Mason) Munroe, b. in Roxbury, July 1, 1747; d. there 
Aug. 2, 1828; m. Avis Hammond. Cabinet maker. Held 
town offices. Trustee of the Roxbury Latm School. Mem- 
ber of the Parish Committee. Ordained Deacon March 9, 
1787, and served until his death. Owner of Pew No. 71, 
Fifth Meeting House. 

Mr. Joshua Felton, son of Nathaniel and Anna (Jacobs) 
Felton, b. in Roxbury, March 21, 174^; died there Dec. 17, 
1816; m. (1) Mary Wardell, (2) Mrs. Lois Pattee. Black- 
smith. It is said he attended church every Sunday, except 
one-half day, for 37 years. He kept a diary of every event 
that transpired in Roxbury for many years. Member of the 
Standing Committee of the Roxbury Charitable Society. 
Ordained Deacon June 10, 1787, and served until his death. 
Owner of Pew No. 60, Lower Floor, Fifth Meeting House. 

CHURCH MEMBERS 

According to the church records the Parish Committee 
gave notice that they had a plan of the situation of the 
pews in this meeting house, but this plan cannot be found. 
Few transfers of pews can be found on the records, the 
earliest being dated Nov. 25, 1788, and there are only three 
instances where the exact situation of each pew is known. 
Li 1802 there were 68 pews on the floor and eight square 
pews in the galleries. 

Feb. 1, 1746/7. John Williams. 
May 24. 1747. Katharine Williams. 
Jime 28, 1747. John Salmon. 
Aug. 29, 1747. Jeane Linsdey. 
Nov. 21, 1747. — 

Mary Manser. 

Rebecca Bidford. 
Jan. 3, 1747/8. Samuel Williams. 



CHURCH MEMBERS 187 

Jan. 17, 1747/8. Anne Tucker. 

Mch. 20, 1747/8. Phillis, negro servant of Mr. Stedman. 

Sept. 25, 1748. Lydia Gamut. 

Oct. 22, 1748. — 

Daniel Sever. 

Abiel Sever. 
Nov. 11, 1748. Joseph Bodoono. 
Feb. 26, 1748/9. — 

Thomas Cheney. 

Deborah Cheney. 
Nov. 5, 1749. Joseph Ruggles. 
June 30, 1750. — 

Samuel Weld. 

Ebenezer Pierepont, Jr. 

John Williams, Jr. 

Ohver Peabody, Jr., our Pastor. 
Feb. 24, 1750/1. John Richards. 
Mch. 10, 1750/1. — 

John Dean. 

Edvpard King. 
Apr. 28, 1751. — 

Katharine Ruggles. 

Mary Smith. 
May 5, 1751. Edward Kelton. 
July 21, 1751. Obadiah Coohdge. 
Aug. 11, 1751. — 

Dorothy Holbrook. 

Ann Williams. 
Oct. 6, 1751. Thomas Dana. 
Jan. 19, 1751/2. Jonathan Sever. 
Sept. 12, 1753. Amos Adams, our Pastor. 
Sept. 23, 1753. — 

Jeremiah Mosher. 

Isabel Mosher, his wife. 
Oct. 14, 1753. Edmund Weld. 
Nov. 11, 1753. — 

Abigail Reves. 

Abigail Bosson. 
Nov. 18, 1753. Joseph Howard. 
Dec. 23, 1753. Deacon Stephen Williams, recomd, 
Dec. 30, 1753. Sarah Weld. 

Jan. 27, 1754. Isaac Gardiner of Brookhne, H.C. 1747. 
June 16, 1754. Mary Shortlief, wife of Henry. 



188 THE FOURTH MEETING HOUSE 

July 14, 1754. Joseph Williams, Jr. 

Sept. 29, 1754. John Hewet. 

Oct. 6, 1754. Jonas Meriam, H.C. 1753. Settled over Church in Newton. 

Dec. 22, 1754. John Slack. 

Feb. 16, 1755. — 

Elizabeth Williams. 

Anna Williams. 
Apr. 20, 1755. — 

Anne Pierpont. 

Mary Pierpont. 
Jime 8, 1755. Hannah Williams. 
Jxme 15, 1755. Jane Williams. 
June 22, 1755. — 

William Heath. 

Prudence Heath. 
June 29, 1755. Jeremiah Williams. 
Sept. 7, 1755. — 

Jeremiah Parker. 

Martha Parker. 
Dec. 21, 1755. Sarah Prince. 
Dec. 28, 1755. Ann McClure. 
Jan. 18, 1756. Eleanor Bosson, wife of John. 
Feb. 22, 1756. — 

Ebenezer Cheney. 

Mary Seaver. 

Susannah Seaver. 
Mch. 21, 1756. — 

Ebenezer May. 

Sarah Duff. 

Elizabeth Walker. 
Apr. 17, 1756. — 

Increase Sumner, b. June 9, 1713; d. Nov. 28, 1774; m. Sarah Sharp. 
Farmer, selectman, Coroner for the County of Suffolk, Father of 
Governor Increase Sumner. 

Job Walker. 
April 18, 1756. Fortune, a negro man belonging to Capt. NeweU. 
May 16, 1756. — 

Margaret Swan. 

Hannah Whitney. 

Margaret Sewall. 

Dinah, a negro woman belonging to Deacon Crafts. 
June 13, 1756. — 

Sarah Bishop, dismissed to Uxbridge. 



CHURCH MEMBERS 189 

. ± 

Jonathan Hall, dismissed from Medford Church, and dismissed to 

Church in Hadley in 1771. 
Mercy Hall, dismissed from Medford Church. 
July 11, 1756. Mary Seaver. 

Aug. 1, 1756. — 

John Searl. 

Margret Searl. 
Aug. 7, 1756. Abigail Parker. 
Sept. 5, 1756. Sarah Prentice. 

Sept. 12, 1756. — 

William Gridley, see Deacons. 
Lydia Gridley. 

Keturah, a negro woman belonging to Thos. Seaver. 
Oct. 31, 1756. — 
Mary Grigs. 
Sarah Doubt. 

William Heath, jun., b. Mch. 7, 1737; d. Jan. 24, 1814; m. Sarah Lock- 
wood. Lived on his ancestral farm settled upon by William Heath 
in 1632. Capt. and then Col. of the SuflFolk Regiment. Commander 
of the Ancient and Honorable Artillery Co. in 1770. Member of the 
General Assembly. Member of the Committee of Correspondence 
and Safety, Member of the Provincial Congress 1774-5. On Dec. 
8, 1774, he was commissioned provincial brigadier general and was 
the only general officer on the field at the battle of Lexington, Apr. 
19, 1775, and as such directed the pursuit of Earl Percy. Promoted 
Major General, then Brigadier General and Major General of the 
Continental Army. Member of the convention of Mass. that adopted 
the Federal Constitution. State Senator. Probate Judge. Owner 
of Pew No. 76, Lower Floor, Fifth Meeting House. 
Nov. 7, 1756. — 
Samuel Woods. 

Mercy Woods, wife of Samuel. 
Dec. 12, 1756. Elizabeth Williams. 
Feb. 6, 1757. Sarah Muncrief. 
Mch. 20, 1757. James Orr. 
April 10, 1757. — 
Solomon Ayers. 

EUzabeth Ayers, wife of Solomon. 
April 17, 1757. — 
John Dinsdill. 
Abigail Dinsdill, wife of John. 



190 THE FOURTH MEETING HOUSE 

May 1, 1757. — 

Joseph Weld. 

Mary Weld. 
May 22, 1757. Mary Benjamin. 
July 31, 1757. — 

William Blaney. 

Ebenezer Davis. 

Sarah Davis. 
Jan. 15, 1758. — 

Moses Winchester. 

Mary Winchester, wife of Moses. 
June 11, 1758. — 

Elizabeth Stevens. 

Hannah Stevens. 
July 9, 1758. William Pierpont. 
Oct. 1, 1758. — 

Mary Bass. 

Sarah Gore. 
Nov. 26, 1758. — 

Samuel Sumner, Jr., see Deacons. 

Susannah Sumner, wife of Samuel. 
Dec. 3, 1758. John Mears. 
Dec. 24, 1758. — 

Joseph Williams. 

Mary Williams. 
Apr. 2, 1759. James Mears. 
Oct. 28, 1759. Mary Chamberlayn. 
Jan. 13, 1760. Sarah Heath. 
Feb. 10, 1760. — 

Joseph Worsley. 

Benjamin Pierpont. 
Feb. 17, 1760. — 

Thomas Rajonour. 

Mary Raymour, wife of Thomas. 

Ebenezer Dorr, member of Committee of Correspondence and Safety. 

Anne Dorr. 

James How. 

Ebenezer Pierpont. 
Aug. 3, 1760. Jane Foster. 
Aug. 31, 1760. Isaac Curtiss, 
Oct. 26, 1760. — 

Anne Curtiss. 

Thaddeus Partridge. 



CHURCH MEMBERS 191 



Apr. 12, 1761. Jane Partridge. 
June 7, 1761. Thomas Williams. 
June 21, 1761. Richard Fox. 
July 5, 1761. — 

Sarah Williams. 

Rebecca Winslow. 
Aug. 2, 1761. — 

Joseph Payson. 

Abigail Payson. 
Sept. 13, 1761. Aaron Davis, b. Oct. 18, 1735; d. Oct. 12, 1773;m. Susannah 
Craft. A merchant on Long Wharf, Boston, as well as in Roxbury 
•with his brother Moses Davis. Captain First Train of Artillery. 
]\Iember Precinct Committee March 27, 1771. 
Oct. 4, 1761. William Thompson. 
Dec. 13, 1761. Robert Williams. 
Dec. 27, 1761. Enoch Hancock. 
Jan. 17, 1762. — 

Caleb HajTvard, dismissed to Milton. 

Susannah Davis, wife of Aaron. 
Mch. 14, 1762. Richard Robinson. 
May 29, 1762. Henry Payson. 
June 6, 1762. William Patrick. 
Sept. 26, 1762. Phillip Searle. 

Oct. 3, 1762. Tobias, a negro man belonging to William Williams. 
Oct. 17, 1762. — 

Nicholas Seaver. 

Mary Seaver. 

Deborah Searle. 

Ruth Searle. 
Nov. 21, 1762. Ebenezer W^illiams, H. C. 1760. Taught in the Free 
Schoole 1761-3. Dismissed from his Pastoral Relation to this 
church Oct. 20, 1765, and recommended to Fahnouth. 
April 10, 1763. — 

Daniel Bugbee jr. 

Mary Bugbee. 
June 26, 1763. Jonathan Parker, farmer, a member of the Boston Tea 
Party, & one of those to Secret two cannon belonging to the British 
Artillery taken from the gun-house on Boston Common. 
Oct. 23, 1763. — 

Thomas Dana. 

Martha Dana. 
Nov. 20, 1763. — 

John Slack. 

Elizabeth Slack. 



192 THE FOURTH MEETING HOUSE 

Jan. 15, 1764. Stephen Williams. 
Feb. 12, 1764. Hannah Woodward. 
April 8, 1764. — 

Mehitable Shirley. 

Theoda Williams, wife of Stephen. 

Elizabeth Sumner. 
May 6, 1764. — 

Mary Parker. 

Ann Mears. 

John Bowen. 

Mehitable Bowen. 
Aug. 26, 1764. — 

Daniel Bugbee. 

Joseph Williams, b. June 23, 1738; d. Mch. 5, 1822; m. (1) Susannah 
May, (2) Mercy Davis. Called Captain. Member Precinct Com- 
mittee Apr. 14, 1783. Owner of Pew No. 26, Lower Floor, Fifth 
Meeting House. 

Susannah Williams, wife of Joseph. 
Oct. 7, 1764. Ishmael and Venus, negro servants of Joseph Ruggles. 
Oct. 28, 1764. Sarah Fellows. 
Nov. 18, 1764. — 

Moses Dorr. 

Eleanor Dorr. 
Mch. 10, 1765. Deborah Bosson. 
April 7, 1765. William Bugbee. 
May 5, 1765. John Brewer. 
May 26, 1765. Abijah Seaver. 
June 9, 1765. Paul Gore. 
Feb. 2, 1766. Daniel Tombes. 
Mch. 23, 1766. James Cornish. 
Apr. 13, 1766. James Bird. 

July 20, 1766. Noah Davis, dismissed to Second Church in Roxbury. 
July 27, 1766. — 

Benjamin May. 

Mary May. 
Aug. 24, 1766. Elizabeth Davis. 
Aug. 31, 1766. Andrew Floyd. 
Oct. 19, 1766. Elizabeth Johnson. 
Nov. 23, 1766. — 

Joshua Felton, see Deacons. 

Mary Thompson. 
Dec. 21, 1766. Phillis, negro woman of Capt. John Williams. 
Feb. 15, 1767. Eliphalet Downer. 



CHURCH MEMBERS 193 

Apr. 5, 1767. — 

Elizabeth Davis. 

Abigail Davis. 

Abigail Parker. 
May 3, 1767. Brill Johnson. 
May 10, 1767. Mary Doyle. 
Aug. 30, 1767. Joseph Smith. 
Sept. 13, 1767. Benjamin Baker. 
Oct. 25, 1767. Joseph Muncrieff. 
Dec. 13, 1767. — 

Sarah Gridley. 

Martha Gridley. 

Susannah Gridley. 
Feb. 7, 1768. Hannah Pierpont. 
Feb. 28, 1768. James Gould. 
March 27, 1768. Hannah How. 
Aug. 2, 1768. — 

Major Nathaniel Ruggles, son of Capt. Samuel and Martha (Wood- 
bridge) Ruggles, b. in Roxbury abt. 1748; died there Jan. 14, 1780; 
m. Martha Williams, known as "Aunt Major." They were the 
parents of Mrs. Martha Porter, wife of Rev. Eliphalet Porter, D.D. 
Major of the Suffolk Regiment in 1772. Filled many important 
pubhc stations. Especially attentive to the wants of the soldiers in 
Roxbury. His house, cor. Eliot Square and Highland St., was the 
Headquarters of the army officers during the siege of Boston. Owner 
of Pew No. 18, Lower Floor, Fifth Meeting House. 

Martha Ruggles, wife of Major Nathaniel Ruggles. 

Rebecca Ruggles. 
Aug. 7, 1768. Mary Bosson. 
Aug. 28, 1768. — 

Francis Dana. 

Robert Champney. 
Sept. 18, 1768. Sarah Coolege. 
Sept. 25, 1768. Samuel Heath. 
Dec. 18, 1768. Richard Rowen. 
Mch. 5, 1769. — 

Peleg Heath. 

Patience Heath. 
Mch. 23, 1769. Martha Mills. 
Apr. 2, 1769. John Bowen. 
Apr. 30, 1769. — 

John Pierpont. 

Nathaniel Eaton. 



194 THE FOURTH MEETING HOUSE 

July 15, 1769. Hannah Tucker. 
July 23, 1769. 

Joseph Heath. 

Martha Dana. 
Aug. 20, 1769. — 

Increase Sumner, b. Nov. 27, 1746 ; d. June 7, 1799 ; m. Elizabeth Hyslop. 
H. C. 1767. Taught in the Free Schoole 1768-1770. Lawyer. Rep- 
resentative. Senator for Suffolk County. Elected to Congress in 
1782, but declined the position. Associate Justice of the Supreme 
Judicial Coiu-t of Mass. Governor of the State of Massachusetts. 

Samuel Cheney, H. C. 1767. 

Lydia Coolidge. 
Sept. 17, 1769. Mary Felton. 
Oct. 8, 1769. — 

Thomas Weld. 

Abigail Dow. 

Deborah Cheney. 

Abigail Mears. 

Catherine Parker. 

John Davis Williams, b. Dec. 25, 1739; d. May 26, 1807; m. Hannah 
Da\'is. Farmer. The farm he occupied was originally owned by 
his emigrant ancestor, Robert Williams, and on it originated the 
Willtams Favorite apple. One of a committee of seven to petition 
Lt. Gov. Hutchinson for removal of troops. Owner of Pew No. 4, 
Lower Floor, Fifth Meeting House. 

Hannah Williams, w. of John Dav-is Williams. 

John Williams, b. May 27, 1744; d. June 19, 1809; m. Mary Sumner. 
Merchant. Owner of Pew No. 39, Lower Floor, Fifth Meeting House. 

Mary Williams, wife of John. 
Oct. 8, 1769. — 

Priscilla Craft. 

Sarah Craft. 

John Graeton, son of John Graeton, the last landlord of the Greyhound 
Tavern, and Catherine (Lenton) Graeton, bap. March 10, 1740/1 ; 
d. Dec. 16, 1783 ; m. Sarah Humpreys. A prominent Son of Liberty. 
Served in the battle of Lexington. Lieut, of the Governor's Guard. 
Major, Lt. Col. & Col. of Col. Heath's regiment. Afterwards 
commissioned Brigadier Greneral. 

Sarah Graeton, wife of John. 
Nov. 12, 1769. — 

Anne Williams. 

Mary Smith. 

Rebecca Champney. 

Clarissa Kent. 



CHURCH MEMBERS 195 

Dec. 10, 1769. Mary Hayward. 
Feb. 4, 1770. Lemuel May. 
Met. 4, 1770. — 

Joshua Bowen. 

Joshua Bradley. 

Sarah Bradley. 

Mary Gore. 
Apr. 1, 1770. — 

Nathaniel Felton, member of Committee of Correspondence and 
Safety. 

Mary Felton. 
Apr. 29, 1770. Mary Shed. 
Dec. 2, 1770. — 

Moses Davis, b. Apr. 29, 1744 ; d. June 2, 1823 ; m. (1) Hannah Pierpont, 
(2) Rebecca Sharp. Merchant. A partner of his brother Aaron 
DaAis. A soldier of the Revolution. Member of the Parish Com- 
mittee Nov. 11, 1793. Owner of Pew No. 66, Lower Floor, Fifth 
Meeting House. 

Hannah Williams. 

Mary NeweU. 
Dec. 16, 1770. Samuel Gore. 
Feb. 3, 1771. Abigail Newell. 
Feb. 10, 1771. Ebenezer Wales. 
Feb. 24, 1771. — 

Benjamin Cotterel. 

Mary Cotterel, w. of Benjamin. 
Mch. 10, 1771. Anne Johnson. 
Oct. 13, 1771. — 

Jemima Winslow. 

Sarah W^illiams. 

Abigail WiUiams. 
Nov. 10, 1771. Abigail Whitney. 
Jan. 5, 1772. — 

Samuel Langley. 

Esther (Mayo) Langley, wife of Samuel. 
Mch. 28, 1772. Lucy Sumner. 
Apr. 12, 1772. Samuel Whittemore, jr. 
Apr. 26, 1772. James White. 
May 24, 1772. — 

Margaret Seaver. 

Samuel Bowen. 

Mary Bowen. 

Elizabeth Adams. 



196 THE FOURTH MEETING HOUSE 

July 5, 1772. Aaron Blaney. 
Aug. 16, 1772. — 

Stephen Williams, b. Dec. 16, 1746; d. 1807; m. (1) Mary Langdon, 
(2) Lois Cunningham. Town Clerk of Roxbury. Tin ware mer- 
chant. His property was destroyed by the British during the Revolu- 
tion and he became a farmer at Canterbm-y, now Forest Hills, later 
resuming his old business. Owner of Pew No. 37, Lower Floor, 
Fifth Meeting House. 
Mary Williams, wife of Stephen. 
Sept. 27, 1772. — 
Samuel Croxfort. 

John Ward, b. Dec. 6, 1748; d. Apr. 29, 1828; m. (1) Martha Shed, 
(2) Mrs. Elizabeth (Ruggles) Brewer. Farmer. Owner of Pew 
No. 11, Lower Floor, Fifth Meeting House. 
Oct. 4, 1772. — 

Nathaniel Scott, m. Sally . Manufacturer. Owner of Pew No. 

63, Lower Floor, Fifth Meeting House. 
Stephen Jennings. 
Mary Jennings. 
Nov. 8, 1772. Mary Cheney. 
Feb. 7, 1773. — 
Noah Parker. 
Eleanor Parker. 
Feb. 28, 1773. — 
Caleb HajTvard. 
Catherine Williams. 
Mch. 21, 1773. Enoch Hyde. 
Apr. 25, 1773. — 
Job Bearce. 
Abigail Parker. 
Sarah Parker. 
May 23, 1773. — 
Thomas Clark. 

Ebenezer Bugbee, b. Jan. 28, 1750/1 ; d. Jan. 12, 1834 ; m. Mary White. 
Currier. Owner of Pew No. 49, Lower Floor, Fifth Meeting House. 
Aug. 22, 1773. Nathan Shed. 
Nov. 7, 1773. — 

Charles Belknap. 
Mary Belknap. 
Jan. 4, 1774. Rev. Jonathan Bowman, dismissed from Dorchester. 
Jan. 30, 1774. — 
Sarah Kelton. 
Anna Pike. 



CHURCH MEMBERS 197 

Feb. 20, 1774. John Whitney. 
Mch. 27, 1774. — 

Joanna Williams. 

Hannah Himt. 
Apr. 17, 1774. Joseph Payson. 
May 22, 1774. — 

Levy Whitman. 

Patty Howard, dismissed from Pomfret. 
Oct. 9, 1774. — 

Benjamin Stevens. 

William Felton. 

Eunice Felton. 

Anna Pierpont. 

Mary Pierpont. 

James Ireland. 
Nov. 6, 1774. — 

Nathaniel Healy. 

Joseph Ruggles, son of Capt. Joseph and Rebecca (Curtis) Ruggles, b. 
Dec. 16, 1750; d. May 15, 1811 ; m. Joanna WiUiams. Lived where 
the Norfolk House now stands. He and his brother Nathaniel kept 
the store next to the Parsonage. Parish Treasurer. Member of 
Parish Coromittee. Member of Roxbury Charitable Society. Owner 
of Pew No. 94, Lower Floor, Fifth Meeting House. 

Sarah Ruggles. 

Samuel Weld. 
Dec. 4, 1774. — 

Samuel Heath. 

Mary Heath. 
Dec. 25, 1774. Joseph Richardson. 
Jan. 1, 1775. Ehzabeth WilUams. 
Jan. 22, 1775. James Howe. 
Feb. 12, 1775. Daniel Brown. 

Mch. 5 1775. — 
Ephraim Hyde. 
Abigail Hyde. 

Apr. 9, 1775. — 

Adam Patty. 

Louis Patty. 
June 13, 1779. — 

Thomas Dana. 

Capt. Eben Gore. 



198 THE FOURTH MEETING HOUSE 

July 11, 1779. Isaac Belknap. 
Oct. 3. 1779. — 

Capt. William Heath. 

Abigail Heath, wife of William. 
Jan 23, 1780. — 

William Dorr, 

James Orr. 
July 16, 1780. Thomas Cheaney. 
July 22, 1780. John Swift. 
Feb. 18, 1781. Priscilla Fuller. 

Jan. 6, 1782. Edward Turner, b. 1755 ; d. Dec. 25, 1838 ; m. Lucy Hyland. 
Sexton of this meeting house. Constable. Sheriff of Norfolk 
County. Part owner of Square Pew No. 9 in Gallery, Fifth Meeting 
House. 
Jan. 20, 1782. Katy Weld, widow. 
Feb. 17, 1782. — 

Joseph Gore, b. May 13, 1753 ; d. Feb. 5, 1824 ; m. Meriba Thayer. 
Taught school in Roxbm-y. A soldier of the Revolution. Owner of 
Square Pew No. 3 in Gallery, Fifth Meeting House. 

Benjamin West. 
Dec. 22, 1782. Elizabeth Woods. 
Mch. 16, 1783. Daniel Learned. 
Mch. 23, 1783. Samuel Hayward. 
April 27, 1783. — 

Lemuel Bradlej'. 

, wife of Lemuel Bradley. 

Cunningham. 

June 8, 1783. — 

Elijah Weld. 

, wife of Elijah Weld. 

Nov. 30, 1783. 

Phineas Child. 

, wife of Phineas Child. 

Mch. 14, 1784. — 

Jonathan Brintneal. 

Polly Brintneal, wife of Jonathan. 
Mch. 21, 1784. William Blaney, b. July 22, 1757; d. Jan. 25, 1824; 
m. Catherine Mears. WTiarfinger on Central W^harf. Architect of 
the Fifth Meeting House. Owner of Pew No. 53, Lower Floor, 
Fifth Mfteting House. 
April 25, 1784. William Williams, Jr. 
May 9, 1784. Abigail Boven, wife of Joshua. 



CHURCH MEMBERS 199 

July 4, 1784. — 

Robert Lovering. 

, vnie of Robert Lovering. 

Sarah Sever, widow. 
Aug. 29, 1784. Rebecca Bliss, wife of Elijah. 
Nov. 7, 1784. Ehjah Field. 
Dec. 19, 1784. — 
Thomas Mayo. 

, wife of Thomas Mayo. 

Elisha Mayo. 
May 28, 1785. Martha Ruggles, afterwards wife of Rev. John Fairfield. 
Oct. 9, 1785. George Ziegler, b. in 1759, in Germany; d. Jan. 29, 1819; 
m. Mary Blaney. Landholder. Built the City Hotel in Roxbury. 
Trustee of the Roxbury Latin School. Owner of Pew No. 7, Lower 
Floor, Fifth Meeting House. 
Oct. 30, 1785. Samuel Curtis. 
Jan. 1, 1786. John Holbrook. 
Jan. 15, 1786. — 
Charles Dinsdel. 
Ebenezer Scott. 
Feb. 5, 1786. Solomon Hunter. 

Mch. 12, 1786. Ebenezer Fox, b. Jan. 30, 1763; d. Dec. 14, 1843; un- 
married. Cabin boy when about 12 years old. Afterwards appren- 
ticed to a barber. Li 1779 he entered the army and served two 
months. Soon after entered the navy, serving to the end of the 
Revolution. Then opened a barber shop in Roxbury, and after- 
wards a crockery store. Postmaster in Roxbury in 1831. In 1838 
wrote his " Adventures." Owner of Pew No. 12, Lower Floor, Fifth 
Meeting House. 
Mch. 19, 1786. Caleb Aspinwall. 
Apr. 22, 1786. John Dove. 
Feb. 4, 1787. Edward Thomas. 
Mch. 11, 1787. James Mears, Jr. 
May 6, 1787. Joanna Goddard, widow. 
May 20, 1787. Nathl Winship. 
June 3, 1787. — 
Greorge Bacon. 

Hephzibah Bacon, vdfe of George. 
July 8, 1787. Thaddeus Bruse. 

July 29 1787. Nathaniel Ruggles, son of Capt. Joseph and Rebecca 
(Curtis) Ruggles, b. Nov. 11, 1761 ; d. Dec. 19, 1819; m. Sarah Fel- 
lowes. H. C. 1781. Studied law with Judge Sumner, afterwards 
Governor. Gave up law and became a merchant. He filled many 



200 THE FOURTH MEETING HOUSE 

civil and military offices in the State. Representative in Congress. 
Parish Clerk. Member Parish Committee. Owner of Pew No. 2, 
Lower Floor, Fifth Meeting House. 
Sept. 23, 1787. — 
David Swift. 
Jonathan Patten. 
Oct. 27, 1787. Abigail Craft, widow. 
Jan. 20, 1788. Samuel Quincy. 
Feb. 24, 1788. Increase Davis. 
Apr. 6, 1788. James Levtds, b. 1743; d. L .:• , 1826; m. Hannah Seaver. 

Farmer. Owner of Pew No. 4 in Galle^j Fifth Meeting House. 
July 27, 1788. Hannah Dana, widow. 
Aug. 10, 1788. — 

John Montgomery. 

, wife of John Montgomery. 

Nov. 16, 1788. — 

Simon Willard, b. Apr. 3, 1754 ; d. Aug. 30, 1849 ; m. Mary Leeds A 
famous clockmaker. A volunteer from Grafton on the Lexington 
alarm. Received a patent from the Government for his improved 
time piece. Appointed in 1791 to take care of the church clock, & 
had charge of it for many years. 

, wife of David Swift. 

Dec. 14, 1788. — 
Joseph Clarke. 

, wife of Joseph Clarke. 

Jan. 11, 1789. Thomas Adams, H. C. 1788. 
Feb. 8, 1789. — 

Nathaniel Brewer. 

, wife of Nathaniel Brewer. 

Apr. 6, 1789. Stephen Mansfield, b. 1762; d. Dec. 18, 1808; m. Nancy 
Crosby. Cordwainer. Part owner of Pew No. 25, Lower Floor, 
Fifth Meeting House. 
Apr. 26, 1789. — 

Elizab. Nolen, widow, dismissed from HoUis St. Church, Boston. 
Grace Shed, wife of Oliver. 
May 24, 1789. Samuel Weld, b. June 18, 1755 ; d. June 8, 1826 ; m. Elizabeth 
Williams. Farmer. Part owner of Pew No. 8, Lower Floor, Fifth 
Meeting House. 
July 19, 1789. Patty Jackson. 
July 26, 1789. Aima Williams, widow. 

Oct. 4, 1789. Ebenezer Seaver, b. July 5, 1763; d. March 1, 1844; m. 
Elizabeth Clap. H. C. 1784. Farmer. Selectman of Roxbury. Repre- 
sentative. Moderator at town meetings. Parish Treasurer 1814- 



CHURCH MEMBERS 201 

1825. Member of Congress. Owner of Pew No. 54, Lower Floor, 
Fifth Meeting House. 

Nov. 1, 1789. Mary Ziegler, wife of George. 

Jan. 24, 1790. Thomas Wyman, Jr., b. Jan. 21, 1761; d. May 31, 1816; 
m. Sarah White. Farmer. Soldier of the Revolution. Owner of 
Pew No, 55, Lower Floor, Fifth Meeting House. 

Feb. 28, 1790. John Bartlett, b. 1760 ; d. Nov. 26, 1844 ; m. Abigail Williams. 
H.C. 1781. Only physician in Roxbury for many years. One of 
the foimders of the Roxbury Charitable Society, and of the Humane 
Society of Mass. T^.istee* of the Roxbury Latin School. President 
of the Bank of Noiiolk.' Treasurer of the Institution for Savings in 
Roxbury. Fellow of the Mass. Medical Society. Owner of Pew 
No. 31, Lower Floor, Fifth Meeting House. 

April 4, 1790. — 

Hiunphrey Bicknell, b. July 1, 1762; d. Dec. 31, 1849; m. Jemima 
Jackson. Mason and contractor. Part owner of Pew No. 58, Lower 
Floor, Fifth Meeting House. 
John Mears. 

July 25, 1790. Thomas Read. 

Sept. 19, 1790. WiUiam Emmerson. H. C. 1789. Schoohnaster. 

Oct. 17, 1790. WiUiam Heath, Jr., b. Sept. 23, 1762; d. March 8, 1836; 
m. Elizabeth Spooner. Farmer. Owner of Square Pew No. 25 in 
Gallery, Fifth Meeting House. 

Nov. 7, 1790. Asa Hunting, b. Aug. 24, 1759; d. March, 1834; m. Abigail 
Blaney. Cabinet maker. Owner of Square Pew No. 32 in Gallery, 
Fifth Meeting House. 

Aug. 21, 1791. Rebecca Wait, widow. 

Sept. 25, 1791. Jesse Doggett, b. Jan. 12, 1761 ; d. Aug. 10, 1813 ; m. Eliza- 
beth Sumner. Tavern-keeper. Leather dresser. Train-band Cap 
tain. Owner of Pew No. 52, Lower Floor, Fifth Meeting House. 

Oct. 16, 1791. Sarah Greaton, wife of R. H. Greaton. 

Oct. 30, 1791. — 
Elijah Eastey. 

, wife of Elijah Eastey. 

Jan. 15, 1792. Joel Gay. 

Mch. 18, 1792. Richard Allen. 

Apr. 29, 1792. John Paddleford. 

June 24, 1792. Nathaniel Tileston. 

Sept. 9, 1792. Joseph Muncrief. 

Nov. 11, 1792. Isabel Dudley, wife of Elijah. 

Jan. IS, 1793. — 
Zacharias Shed. 
Hannah Shed, wife of Zacharias. 



202 THE FOURTH MEETING HOUSE 

Feb. S, 1793. Sarah Robbins. 

Mch. S, 1793. Zabdiel Adams, b. Dec. 9, 1767; d. Mch. U, 1819; m. a) 
Rachel Lyon, (•2) Mrs. Abby Pond Richardson. Hatter. Part 
owner of Pew No. 60, Lower Floor, Fifth Meeting House. 
May 26, 179S. — 
Jona. Tnill. 
Mary Herring, widow. 
Sept. 15, 1793. William Barnes, b. 1761 ; d. 1S09 ; m. Jane Thompson. 
Soldier of the Revolution. Lt. Col. Commandant of Militia. Owner 
of Pew No. 56. Lower Floor, Fifth Meeting House. 
Oct, 1798. William Cummens, b. 1768 ; d. Apr. iO, 1834 ; m. Polly Mayo. 
Clock maker. Owner of Pew No. 21, Lower Floor, Fifth Meeting 
House. 
Nov. 10, 1793. — 
John Swift. 

, wife of John Swift. 

April 6, 179-4. — 

John Clap, see Deacons, Fifth Meeting House. 

Thomas Mayo, b. July 24, 1767 ; d. May 26, 1850 ; m. Mrs. Mary Gore. 
Lmkeeper. A founder of the L^niversaHst Church. Part owner of 
Pew No. 13, Lower Floor, Fifth Meeting House. 
May 11, 1794. Otis Gould, d. 1843 ; m. (1) Ruth White, (2) Mrs. Asenath 
Bacon. Hatter. Held town offices. Part owner of Pew No. 51, 
Lower Floor, Fifth Meeting House- 
May 25, 1794. Martha Mayhew, wife of Simeon. 
June 1, 1794. Ephraim Mills. ' 

June 8, 1794. Elizabeth Harris, widow. 
June 22, 1794. — 
Geo. Nolen. 

Hannah Parker, wife of William. 
Aug. 3, 1794. OUve Fessenden, wife of Henry. 
Aug. 17. 1794. Luther Fuller. 
Aug. 31, 1794. — 

Joseph Ruggles, Jr. 

Thomas Rumrill, b. Nov. SO, 1762; d. Nov. 10, 1849: m. (1) Abigafl 
Richardson, (2) Mrs. Sally (Dudley) Fellowes. Baker. A soldier 
of the Revolution. Part owner of Pew No. 69, Lower Floor, Fifth 
Meeting House. 
Feb. 8, 1795. William Fisk. 
Mch. 22, 1795. Eben. Fuller. 
Apr. 26, 1795. — 
Wyatt Herring. 



CHURCH MEMBERS 203 

Benjamin Seaver, b. Sq>t. 28, 1766 ; d. June 29, 1815 ; m. Debby Loud. 
Auctioneer. Chmer of Pew No. 77, Lower Floor, Fifth Meeting 
House. 
Sept. 20, 1795. John W. Fellowes. 
Jan. 3, 1796. — 

Polly Freeman, wife of Philip, from ye Ch. at Brooklyne. 

Simeon Pratt, fr. 1^* Church in Cambridge. Part owner of Pew No. 58, 

Lower Hoor, Fifth Meeting House. 
Sarah Pratt, wife of Simeon. 
Jan. 17, 1796. John Wyman. 

Mch. 13, 1796. Ebenezer Brewer, m. (1) ISIary Foster, (2) Elizabeth 
WTiite. Merchant. Representative. A foimder of the Universalist 
Chin-ch. Part owner of Pew No. 96, Lower Floor Fifth Meeting 
House. 
May 1, 1796. Rufus Foster. 
May 22, 1796. — 

Samuel Freeman. 
Rebecca Freeman, wife of Samuel. 
Aug. 28, 1796. — 

Charles Joy, b. July 27, 1773 ; d. June 10, 1838 ; m. Dorcas Babb. 
Cooper. A founder of the Universalist Church. Part owner of Pew 
No. 50, Lower Floor, Fifth Meeting House. 
Lemuel Pierce, ovmer of Pew No. 93, Lower Floor, Fifth Meeting House. 
Sept. 18, 1796. Stedman Williams, b. Mch. 16, 1773; d. Feb. 16, 1852; 
m. Betsey Williams. Farmer. Member of the Society for apprehend- 
ing horse thieves in 1819. Owner of Pew No. 105, Lower Floor, 
Fifth Meeting Hotise. 
Oct. 2, 1796. John Davis. 
Nov. 27, 1796. Samuel Fiske. 
Jan. 8, 1797. — 

Nathaniel Viliiting Williams. 

Mary Williams, wife of Nathaniel Whiting Williams. 
Jan. 15, 1797. — 

Samuel Blaney, b. Dec. 6, 1759; d. May 2, 1826; m. Anna Curtis. 
Deputy SherifiF for Norfolk County. Owner of Pew No. 82, Lower 
Floor, Fifth Meeting House. 
Mary Shed. 
Elizabeth Shed. 
Feb. 26, 1797. Rebecca Lowell, wife of (Judge) John. 
Apr. 23, 1797. — 
Levi Pratt. 
Sukey Clap, wife of John. 



204 THE FOURTH MEETING HOUSE 

May 21, 1797. — 

Benjamin Weld, b. 1767; d. Sept. 24, 1852; m. Elizabeth Heath. 

Merchant. Trustee of the Roxbury Latin School. Part owner of 

Pew No. 75, Lower Floor, Fifth Meeting House. 
Phinehas Withington, b. Jime 23, 1764; d. Jan. 1, 1829; m. Hannah 

Leeds. At first kept an Inn in Jamaica Plain, afterwards another 

Inn on Naushon Island during the War of 1812. Owner of Pew No. 

95, Lower Floor, Fifth Meeting House. 
June 18, 1797. — 

Susannah Lowder. 
Sally WilUams. 
June 25, 1797. Jacob (Jould, b. Jan. 14, 1765 ; d. Sept. 25, 1811 ; m. Lucy 

Ruggles. Farmer. Part owner of Pew No. 78, Lower Floor, Fifth 

Meeting House. 
July 23, 1797. WiUiam Landers. 
Aug. 13, 1797. Robert Pierpont. 
Oct. 29, 1797. WUliam Seaver, Jr. 
Nov. 5, 1797. Sarah Pierpont, wife of Robert. 
Jan. 21, 1798. WiUiam Robbins. 
May 20, 1798. — 

Mary Willard, wife of Aaron. 

Joel Whitmg, b. 1769 ; d. Oct. 4, 1845 ; m. Abigail Sumner Williams. 

Merchant. Owner of Pew No. 20, Lower Floor, Fifth Meeting 

House. 
June 17, 1798. Lemuel B. Davis. 

July 29, 1798. William Davis, see Deacons, Fifth Meeting House. 
Aug. 12, 1798. John Bryant Braid. 
Aug. 26, 1798. Joel Seaverns, b. May 22, 1767; d. Feb. 12, 1827; m. (1) 

Deborah Crosby, (2) OUve Draper Gay. Farmer. Part owner of 

Pew No. 59, Lower Floor, Fifth Meeting House. 
Dec. 23, 1798. Matthew Gardner. 
Mch 31, 1799. Nathan Watson. 
May 5, 1799. Dan'l Haynes. 

June 23, 1799. Joseph James, b. 1773; d. Nov. 18, 1838; m. Mary Rob- 
inson. Carpenter. A founder of the Universalist Church. Owner 

of Square Pew No. 6 in Gallery, Fifth Meeting House. 
Sept. 29, 1799. Nathaniel Seaver, b. Feb. 7, 1773; d. Oct. 27, 1827; 

m. Hannah Loco. Merchant. Owner of Pew No. 74, Lower Floor, 

Fifth Meeting House. 

Nov. 24, 1799. Benj. Marshall, part owner of Pew No. 67, Lower Floor, 
Fifth Meeting House. 



CHURCH MEMBERS 205 

Jan. 19, 1800. Joseph Heath, b. Apr. 2, 1766 ; d. July 6, 1842 ; m. (1) Naomi 

Vose, (2) Mrs. Hannah (Davis) Murdock. Fanner. Owner of 

Square Pew No. 19 in Gallery, Fifth Meeting House. 
Feb. 2, 1800. Solomon Jones, m. Nabby Baker. Part owner of Pew No. 78, 

Lower Floor, Fifth Meeting House. 
Feb. 16, 1800. Isaac Shaw, b. 1772 ; d. May 31, 1817 ; m. (1) Nancy Brown 

Bosson, (2) Polly Taylor. Truckman. Part owner of Square Pew 

No. 15 in Gallery, Fifth Meeting House. 
May 4, 1800. — 

Charles Davis, b. Mch. 29, 1772; d. Feb. 8, 1842 ;m. Harriet Fellowes. 

He and his brother Aaron were Manufacturers and Exporters. 

They formed a company which built the Roxbury Canal. Parish 

clerk. Member of Parish Committee. Trustee of the Roxbury 

Latin School. Owner of Pew No. 102, Lower Floor, Fifth Meeting 

House. 
James Henderson. 
Sept 7, 1800. Mary Blaney, widow. 
Nov. 30, 1800. "William McCarty, b. Sept. 30, 1773; d. Dec. 3, 1830; m. 

Martha Nolen. Member of Parish Committee. Owner of Square 

Pew No. 23 in Gallery, Fifth Meeting House. 
Dec. 21, 1800. Charles James. 
Jan. 18, 1801. Noah Perrin Williams. 
• Mch. 15, 1801. Elisha Forbes, b. June 2, 1773 ; d. Jan. 29, 1821 ; m. Nancy 

Burrill. Provision dealer. Part owner of Pew No. 10, Lower 

Floor, Fifth Meeting House. 
Mch. 22, 1801. Patty Ruggles. 
Mch. 29, 1801. Joseph Davis, b. May 26, 1779; d. May 8, 1814 ; m. Elsie 

Donnell FeUowes. East Indian Merchant. Owner of Pew No. 103, 

Lower Floor, Fifth Meeting House. 
Apr. 5, 1801. Joseph Seaver, b. April 12, 1777 ; d. Aug. 17, 1811 ; m. Abigail 

Whitney. Provision dealer. Owner of Pew No. 34, Lower Floor, 

Fifth Meeting House. His son Joseph was the first boy and second 

child baptised in the Fifth Meeting House. 
June 21, 1801. Grant Learned. 
Aug. 2, 1801. Seth Lavsrence. 
Aug. 16, 1801. Samuel Gore. 
Aug. 23, 1801. John Seaver, b. Aug. 24, 1773; d. March 25, 1856; m. 

Betsey Dudley. Sexton of the Fifth Meeting House from April 28, 

1821, to Feb. 29, 1844. Owner of Pew No. 46, Lower Floor, Fifth 

Meeting House. 
Sept. 20, 1801. John Downer. 
Oct. 18, 1801. Joseph Dudley, b. Oct. 16, 1780; d. Feb. 28, 1827; m. 

Pedy Whitney. Gave the site for a town house afterwards the City 



206 THE FOURTH MEETING HOUSE 

Hall. Member Parish Committee. Husbandman. Owner of Pew 
No. 104, Lower Floor, Fifth Meeting House. 
Oct. 25, 1801. Sarah Davis, widow. 
Nov. 15, 1801. — 

Elisha Hathaway. 
Samuel Williams. 
Dec. 13, 1801. Edward Hiunphrey. 
Jan. 3, 1802. Jesse Stetson, b. 1780 ; d. Aug. 16, 1847 ; m. Sally Dickerman. 

Owner of Square Pew No. 27 in Gallery, Fifth Meeting House. 

Wheelwright. 
Feb. 7 1802. Aaron Rumrill, b. 1770; d. July 10, 1811; m. Ann ^. 

Baker. Part owner of Square Pew No. 15 in Gallery, Fifth Meeting 

House. 
Feb. 21, 1802. Charles Lowell, son of Judge John Lowell, b. Aug. 15, 

1782; d. Jan. 20, 1861; m. Harriet Bracket Spence. H. C. 1800. 

Ordained Pastor of the West Church in Boston, Jan. 1, 1806, and 

oflBciated 55 years. Received the honorary degree of D.D. from 

Harvard College in 1823. Secretary of Mass. Historical Society. 

One of the founders of the Society of Northern Antiquarians of 

Copenhagen, Denmark. Corresponding member of the Archeolo- 

gical Society of Authors. 
April 11, 1802. William Patten, b. Dec. 10, 1772; d. Aug. 13, 1861 ; m. 

Sarah Williams. Leather merchant. Part owner of Pew No. 39, 

Jxiwpr Floor, Fifth Meeting House. 
May 9, 1802. Joseph Crafts, b. 1775; d. March 28, 1842; m. (1) Ehza- 

beth Mellish, (2) Eunice Dowse. Tanner. 
July 4, 1802. John Bower. 
July 18, 1802. Joseph Stratton. 
Sept. 12, 1802. Aaron Child, b. Jan. 1, 1770; d. May 11, 1847; m. Polly 

Hall. Housewiight. Owner of Square Pew No. 37 in Gallery, 

Fifth Meeting House. 
Nov. 14, 1802. David Baker, b. Sept. 7, 1755; m. (1) Haimah Geegins, 

(2) Amy Williams. Currier. Ovraer of Pew No. 19, Lower Floor, 

Fifth Meeting House. 
Nov. 28, 1802. Stephen Goddard. 
Feb. 13, 1803. — 

Aaron Pomeroy, biu-ied Aug. 21, 1821 ; m. Abigail Burrell. Blacksmith. 

Part owner of Pew No. 10, Lower Floor, Fifth Meeting House. 
Dudley WilUams, b. Sept. 6, 1775; buried Sept. 25, 1811; m. Polly 

Williams. Member of Roxbury City Guard. AJderman. A 

proprietor of the Roxbury Athenaeum. Owner of Pew No. 14, Lower 

Floor, Fifth Meeting House. 
Feb. 20, 1803. Mary Mears, wife of James, Jr. 
March 20, 1803. Adin Ayres. 



CHURCH MEMBERS 207 

Capt. Stoddard's New Brick Bxjilding 
CHURCH MEMBERS 

July 10, 1803. Jacob Allen, b. May 14, 1776; d. Jan. 31, 1860; m. Sibyl 

Willett. Carpenter and builder. Owner of Pew No. 14, Lower Floor, 

Fifth Meeting House. 
Aug. 21, 1803. Ephraim Cutting. 
Oct. 2, 1803. Jacob Skinner. 
Nov. 27, 1803. — 

William Hazlett, b. 1770; d. July 17, 1823; m. (1) Eliza Kingsbury, 

(2) Sarah Walker. Innkeeper. Owner of Pew No. 65, Lower 

Floor, Fifth Meeting House. 
Eliza Hazlett, wife of WilHam. 
Dec. 25, 1803. Daniel Whitney. 
Jan. 29, 1804. Joseph Ware, b. 1780; d. July 22, 1830; m. Nancy Smith. 

Part owner of Pew No. 44, Lower Floor, Fifth Meeting House. 
May 27, 1804. Jesse Joy. • 



©Ij? Jiftlj MMm f *J«s^ 



PASTORS 

Rev. Eliphalet Porter, D.D. 
Rev. George Putnam, D.D. 
Rev. Mr. John Graham Brooks 
Rev. James De Normandie, D.D. 

DEACONS 

Samuel Sumner 

Nehemiah Munroe 
Joshua Felton 
William Davis 

Ebenezer Crafts 
John Clap 

Jonathan Avery Richards 
RuFUs Wyman, M.D. 
Benjamin Kent 

Charles Knapp Dillaway 
Supply Clap Thwing 
John Hunt 

Adams Ayer 

Edward Belcher Reynolds 
Joseph Warren Tucker 
Jeremiah Plimpton 
John Joseph May 

Henry Dan Wilmarth 

Robert Comfort Metcalf 
William Francis Crafts 
John Noble 
Isaac Gover 

Henry Clay Whitcomb 

209 



210 THE FIFTH MEETING HOUSE 



PARISH CLERK 

Nathaniel Ruggles elected April £9, 1793 

Ebenezer Brewer elected April 29, 1805 

John Champney elected April 30, 1811 

Charles Davis elected April 29, 1813 

William Davis elected April 21, 1814 

William Bosson elected April 27, 1815 
Dr.^ Nathaniel Shepherd Prentiss elected April 21, 1817 

Dr. Peter Oilman Bobbins elected April 4, 1821 

David Allen Simmons elected April 18, 1822 

At a meeting held April 4, 1825, the above title was changed to Clerk of 
the Society and the date of the Annual Meeting to Jan. 2, 1826. 

CLERK OF THE SOCIETY 

David Allen Simmons elected April 4, 1825 

David Allen Simmons re-elected Jan. 2, 1826 

Deacon William Davis elected Jan, 12, 1829 

Joseph Warren Tucker elected Jan. 7, 1850 

William Crosby elected Jan. 4, 1886 

George Allen Dary elected Jan. 1, 1894 

PARISH TREASURER 

Joseph Ruggles elected Dec. 11, 1787 

William Heath, Jr. elected April 29, 1805 

Asa Whitney elected April 22, 1812 

William Heath, Jr. elected April 29, 1813 

Ebenezer Seaver elected April 21, 1814 

At a meeting held April 4, 1825, the above title was changed to 

TREASURER OF THE SOCIETY 

John Lemist elected April 4, 1825 

John Lemist re-elected Jan. 2, 1826 

Nathaniel Dorr elected Jan. 12, 1829 

Thomas Simmons elected Jan. 4, 1830 

John Champney elected Jan. 2, 1832 

John Jones Clarke elected Jan. 5, 1835 



THE FIFTH MEETING HOUSE 211 

Baman Stone elected Jan. 16, 1856 

Charles Knapp Dillawat elected Jan. 27, 1862 

Edward Belcher Reynolds elected Jan. 4, 1886 

William Crosby elected Jan. 1, 1894 

Alfred Monson Bullard elected Jan. 4, 1904 . 

PARISH COMMITTEES 

Elected July 10, 1794 

Joseph Ruggles 

Deacon Nehemiah Munroe Nathaniel Ruggles 

Elected April 29, 1805 

Ebenezer Brewer 

Daniel Saunderson Joseph Heath 

Elected May 6, 1805 

Ebenezer Brewer 
Major William Bosson William Heath, Jr 

William Heath, Jr., desired to be excused from serving, 
so Joseph Dudley was chosen and elected May 13, 1805. 

Elected April 25, 1806 

Ebenezer Brewer Major William Bosson 

John Champney in place of 

Benjamin Weld who declined office 

Elected April 29, 1807 

Ebenezer Brewer 

Capt. Joseph Dudley Capt. Benjamin Weld 

Elected April 30, 1810 

Ebenezer Brewer 

Col. Joseph Dudley John Champney 

Elected April 22, 1812 

Ebenezer Brewer 

Isaac Davis John Champney 

Elected April 29, 1813 

Capt. Jonathan Dorr 

Major Benjamin Weld Charles Davis 



212 THE FIFTH MEETING HOUSE 

Elected April 21, 1814 

Ebenezer Brewer 
Isaac Davis William Davis 

Elected April 27, 1815 

Isaac Davis 
William Davis William Bosson 

Elected April 16, 1816 

John Clap 
William Bosson Dr. Nathaniel Shepherd Prentiss 

Elected April 13, 1818 
John Clap 
Deacon William Davis 

Dr. Nathaniel Shepherd Prentiss 

Elected April 4, 1821 

Jonathan Dorr 
John Champney William Blanet 

Elected April 18, 1822 

Benjamin Weld in place of Charles Davis who declined 

John Lemist Samuel Guild 

Elected April 25, 1823 

Elijah Lewis 

Stephen Child David Allen Simmons 

Elected April 15, 1824 

William McCarthy 
Col. Jonathan A. Richards David Allen Simmons 

STANDING COMMITTEES 

Title changed April 4, 1825 

Elected April 4, 1825 

Charles Davis 
Jonathan Dorr Isaac Davis 

Above were re-elected Jan. 2, 1826 

Elected Jan. 8, 1827 

John Champney Samuel Jackson Gardner 
Assistants Re-elected in 1828 



THE FIFTH MEETING HOUSE 213 

Elected Jan. 4, 1830 

John Lemist 
Ebenezer Crafts David Dudley 

Elected Jan. 3, 1881 

John Lemist 

Ebenezer Crafts Supply Clap Thwinq 

Elected Jan. 2, 1832 

John Lemist 

Supply Clap Thwing David Dudley 

Elected Jan. 23, 1833 

John Lemist 
Watson Gore Benjamin Franklin Copeland 

Elected Jan. 6, 1834 

Benjamin Franklin Copeland 
Watson Gore Dr. Henry Bartlett 

Elected Jan. 4, 1836 

Richard Ward 

Thomas Brewer Ephraim Harrington 

Elected Jan. 2, 1837 

Richard Ward 
Ephraim Harrington Daniel Andrew Sigourney 

Elected Jan. 7, 1839 

Richard Ward 

Ephraim Harrington Charles Ejstapp Dillaway 

Elected Jan. 1, 1844 

Richard Ward 
Charles Knapp Dillaway Jonathan Pratt Robinson 

Elected Jan. 3, 1853] 

Richard Ward 
Cushing Stetson James Guild 

Elected Jan. 16, 1856 

Thomas Simmons 
Theodore Otis Aaron Davis Williams 



214 THE FIFTH MEETING HOUSE 

Elected Jan. 5, 1857 

Charles Knapp Dillaway 

Gushing Stetson Theodore Otis 

Elected Jan. 3, 1859 

Charles Knapp Dillaway 

Gushing Stetson Edward Wyman 

Elected Jan. 5, 1863 

Edward Wyman 

William James Reynolds William Ghanning Appleton 

Elected Jan. 4, 1864 

Edward Wyman 

William James Reynolds George Lewis 

Elected Jan. 1, 1866 

George Lewis 

Sajmuel Crocker Cobb Shubael Gorham Rogers 

Elected Feb. 6, 1866 
James Ritchie in place of Shubael Gorham Rogers 

Elected Jan. 1, 1867 

George Lewis 

Samuel Crocker Cobb John Felt Osgood 

Elected Jan. 1, 1872 

Samuel Crocker Cobb 

John Rogers Adams Ayer 

Elected Jan. 6, 1873 

Samuel Crocker Cobb 
John Rogers James Thacher Hayward 

Elected Jan. 4, 1875 
William Crosby 
John Rogers William Blanchard 

Elected Jan. 7, 1878 

David Miller Hodgdon 

Augustus Parker Adams Ayer 



THE FIFTH MEETING HOUSE 215 

Elected Jan. 6, 1879 

David Miller Hodgdon 
Henry A. S. D. Dudley Henry Ware Putnam 

Elected Jan. 1, 1883 

David Miller Hodgdon 
Henry Ware Putnam Charles Milton Seaver 

Elected Jan. 7, 1884 

David Miller Hodgdon 

Charles Milton Seaver Charles Andrews Grinnell 

Elected Jan. 7, 1889 

Dependence Sturtevant Waterman 

Horace Bacon James Clarke Davis 

Elected Jan. 4, 1892. 

Dependence Sturtevant Waterman 

James Clarke Davis Samuel Everett Tinkham 



SEXTONS 

Edward Turner served from Feb. 27, 1796, to April 28, 1812. 

At a meeting held April 28, 1812, Edward Turner was 
elected to attend funerals, &c., Mr. Hervey Woods to do 
the other work of the sexton and ISIr. Abraham Crawley to 
wind up and take care of the clocks. 

Hervey Woods served from April, 1813, to April, 1819. 
Edward Turner served from April, 1819, to April, 1821. 
John Seaver served from April 28, 1821, to Feb. 29, 1844. 
William Seaver served three months to Jan. 28, 1825. 

(John Seaver was probably absent.) 
Horace Bacon served from March, 1844, to June 30, 1850. 
Nathan Haynes served from July 1, 1850, to April 1, 1857. 
Thomas Colligan served from April 1, 1857, to April 1, 1877, 



216 THE FIFTH MEETING HOUSE 

Charles S. Champney served from April 1, 1877, to March 

14, 1897. 
John Hall served from March 14, 1897, to June 20, 1897. 
John B. Johnson served from June 21, 1897, to May 15, 1904. 
William Slater served from May 15, 1904. 



THE FIFTH MEETING HOUSE 



With the nineteenth century there came a change in the 
creed of the old church. The earliest intimation of dissent 
in Boston from the Calvinistic creed of the Congregational 
church was in 1747 when Jonathan Mayhew was settled over 
the West church in Boston. After the Revolution many 
Unitarians, then called Arminians, filled the Congregational 
pulpits in and around Boston, and by 1782 Unitarianism 
was brought prominently to the front. In our church, Dr. 
Porter's sermon before the Convention of ministers in Boston 
may be called the turning point, and since his day we have 
become a Unitarian church. 

The conunittee, to whom was left the choice of plans for 
a new Meeting House, had three placed before them from 
which to choose, and that of the Newburyport Meeting 
House appeared to them the most suitable for Roxbury. 
The architect of that building is imknown, though tradition 
says it was Timothy Palmer. With a few alterations this plan 
was adopted and Mr. William Blaney appears to have been 
the chief consulting architect. May 26, 1803, the Building 
committee was directed to build stairs and make entrance to 
the gallery at the East end in the most convenient mode 
consistent with the present plan. 

July 20, 1803, " the builders began to raise the frame and 
finished raising it in four days without any evil occurance," 
and when completed the building proved highly satisfactory, 
and was thought to be one of the most commodious and 

217 



218 THE FIFTH MEETING HOUSE 

beautiful of all the old Meeting Houses in New England' 
The timbers were massive, the proportions good and the 
acoustic properties perfect. The building measures 80 feet 
by 70 feet on the outside with a seating capacity of about 
one thousand. 

Its great simplicity is its most striking feature. It has no 
ornamentation, with the exception of the Memorial Tablets 
recently put in, and is without stained glass windows. For 
a century it has proved a Meeting House in the most devout 
sense of the word. A place of worship and religious devotion, 
with old associations of our immediate ancestors. 

The comer stone at the west comer was laid with appro- 
priate ceremonies and there was supposed to have been 
deposited under this stone a circular silver plate with the 

inscription : -^ 

This 
Building desig- 
ned for the Publick 
worship of God was fou 
nded with harmony and 
love by the first Parish 

in 

Roxbury May ^d 1803 

Laus Deo. 

Ten years later at a meeting of the Parish Committee, 
May 10, 1813, Capt. Jonathan Dorr received from Mr. 
Ebenezer Brewer this identical plate which he was requested 
to place in the hands of William Heath, Jr., Treasurer. 
This event took place soon after a discourse by Rev. Dr. 
Porter from Acts xviii, 17, "Then all the Greeks took 
Sosthenes, the chief ruler of the synagogue, and beat him 
before the judgment seat. And Gallio cared for none of 
those things." Upon the back of the plate when returned 
there was found attached to it a piece of paper on which 
was written 



"C^i 




A/yi' 



THE PLATE. 




THE PLATE AS RETURNED WITH INSCRIPTION 



THE FIFTH MEETING HOUSE 219 

This Tallant 

which the sloth 

full servant hid in 

earth mite have been 

sold for six shillings 

and seven pence and 

given to the poor 

But Galleio cared 

for none of these 

things. 

May 7, 1804, the Parish voted to purchase only one clock 
for the inside of the Meeting House until the pews are sold. 
This clock was made by Simon Willard and is undoubtedly 
the one still in the church. 

May 10, 1804, shortly after 9 o'clock in the morning, Mr. 
Lewis Ho}i;, the auctioneer, proceeded to sell the pews which 
continued through the day and the pews were all sold, except- 
ing Pew No. 1 reserved for the Pastor and his family, and 
Pews Nos. 85, 86, 87, 88 reserved for the future disposition 
of the parish, realizing the sum of $7706. The surplus 
arising from this sale, after all the just demands arising in 
consequence of building said meeting house were paid and 
deduction for a new clock, was paid to the several persons 
who were assessed and did pay a Parish Tax in this Parish 
for the last year in proportion to the said tax they severally 
paid in said Parish the last year, being the year 1804. 

This New Meeting House was dedicated to the ser\^ice of 
God on Thursday the 7^^ Day of June, a.d. 1804. Sermon 
by Dr. Porter, the text being Ezra \i, 16, "And the children 
of Israel, the priests and the Levites, and the rest of the 
children of the captivity, kept the dedication of this house 
of God with joy." The W^^ day of June, 1804, was 
the first Sabbath on which there was preaching in the new 
house. 

By vote of the parish, Feb. 11, 1805, town meetings in the 



220 THE FIFTH MEETING HOUSE 

Meeting House were interdicted, and as a result a town house 
was built soon after. 

In April, 1805, a committee reported to the Parish that 
an act of incorporation similar to the one granted to the 
first parish in the town of Groton, Feb. 21, 1804, with few 
alterations and additions would be suitable for this Parish. 
At the same time it was voted not to raise Mr. Porter's salary 
to $1000, but allow him $800 and his wood. 

In April, 1806, the new clock with one dial was set up in 
the tower of the new meeting house by Mr. Simon Willard 
who made it at a cost of $858.00. 

Thomas Williams, Jr., presented an Elegant Folio Bible 
to the Parish April £5, 1806, and on the same day the Parish 
voted to have the bell rung at one o'clock noon and at nine 
o'clock in the evening. 

July 4, 1808, the citizens of the Town of Roxbury in Com- 
memoration of the Anniversary of American Independence 
celebrated the day by a procession which was formed at the 
house of Mrs. Burrell at twelve o'clock under the direction 
of Major Bosson, Marshall of the Day, and moved from 
thence to the Rev. Dr. Porter's Meeting House under the 
escort of Capt. Bicknell's company of Artillery. The exer- 
cises in this House began with (1) a prayer by the Rev. Dr. 
Porter; U) Hymn to Freedom, Tune Old Hundred; (3) 
Declaration of Independence read by Mr. Abraham Fox; 
(4) Oration by Mr. N. Ruggles Smith; (5) Ode for the Fourth 
of July, 1808, Tune, Rise Columbia. This was the First 
Public event in this house. 

In April, 1810, it was voted that the time of intermission 
of Divine service be lengthened the three summer months 
only, to three hours; that is to say, the Second bell to begin 
ringing one quarter of an hour before three, and in 1811 the 
time was lengthened to between May 1 and Sept. 1. 



THE FIFTH MEETING HOUSE 221 

In April, 1812, the Parish Committee agreed with Mr. 
Edward Turner for him to attend funerals, &c., and with 
Mr. Hervey Woods to have charge of, the Meeting House, 
to ring the bell at one o'clock every day, Sundays excepted, 
and at 9 every night in the year, to see that no horses are 
tied to any part of the Meeting House, and that no posts 
are set on the hill without the consent of the Committee, for 
which services he was to reeeive $84.00 per year. They also 
agreed with Mr. Abraham Crawley to wind up, oil and keep 
the two clocks for $7.00 per year. 

Sept. 23, 1815, the meeting house was a little damaged by 
a hurricane. 

July 10, 1816, the surplus arising from the sale of Pews 
with current Bank Bills remaining in the Treasury was 
appropriated for the use of the Parish. 

In April, 1817, the Parish declined to purchase one or 
more stoves for the purpose of heating the meeting house. 

June 6, 1817, the window over the middle door at the West 
end of the meeting house was broken by some malicious 
person or persons. 

In Oct., 1817, a committee consisting of Mr. John Clap, 
Mr. George Ziegler and Mr. Eleb Faxon was chosen to look 
out a suitable piece of land for a Burying Ground, ascertain 
the price of the same and report at the next meetfQg. They 
made a verbal report at the next meeting in Dec. when a 
committee, consisting of Mr. Eleb Faxon, Ebenezer Seaver 
Esq., Mr. George Ziegler, Joseph Harrington Esq. and Mr. 
John Clap, was chosen to purchase in behalf of the Parish a 
suitable piece of ground. At the Annual Meeting held April 
13, 1818, the committee reported that they had agreed to 
purchase in behalf of the Parish a tract of land of Doctor 
Samuel Bugbee (of Wrentham) situated nearly opposite the 
Mansion of the late Doctor Davis and containing about an 



222 THE FIFTH MEETING HOUSE 

acre and a half for the consideration of $1000.00. It was 
also voted to dispose of the musical instruments belonging 
to the parish which .were not useful. Mr. Simon Willard 
continued to have charge of the clocks in 1818. 

The present bell purchased of Mr. J. W. Revere was cast 
at the Foundry in Canton, Mass., and was raised to its present 
position May 27, 1819. It weighed 1538 lbs. and cost 
$692.10 less old bell sold for $215.50 leaving a balance of 
$476.60 which was the cash payment. In 1820 the meeting 
house was warmed by two stoves costing $258.16. At a 
meeting of the Parish held Feb. 10, 1820, it was voted not to 
oppose the prayer of William Hannaford and others for an 
act of Incorporation as a Society of Universalists in the Town 
of Roxbury. 

During the night of May 26, 1820, some evil minded per- 
sons entered the meeting house and tore away the cushions 
from the pulpit and totally destroyed the valuable Parish 
Bible and committed other depredations. 

June 24*^ of the same year the Holy Bible, which is now 
(1908) in the Pulpit, was presented to the Parish accompanied 
by the following note : — 

RoxBURT, June 24, 1820. 
Grentlemen, 

The Holy Bible that accompanies this Note is presented 
to the first or Easterly Parish of this Town by their Huml Servt 

SamI J. Gardner. 



Messrs. John Clap 

NathI S. Prentiss 
William Davis 



Committee of said Parish. 



to which the following acceptance was made. 

RoxBXTRT, 26th June, 1820. 

Saml J. Gardner Esq. 

Dear Sir: We, the undersigned, the Committee of the First Parish in 
Roxbury, for ourselves, and in behalf of said Parish, do hereby acknowledge 



THE FIFTH MEETING HOUSE 223 

the Receipt of an elegant Church Bible, by you presented to the said Parish. 
We beg you will be assured, Dear Sir, we duly appreciate your kindness in 
bestowing so valuable a present. Be pleased to accept our most cordial 
wishes, that you may long enjoy Health, Prosperity and Happiness. And 
what can be more conducive to Happiness, than the pleasure derived from 
the consciousness of having voluntarily performed a liberal and at the same 
time a Good Act. 

John Clap 

WM Davis 

N. S. Prentiss 



Parish Committee. 



After Jan. 31, 1822, the records of sales of pews were kept 
in a separate book having previously been included in the 
general records of the parish. Mrs. Hannah Jackson and 
Kendall Brooks left this church and became original members 
of Dudley St. Baptist Church. Sunday evening March 31, 
1822, there was a Concert in this Meeting House. March 21, 
1825, the last meeting of the First Parish in Roxbury took 
place, and April 4, 1825, the first meeting of the First 
Religious Society in Roxbury took place in the Town House. 

The Act of Incorporation is as follows : — 

IN THE YEAR OF OUR LORD ONE THOUSAND EIGHT 
HUNDRED AND TWENTY-FIVE 

An Act declaring and confirming to the Pew-holders the property in the 
Congregational Meeting-House, in the First Parish in Roxbury, and 
authorizing them to raise monies by taxing pews. 

Sec. 1. Be it enacted by the Senate and House of Representatives in 
General Court assembled, and by the authority of the same, that all persons 
who now are, or may hereafter become proprietors of the pews in the Con- 
gregational Meeting-House in the First Parish in Roxbury, are hereby 
declared to be a body poUtic and corporate by the name of the "First 
Religious Society in Roxbury," with all the powers, privileges and 
immunities usually granted to such societies: And said Corporation shall be, 
and hereby are deemed in law to be, seized of the same Meeting-House and 
the land under, adjoining and belonging to the same, and the privileges and 



224 THE FIFTH MEETING HOUSE 

appurtenances thereto appertaining; reserving, however, to the several new 
proprietors, their rights and interest in said pews respectively. 

Sec. 2. Be it further enacted. That said proprietors shall meet on the first 
Monday of April next, and afterwards on the first Monday in January, 
annually, at said Meeting House, or such other place as the Standing Com- 
mittee shall appoint, and after choosing a Moderator, shall choose a Clerk, 
who shall record all the votes and proceedings of said proprietors, and be 
sworn to the faithful discharge of his duties ; they shall also choose a Xreas- 
urer, who shall give bonds for the discharge of the duties of his office, and 
also a Standing Committee of three discreet persons to manage their affairs, 
to continue in office one year, and until others are chosen: Provided however, 
if from any cause, any of said officers are not chosen at said meeting in April 
next, or at any annual meeting on the fiirst Monday in January, said officers 
may be elected at any other meeting duly notified for that piupose; and said 
committee may notify any meeting by causing printed or written notifications 
to be delivered to the proprietors, or left at their dwellings, three days at 
least before such meetings, or by leaving the same in the pews of the pro- 
prietors, should a day of pubUc worship intervene. 

Sec. 3. Be it further enacted. That said proprietors shall have power to 
repair, alter, or rebuild their Meeting-House; and shall have all the rights in 
relation to the same and the support of public worship therein, which said 
parish have hitherto had, and shall be bound by all the contracts made by 
said Parish. 

Sec. 4. Be it further enacted. That said Corporation may take, hold and 
possess, by gift, devise, purchase or otherwise, real and personal estate, not 
exceeding forty thousand dollars exclusive of their Meeting-House and its 
appurtenances, as a ministerial fund, the interest only of which shall be 
expended annually in such manner as the Deacons of the church in said 
society, and the Standing Committee for the time being may deem fit, or 
the proprietors by their vote direct; and those only whose pews are taxed 
shall be deemed legal voters ; and said corporation may make and establish 
by-laws for the better ordering their affairs, provided the same are not 
repugnant to the constitution or laws of this conmionwealth. 

Sec. 5. Be it further enacted. That all monies necessary for the support 
of public worship in said Meeting-House and incidental charges, which may 
be duly voted to be raised shall be assessed by the Standing Committee on 
the Proprietors of the pews on the lower floor in said Meeting-House, accord- 
ing to a scale of valuation agreed upon by a vote of said Parish passed on the 
twenty-second day of November last, which is not to be changed for the 
term of ten years from the first day of April next, but after that time may be 
altered, and gallery pews may be included if deemed expedient, having 
regard to the situation and value thereof; and the said committee shall make 
out lists of such assessments, stating the number of each pew, the name of 



THE FIFTH MEETING HOUSE [225 

the owner, and the amount assessed thereon, and deliver the same to the 
Treasurer who shall collect such assessments, and pay the same out on 
orders to be drawn by the Clerk, under the direction of the Standing Com- 
mittee. 

Sec. 6. Be it further enacted. That said proprietors shall hold their pews 
under their respective deeds, and the same shall hereafter be considered 
personal estate, and whenever any transfer of any pew in said Meeting- 
House shall be made, the old deed shall be given up and a new deed made 
in the name of one person only, to be signed by the Treasurer and counter- 
signed by the Clerk; and no conveyance shall be vahd, until noted on the 
records of the Corporation. 

Sec. 7. Be it further enacted. That if any proprietor shall neglect to pay 
his or her assessment, for the space of six months after such assessments 
is laid and notified by posting at the door of said House, the Treasurer shall 
advertise the pews of such deUnquent for the space of three weeks, by post- 
ing notices at said Meeting-House and two other public places in said town, 
stating the time, place and cause of sale, and then if all the arrears are not 
paid, he shall sell the same at auction to the highest bidder, and after deduct- 
ing all sums due with costs of sale and charges of conveyance, shall pay over 
the balance, if any, to the owner. 

Sec. 8. Be it further enacted. That any person wishing to dispose of his 
or her pew, shall first give notice thereof to the Standing Committee, stating 
the name of the person to whom it is intended to sell, and offering the same 
to said Corporation at cost, and if said Corporation shall not elect to pur- 
chase and pay for such pew within thirty days from such notice, the same 
may be sold to one person only, provided all dues thereon be first paid. 

Sec. 9. Be it further enacted. That this act being accepted by a major 
vote of said Parish, shall be binding on all parties concerned therein and the 
present Treasurer or Standing Committee of said Parish, may call the fia-st 
meeting under this act, and shall continue in office until others are chosen. 

In House of Repeesentattves, Feb. 26, 1825. 
This Bill having had three several readings, passed to be enacted. 

WILLIAM C. JARVIS, Speaker. 

In Senate, Feb. 26, 1825. 
This Bill having had two several readings, passed to be enacted. 

NATHANIEL SILSBEE, President. 
February 26, 1825. 

Approved. MARCUS MORTON. 

A true copy. Attest: Edward D. Bangs, Sec. 



226 THE FIFTH MEETING HOUSE 

At a meeting of the Proprietors of the Pews of the First 

Religious Society in Roxbury, held Jan. 15, 1855, 

Voted, That the Standing Committee shall not be at liberty to expend for 
any object more money than the Pew Proprietors shall raise and appro- 
priate for any such object; and shall not expend, for any purpose, not 
authorized by them, and shall not borrow any money for any purpose what- 
ever, without a special vote, nor contract any debt in behalf of said Pew 
Proprietors, without a special vote of said Proprietors authorizing it." 

JOSEPH W. TUCKER, Clerk. 
A true copy. Attest: 

JOSEPH W. TUCKER, Clerk. 

The First Annual Parish Meeting (under the Society's new 
title) took place on Monday, Jan. 2, 1826, and thereafter the 
Annual Meeting occurred on the first Monday in January 
in each succeeding year. 

At a meeting of the Society held May 10, 1830, the Vote 
to call Mr. George Putnam as Colleague Pastor was passed 
unanimously with the exception of one vote only. The per- 
son who put in the negative vote called on the Moderator 
after the Meeting stating that his negative was not on account 
of any dislike to Mr. Putnam, but on account of his having a 
wish to hear him preach a few more Sundays previous to his 
being called as a Colleague Pastor, and he further stated that 
he would wish to withdraw his negative, and that the choice 
might be considered as unanimous. The Church Members 
of this Society met at the House of their Rev. Pastor in the 
evening after the Meeting of the Society and after an appro- 
priate Prayer voted unanimously their approbation of the 
doings of the Society in calling and inviting Mr. George 
Putnam ,to become their Colleague Pastor. Mr. Putnam 
repUed to the above invitation as follows : 

To THE First Christian Church and Society in Roxbttrt 
Christian Brethren I have received through your Committee your 
invitation to become Colleague with your present Pastor in the Christian 
Ministry. The harmony of all your proceedings and the apparent cor- 
diality of your invitation have been very satisfactory and gratifying. And 



THE FIFTH MEETING HOUSE 227 



now having, as I believe, weighed the subject with that serious dehberation 
which its importance demands, I do cheerfully and without one dissenting 
thought or feeling, accept your caU and consent to become your minister as 
soon as my professional studies shall be so far advanced, that I can obtain 
the usual testimonials. 

In so determining I have marked the intimations of Providence, I have 
listened for the injunctions of duty, I have consulted the desires of friends, 
and asked the counsel of the wise, and all these concur with every inclination 
of my own bosom in dictating the answer I have given you. 

I am not insensible to the great and untried responsibilities which I am 
taking upon myself, and I trust that the cheerfulness and hope with which I 
come to you, are tempered with a just diffidence and hiunility. Cherishing 
a deep desire and firm resolve to devote to your service, and spend in the 
way of my duty, whatever strength Almighty God may graciously give, I 
commit all else to his wise guidance and disposal — looking for his blessing 
and your kind indulgence. 

(Signed) George Putnam. 

Cambridge, May 21, 1830, 

June 15, 1830, it was voted that the Standing Committee 
have liberty to lower the Pulpit fourteen inches providing 
on examination they find such alteration will not operate to 
the injury of any Pews in the Gallery and that the expense be 
defrayed by subscription and not by the Society. 

Wednesday, the 7*^ day of July, 1830, was fixed on for the 
day of Ordination and for the Council to meet at the Norfolk 
House at 9 o'clock a.m. 

Some of the parishioners, feeling disposed to encourage 
the arrangements that were made for the Ordination of Mr. 
George Putnam as Colleague Pastor, agreed to take one 
ticket each at three dollars for the Dinner to be provided for 
the council and others that may join on the occasion, they 
were, 

. John Bartlett, D. A. Simmons, NatW Dorr, Charles Hick- 
ling, Charles Davis, Thos. K. Jones, Caleb Fellowes, John 
Lowell, Thos. Simmons, Dan'l A. Sigourney, Isaac Davis, 
Jos. Harrington, Enoch Bartlett, William Phipps, William H. 
Spear, Chas. Davis Jr., Horatio Davis, George Simmons, 



228 THE FIFTH MEETING HOUSE 

William Fisk, Mr. Dyer, Eph"" Harrington, W^ Dove, 
Thomas Brewer, B. F. Copeland, G.L. Brewer, Eliab Brewer, 
S. G. Robbins, Sherman Leland, Benj. Weld, S. C. Thwing, 
Watson Gore, Asa Bugbee, Benj. Balch, John Hovey, S. H. 
Hunneman, Jos. Callender, W^ Davis Jr., F. S. Eastman, 
Jon* Dorr. 

H. A. S. Dearborn was absent on a journey, Joseph Hall 
declined his ticket and Mr. Lithgow returned the ticket. 

July 7, 1830. The order of services at the ordination 
of Mr. Putnam was as follows: Introductory Prayer by 
Dr. Gray of Roxbury. Selections from the Scriptures by 
Mr. Austin of Brighton. Hymn. Sermon by Mr. Dewey of 
New Bedford. Anthem. Ordaining Prayer by Mr. Osgood 
of Sterling. Charge by Dr. Ware of Cambridge. Right 
Hand of Fellowship by Mr. Newell of Cambridge. Original 
Hymn. Address to the Society by Mr. Parlonan of Boston. 
Prayer by Mr. Capen of South Boston. Anthem. Benedic- 
tion by Mr. Putnam. 

Rev. Dr. Porter died Saturday night, Dec. 7, 1833. A 
Committee was appointed to make suitable arrangements for 
the funeral of the revered and lamented senior Pastor demon- 
strating the affection and respect with which the Society 
regarded his pure and exalted character and to offer such 
evidence of regret and condolence to the Family of the 
deceased as may justly represent the intensity of interest they 
felt in the melancholy event. They were Deacon William 
Davis, Deacon John Clap, Jolin Lemist, B. F. Copeland, 
Watson Gore; the Standing Committee, Dr. John Bartlett, 
Charles Davis, Joseph Harrington, Ebenezer Crafts, David 
Dudley, Jon^ Dorr, Sherman Leland, Sam'l J. Gardner. 
They were requested to meet at the Church directly after 
the evening service. On the succeeding Wednesday his 
funeral was attended by a large concourse in his meeting 



THE FIFTH MEETING HOUSE 229 

house. The exercises began with a voluntary on the organ. 
A hymn was then sung. Rev. Dr. Lowell, who in early life 
was a pai-ishioner of the deceased, read selected passages of 
Scripture and offered a very appropriate prayer of 20 minutes. 
Rev. George Putnam, colleague of Dr. Porter, delivered a 
very judicious discourse of 40 minutes from Gen. xxv, 8, 
"Then Abraham gave up the ghost, and died in a good old 
age, an old man, and full of years, and was gathered to his 
people." So just and discriminating was he in giving the 
character of Dr. Porter, that they who best knew him and 
were best qualified to judge remarked that they should not 
desire the alteration, addition, or suppression of a single 
word. The services were concluded with a prayer by Rev. 
Dr. Pierce of Brookline and solemn music from the choir, 
when a procession was formed to the place of interment by 
a large number of parishioners and friends. 

Two hot air stoves were placed in the meeting house in 
1834. For the saving of fuel and to render the House more 
comfortable during the winter months, those who usually 
entered the Meeting House at the easterly end, namely, 
P. G. Robbins, Elnathan Taber, William Bacon, Stephen 
Child, Humphrey Bicknell, Charles Davis, John Lemist, 
John Bartlett, Sami H. Hunneman, Aaron Kingsbury, Aaron 
D. Williams, William Dove, Charles Grant, W^ Phipps, 
Edw. Brinley, Aaron Willard, Charles Copeland, H. Cunning- 
ham, D. A. Sigourney, Sam'l J. Gardner, Moses Whiting, 
Nath' Snow, William Fisk, William Patten, consented in 
November, 1834, to have the Doors at that end of the House 
kept closed from the first Sunday of December in each year 
to the first Sunday of March following. 

Oct. 20, 1834, John Lowell, Joseph Harrington, S. C. 
Thwing, Thomas Brewer, Thomas Simmons and the Stand- 
ing Committee were appointed a committee to ascertain 



230 THE FIFTH MEETING HOUSE 

whether tliere was any waste room in the Galleries which 
could be used with profit to the Parish and to take into con- 
sideration the expediency of makmg a general alteration in 
the Gallery Pews. In 1835 a plan was agreed upon and the 
alteration from square pews to long and narrow ones was 
made, the Committee having charge of it being Thomas 
Brewer, Joseph Harrington, Thomas Simmons and the 
Standinir Committee. 

Putnam Street was built and the Parish lot fenced in in 
1836. There was a stove put into the vestry in 1836, and 
during the same year Samuel J. Gardner Esq., had tlie Bible 
presented by him several years ago rebound and Rev. 
]Mr. Putnam presented Pulpit chairs. 

For the first time a fixed salary of $2000 was given Mr. 
Putnam in 1838. Jan. 4, 1841, it was voted that no Pew 
proprietor should be permitted to vote by proxy and that 
each pew should be entitled to one vote. At the same time 
a committee wa^ chosen to warm the church by a furnace. 

In January, ISif^, a committee was chosen to take into 
consideration the recent invitation of the Church of the 
Messiah in New York to our Minister to settle with them, 
but fortimately for us Mr. Putnam declmed. 

In 1845 the Standing Committee was directed to adopt 
such measures as they might deem expedient to keep the 
carriages to the Westward of the circular walk at the West 
end of the Church. 

AYednesday, July 31, 1850. There were public services in 
the church on the occasion of paying Funeral Honors to 
Zackarv Tavlor, late President of the United States, bv the 
City of Roxbury, when the oration was delivered by Rev. 
Thomas D. Anderson. 

Deacon Thwing in a letter, -^Titten June 7, 1852, and 
referring to the day before says : " It was Communion Sunday 



THE FIFTH MEETING HOUSE 231 

and this service was the most touching and impressive I ever 
attended. In the first place Two Brothers who are Twins 
offered themselves for Baptism — this to me is always inter- 
esting — when an adult offers himself at the Altar to show 
his attachment and belief in his Saviour. Then one of them 
held up his infant child, after which aU partook of the Sacra- 
ment. Before commencing the Services of the Qjmmunion, 
Dr. Putnam stated with a few remarks delivered with great 
unction the desire of Doctor Bobbins expressed on his death 
bed to have his name enrolled on the records of the Church, 
to show his behef in the strength and power of the Gospel 
of Jesus Christ to comfort and support him during his pain- 
ful iUness and in his dying hours. Then eight or ten joined 
the Church, six being young ladies and amongst them Dr. 
Putnam's Daughter. I think I never attended the ser%-ice 
when the impressions made upon all was so solemn and so 
great." 

In Januar\% 18.5.5, a committee consisting of John J. Clarke, 
David A. Simmons, William B. Kingsbury, Cushing Stetson 
and Charles K. Dillaway were appointed to consider the 
expediency of remodelling the interior of the Meeting House 
and report at a future meeting. They reported the House 
very much out of repair and proposed to change the pews 
on the floor to long pews with four aisles, two by the walls 
and two dividing the floor into three lines of pgws. Reducing 
the number of windows from 36 small ones to ten long ones. 
Two of the doors of entrance and exit were kept closed for 
the purpose of accommodating two stoves which occupied 
the door-ways : Finally two reports were submitted and after 
a long debate were accepted and placed on file and then the 
meeting dissolved without further action. 

In 1857, the Societj^ voted to remodel the Meeting House 
and even went so far as to consider building a stone Meeting 



232 THE FIFTH MEETING HOUSE 

House. The services during July and August of this year 
were held in the City Hall. The Baptist Society and the 
Mount Pleasant Society offered our Society the use of their 
churches during repairs. The pews were upholstered, the 
floors carpeted and new iron posts substituted for the old 
wooden ones which supported the galleries. 

When this Meeting House was erected in 1804 it was 
without the vestry and the "old red" painted pulpit was 
entered by stairs from the floor at the side. Back of the 
pulpit were three false windows covered by green blinds, one 
of which made the door. (This pulpit was similar to that 
in the Newburyport church, which has since been lowered 
twice and has had stairs built on both sides.) When the 
vestry was added in 1857 the stairs were removed and 
entrance was by a door from the new vestry in the rear. At 
the same time this pulpit gave place to a small circular one 
on top of a post with stairs each side, the vestry door, however, 
remaining. 

In August, four new clock dials were placed on the 
steeple. 

In 1857 William Patten sold his pew for $400, and gave 
the proceeds to the Pastor and Deacons in Trust, the income 
to be given to the deserving poor, except foreigners. In 1859 
Mr. David A. Simmons left one thousand dollars to the 
Society "which sum is to be safely invested and together 
with the increase and income thereof is to be applied 
for and towards the erection of a New Meeting House 
upon the site of their present place of worship whenever 
such new structure shall become necessary and for no other 
purpose." 

The Society contributed in 1861, $450 for the suffering in 
Kansas, and in 1862, $855.58 for the poor and the soldiers, 
and $994 for the Sanitary Commission. Aug. 31, 1862, after 



THE FIFTH MEETING HOUSE 233 

the Second Battle of Bull Run, the Church was dismissed to 
enable all to go home and work for the soldiers, as hospital 
supplies, &c, were much needed. In 1863 a new clock was 
put in the tower of the Meeting House. 

The celebration of Washington's Birthday in 1864 included 
services in this Meeting House. The exercises began by 
the singing of the Battle Hymn by the Choir. Prayer was 
then offered by Rev. John O. Means, and the Star Spangled 
Banner was sung. The oration was then delivered by Rev. 
George Putnam, D.D. Dr. Putnam gave a brief sketch of 
Washington's career, " to bring him before us — to bring us 
into this presence — to lift us up in thought and sympathy 
toward the great light where he stands." The oration itself 
is too long t9 print here, but the allusion to President Lincoln 
must not be omitted as it was received with tremendous 
applause. 

"The nation's banner torn and soiled in battle but with every star and 
stripe kept, whole and radiant in its fair expanse, shall be brought back to 
the capitol ; and it may well be that he the illustrious civic leader who first 
flung it to the breeze in the nation's necessity, should be the man whose 
hands shall be privileged to fiul it again in peace, he who sits worthily in 
the chair that once held Washington: he, so honest and pure in his great 
function, so wise and prudent, so faithful and firm: God Ahnighty bless and 
preserve Abraham Lincoln, President of the United States." 

The exercises were closed by the singing of an original 
hymn and a benediction. 

The Society contributed $933 in 1864 for our suffering 
fellow citizens in East Tennessee. 

In 1865 the Society received a legacy from Mrs. Polly 
Robbins. 

A service in memory of President Abraham Lincoln was 
held April 19, 1865, in this Meeting House by the City 
Government of Roxbury, the order of exercises being as 
follows : 



234 THE FIFTH MEETING HOUSE 

I 

Dirge, by the Band 
"Rest, Spirit, Rest." 

n 

Selections from the Scriptures 
By Rev. J. G. Bartholomew 

m 

Solo and Quartette . . . Mendelssohn 
"O rest in the Lord, wait patiently for Him, and 
He shall give thee thy heart's desires." 

IV 

Prayer 
By Rev. Dr. Thompson 

V 

Hymn by the Choir 
"Peace, Troubled Soul." 

VI 

Address 
By Rev. Dr. George Putnam 

vn 

Selection 
'Cast thy Burden on the Lord." Mendelssohn. 

vm 

Benediction 

The address has been published and was listened to in 
perfect silence by a throng which occupied every seat and 
settees placed in the aisles. 

The church was heavily draped and extra props put in 
to prevent the galleries from giving way under the crowd 
which packed them. 

In Oct., 1865, the meeting house was entered and about 15 
yards of carpet on each of the aisles cut out and carried away. 

In April, 1866, a skylight over the pulpit was constructed. 



THE FIFTH MEETING HOUSE 235 

Concerning this improvement, James Sharp of Watertown 
wrote as follows: 

" I was today (Sunday, April 22, 1866) one of the few who had opportunity 
to notice the effect of the "New light" just introduced at the Meeting House 
of the First Religious Society in Roxbury. Not however without some 
panes as it appears. And the first gleam which met my eye was the cause 
of the following impromptu 

From church we should not keep aloof, 
Since by admission through the roof. 
The Light of Heaven is clearly shed, 
Direct upon the Reverend head. 
Light from above can here be sought 
To illuminate each pious thought 
And lustre new around us shine 
Of truth and love and grace divine." 

During the same year the church spire was rebuilt and the 
Society contributed $3400 for the suflPerers by the fire in 
Portland, and $730 for the Freedman's Aid Society. 

In 1867 the porch of the church was enlarged, and in this 
year the Society contributed $638.70 for the Poor of the 
South and $3095 for a Free Chapel in the Easterly part of 
Roxbury. 

April 13, 1868, for the first time, the church was decorated 
for the Easter services with flowers. Miss Anna Everett 
and Miss Sarah Gore dressed the pulpit. The decoration 
consisted of a cross at the back of the pulpit and a few wreaths 
and Ivy plants around the base. 

In the spring of 1871, Rev. Dr. Putnam asked for a leave 
of absence until October which was granted him and the 
Society supplied the pulpit during his absence. 

In the fall of 1871 the Society contributed $1727.50 for the 
sufferers by the Fire in Chicago. 

In 1873 Rev. Dr. Putnam tendered his resignation as 
Pastor, but he was persuaded to still keep his position and 
was relieved of all responsibility. 



236 THE FIFTH MEETING HOUSE 

In 1875 Mr. John Graham Brooks of Cambridge was 
invited to become Associate Pastor. He accepted and was 
ordained Oct. 10, 1875. The order of exercises were: — 
Reading of the Scriptures and Ordaining Prayer by Rev. C. C. 
Everett, D.D.; Ordaining Address by Rev. George Putnam, 
D.D., who gave the Right Hand of Fellowship. Sermon by 
the pastor elect, and Concluding Prayer by Rev. W™ Newell, 
D.D., of Cambridge, who had extended the Right Hand of 
Fellowship to Dr. Putnam at his ordination. Benediction 
by Mr. Brooks. 

In 1876 the building of a chapel was considered and soon 
built. It was dedicated Saturday evening, Dec. 23, 1876. 
In the order of exercises were selections sung by children 
from the Sunday-school, Invocation by Rev. J. G. Brooks, 
Anthem by the Choir, Prayer of Dedication by Rev. E. E. 
Hale, Benediction by Rev. Dr. Putnam, besides some 
addresses and more singing. It was called Putnam Chapel. 
The Misses Fisher gave the beautiful window of stained 
glass; Mrs. Franklin Greene, the clock; Mr. John J. May, the 
busts of Dr. Channing, by Persies, and Dr. Putnam, by 
Greenough; and Mr. Edward B. Reynolds, the Bible. The 
cost of the chapel, built and furnished, was $10,527.82, entirely 
paid for in 1880 through the generosity of the pew proprietors 
in that year who then furnished the balance of $5,000.00. 

In 1880 Rev. Mr. Brooks, our Pastor, made the following 
report to the Parish : — 

The objects of our Society — Christian worship and work — being com- 
mon to all the congregation, it has seemed to the minister that an annual 
statement of the condition of the parish, what has been accomplished during 
the year, what is doing and what should be done, would help us all to a 
more inteUigent interest in the welfare of the society. 

It is in the hope of such better and wider imderstanding, that this report 
is given. The nmnber of famiUes now connected with the Society is 301 ; 
the number of calling places 316. It is the purpose of the minister to call 



THE FIFTH MEETING HOUSE 237 

once each year upon all. Many special needs, however, such as sickness 
and death, make much more calling necessary. During the last two years 
an average of seventy-one calls per month was made. The Society is still 
widely scattered. Eight famiHes are in Brookline, fourteen in Jamaica 
Plain, three in West Roxbury, one in Newton, one in Brighton, nine in 
Dorchester, thirty in Boston. It is yet true, that the situation of so large a 
number of families makes such visiting impossible, as the minister would 
gladly make for the sake of that influence which comes from a closer personal 
connection with the home life of his people. Mostly owing to this condition 
of the Society, also, the minister often does not hear of sickness until to hear 
it is an embarrassment; he therefore earnestly asks that he be informed of 
such events as he would gladly know. The help which, in these days, the 
minister can render in time of trouble is but little; yet no kinder service is 
ever done to any minister than when such opportunity is confided to him. 
Nor does anjiJiing so strengthen him in his work as admission to the deeper 
hfe of those whose Sabbath worship he directs. 

Dm-ing the year five couples have been imited in marriage, three persons 
were baptized, seven united with the church. The number of deaths ten. 
The chapel service, begun four years ago, continues during sixteen or 
eighteen weeks, from November into March. The object has been more 
especially instruction in the history of the Ethnic, the Jewish and Christian 
religions. 

Rev. Mr. Brooks resigned in the early spring of 1882 and 
we had no settled Pastor until 1883, when Rev. James De 
Normandie was called, and he was installed March 14, 1883. 
The services included the Invocation by Rev. William H. 
Lyon of Roxbury; Reading the Scriptures by Rev. C. Y. 
De Normandie, Kingston; Sermon by Rev. James Freeman 
Clarke, D.D., Boston; Ordaining Prayer, Rev. A. P. Peabody, 
D.D., Cambridge; Right Hand of Fellowship by Rev. Edward 
H. Hall, Cambridge; Address to the People and Pastor by 
Rev. Edward E. Hale, Boston; Benediction by the Pastor; 
the whole interspersed with music. 

In 1883, a new Bible was presented to the Society by the 
young men of the Parish. 

In 1887 a committee was appointed to ascertain the rights 
of the First Religious Society in Roxbury to the burying 
ground off Kearsarge Avenue. 



238 THE FIFTH MEETING HOUSE 

The present pulpit was built in 1888, and it is similar to 
that in the First Church in Lancaster, built by Bulfinch in 
1816. At the same time the church was painted and refur- 
nished and gas introduced. 

The first mention of ushers was in 1889, when the following 
men served : — William Wells Bosworth, B. P. Cheney Clapp, 
Nathan S.Robinson, Charming Robinson, William S. Rumrill. 

An attempt was made in 1891 to change the name of 
the corporation to "First Church in Roxbury," but it was 
defeated. 

There is nothing so fitting in closing the account of this 
Historical Church as a brief description of the services on 
the One Hundredth Anniversary of the Dedication of this 
House of Worship, which occurred June 7, 1904. Some of 
the descendants of those who worshipped here in 1804 were 
present on this anniversary. 

The order of service was: — Organ Voluntary; Anthem; 
Invocation, the congregation joining in the Responsive Ser- 
vice; Anthem; Prayer by The Rev. Alexander McKenzie, 
D.D., Minister of the First Church in Cambridge; Organ; 
H}Tnn in which the congregation joined. Address by the 
Rev. James De Normandie, D.D., minister of this church; 
Anthem; Address by the Right Reverend William Lawrence, 
Bishop of Massachusetts; Address by the Rev. Edward 
Everett Hale, D.D., of the South Congregational Church, 
Boston; Hymn in which the congregation joined; Bene- 
diction. 

There were no formal exercises of unveiling of the memo- 
rial tablets now in position and seen for the first time, the 
reference to the men thus honored, which Dr. De Normandie 
gave in his address, sufficing for such a ceremony. The 
tablets were those to John Eliot, Amos Adams, Eliphalet 
Porter, George Putnam of the Pastors, and Thomas Dudley, 



' 3 1 .A 




THE FIFTH MEETING HOUSE 239 

Joseph Dudley, Paul Dudley, William Dudley, Charles K. 
Dillaway, and John Felt Osgood of the laymen. 

One of the Daily papers refers to this event as follows : — 

The observance last night of the hundredth anniversary of 
the dedication of the present house of worship at Eliot Square, 
Roxbury, the old First Church of that quarter, was one of the 
most interesting and inspiring events that has occurred for 
a long time. The history and tradition of which it is now 
the visible and venerable symbol, are more venerable still, 
for as Dr. De Normandie said : '* For 273 years there has been 
no interruption of worship on this hilltop." 

The church is practically coincident with the history of the 
colony and stood from the beginning, not only for the strong 
virtues of the Puritan pioneers, but for the added grace and 
nobleness of Rev. John Eliot's sympathy for the natives, 
which neither at that time nor to the present day has been 
characteristic of Anglo-Saxon colonizations. The glory of 
the spot is its association with the name and tireless devo- 
tion of "John Eliot, apostle to the Indians." This alone is 
enough to insure it a chapter in the annals of early American 
history, whose glory can never fade. 

This feature of its early record was feelingly and beauti- 
fully dwelt upon in the noble prayer delivered by Rev. Dr. 
McKenzie of Cambridge, and that and, the addresses which 
followed seemed admirably attuned to the spirit of the occa- 
sion. All denominational differences were put aside and the 
broader interests which the event suggested were merged in 
common Christian fellowship among those who were equal 
sharers in their reverence for their great heritage. The 
church was crowded and the profound silence that reigned 
throughout the exercises was an eloquent tribute to their 
interest. 



240 THE FIFTH MEETING HOUSE 



REV. GEORGE PUTNAM, D.D. 

Son of Andrew and Jerusha (Clap) Putnam, was born in 
Sterling, Mass., August 16, 1807. His early training was 
in the academies of Leicester and Groton. He entered Har- 
vard College in 1822, and graduated in 1826. He was plain, 
simple, and unpretending, one of the youngest in the class, 
and though thoroughly manly, in no other respect old for 
his years, the soul of truth and honor, respected and liked by 
all his classmates, dearly loved by many. He held a high 
rank in his class, and undoubtedly might have had a higher 
place if he had striven for it. 

After graduating he spent one year as a teacher in Duxbury, 
and then entered the Divinity School in Cambridge. What 
his success was there may be inferred from the fact that before 
completing his required course of instruction, he received an 
invitation to preach as a candidate for one of the oldest 
societies in New England and that after ofl&ciating but three 
Sundays he was called, by a very general vote, to become the 
associate pastor there of the Rev. Dr. Eliphalet Porter. His 
letter of acceptance is dated May 21, 1830. He was ordained 
July 7, 1830. Rev. Orville Dewey, D.D., preached the 
ordination sermon. 

This church was then, as it was at the time of his death, 
one of the largest and most influential congregations in this 
neighborhood. 

In its service Dr. Putnam at once attained the distinction 
which he ever afterward held, as a thoughtful, interesting, 
wise, and eloquent preacher. 

A careful student, of very wide range of reading, he made 
everything contribute to the interest of his sermons. The 
subjects which he treated in the pulpit were of every variety, 



a 







o 

o 



h 
w 

W 

o 

2 

O 
O 

CO 

D 
O 

o 
z 

h 
W 



h 
W 

W 

H 

o 
o 

w 

h 
2 



REV. GEORGE PUTNAM. D.D. 241 

and before he had been long in the ministry of this Church, 
the most thoughtful men and women of this community took 
every opportunity to hear him preach, whether they were or 
were not members of the same religious communion. 

The parish at the time of his ordination, and for some 
years after, was essentially an agricultural one, a majority 
of the members being substantial farmers. To this class the 
new minister's style of preaching, so plain, direct, and impres- 
sive, so full of illustrations of God's beneficence in nature, 
was just what they needed. It made them appreciate their 
calling in its religious as well as secular aspect, and it made 
them respect each other. 

In 1831 Dr. Putnam married Elizabeth Anne, daughter of 
Rev. Dr. Henry Ware, Hollis Professor of Harvard College. 
Miss Caroline Porter, Mrs. Richard Ward, and Mrs. B. F. 
Copeland were the committee who furnished their home at 
the time of the marriage. 

No one who knew Mrs. Putnam can forget the beneficence 
and beauty of her character. Where she was there was 
sunshine ever. She had a ready sympathy for all in trouble, 
and an open hand for their relief. She died March 24, 1866. 

Gradually in the course of ten years the agricultural ele- 
ment in our society disappeared. The increased volume of 
land, and the estimates of the assessors, drove our farmers 
to more profitable fields. 

The pews they left were, soon filled by the commercial 
class, many of them from the highest mercantile houses in 
Boston. Some of these, who had not been accustomed to 
look for business talent and experience in clerical men, were 
surprised to find that Dr. Putnam could give them wise 
counsel in mercantile emergencies, when even the oldest 
among them were in doubt. 

No one had a higher estimate of mercantile honor than 



242 THE FIFTH MEETING HOUSE 

he. No one despised more heartily any deviation from it. 
Some of his sermons on this theme were of such singular 
merit that he was requested to publish them, but this, like 
many other such requests, he generally declined. He had a 
singular disinclination to publish anything he wrote. His 
common answer was that after he had preached a sermon at 
home, and three or four times elsewhere by exchanges, it 
reached more than would be likely to read a pamphlet. 

There was another class in our Society, and not a small 
one, the professional men, whom he delighted by the beauty 
of his language and the brilliancy of his thoughts. One 
trait he had always shown — an intuitive sagacity to seize 
the master key to a subject, and so easily open all its parts. 

He received the degree of S.T.D. from Bowdoin College 
in 1845. 

In 1845 he was offered the chair of the Hollis Professorship 
at Cambridge, and the friends of the college urged him per- 
sistently to accept it. The possibility of his leaving our 
Society of course produced intense excitement. The letters 
he received from petitioners and remonstrants would make 
an interesting volume. The real question with him was, 
" A'STiat is my duty in settling this trying question ? " Hap- 
pily for our Society, and for him too, we think, he decided to 
remain with us. The interests of the college were always 
dear to him, and at a later period of his life he had abundant 
opportunity of showing his appreciation of them. He was 
from 1853 to 1877 a most efficient member of the corporation. 
His services in that position were greater than the public 
knows. 

Dr. Putnam was interested largely in public affairs, outside 
of his professional duties. He was a member of the con- 
stitutional convention in 1853 ; one of the presidential electors 
in 1864, and with Edward Everett, Ex-Governor Lincoln, 



REV. GEORGE PUTNAM, D.D. 243 

and John G. Wliittier, voted for Abraham Lincoki. In 1869 
he was elected a member of the Massachusetts legislature, 
and served two years with great efficiency. The ability he 
showed in the discussion of financial questions and kindred 
subjects clearly indicated the practical character of his mind. 

In educational affairs he manifested a deep interest. He 
was chairman of the school committee of Roxbury, and for 
many years President of the Board of Trustees of the Rox- 
bury Latin School, President of the Trustees of the Fellowes 
Athenaeum, Chairman of the Trustees of the Boston Young 
Men's Christian Union, and one of the Trustees of the 
Boston Public Library. 

During his whole ministry the character of his preaching 
was eminently practical, and some of his most effective 
sermons were those addressed to young business men. Every 
day topics, those that touched nearest the lives of his people, 
he chose most frequently. For controversial sermons he had 
no taste, or belief in their usefulness, and in this he resembled 
his venerable predecessor, the Rev. Dr. Porter. To the 
good sense and Christian spirit of both may be attributed 
the harmony which has always subsisted among our Roxbury 
ministers of all denominations. 

In the spring of 1871, a long vacation having been granted 
for health and recreation, he spent six months in Europe. 
The acquaintances he formed there, and the interesting places 
he visited, were ever after among his most pleasant memories. 

On the 23rd of December, 1872, he attended a meeting of 
the Corporation of Harvard College. The weather was 
intensely cold. On his return home he was stricken by 
paralysis. The Society took immediate measures to relieve 
him from all anxiety in regard to pastoral duties and 
expressed in many ways their sympathy for him in his 
invalid state. 



244 THE FIFTH MEETING HOUSE 

On the 6^^ of October, 1873, a letter was received from 
him in which he resigned his pastoral office. The Society 
unanimously passed a series of resolutions expressive of the 
strong attachment of the people, their high appreciation of 
his past services, and their unwillingness to accept his 
resignation. 

In view of the impaired health of Dr. Putnam, measures 
were immediately taken for the election of an associate pastor. 
The Society united in giving a call to Rev. John Graham 
Brooks, which call was accepted. 

During the succeeding year the senior pastor appeared 
often in the pulpit, but rarely took part in the services beyond 
the reading of a hymn. If he ventured upon a sermon his 
people listened with increased interest to the words which 
fell from his lips, for they were conscious how soon that voice, 
which had so charmed them by its utterances in the past, 
might cease forever. 

The last time he was heard in his pulpit he spoke with his 
usual impressiveness, but it was painfully evident from the 
feebleness of his voice that no progress had been made in the 
recovery of his health. By the advice of his friends he did 
not preach again, though occasionally taking some part in 
the Sunday services. 

He died at his home on Highland Street, April 11, 1878. 

Rev. John Graham Brooks, a Divinity student of the 
class of 1875, Harvard University, was ordained Pastor of 
this church Oct. 10, 1875. His work in the church will be 
found elsewhere, in the Parish report of 1880, the Sunday 
School and the Young Men's Union. He resigned as Pastor 
in 1882 to study Sociology in Europe, and has since been 
distinguished as a Lecturer on Economics. 

Rev. James De Normandie, D.D. our Present Pastor. 



DEACONS 245 



DEACONS 

Samuel Sumner, see Fourth Meeting House. 

Joshua Felton, see Fourth Meeting House. 

Nehemiah Munroe, see Fourth Meeting House. 

William Davis, son of Moses and Hannah (Pierpont) 
Davis, was bora Nov. 18, 1770, and died Feb. 4, 1850. He 
married (1) Polly Smith and (2) her half sister Sally Smith, 
both being daughters of Captain Ralph Smith, a prominent 
resident of Roxbury. In early life he was engaged in the West 
India goods business, which was not successful, and later 
followed his natural inclination and was made Principal of 
the Grammar School, now known as the Roxbury Latin 
School, a position he held for many years. He was after- 
wards a Trustee. He was ordained Deacon of this church 
in 1819 and held the office until his death. He was Town 
Clerk for many years and Parish Clerk for one year. His 
home was situated on Lambert Ave., on the hill, and here he 
cultivated a beautiful garden of flowers and various kinds of 
fruit trees, being extremely fond of horticulture. 

Ebenezer Crafts, son of Daniel and Abigail (Kent) 
Crafts, was born Jan. 12, 1779, in Roxbury, and died there 
Jan. 10, 1864. He married Sarah Heath, daughter of Major 
John Jones and Sarah (Heath) Spooner. He cultivated the 
farm inherited from his grandfather, Deacon Ebenezer Craft, 
containing about fifty acres. He served in the state militia 
as Brigade Quartermaster with the rank of Major and was 
always known in after life as Major Ebenezer Crafts, rather 
than Deacon Ebenezer Crafts. He was ordained Deacon 
July 19, 1827, and was a friend and helper wherever help was 
needed. He was for many years engaged in mercantile 
pursuits, but in consequence of losses in the crisis of 1837 
withdrew to the old farm, moving back into the house in 
which he was born. 



246 THE FIFTH MEETING HOUSE 

John Clap, son of Noah and Ann (Clap) Clap, was bom 
in Dorchester, Sept. 11, 1764, and died Sept. 23, 1840, m 
Roxbury. He married (1) Susanna Robinson; (2) Priscilla 
Holden ; (3) Ann Hawes Pierce, who gave a communion cup 
to the church in 1830. He served his time as a cabinet-maker 
with Deacon Munro, and settled in Roxbury, carrying on his 
business in a shop which stood on the main street of the 
town. He was ordained Deacon July 19, 1827, and was a 
truly honest man, affable and remarkably courteous to all. 
His death was noticed in a funeral sermon by his Pastor, 
Rev. George Putnam, D.D., who called him, "the last of the 
Puritans," "one who embodied in himself all that was 
respectable and lovely in the primitive worthies of New 
England." "A plain, downright man, yet affable and cour- 
teous, who never did a thing for show, had none of the restless 
pride of life, and gave the world the spectacle of a calm, 
cheerful, blameless, contented old age." He ever felt a deep 
interest in all that concerned his church and his native town 
of Dorchester. 

Jonathan Avery Richards was born April 6, 1797, and 
died April 19, 1845. He married Nancy D. Gore in 1820. 
He was ordained Deacon, June 3, 1838, and resigned in 1841. 
He was a book-keeper in Boston. 

RuFUS Wyman, son of Zebediah and Eunice Wyman, was 
born July 16, 1778, and died June 22, 1842. He married 
Anne Morrill of Boston. He fitted for college at Westford 
Academy and entered Harvard in 1795 and was graduated 
in 1799. For one year he taught in Worcester. In 1800 he 
was entered as a student of medicine with Dr. Samuel Brown 
of Boston, but owing to the illness of his instructor he finished 
his course with Dr. John Jeffries. He stayed in Boston and 
then moved to Chelmsford thinking a country life might be 
of benefit to his health. In 1817 he was appointed first 



DEACONS 247 



Physician and Superintendent of the McLean Asylum for 
the Insane at Charlestown, which position he resigned in 
1834, soon after which he removed to Roxbury. He was 
ordained Deacon of this church in 1840. Rev. Dr. George 
Putnam, D.D., in a sermon preached after his death, said in 
part, "I cannot now, I could not in his life time, gather any 
words concerning him, but words of commendation and 
respect. He was not one of those who are prized after death 
only. His character was of that positive sort, so obviously 
and constantly ruled by high principle that men noticed it 
while he lived, as they only note those who are really above 
the level of common excellence, who live not by exponents 
but by principle, not to appearances but to fulfil righteousness 
for righteousness' sake." He was appointed to various offices 
of trust and was a member of American Academy of Arts 
and Sciences and for two years was President of Massachu- 
setts Medical Society. 

Benjamin Kent, son of Samuel and Rhoda (Hill) Kent, 
was born May 25,1794, in Somerville, and died Aug. 7, 1859, 
in Roxbury. He married Eleanor Bradford. He was grad- 
uated at Harvard College in 1820 and from the Divinity 
School in 1824. Before his settlement he supplied the pulpit 
for three months at Washington, D.C., at a period when the 
journey there and back was performed mostly by stage. He 
was ordained as Colleague Pastor to Dr. Allyn in Duxbury, 
June 7, 1826. After a short but trying and very laborious 
ministry, he resigned his office of Pastor, June 7, 1833. He 
was chiefly instrumental in establishing a High School in 
that town which was first under the charge of Rev. George 
Putnam, who afterwards became our Pastor. R. W. Emer- 
son in answer to an invitation to be the Phi Beta Kappa poet 
thus speaks of him : " May I take the liberty to ask whether 
Mr. Kent of Duxbury has ever been requested to write a 



248 THE FIFTH MEETING HOUSE 

poem for the Society ? He was much the most successful 
poet who appeared on the college stage for many years." 
After leaving Duxbury he opened a young ladies' school in 
Roxbury in connection with which he gave courses of lectures 
on scientific subjects not confined to his pupils. He was 
ordained Deacon of this church in 1841 which office he held 
until his death. He was a trustee of the Roxbury Latin 
School and also for many years Librarian of the Roxbury 
Athenaeum. He was a great lover of antiquity. He ran- 
sacked garrets, collected many autographs and literary docu- 
ments of the Pilgrims, and made several discoveries of 
interest. 

Charles Knapp Dillawat, son of Samuel and Mary 
(Knapp) Dillaway, was bom Oct. 19, 1804, in Roxbury, and 
died there May 2, 1889. He married Martha Ruggles 
Porter, daughter of Rev. Huntington Porter and niece of 
Rev. Eliphalet Porter, D.D. He entered Harvard College 
in 1822 in the sophomore year and was graduated in 1825. 
He received the degree of A.M. in 1829. After graduation 
he was for a time assistant teacher in the Hancock School. 
In 1827 he became sub-master of the Boston Latin School, 
and in 1831 he became master. Holding this position for 
five years, he, in 1836, resigned on account of ill health. He 
was through his life interested in educational matters and 
for many years was regarded as a standard authority in the 
classics. Some of his publications were, " Roman Antiquities 
and Ancient Mythology," "The Classical Speaker," "Latin 
Classics with English Notes," in 12 volumes, " Colloquies of 
Erasmus," with glossary, beside many minor classical works 
and fugitive writings. He wrote and published in 1860 "A 
History of the Grammar School," or "The Free Schoole of 
1645 in Roxburie." He was the author, also, of the valuable 
chapter upon education in the Memorial History of 



DEACONS 249 



Boston. He was secretary of his college class, a trustee of 
the Roxbury Latin School for 50 years, and the Secretary of 
the Board of Trustees of the school for many years. He 
was ordained Deacon of this church in 1842, which office he 
held until his death; Member of the Standing Committee 
1857 to 1863; Treasurer of this church from Jan. £7, 1862, 
until 1886; Superintendent of the Sunday School for 25 
years. A member of the Board of Trustees of the Fellowes 
Athenaeum and after the death of Dr. Putnam, its President. 
Supply Clap Thwing, son of Samuel and Sarah (Homans) 
Thwing, was bom Oct. 27, 1798, in Boston, and died June 4, 
1877, in Roxbury; married (1) Elsey Fellowes Davis; (2) Anne 
Shapley Haven ; (3) Anna Haven. His name descended to 
him from his ancestor Roger Clap of Dorchester, who, during 
a famine in the town, had a son bom on the day supplies 
were received from England, and showed his gratitude by 
naming this son Supply Clap. He (Supply Clap Thwing) 
was educated at Phillips Exeter Academy, and early placed 
in the counting room of James and Thomas H. Perkins, 
where he received the necessary instruction to qualify him 
for his future career. He began business on his own account 
in 1826, and for fifty years was actively engaged in mercantile 
pursuits, doing an extensive business with New Orleans and 
the East Indies. He was also a part owner of vessels and 
later in life was engaged in the coal trade. He removed to 
Roxbury about 1824 and here he passed the remainder of 
his life, and it was among his neighbors and fellow citizens 
that his truly honorable character was seen to the best advan- 
tage. In 1831 he joined this church and ever after took the 
deepest interest in its affairs and was foremost in anything 
pertaining to it. He had more intimate relations with Dr. 
Putnam than anyone else in the parish and was frequently 
consulted by him in important matters. He was a member 



250 THE FIFTH MEETING HOUSE 

of the Standing Committee in 1831 and 1832 and ordained 
Deacon June 29, 1851, which office he held until his death. 
He was Treasurer of the Communion Table from March 24, 
1858, until his death. Trustee of the Grammar School in 
the Easterly Part of the Town of Roxbury, now kno^\Ti as 
the Roxbury Latin School, being elected in place of Deacon 
Kent, in 1859, and on Oct. 29, 1862, elected its Treasurer, 
which office he held until his death. A trustee of the Rox- 
bury Athenaeum, A Vice President and a Trustee of the 
Institution for Savings in Roxbury and Vicinity. He was one 
of the original trustees of the Fellowes Athenaeum and his 
connection with it may best be told in the words of Mr. 
William C. Collar at the Dedication Services, July 9, 1873. 
" ]\ir. Fellowes not unnaturally thought of the city where he 
had found a happy home for almost twenty years ; and being 
in his later life a great reader, he designed to found there an 
institution which should be to many the means of that enjoy- 
ment and culture which he had himself derived from the 
best literature. But fortunately, before he was fully resolved, 
he asked the advice of a friend with whom he had lived in 
Roxbury in the most intimate relations. That friend sur- 
vives him in a vigorous old age, and he is present with us 
to-day. You all know him well, — the faithful steward of 
his friend's legacy to you, your friend and neighbor, and 
mine, the friend of everybody, — Supply Clap Thwing. He 
said to Mr. Fellowes — I give his own words — 'My friend, 
your mother was bom in Roxbury, and there, you say your- 
self, you passed some of {he happiest years of your life. We 
want an Athenaeum, and you could not leave your property, 
outside of your own family, to a better object.' Few words 
but fit and effective. For Jhe following year, on reading the 
will of his friend, Mr. Thwing had the satisfaction of finding 
that his appeal was successful. But I have omitted one 



DEACONS 251 



circumstance without which my account would be incomplete 
and yet I know not if I have a right to disclose what was 
told me, perhaps in confidence, months ago, and what I 
dared not ask permission to make known, when I saw that 
the public interests demanded that the whole truth should be 
told. I say ' the public interest,' for it does concern the 
public to know of every noble and unselfish act which makes 
nobleness and unselfishness easier for all. And it is due to 
Mr. Thwing, though I may offend him by this disclosure, 
that you should know that the planting of this institution 
among you is due not less to his disinterestedness than to his 
timely and prudent counsel. You will already have sur- 
mised something of what I had to tell you, namely, that a 
large part of the sum which, together with the accumulated 
interest, has been devoted to the establishment of this library, 
was by Mr. Fellowes's first will bequeathed to Mr. Thwing; 
and that it was at his urgent request, when this became known 
to him, that his friend cancelled the legacy and increased by 
so much his bequest to you. Thus happily what the splendid 
generosity of the one conceived and begun, the rare unsel- 
fishness of the other completed and crowned; and hence, 
while we shall always hold him in grateful remembrance to 
whom we owe this noble benefaction, we shall honor in our 
hearts the not less noble self-sacrifice of him who refused 
wealth proffered in the name of friendship that he might 
bestow enduring riches on us, and on those who shall come 
after us ; or, still better, that he might put it in the power of 
each and all of us to enrich ourselves." 

John Hunt, son of Elisha and Lucy (Calef) Hunt, was 
born June 26, 1799, in Boston, and died May 16, 1873, in 
Medford. He married (1) Nabby Williams Esty; (2) Eliza- 
beth Gardner Whitin ; (3) Sarah Jane Symmes. He was a 
morocco dresser, having served an apprenticeship with Mr. 



252 THE FIFTH MEETING HOUSE 

Isaac Mead of Charlestown, Mass., afterwards having a 
factory of his own there. About 1840 he removed to Roxbury 
and had a factory which stood beside the old Eustis Street 
Burying Ground, with a sale store in Boston. He was an 
Alderman of Roxbury in 1852. Also a member of the 
Mass. Charitable Mechanics Association. It was his custom 
to have his family sit around him on Sunday evenings at home 
and to read from the Bible and sing some of the old hymns. 
He was very fond of singing. He was brought up in the 
Old South Church, his father being a Deacon there. In his 
younger days, when other boys were walking the streets, he 
spent his time in his room improving his mind reading. In 
that way he made up his mind, no doubt, to take up the Unita- 
rian belief. He was a member of the Sagamore Club which 
began meeting at each others houses in 1850 for simple 
enjoyment and a clam chowder supper. Among its members 
were Rev. George Putnam, D.D., Samuel Walker, Benj. 
Kent, John J. Clarke, Edwin Lemist, Manlius Clark, Thomas 
Adams, F. D. Huntington, Daniel Leach. He was ordained 
Deacon of this Church June 29, 1851, and resigned May 11, 
1856, on account of his removal to Southboro where he became 
interested in farming. He attended church in Framingham 
where he also was a Deacon. About 1866 he moved to 
Medford. 

Adams Ayer, son of John and Susannah (Emerson) 
Ayer, was born June 18, 1823, in Haverhill, and died 
March 22, 1882. Married Martha Augusta Hinkley. He 
attended the district school and taught for a time in the 
district schools. He was graduated from Harvard in 1848 
and from the Divinity School in 1851. He held pastorates 
in Chelsea, Mass., Newport, R. I., and in Charlestown, N. H. 
He resigned this last pastorate to come to Boston to assist 
Mr. Holmes Hinkley, his father-in-law, who was then presi- 



DEACONS 253 



dent of the Hinkley Locomotive Works. After the death 
of Mr. Hinkley he was chosen to fill his place. He made 
his home in Roxbury and was ordained Deacon of this church 
July 1, 1877. He was a member of the Standing Committee 
in 1872 and 1878. He was a member of the Christian 
Register Association and established a scholarship at Har- 
vard. Member of the Common Council of Boston in 1870 
and 1871. He was a man of kind heart and generous hand. 
Joseph Warren Tucker, son of Elijah and Rebecca 
(Weatherly) Tucker, was bom Dec. 1, 1800, in Dorchester, 
and died April 21, 1885, in Roxbury. Married Mary Porter. 
Until the age of 21 he worked upon his father's farm in 
Roxbury, having no advantages for education, except such 
as were afforded by the district schools of that period, 
which were of an inferior grade. However, by special 
studies after he had come of age, he prepared himself for 
school teaching, and for some years taught district schools 
in the winter. Then he began to serve as clerk in stores until 
1827 when he went into the grocery business for himself. In 
1827 he was chosen chorister in charge of the choir of this 
church and even advanced money for its support. From 
1837 to 1843 he represented the town of Roxbury in the 
Legislature. He was also upon the board of assessors, over- 
seers of the poor, and surveyors of highways. Li 1840 he 
was elected a selectman, serving until Roxbury was made 
a city, in 1846, when he was elected city clerk, and held the 
office during the whole period that Roxbury remained a 
separate city. He was elected clerk of this Parish Jan. 7, 
1850, and served until his death. He was a member of the 
music committee in 1836 and from 1849 to 1865. He was 
ordained Deacon of this Society Jan. 1, 1882, and held this 
office until his death. He was a justice of the peace, notary 
public, and held many other offices of trust. 



254 THE FIFTH MEETING HOUSE 

»__ 

Jeremiah Plimpton, son of Ziba and Olive (Smith) 
Plimpton, was bom May 10, 1810, in Sharon, and died Nov. 
28, 1892. Married Sarah Davenport Bradlee. He was for 
twenty-five years a school-teacher, and master of the Dudley 
School for girls in Roxbury from 1839 to 1855, when, finding 
his health somewhat impaired, he withdrew from the business 
of teaching. From 1862 to 1868 he held the office of U. S. 
Assistant Assessor for 3d Collection District of Mass. He 
was ordained Deacon of this Society, June 7, 1885. 

John Joseph May, son of Samuel and Mary (Goddard) 
May, was born in Boston, Oct. 15, 1813, died there May 25, 
1903. Married Caroline S. Danforth of Norton, Mass. He 
was a graduate of the Boston High and Latin Schools. Mr. 
May's eldest brother, Samuel, having been educated for the 
ministry, his father decided that he should be educated for 
commercial life. After serving his apprenticeship, he became 
a partner in his father's firm, Samuel May and Company, 
importers of hardware and metals, established in 1797. He 
made his first trip to Europe in 1835 and several subsequent 
trips, the last being in 1896. He also made several trips to 
San Francisco, where his firm had a branch establishment. 
He moved to Dorchester in 1845, where he bought a large 
estate which he called " Mayfield," after the village in Sussex, 
England. He was one of the earliest members, and in some 
instances, a charter member, of the Museum of Fine Arts, The 
Boston Athenaeum, the Massachusetts Institute of Technology, 
the Bostonian Society, etc. He was one of the wealthiest and 
most prominent landed proprietors in Dorchester. Though he 
was ofi'ered many ofiices of trust, having often been urged to 
become a member of Congress, he declined all such positions 
with the single exception of a membership of the school board, 
which at that time needed an active and intelligent worker. 
He contributed largely to the to\\m's improvements and 



DEACONS 255 



institutions, giving money with great liberality for the benefit 
of the community. Although a merchant, he was by nature 
and preference a student, especially of the domestic history 
of New England, which was one of his great pleasures during 
his maturer years. He was a very large buyer of books and 
accumulated a library which became celebrated for its size 
and extent. While a resident of Boston he was a member 
of John Pierpont's Society. On moving to Dorchester he 
joined this church, of which he was a member for nearly 
sixty years, and ordained Deacon June 7, 1885. By virtue of 
this oflSce he became a Trustee of the Roxbury Latin School, 
member of the music committee of this- Society from 1849 
to 1864. He left a record of fidelity to the interests of the city 
of his birth, of the town of his adoption. 

Henry Dan Wilmarth, son of Daniel and Sarah (Luke) 
Wihnarth, was bom Oct. 4, 1826, in Taunton, died May 4, 
1896, in Roxbury. Married Matilda Reynolds. When only 
fourteen years of age his father died and he was obliged to 
leave home to seek his fortune. He came to Boston and 
entered the employ of Kendal Whitwell & Co., importers of 
woolens, remaining with them through successive changes 
of partnership, finally becoming a partner under the style of 
Talbot, Wilmarth & Co. He was ordained Deacon June 7, 
1885. 



256 THE FIFTH MEETING HOUSE 

CO^^niUNION TABLE 

The first mention, in the Deacon's Book, of anj'thing 
relating to the table was "At a Curch Meting Held at the 
Revem'd Mr. Porter's Lodgings, April, 1789, Voted the 
Deacons Sell Some of the Church plate two vessels that was 
Worn out and purches With the Same a New tankard, the old 
plate asayed that was sold twenty Nine ounces & Some 
peny wait & sold for 9. 6, 4." 

1789 

May 27, the tankard Bought ^ twenty three owences 

& thimteen peeny ^ at Seven Shillings pr ownce . 8. 5. 6 

May 1789. Cash Expended to purchase This Book 

for the church 10. 

Cash for a Small kegg for the use of 

Carying the wine on Communion 

Days 1. 8 8. 17. 2 

Ballence Carr'd over 9. 2 

(The following is in the handwriting of Deacon Supply 

Clap Thwing.) 

"part of This old plate sold was that from which the Apostle Eliot had 
administered the Communion." 
"how short sighted !!!" 

A Memorandum of the Plates, the Property of the First 
Church of Christ in Roxbury, Taken on the 26 Day of Dec. 
1803 is as follows: 

One Tankard The Gift of Mr. John Holbrook to the first 
Church of Christ in Roxbury 1735 makers name W Correl 
on the side and Led. 

One Tankard the Gift of !Mrs. Susanna Lamb to the old 
Church in Roxbury 1743, Mar^ on side SV 

One Tankard The Gift of Mis. Dor. Williams to the first 
Church of Christ in Roxbury 1734 Mark on the side I Hurd. 

One Tankard For the Use of the Communion in the First 



COMMUNION TABLE 257 

Church in Roxbuiy given by the Widow & Children of the 
Govt Dudley 1722 June, Ma^" IC 

One Tankard the gift of Mrs. Sarah Mayo to the first 
Church of Christ in Roxbury, 1740 makers name ID 



Supposed 

belonged 

to the church 

1650 



T 

One Tankard Mai^ on the Bottom ,^_rr maker IC. 

EECR 
One Tankard Mar'^* , . on the Bottom, IH on the lid. 

One Cup Mar^^ MT side HP Bottom. 
One Cup Markt WG side Maker FD side. 

W 

One Cup mar'^-— ■, Maker WC. 

One Table Spoon no Mark. 
In 1830 the following vote was passed : 

Whereas on account of the Church Plate belonging to the 
First Church in Roxbury, being very Ancient, much worn, 
and the form of the vessels not convenient (being chiefly 
Tankards), it was thought advisable to have it manufactured 
into Cups with covers, providing the expense of the same 
would not be an objection, and our Revd Pastor, Dr. Eliphalet 
Porter, was authorised by the Church to effect the same, if he, 
after ascertaining the expense, should think it advisable. 
On enquiry it was found the old plate would furnish a suffi- 
cient number of Cups with Covers, for the Communion 
Table, and have an overplus of old silver sufficient to pay all 
the expenses of the alteration. !Mr. Jones of Boston was 
employed by our Revd. Pastor to Manufacture the new 
Vessels and as Five of the Old Tankards were Gifts from 
Ancient Members of the First Church in Roxburv, to said 
Church, ]Mr. Jones was directed to engrave the names of 
said donors on the Cups made from said Five Tankards, 
and the year in which they were given. Also To engrave on 
them the year in which they were Renewed. 

William Davis (Deacon). 



258 THE FIFTH MEETING HOUSE 

Inventory of Church plate, renewed : — 

Two cups with covers, presented by The Widow & 

Children of the late Governor Dudley .... 1722 

Renewed 1830 

Two Cups with covers presented by Mrs. Dorothy 

Williams « . . . . 1734 

Renewed 1830 

Two Cups with covers presented by Mr. John Hol- 

brook 1735 

Renewed 1830 

One Cup with cover presented by Mrs. Sarah Mayo 1740 

Renewed 1830 

One Cup with cover presented by Mrs. Susanna 

Lamb 1743 

Renewed 1830 

One Cup with cover presented by Mrs. Ann Clap, 

wife of Deacon John Clap 1830 

One Table Spoon Renewed 1830 

One Plated Flaggon, purchased with overplus old silver, 
which remained after paying Mr. Jones Bill for making the 
above named cups and spoon. 

The above first made use of September 5^^, 1830. 

In addition to the above there was a Christening Bason 
(Silver), presented by the late Mrs. Martha Porter, wife of 
the late Rev. Dr. Eliphalet Porter. 

The following articles were presented by Deacon John Clap 
in 1630: — A new Mahogany Communion Table; Four 
Plates for Bread (Plated ware). Two handsome covered 
Baskets for Church Plate. 

William Davis, Senior Deacon. 



COMMUNION TABLE MEMBERS 



259 



January 24, 1833. 

Cost of Communion table from May, 1789, to Jan., 1791, 
jei9 135. ^d. and in 1791, £11. From 1789 to 1838 the 
yearly amount spent for wine and bread for the Communion 
table was from $20 to $50, the balance of the contributions 
being placed yearly in the Pastor's hands for the benefit of 
the poor of the Church. The Treasurers of the Communion 
table were : — 

Deacon Nehemiah Munroe, from 1789 to Oct. 2, 1817, 
except for a short time in 1816, when Deacon Joshua Felton 
ojfficiated in that capacity. 

Deacon Wilham Davis, from Oct. 2, 1817, to 1850. 

Deacon Supply C. Thwing from March 24, 1858, to June 
4, 1877. 

Deacon Edward B. Reynolds from Aug. 5, 1877. 

THE COMMUNION TABLE MEMBERS 



1804 
July 22. John Champney. 
Aug. 5. — 

Mary Davis. 

Sally Wilson, widow. 
Aug. 26. Stephen Child. 
Sept. 2. — 

Elijah Lewis. 

Jesse Joy. 
Sept. 16. Elisha Whitney, Jr. 
Oct. 14. — 

Jona. Hill. 

Samuel Newell, a student in H.C. 
Nov. 25. Stephen Brigham. 

1805 

Feb. 17. Jona. Williams. 
March 3. John Curtis. 
March 17. W™ Tileston. 



April 14. Nathaniel Shepard Pren- 
tiss and Abigail, his vdfe (fr. 
Ye church in Marlborough). 
May 12. — 

Andrew Newman. 
Jane Barns, wife of William. 
May 19. Roswell Pomroy. 
Aug. 11. Luther Richardson. 
Sept. 1. Sam'l Henshaw Horton. 

1806 
Jan. 5. James Cawte. 
Feb. 23. Simeon Keyes. 
March 16. John Davis. 
May 11. Samuel Jackson Prescott, 

A.M. 
May 25. — 
W™ Pratt and Mary, his wife. 
Edw. Jewett Robbins. 



260 



THE FIFTH MEETING HOUSE 



June 15. Jonas Randall and Mary, 

his wife. 
Aug. 10. Sara'l Langley. 
Aug. 31. Prisdlla Clap, vdfe of 

John. 
Oct. 5. Abijah Merriam. 
Oct. 19. Martha Sumner (at her 

father's being sick). 
Nov. 2. — 

Edward Sumner. 

Henry Payson Simmer and Maria, 

children of Edward. 
Dec. 7. Fanny Lewis, wife of Elijah. 

1807 
Jan. 18. — 
Warren Marsh. 
Hannah Lewis, wife of James. 
Mary Smith, widow. 
Feb. 8. Calvin Ware. 
March 15. — 
Theodore Kingsbury. 
Joseph Thurston. 
John Houghton and Nancy, his 
wife. 
May 31. Stephen Loud. 
June 21. — 
Chenery Clark. 
Nath' ElUs. 
Isaac Goddard. 
Aug. 2. — 
Elizabeth Ward, wife of John. 
Thomas Dudley. 
W™ Wyman Jr. 
Aug. 23. — 
Thomas Curtis. 
Amos Adams Mears. 
Sept. 27. Lois Williams, widow. 
Oct. 25. — 
James Lewis. 
Samuel Swift. 
Nov. 8. — 

John Holbrook Hawse. 



Nov. 8. — 

Sam'l Silsby. 
Nov. 15. Aaron Gay. 
Nov. 22. Asa "VMiitney. 
Dec. 20. W« CasweU. 
Dec. 27. Samuel Seavems. 

1808 

Jan. 3. Samuel Guild. 
Jan. 17. Seth Tucker. 
Feb. 28. James Blake. 
March 6. Ann Dorr. 
April 10. — 

Jonathan Freeman Cook. 

Henry Pomroy. 

John S. Williams and Nancy, his 
wife. 
June 26. Eben Craft. 
July 3. Susan Sloan. 
Sept. 18. Hervey Wood. 
Sept. 25. — 

Caleb Dickerman & Sally, his 
wife. 

Isaac Silsby. 
Nov. 13. William White. 

1809 
April 9. — 

Eben Swift Pierce. 

Simeon Stearns. 
July 30. — 

Barbara FuUerton. 

Mary Baker Pratt. 

Lois Eaton Knight. 

Elizabeth Whitney, wife of Daniel. 
Aug. 27. Polly Williams. 
Oct. 22. — 

Elizabeth Champney, widow. 

Mehitabel Curtis. 

1810 
Feb. 11. Eliphalet Everett. 
Feb. 18. Susanna Smith, wife of 
Jeremiah P. 



COMMUNION TABLE MEMBERS 



261 



April 8. — 

George Ware. 

Mary Ware. 
April 29. — 

Rufus Converse. 

Antipas Newton. 
June 3. Mary Bradley. 
July 1. — 

Isaac Curtis. 

Charlotte Seaverns. 
Nov. 11. — 

William Seaver. 

Martha Seaver, w. of William. 
Dec. 9. William Langley. 

1811 

Feb. 3. Samuel Dudley. 
March 10. — 

Thomas Cheney and Sarah, his 

wife. 
Edward Severy and his wife. 
April 7. John Stephens. 
Nov. 24. Daniel Hammond and 
Sally, his wife. 

1812 
Jan. 12. — 

William Cheney. 

Abigail Seaver, widow. 
April 5. Abigail Harris. 
May 3. Amasa Smith & Martha 

Ruggles, his wife. 
May 31. — 

Abigail Sumner. 

Deborah W. Sumner. 

Nancy Simmer. 

1813 
Feb. 21. James Adams. 
March 7. — 

Elizabeth Weld, w. of Samuel. 

Lucy WiUiams. 

John Ward, Jr. 



April 4. Joseph Harrington and 

* Rebecca, his wife. 
June 13. David Burtt and Sally, 

his wife. 
July 25. John Mecuen and wife. 
Aug. 22. — 

Mary Shattuck. 

Martha Shuttuck. 
Aug. 29. Timothy Dexter Brown. 
Nov. 14. Betsy Shepard, w. of 
Charles of N. H. 

1814 

Feb. 27. James Blackman. 

April 3. Elizabeth Bent. 

June 26. Abigail S. Whituig, w. 

of Joel. 
July 24. Jabez Nason and Ehzab 

Ann, his wife. 
Sept. 18. Lewas Morse and Mary, 

his wife. 
Sept. 25. John Erskine. 

1815 

Jan. 8. Sally Hammond, w. of 

Daniel. 
Feb. 5. — 

Mary Adams, w. of James. 
Abigail Bartlett, w. of Dr. B. 
Aaron Davis and Theoda, his 

wife. 
Martha WiUiams. 
March 5. — 
Caroline Porter. 
Huldah Stoddard, widow. 
April 30. Hannah Pond, w. of John. 
May 21. Louisa Burton, w. of 

John. 
May 28. Sarah Sanderson, w. of 

Daniel. 
June 25. Brooks Kendall and 
Eunice, his wife. 



262 



THE FIFTH MEETING HOUSE 



July 30. Abner Willett. 

Aug. 20. Debby Sea ver, widow. 

Oct. 15. — 

SaJly Burditt. 

Harriot Burditt. 
Nov. 5. John Green. 

1816 
Jan. 7. — 
William Davis and Sarah, his 

wife. 
Aaron Davis Williams and Nancy, 
his wife. 
April 7. Calvin Baker. 
April 14. Calvin Warren. 
May 26. Susanna Robinson 

Clap, d. of Deacon John Clap. 
Nov. 10. Samuel Sprague Wil- 
liams and Lucy, his wife. 
Dec. 1. — 
Isaac Rand. 
Nehemiah Da\'is Williams. 

1817 

Feb. 2. Mary Ward, w. of John Jr. 
June 8. Matthew Walker and 

his wife. 
June 22. Ebenezer Crafts and vrife. 
June 28. . Joel Wheeler and his wife. 
Sept. 14. John Lemist. 
Nov. 9. — 

Elizabeth Champney, widow. 

Asa Whitney and Mary, his wife. 

1818 

April 19. Thomas W. Scott. 
April 26. Sarah Wyman, wife. 
June 7. Polly Smith Heath, wife. 
June 21. — 

Amy Baker, w. of David. 

Sally Patten, w. of William. 
July 5. Asa Wyman and wife. 



Aug. 16. Dorothy Davis, widow. 
Sept. 13. Ann Calder. 

1819 
Aug. 15. — 

Harriet Blanchard, w. of WilUam. 

Susan Dorr, w. of Nathaniel. 
Oct. 10. Mary Newell. 

1820 
May 21. Lydia Williams. 

1821 
July 15. — 

Richard Austin. 
William Fiske and wife. 

1822 

Feb. 3. Isaac Davis. 
March 24. — 

Sarah Ann Clap. 

Lucy Clap. 
Oct. 6. — 

Asa Bugbee. 

Eleanor Kent. 
Dec. 1. EUzabeth Patrick. 
Dec. 15. — 

Joshua B.Fowle and EUz., his wife. 

Lemuel Bradlee. 
Dec. 29. Ezra Morse and Rebecca, 
his wife. 

1823 
June 15. Mary Phelps. 

1824 

March 14. Isaac Wyman and 

Cath., his w. 
April 18. Abigail Smith, widow. 
May 16. — 

Susannah and Sarah Davis. 



COMMUNION TABLE MEMBERS 



263 



May 16. — 

Charles Fox and Mary Louisa, 

his wife. 
Martha R. Porter. 
Elizabeth Weld, w. of Benjamin. 

1825 
June 26. Timothy Gay and Mary 

W., his wife. 
July 17. Daniel A. Sigourney. 
Aug. 7. Ann L. Fearing, wife. 
Oct. 30. Lydia Wait. 

1826 
Aug. 6. — 

Mary Sumner Patten. 
Sally Patten. 
Nov. 26. Samuel H. Hunneman 
and EUz., his wife. 

1827 
Jan. 7. Samuel Payson and Lydia, 

his wife. 
Sept. 2. Sylvia Patch. 

1829 

April 5. Edward W. Bradley and 
Sarah, his wife. 

1830 
July 4. — 

George Putnam (fr. University 

Church, Cambridge). 
Jemima Bicknell, w. of Humphrey 
Hannah Robertson, widow. 
Harriet Robertson, widow. 

1831 
March 6. — 

Jonathan A. Richards. 
Mrs. Richards. 
Anna Blaney, widow. 



March 6. — 

Susannah Maccarty. 
April 3. Mary Pratt, widow. 
May 1. — 

Julia Hill, widow. 

Charles Hickling. 

Eliza Hickling. 

Harriet Edes. 
June 5. — 

Mrs. Dearborn, w. of Gen. H. 
A. S. Dearborn. 

Supply Clap Thwing transferred 
from First Church, Boston with 
Elsey, his wife. 

Mrs. Sarah Thwing, widow, trans- 
ferred from First Church, Bos- 
ton. 
July 3. — 

Salome Davis, w. of Isaac. 

William Whiting. 

Nancy F. Whiting. 

Elizabeth A. Putnam. 
Date imknown. 

Joseph R. Newell. 
Date unknown. 

Ann Lewis. 

1832 
Date imknown. — 
Mary Baker. 
Stedman WiUiams. 

1833 
Dec. Martha R. Simmons, w. 

of David A. 
Date imknown. — 
Nancy D. Simmons (Mrs. Fisher) 

bap. 
Betsey Saunderson. 

1834 
Feb. — 
Hannah D. Williams. 



264 



THE FIFTH MEETING HOUSE , 



Feb. — 

Mary W. Williams. 
March. — 

Charlotte E. Whiting. 

Roxanna C. Whiting. 

Benjamin Kent transferred from 
church in Duxbury. 
April. Elizabeth Holmes, bap. 
June. Polly H. Patten. 
July. John Parker. 
Sept. — 

Margaret D. Heath. 

Sarah H. Shaw. 
Dec. — 

Abijah Merriam. 

Mrs. A. Merriam. 

Hannah Merriam. 

Sarah H. Simmons. 

1835 
Jime. Sophia T. Townsend, bap. 



Sept. — 

Susan Weld. 

Helen Louisa Perkins. 

Rufus Wyman, transferred from 
Chm-ch at East Cambridge. 
Oct. Margaret Fenno. 

1838 
Jan. Isaac H. Carey. 

Phebe P. Carey. 

Sophia J. Snow. 

Ann M. Hill. 
Sept. — 

Henry White Pickering. 

Frances D. Pickering. 
Oct. Mrs. Julia F. Copeland. 
Nov. Mrs. Elizabeth Francis, w. 

of Eben T. 
Dec. Julia Leland. 

1839 







May. — 


1836 




Henry Lehman. 


July. — 




Sarah Filmore. 




jrriTYi 


Anna, w. of W. I. Loring. 


Gardner L. Chandler 


IHJIU 


O A. 


Lucretia C. Chandler 
Mary Ann Chandler 


Trinity 

Church, 

Boston. 


Sept. — 
Nabby L. Diu-ant, widow. 
Rebekah Harrington, w. of Jos. H 


EUzabeth F. Chandler. 




Nov. — 


Sept. — 




Sarah, w. of Jos. D. Gould. 


Joseph H. Gardner. 




Grace C. Fiske. 


Charles K. DiUaway. 






Mary Emma DUlaway. 




1841 
Feb.- 


1837 




Henry F. Harrington. 


Jan. Susanna Smith. 




Elizabeth D. Harrington. 


July. Joseph Harrington 


Jr. 


Elizabeth Codman. 


Aug. — 




March. — 


Rebecca C. Clarke. 




Mary Fairbanks. 


Frances C. Lemist. 




Wm. Henry Fairbanks. 


Sept. — 




Richard Ward] from West 


Elizabeth Weld. 




Lucy Ward ( Chvu-ch, Boston. 


Caroline Weld. 




May. Margaret Bacon. 



COMMUNION TABLE MEMBERS 



265 



June. — 

Deborah Newman. 
Mary Newman. 
Margaret Newman. 
Anna B. Newman. 
Susan D. Newman. 
Elizabeth O. Baldwin. 
Caroline Prentiss. 



1842 

March — 

Sarah Bartlett. 
Susan B. Hunt. 

May — 

Catherine G. Gore. 
Jane J. Willard. 

June — 
Harriet DaAis. 
Sarah Da^ds Bradley. 

July. Thomas Simmons. 

Aug. — 

Ann D. Bartlett. 
Jane Bartlett. 
Elizabeth R. Perkins 
Allen Putnam. 

Sept. — 

James Sturgis. 
Charles Blanchard. 
Ann I. Blanchard. 
Charles Briggs. 
Ehzabeth Briggs. 

Oct. — 
John Hunt. 
Elizabeth Hunt. 
FVances G. Train. 
EUza E. Hickling. 
Ephraim Harrington. 
Maria Harrington. 
Daniel Sigoumey. 
Nathaniel P. Lovering. 
Mary L. Lovering. 



Oct. — 

Watson Gore Jr. 

Jeremiah Plympton. 

Sarah D. Plympton. 

John J. Clarke. 

Nahum Ward. 

Susan Ward. 

Ozias Field. 

Jonathan P. Robinson. 

Catherine L. Robinson. 

Walter Farnsworth. 

Elizabeth Farnsworth. 

Moses Gragg 1 from 

Rebekah Gragg J Milton. 

Augustus Perrini from West 

Harriet Perrin J Church, Boston. 

Jonathan Chapman. 

Lucinda Chapman. 

1843 

Feb.— 
Ann Wyman. 
Stephen Child. 
Rebecca Child. 
G«o. H. Crossman. 
Hannah Crossman. 

March. — 

N. Proctor Smith. 
Dorcas C. Smith. 
Hannah Bardakin. 
John S. Williams. 
Ellen M. Williams. 

April. — 
Ann Matilda Brinley. 
Ar Rea 1 from Salem 
M. Rea J North Church. 

from Charleston, 



J. Amory Davis 
Emily P. Davis 

Geo. Norwood. 

Norwood. 

John Rogers. 



S. C. (Dr. Gil- 
man's) . 



266 



THE FIFTH MEETING HOUSE 



April. — 

Sarah Ellen Rogers. 
Hezekiah Blanchard 
Blanchard 



Rebekah A. Lowell 
Anna C. Lowell 



from 
King's 
Chapel, 
Boston. 

Mary Howe, w. of Abraham. 
F. Howe from Suffolk St. Church, 
Boston. 
May. Thomas P. Codman. 
Sept. — I from 

Charlotte Dorr HolUsSt. 

Charlotte P. Dorr Church, 
Helen A. Dorr J Boston. 
Oct. Mary E. Davis. 
Nov. — 
Hester Billings. 
Benj. E. Cotting. 
Catherine G. Cotting. 

18*4 
Jan. — 

George W. Dodd. 

Catherine H. Dodd. 

Benjamin A. Gould. 

Lucretia Gould. 
Feb. Sarah Kent. 
April. — 

Frances Himneman. 

Mary Elizabeth Dana. 
May. Lucy Rand. 
July. Nehemiah Davis Williams. 

1845 

March. — 

Geo. B. Hyde. 

Nathl Mayhew 1 . ,. , 
XT TLir 1 r baptized. 
Nancy Mayhew J 

April. Rebecca Tucker. 

June. Mary H. French. 

July. Catherine Dovraer, w. of 

W°i. Hancock. 



Aug. Charles F. Bradford 

Oct. — 

Clarence C. Cook. 

from 
Sam Phipps 
Mary A. K. Phipps 



Church 
in Dor- 
chester. 



Dec — 

Edward C. Bates. 
Mary C. Bates. 

1846 

Jan. Catherine L. Bowles. 
April. — 

Emily P., w. of Nath^ Dorr. 

Sarah W. Taber. 
June. — 

Samuel Perkins. 

Eliza D. Sumner, from Church in 
Keene, N. H. 
Oct. Mary D., w. of Henry Winsor. 

1847 
May. — 

Sarah Jane, w. of John Hunt. 
Elizabeth G. Briggs. 
Aug. Aime H., w. of Supply 

Clap Thvring. 
Oct. — 

Sarah Robbins. 
Mary C. Hunneman 



Catherine Skilling 
Nabby Balch 



from First 
Church, 
Boston. 



Nov. — 

John A. Wiesse. 

Jane L. Wiesse. 

Samuel Dexter 1 from Church 

Eliza Dexter J in Gloucester. 

1848 
Jan. — 
David C. Perrin. 



COMMUNION TABLE MEMBERS 



267 



Jan. — 

Nath^ Francis Jr. 
April. Emeline Perkins. 
May. Eloisa Kent. 
Sept. Martha S. Harrington. 
Oct. 

Henry Robinson 



Cecilia Robinson j 
Ann D. Cooper. 



coK. 



1849 

Feb. Ellen Derby Rogers. 
Oct. — 

William Bacon Jr. 

Sophia B. Guild. 

1850 
June. — 

Philip Dumaresq. 

Margaretta Dumaresq. 

Elizabeth H. Weld. 
July. David Allen Simmons. 
Oct. Mary Elizabeth Blanchard. 

1851 

March. — 

Nathaniel Snow. 

Salome H. Snow. 
Jime. Eve Smith. 
Oct. — 

Miranda Bacon. 

Ann H. Blaney. 

Catherine P. Townsend. 

1852 
May. — 

Lydia Champney. 

Susannah R. Spear. 

James H. Champney. 

Peter G. Robbins. 
June. — 

Isabel Kent. 



June. — 

•Mary Lemist Clarke. 

Harriet Williams Fearing. 

Charlotte Augusta Blanchard. 

Augusta Woodbury Blanchard. 

Elizabeth Wyman. 

Margaret Curry Wyman. 

Caroline Putnam. 

Betsey Seaver. 

Adeline Seaver. 

Elizabeth Bacon. 

William Bacon. 

Augustus Bacon. 
Dec. — 

Mary Prentiss. 

Mary E. Baker. 

Sarah D. Gore. 

Hannah M. Dudley. 

Mary Helen Bartlett. 

Amelia T. Sweet. 

1853 
Jan. — 

Charlotte P. Reynolds. 

Edward B. Reynolds. 

Thomas M. Prentiss. 

Nancy W. Houghton. 
Feb. — 

Thomas Wiley. 

Margaret Wiley. 

Abby Payson. 
May. — 

Benjamin Williams. 

Polly R. Eastman. 

Harriet D. Johnson. 

Abby H. Putnam. 

Sarah P. Blake. 

Belinda P. Simmons. 

Louisa Simmons. 
Nov. — 

Charlotte Fellowes. 

Susan R. Weld. 

Catharine W. Grore. 



268 



THE FIFTH MEETING HOUSE 



1854 

May. — Augiistus D. Berry. 

Mary A. Berry. 

Edward Wyman. 
Sept. Mary W. HolHngsworth. 
Oct. — 

Aaron D. Williams Jr. 

Susan F. Williams. 

Emily D. Bacon. 

William EUery Copeland. 
Nov. — 

George Foster Wflliams. 

Susan L. WUliams. 

Sarah A. W. Merry. 

1855 
Jan. Jeannette P. Watson. 
March. Mary P. Howe. 

May. — 

Emma Rodman. 

Emily I. Brown. 
Jime. Mary Louisa King. 
Nov. Ann Elizabeth Smith. 

1856 

Feb. Frances Ann Lemist. 
Mar. Mary Louisa Huckins. 

May. — 

John Bimistead. 
John B. Fessenden. 
Elizabeth F. Minns. 

Oct. — 

Sarah Cummins. 
Mary Cmnmins. 
Abby W. Dudley. 
James Cunningham. 
Elizabeth H. Cunningham. 
Catherine H. Cunningham. 

1857 
Jan. Harriet Briggs. 
April. Agnes L. Greene. 



June. — 

Jane W. T. Spaulding. 

Jenny Tileston Spaulding. 
Oct. — 

Olive E. Hayden. 

Elizabeth B. Fisher. 

Anna E. Putnam. 

1858 

Jan. 4. — 

James Guild. 

Martha Simmons. 

Mary Emma DiUaway. 

Mary V. Buffinton. 

Mary Anne Jones. 

Emily Greene. 

Rebecca W. Pickering. 
March. — 

Cushing Stetson. 

Sarah M. Simmons. 

Isabella D. Harrington. 

Ann M.Hill. 
April. — 

Adeline D. Hooper. 

Sarah Guild. 
June. — 

Edward C. R. Walker. 

Harriet Walker. 
Sept. — 

Mary P. Nichols. 

Sarah E. Nichols. 
Dec. Catherine W. Fearing. 

1859 

Feb.— 

Sarah B. Lewis. 

Elizabeth Lewis. 

Emeline B. Fuller. 
April. Ellen P. Perrin. 
May. — 

Dependence S. Waterman. 

Georgiana Waterman. 



COMMUNION TABLE MEMBERS 



269 



1860 

Jan. James H. Barnes. 
Feb. Judith Eleanor Motley. 
May. — 

Frances G. Fessenden. 

Mary B. Fessenden. 

1861 

July. Sarah Nichols Messer. 
Sept. Sybil Allen. 
Oct. Daniel Simmons Fisher. 
Nov. — 

Caroline May. 

Miriam P. Lorrng, 

1862 
Jan. — 

Aimie W. Davis. 
Sarah E. Stearns. 
Harriott T. Ward. 
Sarah R. Robinson. 

1863 

Jan. Anna Catherine Hancock. 
April. Mary Beers. 
June. Julia Annie Meston. 
Nov. Thomas Motley Jr. 
Dec. — 

Mary G. Fuller. 

Prances G. Pickering. 



1864 



Feb.— 



Bacon. 



Laura Rogers. 

Annie Williams. 
March. — 

Susan G. Rogers. 

Susan S. Rogers. 

Mary S. Thomas. 
May. — 

Eugene L. BufEnton. 

Sarah Wells. 



May. Julia Messer. 
July. — 

Anna G. Gray. 

Margaret C. Welch. 

Minn a Motley. 
Nov. Caroline K. Wyman. 
Dec. William S. Bond. 

1865 
Jan. — 

Bessie Bromfield Rogers. 

Frances Stetson Rogers. 

Mary Frances Stetson. 
Feb.— 

Theoda H. Fearing. 

Marie Louise Mandell. 
March. — 

Jane E. White. 

Sarah D. H. White. 

Margaret U. White. 

Wm. Phipps. 

Elizabeth V. Phipps. 

Lucy Staniford. 

Geo. B. Palmer. 

Maria D. Palmer. 
April. Emily D. Crafts. 
May. — 

John C. Hunneman. 

Charlotte S. Reynolds. 

Ann F. Rejuolds. 

Florence L. Clarke. 
Dec. — 

Louise A. Crafts. 

Sarah WeUs. 

1866 
March. — 

Elizabeth F. Homer. 

Augusta F. Homer. 
May. — 

Josephine M. Hicks. 

Emma E. Hicks. 

Henrietta G. Fuller. 



270 



THE FIFTH MEETING HOUSE 



June. Samuel P. Blake. 


1874 


Sept. Harriet L. Otis. 


Jan. Abby S. Erving. 


Oct. Ellen Maria Barrett. 


Oct. — 




Horace G. Hutchins 


from 


1867 


Juha H. Hutchins 


Church in 


March. — 


Harriet Hutchins 


Charles- 


Lucy E. Huckins. 


Emma Hutchins j 


town. 


Edith H. Clarke. 


Caroline P. Hutchins 


Harriet W. Ritchie. 


Bertha F. WiUiams 


Clara E. Ritchie. 




Aug. Fannie L. Stevens. 


1875 




June. Mary A. Wales. 


1868 


Oct. Jane E. Lovering. 


Jan. Grace Bradford. 




July. Eliza Dorr Williams. 


1877 


1869 


April. — 

Hannah Caroline Leavitt. 


Nov. Annie M. Hobbs. 


Ellen Willusta Leavitt. 


Dec. Sarah E. Foster. 






1878 


1870 
Jan. — 


Jan. Sarah Parker. 


May. Sarah W. Daggett. 


Henry G. Pickering. 


Nov. Josephine Wilson. 


Edward H. Bradford. 


Henry W. Putnam. 


1879 


Elizabeth W. Bacon. 


March. — 


Sue Williams. 


ISIrs. Mary A. Edson. 


March. — 


Joseph W. Tucker. 


Sarah W. D. Lemist. 




Fanny Gore Bradford. 


1880 


May. — 


Jan. Grace Livermore. 


Florence H. Thwing. 


April. — 


Annie H. Thwing. 


Katharine Hamilton Andrews. 


June. Maria Davis. 


Agnes Qnincy Andrews. 


Dec. Walter Ehot Thwing. 


Sarah Dearborn. 
May. — 


1871 


Mr. and Mrs. Theodore Plympton 


Nov. Caroline W^eld Fuller. 


Rebecca Clarke. 


1872 


Susan H. Pickering. 


B. Louisa Champney. 


1881 


Mary Ann Champney. 


Oct. Dr. E. T. Williams. 


Sarah M. Champney. 


Nov. — 


Lydia H. Champney. 


W^illiam S. Boardman. 


Dec, M. Louisa Reynolds. 


Mary M. Boardman 





PEW OWNERS 



271 



1886 
Jan. 3. — 
Ida T. Weeks. 
Prank M. Leavitt. 
Carl Edson. 
Matthew Binney. 
Harry Hinckley. 
Margery Dodd. 
Robert Williams. 
Greorge Hoxiston. 

1888 

March 19. Emily Daggett Crafts. 
Dec. 2. Eleanor Parker. 



1890 

April 6. Virginia Fisher. 
Oct. 5. William Saflford Jones. 



1893 
Jan. 1. — 

Mary Sibyl Collar, 
Mildred Averill Collar. 



1895 
Dec. 1. Elizabeth Bates Thacher 



Parsonage Pew. 



PEW OWNERS 

Pew No. 1 Lower Floor 
Pew No. 2, Lower Floor 



May 10, 1804. .Cost $348.00. Hon Nathaniel Ruggles, see Fourth 

Meeting House. 
Oct. 13, 1834. Caroline Porter, niece of Rev. Dr. Eliphalet Porter, & 

dau. of Rev. Huntington Porter. 
Apr. 15, 1844. Charles Knapp Dillaway, see Deacons. 



Pew No. 3, Lower Floor 

May 10, 1804. Cost $385.00. Mrs. Sarah Davis. 

Oct. 15, 1828. Thomas Brewer, of Roxbury, b. July 8, 1781 ; d. June 4, 

1859 ; m. Abigail Stone. Dry goods merchant. Member of the City 

Council of Boston. Member of the Standing Committee, 1836. 
Dec. 7, 1839. Gardner Brewer, b. May 1, 1806; d. Sept. 30, 1874; m. 

Mary Weld. Wholesale commission merchant. President of several 

manufacturing companies and director in others. 
Feb. 14, 1848. Jonathan Chapman, b. Jan. 23, 1807; d. May 25, 1848; 

m. Lucinda Dwight. H. C. 1825. Mayor of Boston, 1843. 
July 8, 1854. Charles Bxinker, b. Aug. 8, 1802; d. Aug. 21, 1881; m. 

Judith Folger. Lawyer. U. S. Consul at Lahaina, Sandwich Islands. 

Member of Roxbury Board of Aldermen. 



272 THE FIFTH MEETING HOUSE 

Nov. 19, 1862. John Henry Eastburn, b. April 1, 1805; d. July 1, 1873; 
m. Susan Fosdick Simmons. Learned the printer's trade of Major 
Benjamin Russell, proprietor of " Columbian Centinel." City Printer, 
1827 to 1854; proprietor of "The Atlas," published in 1840. 

Pew No. 4, Lower Floor 

May 10, 1804. Cost $415.00. John Davis Williams, see Fourth Meet- 
ing House. 

March 18, 1856. Aaron Davis Williams, b. July 3, 1787; d. Dec. 8, 
1863; m. Nancy Bugbee. Farmer, first one to introduce French 
pears and first to graft pears on to quince bushes. Charter member 
and councillor Mass. Horticultural Society. Treas. Roxbury Charitable 
Society. On committee applying for City Charter for Roxbury in 1845. 
Trustee of Institution for Savings in Roxbury, etc. 

March 13, 1868. Nancy Williams, w. of Aaron Davis Williams. 

Nov. 27, 1868. Aaron Davis Williams, see Long Pew No. 45 in Gallery. 

Pew No. 5, Lower Floor 

May 10, 1804. Cost $380.00. John Shirley Williams, b. May 3, 1772; 

d. May, 1843; m. Nancy Hunt Fellowes. H. C, 1797. Lawyer. Clerk 

of the Courts, also Coimty Attorney. 
May 26, 1814. Amos Adams Williams, see Square Pew No. 22, in Gallery. 
July 18, 1823. John Lowell, see Pew No. 101, Lower Floor. 
Aug. 11, 1823. Aaron Davis Weld, b. Dec. 21, 1779; d. June 26, 1835; 

m. (1) Betsey Williams, (2) Susannah Morey, (3) Martha Williams. 

Farmer. 
March 3, 1831. David Allen Simmons, see Pew No. 33, Lower Floor. 
Feb. 9, 1860. Franklin Greene, b. April 22, 1807; d. Nov. 15, 1893; 

m. Agnes Love Bradlee. President of the Prescott Insurance Co. 
Jan. 4, 1889. Mrs. Mary Ann Morse. 

Pew No. 6, Lov)er Floor 

May 10, 1804. Cost $380.00. Henry Howell Williams, b. March 9, 
1767; d. in 1832; m. Sally Williams. A man of property. 

April 6, 1821. Samuel Guild, see Pew No. 79, Lower Floor. 

Jan. 18, 1844. Samuel Guild, Jr., b. July 16, 1809; d. Sept. 16, 1846; 
m. Elizabeth Baker Davis Thayer. Leather merchant. Was for some 
years a member of the choir of this church. 

Dec. 17, 1849. James Guild, see Pew No. 53, Lower Floor. 

Jan. 26, 1888. Caroline W. Guild, w. of James Guild. 



PEW OWNERS 273 



Pew No. 7, Lower Floor 

May 10, 1804. Cost $410.00. George Zieglee, see Fourth Meeting 

House. 
Jan. 1, 1820. William Bacon, b. June 27, 1790; d. March 8, 1868; m. 

Elizabeth Wyman. Merchant. 
March 26, 1846. Augustus Bacon, b. April 21, 1815; d. April 8, 1896; 

m. Elizabeth Moore Lothrop. Merchant. 

Pew No. 8, Lower Floor 

May 10, 1804. Cost $370.00. Isaac Davis, b. July 31, 1769; d. March 
17, 1856; m. (1) Elizabeth White, (2) Salome White. Farmer. 
Member of Parish Committee, 1812, 1814, 1815; of Standing Commit- 
tee, 1825, 1826, 1827. Selectman and Overseer of Roxbury, 1810, 
1811. Treasurer of Roxbury, 1817 to 1845. Member of Legislature, 
1819 to 1854. Trustee of the Roxbury Latin School. 

May 10, 1804. Samuel Weld, see Fourth Meeting House. 

Jan. 19, 1863. Nancy Weld, w. of Samuel Weld and dau. of Deacon 
Sumner. 

Pew No. 9, Lower Floor 

May 10, 1804. Cost $355.00. Sarah Dudley, w. of WilUam Dudley. 

Sept. 18, 1812. Samuel Dudley, b. Aug. 6, 1785; m. Susanna 
Davenport Brewer. Farmer. 

March 29, 1814. Samuel Guild, see Pew No. 79, Lower Floor. 

March 21, 1864. Sarah Guild, w. of Samuel Guild. 

Nov. 30, 1870. Henry Guild, b. Jan. 13, 1824; d. July 27, 1886; un- 
married. Merchant. President of People's National Bank. 

Nov. 10, 1890. Charles W. Chamberlin, Uving. 

Oct. 27, 1896. William Torrey Barker, b. Feb. 14, 1851; d. Aug. 12, 
1903; m. Susan Withers Warden. Paper manufacturer. President 
of the American Paper Trade Association. 

Pew No. 10, Lower Floor 

May 10, 1804. Cost $330.00. Elisha Forbes, one half pew, see Fourth 

Meeting House. 
May 10, 1804. Aajion Pomeroy, one half pew, see Fourth Meeting House. 
April 26, 1816. Calvin Warren, b. 1785; d. May 3, 1819; m. Caroline 



May 19, 1825. Caroline Warren, w. of Calvin Warren. 
July 2, 1838. Isaac Parker Townsend, b. July 2, 1784; d. Nov, 3, 
1846; m. Catherine Parker. Flour merchant. 



274 THE FIFTH MEETING HOUSE 

March 17, 1856. Catherine Parker Townsend, w. of Isaac Parker 

Townsend. 
Oct. 9, 1868. William Amort, see Pew No. 61, in Gallery. 
March 1, 1880. David Miller Hodgdon, see Long Pew No. 29, in 

Gallery. 

Pew No. 11, Lower Floor 

May 10, 1804. Cost $277.00. John Ward, see Fourth Meeting House. 

April 19, 1830. Sarah Thwing, w. of Samuel Thwing and mother of 
Deacon Thwing. 

Dec. 3, 1833. Thomas Simmons, see Pew No. 17, Lower Floor. 

Jan. 29, 1836. Nathaniel Phillips Lovering, b. Jan. 18, 1808; d. 
Oct. 4, 1887; m. (1) Mary Lane Clap, (2) Jane Elizabeth Hatch. 
Held a position in the Boston Custom House. Partner of Benj. F. 
Copeland. Treas. of the Conn, and Passumpsic River R. R. Co. 
Treas. of the Concord R. R. 

May 17, 1837. Joseph Lovering, b. Sept. 19, 1758; d. June 13, 1848; 
m. (1) Esther Martin, (2) Aime Phillips, (3) Mary Langdon (Bor- 
land) Wales. Originally soap boiling and tallow chandlerrng, later 
a careful and shrewd investor. Selectman. Member of first Board 
of Aldermen, Boston. Representative. Treasurer Mass. Charitable 
Mechanic Association. A. & H. Artillery Co., 1830. 

Dec. 31, 1842. Nathaniel Phillips Lovering, same as above. 

April 2, 1844. James Vila, see Pew No. 12, Lower Floor. 

Aug. 6, 1874. Elizabeth R. Taylor, w. of Newton Taylor. 

March 20, 1883. Robert Bruce Fairbairn, b. in Scotland, Nov. — 1847; 
d. March 22, 1907; m. (1) Harriet Lavinia Sears, (2) Edith Alex- 
ander. Cashier, President and a Director of the National Rockland 
Bank. Director of the Forest Hills Cemetery Corporation. Director 
of the Chadwick-Boston Lead Co. 



Pew No. 12, Lower Floor 

May 10, 1804. Cost $260.00. Ebenezer Fox, see Fourth Meeting House. 
March 31, 1840. James Vila, b. Feb. 7, 1789; d. May 23, 1871; m. 

EUzabeth D. Dexter. Wool merchant. 
Jan. 2, 1843. Charles Stearns, Jr., b. Dec. 6, 1794; d. Oct. 24, 1879; 

m. Hemnah Clap Pierce. Farmer in Brookline. Selectman. Assessor. 

Member of School Committee. 
Sept. 9, 1844. Joseph Vila, b. 1791 ; d. July 20, 1870; m. Lydia Shepard 

Staniford. Banker and commission merchant. 
Dec. 6, 1847. William Phipps, see Pew No. 25, Lower Floor. 



PEW OWNERS 275 



July 7, 1860. Joseph Vila, Jr., b. May 29, 1834; d. Feb. 23, 1885; m. 
Anna Fields McLellan. Banker. 

May 25, 1870. Aakon Warner Spencer, b. Jan. 17, 1823; d. July 29, 
1895; m. Josephine Vila. B.anker. President Boston Stock Ex- 
change. 

Pew No. 13, Lower Floor 

May 10, 1804. Cost $260.00. Bartholomew White, b. Jan. 4, 1773; 

d. April, 1857; m. Hannah . Victualler. 

May 10, 1804. Thomas Mayo, see Fourth Meeting House. 

April 23, 1823. John H. Hawes, see Pew No. 83, Lower Floor. 

Nov. 15, 1832. Benjamin Hawes, b. April—, 1771; d Oct. 16, 1857; 

m. Mary Pilsbury Shannon. Farmer. 
March 11, 1850. Joseph Nickerson, b. March 3, 1804; d. Feb. 28, 1880; 

m. Louisa Winslow. Merchant. 



Pew No. 14, Lower Floor 

May 10, 1804. Cost $240.00. Dudley Willlajus, see Fourth Meeting 

House. 
June 1, 1808. Jacob Allen. One haK pew, see Fourth Meeting House. 
April 19, 1810. Chenery Clark. One half pew. b. March 24, 1779; d. 

April 27, 1848; m. Lucy Davis. 
April 30, 1824. Jacob Allen bought this pew of assignees of Chenery 

Clark and sold it to Samuel Payson who sold it to Calvin Allen and 

he sold it to 
Feb. 20, 1860. Willluvi Henry Slocum, b. Jan. 1, 1818; d. Aug. 19, 

1901 ; m. Sarah Ehzabeth Williams. Importer and dealer in furs. 

Pew No. 15, Lower Floor 

May 10, 1804. Cost $190.00. George Howe, of Roxbury-, m. 

Mary . 

Jan. 31, 1820. Oliver Shed, b. March 14, 1794; m. Nabby . 

Merchant. 
Dec. 11, 1823. Jonathan Dorr, see Pew No. 84, Lower Floor. 
Dec. 29, 1832. Nathaniel Dorr, see Pew No. 97, Lower Floor, 
Dec. 11, 1834. William Joseph Loring, b. 1795; buried March 2, 1841; 

m. Anna Thorndike. H. C, 1813. Merchant. 
May 20, 1841. Anna Loring, w. of William Joseph Loring. 
Feb. 10, 1880. Charles Milton Seaver, b. March 18, 1829; d. April 26, 

1902; m. Helen Sophia (Rogers) Ball. A capitalist. 



276 THE FIFTH MEETING HOUSE 

Pew No. 16, Lower Floor 

May 10, 1804. Cost $171.00. Stephen Childs, b. July 17, 1771; d. 

June 16, 1863; m. Rebecca Williams. Kept a boot and shoe store in 

Roxbm-y. 
May 10, 1804. Jonathan Williams, b. Sept. 3, 1775; d. Feb. 11, 1825; 

m. Anne TUeston. Leather dresser, a founder of the Universalist 

Church, Member of Roxbury City Guard. 
June 16, 1812. John Houghton, b. May 31, 1772; d. Sept. 27, 1828; 

m. Nancy Williams. Tanner. 
March 7, 1817. Jesse Jordan, b. Nov. 17, 1795; d. Aug. 25, 1870; m. 

Ann Bond IVIirick. At first a tanner then a Japan leather finisher, a 

founder of the Universalist Chm-ch. 
Aug. 18, 1823. WiLLLUtf Heath Spooner, b. Aug. 5, 1798; d. Feb. 9, 

1872; m. (1) CaroUne Hartshorn, (2) Harriet Curtis, (3) Mrs. Rebecca 

Moses. Hotel proprietor and manager. 
June 19, 1834. Charles May Windship, b. April 16, 1809; d. July 19, 

1865; m. Susan Barker. Harvard Medical School, 1829. Consulting 

Phj'sician of the City of Roxbury. 
Oct. 22, 1869. Susan Windship, w. of Df. Charles May Windship. 
Oct. 24, 1870. William Frank Stetson, living. 
Oct. 26, 1874. William Coe Collar, living. 



Pew No. 17, Lower Floor 

May 10, 1804. Cost $201.00. Samuel Langlet, b. June 3, 1778; d. 
Feb. 6, 1861 ; m. Emily Pierpont. Carpenter, housewright and archi- 
tect of Roxbury. A founder of the Universalist Church. 

April 16, 1823. David Allen Simmons, see Pew No. 33, Lower Floor. 
Jan. 1, 1830. Thomas Simmons, b. Oct. 8, 1791; d. March 16, 1866; 
m. Sarah Homans Thwing. For 40 years a merchant on India Wharf, 
Boston. Parish Treasm-er, 1830-1832. Member Standing Com- 
mittee in 1856. 

May 10, 1845. John Joseph May, see Deacons. 

Sept. 4, 1848. Lucxi. Marston Watson, dau. of George Watson. 



Pew No. 18, Lower Floor 

May 10, 1804. Cost $215.00. Mrs. Martha Ruggles, see Fourth 

Meeting House. 
Nov. 10, 1835. Charles Knapp Dillaway, see Deacons. 
Dec. 21, 1843. Luke Baldwin, see Pew No. 21, Lower Floor. 



PEW OWNERS 277 



Dec. 2, 1847. Chakles Mayo Ellis, b. Dec. 23, 1818; d. Jan. 23, 1878; 
m. (1) Harriet Lucretia Lewis, (2) Helen Thomas. H. C, 1839. 
Lawyer. Author of "The History of Roxbury Town," 1847. 

April 8, 1848. Charles Copeland, see Pew No. 33, Lower Floor. 

April 15, 1857. Shubael Gorham Rogers, b. April 23, 1806; d. Nov. 13, 
1876; m. Susan Gross Snow. Secretary of the Fireman's Ins. Co., 1831 
to 1865, then President. Director of the Boston and Sandwich Glass 
Co. Elected member Standing Committee in 1866 but declined the 
oflBce, 

Jan. 22, 1877. Susan Gross Rogers, w. of Shubael Gorham Rogers. 

Dec. 15, 1877. Susan Snow Rogers, dau. of Shubael Gorham Rogers. 



Pew No. 19, Lower Floor 

May 10, 1804. Cost $240.00. David Baker, see Fourth Meeting House. 

Feb. 4, 1805. Susanna Smith, w. of Ralph Smith. 

Dec. 17, 1827. Miss Sarah Tappan. 

Aug. 17, 1830. Edward W. Bradley, b. 1799; d. Feb. 1876; m. (1) 

Ehzabeth Weld WilUams, (2) Sarah Davis. 
Sept. 2, 1837. William Bacon, see Pew No. 7, Lower Floor. 
May 24, 1842. Francis Caleb Loring, of Boston, b. Sept. 1809; d. 

Aug. 19, 1874; m. Miriam Mason Perkins. H. C, 1828. Lawyer. 
Nov. 16, 1857. Francis William Welch, b. Nov. 5, 1808; d. Nov. 28, 

1899; m. Mary Anne Humphrey. Master mariner. 
Nov. 8, 1878. Jane Merrill Holixngsworth, w. of Amor HoUings- 

worth. 
Oct. 29, 1885. Mark Hollingsworth, b. Feb. 9, 1854; d. March 16, 

1905; m. Amelia Grigg Merrill. Member of the music committee, 

1889 to 1896. 

Pew No. 20, Lower Floor 

May 10, 1804. Cost $240.00. Joel Whtting, see Fourth Meeting House. 
Dec. 13, 1849. William Whiting, see Pew No. 84, Lower Floor. 
Jan. 15, 1861. William Gray Jr., see Pew No. 40, Lower Floor. 
Dec. 1, 1887. Hiram Whittington, see Long Pew No. 19 in Gallery. 



Pew No. 21, Lower Floor 

May 10, 1804. Cost $266.00. Joseph Curtis, b. Sept. 23, 1772; d. 
Feb. 13, 1858; m. Bethia Parker. Farmer, and the first man to carry 
vegetables to market in a team instead of in paniers on horseback. 



278 THE FIFTH MEETING HOUSE 

May 10, 1804. Samuel Ward, b. Sept. 13, 1772; d. Jan. 5, 1830; m. 

Joaima . Farmer. 

May 8, 1806. William Langley, see Square Pew No. 28 in Gallery. 

Apr. 22, 1818. Samuel Langley, see Pew No. 17, Lower Floor. 

Apr. 16, 1823. William Cummens, see Fourth Meeting House. 

June 13, 1834. Luke Baldwin, b. June 5, 1797; d. Oct. 27, 1887; m. (1) 

Elizabeth Anne Gushing, (2) Helen Sophia Hill. Merchant. 
Apr. 19, 1837. William IVIack. 
Jan. 2, 1841. Nelson Curtis, b. Dec, 1809; d. Sept. 16, 1882; m. Mary 

S. Hyde. One of the largest contractors in Boston. He built the 

Boston Museum, Fitchburg R.R. Depot, &c. Alderman. Director of 

the People's National Bank. 
Oct. 3, 1842. Samuel Phipps, of Dorchester, b. June, 1800; d. July 27, 

1880; m. Maria Dennis Staniford. Dry goods importer. 
Apr. 7, 1860. James Henry Barnes, b. in 1837; d. Nov. 30, 1861; m. 

Mary Virginia Buffinton. Salesman with Tuttle Gaffield & Co. 

Glassware. 
Sept. 23, 1863. Mary Virginia Barnes, w. of James Henry Barnes. 
March 1, 1886. John Hurd Hutchins, living. 



Pew No. 22, Lower Floor 

May 10, 1804. Cost $295.00. Elisha Whitney, Jr., b. Feb. 4, 1780; d. 

Feb. 12, 1823; m. Sally Heath. Merchant. A founder of the Uni- 

versaUst Church. 
July 1, 1813. Samuel Langley, see Pew No. 17, Lower Floor. 
Apr. 16, 1823. Charles Durant, see Square Pew No. 8 in Gallery. 
Jime 13, 1834. Charles Pierpont Blaney, b. Jan. 2, 1797; d. May 9, 

1860. Unmarried. Bookkeeper. 
June 26, 1860. Nelson Curtis, see Pew No. 21, Lower Floor. 
Jan. 23, 1885. Mary S. Curtis, w. of Nelson Curtis. 



Pew No. 23, Lower Floor 

May 10, 1804. Cost $310.00. Aaron Davis, b. April 13, 1763; d. April, 
1817; m. Theoda Williams. Partner of his uncle Moses Davis, after- 
wards with his brother Charles. Manufacturers and Exporters. 
Helped to bmld the Roxbury Canal. 

Jan. 8, 1863. Harriet Sigourney, w. of D. A. Sigourney. 

Oct. 17, 1863. Caroline B. Thacher, w. of Thomas Thacher. 

Jan. 1, 1881. Willluw Gill Thacher, b. July 28, 1846; d. Sept. 23, 
1883; m. Elizabeth Ames Bates. Grad. Chauncey Hall School. First 



PEW OWNERS 279 



a grocer, then had charge of a large property. Member of the Com- 
mon Council. Director of the Howard Clock Co. and of the Rock- 
land National Bank. 



Pew No. 24, Lower Floor. 

May 10, 1804. Cost $330.00. Ralph Smith, b. Oct. 25, 1770; d. Aug. 
12, 1812; m. (1) Mary Whittemore, (2) Sarah Ruggles, (3) Mrs, Susan- 
nah Howe. Manufacturer of soap and candles. Member of a com- 
pany commanded by Watson Gore at Nantasket in the War of 1812, 
and attached to the commissary department until his death. 

May 24, 1825. Joseph Harrington, b. June 27, 1781; d. Dec. 8, 1852; 
m. Rebecca Smith. Yale College, 1803. Studied law with Fisher Ames. 
He suggested the planting of trees around the church green. He held 
Justice Courts every Saturday. After retiring from the bench he 
received a position in the Boston Custom House and held it imtil his 
death. 

March 31, 1837. Samuel Shaw Lewis, b. Jime 19, 1799; d. June, 1869; 
m. Hannah Brackett Lewis. Commission Merchant, afterward Agent 
of the Cunard Steamship Co., in Boston. 

March 17, 1842. Sarah LKms, daughter of Thomas Lewis. 

Jan. 5, 1843. Robert Gould Shaw, b. June 4, 1776; d. May 3, 1853; 
m. Elizabeth Willard Parkman. Merchant. 

Oct. 31, 1856. Samuel Allds Wat, see Pew No. 65, Lower Floor. 

March 23, 1883. Samuel Little, b. Aug. 15, 1827; d. Dec. 21, 1906; m. 
Elizabeth Malbon. President of Rockland National Bank. Alder- 
man. Member Common Council. Treas. of Highland St. R'way Co. 
Member of Legislature. 



Pew No. 25, Lower Floor. 

May 10, 1804. Cost $370.00. Reuben Stoddard, d. Oct. 1807; m. 

Huldah . Mariner. 

May 10, 1804. Stephen Mansfield, see Fourth Meeting House. 

Jan. 29, 1810. Daniel Hammond, b. Dec. 13, 1785; d. Aug. 23, 1872; m. 

Sally Stoddard. Merchant of the firm of Cutler & Hammond. 
June 12, 1826. Huldah Stoddard, w. of Reuben Stoddard. 
Sept. 7, 1826. Sally Hammond, w. of Daniel Hammond. 
June 27, 1844. William Phipps, b. Aug. 6, 1799; d. Feb. 16, 1873; m. 

Elizabeth Vinton Staniford. Dry goods merchant. 
Feb. 9, 1860. Henry Newton Farwell, b. Jan. 12, 1822; d. June 14, 

1896; m. Clara Richardson. Commission merchant. 



280 THE FIFTH MEETING HOUSE 

March 27, 1865. Horatio Haehis, b. Feb. 12, 1821; d. Feb. 29, 1876; m. 
Eunice Elizabeth Crehore. Commission merchant. Trustee of Joshua 
Sears Estate. Director of Atlas Bank. One of the originators and a 
director of the Metropolitan Railroad. One of the proprietors of the 
Adams, Oxnard and Continental Sugar Refineries. One of the 
leading promoters of the "World's Peace Jubilee." 

Nov. 3, 1876. Minnie Hahris, daughter of Horatio Harris. 

Oct. 25, 1880. William Goodwin Russell, see Pew No. 51 in Gallery. 

Oct. 1884. John Felt Osgood, see Pew No. 96, Lower Floor. 



Pew No. 26, Lower Floor. 

May 10, 1804. Cost $380.00. Joseph Williams, see Fourth Meeting 

House. 
May 19, 1825. Nehemiah Davis Willlu^s, b. July 25, 1786; d. May 13, 

1852; m. Sarah Heath. Tanner and farmer. 
Dec. 18, 1852. Joseph Williams. Provision dealer. 
Feb. 9, 1856. Anna R. Dwight, of BrookUne. 
Jan. 1, 1858. David Nevins, of Brighton, b. Dec. 12, 1809; d. March 19, 

1881; m. Eliza S. Coffin. Dry goods commission merchant and 

manufacturer. 
Dec. 21, 1882. Eliza S. Nevins, w. of David Nevins. 

Pew No. 27, Lower Floor. 

May 10, 1804. Cost $390.00. Rebecca Wait, w. of Jacob Wait. 

May 22, 1806. Samuel Watt, see Pew No. 38, Lower Floor. 

Aug. 10, 1826. Lydia W^ait. 

Dec. 10, 1827. Benjamin Franklin Copeland, b. Nov. 25, 1798; d. Dec. 
22, 1863; m. Julia Fellowes Ruggles. Commission merchant. Repre- 
sentative. Deputy Collector of the Port of Boston. 

March 26, 1830. Ebenezer Francis, see Pew No. 36, Lower Floor. 

Jan. 30, 1862. Elizabeth Brown Bowditch, w. of Nath' I. Bowditch. 

Jan. 12, 1880. Henrt Ware Putnam, living. 

Pew No. 28, Lower Floor. 

May 10, 1804. Cost $390.00. John Parker of Boston, b. Feb. 3, 1759; 

d. April 21, 1828 ; m. Elizabeth Phillips. Merchant. 
Sept. 7, 1840. John Parker, b. June 4, 1783; d. Dec. 29, 1844; m. Anna 

Sargent. Merchant. Owner of Parker Hill. 
Oct. 26, 1874. Samuel Crocker Cobb, see Pew No. 67, Lower Floor. 



PEW OWNERS 281 



May 8, 1888. Stephen Henry Williams, b. Nov. S, 1807; d. July 15, 
1894; m. Katharine Morrill. Graduate of Roxbury Latin School. 
Clerk of Boardman and Pope on India Wharf in the East India Trade. 
Sailed for them as Captain. Established at San Francisco and Hono- 
lulu, the Commission House of S. H. Williams & Co. Representative 
Member of Roxbury City Coimcil. 

Pew No. 29, Lower Floor. 

May 10, 1804. Cost $410.00. Madam Elizabeth Sumneh, w. of Governor 
Increase Simmer. 

Sept. 15, 1814. John Lemist, b. Aug. 25, 1785; d. Jan. 13, 1840; m. Mary 
(Cordis) Haswell. Merchant. Owner of Auchmuty House. Parish 
Treasurer, 1825. Treasurer of the Society, 1826 to 1829. Member 
of Standing Committee, 1822 and 1830 to 1833. Trustee of the Rox- 
bury Latin School. 

March 12, 1840. Edward Brinley, see Pew No. 70, Lower Floor. 

June 20, 1851. Thomas Howe, of Dorchester. Vinegar maker. 

Oct. 19, 1860. Elijah Williams, of Boston, b. Aug. 1805; d. June 19, 
1879; m. Mary Nye Bangs. Flour commission merchant. Trustee 
of several estates. Owned numerous ships. 

Pew No. 30, Lower Floor. 

May 10, 1804. Cost $391.00. Margaret Magee, w. of James Magee. 

Jan. 29, 1810. Jonathan Dorr, see Pew No. 84, Lower Floor. 

May 10, 1830. Benjamin Franklin Copeland, see Pew No. 27, Lower 

Floor. 
June 10, 1837. Rev. George Putnam, Pastor of this Church. 
Nov. 29, 1839. Isaac Parker Towtstsend, see Pew No. 10, Lower Floor. 
March 4, 1843. Willlui Gray, of Boston, b. Dec. 20, 1810; d. Feb. 12, 

1892; m. Sarah Frances Loring. H. C. 1829. Lawyer. Overseer of 

Harvard College. President Alumni Assn. Fellow Am. Acad. 

Member of Mass. Hist. Society. 

Pew No. 31, Lower Floor. 

May 10, 1804. Cost $355.00. Doctor John Bartlett, see Fourth Meeting 

House. 

Nov. 22, 1854. Julia Hill, w. of Thomas Hill of Roxbury. 

Jan. 31, 1870. Adams Ayer, see Deacons. 



282 THE FIFTH MEETING HOUSE 

Pew No. 32, Lower Floor. 

May 10, 1804. Cost $350.00/ Thomas Williams, Jr., bap. June 3, 1764; 
d. Sept. 20, 1823; m. (1) Elizabeth McCarthy, (2) Frances Jones. 
Lawyer. 

March 24, 1825. SAirtJEL Jackson Gardner, b. July 9, 1788; d. July 14, 
1864; m. Mary Bellowes Kmgsley. H. C. 1807. Lawyer. Secretary 
and Treasurer of the Roxbury Latin School. In 1820 he presented 
a Holy Bible to the Parish which is still in the pulpit. Member of the 
Standing Committee in 1827, 1828, 1829. In 1838 moved to Newark, 
New Jersey. Editor of the Newark Daily Advertiser. 

Aug. 26, 1837. Mary Bellows Gardner, w. of Samuel Jackson Gardner. 

June 13, 1839. Ltdia Williams, of East Bridgewater, dau. of Dr. Thomas 
Williams, of Roxbury. 

July 9, 1844. Daniel Andrew Sigotjrnet, see Pew No. 38, Lower Floor. 

Feb. 15, 1859. Jeremla.h Williams, b. April 9, 1805; d. Feb. 3, 1877; m. 
Emmeline Eames Childs. Farmer. Selectman of West Roxbury. 

March 1, 1878. Henry Ware Putnam, hvuig. 

April 30, 1883. Anna Cabot Lowell, see Pew No. 35, Lower Floor. 

Pew No. 33, Lower Floor. 

May 10, 1804. Cost $300.00. Hon. Nathaniel Ruggles, see Pew No. 2, 

Lower Floor. 
Oct. 24, 1822. David Allen Simmons, b. Nov. 7, 1787; d. Nov. 20, 1859; 

m. Martha Fairfield Ruggles. Lawyer. Parish Clerk 1822-1825. 

Member Parish Committee 1823-1824. Clerk of the Society 1825- 

1829. State Senator from Roxbury 1848-1849. 
Oct. 13, 1834. Charles Copeland, b. Aug. 27, 1803; d. March 9, 1853; 

m. Susan Rogers Sprague. Merchant. 
May 18, 1837. Charles Nichols, b. Jan. 26, 1794; d. Aug. 22, 1873; m. 

Harriet Powers. Paying teller ia the New England Bank. 
June 16, 1845. Benjamin Franexin Copeland, see Pew No. 27, Lower 

Floor, 
May 24, 1860. Robert Chamblet Hooper, see Pew No. 92, Lower Floor. 
Oct. 25, 1880. Mrs. Samuel D. Bradford. 

Pew No. 34, Lower Floor. 

May 10, 1804. Cost $312.00. Joseph Seaver, see Fourth Meeting 
House. 

Dec. 29, 1832. Watson Gore, b. March 18, 1793; d. June\13, 1872; m. 
Catherine Gates Willard. Importer of linens. Member of Standing 
Committee 1833-1834. Member of the New England Guards. 



PEW OWNERS 283 



Oct. 11, 1844. Catherine Gates Gore, w. of Watson Gore. 

Aug. 20, 1847. Enoch Train, see Pew No. 51 in Gallery. 

May 20, 1859. Aured Augustus Reed, b*. Sept. 7, 1817; d. Oct. 1, 

1878; m. Caroline Van Son. Lived in Java many years; afterwards 

engaged in cotton manufacturing in this country. 
April 2, 1866. Ebenezer Francis Parker, b. Dec. 13, 1823; d. Aug. 15, 

1896; m. Elizabeth Clap Stone. Partner of Augustine Heard & Co., 

Merchants of Hong Kong, China. 



Pew No. 35, Lower Floor. 

May 10, 1804. Cost $340.00. Aaron White, b. April 8, 1741; d. Dec. 

18, 1809; m. Elizabeth Cheney. Farmer. 
May 19, 1825. William White, b. Oct. 9, 1779; d. Aug. 25, 1833; m. 

Nancy Avery. Mason. '^ 

Dec. 20, 1833. David Dudley, see Pew No. 45, Lower Floor. 
March 27, 1834. Daniel Andrew Sigourney, see Pew No. 38, Lower 

Floor. 
July 1, 1837. Edwin Lemist, b. Oct. 14, 1806; d. Jan. 28, 1888; m. 

Sarah Whitney Davis Dorr. Dry goods merchant. 
May 15, 1838. James Russell. Bookkeeper in the Atlas Bank. 
June 27, 1842. Rebecca Amort Lowell, dau. of John Lowell, taught in 

the Sunday school about 40 years. 
Jan. 21, 1874. Anna Cabot Lowtell, dau. of John Lowell, taught in the 

Sunday school about 50 years. Secretary of the Lincoln Freedman's 

Aid Society. 

Pew Ne. 36, Lower Floor. 

May 10, 1804. Cost $320.00. Wiluam Htslop Sumner, b. July 4, 1780 ; 
d. Oct. 24, 1861 ; m. Mary Ann (DeWolf) Perry. H. C. 1799. Law- 
yer. Representative, 1808 to 1819. Organized in 1833 the East 
Boston Co. One of the original members of the Massachusetts Horti- 
cultural Society. 

April 2, 1816. George Ziegler, see Pew No. 7. Lower Floor. 

June 11, 1819. Ebenezer Francis, b. Oct. 15, 1775; d. Sept. 21, 1858; 
m. Elizabeth Thomdike. Merchant and a large ship owner. Chair- 
man of the Trustees and President of the Massachusetts General 
Hospital. President of the Suffolk Bank. President of the Cocheco 
Mfg. Co. Treasurer of Harvard College. 

April 20, 1830. David Dudley, see Pew No. 45, Lower Floor. 

Dec. 21, 1833. John Jones Clarke, see Square Pew No. 31 in Gallery. 



284 THE FIFTH MEETING HOUSE 

June 30, 1845. Nathaniel Ingersoll Bowditch, of Boston, b. Jan, 17, 
1805; d. April 16, 1861; m. Elizabeth Brown Francis. H. C. 1822. 
Admitted to the Bar, 1825. Became a conveyancer and examiner of 
titles to real estate. In 1855 wrote the "Gleaner" articles in the 
Boston Transcript. Published a "History of the Massachusetts Gen- 
eral Hospital" and "Suffolk Surnames." 

March 4, 1862. Elizabeth Brown Bowditch, w. of Nathaniel I. Bow- 
ditch. 

Jan. 2, 1888. Mks. Mary Lemist Clarke, dau. of John Jones Clarke. 

Pew No. 37, Lower Floor. 

May 10, 1804. Cost $350.00. Stephen Williams, see Fourth Meeting 

House. 

, 1807. Mary Williams, dau. of Stephen Williams. 

April 8, 1822. Theoda Hunnewell, w. of Jonathan Hunnewell. 

Oct. 20, 1835. Ralph Smith Dorr, b. Feb. 1, 1807; d. Jan. 30, 1869; m. 

Nancy Davis. Lived in San Francisco where he built large warehouses. 
Aug. 17, 1836. Jonathan Dorr, see Pew No. 84, Lower Floor. 
Oct. 18, 1837. J. D. Adams. 

Aug. 2, 1838. Jonathan Buffington, see Pew No. 93, Lower Floor. 
March 5, 1839. Baman Stone, b. Dec, 1804; d. March 4, 1877; m. 

Mary Walker. Cashier People's Bank. Treasurer of the Society, 

1856 to 1862. 
Nov. 16, 1840. Samuel Guild, see Pew No. 79, Lower Floor. 
Jan. 28, 1842. Augustus Perrin, see Long Pew No. 7 in Gallery. 
Jan. 26, 1850. DAA^D Child Perrin, b. July 15, 1825; d. Jan. 20, 1879; 

m. Ellen Priscilla Hooper. Succeeded his father (Augustus Perrin) 

in the Pahn Leaf business which was increased by wea%ang the Palm 

Leaf with cotton warp thus making a cloth from which Shaker Hoods 

and hats and caps were made. 
Nov. 6, 1866. J. Henry Sears, hving. 

May 14, 1867. John J. Dixwell, see Pew No. 60, Lower Floor. 
Feb. 12, 1880. Robert Chamblet Hooper, Trustee, see Pew No. 92, 

Lower Floor. 

Pew No. 38, Lower Floor 

May 10, 1804. Cost $335.00. Samuel Wait, b. 1771; d. March 3, 1826; 
m. ]\Irs. Mary Felton. Manufacturer of leather breeches. 

May 24, 1826. Daniel Andrew Sigourney, b. April 3, 1800; d. May 
27, 1875; m. Harriet Davis. Cashier of the Washington Bank of 
Boston. Member of Standing Committee, 1837. State Bank Com- 
missioner. 



PEW OWNERS 285 



March 27, 1834. David Dudley, see Pew No. 45, Lower Floor. 
Sept. 24, 1842. Hannah Dudley, w. of David Dudley. 

Abby Weld Dudley, daughter of David Dudley. 

Pew No. 39, Lower Floor 

May 10, 1804. Cost $340.00. John Wh^liams, see Fourth Meeting 

House. 
May 10, 1804. WhJjLAM Patten, see Fourth Meeting House. 
July 14, 1857. Charles Nichols, see Pew No. 33, Lower Floor. 
Feb. 23, 1886. Isaac Smith Cruft, b. Nov. 24, 1824; d. Dec. 27, 1889; 

m. Mary Powers Nichols. Merchant. 
Nov. 2, 1887. Robert B. WilllAlMS, living. 

Pew No. 40, Louver Floor 

May 10, 1804. Cost $315.00. Amos Smith, b. 1749; d. March 17, 1826; 

m. Catherine Smith Langdon. Cordwainer. 
May 10, 1822. Elnathan Taber, b. Feb. 14, 1768; d. Feb. 27, 1854; 

m. Catherine Partridge. Learned the clockmaker's trade of Aaron 

Willard. Made clocks until 1850. 
Sept. 1, 1845. Nathaniel Mayhew, b. June 22, 1788; d. Dec. 21, 1851; 

m. Nancy Allen. Sea captain, afterwards ship-broker. 
Dec. 2, 1852. THO^Lls Wiley, d. June, 1860; m. Margaret . 

Bookseller and Publisher. 
Oct. 30, 1856. George Packer, see Pew No. 44 in Gallery. 
May 9, 1859. Willlvm Gray Jr., b. July 2, 1837; d. Aug. 16, 1886.; m. 

Catherine Hays Cunningham. Treasurer of the Altantic and Indian 

Orchard Mills. 
Jan. 21, 1860. Elisa Whttwell, dau. of Samuel Whitwell. 
March 26, 1878. Arthur Malcohm Thomas, b. April 25, 1844; d. 

Dec. 6, 1879; m. Mary Sarah Sargent. He inherited a large estate 

and gave his life to its care. 
Oct. 12, 1887. Charles Henry Hessey, living. 

Pew No. 41, Lower Floor 

May 10, 1804. Cost $305.00. Willlum Davis, see Deacons. 
Jan. 22, 1805. Jonathan Dorr, see Pew No. 84, Lower Floor. 
Nov. 15, 1810. William Davis, see Deacons. 
Dec. 1, 1821. Elijah Lewis, see Pew No. 64, Lower Floor. 
Aug. 23, 1823. Hon. Willluw Gray, b. June 27, 1750; d. Nov. 4, 1825; 
m. Elizabeth Chipman. Merchant. Senator. Lieut.-Governor. 



286 THE FIFTH MEETING HOUSE 

March 8, 1827. Samuel Stellman, b. Jan. 31, 1796; d. March 17, 1878; 

m. Sarah Collins Baldwin. Wholesale dry goods merchant. 
May 2, 1835. Walter Farnsworth, b. 1798; d. Feb. 26, 1881; m. 

Elizabeth Loring Young. Dry goods merchant. Trustee of estates. 
Nov. 3, 1846. Jonathan Pratt Robinson, see Square Pew No. 7 in 

Gallery. 
Jan. 25, 1861. William James Reynolds, see Pew No. 65 in Gallery. 
Oct. 7, 1887. Henry O. Stratton, b. Jan., 1837; d. July 15, 1894. 

Dealer in hardware. 



Pew No. 42, Lower Floor 

May 10, 1804. Cost $270.00. Susanna Davis, dau. of Capt. Aaron 
Da\'is. 

Jan. 6, 1845. Horatio Davis, b. April 2, 1810; d. Aug. 18, 1861. Un- 
married. Merchant. 

Jan. 28, 1850. George Alfred Fisk, b. Oct. 11, 1812; d. Jan. 15, 1883; 
m. Sarah W. Clap. Hardware dealer. 

Feb. 20, 1866. Henry Lefrelet Daggett, see Pew No. 57 in Gallery. 

June 15, 1883. IVIaithew Binney, living. 



Pew No. 43, Lower Floor 

May 10, 1804. Cost $261.00. Mrs. Hannah Curtis. 

Nov. 1, 1834. Milton Durand, m. Louisa . Innkeeper. 

March 10, 1842. Nathaniel Snow, b. April 30, 1812; d. Nov. 10, 1862. 

Unmarried. Merchant. 
Nov. 13, 1863. Salome Snow, sister of Nathaniel Snow. 
Jime 10, 1892. GtOrham Rogers, living. 



Pew No. 44, Lower Floor 

May 10, 1804. Cost $260.00. Ebenezer Smith, b. 1752; d. May 19, 

1822; m. Abigail WiUiams. Victualler. 
May 10, 1804. Joseph Ware, b. 1780; d. July 22, 1830; m. Nancy 

Smith. Marketman. 
Oct. 1, 1830. Guy Carlton, b. 1788; d. Jan. 31, 1840; m. Abigail 

Hovey. Manager of a morocco factory. 
Jan. 20, 1834. John Lemist, see Pew No. 29, Lower Floor. 
Feb. 18, 1836. Nabby Carlton, w. of Guy Carlton. 
March 23, 1836. Guy Carlton Jr., b. July 22, 1812; d. March 23, 1903; 

m. Charlotte Howe. Merchant. 



PEW OWNERS 287 



Aug. 22, 1838. RaXiPH Crooker, see Pew No. 46, Lower Floor. 
Maxch 16, 1878. Edward Belcher Reynolds, see Deacons. 
March 26, 1883. Horace Bacon, living. 



Pew No. 45, Lower Floor 

May 10, 1804. Cost $240.00. Edward Jewett Robbins, b. , 1779; 

d. Sept. 6, 1825; m. (1) Mary Holmes Curtis, (2) Elizabeth . 

Trader. 
April 7, 1806. Remember Preston, b. Nov. 27, 1756; d. April 18, 1832; 

m. (1) Mary Davis, (2) Sarah Clark. 
May 12, 1825. David Dudley, b. Aug. 23, 1787; d. April 21, 1841; 

m. Hannah Davis. Merchant. President of the Traders' Bank. 

Member Standing Conomittee, 1830 & 1832. 
July 9, 1834. George Adams, b. Sept. 10, 1792; d. Dec. 21, 1868; m. 

Mary Ann Leach. Commission merchant. 
Oct. 21, 1848. John Joseph May, see Deacons. 
April 7, 1902. Edward May, living. 

Pew No. 46, Lower Floor 

May 10, 1804. Cost $206.00. John Seaver, see Fourth Meeting House. 

April 5, 1805. Benjamin Duick, see Pew No. 98, Lower Floor. 

Nov. 3, 1829. Abijah Merriam, see Pew No. 79, Lower Floor. 

Feb. 10, 1830. Joseph Callender, b. Dec. 15, 1789; d. Sept. 23, 1855. 

June 4, 1832. Joshua Seaver, b. Jan. 15, 1779; d. Sept. 11, 1833; m. 
Nancy Sumner. Taught school in Jamaica Plain. Postmaster of 
Roxbury. 

June 30, 1838. Ralph Crooker, b. May 28, 1801; d. March 2, 1886; m. 
Marietta Hathaway Borden. Overseer of the Iron Mills Corporation 
on Parker St., afterwards Superintendent of the Bay State Iron Works, 
South Boston. 

Aug. 28, 1838. Joel Seaverns, b. April 18, 1801; d. April 14, 1853; m. 
Ann T. Seaver. Farmer. His farm is now Forest Hills Cemetery. 

Aug. 5, 1839. George Arthur Simmons, see Long Pew No. 2 in Gallery. 

Feb. 16, 1843. Capt. James Huckins, b. Jan. 29, 1798; d. Oct. 11, 1868; 
m. Lucy J. Crocker. At first in the starch business in Roxbury, 
afterwards owner of the famous clipper ships Northern Light and 
Golden Light the former making the fastest passage on record 
between Boston and San Francisco — 76 days, 5 hours. 

March.5, 1883. John H. Haines, b. , 1839; d. Sept. 2, 1889. 

March 18, 1890. Mary P. Bacon, living. 



288 THE FIFTH MEETING HOUSE 

Pew No. 4n, Lower Floor 

May 10, 1804. Cost $171.00. Stephen Sampson, d. Feb., 1826; m. 

Mary Morse. Tanner. 
Oct. 18, 1817. Benjamin Mtrick, b. AprU 14, 1776; d. Oct. 1, 1838; m. 

Sarah Goding. Tanner. A founder of the Universalist Church. 
April 30, 1824. John Lemist, see Pew No. 29, Lower Floor. 
June 6, 1838. Levi Bartlett, b. June 3, 1784; d. June 21, 1864; m. 

Clarissa Walker. Merchant. 
Oct. 9, 1845. Whiting Hewins, b. Aug. 13, 1789; d. Aug. 16, 1855; 

m. Olive Easty. Oil merchant. 
Jan. 16, 1900. Ai,beet Feaking Hayden, living. 

Pew No. 48, Lower Floor 

May 10, 1804. Cost $193.00. Jonathan Champnet, b. Feb. 6, 1737; 

d. Aug. 14, 1809; m. Elizabeth Pierce. Cordwainer. 
May 7, 1889. James Howe Champney, see Square Pew No. 3 in Gallery. 

Pew No. 49, Lower Floor 

May 10, 1804. Cost $175.00, Ebenezer Bugbee, see Fourth Meeting 

House. 
May 18, 1825. Asa Bugbee, b. June 24, 1790; d. Dec. 15, 1831; m. 

Jane . Painter. 

Jan. 5, 1832. Alpheus M. Withington. Carpenter. 

June 30, 1835. Benjamin Franklin Copeland, see Pew No. 27. Lower 

Floor. 
April 13, 1836. Benjamin Franklin Campbell, b. July 6, 1806; d. 

March 29, 1874; m. Mary Lilley. Machinist. A Dnector of the 

People's Bank. 
April 19, 1843. Supply Clap Thwing, see Deacons. 
Sept. 1, 1857. John Rogers, b. May 11, 1800; d. June 15, 1884; m. 

Sarah Ellen Derby. H. C. 1820. President Roxbury Charitable 

Society. President Roxbury Home for Aged Women. Treasurer of 

the Vermont and Mass. Railroad Co. Treasurer of the Music Hall 

Association. Member Standing Committee, 1872-1875. Member 

Music Committee, 1851-1865. 
Oct. 9, 1884. Ellen Derby Rogers, dau. of John Rogers. 
May 26, 1888. James Clarke Davis, b. Jan. 20, 1838; d. May 11, 1905; 

m. Alice Paine. H. C. 1858. Was Class Secretary. Lawyer. 

Assistant District Attorney. Member of School Board. Trustee of 

large estates. 
March 29, 1893. Nathan Dyer Robinson, see Pew No. 58, Lower 

Floor. 



PEW OWNERS 289 



Pew No. 50, Lower Floor 

May 10, 1804. Cost $161.00. i pew. George Lyon Faerington, b. 
, 1764; d. Nov. 30, 1823; m. Rhoda Baker. Cooper. 

May 10, 1804. One half pew. Charles Jot, see Fourth Meeting House. 

April 10, 1809. One half pew. Stephen Sampson, see Pew No. 47, Lower 
Floor. 

Jan. 30, 1823. One half pew. William Joy, b. Dec. 20, 1800; m. Mary 
Parker Hunt. 

Nov. 7, 1823. One quarter pew. William Bacon, see Pew No. 7, Lower 
Floor. 

Nov. 7, 1823. One quarter pew. William Heath Spooneb, see Pew No. 
16, Lower Floor. 

Jan. 3, 1848. John Adam Weisse, see Long Pew No. 5 in Gallery. 

Nov. 6, 1852. Henry White Pickering, b. May 27, 1811; d. Aug. 15, 
1898; m. Frances Dana Goddard. Stock broker. Presdt. of the Old 
Boston Nat. Bank. President of the Boston Stock Board. Member 
Common Council. Member of the First Board of License Commis- 
sioners and of the Overseers of the Poor. 

Jan. 20, 1870. Stephen W. Marston, Jr., b. Oct. 11, 1819; d. Sept. 
4, 1899; unmarried. Dry Goods Commission Merchant. Director 
of the National Webster Bank. 

Pew No. 51, Lower Floor 
May 10, 1804. Cost $221.00. Five eighths of pew. Elijah Dudley, b' 

July 26, 1764; d. Sept. 6, 1805; m. Isabel Weed. Cooper. 
May 10, 1804. Three eighths of pew. Otis Gould, see Fom-th Meeting 

House. 
Dec. 17, 1827. Miss Sarah Tappan. 

July 26, 1828. Isabel Whiting, w. of Moses Whiting, of Dedham. 
Feb. 9, 1842. Elizabeth Whitwell, dau. of Samuel Whitwell. 
Feb. 9, 1860. Daniel Staniford, b. April 22, 1814; d. Feb. 21, 1879; m. 

Frances Ann Minns Wheelwright. Wool merchant. 

Pew No. 52, Lower Floor 
May 10, 1804. Cost $241.00. Capt. Jesse Doggett, see Fourth Meeting 

House. 
April 20, 1814. Elizabeth Doggett, w. of Jesse Doggett. 
April 18, 1845. Jonathan Amory Davis, see Pew No. 89, Lower Floor. 
Jan. 4, 1866. Ann Wainweight Davis, dau. of Jonathan Amory Davis. 
Jan. 31, 1884. Henry Dan Wilmarth, see Deacons. 

Pew No. 53, Lower Floor. 
May 10, 1804. Cost $260.00. Wiliaam Blaney, see Fourth Meeting 
House. 



290 THE FIFTH MEETING HOUSE 

May 19, 1825. Catherine Blanet, w. of William Blaney. 

Sept. 20, 1847. Horace Bacon, b. , 1801; d. Aug. 14, 1850; m. 

Miranda Wood. City messenger. Sexton of this church. 
Nov. 22, 1847. Edward Darlet Boit, b. Aug. 31, 1813; d. Oct. 25, 1890; 

m. Jane Parkinson Hubbard. H. C. 1834. Lawyer. Representative. 
May 29, 1848. James Gthld, b. July 12, 1811; d. May 3, 1887; m. (1) 

Sophia Buckland Child, (2) Ann Eliza Gore, (3) Caroline Whitmarsh. 

A Graduate of Roxbiu-y Latin School. Leather merchant. Member 

of Standing Committee 1853. Trustee of the Roxbury Latin School 

and its Treasurer in 1855. President and Director of the People's 

Bank. President Roxbmy Gas Light Co. 
Nov. 7, 1850. Frederick Guild, living. 
Dec. 4, 1891. James Clarke Davis, see Pew No. 49, Lower Floor. 

Pew No. 54, Lower Floor 

May 10, 1804. Cost $271.00. Ebenezeb Seaver, see Fourth Meeting 

House. 
April 14, 1855. Sarah Parker, dau. of Ebenezer Seaver and w. of Thomas 

Parker. 
April 1, 1884. Sarah Parker, dau. of Thomas Parker. 

Pew No. 55, Lower Floor 

May 10, 1804. Cost $300.00. Thomas Wtman, see Fourth Meeting 

House. 
Oct. 18, 1817. Isaac Wtman, b. March 27, 1795; d. Nov. 6, 1872; m. 

Catherine Taber. Farmer. 
Feb. 5, 1880. Emmeline Hatward, see Pew No, 107, liower Floor. 
March 30, 1883. John Tetlow, living. 

Pew No. 56, Lower Floor 

May 10, 1804. Cost $321.00. Col. William Barnes, see Fourth Meeting 

House. 
May 18, 1825. Jane Barnes, w. of Col. William Barnes. 
July 17, 1833. Moses Whiting, b. ,1780; d. March 19, 1842; m. 

Percis Rice Clark. 
July 1, 1846. Benjamin Bangs, b. Dec. 10, 1783; d. June 18, 1860; m. 

Sophia Nye. Merchant. Owner of ships. Interested in Valparaiso 

trade. Member of Common Council. Representative. 
Oct. 23, 1860. Charlotte Augusta Bradstreet, dau. of Benj. Bangs, 

and w. of Samuel Bradstreet. 



PEW OWNERS 291 



Pew No. 57, Lower Floor 

May 10, 1804. Cost $330.00. Heibs of the Pierpont Estate. 

Aug. 16, 1806. Samuel Gore, bap. Dec. 23, 1770; d. Dec. 11, 1824; m. 

Abigail White. Fanner. 
March 10, 1830. William Fisk, b. Dec. 20, 1770; d. June 11, 1844; m. 

Eunice White. Cabinet maker. Measurer of wood. 
Feb. 28, 1843. Capt. Archelaus Rea, b. Feb. 12, 1778; d. Sept. — , 1864; 

m. (1) Elizabeth Mason, (2) Maria Marsh Woodbridge. Master 

Mariner. Agent of Salem Iron Co. 
Nov. 16, 1847. Philip Dumaresq, b. April 13, 1804; d. June 25, 1861; m. 

Margarita Deblois. Educated at Gardiner, Me. Commanded a ship 

at the age of twenty, and for thirty years prominent in his profession. 

He was the first American who began the traffic with the Japanese 

after the American Treaty of Commerce. 
Oct. 8, 1855. James Sturgis, b. Aug. 21, 1822; d. Jan. 21, 1888; m. Mary 

Catharine Townsend. Engaged in the East India, China, South 

Africa and Australian trades. On the stafif of Gov. Alex. H. Rice. 
Jan. 30, 1880. James Thacher Hatward, see Pew No. 85, Lower Floor. 
Nov. 24, 1886. James Warren Hatward, see Long Pew No. 34, in 



GuUery. 



Pew No. 58, Lower Floor 



May 10, 1804. Cost $338.00. Humphrey Bicknall, see Fourth Meeting 

House. 
May 10, 1804. Simeon Pratt, see Fourth Meeting House. 
May 6, 1837. Polly Lewis, w. of Thomas Lewis. 
Feb. 9, 1854. George Foster Williams, b. Aug. 17, 1805; d. Dec. 5, 

1872 ; m. Susan Lucy Fellowes. Member of the firm of Hall & Williams, 

afterwards Tucker & Williams. 
Nov. 11, 1878. Nathan Dyer Robinson, b. Jime 20, 1835 ; d. April 11, 

1895 ; m. Elizabeth Leman Parker. Member of the firm of Macullar 

Parker & Co., dry goods. Member of the Boston Art Club and the 

Roxbury Club. 

Pew No. 59, Lower Floor 

May 10, 1804. Cost $351.00. Joel Seaverns, see Fourth Meeting House. 

May 10, 1804. Samuel Seaverns, b. , 1782; d. April 29, 1810; m. 

Charlotte WilUams. 
July 26, 1817. Charlotte Seaverns, w. of Samuel Seaverns. 
July 26, 1824. William Langley, see Square Pew No. 28, in Gallery. 
May 14, 1825. Aaron Kingsbury, see Pew No. 92, Lower Floor. 



292 THE FIFTH MEETING HOUSE 

April 18, 1856. William B. Kingsbury, b. Dec. 14, 1806; d. April 6, 1872; 
m. Preelove Feimer. Farmer. Alderman. Treasurer Roxbury Gas 
Light Co. Trustee of Institution for SaAings in Roxbury and Vicinity. 

Nov. 27, 1875. Edwakd C. R. Walker, b. Dec. 11, 1823 ; d. Oct. 11, 1897 ; 
m. Henrietta Kingsbury. Manufacturer. 

Pew No. 60, Lower Floor 

May 10, 1804. Cost $341.00. Deacon Joshua Felton, see Deacons. 

May 10, 1804. Zabdiel Adams, see Fourth Meeting House. 

May 16, 1825. Abigail P. Adams, w. of Zabdiel Adams. 

Feb. 9, 1828. Dr. Zabdiel Boylston Adams, b. Feb. 19, 1793; d. 

Jan. 25, 1855; m. Sarah May Holland. H. C. 1813. M. D. 1816. 
Aug. 10, 1833. Samuel Billings, see Pew No. 94, Lower Floor. 
Nov. 27, 1844. John Bumstead, b. Jan. 12, 1778; d. Oct. 29, 1857; 

m. (1) Frances Gore, (2) Sarah Gore. Merchant and dealer in real 

estate. 
July 28, 1866. John James Dixwell, b. June 27, 1806; d. Nov. 14, 

1876; m. Eliza Boardman Ingersoll Bowditch. 
May 14, 1867. J. Henry Sears, see Pew No. 65, in Gallery. 

Pew No. 61, Lower Floor 

May 10, 1804. Cost $320.00. Major William Bosson, b. Apr. 28, 
1753; d. after 1818; m. (1) Prudence Mayo, (2) Susanna Mayo. One 
of the minute men at Lexington. IMajor in the Continental Army. 
Parish Clerk, 1815 to 1817. Member Parish Committee, 1805, 1806, 
1815, 1816. 

Nov. 20, 1816. Elijah Levtis, see Pew No. 64, Lower Floor. 

Aug. 26, 1818. Samuel Hewes, b. May 4, 1767; d. Oct. 21, 1860. 
Unmarried. Dry Goods Merchant. Capt. of the Boston Fusileers. 

June 21, 1821. William Cooper Hunneivla.n, b. July 10, 1769; d. May 
10, 1856; m. Hannah Hewes. Coppersmith. Brass founder and 
manufacturer of hand fire engines. President of Mass. Charitable 
Society. One of the Deacons of West Boston Church. (Rev. Dr. 
Charles Lowell). 

Feb. 19, 1856. William Cooper Hunneman, Jr., b. Jan. 4, 1830; d. 
Jan. 28, 1869; m. Sally Williams Patten. First in the drug business 
and later a manufacturer of varnishes. 

March 29, 1869. Sidney Bartlett, b. Feb. 13, 1799; d. March 6, 1889; 
m. Carohne Pratt. H. C. 1818. Taught school in Scituate. In 1821 
admitted to the Bar where he became the leader. One of the founders 



PEW OWNERS 293 



and first president of the Boston Bar Assn. Member of the Legis- 
lature and also of Constitutional Convention. Received from Harvard 
College Honorary Degree of LL.D. in 1855. 
Feb. 14, 1880. Chaeles Fredehick Beadford, see Pev? No. 104, 
Lower Floor. 

Pew No. 62, Lower Floor 

May 10, 1804. Cost $340.00. William Pratt, b. May 18, 1776; d. 
Feb. 5, 1826 ; m. Mary Wyman. Currier. 

June 7, 1825. Charles Dxjrant, see Square Pew No. 8, in Gallery. 

July 1, 1829. Aaron Kingsbury, see Pew No. 92, Lower Floor. 

Nov. 2, 1830. Supply Clap Thwing, see Deacons. 

April 18, 1843. John Murray Forbes, b. Feb. 23, 1813; d. Oct. 12, 
1898; m. Sarah Hathaway. Merchant. One of the leaders who 
gave an impetus to the great Railway systems of the West. A Director 
of the Chicago Burlington and Quincy Rail Road from 1857 until his 
death, also Chairman of the Board of Directors and President of the 
same Railroad. Elector at large at President Lincoln's election in 1860. 
Member of Peace Congress Feb . 1861., Deputy Commissary under 
Governor Andrew in 1861. One of two persons sent by tlie Secre- 
taries of State and Navy on a private mission to England March 1863. 
One of the founders of the Sanitary Conamission. " In the Ci^^l War 
he did more for his country than any other private citizen and we 
owed our success as much to him as to any other man." (Judge Hoar.) 

April 27, 1874. Edwin Read, b. 1815; d. March 12, 1887. Auc- 
tioneer. 

Jan. 26,^1878. John Coffin Jones Brown, Uving. 

Pew No. 63, Lower Floor 

May 10, 1804. Cost $320.00. David Poignand, m. Delicia . 

Merchant. Removed to Lancaster. 

April 12, 1810. Nathaniel Scott, see Fourth Meeting House. 

Jan. 8, 1816. Thomas Whittemore Scott, b. Dec. 20, 1793; d. May 1, 
1824; m. Susan Curtis Brewer. Manufacturer. 

Sept. 1, 1835. Enoch Bartlett, b. Feb. 17, 1779; d. June 25, 1860; 
m. Abby Kane DeWolf. A merchant who laid the foundation of his 
fortune by importing a cargo of English dry goods just before the War 
of 1812. A pioneer member and a Vice President of the Mass. Horti- 
cultural Society. The "Bartlett Pear" was named in honor of him 
having been first introduced from Great Britain into the garden which 
he afterwards purchased. 

Nov. 15, 1860. Ann D. Bartlett, daughter of Enoch Bartlett. 

May 6, 1874. Caroline Bartlett, daughter of Enoch Bartlett. 



294 THE FIFTH MEETING HOUSE 

Pew No. 64, Lower Floor 

May 10, 1804. Cost $306.00. Eluah Lewis, b. March 3, 1773; d. 

Dec. 15, 1858; m. (1) Fanny Smnner, (2) Elizabeth Sumner Daggett. 

Associated with Charles and Aaron Davis manufacturers and exporters. 

Alderman. Representative. Captain of Roxbury Fire Brigade. 

Member of Parish Committee in 1823. 
Apr. 12, 1859. George Lewis, see Long Pew No. 17, in Gallery. 

Pew No. 65, Lower Floor 

May 10, 1804. Cost $214.00. John Dove, reverted to Parish. 

April 25, 1806. Lucy Bowman, see Pew No. 91, Lower Floor. 

Jan. 24, 1807. Deacon Samuel Sumner, see Deacons. 

May 4, 1818. William Hazlet, see Fourth Meeting House. 

Jan. 6, 1845. Abraham F. Howe, b. May, 1783; d. Nov. 29, 1861; m. 
Mary Woodman. At first a West Indian merchant afterwards an 
auctioneer. President in the Norfolk M. F. Ins. Co. Special coimty 
commissioner. Held offices in the City of Government. 

March 25, 1845. Joseph White, see Pew No. 90, Lower Floor. 

June 21, 1845. Lyman Locke, b. Jan. 25, 1804; d. Dec. 23, 1861; m. 
(1) Almeria Rosahne Boynton, (2) Eliza Anne Lane, (3) Frances Brew- 
ster. Manufacturer of weighing scales and afterwards purchased and 
conducted an iron foimdry. 

June 20, 1850. Thomas Lord of Boston, d. Jan. 1860. Merchant and 
dealer in real estate. 

Jan. 2, 1854. Samuel Allds Way, b. Dec. 17, 1816; d. June 4, 1872; 
m. Sarah Ann Simpson. Banker. Organized the first bank imder 
the Mass. Free Banking Law. Large real estate holder. 

April 15, 1857. James Ritchie, b. May 12, 1815; d. March 16, 1873; 
m. (1) Carolme Whitaker, (2) Mary Jane Kimball. H. C. 1835. Prin- 
cipal of the Partridge Academy in Duxbury. Mayor of Roxbury. 
President Roxbury Charitable Society. City ISIissionary. One of the 
founders of the Old Ladies' Home. Editor of the Norfolk County 
Journal. Trustee of the Roxbury Latin School. Representative. 
Assessor of Internal Revenue. Member of Gc5vemor Andrew's Council. 

July 15, 1867. Seaman Klous, living. 

This pew was removed in 1888 to give space for the new pulpit. 

Pew No. 66, Lower Floor 

May 10, 1804. Cost $260.00. Moses Davis, see Fourth Meeting House. 
April 24, 1824. Ezra Morse, b. Nov. 16, 1765; d. Oct. 17, 1826; m. 
Rebecca Thomas. Soap boiler. 



PEW OWNERS 295 



May 8, 1830. Ezekikl D. Dyer, m. Mrs. Rebecca Morse. Gold-beater. 
June 13, 1834. Amos Stevens, b. 1803; d. Feb. 25, 1861; m. 

Susan . Merchant and Manager of a balance factory. 

Dec. 30, 1835. Nahcm Ward, b. Oct. 10, 1801; d. Nov. 9, 1858; m. 

(1) Susan Gurney, (2) Ruth Stetson Gurney. Manufacturer of taUow 

candles and settled st^p. Alderman. Director of Nat. Rockland 

Bank. 
March 28, 1860. Rimi Stetson Ward, w. of Nahum Ward. 

Pew No. 67, Lower Floor 

May 10, 1804. Cost $202.00. Nathaniel Patten, d. before 1822, in 
Missouri; m. Nancy Scott. One of the Committee of Correspondence 
diu-ing the Revolution. One of the original incorporators of the Bos- 
ton Marine Society. Ropemaker. His daughter Sarah was the first 
child baptized in this meeting house, Jime 10, 1804. 

May 10, 1804. Benjamin Marshall, see Fourth Meeting House. 

Sept. 12, 1807. Nathaniel Shepherd Prentiss, b. Aug. 7, 1766; d. Nov. 
5, 1853; m. Abigail Pico. H. C. 1789. Began the practice of medi- 
cine in Marlborough. In 1801 he removed to Roxbiu-y and took 
charge of the Roxbury Latin School for eight years. Afterwards kept 
a private school. Representative. Town Clerk about 30 years. Parish 
Clerk. Member of Parish Committee. Helped to establish the First 
Baptist Church in Roxbury and one of the founders of the Eliot Con- 
gregational Church in Kenilworth Street. 

May 30, 1821. Samuel Guild, see Pew No. 79, Lower Floor. 

Nov. 16, 1840. Baman Stone, see Pew No. 37, Lower Floor. 

Feb. 8, 1862. Samuel Crocker Cobb, b. May 22, 1826; d. Feb. 18, 1891; 
m. Am-elia Ladd Beattie. Merchant. Pres. of the Mass. Society of 
the Cincinnati. Alderman of Roxbury. Alderman and Mayor of 
Boston. Trustee of Fellowes Athenaeiun. Trustee of Roxbury Latin 
School. Member of Standing Committee. President of Roxbury 
Charitable Society. Member of the Board of PubUc Institutions. 
President of Nat. Revere Bank. Trustee National Sailors' Home. 
Actuary of the Mass. Hospital Life Ins. Co. 

Dec. 21, 1877. William Addison Beattie. Living. 

Pew No. 68, Lower Floor 

May 10, 1804. Cost $311.00. William Haktnaford, m. Betsey Knower. 
Currier. A founder of the Universalist Church. 

March 7, 1822. Samuel Doggett, b. Feb. 12, 1794; d. Aug. 18, 1856; 
m. Lois Currier. Manufacturer of mirrors, picture frames, &c. Cap- 
tain of the Norfolk Guards of Roxbiu-y. 



296 THE FIFTH MEETING HOUSE 

Jan. 7, 1845. Henry Pettes, b. May 24, 1810; d. Aug. 29, 1882; m. 

Mary Barrett. Merchant. 
Feb. 16, 1860. John Reed, b. , 1812, d. July 26, 1892; m, Harriet 

White. Vice-Treasurer Provident Institution for Savings. 

Pew No. 69, Lower Floor 

May 10, 1804. Cost $347.00. Thomas Rtjmrill. One half pew, see 

Fourth Meeting House. 
May 10, 1804. Nathaniel Richardson. One half pew. b. March 19, 

1780; d. April 18, 1812; m. Mary Dwight Coverly. 
Jan. 10, 1807. Benjamin Weld. One quarter pew, see Pew No. 75, 

Lower Floor. 
Jan. 10, 1807. Jesse Doggett. One quarter pew, see Pew No. 52, 

Lower Floor. 
July 25, 1825. Samuel Jackson Gardner. One half pew, see Pew 

No. 32, Lower Floor. 
Feb. 13, 1826. John Weld Childs, b. Feb. 8, 1789; d. March 21, 1864; 

m. Sarah Richards. 
Jan. 19, 1830. Charles Frederick Gore, b. , 1799; d. June 10, 

1857. Gardener. 
Jan. 19, 1830. Joseph Warren Tucker, see Deacons. 

July 3, 1833. Samuel Perkins, b. , 1771 ; d. Aug. 3, 1846. 

Aug. 9, 1843. Abigail Perkins." 

Feb. 27, 1850. Gushing Stetson, b. Apr. 26, 1800; d. March, 1865; m. 

Mrs. Frances (Burrows) Bowles. Merchant. 
Sept. 30, 1863. George W. Wheelwright, see Long Pew No. 4, in 

Gallery. 

Pew No. 70, Lower Floor 

May 10, 1804. Cost $310.00. Thomas Kilbt Jones, bap. Feb. — , 
1759; d. April 26, 1842; m. Polly Morton. Auctioneer and Mer- 
chant. He built his country seat "Grove Hall." Trustee and Vice- 
Pres. of Mass. Fire Society. Trustee of the Roxbury Latin School. 

Aug. 17, 1833. John Jones Clarke, see Square Pew No. 31 in Gallery. 

June 19, 1834. Edward Brinley, b. , 1809; d. July 13, 1868; m. Ann 

Matilda Bartlett. Druggist. 

March 31, 1843. Hezekiah Blanchaitd, b. ; d. May, 1864; m. 

Charlotte Porter. Dealer in seeds. Member of New England Guards 
in 1812. 

Pew No. 71, Lower Floor 

May 10, 1804. Cost $298.00. Nehemiah Munroe, see Deacons. 



PEW OWNERS 297 



Dec. 29, 1828. Samuel Hewes Hunneman, b. Feb. 12, 1800; d. Jan. 15, 
1869; m. Elizabeth Champney. Coppersmith. Builder of the cele- 
brated Hunneman Hand and Steam F^e Engines in Roxbury. Presi- 
dent of Mass. Mechanic Charitable Association. Member of the 
Roxbwry Social Library. Engineer of the Roxbury Fire Department. 

Feb. 1, 1883. Axtgustus Pakker, see Pew No. 69, in Gallery. 

Nov. 23, 1898. William Prentiss Parker. Living. 

Pew No. 72, Lower Floor 

May 10, 1804. Cost $299.00. Ebenezer Crafts, see Deacons. 

April 12, 1844. Miss Sarah Stoddard, from New London. 

Nov. 29, 1844. Ebenezer Crafts, see Deacons. 

, 1864. WiLLLiM Augustus Crafts, b. Oct. 28, 1819; d. Oct. 30, 

1906; m. Emily Daggett. H. C. 1840. Lawyer. Established the 

Norfolk County Journal in 1849. Member of Common Council. 

Member of School Committee. Representative. Clerk of the State 

Board of Railroad Commissioners. 



Pew No. 73, Lower Floor 

May 10, 1804. Cost $297.00. Eleb Faxon, b. Jan. 9, 1756; d. Oct. 6, 
1820; m. Ruth Ann Hathaway. Blacksmith. Proprietor of a large 
iron factory casting cannon used in the War of 1812. A founder of 
the Universalist Church. 

March 22, 1822. Ruth Faxon, dau. of Eleb Faxon. 

Jan. 2, 1836. Amos Stevens, see Pew No. 66, Lower Floor. 

March 3, 1853. Thomas Motley, Jr., b. Feb. 1, 1812; d. March 8, 1895; 
m. Maria Bussey Davis. Agriculturist. President of the Mass. 
Society for the Promotion of Agriculture. Trustee of the Mass. Hmnane 
Society. President of the Sailors' Snug Harbor. 

Feb. 23, 1880. Joseph Warren Tucker, see Deacons. 

Pew No. 74, Lower Floor 

May 10, 1804. Cost $302.00. Nathaniel Seaver, b. Feb. 7, 1773; 

d. Oct. 27, 1827; m. Hannah Loco. Merchant. 
Nov. 3, 1829. Mrs. Anna Gardner Hovet. 
Jan. 12, 1839. Miss Sarah S. Gardner of Cambridge. 
Sept. 20, 1856. Samuel William Rodman, b. Oct. 30, 1814; d. June 1, 

1906; m. Emma Motley. Owner of Whaling ships. 
Feb. 10, 1880. Jeremiah Plimpton, see Deacons. 



298 THE FIFTH MEETING HOUSE 

Pew No. 75, Lower Floor 

May 10, 1804. Cost $291.00. Major Benjamin Weld, see Fourth Meet- 
ing House. 

May 10, 1804. Samitel Heath, b. March 9, 1760; d. Sept. 24, 1841; m. 
Mrs. Nancy Greaton. Tanner. 

March 1, 1849. Elizabeth Weld, dau. of Benjamin Weld. 

Pew No. 76, Lower Floor 

May 10, 1804. Cost $273.00. Hon. William Heath, see Fourth Meeting 

House. 

, 1814. William Heath, Jr., see Square Pew No. 25, in Gallery. 

May 25, 1836. William Davis, Jr., b. July 18, 1801; d. April 27, 1865; 

m. Maria Davis. Merchant and importer of Russian goods. 
Aug. 25, 1857. StiPPLT Clap Thwing, see Deacons. 
March 29, 1878. Annie Haven Thwing, dau. of Supply Clap Thwing 
Jan. 28, 1884. Josiah Wheelwright, see Long Pew No. 14, in Gallery. 
Dec. 28, 1895. Walter Eliot Thwing, living. Author of this book. 

Pew No. 77, Lower Floor 

May 10, 1804. Cost $260.00. Benjamin Seaver, see Fourth Meeting 

House. 
May 28, 1816. Susannah McCartt, w. of WilHam McCarty. 
Feb. 24, 1842. Joseph Dudley Gould, see Pew No. 78, Lower Floor. 
Aug. 1, 1878. Dr. P. O'Meaea Edson, hving. 

Pew No. 78, Lower Floor 

May 10, 1804. Cost $222.00. Jacob Gould, see Fourth Meeting House. 

May 10, 1804. Solomon Jones, see Fourth Meeting House. 

Jan. 11, 1813. Lucy Gtould, w. of Jacob Gould. 

Aug. 30, 1828. Joseph Dudley Gould, b. May 17, 1807; d. April 19, 

1879; m. Sarah Payson Seaverns. Dry goods merchant. Partner of 

Ozias Field. 
Dec. 29, 1828. John Lemist, see Pew No. 29, Lower Floor. 
Aug. 1, 1834. Harrison Gray, b. , 1794 ; d. Aug. 16, 1846 ; m. Clarissa 

. Bookseller. Hilliard, Gray & Co. 

April 11, 1835. Robert B. Schenck. 

Sept. 27, 1836. Charles Winship Holbrook, b. Aug. 4, 1804; d. June 11, 

1860; m. Deha Ann Gardner. Discoimt Clerk City Bank. 
Dec. 10, 1841. Leonard Crocker Bowles, b. Sept. 12, 1796; d. March 2 

1876; m. Catherine Gushing Lincoln. Bookseller and PubUsher. 

Assistant Secretary of the Mass. Society of the Cincinnati. 



PEW OWNERS 299 



Sept. 6, 1842. Samuel IVIaverick Phillips, b. May 19, 1795; d. June 8, 

1875 ; m. Rebecca Capen Simmons. Merchant. 
Feb. 23, 1880. George Morrill, b. Sept. 7, 1825; d. March 31, 1895; m. 

Sarah Emmons Rogers. Lawyer and Public Administrator. 

Pew No. 79, Lower Floor 

May 10, 1804. Cost $222.00. Samuel Guild, b. March 18, 1777; d. Jan. 
12, 1862; m. Sarah Mears. Tanner. Representative. Senator. Presi- 
dent of the People's Bank. Trustee of the Roxbury Latin School. 
President of the Inst, for Savings in Roxbury. Member of the 
Standing Committee. 

May 4, 1814. Major Abijah Merriam, b. , 1777; d. July 10, 1852; 

m. Catherine Coburn. Tanner. 

May 7, 1853. Catherine Merriam, dau. of Abijah Merriam. 

Sept. 9, 1853. Samuel Parkman Blake, see Pevsr No. 45, in Gallery. 

March 26, 1858. JosiAH Wheelwright, see Long Pew No 14, in Gallery. 

Pew No. 80, Lower Floor 

May 10, 1804. Cost $222.00. Willum Seaver, b. May 6, 1765; d. Feb. 

28, 1817; m. Lucy Heath. 
June 1, 1829. Dr. Henry Bartlett, b. Dec. 9, 1801; d. July 20, 1872; 

m. Hannah Everett. H. C. 1820. A prominent physician of Roxbury. 

Member of Mass. Med. Soc. A Founder of the "Home for Aged; 

Women, &c." in Roxbury. President Roxbury Athenaeum. President 

Roxbury Gas Light Co. President Ehot Savings Bank. Trustee of 

Fellowes Athenaemn. Member of the Standing Committee. 
July 4, 1882. Anna Sophia Everett, niece of Mrs. Henry Bartlett, & 

daughter of Thomas Everett. 

Pew No. 81, Lower Floor 

May 10, 1804. Cost $212.00. Daniel Saunderson, b. 1746; d. Jan. 

25, 1829; m. Sarah Cunningham. 

March 10, 1830. Sarah Saunderson, w. of Daniel Saimderson. 

May 5, 1843. Nathaniel Russell Sturgis, b. Feb. 17, 1779; d. Sept. 

26, 1856; m. Susan Parkman. Merchant. 

March 2, 1844. Benjamin Apthorp Gould, b. June 15, 1787; d. Oct. 
24, 1859; m. Lucretia Dana Goddard, H. C. 1814. Fellow Am. Acad. 
Principal of Boston Latin School. Afterwards engaged in the East 
India Trade. 



300 THE FIFTH MEETING HOUSE 

Jan. 28, 1851. George William Bonb, b. June 22, 1811; d. May 29, 
1892; m. (1) Sophia Augusta May, (2) Louisa C. Greenwood. Wool 
broker. Member of School Committee of West Roxbury. Trustee 
Suffolk Savings Bank. Treasurer Moimt Auburn Cemetery. 

Jan. 17, 1855. Eben Bacon, Jr., b. Aug. 4, 1829; d. Feb. 22, 1904; m. 
Susan Gilchrist Low. Banker. Treasurer Hamilton Mfg. Co. 
Director China Mut. Ins. Co. President of Washington Nat. Bank. 
Director of Sailors' Snug Harbor, and of Farm School for Indigent Boys. 

Jan. 1, 1898. Theorode Melville Plimpton, living. 

Pew No. 82, Lower Floor 

May 10, 1804. Cost $203.00. Samuel Blanet, see Fourth Meeting 

House. 
Dec. 16, 1816. William Pratt, see Pew No. 62, Lower Floor. 
June 26, 1819. Luther Morse, b. Feb. 3, 1770; d. Dec. 4, 1848; m. 

(1) Mary Holmes, (2) Elizabeth Hohnes. Soap boiler. A founder of 

the Universalist Church. 
June 26, 1819. Hartford Morse, see Square Pew No. 17, in Gallery. 
Dec. 17, 1827. Jonathan Dorr, see Pew No. 84, Lower Floor. 
Dec. 29, 1832. Nathaniel Dorr, see Pew No. 97, Lower Floor. 
June 13, 1834. George Woodman, b. Jan. 27, 1796; d. May 6, 1874; 

m. Louisa Gore. Merchant. Judge of petty cases at Jamaica Plain 

lockup. Member of Society of War of 1812. 
April 11, 1835. Harrison Gray, see Pew No. 78, Lower Floor. 
Jan. 1, 1844. Nathaniel R. Sturgis, see Pew No. 81, Lower Floor. 
Dec. 22, 1852. Francis Minot Weld, b. April 27, 1815; d. Feb. 4, 1886; 

m. Elizabeth Rodman. H. C. 1835. Interested in the cotton and East 

India trades. Treasurer of Pembroke Print Mills. 
Feb. 21, 1878. Thomas Johnston Homer, b. Nov. 1, 1813; d. Dec. 25, 

1880; m. Mary Elizabeth Fisher. Merchant. Franklin Medal Scholar. 

Trustee of estates. 
Jan. 9, 1882. Mart Elisabeth Homer, w. of Thomas Johnston Homer. 
June 1, 1900. John Noble, see Deacons. 

Pew No. 83, Lower Floor 

May 10, 1804. Cost $195.00. John Holbrook Hawes, b. Sept. 20, 
1772; d. July 21, 1846; m. (1) Achsah , (2) Sally Clap Mes- 
senger. Inherited an estate in Roxbury. 

May 10, 1804. Daniel Whiting; m. EUzabeth . 

Feb. 18, 1814. Jonathan Freeman Cook; m. Mary Little. 



PEW OWNERS 301 



Feb. 4, 1835. Galen Bowditch, b. March 15, 1772 ; d. March 16, 1853; 

m. Sally Davenport. Blacksmith and farmer. 
Aug. 19, 1839. Joseph Wahren Tucker, see Deacons. 
March 12, 1880. Mrs. Mart R. Gore. 

Pew No. 84, Lower Floor 

May 10, 1804. Cost $195.00. Jonathan Dorr, b. April 5, 1777; 
d. Sept. 18, 1841; m. Eliza Smith. Merchant. Representative. 
Dehvered an address of welcome to General Andrew Jackson on his 
visit to Roxbmy. Interested in the first omnibus line between Roxbiu-y 
and Boston. Member of Standing Committee in 1825. Trustee of 
the Roxbury Latin School. 

Dec. 20, 1832. Nathaniel Dorr, see Pew No. 97, Lower Floor. 

Sept. 4, 1834. Capt. Willluh C. Barstow, b. May 9, 1801 ; d. March 31, 
1864; m. Sarah Foster Morton. He commanded ships in the New 
York and Liverpool Packet Co. until 1844, afterwards Supt. and 
Manager of the East Boston Land Co. One of the founders and a 
director of the Maverick Bank. 

March 8, 1836. WiLLLi.M Whiting, b. March 3, 1813; d. June 29, 1873; 
m. Lydia Cushing Russell. H. C. 1833. Admitted to the Bar in 1838 
and became a leading lawyer. Advocated the union of Roxbury and 
Boston. 

March 21, 1839. Adam Stewart, b. 1776; d. Oct. 15, 1842. He was 
called Doctor. 

March 2, 1844. George William Dodd, b. Aug. 26, 1802; d. Oct. 31, 
1872; m. Catherine H. Perkins. Assistant Cashier Atlantic Bank. 

Oct. 28, 1853. Harriet Blanchaed, w. of William Blanchard, Senior. 

Sept. 24, 1869. William Blanchard, see Pew No. 46, in Gallery. 

March 15, 1880. James G. Haynes, b. 1830; d. Dec. 29, 1894; m. 
Charlotte A. Folger. Merchant. 

Jan. 10, 1904. Rev. Charles Richmond Weld, living. 

Pew No. 85, Lower Floor 

May 10, 1804. Reserved at the sale of pews for the use of the Society. 

Apr. 22, 1835. Cost $19.00. Benjamin Kent, see Deacons. 

Sept. 3, 1856. James Thacher Hayward, b. Feb. 19, 1802; d. March 12, 

1886; m. Sarah Appleton Dawes. Merchant. Treasurer of Boston 

Sugar Refinery. Vice Prest. EUot Five Cent Savings Bank. Director 

of Eliot Ins. Co. Member of Standing Committee. 
Apr. 7, 1883. Dr. John Lydenham Flint, b. , 1822; d. April 16, 

1887. Unmarried. H. C. 1843, Physician of Roxbury. 



302 THE FIFTH MEETING HOUSE 

Pew No. 86, Lower Floor 

May 10, 1804. Reserved at the sale of pews for the use of the Society. 
April 22, 1835. Cost $19.00. Benjamin Kent, see Deacons. 
May 3, 1866. Mbs. Samuel D. Bradford. 
Oct. 25, 1880. Jane Eliza White, w. of Henry White. 

Pew No. 87, Lower Floor 

May 10, 1804. Reserved at the sale of pews for the use of the Society. 

April 22, 1835. Cost $21.00. Dr. Peter Gilman Robbins, b. Dec. 10, 
1781; d. May 18, 1852; m. (1) Abba Dowse, (2) Mrs. Polly (Wil- 
liams) Hooper. In early life a physician in Lynn, afterwards in Rox- 
bury. Parish Clerk, 1821. 

July 2, 1842. James Phillips, Jr., b. March 25, 1808 ; d. Oct. 5, 1863 ; 
m. Eliza Cunningham. Real estate broker. Secretary of Board of 
Overseers of the Poor of the City of Boston. 

April 15, 1854. Thomas Thacher, Jr., b. Jan. 18, 1824; d. Dec. 11, 
1869; m. Marietta B. H. Crooker. President Fulton Iron Foundiy 
Co. Notary Public. 

March 28, 1871. Stephen Minot Weld, living. 

March 11, 1878. Horace Williams Fuller, b. in 1844; d. Oct. 26, 1901; 
m. Emily Gorham Carter. Lawyer and editor. 

Jan. 26, 1880. Sajiuel Seaverns Gay, b. Feb. 20, 1819; d. Dec. 24, 1894; 
m. Trj'phenia M. Gleason. Stationer. 

Jan. 19, 1883. Edward Belcher Reynolds, see Deacons, 

Pew No. 88, Lower Floor 

May 10, 1804. Reserved at the sale of pews for the use of the Society. 
April 22, 1835. Cost $21.00. Dr. Peter Oilman Robbins, see Pew No. 

87, Lower Floor. 
April 18, 1837. Sarah Cummens, dau. of William Cummens. 
March 12, 1862. Paul Willard, b. Sept. 26, 1824; d. Aug. 15, 1868; 

m. (1) Maria Louisa McCleary, (2) Mrs. Mary Elizabeth Read Weld. 

H. C. 1845. Sohcitor of Roxbury. Clerk of the Common Council of 

Charlestown. Member of the Council. Representative. 
May 29, 1877. Mary E. R. Willard, w. of Paul Willard. 
Dec. 16, 1889. Helen Wendell, w. of Frank Wendell. 

Pew No. 89, Lower Floor 

May 10, 1804. Cost $140.00. Abigail Gay, w. of Joel Gay. 
Jan. 28, 1820. John Lemist, see Pew No. 29, Lower Floor. 
Dec. 31, 1839. Miss Abigail K. Oliver. 



PEW OWNERS 303 



June 24, 1843. Jonathan Amoht Davis, b. Jan. 16, 1800; d. May 5, 
1865 ; m. (1) Emily Parker, (2) Frances Elizabeth Amory. President 
Suffolk National Bank. Treasurer Lancaster Mills. 

May 5, 1845. William Dehon, b. Feb. 2, 1814; d. May 22, 1875; m. 
Caroline Maria Inches. CounseUor-at-law. 

Feb. 9, 1846. Nathaniel Francis, Jr., of Roxbury, b. 1819; d. Aug. 4, 
1848. Bookkeeper. 

Sept. 15, 1849. Nathaniel Francis, of Boston, b. 1789; d. Sept. 13, 
1870; m. (1) , (2) Elizabeth Lydia Coolidge. Iron merchant. 

May 10, 1853. Hon. John Howe, of Brookline, b. March 17, 1792; d. 
April 1, 1867; m. Hannah Williams Heath. Lumber merchant. A 
Director of the Rutland & Burlington R. R. Co. President of the 
Boston & Maine R. R. Co. President of the Eastern R. R. Co. Rep- 
resentative. Soldier of the War of 1812, for which service he received 
a warrant for 160 acres of land from the Government. At the open- 
ing of the Civil War in 1861, he presided over the first war meeting in 
Brookline and gave this land warrant to the Committee to be bestowed 
upon the family of the first victim of the war. 

June 5, 1865. George Woods Rice, b. July 14, 1828; d. Nov. 14, 1882; 
m. Adelaide Walker. Commission merchant. President of Mass. 
Loan & Trust Co. 

May 20, 1887. Charles Stuart Halladat, b. March 23, 1837; d. June 
13, 1907; m. Sarah Adams. Civil War Veteran. A. A. Paymaster 
United States Navy. 

Pew No. 90, Lower Floor 

May 10, 1804. Cost $190.00. Isaac Curtis, b. Dec. 2, 1767; d. May 11, 

1822; m. (1) Sally Heath, (2) Margaret Bell. Farmer. 
Oct. 4, 1837. Ebenezer Pratt, b. June 17, 1802; d. May 28, 1857; m. 

Nancy Moore. Painter. 
June 17, 1844. Joseph White, b. April 15, 1791; d. Oct. 15, 1867; m. 

Anna Maria Halsey. Merchant in New York and Java, afterwards 

Cashier of the Atlas Bank. 
March 5, 1845. James Russell, see Pew. No. 35, Lower Floor. 
April 22, 1846. Charles H. Blanchard, of Boston, b. ; d. about 

1848; m. Mary E. Stevenson. West India Goods & Groceries. 
Oct. 7, 1848. Stephen W. Marsh, of Boston, Pianoforte manufacturer. 
Jan. 8, 1852. Charles Mato Ellis, see Pew No. 18, Lower Floor. 
July 21, 1855. Leonard C. Bowles, see Pew No. 78, Lower Floor. 
Dec. 3, 1855. Martin Lestcoln Bowles, b. Nov. 1, 1832; d. Feb. 15, 1904; 

m. Fanny M. Darracott. Merchandise broker. 



304 THE FIFTH MEETING HOUSE 

March 29, 1858. Henry Hughes Warden, b. Nov. — , 1817; d. Jan. 2, 

1897; m. Elizabeth Beal. Merchant. 
May 15, 1861. Joseph Williams Balch, b. Aug. 3, 1819; d. Jan. 11, 1891 ; 

m. (1) Maria Hallet, (2) Agnes Love Greene. President of Boylston 

Fire Ins. Co. 
Feb. 9, 1878. Charles C. Harvey, living. 

Pew No. 91, Lower Floor 

May 10, 1804. Cost $214.00. Deacon Samuel Sumner. One half pew, see 

Deacons. 
May 10, 1804. Lucy Bowman. One half pew. w. of W^illiam Bowman 

and sister of Governor Increase Sumner. 
April 28, 1806. Peleg Heath, Jr., b. May 14, 1771; d. Oct. 21, 1812; m. 

Peggy Davenport. Farmer. 
Dec. 12, 1859. Joseph P. Shaw, b. ; d. Dec. 31, 1866; m. Sarah 

Heath. Merchant. 
Nov. 1, 1872. Ebenezer Francis Parker, see Pew No. 34, Lower Floor. 

Pew No. 92, Lower Floor 

May 10, 1804. Cost $214.00. Jonathan Hill, m. Suky Bosson. 
Cabinet maker. 

Dec. 29, 1824. Aaron Kingsbury, b. , 1776; d. April 12, 1839; m. 

Mary Lethbridge. Farmer and victualer. 

May 3, 1825. John Lemist, see Pew No. 29, Lower Floor. 

Oct. 8, 1835. Dr. William Pitt Greenwood, b. May 10, 1766; d. May 
10, 1851 ; m. Mary Langdon. Dentist. 

May 19, 1841. Samuel Edmund Sewall, b. Nov. 9, 1799; d. Dec. 20, 
1888; m. (1) Louisa M. Winslow, (2) Harriet (Winslow) List. Law- 
yer. H. C. 1817. LL.B. 1820. Abolitionist. Senator. 

June 25, 1847. Lyman Hollingsworth, b. July 17, 1816; d. April — , 
1890; m. Mary W. Thayer. Paper manufacturer. 

Feb. 21, 1851. Robert Chamblet Hooper, b. April 8, 1805; d. Nov. 26, 
1869; m. (1) Maria Hooper, (2) Adeline Denny Ripley. Entered 
Harvard College in 1818. Did not graduate. Supercargo and Cap- 
tain of ship. Merchant. 

Dec. 2, 1851. Caroline Elizabeth Perkins. 

Feb. 27, 1883. Willlam Crosby, see Pew No. 42, in Gallery. 

Pew No. 93, Lower Floor 

May 10, 1804. Cost $198.00. Lemuel Peirce, m. Sarah . Wheel- 
wright. 

Sept. 24, 1806. Luther Richardson, b. Aug. 25, 1774; d. Nov. 14, 1811 ; 
m. Susannah Craft. H. C. 1799. Lawyer. He delivered an oration 



PEW OWNERS 305 



July 4, 1800, at the request of the inhabitants of the Town of Roxbury 

in commemoration of American Independence. 
Jan. 1, 1807. Ann Pierpont, dau. of Robert Pierpont. 

Jan. 1, 1807. Daniel French, b. , 1776; d. Aug. 3, 1828. Carpenter. 

Aug. 2, 1814. James Riley, b. , 1790; d. Nov. 6, 1829. Trader. 

A founder of the Universalist Church. 
Oct. 16, 1816. Jonathan Dorr, see Pew No. 84, Lower Floor. 
May 15, 1837. Jonathan Buffington, b. Sept. 1, 1786; d. July 15, 1859; 

m. Mary Ann Churchill. East India & West India merchant. Ship 

owner. Pres. of Commonwealth Bank and President Commonwealth 

Fire Ins. Co. 
Dec. 1, 1887. Lois W. Clarke, dau. of Col. Thomas Clarke. 
Feb. 15, 1892. Mrs. Florence Lemist Crxjft, living. 

Pew No. 94, Lower Floor 

May 10, 1804. Cost $210.00. Joseph Ruggles, see Fourth Meeting 

House. 
May 8, 1823. Nathaniel Dorr, see Pew No. 97, Lower Floor. 
Aug. 1, 1829. Samuel Billings, b. , 1757; d. April 11, 1842; m. 

Hester Gill. Wholesale grocer. Director in State Bank. 
May 20, 1830. William Bradley Dorr, b. May 17, 1803; d. Sept. 9, 

1875; m. Mary Hickling. H. C. 1821. Lawyer. 
April 20, 1835. Jonathan Dorr, see Pew No. 84, Lower Floor. 
Jan. 3, 1842. Charles Davis, Jr., b. July 12, 1807; d. March 9, 1888; m. 

Mary Vila Ball. Owned and managed his large estate. Refused all 

public offices. 
June 10, 1844. James Russell, see Pew No. 35, Lower Floor. 
Feb. 13, 1845. William Channing Appleton, b. Oct. 25, 1812; d. Aug. 

8, 1892; m. Mary Ann Louisa Smith. Lawyer. Treas. of Roxbury 

Gas Light Co. President of EUot Five Cent Savings Bank. 
Nov. 2, 1887. James Webster Newell, hving. 

Pew No. 95, Lower Floor 

May 10, 1804. Cost $222.00. Phinehas Withington, see Fourth Meeting 
House. 

June 18, 1811. Ebenezer Withington, b. Sept. 23, 1753; d. Oct. 1, 1832; 
m. (1) Betsey Baker, (2) Mary Preston. Wheelwright. Soldier of the 
Revolution. Coroner of Norfolk County. Deacon of Rev. Dr. Cod- 
man's Church in Dorchester. 

May 11, 1812. Stephen Childs, see Pew No. 16, Lower Floor. 

May 11, 1812. Jonathan Williams, see Pew No. 16, Lower Floor. 

March 30, 1822. Stephen Childs, 2'*. 



306 THE FIFTH MEETING HOUSE 

Nov. 12, 1851. Robert Chamblet Hooper, see Pew No. 92, Lower Floor. 
May 24, 1860. Edward Everett Rice, b. July 10, 1814; d. April 8, 1888; 

m. (1) Priscilla D. Woodridge, (2) Elizabeth H. Bartlett. Merchant. 

Director in Atlantic Bank. 
Dec. 6, 1888. Edward D. Rice, living. 

Pew No. 96, Lower Floor 

May 10, 1804. Cost $237.00. Ebenezer Brewer. Two thirds of pew, 
see Fourth Meeting House. 

May 10, 1804. William Brewer. One third of pew. b. Feb. 24, 1758; 
d. July 30, 1817; m. (1) Rebecca Brewer, (2) Mary Brewer. 
Representative. 

May 23, 1825. Elizabeth Brewer, w. of Ebenezer Brewer. 

Sept. 4, 1862. John Felt Osgood, b. Dec. 18, 1825; d. July 31, 1894; m. 
Elizabeth Lawrence Burling. At the age of 15 he was a clerk in the 
Exchange Bank of Salem. At the age of 17 he was employed by a 
Salem merchant and spent 6 years as agent at various ports in Arabia. 
In April, 1850, he went to California and settled in San Francisco as a 
commission merchant. He came to Boston in 1859 and lived in 
Roxbury uutU 1892. His study of mechanics and chemistry soon led 
to his giving up business. Alderman. Secretary of the Fellowes 
Athenaeum. Treasiu-er of the Roxbury Latin School. President of 
the Roxbury Charitable Society. Member of the Standing Committee. 

April 24, 1894. Alfred Monson Bullard, living. Treasurer of the 
Society. 

Pew No. 97, Lower Floor 

May 10, 1804. Cost $262.00. Willluh Lambert, b. Dec. 22, 1743; d. 

June 17, 1823 ;m. (1) Mrs. King, (2) Susannah Cunningham. A grocer 

in Boston and Halifax, N. S., afterwards a merchant and ship owner. 

Member of the Humane Society in Boston. One of the founders of 

the Roxbury Charitable Society. 
March 26, 1820. Nathaniel Dorr, b. March 22, 1779; d. Nov. 8, 1850; 

m. (1) Susan Lambert, (2) Emily Penelope Bradley. Kept a market. 

Treasurer of the Society. 
March 26, 1820. William Blanchard, b. , 1775; d. April 18, 1844; 

m. (1) Mary Elliot, (2) Harriet Lambert. Sea captain and merchant. 
Jan. 1, 1830. Susannah Lambert, w. of William Lambert. 
March 19, 1841. Warren Fisher, b. May 30, 1794; d. March 9, 1875; 

m. (1) Lucretia Bucknam, (2) Nancy Stimpson Simmons. Merchant. 

Owned large tracts of land in Roxbury. 
Jan. 15, 1880. William Blanchard, see Pew No. 46, in Gallery. 



PEW OWNERS 307 



Pew No. 98, Lower Floor 

May 10, 1804. Cost $302.00. Benjamin Duick, m. (1) Esther Weld, (2) 
Hannah Gay, (3) Mary . Tavern keeper. Removed to Pom- 
fret, Conn. 

May 13, 1805. Asa Whitney, b. May 18, 1782; d. March 4, 1826; m. 
Mary Hammond. Merchant. Parish Treasurer. 

April 20, 1818. John Champney, see Squai*e Pew No. 14, in Gallery. 

Jan. 25, 1867. Charles Davis, living. 

Nov. 29, 1871. Henry Porter Stanwood, living. 

Oct. 6, 1883. Mrs. Eliza D. Howard. 

Pew No. 99, Lower Floor 

May 10, 1804. Cost $317.00. Lieut. Elisha Whitney, b. Oct. 6, 1747; 

d. May 18, 1815 ; m. Abigail Dana. Farmer. 
May 12, 1817. Isaac Davis, see Pew No. 8, Lower Floor. 
May 28, 1855. John Langedorff D'Wolf, b. May 24, 1817; d. Dec. 31, 

1886; m. Mary White Davis. Sugar commission merchant. 

Pew No. 100, Lower Floor 

May 10, 1804. Cost $322.00. Edward Sumner, b. June 14, 1746; d. 
Oct. 28, 1829; m. (1) Rebecca Paj'son, (2) Joanna Sumner. Farmer. 
Apr. 30, 1823. Elijah Lewis, see Pew No. 64, Lower Floor. 
June 9, 1831. Joanna Sumner, w. of Edward Siunner. 

April 23, 1835. Edward Sumner, b. Aug. 3, 1810, d. , 1849. 

Sept. 16, 1837. Abigail INIather Sumner, dau. of Edward Sumner. 
July 3, 1849. Theodore Otis, see Pew No. 59, in Gallery. 

Pew No. 101, Lower Floor 

May 10, 1804. Cost $307.00. John Lowell, b. Oct. 6, 1769; d. March 
12, 1840; m. Rebecca Amory. H. C. 1786. Admitted to the Bar 
before he was 20 years of age. In 1803 he visited Europe. A noted 
writer during the War of 1812. A leading member of the Corporation 
of Harvard College. Received the degree of L.L.D. from Harvard in 
1814. Prominent promoter of the Mass. General Hospital and of the 
Provident Inst, for Savings. President of Board of Trustees of Mass. 
Agricultural Society. Trustee of the Roxbury Latin School. A sup- 
porter of the Boston Athenaeum. First in the country to establish a 
greenhouse on an ample scale and on scientific principles. 



308 THE FIFTH MEETING HOUSE 

Sept. 26, 1842. John Amort Loweul, b. Nov. 11, 1798; d. Oct. 31, 1881; 
m. (1) Susan Cabot Lowell, (2) Elizabeth Cabot Putnam. H, C. 
1815. Merchant. Member of Convention for revising State Consti- 
tution. Fellow of Harvard College. Trustee of the Lowell Institute. 
Director of Suffolk Bank. 

May 29, 1886. Joshua Lovett, b. Sept. 28, 1840; d. Jan. 25, 1904. 
Real Estate. 

Pew No. 102, Lower Floor 

May 10, 1804. Cost $302.00. Charles Davis, b. March 29, 1772; d. 
Feb. 8, 1842; m. Harriet Fellowes. He and his brother Aaron were 
manufacturers and exporters. They helped to build the Roxbury 
Canal. Trustee of the Roxbury Latin School. Parish Clerk. Mem- 
ber Parish Committee. 

May 17, 1843. Harriet Davis, w. of Charles Davis. 

Sept. 7, 1847. Charles Jefferson Hendee, see Pew No. 61, in Gallery. 

Jan. 6, 1858. Joseph Hewes Hunneman, b. Nov. 21, 1812; d. Dec. 13, 
1887; m. Harriet Bradley. Dry goods business in New York. Fire 
engine builder in Roxbury with his brother Samuel. President of 
Mass. Charitable Society. Trustee of Eliot Five Cent Savings Bank. 

Pew No. 103, Lower Floor 

May 10, 1804. Cost $302.00. Joseph Davis, see Fourth Meeting House. 
Nov. 18, 1814. Polly (Williams) Hooper, afterwards w. of Dr. Peter 

Gilman Robbins. 
Jan. 6, 1864. Mrs. Sallt Patten Eastman, adopted daughter of Mrs. 

Polly Robbins. 
Nov. 10, 1868. Caroline Whiting, niece of Mrs. Polly Robbins. 

Pew No. 104, Lower Floor 

May 10, 1804. Cost $382.00. Joseph Dudley, see Fourth Meeting 
House. 

Dec. 30, 1822. John Crease Estabrooks, b. Nov. 30, 1793 ; d. Dec. 4, 
1830; unm. Blacksmith. 

Nov. 24, 1831. Capt. Stephen Williams, b. June 26, 1781; d. May 23, 
1844; m. Louisa Palmer. Shipmaster. Opened American trade 
with Siam. Sailing Master of Frigate " President." Commanded ship 
"Blakeley" in War of 1812. Organized Roxbury Fire Department. 
Member of the Legislature. 



/ 



PEW OWNERS 309 



June 24, 1843. Chaiules Fredebick Bradford, b. March 8, 1806; d. 
Aug. 31, 1887; m. Eliza Edes Hickling. Merchant in China and 
South America. He compiled, in Spanish, notes on Don Quixote for 
which he received a medal from the Royal Academy of Madrid and 
the order of Isabella CathoUca from the King of Spain. Trustee 
of the Roxbury Latin School. 

June 16, 1859. George Packer, see Pew No. 44, in Gallery. 

March 9, 1869. William Tubell Andrews, see Long Pew No. 6, in 
Gallery. 

Pew No. 105, Lower Floor 

May 10, 1804. Cost $278.00. Stedman Williams, see Fourth Meeting 
House. Held by the family for many years. 

Pew No. 106, Lower Floor 

May 10, 1804. Cost $270.00. John Clap, see Deacons. 

July 6, 1841. Moses Gragg, b. Sept. 20, 1791; d. Apr. 30, 1885; m. 
Rebecca Newell Alden. Hotel keeper. Representative. Commis- 
sioner of streets in Roxbury. Soldier of the War of 1812. Member 
Mass. Militia. 

April 4, 1865. Harriet Lothsa Thater, w. of Charles Lowell Thayer, 

Pew No. 107, Lower Floor 

May 10, 1804. Cost $236.00. Hon. John Read, b. , 1727; d. Jan. 

13, 1813. Tanner. Many years agent for Gov. Bowdoin's Elizabeth 
Island estate and named Bowdoinham, Maine, in honor of his patron. 
Readfield, Me., was named for him. Once owned the Shirley Man- 
sion. Selectman, Representative and Member of Governor's Coimcil. 

May 23, 1825. John Lemist, see Pew No. 29, Lower Floor. 

Apr. 5, 1839. Jonathan Dorr, see Pew No. 84, Lower Floor. 

Jan. 23, 1844. Charles Ellis, b. Feb. 27, 1794; d. Jan. 9, 1860; m. 
Maria Mayo. Merchant. President Howard Bank. 

March 3, 1845. Joseph Dorr, b. Dec. 1, 1817; d. Feb. 1, 1888; m. 
Caroline AureUa (Humphrey) Riley. Merchant in Rio Janeiro, 
Brazil, Louisville, Ky., and Boston, afterwards interested in real estate. 

May 29, 1845. Caroline Langdon Eustis, w. of Gov. William Eustis. 

Jan. 4, 1866. Charles Latham Hayward, b. March 22, 1812; d. Aug. 
28, 1890; m. Emmehne Greenwood. Stockbroker. Treasurer of the 
First Church in Boston. Director of Eliot National Bank. 

Sept. 4, 1866. Emmeline Hayward, w. of Charles Latham Hayward. 

June 29, 1888. Alonzo N. Burbajjk, see Pew No. 108, Lower Floor. 



310 THE FIFTH MEETING HOUSE 

Pew No. 108, Lower Floor 

May 10, 1804. Cost $240.00. Samuel Howard, m. Sarah . 

Cordwainer. 
May 10, 1804. Andrew Newman, b. , 1779; d. March 11, 1812; 

m. Susan Hayward. Blacksmith. 
Jan. 4, 1866. Framsxest Curtis, b. Nov. 10, 1817; d. July 4, 1897; m. 

(1) Emily Dore, (2) Sarah B. Lewis. Merchant and shipowner. 
Oct. 15, 1878. Aix)Nzo N. Burbank, living. 
This Pew removed in 1888 to give more space for the new Pulpit. 



GALLERY PEWS. 

Square Pew No. 1 

May 10, 1804. Cost $130.00. Dwight Williams, b. 1779; d. Aug. 10, 

1812. Unm. 
, 1812. Thomas W^illiaais, b. Oct. 12, 1786; d. Sept. 10, 1815; m. 

Abigail Williams. Physician. One of the projectors of Roxbury 

canal. 
May 17, 1824. Daniel Saundeeson, see Pew No. 81, Lower Floor. 
March 10, 1830. Thomas Simmons, see Pew No. 17, Lower Floor. 

Square Pew No. 2 
May 10, 1804. Cost $130.00. Bartholomew White, see Pew No. 13, 

Lower Floor. 
Jan. 27, 1818. Thomas ]\Iayo, see Pew No. 13, Lower Floor. 
May 30, 1823. David Allen Simmons, see Pew No. 33, Lower Floor. 



Square Pew No. 3 

May 10, 1804. Cost $143.00. Joseph Gore, see Fourth Meeting House. 

June 12, 1805. Amos Smith, see Pew No. 40, Lower Floor. 

Apr. 10, 1826. James Jones, b. 1795; d. Dec. 3, 1826. 

May 20, 1831. James Hovte Champnet, b. Dec. 4, 1807; d. Aug. 29, 1889 ; 
m. Sarah Elizabeth Wells. Dry goods merchant. Afterwards book- 
keeper in the Washington Bank for over 50 years. 

April 19, 1832. Charles Hickllng, b. Dec. 20, 1799; d. June 9, 1888; 
m. Eliza Brown Edes. Educated at Boston Latin School. Member 
of publishing firm of Hickling, Swan & Brewer in the Old Corner 
Book store. 

Sept. 15, 1834. William Bradley Dorr, see Pew No. 94, Lower Floor. 



19 
18 



16 



14 
13 



10 



8 



9 



~7 



^ 



20 
2 I 
2.2 
23 
24 
25 



26 



27 



26 




38 
37 

36 
35 
34 
33 
32 



31 



30 



29 




PLAN OF THE GALLERIES OF THE PRESENT 
MEETING HOUSE, 1804. 



PEW OWNERS 311 



Square Pew No. 4 
May 10, 1804. Cost $141.00. James Lewis, see Fourth Meeting House. 

Sqtiare Pew No. 5 

May 10, 1804. Cost $141.00. Peleg Heath, Jr.; reverted to Parish. 
Dec. 21, 1806. Antipas Jackson, b. Nov. 20, 1772; d. July 28, 1846; m. 

Hannah Richards. Housewright. She was an original member of 

the Dudley St. Baptist Church. 
May 6, 1826. Samuel Jackson, b. Jan. 15, 1803; d. Nov. 7, 1873; m. Mary 

Doggett. Patent leather manufacturer. Alderman of Roxbury. 

Selectman and Assessor of West Roxbury. 
March 14, 1828. Samuel Guild, see Pew No. 79, Lower Floor. 

Square Pew No. 6 

May 10, 1804. Cost $136.00. Joseph James, see Fourth Meeting Hous^. 
Oct. 3, 1805. Samuel Langley, see Pew No. 17, Lower Floor. 

Square Pew No. 7 

May 10, 1804. Cost $146.00. Reuben Parker, m. Judith Smith. Miller. 

Apr. 19, 1805. Ralph Smith, see Pew No. 24, Lower Floor. 

Aug. 25, 1819. Jonathan Dorr, see Pew No. 84, Lower Floor. 

May 10, 1830. Joshua Bently FowLE*b. June 17, 1797 ; d. Aug. 17, 1885 ; 
m. Elizabeth Austin. Merchant and baker of ship bread. Alderman. 

March 25, 1833. Henry Moore. 

April 24, 1834. Jonathan Pratt Robinson, b. March 2, 1799; d. April 
18, 1863; m. (1) Catherine Lewis, (2) Mary A. G. Goddard. Com- 
mission Merchant. Alderman. Deputy Collector of Boston. Presi- 
dent of the Mt. Vernon Bank. 

Square Pew No. 8 

May 10, 1804. Cost $141.00. Charles Durant, b. July 16, 1777; d. 

Oct. 23, 1832; m. Nabby Langdon Williams. Representative. 
April 17, 1805. Ralph Smith, see Pew No. 24, Lower Floor. 
Before 1834. Joseph Harrington, see Pew No. 24, Lower Floor. 
June 25, 1834. Ephraim Harrington, b. Sept. 24, 1786; d. July 24, 1854; 

m. Maria Williams Simmons. Artillery Co. 1815. Member of the 

Mass. Mihtia, of St. John's Lodge F. & A. M., of the Legislature, of 

the Standing Committee of this church. 



312 THE FIFTH MEETING HOUSE 



Square Pew No. 9 

May 10, 1804. Cost $132.00. Edwaed Turner, see Fourth Meeting 
House. 

May 10, 1804. Ebeinezer Goddard, Jr., b. 1779, d. Dec. 15, 1838. Truck- 
man. A founder of the Universalist Church. 

June 2, 1834. Jonathan A. Richarbs, see Deacons. 

Square Pew No. 10 

May 10, 1804. Cost $92.00. John Curtis, Jr.; reverted to Parish. 
April 25, 1806. Jesse Doggeti', see Pew No. 52, Lower Floor. 
Aug. 26, 1807. Edward Payson Williams. 

Feb. 6, 1811. /-Ebenezer Brewer, see Pew No. 96, Lower Floor. 
Feb. 6, 1811. \Chenery Clark, see Pew No. 14, Lower Floor. 
1825. William Brewer, living in Clinton, Ga., Aug. 28, 1834. 

Square Pew No. 11 
May 10, 1804. Cost $92.00. John Sawin, living in 1813, m. Abigail . 



Housewright. 



o*- 



Square Pew No. 12 

May 10, 1804. Cost $97.00. Samuel Warren, b. Oct. 16, 1742; d. Nov. 1, 

1805. Unmarried. Farmer. 
June 16, 1808. Samuel Maxfield, b. 1767; d. Sept. 19, 1855; m. Mary 

Bradlee. Trader. 
Sept. 2, 1817. Nathaniel Shepherd Prentiss, see Pew No. 67, Lower 

Floor. 
May 30, 1821. John Champnet, see square Pew No. 14, in Gallery. 
June 2, 1834. Shubael Bills, b. Jan. 3, 1791; d. May 31, 1850; m. 

Harriet Colbiu-n. Contractor, pile driver and mover of buildings. 

Square Pew No. 13 

May 10, 1804. Cost $70.00. Forfeited. Reverted to Parish. 

April 21, 1806. Cost $84.00. Stedman Williams, see Pew No. 105, 

Lower Floor. 

Dec. 21, 1806. Samuel Wait, see Pew No. 38, Lower Floor. 

Square Pew No. 14 

May 10, 1804. Cost $125.00. John Champnet, b. Feb. 22, 1779; d. 
March 21, 1847; m. Lydia Howe. Weigher and ganger in the Boston 
Custom House. Representative. • 



PEW OWNERS 313 



Jan. 16, 1805. Nathaniel Richardson, see Pew No. 69, Lower Floor. 

1810. Ebenezer Goddard, see Square Pew No. 21, in Gallery. 

June 2, 1834. Joseph Harrington, see Pew No. 24, Lower Floor. 

Square Pew No. 15 

May 10, 1804. Cost $105.00. Isaac Shaw, see Fourth Meeting House. 

May 10, 1804. Aaron Rximrill, see Fourth Meeting House. 

May 10, 1804. Richard Galloop, d. March, 1842; m. Mary Pain. 

Hairdresser. 
Jan. 26, 1813. Chenery Clark, see Pew No. 14, Lower Floor. 

Square Pew No. 16 

May 10, 1804. Cost $111.00. George Simmons, b. 1767, d. Oct. 9, 1810; 

m. Marcy Wales. 
May 14, 1825. Major Ebenezer Crafts, see Deacons. 

Square Pew No. 17 

May 10, 1804. Cost $113.00. Amos Morse, b. Nov. 30, 1772; d. Nov. 24, 

1823; m. Irene Morse. Soap boiler. He and his brothers, Lewis and 

Harford, first established a conveyance for passengers from Roxbury to 

Boston. They also established the Hourlies. 
May 10, 1804. Lewis Morse, b. July 8, 1778; d. Aug. 2, 1830; m. (1) 

Olive Richards, (2) Mary Jewell. Soap boiler. A founder of the 

Universalist Church. 
Sept. 5, 1815. Harford Morse, b. Jan. 9, 1788; d. Oct. 28, 1830; m. 

Lucy Gay. Soap boiler. A founder of the Universalist Church. 
July 26, 1819. Amos Morse, same as above. 
April 10, 1821. Amos Morse, Jr., b. Aug. 9, 1799; d. April 10, 1851; m. 

Abigail B. Davenport. Soap boiler. 

Square Pew No. 18 

May 10, 1804. Cost $111.00. John Doggett, b. Sept. 15, 1780; d. June 
17, 1857; m. (1) Sophia Miller, (2) Mrs. Mary Jones, (3) Mrs. Ann 
Eliza (Cushing) Webster. Carver in wood, horn and shell. The first 
gilder and carver in Roxbury. Founded the Carpet Works in Roxbury 
Street. 

Square Pew No. 19 

May 10, 1804. Cost $153.00. Joseph Heath, see Fourth Meeting House. 
Dec. 15, 1814. William Heath, Jr., see Square Pew No. 25, in Gallery. 



314 THE FIFTH MEETING HOUSE 

Square Pew No. 20 
May 10, 1804. Cost $150.00. Simeon Pratt, see Pew No. 68, Lower Floor. 

Square Pew No. 21 

May 10, 1804. Cost $153.00. Stephen Williams 3"^, reverted to Parish. 
April 21, 1806. Ebenezer Goddaed, b. 1752; d. April 8, 1827; m. Vashti 

Colson. Truckman. 
July 13, 1812. Timothy Gat. 
July 22, 1830. Thomas Brewer, see Pew No. 3, Lower Floor. 

Square Pew No. 22 

May 10, 1804. Cost $151.00. John Parker, see Pew No. 28, Lower 

Floor. 
Oct. 4, 1813. Joseph Williams, see Pew No. 26, Lower Floor. 
Oct. 4, 1813. Amos Adams Willlums, b. May 4, 1776; d. Feb. 2, 1861; m. 

Nancy Williams. Merchant in Baltimore. 
April 11, 1834. Susan Dorr, w. of Nathaniel Dorr. 

Square Pew No. 23 

May 10, 1804. Cost $141.00. William McCartt, see Fourth Meeting 

House. 
Aug. 16, 1806. John Shirley Williams, see Pew No. 5, Lower Floor. 
March 21, 1816. Charles Daa^s, see Pew No. 102, Lower Floor. 

Square Pew No. 24 

May 10, 1804. Cost $142.00. Aaron Pomeroy, see Pew No. 10, Lower 

Floor. 
April 9, 1817. Daniel Saunderson, see Pew No. 81, Lower Floor. 
March 10, 1830. Charles Grant, b. April 13, 1789; d. June 4, 1859; m. 

Sarah Richards. In the paper trade. 

Square Pew No. 25 

May 10, 1804. Cost $135.00. William Heath, Jr., see Fourth Meeting 
House. 

Square Pew No. 26 

May 10, 1804. Cost $141.00. John Lewis, b. Nov. 26, 1763; d. Feb. 15, 

1844; m. Polly PUlsbury. Farmer. 
April 29, 1822. William Hazlet, see Pew No. 65, Lower Floor. 



PEW OWNERS 315 



Square Pew No. 27 

May 10, 1804. Cost $150.00. Jesse Stetson, see Fourth Meeting House. 
March 29, 1812. William Pratt, see Pew No. 62, Lower Floor. 
May 24, 1819. James Riley, see Pew No. 93, Lower Floor. 
April 29, 1823. Martha Ruggles, see Pew No. 18, Lower Floor. 

Square Pew No. 28. 

May 10, 1804. Cost $142.00. Elias Dunbar. 

Sept. 10, 1804. Wiluam Langley, b. 1782; d. Oct. 9, 1828; m. Alona 
. Marketman. 

Square Pew No. 29 

May 10, 1804. Cost $100.00. Thomas Curtis, reverted to Parish. 
April 21, 1806. Stephen Brigham, b. Sept. 21, 1779; d. March 9, 1820; 
m. Lucy White. Merchant. 

. Thomas Williams, see Pew No. 32, Lower Floor. 

April 23, 1824. Daniel Saunderson, see Pew No. 81, Lower Floor. 
March 10, 1830. Abijah Merriam, see Pew No. 79, Lower Floor. 

Square Pew No. 30 

May 10, 1804. Cost $102.00. Caleb Clap, b. May 9, 1764; d. May 19, 
1829; m. Nancy Dorr. Carpenter. Removed to Vermont. 

. Joseph Ruggles, see Pew No. 94, Lower Floor. 

Feb. 15, 1813. Nathaniel Ruggles, b. March 20, 1789; d. 1832; m. 
Rebecca Hollingsworth Hughes. Merchant and shipowner. Re- 
moved to Henderson, Kentucky. 

Aug. 28, 1815. William Lambert, see Pew No. 97, Lower Floor. 

March 26, 1820. Nathaniel Dorr, see Pew No. 97, Lower Floor. 

March 26, 1820. Willlam Blanchard, see Pew No. 97, Lower Floor. 

Jan. 1, 1830. Susannah Lambert, w. of William Lambert. 

Square Pew No. 31 

May 10, 1804. Cost $106.00. Joseph Curtis, see Pew No. 21, Lower 

Floor. 
May 10, 1804. Samuel Ward, see Pew No. 21, Lower Floor. 
May 8, 1806. William Langley, see Square Pew No. 28, in Gallery. 
April 22, 1818. Samuel Langley, see Pew No. 17, Lower Floor. 
April 16, 1823. Eluah Lewis, see Pew No. 64, Lower Floor. 



316 THE FIFTH MEETING HOUSE 

July 16, 18S3. John Jones Clakke, b. Feb. 24, 1803; d. Nov. 5, 1887; m. 
Rebecca Cordiss Haswell. Educated at Norton, Framingham and 
Andover Academies. H. C. 1823 (Rebellion Class). Received his 
degrees of A.B. and E.M. in 1841. Mayor of Roxbury. Representa- 
tive. Counsellor of the Supreme Judicial Court. Treasurer of this 
Society 1835 to 1856. 

Square Pew No. 32. 

May 10, 1804. Cost $103.00. Asa Hunting, see Fourth Meeting House. 

April 9, 1806. Nehemiah Mtineoe, see Deacons. 

Dec. 29, 1828. John Lemist, see Pew No. 29, Lower Floor. 

March 12, 1835. Charles Grant, see square Pew No. 24, in Gallery. 

Square Pew No. 33 

May 10, 1804. Cost $110.00. Thomas Trott Robinson, b. Aug. 22, 

1762; d. Oct. 24, 1824; m. Polly Holbrook. Cotton merchant. 
April 21, 1817. John Clap, see Deacons. 

Square Pew No. 34 

May 10, 1804. Cost $111.00. Stephen Willluvis, Jr., see Pew No. 104, 

Lower Floor. 
March 6, 1815. Thomas Williams, Jr., see Pew No. 32, Lower Floor. 
July 1, 1816. John Lowell, see Pew No. 101, Lower Floor. 

Square Pew No. 35 

May 10, 1804. Cost $119.00. Samuel Whittemore; reverted to Parish. 
Apr. 21, 1806. Dr. John Bartlett, see Pew No. 31, Lower Floor. 
Jan. 17, 1810. Jacob Allen, see Pew No. 14, Lower Floor. 

Square Pew No. 36 

May 10, 1804. Cost $150.00. Benjamin Wait, b. 1775; d. May 17, 

1817; m. Clarissa . Grocer. 

Afterwards a free pew. 

Square Pew No. 37 

May 10, 1804. Cost $125.00. Aaron Child, see Fourth Meeting House. 
May 9, 1825. Jonathan Dorr, see Pew No. 84, Lower Floor. 
June 13, 1834. James Howe CHAMPNET,see Square Pew No. 3, in Gallery, 
Oct. 13, 1834. Daniel Andrew Sigourney, see Pew No. 38, Lower 
Floor. 



Ul 



OJ 



0> 



ro 



03 



fu 



CD 



OJ 



-J 



00 



0) 



(D 



(Jl 



N) 




ORGAN 



(0 
(D 



00 

(0 



o 



10 


"^ 


hO 


c\J 


(0 


(0 


CO 


(0 


CO 


en 


o 




in 


in 


(0 


(D 



I^ 


CD 


ID 


"T 


ID 


ID 


ID 


ID 


O 




(M 


hO 


ID 


01 


U) 


\i) 




THE GALLERIES OF THE PRESENT 
MEETING HOUSE. 



PEW OWNERS 317 



Square Pew No. 38 

May 10, 1804. Cost $150.00. Daniel McCaktt Prince, bap. Jan. 30, 
1780; d. March 23, 1806; m. Nancy Thayer. Mariner. 

Nov. 12, 1805. John Howe, b. June 3, 1779; d. March 26, 1828; m. 
Henrietta Sparhawk. Teacher of the Grammar School (now Roxbnry 
Latin School) Worshipful Master of Washington Lodge F. & A. M. 
and delivered an address in this meeting house occasioned by the 
death of Aaron Bean, Esq., in the presence and at the request of St. 
Paul's Royal Arch Chapter, April 18, 1820. 

Apr. 4, 1806. Thomas Williams, see Pew No. 32, Lower Floor. 

April 23, 1824. Daniel Saunderson, see Pew No. 81, Lower Floor. 

March 10, 1830. Isaac Davis, see Pew No. 8, Lower Floor. 

In April, 1835, the galleries were altered from square pews to long 
pews including much of the space occupied by the singers' seats. 

Long Pew No. 1 

Apr. 22, 1835. Thomas Simmons, see Pew No. 17, Lower Floor. 

May 17, 1837. George Arthur Simmons, see Long Pew No. 2, in Gallery, 

Feb. 3, 1887. George Allen Dart, see Long Pew No. 64, in Gallery. 

Long Pew No. 2 

April 22, 1835. Thomas Simmons, see Pew No. 17, Lower Floor. 

May 17, 1837. George Arthur Simmons, b. May 17, 1808; d. Feb. 26, 
1884 ; m. Belinda Wells. Merchant on Long Wharf, keeping the same 
place for 53 years. First to reduce the refining of whale and sperm oil 
to a science. Afterwards interested in real estate. Never sought 
public office. 

Oct. 28, 1854. Joseph Warren Hunnewell, b. Jan. — , 1818; d. April, 
1873; m. Emeline Aquila Sargent. Dealer in paints and oils. 

Aug. 18, 1864. Hannah Marla Parsons, w. of Thomas W. Parsons. 

March 28, 1865. George A. Hull, living. 

Long Pew No. 3 

Apr. 22, 1835. Ephraim Harrington, see Square Pew No. 8, in Gallery. 
April 15, 1852. James Davenport, see Long Pew No. 19; in Gallery. 
March 27, 1873. Dr. James Henry Davenport, b. April 18, 1846; d. 

Dec. 26, 1878; m. Elizabeth Wyman Bacon. Physician. H. C. 1868. 

M.D. 1871. 
Dec. 10, 1879. Sarah Adams Davenport, w. of James Davenport. 



318 THE FIFTH MEETING HOUSE 

Long Pew No. 4 

April 22, 1835. Watson Gore, see Pew No. 34, Lower Floor. 

Sept. 9, 1845. David R. Nash, m. Caroline M. Fox. connected with Bay 
State Brewery. 

Oct. 14, 1847. George William Wheelwright, b. Sept. 19, 1813; d. 
Dec. 16, 1879; m. Hannah Giddings Tyler. First in the dry goods 
business afterwards in the paper business. Founder of the firm of 
G«orge W. Wheelwright & Son. Large Mills run by the firm in 
several towns. 

Oct. 28, 1863. Charles ISIayo Ellis, see Pew No. 18, Lower Floor. 

March 16, 1864. Mrs. Cushing Stetson, w. of Gushing Stetson. 

Oct. 8, 1864. Mary Adeline Berry, w. of Augustus D. Berry. 



Long Pew No. 5 

April 22, 1835. Thomas Simmons, see Pew No. 17, Lower Floor. 

May 17, 1837. George Arthur Simmons, see Long Pew No. 2, in Gallery. 

March 6, 1840. Henry Bartlett, see Pew No. 80, Lower Floor. 

May 30, 1845. John Adam Weisse, b. Dec. 3, 1810; d. Jan. 12, 1888; m. 
Jane Lee Hunt. Grad. College in Bitsch, Lorraine, also in Metz. 
Prof, of French in Vienna. He conducted a private school on Haw- 
thorne St., Roxbury, afterwards settled in New York. 

Feb. 23, 1846. Oliver A. Farwell, of Roxbury. Commission merchant. 
Connected with Bay State Brewery. 

July 17, 1849. Charles Frederick Sleeper, living. 

Aug. 12, 1857. John Sherburne Sleeper, b. Sept. 25, 1794; d. Nov. 14, 
1878; m. Mary Folsom Noble. Educated at Phillips (Exeter, N. H.) 
Academy. From 1809 to 1830 followed the sea. Estabhshed "The 
Exeter News Letter." Afterwards purchased "The Lowell Daily 
Journal." In 1834 removed to Boston. For 20 years sole editor and 
part proprietor of "The Boston Mercantile Jom-nal," now "The 
Boston Journal." Mayor of Roxbury. Member of the Constitutional 
Convention in 1853. Representative. 

Jan. 5, 1872. Julia Ann C. Gray, dau. of Alfred T. Gray. 

Long Pew No. 6 

July 11, 1835. Joseph Harrington, Jr., b. Feb. 21, 1813; d. Nov. 2, 
1852; m. Helen E. Griswold. H. C. 1833. Taught in Academy m 
East Greenwich, R. I. Master of the Hawes School in South Boston, 
meanwhile studying for the ministry with Rev. George Putnam. Or- 
dained as an evangelist in 1840 and became pastor of a church in 



PEW OWNERS 319 



Chicago, afterwards in Hartford, Conn., and then in San Francisco, 
where after preaching seven Sundays, he died. He freed all of these 
societies from debt. 

Dec. 1, 1847. Josiah Pisk, b. Aug. 17, 1810; d. May 19, 1869; m. Helen 
Maria Bridge. Merchant. 

Dec. 1, 1849. George Btjrrill Fatjnce, b. Aug. 11, 1824; d. Feb. 24, 
1899; m. Abbie J. Trenn. Real estate agent. President of the 
Dedham Mut. Fire Ins. Co. Member of the Roxbury Common 
Council and of the Boston Board of Aldermen. 

July 25, 1851. George Arthur Simmons, see Long Pew No. 2, in Gallery. 

Feb 2, 1867. Helen E. Harrington, w. of Joseph Harrington, Jr. 

Sept. 16, 1868. William Turell Andrews, b. Dec. 24, 1794; d. Nov. 
24, 1879; m. Fanny Mackay Rejoiolds. Director and President 
City Bank 43 years. Director Mass. Mut. Ins. Co., 27 years. Director 
Manufacturer's Insurance Co., 30 years. Trustee and Vice-Pres. 
Provident Institution 31 years. Trustee of Boston Public Library 
over 50 years. Trustee Mass. General Hospital. Trustee McLean 
Asylum. Trustee Westborough Reform School. Trustee Old Ladies' 
Home. Trustee of the Boston Athenaeum. Overseer of House of 
Correction. Member of Boston Board of Aldermen. Member of 
Mass. Charitable Society 41 years, its President 5 years. Treas. 
of Harvard College, 1853-1857. 



Long Pew No. 7 

April 22, 1835. Jesse Putnam Richardson, b. 1794; d. May 29, 1840; 

m. Susan Cabot. 
May 19, 1841. Augustus Perrin, b. Aug. 6, 1788; d. Aug. 8, 1844; m. 

Harriet Child. First importer of palm leaf into the United States. 

He established the business of braiding palm leaf hats. 
April 1, 1845. William Stickjstet. Dealer in domestic produce with 

Charles F. Joy. 
June 13, 1849. John Hunt, see Deacons. 
March 26, 1856. James O. Sargent, b. Nov. 21, 1823; d. Jan. 8, 1897. 

Unmarried. Lawyer. 

Long Pew No. 8 

April 22, 1835. Ephraim Harrington, see Square Pew No. 8, in Gallery. 

Sept. 9, 1839. Lincoln Fearing, b. July 22, 1792; d. May 10, 1873; 
m. Harriet A. Williams. Farmer. Agent Roxbury Color and Chem- 
ical Co. 



320 THE FIFTH MEETING HOUSE 

Long Pew No. 9 

April 22, 1835. David Ajxen Simmons, see Pew No. 33, Lower Floor. 
May 16, 1835. Ephraim Harrington, see Square Pew No. 8, in Gallery. 
June 28, 1884. Seth Augustus Fowle, living. 



Long Pew No. 10 

Jan. 1, 1844. Sophi* S. Harrington, dau. of Joseph Harrington. 
July 10, 1851. Joseph Dorr, see Pew No. 107, Lower Floor. 



Long Pew No. 11 

April 22, 1835. Benjamin Franklin Copeland, see Pew No. 27, Lower 

Floor. 
May 17, 1837. George Arthur Simmons, see Long Pew No. 2, in Gallery. 
Jan. 29, 1842. Rev. Charles Briggs, b. Jan. 17, 1791; d. Dec. 18, 1873; 

m. Eliza Casey. H. C. 1815. Ordained April 28, 1819. A pastor for 

16 years. Secretary of the American Unitarian Association. 
May 21, 1883. Edmund Herset Stowell, b. May 10, 1824; d. Nov. 6, 

1896; m. Susan Lawn. Importer of cloths, afterwards a leather dealer. 



Long Pew No. 12 

April 22, 1835. Benjamin Franklin Copeland, see Pew No. 27, Lower 
Floor. 

Oct. 10, 1835. Richard Ward, b. Nov. 17, 1789; d. March 13, 1862; m. 
Lucy Tidd. Member of the Standing Committee. Cashier of the 
Atlantic Bank. Alderman. One of three who selected the site for 
Forest Hills Cemetery. • 

Oct. 30, 1840. Samuel Francis Train, b. Sept. — , 1818 ; d. Nov. 1, 1863 ; 
m. Frances Gore Glover. Hide and leather dealer. Chief of the Rox- 
bury Fire Department. In the Navy at time of death. 

Jan. 1, 1844. Thomas Tilden, b. June 18, 1775; d. May 12, 1858; m. 
(1) Frances Burns Fulton, (2) Mrs. Hannah B. Patterson. Mason. 

March 9, 1866. Hannah Tilden Bartlett, dau. of Hosea Bartlett. 



Long Pew No. IS 

May 16, 1835. William Bradley Dorr, see Pew No. 94, Lower Floor. 

Sept. 14, 1835. Sarah Hickling, w. of William Hickling. 

May 3, 1836. Richard Ward, see Long Pew No. 12, in Gallery. 



PEW OWNERS 321 



Aug. 5, 1870. Fkanklin Greene, see Pew No. 5, Lower Floor. 

Oct. 3, 1870. Matthias Denman Ross, b. Nov. 1, 1819 ; d. Sept. 14, 1892 ; 

m. (1) Mary Swift Waldo, (2) Caroline E. Archer. Merchant. 
Aug. 21, 1874. Edward Belcher Reynolds, see Deacons. 

Long Pew No. 14 

April 22, 1835. James Lewis, see Square Pew No. 4, in Gallery. 

May 3, 1851. Joslvh Wheelwright, b. June 26, 1824; d. April 11, 1894; 

m. Lucinda Orne Chapin. Merchant. 
March 26, 1858. Susan C. Wheelwright, w. of William Wheelwright. 
Jan. 3, 1871. Leonard Ware, Jr., living. 

Long Pew No. 15 

April 22, 1835. Scotto Clark, b. Sept. 2, 1782; d. Oct. 12, 1844; m. Sally 

M. Freeman. Merchant. 
Sept. 10, 1838. Sarah Hickling, w. of William Hickling. 
Jan. 9, 1846. Charles Hickling, see Square Pew No. 3, in Gallery. 

Long Pew No. 16 

April 22, 1835. Eleazer Giles Lemon, b. Jan. 13, 1801 ; d. July 15, 1845. 

Unmarried. Apothecary. Postmaster of Roxbiuy. 
March 15, 1845. George Baxter Hyde, b. March 20, 1811; d. July 8, 

1889; m. Mary Whitten Clap. A public school teacher. Member 

of the Boston School Committee. 
April 28, 1845. Edward Carrengton Bates, b. Jan. 11, 1811; d. Dec. 

26, 1872; m. Mary Caroline Cook. Merchant. President of Nat. 

Bank of Commerce. Agent of Cunard Steamers. 
June 16, 1859. Charles Frederick Bradford, see Pew No. 104, Lower 

Floor. 
Feb. 16, 1880. Charles A. Grinnell, see Long Pew No. 17, in Gallery. 

Long Pew No. 17 

April 22, 1835. Amos Morse, Jr., see Square Pew No. 17, in Gallery. 
Jan. 31, 1843. Charles Knapp Dillaway, see Deacons. 
Dec. 16, 1846. Joseph Harrington, see Pew No. 24, Lower Floor. 
Jan. 25, 1853. Susan C. Wheelwright, w. of William Wheelwright. 
April 24, 1857. George Lewis, b. May 25, 1820; d. Oct. 8, 1887; m. 

Susan Minns Wheelwright. Member of Common Council of Roxbury. 

Alderman. Mayor of Roxbury. Member Boston Water Board. 



322 THE FIFTH MEETING HOUSE 

Treasurer of Forest Hills Cemetery Corporation. Treasurer Granite 

Railway Co. Director of People's Nat. Bank. Director of Roxbury 

G^s Light Co. 
Feb. 24, 1858. Samtiel Parkmax Blake, see Long Pew No. 45, in Gallery. 
Oct. 3, 1874. Chaeles Andrews Grinnell, b. Dec. 4, 1816; d. April 22, 

1895; m. Anna Almy Cobb. Manufacturer of boots and shoes. 

Director of the Nat. Bank of Redemption. President of the New 

England Shoe and Leather Association. 

Long Pew No. 18 

April 22, 1835. Ebexezer Crafts, see Deacons. 

May, 1835. Jonathan Pratt Robinson, see square Pew No. 7, in Gallery. 
July 9, 1844. Eliza Rigart Harrington, dau. of Joseph Harrington. 
Nov. 6, 1851. JAiiES Cunningham, b. April 27, 1801; d. Aug. 12, 1872; 

m. Catharine Hays Howard. Merchant. 
Oct. 28, 1852. WiLLLLU DwiGHT, b. April 15, 1805; d. Sept. 20, 1880; m. 

EUzabeth AmeHa \Miite. Merchant. Treasurer of the Pepperell 

Manufactiiring Co. 
Dec. 31, 1866. Hen-rt Faixkner, b. Sept. 19, 1839; d. Jan 12, 1868; 

m. Victoria G. Wheat. Wool Merchant. 
Oct. 9, 1868. Maria D. Lockwood, w. of Commodore Samuel Lockwood. 
, 1899. Thomas S. Lockwood, li%'ing. 

Long Pew No. 19 

July 11, 1835. Joseph Harrington, Jr., see Long Pew No. 6, in Gallery. 
July 3, 1846. James Davenport, b. June 22, 1817; d. Nov. 7, 1872; m. 

Sarah Adams Wiswell. An ornamental car and carriage painter. 
Oct. 18, 1851. Jonathan Bigelow, b. Jan. 1, 1825; d. May 11, 1907; m. 

Sarah Brooks. Dealer in boots, shoes and rubbers. Representative. 
May 17, 1854. Leonard Crocker Bowxes, see Pew No. 78, Lower Floor. 
Dec. 8, 1854. William Crosby, see Long Pew No. 42, in Gallery. 
June 9, 1855. Samuel T. Crosbt, see Long Pew No. 70, in Gallery. 
June 16, 1862. Benjamin Lincoln, b. July 21, 1816; d. July 21, 1884. 

Unmarried. Clerk. 
Oct. 26, 1868. Mart Ann Smith Easton, dau. of Isaac Easton. 
Nov. 19, 1872. Henry Peleg Coffin, b. Aug. 7, 1839, d. Feb. 11, 1894; 

m. Mary Greenwood Barrett. Real estate and insurance. Member 

of the Cadets. 
April 23, 1883. Hiram WiirmNGTON, b. Nov. 5, 1843; d. Jan. 31, 1905; 

m. Alice Parker Streeter. 'SMiolesale hardware dealer. Trustee of 

estates. 



PEW OWNERS 323 



Long Pew No. 20 

April 9, 1838. Jonathan Pkatt Robinson, see Square Pew No. 7, in 

Gallery. 
Nov. 27, 1844. Hentit Weld Fuller, b. Jan. 16, 1810; d. Aug. 16, 

1889; m. Mary Storer Goddard. Lawyer. Clerk of Circuit Court. 

Founder and treasurer of Woodlawn Cemetery, Everett, Mass. 
Nov. 6, 1882. Henry Alphonso Morse, b. March 27, 1832; d. June 21, 

1900; m. Joan D. Follansby. ^tolesale coal merchant. 

Long Pew No. 21 

April 22, 1835. Jonathan Pratt Robinson, see Square Pew No. 7, in 

Gallery. 
March 3, 1847. Charles Th^den Appleton, b. Jan. 11, 1809; d. March 

11, 1859; m. (1) Catharine Lawrence, (2) Mary Grave Barker. 

Merchant. Treasurer of Lowell Bleachery and Clinton Mills. 
Nov. 6, 1882. Henry Weld Fuller, see Long Pew No. 20, in Gallery. 

Long Pew No. 22 

April 22, 1835. Samuel Langley, see Pew No. 17, Lower Floor. 

May 15, 1845. Edward Wtman, b. Aug. 1, 1818; d. Oct. 26, 1899; m. 
(1) Margaret Curry Boyd, (2) Caroline King Hooper. Merchant. 
Captain of Roxbury Reserve Guard. Commander of the Ancient and 
Honorable Artillery Co. Chief of Staff of Governor Gaston. 

Sept. 7, 1869. Sarah B. Lewis, a well-known school teacher of Roxbury. 

May 3, 1897. Alfred Bunker, Uving. 

Long Pew No. 23 

April 22, 1835. Joseph Harrington, see Pew No. 24, Lower Floor. 

Jan. 31, 1843. Charles Knapp Dillaway, see Deacons. 

Dec. 16, 1846. Joseph Harrington, see Pew No. 24, Lower Floor. 

March 3, 1853. Francis Gardner, b. Nov. 6, 1809; d. Dec. 22, 1881; 
m. Lydia Nowell Bro-mie. "VMiolesale hardware merchant. Alder- 
man. Member Boston Common Council. 

April 29, 1874. Lydia Nowell Gardner, w. of James Gardner. 

Long Pew No. 24 

April 22, 1835. Stedman Williams, see Pew No. 105, Lower Floor. 
Jan. 6, 1851. Alfred Tupper Gray, b. Dec. 11, 1797; d. March 17, 
1867; m. Marj' Woodward Gray. Bookkeeper. 



324 THE FIFTH MEETING HOUSE 

Jan. 3, 1872. Samuel Frothingham, b. July 17, 1815; d. Dec. 25, 1872; 

m. Maria Louisa Whitridge. Dry goods merchant. A director of 

the Suffolk National Bank. 
April 29, 1876. Maria Loxhsa Frothingham, w. of Samuel Frothingham. 
Dec. 23, 1883. Joseph B. Bryant, living. 
Dec. 24, 1884. George Burrill. Faunce, see Ix>ng Pew No. 6, in Gallery. 



Long Pew No. 25 

April 22, 1835. Shubael Bills, see square Pew No. 12, in Gallery. 
Dec. 6, 1847. Lewis Slack, b. March 11, 1804; d. Jan. — , 1883; m. (1) 

Pedy Dudley, (2) Mary Reed Flower. Produce dealer. Justice of 

the Peace. Member of Roxbury Fire Department. 
Jan. 17, 1856. Willlam Crosby, see Long Pew No 42, in Gallery. 



Long Pew No. 26 

April 22, 1835. John Sawent, see Square Pew No. 11, in Gallery. 
July 10, 1857. Horatio Gilbert, b. Aug. 15, 1807; d. AprU 30, 1883; 
m. Cordelia E. Perry. Dealer in iron and steel springs and axles. 



Long Pew No. 27 

April 22, 1835. Joseph Harrington, see Pew No. 24, Lower Floor. 

Aug. 25, 1857. WiLLLUvi Sherman Leland, b. Oct. 12, 1824; d. July 26, 
1869; m. Sarah Elizabeth HaUett. Educated in the public schools 
of Roxbury. Studied law in his father's office. Succeeded his father 
as Judge of Probate of Norfolk County. Received honorary degree of 
Master of Arts from Harvard College. Director of the People's Bank. 
One of the founders of the Eliot Five Cent Savings Bank, and its Presi- 
dent. Member of the City Government of Roxbury. 

Sept. 27, 1859. Nathan Carruth Cary, see Long Pew No. 68 in the 
Gallery. 

Long Pew No. 28 

April 22, 1835. Wn.LLm Btttters, b. Nov. 1, 1786; d. Oct. 11, 1866; 

m. (1) Sophia Charlotte Green, (2) Eloisa Moureau Cormerals; (3) 

Rebecca Fletcher White Cram. Lawyer. 
May 5, 1836. Jacob Marshall, m. Mary Gay. 
Aug. 10, 1841. Lydia Faxon. 
Aug. 23, 1853. Mary Faxon. 
Dec. 24, 1888. Dependence Sturtevant Waterman, living. 



PEW OWNERS 325 



Long Pew No. 29 

April 22, 1835. Chenery Clabke; see Pew No. 14, Lower Floor. 

Aug. 12, 1857. Rebecca Harrington, w. of Joseph Harrington. 

Apr. 24, 1865. David Miller Hodgdon, b. March 22, 1829; d. May 17, 

1894; m. Henrietta Young. Merchant. Member of the Standing 

Committee. 
Dec. 16, 1898. Dependence Sturtevant Waterman, see Long Pew No. 

28, m Gallery. 

Long Pew No. 30 

April 22, 1835. Jonatilvn A. Richards, see Deacons. 

May 16, 1842. William Whiting, see Pew No. 84, Lower Floor. 

Feb. 15, 1878. Lydla. Gushing (Russell) Whiting, w. of William 

Whiting. 

May 21, 1882. Rose S. Whiting, dau. of William Whiting. 

Nov. 12, 1887. Mrs. Hannah Jonis. 

Long Pew No. 31 

Nov. 16, 1857. George B. Foster, b. Feb. 10, 1810; d. June 22, 1881; 
m. Catherine E. Duncan. Silversmith and jeweller. 

Long Pew No. 32 

Nov. 12, 1867. IVLvRiA D. Lockwood, w. of Commodore Samuel Lock- 
wood. 

Feb. 12, 1869. Francis Baker, Jr., b. Jan. 26, 1824; d. Dec. 19, 1877. 
m. Lydia May Vose. Wholesale salt dealer. 

Dec. 7, 1872. Edward Belcher Reynolds, see Deacons. 

May 19, 1886. Charlotte G. Coffin, dau. of Peter Cofl&n, of Portsmouth, 
N.H. 

Long Pew No. 33 

April 22, 1835. Joseph Harrington, see Pew No. 24, Lower Floor. 

Jan. 31, 1843. Charles Knapp Dillaway, see Deacons. 

May 10, 1864. Frederick Hall Bradlee, b. Sept. 18, 1807; d. Sept. 6, 

1888; m. Lucretia Wainwright. H, C. 1827. Merchant. Director 

of Old Boston National Bank. 
Feb. 27, 1890. Mrs. Lucy B. Stone, dau. of Frederick Hall Bradlee. 

Long Pew No. 34 

April 8, 1867. Mrs. Ann F. Holmes. 

March 3, 1879. James Warren Hayward, living. 



326 THE FIFTH MEETING HOUSE 

Long Pew No. 35 
July 16, 1867. James Ritchie, see Pew No. 65, Lower Floor. 



Long Pew No. 36 
Free Pew. 

Long Pew No. 37 

Jan. 13, 1868. Pickering Atwell, b. May — , 1812; d. Jan. 31, 1866; m. 
Adeline Prentice. Merchant tailor. 



Long Pew No. 38 

Jan. 28, 1866. William R. Houston, b. 1816; d. Oct. 13, 1881; m. 

Susan E. Lee. Carpenter and builder. Alderman. Director in the 

Roxbury Mechanics Institute. 
Feb. 4, 1868. Erastus Sampson, b. Aug. 28, 1808; d. May 17, 1885; m. 

Elizabeth Winsor. Shipmaster, subsequently agent of Boston and 

Baltimore Steamship Line. 



Long Pew No. 39 
Free Pew. 

Lo7ig Pew No. 40 
Free Pew. 

Long Pew No. 41 

Jime 24, 1845. John Jones Clarke, see Square Pew No. 31, in the 

Gallery. 
Jan. 20, 1880. Edward Belcher Reynolds, see Deacons. 
Oct. 1, 1903. Matthew Binnet, living. 



Long Pew No. 42 

April 22, 1835. Daniel Andrew Sigouknet, see Pew No. 38, Lower 

Floor. 
Nov. 19, 1838. Charles Jefferson Hendee, see Long Pew No. 61, in 

the Gallery. 
June 3, 1844. Charles Inches, b. March — , 1808; d. Jan. 22, 1888; m. 

Harriet Auchmuty Howard Boit. Broker. 
April 12, 1845. Leonard C. Bowles, see Pew No. 78, Lower Floor. 



PEW OWNERS 327 



Oct. 7, 1845. William Crosby, b. Oct. 27, 1818; d. Sept. 9, 1907; m. 
Mary Elizabeth Bowles. Member of the firm of Crosby and Nichols, 
booksellers, and of Crosby, Lee and Co., booksellers. Superintendent 
of the Childien's Mission for 20 years. Member of the Standing Com- 
mittee, Clerk and Treasurer of this Society. 

Dec. — , 1853. Chables Henut Warren, b. Sept. 29, 1798; d. Jime — , 
1874; m. Abby Burr Hedge. H. C. 1817. Lawyer. Judge of Court 
of Common Pleas in New Bedford. President of Boston and Providence 
R. R. Senator and President of the Senate. 

April 13, 1871. Joshua Huntington Wolcott, b. Aug. 29, 1804 ; d. Jan. 4, 
1891; m. (1) Cornelia Frothingham, (2) Harriet Frothingham. Edu- 
cated in Litchfield, Conn. Member of the firm of A. and A. Lawrence 
and Co., dry goods merchants. Member of the Society of the Cincinnati. 
Treasurer of the Sanitary Commission. Father of Governor Roger 
Wolcott. 

Oct. 12, 1880. Henry A. S. D. Dudley, see Long Pew No. 54, in Gallery. 

Jan. 27, 1883. Josephine Mackay Hicks, dau. of Wilham Howland 
Hicks. 

Long Pew No. 43 

Sept. 3, 1839. Charles Ford, m. Lois , Farmer. Removed to 

Dover. 
Jan. 25, 1845. Ebenezer Pratt, see Pew No. 90, Lower Floor. 

Long Pew No. 44 

Aug. 1835. Abijah Merriam, see Pew No. 79, Lower Floor. 

May 12, 1845. George Packer, b. Oct. 9, 1801; d. June 19, 1889; m. 

Catherine French Bowen. Morocco manufacturer. One of the first 

stockholders of the Rockland National Bank. 
Jan. 29, 1856. Roland Worthington, b. Sept. 22, 1817; d. March 20, 

1898; m. Abby Bartlett Adams. Proprietor of the Boston Traveler. 

Alderman. Collector of the Port of Boston. 
Dec. 19, 1857. Frances Cordis Clarke, w. of Manlius Stimson Clarke. 
Dec. 21, 1872. Aaron Davis Willlvms, see Long Pew No. 45, in Gallery. 
May 28, 1883. Frajnces Cordis Clarke, w. of Manhus Stimson Clarke. 

Long Pew No. 45 

June 13, 1837. Nathaniel Dorr, see Pew No. 97, Lower Floor. 

Aug. 7, 1845. Samuel Parkman Blake, b. Jan. 30, 1804; d. Dec. 26, 

1889; m. Ann Boylston Cimningham. H. C. 1823 (RebeUion Qass). 

Received his degrees of A.B. and A.M. in 1841. Merchant. 



328 THE FIFTH MEETING HOUSE 

Jan. 1, 1850. Caleb Loring Cunningham, b. Nov. 22, 1821; d. Aug. 11, 

1863; m. Clementina Trufant. Merchant. 
April 12, 1854. Augustus Daniel Berry, b. June 14, 1810; d. Feb. 16, 

1864; m. Mary Adeline Farnham. Wholesale dry goods merchant. 
July 13, 1860. Aaron Davis Willlams, b. Sept. 11, 1821 ; d. Dec. 21, 1899 ; 

m. Susan B. Famham. Merchant. President of the Boston Lead Co. 

Director of the Rockland Nat. Bank. Trustee of the Instu. for Savings 

in Roxbiuy. Councillor of Mass. Horticultural Society. Member of 

the Roxbvuy Common Council. Honorary member of the Roxbury 

Horse Guards. 
Dec. 23, 1872. William Howland Hicks, see I^ong Pew No. 70, in Gallery. 
Nov. 13, 1882. Josephine M. Hicks, dau. of William Howland Hicks. 

Long Pew No. 46 

* 

April 22, 1835. John Jones Clarke, see Square Pew No. 31, in Gallery. 

June 28, 1841. Hiram Withington, b. July 29, 1818. 

May 17, 1842. Willlui Blanchard, Jr., b. July 3, 1817; d. June 2, 1887; 
m. Mary Elizabeth Seaver. Manufacturer. Member of Boston Com- 
mon Council. Representative. Member of Standing Committee. 

April 16, 1845. Mrs. Lucl\ G. Wells. 

Feb. 21, 1851. Lyman Hollingsworth, see Pew No. 92, Lower Floor. 

Long Pew No. 47 

April 22, 1835. John Clap, see Deacons. 

Aug. 19, 1841. Alpheus M. Withington, see Pew No. 49, Lower Floor. 

Oct. 9, 1841. Susan M. Withington. 

March 2, 1844. William Blanchard, Jr., see Long Pew No. 46, in Gallery. 

April 11, 1845. Charles Tyler Savage, b. March 15, 1797; d. Nov. 5, 

1879; m. Anna Lewis Thacher. A retired sea captain. Succeeded his 

father in 1822 as member of the Society of the Cincinnati. 
Jan. 1, 1850. Samuel Parkman Blake, see Long Pew No. 45, in Gallery. 
Sept. 15, 1853. Catherine IVIerriam, dau. of Abijah Merriam. 
Jan. 14, 1859. Robert Hale, b. Oct. 1, 1815; d. June 28, 1888; m. Ann 

G. Ward. Supt. of several Railroads. Alderman. One of the original 

members of the Unitarian Church in Minneapolis. 
April 26, 1862. Nancy Gay, w. of George Gay. 
Feb. 4, 1871. Martha Gay, dau. of George Gay. 
Nov. 10, 1888. Benjamin Gilbert Gay, b. Jan. 8, 1833; d. Oct. 5, 1892; 

unmarried. Assistant Treasurer of the Calumet and Hecla Mining Co. 
Dec. 29, 1892. Mrs. Nettie (Gay) Hurlbert, living. 



PEW OWNERS 329 



Long Pew No. 48 

Sept. 26, 1842. John Amort Lowell, see Pew No. 101, Lower Floor. 
Aug. 31, 1852. James Cxuvningham, see Long Pew No. 18, in Gallery. 
Feb. 6, 1890. Hepsie Swan Howabd, niece of ]\Irs. James Cunningham. 

Long Pew No. 49 

April 22, 1835. Joseph Smith. 

Nov. 22, 1842. Sarah Elizabeth Miles, w. of Solomon Pearson Miles. 

Apr. 8, 1859. William Sherrl^n Lbland, see Long Pew No. 27, in Gallery. 

Long Pew No. 50 

April 22, 1835. Charles Davis, see Pew No. 102, Lower Floor. 

June 13, 1839. Edward Williams Adams, see Long Pew No. 52, in Gallery. 

Jan. 15, 1842. Mary Adams, w. of James Adams. 

Jan. 30, 1846. John Augustus Dodd, b. Aug. 16, 1811 ; d. July 31, 1890. 

m. (1) Mary Perrin Adams, (2) Theoda Hunnewell Adams, (3) Sarah 

Whittemore. Merchant. 
Sept. 15, 1856. Roland Worthington, see Long Pew No. 44, in Gallery. 

Long Pew No. 51 

April 22, 1835. George Augustus Eliot, b. May 6, 1806; d. June 15, 

1838; m. Cordelia Howe. Hardware dealer. 
Nov. 30, 1840. John Fleet Eliot, b. Jan. 17, 1800; d. Aug. 30, 1881. 

Druggist. 
Aug. 20, 1845. Enoch Train of Boston, b. May 2, 1801 ; d. Sept. 6, 1868; 

m. Aknira C. Cheever. Merchant. Connected with a Liverpool line 

of packets. Member of Governor John Davis' staff. Director of 

Tremont Bank. 
Aug. 23, 1847. Miss Jane I. Willard. 
Oct. 30, 1867. William Goodavin Russell, of Boston, b. Nov. 18, 1821 ; 

d. Feb. 6, 1896; m. Mary Ellen Hedge. H. C. 1840. Lawyer, and a 

Leader of the Bar. Overseer of Harvard College. 
April 1, 1882. Samuel G. Davis, living 
Jan. 27, 1897. Edward P. Sherburne, living. 

Long Pew No. 52 

April 22, 1835. James Adams, Jr., bap. Feb. 21, 1813. 

Sept. 15, 1838. Edward Willluhs Adams, b. Nov. 22, 1814; d. Jan. 23, 

1842. Unmarried. Merchant. 
Jime 6, 1839. Joel Richards, d. 1847; m. Eliza . Merchant. 



330 THE FIFTH MEETING HOUSE 

Sept. 5, 1842. Amos Atkinson, b. May 11, 1792; d. June 26, 1864; m. 

Anna Greenleaf Sawyer. Merchant. 
Nov. 6, 1845. Henry Winsor, b. Dec. 81, 1804; d. Oct. 28, 1889; m. 

Mary Ann Davis. Merchant and steamship owner. 
Juiy 1, 1847. Isaac Parker, b. Dec. 21, 1778; d. Sept. 7, 1859; m. Betsey 

Wendell Townsend. Commission merchant. 

Long Pew No. 53 

April 22, 1835. Jacob Axlen, see Pew No. 14, Lower Floor. 

June 18, 1844. Aaron E. Whtitemore, b. 1808; d. Nov. 19, 1852. 
Blacksmith. 

April 22, 1848. Almon Danforth Hodges, b. Jan. 25, 1801 ; d. Sept. 27, 
1878; m. (1) Martha Comstock, (2) Mrs. JaneH. Leonard. Merchant. 
Member of the General Assembly of Rhode Island. President of the 
Washington Bank. One of the organizers of the Boston Clearing 
House and Treasurer of the Association of Banks for the suppression 
of counterfeiting. Commander of the Roxbury''Horse Guards. 

Nov. 16, 1880. Frederick S. Hodges. 

Long Pew No. 54 

April 13, 1835. Benjamin Watt, see Square Pew No. 36, in Gallery. 

Jan. 2, 1854. Pedy Dudley, w. of Col. Joseph Dudley. 

June 6, 1863. Henry Alexander Scammell Dearborn Dudley, b. 

Aug. 13, 1821 ; d. July 7, 1885. Umnarried. Member of the Standing 

Committee. 
Sept. 7, 1885. George A. Slack, living. 
April 12, 1886. Sarah Elizabeth Rumrill, living. 

Long Pew No. 55 

April 26, 1835. Charles Blanchard, b. June 30, 1790; d. Sept. 28, 1863; 
m. Ann Isabel Blanchard. Merchant. Member of Boston Light 
Infantry in 1814. 

April 6, 1854. Henry Fullerton Cragin, b. Feb. 9, 1829; d. Nov. 28, 
1865; m. Abigail Roe Dalton Blanchard. Cotton Commission 
Merchant. 

April 24, 1854. Ann Isabel Blanchard, w. of Charles Blanchard. 

May 18, 1864. Charles Jahvis Danforth, b. Aug. 11, 1825; d. May 17, 
1877; m. Sarah Elizabeth Robbins. Dry Goods Merchant. Member 
of the Music Committee. A prominent member of the Masonic fra- 
ternity. 

March 26, 1890. Samuel Everett Tinkham, living. 



PEW OWNERS 331 



Long Pew No. 56 

April 26, 1835. Charles Grant. See Square Pew No. 24, in Gallery. 

Dec. 21, 1844. Charles Edward Grant, b. Aug. 26, 1814; d. Oct. 1, 
1903; m. Eliza Ann Hales Bacon. Succeeded his father in the 
paper business. Alderman of Roxbury. Representative. One of the 
Assessors of Boston. Member of Mass. Horticultural Society. Clerk 
of the Mount Pleasant (Unitarian) church. 

April 3, 1852. James Tolman, b. Nov. 17, 1811; d. Dec. 16, 1868; m. 
Elizabeth Metcalf Smith. Merchant tailor. Member of the Roxbury 
Common Council. President of the Young Men's Benevolent Society. 
Trustee of the Mass. Charitable Mechanics Assn. Treasurer of the 
Children's Aid Society. 

March 24, 1864. Charles Mayo Ellis, see Pew No. 18, Lower Floor. 

Oct. 19, 1878. Effie Ellis, dan. of Charles Mayo Ellis. 

Dec. 6, 1883. Mary E. Bangs, w. of William A. Bangs. 

Nov. 12, 1887. Isaac P. Gragg, living. 

May 1, 1896. Dr. Sevantjs Bovten, b. Feb. 13, 1840; d. April 7, 1899. 



Physician. 



Long Pew No. 57 



April 22, 1835. Charles Grant, see Pew No. 24, in Gallery. 

June 15, 1842. Elijah Vose, b. Jan. 1, 1790; d. Sept. 12, 1856; m. 

Rebecca Gorham Bartlett. Merchant. State Senator Member of the 

Society of the Cincinnati. President of Mass. Horticultural Society* 
Jan. 7, 1864. Henry Lefrelet Daggett, b. Aug. 10, 1812; d. March 1, 

1882; m. Sarah Eliza Williams. Shoe and Leather Merchant of 

Boston. Member of the Boston Board of Trade. 
Feb. 20, 1866. Franklin Smith Merrett, b. Jime 16, 1824; d. Jan. 13, 

1879. Unmarried. Leather dealer. Director of the City National 

Bank. Member of the Music Committee. 
May 27, 1879. IVLuiy Barker Comins, w. of Linus Bacon Comins. 
Nov. 11, 1887. Frank M. Sprague, living. 
March 31, 1896. Daniel W. Jones, b. Nov. 7, 1829; d. Nov. 27, 1898; 

m. Emma A. Cleaves. Schoolmaster in Roxbury. 
Jan. 1, 1904. Samuel Everett Tinkham, living. 



Long Pew No. 58 

June 13, 1837. Nathaniel Dorr, see Pew No. 97, Lower Floor. 

April 12, 1851. Joseph Morrill, Jr., b. April 5, 1822; d. Nov. 23, 1893; 

m. Helen Brooks. Manufacturer. Member of Roxbury Common 

Council. 



332 THE FIFTH MEETING HOUSE 

Long Pew No. 59 

Aug. 26, 1835. Capt. William Blanchaed, Senior, see Pew No. 97, Lower 

Floor. 
Dec. 30, 1848. Theodore Otis, b. Dec. 15, 1810; d. July 11, 1873; m. 

Harriet Blanchard. Lawyer. Mayor of Roxbury. Trustee of the 

Roxbury Latin School. Member of the Roxbury School Board. 

Representative. 
April 5, 1851. William Rodman Robeson, b. July 27, 1814; d. Nov. 7, 

1892; m. Anna Rodman. Cotton Manufacturer. Representative. 

1894. Anna R. Robeson, w. of William Rodman Robeson. 

Jan. 1, 1902. Theodore Melville Plimpton, li\'ing. 

Long Pew No. 60. 

April 22, 1835. Ozl^ Field, b. Nov. 17, 1798; d. Jan. 6, 1866; m. 

Charlotte E. Whiting. Dry goods vdih Joseph D. Gould. 
Feb. 24, 1866. Ann Isabel Blanchard, see Long Pew >Jo. 55, in Gallery. 
Dec. 8, 1870. John Dean Sturtevant, b. 1818; d. July 5, 1893; m. 

Adeline D. Bradley. Manufacturer. 

Long Pew No. 61 

April 22, 1835. Daniel Andrew Sigournet, see Pew No. 38, Lower 

Floor, 
Nov. 19, 1838. Charles Jefferson Hendee, b. July 1, 1805; d. Aug. 2, 

1872; m. Adeline Davis. Member of the firm of Carter, Hendee and 

Co., who were the first occupants of the "Old Corner Bookstore," as 

booksellers, from 1828 to 1833. 
June 3, 1844. Willlam Amort, b. Jime 15, 1804; d. Dec. 9, 1888; m. Anna 

Powell Grant Sears. H. C. 1823 (Rebellion Class), recei\dng his 

degrees in 1845. Studied law but did not practice. Treasurer of the 

Amoskeag Manufacturing Co. 
Jan. 3, 1854. Isaac Pollard Rand, bap. Dec. 1, 1816. Marketman. 
Oct. 25, 1866. Samuel PARKiLtN Dexter, b. Jime 13, 1824, d. Dec. 18, 

1885; m. Matilda Campbell Abbot. Merchant. Director Revere 

National Bank, and of the Vale IVIiUs. 

LoTig Pew No. 62 

April 22, 1835. Isaac Davis, see Pew No. 8, Lower Floor. 
March 19, 1853. William S. Messenger, living. 
April 25, 1890. Benjamin P. Cheney Clapp, living. 



PEW OWNERS 333 



Long Pew No. 63 

Sept. 9, 1839. James H. Champney, see Square Pew No. 3, in Gallery. 
Sept. 4, 1844. Lot Clajik, b. July 25, 1796; d. Feb. 24, 1880; m. Mary 

Barnard Eaton. Commission merchant. 
March 22, 1853. Amos Stevens, see Pew No. 66, Lower Floor. 
Nov. 18, 1858. William Brandford Shubrick Gay, b. Dec. 13, 1820; d. 

Sept. 16, 1901; m. Eliza Kirkland Dwight. Dry goods commission 

merchant. Afterwards note broker. 
Feb. 19, 1867. Charles Edward Cook, b. Oct. 17, 1805; d. Sept. 23, 

1874; m. Elizabeth White Wells. Member of Boston City Council. 

For thirty years connected with public charitable institutions of 

City and State, including Taunton Hospital. Representative and 

President of the State Senate. 



Long Pew No. 64 

April 22, 1835. Mrs. Hannah Robertson. 

Aug. 9, 1847. Catherine Haviland, w. of Thomas Philip Haviland. 

May 4, 1848. Joseph Henry Gardner, d. 1884 ; m. (1) Harriet Robertson, 
(2) Eliza . Insurance Broker. 

Aug. 30, 1855. Henry White, b. Nov. 25, 1797; d. Sept. 11, 1873; m. 
Jane Eliza Williams. Druggist. 

May 15, 1883. George Allen Dary, b. Nov. 30, 1842; d. Dec. 30, 1905; 
m. Elizabeth Tuttle. Lawyer and a most expert and reliable con- 
veyancer. Founder and member of the Abstract Club. Member 
of the Mass. Title Insurance Co. and of the Conveyancers' Title Insur- 
ance Co. Member of the Music Committee and Clerk of this Society. 

Jan. 24, 1889. Joseph A. Willard, b. Sept. 30, 1816; d. Aug. 14, 1904. 
Clerk of the Superior Court. 



Long Pew No. 65 

May 29, 1835. Isaac Harris Cary, b. Nov. 3, 1803; d. May 22, 1881 ; m. 
Phebe Phillips Pratt. Wholesale dealer in fancy goods, horn and 
sheU. 

Feb. 14, 1846. William James Reynolds, b. Oct. 14, 1814; d. Jan. 17, 
1865; m. (1) Martha Pratt, (2) Harriet E. Wheelwright. Book pub- 
lisher. Member of the Roxbury Common Council. Representative. 

Jan. 25, 1861. Jonathan Pratt RoBiNsoN,see Square Pew No. 7,in Gallery. 

July 10, 1863. J. Henry Sears, living. 

Nov. 5, 1866. Augustus Parker, see Long Pew No. 69, in Gallery. 



334 THE FIFTH MEETING HOUSE 

Feb. 12, 1883. Geokge H. Wtman, b. April 10, 1827; d. April 13, 1893. 

Bedding supplies. 
April 13, 1896. Matilda CampbeiIj Dexter, w. of Samuel Parkman 

Dexter. 

Long Pew No. 66 

Sept. 16, 1835. Thomas Brewer, see Pew No. 3, Lower Floor. 
Dec. 7, 1839. Gardner Brewer, see Pew No. 3, Lower Floor. 
Dec. 3, 1849. Nathaniel P. Lovertng, see Pew No. 11, Lower Floor. 

Long Pew No. 67 

June 25, 1839. Joedj Eagan, a painter; received the deed of this pew in 
pai-t payment for painting fence and blinds attached to the Meeting 
House. 

July 12, 1839. George Read, b. July —, 1788; d. March 27, 1856. Mer- 
chant. Auctioneer and real estate agent. 

Aug. 22, 1844. Francis Curtis, b. , 1814; d. Aug. 12, 1882. Mer- 
chant. 

Dec. 4, 1846. Joseph Lewis Stackpole, b. Dec. 28, 1808; d. July 20, 
1847; m. Susan Margaret Benjamin. H. C. 1824. Lawyer. 

Dec. 1, 1887. Nathaniel Osgood Whitcomb, U^dng. 

Long Pew No. 68 

Jan. 2, 1837. Aaron Child, see Square Pew No. 37, in Gallery. 

Nov. 19, 1844. Joseph Harrington, see Pew No. 24, Lower Floor. 

May 31, 1853. Nathan Carruth Cart, b. Nov. 4, 1814; d. May 7, 1900; 
m. (1) Frances Taylor Wilson, (2) Charlotte EmeUne Burnette. Solici- 
tor in Probate. 

Feb. 8, 1862. Leonard C. Bowles, see Pew. No. 78, Lower Floor. 

Oct. 7, 1863. Curtis Guild, living. 

March 17, 1871. Henry Prentice Binney, b. March 5, 1838; d. April 
17, 1878; m. Josephine HajTvard. Merchant. Trustee of estates. 

Long Pew No. 69 

April 22, 1835. Benjamin Franklin Copeland, see Pew No. 27, Lower 

Floor. 
May 17, 1837. George Arthur Simmons, see Long Pew No. 2, in Gallery. 
Feb. 25, 1846. William Frederic Freeman, b. July 31, 1817; d. Aug. 18, 

1888; m. Caroline Crosby Lewis. Manufacturer of dye stuffs from 

imported woods. 
March 27, 1848. Samuel Gore Glover, b. Feb. 28, 1821; d. July 15, 

1856; m. Rebecca Putnam Page. Merchant. Trustee of estates. 



PEW OWNERS 335 



March 13, 1856. Augustus Parker, b. Aug. 30, 1827; d. Feb. 27, 1901; 
m. Mary Elizabeth Baker. Fanner. Member of the Common Coun- 
cil. Representative. President of Franklin Savings Bank. Overseer 
of the Poor. 

Nov. 15, 1866. Edward Belcher Reynolds, see Deacons. 

Jan. 11, 1869. Israel Goodwin Whitnet, b. Jan. 30, 1831 ; d. Jan. 27, 
1901; m. Christiana Kadie Swan Sargent. East India merchant. 
Trustee of estate of John A. Burnham. 

April 13, 1883. Samuel T. Crosby, see Long Pew No. 70, in Gallery. 

Jan. 6, 1898. William Hoag, living. 

Long Pew No. 70 

April 22, 1835. David Dudley, see Pew No. 45, Lower Floor. 

Sept. 24, 1842. Samuel Thompson of Roxbury; m. Rachel . 

Blacksmith. 
May 5, 1843. Willluw Rowland Hicks, b. Feb. 27, 1801; d. May 17, 

1873 ; m. Sarah Mackay. Merchant. 
Dec. 15, 1847. Andrew Davis, b. June 15, 1814; d. June 1, 1872; m. 

Ellen Pearey. Dealer in boots and shoes. 
May 5, 1853. Samuel T. Crosby, b. 1822; d. Dec. 24, 1907; m. Sarah E. 

Lincoln. Senior member of the firm of Crosby, Morse & Foss. 

Jewellers. Afterwards Life Insurance Broker. 
Jan. 12, 1855. Thomas Simmons, see Pew No. 17, Lower Floor. 
Oct. 30, 1855. Frances Cordis Clarke, w. of Manlius Stimson Qarke. 
Nov. 16, 1857. Rebecca Farnham, w. of Putnam Ingalls Farnham. 



336 THE FIFTH MEETING HOUSE 

MUSIC 

In the early days of the church the music was wholly supplied 
by the congregation. Hymn books were not in general use 
and the number of tunes was limited. Though there is no 
mention of a Precentor in the records, there was undoubtedly 
some one member who pitched the tunes, and led the singing, 
as Judge Sewall did for many years in the Boston church. 

The Bay Psahn Book, a metrical version of the Psalms, 
was the first hymn book used as far as we know. This was 
the joint production of John Eliot, Thomas Welde and 
Richard Mather, and was published in Cambridge in 1640. 
Rev. Elias Nason describes this book as follows, "Welde, 
Eliot and Mather mounted the restive steed Pegasus, Hebrew 
Psalter in hand, and trotted in hot haste over the rough road 
of Shemitic roots and metrical psalmody. Other divines rode 
behind, and after cutting and slashing, mending and patch- 
ing, twisting and turning, finally produced what must ever 
remain the most unique specimen of poetical tinkering in our 
literature." The music is arranged in treble and base; 
directions are given for setting the tune to the voice, so that 
one may sing "without squeking above or grumbling below." 

Rev. Thomas Shepard of Cambridge wrote, 

"Ye Roxbury poets, keep clear of the crime 
Of missing to give us very good rhyme; 
And you of Dorchester; your verses lengthen, 
But with the text's own words you will them strengthen." 

Samuel Sewall, in 1718, speaking of attending a private 
meeting where ]\ir. Thomas Walter preached and there was 
singing, says " Sang part of the 145th Psalm which he set to 
Low Dutch very well." 

In 1721 Rev. Thomas Walter, who excelled in the science 
of harmony, being grieved beyond measure, and annoyed 
at the very indifferent performances in the sanctuary, pub- 



MUSIC 337 



lished a neat 12 mo. volume, The Grounds and Rules of 
Music Explained; or an Introduction to the Art of Singing 
by Note, Fitted to the meanest capacity. Recommended by 
several Ministers. " Let everything that hath breath, praise 
the Lord." Ps. cl, 6. 

In this work the author endeavored to show that singing 
was reducible to the rules of art, and that he who made him- 
self master of these rules would be able at first sight to sing 
any new tune, by the bare inspection of the notes. He 
complains that " for a want of a standard to appeal to in all 
our singing, our tunes are left to the mercy of every unskilful 
throat, to chop and alter, twist and change, according to 
their infinitely divers and no less odd humors and fancies." 
And of the singing of the congregations, "it sounded like 
five hundred different tunes roared out at the same time," 
and so little attention was paid to time, that they were often 
one or two words apart, producing noises "so hideous and 
disorderly as is bad beyond expression." 

The manner of singing also had become so tedious and 
drawling, that he goes on to say, " I myself have twice in one 
note paused to take breath." The preface to this book, 
signed by fourteen clergymen, discourses delectably, and in 
a manner equally applicable at the present day. " We would 
encourage all, more particularly our young people, to accom- 
plish themselves with skill to sing the songs of the Lord, 
according to the good rules of psalmody; hoping that the 
consequence of it will be that not only the assemblies of 
Zion will decently and in order carry on this exercise of piety, 
but also it will be the more introduced into private families 
and become a part of our family sacrifice. At the same 
time, we would above all expect that the main concern of all 
may be to make it not a mere bodily exercise, but sing with 
grace in their hearts, and with minds attentive to the truths 
in the psalms which they sing, and affected with them, so 



338 THE FIFTH MEETING HOUSE 

that in their hearts they may make a melody to the Lord." 
This volume was the first wherein the music was printed with 
bars in America. The tunes were composed in three parts 
only. Mr. Hood characterizes the harmony as being "full 
rich and correct, and the whole style purely choral." 

In 1757 members of the congregation wrote the following 
letter to the Pastor, Rev. Mr. Amos Adams. 

Rev. S"- 

The New England Version of the Psahns, however usefull it may form- 
erly have been, is now become through the natural variableness of Lan- 
guage, not only very uncouth, but in many Places unintelligible; whereby 
the mind instead of being Raised and spirited in singing The Praises of 
Almighty God, and thereby better prepared to attend the other Parts of 
Divine Service, is Damped and made spiritless in the Performance of the 
Duty; at least such is the Tendency of the use of That version, and it 
being the Duty of Christians to make use of the Best helps for the right & 
acceptable performance of Divine Worship and as in Regard to Psalm 
singing there are several versions of the Psalms much preferable to that 
Before mentioned especially the version Made by Tate & Brady, which 
has been lately Rec'^ by Divers of the Neighbouring Churches in the Room 
of the New England version. 

We the subscribers (a number of your Parish) hereby Express our 
inclination and desire, that you would propose to the Church and Congre- 
gation under Your Care (in such manner as you Think sutable) the intro- 
duction among them of the last Mentioned version: apd we would recom- 
mend that Edition (lately Published) to which is annexed a number of 
Hymns, suited to sacramental Occasions. 

We are with Great Esteem 

S"" Your Most Humble Servants 

James Bowdoin. Benjamin May. 

Ebenezer Dokb. Ebenezer May. 

Sam^ Stevens. Isaac Winslow. 

Sam'1 Gridley. Joseph Curtiss. 

James Mears. Ebenezer Newell. 

Sam^' Williams. John Williams. 

Jonathan Hall. Joseph Williams. 

William Bosson. Eben'' Pierpont. 

Noah Perrin. William Gridley. 

James Mears, jtjn'". John Pierpont. 

Benjamqj Williams. William Pierpont. 

Joseph Weld. William Heath. 



MUSIC 339 



To THE Rev*^ Mb. Adams. 

The within is a True Copy of a letter Communicated to the first Congre- 
gation in Roxbury on Sept. 11, 1757, and agreeable to the Desire therein 
Expressed it was proposed by the Paster to the Congregation that they 
Take this version into Consideration for a considerable Time at least six 
or seven weeks, and it was Recommended to them to Read and acquaint 
themselves with this version, and if after having Carefully Read & Con- 
sidered this version any find Cause to object against it the Pastor Desires 
that he may be Timely informed of it. 

Attest 

Amos Adams. 

July 9, 1758. The Congregation Tarried after the Bless- 
ing and the above letter was again read, and now at the 
motion of two gentlemen of the Congregation (none objecting 
to the motion) the Question was put by the Pastor "Whether 
it be the minds of the Congregation to lay aside the New 
England Version of Psalms and in the Room thereof to use 
henceforth the version of Tate & Brady with a collection of 
Hymns Chiefly from Dr. Watts which are now used by some 
of the Neighboring Congregations," and it passed in the 
aflirmative. 

Ebenezer Fox, a Roxbury lad, has furnished this reminis- 
cence of the music of this old meeting house in 1775. " Deacon 
Crafts used to read aloud one verse at a time of the psalm or 
hymn, which the choir would sing, and then wait till he had 
read another. Hymn books were not in general use; they 
were, some time after, in the pews of the wealthy. At a 
subsequent period fuguing tunes were introduced and they 
produced a literally fuguing effect upon the elder people, the 
greater part of whom went out of church as soon as the first 
verse was sung." After a while the bass viol was introduced, 
much to the scandal of the elders, who dubbed it the " devil's 
fiddle," while the choir called it the "Lord's fiddle." Fox 
continues, " I well remember the first Sabbath that the bass 
viol was used, as an accompaniment to the singing. The 



340 THE FIFTH MEETING HOUSE 

old pious people were horror struck at what they considered 
a sacrilegious innovation, and went out of meeting in high 
dudgeon. One old church member stood at the church door 
and showed his contempt for the music by making a sort of 
caterwauling noise, which he called 'mocking the banjo.' 
A meeting of the ' pillars of the church ' took place, but into 
it managed to creep some young and frisky laymen, and for 
a time things were rather lively, and Dr. Emmons, who was 
then temporarily filling the pulpit, had hard work to preserve 
order. He finally succeeded in making himseK heard. 
'Show me,' he said, 'a single instance in the Bible where 
they use the obnoxious instrument and I am content.' 
'But they used other stringed instruments,' said a lajonan. 
'That has nothing to do with it. My question is, do they 
ever speak of the bass viol in the book.'* Answer me.' 
Silence reigned. 'No,' continued the doctor, 'they do not. 
And do you think the Almighty and his angels would put up 
with such squeaky noises ? Do you think that they cannot 
tell good and pious music, that you try to inflict them with 
discord and inharmonious tunes ? Mark me, those of you 
who continue to sing to the "devil's fiddle" will never have 
a chance to sing to the sublime sounds of the harp and the 
lute. But I have said that the Almighty abominated such 
noises, and so do I, and I will never read God's Word in a 
meeting house where the choir sing in unison with an inven- 
tion of the devil.' " And he never did. 

Wliat two prominent members thought of the use of the 
bass viol may best be told in their own words. Deacon 
Felton in his Records says, "July 27, 1788, was introduced 
that unmeaning lifeless sound upon a Bass Viol, as a part of 
Divine worship in the First church of Christ in Roxbury, the 
manner of its introduction was simply this, it was ask'd the 
Church by their Rev. Pastor whether they were willing the 



MUSIC 341 



Viol should be made use of in their worship on the sabbath 
day, upon which one of the Church rose and said if there 
was any one had any objection to make, why it should not, 
he wish'd they would make it for his part he said he had none. 
But no vote of the Church was taken upon the subject. And 
Thus (in my weak opiaion) relapses a pure primitive Church 
of Christ of One Hundred and Fifty years standing into error 
and vain glory. From which the good Lord Deliver us." 

William Heath writes to Rev. Mr. Eliphalet Porter under 
date of Aug. 4, 1788, as follows : — 

"Instrumental musick was yesterday introduced into 
divine worship in the meeting house of the First Church and 
Congregation of this town, and altho for myself I am fully 
of opinion that the use of instrumental musick in divine 
worship may be vindicated both from Scripture and reason, 
yet I conceive that for obvious reasons it ought not to be 
introduced without the consent and approbation of the 
Church. As I have not heard that either have been requested 
or obtained, I cannot refrain from addressing you on the 
subject. If the young gentlemen, who favor the Congrega- 
tion by leading the singing, introduced instrumental musick 
of their own motion, I think it was going too far and invading 
the rights of the Church. Nor can I persuade myself to 
believe that any individuals would advise to the measure 
untill the sense of the Church was known, as this would be 
arrogating to themselves a power which I presume no indi- 
viduals have a right to exercise in the Church. Permit me 
therefore, to request (for the satisfaction of my own mind) 
to be informed how and in what manner the introduction 
took place. While it is my ardent desire not only to join, 
but also to encourage everything which may tend to the 
furtherance of publick devotion, I wish to see everything 
conducted decently and in order." 



342 THE FIFTH MEETING HOUSE' 

Notwithstanding the protests of several members, musical 
instruments were used to assist the singers, down to the time 
of the building of the first organ in 1821. The only ones 
mentioned are a bass viol and a clarionet. They were all 
sold when the organ was built. 

Near the close of the eighteenth century the hymn book 
used was "Psalms and Hymns," by Rev. Jeremy Belknap, 
D.D., this being substituted for the Tate and Brady collection. 

It having been the anxious wish of many individuals in 
the Parish to have an organ procured to aid in the services 
of Publick Worship, Messrs. Nathaniel Dorr, John Doggett 
and Joseph Harrington took upon themselves the very 
arduous task of procuring by subscription the means of 
ipurchasing such an instrument. After having obtained 
about $1250, a meeting of the subscribers was called on the 
evening of the IS*** December, 1820, at the Town House. At 
this meeting, Jonathan Dorr, Esq., was chosen moderator and 
John Lemist was chosen Secretary. 

After discussing the objects of the meeting, it was voted 
to petition the Parish Committee to warn the members of 
the Parish to meet at the meeting house on Friday, Dec. 22, 
1820, at 2 o'clock p.m., to take into consideration whether the 
Parish will accept an organ and have the same erected for 
the use of the Parish in said House. A petition was then 
introduced by Joseph Harrington, Esq., for that purpose, and 
after being duly signed was presented to the Parish Com- 
mittee. At the same time a committee, consisting of Jonathan 
Dorr, Isaac Davis, William Blaney, John Doggett, Joseph 
Harrington, John Lemist, Peter G. Robbins, John Champ- 
ney, Jacob Allen, was chosen to carry the objects of the sub- 
scribers into complete effect. The Parish, having accepted 
the offer of an organ. Dr. Robbins was made Treasurer of 
the fund, and a sub-committee, consisting of William Blaney, 



MUSIC 



343 



Joseph Harrington, Isaac Davis, and John Champney con- 
tracted Tvith Mr. Appleton to build an organ, and after its 
completion presented it to the Parish in behalf of the sub- 
scribers, who at last had the satisfaction of seeing an organ 
erected much superior to what were their most sanguine 
hopes at the commencement of their exertions, and under 
the impression that the Parish would, from time to time, 
grant such liberal support as would command a person of 
talents whose performances would excite in us that pure 
and holy spirit of devotion which is due to the Great Author 
and Disposer of all things. 
The subscribers were as follows : — 



Jonathan Dorr . 
John Lemist . . 
Peter G. Robbins 
John Parker . . 
Nathaniel Snow 
Thomas Williams 
Nehemiah Munroe 
Eben. Crafts . . 
Isaac Davis . . 
Sam'l Wait . . 
Tho. Robinson . 
Jno. Champney 
Eben. Francis . 
Elijah Vose Jr. . 
W™. Lambert . 
Joseph Williams 
Stedman Williams 
A. D. Williams . 
looses Davis . . 
W™. C. Hunneman 
Sam'l Doggett . 
W^. H. Spooner 
Chenery Clark . 
Misses Waite . . 
William Eustis . 
John W. ChUd . 
Benj.. Meriam . 



$110.00 William Blaney $30.00 

110.00 Samuel Guild 40.00 

115.00 Louisa Williams 5.00 

100.00 Lewis Withington. . ... 3.00 

20.00 Asa Bugbee 5.00 

50.00 Ezra Morse 5.00 

38.00 Aaron Willard 10.00 

30.00 Sam'l Langley 15.00 

70.00 James Riley 5.00 

50.00 Martha Ruggles 10.00 

25.00 Benj. Weld 35.00 

30.00 Joseph Ward 8.00 

25.00 John Doggett 70.00 

10.00 Joseph Harrmgton . ... 30.00 

15.00 Nathl Dorr 32.00 

10. .00 Jon^^ Hunnewell 30.00 

20.00 Friends 6.00 

35.00 Edmund Munroe .... 25.00 

10.00 Joseph H. Hawes .... 7.00 

20.00 Isaac Rand 3.00 

25.00 Tho. Lillie 10.00 

10.00 David Baker 10.00 

15.00 Eben' Bugbee 6.00 

4.00 John Lowell 25.00 

10.00 Charles Davis 50.00 

6.00 Elijah Lewis 10.00 

3.00 Eliza Brewer 5.00 



344 



THE FIFTH MEETING HOUSE 



William Langley . 




. $5.00 


W™. Blanchard . 




. 20.00 


Jon*. A. Richards 




. 10.00 


W™. Blanchard . 




15.00 


W°i. Pratt .... 




. 10.00 


Sam'l Sumner . . 




. 10.00 


William Patten . . 




25.00 


Susan Davis . . . 




. 10.00 


Jos. Hastings . . . 




s.oo 


Guy Carlton . . . 




5.00 


Abigail Meriam . 




. 15.00 


Andrew Robertson 




3.00 


Francis Dana . . 




2.00 


John Whittemore . 




2.00 


James Adams. . . 




3.00 


D. A. Simmons . . 




. 10.00 


John C. Estabrook 




4.00 


Sherman Leland . . 




. 10.00 


Eliphalet Porter . . 




. 35.00 


Abigail Seaver . . . 




. 10.00 


Stephen S. Davis . . 




5.00 



Charles Fox $3.00 

Nathl Magoon 2.00 

John Clap 3.00 

Benj. B. Curtis S.OO 

Thos. K. Jones 20.00 

John Williams 5 . 00 

John A. Lowell 10.00 

Asa Whitney 10.00 

Dan'lWild ...*... 5.00 

Austin & Fowle 15.00 

Jacob Allen 10.00 

Mrs. Williams 5.00 

N. D. Williams 15.00 

Amos Smith 5.00 

Z. B. Adams 10.00 

Daniel Saimderson .... 15 . 00 

W™, Dore 5.00 

Mary Williams 5.00 

Cap. Cazneau 2.00 

Thos. W. Scott 2.00 



Total amount of subscriptions was $1816. The organ 
cost $1800 agreeably to contract and was finished in Nov. 
1821. Mr. Taylor was paid $25 for playing on it and other 
services. 

In 1849 it was found necessary to put the organ in complete 
repair, $600 being raised by subscription for that purpose. 
The following year, however, members of the congregation 
subscribed for a new organ. 

In May, 1822, it was determined to engage Miss Emma 
Dillaway as organist for the term of six months from the 
13*^1 of May, as for the previous six months she had gener- 
ously given her services, and to allow her pay during that 
time at the rate of one hundred and fifty dollars per year. 
She was discharged Nov. 13, 1822, and Mr. Joseph Wilson 
appointed organist began his duties Nov. 17, 1822, and 
continued to serve until April, 1825. He was followed by 



MUSIC 345 



K. B. Stratford in 1825 and 1826. Geo. W. Hewitt, 1827; 
Geo. O. Farmer 1828 and 1829; Asa Fillebrown, 1830 to 
1836; John N. Pierce, 1837; George O. Farmer, 1838 to 
1848. About 1830 the Hymn Book used was "A collection 
of Psalms and Hymns," by Rev. Dr. Francis W. P. Green- 
wood and this continued to be used until 1877, when it was 
succeeded by the Hymn and Tune Book, published by the 
American Unitarian Association, in use at the present time. 

The vocal part of the music had, since its beginning in 
the latter part of the eighteenth century, been rendered 
entirely by volunteers, and the first time the choristers were 
mentioned by name, for the purpose of leading, was when 
Jonathan Harrington was chosen in 1811. He was followed 
by Benjamin Baker Davis in 1816, William K. Phipps in 
1816, James G. Loring m 1820, John Willard in 1820, John 
Fuller in 1822, Joseph W. Tucker in 1827, Isaac Cham- 
berlain from Jan. 1, 1829, to Jan. 1, 1850. 

The first paid singers were Mrs. Sophia M. Blendell, 
soprano, and Miss Elizabeth Clap Rumrill, alto, who entered 
the choir in 1827, and toward their salaries twelve members 
of the Society agreed to pay $31.50. Mrs. Blendell served 
until 1834, being followed by Mrs. E. A. Hildreth, 1835 and 
1836; Miss Louisa Corporal, 1837; Miss Bugbee, 1838; Miss 
Susan Wilde Hunt, 1839 to 1843; Miss Rose, 1844. Miss 
Rumrill served until 1837, being followed by Mrs. Louisa A. 
Egan, 1838; Miss Myra Hunt, 1839 and 1840; Miss S. C. 
Jones, 1841; Miss Susan J. M. Jones, 1841; Miss H. L. 
Shepard, 1843 and 1844. The only men mentioned in the 
same period, beside Mr. Chamberlain, were Mr. Levi W. 
Slack in 1830, John Bartlett m 1835, Samuel Ames, 1836, 
Samuel Guild, 1838. There were no choirs between the 
latter part of 1844 to 1848 with the exception of the chorister 
and organist, and the voluntary system of music was intro- 



346 



THE FIFTH MEETING HOUSE 



duced as then practiced in some of the Congregational 
churches. About this time the Committee recommended a 
large choir and a more eflBicient one, and it was hoped that 
some of the congregation who were competent would volun- 
teer their assistance. Since 1849 the choirs have been full, 
and among the names may be found many who in after years 
attained a high reputation as singers, the lists being as 

follows : — 

1849 1850 

Organist . Adolph Baumbach. Adolph Baumbach. 

Soprano . Mary Ann Forau. Mary Ann Forau. 

Alto . . . Miss L. A. Grossman. Miss L. A. Grossman. 

Tenor . . Isaac Ghamberlain. Benjamin Butler. 

Bass . . Loring B. Barnes. Loring B. Barnes. 



1851 
Organist . Adolph Baumbach. 
Soprano . Mrs. George B. Fowle. 
Alto . . . Miss Sarah Gushing. 
Tenor . . Jolm H. Low. 
Bass . . David A. Granger. 

1853 
Organist . Adolph Baumbach. 
Soprano . 'Mis. George B. Fowle. 
Alto . . . Miss Sarah Gushing. 
Texuyr . . John H. Low. 
Bass . . Thomas A. Upham. 

1855 
Organist . Adolph Baumbach. 
Soprano . Mrs. Ellen Fowle. 
Alto . . . Miss Sarah Gushing. 
Tenor . . John H. Low. 
Bass . . Thomas A. Upham. 

1857 
Organist . Adolph Baumbach 
Soprano . Mrs. Lizzie Hayward. 
Alto . . . ISIrs. Julia Meston. 
Tenor . . John B. Thayer. 
Bas . . George Wright. 



1852 
Adolph Baumbach. 
Mrs. Greorge B. Fowle. 
Miss Sarah Gushing. 
John H. Low. 
David A. Granger. 

1854 
Adolph Baumbach. 
Mrs. George B. Fowle. 
Miss Sarah Gushing. 
John H. Low. 
Thomas A. Upham. 

1856 
Adolph Baiunbach. 
Mrs. Ellen Fowle. 
Miss Sarah Gushing. 
John H. Low. 
Thomas A. Upham. 

1858 
Adolph Baumbach. 
Mrs. Lizzie Haj'ward. 
Mrs. Julia Meston. 
John H. Low. 
George Wright. 





MUSIC 


347 




1859 


I860 


Organist , 


, Adolph Baiimbach. 


Adolph Baiimbach. 


Soprano . 


. Mrs. Ellen Fowle. 


Miss Addie Ryan. 


Alto . . . 


, Mrs. Julia Meston. 


Mrs. Julia Meston. 


Tenor . . 


, John H. Low. 


John H. Low. 


Bass . . 


, Charles E. Pickett. 


Charles E. Pickett. 




1861 


1862 


Organist . 


Adolph Baiimbach. 


Henry W. Edes. 


Soprano . 


Miss Addie Ryan. 




Alto . . . 


Mrs. Julia Meston. 


Mrs. Julia Meston. 


Tenor , . 


John H. Low. 


John H. Low. 


Bass . . 


, Charles E. Pickett. 


Charles E. Pickett. 




1863 


1864. 


Organist . 


Henry W. Edes. 


Henry W. Edes. 


Soprano . 


Cook. 


Cook. 


Alto . . . 


Mrs. Julia Meston. 


Mrs. Julia Meston. 


Tenor . . 


John H. Low. 




Bass . . 








1865 


1866 


Organist . 


Henry W. Edes. 


Henshaw Smith. 


Soprano . 


ISIrs. Ellen Fowle. 


Miss Sarah Barton. 


Alto . . . 


Sarah Shattuck. 


Miss Julia Barden. 


Tenor . . 




WiUiam F. McDonald. 


Bass . . 




Henry C. Barnabee. 




1867 


1868 


Organist . 


Henshaw Smith. 


Frank F. Tingley. 


Soprano . 


Miss Sarah Barton. 


Miss Sarah Barton. 


Alto . . . 


Miss Matilda Phillips. 


Mrs. Harriet L. Guilmette. 


Tenor . . 


William F. McDonald. 


Edward Prescott. 


Bass. . . 


Henry C. Bamabee. 


Dr. Charles A. Guilmette. 




1869 


1870 


Organist . 


Charles Smith. 


Charles Smith. 


Soprano . 


Miss Sarah Barton. 


Miss Vera Cross. 


Alto . . . 


Mrs. Harriet L. Guilmette. 


Miss Helen M. Mead. 


Tenor . . 


Edward Prescott. 


M. L. Ingalls. 


Bass . . 


Dr. Charles A. Guihnette. 


G. W. Dudley. 



348 



THE FIFTH MEETING HOUSE 





1871 


1872 


Organist . 


Charles Smith. 


Miss Caroline E. Symonds. 


Soprano . 


Miss Vera Cross. 


Miss Vera Cross. 


Alto . . . 


Miss Helen M. Mead. 


Miss A. Franklin. 


Tenor . . 


M. L. Ingalls. 


M. L. Ingalls. 


Bass . . 


G. W. Dudley. 


G. W. Dudley. 




1873 


1874 


Organist . 


Miss Caroline E. Symonds. 


Miss Caroline E. Symonds. 


Soprano . 


Miss Annie L. Harmon. 


Miss Annie L. Harmon. 


Alto . . . 


Miss Anna C. Holbrook. 


Miss Anna C. Holbrook. 


Tenor . . 


M. L. Ingalls. 


M. L. Ingalls. 


Bass . . 


G. W. Dudley. 


G. W. Dudley. 




1875 


1876 


Organist . 


Charles R. Ford. 


Charles R. Ford. 


Soprano . 


Mrs. George K. Hooper. 


Mrs. George K. Hooper. 


Alto . . . 


Miss Anna C. Holbrook. 


Mrs. Frank Goodwin. 


Tenor . . 


John Henry Stickney. 


John Henry Stickney. 


Bass . . 


Dr. Charles W. Goddard. 


Dr. Charles W. Goddard. 




1877 


1878 


Organist . 


Charles R. Ford. 


Charles R. Ford. 


Soprano . 


Mrs. George K. Hooper. 


LiUan Norton. 


Alto . . . 


Miss Emma Hathaway. 


Mrs. Flora E. Barry. 


Tenor . . 


Jolm Henry Stickney. 


John Henry Stickney. 


Bass . . 


David Marks Babcock. 


David Marks Babcock. 




1879 


1880 


Organist . 


John A. Howard. 


John A. Howard. 


Soprano . 


Mrs. Marie Stone McDonald. 


Miss Vinnie H. Maynard. 


Alto . . . 


Mrs. Flora E. Barry. 


Mrs. Jennie B. Wadleigh. 


Tenor . . 


, W. H. Wadleigh. 


W. H. Wadleigh. 


Bass . . 


, David Marks Babcock. 


David Marks Babcock. 




1881 


1882 


Organist , 


. John A. Howard. 


John A. Howard. 


Soprano , 


. Mrs. M. E. Gibson. 


Miss Etta J. Allen. 


Alto. . . 


. Mrs. Jennie B. Wadleigh. 


Miss H. Idel Miles. 


Tenor . 


. Samuel M. King. 


Samuel M. King. 


Bass . 


. Frank H. Hathorne. 


Walter A. Adams. 





MUSIC 


349 




4883 


1884 


Organist , 


, Charles R. Ford. 


Charles R. Ford. 


Soprano . 


. Mrs. Leonora Chamberlain 
Simmons. 


Miss Etta Kileski. 


Alto . . . 


, Mrs. Agnes Giles Spring. 


Mrs. Agnes Giles Spring. 


Tenor . . 


, Samuel M. King. 


Samuel M. King. 


Bass . . 


, G. L. Olney. 


Arthur W. Thayer. 




1885 


1886 


Organist . 


, Charles R. Ford. 


William Frese. 


Soprano . 


, Miss Etta Kileski. 


Miss Maud Starkweather. 


Alto . . . 


, Mrs. Agnes GDes Spring. 


Mrs. Agnes Giles Spring. 


Tenor . . 


, Samuel M. King. 


Samuel M. King. 


Bass . . 


, Arthur W. Thayer. 


Arthur W. Thayer. 




1887 


1888 


Organist . 


Frank O. Nash. 


Frank O. Nash. 


Soprano . 


Miss Maud Starkweather. 


J Mrs. Lillian R. Hayman. 
IMiss Alice May Bates. 


Alto . . . 


]\Irs. Agnes Giles Spring. 


Mrs. Agnes Giles Spring. 


Tenor . . 


Samuel M. King. 


Samuel M. King. 


Bass . . 


Arthur W. Thayer. 


Arthur W. Thayer. 




1889 


1890 


Organist . 


Philip Hale. 


Philip Hale. 


Soprano . 


, Miss ISIinnehaha Scoffield. 


Mrs. Edlefson. 


Alto . . . 


, Miss Georgie M. Wiggins. 


Miss Whiting. 


Tenor . . 


, Thomas Came. 


Merrill. 


Bass . . 


. Walter H. Edgerly. 


Walter H. Edgerly. 




1891 


1892 


Organist . 


. Philip Hale. 


Philip Hale. 


Soprano , 


, Helen M. Yoimg. 


Mrs. Lilian Atkinson. 


Alto . . . 


, Maud Wilson. 


Mrs. Joseph W. Homer. 


Tenor . , 


, Thomas E. Johnson. 


Thomas E. Johnson. 


Bass . . 


, Walter H. Edgerly. 


Walter H. Edgerly. 




1893 


1894 


Organist . 


. Philip Hale. 


PhUip Hale. 


Soprano . 


, Maud Williams. 


Miss Carolyn H. Parish. 


Alto . . . 


, Miss Edith MacGregor. 


Miss Edith MacGregor. 


Tenor . , 


. Thomas E. Johnson. 


Robert T. Hall. 


Bass . . 


. Walter H. Edgerly. 


Walter H. Edgerly. 



350 



THE FIFTH MEETING HOUSE 





1895 


1896 


Organist 


. Philip Hale. 


Pliihp Hale. 


Soprano 


. Miss Carolyn H. Parish. 


Miss Carolyn H. Parish. 


Alto . . 


. Miss Edith MacGregor. 


Mrs. Edith M. Woods, 


Tenor . . 


Robert T. HaU. 


Archie MacDonald. 


Bass . 


. Walter H. Edgerly. 


Charles H. Bennett. 




1897 


1898 


Organist . 


. Philip Hale. 


Philip Hale. 


Soprano , 


, Miss Carolyn H. Parish. 


Miss Gertrude IVIiller. 


Alto . . , 


, Mrs. Edith M. Woods. 


^Irs. Edith M. Woods. 


Tenor . . 


, Frederick W. Bancroft. 


Frederick W. Bancroft. 


Bass . , 


, Charles H. Bennett. 


Charles H. Bennett. 




1899 


1900 


Organist . 


Philip Hale. 


Philip Hale. 


Soprano . 


Miss Gertrude Miller. 


Miss Lottie M. Mackay. 


Alto . . . 


, Mrs. Edith M. Woods. 


Mrs. Edith M. Woods. 


Tenor . , 


Frederick W. Bancroft, 


Louis E. Black. 


Bass . . 


, Frederick E. Kendall, 


Frederick E. Kendall. 




1901 


1902 


Organist . 


Philip Hale. 


Philip Hale. 


Soprano . 


Mrs. Blanche M. West, 


Miss Clara Sexton. 


Alto . . . 


Mrs. Edith M. W^oods. 


Mrs. Edith M. W^oods. 


Tenor . . 


Louis E. Black. 


Louis E. Black. 


Bass . . 


Frederick E. Kendall, 


Frederick E. Kendall. 




1903 


1904 


Organist . 


Philip Hale. 


Philip Hale. 


Soprano . 


Miss Clara Sexton. 


Miss T^aura Van Kuran. 


Alto . . . 


Mrs. Edith M. Woods. 


Miss Edith Castle. 


Tenor . . 


Louis E. Black. 


Joseph Viau. 


Bass . . 


Frederick E. Kendall. 


Frederick E. Kendall. 



There is no record of any fixed choir or paid singers until 
1827 chiefly because of the small amount appropriated each 
year for the use of the singers before 1822, which averaged up 
to that time about $100, while from April 16, 1822, to Jan, 1, 
1827, $300 was appropriated each year to pay the organist 
and chorister. Between 1827 and 1835 there was no appro- 
priation voted by the Society. On Oct. 1, 1831, the under- 



MUSIC 



351 



signed members of the First Religious Society in Roxbury 
agreed to pay the sums set against their respective names, to 
the Committee of said Society, to defray the expense on an 
organist and other indispensable items for encouragement of 
the music generally. 



Paid — 

Guy Carleton . 
Sam J. Gardner 
William Phipps 
John Lemist . 
Ebenr Crafts . 
S. C. Thwing 
Joseph Vila . 
Misses Davis 
Thos. Simmons 
Thos. Brewer 
Jon* Dorr 
J. B. Fowle 
Chas. Grant . 
William White 
Abijah Meriam 
Isaac Wyman. 
Caroline L. Eustis 
D. A. Sigomiiey 
Nat. Dorr . . . 
Charles Hichling 
Dea. John Clap 
W«i Bacon . . 
Chas. Bullard . 
Moses Whiting . 
W°iFisk . . . 
John Bartlett . 
Sam'l Guild . . 
Joseph Callender 
Ozias Field . . 
Nahum Ward . 
Ralph Crooker . 
Nathan Smith 
A. M. Withington 
W^Da^is . . 
Will^i Don- 



Paid — 

$ 5 . 00 Sam'l H. Hunneman 

5.00 Dyer . . 

5.00 E.W.Bradley 

15 . 00 Eben Francis 

15.00 Jno. Parker 

10.00 Charles Davis 

.5.00 David Dudley 

5.00 D. A. Simmons 

5.00 B. F. Copeland 

5 . 00 John Lowell 

3.00 H. A. S. Dearborn 

5.00 A.D.Williams 

5 . 00 Isaac Dam . , 

5.00 Enoch Bartlett 

5.00 W. Gore. . . . 

1.00 S. Williams . , 

5.00 P. G. Bobbins , 

2.00 Jos. Harrington 

2.00 E. G. Lemon . 

3.00 Lemuel IMills . 

3.00 John J. Clarke 

2.00 F.S.Eastman 

1.00 W°iH. Spear 

2.00 Ben j. Weld . 

3.00 Asa Bugbee 

5.00 Aaron Willard 

5 . 00 Mr. Wainwright 

2.00 M. Durand . 

1.00 M. Ward . . 

2.00 E. Taber . . 

2.00 Jacob Allen 

2.00 Jacob Marshall 

2.00 Stedman Williams 

6.00 N. D. Williams. . 
2.00 



$2.00 
2.00 
2.00 
15.00 
15.00 
10.00 
5.00 
5.00 
5.00 
15.00 
5.00 
5.00 
5.00 
5.00 
5.00 
S.OO 
5.00 
2.00 
3.00 
1.00 
2.00 
2.00 
3.00 
2.00 
1.00 
1.00 
2.00 
2.00 
1.00 
1.00 
1.00 
1.00 
2.00 
2.00 

288.00 



352 THE FIFTH MEETI^^G HOUSE 

In 1834, Joseph W. Tucker advanced $93,33 for church 
music, otherwise the singers must have received no com- 
pensation for their services until 1836, when $450 was appro- 
priated for music, and from 1836 to 1850 between $400 and 
$500. In 1850 $750, and the amount was gradually in- 
creased until over $3000 was reached. 

The first mention of a committee on music was at the 
annual meeting in 1835, when Joseph Harrington, chairman, 
Samuel J. Gardner and Charles P. Blaney were appointed 
a committee to take charge of church music or as the records 
have it " to see that Church Music is regularly performed in 
First R. Society, each Sabbath in the ensuing year. Said 
Committee to have the direction and Control of the same." 
From this it may be inferred that the music was very irregular 
and uncertain. 

Their successors in office with dates of appointments were; 

Jan. 4, 1836. Doctor P. G. Robbins, Galen Bowditch, Joseph W. Tucker. 

Jan. 2, 1837. John Lemist, Dr. Henry Bartlett. 

Jan. 1, 1838. Standing Committee and Joseph Harrington, John Lemist, 

Dr. Henry Bartlett. 
May 7, 1849. F. C. Loring, S. P. Blake, J. W. Tucker, J. J. May, Ephraim 

Harrington. 
Jan. 6, 1851. John Rogers, George W. Dodd, Charles Hickling, Joseph W. 

Tucker, John J. May. 
Jan. 2, 1854. John Rogers, Charles Hickling, Joseph W. Tucker, John J. 

May, Almon D. Hodges. 
Jan. 4, 1858. John Rogers, Joseph W. Tucker, John J. May, Almon D. 

Hodges, Henry W. Pickering. 
Jan. 2, 1860. John Rogers, Joseph W. Tucker, John J. May, Henry W. 

Pickering. 
Jan. 4, 1864. John Rogers, Joseph W. Tucker, Henry W. Pickering, 

Samuel C. Cobb, Lyman Hollingsworth. 
Jan. 2, 1865. Samuel C. Cobb, Lyman Hollingsworth, Henry W. Pickering, 

Josiah Wheelwright. 
Feb. 6, 1866. Theodore Otis, Charles J. Danforth, Franklin Greene, John 

Felt Osgood, William Crosby. 
Jaa. 7, 1868. Charles J. Danforth. 
Jan. 5, 1874. Charles J. Danforth, Horatio Harris, Israel G. Whitney. 



MUSIC 353 



Jan. 4, 1875. Franklin S. Merritt. 

Jan. 7, 1878. William A. Beattie. 

Jan. 2, 1882. The Standing Committee. 

Jan. 1, 1883. George A. Dary, R. B. Fairbairn. 

Jan. 4, 1886. Greorge A. Dary, R. B. Fairbairn, Mrs. Leonard Ware, Jr. 

Jan. 2, 1888. George A. Dary, R. B. Fairbairn. 

Jan. 7, 1889. G. H. Wilson, Mark Hollingsworth. 

Jan. 5, 1891. Mark Hollingsworth. 

Jan. 6, 1896. Theodore M. Plimpton. 

Jan. 4, 1897. N. O. Whitcomb, Stephen H. Williams, James A. Waddington. 

Jan. 2, 1899. N. O. Whitcomb. 



354 THE FIFTH MEETING HOUSE 



THE SUNDAY SCHOOL 

In the early days of the church the young people were 
carefully watched over and disciplined, and at least once a 
year were catechised by the Pastor or Elders. December 
6th, 1674, Eliot writes in the Church Book: 

"This day we restored o'" primitive practice for the training up of o' 
youth, first o*" naale youth (in fitting season) , stay every Sab : after the evening 
exercize, in the Pub: meeting house, where the Elders will examine their 
remembrance yt day, & amy fit poynt of catechise. Secondly yt o"" female 
youth should meet in one place, where the Elders may examine ym of theire 
remembrance yesterday & about catechise, or what else may be convenient." 

From that time there is no special mention in the records 
of a Sunday school, though we know that the Pastors and 
Elders continued to watch over and discipline the youth of 
their flock. 

The Sunday school as we know it to-day was organized in 
Dr. Porter's time, and he is known to have taken an interest 
in the young and often talked in the school to the scholars. 
The first known superintendent was Mr. Clap, and he is 
mentioned as acting in 1841. Oct. 31, 1842, Mr. Williams, 
son of Mr. Isaac Williams, entered upon the duties, and 
Dec. 12, 1847, Mr. C. K. Dillaway became the superintendent 
and continued in office for nearly thirty years. He was 
succeeded by Mr. Adams Ayer, after whom there have been 
numerous superintendents, no one serving for any great length 
of time. In some years students from the Divinity School 
in Cambridge have filled the place. 

In the first half of the century the session was only between 
April first and December first, on account of the lack of heat 
and the difficulty of sending children any distance in cold 
and stormy weather. The time of service was sometimes 



THE SUNDAY SCHOOL 355 

between three and four in the afternoon, but more often 
before church service in the morning. 

The school assembled in the pews in the middle aisle of 
the church, and the opening exercises generally consisted of 
a short service with singing. The classes then adjourned to 
the square pews, where the class lessons were held. Just 
before the end of the hour they reassembled in the middle 
aisle, and after repeating the I^ord's Prayer and singing a 
hymn, the school was dismissed with a benediction. Some- 
times the school was addressed by a visitor. Mr. Wm. Crosby 
made an address annually, when a special collection was taken 
up for the benefit of the Children's Mission. 

There was no system in the class instruction. Each 
teacher used his or her own individual method. Some classes 
used the books common in the American Unitarian Associa- 
tion, but there was no compulsion in the use of these. Dur- 
ing Mr. Brooks' pastorate he held teachers' meetings, where 
the lessons were planned and discussed, but each teacher 
used her own method in carrying out the ideas thus gained. 

Prizes were given for regular attendance, and at Christmas 
and Easter there were special exercises. A collection was 
taken the first Sunday in each month, usually for the benefit 
of the Children's Mission. There was a library in connec- 
tion with the school, when books were given out and exchanged 
each Sunday. 

May 27, 1868, there was a mass meeting of Sunday school 
children in Music Hall in Boston, in which our school took 
an active part. On another occasion the school was taken 
in King's coaches to Boston, to see an exhibition of religious 
paintings, and for many years the annual Sunday school 
picnic was a popular feature. 

In the Report of the Society in 1880, the following was the 



356 THE FIFTH MEETING HOUSE 



REPORT OF THE SUNDAY SCHOOL 

The niunber of scholars now in the school is 130 ; the number of teachers 
27. A teachers' meeting is held once each fortnight on Friday at foiu- o'clock. 
These meetings are always open to all in the society who care to listen to a 
discussion of the work of the Sunday School. It is of the nature of a Bible 
Class. The hour of the School was changed in the autumn from three 
P.M. to a quarter of ten A.M. A gentleman from the senior class of the 
Di^^nity School in Cambridge has been engaged this year to assist in the 
superintendence of the school. The Library last year imderwent a careful 
examination, a large number of questionable books being thrown out. 
Nearly an equal number of new books, selected almost wholly from the 
catalogue of the Ladies' Commission, were added. Contributions are taken 
up in the school for the Children's Mission. The sum this year it is hoped 
win be about one hundred dollars. The Children's Christmas Festival has 
resulted in adding largely to the stores of Mr. Briggs, the Agent of the 
Roxbury Charitable Society. Instead of distributing gifts to our own children 
they have been asked to bring useful gifts, groceries, clothing, &c which have 
been given to Mr. Briggs. Large numbers of toys have also been sent to the 
Rev. Mr. WiUiam Bradley's Mission in Heath Street. The oflBcers of the 
School are 

Superirdendent, Rev. J. G. Brooks. 

Assistant-Superintendent, Mr. A. M. Judy. 

Librarians. Miss Abby Putnam and Miss Emma Lockwood. 

Teachers. 

Miss A. S. Baylies. Miss Nellie Lea\ntt. 

Miss Josephine Carret. Miss Elizabeth Leland. 

Mrs. Mary L. Clarke. Miss Maria D. Lockwood. 

Miss Annie V. Comins. IMiss Anna C. Lowell. 

Miss Helen T. Comins. Miss Susie H. Pickering. 

Miss L. B. Comins. Miss Laura M. Pollock. 

Miss Emily A. Crafts. Miss F. S. Rogers. 

Miss Sarah Dearborn. Miss Alice M. Sears. 

Mrs. Geo. B. Farnsworth. Miss Sophia Shepherd. 

Miss Kate Fearing. Miss Sarah Taber. 

Miss Emma Hutchins. Miss Annie H. Thwing. 

Mr. A. M. Judy. Miss Annie Ware. 

Miss Carrie Leavitt. Mrs. Fanny A. Wheelock. 
Miss E. W. Leavitt. 



THE HORSE SHEDS 357 

THE HORSE SHEDS 

The first mention in the church records of sheds for the 
protection, during services, of the horses of those Hving at 
a distance, was on Jan. 19, 1673, when leave was granted 
the inhabitants hving at a distance to have ground for 
temporary house for themselves and horses on the Sabbath. 

In March, 1701-2, leave was granted to build a stable to 
shelter hoi'ses at public meetings and on the Sabbath, and 
the next year leave was granted to those at Jamaica end to 
build a house near the meeting house for their accommoda- 
tion between services on the Sabbath day. The exact 
location of these sheds is unknown. 

There were 7 or 8 horse sheds erected in 1757 standing on 
a part of the ground now enclosed in the meeting house yard. 
In 1804, they were removed on to the triangular piece of land 
at the comer of Bartlett and Dudley Streets, where Cox 
Building now stands, and were then seven in number. In 
1828 they had become so much out of repair that it was 
deemed necessary to pull them down and erect new ones in 
their stead. The seven Old Proprietors conceived that they 
had a right to the land on which their sheds stood, by reason 
of their having had quiet possession thereof for more than 
twenty years (since 1804), and in that case came in for new 
ones on better terms than those who had requested leave of 
the Society to build an additional number. Therefore they 
were given the first choice and not compelled to take leases. 
All were to have the use of the sheds for twenty years by pay- 
ing to the Standing Committee one Dollar when the sheds 
were completed. 

The new sheds were erected, completed, and accepted by 
the building committee about Jan. 1, 1830, at a cost of $700. 
They were leased until Dec. 31, 1849, each proprietor paying 



358 THE FIFTH MEETING HOUSE 

about $35 to cover the cost of erection, and a rental of one 
cent per year if demanded. 

A list of the proprietors is as follows, the Old Proprietors 
being designated by a * 



No. 1. 


Charles Davis*. 


No. 2. 


John Lowell*. 


No. 3. 


William C. Hunneman*. 


No. 4. 


Enoch Bartlett. 


No. 5. 


Thos, K. Jones. ' 


No. 6. 


Susan and Sarah Davis*. 


No. 7. 


Eben Francis. 


No. 8. 


John Parker*. 


No. 9. 


Isaac Davis. 


No. 10. 


Caroline Langdon Eustis. 


No. 11. 


Samuel Billings. 


No. 12. 


David Dudley. 


No. 13. 


Ebenezer Crafts. 


No. 14. 


Nehemiah D. Williams*. 


No. 15. 


Benjamin Weld. 


No. 16. 


Aaron Kingsbury. 


No. 17. 


Stedman Williams. 


No. 18. 


Thomas Brewer. 


No. 19. 


John Champney. 


No. 20. 


Aaron D. Willams*. 


The following were afterwards transferred. 


No. 4 to Warren Fisher. 


No. 10 to Jonathan Chapman of Boston and later to Jas 


D. Gould. 


No. 11 to David A. Simmons. 


No. 12 to William I. Loring. 


No. 14 to Holman Page. 


No. 16 to AVilliam B. Kingsbury. 


No. 18 to Gardner Brewer. 



No. 19 to Benjamin Bangs. 

In 1850 the leases were renewed until 1859 when the sheds 
were entirely removed. 



CHARITABLE SOCIETIES 359 



CHARITABLE SOCIETIES 

Our church has always been foremost in good works, and 
has helped many good causes. The following Societies have 
been founded by members of the church. Some of them have 
ceased to exist, and others, enlisting the sympathy of those 
outside of our Society, have ceased to be strictly church 
organizations. 

Roxbury Charitable Society, 1794. 

The Roxbury Female Benevolent Society, 1827. 

Ladies' Religious Charitable Society, 1832-1835. 

The May Fair, 1842. 

Roxbury Branch of the United States Sanitary Com- 
mission, 1861. 

Lincoln Freedman's Aid Society, 1863-1873. 

The Roxbury Young Men's Union, 1875. 

The Woman's Alliance, 1887. 

Chapel Club, 1896-1906. 
Not only in organizing these Societies, but in carrying on 
the work, have the ladies of our church been the leaders. 
They have generously contributed both time and money, 
and have been active and indefatigable in making them a 
success. During the century, one or more members of almost 
every family connected with the church, has devoted herself 
to some one of these good works, and as it is impossible to 
name them all, I am sure that no one will take it amiss if I 
omit all personal mention. Where all have been faithful and 
done much, it is impossible to specialize. 

Besides the regular organizations, the ladies have been ever 
ready to answer special appeals, and to take their share in 
emergencies. In April, 1845, after a great fire at the Rope- 
walks, the ladies met and devised help for the sufferers, and 
many other instances of a like nature could be named. 



360 THE FIFTH MEETING HOUSE 

From time to time Sewing Circles have been organized and 
carried on for a few years, and then they seem to have died 
a natural death, until a new generation thought the time 
again auspicious for these social functions. 

The John Eliot Club, a purely social club for the men of 
the Society, was organized in 1890. 

THE ROXBURY CHARITABLE SOCIETY 

The meeting to organize this society was held in January, 
1794, probably the third Monday, the 20^^ day, at the resi- 
dence of Mr. William Lambert, the house still standing at 
the corner of Bartlett and Blanchard Streets. The fii'st 
officers of the Society were chosen at this meeting to hold 
office until the annual meeting. The Society was incor- 
porated Feb. 26, 1799. The first annual meeting was held 
at the old Parish Meeting House on Monday, Sept. 15^^, 1794, 
when a discourse was delivered by the Rev. Eliphalet Porter, 
our Pastor. 

Discourses or addresses were delivered at subsequent 
annual meetings by the following : — 

1795. Hon. Jolin Lowell of Roxbury. 

1796. John Bartlett, M.D., of Roxbury. 

1797. ]\Ir. Nathaniel Ruggles of Roxbury. 

1798. Rev. Thaddeus Mason Harris of the First Church, 

Dorchester. 

1799. Rev. John Foster of the First Church, Brighton. 

1800. Rev. William Emerson of the First Church, 

Boston. 

1801. Rev. John Eliot, D.D., of the New North Church, 

Boston. 

1802. Rev. Henry Cummings, D.D., of the First Church, 

Billerica. 

1803. Nathaniel S. Prentiss, M.D., of Roxbury. 



CHARITABLE SOCIETIES 361 

1804. Luther Richardson, Esq., of Roxbury. 

1805. Rev. Joshua Bates of the First Church, Dedham. 

1806. Rev. Charles Lowell of the West Boston Society, 

Boston. 

1807. Joseph Harrington, Esq., of Roxbury. 

1808. Henry Maurice Lisle, Esq., of Milton. 

1809. Rev. Samuel Gile of the First Congregational 

Parish, Milton. 

1810. Rev. Horace Holley of Hollis Street Church, 

Boston. 

1811. Rev. Edward Dorr Griffin, D.D., of Park Street 

Church, Boston. 

1812. Rev. Ezra Ripley of the First Church, Concord, 

Mass. 

1813. Samuel J. Gardner, Esq., of Roxbury. 

1814. Mr. Joseph Field of Boston. 

1815. Rev. Nathaniel L. Frothingham of the First 

Church, Boston. 

1816. Rev. Francis Parkman of the New North Church, 

Boston. 

1817. Rev. John Codman of the Second Church, 

Dorchester. 

1818. Rev. Prof. Henry Ware, D.D., of Harvard Col- 

lege, Cambridge. 

1819. Rev. John Pierpont of Hollis Street Church, 

Boston. 

1820. Rev. Prof. Edward Everett of Harvard College, 

Cambridge. 

In 1821 the custom of the annual address was discontinued. 
There was much ceremony attached to these annual meetings. 
A procession was formed in the afternoon at the Town 
House and proceeded under the escort of the local military 
company to the Meeting House, where the address was 



362 THE FIFTH MEETING HOUSE 

given and where music was a prominent feature. A collec- 
tion was always taken up. Thanks were always tendered to 
those who delivered the address for their "handsome address" 
or "ingenious discourse," or in some other quaint phrase. 
Hon. John Lowell was the first president of this Society, 
Hon. Increase Sumner and Hon. John Read the first vice- 
presidents, Nathaniel Ruggles the first secretary, Joseph 
Ruggles the first treasurer. 

The successors of these gentlemen have been many of the 
leading citizens of Roxbury, who have administered the 
affairs of the Society in a highly creditable manner. 

By the failure of the Norfolk Bank the accumulated funds 
of the Society were almost entirely lost, and its work of 
charity almost ceased, until by the exertions of Rev. Dr. 
Putnam and Deacon William Davis it was reorganized in 
1850, and a few years later it received the munificent legacy 
of Horatio Davis, which now amounts to about one hundred 
thousand dollars. The aim of the Society was to help the 
unfortunate. It is no longer a church institution, but con- 
tinues its usefulness in giving aid to those of good character 
living in Roxbury, whose misfortunes compel them to ask 
assistance. 

THE ROXBURY FEMALE BENEVOLENT SOCIETY 

Was organized in 1827, and since that time has been a very 
efficient aid in the charities in Roxbury. It gives employ- 
ment in sewing to a large number of women, and distributes 
many garments to the needy. It meets for its work, the cut- 
ting out of the garments, at Putnam Chapel every Monday 
morning at ten o'clock, from December to May. It has an 
employment committee and a loan and gift committee. 



CHARITABLE SOCIETIES 363 

LADIES RELIGIOUS CHARITABLE SOCIETY 

A few ladies having met at Mr. Putnam's on the evening 
of the 18th of October, 1832, after making arrangements for 
the formation of the society, adopted the following con- 
stitution. 

1st. That the association shall be called The Ladies' 
Religious Charitable Association of Roxbury. 

2nd. The officers shall be a President, Vice-President, 
Treasurer and Secretary to perform the customary duties of 
these officers. 

3rd. Meetmgs shall be held once a month, or more fre- 
quently, if deemed expedient, at the house of those members 
for whom it may be convenient. 

4th. The members shall employ themselves at the meet- 
ings about such kinds of work as they can make most avail- 
able, and each member shall be responsible for two dollars 
a year from the proceeds of her industry, or from some other 
source, to be paid into the treasury at, or before the last 
meeting in July, which shall be the annual meeting for the 
choice of officers, provided, however, that any two young 
misses, who feel unable to be responsible for so large a sum, 
may associate together to raise it. 

5th. Until otherwise determined, the funds of this associa- 
tion shall be annually appropriated for the support of some 
pious and promising young man, while preparing for the 
ministry, at the Theological school at Cambridge. 

6th. The association shall appoint a committee of three 
gentlemen annually to select some suitable young man to 
receive the aid of the association. 

7th. It shall be a leading object of the association, by read- 
ing or conversation, to conduce to the religious knowledge 
and improvement of its members. 



364 



THE FIFTH MEETING HOUSE 



8th. Any lady may become a member of this association 
by signing this constitution, and may withdraw at any 
annual meeting. 

* Denotes members withdrawn, f Members deceased. 



Mrs. Lemist. 
Mrs. C. L. Eustis. 
]\Irs. E. A. Putnam. 
Mrs. Susan Dow. 
Mrs. Persis R. Wliiting. 
Mrs. Catherine G. Gore. 

* Mrs. Frances Glover. 
Mrs. Rebecca C. Clark. 
Mrs. Rebecca Harrington. 
Mrs. Nancy Weld. 

Mrs. Sarah H. Crafts. 
Mrs. H. E. Bartlett. 
Mrs. Harriet Sigoumey. 
Mrs. Sally Ruggles. 
Mrs. Elizabeth Phipps. 
Mrs. Sarah Bradley. 
Mrs. E. Francis. 

* Mrs. Eliza B. Hickling. 
Mrs. Charlotte Reynolds. 
Mrs. M. F. Simmons. 

t Mrs. Sally Thwing. 
Mrs. Lucy Ward. 
Mrs. Julia F. Copeland. 

* Mrs. Eliza DaAis. 

* Mrs. Rebecca Dyer. 
Mrs. Lydia Faxon. 

* Mrs. H. A. S. Dearborn. 
Mrs. Sarah Guild. 

Mrs. D. Dudley. 
Mrs. Salome Davis. 
Mrs. M. Gardner. 
Mrs. C. Windship. 
Miss Caroline Porter. 
Miss ISIartha R. Porter. 
Miss Mary Faxon. 
Miss Harriet Bicknal. 

* Miss E. Brigham. 



Miss Jane Willard. 
Miss Caroline Maybin. 
Miss Rebecca R. Lowell. 
Miss Anna C. Lowell. 
Miss Susan G. Rogers. 
INIiss Sophia Snow. 
Miss Lucy Staniford. 
Miss Ann P. Lewis. 

* Miss Cordelia Richards. 

* Miss Helen Tuttle. 

* Miss Sarah Cimmiens. 

* Miss Marj' Cummens. 
Miss Mary Baker. 
Miss Matilda Bartlett. 

* Miss Susan Dow. 

* INIiss Harriet F. Edes. 
Miss Abby M. Sumner. 

* Miss Townsend. 
Mrs. Sally Eastman. 
Miss P. H. Patten. 
Miss Mary E. Fairbanks. 
Miss Frances Lemist. 
Miss Mary D. Guild. 
Mss Sarah A. Guild. 
Miss Sarah B. Bartlett. 
Miss Ann D. Bartlett. 

* IVIiss Caroline Allen. 
Miss Hannah Faxon. 

* Miss Frances Glover. 
Mrs. Abby Sumner. 
Miss Babson. 

IMiss Francis. 

Miss Francis. 

Miss Francis. 

* Misses Harriet & Abby Carlton. 

* Misses S. Grant & M. Frothing- 

ham*. 



CHARITABLE SOCIETIES 



365 



* IMiss Charlotte Butters. 

* Miss Eliza Butters. 

* Misses N. W. &. A. Davis. 

* 3 Misses Champney. 
2 Misses Whiting. 

* INIisses Elizabeth & Julia Le- 

land*. 
Misses Harriet & Sarah Ward. 
Misses Harriet and Susan Blan- 

chard. 

* Misses Sophia & Eliza Har- 

rington. 
Misses Salome H. Snow & E. 
Weld. 



Misses Caroline & Jane Bartlett. 

* Misses Salome & Marc White. 
Misses A. W. &. N. E. Baker. 

* ISIisses Mary W. Davis & S. H. 

Crafts. 
3 IVIisses Weld. 
Miss C. Brewer. 

* Miss C. Leland. 
Miss Mary P. Adams. 
Miss Eliza Bacon. 
Miss Mary Richards. 

* Mrs. Peter Sears. 
Miss Eliza Baldwin. 
Miss Ellen White. 



Journal of the Proceedings of the L. R. C. Association. 

October 23rd, 1832. A meeting was held at Dr. Porter's 
when a committee was chosen to soHcit subscriptions. 

October 31st. Met at Mrs. Putnam's. Mr. Putnam was 
appointed moderator and the following officers were elected 
for the ensuing year. 

Mrs. E. A. Putnam, President. 

Miss Caroline Porter, Vice President. 

IMrs. Rebecca C. Clark, Treasurer. 

Miss Sarah B. Bartlett, Secretary. 
It was voted that the meetings should be held on the third 
Tuesday of each month, in the evenings of winter, and the 
afternoons of summer. Also that two or more young ladies 
may associate together to produce the sum of two dollars. 

November 29th. First sewing meeting was held at Mrs. 
Putnam's. Commenced reading the life of Obelin. A 
donation was received from Miss Rebecca R. Lowell of one 
dollar, in addition to her subscription. Three new members 
were admitted. 

December 18th. Met at Mrs. Lemist's. Two new mem- 
bers. 

January 15th, 1833. A very full meeting at Mrs. Ward's. 



366 THE FIFTH MEETING HOUSE 

February 19th. Met at Mrs. Robbin's. Two new mem- 
bers were added. 

March Wth. A meeting at Mrs. David Simmons'. Life 
of Obelin was finished. Three new members were added. 

April ^Uh. Met at Mrs. Craft's. A letter was read from 
Professor Palfrey, recommending Mr. Briggs as a suitable 
person to receive the aid of the association, he was accord- 
ingly chosen. The meetings were changed to the afternoon 
of the third Wednesday in each month. Began to read the 
Listener. 

May 15th. First afternoon meeting at Mrs. Fairbank's. 

June 19th. At Dr. Porter's. A donation of three dollars 
was received from Mrs. Eustis. 

July 17th. Annual meeting at Mrs. E. Bartlett's. Very 
few members present. 

September 18th. At Mrs. Eastman's. No meeting in 
August. 

October 15th. First evening meeting at Mrs. Nancy Weld's. 

November 19th. Full meeting at Mrs. Putnam's. A 
letter was read from Mrs. Willard with proposals for pub- 
lishing her Travels in Europe. Voted to subscribe for one 
copy. The balance of the receipts for the past year $29 
were deposited in the Roxbury Savings Bank. The meetings 
were changed to Thursday. 

December llth. No meeting. 

January IQth, 1834. At Mrs. Patten's. A donation of 
$10 was received from the Misses Lowell. 

February 20th. Met at Mrs. Gardner's. Commenced 
reading Mrs. Willard's Travels. 

March 20th. At Mrs. Ward's. 

April llth. Meeting at Mrs. Gore's which was well 
attended. Two new members. 

May 15th. Met at Mrs. Lemist's. It was voted to con- 



CHARITABLE SOCIETIES 367 

tinue the meetings in the evenings, and to give up reading 
for the present. 

June \Qth. No meeting. 

July 17th. Annual meeting at Mrs. Eastman's. The 
same officers were elected, with the exception of Mrs. Clark, 
who declined. Miss Matilda Bartlett was chosen Treasurer. 
It was voted that a note of thanks should be addressed to 
Mrs. Clark for her services for the two preceding years. 
The balance of the receipts for the past year 6 dollars 
were deposited in the Savings Bank. 

August 21st. At Mrs. William Phipps'. 

September 18th. Very full meeting at Mrs. Snow's. 

October 16th. At Miss Porter's. Three new members 
were added. 

November 20th. At IVIrs. Benjamin Weld's, but four 
members present. 

December ISth. A meeting at Mrs. Putnam's. Mr. 
Parker of Lexington was proposed as a suitable person to 
receive the aid of the society. Reading was again adopted. 

January 22nd, 1835. Met at Mrs. Windship's. 

February 19th. At Mrs. J. Bartlett's. 

March 19th. Very pleasant meeting at Mrs. Ward's. 

April 2Srd. Full meeting at Mrs. Harrinton's. 

Here the Journal ends. Copied through the kindness of 
Miss Anna S. Everett in whose possession is the original. 



368 THE FIFTH MEETING HOUSE 



THE MAY FAIR 

The first May Fair was held May 1, 1842, in the hall of 
the old Norfolk House, It was started by Miss Polly Patten, 
who returned from the west filled with the desire to help the 
struggling Unitarian church in the town of Geneva, Illinois. 
It was the third Unitarian church in the west. The matter 
was discussed at the Sewing Circle, and the outcome was 
the first of the annual May Breakfasts and Fairs, which for 
many years were notable events in the town and church life. 
$800 was contributed by our church as the net result of this 
first Fair. We insert the following poem, not so much 
perhaps for its artistic merit as to preserve a quaint relic of 
the past. 

Lntvitation of the Ladies 

TO THE 

Mat MoiusnNG Fair. 

Oh come, friends, all come, 'tis our m^gent request, 
And aid us to build up the Church in tJie West. 
The ladies unite their best efforts together. — 
Their smiles shall insure you the fairest of weather. 

Should Eiu-us salute you on May's early morn, 
And Chill'd by his blast you feel cold and forlorn. 
The rich smoking coffee awaits your behest; 
Come and help us to build up the Church in the West. 

If to her you love best a fit offering you'd bring. 
Here are flowers all bright with the freshness of spring; 
Choose roses or lilies, or what you like best; 
And help us to build up the Church in the West. 

Would you please your young friends, here are gifts rich and rare, 
Here are dolls, who wear bonnets and dolls who have hair; 
The useful and pleasing your sight shall arrest; 
Then help us to build up the Church in the West. 



CHARITABLE SOCIETIES 369 

But we urge not such notions to patrons like ours, 
Though ingenioiis the works, and attractive the flowers, 
We appeal to your hearts ; let your actions attest 
Your zeal to erect the new Church in the West. 

So in ages to come, when the pure light of truth 
Shall comfort the old, and in peace guide the youth. 
On the old town of Roxbury their blessing shall rest; 
For she help'd to build up their Church in the West. 

The Fairs became highly popular not only in Roxbury, 
but many came from the neighboring towns. Young men 
walked or rode out from Boston to the Breakfasts. There 
was always a May Pole around which both young and old 
gathered, and tables of fancy articles, besides the ice cream 
and more substantial fare. After a time other churches 
joined in the preparations and it ceased to be a church insti- 
tution. The money collected annually was devoted to 
various popular uses, and during the Civil War, especially, 
these Fairs were a great attraction, the proceeds going to 
the soldiers. 

The Roxbury Branch of the Sanitary Commission, and 
the Lincoln Freedman's Aid Society, though started by the 
ladies in our church, soon embraced workers from all denomi- 
nations and the details of their work will be found elsewhere. 

THE ROXBURY YOUNG MEN'S UNION 

The Roxbury Young Men's Union was formed by the Rev. 
John Graham Brooks, during the year 1876. It was non- 
sectarian, and its object to improve the condition of the young 
men of Roxbury. They had rooms in a building at No. 4 
PjTichon Street, near the Police Station at Roxbury Crossing. 
Four years after it had been in existence, it had a member- 
ship of about two hundred, made up of working young men 
whose homes were not easily accessible to any such institution. 



370 THE FIFTH MEETING HOUSE 

Its success was in no small degree attributable to its position 
so near to tired men. It began with boys averaging hardly 
more than sixteen years of age. 

There were classes each evening in United States History, 
Political Economy, Bookkeeping, English, German, Music 
and Arithmetic. These were carried on by the generous 
help of the ladies and gentleman of the Parish. The most 
important was that of Citizenship under the personal super- 
vision of Mr. Brooks. Also weeldy talks on practical sub- 
jects. The Library contained about twelve hundred 
volumes. Through the influence of regular class work the 
members became possessed of a new feeling toward the 
Union, and were far more willing to sacrifice for it, and pro- 
posed a monthly payment that went towards its support. In 
1880 it had passed out of its dependant stage, and was almost 
self supporting. Nearly fifty members were influenced to 
deposit money in the Savings Bank connected with the 
Union, many of them making quite regular deposits. The 
members gave occasional entertainments at the Union and 
an exhibition in the church chapel each year to help meet 
the necessary expenses. It consisted of essays and discus- 
sions from the different classes. 

After the resignation of Mr. Brooks, the Union ceased to 
be a church institution. 

THE WOMAN'S ALLIANCE 

This is a branch of the "National Alliance," connected 
with our Church, and its aim is to enlist the interest of 
every woman in the Church in denominational and mission- 
ary work. Its meetings are held on the first Tuesday in 
every month from October to May, in Putnam Chapel, at 
3 o'clock. The first half hour is devoted to business; then 
follows a talk or lecture; afterwards tea is served, and a half 



CHARITABLE SOCIETIES 371 

hour is given to conversation. The annual membership fee 
is one dollar. Connected with it are the Post Oflace Mission 
and the Cheerful Letter Exchange. 

THE CHAPEL CLUB 
was organized in the fall of 1896 in order to bring the young 
ladies of ^the parish in oloser relations to each other and the 
church, and to give them a more vital interest in the work of 
the denomination. Many of the ladies of the church having 
felt the need of such a club, Mrs. DeNormandie in the 
spring of that year called a meeting at her house, where such 
a club was discussed and officers and directors elected to 
plan the work. At their first meeting, it was voted that the 
club should be called the "Chapel Club," and should hold 
its meetings on the last Tuesday of each month from October 
to May. These meetings have been made of particular 
interest and value by addresses given from time to time 
by Dr. DeNormandie and others. The constitution states 
that the object of the club is charity; therefore much of its 
work has been in raising money by fairs and entertainments 
of various kinds, and in distributing this, as well as clothing 
made by the club, to different charitable institutions of 
Roxbury and Boston, besides helping individual cases. In 
February, 1900, it joined the Young People's Religious Union, 
which brought it more in touch with denominational work. 
The club was never numerically large but it filled an impor- 
tant place in the church life until 1906, when it ceased to 
exist. 

THE JOHN ELIOT CLUB OF ROXBURY 
was organized January 9th, 1890. It is composed of gentle- 
men of the Parish of the First Religious Society over 18 years 
of age, who meet three times a year for the purpose of per- 
sonally meeting Dr. DeNormandie and to listen to papers 



372 THE FIFTH MEETING HOUSE 

or addresses upon works or questions connected with the 
Parish or denominational or social interests. 

ISIeetings of the Club are customarily held on the first 
Thursday of December and February and the second Thurs- 
day of April. They generally consist of a dinner at some 
quiet Boston hotel, after which the assembled members and 
their guests are addressed by such speakers as have been 
arranged for the meeting by the Council, which is the 
governing committee of the club. 

It is the custom of the club to hold at least one ladies' 
night during the year, and precedent has made this the 
annual meeting, which comes on the first Thursday of Feb- 
ruary. 

The first President of the club was Samuel Little. He 
was succeeded by John Tetlow. Since Mr, Tetlow's term 
of office, the Presidents have been Azariah Smith, James C. 
Davis, Robert C. Metcalf, W. Prentiss Parker, and Alfred 
Bunker. 

There are two Vice Presidents, a Secretary, a Treasurer, 
and an Executive Committee of six members who held 
office for three years, two being elected each year. The 
Officers and Executive Committee, a body of eleven, constitute 
the Council. 

The records of the meetings of the club are full of inter- 
est. Prominent men religiously, educationally, and politi- 
cally have been guests of the Club, and their addresses have 
been a source of great benefit to the members attending. 

Although a variety of subjects have been discussed before 
the meetings of the Club, yet the predominant idea has been 
to keep the Club as distinctly a religious club as possible. 




<SRa3^ JOHN ELIOT'S CHAIR. 



APPENDIX 



On Sunday evening, March 17, 1907, the First Parish in Dorchester 
graciously presented to the First Church in Roxbury a chair once be- 
longing to the Apostle Eliot, accompanied by a most interesting serdce. 

The presentation was made by Rev. Eugene R. Shippen, Pastor of the 
First Parish Church in Dorchester, and accepted by Rev. James De Nor- 
mandie, D.D., our pastor.' , The chair had . been> placed by the Rev. 
Thaddeus Mason Harris, D.D., in the Dorchester meeting house. After 
the services, the chair, a copy of Eliot's Indian Bible and the Church 
records, written by him, were placed ' on exhibition. On the pulpit rail 
were placed slips of ivy taken from the church in England in which 
John Eliot was christened. 

LINES WRITTEN BY A MEMBER OF THE DORCHESTER CHURCH 
It came to us. from early days. 

Perchance from English carver's hands ; 
In rude and simple fashion made, 
A relic of oiu- past it stands. 

Severe its outline, speaking plain 

Of work and hard New England fare. 

No welcome here for idleness, . . 

No frame for ease this ancient chair. - 

Dim through the mists of vanished years. 

A rugged face we seem to see, 
A shad'wy figure sitting there. 

The red man's gospel on his knee. 

Content the gentle preacher's smile. 

Deep in his eyes a happy light, — 
This man of God, whose record runs, 

"High piety and learning bright." 

Well pleased he looks to find his name 

And memory still burning clear. 
Glad that through him another bond 

Should knit the two old churches dear. 

Take then our treasure, place it here. 

Its rightful home, and may we see 
Old Dorchester and Roxbury live 

In constant love and imity. 



INDEX 



Abbot, Matilda Campbell, 332. 

Rebecca, 134. 

Rev. ]Mr., 166, 167, 178. 
Accers, Jokn, 69. 
Accor, Sister, 125. 
Acrees, John, 62. 

Desire-Truth, 62. 
Adams, J. D., 284. 

Abby Bartlett, 327. 

Abby (Pond-Richardson), 202. 

Abigail (Mears), 175. 

Abigail P., 292. 

Amos, 4, 109, 145, 153, 154, 155, 
156, 157, 159, 163, 164, 174, 
178, 187, 238, 338, 339. 

Daniel, 129. 

Edward Williams, 329. 

Elizabeth, 196. 

EHzabeth (Prentiss), 175. 

George, 287. 

Henry, 175. 

James, 261 , 329, 344. 

Jemima (Morse), 175. 

Joseph, 129. 

Mary, 129, 261, 329. 

Mary Ann (Leach), 287. 

Mary Perrm, 329, 364. 

Rachel (Lyon), 202. 

Rebecca, 130. 

Roger, 130. 

Sarah, 129. 303. 

Sarah (Chauncy), 175. 

Sarah May (Holland), 292. 

Theoda Hmmewell, 329. 

Thomas, 200, 252. 



Adams, Ursula, 46. 

Walter A., 348. 

Zabdiel, 202, 292. 

Zabdiel Boylston, 292, 344. 
Aggar, Lettese, 17, 44. 
Alcock, Esther, 129, 130. 

George, 1, 4, 43, 44, 45. 

John, 13, 43, 59. 

Palsgrave, 73. 

Samuel, 43. 

Sarah, 59. 

Wife of George, 43. 
Alden, Rebecca Nevcell, 309. 
Alexander, Edith, 274. 
Allen Calvin, 275. 

Caroline, 364. 

Etta J., 348. 

Jacob, 207, 275, 316, 330, 342, 
344, 351. 

Mary, 127. 

Mr., 72. 

Nancy, 285. 

Richard, 201. 

Sybil, 269. 

Sibyl (VS'illett), 207. 
Allyn, Dr., 247. 

Am. Unitarian Association, 345, 355. 
Ames, Fisher, 279. 

Samuel, 345. 

Sarah, 135. 
Amory, Anna Povpell Grant (Sears), 
332. 

Frances Elizabeth, 303. 

Rebecca, 307. 

William, 274, 332. 



375 



376 



INDEX 



Anderson, Gowen, 55. 

Thomas D., 230. 

Wife of Gowen, 55. 
Andrews, Agnes Quincy, 270. 

Fanny Mackay (RejTiolds), 319. 

Katharine Hamilton, 270. 

Samuel, 85. 

Thomas, 63. 

Wife of Thos., 63. 

William Turell, 309, 319. 
Andross, Edmund, 90. 
Appleton, Catherine (Lawrence), 323. 

Charles Tilden, 323. 

Mary Ann Louisa (Smith), 305. 

Mary Grave (Barker), 323. 

ISIr., 343. 

Wilham Channing, 214, 305. 
Archer, Caroline E., 321. 
Aspinal, Aspinall, Aspinwall — 

Caleb, 199. 

Eleazer, 130. 

Elizabeth, 124. 

Mary, 128. 

Mehitable, 124. 

Nathaniel, 124. 

Peter, 61, 69, 124. 

Remember (Palfrey), 61. 

Samuel, 124. 

Sarah, 127. 

Thomas, 73, 125. 
Astwood, James, 55. 

John, 51. 

Martha, 51. 

Sarah, 55. 
Atkins, Joane, 57. 
Atkinson, Anna Greenleaf (Sawyer), 
330. 

Amos, 330. 

Lilian, 349. 
Atwell, Adeline (Prentice), 326. 

Pickering, 326. 
Austin, Elizabeth, 311. 

Mr., 228, 344. 

Richard, 262. 
Avery, Nancy, 283. 
Ayer, Ayers, Ayres — 

Adams, 209, 214, 252, 281, 353. 

Adin, 206. 



Ayer, Ayers, Ayres — 
Elizabeth, 189. 
John, 252. 

Martha Augusta (EQnkley). 252. 
Solomon, 189. 
Susannah (Emerson), 252. 

Babb, Dorcas, 203. 
Babcock, Da\'id Marks, 348. 
Babson, Miss, 364. 
Bacon, Abiel, 128. 

Asenath, 202. 

Augustus, 267, 273. 

Dorothy, 128. 

Eben, 300. 

Eliza, 365. 

Eliza Ann Hales, 331. 

Elizabeth, 267. 

Elizabeth Moore (Lothrop), 273. 

Elizabeth W., 270, 317. 

Elizabeth (^^yman), 273. 

Emily D., 268. 

George, 199. 

Hephzibah, 199. 

Horace, 215, 269, 287, 290. 

Jacob, 128. 

Margaret, 264. 

Mary, 64, 127, 128. 

Mary P., 287. 

Miranda, 267. 

]\Iiranda (Wood), 290. 

Patience, 132. 

Philip, 132. 

Susan Gilchrist (EjOw), 300. 

Thomas, 64, 65. 

William, 229, 267, 273, 277, 289, 
351. 
Bayhes, A. S., 356. 
Baily, Bailey, Bayley — 

Anna, 133, 134. 

James, 74, 127. 

John, 129. 

Samuel, 134. 
Baker, A. W., 365. 

Abigail, 119. 

Amy, 262. 

Amy (Williams), 206. 

Anne, 128. 



INDEX 



377 



Baker, Benjamin, 193. 

Betsey, 305. 

Calvin, 262. 

David, 206, 262, 277, 343. 

Elizabeth, 57. 

Francis, 325. 

Hannah, 135. 

Hannah (Geegins), 206. 

John,125. 

Joseph, 124. 

Lydia May (Vose), 325. 

Mary, 120, 123, 124, 127, 263, 364. 

Mary Elizabeth, 267, 335. 

Mr., 141. 

N. E., 365. 

Nabby, 205. 

Nicholas, 52. 

Rhoda, 289. 

Robert, 120, 126. 

Sarah, 127. 

Thomas, 57, 124, 135. 
Balch, Agnes Love (Greene), 304. 

Benjamin, 228. 

Joseph Williams, 304. 

Maria (Hallet), 304. 

Nabby, 266. 
Baldwin, Eliza, 365. 

Elizabeth Anne (Gushing), 278. 

Elizabeth O., 265. 

Helen Sophia (HiU), 278. 

Luke, 276, 278. 

Sarah Collins, 286. 
Ball, Helen Sophia (Rogers), 275. 

Mary Vila, 305. 
Ballard, Elizabeth, 49, 51. 
Bancroft, Frederick W., 350. 
Bangs, Benjamin, 290, 358. 

Charlotte Augusta, 290. 

Edward D., 225. 

Mary E., 331. 

Mary Nye, 281. 

Sophia (Nye), 290. 

William A., 331. 
Bardakin, Hannah, 265. 
Barden, Julia, 347. 
Barker, Mary Grave, 323. 

Mrs., 58. 

Susan, 276. 

Susan Withers (Warden), 273. 



Barker, William Torrey, 273. 
Bamabee, Henry C, 347. 
Barnes, James Heru-y, 269, 278. 

Jane, 259, 290. 

Jane (Thompson), 202. 

Loring B., 346. 

Mary Viriginia (Buffington), 278. 

WiUiam, 202, 259, 290. 
Barrett, Ellen Maria, 270. 

Mary, 296. 

Mary Greenwood, 322. 
Barry, Flora E., 348. 
Barstow, Sarah Foster (Morton), 301. 

William C, 301. 
Bartholomew, J. G., 234. 
Bartlett, AbbyKane (DeWolf), 293. 

Abigail, 261. 

Abigail (Williams), 201. 

Ann D., 265, 293, 364. 

Ann Matilda, 296. 

Caroline, 293, 365. 

Caroline (Pratt), 292. 

Clarissa (Walker), 288. 

Elizabeth H., 306. 

Enoch, 227, 293, 351, 358. 

Hannah (Everett), 299, 364. 

Hannah Tilden, 320. 

Henry, 213, 299, 318, 352. 

Hosea, 320. 

Jane, 265, 365. 

John, 201, 227, 228, 229, 261, 281, 
316, 345, 351, 360. 

Levi. 288. 

Mary Helen, 267. 

Matilda, 364, 367. 

Mrs. E., 365. 

Mrs. J., 367. 

Rebecca Gorham, 331. 

Sarah, 265. 

Sarah B., 364, 365. 

Sidney, 292. 
Barton, Sarah, 347. 
Bass, Basse — 

Ann, 48. 

Mary, 190. 

Samuel, 48. 
Bates, Alice May, 349. 

Dr., 88. 
■ Edward Carrington, 266, 321. 



378 



INDEX 



Bates, Elizabeth Ames, 278. 
Joshua, 360. 
Mary C, 266. 
Mary Carohne (Cook), 321. 
Baumbach, Adoph, 346, 347. 
Baxter, Gregorie, 46. 
Hannah, 174. 
Margaret (Paddy), 46. 
Beal, EUzabeth, 304. 
Beattie, Amelia Ladd, 295. 

William Addison, 295, 353. 
Bearce, Job, 196. 
Bedomia, Lydia (Crafts), 129. 

Thomas, 129. 
Beers, Mary, 269. 
Belcher, Joseph, 112. 

Rebeckah, 112. 
Belknap, Charles, 167, 196. 
Isaac, 198. 
Jeremy, 342. 
Mary, 196. 
Bel], Margaret, 303. 
Thomas, 10, 52, 159. 
Wife of Thomas, 52. 
Benjamin, Mary, 190. 

Susan Margaret, 334. 
Bennett, Bennet, Bennit — 
Charles H., 350. 
John, 63. 
Mary, 64. 
Susanna, 63, 65. 
Bent, Elizabeth, 261. 
Bernard, Elizabeth, 131. 
Berry, Augustus Daniel, 268, 318, 
328. 
Mary Adeline, 318. 
Mary Adeline (Farnham), 328. 
Mary E., 268. 
Bicknal, Bicknell — 
Capt., 220. 
Harriet, 364. 

Humphrey, 171, 201, 229, 263, 291. 
Jemima, 263. 
Jemima (Jackson), 201. 
Bidford, Rebecca, 186. 
Bigelow, Jonathan, 322. 
Sarah (Brooks), 322. 
Bilbo, Edward, 135. 



Bilbo, Elizabeth, 135. 
Bills, Harriet (Colbum), 312. 

Shubael, 312, 324. 
BilHngs, Hester, 268. 
Hester (Gill), 305. 
Samuel, 292, 305, .358. 
Binney, Josephine (Hayward), 334. 

Henry Prentice, 334. 
Matthew, 271, 286, 326. 
Birchard, Bircharde — 

Mary, 52. 

Thomas, 52. 
Bird, James, 192. 
•Bishop, Lyddia, 127. 

Sarah, 188. 

Thomas, 122. 
Black, Louis E., 350. 
Blackburn, Elizabeth, 54. 

William, 54. 
Blackman, James, 261. 
Blake, Ann Boylston (Cunningham), 
327. 

Hannah, 130. 

James, 260. 

Samuel Parkman, 270, 299, 322, 
327, 328, 352. 

Sarah P., 267. 
Blanchard, Abigail Roe Dalton, 
330. 

Ann Isabel, 265, 330, 332. 

Augusta Woodbiu-y, 267. 

Charles, 265, 330. 

Charles H., 303. 

Charlotte Augusta, 267. 

Charlotte (Porter), 296. 

Harriet, 262, 301, 332, 365. 

Harriet (Lambert), 306. 

Hezekiah, 266, 296. 

Maty EUzabeth, 267. 

Mary Elizabeth (Seaver), 328. 

Mary (Elhot), 306. 

Mary E. (Stevenson), 303. 

Susan, 365. 

William, 214, 262, 301, 306, 315, 
328, 332, 344. 
Blaney, Aaron, 148, 162, 196. 

Abigail, 201. 

Ann H., 267. 



INDEX 



379 



Blaney, Anna, 263. 

Anna (Curtis), 203. 

Catherine, 289. 

Catherine (Mears), 198. 

Charles Pierpont, 278, 352. 

Mary, 199, 205. 

Samuel, 203, 300. 

William, 148, 156, 171, 190, 198, 
212, 217, 289, 342, 343. 
Blendell, Sophia M., 345. 
Bliss, Elijah, 199. 

Harriet, 334. 

Rebecca, 199. 
Blott, Mary, 47. 
Boardman, Bordman. 

Andrew, 133. 

Mary M., 270. 

Sarah, 133. 

WDliam S., 270. 
Boit, Edward Darley, 290. 

Harriet Auchmuty Howard, 326. 

Jane Parkinson (Hubbard), 290. 
Bodoono, Ebenezer, 143. 

Joseph, 187. 
Boltstone, Mary, 62. 
Bond, George WiUiam, 300. 

Louisa C. (Greenwood), 300. 

Sopliia Augusta (May), 300. 

WiUiam S., 269. 
Borden, Marietta Hathaway, 287. 
Borland, Mary Langdon, 274. 
Bosson, Abigail, 187. 

Deborah, 192. 

Eleanor, 188. 

John, 188. 

Mary, 133, 193. 

Nancy Brown, 205. 

Prudence (Mayo), 292. 

Suky, 304. 

Susanna (Mayo), 292. 

William, 132, 140, 143, 160, 210, 
211, 212, 220, 292, 338. 
Boston, 3. 

Bosworth, William Wells, 238. 
Boughey, Elizabeth, 57. 
Boiu-ne, Gerard, 58. 
Bowditch, Eliza Boardman Inger- 
soll, 292. 



Bowditch, Elizabeth Brown, 280. 
Elizabeth Brown (Francis), 284. 
Galen, 301, 352. 
Nathaniel Ingersoll, 280, 284. 
Sally (Davenport), 301. 

Bowdoin, Governor, 309. 

James, 158, 338. 

William, 150. 
Bowen, Boven, Bowiu, Bowing — 

Abigail, 125, 198. 

Catherine French, 327. 

Elizabeth, 60, 122, 132. 

Hannah, 128, 131. 

Isaac, 128. 

Johnson, 157, 159, 162, 167, 192, 
193. 

Joshua, 168, 195, 198. 

Margaret, 55, 124. 

Mary, 125, 196. 

Mehitable, 192. 

Pemiel, 126. 

Samuel, 168, 196. 

Sevanus, 331. 
Bower, John, 206. 
Bowles, Catherine Cushing(Lincola), 
298. 

Catherine L., 266. 

Dorothy, 56, 116. 

Elizabeth (Heath), 116, 117. 

Fanny M. (Darracott), 303. 

Frances (Burrows), 296. 

John, 24, 56, 67, 81, 116, 117, 
120, 121, 129, 135, 140. 

Leonard Crocker, 298, 303, 322, 
326, 334. ' 

Lyddia, 129. 

Martin Lincob, 303. 

Mary, 64, 133. 

Mary Elizabeth, 327. 

Sarah, 116, 123. 

Sarah (Eliot), 117. 
Bowman, Jonathan, 196. 

Lucy, 294. 

Lucy (Sumner), 304. 

William, 147, 162, 304. 
Boyd, Margaret Curry, 323. 
Boyles, Rev. Mr., 158. 



380 



INDEX 



Boyce, Boyse, Bowis — 

Elizabeth, 53. 

Johanna, 54. 

Matthew, 54. 

Wife of Matthew, 54. 
Boylston, Boistan — 

Anne, 128. 

Mary, 124. 

Peter, 128. 

Rebecca, 128. 

Susanna, 185. 

Thomas, 69, 121, 123. 
Boynton, Ahneria Rosaline, 294. 
Brackett, Brakket — 

Elizabeth, 126. 

Sarah, 124. 
Bradford, Charles Frederick, 266, 
293, 309, 321. 

Edward H., 270. 

Eleanor, 247. 

Eliza Edes (Hickling), 309. 

Fanny Gore, 270. 

Grace 270. 

Mrs. Samuel D., 282, 302. 

Bradlee, Bradley — 

Adeline D., 332. 

Agnes Love, 272. 

Edward W., 263, 277, 351. 

Emily Penelope, 306. 

Elizabeth Weld (WiUiams), 277. 

Frederick HaU, 325. 

Harriet, 308. 

Joshua, 195. 

Lemuel, 198, 262. 

Lucy, 325. 

Lucretia (Wainwright), 325. 

Mary, 261, 312. 

Mary (Hickhng), 305. 

Sarah, 195, 263, 364. 

Sarah Davenport, 254. 

Sarah Davis, 265. 

Sarah (Da\is), 277. 

W^ife of Lemuel, 198. 

William. 356. 
Bradstreet, Charlotte Augusta 
(Bangs), 290. 

Governor, 72. 

Mercy, 72. 



Bradstreet, Samuel, 290. 
Braid, John Bryant, 204. 
Brand, George, 57. 

Martha (Heath), 57. 

Matthew, 124. 
Brewer, Bruer — 

Abigail (Stone), 271. 

Ann, 58. 

C, 365. 

Daniel, 48, 58, 61, 123, 126. 

David, 176. 

Ebenezer, 169, 203, 210, 211, 212, 
218, 306, 312. 

Eliab, 228. 

Eliza, 343. 

Elizabeth, 61, 306. 

Elizabeth (Ruggles), 196. 

Elizabeth (White), 203. 

Gardner, 271, 334, 358. 

G. L., 228. 

Hannah, 61, 122. 

Joanna, 48, 122. 

John, 168, 192. 

Mary, 306. 

Mary (Foster), 203. 

Mary (Weld), 271. 

Nathaniel, 61, 65, 123, 124, 200. 

Rebecca, 306. 

Sarah, 118, 123, 126. 

Susan Curtis, 293. 

Susanna Davenport, 273. 

Thomas, 213, 228, 229, 230, 271, 
314,334,351,358. 

Wife of Nathaniel, 200. 

WilUam, 306, 312. 
Brewster, Frances, 294. 
Brick School House, 142. 
Bridge, Bridges — 

Edward, 54. 

Helen Maria, 319. 

John, 61. 

Marj% 54, 126. 

Prudence, 61, 118, 122. 
Briggs, Charles, 265, 320. 

Eliza (Casey), 320. 

Elizabeth, 265. 

Elizabeth G., 266. 

Harriet, 268. 

Mr., 356, 366. 



INDEX 



381 



Brigham, E., 364. 

Lucy (\\aiite), 315. 

Stephen, 259, 315. 
Bright, Ann, 60. 
Brinley, Ann Matilda, 265. 

Ann Matilda (Bartlett), 296. 

Edward, 229, 281, 296. 
Brintneal, Jonathan, 198. 

Polly, 198. 
Bromfield, Edward, 155. 
Brookline, 69, 73, 74. 
Brooks, Eunice, 261. 

Helen, 331. 

John Graham, 209, 236, 237, 244, 
355, 356, 368, 370. 

Kendall, 223, 261. 

Sarah, 322. 
Brown, Browne — 

Daniel, 197. 

Elizabeth, 128. 

Emily I., 268. 

John Coffin Jones, 293. 

Lydia Nowell, 323. 

Martha, 128. 

Mehittabel, 128. 

Samuel, 246. 

Timothy Dexter, 261. 
Bruce, Bruse — 

Sarah (Brewer), 118. 

Thaddeus, 199. 
Bryant, Joseph B., 324. 
Buclcman, Lucretia, 306. 
Buckmaster, Bukmaster, Buckmin- 
ster — 

Elizabeth, 62. 

Joseph, 62, 123, 127. 

Mary, 124. 
Buffinton, Eugene T., 269. 

Jonathan, 284, 305. 

Mary Ann (Churchill), 305. 

Mary Virginia, 268, 278. 
Bugbe, Bugbee, Bugbey, Bugby — 

Abigail, 132, 135. 

Asa, 228, 262, 288, 343, 351. 

Daniel, 135, 139, 159, 192. 

Ebenezer, 167, 196, 288, 343. 

Edward, 62, 124. 

Ehzabeth, 185. 

Experience, 120. 



Bugbe, Bugbee, Bugbey, Bugby — 

Jane, 288. 

Joanna, 128. 

John, 120. 

Joseph, 120, 123. 

Judith, 46. 

Mary, 128, 191. 

Mary (White), 196. 

Miss, 345. 

Nancy, 272. 

Rebecca, 124. 

Richard, 46. 

Samuel, 221. 

Sarah, 128. 

Wife of, 63. 

WiUiam, 192. 

, 63. 

Bull, Henry, 53. 

Bullard, Alfred Monson, 211, 306. 

Chas., 351. 

Magdalen, 59. 

Sarah, 124. 
BuUdey, John, 113. 
Bumstead, Bmnsted — 

Frances (Gore), 292. 

John, 268, 292. 

Sarah (Gore), 292. 

Susanna, 56. 

Thomas, 56. 
Bunker, Alfred, 323, 372. 

Charles, 271. 

Judith (Folger),271. 
Burbank, Alonzo N., 309, 310. 
Burden, Burdon — 

Mary, 124. 

Sarah, 118, 124. 
Burditt, Harriot, 262. 

Sally, 262. 
Burling, Elizabeth Lawrence, 306. 
Bur, Burr — 

Goodwife, 45. 

Jehu, 45. 
Burnette, Charlotte Emeline, 334. 
Burrell, Burrill — 

Abigail, 206. 

John, 51. 

Mrs., 220. 

Nancy, 205. 

Sarah, 51. 



382 



INDEX 



Burrows, Frances, 296. 

George, 65. 

Rebecca, 60. 
Burton, John, 261. 

Louisa, 261. 
Burtt, David, 261. 

Sally, 261, 
Burying Ground, 221, 237. 
Butcher, Sarah, 127, 
Butler, Buttler — 

Benjamin, 346. 

Hannah, 130. 

Simeon, 130. 
Butters, Charlotte, 365. 

EUza, 365. 

Eloisa Moureau (Cormerals), 324. 

Rebecca Fletcher MTiite (Cram) 
324. 

Sophia Charlotte (Green), 324. 

William, 324. 

Cabot, Experience, 133. 

Susan, 319. 
Calder, Ann, 262. 
Calef, Lucy, 251. 

Robert, 76. 
Calicott, Ricliard, 26. 

Calvin, 88. 
Callender, Joseph, 228, 287, 351. 
Campbell, Benjamin Franklin, 288. 

Mary (Lilley), 288. 
Capen, Deacon, 72. 

Mary, 128, 185. 

Mr., 228. 
Carder, Richard, 52. 
Carey, Cary — 

Charlotte, Emehne (Bumette),334. 

Frances Taylor (^'ilson), 334. 

Isaac Harris, 264, 333. 

Nathan Carruth, 324, 334. 

Phebe P., 264. 

Phebe Phillips (Pratt), 333. 
Carlton, Abby, 364. 

Abigail (Hovey), 286. 

Charlotte (Howe), 286. 

Guy, 286, 344, 351. 

Harriet, 364. 

Nabby, 286. 



Carmen, Florence, 46. 

John, 46. 
Came, Thomas, 349. 
Carret, Josephine, 356. 
Carter, Emily Gorham, 302. 
Casey, Eliza, 320. 
Castle, Edith, 350. 
Caswell, Wm., 260. 
Cawte, James, 259. 
Cazneau, Capt., 344. 
Chamberlain, Chamberlin, Cham- 
berhne, Chamberlayn — 

Abiel, 130. 

Charles, W., 273. 

Hannah, 124. 

Isaac, 345, 346. 

Jakob, 124, 130. 

Mary, 126, 190. 

Richard, 61. 

Sarah, 61. 
Champney, B. Louisa, 270. 

Charles S., 216. 

Elizabeth, 260, 262, 296. 

Elizabeth (Pierce), 288. 

James Howe, 267, 288, 310, 316, 
333. 

John, 210, 211, 212, 259, 307, 
312, 342, 343, 358. 

Jonathan, 288. 

Lydia, 267. 

Lydia H., 270. 

Lydia (Howe), 312. 

Mary Ann, 270. 

Misses, 365. 

Rebecca, 194. 

Robert, 193. 

Sarah M., 270. 

Sarah Elizabeth (Wells), 310. 
Chandler, Elizabeth, 61, 121. 

Elizabeth F., 264. 

Gardner L., 264. 

Hannah, 54, 123. 

John, 1, 12, 61, 121, 123. 

Lucretia C, 264. 

Margarett, 46, 131. 

Mary Ann, 264. 

William, 54. 
Chapel Club, the, 359, 371. 



INDEX 



383 



Chapin, Cicely, 55. 

Lucinda Ome, 321. 

Samuel, 55. 
Chapman, Jonathan, 265, 271, 358. 

Lucinda, 265. 

Lucinda (D wight), 271. 
Charitable Societies, 359 to 371. 
Chamock, Mr., 88. 
Charter, Anne, 129. 
Chase, Mary, 45. 

William, 45. 
Chauncy, Charles, 113, 175. 

Sarah, 175. 
Checkley, John, 112. 
Cheney, Chaeney, Chany, Cheaney, 
Cheany, Cheeney, Cheny — 

Abigail, 131. 

Deborah, 187, 194. 

Ebenezer, 134, 139, 152, 153, 162, 
188. 

EUzabeth, 283. 

John, 52, 123, 132. 

Margaret, 56. 

Martha, 52. 

Mary, 132, 133, 196. 

Samuel, 168, 194. 

Sarah, 261. 

Thomas, 123, 125, 187, 198, 261. 

Wife of Thomas, 125. 

William, 56, 61, 81, 123, 150, 160, 
261. 
Cheever, Almira C, 329. 

Mr., 84, 108. 
Chikkerin, Katherein, 125. 
Child, Childs, Childe — 

Aaron, 206, 316, 334. 

Benjamin, 60, 69, 123. 

Elizabeth, 119, 124, 125. 

Emmeline Eames, 282. 

Grace, 125. 

Harriet, 319. 

John Weld, 296, 343. 

Mary, 60. 

Phineas, 198. 

PoUy (Hall), 206. 

Rebecca, 265. 

Rebecca (Williams), 276. 

Sarah (Richards), 296. 



Child, Childs, Childe — 
Sophia Buckland, 290. 
Stephen, 212, 229, 259, 265, 276, 

305, 306. 
Wife of Phineas, 198. 
Children's Mission, 355. 
Chipman, Elizabeth, 285. 
Choate, Rebecca, 136. 

Steven, 134. 
Church, Act of Incorporation, 220, 

223. 
admissions, 45 to 65, 71, 76, 120 

to 136, 142, 143, 186 to 207, 

259 to 271. 
annual meetings, 226. 
baptisms, 7. 
Bible, 222, 237. 
change of creed, 217. 
collections and contributions, 10, 

13, 69, 170, 232, 233, 235. 
Covenant, 4. 
donations and legacies, 77, 78, 

150, 158, 170, 220, 232, 233, 

236, 256, 257, 258. 
fasts, 8, 9, 12, 13, 70, 160. 
founders of, 45, 46. 
gathering of, 4. 
lectures, 8, 153. 
officers, 1, 6, 67, 68, 137, 145 

to 148,, 209 to 215. 
propositions agreed upon, 11. 
rate, 14, 80, 82, 149, 171. 
services, 5, 220. 
title changed, 168. 
Churchill, Mary Ann, 305. 
Civil War, 232. 
Clap, Clapp, — 
Ann, 246, 258. 
Ann (Clap), 246. 
Ann Hav?es (Pierce), 246. 
Benjamin P. Cheney, 238, 332. 
Barbara, 52. 
Caleb, 315. 
Elizabeth, 200. 
Jerusha, 240. 
John, 202, 203, 209, 212, 221, 222, 

223, 228, 246, 258, 260, 262, 

309, 316, 328, 344, 351. 



384 



INDEX 



Clap, Clapp — 
Lucy, 262. 
Mary Lane, 274. 
Mary Whitten, 321. 
Mr., 354. 

Nancy (Dorr), 315. 
Noah, 246. 
Friscilla, 260. 
PrisciUa (Holden), 246. 
Roger, 249. 
Sarah Ann, 262. 
Sarah W., 286. 
Sukey, 203. 
Supply, 249. 

Susanna (Robinson), 246. 
Susanna Robinson, 262. 
Clark, Clarke — 
Abigail, 64, 120, 121. 
Chenery, 260, 275, 312, 313, 325, 

343. 
Edith H., 270. 
Edward, 131. 
Elizabeth, 58, 60. 
Florence L., 269. 
Frances Cordis, 327, 335. 
Hugh, 60. 

James, 58, 62, 63, 69, 120. 
James Freeman, 237. 
John, 64, 69, 121, 124. 
John Jones, 210, 231, 252, 265, 

283, 284, 296, 316, 326, 328, 

351. 
Joseph, 200. 
Lidea, 124. 
Lois W., 305. 
Lot, 333. 

Lucy (Davis), 275. 
Manlius Stimson, 252, 327, 336. 
Martha, 63. 
Mary, 120, 143. 
Mary Barnard (Eaton), 333. 
Mary Lemist, 267, 284, 356. 
Mercy, 120. 
Percis Rice, 290. 
Rebecca, 270. 
Rebecca Cordiss (Haswell), 264, 

316, 364, 365, 367. 
Sally M. (Freeman), 321. 



Clark, Clarke — 

Samuel, 143. 

Sarah, 122, 131, 287. 

Scotto, 321. 

Thomas, 145, 147, 163, 167, 168, 
169, 196, 305. 

Uriah, 121, 124. 

Wife of Joseph, 200. 

William, 75. 
Cleaves, Emma A., 331. 

Hannah, 122. 

Sarah, 63, 120. 

Widow, 68, 70, 121. 

William, 1, 13, 63, 68, 70. 
Cobb, Anna Almy, 322. 

Amelia Ladd (Seattle), 295. 

Samuel Crocker, 214, 280, 295, 
352. 
Cobbett, Thomas, 130. 
Cobum, Catherine, 299. 
Codman, Elizabeth, 264. 

John, 361. 

Thomas P., 266. 
Coffin, Charlotte G., 325. 

Eliza S., 280. 

Henry Peleg, 322. 

Mary Greenwood (Barrett), 322. 

Peter, 325. 
CoggeshaU, John, 48. 

Mary, 48. 
Coggin, Mary, 56. 
Colburn, Harriet, 312. 
Cole, Abigail, 129. 

Mary, 45. 

Robert, 45. 

Sarah, 135, 142. 

Thomas, 135. 
Collar, Mary Sibyl, 271. 

JNIildred Averill, 271. 

William Coe, 250, 276. 
Colligan, Thomas, 215. 
Cohnan, Dr., 101. 
Colson, Vashti, 314. 
Colton, Ehzabeth, 122. 
Comins, Annie V., 356. 

Helen T., 356. 

L. B., 356. 

Linus Bacon, 331. 



INDEX 



385 



Comins, Mary Barker, 331. 
Communion Table, 256 to 271, 
Compton, Jolin, 50. 

Susanna, 50. 
Comstock, Martha, 330. 
Cook, , 347. 

Charles Edward, 333. 

Clarence C, 266. 

Elizabeth White (Wells), 333. 

Jonathan Freeman, 260, 300. 

Mary Caroline, 321. 

Mary (Little), 300. 
Coolidge, Coolege — 

Elizabeth Lydia, 303. 

Lydia, 194. 

Obadiah, 187. 

Sarah, 193. 
Cooms, Hepsibah, 130. 

Richard, 130. 
Cooper, Ann D., coir., 267. 

Rev. Dr., 166, 167. 

Samuel, 178. 
Converse, Rufus, 261. 
Copeland, Benjamin Franklin, 213, 
228, 280, 281, 282, 288, 320, 
334, 351. 

Charles, 229, 277, 282. 

Julia Fellowes (Ruggles), 241, 
264, 280, 364. 

Susan Rogers (Sprague), 282. 

William Ellery, 268. 
Corban, Clement, 69. 
Corey, Mr. 168. 
Corlet, EUjah, 86, 87. 
Cormerals, Eloisa Moureau, 324. 
Cornewell, Joane, 50. 

William, 50. 
Cornish, James, 192. 
Corporal, Louisa, 345. 
Cotterel, Benjamin, 195. 

Mary, 195. 
Cotting, Benj. E., 266, 

Catherine G., 266. 
Cotton, Elizabeth, 124. 

John, 8, 21, 36, 41, 85. 
Coverly, Mary Dwight, 296. 
Craft, Crafts, Crofts — 

Abigail, 59, 200. 

Abigail (Kent), 245. 



Craft, Crafts, Crofts — 

Alice, 46, 127, 128. 

Benjamin, 128. 

Daniel, 245. 

Dorcas (Ruggles), 46. 

Ebenezer, 135, 139, 145, 155, 167, 
185, 188, 209, 213, 228, 245, 
260, 262, 297, 313, 322, 339, 
343, 351, 358. 

Elizabeth, 78", 120, 123, 124, 127, 
131, 132, 133, 142. 

Elizabeth (Melhsh), 206. 

EUzabeth (Seaver), 62. 

EUzabeth (Weld), 185. 

Emily A., 355. 

Emily (Doggett), 297. 

Emily Doggett, 269, 271. 

Eunice (Dowse), 206. 

Griffith, 46. 

Hannah, 119, 123. 

John, 61, 123, 125, 132. 

Jonathan, 133, 167. 

Joseph, 125, 131, 206. 

Louise A., 269. 

Lydia, 129. 

Mary, 124. 

Mehittabel, 127, 132. 

Moses, 62, 69, 120. 

Nathaniel, 80, 128. 

Patience, 128. 

Priscilla, 194. 

Rebecca, 61, 62, 120. 

Samuel, 62, 132, 148. 

Sarah, 125, 126, 133, 194. 

Sarah Heath (Jones), 245, 262, 
364, 366. 

Susanna, 131, 135, 136, 191, 304. 

Susanna (White), 185. 

Thankful, 133. 

Ursula (Adams, Hosier, Streeter), 
Robinson, 46. 

William Augustus, 297. 

William Francis, 209. 
Cragin, Abigail Roe Dalton (Blan- 
chard), 330. 

Henry FuUerton, 330. 
Cram, Rebecca Fletcher White, 324. 
Crawley, Abraham, 215, 221. 
Crehore, Eimice Elizabeth, 280. 



386 



INDEX 



Crocker, Lucy J., 287. 
Crooker, Ralph, £87, 351. 

Marietta B. H., 302. 

Marietta Hathaway (Borden), 287. 
Crosby, Deborah, 204. 

Mary Elizabeth (Bowles), 327. 

Nancy, 200. 

Sarah E. (Lincobi), 335. 

Samuel T., 322, 335. 

William, 210, 211, 214, 304, 322, 
324, 327, 352, 355. 
Cross, Vera, 347, 848. 
Crossman, Geo. H., 265. 

Hannah, 265. 

L. A., 346. 
Croxford, Mr., 164. 

Samuel, 148, 163, 196. 
Cruft, Florence Lemist, 305. 

Isaac Smith, 285. 

Mary Powers (Nichols), 285. 
Cummings, Henry, 360. 
Cummens, Mary, 268, 364. 

Polly (IVIayo), 202. 

Sarah, 268, 302, 364. 

'William, 202, 278, 302. 
Cunningham, Ann Boylston, 327. 

Caleb Loring, 328. 

Catherine Hays, 268, 285. 

Catharine Hays (Howard), 322. 

Clementina (Trufant), 328. 

Eliza, 302. 

Elizabeth H., 268. 

H., 229. 

James, 268, 322, 329. 

Lois, 196. 

Sarah, 299. 

Susannah, 198, 306. 
Ciurier, Lois, 295. 
Curtis, Curtiss — 

Anne, 190, 203. 

Benjamin, 142, 151, 160. 

Benj. B., 344. 

Bethia (Parker), 277. 

Emily (Dore), 310. 

Francis, 334. 

Prankhn, 310. 

Hanna, 64, 118, 133, 

Harriet, 276. 

Harriet (Bliss), 334. 



Curtis, Curtiss — 

Isaac, 64, 80, 124, 132, 140, 190, 
261, 303. 

John, 64, 147, 151, 167, 259, 312. 

Jonathan, 126. 

Joseph, 142, 277, 315, 338. 

Margaret (BelJ), 303. 

Mary, 54, 136. 

Mary Holmes, 287. 

Mary S. (Hyde), 278. 

Mehitabel, 128, 132, 260. 

Moses Davis Rice, 148. 

Nelson, 278. 

PhiHp, 136. 

Rebecca, 64, 197, 199. 

Sally (Heath), 303. 

Samuel, 133, 199. 

Sarah B. (Lewis), 310. 

Sarah (Eliot), 48. 

Susanna, 128. 

Thomas, 260, 315. 

Widow of Phihp, 120. 

William, 48. 
Cushing, Ann Eliza, 313. 

Elizabeth Anne, 278. 

Sarah, 346. 
Cutting, Ephraim, 207. 

Daggett, Doggett — 

Ann Eliza (Cushing, Webster), 
313. 

Elizabeth, 289. 

Elizabeth (Sumner), 201. 

Elizabeth Stunner, 294. 

Emily, 297. 

Henry Lefrelet, 286, 331. 

Jesse, 201, 289, 296, 312. 

John, 313, 342, 343. 

Lois (Currier), 295. 

Mary, 311. 

Mary Jones, 313. 

Samuel, 295, 343. 

Sarah Eliza (Williams), 331. 

Sarah W., 270. 

Sophia (Miller), 313. 
Dana, Abigail, 307. 

Francis, 158, 193, 844. 

Hannah, 200. 

Martha, 191, 194. 



INDEX 



387 



Dana, Mary Elizabeth, 266. 

Thomas, 167, 187, 191, 197. 
Danforth, Carolme S., 254. 

Charles Jarvis, 330, 352. 

Elizabeth, 38. 

John, 41, 72, 122. 

Mary, 60, 122. 

Mary (Wilson), 41. 

Nicholas, 38. 

Samuel, 1, 9, 11, 16, 38 to 41, 59, 
70, 108. 

Sarah Elizabeth (Robbins) 330. 
Darracott, Fanny M., 303. 
Dary, George Allen, 210, 317, 333, 
353. 

Elizabeth (Tuttle) 333. 
Davenport, Abigail B., 313. 

Charles Jarvis, 330. 

Elizabeth Wyman (Bacon), 317. 

James, 317, 322. 

James Henry, 317. 

Peggy, 304. 

Rebecca, 132. 

SaJly, 301. 

Samuel, 131. 

Sarah Adams (V^^iswell), 322. 

Sarah (Adams), 317. 

Sarah Elizabeth (Robbms), 330. 
Davis, A., 365. 

Aaron, 134, 147, 157, 159, 160, 
162, 169, 191, 195, 205, 261, 
278, 286, 308, 364. 

Abiel, 73, 124. 

Abigail, 123, 124, 193. 

Adeline, 332. 

Alice, 61. 

Alice (Paine) 288. 

Alice (Thorpe), 64. 

Andrew, 335. 

Ann Wainwright, 289. 

Annie W., 269. 

Benjamin Baker, 345. 

Bethia, 127. 

Bridget, 60. 

Charity, 127. 

Charles, 205, 210, 211, 212, 227, 
228, 229, 278, 305, 307, 308, 
314, 329, 343, 351, 358. 

Deborah, 128. 



Davis, Dorothy, 129, 262. 
Dr., 221. 

Ebenezer, 134, 139, 162, 190. 
Eliza, 364. 

Elizabeth, 58, 64, 192, 193. 
Elizabeth (White), 273. 
Ellen (Pearey), 335. 
Elsey Fellowes, 249. 
Elsie Donnell (Fellowes), 205. 
Emily P., 265. 
Emily (Parker), 303. 
Frances Elizabeth (Amory), 303. 
Hannah, 194, 205, 287. 
Hannah (Pierpont), 195, 245. 
Hannah (White), 134. 
Harriet, 265, 284. 
Harriet (Fellowes), 205, 308. 
Horatio, 227, 286, 361. 
Ichabod, 127. 
Increase, 200. 
Isaac, 211, 212, 227, 262, 263, 

273, 307, 317, 332, 342, 343, 

351, 358. 
James Clarke, 215, 288, 290, 372. 
Jane, 64, 125. 
Joanna, 63. 
John, 64, 120, 122, 123, 125, 126, 

203, 259. 
Jonathan, 123, 159, 164. 
Jonathan Amory, 265, 289, 303. 
Joseph, 65, 127, 205, 308. 
Lemuel B., 204. 
Lucy, 275. 
Maria, 270, 298. 
Maria Bussey, 297. 
Maria (Davis), 298. 
Mary, 64, 120, 123, 259, 287. 
Mary Ann, 330. 
Mary E., 266. 
Mary (Perrin), 134, 135. 
Mary VUa (Ball) 305. 
Mary White, 307, 364. 
Mathew, 126, 163. 
Mercy, 192. 
Misses, 351. 
Moses, 135, 162, 167, 191, 195, 

245, 278, 294, 343. 
N. W., 365. 
Nancy, 284. 



388 



INDEX 



Davis, Noah, 192. 

Paul, 133. 

Polly (Smith), 245. 

Rachel, 124, 133. 

Rebecca, 135. 

Rebecca (Sharp), 195. 

Richard, 73, 124. 

Salome, 263, 364. 

Salome (white), 273. 

Samuel, 64, 129. 

Samuel G., 329. 

Sally (Smith), 245. 

Sarah, 65, 125, 126, 132, 134, 185, 
190, 206, 262, 271, 277, 358. 

Stephen S., 344. 

Susan, 344, 358. 

Susanna, 162, 262, 286. 

Susanna (Craft), 191. 

Theoda, 261. 

Theoda (\Villiams), 278. 

Tobijah, 60. 

William, 58, 61, 64, 126, 204, 209, 
210, 212, 222, 223, 228, 245, 
257, 258, 259, 262, 285, 298, 
351, 362. 
Dawes, Sarah Appleton, 301. 
Deacon, oflBce defined, 7. 
Dean, John, 187. 
Dearborn, H. A. S., 228, 263, 351. 

Mrs. H. A. S., 263, 364. 

Sarah, 270, 356. 
Deblois, Margarita, 291. 
Dedham, 5, 150. 
Dehon, Caroline Maria (Inches), 303. 

Wilham, 303. 
Denison, Dennison — 

Bridget, 57. 

Dorothy, 78, 127. 

Edward, 56, 59, 122. 

Elizabeth, 59. 

Elizabeth (Weld), 56. 

George, 57. 

Haima, 64. 

Margaret, 65. 

Margret (Chandler), 46. 

Mary, 64. 

Mrs., 73. 

Sarah, 64. 

SLster, 65. 



Denison, Dennison — 

William, 10, 46, 78, 122. 
DeNormandie, C. Y., 237. 

James, 209, 237, 238, 239, 244, 
370, 371, 373. 

Mrs., 371. 
Derby, Sarah Ellen, 288. 
Devotion, Deborah, 121. 

Edward, 69. 

Hannah, 120, 124. 

John, 121, 124. 

Martha, 119. 

Sarah, 122. 

Sister, 59. 
Dewey, Orville, 228, 240. 
De Wolf, Abby Kane, 293. 

John Langedorff, 307. 

Mary Ann, 283. 

Mary WTiite (Davis), 307. 
Dexter, Dezter — 

Eliza, 266. 

Elizabeth D., 274. 

Frances, 57. 

Matilda Campbell, 334. 

Matilda Campbell (Abbot), 332. 

Samuel, 266. 

Samuel Parkman, 332, 334. 
Dickerman, Caleb, 260. 

Sally, 206, 260. 
Dickson, Mr., 141. 
Dillaway, Charles Knapp, 174, 209, 
211, 213, 214, 231, 239, 248, 
264, 271, 276, 321, 322, 323, 
325, 354. 

Emma, 344. 

Martha Ruggles (Porter), 248. 

Mary Emma, 264, 268. 

Mary (Knapp), 248. 

Samuel, 248. 
Dinely, Hanna, 64. 
Dinsdel, Dinsdill — 

Abigail, 189. 

Charles, 199. 

Jolm, 189. 
Direton, Ann, 58. 
Disborough, Phebe, 51. 

Walter, 51. 
Dixwell, Eliza Boardman, IngersoU 
(Bowditch), 292. 



INDEX 



389 



Dixwell, John James, 284, 292. 
Dodd, Catherine H., 266. 

Catherine H. (Perkins), 301. 

George William, 266, 301, 352. 

John Augustus, 329. 

Margery, 271. 

Mary Perrin (Adams), 329. 

Sarah (Whittemore), 329. 

Theoda Hunnewell (Adams), 329. 
Dorchester, 3, 373. 
Dorr, Dore — 

Abigail, 142. 

Aime, 190, 260. 

Caroline Aurelia (Humphrey- 
Riley), 309. 

Charlotte, 266. 

Charlotte P., 266. 

Dorothy, 132. 

Ebenezer, 129, 132, 135, 140, 152, 
158, 160, 190, 338. 

Edward, 68, 74, 76, 82, 140, 143. 

Eleanor, 192. 

Ehza (Smith), 301. 

Emily, 310. 

Emily P., 266. 

Emily Penelope (Bradley), 306. 

Helen A., 266. 

John, 199, 294. 

Jonathan, 211, 212, 218, 228, 275, 
281, 284, 285, 300, 301, 305, 
309, 311, 316, 342, 343, 351. 

Joseph, 309, 320. 

Mary, 129, 132. 

Mary (Hickling) , 305. 

Moses, 157, 192. 

Nancy, 315. 

Nancy (Davis), 284. 

Nathaniel, 210, 227, 262, 266, 
275, 300, 301, 305, 306, 314, 
315, 327, 331, 342, 343, 351. 

Ralph Smith, 284. 

Sarah, 142. 
• Sarah T^Tiitney Davis, 283, 

Susan, 262, 314. 

Susan (Lambert), 306. 

William, 198, 344, 351. 

William Bradley, 305, 310, 320. 
Doubt, Sarah, 189. 
Dove, John, 294. 



Dove, William, 228, 229, 351. 
Dow, Abigail, 194. 

Susan, 364. 
Dowell, EUzabeth, 44, 53. 
Downer, Eliphalet, 192. 

John, 205. 
Dowse, Abba, 302. 

Benjamin, 122. 

Eunice, 206. 
Doyle, Mary, 193. 
Draper, Benjamin, 136. 

Mary, 136, 142. 

Moses, 122, 123. 

Patience, 125. 

Wife of Moses, 125. 
Drew, Mary, 121. 
Druce, John, 65, 127, 

Mary, 65. 
Druer, Daniel, 123. 
Dudley Anne, 128. 

Abby W., 268, 285. 

Betsy, 205. 

Catherine (Hackburn), 55. 

David, 213, 228, 283, 285, 287, 
335, 351, 358. 

D., Mrs., 364. 

Dorothy, 55, 63. 

Ehjah, 201, 289. 

G. W., 347, 348. 

Governor, 74, 105, 257, 258. 

Hannah, 134, 285. 

Hannah (Da%is), 287. 

Hannah M., 267. 

Henry Alexander Scammell Dear- 
born, 215, 327, 330. 

Isabel, 201. 

Isabel (Weed), 289. 

Joseph, 63, 90, 126, 205, 211, 239, 
308, 330. 

Lucy, 176. 

Lucy (WainviTight), 127. 

Madam, 153. 

Mr., 72. 

Paul, 77, 80, 81, 82, 105, 113, 126, 
139, 143, 150, 153, 170, 239. 

Pedy, 324, 330. 

Rebecca (Tyng), 63, 126. 

Redy (Whitney), 205. 

Sally, 202. 



390 



INDEX 



Dudley, Samuel, 261, 273. 

Sarah, 273. 

Susanna Davenport (Brewer), 273. 

Thomas, 10, 55, 63, 238, 260. 

William, 75, 162, 168, 239, 273. 
Dudley St. Baptist Church, 223. 
Duff, Sarah, 188. 
Duglas, James, 75. 
Duick, Benjamin, 287, 307. 

Esther (Weld), 307. 

Hannah (Gay), 307. 

Mary, 307. 
Dumaresq, Dumaresque — 

Margaretta, 267. 

Margarita (Deblois), 291. 

Philip, 267, 291. 
Dummer, Mary, 47. 

Jeremiah, 113. 

Richard, 47. 
Dunbar, Elias, 315. 
Duncan, Catherine E., 325. 

Deliverance, 121. 

Mary, 124. 
Dunkim, Samuel, 69. 
Durand, Louisa, 286. 

Milton, 286, 351. 
Durant, Charles, 278, 293, 311. 

Nabby L., 264. 

Nabby, Langdon (Williams), 311. 
Dwight, Anna R., 280. 

Elizabeth Amelia (White), 322. 

Elizabeth Kirkland, 333. 

Josiah, 126. 

Lucmda, 271. 

William, 322. 
Dyer, Ezekiel D., 295. 

Rebecca, 364. 

Rebecca (Morse), 295. 

Mr., 228, 351. 

Eagan, John, 334. 
Eastburn, John Henry, 272. 

Susan Fosdick (Simmons), 272. 
Eastey, Easty — 

Elijah, 201. 

Olive, 288. 

Wife of Elijah, 201. 
Eastman, F. S., 228, 351. 

PoUy R., 267. 



Eastman, Sally, 364, 366, 367. 

Sally Patten, 308. 

Mrs., 365, 366. 
Easton, Isaac, 322. 

Mary Ann Smith, 322. 
Eaton, Benjamin, 129, 135, 140. 

Ebenezer, 142. 

Mary Barnard, 333. 

Mercy, 133. 

Nathaniel, 162, 193. 

Sarah, 135. 
Edes, Eliza Brown, 310. 

Harriet, 263. 

Harriet F., 364. 

Henry W., 347. 
Edgerly, Walter H., 350. 
Edlefson, Mrs., 349. 
Edson, Carl, 271. 

Mary A., 270. 

P. O'Meara, 298. 
Egan, Louisa A., 345. 
Elder, Lidea, 120. 
Eliot, Elliott — 

Ann, 48. 

Anne (Mumford), 18, 19. 

Benjamin, 19, 62. 

Bennett, 17, 44. 

Cordelia (Howe), 329. 

Elizabeth, 51. 

Elizabeth (Ferian), 44. 

George Augustus, 329. 

John, 1, 3, 4, 5, 8, 9, 10, 11, 12, 
16, 17 to 38, 39, 42, 44, 48, 58, 
61, 62, 67, 70, 72, 90, 91, 92, 
108, 115, 116, 117, 238, 239, 
256, 336, 354, 360, 372, 373. 

John Fleet, 329, 

Joseph, 19. 

Lettese (Aggar), 17, 44. 

Lydia, 59. 

Mary, 118, 306. 

Phihp, 1, 10, 44, 51, 59. 

Rev. Mr., 166. 'f 

Samuel, 19. 

Sarah, 48, 61, 117, 122. 
Ellis, Charles, 309. 

Charles Mayo, 277, 303, 318, 
331. 

Effie, 331. 



INDEX 



391 



Ellis, Hannah, 125. 

Harriet Lucretia (Lewis), 277. 

Helen (Thomas), 277. 

Maria (Mayo), 309. 

Nathl, 260. 
Emerson, Emmerson — 

R. W., 247. 

Susannah, 252. 

William, 201, 360. 
Emmons, Dr., 340. 
Erskine, John, 261. 
Erving, Abby S., 270. 
Estabrooks, John Crease, 308, 344. 
Esty, Nabby Williams, 251. 
Eustis, Caroline Langdon, 309, 351, 
358, 364. 

Mrs., 366. 

William, 309, 343. 
Evans, Evens — 
John, 64, 69. 
Mary, 64. 
Everett, Anna Sophia, 235, 299, 367. 

C. C, 236. 

Edward, 242, 361. 

Eliphalet, 260. 

Hamiah, 299. 

Thomas, 299. 

Fairbairn, Edith (Alexander), 274. 

Harriet Lavinia (Sears) , 274. 

Robert Bruce, 274, 353. 
Fairbanks, Mary, 264. 

Mary E., 364. 

Mrs., 366. 

Wm. Henry, 264. 
Fairfield, Martha (Ruggles), 199. 

John, 199. 
Farley, Enoch, 130. 
Farnham, Henry, 58. 

Mary Adehne, 328. 

Putnam Ingalls, 335. 

Rebecca, 335. 

Susan B., 328. 
Farmer, Geo. O., 345. 
Famsworth, Elizabeth, 266. 

Elizabeth Loring (Young) , 286. 

Mrs. Geo. B., 356. 

Walter, 265, 286. 
Farrington, George Lyon, 289. 



Farrington, Rhoda (Baker), 289. 

Farrow, Goodwife, 58. 

Farwell, Clara (Richardson), 279. 

Henry Newton, 279. 

Oliver, A., 318. 
Faulkner, Henry, 322. 

Victoria G. (Wheat), 322. 
Faunce, Abbie J. (Trenn) , 319. 

George Burrill, 319, 324. 
Fawer, Grace, 45. 
Faxon, Eleb, 221, 297. 

Hannah, 364. 

Lydia, 324, 364, 

Mary, 324, 364. 

Ruth, 297. 

Ruth Ann (Hathaway), 297. 
Fearing, Ann L., 263. 

Catherine, W., 268, 

Harriet A. (Williams), 319. 

Harriet W^iUiams, 267. 

Kate, 356. 

Lincoln, 319. 

Theoda H., 269. 
Feilder, Mary, 125. 
Fellowes, Fellows — 

Caleb, 227, 250, 251. 

Charlotte, 267. 

Elsie Donnell, 205. 

Harriet, 205, 308. 

John W., 203. 

Nancy Hunt, 272. 

Sally (Dudley), 202. 

Sarah, 192, 199. 

Susan Lucy, 291. 
Felton, Anna (Jacobs), 186. 

Benjamin, 146. 

Eimice, 197. 

Exercise, 60. 

Hannah, 142. 

Joshua, 145, 167, 169, 186, 192, 
209, 245, 259, 292, 340. 

Lois (Pattee), 186. 

Mary, 194, 195, 284. 

Mary (Wardell), 186. 

Nathaniel, 142, 147, 159, 167 
186, 195. 

William, 197. 
Fenner, Freelove, 292, 
Fenno, Margaret, 264. 



392 



INDEX 



Ferian, Elizabeth, 44. 
Fessenden, Frances C, 269. 

Henry 202. 

John B., 268. 

Mary B., 269. 

Olive, 202. 
Ffolgier, Goodman, 12. 
Field, Elijah, 199. 

Charlotte E. (Whiting), 332. 

Joseph, 361. 

Ozias, 265, 332, 351. 
Fillebrown, Asa, 345. 
Filmore, Sarah, 264. 
Finch, Judith, 49. 

Martha, 49. 

Samuel, 49. 
First Religious Society in Roxbury, 

223. 
Fisher, Daniel Simmons, 269. 

EUzabeth B., 268. 

Leah, 123. 

Lucretia (Buckman), 306. 

Mary Elizabeth, 300. 

Misses, 236. 

Mrs., 263. 

Nancy Stimpson (Simmons), 306. 

Virginia, 271. 

Warren, 306, 358. 
Fisk, Fiske — 

Eunice (^Vhite), 291. 

George Alfred, 286. 

Grace C, 264. 

Helen Maria (Bridge), 319. 

Josiah, 319. 

Samuel, 203. 

Sarah W. (Clap), 286. 

Wife of Wm., 262. 

William, 202, 228, 229, 262, 291, 
351. 
Flavel, INIr, 88. 
Flint, John Lydeham, 301. 
Flower, Mary Reed, 324. 
Floyd, Andrew, 192. 
Folger, Charlotte A., 301. 

Judith, 271. 
Follansby, Joan D., 323, 
Forau, Mary Ann, 346. 
Forbes, Elisha, 205. 273. 



Forbes, John Murray, 293. 

Nancy (Burrill), 205. 

Sarah (Hathaway), 293. 
Ford, Charles, 327. 

Charles R., 348, 349. 

Lois, 327. 
Foster, Catherine E. (Duncan), 
325. 

George B., 325. 

Jane, 190. 

John, 360. 

Mary, 203. 

Rufus, 203. 

Sarah, 61. 

Sarah E., 270. 

Thomas, 61, 62. 
Fowle, Eliz., 262. 

Elizabeth (Austin), 311. 

EUen, 346, 347. 

Hannah, 60. 

Joshua Bently, 311. 

Joshua B., 262, 351. 

]\Ir., 343. 

Mrs. George B., 346. 

Seth Augustus, 320. 
Fox, Abraham, 220. 

Caroline M., 318. 

Charles, 263, 344. 

Ebenezer, 170, 199, 274, 339, 

Mary Louisa, 263. 

Richard, 191. 
Foxall, Ann (SheUy), 47. 
Foxcroft, Thomas, 110. 
Francis, Ebenezer, 280, 283, 343, 
351, 358. 

Eben T., 264. 

Elizabeth, 264. 

EUzabeth Brown, 284. 

Elizabeth Lydia (Coolidge), 303. 

EUzabeth (Thorndike), 283. 

Misses, 364. 

Mrs. E., 364. 

Nathaniel, 267, 303. 
FrankUn, FrankUng — 

A., 348. 

William, 57. 
Free Schoole in Roxbury, 9, 10 
Freeborne, Mary, 61. 

WilUam, 51. 



INDEX 



393 



Freeman, Caroline Crosby (Lewis), 
334. 

Philip, 203. 

PoUy, 203. 

Rebecca, 203. 

Sally M., 321. 

Samuel, 203. 

William Frederick, 334. 
Freemen, 8. 
French, Daniel, 305. 

Dorcas, 51. 

Mary H., 266. 
Frese, William, 349. 
Frissel, Frissell, Frizal — 

James, 61. 

Sarah, 61, 124. 
Frothingham, Caroline, 327. 

Harriet, 327. 

M., 364. 

Maria Louisa (Whitridge), 324. 

Nathaniel L., 360. 

Samuel, 324. 
Frost, John, 129. 
Fuller, Caroline Weld, 270. 

Eben, 202. 

Emeline B., 268. 

Emily (Jorham (Carter), 302. 

Henrietta G., 269. 

Henry Weld, 323. 

Horace Williams, 302. 

John, 345. 

Luther, 202. 

Mary G., 269. 

Mary Storer (Goddard), 323. 

Priscilla, 198. 
Fullerton, Barbara, 260. 
Fulton, Frances Burns, 320. 

Galloop, Mary (Pain), 313 

Richard, 313. 
Gamlin, Elizabeth (Mayo), 48. 

Mary, 48. 

Robert, 47, 48. 
Gamut, Lydia, 187. 
Gai diner, Gardner, — 

Abiel, 130. 

Abigail, 120. 

Andrew, 63, 69, 121. 



Gardiner, Gardner — 
Caleb, 129, 130. 
Delia Ann, 298. 
Eliza, 333. 
Elizabeth, 131. 
Francis, 323. 
Harriet (Robertson), 333. 
Johanna, 120. 
Joseph, 74, 122, 134. 
Joseph Henry, 264, 333. 
Joshua, 126. 
Isaac, 187. 

Lydia Nowell (Browne), 323. 
Lucy, 128. 
Lucy (Smith), 56. 
Martha, 130. 
Mary, 121, 122, 126, 128, 129, 

130, 134. 
Mary Bellowes (Kingsley), 282. 
Matthew, 204. 
Mrs., 366. 
Mrs. M., 364. 
Peter, 58, 130, 131. 
Rebecca, 58. 
Richard, 140. 
Samuel, 130. 
Samuel Jackson, 212, 222, 228, 

229, 230, 282, 296, 351, 352, 361. 
Sarah, 63, 12, 129, 131. 
Sarah S., 297. 
Thomas, 56, 69, 120, 123, 128, 

130. 
Widdow, 56. 
Gary, Garee, Geary — 
Anne, 61. 
Arthur, 54, 118. 
Elizabeth, 121, 122. 
Frances, 54, 118. 
Hannah, 59, 126. 
Hannah (Curtis), 118. 
Nathaniel, 61, 125. 
Sarah, 123, 

WilKam, 59, 67, 71, 118, 121. 
Gay, Aaron, 260. 
Abigail, 802. 
Benjamin Gilbert, 328. 
Eliza Kirkland (Dwight), 333. 
George, 328. 



394 



INDEX 



Gay, Hannah, 307. 

Joel, 201, 302. 

Lucy, 313. 

Martha, 328. 

Mary, 324. 

Mary W., 263. 

Nancy, 328. 

Nettie, 328. 

Olive Draper, 204. 

Samuel Seavens, 302. 

Timothy, 263, 314. 

Tryphena M. (Gleason), 302. 

WiUiam Brandford Shubrick, 333. 
Geegins, Hannah, 206. 
General Court, 9. 
George, Abigail, 135. 

Elizabeth, 133. 

Mary, 119, 136. 
Gilbert, Cordelia E. (Perry), 324. 

Horatio, 324. 
Gibson, M. E., 348. 
Gile, Giles — 

Samuel, 361. 

John, 142. 
Gill, Hester, 305. 
Gleason, Tryphena M., 302. 
Glover, Frances, 364. 

Gore, 320. 

Rebecca Putnam (Page), 334. 

Samuel Gore, 334. 
Goddard, Charles W., 348. 

Deborah, 127. 

Ebenezar, 312,313,314. 

Frances Dana, 289. 

Isaac, 260. 

James, 130. 

Joanna, 199. 

John, 130, 140. 

Joseph, 127. 

Lucretia Dana, 299. 

Mary, 130, 254. 

Mary A. G., 311. 

Mary Storer, 323. 

Stephen, 206. 

Vashti (Colson), 314. 

Wife of Joseph, 127. 
Gossan Simon (negro), 128. 



Goding, Sarah, 288. 
Goldstone, Mary, 49. 
Goldthwaight, Thomas, 46. 
Goad, Goard — 

Anna, 126. 

Hannah, 124. 

Joseph, 124. 

Mary, 64. 

Phebe (Howes), 51. 

Richard, 51, 64. 
Goodvsdn, Mrs. Frank, 348. 
Gookin, Daniel, 10, 28, 31, 58, 85. 
Gore, Goare — 

Abigail (White), 291. 

Ann Eliza, 290. 

Anna, 123. 

Catherine G., 265, 364. 

Catherine Gates (Willard), 282. 

Catharine W., 267. 

Charles Frederick, 296. 

Ebenezer, 133, 143, 198. 

Elizabeth, 124. 

Frances, 292. 

Hannah, 129. 

John, 53, 55, 72, 74, 125, 151. 

Joseph, 198, 310. 

Louisa, 300. 

Mary, 133, 195, 202. 

Mary R., 301. 

Meriba (Thayer), 198. 

Mr., 57, 78. 

ISIrs., 366. 

Nancy D., 246. 

Paul, 151, 192. 

Priscilla, 142. 

Rhoda, 53. 

Samuel, 72, 82, 133, 140, 150, 195, 
205, 291. 

Sarah, 125, 190, 235, 292. 

Sarah D., 267. 

Susanna, 132. 

Watson, 213, 228, 265, 279, 282, 
318, 351. 
Gorton, Abraham, 123. 

John, 57, 62. 

Mary, 57. 
Gould, Goald — 

Asenath (Bacon), 202. 



INDEX 



395 



Gould, Goald — 

Benjamin Althorp, 266, 299. 
Hannah, 135. 
Jacob, 204, 298. 
James, 193. 
Jas. D., 264, 357. 
Joseph Dudley, 298. 
Lucretia, 266. 

Lucretia Dana (Goddard), 299. 
Lucy, 298. 
Lucy (Ruggles), 204. 
Otis, 202, 289. 
Ruth (White), 202. 
Sarah, 264. 

Sarah Payson (Seavems), 298. 
Gover, Isaac, 209. 
Gragg, Isaac P., 331. 
Moses, 265, 309. 
Rebekah, 265. 

Rebecca Newell (Alden), 309. 
Granger, David A., 346. 
Grant, Charles, 229, 314, 316, 331, 
351. 
Charles Edward, 331. 
Eliza Ann Hales (Bacon), 331. 
James, 130. 
S., 364. 

Sarah (Richards), 314. 
Graves, Thomas, 129. 
Hannah, 118. 
John, 50. 
Judith, 50. 
Gray, Alfred Tupper, 318, 323. 
Anna G., 269. 
Catherine Hays (Cunningham), 

285. 
Clarissa, 298. 
Dr., 228. 

Elizabeth (Chipman), 285. 
Harrison, 298, 300. 
Julia Ann C, 318. 
Mary Woodward, 323. 
Mary Woodward (Gray), 323. 
Rev. Mr., 172. See " Dr." 
Sarah Frances (Loring), 281. 
Wm., 277, 281, 285. 
Graeton, Greaton — 
Catherine (Lenton), 194. 
John, 162, 167, 194. 



Graeton, Greaton — 

Sarah (Humphreys), 194. 

Nancy, 298. 

R. H., 201. 

Sarah, 201. 
Green, Greene — 

Abigail, 134. 

Agnes Love, 304. 

Agnes Love(Bradlee),236,268,272. 

Emily, 268. . 

Franklin, 272, 321, 352. 

John, 262. 

Joseph, 126. 

Mrs., 54. 

Sophia Charlotte, 324. 
Greenwood, Abigail, 131. 

EmmeUne, 309. 

Francis W. P., 345. 

Louisa C, 300. 

Mary (Langdon), 304. 

William Pitt, 304. 
Greerson, Ruth, 126. 
Grej'hoimd Tavern, 39. 
Gridley, Abigail, 119. 

Abigail (Baker), 119. 

Lydia, 185, 189. 

Martha, 193. 

Mary (G«orge), 119. 

Samuel, 67, 79, 80, 82, 119, 137, 
140, 145, 146, 148, 149, 151, 
152, 185, 338. 

Sarah, 193. 

Susannah, 193. 

William, 145, 146, 167, 168, 185, 
189, 338. 
Griffin, AbigaU, 120. , 

Benjamin, 125. 

Brother, 61. 

Edward Dorr, 361. 

Joseph, 60, 123, 124, 125. 

Mary, 61. 

Sarah, 125. 
Griggs, Grigs — 

Constable, 150. 

EUzabeth, 125. 

Hannah, 123. 

Ichabod, 131. 

John, 60, 122. 

Joseph, 59. 



396 



INDEX 



Griggs, Grigs — 

Margaret, 129, 143. 

Mary, 55, 60, 189. 

Samuel, 135, 140. 

Sarah, 125. 

Thomas, 55, 143. 
Grimiell, Amia AJmy (Cobb), 322. 

Charles Andrews, 215, 321, 322. 
Griswold, Helen E., 318. 
Grovnor, John, 121. 

Ruth, 121. 
Guild, Ami Eliza (Gore), 290. 

Carohne W., 272. 

Caroline (Whitmarsh), 290. 

Curtis, 334. 

Elizabeth Baker Davis (Thayer), 
272. 

Frederick, 290. 

Governor, 334. 

Henry, 273. 

James, 213, 268, 272, 290. 

Mary D., 364. 

Samuel, 212, 260, 272, 273, 284, 
295, 299, 311, 343, 345, 351. 

Sarah, 268, 273, 364. 

Sarah A., 364. 

Sarah (Mears), 299. 

Sophia B., 267. 

Sophia Buckland (Child), 290. 
Guilmette, Charles A., 347. 

Harriet L., 347. 
Gun, Ann, 52. 

Jasper, 52. 
Gunter, Thomas, 155. 
Gurney, Ruth Stetson, 295. 

Susan, 295. 

Hadlock, Sarah, 124, 125. 
(Hackbourne), Hagboume — 

Catherine, 53, 55. 

Samuel, 53. 
Haines, Haynes — 

Charlotte A. (Folger), 301. 

Daniel, 204. 

James G., 301. 

John H., 287. 

Nathan, 215. 
HaUaday, Charles Stewart, 303. 

Sarah (Adams), 303. 



Hale, Ann G. (W'ard), 328. 

Edward Everett, 236, 237, 238. 

Jane (Lord), 50. 

Phihp, 349, 350. 

Robert, 328. 

Thomas, 50. 
HaU, Edward H., 237. 

Elizabeth, 124, 126. 

John, 56, 216. v 

Jonathan, 157, 158, 189, 338. 

Joseph, 228. 

Maiy, 133. 

Mercy, 189. 

Polly, 206. 

Richard, 76, 123, 128. 

Robert T., 350. 
Hallet, Hallett — 

Maria, 304. 

Sarah Elizabeth, 324. 
Halsey, Anna Maria, 303. 
Hammond, Avis, 186. 

Daniel, 261, 279. 

Margery, 47. 

Mary, 307. 

Sally, 261, 279. 

SaUy (Stoddard), 279. 
Hanchet, Hanshet, — 

John, 60. 

Thom., 125. 
Hancock, Anna Catherine, 269. 

Catherine Downer, 266. 

Enoch, 191. 

William, 266. 
Hannaford, Betsey (Knower), 295. 

William, 222, 295. 
Harbottle, Harbittle — 

Dorothy, 45, 55. 
Harkness, Mary, 133. 
Harmon, Anne L., 348. 
Harrington, Eliza, 365. 

Eliza Rigart, 322. 

Elizabeth D., 264. 

Ephraim, 213, 228, 265, 311, 317, 
319, 320, 352. 

Helen E., 319. 

Helen E. (Griswold), 318. 

Henry F., 264. 

Isabella D., 268. 



INDEX 



397 



Harrington, Jonathan, 345. 

Joseph, 221, 227, 228, 229, 230, 
261, 264, 279, 311, 313, 318, 
319, 320, 321, 322, 323, 324, 
325, 334, 342, 343, 351, 352, 
361. 

Maria, 265. 

Maria Williams (Simmons), 311. 

Martha S., 267. 

Mrs., 367. 

Rebecca, 261, 264, 325, 364. 

Rebecca (Smith), 279. 

Sophia, 365. 

Sophia S., 320. 
Harris, Harise — 

Abigail, 129, 261. 

Elizabeth, 61, 64, 202. 

Elizabeth (Boughey), 57. 

Eunice Elizabeth (Crehore), 280. 

Daniel, 123. 

Horatio, 280, 352. 

Joanna, 126. 

John, 64, 69, 123, 

Lyddia, 130. 

Mary, 64. 

Minnie, 280. 

Priscilla, 121. 

Robert, 57, 61, 67, 69, 121. 

Thaddeus Mason, 360, 373. 
Hartness, Sarah, 129, 130. " 
Hartshorn, Caroline, 276. 
Harvey, Charles C, 304. 
Harwood, Joanna, 65. 

Robert, 65. 
Hastings, Jos., 344. 
Haswell, Mary Cordis, 281. 

Rebecca Cordiss, 316. 
Hatch, Jane EUzabeth, 274. 
Hathaway, Elisha, 206. 

Emma, 348. 

Ruth Ann, 297. 

Sarah, 293. 
Hathorne, Frank H., 348. 
Haven, Anna, 249. 
Anne Shapley, 249. 

Rev. Mr., 166. 
Haviland, Catherine, 333. 

Thomas Philip, 333. 



Hawes, Haws, Hawse — 

Achsah, 300. 

Benjamin, 275. 

Mary Pilsbury (Shannon), 275. 

Robert, 61. 

Sally Clap (Messenger), 300. 

Sarah, 126. 

John Hollbrook, 260, 275, 300. 

Joseph H., 343. 
Hawkins, Melatiah, 124. 
Hawly, Dorothy, 120. 

Elizabeth, 120. 

Joseph, 121. 
Hayden, Albert Fearing, 288. 
Haydere, OUve E., 268. 
Hayman, Lillian R., 349. 
Hayward, Caleb, 160, 162, 191, 196. 

Charles Latham, 309. 

Emmeline, 290. 

Emmeline (Greenwood), 309. 

James Thacher, 214, 291, 301. 

James Warren, 291, 325. 

Josephine, 334. 

Lizzie, 346. 

Mary, 195. 

Samuel, 198. 

Sarah Appleton (Dawes), 301. 

Susan, 310. 
Hazlet, Hazlett — 

WiUiam, 207, 294, 314. 

Eliza (Kingsbury), 207. 

Sarah (Walker), 207. 
Healey, Healy, Heley, Hely — 

Hannah, 132. 

John, 132. 

Margaret, 135. 

Nathaniel, 197. 

Samuel, 131, 143. 
Heath, Heathe — 

Abigail, 64, 122, 198. 
Anna, 134. 

Elizabeth, 42, 116, 117, 122, 143, 

204. 
Elizabeth (Spooner), 201. 
Hannah, 58, 64, 126. 
Hannah (Davis-Murdock), 205. 
Hannah Williams, 303. 
Isaak, 1, 10, 28, 42, 51, 59, 60, 122. 



398 



INDEX 



Heath, Heathe — 

Joseph, 68, 78, 80, 81, 82, 134, 140, 
141, 150, 152, 153, 194, 211, 
205, 313. 

Lucy, 299. 

Margaret D., 264. 

Martha, 57. 

Mary, 48, 58, 60, 197. 

Mehitabel, 121, 125. 

Nancy Greaton, 298. 

Naomi (Vose), 205. 

Patience, 193. 

Peggy (Davenport), 304. 

Peleg, 59, 133, 167, 193,304, 311. 

PoUy Smith, 262. 

Prudence, 188. 

Sally, 278, 303. 

Samuel, 78, 136, 140, 152, 155, 
167, 193, 197, 298. 

Sarah, 190, 280, 304. 

Sarah (Lockwood), 189. 

Susanna, 59. 

Wife of Isaak, 122. 

William, 48, 58, 124, 146, 147, 
167, 168, 188, 189, 198, 201, 
210, 211, 218, 298, 313, 314, 338, 
341. 
Hedge, Abby Burr, 327. 

Mary Ellen, 329. 
Hemingway, Henningway, Hinning- 
way, Hemenway, Hemming- 
way, Henneway — 

Eliza (Hewes), 50. 

Joanna, 63, 121. 

John, 63, 121. 

Joshua, 63, 121, 126. 

Margarett, 126. 

Mary, 63, 121. 

Ralph, 50. 

Sarah, 127. 
Hendee, Adeline (Davis), 332. 

Charles Jefferson, 308, 326, 332. 
Henderson, James, 205. 
Herring, Mary, 

Wyatt, 202. 
Hewes, Hues — 

, 50. 

Abigail, 133. 

Eliza, 50. 



Hewes, Hues — 

Hannah, 292. 

Joshua, 10, 49. 

Mary (Goldston), 49. 

Samuel, 292. 
Hewet, Hewitt, Huit — 

Geo. W., 345. 

John, 132, 188. 
Hewins, Olive (Esty), 288. 

Whiting, 288. 
Hickling, Charles, 227, 263, 310, 
321, 351, 352. 

Eliza Brown (Edes), 263, 310, 
364. 

Eliza Edes, 265, 309. 

Mary, 305. 

Sarah, 320, 321. 

William, 320, 321. 
Hersey, Charles Henry, 285. 
Hibbens, William, 16. 
Hicks, Emma E., 269. 

Josephine M., 269, 327, 328. 

Sarah (Mackay) 335. 

William Howland, 327, 328, 335. 
Higginson, Mr., 108. 
Hildreth, Mrs. E. A., 345. 
Hill, Amos (negro), 128. 

Ann M., 264, 268. 

Helen Sophia, 278. 

Jonathan, 259, 304. 

Julia, 263, 281. 

Margerj', 56. 

Rhoda, 247. 

Suky (Bosson), 304. 

Thomas, 50, 281, 
Hills, Phillis (Lyman), 46, 47. 

William, 46, 47. 
Hinckley, Hinkley — 

Harry, 271. 

Hohnes, 252, 253. 

Martha Augusta, 252. 
Hinds, Elizabeth, 49. 
Hinks, Elizabeth, 133. 
Hoag, William, 335. 
Hobart, Nehemiah, 87. 
Hobbs, Annie M., 270. 
Hodgdon, David Miller, 214, 215, 
274, 325. 

Henrietta (Young), 325. 



INDEX 



399 



Hodge, Hodges — 

Almon Danforth, 330, 352. 
Frederick S., 330. 
Jane H. Leonard, 330. 
Martha (Comstock), 830. 
Holbrook, Holdbrook, Holebrook — 
Anna C, 348. 
Charles Winship, 298. 
Delia Ann (Gardner), 298. 
Dorothy, 136, 187. 
Elizabeth, 127, 131. 
John, 63, 82, 136, 139, 199, 256, 

258. 
Mary, 125, 130. 
Polly, 316. 

Ralph, 136, 139, 152, 
Holden, Priscilla, 246. 
Holdridge, Elizabeth, 120. 
Holgrave, Martha, 43. 
Holland, EHzabeth, 131. 
Joseph, 131. 
Josiah, 131. 
Mary, 126. 
Sarah May, 292. 
Holley, Horace, 361. 
Hollingsworth, Amelia Grigg (Mer- 
rill), 277. 
Amor, 277. 
Jane Merrill, 277. 
Lyman, 304, 328, 352. 
Mark, 277, 353. 
Mary W., 268. 
Mary W. (Thayer), 304. 
Holmes, Homes — 
Ann F., 325. 
Bro, 120. 

Elizabeth, 264, 300 
Ebenezer, 125. 
George, 54. 
Lidea, 120. 
Mary, 300. 

Nathaniel, 63, 123, 125. 
Patience, 63, 123, 129. 
Sarah, 54, 123, 130. 
Thankfull, 130. 

Homans, Sarah, 249. 



Homer, Augusta F., 269. 

Ehzabeth F., 269. 

Mary Elizabeth (Fisher), 300. 

Mrs. Joseph W., 349. 

Thomas Johnston, 300. 
Hood, Mr., 338. 
Hooker, Thomas, 8, 17, 43. 
Hooper, Adeline D., 268. 

Adeline Denny (Ripley), 304. 

Caroline King, 323. 

Elizabeth, 133. 

Ellen, Priscilla, 284. 

Maria, 304. 

Maria (Hooper), 304. 

Mrs. George K., 348. 

Polly (W'illiams), 302, 308. 

Robert Chamblet, 282, 284, 304, 
306. 

Hopkins, Hannah, 60. 

John, 163. 
Horse Sheds, The, 357-8. 
Horton, Sam'l Henshaw, 259. 
Hosier, Ursala (Adams), 46. 
Houghton, John, 260, 276. 

Nancy, 260. 

Nancy Williams, 267, 276. 
Houston, George, 271. 

Susan E. (Lee), 326. 

William R., 326. 

Hovey, Abigail, 286. 
Anna Gardner, 297. 
John, 228. 

Howard, Caleb, 157. 
Catharine Hays, 322. 
Eliza D., 307. 
Elizabeth, 51. 
Hepsie, Swan, 329. 
John, 74. 
John A., 348. 
Joseph, 187. 
Mehittabel, 130. 
Patty, 197. 
Samuel, 310. 

Sarah, 310. 
How, Howe, Howes — 

Abraham, 53, 58, 60, 121, 131. 



400 



INDEX 



How, Howe, Howes — 
Abraham F., 266, 294. 
Charlotte, 286. 
Cordeha, 329. 
Ehzabeth, 53, 58. 
George, 275. 
Hannah,' 193. 

Hannah Williams (Heath), 303. 
Henrietta (Sparhawk), 317. 
Isaak, 125. 
Jacob, 131, 

James, 53, 164, 169, 190, 197. 
John, 303, 317. 
Lydia, 312. 
Mary, 266, 275. 
Mary P., 268. 
Mary (Woodman), 294. 
Mr., 88. 
Phebe, 51. 
Susanna, 279. 
Thomas, 281. 
Wife of Abraham, 53. 
Howell, Martha, 134. 
Hoyt, Lewis, 219. 
Hubbard, Jane Parkinson, 290. 

Rebeccah, 122. 
Huckins, James, 287. 
Lucy E., 270. 
Lucy J. (Crocker), 287. 
Mary Louisa, 268. 
Hughes, Rebecca Hollingsworth, 

315. 
Hull, George A., 317. 
Himiplirey, Humphreys — 
Caroline Aurelia, 309. 
Edward, 206. 
Mary Ann, 277. 
Sarah, 194. 
Hunneman, Eliz., 263. 

Elizabeth (Champney), 296. 
Frances, 266. 
Hannah (Hewes), 292. 
Harriet (Bradley), 308. 
John C, 269. 
Josiah Hewes, 308. 
Mary C, 266. 

Sally Williams (Patten), 292. 
Samuel Hewes, 228, 229, 263, 296, 
351. 



Himneman, William Cooper, 292, 

343, 358. 
Himnewell, Emeline Aquila (Sar 
gent), 317. 

Jonathan, 284, 343. 

Joseph Warren, 317. 

Theoda, 284. 
Hunt, Elisha, 251. 

Elizabeth, 265. 

Ehzabeth Gardner (Whitin), 251. 

Hannah, 197. 

Jane Lee, 318. 

John, 209, 251, 265, 266, 319. 

Lucy (Calef), 251. 

Mary Parker, 289. 

Mary 345. 

Myra, 345. 

Nabby, Willams (Esty), 251. 

Sarah Jane, 266. 

Sarah Jane (Symmes), 251. 

Susan B., 265. 

Susan Wilde, 345. 
Hunter, Solomon, 199. 
Hunting Abigail, (Blaney), 201. 

Asa, 201, 316. 
Huntington, F. D., 252. 

Margret, 49. 

Mary, 178. 
Huntley, John, 60. 

Wife of John, 60. 
Hurlbert, Nettie (Gay), 328. 
Hutchins, Caroline P., 270. 

Emma, 270, 356. 

Harriet, 270. 

Horace G., 270. 

John Hurd, 278. 

Julia H., 270. 
Hutchinson, Ann, 9, 15, 23. 

Lt. Gov., 194. 
Hyde, Abigail, 197. 

Enoch, 196. 

Ephraim, 197. 

George Baxter, 266, 321. 

Mary S., 278. 

Mary Whitten (Clap), 321. 
Hyland, Lucy, 198. 
Hymn Books, 15, 23. 
Hyslop, Elizabeth, 194. 



INDEX 



401 



Inches, Caroline Maria, 303. 
Charles, 326. 
Harriet Auchmuty Howard (Boit), 



Indian Language, 27, 36. 
Indians, 12, 24-33. 
Ingalls, M. L., 347, 348. 
Ingram, John, 127. 
Ireland, James, 197. 

Jackson, Antipas, 311. 

Hannah, 223. 

Hannah (Richards), 311, 
Jemima, 201. 

Mary (Doggett), 311. 

Patty, 200. 

Rev. Mr., 166. 

Samuel, 311. 
Jacobs, Anna, 186. 
Jamaica End, 74, 357. 
James, Charles, 205. 

Joseph, 204, 311. 

Mary (Robinson), 204. 
Jarvis, Jervis — 

Capt., 159. 

James, 140. 

Mrs., 159. 

W. C, 225. 
Jeffries, John, 246. 
Jenner, Thomas, 51. 
Jennings, Mary, 196. 

Stephen, 196. 
Jewell, Mary, 313. 
John EUot Club, The, 359, 372. 
Johnson, Johnston — 

Anne, 195. 

Brill, 193. 

Captain, 4, 5. 

Ehsha, 129. 

Eliza, 55. 

Eliza (Porter), 50. 

EUzabeth, 192. 

Grace (Farver), 45. 

Harriet D., 267. 

Isaak, 60. 

John, 10, 45, 126. 

John B., 216. 

Margery, 45. 



Johnson, Johnston — 

Mary, 63, 127. 

Nathaniel, 63. 

Rebecca, 127. 

Thomas E., 349. 
Jones, Aim, 56. 

Daniel, W., 331. 

Elizabeth, 130. 

Emma A., (Cleaves) 331. 

Ezekiel, 163. 

Frances, 282. 

Hannah, 325. 

James, 310. 

John, 245. 

Lewis, 56. 

Mary, 313. 

Mary Anne, 268. 

Mr., 257. 

Nabby (Baker), 205. 
Polly (Morton), 296. 
Sarah Heath, 245. 
Sarah (Heath) Spooner, 245. 
Solomon, 205, 298. 
S. C, 345. 
Susan J. M., 345. 
Thomas, 130. 

Thomas Kilby, 227, 296, 344, 358. 
Titus, 131. 
William, 158. 
William Safford, 271. 
Jordan, Anne Bond (Mirick), 276. 
Jesse, 276. 
Mary, 57. 
Joy, Charles, 203, 289. 
Dorcas (Babb), 203. 
Jesse, 207, 259. 
Mary Parker (Himt), 289. 
William, 289. 
Judy, A. M., 356. 

Keebe, Goodwife, 69. 
Kelton, Edward, 187. 

Sarah, 197. 
Kendall, Frederick E— , 350. 

Samuel, 169. 
Kent, Abigail, 245. 

Benjamin, 209, 247, 250, 252, 
264, 301, 302. 



402 



INDEX 



Kent, Clarissa, 195. 
Eleanor, 262. 
Eleanor (Bradford), 247. 
Eloisa, 267. 
Isabel, 267. 
Rhoda (Hill), 247. 
Samuel, 247. 
Sarah, 266. 
Keyes, Simeon, 259, 
Kelbourne, Kilborne — 
Eliza, 53. 
Greorge, 53. 
Kileski, Etta, 349. 
Kimball, Mary Jane, 294. 
King, Edward, 187. 
Mary Louisa, 268. 
Mrs., 306. 

Samuel M., 348, 349. 
Kingsbury, Aaron, 229, 291, 293, 
304, 358. 
Eliza, 207. 

Freelove (Fenner), 292. 
Henrietta, 292. 
Joseph, 125. 
Mary (Lethbridge), 304. 
Mercy, 127. 
S., 176. 

Theodore, 260. 
William B., 231, 292, 358. 
Kingsley, Mary Bellowes, 282. 
Klous, Seaman, 294. 
Knapp, Mary, 248. 
Knight, Lois Eaton, 260. 
Samuel, 125. 
Sarah, 125. 
Knower, Betsey, 295. 
Kube, Edward, 69. 

Ladies' Religious Charitable Society, 

359, 363 - 367. 
Lamb, Lambe — 

Abiel, 120, 123. 

Caleb, 63, 124. 

Decline, ahas Smith, 63. 

Dorothy (Harbottle), 45, 55. 

Elizabeth, 45, 120. 

Hulder, 131. 



Lamb, Lambe — 

Joshua, 68, 72, 80, 81, 115, 120, 
124,128, 132,139, 141,152, 170. 
Mary, 63, 120, 123, 124. 
Mr., 71. 

Susanna, 132, 256, 258. 
Thomas, 10, 45, 55. 

Lambert, Harriet, 306. 

Mrs. (King), 306. 

Susan, 306. 

Susannah, 306, 315. 

Susannah (Cunningham), 306. 

Wm., 306, 315, 343, 360. 
Landers, William, 204. 
Lane, Eliza Anne, 294. 
Langdon, Caroline, 309. 

Catherine Smith, 285, 

Mary, 196, 304. 

Langley, Alona, 315. 

Emily (Pierpont), 276. 

Esther (Mayo), 195. 

Samuel, 162, 169, 170, 195, 260, 
276, 278, 311, 315, 323, 343. 

Wm., 261, 278, 291, 315, 344. 
Lathbridge, Sarah, 133. 
Lathgood, Sarah, 131. 
Laud, Archbishop, 15. 
Lawn, Susan, 320. 
Lawrence, Catharine, 323. 

EUzabeth, 120. 

Seth, 205. 

William, 238. 
Leach, Daniel, 252. 

Mary Ann, 287. 
Learned, Daniel, 198. 

Grant, 205. 
Leason, Lezon — 

Anne, 131. 

Isaac, 131. 

Thankfull, 128, 

William, 128. 
Leavens, Elizabeth, 47. 

John, 10, 47, 54, 124. 

Rachel (Wright), 47, 54. 
Leavitt, E. W., 356. 

Ellen Wilhista, 270, 356. 

Frank M., 271. 



INDEX 



403 



Leavitt, Hannah Caroline, 270, 356. 
Lee, Robert, 142. 

Susan E., 326. 
Leeds, Hannah, 204. 

Maiy, 200. 
Lehman, Henry, 264. 
Leland, C, 364. 

Elizabeth, 356, 365. 

Julia, 264, 365. 

Sarah Elizabeth (Hallett), 324. 

Sherman, 288, 344. 

William Sherman, 324, 329. 
Lemist, Edwin, 252, 283. 

Frances, 364. 

Frances Ann, 268. 

Frances C, 264. 

John, 210, 212, 213, 228, 229, 262, 
281, 286, 288, 298, 302, 304, 
309, 316, 342, 343, 351, 352. 

Mary Cordis (Haswell), 281. 

Mrs., 365, 366. 

Sarah W. D., 270. 

Sarah Whitney Davis (Dorr), 283. 
Lemon, Eleazer Giles, 321, 351. 
Lenton, Catherine, 194. 
Leonard, Jane H., 330. 
Lethbridge, Leathbridg — 

Mary, 304. 

Richard, 158, 162. 
Lewis, Amy (Weld), 56. 

Ann, 263. 

Ann P., 364. 

Caroline Crosley, 334. 

Catherine, 311 

Elijah, 212, 259, 260, 285, 292, 
294, 307, 315, 343. 

EUzabeth, 268. 

Elizabeth Sumner (Daggett), 294. 

Fanny, 260. 

Fanny (Sumner), 294. 

George, 214, 294, 321. 

Hannah, 260. 

Hannah (Seaver), 200. 

Hannah Brackett,279. 

Hannah Brackett (Lewis) , 279. 

Harriet Lucrecia, 27. 

James, 200, 260, 311, 321. 

John, 314. 

Polly, 291. 



Lewis, Polly (Pillsbury), 314. 

Samuel Shaw, 279. 

Sarah, 279. 

Sarah B., 268, 310, 323. 

Susan Minns (Wheelwright), 321. 

Thomas, 279, 291. 

William, 56. 
Lilley, Mary, 288. 

Thomas, 343. 
Lincoln, Abraham, 233, 234, 242. 

Benjamin, 322. 

Catherine Cashing, 298. 

Freedman's Aid Society, 359, 369. 

Sarah E., 335. 
Lincoln, Governor, 242. 
Lindsey, Jeane, 186. 
Lisle, Henry Maurice, 361 . 
List, Harriet (Winlsow), 304. 
Lithgow, Mr., 228. 
Little, Elizabeth (Malbon), 279. 

Mary, 300. 

Samuel, 279, 372. 
Livermore, Grace, 270. 
Locke, Ahneria Rosaline (Boynton), 
294. 

Eliza Ann (Lane), 294. 

Frances (Brewster), 294. 

Lyman, 294. 
Lockwood, Emma, 356. 

Maria D., 322, 325, 356. 

Samuel, 322, 325. 

Sarah, 189. 

Thomas S., 322. 
Loco, Hannah, 204, 297. 
Lorde, Jane, 53. 

Thomas, 294. 
Loring, Anna, 264. 

Anna (Thorndike), 275. 

Francis Caleb, 277, 352. 

James G., 345. 

Joshua, 150. 

Miriam Mason (Perkins), 277. 

Miriam P., 269. 

Sarah Prances, 281. 

William I., 264, 358. 

WiUiam Joseph, 275. 
Lothrop EUzabeth Moore, 273. 
Loud, Debby, 203. 

Stephen, 260. 



404 



INDEX 



Lovel, John, 132. 

Levering, Loverain, Loveren. 

Allice, 130. 

AJice (Crafts), 128. 

Anne (Phillips), 274. 

Esther (Martin), 274. 

Jane E., 270. 

Jane Elizabeth (Hatch), 274. 

Joseph, 274. 

Mary L., 265. 

Mary Lane (Clap), 274. 

Mary Langdon (Borland- Wales), 
274. 

Nathaniel Phillips, 265, 274, 334. 

Robert, 128, 135, 199. 

Wife of Robert, 199. 
Lovett, Joshua, 308. 
Low, John H., 346, 347. 

Sarah Gilchrist, 300. 
Lowder, Susannah, 204. 
Lowell, Anna Cabot, 266, 282, 283, 
356, 364. 

Charles, 180, 184, 206, 229, 292, 
361. 

Elizabeth Cabot (Putnam), 308, 

Harriet Brackett (Spence), 206. 

John, 203, 206, 227, 229, 272, 283, 
307, 316, 343, 351, 358, 360, 362. 

John Amory, 308, 329, 344. 

Misses, 366. 

Rebecca, 203. 

Rebecca Amory, 266, 283. 

Rebecca (Amory), 307. 

Rebecca R., 365. 

Susan Cabot, 308. 
Luke, Sarah, 255. 
Lyman, Phillis, 46, 47. 

Richard, 46. 

Sarah, 46. 
Lion, Lyon, Lyons — 

Abigail, 64, 120. 

John, 64, 125. 

Joanna, 129. 

Joseph, 121, 122. 

Mary, 122, 124. 

Rachel, 202. 

Samuel, 65, 123, 129. 

Thomas, 64, 122. 



Lion, Lyon, Lyons — 
Wife of William, 58. 
William 58, 62, 120, 121. 
William H., 237. 

Macarty, Maccarty, Mcarty, Mc- 
Carty, McCarthy — 

Elizabeth, 282. 

Martha (Nolen), 205. 

Susannah, 263, 298. 

Thomas, 168. 

William, 205, 212, 298, 314. 
McCleary, Maria Louisa, 302. 
McClure, Ann, 188. 
MacDonald, McDonald — 

Archie, 350. 

Marie Stone, 348. 

William F., 347. 
MacGregor, Edith, 350. 
Macthaden, Rebecca, 133. 
McKenzie, Alexander, 238, 239. 
McLellan, Anna Fields, 275. 
Mack, William, 278. 
Mackay, Lottie M., 350. 

Sarah, 335. 
Magee, James, 281. 

Margaret, 281. 
Magoon, Nathnl, 344. 
Malbon, Elizabeth, 279. 
Mandell, Marie Louise, 269. 
Manser, Lydia, 136. 

Mary, 186. 

Sarah, 136. 

Susanna, 136. 
Mansfield, Elizabeth, 41. 

Nancy (Crosby), 200. 

Stephen, 200, 279. 
Marcy, John, 124. 

Sarah (Hadlock), 124. 
Mareen, Elizabeth, 125. 

Mary, 125. 

Philip, 125. 

William, 125. 
Marsh, Stephen W., 303. ' 

Warren, 260. 
Marshall, Benjamin, 204, 295. 

Jacob, 324, 351. 

Mary (Gay), 324. 



INDEX 



405 



Marston, Stephen W., 289. 
Martin, Esther, 274. 
Mascraft, Elizabeth, 126. 

Hannah, 126. 

Mary, 62, 124, 126. 
Mason, Elizabeth, 291. 

Margaret (Dennison), 65. 

Sarah, 186. 
Mather, Cotton, 6, 18, 34, 35, 38, 92, 
112, 114, 115, 336. 

Hannah, 132. 

Increase, 109. 

Katherine, 126. 

Richard, 15, 23, 336. 

Mrs., 69. 

Sarah, 109, 112. 
Matthews, John, 56. 

Wife of John, 56. 
Maverick, Samuel, 9. 
May, Mays, Mayse — 

Abigail, 120, 133. 

Benjamin, 153, 192, 338. 

Carohne, 269. 

Caroline S. (Danforth), 254. 

Dorothy, 135. 

Ebenezer, 131, 140, 188, 338. 

Edward, 287. 

Eleazer, 123, 135. 

John, 56, 60, 61, 67, 118, 123, 126. 

John Joseph, 209, 236, 254, 255, 
276, 287, 352. 

Lemuel, 158, 195. 

Mary, 192. 

Mary (Goddard), 254. 

Mehittabel, 122, 126, 133. 

Naomi, 122, 126. 

Prudence, 126. 

Prudence (Bridge), 118. 

Samuel, 60, 142, 151, 254. 

Sarah, 56, 60, 120. 

Sarah (Brewer-Bruce), 118. 

Sophia Augusta, 300. 
May Fair, 358, 366. 
Maybin, Caroline, 364. 
Mayhew, Jonathan, 217. 

Martha, 202. 

Nancy, 266. 



Mayhew, Nancy (Allen), 285. 

Nathaniel, 266, 285. 

Simeon, 202. 
Maynard, Vinnie H., 348. . 
Mayo, Maioh — 

Capt., 80. 

Elisha, 199. 

Elizabeth, 48, 131. 

Esther, 195. 

Hannah, 61, 121. 

Hannah (Graves), 118. 

John, 48, 60, 61, 67, 75, 78, 118, 
121, 125. 

Joseph, 131. 

Maria, 309. 

Mary, 133. 

Mary (Gore), 202. 

Mehitabel, 124, 125. 

Polly, 202. 

Prudence, 292. 

Rebecca, 123. 

Sarah, 125, 134, 257, 258. 
^Sarah (Burden), 118. 

Susannah, 192, 292. 

Thomas, 48, 199, 202, 275, 310. 

Wife of Thomas, 199. 
Maxfield, John, 148. 

Samuel, 312. 

Mary (Bradlee), 312. 
Mead, Meede — 

Helen M., 348. 

Isaac, 252. 

Richard, 61. 
Means, John O., 233. 
Mears, Meers — 

Abigail, 175, 194. 

Amos Adams, 260. 

Ann, 192. 

Catherine, 198. 

Hannah, 131. 

James, 133, 140, 160, 162, 167, 
190, 199, 206, 338. 

John, 190. 

Katherine, 132. 

Mary, 206. 

Mehittabel, 132. 

Sarah, 299. 



406 



INDEX 



Mecuen, John, 261 

Wife of John, 261. 
Medcalf, Martha, 58. 
Meeting House, Bell, 12, 71, 72, 75, 
155, 156, 170, 222. 

Clock, 160, 168, 219, 220, 232, 233- 

Contribution to second, 69. 

Corner stone plate, 218, 219. 

Dedication, 219. 

Destroyed by fire, 142. 

During Revolution, 163. 

Easter decoration, first, 235. 

Memorial Tablets, 218, 229, 238, 
239. 

New one proposed, 14, 79, 149, 
171. 

One hundreth anniversary, 238. 

Pews, 73, 80, 81, 161, 186, 219. 

Porch, 74, 235. 

Position of Third, 80. 

Pulpit, 232, 238. 

Raising entertainment, 69, 83. 

Repairs, additions, &c., 10, 12, 13, 
154, 156, 160, 164, 169, 227, 
230-2, 234, 235, 238. 

Scollers not to keep school in, 70. 

Seating capacity, 13, 71, 73, 160, 
218, 
Mellish, Elizabeth, 206. 
Merrett, Franklin Smith, 331, 353. 
Meriam, Merriam — 

Abigail, 344. 

Abijah, 260, 264, 287, 299, 315, 
327, 328, 351. 

Benj., 343. 

Catherine, 299, 328. 

Catherine (Coburn), 299. 

Denman, 69. 

Hannah, 264. 

Jonas, 188. 

Mrs. A., 264. 
Merice, Ebenezer, 123. 
Merrill, IVIr., 349. 
Merry, Sarah A. W., 268. 
Merryfield, Hannah, 126. 
Messenger, Sally Clap, 300. 

William S., 332. 
Messer, Julia, 269. 



Messer, Sarah Nichols, 269. 
Meston, Julia, 346, 347. 

Julia Annie, 269. 
Metcalf , Robert Comfort, 209, 372. 
Mighill, Ellen, 54. 

Thomas, 54. 
Miles, H. Idel, 348. 

Sarah Elizabeth, 329. 

Solomon Pearson, 329. 
Miller, Gertrude, 350. 

John, 1, 42, 51. 

Lidia, 42, 51. 

Sophia, 313. 
Mills, Edward, 69. 

Ephraim, 202. 

Lemuel, 351. 

Martha, 193. 

Stephen, 148. 
Milton, 150. 

Minns, Elizabeth F., 268, 
INIirick, Anne Bond, 276. 
Monk, Dorothy, 130. 

Elias, 130. 

Hopestill, 136. 
Montgomery, John, 200. 

Wife of John, 200. 
Moody, John, 49. 

Sarah, 49. 
More, Moore — 

Henry, 311. 

John, 61, 62. 

Martin, 30. 

Nancy, 303. 

Wife of John, 62. 
Morgan, James, 56. 

Margery (Hill), 56. 
Morris, Morice, Morrice — 

Ebenezer, 126. 

Edward, 60, 126. 

Elizabeth, 122, 125. 

Grace, 60, 122. 

Hannah, 125. 

Isaac, 127. 

Margret, 124. 
Morrell, Morrill — 

Ameha Grigg, 277. 

Anne, 246. 

George, 299. 

Helen (Brooks), 331. 



INDEX 



407 



Morrell, Morrill — 

Isaak, 10, 48, 

Joseph, 331. 

Katharine, 281. 

Sarah, 48. 

Sarah Emmons (Rogers), 299. 
Morse, Abigail B. (Davenport), 313. 

Amos, 313, 321. 

Elizabeth (Holmes), 300. 

Ezra, 262, 294, 343. 

Hartford, 300, 313. 

Henry Alphonso, 323. 

Irene, 313. 

Irene (Morse), 313. 

Jemima, 175. 

Joan D. (Follansby), 323. 

Lewis, 261, 313. 

Lucy (Gay), 313. 

Luther, 300. 

Mary, 261, 288. 

Mary Ann, 272. 

Mary (Hohnes), 300. 

Mary (Jewell), 313. 

Olive CRichards), 313. 

Rebecca, 262, 295. 

Rebecca (Thomas), 294. 
Morton, Marcus, 225. 

Polly, 296. 

Sarah Foster, 301, 
Morey, Morie, Mory — 

Mary, 120. 

Susannah, 120, 124, 272. 

Thomas, 120, 124. 
Moses, Rebecca, 276. 
Mosher, Isabel, 187. 

Jeremiah, 187. 
Motley, Emma, 297. 

Judith Eleanor, 269. 

Maria Bussey (Davis), 297. 

Minna, 269. 

Thomas, 269, 297. 
Mott, Adam, 52. 

Sarah, 52. 
Muddy River, see Brookline. 
Mumford, Moimtfort — 

Hanna (Anna), 18, 19. 
Muncrieff, Joseph, 193, 201. 

Sarah, 189. 
Munke, Ann, 58. 



Monroe, Munroe — 

Avis (Hammond) 186. 

Daniel, 167. ' 

Edmund, 343, 

Nehemiah, 145, 147, 148, 162, 
165, 167, 169, 186, 209, 211, 
245, 246, 259, 296, 316, 343. 

Sarah (Mason), 186. 

William, 186. 
Murdock, Hannah (Davis), 205. 
Murreene, Mary, 125. 

Rebecca, 125, 
Music, 336 to 353, 
Myrick, Benjamin, 288, 

Sarah (Coding), 288.. 

Nash, Caroline M, (Fox), 318, 

David R., 318, 

Elizabeth (Porter), 64. 

Prank O., 349. 
Nason, Elias, 336. 

Elizah Ann, 261. 

Jabez, 261. 
Nazing, 3. 
Negro, Amos Hill, 128. 

Bristol, 142. 

Dan, 130. 

Dinah, 188. 

Fortune, 188. 

Guinea, 142, 143. 

Ishmael, 192. 

James Trusty, 129. 

Jeffrey, 142. 

Keturah, 189, 

Phillis, 142, 187, ,192. 

Simon Gossan, 128. 

Tobias, 191, 

Venus, 192, 
Nelson, Mr., 85, 
Nevins, David, 280, 

Eliza S, (Coffin), 280. 
Newel, Newell, Nuell — 

Abigail, 124, 195, 

Abraham, 50, 57, 59, 60. 

Capt., 188, 

Ebenezer, 80, 81, 127, 139, 141, 
142, 146, 147, 152, 338. 

Elizabeth, 61, 122, 126. 

Experience, 126. 

Faith, 123, 127. 



408 



INDEX 



Newel, Newell, Nuell — 

Frances, 50. 

Grace, 57. 

Hannah, 124. 

Jacob, 61, 62, 121. 

James Webster, 305. 

John, 120, 126. 

Joseph R., 263. 

Isaac, 61, 121. 

Martha, 61, 133. 

Mary, 123, 195, 262. 

Mr., 228. 

Narah, 122. 

Nathaniel, 133. 

Rebecca, 123. 

Samuel, 259. 

Sarah, 126. 

Susanna, 60. 

Wm., 236. 
Newman, Andrew, 259, 310. 

Anna B., 265. 

Deborah, 265. 

Margaret, 265. 

Mary, 265. 

Susan D., 265. 

Susan (HajTvard), 310. 
Newton, Antipas, 261. 
Nichols, Charles, 282, 285. 

Harriet (Powers), 282. 

Mary P., 268, 285. 

Sarah E., 268. 
Nickerson, Joseph, 275. 

Louisa (Winslow), 275. 
Noble, John, 209, 300. 

Mary Folsom, 318. 
Nolen, Elizab., 200. 

Geo., 202. 

Martha, 205. 

Thomas, 148, 168. 
Norcross, Hannah, 131. 
Norrice, Edward, 52. 

Mary, 62. 
Norton, Lilian, 348. 
Norwood, George, 265. 
Nye, Sophia, 290. 

Oakes, Mr., 85. 
Ockington, David, 170. 



Odding, Sarah, 49, 50. 
OflStt, Isabel, 48. 

Thomas, 48. 
Oliver, Abigail K., 302. 
Olney, G. L., 349. 
Onion, Elizabeth, 120. 

Grace, 126. 

Hannah, 120. 

Robert, 120. 

Sarah, 120. 
Orr, James, 158, 189, 198. 
Osgood, Elizabeth Lawrence (Bur- 
Ung), 306. 

John Felt, 214, 239, 280, 306, 
352. 

Mr., 228. 
Otis, Harriet (Blanchard), 332. 

Harriet L., 270. 

Theodore, 213, 214, 307, 332, 352. 
Owen, Dr., 88. 

Packer, Catherine French (Bowen), 
327. 

George, 285, 309, 327. 
Page, Holman, 358. 

Rebecca Putnam, 334. 
Paine, Pain, Payne — 

Alice, 288. 

EHzabeth, 133. 

Mary, 313. 
Paddy, Margaret, 46. 
Paddleford, John, 201. 
Palfrey, J. G., 184. 

Professor, 366. 

Remember, 61. 
Pahner, Geo. B., 269. 

Louisa, 308. 

Maria D., 269. 

Rebeckah (Short), 47. 

Timothy, 217. 

Walter, 47. 
Parish, Parrich — 

Carolyn H., 349, 350. 

John, 59. 

Magdalen (Bullard), 59. 
Parke, Parkes — 

Ann, 51. 

Brother, 57. 



INDEX 



409 



Parke, Parkes — 

Deacon, 10, 57, 60. 

Edmund, 63. 

Elizabeth, 62, 

John, 62. 

Martha, 49, 60. 

Martha (Holgrave), 43. 

Mary, 63, 64. 

Theoda, 117. 

William, 43, 46, 49, 67, 117, 118. 
Parker, Abigail, 142, 189, 193, 196. 

Ann, 49. 

Anna (Sargent), 280. 

Augustus, 214, 297, 333, 335. 

Bethia, 135, 277. 

Betsey Wendell (Townsend), 330. 

Catherine, 194, 273. 

Ebenezer Francis, 283, 304. 

Edmund, 63, 68, 70, 71. 

Eleanor, 196, 271. 

Elizabeth, 62. 

Elizabeth Clap (Stone), 283. 

Elizabeth Leman, 291. 

Elizabeth (Phillips), 280. 

Emily, 303. 

Hannah, 127, 202. 

Isaac, 330. 

Jakob, 123. 

Jeremiah, 143, 162, 188. 

John, 62, 69, 163, 264, 280, 314, 
343, 358. 

Jonathan, 162, 168, 191, 351. 

Judith (Smith), 311. 

Margaret, 121. 

Martha, 188. 

Mary, 63, 131, 133, 143, 192. 

Mary Elizabeth (Baker), 335. 

Mr., 367. 

Nicholas, 49, 63. 

Noah, 196. 

Reuben, 311. 

Sarah, 196, 270, 290. 

Sarah (Seaver), 290. 

Thomas, 290. 

Timothy, 131, 132. 

William, 202. 

WiUiam Prentiss, 297, 372. 
Parkman, Elizabeth Willard, 279. 

Francis, 361. 



Parkman, Mr., 228. 

Susan, 299. 
Parsons, Hannah Maria, 317. 

Thomas W., 317. 
Parter, Jabez, 163. 
Partridge, Catherine, 285. 

Jane, 191. 

Thadeus, 160, 162, 167, 190. 
Pastor, letter of acceptance, 154, 
165, 226. 

OflSce defined, 6. 

Ordination of, 4, 5, 72, 76, 153, 

155, 167, 228, 236, 237. 
Provision for, 7, 11, 39, 79, 152, 

156, 230. 

Report to parish, 236, 237. 
Patch, Sylvia, 263. 
Patchin, Goodwife, 58. 
Patrick, Elizabeth, 262. 

William, 191. 
Patten, Jonathan, 162, 200. 

Mary Summer, 263. 

Mrs., 366. 

Nancj' (Scott), 295. 

Nathaniel, 168, 295. 

Polly H., 264, 364, 368. 

Sally, 262, 263. 

Sarah, 295. 

Sarah (Williams), 206, 292. 

William, 206, 229, 232, 262, 285, 
296, 343. 
Patterson, Hannah B., 320. 
Pattie, Pattee, Patty — 

Adam, 162, 197. 

Lois, 186. 

Louis, 197. 
Payson, Pason, Paison — 

Abby, 267. 

Abigail, 191. 

Ann, 121. 

Ann (Parke), 51. 

Bathsheba, 64. 

Bathsheba (Tileston), 118, 119. 

Benjamin, 130. 

Deacon, 10, 65. 

Ebenezer, 135. 

Edward, 51, 58, 118, 121, 122. 

Elizabeth, 129, 133. 

Elizabeth (Child), 119. 



410 



INDEX 



Pason, Paison, Payson — 

Elizabeth (Dowell), 44, 53. 

Ephraim, 121. 

GOes. 44, 51, 53, 67, 118. 

Hannah, 118. 

Henry, 191. 

Jacob, 131. 

John, 64, 67, 78, 79, 82, 118, 119. 
129. 

Joseph, 191, 197. 

Lydia, 263. 

Mary, 58, 121, 130. 

Mary (Eliot), 118. 

Rebecca, 307. 

Rev. Mr., 166. 

Samuel, 121, 125, 263, 275. 

Sarah, 65, 132, 135, 142, 185. 

Waitstill, 133. 

Wife of Samuel, 125. 
Peabody, A. P., 237. 

Haimah (Baxter), 174. 

Oliver, 109, 145, 151, 152, 153, 
174, 187. 
Peak, Peake — 

Christopher, 51, 126. 

Dorcas (French), 51. 

Jonathan, 61. 

Sarah, 61. 

Sister, 59. 
Peacock, Peakok — 

Jane, 54. 

Richard, 54. 

Sarah, 125. 
Pearson, Mr., 12. 
Pemberton, IVIr., 101. 
People's Bank, 21. 
Pepper, Anna, 131. 

Elizabeth (Johnson), 55, 56. 

Jacob, 76, 125. 

Joseph, 120. 

Mary, 51, 120. 

Phillis, 53. 

Richard, 51. 

Robert, 55, 56. 

Sarah, 120. 

Wife of Jacob, 125. 
Percy, Earl, 189. 
Pearey, Ellen, 335. 
Perkins, Abigail, 296. 



Perkins, Caroline Elizabeth, 304. 

Catherine H., 301. 

EUz (Woolton), 49. 

Elizabeth R., 265. 

Emeline, 267. 

Helen Louisa, 264. 

James, 249. 

Miriam Mason, 277. 

Samuel, 266, 296. 

Thomas H., 249. 

William, 49. 
Perrin, Augustus, 265, 284, 319. 

David Child, 266, 284. 

Ellen P., 268. 

Ellen Priscilla (Hooper), 284- 

Harriet, 265. 

Harriet (Child), 319. 

Margaret (Healey), 135. 

Martha, 143. 

Mary, 134. 

Noah, 128, 135, 140. 146, 147, 
155, 168, 338. 

Patience, 128. 

Patience (Walker), 135. 

Susan, 142. 
Perry, Cordelia E., 324. 

Mary Ann (DeWoK), 283. 

John, 47. 

Samuel, 120. 
Peters, Hugh, 16. 
Pettes, Henry, 296. 

Mary (Barrett), 296. 
Pew Owners, 139 to 140, 271 to 335. 
Phelps, Mary, 262. 
Phillips, Anne, 274. 

Caleb, 125. 

Eliza (Cunningham), 302. 

Elizabeth, 122, 125, 280. 

James, 302. 

Matilda, 347. 

Rebecca Capen (Simmons), 299. 

Samuel Maverick, 299. 

Wm., 29. 
Phipps, Elizabeth, 364. 

Ehzabeth V., 269. 

Elizabeth Vinton (Staniford), 279. 

Maria Dennis (Staniford). 278. 

Mary A. K., 266. 

Mrs. Wm., 367 



INDEX 



411 



Phipps, Samuel, 266, 278. 
Sarah, 127. 
WiUiam, 227, 229, 269, 274, 279, 

351. 
William K., 345. 
Pierpont, Pierpovnt, PairpojTit, 
Pierrepoint, Peirpont, Peire- 
pont, Peirpoynt, 
Anna, 197. 
Anne, 133, 188, 305. 
Benjamin, 123, 190. 
Ebenezer, 67. 68, 74, 80, 81, 82, 

131, 137, 140, 141, 146, 151, 

152, 153, 187, 190, 338. 
Elizabeth, 132. 
Emily, 276. 
Experience, 64, 121. 
Hannah, 136, 193, 195, 245. 
James, 122, 142, 151. 
Joseph, 123. 
John, 58, 59, 67, 116, 122, 123, 

159, 160, 168, 193, 255, 338, 

361. 
Jonathan, 125. 
Margret, 125. 
Maria, 62. 
Mary, 188, 197. 
air., 141. 
Robert, 62, 136, 164, 167, 204, 

305. 
Sarah, 130, 133, 204. 
Thankfull, 58. 
Thankful (Stow), 116. 
William, 190, 338. 
Pickering, Frances D., 264. 
Francis Dana (Goddard), 289. 
Frances G., 269. 
Henry G., 270. 
Henry White, 264, 289, 352. 
Rebecca W., 268. 
Susan H., 270, 356. 
Pickett, Charies E., 347. 
Pico, Abigail, 295. 
Peirce, Pierce — 
Ann Howes, 246. 
Eben Swift, 260. 
Elizabeth, 288. 
Hannah Clapp, 274, 
John N., 345. 



Peirce, Pierce — 

Lemuel, 203, 304. 

Rev. Dr., 229. 

Sarah, 304. 
Pidge, Pigg, Pigge — 

Jakob, 122. 

Mary, 49. 

Thomas, 49. 
Pike, Anna, 197. 

Elizabeth, 122. 

Jarvis, 128. 

Susanna, 124, 126. 
Pillsbury, Polly, 314. 
Pinchon, Francis (Sanford), 45. 

William, 45. 
Pitcher, Sister, 63. 

Sister, dau. of, 63. 
Plimpton, Plimpston, Plympston — 

Jeremiah, 209, 254, 265, 297. 

Mrs. Theodore, 270. 

Olive (Smith), 254. 

Sarah D., 265. 

Sarah Davenport (Bradlee), 254. 

Theodore Melville, 270, 300, 332, 
353. 

Ziba, 254. 
Plymouth, 3. 
Poignard, Poignant — 

David, 293. 

Delicia, 293. 
Pollock, Laura M., 356. 
Polly, John, 59, 62. 

Mary, 62. 

Patience, 126. 

Rebecca, 123. 

Susanna, 59. 
Pomeroy, Pomroy — 

Aaron, 206, 273, 314. 

Abigail (Burrell), 206. 

Henry, 260. 

Roswell, 259. 
Pond, Hannah, 261. 

John, 261. 
Porter, Ann, 64. 

Caroline, 241, 261, 271, 363, 
364, 365, 367. 

Charlotte, 296. 

Deborah, 64. 

Edward, 53, 64. 



412 



INDEX 



Porter, Eliphalet, 145, 164, 165, 
166, 167, 168, 174, 178, 193, 
209, 217, 218, 219, 220, 228, 
229, 238, 240, 243, 248, 256, 
257, 258, 271, 341, 344, 354, 
360, 366. 
Elizabeth, 50, 53, 64, 
Hannah, 120. 
Huntington, 248, 271. 
John, 49, 50, 178. 
Margaret, 49. 
Martha, 193, 258. 
Martha (Ruggles), 179, 248, 263, 

364. 
Mary, 253. 

Mary (Huntington), 178. 
Miss, 366. 
Rev. Mr., 166. 
William, 64. 
Potter, Isabel, 51. 

Robert, 51. 
Powers, Harriet, 282. 
Pratt, Abraham, 48. 
CaroUne, 292. 
Ebenezer, 303, 327. 
Johanna, 48. 
Levi, 203. 
Martha, 333. 
Mary, 259, 263. 
Mary Baker, 260. 
Mary (Wyman), 293. 
Nancy (Moore), 303. 
Phebe Phillips, 333. 
Sarah, 203. 

Simeon, 167, 203, 291, 314. 
William, 259, 293, 300, 315 
344. 
Prentice, Prentise, Prentiss — 
Abigail, 259. 
Abigail (Pico), 295. 
Adeline, 326. 
Alice, 46, 47. 
Caroline, 265. 
Elizabeth, 175. 
Francis, 122. 
John, 62, 133. 
Mary, 267. 

Nathaniel Shepherd, 210, 212, 
223, 259, 295, 312, 360. 



Prentice, Prentise, Prentiss — 

Sarah, 189. 

Thomas M., 267. 

Valentine, 46, 47, 62. 
Prescott, Edward, 347. 

Samuel Jackson, 259. 
Preston, Deacon, 72. 

Edward, 151. 

Mary, 305. 

Mary (Davis), 287. 

Remember, 287. 

Sarah (Clark), 287. 
Prichard, Elinor, 57. 

Hugh, 57. 
Pritchard, ]\Ir., 57. 
Prince, Daniel McCarty, 317. 

Nancy (Thayer), 317. 

Sarah, 188. 

Thomas, 110. 
Putnam, Abby, 356. 

Abby H., 267. 

Allen, 265. 

Andrew, 240. 

Anna E., 268. 

Caroline, 267. 

Elizabeth Anne (Ware), 241, 263, 
364, 365, 367. 

EUzabeth Cabot, 308. 

George, 174, 183, 209, 226, 227, 
228, 229, 230, 231, 233, 234, 
235, 236, 238, 240-244, 246, 
247, 249, 252, 263, 281, 362, 
363. 

Henry Ware, 215, 270, 280, 282. 

Jerusha (Clap), 240. 
Putnam Chapel, 236, 362, 370. 

Quincy, Samuel, 200. 

Ramsel, Bethia, 136. 
Ramsey, Martha, 125. 
Rand, Isaac, 262, 343. 

Isaac Pollard, 332, 

Lucy, 266. 
Randall, Jonas, 260. 

Mary, 260. 
Rawlings, Rawlins — 

Jasper, 49. 

Jeane, 49. 



INDEX 



413 



Rawlings, Rawlins — 

Mary, 45. 

Thomas, 45. 
Raymour, Mary, 190. 

Thomas, 190. 
Rea, Archelaus, 265, 291. 

Elizabeth (Mason), 291. 

Maria Marsh (Wooodbridge), 291. 

M., 265. 
Read, Reade, Reed — 

Alfred Augustus, 283. 

Caroline (van Son) 283. 

Edwin, 293. 

George, 334. 

Goodwife, 58. 

Harriet (White), 296. 

John, 165, 172, 296, 309, 361. 

Mary Elizabeth, 302. 

Thomas, 201. 
Reeves, Reives — 

Abigail, 143, 187. 

Hannah (Rowe), 55. 

Jacob, 143. 

Thomas, 55. 
Remington, Rementon — 

James, 69. 

John, 12. 
Rendle, Rebecca, 136. 
Revere, J. W., 222. 

Paul, 170. 
Reynolds, Ann R, 269. 

Charlotte, 364. 

Charlotte P., 267. 

Charlotte S., 269. 

Edward Belcher, 209, 211, 236, 
259, 267, 287, 302, 321, 825, 
326, 335. 

Fanny Mackay, 319. 

Harriet E. (Wheelwright), 333. 

Martha (Pratt), 333. 

Matilda, 255. 

M. Louisa, 270. 

WilUam James, 214, 286, 333. 
Rice, Adelaide (Walker), 303. 

Alex. H., 291. 

Bethia, 133. 

Edward D., 306. 

Edward Everett 306. 

Elizabeth H. (Bartlett), 306. 



Rice, George Woods, 303. 

Priscilla D. (Woodbridge), 306. 
Richards, Cordelia, 364. 

Eliza, 329. 

Hannah, 311. 

Joel, 329. 

John, 187. 

Jonathan Avery, 209, 212, 246, 
263, 312, 325, 344. 

Mary, 365. 

Mrs., 263. 

Nancy D. (Gore), 246. 

Olive, 313. 

Sarah, 296, 314. 
Richardson, Abigail, 202. 

Abby Pond, 202. 

Caleb, 135. 
' Clara, 279. 

Jesse Putnam, 319. 

John, 82, 139, 146, 151, 152. 

Joseph, 197. 

Luther, 171, 259, 304, 360. 

Mary Dwight (Coverly), 296. 

Nathaniel, 296, 313. 

Susan (Cabot), 319. 

SusaSaah (Craft), 304. 
Ripley, Adeline Denny, 304. 

Ezra, 361. 
Riggs, Edward, 50. 

Eliza, 50. 
Riley, Caroline Amelia (Humphrey), 
309. 

James, 305, 315, 343. 
Ritchie, Richey — 

Caroline (Whitaker), 294. 

Clara E., 270. 

Francis, 133. 

Harriet W., 270. 

James, 214, 294, 326. 

Mary, 133. 

Mary Jane (Kimball), 294. 
Robbins, Abba (Dowse), 302. 

Edw. Jewett 259, 287. 

Elizabeth, 287. •' 

Mary Hohnes (Curtis), 287. 

Peter Gihnan, 210, 229, 231, 
267, 302, 308, 342, 343, 351, 
352. 



414 



INDEX 



Robbins, Polly (Williams-Hooper), 
308, 233, 302, 308, 366. 
Sarah, 202, 266. 
Sarah Elizabeth, 330. 
S. G., 228. 
William, 204. 
Roberts, Elizabeth, 53. 
Eimice, 57. 
Hugh, 59. 
John, 10, 53. 
Thomas, 57. 
Robertson, Andrew, 343. 
Hannah, 263, 333. 
Harriet, 263, 333. 
Richard, 135. 
Robeson, Anna (Rodman), 332. 

Wilham Rodman, 332. 
Robinson, Robbinson — 
Abigail, 142. 
Catherine L., 265. 
Catherine (Lewis), 311. 
Cecelia cok., 267. 
Channing, 238. 

Elizabeth Leman (Parker), 291. 
Henry, coir., 267. 
Jonathan Pratt, 213, 265, 286 

311, 322, 323, 333. 
Mary, 204. 

Mary A. G. (Goddard), 311. 
Nathan Dyer, 288, 291. 
Nathan S., 238. 
Polly (Holbrook), 316. 
Richard, 191. 
Sarah R., 269. 
Silenc, 55. 
Susanna, 246. 
Thomas, 55, 343. 
Thomas Trott, 316. 
Ursula (Adams, Hosier, Streeter), 
46. 
Rodman, Anna, 332. 
Elizabeth, 300. 
Emma, 268. 
Emma (Motley), 297. 
Samuel William, 297. 
Rogers, Bessie Bromfield, 269. 
Ellen Derby, 267, 288. 



Rogers, Ezekiel, 42. 

Prances Stetson, 269, 355. 

Gorham, 286. 

Helen Sophia, 275. 

Jeremiah, 129. 

John, 72, 214, 265, 288, 352. 

Laura, 269. 

Sarah Ellen, 266. 

Sarah EUen (Derby), 288. 

Sarah Emmons, 299. 

Shubael, Gorham, 214, 277. 

Susan Gross (Snow), 269, 277, 364. 

Susan Snow, 269, 277. 
Rose, Miss, 345. 
Ross, Caroline E., (Archer), 321. 

Mary Swift (VS^aldo), 321. 

Matthias Denman, 321. 
Roe, Rowe — 

Hannah, 55, 57. 
Rowen, Richard, 193. 
Roxbury Charitable Society, 359, 
360 to 362. 

Female Benevolent Society, 359, 
362. 

Latin School, 9. 

Young Men's Union, 359, 369, 
370. 
Rudhall, Abel, 158. 
Ruggles, Rugles, Ruggs — 

Abigail (Crafts), 59. 

Abigail (Williams), 119. 

Ann (Bright), 60. 

Barbara, 51. 

Capt., 80, 130. 

Dorcas, 46. 

Edward, 67, 68, 78, 79, 119, 137, 
140, 143, 145, 149, 151, 152, 
153, 155, 185. 

Elizabeth, 134, 142, 196. 

Eunice, 132. 

Hannah, 61, 78, 123, 126, 129. 

Hannah (Crafts), 119. 

Hannah (Fowle), 60. 

Huldah, 128. 

Joanna, 133, 142. 

Joanna (V\'illiams), 197. 

John, 47, 51, 59, 60, 68, 73, 81, 
119, 120, 123, 134, 139, 141. 



INDEX 



415 



Ruggles, Rugles, Ruggs — 

Joseph, 68, 80, 81, 82, 130, 137, 

139, 141, 146, 147, 148, 167, 

168, 171, 187, 192, 197, 199, 202, 

210, 211-305, 315, 362. 
Julia Fellowes, 280. 
Katharine, 187. 
Lucy, 128, 204. 
Margery (Hammond), 47. 
Martha, 120, 129, 179, 180, 199, 

261, 276, 315, 343. 
Martha (Devotion), 119. 
Martha Fairfield, 282. 
Martha (Williams), 193. 
Martha (Woodbridge), 193. 
Mary, 60. 
Mary (Curtis), 54. 
Nathaniel, 145, 147, 148, 162, 171, 

180, 193, 197, 199, 210, 211, 

271,282,315,360,362. 
Patience, 129. 
Patty, 205. 
Rebecca, 123, 193. 
Rebecca (Curtis), 197, 199. 
Rebecca Hollingsworth (Hughes), 

315. 
Samuel, 60, 61, 71, 72, 74, 75, 120, 

123, 193. 
Sarah, 130, 197, 279, 364. 
Sarah (Fellowes), 199. 
Sergt., 69. 

Thomas, 50, 54, 124, 126. 
Timothy, 129. 

Ruling Elder office defined, 6, 7, 
Rumrill Aaron, 206, 313. 

Abigail (Richardson), 202. 

Ann, 206. 

Ehzabeth Clap, 345. 

Sally (Dudley-Fellowes), 202. 

Sarah Ehzabeth, 330. 

Thomas, 202, 296. 

William S., 238. 

Russell, James, 283, 303, 305. 

Lydia Cushing, 301. 

Lydia (Cushing), 325. 

Mary Ellen (Hedge), 329. 

William Goodwin, 280, 329. 
Ryan, Addie, 347. 



Saben, Sabin — 

Benjamin, 122. 

Sarah, 64, 121. 

Susanna, 126. 
Salem, 3. 

Sahnon, John, 136, 186. 
Sampson, Elizabeth (Winsor), 326. 

Erastus, 326. 

Mary (Morse), 288. 

Stephen, 288, 289. 
Sanger, Sangor — 

Nathaniel, 123. 

Mary, 124. 

Wife of Nathaniel, 123. 
Sargent, Anna, 280. 

Christina Kadie Swan, 335. 

EmeUne Aquila, 317. 

James O., 319. 

Mary Sarah, 285. 
Sanders, Saunders, 

Capt., 74. 

Elizabeth, 127. 
Sanitary Commission, 359, 369. 
Saunderson, Sanderson — 

Betsy, 263. 

Daniel, 211, 261, 299, 310, 314, 
315, 317, 344. 

Sarah, 261. 

Sarah (Cunningham), 299. 
Savage, Anna Lewis (Thacher), 328. 

Charles Tyler, 328. 
Sawin, Abigail, 312. 

John, 171, 312, 324. 
Sawyer, Anna Greenleaf, 330. 
Scarborough, Scarbro, Scarbrow. 

Bethia, 118, 127, 136. 

Deborah, 121. 

John, 57, 118. 

Mary, 57. 

Mary (Smith), 118. 

Rebecca, 120. 

Samuel, 67, 118, 120, 121, 122. 
Schenck, Robert B., 298. 
ScoflSeld, Minnehaha, 349. 
Scot, Scott — 

Ebenezer, 199. 

Hannah, 129. 

John, 121. 

Nancy, 295. 

Nathaniel, 196, 293. 



416 



INDEX 



Scot, Scott — 

Sarah, 134, 196. 

Susan Curtis (Brener), 293. 

Thomas W., 262, 293, 344. 
Scutts, Elizabeth, 131. 
Searle, Searl — 

Ambrose, 136. 

Deborah, 136, 191. 

Elizabeth, 136. 

Hamiah, 122. 

John, 123, 134, 189. 

Margret, 123, 134, 189. 

Mary, 123, 134. 

Philip, 73, 122, 123, 191. 

Ruth, 191. 
Sears, Alice M., 356. 

Anna Powell Grant, 332. 

Harriet La^^nia, 274. 

J. Henry, 284, 292, 333. 

Mrs. Peter, 365. 
Seaver, Saever, Sever — 

Abigail, 128, 261, 344. 

Abigail (Whitney), 205. 

Abiel, 187. 

Abijah, 162, 192. 

Adeline, 267. 

Ann T., 287. 

Benjamin, 203, 298. 

Betsey, 267. 

Betsy (Dudley), 205. 

Caleb, 65, 125, 128. 

Charles IVIilton, 215, 275. 

Daniel, 151, 187. 

Debby, 262. 

Debby (Loud), 203. 

Ebenezer, 131, 140, 200, 210, 221, 
290. 

Elizabeth, 62, 134. 

Elizabeth (Ballard), 49, 51. 

Elizabeth (Clap), 200. 

Hannah, 64, 128, 131, 135, 200. 

Hannah (Loco), 204, 297. 

Helen Sophia (Rogers-Ball), 275. 

John, 124, 205, 215, 287. 

Jonathan, 139, 187. 

Joseph, 205, 282. 

Joshua, 120, 121, 130, 287. 
Lucy (Heath), 299. 



Seaver, Saever, Sever — 
Margaret, 131, 133, 195. 
Martha, 261. 

Mary, 121, 133, 135, 188, 189, 191. 
Mary Elizabeth, 328. 
Nancy (Sumner), 287. 
Nathaniel, 65, 204, 297. 
Nicholas, 191. 
Peter, 135. 
Robert, 49, 51. 
Sarah, 65, 133, 199, 290. 
Shubal, 64, 65, 81, 128, 135, 

139, 141. 
Susannah, 188. 
Thomas, 134, 189. 
William, 204, 215, 261, 299. 
Seavems, Ann T. (Seaver), 287. 
Charlotte, 261, 291. 
Charlotte (Williams), 291. 
Deborah (Crosby), 204. 
Joel, 204, 287, 291. 
Olive Draper (Gay), 204. 
Samuel, 260, 291. 
Sarah Payson, 298. 
Severy, Edward, 261. 

W^ife of, 261. 
Sewall, Harriet (Winslow), List, 304. 
Louisa M. (Winslow), 304. 
Margaret, 188. 
Rebecca, 128. 

Samuel, 72, 127, 128, 129, 336. 
Samuel Edmund, 304. 
Sewing Circles, 359. 
Sexton, Clara, 350. 
Sextons, 1, 12, 13, 68, 70, 71, 148, 

151, 164, 168, 215, 221. 
Shannon, Mary Pilsbury, 275. 
Sharp, Sharpe — 
James, 235. 
John, 62, 69, 73. 
Martha, 62, 122. 
Rebecca, 195. 
Robert, 128. 
Sarah, 128, 188. 
Shaw, EUzabeth Willard (Parkman), 
279. 
Isaac, 205, 313. 
Joseph P., 304. 



INDEX 



417 



Shaw, Nancy Brown (Bosson), 
205. 

Polly Taylor (Truckman), 205. 

Robert Gould, 279. 

Sarah H., 264. 

Sarah (Heath), 304. 
Sheafe,M"8., 54. 
Shed, Elizabeth, 131, 203. 

Grace, 200. 

Hannah, 201. 

James, 81, 82, 129, 136, 140, 141. 

Martha, 196. 

Mary, 78, 136, 195, 203. 

Mr., 80. 

Nabby, 275. 

Nathan, 170, 196. 

Ohver, 200, 275. 

Zacharias, 201. 
Sherburne, Edward P., 329. 
Shattuck, Martha, 261. 

Mary, 261. 

Sarah, 347. 
Sheffield, Edmund, 57. 

Mary (Woody), 57. 
Shelly, Aim, 47. 
Shepard, Shepheard, Shepherd — 

Betsy, 261. 

Charles, 261. 

H. L., 345. 

Sophia, 356. 

Thomas, 15, 23, 28, 38, 336. 
Sherman, Philip, 49, 50. 

Sarah (Odding), 49. 
Shippen, Eugene R., 373. 
Shirley, Mehitable, 192. 
Short, Rebeckah, 47. 
Shortlief, Henry, 187. 

Mary, 187. 
Sigourney, Daniel Andrew, 213, 227, 
229, 263, 265, 278, 282, 283, 
284, 316, 326, 332, 351. 

Harriet, 278, 364. 

Harriet (Davis), 284. 
Silsbee, Silsbey — 

Isaac, 260. 

Nathaniel, 225. 

Sam'l, 260. 
Simeson, John, 126. 



Simonson, John, 124. 
Simmons, Belinda P., 267. 

Belinda (Wells), 317. 

David Allen, 210, 212, 227, 231, 
232, 263, 267, 272, 276, 282, 
810, 320, 344, 351, 358. 

(Jeorge, 227, 313. 

George Arthur, 287, 317, 318, 319, 
320, 334. 

Leonora Chamberlain, 349. 

Louisa, 267. 

Marcy (Wales), 313. 

Maria Williams, 311. 

Martha, 268. 

Martha Fairfield (Ruggles), 282, 
364. 

Martha R., 263. 

Mrs. Da\'id, 366. 

Nancy D., 263. 

Nancy Stimpson, 306. 

Rebecca Capen, 299. 

Sarah H., 264. 

Sarah Homans (Thwing), 276. 

Sarah M., 268. 

Susan Fosdick, 272. 

Thomas, 210, 213, 227, 229, 
230, 265, 274, 276, 310, 317, 
318, 335, 351. 
Simpson, Sarah Ann, 294. 
SkilHngs, Catherine, 266. 
Skinner, Jacob, 207. 
Slack, Elizabeth, 191. 

George A., 330. 

John, 162, 188, 191. 

Levi W., 345. 

Lewis, 324. 

Mary Reed (Flower), 324. 

Pedy (Dudley), 324. 
Slater Wilham, 216. 
Sleeper, Charles Frederick, 318. 

John Sherburne, 318. 

Mary Folsom (Noble), 318. 
Sloan, Susan, 260. 
Slocum, Sarah EUzabeth (Williams), 
275. 

Wilham Henry, 275. 

Smith , 57. 

Abigail, 262. 



418 



INDEX 



Smith, Abigail (Williams), 286. 
Amasa, 261. 
Amos, 285, 310, 344. 

Aim Elizabeth, 268. 

Azariah, 372. 

Catherine Smith (Langdon), 285. 

Charles, 347, 348. 

Decline (Lamb), 63. 

Dorcas C, 265. 

Ebenezer, 163, 286. 

Eliza, 301. 

Elizabeth Metcalf, 331. 

Eve, 267. 

Francis, 10, 46. 

Hannah, 125. 

Henshaw, 347. 

Jeremiah P., 260. 

Joane (Atkins), 57. 

Jolm, 163. 

Joseph, 162, 167, 193, 329. 

Judith, 311. 

Lucy, 56. 

Mary, 118, 187, 194, 260. 

Mary Ann Louisa, 305. 

Mary (Whittemore), 279. 

Martha (Ruggles), 261. 

N. Proctor, 265. 

N. Ruggles, 220. 

Nancy, 207, 286. 

Nathan, 351. 

Olive, 254. 

Polly, 245. 

Ralph, 147, 162, 167, 168, 169, 
171, 245, 277, 279, 311. 

Rebecca, 133, 279. 

Sally, 245. 

Sarah (Ruggles), 279. 

Susanna, 260, 264, 277. 

Susannah (Howe), 279. 
Snow, Mrs., 367. 

Nathaniel, 229, 267, 286, 343. 

Salome, 286. 

Salome H., 267, 365. 

Sophia, 364. 

Sophia J., 264. 

Susan Gross, 277. 
Sparhawk, Henrietta, 317. 

Nathaniel, 168. 
Spaulding, Jenny Tileston, 268. 



Spaulding, Jane, W. T., 268. 
Spear, Speare — 

Elizabeth, 61. 

Susannah R., 267. 

William H., 227, 351. 
Spence, Harriet Brackett, 206. 

Aaron Warner, 275. 
Spencer, Josephine (Vila), 275. 
Spisor, Christian, 54. 
Spooner, Caroline (Hartshorn), 276. 

Elizabeth, 201. 

Harriet (Curtis), 276. 

John J., 167. 

Rebecca (Moses), 276. 

Sarah Heath, 245. 

William Heath, 276, 289, 343. 
Sprague, Frank M., 331. 

Susan Rogers, 282. 
Spring, Agnes Giles, 349. 
Stackpole, Joseph Lewis, 334. 

Susan Margaret (Benjamin), 334. 
Stainer, Roger, 128. 

Susanna, 128. 
Stalham, Elizabeth, 53, 117. 
Staniford, Daniel, 289. 

Elizabeth Vinton, 279. 

Frances Ann Minus (WTieel- 
wright), 289. 

Lucy, 269, 364. 

Lydia Shepard, 274. 

Maria Dennis, 278. 
Stanton, Robert, 130. 
Stanwood, Henry Porter, 307. 
Starkweather, Jonet, 57. 

Maud, 349. 

Robert, 57. 
Stebbin, Stebbins — 

Ann (Munke), 58, 

Jane, 54, 56. 

John, 58. 

Martin, 54, 56. 
Steams, Chai-les, 274. 

Hannah Clap (Pierce), 274. 

Sarah E., 269. 

Simeon, 260. 
Stedman, Caleb, 115, 128, 140, 170. 

Mr., 187. 
Stetson, Gushing, 213, 214, 231, 
268, 296, 318. 



INDEX 



419 



Stetson, Frances (Burrows-Bowles), 
296, 318. 

Jesse, 206, 315. 

Mary Francis, 269. 

Sally (Dickerman), 206. 

William Frank, 276. 
Stevens, Stephens — 

Abigail, 128, 135. 

Amos, 295, 297, 333. 

Benjamin, 163, 197. 

Elizabeth, 190. 

Fannie L., 270. 

Hannah, 128, 190. 

Henry, 69. 

Joanna, 128, 133. 

John, 124, 128, 261. 

Joseph, 131. 

Mary, 128, 131, 132, 134. 

Mrs. (Cleaves), 70. 

Samuel, 81, 115, 129, 139, 141, 
152, 155, 338. 

Sarah, 62, 123, 136. 

Susan, 295. 

Susanna, 133, 185. 

Timothy, 62, 74, 121,123,126,135. 

Widdow, 68, 121. 
Stevenson, Mary E., 303. 
Stewart, Adam, 301. 
Stickney, John Henry, 348. 

William, 319. 
Stiles, Dr., 113. 
Stoddard, Capt., 172, 173. 

Huldah, 261, 279. 

Reuben, 279. 

Sally, 279. 

Sarah, 297. 
Stone, Abigail, 271. 

Baman, 211, 284, 295. 

Deacon, 150. 

EUzabeth Clap, 283. 

Lucy (Bradlee), 325. 

Mary (Walker), 284. 

Mr., 87, 108. 
Stonhard, John, 58, 

Wife of John, 58. 
Story, Abigail, 128. 
Stow, EUzabeth, 50. 

John, 50. 



Stow, Thankful, 116. 

Stowell, Edmund Hersey, 320. - 

Susan (Lawn), 320. 
Stillman, Samuel, 286. 

Sarah Collins (Baldwin), 286. 
Stratford, K. B., 344. 
Stratton, Henry O., 286. 

Joseph, 206. 
Streeter, Alice Parker, 322. 

Ursula (Adams-Hosier), 46. 
Sturgis, James, 265, 291. 

Mary Catherine (Townsend), 291. 

Nathaniel Russell, 299, 300. 

Susan (Parkman), 299. 
Sturtevant, Adeline D. (Bradley), 
332. 

John Dean, 332. 
Sumner, Abigail, 143, 261. 

Abigal Mather, 307. 

Abby, 364. 

Abby M., 364. 

Benj., 151. 

Deacon, 273. 

Deborah W., 261. 

Edward, 130, 139, 160, 260, 307. 

Eliza D., 266. 

Elizabeth, 130, 192, 201, 281, 294. 

Elizabeth (Bugbee), 185. 

Elizabeth (Hyslop), 194. 

Fanny, 294. 

Henry Payson, 260. 

Increase, 135, 147, 152, 165, 167, 
168, 184, 188, 194, 281, 304, 
362. 

Joanna, 307. 

Joanna (Sumner), 307. 

John, 67, 68, 80, 81, 82, 132, 185. 

Lucy, 195, 304. 

Maria, 260. 

Martha, 260. 

Mary, 135, 194. 

Mary Ann (DeWolf-Perry), 283. 

Nancy, 261, 273, 287. 

Nathaniel, 142. 

Rebecca (Payson), 307. 

Samuel, 142, 145, 160, 167, 185, 
190, 209, 245, 294, 304, 344. 

Sarah, 142. 



420 



INDEX 



Sumner, Sarah (Sharp), 188. 

Susaimah, 190. 

Susanna (Boylston), 185. 

Susanna (Stevens), 185. 

William Hyslop, 283. 
Sunday School, 70, 354 to 356, 
Swaine, Mary, 53. 
Swan, Margaret, 188. 

Mary, 63, 123. 

Prudence, 126, 

Thomas, 63. 
Sweet, Amelia T., 267. 
Swift, David, 200. 

John, 169, 198, 202. 

Samuel, 260. 

Wife of David, 200. 

Wife of John, 202. 
SjTDonds, Caroline E., 348. 
Symmes, Sarah Jane, 251. 

Taber, Catherine, 290. 

Catherine (Partridge), 285. 

Ehiathan, 229, 285, 351. 

Sarah, 356. 

Sarah W., 266. 
Table, Abigail, 132, 135. 
Talmage, Elizabeth, 47. 

William, 47. 
Tappan, Sarah, 277, 289. 
Taylor, Elizabeth R., 274. 

Mr., 344. 

Newton, 274. 

Richard, 88. 

Zackarj^ 230. 
Teacher, office defined, 6. 
Tetlow, John, 290, 372. 
Thacher, Anna Lewis, 328. 

Caroline B., 278. 

Elizabeth Ames (Bates), 278. 

EUzabeth Bates, 271. 

Marietta B. H. (Crooker), 302. 

Thomas, 278, 302. 

William GiU, 278. 
Thayer, Arthur W., 349. 

Charles Lowell, 309. 

Ebenezer, 78, 79. 

Elizabeth Baker Davis, 272. 

Harriet Louisa, 309. 

John B., 346. 

Mary W., 304. 



Thayer, Meriba, 198. 

Nancy, 317. 
Thomas, Arthur Malcohn, 285. 

Edward, 199. 

General, 174. 

Helen, 277. 

Hugh, 59. 

Mary Sarah (Sargent), 285. 

Maxy S., 269. 

Rebecca, 294. 
Thompson, A. C, 182, 234. 

Jane, 202. 

Mary, 132, 192. 

Rachel, 335. 

Samuel, 335. 

William, 191. 
Thorndike, Anna, 275. 

Elizabeth, 283. 
Thorpe, Alice, 64. 
Thurston, Joseph, 260. 
Thvsing, Anna (Haven), 249. 

Anne Shapley (Haven), 249, 266. 

Annie Haven, 270, 298, 356. 

Elsey, 263. 

Elsey Fellows (Davis), 249. 

Florence H., 270. 

Samuel, 249, 274. 

Sarah, 263, 274, 364. 

Sarah Homans, 276. 

Sarah (Homans), 249, 

Supply Clap, 209, 213, 228, 229, 
230, 249 to 257, 259, 263, 266, 
274, 288. 293, 298, 351. 

Walter EUot, 270, 298. 
Tidd, Lucy, 320. 

Tilden, Frances Bums (Fulton), 
320. 

Hannah B. Patterson, 320. 

Thomas, 320. 
Tileston, Anne, 276. 

Bathsheba, 118, 119. 

Nathaniel, 201. 

Sarah, 132. 

William, 259. 
Tingley, Frank F., 347. 
Tinkham, Samuel Everett, 215, 330, 

331. 
Tohnan, Elizabeth Metcalf (Smith), 
331. 



INDEX 



421 



Tolman, James, 170, 331. 
Tombes, Daniel, 192. 
Torie, Torrey, Tory — 

Jonathan, 122. 

Mary (Scarborough), 57. 

Philip, 57. 
Totman, Tatman — 

Deborah, 63. 

Jabesh, 63, 121. 

John, 48, 130. 

Wife of John, 48. 
Towers, Zipporah, 133. 
Town meetings, 9, 13, 14, 163, 219, 

220. 
Townsend, Betsey Wendell, 330. 

Catherine (Parker), 267. 273, 
274. 

Isaac Parker, 273, 274, 281. 

Mary Catherine, 291. 

Miss, 364. 

Sophia T., 264. 
Train, Ahnira C. (Cheever), 329. 

Enoch, 283, 329. 

Frances G., 265. 

Frances Gore (Glover), 320. 

Samuel Francis, 320. 
Trenn, Abbie J., 319. 
Truckman, Polly Taylor, 205. 
Trufant, Clementina, 328. 
Trull, Jona, 202. 
Tnunbell, John, 55. 
Trusty, James, 129. 
Tucker, Tukker — 

Ann, 120, 123, 187. 

Benjamin, 120, 122. 

Ebenezer, 133. 

Elijah, 253. 

EUzabeth, 127, 133, 185. 

Hannah, 194. 

James, 134. 

Joseph Warren, 209, 210, 226, 
253, 270, 296, 297, 301, 345, 
352. 

Margarett, 131. 

Mary, 130. 

Mary (Porter), 253. 

Rebecca, 266. 

Rebecca (Weatherly), 253. 



Tucker, Tukker — 

Seth, 260. 
Turner, Edward, 148, 198, 215, 221, 
312. 

Hannah, 131. 

Hezekiah, 131. 

John, 58. 

Lucy (Hyland), 198. 

Mary, 57. 
Tuttle, Elizabeth, 333. 

Helen, 364. 
Tyler, Hannah Giddings, 318. 

Job, 61. 

Mary, 61. 
Tyng, Rebecca, 63, 126. 
Tythingman, 5. 

Universalists, 222. 
Upham, Thomas A., 346. 

Van Kuran, Laura, 350. 
Van Son, Caroline, 283. 
Vassaile, Anna, 52. 

WilUam, 52. 
Viau, Joseph, 350. 
Vila, Anna Fields (McLellan) 275. 

Elizabeth D. (Dexter), 274. 

James, 274. 

Joseph, 274, 275, 351. 

Josephine, 275. 

Lydia Shepard (Staniford), 274. 
Vose, Ehjah, 331, 343. 

Lydia May, 325. 

Naomi, 205. 

Rebecca Gorham (Bartlett),331. 

Waban, 28. 

Wade, Prudence, 125. 

Wadleigh, Jennie B., 348. 

W. H., 348. 
Waddington, James A., 353. 
Wainwright, Anne, 133. 

Lucretia, 325. 

Lucy, 127. 

Mr., 351. 
Wait, Waite — 

Benjamin, 316-330. 

Clarissa, 316. 



422 



INDEX 



Wait, Waite — 

David, 165, 167. 

Jacob, 280. 

Lydia, 26S, 280. 

Mary (Felton), 284. 

Misses, 343. 

Rebecca, 201, 280. 

Samuel, 280, 284, 312, 343. 
Wakeman, Elizabeth, 46. 

Samuel, 46. 
Waldo, Mary Swift, 321. 
Wales, Ebenezer, 162, 195. 

Marcy, 313. 

Mary A., 270. 

Mary Langdon (Borland), 274. 
Walker, Adelaide, 303. 

Clarissa, 288. 

Edward C. R., 268, 292. 

Elizabeth, 188. 

Harriet, 268. 

Hem-ietta (Kingsbury), 292. 

Isaac, 155. 

Job, 188. 

John, 49. 

Mary, 284. 

Matthew, 262. 

Patience, 135. 

Samuel, 252. 

Sarah, 207. 

Wife of John, 49. 

Wife of Matthew, 262. 
Walley, John, 68, 149. 
Wallis, Ann, 55. 
Walter, Hannah, 131. 

Maria, 136. 

Nathaniel, 134. 

Nehemiah, 35, 67, 72, 73, 78, 79, 
84 to 111, 112, 119, 137, 141, 
145, 149, 151, 152, 174. 

Madam, 153. 

Rebecca, 77. 

Rebeckah (Belcher), 112. 

Sarah, 131. 

Sarah (Mather), 109, 112. 

Thomas, 67, 76, 77, 84, 104, 108 
112 to 115, 131, 336. 
Walworth, John, 73. 
Ward, Ann G., 328a 



Ward, Ehzabeth, 260.* 

Elizabeth (Ruggles-Brewer), 196.' 

Harriet, 365. • 

Harriott T., 269. * 

Joanna, 278. • 

John, 167,* 196,' 260,' 261,* 262,* 
274.* 

Joseph, 343.* 

Lucy, 264r 364. ' 

Lucy (Tidd), 320.' 

M., 351.* 

Mary, 262. • 

Martha (Shed), 196.* 

Mr., 108.* 

Mrs., 365f 366, 367. 

Mrs. Richard, 241. * 

Nahum, 265^ 295*, 351.-' 

Richard, 213: 264r 320.* 

Ruth Stetson (Gurney), 295 .» 

Samuel, 278,* 315." 

Sarah, 364.*" 

Susan, 265.* 

Susan (Gurney), 295.* 

William, 9. ♦ 
Warden, Mary, 186. 
Warden, Ehzabeth (Beal), 304. 

Henry Hughes, 304. 

Susan Withers, 273. 
Ware, Annie, 356. 

Calvin, 260. 

Dr., 228. 

Elizabeth Anne, 241. 

George, 261. 

Henry, 241, 361. 

Joseph, 207, 286. 

Leonard, 321. 

Mary, 261. 

Mrs. Leonard, 353. 

Nancy (Smith), 207, 286. 
Warham, Mr., 8. 
Warren, Abby Biur (Hedge), 327. 

Calvin, 262, 273. 

CaroUne, 273. 

Charles Henry, 327. 

Deborah, 127, 135. 

Deborah (Williams), 132. 

Ebenezer, 133, 140, 170. 

Hannah, 135. 



INDEX 



423 



Warren, Joseph, 68, 73, 80/l31, 139, 
132, 137, 146, 153. ' 
Mary (Stevens), 132. 
Samuel, 312. 
Susanna, 133. 
Waterman, Dependence Sturtevant, 
215, 268, 324, 325. 
Greorgiana, 268. 

Watertown, S- 
Watkins, Andrew, 125. 

Elizabeth, 125. 
Watson, Alice (Prentise), 47. 

Dorcas, 61. 

George, 276. 

Jeannette P., 268. 

John, 47, 60, 61. 

Lucia Marston, 276. 

Marj', 61. 

Nathan, 204. 

Sister, 62. 
Way, Samuel Allds, 279, 294. 

Sarah Ann (Simpson), 294. 
Weatherly, Rebecca, 253. 
Webb, Rebecca, 52. 

William, 52. 
Webster, Ann Eliza (Gushing), 313. 
Weed, Isabel, 289. 
Weeks, Ida T., 271. 
Weisse, Jane Lee (Hunt), 318. 

John Adam, 289, 318. 
Welch, Francis William, 277. 

Margaret C, 269. 

Mary Anne (Humphrey), 277. 
Weld, Welde — 

Aaron Davis, 272. 

Abijah, 132. 

■ Amy, 56. . 

■ Barbara (Clap), 52. 
Benjamin, 204, 211, 212, 228, 263, 

296, 298, 343, 351, 358. 
Betsy (WiUiams), 272. 
Garoline, 264. 

Gharles Richmond, 301. ^ 

Clemence, 132. 
Daniel, 59, 185. 
David, 145, 185. 
Deborah, 129. 
Dorothie, 60, 122, 128. 



Weld, Welde — 

Edmond, 121, 132, 151, 167, 187. 

Edmund Grindall, 148. 

Edward, 74. 

Ehjah, 198. 

Elizabeth, 52, 56, 120, 126, 130, 

143, 185, 261, 263, 264, 298. 
Elizabeth (Heath), 204. 
Ehzabeth H., 267. 
EUzabeth (Rodman), 300. 
Elizabeth (Tucker), 185. 
EUzabeth (Williams), 200. 
Esther, 307. 
E., 365. 

Francis Minot, 300. 
Hannah, 122, 123. 
John, 55, 60, 71, 120, 121. 
Joseph, 9, 10, 39, 52, 73, 120, 

122, 123, 130, 151, 190, 338. 
Judith, 16, 47. 
Katy, 198. 

Margaret (Bowen), 55. 
Margret, 16, 47, 60, 123. 
Martha (Williams), 272. 
Mary, 122, 190, 271. 
Mary Elizabeth (Read), 302. 
Misses, 364. 
Mrs. Benjamm, 367. 
Nancy, 273, 364, 366. 
Nancy (Sumner), 273. 
Samuel, 121, 126, 151, 187, 197 

200, 261, 273. 
Sarah, 122, 124, 129, 187. 
Sarah (Davis), 185. 
Stephen Minot, 302. 
Susan, 264. 
Susan R., 267. 
Susanna, 126. 
Susannah (Morey), 272. 
Thomas, 1, 4, 5, 8, 9, 10, 15, 16, 

22, 23, 38, 47, 60, 120, 121, 128, 

131, 194, 336. 
Wife of Elijah, 198. 
Wells, Belinda, 317. 
Elizabeth Wliite, 333. 
Lucia G., 328. 
Sarah, 269. 
Sarah EUzabeth, 310. 
WendeU, Frank, 302. 



424 



INDEX 



Wendell, Helen, 302. 
West, Benjamin, 131, 198. 

Blanche M., 350. 

Joanna, 133, 136. 
West Roxbury churcli organized, 75. 
Wheat, Victoria G., 322. 
Wheeler, Joel, 262. 

Wife of Joel, 262. 
Wheelock, Fanny A., 356. 
Wheelwright, Frances Ann Minns, 
289. 

George William, 296, 318. 

Hannah Giddings (Tyler), 318. 

Harriet E., 333. 

Josiah, 298, 299, 321, 352. 

Lucinda Orne (Chapin), 321. 

Susan C, 321. 

Susan Minns, 321. 

William, 321. 
Whitaker, Caroline, 294. 
Whitcomb, Henry Clay, 209. 

Nathaniel Osgood, 334, 353. 
White, Aaron, 167, 283. 

Abigail, 291. 

Anna Maria (Halsey), 303. 

Anne, 130. 

Bartholomew, 275, 310. 

Benjamin, 128. 

Edward, 57. 

Elizabeth, 62, 120, 122, 128, 203, 
273. 

Elizabeth Amelia, 322. 

Elizabeth (Cheney), 283. . 

Ellen, 365. 

Eunice, 291. 

Francis, 127, 128. 

Hannah, 63, 123, 134, 275. 

Harriet, 296. 

Henry, 302, 333. 

James, 162, 195. 

Jane E., 269. 

Jane Eliza, 302. 

Jane Eliza (Williams), 333. 

John, 62, 69, 120, 121, 126. 

Joseph, 63, 65, 69, 128, 294, 303. 

Lucy, 315. 

Marc, 365. 

Margaret, 127. 



White, Margaret U., 269. 

Mary, 196. 

Nancy (Avery), 283. 

Ruth, 202. 

Salome, 273, 365. 

Sarah D. H., 269. 

Samuel, 129, 130. 

Sarah, 201. 

Susanna, 185. 

Wife of Edward, 57. 

William, 260, 283, 351. 
Whiting, Abigail Sumner (VN'^illiams), 
204. 

Abigail S., 261. 

Carolme, 308. 

Charlotte E., 264, 332. 

Daniel, 300. 

Elizabeth, 300. 

Isabel, 289. 

Joel, 204, 261, 277. 

Lydia Cushing (Russell), 301, 325. 

Miss, 349. 

Misses, 365. 

Moses, 229, 289, 290, 351." 

Nancy F., 263. 

Percis Rice (Clark), 290. 

Persis R., 364. 

Rose S., 325. 

Roxanna C, 264. 

William, 263, 277, 301, 325. 
Whitin, Elizabeth Gardner, 251. 
Whitman, Levi, 197. 
Whitmarsh, Caroline, 290. 

Whitney, Abigail, 195, 205. 
Abigail (Dana), 307. 
Asa, 210, 260, 262, 307, 344. 
Christina Kadie Swan (Sargent 

335. 
Daniel, 207, 260. 
Elisha, 259, 278, 307. 
Elizabeth, 124, 260. 
Elizabeth (Harris), 64. 
Hannah, 188. 
Israel Goodwin, 335, 352. 
John, 123, 197. 
Mary, 262. 
Mary (Hammond), 307. 



INDEX 



425 



Whitney, Redy, 205. 

SaUy (Peath), 278. 

Susanna, 129. 
Whitridge, Maria Louisa, 324. 
Whittamore, Whittemore, Witte- 
more — 

Aaron E., 330. 

Eliza, 52. 

Jacob, 163. 

John, 344. 

Lawrence, 52. 

Mary, 279. 

Samuel, 162, 168, 195, 316. 

Sarah, 329. 
Whittier, John G., 242. 
Whittington, Alice Parker (Streeter), 
322. 

Hiram, 277, 322. 
Whitwell, Elisa, 285. 

Elizabeth, 289. 

Samuel, 285, 289. 
Wiesse, John A., 266. 

Jane L., 266. 
Wiggins, Greorgie M., 349. 
Wigglesworth, Mr., 13. 
Wild, Danl, 344. 
Wiley, Margaret, 267, 285. 

Thomas, 267, 285. 
Willard, Aaron, 204, 229, 285,343,351. 

Catherine Gates, 282. 

Jane, 364. 

Jane I., 329. 

Jane J., 265. 

John, 345. 

Joseph A., 333. 

Josiah, 72, 150. 

Mary, 204. 

Mary Elizabeth Read (Weld), 302. 

Mary (Leeds), 200. 

Maria Louisa (McCleary), 302. 

Mrs., 72, 366. 

Paul, 302. 

Simon, 200, 219, 220, 222. 
Willett, Abner, 262. 
' Sibyl, 207. 
Williams, Willias — 

Aacon Da\'is, 213, 229, 262, 
268, 272, 327, 328, 343, 346, 
351, 358. 



WiUiams, WiUias — 

AbigaU, 119, 126, 129, 195, 201, 

286, 310. 
Abigail Sumner, 204. 
Amos Adams, 272, 314. 
Amy, 206. 
Anna (Ann, Amie, Annie), 187, 

188, 194, 200, 269. 
Anne (Tileston), 276. 
Benjamin, 267, 338. 
Bertha F., 270. 
Betsy, 203, 272. 
Betsy (Williams), 203. 
Brother, 59. 
Capt. 179. 
Catherine, 143, 196. 
Charlotte, 291. 
Daniel, 132, 151. 
Deborah, 123, 132, 133. 
Dorothy, 78, 133, 140, 256, 258. 
Dorothy (^Veld), 122. 
Dr., 178. 
Dr. E. T., 270. 
Dudley, 206, 275. 
Dwight, 310. 
Ebenezer, 123, 130, 191. 
Edward Payson, 312. 
Eleazer, 68, 80, 81, 132, 140, 141, 

146, 151, 152, 155. 
Ellen M., 265. 
Ehjah, 281. 
EUza Dorr, 270. 
EUzabeth, 57, 78, 121, 125, 135. 

188, 189, 197, 200. 
Elizabeth • (McCarthy), 282. 
Elizabeth (Stalham), 53, 117. 
EHzabeth Weld, 277. 
Emmehne Eames (Childs), 282. 
Frances (Jones), 282. 
George Foster, 268, 291. 
Grace, 129. 

Hannah, 125, 132, 188, 195. 
Hannah (Davis), 194. 
Hannah (Dudley), 134. 
Hannah D., 263. 
Harriet A., 319. 
Henry Howell, 157,272. 
Isaac, 60, 80, 131, 354. 



426 



INDEX 



Williams, Jane, 188. 

Jane Eliza, 333. 
. Jeremiah, 143, 188, 282. 
Joanna, 197. 
John, 57, 122, 131, 139, 140, 159, 

168, 186, 187, 192, 194, 285, 

338, 344. . 
John Davis, 158, 168, 194, 272. 
John Shirley, 260, 265, 272, 314. 
Jonathan, 140, 168, 259, 276, 305. 
Joseph, 67, 68, 119, 129, 134, 137, 

139, 145, 146, 147, 151, 155, 

157-8, 162, 167, 168, 169, 171, 

178, 188, 190, 192, 280, 314, 

338, 343. 
Katharine, 186. 
Katharine (Morrill), 281, 
Lois, 260. 

Lois (Cunningham), 196. 
Louisa, 343. 
Louisa (Palmer), 308. 
Lucy, 261, 262. 
Lydia, 262, 282. 

Martha, 125, 131, 193, 261, 
272. 

Martha (Howell), 134. 
Mary, 123, 131, 135, 142, 190, 203, 

284, 344. 
Mary (Capen), 128, 185. 
Mary (Langdon), 196. 
Mary Nye (Bangs), 281. 
Mary (Sumner), 194. 
Mary W., 264. 
Maud, 349. 
Mercy (Davis), 192. 
Mr., 354. 
Mrs., 344. 

Nabby Langdon, 311. 
Nancy, 260, 262, 276, 314. 
Nancy (Bugbee), 272. 
Nancy Himt (Fellowes), 272. 
Nancy (Williams), 314. 
Nathaniel, 140. 
Nathaniel Whiting, 203. 
Nehemiah Davis, 262, 266, 280, 

344, 351, 358. 
Nicholas, 59. 
Noah Perrin, 205. 



Williams, Park, 129. 

Polly, 206, 260, 302, 308. 

Polly (WilUams), 206. 

Priscilla, 127. 

Rebecca, 276. 

Robert, 53, 117, 191, 194, 271. 

Robert B., 285. 

Sally, 204, 272. 

Sally (Wilhams), 272. 

Samuel, 57, 60, 67. 

Sarah, 78, 123, 129, 133, 142, 

191, 195, 206. 
Sarah EUza, 331. 
Sarah Elizabeth, 275. 
Sarah (Heath), 280. 
Sarah (Payson), 185. 
Sarah (Tileston), 132. 
Sarah (Wise), 62. 
Samuel, 78, 81, 117, 121, 122, 

123, 129, 137, 139, 141, 142, 

146, 151, 168, 186, 206, 338, 

351. 
Samuel Sprague, 262. 
Stedman, 203, 263, 309, 312, 323, 

343, 351, 358. 
Stephen, 62, 76, 122, 125, 128, 129, 

131, 140, 145, 155, 158, 160, 

162, 167, 185, 187, 192, 196, 

284, 308, 314, 316. 
Stephen Henry, 281, 353. 
Sue, 270. 

Susan B. (Famham), 328. 
Susan F., 268. 
Susan L., 268. 
Susan Lucy (Fellovpes), 291. 
Susannah (May), 192. 
Theoda, 60, 128, 192, 278. 
Theoda (Parke), 117. 
Thomas, 160, 167, 178, 191, 220, 

282, 310, 315, 316, 317, 343. 
WiUiam, 122, 191, 198. 
Willis, Susanna, 128. 
Wiknarth, Daniel, 255. 

Henry Dan, 209, 255, 289. 
Matilda (Reynolds), 255. 
Sarah (Luke), 255. 
Wilson, Ann, 49. 
Barnabas, 134. 



INDEX 



427 



Wilson, Elizabeth (Mansfield), 41. 

Frances Taylor, 334. 

G. H., 353. 

Hannah, 58, 124. 

John, 21, 41, 130. 

Joseph, 122. 

Josephine, 270. 

Mary, 41. 

Maud, 349. 

Mr., 21. 

Nathaniel, 58, 122, 124. 

Sally, 259. 

Sarah, 130. 

Thomas, 49. 
Winchester, Amariah, 131. 

Groodman, 69. 

Hannah, 65, 121. 

Joanna, 65, 124. 

John, 65, 69, 126, 131. 

Jonathan, 121. 

Josiah, 121, 125, 129. 

Mary, 121, 122, 126, 190. 

Moses, 190. 

Sarah, 129, 131. 
Windship, Winship — 

Charles May, 276. 

Susan (Barker), 276, 364, 367. 

Nathl, 199. 

Winslow, Harriet, 304, 

Isaac, 158, 338. 

Jemima, 195. 

Louisa, 275. 

Louisa M., 304. 

Rebecca, 191. 
Winthrop, Lucy, 142. 
Winsor, Mary D., 266. 

Mary Ann (Davis), 330. 

Elizabeth, 326. 

Henry, 266, 330. 
Wise, Abigail, 123. 
^Bethia, 120. 
'' Elizabeth, 51. 

Joseph, 58. 

Katherin, 120. 
.Mary, 58. 

Sarah, 62. 

Wiswell, Sarah Adams, 322. 



Winters, William, 3. 
Withington, Alpheus M., 288, 328, 
351. 

Betsey (Baker), 305. 

Ebenezer, 305. 

Hannah (Leeds), 204. 

Hiram, 328. 

Lewis, 343. 

Mary (Preston), 305. 

Phineas, 204, 305. 

Susan M., 828. 
Wolcott, Caroline (Frothingham), 
327. 

Harriet (Frothingham), 327. 

Joshua Huntington, 327. 

Roger, 327. 
Wolford, Richard, 69. 
Woman's Alliance, The, 359, 370. 
Wood, Woods — 

Edith M., 350. 

Elizabeth, 129, 198. 

Hervey, 215, 221, 260. 

Jemima, 130, 133. 

John, 130, 140, 160. 

Joseph, 134. 

Mary, 135. 

Mercy, 189. 

Miranda, 290. 

Samuel, 189. 

Susanna, 142. 
Woodbridge, Maria Marsh, 291. 

Martha, 193. 

PrisciQa D., 306. 
Woodforde, Mary (Blott), 47. 

Thomas, 47. 
Woodman, Greorge, 300. 

Louisa (Gore), 300. 

Mary, 294. 
Woodward, Abraham, 130, 142. 

Ester, 64, 122. 

G«orge, 130. 

Hannah, 122, 192. 

Ichabod, 130. 

Mary, 124. 

Nathaniel, 130. 

Sarah, 142. 

Thomas, 61, 64, 69, 122. 

Tryphena, 126. 



428 



INDEX 



Woody, Woddy — 

Ann, 56. 

Elizabeth, 65. 
Frances (Dexter), 57. 

John, 56. 

Martha, 65. 

Mary, 67, 65. " 

Mary (Coggin), 56. 

Richard, 56, 57, 65. 

Samuel, 65. 
Woolton, Eliz., 49. 
Worsley, Joseph, 190. 
Worthington, Abby Bartlett (Adams) 
327. 

Roland, 327, 329. 
Wright, Write — 

George, 346. 

Rachel, 47, 54. 
Wroth, Mr., 53. 
Wyman, Ann, 265. 

Anne (Morrill), 246. 

Asa, 262. 

Caroline K., 269, 323. 

Caroline King (Hooper), 323. 

Cath., 262. 

Catherine (Taber), 290. 

Edward, 214, 268, 323. 



Wyman, Elizabeth, 267, 273. 

Eunice, 246. 

George H., 334. 

Isaac, 262, 290, 351. 

John, 203. 

Margaret Carey (Boyd), 323. 

Margaret Curry, 267-323. 

Mary, 293. 

Rufus, 209, 246, 264. 

Sarah, 262. 

Sarah (White), 201, 262. 

Thos., 162, 201, 290. 

Wifeof Asa, 262. 

Wm., 260. 

Zebediah, 246. 
Wyeth, John, 176. 

Young, Elizabeth Loring, 286. 

Helen M., 349. 

Henrietta, 325. 
Youngman, Cornelius, 128. 

Francis, 123. 

Ziegler, George, 199, 201, 221, 273, 
283. 
Mary, 201. 
Mary (Blaney), 199. 



This book is a preservation photocopy. 

It is made in compliance with copyright law 

and produced on acid-free archival 

60# book weight paper 

which meets the requirements of 

ANSI/NISO Z39.48-1992 (permanence of paper) 

Preservation photocopying and binding 

by 

Acme Bookbinding 

Charlestown, Massachusetts 




2003 



BOSTON PUBLIC LIBRARY 



3 9999 04853 125 3