Skip to main content

Full text of "The history of Franklin County, Ky."

See other formats




Hi:. 











'l-i:: .^i':. 







Book -— lEl-A^ 



CONTENTS 



CHAPTER I. 

Pag.' 

Formation. Location. Drpanization. Government, etc -' 

CHAPTER II. 
Indian Incursions anil Other Incidents Prior to ISOO ^-^ 

CHAPTER III. 
Geological Formation. Minerals. Soil, Timber, etc 21 

CHAPTER IV. 
Settlements and Other Incidents Prior to 1800 2S 

CHAPTER V. 
Events From ISOO to ISIO ■**' 



CHAPTER VI. 



Events From IRIO to 1S20 



53 



CHAPTER VII. 
Events From 1S20 to 18^0 "^ 

CHAPTER VIII. 

Events From 1S.S0 to 1840 ^^ 

CHAPTER IX. 

Events From 1840 to 1850 ''^^ 

CHAPTER X. 

Events From IWO to 1800 ^•''- 

CHAPTER XI. 

Events From 18G0 to 1870 1"*^ 

CHAPTER XII. 
Events From 1870 to 1880 ^"•" 

CHAPTER XIII. 
Events From 1880 to 1800 l'*-"' 

CHAPTER XIV. 
Events From 1800 to 1900 '• -^'^ 

CHAPTER XV. 
Events From 1000 to 1010 --■' 

CHAPTER XVI. 
The Churchws of Franklin County -^•' 

CHAPTER XVII. 

Present Time (1912) -•"' 



DEDICATION 

To the men and women whose lives and achievements 
have done so much to enrich the history of FrankUn County, 
this work is dedicated. 

L. F. JOHNSON. 



PREFACE. 

Carlyle said: History is the essence of innumcvable bio- 
graphies. 

Longfellow said: They ivho live in history only seemed to 
walk the earth again. 

Voltaire said: History is little else than a picture of liwman 
crimes and misfortunes. 

Lord Bolingbroke said: I think that history is philosophy, 
teaching by example. 

The Author does not claim that the following pages Tneas- 
ure up to the standard given by any of the above Authors, but if 
this work can create or increase interest in the biography, his- 
tory and traditions of the Kentucky pioneers it will not have 
been done in vain. 

The Author. 



The History of Franklin 
County, Ky. 



CHAPTER I. 

Formation of Franklin County, Location, Organization of 
County Government, History of the (Jounty for seven years 
as shown by the early records of the County. 

On December the 31, 1776, the Virginia Legislature passed 
an act establishing Kentucky County, -which included the ter- 
ritory now known as the State of Kentucky. In May, 1780, 
Kentucky was divided into three counties, to-wit: Jefferson, 
Fayette and Lincoln; these three counties cornered at Frank- 
fort. What is now known as North Frankfort and that part 
of Franklin county north or east of the Kentucky river was in 
Fayette. Where South Frankfort now is, and the part of the 
county south or west of the Kentucky river and south of Ben- 
son Creek, was in Lincoln, and the territory now known as 
West Frankfort or Bell Point, and that part of the county 
west of the river and north of Benson Creek was in Jefferson. 

Nelson county was formed from a part of Jefferson in 1784, 
Bourbon from a part of Fayette in 1785 ; Mercer and Madison 
were formed from portions of Lincoln, in the same year, Mason 
was formed out of Bourbon, and Woodford out of Fayette in 
the year 1788. These were the nine counties of the State when 
it was admitted into the Union on June the 1st, 1792. Frank- 
lin county was formed by the Kentucky Legislature in the year 
1794 out of portions of WooSford, Mercer and Shelby, and on 
the 10th day of May of that year the act establishing the 
county went into effect. At that time its boundary was as 
follows, to-wit: "Beginning at the Scott line where it leaves the 
South fork of Elkhorn, thence a straight line to strike the 
Kentucky river, and crossing the same one mile above the 



6 THE HISTORY OF FRANKLIN COUNTY. 

mouth of Glenn's Creek; thence up the Kentucky river to the 
mouth of Cove Spring branch on the south side thereof ; thence 
up the said branch to the Cove Spring ; thence west to the Wash- 
ington Une; thence with same down Salt river to the mouth of 
Crooked Creek; thence up the main fork of Crooked Creek- to 
the head thereof; thence with the dividing ridge at the junc- 
tion of the forks of Benson; thence down Benson to where the 
old wagon road from Boone's old station to Harrodsburg 
crosses at the mouth of the most northerly fork of Benson; 
thence a direct line to the mouth of Elkhorn ; thence down the 
Kentucky river to the mouth thereof; thence up the Ohio to 
the Scott line; thence with the said line to the beginning." 

Portions of Franklin were taken to from the county of Gal- 
latin in 1798, Owen in 1819, and Anderson in 1827, and a 
portion of Gallatin was taken to form Carroll in 1838. One 
hundred years after its formation, its boundary included only 
about two hundred and twelve square miles, which is a very 
small part of its original territory; the county is now about 
twenty miles long at its greatest length, and about eighteen 
miles wide at its greatest width. Franklin is bounded on the 
south by Anderson and Woodford, on the east by Scott, on the 
north by Henry and Owen and on the west by Shelby; it is 
located in the north central part of the State, about thirty- 
eight and one-fourth degrees latitude and about eighty-five 
longitude; its mean annual temperature is 56 degrees. The 
Kentucky river runs through it from south to north the en- 
tire length of the county, dividing it into two nearly equal 
parts. The other streams of importance in the county are 
Benson, Glenn's Creek and Elkhorn. 

On the 10th day of May, 1795, which day had been desig- 
nated by the Kentuck}^ Legislature for the act establishing the 
county of Franklin to go into effect, Governor Isaac Shelby 
made the following proclamation and appointments, to-wit: 
''The State of Kentucky: To all Avho shall see these presents, 
greeting. Know ye that reposing special trust and confidence 
in the knowledge, integrity and abilities of John Logan, Ben- 
nett Pcmberton, Anthony Crockett, Baker Ewing, Bichard 
Apperson, William Ware, Thomas Lillard and John Arnold, 



THE HISTORY OF FRANKLIN COUNTY. / 

Esquires, I have nominated and by and with the advice and 
consent of the Henate do appoint the said John Logan, Ben- 
nett Pemberton, Anthony Crockett, Baker Ewing, Richard 
Apperson, William Ware, Thomas Lillard and John Arnold, 
Justices of the Peace in and for the County of Franklin, of 
whom the three first herein named or any two of them are 
authorized to hold the Court of Quarter Session in said county 
and to discharge all the duties of Justices of said county; and 
the remaining Justices of the peace above named, or any three 
of them, are authorized to hold the County Court for said 
county, and to discharge all the duties of a Justice for said 
County Court in manner prescribed by law. In testimony 
whereof I liave caused these letters to be made patent and the 
seal for the Commonwealth to be hereto affixed. 

"Given under my hand as Governor for said State at Lex- 
ington, this the lOtli day of May, One thousand seven hundred 
and ninety-five. 

"Isaac Shelby, 
"By the Governor, 
"James Brown." 

This })oard of magistrates when organized into a Court, ap- 
pointed Willis Lee, who by virtue of said appointment was the 
first County Clerk of Franklin county; and the Governor ap- 
pointed and commissioned John Smith as the first Sheriff of 
the county; and the Governor also appointed Turner Richard- 
son, Coroner. January 19, 1796, the Governor appointed and 
commissioned Stephen Arnold a Justice of the Peace, or Judge 
of Quarter Session. This completed the official organization 
of the county. These brave pioneers in whom the Governor 
of this Commonwealth reposed "special trust and confidence 
in their knowledge, integrity and abilities," connnenced the 
government and control of this large territory, then more than 
six times its present area. One of the first orders was "that the 
county levy be fixed at three shillings each tithable, for the 
present year." 

The sheriff was ordered "to confine such persons a.s he may, 
directed by law, take into his custody, in one of the upper 



8 THE HISTORY OP FRANKLIN COUNTY. 

rooms of the public jail until a prison be built by order of the 
Court for this county." James Arnold, who was a brother-in- 
law of Anthony Crockett, and the father of John and Stephen 
Arnold, all three of whom were magistrates then in office, wtus 
ordered by the County Court to lay off a county road from the 
mouth of Glenn's creek to Frankfort; the public road entered 
Frankfort over the present right of way owned by the L. &. N. 
R. R. Co., but it was west of and below the present tunnel. 
Thomas Hickman was allowed thirty-five pounds for erecting 
a stray pen on tlie square allotted for the court house. 

At the April term, 1796, it was "ordered that the gallows 
be erected at the intersection of the road leading from 
Saunders' mill with the Lexington old road, three-quarters of 
a mile from Frankfort." This is now the Feeble Minded In- 
stitute property near the intersection of the Georgetown and 
Millville turnpike roads. 

At the August term, 1797, it was "ordered that William 
Trigg, Thos. Montague and Daniel Weiseger be appointed 
commissioners to have erected stocks, pillory and whipping- 
post on the public grounds near the jail, to be paid for out of 
the county levy." 

Charles M. Bird, the first County Attorney, and who acted 
as both State and County Attorney, was allowed the sum of 
twenty pounds for his services for one year. During the first 
several years of this new county, the two most important ques- 
tions before the Court were the destruction of wolves and the 
construction of public roads ; a bounty was offered for the scalp 
of each wolf that was over six months old; the county record 
shows that hundreds of wolves were killed and their scalps 
were paid for by the County Court. 

Public roads were laid off and built in every direction from 
the city and a great many cross roads were also constructed; 
nearly all of the public roads leading from Frankfort were 
established prior to 1800. 

Two bridges were built by Nat Saunders and Chas. Patter- 
son across Elkhorn near the Forks in 1798; the contractors 
agreed to keep these bridges in repair for seven years; but be- 
fore the expiration of that time they had gotten so much out 



THE HISTORY OF FRANKLIN COUNTY. 9 

of repair that the County ordered suit to be brought on the con- 
tract. 

In 1798, Stephen Arnold and William Payne were ap- 
pointed a committee of the Court to locate and superintend the 
erection of a large store-room for the reception of tobacco, flour 
and hemp. They located the house on the lots number 227 
and a part of 226; these are the lots on which the city school 
now stands. The warehouse was large enough to store four 
hundred hogsheads of tobacco, five hundred barrels of flour 
and a large quantity of hemp. 

In 1797, after two years of service, Willis Lee was succeeded 
by Wm. Trigg as County Clerk, and John Smith was succeeded 
by Nat Richardson as Sheriff of the county. James Roberts 
was the first Jailer and James Blair succeeded Cha.s. M. Bird 
as County Attorney. 

The county levy for the year 1797 was fixed at ''three shil- 
lings each tithable," being the same as the previous year. 

On account of the extensive forests and the large amount of 
mast, the farmers were enabled to fatten their hogs at small 
expense, and in order to prevent the loss of their stock, they 
had their distinguishing ear marks recorded, as shown by the 
following orders : 

''Ordered that William Payne's mark, which is as follows 
to-wit: A crop and two slits in each ear, be recorded. Also John 
Satterwhite's mark, which is a crop and overkeel in the right 
and a slit in the left, be recorded." This plan of having their 
"ear marks" recorded was followed by the farmers of this 
county for many years. 

On Tuesday, November 25, 1800, the following order was 
entered: "It is ordered that the sheriff do bring immediately 
before this Court Nancy Hutton, to answer the contempt of- 
fered this Court by leaving a young infant on the Clerk's table." 
The sheriff returned after a short time, and reported that said 
Nancy Hutton could not be found, and it was thereupon or- 
dered that Samuel Hutton be summoned to appear before the 
next Court to show cause, if any he could, why he should not 
support the infant left by the said Samuel's wife on the Clerk's 
table. 



10 THE HISTORY OF FRANKLIN COUNTY. 

The first District Court for Franklin county was convened 
at the State House on Tuesday, the 9th day of February, 1796. 
Buckner Thurston and James G. Hunter were the Judges, 
Wilhs Lee was appointed Clerk during good behavior. The 
first Grand Jury failed to return any indictments and no cases 
were tried during the term. 

Thomas Todd and James Blair were admitted to practice 
law, and James Hughes was admitted at the following term. 

The Kentucky Gazette was published in the year 1787, at 
Lexington, Ky. 

On May 12, 1796, John Breckinridge, James Brown, Wil- 
liam Murray, Chas. F. Bird, Samuel Irvine, John Allen, Wil- 
liam McDowell, Isham Tolbett and Richard Lage were sworn in 
as attorneys of the Frankfort bar. 

On Tuesday, the 6th day of August, 1799, on motion of 
Henry Clay and William Warren, they were admitted to prac- 
tice a.s attorneys at law in this Court, who thereupon severally 
took the oath prescribed by law, also the oath to support the 
Constitution of the United States. 

Catherine London, a spinster, was charged with murder; 
she was tried, and on April 3, 1798, was convicted and sentenced 
to be hung; and on Thursday, the 10th day of May, 1798, be- 
tween the hours of ten and two o'clock, she was hung upon the 
gallows near the public jail in the town of Frankfort. Hugh 
Johnson was tried and convicted of a felony on August 6th, 
1798, and on August the 9th was again brought to the bar in 
custody of the jailor; and it being demanded of him if he had 
anything to say why the Court should not proceed to give judg- 
ment and award execution thereof according to law, he said he 
claimed the privilege of the law concerning the benefit of 
clergy; ''Thereupon it is considered by the Court that the said 
Hugh Johnson be burned in the hand, and the Sheriff of the 
county do cause execution of this judgment to be done im- 
mediately upon the said Hugh Johnson in the presence of and 
at the bar of this Court, which being accordingly done and pro- 
clamation being made as the manner is, whereupon the said 
Johnson is discharged out of custody." "The benefit of 
clergy" was an arrest of judgment introduced in England 



THE HISTORY OF FRANKLIN COUNTY. 11 

early in its history ; it had its origin from the pious regard paid 
by Christians to the church in its infant state; the persons of 
clergymen were exempt from criminal process before the secu- 
lar judge. At first no man could claim this benefit except 
clergymen, but in the course of time, in order to mitigate the 
severity of the law, the privilege was extended to a great many 
who were accused of crime; but the laymen were not put upon 
the same footing a.s the clergy, being subjected to a slight pun- 
ishment and denied the privilege a second time. The punish- 
ment was by branding in the hand with a hot iron in order to 
distinguish them from the clergy, in case of a second applica- 
tion for the benefit. 

Prior to the installation of the penitentiary system in the 
year 1800 all felons w^ere punished with death ; minor offenses 
were punished by branding in the hand, pillory, stocks, whip- 
ping post and by ducking stool. 

Augustine Adams, a laborer, was charged with horse steal- 
ing; he was convicted April 2nd, 1799, and on Monday, the 
29th day of April, 1799, he was hung near the public jail in the 
town of Frankfort. 

William Dougherty, a laborer, charged with robljcry, was 
tried, convicted and sentenced to be hung April 2nd, 1799; 
the verdict was set aside and he was released on bail ; he was re- 
turned to the custody o^ the Court, but made his escape August 
the 5th, 1799. 

James Mills was charged with a felony and convicted, and 
on April the 5th, 1799, he claimed the benefit of clergy, was 
burnt in the hand "and proclamation being made as the man- 
ner is," was discharged from custody. This was the last case 
where the benefit of clergy was granted in Franklin county. 
Henry Fields, a farmer from Woodford county, was 
charged with murdering his wife; he was defended by Henry 
Clay. After a long trial, which lasted several days, he was 
found guilty on August 10th, 1799, and on the same day, H. 
Clay, his attorney, filed a motion in arrest of judgment; at 
that time there was no appeal in a criminal rase. His first 
ground was "because he was indicted for the murder of Sallie 
Fields and was tried for the murder of Sarah Fields." 2nd. 



12 THE HISTORY OP FRANKLIN COUNTY. 

"That his late wife, whom he was indicted for having mur- 
dered, was called and known by the name of Sallie Fields, and 
never by the name of Sarah Fields." 3rd. ''That the descrip- 
tion of the manner of the death of the said Sallie in the said in- 
dictment contained, is repugnant and impossible." (On Au- 
gust the 12th the Court held that the grounds for the motion 
were not sufficient, and he was hung upon the gallows near the 
pubHc jail on Thursday, the 19th day of September, 1799;) 
$138.75 was paid by the county for guarding Fields from 
August 12th to September 19th. 

The first public jail was located on the north side of 
Holmes Street, near the intersection of High, a few doors west 
of the entrance to the female department of the penitentiary, a 
small store room is now located there. The State House was 
used as a court house by the Franklin county officials until 
1806. 

Prior to 1800 there w^ere only four houses built on the 
ground now known as South Frankfort; there was a small log 
house near the large warehouse located on the ground now used 
for the public school. There was a house on Shelby Street 
just back of James Heeney's property, where the old brick 
seminary building was located, and there was another one 
where Miss Exum's property is located, on what is now Mur- 
ray street. 

On December 14, 1793, there w^as an act of the Legisla- 
ture for clearing a Avagon road from Frankfort to Cincinnati; 
it was alleged that such a road would be productive of private 
convenience and public utility; seven years were given in 
which to complete the road. 

There was also a law enacted on December 7, 1794, which 
gave free transportation across the ferry at Frankfort for all 
citizens living on the south side of the river ''on each county 
court day, days of holding court of quarter session, days of 
public elections and general musters." In December, 1798, 
a ferry was established across the Kentucky river "at the rope 
walks," one mile above Frankfort. The "rope walks" was 
the old-fashioned hand factory for spinning hemp, making 
rope, etc. 



THE HISTORY OF FRANKLIN COUNTY. 13 

The Frankfort Bridge Company was incorporated Decem- 
ber 29, 1799, for the purpose of building a bridge from the end 
of Ann Street to the south side. Prior to 1800 the Court 
caused to be located and surveyed six thousand acres of land 
and the same was vested in ''The Trustees of the Kentucky 
Seminary" for educational purposes. This was the first step 
in the direction of free public schools in the county. 



14 THE HISTORY OF FRANKLIN COUNTY. 



CHAPTER II. 

Indian Incursions and other Incidents prior to 1800; State-' 
ments from The Palladium; the Pioneer. 

Franklin County, within its present boundary, was, to a 
great extent, protected from the Indian incursions and depre- 
dations, committed by them in other sections of the country 
known as Kentucky, on account of its central location and 
from the further fact that in the earliest settlement of the 
county forts were built in nearly every direction from it. 

There was jMcClelland's fort, where Georgetown now 
stands, which was built in 1776; Harrodstown (Harrodsljurg) 
was built in 1774; Logan's Fort in 1775; Louisville in 1778; 
Booneborough in 1775; Bryan's Station, in Fayette county in 
1779; Houston's (Paris) Station in 1776, Squire Boone's Sta- 
tion (Shelbyville) prior to 1780; Arnold's Station^ in Ander- 
son County in 1783 ; Johnson's Station in Scott County in the 
same year. These Stations practically surrounded Franklin 
County and though they did not give absolute protection, the 
presence of Indians in the neighborhood of any of these Sta- 
tions, as soon as detected, the news was sent to all sections of the 
country and only a few instances are recorded where death re- 
sulted from a conflict between the two races. 

In the year 1780, Stephen Frank, Nick Tomlin, Wm. Bryant 
and others Avere on their way to Mann's Salt Lick in Jefferson 
County, and the}^ camped on the present site of Frankfort. 
In the early morning they were attacked by the Indians and 
Frank was killed and two other members of the party, Bryan 
and Tomlin Avere wounded, l:)ut they were able to make their 
escape. The fact that Frank was killed and the further fact 
that there was a fairly good ford on the Kentucky River near- 
ly opposite to the entrance of Devil's Hollow gave to Frank- 
fort the name Frank's ford which was contracted to Frankfort. 

One of the earliest and most prosperous settlements was in 
Quinn's Bottom, about four miles from Frankfort on Elkhorn 
Creek. This settlement was made up of the Cook brothers, 
Louis Martin, Wm. Dunn and Wm. Bledsoe, with their 



THE HISTORY OF FRANKLIN COUNTY. 15 

families and several other families. In April, 1792, about one 
hundred Indians made a raid on this settlement. The first 
information the settlers had of their presence, was a volley fired 
at the two Cooks who were at the time engaged in shearing 
sheep. Both of the Cooks were killed, one of whom fell on the 
doorstep. The widows of the two men were all that were left 
to defend the cabin and their three small children; their cour- 
age, however, made them equal to the occasion. They im- 
mediately pulled the dead body of the murdered man into the 
room and barred the door. The Indians made a rush for the 
door and tried to beat it down ; one of the women secured a gun, 
but having no bullets, she split a piece of lead and rounded it 
to fit the rifle, and quickly loaded it; the Indians were still 
persisting in their efforts to break the door; she placed the 
muzzle of the gun through a small opening between the logs 
and took deliberate aim and fired at a very large Indian and 
shot him dead. They then abandoned the idea of breaking in 
the door and some of them climbed to the roof and set fire to it. 
One of the women went up to the loft, while the other handed 
to her some w^ater with which to put out flames as often as the 
torch was applied ; the water failing, she took a lot of eggs and 
put out the fire ; and as a last resort they used the blood soaked 
vest of the dead husband and smothered the fire with it. The 
brave defense made by these women prolonged the contest 
until the Indians became afraid that the rest of the settlement 
would be warned of their presence, they abandoned the as- 
sault ; they sunk the body of the dead Indian in Elkhorn Creek 
and the whole force moved on to attack the other settlers in 
that neighborhood. During the raid they killed, in addition 
to the two Cooks, Louis Martin, two sons of William Dunn 
and a negro man; and they captured and carried away with 
them two negro men. A company of about one hundred men 
were quickly collected from the forks of Elkhorn and other 
sections of the County who went in pursuit of the Indians and 
followed them to the Ohio River, across from Cincinnati and 
there abandoned further pursuit. 

The camping ground of Hon. Jas. A. Scott, known as 
"Indian Rock" is located near the scene of the above described 



16 THE HISTORY OF FRANKLIN COUNTY. 

contc.'^t, the Indian who was killed by the Cook woman, floated 
down the creek and lodged against a large rock very close to 
where the camp is located. There are several families, of 
prominence, now living in Franklin County, (1907) who are 
direct descendants of the Cooks. 

About the year 1788, Stephen Arnold and a companion 
were hunting wild turkeys. They had reached a point i],ear 
the present Frankfort and Lawrenceburg road, a few hundred 
yards north of where the Blakemore Distillery now stands. 
While passing around the top of a fallen tree, they came with- 
in twenty paces of five Indians; as soon as they saw the In- 
dians, Arnold directed his companion to fire and at the same 
time fired his own gun at the closest Indian; two of them be- 
ing in line the same bullet killed both of them. Arnold's 
friend stood as though paralyzed with fear and was captured 
without firing a shot, one of the Indians remained with the 
captive and the other two pursued Arnold; his enemies were 
between him and the fort, wdiich Avas about three miles away; 
he made a wide circuit, Avith them in hot pursuit. He at- 
tempted to reload his rifle as he ran but in attempting to 
shove the bullet down, his ram rod caught on a bush 
and was knocked out of his hand and his enemies were 
so close to him that he did not have time to recover it, — then, 
indeed, there was a race for life; there had been some recent 
rains, the ground was soft, his mocassins were wet and heavy 
with mud. He could see that his enemies were gaining on 
him. He had lost his gun. He took his hunting knife from 
his belt and cut the strings of his mocassins a»s he ran and con- 
tinued his flight barefooted; the race continued until they got 
in sight of Arnold's Station, when the Indians gave up the 
pursuit and returned to their captive, whom they took north 
with them and afterwards sold him to some white man who 
returned him to his Kentucky home. 

^ ''The Palladium" a literary weekly paper, published in 
Frankfort in the year 1798 and for several years thereafter, 
published the fact that a white man was killed by the Indians 
on the waters of Benson Creek, near the falls, at Conway's 



THE HISTORY OF F1{A>'KLIN COINTY. 17 

mill, about four miles from Frankfort, in Au,i:,ust, 1704, but 
the name of the man is not given. 

In the year 1793 a party of hunters was pursued within 
five miles of Frankfort, but none of the party was killed. In 
1794 a party of seven Indians came across from what is now 
Owen County. Crossing into the county at Indian Gap 
(from which fact the place took its name), two of these In- 
dians made an attack on a man by the name of Stafford at the 
mouth of Pond's branch. After a desperate fight, Stafford 
killed one of the Indians and the other one made his escape 
and joined his other companions, who undertook to return 
the way they came, but they were followed by a body of white 
men who succeeded in killing all of them before they could re- 
cross the Ohio river. * 

Marshall's History of Kentucky states that Leestown was 
named for Willis Lee who was killed by the Indians while 
camping there, but other authorities say that it was named for 
Handcock Lee, (a cousin of Handcock Taylor) who owned 
a large tract of land on a part of which the town was located. 
The records of the county show that Handcock Lee owned the 
land on which the town was established. 

The Palladium gives the following items, to-wit: Frank- 
fort, June 20, 1799: ''La>it Saturday week a little girl, daugh- 
ter of Mr. William Bourn on Benson, was lost from the Planta- 
tion and was found on Monday following on I^eech Creek, 
having traveled about fifteen miles, — when found, was still 
stout and able to travel." 

Frankfort, Kentucky, Aug. 7, 1800. — "Yesterday a man 
by the name of Brown residing in the neighborhood of this 
place, to decide a wager of one hundred dollars, walked from the 
Capital to Lexington and returned in eleven hours; he was al- 
lowed sun rise to sun set, but performed the journey with ap- 
parent ease, two hours under the time." 

About the year 1798 a man by the name of Mack Sutton, 
challenged James Arnold to fight a duel, Arnold accepted and 
named the conditions, which were : that the weapons should be 
rifles, the time, on a day named between sun rise and sun set ; 
the place, a heavy woodland of some ten or twelve acres, 



18 THE HISTORY OF FRANKLIN COUNTY. 

located nearly opposite the mouth of Glenn's Creek; both of 
the parties were familiar with these woods; there was a large 
hollow tree, which stood near the center of the woods, and as 
Arnold expected, Sutton went out very early in the morning 
and concealed himself in this hollow tree ; Arnold came upon 
the reverse side and held him there until after sun set and then 
gave him permission to come out. Ever after that the two 
men were good friends. 

On Oct. 31, 1798, the mercury at Frankfort stood at 22 de- 
grees below zero at sunrise. 

The anniversary of American Independence was cele- 
brated on Thursday, July 4, 1799, by the citizens of Frankfort ; 
after dinner a number of suitable patriotic toasts were drunk 
and the utmost good humor prevailed on that occasion. 

The following notice shows how the news of that day was 
received: ''Frankfort, Ky., Aug. 8, 1799. Just as this day's 
paper was going to press we were favored with Brown's Phila- 
delphia Gazette of the 19th of July, containing some interest- 
ing intelligence from Europe." 

The Palladium gives a detailed account of the resolutions of 
1798, which were passed by the Kentucky Legislature, the dis- 
cussions by Mr. Breckenridge, ]\Ir. Johnson, Mr. Murray and 
others, but as this belongs to state history it has no part in the 
history of Franklin County. * * * 

The Pioneer of Franklin County was unique in many re- 
spects; he was of necessity a man of courage and endurance. 
No man would select a home such as this county furnislied 
from 1780 to 1800, who was not brave enough to meet any 
danger or who did not have force of character and determina- 
tion sufficient to overcome any difficulty ; many of their deeds 
denoting a noble manhood, have been left unrecorded and suc- 
ceeding generations only know of them by tradition. In a 
general way the main evidence, the present generation has of 
the bravery, the endurance, the self-sacrifice, the determination 
to maintain the liberties of himself and his people, is shown 
more in the results upon the succeeding generations than in 
any other way. A history of the world, is to a great extent a 
detailed account of the individual actions of men, but in most 



THE HISTORY OF FRANKLIN COUNTY. 19 

cases, more credit has been "iveii to him who is termed the 
leader, than is his just proportion; a good soldier is as essen- 
tial to a successful campaign as a good general, yet the gen- 
eral has the laurel wreath, while the ready hands and brave 
hearts which made his success possible find obscure graA'es. 
"Peace hath her victories no less renowned than those of war," 
but the renown is generally given to the official who by circum- 
stances lias been elected to some executive, legislative or judi- 
cial office, and the hero, whose life has been sacrificed for loved 
ones, or for the liberty of his countrymen rests in an unmarked 
grave. The pioneers of this county did a noble work, but their 
grand children and their great grand children have not shown 
a proper appreciation for the labor performed, the dangers in- 
curred, the hardships endured and the lives which were sacri- 
ficed by these brave men and women, guaranteeing to succeed- 
ing generations the peace, prosperity and happiness of this : 

"The land of the noble free 
Sweet land of liberty." 

The following are the names of a few men who were 
prominent in Franklin County, prior to ISOO. 

John Smith, Nathaniel Richardson, James, John and 
Stephen Arnold, Thomas and Pascal Hickman, Turner Rich- 
ardson. Wm. Trigg, Thos. ^Montague, Daniel AVeisinger, Chas. 
M. l^ird, Harry Bartlett, William, John and John R. Canlwell, 
William Payne, Thos. Todd, Willis Lee, James Hayden, Robt. 
Johnson, William Johnson, William Brown, James P)lair, .Tohn 
Price, William Quarles, John Bacon, James Roberts, Anthony 
Crockett, Thos. Hardy, Lewis Overton, Scott Brown, John 
Lindsey, John Brown, John Patty, Wm. Samuels, Wm. Hall, 
James Giix.le, Walter Ayers, Edward Vaughn, Matliew Clark, 
Hugh Innis, Ambrose Quarles, Roddy IJawkins, James Miles, 
Wm. Murray, Lewis R. Major, Daniel James, Samuel McKee 
and Christopher Greenup. 

Some of the attorneys who were prominent practitioners 
at the Frankfort bar were Tsham Talbot, William Murray, 
William Blackburn, Samuel Irvin, Felix Grundy, Thos. Todd, 



20 THE HISTORY OF FRANKLIN COUNTY. 

James Blair, James Crawford, Mathew Lodge, William Mc- 
Ilhenney, James Hughes, William Hunter, James Brown, 
John Allen and Wm. McDowell. There were some prominent 
attorneys from other sections of the state who practiced in all 
the courts at Frankfort, among whom were Henry Clay, 
Richard M. Johnson, Robert Breckinridge and Humphrey 
Marshall. 



THE HISTORY OF FRANKLIN COUNTY. 21 



Chapter III. 

Geological Formation, Minerah, Soil, Cereals, etc.. Horticul- 
ture, Fruits, Timber, Lead, Mineral Waters, Gas, Clay, 
Drainage, etc.. Fertile Valleys, Blue Grass. 

Franklin County is of the lower Silurian Age or forma- 
tion; it is the age of invertebrates; it is called Silurian from 
Silures in Wales where the same kind of rocks are found. 
This age has two sub-divisions called the upper and lower 
Silurian. The lower Silurian age is divided into three periods; 
the primordial or Cambrian ; the Canadian and Trenton. 
Franklin County is of the Trenton period, this period takes 
its name from Trenton falls in New York: The life of this 
period was, a.s far as evidence shows wholly marine, no trace 
of a terrestial or fresh water species of plant or animal litis ever 
been found. The only plants were sea weeds ; the only animal 
life was of the lowest order, known as invertebrates, it con- 
sisted of invertebrates, mollusks and articulates. The principal 
fossils found are Petraia Corniculum, Orthis Testudinana and 
other Occidentals. 

The ^'Birdseye" limestone, which is generally known in 
Kentucky, as the Kentucky river marble is found in large 
quantities, it is a most excellent building stone, the Capitol 
Hotel, the Farmer's Bank, the walls of the State Penitentiary 
at Frankfort and the old State Capitol, erected in 1829, are 
built of this marble. It is susceptible of a fine polish but the 
fact that it is so extremely hard and Hint like, it will never be- 
come popular as a building material, where a polished surface 
is required. It is called "Birdseye" because of the small 
specks which look like gkiss or bird eyes and which are found 
all through this stone, these bird eyes can be more readily seen 
when the stone is freshly broken. 

This marble is destined to become very popular for build- 
ing residence property ; it makes a beautiful structure without 
being polished and it will la>;t, practicallj-, for all time. In 
the year 190G United States Senator, Thos. II. Paynter built 



22 THE HISTORY OF FRANKLIN COUNTY. 

a residence of this marble on the corner of Shelby and Third 
Streets in South Frankfort, which is one of the most beautiful 
homes in the city, and in the following year Mr. Chas. Straus- 
ner built a residence of the same material on the corner of 
Shelby and Todd Streets, which is also an ornament to the 
city. This character of marble abounds in endless quantity 
along the banks of the Kentucky river, several quarries have 
been opened in different parts of the County and within the 
next few years it will likely become the County's chief com- 
modity of export; but a thousand years will not exhaust the 
almost limitless supply. 

The soil of the county is very fertile, the small particles of 
stone broken from the limestone rock, in cultivating the land 
forms a fertilizer which renews the productive power of the soil 
almost as rapidly as the continual cultivation of it in crops, 
exhaust it. 

For more than a hundred years the farmers of the county 
have been growing tobacco and other crops from this soil, the 
recuperative powers of which are so great, that after it has 
seemingly become exhausted, if permitted to remain idle for 
a few years and briars and locust bushes are permitted to grow 
on it, the soil becomes as fertile and productive as virgin soil. 

Cereals of almost all kinds are raised in abundance and 
of fine quality. Corn, wheat, rye, oats, hemp, barley, and to- 
bacco are the chief products of the farm. The soil is especially 
well adapted for raising white hurley tobacco. 

During the years of 1904 to 1907 inclusive, alfalfa has 
been raised with marked success. Clover and timothy hay reach 
a high state of perfection and sorghum for molasses and as a 
winter food for cattle is a crop of growing importance to the 
farmer. Horticulture has received but slight attention, but the 
rapidly increasing population of the county is directing the at- 
tention of the farmers to that branch of industry. Dairy farm- 
ing is also fast becoming a paying industry. 

Fruits of various kinds were raised as early as 1790. Sev- 
eral vineyards were planted prior to 1800. Before the enact- 
ment of the present stringent revenue laws which are now in 
force, wine, apple brandy, peach brandy, and other drinks 



THE ITTSTORY OF FRANKLIN COUNTY. 23 

of that character wciv made in ninall quantities by the farmers 
of the county. 

The soil of the county is well adapted to raising small 
fruits and some sections of it seem to be especially well adapted 
to the growth of peaches; this is so with the hilly sections 
bordering both sides of the Kentucky river where the broken 
surface of the land is not susceptiljle of any other kind of 
cultivation. 

In the early histor}' of the county vast areas of it were 
covered with cane which were called "cane breaks," other por- 
tions of it were covered with dense forests of different kinds of 
wood. The chief of which were beech, locust, cedar, sycamore, 
hackberry. poplar, elm, walnut, oaks of several kinds, linn, 
sugar tree, and many other smaller varieties of wood. 

The pine is not a native of the county but it grows as well 
as it does in its native soil. During the latter part of the last 
century the demand for beech and walnut timljer became so 
great that nearly all of those two varieties were disposed of 
prior to 1900. Some species of oak have, to some extent, taken 
the place of walnut in the manufacture of fine furniture. At 
the commencement of the present century the best qualities of 
oak were selling from $40.00 to $80.00 per thousand feet. 

To a large extent the original forests trees of the county 
have been cleared away and the extensive cane brakes have en- 
tirely disappeared. 

Walnut and ash logs were commonly used by the pioneers 
in the construction of the log houses built in that day, some of 
which stood for more than a century. The la.st log structure 
torn down in the city of Frankfort was the old Page house on 
Ewing street. The logs were found to be walnut and a.sh, but 
they were so worm-eaten that they were worthies.^. Mr. T. L. 
Edelen's home now stands where this log Ijuilding formerly 
stood. The James Arnold residence opposite the mouth of 
Glenn's Creek was built of walnut logs with puncheon a.>^h floors. 
The chimney was built of the birds-eye limestone. It stood 
more than a hundred years and it was in good condition when 
it was torn away about the year 1890. Saltpeter has been found 



24 THE HISTORY OF FRANKLIN COUNTY. 

in some sections of the county and lead is found in paying 
quantities in several sections. 

About the year 1886 a large smelting establishment was 
built at Kissinger near the Scott county line and it has been 
in constant use since that time. Several mines have been 
worked in the Switzer and Peak's Mill sections of the county 
and the lead industry has caused the log cabins of those pre- 
cincts to give way to neat cottages, and all of that part of the 
county has the appearance of thrift and prosperity which was 
unknown prior to 1890. 

Lead has been lound near Jetts Station and in other parts 
of the county ; a considerable quantity of ore was obtained prior 
to 1857. Mineral waters are found in nearly all parts of the 
county. Several small streams of chalybeate water show them- 
selves. 

Faught's old sulphur spring on Benson Creek, not far from 
the Louisville and Nashville railroad, was in the early history 
of the county much resorted to. 

A good sized stream of black sulj)hur water is found on 
Flat creek. 

Magnesia water was found at Steadman's mill on main 
Elkhorn Creek. The Scanlan springs which were also called 
Franklin springs, located about six miles from Frankfort on 
the Lawrenceburg road, at what was formerly known as the 
Kentucky Military Institute, and which is now known as The 
Stewart Home, was for many years prior to 1845 a place of 
summer resort for invalids. Valuable medical salts have been 
made from the water. The water from these springs resembles 
in its medical qualities that of the celebrated Cheltenham 
Springs in England and the exj)erience of more than a century 
proves its value in the cure of various forms of chronic diseases. 
Prior to 1845 these springs belonged to T. N. Lindsey & Co. 
and hundreds of people spent their summers there. In the 
year 1845 Col. R. T. P. Allen purchased this property and 
established there the famous Kentucky Military Institute. At 
the close of the last century Dr. J. Q. A. Stewart purchased the 
l)ro[)erty and established the Stewart home for the treatment of 
various kinds of nervous and mental troubles and for the train- 



THE HISTORY OF FRANKLIN COUNTY. 25 

ing of children of backward mental development. There is also 
a tine snlphur well within two hundred feet of this spring. The 
largest sulphur well in the county is only a few hundred feet 
below the city limits, located on the land of James Mvni-ay near 
the river and north of Frankfurt. Mr. Murray was boring for 
gas about the year 1884 when he struck a very large stream 
of black sulphur water, following which he built a large bath 
house on the corner of Washington and l>roadway streets and 
had the water piped to this bath house which for several years 
was very popular with the Frankfort people. Many residents 
of the city have continued to use the water for drinking pur- 
poses almost exclusively. 

Near Steadmantown, located about four miles east of 
Frankfort and about one mile from the Georgetown road, a 
well was bored one hundred and ten feet deep, the bore being 
four and one-half inches. Nearly the whole depth was through 
solid limestone, the last three feet being probably sandstone. 
Considerable gas escaped from the well at first. The water 
stands 25 feet from the top. It has the odor of petroleum, some 
little of which is found. The other ingredients are sodium 
chloride (common salt), carbonate of iron, lime, magnesia and 
sulphur. Natural gas ha.s been found in several sections of the 
county but in small quantities, the largest flows being at Stead- 
man's mill on main Elkhorn creek about one mile below the 
Forks and at Frankfort. 

About the year 1880 there was a well bored near the in- 
tersection of High and Montgomery streets in the city of Frank- 
fort. A strong flow of natural gas was found and when it was 
ignited the blaze ran as high as twelve or fifteen feet and it 
continued to burn for several days. It was finally extinguished 
by the abutting property owners in order to prevent the cancella- 
tion of their fire insurance policies. Though the flow was in 
sufficient quantity for practical use, the well was i)lugged, and 
for somb unaccountable reason it has never been reopened. 

A superior quality of potters clay is found on Holmes street 
near the city limit. This clay Wcis used for pottery i)urj)<ises 
for many years. A pottery was built near where the Mangan 
residence now stands which was in use as late as 1810. Several 



26 THE HISTORY OF FRANKLIN COUNTY. 

vases made of this clay are in the geological department of the 
State College at Lexington showing its excellent quality for that 
purpose. 

A good fire clay is also found in that section of the city, 
but no attempt to make practical use of it has been made. 

The Kentucky river is a beautiful stream. Its average 
width wuthin the county and above lock number four is about 
four hundred feet, while below the lock it is not so wide. Its 
bed is some two or three hundred feet below the general surface 
of the country. It is walled in by immense cliffs of limestone 
rock, which in some places are as much as four hundred feet 
high. The topographical situation of Frankfort is higher than 
any other town of importance located on a river in the state. It 
is twenty feet higher than Catlettsburg and one hundred and 
twenty-eight feet higher than Louisville. Elkhorn creek is 
one of the most beautiful streams in the world and it runs 
through a valley as fertile as the Nile. It is well supplied with 
game fish, no finer bass stream can be found. In addition to 
the drainage by the Kentucky river and Elkhorn creek, the 
county is further drained by Glenns creek and on the west side 
of the river by Flat creek, Benson and Little Benson. Along 
the course of each of these streams is found some very fine farm- 
ing land. This is especially so along the bottom land of the 
Kentucky river, a large part of this land is overflowed every 
winter or spring and these annual deposits make it impossible 
for the land to ever become impoverished by continued use. 
The same kind of a crop may be raised on this land year after 
year for all time. 

The surface of the county is generally broken, but it is not 
so rough or hilly as to prevent nuich of it from being cultivated. 
The southern and eastern portions of the county are nearer 
level than other parts of it. 

The soil is limestone, underlaid with a stratum of red clay 
which is well calculated to hold the moisture. 

Franklin county is in what is called the "blue grass region 
of Kentucky," the soil being about the same as Woodford, Scott 
and Bourbon, the main difference being that the surface of 
Franklin is more broken. 



THE HISTORY OF FRANKLIN COUNTY. 27 

Blue gra.s^, which <i,Tows only in limestone countries, is a 
native of Franklin county and it claims every foot of the county 
as its home. If the sod is taken up and carried away it will re- 
take its former home in a short time. A field which has been 
cultivated for years, if left undisturbed for a few years, will 
again be covered with it. Blue grass has formed the muscle 
and bone of many fine horses, cattle and sheep. It is one of 
God's most beneficient gifts to man. There is no vegetation 
more beautiful and at the same time more useful to him than 
blue grass. It is true the "Roses of Sharon" were more regal in 
appearance, the liilies of the valley may be more beautifully 
clad, the crassula lactea of Africa, which is the only tyi)ical 
flower, is more regular, more symmetrical and more comi)lctc, 
but nothing in the vegetable world is or could be more iniassuni- 
ing in appearance or better adapted to fill the Divine mission of 
sustaining life and giving verdue and beauty to nature. 

He who spake worlds into existence and "hung them upon 
nothing" has also changed blue grass into horn, hoof and hair, 
into body, muscle and bone of the ox, and then changed the 
meat of the ox into bone, muscle and brain of man, and thereby 
enabled him to reach a high state of physical and mental perfec- 
tion and thus demonstrating that it is a divine agent sent upon 
a divine mission. 



28 THE HISTORY OP FRANKLIN COUNTY, 



CHAPTER IV. 

Early Settlements on the South Side of the Kentucky River, 
Leestown, Frankfort and Other Points of Interest Prior 
to 1800. 

In the year 1775, the Cherokee Indians sold to the Transyl- 
vania Company all of that part of Franklin County which lies 
south or west of the Kentucky river ; the purchase was made by 
the company through Daniel Boone as agent. There were no 
settlements made on that side of the river until about 1784, the 
first being by James Arnold who built a double log house op- 
posite the mouth of Glenn's Creek. His land extended from the 
mouth of Little Benson, down the river to the mouth of Cedar 
Run. About the year 1790, John Cardwell settled on a tract 
of land located near where Blakemore's distillery now stands, 
and about the same time Basil Carlisle and Roddy Hawkins 
located in the same neighborhood and L. R. Major located near 
South Benson church and James Payne located in that section 
about the same time, and James Roberts in the following year. 
Prior to 1800, James Brewer, William Harrod, William Lewis, 
Thomas Brewer and several other parties located in the lower 
l»art of the county near Flat Creek. 

In the year 1773, James, George and Robert McAfee, 
Samuel Adams, Hancock Taylor and Mathew Bracken came up 
the Kentucky river and crossed the river at Buffalo Crossing, 
at Leestown, and on the 16th day of July, they surveyed the 
present site of Frankfort, their survey including six hundred 
acres. 

These parties described Buffalo Trace as being a hundred 
feet wide and the dust as being several inches deep; in some 
places the hoofs of the buffalos had worn the ground down sev- 
eral feet; this "Trace" was made by vast herds of buffaloes in 
traveling to and from the blue grass fields of Scott, Woodford 
and other parts of the blue grass country and Drennon Lick 
(Springs) in Henry County. This road crossed the river at 
Leestown, and it was so well marked and worn that it can be 



THE HISTORY OF FRANKLIN COUNTY. 29 

followed to this day ; in that early day it bore evidence of havin<^ 
been traveled for hundreds of years by thousands of bud'alocs 
in their search for salt. The trestle which the Frankfort and 
Cincinnati Railroad Company built across this trace is 156 feet 
high and 800 feet long; it is located a short distance east of 
Frankfort. Leestown, which was located about one mile below 
Franlifort, was begun with a cabin improvement a year or two 
prior to 1775 and it became a noted stopping place and camping 
ground for explorers. 

In 1775 it was better established and other cabin im])rove- 
ments were added ; these were not in the form of a stockade de- 
fense, but rather for the transient use and convenience of 
emigrants and explorers who came in from Fort Pitt (Pitts- 
burg) by way of the Ohio and Kentucky rivers; it wa.s also a 
resting place between Lexington and Louisville. The first 
maps of Kentucky, which are on file in the State Library, show 
that Leestown was of sufficient importance to be located, Avhile 
Frankfort was not placed on them. 

Leestown is now only about one-half a mile below the 
present city limits of Frankfort. In 1776, several new houses 
were built and the town had prospects of becoming of consider- 
able importance, but in the year 1777, on account of its exposed 
situation and the more, menacing attitude of the Indians, it 
was abandoned for nearly ten years. 

In March, 1789, Rev. Jeddiah Morse, D. D. described 
Leestown as "west of Lexington on the eastern bank of the 
Kentucky river; it is regularly laid out and is flourishing. The 
banks of the Kentucky river are remarkably high, in some 
places 300 or 400 feet, composed generally of stupendous per- 
pendicular rock. The consequence is there are few crossing 
places; the best is at Leestown which is a consideral)le circum- 
stance that must contribute much to its importance." The 
expectations of this early day have never been realized ; at pres- 
ent there are two fine distilleries located there with several 
warehouses and cattle pens; there is also a hemp mill or twine 
factory which employs a large force of hands. It is run by one 
of the largest turbine wheels in this country; this wheel is 
operated by the water from the dam, made in the construction 



30 THE HISTORY OF FRANKLIN COUNTY. 

of lock number four. This factory is known as the Kentucky 
River Mills; the large manufacturing interests which have 
centered there, have necessarily built many residences and 
tenement houses in that locality. 

From the formation of the ground, to the east and north 
of Frankfort, extending out the Owenton road and along this 
valley to Leestown there are many evidences that the Kentucky 
river, at some early period in its history, ran around to the east 
and north of Fort Hill in the place of being on the west side as 
it now runs. In the year 1883 the back-water from the Ken- 
tucky river extended up the Leestown branch to the back-water 
which ran up back of the Penitentiary, thus making an island 
of Fort Hill and its contiguous territory of several hundred 
acres. The time is not distant, when all of that section includ- 
ing Leestown, Thorn Hill, Fort Hill and the Noel farm will 
be included and become a part of Frankfort ; many residents of 
that section are now clamoring to become a part of the city in 
order that they may enjoy the benefits of the city schools, the 
water, the gas, sidewalks and other advantages of the city. 

The act of the Virginia Legislature establishing the towni 
of Frankfort was entitled, ''An act for establishing a town on 
the lands of James Wilkinson, in Fayette county, and a ferry 
across Kentucky river." The act was passed in 1786 and it pro- 
vided, "That one hundred acres of land in the county of 
Fayette, the property of James Wilkinson, which have been 
laid off into lots and streets, shall be vested in Caleb Wallace, 
Thomas Marshall, Joseph Crockett, John Fowler, Jr., John 
Craig, Robert Johnson and Benjamin Roberts, Gentleman, 
trustees, and shall 1)C established a town by the name of Frank- 
fort. The said trustees or a majority of them shall within six 
months after passing of this act, sell at public auction all the Jots 
within the said town which have not been heretofore dispo-ed 
of by the said James Wilkinson, advertising the time and place 
of sale at the court house of the said county of Fayette, on two 
successive court days. The purchaser shall hold the said lots 
respectively subject to the condition of building on each, a 
dwelling house sixteen feet square Avith a brick or stone 
chimney, to be furnished fit for habitation within two years 



; THE HISTORY OF I'KANKLIN COl ■^"TY. 31 

from the date of .><ale." The same act provides that a pul)Hc 
ferry shall be constantly kept across the Kentucky river from 
the lands of James Wilkinson in the town of Frankfort to the 
opposite shore, and fixed the rate or toll for men, horses, 
vehicles, etc. 

The sale of lots, evidently did not meet the expectation of 
General Wilkinson, as he went back before the Legislature and 
had the above act amended, November 27, 1787, by providing 
that the further time of three years shall be allowed the said 
trustees to sell the lots in the said town. The records of the 
County Court of Fayette county, where the deeds to these lots 
were recorded, were destroyed by fire in the early part of the 
last century, and the destruction of these records destroyed all 
evidence as to whom the sale of these lots were made, but it is 
evident that nearly all of the lots were sold to the officers and 
soldiers of the standing army or to those whose time of en- 
listment had expired, a large majority of whom had served with 
General Wilkinson in the revolution. Nearly all, and perhaps 
all of the first trustees whose names were mentioned in the act 
establishing the town had been in the revolution and had 
served for several years under General Wilkinson. In the 
Kentucky Gazette of August 9, 1789, the following advertise- 
ment appears: ''Whereas, General Wilkinson, in the month 
of June, gave notice in the Kentucky Gazette that Major Dunn 
would receive bonds from the purchasers of lots at Frankfort, 
and that Captain Daniel Gano would, on Major Dunn's certi- 
ficate, execute the conveyances agreeable to sale; this is there- 
fore, to give notice to the purcha.^ers of said lots that Capt. Jolm 
Fowler will take the bonds and give the necessary certificates 
for the conveyance to Capt. Gano who will execute the deeds 
agreeable to the term of sale. 

By Harry Innis, James Wilkinson. 

His Atty. in Fact. 

In the year 1791, the following act was pa.<scd : "Be it enacted 
by the General Assembly (of Virginia) that an inspection of 
tobacco shall be and the same is hereby established on the lands 
of James Wilkinson, at Frankfort, in the county of Woodford 



32 THE HISTORY OF FRANKLIN COUNTY. 

to be called and known by the name of Frankfort Warehouse, 
the proprietor whereof shall build the same at his own ex- 
pense." 

2. ''There shall be allowed and paid annually to each of 
the inspectors at the said warehouse the sum of twenty-five 
pounds for their salary." 

The streets of Frankfort which were laid off by the first 
trustees of the town and named by them, were nearly all named 
for Generals who had taken a prominent part in the Revolution- 
ary war. 

Wilkinson street which runs parallel with the river and 
adjacent thereto, was named for General Wilkinson, who had 
the town estaljlished and who was at that time Commander-in- 
Chief of the Western Division of the United States army. 
General James Wilkinson was born in Maryland in 1757; he 
was thirty years old wlien Frankfort was established; he had 
been a revolutionary soldier under Washington ; he w^as with 
Arnold and Burr, and held the position of Captain, on their 
expedition to Canada in the latter part of 1775 and the first 
part of 1776; he was afterwards on the staff of General Gates; 
in 1796, he became the Commander-in-Chief of the United 
States army. In 1805, he was made Governor of Louisiana; 
in 1811, he was court-martialed and charged with treason, in 
connection with Aaron Burr, but he was acquitted. Evidence 
was afterwards brought to light which would have convicted 
him. It has been shown that for several years prior to 1800 
he received a pension from the Spanish Government; he was 
discharged from the United States army. In 1815 he went to 
]\Iexico, where he had made large investments and died there 
in the year 1825. General Wilkinson, not only established 
Frankfort but he also did a great deal towards reclaiming the 
lower portions of the town from the swampy condition it was 
then in. The lower part of the town extending up some dis- 
tance beyond the penitentiary was very low and swampy and 
was in such unhealthy condition that it was not habitable. He 
drained all of this section, with the labor of soldiers then under 
his command, during the years of 1795 and 1796. In view of 
what General Wilkinson had done for Frankfort the trustees 



THE HISTORY OF FltANKLIN COUNTY. 33 

doubtless thought it was proper to name what was proposed to 
be the chief resident street, for the man who had estabUshed 
the town. 

The next street parallel to Wilkinson, is Washington, 
which was named for General George A\'a.shington with whom 
General Wilkinson was on very intimate terms and under 
whom he and several members of the board of trustees had 
served during the revolutionary war. The next street parallel 
to Washington, is St. Clair, which was named for General 
Arthur St. Clair, who was born in Scotland in 1734; he served 
as Lieutenant under General Wolf, at Quebec, in 1759. On 
the plains of Abraham he seized the colors which had fallen 
from the hands of a dying soldier and bore them until victory 
had been won by the British; he was, again, on the plains of 
Abraham, but with the American forces, in 1776; he was an 
intimate friend of General Washington and was one of his 
most loved and trusted generals during the Revolution. He 
died in the year 1818. 

The next and last street laid off parallel to St. Clair street 
running from the river to the hill was Ann Street, which was 
named for Mrs. Ann Wilkinson, the wife of General James 
Wilkinson, who was not only a very beautiful woman but who 
was also attractive, ''she was more popular with the ofliccrs and 
soldiers, than was her distinguished husband." There is a 
short street parallel to St. Clair, located on the west of the old 
State House, which is called Madison, in honor of James Madi- 
son, fourth president of the United States. 

Wapping street runs cast and west, and (hough it too is 
parallel with the river, it is at right angles to A\'ilkinson street, 
the river makes a bend almost at right angles, nearly opposite 
the intersection of Wilkinson and Wapping streets. 

The name Wapping was suggested by an Englishman 
who was visiting and prospecting at Lexington and Frankfort 
at that time and was so named for Wapping street, London, 
which was then known as the most beautiful residence street 
in the world. 

The next street parallel to Wapping, is Montgomery, 



34 THE HISTORY OF FRANKLIN COUNTY. 

which is now generally known as Main. Montgomery was 
named for General Richard Montgomery who was born in Ire- 
land in 1736; he was commissioned an officer in the English 
Army but resigned his commission and came to America in 
1773; he was appointed brigadier general by the Continental 
Congress in 1775, and was in command of the American forces, 
and fell in the attack on Quebec, December 31, 1775; his last 
words w^re ''men of New York, you will not fear to follow 
where your general leads." 

The next street parallel to Montgomery or Main, is Broad- 
way or Market; it is the widest street in the town and it was 
known in the early history of the town as Market street; the 
first market house was built in the middle of the street near the 
intersection with Ann, and was directly in front of what is now 
the Elk or Merriwether hotel. 

The next street parallel to Broadway is Clinton, which was 
named for General George Clinton, who was the first Governor 
of New York, and was Vice President of the United States ; he 
was a general in the Continental army and was recognized as 
one of the staunchest of patriots and was one of the greatest 
men of that age. 

The next street was called Mero, jiropcrly spelt ]\Iiro. This 
was the last street that was laid off at that time, and was named 
in honor of the Governor-general of the Spanish territory in 
America; at that time the gulf states and the Mississippi river 
were under the control and belonged to the Spanish govern- 
ment; Miro was in charge, and he granted to General Wilkin- 
son some privileges of trade and the free use of the Mississippi 
river for the transportation of freight. Some twenty-five years 
later, General Wilkinson and other prominent Frankfort peo- 
ple were accused of entering into a conspiracy to transfer the 
territory of Kentucky over to Miro and the Spanish control. 

The above named are the only streets which Avere laid off 
at the time the town was established ; since then the city limits 
have been extended several times and other streets have been 
opened and named, the chief of which are High, Hill and 
Holmes streets all of which were named for local reasons. Cen- 
ter street or alley was named by the first trustees of the town. 



THE HISTORY OF IKAXKLIX COLNTV. 35 

evidcMitly for the reason that it wa.s at that time the center of 
the residence and business portion of the town running from 
South to North; this street or alley is also called Long Lane 
Avenue, Petticoat Alley and Gas-house Alley, all of which 
names have been applied for local rcii^^ons. 

Prior to 1800 there were no sidewalks in the town, and the 
streets were in l)ad condition. They were not macadamized for 
several years after that period, and there were but few carriages 
or other vehicles except log wagons. On November 28, 1790, 
there was a long article in the Palladium in reference to the 
improvement of the Kentucky river to its mouth; it was esti- 
mated that by an expense of $950,00 the river could Ije made 
navigable at all seasons, for boats drawing not more than fifteen 
inches. Prior to the improvement of the river, there was a 
large island in the river iiearlj^ opposite the mouth of Benson 
creek, which was known as ''Fish Trap" island. It was nine 
hundred yards long; the descent in this distance was sixty 
inches. The falls in the river between the mouth of Devil's 
Hollow and the point where lock number four is located was 
nearly seven feet. The main channel wavS on the west side of 
the island; a grist and saw mill was located on the east side 
near the lower end of the island. ^Ir. Zadoc Cramer described 
this mill as being, ''a saw and grist mill one mile below the town 
of Frankfort, in the river, which in low water, does a good 
deal of business, but it is not uncommon to see it completely 
covered by floods of the river, to withstand which it has no roof, 
is open on all sides, and is heavily loaded down on the corners 
and in the middle of the frame at top, with piles of stone." 

On the lOth of November, 1739, Samuel & Lafou an- 
nounced in the Gazette the opening of ''an elegant livery stable 
in Frankfort ; in addition to feeding horses they al.'^o take in 
horses to cure of almost all the ailments prevalent in the coun- 
try, nick their ta,ils," etc. 

The Palladium, a literary and political i)apcr M'a.s ])ul)- 
lished in Frankfort in 1798 In- Hunter & Beaumont. There 
are copies of this paper on file in the State Library commenc- 
ing October 23, 1798, and continuing down to and including 
a copy of date Feb. 17, 1803. Humphrey Marshall also pub- 



36 THE HISTORY OF FRANKLIN COUNTY. 

lished a paper in Frankfort at that time which was known as 
"The Spirit of 1776." The following are some of the adver- 
tisements from the Palladium: "Isaac E. Gano, has just ar- 
rived from Philadelphia with a large and general assortment 
of fresh and genuine medicine which is now opened at his 
shop in Frankfort, and will be sold cheap for cash ; a generous 
allowance will be made to physicians purchasing a quantity. I 
continue as usual to practice physic." 

Frankfort, September 1st, 1798. 
I. E. G. 

"Wanted to engage a number of hands to conduct boats 
to New Orleans. Apply to Daniel Weiseger." 

"William Porter, at his tanyard, one mile from Frank- 
fort, pays cash for green and dry hides; he also wants an ap- 
prentice. Those to whom it is more convenient can sell hides, 
intended for the Frankfort tanyard to II. Mcllvane, in Lexing- 
ton." 

In 1799, some enterprising citizens of Frankfort had un- 
der consideration the question of building a bridge across the 
Kentucky river as will appear from the following notice of De- 
cember the 19th, 1799: "The share holders in the Frankfort 
Bridge Company are hereby notified, that the election for 
chusing seven Directors agreeable to the act of incorporation 
will be held at the house of Daniel Weiseger in the town of 
Frankfort on Thursday the 2d day of January next." 

C. Greenup, 

D. Weiseger, 
W. Trigg. 

"Whereas, the repose and convenience of many of the 
citizens of the town of Frankfort, are extremely interrupted by 
the disorderly behavior of certain immoral persons, who, keep- 
ing very late hours walking up and down the town, breaking 
the windows and doors of moral and orderly citizens thereof; 
Be it therefore resolved, that if any such person or persons are 
known or discovered to roam about the town after the hour 



THE HISTORY OF FRANKLIN COUNTY. 37 

of ten o'clock at night making a noise or other disturbance, 
shall pay a fine not exceeding $5.00. 
By order of the Board. 

Murray Forbes, Clerk. 

John Logan, Chairman." 

"The trustees of the Frankfort Academy have the pleas- 
ure to inform their fellow citizens that it is now open for the 
reception of scholars under tlie direction of able and experi- 
enced masters." 

Thomas Todd, President. 

"The members of the Frankfort Hiram Lodge are re- 
quested to meet at the lodge room on the 24th day of June, 
1799, it being the anniversary of St. John the Baptist. By 
Lsaac E. Gano, Sect." 

"On February 3, 1800, Haden Edwards advertised for 
sale one half of his mills on South Elkhorn about one mile 
below the junction and about four and a half miles from 
Frankfort, consisting of a water grist mill calculated for four 
pair of stones, two pair of which are now in motion ; the house 
58x46, three stories high, all of stone." George Fields offered 
at public sale, in the town of Frankfort "that valuable, ele- 
gant and handsomely situated, new, three story brick house, 
and the lot of ground on which it is erected now occupied as 
an Inn by Dr. Gano, together with the improvements consist- 
ing of a two story brick kitchen, a small smoke house," etc. 

In the year 1799, Harry Innis and John Logan were 
elected delegates to represent Franklin County in the Consti- 
tutional Convention, and Anthony Crockett and John Smith 
were elected to represent the County in the House of Repre- 
sentatives. "In consequence of the seat of Mr. John Smith 
l)eing vacated by a resolution of the House of Representatives" 
another election was held on Tuesday, November 21, 1799, in 
the town of Frankfort, and Mr. Smith was re-elected by a large 
majority. 

In tlie early history of this county, when a person could 
be imprisoned for debt, it meant something to go on the bond 



38 THE HISTORY OF FRANKLIN COUNTY. 

of a defendant either in a civil or criminal action as will ap- 
pear from the bond executed in the Franklin County Court of 
Quarter session July 18, 1798. 

Richard Allen — 

Against*** In Covenant 

John Arnold. 

James Arnold came into the court and undertook for the 
defendant that in case he shall be cast in this action he shall 
satisfy and pay the condemnation of the Court to render his 
body to prison in execution for the same or in failure thereof 
that he, the said James Arnold will do it for him. 

The following is the report of the Franklin County Grand 
jury made the 17th day of May, 1796. ''We present James 
Gayle for swearing one profane oath, to-wit, by God, on the 
16th instant at the house of Simon Hancock, by information 
of Simon Hancock. 

We, of the jury present Theoderick Boler for selling 
brandy by retail at the race ground at George Blackburn's on 
the 16th day of September, by information of Anthony Bart- 
lett. 

We also present William Hawkins, overseer of the road 
from South Fork of Elkhorn to the two mile tree, for not hav- 
ing the same in repair on the 12th of October. We present 
William Porter overseer of the road from the top of the hill 
above Frankfort to the two mile tree for not having the same 
in repair the 12tli of October; also for not having a sign board 
at the two mile tree. By the information of Samuel Mosley." 

''Nath. Richardson, Foreman." 

In Fordham's Personal Narrative, (pp. 160-61) we find 
the following about Frankfort, 1818, 'Man 31." Started for 
Frankfort, passed through a tine rolling country; cleared 
enough to present something like views, tliough none of them 
of any extent. 

Frankfort is a smart little town on the Kentucky river. 
It is the seat of Government and the Legislature is now sit- 
ting. It was Sunday and a few smartly dressed young men 
were picking their way through the half frozen nuid in the 



TTTE TTTSTORY OF FRAXKLIX COUNTY. 39 

streets. Like others it is hidden in a mud hole with fine com- 
manding sections around it. They liavc begun to pave the 
main street — in a wav that would make a Ivondon Paviour 
laugh." 

Note: Cuming visited (Frankfort) in 1807 and found a 
town of ninety houses, including a state-house, a jail, a Court 
house, a State penitentiary, a market-house, a government 
house, and four Inns which in size, accommodations and busi- 
ness he declares were not surpassed in the United States. 
(Early Western Travels IV. pp. 191-196.) 



40 THE HISTORY OP FRANKLIN COUNTY. 

CHAPTER V. 

Course of Events from 1800 to 1810. 

The population of Franklin County in the year 1800 was 
5,078 of that number G28 lived in the town of Frankfort. 

On Tuesday the 26th day of August of that year, James 
Roberts was appointed jailer of the county; the appointment 
or selection, was made by the Court of Quarter Session. On 
the 23rd of September, the following orders were entered: "It 
is ordered that Stephen Arnold and John Price, Gentlemen, 
they being the oldest Justices commissioned for said county, as 
fit persons to fill the office of a sheriff of the County for the 
next term of two years, be recommended to the Governor." 
"It is ordered that Stephen Arnold, Robert Blackwell, Anthony 
Crockett and William Payne or any three of them be appointed 
to receive the warehouse, for the reception of tobacco in South 
Frankfort; provided, the same be completed agreeable to law." 

Otho Beaty was elected to represent the County in the House 
of Representatives in the year 1800. In the election for Lieu- 
tenant Governor for that year, Franklin County gave Henry 
Clay only three votes. 

Daniel Bradford was postmaster at Frankfort in 1800; 
John Smith was elected to represent the County in the Lower 
House in 1801, and Baker Ewing in 1802. 

The following news item is copied from the Palladium: 
"Frankfort, May 29, 1800. — Married in town, on Sunday 
evening last, Dr. Lewis Marshall of Woodford, to the amiable 
and accomplished Miss A. Smith of this place." 

On Tuesday, November 25, 1800, the following order 
was entered on the order book in the County Clerk's office: 
"It is ordered that the sheriff do bring immediately before this 
Court, Nancy Hutton to answer the contempt offered this 
Court by leaving a yovmg infant on the clerk's table." The 
sheriff returned and reported that said Nancy Hutton could 
not be found," and it was thereupon ordered, "that Samuel 



THE HISTORY OF FRANKLIN COUNTY. 41 

Hiitton be summoned to appear before the next Court to sliow 
cause, if any he could, why he should not support the infant 
left by the said Samuel's wife on the clerk's table." 

In the year 1798 a ferry was established at the "roi)e 
walks" one mile above Frankfort across the Kentucky rivei', 
from the lands of Elijah Craig, and an inspection of hemp 
and flour was established at the said ferry ''which shall be 
called and known by the name of East Frankfort." This 
ferry crossed the river only a short distance above Cochran's 
distillery. 

The Frankfort Bridge Company was incorporated Decem- 
ber 21, 1799, Christopher Greenup, Daniel Weiseger and Wil- 
liam Trigg were the incorporators; the right was given to erect 
the bridge from the south end of Ann street to the south side. 
In 1805 the act incorporating the Frankfort Bridge Company 
was repealed and an act passed authorizing John Pope to erect 
a bridge across the Kentucky river from the end of Annie 
(Ann) street to South Frankfort and fixed the rate of toll, etc. 
At the same term of the Legislature there was an act authoriz- 
ing Thomas Tuntstall to erect a bridge across the Kentucky 
river from the wpst end of Montgomery (Main) street to his 
land on the opposite side of the river, "subject to the same 
rules, regulations, penalties and emoluments as John Pope." 
At the same term of the Legislature and on the same condi- 
tions, John Brown was authorized to erect a bridge across the 
Kentucky river "from his land above High street on the North 
side of the river." There was an act to incorporate the Frank- 
fort Bridge Company, approved January 25, 1810, for the pur- 
pose of erecting a bridge across the Kentucky river from the 
south end of St. Clair street, Thomas V, Loofburrow and Wil- 
liam Trigg were authorized to raise by subscription, by stock 
not to exceed thirty thousand dollars to be composed of shares of 
one hundred dollars each — "provided said bridge shall not 
contain more than one pier in the channel of the river, and 
which pier shall not be less than sixty feet high from its 
foundation. The act also provided, if the said bridge was not 
completed within two years, the said company was to forfeit 
all rights which had been granted by the Legislature. 



42 THE HISTORY OP FRANKLIN COUNTY. 

There was an act approved January 18th, 1812, extending 
the time of completing the bridge, until 1st day of February, 
1810; this was the first permanent bridge which crossed the 
river at Frankfort. It was built on the plan of Judge Finley's 
chain bridge and it cost $25,000.00; it was 334yo feet long. 
It had one pier in the middle 65 feet high; the entire length, 
with the approaches, w^as 700 feet and the width was 18 feet. 
The two chains for the bridge were made at Pittsburg; they 
w^ere of one and one half inch square bar iron and weighed 
about six tons each. There was much difficulty in securing a 
foundation for the south abutment, because of the quicksand 
found there; the water would rush in at the bottom upon the 
workmen as fast as they discharged it at the top with pumps 
and buckets, working day and night. During the time the 
bridge was under construction, there was a floating bridge 
across the Kentucky river from the south end of Ann street, 
similar to a pontoon bridge; it was constructed of anchored 
flat boats covered wdth plank for the road way and with railing 
on each side for protection. Another bridge of the same kind 
was used at the ferry near the foot of Wilkinson street across 
to the mouth of Benson Creek ; this ferry had been established 
by act of the Legislature in the year 1801. 

On June 23rd, 1801, ''Stephen Arnold, Gentleman',-' pre- 
sented to the Court of Quarter Session a commission from 
James Garrard, Governor of Kentucky, appointing him sheriff 
of the county, whereupon he took the oath required by law and 
entered into bond with Daniel Weiseger and Christopher 
Greenup as his securities. At the same time Daniel Weiseger 
was appointed clerk of the County Court. On the same date 
an item of news from the Palladium, reads as follows: '*We 
are requested to inform the inhabitants of Frankfort and its 
vicinity, that on Saturday the 4th of July, several of the stu- 
dents of both sexes under the tuition of Gabriel Nourse Avill 
have an entertainment at the State House. In order that the 
exhibition may not interfere with other commemorations of 
the day the bell will begin to ring at eight o'clock in the morn- 
ing and speaking commence in the vState House at half past 
nine." Murray's s}»i'ing was the usual place for Fourth of .Inly 



THE HISTORY OF TRAXKLTX rOlXTY. 43 

celebrations, picnic, etc. This spring is only a short (hslanco 
below the north limit of the city. 

At the beginning of the last century news traveled very 
slow. On December 30, 1801, the Palladium made this state- 
ment: 'Must as this paper wa.^ going to press a gentleman in- 
formed us that Mr. Charles Lynch, of Shelby County, had 
arrived about four days ago from South Carolina. The Electors 
had voted before he left that state, unanimously for Mr. Jeffer- 
son ; our informant believes the votes for Vice President were 
divided between Pickney and Burr. Mr. Lynch has been 
only fifteen days on his journey and was at Camden on the 
day the Electors met. 

The County levy for the year 1802 was fixed at "six shill- 
ings per tythable." Zachary, a slave, the property of Lucy 
Sanniels, was accused of trespass, and on January the 31st, tried 
by a Jury and convicted, the judgment was; "it is therefore 
considered by this Court that said Zachary receive thirty-nine 
lashes well laid on his bare back at the public whipiting ])ost 
and that the sheriff of this county do cause ei^ecution of this 
judgment." 

At the September term 1802, it was ordered that five 
magistrates attend at the house of Phill Bush in Frankfort on 
the first Monday in April, next, to receive proposals' for build- 
ing a court house on the ground given by the Legislature to 
erect thereon a court house, the walls to be of brick and not less 
than forty feet square. At the May term 1803, it was ordered 
that Christopher Greenup, Daniel James and Daniel Weiseger 
be appointed commissioners "to superintend the building the 
court house in this county and to lay off the grounds for the 
court house." At the following June term this order was en- 
tered, upon motion; "ordered that Hiram Lodge number foiu', 
and its friends be permitted to add a third story to the court 
hou.se which is now a building, at their own cx])ense and upon 
their own construction for a mason hall, provided such erection 
does not impair the contract of the county with the undertaker, 
either by lessening or enhancing the res])onsibilities of cither 
except that the undertakers are at the expense of the lodge and 
its<i friends to extend each pillar in front of the house one brick 



44 THE HISTORY OF FRANKLIN COUNTY. 

in length." At the next term of court leave was given Hiram 
Lodge "to run up the stairs from the passage below to the land- 
ing on the south west or north west room above clerk's room in 
the court house, in order to ascend to the third story." At 
August term, 1804, it was ordered that the commissioners for 
erecting the court house bring suit immediately against the 
contractor and his bondsmen for the non-compliance of his 
contract. 

. Prior to 1806, Franklin county had no court house; the 
State house was used for holding court and for all other ofHcial 
business of the county. The court house was completed Sep- 
tember 15, 1800, and John Rennick was appointed custodian 
of the house and yard, " and he was directed to have as many 
locust trees planted out as w^ould be necessary to shade the 
yard. The court house was built on the south east corner of 
Capitol Square, in front of the present executive building, and 
across Elk Avenue from Kagin Brothers' restaurant. 

Fleming Trigg was authorized to have stone posts set at 
the corners of the house to prevent wagons and other vehicles 
from injuring it. Some time after that, Oliver Waggoner was 
appointed to superintend the inclosure of that part of the pub- 
lic square allotted to the county around the court house, and 
that he procure the necessary styles or steps to be 'made leading 
in and out from the front of the house. A post and rail fence 
was built around the square, the post on each side of the styles 
was eight inches square and furnished with a fiddle head ; the 
post had a pin through the top rail of each post. Daniel 
Weiseger and Daniel James were appointed commissioners to 
let to the lowest bidder the ''securing the arches of .the court 
house," also for erecting stock and whipping post in the court 
house square; also to let work completing the inside to be done 
in a plain, neat, workmanlike manner and to be completed by 
March 1, 1806. 

The first term of Circuit Court was held in Frankfort on 
Ai)ril 18, 1803, John liOgan was the first circuit judge; WilHs 
Lee was appointed clerk during good behavior. 

After the conviction and execution of Henry Fields 
charged with having murdered his wife in 1799, the records 



THE HISTORY OF FRANKLIN COUNTY. 45 

of the county do not show another indictment for either nnir- 
der or nuinslaughtcr until July, 1814; however there wore 
numerous indictments for profane swearing during that period 
of time. 

At the June term, 1803, John Price became the fourth 
sheriff of the county and Daniel Weiseger was re-appointed 
clerk. At the same term of court Humphrey Marshall was al- 
lowed six pounds for defending John l^artlett in the Court of 
Appeals. Bartlett had Ijcen adjudged of unsound mind and 
wa.s refused a seat as justice of the peace after his appointment. 
The Court of Appeals adjudged that he was entitled to his 
seat. The county levy for 1804 was one dollar per ''tithe." 
The first water works ever built in Kentucky were commenced 
by Richard Thockmorton in 1804. On December 23, 1805, 
the Frankfort Water Company wa.s incorporated with John 
Brown, "William Trigg and Achilles Sneed as incorporators, 
for the purpose of completing the works. Wooden pipes were 
laid from Cedar Cove spring about three miles out on the 
Owenton road, along Brown's bottom in to the town. 

A strong wall about twenty-five or thirty feet high was 
built across the ravine some distance below the spring, and in 
that way a reservoir was formed; the pipes used were cedar 
bored through the center with an inch and a half auger; and 
they were fastened to each other with wooden pins. These 
works supplied Frankfort with water until 1880, when the 
most approved system then known was established instead. 

The system of piping the water through cedar, was never 
a complete success. ITarry Bartlett was appointed sheriff in 
1805, and on June the 15th of that year he resigned, and 
Robert Blackwell was appointed in his place and thereby be- 
came the sixth sheriff of the county; on November 18th, of 
the same year Scott Brown was appointed a justice of the 
peace. 

A subscription list with forty-six names attached, form- 
ing a fire company for the city of Frankfort was ordered to be 
recorded in the County Clerk's office on December 15, 1800. 
On April 21st of this year Daniel AVeiseger was granted the 
right to keep a tavern on Ann street in the town of Frankfort ; 



46 THE HISTORY OE FRANKLIN COUNTY. 

this tavern was located where the Capitol Hotel now stands. 
On the same date there was an order entered removing James 
Roberts, jailer of Franklin county from office, and John A. 
Mitchell wa.s appointed in his stead. The charge upon which 
Roberts was tried, convicted and removed from office was ''for 
malpractice in office by charging the county with his services 
and the fees attending thereto, and for the same services lay- 
ing his claim before the Circuit Court to be audited with the 
Auditor of Public Accounts." 

l] The year 1806 was one of the most exciting epochs in the 
history of the county. It was during that year that two alleged 
conspiracies were unearthed, by parties who were living in 
Frankfort. There was the so-called Spanish conspiracy in 
ivhich it was alleged that Frankfort citizens Avere the chief 
conspirators, and which is said to have been planned about the 
year 1790; and the other one is known as the Burr conspiracy, 
with Blenerhassett and others about 1805-6. 

An article published in The Western World, October 15, 
1806, openl}^ accused Aaron Burr and others of conspiring 
against the United States. Col. Daviess, who was, at that time. 
District Attorney, asked for a ^ yarrant against Burr which 
Judge Innis refused; but he convened an extra term of the 
grand jury. Burr was at Lexington at that time and he im^ 
mediately came to Frankfort, with H-cnry Clay, lijls attorne}% 
Burr demanded an immediate investigation of the charges 
against him; after a bitter fight the grand jury ignored the 
charge. All the country around Frankfort was crazed with 
excitement ''on the day of the expected trial. Frankfort was 
crowded and the court house gorged with citizens and 
strangers." After his release, a ball was given at the Love 
house in Frankfort, to Col. Burr, which was largely attended, 
and conspicious in the crowd were many officers of both State 
and Nation. In a short time after this another ball was given 
in honor of Col. Daviess, the attorney who pro.'^ccuted the 
case, and this was also numerously attended. 

There has been an effort made to prove that some of 
Frankfort's citizens were connected with the Burr conspiracy; 
but subsequent facts and circumstances tend to show that the 



THE HISTORY OF FKANKLIN COUNTY. 47 

so-falled Spanish conspiracy had no conncclicMi with ihc Wuvv 
conspiracy, except, perhaps. Col. Burr was trying to take ad- 
Aantage of that independent Kentucky sentiment which was 
rife at that time, to forward his own nefarious and ambitious 
designs. The 'Spanish conspiracy which the editors of the 
Western World exposed about the same time the charges of 
conspiracy were made against Col. Burr, deals more particular- 
ly with the people of Frankfort and Franklin county.// Mar- 
shall, in his history of Kentucky, condemns in unmeasured 
terms the conduct of those who were supposed to be connected 
with it, and he gives great credit to John Wood and John M. 
Street, editors of the Western World, who arrived in Frank- 
fort in the early part of 1806. He says in his history: "Then 
it may be said, there was seen from the front door of Col. Tay- 
lor's Inn an elderly looking man of middle size and ordinary 
dress, with a Godfrej^'s quadrant strung to his shoulder, a 
knapsack on his back and a good-looking youth l)y his side, 
both on foot, trudging through the muddy streets (then un- 
l)aved) and as if travelers who wanted rest. They arrived 
at the door, entered and are seated; the elder announces him- 
self to be John Wood and his companion Mr. Street, who had 
traveled with him from Richmond, in Virginia, on a voyage 
of adventure for enjoyment and support. John Wood was a 
professed man of letters ; the other familiar with newspapers 
and of good capacity. On July 1, ISOfi they commenced y>uh- 
lishing a weekly newspaper in Frankfort to be styled 'The 
Western World.' It was printed by William Hampton, the 
proprietor of The Palladium. On July 4, 1800, they agitated 
the people of Frankfort from center to circumference, about 
the Burr conspiracy; threats were freely made against tliem. 
The next edition agitated Frankfort society still more. It 
was thought that nothing but the death of Street wouM ])re- 
vent the exposure of Sebastin. Iiniis and others; an assassina- 
tion was attempted by George Adams armed witli two pistols, 
and repelled by Street with a dirk. Street was wounded in 
the breast by the discharge from the fire-arms. Adams lied 
l)ut was afterwards arrested. Adams was l)ailed. IIumi)hrey 
Mar.^hall went on the Ijond of Street, with Col. J. II, Davie.^s. 



48 THE HISTORY Ol'' FRANKLIN COUNTY. 

Street was tried and acquitted, Adams was convicted, but it 
turned out that the indictment failed to charge "with intent 
to kill," an omission supposed to have been made on purpose. 
The guilt of the accused was conclusive. (See Register of 
State Hist. Society, Sept. 1906, History of Gen. Jos. M. Street.) 
Benjamin Sebastin was a pensioner of Spain. These exposures 
brought on a legislative investigation, and to prevent which 
Sebastin resigned. 

Allen B. Magruder stated in his work on the ''Cession of 
Louisiana": ''To whatever incomprehensible spirit of delirium 
the circumstances may have attributed it^ origin, yet it is a fact 
that about the year 1789 or 1790 a plan was in agitation to 
separate Kentucky from the Union and attach it to the 
Spanish Government of Louisiana. A memorial wa.s drawn 
up addressed to the executive authority of the colony, express- 
ing the advantage of a union, which was reciprocated in the 
same terms on the part of the Spanish Government. The 
chimerical plan proceeded so far in its effects upon the public 
mind, that a proposition to form the State into an independ- 
ent goverinnent was introduced into a convention held about 
that time to form articles of separation from the State of Yir- 
ginia." T. 'SI. Green says in his prefatory to the "Spanish 
conspiracy," published in the year 1891 : 

"A few years after this publication was made by Magru- 
der, an exposure of the plan to which he referred was made 
in 1806 in the columns of 'The "Western AVorld,' a newspaper 
published at Frankfort, Kentucky. As an effect of that ex- 
posure, John Brown, one of the principals engaged in the 
plan, deemed it expedient at the early age of forty eight to re- 
tire forever from pul)lic life, and, as far as possible, to with- 
draw himself from public observation, while Seba.stin, his 
friend and one of his coadjutors was driven in merited dis- 
grace from the bench of the Court of Appeals. The Legisla- 
tive investigation which wa.s forced by that exposure, and the 
results of the judicial incjuiries which he had himself invoked, 
left the unhappy Innis, another of John Browns' associates in 
the plan, nothing of which to boast and everything to most 
bitterly lament. And though a Scotch verdict of acquittal 



THE IlISTOKY 01' I'KANKLIN COUNTY. 49 

was given to James Wilkinson, the prime mover and leader in 
the plan by the court-martial which was organized for the 
purpose, yet his own letters since obtained from the Spanish 
archives establishes the indisputable truth of the charges 
made against him, and no one now questions his guilt." He 
says further: 

''In these pages are produced, in their logical connection 
and relation to each other, the proofs known to the writer, 
which show that, while Kentucky was yet a district of Virginia, 
an engagement was entered into by James Wilkinson with 
Miro, the intendant of Louisiana, to separate Kentucky from 
the United States, and to subject her people to Spain ; that as 
a result of this intrigue between Wilkinson and Miro, a propo- 
sition wa.s, a few months thereafter, made by Gardoqui, the 
Spanish minister to the United States, to John Brown, then 
a member of the Old Congress from Virginia, to grant to the 
people of Kentucky the privilege of navigating the Mississippi, 
which Spain refused to the people of the United States, on 
condition that the people of Kentucky would first erect them- 
selves into an independent State and withdraw from the 
Union ; that John Brown, assenting to the proposition made to 
him by the representative of the government of Torquemada, 
jiromised to aid the design; that in accordance with the en- 
gagement made by the one and the assurances given by the 
other, Wilkinson and 15rown, on their' return to Kentucky, 
conspired with each other, and with Benjamin Sebastin, Harry 
Tunis, Caleb Wallace, Isaac Dunn and others to accomplish 
the separation which had been concerted with the Spaniards, 
did all that they dared do to bring it about, and that their 
movements in the Danville Convention of July and Novem- 
ber, 1788, which were so happily frustrated, were agreed upon 
and directed to that end." 

Mr. Green shows a bitterness and vindictivencss in "The 
Spanish Conspiracy" which are not fully justified by the facts 
and circumstances which surround the ca.se. 

Steam cars were not thought to be possible al thai (iiiic. 
Transportation for farming produce and other freight overland, 
in wagons, to and from the territory of Kentucky wa^ a gigantic 



50 THE HISTORY OF FRANKLIN COUNTY, 

undertaking; so tremendous a proposition was it, and so 
earnestly did the pioneers desire to have a waterway for the 
transportation of their freight to the ocean, that a plan was 
formed to lock and dam the Kentucky river to the three forks, 
thence up the south fork and Goose Creek to the salt woods, 
thence by a canal thirty-six miles long with 160 feet of lock- 
age into Cumberland river at Cumberland ford; thence four 
miles in Cumberland river to the mouth of Yellow creek; 
thence by canal, in the bed of Yellow Creek to Cumberland 
Gap; through Cumberland Gap by a tunnel probabh^ 700 or 
800 yards long, and by canal from thence to Powells river five 
miles below ; down that river successively into Clinch and Ten- 
nessee river and up Hiwassee river by locks and dams; from 
the Hiwassee continue the improvement by a canal to the navi- 
gable waters of the Savannah at the head of steamboat navi- 
gation on that river. 

The Spanish government had refused to permit the United 
States to use the waters of the Mississippi for transportation of 
their freights; a great many Kentuckians doubtless thought 
that the only thing they could do, in order to reach a market 
for the produce from the fertile soil of the territory, was to be- 
come a part of the government which could do the most for 
them. Kentucky had been overrun with Indians; their dep- 
redations had been frequent and the loss sustained by reason 
thereof had been severe ; the citizens of the territory had made 
frequent and earnest appeals to the national authorities for 
help, and each time their appeal had been ignored or refused ; 
these conditions caused man}' of the leading citizens of the 
territory to become dissatisfied with the National Government. 
Then, too, the bond of union between the states and territories 
of that early date was not considered in the same light as it has 
been since the termination of the war between the states. 

E. Spillsbee Coleman settled in South Frankfort about 
the years 1806 and established a tan-yard near a spring known 
then as Brown's Spring, named for Hezekiah Brown who lived 
adjacent; it was later called Coleman's Spring. In the year 
1807, the two bridges across Elkhorn at the Forks were rebuilt; 
the one across the South Fork was let to Benjamin Head, for 



THE HISTORY OF FRANKLIN COUNTY. 5l 

wliich he was allowed the sum of $78.25 ; the one across North 
Elkhoni was let to Hezekiah Keeton as contractor and builder. 

Jeremiah Myers, an inmate of the Frankfort penitentiary, 
set fire to that institution on the 22nd day of March, 1807, 
and a part of it was burnt; on trial it was found that the law 
was not sufficient to punish him. 

In the year 1808 the Legislature pa.ssed an act to establish 
a State Bank; it was fixed at Frankfort, but to follow the seat 
of government if moved ; its capital stock was one million dol- 
lars. It was in operation for only a short time. 

John Lindsey was appointed constable February 15, 1808, 
and in the following March John A. Mitchell resigned as 
jailer of the county, and Pa.schal Hickman was appointed; 
Jim, John and Stephen Arnold were his bond.?men. At the 
same term of court Elisha Herndon was appointed constable on 
the south side of the river, and Daniel Weiseger was re-ap- 
pointed clerk of the County Court. 

On August 5, 1808, Robert Blackwell became the eighth 
sheriff of the county, and Christopher Greenup produced a 
commis.sion from Charles Scott, governor, appointing him a 
magistrate of the county. 

William McBrayer became the 9th sheriff of the county, 
June 19, 1809; John Arnold was re-appointed magistrate and 
at the same term of court it was ordered that the fence around 
the court should be extended around the pul)lic square so as to 
include the Capitol and court house. 

Stephen Arnold died December 18, 1809, and his father 
James Arnold died February 19, 1810. John Milam was ap- 
pointed his administrator and Scott Brown was appointed to ap- 
l)raise the "slaves and personal estate" left by him. The de- 
scendants of all the above named parties have been prominent 
ill Franklin county during the past century. 

The total amount of unpaid claims against the county 
on the 1st day of November, 1809, amounted to $1,466.22. 

Steel's ferry was establi.«hed in 1810, and a bridge was 
built the same year by the county acro.ss the south fork of Ben- 
son Creek near Richard Smart's; at the same court James Blair 
was elected County Attorney; prior to his election the county 



/^ 



52 THE HISTORY OF FRANKLIN COUNTY. 

had no regular attorney. Zadock Cramer, editor of the Navi- 
gator pul)liyhed at Pittsburg, Pa., in 1810, said that Frank- 
fort, at that time, contained about one hundred and forty 
houses, which would give it a population of from 600 to 800 
people. He said that Frankfort had three printing offices, one 
book-store, a circulating library, book bindery, eighteen mer- 
cantile stores and one State Bank ; he also said in his article 
that a ''steamboat, that is, a large boat to be propelled by the 
power of steam," was on the stocks a short distance above 
Frankfort. This boat was probably the "Kentucky," which 
was the second steam boat built in the State, and which was 
intended to navigate the Ohio and ^Mississippi rivers. 

The editor was told that Governor Greenup had in con- 
templation the erection of a glass factory at Frankfort, in order 
to utilize a bank of fine white sand thrown \ip by the river, a 
short distance below the town; there also being agitated the 
question of establishing a "brew house" at Frankfort. 

On motion of Martin D. Hardin on February 19th, 1810, 
John J. Marshall and himself ^vcrc admitted to practice law, 
Avhereupon they took the oath of office. 

A list of the attorneys at the Frankfort bar in the year 
1810, included Martin D. Hardin, John J. :\Iarshall, John H. 
Hannah, William Littel, Adam Beatty, John Rowan, Isham 
Talbott, William B. Blackburn, Thomas C. Lewis, Robert B. 
McAfee, John Allen, James Blair, Humphrey Marshtill, Jas. 
Hughes, Matthew Lodge, William Hunter and James Craw- 
ford. 

Isham Talbott, one of the leading lawyers of Frankfort, 
was in the habit of walking with his head thrown back. On 
one occasion a man by the name of Williams was digging a 
Avell and had gotten down about ten feet. Talbott came along, 
with his head up, and fell in the well on top of Williams; and 
this so enraged him that he called AVilliams a damn thief be- 
cause he failed to warn him of his danger. Talbott was very 
profane. The county records show he was presented and 
fined several times for using profane language. 



THE HISTORY OF FRANKLIN COUNTY. 53 

CHAPTER VI. 
1810 to 1820; Course of Events. 

On the motion of Daniel Weiseger, clerk of the County 
Court of Franklin county, Alexander Rennick was appointed 
Deputy County Clerk, on oMonday the ISth day of February, 
1811; at the following April term, Robert ]\IcKee was granted 
a license to build a warehou.-^e at the mouth of Benson Creek, 
for housing hemp, tobacco and Hour; on the same day 
Christopher Greenup resigned his commission as justice of the 
peace. 

During the year 1811 both of the ])ridges across Elkhorn 
creek, at the Forks, were rebuilt by the County Court. On 
June 17th, 1811, John M. Scott was appointed sheriff of the 
county; and at the same term of court Martin D. Hardin 
presented his commission as justice of the pX3ace in, and for the 
county. On the same day Richard Taylor was granted the 
right to establish a public warehouse on the Kentucky river 
at the mouth of Leestown branch, which was known as ^'Lees- 
town warehouse;" it was used for storing tobacco, flour audi 
hemp. 

On December 16, 1811, Daniel Weiseger resigned as 
County Clerk, and William Trigg was ''unanimously" ap- 
pointed to take that position. Martin D. Hardin and John 
Morris were appointed a committee to inspect the clerk's of- 
fice; on the same date a hogshead of tobacco marked ''J. F. 
No. 48 Gross, 1653 tare 166 neat 1448," having l)een in ware- 
house over two years was ordered sold, no one claiming same. 

The records of the Franklin County Court, show, that 
during the year 1812 l^cnjamin Hickman was elected con- 
stable by the trustees of Frankfort for said city, and that the 
sheriff was allowed a credit for two hundred and lorty-five 
"titheables" which he was not able to collect; it also shows that 
the court allowed the sum of $24.00 per year for keeping a 
pauper. 

Prior to the repeal of the act under whic'i a person could 



54 THE HISTORY OP FRANKLIN COUNTY. 

be imprisoned for debt, a large number of men were confined 
in the county jail, and in order to prevent too many men from 
being crowded together there were certain imaginary lines, 
known as "Prison Bounds," over which the trusty prisoners 
were not permitted to pass. During the year 1812 it was 
"ordered that part of the prison bounds that include Captain 
Taylor's old stable be taken off, and the like quantity Ije ex- 
tended up Montgomery street in such manner as to include 
Samuel's tavern, thence down to the former boundary ])y Cap- 
tain Weiseger's." 

John M. Scott having died in office (sheriff) William 
Hall was commissioned sheriff' of the county, December 21, 
1812. In the early part of 1812, "the Kentuckians, more at- 
tentive to the voice of distress, than to the laws of their 
country volunteered to the number of sixty or seventy men, 
under the command of Col. Anthony Crockett, and Captain 
John Arnold, and were marched to Vincennes to see what was 
the matter, and ten days after, marched home again, to tell 
they knew not what." (Collins' History.) This company 
was composed entirely of Franklin County men. 

The most dire calamity that ever befell the people of 
Franklin County happened during this decade (1810 to 1820). 
The history of the war between the United States and Great 
Britain; the causes which led up to it and the sequences 
which followed it are a part of national history. The United 
States army in the northwest was composed almost exclusively 
of Kentuckians, a history of which is properly a part of the 
history of the State. Franklin County, however, did more 
than her just proportional part; she furnished more men, and 
more money, and she gave more of her heroic blood for the 
honor and glory of this great country than could have rea- 
sonably been expected from one community. 

There were two full companies enlisted from Franklin 
County; the first under Paschal or Perchal Hickman as cap- 
tain was mustered into the service August 15, 1912, and was 
known as Captain Paschal Hickman's company, first rifle 
regiment, Kentucky militia ; it was engaged or enlisted to Octo- 
ber 14, 1812. The muster roll shows the following: 



THE HISTORY OP FRANKLIN COUNTY. 



55 



Paschal Hickman, Captain, 
Peter G. Voorhies, Ensign. 
Benjamin Head, 2d Sergt. 
Jno. Nailor, 4tli Sergt. 
\Vm. T. Pemberton, 2d Corp. 
Benj. B. Johnson, 4th Corp. 



Peter Dudley, Lieutenant. 
David Quinn, 1st Sergt. 
Geo. Nicholls, 3d Sergt. 
Alexander Rennick, 1st Corp. 
Richard Chism, 3d Corp. 



PRIVATES. 



Joseph Armstrong. 
"William Brown. 
James Bassett. 
William Brattan. 
Samuel Blackburn. 
Martin Calvert. 
Joseph Clark. 
John Cox. 
Lemuel Davis, Jr. 
Nathan Goodrich. 
Elisha Herndon. 
James B. Humphreys, 
John A. Holton. 
John Koons. 
Gideon King. 
John Lane. 
Joseph Mosely. 
Otho McCracken. 
Lapsley McBride. 
Timothy Marshall. 
Francis Mayhall. 
John Noland, 
Meriwether Poindexter, 
Jno. Richardson. 
Benjamin Pannell. 
Jesse Poe. 
Samuel Reading. 
Geo. Robertson. 
Jas. Richardson, 



Berrisford ^Vrnold. 
Lsaac Boone. 
Overton Brown. 
John Brook. 
James Biscoe. 
Garland Cosby, 
Phillip Clark. 
Lemuel Davis, Sr. 
Lewis iTennick. 
John Plays. 
Moses Head. 
William D. Ilensley. 
Geo. T. Johnston. 
Simon Kenton. 
Zachariah B. Lewis. 
Jacob Lively. 
Timothy T. Moore. 
David E. Mathews. 
Joshua Moore. 
John G. ]\Iullican. 
John Mayhall. 
Robert Owen. 
John Phillips. 
James Parker. 
Joseph Pitts. 
"NA'illiam Pruett. 
Jno. Rossen. 
Alexander Robinson. 
Reuben Sparks. 



56 THE HISTORY OF FRANKLIN COUNTY. 

Wm. Stevens. Samuel Smith. 

John Smith. Jesse Smiley. 

Rankin Steel. Wm. Sanders. 

Francis Slaughter. Jno. Sanders. 

Samuel. Throckmorton. John Tate. 

Thomas Tate. Wm. Updike. 

Ben'j Underwood. Van West. 

James Wilson, William West. 
George Yancy. 

The eighty-six men composing this company were all 
killed at the battle of the River Raisin, except thirteen of them, 
only twelve of whom are known at this date to have returned 
to their homes in Franklin county, to-wit: Lieut. Peter Dud- 
ley, Alexander Renick, Joseph Clark, Lewis Fennick, Elisha 
Herndon, John A. Ilolton, Z. B. Lewis, Francis Mayhall, John 
Mayhall, John Richardson, Alexander Robertson and James 
Wilson. 

The order of battle at the River Rasin wa.s as follows: 
Lieut. Colonel John Allen, commanding the right wing; Major 
Graves, the left; and Major jNladison, the centre; Captain Bal- 
lard (acting Major) was placed in advance of the whole with 
two companies, one company commanded by Captain Hick- 
man, Subaltern Lieut. Chinn, the other by Captain Graves. 

Captain Hickman was severely wounded and was carried 
from the battlefield, both of his legs were shot off, or were so 
l)adly mangled that they were amputated the next morning, 
January 23, 1813. 

The Indians were permitted by General Proctor to slaugh- 
ter his wounded and defenseless captives, ''Captain Hickman 
was rudely dragged to the door, his brains dashed out with the 
tomaliawk and his body thrown back into the house." 

A. B. Woodward, Judge of the Supreme Court of the 
territory of Michigan, in a letter to General Proctor, dated De- 
troit, February 2, 1813, stated that some of the prisoners after 
tlie capitulation of the 22nd of January had been tomahawked 
and others had been shot and still others had been burnt at 
the stake l)y the savages. 



THE HISTORY OF FRANKLIX COUNTY. 57 

Captain Pjuschal Hickman was the Jailor of Franklin 
connt}' at the time he enlisted for military service, lie was 
a son of the Rev. William Hickman, a noted l>ai)tist preacher 
and teacher of pioneer days. Paschal Hickman was six feet 
two inches tall and weighed over two hnndred pounds. He 
wa.s a very handosme man and one of the most popular of that 
day. 

Lapsley ]\IcBride, son of Col. William Mcl)ride, and great 
uncle of Judge ^^^ Lapsley Jett, and for whom said Jett was 
named; and Berrisford Arnold, who wa.s a very handsome man, 
the son of James Arnold, another great uncle of Judge .lett, 
were also killed at the River Raisin. 

The records in the Adjutant General's office at Frankfort 
fails to show when any member of this noted com])any was dis- 
charged from service. The discharge of Sergeant R^^'unick is 
dated Urbana, Ohio, February 21, 1813. 

After the slaughter at River Raisin the few Franklin 
county men who returned straggled in one at a time, and each 
time one came home the caiHion was fired and the whole sur- 
rounding country as far away as it could be hoard would hasten 
to P^ankfort to inquire about the lost ones. 

Lieutenant Peter Dudley, who made his escape, returned 
to Frankfort for the purpose of raising another company, 
though the recent preceding event-s of the campaign had proven 
to all that war was in reality a trade of blood, and the badges 
of mourning were worn by a large part of the po})ulation of 
Franklin county. Notwithstanding so many of her brave sons 
had been so ruthlessly massacred, and the majority of the large 
assembly of people, who had met to hear some tidings of loved 
and lost ones; when the gallant young lieutenant with a 
drummer and fifer commenced his march through the ci-owd 
proclaiming his purpose of raising another company and re- 
questing all who were willing to go with him to fall in to the 
ranks, in. less than thirty minutes one hundred young men 
were in line. 

The Weekly Register published in Raltimore in iSPi-l;', 
in a statement dated Frankfort, March 10, 1813, says: "On 
Tinu'sday, the 4th inst., tlie regiment of militia of this couuly 



58 THE HISTORY OF FRANKLIN COUNTY. 

(Franklin) was paraded on the commons in this place for the 
purpose of furnishing from it seventy-two men, its quota. In 
less than thirty minutes one hundred men volunteered under 
Lieut. Peter Dudle}^, who had but a few days previous returned 
from the army under General Harrison, yesterday they were 
mustered and in.^pected, when the number was increased to one 
hundred and fifteen. Lieutenant Dudley was appointed Cap- 
tain, Geo. Baltzell 1st Lieutenant, Samuel Arnold 2nd Lieu- 
tenant, and George Gayle Ensign. We understand about 
thirty-five hundred dollars was subscribed to go towards equip- 
ing the volunteers." 

''It is reported the Governor has ordered out the two regi- 
ments commanded by Cols. Dudley and Boswell as reinforce- 
ments to Harrison ; they march in a few days." 

On Saturday, April 17, 1813, wa.s the following from 
Georgetown, Kentucky : 

"Captain Dudley, of Frankfort, passed through this place 
on Tuesday night with one hvuidred and twenty-two as re- 
spectable, as brave and as fine volunteers as any county ever 
produced, destined for the Rapids. We will venture to assert 
that Captain Dudley and his patriot band will give a good ac- 
count of themselves and when attacked by the enemy they will 
leave their mark." 

After the cold-blooded murder of the wounded at French- 
town (River Raisin) an editor in sympathy with the allies 
said in his paper, ''We would advise the recruiting officers of 
the Government to enlist fat men for the western market that 
the Indians may not butcher lean unprofitable stock." 

In addition to the two companies above named there were 
several Franklin county men in other companies; Benjamin 
S. Chambers was Quartermaster, and William Church was a 
Captain; John Cardwell w^as in Captain Zachariah. Terrell's 
company, and was at the battle of New Orleans, while his 
brother George Cardwell was under Captain Simpson, with 
Richard M. Johnson at the battle of the Thames, and he, like 
many others claimed the credit of killing Tecumseh. He was 
known as Tecumseh Cardwell from that time until his death 
many years after. 



THE HISTORY OF FRANKLIN COUNTY. 59 

Samuel A. Theobald, a lawyer from Frankfort, wa.s Judge 
Advocate in Richard M. Johnson's regiment, and was one of 
the immortal ''Forlorn Hope'* consisting of twenty men who 
volunteered to advance in front of the army at the Thames, in 
order to draw the fire from the Indians, who were known to be 
in hiding, and awaiting the advance of the army. This was 
the method adopted by Col. Johnson to locate the enemy ; of 
these twenty men only one escaped unhurt, fifteen of them 
were shot dead. "Their leader (Col. Richard M. Johnson) with 
a dozen wounds still sat erect, his Judge Advocate (Theobald), 
close to his side." 

The charge of the Light Brigade at Balaklava, led by Lord 
Cardigan in 1854, was made through the mistake of a superior 
officer; and the six hundred men rode "Into the jaws of Death" 
because they were commanded to do so, but the "Forlorn Hope" 
rode "Into the jaws of Death" a willing sacrifice for their coun- 
try's honor, and for the protection of their comrades in arms. 
In the history of the world there has never been recorded a 
braver act than was performed by Samuel A. Theobald on that 
5th day of October, 1813. 

Following the battle of the Thames there were a large 
number of English prisoners brought to Frankfort, Kentucky, 
and confined for a considerable period in the State penitentiary. 
The officers vigorously resented this treatment which they 
designated "ignominious," but little sympathy was aroused 
on their account. The murders and barbarities at Raisin and 
Meigs had not put these men of the Forty-first Regiment in a 
position to ask or expect much from Kentuckians. These pris- 
oners were subsequently exchanged, but not for some months. 

After the battle of the Raisin the bodies of the dead 
soldiers were left unburied, and were devoured by dogs and 
hogs. Many months after that Governor Shelby directed that 
the bones of all the brave men who were killed or died, and 
remained unburied, should be collected and properly interred; 
sixtj^-five skeletons were found and buried. 

"On July 4, 1818, the}' were removed and reintcrrcd in 
the cemetery at Monroe, Michigan ; after that a committee was 
appointed at Detroit to bring them there, where they were 



60 THE HISTORY OF FRANKLIN COUNTY. 

again interred. In 1834 the boxes containing these Ijones 
were removed to Clinton Street Cemetery in Detroit. In 
September of the .same year they were again exhumed, 
and placed in boxes marked ''Kentucky's gallant dead, 
January 18, 1913 (should have been'^ January 22-23), 
River Raisin, Michigan," and brought to Frankfort, where 
they were again buried, and they will doubtless remain forever 
in the State Lot in our ''Beautiful City of the Dead." 

To the shame of Kentucky be it said that no man knows 
at this day where the bones of these honored dead are buried. 
The removal to Kentucky was prior to the time the present 
cemetery was purchased and a part of it dedicated to Kentucky 
heroes. At that time the cemetery was back of Thorn Hill, 
and even tradition is silent as to whether or not these bones 
were removed to the new cemetery. 

James Y. Love, the only son of Mrs. Elizabeth Love, joined 
Captain Dudley's company. She wa.s at first very much grieved, 
but after thinking over the matter said: "But I would despise 
him if he did not want to go." She prepared with her own 
hands the uniform he wore and he went with his mother's 
prayers, and a mother's love. 

Mrs. Elizabeth Love was one of the strong women of 
pioneer days; she was the wife and afterwards the widow of 
^lajor Thomas Love, who was an officer in the army of General 
Wayne, and served in his Avestern campaigns. The time of en- 
listment of Major Love having expired he located permancntl}' 
in Frankfort. 

Mrs. Love was noted for her social and Christian virtues. 
For many years she and her husband were proprietors of a 
hotel known as the "Love House," where they entertained 
Aaron Burr, and other noted men of that day. She was re- 
markable for her personal beauty and grace of manner, and her 
literary attainments were marvelous considering the age and 
the section of the country in which she lived. She was a 
woman of strong character; on one occasion when she was a 
young lady, the Prince, afterward King of the French, was 
traveling through the United States, she attended a ball given 
in honor of the Kino;. He was struck with her oraceful move- 



THE HISTORY OF FRANKLIN COUNTY, 61 

meiittf, and commanding air, and did her the honor to single 
her ont as his partner for the dance; she decHncd this fhittering 
preference to the mortification of the Prince and to the surprise 
of all, but her reason for not dancing was that she had only a 
few moments before refused to dance with one of her neigh- 
bor's sons, and if she must give offense she would rather offend 
the illustrious foreigner than one of her own companions and 
countrymen ; she tried at all times to be just ; she sought for 
the right and when found she fearlessly followed it. She was 
one of the great women of this country. 

It was she who established the first Saljbath schools in this 
country, and which were also the first established in this State; 
her influence was always for good. For a period of fifty years 
she was a resident of Frankfort. ''None knew her but to love 
her, none named her but to praise." She died at Frankfort on 
the 19th day of January, 1845. 

^Vnother strong character those times produced was Col. 
Anthony Crockett, a native of Virginia. He was born in 1758 ; 
he enlisted in the Revolutionary war in 1776, and only left the 
army when peace was declared ; he was at White Plains, 
Brandy wine, Monmouth, Saratoga, Germantown, Princeton 
and Trenton. At the battle of Brandywine when LaFayette 
was severely wounded Col. Crockett took him in his arms and 
carried him to a place of safety. When General LalViyette 
visited Frankfort in 1825 he expressed great pleasure in meet- 
ing him again. 

In 1784 he came to Kentucky and purchased from his 
brother-in-law, James Arnold, a tract of land located on the 
Lawrenceburg road about three miles south of Frankfort, which 
tract of land remained in the hands of his descendants for 
more than a century. 

In 1790 he was a member of the Virginia Legislature from 
Kentuck}'; in 1796 and 1799 he was a member of the Kentucky 
House of Representatives from Franklin county. When the 
war of 1812 came on he was exempt from military service, but 
he volunteered and rendered valiant service, though he was 
then an old man. For thirty years he was Sergeant at Arms 
of the Kentucky Senate. He died in 1838, and was buried in 



62 THE HISTORY OF FRANKLIN COUNTY. 

the Benson church yard in Franklin county. He was a man 
of fine physique, six feet three inches in height ; he was gentle 
by nature, but fearless and valiant in battle. 

In the year 1813 William Arnold and John A. McDowell 
were admitted to practice law in all the courts at Frankfort. 
On February 15th of that year William Trigg resigned as Clerk 
of the County Court and Fleming Trigg was appointed in his 
stead. On the same day Silas M. Noel produced credentials of 
his ordination and of his being in regular communion with 
the Baptist Societj^, and having taken the oath of fidelity, a 
testimonial was granted him in due form. 

On April 19, 1813, William Hall resigned as Sherift^ and 
John A. Mitchell was commissioned Sheriff, with John J. 
Marshall and others as his sureties. On the same day Anna 
Arnold was appointed Administratrix of Berrisford Arnold. 
The order recites the fact, that Berrisford Arnold was killed 
at River Raisin, and the next succeeding order recites that 
Benjamin Hickman was elected Jailer of the county to take the 
place of Paschal Hickman, who was mvn'dered in his tent after 
his surrender at the same battle. 

On May 13th Jephtha Dudley, a magistrate of Franklin 
county, resigned as magistrate and was commissioned an officer 
in the United States Army. On the same day Theodrick Boul- 
ware, a Baptist preacher, was granted a testimonial and cm- 
powered to celebrate the rites of matrimony. 

On June 21, 1813, William E. Quarles was commissioned 
Sheriff of the county, and John Parker was granted the right 
to erect and operate a grist mill on Glenn's Creek ; this mill was 
operated for more than half a century ; a part of the old dam 
still remains to mark the site. 

The Order Book of the County Court shows that tavern 
keepers were allowed to charge not exceeding the following 
rates, to-wit : for supper and breakfast, 25 cents each ; dinner, 
37 cents; grain, per gallon, 12 V^ cents; horse at hay one night 
or twenty-four hours, 25 cents; Maderia or other imported 
wines, $2.00 per quart; Jamaica spirits, French })randy or Hol- 
land gin, 50 cents per pint; county made gin, 18 cents per half 
pint; Sangaree, or punch, 75 cents per quart. 



THE HISTORY OF FRANKLIN COUNTY. 63 

George Major was admitted as an attorney at the Frankfort 
bar September 20, 1813. During this year a new jail was built 
at a cost of one thousand dollars. This jail was located on 
Clinton street where the colored Methodist church now stands; 
the jail had formerly been on Holmes street, nearly opposite 
the woman's entrance to the State Penitentiary. 

There was an act of the Kentucky Legislature, approved 
January 24, 1812, for the benefit of William and Lapsley Mc- 
Bride. The act recites that their father, Col. William Mc- 
Bride, had been appointed commissioner to open a road from 
liolstein to Crab Orchard and that he was killed at the battle 
of Blue Licks, having received no part of the consideration for 
said work. The act authorizes the i.ssuing of warrants for 2,- 
800 acres of land to his said sons. 

Henrj' Davridge, Circuit Judge, had for his associate Cir- 
cuit Judges Nathaniel Richardson and Hugh Innis for many 
years prior to 1813 ; and for many years subsequent thereto 
his associate Judges were Nathaniel Richardson and Silas M. 
Noel. 

There was an act of the Kentucky Legislature to incorpor- 
ate the Frankfort Library Company, approved Janunrv 13, 
1812. 

Fleming Trigg resigned as County Court Clerk, April IS, 
1814, and Willis A. Lee was appointed in his place. 

John J. Marshall was appointed magistrate April 18, 1814, 
and during the same year John Green established a ferry across 
the Kentuck}' river at the mouth of Glenn's Creek; this ferry 
was afterwards known as Arnold's ferry for many years, later 
it was known as Cardwell's ferry. It was the most important 
crossing on the river outside of Frankfort. Mrs. Mary F. John- 
son, daughter of John Cardwell, and granddaughter of James 
Arnold, still owns the Arnold homestead (1008) located op- 
posite the mouth of Glenn's Creek on the south side of the river, 
having inherited same from her grandfather; it was a part of 
ten thousand acres of land granted to him in 1784 for services 
in the Continental army. 

During the same year .Tohn Green also established a wnri'- 
house for tobacco, flour and licui],) at tlu' mouth of (Uenn's 



64 THE HISTORY OF FRANKLIN COUNTY. 

Creek ; John Green was a Baptist f)reacher ; he was uneducated, 
but a man of strong character, and did much good in his da}' 
and generation. On one occasion while holding divine service, 
he had his song book up-side-down, and some one called his at- 
tention to the fact. He said it made no difference to him, he 
could read as well that way as if it was right-side-up. 

In the year 1814 John D. Cook and Samuel D. Fishback 
were admitted to practice law in Frankfort. In the same year 
Benjamin Hickman Avas elected jailer. 

The county levy was fixed at $1.25 each "titheable" for the 
year 1815. 

In the year 1814: James Russell established a mill on the 
south fork of Benson Creek that has been one of the noted land- 
marks of the county for nearly a century. 

In the year 1815 Richard Taylor and John J. Marshall 
Avere appointed commissioners to superintend the reconstruc- 
tion of the county jail, the cost of which was not to exceed 
twenty-five hundred dollars ($2,500.00). At the same term of 
court commissioners were appointed to act with commissioners 
from Shelby county to build a bridge across Big Benson, at 
Bohannon's ford, but the cost was not to exceed four hundred 
dollars ($400.00), for Franklin county's part of the contract. 

In June, 1815, AYilliam Samuels produced a commission 
from the Governor appointing him Sheriff of the county. At 
the same court Charles S. Todd and John H. Todd were ad- 
mitted to practice law. 

John J. Marshall resigned the i)osition of magistrate Au- 
gust 19, 1817. On the same day the Trustees of the town of 
Frankfort comi)lained of the manner in which Sunday taverns 
were run, and they asked that the licenses of Leonard Altenuis, 
William Duckham, James W. Pruett, George W. (uiylc, James 
Hampton, William Downing and Lewis Pruett be revoked. 

In August, 1817, Lewis R. Major was appointed magis- 
trate, and during that year a grist mill and saw mill was built 
on Elkhorn, near Jones' station. 

Francis P. Blair, Jacob Swigert and Thomas A. .Marshall 
were admitted to practice law. John Bartlett was appointed 
Sheriff June 16, 1817. On the same dav on motion of Reubei' 



THE HISTORY OF FRANKLIN COUNTY. 65 

Medley, a Mcthodi.-<t niinir^ter, oath wa.s adiiiiuistered ai.:l 
certificate issued. 

On September 15, 1817, the I'ollowinii; order was entered, 
to-wit: ''This Court doth certify that Western J^. Thomas, 
who intends making api)Ucation for Heense to practice hnv, is 
a man of honesty, probity and good demeanor." 

"A report of the inspectors of the Frankfort warehouse 
state that during last season they received 3(Sy liogsheads of 
tobacco, and have shipped 306, they also report the warehouse 
in l)hd condition." 

Given under our hands this ITlh dav of November, 1S17. 
(Signed) ''JAMES & BROWN." 

"Also that they received 38 hogsheads at Lcestown and 
shipped 27; they also report this warehouse out of repair." 

In the year 1817 there were assessed 2,200 tithcables at one 
dollar per tithe. 

In 1818 Joseph ^l. AMiile and Harry J. Thornton were ad- 
mitted to practice law. Diu'ing this year Achilles Sneed built 
a water grist mill at the Falls of l^ig Benson, which place is 
now known as Conway's mill. 

During this year Jeremiah Green, a Baptist i)reacher, and 
Eli Smith, a Presbyterian i)reacher were granted certificates 
by the county court. 

The bridge at Hardinsville was rebuilt during this year. 
On December 22, 1818, Benjamin Hickman resigned as Jailer, 
and Stanley P. Gower was ai)pointed in his stead. 

The income of the county for the year 1819 was three 
thousand dollars. During the year 1819 Isaac Caldwell, Mar- 
tin Marshall, Silas M. Noel, Robert Hughes, Nathaniel Sawyer, 
Horace Warring and George Oakley were admitted to practice 
law at Frankfort. Philip White was appointed Sheriff of the 
county June 28, 1819. 

At the September term 1819, the following order was en- 
tered: "It appearing to the satisfaction of the Court, that the 
bridge across Big Benson on the lower road to Shelbyville has 
been completed agreeable to contract, it is therefore ordered 
that the Sheriff of this county pay to Charles S. Todd the sum 



66 THE HISTORY OF FRANKLIN COUNTY. 

of $480.00 for doing the stone work, and to Joseph Russell the 
sum of $247.00 for doing the wood work of said bridge." 

Isaac Caldwell was County Attorney by appointment dur- 
ing the year 1819. John Bartlett, as Sheriff, failed to pay the 
money which he had collected for the county and there were a. 
great many suits filed against him and his sureties during the 
year. 

Jacob Swigert produced a commission from G. Slaughter, 
Governor of the Commonwealth, appointing him a magistrate 
which position he held for many years. 

In 1820 a contract for building a jail yard and a jailer's 
residence w^as entered into; the wall around the yard was to 
be twelve feet high, made of brick, with a timber on top, well 
secured. The residence and yard were to cost three thousand 
dollars ($3,000), the residence was back of the jail on Lewis 
street, now Elk Avenue. 

In the year 1820 there were 2759 tithes assessed in the 
county, and there were fifty-seven roads in the county to which 
hands and overseers were appointed. 

The first man charged with murder after the conviction of 
Henry Fields in 1798, was Benjamin Mayhall in July, 1814; 
he was tried by a jury and acquitted. There were several in- 
dictments for murder during the years 1818 and 1819. Thomas 
P. Major, James Ransdale, Zepheniah Jackson, Elijah Kendall, 
Jeremiah Kendall, Jacob Holeman and William P. Greeiuip 
were all charged with murder. The indictments against the 
Ransdales, Jackson and the Kendalls were for the murder of 
Albert Carter in July, 1818. The charge was for ''Striking 
said Carter with a certain gun of the value of ten dollars, which 
the said Wharton Randsdale in both his hands, then and there 
had and held, etc." 

The Connnentator gave the following account, headed : 

"INHUMAN OUTRAGE." 

On Friday, the 10th inst. a most savage and atrocious 
murder was committed on the body of Abraham Carter, a re- 
spectable citizen of Franklin county. The scene of this 



THE HISTORY OF FRANKLIN COUNTY. 67 

diabolical bukhery was at the Forks of Elkhorn, in the porch 
of a tavern occupied by Mr. Benjamin Luckett. Mr. Carter was 
stabbed in the groin, his skull was l)roken to pieces by a gun, 
and other parts of his body injured ; he expired in a few hours. 
The indictment against Iloleman gives not only the historical 
fact of the crime, but it shows the particularity with which in- 
dictments were drawn. The indictment charges that Jacob H. 
Holeman and William P. Greenup, of Franklin county, "Not 
having the fear of God before their eyes, but being moved and 
seduced by the instigation of the Devil, on the 16th day of 
July, 1819, with force and arms, in the county aforesaid, in and 
upon Francis G. Waring, in the Peace of God, and of said 
Commonwealth then and there being feloniously, willfully and 
of their malice aforethought did make and assault, and that the 
said Jacob H. Holeman, a certain pistol, then and there loaded 
and charged with gunpowder, and one leaden bullet, which 
pistol, he, the said Jacob H. Holeman in his right hand then 
and there, had and held to, against and upon the said Francis 
G. Waring, then and there feloniously, willfully and of his 
malice aforethought, did shoot and discharge giving to the 
said Francis P. Waring then and there with the leaden bullet 
aforesaid, by the said Jacob H. Holeman, in and upon the right 
breast of him, the said Francis P. Waring, a little behind the 
right pap of him, the said Francis P. Waring one mortal wound 
of the depth of nine inches, and of the breadth of half an inch, 
of which said mortal wound the aforesaid Francis P. Waring 
then and there instantly died." 

The indictment further charges that Willson P. Greenup 
was present, aiding, abetting, etc. After a long trial the jury 
brought in a verdict of ''not guilty." 

At the July Court, 1819, the grand jury indicted the 
County Court "For not keeping a sufficient jail." There was 
a verdict and judgment against the defendants. The defend- 
ants thereupon moved the court to "set aside and arrest the 
judgment herein for the following rea.son, viz: The Court 
erred in giving judgment for money when the penalty is im- 
posed in tobacco." 

There was an act to establish an Independent Bank at 



68 THE HISTORY OF FRANKLIN COUNTY. 

Frankfort, approved January 26, 1818. It was denominated 
the Frankfort Bank with a capital stock of $500,000.00, divided 
into 5,000 shares of $100.00 each; under the direction of John 
H. Hannah, Henry Crittenden, Samuel Lewis, William Hunter 
and George Adams; at the same session the trustees of Frank- 
fort were authorized "to open a street upon the top of the bank 
of the Kentucky river between Ann and Wapping streets, by 
extending Ann street down and Wapping street up said river, 
said street to be 30 feet wide and shall be called and known 
as "Water street." 

This improvement has never been made, but the necessity 
for it has been urgent for the past century. 

There was an act approved January 31, 1818, which 
authorized a company to "make an artificial road from Lex- 
ington, by the way of Versailles, to Frankfort" and the same act 
provided for the re-incorporation of the Frankfort and Shelby- 
ville turnpike road. 

Public roads and water-ways were the only means oi 
transportation known to the people at this early period in their 
histoiy. Much attention was paid to the construction of roads, 
and eveiy available means was used in securing water transpor- 
tation. 

There was an act of the Kentucky Legislature, approved 
February 10, 1819, "To Incorporate a company to improve the 
navigation of Elkhorn." The purpose for which the corpora- 
tion was formed is set out as follows: "That a company l)e 
incorporated to improve the navigation of Elkhorn, commenc- 
ing at the mouth thereof on the Kentucky river, thence up Elk- 
horn to the Forks thereof, thence up the north Fork to the 
neighljorhood of Georgetown and from the Forks up the south 
Fork to the neighborhood of Lexington." 

The capital stock was one hundred thousand dollars. 
Books were opened to take subscriptions at Georgetown, Ver- 
sailles and Lexington. 

In 1820 the Governor was authorized to make such repairs 
on the "Governor's house" as he may deem necessary for the 
preservation of the building and the decent appearance of the 



THE HISTORY OF FRANKLIN COUNTY. 69 

house, and for Ijiiildiiig a brick stable and carriage house on 
said lot." 

A few of Franklin county's public men of this period are 
mentioned as follows: (Icorgc Adams, represented the county 
in the Kentucky Legislature in 1810, 1811 and 1814; Martin 
D. Hardin in 1812, 1818 and 1819; John Arnold in 1813; 
John J. Marshall in 1815 and 1810; Philip White also in 
1816; George M. Bibb in 1817; Charles S. Todd in 1817 and 
1818; Harry Innis was Judge of the United States Circuit 
Court for the District of Kentucky from 1784 to 1810; John 
Brown was twice a Representative and three times a Senator 
in the Congress of the United States. 

Thomas Todd was Judge of the Court of Appeals in 1801, 
Chief Justice in 1806, and was an Associate Justice of the Su- 
preme Court of the United States from 1807 to 1816. 

Harry Toulmin was Secretary of State inider Governor 
Garrard from 1796 to 1804. 

Isham Talbott was a member of the State Senate from 
1812 to 1815, and was United States Senator from 1815 to 
1825. 

George Madison wa.s State Auditor from 179() to 1810, 
and was Governor of Kentucky in 1810. 

George M. Bibb was a Judge of the Court of Appeals of Ken- 
tucky in 1808, and was Chief Justice in 1827 ; he was again 
Chief .Justice in 1827; he was United States Senator from ISll 
to 1814 and from 1829 to 1835, and was Secretary of the 
Trea.sury under President Taylor in 1849. 

Humphrey Marshall was United States Senator from 1795 
to 1801, and was a member of the Kentucky Legislature from 
Frankhn county in 1808 and 1809. He was the author of 
Marshall's History of Kentucky. 

William Littell was Reporter of the Court of Api)eals. and 
was comi)iler of the Statute Laws of Kentucky. 

Martin 1). Hardin was a Major in the war of 1812; Secre- 
tary of State during (lovernor Shelby's second term and was 
United States Senator in 1816. 

John .7. Marshall was Representative of Franklin county 



70 THE HISTORY OP FRANKLIN COUNTY. 

in the Kentucky Legislature in 1815, State Senator from 1820 
to 1824, and Court of Appeals Reporter from 1829 to 1832. 

Charles S. Todd was Colonel on the Staff of General Har- 
rison in the war of 1812 ; was Secretary of State under Governor 
Madison ; Representative of Franklin County in the Kentucky 
Legislature in 1817 and was the Agent of the United States 
to Columbia, and minister to Russia under President Harrison 
in 1841. 



THE niSTORY OP FRANKLIN COUNTY. 71 

CHAPTER VII. 

From 1820 to 1830. 

The records of the County Court sliow that durino- the year 
1821, a bridge was built across the Leestowu branch near its 
mouth; this stream has more recently been known as the Cove 
Spring branch. 

William T. Johnson was appointed keeper of the Benson 
bridge; his especial duty was to take the drift from the bridge, 
and protect the bridge during high tides. 

Stanley P. Gower who had been appointed Jailer to serve 
out the unexpired term of l^enjamin Hickman, was re-ap- 
pointed for the full term. 

Scott Brown being the oldest magistrate from a point of 
service, was appointed, and commissioned by the Governor as 
Sheriff of the County June 18th. 

The County Court made an agreement with Francis P. 
Blair who was at that time Clerk of the Franklin Circuit Court, 
to build a Circuit Clerk's office on his lot, located on the corner 
of Broadway and Lewis streets. This office was located where 
Kagiri's restaurant now stands; the Court House at that lime 
was on the southeast corner of Capital Square, just across the 
street from this office. 

During the decade from 1820 to 1830 eight men in the 
County made proof that they had been Revolutionary soldiers, 
and were placed on the pension list. Their names are as fol- 
lows: John Saterwhite, John »Story, Matthew Cummins, Lieut. 
Samuel Woods, James Montgomery, Tlenry Roberts, Mashack 
Pearson and James Bisco. In adchtion to these, there was proof 
introduced to i^how that Capt. Matthew Jouett died iwnn the 
effects of a wound received in that war, and that John Jouett 
was his only son, and heir at law. 

At the end of this decade there were forty-three Revolu- 
tionary soldiers living in Franklin County; in addition to the 
eight above named there were on tliat roll the following, to-wit: 
Austin Lawler, Captain; Moses Hawkins, Moses Perkins, .Tames 



72 THE HISTORY OP FRANKLIN COUNTY. 

Hayden, Thomas McQuiddy, Joseph Vance, John Oliver, Capt. 
Joseph Mitchell, Capt. Thomas Patterson, Alexander ]\IcClnre, 
John Stephens, Thos. C. Scroggins, John Steele, Levi House, 
James Hayden, Benjamin Penn, John Jacobs, Philip Webber, 
Ambrose White, Lawrence Gordon, George King, Basil Carlisle, 
Pobert Craig, Philemen Grancy, Dr. John Roljerts, Samuel 
Syeva, Major Thomas Quirk, John Reading, Robert Hedges, 
Col. Anthony Crockett, Silas Douthett, James Taylor, John 
Magill and Thomas Keaten. A large number of the Revolu- 
tionary soldiers who lived in the count}^ died prior to the year 
1820. 

In the year 1822 the order abolishing the office of County 
Attorney was rescinded, and an order entered re-establishing 
that office, and fixing the salary at one hundred dollars per 
year; and thereupon Llarry J. Thornton was appointed County 
Attorney. 

During the same year the County Court appointed 
Achillies Sneed, Allen F. Macurdy, Jepthia Dudley, Roger De- 
vnie and Amos Kendall, commissioners to let out and superin- 
tend the re-l)uilding the County Jail, and repairing the Jailer's 
residence. A full description of the plans is given in the Or- 
der book "G," page 291, Franklin County Court Clerk's office. 
These buildings were located on Clinton and Lewis streets, 
across from Bowman Gaines' livery stable, and where the col- 
ored Methodist church now stands. 

In 1820 the Franklin Count}^ Court established the town of 
Lawrenceburg. In 1822 James Parker and James B. Wallace 
were appointed patrols for that town, and in 1827 the Legisla- 
ture took that portion of Franklin County to help form the 
County of Anderson. 

In the year 1822 there were 2611 tithes asses.sed in the 
county at $1.37 1-7 per tithe. During this year Charles S. 
Bibb and Patrick H. Darby were admitted to practice law. 

In this year there was passed an Act to amend the Act 
incorporating the Frankfort and Shelbyville Turnpike Road 
Company. Section two of said Act was as follows: Be it 
further enacted that the said Company of Frankfort and 
Shelbyville arc authoi'ized and empowered to erect one toUgatc 



THE HISTORY OF FRANKLIN COUNTY. 73 

at or near Matthew Clark's in Franklin County; provided, that 
said Company shall not receive more than half the toll herelc- 
fore allowed by law, and provided further, that all the citizens 
southwest of the Kentucky river, residing in Franklin Couiily 
shall pass toll free on all County Court days, and election days. 

In the year 1823 John Mcintosh was ai>pointed Jailer, 
and Daniel James came into court and resigned his ollice as 
keeper of the stray pen in the County, and thereupon Simeon 
Beckham was appointed to fill that ofHce. At the same term 
of Court the overseers of the roads leading through Lawrence- 
burg were directed to work and keep in repair the street and 
alleys of that town. 

Porter Clay, a Baptist preacher, and brother of Henry 
Clay, and John J. T. Mills, a Methodist preacher, were granted 
testimonials of honesty, probity, etc., and were empowered 
to perform marriage ceremonies. 

On account of the death of Willis A. Lee, Clerk of the 
Franklin County Court, Alexander IL Hennick was appointed 
Clerk, and Andrew R. Lindsey was appointed deputy on No- 
vember 15th, 1824. During that year Jacob Swigert resigned 
the position of magistrate and accepted that of Clerk of the 
Court of Appeals. 

In 1823 there were a.ssessed 2771 tithes at 75 cents each, 
and in 1825 there w^ere 2008 tithes assessed at one dollar each. 

In the year 1824 the County Court directed John Brawner 
to build a bridge across main Benson Creek. Scott Brown's 
term of office having expired, Clement Bell was appointed 
Sheriff in June, 1823; and the office becoming vacant. .John 
Walker was appointed in 1824. 

In 1822 there w^as an Act of the Legislature establishing 
a public Library' at the seat of Government; this was the begin- 
ning of a magnificent Law Library, and also of a good collec- 
tion of miscellaneous books. The same Legislature added to 
Franklin County all of that part of Owen County, ''Beginning 
at West's Landing on the Kentucky river, running to Van 
West's including Saint West's in Franklin County ; thence a 
straight line to the nearest point of the Franklin and Owen 
County line." 



74 THE HISTORY OF FRANKLIN COUNTY, 

The keeper of the Penitentiary was authorized to build a 
smoke-house within the Penitentiary ; at that time a great 
deal of pork was packed in and about Frankfort. Pork pack- 
ing was one of the chief industries of the County for many 
years. 

In the year 1821, it was resolved by the General Assembly 
of the Commonwealth of Kentucky, that a tombstone be erected 
to the memory of General Charles Scott, a hero of the Revolu- 
tion. General Scott died in 1820, at his home in Woodford 
county, aged eighty years. His remains were interred in the 
Frankfort Cemetery, "November 8th, 1854. (See Sept. Regis- 
ter, 1903.) One to the memory of Col Christopher Greenup, 
and one to the memory of Major George Madison, late Gover- 
nors of Kentucky, with suitable inscriptions on each, and that 
they be furnished by the keeper of the Penitentiary, and that 
the same be placed over the resj^ective graves, under the direc- 
tion of the Governor. 

In 1825 Thomas Page was allowed the sum of $280.00 for 
his services in erecting monuments over the graves of the late 
Governors Madison and Greenup, and the late Thomas Doller- 
hide, Senator from the Counties of Pulaski and Wayne, and 
inclosing the same. In 1842 the remains of these distinguished 
men were removed from the burying ground north of the city, 
to the Frankfort Cemetery, and new monuments were erected 
by the State. 

In 1821 the Legislature passed an Act abolishing imprison- 
ment for debt, and subjecting equita])le interest to execution. 
This very materially affected the interest of all debtors in the 
County; the wonder is that such a relic of barbarism should 
have been permitted to remain so long upon the statute books 
of the State. 

Some time prior to 1816 the State granted certain lottery 
privileges, and from the proceeds four thousand dollars were 
raised with which a church was built on the Public Square ; it 
was located on the southwest corner near Broadway and Madi- 
son streets; it was non-sectarian, and was used interchange- 
ably by all denominations. This was the first church l)uilt in 
the town, and was for many years the only church. In 1S21 



THE niSTORY OF FRANKLIN COUNTY. 75 

"There was an Act to amend an Act concerning a House of 
Public Worship in the town of Frankfort;" the amendment re- 
pealed the power of the Governor to appoint, and empowered 
the pew-holders, and the qualified voters of the City of Frank- 
fort to elect ''The Trustees of the House of Public Worshij) in 
the town of Frankfort." 

iVt the same term the Governor wa.s empowered to have 
a stone wall built in front of the "Governor's House" and have 
same properly coped. John Bartlett, John Crutcher, and James 
I. Miles were empowered to build a bridge across Main Elkhorn, 
where Knight's bridge is now located, and they were granted 
the ri^ht to charge and collect certain tolls, from parties cross- 
ing same. 

The first Sabbath school in Kentucky was established in 
March, 1819, in Frankfort, with from thirty to thirty-nine 
scholars. During the year ending September 30, 1822, tlio.<e 
who distinguished themselves by their assiduity were, A. M. B, 
Crittenden, who memorized 2,851 Bible verses in twelve 
months; Cornelia Crittenden (six years of age), 2,177; Mar- 
garet B. Sproule, 2,022; Emily South, 1,908; Cordelia Price, 
1,514; Maria R. Miles, 2,010; Elizabeth S. Todd, 1,373; Ann 
Price, 1,202; Ann Miles, 1,039; Catherine Baltzell, 1,028; Jane 
Castleman, 742 ; Gabriella Lewis, 5G5 ; Maria Lewis, 544 ; Agnes 
Todd, 471 ; M. A. Watson, 404 ; Margaret Smith, 558 ; Arabella 
Scott, in six months, 893; Elizabeth Scott, in five months, 719; 
Nancy McKee, in four months, 601 ; Louisa Jones, in three 
months, 630; Mary Lafon, in three months, 364. The number 
of verses memorized by all the scholars, collectively, is 36,640. 
One cla.ss during two years and a half attendance read the Bible 
once entirely through, and some books of it several times over, 
memorized from five to seven thousand verses each — were per- 
fect in Brown's, and the Assembly's Shorter Catechism — had 
each searched out, transcribed and memorized nearly six hun- 
dred verses of Scripture proofs in support of the doctrines whicli 
they had been taught, and had drawn, and studied maps of such 
parts of the world a.s are connccle<l with Sc-ripture history." 
(Collin's History, page 244.) 



76 THE HISTORY OF FRANKLIN COUNTY. 

The Sabbath school referred to, was founded by iSIrs. John 
JU'own in the Love House. 

There was a resohition appointing a committee to inquire 
into the cause of the destruction of the Capitol, approved No- 
vember 5, 1824. 

John Brown, Daniel Weiseger, John Harvie, John J. Crit- 
tenden, Peter Dudley, Evan Evans and James Shannon (all 
of them were Frankfort men) were appointed a committee to 
rebuild the State Capitol; they were empowered to employ an 
architect, and given general power in reference to the re-con- 
struction, and directed to build "a suitable Capitol." Fifteen 
thousand dollars in money was appropriated, and the commis- 
sioners were allowed to use certain material at the Penitentiary, 
not exceeding in amount the sum of five thousand dollars. 

The above-named Commissioners, with this small sum, 
supplemented by private donations from the public-spirited 
citizens of Frankfort, constructed the old Capitol building, 
which still stands as a monument to them. When it was built 
it was considered a model of neatness and beauty; the plan of 
architecture was the finest ever used on the We.stern Continent, 
and it was second only, in point of grandeur to the NatiomU 
Capitol at Washington. 

In order to understand the condition of affairs in the 
county in 1825, it is necessary to consider a few things which 
led up to the formation of the Relief and the Anti-Pelief par- 
tics. These parties grew out of the disturbed condition of the 
financial affairs of the country prior to the year 1818, which re- 
sulted in the withdrawal of gold and silver, to a large extent, 
from circulation and an inflated currency having taken their 
places. 

Kentucky had chartered about forty banks, with an ag- 
gregate capital of more than ten million dollars. During the 
summer of this year, the State was flooded with the paper of 
the.se independent banks. Speculation ran rife; tlie whole 
country .seemed to have gone daft on the subject. Within the 
next two years nearly all of the.se banks had failed, and the 
]:>ressure of debt was greater than was ever known before in the 
history of the country. The Legi-slaturc of 1819-20 pa.s.sed a 



TJIE IlI.^TOKY OF IKANKLIN COLNTV. 77 

twelve luoiith.s replevy law; and that of 1821 eharteied the 
IJaiik of the Coniiiioinvealth ; this bank tvtvs not required to re- 
deem it*; notes in specie, th()Ui>;h made receivable for taxes and 
all debts. Lands owned by the 8tatc west of the Tennessee river 
were pledged for the fiu'il redemption of these notes, and if a 
creditor refused to receive this pajjcr for his del)t, the law per- 
mitted the debtor to replevy for two years. This new baidv is- 
sued such an immense quantity of paper money that it sank to 
less than half of its nominal value, and creditors had to take it 
at itrf nominal value in full payment of their debts, or wait 
two years, and ri.<k the bankruptcy of their sureties on the re- 
plevying bonds. 

The power of the Legislature to pass such an Act, was held 
by Judge Clark, of the Circuit Court, to be unconstitutional. 
The Legislature was convened in extraordinary session which 
resulted in nothing being done. The case was then pt\ssed on 
by the Court of Appeals, and the opinion of the lower Court 
was upheld. The opinion of the Court of Appeals created the 
greatest excitement that was ever known in the State, the 
iinancial interests of almost every man in the State were ef- 
fected in some way, and the storm center was at Frankfort. 
The Relief party was led by Judge Rowan, Judge Barry, Col. 
Solomon P. Sharp, T. B. Monroe, and others, while the Anti- 
Relief side was led by Judge Robertson, John J. Crittenden, 
Ben Hardin, Robert Wicklitfe, and men of that class, the 
leaders on both sides being men of national reputation. 

The campaign for State offices and seats in the Legislature 
for 1824 was very bitter, and all kinds of charges and CDuntcr 
charges were made against the candidates. The result w;i< 
favorable to the Relief party, though the majority w^as not suf- 
ficiently large to give that party the two-thirds majority which 
was necessary in order to remove the incumbent members of 
the Court of Appeals. 

The Relief party not being able to impeach the Court, it 
passed a bill repealing the Act by which the Court of A])])eals 
had been organized; after which an Act was passed re-organiz- 
ing the Court. The debate continued for three days, and to a 
late hour each night, John Rowan for and Robert ^Vicklill'e 



78 THE HISTORY OF FRANKLIN COUNTY. 

against the measure. The most intense excitement prevailed; 
the lobbies were crowded to suffocation. Visitors from every 
section of the State were present, State officials were on the floor 
of the House lobbying for the Relief party, "Great disorder pre- 
vailed, and the Governor himself was heard to urge the calhng 
of the previous question." The bill was passed by a good ma- 
jority in both the House and Senate, and was signed by the 
Governor as soon as presented to him, and in a short time a 
new Court of Appeals was organized. The old Court claimed 
that these proceedings were irregular, unconstitutional and 
void, each claiming to be the Court of last resort ; this wa.s the 
condition of affairs when the race for the Legislature was made 
in 1825. Never before in the history of the State had the pas- 
sions of men been raised to such an intense heat ; the excitement 
during this campaign \<'as greater than ever known before. The 
Relief or New Court party was largely dominant in Franklin 
County, and in order to overcome the majority, the Old Court 
party selected as candidate for the State Legislature John J. 
Crittenden, who had represented the State in the United States 
Senate, and who had served in various other public ])laces with 
distinction; a man of international reputation, and the idol of 
Franklin County people, as a lawyer, statesman and orator. He 
was the greatest this country possessed in that day. 

The New Court party selected a man of national reputa- 
tion in the person of Col. Solomon P. Sharp; Col. Sharp had 
served two terras in the Kentucky Legislature, and two terms 
in the lower House of the United States Congress, and was then 
holding the position of Attorney General of the State, which 
position he resigned for the purpose of making the race for 
Representative. Col. Sharp was also an orator, and a great friend 
of the common people. It Avas thought he was the only man 
in the county who had a chance to defeat Mr. Crittenden. The 
contest between these two great men soon became of State and 
almost of National interest; every method known to modern 
politics seems to have been used in that day. The political 
contest stirred the county of Franklin from center to circum- 
ference ; the friends of both sides were accused of buying votes, 
and of voting ex-convicts, charges being made that the in- 



THE HISTORY OF FRANKLIN COUNTY. 79 

mates of the Penitentiary were dressed in citizen's clothes and 
voted for the New Court eaniHdate. Col. Sliarp had sixty-nine 
more votes than Mr. Crittenden, but in the contest between 
Mr. Crittenden and James Downing another representative of 
the New Court party, the popularity of Mr. Crittenden ea.sily 
overcame the majority which Col. Sharp had .secured in his 
race. During these exciting times, there were five newspapers 
ably edited and published in Frankfort. The Ar<;us and the 
Patriot were advocates of the New Court. The Spirit of Seventy 
Six, The Commentator, and The Constitutional Advocate were 
for the Old Court. 

Amos Kendall, the editor of The Patriot, was, perhai)s the 
ablest editor of that period ; he wa.s in the very thickest of the.se 
political fights, and therel)y made for himself a reputation 
which ultimately placed him in the Cabinet of President Jack- 
son, as Postmaster General. His opponents called ''The Patriot" 
the "mud machine;" on the other hand, John J. Marshall, and 
Patrick Henry Darby were able representatives of the other 
side. "The Spirit of 76," edited by John Marshall, was called 
by "The Patriot," "The Spirit of Seven and Six Pence." 

In the year 1826, "The Commentator" and "The Con- 
stitutional Advocate" were consolidated; !Mr. Kendall in "The 
Patriot" announced that fact as follows: "Hymeneal." "Mar- 
ried on the inst. in this place, by the R . 

"Spirit of Seven and Six," the notorious agent and Prime Min- 
ister of their ^lajesties, the ex-Judges of the Old Court, Mr. 
"Commentator" to the refined and celebrated lecturess, on the 
moral integrity of the laws. Miss "C. Advocate." We are told 
that the parties were full cousins before their marriage. The 
public may expect a hopeful issue from this alliance, especially, 
as it is understood that Messrs. Darby and Dana are to .stand 
"God Fathers" to the whole progeny. "We learn that a few 
days after the ceremony, the Duke of the Town Fork, (Robert 
Wickliffe) the common friend and patron, paid tliem a visit 
to congratulate them on their happy union; what .^uni he will 
settle upon them, has not been made public. 

"But from the known munificence of His grace, every con- 



80 THE HISTORY OF FRANKLIN COUNTY. 

fidence is entertained that it will be amply yufHeient to main- 
tain them dnring the rei,i2;n of their })re.«ent majestie.<." 

The tight which was made against Col. Shar]) in hi.s race to 
represent the connty was extremely Ijitter. The friends of the 
old conrt part}^ nsed every infinence known in political war- 
fare to deaden his influence and defeat him. John U. Waring, 
the most desperate and dangerous man who ever became 
l)rominent in the politics of the state, was an ardent supporter 
of the old court; he and Patrick H. Darby became the most 
active and bitter partisans against Col. Sharp. Waring wrote 
him two letters threatening his life, in which he boasted that 
he had stabbed to death six men. He also took up the story 
in reference to Miss Ann Cook, and gave it to the public in 
llaming hand-bills. 

Patrick H. Dar))y took up these charges against Sharp, 
and a great many threats both private and public were made 
against him. Darby was heard to say on several occaMons, that 
if Col. Shar}) was elected that he would never take his seat, and 
that he would be as good as a dead man. 

The legislature was to convene on Monday morning, No- 
vember 6th, 1825. On Sunday evening prior thereto, Col. 
Sharp in the interest of his candidacy for speaker (and to 
which office he doubtless would have been elected) went first 
to the Weiseger House where the Capitol Hotel now stands, and 
met several members of the legislature, and later came down 
to the Mansion House, at that time the chief hotel in the city, 
and stayed there until al)out twelve o'clock, after which he 
went to his home on Madison street, (the house in which Mr. 
Louis Weitzel now lives) and about two hours later was called 
to his door and assassinated. The assassination created the 
wildest excitement in Frankfort. The legislature convened 
that day, and authorized the Governor of Kentucky to offer a 
reward of three thousand dollars for the apprehension and con- 
viction of the assassin. The trustees of Frankfort Avere con- 
vened in extraordinary session, and they too ofl['ered a reward of 
a thou.sand dollars for the same purpose. After some days sus- 
picion rested on Jereboam 0. Beaucham]J, a young attorney 
located at Glas<2;ow. Kentuckv. A warrant was sworn out. 



THE HISTORY OF FRANKLIN COUNTY. 81 

aii<l P)eauchanip was arrested, and l)r()iiglit to Frankfurt, be 
wa.s tried before an exaniinint; eourt, and released from custody; 
be at tbe time asserting liis innocence, and vobmteering to 
stay in Frankfort for ten days, in order to give tiie Connnon- 
wealtb ample opportunity to investigate tbe case, and fornni- 
late a new cbarge. Tbe Connnonwealtb lirst asked for fif- 
teen days and at tbe expiration of tliat time fifteen days longer 
were granted in wbicli to secure sufficient evidence. 

In tbe meantime Jobn U. Waring and Patrick IL Darby 
bad come under suspicion, Mrs. Sharp having stated that tbe 
voice of the assassin bad sounded to her like that of Waring, 
a warrant was issued for him and sent to Woodford County, 
and from there to Fayette Count}', but an investigation re- 
vealed tbe fact, that Waring had been shot through both hips, 
on the Saturday preceding the Sharp tragedy, which precluded 
further proceedings against him. Patrick Darby having beard 
that he was suspected of tbe murder, in order to relieve himself 
from that .su.spieion, undertook to investigate the facts in tbe 
case, and it was through bis efforts that Beaucbamp was again 
arrested, and afterward convicted. 

The indictment now on file in the Franklin Circuit Court 
Clerk's office charges that, ''Jereboam O. Beaucbamp, Attorney 
at Law, on tbe sixth day of November, 1825, in tbe night of 
the same day, at Frankfort, Franklin County, Kentucky, with 
a certain dirk, which he held in his right hand, stabbed ui)on 
the front side of the body of .said Solomon P. Sharp, and two 
inches below tbe breast bone of tbe said Sharp, a mortal wound, 
of the breadth of one inch, and of the depth of six inches, from 
which be instantly died." Patrick TI. Darby was one of tbe 
chief witnesses against Beaucbamp. 

In the fall of 1824, Beaucbamp had apphed to him to 
bring a .«uit against Col. Sharp, for certain claims, which are 
not specified in tbe record on file in the Franklin Circuit Court 
Clerk's office. In this conversation Beaucbamp stated that he 
bad married Miss Cook, and spoke of Col. Sharp's bad treat- 
ment of her, and be .swore that if be ever ."^aw him he 
would kill him, and .^aid if be could not .^ee bim in anv other 



82 THE HISTORY OP FRANKLIN COUNTY. 

way, he Avould ride to Frankfort, and shoot him down on the 
street. (From evidence in record.) 

Darby went to Simpson County, the home of Beauchamp, 
to look up the evidence in the case ; while there he found a man 
by the name of Capt. John F. Lowe, who had received a letter 
from Beauchamp, in which there were some very damaging 
admissions against himself. (Letter still on file in Clerk's 
office.) 

Lowe also stated that Beauchamp gave him, on Thursday 
evening, within a few hours after his return from Frankfort, 
a detailed account of the assassination, and in conclusion said, 
''Don't speak of this before Ann, you know what a talk has 
been about Sharp and her, none of the people about here talk 
to us about him, they all think he was the cause of her leaving 
society." 

There has been a doubt in the minds of some, as to 
w^hether or not the alleged confession of Beauchamp was made 
by him; but it is perfectly evident from the facts disclosed in 
the damage suit of Darby vs. Jereboam Beauchamp, uncle of 
the assassin, that Beauchamp did make the confession, which 
was given to the public at that time. Darby not only sued 
Col. Beauchamp, but he also brought suits for libel against Dr; 
Leander Sharp, Mrs. EHza T. Sharp, and Amos Kendall. The 
three last named cases were tried in the Woodford Circuit 
Court on a change of venue. 

The depositions of Ben Hardin, General Andrew Jackson, 
and Governor Desha Avere taken as witnesses in tliese cases, all 
of which arc on file in the clerk's office of the Woodford Circuit 
Court. 

Jereboam 0. Beauchamp was the second son of a man 
who owned a small farm and a few slaves, his father gave him 
a good English education. Young Beauchamp tried merchan- 
dising, and afterward school teaching, and at the age of eigli- 
teen commenced the study of law at Glasgow, Kentucky, where 
he became acquainted with Col. Sharp. While Bcaucham]) 
was at Glasgow, Miss Ann Cook purchased a small farm in 
Simp.son county, about a mile from the home of ]^eaucham]i's 
father, after his return to his home, he persisted in calling (»ii 



THE HISTORY OP FRANKLIN COUNTY. 83 

her, and in a ^^hort time lie I'uund himself desperately in love 
\vith her; he solicited her hand in marriage, she refused him, 
but afterward said she would marry him upon the condition 
that he would kill Sharp ; Beauchamp agreed to her proposition, 
and he came to Frankfort for that purpose in the fall of 1821, 
but his plans failed and he returned to his home without accom- 
plishing what he came for. 

In the year 1824, Beauchamp became of age, and about 
that time was admitted to the bar, and in a short time there- 
after, (June, 1824), he and Miss Cook were married. He came 
to Frankfort after dark on Sunday night, November 5th, 182-"); 
after considerable effort he secured a room at Joel Scott's, who 
was at that time warden of the penitentiary; he brought with 
him a mask, two pairs of yarn socks, and some old clothes ; he 
slipped out of his room early in the night, hid his shoes, coat 
and hat down on the river near the foot of Mero street, and' 
waited there until about two o'clock in the morning. 

In his confession, he describes the circumstances of the 
nuu'der as follows: "I put on my mask, drew my dagger, and 
proceeded to the door, I knocked three times loud and quick. 
Col. Sharp said: ''Who's there"— "Covington," I replied, 
quickly Col. Sharp's foot was heard upon the floor, I saw un- 
der the door he api)roachcd without a light, I drew my ma.sk 
from my face, and immediately Col. Shar]) opened the door, I 
advanced into the room, and with my left hand I grasped his 
right wrist, the violence of the grasp made him spring back, and 
trying to di-sengage his wrist, he .said, ''What Covington is this," 
I replied John A. Covington, "I don't know you," said Col. 
Sharp, "I know John ^V. Covington." Mrs. Sharp appeared at 
the partition door, and then disappeared, seeing her disappear, I 
said in a per.suasive tone of voice, "Come to the light Colonel, 
and you will know me," and ])ulling him by the arm, he came 
readily to the door, and still holding his wrist with my left 
hand, I .stripped my hat and handkerchief from over my fore- 
liead, and looked into Col. Sharp's face. lie knew me the more 
readily I imagine, b}' my long, bu.shy, curly suit of hair. He 
.sprang back, and exclaimed in a tone of horror and despair, 
"(Ircat (!od it is him," and as he said that he fell on iiis knees. 



84 THE HISTORY OP FRANKLIN COUNTY. 

I let go his wrist, and grasped him by the throat, dashing him 
against the facing of the door, and muttered in his face, "die 
you villain." As I said that I plunged the dagger to his heart. 

The next morning Beauchamp left Frankfort, "when the 
sun was about half an hour high, reached his home on Thurs- 
day afternoon, and was arrested the afternoon of the next day. 
There were a large number of witnesses in the case, who came 
from all parts of the State. Beauchamp was prosecuted by 
Charles S. Bibb, (Prosecuting Attorney for this district), 
Daniel Mays, and Attorney General James W, Denny, he was 
defended by J. Lacy, Samuel Q. Richardson, and John Pope. 
Mr. Pope closed the argument for the defense. lie Ijecame so 
personal against Darby, that Darby attempted to assault him 
with his cane, and this little incident caused the wildest excite- 
ment, which resulted in a stampede from the court room. 

"The Patriot," of May 22nd, 1826, says, "During the 
whole of this tedious trial, the courthouse has been crowded 
with citizens and strangers, and the most intense interest is 
manifested by every person acquainted in the least with the 
history and progress of the prosecution. The trial has been 
managed on both sides with considerable ability, Avhich has 
much increased the public curiosity and interest." Beauchamp 
was on Friday, after an hour's consultation, found guilty by the 
jury. His wife on Saturday, was taken Ijefore the justices, on 
a charge of having been accessory to the murder, but was 
acquitted." 

Beauchamp was publicly hanged on Friday, July 7th, 
1826. At an early hour the drums were beating, and a large 
crowd of people from all sections of the country, filled tlie 
streets, and thousands surrounded the gallows, which was 
erected near where the Glenn's Creek road intersects the Ver- 
sailles road on what is now the F. M. I. property. Mrs. Beau- 
champ remained with him until just prior to his removal to 
the scaffold. Some days prior to this she had secured a vial of 
laudanum, which was divided between them, each of them 
took a dose, but it failed to have the desired effect, she then 
secured a case knife, and about ten o'clock in the morning, on 
the day of the execution, upon the urgent request of Mrs. 



THE HISTORY OF FKANKLIN COUNTY. ^5 

licuucliamp, the guard went up the hiddcr, and turned the 
trap door, when Beauchamp called to him, he immediately 
returned, and ]3eauchanip said, "we have killed ourselves," the 
guard then says that Mrs. Beauchamp had a knife in her 
hand which was bloody about half way up. It was found that 
Mrs. Beauchamp had a stab a little to the right of the centre of 
the abdomen, which had been laid bare for that purpose; she 
did not sigh or groan, or show any symptoms of pain. The 
guard asked Beauchamp if he was stabbed, he said "yes," and 
raised his shirt which had fallen oxqy the wound, he was stab- 
bed about the centre of the body, just below the pit of the 
stomach, but his wound was not so wide as that of his wife, 
Beauchamp said that he had stabbed himself first, and that his 
wife had taken the knife from him, and plunged it into her- 
self. 

Beauchamp was in a dying condition when he was taken 
to the gallows, he was too weak to stand while the rope was 
being adjusted aroinid his neck, he w^as held l)y two negro 
men, for that purpose. 

The Patroit says: "It was now half past twelve o'clock. 
Tile military were drawn up along Lewis street, and the alley in 
continuation which passes by the Jailer's house, surrounded by 
an immense crowd, all of whom were listening wuth intense 
interest to every rumor from the dying pair. As Beauchamp 
\vas too weak to sit on his cofHn, in a cart, a covered dearbon 
iiad been provided for his convenience to the gallows. He was 
now brought out in a Idanket and laid in it. At his jiarticular 
request, Mr. McInto.*<h (the Jailer) took a scat by his side. 
Some of the ministers of the gospel had taken their leave of 
him just as they were ready to start, he said in a severe tone, "I 
want to see Darby." He was asked why he wished to see 
Darby, he said "I want to acquit him." 

"The drums beat, and the military, and crowd moved up 
Clinton to Ann street, along Ann to Montgomery (Main) street 
at Weiseger's tavern, and up Montgomery street to the place 
of execution. 

Beauchamp and his wife died about the same hour, and 
were buried in the same grave at Bloomfield, Kentucky. Each 



86 THE HISTORY OP FRANKLIN COUNTY. 

of the three victims of this tragedy, had a wound located at al- 
most the same point in the body. 

Beauchamp and his wife, Col. Sharp and his wife, were 
members of the most prominent families in the State at that 
time. Col. Jereboam Beauchamp, the uncle of the assassin, had 
represented Washington County in the Legislature, and was 
at that time prominent in the political and social circles of 
the State. 

The Cook famih' was very wealthy and influential, Miss 
Ann Cook and her sister were noted belles, they traveled in 
elegant style with their servants and a team of four horses, 
and out-riders, they Avere educated, vivacious and fascinating 
and notwithstanding they were known as great gamblers, they 
were leaders in the society of the "four hundred." They were 
frequent visitors at Frankfort, and the^ never failed to visit 
the city during each legislative session. 

Dr. Leander J. Sharp's description of Miss Ann Cook (in 
his vindication of his brother) is not very complimentary to 
her, and does not accord in any way with the traditions con- 
cerning the Cooks. He says: "Ann Cook was then (1820) ac- 
cording to the fnost accurate information I can obtain, thirty- 
three or thirty-four years old, she was small in stature, prob- 
ably not exceeding ninety pounds in weight, had dark hair and 
eyes, dark skin, inclined to be sallow, a large forehead, slender 
nose, large mouth, large chin, face tapering downward, and 
lost her fore teeth, was stoopshouldered, and m no way a hand- 
some or desirable woman." 

Col. Sharp was thirty-eight years old when he was as- 
sassinated, he was raised on a farm, commenced to practice law 
at Bowling Green when he was nineteen years of age, four 
years later he was elected to the Kentucky Legislature, and from 
1813 to 1817 was a member of Congress. In 1818 and 1819 
he Avas again in the Kentucky Legislature, and was married 
to Miss Eliza T. Scott during that term, and moved to Frank- 
fort. He was appointed Attorney General in 1821, and re- 
signed in 1825, he was one of the great men which this State 
has produced, and had scarcely reached the prime of life when 
the tragic end came. Col. Sharp and his wife are buried in 



THE HISTORY OF FRANKLIN COUNTY. 87 

the Frankfort Cemetery, a square inarl>le shaft about ten feet 
tall, and each side about eighteen inches broad, marks their last 
resting place, on the west side of the shaft in this inscription: 
''Eliza T., wife of S. P. Sharp, died January 4th, 1844, in her 
4()th year," under which the following "Precious in the sight 
of the Lord, is the death of His saints," on the east side is: 
"Solomon P. Sharp was assassinated while extending the hand 
of hospitality on the morning of Noveml)er 7th, (should be 
6th,) 1825, and beneath this is, "What thou knowest not now, 
thou shalt know hereafter." 

General LaFayette visited Frankfort on May 14th, 1825. 
He came by way of Lexington, seven milit-ary companies, and 
a large number of private citizens in carriages, on horse-back, 
and afoot, met him on the Lexington road, and escorted him 
to the city, a grand dinner and public ball were given in his 
honor. 

The portrait of General LaFayette was painted by Mat- 
thew II. Jouett, and placed in the Hall of Representatives in 
1825, this portrait is still in a good state of preservation, it now 
hangs near the speaker's chair in the House of Representatives. 

Hon. Thomas Todd died February 7th, 1826, at a meet- 
ing of the members of the Frankfort Bar, convened at the of- 
fice of Jacob Swigert, Esq., for the purpo.se of testifying their 
respect to the memory of the deceased, John J. Crittenden be- 
ing called to the chair, and C. S. Bibb being appointed Secre- 
tary, the following preamble, and resolutions were unanimou.sly 
adopted: "The meml)crs of the Bar of the Federal Circuit Court, 
for the district of Kentucky, have learned with feelings of deep- 
est regret, that the Hon. Thomas Todd, Judge of the Supreme 
Court of the United States, and the Seventh Judicial Circuit, 
departed this life about three o'clock this morning: Therefore, 
Resolved, That in consideration of the acknowledged virtues, 
and distinguished talents, learning and character of the de- 
ceased, and the high respect and esteem entertained for him by 
tlio Bar. they will attend bis funeral on tomorrow, and wear 
crape on the left arm for the space of thirty days. 

C. S. Bibb, Secretary, John J. Crittenden, 

February 7th, 1826. Chairman. 



88 THE HISTORY OF FRANKLIN COUNTY. 

In the year 1826, there were 2,998 tithes assessed in the 
county. 

In 1827 Simeon H. Crane, a Presbyterian preacher located 
in Frankfort, he presented testimonials to the court, and was 
granted the right to perform the marriage ceremony. 

During the legislative term of 1827, a small part of Henry 
County was added to Franklin, this addition included ''All the 
inhabitants of Flat Creek, and LeCompte's bottom. During 
this session (1827) the county of Anderson was formed out of 
the counties of Franklin, ]\Iercer and Washington, Lawrence- 
burg had prior to that time been in Franklin County. Several 
sheriffs of Franklin, and at least one Representative of the 
county lived in that part which was cut off, to help form 
Anderson; this was the last section cut from Franklin to help 
form a new county. 

Simon Kenton visited Frankfort, in January, 1827, he was 
then about seventy years of age, he traveled from Urbana, 
Ohio, to Frankfort, on horse-back, when he reached the town 
a large number of people went to see him. His old clothes 
were soon replaced by good ones, he Avas taken to the House of 
Representatives, and introduced to the members of the Gen- 
eral Assembly. His land had been sold for taxes. The Legis- 
lature pa.ssed an Act releasing this land from taxation, and 
granting him a pension of $240.00 a year. The Act was ap- 
proved January 24th, 1827. 

There was also an Act of this session which granted to 
Samuel South the right to plead the loss of certain money, as 
an off set in the case of the Commonwealth against him, this 
suit was for money, which he claimed was burned, when the 
Capitol buildings were burned, in 1824, Samuel South being 
at that time State Treasurer. The State House was burned 
November 4th, 1824. (See chapter on State Capitols.) 

In 1828 there was "an Act to incorporate the Lexington 
and Frankfort Turnpike or Railroad Company." The road, 
was to be fifty feet in width, on which there was to l)e built an 
artificial road, at least twenty feet in width, of firm, compact 
and substantial materials, composed of gravel, pounded stone 
or other small hard substances, in such manner as to secure a 



THE HISTORY OF FRANKLIN COUNTY. 89 

good foundation, and an even surface. Gates were to be erected 
not closer than tive miles apart. 

Lewis Sanders, Jr., was elected county attorney for the 
year 1828. The court allowed one dollar per day for an ox 
team, when used on the county road. 

Durins; the year 1828, the bridge at Ilardinsville, between 
Franklin and Shelliy was relmilt by order of the county court. 
George Gill was the contractor and builder. 

In 1829 the county court elected Mason I^rown, Coiuily 
.Vttorney to take the place of Lewis Sanders, Jr. ^hison Brown 
continued in the otlice for several years, and was very active 
and efficient in looking after the county affairs. 

In 1830, John Brown was appointed Sheriff of the county, 
and John Mcintosh was re-elected Jailer. 

.\. State road was made in conformity to an Act of the 
Legislature from. Frankfort to Ghent, Kentucky. 

Patrick Major built a grist mill on Benson Creek opposite 
Buzzard's Roost. 

On motion of Edmund 11. Taylor, the county court 
granted him the right to establish a ferry from the west end 
of Broadway street, to the we.4 side of the river below the mouth 
of Benson, at the same pl'ace which was granted to Christoi)her 
Greenup in 1805, and was also granted the right to establish 
a ferry from said Broadway street to the west side above the 
mouth of Ben.son Creek. 

The members of. the Legislature from Franklin County, 
from 1820 to 1830, arc as follows: 

John II. Todd, 1820. 

Benjamin Taylor, 1821. 

Edward George, 1822. 

Humphrey ^hu'shall, 1823. 

William Hunter, 1824. 

John J. Crittenden, 1825-29-30-31-32. 

Lewis Sanders, 1826-1828. 

James Downing, 1827, 

The i)oi)ulation of Frankfort: 



In 


year 


In 


year 


In 


year 


In 


year 


In 


year 


In 


year 


In 


year 


In 


year 


In 


year 


In 


year 


In 


year 



90 THE HISTORY OF FRANKLIN COUNTY. 

1800 628 

1810 1,009 

1820 1,917 

1830 1,987 

1840 1,917 

1850 3,308 

1860 3,702 

1870 5,396 

1880 6,958 

1890 7,892 

1900 - 9,487' 

Daniel AVei^cger, the grandfather of tJeneral Daniel 
Weiseger Lindse}', and John B. Lindney, came to Franklin 
County in its very earl}^ history, he was recognized as one of 
the most substantial citizens of that period, for several years 
he was the clerk of the Franklin County Court, and for many 
years was connected in some way with every public improve- 
ment which was made in the city of Frankfort, and the county 
of Franklin; some of which improvements are still standing 
as monuments to his intelligence and integrity. In May, 
1826, Daniel AVeiseger was suggested as a proper person to 
be President of the Bank of the Commonwealth : "The Patriot 
said of him at that time, "Who is it that does not know Daniel 
Weiseger? lie has grown with Frankfort; his moral character 
is above suspicion, his integrity proverbial. He had by his in- 
dustry amassed a handsome pro[)crty, most of it has been swept 
from him to pay the debts of friends, to whom he had lent his 
name as security. He has raised a large famil}' of children, 
who are now supported by his unyielding industry; he has 
<i high claim upon the town of Frankfort, nay the county and 
State, for his public spirit and liberality. His experience 
eminently qualified him for the duties of the office. Every- 
thing in the opinion of candid men con.spired to recommend 
him as a proper person to fill the vacancy." 

Daniel Weiseger died in Frankfort, February 22iid, 1829, 
and was buried in the Frankfort Cemetery. 



THE HISTORY OF FRANKLIN COUNTY. 91 

CHAPTER VIII. 

Course of Events froin 1SI>0 to 1840. 

The rules governing Fiscal Court of the county in 1830 
were as follows : 

1st. The Jailer shall keep the court house clean, make 
fires and rin.<>; the bell at ten o'clock on each court day. 

2nd. After the bell has been rung the Sheriff shall call 
the Justices, not present. 

3rd. If three or more Justices attend, a court shall Ijc 
formed, the oldest in couunission taking the chair as Presi- 
dent. 

4th. The Sheriff shall attend and open court and see 
that good order is i:)reserved during its sitting. 

oth. Any person wishing to make a motion to the court 
shall by himself or attorney respectfully address the presiding 
Justice. 

6th. The President shall keep a docket of all motions 
and those first made shall have precedence unless the partic-; 
or some of them be females, in which case their business shall 
be first in order. lie shall propound all questions to the court 
and take their opinions thereon. He shall not have a vote, un- 
less in case of an equal division of the court, and in that 
event, he shall give the casting vote. 

7th. It shall be deemed a breach of good order for any 
member of the court to pronounce an opinion in his place or 
to hold any communication with parties in court, other than 
through the President, or leave their seats without his i)ormis- 
sion. 

8th. The Clerk shall record the proceedings of the court 
as directed by the President and shall make no entry unless 
directed Ity him. 

The period from 1830 to 1840 was productive of more in- 
ternal improvements for the County of Franklin than was any 
other decade during that century. It was an era of McAdam 
roads, railroads and slack water navigation. On April 8th. 



92 THE HISTORY OF FRANKLIN COUNTY. 

1834, .several gentlemen were elected and constituted a board of 
internal improvements for the County of Franklin, consisting 
of Jcptlia Dudley, E. P. Johnson, Clias. S. Morehead, Jamerson 
Samuel and Philip Swigert. 

In 1831, Massie Franklin was appointed a Captain of Pa- 
trols in the town of Frankfort, and Joseph Clark, Avho was a 
fr'on of Matthew Clark, was appointed Sheriff of the county, in 
the place of his father, who died before his term of office ex- 
pired; he came into court on several occasions and offered to 
qualify, and each time was refused. He appealed to the courts 
and in 1834 the Court of Appeals affirmed his appointment. 
In the meantime Lewis P. Major was appointed and acted 
Sheriff of the cownty. In this year Alexander W. Macklin was 
a constable of the county and John J. Marshall kept a tavern. 

On December the 19th of this year, John H. Hanna, J. 
Dudley and J. J. Marshall conveyed to the county of Franklin, 
a lot on St. Clair street, known as the J. Dudley Plank lot; this 
is the lot U[)on which the present court house was erected in 
1835. 

In June, 1832, it was ordered that the plan submitted Ijy 
Gideon Shryock for a new court house be ado])ted. Gideon 
Shryock was also the architect who drew the plans and was 
the general superintendent of the old Capitol building which 
was completed in 1820. 

It was ordered that James Shannon, Chas. S. Morehead 
and Henry Wingate be appointed commissioners to superintend 
the erection of the court house. The building was completed 
in 1835, but the county did not pay for it, in full, until 1840. 
The structure was of stone, two stories high, with four stone 
columns in front. The court room, the Justices' othce and 
Slieriff''s office were on the first ffoor, the jury rooms were on the 
second ffoor. There have l)cen only a few changes in it since 
that time, until" 1900. A few years prior to 1900 there was a 
movement inaugurated to erect a new building, l)ut the county 
had reached the limit of indebtedness as prescribed by the Con- 
stitution of the State. The Court of Appeals rendered an opin- 
ion on ]\Iarch 25th, 1909, which declared that the County 
Court could not issue bonds for that purpose, unless authorized 



THE HISTORY OP FRANKLIN COUNTY. 93 

by a majority of the votes in the county. After this decision the 
County Court undertook to repair the ohl buihhng, at an ex- 
penditure of about $40,000. The back end of the ohl buibhuLi; 
was torn away and the side walls extended l)ack thirty feet, and 
the offices for county ofHcials are located on the first floor; the 
back rooms were constructed of concrete and these fire proof 
rooms used for the County and Circuit Clerks^ offices. The top 
was taken oft' and the walls extended nj) a])out three feet and the 
court room located on the second floor, the court room is a])out 
the same size of the old room, but it is well ventilated with 
plenty of light. The plan of architecture is very old, but the 
building is comfortable and convenient and it is quite a hand- 
some structure. 

In 1831, there was an act of the Legislature to incorporate 
the trustees of Mount Pleasant schoolhouse in Franklin County ; 
Scott Brown, Thomas Parker, Benedict Carlisle and John B. 
Crockett were the incorporators. At the same ses.sion there 
was an act to incorporate the Frankfort and Lexington Turn- 
pike Road Company; John J. Crittenden, Samuel P. Weiseger, 
Churchill Samuels and Aml)rosc AV. Dudley were some of the 
incorporators. 

The turnpike company for the Georgetown and Frankfort 
road and for the Frankfort, Lexington and Versailles road 
were .also incorporated at that session of the Legislature. Tlie 
Legislature appropriated $25,000 with which to help build the 
Frankfort, Lexington and Versailles road. 

In 1832, there was a ferry establi.shed by Swigert, Milam 
and LIumphries across from the South end of Washington 
street, to what is now the city scliool property. In 1833, Rev. 
P. S. Fall was principal of the ''Female Eclectic Institute" near 
Frankfort. Lewis R. Major owned a farm of 375 acres on the 
Lexington road, three and one-half miles from Frankfort, on 
which he had a hor.se mill and a distillery, at which he made 
one barrel of whi.skey per day; this is the farm on whicli Col. 
Cha.s. E. Hoge resides. 

The Lexington and Ohio Railroad whicli is now the Louis- 
ville and Nashville, was surveyed in 1830, the survey of the 
route showed the altitude of Lexington to be four bundled 



94 THE HISTORY OF FRANKLIN COUNTY. 

and thirty feet above that of Frankfort. On Oct. 22nd, 1831, 
the first sill for the laying of rails for this road was placed, in 
the presence of a large concourse of citizens and strangers. 
The road was built in 1832-3-4. It was completed to the t-jp 
of the hill known at that time as the incline plane, which was 
about one mile from the city (it is now within the city limit.?} 
in 1834. 

The road was opened for travel .from Lexington to Frank- 
fort about the first of January, 1835. Horse power was first 
u.sed. 

The Commonwealth, dated January 2nd, says, "On Tues- 
day last, the railroad was opened from the City of Lexington 
to the head of the incline plane which is about one mile dis- 
tant from town. Two cars filled with gay and delighted pas- 
sengers traversed the whole line with great ease and celeiity. 
On the arrival of the cars at the head of the plane a salute was 
fired by the citizens in honor of the event. The fir.st cars were 
drawn by horse power. The locomotive engine designed for 
this road was brought to Frankfort by the boat "The Argo,*' 
in a .short time after the road was opened for transportritiori. 
On January the 31st, the Commonwealth stated that the loco- 
motive arrived at the head of the plane on Tuesday morning, 
January 25, having performed the trip from Lexington in two 
hours and twenty-nine minutes. It was now permanently 
placed on the road. In a few days Frankfort and Lexington 
w411 be only one hour a part. Frequent accidents occurr.^'1 on 
the road, caused, largely by the insecure method of tieing the 
rails, which consisted of a thin piece of iron about three indies 
wide and about one-half of an inch thick, spiked to large s^)n.es 
laid lengthwise, .sometimes one of these iron bars would become 
detached at one end and would run through the floor of ihe 
car, and sometimes on through the top of the car. On March 
23rd, 1836, a very serious accident occurred about two nules 
east of Frankfort, the locomotive with the tender was thro vn 
off the track and precipitated over the embankment which 
was about thirty feet high, and carrying with it the passenger 
car. A Mr. Tinder, of Woodford, and Mr. Will.><on, of ^Nladi- 
son, Ind., were in.stantly killed and a child of Mr. TnU died 



THE HISTORY OF FRANKLIN COUNTY. 95 

a short time after the accident. Nearly all of the pa.s^:on'j;ev.s 
were injured, four of whom were dangerously so. The cuiiso 
of the accident was attributed to the great speed at which the 
train was going, all the passengers united in the statement 
that the car was moving with very rapid velocity varying in 
their estimates at from twelve to fifteen miles per hour. 

The contractors while constructing this road worked al)Out 
seven hundred men, with the necessary teams, carts and ma- 
chinery; some sections of it have been preserved in the Ken- 
tucky State Historical rooms. The construction and operation 
of it was the l)eginning of a new era in the County of Franklin 
and the City of Frankfort. The company had a great deal of 
trouble in securing their right of way and. it was only .secured 
after many months of costly litigation. 

The running of steam cars was of great interest to the peo- 
ple of Franklin county, they would go for miles to see one pass. 
After the line was completed from Louisville to Frankfort, one 
of the first passenger cars came up on Sunday morning, it 
passed the North Benson Baptist church while llie Rev. Frank 
Hodges was preaching, when his congregation got up to see it, 
he announced that the congregation was dismissed for a few 
moments and he went out with his auditors to see the train: 
after it had pa.ssed, they all went back and the preacher finished 
his discourse. 

Steamboats did a flourishing bu.siness on tlie Kentucky 
river during this period. The iVrgo was designed and built 
for the Kentucky river trade and it made regular trips between 
Frankfort and Louisville. It was in commission from about 
1832 to 1840. The new light draught upper cabin steamboat, 
Plough Boy, was placed in the Kentucky river trade in 18:>4, 
with J. C. Llarris as captain. The Clinton was placed in the 
same trade about the same lime. The Eagle was placed in tlie 
Frankfort and Louisville trade in 1837. The John Armstrong 
and The Frankfort, both of them new boats, which were built 
especially for the Kentucky river trade, Avere placed in the 
Frankfort and Loui.sville trade in 1839. The lock and dam 
in the Kentucky river, known as lock No. 4, was built by the 
Connnonwealth of Kentuckv during this decade. Tt is located 



96 THE HISTORY OF FRANKLIN COUNTY. 

a few hundred yards below the city Hmits. The lock walls 
measure two hundred feet in length and thirty feet perpen- 
dicular. They were finished in the very best style, the material 
is of gray limestone, quarried in the immediate vicinity. The 
lock with the dam cost the State $120,000. The dam affords 
slack water navigation for steam boats of 200 tons, for fifteen 
miles above Frankfort. The lockage was completed and naviga- 
tion opened February 18, 1840. By act approved March 22, 
1880, Kentucky granted to the United States government all 
rights to control the navigation and improvement of the Ken- 
tucky river. 

During this period of her histoiy Frankfort was known 
as a manufacturing center. Almost everything was manufac- 
tured by her enterprising citizens. Some of the things made 
at that time are as follows : 

Glass, shoe brushes, counter l)rushes, hacklers, files, log 
chains, harrow teeth, ox rings, staples, pot hooks, drawing 
chains, axes, sixth chains, streaches, hoes, plough shares, irons, 
grid irons, scrubbing Ijrushes, plough devices, Avhitewash 
brushes, whet stones, copper hooped cans, wash coolers, still- 
yards, cut nails, brads, boxes, boxes for sardines, tomb tops, 
monuments, bagging, rope, jeans, linsey, iron and castings, 
flour, meal, pork, all kinds of lumber of every description, pork 
barrels, lard kegs, wagons, carts, steamboats, etc. A. W. Dud- 
ley manufactured carpet filling and chain, spun cotton, candle- 
wicks, bats, twisted thread, etc. In 1833 Thomas McvTain 
manufactured stoves, stove pipes and tallow candles. In 1836 
John D. McGee and John C. Melcher put a sheet iron manufac- 
tory in operation. They manufactured stoves and all kinds of 
tin ware. Their establishment was on St. Clair street, two 
doors north of Main street. 

During the same year the Franklin Paper Mill, three 
miles from Frankfort, on main Elkhorn, was placed in opera- 
tion. This mill was run by E. H. and S. Steadman. They 
manufactured every description of paper of the best quality. 
They shipped the manufactured products from this mill to all 
sections of the country. They paid good prices for clean cot- 
ton and linen rags. 



THE HISTORY OF FRANKLIN COUNTY. 97 

In 1837, Mr. David McChesney established a coach manu- 
factory in Frankfort, which proved to l)e a very successful busi- 
ness for many years. There was also a chain factory in opera- 
tion in 1838. It was located on Montgomery (Main) street, 
nearly opposite the Weiseger House. It was run by Ambrose 
C. George. 

Cholera made its appearance in Frankfort on June 26, 
1833. The first person to die in the city was a negro, the prop-, 
erty of Mr. Philip Swigert, but there had been several deaths 
in the county prior to that time. Within three weeks after 
that seventeen per.^ons died in Frankfort of that dread disea-se; 
three white and seven colored died in North Frankfort, and 
four white and three colored in South Frankfort. During this 
.epidemic there were about one hundred and fifty deaths in the 
county. 

jNIargaret Arnold Cardwell, the youngest daughter of 
James Arnold, and the wife of John Cardwell, died of cholera 
at her home opposite the mouth of Glenn's Creek in August, 
1833. Tradition of the family says that she was a very hand- 
some woman, and that she was stronger than any ordinary man. 
She could stand with Ijoth feet in a half bushel measure and 
shoulder a sack with two bushels of wheat in it. 

In 1833 there wa.-^ an act providing for the election of a 
State Librarian and prescribing his duties, and appropriating 
$500 per year, for a |)criod of five years, with which to pur- 
cha.^e books, the imrchase to be made by the Librarian under 
the directions of the Court of Appeals. 

In the year 1834 an arsenal was built on the northeast cor- 
ner of the pnl)lic sqnare. Jame< Davidson, Thos. S. Page and 
Edmond 11. Taylor were the connnissioners who constructed 
it. A gun house, situated on the public square, was pulled 
down and the material used in constructing the arsenal. The 
cost of the erection was two thousand dollars. 

The 4th of July, 1834, was a great day fo*r Frankfort. The 
celebration was had at Cove Spring. Four thousand people 
were present. Four fat beeves were barbecued, and one hun- 
dred and forty lambs and .shoats. There were bacon and hams 
without number, and all other articles needful for a sumptuous 



98 THE HISTORY OF FRANKLIN COUNTY. 

feast. John J. Crittenden read the Declaration of Independ- 
ence, and Chas. S. INlorehead was toastmaster. There were peo- 
ple present from forty-two different connties in the State, be- 
sides many people from other states. Feasting and speech- 
making continued throughout the day. A New Englander, 
styling himself ''a Yankee," said in a letter dated July 3, 
1834: ''I rode from Lexington to this place today and have 
Been gratified for the first time since I left my native land 
with a view of New England scenery, its rocky hills, its lofty 
precipices, its deep luxuriant valleys, and its winding streams. 
Frankfort is fairly wedged in among the hills, except on one 
side, where the river meanders. But the town makes up for 
the oddness of its locality by its pleasant scenery and pleasant 
society. Tomorrow there is to be a great public festivity in 
this place called a barljecue. I anticipate great pleasure in be- 
ing present. As you are not acquainted with anything of this 
kind I shall favor you with a description. This .<^pecies of 
festivity had its origin in this State from circumstances con- 
nected with the history of the first settlement. The sparseness 
of the inhalntants, and at the same time their social disposition, 
led to neighborhood meetings, for the purpose of pleasure or 
of discussing local politics. The houses being too small to ac- 
commodate a large company, the only alternative was to seek 
a pleasant grove in the vicinity of a cool spring. Here rude 
tables were covered with the rich viands of the county, and 
after the repast was ended the young joined in a dance, wliile 
the old became sj^iectators of the lively scene." 

On Friday evening, July the 4th, he said: "I liave just 
returned from the barbecue, much amused and much fatigued 
with the day's excursion. It is raining in torrents. You may 
just fancy yourself in my company and we will take the trip 
over again. Without wading a mile through mud and water, I 
will place you at once upon the ground. You wonder at the 
multitude of people. I suppose there are three or four thous- 
and* You notice that inclosure with a crowd of anxious looking 
men around it — that is the bar, and within are several hogs- 
heads of that famous beverage called mint-julip. This is made 
by mixing in proper proportions sugar, Avater, ice, mint and 



THE HISTORY OF FRANKLIN COUNTY. 99 

old whiskey, l)ut I will not go into further particulars on the 
subject. 

"A call is made for a speech. As might be expected, this 
call is for John J. Crittenden. He is a favorite, and he well de- 
serves to be a favorite son of Kentucky. His personal appear- 
ance is good, his countenance, though dignified', is always 
lighted with a smile, and he possesses that peculiar power in 
oratory which can charm the learned and ignorant at the same 
time. His voice, though commanding, is rich and- mellow^ in 
its tones, and a multitude would stand by the hour gazing on his 
glowing countenance and hanging with breathless silence on 
his words as they leap apparently unbidden from his lips." 

On Feln-unry 'ioth, 18:U, Hon. John Breathitt, Governor 
of Kentucky, died in the city of Frankfort, of pulmonary con- 
sumjition. By his request his remains were buried in Logan 
County. The procession was formed at an early hour, and 
moved from the capital to the (lovernoii's mansion, where it was 
joined by the military. The religious ceremonies w^cre per- 
formed by Dr. Noel and the Rev. Thornton Mills, after which 
the procession moved in the following order: 1st. The military. 
2d. The joint conmiittee on arrangements. 3d. The acting 
Governor and Secretary of State. 4tli. The physicians. 5th. 
The Rev. Clergy. 6th. The pall-bearers, con.sisting of four 
meml)ers of (he State Senate and eight members of the House, 
with the corpse. 7th. The relations of the deceased. 8th. The 
Senate, preceded by its Speaker and Clerk. 9th. The House 
of Represenalivcs, ])receded by its Speaker and Clerks. 10th. 
The government officials. 11th. Citizens and strangers. The 
procession was the largest which had ever been .•^een in Frank- 
fort. All the business houses were closed and great sorrow \)ve- 
vailed. After arriving at the farthest limit of South Frankfort 
the procession returned. The corpse was attended by citizens 
on horseback until it arrived at the county line, where a num- 
ber of citizens of Anderson county received it and accompanied 
it to the Mercer county line. 

In 1834 The Frankfort Lyceum was organized, with 
Charles G. Wintersmith as secretary. In 1835 John J. Critten- 
den resigned the office of magistrate. David A\%iits was ap- 



100 THE HISTORY OF FRANKLIN COUNTY. 

pointed Sheriff, and John Buford was elected Jailer. In 1837 
John D. Woods ^Yas appointed police judge of Frankfort. There 
was a never failing stream of water on the corner of Ann and 
Broadway streets, near where the Kendall property now stands. 

In 1838 Edward S. Coleman was appointed Sheriff and' 
Morgan B. Chinn became Jailer. In 1839 John C. Herndon 
became the County Attorney, and in 1840 John Watson Ijccame 
the Sheriff. 

In 1837 small pox became prevalent in Frankfort, and in 
some sections of the county during that summer deaths oc- 
curred from its ravage. On Sunday morning, July 23, 1834, 
the middle arch of the St. Clair street bridge, Avhich was then 
in the course of construction, gave way and all that part of the 
structure was precipitated into the river. The damage was so 
great that the company had to construct entirely a new bridge. 
On December the 26th, 1835, the middle span of the bridge 
fell a second time, the structure had been completed and had 
been in use just eight days when it fell, two wagons with their 
drivers and teams and six colored men were on the bridge at the 
time it fell. The wagons and teams were lost and two colored 
men were killed. One of the negroes belonged to Mr. Williams 
and was instantly killed. The other, the property of William 
S. Waller, died in a short time after the accident. In 1835 
there were three newspapers published in Frankfort, to-wit: 
The Commonwealth, The Frankfort Argus, and The Cross. In 
1837 there was a weekly paper edited and published by F. D. 
Pettit and J. H. Mayhall, which they called the Frankfort 
Farmer. 

There was an act of the Legislature ap]3rovcd February 
28th, 1835, which incorporated the town of Frankfort. This 
act defined the powers and duties of the officers of Frankfort, 
and granted many powers to the chairman and board of trus- 
tees. Prior to this date the town had been governed by the 
laws enacted by the Virginia Legislature, and under whicli the 
town of Frankfort was established. 

In February, 1835, Samuel Q. Richardson, a prominent 
lawyer of Frankfort, was shot and killed by John U. Waring 
on the steps leading to the second floor of the Mansion 



THE HISTORY OF FRANKLIN COUNTY. 101 

House. The Legislature was in session at that time, and the 
killing of such a prominent man as Mr. Richardson created the 
wildest excitement. Samuel Q. Kichardson had defended J. O. 
]5eauchamp for killing Col. Solomon P. Sharp in 1825, at 
which time he severely criticised the conduct of John U. War- 
ing, in reference to that assassination, and after the trial was 
over Waring threatened to kill Richardson, but he did not 
carry out the threat until ten years later. Waring waived his 
examining trial, but he made a long speech before the examin- 
ing court justifying the killing on the ground that Richard- 
son had made threats. Waring was committed without bail, 
lie spent three years in jail and was tried three times. The 
first and second trials resulted in a hung jury c;icli time. On 
the last trial he was acquitted. Richardson was not arme 1 at 
the time he wa.s killed. His remains were buiij.l at Lexing- 
ton, Ky. 

The name of John U. Waring appears for the iii'.~i lime on 
the criminal records of the county in 1818. At every term of 
the court after that for a quarter of a century he appeared as a 
defendant. He was before the court on peace warrants, almost 
without number. John U. Waring was a lawyer of some 
ability. For many years he owned a farm, which was after- 
wards known as that of R. K. Woodson, located on the Ken- 
tucky river across from the Big Eddy, he had a fine vineyard 
on it; he owned property in Frankfort and Versailles. He was 
prosecuted for the crime by Mason Brown and Lewis Sanders, 
Jr. He was defended by Frank Johnson, John J. Crittenden 
and Thos. F. Marshall. 

On Saturday, the 7th day of March, 1845, John U. War- 
ing was killed in Versailles, Ky. The Frankfort Common- 
wealth said of him: "Mr. Waring was himself a man of des- 
peration and violence. He it was who slew the late Samuel Q. 
Richardson and he had been engaged in many a bloody en- 
counter; indeed we can scarce remember when he was not 
notoriously at deadly feud with reputable citizens and he was 
commonly regarded as an enemy of mankind, having made 
few friends and many bitter foes." 

A postmortem examination disclosed the fact that the 



,102 THE HISTORY OF FRANKLIN COUNTY. 

bullet bad passed through his head, down his throat and had 
lodged in his lungs. It also disclosed a further fact long sus- 
pected, that he wore a strong coat of mail made of steel ; he was 
shot from the garret of Shelton's tavern, a rifle was found there 
bearing marks of recent use. It was thought by some, that the 
son of the Jailer of Woodford County killed him, as that young- 
man left in a short time after the killing. It seems that no 
special effort was made to locate the assassin, as it was generally 
considered that the country w^as well rid of such a bad char- 
acter. 

The attorney's at law living in Frankfort and practicing 
their profession in 1835, were: Thos. B. Monroe, John J. Mar- 
shall, Victor Monroe, Chas. S. Morehead, James T. Morehead, 
Mason Brown, Samuel Todd, Benj. F. Hickman, John L. 
Blaine, John C. Crittenden, Wm. H. Todd, Humphrey Mar- 
shall, Jr., Thomas N. Lindsey, William G. Talbott, W^illiam 
Owsley, Uriel B. Chambers, Austin P. Cox, O. G. Cates, John 
J. Crittenden, J. Swigert, James G. Dana, Benjamin G. Burks, 
Richard F. Richmond, Chilton Allen and Landon Thomas. 

At an election of Trustees for the town of Frankfort in 
1836, Philip Swigert was elected chairman, J. J. Vest, A. G. 
Hodges, G. E. Russell, Joseph W. Allen, James Shannon and 
Austin P. Cox were elected trustees and John C. Herndon was 
elected clerk. 

In 1836, the high school which had been taught by the 
Rev. Wm. Purvance and the one taught by L. B. Nash were 
merged into one, which was called the Frankfort Academy. 
Mr. B. B. Sayre was one of the teachers in this academy; he 
afterwards became one of the most celebrated teachers in Ken- 
tucky. His influence has been felt, perhaps, more than any 
other one man who has lived in the State. He came from Vir- 
ginia about 1835. He taught for many years. Pupils from 
all sections of the country came to him. For some years he 
taught where the Episcopal church now stands. From about 
1842 to 1848, he taught in the building now known as the 
Lindsey law office on the corner of Main and St. Clair streets. 
He afterwards taught where Mr. J. A. Scott resides. He went to 
the Kentucky JNIilitary Institute in 1863, but taught there only 



THE HISTORY OF FRANKLIN COUNTY. 103 

a short lime. He died in Frankfort April 28tli, 1879, and is 
hurie.d in the south west corner of the Frankfort cemetery. A 
few men of note who were taught hy him are as follows: Gen. 
George B. Crittenden, Gen. Thos. L. Crittenden, Col. Eugene 
Crittenden, Gov. T. T. Crittenden, of Missouri; United States 
Senator Geo. Vest, U. S. Senator J. C. S. Blackburn, State 
Senator James Blackburn, ^Ir. John B. Lindsey, Gen. D. W. 
Liiulsey, Judge P. U. Major, Col. S. I. M. Major, and many 
other men who have been important factors in the government 
of both State and Nation. 

The fourth of July celel)rati()n in 183G was held at "Stony 
Point" (on top of Fort Hill) ; a barbecue dinner was prepared 
for the hundreds who attended. John F. Levy read the Decla- 
ration of Independence and B. B. Sayre delivered the chief 
oration. Col. Peter Dudley and Col. John Woods were the 
marshals of the day and had charge of the immense parade. 
Orlando Brown, Lewis Saunders, Jr., Chas. S. Morehead, Col. 
R. F. Richmond and Col. E. H. Taylor responded to toasts on 
that occasion. 

A public dinner was given to the Hon. John J. Crittenden 
at Bellepoint (Todd's spring), July 23rd, 1836; about five hun- 
dred people were present. Toasts were responded to by John 
J. Crittenden, James T. Morehead, B. B. Sayre and others. 

Hon. Daniel Webster and family arrived in Frankfort on 
Friday evening, ^Liy 31, 1837, and left for I^ouisville on the 
following Monday morning. The citizens of Frankfort joined 
in giving him a hearty welcome, and all were anxious to see a 
man of such prominence. He was received a few miles from 
town by a committee of citizens on horseback, who escorted 
him to the residence of the Hon. John J. Crittenden, whose 
liou.se was his home while he stayed in Frankfort. On Satur- 
day he attended a barbecue which was prepared on the banks 
of IClkhorn, with the expres-^ed design of enabling him to see 
"Old Kentucky as she is." He there met with citizens of all 
jxnrties who extended to him a hearty welcome. He made a 
s[)cecli on that occasion which won for him the admiration and 
jgood will of all who heard him. The day w^as one which was 
long rcmcmljered by the citizens of Franklin County. 



104 THE HISTORY OF FRANKLIN COUNTY. 

The Fourth of July celebration for 1837, was held in the 
Capitol building. Orations were delivered by Thomas B. 
Stephenson and Col. Victor Monroe, after the orations the com- 
pany repaired to Fort Hill where they partook of an excellent 
barbecue, after which several toasts were responded to. The 
Hon. Jas, T. Morehead presided as Toast Ma.ster. 

Hon. John Brown died at his residence in Frankfort, Ky., 
on the morning of August 29th, 1837. He was the son of the 
Rev. John Brown and Margaret Preston. He was born in Vir- 
ginia, September 12th, 1757, and for two years he was the 
assistant of Dr. Waddall in a private school, after which he be- 
came a student at Princeton College and was there when the 
college was broken up by the Revolutionary war. Subsequent 
to this he volunteered in a company for the purpose of aiding 
Lafayette in his military operations in Virginia, after which he 
entered William and Mar}^ College and after leaving there he 
commenced the study of the law in the office of Thomas Jeffer- 
son. Upon completing his legal studies he emigrated to Ken- 
tucky in the winter of 1782, and he continued to live in Ken- 
tucky until his death fifty-four years later, tie was prominent 
in the events which preceded the separation of Kentucky from 
Virginia and no one contributed more than he to procure for 
Kentucky the full benefits of an unobstructed use of the Mis- 
sissippi river. In the year 1785, he was elected Senator in 
the Virginia Legislature from the district of Kentucky, and in 
1787, the Legislature elected him a member of the old Con- 
gress, by that election he became the first member ever sent 
from the western country to the Congress of the United States. 

Upon the formation of the new consitution he was elected 
one of the first Senators from Kentucky, which honor was 
three times, consecutively, conferred upon him by the State. 
He retired from public life about the close of the year 1805. 

In the year 1838, there were two bridge companies incorpor- 
ated, one with the expressed intention of constructing a bridge 
from Washington street to the south side near the mouth of 
Benson creek, and the other to build a bridge across from the 
foot of Ann street. There was also an act approved February 
the 1st, 1838, the preamble and a part of which is as follows: 



THE HISTORY OF FRANKLIN COUNTY. 105 

"Whereas it is represented to the present General Assembly 
tliat it is tlio desire and intention of a mnnljer of individnals to 
establish a pnblic school suited to the wantti and conditions of 
all cUusses of the Commonwealth, in the town of Frankfort, and 
whereas the Frankfort Seminaiy has ))een pulled down and re- 
moved from the public square, thereby depriving the citizens 
of the only house of public instruction in said town as well as 
the entire loss of the proceeds of six thousand acres of land 
granted by the Legislature to the County of Franklin for 
seminary purposes; and whereas it is a matter of great import- 
ance to the public, that the town of Frankfort shall be supplied 
with water, as well for private as for public uses, and it is repre- 
sented to the General Assembly that the same can be done by 
conveying it from the Cove spring in the neighborhood of said 
town ; and that the security of the private and public buildings 
thereof would be greatly protected. Section 1 — Be it enacted 
by the General Assembly of the Connnonwealth of Kentucky, 
that it shall be lawful for Edmund H. Taylor, Philip Swigert, 
Thomas S. Page, jNIason Brown and John J. Vest to raise by 
way of lottery in one or more classes, as to them may seem 
expedient, any sum not exceeding one hundred thousand dol- 
lars to be appropriated, one-half for the use and benefit of a 
city school in the town of Frankfort, and the other half for the 
construction of such reservoirs, pipes, conductors, and other 
works, that may be necessary and proper to convey the water 
from the Cove Spring into said town, in such 'manner and 
quantities as the aforesaid persons may think suitable to the 
convenience of the }3eople of said town and the safety of the 
private and public buildings therein." The act further pro- 
vides that the managers shall execute a bond to the Common- 
wealth for a faithful discharge of their duties, and their powers 
are defined. The amount to be raised was to be paid to the 
Trustees and expended by them. 

The provisions of this act were carried out; that part in 
reference to the public school became the basis of one of the 
best public schools in the State, the interest on the money 
raised has been used to pay the running expenses of the 
city .school for three-quarters of a century. 



106 THE HISTORY OF FRANKLIN COUNTY. 

The proposed water works were completed in 1839, at a 
cost of about $38,000 and the city was supplied with water by 
reason thereof until the latest improved water works were com- 
pleted in 1886. At a meeting of the Board of Trustees of 
the town of Frankfort held on the 4tli day of November, 1839, 
it was unanimously resolved: ''That this Board entertains the 
highest respect for the integrity and moral worth of John 
Moore, Esq., and that they hereby tender him the individual 
thanks of the trustees and the acknowledgments of the citizens 
of the town for the faithful, skillful and workmanlike man- 
ner in which, as contractor for the water works, lie has intro- 
duced fresh water into the town of Frankfort." 

The pipes were supplied by a never failing spring known 
as Cove Spring, sufhciently elevated to throw the water into any 
building in the town. 

The city sold these water works to the Frankfort Water 
Co., in 1885, for the sum of $20,000 in cash and for other 
valuable considerations. 

The said company erected upon one of the hills south of 
the city two reservoirs of an aggregate capacity of live million 
of gallons, the flow line of which was two hundred and fifty 
feet above the intersection of Broadway and St. Clair streets. 
The pumping machinery has a capacity of delivering into the 
reservoirs 2,000,000 of gallons in twenty-four hours. The sup- 
ply of water is taken from the bottom of the channel of the 
Kentucky river some distance' above the sewerage of the city. 
The water mains are of the best quality of cast iron, tested to 
withstand a hydrostatic pressure of three hundred pounds to 
the square inch. 

The original cost of the construction of the said water 
works was $125,000, to which has been added many thousands 
of dollars for impro\-ements. Frankfort boasts of the best water 
works in the State. 

The Kentucky Historical Society was incorporated l)y 
act approved February 16th, 1838. The act names the in- 
corporators, empowers them to elect officers, make l)y-laws, 
select time and i)lace for holding meetings and defines their 
powers. The preamljle sets out in full the object of the society. 



THE HISTORY OF FRANKLIN COUNTY. 107 

This society was re-incorporated in 1880, and re-organized in 
1886. It wa.s not until 1906 that the State ,u;ave any substantial 
aid; at that time there was an act ap[)ropriatin<>; five thousand 
dollars per year and providing for stationery supplies for tlie 
society and providing for the publication of The Register ]Maga- 
zine of the society, the purchase of objects of historical interest, 
and the payment of a Secretary-Treasurer. 

The winter of 1838, was as delightful as any one could 
desire, there were neither snows, heavy rains nor hard freezes. 

Rev. Joseph J. Bullock, of Frankfort, was named by the 
Governor for the office of Superintendent of Public Instruction, 
in 1838. This was a new office created by the Legislature. 
Other appointments for Frankfort men made at that time by 
the Governor, were John M. Bacon to be police judge of Frank- 
fort, General Ambrose W. Dudley, Quartermaster General of 
the State of Kentucky and Hon. Jas. T. Morehead to be presi- 
dent of the Board of Internal Improvement. 

In the summer of 1838, the locust desolated the whole 
countrj^, they blighted the forests, herbs and fruits of the whole 
county. 

Mr. John Hoivie died at Frankfort September 26tli, 1838. 
He was born in Virginia; he lived in Frankfort about thirty 
years. He represented Franklin County in the Kentucky 
Legislature in 1835. He was a man of superior qualities of 
mind and heart. He was one of the very finest specimens of 
the "Old Virginia Gentleman," and that term applying as it 
did to him with all its force, conveys the most perfect idea of 
his life and character. He was the father of j\Ir. John and Col. 
Lewis Ilarvie, who lived to be very old men and who also be- 
longed to that old school of Virginia and Kentucky gentlemen. 
They died in Frankfort about the close of the hist century. 
Col. Lewis Harvie was small in stature; he was very courteous 
and no one doubted his courage. On one occasion Judge Wil- 
liam Lindsay w^as discussing some proposition before a Legisla- 
tive committee at the Capital H()t(>l, at which time he made a 
statement in reference to Col. Ilarvie and to which he took 
exceptions. He took his watch from his ])ocket and holding 
it before him, he said: ''Judge Lindsay, 1 will give you just 



108 THE HISTORY OF FRANKLIN COUNTY. 

three minutes in which to take back the statement which you 
have just made." Judge Lindsay had not thought of offend- 
ing Col. Harvie and he promptly said: "I don't want that much 
time, Lewis, I will take it back right now ;" this response raised 
a shout of laughter from those present, and each of the partici- 
pants in the controversy thought that the joke was on his op- 
ponent. 

On May the 9th and 10th, the first giraffe ever seen by the 
people of Frankfort was placed on exhibition ; at that time it 
was considered one of the most wonderful of living creatures. 
Thousands of people from all sections of the country came in 
to see it. It attracted the notice of the press to a very unusual 
degree. 

In 1839, Mr. Joseph Flood and Miss Eliza, Ann Major, 
daughter of Rev. John S. Major, were married. The Common- 
wealth said of her: ''We know that the happy bride has made 
a most seasonable choice and she is truly fortunate who has 
obtained,, in this time of unprecedented drouth, not a mere 
sprinkling, but a whole Flood for her portion." 

Governor James Clark died in Frankfort on the 27th day 
of August, 1839. There w^as a meeting of the citizens at the 
court house; Col. James Davidson was called to the chair and 
Hon. J. J. Crittenden, Col. R. F. Richmond and Orlando 
Brown were appointed a committee to prepare resolutions. His 
remains were accompanied from the Governor's Mansion to the 
top of the plain, by a large concourse of citizens on foot, in car- 
riages and on horseback, the whole being preceded by Capt. 
Lockwood's infantry company. At the top of the plain it was 
placed in a car and escorted to Lexington. 

On Tuesday night, August 27th, 1839, the whole world 
was gazing at the great beauty of the heavens, the Auora 
Borealis was brighter than was ever known before. The Com- 
monwealth said: ''The truth is, the imagination could not em- 
body in its conception such peerless splendor, and human 
language never had the power to describe it." 

The fourth annual fair of the Franklin Agricultural So- 
ciety was held near Luckett's Tavern, at the Forks of Elkhorn, 
commencing AVednesday, October 9, 1839. One of the first 



THE HISTORY OF FRANKLIN COUNTY. 109 

fairs in the State was held a short distance below Frankfort, 
near Leestown. The first mention made of it was in 1798, bnt 
evidently a fair had been held there some years prior to that 
time, and the grounds at that place were used for many years 
subsequent thereto. There was also a race course in connection 
with it. The exact location or length of same is not known, 
but it w^as used for many years. The county records show that 
there were several indictments^ against parties for unlawfully 
selling whiskey on the race course, and at the fair grounds. 
During the summer and fall large crowds of men and boys 
would congregate there on Sunday for the purpose of horse 
racing, foot racing, cock fighting and whiskey drinking, which 
would some times end in a free for all fight. These Sunday 
meetings continued until they became a nuisance and the police 
authorities put a stop to them. The Franklin Association held 
a fair there annually until a new race course and fair grounds 
were constructed near the Forks of Elkhorn, which were used 
for nearly half a century. The buildings on these grounds were 
destroyed by fire a short time prior to 1860. These grounds 
were located on the farm owned l)y Col. Steve Black in 1909, 
a short distance from the Forks of P]lkhorn. The fairs held 
there were attended by people from all sections of the State. 
The race course was a mile in length and was one of the most 
noted in the State. Some of the best horses of that day were 
run on it. It was known as the Capital Course. The adver- 
tisement of this course in the year 1840 was as follows: "Ca])ital 
Course Races." 

Races over the Capital Course will conunence on Wednes- 
day, the fith day of May, 1840, and continue four days. 

First Day — Cooper Stake, a silver pitcher, value $100, and 
$100 entrance, mile heats, closed with the foll,owing subscrib- 
ers: W. W. Bacon, J. W. Fenwick, Col. Wm. Buford, Capt. 
J. A. Ilolton, Sidney Burbridge, Capt. Wm. J. Harris and 
Benjamin Luckett. 

Second Day — Weiseger Stakes, three mile heats, purse 
$300. 

Third Day — Two mile heats, silver pitcher, value of $100. 



110 THE HISTORY OF FRANKLIN COUNTY. 

Fourth Day — A post stake, free for all, $50 entrance fee. 

A. W. LOCKWOOD, 

Treasurer. 
H. BLANTON, Secretary." 

In 1836 the third annual fair of the Agricultiu'al Society 
was held on October 10th and 11th, one mile and a half }ast of 
Frankfort, on the farm of Isham Talbott, deceased. Tln^ lo- 
cation was a very favorable one, having every accommodation, 
etc. A public dinner and addresses were some of the attrac- 
tions named. This place is known as the Dudley farm and is 
owned by the State in connection with the Colored Normal 
School. In 1S74 there was a fair held at what is known as 
Woodland Park. In the years 1875-1880, inclu.sive, fairs were 
held at the R. P. Pepper race course and were largely attended. 
The colored people had a successful meeting and a creditable 
fair at this place in 1909, and for several years prior thereto. 

A very successful fair was held in 1909, about one mile 
above Frankfort, on the Saffell farm. The grounds were lo- 
cated betweeji the Kentucky river and the Lawrenceburg road. 
Large crowds were in attendance and the fair was in every way 
a success. 

The following were the memljers of the House of Represen- 
tatives from Franklin Countv from 1830 to 1840: 

John J. Crittenden, 1830-1831 and 1832. 

John J. Marshall, 1833. 

Jamer.'^on Samuel, 1834. 

John Ilarvie, 1835. 

Dandridge S. Crockett, 1830. 

James T. IMorehead, 1837. 

Charles S. Morehead, 1838-1839 and 1840. 

The population for Franklin County in 1830 was 9,234; 
in 1840 it was 9,420. 



THE HISTORY OF FRANKLIN COUNTY. Ill 

CHAPTER NINE. 

Course of Events from 18-40 to 1850. 

In Order Book "]./' pages 22, 23, 24 and 25 of the Frank- 
lin County Court Clerk's ollice, there is a long report of Samuel 
Todd and S. I. M. Major, Commissioners, as to the condition 
of the County Clerk's office, giving the number and condition 
of books, deeds, mortgages, orders, wills, etc., also itemizing 
and giving the condition of all other records in the custody 
of the County Clerk. The report closes bj^ saying, ''The Clerk's 
oMIce is a small, one story building, very uncomfortable and 
unsafe; there is but one room and the floor of that very open, 
the walls verj'^ thin and slightly plastered." 

There was a large influx of foreigners, especially Irish, to 
the county of Franklin in the year of 1840; at this date Wil- 
liam II. Ilolman was the proprietor of the "Tavern on the 
Hill," which was located on the cemetery property, about four 
hundred feet from the entrance to the cemetery grounds. 

Henry Clay spoke in Frankfort on national affairs, Sept. 
2nd, 1840. Robert P. Letcher was inaugurated governor dur- 
ing this year. The address of welcome on the part of the city 
wa.s made by 15. B. Sayre, Capt. Lockwood's infantry and 
Capt. (ioram's cavalry, both of Franklin county were in the 
l)arade; "The old Thames cannon was brought out u])on that 
occasion and .^poke with her accustomed cheery voice." The 
Thames cannon was also known as the Burgoyne cannon. It 
is a relic of the revolutionary war and also of the war of 1812. 
It Avas captured at the Battle of Saratoga, from the British 
army under Gen. John Burgoyne, by the ^Vmericans under 
(ien. Gates, Sept. 10th, 1777, and afterwards wa.s surrendered 
to the British by General Hull August ItUh, 1812, and re- 
ca])tured by General Harrison and his Kentuckians at the 
battle of the Thames, October Oth, 1813. The cannon was 
jtresented to (iorernor Shelby and afterwards presented by him 
to the State of Kentucky. In 1909, Gen. P. P. Johnson, Adj. 
Gen. of Kentucky, placed it in charge of Airs. Jennie C. Mor- 



112 THE HISTORY OF FRANKLIN COUNTY. 

ton, Secretary of tlie Kentucky Hi.^torical Society. It is one 
of the most valuable relics now owned by the State. 

James Harlan, of Franklin County, was appointed Secre- 
tary of State by Governor Letcher September, 1840. 

The Legislature of Kentucky authorized a lottery drawing 
in the City of Frankfort for the benefit of the Shelby College. 
The drawing was at the Weiseger House October 14th, 1840, 
at 4 o'clock p. m. The payment of prizes was guaranteed by 
security, to the State; whole tickets sold for $3 and shares in 
proportion ; packages of twenty-six tickets were warranted to 
draw at least one-half the cost of them. 

The assessed valuation of the property in Franklin County 
at this time was a.s follows: There were 217,920 acres of land, 
which w^as valued at $1,777,089. There were 1,240 males over 
21 years of age. There were 2,593 slaves, which were valued 
at $982,400, and thirty-five stores valued at $114,740. The 
total valuation of all property was $4,096,066. Negroes made 
up about one-fourth of the assessed valuation of the county, 
the average assessment being $378.50. The barter and sale of 
negroes Avas greater than that of any other proi)erty, the news- 
papers of that period were full of such advertisements as the 
following: ''For sale — A very likely negro woman; a first-rate 
cook, washer, &c., and three children. Enquire at this office." 
"Negro girl for sale — I wish to sell a likely negro girl who is 
a good cook, washer and spinner; she is also honest." "The 
subscriber, living six miles south of Frankfort, near S'nitli 
Benson meeting house, has a very likely and intelligent 
mulatto boy, twelve years old, for sale; persons wanting such a 
boy would do well to call and see him, as I will sell a l)argain, 
for cash in hand." 

Hon. Geo. W. Craddock came to Frankfort in 1840 as a 
representative of Hart County. After his term of oflice ex- 
pired he located here and became one of the leading citizens 
and attorneys of the capitol city. He took an active part in 
the politics of the city and State. On one occasion a ma.>*s 
convention was held in Frankfort and several politicians tried 
to make speeches for their candidate, but the electors had con- 
verted themselves into a howling mol:), and they refused to 



THE HISTORY OF FRANKLIN COUNTY. 113 

listen to any orations on that occasion. Judge Craddock 
finally arose and commenced his address by saying: "Gentle- 
men and fellow-citizens, hoodlums and " After one pro- 
longed shout the crowd settled down and gave the judge a very 
respectful hearing. He married a Frankfort woman and they 
raised a large family of children. He died in Frankfort in 
189S. 

In 1840 Mr. James G. Dana, reporter of the Court of 
Appeals, died at his home in the City of Frankfort. For many 
years i\Ir. Dana was the editor of the Commentator, a news- 
paper published at Frankfort. He was distinguished for his 
al^ility as a newspaper man and as a lawyer. For many years 
he was the official reporter of the Court of Appeals, and the 
reports of that day bear his name. 

On the 15th of December, 1840, Maj. George Swingle died 
at his home in Franklin County in his 84t.h year. He was an 
acting major under General Washington in the revolution. He 
was never known to take ardent spirits. 

Hon. John C. Breckinridge was a citizen and resident of 
Frankfort for several years. His law office was on St. Clair 
street next to Mrs. Watson's boarding house. Gov. R. P. 
Letcher was located in Frankfort in 1845. His law office was 
on the west side of St. Clair street. 

Dr. Luke P. Blackburn was also located in Frankfort at 
that time. He and Dr. Churchill J. Blackburn were partners 
in the practice of medicine. Their office was in the building 
erected by Dr. W. L. Crutcher on St. Clair street. 

Prior to 1851 nearly all the traveling through the coun- 
try was either by stage coach or horseback. There was a stage 
which left Frankfort for Louisville every morning at 8. It took 
nine hours to travel from Frankfort to Louisville. The fare was 
$2. There was also a stage to arrive from Georgetown each 
morning. It returned at 2 p. m. There was one which left 
i'^rankfort for ]Madison three times a week; also one to Lexing- 
ton and Harrodsburg each morning. 

In 1841 there were steamboats run from Bowling Green 
by the way of Green and Barron river navigation, up the Ohio 
and Kentucky rivers to the capital, for the accommodation of 



114 THE HISTORY OP FRANKLIN COUNTY. 

the members of the Kentucky Legislature. This was con- 
sidered a revolution in the mode of travel between the two great 
divisions of the State. 

The steamboats which were in the trade between Frank- 
fort and Louisville during this decade were the Tom Metcalf, 
Bob Letcher, and The Ocean. The Blue AVing Avas built ex- 
pressly for the Kentucky river trade, and was placed in com- 
mission in 1845. The Sea Gull in 1847. The W. R. McKee 
in 1845. The Isaac Shelbj", Fashion and Kentucky about 1846. 
Other boats in the Kentucky river trade since 1850 were: The 
Planet, Little Ben Franklin, Oliver Anderson, Little Mail, 
Gray Eagle, Blue Wing No. 1, Blue Wing No. 3, Dove No. 1, 
Dove No. 2, The Wren, City of Frankfort, Lancaster, Honiet, 
Hibernia, Fannie Freeze, City of Clarksville, Falls City, Park 
City, and Nellie. There were two steamboats built at the mouth 
of Steamboat Hollow, a short distance below the City of Frank- 
fort. One was a sidewheel boat built in 1822 and was called the 
Plough Boy, and the other about 1830. It was built of locust 
and was called Locust Lexington. It was not used in the Ken- 
tucky river trade. 

In the year 1841 there were no lights of any description 
on the streets of Frankfort, except such lights as were carried 
by pedestrians. The sidewalks w'ere sadly out of repair, some 
were broken in places, sunken in others and covered by mud 
in many more. In many places there had never been any 
sidewalks constructed. Walking after night was exceedingly 
disagreeable, if not dangerous. The pavement in front of the 
Mansion House (McClure Building) was very bad. The post- 
office was located there at that time, and it was almost im- 
possible to get to the postoffice without wading ankle deep in 
mud and water. 

The Frankfort common school system was adopted in 
1840, and a tax of 45 cents on the hundred was authorized to 
be collected in 1841, and in November of that year the school 
went into operation. The following salaries were paid for the 
first ten months: Mrs. Price, for services and house, $750; 
Miss Mills, for services and house, $550 : Mr. Harris, for 
services, $550 ; Mrs. Harris, $170, and Mr. Cultcr, $270. 



THE HISTORY OF FRANKLIN COUNTY. 115 

The number of children taught the first year was 230, 
The trustees were J. Swigert, Thomas S. Theobald, A. P. Cox, 
II. Wingate and Thomas B. Stephenson, and L. Hord was 
clerk. All of these parties were re-elected in November, 1842, 
and a tax of 12 cents on the $100 was voted. 

In 1840 there was great doubt as to the exact location of 
the line between Franklin and Scott counties. By an act of 
the Legislature approved January 4th, 1841, Isaac Wingate 
and Willis Blanton of Franklin County, and two commis- 
sioners from Scott were appointed to re-establish the line. 
Doubt arose *as to where the line ran on account of the re- 
moval of trees and other objects which marked the line in the 
improvement of farms, etc. The starting point was the "eight- 
mile tree" on the road leading from Frankfort to Georgetown, 
and to run thence in a straight line so as to intersect the big 
Buffalo road between the head of Cedar creek and Lecompts 
run. The report of the commissioners was filed and recorded 
in both Franklin and Scott counties. 

In the year 1842 Philip Swigert, Henry Wingate, Or- 
lando Brown, Austin P. Cox, James Shannon, James F. Dryden 
and Thomas B. Stephenson were elected trustees of the City of 
Frankfort. Philip Swigert was chairman of the board. In 
the same year the old jail property on Mero street was ex- 
changed with Jacob Swigert for the ground on which the 
county and circuit clerks' office and the present jail were built 
and the contracts for building the county offices were entered 
into. 

John ^lorris was Sheriff in 1841. Peter Jott was assessor 
in 1842. Obcrson Lynn wa<^ Sheriff in 1843. 

On May the 14th, 1842, Hon. Frank Johnson died in 
Louisville, Ky. He served many years in the State Legislature 
and several terms as a member of Congress from Kentucky. 
He was a distinguished member of the bar. He was the chief 
attorney for John U. Waring, charged with the murder of 
Samuel Q. Richardson in 1835. He was a resident of Frank- 
foil for several years. 

On June the 3d, 1842, Scott Brown died at his home four 
miles above Frankfort near the Kentucky river, in his 77th 



116 THE HISTORY OF FRANKLIN COUNTY. 

year. For many years he was a magistrate of the county and 
for two years he was Sheriff. He came to Kentucky from 
Virginia in 1790, and settled in the southern part of the 
county. He bore his part in the labors and hardships of the 
pioneer. He was an upright, honest and useful citizen, be- 
loved and esteemed by all who knew him. He was not only 
a valuable and useful citizen, but he was a patriot and a soldier. 
He left several children, of whom Gen. Scott Brown and Judge 
Ruben Brown were a part. 

On October 26th, 1842, a Whig barbecue was held in 
Frankfo];t, which was attended by between 10,000 and 15,000 
people. The speakers' stand was in front of the old capitol 
building and the dinner was served on Market street. The 
meeting was presided over by ex-Governor Thomas Metcalf. 
Speeches were made by Col. Daniel Breck, of Richmond, Va. ; 
Henry Clay, John J. Crittenden, Judge Owsley, Gen. Leslie 
Combs, Hon. Garret Davis, Hon. John White, at that time 
Speaker of the lower house of Congress, and Congressmen L. 
W. Andrews, Chilton Allen, William J. Graves and James C. 
Sprigg. Several other members of Congress were present. 
About 1,000 Whigs from Jefferson and Shelby counties walked 
through the country to Frankfort in order to be present on that 
occasion. 

On Wednesday, January 4th, 1842, an earthquake was felt 
in Frankfort about 9 o'clock p. m., but no serious damage was 
done. 

Daniel H. Harris was postmaster at Frankfort from 1840 
to 1843. In 1843 Gen. William Hardin was appointed in his 
stead. 

There was a very severe wind, hail and rain storm on Sun- 
day, May the 28th, 1843; great damage was done to the whole 
country. A man by the name of Thomas was killed by a fall- 
ing tree, and a tree also fell on the Presbyterian church near 
South Benson and very materially damaged it. This stoi-m 
was long remembered in Kentucky as the most violent and de- 
structive which ever desolated the State. The destruction to 
the growing timber was great: nearly every tree on some farms 
was blown down; fences were blown away by the wind or 



THE HISTORY OF FRANKLIN COUNTY. 117 

washed away by the water. The rain was heavier at Frankfort 
than it was in any other section of the State. It was ascer- 
tained by nica.surernent that over six inches of rain fell, which 
wa.s one-sixth of the entire quantity of rain which falls in Ken- 
tucky in a year. 

Hon. John J. Crittenden returned to his home from St. 
Louis on July 4th, 1843. lie came all the way by water. He 
thought the rapidity of his transit was wonderful. It took him 
two days and twenty-three hours (71 hours) from the time he 
stepped on the boat at St. Louis until he landed at his door in 
Frankfort. Fifty years later it would have taken him about 
fifteen hours to make the trip. 

In 1843, A. W. Macklin built a mill dam across Elk- 
horn creek, nine feet high. This dam was built at the same 
place where Bennett Pemberton had built one many years be- 
fore and which was washed away. 

John M. Hewitt, who represented Frankhn County in 
the Kentucky Legislature in 1855-1857, was charged before 
the Legislature with having prostituted his official position of 
Judge as a means of private revenge, and of being guilty of 
judicial tyranny that ought not to be tolerated in a free coun- 
try. He was accused of being an extortioner, a claim shaver 
and usurer. 

The Frankfort Commonwealth, dated July 2nd, 1844, 
said: "Mr. Claj' (Henry Clay) wa.s in Frankfort Wednesday 
and Thursday of last week, in fine health and spirits. It is 
understood he came to pay his respects to his amiable and ac- 
complished friend, the favorite of every circle in which she is 
known, Mrs. Tubman, of Georgia, who entertained him with 
much courteous hospitality at her home during his late South- 
ern trip." 

In 1844, the Frankfort Bridge Company rebuilt the St. 
Clair street bridge. The Franklin County Court made an agree- 
ment with the bridge company to furnish six thousand dol- 
lars with which to help build the bridge, and in consideration 
of same the bridge company was to furnish free pa.'^sage to all 
horseback and foot travelers of the county for all time. The 
jji^i,;;|],i^^ bridge was completed in 1848. 



118 THE HISTORY OP FRANKLiN COUNTY. 

The most rapid growth of Frankfort at any time in her 
history prior to 1900, was from 1840 to 1845. Its population 
was doubled during those five years. 

In 1845 the "Grand Polka" and many other fashionable 
and beautiful dances were introduced in Frankfort. In that 
year P. & J. Swigert did a large and lucrative business in a 
pork slaughtering and packing establishment. On the 28th 
of November, 1845, seven hundred hogs were driven through 
Frankfort from Tennessee on their way to Cincinnati for 
slaughter. 

In 1844 the Board of Magistrates of Franklin County, 
elected William A. Goram Jailer of the county, and in a short 
time thereafter he became very intemperate and in 1845 the 
Court, ''for divers good causes to the Court appearing, it is 
ordered that William A. Goram be removed from the office of 
Jailer in and for the county of Franklin, and that Benjamin 
Luckett be appointed Jailer for said county." Mr. Goram 
was not satisfied with the order removing him. He took the 
case to the courts and the Court of Appeals on October 13th, 
1845, held that the magistrates had no right to remove him. 
The Board of Magistrates at that time consisted of the following 
members, viz: Samuel B. Crockett, James Shannon, John 
Thompson, Franklin Chinn, Samuel Bristow, Samuel B. Sco- 
field and Dandridge S. Crockett, was convened November 17th, 
and William Goram, by attorney', appeared, and offered to file 
the mandate of the Court of Appeals, and the Court said : 
"This day came again the parties by their attorneys, and the 
motion to enter the mandate being now fully heard and the 
court being fully advised, it is considered by the court that the 
motion be overruled." When giving the grounds on which 
the question was decided, the court said: "The governed can 
only preserve their liberty by a division of power, and making 
the several depositaries of authority guards and checks upon 
each other. In proportion to the concentration of controlling 
influence with a few or a single tribunal, however numerous, 
are the social and civil rights of man endangered. The late at- 
tempt of the Court of Appeals to seize upon the power con- 
fided by the Constitution of the State to the County Court 



THE HISTORY OF FRANKLIN COUNTY. 119 

relative to the office of Jailer impels us to protest against such 
usurpation and declare the grounds of our resistance." The 
Court further said: ''We protest against the intermeddling 
of the Court of Appeals in the matter, and insist that they 
shall be restrained to their constitutional sphere of action." 
Further along in the opinion, the Court said: "If the distinc- 
tion between executive and judicial were not palpable to the 
bluntest mind, by reference to the case of Taylor vs. The Com- 
monwealth, 3 J. J. Marshall, page 401, it might be learned." 
The opinion closed with the following statement: "Believing 
that our rights have been invaded by another branch of the 
government styling itself the Court of Appeals, and that it is 
much safer to decline the exercise of all dou])tful authority 
than to attempt to correct imaginary errors, we declare to the 
world that we will not record the mandate of the Court of Ap- 
peals." On the 8th of June, following, the Court of Appeals 
issued attachments against James Shannon, Dandridge S. 
Crockett, Samuel B. " Scofield, Robert C. McKee, Franklin 
Chinn and Samuel Bristow, magistrates of Franklin County, 
returnable the fourth day of the term, for contempt in fail- 
ing to attend the Court in obedience to its summons previously 
issued and executed, and showing cause why, as justices of the 
peace of Franklin County they had refused to enter and' carry 
into effect the mandate of the Court in the case of Goram vs. 
Luckett, made at the fall term. The defendants were granted 
the right to execute a bond in the sum of one hundred dollars 
for their appearance on the day set. The attachments were 
executed on all of the defendants except Shannon, and they 
refused to execute the bond for their appearance and they were 
committed to the custody of Benjamin Luckett as Jailer of 
Franklin County. At that time a writ of habeas corpus could 
be issued by two magistrates. On the 20tli of the month a 
writ of habeas corpus was issued by James Shannon and 
Robert C. McKee as justices of the peace, to the Jailer, com- 
manding him to bring the body of Dandridge S. Crockett be- 
fore them in the jail, and show by what authoritj^ he was im- 
prisoned. Mr. Luckett appeared at the time stated and gave 
the stated cause of the commitment, but tlie Court deemed 



120 THE HISTORY OF FRANKLIN COUNTY. 

it insufficient and discharged the prisoner, and thereupon 
Dandridge S. Crockett and James Shannon issued similar writs 
for the other members of the fiscal court, and in that way 
released all of them. John M. Hewitt, George B. McKee and 
Robert C. McKee were the attorneys who represented the de- 
fendants; there was no prosecuting attorney present. On the 
the 20th of July, 1846, there was an order reinstating William 
A. Goram as Jailer of the county and at the same term of 
Court Goram resigned and Luckett was appointed. 

The Legislature of Kentucky appropriated a sufficient sum 
of money to remote the remains of Daniel and Rebecca Boone 
from Missouri to Frankfort, Kentucky. Mr. Thomas L. Crit- 
tenden and Colonel Boone were the committee which was sent 
after them. Mr. Harry Griswold, who owned the farm in 
Warren County, Missouri, on which the pioneers were buried, 
refused to permit them to be removed and the committee had 
considerable trouble in securing them, though they had the 
written consent of the near relatives of the Boones. When the 
coffins were opened it was found that the large bones were 
perfect in size and shape, but of a very dark color and so far 
decomposed in substance as to have lost their strength and 
weight, to a considerable extent; a number of the small bones 
were rotten and could not be raised in form. Their coffins were 
entirely rotten except the bottom planks. The body of Boone 
had been buried about twenty-five years and that of his wife 
about thirty years. 

The committee, with the remains, reached Frankfort in 
August and the re-interment was on Saturday, the 13th day of 
September, 1845. It was requested by the committee on ar- 
rangements that all business in the city be suspended and that 
all persons unite in the ceremonies. This committee consisted 
of the following citizens of Frankfort: Gov. R. P. Letcher, 
chairman; P. Swigert, W. Tanner, John P. Cammack, Robt. 
W. Scott, George W. Craddock, Landon A. Thomas, A. C. 
George, H. I. Bodley, John A. Hoi ton, Keen O'Hara, John L. 
Moore, Geo. W. Graham, A. G. Hodges, James Davidson, John 
M. Hewitt, D. S. Crockett, Jno. Mayhall, Joseph Gray, Henry 
Wingate, John J. Vest, Jacob Beaverson, Lewis Sneed, E. H. 



THE HISTORY OF I-'KANKLIN COUNTY. 121 

Watson, A. W. Dudley, Langston Bacon, C. W. Kenedy and 
James P. Page. I^ early every county in the State was repre- 
.sented in the vast a.-^sembly of people and also many from the 
Southern and Western States were present to pay the last fun- 
eral honors to the pioneers of the great western valley. The 
spot selected for the linal resting place of Daniel and Rebecca 
Boone was very appropriate, no more beautiful one could have 
been found in all the great State of Kentucky. Situated on a 
high hill far above the Kentucky river, it commands an un- 
obstructed view of the surrounding scenery, beautiful, grand, 
sublime; the Kentucky river wends its way between majestic 
hills and the spires of the classic old town are seen in the dis- 
tance. The evergreens which stand above their last resting 
place constantly remind the wayfarer of the soul's immortality 
and these 

"Lofty Pines above their grave. 
Keep green the memory of the brave." 

In speaking of the procession which followed the Boones 
to the cemetery, the Commonwealth said: "Of the people who 
composed the great body of the procession, it may w^ell be said 
that the Saxon race in no clime or country could have been 
more nobly represented, whether for the brave appearance of 
the men or the splendid beauty of the women; they seemed 
indeed the suitable inheritors of this goodly land." 

The Methodist annual conference was in session at that 
time and these two events filled every house in the city, both 
public and private. Every means of transportation wa.s used 
to reach Frankfort; all the boats which were in the Kentucky 
river trade at that time were crowded to their utmost limit, 
and the excursion cars on the railroad and stage coaches from 
the interior brought thousands of people to the city. 

When the first signal gun was fired at 10 o'clock, the 
large procession began to form and at half past ten, it moved 
in the following order: 

General John T. Pratt, :Marshal. 
1 Company of Military. 



122 THE HISTORY OF FRANKLIN COUNTY. 

Music. 
Pallbearers. Hearse. Pallbearers. 

2. Relatives and Companions of Daniel Boone and Wife. 
Marshal, Gen. Leslie Combs, with Col. Jessie Bayles and 

W, R. Herve, Assistants. 

3. Officers and Soldiers of the Late War; L. Hord and John 

Walton, Assistans. 

4. Committee of Arrangements; Orator of the Day and 

Officiating Clergy. 

5. President and Members of the Frankfort Cemetery Com- 

pany. 

6. Governor, Suite and Officers of the State and U. S. Depart- 

ment. 

7. Judges of the Superior and Inferior Courts and Officers. 

8. Members of Congress and Legislature. 

9. Trustees and Officers of the City; J. Swigert and Col. E. 

LI. Taylor, Assistant Marshals. 

10. The Rev. Clergy and Members of the Methodist Episcopal 

Church Conference; Dr. E. H. Watson, Assistant Mar- 
shal. 

11. Masonic Order. 

12. Independent Order of Odd Fellows. 

13. City Fire Companies; Wm. M. Todd, Assistant Marshal. 

14. Male and Female Sunday Schools and Teachers; Samuel 

Harris, Assistant Marshal. 

15. Day Schools and Teachers; Gen. L. Desha, Marshal. 

16. Military. 

17. Music; R. H. Crittenden, Assistant Marshal. 

18. Ladies and Gentlemen on foot. 

19. Gentlemen on foot; Major E. H. Field, Marshal. 

20. Strangers and Citizens in carriages. 

21. Strangers and Citizens on Horseback. . 

R. Knott, Col. W. A. Coram and R. H. Reese, Assistant 
Marshals. 

The hearse in which were placed the remains of Boone 
and wife was drawn by four white horses and decorated Avith 
evergreens and flowers; the pallbearers were Col. Richard M. 
Johnson, Gen. James Taylor, General Ward, Gen. Robt. B. 



THE HISTORY OF FRANKLIN COUNTY. 123 

McAfee, Gen. Peter Jourden, Mr, Waller Bullock, Capt. 
Thomas Joys, Mr. Laiidon Sneed, Col. John Johnson, an early 
companion of Boone; Mr. Williams and Col. William Boone, 
a nephew of Daniel Boone. The hearse was preceded by the 
following military companies: 

1. Cavalry Company of Woodford County, in Command of 

Captain Graddy. 

2. Lexington Flying Artillery, Commanded by Capt. S. 13. 

McCullough. 

3. Versailles Artillery, Commanded by Capt. E. H. Field. 

4. Dan\'ille Artillery, Commanded by Capt. S. S. Fry. 

5. Lexington Old Infantry, Commanded by Capt. Happy. 

6. Frankfort Cadets, Commanded by Capt. F. Chambers. 

7. Frankfort Lancers, Commanded by Capt. Vest. 

8. Capitol Guards, Commanded by Capt. A. G. Hodges. 

These troops Avere all in new uniforms, and following 
which were the Masonic fraternities and Odd Fellows in uni- 
form. The bishop who presided at the Methodist conference 
and the members of the conference were in the funeral proces- 
sion. The opening hymn was read by the Rev. A. Goodell, of 
the Baptist Church, after the singing of which the venerable 
Bishop Soule, of the M. E. Church, led in prayer. Then came 
the orator of the day, Hon. John J. Crittenden, who ''enchained 
attention by the spells of his magic eloquence — that he threw 
around his subject all the fascinations of his peerless fancy 
and unrivaled oratory, and when he ceased to speak the 
listeners still stood fixed to hear." The Rev. J. J. Bullock, of 
the Presbyterian Church, delivered the closing prayer, and 
Rev. P. S. Fall, of the Christian Church, pronounced the bene- 
diction. After the ceremonies were over the coffins were 
lowered into the grave and the pallbearers threw some earth 
over the remains. Hundreds of people then passed by, and 
each one threw a handful of dirt, and in that way assisted in 
filling up the graves. 

The State, in 1860, appropriated sufficient money to erect 
a handsome monument, nicely carved, over their remains. 
This monument was completed in 1862. The panels were of 
Italian marble. It was built by John Haly, of Frankfort. 



124 THE HISTORY OF FRANKLIN COUNTY. 

Vandals, as relic hunters, so defaced the panels that the monu- 
ment was practically destroyed. 

The Legislature of 1906 appropriated $2,000, which 
sum was supplemented by the Rebecca Bryan Boone Chapter of 
the Daughters of the Americdn Revolution, making a sum 
sufficient to replace the panels. The work was completed in 
1909, making it practically a new one. The new panels are 
of South Carolina marble, and they are an exact reproduction 
of the original. 

The county seal was purchased in 1845. 

The most memorable high water tides in the Kentucky 
river were in 1819, 1846, 1882 and 1883. 

In 1845 the mill at the Kentucky penitentiary ground 
meal for a large part of the county; its capacity was forty 
bushels of corn per hour. The toll for grinding was one-eighth. 

Clinton and Mero streets, Ijetween Washington and the 
river, were graded and paved in 1845, so that the water, then 
in a swampy section of the town, was drained to the river. 

In 1845 the postoffice was moved from the jNIansion House 
to a room on Lewis street, near Main, under the rooms oc- 
cupied by the Yoeman Printing Company. B. F. Johnson 
was postmaster. 

In 1844 Mrs. M. Train Runyan commenced teaching a 
private school for young ladies in Frankfort, which became 
famous in this section of the State, and which she continued to 
teach for about thirty-five years. 

The Franklin Springs were sold in 1845. For more than 
half a century they had been famous as a watering place. 
They were located about six miles south of Frankfort. Col. R. 
T. P. Allen purchased these springs and established the Ken- 
tucky Military Institute there. This institution of learning 
became very popular, especially for Southern boys. Colonel 
Allen was a graduate of the United States Military Academy 
at West Point, He was an officer in the Florida war and was 
professor of mathematics in Transylvania University for three 
years, which position he resigned to organize the Kentucky 
Military Institute. 

In 1840 the Legislature changed the line between Franklin 



THE HISTORY OF FRANKLIN COUNTY. 125 

and Anderson counties, commencing at the mouth of Boones 
Branch in Little Benson, and from thence in a southwesterly 
course to Hogshead's old house, thence down Parkers Spring 
Branch to Little Benson so as to include the dwelling house 
occupied by Fielding L. Connor, but afterwards owned by 
James D. Parker, in the county of Anderson, and leaving the 
Presbyterian Church in Franklin County. 

In 184G the Legislature appropriated $50 with which to 
purchase books for the moral culture and instruction of the 
prisoners in the penitentiary. The fund was placed under the 
control of the Governor. 

Franklin County furnished two companies for the Mexi- 
can war. One was Company C, First Regiment Kentucky 
Mounted V.olunteers, under Capt. Ben C. Milam, and the other 
was Company B, Second Regiment Kentucky Foot Volunteers, 
under Capt. Frank Chambers. 

The muster roll of Captain iMilam's company is as fol- 
lows: Ben C. Milam, captain; James H. D. McKee. first 
lieutenant; Richard D. Harlan, second lieutenant; John T. 
Roberts, Ben B. Bennett, Humphrey Evans, sergeants; Jolm 
Swigert and Lewis J. Foster, corporals. The privates wjvc 
James Herring and B. S. Gayle, buglers, and Joseph Jv(il)b. 
James Bates, Johnny Cavender, Cyrus Calvert, Robert Coehr m, 
Nathaniel C. Cook, Clinton D. W. Cook, Benjamin Church, 
Richard Davenport, Zachariah Dougherty, James E. Evans, 
Bennett Edwards, B. S. Fields, A. W. Llolman, Jeremiah 
Harrison, William Ha-ssett, Fielding S. Hawkins, James F. Lee, 
Samuel C. Leonard, T. J. Macy, L. Martin, A. J. ^Mitchell, A. 
J. McDonald, William McLean, Ben Franklin Pearce, John 
LI. Redish, George M. Shannon, John A. Snelling, J. J. 
Soward, John A. Scott, W. W. Stapp, W. C. Stockton, A. 
Wilkerson and John S. Semonis. The following were dis- 
charged from service on account of disabilities, to-wit: W. M. 
Robb, B. Utterback, E. T. Parrent, corporals; the privates 
were G. W. Bailey, R. B. Lloward, D. Hancock, Thomas Har- 
per, Joel Ashley, W. P. Jones, J. J. Kendall, J. D. McKee, S. 
^lontague, J. G. :\Iiles, F. M. Milam. S. McQueen, Samuel 
Mars, R. P. W. Noel, W. H. Price, A. B. Reed, W. H. Suddutli. 



126 THE HISTORY OF FRANKLIN COUNTY. 

and J. Wilson. Those who died in the service were James 
Bailey, W. J. Hall, Robert Latta, ^Y. Newton, and W. William- 
son. The following: J. F. Ellingwood, James Lester, and John 
Sanders were killed at the battle of Buena Vista February 
23d, 1847. On January 22, 1847, the following members of 
this company were captured by the Mexicans, to-wit: John 
Swigert, James Herring, James Bates, Cyrus Calvert, Robert 
Cochran, Zachariah Dougherty, A. W. Holman, John A. Scott, 
A. Wilkerson, William AVhitehead, and W. S. Wood. 

The muster roll of Captain Chambers' company: Frank 
Chambers, captain; James Monroe, first lieutenant; Henry C. 
Long, AVilliam D. Robertson, and Samuel P. Barbee, second 
lieutenants; William F. Gaines, William Hardy, and Hanson 
S. Mayhall, sergeants, and Richard P. Evans, Clark Knott, 
James B. Davidson, and Ambrose W. Hampton, corporals; 
Thomas B. Heffner and George W. Chambers, buglers. The 
privates were George Allen, John Amer, Elias T. Bartlett, 
Samuel S. Bartlett, Benjamin O. Branham, Emil Brea, John 
J. Christopher, Patrick H. Chambers, John L. Collins, W. Wil- 
liams, L. Craig, James W. Cummings, Daniel Ea.sley, George 
W. Edwards, Charles R. Featherston, Richard A. Gayle, Abel 
P. Harris, Ruben A. Hawkins, William M. Hayden, John R. 
Hayden, William Henderson, David J. Herndon, Willson J. 
Jordon, James E. McGune, David j\IcQueen, Moses S. INIilam, 
Thomas J. Milam, William Morrison, John E. Moore, William 
W, Perrin, Almus W. Polsgrove, John Polsgrove, James N. 
Reed, William R. Satterwhite, James W. Sheets, Samuel Sheets, 
Norman Sidbottom, Robert Sheridan, James Sherrin, William 
Skylcr, AValker Stephens, James D. Taylor, Lewis TuU, 
Thomas Webb, and James L. Williams. 

Those who died in the service were Rowland S. Parker, 
Leandcr Ford, Thomas J. Chambers, Lafayette B. Frederick, 
James S. Johnson, and Francis Lecompte. Henry Wolf, Wil- 
liam Blackwell, Samuel Bartlett, and Major Updike were killed 
at the l)attle of Buena A'ista Fel^'uary 23d, 1847. Those who 
were discharged on account of disabilities were William K. 
INIajor, James R. Page. James E. Coleman. Merriat Young, 
James AV. Harris, James Blazehard, Wesley Christopher, 



THE HISTORY OP FRANKLIN COUNTY. 127 

Benjamin Robinson, John Taylor, INIatthew L. Hazelett, 
Stephen Sesfield, Alexander Moss, Enoch Ford, and Thomas J. 
Todd. The deserters were John White, who deserted at Louis- 
ville, June the 13th, and James Crummery, who deserted at 
Matamoras, Mexico, August the 22d. 

The trustees of the town of Frankfort appropriated $200 
for the purpose of bringing the bodies of the Franklin County 
men, who fell at Buena Vista back home, and the county of 
Franklin appropriated a like sum for the same purpose. Maj. 

B. C. Milam went to Mexico after the remains of the men in 
his company and those of Captain Chambers. He met with 
Mr. Ruben A. Hawkins at New Orleans, who returned to 
Mexico with him to point out the graves of those parties whom 
he had buried there. ]\Ir. Hawkins reached Frankfort with 
the remains of John Sanders, John Ellingwood, James Seston, 
Major Updike, L. B. Bartlett, Henry Wolf, W. Blackwell, J. 
J. Thorp, H. Edwards, A. Goodpaster, Enoch Burton, and 
Robert Latta. The bodies were received at the wharf by the 
returned volunteers, under Major ]\Iilam and Captain Cham- 
bers, and the McKee Guards, under Captain Crittenden. They 
were buried in the State ground at Frankfort on Thursday, 
the 16th day of September, 1847, with military honors. Aljout 
3,000 people from Franklin and the surrounding counties were 
present and took part in the ceremonies. 

On July 27th, 1847, the burial of the remains of Col. 
William R. McKee, Lieut. Col. Henry Clay, Capt. William T. 
Willis, Adjt. E. P. Vaughn, Lieut. "^Joseph Powell, W. W.' 
Bay less, William Th waits, N. Ramsey, Thomas Weigert, Alex 
G. Morgan, C. Jones, H. Carty, T. McH. Dozier, H. Trotter, 

C. B. Thomas, and W. T. Green, the honored Kentuckians who 
were killed at the battle of Buena Vista, took place in the pres- 
ence of a large concourse of people. The crowd was variously 
estimated from fifteen to thirty thousand. From sunrise to 10 
o'clock a cannon was fired every hour from the battery stationed 
in the cemetery grounds, under the direction of Captain Goins. 
At 10 o'clock two guns were fired in quick .sjuccession. the 
signal for the ceremonies to begin. 

Henry Clay, the venerable and distinguished fadier of 



128 THE HISTORY OF FRANKLIN COUNTY. 

Colonel Clay, was present, and near him sat the little orphan 
children of Colonel Clay. Col. Richard M. Johnson was also 
present. He was a guest of the McKee Guards. The orator 
of the day was John C. Breckenridge, whose fine appearance 
and pleasing address added greatly to his reputation as an 
orator. 

The bodies were removed from the rotunda of the State 
Capitol and placed in hearses which were arranged in a semi- 
circle on the northwest end of the Capitol grounds. The right 
of the procession rested on Market street. It moved in the fol- 
lowing order: 

George W. Triplett, marshal, led the column. 

1. Jessamine Cavalrj-^, under Captain Worley. 

2. Fayette Cavalry, under Captain Willson. 

3. Woodford Cavalry, under Captain Thornton. 

4. Mortonsville Cavalry, under Captain Edwards. 
Marshal, Col. R. T. P. Allen, assisted by Capt. Thomas 

H, Taylor, adjutant of the day. 

5. Clay Guards, under Captain Taylor. 

6. McKee Guards, under Captain Crittenden. 

7. Fayette Guards, under Captain Robinson. 

8. Lexington Light Artillery, under Captain Happy. 

9. Jessamine Artillery, under Captain Hill. 

10. Keene Arfillerj', under Captain Coons. 

11. Lexington Artillery, under Captain Cadwallader. 
Music. 

Marshall, E. A. Dudley, assisted by G. P. Theo1)old and 
John T. Roberts. 

12. Committee of arrangements, with the officers of the 
cemetery. 

13. Bodies of the dead, drawn in hear.^es built on cannon 
carriages, the cannons being shrouded in crepe. The gun taken 
at Cerro Gordo and the "Thames Piece" were mounted for the 
occasion. The carriages were hung in black. The hearse 
which contained the body of Colonel McKee was built on a 
bra.ss cannon in the possession of the Lexington Legion, and 
was drawn by four white horses. Following this was the hear^•e 
containing the remains of Lieutenant Colonel Clav; the re- 



THE HISTORY OF FRANKLIN COUNTY, 129 

mains of Captain Willis came next, Adjutant Vaiitilm next, 
etc., the whole attended by pallbearers. 

14. Lexington Rifles, under Captain Jouett. 

15. Families and relatives of the dead. 

16. Ministers of the gospel. 

Music — Band from Newport Barracks, at that time recog- 
nized as being one of the best in the United States. 

^hirshal. Col. James David.son, assisted by J. 11. Slaughter. 

17. The Second Kentucky Volunteer Regiment, under 
Major Fry. 

18. The Kentucky Volunteer Cavalry, under Colonel 
Marshall and Colonel Field. 

19. The First Regiment of Kentucky Volunteers, Louis- 
ville Legion, under Colonel Ormsb}'. 

Twenty officers of the United States army and soldiers of 
the Mexican war. 

Mu-sic— Col. H. C. Pindell, Marshal. 

21. The Governor and suite. 

22. Officers of the State and United States government. 

23. The Sons of Temperance. 

24. Independent Order of Odd Fellows. 

25. Ma.sonic Fraternity. 
Marshal, Captain Anderson. 

26. Students of colleges and various departments of 
learning. 

27. Literary societies. 

28. Fire companies. 
Marshal, Captain J. W. Russell. 

29. Citizens on foot. 

Chief Assistant Marshal, Landon A. Thomas. 

30. Citizens in carriages. 

At half past eleven the procession was formed and moved 
through the principal streets of Frankfort to the cemetery. A 
gun was fired every five minutes while the procession was 
moving. 

John Swigert, John Scott, and W. Iloleman, members of 
Capt. Milam's company, were captured near Encarnacion by 
a Mexican force. In July, 1847, they escaped from their guard, 



130 THE HISTORY OF FRANKLIN COUNTY. 

and after many perilous and thrilling adventures reached their 
homes in Frankfort. 

The town of Bridgeport, in Franklin County, was incor- 
porated in 1848. John Jenkins, Frederick Robb, and H. Ed- 
wards were appointed trustees. The act provided that the 
grounds laid out should not exceed fifty acres. 

Pleasant Hill, located on Main Elkhorn, near the mouth 
of Johns Branch, in 1848, elected trustees as follows: Lewis C. 
Sullivan, Alexander B. Bacon, John T. Hawkins, James M. 
Graham, and John F. Graham. 

The Frankfort and Lawrenceburg road was incorporated 
in 1847. Franklin County was authorized to take stock in it. 

The telegraph line between Louisville and Frankfort was 
completed February 25th, 1848. The first message ever re- 
ceived at Frankfort by telegram was the announcement of the 
death of ex-President John Quincy Adams, which was received 
at 9 o'clock a. m. February 25th, 1848. The line to Louisville 
was completed several days before the line to Lexington. 

The use of gas for illuminating purposes was introduced 
in Frankfort in September, 1848. 

President-elect Gen. Zachary Taylor paid a visit to Frank- 
fort on the 19th of February, 1849. He came up on a boat 
(uid was met at the wharf by the joint members of the Ken- 
tucky Legislature, the old Mexican soldiers, and a large con- 
course of citizens. His visit was especially to Governor Crit- 
tenden, who was at that time Governor of the State. 

In June, 1849, there was a great religious revival in 
Frankfort. Several hundred people joined the various churches 
of the city. 

Samuel Crockett was Sheriff of Franklin County in 1849, 
and T. N. Lindsey was elected a member of the constitutional 
convention from the county. 

The Benson bridge, near the mouth of Benson Creek, was 
built in 1849. 

William T. Herndon was appointed Sheriff in 1850. 

The memliers of the Frankfort bar in 1850 were Lysandcr 
Hord, Thomas N. Lindsey, Landon A. Thomas, S. F. J. Trabue, 
P. U. Major, John C. Herndon, Robert Henry Crittenden, 



THE HISTORY OF FRANKLIN COUNTY, 131 

James Monroe, Philip Swigert, Richard C. French, Thoinsus 
Hart Taylor, Jno. M. Hewitt, Ben Monroe, James Harlan, 
WiUiam Harlan, T. P. A. Bibb, 0. G. Gates, W. B. Reed, G. 
W. Craddock, C. S. Morehead, R. P. Letcher, T. 1). Tillford, 
Austin P. Cox, Mason Brown, A. S. Mitchell, and Andrew 
Monroe. 

The physicians were W. T. Price, E. H. Watson, Dr. 
Phythian, 0. S. Willson, Churchill J. Blackburn, Luke P. 
Blackburn, and Alex M. Blanton. 

Franklin County members of the House of Representatives 
of Kentucky from 1840 to 1850 were : 

Charles S. Morehead, 1840, 1841, 1842, and 1844. 

James Milam, 1843. 

James Harlan, 1845. 

William D, Reed, 1846. 

Landon A. Thomas, 1847. 

John A. Holton, 1848. 

James Monroe, 1849. 

Lysander Hord, 1850. 

The population of Franklin County in 1840 was 9,420, in 
1850 it was 12,462. 

The number of slaves in 1840, 2,846 ; in 1850, 3,365. 

The population of Frankfort in 1840 was 1,917; in 1^50 
it was 3,308. 



132 THE HISTORY OF FRANKLIN COUNTY. 

CHAPTER X. 

Course of Events from 1850 to 1860. 

In the year 1850 the Kentucky river was under the con- 
trol of the State; there was a resohition by the General As- 
sembly ''That the military monument which had been made 
under the direction of the committee appointed for that pur- 
pose and which is to be erected in memory of the brave officers 
and soldiers who have fallen in the defense of the honor of 
their country, be permitted to pass through the locks of the 
river without payment of toll." This military monument was 
erected in 1850, the statue of victory on the top of it was raised 
to its place on July 1st, 1850. 

In 1851 the Legislature directed the Governor of Ken- 
tucky to purchase from the Frankfort Cemetery Company 
lots Nos. 131-132-143-144-154 and 155 in which to bury the 
remains of Kentucky's illustrious dead, the price for same was 
six hundred dollars; 

There was an act in 1851 appropriating eighty dollars 
with which to bury some Kentuckians who were killed at the 
Kiver Raisin. In 1848 Col. Edward Brooks, acting under the 
authorities of the town of Monroe, Mich., delivered the re- 
mains of fifteen Kentuckians who fell at the battle of the River 
Raisin, and by resolution, the Governor of Kentucky was 
directed to have them buried in the Frankfort Cemetery. 

The sum of four hundred dollars was paid by resolution 
of the General Assembly, to Edward H. Nock, as compensation 
for painting the portrait of Governor Isaac Shelby. This por- 
trait hung in the Legislative Hall in the Old Capitol building 
for more than a half century, but when the archives of the 
State were removed to the new Capitol in 1909 it was })laced in 
charge of the State Historical Society, where it was given one 
of the most prominent positions in the Hall of Fame. 

The State, by act of the Legislature, appointed Ambrose 
W. Dudley, E. H. Taylor and Philip Swigert, Commissioners 
to superintend the erection of an Arsenal, on any ground not 



THE HISTORY OF FRANKLIN COUNTY. 133 

less than one-half mile from the Capitol building. The sum 
of ciii'ht thousand dollars was appropriated and the Connnis- 
sioncrs were directed to act '^iccording to such plans and speci- 
fications as they may deem best suited for a building for said 
purpose." 

By an amendment, the Commissioners named were author- 
ized to select at their discretion the most suitable place within 
the town of Frankfort or in its vicinity, as to them may scoiii 
most eligible for the location of the Arsenal. The building 
was completed in 1850 and the military equipments of tlie 
State were removed from a small building on the State House 
square to the new Arsenal, during that year. 

The incorporated towns of South Frankfort and Frank- 
fort (North Frankfort) were consolidated by act of the Legis- 
lature approved March 4th, 1850. The most prominent men 
of South Frankfort in 1818 were Edward S. Coleman, Chair- 
man of the Board of Trustees; David Graham, George Gayle, 
Larkin Samuels, George W. Graham, Israel Ellis, Hosea Cook, 
Henry Wingate, John Campbell, George Todd and l^^van 
Evans; Sam South was chairman of the Board of Trustees in 
1823 ; S. I. M. Major in 1825 ; John J. Vest in 1827 ; Rev. S. 
M. Noel in 1829 ; John J. Vest in 1831 ; Chas. S. Morehead in 
1833; Littleberry Batchelor in 1834; 0. G. Gates in 1837; Ed- 
ward S. Coleman in 1841 and for several years thereafter. In 
1845 Coleman's Tan Yard was in operation near Coleman's 
spring at the south end of Steele street ; the buildings were one 
story with basements. 

During the year 1850 the following incidents are noted: 
The Farmers' Bank was organized, the largest stockholders and 
organizers of this bank were James Harlan, John II. Ilanna. 
J. Swigert, William Tanner, John W. Russell, P. Swigert, A. C. 
Keenon, A. G. Hodges, John C. Herndon, II. I. Todd and S. 
Robinson. 

James M. Todd was appointed postmaster ut Frankfort. 

On August 8th, the cornerstone of the Episcopal Church 
was laid, the address was delivered by Rev. Mr. Craik of Louis- 
ville, Bishop Smith, Rev. Messrs. Claxton of Madison, Ind., 



134 THE HISTORY OP FRANKLIN COUNTY. 

El well of Hhelbyville and Norton of Frankfort assisted in the 
ceremonies. 

Cholera made its appearance in Frankfort again, during the 
year, but there were only a few deaths from its effects. 

The publication of a religious paper known as "The 
Methodist Monthly" was commenced in October, the Rev. T. 
N. Ralston was the editor. He was assisted by Rev. G. W. 
Bush and W. H. Anderson. 

Mr. Joseph Belt, who served five years and seven months 
in the American Army during the War of the Revolution, 
died, domiciled in Franklin County, September 10th, 1850. 
He was ninety-nine years old at the time of his death. 

Col. Richard M. Johnson, who had Ijeen Vice President of 
the United States and who had held many offices of trust and 
who was know^n as one of the greatest men of that time, died 
in Frankfort and was buried in the Frankfort Cemetery, No- 
vember 12th, 1850. The funeral services were held in the 
House of Representatives. An immense crowd of citizens and 
strangers were in attendance. Rev. Stewart Robinson preach -d 
the funeral discourse. ''The procession was long and imi-Mis- 
ing, the Masons and Odd Fellows e.specially making a fine t.p- 
pearance." Minute guns were fired as the procession entered 
the cemetery and until the ceremonies at the grave were con- 
cluded. Obituary addresses concerning Col. Richard M. John- 
son were published in pamphlet form. The following Legisla- 
ture authorized Mason Brown, John M. Huett, Edward H. 
Taylor and William Tanner, Commissioners Avith authority 
to contract wiih Robert E. Ivaunitz for the erection of a monu- 
ment to his lucmory in the Frankfort Cemetery, and for which 
nine hundred dollars wore appropriated and for this sm.dl 
sum the Commi.-sioners secured one of the most beautiful and 
artistic monumental structures that was ever erected on the 
Western Continent, up to that time. 

The first money appropriated by the County Court for 
the purpose of macadamizing the county roads was placed on 
the Glenn's Creek road in 1851. The Frankfort and Law- 
renceburg turnpike road was built during this year. The 
county of Franklin owned a large part of the stock in this 



THE HISTORY OF FRANKLIN COUNTY. 135 

road when it was completed. At the close of the year ISol 
there were seventy-four public roads in the county, all of 
which were under the supervision of County Surveyors and 
were repaired by warning in the hands assigned to their re- 
spective roads. 

After the adoption of the Constitution of 1849, the first 
election held under the new Constitution was in 1851, at 
which time John C. Herndon became the first County Judge 
of Franklin county; Alexander H. Rennick was the first clerk 
elected by the people; William T. Herndon the first Sheriflt; 
John R. Graham, Coroner; Benjamin Luckett, .Jailer; William 
M. Bristow, Assessor, and Lysander Hord, for some reason was 
appointed County Attorney. Samuel I. M. Major was elected 
Surveyor, but his election was contested by William F. Graham 
on the grounds that Major was not of age. The Court held 
that said Major was not twenty-one years of age and conse- 
quently could not hold the office, the Constitution having 
provided that a man was not eligible until he was twenty-one; 
a new election was ordered. The County Judge's salary was 
fixed at two hundred and fifty dollars per year. On May 29th, 
1851, the first passenger train of cars from Louisville arrived 
upon the banks of the river opposite Frankfort; this was an 
important era in the history of Frankfort and Franklin 
county and the public-spirited citizens of the county celebrated 
the event. The railroad bridge across the river at that point 
was completed during that year, the contract price for its con- 
struction was originally $27,000, but some changes were made 
and the amount was increased to $30,000. During this year 
Joseph Patterson, a civil engineer, surveyed a route for a rail- 
road from Frankfort to Harrodsburg, the distance being thirty- 
two miles and one thousand and forty-feet to the railroad 
junction on the west side of the river. His estimated cost was 
$26,232 per mile. The proposition as to whether the county 
of Franklin would vote the appropriation of $225,000 as her 
part of the expense of building the road failed to receive a ma- 
jority of the votes. 

Henry Clay died in Washington City on the 29th day of 
June, 1852 ; out of respect to his memory, Governor Powell or- 



136 THE HISTORY OF FRANKLIN COUNTY. 

(lerud all the public business of the State to be suspended and 
the ollices closed and the buildings to be clothed in mourning. 
The City Council Avas convened in extraordinary session and 
resolutions passed; the citizens of Frankfort and vicinity held 
a mass meeting at which appropriate resolutions were passed. 

During this year Mr. David Meriwether built the Meri- 
wether Hotel, on the corner of Broadway and Ann streets. For 
many years this hotel was the political headquarters for the 
politicians of the State. 

The Frankfort Woolen Mills were incorporated in 1852, 
J. M. Lancaster, John H. Hanna, Jacob Swigert, Nathaniel 
Hart, P. Swigert, John Watson, S. Brownwell and William L. 
Vance were the incorporators. The capital stock was placed 
at one hundred thousand dollars. 

General Winfield Scott, a candidate for President of the 
United States, visited Frankfort in the month of September; 
a reception committee met him at the train and escorted him 
to tlie Capitol building, where he addressed the assembled 
multitude on the political questions of the day; a public re- 
cc})tion was held at which a large number of people met him. 
At that time Franklin county was nearly evenly divided be- 
tween the Democrats and Whigs. Pierce, the Democrat, re- 
ceived 759 votes and Scott, the Whig, received 833 votes in the 
county. 

Joshua McQueen, a Revolutionary soldier, died at his 
home near Frankfort on April ord, 1853, at the age of 106 
years. He was appointed sergeant by General Washington, 
which i)osition he held during the war. He left surviving him 
a large family of children, grandchildren and great grand- 
children. On Decemljcr lltli of the same year James Brisco, 
in his 94th year, also died. He was a soldier and seaman of 
the Revolution. He was at the siege of Yorktown and the 
surrender of 'CornAvallis. He served as boatswain \mder Com- 
modore Taylor. At the time of his death, Cornelius Fenwick 
was the only surviving Revolutionary soldier in Franklin 
County. 

Ben F. Johnson was appointed postmaster at Frankfort 
in May, 1853. He succeeded James M. Todd, who resigned. 



THE HISTORY OF FRANKLIN COUNTY. 137 

III December of this year the Capital Hotel was opened to the 
public and for more than half a century it has been one of the 
leading hotels of the State. 

William T. Herndon was re-elected Sheriff of the county 
in 1853. 

John M. Ilarlan, who has since become one of the Justices 
of tlie Supreme Court of the United States, was appointed 
Notary Public in and for the county of Franklin, March 20th, 
1854, and during the same year he was elected City Attorney 
for the city of Frankfort. In 1855 he was one of the Sons of 
Temperance, and in 1856 he was re-elected City Attorney; in 

1858 he was elected County Judge of Franklin County; in 

1859 he made the race for Congress in the Ashland District, 
but was defeated by a small vote, during the same year 1/3 
was appointed Adjutant General of the State of Kentucky, and 
in 1877 he was appointed Justice of the Supreme Court of the 
United States. 

Ex-President Millard Fillmore visited Frankfort in 
March, 1854. He was entertained at the Capitol Hotel. Hon. 
John J. Crittenden presided. Addresses were made by Col. 
Thomas L. Crittenden, Gov. C. S. Morehead, Governor Powell, 
Gov. Crittenden, Gov. Letcher and Colonel Brown. 

The year 1854 was the most disastrous year ever known to 
the people of Frankfort and Franklin County. The drought 
was so severe that practically nothing was raised in the way of 
fanning ]iroducts, the heat and drought were the severest ever 
known in Franklin County. The Kentucky river was ten 
feet lower than it was ever before known. The farmers had 
to haul water for miles; that period has been known since then, 
as the year of the great drought, and it has also been known by 
the people of Frankfort as the year of the great fire. The 
greatest conflagration ever known to the people of Frankfort 
occurred on April 29th. The fire commenced near the cen- 
ter of the square on St.. Clair street between Broadway and 
Main streets. It burned every house up to and including the 
house on the corner of Main and St. Clair, and extended up 
Main street to Lewis street and down Lewis, about two-thirds of 
the square. There were twenty-four houses consumed, seven- 



138 THE HISTORY OF FRANKLIN COUNTY. 

teen of which were brick. It was the business portion of the 
city which burned. A large part of the property was occupied 
by tenants, most of w^hom lost their entire stock of goods. 

The election of county officers for Franklin County in 
1854 resulted in the election of J. C. Herndon, County Judge; 
A. H. Rennick, County Clerk; H. I. Morris, Sheriff; P. U. 
Major, County Attorney ; R. A. Brawner, Jailer ; J. J. Smither, 
Assessor; J. R. Graham, Coroner; AV. F. Graham, Surveyor; 
John W. Pruett, Constable of the Frankfort District, and 
James Monroe, Police Judge of the City of Frankfort. There 
were 528 vot^s in favor of a road tax and 847 against it. 

The General Assembly of Kentucky by resolution in 
1854, directed Gov. L. P. Powell to have th'e remains of Gov. 
Charles Scott, Major William T. Barry and Captain Bland 
Ballard and Avife, to be brought to Frankfort and re-interred 
in the grounds belonging to the State in the Frankfort Ceme- 
tery. The Governor named November 8th as the day for the 
ceremonies. 

"The Commonwealth" of November 10th gives the following 
description of the proceedings: ''Wednesday, the 8th day of 
November, 1854, was a great day in Frankfort, and one not 
soon to be forgotten. The last and distinguished honors pro- 
vided by Kentucky for three men who had served her cause, 
in the council and in the field, and whose lives had contributed 
to the glory of her history, were paid with befitting circum- 
stance, in the presence of an immense crowd of Kentucky's 
sons and daughters. Strangers began to arrive on Tuesday, 
and on Wednesday morning every avenue leading to our lit- 
tle city poured in a living stream. The public square, streets, 
sidewalks, hotels and private houses were soon swarming with 
the crowd. Among those present were a great many of Ken- 
tucky's noblest sons — men distinguished upon the field of bat- 
tle and men distinguished in almost every department of pub- 
lic service and of life — in the Executive chair, in Congress, in 
the Legislature of the State, upon the bench, at the bar, at 
the bedside of the sick, in the sacred desk, in the editorial of- 
fice, in mercantile pursuits, and in the mechanic arts. Ken- 
tucky beauty w^as well represented in maiden loveliness and 



THE HISTORY OF FRANKLIN COUNTY. 139 

iiialronly grace; and the wliolc blending together formed an 
immense concourse of just such men and women as would have 
swelled the hearts of the honored dead with gratitude and joy 
could their mortal eyes open upon them. The procession 
formed about 11 o'clock and slowly moved its long length to- 
wards the cemetery. In it we noted a numl)cr of the officers 
and soldiers of the War of 1812, and of the War with Mexico. 
A delegation of officers from the Louisville Legion, under com- 
mand of Col. DeKorponay ; a fine volunteer company from 
Georgetown, commanded by Capt. Grant; the cadets of the 
Kentucky Military Institute, commanded by Col. Morgan; 
several lodges of Odd Fellows; several divisions of the Sons of 
Temperance ; the pupils of Mr. Sayre's High School, and an in- 
numerable throng of citizens and strangers in carriages. Tlie 
march of the whole was enlivened l)y excellent music from 
Arboga.st's and Plato's Saxhorn Bands of Louisville, whose 
performances throughout the day added greatly to the enjoy- 
ment of the occasion. Upon the cemetery grounds a platform 
for the speakers had been erected near the beautiful tomb of 
the Trabue family, and facing a gentle slope which rose like 
an amphitheatre around it. Here the exercises were opened 
with prayer by the Rev. Dr. John D. Mathews. Governor 
Powell then introduced the further proceedings by a brief and 
appropriate address, and concluded by presenting to the audi- 
dence CoU Thomas L. Crittenden, who delivered an oration of 
classic elegance and marked appropriateness upon the life and 
character of Governor Charles Scott. After music from the 
l)and Col. Theodore O'LTara was introduced and delivered a 
glowing, eloquent and ornate eulogy upon Major William T. 
Barry. To this succeeded a speech from Col. Humphrey Mar- 
shall upon the life and character of Major Bland Ballard — an 
effort marked by discriminating fidelity to truth, by great pro- 
priety and force of diction, and a nervous manly elocution, 
which won new laurels for the well-known orator. After the 
close of the .speeches the remains were re-interred in the ground 
*l)elonging to the State. Rev. Mr. Norton of Frankfort and 
Rev. Mr. Berkley of Lexington officiating in the clo.«ing re- 



140 THE HISTORY OF FRANKLIN COUNTY. 

ligious services. The numbers who were present have been 
variously estimated at from three to five tliousand persons." 

The remains of Governor James T. Morehead were 
brought to Frankfort and placed in a vault January 5th, 1855. 
A committee of citizens from Frankfort met the committee 
from Covington at Louisville and under charge of the two 
committees the remains were brought to Frankfort. The re- 
mains were followed by a large number of citizens from the 
depot to the cemetery. The burial was with a great deal of 
ceremony on June 13th. General John M. Harlan was chief 
marshal. Many out of town people wxre present. James T. 
Morehead was born in Bullitt county May 24th, 1797. He 
was educated in the village schools and Transylvania Univer- 
sity, studied law with John J. Crittenden; was elected Lieu- 
tenant Governor in 1832; upon the death of Governor 
Breathitt in 1834 he became Ex-officio Governor. After his 
term expired he resumed the practice of law in Frankfort. In 
1837 he was elected to represent Franklin county in the Ken- 
tucky Legislature. He Avas United States Senator from Ken- 
tucky in 1841 to 1847. He was an excellent speaker and con- 
servative statesman. His general information Avas extensive 
and varied. His library, embracing the largest collection then 
known of works relating to the history of Kentucky, Avas pur- 
chased by the Young Men's Mercantile Association of Cincin- 
nati, O. 

The granddaughter of Governor Morehead presented a 
splendid oil portrait of him to the Kentucky Historical So- 
ciety. This portrait is said to have been made by Jouett. If 
it was not made by him, it Avas evidently the work of some 
other skilled artist. 

In 1855 Henry Innis Morris Avas elected Sheriff of the 
county and he Avas re-elected in 185G. 

A. W. Macklin & Co. did a large and lucrative business as 
pork packers at Frankfort. During the season of 1853-4 they 
slaughtered 10,042 hogs; during the season of 1854-5 thev 
killed 10,311; in 1855-6 they' killed 13,833. The largest 
number slaughtered in any one day was 804. 

In the year 1856 the Rev. J. M. Lancaster Avas in charge 



THE HISTORY OF FRANKLIN COUNTY. 141 

of the Catholic Church at Frankfort; the Rev. John Theobald 
was in charge of the Baptist Church ; the licv. J. P. Saffokl was 
in charge of the Presbyterian; the liev. J, M. Bonnell of the 
^lethodist; the Rev. J. N. Norton of the Episcopal, and Rev. 
P. S. Fall was in charge of the Christian Church. 

Judge J. C. Herndon, County Judge of Franklin County, 
died at his residence in the city of Frankfort on the 18th day of 
jNIarch, 1856, at the age of 47 j^ears. He was an industrious 
lawyer of considerable ability. For a time he had been a 
deputy in the County Clerk's office and had held a like position 
in the Circuit Clerk's office. He was at one time assistant 
clerk of the House of Representatives, and at another time he 
held a like position in the State Senate. He was the first man 
who ever held the position of County Judge of Franklin 
Count}', and he was serving his second term in that position at 
the time of his death. 

At the special election held to fill the vacancy of County 
Judge, Mr. Reuben Brown was elected. He defeated Judge 
Lysander Hord by 78 votes. James Monroe was elected 
County Attorney at the same election. 

The first bond issue of Franklin County was authorized by 
act of the Legislature approved March 10th, 185G, by which 
act the Judge of the Franklin County Court was authorized to 
issue bonds not to exceed two thousand dollars, to pay off the 
out.'^tanding debts. 

In the year 1857 Thomas M. Green was the editor of The 
Commonwealth, published at Frankfort, and S. I. M. Major 
was the editor of the Frankfort Yoeman. The political con- 
troversy became so bitter between them that Col. Green sent 
Col. Major a note dated at Frankfort, ]\Iay 30th, in which he 
said: "I wish to know what place outside of the State a note 
from me will reach you." In answer to which Col. Major 
said he would be in Jcff'crsonville, Ind., on Monday, June 1st, 
at 8 o'clock p. m., at which time Thomas Buford, as the repre- 
sentative of Col. Green was there with a challenge for a duel. 
Col. Major selected Mr. .Tohn O. Bullock as his representative, 
and it was left to him to fix the time, terms and place of meet- 
ing. He fixed the time June 11th; place, the State of Vir- 



142 THE HISTORY OP FRANKLIN COUNTY. 

ginia at or near the mouth of the Big Sandy river; weapons 
were to be the ordinary rifle known as the Kentucky or West- 
ern rifle carrying a ball not larger than sixty to the pound, the 
barrel of the gun not to exceed 38 inches in length; distance, 
ninety yards. Col. Green refused to accept the terms and tlie 
duel was never fought. During this year Jacob Harrod Hol- 
man died at his residence in Frankfort. He had been pu])lic 
printer for many years. At one time he was editor of tl)e 
Commentator, and later he was the editor of the "Spirit of '76" 
and the '^Kentuckian," all of wdiich were published in Frank- 
fort, In the year 1819 Holman fought a duel with Fraiicis 
Waring, a practical duelist and a brother of the noted John T". 
Waring, who killed Samuel Q. Richardson in 1835. On tlic 
4th of July, 1819, Francis Waring struck Holman's dog with a 
saber and killed it, following which a rough and tumble fight 
ensued, and out of which resulted the duel. Dr. Joe Roberts 
was the bearer of the challenge. William P. Greenup, son of 
Governor Greenup, acted as the personal friend of Holman 
They met on the farm of Waring's brother-in-law. Rev. Silas 
Noel, about one mile and a half from Frankfort, and aboiit 
one mile from where the original difficulty took place. At the 
first fire Waring fell shot through the heart. Holman also 
fell at the same time pierced through his hips, and from the 
effects of which he was a cripple for life. 

The contest between the Democratic party and the Amer- 
ican Whig or Know-Nothing party in 1857 was one of the 
warmest ever held in the State. The center of the political 
contest was at Frankfort. The two parties were evenly divided 
in Franklin County, there being only one vote difl'erence in 
the race for State Treasurer. The contest in Frankfort was ex- 
ceedingly bitter, rioting commenced in a short time after the 
polls were opened and continued throughout the day. The 
Americans undertook to prevent the Irish from voting. .\ 
mob gathered around the polls and when an Irishman came 
up to vote some one would call out, ''move him," and immedi- 
ately a shower of rocks, sticks, brick-bats and bottles would 
strike him. It was almost worth an Irishman's life for him to 
undertake to vote without some one, native born, with him. 



THE HISTORY OF FRANKLIN COUNTY. 143 

The first fight of the day was when an Irishman by the name 
of Griffcn came up to the court house to vote. When he got 
within about forty feet of the polls, a bully stationed there for 
the purpose of assaulting any one who was not American born, 
made an assault on him. A mob immediately gathered 
around them. Griffen's brother came to his assistance and 
when in the act of shooting, some member of the mob struck 
him in the head and seriously wounded him. The Griffons 
were rescued from the mob by Col. Lewis E. Ilarvie and other 
Democrats, who beat the mob back. Col. Harvie used his 
walking stick very freely and in return received several wounds, 
none of whicli were serious. Later in the day a German came 
to the polls, and some one called out ''move him," and he 
moved without further invitation, but not quick enough to pre- 
vent him from being struck in the head with a rock by some 
member of the mob, and from the effect of which he came near 
dying. That afternoon, Judge Thomas B. Monroe, at that 
time United States District Judge, took an Irishman with him 
to the polls and when he started to vote, some member of the 
mob called out "move him." The Judge immediately drew a 
large knife, and, facing the mob, he brandished his knife and 
denounced the Americans as a mob and a set of bullies, and 
said that he would like to see any one prevent the Irishman 
from voting. The American party was badly defeated in 
Kentucky. Thomas M. Green, editor of the Commonwealth, 
in giving excuses for the defeat said: "The fact is that in this 
race we have had the whole power of the patronage of the Fcyd- 
eral Government, the Roman Catholics, the Dutch and Irish, 
and the whole gang of those mercenary wretches who fight for 
those who are aljle to pay best and as might have been expected, 
we have been defeated by them." 

The Bridgeport Female Institute was incorporated in 
1858, John ISIayhall, James Terry, Benjamin Exum, S. R. 
Hieronymus and Andrew Neat were the incorporators. For 
several years this was a very prosperous school and it did a 
great deal of good in that section of the county. 

By resolution of the General Assembly in 1858 the Pub- 
lic Printer was directed to publish in the front part of the acts 



144 THE HISTORY OP FRANKLIN COUNTY. 

the names of the State officials. That record shows that the 
following Franklin County citizens were in office: Charles S. 
Morehead, Governor; Mason Brown, Secretary of State; T. P. 
Atticus Bibb, Assistant Secretary of State ; James Harlan, Attor- 
ney General; Thomas S. Page, Auditor; James R. Watson, As- 
sistant Auditor; James H. Garrard, Treasurer; Andrew McKin- 
ley. Register; John M. Harlan, Adjutant General; Albert G. 
Cammack, Quartermaster General ; A. W. Valandingham, State 
Librarian; A. G. Hodges and John B. Major, Public Printers; 
J. H. Johnson and Samuel C. Sayre, Assistant Clerks of the 
House, and Patrick U. Major was Commonwealth's Attorney 
for the district. Out of the sixteen State officers named by the 
Public Printer, thirteen of them were citizens of Franklin 
County. About 50 per cent of the men who have been Gov- 
ernor of Kentucky have been citizens of Frankfort; some of 
them before and some after their terms of office. Prior to 
1860, perhaps 80 per cent of the State officials were citizens and 
voters of Franklin County. To such an exteni did the poli- 
ticians of Frankfort dominate and control the politics of the 
State that it became a difficult matter for a man out in the 
State to be elected to an office, if Frankfort opposed his election. 
This state of affairs naturally aroused jealousy and engendered 
a feeling of bitterness against Frankfort. So acute did this 
feeling become that the people throughout the State, and espe- 
cially the politicians, commenced accusing Frankfort of being 
the source of all their woes, political and otherwise. An article 
from the Louisville Democrat of March 4th, 1859, gives some 
idea of the feeling which had been worked up against Frank- 
fort. The article reads: ''The City of Frankfort, the Capital 
of the renowned Commonwealth of Kentucky, the abiding 
place of the famous or rather the infamous Hindoo Clique — 
the abode of political deviltry in general — the nursery of in- 
trigue and corruption — in short the most God forsaken town 
that has escaped the hands of the destroying angel since the 
days of Sodom and Gomorrah — is down, is done for, ha.s fallen, 
l)roke, smashed and assigned. For years the political tricksters 
have ruled the city with a rod of iron, and applied the lash with 
an unsparing hand upon all who would not lick the foot that 



THE HISTORY OF FRANKLIN COUNTY. 145 

kicked them. In power, they have ground to the dust an 
honest and unpurchasable handful of Democrats who have 
maintained their integrity through long and trying years of 
oppression. They have used the credit of the city, for the pro- 
motion of their own unhallowed ends, for the perpetuation of 
power in their own infamous hands ; but now the day of recon- 
ing is come for lo, 

'The desolater desolate. 
The Victor overthrown. 
The arbiter of others' fate 
A beggar for his own.' 

''Frankfort has failed — her magnificent hotel, constructed 
on the credit of the city at a cost of $70,000 — her extensive gas 
works, producing in the eloquent language of Judge jNIcKcg ^ 
'more stink and less light' than any other works of the kind in 
the world; her excellent w^ater privileges — all have been mort- 
gaged to Col. Hodges to prevent their immediate sale for the 
liquidation of bills contracted by the Clique, and to atone for 
the extravagance and folly of her selfish leaders. We sym- 
pathize with many of our friends in Frankfort, who may have 
big hearts and imperishable Democracy burning in their 
bosoms, may they survive the misfortinie that threatens the 
city of their abode, and see the day when they shall bask in the 
sunlight of social and political freedom, a.s for the Clique, the 
devil has a mortgage upon them and the only wonder is, that 
he has not foreclosed it long since." This extreme feeling 
against Frankfort culminated in a joint resolution, appoint- ' 
ing a committee of five from the House and three from the ; 
Senate to inquire into the expediency of removing the seat of \ 
government to Louisville or some other place. The Frankfort 
people have always been ready to fight each other on any and 
all propositions except that of Capital removal ; on that one 
question they have always been a unit, and they have at all 
times been able to secure enough liclp out in the State to pre- 
vent the removal. Henry Clay made a strong and bitter figlit 
against Frankfort and the Frankfort people never forgave him, 



146 THE HISTORY OF FRANKLIN COUNTY. 

and for half a century after his death, the Frankfort people 
have had no love for Lexington. George D. Prentice, the bril- 
liant editor of the Louisville Journal, made a strong effort in 
1843 to remove the Capital to Louisville. The controversy 
between him and Senator Rodes Garth from ' Whitley county, 
over the removal question, was the greatest sensational event 
of that session of the Legislature. Mr. Prentice said in his 
paper: "It is understood that this functionary (Senator Garth) 
has sent home for a clean shirt, and actually made arrange- 
ments with a servant for the washing of his pocket handker- 
chief. It is said, not the half, was told by our correspondent 
concerning this disgusting object." In response, Senator 
Garth said, on the floor of the Senate: "I pronounce that pub- 
lication as slanderous and utterly false — a lie from beginning 
to end, sir. What do honorable Senators on this floor think of 
this dirty villian charging that I have hired a servant to wash 
my handkerchief, leaving the impression to go forth to the 
world that honorable Senators wash their own handkerchiefs, 
such a sooty, black-hearted calumniator disgraces and would 
disgrace the veriest brothel in our land and sink into infamy 
even a negro quarter, and, sir, we are now called upon to re- 
move the seat of government to Louisville, the residence of this 
infamous journalist who detests virtue, abhors integrity and 
honor, and who endeavors to reduce reputable Senators and 
Representatives of the State of Kentucky to his own level of 
degradation and infamy. Slander, detraction and billings- 
gate is the proper food his appetite craves and desires to feast 
upon." 

Harry I, Todd was elected Sheriff in 1859 ; James C. Cole- 
man was elected Coroner; James W. Tate, School Commis- 
sioner; James Allen, Jailer, and D. W. Lindsey, Cit}^ Attorney 
of the City of Frankfort. Peter Jett contested the election of 
William F. Parrent as Assessor. The contest board was com- 
posed of John M. Harlan, George W. Guinn and W. E. Ash- 
more. They decided the contest in favor of Parrent. 

There was an act of the General Assembly in 1859 which 
authorized tlie Governor to cause a pavement to be laid on the 



THE HISTORY OF FRANKLIN COUNTY. 147 

east side of the (old) Capitol square, the work not to exceed in 
cost the sum of $800. 

The Franklin County members of the House of lleprescn- 
tatives from 1850 to 1860 were Lysander Hord, 1850 ; Andrew 
Monroe, 1851-53; John M. Hewitt, 1855-57; Thomas N. Lind- 
sey, 1858-59; John Rodman, 1859-60. 

John C. Harrison was sent to the Frankfort station Ijy the 
Methodist Episcopal Conference in 1857, and the Rev Josci)!! 
Rand in 1859. 

There w^ere 180 deaths in Franklin County in the year 
1859. During the same year there were 275 children born; 
there were 51 marriages; the death rate was 1.42; the popula- 
tion of the county in that year was 12,715. 



148 THE HISTORY OF FRANKLIN COUNTY. 

CHAPTER XI. 

From 1860 to 1870. 

Ill the year 1860 William H. Sneed was elected County 
Attorney, Harry I. Todd was re-elected Sheriff, Henry R. 
Miller, Jailer, and R. Gillispie, School Commissioner. 

In 1861 Franklin Chinn was elected County Judge, to fill 
out the unexpired term of John M. Harlan, who resigned on 
May 4th. Judge Chinn defeated Robert H. King, candidate 
on the union ticket by only three votes. 

During the year a great many barbecues were given in 
different sections of the county and many speeches were made 
on behalf of the union sympathizers, who were using extra- 
ordinary efforts to prevent the State from withdrawing from the 
union. On July 27th one of the largest of these barbecues was 
held at Julian's woods on the Louisville road. The people of 
Franklin and the surrounding counties formed a procession on 
Montgomery (now known as Main) street, reaching from the 
Capital Hotel to Hon. John J. Crittenden's residence, many 
citizens were in carriages, some were on horse back, but the 
great mass of the people were on foot. They marched to 
Julian's woods, where public addresses were made by a number 
of the best speakers in the State. Several thousand people 
were present and great excitement prevailed. Richard C. An- 
derson, the union candidate for Representative, was elected to 
represent the county. Brigadier General Robert Anderson, of 
the United States Army, ''The hero of Fort Sumpter," was a 
cousin of Richard C. Anderson. On September the 6th, Gen- 
eral Anderson visited Frankfort. There was a public reception 
at the Capital Hotel in his honor. The people of Frankfort 
were profuse in the social attentions paid to him during his 
stay. 

The preachers located in Frankfort at this time were: J. 
M. Lancaster, of the Catholic Church ; John Theobald, of the 
Old School Baptist; J. K. Spillman, of the Presbyterian; T. C. 
McKee, of the Baptist; AVilliam McD. Abbott, of the Methodist; 



THE HISTORY OF FRANKLIN COUNTY. 149 

J. N. Norton, of the Episcopal, and W. T. Moore, of tho 
Christian Church. 

Judge P. U. Major, who was the Democratic candidate for 
re-election to the office of Commonwealth iVttorncy, at the 
August election, 1862, withdrew from the race, the day before 
the election and John L. Scott, the union candidate, was 
elected. W. R. Franklin was elected Circuit Clerk, Jacob 
Swigert, County Judge; W. A. Sneed, County Attorney; A. II. 
Rennick, County Clerk; J. A. Crittenden, Sheriff; Harry B. 
Miller, Jailer; AVm. F. Parrent, Assessor; Joseph II. Bailey, 
Surveyor, and John Whitehead, Coroner. In a short time 
after the election W. H. Sneed resigned as County Attorney 
to accept the position of Lieutenant in the Volunteer Infantry. 
and Eugene P. Moore was elected to fill out the unexpired 
term. 

Francis, a slave, was charged, in 1860, with the offense 
of trying to poison the family of Hiram Berry. Several mem- 
bers of the family came near dying. She was tried in July of 
that year, and found guilty. The judgment of the court A\as, 
"It is adjudged that the defendant be taken to the jail of this 
county and there safely kept until the 7th day of September 
next, on which daj^ between sunrise and sunset the Sheriff 
of this county shall hang her by the neck until she be dead." 
The judgment was executed at the time stated. 

Gov. Robt. P. Letcher died at his home in Frankfort, 
January 27, 1861. The Legislature adjourned and went in 
a body from the State House to his late residence. The pro- 
cession to the cemetery included members of the Legislature, 
the State Officials, Judges of the Court of Appeals, and a large 
number of citizens and strangers. It was preceded by the 
Frankfort Brass Band. Robt. P. Letcher was a native of Ciar- 
rard County. He served seven years as Representative of 
(Jarrard in the Kentucky Legislature and ten years in Congress. 
He w^a.s elected Governor in 1810 and after that he became 
a citizen of Frankfort. He was defeated for Congress in the 
Ashland District, by John C. Breckinridge in 185:"). 

S. N. Hodges, a prominent attorney of Franklin County, 
was charged in 1862 with the killing of F. Perry, which tragedy 



150 THE HISTORY OF FRANKLIN COUNTY. 

occurred on the court house steps in the city of Frankfort. At 
the trial the proof was conckisive that Hodges acted in self-de- 
fense and the jury returned a verdict of "not guilty." One of 
the darkest periods in the history of Franklin County was that 
during the years 1861-4, when the dark clouds of Civil War 
had settled over the county. Not only were the people of the 
county disturbed and unsettled, but almost every family in the 
county had to give up one or more members of the family, to 
one side or the other, and in many instances brothers were 
divided ; one casting his lot with the South and the other with 
the North. There were sixty-three men from Franklin in the 
Confederate Cavalr}^ and one hundred and fifty-two in the Fed- 
eray ; one hundred and fifteen in the Confederate Infantry, and 
eighty-three in the Federal. That is, there were one hundred 
and seventy-eight volunteers on the Confederate side, and two 
hundred and thirty-five on the Federal side. In addition to 
these 413 there were as many as seven commissioned officers 
ranking higher than First Lieutenant on the Confederate side, 
to-wit: Thos. B. Monroe, and Ben Monroe, Majors; Preston 
B. Scott and John O. Scott, Surgeons; B. J. Monroe, T. B. 
Monroe and W. D. Acton, Captains. On the Federal side there 
were nineteen commissioned officers ranking higher than First 
Lieutenant, to-wit: D. W. Lindsey, Colonel in 22nd Kentucky 
Volunteer Infantry, and afterwards Inspector General of Ken- 
tucky; George Monroe was Lieutenant Colonel in the same 
regiment; Orlando Brown, Jr., enlisted as a private, he was pro- 
moted to Adjutant, then Major and afterwards to Lieutenant 
Colonel; Joseph W. Roberts went from private to Major, and 
then became Adjutant of his regiment; John B. Campbell en- 
listed as a private, was promoted to Corporal, and then Sergeant 
Major; Thomas L. Crittenden was Major General; Geo. W. 
Monroe was Brig. General ; James R. Page a nd John G. Keenon_ 
each held the commission of Major; John M. Bacon was Lieu- 
tenant Colonel, and in the Spanish American war became Brig. 
General ; Robert LI. King, Lieutenant Colonel. Those who 
held the commission of Captain were William W. Bacon, 
Frank A. Estop, William K. Gray, Jacob Swigert, Daniel Gar- 
rard, Henry J. Sheets, Lewis Finnell and Albert G. Bacon. 



THE HISTORY OF FRANKLIN COUNTY. 151 

Captain Daniel Garrard and Captain Albert G. Bacon were 
killed in battle. In the life of Gen, Forrest, page 32, is this 
statement in reference to the death of Captain Albert G. 
Bacon, who way killed on the 28tli of December, 1861, "Be- 
yond Sacramento the Union officers succeeded in rallying a 
squadron of the fugitives and turned upon their pursuers in 
a desperate and bloody combat, hand to hand. Forrest, still 
in advance, found himself confronted by this determined de- 
tachment of the Union Cavalry, and at such headlong speed 
wa.s he running towards them, that before he could check his 
horse he was in their midst engaged in a desperate fight for 
his life. The Confederate, Captain Merriwcther, close at his 
heels fell, instantly dead, from a pistol shot through the brain. 
Assaulted from all sides Forrest's skillful left hand stood him in 
good need. Before they could strike him down a quick thrust 
from his saber brought Captain Bacon down mortally 
wounded." 

Out of the 115 Volunteer Infantry from Franklin 
County, who cast their lot with the Southern Confederacy, 
there were only 36 of them who ever returned to their homes, 
the others having been killed upon the battle field or died in 
prison. The 36 who returned, had 52 scars made by Federal 
bullets during their four years service. To tell of all the heroic 
deeds and gallant conduct, of all the privations, toils and suf- 
fering borne with Spartan-like fortitude by the men from 
Franklin County, who fought, some for the north and some 
for the south ; to tell of the different actions in which they took 
part, of the blood which was shed, of the lives which were 
sacrificed, would extend this work l)eyond its present scope. 
A single instance from each side is given, merely to illustrate 
the fact that brave men went out from Franklin County, upon 
each side of that great struggle. 

In that memorable charge made by Breckcnridge at Mur- 
freesboro, on the 2nd day of January, 1863, where the courage 
and endurance of men were tested to the extreme, R. K. Wood- 
son, Jr., of the 2nd Ky. Reg. Hanson's Brigade, though only 
a private in the ranks, displayed that desperate courage which 
was the charteristic of the Franklin County soldiers. Three 



152 THE HISTORY OF FRANKLIN COUNTY. 

color bearers were successively killed, when the third one fell, 
Woodson seized the flag and while bearing it in advance of his 
comrades, he gave his life for the cause which he thought was 
just. 

Lieutenant Lewis Franklin Todd (Federal) lost his. right 
arm at Chaplain Hill. His distinguished service and severe 
wound entitled him to an honorable discharge from further 
service, but as soon as liis wound permitted he rejoined his 
command and on the same day that Woodson died, he, too, 
gave his life at Murfreesboro for the cause which he thought 
was just, and though engaged in deadly conflict against each 
other, on that fatal day, they rest at last in the same consecrated 
ground at Frankfort. At the battle of Murfreesboro, Kentucky 
had seventeen regiments of Confederates and fourteen regi- 
ments of Federals. 

On account of the threatened invasion of the State by 
General Bragg, J. H. Garrard, provost-marshal of Frankfoit, 
gave notice for every able bodied male citizen of the city of 
Frankfort to report at the Court House on Monday morning, 
August 18, 1862, between eight and nine o'clock to enroll 
themselves for the defense of the city. 

From September 3rd to November 5th, 1862, the publica- 
tion of ''The Commonwealth" was suspended. It was during 
that time that Gen. Bragg and his army were at Frankfort. 
The Union men, as a rule, fled with the Union soldiers. Gen. 
Bragg gave orders that no private property was to be destroyed 
or disturbed, but the goods purchased by him were paid for in 
Confederate money. The Frankfort Woolen Factory was the 
greatest loser. The Confederates took seventy-four thousand 
nine hundred and sixty yards of Kentucky Jeans for which the 
company had expected to realize as much as one dollar and 
fifty cents per yard, but instead received only one dollar per 
yard in Confederate money. 

In the issue of November 5th, Mr. William Wallace Har- 
ney, editor of ''The Commonwealth," said, "Pressing business 
demanded the presence of the proprietors and editor of this 
paper in Louisville. The atmosphere of Frankfort, usually 
so good, was becoming decidedly unhealthy and a little jaunt 



THE HISTORY OF FRANKLIN COUNTY. 153 

was earnestly recommended. It was a coincident, perhaps 
worth mentioning, that jnst about the same time a squad of 
Kebel Cavahy was expected in Frankfort. Knowing their 
principles and necessities, we were of the opinion that they 
might want us 'to let them a loan' and we were hard up. The 
proprietor, with proper discretion, left Frankfort in time, but 
the editor, with a fool hardiness which gave him a claim on Dr. 
Rodman of a certain State institution, remained to issue a final 
paper to our subscribers, giving a summary of the latest in- 
telligence. Congratulating himself upon the admirable edi- 
torials and newest news he proposed to lay before his readers, 
he was walking comfortably up the street, when he beheld a 
sight. It was several creatures, to his optics about forty feet 
high with guns eighty feet long, in butternut jeans, one with a 
dirty white handkerchief on the end of a stick and he knew 
by the butternut and the dirt they were the Southern Confed- 
eracy. He was greatly encouraged by learning through a 
friend, that a list of a hundred names of persons to be arrested 
had been sent to Col. Scott in which the letters composing his 
name figured. As an example of his modesty he was quite 
willing to transfer the compliment to any one else, but it 
seemed that there was a great deal of modesty in the market 
just then and the article was not to be disposed of." Frankfort 
was captured and held twice during the month of November, 
by each party. 

Lieutenant John J. Roberts was in charge of the defense 
of the city. One of his men was fatally wounded and Captain 
Garriott of the Southern force, was shot in the side and one of 
his company was also wounded. After Captain Garriott fell, 
the Confederate force gave way and the Union force took 
charge of the city. 

From October 14th, 1862, to November 19, of the same 
year, twenty-eight Federal soldiers died in the local hospital at 
Frankfort. 

When Gen. John H. Morgan made his raid through Ken- 
tucky, in 1864, Gen. D. W. Lindsey, who was at the time com- 
mander of a division under Gen. U. S. Grant in the South, 
was requested by Gov. Bramlette to return to Kentucky and 



154 THE HISTORY OF FRANKLIN COUNTY. 

organize the home guards as a protection for Frankfort, where 
there was stored large quantities of commissary and quarter- 
master stores. In the organization which he made, Ed_Keenon_ 
was made Col., Thomas J. Hutchinson, major orThe first bat- 
talion and John A. Crittenden, Adjutant. The two companies, 
one undei' Buck Keenon and the other under A, J. Graham, 
were ordered out to protect the ar.senal and a large number of 
Ballard rifles, then on the cars in the city. A division of 
Morgan's command under Col. Clark was ordered to Frankfort 
to capture the arms and other munitions of war stored at 
Frankfort. Governor Bramlette, Gen. D. AV. Lindsey, Gen. 
John M. Harlan and Col. George B. Monroe were in command 
when the attack by Col, Clark was made on June 10th. Mr. 
V. Berberich, who had charge of one of the guns located on 
Fort Hill, fired the first shot. A great manj^ shots were 
fired but the casualties were few. Major Hutchinson was shot 
in the mouth; Corporal John M. Coleman was wounded in the 
breast. None of Col. Clark's men were killed. The spirited 
resistance made by the home guards prevented the capture of 
Frankfort at that time. 

ROSTER OF SOLDIERS FROM FRANKLIN COUNTY 
IN THE REBELLION. 

Federal Cavalry. 

List of Company ''B," 3rd Kentucky Cavalry: Captain, 
Albert G. Bacon; Captain, Robert H. King; Lieutenant, John 
J. Roberts; Sergeant, Baxter P. Gray; Sergeant, G. S. Innis; 
Sergeant, Walter W. Winter; Sergeant, Bunnias Malcomb; 
Corporals, Charles B. Wallace, Robert Innis, John Church, 
William Campbell, Thomas W. Hockinsmith; Privates, Sal- 
mon Harlow, Solomon Steele, Samuel McCurdy, Alexander 
Cohen, Turner Rogers, John Abrahams, John F. Clubbc, Geo. 
Fleming, Oliver 11. P. Garnett, Thaddcus Hawkins, Allen K. 
Prime, Thomas Petty, David Rogers, John Steele, Hugh Tyler, 
Edward A. Wallace, Wm. AVells, Hiram Shannon, Willis 
Roach. 

Company "C," 9th Kentucky : Robert L. Henry, Chas. F. 



THE UISTORY OF FRANKLIN COUNTY. 155 

Fleming, John L. Dailey, Chas, M. Christopher, Jacob N. Boots, 
John C. Baker, Pref^ton Bramlett, Edward F. Bacon, Wister 
Boldcn, Wm. H. Christopher, Mason B. Christopher, Thomas 
F. Figlitmaster, Willis H. Hosier, Cassias M. Hall, David C. 
Hoover, James A. Hardin, Edward Hudson, Thomas S. Hosier, 
Alexander C. Henry, Preston Hampton, Thomas W. Han- 
cock, Lucien B. Hawkins, James W. Kinkade, Franklin R. 
Moss, John C. McGinnis, AVilliam B. Newton, Henry J. New- 
ton, John Newton, Wm. II. Oliver, Geo. M. Perry, John K. 
Pallett, Robert H. Pallctt, Albert N. Smith, Bush Sacra, Reuben 
Wallace, Leander Wise, James Wise, Wirt Yancy, Angus Mc- 
Mullen, Ashley Buffin, Jr., Thomas T. Saterwhite, deserted. 

Company ''E" Otii Kentucky Volunteers. 

Captains, Henry J. Sheets, James R. Page; Lieutenants, 
Thoma.s Mahoney, Thomas M. Page, Richard II. Parrent; 
Sergeants, Wm. H. Stanley, John B. Dryden, George Finnell, 
Wm. H. Hutcherson, John W. Daniels, Jessie Whitehouse, 
John B. Richardson, Richard H. Mitchell; Privates, Gibson 
F. Graham, William Lillis, Daniel Sheehan, John Conner, 
John Harrod, Richard Bradley, Richard Gaines, Joseph 
Bohannon, Wm. Duke, Francis Goins, Robert Agee, Benjamin 
Armstrong, Wm. Brown, Daniel Burchfield, Andrew Burch- 
field. Fielding Bransom, Dennis Burns, John H. Bohannon, 
Benjamin Brown, Morris Caples, James Conner, "W^illiam 
Craik, Henderson Crutchfield, John W. Cox, Richard Ent- 
wistle, Walter Flarily, Bartholomew Fisher, Presley 0. Gaines, 
Squire Hicks, James M. Holder, William Hutcherson, Henry 
Hogan, Peter Harmon, David Kirkpatrick, Charles Mitchell, 
Henry Masters, Chas. H. Moss, Hawkins G. Mitchell, Brac- 
zellear B. Morris, Elisha M. ;Merchant, William McCauliff 
Alexander ]McEwan, Manlius T. Mitchell, Robert Owens, 
Andrew J. Policy, Joseph T. Prime, John Sheehan, Chas. P. 
Shea, John Sullivan, Thomas TuUy, Joseph Vogt, Richard 
Vaughn, William Watkins, John S. Williams, Benjamin M. 
Jolly, John Dean, Charles Snellen, Joshua Warren, Samuel 
Armstrong, William T. Alexander, Sandford Goins, John W. 



156 THE HISTORY OF FRANKLIN COUNTY. 

Peiffer; Deserters, Willis Sheets, Thomas Gaylc, David Ilock- 
insmith, John W, Hancock and Thomas Tooly. 

ROLL OF FEDERAL VOLUNTEER INFANTRY. 

Company ''A" 22nd Kentucky. 
William Gainey, William H. IVIilam, William T. Walls. 

Company ''F" 22nd Kentucky. 

Captain Daniel Garrard, Jr., killed at Chickasaw Bluffs. 
Captain, William W. Bacon; Lieutenants, William II. Snccd 
and Richard F. Frayne ; Corporals, David C. Bledsoe and Ben- 
jamin Merchant; Privates, Henry Cecil, John F. Henderson, 
Cornelius McCarty, Jeremiah Tyre, Geo. W. Willis, Thomas 
E. West, John West, Chas. Boucher, Henry K. Brawner, Har- 
rison Cohorn, Theodore F. C. Polk, Charles Shaw, Wiley 
Smith, John Seal, Charles Rossen, Orlando Brown, Jr., Wil- 
liam Bledsoe, John Buffin, Dennis Bergin, James Baldwin, 
John B. Campbell, James Hollywood, James Lunsford, Enoch 
Marshall, Christopher Merchant, Nathan Nolan, Joseph North, 
Geo. B. Pitman, Byran J. Quin, Joseph W. Roberts, Alexander 
Snelling, James A. Shea, James T. Sliaw, Leonard L. Wells, 
Joseph Montgomery, Geo. W. Fcitmaster, Robert Semones, 
Geo. W. Merchant, John Walker; Deserters, Alexander Burns, 
Daniel Smither, Reuben West. 

Company "V of 22nd Kp^ntucky. 

Captains, Frank A. Estep and William K. Gray; Privates, 
James Linton, Peter Brawiler, John R. Gore, Isaac C. Mitchell, 
Spillman C. Owens, Hiram Shannon, Jacob Swigert, Jr., Frank 
Updike, John B. Walker, Edward B. Coleman, .Tohn B. Vcach, 
James M. Pearson, Henry R. Bradley, Geo. W. Crumbaugh, 
Litz Combs, John M. Gayle, Leonard Striff, John Sullivan, 
Geo. W. Tweedie, Samuel F. Eperson, John R. Burke, Geo. W. 
Chinn, Henry Gergle, John Lloppell, Robert Hatcher, Charles 



THE HISTORY OF FRANKLIN COUNTY. 157 

Marshall, William Howe, Thomas Abrahams; Deserters, Geo. 
W. Easly, Jessie Gibson. 

ROSTER OF CONFEDERATE SOLDIERS IN THE RE- 
BELLION FROM FRANKLIN COUNTY. 

Cavalry — Company "C" 9tii Kentucky — Morgan's 
Command. 

Lieutenant, A. J. Church; A. V{. Maeklin, T. B. Wilkin- 
son, George Wilkinson, Terry Freeman, Thomas Freeman, 
^lason B. Lucas, T. W. Scott, Joel E. Scott, Joseph Bell, Jack 
Head, Moffett Crutcher, Louis Crutcher, William Crutchcr, 
killed at Columbia; E. O. Hawkins, W. Price, W. H. Church, 
Robt. C. Church, Frank Chinn, Thomas E. Dailey, Ed. Mc- 
Laughlin, Dan Hodges, Geo. Holloway, Geo. Scarce, John 
Sheets, William Sheets, Ben Sheets, William Updike, Ben 
Hockersmith, Theo. Hockersmith, Jessie Hockersmith, Robert 
Sheets, Wheeler Winter, John Bryant, John A. Lewis, W. J. 
Lewis, John Howe, John Harrod, James Harp, Merrett Wil- 
liams, Jessie Tillett, Black Mitchell, Thomas Hopper, Joe Gib- 
son, Joseph French, Sidney French, Robert Jones, William 
Duvall, Byron Montgomery, Aquilla Talbott, Howard Stead- 
man, Loyd Wingate, Cyrus Wingate, Dr. Ben Duvall, Sur- 
geon. 

FRANKLIN COUNTY MEN IN CONFEDERATE 
INFANTRY. 

Infantry — Company "E" 4Tn Kentucky. 

Major Thomas B. ]\I()nruc, killed at Shilo; Reg. Surgeon, 
Preston B. Scott; Ca])laiu, Ben J. Monroe, killed at Shilo; 
Lieutenant, George B. ]>urnley, killed; Lieutenants, Isham T. 
Dudley, Rol)ert A. Thompson; R. L. Russell, Thomas T. 
Price, Sam W. Sliauuon, Alfred Clark, George W. Lawler, 
Wm. T. Price, S. S. Stringfellow, Ben Baxter, John T. Card- 
well, Joe Cole, James G. Crockett, Cornelius Duvall, J, K. 
Exum, Dan C. Graves, John J. Graves, killed at Chickamauga; 
W. W. Hawkins, killed at Chickamauga; Dennis Haly, Wm. 



158 THE HISTORY OF FRANKLIN COUNTY. 

Howe, W, H, Hieronymous, Chas. Howe, Dodridge A. Jett, 
died in prison ; W. L. Jett, Dennis McSweeney, Frank A. Mon- 
roe, Jessie R. Middleton, Wm. W. Menzies, John W. Miller, 
Andrew J. Witt, William J. Watkins. 

Company ^'K" 5th Infantry. 

Captain, W. D. Acton, Lieutenants, J. T. Gaines, D. S. 
Crockett, J. C. Eobb; H. S. Green, Ben F, Rogers, James 
Yount, William Ellis, Neill Hackett, Felix Long, James B. 
McQueen, N. L. Moore, James D, Moore, William M. Robb, 
John Roberts, Alex Sheets, Presley Sandford, Jerry Spaulding, 
J. K. Tracy, Jacob Williams, W. W. Wright, James Lowery, 
Jack Pattie, C. H. Menzies, James McQueen, Tom Hawkins, 
William G. Crutcher, William Glore, Ben Hickman, Henry 
Marshall, Lewis Moore, Thomas Powers, Harry Roberts, Sam 
Sheets, W. N. Shelton, John W. Smith, Jerry Tracy, Henry 
White, James Wright. 

Company '^G" 6th Infantry. 
Ben F. Dickerson. 

Company "A" 2nd Infantry. 

John A. Scott, Surgeon; A. G. Montgomery, Thompson 
Scroggins, John S. Stout, Samuel S. Willson, Pias Pulliam. 

Company "B." 
William H. Duvall, Marine Duvall. 

Company ''C." 
George Sebree. 

Company "E." 

J. T. Atkins, Walter Bradley, F. M. Chambers, John 
Crutcher, Andrew Carter, Robert Carter, J. W. Cunningham, 
W. C. Church, Joseph Dailey, Willis Hensley, E. P. Mcrshon, 
John W. Payne, James Plasters, John Pulliam, J. W. Robinson, 



THE HISTORY OF FRANKLIN COUNTY. 15^ 

Sam Sheets, Ikn Sheets, John T. Sebrec, J. O. Sel)rcc, George 
Sebree, Robert Sebree, Ben Wright. 

Company "II." 
Alex G. Brawner, ^J'homas P. Brawner. 

Company '1." 

Lieutenant, S. S. Collins ; John P. Aubrey, Ben F. Brown, 
E. J. Collins, Geo. W. Cheney, James Paxton. 

Dr. Wm. C. Sneed died November 20, 1862. For twenty- 
five 3'ears he was a successful practitioner at Frankfort. He 
stood high in his profession and he wa.s known as a man of in- 
tegrity and honor. He contributed many valual)le articles to 
the leading medical journals of the country. For some time 
he was president of the State Medical Society. His history of 
the Kentucky penitentiary was so well written that the Ken- 
tucky Legislature had it published at the expense of the State. 

Hon. James Harlan died at his home in Frankfort, Feb- 
ruary 18, 1863. He was the father of Justice John M. Harlan, 
He was Attorney General of the State for many years and was 
one of the most prominent lawyers and politicians in the 
State. He was elected to the U. S. Congress, where he at- 
tained high rank. He was afterwards Secretary of State, At- 
torney General and District Attorney of the United States, 
which position he held at the time of his death. He was a man 
of distinguished abilitj'. 

One of the greatest men, if not the very greatest man, 
who ever claimed Frankfort as his home, was the Hon. John 
Jordon Crittenden, who died at his residence in Frankfort, on 
July 26th, 1863. 

''The Commonwealth" .said of him, ''Thus has pa.ssed 
from the earth the last of the great men of post-revolutionary 
times, who kept alive, in the presence of the whole world the 
great truth that man was capable of self-government. He sur- 
vived liis illustrious compeers, Clay, Calhoun and Wel)ster and 
at the time of his death did not leave his equal behind him in 



160 THE HISTORY OP FRANKLiN COUNTY. 

the Nation and scarcely in the world itself. In all that con- 
stitutes true greatness he had no superior. Great without am- 
bition for place or prominence. Patriotic without any selfish 
inducements, brave, virtuous and self-denying, from the in- 
stincts of his nature he was the model of a citizen, a patriot and 
a gentleman. The great Kentuckian is dead. Millions of 
Americans, both North and South, will hear this announce- 
ment with profoundest sorrow, w^hile to his own native Ken- 
tucky the news will come with a sadness that will make her 
feel as if she stood alone in the blast to mourn the loss of her 
well beloved son." 

The Governor issued a proclamation dated at Frankfort, 
July 27th, in which he said: ''When a great man dies a Nation 
mourns. Such an event has occurred in our midst, in the 
death of the Hon. John J. Crittenden. Kentucky's longest 
tried statesman in her public service, a man faithful to every 
trust, one who has added, by his talents and character, to the 
fame of the Nation and has pre-eminently advanced the glory 
and honor of his native Kentucky. It is fit and proper that all 
testimonies of respect and affection should be paid his remains 
by all in authority as well as by private citizens. I therefore 
earnestly request that all places of business shall be closed on 
Wednesday next, from the hours of 10 o'clock in the morning 
until 5 in the afternoon and hereby direct all the public offices 
in Frankfort to be closed during the entire day, and I appoint 
Gen. John W. Finnell, Col. James H. Garrard and Col. 
Orlando Brown a committee to make suitable arrangements for 
the funeral. 

By the Governor. 

J. F. Robinson, 

D. C. WiCKLIFFE, 

Secretary of State. 

Hon. John Jordon Crittenden was born in Woodford 
County in 1786. He was educated at Washington Academy 
and William and Mary's College in Virginia. He studied law 
with the Hon. George M. Bibb and commenced to practice the 
profession at Russellville, Ky. In 1811 he was elected to rep- 



THE HISTORY OF FRANKLIN COrXTY. 161 

resent Logan County in ihc Kcntuc-ky J.cgi.-^lature. lie .served 
six terms from that county; the la.st term as Speaker. Dur- 
ing his IcU^t year in the Legislature from Logan County, ho 
was elected to the United States Senate, and was the youngest 
memher of that hody. He moved to Frankfort in 1819. He 
was elected to represent Franklin County in the Kentucky 
Legislature in 1825-29-o0-31 and 18:^2. He was the recog- 
nized leader of the Old Court party in the controversy between 
the Old and the New Court. In 18)^5 he was re-elected to the 
United States Senate and he remained there until President 
Harrison appointed him Attorney General of the United States. 
After the death of Mr. Harrison, he resigned and was elected 
to lill out the unexpired term of Henry Clay in the Federal 
Senate. In 1843 he was re-elected to the Senate but resigned 
in 1848 to make the race for Governor. He also resigned the 
position of Governor in order to accept ilte appointment of L'. 
S. Attorney General, under President Fillmore. ^Vfter the ex- 
piration of his term he was again elected to the Federal Senate. 
He was serving his second term as a meml)er of the lower 
House of Congress, from the Ashland District, at the time of 
his death. He was the recognized leader of the Peace party, 
and he did all that he could to prevent the war between the 
States. As a man he was loved and honored, and as a states- 
man he was held in reverence by the people of his State and 
Nation. 

In 1863 II. M. Bedford was elected to represent the 
county in the Kentucky Legislature, and II. B. Innis was 
elected Sheriff. In November, Gen. D. ^^^ Lindsey was ap- 
pointed Inspector General of Kentucky, which gave him the 
rank of Major General and Acting Commander of all of the 
military forces of the State. 

During the sunnner of 18(5:) Knight's l)ridge across l']lk- 
horn was built by John (Jault, contractor. 

In 1864 Harry B. Innis was re-elected Shei'ifT, John P. 
Graham was elected School Commissioner, and William Craik 
was appointed Jailer in the i)lace of R. H. Miller, resigned. 
In the month of August guerrillas became troulJesome in the 
county. On the 22nd they went to John Steadman's store at 



162 THE HISTORY OF FRANKLIN COUNTY. 

Steadmaiitown and took what they wanted; they also vent 
to the house of Zachery Lewis and made a search for money. 
They took a horse from Lawson Noel and terrorized many 
other citizens. One of the guerrillas was known to be Hugh 
Ilarrod, a deserter from the company of Capt. K. B. Tax lor, 
and probably all of them were deserters from the Union Army. 

On January 24th, 1865, a band, conmiiuided by c man 
named Taylor, was at Bridgeport and robbed the storo,> and 
citizens indiscriminately, and the following night the same 
band visited and robbed Farmer's store at Farmdale. 

By order of Steve Burbridge, on the afternoon of Novem- 
ber 2, 1864, eight men were brought from Lexington to Frank- 
fort, and on that same afternoon four of them were taken to 
a vacant lot in South Frankfort, corner of Todd and Shelby 
streets, and shot in retaliation for the death of a man named 
Graham, who was killed at Peak's Mill. On the 3rd, the 
other four were taken to New Castle and executed for the two 
negroes who were killed there by John Marshall. 

The official returns of the Presidential election in 1864, 
show that Lincoln was not popular in Franklin County as a 
presidential candidate. He received 253 votes and McClcllcn 
received 689 in the County. 

O. G. Cates died on May 10, 1865. He was a resident of 
Frankfort for many years. Lie was a lawyer of ability. Dur- 
ing the administration of Gov. Owsley, he was appointed At- 
torney General of Kentucky and served with distinction. He 
was afterwards President of the Board of Internal Improve- 
ments, which oflice he filled with fidelity to the State and honor 
to himself. Lie was buried in the Frankfort cemetery. 

On June 12, 1865, an explosion of a locomotive boiler oc- 
curred at the Frankfort station, which caused the instant death 
of three men and the injury of ten others, six of whom were 
fatally injured. The station was almost a total wreck, tlie 
walls were knocked down and the roof torn to pieces. The 
sand box fell through the roof of Mrs. Campljell's residence on 
the north side of the street, and several other houses were ma- 
terially damaged. Those who were instantly killed were, Wil- 
liam Brown, of Frankfort; William Carroll, of Lexington, and 



THE HISTORY OF FRANKLIN COUNTY. 163 

Louis Pumphry, of Louisville. Those wlio ufterwanls died 
from the eft'ecUs of the injuries were John Henderson, Jr.; a 
young son of John E. Miles; Mike Fox; a soldier by the name 
of Kelly; J. W. Hunter and a boy named Cornelius. The 
cau.se of the explosion was never satisfactorily exi)laine(l. 

In 18G5, James Harlan, Jr., was elected to represent the 
county; Richard A. Bohannon wa.s elected Jailer and Stephen 
I). Morris, County Attorney. In October of that year, seven 
convicts made their escape from the Frankfort penitentiary. 
They put a ladder to the top of the wall and told the guard 
that they had been ordered to do so by the foreman, and in 
that way made their escape. 

On Wednesday, November 22, 1805, the public building 
in which were situated the Oovernor's office, the Secretary of 
State, and the Clerk of the Court of Appeals, was destroyed by 
fire. The fire originated in the Appellate Clerk's office and the 
entire contents of that office were destroyed. All of the official 
and public documents in the office of the Governor and Secre- 
tary of State, together with the Governor's private law library 
and practically every thing else in those two oflices were saved. 
The money lo.ss was large, but the loss of records were of small 
con.sideration. 

In 1866 gas mains were laid in South Frankfort and that 
section" of the city was supplied with ga.". 

The oil portrait of Henry Clay, which hung in the Legis- 
lative hall of the Old Capitol for about half a. century, was 
painted by William Fry, of Iluntsvillc, Alabama. It is a full 
portrait of the ''great commoner," life size, 7x11, and it is in 
every respect a fine painting. The likeness is good both in 
features and expression of the face and in the general appear- 
ance and attitude. "The noble figure stands out in bold relief 
upon the canvas as if endowed with life and animation, still 
charming and thrilling an audience with his golden and burn- 
ing words." 

Col. Robt. H. King died at his home in Frankfort, on 
June 9, 1866. He was Colonel of the 3rd Kentucky Volunteer 
Cavalry. He enlisted in the Union Army as First Lieutenant, 
in Capt. Albert G. Bacon's company, which was raised in 



164 THE HISTORY OF FRANKLIN COUNTY. 

Franklin Connly; on the death of Capt. Bacon, at Sacramento, 
Lieut. King became Captain. He was afterwards commi.s.^^ioned 
as Major, and later as Lieutenant Colonel and afterwards 
breveted Colonel for gallant and meritorious conduct. Lie com- 
manded a brigade in Sherman's ''ride to the sea." Col. King 
jjossessed fine talents. He was a genial, social and gallant gen- 
tleman and was greatly loved by those who knew him. "He 
passed through the war unharmed, but early in the days of peace 
and in early manhood he fell a victim to that insidious foe 
which destroys more men than pestilence and war and which 
produces more sorrow than all other evils combined. He was 
buried in the Frankfort cemetery with military honors. The 
pall-bearers were Maj.-Gen. Thos. L. Crittenden, Gen. ]). W. 
Lindsey, Brig. -Gen. George W. Monroe, Gen. John M. Har- 
lan, Lieut. -Col. James T. Bramlette. j\L\j. James K. Page, Maj. 
John M. Bacon and Sergeon J. T. Hatchitt. 

On May 7, 1866, a colored boy by the name of Charles 
made a criminal assault on a small white girl seven years of 
age. That night the negro was taken from the jail by a mol) 
and hung. The hanging was done without any excitement or 
disorder. A merited punishment was sternly and speedily ad- 
ministered, an example was set which has been closely followed 
for half a century and which ought to be a sufficient warning 
to the negro race, and the white too, as for that matter, that the 
women and girls of Franklin County nuist be protected. 
During the half century which the negro has been free, not one 
of them has ever been tried in Franklin County by a legally 
constituted court for criminal assault, and doubtless during 
the next half century not one of them will be so tried. Such 
crimes arouse a natural indignation and the general })ublic de- 
mands an immediate execution of the criminal, with the idea, 
that in order to tlioroughly and effectively eradicate such 
crimes the punishment must not only be certain and severe, 
but it must also be speedily administered. On the night of 
January lU), 1868, a negro l)y the name of Jim Mackliii, who 
had committed an assault on a young white woman near the 
State Arsenal, and had thrown her ])ody down the eml)ank- 
ment near the tunnel, was taken from the Frankfort jail and 



THE HISTORY OF FRANKLIN COUNTY. l65 

carried to the place where the crime wa.s coinmitteil aiul hunj];. 
/riio results of thi.s hanging created a great deal of excitement. 
The United States Conrt at tliat time had jnris(hction of snch 
cases. AVari'ants were sworn out against some of the most sul)- 
slantial citizens of Frankfort, charged with being imphcated 
in the hanging The United States Marshal arrested Micliacl 
Parker, John Owens, James Welch, Edward Cunnnins, 
Michael Buckley, Pat Sullivan, Mike Callahan, Dan Callahan, 
Pat Newman, Thomas Newman, Dennis Griflin, Kd Burns and 
L. Tobin and took them before the Commissioner of the I'nited 
States Court for examining trial. Col. John Mason Brown 
prosecuted them and Judge G. W. Craddock, Judge P. U. ^hijor 
and Major D. W. Carpenter defended. On motion of Col. 
Brown, Mr. L. Tobin was discharged, there being no evidence 
to im])licatc him. After a full hearing all of the defendants 
were discharged, except Michael Callahan, Daniel Callahan, 
Jim Welch, Edward Cummins and M. Parker. There wa.s 
serious complaint against the manner in which Commissioner 
Vance conducted the trial of the accused parties; contrary to 
the advice of Col. Brown, he proceeded in a way which con- 
Wnced the pul)lic that he was neither a lawyer nor an honest 
man. 

Father Lambert Young, the Catholic priest, w ho was in 
charge of the Catholic Church at Frankfort, wa.s snbpociKicd as 
a witness against the defendants, but he refused to tcU what 
had been told to him by rea.'^on of the fact that he was a Chris- 
tian priest, and the court thereupon committed him to jail 
for contempt of court. The defendants were released on l)ail, 
but Father Young remained in jail until the 28tli of .July ; 
after his release he wrote a card thanking his many friends for 
their kindness to him and in which he said, ''None of these 
good citizens, I feel sure, are possessed with the idea that niy 
refusing to testify on the trial of the Frankfort prisoners arose 
from any disposition to contemn the law, the Grand Jury 
or the Hon. Court. I truly revere the law and T respect its ofli- 
cers, and had it been po.ssible for me to act otherwise than I 
did without doing outrage to my conscience as a Christian 
priest, and to my sense of honor as a man, I should certainly 



166 THE HISTORY OF FRANKLIN COUNTY. 

have promptly given the evidence demanded and thus have 
saved myself the misery of confinement in the county jail." 
Perhaps no man ever lived in Frankfort who was more uni- 
versally honored and respected by Catholics, Protestants and 
the people generally than was Father Lambert Young. 

In Fel)ruary, 1866, J. Swigert resigned as County Judge, 
and the Magistrates elected Judge Lysander Hord and at the 
following August election he was elected by the people ; at that 
time A. II. Rennick was elected County Clerk; Eugene P. 
Moore, County Attorney; W. J. Chinn, Sheriff ; E. H. Tole, 
Coroner; R. Hutchinson, Jailer; J. S. Hawkins, Surveyor, and 
Peter Jett, Assessor. 

In October of that year Dr. James G. Hatchitt was ap- 
pointed postmaster at Frankfort, in the place of William A. 
Claines, resigned. 

Hon. Mason Brown died at his home in Frankfort, on 
January 27, 1867, at the age of 68 years. He was the son of 
John Brown, the first Congressman from the Western Country. 
Mason I^rowii was a graduate of Yale College ; after his gradu- 
ation he entered the law office of John J. Crittenden, and sub- 
sequently graduated in the law school at Lexington. He 
formed a partnership with Hon. Ben Mills and subsequently 
with ({overnor Chas. S. Morehead and in conjunction they 
comi)iled a work of great value to the legal profession, known 
as ''Morehead & Brown's Digest." He was known as one of 
the great lawyers of Kentucky. He was Commonwealth's At- 
torney for several years and was afterwards elected Judge of 
the Circuit Court and as such Judge he gained the distinction 
of being one of the greatest jurists in the country. He was 
Secretary of State during the administration of Governor C. S. 
Morehead, and he was United States District Attorney for the 
district in which he lived for several years, prior to his death. 

In 1860, the Kentucky Legislature passed a resolution 
authorizing and directing the Governor of Kentucky to pro- 
cure suita])le gold medals, appropriately inscribed, to be pre- 
sented to the surviving officers and soldiers of the Kentucky 
Volunteers, who were present and participated in the engage- 



THE HISTORY OF FRANKLIN COUNTY. 167 

meiit between the Amerieans and British on Lake Erie on the 
lOtli of September, 1813. 

The Governor directed Mr. 1^. F. Meek of Frankfort, to 
design and make these medals. The medal was l)eantifully 
executed, of the pnrest virgin gold. Its circumference wa.s 
four and seven-eighths inches and its weight thirty-one penny- 
weights. The obverse of the medal represented a naval en- 
gagement, executed with the minutest fidelity of detail. Tiie 
rigging, smoke, Ijattle tiags and waves were gra})hically de- 
])icted, surrounding the design was the legend, "We have met 
the enemy and they are ours." — the memorable dispatch of 
the inmiortal Perrv — with the date, ''Lake Erie, Sept. 10th, 
1813." 

The reverse of the medal bore the inscription, ''To 

By Resolution of the Kentucky Legislature, February, ISOO," 
and inclosed by wreaths of oak leaves and laurel. At the time 
this medal was offered there were supposed to be only four 
Kentuckians living, viz.: Dr. William Talliaferro, James 
Artus, John Norris and John Tucker, but in 18()() two addi- 
tional medals Avere ordered, one for Ezra Youngblood and one 
for Samuel Hatfield of Floyd County. 

B. F. Meek was the owner of a jewelry store on Main 
street, where he did a .successful busine.ss for a great many 
years. He was one of the makers of the Meek t^' Milam fish- 
ing reel, which became one of the most noted productions ever 
supplied to the sporting world. He took an active part in tlie 
business and political affairs of Frankfort. Tie wa.*^ a man of 
integrity and was honored and respected by all who knew 
him. 

On February 14, 1867, Benson Creek overflowed its banks 
and did a great deal of damage to that section of the county. 
Conway's mill, located at the falls of Benson Creek, about 
four miles from Frankfort, was washed away and totally de- 
stroyed; two spans of the county bridge, known a.s "Ganey's 
bridge," about one mile from the city were carried off by the 
flood; a man by the name of Alexander lost his stable, and a 
great deal of fencing was lost. At a court held in the follow- 
ing May $1,000 was appropriated with which to rebuild the 



168 THE HISTORY OF FRANKLIN COUNTY. 

GcUiey bridge; at the same session of the court $1,000 was 
a|)propriated for rebuilding the bridge over Main Elkhorn on 
the Owenton road ; also a thousand dollars for building a bridge 
at the mouth of Benson, and $250 for building one over Lees- 
town branch. The action of the commissioners in selling the 
upper stories, over the County and Circuit Court Clerk's offices 
was approved and confirmed. 

In 1867 there were only thirty-six men in Franklin 
County whose income exceeded one thousand dollars per year, 
and only fourteen whose income exceeded two thousand dollars, 
and only nine whose incomes exceeded three thousand, and 
only five whose income exceeded four thousand dollars per 
year. 

Franklin County lost by death more of its illustrious citi- 
zens during the decade from 1860 to 1870 than during any 
other like period of its history. To the long list of great men 
who died during this decade is added the names of Theodore 
O'Hara and Charles S. Morehead. While neither of them were 
actual residents of the county at the time of their death, yet 
the main part of their lives were spent in Franklin County, 
and the literary work which made them famous was done while 
they lived in Frankfort. 

In the summer of 1867 the trustees of the Frankfort pub- 
lic school purchased a lot in South Frankfort, from Judge 
(ico. C. Drane. upon which to erect a pul)lic school building. 
During the following year Mr. John Ilaly, contractor, com- 
})letcd the l)uilding. It was a three story brick building with 
teachers' room, hat and cloak rooms. Superintendent's office, 
etc. 

On Novemlter 12, 1867. Col. J. Stoddard Johnston became 
the editor of the Frankfort Yeoman. Prior to that time Col. 
S. I. M. Major had been editor and publisher. Col. Johnston 
was recognized as one of the be.'^t writers in the State. His 
strong editorials soon established the Yeoman as the leading 
journal of the State and as the organ of the Democratic Party. 

P. R. Pattie was appointed Jailer in 1867. and Robert 
Lawler was elected Jailer in 1868 to fill out an unexpired term ; 
Joseph Robertson wa.-^ elected Sheriff in 1869. 



THE HISTORY OF FRANKLIN COUNTY. 169 

In 1868 llie J.oui.s\illc and Na.'^livillc Railroad Company 
placed a floor for pedestrians on the railroad bridge. The 
lloor was only live feet wide bnt it was of great convenience to 
the people of Bellepoint and the northwest section of the county. 
The completion of the bridge across the mouth of Benson that 
year gave the people of that section of the county easy access 
to the city of Frankfort. Prior to the completion of these con- 
veniences the people in that section of the county were often 
prevented from reaching their County Seat for weeks and some 
times months, on account of high water and bad roads. 

The annual Methodist Conference was held in Frankfort 
in 18G8. It was presided over by Bishop Lovick Pierce. The 
Kev. H. A. M. Henderson wa.s returned to the Frankfort sta- 
tion. The Rev. J, L. T. Holland was called to the Christian 
Church during the same j'^ear. The other preachers located 
in Frankfort at that time Avere Rev. J. N. Norton, in charge 
of the Episcopal Church ; Rev. J. S. Hays, of the Presbyterian, 
and Rev. AV. L. Jermane, of the Baptist. The ceremony of 
laying the corner stone of "St. John's in the Wilderness" took 
place on St. John's Day, June 24, 1867. It was witnessed by 
a large number of persons from that section of the county 
and from Frankfort. For quite a number of years after these 
buildings were constructed, the mission at that place was in a 
most flourishing condition, it embraced an orphans' home, a 
Sunday School and a place for public worship. It was located 
about five miles from Frankfort on the St. John's road. 

At the January term, 1869, of the Franklin County Fiscal 
Court, $75,000 was appropriated to the Kentucky river im- 
provement, and $10,000 for the l)ridges of the county, and in 
order to raise the amounts appropriated county bonds were is- 
sued. 

Major Hall, so named in honor of Mayor S. I. M. Major, 
was completed in that year. It was located on ]\Iain Street 
where the City Hall now stands, fronting 66 feet and running 
back 138 feet. The first floor contained on one "side of the 
main enti'auce a good restaurant and on the other a store room 
which Avas used for furniture. The upper story contained a 
large room which was used for a billiard room and an elegant 



170 THE HISTORY OF FRANKLIN COUNTY. 

suit of club rooms besides the hall. The size of the auditorium 
was 82x56. The seating capacity was 1,500. The drop cur- 
tain was a very superior painting representing the ruins of 
ancient Rome. The building was burned November 11, 1882. 

On the night of the 19th of February, the upper portion 
of the center pier of the St. Clair street bridge fell. The 
passage of the Ijridge was closed for several months. The 
work to restore the pier was commenced at once, but on account 
of the high water at that season of the year, slow progress was 
made. It was late in the summer before it was again opened 
for vehicles. 

The only death ever recorded in Franklin County from 
hydrophobia was that of Mr. John D. Sargent which occurred 
at his home in the country, March 22, 1860. About three 
months prior to his death he received a bite from a small dog, 
which attracted no attention and created no alarm Ijecause the 
wound was seemingly cured in a short time. Three days prior 
to his death he felt so unwell that he sent for a physician, who 
after a careful examination could not determine the character 
of his disease. A few hours later the disease developed such 
symptoms which rendered the mistaking it for any thing else, 
impossible. At every effort to gratify his extreme thirst he was 
seized with contraction of the throat and fearful spasms, re- 
quiring the assistance of several per.sons to hold him, until at 
last the dread of swallowing made him refuse everything offered 
to him. During the continuance of the attacks he made no ef- 
fort to injure any of the many per.sons who were with him. 
It was a distressing and painful sight. The terror indicated in 
his face, the brilliant and protruding eyes, the agonizing con- 
vulsions and his loud cries for help impressed those present 
with the idea that his death was the most horrible one a man 
coidd die. 

On the night of April 2nd, the whi.skey warehouse situated 
on the north bank of the Kentucky river near the end of the 
St. Clair street bridge was burned with 8,500 barrels of. 
whiskey, the estimated loss of which was $350,000. The ware- 
house belonged to George B. Macklin, and the whiskey was 
owned, to a great extent, l)y eaiitcrn parties, on which they had 



THE HISTORY OF FRANKLIN COUNTY. 171 

considerable insurance. The burning whiskey ran from the 
building on to the river in a broad stream, which burned with 
a bluish flame and which spread itself far out in the river and 
for a considerable distance up and down the river. The river 
on lire presented a most spectacular appearance. For several 
hours the bridge was in imminent danger. It caught fire sev- 
eral times but each time the flames were extinguished without 
material damage. 

Capt. John A. Holton died at the homestead on which he 
was raised, near the Forks of Elkhorn, on the 13th of June. 
About 1804 he made his first trip on a flat boat, ladened with 
produce, from Frankfort to New Orleans. Prior to 1812 he 
made several other trips as captain of such boats, returning, as 
wa.s the custom in that day, on foot, through the Indian 
country of Mississippi and Tennessee. He was one of the first 
to join Capt. Pa.schal Hickman's company in the War of 1812, 
and was one of the few survivors of that company at the mas- 
sacre of the River Raisen. In this action Capt. Holton was 
wounded in the ankle and was taken ]irisoTier. He wa.s about 
the only man from Franklin County who after being wounded 
and captured escaped the massacre which followed the surren- 
der of those brave men. After his return from the war he re- 
sumed his former occupation on the river and after the intro- 
duction of steam ho became captain of a boat, first on the Ohio 
and ]\Iississi])pi and later on the Kentucky river. He was a 
very popular and successful officer. In 1848 he represented 
Franklin County in the Kentucky Legislature. 

On the 10th of .Tune, Ccneral Peter Dudley died at his 
home in the city of Fi-ankfort. He was First Lieutenant in 
Cajit. Hickman's company, and was with him at the River 
Raisen, but he escaped capture and returned to Frankfort and 
raised another company. (!en. Peter Dudley held many posi- 
tions of honor and trust, l)oth civil and military. He was one 
of the very strong characters of the day in which he lived. He 
was eighty years of age at the time of his death. He was 
buried in the Frankfort cemetery with military honors. The 
funeral discourse was delivered by Rev. L. W. Seeley ; the pro- 
cession was in charge of Col. J. Stoddard Johnston, with Gen. 



172 THE HISTORY OF FRANKLIN COUNTY. 

D. W. Lindsey and ^Major John B. Castleman as assistants. 
The military was composed of soldiers of the rebellion, irre- 
spective of the armies in which they served. Federal and 
Confederate soldiers marched side by side, without uniforms, 
but equipped with nuiskets and other accoutrements. 

Capt. John W. Russell died iVugust 1st. He wa.s l>orn in 
Virginia in 1794 and brought to Kentucky while an infant. 
He was apprenticed to a blacksmith, but before his time ex- 
pired he became a soldier in the War of 1812 and gained dis- 
tinction before he became of age. After the war he was em- 
ployed in the transportation of products to New Orleans. The 
unsettled and unsafe condition of the Western Country was 
such that no man without great physical courage would engage 
in that business. When steamboats were placed in the trade 
Captain Russell Avas given command of one of the first boats. 
His adventures on the river and in the river towns, which were 
overrun with gamblers and robbers, sounds like fiction. 
AVhen the steamer "General Brown" was lost by an explosion 
in 1838, Capt. Russell's presence of mind and heroism saved 
the lives of six men. His fight with the robber band of Lafittc 
in New Orleans, established his reputation as a man of courage. 

President Harrison appointed him commander of a fleet 
of ''snag boats" and he remained in the service of the United 
States for several years and accumulated considerable i)roperty. 
Jjater he became a successful farmer. He built a steam flour 
mill, the first of the kind ever l)uilt in the county. This mill 
was located on Benson Creek. He was a mcml)er of the State 
Senate in 1850 and was largely instrumental in building the 
State Arsenal, which was erected in that year. Capt. Russell 
was the father of Mrs. Mary Brown Russell Day, who was 
elected and served two terms as State Librarian for tlie Com- 
monwealth of Kentucky. 

A total eclipse of the sun took place August 7th. At the 
time there was not a cloud to be seen and the atmospherical 
conditions for accurate and satisfactory observations were per- 
fect. The stars were as clear and bright as they are at night. 
The chickens went, hurriedly, to roost, and about the time they 
got well settled the sun came out clear and bright. Some peo- 



THE HISTORY OF FRANKLIN COUNTY. I73 

pie lliiuiigli tlic county who were not informed in reference to 
the event, thouglit that the judgment day luid come. 

The Frankfort Cotton Mills Jiad on exhibition at a fair 
for textile fabrics lield at Cincinnati in 18()0, some of its manu- 
factured goods. The mill at Frankfort was awarded a 
premium for the best yarn. The specimen exhiljited was taken 
from tlie stock made every day and competed successfully 
witli yarns manufactured especially for exhibition. There were 
a great many competitors. These mills were successfullv 
operated until about 1880. 

Judge J. M. Hewitt died in Noveml'er, 1869. He wa;3 
])orn in Virginia in 1798. He was commissioned Lieutenant 
in the regular army in 1815. He was licensed to practice law 
m 1810. He was appointed Judge of 5th Judicial District of 
Kentucky in 1833. In 1836 he located in Ficankfort and re- 
sumed the i)ractice of law. Judge Hewitt was married twice; 
he was the father of twenty children, six by his first and four- 
teen by his last wife. He became identified with all the in- 
terests of Frankfort and Franklin County and was prominent 
HI the political, business and social affairs of the city and 
county. He was prominent as one of the framers of the con- 
stitution of 1849. He represented Franklin County in the 
Kentucky Legislature in 1855. 

The statistics of Franklin County for the fiscal year end- 
ing Octoljcr 10, 1869, gives the following: 

Total valuation of j)roperty $4,829 693 00 

State revenue at 30 cents on the $100 14'489 08 

The total tax chargeable to the Sheriff w;is 1 5^5 17 30 



The following is the valuation of each item of taxati 



on : 



119,634 acres of land, value $2 401 588 

557 town lots, value i n^i^ q^q 



00 

3,668 horses, value -208,595 00 

626 mules, value. 35 S15 00 



Amount foiwai'.l $3,764,028 00 



174' THE HISTORY OF FRANKLIN COUNTY. 

Amount brought forward $3,764,028 00 

17 jennets, value 390 00 

4,263 cattle, value 81,573 00 

114 stores, value 220,550 00 

Value under the equalization law 681,934 00 

Value of pleasure carriages, barouches, Ijuggies, 
stage coaches, gigs, omnibuses and other 

vehicles for passengers 27,739 00 

Value of watches and clocks 25,892 00 

Gold and silver plate 14,327 00 

Pianos 18,200 00 

Total $4,829,693 00 

White males over 21 j^ears of age 2,081 

Enrolled militia 1,494 

Children between 6 and 20 years 2,504 

Number of hogs over six months old 2,920 

Pounds of tobacco 189,220 

Pounds of hemp 77,980 

Tons of hay 967 

Bushels of corn 450,533 

Bushels of wheat 32,298 

Negroes over 18 years of age 730 

Negro children between 6 and 18 418 

Those who represented the county in the Kentucky T>egis- 
lature from 1860 to 1912 are as follows: R. C. Anderson, 1861- 
63; H. M. Bedford, 1863-65; Jas. Harlan, Jr., 1865-67; Samuel 
I. M. Major, 1867-69; Daniel M. Bowen 1869-71; Harry I. 
Todd, 1871-73; Dr. Ben F. Duvall, 1873-75, Geo. W. Crad- 
doek, 1875-77; T. W. Scott, 1877-79; L. Hord, 1879-80; Ira 
Julian, 1881-2-3-4; J. A. Scott, 1885-6; Scott Brown, 1887-8; 
S. I. M. Major, 1889-90; E. H. Taylor, Jr., 1891-2; Lcn Cox, 
1894-5; J. A. Violett, 1896-7; South Trimble, 1898-9-1900-1; 
Dr. Owen Robertson, 1902-3; L. F. Johnson, 1904-5-6-7; 
James T. Buford, 1908-9-10-11; Elwood Hamilton, 1912-13. 



THE HISTORY OF FRANKLIN COUNTY. 175 

CHAPTER XII. 

From 1870 to 1880. 

The people of Franklin County were mueli excited over 
the assassination of Ben Farmer, which occurred at his hom''-. 
near I'^arnidalc, about six miles from Frankfort. He was a 
citizen of the county and had been a resident of that neighbor- 
hood for many years. The assassination was on Saturday 
night, March 5th, 1870. Mr. Farmer was asleep on a sofa, his 
head being near a window which opened out on a porch. 
Thomas J. ^hiyhall and A\'illiam Wright were in the room with 
him at the time the shot was fired; they went to the door but 
could see no one. When they attempted to awake him they 
found he was dead, with a wound in the head which had pene- 
trated to the neck. A negro man named Charles Holmes was 
arrested on suspicion but the evidence at the examining trial 
was not suflicient to hold him. Some time after that circum- 
stances led to the arrest of William Hawkins and Charles Polk. 
Hawkins wa.s indicted and tried Ijy a jury but he was acquitted. 
The impression has deepened as time passed, that the man 
who planned and possibly who carried into execution the as- 
sassination of jNIart South, which occurred some years later, also 
had something to do with the death of Ben Farmer. Both of 
them were butchers by trade and the tragedies were so much 
alike in many respects that it seems probable that the same 
party planned both of them. It was on the morning of April 
1st, 1876, that Martin V. Soutli was assassinated at the market 
house in Frankfort. Walker Stephens, Robert C Shields, 
Hick Kersey and Thos. IT. Holder were charged with the nun-- 
der. (ireat excitement ]irevailed, the court house was crowded 
during the examing trial. Walker Stephens was held without 
bail. He afterwards secured a change of venue and the final 
trial was held in Henry County, where he was acquitted. 

At the election of county officers in 1870, R. A. Thomp- 
son was elected Judge, Ira Julian, Attorney; James G. Crockett, 
Clerk; Joseph Roberson, Sheriff; Robert Lawler, Jailer; J. C. 



176 THE HISTORY OF FRANKLIN COUNTY. 

Coleman, Coroner; E. A. AV. Roberts, Surveyor, and Peter Jett, 
Asse.S!?or. John B. Major was elected Police Judge of Frankfort, 
and II. li. Hyde, City Marshal, iill the otHcers for both county 
and city were Democrats. 

The bridge across Benson Creek, near its mouth, wa.'^ com- 
pleted in 1870, the Baldknob turnpike road wa.s also built dur- 
ing that year and a floor was placed on the railroad bridge for 
the passage of vehicles and general travel. There was also a 
bridge built across Flat Creek near the mouth. These improve- 
ments were of great benefit and convenience to the people in 
the northwest section of the county. Prior to that time it wa.s 
difficult and sometimes impossible for the citizens in thaj; sec- 
tion of the county to reach the county seat for days and even 
weeks at a time on account of high water. 

The aurora borealis of 1870 was the finest exhibition of 
that phenomena which had been seen from the location of 
Frankfort since 1837. 

On the night of November the second there was a very 
destructive fire. It commenced on St. Clair street, and the half 
square bounded by St. Clair, Market and Lewis streets was 
consumed. The fires of 1853 and 1870 destroyed the entire 
square. The loss at this time was $113,150, with insurance 
amounting to $66,950. The Odd Fellows Hall valued at $11,- 
500 and the Christian Church valued at $5,000 and several 
store rooms with stock, w^ere consumed. 

The kuklux became active in Franklin County during the 
year. Out of forty-five colored voters in the Baldknob precinct 
all of them were driven away except Abe Dodson. He was the 
only negro voter in that section of the county for more than 
a cjuarter of a century. 

On December 6th, 1870, the kuklux visited the house of 
Ilarrison Blanton in search of a negro named Freeman Garrett, 
but failing to find him they shot two other negroes who were 
living on the l')lanton place. They continued their raids in 
different sections of the county for several months. In 1872 
thej^ visited Mr. John R. Gay's place and wliippcd some of his 
servants. John Triplctt, John AVillson and Charles jNIcDaniel 



THE HISTORY OF FRANKLIN COUNTY. 177 

were arrested aiul tried. MeDuuiel was eoiivicteil, the others 
were acquitted. 

The l)()nded del)t of the county in 1870 was !|;:^,008 ; the 
floating debt was $75,500. The bonded debt of Frankfort was 
$128,000, the floating debt wa.s $85,000. The amount of taxes 
colleetod for State jiurposes was $15,192; for county purposes 
was $20,000. The amount raised for city purpo.ses was $28,000, 
exclusive of water and gas tax.' 

In that year tlie county took stock in the Kentucky River 
Navigation Company and issued bonds therefor. It also Is- 
sued bonds to the amount of $10,000 for bridge purposes. 

The number of white paupers supported Ijy the county 
during that year was nineteen, and the number of colored 
paupers was sixteen. The cost of supporting them amounted 
to $1,750.00. At that time there were three Methodist Cliurches 
in the county with church property valued at $1(5, 000; two 
Pre.sbyterian Churches which were valued at $22,500 ; two 
p]piscopal Churclies which were valued at $42,000; one 
Catholic Church valued at $20,000; five Christian Churches 
which were valued at $17,000, and ten Baptist Churches whicli 
were valued at $39,500. Frankfort had five steam saw mills, 
two .shingle factories, five large distilleries, one large cotton mill, 
a chair factory, tobacco factory and furniture factory. .Vt that 
time Franklin County had 62,205 acres of improved land and 
32,176 acres of woodland and 1,395 acres of unimproved land. 
The value of farm lands was placed at $2,651,192. 

The amount of wages paid per year, $74,404. The amount 
of farm products, $633,214 ; orchard products, $4,047 ; forest 
products, $14,941; the home manufactures, $1,376; animals 
.slaughte]:ed were valued at $160,160; the live stock was valued 
at $450,251. The number of horses, 2,651; the number of 
mules and asses, 478; the number of milch cows, 1,642; work- 
ing oxen, 242; other cattle, 2,146; sheep, 4,170; swine, 11,583. 
The number of bushels of wheat, 28,981; rye, 19.337 bushels; 
oats, 53,638 bushels; barley, 18 bushels. 

The number of pounds of tobacco raised, 123,250; wool, 
16,336 pounds; Irish potatoes, 16,472 bushels; sweet potatoes, 
1,407 bushels. The amount of wine made was 572 gallons; 



178 THE HISTORY OP FRANKLIN COUNTY. 

iKitter, 82,429 pounds; the amount of milk sold, 20,000 gal- 
lons; the amount of hay raised was 1,430 tons; grass seed, 
110 bushels; hemp, 238 tons; flax, 75 pounds; the amount of 
maple sugar made was 530 pounds; the sorghum molasses 
amounted to 18,452 gallons; wax, 180 pounds, and honey, 2,- 
400 pounds. 

At the city election in 1871 there was a small riot which 
came near being a race war. The trouble commenced at the 
court house. Mr. William Newman, a grocer on Market street, 
was killed; Capt. W. G. Thompson was wounded in the arm; 
James Winter and Winston Coleman, of color, were seriously 
wounded, and several other parties, both white and colored, 
were slightly wounded. 

It was during this year that P. and D. Swigert had im- 
ported to them from the Isle of Jersey twenty-one head of 
Jersey cattle, all of which arrived in hue condition. They 
were exhibited in the State House yard. The Swigerts, at that 
time, had the largest herd of Jersey cattle in the United States. 
On January 14th Thompson Scroggans and a colored man by 
the name of Strother Trumbo had a difficulty near the south 
end of the tunnel and as a result Scroggans killed him. At 
that time the United States district court had jurisdiction to 
tr}'^ the case where a negro was killed by a white man. Scrog- 
gans was arrested and committed to jail without bail. 0^ the 
27th of the following February the jail was broken open by an 
armed band, estimated at a hundred and fifty men. Scroggans 
was taken from jail and released. He had been a rebel soldier 
and it Avas supposed that they had something to do with his 
release. Scroggans remained out of the county for several 
years and in the meantime he became an officeholder in another 
county. After an absence of about forty years he visited 
Frankfort and he was requested lo toll about his release. lie 
said: ''It was about twelve o'clock at night when someone took 
me roughly by the arm and said, 'get up from there we want 
you.' Some fifteen or twenty men wtu'c in the jail, lliey did 
not permit me to put my <^lothes on and J was hurried away 
without any clothes except my night slwrt. I thought at thai 
time it meant death at the end of the vi)\K\ I was carried across 



THE HISTORY OF FRANKLIN COUNTY. 179 

the St. Clair street bridge and down near the city school where 
a large number of men were congregated. They gave me a 
new suit of clothes, a hundred dollars in money, a good horse, 
saddle and bridle and some good advice, all of which I api)rc- 
eiated. It took me a very short time to get out of the county." 

A "birds-eye view" of Frankfort was made by Prof. Ruger 
in 1871. The view is from a point above the city and presents 
tlie entire town ard suburljs in picturesque style; the work was 
exceedingly well done; the map makes a handso.iie oriiamcn', 
for the library or office. Several of them have survived the 
ravages of forty years' time, perhaps a dozen of them are still 
extant. 

At the August election there was another negro riot in 
Frankfort at which two white men were killed aiid several 
wounded. Capt. AVilliam Gilmore and Silas N. Bishop were 
killed, Policeman Jerry Lee and Dick Leonard were wounded, 
and several other citizens were injured by stones which were 
thrown by the negroes. Heniy Washington w^as the only negro 
who was wounded during the fight. The Mayor, Col. E. IT. 
Taylor, Jr., called out the militia and quelled the disturbance. 
The trouble at this time occurred on Broadway near the market 
house. When the polls were closed the negroes were on the 
north side of the railroad track and the whites were on the 
south side. Immediately after the train from Louisville ])assed 
them the firing connnenced. This disturbance greatly in- 
crea.sed the bitter feeling which had existed between the white 
and colored pe()})lc for some time and a race war in Frankfort 
had seemed prol)al)lc for several months. A few days prior to 
this trouble a negro named Harrison Johnson was charged 
with criminally assaulting a white woman of good character. 
lie had been arrested and lodged in jail. The night of the riot 
Henry Wa.'^hington, though wounded, had also ])ecn placed in 
jail charged with having killed Capt. Gilmore. Within a few 
hours after that a mob took both negroes from the jail, carried 
them across the river and hung them to a tree near (he city 
.school building. P^ollowing the hanging of the negroes James 
Alley, Ivichard Crittenden and 1). Howard Smith, Jr., .<on of 
the State Auditor, were arrested charged with being implicated 



180 THE HISTORY OF FRANKLIN COUNTY. 

in the hanging. They were taken to Louisville and tried before 
the United States Commissioner and held, bail being denied 
them. All of them were finally released. The veterans of 1<S12 
who were living in Franklin County in 1871, were John B. 
Bibb, Major of 4th brigade; Thomas Theobald, Captain in 
Moders' company of mounted rifiemen, Moses Hawkins, 
Alexander Crockett, William Nelson, John Cardwell, Joseph 
Clark and A. H. Rennick. 

A. II. Rennick died at the residence of his son-in-law, 
James M. Todd, on the 18th of December at 80 years of age. 
He had been a resident of Frankfort for seventy-eight years. 
He was Clerk of the Franklin County Court for sixty-one years, 
forty-six of which he was chief Clerk. He was with Captain 
Pascal Hickman at the battle of the River Raisen Init was one 
of the few who escaped. 

On December the 31st Philip Swigert, another one of 
Franklin County's distinguished citizens, died at the age of 
seventy-four years. Pie was born of poor but respectable par- 
ents in Fayette County in 1798. He came to Franklin County 
when he was twenty-four years of age. In 1830 he was ap- 
pointed Circuit Cou-rt Clerk, and was elected to that office in 
1850. He was a prominent Mason and he was a large im- 
porter and breeder of fine cattle. He left a hand.some estate. 

The east wing of the old capitol was built in 1871 at a cost 
of $155,000. It was occupied in the following year but the 
building has never been completed. The idea at that time was 
to complete the east wing in which was to be located the House 
of Representatives and a west wing was to be constructed on 
the same plan, and in which was to Ijc located the Scnal(> 
chamber. 

In the year 1800 the population of Franklin Countv was 
5,978; in 1810 it was 8,013; 1820, 10,950; 1830, 9,254; in 
1840 it was 9,420; in 1850, 12,460; in 1870, 15,300. 

On February 19th, 1872, Daniel Clark, the faithful old 
colored porter of the Governor's office, died. Ho was a native 
of Africa. -He and his brother were stolen whih^ ])laying on 
the beach, they were brought to Charleston and sold. Daniel 
afli'i'wards Ix'canie the servant of (iovernor Clark and came 



THE HISTORY OF FRANKLIN COUNTY. 181 

^vi(ll liiiii to Frankfort in 183(5 and was employed as porter in 
the executive ofllee. He remained in that eapaeity until the 
administration of (Jovernor l>eslie. Durinti; all of tliesc years 
he sustaint'(l an unMemished rei)utation for honesty and faith- 
fulness. ^^'hen he ,<2;rew too old and feehlc for further lahor 
the Le.o;islaturc of Kentucky passed an act giving him a pen- 
sion of $12.00 })er month for the rest of his life. When Clark 
died the (lovcrnor caused that fact to he recorded u\h)\\ the 
executive journal, with an appr()i)riate trilnite to his fidelity 
and long service. He was the only negro who was ever honored 
to that extent in Kentucky. 

Jeremiah Tracy died at his home in the county on ]\hn'ch 
12, 1S72. He was horn in Culpepper County, Va., in 1771. 
lie moved to this county in his early manhood and hecanic 
one of the most sterling and substantial citizens of the county. 
He raised a family of ten children. At the time of liis death 
he left sin-viving him nine of his children; more than one hun- 
dred of his descendants were living at the time of his death. 
Jle was the forbear of the numerous l)ranches of the Tracy 
family in Franklin County and other sections of Kentucky. 

The Christian Church, located on Ann street, was built 
during this year, through the munificence of Mrs. Emily Tub- 
man, a sister of Mr. Landon A. Thomas. Mrs. Tubman was a 
devout member of that church. She had been born and i-aiscvl 
in Frankfort and .she desired to show the Frankfort people, in 
some .substantial way, her ai)]ireciation of them. The ])uilding 
cost $26,000. It WHS dedicated on August 11. Mrs. Tubman 
endowed a chair in Betheny College. She materially a.ssi.sted 
the Kentucky University and the orphan school at jMidway 
and did many other charitable acts which endeared her to the 
people of this county. 

The penitentiary was considerably improved during the 
year. The arched gate was raised five feet. The prison grounds 
were enlarged by inclosing within the walls one acre im- 
mediately north of the cell house, this was designed for women. 
There were several l)rick buildings erected within the walls 
which have been used for kitchen, dining room, cells, 
hospital, etc. 



182 THE HISTORY OF FRANKLIN COUNTY. 

There was a jail delivery on December 30. The jail had 
been newly constructed and it was thought to be secure. Six 
negroes made their escape, all of whom were charged with grand 
larceny. Only two of them were ever recaptured. 

More than a quarter of a million dollars wiis spent in 
buildings during the j^ear. Some of the improvements were as 
follows : 

The Christian Church, $2(),000; the Swigert block on St. 
Clair opposite Odd Fellows building at a cost of $25,000; im- 
proving the malt house on JNIero street, $20,000; improvements 
on cotton factory, $28,000 ; improvement on the Valley Mer- 
chant Flouring Mill, $0,000 ; a wholesale liquor house on Ann 
street at a cost of $8,000 ; the Capital Livery Stal)le on Ann 
street, Church Bros., $8,000; Alley & Malioney Stable in front 
of Capital Hotel, $H,000; B. B. Sayre residence on hill, $15,000; 
II. II. Johnston cottage, corner Second and Main, South Frank- 
fore, $3,000; R. H. Lawler cottage near State prison,- $3,000; 
Col. Orlando Brown house on Owenton road, $0,000; Saiiford 
Coins, near Capitol square, $4,000; Frank Short, on 
Upper Main street, $2,500 ; Con Newman cottage near cemetery 
gate, $3,000; J. W. Gault residence on Steel street, $2,000; 
Landon A. Thomas, improvement on his residence, $10,000; 
William Saffell, near depot, $5,000; Mrs. William A. Sneed, 
near Mr. Saffell, $4,000; Warden South, a brick stable near 
prison, $2,500. ]m])rovements in Bellepoint amounted to more 
than $15,000. Col. F. II. Taylor, at O. F. C. distillery, $9,000, 
and a great many smaller inq^rovements amounting in the ag- 
gregate to more than $30,000. A new fire bell was purchased 
in 1873 to take the place of the old cracked bell. The new one 
weighed 830 pounds and it cost the city $365. 

In the year 1873 W. J. Chinn was elected Sheriff; in 1875 
H. I. Morris was elected; in 1877 M. H. P. Williams was elected 
and in 1879 he was re-elected Sheriff' of the county. 

In the year 1874 the county officers elected were as fol- 
lows: R. A. Th()nq)son, Judge; James G. Crockett, Clerk; 
Thomas B. Ford, County Attorney; Robert W. Lawler, Jailer; 
John M. Quarles, Assessor; John R. Graham, Coroner; Richard 
Critlen<len, Surveyor; Pat McDonald, Magistrate in the city 



THE HISTORY OF FRANKLIN COUNTY. 183 

precinct, and Ivolicrt U. Parsons was elected Police Judge of the 
city of Frankfort. 

Mardi (Jras was celebrated in Frankfort on tlie ITtli of 
Fel)ruary. The procession through the streets in the afternoon 
was of groat interest to the thou.sands of i)eople from Franklin 
and surrounding counties. The streets of the city were densely 
lined with spectators during the passage of the niasqueraders. 
It was estimated that ten thou.sand people witnessed the parade. 
The celebration of the carnival was concluded by a grand 
nia-squerade l)all at the Capital Hotel, which was largely at- 
tended. 

The Grangers became very prominent in Franklin County 
during the year 1874. This was a farmer organization which 
had in view the betterment of the farming interest of the 
county. There were several Granges organized in different sec- 
tions of the county and doubtless they would have l)een pro- 
ductive of great good to the farmers had not a few designing 
politicians become leaders of the organization with the idea of 
advancing their political interests and in that w^ay demoralized 
the organization and in the course of time destroyed it. 

The Pigeon Tournament was held in Frankfort on Feb- 
ruary the 7th and 8th. A number of the most famous "shots" 
of America were present. . Capt. A. H. Bogardus, the champion 
of America, and L. C. South, of Franklin County, scored the- 
same number during the meeting and they agreed to divide the 
prize between them, but in order to gratify their friends they 
decided the championship by another contest which resulted 
in the defeat of South Ijy one point in thirty-three. South 
killing thirty-two of his and Bogardus all of the thirty-three 
birds. 

The Baptist Association of Kentucky held its thirty-eighth 
annual session at Frankfort. It was the largest and the ahlest 
representative l)ody of that church which had ever been held in 
the State. The lay delegates as well as the ministers were 
representative Kentuckians of the highest and most intellectual 
class. 

A blacksmith by the name of George W. Hitzel+)erger wa.s 
nuu'dered on June 13tli. Jim and Dave Kellev and John 



184 THE HISTORY OF FRANKLIN COUNTY. 

(a-ahani went to his home and called him out. While John 
(h-aham and Dave Kelley held him, Jim Kelley inflicted five 
or six wounds with a knife from the effects of which he died. 
Jolni (Jraham had stolen Jim Kelley's saddle and charged the 
theft to Ilitzelberger, the outcome of which was the killing. 
John (h-aham and Dave Kelley were arrested but Jim Kelley 
made his escape and has never since been heard from. 

Mrs. Mary Freese, who died in Frankfort on August 23, 
1874, wa.s a very eccentric person. She was a native of Ireland 
who became a resident of Frankfort about thirty years prior 
to her death. For several years after she moved to Frankfort 
she was regarded as an object of charity. After she had lived 
in Frankfort for about ten years she spent a whole summer 
and winter in a stable without lights or fire. At the time she 
was receiving $75 per year from the Ladies' Aid Society of the 
Presbyterian Church, she was erecting a comfortable dwelling 
house of six rooms. When she completed the house she moved 
in the small rear room and rented out the rest of the house. 
She subsequently purchased a considerable quantity of land 
near the penitentiary upon which she built a number of tene- 
ment houses. Since which time that section of the city has 
been known as ''Freesetown." Her annual rental for several 
years prior to her death was supposed to l)e about three thous- 
and dollars. She was buried in the Frankfort cemetery, where 
a handsome marble monument marks her last resting place. 

The 15th of Septeml)er, 1874, wa.s the day set apart by 
Governor Leslie for the re-interment of the remains of Governor 
Greenup, Governor Madison. Adjt. George N. Cardwell, Hon. 
John C. Mason, Gen. Carey, LL Fry and Col. Theodore O.'Hara. 
The remains of Governor Christopher Greenup and Governor 
George Madison were originally buried on the hill north of 
Frankfort in the old burying ground which was used until 
about 1843, when the Frankfort Cemetery Company was 
organized and a burying ground east of Frankfort was pur- 
chased, a part of which was set aside by the State for her illus- 
trious dead. On the morning above referred to, at an early 
hour, the streets of Frankfort were crowded with people from 
all sections of the State who were drawn to the Cajiital City by 



THE HISTORY OF FRANKLIN COUNTY. 185 

a patriotic desire to honor the memory of Kentucky '.s noble 
dead. Tlic bii.sincss houses of the city and all the public offices 
of the IState, county and city were closed in order that all might 
unite in a fitting testimonial to the great men whose bones were 
brought from other states to find a final rasting place in their 
own mother soil. 

Three companies of the State guard and a large numl)er of 
JMexicai: soldiers came from Louisville and other parts of the 
State were well represented. Gen. Thomas Taylor, of Louis- 
ville, acted as Chief ALu'shal. There were several thousand 
people in the procession which inchidcd nearly all of the prom- 
inent men of the State. 

lion. R. J. .Jacob and (ien. William Preston were the 
speakers of the occasion, (iovcrnor Christopher (Trecnup was 
born in 1750 in the colony of Virginia. lie was a Revolution- 
ary soldier and gained distinction as such. He came to Ken- 
tucky in March 178."). In 1792 he removed from Danville to 
Frankfort and was elected that year to Congress and was twice 
re-elected. lie was one of the three chief judges under the 
new Constitution. He wa.^ elected (U)vernor in 1(804 and dis- 
charged the duties with high honor and credit as well to the 
State as to himself. During his term as Covernor he also served 
as chairman of the Board of Trustees of the town of Frankfort. 
After his term as Governor he made the race to represent 
Franklin County in the K(Milucky Legislature, but he was de- 
feated by llumpluvy Marsjiall. Sr., the historian. In 1812 
Governor (Jreenui) was aj)i)()inted justice of the i)eace for Frank- 
lin County. He owned a large amount of property both in the 
city and in adjacent sections of the comity. 

Governor George ^ladison was l)orn in ^^irginia. in 1703. 
Ik'fore he was grown he distinguished himself in the Revolu- 
tionary war. He wa.s wounded at St. Clair's defeat in 1701, and 
was again wounded l»y the Indians in 1702. He became State 
Auditor in 171)2, and held that ])osition for twenty years. He 
was a major in Col. .btlni Allen's regiment in the war of 1812, 
and he was largely instrumental in saving the ivnniant of the 
American forces from mas.^acre after the fatal battle of the River 
Raisen. He was elected Governor in 1816, but died in a short 



186 THE HISTORY OF FRANKLIN COUNTY. 

time after he was inaugurated. He was at one time Clerk of 
the city of Frankfort and at another time Treasurer. lie lived 
at the Heffner property near the southwest corner of the old 
8tate house square. Theodore O'PIara studied law in the oiiice 
of Gov. Owsley and was a fellow student of .John C. Brccken- 
ridge. 

In the year 1875 the Frankfort and Benson Turnpike 
Company was organized and the road was Iniilt in a short time 
thereafter. 

On June the 7th John W. Jackson, B. F. Head, G. C. 
Hughes, F. Satterwhite, Milton Wiggington, Jas. Harrod, Wil- 
liam A. Smoot, G. AV. Gwinn and Put jMcDonald qualiiied as 
Magistrates. The county court subscribed $5,000 to the Glenn's 
Creek turnpike and $3,000 to the Lewis Ferry turnpike at their 
first meeting after they took the oath of ofhce. 

The Kentucky Mineral Paint Company was organized by 
James L. Sneed and John E. Kirtley, of Frankfort, and they 
procured a patent for manufacturing mineral paint out of a 
soft grayish stone, to be found in certain portions of Franklin 
county, and especially in the Bridgeport section. A com- 
p^iny was chartered under the Kentucky Statutes for 
manufacturing this paint at Frankfort. At that time 
the paint industry promised to be a very lucrative one, the 
mineral rights on thousands of acres were leased for a period of 
twenty years. From analysis of the rocks made bj^ Prof. Hhaler 
and Prof. Peter, it was thought .that the cheapest and best paint 
ever made in the United States could be made of this material. 
It has never been fully explained just why this industry was 
not a financial success. The people of Bridgeport were satisfied 
that the precious metals existed in_ several localities in that sec- 
tion of the county. A man by the name of AVilliam Fields 
came from AVisconsin and leased several tracts of land ; from one 
of these farms he took a thousand pounds of rock which he sent 
to New^ York for a test. The ore was reduced and it yielded at 
the rate of $12.60 in gold and $10.12 in !<ilver or $22.72 per 
ton. It was thought at that time that the ore could be worked 
for five dollars per ton, making a clear profit of over $17 per 



THE HISTORY OF FRANKLIN COUNTY. 187 

toil. Ko one liat> explained why tlii.-^ venture wa-s not a linancial 
success. 

Judge (u "W. Craddock \va.>^ elected to represent the county 
in 1875 and Judge W. 1.. Jett was elected Police Judge of the 
city of Frankfort. 

Joseph Clark died at his residence near the city on No- 
vember lOtli in his 83rd year. He was one of the most substan- 
tial citizens of the county. He was a member of Pascal Hick- 
man's company in the war of 1^12, and was wounded at the 
battle of River Raiseii. He wa.s one of the thirteen members 
of that noted company who returned to Frankfort after that 
defeat and slaughter Ijy the Indians. 

The law establishing a w-orkhouse went into effect in 
1870; for a few weeks there were fifteen or twenty and some- 
times as many as twenty-five inmates, Init after it got into 
good working order the number was reduced to five or six. 
Prior to the institution of the workhouse system the prisoners 
were sent to jail without labor where they had plenty to eat at 
the expense of the county and a white man to wait on them. 

On the 2otli of June Gen. Custer Avith sixteen officers and 
three hundred enlisted men were massacred by the Indians. 
Among the officers was Lieut. John J. Crittenden, of Frank- 
fort, who was on the staff of Gen. Custer. He was twenty-two 
years of age at the time of his death. He was Ijuried in th'e 
Fra n k fort ceni etcry . 

During this year Capt. Thomas J. South ])ecame the cham- 
pion bird shooter of the world by defeating the cliampion, 
l^ogardus, first at a tournament near Philadelphia and later at 
a tournament near St. Louis. By these two victories he Avon 
an international reputation. 

Judge Franklin Chinn died at his home near the Forks of 
Elkhorn on August the 10th, in his seventy -sixth year. In 
1827 he removed to Henry County and during the ten years he 
lived there he rei)resented that county twice in the Kentucky 
Legislature. He was for many years a magistrate of Franklin 
County and in 18()1 he was elected County Judge of the county. 
He was universally esteemed and honored by the people of 
Franklin County. 



188 THE HISTORY OF FRANKLiN COUNTY. 

During the year 1876 the Fraiikhn County Court i.ssued 
bonds to the amount of $35,000, the proceeds of which were 
used in paying off the outstanding floating debts of the county ; 
$15,000 of whicli was for building a new jail and $20,000 was 
for turnpike purposes. 

Col. R. T. P. Allen was a graduate of West Point and for 
many years Avas superintendent of the Kentucky Military In- 
stitute, which was located on the Lawrenceburg road al)Out six 
miles from Frankfort. He was a man of great intellectual en-. 
dowment.When quite a young man he built the first concrete 
house ever built in Franklin County. This house is located on 
the south side of the Kentucky river about three miles above 
the city of Frankfort, and it is in as good condition as it was 
when first constructed over sixty years ago and it looks like it ' 
might stand for a thousand years without any deteoriation in 
the foundation or walls. Col. Allen also invented- a type-writ- 
ing machine which Avas a fore-runner of" the tyi)c-writing ma- 
chine industry, but he received neither credit nor money from 
the invention. He also invented a steam wagon' Avhich origi' 
nated the idea of the automoljile of later date. He drove hi= 
machine from the Kentucky Military Institute to I.ouisviile, 
but on his return he ran it into a stone fence and made a com- 
plete wreck of it. At a later date, about the year 1876, he in- 
vented the type distributing machine which has since become 
almost indispensible to the large printing houses of the country. 
He claimed that this machine could distribute accnrately, as 
many as twenty thousand type in one hour. The Kcntuc'ry 
Mihtary Institute was estabhshed by Col. R. T. P. Allen and 
it was run on the same plan as West Point. 

In the early part of the last century a man by the name of 
Oliver Perry Scanlan owned the land on which the Scanlan 
Springs w^ere located and which afterwards became famous as 
the Franklin Springs. This Avas the first health and pleasure 
resort Avest of the Alleghanies and it Avas largely ])atronizcd for 
many years. When General Jackson Avas President of the 
United States, Col. R. T. P. Allen, then a l)oy sixteen years of 
age, conspired Avith other and older boys, at AYest Point, to rid 
the campus of a nui.sance on the grounds and one night they 



THE HISTORY OF FRANKLIN COUNTY. 189 

.•^et lilt' to tlu' Ituildiii.ij;. An iii(|uirv was at (tiu-o inadi' and 
yonnu,- Allen was the only one who was man enough to ad- 
mit that he wa.s connected with the ollense. On account of the 
a<lmission and on the charge of insubordination in refusing 
to divnli^e the names of his accomplices he wa.s expelled. lie 
took his case to the President, hut still refused to betray his 
friends. His manly conduct made such an impression on the 
President that he restored him to the institution. After he 
graduated he was commissioned Captain and soon thereafter he 
WcLs promoted to Colonel and i)laced in charge of the engineer- 
ing of the harbor on lake Michigan. \\'hile making a visit at 
the ^^'hite House, he met the President's niece, INIiss Julia 
Bond, who afterwards became his wife and who in later life 
was known as ''Old Miss" by the hundreds of "her boys" as 
she always called the cadets of the K. M. I. A visit of this 
couple in 1843 to the then famous watering place led to the 
purchase of -the grounds and the charter wa.s granted" to the 
Kentucky Military Institute by the Legislature of Kentucky, 
and this became the first militarv school of the South and 
West. 

The contractor who erected the buildings was George Vest, 
the father of United States Senator Vest of Missouri. The 
main building was burned in 1804 and it was rebuilt by Hiram 
Ikrry, contractor. 

Prior to the war the K. M. T. was patronized almost ex- 
clusively by the South. ^Many noted men were educated there. 
This statement api)lics especially to the ofiicers of the South- 
ern Confederacy. Senator .John Sharj) Williams and other 
United States Congressmen were educated there. 

After Col. P. T. P. Allen grew too old to manage the 
.school, his son. Col. 11. I). Allen, took charge and .successfully 
conducted it for al)out fifteen years, after which a joint stock 
company purchased the property aiwl attempted to continue tlie 
.school, Init after a few years gave up the effort and it wa,s di.s- 
contimied. The K. M. I. charter ha.s since gone into the 
hands of Col. C. W. Fowler at Lyndon, Kentucky, who having 
been eduOated at the old K. M. I. is an excellent man to liave 
charge of the new. The real estate of the old K. M. I. was 



190 THE HISTORY OF FRANKLIN COUNTY. 

purchased hj Dr. J. Q. A. Ste^Ya^t and since that time has been 
known as The Stewart Home. It has become one of the mosl 
])rosperous institutions for the training of children of backward 
mental development in the Wast or South. 

In 1877 there were several hundred hogs running at 
large on the streets of Frankfort. This had been the custom 
from the earliest history of the town. When the City Council 
passed an ordinance prohibiting the further use of the sti'ccLs 
for that purpose, a great protest wa.s made by many good citi 
zens who thought their personal rights had been invaded. 

At the city election of this year, Col. E. H. Taylor, Jr.. 
was elected mayor of Frankfort In' a majority of one vote. 
Col. S. I. M. Major was the contending candidate. In June of 
the same year Col. Taylor resigned and Col. S. I. M. Major 
was elected. 

Thomas AV. Scott was elected to represent the county at the 
August election of that year and Judge Lysander Hord was 
elected Representative in 1879. 

For several years l^oat racing was one of the favorite sports 
of the young men in Frankfort. A great contest was to l)e 
decided in the month of Septemljer. The railroad l)ridge and 
the l)anks of the river were lined to see the race. It was sup- 
posed that there were more than three thousand ])eople present. 
Col. J. Stoddard Johnston and Mr. J. L. Waggoner were the 
judges; Judge W. L. Jett, umpire, and J. W. Pruett, starter; 
the distance was one mile and five-eighths and the time twelve 
minutes. The race was between the Zozma, manned l)y Cieorge 
L. Payne and Dr. J. Lampton Price, and tlie Undine, nuuiiied 
Ijy Clarence Drane and Howard Jett. The Zozma won the 
blue silk ])ennant which was presented l)y Col. J. Stoddard 
Johnston in an appropriate address. 

Thomas N. Lindsey died Nov. 22, 1877. He wa.s the 
father of Gen. D. W. IJndsey and John B. Lindsey. lie was 
one of the leading lawyers of the Frankfort bar and a writer 
of considerable note. For a period of thirty or forty years he 
was a constant contributor to the press, inider the non <le plume 
of Black Jack. Tie was a strong writer and he discussed a great 
many different suljjects. If his articles were collected and 



THE HISTORY OF FRANKLIN COUNTY. 191 

put in ;i Ixiiiiid \()liiino, it would make a very material addi- 
tion to the literary produetions of the county. At a Ijar meet- 
ing- held at the eourt house Jud,<>;e Craddoek said that "Tlntnias 
N. l.indsey was a good story teller, industrious, kind, att'eetion- 
ate, temperate, even tempered, faithful and most agreeahle." 
.After several other lawyers had made appropriate remarks 
Col. S. F. J. Trahue arose and attempted to speak hut his emo- 
tions overcome him. He spoke not a word and resumed his 
seat. Judge 0. C. Drane said, ''Gentlemen that is the most 
eloquent speech made today." 

On December 7th John Julian, the father of Judge Ira 
Julian, died, lie studied law under Johii J. Crittenden and en- 
tered the practice of his profession with bright prospects of suc- 
cess, but on account of bad health he had to give up his profes- 
sion. He wa.-^ known as a man of superior mind and culture. 

The election for county officers in the year 1878 resullcrl 
as follows: K. A. Thomp.<on re-elected Judge; R. W. Lawler, 
Jailer; A^'illiam Julian, Attorney; James G. Crockett, Clerk; 
D. M. Woodson, Surveyor; John R. Graham, Coroner; Robert 
Sanford, As.sessor, and Thomas B. Ford, School Commissioner. 
The following year John R. Graham died and Alexander 
^IcEwan was appointed Coroner. 

Frankfort owned a lottery franchise which had been 
granted by the Kentucky Legislature and which the city con- 
tinued to lease as late as 1871). The lessees executed a liojid in 
the sum of $100,000 for a faithful preformance of their con- 
tract. 

A ."Statement wa.s made by the Franklin County Fiscal 
Court that more than four hundred ex-convicts had settled in 
and around Frankfort and the Legislature was requested to 
pa.ss an act requiring all convicts to Ije returned to the county 
from which they had been sent when their terms of service ex- 
pired. The fact that for nearly a century the ex-convicts and 
their descendants were i)ermitted to remain in Franklin County 
explains, to some extent, the great amount of lawlessness and 
crime which has marked the progress of the city and county. 
For several months prior to October the city of Frankfort and 
its vicinitv was Hooded with counterfeit silver coin of various 



192 THE HISTORY OF FRANKLIN COUNTY. 

(lenominatioiLS. On investigation it wa.'< found that the in- 
mates of the penitentiary had started n}) a mint of their own. 
The moulds from which the counterfeit coins w-ere cast were 
of plaster [)aris, but they served the purpose of turning out a 
ver}^ passable article. A large number of home-made dimes, 
quarters and half dollars were found, together with the metal 
from which they were made and the crucible in which the metal 
was melted. 

On Monday, March 2Gth, 1879, Hon. John M. Eliott, 
Judge of the Court of Appeals, Avas shot and killed near the 
ladies' entrance to the Capital Hotel, by Thomas Buford, of 
Henry County. The weapon used was a double barrelled shot 
gun loaded with Ijuck shot. Judge Eliott and liis associate, 
Judge T. II. Hines, were at the point designated Avhen Buford 
approached Judge Eliott with the gun in his hand and said, 
''Judge, I believe I will go snipe hunting, won't you go along?" 
The Judge refused and Buford then said, ''Won't you take a 
drink," and before an}' further conversation ensued the gun 
was discharged and Judge Eliott fell. Buford lowered his gun 
and said, "I am sorry I did it." He then knelt down and placed 
his hand upon the Judge's brow and his hat under his head. 
The shot entered the right side about the lower ribs, passing 
through to the opposite side. After Buford was placed in jail 
he said that he killed Judge Eliott because of the decision wdiich 
the Judge had rendered against him on the Saturday preced- 
ing wherein $20,000 were involved. He said that he had made 
u}) his mind to kill })oth Judge Eliott and Judge W. S. Pryor, 
but he thought of Judge Pryor's children and let him off on 
that account. Buford had also threatened the life of General 
D, W. Lindsey, who as special Judge had decided the case 
against him in the circuit court. Buford w^as removed to Louis- 
ville in order to prevent a mob from hanging him. On his ap- 
plication for a change of venue, Judge O. T>. Mc^hulanla 
granted his petition and the-case was tried in Owen County. 
Buford plead insanity and the jury acquitted him. 

The residence of Pascal Hickman, who was killed at the 
River Raiscn, was torn down and the warehouse of Col. J. W. 
South near the mouth of the tunnel was built on the site. The 



THE HISTORY OF FRANKLIN COUNTY. 193 

hoii^e wa.s occupied by Pascal Ilickiuan and iaiiiily in 1S12-1I), 
but it was l)uilt several years prior to tluit time. Tlie nails 
which joined the wood work were made of wrouglit iron and 
the window and door frames were fastened together by locust 
pins. 

John Cardwell died at the home of his daughter, Mrs. Wil- 
liam P. Johnson, on September 17th, 1879, at the age of ninety- 
three years. He was born in Culi)epper County, Virginia, in 
the year 1780. ITis father, William Cardwell, was a native 
of Virginia, from which State he moved to Kentucky and set- 
tled in Mercer County in 1796. John Cardwell lived there 
until 1813 when he enlisted in Capt. Terrell's company. Col. 
Bate's regiment of Kentucky volunteers in war of 1812. He 
participated in the battle of New Orleans, January 8th, 1815. 
After the close of the war he returned to Kentucky and mar- 
ried Margaret Arnold, daughter of James Arnold. To them 
were born a large family of children. Some of their numerous 
progeny have settled in Kentucky, Indiana, Illinois and 
Missouri. 

In the month of Noveml)er the citizens of Frankfort and 
Franklin County were much excited over the disappearance of 
Hezekiah Gardner, a farmer and merchant who lived near the 
mouth of (Ueen's Creek ; about the same time a blacksmith shop 
near the State arsenel was burnt and with it a small child, the 
grandson of M. II. P. Williams, at that time Sheriff of the 
county. 

Three men, Wilson, Dougherty and Lacy, were arrested 
on suspicion and the excitement became so great that the 
County Judge placed guards at the jail to prevent the men 
from being hung by a mob. On the examining trial Lacy and 
Dougherty were released and Wilson was held to the grand 
jury. 

On Thanksgiving Day (Jardner's body was found lloating 
in the river, only a few hundred yards below liis jiomc. It was 
generally supposed that after he got home from Frankfort 
he went down to the river to see about a small l)oat and it being 
dark, he fell in the river and was drowned. It was never de- 



194 THE HISTORY OF FRANKLIN COUNTY. 

termined how the shop was fired or how it happened that the 
child was burnt in it. 

Theodore O'llara, poet, journahst and soldier, wa.s born 
in Danville, Kentucky, on February 11th, 1820, but while 
he was a small boy his father came to Franklin County and 
located a short distance from Frankfort on the Peak's Mill 
road where Theodore grew to manhood. He died in Alaljama, 
June 6th, 1867. He was educated at St. Joseph's Academy al 
Bardstown. He read law and was admitted to the bar and in 
1845 was a])i)()inted to a position in the Treasury Department 
at Washington. He was a captain of volunteers in the army 
against Mexico and on August 20tli, 1847, was breveted 
Major for gallant conduct in the battle of Contreras. At the 
close of the war he returned to ^^"ashington where he practiced 
his profession. He afterwards went with a filibustering expedi- 
tion to Cuba where he commanded a regiment. He became 
editor of the Mobile Register and was afterwards connected 
with the Louisville Sun and Frankfort Yeoman. He performed 
several diplomatic missions for the Government and was })r()m- 
inent in the negotiations regarding the Tehuantepec grant. 

At the Ijcginning of the Civil AVar he cast his fortunes 
with the confederacy and was made Colonel of the twelfth 
Alaljania regiment and subsequently served on the staff of Gen. 
John C. Breckenridge and Gen. Albert Sidney Johnson. He 
died in Alabama, June 6th, 1867, and his remains were 
Ijrought to Kentucky by special act of the Legislature and 
interred at Frankfort in the State cemetery. 

AVhen the remains of the Kentucky soldiers, who fell at 
Buena Vista, were brought to their native State, Maj. O'Hai'a 
wrote for tliat occasion the immortal poem by which his fame 
is established, ''The Bivouac of the Dead." 



THE HISTORY OF FRANKLIN COUNTY. 195 

CHAPTER XIII. 

From 1880 to 1800. 

In the year 1880 Judge I.ysander Tlord's river l)ill passed 
the House without a dissenting vote. This l)ill authorizing the 
United States Government to improve the Kentucky river was 
pa.ssed by the Senate and became a hiw at this session of the 
J^egishiture. Judge Ilord deserved cre(ht for pa.ssing this IjilL 
As a resuh he has been called the father of the Kentucky river 
navigation, but the actual truth is, there was more l)usine.>^s 
done on the Kentucky river before the Ignited States took 
charge of it than there has been .since, but the decrease in river 
trafic was caused more by the increased railroad facilities than 
from any other cause. 

During the decade, 1870 to 1880, tobacco grown on Frank- 
lin County land brought a higher price on the market than that 
grown in any other county in the State and since that time it 
has been known as one of the very best white hurley tol)acco 
growing counties in the State. 

Charles Stewart Parnell, a leader in the British Tarliament, 
visited Frankfort in February of 1880. A committee of prom- 
inent citizens went from Frankfort to Lexington to meet him. 
lie addre.ssed the Kentucky Legislature which was in session 
at that time. 

The veterans of the Mexican war met in Frankfort in 
February of that year. Those who were living in Franklin 
County at that time were Capt. B. C. Milam, Lieut. AV. P. D. 
Bush and musician Thomas IlefTncr. The privates were Robt. 
Sheridan, S. P. Montague, Ben Utterback, L. Mangan, Daniel 
Hancock, Monroe McDowell, Landon Montague, George W. 
Daniels, Lafayette Martin, A. B. Peed, -Lieut. Col. Green Clay 
Smith, J. H.Redi.sh, E. T. Parrent, Walker Stephens, H. S. 
Mayhall, R. A, Hawkins, Wm. Morri-son, Samuel H. Bradley, 
C. Featherston, A. W. Pol.sgrove. D. O. Morris, A. W. Hamp- 
ton, G. W. Chambers, Alex. Moas, John E. Miles, Cyrus Calvert, 
A. A. Gordon, Wm. Manly, Alex Mitchell, Newt Dean and 



196 THE HISTORY OF FRANKLIN COUNTY. 

William Phillip.s. Out of the thirty-fonr named only two are 
now living (1912), to-wit : A. W. PoLsgrove and Ben Utter- 
back. 

North Frankfort and South Frankfort were united and 
made one corporation in 1880. A joint conmiittee composed of 
D. W. I.indsey, B. F. Meek and Green Clay Smith were ap- 
pointed to represent South Frankfort and W. P. B. Bush, J. W. 
Pruett and W. T. Reading, to represent North Frankfort in the 
settlement of the accounts between the two corporations, and 
to determine what part of the existing debts each corporation 
should pay. It was determined by this committee that it was 
to the best interest of both North and South Frankfort to cancel 
and relinquish all accounts Ijetween them and to make all tlie 
property of every kind and description l)elonging to North 
Frankfort, the common property of the city of Frankfort and 
all the debts of both corporations were assumed as liabilities of 
the city embracing both North and South Frankfort, and it 
wa.s so reported to the council and the two towns were consoli- 
dated on that ba.sis, by an act of the General Assembly which 
was in session at that time. 

In LSoO the two towns were consolidated and were run 
under the same government, l»ut their property rights were not 
fully settled until the act of 1880. 

Col. J. W. South died suddenly in the Senate (luvml)er 
on April the loth. lie was warden of the State penitentiary 
and had held that position for ten years jnior to his death. 
Both Houses of the Kentucky Legislature adjourned and all 
the public offices were closed by order of the Governor. The 
remains were followed to the cemeterj^ by many of his friends, 
by the (ilovernor and staff, public officers, members of the Senate 
and House of Representatives, and a large concourse of citizens. 
He was a man of strong personality and he left numerous 
progeny', some of whom have become prominent in tlie affairs 
of State and nation. 

On the ir)th of May there wa.s a destructive fire in Ih'idge- 
port. The Odd Fellows building and Dr. Wilhams' and J. U. 
Ru.ssell's re.sidences Avere totally destroyed. '^Pbe fire engine 
from Fi'ankfoi't went to tlie scene in chariie of convicts and did 



THE HISTORY OF FRANKLIN COUNTY. 197 

I'llec'liw' .^^ervice. Hon. H. I. M. Major. Mayor, also went and 
rciiiaiiu'd witli the lii'f coiiipany until dan,t;er of further loss 
Wilis over. 

At the meelijj.t;' of the liseal court of the county in May, 
the county jiurchased one-third interest in the St. Clair street 
hridge and made it free to the i>eoi)le of the county. 

In June the inventer. Col. T. L. Kankin, ])ut u]) an ice 
machine for Mr. Sigmnnd Lusclier. Avhich had a capacity for 
producin.i;' 20,000 ])ounds daily. The cost of the machine was 
aliout $10,000. At the time this lirsf ice factory was ])uilt in 
Frankfort it was considered one of the greatest inventions of 
that day. About the same date M. II. P. Williams, Jr., Wiley 
and John Williams, known a.s The Williams I^ros., placed the 
telephone exchange in Frankfort. 

During this year bicycles came into iis^e. A1)out the 1st of 
September the peo])le of Fraidcfort were much interested in 
two young men who went through the city on bicycles, going 
from I.e.xington to Louisville. These machines had very large 
front wheels and the .^eats were so high that it wa.s ditlicult and 
dangerous to ride on them. 

On September 22nd Col. J. AV. Hunt Reynolds died, 
possessed of a large estate. He was a noted breeder of thorough- 
bred horses and he succeeded in producing several of the most 
noted running horses known to the turf. He was only thirty- 
live years old at the time of his death, but his uniforndy gentle 
and courteous bearing endeared him to all who knew him. 

Gen. George Bibl) Crittenden died in Novend)er, 1(S80. 
He was a son of Hon. John J. Crittenden, and began the prac- 
tice of law with his distinguished father. He served as an 
oflicer in the war between Texas and Mexico. He was captured 
by the Mexicans and was in a Mexican prison for nearly a year. 
This story has been told about him: "The Mexicans having 
determined upon a retaliatory measure declared that a cert^un 
number of the prisoners should be shot and to that end 
designated which should be the victims by requiring that lots 
shoidd be drawn. A box containing a certain number of white 
and black beans was produced, tho.se who drew the white beans 
were to be spared, and those who drew the black were to be shot. 



198 THE HISTORY OF FRANKLIN COUNTY. 

(len. Crittenden, being an officer, was among the first to draw 
and he got a white bean, one of his intimate friends, who came 
later, was a man of family having a wife and several children, 
(icn. Crittenden gave him the white bean and risked his life 
by another draw, which fortnnately resulted in his drawing 
another white bean." After his release from tlfe Mexican 
prison a friend of his father, who resided in that city, gave 
him a horse, saddle, bridle, some blankets and money for his 
return home. One of his countrymen, who had been released 
with him, was sick and Gen. Crittenden gave the horse and 
blankets to him and made his way back home with his other 
companions. In the war between the United States and Mexico 
he was an officer and served through the war. In the war Ijc- 
tween the states he served on the side of the South with the 
rank of Brigadier Ceneral. During this war he borrowed $200 
in gold from a member of the Confederate Congress and though 
there was no written obligation on his part, in 1871 he sent 
this money by Judge William Lindsay to the widow of the man 
from whom he borrowed it. lie came back to Frankfort after 
the war and in 1867 was elected State Liljrarian which position 
he held until 1871. He was buried in the Frankfort cemetery. 

On ])ecember 6th, 1880, the iron work of the Benson 
bridge gave way and fell into the creek. It had just been 
placed in position and was thought to be self-sustaining. Eight 
men were on it at the time, l)ut none of them were seriously 
hurt and the almtments were not damaged. 

louring this year Marshall J. Allen and William E. lU'ad- 
Icy, of the AV. A. (Jaines & Co. Distillery, secured a patent 
which created a revolution in whiskey making. The new pro- 
cess made an increase of half a gallon of whiskey to the bushel 
of graiu aud it also made a remarkable improvement in the 
quality of the goods. 

(jleorge W. (hviun died of ])neumonia January 27th, 1881. 
He had been, successively, Deputy Clerk of the Court of Ap- 
peals, Councilman and Mayor of Frankfort, Master Connnis- 
sioner of the Frauklin Circuit Court and Magistrate. He held 
the latter position for al)out thirty years. He was a man of 
strong character and was an efficient officer. 



THE HISTORY OP FRANKLIN COUNTY. 199 

Allteit (i. Hodges died llic l■()ll()\vill^ Maivh at the age 
of seventy-nine years. For lialf a. century he wa.s identified 
with the history of Kentucky. lie commenced his newspaper 
career in Lexington, hut he moved to Frankfort in 1826. lie 
married a Frankfort woman and went into partuership with 
James (1. Dana in the puhlication of the "Commentator." In 
18l)o he l)egan the pubHcation of the Commonwealth and was 
elected puhhc printer which position he held for a (piarter 
of a century. lie was buried in the Frankfort cemetery. 

On the ISth day of March a sad accident occurred near 
the mouth of Fhit Creek, The boiler of the circular sawmill 
belonging to Tyler & Ilarrod burst and killed John Ilarrod, 
one of the owners, Lawrence Ilarrod, his brother, and Frank 
(iraham. William Arnold had his jaw bone broken. James 
Redding, "William Whalcn, Lewis Ilarrod and Hugh Tyler 
were more or less injured. Everyone in the mill at that time 
Avas hurt except William Skeggs. The boiler was a portable 
one that had been used for a threshing machine. The boiler 
was torn into two large pieces, one piece weighing 2,500 i)ounds 
was thrown one hundred feet one way and the other part was 
thrown 261 feet another way. The parts of the house and ma- 
chinery were torn and scattered in every direction. 

The rooms of the Kentucky Historical Society, located 
on the third floor of the old State house, were opened and 
dedicated June 7th, 188L This being the anniversary of the 
discover}'' by Daniel Boone of the l)eautiful plateau of Ken- 
tucky. The chief address was made by Prof. Jos. D. Pickett, 
and ."^ome remarks were made by Governor Luke P. Blackburn 
and ex-Governor J. B. McCreary. During this year the county 
voted $100,000 for the Kentucky Midland R. R., and the city 
of Frankfort voted $1 HO, 000 for the same purpo.^e. 

One of the moi^t exciting, but bloodless, episodes in the 
history of Frankfort occurred on September 16th. Adam 
Forepaugh's circus was advertised to be in Frankfort on that 
day. The city council by ordinance undertook to prohibit it 
from being unloaded in the city. Col. E. H. Taylor. Jr.. ^hiyor 
of Frankfort, ordered the police not to permit the unloading 
of the effects of the circus within the limits of the citv. The 



200 THE HISTORY OF FRANKLIN COUNTY. 

railroad company thereupon secured un injunclion from the 
FrankHn Circuit Court restraining the Mayor and council from 
interfering with the unloading. After the service of this order 
upon the Mayor, he went in person to the train and assumed 
connnand of the police force and notified all parties concerned 
that any attempt to unload the cars would be at the peril of 
those who did it — that he would shoot down any man who 
made the effort. 

There was an inmiense crowd at the station. Several 
thousand people were packed in the street and the whole city 
was in a state of excitement. It wa.s announced that the city 
authorities had openly defied the law and had arrayed the 
])olice force of the city against the authority of the State. This 
l)eing made known to Judge Thom])son (County Judge) he 
immediately ordered the Sheriff to proceed to the train and see 
to the execution of his order of injunction. The Sheriff, E. O. 
Hawkins, believing that there was an armed resistance, and 
that he was without sufficient force to enable him to carry out 
the order of the court, went to the (Tovernor and asked that 
the McCreary (Guards be directed to report to him. The 
(Governor having a personal knowledge of the trouble and 
knowing that great excitement prevailed in the citj^, promptly 
complied with the request and the troops were ordered out. 
At a quarter past four o'clock they appeared and went in doul)le 
quick to thq. train where they, under the directions of the 
Sheriff, disjiersed tlie police force and saw that the cars were 
unloaded without further molestation. The whole trouble arose 
from the fact that the circus company proposed to set up its 
tents beyond the city limits and thereby escape payment of the 
tax which the city had imposed upon it. 

E. O. Hawkins was elected Sheriff in 1880. In the month 
of June, 1882, it was discovered that he was short in his ac- 
counts with the State, in the sum of $3,859.43 and thereupon 
J. W. Gaines was placed in charge of the Sheriff's office. In 
1883 E. O. Hawkins was re-elected Sheriff notwithstanding his 
shortage Ijut he was not able to execute the required bond and 
J. W. Gaines was again appointed until the next election, when 
W. L. Collins was elected. The election for countv officers for 



THE HISTORY OF FKANKLIN COUNTY. 201 

the year 1882, was as follows: R. A. 'l1ioiii|)S()ii, Judge; James 
A. \'iolett, Attorney; James d. Crockett, Clerk; Dan Hliehan, 
Jailer; Kobert Sanford, Assessor; Alexander MclMvan. Cor- 
oner, and I). M. Woodson, Surveyor. 

The Mayor and Board of Councilmen of the city of Frank- 
fort sold the eity gas works to the Southern ( Jas Co. The com- 
pany was to pay $40, ()()() for the gas works [)roperty and fran- 
chise, and for which the city accepted bonds })ayable in forty 
years with interest at per cent, per annum. The purcha.ser 
engaged to furnish the city and private individual consumers 
with gas of the best quality at $2.00 per one thousand cubic 
feet and to light the street lamps on all night-^ when there was 
no moon for the sum of $24 per annum per lamp. The city 
agreed to use not less than one hundred lamps. 

Following the sale of the gas works there were several 
public meetings of the citizens of Frankfort wherein they con- 
demned in unmeasured t^rms the Mayor and councilmen for 
making the sale and es[)ecially for the private way in which 
it was made and also for the terms of the contract. 

During the month of June Rev. George 0. Barnes con- 
ducted a revival service in Frankfort. The court house was 
crowded to overflowing each evening and great interest was 
exhibited. During the meeting there were 1,253 who made 
confessions. He was a most eloquent and learned man. The 
singing and playing by his daughter. Miss ]\larie, was a great 
feature of the service. No man ever visited Frankfort wdio 
left a stronger impression ni)on the citizens of the city. 

On Jul}' 7th Charles Penn was a.ssassinated, near liis home, 
while taking his horse to the i)asture. In a few moments after 
he left his house two shots were fired. Upon investigation the 
bod}' of Perm was found not far from the l)ars leading to the 
pa.sture. He received the contents of a doid)le l)arreled shot 
gun which was loaded with buck shot. The condition of the 
ground and weeds at the place of the murder disclosed the fact 
that the as.sassin had been lying in wait for his victmi for some 
time and that the assassination liad been well planned. Sus- 
picion .soon rested on a man by the name of George Cia'nes, 
who was arrested in a short time oflQi'wards and in due course 



202 THE HISTORY OP FRANKLIN COUNTY. 

of time was tried and convicted and sent to the [)enitentiary for 
life. The general snp})osition was that the wife of Penn was 
indirectly tlie cause of his death. 

On Sunday night, September 10th, an affray occurred in 
front of the Frankfort Hotel from tlie effects of which Jerry 
Lee, Chief of Police, received a mortal wound. In the early 
part of the night there had ])een a difficulty, the particii)ant.s 
being Jerry Lee, Adam Kahr and Frank Egbert. Later in 
the night another troul)le arose between Frank Egbert and 
Stephen Scarce. It was not known whether Egbert Avas shoot- 
ing at Scarce or Lee when Lee received a wound in the left side 
from the effects of which he died. Jerry Lee had served as 
city Marshal and as Chief of Police. He was a man of marked 
personal courage and was regarded as an efficient officer. He 
was a generous, impulsive man, always ready to aid a friend 
or fight a foe. 

On November lltli the City Hall, Ruhr's Hotel, the post- 
office and several private offices and residences were destroyed 
by fire. The money loss was seventy or eighty thousand dollars. 
Dr. Hatchitt, the postmaster, succeeded in removing, prac- 
(v-jiv- overything from the postotfice. Several people were 
injured during the progress of the fire. Everybody fought 
fires in those days. 

Not in the recollection of the oldest inhabitant of Frank- 
fort nor in either history or tradition was there any account 
of the waters of the Kentucky river ever having been so high 
as in February, 188?). Nearly all the families in the lower 
part of the city were moved out. All of the section known as 
"Craw" was completely covered. On Sunday night the 11th 
of February, a great many Frankfort people remained up all 
night, expecting to see the St. Clair street bridge washed aAvay. 
A heavy drift was running and it began to accumulate above 
the piers. An immense log lodged against the middle pier 
and there was a rapid accumulation of drift upon it. Houses 
began to come down, nearly all of which struck the bridge 
and were broken to pieces. A large new tobacco barn struck 
the middle pier and its timbers were scattered in every direc- 
tion. The upper sidewalk of the bridge was greatly damaged, 



THE HISTORY OF FRANKLIN COUNTY. 203 

the sides and floor for sonic distance were conipletcly destroyed 
and inncli of the sheeting nnder the roof was torn away. 

MoYQ than half of the city was nnder water. All of the 
prison yard wa.s covered from two to three feet. The hack 
water extended hack of the penitentiary to and beyond Wood- 
land Park so that tiie water which l)acked np the Cove Spriniii; 
or i.eestown branch to the same ]»oint made an island of Fort 
Hill. ^\t one point the Owcnton road was more than ten feet 
nnder water. lOvery road exce[)t the Versailles, which lead to 
the city, was covered from two to ten feet. The floor of the 
city school huiKHnti,' was reached. Traffic across the St. Clair 
street l)ri(lge was stopped, ro])es were stretched across the ends 
of the ])rid,t2;e. The railroad In'idge was considerably damaged 
by the drift and for some time it looked like it wonld be im- 
possible to save it. A long freight train heavily loaded was left 
standing on it to help hold it. All the honses on Broadway 
and High sti'cets from the Farmers Hotel, east, were com- 
pletely snrronnded. ]\h)re than a hnndred honses passed nnder 
tlie St. Clair street bridge, nearly all of which were torn to 
pieces. 

The Farmers, or jNIerriwether, TTotel had abont three feet 
of water in it and all the people who lived on that sqnare had to 
move upstairs. The 0. F. C, Carlisle, llcrmilagc and SafFell 
distilleries all had water on the first floor from two to ten feet 
deep. 

The street in front of the court honsc lacked only two 
feet of being .covered. The gas works were under water and 
the city was in total darkness. INfore than two hundred families 
were without homes. The ])nblic buildings of the city, county 
and State were used for temporary homes and the peoi)le were 
fed at the expense of the city. Many acts of heroic conduct 
were reported, and those who were charitaldy inclined had all 
the work they could do. 

\y. J. Chinn's sale of registered Jersey cattle was made in 
July. The vacant lots wdiere -Sam Shackleford and Judge T. 
IF. Paynter's residences now stand were u.sed for display of 
stock. The .''ale was attended by representative Jer.sey breeders 
throughout the United States and Canada; it was the largest 



204 THE HISTORY OF FRANKLIN COUNTY. 

and most successful sale of (hat kind ever held in Kentucky. 
The herd was a most excellent one, perha})s the best that was 
ever offered for sale. A large crowd was present. There were 
purchasers from Canada and nineteen different states of the 
Union. The proceeds of the sale amounted to over $o(),000. 
The average price paid was $812. 

Capt. D. A. Murphy arrived in Frankfort August 2nd, 
and in a few days thereafter he commenced work on the custom 
house and postoffice. The corner stone of this building was 
laid December loth, 1883. Governor J. Proctor Knott otiiciated 
at the ceremonies. 

Judge Ira Julian was re-elected to re[)resent the county in 
the Legislature in 1883. 

The dam at lock number four was comi)leted October Oth, 
1883. It is 528 feet long at the crown ; 21 1-2 feet high and 34 
feet wide and it contains about 40,000 lineal feet of tindjcr 
12x12 inches, 160,000 feet of sheathing; 5,984 cubic yards of 
rip-rap stone and about 16,000 pounds of iron sj)ikes and it 
cost the Government $18,500. 

The Kentucky River :\Iills were 1)urnt October 6th. The 
loss was $80,000, \he insurance was $40,000. These mills 
were built in 1877-8, the building cost $12,000, the machinery 
$50,000 and the stock was valued at $25,000. 

In the early morning of August 15th, a trusty convict from 
the penitentiary rode hastily through the streets of Frankfort, 
proclaiming that an outl)reak had been made at llio ))euiten- 
tiary. John R. Wolf, a desperate young man, who had been 
sent from Scott County for forgery, led the attempted delivery. 
He had a package which he requested to have sent to George- 
town and when he came in he struck the guard, Ed Johnson, 
with a stick on the back of the head and knocked him in- 
sensible and thereupon eight other convicts made a rush 
through the open gate and into the room set a])arl for arms 
and aiumunition. A trusty named Cunningham .'<aved the life 
of Johnson. l)ut wa.*^ himself severely stabbed. The convicts 
secured all the fire arms they wanted and one of them leveled 
his pistol at Clerk R. D. HoUoway who, unhesitatingly, jumped 
through the window. 



THE HISTORY OF FRANKLIN COUNTY. 205 

Jci'i'v Soiilli. ("lav Payne, D. O. Koliinsoii and (itlicrs took 
l»ait in the shootin<i, wliich followed. D. O. Kohinson was shot 
tlii'onuli the leg and was made a (•ripi)le for life. A eonviet 
named Al.-«)p was .shot throngh the shonlder and Wolf had hi.s 
thigh shattered. Three of them went out the Owenton road. 
They met a man in a hnggy and made him ge^ out and all 
three of them got in and drove as fast as they could for .several 
miles when they abandoned the l»uggy and took to the hills. 

A few days afterwards C^overnor Knott pardoned Cuiuiing- 
ham for his timely assistance to John.son. 

Col. Aml)rose W. Dudley died at his homo in Frankfort 
in September, 18(S4. lie wa.s one of the oldest and most dis- 
tinguished citizens of Frankfort. For fifteen years he was 
quarterma.ster general of the United States and for thirty- 
seven years was president of the I'ranch Baidc of Kentucky 
located at Frankfort. 

For more than half a century he was identified with the 
l)UsinG.ss and social interest of Frankfort and was regarded 
as one of the mo.st useful and valuable citizens in promoting the 
general welfare of the city, county and State. In 1824 he mar- 
ried Miss Fliza Talbott. daughter of Hon. Isham Talbott, and 
granddaughter of CAOvernor James Garrard. 

^On May 21st, 1885, Napoleon 15. Smith was appointed 
Clerk of the Franklin County Court to take the j)lace of James 
(t. Crockett, deceased, and who had l)een Clerk for a number 
of years prior to that time. At the following August election 
Napoleon B. Smith was elected to fill out the iniexpired term 
and Col. S. I. M. Major was elected to represent the county in 
the Legislature. 

E. H. Steadman, an old and honorable citizen of Frank- 
lin County, died in A])ril. 188.1. Tie cam(> to the county in 
1835 and he and his brother Samuel built the \illage known 
as Steadmantown. I^'or more than thirty years they furnished 
the State with all the paper used in printing the laws of the 
State, he.^ides supplying most of llic new.spapers of the State. 
In 1852 Samuel Steadman retired from the firm and after that 
the paper mills were burnt three times and each time without 
anv insurance. In 18G1 he filled an order from the Confed- 



206 THE HISTORY OF FRANKLIN COUNTY. 

erate Government for paper on which to print the notes which 
were to give hfe and credit to the South in her struggle for in- 
dependence. He was a man of superior aljihty. No man in the 
State knew more of the general incidents of Kentucky history 
or could relate them more entertainingly. 

On August loth a destructive fire occurred on the corner 
of Main and St. Clair streets. The property of P. C. Sower 
and the building of Sol Harris adjoining it, and the elegant 
office of Col. E. H. Taylor, Jr., were destroyed. The loss 
amounted to about sixty thousand dollars. On December 7th 
the Frankfort public school building was destroyed by fire, 
entailing a loss of about $30,000. The building ^vas erected in 
18G8. It was insured for $16,000. 

President Cleveland appointed Judge W. L. Jett postofilce 
inspector, Jul}^ 23rd, 1886, and Capt. T. C. Jones consul at the 
port of Funchal, Madeira Island, in April of same year. 

Col. S. I. M. Major died on June 21st. He was born in 
Franklin County, September 14th, 1830, and was educated by 
B. B. Sayre. He w^as regarded as one of the best educated men 
in Frankfort. In 1853 he became the editor of the Yeoman 
wdiich was considered the leading Democratic paper of the State. 
during the time he was editor. An incident in his editorial life 
Avas a challenge to fight a duel in 1857 sent by Thomas ]\1. 
Green. Col. Major was public printer for twenty-five years. In 
1867 he was elected to the Legislature and in the following year 
was elected iSIayor of Frankfort which position he held for four 
succeeding terms. In 1885 he was again elected to the Legis- 
lature. 

James Francis Leonard, the first practical sound reader of 
the Morse alphabet, was born in Frankfort, September 18th, 
1854, in the old Pascal Hickman house, located near the mouth 
of the tunnel where tlie South warehouse is located. He en- 
tered the telegraph office as messenger boy in 1844, and he 
learned the art of telegraphy in a short time. He received 
messages by sound in the Frankfort ofTicc in the summer of 
1848. He died of typhoid fever in Columbus, Miss.. July 
29th, 1862. 

The old time telegraphers, at their annual meeting in 



THE HISTORY OF FRANKLIN COU^TY. 207 

New York in ISS,"), ;ii)pi'()]>ii;iU'(l riiiids and a[)[)()in(e(l a com- 
mittee to bring his remains back to Frankfort and to erect a 
monument suitably inscribed over them in the Fraidcf'ort 
cemetery. 

'['he county election for the year 1886 resulted as follows: 
n. A. Thompson, Judge; V>. (i. Williams, Attorney; N. P.. 
Smith, Clerk; Thomas Hunter, School Commissioner; hewis 
Harrod, Assessor; Minus Williams, .Jailer; John W. (iaines, 
Sheriff, and M. II. Pliythiaii, Coroner. 

The first meeting, at which initiatory steps were taken 
for the celebration of the centennial aiuiiversary of Frankfort, 
was held in the office of Col. John L. Scott on June 10th, 1880. 
Col. Scott was elected chairman and L. F. Johnson, secretary. 
At this meeting was inaugurated tlie work of gathering nj) and 
presenting .such statistical facts in regard to the origin, growth 
and standing of all the departments, business interest^;, 
churches, societies, courts and other specific intere.sts and feat- 
ures of Frankfort. 

From the start the j^lan to hold a centennial celebration 
wa.s a popular o)ie. the subject soon became too large for the 
few who had it in charge to handle, and tliereu])on a mass 
meeting of the citizens was called for the 2'.h'd of August. At 
which a connuittee of eight prominent citizens were appointed 
for the purpose of organizing the "Frankfort Centennial As- 
.sociation." On the 28th of the month the connuittee reported 
to an adjourned meeting and in (lie report it was reconnnended 
that (Jen. D. W. Lindsey be permanent i)resident and Judge W. 
H. Sneed, S. C. Sayre and II. 15. Ware, secretaries. Seventy- 
two vice pix'sidents were named. This list included some of tbe 
mo.st prominent citizens of the city. Col. J. Stoddard John- 
.ston was at the head of the list. There was also appointed a 
general connnitlee on arrangeuuMits and supervision and also 
the following committees: Invitation, reception, finance, en- 
tertainment, decorations, ])roce.'^sion. nmsic. relics and curiosi- 
ties. By re.solulion tbe citizens of I'^ranklin County wci'c in- 
vited to co-oi)erate with the citizens of Frankfort. 

The centennial celebration was liebl on Octobt-r bth, l^^O. 
One hundred years having passed since the city was established. 



208 THE HISTORY OF FRANKLIN COUNTY. 

It was doubtless the greatest day in the history of the city. 
There was a record breaking crowd on the streets, estimated 
at 25,000. The street parade was divided into five divisions 
and it was the longest ever seen in Frankfort. It consisted of 
secret and benevolent orders, Christian organizations, etc. A 
large part of the State guard, in fact nearly every military com- 
pany of the State, was present. Knights Templar and other 
secret orders from all sections of the State and every drum corps 
and band in the State were in the parade. All the benevolent 
societies and Christian organizations of Frankfort and the 
public schools of the city participated. Thirty-six business 
houses in Frankfort had floats in the parade, advertising their 
various business interests. The ceremonies took place on the 
Capitol (old Capitol) square. The speaker's platform was be- 
tween the two front gates, facing the Capitol grounds with seats 
extending nearly to the Capitol building. The stand was deco- 
rated with evergreens, flags and flowers. 

The exerci.ses were opened by Mayor E. li. Taylor, Jr., 
who introduced to the assembled thousands. Judge William 
Lindsay, who made the welcoming address. Mrs. Eudora 
South and Mrs. Jennie C. Morton were on the programme, 
each of whom read an original poem. Major Henry T. Stan- 
ton, the poet laureate of Kentucky, read a centennial poem 
which he had prepared for the occasion. Col. W. C. P. 
Breckenridge delivered a short address and John Mason Brown, 
the chief orator of the day, discussed ''The Political Beginnings 
of Kentucky." 

The ceremonies of the day were closed with a fine display 
of fireworks on the river front. A large num])er of papers 
giving an historical account of many interesting things con- 
nected with a history of the city were contributed. i\Ir. kandon 
A. Thomas, Mrs. T. J. :\hiyhall and Rev. Philip S. Fall, three 
of the oldest citizens of Frankfort at that time, each contri- 
l)uted an article. Scores of other valuable articles giving a 
history of the different churches, secret orders, courts, and in 
fact, almost everything that had hai)pencd in Frankfort during 
the century were ])repared and sent in to be fik'd as a part of 
the archives of the citv, but on aceouni of the gross and almost 



THE HISTORY OF FRANKLIN COUNTY. 209 

criminal negligence of the city authorities, nearly all of thcf^e 
records were destroyed, about the only thing left was the cen- 
tennial register which was turned over to the Historical Society 
and filed with the archives of the society. The loss by the city 
and county by reason of the destruction of these papers is ines- 
timable. 

The corner stone of the new city school building was laid 
July 17th. The Mayor and city council were assisted in the 
ceremonies by the other city officials, Masons, Odd Fellows, 
Knights of Honor, Knights Templar, Good Templars, Blue 
Ribbon Club and a great concourse of citizens. The principal 
addresses of the day were delivered by the Mayor, E. H. Taylor, 
Jr., and Rev. George Darsie, pastor of the Christian Church. 
Major H. T. Stanton read a poem which he had written for 
the occasion. 

This new structure was opened for occupancy in March, 
1887, it cost over $30,000 and it was considered a very hand- 
some building. 

Gen. John Rodman died at his home in Frankfort, Oc- 
tober 29th. He was about sixty years of age. When he was 
a young man he tried merchandising l)ut soon gave it up and 
read law in the office of Judge Nuttell. He commenced the 
practice at LaGrange, Kentucky. In 1853 he moved to Frank- 
fort and soon became one of the leading lawyers of Frankfort 
and for years he was regarded as one of the aljlest lawyers of 
the State. In 1859 he represented Franklin County in the 
Kentucky Legislature. In 1867 he was elected Attorney Gen- 
eral of the State and was re-elected in 1871. In 1879 he was 
elected reporter of the Court of Appeals, whicli position he 
lield at the time of his death. During his term as rc[)orter he 
published 78-79-80-81 and 82 Kentucky Reports. 

Gen. Rodman was not only a good lawyer but he was also 
a good politician and a fine speaker. He was quick, aggressive, 
positive, tactful, sarcastic and humorous, he was especially 
strong as a jury lawyer. 

The 2nd day of May, 1880, was the 55th birthday of 
James W. Tate. At that time he had been nearly eighteen years 
State Treasurer. State officials and friends made him a present 



210 THE HISTORY OF FRANKLIN COUNTY. 

of a cane. In the following January C5ovcrnor S. B. Buckner 
sent the Legislature the following: ''Gentlemen of the Senate 
and House of Representatives: It is my painful duty to an- 
nounce to you the fact that for reasons which appear in the 
accompanying act of the Governor, Auditor and Attorney 
General, the State Treasurer of the State has been suspended 
from the exercises of his official duties. The hasty examination 
which has been made of his books induces the belief that there 
is a large deficit in his accounts. This examination was made 
yesterday and the action reported to you was taken last evening 
as soon as the deficit appeared. The fact is communicated to 
you at the earliest moment for your information and action. 
It is believed tliat the bond of the Treasurer will fully cover 
any possible deficit that a more complete investigation may 
reveal. In the meantime the Auditor and Secretary of State 
have been directed to take temporary charge of the Treasury. 

"Respectfully, 

"S. B. BUCKNER." 

The defalcation of James W. Tate was not a complete 
surprise, rumors of trouble along that line had found their 
way into the newspapers and the approaching catastrophe had 
been privately discussed by a few Frankfort citizens for several 
weeks. 

For several days following the flight of Treasurer Tate, 
all kinds of wild rumors were heard on the streets of Frankfort. 
It was generally understood that his defalcation would cause 
a large deficit and the Legislature thought it best not to make 
any further appropriations until the matter could be thoroughly 
investigated. A special committee was appointed to consider 
the subject of removing him from office and the committee 
recommended "That James W. Tate, Treasurer of the Com- 
monwealth of Kentucky, be impeached for high crimes and 
misdemeanors in office," and a committee was appointed to 
prepare articles of impeachment. The articles of impeachment 
were presented to tlie Senate by the House of Representatives 
on the 24th of March and a committee from the House was 
appointed to conduct the prosecution before the Senate. At 



THE HISTORY OF FRANKLIN COUNTY. 211 

twelve o'clock ou ]\Iarch 29tli the Senate of Kentucky resolved 
itself into a high court to consider the articles of impeachment. 
The unusual and novel scene was M-itnessed by a large con- 
course of people. 

Judge W. S. Pryor, Chief Justice of the Court of Appeals, 
administered the oath required by the Constitution. After 
the oath was administered to the Senators the sergent at arms 
made proclamation that the Senate sitting a.s a high court was 
then ready to consider the articles of impeachment against 
James W. Tate, Treasurer of Kentucky, charging him with 
high crimes and misdemeanors in office. After the testimony 
of several witnesses had been heard a vote was taken and thirty- 
three Senators voted in the affirmative and only one in the 
negative. The President of the Senate thereupon declared that 
the Senate of Kentucky sitting as a high court for trial of im- 
peachment had found James W. Tate, Treasurer of Kentucky, 
guilty of high crimes and misdemeanors in office, being con- 
victed thereof by concurrence of two-thirds of the meml)ers 
present and the judgment of the court was ''That said James W. 
Tate be, and he is hereby, removed from the office of Treasurer 
of Kentucky and disqualified to hold any office of honor, trust 
or profit under this Comnionwealth." 

James W. Tate was a native of Franklin County. He 
served nearly five terms as Treasurer. He was known through- 
out the State as "Honest Dick Tate." It was never determined 
the amount of money which he took with him but the supposi- 
tion was that he only carried with him a small amount. 

Several years after he left, his daughter l)rought suit in 
the Franklin Circuit Court against a life insurance compaiiy 
for the amount of a policy on her father's life, alleging in the 
])etition that more than seven years had elapsed since he had 
been heard from. On the witness stand she testified that ho 
had gone to South America and after visiting several sections 
of that country he went to California and that the last time 
she heard from him he was arranging to start, that day, to a 
small mining town in the interior of the State. 

On .June the ISth, 1SS7, the remains of .Joel T. Hart, 
Kentucky's greatest sculptor, were buried in the Frankfort 



212 THE HISTORY OF FRANKLIN COUNTY. 

\ 

cemetery. A large number of prominent citizens from all sec- 
tions of the State were present. The remains were taken from 
a vault in the cemetery where they had been for two years and 
were taken to their last resting place about one hundred feet 
south of the Richard M. Johnson monument. The services 
were opened with prayer by Rev. G. F. Bagby, after which the 
choir sang "My Country 'Tis of Thee." Gov. Knott then in- 
troduced Robert Burns Wilson, who delivered an oration. After 
which he introduced the orator of the day, Judge Wm. M. 
Beckner, who delivered a most excellent eulogy. The crowd 
present was estimated at 2,500. 

The election on the proposition of Franklin County sub- 
scribing $150,000 to the capital stock of the Frankfort, George- 
town and Paris Railroad was taken in July, 1887, and was 
carried by a large majority. Great interest was manifested in 
the election. Bands of music paraded the streets and a large 
vote was polled. The city voted almost unanimously for the 
appropriation and the county outside of the city was almost 
solid against it, except the Forks of Elkhorn, which gave a good 
majority for the proposition. There were 2,838 for the 
proposition and 1,208 against it. 

Ex-Governor Luke P. Blackburn died at his residence in 
Frankfort, September 14th, and was buried in the Frankfort 
cemetery. He was born in Woodford County in 1816. He was 
elected Governor in 1879. He was a man of strong character 
and tender heart, his kindness of heart and sympathy for the 
suffering led him to pardon more men from the penitentiary 
than perhaps any other man who was ever Governor. He prac- 
ticed medicine in Frankfort for many years. He and Dr. 
Churchill Blackburn were partners and they had an office in 
the old mansion house upon the site where the McClure build- 
ing was afterwards erected. 

The monument in the Frankfort cemetery, erected by 
order of the State in memory of Gov. Blackburn, was unveiled 
on May 27th, 1891. The Masons conducted the ceremony. 
Addresses were delivered by Hon. William M. Beckner, of 
Winchester, and Gen. Basil W. Duke, of Louisville. 



THE HISTORY OF FRANKLIN COUNTY. 213 

Tlic fire alarm system was adopted in Frankfort in No- 
vember, 1887. 

J. C. Noel was elected Shcriif in 1888. 



214 THE HISTORY OF FRANKLIN COUNTY. 

CHAPTER XIV. 

From 1890 to 1900. 

Ocii. fScolt Jirowu represented the county in the Kentucky 
Legishxture in 1890-1. 

The county election for the year 1890 resuUed in the elec- 
tion of B. G. Williams, Judge; L. F. Johnson, County Attor- 
ney; N. B. Smith, Clerk; Thomas Hunter, School Commis- 
sioner; Thomas K. Jett, Surveyor, and 0. B. Polsgrovc, As- 
sessor. 

Mrs. Mary Brown Day became State Librarian March 26, 
1890. Ed Porter Thompson resigned. 

Judge T. H. Hincs was elected to represent Franklin 
County in the Constitutional Convention of 1891. 

Dr. Ben. F. Duvall died at his residence in Frankfort in 
May, 1890. He served as a surgeon in the Confederate army 
during the rebellion. He represented Franklin County in the 
Lower Llouse for one term. 

Judge II. A. Thompson died October 23rd of the same 
year, in his sixty-third year. For twenty years he was County 
Judge of Franklin County. He was a Confederate soldier for 
four years, a part of which time he was Quartermaster, with 
the rank of Captain. In 18(39 he was elected door-keeper of 
the House of Representatives and in 1871 he was Sergeant-at- 
Arms of the State Senate. 

On county court day, the 2nd of November, 1891, Am- 
brose Polsgrove shot and killed .Jerry Williamson, his brother- 
in-law, and at the same time he wounded three other men. 
The shooting took i)lace on the corner of Main and St. Clair 
streets, while the streets were crowded. Williamson was shot 
three times, but one of the Ijullets made six holes. It went 
through the flesh of his left arm and through the left breast 
passing above the skin on the breast bone and on through his 
right breast. The shot which killed him struck him in the 
back. Polsgrove was a member of a strong family and was 
at one time deputy sheriff. The jury found him not guilty. 



THE HISTORY OF FRANKLIN COUNTY. 215 

Judge Alvin Diivall died at his home November 17th. 
He was one of the most prominent lawyers of Kentucky. He 
was horn in Scott County, March 20, 1913. His father wa.s 
an officer in the war of 1812 and was afterwards a mcml)cr of 
the Kentucky Legishiture. Judge Duvall graduated from the 
Georgetown College in 1838. He studied law under Jas. Y. 
Robinson, and afterwards graduated from Transylvania Uni- 
versity. He too represented his county in the Kentucky Leg- 
islature. He wa.s Circuit Judge and Judge of the Court of Ap- 
peals. He was afterwards elected Clerk of the Court of Ap- 
I)eals. "When he l)ccame a memljer of the Court of Appeals he 
also became a citizen of Frankfort. At one time he made the 
race for jMayor but was defeated by a few votes. 

Rev. H. II. Kavanaugh, chaplain of the State Peniten- 
tiary died January 18, 1892. He was l)orn at ^It. Sterling in 
1836. He spent several years on the frontier with his father, 
who was an Indian teacher. In early manhood he became a 
traveling preacher of the INIethodist Church. He was a chap- 
lain in Gen. Morgan's command, and was exposed to the 
dangers which were incurred by that intrepid leader, and as 
a result he brought home with him the scars of three federal 
bullets. He was known as '^the fighting parson," At the 
close of the war he returned to the ministry and about ten years 
prior to his death he became the chaplain of the Penitentiary, 
where his faithful service was productive of much good among 
the unfortunates confined there. He was the father of F. K. 
Kavanaugh, State Librarian, (1912). 

On the 22nd of January, 1892, it wa.s discovered that 
Hugh Gaines, City Treasurer of Frankfort, was short in his ac- 
counts in the sum of about $3,000. He left for parts unknown 
and his bondsmen. Gen. Fayette Hewitt, Col. C. E. Iloge and 
J. W. Gaines, made good the shortage. 

Col. E. II. Taylor, Jr., represented the county in the 
House of the Kentucky Legislature in 1892-3. 

Mrs. Mary B. Day was elected State Librarian for the sec- 
ond time in 1893. 

An explosion occurred about two miles from the city, near 
the Louisville road. James Force and H. L. Sanders were en- 



216 THE HISTORY OF FRANKLIN COUNTY. 

gaged in taking powder from some old shells which had been 
at the State Arsenal since the war. They had agreed to do the 
work for one third of the powder ; the state authorities had con- 
tracted to purchase their part. They had gotten 2,600 pounds 
and on the Saturday previous had delivered 1,000 pounds, and 
they had arranged to deliver the balance on the day of the ac- 
cident. The cause of the accident was unknown. There was 
no one present at the time except the two men who were 
killed. Their bodies were so mangled and charred, when 
found, that they were almost beyond recognition. Mr. Force's 
house was about forty yards from where the explosion occurred. 
It was Ijadly damaged, a number of holes were shot through the 
roof and weather-boarding, and all the glass in the house were 
broken. The shock from the explosion very much startled the 
people of Frankfort. 

A society of The King's Daughters was organized in 
Franklin County in January, 1893. The object of the society 
was to extend charity where it was needed and to do good gen- 
erally. In the two decades of its existence it has been pro- 
ductive of much good in the city and county. The organiza- 
tion has erected a large building known as the King's 
Daughters Hospital, located on East ISIain Street. The city 
and county have given material assistance in maintaining the 
institution. 

State Senator William Lindsay, who was representing, in 
the State Senate, the district of which Franklin County was a 
part, was elected to the United States Senate in 1893, and Col. 
E. H. Taylor, Jr., who was representing Franklin County, was 
elected to the State Senate, and Mr. L. J. Cox was elected to fill 
out the unexpired term of Col. Taylor, in the House. 

In July, 1893, the city and county made a contract with 
the King Bridge Company of Cleveland, Ohio, to build a new 
bridge across the Kentucky river at St. Clair street. The 
original contract price was $62,500. This amount was in- 
creased on account of changes made in the plans, to the sum of 
$65,700. The committee which had active control of the 
work was Esq. Pat McDonald, and the County Attorney. 
There was a contest, at that time, over the city offices, which 



THE HISTORY OF FRANKLIN COUNTY. 217 

was not settled until the bridge was practically completed. 
There was considerable dissatisfaction about the work ; this was 
especially so in reference to tlic south abutment. Threats were 
made that the work would not be received and the bridge was 
closed for several weeks and work was discontinued on account 
of these threats. The bridge was finally opened to foot pas- 
sengers in February, and to the general traveling public on 
March 24, 1894, The work was commenced on Thursday 
the 3rd day of August, 1893, which was the same day that 
work was commenced on the new electric raihvay for the city. 

The Slate Press Association convened in Frankfort on 
June 7, the chief features of which wore the boat excursion 
up the Kentucky river and the Governor's reception. On the 
evening of the last day of their stay, there was a banquet and 
l)all at the Capital Plotel, Many noted newspaper men were 
present. Following this meeting the |)ress of the State said 
many nice things about Frankfort and her people. 

While moving a threshing machine and traction engine near 
the Forks of Elkhorn on July 27th, Mr. Lee Triplett fell from 
ihe engine and in falling he reversed the leever and l)efore he 
could get out of the way the engine l)acked over him and 
crushed him to death. Norman Wilkerson, who was also on 
the machine was thrown off, his right arm was broken and he 
received other severe bruises 

The remains of Chief Justice Caswell Bennett, who died 
in Ilopkinsvilie were brought to Frankfort on August 11th. 
They were taken direct to the State House where they lay in 
state during the day. A special military guard was detailed to 
watch over them. The public buildings were closed and no 
business transacted. 

Bellepoint was, by ordinance, annexed to Frankfort in 
1894. Tliere was considerable contest over the annexation, 
which continued through several months. At that time there 
was al)out $125,000 of taxable property situated in Bellepoint. 
The ordinance took efTect January 1st, 1895. 

The 73d Annual Kentucky Conference of the Methodist 
Episcopal Church, South, was held in Frankfort on September 
13th. It was presided over by Bishop W. W. Duncan. There 



218 THE HISTORY OF FRANKLIN COUNTY. 

weve many ministers of high character and intellectual endow- 
ment who spoke during the conference. Rev. S. F. Pollett was 
sent to the Frankfort station. 

On August 14th, 1894, Mrs. Martin Nolan was criminal- 
ly assaulted by a negro, known as Marshall Boston, while on 
her way to Frankfort, she being at the time, on the Devil's 
Hollow road, about a mile from the city. When the news of 
the assault reached the city it created a great deal of excitement 
and in a verj^ short time nearly half of the male citizens of 
Frankfort were in search of him. In the afternoon he was ar- 
rested and carried before Mrs. Nolan, who identified him. 
That night, about twelve o'clock he was taken from the jail 
by a mob and carried to the new St. Clair street bridge and 
hung. Only a few members of the mob were masked, but no 
one seemed to be interested in trying to identify any of them, 
the general impression seeming to be that a merited punish- 
ment was speedily though unlawfully inflicted. After he was 
hung more than a hundred shots were fired into his body. 

On November 12th, the State's large warehouse, filled with 
chairs, belonging to the Chair Company, was burned. About 
$16,000 worth of chairs and the building, valued at $8,000, 
were a total loss, but most of the loss was covered by insurance. 

In compliance with the order of the Secretary of War, 
the Louisville and Nashville Railroad Company raised the 
bridge across the Kentucky river at Frankfort, about 8 feet 
above the old bridge. This order was given with the idea of 
preventing any further obstruction to the steam boat naviga- 
tion. The work was completed August 16th. 

An explosion occurred at Tom Pence's saw mill in Belle- 
point, October 19th. A can about half full of powder was in 
a shed near where Joe Downey and Howard Masters were at 
work filing a saw, A spark from which fell in the can ; both of 
the men were badly burnt and several bones were broken. 

On the 18th of January John W. Payne died. He was 
proofreader for the Frankfort Yoeman for a number of years. 
In 1877 he was elected City Treasurer and was afterwards 
elected a member of the City Council. For several terms he 
was elected a Clerk of the State Board of Equalization and he 



THE HISTORY OF FRANKLIN COUNTY. 219 

was also the collaborator of tables in the oflice of the Superin- 
tendent of Public Instruction. At the time of his death he 
was forty-five years of age. 

Dick Suter shot Urban Stephens in Luscher's saloon, Feb- 
ruary 6, 1893. Some papers in Stephen's pocket saved his 
life. On August 5. 1S95, Suter shot and killed Harry Kelley 
at Porter's saloon in Craw. The trouble came up over the testi- 
mony of Suter against Kelley in the police court. Kelley was 
i^hot twice; either wound would have killed him. Suter was 
convicted on the charge of murder and sent to the penitentiary 
for life, but through the influence of his brother, Lee Suter of 
Louisville, Governor Brown pardoned him. 

On March 19th, 1893, Mr. George A. Robertson died at 
the age of 86 years. He was a nephew of Chief Justice George 
Robertson. In 1827 he came to Frankfort and became a clerk 
in the State Treasurer's oflice and was afterwards a clerk in the 
Auditor's office. When the Legislature established the office 
of State Librarian in 1832, he was elected to that office, which 
position he held for seventeen years. In 1862 he was again 
elected to the office of State Librarian which he held for six 
years, and after that he was elected sergeant-at-arms of the 
Court of Appeals, which position he continued to hold until 
his death. His long tenure in office enabled him to become ac- 
quainted with all the public men of the State. 

The following month Esq. John W. Bohannan died. By 
a special act of the Legislature he was granted license to prac- 
tice law when he was onlj' eighteen years of age. He had a 
most excellent memory. He knew the Code of Practice so 
well that he could give the number and repeat almost any sec- 
tion of it. He was twice elected magistrate for the Frankfort 
magisterial district. He was serving his second term at the 
time of his death. 

The thirty-eighth annual session of the State Medical Asso- 
ciation was held in Frankfort in May, 1893. The attendance 
was large, nearly every county and town in the State was rep- 
resented. All the prominent physicians of the State were 
present. 

Prof. E. A. Fellmer died at his home in Frankfort, Sep- 



220 THE HISTORY OP FRANKLIN COUNTY. 

tember 5th, 1895. He was a German by l)irth but he Hved in 
Frankfort for about thirty years. He was a music teacher by 
profession ; he was a poHshed scholar and a gentleman of stain- 
less honor. For several years prior to his death he was con- 
nected with the State Geological Bureau. His especial duty 
was to look after the emigration of foreigners and to see that 
the better class of emigrants had proper inducements to settle 
in the State. He succeeded in establishing several colonies. 

On January 5th, 1895, Jeff Lucas was fatally stabbed by 
Joe Newton in a fight near the Forks of Elkhorn. The trouble 
came up over a stove which Lucas had left with Newton for re- 
pairs. Jeff Lucas was a bright young man who had selected 
the law as his profession. Joe Newton was a brother of Cal 
Newton, who in August, 1905, shot and killed two of his neigh- 
bors, George Smith and James D. Smith, his son, who lived 
oil an adjoining farm. The Smiths were out repairing a fence 
which joined their division fence; Newton took his double- 
barreled shot gun and cut the shells so that the shot w^ould not 
scatter and walked over to where the men were at work and 
killed both of them. Newton was a school teacher and up to 
that time had borne a good reputation. He was convicted of 
murder and sent to the penitentiary for life. 

On Friday, February 29, 1895, George Magee, a negro 
convict from the local penitentiary was hung by Sheriff R. D. 
Armstrong and his deputies, for having murdered another con- 
vict at the State penitentiary. The hanging of Magee was the 
first legal execution in Franklin County since the slave wo- 
man of Mr. Hiram Berry was hung in 1860 for trying to poison 
the Berry family. 

In September, 1894, the public schools of the city were 
closed for several wrecks on account of the numerous cases of 
diphtheria. A number of cases in both the city and county 
proved fatal. 

The county election for 1894 resulted as follows: B. G. 
Williams, County Judge; N. B. Smith, Clerk; R. D. Arm- 
strong, Sheriff; Minus Williams, Jailer; Jas. H. Polsgrove, 
County Attorney; W. S. Dehoney, Coroner; T. K. Jett, Sur- 
veyor, and M. B. Dorton, Assessor. 



THE HISTORY OF FRANKLIN COUNTY. 221 

Section one of the penitentiary warehouse, filled with 
chairs, was burned on Monday night, November 12, 1894. 
The loss to the State was about $20,000 which was, only in 
part, covered by insurance. 

The Woman's Club of Frankfort was organized on Sep- 
tcmljer 22, 1894, with forty members, which was afterwards 
increased to fifty, the limit fixed by the constitution. This or- 
ganization has been productive of much good to the members 
of the society and to the general public. 

On April the 25th, 1905, a fire occurred on Bridge street, 
in what was known as the Fincel Block, wherein three people 
were burned to death, and the whole block of buildings swept 
away. Five families occupied the rooms over the several stores. 
The flames spread so rapidly that those who escaped did so in 
their night clothes. James Yager and two small children who 
were sleeping in a back room could not be aroused in time and 
all of them perished. 

Judge Ruben Brown, one of the most prominent men of 
the county died at his home near Bridgeport on May 24th, 
1895. He was a son of Scott Brown, a pioneer, who came to 
Kentucky about 1782, and who was at one time a Magistrate 
and later was Sheriff of the county. Judge Brown was a 
l)rother of Gen. Scott Brown, who represented Franklin 
County in both the House and Senate, and who was Adjutant 
General under Governor Magoffin. Judge Brown was twice 
elected County Judge of the county. He was a plain honest 
gentleman of the old school and he held the respect and esteem 
of all who knew him. 

On January 1st, 189G, County Judge "Williams appointed 
his In-other, Wilej' C. Williams, jailer of the county to take the 
])lace of Minus Williams, deceased. 

Attorney James A. Violett represented the county in 1896. 
On the 14th of February of this year. Officer Henry Brown 
was shot and killed in U. Kagin's saloon on Broadway street, 
by a man named I.ucien Hawkins, and immediately thereafter 
Hawkins was shot and killed l)y Police Officer Will Gordon. 
Hawkins had come to the city from Shelby County, and was 
drunk and disorderly. The officers had been sent for and in 



222 THE HISTORY OF FRANKLIN COUNTY. 

the attempt to arrest .him, he shot Capt. Brown five times and 
in turn was shot three times by Officer Gordon ; both men died 
within two minutes after the shooting. Capt. Brown was an 
excellent officer and a good detective. He was 64 years old 
and for 38 years had been on the police force of Frankfort. 

On Sunday night, March IStli, Governor W. O. Bradley 
ordered the "riot call" to be rung, and in a few moments the 
greatest excitement prevailed in all sections of the city. Men 
who lived in the outskirts of the town hurriedly armed them- 
selves and went to the court house to find the cause of the alarm. 
Various reasons were assigned for the call. Every one was 
excited but no one could tell why it was made. No good rea- 
son was ever assigned for it. The people of Frankfort were 
very indignant by reason of the Governor's conduct. The 
Mayor of Frankfort, Hon. Ira Julian, issued a proclamation 
calling a meeting of the citizens of Frankfort and strong resolu- 
tions condemning the conduct of the Governor were passed. 

There was a negro riot in Frankfort on Sunday, June 8th. 
The societies of the negro hod-carriers and teamsters of Louis- 
ville came to Frankfort on a crowded train. Two of the visit- 
ing negroes were fighting when they reached Frankfort; the 
police officers of the city undertook to arrest them, other negroes 
undertook to prevent the arrest and two or three hundred of 
them were making it warm work for the officers and they were 
getting the worst of it Avhen several white men went to their as- 
sistance. The riot continued for a considerable time; several 
white men and a large number of negroes were injured but no 
fatalities resulted. 

On the night of July the 21st, 1896, a disastrous flood oc- 
curred in Benson Creek which arose very suddenly in the night 
time and washed away several houses, a large amount of fenc- 
ing, stables and other outbuildings, farming products, and in 
some places the soil, leaving nothing but bare rocks where there 
had been fertile fields. The daughter of Judge J. D. ]\Ioore 
and two of her children were drowned. Many other people in 
that section had almost miraculous escapes. About one and 
a half miles of the L. & N. Railroad was Avashed away, entail- 
ing a great loss upon the company. The work of reconstruc- 



THE HISTORY OF FRANKLIN COUNTY. 223 

tion was more ditlicult than was the original construction. 
(!aincy'.s bridge, whicli con.^istcd of three steel spans, was en- 
tirely swept away, the two piers were taken out to bed rock. 
The length of the new bridge is 122 feet. The oldest inhabi- 
tants in that section say that the volume of water was at least 
four feet higlicr than the previous highest water. 

On Tuesday, the second day of September, 1896, the In- 
stitution for Feeble Minded Children was burned. The loss to 
the State was about $()'), 000. On the ord of May a like Hre 
occurred in which the l)uilding used at that time was destroyed 
entailing a further loss of more than $50,000. On September 
the ISth, the frame l>uildings located on the State ground, 
and which were temporarily used after the fire of September 
2nd, were also consumed. The children were then moved to 
Frankfort for a few days, and until the Commissioners rented 
the AValcutt farm, where the children remained until the build- 
ings could be reconstructed. The last new building was com- 
pleted in 1897. It is a more handsome building than were 
either of those which burned. 

During the year 1896 the night riders destroyed nearly 
all of the toll gates in the county and practically forced the 
Fiscal Court to purchase all of the turnpikes and make them 
free. On Octol)er 24th, they visited the toll houses on the 
Louisville and Lawrencel)urg roads and destroyed the gates. 
On November loth the toll house on the Owenton road was 
1)urned and the toll gate was taken down and cut to pieces. 
This destruction of property with threats and intimidation 
contiruiod until the roads were made free. 

Dr. James Russell Hawkins died at his home near Bridge- 
port on February 1st, 1897, at the age of 92 years. He was a 
man of strong personality. He moved to Boone County in his 
early manhood and represented that senatorial district in the 
Kentucky Legislature. After his term of office expired he re- 
moved to Franklin County where he resided the remainder of 
liis life. He was a practicing physician and became prominent 
in his profession. He was also a licensed preacher. For 29 
years he was the chief clerk of the Senate. He had a fine voice, 



224 THE HISTORY OF FRANKLIN COUNTY. 

was a good reader and was very popular as an officer and citi- 
zen. 

On the 9th of February, 1897, the boiler which was used 
at the jail for heating purposes and which was located under 
the jail oflice, exploded with disastrous effects. Cabell Hardin, 
Dr. Alvin Duvall, Capt. Lew Hill, Emmett Triplett, Jay Robin- 
son and James C. Rogers w^ere all injured, some of them very 
severely. James C. Rogers was so seriously hurt that he died 
from the effects of the wounds on the next day. 

Hon, Ed. Porter Thompson published his "Young Peo- 
ple's History of Kentucky" during the year 1897. This work 
was prepared for the public schools of the State. It is a good 
work and is well suited to the purpose for which it was written. 

The State Bankers' Association was convened in Frankfort 
in September, 1897. About one hundred delegates from dif- 
ferent sections of the State were present. Governor Bradley 
delivered the address of welcome in behalf of the State, and 
General D. W. Lindsey on behalf of the local banks. This 
meeting was of interest not only to the bankers but also to the 
general public. 

An election riot took place in Frankfort on Monday 
night, November 1st, 1897. Some of the Democratic politi- 
cians and workers undertook to collect a boat load of negroes 
and carry them up the river and in that way prevent them 
from voting the next day in the city election. The Repul)li- 
cans found out what was being done and they very promptly 
stopped further proceedings along that line. The Democrats 
then undertook to corrall the negroes at Dailey's barn wliich was 
located on the Georgetown road about one mile from Frank- 
fort. The Republicans, white and colored, led by Frank 
Egbert and Howard Glore, all of them well armed, started out 
to release the negroes who had been collected at the barn. 
When they reached a point on the road near the colored Normal 
School, they met one of the wagons which had been used in 
carrying the negroes to the barn ; a man by the name of John 
Smith and known as ''Sweet Thing" was driving, and several 
white men were in the wagon. The Republicans undertook to 
stop the wagon and the shooting commenced. Howard Glore 



THE HISTORY OF FRANKLIN COUNTY. 225 

Ava?^ killed, John Smith was shot through the knee and lost a 
leg as the result, and a negro hy the name of Charles (Jraham 
was shot through the breast and wa^ seriously but not fatally 
wounded. The Democrats came on to Frankfort and had a 
warrant issued against Frank Fgljcrt and placed in the 
hands of Tcs Dcakins, a fearless Deputy Sheriff of the county. 
Later in the night when Deakins undertook to execute the war- 
rant of arrest on Egbert, at the corner of Main and St. Clair 
street*;, Egbert and his friends connnenced firing at Dcakins 
and the Democrats who were located at the four corners of the 
street, connnenced shooting at Egbert. As a result Deakins 
wtis shot twice and instantly killed and Egbert was shot live 
times and he, too, then and there died from the wounds. Walter 
Goins, an uncle of Egbert, was shot in the foot. Several men 
were arrested and lodged in jail but none of them were ever 
tried. ])eakins left a wife and three small children, and 
Egbert also left a wife and three small children. Glore was not 
married. 

Judge George C. Drane died on tlie first day of the new 
year, seventj'-one years of age. He was elected Circuit Judge 
in 1862 and was re-elected. He served fourteen years on the 
bench. 

On January loth Dewitt Clinton Barrett died in his Toth 
year. He came to Frankfort from Pennsylvania in 1858, and 
commenced work on the Kentucky Yeoman. In 1875 he 
purchased an interest in the Yeoman which was run under the 
lirm name of Major, Johnston & Barrett. He was modest, un- 
assuming, true, upright and honorable. 

The election for county ofiicers in 1898 resulted as follows: 
J. D. Moore, Judge; J. H. Polsgrove, Attorney; Ben Suter, 
Sheriff; W. H. Hawkins, Assessor; James Alley, Jailer, and 
Miss Lucy Pattie, Superintendent of Schools. 

Judge Thomas H. Ilines died at his home in Frankfort, 
January 24th, 1898. He was born in Butler County, October 
8th, 1838. He was well educated and was employed as a pro- 
fessor in Funk Ma.sonic Seminary at LaGrange, Kentucky. 
He wa.s Captain in General INIorgan's command during the 
Civil AVar and was captured with him during the raid through 



226 THE HISTORY OF FRANKLIN COUNTY. 

Ohio and was confined with him in the Cohimbus penitentiary. 
It was Judge liines wlio planned and carried into execution 
their escape from the penitentiary. vVfterwards he went to 
Canada to cooperate with Jacob Thompson in the attempt to 
Uberate the prisoners in northern prisons. At the close of the 
war he studied law and was editor of a newspaper. In. 1878 
he was elected Judge of the Court of Appeals, and at the ex- 
piration of his term of office retained his citizenship at Frank- 
fort. In 1891 he represented Franklin County in the Consti- 
tutional Convention. He was tall, slim and delicate. He had 
the moral courage to express his opinion and the physical 
courage to carry them into execution. 

On the 8th of the following May Maj. H. T. Stanton died, 
in his 64th year. He, too, was a Confederate soldier, and was 
promoted for gallantry to the position of Major. He was a 
genial, companionable man and he was a poet of high order. 
His "Jacob Brown" and "The iloneyless Man" gained for him 
a national reputation as a man of letters. He assisted Col. J. 
S. Johnston in writing the History of Louisville. For many 
years he was assistant editor of the Frankfort Yeoman. A 
small .stone giving his name, birth and death marks his last 
resting place in the Frankfort cemetery. 

Walter R. Franklin died on the 19th of July, 1899, in his 
76th year. He spent lift}* years of his life in the Franklin 
Circuit Court Clerk's office. He was deputy clerk for fifteen 
years and chief clerk for thirty-five years. He was very care- 
ful and accurate. Every one had implicit confidence in his 
word and no lawyer thought about examining the order book 
to see whether or not an order was properly entered. He was 
always ready to advise and help a young lawyer. There was 
not a lawyer at the Frankfort bar who was bettor informed as 
to the general practice. 

Frankfort's first street fair was opened with due and im- 
posing ceremonies on the 3rd of September, in the presence of 
a large a.ssembly of people. The procession was led by the 
News Boys' Band of Louisville. Governor l^radley formally 
opened the exercises witli an eloquent address. The fair was a 



THE HISTORY OF FRANKLIN COUNTY. 227 

great success. Thousands of out of town visitors were present 
during the week. 

The Kentucky Historical Society re-estabhshed the 
original corner stone of Frankfort. On October Gth the un- 
veiling occurred. The Governor and other state officials, the 
Mayor and other city officials and a large number of people 
took part in the ceremony. The stone is located on the east side 
of Ann street, near the south end. The chief address of the day 
was delivered by Judge Lysander Hord. 

A roster of the soldiers in the Spanish-American war from 
Frankhn County is as follows: Adjutant of 1st Batallion, H. T. 
Cuiines; Chief Surgeon, W. H. Dade; Chaplain, Rev. W. L. 
Waits; Hospital Stewart, Howard H. Farmer; Dr. Nevill Gar- 
rett was Assistant Surgeon. Company ''E" Second Regiment, 
Kentucky Volunteers, known as Bradley Guards— Captain, 
Julian Kersey; 1st Lieutenant, W. N. Bridgeford; 2nd Lieu- 
tenant, Estin Hieatt; Sergeant, Robert Semones; Corporal, J. 
W. Gilpin. Privates— Augustus Baker, Chas. Berry, B.D. 

Belts, R. L. Bentley, E. F. Brown, Brown, Siun Carr, 

Albert Chilson, Henry Chilson, Rudolph Childer, Wm. Choate, 
Wm. Crane, John P. Cox, Dudley Cohn, Chas. Collins, R. s! 
Croggin, J. E. Cleveland, W. M. Cleveland, David Howard, 
Jeff Davis, Cad Davis, Geo. M. Egbert, W. J. Ellard, Otis 
Evans, II. H. Farmer, J. T. Fitzgerald, Lee R. Foster, G. F. 
Gayhart, Carlton Gaines, Arthur Glore, J. E. Graves, J. D. 
Holmes, Wallace Hunter, F. C. Hutchinson, W. W. IIuss, 
James Johnson, William Kavanaugh, Taylor Kinkade, John 
B. Kingkade, John W. Lawson, ^^'illiam McClurc, Henry 
B. Kinkade, John W. Lawson, William McClure, Henry 
Mitchell, J. S. Moore, Nerly Moore, Charles Xetherton, Harry 
Nichols, R. L. Nixon, Chas. Orine, Dan Owens, Lawrence 
Owens, Sidney Parker, Arthur Ponder, John Richards, Charles 
Schuyler, George Semones, Albert Seil)ert, James Shari^, Claude 
Smith, J. F. Smither, W. F. Staples, W. R. Steffey, P. D. 
Stevenson, Patrick Haly, Geo. Hays, Herndon Hill, David 
Howard, Geo. L. Ilorine, Duncan C. Holmes, John E. Triplett, 
Ennnett C. Triplett, John Toljin, Morris Updike and C. m! 



228 THE HISTORY OF FRANKLIN COUNTY. 

Walcutt. Stewart Farmer and Charles Abler were members of 
tbe band. 

The men from Franklin Connty in the Georgetown Com- 
pany were W. C. Jones, Herbert Morrison, Tliomas R. Mark- 
ham, Allen W, Travel, Robert R. Craik and Ralph W. Jones. 

Capt. Noel Gaines, U. S. V. of Gen. Ludlow's staff was Pro- 
vost Marshal of Havana; promoted to rank of Major. 



THE HISTORY OF FRANKLIN COUNTY. 229 

I 

CHAPTER XV. 

Course of Events From 1900 to 1910. 

Oh January the 18tb, 1900, Col. D. G. Colston of Middles- 
Ijoro, came to Frankfort as a witness before the Contest l^oard. 
He had gone to the Capital Hotel and was sitting near the 
front window in the oflice of the hotel, talking to some friends, 
when Lieutenant E. D. Scott came into the oflice through the 
west entrance leading from the dining room. As soon as 
Scott saw Col. Colston he drew his pistol and commenced firing 
at him. Col. Colston immediately drew his pistol and com- 
menced firing at Scott. A young lawyer from Shelbyville by 
the name of L. D. Demaree was standing close and Scott im- 
mediately made a breastwork of him by throwing one arm 
around him and holding him in front and firing from behind 
him ; while in that position Colston put three bullets through 
Demaree's heart. When each of the combatants had exhausted 
the contents of his pistol,, Col. Colston very deliberately drew 
another pistol, and Scott, seeing no other way of escai)e, at- 
tempted to run down the steps to the ba.sement but fell dead 
from Colston's firing when he reached the bottom step. After the 
duel was ended, it was found that Lieutenant Scott, L. W. 
Demaree and Charles H. Julian, a wealthy citizen from Frank- 
lin County were dead and that Harry McEwing, O. D. Redr 
path, Capt. B. B. Golden and Col. Colston were all seriously 
wounded. The cause of the trouble dated back several months, 
when the two army officers had a shooting scrape at Anniston, 
Alabama. 

Great excitement prevailed, and an immense crowd soon 
gathered at the hotel. Tlie tragedy was in no way connected 
with the political contest which was at that time being tried for 
the state officers. 

Col. Colston wa.s indicted by a Franklin County Grand 
Jury but on the trial of the case he claimed that Scott brought 
on the troul)le by following him and by commencing the fight. 
The Jury found him ''not guilty." 



230 THE HISTORY OF FRANKLIN COUNTY. 

A traveling salesman representing a house in an eastern 
state had heard the reputation of Kentucky and Kentuckians 
discussed and he had no desire to form any acquaintances in 
the state. In the year 1894 his firm prevailed on him to come 
to Frankfort and lie reached the city about an hour before Pols- 
grove shot and killed Williamson and wounded several other 
men, on the corner of Main and St. Clair streets, and he wit- 
nessed the tragedy. On his return he told his firm that he 
would resign rather than make another trip to Kentucky. In 
1900, after much persuasion and some threats of discharging 
him, his firm again prevailed on him to come to Frankfort 
and he landed at the Capitol Hotel about thirty minutes be- 
fore the Colston-Scott tragedy. He was seated in the lobby 
near the railing which protected the entrance to the basement 
having his shoes shined. When the shooting commenced he 
jumped over the railing and fell to the bottom of the steps 
and broke both legs. Immediately after his fall Lieutenant 
Scott fell across him and was found to be dead when taken up. 

The election of state officers in 1899 was close and excit- 
ing. The chief interest was centered in the race for Governor, 
the contest being between Attorney General W. S. Taylor, the 
Republican candidate, and Senator William Goebel, the Demo- 
cratic candidate. Senator Goebel's course in the State Senate 
had arrayed certain interests against him and the fight against 
him was very bitter. The face of the returns disclosed the 
fact that Gen. Taylor was elected by a small majority. Sena- 
tor Goebel's friends prevailed on him to make a contest and in 
due course of time the contest was filed. During the contest 
in the month of January, 1900, thousands of people from all 
sections of the State visited Frankfort. The State was stirred 
from center to circumference. Threats were indulged in and 
it was openly stated that if the contest was decided in favor of 
the Democrats that Senator Goebel would be assassinated. All 
kinds of rumors were floating around. Senator Goebel was re- 
peatedly warned of his danger, notwithstanding which he at- 
tended all the sittings of the Senate. Some of his personal 
friends constituted themselves a body guard and went to and 
from the State House with him. On the morning of January 



THE HISTORY OF FRANKLIN COUNTY, 231 

the 30tli, Col. Jack Cliinn from Mercer County, and Col. Eph 
Lillard from Franklin County were with him. When they 
reached the front o;ate of the old capital grounds, it was re- 
marked that the usual crowd was not in front of the capital 
huilding. When they reached a point aljout fifty feet from 
the steps leadino; to the main Iniilding a shot was fired from the 
window in the Secretary, of State's ofiice which struck Senator 
Goebel in the right side, and went entirely through him and 
lodged in a hackherry tree near the west entrance to the 
grounds. Senator Goebel was immediately taken to the Capital 
Hotel where he lingered until the 3rd day of February ; in the 
meantime he had been declared elected and had taken the oath 
of office. For several weeks after his death the conditions at 
Frankfort were dreadful. Governor Taylor still claimed that 
he w^as Governor and Lieutenant Governor J. C. W. Beckham, 
who had taken the oath of office on the death of Governor 
Goebel claimed that he, too, was Governor, and he assumed the 
duties as such with his office in the Capital Hotel. Each of 
them had several companies of the State Guard under arms 
and a conflict between them was almost hourly expected. The 
citizens of Frankfort had also taken sides, and each side had 
armed themselves. The Republicans generally claimed that 
it was a .just retribution summarily inflicted, and the Demo- 
crats claimed that it was the greatest outrage ever perpetrated 
in a free count^^^ After the flight of Governor Taylor and 
peace had, in a measure, been restored, the grand jury was 
convened and indictments were returned against Caleb Powers, 
who was the Republican Secretary of State, and W. S. Taylor, 
who w^as the Republican Governor, and W. H. Culton, F. W. 
Golden, Green Golden. John L. Powers, John Davis. Chas. 
Finley, Henry Youtsey. James Howard. Berry Howard, Gar- 
nett b. Ripley. Harland Whittaker, Richard Combs, Zack 
Steele and Frank Cecil, charging that all of them were impli- 
cated in the murder. The Republicans openly charged that 
the defendants could not get a fair trial in Franklin Coimty. 
Caleb Powers and .Henry Youtsey were granted a change of 
venue to Scott County. Capt. Garnett D. Ripley was tried at 
the April term, 1901. He was the first one of the defendants 



232 THE HISTORY OF FRANKLIN COUNTY. 

to stand trial. He was prosecuted by the able Commonwealth 
Attorney, Robert B. Franklin, assisted by Thomas Campbell, 
of Cincinnati and Judge Benjamin G. Williams, of Frankfort. 
He was defended by Judge J. T. O'Neal, of Louisville, Col. 
William Cravens of New Castle, Judge P. U. Major and L. F. 
Johnson of the local bar. Judge James E. Cantrill was the 
presiding judge. The jury was composed of the most intel- 
ligent and best educated men in the county who could be 
secured. The court house was crowded almost to suffocation, 
during the whole time. After a long and intensely interesting 
trial the jury Ijrought in a verdict of "not guilty." 

Henry Youtsey was convicted and sent to the penitentiary 
for life, and in the year 1912, is still serving his sentence. 
After his conviction Youtsey made a confession in which he 
claimed that Jim Howard fired the shot which killed Governor 
Goebel, and that the other above named defendants were in the 
cons])iracy. Jim Howard was tried three times and convicted. 
The Court of Appeals reversed the lower court twice, but he 
was finally sent to the penitentiary for life, ])ut was pardoned 
by Governor A. E. Willson. Caleb Powers also had three con- 
victions and he, too, with several other of the most prominent 
defendants, were pardoned by Governor Willson. The trial of 
these cases, known as the "Goebel cases," continued through a 
period of about eight years. The defendants made a strong 
fight for life and liberty and only two of them were ever placed 
behind prison walls. On April 23, 1909, Gov. Willson par- 
doned W. S. Taylor, Clias. Finley, John L. Powers, Harla.nd 
Whittaker, John W. Davis and Zack Steele. 

The County Assessor for the year 1901, returned the fol- 
lowing assessments: Number of acres of land, 123,831, with im- 
provements valued at $2,410,130; number of town lois, 1,563; 
improvements, $2,149,503; number of horses, 4,428, valued at 
$100,519; number of hogs, 3,831, valued at $17,325. The 
total as.sessment amounted to $6,192,020. Number of legal 
voters, 2,398. 

Pat ^IcDonald, lawyer, editor and Democratic politician 
died on March 14, 1901. He was a ^higistratc of the county, 
and was the best informed man on countv affairs in the countv. 



THE HISTORY OF FRANKLIN COUNTY. 233 

For many years he was editor and publisher of The Western 
Argus. lie displayed marked ability as an editor and as a 
business man. 

The corner stone of the Elk's Lodge, located on Lewis 
street, was laid May 27, 1902. Hon. G. Allison Holland was 
the orator of the occju^ion. 

The election of county oilicers in 1902 resulted as fol- 
lows: .J. H. Polsgrove, Judge; Jamas Buford, Attorney; A. G. 
Jeffers, Sheriff; Brose Quarles, Assessor, who died in office and 
K. C. Hieatt was elected to fill out his term; M. L. Lawrence 
was elected Jailer, and :Miss Lucy Pattie Superintendent 
Schools. South Trimble was elected to represent the county 
jn 1898, and re-elected in 1900. He was speaker of the House 
during his second term. Dr. Owen Robinson represented the 
county in 1902. Col. E. H. Taylor, Jr., was elected State 
Senator for his district in 1901, for a term of four years. L. 
F. Johnson was elected in 1903 to represent the county, and 
re-elected in 1905. 

Judge Patrick U. :Major died in July, 1903. He wa.s 
l)orn in Frankfort in the year 1822, and was educated by B. 
B. Sayre and at Union College. He studied law under the in- 
struction of Judge T. B. Monroe and Gov. Chas. S. :Morehead, 
and was admitted to the bar in 1844. In 1852 he was elected 
County Attorney. In 185{) he was elected Commonwealth's 
Attorney, and in 1870 he was elected Circuit Judge, and wa.s 
re-elected to succeed himself. He was a Judge of pure heart 
and strong intellect. He was faithful, kind and efficient. On 
retiring from the bench he resumed the active practice of law 
and was connected with some of the most important litigations 
in the State. He was an excellent judge of human nature and 
a "reader of men." He was doubtless the strongest criminal 
lawyer who ever engaged in the practice at Frankfort. 

In 1903 the citizens of Frankfort conuncnccd the final 
contest for an adequate appropriation for a new capital build- 
ing and which meant a permanent location of the capital at 
Frankfort. 

For more than a hundred years Lexington and Louisville 
had desired to remove the capital but neither of them would 



234 THE HISTORY OF FRANKLIN COUNTY. 

agree for the other to have it. The Senator from the Frank- 
fort senatorial district and the Representative-elect with six- 
teen prominent citizens of the city and county composed a 
committee which took charge of the contest. Under the super- 
vision of this committee a booklet was prepared setting forth 
the history of ''The Capital Question," and the necessity for 
the new building. A copy of this booklet was sent to every 
member of the Legislature, and the Representative-elect of 
Franklin County visited different sections of the State and 
made an especial effort to interest the newspapers and promi- 
nent citizens from all parts of the State in "The Capital Ques- 
tion." 

The Legislature convened January 5th, 1904, and on Jan- 
uary the 12th the Representative from Franklin County intro- 
duced House Bill No. 69 which provided for the appropriation 
of one million of dollars with which to erect and complete a 
new capitol and other necessary buildings at the seat of gov- 
ernment. When the measure came up for passage there was 
only one dissenting vote in the House and with like una- 
nimity the bill passed the Senate. An amendment tacked to 
the bill in the House which named the old capitol grounds as 
the site for the new building caused Governor J. C. W. Beck- 
ham to call an extra session of the T^egislature in 1905 in order 
that the site might be changed. 

On November 15, 1904 a primary election for county offi- 
cers was held. A nomination at that time was equivalent to 
an election. The nominations resulted as follows: J. H. Pols- 
grove, County Judge; F. M. Dailey, Attorney; R. C. Hieatt, 
Sheriff; W. H. Hawkins, Assessor; E. R. Jones, School Com- 
missioner; J. W. Bridges, Jailer and L. F. Johnson, for Rep- 
resentative. The contest for Representative was probably the 
fiercest struggle ever had for any po.'^ition in Franklin County. 
The successful candidate won by only four votes from his 
competitor. Col. E. XL Taylor, Jr. Col. Taylor contested the 
nomination and took the case to the Court of Appeals twice be- 
fore the final settlement. Col. Taylor had been Mayor of 
Frankfort for several terms; Representative of his county 
twice and State Senator twice. He was known as "The veteran 



THE HISTORY OF FRANKLIN COUNTY. 235 

war horse of local politics." Doubtless the cause of his defeat 
was his announcement in tlic papers that he would not make 
the race for Representative and was afterwards induced by his 
friends to change his mind. The officers nominated in No- 
vember, 1904, were elected in 1905 and commenced their terms 
of office in January, 1906. 

During the Legislative .sessions of 1904 and 1906 there 
was appropriated more money for the permanent impro\'e- 
ment of public buildings at Frankfort than was spent by the 
State for that purpose during it'* whole history prior to that 
time. The million and a half dollars for the capitol building 
was supplemented by eighty-six thousand for the State peni- 
tentiary at Frankfort: twenty thousand for the Colored Normal 
School; twenty thousand for the Feel)le Minded Institute; 
twenty thousand for the William Goeljel monument; two thous- 
and for repairs on the Boone monument, and five thousand per 
3'ear for the collection of relics for the Historical Society. 

The corner stone of the new capitol building was laid by 
Gov. J. C. W. Beckham on June 16tli, 1906, in the presence of 
a crowd of people estimated at from twenty to twenty-five thous- 
and. 

John W. Milam was chief marshal of the parade and Gen, 
D. W. Lindsey was master of ceremonies. Hon. H. V. Mc- 
Chesney, one of the capitol commissioners, and as the repre- 
sentative of the commission, delivered an al)le address. The 
chief address of the occasion was delivered by Hon. William 
Lindsay, which was able, scholarlj^ and eloquent. 

John B. Dryden died August 6, 1906, in the 64th year of 
his age. Lie was Commissary Sergeant in the 9th Kentucky 
Cavalry, U. S. A., commanded by Col. R. T. Jacobs, in the 
Civil War. Several years prior to his death he became the 
editor and publisher of the ''Sunday Call," which paper he 
afterwards enlarged and made an afternoon daily. He was a 
genial, clever gentleman who was esteemed by the people of 
Frankfort, and through his paper did much good for Frank- 
fort by advocating certain improvements. His persistent ef- 
forts along that line resulted in many permanent improve- 
ments in the city. 



236 THE HISTORY OF FRANKLIN COUNlDY. 

The contest between ex-Governor J. C. W. Beckham and 
ex-Governor W, O. Bradley for the position of United States 
Senator was the main feature of Legislative session of 1908. 
On February 29 Governor Bradley was elected amidst great 
confusion. 

The last issue of The Frankfort Roundaljout was on Feb- 
ruary 29, and the first issue of the Frankfort Weekly News 
was on March 7, 1908.1 

One of the most delightful Ijanquets ever enjoyed by the 
people of Frankfort was given by the Young iMen's Democratic 
Club on March 12th in honor of Governor J. C. W. Beckham. 
The toasts responded to were as follows : ''The Public Servant," 
by Judge William Rogers Clay; ''My Old Kentucky Home," 
by Hon. Harry Schobert; "Keep It Sweet," by Judge J. M. 
Benton; "The House," by Representative W. A. Shanks; "The 
Senate," by Senator Frank Reeves; "Party Honor," by Repre- 
sentative George S. Willson. Governor Beckham made the 
closing address which was well received. 

On March 16th John N. Crutcher passed way in his 78th 
year. He was a man of strong character and he contriljuted 
many articles to the papers. He was a practical jober. AVhen 
he was a young man he and Dick Tate were frequently associ- 
ated in playing jokes on some one. 

For many years prior to 1908 the White Burley Tobacco 
gTowers had been trying to secure a Ijctter price for their 
product. The American Tobacco Company had succeeded to 
a great extent in defeating them in their efforts. As a last re- 
sort the tobacco men agreed to "cut out" the 1908 crop and in 
their attempt to do so, some of their irresponsible follov>'ers 
took the law in their own hands and sent out some threatening 
letters, destroyed tobacco beds, burned barns and did other 
things of a lawless nature. In a short time they were known 
as "The Night Riders." Governor Willson undertook to 
suppress them by patroling the militia through the county for 
several months. This increased rather than allayed the dis- 
order and on the night of May 22nd N. B. Hazelctt was killed 
near the Shelby County line. A military company was in that 
neighborhood at the time and a large number of night riders 



THE HISTORY OF FRANKLIN COUNTY. 237 

wore al.<() out and terror reigned in the western section of the 
county. A\'alker Dunean, Kiley llarrod and Hubert Kessler 
were charged with the kiUing and after the Governor had par- 
doned the defendant.^ before the trial, the widow of Ilazelett 
brought a suit for damages against the parties. Scott & 
Hamilton and the County Attorney of Shelby County repre- 
sented the plaintiff and Willis & Todd of Shelby County, and 
L. F. Johnson of the local bar, represented the defendants. 
When the case was called for trial the defendants by their at- 
torney's filed an aflidavit and made a motion for Judge R. L. 
Stout to vacate the bench and as a result of which the attorneys 
for the defense were ruled by the court to show cause why they 
should not be punished for contempt of court. When the re- 
sponse to same was filed the court held it was not sufHcient and 
entered a fine of $80.00 against each of the- three attorneys and 
ordered them to jail for thirty hours, but he afterwards set aside 
the jail part of the sentence. The fines were promptly paid. 
The Judge vacated the bench and the defendants escaped from 
the payment of any judgment against them. 

The new capitol waa completed October 30th, 1908, and 
occupied in September, 1909. 

In the month of November Capt. L. II. Finnell, a veteran 
of the Union Army, shot himself through the head, causing 
instant death. On the same day Mrs. John Leitner, who lived 
at Thorn Hill, murdered her two little children, aged eight and 
six years, and then killed herself. Her husband had been 
drinking for some time and hopeless poverty seemed to have 
prompted the killing. 

A persistent rumor of graft in county affairs prompted 
an investigation. A committee of citizens composed of Gen. 
D. W. Lindsey, Geo. B. Harper, Sidney Bedford, R. C. Hieatt 
and Rev. C. R. Hudson selected the expert accountant to in- 
vestigate the county Ijooks. On September 29th, 1909, the 
report was made showing the financial condition of the county, 
in which report it was stated that $7,507.82 had been paid 
into the county treasury by rea.-^on of the investigation and that 
there still remained due and unpaid a balance of $4,27G.71 
from former officials of the county. 



238 THE HISTORY OF FRANKLIN COUNTY. 

The county officials elected in the year 1908 were as fol- 
lows: R. C. Hieatt, County Judge; Ben Marshall, Circuit 
Clerk, Crawford Lee, County Clerk; Wiley Marshall, County 
Attorney; M. B, Lucas, Jailer; Lee Buckley, Sheriff, and Har- 
rison Lee, Assessor. The Magistrates elected for the county 
were Hiram Stafford, George W. Johnson, Nick Sullivan, R. 
L. Wiley and James Waldner. 

On April 30th, 1909, great damage was done by a storm 
of wind and rain, fences were blown down, outhouses and 
stables were destroyed, the roofs on several warehouses of the 
O. F. C. Distillery were blown off and property in all sections 
of the county greatly damaged. The government gauge at the 
Custom House showed that in seven hours two and sixty-two 
one hundredths inches of rain fell. Elkhorn Creek rose about 
fourteen feet and the Kentucky river about five feet in that 
time. 

On June 2nd Howe's Show was exhibited in Frankfort and 
during the evening exhibition a negro by the name of John 
Maxey, shot and dangerously wounded Bert Bowers, who was 
in some way connected with the show. About two o'clock the 
next morning Maxey was taken from the jail to the St. Clair 
street bridge and hung by a mob. During the promiscuous 
shooting which followed the hanging a young man by the 
name of R. J. Weindel was dangerously but not fatally 
wounded. 

During this year the Louisville & Nashville Railroad Com- 
pany purchased the Highland Road and extended the line to 
Versailles and there connected with the L. & E. which runs to 
the mountains of Eastern Kentucky. 

On September 4th, during the military encampment at 
Lake Park, there was a battle between some soldiers and citi- 
zens, in the lower part of the city known as "Craw," in which 
two men were killed and three others wounded. Sergeant 
Ingram Tate and Jeff Cook, a civilian, were killed and Wm. 
Nickles, Alex McNally and Ed Miller were wounded. The 
fight took place at Ilowser's saloon. It commenced in the 
house but the soldiers left the saloon and about fifty of them 
congregated on the outside, some had revolvers and others 



THE HISTORY OF FRANKLIN COUNTY. 239 

rifles. The citizens took refuge in the upstairs rooms and a 
great many shots were liretl by each side; the building and tlie 
furniture were ahnost completely demolished. This battle 
brought on a crusade against allowing saloons in Craw. The 
ultimate outcome of which was the discontinuing of saloons in 
that section of the city. 

Senator William Lindsay died at his home in Frankfort- 
on October 15, 1909. lie was born in Virginia on the 4th 
of September, 1835, and was educated in the common schools 
of Virginia. At the age of eighteen he began the study of 
law and in 1854 he moved to Hickman County, Kentucky, and 
taught school for several years. In 1858 he was admitted to 
the bar and commenced the practice, of law at Clinton. In 
the Civil War he enlisted as a private but he soon became Cap- 
tain of his company and later in the service became a mem- 
ber of General Forrest's staff. After the war he came back to 
Hickman and was elected to represent his district in the State 
Senate in 1867, and in 1870 he was elected a member of the 
Court of Appeals. He served eight years on the Court of Ap- 
peals bench. The last two he was chief justice. In 1877 he 
resumed the practice of law^ at Frankfort. In 1890 he was 
sent to the State Senate from Franklin County and in 1893 he 
was elected United States Senator to fill out the unexpired 
term of John G. Carlisle and in 1894 was re-elected for a full 
term. He filled various positions, by appointment from the 
President of the United States. Judge Lindsay was. a leader 
of men and he was considered one of the greatest of men. 
He was one of the greatest lawyers this republic has 
produced. He was broad shouldered and broad minded. He 
was almost a giant in statue and he was full grown giant in in- 
tellect. He was remarkal)le for his simplicity and directness. 
He was round-headed, smooth-shaved, awkward in gesture, 
talked very loud when making a public speech; he lost some of 
his teeth during the latter part of his life which caused a con- 
siderable impediment in his speech ; he was a portly, handsome 
man with brown eyes and dark hair. He was a great Judge, 
a statesman and a patriot. 

On December 'the 18th William Cromwell died. He was 



240 THE HISTORY OP FRANKLIN COUNTY. 

a practitioner at the Frankfort bar for about thirty-five years, 
about twenty years of whicli he was cliief clerk of the State 
Senate. He was a true friend and a good lawyer. His 
memor}' and power of endurance were marvelous. 

The body of Arthur Goebel, who died in Phoenix, Arizona, 
arrived at Frankfort, January 31st, 1910, and was laid to rest 
by the side of his distinguished brother, in the Frankfort 
cemetery. On the tenth anniversary of William Goebel's deatli 
a handsome monument of marble and bronze typifying him 
as the orator defending the rights of the great common people, 
was unveiled in the presence of a large crowd. Senator James 
B. McCreary and Justus Goebel, brother of the dead Governor, 
were the orators of the occasion. Ex-Governor J. C. W. Beck- 
ham, as master of ceremonies, made some appropriate remarks 
and introduced the speakers. The statue is of bronze and it is 
a good likeness of the dead statesman ; it was paid for by popu- 
lar subscription. 

On February the 21st, one of the city street cars collided 
with an interurban car. The wreck was caused by a dense 
fog; the result was that several people w^ere severely injured. 
The motorman, Owen Graves, was so severely injured that he 
died from the effects of the injuries. 

On March the 21st, Roger Warren, a negro convict in the 
Frankfort penitentiary, sent from Louisville for murder, cut 
the. throat of Melvin Ratcliff, another convict, and from the ef- 
fects of which Ratcliff died. Warren was tried in the Frank- 
lin Circuit Court and convicted of murder and the punishment 
fixed at death. The case was appealed and the highest court 
affirmed the decision. The Governor fixed the 25th of May, 
1911, as the day for execution. On that day the Sheriff, Lee 
Buckley, and his deputies promptly executed the judgment. 

Warren was the last man hung under the old law and 
Charles Howard, convicted in Franklin County for the murder 
of Ed Rice was the first man sent to the Eddyvillc penitentiary 
for electrocution, under the new law. 

Thursday, May 26, 1910, the restored Daniel Boone monu- 
ment was formally unveiled. The w'omen of the Rebecca 
Bryan Boone Chapter of the D. A. R. started a movement to 



THE HISTOKY OF FRANKLIN COUNTY. 241 

raise sufficient funds to restore the monument to its original 
beauty and after many years they raised seven hundred dollars, 
and the State Legislature appropriated two thousand dollars. 
A large crowd was present and participated in the ceremonies. 
The new panels were made by Leopold Fettroheirs, of Cincin- 
nati; the material used was Italian marble. The panels were 
an exact reproduction of the old panels. 

On June the 2nd the new State capitol was dedicated. A 
number of distinguished people were present. Gilbert White, 
the artist who painted the lunettes in the capitol, with his at- 
tractive young wife was there. United States Senator, W. O. 
Bradley, wa.s chief orator of the day. There was some political 
bickerings and much dissatisfaction. A change in the State 
administration had placed the Republicans in office. The gen- 
eral idea prevailed that the programme had been arranged and 
the ceremonies controlled by a few Frankfort sycophants and 
parasites who had nothing to do with the erection of the build- 
ing and who were not in sympathy with those who did. One 
enjoyable part of the day's proceedings was the reunion of the 
Kentucky Military Institute Cadets at the old K. M. I., six 
miles from Frankfort. Addresses were made by Dr. William 
Bailey, Judge W. G. Deering and Col. W. B. Haldeman of 
Louisville, and Col. C. W. Fowler from the new K. ^L I. Dr. 
U. V. Williams and other Franklin County citizens, who had 
been students there, responded to toasts on that occasion. 

The Governors of twenty-three states met in conference 
at the new State capitol on the 29th of November; most of them 
brought their wives with them. The names of the executives 
who were present are as follows: Gov.-elect Emmett O'Neal, of 
Alabama; Richard E. Sloan, of Arizona; John F. Shafroth, of 
Colorado; Frank R. Weeks, of Connecticut; Joseph ]\L Brown, 
of Georgia; Charles S. Dineen, of Illinois; Thomas R. Mar- 
shall, of Indiana, Augustus E. Willson, of Kentucky ; Fred- 
erick W. Plaisted, of Maine, Eben S. Draper, of Ma.ssachusett'^ ; 
Edmond F. Noel, of Mississippi; Herbert S. Hadley, of Mis- 
souri; Edwin L. Norris, of Montana; John Franklin Fort, of 
New Jersey ; Woodrow Wilson, Gov-elect of New Jersey ; W. W. 
Kitchin, of North Carolina; Judson Harmon, of Ohio; Lee 



242 THE HISTORY OF FRANKLIN COUNTY. 

Cruce, of Oklahoma; Abraham J. Prather, of Rhode Ishand; 
M. F. Ansel, of South Carolina; R. S. Veesey, of South Dakota; 
William Spry, of Utah; William Hodges Mann, of Virginia, 
and Francis E. McGovern, of Wisconsin. 

The meeting of the Governors was of great interest to the 
general public and many people from all sections of the State 
were in Frankfort to see them. 

The population of Franklin County in 1910 was less than 
it was twenty years prior to that time. The population in 1890 
was 21,267 ; in 1900 it was 20,852, and in 1910 was 21,135. 

The white population in 1900 was 16,501 ; colored was 4,- 
343. The white population in 1910 was 17,389; colored was 
3,746. The increase in white population in ten years was 888 
and the decrease in colored population same time was 597. 



THE HISTORY OF FRANKLIN COUNTY. 243 



CHAPTER XVI. 

Tlie Organization and Growth of the t'lturclica in Fran/din 

County. 

A few records of the early t'liurches in Franklin Connty 
have been preserved, and the records of the county court give 
additional information on the subject. 

There is a well founded tradition that the iirst sermon 
preached in Frankfort was by Rev, John Gano in 178G. It 
was during this year ihat General Wilkinson prevailed on him 
to locate in Frankfort. lie purchased a lot on the corner of 
Broadway and High Streets and erected a log house thereon, 
and lived there until his death, August 10, 1804. 

The Baptists have been the strongest denomination, in 
the county, during its whole history. In the very early history 
of the country, there were four Baptist preachers who were in- 
timately connected with the growth and development of the 
county and who have left the impress of their personality upon 
the succeeding generations. These four men were John Gano, 
John Taylor, William Hickman and Silas M. Noel. Since their 
day there have been but few, if any, who could equal them. 

Perhaps the greatest Baptist preacher who ever lived in 
Frankfort was the Rev. John Gano. He was educated at 
Princeton College and he was recognized as being the most 
learned and eloquent preacher in the western country. So 
great was his fame that people would travel for miles to hear 
him preach. He was the first chaplain of the Kentucky Legis- 
lature. There is a tradition of the Baptist Church that Gen- 
eral George Washington was immersed by him, but there is no 
documentary evidence to that effect. 

In the memoirs of Rev. John Gano, is given a very inter- 
esting account of the Revolutionary War. Of his first battle, 
the writer says: "We next fell back to White Plains where Gen. 
Washington had his main army; here a severe but indecisive 
battle was fought by about one- third of the armies on either 
side. Rev. Gano was found in the hottest of the fight, leading 



244 THE HISTORY OF FRANKLIN COUNTY. 

and rallying the men like an officer. When it was suggested 
that the place for the chaplain was in the rear with the sur- 
geon's staff he said 'I durst not quit my place for fear of damp- 
ing the spirit of the soldiers by setting a bad example.' So 
frequently was he found in the van, in time of danger and so 
seldom in the rear that he was known as 'the fighting chap- 
lain of the army.' " 

In reference to his preaching in Frankfort, he said, 
'^Church meetings were frequently held at Frankfort, though 
there was no settled church there of any denomination. Mr. 
Hickman had at times held services in the assembly room at 
the State House and Mr. Shannon of the Presbyterian church 
had consented to preach there part of his time. I agreed to 
supply them every first and third Sabbath in the month, and 
did so." 

In Smith's History of Kentucky is the following: "John 
Gano was a great man — great as a busy toiler in the Iniilding of 
our nation, in the building of our Commonwealth, in the build- 
ing of our civilization, in th& building of religion the better life 
of it all." 

There is some question as to where this Christian patriot 
was buried, but his remains should rest with his compatriots in- 
the State cemetery, with a monument suitably inscribed, 
erected to his memory. 

Rev. John Taylor, who did the first preaching foi' the 
Frankfort Church, as its regular pastor, was a man of limited 
education, but was of a remarkably strong, clear intellect and 
of a calm, sound judgment. He was a plain, practical and 
very successful man. He wrote a history of "The Ten 
Churches," which includes the Frankfort and Buck Run 
churches. 

William Hickman w^as fifty-one years old when he first 
came to Kentucky. He was tall and gaunt; his dei)ortment 
solemn and grave. "He was justly recognized as the first Bap- 
tist preacher of Kentucky. He preached at Harrodslnu'g in 
1776 and returning later to give forty years in this State, and 
in this church to the service of his Master." 

William Hickman preached throughout Kentucky. In 



THE HISTORY OF FRANKLIN COUNTY. 245 

activity, courage and usefulness he was the peer of any man 
of his day. He baptized more than one thousand converts, 
five hundred of whom became members of his church. He 
said of the Fork's of Elkhorn Church, "This church I liope to 
serve until I am laid in the grave, for they have ever mani- 
fested their love and esteem to me." 

Dr. Silas M..Noel was the son of Thcoderick Noel, a Bap- 
tist preacher, who lived and died in Virginia. Dr. Noel was 
educated for the law and he practiced his profession for some 
time, but feeling that he was called to the ministry he came to 
Kentucky and was ordained as a preacher. His first charge 
was the church at Big Spring, in Woodford County. At that 
time he was a young man. Some time after that he resigned 
the pa.'^torate to accept the position of Associate Circuit Judge 
with Judge Henry Davridge and Nathaniel Richardson. He 
afterwards became a meml)cr of the Frankfort bar and prac- 
ticed law for some time with success. After two or three years 
he returned to the ministry, where he became one of the 
strongest and most successful preachers the Baptists ever had 
in the State. 

In Taylor's History of The Ten Churches, he said, ''Mr. 
Noel's literar}^ accomplishments, together with his zeal in the 
gospel with his great success therein, has procured him the high 
appellation of double D. D." 

Dr. Silas M. Noel and his descendants have been promi- 
nent people in the county for more than a century. He was 
the third pastor of the Frankfort church. During the 
troublous times of 1824-1825 politics l^ecame rampant in the 
Frankfort congregation and for a while it seemed as though 
the church would be torn asunder, and a few years later when 
Alexander Campbell, with his new doctrine, divided almost 
every Baptist congregation in the western country, Dr. Noel 
was thought to be the only man who could hold the Frankfort 
congregation together and refute the arguments of Mr. Camp- 
bell. 

The church government of the Baptist Church is the 
nearest approach to a pure democracy that has been known in 
the history of any organization. This Democratic idea, in- 



246 



THE HISTORY OF FRANKLIN COUNTY. 



tensified to the last degree is an element of weakness to the 
separate churches, but it is an element of strength to the de- 
nomination as a Avholc. Whenever there has been a faction or 
division in a church the seceding element has withdrawn from 
the mother church and formed a new organization and built 
another meeting house. There has never been a time in the 
history of the county when the numjjer of Baptists, outside of 
the city, did not exceed the number of members in all the other 
churches combined. 

The churches which composed the Franklin Association 
in 1911-12, with date of organization, number of members and 
name of pastor were as follows : 



Name. 



Date of 
Organization 



Bethel 1802 . . 

Buck Run 1818 . . 

Cedar Grove 1882 . . . 

Evergreen 1883 . . 

Forks of Elkhorn 1777 . . 

Frankfort 1816 . . 

Lebanon 1825 . . 

Mt. Carmel 1824 . . 

Mt. Pleasant 1790 . . 

Mt. Vernon 1872 150 



Member 

ship 
. 293 
77 
170 
. 100 
. 131 
, 103D 
, 262 
. 240 
. Ill 



North Benson 1825 

North Fork 1801 

Pleasant Ridge 1856 

Swallowfield 1891 

Union 1810 



185 
252 
250 
72 
163 



Pastor 

L. D. Stucker 
Rev. Mr. Hill 

F. F. Brown 
J. R. Sampey 
F. W. Eberhardt 
J. A. Davis 
J. A. Davis 
T. J. Singleton 
E. R. Sams 
W. D. Oglctree 
W. D. Ogletree 

J. A. Davis 



The Mt. Pleasant church was first known as Mt. Gomer. 
The first church meeting was held in the house of Bledsoe 
Hayden, on September 25, 1790. Tliis private residence con- 
tinued to be the place of worship until the church was built in 
1791. In 1801 the name was changed to Mt. Pleasant. 
Frank H. Hodges was pastor of this church for about thirty 
years. 



THE HISTORY OF FRANKLIN COUNTY. 247 

The North Fork church, located at Switzer, has been re- 
markably free from divisions and dissensions; the only one of 
any note was about 1880 when the Alexander Campbell reform 
movement led ofl' a large numl)er of its members. 

The South Benson church had a lono; and useful life. It 
wa.s organized in 1801, and it continued to pros])er until the 
Alexander Campbell agitation in 1824-1825 when its mcml)cr- 
ship was divided. A number of them went to Bridgeport and 
organized the Christian Church at that place and some went to 
the Buck Lick church in Anderson County; Init in a few years 
it recovered from this division and it continued in a prosperous 
condition for more than half a century. Another discussion 
arose in 1883 and the split which followed caused the erection 
of the Evergreen Baptist Church which was organized by the 
dissenting members. The old South Benson church was sold 
in 1911 and converted into a tobacco barn. 

Bethel Church is the largest Christian organization in the 
county out5;ide of Frankfort. It has never had any dissension 
of an}^ note. The Rev. Frank H. Hodges, who was one of the 
strongest preachers ever located in the county, was pastor of 
this church for more than fifty years. 

The Buck Run church was organized on January 31, 
1818. The meeting was held at "Bro. Wilson's." William 
Hickman was moderator; Silas M. Noel was clerk; John Tay- 
lor, James Suggett, John H. Ficklin, ]\Iordica Boulware and 
Theodorick Boulware were the other ministers who were pres- 
ent. There were twenty-one present who agreed to l)ecomc 
members of the new organization. Rev. Jehn Taylor was 
called for their first pastor. He continued to preach there once 
a month for about five years and during that time, "a snug 
little brick meeting house, forty feet long by thirty wide" was 
built. In a short time after that Rev. William Hickman was 
called to preach once a month. In 1888 the church building 
was removed to Woodlake, and lat<?r it was removed to the 
Forks of Elkhorn. 

The North Benson church was organized in 1825 and the 
meeting house erected in a short time thereafter. Several 
years afterwards this house was razed and another built ; which 



248 THE HISTORY OF FRANKLIN COUNTY. 

lia« also been torn down, and during the present decade an up- 
to-date church has been built on the old site. A number of 
noted preachers have been called to that station, among them 
were William Hickman, Jr., W. C. Blanton, Frank H. Hodges 
and others. 

The first pastor called to the Evergreen Baptist Church 
after its organization in 1883 was Rev. Frank Hungerford, 
who has been and is an exceptionally strong preacher. It is 
worthy of note that four of the strongest Baptist preachers 
who ever had charge of churches in Franklin County were edu- 
cated for the law, towit: Silas M. Noel, F. H. Hodges, Green 
Clay Smith and B. F. Hungerford. 

The Frankfort church Avas organized in 1816 with thir- 
teen charter members. The first meetings were held in the 
church building, which was erected in 1812, on the southwest 
corner of the old capitol square. This building was erected by 
act of the Kentucky Legislature. The money with which it 
was built was the proceeds of a lottery. The trustees of the 
building were appointed by the Governor. It was intended to 
be non-sectarian. There was considerable controversy and con- 
tention among the Presbyterians, Baptists and Methodists over 
the use of this building which continued from about 1817 to 
December 1825 when the house burned. 

The first Baptist Church was built about 1827 or 1828. 
This house was burned about 1867. 

In 1868 a new building w^as erected on St. Clair street, 
which has since l)een remodeled several times. 

The most noted Baptist preachers in Kentucky have been 
in charge of the Frankfort church, among them are named 
John Taylor, Silas M. Noel, Porter Clay, the Ijrothcr of Henry 
Clay. The controversy between Porter Clay and Peter Dudley 
shook the church to its foundation. The pastor preferred 
three charges against Col. Dudley, and he in turn made thirty- 
one charges against the preacher and later added one other, 
that of insanity. The trials of these charges took up several 
weeks and they resulted in no good to the churcli. 

The Rev. A. Goodell was a talented man, finely educated 
and a pleasant speaker, but his usefulness as a christian min- 



THE HISTORY OF FRANKLIN COUNTY. 249 

isicr became very much impaired on account of some idle talk 
which connected his name with that of a young married wo- 
man, a member of his congregation and with whom gossip said 
lie Ava.s very much in love. After some time this lady with- 
drew from his church and became a regular attendant and an 
earnest worker in the Methodist Church where she continued 
the rest of a long and useful life. She was known as an earnest, 
faithful worker in the Methodist Church, and at the time of 
her death only a few of her intimate friends knew that she 
was not a member of that church. 

General Green Clay Smith was the pastor in charge of the 
Frankfort church for several years prior to 1878. He grad- 
uated at Transylvania University in 1850. He represented his 
county in the Kentucky Legislature and his district for two 
terms in Congress. He volunteered as a private in the 4th 
Kentucky Federal Cavalry; was promoted to Major General 
for meritorious conduct in the engagement with Gen. Morgan 
at Lebanon, Tenn., May 5, 1862. 

He was Governor of Montana, and nominee for President 
of the United States on the prohibition ticket. He practiced 
law for several years before he entered the ministry. 

Dr. J. M. Lewis was a man of recognized ability and a 
most eloquent speaker. 

Rev. W. C. Taylor was a strong, eloquent preacher who was 
greatly loved by all the people of Frankfort, irrespective of re- 
ligious tenets. 

F. W. Eberhnrdt, the pastor in charge (1912), is regarded 
as one of the strongest preachers of that denomination in the 
State. The Frankfort church is in a flourishing condition. 
Its membership is larger than ever before. The meeting 
house is crowded at every service. 

The first Presbyterian Church organized in the county 
was in 1705. Tt Avas located near what is now the Anderson 
County line. It was known as the Upper Benson or Little Ben- 
son Church. Rev. Samuel Shannon was the first preacher in 
charge. The church building, erected about 1796, was 28x40 
feet. It was built of hewed logs and chinked with an excellent 
quality of mortar. The work was done by the friends of the 



250 THE HISTORY OF FRANKLIN COUNTY. 

organization, and the material used was taken from the adjoin- 
ing woods. The roof was made of clabboards and fastened on 
with hand-made wooden pegs. The building has stood for 
more than a century. It has outlived the church organization. 
Many noted pioneer preachers visited it, and regular preachers 
Avere in charge of it for more than half a century. 

The next church of this denomination was organized near 
Bridgeport in 1805 and was known as the Lower Benson or 
Franklin Church. The Rev. Samuel Shannon was one of the 
chief organizers, and in a short time after the house was built 
he moved into the neighborhood and divided his time between 
the two churches. This church came under the supervision 
of the Frankfort church in 1834. The preacher in_ charge at 
Frankfort preached there in the afternoon of each Sunday. 
This arrangement continued until the close of Rev. John R. 
Hendricks' ministry, since which time the church has accom- 
plished but little. 

The people in Frankfort were slow about organizing 
churches and erecting church buildings. 

In 1808 there was an act passed by the Kentucky Legisla- 
ture granting a lottery franchise, with the object of raising 
$4,000 for the purpose of building a church ; which was built 
in 1812. The building w^as used harmoniously for a few 
years and no efforts w^ere made to organize a church, but as 
soon as the Baptists, Presbyterians and ISIethodists commenced 
quarreling about who should have the right to use the l^uild- 
ing each of them commenced a church organization. As the 
outcome of this religious controversy the Presbyterians were the 
first to withdraw from the contest and they commenced hold- 
ing their church meetings at the Love House, at that time the 
chief hotel in Frankfort. And in a short time (1815) the 
first church organization was effected, but there was no regular 
pastor called until 1817, when Rev. Eli Smith began a service 
which continued for about ten years. After he resigned the 
church was without a pastor for some time; the Ruling Elder 
also resigned and the church organization came very near be- 
ing destroyed. John J. Crittenden. John IT. TIanna. Mason 
Brown and other public spirited men, who were not members 



THE HISTORY OF FRANKLIN COUNTY. 251 

of that denomination took the matter in hand and prevented 
the dis.sohition. 

Some time after that Rev. John T. Edgar was prevailed 
on to accept the charge and in a short time thereafter there 
were sixty portions added to the church mem])ership. His 
pastorate ceased in 1833 and in 1834 Rev. Daniel Baker was 
in charge for two years and tlic church continued to prosper 
under his ministry. 

In 1837 Rev, Joseph J. Bullock became the pastor and he 
remained until 1846. 

In 1847 Rev. Stewart Robinson commenced service and he 
resigned in 1853. From that time until 1854 the pulpit was 
supplied by Rev. John R. Hendrick. In 1855 Rev. J. P. Saf- 
ford accepted the charge for two years. He was succeeded in 
1858 by Rev. B. F. Lacy, who continued in charge until 1861, 
when he accepted the position of chaplain in the Confederate 
Army, and the church thereupon dissolved the relationship 
existing between him and the church. In 1862 Rev. John S. 
Hays accepted the position which he held until 1867. 

In 1867 Dr. J. McClusky Blayney commenced a service 
which lasted two years and Rev. J. H. Nesbitt succeeded him in 
1870 and remained for six years. 

In 1877 Rev. J. W. Pugh accepted the call and remained 
until 1882. After he resigned the church was without a pastor 
for two years. Dr. Blayney returned in 1884; his pastorate was 
a long and useful one. He was broad minded and liberal in 
his views and he did a great deal for the betterment of the city 
and citizens of Frankfort. He was one of the leaders in secur- 
ing the capital appropriation of a million dollars in 1904. Dr. 
Blayney resigned in 1906 and Dr. Jesse R. Zcigler accepted the 
charge in 1907. He, too, is a l)road minded and philanthropic 
christian gentleman who is calculated to do much good in the 
work which he has undertaken. 

In 1823 a lot was purcha.«ed on Wapping street, fronting 
100 feet and extending back 200 feet. On this lot the first 
church was built in 1829. In 1849 this property was sold to 
the Catholic Church and other property bought, located on 



252 THE HISTORY OP FRANKLIN COUNTY. 

Main street. A handsome building was erected. It is one of 
the largest auditoriums in the city. 

The earliest Catholic Church station in Frankfort was the 
house of Mrs. Ellen Barstow. This building stood opposite 
the Capitol. It is not known who said the first mass, but it is 
supposed, however, that it was Father Badin. 

In 1826 Rev. Francis P. Kenrick preached occasionally in 
Frankfort. Rev. George A. M. Elder, who was located in Scott 
County, also preached occasionally. A dwelling house near 
the entrance of the tunnel was the first property purchased by 
the Catholics. This dwelling house, known as "the tunnel 
house" was fitted up for a church. This was afterwards sold 
for two thousand dollars and the sum expended in the pur- 
chase of a church building, which \Vas erected some years be- 
fore by the Presbyterians and used by them for their Sun- 
day service. This property is located on Wapping street, near 
the Custom House and is still in use by the Catholics. The 
purchase was made by Rev. James Madison Lancaster, 
who was the first resident pastor of the church. Prior 
to this time the Catholics at Frankfort had been served by the 
pastors stationed at the church, St. Pius, in Scott County. 
This property Avas purchased in 1849 and in 1850 Father Lan- 
caster commenced the erection of the new church. The old 
church was very much smaller than the new, and it was left 
standing, and was used by the congregation while the new one 
Avas being built. The new one was built around and over the 
old one. When the new church was nearly completed the old 
one was razed. This church is still standing and it is knoAvn 
as the "Church of the Good Shepherd." Since it Avas first 
built it ha.s been enlarged and improved and it is noAV consid- 
ered the handsomest church edifice in the diocese. 

Rev. James M. Lancaster was born in Kentucky in 1810. 
He Avas also educated in Kentucky, but he Avas ordained to the 
priesthood in Rome in 1836. In 1848 he Avas appointed by 
Bishop Spalding, pastor at Frankfort. He Avas an earnest, 
honest AA^orker at the Frankfort station. For seventeen years 
he did much good and many Avere added to the church during 
his ministry. In 1867 he was called to Covington and in 1868 



THE HISTORY OF FRANKLIN COUNTY. 253 

he was transferred to that point. Father Lancaster was a man 
of more than ordinary talents, lie had excellent conversa- 
tional powers and was greatly loved hy his people. He was 
succeeded by Kcv. Lambert Young who remained at the Frank- 
fort station until 181)7, when he resigned and returned to his 
home in Ireland. A'^ery few pastors of any church were ever 
regarded so highly by all the people of Frankfort as was 
Father Lambert Young. His refusal to testify in the United 
States District Court at Louisville, concerning information 
which he had obtained by reason of the fact that he was a 
christian minister, and on account of which he was sent to jail 
for several months for contempt of .court, only increased the 
love and admiration of his j)eoplc for him. The card which 
he issued at the time of his release from jail explaining why 
he had taken the course he did was almost universally com- 
mended, not only by the mcmlicrs of the Catholic Church Init 
also by all other well informed peo])le throughout the country. 
The i)ext minister in charge of the Frankfort station was 
Rev. James L. Gorey, who died in a short time, and was suc- 
ceeded by his brother, Rev. William E. Gore}^, and in a few 
months he was succeeded by Rev. Edward Donley, who only 
served the Frankfort station a short time when he was suc- 
ceeded by Rev. William Cassander, who did not like Frank- 
fort, and in a few months he a})andoned the position without 
leave of the Bishop. He was willing to accept such punish- 
ment as might be inflicted on him rather than to return to a 
position he did not like. In 1902 Rev. Thomas Major was 
sent to the Frankfort station where he remained until his 
death in 1911. Father Major was converted to the Catholic 
faith during the Civil W^ar. He was a Confederate soldier. 
He was captured and sent to a jail in Chicago where he fell 
sick and was ministered to by some nuns. These sisters of 
charity converted him to their religion. He was not as well 
educated as the priests in the Catholic church ordinarily are 
but he was well thought of by both Catholics and protestanis. 
Some of his warmest friends in Prankfort were not meml)ers 
of his church. The Rev. J. A. Flynn succeeded to the Frank- 
fort station in 1911. He seems to be well equipped for the 



254 THE HISTORY OF FRANKLIN COUNTY. 

position. He is regarded as an intelligent, well educated 
christian gentleman, less friendly, perhaps, than his predeces- 
sors, but fully awake to the needs of the church. There are 
about two hundred families, which average about four mem- 
bers to the family, under the watch-care of the Frankfort pas- 
tor. 

The Episcopal Church in Frankfort was organized about 
1835. Bishop B. B. Smith, then Bishop of the Diocese of 
Kentucky, commenced work creating interest in a church 
building at Frankfort. Some one in New York sent him a 
thousand dollars to be used for that purpose. In the follow- 
ing year a lot on Washington street was purchased for $200 ; 
at that time it was a crab orchard with a lawyer's office near the 
center of the lot. B. B. Sayre had formerly taught school in 
the building and it was used for a church building for some 
time after Bishop Smith purchased it. The parish was or- 
ganized with eight communicants. The Rev. Mr. Purviance 
was in charge until 1841, when he was succeeded by Rev. A. F. 
Dobbs. In 1842 the corner stone of the church was laid. The 
building was thirty by sixty feet and it was patterned after the 
"Grecian Church of the Ascension," in Canal street, New 
York City. In the fall of 1842 the church was consecrated 
and the Rev. Mr. Presby was installed as rector. He was suc- 
ceeded by Rev. Moses H. Hunter, and in 1846 the Rev. John 
N. Norton became rector. During the 23 years of his rector- 
ate the parish enjoyed the most prosperous years of its exist- 
ance. In 1850 the church was enlarged. On the 8th day of 
August the corner stone of the present building was laid. On 
the 12th day of August, 1852, the new church was consecrated 
by the Bishop, who was assisted by Rev. James Craik, of Louis- 
ville; Rev. Dr. Claxton, of Madison, Indiana; Rev. Thos. I. 
Trader, of Danville; Dr. Norton and Rev. Mr. Venable, of 
Fr^inkfort, in the presence of a large congregation. The 
church and furnishings cost twenty thousand dollars, all of 
which was presented by Mr. John H. Hanna, a lawyer who was 
located at Frankfort. Mr. Hanna and his wife also endowed 
the parish school. 

In 1864 the Ladies' Guild of i\scension Church was or- 



THE HISTORY OF FRANKLIN COUNTY. 255 

ganizcd for the purpose of building a rectory. They pur- 
c'lia-sed a lot for a thousand dollars and built the rectory and 
furnished it. In 18G7 the church was enlarged by building a 
transept and a new chancel, and the Diocese purchased a house 
and lot adjoining the church, on the opposite side from the 
rectory, as a home for the Bishop. In 1870 Dr. Norton re- 
signed. He was a thoroughly educated man who did a great 
deal of good while in Frankfort. He not only looked after 
his church work but he also wrote several books and almost 
an endless amount of tracts which he distributed throughout 
the county. Kev. lAicicn Lance was the succeeding rector. 
He remained two years and was succeeded by Rev. Henry T. 
Sharp. He remained six years, when he resigned, and for 
ten months there was no rector but services were held l)y AVm. 
H. Hampton, who was afterwards ordained. 

In April, 1880, Rev. E. A. Penick was installed and he re- 
mained for thirteen years. The Rev. R. L. McCready suc- 
ceeded him. Rev. A. B. Cliinn succeeded Rev. McCready in 
1904, and Bishop C. C. Penick l)ecame rector November 9, 
1908, and resigned November 9, 1912. 

Under the administration of Rev. R. L. McCready the old 
mission of "St. John's in the Wilderness" was revived and the 
Bishop's residence purchased from the diocese and converted 
into a parish house, which was made a home for the parish 
school and orphanage. On Nov. 1st, 1906, the church was 
badly damaged by fire, but it has since been refitted, and as 
a memorial there were erected a handsome pulpit and altar, 
with its furnishings. A legacy of $5,000 was left to the church 
by John and Lewis Ilarvie. Miss Fannie Williams also left 
some money with which to build an orphanage. There are at 
present (December, 1912) about three hundred members of 
the church in good standing. 

The Disciples' or Christian Church of Frankfort was or- 
ganized December 2, 1832, by Elder P. S. Fall, assisted by 
Elder John T. Johnson. The charter members were P. S. 
Fall, Nancy Fall, Ambrose W. Dudley, Eliza G. Dudley, Eliza- 
beth Bacon, Elias B. Myers and O. L. Leonard. 

Rev. Mr. Fall came to Frankfort from Nashville, Tenn., 



256 THE HISTORY OP FRANKLIN COUNTY, 

where he had been preaching for five years, and established 
a young ladies' seminarj'^ at Poplar Hill, three miles northeast 
of Frankfort. Prior to that time only a few preachers of that 
denomination had preached in Frankfort. John Smith, who 
was known in that day as "Raccoon John Smith," had preached 
at Frankfort some years before that. He was a very rough 
and uneducated man but he had a great deal of natural ability 
and shrewdness, and he was a good debater. His reputation 
had preceded him and all the churches were closed against 
him, but he secured the court house, w^hich was packed with 
legislators, lawyers and other professional and business men. 
His text was, "And when .John came to Frankfort his spirit 
was stirred within him when he saw the city wholly given up 
to sectarianism." The church was organized in the court 
house and for some time their meetings were held there ; after- 
wards John L. Moore's residence was used as a meeting place. 
Their first church was built in 1842 on the present site at a 
cost of $4,531.31. It was burned November 2, 1870, after 
which there was no preacher or church building for two years. 

In 1872 the church was re-built at a cost of $26,000. 
Mrs. Emily Tubman, who had been raised in Frankfort, fur- 
nished the necessary means with which to build and furnish 
it. It was dedicated August 11, the Rev. Isaac Everett 
preached the dedicatory sermon. From the organization of 
the church to 1857, a period of twenty-five years, Mr. P. S. 
Fall was the only regular preacher. Several other preachers 
occupied the pulpit for one or two Sundays in the month dur- 
ing a part of this time. Among these were Enos Campbell in 
1845, L. L. Pinkerton in 1846, Samuel Pinkerton, 1848, Car- 
roll Kendrick, 1850, and John G. Thompkins in 1851, but Mr. 
Fall did most of the preaching and he did it without any com- 
pensation. He returned to Nashville in 1857. At that time 
the membership of the church immbered 221, of this number 
83 of them were received by baptism. 

Rev. W. T. Moore succeeded Mr. Fall as pastor. He 
commenced his service on October 1, 1858, and continued for 
about five years. During his ministry ninety-six members 



THE HISTORY OF FRANKLIN COUNTY. 257 

were received into llie cliurcli, forty-four of whom were l)y 
baptism. 

I\cv. W. S. Crutfhcr became pastor in 1805 and remained 
for only one year, but during the year tliere were twenty-five 
additions to the church membersliip. 

Rev. T, N. Arnold wa.s the pa.slor in charge for about 
eighteen months, when he was succeeded by Rev. Aylett Rains 
for a period of one year. During his service there were thirty 
additions to the church. 

Rev. J. L. T. Holland then preached for about seven 
months; his service ended June 30, 1869. 

Rev. T. N. Arnold returned in 1870, and he was in charge 
when the church Avas burned. Perhaps the stormiest period 
of the church was during the ministration of Mr. Arnold. 
The question of whether or not the organ or other musical in- 
strument should be used in the church was the one on which 
the congregation divided. Mr. Arnold took the position that 
no music, except that of the human voice, should be used in 
the worship of God. Many of his congregation differed with 
him and for some time a split ih the church seemed impend- 
ing. On January 5, 1873, Rev. B. B. Tyler became the pastor 
and remained for three years. During his time, there were one 
hundred and one additions. Rev. L. N. Early succeeded him, 
but he remained for only a few months. 

Rev. George Darsie was called to this station in 1870 nnd 
remained until his death, June 4, 1004. He went to Boston dur- 
ing this time but he was not satisfied there and he came l)ack 
as soon as he could make his arrangements to do so. 

Rev. C. R. Hudson became the pastor in 1005 and resigned 
in 1911, when he was succeeded by the Rev. Roger T. Nooe, the 
present pastor. 

From the organization of the church to 1882 there were 
received into the church 040, .and there was lost by death, re- 
moval, etc., 390. At the present time (1912) there are about 
nine hundred members. 

Rev. George Dar.sie was greatly loved, not only by the 
members of his own church, but also by the people of Frank- 
fort generally. At the time of his death it was thought that 



258 THE HISTORY OF FRANKLIN COUNTY. 

no one could acceptably supply the vacancy, Init the ability and 
christian spirit of his successor endeared him to his people lo 
such an extent that they felt they had sustained an irreparal)le 
loss when he resigned. The present incumbent seems en- 
dowed with the same christian graces of his predecessors and 
in a short time will doul)tless be regarded as highly as were 
those who preceded him. 

Protracted meetings haA'e l)een held in this church b}^ 
several noted preachers, among whom can be named, John 
Smith, Curtis J. Smith, Barton W. Stone, John T. Johnson, 
John Rogers, D. S. Barnett, Jacol) Creath, Sr., William Mor- 
ton and Alexander Campljcll. The Rev. Alexander Camp- 
bell was at Frankfort on three different occasions, to-wit: 
1S35, 1836 and 1842. When he first came to Frankfort 
all of the churches were closed against him except the 
Methodist, who offered him the use of the church build- 
ing, which he accepted. The doctrines preached by him 
were bitterly opposed by the other denominations and his fol- 
lowers were called in derision. Reformers or Campbellites. 
The Baptists were especially bitter against him, as well they 
might be, for he split nearly every Baptist Church in the 
county. The prejudice engendered against him did him a great 
injustice. His book, titled "Alexander Campbell's Christian 
Preacher's Companion," or "The Gospel Facts Sustained," 
stamps him a great man. Succeeding generations will and 
should rank him with Martin Luther, John Wesley and other 
great reformers. He was Irish by birth and was educated for 
the Presbyterian ministry. He withdrew from the Presby- 
terian Church and joined the Baptist. In 1823, during a de- 
bate in Mason County, Kentucky, he avowed the doctrine of 
"Baptism for the remission of sins." This doctrine separated 
him from the Baptist Church. The Baptist Churches in every 
section of the State became disrupted, in some instances whole 
congregations followed him and for a while the very existence 
of the Baptist Churches in the State seemed imperiled, and the 
other churches throughout Kentucky were, more or less, affected 
by the spirit of "heresy" so termed by the other denomina- 
tions. 



THE HISTORY OF FRANKLIN COUNTY. 259 

When the Methodist Episcopal Cliurch, in America, was 
organized in 1784, the Episcopal Chnrch had been in exist- 
ence, in this country, one hundred and seventy-seven years. 
The Baptist Church for one hundred and forty-five years and 
the Presbyterian Church seventy-nine years. 

At a conference held in the city of Baltimore in 1786, Bishop 
Asbury sent James Haw and Benjamin Ogden to the Ken- 
tucky Circuit; they reached the territory of Kentucky in tlie 
latter part of the sunnncr of 1786. In 1787 the work in the 
west was divided into two circuits, one of which was known 
as Kentucky apd the other was called the Cumberland. In 
that year James Haw was returned to the Kentucky Circuit, 
and Thomas AVilliams and Wilson Lee w^ere appointed his' col- 
leagues. A report of the conference of 1787 showed a mem- 
bership of ninety in Kentucky. In 1788 the conference was 
again held at Baltimore. Thomas "Williamson, Peter INIa.ssie 
and Benjamin Snelling were sent to the Lexington Circuit, 
with Francis Poythress as the Presiding Elder. At that time 
there were no stationed Methodist preachers in the western 
country. The Lexington Circuit embraced the section of the 
country afterwards known as the counties of Fayette, Jessa- 
mine, Woodford, Franklin, Scott and Harrison. The first 
conference held in Kentucky was at Masterson's Station, five 
miles from Lexington, in the year 1790. There were only six 
members of the conference present. Henry Burchett was sent 
to the Lexington Circuit, where he remained until 1793, 
when John Ball and Gabriel Woodside were sent for two years. 
In 1706 Aquilla Sugg was in charge, but in the latter part of 
that year his health failed so that Thomas Scott was sent to 
take his place. The circuit at that time included Lexington, 
Versailles, Frankfort and sixteen other stations. Organizations 
or societies had been previou.sly formed at each of these points 
and the Rev. ]Mr. Scott reported that most of them were in a 
healthy condition. Thomas Scott afterwards left the min- 
istry and practiced law and held political positions for the re- 
mainder of his life. 

John Buxton was sent to the Lexington Circuit in 1708. 
In 1800 James Haw, one of the first Methodist preachers in the 



260 THE HISTORY OF FRANKLIN COUNTY. 

western country, had some trouble with Bishop Asbury and on 
that account withdrew from the Methodist Church and became 
a preacher in the Presbyterian Church. 

The preachers who were sent to the Lexington Circuit 
while Frankfort was in the circuit from 1800 to 1820, were as 
follows: Thomas Wilkinson, 1800; Lewis Hunt, 1801-2; 
Miles Harper, 1803 ; John Sale, 1804-5-6 ; Joseph Hays, 1807 ; 
Caleb W. Cloud, 180S-9-10; Nathan Stamper, 1811; Thomas D. 
Torter, 1812; William Patterson, 1813-14; Thomaa D. Porter, 
1815-16-17; William Adams, 1818; Josiah Whittiker, 1819. 
David Gray became the last circuit rider in 1820. The first 
pastor stationed at Frankfort was Nathaniel Harris, 1821. Wil- 
liam Holman, 1822-3-4-5; B. T. Crouch, 1826-7; George C. 
Light, 1828-9; B. T. Crouch, 1830; Henry S. Duke, 1831; H. 
H. Kavanaugh, 1832; Thomas W. Chandler, 1833; Thomas 
C. Cropper, 1834; George W. Kelso, 1835-6; Henry N. Van- 
dike, 1837; A. D. Fox, 1838, died while at Frankfort that year; 
Peter Taylor, 1839-40 ; W. Atherton, 1841 ; James D. Holding, 
1842 ; C.^ P. Parsons, 1843 ; W. H. Anderson, 1844 ; Drum- 
mond' Wclburn, 1845; Joseph A. Waterman, 1846-7; George 
W. Brush, 1848-9; George W. Smiley, 1850-1; George W. 
Brush, 1852; John H. Linn, 1853-4; John M. Bonnell, 1855; 
John C. Harrison, 1856-7-8; Joseph Rand, 1859; AViUiam 
McD. Al)bett, 1860-61; Daniel E. Stevenson, 1862; S. R. 
Robertson, 1863-4-5-6; LI. A. M. Henderson, 1867-8-9; T. J. 
Dodd, 1870-1-2; D. A. Beardsley, 1873; Rol)ert Ilincr, 1874-5; 
J. W. Mitchell, 1876; C. W. Miller, 1877-8-9-80; E. L. South- 
gate, 1881; Morris Evans, 1882-3; Gilby C. Kelly, 1884-5-6- 
7; H. C. Morrison, 1888-9; H. G. Llenderson, 1890-1-2-3; S. 
F. Pollett, 1894-5; George H. Means, 1896-7; T. F. Taliaferro, 
1898-9; J. R. Savage, 1900-1; J. O. A. Vaught, 1902-3-4; C. 
J. Nugent, 1905-6; J. S. Sim^, 1907-8-9-10; H. G. Turner, 
1911-12. 

Thomas Wilkinson was one of tlie greatest preachers of 
that day. Ho dressed in plain homespun clollics, and could 
not be induced to wear black. He would often liave his whole 
audience in tears. 



THE HISTORY OF FRANKLIN COUNTY. 261 

Caleb W. Cloud left the ministry and practiced medicine 
in Lexington, Kentucky, for many years. 

William liolman found no church building in Frankfort 
when he came in 1822. In the following year, April 15, 
1823, Ijenjamin Hickman transferred to the trustees of the 
Methodist Church a lot fronting 50 feet on Ann street and ex- 
tending back the same width one hundred feet. On this lot 
was built a small frame church which remained there until 
1849, when it was torn down and a brick church wa.s built. 
In the year 1854 this structure wa.s destroyed by fire. In that 
year the lot on Washington street was purchased and the pres- 
ent church was built. During the pastorate of Gilby C. Kelley 
in 1886, this building was improved by the erection of the 
stone front and other improvements. The evangelist Sam 
Jones preached the sermon re-dedicating the church. An im- 
mense crowd was present. 

The greatest preacher who was ever stationed at Frankfort 
was H. H. Kavanaugh (1832). He was afterwards a bishop 
of the Methodist Episcopal Church. 

William McD. Abbott was a strong union sympathizer. 
While stationed at Frankfort in 1801, took occasion one Sun- 
day morning to pray very earnestly for the success of the 
Union Army. To his great surprise more than half of his con- 
gregation arose from their knees and left the church. 

There have Ijeen several able preachers located at the 
Frankfort station during the past quarter of a century, but for 
some reason the church has not flourished to any great extent. 
In 1912 there are only about three hundred members, the most 
of wdiom are poor. The minister in charge is an able, earnest 
man who is calculated to do much good, but the church or- 
ganization does not have that aggressiveness which brings suc- 
cess. 

On May 27, 1884, the South Frankfort Presbyterian 
Church, South, was organized by a conmiission from West 
Lexington Presbytery. There were thirty-one members en- 
rolled, all of whom had signed the petition for the organization 
of the church. Joseph Rol)inson, Thomas G. Poore and Peter 
Jett were installed as the first elders. The church building 



262 THE HISTORY OF FRANKLIN COUNTY. 

had been erected on the same lot where the present building is 
located. It was a frame structure and fronted on Third street. 
On June 1, 1884, the church was dedicated, Rev. E. O. Guer- 
rant i3reached the dedicating sermon. In a short time after the 
church was organized it was transferred from West Lexington 
to Louisville Presbytery. On September 8, 1886, union was 
effected with the old Franklin Church near Bridgeport. Dr. 
E. O. Guerrant and others preached during the summer of 
1884. On October 31, 1884, Rev. Robert E. Caldwell was 
called and he became the first regular pastor. 

During the twenty-eight years since its organization, nine 
ministers have served either as stated, supply or pastor, towit: 
Robert E. Caldwell, 1884 to 1886; Dr. J. T. Hendricks (sup- 
ply) 1886 to 1887; B. M. Farris, 1887 to 1888; C. R. Jones, 
1888 to 1890, died in office; W. G. Neville, 1890 to 1893. D. 
Clay Lilly, 1893 to 1895 ; William Crowe, 1896 to 1908 ; W. 
Monroe Clark, 1908 to 1909; Robert L. Cowan, 1909 to 1912. 

Mr. Cowan has lately resigned his charge to become secre- 
tary of the local Young Men's Christian Association. 

On November 6, 1904, the present church building was 
dedicated. It was completed at a cost of twelve thousand dol- 
lars. The old building was given to the Salvation Army, 
whose officers removed it to the army headquarters on Clinton 
street. North Frankfort. 

During the twenty-eight j^ears there have been five hun- 
dred and fifty members enrolled. The church has contril)uted 
to all causes $60,000. 

The First Baptist Church (colored) was organized in 
1833. Prior to that time the white and colored people Avor- 
shiped together. A colored man by the name of John Ward 
donated the ground where the church stands. The deed was 
made to the First Baptist Church in 1844. 

The first regular preacher was Henderson Williams, who 
began his service in 1838 and served five years. Thfe preach- 
ers who succeeded him whose names have been preserved were 
James Monroe, 1845; Robert Martin, who remained for twenty 
years and who baptized hundreds of converts; George W. Pat- 
terson, Eugene Evans, (1887). J. W. Hawkins left one thous- 



THE HISTORY OF FRANKLIN COUNTY. 263 

and dollars in the treasury with Avliich to puix-liase ground for 
a new elmrch. Robert Mitchell, A. ^L, D. I)., purchased the 
lot on the corner across from the CJovernor's mansion on High 
street, at the price of $4,000, and petitioned the City Council 
for the right to build the church. The city refused to grant the 
right and a long legal fight ensued. The Court of ^Vppeals 
passed on the case in 1904 and sustained the church, and the 
building was erected at a cost of twenty-five thousand dollars. 
It is the handsomest building for colored people in the State. 
C. C. Wakefield succeeded Dr. Mitchell in 1903, and W. R. 
Payne became pastor in 1904 ; Dr. W. T. Silvey in 1905, since 
which time he has performed an acceptable service for the 
church. During his eight years of service the church has 
prospered; the membership in 1912 numbered seven hundred 
and forty-two. 

The Corinthian Baptist Church, located on Mero street, 
between St. Clair and Washington streets, was organized in 
1876. James H. Parrish was the first regular pastor called. 
He was succeeded by C. C. Stumm in 1879. Rev. Reuben 
Strauss was called in 1882, and in a few months thereafter he 
wfs succeeded by .James ISI. ]Ma.son, who continued in the work 
until 1884. The succeeding pastors are as follows: E. Richie, 
1884; R. H. C. Mitchell, 1885; W. H. Craighead, called 
temporarily; Wm. A. Creditt, 1890; Benjamin W. Farris, 
1892; W. E. Claybrook, 1896; D. S. Oner, 1897; E. T. Fish- 
back, 1898; F. G. Brookins, 1909, and E. J. Jackson, the pres- 
ent pastor, was called in 1910. Rev. Jackson is highly re- 
graded by both races. The church property is valued at $15,- 
000. Membership number 105. 

The St. John A. M. E. Church was established in 1839. 
The first building was erected in that year on the old site on 
Lewis street. The building and grounds were given by Mrs. 
Triplctt, a white woman, to her servant^-^, Benjamin Dunmore 
and Benjamin Ilunley. It was afterwards deeded in trust to 
Harry Mordecai and George Harlan. The first pastor was 
George Harlan, who was in charge until 1840. Those who 
succeeded him were Moses Pitman, Aaron Green, Reuben 
Thomas, Henry Henderson (1850), Anderson Bryant, Jacob 



264 THE HISTORY OF FRANKLIN COUNTY. 

Williams, Henry Hensley, William Brown, Henry J. Young, 
Ross Lee, Jilson Francis, Geo. H. Schaffer, Washington Hill, 
Grafton Graham, Alfred Newman, C. J. Waters, B. F. Lee, J. 
W. Riley, Chas. Herbert, Jessie Henderson, George Steamer, 
Levi Evans, D. S. Bentley, J. W. Asbury, J. F. Thomas, G. H. 
Burk, Geo. W. Bryant, Emanuel Wilson, J. M. Turner, J. W. 
Frazier, P. A. Nichols, G. F. David, J. M. Holt, D. D., 1906; 
J. Allen Viney, 1907-8-9 ; T. A. Thompson, 1910. During the 
pastorate of Rev. J. Allen Viney the mortgage debt of two 
thousand dollars was paid. The "mortgage burning" was the 
occa.sion of great rejoicing among the members. 

D. C. Carter is the present pixstor in charge. The member- 
ship numbers 235. In 1893 the present church was built. 



THE HISTORY OF FRANKLIN COUNTY. 265 

CHAPTER XVII. 

Present Time, November 1912. 

The a.s.sesse(l valuation of land as returned by 
the Assessor of Franklin County for the 

year 1912 is $3,004,646 00 

Town lots assessed at 3,124,164 00 

Personalty assessment 1,178,638 00 

Total assessment $7,307,448 00 

TiLx on 2,877 tithes at $1.50 $4,315 00 

Tax on railroads 2,109 52 

Tax on whiskey withdrawals . 8,614 9() 

Tax on shares of bank stock 2,680 09 

Tax on corporations and franchises 2,472 05 

Revenue on storage accounts 8,420 31 

The total gross revenue for the preceding fiscal 

year was ^ $79,140 98 

The number of acres of land in the county as shown 

by the assessor's books is 131,799 

The number of town lots 2,325 

Pounds of hemp raised 1,851 

Tons of hay 2,291 

Bushels of corn 129,163 

Bushels of wheat 26,001 

The number of bushels of oats raised 2,110 

The number of bushels of barley raised 4,020 

Bushels of grass seed 1,327 

The number of acres in wheat 1,667 

The number of acres in corn 4,831 

The number of acres in meadow 1,769 

The number of acres in woodland 885 

The number of acres in tobacco 1 ,204 

A statement of the bonded indebtedness of Franklin 
County is as follows: 



266 THE HISTORY OF FRANKLIN COUNTY. 

$62,000.00 at 41/2 per cent issued July 1st, 1898, and due 
July 1st, 1918. 

$57,000.00 at 5 per cent issued January 1st, 1904, first 
payment due January 1st, 1913 ; second and last payment due 
January 1st, 1918. 

$23,000.00 at 5 per cent issued April 15tli, 1904; first 
payment due April 15th, 1920; second and last payment due 
April 15th, 1924. 

$19,000.00 at 5 per cent issued November the 1st, 1905, 
and will be due November the 1st, 1925. 

$130,000.00 at 4 per cent Kentucky Midland Railroad 
bonds issued July 1st, 1899, and will be due July 1st, 1919. 

The total amount of bonded indebtedness of the county is 
$291,000.00. 

Poor House claims for fiscal year $789 20 

Pauper claims for year G46 70 

Salaries and fees of county officers 8,380 83 

Turnpikes and bridges 38,032 88 

Promiscuous claims 14,9G4 75 

Claims paid election officers 294 88 

Amount of interest paid on bonds 7,765 00 

Total amount paid out 70,870 00 

The amount of net revenue for year 74,126 02 

The assessed valuation of property for city purposes is gen- 
erally higher than the assessment on the same property for 
State and county purposes. The assessed valuation of the re^.d 
estate in the city of Frankfort for the preceeding year wa<=! 
$3,225,323.00, and the personal property was assessed at V,.- 
640,630.00, making a total valuation of $4,865,961.00. The 
rate being $1.70 per hundred, the revenue would be $82,721.3 >. 

The city spent during the year on the improvement of the 
streets the sum of $12,425.35, and on the sewers the sum of $3,- 
070.00, and for cleaning the streets the sum of $1,298.42. The 
postoffice receipts for the fiscal year ending March, 1912, were 
$38,000.00. 

James T. Buford represented the county in the TTousc of 



THE HISTORY OF FRANKLIN COUNTY. 267 

the Kentucky Legislature in the sessions of 1908 and 1910, and 
Ehvood Hamilton in the session of 1912. 

An appropriation of $75,000.00 was made at the legisla- 
tive session of 1912 for the purpose of purchasing a site and 
erecting a mansion for the Governor. The commissioners 
selected a beautiful place adjoining the capitol grounds over- 
looking the Kentucky river and the Louisville and Nashville 
and the Kentucky Highland Railroads. If the plans for the 
new building are strictly carried out, it will be in keeping with 
the new State Llouse and a credit to the State and to all who 
are connected with its construction. 

The Legislature also appropriated $10,000.00 with which 
to make some needed improvements on the old State House and 
executive building, it being understood that several depart- 
ments of the State government are to be removed to the old 
State building. 

On the 13tli of November, 1912, the Arboretum of Ken- 
tucky was established. Each of eighty-five counties in the State 
sent a tree to be planted on the new capitol grounds. An effort 
will be made to secure a tree from each of the remaining 
counties. Mr. LI. F. Hillenmeyer, of Lexington, has agreed 
to complete the arboretum by furnishing such trees indigenous 
to Kentucky as have not l)cen sent in bj' the counties. 

During the present year the Frankfort Water Company 
has commenced the installation of a filter plant which will cost 
seventy-five thousand dollars. 

The Young Men's Christian Association has just com- 
pleted a fine building which is located at the South end of the 
St. Clair street bridge; the building cost about sixty thousand 
dollars. 

Frankfort's seven-story building, erected by the McClure 
Realty Company, on the corner of Main and St. Clair streets, 
and which wa.s known as "The McClure Building," has been 
purcha.sed by The United American Insurance Company and 
its name has been changed to that of "The United American 
Building." 

The United American Insurance Company has recently 



268 THE HISTORY OP FRANKLIN COUNTY. 

been organized in the city of Frankfort with a capital of one 
miUion of dollars. 

A secret benevolent organization known as the Modern 
Knights of the American Home has also been recently or- 
ganized in Frankfort. The supreme council is composed en- 
tirely of Frankfort citizens. A Widows' and Orphans' Home 
is to be established at Frankfort. If the plans of these two 
organizations are carried out the city of Frankfort will be 
greatly benefited. 

The State Journal has purchased a site on Maii; street 
and it now has under course of construction a large brick build- 
ing. When completed it will be an ornament, and a great 
acquisition to the city. 

The tobacco industry is one of the greatest in the county. 
The limestone soil seems especially adapted to the production 
of the white hurley tobacco; more than twelve hundred acres 
of it were raised in the county in year 1912. 

During the past few years Frankfort has built up a good 
loose leaf tobacco market. In the year 1909, the T. C. Geary 
Company sold about two millions of pounds. In 1910 The 
Farmers' Tobacco Warehouse Company built a large warehouse 
on Second street and during the year the two houses sold about 
eight and one-half millions pounds. In the year 1911, the 
two houses sold a little over five million pounds. 

The Burley Tobacco Company is building a large ware- 
house ©n Holmes street, this building is now nearing comple- 
tion and in a short time will be in competition with the other 
two houses. It appears now that the Frankfort market will go 
above the ten million mark, from the sales of the three houses 
during the year of 1912. The product has commanded good 
prices and the sales at this point have been more satisfactory 
than were those made in other sections of the State. 

Some of the largest tobacco companies in the world have 
had their representatives at Frankfort, buying and shipping to 
all sections of the country. Among them Avere the American 
Tobacco Company of Richmond, Virginia; Liggett & Myers 
Tobacco Company, Louisville, Ky. ; R. J. Reynolds, of Winston- 
Salem, N. C. ; J.' P. Taylor & Co., of Lexington, Ky. ; W. L. 



THE HISTORY OF FKANKLIN COUNTY. 269 

Petty Co., of Le.xington, Ky. ; Hancock Bros., of Lynchburg, 
Va. ; G. O. Tuck & Co., of Louisville, Ky. ; Brasswell & Levy 
{exporters), Rockymont, N. C. 

In the amount of capital involved, a.s represented in the 
Ituildings, machinery, raw material and labor, combined with 
the va.-^t stored products, the distillery interest of Franklin 
County is its largest and most conspicuous industry. The en- 
tire outlay embraced in this l)ranch of mamifacture, including 
the finished goods ripening for the markets of the world in 
storage barns, represents an investment and valuation of many 
millions of dollars. 

The distinguishing character of the whiskey produced and 
shijiped from the local distilleries arc classed and recognized in 
all the markets of the commercial spirit trade, a.s a pure 
'•'straight whiskey" of the greatest excellence and highest value. 
It l)elongs exclusively to the sour mash method of distillation. 
It is boiled and vaporized in copper stills, condensed and re- 
ceived in copper worms and cisterns, and finally aged and 
ripened in wooden casks which are stored in large dry ware- 
houses. In constituent elements and qualities, this whiskey is 
wholly unlike the fraudulent imitations or mixtures and com- 
pounds which the rectifiers so extensively advertise and sell to 
those Avho desire cheap goods regardless of quality. The su- 
periority of Franklin County whiskey emanates not only from 
the character of grain used, the methods of manufacture and 
the essential elements of perfect maturation, l)ut also from the 
constituent properties of the water which is used in the manu- 
facture and which is found in the bird's eye limestone forma- 
tion, peculiar to this region alone. 

In fruitiness of flavor, richness of aroma, ripeness of ma- 
turity and delicacy of finish, the whiskey of the State Capital 
and its environs surpasses all other spirit products of grain as 
a table beverage. 

There were some early attempts on Glenn's Creek and at 
Lee.stown to produce an acceptable article of whiskey, but the 
structures u.sed were unsuited, the appliances crude, the meth- 
ods imperfect and the output raw and unfinished as well as 
insignificant in quantity. It was not until after the close of the 



270 THE HISTORY OF FRANKLIN COUNTY. 

Civil War, about the year 1868, that the growth and develop- 
ment of the distillery business in this county took an origin 
which has grown into its present magnitude and prosperity. It 
was then that the foresight, sagacity and energy of Col. Edmund 
H. Taylor brought him to the front and he became, and has 
continued to be, a recognized leader in distillery construction, 
development and improvement. It would be impossible to give 
an accurate history of the growth and expansion of this branch 
of county prosperity without mentioning him as a leader in the 
manufacture of pure whiskey. It was under his personal su- 
pervision that the Hermitage, The Old Oscar Pepper, O. F. C, 
Carlisle and Old Taylor distilleries were established and to him 
also was due the naming of the brands "Old Taylor," "Old 
Crow," "Old Oscar Pepper," "0. F. C," and "Carhsle," which 
have since gained a celebrity, national and international. Col. 
Taylor was also the most noted advocate before Congress and in 
the public prints, of the spirit provisions of the pure food laws, 
and he was one of the first to erect in this locality an establish- 
ment for bottling whiskey in bond under that act. 

Since 1868 the distillery growth and expansion have been 
steady and substantial, until today they represent vast plans, 
with an enormous area of distillery and storage structures filled 
with costly machinery. The Old Taylor distillery, located on 
Glenn's Creek, is owned and operated by E. H. Taylor, .Ir. & 
Sons, Incorporated. Its medieval castle structure, colored tiled 
roofs, concrete bridges and avenues, its ornamental flower 
garden, fountain and gold fish basin attract visitors from all 
sections of the country. The Old Crow distillery plant, owned 
and operated by W. A. Gaines & Co., Incorporated, is located on 
the Woodford County line near the mouth of Glenn's Creek. 
The "Old Crow" brand of whiskey is one of the most noted 
in the world. A Scotchman, by the name of James Crow, came 
to Kentucky in 1835, and located on Glenn's Creek where he 
commenced making whiskey. He was a scientific distiller and 
he continued in the business until his death in 1856. To him 
is ascribed the first hand-made sour mash process with the use 
of spent beer or slop, which owing to its acidity caused the term 
"sour mash." The same method adopted by James Crow 



THE HISTORY OF FRANKLIN COUNTY. 271 

lias Ijecii adhered to by the W. A. (laincs & Co., down to the 
present time. The popularity of James Crow has been pcr- 
l)etuated in the name ''Old Crow." 80 popular has this whi.'^kcy 
become, that the company has concluded to withdraw the sale 
of it in cask and the entire output will now be bottled in Ixind. 
The Hermitage distillery on the banks of the Kentucky river 
in South Frankfort is owned and operated by the same firm; it 
has a capacity of one hundred barrels per day. On the opposite 
side of the river is the John Cochran or Spring Hill distillery 
which is operated by the Kentucky Distillers & AVarchouse Co. 

The O. F. C. and Kentucky River (formerly Carlisle) dis- 
tilleries, located at Lcestown on the Kentucky river one and 
a half miles below the city, are owned and operated by the Geo. 
T. St^gg Co. The Swastika or Frankfort distillery, on Elkhorn 
Creek, near Elkhorn Station on the F. & C R. R., is owned 
and operated b}^ the Baker Bros. One mile west of Frankfort 
is the Old Judge distillery owned and operated by the S. C. 
ITcrbst Importing Company. The main offices of these dis- 
tilleries are nearly all located in the city of 'Frankfort. 

The distillery plants embrace an extensive, systematic ar- 
rangement of main manufacturing edifices, storage warehouses, 
grain elevators and cribs, slop drying houses or cattle pens, with 
establishments for bottling the product under the Pure Food 
Act of Congress. 

The principal edifice enclosing distillery operations are, 
in most ca.ses, substantially built of brick, stone or wood. The 
machinery employed in distillation is of modern type and in 
some cases of very costly construction. The processes vary ac- 
cording to the experience or skill of the operator or to the par- 
ticular trade want that is sought to be filled. The product is 
cither a high grade whiskey or it belongs to a cheaper variety, 
but in no case does it descend to the level in character or quality 
of the impure and unwholesome output from the neutral spirit 
factories' and rectifiers' tubs. 

The bonded warehouses attached to the distilleries and 
held under government supervision are appropriated to the 
care and maturation for market of the barreled product of this 
large and valuable industry. They cover many acres of ground, 



272 THE HISTORY OF FRANKLIN COUNTY. 

are substantially built and have an estimated aggregate capacity 
for storage of nearly 600,000 barrels. Many of these warehouses 
are capable of holding from 10,000 to 40,000 barrels each. 
They are principally of the patent rick variety and arranged 
with a view to light, ventilation, dryness and facility in the 
handling of the whiskey stored. The barrels rest on dunnage 
in tiers, one above the other, each package unburdened by any 
weight except its own. 

The leading feature of this warehouse storage is, that it 
ripens and perfects the whiskey for market, developing its es- 
sential oils and essences. In rectified w^hiskej^ these oils and 
essences are almost totally absent, so that age gives no improve- 
ment and storage is a waste. 

The growth of the bottling in bond business, in the past 
few years, in this county, has been marvelous. Bottling houses 
are now attached to every distillery and the daily output dur- 
ing the operating season is about 3,000 cases or 36,000 bottles. 
The whiskey is bottled from bond under government super- 
vision, not less than four years old, and is protected to the con- 
sumer in any part of the world, in its proof, age, quantity and 
genuineness by the unbroken green stamp over the cork of 
each bottle. This method of bottling in bond has had a de- 
pressing effect upon the bottling of impure free whiskies. 

The w^hiskey industry of the county gives remunerative 
employment to hundreds of employees. It furnishes a home 
market for all surplus grain and it pays, probably, 85 per cent 
of the local taxes, State, county and municipal. 

There are six banks located in Frankfort, the capital stock 
of which aggregate five hundred and fifty thousand dollars. At 
the end of the fiscal year, June 29th, 1912, the sworn statements 
made by the cashiers of the six banks, show that the deposits 
amounted to the sum of $1,748,454.78. The loans and dis- 
counts amounted to $1,983,402.70. The surplus and un- 
divided profits amounted to $201,623.49. The real estate was 
valued at $73,328:29. The total assets amounted to $3,288,- 
673.67. 

A shoe factory of such magnitude as to be aptly classed 
one of Kentucky's important industries, has its home in Frank- 



THE HISTORY OF FRANKLIN COUNTY. 273 

fort, and it is an enterprise of great benefit to the city and State 
by its extensive operations. The manufacturing concern of 
I loge-Montgomery Company is maker of a superior product of 
all-soHd leather shoes for women, girls and boys. This line of 
shoes is known far and near for its established values, and has 
become celebrated for its wearing qualities and the extremely 
reasonable price at which this dependable and staple footwear is 
sold. The official personnel of this company is as follows: 

Chas. E. Hoge, President. 

Jas. F. Montgomery, Vice-President and (.leneral Manager. 

S. French Hoge, Treasurer. 

H. H. Roberts, Secretary. 

Chas. F. Straussner, Sales jManager. 

The business was established in 1889 and was originally 
known as the Frankfort Shoe Maiuifacturing Co., but was 
changed in name in 1905. The capacity of the plant at the 
time of its inauguration in 1889 was about seven hundred pairs 
of shoes daily, but it flourished steadily and uninterruptedly, 
and the plant ha.s been so successively enlarged and improved 
that at the present time there is a daily output of seven thousand 
two hundred pairs of well made shoes. 

The factory operates every day in the year with the ex- 
ception of Sundays and legal holidays. The machinery is of 
the most modern and improved type and the plant is larger 
than that of any other factory south of the Ohio river. 

By contract with the State for a part of the prison labor, 
the company pays in to the State Treasury more than a quarter 
of a million dollars annually. 

It is understood that this company pays a higher p'-icc 
than that obtained by any other State in the Union for similar 
labor, therefore, instead of this penal institution being a burdon 
to the taxpayers it is more than self-sustaining, after a por- 
tion of the hire, as required by law, is set aside for the benefit of 
the prisoners or their dependent families. In the free labor 
factory of the company, pleasant and light employment, ai 
good wages, is afforded to as many Avomen and girls as cati 
be secured. Although the company has never been able to ob- 
tain as much of this class of labor as it would like to employ. 



274 THE HISTORY OF FRANKLIN COUNTY. 

there arc now over three hundred free operatives whose pay roll 
exceeds three thousand dollars per week. 

To dispose of the large and steady output of shoes, the 
company employes a traveling force of thirty-five experienced 
shoe salesmen. The product of the factory is sold in every 
State in the Union, from the Atlantic to the Pacific. ''Frank- 
fort Shoes" are known and appreciated throughout the land, 
being everywhere handled by the largest dealers, and besides, 
a substantial export trade is being developed. 

The ambition of the company is to furnish comfortable 
shoes, that wear longer and cost less than can be obtained from 
any other factory in existence, and, as a result of the impetus 
given by it to the manufacturing industry, Frankfort may in 
the days to come be known as a great factory city. The Hoge- 
Montgomery Company has done much to place Frankfort far 
on the road to such fame. 

The Franklin County rural school system has been greatly 
improved during the past three years. According to the school 
census of 1912, Franklin County, outside of the corporate limits 
of the city of Frankfort, has three thousand and eighty-seven 
children between the ages of six and twenty years. Of these, 
two thousand eight hundred and seventy-three are white and 
two hundred and fourteen are colored. 

The county is divided^into four educational divisions, each 
division containing as nearly as possible the same number of 
pupils. 

Educational Division number one (Forks of Elkhorn), 
contains nine sub-district schools; Educational District num- 
ber two (Peak's Mill), contains fourteen; Division number 
three (Bridgeport), contains eleven, and Division number four 
(Bald Knob), contains fourteen. 

The farmers of the county are interested in good schools 
as never before. They are beginning to realize that the money 
expended in the education of their children is not a cost, but a 
splendid investment. No part of the school system is more 
popular than that of the high school. Franklin County has 
developed this plan better, possiljly, than any other county 
in the State, having five county high schools. One with a four 



THE HISTORY OF FRANKLIN COUNTY. 275 

years' course and four with a two years' course. Tlie schools 
are so distributed over the county that no pupil will have a 
greater distance to travel in reaching school than six or seven 
miles. 

The number of pupils matriculated in these high schools 
in the fall of 1912 is seventy-five, this is a marvelous record 
when it is considered that the s^'stem is only three years old. 
This shows that the rural population is very responsive to educa- 
tional advantages. 

The colored population of the county is su sparse that it 
is ditlicult to handle. The last statistical report shows that the 
average attendance, based on census, is nearly equal to that of 
the white children. Unless the tide of migration of this race 
from the country to the city be lessened, it will be ditlicult to 
find enough children in any community to sujjport a school. 
The last census report shows less than half the number of 
colored pupil children in the county outside of the corporate 
limits of the city of Frankfort than there were six years prioi- 
thereto. At this ratio of decrease it will be but a few years 
wdien there will be no colored children in the county schools. 

The city of Frankfort is now provided with six school 
buildings for white children and one for colored. The main 
building is a twenty-eight room structure with all modern 
conveniences, and is used for the high school and grammer 
grades. The new building located on the same lot west of the 
main building contains six rooms, and it is used as a primary 
building. There is a building in Bellepoint and one on Wilkin- 
son street of four rooms. There was a lot purchased in the 
summer of 1912, and a nice primarj'^ building erected on 
Holmes street, at a cost of six thousand dollars. The Exum 
property on Murray street was purchased in 1012 and con- 
verted into a primary school and it is now taxed to its full ca- 
pacity. 

The colored school is located on Clinton street. The 
schools of Frankfort have grown rapidly during the past few 
years, the enrollment in 1912 being 1,424, which is a gain of 
about 400 in the pa.*t five years. The School Board has mot 
this increase in attendance by providing extra teachers and in- 



276 THE HISTORY OF FRANKLIN COUNTY. 

creasing all the educational facilities. The high school has 
shown the most rapid growth, increasing since 1904, from forty- 
eight pupils, to one hundred and ninety-three, and the teach- 
ing force from three to eight teachers. This is a good indica- 
tion of the educational progress, for it shows that children are 
completing their education as far as it can be done in the public 
school. 

Domestic Science and Art, Drawing, Manual Training and 
Book Binding and the commercial branches have been added 
to the high school course of study. This course of study has 
been approved by the Kentucky Southern College Associution, 
and the pupils are admitted to any university in these associa- 
tions without examination. A free scholarship is granted to 
all who enter the State University at Lexington. 

The school census of colored children in 1900 was 989, and 
in 1912 was 554, yet the attendance in 1912 was 66 per cent, 
based upon enrollment, which was the largest per cent of attend- 
ance ever recorded by this school. The per cent of attendance 
in all of the schools is greater than in any past year, the cur- 
riculum of study broader, the interest in education greater and 
the facilities better than they have ever been. 

The State Normal School for colored persons, located in 
the eastern suburb of Frankfort, is well located upon one of 
the highest hills which surround the city. The grounds are 
well drained, with healthful, agreeable surroundings and 
picturesque scenery. The school was opened in 1887, and has 
been in operation for a quarter of a century. The State owns 
a large farm which is run in connection with the school. The 
State has been very liberal in providing buildings and other 
facilities for the higher education of the colored race. This 
school is a part of the common school system of Kentucky and 
its chief object is to train teachers for the colored common 
schools of the Commonwealth. It has been productive of great 
good especially to the colored race. 

The following named lawyers were members of the Frank- 
fort bar, located at Frankfort in the year 1912 ; the positions 
held by each are noted: J. C. W. Beckham, Representative of 
Nelson County, Speaker of the House, Lieutenant Governor and 



THE HISTORY OF FRANKLIN COUNTY. 277 

Governor of Kentuck5^ J. W. Blackburn, Jr., Assistant 
Adjutant General with the rank of Major, present Auditor's 
Agent for Franklin County. Guy H. Briggs, Auditor's Agent, 
Judge Advocate Gen. with rank of Col. EH H. Brown, Repre- 
sentative of Nelson County, Speaker of the House, Prison Com- 
missioner. James T. Buford, County Attorney, Reprcsentatiye 
of Franklin County. J. Morgan Chinn, Representative of 
:Mercer County. Frank Chinn, Master Commissioner of the 
Franklin Circuit Court. T. II. Crockett, City Attorney, present 
City Prosecutor. Frank M. Dailey, County Attorney, present 
City Attorney. T. L. Edelen. Robert B. Franklin, present 
Commonwealth's Attorney 14th District. James Garnctt, pres^ 
ent Attorney General. Paul C. Gaines. Robert L. Green, pres- 
ent Clerk of the Court of Appeals. Elwood Hamilton, present 
Representative of Franklin County. J. II. Ilazelrigg, County 
Judge of ^Montgomery County, Chief Justice of Kentucky. 
Dyke Hazelrigg. W. C. ITerndon, City Attorney, present Police 
Judge of Frankfort. J. Hunt Jackson, Representative of Owen 
County. W. L. Jett, Supt. of Schools of Franklin County, Po- 
lice Judge of Frankfort, Master Commissioner of the Franklin 
Circuit Court, Auditor's Agent, Postoffice Inspector under 
President Cleveland. J. W. Jeffers, present Master Commis- 
sioner of Franklin Circuit Court. L. F. Johnson, County At- 
torney, Auditor's Agent, Representative of Franklin County. 
Ira Julian, County Attorney, Representative of Franklin 
County, Circuit Judge of 14th Judicial District. M. M. Logan, 
present Assistant Attorney General. J. F. Eockett, Assistant 
Attorney General. D. W. Lindsey, City Attorney of Frank- 
fort, Col. in Federal Army, Inspector General and Adjutant 
General of Kentucky. .Tohn B. Lindsey. T. N. Lindsey. D. 
W. Lindsey, Jr., County .Judge of Franklin County. W. C. 
Marshall, present County Attorney of Franklin County. L. W. 
Morris. Charles H. Morris, present Assistant Attorney Gen- 
eral. Dulin Moss. Chas. Mason. IE V. McChesney, Supt. of 
Livingston Public Schools, Supt. of Public Instruction and 
Secretary of State. Thomas B. McGregor, Assistant Attorney 
General. Lewis McQuown, Chairman of the Democratic State 
Central and State Executive Committee. Lewis A. Nuckols, 



278 THE HISTORY OF FRANKLIN COUNTY. 

Representative of Woodford County, Commissioner of the 
Woodford Circuit Court. Edward C. O'Rear, County Judge 
of ]\Iontgomcry County, Chief Justice of Kentucky. Thomas 
H. Paynter, Representative in Congress, Chief Justice of Ken- 
tucky, present United States Senator. James II. Polsgrovc, 
County Attorney, and County Judge of Frankhn County, pres- 
ent Mayor of Frankfort. W. II. Posey, Master Commissioner 
of Franklin Circuit Court. J. A. Scott, Representative of Frank- 
hn County, Master Commissioner of Frankhn Circuit Court. 
Robert L. Stout, present Circuit Judge of 14th Judicial District. 
Samuel A. Thomas. A. C. Vanwinkle. B. G. Wihiams, 
County Attorney and County Judge of Franklin County. Oscar 
Wolf. Physicians and surgeons located in Frankfort in 1912: 
C. W. Anderson (colored), Joseph Barr, R. M. Coblin, J. S. 
Coleman, C. P. Coleman, 0. B. Demaree, C. A. Fish, Neville 
M. Garrett, J. W. Hill, Josephine Hoggins, Harlan Ileil- 
man, II. S. Keller, Flora W. Mastin, L. T. Minish, W. 
L. Montgomery, Thomas R. Moore, Warren ]\Ionfort, John 
Patterson, 0. H. Reynolds, E. C. Roemele, John G. South, A. 
Stewart, E. E. Underwood (colored), C. K. Wallace, J. W. 
Willson and U. V. Williams. 

The State Historical rooms, under the care and supervision 
of Mrs. Jennie C. Morton, Secretary-Treasurer of the State His- 
torical Society, are located on the first floor and in the southwest 
corner of the new capitol building. For nearly half a century 
relics and specimens of historical nature have been collected 
and preserved. At the present time there are several rooms 
filled with articles of almost priceless value; if destroyed many 
of them could not be reproduced. If the collection was ]')ropcrly 
advertised and sold at public sale, it would likely bring more 
than one hundred thousand dollars. 

The collection contains the portraits of all the Governors 
of the Connnonwealth except three, and efforts are being made 
to com})lctc the collection. Twenty-nine of these portraits are 
in oil. 

There arc two portraits of Daniel Boone, one of (hem, an 
oil painting by Chester Harding, copied by Marshall, of Louis- 



THE HISTORY OF FRANKLIN COUNTY. 279 

villc, Ky., and the other is in water color, copied from 
Thomas Sully, by Miss Chesney. 

Tlie portraits of General Harrison and Gen. Lafayette arc 
the most valnaljle in the collection ; they could be sold for $25,- 
000.00. In the list of highly appreciated portraits are those of 
Col. B. H. Young and Col. R. T. Durrett,'of Louisville, and 
Col. D. Howard Smith and Col. Ambrose Dudley. Some of 
the oil paintings are those of General John C. Breckinridge, 
Gen. Zachary Taylor, by Allen, Llenry Clay, painted at Paris, 
France, after the treaty of Ghent. John G. Carlisle, which is 
valued at one thousand dollars. George Washington, a copy 
of Peel's portrait of 1778, Pichard Collins, the historian, and 
those of the two-greatest poets Kentucky has ever produced, l)oth 
of whom were citizens of Franklin County, Theodore O'Hara 
and Henry T. Stanton. The oil paintings of Martin Luther 
and his wife, which were painted in 1543, are supposed to be 
the only oil portraits extant of that noted reformer and his 
wife. The society has a large collection of other oil paintings, 
such as Simon Kenton making his escape from the Inclians, and 
the five paintings donated by the city of Philadelphia to the 
State of Kentucky, and which were brought to Frankfort by a 
committee of prominent citizens appointed l)y the city of 
Philadelphia. The paintings are those of Independence Hall, 
the State House at Philadelphia, the house where Thoma.s 
Jefferson wrote the Declaration of Independence, and Carpen- 
ters Ilall, where the first Continental Congress wa.s held. 

The society, also, has a large collection of books, the most 
of which treat of historical subjects. An especial effort ha.-' been 
made to secure histories of Kentucky and Kentuckians. There 
are thousands of other things which have been collected and 
which are of great interest to all who love the history and tra- 
ditions of the Kentucky pioneers. 

The Frankfort or State cemetery is located in an ideal 
place, the grounds include one hundred acres of table land in 
the suburbs of the city. The contour of the land is sufficiently 
undulating to furnish a variety of scenery and at the same time 
sufficiently level for the purpose for which it ha.s been set a.side. 
The Frankfort Cemetery Company was formed and a part of 



280 THE HISTORY OF FRANKLIN COUNTY. 

the land purchased in 1845. The charter which was granted 
by the Legislature forever restrains the company from dividing 
any profits. Should any excess of funds arise from the sale of 
burial lots, or otherwise, beyond the original cost and current 
expenses of the grounds, it is to be applied to the permanent im- 
provement and emljcllishment of the grounds. 

Mr. Robert Carmichael, the first landscape gardener 
who laid off the grounds and improved them, was engaged for a 
term of years to superintend them. He was a gentleman of 
great taste and accomplishments. He was regularly educated to 
his profession in Scotland. He died July 17th, 1858, and Ava.s 
buried in the grounds whicli he had done so much to beautify. 
He was succeeded by Mr. R. H. Nicol, who held the position 
until his death, eighteen years later. Mr. William Craik was 
then appointed (1877) and he retained the position until his 
death in 1904, since which time his son, Henry Craik, has been 
in charge. The excellent condition in which the grounds are at 
the present time is a guarantee of his ability to properly dis- 
charge the duties of the position. 

In the 3^ear 1851 the Legislature of Kentucky passed an 
act authorizing and directing the Governor of the Common- 
wealth to purchase from the Frankfort Cemetery Company the 
lots numbered 131, 132, 143, 144, 154 and 155 ''in which to 
bury the remains of Kentucky's illustrious dead." The price 
paid for which was six hundred dollars. These lots arc located 
some distance south of the State monument and being the lots 
in which Governors Greenup, Adair and Madison are buried, 
and where Hart, Eliott and many other noted Kentuckians are 
to be found. The lots where the State monument and the 
Johnson monument are located and wdiere the Mexican soldiers 
are buried were donated by the cemetery company; they are 
not a part of those purchased by the State. 

The Legislature of Kentucky, by act of 1847-8, directed a 
military monument to be erected in honor of her illustrious 
dead on the State mound which is located near the center of 
the grounds and which is more elevated than any other part 
of the grounds. Mv. Robert E. Launtiz, of New York, one of 
the most skilled workmen in America, was employed to do tlie 



THE HISTORY OF FRANKLIN COUNTY. 281 

work, the most of which was done in Italy. The material was 
shipped to Frankfort by way of the Mississippi river. A barge 
was sent to New Orleans expressly for the purpose of rert.'iviiitr 
it directly from the vessel and it was delivered at Frankfort 
without the slightest injury. 

The monument rests on a base twenty feet square, made of 
Connecticut granite. Many of the blocks of which the monu- 
ment is made weighs five tons each, the weight of the whole 
being more than one hundred and fifty tons. The monument 
is sixty-five feet high and it cost the State $15,000. The 
Statue of Victory, which crowns the column, was elevated and 
placed in position in June, 1849. The material of the monu- 
ment is the purest and richest monumental marl)le ever brought 
to America, though it has become discolored in places, caused 
by the rust of the dowel pins which were used to hold the 
blocks in place. Some of the blocks are slightly showing the 
effects of the elements to which they have been exposed for 
more than half a century, l)ut at the time they were received 
they were free from all blemishes and were perfectly' uniform 
in color. This material was imported expressly for the pur- 
pose from the celebrated quarry of C. Fabricotti, Carrara. 

The statue of victory which crowns the work and the four 
eagles wdiich guard the corners of the die were sculptured in 
Italy from models prepared by Mr. Launitz. 

The Bass or relief figures on the panels and the coat of 
arms were sculptured, and the rest of the marble work executed 
in the studio of Mr. Launitz in New York City. 

On the upper base facing the west is the following in- 
scription : "The Principal Battles and Campaigns in Which Her 
Sons Devoted Their Lives to Their Country," are inscribed 
on the bands and Ijcneath the same are the names of her of- 
ficers who fell. The names of her soldiers who died for their 
connky arc too numerous to l)e inscribed on any column. On 
the north side of the upper base is a tablet on which is in- 
scribed "Military monument erected by Kentucky, A. D. 1850." 
On the east side of same is the inscription "Kentucky has 
erected this column in gratitude equally to her officers and 
soldiers." Facing the south is the coat of arms of Kentucky 



282 THE HISTORY OP FRANKLIN COUNTY. 

with the motto of the State, ''United We Stand Divided We 
Fall." On the bands are inscribed the names of twenty-two 
battles, or campaigns, and beneath these bands are the names 
of eighty-four officers who fell in battle. 

There are four cannon located near the monument, two 
of which were taken from the enemy at the battle of Buena 
Vista, the other two belonged to the State. On the north side of 
the State monument is the sarcophagus of Henry Clay, Jr., who 
was Lieutenant Colonel of 2nd regiment of Kentucky Infantry. 
He fell at Buena Vista, February 23rd, 1847. Near him, on 
his left, is that of Cary H. Fry, Major of 2nd Kentucky regi- 
ment, and the next one on the left is that of Adjutant G. N. 
Cardwell, and the last one in that row is that of Col. AV. R. 
McKee, who also fell at Buena Vista. 

A short distance northwest of the State monument is a 
small marker on which is inscribed ''Capt. A. G. Bacon, 3rd 
Kentucky Cavalry, U. S. A., killed at Sacramento, Ky., De- 
cember 28th, 1861 ; aged 42 years." The A. G. Bacon post of 
the Franklin County G. A. R. was so named for Capt. Bacon. 
About half way between the State monument and the R. M. 
Johnson monument is the sarcophagus of "Theodore O'Hara, 
Ma^or and A. D. C, died June 5th, 1867." 

In 1851 the Legislature of Kentucky, by commissioners, 
contracted with Mr. Robert E. Launitz for the erection of a 
monument to the memory of Col. Richard Mentor Johnson and 
for which the State paid the sum of nine hundred dollars. At 
the time this work was completed it was the most beautiful 
monumental structure in America and though it has been in- 
jured by vandals and the ravages of time, it still shows that a 
master in his art planned and executed the work. It is located 
at the extreme southern part of the military lot. It is made 
of Italian marble, the base is of granite on which is a shaft ten 
feet tall and four feet square. A good likeness of Col. Johnson 
is carved on the north side, and cannon are on each corner. On 
the east side is inscribed: Richard Mentor Johnson, l)orn at 
Bryant's Station, Kentucky, 1781; died in Frankfort, Ken- 
tucky, on the 19th day of November, 1850. 

On the south side Col. Johnson is represented on horseback 



THE HISTORY OF FRANKLIN COUNTY. 283 

ill the act of killing Tecumseh. The Indian is on one knee, 
faUing backwards, with a tomahawk in his hand. 

On the west side is the following inscription : "To the mem- 
ory of Col. Richard M. Johnson, a faithful public servant for 
nearly a century." As a member of the Kentucky Legislature 
and Representative and Senator in Congress. Author of the 
Sunday mail report and of laws abolishing imprisonment for 
dcl)t in Kentucky and in the United States. Distinguished l)y 
his valor as a Colonel of a Kentucky regiment in the battle of 
the Thames. For four years Vice-President of the United 
Stata«. Kentucky, his native State, to mark the sense of his 
eminent services in the cabinet and in the field, has erected 
this monument, in the resting place of her illustrious dead. 

The shaft has a flag of stars and stripes around the top, 
falling to one side and crowned with a large American eagle 
which holds a laurel wreath in its beak. The work is most 
excellent and the whole design Ijeautiful beyond description. 

The monument of Daniel Boone and Rebecca, his wife, is 
located on the brow of the hill overlooking the city and the 
Kentucky river, the panels of which have recently l)een 
replaced, the new panels being an exact reproduction of the 
old. The whole monument was practically rebuilt and enclosed 
by an iron fence to prevent vandals in the nature of relic hunt- 
ers, from again destroying it. The remains of Ellison Wil- 
liams, a friend and companion of Boone, were removed from 
Kenton County to Frankfort by resolution of the Kentucky 
Legislature. He was buried near the tomb of Daniel Boone 
on May 21st, 1860, with military honors. Gen. D. W. Lindsey 
was in charge of the military. 

Elizabeth Love, one of the greatest women of pioneer days, 
and Margaretta Brown, widow of United States Senator John 
Brown, are buried only a short distance south of the Boone 
monument. 

Inscribed on the John Brown monument is the following: 
''Margaretta Brown, wife of John Brown, and daughter of Rev. 
John Mason and Catherine Vanwick. Born in the city of New 
York on the 12th of November, 1772; died in Frankfort, Ky., 
on the 28th of May, 1838. She was eminent for talents, learn- 



284 THE HISTORY OF FRANKLIN COUNTY. 

ing, charity, piety and all the virtues that adorn the female 
character. It should be recorded on her tomb that she or- 
ganized the first Sabbath School in the Mississippi valley," 

Near the southern portion of the grounds is the last resting 
place of Joel T. Hart which is marked by a black block of 
Quincy marble from Quincy, j\Iass., which is nearly square. 
The top slopes to the east and on which is inscribed, ''Erected 
to the memory of Joel T. Hart by the State of Kentucky. Born 
February 11th, 1810 ; died March 2nd, 1<S77." ''Seek him not 
here but in the stone where he lives in his own art's im- 
mortality." 

The monument which was dedicated to the memory of the 
Confederate dead was placed in position and unveiled in the 
spring of 1892. It stands in the center of the Confederate lot, 
encircled by the graves of the Confederate dead. The ba.se of 
the structure is of solid granite. The figure is a statue of James 
G. Crockett at parade rest. He was a Franklin County soldier 
in the Confederate army and lost a leg in the defense of the 
South. In a short time after his return from the war he wa.s 
elected County Court Clerk of Franklin County which position 
he held until his death, about 1883. The monument was made 
of the finest Italian marble, imported from the Carrara quarries, 
Italy. The statue is six feet in height. The following are the 
inscriptions on the face of the base : 

"Our Confederate dead 1861-18G5." 

"They sleep — what need the question now if they 
be right or wrong 

They know ere this whose cause was just in Cod the 
Father's sight, 

They wield no warlike weapons now, return no foe- 
man's thrust. 

Who but a coward would revile the honored soldier's 
dust." 

Reverse Side. 

"Greater love hath no man than this that a man lay down 
his life for his friends." 



THE HISTORY OF FRANKLIN COUNTY. 285 

West Side. 

"The marble minstrels voiceful tone 

In deathless songs shall tell 

When many a vanqnished age hath flown 

The story, how ye fell ; 

Nor wreck, nor change, nor winter l)light, 

Nor time's remorseless doom 

Shall dim one ray of holy light 

That gilds your glorious tomb." 

East Side. 

"To every man upon the earth 
Death cometh soon or late 
And how can man die better 
Than facing fearful odds 
For the ashes of his fathers 
And the temples of his God's." 

The Trabue lot is the largest one in the grounds, and it is 
the only one in which there is a vault. 

Col. S. F. J. Trabue was a good lawyer and a good citizen 
He was several times a candidate for Congress in the Ashland 
district, and he displayed ability as a debater. He was an 
optimistic land dealer and railroad promoter. He died in De- 
cember, 1898, at an advanced age. 

The remains of Solomon P. Sharp were buried in the old 
cemetery on the back part of A, C. Henry's place at Thorn Hill 
in 1825, but were removed to the new^ cemetery about 1850. So 
also were the remains of Governor Madison buried there and 
afterwards removed by the State to their present resting place, 
over which a monument was erected, suit-ably inscribed. Over 
seven thousand people are buried in the Frankfort cemetery. 
During the past ten years the average has been one hundred 
and fifty per year. In the list of noted men buried there, is 
one Vice President of the United States and eight United States 
Senators, nine Governors of Kentucky, four ministers to 
foreign countries, four naval commanders and three United 



286 THE HISTORY OF FRANKLIN COUNTY. 

States District Judges, two poets of national reputation, one 
sculptor of international note and two historians. 

To give a biographical sketch of all who are buried there, 
who are worthy of being mentioned and who have done their 
jDart in making history, would be to re-write a history of Frank- 
lin County which would be extended into a history of Ken- 
tucky, with many important facts in the history of the nation. 

There were statesmen, soldiers and patriots, orators, 
sculptors and men of letters, in fact they carved for themselves 
honorable names in nearly every calling and avocation in life. 

Women, too, are buried there, who were equally patriotic, 
who were God fearing, honest and true ; who were warm hearted, 
generous and affectionate and who acted well their part in the 
formation of character, and in the training of men. Woman's 
work has too often been that of '^Martha," but her service was 
none the less acceptable and necessary for the development, 
progress, prosperity and happiness of men. She, too, is en- 
titled to the meeds of valor. The most costly monument should 
be erected to commemorate her virtues and her worth and 
her grave should be decorated with flowers and the laurel 
wreath. 



INDEX 



Page 

Abbett, Rev. William McD -*J1 

Acres of Land 1^-- l'^', 177, 2.T_', 205 

Adams, Augusteue, Huug ^^ 

Alfalfa, Clover, etc 

Allen, Gen. R. T. P ^'^'IT^ 

Allen, Col. R. D ^^!, 

Allen, Joseph W ••• ^^ 

American Independence Celebrated IS, 42, 71, 97, 103, lOi 

Anderson County Formed ' i-i 

Anderson, Hicliard C 1^^' ^'^^ 

Ann Street Named ' ;"' 

Appropriation for Public buildings . . -•'•^ 

Arnold, Stephen Pursued by Indians 

Arnold, Stephen y-'—^'J- ''' ""^' "*-• *''^ 

Arnc 

An 

Arnold, Berresford 

Arnold, Rev. T. N -^ 

Arboretum Commenced -^' 

Armstrong, R. D. '^-" 



k; 



mold, James «- 17. 23, 2S, 3S. 51. CI. 11.3 

mold, John «' '^' '*'• ^1- ^^- "'■* 



Attorneys Prior to 1800 '-'," im 

Attorneys ISIO and ]83.-> •'-• 1"" 

Att,.,.„<.v« 10. 1!), frt. (<■'. T2. loO, 2. . 



Arsenal Built J^J' ^^^ 

Assessed Valuation 112, I'S. 1^7. 232, 2U> 

Aurora Borealis ^^^' i. 

Bacon, John M 10"- 1^0 

Bacon, Capt. Albert G l-''«' 1""^1' 1^-^- ;^J 

Baker Bro's. Distillery -*1 

Ballard, Capt. Bland • • • • • }^° 

Bank Established *'"' ^'•^' '^' -^■' 

Bank Association " 

Banquet for Gov. Beckham ■ • -_^ 

Baptist Church !"• 2^7, 240, LoO 

Baptist, First Colored •••• ^'^- 

Baptist Association ^*'*' -■•" 

,, , !i8, no. 118 

Barbecue 

Barnes, Rev. Geo. O '1 " 

Bartlett, John ^^' ^^ 

Bartlett, Harry ^*l 

Barrett, D. C. "^ 

Barry, MaJ. ' William T ^^ 

Battle of the Thames ^f' 

Battle, Soldiers, Civilians -j^ 

Beatty. Otho qo " Si' '^2' "si Rfi 

Beauchamp, Jereboam O '^O- ^i' ^'^'^7' ^J 

Beauchamp's Confession • • • • f"' 

Beckham, J. C. W 231, 231, 235, 230, 240, 2.0 



INDEX. 



Page 

Bedford, H. M 101 

Belle Point 217 

Benson Creek 2G, 130, 107, 108, 172, 222 

Belt, Joseph 134 

Benefit of Clergy 10, 11 

Bennett, Judge Caswell 217 

Berbericli, V ... 154 

Bethel Church 247 

Bicycles, used 197 

Bird, Chas. M S, 9, i9 

Bird, Chas. F 10 

Birdseye Limestone 21 

Bibb, George M 09, 100 

Bibb, Chas. S 72, 84 

Birdseye View of Frankfort 179 

Blackburn, J. W., Jr 277 

Blackburn, Dr. Churchill 113 

Blackburn, Gov. Luke P 113, 212 

Blackburn, J. C. S 103 

Blackburn, James 103 

Blackwell, Robert 51 

Blair, Francis B G4, 71 

Blair, James 10, 15 

Bluegrass 27 

Blayney, Dr. J. McClusky 251 

Board of Magistrate Sent to Jail 118, 120 

Boiler Explosion 102, 199 

Boat Racing 190 

Bohannon, J. W 219 

Bond Issue and Debt 51, 141, 177, ISS, 200 

Boone, Daniel 120 to 124, 27S, 283 

Boone, Daniel and Rebecca 28, 120, 121, 240 

Boone Monument 240, 241 

Bottling in Bond 272 

Bragg, Gen., at Frankfort 152 

Bradford, Daniel 40 

Bradley, William E 198 

Bradley, Gov. W. O 230 

Breathitt, Gov. John 99 

Breckinridge, Hon. John C 113, 149, 194, 279 

Breckinridge, John 10 

Bridge Company, Incorporated 41 

Bridges Across Benson Creek 04, 05, 130, 170. 19S 

Bridges 51, 53, 05, 71, 75, 89, 104, 130, 108, 170, 203 

Bridgeport 130, 143, 190 

Bridgeport Robbed 102 

Briggs, Guy H 277 

Brown, Scott 19, 45, 71. 73, 93, 115, 110 

Brown, Gen. Scott 110, 174, 214, 221 

Brown, Judge Reuben 110, 141, 221 

Brown, Orlando, Jr 150, 100, 182 

Brown, Mrs. John 70, 283 

Brown, John Mason 105, lOG, 208 

Brown, Capt. Henry 221 

Brown's Walk to Lexington 17 

Brown, Orlando 103, 108, 100 



INDEX. 



Page 

Brown, John 4S, 40, G!), 70, 104 

Brown, John, Appointed Sheriff 89 

Brown, KU H 277 

Brawuer, John 73 

Buckner, S. B 210 

Buckley, Lee 2SS, 240 

Buck Hun Church 240, 247 

Buffalo Trace 28 

Buford, James T 174, 233, 20C, 277 

Bullock, Rev. Joseph J 107 

Burley Tobacco _. 2G8 

Burr, Aaron 40, 47 

Cautrill, Judge James E 232 

Campbell, Rev. Alexander 258 

Capital Removal 145, 140 

Capital Grounds 140, 208 

Capitol Built 70. 180 

Capital Hotel 80, 137, 145, 148, 192, 183 

Cane-breaks 23 

Cardwell, John .." 19, 58, 180, 193 

Cardwell, Margaret Arnold 97 

Carlisle, Hon. John G 279 

Carmichael, Robert 280 

Carlisle, Benedict 93 

Cates, O. G 102 

Catholic Church 177, 252, 253 

Cemetery Lots Purchased 280 

Cemetery Lots Donated 280 

Cemetery at Mouroe, Michigan 59 

Centennial Celebration 207, 208 

Centennial Records Destroyed 20S 

Cereals of the County 22 

Chair Company Fire 218 

Chinn, J. Morgan 277 

Chiun, Prank 277 

Chinn, Morgan B 100 

Chinn, Franklin 148, 187 

Chinn, Wt J 100, 182, 203 

Church of the Good Shepherd 252 

Churches 74, 75, 140, 177 

Cholera in Frankfort 97, 134 

Charge of the Light Brigade 59 

Circuit Court First Held 44 

Christian Church 177, 181, 182, 255 to 258 

Civil War 150 

Clay, Henry 10, 111, 117, 127, 135, 145, 103 

Clay, Porter 73, 248 

Clay, Col. Henry 127, 282 

Clay, Potter's 25 

Clay, Fire 2G 

Clark, Joseph 92, 187 

Clark, Daniel, (a negro) 180 

Clark, Gov. James 108 

Clinton Street 124 

Coleman, John M. 154 



IV INDEX. 



Page 

Coleman, Edward S 100 

Coleman's Spring 50 

Coleman, E. Spillsbee 50, 100, 133 

Commissioners 8, 72, 134 

Commissioners for Court House 92, 168 

Cook, Miss Ann SO, 81, SO 

Cook Bros., Killed 14, 15 

Colston-Scott Tragedy 229 

Cove Spring 45, 97, lOG 

County Levy 9, 43, 45, 64 

County Attorneys 66, 72, 182 

Counties Formed 5 

Confederates 150, 151, 152, 153, 157 

Confederate Infantry 157, 158 

Convicts in Frankfort 191 

Counterfeit Money 191, 192 

County Court Clerk's Office ft3, 71, 111 

Commentator 79 

Constitutional Advocate 79 

Corner Stone, New Capitol 235 

Corintbian Baptist Church 263 

Cowan, Rev. Robert L 262 

Confederate Monument 284 ■ 

Congressmen Visit Frankfort 116 

Cox, Austin P 102. 115 

Cox, Len J 174, 216 

County Jail 8, 12, 64, 67, 72 

Court of Appeals 77, 78, 92, 97, 119, 263 

Court House 43, 44, 92 

County Seal 124 

County Officers Elected 135, 138. 146, 149, 163, 175, 182, 191, 201, 207, 214, 220, 

225, 233, 234, 238. 

Contested Election 146, 217 

Crane, Simoon II 88 

Craik, William 161, 280 

Craik, Henry 280 

Crockett, John B ; 93 

Crockett, Col. Anthony 7, 37, 40, 54, 01, 62 

Crockett, Dandridge S 110 

Crockett, Samuel 130 

Crockett, James G 205, 284 

Crockett, T. H 277 

Crittenden, John J., 76, 77, 78, 70, 87, 89, 93, 98, 99, 101, 103, 108, 110, 116, 

117, 137, 148, 159, 160, 250. 

Crittenden, Gen. Geo. B 103, 197 

Crittenden, Gen. Thomas L 103, 137, 150 

Crittenden, Col. Eugene 103 

Crittenden, T. T 103 

Crittenden, Lt. John J.. Killed 187 

Cromwell, William 2.39 

Cramer, Zadoc 35-52 

Craddock, Hon. Geo. W 112, 113, 165. 187 

Crutcher, John N 236 

Custom House and Post Office Built 204 

Dailey, Frank M 277 



INDEX. 



Page 

Damage by Storm 238 

Daua, James G 113 

Darby, Patrick H 72, 7'.), 80, 81, 82, >j4 

Darsie, Rev. George 20U, 257 

Day. Mrs. M. B. K 172, 214, 215 

Deakins, Tes, Killed 225 

Davridge, Heury 54, 63 

DesLa, Gov. Joseph 78, 82 

Debt, Imprisonment for 37 

Denny, Gen. James W 84 

District Court, Officers of 10 

Disorderly Citizens 30 

Dire Calamity 54 

Distilleries 203, 238, 20!), 270 

Dollerliide, Tliomas 74 

Downing, James S'J 

Dougherty, William 11 

Drane, Judge George C 108, 191, 225 

Dryden, John B 155, 235 

Drouth of 1854 137 

Duels 17, 07, 141, 142 

Dudley, Peter 50, 57, 70, 103, 171, 248 

Dudley, Jeptha 63, 92 

Dudley, Peter, Volunteers Under 58, 171 

Dudley, Ambrose W 93, 90, 107, 205, 279 

Duvall, Ben F 214 

Duvall, Judge Alvin i 21i 

Durrett, Col. R. T 279 

Duncan Trial 237 

Earth(iuake in Frankfort 110 

Ear Marks 9 

Karly Settlements on South Side 28 

East Frankfort Ferry Established 41 

Eberhardt, Rev. F. W 246, 249 

Evergreen Church 240, 247, 248 

Eclipse of the Sun 172 

Edelen, T. L 23, 277 

Egbert, Frank 202, 224 

Election, First County 135 

Elkhorn Creek 20, OS, 75 

Elkhorn, Co. to Navigate ._ OS 

Elkhorn Bridges S, 53 

Eliott, Judge John M 192 

Elks' Lodge 233 

English Prisoners Brought to Frankfort 59 

Ewing, Baker 7, 40 

Evens, Evans 70 

Exciting Incidents 40, 199 

Explosion, Foree and Sanders Killed 215 

Explosion at Pence's Mill 218 

lOxplosion at Jail 224 

Episcopal Church 133, 177, 254, 255, 259 

Fall, Rev. P. S 93, 208, 255, 256 

Farmer's Bank Organized 133 

Farmer, Ben, Assassinated 175 



VI INDEX. 

Page 

F. & C. R. R. Trestle 29, 212 

Federals 150, 152, 153 

Federal Cavalry Roster 154 

Federal Infantry Roster ; 156 

Fellmer, Prof. E. A 219 

Flood, Joseph 108 

Ferry 12, 30, 41, G3, 93 

Fillmore, Millard 137 

Fields, Henry 11, 12, 44, 60 

Fires in Frankfort 137, 170, 202, 20G, 218, 221, 223 

Fire Alarm System 213 

Fincel Block Burns 221 

Fish Trap Island 35 

Fiscal Court 91, 109, 173, 191, 197, 223 

Flynn, Rev. J. A 253 

F. M. I. Burns 223 

Fowler, Col. C. W 189, 241 

Forepaugh's Circus, Contest Over 199 

Foreign Immigration Ill 

Foi-ests 23 

Forts, Name of 14 

Formation of Ground N. E. of Frankfort 30 

Frankfort High School 276 

Frankfort Bank 68 

Frankfort, Name Derived From 14 

Frankfort Topographical Situation 20 

Frankfort Surveyed 28 

Frankfort, When Established 30 

Frankfort Bridge Co 13, 41, 42, 117 

Frankfort Academy 102 

Frankfort, Description of 38 

Frankfort Water Co 45, 100, 207 

Frankfort Fii-e Co 45 

Frankfort & Shelbyville T. P. Road 68, 72 

Frankfort Cemetery 59, 74, 103, 132, 138, 184, 185, 194, 279, 283 

Frankfort, Manufacturing Center ' 90 

Frankfort, Incorporated 100, 133 

Fr.-mkfort, Common School System 114 

Frankfort, Assessed Valuation 200 

Frankfort and Lexington T. P. R. Co 08, 93 

Frankfort Lyceum Organized 99 

Frankfort Library Co 63 

Frankfort and Lawrenceburg Road, Inc 130, 134 

Frankfort to Harrodsburg, Distance 135 

Frankfort Woolen Mills 130, 173 

Frankfort in Politics 144, 145 

Frankfort Citizens Ordered to Report 152 

Frankfort, Lexington and Versailles T. P. Road 93 

Frankfort Seminary 105 

Frankfort and Benson T. P. Co 186 

Frankfort, North and South United 196 

Frankfort Centennial 207 

Frankfort, Georgetown and Paris R. R. Tax Voted 212 

Frankfort and Shelbyville T. P. Co 08, 72 

Franklin County, From Other Counties 6 



INDEX. vii 

I'.IK.' 

Franklin Connty, K.stabli.sluHl, Boundary 5, C> 

Franklin County, Surfnc-c of 21 

Franklin County, Purcliased From 2S 

Franklin County, l*rt)teoto(l From the Indians 14 

Franklin Taper Mills ',»! 

Franklin County Fair Assoriation 1(1^. 10',>. 110 

Franklin and Scott Lino Settli-d 11.") 

Franklin atul Anderson line VSt 

Franklin Connty, Size and Shape 

Franklin Springs 124 

Franklin, Kobt. H 2.*'.2, 277 

Franklin, Massie !>2 

Franklin, Walter 14'.t, ' 22<! 

Francis, A Slave Hung , 14!t 

Fruits and Trees 22. 2(57 

Freesetown 1 S4 

Gallows Erected ,S 

Gaines, .T. W 200 

Gaines. Ilnph 21."i 

Gaines, W. A.. & Co 270. 271 

Gaiues. I'aul C 277 

Gaines, Noel 228 

Gano, Rev. John 24.".. 244 

Garth, Rodes 140 

Garnett, James 277 

Gas, Natural 25 

Gas, Illuminating I.'IO, lfi.'{ 

Gas Works Sold 201 

Gayle, George i:'.:5 

Gardner. lit zekiali VX] 

Gainey's Bridge 223 

Geological Formation 21 

Georgetown & Frankfort T. I*. R. Co !tS 

George, Edward 80 

Glass Factory .')2 

Glenn's Creek Road 8. i.U 

Glenn's Creek 03, 2(;!) 

Goehel. Gov. William 2:!0. 2 10 

Gower. Stanley P (!."). 71 

Governor's Mansion (;8. 7.'"i. 2(;7 

Goram, William A., Removed 118 

Graham, John R 161 

Graham, David l.'>3 

Governor's of 23 States at Frankfort 241 

Goebel, Arthur 240 

Graft in County Affairs 2.37 

Green, T. M 4s. 4'.>, 141. 143 

Greene. Roht. L 277 

Green. John (H. (54 

Greenup. Christopher 41. 43. .'il. .VJ. 74, 184. 18.". 2.«0 

Grangers 1.83 

Giraffe, First in Frankfort lOS 

Guerrillas 1(11, 102 

Gwin, Geo. W 108 

Hamilton, Elwood 174, 237, 207, 277 



viii INDEX. 

Page 

Hall, William 54, 62 

Hardin, Martin D 69 

Hardin, Ben 77, 82 

Flardin, Gon. William 116 

Harney, William Wallace 152 

Hardinsville Bridge Rebuilt 65, 89 

Hanna, John H 92, 136, 250, 254 

Harvie, John 76, 107, 110 

Harvie, Col. Lewis 107, 143, 255 

Harlan, James 112, 159 

Harlan, Judge John M 137, 144, 146, 148, 154, 159 

Hart, Joel T 211, 2S0, 284 

Hawkins, Dr. J. Russell 223 

Hazelrigg, Judge Jas. H 277 

Hazelrigg, Dyke 277 

Harris, Daniel H 116 

Hawkins, E. 200 

Henry County, Part Taken 88 

Heeney, James 12 

Hermitage Distillery 203, 271 

Hendrick, Rev. John R 251 

Herndon, W. T 130, 135, 137 

Herndon, John C 100, 102, 135, 141 

Henderson, H. A. M 169 

Herndon, W. C 277 

Hickman, Pascal 19, 51, 54, 56, 57, 62, 192 

Hickman, Benjamin 62, 64, 261 

Hickman's, Pascal, Company 55 

Hieatt, R. C 233, 234, 237, 2.38 

Hickman, Rev. William 243, 244, 247 

Hines, Judge T. H 192, 214, 225 

High Water 202, 203 

Hiram Lodge No. 4 43, 44 

Historical Collection 279 

Hodges, Rev. Frank H 95, 247, 248 

Hodges, A. G 102, 144, 145, 199 

Hodges, S. N 149 

Holeman, Jacob H 67 

Holcman, William H Ill 

Holton, Capt. John A 109, 131, 171 

Hogs 9, lis, 190 

Hoge-Alontgomery Co 273 

House Bill No. 69 234 

Hoge, Col. Chas. E 93, 273 

Home Guards 154 

Hord, Lysander 135, 141, 147, 174, 195 

Holman, Rev. AVilliam 201 

Huett, John M 117, 147, 173 

Hughes, James 10 

Hunter, William S9 

Hutchinson, Maj. Thos. J 154 

Hutton, Nancy, Contempt 40 

Hudson. Rev. C. R 237, 257 

Hungerford, Rev. Frank 248 

Ice Machine 197 



INDEX. ix 

Viico 

Illiimiiiatiiifr Gas 130 

Imprisoument for Dobt 54, 7t 

Improvements for Frankfort 1S'_', i:.'55 

Incomes l(>s, 177 

Iiulian Depriflations .« ."ki 

Indian Slaughter 50 

Indian Gap 17 

Indians Killed Kj, 17 

Inlniman Outrage OG 

Indictment of County Court (',7 

Innis, Harry 37 

Innis, Harry B KU 

Inspection of Tobacco (m 

Internal Improvements 01 

Irish 142, 143 

Jail, Public S, li'. G2. u;?. 66. 51, 54. 72, 7:?. 115. 118, .182 

Jett, Peter 115. 146. 261 

Jett, W. L 57, 1.58. I'K). 206. 277 

Jersey Cattle 178. 20.3 

Jackson, J. Hunt 277 

Jeffers, J. W 277 

Johnson. George W 2.'*.8 

.Johnson. Harrison. Hung 170 

Johnson, AVilliam T 71 

Johnson. Frank 101. 115 

Johnson, L. F 174. 207. 214. 2.".."'>. 2."57. 277 

Johnson, Hugh. Burned in Hand 10 

Johnson, E. P 02 

Johnson, Gen. P. P Ill 

Johnson. Richard M 5s. .50. 12S, i:{4. 2S2. 2S.'! 

Johnson, Mrs. Mary E (h?, lO."} 

Johnson, B. F 124. 1.36 

Johnston, Col. J. Stoddard 1(!S. 171. 100 

Julian, John 101 

Julian, Judge Ira 101. 20 1. 277 

July 4th Celebration 18. 42. 07. 10.1. lot 

Kavanaugh, Rev. H. H 215 

Kavanaugh, F. K 215 

Kavanaugh. Bishop H. H 2(>1 

Kentucky River Marble 21 . 22 

Kentucky River 26. .50. 06. 177. 105. 202. 20a 

Kentucky Historical Society 106. 100. 227 

Kentucky Gazette Published 10 

Kentucky Military Institute 24. 102. 188. I.80. 241 

Kentucky River on Fire 171 

Kentucky Mineral Paint Co ■ 1S6 

Kentucky Midland R. R 100 

Kentucky River Mills 204 

Kenton, Simon 80 

Kendall, Amos 70. 82 

Keenon, Buck 1.54 

King. Robt. H 148. 1.50. u;?^. 164 

King's Daughters 216 

Kelley. Rev. Gilby C 261 

Kis.singer, Smelting, etc 24 



INDEX, 



Page 

Knight's Bridge Built 75, 161 

Knott, J. Proctor 204. 205 

Ku-Klux 17G 

Kirtley, John E 186 

Ladies' Guild ; 254 

Lacy, J 84 

LaFayette, Visited Frankfort *. 61, 87 

LaFayette, Portrait Painted .•..."...... 87 

Lawyers in Franlcfort in 1912 276 

Launitz, Robert E 280, 281, 282 

Lawrenceburg Established '. 72 

Lancaster, Rev. James M 252, 253 

Lee, "Willis '. 0, 17, 10, 44 

Lee, Willis A 7, 73, 6.3 

Lee, Capt. Jerry 179, 202 

Lee, Crawford 238 

Leestown 17, 2S, 29, 30 

Leestown Bridge 71, 168 

Lead Found 24 

Leonard, James Francis 206 

Lexington and Frankfort R. Co., Incorporated 88 

Lexington, Ohio R. R. Surveyed 9.3 

Lexington Higher than Frankfort 93, 94 

Letcher, Robt. P Ill, 149 

Legislature, Members of 89, 110. 131 

Library Established 73 

Lindsey, Gen. D. W., 90, 103, 146, 150, 153, 154, 172, 190, 192, 196, 224, 235. 277 285 

Lindsey, John B 277 

Lindsay, Judge William 107, 208, 216. 2.3.5. 239 

Lindsey, Thos. N 24, 130, 147, 190 - " 

Lindsey, T. N 277 

Lindsey, D. \/., Jr 277 

Lights of Frankfort 114 

Littell, William 69 

L. & N. R. R. Co 169, 218. 222, 238 

Logan, John 44 

Logan, M. M 277 

Log houses 23 

Locusts Desolate Country 107 

Lottery for School and Water 105. 112. 191 

Lottery Privileges 74, 105, 191. 112, 2.50 

Lockett, J. F 277 

London, Catherine, Hung 10 

Lock Number 4 Built 95. 96, 204 

Lock and Dam Kentucky River 50 

Love, Mrs. Elizabeth 60, 283 

Love. .Tames Y 60 

Luckett, Benjamin 109. ll.«:. 135, 119 

Lucas, .Teff 220 

Lucas, M. B 238 

Lynn, Oberson 115 

Luscher, Sigmund 197 

Macklin. A. W 92. 117. 140 

Madison, Gov. George 09. 74, 185. 280 

Mardi Gras 183 



INDEX. 



Page 

Magrudcr, Allen B 48 

Magee, Geo., Hung 220 

Magnesia Water 24 

Magistrates elected in WOS 238 

Magistrates, Ruled 118, 119, 120 

Major, Rev. Thomas 253 

Major Hall •. 109 

Major, J(jl]« B. 176 

Major, Le\v«;s R. 04, 92, 93 

Major, Patrick' '. 89 

Major, Judge V. V 103, 144, 149, IGo, 232, 233 

Major, Col. S. I. ^I 103, 111, 135, 141, 108, 174, 190, 197, 205, 206 

Mansion .*. ,...•. SO, 114 

Manufactures ^ 90, 97, 177, 209, 270, 274 

Marshall, Humphrey 17, 37, 09, 89, 139, 185 

Marshall, John J. 52, 02, 03, 04, 09, 79, 92, 110 

Marshall, Thos. F 101 

Marshall, Dr. Lewis 40 

Marshall, W. C 238, 277 

Marshall. Ben 238 

Mason, Charles E 277 

Medical Association 219 

Medals for Lake Erie Soldiers 106, 107 

Meek, B. F 107, 196 

Meriweather, David 136 

Methodist Conference 121, 147, 169, 217, 259 

Mexican Soldiers in Frankfort 195 

Mexican Veterans, Roster 125, 126, 195 

Mexican Soldiers, Buried 127, 128, 129 

Mexican Soldiers, Captured 129 

Milam, John 51 

Milam, Capt. Ben 125, 127, 129, 167 

Milam, John W 235 

Mills, James, Benefit of Clergy Granted 11 

Mill at the Penitentiary 124 

Milam, James 131 

Mineral Waters 24, 124 

Mitchell, John A 51, 62 

Mitchell. Rev. Robert 263 

Miro, lutendant of La 34, 49 

Mobs and Riots 142, 104, 178, 179, 218, 222, 224, 238 

Montgomery Street Named 33 

Monroe, T. B 77, 143, 150 

Monroe, James 141 

Monroes 147, 150, 154 

Monroe, George W 150 

Moore, J. D 222, 225 

Modern Knights 268 

Morgan's Command 153, 157 

Morton. Mrs. Jennie C 111. 208, 278 

Morehead, Clias. S 92, 103, 110, 137, 140, 168 

Morehead, James T 103, 104, 107, 110, 140 

Morris, John 115 

Morris, H. 1 140, 182 

Morris, L. W 277 



INDEX. 



Page 

Morris, Charles H 277 

Moss, Dulin 277 

Montgomery, Jas. F ^ 273 

Mount Pleasant Scbool 93 

Muster Roll of Soldiers, 1812 55 

Murder Indictments G6, 183 

Mt. Pleasant Church 240 

Murfreesboro, Charge Made 151 

Murray, James 25 

McBride, Lapsley 57, 63 

McBride, William 54, 57, 63* 

McBrayer, William 51 

McChesney, David 07 

McCreary, Gov. Jas. B. . . ; 100, 240 

H. V. McChesney 235, 277 

McClure Building .., 2G7 

McDoaaid^ John A 62 

McDon.^d7Pat 182, 186, 216, 232 

McGain, Thomas 96 

McGee, John D 96 

McGregor, Thomas B 277 

McKee, William R 127, 282 

McKee, Robt. C 119 

McManama, O. D 192 

McQueen, Joshua 136 

Mcintosh, John 73, 89 

McQuown, Lewis .' 277 

Names of State Officers Published 144 

National Authorities Refused to Help 50 

Natural Gas 25 

Nash, L. B 102 

Negroes, Sale of 112 

Negroes 97, 112, 180, 242, 275, 276 

New Court 78, 79 

Newspapers in Frankfort 100 

News, How Conveyed 18, 43 

Newton, Cal 220 

Newman, William 178 

Night Riders 223, 236 

Nicol, R. H 280 

Noel, Rev. Silas M 62, 63, 99, 243, 245, 247, 248 

Noel, J. C 213 

Nolan, Mrs. Martin 218 

Nooe, Rev. Roger T 257 

Norton, Rev. John N 254, 255 

Noted People Buried 285 

North Fork Church 247 

Nuckols, Lewis A 277 

O'Hara, Col. Theodore 139, 168, 184, 186, 104, 270. 282 

O. F. C. Distillery 238, 270. 271 

Old Court 78, 79 

Old Crow 270 

Old State Capitol 21, 76, 180, 267 

Old Judge Distillery 271 

O'Rear, Judge Edward C 278 



INDEX. xiii 

Page 

Owen County Line 73 

Old Miss _ 189 

rase, Thos. S T 74, 97, 105, 144 

I'arkcr, Jolin 1 03 

Patriot, The 79, 84 

I'attio, P. R 1G8 

I'aruell, Cbas. Stewart, Visit ».......'.. 195 

Parrent, AVm. F 149 

Palladium, Weekly Newspaper IG, 17, 35, 42 

Palladium, Items From 17, IS, 36, 37, 40 

Payne, William 9, 19, 40 

Payne, John W 218 

I'aynter, Senator Thomas IT 21, 278 

Penitentiary 11, 74, 124, 125, 1(53, 181, 191, 192, 204, 221 

I'enitentiary Outbreak 204 

Penitentiary Burned 51 

Penn, Charles, Assassinated 201 

Perry, Lake Erie Jledal 107 

I'hysicians in 1912 278 

Physicians in 1850 131 

Pleasant Hill 130 

Polsgrove, James H 220, 225, 233, 278 

Pope, John 84 

Population of Frankfort 90, 118, 131 

Population of Franklin County 40, 110, 131, 147, 180, 242 

Posey, W. H 278 

Powell, Gov 138 

Pigeon Tournament 183, 187 

Pioneers of Franklin County IS 

Precious Metals in Bridgeport ISG 

Preachers .• Co, 73, 147, 148, 1C9 

Prentice, George D 146 

Press Association 217 

Presbyterian Church 177, 249 to 252, 259 

Prominent Men in South Frankfort 1,33 

Prison Bounds Extended 54 

Preface 3 

Prominent Men in County Prior to 1800 19 

Price, John 45 

Pryor, Judge W. S 192 

Public Men G9 

Public Roads 68, 135 

Public School Building 209, 274 

Quarles, William E 62 

Qtiarlos, Ambrose 19 

Quarles, William 19 

Quinn's Bottom 14, 15 

Races 109 

Rapid Growth of Frankfort 118 

Railroad. Lexington to Frankfort Opened 94, 95, 135, 165 

Railroad Accident 94 

R. R. Bridge 135, 218 

Rebel Soldiers Shot 162 

Religious Paper Publi.'^hod 134 

Religious Revival in Frankfort 1.30. 201 

Re-Interment, Greenup, Madi.son, etc 184 



xiv INDEX. 

Pajrc 

Relief and Anti-Relief Parties 76, 77, 78 

Remains of Dead Removed to Frankfort 50, 60 

Rennick, Alexander v 73, 135, 149, 180 

Report of Grand Jury 10 

Representatives 110, 131, 147, 174 

Revenue of County 65 

Revolutionary Soldiers 71, 72 

Revolution in Making Whiskey 198 

Reynolds, J. W. Hunt 197 

Richardson, Turner 7, 19 

Richardson, Samuel Q 84, 100, 101 

Richardson, Nathaniel 9, 19, 3S, 63 

Riot Call 222 

Ripley, Capt. Garnett D 231 

River Raisin 56, 58, 59, 132 

Roads, Public 8, 12, 06, 08, 89 

Road From Lexington to Frankfort 68 

Robards, James, Removed 9, 46 

Roberts, H. II 273 

Robertson, Geo. A 219 

Robertson, Judge 77 

Robinson, J. F 160 

Roberts, Lt. John J 153 

Roberts, E. A. W 176 

Rodman, Gen. John 147, 209 

Rogers, J. C 224 

Rope Walk 12, 41 

Russell, James 64 

Russell, Capt. John W 172 

Runyan, Mrs. M. Train 124 

Sabbath School, First 61, 75, 76 

Samuels, William 64 

Samuel, Jameson 92, 110 

Samuels, Churchill 93 

Sanders, Lewis, Jr 89, 101, 103 

Sargent, John D 170 

Sayre, B. B 102, 103, 111, 182 

Schools, Public 13, 105, 114, 168, 220, 274, 275, 276 

Scott, T. W 174, 190 

Scott, Gen. Winfleld 136 

Scott, Gen. Charles 74, 1.38 

Scott, James A 15, 102, 174, 237, 278 

Scott, John L 149, 207 

Settlements on South Side 28 

Severe Storm 116 

Sharp, S. P 77, 78, 79, 80, 81, 83, 86, 285 

Sharp, Miss Eliza T 81, 82 

Sharp, Dr. Leander 82, 86 

Shelby, Gov. Isaac 6, 59, 111, 132 

Sheriffs 65, 66, 73 

Scott, John M 54 

Scroggans, Thompson 178 

Shoe ' Factory 272. 273, 274 

Shannon, James 76, 92, 102, 115 

Shannon, Rev. Samuel 244, 249, 250 



INDEX. XV 

Page 

Sbryock, Gideon 92 

Side Walk 35, 114 

Slaves, Number of In 1840 and 1850 131 

Small I'ox : OT, 100 

Smith, Green Clay 248, 240 

Smitb, Raccoon John 250, 258 

Smith, Napoleau B 205, 207, 214, 220 

Smith, Jonn 7, 9, 18, 19, 37 

Smith, George and J. D 220 

Snecd, Achilles 45, 05 

Sneed, W. H 148, 149, 207 

Sneed, Dr. W. C 159 

Soldiers of 1812 54, 55, 58, 59, CO, 180 

South, Samuel 88 

South, Martin V 175 

South, Thomas J 187 

South, Col. J. W 192, 19G 

South, Mrs. Eudora 208 

South, L. C 183 

South Frankfort 12, 201 

South Benson Church 247 

Southern Presbyterian Church 201, 262 

Soil of the County 22, 23, 26 

Spanish- Americaii Soldiers 227 

Spanish Government 50 

Spanish Conspiracy 46 

Spirit of Seventy-Six 79 

Stage Coach 113 

State Capitol dedicated 241 

State Election of ISOt) 230 

State Bank Established 51 

State Capitol Committee 76 

State Normal School (Colored) 276 

State Cemetery Described 279, 285 

State House Burnt 88, 163 

State Librarian 97 

State Monument 132, 280, 281 

State Historical Society 95, 106, 112, 132, 278 

Statistics 173, 174, 177. 178. 182. 2a5 

Stanton. Henry T 20S, 209, 226, 279 

St. Clair Street Bridge Fell 100, 170, 202 

Steam Cars, of Interest 49, 95 

Steamboats '•5, 113, 114 

E. H. Steadman 25, 205 

Steadmantown 25, 205 

Steel's Ferry 51 

Steadman, E. H. and S 96 

St. John in the Wilderness 169, 255 

Stewart, Dr. J. Q. A 24, 190 

Stafford, Hiram 238 

Stout, Robert L 278 

Streets, Dangerous 35, 38, 114, 124 

Street Cars 217, 240 

St. Clair Street Bridge Built 216 

Street Fair 226 



XVI INDEX. 



Page 

Streets, How Named 32 

Streets and Sewers 266 

St. John's A. M. E. Clnirch 2C3, 204 

Strausner, Cbas. F 273 

Suicides 237 

Sulphur Springs 2i 

Sunday Taverns 64 

Suter, Dick 219 

Swigert, Philip 102, 105, 115, US, 130, 178, 180 

Swigert, Jacob 04, 00, 73, 115, 118, 136, 14», 150, 100 

Swingle, Maj. George 113 

Sullivan, Nick 238 

Talbott, Isham 10, 52, 09 

Tate, James W 140, 209, 210, 211 

Tate, James Wk, Trial of 211 

Taylor, Edmond H. S9, 97, 103, 105 

Taylor, Col. E. H. Jr., 174, 179, 182, 190, 199, 200, 206, 208, 209, 215, 216, 2.%'}, 270 

Taylor, Gen. Zachary 130, 279 

Taylor, Richard 04 

Taylor, Benjamin 89 

Taylor, Gov. W. S 230, 231 

Taylor, Rev. John 243, 244, 245, 247 

Taylor, Rev. W. C 249 

Taylor. E. H., Jr. & Sons, Incorporated 270 

Tavern Keepers 62 

Telephone Exchange , 197 

Telegraph Line Completed 130 

The Capitol Question 234, 237 

The Old Thames Cannon Ill 

The TTnitod American Insurance 207 

The State Journal 208 

The Commonwealth 94, 138, 152 

Theobald, Samuel A 59 

Thornton, Harry J 72 

Thomas, Landon A 102, 129, 131, 181, 182, 208 

Thomas, Western B 65 

Thomas, Samuel A 278 

Thompson, R. A 182, 191, 200, 214 

Thompson, Ed Porter 214, 224 

Tithes Assessed 05, 00, 72, 73, 88, 265 

Transportation Difficult 50 

Travel, Method of Prior to 1851 43, 113 

Triplett, Lee 217 

Trimble, South 174, 233 

Toulmin, Harry 69 

Thockmorton, Richard 45 

Tobacco Raised 195, 268 

Todd, Hon. Thomas 10, 19, 09, 87 

Todd, Chas. S 09, 70 

Todd, John H 89 

Todd, Samuel Ill 

Todd, James M 133, ISO 

Todd, Harry I 140, 148 

Todd, Lieut. Lewis Franklin 152 

Trabue, Col. S. F. J 191, 285 

Troops Ordered Out 200 



INDEX. XVll 

Page 

„, . 44. 02, 63 

Trigg. I- eming g, 

Tngg, ^^llllam ^g^ 

Trat-y. Jeremiah " ' ' ' j^g 

Trustees of City School 10> 115 127 

Trustees of Franlifort "' " ' ^^ 

Trustees, Mouut Pleasant School • • „• ^^^ 

Tubman, Mrs Enoily • • • • " ' '^^^ 

Turner. Uev. H. G ^^^g 

ITtterback, Ben 27s 

Vanwinkle. A. C " ,, 

Vest. George ^^3- ^g^ 

Vest. Senator George ^^., ^^.^ ^33 

Vest- J- ^ .... 174, 221 

Violett, J. A 5 

Virginia Legislature ^gg 

Walduer, James j^j^ 

Waits, David „3 

Walnut Logs • 33 

Wappiug Street Named 

War of Rebellion '"' ^^,^ 

Waring, Francis ". '. ' So! "si." 100, lol 

Waring. John L ^., ^,.., 

Warehouses Established '• '^- '' ' ' "33 

Washington Street Named V '^ 

Water Street, Act to Open 

Waterway Through Cumberland Gap ^^^ 

Warren. Roger, Hung 

Webster, Daniel, Visited Frankfort ^^ 

Weiseger, Samuel P '.".'-' Vo ' -V on 

Weiseler, Daniel 17, 3G. 19. 42, 43, 44, 4o, 53.^.0. 90 

Western World ' ' ^_., 

Whiskey AVarehouses " " 

Whig Barbecue ^^2 

Whigs and Democrats 

Whipping Post 235 

Wiley, R. L • ^^3 

Williams. Eiia^ :::::::' ^nV.' ^i.;," ■221.' ■232.' ^78 

Williams. B. G ' „ 

Williams, M. H. P ^"- jjj^ 

Williams, Bros ^^J." ^_g 

Williams, Dr. U. V ' ~^^ 

Williams, Minus "" ' "^^ 

Williamson, Jerry. Killed 

Wilkinson Street Named • • • " " * * ^^ 

Wilkinson, James ' ' _ 

Wickliffe. Robert ^ 

Wiugate. Henry ■ ^^^ 

Winter of 1838 ^^g 

Wind and Rain Storm .^_g 

Wolfe, Oscar " „ 

WolTes jQQ 

Woods, John D ^^3 

Woods, Col. John „.,^ 

Woman's Club Organized "" 

.... JJiu 

Women, Buried 



XVUl INDEX. 



Page 

"Woodson, R. K., Jr..... 151 

Workliouse Established 187 

Yeager, James 221 

Young, Rev. Lambert 165, 166, 253 

Young, Col. B. W 279 

Young Men's Christian Association 262, 267 

Youtsey, Henry 251 

Zveigler, Dr. Jesse R 232 



LEJa'.'^g 



LIBRARY OF CONGRESS 



014 613 678 3 



. I: f » I " 



^ ' , ' III' * * n * ; » ■ 

^i;v:':;i^!4li'i::;;:':::^:!: