(navigation image)
Home American Libraries | Canadian Libraries | Universal Library | Community Texts | Project Gutenberg | Children's Library | Biodiversity Heritage Library | Additional Collections
Search: Advanced Search
Anonymous User (login or join us)
Upload
See other formats

Full text of "History of Fresno County, California, with biographical sketches of the leading men and women of the county who have been identified with its growth and development from the early days to the present"

M. L 

GEMEALCrv COLLECTION 



HISTORY OF 



FRESNO COUNTY 



CALIFORNIA 



Biographical Sketches 



OF 



The Leading Men and IVotnen of the County Who have 

bee?t Identified with its Growth a?id 

Development from the Early 

Days to the Present 




HISTORY BY 
PAUL E. VANDOR 

ILLUSTRATED 
COMPLETE IN TWO VOLUMES 

HISTORIC RECORD COMPANY 

LOS ANGELES, CALIFORNIA 
1919 



Vd 

> 



INDEX 



1154031 



« 
Q 

V 



\ 



A 

Page. 

Abbott, Andrew 800 

Abbott, Frank Edgar 2303 

Abbott, Franklin 1415 

Adams, Grant A 1955 

Adams, H. A 2199 

Adolfson, Erik 1745 

Adoor, Barsam 2553 

Adoor, Paul 2549 

Aggers, Henry 2357 

Ahlberg, Gustav E 1545 

Aikin, John W, 1270 

Akers, LeRoy 2297 

Akers, Win. Albertus 1842 

Akers Family 40 

Albrecht. A 2138 

Albright, Arthur N., D. D. S 1496 

Allen, Arthur W 969 

Allen, Jesse Buell 1542 

Allen, Thomas J 2237 

Allen, William H... 2369 

Amador, Benjamin 2052 

Andersen, Andreas H 2232 

Andersen, Mrs. Anna M 1794 

Andersen, Jes 2482 

Anderson, Arthur J 2113 

Anderson, Fred 1838 

Anderson, Garrett E H90 

Anderson, Harvey G 2031 

Anderson, Nils A 2514 

Anderson, Otto 2346 

Andrews, S. M 906 

Annigoni, Menotti 2547 

Anthony, William James 1371 

Apperson, William L 260 

Appling, David F 1000 

Arbios, Peter L 2295 

Ardohain, Martin 2539 

Arieta, Arthur 2546 

Ariey, Marie 1082 

Armstrong, John A 1759 

Armstrong, John W 1823 

Armstrong, Robert Franiclin 1425 

Arnaudon, Alfred Joseph 1927 

Arnold, Edwin L 1892 

Arnst, Christian 2582 

Arostegny, Jean 2546 

Arrants, John G. S 732 

Arrants, Leander J 1602 

Arrants, Mrs. Mary A 765 

Arriet, Angel 2484 

Arriet, Pedro 2465 

Ashton, John E 1634 

Asmussen, Mathias 757 

Atkins, Oscar D 23S1 

Atkisson, John Marshall 2419 

Augustine, Eouis 1580 

Austin, John R 975 

Autsen, Hans 2493 

Avenell, Charles P 2465 

Axt, Rudolf 2591 

Azzaro, John 2541 



Page. 

Babcock, A. Lorenzo 2164 

Baber, E. 1 2386 

Bachtold, Christian 818 

Backer, August H 1721 

Backer, Henry H 1121 

Bacon, Charles 2216 

Bacon, Oscar F 2362 

Badasci, Delmo B 2597 

Bader, Frederick 1555 

Bahrenfus, John 2436 

Bailey, Frank T 2361 

Baird, Alfred 1424 

Baird, Edson Emmet 1928 

Baird, Morgan 1048 

Baird, Mrs. Morgan 1053 

Baird, Robert 760 

Baker, A. A 2214 

Baker, James Edward 1949 

Baker, Ray W 1135 

Baker, R. C 1254 

Baker, Sands 1263 

Baker, Steve Todorovich 745 

Baley, Gillum 124, 623 

Baley, John 1502 

Balfe, John Hilton 2522 

Ball, Frank Hamilton 236, 629 

Ballard, Edward L., D. C 2489 

Banks, Jasper A 2074 

Barcus, William Milton 2398 

Bareford, Henry F 1171 

Barker, Mrs. Frances T 692 

Barnes, George W 2397 

Barnes, James F 1208 

Barnett, William 2190 

Barnett, William F 1604 

Barnum, Charles E 2355 

Barnum, Horace E 1321 

Barnwell, Robert W 1416 

Barr, George W 1124 

Barr, Wallace L 1128 

Barrett, Charles W 2143 

Barrett, Thomas T 967 

Barringer, Alexander Hamilton 1017 

Barstow, Richard Nason 702 

Bartels, Edward F 1199 

Basey, Harry Clyde 1627 

Bazterra, George 2514 

Beall, J. W 791 

Beall, Lee S 1280 

Beatty, Harry W 2221 

Beaty, W. C 994 

Beauchamp, William Perry 2380 

Beaumont, C. E 1431 

Beck, J. P. 1 2534 

Beck, N. P 2584 

Becker, William 2201 

Beekwith, B. H 1712 

Beckwith, William D 1712 

Beesemyer, A. W 1975 

Begole, Frank 2108 

Benadom, William 1022 



Page. 

Edwards, Edward Darnall 665 

Eichelberger, J. Lee 1541 

Eisner, Henry 2590 

Einstein, Louis 250 

Eklund, John E 1722 

Elam, Henry Edward 2120 

Elam, Joel Thomas 1352 

Elam, Taylor M 859 

Elder, Harland E 1589 

Eliceche, Mariano 2570 

Emerzian, Karl 2545 

Engelman, Henry J 2593 

Engelmann, Henry 2596 

Enlow, William Harrison 2239 

Ensher, K. E 2125 

Erickson, Carl 2201 

Erickson, Theodore E 2064 

Erro, Matias 915 

Errotabere, Andres 2497 

Erskine, James R 1218 

Eskesen, Karl Marinus 2594 

Espitallier, Francois 2423 

Eversoll, William 2343 

Everts, Olen Lee 1391 

Ewing, A. D 857 

Ewing, David S 851 

F 

Fabris, Nick 2424 

Fallgren, Palmer A., D.D.S 2037 

Faretta, Antonio 2589 

Farley, James Patrick 705 

Farlinger, James 1913 

Farmer, L. B 1765 

Farmers' Savings Bank of Selma 1558 

Farris, Richard 1 2250 

Fearon, Joseph 2173 

Feaver, Cecil 2216 

Feaver, George, Sr 998 

Ferguson, Andy D 1085 

Ferguson, James G 1641 

Ferguson, James M 1072 

Ferguson, John C 1212 

Fett, David 1700 

Filian, Rev. George Harootune 2567 

Finch, James E 1451 

Fincher, Levi Nelson 1098 

Fincher, James Patrick 1859 

Fincher, Vital Bangs 1817 

Fine, Alexander Campbell 958 

Fink, Mrs. Eliza 616 

First National Bank of Del Rey 804 

First National Bank of Fowler 1358 

First National Bank of Eaton 1820 

First National Bank of Selma 1775 

Fisher. William S 2220 

I'leming, John M 742 

Fleming, Miss Julia Ellen 1234 

Fleming, Russell H 741 

Flint, T. H 1678 

Fly, John Wesley 1552 

Forbes, Charles Thomas 2158 

Foristiere, Antonio 2043 

Forsyth, George 1158 

Forthcamp, Ernest August 1907 

Fosberg, C. Edward 235 1 

Foster, Ernest Winterton 1916 

Foster, Joe E 1028 

Foster, John 2135 

Fowler, Edmund Wesley 624 

Frame, George Ehner 1157 



Page. 

Frederick, L. M 1151 

Freeland. William C 1557 

Freitas, Geraldo J 1462 

Freman, Giles N 724 

French Cafe 2407 

Fresno Dairy 2550 

Fries. Henry 1764 

Frikka, James G 1176 

Fritzler, Rev. F. Felician 827 

Froelich, Otto 252 

Frowsing, Andrew J 1466 

Fuchs, John Peter 1686 

Fugelsang, N. H 2428 

Fuller, William Nelson 2240 

Punch, John H 1674 

G 

Gallaher, M. G 1217 

Gallaher, Marvin A 2362 

Galloway, C. J 2119 

Gammel, Elias 2599 

Gandrau, Augustine 2106 

Garbarino, G-. B 2521 

Garcia, Antone 2571 

Gardiner, Fred O , 1735 

Garison, William Reess 1278 

Garman, John Dunkel 1112 

Garrigan, William 2068 

Caster, Stephen A 135 

Gatchell, Lewis G 2440 

Gatewood, Charles 2407 

Cattie, John 2503 

Gearhart, Bertrand W 1751 

Gearhart, John W 1323 

Gebhart, Sylvester A 1488 

Geer, Prof. Charles L 1867 

George, S 2488 

Georgesen, Arthur C 2483 

Georgesen, Harvey H 2250 

Gerner, John 860 

Gerringer, Christoph .' 2574 

Gianinni, Peter G 2468 

Giardina, Joseph 2560 

Gibbs, Albert Grant 1047 

Gibbs, Jonathan C 1130 

Gibson, F. C 2208 

Gilardoni, Philip 2595 

Gilbert, Nathan D 729 

Gilbertson, John H 2245 

Gillespie, J. A., M.D 2033 

Giraud, Marius and Harry 16/0 

Glass, William 719 

Glaves, William Michael 2167 

Gleim, George Andreas 2497 

Glossbrenner, Abram F 1973 

Glougie, Albert V 2064 

Glougie, John R 885 

Gobby, Louis E 1862 

Gobby, Mrs. Mary J 1153 

Gobby, Rocco S 2564 

Goehring, John G 1993 

Goldsmith, Du Val P 1945 

Gonser, N. P 2415 

Good, James Henry 1329 

Goode, Herbert 2411 

Goode, Robert E 2410 

Goodell, Levi C 632 

Goodrich, Charles Frederick 1363 

Goodrich, Edward J 1123 

Googooian, G 2504 

Gordon, W. R 1801 

Cower, Edwin, Sr 863 



Page. 

Goyette, William M 2432 

Graepp, Albert R. J 1515 

Graff, Hans 666 

Graff, John C 183S 

Graham, Joseph Martin 806 

Granger, Mrs. Helen Langworthy. . . . 1860 

Grantham, Arthur B 2045 

Granz, Herman 1824 

Greenup, William L 1159 

Greenwood, William Edwin 1861 

Greer, William Allison 2352 

Gregory, James G 1 146 

Gregory, James P 2246 

Greve, Harry Henry 2296 

Greve, Martin S 1164 

Greve, Herman H 2308 

Gries, Henry 982 

Griffin. Wade 2058 

Grimes, Wilbur Willis 2038 

Grounds, Ha T 2102 

Gruwell, Joseph E 2269 

Guernsey, Geo. P 1866 

Guglielmoni, Charles 2599 

Guler, Stephen 1600 

Gunn, John and Emma L 909 

Gust, Peter 2081 

H 

Hagen, William C 1010 

Hagerty, Harry W 1320 

Hagopcan, Albert 2533 

Hain, I. R 2439 

Hain. S. H 1243 

Halemeier, Henry Rudolph 2255 

Halemeier, August H 2356 

Haliburton, Clair E 2251 

Hall, Col. Josiah 789 

Hamilton, James 1979 

Hamilton, Loman Ward 2418 

Hamilton, _L,ot ' 1581 

Hamilton, Samuel 1805 

Hamilton, W. T 2126 

Hampton, William R 258 

Hancock, Henry M 1873 

Hanke, William F 764 

Hansen, Andres C 992 

Hansen, Chris L 1914 

Hansen, Chris L 935 

Hansen, Chris Thompson 2096 

Hansen, E. M 1324 

Hansen, Ernest T. S 2340 

Hansen, Fred H 2501 

Hansen, Fred W 1228 

Hansen, Hans C 2420 

Hansen, Hans 843 

Hansen, Hans 2107 

Hansen, Hans 892 

Hansen, H. J 1005 

Hansen, Hans J 1592 

Hansen, J. C 1776 

Hansen, J. P 1658 

Hansen, James 2101 

Hansen, Jes 2526 

Hansen, Jorgen 771 

Hansen, Knud Madsen 2222 

Hansen, Niels 1286 

Hansen, Niels 2404 

Hansen, Niels Jorgen 2114 

Hansen, R 1843 

Hansen, Thomas 2453 

Hanson, Nels 1308 

Hanson, Olof 1787 



Page. 

Harder, Claus 1769 

Hardwicke, C. S 858 

Hare, William S 1939 

Harkness, Charles Berchum 1104 

Harman, Caleb 1599 

Harman, C. E 2039 

Harrell, Reuben G 663 

Harris, Amos and Antoinette 660 

Harris, Frank B 1136 

Harris, Howard A 904 

Harris, Milus King 691 

Harris, Morris B 1366 

Hart, Hon. Charles A 122, 646 

Hart, Charles Franklin 657 

Hart. Finney Miller 1734 

Hart, Truman G 648 

Hartigan, James P 1530 

Hartigan, Lester F 1488 

Hartwick, August 2420 

Harvey, Bart 1539 

Haslam, A. E 2252 

Hatch, Mrs. Mary J 642 

Hawson, Henry 1139 

Haycraft, Charles S 1109 

Hayes, Ruth L 1152 

Hayhurst, Leonidas B 1450 

Hays, Nathan Henry 1403 

Hechtman, Henry Albert 2430 

Hedges, Elwood C 1915 

Hedrick, Roy 2256 

Heerman, Lee W 1991 

Heiberg, S. John 2316 

Heidenreich, John 1723 

Heims, R. C 924 

Heinz, Frederick 2099 

Heinzer, Felix 2363 

Heisinger, Carl F 886 

Heiskell, John M 1202 

Heiskell, R. J 2327 

Helm, William 1547 

Helmuth, John Phillip 2569 

Hemmingsen, Otto P 2590 

Henderson, James D 2045 

Henderson, Mrs. Mary E 1375 

Henry, Simon William 258, 631 

Hensley, George Washington 1073 

Herman, Bonie Benjamin 1678 

Hielscher, John G. 2147 

Hill, Albert Burton 1867 

Hill, Clarence John 2427 

Hill, Harry 2184 

Hill, John 2101 

Hill, John Felix 753 

Hilton, A. R 2350 

Hines, John Newton 879 

Hinsberger, *Jacob a.... 1166 

Hinton, J. C 1529 

Hitzl, Carl 2494 

Hively, Charles A 2328 

Hoddinott, Richard 2083 

Hogan, Joseph William 1071 

Hoglund, Peter 2117 

Hogue, Samuel L 688 

Hokanson, Gust 2095 

Hole, Mrs. Elizabeth 1957 

Holland, Frank 949 

Holm, Falle P 2174 

Holm, John 2408 

Holmes, Judge Samuel A 853 

Holmgren, Frank G 1487 

Holstein, Nicholas 2557 

Hongola, John 2540 

Hoop, J. R., D.V.S 1807 



Page. > 

Hoover, Thomas A 1879 

Hopkins, H. St. George, M.D 2310 

Hopper, Samuel D 2475 

Horch. Fred 2565 

Hon?. Fred 2595 

Horn, George Wampole 986 

Hospool, George Edward 1471 

Houghton, Emmons William 2461 

• Houser, Mrs. Lucinda 2298 

Howard, Caswell B • 1201 

Hoxie. Clark 124 

Hoxie, John C 609 

Hoyer, N. L 1724 

Huber, John Peter 2597 

Huddleston, C. B 1231 

Huffman, Milton D 1061 

Hughes, Thomas E 244 

Hulbert, Henry Stephen 872 

Humphreys, John W., Sr 1103 

Humphreys. John W 2537 

Humphreys, Miles 2021 

Hunt, Ben 2472 

Hunt, Elihu B 1667 

Hurley, Jeremiah 1257 

Hurley, Timothy 1872 

Huss, C. Irvin 2601 

Hutchinson, Barzilla E 1377 

Hutchinson, John L 1494 

Hutchinson, L. M 2422 

I 

Imperatrice, Domenic 2396 

Imrie, Mrs. Mary A 1088 

Ingram, Ralph C 2088 

Ipsen, M. A. and L. P 1644 

Irigaray, Martin 2581 

Irwin, Frank L 1508 

Iversen, Iver 1003 

J 

Jacobs. Mrs. Julia Ann 935 

Jacobsen, Carl M 1110 

Jacobsen, Henry J 1635 

Jacobsen, Lewis 1181 

James, Jefferson J 253 

James, Noah E. . 1506 

James, William T 1169 

Jensen, Albert 1934 

Jensen, C. B 2462 

Jensen, Chris 1932 

Jensen, Christian 2228 

Jensen, Jesper 1718 

Jensen, L. M 1673 

Jensen, N. Peter 2304 

Jensen, P. C 2046 

Johansen, Rev. Jens 1594 

Johnson, A. G 1477 

Johnson, Aubrey R 1980 

Johnson, August 2202 

Johnson, Ben 1685 

Johnson, Carl Einil 2137 

Johnson, Mrs. Christina 1689 

Johnson, Eddie A 1679 

Johnson, Edward 2228 

Johnson, Frank T 2237 

Johnson, J. A 2355 

Johnson, J. R 2531 

Johnson, Jacob Ulrich 1698 

Johnson, Robert M 2349 

Johnson, William 1183 

Johnston, E. Melvin 1558 



ohnston. Harry M 1134 

ohnston, Septer E 14S9 

ones, George W 1061 

ones, John W 1842 

ones. R. M., M.D 2357 

ones, William A 1878 

ones, William F 1472 

onsen John 1092 

orgensen, Carl 1896 

orgensen, Chris 817 

orgensen, Chris, Jr 2345 

orgensen, Hans J 1376 

orgensen, James H. A 2257 

osc-ph, Antone 1245 

anche, Lucas 2471 

ry, Riley 2561 



Martin J. 



1790 



1624 



Kaiser, John 878 

Kartozian, Rev. H. A 1955 

Kastner, Chris 2388 

Kazarian, H 2502 

Kearney, Theo 218 

Kellar-Thomason-Fleming Company... 1546 

Kellas, Henry 2170 

Kelley, Edwin V 1418 

Kelly, John H 880 

Kerber, Henry 2507 

Kern, John J 857 

Kerner, Carl 2364 

Kerr, Ford F 2034 

Kerstetter, A. R 1383 

Kevorkian, Albert 2505 

Keyser, Abram H 1116 

Khazoyan, A. H 2069 

Kilby, Benjamin W 2028 

Kilby, W. J 799 

Kindler, Paul 1872 

King, Roberson J 2163 

Kinney, Wilson 2264 

Kinsman, Joseph M 38 

Kinzel, Conrad 2587 

Kirkman Nurseries 1586 

Kirkman, William T., Jr 1586 

Kirkorian, V 2511 

Kirmond, Charles 1848 

Kittrell. Erroll C 2062 

Klein. Sandor 2408 

Kleinsasser, D. J 2488 

Klette, Ernest 924 

Kliewer, Rev. Cornelius E 1778 

Knepper, Hugh 752 

Knittel, Max 2433 

Koeneke, Thomas H 1871 

Kohmann, Bernhard 930 

Koller, Marius L 1253 

Konkel. William H 2123 

Kopp, Adolph 1963 

Kovacevich, John, Jr 2400 

Kovacevich, Pete 2511 

Kramer, Henry H., Jr 2494 

Kreyenhagen, Adolph 825 

Kreyenhagen, Emil 1671 

Kreyenhagen, Hugo 1246 

Kruse. August 1608 

Kruse, George 2426 

Kruse. Mrs. Helen 1039 

Kruse, Henry 1193 

Kruse, L 1919 

2209 



Ma 



L 

Page. 

Lacy, Thomas B. and Jack L 2081 

Ladd, F. G 1563 

Lagudis, Stephen M 2543 

Laisne, Dr. Eugene W 1348 

Lamers, George 1548 

Lamkin, Burt B., M.D 2431 

Landry, George E 1812 

Lane, Frank M 834 

Lanfranco, Samuel 2425 

Lang, James A 1449 

Langescheid, Carl 1961 

Lanse, Frank 1940 

Lanse, Henry 1969 

Larsen, Anton 1100 

Larsen, Jorgen 1195 

Larson, C. Felix 2496 

Larson, Nils E 1672 

LaRue, Hugh William 751 

LaRue, Jabez H 664 

LaRue, Samuel Robert 665 

Laugesen, Lauge ' 2262 

Lauridsen, Frank 2207 

Lauritsen, Bertel 1683 

Lauritzen, Lauritz 1040 

Laval, Claude C 1438 

Leach, Lewis, M.D 232, 654 

Le Blanc, Joseph R 1252 

Lefever, Besley 1357 

Le Fevre, A. R 2322 

Leisman, Frank Peter 918 

Leoni, Camillo R 2022 

Leplat, Gustave 2556 

Lesher, Albert C 1969 

Levis, John 1100 

Levis, Mahlon 714 

Levy, M 1021 

Lewis, Allie T 1885 

Lewis, Mrs. Nellie 2262 

Lewis, William H 1148 

Lillis, S. C 259 

Lindgren, A. T 1405 

Lindman, Edward 1939 

Lindquist, Mrs. Anna 1426 

Lindrose, Charles 1853 

Lindsay, E. W 903 

Lindsey, Fred Eugene 1521 

Linshoft, Hans 2496 

Lisenby, Carl A 1054 

Little, H. M 1642 

Livingston, Northman C 1670 

Lochead, Robert 1383 

Lockie, James Franklin 1742 

Lockie, John Knox 1656 

Lockie, Margaret B 1877 

Lockie, William A 1432 

Lockie, William S 1733 

Loescher, Otto 1410 

Loescher. E. F 1410 

Lohman, William Joseph 1704 

Loper, John W 1264 

Lowe, Aden A 1431 

Lowther, Ross B 2346 

Lugea, Jose Michael 2558 

Lundell, Robert 2418 

Lung, John, Jr 2577 

Lynch, William 1484 

Lyon, O. D 1618 

M 

McBride, Charles 1849 

MacDonald, Rev. G. R. Edward 1133 



Page. 

McCabe, Dallas B 1931 

McCarty, Emanuel Marion 1880 

McClarty, David Carmi 1576 

McCord, Hugh Robert 1354 

McCourt, Robert 1006 

McCoy, Arthur Howard 2267 

McCray, Ira 139 

McCreary, William 973 

McCullough, H. W 1921 

McCutch'eon, Cyrus Bell 991 

McDonald, James Marshall 987 

McGuire, Luther Roy 1495 

Mclndoo, Ivan Carter 1637 

Mclndoo, William 1637 

McKamey, James H 1279 

McKay, Scott 723 

McKean, A. D 1885 

McKean, Charles Franklin 1111 

McKenzie James 609 

McKenzie, William H 122, 1091 

McKinlay, George 1766 

McLane, Harry Elmer 1458 

McLaughlin, Daniel C 2394 

McLaughlin, Jerome A 2284 

McLennan, H. M 1105 

McLeod, William D 1813 

McMurtry, M. S., M.D 1760 

McNab, Allan 1226 

McNeil, Alexander 1033 

McSwain, Walter S 997 

McVey, A. C 1522 

Mace, Capt. R. P 38 

Mackay, Donald 1854 

Mackay, James 1850 

Madsen, H 834 

Madsen, Karl 1709 

Madsen, Mads 2503 

Madsen, Mads Peter 2481 

Madsen, Rasmus 1684 

Madsen, Robert K 1 789 

Main, Eugene F 2162 

Malanca, Giovanni 2382 

Malter, George H 72S 

Maneely, Alexander 1480 

Maneely, Mrs. Gertrude 1591 

Maneely, John 2340 

Manning, Elisha Arnold 726 

Marcel, Ilhero 2575 

Marriott, George Clyde 2303 

Marshall, Charles A 854 

Marshall, Edwin C 854 

Marshall, John B 1314 

Marshall, James McConnell 1925 

Martin, Henry F 1736 

Martin, Joseph 1796 

Martinto, Dominique 2576 

Maselli, G 2539 

Massey, R. W., V.S 2375 

Mathews, Roy P 2007 

Mathison, Peter 2338 

Mattei, Andrew 937 

Mattei, Andrew, Jr 1489 

Mathiesen, Rasmus 21S5 

Matthews, George R 1118 

Matthews, J. C 2399 

Matthews, Thomas Bettis 895 

Maxson, B. D 758 

Maxwell, James Nathan 1046 

Maxwell, John Franklin 2574 

Medley, Joseph 40 

Meisner, Henry 2586 

Mercy, John J. and Henry N 2530 

Merritt, Hiram P., M.D 932 



Page. 

Metcovich, Martin 2476 

Metzler, Adam 2587 

Metzler, August 2322 

Mikkelsen, E. M 1799 

Miles, Elbridge 1036 

Miles, Virgil S 2044 

Milla, Caesar 2385 

Miller. George W 18S4 

Miller, Henry 254 

Miller, Henry C 2174 

Miller, Peter 2141 

Milnes, Alan D 1891 

Mitchell, Arthur Prentice 2424 

Mitchell, Jasper E 1322 

Mitchell, John L 1629 

Mitchell, Ralph F 1813 

Mitrovitch, Stephen N 1621 

Modine, Alfred 2075 

Moffitt, William Jordan 2334 

Moline, William 2406 

Moller, William 2056 

Molloy, Rev. Edw„ C.S.S.R 2528 

Momson, Henry A 1499 

Moncrief, E. J 1784 

Monson, Hans 1575 

Montgomery, Cloyd Burton 2002 

Montgomery, Litchfield Y 869 

Moody, Thomas F 772 

Mooney, Stephen Francis 2208 

Moore, Prof. J. W 1490 

Moran, George P 1326 

Morgan, Harry C 1771 

Morgan, John D., Jr., M.D 2452 

Morgan, Peter M 1260 

Morrison, Isaac Dossey 1758 

Mortensen, Andrew 24S7 

Morrow, Jesse 126 

Mortensen, Morten 1968 

Morton, Charles H 2429 

Mosesian, Moses Paul 2061 

Mouren, Joseph 2457 

Mower, Eugene A 2137 

Mulligan ,Mrs. Margaret 1177 

Mullins, Thomas H 1895 

Munger, Warren Sanford 1561 

Murphy, John R 1513 

Murray, Clarence 1456 

Musick, Jasper Newton 35, 1045 

Mutchler, Mr. and Mrs. Charles H.... 1277 

Myer, Isaac 2005 

Myers, J. W 200S 

N 

Nares, Elewelyn Arthur 957 

Nash, Warren G 1187 

Neal, John. 950 

Nederhouse, Z. D 2175 

Neikirk, B. F 1129 

Nelson, Albert 1970 

Nelson, Andrew 2537 

Nelson, Carl August 2344 

Nelson, Emil 1841 

Nelson, Fred 2515 

Nelson, Jonas Peter Alfred 1981 

Nelson, Peter Otto 1612 

Newman, Bernard A 1455 

Nelson, J. H 2280 

Nicklason, John August 2100 

Nidiffer, James Murray 1569 

Nielsen, Anton 1748 

Nielsen, Hans A 1771 

Nielsen, Hans Jorgen 999 



Page. 

Nielsen, Iener W 2558 

Nielsen, Niels Hansen 2552 

Nielsen, N. P 1388 

Nilmeier, Conrad 2458 

Nilmeier, Conrad H 2319 

Nilmeier, Conrad 2594 

Nilmeier, Henry P 2580 

Nilmeier, Phillip 1944 

Nieswanger, J. Franklin 1958 

Nishkian, Garabed M 2325 

Niswander, J. F 763 

Nolan, Frank J 1545 

Nord, E. M 1016 

Nord, Fritz E 1799 

Nordstrom, Rev. Magnus Anders 1493 

Norman, Horace E 1795 

Norman, J. L 1898 

North, Benjamin 1835 

Norlhrup, Ellsworth M 1550 

Norton, H. E 1378 

Nutting, W. R 1997 

O 

O'Neal, Edward. i 2382 

Oed, John 2387 

Olinger, W. E 1837 

Oliver, Mrs. Mary 1938 

Oliver, Orie Odell 1699 

Olmstead, Charles H 2376 

Olsen. Gustav 2554 

Olsen, Lorenz 2586 

Olsen, O. A 2520 

Olson, Abram 2029 

Olson, Albert Julius 1124 

Olson, Gus 1904 

Olson, Peter 1238 

Olufs, Oluf Bernard 711 

Orr, William 2495 

Oslund, John 1962 

Ostendorf, Mrs. Johanna 673 

Otis, George Buell 783 

Oussani, Joseph 2129 

Owen, Richard Thomas 706 

P 

Packard, Oren Fred 11S7 

Page, John 1520 

Parret, August 2568 

Paulsen, Soren 2451 

Payne, E. Roy 2527 

Peak, John H 1067 

Pearce, Martin W 2169 

Pearson, Emil 1122 

Pearson, Olof 2516 

Pedersen, Axel 2120 

Pedersen, Peder S 2118 

Pellissier, Hippolyt 2580 

Perez, Rudolph J 2027 

Perrin, Robert 259 

Perry, James Abner 2427 

Peters, A. B 2022 

Petersen, Mrs. Christine A 1802 

Petersen, Dagmar, M.D 2255 

Petersen, John T 2190 

Petersen, Louis 827 

Petersen, Nicolai 2531 

Petersen, Niels 1528 

Petersen, Peter M 2512 

Petersen, Thomas J 2055 

on Carl Gustat 1272 

Peterson, C. V 1381 



Page. 

Peterson, E. Ed 2052 

Peterson, Joseph A. T 1739 

Peterson, Oscar E 2124 

Pettit, Hon. Melvin 1335 

Pfister, John Rudolf 1933 

Pfost, G. W 2040 

Phelan, James C 1307 

Phelps, Z. L 1868 

Phillips, Charles C 1S82 

Phillips, Charles E., D. D. S 1479 

Phillips, Mrs. Elizabeth 694 

Phillips. Perry Commodore 694 

Pierce, Charles S 645 

Pierse, Rev. Patrick 2373 

Pilegard, Christen A 2263 

Pilegard, Mrs. Carrie 2268 

Pilegard, Peter A 2403 

Pimentel, John 1 2518 

Pinninger, Frederic William 1200 

Plate, Willard F 2193 

Piatt, Sidney L 1512 

Plunneke, Charles 1140 

Polito, S. L 1593 

Pomeroy, F. K., M.D 2033 

Porta, Emanuel 2602 

Porter, Evan Doyle 1776 

Porter, George E.. D.C 1496 

Possons. William J 1788 

Potter. Joseph Webster 1508 

Potter, M. R 1636 

Poulsen. Morten 2525 

Potter, Zane 1437 

Powers, Aaron Hubbard 1412 

Powers, Lucius 1412 

Poytress. J. A 2544 

Prandini, Joe 2592 

Prather, Joseph L 2270 

Prather, Robert R 1536 

Pretzer. Henry, Sr 1769 

Pretzer, Henry, Jr 2195 

Preuss. Charles 1225 

Price. Oscar E 1777 

Price. R. L 1741 

Proodian. H 2210 

Puccinelli, Louis 2600 

Puckhaber. Charles R 2291 

Pugh Brothers 1692 

Pugh, John M 630 

Pugh. John Sallee 1633 

Pugh. Sarah Frances, D.0 1435 

Q 

Quails, Tohn M 1372 

Ouick. Herbert B 2188 

Quist, A. J 2433 

R 

Ramacher, Henry 1097 

Ramacher, Leonard D 1165 

Ramacher, Leroy 1850 

Randrup, George 2405 

Randrup. James B 2389 

Rasmussen. Axel H 1662 

Rathgeber, Philipp 2374 

Rathmann, Theodore 2602 

Rauscher. Henry 1490 

Rawson, Mrs. Eva H 1314 

Rebensdorf, Fred 2524 

Reese. Edgar Orlando 2090 

Reese, Thomas J 2542 

Rehorn, Frank 1551 



Vol. Page. 

II Rennie, William 831 

II Retallick, Richard G 2083 

II Reyburn, Clarence James 777 

II Reyburn, James John 685 

II Reyburn, Joseph Davidson 731 

II Reyburn, Leslie Devoe 929 

II Rhea, Robert W 1127 

II Rhodes, Stephen Walton 2189 

II Rice, Rozell W 2399 

II Richardson, Charles Henry 2278 

I Richardson, Thomas E 1819 

I Richmond, Emmett G 1360 

I Richmond, William Sherman 2279 

II Riggins, Emmett 1400 

II Riggs, Don Pardee 1062 

II Ring, Theodore J 1662 

II Risley, E. W 1669 

II Roberts, Victor 2307 

I Robertson, James MacGregnr 1715 

II Robinson, T. H., M.D 1830 

II Robinson, Raymond D 2232 

II Robinson, Winfield Scott 1055 

II Rodrigues, Frank V 2196 

II Roeding, Frederick C 256 

II Roessler, Fred M 2523 

II Rogers, E. B 1086 

IT Rogers,. James J 42 

II Rohr. H. G 2462 

II Romain, Frank M 963 

II Rorden, John C 1567 

II Roscelli. Charles 2561 

II Rose, Anthony G 2391 

II Rose, Dale 2276 

II Rosendahl, Frank D 1232 

II Rosenthal, Jacob 2234 

II Ross, James 1147 

II Rougny, Albert 2579 

II Rougny, Eugene 2556 

II Roullard, Fred P 1740 

II Rowell, Albert Abbott 641 

I Rowell, Dr. Chester 237 

II Rowell, Chester Harvey 942 

II Rowell. William Franklin 884 

II Ruble, John W 2309 

IT Rucker, Miss Maggie P 910 

II Rudolf, Adam 2589 

IT Rudolph. Henry. Jr 2551 

I Rusconi, Louis 2175 

IT Rusconi. Peter 2507 

II Russell. Capt. Ezra M 700 

Russell, Mr. and Mrs. H. W 2326 

Rusten. O. C 1902 

Ruth. William 1170 

II Ryan, Jerry 303 

IT Ryan, William H 302, 718 

II 

S 

Sabroe, Carl 1987 

I Sagniere, Joseph 1211 

I Sahargun, Jean 2562 

II Sallaberry, Brothers 2578 

II Samelson, Samuel 970 

II Sample, Cowan A 1535 

II Sample, David Cowan 651 

II Sample. Samuel C 1891 

II Sandberg, David 1946 

II Sandeson, Charles N 2444 

II Sanford, Louis Childs, Rt. Rev. D.D.. 805 

II Santen. Henry 1258 

II Sassano. Aniello 2580 

II Savage, H. A 2421 

II Saxe, Christian 746 



Page. 

Say, Grant D. G 993 

Say, James H 993 

Say, Mrs. Laura J 1081 

Say, Lyle H 1382 

Say, William Henry 1079 

Scales, William L 1451 

Scharer, Charles 923 

Scheidt, Fred 2067 

Scheidt, George 2576 

Scheidt, Henry 2563 

Scheidt, J. Henry 2157 

Schell, Mrs. Louisa Dumont 968 

Schlotthauer, J. A 2316 

Schmall, John Peter 2118 

Schmidt, John A 2489 

Schmitz, Ernest 2591 

Schneider, Conrad 2575 

Schcneider, Henry 2548 

Scholler, Louis 2386 

Schuknecht, Theodore H 2500 

Schultz, Barney 1919 

Schultz, Mrs. Mary 2012 

Schwabenland, Alexander P 2601 

Schwinn, George 1534 

Sciacqua. Leopoldo 2560 

Scoggins, John Lee 1733 

Scott, David 1727 

Scott, Jay .... i 707 

Scott, Hon. L. D 2443 

Scott, Phil 898 

Scott, Ralph H 2002 

Scott, Robert 1555 

Seacord, David 2367 

Self, J. A 1843 

Selma Irrigator (The) 1783 

Selma National Bank 1558 

Selma Savings Bank 1775 

Sempe, Charles 2403 

Semper, Natalio 2337 

Sequeira, Antone George 2468 

Sequeira, Louis George 1844 

Serian, Harry S 2498 

Serimian, A. S 2598 

Serrano, Florencio 2429 

Serrano Matias , 2505 

Sessions, Capt. Herbert A 1529 

Setchel, W. Flanders 2314 

Setty. Rev. Sanford E 1890 

Seubert, Rev. George P 1628 

Shafer, John 1562 

Shafer, W. H 1574 

Shannon, Albert Sidney Johnston 1336 

Shannon, Jefferson M 1436 

Shannon, L. S 1347 

Shannon. Scott A 2291 

Sharer, John William 797 

Sharer, Marques Monroe 766 

Sharp, Ivy Watson 1616 

Shaver, Charles B 1305 

Shaw, A. Clifford 1592 

Shell Company of California 2283 

Shimmins, Mrs. Myra 845 

Shipp, George R 1417 

Shipp, John M 2289 

Shishmanian, G. N 2538 

Short, Frank H 615 

Short, John W 686 

Shuey, John W 780 

Sides, Major M 813 

Siering, Herman F 1029 

Silva, Frank 922 

Silveira, Joseph J 2585 

Sime, Alexander 2274 



Page. Vol. 

Simerly, Clarence G 2219 II 

Simerly, John B 2215 II 

Simpson, Albert P 1456 II 

Simpson, James William 1501 II 

Simpson, John Greenup, Sr 2008 II 

Simpson, Thomas Jackson 1836 II 

Sims, Benjamin L 2425 II 

Sims, James William 1630 II 

Sinclair, John G. C 1283 I 

Sininger, William H 2057 II 

Skoonburg, J. L 1184 I 

Slater, Edward Earl 1396 II 

Smelley, Christopher 2070 II 

Smith, Chris H 1240 I 

Smith, Edwin Herbert 1319 II 

Smith, Flora W., M.D 1213 I 

Smith, George E 2017 II 

Smith, George W 747 I 

Smith, James W 976 I 

Smith, John E 2429 II 

Smith, John W 1747 II 

Smith, Lewis Howell 1549 II 

Smith, Thomas D„ M.D 1717 II 

Smith, Thomas P 1207 I 

Smoot, Guy Thomas 2392 II 

Snow, Alva E 852 I 

Snyder, C. Ross 1650 II 

Snyder, George 2435 II 

Snyder, George H 2233 II 

Soderberg, Andrew 2566 II 

Soper, Mrs. Sadie Elizabeth 1829 II 

Sorensen, Christian 2500 II 

Sorensen. Hans William, D.D.S 1690 II 

Souza, Ed. J 1818 II 

South, N. Lindsay 2016 II 

Spear, E. R 2275 II 

Spence, David A 1703 II 

Spence, Harry Edward 2024 II 

Spence, John Young 2070 II 

Spencer, Wright H 1896 II 

Spires, H. E 2412 II 

Spomer, Rev. August 2395 II 

Staley, William S 1365 II 

Stammers, Clarence L., M.D 2286 II 

Stange, Hugo S 1528 II 

Stange, Paul T 2391 II 

Stanton, M. E 1326 II 

Statham, Bert A 2285 II 

Staub, Arnold Humboldt 1897 II 

Stay, Andrew H 1922 II 

Stay, Ole H 2375 II 

Steitz, H. P., Jr 2270 II 

Steitz, John August 2111 II 

Stephens, Lewis O S46 I 

Steward, George Wallace 1664 II 

Steward, Nehemiah W 1564 II 

Stieglitz, Michael 2183 II 

St. John, Enos Frost 652 I 

Stockton, Guy 1339 II 

Stone, Charles J 1903 II 

Stone. W. T 1690 II 

Stowell, Henry Oakley 2213 II 

Strader, William Franklin 1364 II 

Stranahan, John H 2213 II 

Stratton, John J 2028 II 

Stricklin, James Henry 2030 II 

Strid, Charles 1237 I 

Stump, Allen Everett 1580 II 

Sturtevant, Andrew Judson, Jr 1536 II 

Suglian, John 1465 II 

Sulprizio, Deuta 2524 II 

Sunderland, Al E 1145 I 

Sutherland, William 708 I 



Page. Vol. 

Swanson, John August 2598 II 

Swanson, Nels 2057 II 

Sward, Axel W 1285 I 

Sweeney, Albert Hamlet, M.D 1141 I 

Sweezey, E. B 1332 II 

Swift, Harvey W... 659 I 

Swift, Lewis P 740 I 

Swift, Reuben James 2156 II 

Swigart, Edward Cooper 1680 II 

Swiss Supply Company 2597 II 

T 

Taft, George W 618 I 

Taft, Mrs. Emma M 618 I 

Tangney, P. D 2195 II 

Taylor, Alexander 754 I 

Taylor, George H 1452 II 

Taylor, Marion H 2156 II 

Teague, Charles 828 I 

Teilman, Ingvart 692 I 

Telin, C 982 I 

Thiede, Rev. K. A. Herman 1219 I 

Thomas, Benjamin Cassius 1042 I 

Thome, Eugene P 2508 II 

Thompson, A. E 1627 II 

Thompson, Georgia Emily, M.D 2389 II 

Thompson, James Wallace 2358 II 

Thompson, William P 658 I 

Thomsen, Jens Christian 1160 I 

Thomsen, Mathias 1706 II 

Thornton, Philip Burt 2570 II 

Thorwaldson, Horace 1514 II 

Thurman, William C 1656 II 

Tobiasen, Bendiks 1770 II 

Toccalini, Jack 2517 II 

Todd, Clayton Wesley 2149 II 

Tomasetti, Eugene 2595 II 

Toreson, August 2490 II 

Traber, Charles H., M.D 1594 II 

Traber, Prof. John W 739 I 

Trabing. Charles Willard 1239 I 

Tranberg, James J 2132 II 

Traweek, Cecil Calvert 1661 II 

Trout, William Arthur 1814 II 

Trucchi, Annibale 2564 II 

Tuck Brothers 2148 II 

Tucker, F 2321 II 

Tucker, Steve 2344 II 

Tufenkjian, Sarkis, M.D 1056 I 

Tupper, Henry Clay 626 I 

Turner, George A 2412 II 

Turner, William 2093 II 

Tuttle, George M ■.. 2074 II 

Tuttle, John E 2037 II 

Twining, Frederick E 1449 II 

U 

Uhd, Hans A 1 142 I 

Uhler, Russell 1470 II 

Underwood, Olin C 1711 II 

Urrutia, Juan Miguel 2258 II 

V 

Vanderburgh, John Jay 1172 I 

Vandor, Paul E 1311 II 

Van Meter, Edgar Snowden 1112 I 

Van Ness, William H 1004 I 

Van Ronk, Lewis E 2333 II 

Venard, William F 1423 II 

Venter, Otto 2076 II 



Page. 

Verble, H. E 2368 

Verwoert, Mrs. Alfreda 2082 

Vignola, Angelo 1668 

Vignola, Guy R 1668 

Villanueva, Miguel 2490 

Vincent, Manuel 1710 

Voenes, George J 2547 

Vogel, Frederick Karl 2395 

Vogel, Herbert E 778 

Vogel, Jacob 778 

Vogelsang. Edward D 1099 

Voice. Charles E 2409 

Voorhees, Truman L 2315 

Vntaw, A. S 2379 

Vought, Lawrence 865 

w 

Wagner, Fred 2593 

Wahl, Mrs. Louis 2379 

Wal.lberg, Arthur G 1691 

Walder, William U 2319 

Walker, James N 40 

Wall, Elmer Thomas 1783 

Wallace, Duncan, A. B„ B. D„ A. M. . 866 

Wallace, Miles 975 

Wallers, John 2493 

Walley, Granville Hartman 1442 

Walsh, John J 1847 

Walter, Charles Lewis 2571 

Walter, John W. 1926 

Walton, John T 1194 

Waltz, S. W : 1607 

Ward, H. L 1S20 

Ward. John Allison 2434 

Ward, W. W 2131 

Warlow, George L 844 

Warner, Anna S 1074 

Warner, Beldin J 1074 

Warner, Percy N 1847 

Watkins, John W 1551 

Weaver, Willis D 974 

Webb, Arthur E 1404 

Webb, Hon. James Ransom 2445 

Weber, Henry, Jr 2049 

Webster, John 1698 

Wehrmann, Fritz 1012 

Weitz, George H 1015 

Welch, W. A 1212 

Weldon, Robert W 2073 

Wells, Absalom 1141 

Wells, Charles 1369 

Wells, Charles Prather 2296 

Wells, Earl J 2413 

Wells, Francis Asbury 1220 

Wells, Hon. F. E 962 

Wertz, William 1326 

White, T. C 1430 

Whiteside, Olney 1330 

Wickliffe, Alfred 2370 

Wickliffe, William P 1772 

Wiesbrod, G 2541 

Wiggenhauser, Joseph 2111 

Wildermuth, H 2506 

Wilkins, James P 2405 

Wilkins, Reuben Franklin 2416 

Williams, Charles Elliott 2023 

Williams, D. A 1S08 

Williams, Edward A 956 

Williams, Harold Clyde 2150 

Williams, Henry H 2314 

Williams, Jess L 2095 

Williams, Samuel B 2301 



Page. 

Williamson. Charles 1763 

Williamson, David 1469 

Williamson. George F 838 

Williamson, Simeon Edgar 1811 

Wilson. Aubrey 1904 

Wilson, Ernest T 1617 

Wilson, Eugene 2219 

Wilson. Henry Thomas 1909 

Wilson, J. D 1196 

Winblad, Sig 1564 

Winchell. Anna Cora 679 

Winchell, Hon. Elisha C 127 635 

Winchell. Laura C 638 

Winchell. Ledyard F 678 

Winchell, Lilbourne A 674 

Winter, Conrad 2585 

Winter, Karl 24S3 

Winter, Peter 2087 

Wishon. A. G 1306 

Wistrom, Fred 2096 

Witten, Kinza P 2161 

Wolf, Peter J 2440 

Wolfe, G. A 2030 

Wolgamott, Zenas 1034 

Wolter, Rev. Carl W 1117 

Wood, Robert M 1443 

Woodall. EH 2112 

Woodworth. Joseph E 921 



Page. 

Wormser. Sigmund 964 

Wny, Martin Luther 944 

Wristen, William David 999 

Wulf, Andreas 1985 

Wulf, Peter 1988 

Wyllie, Bunnie Lawrence 1353 

Y 

Yancey, America Frances 1387 

Yeretzian, Arsen 1651 

Yerington, William 2397 

Yoakem, James Marion 1908 

Young, August J 2583 

Young, John and Alice 1511 

Youngquist, Mr. and Mrs. John A 2297 

Yraceburu, Joe 2273 

Yraceburu, Jose M 2563 

Yzurdiaga, Firmin 2588 

z 

Zandueta, Jose 2542 

Zanolini, Silvio 2321 

Zediker, David S 18S9 

Zimmer, William T 1200 

Zinn, Thomas H ' 1429 

Zwang, Jacob 2196 



BIOGRAPHICAL 



CHARLES B. SHAVER. — A very important factor in the promotion ot 
the Fresno Flume and Irrigation Company, was the late Charles B. Shaver, 
who located in Fresno in 1892. Being a man of extensive experience in the 
lumber business he foresaw the possibilities of the Fresno Flume and Irriga- 
tion Company, an enterprise which had just been organized, and immediately 
bought an interest in the company and at once assumed charge of the con- 
struction, completing the surveys and building the flumes from Stevenson 
Creek, where the company built a dam sixty feet high, to Clovis, Fresno 
County, the flume being forty and one quarter miles in length, and requiring 
9,000,000 feet of lumber to "construct and an expense of $200,000. At the 
same time the construction of mills in the mountains was begun and carried 
to completion, two years being occupied in preparation for this extensive 
work. The planing mills, box factory and dry kilns of the company are 
located in Clovis, to which place the lumber is brought down by the flume. 
The output of this great enterprise is shipped to all parts of the world. To the 
energy, enterprise and experience of Charles B. Shaver, is due the culmina- 
tion of this important undertaking, which has proved of such great impor- 
tance in the development of this section of Fresno County. 

Charles B. Shaver was a native of Steuben County, N. Y. where he was 
born in 1855, a son of John L. Shaver who was a native of Delaware County, 
of the same state. John L. Shaver was a miller in New York state until 
1864, when he removed to St. Louis, Gratiot County, Mich, where he engaged 
in farming and continued to make his home until his death, which occurred 
at the age of seventy-four years. His wife, who in maidenhood, was Mary 
Rose, has also passed away. Charles B. Shaver was next to the youngest 
child in a family of four and received his early education in the public schools 
of Michigan, to which state he moved with his parents when a lad of nine 
years. At the age of nineteen he engaged in lumbering and was employed 
by Whitney and Stinchfield of Detroit, Mich., later becoming a foreman in 
the woods and in which position he remained until 1882, when he resigned 
and accepted a position with A. B. Long and Son of Grand Rapids, Mich. 
While in their employ he assisted in the building of the logging railway and 
became interested in their mills and lumber plant until 1889, when he re- 
signed and became associated with the White Friant Lumber Company, 
with whom he continued two years and during which time he constructed 
fourteen miles of logging railway and put in over one hundred million feet 
of logs. In 1891 he went to Missouri where he built a mill for Boyden and 
Wyman Lumber Company, at Neelysville, Mo. In 1892, he migrated to 
California and located at Fresno, where he was instrumental in the building 
and the development of the Fresno Flume and Irrigation Company, becom- 
ing the president of the organization in 1894. He was also a member of 
the Pine Box and Lumber Company, of San Francisco, and the California 
Sugar and White Pine Agency, in both of which companies he served as 
a director. 

In Grand Rapids, Mich. on. December 6, 1883, Charles B. Shaver was 
united in marriage with Lena A. Roberts, a native of Pennsylvania. This 
union was blessed with three children : Grace, who is the wife of Captain 
H. J. Craycroft, U. S. A. medical detachment; Mrs. Ethel Hoover; and 
Doris who is the wife of Harold McDonald, of Fresno. 



1306 HISTORY OF FRESNO COUNTY 

After a very active and successful career, Charles B. Shaver passed 
away on Christmas day, 1907. Fraternally, he was a Mason, having joined 
the organization in Edmore, Mich., later becoming a member of Fresno 
Lodge, No. 247, F. & A. M. ; he also belonged to Trigo Chapter No. 69, 
Fresno Lodge No. 29, K. T., Lodge of Perfection at Fresno and Islam 
Temple A. A. O. N. M. S. of San Francisco. He was a member of Fresno 
Lodge No. 439 B. P. O. Elks, the Chamber of Commerce and the Sequoia 
Club. 

A. G. WISHON. — Prominent among the citizens of widely-felt influence 
in both the commercial and financial circles of Fresno, and one whose contri- 
butions to the development of the resources of the San Joaquin Valley have 
proven of inestimable value and are generally recognized, is A. G. Wishon, 
the worthy representative of a family that traces its ancestry with justifiable 
pride through the history of the State of North Carolina, back to the ro- 
mantic days of la belle France. He was born in Phelps County, Mo., on No- 
vember 6. 1858, the son of Marion Wishon, a native of East St. Louis, 111., 
who was a farmer and merchant at St. James, in, Phelps County, and a man 
of unusual ability. He interested himself for years in fostering the best move- 
ments for the community, and consented to serve as the first Sheriff — and 
an intrepid one, too — of that county. He married Miss Mary Coppedge of 
Missouri, a daughter of Lindsay L. Coppedge, a Virginian and an honored 
member of an old and distinguished family of that State. He came to be a 
pioneer settler of Pulaski County, Mo., and for sixty years resided at Cop- 
pedge Mills, a place named from the mill he established there. Seven chil- 
dren were born to Mr. and Mrs. Marion Wishon. among whom the subject 
of this review is the eldest ; and five of whom, and also the mother, are now 
residing in California. 

After completing his education at the Missouri School of Mines, at Rolla, 
Mo., a branch of the well-endowed University of Missouri, A. G. Wishon at 
the age of eighteen became dependent upon his own resources and was for a 
while employed in the office of the wholesale grocery firm of Moody, Michel 
and Company of St. Louis. Later, he traveled through the South for the Ad- 
ler Goldman Company, cotton brokers and commission merchants of the same 
city, and after that he engaged in mercantile business for himself and suc- 
cessfully conducted stores at Sullivan and Stanton, Franklin County, and at 
St. James, Mo. When he disposed of his stores, he became chief of "office for 
Captain R. M. Peck, superintendent of bridges and buildings of the Missouri 
Pacific Railroad at Pacific, a town in Franklin County ; and on resigning from 
that trust in 1888, he migrated to California with so many thousands of others 
who were attracted here through the great land boom of the late eighties. 

Arriving in the Golden State, he associated himself with the old San Joa- 
quin Lumber Company at Tulare, at that time under the general management 
of T. G. Yancey, and local management of E. Lathrop, and subsequentlv he 
filled the position of cashier and bookkeeper for the Tulare County Bank. 
Still later, he opened an office in Tulare for the promotion of various enter- 
prises and the disposition of lands, and he became a notable factor in the pro- 
motion of pump irrigation in the San Joaquin Valley, a scientific enterprise 
that soon rendered highly productive vast areas of land which hitherto could 
not be profitably cultivated. 

Mr. Wishon's first extensive project was the building of the Exeter Ditch, 
for which the water was brought from the Kaweah River above Lemon Cove, 
and along the base of the hills almost to Lindsay, Tulare County, a distance 
of about twenty miles. At the time when this difficult and expensive task 
was undertaken, there was not an orange or lemon grove in the region de- 
signed to be supplied by the canal, but through his successful completion of 
the work he transformed the country into one of the best citrus-fruit pro- 
ducing sections of the State. He financed the enterprise and after its com- 



HISTORY OF FRESNO COUNTY 1307 

pletion sold his lands at a handsome, deserved profit; and some of the acreage 
then disposed of includes today some of the finest California groves. 

Another important enterprise which was fostered and developed by A. 
G. W'ishon, and which has brought to so many incalculable returns, was the 
organization of the Mt. Whitney Power Company, which was the pioneer 
in electrical pumping in California. Having secured the rights to the head- 
waters of the Kaweah, he then associated with him as partner William H. 
Hammond, brother of John Hays Hammond, the famous mining expert, and 
installed a power plant, and not only did he bring the project to a reality, but 
he himself managed the enterprise until its success was assured. This plant 
distributes power and light to Tulare, Visalia, Exeter, Porterville and Lind- 
say. 

In May, 1903, Mr. Wishon became the General Manager of the San Joa- 
quin Power Company of Fresno, and soon after Vice-President, Director 
and Manager of the Fresno City Railroad, and Vice-President and Manager 
of the Fresno Water Company. In 1904, foreseeing the increasing appeal of 
Nature's wonderland and the rapid advances in population, he was active 
in the organization of the Fresno Traction Company, with a capitalization of 
$5,000,000, to absorb the Fresno City Railroad and to construct a line to the 
Yosemite Valley, a distance of eighty miles through a most picturesque sec- 
tion of the State, and he has gradually become associated with many other 
California enterprises, a number of which he helped to found. 

On October 5, 1881, Mr. Wishon was united in marriage with Miss Hen- 
rietta Emory, a native of Steelville, Mo., and the daughter of Azro Emory of 
St. James, Mo., members of the Emory family that has already given to the 
advance intellectual guard of America a leading bishop, an educator, a sol- 
dier of prominence and a naval official who distinguished himself while com- 
manding the Bear of the Greely Relief Expedition. The ceremony was sol- 
emnized at St. James, Mo., and of that happy union two children were born, 
Emory and Jenny. 

Fraternally, Mr. Wishon is a Mason and a charter member of Las Palmas 
Lodge, F. & A. M., at Fresno, and also of other branches of the order. He 
belongs as well to the Fresno Chamber of Commerce, where he is never 
found wanting when expected to put his shoulder to the wheel, and to the 
Sequoia, Commercial, University and Sunnyside clubs of Fresno, the Cali- 
fornia Club of Los Angeles, and various other representative organizations 
throughout the state. 

JAMES C. PHELAN. — The automobile garage owned by James C. 
Phelan, and named after him, is cleverly planned, well built, and managed 
according to up-to-date methods. Mr. Phelan's father, who was an honored 
veteran of the Union Army in our Civil War, is D. F. Phelan, and he is 
still living at Los Angeles. Prior to casting his lot in the Golden State, he 
was a pioneer in Colorado. Mrs. Phelan, who was Annie Donahue before 
her marriage, is deceased. 

Born in the Centennial State on October 25, 1867, James C. Phelan was 
educated at the public schools in Colorado and New Mexico, and also, as 
he likes to put it, in " the great school of experience." As a young man, he 
ventured in both the grocery and butcher business, having a store when 
only nineteen years of age, at Albuquerque, N. M. For fourteen years, too, 
his business at Williams, Arizona, was one of the most progressive and prof- 
itable establishments in that town. 

On September 9, 1893, Mr. Phelan was married to Miss Myrtie Dickin- 
son, and this union was blessed with three boys and four girls, viz : Mary M., 
Chris E., Roy N., Jimmie J., Ruth E., Bernice L., and Leoma C, all of whom 
were educated in the public schools of Fresno, the two eldest studied at 
Heald's Business College, while Roy N., is a student at the University of 
California at Berkeley. Mr. Phelan has accepted the doctrines of the Chris- 



1308 HISTORY OF FRESNO COUNTY 

tian Scientists, socially he finds recreation in the circles of the Woodmen of 
the World, the Knights of Pythias, and the Young Men's Christian Asso- 
ciation. 

In May, 1916, he built the finest and most complete auto establishment 
in California, spending $90,000 upon the same. He then became agent, for 
the San Joaquin Valley, of the Maxwell, Mitchell and Marmon automobiles, 
and the Kleiber and Maxwell Trucks. He employs from forty to fifty men to 
man the several departments, each of which is complete in itself. When he 
first came to California, in 1905, he worked for three years on the Fresno 
ranch ; and then, getting into the automobile business in a modest way, he 
has made success after success. Mr. Phelan sold out in August. 1919. 

Mr. Phelan is a stanch Democrat, but always something more than a 
political partisan. In advocating and working for good roads, for example, 
his public-spiritedness has been particularly shown. 

NELS HANSON. — Everybody in Kingsburg has a kind thought and 
a good word for Nels Hanson, who was born at Lund, Skaarn, Sweden, on 
December 8, 1858, and reared in the old university town, where he began his 
education at the public schools. His father was Hanson Hanson, a farmer 
in modest circumstances who lived to be only thirty-three years of age 
and died in Sweden. His mother, Elna Peterson before her marriage, also 
lived and died where she was married. As a lad of seven, Nels, while attend- 
ing the Lutheran Church, in which faith his parents brought him up, worked 
in a woolen mill at Lund, continuing there for five and a half hard years. 
After that he served a three years' apprenticeship to the tanners' trade, work- 
ing for the well-known tanner and capitalist, Thelander, and becoming a 
journeyman in 1879. 

Having thus equipped himself for a definite line of labor in life, Nels, 
in the latter part of 1880 sailed from Copenhagen for New York, and once 
safely within the borders of the United States, he made his way to Chicago 
where, for three months, he worked at the tanner's trade. Then he joined a 
construction gang on the Chicago, Burlington & Ouincy Railway in Iowa, 
but in a short time he came back to Chicago and in the fall of that year 
went with some companions to Ishpeming, Mich., and there undertook to 
work in the mines. In time he became foreman and inspector, and received 
the highest wages paid to anyone there. After several years he became an 
independent mine contractor; and while saving his money, he sent it to a 
partner, Charles Carlson, at Kingsburg, now deceased, with whom he had 
purchased some eighty choice acres, which Carlson was farming to grain. 

As a result of this investment, Nels arrived in Kingsburg early in the 
spring of 1888. He liked the town from the very first, although he was fated 
to suffer heavily in the panics during the Cleveland administration. In May, 
1888, Mr. Hanson, longing to see the scenes of his native land, made a trip 
back to his old home at Lund. He wished also to meet again his fiancee, 
Cecelia Hanson (of the same name, but of no kinship), to whom he had been 
engaged for ten years; and the result of this meeting was that Miss Hanson 
came out to America, and they were married at Kingsburg on September 
25, 1888. Now they are the parents of four children: Frank, who was in 
Company B, Three Hundred Sixty-fourth Regiment, Infantry. Washington, 
and at Camp Lewis, later served with the Ninety-first Division in the Ar- 
gonne in France, became automatic gunner, was gassed, arrived home and 
was honorably discharged at Camp Kearney and reached home April 26, 
1919: Alfred, who married Emma Peterson of Kingsburg, and is a rancher: 
Victor, who lives at home ; and Henry, a graduate of the Kingsburg High 
School, Class of 1916, and who was in the military police at Camp Fremont. 
When Messrs. Hanson and Carlson sold the eighty acres referred to, 
they accepted, as part of the sale price, a note for $1,800. but the purchaser 
having defaulted in his payments, Mr. Hanson had to take back part of the 
• land — for him a disappointment through which, at the time, he saw only mis- 




t e*^Ui&ye^i*^vLirY*- 



HISTORY OF FRESNO COUNTY 1311 

fortune and the necessity of his remaining at Kingsburg. Instead of a loss, 
however, it has proven a most valuable holding; half of it lies within the 
incorporated limits of Kingsburg, and such is the location that it is con- 
stantly advancing in worth. For six months Mr. Hanson remained at Kings- 
burg making improvements, and then he went to Portland, Ore., and became 
a bridge carpenter. 

At the termination of three months, Mr. Hanson came back to Cali- 
fornia and Kingsburg, and continued improving the land. He planted twelve 
and a half acres to muscats, and the balance to alfalfa. He put up the cus- 
tomary outbuildings, and erected a comfortable, ornate residence, so that 
as a home-place he has succeeded in evolving a choice country property. 
Mr. Hanson also owns a vineyard of twenty acres one and a half miles 
north of Kingsburg, which he has set out to zinfandels, and twenty acres 
set out to Thompson's seedless grapes ; and he has forty acres four miles 
west, all in muscats, planted by himself and now ten years old. 

As a public-spirited citizen, Mr. Hanson has done his full duty in serv- 
ing on federal and trial juries ; while he has contributed to the social life 
of the community in his activity within the circles of the Masons and in 
particular within the Traver Lodge, No. 294, at Kingsburg. He is well- 
informed, progressive and withal a man of large heart; and his excellent 
wife is a true companion. 

PAUL E. VANDOR.— The life career of Paul E. Vandor, writer of this 
History of Fresno County, is typical of the varied experiences and activities 
common to that remarkable product of American institutions, the newspaper 
writer — that restless, indefatigable worker that is ever in touch with the 
popular pulse, that aids in directing public opinion and while wielding an 
invisible but conscious power yet sinks individuality in the impersonality of 
his work, that contributes to and encourages the development and permanent 
exploitation of communities, and that, while giving the best years of life 
and an unimpeachable loyalty to a chosen vocation, seldom reaps personal 
reward for his unceasing efforts in behalf of the public weal. This newspaper 
class or body of journalists has humorously perhaps been named the Fourth 
Estate to distinguish an acknowledged power in the state body politic, dis- 
tinct from the three recognized political or social orders. The subject of this 
sketch was born at Milwaukee, Wis., June 13, 1858, and is the eldest son of 
three living children. His father, who died in San Francisco in the seventies, 
was Joseph Vandor, a Hungarian nobleman, who was a major in the Austrian 
army. He cast his lot with Kossuth and the Hungarian revolution of 1848-49, 
but with its collapse and the loss of ancestral estate, escheated to the Crown, 
fled proscribed to America, sailing from Glasgow, Scotland, as the last port 
of embarcation. On December 4, 1849, he arrived in the United States in such 
an impoverished state that, with ignorance of the English language, life for 
him in the new land was beset by many vicissitudes, and he was reduced to 
manual labor for a livelihood. Gaining after a time a working knowledge of 
the language, the while economizing strictly to meet the demands of his 
necessities, he gave instruction in German, French and fencing, and also did 
amanuensis work and so worked his way through Harvard Law School, 
from which he was graduated. Eventually, he moved to Wisconsin to engage 
in the practice of law at Milwaukee. 

On August 22, 1857, in that comfortable city, Joseph Vandor was mar- 
ried to Miss Pauline Knobelsdorf, who had come to America in childhood, 
and whose family had settled at Milwaukee. She was of gentle birth, a lineal 
descendant of the Major von Knobelsdorf who was distinguished as the royal 
architect of Frederick the Great and who planned and constructed for him 
the first edifices that marked the Unter den Linden in Berlin. This bit of 
ancestral history is the more interesting in our story because Mr. Vandor's 
grandfather on the paternal side was a tutor and mentor of the Duke of 



1312 HISTORY OF FRESNO COUNTY 

Reichstadt — Napoleon II., son of Napoleon Bonaparte. His grandmother was 
a lady-in-waiting of the duke's mother, Marie Louise of Austria. Mrs. Pauline 
Yandor was one of the pioneer settlers of West Park Colony in Fresno. She 
died in Fresno City, May 7, 1907. She was a woman of indomitable energy, 
and an intensely loyal American of the type so often found among those of 
favored birth in foreign lands who have chosen the American republic as their 
home. 

At the outbreak of the Civil War, Joseph Yandor was commissioned a 
Colonel by Alexander Williams Randall (the plucky governor of Wisconsin 
who had called a regiment into existence without authority of the legislature), 
to organize the Seventh Wisconsin Infantry Regiment, later a unit of the 
historic Iron Brigade, but as the outgrowth of a cabal in the regiment, nur- 
tured by jealousy of his military proficiency as evidenced by his being called 
upon to act in the capacity of brigade commander, an attempt was made upon 
his life. Under cover of night, he was shot in the shoulder by an unknown 
assassin, who fired at him through his tent and inflicted a wound which de- 
veloped into a malignant cancer. He resigned his military command, and with 
the helpful recommendations of such influential men as Governor Randall, 
Carl Schurz, Governor Salmon Portland Chase, the Secretary of the Treas- 
ury, and William H. Seward, Secretary of State, President Lincoln appointed 
him American Consul at Papeiti, chief town of Tahiti, for the French pro- 
tectorate in the Society Islands, and in those days station of the New England 
whalers in the Southern Pacific. 

Colonel Vandor's loyalty to the country of his adoption was intense, and 
the American flag such an object of veneration for him that our subject recalls 
how he quelled a native insurrection on the island of Huaheine by the dis- 
play of Old Glory from the masthead of the little Tahitian schooner aboard 
which was the consular party. The flag was run up while the insurgents on 
the beach fired on the craft and refugees swam out or canoed to the schooner 
for protection. Speaking of these romantic but exciting days, Air. Yandor 
says: "My father knocked me flat upon the deck, to escape the bullets he 
heard whistling on their flight toward us. but for which and being in the line 
of range. I might not have survived to tell the tale. I can recall, also, that 
often he emerged from the consulate at Papeiti to liberate American sailors 
from the custody of Kanaka policemen, indignant at their practice of tving 
prisoners' wrists behind their backs for want of handcuffs, and then roundlv 
castigating the policemen. At that time, as a small boy. I was familiar with 
the Kanaka language of the Islands, and could read it as printed in the French 
Jesuit or English Episcopalian missionary books ; and although only a child 
in years I was the interpreter for the consulate. I accompanied my father 
on official tours of the islands in the archipelago, and rendered the translations 
of Kanaka into the German or French, as I had only an indifferent knowledge 
of English." 

• The serious nature of the Colonel's wound, and the education of his three 
children, prompted him to resign the consulship, and the family arrived in 
San Francisco, in April, 1869. Colonel Vandor took up the practice of law. 
became prominent in the Grand Army of the Republic, and a leader in the 
German-speaking colony, still including many of the most loyal and most 
efficient citizens of the state. Because of the evil effects of the wound upon 
his health, he declined the political preferments from time to time offered 
him. Before his death in the middle seventies, and after the Franco-German 
War. he returned to Europe and journeyed to Paris and Vienna, to consult 
eminent surgeons; and after submitting to operations, he made a last pathetic 
visit to the estates at one time his ancestral possessions, and the grave of his 
mother in a closed Yienna cemetery, and returned home, never again to 
leave his bed. His remains lie in the family plot in the G. A. R. reservation 
of the Odd Fellows' Cemetery at San Francisco. 



HISTORY OF FRESNO COUNTY 1313 

Paul E. Vandor grew and thrived under somewhat disordered educa- 
tional conditions. He was taught French by the Jesuit Fathers in the South 
Sea Islands, and, on return to his native land at the age of eleven, was French 
in spirit and habit, although German was spoken in the home circle. Attend- 
ing the cosmopolitan public schools and a private collegiate institute in San 
Francisco, he began the study of English, of which he had only a smattering, 
gathered from an American school teacher, a protege of the family while in 
the Islands. Being a voracious reader, he learned of himself to read and to 
write, delving into classic literature from the time when he read his first 
English book, Robinson Crusoe. 

Newspaper work had for him its fascination even during boyhood, and as 
a school lad in the late seventies he was a publisher in San Francisco, when 
amateur journals were a juvenile fad. He once had the questionable credit, 
while in college, of being held to answer, with two older companions, on two 
charges of criminal libel lodged by a rival boy editor. The grand jury gave 
all concerned a lecture on the enormity of their offence, and then, after treat- 
ing them to a good scare, made heroes of them all by ignoring the accusation. 
Mr. Vandor studied law in San Francisco, thinking to make that his profes- 
sion ; but with the loss of family fortune following collapse of the mining- 
stock gamble of the late seventies in San Francisco, abandoned the law to 
take up newspaper writing. Today, he is the second oldest newspaper writer 
in point of continuous service in Fresno County. In his career he has been 
dramatic critic of the old Golden Era, a reporter for the Chronicle, the Even- 
ing Post, the Examiner, and the Morning Call, in San Francisco. He has 
also been a reporter on the Morning Telegram, the Argus and the Encinal 
of Alameda, and he has served in like capacity in Fresno with the Evening 
Expositor and the Democrat, the Morning Republican and at present is 
with the Evening Herald. Alternately, Mr. Vandor has also been assistant 
city editor of the San Francisco Call and Editor of the Fresno Democrat. He 
has spent the major part of a busy life in the ever interesting city of San 
Francisco, of whose marvelous growth he was an eye-witness, and he has 
wept amid her devastated streets, when he beheld the aftermath of the earth- 
quake and the big fire. While in San Francisco, he was a charter member of 
the first Press Club of 1880, whose supporters hobnobbed with and welcomed 
many of the notable literary men of the world as they sojourned in or passed 
through the Bay Metropolis and sipped of a life now largely a memory. 

From January, 1885, until the Spanish-American War, Mr. Vandor was 
in the California National Guard, having enlisted in Company G, First Infan- 
try, Second Brigade, which with Company C as the mother organization dated 
from the days of 1856 and the San Francisco Vigilance Committee, and he 
held transfer memberships in Company G, in Alameda, Fifth Infantry, Second 
Brigade, and in Company F. in Fresno, of the Sixth Infantry and Third Bri- 
gade. Having been color-sergeant in the First Regiment, he was in his own 
company first sergeant, but he was rejected for service in the Spanish-Amer- 
ican AYar on account of physical disability. A veteran member of the Na- 
tionals, Mr. Vandor was a charter member of the Veterans" State Association 
of the National Guard. In national politics a Republican, Mr. Vandor is 
locally decidedly non-partisan. A charter member of Pitiaches Tribe. No. 
144, I. O. R. M., of Fresno, Mr. Vandor is also a member of Manzanita Camp, 
No. 160, AY. O. \V. of Fresno. He also belongs to the Shaver Lake Fishing 
Club. 

A Californian to the backbone, although compelled sincerely to regret 
that he was not born within the limits of the Golden State, Mr. Vandor has 
made the study of California history a labor of love, and is recognized as an 
authority on Fresno County history. He has contributed on historical sub- 
jects to local publications, and has the honor of being a charter member of 
the Fresno County Historical Society. A member of no established church, 
Mr. Vandor leans to Unitarianism. 



1314 HISTORY OF FRESNO COUNTY 

JOHN B. MARSHALL. — Among the pioneer residents of Fresno County 
who have resided here for a quarter of a century, particular mention is made 
of John B. Marshall, now retired and living at 164 Echo Avenue, Fresno. He 
has devoted many years of his life to the development of this county, and is 
an enthusiastic booster and supporter of those movements, that have as their 
aim, the upbuilding of the county's best interests. 

John B. Marshall was born March 6, 1845, in Hunterdon County. New 
Jersey. He attended the public schools of his native state, was reared on a 
farm, and when old enough, learned the trade of a blacksmith. Afterwards 
he was employed by Captain Shields, a railroad contractor in New Jersey, 
helping in the construction of the Lehigh Valley Railroad, and at one time 
followed farming in his native state. In 1878 Mr. Marshall migrated to the 
Great West, where he worked on railroad construction, as a blacksmith, for 
a contractor named Wolf, operating in the states of Iowa, Kansas, Wisconsin 
and Illinois. He also worked for the Santa Fe Railway Company in Canyon 
City, Colo. In 1882 he returned to New Jersey and engaged in farming; after- 
wards he was employed by his first employer, Mr. Shields, in railroad work. 
After his return to the east, he felt the insistent call of the Golden West, with 
its great attractions and unbounded possibilities. His second journey west- 
ward terminated on July 25. 1892, when he arrived in the Golden State and 
soon thereafter located in Fresno County, where he has resided ever since. 
During his long residence in the county Mr. Marshall has bought, sold, devel- 
oped and traded many different pieces of property, and acquired quite an 
extensive holding of real estate; at present owning one-half section of land 
on the West Side of the county, two houses and five lots in the City of Fresno, 
six lots and one house in Sanger, two lots in Fresno Heights, two lots in 
East Richmond ; he has also owned the following real estate, which he has 
sold or traded: twenty acres six miles northeast of Sanger; forty acres on Mc- 
Kinley Avenue ; fifty-five acres in the California Poultry farm tract ; and forty 
acres near Clovis. For three years he has farmed his West Side ranch to grain. 
Mr. Marshall has done his share in the developing of the county, and now 
in the afternoon of his life is living retired and enjoying the fruits of a life of 
industry and frugality. 

MRS. EVA H. RAWSON.— A California woman who has won for her- 
self an enviable name as a successful viticulturist, and who has a host of 
friends among those who admire her qualities as a cultured, refined and sym- 
pathetic fellowcitizen, is Mrs. Eva H. Rawson, a native of Woonsocket. R. I., 
the daughter of Captain William E. Hubbard, who was born near Franklin, 
Mass. Grandfather Elisha Hubbard died in Massachusetts, and the father, 
who was an architect and builder, settled at Woonsocket, where he became 
a contractor. He was one of the prominent builders of Woonsocket and 
among its most leading citizens ; and ten years before his death he was able 
to retire. William E. Hubbard served in the Civil War as captain of Com- 
pany F of the Twelfth Rhode Island Regiment, and saw plenty of hard cam- 
paigning. Later he was a prominent Mason. He had married Ruth Scott, of 
Scott Hill, Mass., and she was able to trace her family back to the May- 
flower and then back to Europe. The mother died in Rhode Island. 

Four of the five children are still living, and Mrs. Rawson is the third 
in order of birth. She is also the only one of the children living in California. 
Her full name was Eva Hortense Hubbard ; she was reared in Woonsocket, 
and was graduated from the Woonsocket High School in 1884 and is a mem- 
ber of its Alumni Society. On August 22, 1888, she was married to Malcolm 
Augustus Rawson, who was born in Uxbridge, Mass., the son of James A. 
Rawson, who married Louisa Scott, of Massachusetts. The father was a 
stonemason and contractor, and both he and his wife died in Massachusetts. 

Mr. Rawson was educated at the common and high schools, and Worces- 
ter Academy, and he became a pharmacist and followed the drug business 
for over forty years. He spent six years learning the business and as an em- 




(q^hj M-^Ji^&Koijij^a, 




yH«/<c</**i )±*aM™swl rfe*~a~c+s^ 



HISTORY OF FRESNO COUNTY 1319 

jloye of the Fenner Drug Company in Providence, and then for seventeen 
years was with the James McCord wholesale drug house of La Crosse, Wis.-, 
during which time he bought a drug store at Viroqua, Vernon County, the 
same state. He continued there until he went with Noyes Bros! & Cutler of 
St. Paul and also Meyers Bros, in St. Louis ; and then, from the time of its 
organization, he became interested in the Iowa Drug Company of Des Moines, 
acting as vice-president of the concern. When he sold out, he located in Port- 
land, Ore., and for twelve years, or until his death, he was traveling salesman 
of the Blumauer-Frank Drug Company. He died suddenly in Portland, on 
September 16, 1917, in his sixty-second year. 

Meanwhile, as early as 1912, the Rawsons became interested in California 
by the purchase of twenty-one acres in the Vinland Colony, and in 1913 Mrs. 
Rawson began the improving of the property by erecting the usual buildings. 
In 1914 she set out a vineyard, sunk wells and installed a pumping-plant for 
irrigation, in connection with which she put in a cement pipe-line ; and since 
that year have been planted all the Thompson seedless vines that make the 
tract such a good commercial ranch. It is conveniently located at the corner 
of Woodburn and Thompson Avenues, and the north line is on the San Joa-' 
quin River. The soil, therefore, is heavy rich bottom-land of white ash de- 
posit, pronounced by experts the very best of all soil for Thompson seedless 
grapes. During the latter part of March, 1919, Mrs. Rawson added eighteen 
acres to her holdings, six acres being full bearing Thompson's and the bal- 
ance she and her son have set to Thompson's. 

Amid this superior vineyard Mrs. Rawson built her residence ; and there, 
with the aid of her son, Malcolm Hubbard Rawson (born May 4. 1890. at La 
Crosse, Wis.), she personally superintends the farm-work. This one child was 
educated at the public schools, taking also the high school course, and also 
attending the Business College at Portland ; he enlisted for service during the 
World War as a private and became Sergeant; was stationed at Camp Lewis, 
Wash., until discharged. Mrs. Rawson has adopted a child, Donald Dudley 
Rawson. 

Mr. Rawson was a Mason, a Knight Templar and a Shriner, and belonged 
to the Episcopal Church. Mrs. Rawson and her son also belong to this same 
communion and continue their residence on White Crest Ranch (appropri- 
ately named by her husband) although she still owns valuable property in 
Portland. In national politics she is a loyal Republican, and she actively sup- 
ports the California Associated Raisin Company. 

EDWIN HERBERT SMITH.— A well-situated and prosperous Califor- 
nia couple, both of whom are proud of their enviable relation to well-known 
pioneer families, who are still doing all that they can to improve that part of 
Fresno County in which they are especially interested, are Mr. and Mrs. 
Edwin Herbert Smith. Identified with the Golden State since birth, Mr. 
Smith was born at Cayucos, in San Luis Obispo County, on January 7, 1876, 
the son of C. A. Smith, a native of Calaveras County, Cal., where he was born 
in 1852. The grandfather, Edwin Herbert Smith, was born in Illinois and 
crossed the plains with ox teams about 1849, going to the Calaveras gold 
fields. In that vicinity and in San Luis Obispo, the father was reared, and he 
became a stockman and farmer, transacting a cattle business in different parts 
of the state and along the coast, and later he settled at Cayucos. He was in 
business for many years there, and now he is in Kern County, ranching at 
McKittrick, where he is opening up a new ranch. He married Ella Bailey, a 
native of Illinois, the daughter of William Bailey, who came to California 
when a child with her parents, and settled in Calaveras, and then moved to 
San Luis Obispo, homesteading east of Paso Robles. Mrs. Smith died in 
Santa Maria in 1892. Two children, a boy and a girl, were born of this union, 
and Edwin is the older of the family. 

Edwin H. was brought up on a farm near the coast, and attended the 
public school there, and at the same time he learned farming and stock-rais- 



1320 HISTORY OF FRESNO COUNTY 

ing. His mother died when he was sixteen years old, and then he began to 
paddle his own canoe. He was for some time employed at ranching, but in 
1898 came to Fresno County where he leased land and engaged in stock- 
raising. He introduced the brand, a combination of the figure 4 and the letter 
B, resembling together the figure 8, and such was his success, that he made 
the brand have a distinctive value. 

On April 16, 1904, E. H. Smith was married to Miss Nannie Manning, 
who was born at Hanford, the daughter of Elisha Arnold Manning, a native 
of Boston, Mass. Mrs. E. H. Smith, the youngest of five children now living, 
was educated at the common and high schools in Fresno. Soon after the mar- 
riage, Mr. Smith bought a half interest with his father-in-law in both land 
and the stock business. Following the division of their interests, Mr. Smith 
came to have, what he now controls, 760 acres in alfalfa and devoted to cattle- 
raising, and he also has a dairy. In 1918 he bought a ranch at Kerman, four- 
teen miles west of Fresno, consisting of 440 acres, and this he will use for 
stock-raising and alfalfa. He has many improvements there, including three 
pumping-plants. 

Mr. and Mrs. Smith have one child, Adalene Manning. Mr. Smith was 
captain of the liberty loan and other drives in the Manning district, and did 
splendid work in supporting the Government in its war program. He is a 
Republican in national politics, and is especially interested in local move- 
ments that advance and build up the neighborhood. 

HARRY W. HAGERTY.— When Harry W. Hagerty first opened his 
eyes to the light of the world, in Sierra County, in 1887, his parents, James 
and Hilca (Backer) Hagerty, planned a successful future for him. and his 
early training and education were along the lines of usefulness. His father 
was born in Pennsylvania, and came to California when a young man, hoping 
thereby to better his condition. He began farming in Nevada County, and 
while there married a native daughter of the state, Hilca Backer. Her father, 
Henry 1 lacker, was a pioneer who lived for a time in Eureka, Sierra County, 
and then settled in Fresno County and bought two hundred acres of land. 
He was one of the very first settlers of Temperance Colony, where he raised 
potatoes, grain and stock. His land was all subirrigated. He did not live long 
to enjoy his new surroundings, for he died soon after he settled here. His 
widow was married again, to August Heringlake. and they continued farm- 
ing, setting out vineyards and in other ways keeping abreast of the times. 
Mrs. Heringlake died about 1903. She was the mother of six children, of 
whom Mrs. Hagerty is third in order of birth. After his marriage, Mr. Hag- 
erty opened a general merchandise store in Sierra City and conducted it very 
successfully for several years. He then came to Fresno County, bought a 
tract in Temperance Colony, and followed ranching until he began railroad- 
ing, in the employ of the Southern Pacific Railway. For a time was sta- 
tioned at Sacramento, until he returned to private life, and he is now living 
at Penryn. His wife died in Fresno, leaving two children, Harry W., of this 
review; and Ernest, of Los Angeles. 

From the age of five, Harry W. Hagerty was raised in Fresno County, 
where he attended the public schools of Temperance Colony, and the Fresno 
High Soli' hi], from which he graduated in 1905. Reared in a county where 
viticulture is one of the principal sources of revenue, from an earl)' age he 
was familiar with that branch of agriculture. After his graduation, he en- 
tered the employ of the Southern Pacific Railway as a clerk in the office. In 
time, however, lie decided that in order to get ahead and accomplish some- 
thing worth while he would buy some land and take up the culture of vines: 
so he purchased forty acres at Mt. Campbell, set out a vineyard, and sold it 
in 1912 at a good profit, lie then accepted a position with the Wallace Trust 
Company, which owns S70 acres in Fresno County, 540 acres in one body be- 
ing devoted to vineyard, orchard and alfalfa ; forty acres in oranges is situated 



HISTORY OF FRESNO COUNTY 1321 

at Centerville, and 160 acres of farming land is located on the San Joaquin. 
He is superintendent of the entire tract, and supervises the conduct of the 
various branches of ranching carried on, which include, besides those above 
mentioned, the raising of wine grapes, cattle and horses. He gives his per- 
sonal attention to his work and is making a name and place for himself in 
Fresno County. 

Mr. Hagerty was married, in Fresno, to Maybelle Bitzer, a native of San 
Francisco, and they have two children: Jane Helen and William Jerome. 
Mr. Hagerty is a member of the California Associated Raisin Company and 
is a stockholder, director and vice-president of the Backer Vineyard Company. 
The Backer estate consists of 760 acres of land in the county, of which 205 
acres are in vineyards of table and raisin grapes, the remaining acres being 
devoted to grain' farming. He also owns a twenty-acre vineyard in Eggers 
Colony, which is well improved, with a large modern residence. He is a pop- 
ular and progressive young man, and a bright future is predicted for him 
by those who know him best. 

HORACE E. BARNUM. — Probably no other state in the Union may 
boast of such a large number of pioneers, such as the late Horace E. Barnum, 
whose ancestry reaches back to the good old days of New England and has 
to do with the foundation of our great republic. He was born on May 9, 1854, 
near Hastings, Mich., the son of Philander Barnum, whose father, Elijah 
Barnum. was a New Englander who early removed to the wilderness of Barry 
County, Mich. He cleared a space in the forest and built a log cabin, and 
among the maple and beech trees, he created an attractive homestead, and 
there closed his days, having enjoyed life to the full with his family. 

Philander Barnum grew up a farmer to succeed his father, and when 
he retired, he removed to Battle Creek whose climatic attractions were already 
being felt. He had married Harriet E. Bidwell, a native of Albion, Mich., 
who also came of a long line of New Englanders. They had five children. Mr. 
Barnum died at Battle Creek, and Mrs. Barnum at Hastings, and both were 
widely lamented. 

Horace was the fourth child in the order of birth, and the only one to 
come to the Pacific Coast. He attended the public schools of Battle Creek 
and Albion, and in the middle of the seventies, just when California was 
getting ready to make its bow to the nation at the Philadelphia Centennial, 
he came west to the Golden State. He passed three years in the Sacramento 
Valley, then went to Washington, and after a year returned to California and 
located at Woodland. In Yolo County he followed agriculture for several 
years. 

With T. L. Reed Mr. Barnum came south to the San Joaquin Valley in 
1885, and leased the South Mountain tract. He had to break seven or eight 
sections of the land, and needed to employ from eight to ten horses on a plow ; 
but he was rewarded by a large crop of grain, although he had to haul it six- 
teen miles to market. In time, Mr. Reed offered him 160 acres of land in 
Tulare County for his interest in the firm, and in Tulare Mr. Barnum farmed 
for a year. 

Removing then to Lemoore, Mr. Barnum embarked in the hotel business 
for a year, but was burned out. He resumed hotel management in Reedley, 
however, and also invested in twenty acres of land for an orchard. He had 
just entered upon the contract and made the first payment, when he met with 
a frightful accident that might easily have cost him his life, and that would 
have robbed most men of courage and the stuff needed to go forward. A 
gun placed in the buggy in which he was returning from hunting fell and 
discharged its contents into his side and shoulder, causing such a wound that 
the surgeon had to amputate the arm. Nevertheless, Mr. Barnum prepared 
his land for irrigation, made a park on the river bank, set out an orchard and 
went ahead with his projects in hotel management. 



1322 HISTORY OF FRESNO COUNTY 

Not so long after, Mr. Barnum was appointed constable, and at the end 
of a year, he entered on a two-year term as roadmaster. His conscientious 
and able discharge of duties in these offices led to his being called for as Re- 
publican candidate for County Auditor in 1894, and he was elected by a plu- 
rality of six hundred votes for a term of four years. In 1898, was renominated 
for the same office, and was elected over the fusion candidate by a majority 
of one hundred eight votes, being one of two Republicans to reach office that 
year. In 1902, a majority of seventeen hundred votes, the largest vote in the 
county, enabled him to lead his ticket and again to be reelected. In 1906 and 
in 1910 he was again elected, each time without opposition, and he had an- 
nounced his candidacy for 1914, when sickness and death interfered. He died 
on June 15, 1914. To permit himself to reside near his office, Mr. Barnum 
removed from his ranch to Fresno, and for years lived in this city. 

While in Yolo County in 1894, Mr. Barnum was married at Woodland 
to 'Miss Mary Eva Dearing, daughter of John and Ellen Dearing, among the 
sturdiest and most honored pioneers of that county. She was born in Morgan 
Valley, Lake County, and two children blessed their union — Ida May, Mrs. 
F. F. Minard; and Charles E. Mrs. Barnum, who has been a consistent Bap- 
tist, is living in Fresno. 

Besides being active in Chamber of Commerce work, and in national pol- 
itics under the banners of the Republican party, Mr. Barnum was an Elk, a 
Knight of Pythias, a member of the Ancient Order of United Workmen, a 
Forester, and a Woodman of the World. He had a strong, impressive person- 
ality, a large heart, high ideals and a winning disposition ; was a good citizen 
and a good friend. 

JASPER E. MITCHELL.— In these days of strenuous effort the man 
who hopes to acquire success in any calling must be one of brains and per- 
sistency, with a thorough knowledge of the work to which he is devoting his 
attention, and such a man is Jasper E. Mitchell of Fresno. He was born in 
Kansas, October 12, 1876, a son of Edgar R. and Cynthia (Hayes) Mitchell, 
natives of Illinois and Missouri, respectively, and who became the parents 
of three children. The family left Kansas in 1877, emigrating westward and 
for about sixteen years resided in Colorado, then in 1893 continued their 
journey to the Pacific Coast and settled in Tulare County, Cal. It was about 
eighteen months later that they made their way into Fresno County, where 
the elder Mitchell engaged in the liver}' business, with the other two sons, 
E. R.. jr., and F. H. Here they continued four years, then left and the father 
now resides in Fresno where he is engaged in the real estate business. 

At the age of one year Jasper E. Mitchell was taken bv his parents to 
Colorado, where he grew up and received his schooling until he was about 
seventeen, when he accompanied the family to California. Here he began 
to learn an entirely new business, then in its infancy in this state, that of 
fruit-growing, buying, packing and selling. So well did he succeed that he 
went into partnership with J. Ed. Mitchell, remaining in this business for 
two years, until 1907, under the name of Mitchell & Mitchell, and were well 
known and successful. 

In 1907, T- E. Mitchell quit the fruit business and became a general 
contractor, specializing in roads and bridges, and he has handled road con- 
struction work in various sections on the state highways. Some of his con- 
tracts are : The Kings River state highway in Sierra County ; the Sierra 
and Downieville road ; the Humboldt and Trinity state road ; Redwood Park 
road in Santa Cruz County; and one of the finest pieces of concrete work 
in the state, which was under his supervision, the Burrel bridge. In Fresno 
County alone he has executed over 2,300 contracts ranging from a 10-inch 
pipe to Lane's Bridge, the largest in the county. Among the more important 
contracts handled by Mr. Mitchell are the following: Lane's Bridge, over the 
San Inaquin : the rebuilding of the large concrete bridge east of Sanger 
over Kings River; the bridge north of Reedley; Centerville bridge; Burrel 



HISTORY OF FRESNO COUNTY 1323 

bridge, all three over the Kings River ; and the rebuilding of the Herndon 
bridge over the San Joaquin. These are all in Fresno County. Some of the 
outside contracts are the concrete bridge over Eel River; one over Mad 
River in Humboldt County ; and the bridge over the South Fork of the Eel 
in Trinity. 

It must not be inferred that Mr. Mitchell has devoted his time to business 
affairs alone, for he has done his share of public service and as a deputy 
county clerk became well known throughout the county; he also served as 
a deputy sheriff and in other ways has been of service to his fellow citizens. 
There has been no movement put forward to bring Fresno County before 
the world at large but what he has always been found in the van. 

The marriage of J. E. Mitchell with Miss Bessie Rutherford was cele- 
brated December 10, 1903, and they have two children, Dwight Elbert and 
Elva Lenona, to brighten their home circle, and who with their parents en- 
joy the esteem of a wide circle of friends. Mr. Mitchell is a member of the 
Woodmen of the World ; the Fraternal Order of Eagles ; the B. P. O. Elks ; 
the Commercial Club ; and the Chamber of Commerce. He is a Republican 
in national affairs but is non-partisan in local issues, always seeking what is 
best for the majority. Their home at 206 Strother Avenue, Kearney Boule- 
vard Heights, built on modern lines, is ever open with that true hospitality 
known only to the Californians. 

JOHN W. GEARHART.— In the arduous yet interesting field of court 
reporting, we find John W. Gearhart. who was born in Fairmount, Luzerne 
County. Pa.. June 1, 1852, son of Wesley R. and Sarah (Millard) Gearhart. 
His father, a graduate of Girard Medical College, Philadelphia, Pa., took up 
the practice of his profession in Winnebago, 111., in the Rock River Valley, 
in 1854. Dr. and Mrs. Gearhart came to Fresno, Cal, in 1886. and there 
resided until the time of the death of Dr. Gearhart in 1889. Mrs. Gearhart 
thereafter lived in Pacific Grove until her decease, in 1906, her remains being 
interred with those of her husband and son Charles in the Masonic Cemetery, 
Fresno. 

The subject of this sketch received his education in the public schools 
of Illinois. After acquiring some proficiency as a shorthand writer, Mr. 
Gearhart, in 1872, obtained a position as secretary of Allan Pinkerton (Chief 
of the United States Secret Service during the Civil War"), in the Chicago 
offices of Pinkerton's National Detective Agency, later being transferred 
to the New York office and still later to the Philadelphia office of the agency. 

In 1873 Mr. Gearhart returned to Chicago and accepted a position as 
stenographer in the law offices of Messrs. Aver, Beckwith & Kales. Coming 
to California in the winter of 1874-75 he entered the employ of Dun's Com- 
mercial Agency, and in the latter part of 1875 commenced his life work as 
a court reporter with the firm of Osbourne & Jones, official court reporters, 
San Francisco. In the fall of 1875. Mr. Gearhart was appointed official 
reporter of the District Court of the Third Judicial District of California by 
Hon. James B.' Campbell, then judge of said court, thereafter receiving 
appointments as official reporter of the county courts of Tulare, Fresno, 
Merced and Mariposa Counties, comprised in the Third Judicial District, 
later being appointed reporter of the Kern County Superior Court, after the 
adoption of the New Constitution of California, as well as of the Superior 
Courts of the four counties of Tulare, Fresno, Merced and Mariposa. 

With the increase of population, wealth and, consequently of litigation 
in the San Joaquin Valley, Mr. Gearhart perforce relinquished the practice 
of his profession in one county after another, retaining his position of reporter 
of the Superior Court of Fresno County. His duties of later years as official 
reporter of Department No. 1, under appointments by Judges Campbell, 
Harris, Webb, Carter and Austin, together with the reporting of trials in the 
District Court of the Southern District of California, Northern Division, as 
Special Examiner for the United States Circuit and District Courts, and mis- 

1154031 



1324 HISTORY OF FRESNO COUNTY 

cellaneous business in the line of his profession, have constantly kept him 
busy. 

Among the more notable civil cases reported by Mr. Gearhart were 
those of Carr & Haggin vs. Miller & Lux, in the Superior Court of Kern 
Count}', involving riparian rights with reference to properties of great value, 
and Jeremiah Clark et al vs. Poly, Heilbron & Co., regarding title to the 
Rancho Laguna de Tache, comprising some 30.000 acres of land along Kings 
River, the litigants in these cases being represented by many of California's 
then leading lawyers — Hall McAllister, Judge John Garber. R. E. Houghton, 
Judge Flournoy, Judge Denson, Hon. P. D. Wigginton and others, the trial 
of each case covering a period of about three months. As these trials occurred 
before the introduction of the use of the phonograph or dictaphone and the 
reporter was required to furnish daily to counsel for plaintiffs and defendants 
transcripts of his notes of the testimony, the amount of labor required of one 
reporter and one typewriter operator may be easily understood. 

Trials of criminal cases of more than ordinary interest reported by Mr. 
Gearhart include those of The People vs. Chris Evans, noted train robber, 
People vs. Heath and Polley, for the murder of Louis B. McWhirter and 
that of the People vs. W. A. Sanders, for forgery, the disappearance of one 
Wm. Wooton — believed to have been murdered and his remains disposed of 
— being involved, the first and second trials being presided over by Judges 
J. R. Webb and Carrol Cook, respectively in the Superior Court of Fresno 
County. 

On July 17, 1882. Mr. Gearhart was married to Miss Mary E. Johnson, 
of Visalia. Fresno has been their home for the thirty-five years last past. 
In the same city now reside all of their children — Clara L. (now Mrs. Wm. 
J. Cleary), James W. (also a court reporter), and Bertrand W., a member of 
the legal profession, at present deputy district attorney of .Fresno County. 

E. M. HANSEN. — An early settler who, having made a success of one 
venture, that of the butchering and retail meat business, has now succeeded 
in another field, viticulture and dairying, is E. M. Hansen, who has improved 
a fine place and, with the assistance of his good wife, has come to enjoy 
prosperity and to command a comfortable competency. He first came to 
California in 1881 and within a year had fortunately found his way to Fresno 
County. 

He was born in Lykonkloster, Slesvig, Denmark, on August 4, 1854, the 
son of Hans Hansen, a farmer who owned his own place, had an active and 
honorable part in the War of 1848-50, and who died in 1915, aged over 
ninety years. He had married Christene Jaocumsen, who died there over 
eighty-four years of age, passing away in 1912. There were seven children 
in the family, and five are living: Mat is in Brooklyn, N. Y. ; E. M. is the 
subject of our review; Andrew is in West Park, Fresno County; Christen 
resides in Slesvig; and Mathilda lives in Nebraska. 

E. M. was brought up on the old homestead, and attended the local 
public schools, assisting on the farm until he was nineteen or over. On 
account of the military oppression, he determined to come to the United 
States; and in 1874 he left Hamburg for New York. He located at Perth 
Amboy, and as an apprentice learned the butcher's trade, continuing there 
until December, 1880. when he came west to San Francisco, and for a while 
he drove on the old horse-car line in the Bay metropolis. On February 21, 
1881. he came to Fresno and here found employment as a butcher. For a 
time he was engaged in business for himself, and ran a wagon through the 
country east of Fresno, to Red Banks and vicinity. When he sold out, he 
ran a wagon west of the town, until 1897, meantime preparing for his real 
future by buying twenty acres in Fresno Colony. At the end of a year, he 
sold out and bought another twenty which he improved to alfalfa and after 
two vears also sold. 



HISTORY OF FRESNO COUNTY 1325 

In 1891, Mr. Hansen bought his present place, consisting of forty acres 
on Jensen Avenue, ten miles west of Fresno. It was raw land, but he leveled 
and checked it and set it out as a vineyard ; and there he has continued ever 
since. He set out Thompson seedless grapes, but later took up the vines and 
devoted the land to alfalfa. For the last eight years he has run a dairy there. 
He built a residence, barns, windmill and installed a gas-engine ; and he 
became a stockholder in the Danish Creamery Association. He also joined in 
every raisin association movement, and is a member and a stockholder in 
the California Associated Raisin Company. 

At Fresno, Mr. Hansen was married to Miss Christene Madsen, born 
at Varde, Jylland, Denmark, by whom he has had five children, three of 
whom grew to maturity: Harry is the butcher at Kearney Park; Martha is 
at home, and so is Amy. The family attends the Lutheran Church, and 
they adhere to the principles of the Republican party. Mr. Hansen is a 
member of the Danish Brotherhood of Fresno, and has been president of 
that excellent organization. In 1906 he made a trip to New Jersey and New 
York, to visit old associations, and returned better satisfied than ever with 
California, and more than ever confident as to its future. 

MRS. MALISSA CLAYTOR.— A hard-working, sensible woman who 
has borne the burden and heat of the day, often under disappointing and at 
times distressing circumstances, is Mrs. Malissa Claytor, widow of the late 
Thomas Claytor who, in 1906, built their beautiful farmhouse two miles 
east and one-fourth of a mile south of Selma. He was born in Ray County, 
Mo., in 1857, and grew up at Hardin, in the same county. On December 5, 
1879, he was married in Caldwell County to Miss Malissa Myers, a native 
of that county, who grew up there. She is a daughter of G. W. and Lottie 
(Myers) Myers, who sent her to the public schools of her locality. When 
eighteen, she was married. For a while they farmed rented lands in Missouri, 
and then, in 1883, they came to California, settling four miles west of Selma, 
where he worked for two years on the A. A. Webber ranch. Then they 
bought a place three miles west of Selma, where they lived for five years. 
A fire, however, destroyed their house, household goods and wheat crop ; 
and since they had no insurance, they sustained heavy loss. In 1906 they 
bought the present place, and here they have had two fires, but more for- 
tunately they carried some insurance. 

For fourteen years Mrs. Myers conducted a millinery shop on the ranch, 
her display room being in her residence, and she and her husband prospered 
until they owned a well-improved ranch of forty acres, all of which is now 
planted, sixteen and a half acres being devoted to peaches, six and a half 
to apricots, five acres to Thompson seedless, eight to muscats, and one acre 
to young Thompson vines. The balance was devoted to the house-plot, 
drying yards and other customary features. Then Mr. Claytor died on 
July 23, 1915, mourned by many. Four children were born to them, three 
now living. The first-born died in infancy ; Ella is the wife of J. E. Hedges, 
and resides on their ranch near Selma, with their two children, H. Leon and 
Ray; Grover is a rancher who owns twenty acres two miles north of here, 
and who married Bessie Todd of Selma, and they have four children — 
Dorris, Roxy, Grover E. and Amelia ; Thomas, the youngest, is an invalid 
at home. 

Mrs. Claytor, who is a member of the Peach Growers Association and 
a Democrat in matters of national politics, is about to be handsomely re- 
warded for long, persistent work, as the 1919 crop she has raised will 
undoubtedly pay off the last of the mortgages on her property, and then 
she will have clear title to house and land worth from thirty-five to forty 
thousand dollars. She is consistent in her life and character, likes to see 
others prosper and the general welfare advance, and with her family is 
highly respected. 



1326 HISTORY OF FRESNO COUNTY 

GEORGE P. MORAN. — Prominent among the progressive, influential 
and highly-respected ranchers who have helped to make Riverside Colony 
what it is, is George P. Moran, a native of San Francisco, where he was born 
in 1874. Growing up in that city, he attended the public schools there, and 
when he pushed out into the world, he became a clerk in the San Francisco 
Post Office. Later, he was engaged in the grocery business, so that his com- 
bined experience in the bay metropolis was of such a nature as to prepare 
him well for his later ventures. 

In 1912 Mr. Moran removed to Fresno County, and here he embarked in 
ranching. He took charge of a farm, settled at an early date by M. E. Stanton 
and still the property of Mrs. Moran, who was Miss Elizabeth Stanton before 
her marriage. Mr. Stanton had long been' a pioneer at Yisalia, being in the 
boot and shoe business in Tulare County, but in 1885 he removed to Fresno 
County. He married Miss Margaret McCarty, and by her had two children — 
Elizabeth, already referred to, and Richard Stanton. The Moran ranch con- 
sists of sixty acres in the Riverside Colony and a quarter section in the River 
Bend Colony, all of which is set out to vines and fruit trees. Mr. Stanton died 
in December, 1902, his devoted wife having died in August of the same year. 
He was mourned as a man of that sterling character which always makes for 
the best in citizenship. 

Mr. Moran and Miss Stanton were united in matrimony in 1907. and 
their union has been blessed with the birth of three children— George, Joyce 
and Ruth. Mrs. Moran is an attractive hostess and Mr. Moran is an exceed- 
ingly painstaking and accurate rancher, who keeps well abreast of the times, 
follows only the most scientific methods, and operates in the most up-to-date 
manner. 

WILLIAM WERTZ.— A successful dealer in hardware and farming 
implements, whose previous experience as a practical farmer assists him 
every day to understand the problems of the agriculturist and to forestall 
his wants, is William Wertz, a native of Streator, 111., and the son of John 
Wertz, a farmer, for a while in Livingston Count}', that state, who even- 
tually returned to Streator and now resides there. Flis mother was Jane Reed 
before her marriage, and she was a native of Illinois. She is still living, the 
mother of four children. 

Born the second eldest of the family, on January 9, 1878, William was 
fortunately a "home boy," and was reared at Streator, where he attended the 
public schools. Later, having finished with his books, he began to work on 
the farm and then, desiring a handiwork that would be some guarantee for 
the future, he learned the plumbing trade, apprenticing himself to a Streator 
plumber. Once more he returned to the farm, this time in Livingston County; 
and when he had finished there, he was probably as well-informed a farmer, 
for his vears and length of practical experience, as any man in the Middle 
West 

Having had his attention, fortunately, attracted to California and its 
wonderful resources, and especially to the many advantages Fresno County 
has to offer, Mr. Wertz in 1913 came to Clovis and located here, buying a 
forty-acre vineyard where, for a couple of years, he engaged in the science 
of viticulture. Then he sold out and bought a twenty-seven-acre vineyard 
which he ran for a year, finally disposing of that. 

Prior to selling out the second time, Mr. Wertz had purchased the bus- 
iness of Hawkins Brothers, the hardware dealers, and now he embarked in 
that line. He not only bought their extensive stock of hardware and agricul- 
tural implements, pumping plants, steel, tanks and plumbing, but also the 
building they had occupied ; and he prepared for a larger business along the 
same lines. Now he installs, among other outfits, pumping plants, and sells 
the Waterloo Boy engine ; he carries a full line of P. & O. implements and 
belting, etc., and his establishment on Front Street makes an excellent display. 




&-&&(/ 



HISTORY OF FRESNO COUNTY 1329 

While in Illinois, Mr. Wertz was married to Miss Gertrude Clark, a na- 
tive of Mr. Wertz's birthplace ; and their union has resulted in two promising 
children — Gladys and Blanche. The family attend the Methodist Church ; 
but far beyond the circles of that live religious organization Mr. and Mrs. 
Wertz are known for their loyal citizenship, their qualities as friends, their 
capacity as neighbors. Clovis has no more successful business man, and it 
has no more devoted couple. 

JAMES HENRY GOOD.— The bright prospects held forth by the fertile 
valleys of California have allured many an ambitious young man to the "land 
of sunshine and flowers."' Prominent among these valleys is that of the great 
San Joaquin, unexcelled for salubrity of climate, beauty of situation and 
fertility of soil. About the center of this valley lies the county of Fresno. 

Among the enterprising young men who came to Fresno County while 
the country was new, is James Henry Good, who came from his native 
state of West Virginia, where he was born at Hamlin, Lincoln County, on 
December 3, 1873. His father, Samuel Henry Good, was a son of the "Old 
Dominion," born in Franklin County, and served at the age of sixteen as 
volunteer in the Southern army during the trying days of our great civil 
conflict. Upon returning to his home at the close of the war, he married 
one of the fair daughters of that state, Adeline M. Davis, removing after his 
marriage to Lincoln County, W. Va., where he followed the occupation 
of farming until he removed to Lexington, Dawson Cotmty, Nebr., where he 
resided until his death. Adeline Davis Good, who died in April, 1916, was 
the mother of seven children, of whom our subject was the third child. 

James Henry Good attended the Simon Branch log schoolhouse in Lin- 
coln Count}' until sixteen years of age, then removing to Nebraska, where he 
worked on his father's farm until 1894, when he came to the Pacific Coast, 
arriving in Fresno County October 10th. He was employed in the Tarpey 
vineyard for eighteen months, afterwards settling east of Clovis in the 
employ of others for one year. He then leased 640 acres of land from J. W. 
Potter, and followed ranching. 

.On October 15, 1898, Mr. Good was united in marriage with Rachael 
Kuhn, a native of Dearborn County, Ind., a daughter of Michael and Mary 
(Berg) Kuhn. Before her marriage, Mrs. Good, with her parents, removed 
to Missouri, where her father died ; her mother is still living. Rachael Kuhn 
was educated in the schools of Queen City, Schuyler County, Mo. She came 
to Fresno, in 1893, where she met and married Mr. Good. Two children 
have blessed their union : Glen J., who graduated at the Clovis High School 
in 1918 ; and Velma May, attending Clovis High School, class of 1920. 

After his marriage Mr. Good continued grain-farming on the Potter 
ranch, at first harvesting with a twelve-horse team by headers, and later 
with a combined harvester drawn by thirty-two head of horses and mules. 
Seeing the great opportunity for intensive farming, in the fall of 1900 he 
purchased twenty acres of land, the nucleus of the present home place, set- 
ting part of it to peaches and raisin grapes, and the remainder in alfalfa. 
In 1901 he purchased another twenty acres, planting it to raisin grapes and 
alfalfa, working in addition other people's land. In 1903 he purchased 
another twenty acres, improving this also. In 1907 he added to his acreage 
forty acres of partly improved land, altogether 100 acres. Seventy acres of 
this land is set to vineyard, of muscat, sultanas and Thompson seedless; 
twenty acres to orchard, and ten acres in alfalfa. 

In 1904, Mr. Good built his present commodious and modern residence, 
where he resides with his family. He was one of the original stockholders of 
the Clovis Farmers' Union, and one of the directors. This company built 
a raisin-packing plant and operated it until they sold to the California As- 
sociated Raisin Company, of which he is a stockholder and member. He is 
also a member of the California Peach. Growers, Inc. For a number of years 
he was Council Commander of Pine Burr Camp, Woodmen of the World, at 



1330 HISTORY OF FRESNO COUNTY 

Clovis, and his wife is an active member of the Neighbors of Woodcraft. 
Mr. Good is a member and trustee of the Methodist Episcopal Church South, 
and is ex-president of its board of stewards, and has been president of the 
Epworth League, and is teacher of the young people's class. Always inter- 
ested in having good schools, he has served acceptably as trustee of Jefferson 
School District and has been clerk of the board. 

Mr. Good made his first trip back to Nebraska to visit his mother and 
relatives, in 1900, and in 1904, with his family, he went back to Missouri 
and then went on to his old "West Virginia home. Again, in 1908. he made 
a trip to his old home in West Virginia, and in 1919, with his family, he 
made an extended trip east, visiting Nebraska, Missouri, and West Virginia, 
and also the interesting points in various eastern cities. 

Mr. Good has seen Fresno County develop to its present position of 
importance in the commonwealth, and in his untiring efforts to assist in 
that development he has been instrumental in bringing many new settlers 
to the county. 

OLNEY WHITESIDE. — Great honor is due the courageous pioneers 
of tjie Golden State, and in view of the great hardships they experienced, 
the perils they braved and their untiring efforts to blaze a path for a later 
civilization, their names should be perpetuated in such a manner that their 
labors, in the days of trial, may remain an inspiration and encouragement 
to the toilers of today. 

Olney Whiteside is a pioneer of California and one of the few remaining 
survivors of those early days, having arrived here on January 1, 1856. He 
was born in Jackson County, Mo., while his parents were enroute from Illi- 
nois to Iowa, June 23, 1838, a son of Alexander Whiteside, a native of To- 
ronto, Canada, who came to the United States when nineteen years of age 
and made his home for a while in New Hampshire with a Air. Sherman, 
whose daughter, Electa, afterwards became his wife. Grandfather White- 
side was born in Ireland, while the Shermans were descendants of an old 
American family. Alexander and Electa Whiteside, the parents of our sub- 
iect died in Los Angeles, the former at seventy-two, and the latter at sev&nty 
years of age. 

Young Whiteside was brought up and attended school at Kainesville. 
Iowa, where his father and uncle followed the occupation of well digging, 
and the father was also engaged in teaming and lumbering, there being no 
railroads in Iowa at that time. 

In 1852 the Whiteside family crossed the plains to Salt Lake City, Utah, 
and Olnev drove one of the ox teams. That fall the father returned to Kaines- 
ville. purchased a threshing machine and in the spring of 1853 returned to 
Salt Lake, hauling the machine all the way across the plains. It was one of 
the first threshing machines used in the vicinity of Salt Lake City. At that 
time money was very scarce and Air. Whiteside was obliged to accept wheat 
as pay for his threshing outfit, but this he disposed of to the emigrants pass- 
ing through Salt Lake City. 

Olney Whiteside remained in Salt Lake City until the fall of 1855, when 
he. and an Indian agent named Irvin, drove 600 head of cattle to Montana 
and during their trip were among the Flathead Indians who were at war 
with the Crows and Blackfeet. The Indians secured the cattle after which 
voung Whiteside, then only a boy of seventeen, sensed danger and showed 
his remarkably sound judgment by returning at once to Salt Lake City, a dis- 
tance of 300 miles, traveling alone on horseback and every night stopping 
with Indians. He arrived home in safety, but it is reported that Air. Irvin, 
together with eight white men that remained, were all murdered. 

LTpon arriving home he found his father ready to make a trip to Califor- 
nia, so he joined the party and they landed in San Bernardino, going on to 
San Gabriel Mission where the father leased the Santa Anita Ranch, and ran 
a dairv (this is the same ranch that became the property of E. J. "Lucky" 



HISTORY OF FRESNO COUNTY 1331 

Baldwin). Mr. Whiteside says that they could have bought the place for 
twenty-five cents per acre, but they had come to California to dig gold and 
were not content with operating a dairy, so during the summer they sold 
the lease and dairy and started for Sacramento. On July 4, 1856, they were 
at Stockton, where they witnessed a bullfight. During the fall of 1857 Olney 
Whiteside owned sixteen head of oxen and lived in Yuba County and ran an 
ox team freighting outfit from Sacramento to Grass Valley, Nevada County ; 
and he has the distinction of having hauled material for the first quartz mill 
to Virginia City, Nev., the mill is known as the "Old Spanish Mill." To trans- 
port it required thirteen wagons, with four yoke of oxen to each, the route 
being through the old Geiger Canyon. After the quartz mill was delivered to 
Virginia City, the party loaded 8,000 feet of lumber, which they hauled to 
Fort Churchill, Nev. In the fall of 1864, Olney's father and uncle went over 
Silver Mountains, into Alpine County. Cal. They bought a quartz mill at 
Nevada City, which was torn down and hauled by Olney Whiteside over to 
Alpine County during the winter of 1863-64, and it required three teams of 
eight mules each and took several trips. This enterprise proved a failure and 
the father and uncle lost all they invested, in addition to which Olney lost 
$2O,CO0 that he had put into the project. Undaunted by failure he returned to 
Yuba County, where he had a ranch of 400 acres which he farmed in partner- 
ship with a cousin. 

On September 15, 1869, Olney Whiteside was united in marriage with 
Miss Ellen Bradshaw, a native of Illinois, who was a babe in arms when her 
parents brought her across the plains to Oregon and in that state she was 
reared to young womanhood. Her father was the Rev. Charles Bradshaw. a 
minister of the Christian Church in Oregon, and later of California, the family 
having moved from Oregon to Sutter County. Mr. and Mrs. Bradshaw are 
buried in Rosedale Cemetery, Los Angeles. Soon after marriage Mr. White- 
side sold his ranch in Yuba County and removed to Saticoy Springs, Ventura 
County, then a part of Santa Barbara County, and here he leased and operated 
a ranch of 320 acres. Later he farmed the Briggs Orchard place for several 
years. On account of his wife's failing health he removed to the Conejo Ranch, 
on the county line between Ventura and Los Angeles Counties, and purchased 
4,000 acres, later selling 1,000 acres to Mrs. Riley. Mr. Whiteside remained 
here until 1887, when he rented his ranch and removed to Los Angeles, so as 
to provide better educational advantages for his children. He sold his 3,000- 
acre ranch to his oldest son for $20,000. During the three years that Mr. 
Whiteside lived in Los Angeles he helped grade some of the streets. After 
leaving the City of the Angels he was superintendent of the construction of the 
Turlock Irrigation Ditch, but while living there contracted malaria and it was 
thought he could not live. In 1890 he sent his teams over to Lemoore, and 
returned to Los Angeles. The sunshine and balmy air soon restored his lost 
health, then he returned to Lemoore and from there moved over the line into 
what was then Fresno County and rented 1,200 acres, but on account of a 
flood, that season, was unsuccessful in his undertaking and subsequently 
moved to the Summit Lake district where he broke 640 acres of land and 
planted it to wheat, but again he was destined to disappointment for the levee 
broke and his crop was washed away. Renting a combined harvester, al- 
though he had never seen one, he contracted to harvest 2,000 acres of grain, 
and his undertaking proved very successful. At the same time he rented 1,400 
acres of the Boll & Hague ranch. Later Mr. Whiteside became superintendent 
of the Jeff James ranch of 73,000 acres. At the same time ( 1902) he purchased 
his present ranch consisting of 640 acres located four miles southeast of Helm, 
Fresno County. 

Mr. and' Mr. Whiteside are the parents of nine children: Eva, is the 
wife of Dr. W. C. Yates, of Coalinga ; Alexander Lyman, is a rancher in Ven- 
tura County ; Almond Elijah, married Miss Mattie Goff, they reside in Los 
Angeles ; Robert Olney, lives at Helm and farms all of his father's land and 



1332 HISTORY OF FRESNO COUNTY 

rents other acreage; Lena, is the wife of Samuel B. Williams, a rancher at 
Helm; Charles O-, married Miss Campbell and they reside at Orland, Glenn 
County: Melvina, died in 1890, at Los Angeles, aged eight years; John B. 
married Miss Williams and they live in Glenn County; Edward Sherman, 
who passed away on October 18, 1918, was manager of his father's place. 
Mr. Whiteside, now past eighty years of age. is vigorous and active, is a man 
of splendid character, a leader'in matters pertaining to the upbuilding of the 
best interests of the county and his community. He and his wife are members 
of the Christian Church. 

E. B. SWEEZEY. — A rancher who has had a valuable experience both 
in developing his own properties and in assisting other ranchers to develop 
theirs, and who, retired and able to place his savings at the disposition of 
those who need them, is still helping others to succeed, is E. B. Sweezey, 
who resides at 2946 Grant Avenue in Fresno, to which comfortable head- 
quarters he withdrew, after years of strenuous exertion, in July, 1919. He 
was born on Long Island, at Peconic, near Greenport, in the eastern county 
of Suffolk, the son of Samuel Sweezey, a native of Middle Island, the same 
county, and the grandson of the Rev. Azel Sweezey, a Presbyterian minister, 
who farmed 400 acres of land on Long Island. Samuel Sweezey married Miss 
Mary Maria Haynes, who died when our subject was only three years old; 
she was the daughter of an early settler on the Island, and a member of a 
family that originally came from England. 

Through his second marriage he had one child that grew up, Samuel C. 
Sweezey. still single and a farmer on Long Island. Samuel Sweezey, Sr., 
met with an accident to his hand that caused blood poisoning, and he died 
at his home in his sixtieth year. 

Edwin Beecher — for that is the full name of this only offspring from the 
first union — was born at Peconic, L. I., on October 11, 1853, and attended 
the public school of his district, where he received that thorough instruction 
which proved such a foundation for him in later life. He grew up on his 
father's farm, and wljen he left home he worked out by the month for a 
neiglibi r, resuming work for monthly wages from his father when he was 
twenty. Meanwhile, between his eighteenth and twentieth years, he had 
clerked in a general merchandise store at Peconic. He continued to work for 
a time, then decided to follow Horace Greeley's advice and "Go West." He 
first located at Edgar, Clay County, Nebr., where he was married to Miss 
Cora E. Cline, a native of Rochester, N.Y., and the daughter of William B. 
and Louisa (Garrett) Cline ; and in Nebraska he remained for four years. 
In 1884 with his wife and two babies he came out to the Coast and directed 
his course to Selma, where Mrs. Sweezey had two uncles named Cline, who 
were prosperous wheat-growers, and Mr. Sweezey worked on farms. He 
planted the Tremper vineyard of 160 acres set out to muscats, four and a 
half miles east of Selma, known at that time as the Cline Place, and that was 
one of the first large vineyards created east of Selma. For four years, too, 
he ran that vineyard, and then he took the vineyard of William T. Sesnon 
and managed the eighty acres for twenty-two years. 

During part of this time he engaged extensively in raising wheat, oper- 
ating a ranch of 1,500 acres now known as the Great Western Vineyard five 
miles north of Reedley; and although he sold wheat as low as seventy-four 
cents per cwt., he paid his debts on the basis of 100 cents on the dollar. He 
did not clear any profit, however, on wheat : so he bought ninety acres directly 
across the road north of the Sesnon place, and planted that to trees, vines 
and alfalfa. He also bought and improved other lands and sold them. 

From 1904 to 1906 Mr. Sweezey managed 8.000 acres of a ranch of 16,000 
acres in Monterey County, inherited by Mr. Sesnon and badly run down; 
and so well did he handle the estate that he brought it up again to a high 
state of cultivation. He conducted general farming and raised thoroughbred 



HISTORY OF FRESNO COUNTY 1335 

Hereford and Durham cattle, producing the first herd of thoroughbred Here- 
fords in that part of the county. 

Four children have been born to Mr. and Mrs. Sweezey's lives. H. C. 
Sweezey married Amy Sane, a rancher living east of Selma ; F. E. Sweezey 
is also a rancher, and resides on and operates the Sesnon Vineyard, assisted 
by his wife, who was Ethel Johnson of Selma. Eva Alberta, called Birdie, 
is the wife of Alvin King, a rancher who lives southeast of Selma. Shirley 
married Claude Grimes, a rancher northeast of Selma; and resides in that 
town. Mr. Sweezey owns some fine residential property at Long Beach ; 
belongs to the Woodmen of the World, and is a Republican 

In 1916, soon after he bought his present place, Mr. and Mrs. Sweezey 
took an auto trip to the Empire State and his old home on Long Island. He 
also visited Florida, and on his wide tour from San Francisco to New York, 
and Canada to Mexico, he motored through thirty states. None the less, 
these loyal people were glad to get back to the state of their adoption. 

HON. MELVIN PETTIT. — A thoroughly responsible and well-known 
citizen of Fresno County who has worked unceasingly for every interest 
that would add to the upbuilding power of the community in which he lives, 
as well as the county at large, and who has been able to contribute some 
share to the sum-total of forces making for the good, is the Hon. Melvin Pet- 
tit, a Canadian bv birth, he having been born in the great Dominion on 
August 13, 1859. "He is the son of S. T. and Abigail (DeWitt) Pettit, and 
one of a family of ten children. All of these grew to maturity, and three 
are living in Fresno County. 

Reared and educated in the environment of his own country, Mr. Pettit 
came from Canada to Michigan, where he engaged in the lumber business 
for five years, removing after that to California. In 1899 he located at 
Fowler, and at once bought twenty acres ; and being more than pleased with 
his investment, he added another twenty and finally purchased until he owned 
120 acres. He was proud enough of what he had, but like a wide-awake 
settler of the developing kind, he was ready to consider something better. 

Seeing a good chance to become two-thirds owner, with W. D. Wilson, 
on a ranch containing 270 acres near Parlier, he sold his Fowler property in 
1912, and moved to his new home. In the fall of 1918, he bought Mr. Wilson's 
interest in the property mentioned. Now his product is raisins, peaches, and 
Thompson grapes ; and such is his splendid success, that he has obtained 
as high as two and a quarter tons to the acre. This success is doubtless due 
in part to the fact that Mr. Pettit is a scientific and up-to-date farmer, an 
extensive reader, and one who endeavors to keep abreast of the times. 

But Mr. Pettit does not live to succeed alone as an horticulturist. He 
has a healthy interest in practical religion, and is a member of the executive 
board of Fresno County Young Men's Christian Association, on which he 
has served for a number of years. He also has a keen interest in the popular 
education, and has served with a definite purpose on the school board. He 
is an active member of the Methodist Episcopal Church, and has been its 
Sunday school superintendent, besides holding other offices of trust and 
responsibility. 

Mr. Pettit has also taken an active part in civic affairs and political life. 
In 1916 he was nominated by the Progressives, and supported by the Demo- 
crats and Prohibitionists as a candidate for the State Assembly, and was 
elected by a satisfactory majority. In 1918 he was reelected without op- 
position. " He had the honor of casting his vote, at the forty-third session, 
for national prohibition. During his two terms in the legislature Mr. Pettit 
served as a member of the Educational Committee ; the last session he was 
chairman of the Normal School Committee. It was during this session that 
he introduced a bill for the protection of vineyards by stopping the spread 
of Phylloxera : the bill passed and was signed by the governor and is of 
especial interest to vineyardists throughout the entire state. 



1336 HISTORY OF FRESNO COUNTY 

During the Centennial year, Mr. Pettit was married to Miss Anna A., 
daughter of W. W. and Caroline A. (Cross) Kenny, by whom he has had 
several children who have grown to eventful careers. A daughter, Caroline 
W., married Rev. James F. Nelson, a minister of the Presbyterian faith : 
A. Almeda, is the wife of Fred Aden, a missionary in Argentina: Hermon 
D., graduated from Occidental College at Los Angeles, studied for the minis- 
try and just as he had finished his course he entered the service of the United 
States Government during the World War, trained a month at Camp Kearney, 
then was ordered overseas with the Fortieth Division, reaching the front 
when the armistice was signed and was one of the fortunate boys to be 
selected for a college training and is now attending New College in London, 
still in the service of his country; Ruth O., graduated in June, 1919, from Oc- 
cidental College, having completed a teacher's course ; Clare N., intends to 
devote himself to scientific farming. 

Mrs. Pettit is by no means behind her husband in a life of usefulness 
and responsibility. For eight years she has been connected with the Woman's 
Christian Temperance LTnion and has done her share to advance the splendid 
work of that notable organization. Now she is serving as President of the 
local Union. She is also President of the County W. C. T. U. and is the 
First Vice-President of the W. C. T. U. of Northern California. A pleas- 
ing and convincing speaker, she is well-known for her fidelity to the cause 
of temperance, the total abolition of the traffic in alcohol and tobacco. 

ALBERT SIDNEY JOHNSTON SHANNON.— Named in honor of the 
Civil War general, Sidney J. Shannon is a true type of the manhood of Fresno 
County, where he is now ably holding the office of Deputy United States 
Marshal in and for the northern division of the southern district of the State 
of California, his office being located on the second floor of the Post Office 
Building in Fresno, while he and his family are nicely domiciled at his resi- 
dence at 951 Devisadero Street. 

IU- was born at Millerton, Fresno County, on August 27, 1868, and is 
the third child and second son of the late Jefferson M. and Rebecca Margaret 
(Baley) Shannon, and a grandson of the late Gillum Baley. He was six 
years old, when with his parents, he came to the new town of Fresno, then 
in its infancy. He was one of the first generation of Fresno boys and girls 
to attend the public schools of Fresno, the schoolhouse being then located 
at the corner of L and Tulare Streets. In 1881, while a mere lad, he began 
working for Miller & Lux as chore-boy, doing general all-around work- 
clerked in their store, rode the range, etc., until after his parents had moved 
to Alameda where he joined them in July. 1888. He there entered and took 
a commercial course at a branch of Heald's Business College, located at 
Oakland. 

January 1, 1889. he went to work for the Pacific Improvement Com- 
pany, entering their general offices in San Francisco. He began as office-boy 
and ended as chief accountant and paymaster, serving continuously until 
April 30, 1901, when he went back to work for Miller & Lux as their general 
auditor. He became well and personally acquainted with the late Henry 
Miller, who appointed him to take charge of the land department for his 
great firm, and for many years Mr. Shannon had charge of the buying and 
selling of lands, particularly the colonization and upbuilding of the follow- 
ing Miller & Lux colonies: Dos Palos ; Los Banos; Volta; Gustine; Madera: 
Mendota ; Firebaugh and Newman, looking after all the townsite and coloni- 
zation projects of the corporation from Mendota in Fresno County to New- 
man in Stanislaus County. On April 15. 1910, he retired to private life in 
Fresno. On March 12, 1914. he was appointed Deputy United States Marshal : 
he is also deputy sheriff of Fresno County. 

The epidemic of fire which threatened to destroy Fresno City in the 
summer of 1918 was stopped by the vigilant and vigorous efforts of Mr. 



HISTORY OF FRESNO COUNTY 1339 

Shannon, who dealt very promptly and severely with the I. W- W. element, 
and the city was saved. As a reward for his strenuous efforts of the past 
years of application to business, Mr. Shannon has acquired considerable 
property. He is furthermore interested with his brothers Scott A., and L. S. 
as a one-third owner of the Shannon Estate, which owns a large and very 
valuable vineyard, producing malagas and emperors, choice varieties of 
table-grapes, in the production and shipping of which the Shannon brothers 
are experts and their product is eagerly sought in the eastern markets and 
the markets of the Middle West, where the "Shannon Estate" brand of table 
grapes are at a premium. 

They also own and operate the celebrated Shannon Estate stock ranch 
at Wheatville, Fresno County. The 'latter property has been acquired by 
the Shannon brothers since their father's death. 

An able officer and an excellent business man, Mr. Shannon is well- 
known throughout California. He is particularly well-known among the 
Native Sons of the Golden West, in which order he is the oldest member in 
good standing in the state, having been a member for thirty-two years. He 
is now a member of Fresno Parlor, No. 25, and is past president of Halcyon 
Parlor at Alameda. He is also an oldtime and valued member of the Fresno 
Lodge, No. 439, B. P. O. Elks; he is a Thirty-second Degree Scottish Rite 
Mason, a Knight Templar, both at Fresno, and is a life member of Islam 
Temple at San Francisco. 

Mr. Shannon was married to Miss Johanna M. Brock, an Alameda girl, 
and a daughter of C. C. and Johanna M. (Ankerson) Brock of Alameda. 
C. C. Brock was a retired ship-master and well-known at the Bay. Mr. and 
Mrs. Shannon have one daughter, Marie Margaret Shannon, who was mar- 
ried September 4, 1919, to Merrill Ostrom, of Fresno. 

The Shannon home continues to be the center of hospitality where the 
oldtime Fresno cordiality continues to greet young and old friends and 
strangers alike. 

GUY STOCKTON.— Now one of the successful promoters of Fresno, 
Guy Stockton has gained that position through sheer enterprise and grit. 
The genealogy of the Stockton family can be traced back to Sir Richard 
Stockton, a Scotch-Irish nobleman, the progenitor from whom all of that 
name have descended. The Stocktons have played a prominent part in the 
history of California, the city of Stockton being named after one of the family. 

Guy Stockton was born on January 26, 1880, in New Mexico, on the 
divide between that country and Colorado. His father died when he was 
but a small child, and his mother later married N. C. Caldwell, an attorney- 
at-law, and moved to Fresno in March, 1887. Guy attended the Fresno public 
schools as far as the seventh grade, when he called his education com- 
pleted and started on his up-hill climb toward success in life. As early as 
seven years of age he began selling papers on the streets of Fresno, the Ex- 
positor and the Fresno Republican. Afterwards he worked at odd jobs to 
earn a living; in the Clovis Planing Mill for seventy-five cents per day; 
in a dairy for eight dollars per month and board; then as delivery boy and 
clerk for Melvin & Blaney ; for H. Graff, the grocer; for Kutner-Goldstein 
Company ; and in the fruit packing houses. His first real start up the ladder 
came when he entered the bee business. He went into Kern County and 
leased an apiary on shares, making $500 the first season. With this as his 
capital, he came to Fresno and bought 100 hives of bees and ten acres of 
land, on Church Avenue, paying $300 for his first real estate, which he still 
owns. Here he set to work with enthusiasm and produced, bought and sold 
honey on a lapge scale. He was a member, from its organization, of the local 
Beekeepers' Association, and at one time its secretary. 

In 1907, Mr. Stockton started in the real estate business, his first sale 
being a forty-acre orange grove at Centerville for $26,000, which opened his 
eyes and gave him an insight into what could be accomplished in that line. 



1340 HISTORY OF FRESNO COUNTY 

He was the first man to develop north-end property. Buying five-acre lots, 
he subdivided these and sold them off in one-acre lots. He sold lots in Sunny- 
side Gardens, Baker Heights, Recreation Park Tract, and Boyd's Addition. 
In 1917, Mr. Stockton built sixteen houses in Fresno. They were sold before 
being completed, and the call for houses has continued as good since. One 
five-acre piece of land near the Normal School is full of houses erected 
bv Mr. Stockton. He became exclusive agent, in September, 1917, for the 
Peerless Orchards Company, and has sold 400 acres of their properties in 
twenty-acre to forty-acre lots. The Peerless Fig Orchards are located near 
Clovis. The soil is especially adapted to the growing of Calimyrna figs, now 
one of the important industries of Fresno County. Mr. Stockton is the owner 
of an eighty-acre Calimyrna fig orchard in the Peerless tract; and he also 
owns eighty acres of unimproved land situated one mile east of Lane Sta- 
tion, and 160 acres on the west side, besides the ten acres where he originally 
had his bees. In addition to these real estate, holdings, he owns valuable 
city property in Fresno. A man of unusual enterprise and vigorous energy, 
Mr. Stockton has been remarkably successful in his work as a promoter of 
real estate in the county. He specializes in suburban property, and can 
without exaggeration be called one of the real builders of Fresno. It is to 
such men as Mr. Stockton that the county owes its phenomenal growth of 
the past decade, and its rank as one of the most prosperous counties of 
California. 

Mrs. Stockton was in maidenhood Florence Brocklebank, a native of 
Freehold, N. J. She is a cultured and refined woman, possessed of rare 
business acumen, and is actively assisting her husband in his enterprises. By 
his former marriage Mr. Stockton has two sons, Frank R. and Norman. 

DR. WM. TILLMAN BURKS.— The notable career of Fresno's pioneer 
physician, Dr. Till Burks, as familiarly known, who for nearly forty years, 
had been identified with the life of Fresno City and County, came to a very 
sudden close October 21, 1918, after an illness of only one day from influenza. 
Dr. Burks was born at Shelbina, Mo., October 7, 1858, and after completing 
his education in his native town, he entered Boone College, from which he 
was graduated. He came to Fresno in 1880 and joined his brother, Charles 
F. Burks, who had established the first drug store in Fresno, at the corner of 
Mariposa and I Streets where for some years Dr. Burks acted as a drug clerk. 
He completed his medical education at the College of Physicians and Sur- 
geons of San Francisco from which he graduated in 1899 with the degree of 
M. D. and engaged in practice in Fresno. He married Miss Annie J. Wil- 
liams of Fresno, sister of E. A. Williams, the well-known attorney of Fresno, 
and W. R. Williams, bank commissioner for the state of California. She was 
born in Redruth, England. By her he had one son, Dr. Floyd L. R. Burks, who 
has established a practice in Fresno. There was an estrangement which led 
to Mrs. Burks securing a divorce and she now resides in Sacramento. For 
a short period in his early manhood Dr. Burks served as ship's surgeon on 
a Pacific liner, and in this capacity visited the South Sea Islands on a cruise 
which extended over a year. While returning from this cruise in 1890, the 
ship touched at a Mexican port, and President Diaz of Mexico enlisted him 
to stamp out a plague of yellow fever that was then raging in Mexico. Pres- 
ident Diaz gave Dr. Burks unlimited authority to overcome the scourge, and 
placed the army and navy at his disposal, to be utilized in making conditions 
more sanitary. It is stated that in three months he had the epidemic under 
control, and after a residence of ten months in Mexico he returned to Cal- 
ifornia. 

Dr. Burks resumed his practice in Fresno, and from that time on took 
an active interest in matters pertaining to public health, and was for some- 
time president of the board of health and county health officer. While con- 
nected witli the board of health. Dr. Burks is reported, by his friends, to have 
insisted on the observance of the public health laws without fear or favor. 



HISTORY OF FRESNO COUNTY 1343 

In 1898, Dr. W. T. Burks' second marriage occurred, when he was united 
in marriage with Miss Bessie Croft, by whom he is survived. 

As an evidence of the high esteem in which Dr. Burks was held by his 
Alma Mater, special exercises were held in honor of his memory at the Col- 
lege of Physicians and Surgeons at San Francisco, Dr. Charles Boxton, dean 
of the college, delivering the eulogy, the unit of student-soldiers in the Stu- 
dent Army Training Corps at the college stood at attention during the cer- 
emonies. 

Dr. Burks was a prominent Mason, a Knight Templar and Shriner and 
was also a charter member of Fresno Lodge of Odd Fellows. 

R. W. BRISCOE. — There is no question but that success depends upon 
energy directed by intelligence, and courage undaunted by adversity. It is 
often that the plans of men are thwarted by circumstances over which they 
have little or no control, but if they could through industry and perseverance 
overcome the seemingly insurmountable difficulties, as R. W. Briscoe has 
done, success would come to them as it has come to him. 

He was born in Lewis County, Mo., in 1863. His parents were natives of 
Kentucky, but were married in M'issouri. The father was a farmer in Mis- 
souri, but in the fall of 1886 came to California with his family and settled 
west of Malaga, buying land of the Briggs Estate. The family at this time 
consisted of the father, Walter H., and mother, Mary E. ("Wallace) Briscoe, 
and four children : James W., now an oil man in the Kern River field ; Robert 
W. ; Eliza, unmarried, a milliner in Porterville ; and Gertrude, now Mrs. Mel- 
vin Stone. When they came to California the father became a fruit-grower 
and soon interested himself in the oil business, and owned wells in Kern 
County. He died eight years ago at the age of seventy-three years. The 
mother is living at Bakersfield, and is in good health at the age of seventy- 
nine. 

R. W. Briscoe grew up on a farm in Lewis County, Mo., and attended 
the common schools and a graded private academy at Gilead, Mo. He came 
with his father's family to California in 1886. He followed farming and cattle 
feeding in Missouri for two years. On coming to California he bought forty 
acres of land from the Briggs Estate, one and a quarter miles southwest of 
Malaga, improving it and planting it to vines, fig and prune trees, and alfalfa. 

On December 25, 1888, Mr. Briscoe went back east to Indiana and was 
married at Kokomo to Miss Elizabeth Caroline Mugg, daughter of Tames and 
Catharine (Ingels) Mugg, and who is a descendant of Daniel Boone, the 
great Kentuckian. She attended Franklin College, Franklin, Ind., one year, 
and two years at La Grange College, Mo., and it was in her college days that 
the acquaintance began that led to their union. Their honeymoon trip ended 
in Fresno County, Cal., where Mr. Briscoe resumed his farming and fruit- 
raising. 

In the early nineties Mr. Briscoe was hard hit by the panic that landed 
so many men high and dry. He had purchased heavily in land, could not meet 
his payments and lost his possessions. Here is where grit and determination, 
backed up by the optimism of his wife, came to the rescue. He started again, 
and now he owns 1,100 acres in various localities. The home ranch consists 
of forty acres in muscat grapes; 120 acres near Skaggs Bridge, close to Ker- 
man, in vineyard ; 100 acres in the De Wolf District, in vineyard ; also he has 
730 acres near Sanger which he bought last year, which he uses as a stock 
ranch. In 1917 he had planted 100 acres in corn and built three silos, and he 
also had 100 acres in corn in 1918. To use up all this feed he has 240 head of 
cattle mostly feeders, 300 hogs, 20 mules and horses. He has sold 160 acres of 
land to his four oldest sons. In his time, Mr. Briscoe has planted over 500 acres 
to vineyards. In 1909 he raised twenty-three carloads of raisins, all his own, 
seven cars of which he shipped to Minneapolis. He is actively interested in 
the Raisin Growers Association. 



1344 HISTORY OF FRESNO COUNTY 

In the cultivation of his vast holdings, Mr. Briscoe has used all of the 
latest improved farming implements, and brings to his aid three tractors, the 
Moline, the Case and the Fitch. He finds them invaluable in the cultivation 
of his vineyards as they do most excellent work, and as more than half of his 
land is in vineyards, it is necessary that he use such machinery as will do the 
work among the vines. He has resisted the temptation to go largely into the 
oil business, but did venture into that field a few years ago, and came out 
about even. Mr. Briscoe has kept aloof from politics, but is greatly interested 
in education, and has served on the election board for fifteen years. Having 
so many interests and they being somewhat scattered, Mr. Briscoe does bus- 
iness in Sanger, Fowler, Malaga, Fresno and Kerman, and as a consequence 
has a large acquaintanceship among the business men of these communities, 
and is highly esteemed by all of them. 

Mr. Briscoe and W. R. Nutting, now of Fresno, got the first one hundred 
members to the Raisin Growers Exchange, and this was the foundation of the 
California Raisin Growers Association which has been of such benefit to 
raisin-growers in the San Joaquin Valley. 

Mr. Briscoe is an untiring worker, and since the war began has been do- 
ing almost double duty, putting in at times as much as twenty hours a day. 
He is a man of excellent judgment and has great executive abilitv. He is 
kindly considerate, and public-spirited. His wife is an accomplished woman. 
a devoted mother, and a worthy helpmeet. Their home is surrounded with 
the things that make for high standards of living, and abounds with good 
books, farm periodicals and papers. Their family is most interesting, and 
consists of seven children : Ernest, married to Margaret Weimert. of Fresno, 
ranchers, living near the De Wolf school ; Elmer, married to Delcie Barr, 
lives in the same vicinity ; Walter married Gladys Wells, of the same vicinity : 
James, a soldier in France ; Roy, now at home ; Beryl, a senior in Fowler 
High School ; and Fred, in the grammar school. All the older boys attended 
Heald's Business College at Fresno. 

Most highly esteemed by all who know them, it was a happy day indeed, 
when in 1886, the Briscoe family cast their lot in Fresno County. Fresno 
and Fresno County will ever extend a hearty welcome to men of Mr. Briscoe's 
character. 

HON. L. B. CARY. — That adverse conditions build up the strong has 
found convincing evidence in the life of L. B. Cary, whose dauntless .spirit 
has surmounted many obstacles, and drawn helpful lessons from disheart- 
ening circumstances. He was born in Ohio, June 26, 1848, and at the age 
of five years he removed with his parents to Iowa. His father, Rev. J. R. 
Cary, was one of the pioneer ministers of the Methodist Episcopal Church, 
and with his little family went through all the hardships incident to itinerant 
pioneering in that then far-western state. 

In spite of poverty and privation, L. B. secured an academic and col- 
legiate education, and later taught school for a few years and studied law. 
This he abandoned to take up newspaper work, in which he continued till 
coming to California, in 1902. In 1912, Mr. Cary was elected to the State 
Legislature as representative from the Fifty-second District in Fresno 
County. He distinguished himself as a champion of the agricultural interests 
of the state, and was notably instrumental in defeating the measure to bring 
farm labor under the eight-hour law, which would have proved of great in- 
jury to the agricultural, stock and fruit interests of the entire state. 

In 1914, he was reelected and became noted as one of the leading cham- 
pions in the movement against corrupt practices, and in securing legislation, 
and later was instrumental in securing the passage of an amendment to the 
constitution making it unlawful for a member of the legislature to hold any 
other office, trust or employment under the state during the term for which 
he was elected or for two years thereafter. 



HISTORY OF FRESNO COUNTY 1347 

During the session of 1915 a measure was passed having for its aim the 
abolition of party lines in California. A protest against this measure in the 
form of a referendum was carried to the people. Mr. Cary at once became one 
of the leading champions of the referendum, which was approved by the 
people with no uncertain majority. At a special session of 1916 the same 
measure was again forced through the legislature in spite of its repudiation 
by the people. Mr. Cary was made chairman of the legislative committee 
to carry a second referendum of the question to the people. He made a 
thorough organization of the state and after a brilliant and heated contest 
had the satisfaction of seeing the measure for the destruction of party lines 
in California again rejected by the people by an overwhelming majority, all 
but four counties in the state registering their protest against the destruc- 
tion of party integrity. 

Asa platform orator and read)' forum fighter, Mr. Cary has few superiors. 
He was never known to flinch from any contest in which he saw imperiled the 
cause of justice and right. Being a man of intense conviction, and having 
once decided as to the justness of the cause, he took his stand accordingly, 
without fear or favor, and regardless of who might be against him. Through- 
out his whole life he has had but one rule to guide his line of action — that of 
humanity, justice and right. Policy never entered into his calculation. For 
this reason he has made a name for himself in California which will live 
after him in connection with the history of the causes he has championed. 

L. S. SHANNON. — Prominent among the interesting men of Fresno 
County whose acknowledged ability in their chosen fields makes it perfectly 
natural that they should be entrusted with important affairs and attain to 
a leadership meaning much to themselves and the community in which they 
reside, is L. S. Shannon, one of the owners and the superintendent of the 
famous Shannon Estate vineyard," a son of the late J. M. Shannon, long the 
well-known townsite agent of the Pacific Improvement Company, and grand- 
son of Hon. Gillum Baley, a distinguished pioneer. Few men had greater 
foresight, or a higher sense of honor combined with aggressive, executive 
power, than J. M. Shannon, who was an acting director under A. N. Towne, 
president of the Pacific Improvement Company — the holding company for 
the Southern Pacific — and had such influence with Messrs. Stanford, Hunt- 
ington, Crocker and Hopkins, that he secured the valuable donation of sev- 
eral blocks in Fresno for the site of the Court House and Court House Park. 
Judge Baley was the presiding judge when the county seat was removed 
"from Millerton, and was widely esteemed as a man both of native ability 
and great brain power. Elsewhere in this work the lives of these historical 
personages are very properly presented in detail. 

L. S. Shannon was born at Millerton, at that time the county seat of 
Fresno County, on Independence Day, 1871 ; but since he was only three 
and a half years old when his parents moved to Fresno, he has only faint 
recollections of his birth-place. His father, as the student of local history 
may recall, had served as under sheriff; and when the county seat was moved, 
in 1874, he brought his family with him to Fresno where our subject grew 
up and attended the public schools. When a mere lad, in the middle of his 
teens, he knew every business man and every prominent farmer in the city 
and the county ; for he was entrusted with the deliver}' of telegrams, and 
this service for the Western Union Telegraph Company compelled him to 
move about with his eyes and ears wide open. 

Having finished his course of study at the White School, where the late 
D. S. Snodgrass, afterward the banker at Selma, was his last teacher, young 
Shannon attended the Alameda high school, and then went to a business 
college at Oakland. About the same time he became chainman for a party 
of surveyors employed by the Pacific Improvement Company, and his ability 
coming to the attention of his superiors, he was taken into the company's 



1348 HISTORY OF FRESNO COUNTY 

main office at San Francisco, where he remained for eight years. Next he- 
accepted a responsible position with the Oakland Gas Light & Heat Com- 
pany, and he was with that concern for six years. 

On August 2, 1903, Mr. Shannon was married at Alameda to Miss Jane 
Lawrence, a native of Napa and the daughter of Charles and Ann (Willis) 
Lawrence, natives of Stockholm, Sweden, and England, respectively. Mr. 
Lawrence came to San Francisco as a cabin boy on a ship and in the Bay 
City became a ship carpenter. Mrs. Lawrence came to California an orphan, 
and was brought up by an older sister, with whom she remained until she 
married at San Francisco, in 1868. The other children in the Lawrence family 
were Catherine, Willis and Mary. Mrs. Shannon was reared at Alameda 
and was graduated from the Alameda high school, in the Class of '94; after 
which she attended the San Jose Normal School, graduating with the Class 
of '98; and teaching in the city schools of Alameda until she was married. 
Mr. and Mrs. Shannon have two children, Milam Tefferson and Lawrence 
Dudley. 

Mr. Shannon's particular responsibility, in helping to manage the Shan- 
non Estate owned by the several brothers, is for the most part the raising 
of table grapes and in this field he has been signally successful. Through 
many years of work and study he has become a specialist in both the grow- 
ing and marketing of table grapes, and at present has ninety acres in malagas. 
Their products are packed and shipped from Miley, on the Santa Fe. and 
are marketed under the label of the "Shannon Estate Brand," and they com- 
mand high prices, and find a ready market in New York City, Boston and 
Philadelphia. There are also eight acres in emperors, a table grape maturing 
very late in the season, and eighteen acres of muscats and sultanas. He has 
thirty-five acres in peaches, while the balance of the land is in alfalfa and 
pasture. The Shannon Estate Vineyard us.es eight horses and employs live 
men all the year around, and as many as twenty-five men during the harvest- 
ing season. 

Although a Republican, and one with live ideas as to national political 
reform and progress, Mr. Shannon has loyally supported the administration 
in its difficult war work. For six years he served as trustee of the Walnut 
school district, while he lived in that section, and he has maintained a live 
interest in popular education ever since. He is a member of Halcyon Parlor 
of the Native Sons of the Golden West at Alameda, and he also belongs to 
Fresno Lodge, No. 439, B. P. O. Elks. 

DR. EUGENE W. LAISNE.— One of Fresno's most promising profes- 
sional men. Dr. Eugene W. Laisne, was surely destined, by virtue of his 
natural ability, to be a genius among Optometrists. Unusually gifted as a 
mechanical manipulator and inventor, the human eye has been to him an 
open book. His intellectual perception also amounts to a real intuition, by 
which he is able to discover the actual visual condition of his patients, apart 
from their own statements regarding their eye troubles. Dr. Laisne obtained 
his training and experience in optical work in that great center of world life, 
New York City, and in several other leading cities of the East, where he 
studied and practiced under some of the most noted men in the profession, 
and became familiar with the latest apparatus and methods. In 1909 he came 
to California and in July of that year graduated from the Los Angeles College 
of Optometry and Ophthalmology. 

Dr. Laisne chose Fresno as the place in which to build himself up in his 
rising profession, and in 1910 he opened an office in the Republican Building, 
and began the practice which has placed him — in the opinion of those most 
familiar with his work — among the very best Optometrists and Opticians 
in California. After the death of Dr. Rowell in 1912, Dr. Laisne was able to 
occupy the well known rooms in the corner of the second floor of the Repub- 
lican Building, which Dr. Rowell had used for so many years. Here he re- 
mained until May. 1918. when his increasing business and growing reputation 




^.wsfa^ 



HISTORY OF FRESNO COUNTY 1351 

demanded a more commodious and accessible location. He leased and fitted 
up his present admirably equipped offices and work shop, adjoining the Bank 
and Trust Company of Central California, at 1054 J Street, and exactly 
opposite that old landmark, the Grand Central Hotel. Since removing to this 
prominent location, his business has more than doubled, and will undoubtedly 
increase rapidly from year to year. 

If we add to his genius for Optical work and invention, a rare philo- 
sophical insight and an intense desire to be thorough in all his professional 
work, together with an unusual amount of industry, we have the causes of his 
remarkable success in treating the eyes of thousands of people in this city 
and county, and in the valley at large. In many of his cases, Dr. Laisne has 
been wonderfully successful in restoring and strengthening vision, and in 
removing the source of various nervous disorders, as well as that of various 
other organic troubles which (the medical profession now asserts) are largely 
due to defects of vision, and are amenable to correcting lenses. The writer 
confidently predicts that Dr. Laisne's fame as an eye specialist will extend 
throughout the State of California, and probably throughout the country. 

LORENZO B. CHURCH.— Among the worthiest representatives of 
well-known pioneer families of California must be mentioned Lorenzo B. 
Church, the son of the founder of the canal system in Fresno County, and a 
native of Lake County, Ind., where he was born in 1845. His father was 
M. J. Church, a native of Illinois, who removed to Lake County and there 
married Sarah Whittington. He was a blacksmith by trade ; but he gave up 
his business connections in the East and in 1852 crossed the great plains 
with his family, coming to California with the conventional ox teams and 
wagons. He settled on a ranch near Stockton, where he again opened a 
blacksmith shop ; but after a year he removed to Napa County, near Middle- 
ton, in what is now Lake County, not far from the head-waters of Putah 
Creek, and there embarked in the stock business. He continued there as a 
stockman for eight years, and then he took up his residence in Napa City, 
built a large blacksmith shop and conducted that for a couple of years. When 
he sold out, he located in Fresno County at Centerville, and there he en- 
gaged in sheep-raising for another two or three years ; and in 1870 he started 
the canals that made Fresno County famous. He began about three miles 
above Centerville, and took the water needed from the Kings River, calcu- 
lating, as he progressed, on gravity ; he bought lands and traded water rights ; 
and as is more definitely set forth in the historical portion of this work, he 
constructed a system much needed and of the greatest value to the communi- 
ties they sought to serve. Finally, he sold all of his interest in the canals, 
and in the transaction was cheated out of about one-half of what he was en- 
titled to, so that the matter is still in the courts. Lorenzo's father then went 
to Oakdale and bought the Lane Mineral Springs; and he kept that resort 
and a cattle-ranch near-by until he died. When Mrs. Church died in Fresno 
she was the mother of eight children, only three of whom are still living. 
The oldest are Lorenzo B. and a twin sister, Mrs. Lodema Fanning of Fresno, 
and Amanda, Mrs. M'unn of Fine Gold, Madera County. 

Coming to California across the plains in his eighth year, Lorenzo was 
reared in Napa and educated in its public schools, and from a boy learned 
the blacksmith trade. As early as 1870, he came to Fresno County, remain- 
ing about nine months, then went to Lake County and engaged in sheep 
raising in Napa and Lake Counties ; homesteaded and preempted also near 
Middletown, on Putah Creek. He bought more land, until he had over 800 
acres, and continued there until the spring of 1879, when he sold out and 
located in Fresno County. 

He immediately went to work constructing canals, and for five years 
he was foreman under his father, after which he was superintendent of the 
company that bought his father out. This was the firm of Perrin & Cheek, 



1352 HISTORY OF FRESNO COUNTY 

and under them and their successors he continued for about twenty-two 
years. Then he resigned, to look after his own interests. 

Soon after he located here and bought 320 acres just west of Fresno. 
There be built a home and engaged in grain ranching, later laying out 100 
acres in a vineyard and orchard. Still later he began renting for gardens, and 
for twenty years he ran the Church Dairy. He laid out Church Avenue, 
planting the beautiful shade trees there, and he also plotted out Fruit Ave- 
nue, as the eastern line of the ranch. He built a store on the corner and 
commenced the well-known mercantile business, which is now the property 
of his granddaughter, Mrs. J. D. Quick. In addition to these holdings, Air. 
Church owns valuable residence and business property in Fresno. A man 
of affairs in the commercial world, he is also influential in politics, working 
for national issues under the banners of the Republican party. 

At Lower Lake, October 3, 1868, Mr. Church was married to Miss 
Josephine Springston. who was born in the East and died July 13, 1913, 
the mother of five children : Carrie, was Mrs. Hickok and she died in Fresno 
County February 14, 1900, the mother of two children — Estella, now Mrs. 
Ben Brophy, who lives in Fresno; and Ina, now Mrs. J. D. Quick, of the 
same city; Rena, Mrs. Turnbull of Fresno, mother of three children, one 
still living. Lorilla. Mrs. A. T. Doore, also of Fresno; Lola died when she 
was tw r enty years of age ; Leona, wife of M. Brophy of Fresno, and Lorenzo, 
a babe, survived only his first six months. 

JOEL THOMAS ELAM.— A resident of California since 1852. Joel 
Thomas Elam, or "Tom" as he is called by his friends, was born on March 
15. 1851. in Bell County. Texas, and from the Lone Star State was brought 
to California by his parents, Joel Elam, a native of either Tennessee or Vir- 
ginia and a member of an old Virginia family, and Sarah Frances Callis, 
a native of Kentucky, whom he married in Tennessee. The happy couple 
came to Texas, where Mr. Elam followed his trade of a machinist ; but as he 
was in very poor health, he was advised by physicians to remove to the 
Pacific Coast, in the hope that a milder climate might renew his constitution. 
With that yearning in view, he started with his wife and five children across 
the plains in an ox team train ; but he was destined never to see the blue 
waters of the Pacific, for he died en route and was buried on the trackless 
plains. 

His widow brought the little children through to El Monte, the young- 
est a baby and the oldest a boy in his ninth year ; and from El Monte they 
moved to San Juan. There she was married again to a Mr. Presley, a farmer 
and a stockraiser, and four children were born from this second union. After- 
wards Mr. and Mrs. Presley removed to San Joaquin County, then to Stanis- 
laus County, and then to Mariposa County, and at Mormon Bar Mrs. Presley 
kept a boarding house, rearing and schooling her children as best she could. 
When they were old enough to farm, they moved to Pea Ridge, and later 
to Chowchilla ; and here the children, while farming and raising stock, 
cared for their mother in return, until she became very ill, and was taken 
to Stockton for treatment, where she died, in her sixty-fourth year. She was 
a wonderful woman, full of energy and ambition, a devout Methodist, rear- 
ing her family in the ways of honesty and truth, and she had the satisfaction 
of living to see the children stand by her to the end. 

Of the five children by her first marriage. Joel Thomas was the young- 
est, and his earliest recollections are of the Golden West. He attended school 
in the wilds of Mariposa County, and as early as his eighth year went to 
work in a dairy at Chowchilla, where he continued until he was fifteen. Then, 
for four years, he raised hogs on shares, meeting with reasonable success, 
and after that, for eighteen months, he worked on a farm for Frank Twitch- 
ell. During that time, he drew only ten dollars of his wages ; and when 
Twitchell failed, he lost all that he had earned. He then worked for other 
ranchers until 1876 when, with his brother, Taylor M. Elam, he bought 



HISTORY OF FRESNO COUNTY 1353 

some cattle and engaged in stockraising. The year 1877, however, proved 
one of the terrible "dry years" of Coast history, and they were compelled to 
drive their cattle far back into the Yosemite Valley, in order to save most 
of them. After that, the brothers ran their stock at Pea Ridge for seven 
years. 

In 1879 Mr. Elam was married in Mariposa County to Miss Mary E. 
Mullins, a native of that county, and after that he dissolved partnership with 
his brother, and farmed alone at Chowchilla until 1886. There, ten years 
later, his wife died. In his farming operations he was successful, especially 
as a raiser of grain, for which he used three big teams and a combined har- 
vester ; but selling his outfit, he engaged in raising cattle, mules and horses. 
He also owned a good ranch, while he rented a stock range. 

In 1901 he brought his cattle and stock to Fresno County, and leasing 
from AT. Theo. Kearney, started a dairy on the Kearney ranch. Then, in 
1902, he married a second time, choosing for his wife Mrs. Elizabeth Frances 
(Beevers) Mullins, a native of Mariposa County. Her father, John Beevers, 
had crossed the plains in pioneer days, was a good miner and then a stock 
raiser, making a specialty of fine horses ; and by her union with Mr. Mullins 
she had had one daughter, Ida, now Mrs. Russell, who since her mother's 
death, on August 24, 1917, presides over Mr. Elam's home. 

Mr. Elam bought a ranch of fifty-five acres, in 1904, on North Avenue, 
four miles southeast of Kerman, taking into partnership again his brother, 
Taylor M. Elam. This they leveled and improved to alfalfa, and then con- 
tinued dairying and stock-raising. They also own forty acres on Kearney 
Avenue, which they have improved to alfalfa, where they have installed a 
pumping plant for irrigating; and they have 700 acres for pasture. Here 
they maintain a dairy herd of sixty cows, besides many stock cattle. Ever 
since 1904 Mr. Elam has made his home in Fresno, superintending the 
ranch from there. 

He is a stockholder in the Danish Creamery Association, a member of 
the Methodist Church. South. He has been very active in church work, liberal 
and enterprising, and gives his support gladly to every movement that has 
for its object the building up of the county, and the enhancing of the com- 
fort and morals of the people. 

BUNNIE LAWRENCE WYLLIE.— An enterprising and popular citi- 
zen, and the son of a prominent early settler who had the distinction of first 
advocating irrigation for the Helm district and of planting some of the first 
alfalfa there, and who was therefore a true up-builder of Central California, 
was Bunnie Lawrence YVyllie, a man of affairs wisely following in his father's 
footsteps. He was born at Fresno, on June 18, 1887, the son of Franklin 
Pierce Wyllie, a native of Missouri who was reared there. Grandfather YVyllie 
was born in Scotland, so that the family may be well-satisfied with its Scotch- 
American origin and blood. F. P. Wyllie was a farmer who came out to 
California about the middle eighties, and settling at Fresno, became a horti- 
culturist and viticulturist. Later he moved to Burrel, Fresno County, and 
leased the Burrel Estate, where he raised grain until 1900, when he bought 
a ranch at Helm, which he improved, planting alfalfa. He had 160 acres, 
and he was the first to demonstrate that this section was well adapted to the 
growing of alfalfa. He was prominent in the projects to irrigate Helm and 
the surrounding country, and built both the weir that dammed the slough 
and the headgate of the Stinson canal. He died there in 1910. He had mar- 
ried Elizabeth Harris, a native of Missouri., the ceremony taking place at 
Sedalia, and she now resides in San Francisco. 

Seven children were born to this pioneer couple. Hattie is Mrs. Sudden 
of the Bay metropolis; Delta, who became Mrs. Brawner, died in Texas; 
Bertha is Mrs. Keep, of Ogden, Utah; Bunnie Lawrence is the subject of 
this sketch ; Clarence, is deceased ; Ruth is Mrs. Rodgers of Arizona ; and 
Hazel is Mrs. Miller of San Francisco. 



1354 HISTORY OF FRESNO COUNTY 

Dannie Lawrence was brought up in Fresno County, and attended the 
public schools at both Burrel and Helm, and finally graduated from the 
Fresno High School, being a member of the Class of '08. After graduation, 
he entered the Bank of Coalinga as bookkeeper, and continued there for five 
years. He was receiving teller and in 1914 was promoted to be assistant 
cashier; and when the two banks were consolidated, he continued with the 
First National Bank about six months, when he resigned, to engage in 
ranching. 

In April. 1916. he leased the old house on the home place and the land 
adjoining and started to raise hogs ; later became a wheat farmer operating 
on modern lines. In January, 1917, Mr. Wyllie bought an interest in Spear 
Bros., the Dodge motor agency; but in March. 1918. he sold out to his 
partners. With Mr. Diltz he then bought out the Kratzer Service Station 
on E Street, which also has a fine garage in connection. 

On November 29. 1911, Mr. YVvllie was married at Fresno to Miss Stella 
Jenkins, a native of Salinas, Cal.. and the daughter of Louis B. lenkins, a 
native son of the state, who was born at Hanford. Grandfather Jenkins came 
from Kentucky, and was a pioneer who settled at Stockton, where he was an 
attorney and a justice of the peace. L. B. Jenkins popularly known as Judge 
Jenkins, engaged in farming at Salinas, and was also an attorney and justice 
of the peace. He died at Salinas. He had married Carrie Pursell, a native 
daughter, whose father was James Pursell ; he was born in Iowa and crossed 
the plains to California in 1852, and later he made several trips back and 
forth across the continent, and he also traveled widely over the state. Mrs. 
Jenkins, who remarried and is now Mrs. Barber, resides at Chico. She was 
the mother of four children, three of whom are living: and of these Mrs. 
Wyllie is the oldest. She is a graduate of the Hanford high school and of the 
San* Jose State Normal, where she was a member of the Class of 1910; and 
later she taught school at Coalinga. 

Mr. Wyllie served for two terms as city treasurer of Coalinga, and his 
administration of that office was such as to reflect creditably both on him- 
self and the constituency that placed him there. Air. Wyllie died January 
5, 1919, of influenza and was mourned by his family and many friends who 
admired him for his manliness and worth as a citizen. 

HUGH ROBERT McCORD.— One of the early settlers of the West 
Side who by perseverance and close application has made a success of farm- 
ing is Hugh Robert McCord, a native of New York, born near YVarrensburg, 
Warren County, December 17, 1850. His father was a farmer at Omro, 
Winnebago County, Wis., and served in the Fifth Wisconsin Cavalry in the 
Civil War until he was killed at the battle of Vicksburg, Miss., in 1863. Mr. 
McCord's grandfather was a native of Vermont and served in the War of 
1812, while great-grandfather McCord, who was of Scotch descent, served in 
the Revolutionary War and experienced the terrible winter at Valley Forge. 
Mr. McCord had two brothers in the Civil War: Thomas, who was killed at 
the Battle of Perryville, Ky., while James served through the war in the 
Twenty-first Wisconsin Regiment, and after the war was an engineer on the 
Wisconsin River until his death. Mr. McCord's mother died when he was six 
weeks old, leaving five children, two of whom are living, he being the young- 
est. He was reared in the family of Mr. and Mrs. Allen Saville, where he grew 
up on a farm and received a good education in the public schools. In 1865 he 
came out to Omro, Wis., and lived with his oldest sister. Mrs. Jane A. Nye, 
who is still living and is now making her home in California. 

He immediately apprenticed as a flour miller at Omro learning the trade 
in the old Burr mill run by water power. In 1868 he removed to Albany. 
Green County, Wis., where he met with an accident in the mill which neces- 
sitated his laying off and he went to school for two years. In 1871 he came 
gradually west, working in flour mills in Iowa, Nebraska and Kansas. 



HISTORY OF FRESNO COUNTY 1357 

In the fall of 1874 he came to San Francisco and in the spring of 1875 
he came to Murrays mill on the Merced River where he was manager of 
the mill for two years ; then to Dixon, Solano County, where he ran a mill 
a season and in the fall of 1877 he came to Sperrys mill in Stockton where he 
was stonedresser until the spring of 1878, when he accepted the place as 
manager of the Paradise mills near Modesto, a position he filled for fourteen 
years. He remodeled the mill, putting in the full new roller process and 
built up a big business and a good trade. 

As early as 1887 he located a homestead of 160 acres on the West Side, 
where his family resided while he continued in his position to make the 
money for their living expenses and homestead improvements. In 1892, how- 
ever, he gave up his position and turned his attention to farming. When he 
came here there were no water wells in the vicinity and he purchased a well 
rig in Stanislaus County and brought it to his home and drilled a well, then 
drilled for his neighbors. Then a sheep man concluded he wanted to summer 
on the West Side and Mr. McCord drilled a well for him, and then others 
caught the same fever and he continued in well drilling for twenty-two years, 
drilling hundreds of wells on the different farms on the West Side. He 
added to his holdings and now has 500 acres here where he engages in stock- 
raising. 

Mr. McCord was married in Modesto to Miss Mary A. Baldwin, born 
in Manchester, England, who came with her parents to New Harmony, Ind., 
and in 1876 came to California. He was bereaved of his wife on July 30, 
1919. She was a devout Presbyterian. 

Mr. McCord became a member of the Odd Fellows in Waterville, Kans. 
Then was a member of the Modesto Lodge of Independent Order of Odd 
Fellows, and now is a member of the Coalinga Lodge. He helped organize 
the Idlewild school district of which he was a trustee for many years. Politi- 
cally he is a Social Democrat. 

BESLEY LEFEVER.— The efficient superintendent of the Confidence 
Oil Company, the oldest company in the west side oil field of Coalinga, is 
Besley Lefever, who has been a resident of this section of the county since 
1898. He was born in Ellenville. Ulster County. N. Y., June 25, 1858, a son 
of Alfred and Susan (Frear) Lefever, the father being of French descent, 
but a native of Esopus, N. Y., the mother a native of Ellenville, the same 
state. The original spelling of the name was La Fevre, meaning in French 
"the smith," but later generations changed the spelling to Lefever. 

During the Civil War the father was a member of the Fifty-sixth Regi- 
ment, New York Volunteer Infantry, and was killed in the Battle of Honey 
Hill, Ya. The mother was left a widow with five children, and through all 
of her hardships she kept the family together, reared them to useful lives 
and gave them the best educational advantages she could under the circum- 
stances. Later in life she was affectionally cared for by her loving children, 
her last years being spent in Coalinga, where she passed away in 1913, at 
the advanced age of ninety-five years. The family consisted of: Huffman, 
who died about 1865; William, who died in Denver, Colo., November 28, 
1918; Charles, who passed away at Livermore, Cal., in 1917, was one of the 
pioneer oil men of Coalinga; Besley, the subject of this sketch; and Mary, 
who is now Mrs. Hamm of Coalinga. 

Besley_ Lefever was brought up in Ellenville, N. Y., and at an early age 
he was obliged to go to work to help his mother support the family, there- 
fore his educational advantages were limited. Before he was thirteen years 
of age he was working on a packet, running down the Hudson River from 
Ellenville to New York City, and when a little more than fourteen years 
old had risen to be a captain of one of these boats. In that capacity he con- 
tinued until 1876, being then about eighteen, when he resigned and left for 
Mound City, Kans., where he arrived in 1877. 

66 



1358 HISTORY OF FRESNO COUNTY 

In 1878 he continued his journey further westward, locating at Lead- 
ville, Colo., arriving there about the beginning of mining developments in 
that section. With his brother William in 1879, he went to Garfield, Chaffee 
County, Colo., where they helped start the Monarch mining district and 
mined until 1883. Upon the discovery of oil at Florence, he made his way 
to the new old field, where he gained valuable experience as an oil driller. 
He and his brother Charles engaged in contract drilling, and in addition to 
the Florence field they operated their business at Santa Fe, N. M. In 
December, 1897, Besley Lefever came to California and worked for a while 
in the Los Angeles oil field. It was in 1898 that he made his advent in the 
Coalinga field, and at first he was engaged with the New York Oil Company, 
drilling for oil on the hill above Oil City, where oil had already been dis- 
covered. About the same time James Gilbreath drilled for the Selma Oil 
Company, on the hill which was located on section 20-19-15, but when the 
drilling was finished it proved to be a dry hole. Mr. Gilbreath then went to 
the east side and drilled a well for the Independent Oil Company on section 
28, which is now the property of the Standard Oil Company. Mr. Lefever 
was at this time engaged in drilling on the west side for the Confidence Oil 
Company, on section 31-19-15 and was successful in obtaining oil. This was 
in 1900, and marks the beginning of the west side oil field. The Confidence 
Oil Company continued their developments on their property which con- 
sists of 160 acres, and now have many good, producing wells, the original 
well being still in operation. Mr. Lefever is a stockholder in the company, 
and among the original stockholders were the following : Judge Risley, E. A. 
Walron. Frank Clairy, James Vincent, and David S. Ewing. Besley Lefever, 
in* point of service, is one of the oldest operators in the Coalinga oil field 
and is regarded as one of the best posted oil men in this section. His ser- 
vices in behalf of the Confidence Oil Company all these years have been 
appreciated by the officers of the company, because in 1919. the Call Oil 
Company (composed of practically the same personnel) made him super- 
intendent of their property in the Coalinga field. This mark of appreciation 
and confidence is a distinct compliment to Mr. Lefever. 

At Florence, Colo., June 4, 1890, Besley Lefever was united in marriage 
with Lillian M. Widerfelt, a native of Springfield, 111., and daughter of 
William and Margaret (McNelley) Widerfelt, natives of New Jersey. Mrs. 
Lefever went to Florence, Colo., in 1888, to visit her brother William, and 
there she met Mr. Lefever, an acquaintance that resulted in their marriage. 
They are the parents of two children : William Arnet, who served in the 
L T nited States Army in the World War, is now in the Texas oil fields ; Irene, 
is now the wife of Karl Lewis, the cashier of the First National Bank, at 
Dinuba, Cal. 

Mr. Lefever has been a member of the Knights of Pythias since 1888, 
and is now a Past Commander; while his wife is a member of the Pythian 
Sisters of which organization she is a Past Chief, and is also past president 
of the Welcome Club, and chairman of the Welcome Club Auxiliary of Coal- 
inga Chapter of the Red Cross. Mr. and Mrs. Lefever were very patriotic 
and intensely interested in forwarding every movement that aided in winning 
the war. Religiously they are both members of the Presbyterian Church, 
and in Coalinga social circles are very popular and highly esteemed. 

FIRST NATIONAL BANK OF FOWLER.— Xo town in California is 
more fortunate than Fowler in the character and caliber of the men entrusted 
with its financial interests, as will be seen alone from the history of the First 
National Bank which was organized on August 25. 1904. Another bank 
was organized at Fowler in January, 1913, .having also been created under 
the Federal laws, and that was called the Fowler National Bank, an insti- 
tution that built the beautiful two-story brick building occupied by the First 
National since 1913. 



HISTORY OF FRESNO COUNTY 1359 

In 1914 there was a merger of the two banks mentioned, an achievement 
made possible by the purchase of the stock in the First National Bank by 
the Fowler National, whose interests were thereupon transferred to the First 
National Bank, which has ever since occupied the banking offices and con- 
tinued a general banking business under the corporate name of the First 
National Bank. 

It is a solid financial institution, as may be seen by the examination of 
any of its recent official reports. On December 31, 1917, for example, it had 
for its resources loans and discounts to the amount of $337,580.46; United 
States bonds worth $96,106; municipal and other bonds totalling $59,876.67; 
$1,800 worth of Federal Reserve Bank stock; banking house and fixtures 
worth $27,700 ; $500 in other real estate ; a five per cent, fund amounting to 
$2,500; and $162,855.82 in cash and due from other banks. Its liabilities are 
included in a capital stock of $50,000; a surplus fund of $10,000; undivided 
profits to the amount of $5,843.44; a dividend (No. 14) of $5,000; a circula- 
tion of $50,000, and deposits to the amount of $568,075.31, the debits and 
credits balancing at the sum of $688,918.75. The bank pays four per cent, 
interest on' time deposits, and rents its safe deposit boxes at $2, $3 and $5 
per year. 

The officers of this institution for 1917 were: President, Fred Nelson; 
Vice-president, C. V. Peterson; Cashier, L. J. Harriman ; Assistant Cashier] 
R. E. Giffen. Directors, Fred Nelson, C. V. Peterson, L. J. Harriman, J. H. 
Weinberg, C. A. Rigby. and H. W. Wrightson. Among the bank's stock- 
holders are many wealthy men of Fowler and Fresno County, and these, 
with the officers, endeavor in every way to iurther the best interests of the 
bank's patrons. 

THOMAS A. COWAN.— Enjoying the distinction of being the oldest 
living resident rancher in the Summit Lake country, and one of its foremost 
and highly-respected citizens, Thomas A. Cowan also enjoys the prestige of 
both a thoroughly practical wheat and grain farmer— using only the most 
up-to-date machinery — and one of the largest and most successful growers 
on the West Side. Living on his home ranch of 320 acres four miles west 
of Lanare, and half a mile to the south of that town, he also operates two sec- 
tions of the Kings County Development Company's land ten miles north of 
Huron. 

He was born in 'McDonough County. Ill, on February 11, 1859, the son 
of William Cowan, a native of Scotland, who came to America with his 
parents and grew up to be a coal miner. He came to McDonough County, 
111., to work at coal mining. In time he became the owner of a farm of 160 
acres. His wife was Mary Ann Bright, before marriage and was born in 
England. Thomas Cowan worked both in the mines and on his father's farm, 
turning to the latter in summer, and busying himself at mining during the 
winters. As a boy at home, he attended the public schools of McDonough 
County. In that county, at the ripe old age of eighty-four, William Cowan 
passed away ; but the mother still lives at Colchester, eighty-four years old. 
Seven children — four boys and three girls — were born to this worthy couple ; 
and Thomas is the second oldest son and child. A brother, Charles Cowan, 
lives four miles north of Modesto, and is a dairy farmer. 

It was the fall of 1880 when Thomas Cowan first came to California, and 
began working near Grangeville, in what is now Kings County, hiring out 
as a farm hand. He spent from 1882 to 1884 in Washington Territory, and 
in Whitman County proved up a claim of 160 acres. Then he returned to 
Grangeville and for several years worked for his uncle, "Wash" Bloyd, the 
pioneer farmer and "wheat king." In 1886, he and three of his cousins, sons 
of Mr. Bloyd, came up to the Summit Lake country, then a new district in 
Fresno County, and each bought a tract of eighty acres, improving the land 
and farming. 



1360 HISTORY OF FRESNO COUNTY 

In 1892, Mr. Cowan was married to Miss Beulah Beatty, a native of 
Clayton County, Iowa, who had come to California with her parents ; and 
as the only one of the Summit Lake party to remain here, he settled on his 
present place, then consisting of 160 acres, which he had bought and partially 
improved. Later he added another 160 acres by purchase, and he has made 
the ranch his home ever since. 

In 1917 Mr. Cowan bought a forty-five horsepower Holt caterpillar trac- 
tor, and in 1919 he purchased a Steward truck of one and a half tons, on 
which he hauls loads of three tons each to Lanare, his shipping point. On 
July 26, 1919, he thus transported 181 sacks of grain from his Huron ranch 
to Lanare. thirteen miles distant, in four trips covering 104 miles, and load- 
ing and unloading, or "bucking" the sacks all alone without exhausting 
himself or having a breakdown — a showing, at sixty years of age, for which 
no one need be ashamed. As a self-made man, he is well-muscled, powerfully 
built physically, and bright and able mentally. The war-draft left him very 
short of help, and there was little to do, but knuckle down to the situation 
uncomplainingly. The year 1919 was very dry, yet such was Mr. Cowan's 
continued mastery of problems that his crops were very fine. From the 
Cowan home ranch of 320 acres, Mr. Cowan took in 1919, 2,500 sacks of 
barley and 300 sacks of wheat; while from the Huron ranch in the same 
season he harvested 3,700 sacks of barley and 2,750 sacks of wheat. He is 
still the sole proprietor of one of the two sections of rented land in the 
Huron district, while in operating the other, he is in partnership with Dick 
Miles of Hanford. 

Mr. and Mrs. Cowan have* two children, of whom they may well be 
proud. 'William T. served in France, and returned on July 21, 1919, honor- 
ably discharged from the hospital service. Charles E. also served in France 
with the Forty-second Balloon Company; was honorably discharged and 
reached home on May 3, 1919. 

Mrs. Cowan is a bright, cheerful and interesting woman who shares 
with her husband an agreeable popularity ; he belongs to the Odd Fellows at 
Lemoore. 

EMMETT G. RICHMOND. — A successful California rancher who not 
only has been a close observer and an untiring student in endeavoring to learn 
how best to care for vines and orchards, but through mastering a knowledge 
of Fresno County soils has become well posted as a horticulturist and viti- 
culturist, is Emmett G. Richmond, the son of Theodore W. Richmond. The 
father went from Indiana, where he was born, to Iowa, where he home- 
steaded; and when the war broke out between the North and the South, 
he was among the first to volunteer to stand by Lincoln, and he was made 
captain of Company H of the Nineteenth Iowa Volunteer Infantry, which 
he had organized. He did valiant service at the siege of Vicksburg, and was 
later laid up through exposure to malaria. Returning to the avocations of 
peace, he farmed in Scotland County, Mo., and there he died, aged sixty- 
seven years. The familv originally came from New York State, wdiere the 
name is most favorably known. 

Theodore Richmond married Elvira Irish, a daughter of the Hoosier 
State, whose parents, of the long line of Mayflower stock, came from Con- 
necticut. She died in Missouri, greatly honored, the mother of ten children; 
six of whom have grown to maturity. The youngest of those still living is 
Emmett. 

He was brought up on a farm, and attended the public schools, and with 
his parents, he remained, assisting at the farm work, until he was twenty- 
three years of age. On February 4, 1891. he was married near Memphis to 
Miss Minnie N. Easterday, who was born in Columbus, Ohio. She came to 
Scotland County, Mo., with her parents D. L. and Nancy ('Warren) Faster- 
day. After his marriage Mr. Richmond began to farm for himself. He bought 
a farm, but sold it again in 1904, when he came to California. 




% 

£ 

J 






HISTORY OF FRESNO COUNTY 1363 

The first purchase consisted of twenty acres three miles west of Fresno 
on California Avenue, where he engaged in viticulture and horticulture, but 
promising as was the outlook, circumstances led him to return to Missouri 
at the end of three years, when he bought a farm there. At the end of two 
years, however, he had sold out and was back again in California — like so 
many thousands of other folk, who have once fallen under the charm of the 
Golden State ; and it was then that he secured his present place of twenty 
acres on Clinton Avenue in the Montpelier tract. The land needed much 
improvement, and Mr. Richmond, through his experience and industry, gave 
it just what was needed. 

He later bought twelve and a half acres in the Roeding Villa Colony 
on Clinton Avenue. He leveled it and set out a peach orchard and vineyard, 
planting Thompson seedless, peaches and olives; and although he disposed 
of some of the property in 1916, he still owns twenty acres, and a fine resi- 
dence built in the fall of 1918. He also owns some valuable property in 
Fresno, consisting of a residence and several lots. He is a member and a 
stockholder of the California Peach Growers, Inc., and also of the California 
Associated Raisin Company. 

Two children were born to bless this happy union ; but one, Anna Idell, 
died in her eleventh year — in the fall of 1904. Edna Pearl, the other daughter, 
is now the wife of Adam Robbins of Fresno. The family attend the First 
Methodist Episcopal Church in Fresno ; and Mr. Richmond belongs to Lodge 
No. 158 of the Odd Fellows in Fresno. 

A Republican in matters of national political import, Mr. Richmond has 
shown his desire to cast party lines aside in the support of local movements, 
and has served two terms as school trustee in the Roeding district. 

CHARLES FREDERICK GOODRICH.— One of the most prominent 
and successful ranchers in the vicinity of Tranquillity, Fresno County, is 
Charles F. Goodrich, the son of a California pioneer and himself a native son, 
born May 26, 1867, in San Juan, San Benito County. His father, Charles 
Henry Goodrich, was a native of Maine, who in 1852, came to San Francisco 
via Cape Horn. At first he was engaged by Flint & Bixby, large landed pro- 
prietors in San Benito County, and being very industrious and thrifty he 
saved his money until he had sufficient capital to engage in the sheep-raising 
business on his own account. He purchased land and ranged his sheep in 
Pleasant Valley, near what is now the Coalinga oil district, Fresno County. 
In 1879, he located at Riverdale, and at one time owned a ranch south of 
Selma where he followed farming and stock-raising. He died in 1893, while 
on a trip to the mountains in the Kings River district, and at his passing the 
county lost a public-spirited citizen. The mother of C. F. Goodrich was Maggie 
McCarthy, in maidenhood, a native of Ireland who came with her parents to 
San Francisco when she was a child, and it was in the city by the Golden 
Gate that she grew to young womanhood, afterwards she going to San Juan, 
San Benito County, where she married Mr. Goodrich. She passed away in 
1877, the mother of five children. 

Charles F. Goodrich was the oldest of the five children and was reared 
in San Benito County until 1879, when he accompanied his father to Fresno 
County where he attended school in Central Colony, afterwards attending 
school at Lemoore. At the early age of fifteen years he was obliged to make 
his own living and at first he was employed at teaming, to and from the 
mountains, for Mr. Jacobs. Being very ambitious to get a start in business 
for himself, he saved his money and by the time he was twenty-two he had 
accumulated enough cash to purchase an outfit and, with his younger brother 
Edward, leased land at Caruthers where they raised grain and here they 
continued to farm until the unusually dry year of 1898, when they were 
obliged to abandon their enterprise and dissolved partnership. After this 
Charles F. leased swamp lands of Jeff James, above San Joaquin, and here he 



1364 HISTORY OF FRESNO COUNTY 

operated 1,000 acres, used four big teams and had a combined harvester to 
cut and thresh his crops. After he had disposed of this lease he purchased his 
present ranch of eighty acres in 1910, and later bought forty acres located one 
mile farther east. He improved these ranches by leveling and checking, and 
engaged in raising alfalfa. On one of his ranches he sunk an artesian well, 
going down 1,100 feet, and to conserve the water for irrigation purposes he 
constructed a reservoir. His land is especially good for raising grain and 
alfalfa. In addition to operatng his own ranches, Mr. Goodrich leases other 
land and altogether operates about 900 acres, 200 being devoted to alfalfa and 
700 to grain. He helped to build the old Joaquin Ditch and reclaimed about 
700 acres of swamp land for Jeff James, the land being known as the old 
Goodrich Ranch, on the San Joaquin River. He did this work while leasing 
the land and raising grain. In 1916, C. F. Goodrich, accompanied by his 
brother and others, went to Lower California, where they engaged in reclama- 
tion work of about 62,000 acres below Calexico. They seeded 8,000 acres to 
wheat and installed two steam pumps for irrigating the land. This concern 
was composed of ranchers and sheepmen of Tulare, Kings and Fresno Coun- 
ties, and was known as the Chinn Gravell Company. They remained there one 
season and it is now leased as fast as water can be supplied. 

In 1891, C. F. Goodrich was united in marriage with Miss Mary Elizabeth 
Forsyth, a native of Scotland, who came to California when a girl, with her 
parents. The ceremony was solemnized at Caruthers, Fresno County and 
this happy union was blessed with five children: Naomi, who is a graduate 
of the San Benito high school, lives with her parents; Ralph, who served 
in the Seventieth Balloon Company, Aviation Department, U. S. Army: 
Charles, who also served his countrv as a member of Company A One 
Hundred First Engineers, Twenty-sixth Division, and was stationed in 
France for one year, and saw service through all the battles, going over the 
top twelve times ; Fred, a student at the Caruthers high school and assisting 
his father on the ranch; Ellsworth, a graduate of the Easton high school, 
also attended the University of Southern California, and who is now em- 
ployed bv the Standard Oil Company at San Joaquin. 

Mr. Goodrich is a very progressive and public-spirited citizen and is 
especially interested in the advancement of the educational interests of his 
community, being a trustee of Tranquillity School District, as well as a mem- 
ber of the board of trustees of Tranquillitv Union High School. He is also 
a director of the Tranquillity Irrigation District which embraces over 11,000 
acres of land. In national politics he supports the Republican ticket and in 
earlv davs served as a member of the countv central committee. He is one 
of the directors of the First National Bank of Tranquillity. 

WILLIAM FRANKLIN STRADER.— -Many of Fresno County's cit- 
izens have come from east of the Rockies, but there are others who are native 
to California, and these have taken care that the reputation of the State has 
not suffered. Bv their sterling qualities and progressive tendencies, thev 
have but added to the advancement of this section, and the countv is noted 
for its splendid citizenship. Among those who have given a good account of 
themselves, is William F. Strader. 

He was born in San Francisco. Cal., Januarv 4. 1876. His father, William, 
was a native of Ohio, who crossed the plains in the early sixties, locating in 
San Francisco. There he engaged in teaming, contracting and grading with 
Charles 'Warren as a partner. They followed this work fur a number of years, 
and were vitally connected with the growth of the Golden Gate city in the 
davs when the people were living in tents. In 1SR4 Mr. Strader came to 
Fresno Countv. and was one of the founders of the Pleasant Valley Stock 
Farm, located near Coaliiiga. At that time most of this ranch was devoted 
to grain-raising. Following this. Mr. Strader homesteaded eighty acres south- 
east nf Coalinga, and engaged in grain-raising. He was a man who made 
many friends, and was always loyal to California and to Fresno County. He 



HISTORY OF FRESNO COUNTY 1365 

was married to Amelia Correll, who died in 1914, and he died on the ranch in 
the spring of 1918. There were five children born to Mr. and Mrs. Strader: 
Mrs. Lena Wallace, of Dinuba ; William Franklin of this review ; Mrs. Lillian 
Kurtz of Lemoore ; Mrs. Jessie Walker, deceased ; and John J. of Coalinga. 
Wm. F. Strader came to Fresno County in 1884 and received a good 
education in the public schools. He started in when a very young man to 
farm, and has continued in that same business ever since. For awhile he 
engaged in teaming to the oil fields between seasons in early days of oil 
development. He has farmed from two to five hundred acres of rented land 
on the plains to grain, and has also done a lot of contract work for other 
grain farmers. In 1918 he had 160 acres in Egyptian corn, which averaged 
one ton to the acre ; and forty acres in barley, which averaged sixteen sacks 
to the acre. He leases about 1,000 acres which he devotes to grain farming 
and also owns 180 acres of range land southeast of Coalinga. He makes his 
home on the old home ranch. He is very loyal to Fresno County, where he 
has lived since a boy of eight years of age, and is a successful farmer and 
a good citizen. 

WILLIAM S. STALEY. — A pioneer citizen whose life story will ever 
be of peculiar and instructive interest, and in whom the student of local lore 
will find additional attraction because of his relationship to the owner of the 
land on which Selma was originally laid out, is William S. Staley, the son 
of Stephen Staley, a Virginia farmer born in 1808. His father was Jacob 
Staley, and he moved from Pennsylvania to Virginia in 1796. The Staleys 
originally came from Germany, and were among the sons of the German 
Fatherland who, following Baron Von Steuben and others, came over to help 
the Yankee colonists found a free republic. Stephen Staley came to California 
in 1880, settled at Selma, and died here, at the age of seventy-seven, and was 
buried in the Selma Cemetery. William's mother was Anna Rebecca Metcalf 
before her marriage ; she, too, came to California, and here she ended her 
days. One of her daughters is Ellen R. Whitson, the widow of the late J. E. 
Whitson, on whose 160 acres Selma had its beginnings. 

William was born on July 20, 1844, in what was then Jefferson County, 
Virginia, but has since become a part of West Virginia, and growing up in 
that corner of the undeveloped country, he had but meager educational ad- 
vantages. At sixteen he quit school, and six months later he went into the 
Confederate Army, serving under Lee for four and a half years, and experi- 
encing all the dangers and privations attending the engagements at Bull Run, 
Chancellorsville. and Gettysburg, as well as numerous minor battles and 
skirmishes. Though serving a lost cause, the experience enabled him, as well 
as thousands of others, to display that fortitude of soul and body that pos- 
terity has willingly accorded all honor to, as essentially American. 

In 1872, Mr. Staley was married to Miss Fannie Hursperger, of Tefferson, 
Md., after which, for three years, they continued to farm in Virginia on the 
old Staley homestead. In that year they came to California, bringing a baby 
boy two years old. Mr. Staley really came to California first alone, leaving 
his home in Shepherdstown, W. Va., on April 18, 1875, and making for Colusa 
County, where he remained until the third week in December, 1876. when the 
party reached Selma. Mrs. Staley had joined her husband in Colusa County, 
but in Selma she found her first California home. When Mr. and Mrs. Staley 
and family first reached this section, they went to Kingsburg and stopped 
there over night ; and the next day Mr. Staley went out and bought a claim 
of railway land, securing not only the original settler's rights, but his house 
and barn. When this land was thrown open for settlement, the eighty acres 
sold for five dollars an acre, and later Mr. Staley bought twenty acres five 
miles west for five dollars an acre. In 1916. he sold this for $13,000. 

The union of Mr. and Mrs. Staley was blessed with six children : Robert 
T. is a miner at Barstow, Cal. ; Edith Harley is the efficient librarian at the 
Selma Carnegie Library; Harry B. and Hattie V. are twins; Grace Anna is 



1366 HISTORY OF FRESNO COUNTY 

the fifth child, and William O., the Selma grocer, is the youngest born. All 
have attended the Episcopal Church, Mr. Staley having belonged to that 
church for the past forty years, during which time he helped build the Episco- 
pal Church at Selma. The faithful wife and mother who so long watched over 
their welfare, was taken from this life on October 20, 1914, in her sixty-second 
year, beloved by all who knew her. 

Mr. Staley has never failed to show his interest in public affairs, par- 
ticularly those of the community with which he has been identified during 
so many years, and he has left an enviable record for civic performance. For 
fourteen years he was a member of the Board of School Trustees, and he 
served when the first two grammar school buildings were erected, and had 
a part in creating the beautiful high school structure. From 1892 to 1896, 
also, he was postmaster of Selma, and old-timers will recall with pleasure his 
efficient and courteous service. For the past twenty years, Mr. Staley has 
lived retired, residing at his Selma home, 1827 Sylvia Street, with his two 
accomplished daughters, Edith H. and Grace A. Staley. There the old-time 
hospitality, typical alike of California, early Selma and the Staley family, is 
still a lode-stone to many. 

MORRIS B. HARRIS. — A citizen of whom any community might well 
be proud, and a distinguished representative of the California Bar to whom 
Fresno City and County have frequently looked for the performance of difficult 
and responsible public service, is the Hon. Morris B. Harris, State Senator of 
California, long identified with most important educational interests. He was 
born at Albion, Edwards County, 111., on September 10, 1866, the son of Lu- 
cius Harris, also a native of Albion, who traced his ancestry back to old, 
heroic English days, the founder of the family in America coming to Massa- 
chusetts in 1620. Senator Harris's forebears were represented in every war 
from the French and Indian to the Civil War; his grandparents came west to 
Illinois from Connecticut in 1830, and Lucius Harris served as sergeant in 
an Illinois regiment during the Civil War. When the war was over, he be- 
came a merchant at Albion, but in 1887. during the great boom in California 
realty, he located in Fresno County and purchased a ranch near Oleander, 
where he farmed until his death. 

He had married Miss Constance B. Thompson, a native of Illinois, and 
also a member of an old Massachusetts family, of Scotch descent, an accom- 
plished lady, who lived her life of usefulness to a wide circle and passed 
away on the ranch. She was the mother of three children: Morris B.. the 
subject of our review, is the eldest'; Ronald is farming at the old home- 
stead ; and E. M. is an attorney who is practicing law with the Senator. 

Morris B. Harris was educated at the public schools, after which he at- 
tended the University of Indiana at Bloomington for two years. In 1887 he 
went to Springfield, Ohio, and spent a year at Wittenberg College, where 
he became a leader in the Phi Kappa Psi fraternity. After that he was em- 
ployed on the "New Era" of that city for another year. While at Springfield 
he met the lady who consented to be his wife, and on Washington's Birth- 
day, 1889, he was united in marriage with Miss Jessie Boggs, a native of that 
city, by whom he has had two children: Marjorie Muenter and Ronald B. 
The same year, Mr. and Mrs. Harris came to California: and arriving in 
Fresno, he engaged in teaching school in the county, continuing in that field of 
desirable endeavor for four years. 

At the same time, Mr. Harris studied law; and upon examination in 1895, 
he was admitted to the bar. He practiced law in Fresno, and was later a 
partner with Judge M. K. Harris, but in 1907 they dissolved the partnership 
and then Mr. Harris made his brother, E. M. Harris, his partner. The two 
gentlemen made an exceptionally good team, and it is doubtful if any mem- 
bers of their profession in the county both merited and received a more flat- 
tering patronage. One of the honors coming to Mr. Harris at this time was 
the presidency of the Fresno County Bar Association. 





^ ^ 






Z i 






tV ' ■ft 


il 










^ ; !v 





o^i— ^Cd. 



's-JUL* 



HISTORY OF FRESNO COUNTY 1369 

Mr. Harris has taken an active and prominent part in politics, and has 
been privileged to serve his fellowmen in manners and at times not accorded 
even all the ambitious, and as a Progressive Republican in particular he has 
also been highly honored. In 1904 he was chosen a Republican elector on 
the Roosevelt ticket, and in 1912 he was again selected a Progressive Repub- 
lican on the same ticket. He was appointed by Governor Johnson a member 
cf the State Board of Education, but after holding the post a year, he found 
that he had too much to do, and could not give the duties the required atten- 
tion, and he resigned. He was president of the Board of Trustees of the 
Fresno State Normal from its inception until January, 1919, and resigned 
only on taking his seat as State Senator. 

In 1918, Mr. Harris was a candidate for State Senator from Fresno 
County, and at the primary he received the nomination by the Republican, 
the Democratic and the Prohibition parties ; in consequence of which at the 
November election lie had no opposition. He has thus far served ably and 
conscientiously, and will no doubt continue to give his best efforts to his 
office during the coming session. As evidence of what he has done to justify 
the confidence of his constituency, it may be pointed out that Senator Harris 
introduced what is called the Harris Enforcement Bill, a measure to enforce 
the National Prohibition Amendment in California, which was passed and 
signed by the Governor. He also introduced the California Irrigation Act, 
which became a law and is now about to be used in the plans for the Pine Flat 
Reservoir. He also introduced and secured the passage of other needed legis- 
lation of a high character. He was a member of the Free Conference Commit- 
tee that framed the community propertv bill, which was passed and signed by 
the Governor. He was a member and chairman of the Constitutional Commit- 
tee which passed out an amendment for calling a constitutional convention for 
framing a new constitution for California. He is now a member of an edu- 
cational committee for the purpose of revising the educational laws of the 
State, and reporting revised laws and an educational system to the next 
State legislature. During the World War he was chairman of the Fresno 
County Four Minute Men, and was associate State Director of the Four Min- 
ute Men of the State of California. 

From the foregoing it will be seen that few names are more inseparably 
associated with the history of Fresno County than that of Morris B. Harris, 
State Senator and one of the most scholarly, versatile and influential attor- 
neys not only in Central California but along the Pacific Coast. 

CHARLES WELLS. — A member of the board of supervisors who has 
worked hard and successfully for both good roads and the proper care of the 
worthy poor, is Charles Wells, the representative of the fourth supervisorial 
district of Fresno County, and an experienced rancher who has greatly im- 
proved several farm-properties. He was born at Osceola, Clarke County, 
Iowa, on July 19, 1872, the son of Abraham Wells, a native of Columbus, Ohio, 
who married Mary Jane Ray, of Young America, later Niles, Mich. Abraham 
Wells was a student of Kalamazoo College and there met his future com- 
panion. After the marriage, he served four years as a Union soldier in the 
Civil War, joining the Twenty-fifth Michigan Infantry, and doing duty, be- 
sides that of the regular soldier on the fighting line, as chaplain of his regi- 
ment. When the war was over, he and his wife moved to Illinois, taking with 
them their two children ; and later he engaged in preaching in Iowa, having 
by that time four children in his family. When another couple of children had 
been added, he pitched his tent at Hastings, Nebr., where one more child 
was granted them, and whence, for the first time, in 1891, he came to California. 
Charmed with Selma, he settled there ; and having joined the Christian 
Church, he served that congregation as its pastor until his death, which oc- 
curred in 1905. He died at his farm-home of twenty-five acres, two miles 
northeast of Selma, on the Mill Ditch Road, a ranch that he bought when 
he first came to this section, and through which he earned his livelihood ; for 



1370 HISTORY OF FRESNO COUNTY 

he never took a dollar for preaching, and thus carried out the spirit of a free 
Gospel consistently. He lived to be seventy, and was honored and mourned 
by many. 

Mrs. Wells, who is now eighty-three years old, is still living at Selma, 
bright and active, and the beloved mother of seven children: Allie R., who 
died in 1919, was the wife of Frank Borin, a farmer of Stockton, Kans., and 
the mother of fourteen children, all of whom are living and all of whom, save 
one, have families of their own. Cassius M. is one of the buyers for Libby, 
McNeill & Libby, and lives at Selma; George E. resides at Selma, and also 
applies himself to ranching; Harm J. is another rancher in the same place, and 
Frank E. is a farmer and the Mayor of Fowler. Warren is a rancher at Selma, 
and there is Charles, next to the youngest, the subject of this sketch. 

Charles Wells grew up mainly in Nebraska, and early learned how to 
raise corn and livestock. He kept up his schooling, and passed the examina- 
tions for a second-grade certificate. When he was eighteen, he began to teach 
for a year ; and in 1891 he joined his parents at Selma, having remained be- 
hind in Nebraska to finish his year's teaching. 

From the first Mr. Wells liked California. He went to work on a ranch ; 
but having a strong inclination for music, he took instruction in the piano, 
under Professor Bonelli, at the San Francisco Conservatory, and became a 
first-class pianist. He taught music and worked at the carpenter's trade, and 
finally travelled with Rev. E. B. Ware, the evangelist, assisting him to hold 
meetings in various places in the San Joaquin Valley, and having charge of 
the singing. 

While thus engaged he met the young lady who became his wife. She 
was Miss Maggie Winkelman, of Sanger, the daughter of Joseph and Mollie 
L. (Burnett) Winkelman, who were among the best known pioneers of Fresno 
County. Her father was a native of California and died in 1903 at the age of 
forty-seven, at Academy. He was born at Sacramento, and was well-known 
as a mountaineer, stockman and teamster. Mrs. Wells' mother is still living in 
Sanger, and has had five children, three girls and two boys, one of whom, 
Edward, was accidentally killed. William, the third-born, resides on a ranch 
west of Selma arid is road overseer for the Fourth District; Bertha is the 
wife of Roy Jewell, and lives at Stockton ; and Gertrude is the wife of Seth 
Cowan of Fresno. 

Mr. and Mrs. Wells were married on July 1, 1894, by his father, and they 
have three children : Leo R., who is with the Third Army of Occupation in 
Germany ; Willie, and Howard. Mrs. Wells is a model mother and housewife, 
and with her children attends the Christian Science Church. 

Leo. R. is twenty-four years old and is married to Leta Cook of Selma. 
He volunteered in July, 1918, in the Tank Service. He trained at Gettysburg, 
Pa., and there had the influenza, and on his recovery he was ordered to France. 
He drove a tank in France until the signing up of the armistice, and after that 
he served as military police in Rome, Italy, for several months and was then 
transferred to the Third Army of Occupation in Germany, where he is now 
serving as corporal. 

Since their marriage Mr. Wells has bought and improved several places, 
and has greatly prospered. He has just sold his forty-acre place, four miles 
north of Selma on the McCall Road, and will probably move into Selma. 
He owns another ranch of 160 acres four miles west of Selma: and this, set 
out with vines and trees, was operated by his oldest son before his enlist- 
ment. He helped to organize the California Raisin Growers Association and 
the California Peach Growers Association, and has always identified him- 
self with movements for the advancement of California husbandry. 

Supervisor Wells is especially interested in the matter of good roads — 
improved highways, of course, for Fresno County — and the result is that the 
boulevards in the county are above the average. He advocates permanent 



HISTORY OF FRESNO COUNTY 1371 

concrete thoroughfares, and feels that a county out of debt — for Fresno 
County recently bought $200,000 worth of bonds to help win the war — should 
be able to do even better with its highways than it has. It has $60,000 of 
San Joaquin bonds, $150,000 of State Highway bonds, and $200,000 of school 
district bonds, and is therefore in the best financial standing. 

Supervisor Wells is chairman of the committee on hospitals for the poor, 
for which Fresno County has just appropriated $100,000. and to him is due 
much of the credit for the "Fresno Way" of welfare work which is attracting 
such wide attention among students of sociology, and which gives neither em- 
barrassment nor pain to those who are aided. The County has 140 acres which 
it uses to enable the unfortunate to help themselves, and at present there are 
450 inmates in the County Hospital, while the old county orphanage has been 
converted into an Old Folks' Home, and the orphan children are now being 
reared in private homes, under the eye and custodianship of the Welfare 
Committee of the Welfare Department which derives its authority by a special 
ordinance duly enacted by the Fresno County Board of Supervisors. 

WILLIAM JAMES ANTHONY.— Among the old-timers in Fresno 
County pleasantly remembered and not likely to be soon forgotten is Wil- 
liam J. Anthony, who deserves especial honor as one of the builders of Bars- 
tow, in laying the foundation for which he showed that foresight which has 
always characterized the pioneers who founded the great commonwealth. He 
was born at the Napa Soda Springs in Napa County, on October 7, 1866, the 
son of John Anthony, who came from Philadelphia. Pa. As a young man he 
crossed the plains in 1852 to California, and followed mining at Plumas. 
When he returned east he journeyed by way of the Horn, and on his arrival 
home he was. married to Sarah Jane Beckham, also a native of Philadelphia. 
Once more he turned his face toward the distant west, and this time he reached 
San Francisco via Panama. As soon as he was able he made his way inland 
to Plumas, and there resumed mining; and he continued his search for fortune 
in Napa County until he abandoned mining for farming and located near 
St. Helena. Still later he settled near Healdsburg, Sonoma County, and there 
he died. Mrs. Anthony passed away while they were still living at St. Helena, 
the mother of four children, of whom the subject of this sketch was the 
second oldest. 

William was brought up at St. Helena, attended the local public schools 
and worked on a farm, and there he remained until he was eighteen years 
of age, when he went to Sonoma County. In 1886 he struck out with a team 
which he drove into Fresno. His object was to look around and he secured 
employment in a vineyard ; he remained and made his headquarters in the 
vicinity. He worked in a vineyard at Malaga, and then at Fowler, then for 
seven years was in the employ of James Jamison. He went over to the West 
Side on the James ranch, leased land and engaged in the raising of grain. He 
had two partners, Tom Mullins and Tim Hurley, and they farmed 3,000 acres. 
They raised big crops, and he hauled his barley to Sunnyside six miles east 
of Fresno and sold it for eleven dollars a ton. He also stored barley in the 
Kutner warehouses, and sold the same for ten dollars a ton in 1896, and thus 
he continued farming until 1905. 

Then he bought his present place of 160 acres at Barstow, to which 
he moved in 1907. It was the usual stubble field, but he set to work energet- 
ically ; leveled it, checked it off, and planted 120 acres to alfalfa, and he set 
out seven acres as an orchard and thirty-two acres as a vineyard with muscat 
and Thompson vines. He also engaged in the dairy business, and stocked 
his ranch with thirty milch cows of the finest Holstein breed. He built a 
residence, substantial barns and out-buildings. 

It is in connection with the founding of Barstow that Mr. Anthony de- 
serves special mention. When the school-house was built he donated two 
acres of the land, and he early put up a store building there which he leases. 



1372 HISTORY OF FRESNO COUNTY 

He built a blacksmith shop and a garage, and gave the site for the United 
Presbyterian Church ; and in every way possible he encouraged the establish- 
ing, developing and beautifying of the place. He was not only a school trus- 
tee there for seven years, but he made the community a present of the site 
of Barstow Hall, which was erected by the people. He took a live interest 
in the affairs of the Hall Association, and for many years was its director. 

A Republican in national politics, Mr. Anthony has long been prominent 
in public affairs. He is a member of the California Associated Raisin Com- 
pany, the California Peach Growers, Inc., the California Prune and Apricot 
Association, and the Fresno County Dairymen's Association ; and he is a 
trustee of the Fraternal Brotherhood. 

At Healdsburg, Mr. Anthony was married May 8, 1901, to Miss Rosa 
Moes, a native of Cary, Ohio, a daughter of Lawrence and Elizabeth (Legill) 
Moes born in Paris, France, who came to Ohio and then to Minnesota. In 
1887 they came to Fresno. Cal., but later to Sonoma County. Her father is 
dead but he is survived by his widow. Mrs. Anthony was educated prin- 
cipally in the schools of Fresno County. Mr. and Mrs. Anthony have four 
children: Gladys, Clara, Alice and Violet. The hospitality of the Anthony 
household is proverbial, and parents and children alike participate actively 
in the social life of the neighborhood. 

JOHN M. QUALLS. — The honor of being a descendant of one of the 
old pioneers, as well as that of having been born in California, belongs to 
Sanger's popular postmaster, Tohn M. Quails, who was born in Ventura 
County, Cal., May 10, 1872. 

He is the son of Nicholas Quails, a native of the Old Dominion, and 
Ann ( Fahey) Quails, who was born in the Emerald Isle. The father, Nicholas, 
removed from Virginia to Missouri in early days when the latter state was 
one of the frontier states of the West, and in 1850. lured by California's 
treasure of gold, wended his way still further westward across the plains 
that intervened between that fair land of promise and his Missouri home. 
Three years were spent in the gold mines of California before the elder 
Quails again returned to Missouri, where he remained for the succeeding 
thirteen years ere he again crossed the plains with ox teams in 1867 and 
located in Ventura County, Cal, engaging in the bean-raising industry for 
the next two years, and being one of the pioneer bean-raisers there. He 
then located in Fresno County and ranched and raised sheep seven miles north 
of Sanger on the Academy Road. In the early eighties he sold this ranch 
and moved to a ranch three miles north of Sanger, now known as the Karren 
ranch. Here he purchased 320 acres of land for $1,200 — in those days land 
was cheap. This he sold later for thirty dollars per acre. He afterwards 
owned a ranch of 480 acres, two miles north and one-half mile west of 
Sanger, part of which he planted to vines. His death occurred in November, 
1906, and Mrs. Quails died on May 13, 1919. He was a member of the Pres- 
byterian ChurcrTand held the office of school trustee of the Fairview district. 
His widow was his second wife, and he was the father of eleven children by 
the two marriages, namely: James M.. of Seattle; William B., of the state of 
Washington ; Mrs. W. J. Bonnifield, of Salinas, Cal., children by the first 
marriage. Edward, a rancher of Clarks Valley, Fresno County; Mrs. F. T. 
Eaton, of Williams, Cal.; Mary E., single, of Sanger; John M., postmaster at 
Sanger; Daniel B., deceased; Mrs. Frank Perry, of Sanger; Robert: and 
Maude, a teacher in the Fresno schools, children by the second marriage. 

Tohn M. attended the public schools in Sanger and completed his educa- 
tion in a business college at Stockton, and was with his father on the ranch 
until twenty-five years of age. He then started farming on a forty-acre 
ranch deeded him by his father, in the Fairview district. His ranch was 
finely improved and planted to Thompson seedless, Malaga and Muscat 
vines and peaches, with a border of fig trees, all of which he developed him- 
self. This he sold in April, 1919. 




a^u^CUc, (A^ 



HISTORY OF FRESNO COUNTY 1375 

For four years he was field deputy for County Assessor Cummings. In 
politics he is a Democrat. An active worker for his party, he worked in the 
interests of the Democratic Central Committee and was indorsed by that 
body for postmaster of Sanger. He was appointed by President Wilson and 
took office in July, 1913. He has made a very competent official, conducting 
his office in a business-like manner, and has many friends. 

John M. Quails was united in marriage, on July 3. 1915. with Miss Elsie 
Tippett, a native of California and a daughter of Samuel and Elizabeth 
(Jones) Tippett, the latter also a native daughter of the Golden State. Mrs. 
Quails was a teacher in the grammar schools in Sanger prior to her mar- 
riage. Mr. Quails is a member of the Methodist Episcopal Church, South ; 
has served as a member of the board of Fairview school district ; and also 
served on the election board of that district. He was a member of the first 
cooperative raisin-growers association and still has stock in the California 
Associated Raisin Company, also in the California Peach Growers, Inc. He 
is public-spirited, and much interested in the future possibilities of Fresno 
County, and is held in high esteem by all who have the pleasure of his 
acquaintance. 

MRS. MARY E. HENDERSON.— A native daughter of the Golden 
West, who has -many friends who appreciate her character and high ideals, 
is Mrs-. Mary E. Henderson, the oldest daughter of the late Jasper Newton 
Musick. She was reared on the old Musick ranch, in the happy and generous 
environment typical of "the good old California days," and educated at the 
Academy School, long one of the best-conducted institutions of its scope in 
the State, under the able guidance of Prof. J. D. Collins. 

On June 23, 1887, in the great boom year of California when the Pacific 
Coast began to look up at the dawn of a new era, Miss Musick was married 
to William H. Henderson, a native of Kansas who came to Fresno when a 
young man and engaged in the mercantile business on Pine Ridge. After 
their marriage, Mr. and Mrs. Henderson continued in business there for a few 
years, and then, selling out, they purchased land at Dinuba, which they im- 
proved and made into a fine vineyard and orchard. 

Selling out again, they came to Fresno, in which city Mr. Henderson 
entered the employ of the Southern Pacific Railroad ; and with that company 
he continued until his health failed, and he had to give up his position. In 
the prime of life, he passed away on February 11, 1911. 

Four children blessed their union — one of whom, the third in the order 
of birth, Lloyd, died at the age of fourteen. Pearl, Mrs. Dow, resides with 
her mother ; William E. is a musician in Fresno ; and Ethel has become Mrs. 
Johns, of the same city. 

Mrs. Henderson makes her home at her old residence on Inez Street 
where she is the center of an admiring circle. She is the administrator of the 
old Musick ranch of 800 acres, her father's property, owned by her and 
her sisters, which they lease for a stock ranch. She attends the Grace Meth- 
odist Episcopal Church. 

WILLIAM LUMLEY DAWSON.— A well-posted horticulturist and 
viticulturist who is successfully discharging the double responsibility of oper- 
ating both his father's ranch and his own, is William Lumley Dawson, who 
was born in Arena, Iowa County, Wis., on July 6, 1872, since which time he 
has been familiarly known to his many friends as Lumley. His grandfather, 
William Dawson, came from Yorkshire, England, and was a pioneer of 1845. 
He was a farmer and later served in the Union Army, where he was the head 
bugler in his regiment. He fought well, and yielded his life during service 
in defence of his adopted country. He had a son, John A. Dawson, and he 
became the father of the subject of this sketch. William L. was born in the 
same house as was his father, and reared in Wisconsin until the fall of 1891, 
when he left for California. In the spring of the following year, he came to 



1376 HISTORY OF FRESNO COUNTY 

Fresno County, and with this section his steady progress as rancher and cit- 
izen has ever since been identified. 

While attending school as a lad in Wisconsin, he had served his ap- 
prenticeship at farming, and very naturally he gravitated toward the same 
activity here. He bought twenty acres of land from the Vincent tract, which 
he set out as a vineyard. He adapted himself to the new problems, and in 
a short time had something worth seeing to show for his labor. The ranch 
is located three miles southeast of Clovis and upon it he has built himself a 
fine residence, and set out a small orchard. He is also leasing his father's 
place of forty-five acres, which he runs as a vineyard and a peach orchard. 

Mr. Dawson is also owner with his father and manager of eighty acres 
one and a half miles east of his place, and there they are raising hay. The 
son divides his time between the two undertakings ; but he never neglects the 
interests of the California Associated Raisin Company of which he is a mem- 
ber. 

In the Garfield district, Mr. Dawson was married on November 16, 1899, 
to Miss Edna Parkes, a native of Salida, Stanislaus County, and the daughter 
of B. F. Parkes, the well-known California pioneer born in Burlington, Iowa, 
1841. About 1861 B. F. Parkes braved the dangers and bore the hardships of 
a trip across the plains. He was married at Salida to Elizabeth Elmore who 
was born in Missouri and he farmed at Salida, then located in Garfield district, 
Fresno County. Mr. and Mrs. Parkes now reside west of Fresno. Mr. and 
Mrs. Dawson have one daughter, Alma, who has become a general favorite. 
Mrs. Dawson has long been active in religious work, particularly in circles 
of the Presbyterian Church ; but the attitude of both her husband and her- 
self toward moving questions of the day is well known to all. Identified as 
they are with the pioneer history of the state, they are strong advocates of 
preserving such records where posterity may read and learn. 

HANS J. JORGENSEN. — Two important facts are illustrated in the 
life-story of Hans J. Jorgensen, who died in the fall of 1916, widely lamented 
because of his sterling character and his successful and most useful career. 
The one is that no man should neglect to provide for the rainy day which 
may overtake his family if not himself, and that it is the part of highest wis- 
dom to do what Mr. Jorgensen did — acquire something of value and put it in 
that shape that others may find it serviceable. The other suggestive fact is 
the desirability of every housewife who is the companion of a practical man 
becoming experienced and practical also, and so being able, as Mrs. Jorgen- 
sen has proven herself to be, to take charge of an estate, maintain it at a 
high standard, and in the end realize even more than was formerly obtained 
through the investment and its working. 

Born in Fyen, Denmark, on December 24, 1865. the son of Peter Jorgen- 
sen, a business man of Melleinhagen noted for his sagacity and sense of 
honor, Hans was educated in the excellent public schools of his country, 
and arriving at manhood, served his full time in the Danish army. In Den- 
mark, too, on April 3, 1888, he was married to Miss Anna K. Hansen, a 
native of Horslev, Fyen, Denmark, and the daughter of Jorgen and Marie 
( Tensen) Hansen. Her father was a brick manufacturer who did service in 
the Danish-German War of 1864-66, and who came to California, about May, 
1892. The next year he died, survived by Mrs. Hansen, who made her home 
with her daughter, Mrs. Jorgensen. until her death December 19, 1918, almost 
eightv-one vears old. Of her children three boys and three girls grew up, 
although but one boy and two girls are now living. 

Having come to America and Michigan. Mr. and Mrs. Jorgensen located 
at Jackson, in May, 1888, and there they remained until the following August, 
when they moved west to California and chose Fresno for their home. Their 
decision was due to the presence here of one of Mrs. Jorgensen's brothers, 
who assisted Mr. Jorgensen to make such connections that he easily entered 



HISTORY OF FRESNO COUNTY 1377 

the vineyard business. He bought twenty acres in Wolter's Colony and 
at once improved it so that he might grow vines and have an orchard of 
pears and peaches ; and in the exploitation of that property he was engaged 
for ten years. During this time he was also in the employ of the Fresno 
Flume and Lumber Company, and it was then that his devoted and practical 
wife showed her ability by running the ranch in her husband's absence. He 
was really in the service of the aforesaid company nineteen years, and in 
that long period Mrs. Jorgensen acquired an experience and knowledge of 
the greatest possible value, while her husband demonstrated his fitness in 
filling the post of tallyman for the company. 

After selling the Wolters Colony place Mr. Jorgensen bought the prop- 
erty now owned by his widow, twenty acres in the Helm Colony, three miles 
southwest of Clovis, and there he built a fine residence and serviceable build- 
ings, adding much to the worth of the home-place. Mrs. Jorgensen super- 
intended the setting out of the malaga, Thompson and zinfandel vines. She 
is a member of the California Associated Raisin Company. 

Five children blessed the union of Mr. and Mrs. Jorgensen, and all have 
done well in their start in life. Marie, Julia and Laura are all graduates of 
Heald's Business College at Fresno, and all are engaged in Fresno as stenog- 
raphers ; while Ellen and Clarence are at home. 

On September 2, 1916, Mr. Jorgensen died, in the fifty-first year of his 
age, a consistent Lutheran, as is also his faithful companion. Since then Mrs. 
Jorgensen has continued to manage the vineyard, and with marked business 
ability she has made it more than ever an excellent producer. Mrs. Jorgensen 
does not confine herself, however, to business affairs ; but she takes a proper 
leadership in the ladies' society of the Dania, and never neglects an oppor- 
tunity to do her full duty as a patriot in supporting every civic endeavor 
worthy of endorsement. 

BARZILLA E. HUTCHINSON.— A highly interesting pioneer who 
came to Central California in the middle eighties and had such wonderful 
success in horticulture that he soon became famous as "The Peach King," 
receiving wide recognition and various awards for his superior products, is 
Barzilla E. Hutchinson, who was born near Cleveland, Ohio, on June 19, 1836, 
where he attended the country schools. When he was thirteen years of age, 
his parents moved to Lafayette, Ind., in which place his father established 
a large market garden ; and while working there, Barzilla continued to attend 
school. After that the Hutchinsons went to Mishawka, Ind., and from there 
Barzilla moved to Big Rapids, Mich., and in that town for twelve years car- 
ried on a furniture and merchandise store with a Mr. Van Lew as partner. 
During his residence in Mecosta County, Mich., he served for five years as 
under-sheriff, and he was the first city marshal of Big Rapids. He was ap- 
pointed a charter member of Big Rapids Lodge of Masons, and he is now the 
only living charter member of that organization. 

After living in Iowa for a year. Mr. Hutchinson came to Fresno County, 
in 1884, and took charge of "The Iowa Loan and Trust Co.," who owned a 
half-section of land near Fowler. He developed that property, set out a vine- 
yard and orchard, and began to buy land, acquiring by degrees until he 
owned 160 acres. He was in time known as "The Peach King," and raised 
the largest fruit in the State. He holds the record for raising the largest crop 
of peaches and the largest peaches in size on a given piece of land in all Cal- 
ifornia. Some of the peaches, for example, sent to Chicago for exhibition 
weighed one pound each. He furnished the Fresno Chamber of Commerce 
with exhibits of fruit and especially with grapes, although he raised oranges, 
lemons, prunes and plums, as well as table grapes. Rather naturally, he be- 
came a director and stockholder in the Fresno Fruit Growers Company, and 
shipped through them ; and such were their relations on both sides that, dur- 
ing all the years of their dealings, there was never a word of dissatisfaction. 



1378 HISTORY OF FRESNO COUNTY 

After living on his ranch near Fowler for over thirty years, he sold out 
his interests and took up his residence at 1435 N Street, Fresno, on April 
6, 1917. His first wife died, after two sons had been born to them: Charles C. 
Hutchinson, who is with the Santa Fe Railway, and William Hutchinson, 
now deceased. His second marriage occurred on October 10, 1896, the cer- 
emony taking place on his ranch near Fowler, when he was united to a widow, 
Mrs. M. L. Van Lew, a native of Pennsylvania; her husband had been Mr. 
Hutchinson's partner in the furniture business at Big Rapids, and in that 
way they had become acquainted. She took a very active part in the affairs 
of Big Rapids, and for seven years she was under-sheriff (without pay) in 
the benevolent department, doing good work. She came to Michigan in 
pioneer days, and was an active member of the First Methodist Church, and 
sang- in its choir. While in Fowler she was also one of the live members in 
the women's club, "The Fowler Improvement Society." 

In former years Mrs. Hutchinson invested largely in ranch land in Fowler, 
and at one time owned five fruit ranches totalling over three hundred acres. 
These were her own, and fortunate speculations ; but she has recently dis- 
posed of her holdings, and being a good business woman, has done so to ad- 
vantage. Her son, Kingsley Van Lew, is a resident of Oakland and was 
for a number of years a prominent fruit grower on his ranch of 100 acres near 
Malaga, Fresno County. Mr. Hutchinson, by-the-way, was at one time super- 
intendent of the Briggs Canal Company, a position of responsibility in which 
he was well able to show both his initiative and his power to develop on 
rational lines. 

In 1913 in Los Angeles Mr. Hutchinson fell from a street car, while in 
the act of getting on. His spine was injured and he grew worse and worse 
and never was a well man afterwards. He died at Livermore, May 11, 1919, 
and was buried in the Cypress Lawn Cemetery beside his wife and oldest 
son. 

H. E. NORTON. — A successful farmer, operating according to the latest 
scientific methods, and an able business man evidencing a good knowledge 
of the world and every-day life, is H. E. Norton, who came to California in 
January, 1893. He was born at Twinsburg, Summit County, Ohio, November 
8. 1871, and his father, N. N. Norton, was born in the same place in 1844, and 
so was the grandfather, Horace Norton, who was a farmer there, while N. N. 
Norton became a wheelwright. During the Civil 'War he served in the 
transportation department, and after that went in for farming. In 1878 he 
removed to Schoolcraft. Kalamazoo County, Mich., where he engaged in the 
hardware and implement business, but in lS^S he sold out and located in 
Fresno County, Cal. He took up viticulture and had a vineyard of sixty 
acres on White's Bridge Road and Johnson Avenue; and there he died, in 
December, 1911, aged sixty-seven years. He had married Mary Cox, a native 
of Ohio, and she passed away in June, 1912, at the old home here, the mother 
of four children. Alta, now Mrs. Frank W. Stuart, resides in Schoolcraft, 
and Alma, her twin-sister, lives in Fresno; Herman Earl is the subject of 
this review; and Bernice is Mrs. W. S. Hinch of Fresno. 

Brought up in .Michigan, H. E. attended the public schools at School- 
craft and also the excellent high school there, from which he was graduated 
in 1890, when he entered the Michigan Agricultural College at Lansing. At 
the end of the year, he engaged in teaching, but soon after came west to 
California. In January, 1893. he located in Fresno. 

When he bought his first land, lie secured twenty acres on White's 
Bridge Road, which he improved and farmed for six years ; and he also leased 
lands and vineyards, and engaged in the raising of grain and grapes. In 
1899 he entered the employ of the Pierce Lumber Company, for whom he 





'^pAs 



HISTORY OF FRESNO COUNTY 1381 

acted as officeman and bookkeeper; but in 1902 he resigned and entered into 
partnership with Mr. Pierce in the purchase of a saw mill, forming the Peck- 
inpah Lumber Company at North Fork, Madera County, and manufactured 
lumber, which was hauled to Friant and shipped to Fresno. 

In 1907 Mr. Norton sold his interest to the Pierce Lumber Company, 
to engage in ranching; and having leased a ranch of 1,080 acres for two 
years, he undertook the raising of grain, in which he was very successful. 
He became interested in a tract which was called Tuttle's Colony, developed 
water, put in a pumping plant, subdivided the land and sold it in small 
parcels. It is now devoted mostly to the growing of figs and peaches. 

In 1910 Mr. Norton moved back to Fresno County, and soon after he 
purchased his present place of eighty acres on Kearney Avenue, ten miles 
west of Fresno, which he has improved to alfalfa and peaches. He also has 
charge for his sister, of the old home ranch. His long experience has given 
him an enviable position among other successful ranchers, and with them 
he has great faith in the future of Fresno County. 

Mr. Norton was married in Fresno to Miss May Pierce, a native of 
Iowa and the daughter of the late C. S. Pierce of the Pierce Lumber Com- 
pany. She was reared and educated here, and has reared and helped educate 
six of her own children — Mary Ellen, Charles N., Jack Earl, Robert Pierce, 
James D. and Blanche Elizabeth. 

A Republican in matters of national import, Mr. Norton has shown his 
public spirit by serving as trustee of the Dunkard school district. He is 
ruling elder of the First Presbyterian Church of Fresno, which he and his 
family attend. 

C. V. PETERSON. — Among the large number of self-made men in 
Fresno County, few hold a higher place in the estimation of their fellowmen 
than C. V. Peterson, usually called "Vic" Peterson, the rancher and vice- 
president of the First National Bank of Fowler. He was born in Sweden, 
the son of P. G. and Margaret Peterson, who immigrated to California and 
settled one and a half miles west of Fowler where they bought land which 
they immediately began to improve. C. V. Peterson was then barely eighteen 
and he went to work, in a portion of the county which was then devoted to 
grain. Having helped his parents plant their holdings, he became actively 
engaged in developing and setting out vineyards for others. In this way, 
he met Judge Stephen G. Nye of San Francisco, and J. B. Eliot, at that time 
the business manager of the Chronicle, both owning large vineyards near 
Fowler. He helped to set out the Nye Vineyard and continued to look after 
that property for Judge Nye for fourteen years, and was an equally trusted 
employee of Mr. Eliot during the same period. 

When C. V. Peterson first came to Fresno there was not a paved street 
in the city, while the farming land was mainly devoted to grain. By nature 
he was well-qualified for the arduous task of establishing a home in a new 
and untried environment. 

The parents are now both deceased, but are remembered at Fowler as 
generous, kind-hearted folks, who worked unremittingly for the welfare of 
their children and community, and who, as consistent Christians, made no 
effort to become wealthy, regarding life and good character as above the 
so-called "Almighty Dollar." They encouraged all their children to start 
in business for themselves even before reaching their majority ; and when 
they laid down the responsibilities of life — the father died in 1911, at the 
age of seventy, — and the mother in 1916, when seventy-three years old, after 
she had continued, as the sole owner according to her husband's wish, to 
manage their modest estate — she had the great satisfaction of seeing her 
children well-established and living the lives of useful and honorable citizens. 

When he was able, C. V. Peterson bought in 1889, a piece of raw land 
situated west of Fowler. He soon had it planted to muscats and peaches 



1382 HISTORY OF FRESNO COUNTY 

and thereby he became one of the pioneers in the fruit and raisin industry 
at Fowler. In 1905, he bought his present home ranch situated one and a 
half miles south and east of Fowler, upon which he resides and in 1906 he 
began improving it to orchard and vineyard. He has continued to improve 
it by constructing ditches for irrigation, digging wells, installing pumping- 
plants and planting nut-trees on the outside. 

In the important work of building a home, Mr. Peterson has been ably 
assisted by his wife, who was formerly Miss Elsie May Pond, of Fresno, 
and a daughter of Thomas Pond, one of the well-known residents of that 
city. Mr. and Mrs. Peterson have five children: Evelyn M., Victor Delmas, 
John Darwin, Thomas Sherman and Luis M. They all attend the Presby- 
terian Church at Fowler, of which they are members. 

Mr. Peterson has become a principal stockholder of the First National 
Bank of Fowler, and while interested in the success of said institution, and 
serving as its vice-president, his greatest attachments are for his home and 
the proper cultivation of his ranch. He delights in the growth and prosperity 
of his district, and is ever ready to contribute in every way to the advance- 
ment of the viticultural and horticultural interests here. One of the results 
of his hard work is a healthy progressive spirit, which leads him to look far 
ahead and makes him aggressive, as well as wisely conservative, in all that 
he undertakes. 

Mr. Peterson gives due credit to his talented wife for his success and 
prosperity. In 1918 they built a fine country residence of brick and concrete, 
in architectural beauty expressing the well-considered ideas of Mr. and Mrs. 
Peterson, — ideas further evolved and materialized by E. AY. Peterson, archi- 
tect and builder of Fresno. The "Vic" Peterson home is one of the hand- 
somest, as it certainly is one of the best and most hospitable in Fresno 
County. 

Mr. and Mrs. Peterson are active and industrious, self-reliant and orig- 
inal in their ways. Selfishness is kept in restraint, while the helping-hand, 
actuated by a real desire to assist and uplift is ever-extended. They are 
especially interested in the boys and girls. For more than ten years, Mr. 
Peterson has given his best efforts to the up-building of the Fowler schools. 
He is serving on the grammar school and high school boards, being chair- 
man of the latter. He is chairman of the Y. M. C. A. at Fowler and also 
chairman of the board of trustees of the Presbyterian Church. He can be 
found in every good work, and wields a very positive influence for good. 

He stands uncompromisingly for a dry and decent town and during the 
World War served as Home Civilian in Red Cross work and took an active 
part in each of the Liberty and Victory Loan drives. 

LYLE H. SAY. — A popular citizen of Fresno County, and one who 
may feel a natural pride in his association with, a pioneer family, is Lyle H. 
Say, son of William Henry Say and grandson of the late James H. Say, both 
of whom are referred to in greater detail elsewhere in this work. Thus it 
has developed that the history of the Say family has been very closely inter- 
woven with the progress of Selma. 

Lyle Say was born on December 7. 1803. grew up on his father's ranch, 
and in 1809, when six years old, accompanied his mother by the way of the 
White Pass to the Klondike, where his father was then interested in mining, 
with Clarence Berry and other Selma and California young men. He stayed 
in the Klondike fourteen months, and then came back to Selma. where he 
began to attend the Selma grammar school. Having pursued the courses of 
study at the Selma High School, he was graduated with the Class of '13, 
and then he spent three months at the Agricultural School of the Lniversitv 
of California at Davis. 

In January. 1014. he started to ranch, taking charge of one of his father's 
farms; but when the call for volunteers came on August 15. 1017. he was 



HISTORY OF FRESNO COUNTY 1383 

among the first to enlist in the Naval Reserve. He was sent to San Pedro 
and assigned to the Light House tender "Sequoia," and later was transferred 
to Mare Island, where he entered the mechanical school for machinists. On 
August 23, 1918. he was placed in the regular submarine service, and in the 
following October he was assigned to duty. He remained stationed at San 
Pedro until February 1, 1919, when he was released subject to call. 

Mr. Say was married on June 3, 1914. to Miss Ethel M., daughter of 
Frank H. Stoker, of Parlier, whose sketch is to be found on another page 
in this history. She has proven a valuable helpmate who has taken an active 
part with her husband in war activities and in the purchase of liberty and 
victory bonds. Mr. Say is a member of the Odd Fellows, in which order 
he is a past noble grand, and is at present the Senior Warden in the Selma 
Encampment. He is also past president of Selma Parlor, No. 107, N. S. 
G. W., and acts as its treasurer. Mr. and Mrs. Say live on a fine ranch of 
160 acres, devoted to a vineyard and apricots, four miles southwest of Selma, 
and besides managing that place, he also cares for the extensive interests 
of his father. 

ROBERT LOCHEAD. — Freedom from ostentation combined with the 
sterling qualities that are characteristic of his Scotch lineage are marked 
characteristics of Robert Lochead, Fresno County's supervisor of the Second 
District. The son of James and Jean (Walker) Lochead, the former a Pais- 
ley shawl weaver, both are now deceased, Robert was born in Scotland, 
November 12, 1855, in the County of Ayrshire, a section of country made 
famous throughout the civilized world because of its association with the 
name of Scotland's peerless poet, "Bobby" Burns, who so aptly said: "O, 
wad some power the gif'tie gie us, to see oursels as ithers see us." 

Robert Lochead acquired a good education in the schools of Scotland 
and learned the trade of wood turning in that country. As a young man of 
eighteen, he left home and traveled extensively, coming to the United States 
in 1884, and locating in Iowa, he remained there three years. In 1887 he came 
to California, and attracted by the possibilities of Fresno's future, located 
here, and worked in the planing mills. In 1908, with others, he established 
the Fresno Planing Mill Company, of which he was president until March, 
1916, when he disposed of his interest in the plant. In November, 1916, he 
was elected county supervisor from the Second District and is discharging 
his official duties with his usual efficiency. 

He established domestic ties by his marriage, December 31, 1890, with 
Miss Carrie Fisher, and they have two children, son and daughter, James 
and Inez. In politics Mr. Lochead affiliates with the Republican party and 
fraternally he is a member of the Independent Order of Odd Fellows and 
the Woodmen of the World. He has served as a school trustee in Fresno 
and is a member of the Commercial Club and the Chamber of Commerce. 

A. R. KERSTETTER.— As manager of the Grant Rock and Gravel 
Company, with plants located at Friant, Fresno County, and Visalia, Tulare 
County, A. R. Kerstetter, who was born at Elkhart, Ind., in 1882, has made 
a name and place for himself in the world of business in California. His in- 
terests are those of the company he is representing. 

Mr. Kerstetter came to California in 1912, as a representative of the 
Stone-Webster Company, of Boston, at Fresno, and after he had looked over 
the country for a time, he saw the possibilities of building up a wonderful 
business in his line. The Grant Rock and Gravel Company was incorporated 
September 20, 1915; although it had been doing business in Fresno since 
April of that year. Mr. Kerstetter was made secretary and manager of the 
new corporation. 

Their plant was started at Friant in April, 1915, and when completed 
represented an expenditure of $150,000, and the output of the company found 
ready market; in fact, such a demand for it grew that the company bought 



1384 HISTORY OF FRESNO COUNTY 

and rebuilt another plant at Visalia, at a cost of $75,000. Over 300.000 tons 
of rock was crushed by the company and disposed of in Kings, Tulare, Kern, 
and Merced Counties in the construction of the State Highway. They fur- 
nish rock and gravel for all kinds of building, among some of the structures 
for which they furnished material are the Fresno State Normal School : the 
Cory, Mason, Olender, and Federal buildings. On May 1, 1919, Mr. Kers- 
tetter resigned his position and organized the Piedra Rock and Sand Com- 
pany, manufacturers and dealers in crushed rock and sand, their business 
extending -throughout the San Joaquin Valley. Mr. Kerstetter is president 
and manager of the company, and has offices in the Mason Building. 

Mr. Kerstetter was married in Montana to Miss Katherine Walters. He 
is a member of Fresno Lodge, No. 439, B. P. O. Elks ; the Chamber of Com- 
merce ; the Rotary and Commercial Clubs of Fresno. 

R. W. EDMISTON. — A very successful rancher who has become a 
large landowner with a fine record for developing and improving the same, 
and who has contributed much toward the development of Fresno County 
is R. W. Edmiston, a native of Arizona, where he was born on February 2, 
1864. His father was Robert Edmiston, who was born in Chilicothe, Ross 
County, Ohio, on January 16. 1836, and was a college graduate with a diploma 
for civil engineering. After working as a railroad surveyor, he crossed the 
plains to California in 1850, and for a time followed surveying and farming. 
Then he returned East and, wishing to support the Federal Government in 
its crisis, enlisted in the regular army and fought throughout the Civil War, 
attaining the rank of lieutenant. During the latter part of the war he was in 
the Indian campaigns, and was in charge of an Indian reservation in Arizona 
until about 1865, when he came to Napa County, Cal.. and there established 
himself as a civil engineer and farmer. 

In April, 1869, Mr. Edmiston came to Fresno County and almost im- 
mediately he discerned the great possibilities of the plains of Central Cali- 
fornia if only water could be taken out of the Kings River and used for 
irrigation. He confided his convictions to M. J. Church, whom he had known 
in Napa County, and advised him to build what became the Church canal 
system, for which Mr. Edmiston did all the early surveying. 

Mr. Edmiston became the first settler on the plains in the Fairview 
district, first as a grain farmer, and later as a horticulturist and a viticulturist. 
he became a very important factor in the early development of this part of 
the Golden State. He spent his last days with his son, the subject of our 
sketch, and died on December 17, 1918. Mrs. Edmiston was Miss Anna 
Magee before her marriage, and she was a native of Sugar Loaf, Orange 
County, N. Y. She is still living at the home of her son, R. W. Edmiston. 
and as one of the oldest settlers who did her part, she is the recipient of 
the esteem and good will of all who know her. A daughter, Mrs. Anna A. 
Barr of Fresno, is the other child. 

R. W. Edmiston came to Fresno in 1869, although he had come to 
California with his parents four years before. He was educated at the public 
schools, and also at the San Jose State Normal, from which he was graduated 
in 1884, and he finished with a course at the San Jose Business College, where 
he was graduated in 1886. After that he returned to Fresno, took up farming 
with his father, making a specialty of fruit raising, and remained at home 
until he was twenty-three years of age. 

Striking out for himself, Mr. Edmiston was a foreman in charge of 
several large ranches; and then he bought a ranch near Academy. Selling 
that, he bought in Kutner's Colony, then in Auberrv Valley, next in Round 
Mountain and later in the Clovis district. He has been so active in the suc- 
cessful manipulation of various properties that he has improved seventeen 
different ranches, and has owned besides about fifteen others that had already 
been improved. Among these was an orchard and vineyard in Round Moun- 
tain that was a particularly attractive place. He has owned places not only 



HISTORY OF FRESNO COUNTY 1387 

in Fresno County, but also in Merced, Madera, Tulare, and Kern Counties, 
and from January to September, 1919. he bought and sold four different 
ranches. He has title to a ranch of 320 acres in Madera County that he 
intends to set out to malagas and Thompson seedless grapes. He is now 
making his residence on his California Avenue vineyard three miles west 
of Fresno, and it is his desire to improve his 320 acres so as to have it set 
out to trees and vines. Mr. Edmiston is also active in establishing an irriga- 
tion district in Madera County, to take the water from the San Joaquin River 
by damming the river and so conserving the overflow. 

At Round Mountain in 1908, Mr. Edmiston was married to Miss Mattie 
Bacon, a native of Tonganoxie, Kans., by whom he has had four children: 
Margery Alice, Ida Amelia, Robert Roosevelt and James Oscar Edmiston. 
He believes in cooperation for fruit men, and is a member of the California 
Associated Raisin Company and the California Peach Growers, Inc. ; he 
has never sued anyone, nor has he himself been sued. In national politics, 
Mr. Edmiston is a Progressive Republican, but he is non-partisan in matters 
of local import, and has found pleasure in serving as a trustee of the' schools 
in every district where he has been a resident, and believes in physical, as 
well as mental education. Fraternally, he is a Woodman of the World. 

Mr. Edmiston believes in the future of the great San Joaquin Valley 
lands and takes pleasure in producing crops to aid in the maintenance of 
the peoples of the world. He believes that parents should so shape their 
affairs as to give their children encouragement and inducement to stay at 
home on the ranch ; he does not believe they should wait until they are of 
age to be given, or promised a piece of land, but as soon as they can under- 
stand and appreciate it, they should be given every encouragement in order 
that they may become better men and women. 

MRS. AMERICA FRANCES YANCEY.— That women have made a 
positive success in practically every field of life, and even in those under- 
takings requiring capacity and experience for which men used to be regarded 
as alone equipped, is demonstrated in such a story as that of Mrs. America 
Frances Yancey, long identified with one of the well-known hostelries of 
California. She is the daughter of Judge Gillum Baley, a native of Illinois, 
where he was born not far from Springfield, on June 19, 1813. He died in 
November, 1895. Her mother was Permelia Eleanor Meyers before her mar- 
riage, and she was born in West Tennessee on June 22, 1819. Their marriage 
took place in Missouri, and in that State, before he came West to California, 
Mr. Baley was engaged in farming and stock-raising. He was also judge 
there for a couple of years ; and the reader will recall that Missouri court 
decisions in those days generally meant a short-cut to justice. 

In 1849 her father crossed the great plains with two of his brothers, and 
at once went to mining, continuing in that hazardous enterprise until 1851, 
when he returned to Missouri. After seven years more in the Iron State, he 
started again to cross the continent hoping once more to enjoy the good 
things of this promised land. He started in a caravan of ox teams, but when 
the party reached the Colorado River, they were robbed by the Indians. He 
therefore put back to Albuquerque, N. M., and remained there ten months. 
A new mule-team party was later made up and, joining it, Mr. Baley came 
to California by way of Yuma. 

In December, 1860, he reached Visalia, and soon came on to Fort Miller 
in Fresno County. He located at the town of Millerton, and again tried his 
luck at mining—this time along the San Joaquin River. He- followed mining 
up to 1866, when he was elected County Judge, and that high office he held 
for twelve years, serving the last term in Fresno where both he and his wife 
passed away. He was also County Treasurer for a couple of years. At one 
time he bought a grocery store, but in the spring of 1898 he sold it again. In 



1388 HISTORY OF FRESNO COUNTY 

the same town he ran a boarding house for a number of years, Mrs. Baley 
being an experienced housewife and manager. 

Airs. Yancey was born in Platte County, Mo., on September 30, 1840, and 
came with her parents to California and Fresno County; and while en route 
to California she was married in New Mexico, on September 9, 1859, to Au- 
gust Block, a native of Nockel, Prussian Poland, who was journeying to Cal- 
ifornia with the Judge Baley train. Mr. Block died on March 15, 1864, having 
followed farming until his death, leaving two children : Minnie, who married 
Thomas Dean, and died in San Francisco; and William, who makes his home 
with Mrs. Yancey. 

Later, in July, 1865, Mrs. Block married Charles Abraham. Yancey, a 
native of Yirginia who came to California in 1854 and followed mining and 
teaming, continuing in that line until 1868. The first of August in that year, 
Mr. and Mrs. Yancey opened the Toll House, the first hotel in that section; 
and while managing that he also engaged in farming and stock-raising. Mr. 
Yancey passed away on July 23. 1911, and the responsibilities he had cheer- 
fully borne then devolved upon the brave woman who had been so truly a 
helpmate. Like Mr. Block and. indeed like Mr. Pialey. Mr. Yancey left behind 
him an enviable record as citizen, neighbor and husband. 

Mr. and Mrs. Yancey, through their generosity and kindness, endeared 
themselves to every one and were familiarly known as Uncle Abe and Aunt 
Frank, and to this day Mrs. Yancey is addressed as Aunt Frank. By her 
marriage to Mr. Yancey she had two children: Mrs. Virginia E. ALUs, who, 
with her husband, now runs the Toll House; and Alax LL, engaged in gen- 
eral merchandising at Tollhouse. 

Since her husband's death. Airs. Yancey continues to live at Tollhouse, 
having turned the management of the hotel over to her daughter. Airs. Vir- 
ginia Mills. Aside from her Tollhouse ranch of over 700 acres, she with ATrs. 
ALUs and her nephew, Robert AI. Johnson, own the Johnson ranch of 1.000 
acres in the Pine Ridge School district, which is well watered and wooded 
and an ideal ranch for stock-raising, and on this place Airs. Yancey enjoys 
spending her summers. She is an old-timer, and it is interesting to hear her 
tell of early-day events. 

N. P. NIELSEN. — To the permanent settlement of California, the 
citizenship of European countries has made heavy contributions, especially 
is this true of Denmark. 

N. P. Nielsen, the subject of this sketch first saw the light of day near 
Viborg, Jutland, Denmark, on July 28, 1872, his parents being P. C. and 
Hannah Nielsen, also natives of .Denmark, and whose family consisted of 
eight children, six of whom are living, two being residents of Fresno County: 
N. P., and his brother P. C. His parents were farmers, the father being 
deceased, while his widow is still living. N. P. Nielsen was reared to a 
farmer's life, receiving a good education in the public schools. Having com- 
pleted the local schools he learned the grocery business at Sparkar. con- 
tinuing for a period of five years when, having decided to come to California, 
he quit and made his way, arriving at Fresno on September 1. 1801. Here 
he worked in both vineyard and orchard and soon learned the art of viti- 
culture and horticulture and then became superintendent of ranches which 
he followed for three years, and then he purchased twenty acres which he 
improved and sold in 1904. 

Air. Nielsen then bought his present forty-acre ranch on which he has lived 
since 1904; at that time it was unimproved, but today it is a highly culti- 
vated and productive ranch, improved with appropriate buildings and is 
devoted to raising- grapes that yield on an average one and one-half tons of 
raisins per acre of malaga, Thompsons and muscats as well as peaches 
and. oranges. Air. Nielsen is an enterprising rancher and by hard work, per- 
sistency of purpose, thrifty habits and a definite aim, he has surmounted 
difficulties and gained substantial success. 



HISTORY OF FRESNO COUNTY 1391 

In 1900, Mr. N. P. Nielsen took a trip to his native land which proved 
a pleasant respite after years of hard toil in his adopted country. His vaca- 
tion lasted a year and the most pleasant remembrance of it was the winning 
of the affections of Miss Katie Andersen, born in Copenhagen, who immi- 
grated to the United States the following year and became his wife in 1902. 

Of this happy union two sons were born : Earl C. and Carl J. June 16, 
1914, Mr. Nielsen was bereft of his loving companion and the children of a 
devoted mother. 

Fraternally, N. P. Nielsen is a member of the Danish Brotherhood, and 
is highly respected by a large circle of friends in his community. 

P. C. Nielsen is also a native of Denmark, where he was born in 1877, 
and came to California in 1901. In the year 1904 he was united in marriage 
with Miss Metha M. Sorensen, a native of Schlesvig, who immigrated to the 
United States in 1902. One daughter, Allie has come to bless and brighten 
the home circle of Air. and Mrs. P. C. Nielsen. 

N. P. Nielsen has always supported all cooperative movements of the 
fruitmen and is a member and stockholder of the California Associated Raisin 
Company and California Peach Growers, Inc. He is a trustee of the Fairview 
school district. 

OLEN LEE EVERTS.— The Everts family, represented in Fresno by 
Olen Lee Everts, a prominent attorney, was a distinguished one of New 
England. The first of the name to seek a new location was Gustavus Everts, 
St., who came as far west as Indiana, settling at La Porte, where he followed 
farming. He was also a resident of Ohio for a time, and in that state his 
son, Gustavus A., the father of Olen Lee, was born. Gustavus A. settled in 
Putnam County, 111., in young manhood, and was engaged in farming until 
his removal to La Porte, Ind., where he continued the same calling. In 
1884 he removed to California, and at Fresno engaged in the real estate 
business until a year before he died, in 1897. at the age of sixty-three years. 
He was a Mason and politically adhered to the policies of the Democratic 
party, in whose interests he served one term as public administrator of 
Fresno County. His wife, formerly Rena Newport, was born in Bureau 
County, 111., the daughter of P. N. Newport, an extensive farmer and large 
landowner of that county. Mrs. Everts died in Illinois early in life. 

The only child of his parents, Olen Lee Everts was born in Putnam 
County, 111., February 11. 1870, and, after the death of his mother, went to 
Kewanee, 111., where he made his home with an aunt, Mrs. H. E. Woodruff. 
He attended the public schools and in time was graduated from the Kewanee 
high school. In 1887 he came to Fresno County, Cal., and was engaged in 
the real estate business with his father. Before he came west, Mr. Everts 
had read law during his vacations and the desire to make that profession his 
life-work was so strong that in 1889 he returned east, and became a student 
in the law department of the University of Michigan, two years later 
graduating with the degree of LL.D. The year previous he had been ad- 
mitted to the bar of Michigan. During his college life he was a member of 
the Phi Delta Phi fraternity. Upon his return to California, Mr. Everts was 
admitted to the bar of the Golden State and at once opened offices in the 
First National Bank Building at Fresno and ever since then has practiced 
law in this city. In 1893 he formed a partnership with David S. Ewing, the 
firm being known then as Everts & Ewing, the same as it is today, and as 
such has won distinction at the bar of the state, and a place among the prom- 
inent attorneys of Fresno ; it is one of the earliest established law firms 
in the San Joaquin Valley. 

A Democrat in his political convictions, Mr. Everts was elected to the 
office of District Attorney of Fresno County in 1898, he took the oath of office 
the following January and served until January. 1903. During his term in 
this important position more than 500 criminal cases in the superior court 
of the county, many of them bitterly contested, were handled by his office, 



1392 HISTORY OF FRESNO COUNTY 

and the court records, showing the percentage of convictions in the number 
of cases tried, bespeak the ability and energy displayed by Mr. Everts in 
the interests of the people. The discharge of his duties was so efficient 
that he won the commendation of the citizens of Fresno County, regard- 
less of party affiliations. Mr. Everts thereupon resumed his practice with 
his partner. Mr. Ewing. For three successive terms, he has, with his partner, 
represented the public administrator of Fresno County. This enterprising 
firm is attorney for various banking institutions in the San Joaquin Valley, 
and for other corporations of like character. A great deal of oil litigation 
also has been handled by this firm. 

The law firm of Everts & Ewing easily ranks as one of the foremost 
in the San Joaquin Valley. In the case of Zibbell vs. the Southern Pacific 
Railway Company, they secured a verdict for $100,000 damages, the largest 
amount ever recovered for personal injuries anywhere. This verdict was 
settled for $92,745.65 on the 24th of July, 1911. 'Mr. Everts has conducted 
defenses in many noted murder cases, among these the case of People vs. 
Orlean Howe, which attracted nation-wide attention. While this firm 
numbers among its clients many banking, oil, and other large corporations, 
it does a general law-business, and the individual client obtains the ad- 
vantage of its long and successful experience in legal matters, as well as the 
careful personal attention of the members of the firm. 

In Kewanee, 111., Mr. Everts was united in marriage, on November 1, 
1892, with Flora Maul,' a daughter of Frank Maul, a merchant of that city. 
One child has blessed this union, Frank Gustavus Everts, now a young man 
twenty-two years of age. He is a graduate of the University of Michigan. 
He had taken one year of law in the University when, in April, 1917, he volun- 
teered for the United States Armv, and received a commission as First 
Lieutenant in Companv C. 145th Machine Gun Battalion of the Fortieth 
Division, and while in France received his Captaincy of that Company, and 
at this time is still serving in France. 

Fraternally O. L. Everts is a Mason, having been made a Mason in 
Kewanee Lodge, No. 159, A. F. & A. M. ; he belongs to Trigo Chapter, No. 
69, R. A. M., having served as High Priest, and also belongs to Fresno 
Commandery, No. 29, K. T. ; Islam Temple, A. A. O. N. M. S"; and is also 
a member of Fresno Lodge, No. 186, I. O. O. F., the Modern Woodmen of 
America, and the Independent Order of Foresters. As an enterprising and 
liberal citizen, Mr. Everts takes a most active interest in all that tends to 
promote the general welfare of the people and county. He is a member of 
the Commercial, Sequoia, University, and Country Clubs, also of the 
Chamber of Commerce, and of the County and State Bar Associations. 

JOHN HENRY BURNETT.— An esteemed citizen of Fresno who has 
made his influence felt in manufacturing circles of the state, is John Henry 
Burnett, owner and proprietor of the Burnett Iron Works, the largest foun- 
dry and structural steel plant in the San Joaquin Valley. He was born at 
Hellston. Cornwall, England, December 10, 1859, a son of Evan Burnett, a 
native of Truro, England. His grandfather, Evan Burnett, was a native of 
Wales and an iron moulder by trade, being engaged in that business at Truro. 
John Henry's father, also named Evan Burnett, was engaged in the foundry 
business at Truro, and later at Hellston. He came to the United States in 
1867, and for three years followed his trade in Chicago, then came to Cal- 
ifornia in 1870 and was engaged with the L^nion Iron Works at San Francisco 
for several years. He died at his home in Alameda at the age of seventy-six 
years. His wife, formerly Catherine Rule, was a native of Red Ruth, England, 
a daughter of Captain Jack Rule, who was superintendent of the gas plant at 
Red Ruth, where his death occurred. Mrs. Burnett died in Alameda on Jan- 
uary 25, 1905, aged eighty-five years. There were fifteen children born of 
this union, eight of whom reached their majority, and three boys and one 
girl are living as follows: Mrs. J. J. Atkins of Alameda; Evan, proprietor 




ui^o^^c ($£• /<d^4>^c&^y 



1396 HISTORY OF FRESNO COUNTY 

their four children, but two grew up : Mrs. J. A. Darby of Stockton, who had 
two sons in the World War ; and Mrs. Burnett. The latter was educated at 
the Academy and is well-versed in the early history of Fresno County. She 
is an active member of the Fresno County Pioneer Society. 

Mr. and Mrs. Burnett became the parents of two daughters, Maude E., 
Mrs. Roy Pugh of Fresno, and the mother of a son, Jack Montgomery Pugh ; 
and Winnifred, who died at the age of seven years. 

Mr. Burnett is prominent in fraternal circles and is a member of the 
Benevolent Protective Order of Elks, the Independent Order of Odd Fellows, 
Woodmen of the World and the Ancient Order of United Workmen. He 
was made a Mason in Las Palmas Lodge, F. & A. M., Fresno, and is a mem- 
ber of the Royal Arch Chapter; the Commercial Club, Chamber of Com- 
merce, and is an officer of the Humane Society. Politically he is a stanch 
Republican. Mr. Burnett is recognized as one of the upbuilders of Fresno 
County where the most active years of his life have been spent, and where 
he has won a large circle of friends and business associates. He is fond of 
hunting and fishing and each year he goes into the mountains and is familiar 
with every part of the county. He built his residence at Ninth and Mono in 
1898 and improved the grounds, which comprise a city block. 

EDWARD EARL SLATER.— An enterprising Californian who has be- 
come deservedly prominent because of his leadership in various movements 
for the building up of his section, and especially on account of his beneficent 
activity in favor of an irrigation project whereby the people may handle the 
business of their own water-supply, is E. E. Slater, president and manager 
of the Kern Pucheu Oil Company, who resides at Tranquillity. He was born 
at Nelsonville, Athens County, Ohio, March 4, 1878, the son of Joseph Slater, 
a native of Staffordshire, England, from which country the elder Slater came 
with his parents, when he was fifteen years old, to the United States and 
Ohio. Grandfather Slater was an early settler in the Hocking Valley, where 
Joseph grew up in the coal region and became a self-made man interested in 
the coal industry. In time he became one of the largest coal operators, as 
well as one of the oldest in the Hocking Valley, having his headquarters for 
many years at Nelsonville. There he was one of the organizers of the John- 
son Bros. Coal Company ; and when he sold his interest in that concern, he 
started the Maple Hill Coal Company, which became one of the most exten- 
sive coal managements in all that region. He was also interested in the 
Keever Starch Company, of Columbus, Ohio, and the Scioto Stone Company, 
at the same place ; and he was a partner with C. L. Kurtz in mining in 
Guanaxuato, Mexico. An energetic Democrat, he was a councilman in Nel- 
sonville, and a member of the Water Commission ; and he was a prominent 
Mason, Knight Templar and Shriner. He chose for his wife and life-compan- 
ion Barbara Ann Coulter, and she was born at Logan in Hocking County, 
the daughter of John A. Coulter, a native of Pennsylvania, and a manufac- 
turing cooper. Mr. and Mrs. Joseph Slater are still living, the parents of 
five boys and a girl, among whom Edward Earl is the second eldest. 

Alter graduating from the Nelsonville high school. E. E. Slater entered 
the Ohio State University at Columbus and there studied until he joined his 
father in business. He was made superintendent and manager of the coal 
mines and stores at Nelsonville. ami in that capacity he served with excep- 
tional ability until his father sold out and located in Columbus. Then he 
entered the employ of the Keever Starch Company, as a traveling salesman 
in the East, introducing starch, and later solicited for the Columbus Public 
Service Electric Light and Heating Company, established by his father, 
purveyors of electric light and heat. After that, for several years, he was a 
wholesale coal merchant at Columbus. 

In 1910, Mr. Slater became interested with his father in 163 acres of 
land at Tranquillity, Cal., and he sold his Ohio holdings to move to Califor- 
nia. He leveled and checked the land for alfalfa, and erected the necessary 



HISTORY OF FRESNO COUNTY 1399 

buildings and made other improvements. He also leased land and raised 
grain. The property owned by Mr. Slater was reclaimed land at time of 
purchase, and it was owing to his short residence in this state and his igno- 
rance of irrigation laws of California that led him to sign up with the San 
Joaquin Valley Farm Lands Company to put their land into a reclamation 
district, thus subjecting them to frequent assessments. Upon investigation 
he found that conditions were different than he had been led to believe and 
he got out a remonstrance, took the matter before the board of supervisors, 
who set the reclamation project aside and gave him permission to organize 
an irrigation district, which he did. The result was, after careful study, that 
he originated the idea of a water-supply project and was successful in getting 
the irrigation district established under the Wright Law. He carried the 
election to go on with the work, and was elected by the people as their asses- 
sor, collector and treasurer. This project has been the making of the district, 
so that Mr. Slater feels well repaid for all the labor in connection with the 
matter. 

Mr. Slater was also clerk of the board of trustees of the Grammar School 
for six years, and he first proposed that a Union High School be established, 
and a building therefor be erected. Indeed, he was made president of the 
board of directors. He was always interested in the Pine Flat scheme for 
the conservation of water, and was elected a member of the executive com- 
mittee having the matter in charge. In 1918 he was the candidate for super- 
visor against the present incumbent, and he came within twenty-four votes 
of being elected. 

Mr. Slater promoted and sold the stock in the new bank, known as the 
First National Rank of Tranquillity, which opened its doors for business on 
August 20. 1919, in temporary quarters until their new and modern bank- 
building, costing $20,000, is completed. The community felt the need of a 
local bank to handle the business, which had grown to such proportions that 
it was very unhandy to handle transactions at long distances, which caused 
delay and expense to the customers, and in consequence Mr. Slater put his 
shoulder to the wheel and started an institution that will reflect to his credit 
in the future. The bank is capitalized at $50,000. and the officers of the 
concern are : E. E. Slater, president ; J. E. Tuttle, first vice-president ; W. J. 
Williams, second vice-president; A. S. Fuqua, cashier. These gentlemen, 
together with J. N. Daniel, C. F. Goodrich, K. O. Whitson and John Davis, 
make up the efficient board of directors. All of these men have been promi- 
nent and progressive citizens of this section for a number of years and have 
the entire confidence of the people of this part of Fresno County. 

During the various Liberty Loan drives of the war period Mr. Slater 
was chairman of the committee for the Tranquillity district, and it was 
through efficient organization of his forces that the district went "over the 
top" in record time in each drive,' as they did in the Thrift Stamp sales and 
all other allied drives in Fresno County. 

While at Nelsonville, Mr. Slater was married to Miss Celia Anna Dane, 
a native of Hocking County, and a charming lady who has done much to 
make him successful. Mr. and Mrs. Slater attend the Methodist Church. 
Mr. Slater brought his nephew, Donald C. Slater, out to California, sent him 
to the Fresno High, from which he graduated. He then enlisted in the 
United States Navy, and was one of the boys from the Fresno High that 
was selected to go to Stanford, where he studied under the direction of the 
government, until the armistice was signed and he received his discharge. 

Always popular in whatever circle he has moved, Mr. Slater is a member 
of the Knights of Pythias of Mendota, and the Columbus Chapter. No. 37. 
of the B. P. O. Elks, and he belongs to the Fresno Eagles. Both Mr. and 
Mrs. Slater have a host of friends who are glad that they were drawn, as 
by the beckoning of Destiny, to Tranquillity. 



1400 HISTORY OF FRESNO COUNTY 

WILLIAM A. COLLINS. — Aside from the honors associated with the 
office of county supervisor, Mr. Collins has the distinction of being a native 
son of Fresno County. Not only has he been instrumental in the upbuilding 
of the county, but his father, J. D. Collins, was also actively identified with 
public work, being well known as an educator and a former sheriff of the 
county, a sketch of whom will be found on another page in this history. 

William A. Collins was born August 6, 1877, at Dry Creek, Fresno County. 
His education was gained in the public schools and the high school, after 
which he pursued a business course. Upon the completion of his schooling, 
he tried a venture in which only a young man of pioneer grit and determina- 
tion could have succeeded. Out near Sanger he took up a tract of 800 acres 
of raw land. To the hard task of improving it, he devoted all of his time and 
the energy and ambition with which he was abundantly blessed. Years of 
industry have carried the days of worry into a remote past, and now Mr. 
Collins can view with pleasure his successful achievements. Instead of bar- 
ren waste, he now owns a fine tract of cultivated ground, producing grapes 
and various fruits. 

Since making a study of political questions, Mr. Collins has been identi- 
fied with the Democratic party, and while he personally superintends the 
management of his ranch, he is still able to devote the necessary time to the 
office of county supervisor, to which he was elected, first in 1912. and re- 
elected, in 1916, for a second term of four vears. This honor demonstrates 
how capably he has looked after the interests of the people. Since being a 
member of the board he has been chairman of the County Farm and Fair- 
grounds committee, during which time the Farm has been brought to its 
present high state of efficiency. He is a charter member of the California 
Associated Raisin Company, and representative of the commissioners in the 
Raisin Day Festival since 1913. The Methodist Church receives his hearty 
support. 

Mr. Collins' marriage occurred December 4, 1901, when Miss Myrtle 
Nelson became his wife. She is the granddaughter of Major T. P. Nelson, 
a well-known citizen of Fresno, and is proud of the fact that she is a native 
daughter. They have four children: James P., Thelma, Myrtle and Mary E. 

EMMETT RIGGINS.— A building contractor who believes in doing 
things, and whose work, therefore, evident on every hand in the leading 
structures of Fresno and vicinity, speaks for him in no uncertain terms, is 
Emmett Riggins. who was born in Missouri on January 10. 1862. His father 
was George W. Riggins, and he married Miss Ann Dean. Both parents, 
having faithfully completed their earthly tasks and enjoyed the measure of 
days allotted them, in which they had the highest esteem of their fellow- 
townsfolk, are now dead. Growing up in Missouri, Emmett was sent to the 
public schools of his district, and later, to satisfy his ambition for learning, 
he attended the State University at Columbia, and there prepared himself for 
his later success in the world. 

Putting aside his books for a while, he was apprenticed to the coach- 
building trade; and having served his time, he worked as a journeyman for 
several years. In 1886, however, he cast loose from his Missouri moorings and 
came West ; and landing on both feet at the start, in a couple of years, he was 
well-established as a contractor. 

The year 1888 found him moving into Fresno, then only a village, and 
yet even at that time an attractive place that anyone could see was full of 
promise. He at once engaged in building, and many of the early structures 
of the town, particularly the building blocks, were erected by him and after 
his designs. For a while he was in partnership with a Mr. Rehan, now de- 
ceased, and then he joined E. A. Palmer of Fresno and assisted him in carry- 
ing out his notable work in the San Joaquin Valley. 

Among the edifices he thus built, adding much to the architectural 
attractiveness and modern convenience of the neighborhood, mav be men- 



HISTORY OF FRESNO COUNTY 1403 

tioned the Hughes Block, the Braly Building, the Chance Building, the Kut- 
ner Building, the Fulton Hotel, and the Cory Building. He remodelled the 
First National Bank, working there a very agreeable renovation, and he 
had the contract for the new six-story, reenforced concrete Mason Block. 

But Mr. Riggins has done much more than erect some of the most strik- 
ing business structures in this and neighboring towns. Repeatedly his taste 
and experience have been called for to help create of Fresno the City Beauti- 
ful. He has therefore designed and put up many of the most ornate private 
residences in Central California ; nor can one doubt, who has followed the 
steady display of his ability, that his resources in invention or execution ever 
will fail, however rapid or extensive may be the development of the city. 

NATHAN HENRY HAYS.— A California vineyardist who resides near 
Clovis, one of the most promising sections in Fresno County, is Nathan Henry 
Hays, whose career has been advanced through the companionship and in- 
spiration of his wife. He was born in Stephenson County, 111., December 
2, 1850, the son of Amos Hays, who came from Ohio and in his native state 
married Mary Howe, also an Ohioan, whose ancestors had an honorable 
part in the Revolutionary War. In time the father removed to Stephenson 
County, and in 1856 to Mineral Point, Wis., where he was a farmer. Then he 
removed back to Ohio for five years, and returning to Wisconsin died there 
at the age of eighty-six. Mrs. Hays had passed away in Wisconsin, the 
mother of two boys and four girls, of whom one boy and two girls are living. 
A brother of our subject, D. J. Hays, settled in Fresno County and bought a 
vineyard at Easton ; and returning to Fresno he died there in 1915. 

Brought up in Wisconsin, Nathan Henrv attended the public schools 
there and when seventeen returned to Bethel, Claremont, County, Ohio, where 
he continued his schooling. Arriving at the age of twenty-two he found him- 
self once more in Wisconsin, and there he engaged in farming. 

On December 19, 1877, Mr. Hays was married at Willow Springs, La 
Fayette County, to Miss Emily Cork, a native of Staffordshire, England, and 
the daughter of Hugh and Ann (Brough) Cork, who had been born in that 
section. Her father was a tailor and later a Methodist minister, and in 1869 
he brought his family across the ocean to Mineral Point. There he was a 
clergyman and also at Shullsburg and other places, and in time he came to 
California. He died at Modesto in his seventy-sixth year. Mrs. Cork died 
in Wisconsin. The couple had nine children, five of whom are still living. 
After their marriage Mr. and Mrs. Hays remained in La Fayette County for 
twelve years, during which time they were actively engaged in farming. De- 
siring, however, to live in a milder climate they sacrificed what they had and, 
in 1889 came west to California ; and being impressed with the superior ad- 
vantages of Fresno, three months later they bought forty acres of alfalfa land 
in Easton and made plans to settle there. 

In the fall of 1890 Mr. Hays bought his present place of sixty acres. It 
was stubble land when he entered upon it, but he immediately began im- 
provements and set it all out as a vineyard. He had built a residence on the 
Easton ranch in 1895, but he later disposed of that and now resides here. In 
1900 he built a fine residence on his present place, and now he has forty acres 
of vineyard with muscat and Thompson vines and the balance is in peach 
orchards and alfalfa, the whole conveniently situated three miles southeast 
of Clovis. He is an active member of the California Associated Raisin Com- 
pany and the California Peach Growers, Inc. 

Nine children have been born to Mr. and Mrs. Hays, and eight have 
reached maturity. Mabel, who is a graduate of a business college at Fresno, 
is now Mrs. O. C. Coddington. and lives in Los Angeles ; Ressie, who grad- 
uated from the San Jose State Normal school and was a teacher, is the wife 
of C. R. Reyburn, of Enterprise Colony ; Ray W. Hays was a Captain of a 
Company in the 362d Regiment, 91st Division and served through all the 



1404 HISTORY OF FRESNO COUNTY 

campaigns in France and Belgium. He has been a well-known attorney of 
Fresno, having graduated from the school of law of the State University: 
Gertrude was also a teacher, a graduate of the Fresno Normal, and is now 
Mrs. W. C. Schlein, of Fresno ; John was in the United States Army, stationed 
at Schofield Barracks, Honolulu, then was at Camp Dodge, Iowa; when mus- 
tered out he was a sergeant; Loverne, having graduated from the Clovis High 
School, is now a student in the University of California ; while Pearl is a 
graduate of the Clovis High School. Percy died April 23, 1901, aged twenty. 

Mr. Hays is a Republican in national politics and has shown his advo- 
cacy of serving his fellowmen in local civic work by acting as trustee, for 
nine years, of the Jefferson School district ; and during that time the school- 
house was built. He is a member of the Christian Church at Clovis, and also 
of the Fraternal Brotherhood. He was made a Mason in Mineral Point Lodge, 
No. 1, A. F. & A. M., thirty-three years ago, and is now connected with the 
Clovis Lodge, No. 417 F. & A. M. Both Mr. and Mrs. Hays are members of 
Concordia Chapter, No. 320, O. E. S., in which Mrs. Hays is worthy matron. 
He joined the Odd Fellows in Ohio forty-seven years ago, and is still a mem- 
ber of Mineral Point Lodge, No. 1, in Wisconsin. Search where you may it 
would be difficult to find two more useful members of developing society 
than Mr. and Mrs. Hays who have entered so heartily into Central Califor- 
nia life. 

ARTHUR E. WEBB. — A prominent banker of Fresno County, who 
has always had the best interests of his community as his first consideration 
is Arthur E. Webb, president of the First National Bank of Coalinga, who 
came to the town in 1890. He was born in London, England, and was edu- 
cated in the public schools of that city. Then he entered a jewelry house in 
the metropolis, with which he continued until 1890. 

Stirred with the spirit of adventure, Mr. Webb struck our for the United 
States, and after a short time spent in New York, crossed the continent to 
California. A relative of his, A. P. May. had located in Coalinga a few years 
before, and that led Mr. Webb to come here, also. He located on a home- 
stead of 160 acres on the West Side, and there he continued for three years. 

Then he accepted a position as clerk in the store of Simon Manasse, a 
pioneer merchant of Coalinga, commencing in the period before oil was dis- 
covered in commercial quantities, and he worked through January, 1896, 
when Chanslor & Canfield started their oil development. Mr. Webb then 
started as a merchant on Front Street, the business being conducted under the 
name of A. E. Webb ; and when, six months later, A. P. May became a part- 
ner, the firm name was changed to Webb & May. At a later date Mr. Webb 
sold his interest to Mr. May, after which, for two years, he became an oil 
operator, and was interested in the Kreyenhagen Land & Oil Company, 
giving it his personal attention ; but it did not prove a financial success, and 
he lost what he had accumulated. 

Once more Mr. Webb turned to the sale of merchandise ; and again he 
made such a success that he purchased the northeast corner of Fifth and E 
Streets and erected there a frame store building, stocked it with merchandise. 
and soon had built up a large business and developed the enterprise into a 
modern department store. He was in business for twelve years, and during 
that time built the Webb Block, a two-story brick structure, 100x150 feet 
in dimension. In 1912 he sold his goods and quit the merchandise trade, to 
devote his time to real estate and banking interests. 

Mr. Webb was one of the organizers of the First National Bank of 
Coalinga, in 1908, served as a director and vice-president from the start; 
and in 1914 he became president and manager, a position he now fills to 
the satisfaction of all having both the interests of that institution and the 
town at heart. The bank was originally located in the Webb Block, but 
in 1916 it was consolidated with the Bank of Coalinga, retaining the name 
of the First National Hank, but occupying the quarters of the Bank of Coal- 



HISTORY OF FRESNO COUNTY 1405 

inga, at the northwest corner of Fifth and E Streets. Its capital stock is and 
always has been $50,000, and its surplus now amounts to over $30,000. In 
January. 1916, both banks had deposits to the amount of $785,000. and now 
the First National Bank's deposits are over a million and a half dollars. 

Undeterred by his former experiences, Mr. Webb is now interested in 
the Lucile Oil Company, and also the Elaine Oil Company, being president 
of the latter ; and he is also concerned in the development of other oil proper- 
ties, and has been engaged in buying and selling oil lands, in which he has 
met with gratifying success for himself and others. 

In Fresno, Mr. Webb was married to Miss Clara Ochs, a popular lady 
of that city, and two children have blessed their union — George Arthur and 
Dorothy. The family attend the Christian Science Church. Mr. and Mrs. 
Webb actively participated in war work; he has been chairman of the Coal- 
inga Chapter of the Red Cross from its organization, and was chairman of 
all the Liberty Loan drives here, and in each case Coalinga went over and 
beyond the top. He served as district chairman here for the Fuel Adminis- 
tration. Mr. Webb is a Republican in national politics ; for six years he 
served as a non-partisan member of the board of city trustees, and for two 
years of that time was president of the board. He was made a Mason in 
Coalinga Lodge. No. 347, F. & A. M.. and is a member of the Chapter and 
Commandery in Hanford, and Islam Temple, A. A. O. N. M. S. in San Fran- 
cisco, and is a member of the Eastern Star in Coalinga. He is a member and 
a director of the Coalinga Chamber of Commerce. 

A. T. LINDGREN. — How impossible it would have been for any young 
and struggling municipality such as Kingsburg to develop and permanently 
and successfully establish itself without the advice and substantial aid of 
such institutions as its banks only those can realize when they know what, 
through the wise and generous cooperation of such concerns, has at last 
been accomplished. It is safe to say that nothing has proven so much the 
heart and mainspring of a new and ambitious community as has a live bank ; 
and since the establishment here of the First National Bank of Kingsburg, 
this city has been reenforced to an extent not accorded every would-be city 
trying to get onto the map. This admirable financial institution owes its 
success, aside from the cordial welcome and support given it by the public 
since its start, largely to the exceptional staff of officers with which it has 
been manned ; and none among them, perhaps, deserves more credit for 
hard, steady work in the building up of both bank and, consequently, the 
town, than A. T. Lindgren. its cashier and one of the directors. 

He was born in Lindsborg, McPherson County, Kans., on February 10, 
1872, the son of S. P. Lindgren, who was one of the three founders after 
whom Lindsborg was named. He was born in Sweden, and there married to 
Miss Martha Olson, of the same place, who came with him to Chicago and 
then to Kansas. There, with two partners, Mr. Lindgren organized at 
Smoky Hill Valley a land association, which developed into cooperative 
store-keeping ; and from that movement came the establishing and naming 
of the town. Mr. Lindgren died in California in February, 1902, leaving five 
children, all of whom are now in California. A. T. Lindgren, the subject of 
this review; S. O. is a rancher of Kingsburg; M. E. farms at Turlock ; Emma 
resides with her mother at Kingsburg; and Christine, now Mrs. L. O. 
Homstrom, is on a ranch at Kingsburg. 

S. P. Lindgren, besides being a merchant at Lindsborg, was also a hotel 
proprietor there and a merchant in Chicago, and it will be seen that he must 
have bequeathed to his son certain qualities and aptitudes likely to be of 
the greatest service to him in the field in which, as it has transpired, he chose 
to cast his lot. After attending the public schools at Lindsborg, he spent a 
year very profitably at Bethany College in 1887, and then, in 1889, he came to 
California and settled on a ranch at Kingsburg. From his seventeenth year 
he shifted for himself, and before long he became one of the organizers of 



1406 HISTORY OF FRESNO COUNTY 

the Linnea Cooperative Packing Association, which was established in 1900, 
when he became its manager. He was also the first secretary of the Mutual 
Fire Insurance Company of Kingsburg. also organized in 1900. He helped 
organize, too, the First National Bank of Kingsburg in 1904, and was its 
first, as he has been its only cashier. 

The first officers were : President, D. S. Snodgrass, of Selma ; Vice-presi- 
dent, Levi Garrett ; Cashier. A. T. Lindgren ; and its first Board of Directors 
were: D. S. Snodgrass, Selma; Levi Garrett, Kingsburg; M. Vincent. Selma; 
and Alfred Nelson, Kingsburg. Its present officers are: President. Levi 
Garrett; Vice-president. Alfred Nelson; Cashier, A. T. Lindgren: Assistant 
Cashier, B. C. Nelson ; and its present Board of Directors consists of Messrs. 
Garrett, Nelson, Lindgren, D. E. Brown and N. Vincent. 

The condition of this popular bank could certainly not be better, all 
things considered. Its resources are: Loans and discounts, $390,000; U. S. 
Bonds, $43,500; other bonds, $3,500; stock in Federal Reserve Bank. $1,650; 
banking house, furniture and fixtures, $23,650; cash and sight exchange, 
$75,000; while its liabilities are: capital stock. $50,000: surplus, $5,000; 
undivided profits, $3,000; circulation. $25,000: deposits, $450,000; and other 
liabilities, making an impressive total of $600,000. 

Mr. Lindgren was married at Kingsburg in 1906 to Miss Selma Snorin, 
a native of Olivia, Minn., and the daughter of A. Snorin. Four children have 
blessed this union, and their names are Ira Whitney. Kenneth Theodore. 
Rosalie Annette and Ruth Eloise. 

Mr. Lindgren has shown his good qualities as a citizen in many move- 
ments for the betterment of the community. He was chairman of the board 
that undertook the incorporation of Kingsburg, and the city, since it was 
incorporated, has been dry as a bone ! Otherwise he has kept out of politics. 
He helped to organize the Swedish Mission Church. He resides at the corner 
of South and West Streets, in a pretty, comfortable and hospitable bunga- 
low home, and he has a farm of ten acres, set out to vines and trees. He also 
owns as town property five acres planted to vines in the Carlson Addition. 

JESSE AUGUST BLASINGAME.— Any list of the pioneers of Fresno 
County, and especially of those men who have been successfully engaged in 
the stock-raising business would be incomplete without the name of Jesse A. 
Blasingame, a Mexican War veteran and an early settler near Academy. He 
was a native of Talladega County, Ala. 

Becoming enthused with the interesting reports of the discovery of gold 
in California, Jesse A. Blasingame decided to try his fortunes in the Golden 
State and in that memorable year, 1849, came by the Isthmus of Panama to 
California, bringing with him several men to help in the mines. For awhile 
he engaged in mining for gold, but like many other men endowed with keen 
business acumen, he discovered that there were other ways and means of 
securing gold, or its equivalent, that were not so uncertain and hazardous. 
Subsequently he entered into the stock-raising business and by the exercise 
of his innate good judgment and wise management he achieved a satisfactory 
success. 

In 1862 or 1863 he located in Fresno County and purchased land near Big 
Dry Creek, in the vicinity of Academy, and engaged in raising cattle, hogs, 
sheep and horses. As he prospered he purchased more land until in time he 
became one of the largest land owners in that section. His holdings extended 
about nine miles in one direction, reaching almost from Friant to Academy, 
and included about 12,000 acres. 

In 1870, J. A. Blasingame with his wife and two children returned East, 
going to his old home state, Alabama, to settle an estate. Later the family 
went to Texas, where they spent one winter in Bell County. The next spring 
Mr. Blasingame began to purchase cattle to drive across the plains. His 
first purchase was at San Antonio, Texas, where he secured 1.200 head, he 
kept on adding to his purchases until he had about 2,000 head which he and 



HISTORY OF FRESNO COUNTY 1409 

his sons brought safely across the plains and mountains until they reached 
Humboldt Wells, Nev. From this point they shipped the cattle to San Fran- 
cisco, Sacramento and Colfax, receiving such good prices for the stock that he 
netted a handsome sum for his hazardous undertaking, and demonstrated his 
splendid business ability. That his keen business judgment and wise council 
in financial matters were soon recognized in the community, is recorded in 
the fact that he was one time the vice-president of the Fresno County Bank. 

About 1878, he retired from active participation in business affairs and 
removed to the city of Fresno, where he spent his last days. He built the 
Ogle House, one of the first good hotels in Fresno and after his death, his 
widow built the Blasingame Block, now known as the Commercial Block at 
H. and Tulare Streets. J. A. Blasingame was interested in educational mat- 
ters and helped to build the Academy school house, which was one of the 
first in Fresno County. He also gave his aid to church work in the commun- 
ity. 

Jesse A. Blasingame was united in marriage with Mary Jane Ogle, a 
native of Missouri. She crossed the plains when she was about fourteen years 
of age, with her parents in an ox team train. Mr. and ft^rs. Blasingame be- 
came the parents of seven children : Alfred H., a stockman who resides at 
Clovis ; Albert A., is a resident of Fresno ; Lee A., is a viticulturist and stock- 
man seven miles northeast of Fresno ; Nannie, is Mrs. N. H. Peterson, of Los 
Angeles ; W. O. is a stockman and viticulturist of the Kutner Colony ; J. A. 
Jr. is a rancher at Lone Star ; Gertrude, is Mrs. Aten, residing in Fresno. 
Jesse A. Blasingame passed away in 1881. at the age of sixty-one; his wife 
continued to reside in Fresno until her death in 1908, at the age of seventy- 
two years. 

JOHN N. DANIEL. — An enterprising and progressive Californian, of 
liberal-hearted tendencies pleasantly shown in his varied intercourse with 
others, is John N. Daniel, one of the oldest settlers and most prominent of 
the men identified with Tranquillity and its vast irrigation interests. He was 
born in Honey Lake Valley, Lassen County, on April 20, 1865, the son of 
James H. Daniel, a native of Mt. Vernon district, Ky. He removed with his 
parents to Ralls County, Mo., where Grandfather Daniel died. Grandmother 
Daniel spent her last days in California, having come here by way of Panama, 
and died in Woodland. The father was about nineteen years old when he 
came by ox team across the pathless plains; and about 1851 he settled in 
Yolo County. There he married Margaret Briggs, a native of Ralls County, 
Mo., whose family had come with Grandmother Daniel across the Isthmus. 
The father was long engaged in farming at old Buckeye, Yolo County, but he 
took his family back to Missouri in 1873, and died in a railroad accident 
while on a trip to Texas. The mother and the family were in Missouri at 
the time ; and after this accident, they stayed there, and in that state the 
mother died in 1880, having had four children, three of whom are living. John 
N. is the second eldest, and the others are : Mrs. Davidella Hart of Fresno ; 
and Mrs. Bessie Miller of Los Angeles. 

Brought up in California, except ten years when he lived in Ralls County, 
Mo., and always anxious to get back to California, John came to Fresno, on 
his return to the state, in May, 1885, and for about five years, was foreman 
for Jeff James on his ranch at Fish Slough, now Tranquillity, being engaged 
especially in stock-raising. He then located at West Park and improved a 
vineyard ; and soon after located a homestead of 160 acres just west of 
the James ranch. This was about 1892 or 1893, and he also leased land and 
engaged in grain-raising, his landlord being Mr. James. All in all, he man- 
aged about 800. and sometimes 1,000 acres a year. He had a big outfit and 
a combined harvester, and ran it till the place was subdivided for colonization 
purposes. 

Meantime, while grain-farming, he improved his homestead, turning the 
first furrow in what was then a wilderness. He improved it for alfalfa, and 



1410 HISTORY OF FRESNO COUNTY 

grew about the first alfalfa raised here. He and other renters built the ditch 
from the slough for twelve miles to irrigate their crops ; and as it reached 
his land, he was one of the original owners of the ditch. As he built about 
twenty-five and a half per cent, of the ditch, he has in it valuable priority- 
rights. He also helped build the Joaquin ditch and the Pump ditch. Now 
he is raising both alfalfa and stock, and he still owns the vineyard at the 
corner of Church and Marks Avenues, in West Park, near Fresno. 

Mr. Daniel was married, at Fresno, to Mrs. Annie (Tagger) Daniel, a 
native of New Jersey, who was reared in San Francisco. By her first union 
she had three children: John Nelson, now in San Francisco; Frank James, 
in Tranquillity; and 'William Arthur, who was in the United States Army. 
All of these children were educated at the usual common schools and also 
at the Fresno high school. 

For sixteen years Mr. Daniel has been overseer of roads in this district, 
serving first under C. W. Garrett and of late under Chris Jorgensen, and 
for years before he was working on the roads in various parts of the county. 
He is a Democrat, and has been a delegate to the county and state conven- 
tions ; he is also a member of the Democratic County Central Committee. 
For years he was a school trustee of the original Artesia school district, and 
has of late been a member of the Tranquillity school board. From its organi- 
zation until March 4. 1919. he was chairman of the board of directors of the 
Tranquillity Irrigation District, which has charge of over 11,000 acres; and 
he is also a member of the executive committee of the Pine Flat Conservation 
Project, which has for its aim the building of a great dam, above Piedra, in 
Pine Flat for a large reservoir to store the waters and give a longer irrigation 
season by having a great supply. He was one of the organizers and is a 
director of The First National Bank of Tranquillity, and in this enterprise, 
as well as all others of merit and uplift, he is ready to give the best that is 
in him to make them successful. 

E. F. LOESCHER. — Few among the present-day men of affairs who 
have long worked and are still laboring for a greater California of the future 
deserve more honorable mention than E. F. Loescher, president and manager 
of the Action Brokerage Company, of Fresno. He is the son of Otto Loescher, 
the well-known pioneer of Fresno, who was born in Germany, December 29, 
1859, the son of General Loescher, who was killed while stationed in China. 
Otto Loescher attended the public schools, and then was apprenticed and 
learned the trade of miller. Crossing the ocean in 1886, he went to Indiana 
and followed his trade there for two years. He found the climate unattractive, 
particularly in view of the stories told about California, so he came on fur- 
ther west and selected Selma, in Fresno County, for a home. He worked as 
miller in the Bachtold mill there, and later in a flouring mill at Reedley. 
While busy at his trade he invested his earnings in a forty-acre ranch near 
Selma, which he improved and later sold. 

In 1901 he took up his residence on the place that came to be known 
as his home ranch. This property he improved in many ways, erecting a fine 
country home and otherwise making of it a valuable property. This place 
was located north of Fowler and comprised forty acres. At the same time 
that he bought this place he bargained for forty acres to the south. On his 
properties he set out about seventy acres to vines. The first ranch that he 
owned in the county was on the West Side. It was a government claim of 
half a section of land, which he devoted to grain ; but he could see greater 
possibilities in viticulture. 

After coming to Fresno County, Mr. Loescher married Miss KatieVietor, 
a daughter of Frank Yietor, who was born in Germany in 1838, and came to 
the United States with his parents in 1848. Frank Vietor came from Cin- 
cinnati, Ohio, to the Sacramento Yalley in 1861, and became superintendent 
of farming and stock-raising on several large islands in the Sacramento 
River. He came down to Fresno County in 1881. In partnership with his 



HISTORY OF FRESNO COUNTY 1411 

father-in-law, Otto Loescher leased over 2,000 acres of land near Selma, which 
they farmed to grain and where they ran a threshing outfit, at that time 
something of a novelty in this section. Mr. Loescher was a pioneer in grow- 
ing Thompson seedless raisins. He was an active member in the German 
Lutheran Church at Selma, and a member of the Odd Fellows there. After 
a successful career, made happier by a wide circle of friends, he sold out his 
interests in 1915 and moved to Orange County, where he now resides. Their 
three children are: Eda, the wife of C. L. Caine, who is a partner in the 
Action Brokerage Company ; Agnes, who became the wife of E. Benson, also 
associated with the Action Brokerage Company; and E. F., of this review. 

E. F. Loescher was educated at the public schools in Fowler, and in 
1910 was graduated from the Portland Academy, at Portland, Ore., after 
which he took a commercial course at the Vancouver Institute, fitting him- 
self for a business career. While in Vancouver, B. C, he was for three years 
secretary to the Imperial Rice Milling Company. In 1913, before returning 
to California, he married Alice Katherine Stevinson, a native of Vancouver, 
by whom he has had two sons, Jack and Burt. 

Upon returning to California in 1913, Mr. Loescher went to work for 
the California Associated Raisin Company, at the Phoenix plant at Fowler ; 
and on leaving that concern at the end of six months, he worked for a like 
period for Hans Graff in Fresno. Then he became office man for the Amer- 
ican Vineyard Company, and was later promoted to buyer. He resigned on 
December 31, 1916, to look after his own vineyard in Barstow Colony; but 
on May 1, of the following year, he returned to the company as the Fresno 
district manager, succeeding F. A. Seymour. On December 31, 1918, he 
resigned from this position to become associated with C. L. Caine and Harry 
Berndt in the Action Brokerage Company, in which he was chosen president 
and general manager. The company is incorporated for $50,000. It is the 
first real estate firm in Fresno to handle farmers' supplies, nursery stock, 
grape stakes, etc. ; and it is also engaged in buying and selling green and 
dried fruits. The firm specializes in country property ; and its members, 
being well-known and reliable, are building up a large clientele extending all 
over the state. 

Mr. Loescher owns the finest ranch in Barstow Colony, 160 acres, 100 
of which are devoted to raising Thompson seedless raisins, while the bal- 
ance is set to Sultanas, Malagas, peaches and figs. He also owns eight head 
of finely matched, well-bred mules, black in color, which took the first prize 
at three fairs in 1917 — the State Fair, the Kings County Fair and the Fresno 
County Fair. His mule "Sue" took the sweepstake prize as champion of the 
state at the State Fair in 1917. In addition he owns a standard-bred, three- 
year-old mare, a pacer, named "Katherine C," that bids fair to make a record. 
His stables contain all modern improvements, and he also has a Holt and a 
Wallace tractor on his ranch. He is also engaged in breeding registered 
pure-bred Persian sheep of the red-faced type, without any mixture. He is 
one of three breeders of Persian sheep on the Pacific Coast, and one of but 
seven in the United States. The care and study he has given to the breed- 
ing up of his stock have resulted in what is said to be the finest flock of 
Persians in the United States. Mr. Loescher is an authority on the growing 
of Thompson seedless raisin grapes, as well as a soil expert ; and his opinion 
is often sought by prospective buyers, who have confidence in his judgment. 
He has contributed articles to the local papers and farm journals on grape 
culture, methods of cultivation, fertilizing, and curing the grape, and his 
articles have received favorable comment. He is a member of the Sequoia 
Club and the Commercial Club of Fresno. 



1412 HISTORY OF FRESNO COUNTY 

LUCIUS POWERS.— Ever since the stirring days of '49, the Powers 
family has been identified with the history of California. The founder of the 
family on the coast was Aaron Hubbard Powers, a native of Xew Hamp- 
shire, but from early childhood a resident of Boston, Mass. At the time of 
the discovery of gold in California, he took passage on a sailing vessel and 
after a long voyage, by way of Cape Horn, landed at the Golden Gate in 1849, 
whence he proceeded with other Argonauts, to the mines. Eventually he be- 
came engaged in business in Sacramento, where he continued for twenty years. 
Upon retiring from commercial life in 1887, he purchased 250 acres of land 
west of Centerville, Fresno County, and soon afterwards planted 100 acres of 
the tract to fruits of various kinds ; also set out a large vineyard. 

In 1898, he took his son Lucius into full partnership with him, Lucius at 
that time becoming active manager of the property. When Aaron H. Powers 
married, he chose for his wife Emma Louisa Sweasy, a native of London, 
England, whose death occurred at the home ranch near Centerville, July 24, 
1902. at the age of sixty-five years. Aaron Hubbard Powers, the founder of 
the family in California, while making a trip around the world, died in the 
city of Venice, Italy, April 17, 1907. There were six sons and three daughters 
in the family of this pioneer couple, seven of whom are living; Lucius, the 
subject of this sketch, being next to the youngest. 

Lucius Powers was born in Sacramento, January 11, 1872, and attended 
school there until fifteen years of age, when he removed with his parents to 
Centerville, Fresno County, where he completed his school days. An inci- 
dent of his youth indicates his progressive and enterprising disposition: in 
1889, when seventeen years of age, he established the Kings River Xews. a 
four-page sheet, six by eight inches in size, published every week. The peo- 
ple of the community around Centerville, which had no publication of its 
own, appreciated his efforts to give them the news of current interest, their 
support encouraged him to increase the paper to eight pages, but after he 
had published it for two years, other matters required his attention and he 
discontinued the little publication. After completing a course in a business 
college in San Francisco, he returned to Fresno County and began his career 
as a horticulturist, viticulturist and fruit shipper, in which he has become 
eminently successful. 

Entering into partnership with his father, Mr. Powers became the active 
manager of the Powers vineyards and orchards, and after the death of A. H. 
Powers, the family incorporated the property in 1909, as the Powers Orchard 
and Vineyard Company, with a capital stock of $50,000, at which time 
Lucius Powers was made president and manager. This tract of land under 
his wise supervision, has become a wonderful producer, and is one of the 
largest orchards and vineyards in the Centerville district, comprising in all 
370 acres; there are about 150 acres in raisin grapes, fort}' acres in emperors, 
eleven acres in oranges, 100 acres in nursery stock, principally oranges, 
twenty-five acres in figs, and the balance in other fruits and alfalfa. In 1909, 
Mr. Powers established the L. Powers Fruit Company in Fresno. In 1913 he 
was chosen manager of the San Joaquin Valley district for the Pioneer Fruit 
Company, which has packing houses in different cities throughout the state. 
At present he is vice-president of the concern. In 1912 Mr. Powers moved 
from the ranch into Fresno, where in Palm Villa Tract he has twenty acres in 
vineyard, the largest vineyard in the city of Fresno. In 1915 Mr. Powers 
bought out the interests of his brothers and is now sole owner of the Powers 
Orchard and Vineyard Company's property. 

In 1917 Mr. Powers added to his holdings by purchasing half a section 
of improved land ten miles east of Fresno, on Belmont Avenue, and in 1919 
increased his holdings still further by buying a highly improved malaga vine- 
yard of 100 acres at Clotho, for which he paid $1,000 an acre. Mr. Powers' 
extensive experience has demonstrated to him that improved land is the best 
kind of an investment, as he well knows that with care and good management 




c5^?-^l^/Jw 



HISTORY OF FRESNO COUNTY 1415 

the income from the crops will pay for the land in a few years. He assisted 
in the organization of the Commercial Bank of Sanger, of which he is vice- 
president ; for several years he served as a director of the First National 
Bank of Sanger, and in many other ways has shown his deep interest in the 
development of the best interests of Fresno County, believing that it offers 
hetter inducements for the homeseeker than any other part of California. 

The marriage of Lucius Powers with Miss Abbie Viau, who was born at 
Colusa, was celebrated on July 3, 1900. Four children have been born of this 
union : Lucius, Jr. ; Mary Louisa ; Martha Kate ; and Aaron Hubbard. Fra- 
ternally, Mr. Powers is a member of the Independent Order of Odd Fellows ; 
Woodmen of the World ; Benevolent Protective Order of Elks ; and the Re- 
"bekahs. His social relations are with the Commercial Club, Sequoia Club and 
Sunnyside Country Club, and his business associations are with the Chamber 
of Commerce. Other personal interests that claim his attention and manage- 
ment are : L. Powers Fruit Company ; L. Powers Orange Company ; L. Pow- 
ers Wood Company ; L. Powers Tree Company ; L. Powers Home Ranch ; L. 
Powers B Ranch ; and the Shoemaker Orchard Company of Lindsay. 

Lucius Powers has contributed greatly to the substantial and permanent 
development of scientific horticulture and viticulture in Fresno County, and 
there is no man more deeply interested in the progress made in the develop- 
ment of the State of California than this native son. He is always ready to 
co-operate in any worthy project which has as its aim the advancement of 
public interests, either commercially, financially, educationally or socially, 
■and in both county and state Mr. Powers holds an enviable position as an 
eminently successful business man. 

FRANKLIN ABBOTT.— An old settler who has passed through the 
■hardest of hard times, experiencing the failure of grain crops, and starvation 
prices for that upon which much time and fatiguing labor had been expended, 
and who, having borne his trials manfully, has won success as a viticulturist 
is Franklin Abbott, the subject of this review. Mr. Abbott is also an expert 
teamster and judge of land and cattle, and has raised horses and mules for 
twenty-eight years, having come to Fresno in the early eighties. He was 
"born near Bloomington, McLean County, 111., on February 10, 1864, the son 
of Milo J. Abbott, a native of Maine, who came to Illinois and there settled 
as a farmer, about 1881 removing to Kansas, and while living at Garden 
City he died. Milo's wife was Adeline Burt before her marriage, and her 
native state was New Hampshire. She proved the best of helpmates to her 
husband, and ended a useful career in Illinois, the mother of thirteen children, 
six of whom are still living. One of the sons, Andrew, came to Fresno about 
1880, and is a rancher at Del Rev. 

Franklin was the seventh eldest and grew up on a farm in Illinois. He 
attended the country schools and remained at home until he was sixteen. 
Then he went to work for his brother, so that, fortunate in such an advisor, 
he secured an excellent start for the great tussle with the world. In 1882 
the young man came west to California and made his way to Fresno County. 
Fresno itself was then only a small place with two stores, and the whole 
country about was a wide stretch of plain, with cattle and sheep, so he went 
to work in a vineyard and orchard in Washington Colony, where he remained 
"busy until spring, when he went to the mountains with a band of sheep for 
his cousin, George Rowell. He spent two summers in the mountains in 
caring for herds, and even if he had gotten nothing else out of the experience, 
he built up his health and intensified his love for California outdoor life. 

Then Mr. Abbott started for himself as a farmer. He bought an outfit 
and a ten-mule team, and for two years leased land from Dr. Rowell in the 
Washington Colony. Then he leased 1,200 acres of the Simpson ranch near 
Academy, and later the Dickinson ranch of 1,500 acres on Dry Creek. For 
fourteen years he continued there, and in that time raised some big crops. 



1410 HISTORY OF FRESNO COUNTY 

He had some failures, due to the low selling prices, being compelled to dis- 
pose of his barley at times at only ten dollars a ton, White Australian wheat 
at seventy-three cents a cental, and Sonora wheat at sixty-three cents, so 
that when he came to balance up, at the end of that time, he found that if 
he had worked out in the service of others, at twenty-five dollars a month for 
the fourteen years, he would have been better off than he was through his 
own enterprise. He raised mules and horses, as many as seventy to 100 
head a year, and also cattle, and was rated as doing considerable business. 
Whatever his luck, he never grumbled ; nor did he resort to the "flowing 
bowl" to drown his disappointment. He found that nothing paid better than 
to cheerfully peg away. 

Reflecting on his past experience, Mr. Abbott determined to buy a small 
place. In the fall of 1905, therefore, he purchased his present holding of forty 
acres in the Barstow Colony, and at once began to improve it. He set out 
twenty acres in peaches and the next year a vineyard and a fine tract of 
alfalfa; but until the California Peach Growers, Inc., was formed, the price 
paid for peaches was so low that it was impossible to realize a profit. Now 
he belongs to that association, and through collective marketing his orchard 
enterprise is a success, as also are those of his fellow members. He has ten 
acres of alfalfa and eleven acres of Thompson and Malaga grapes, and is 
acknowledged to have one of the finest vineyards in the vicinity. This suc- 
cess must be the result, in part, of Mr. Abbott's excellent judgment in select- 
ing his land which also is well watered from the Herndon canal. He has built 
a fine building, and set around the whole a border of figs. 

While at Academy, Mr. Abbott was married to Miss Maud Balev, a 
native of Oregon, but reared in this state, and the daughter of Henry Balev, 
a pioneer farmer of Fresno who made a specialty of raising fine standard- 
bred horses. Nine children make up the family of Mr. and Mrs. Abbott: they 
are: Gladys, Milburn. Beulah, Frances. Walter, Doris, Marie, Frank and 
Helen, and all are at home assisting in dispensing that welcome and hos- 
pitality for which the Abbott household has long been famous. They attend 
the Presbyterian Church at Barstow, of which Mr. Abbott is a steward, 
and contribute to the social-center life in the Barstow school, where Mr. 
Abbott served for three years as a trustee. 

Independent in politics, Mr. Abbott has performed much service for the 
common weal, and has twice served as deputy sheriff, under Sheriffs Chit- 
tenden and McSwain. He is an instructive talker and has many interesting 
reminiscences of the days that are gone, and remembers well when he hauled 
lumber from the mountains to Fresno, and also hauled provisions from 
Fresno to the mountains, a livelihood being maintained under anything but 
convenient circumstances. 

ROBERT W. BARNWELL.— The growth and prosperity of Fresno is 
largely due to its diversified industries, although for more than thirty years 
its principal source of revenue has been and still is that of fruit raising in 
its various branches, among which the raisin industry is foremost. 

One of the most prominent fruit growers and shippers of Fresno is 
Robert W. Barnwell. He was born in Gilmer, Texas. July 5, 1872. the son 
of D. M. and Martha (McGee) Barnwell. His father was a native of 
Georgia and a Confederate soldier during the Civil War. after which he 
settled in Texas, where he was for a number of years a pioneer farmer and 
stock raiser, and was also engaged quite extensively in railroad contracting. 
He arrived in Fresno January 1, 1888, where he purchased forty acres of 
unimproved land in the West Park Colony Tract which lie planted to a 
vineyard. From time to time he increased his holdings until he now owns 
220 acres of vineyard, being one of the large raisin growers of Fresno. He 
still resides on the forty acre tract which he bought in 1888. His wife is 
dead. He has been a Mason since twentv-one years of age and is now a 



HISTORY OF FRESNO COUNTY 1417 

member of Fresno Lodge, No. 247, F. & A. M. Robert W. received his 
education at West Park School, Fresno, under the tutelage of the well-known 
educator E. W. Lindsay, the former county superintendent of schools. As 
a young man he worked for a short time for his father in his vineyard, 
after which he became the first fruit buyer for A. L. Hobbs, which position 
he retained for six years. Later he was a buyer for J. K. Armsby for five 
years, then went back to Rosenberg for two years and afterwards went in 
business for himself buying and shipping green and dried fruit, in which 
business he has been very successful. The yearly shipments of dried fruit 
run from 1,000 to 1,500 tons, and green fruit from 200 to 300 cars; the total 
value of the fruit being $500,000. 

Mr. Barnwell also owns a dried and green fruit plant in Parlier, and a 
green fruit plant in Clovis. He has a twenty-acre fig orchard, twenty-acre 
vineyard and 320 acres of grain land, all in Fresno County. In January, 
1919, he sold his fruit business to Kelley and Simpson, and for the time 
being retired from active operations in the fruit business to look after his 
own and father's ranch interests. Mr. Barnwell's father and a brother, D. M. 
Barnwell, Jr. (the present County Clerk of Fresno County), are the only 
members of the Barnwell family now living. Two sisters and the mother 
are deceased. 

His wife was in maidenhood Miss Arah B. Holcomb of Texas, and 
they have one daughter, Achsah. 

Mr. Barnwell has a large circle of acquaintances and is one of Fresno's 
well known and highly respected citizens, always to be found at the front 
in anything that pertains to the welfare and prosperity of the city of his 
choice. He is a prominent Elk, also a Shriner and a thirty-second degree 
Mason. 

GEORGE R. SHIPP. — A Californian with many interesting memories 
of the past, particularly of some of the efforts made to secure a right of way 
for the Santa Fe Railroad, is George R. Shipp, whose father once offered the 
company 160 acres for a town site, but years later, when they finally built 
they chose another route. He was born in Holmes County, Miss., on Octo- 
ber' 29, 1865, and his father was William W. Shipp, also a native of Missis- 
sippi, where he first saw the light in 1834. He was reared in Holmes County 
and became a farmer ; and he served throughout the Civil War. Grandfather 
Shipp was born in Kentucky, and later he removed to Mississippi. In that 
state William Shipp was ma'rried to Mary J. Strother, a daughter of Missis- 
sippi ; and in 1868 he brought his wife and three children to California. 

Leaving his family in Solano County, he made a trip down the coast 
and into the San Joaquin Valley, which he reached in the spring of 1868; 
and being impressed with Fresno County, he decided to locate here and took 
a preemption on Dry Creek. He returned to Solano County for his family, 
and then he and Major Nelson purchased a flock of sheep and drove them 
to Dry Creek, where he engaged in stock-raising. 

He also homesteaded 160 acres and rapidly improved the land, and little 
by little he added more acreage ; later he dissolved partnership with Major 
Nelson and they divided their band of sheep. The Major in 1877 (the dry 
year), drove his sheep to Arizona, but he lost them all. Mr. Shipp ranged his 
flock in the mountains and lost only 600 head out of 6,000. He prospered, 
bought more land, and finally had a ranch of 2,300 acres in a body. Aside 
from sheep-raising, he also engaged in the raising of grain. 

In the fall of 1887 Mr. Shipp sold the land and turned the entire stock 
over to his son George R. to run them on another ranch he owned on the 
San Joaquin River, and then he moved to Fresno where he lived retired for 
a time. Later, however, he again engaged in sheep-raising on his San Joaquin 
River ranch, although he died at his home in Fresno in 1900. He was a 
prominent Mason and the father of ten children, two of whom died in Mis- 
sissippi, while five are now living. Eliza C. has become Mrs. Ambrose of 



1418 HISTORY OF FRESNO COUNTY 

Phoenix, Ariz.; George R. is the subject of this sketch; John N. lives at 
Fresno; Lela M. is Mrs. Neil of the same city; and near by dwells Mary E., 
Mrs. Hopkins. 

Educated at the public schools in Mississippi district in this County and 
at a private school in Fresno, George assisted in caring for flocks from the 
time when he was eight years of age and soon became a well-posted and 
expert sheepman. When fifteen he took charge of the sheep on the range, 
and in 1887 he bought an interest in them. He also purchased an interest 
in the stock and took charge of them and the farm on the San Joaquin 
River, eighteen miles northeast of Fresno. Still later he leased land from 
the Bank of California, situated near Kerman, where he also ranged his 
sheep, in the summers taking them to the mountains. 

Mr. Shipp also bought ranches near Reedley, and after that he bought 
in the Scandinavian Colony a vineyard ranch of thirty acres. Next he 
purchased 3,200 acres, the old home on the San Joaquin River, which he 
ran for five years and then sold. When sheep were excluded from the 
Forest Reserve, he started in the cattle business, and his brand, P. P., 
is one of the oldest in the county. 

In 1913 Mr. Shipp sold his ranch and located in Fresno, and later he 
bought his present ranch of 160 acres on Blackstone Avenue, sixty-five acres 
of which are in peaches. He is setting out the balance in Calimyrna and 
white Adriatic figs, and bids fair again to make a great success of his enter- 
prise. At 305 Clark Street he built his residence. 

At the City of the Angels in 1891, Mr. Shipp was married to Miss Abbie 
W. Webster, a native of Vacaville, Solano County, Cal., and a daughter of 
G. W. and Jane (Smith) Webster, born in North Carolina and Tennessee 
respectively, California pioneers of the intrepid company that crossed the 
great plains with ox teams in 1852 and was a farmer in Vacaville, where 
Mrs. Shipp was reared. Two children blessed the union : Georgia, who is 
Mrs. Rheiner, and Harold W., a graduate of the high school, who was a 
despatch rider in the United States Army serving overseas, he is now 
ranching near Fresno. 

Mr. Shipp is a democrat in national political affairs, and always an 
energetic supporter of non-partisan movements for the public weal. He be- 
longs to Fresno Lodge, No. 439, B. P. O. Elks. 

EDWIN V. KELLEY. — The part played by science in industry, com- 
merce, finance and even politics, is a subject of absorbing interest. Cali- 
fornia has for some time past employed a small army of chemists in almost 
every conceivable field, whose contributions to present-day progress it would 
be difficult to estimate, and without whose services it would not have been 
possible, in numerous cases, to reach the goal attained. Edwin V. Kelley 
belongs to this group of professional men to whom California owes much, 
and whose valued services she generously recognizes. He was born at 
Cadillac, Mich., on August 8, 1875, the son of William and Nancy (Van Ness) 
Kelley. He attended the grammar and high schools until he was sixteen, 
and after that he matriculated at the University of Michigan. He studied 
science at Ann Arbor, and spent three years profitably, concluding his 
courses of study. Leaving Michigan he went to Illinois, and at Joliet took 
service as a chemist with the Illinois Steel Company, with which concern 
he remained for a year. At the end of that time the company transferred him 
to their South Chicago plant; and there, for another year, he was active in 
the same capacity. 

Mr. Kelley then came to Fresno and established a dry-fruit packing 
business, which at first met with reverses, due largely to the unsettled 
financial conditions of that time. This business he managed until 1 C K)2. and 
then moved to Fowler, attracted by an offer to become the manager of Chad- 
dock & Company, the fruit packers. He was in charge there for six vears. Re- 
turning to Fresno, he became manager of the dried-fruit department of the 




^ 



*~g 




Osf$ L/L-. //A^-c^rc) 



HISTORY OF FRESNO COUNTY 1423 

California Fruit Canners' Association, a post he held for a year and four 
months. 

Having now gained a reputation for ability of a high order, and ex- 
perience obtainable only in a practical way, Mr. Kelley was made manager 
<of the J. K. Armsby Co., dried-fruit packers, in which position he was active 
until the first of November,' 1916, when the company was merged with 
several others into the California Packing Corporation, and he became as- 
sistant manager of all their sixteen San Joaquin Valley packing houses. 
Since then, Mr. Kelley has been one of the most progressive and most in- 
fluential leaders in his field, and now enjoys an enviable reputation through- 
out the state. On April 1", 1919, he resigned his position with the Cali- 
fornia Packing Corporation, and embarked in business for himself. He is 
now the senior member of the firm of Kelley & Simpson, who recently pur- 
chased the fruit-packing business of R. W. Barnwell. 

While in Chicago, on August 1, 1900, Mr. Kelley was married to Lillian 
Frances Schoonmake, a charming woman whose life was closed all too 
early — in June, 1915. By her he had one child, Richard V., who is attending 
the Fresno high school. Mr. Kelley is active in civic affairs, doing his bit 
politically, generally under the banners of the Republican party. He is a 
member of the University Club, the Sequoia Club, and the Sunnyside 
Country Club of Fresno, as well as the University of Michigan Union ; and 
he also belongs to the Elks. 

WILLIAM F. VENARD.— Born near Havana, Mason County, 111., on 
February 5, 1863, William F. Venard is the son of G. W. Venard, a native 
of Ohio, whose parents came from New Jersey. He moved to Kansas in 
1857, then back to Illinois, and once more came to Kansas. In that state he 
settled in 1869, at Burlington; and there he still lives. Mrs. Venard was 
Anna E. Marshall before her marriage ; she was born in Terre Haute, Ind., 
and in 1874 died in Kansas. She was the mother of four children, two of 
whom are still living. 

The oldest child in the family, William F. was brought up in Kansas, 
and attended the public schools and Baker University at Baldwin City; 
and until 1885 he studied dentistry at Burlington. For three years he prac- 
ticed dental surgery in Nebraska, and then he removed to Florence, Colo., 
where he continued his professional work. In 1889 he began in the oil busi- 
ness and worked up in it at Florence. Ten years later, he removed to Cali- 
fornia and Coalinga and for two months worked for L. L. Cory and associates 
on the New York lease. Then he was with Captain McClurg on Sec. 33-20-31, 
drilling for him for four and one-half years. In 1904, he returned to Colorado 
and worked as a driller until 1910, when he came back to Coalinga. 

In February of that year he joined the Good Luck Oil Company as driller, 
and on the first of the following November, he was made field superintendent, 
and this responsible position he has held ever since. When he took charge, 
the company had only two wells, but since then they have put down six 
more, so that they now have eight first-class producers. 

Aside from the oil business, Mr. Venard is greatly interested in viticul- 
ture. Some years ago, with his son. Charles E., he purchased seventy acres 
of raw land in Fresno County, between Reedley and Dinuba, which they set 
out to vineyard and orchard, and brought into bearing, when they sold it 
at a good profit. Since then he has bought other ranches and sold all but 
one which is devoted to orchard and vines. 

At Burlington, Kans., on June 5. 1889, Mr. Venard was married to Miss 
Mary A. Throckmorton, a native of Kansas and the daughter of Job Throck- 
morton, who was born in Ohio and had married Catherine White and who 
was Provo Marshal during the Civil War. In 1857 they located at Burling- 
ton, and he was not only a successful farmer, but the county clerk of Coffey 
County, Kans., and a member of the assembly of the Kansas State Legisla- 
ture. He died on his farm, survived bv his widow who lives at Burlington. 



1424 HISTORY OF FRESNO COUNTY 

Four children brightened the home of Mr. and Mrs. Venard, and three grew 
up: Charles E., at Reedley ; William, assisting his father; and Eleanor, a 
graduate of the Coalinga High School and Heald's Business College, and 
head bookkeeper in the First National Bank at Coalinga. 

Mr. Yenard was made a Mason in the Lemoore Lodge. F. & A. M., 
in 1903, and he is now a member of Coalinga Lodge, No. 387, F. &. A. M.. 
and a member of Coalinga Chapter of the Royal Arch Masons. He and his 
wife are also members of the Eastern Star at Coalinga, and there, as else- 
where, are highly esteemed by many friends. 

ALFRED BAIRD.— An authentic history of Fresno County would be 
very incomplete without the life story of one of its most honored and success- 
ful pioneer settlers and extensive land owners, the late Alfred Baird. 

Great honor is due these courageous pioneers who endured the hardships 
incident to life on the frontier and risked their lives crossing the Indian in- 
fested plains, to blaze the way for later civilization and the establishment of 
homes and ranches. The descendants of these early settlers possess an in- 
heritance of which they mav well be proud and should speak the names of 
these valiant forerunners of civilization with pride and unbounded respect. 

Alfred Baird was born in Richland County (now Ashland). Ohio, on 
November 16. 1829. a son of Josiah and Sarah (Ryland ) Baird. natives of New 
York and Ohio respectively. The pioneer log home of Alfred's parents among 
the sturdy oak trees of the Ohio forest, was among his earliest recollections. 
His early schooling was received in a log building whose furniture consisted 
of slab benches, which afforded the children but little comfort, while the 
text books were very inferior to those used in the schools today and often 
the teachers were illy educated, yet children who were anxious to learn had 
no difficulty in acquiring a knowledge of the three Rs. 

At the age of sixteen Alfred Baird became an apprentice to the carpen- 
ter's trade, in Ashland. Ohio, and after the expiration of two years' service 
as an apprentice he became a journeyman carpenter. In the spring of 1850. 
he left Ohio for McGregor, Iowa, where under the employment of a Mr. 
McGregor, he aided in the construction of some of the first houses in different 
towns in that section of Iowa, continuing in the building business for eight 
years. 

Each day he earned enough to buy an acre of land and continued to 
invest in property until he had acquired 800 acres of land. Although prosper- 
ous to an unusual degree, Mr. Baird found the climate of Iowa too cold to be 
agreeable, so he sold out and in April. 1859. accompanied by his wife and two 
children, he started to cross the plains to California, and on October 8, they 
arrived safely at Kings River, Fresno County, subsequently settling in the 
Upper Kings River Valley, where he built a log cabin fourteen feet square. 
For a while he followed his trade of a carpenter in this locality, eventually 
taking up a homestead claim, building a comfortable house, and bringing a 
ditch from the mountains seven miles away. The terrible flood of 1861 de- 
stroyed his orchard and his new house, the barn being carried away by a 
strong current. Afterwards he engaged in the sheep business on shares, but 
the Civil War having caused a great depreciation in the price of wool, it was 
utilized in San Francisco for upholstering purposes: when the railroad was 
completed he was enabled to sell his wool for forty-five cents per pound. In 
1868, Mr. Baird removed to Letcher, where he homesteadcd a ranch and em- 
barked in the sheep business and by good management his flocks increased 
until he owned at one time 5.000 head of sheep. Selling out his sheep in 1887, 
he entered the cattle raising business, also devoting considerable attention 
to raising grain. In those early days no one supposed that the grazing lands 
were adapted for grain, but by accident some barley hauled to the cattle was 
tramped into the ground and the rains caused it to sprout, producing as fine 
a crop of barley as if it had been regularly planted on cultivated ranch land. 
People quickly realized the possibilities of the grazing lands and soon grain 



HISTORY OF FRESNO COUNTY 1425 

raising was supplanting the grazing of cattle. In other places where the land 
was almost too barren for sheep culture, it was found that it could be profit- 
ably utilized for vineyards and orchards, hence these occupations began to 
attract new settlers to this locality. By gradual purchase Mr. Baird acquired 
6,000 acres of land in a body, situated fourteen miles east of Clovis, 3,500 acres 
being fine grain land. On section nineteen he erected a residence and the 
other buildings necessary to a model ranch. In addition to this vast tract 
he owned 640 acres known as the old Hughes place and another ranch near 
Visalia which contained 1,000 acres. 

The first oranges in this part of the state were raised on his ranch. The 
pioneer work accomplished by Mr. Baird in stock-raising, ranching and hor- 
ticulture was a great aid in the development of this region of Fresno County 
where he resided for so many years. 

At Washington Prairie. Winneshiek County, Iowa, on February 17, 1853, 
occurred the marriage of Alfred Baird and Lydia K. Baird, a native of Yellow 
Springs, Greene County, Ohio, who was born on December 2. 1829. Her 
father, Benjamin Beard, a native of Pennsylvania, who had been a prominent 
farmer in Ohio, Indiana, and Iowa, and had officiated as an elder in the Pres- 
byterian Church for fifty years, passed away in California at the home of his 
daughter, Mrs. Alfred Baird, having reached the advanced age of ninety- 
three years, and his wife, who in maidenhood had been Mary Ann Knott, a 
native of New Jersey, also came to California and spent her last days with 
her daughter, passing away at her home at the age of seventy-one years. 

Mr. and Mrs. Alfred Baird were the parents of six children : Benjamin 
Morgan, now deceased ; Addison, who died in Visalia at the age of twelve 
years ; Lewis Edwin, also deceased ; Mrs. Sarah A. Rutherford ; Matie Ellen, 
who is also deceased ; Florence G., who is Mrs. Rollo Keeler, of Tulare County. 

Mr. Alfred Baird was an ardent admirer of Abraham Lincoln and cast 
a ballot for him in 1860, at Scottsburg, but the returns showed no Republican 
votes cast. In religious matters he contributed to the support of the Pres- 
byterian Church, of which his wife has long been a member. 

Mr. Baird and his wife lived to advanced years and spent their last years 
in the home of their son Morgan Baird, where they were tenderly cared for 
by Morgan and his wife. Mrs. Baird, who had been blind for many years, 
died in August, 1911, eighty-two years of age, and Alfred, after a long and 
useful life, passed away November 22, 1914. 

ROBERT FRANKLIN ARMSTRONG.— Mr. Armstrong is one of 
the early settlers in the Lone Star district, having come here in 1889 with 
his father, and in 1891 having begun improving and planting the home ranch 
a half mile east of Lone Star. He was born in Madison County, Iowa, 
April 6, 1870, the son of William Armstrong, who was born in Holmes 
County, Ohio, four miles from Millersburg on Black Creek, May 2, 1849. 
and came to Iowa with his parents in the fall of 1852. The mother, Millie 
Stover, was a native of Iowa. The grandfather, John Armstrong, was 
born in Ireland and in his eighteenth year came to the United States ; he 
was married in Ohio to Julia Bird, a native of Ohio. 

R. F. Armstrong was fourteen years of age when his father settled in 
Fresno in 1884. He farmed with his father, raising grain near Fresno and 
Caruthers. He has always been loyal to his father, cooperating with him in 
every possible way. For five years they worked together, improving and 
planting, and then, in 1896, the son bought his first twenty acres, on which 
there are fifteen acres of muscat grapes. In 1901 he bought his second 
twenty, and in 1910 his third twenty, one mile east of Lone Star. This last 
is now in young vines and will soon be in full bearing. Ever since 1892 he 
has been engaged in growing raisin grapes. 

On July 30, 1902, Mr. Armstrong was married, in Fresno, to Miss Myrtle 
L. Doyle, daughter of H. H. Doyle, an editor and newspaper man well 



1426 HISTORY OF FRESXO COUNTY 

known in Fresno, and his wife, Jennie ( Long) Doyle, who live in Los 
Angeles. - Mrs. Armstrong was born in McPherson County, Kans., and was 
brought to California when but a child of four months. She came to Fresno 
with her parents in August, 1880. In 1882 the father was publishing the 
Daily Mirror in San Luis Obispo. The family lived in various localities 
where he followed the newspaper business, but they always liked Fresno 
County best. Here he was connected with the Fresno Republican. He is 
prominent in the counsels of the Republican party. Mr. and Mrs. Doyle 
had seven children, six of them girls, and only four are living, of whom Mrs. 
Armstrong is the oldest. She attended the grammar and high school in 
Santa Barbara County. She is now, and has been for the past four years, 
librarian at the Lone Star branch of the Fresno County Library. Mrs. 
Armstrong is a niece of the late Dr. B. W. Doyle, the pioneer dentist of 
Fresno County. She is prominent in the work of the Red Cross, and had 
charge of the work in Lone Star, while Mr. Armstrong took an active part 
in the Thrift Stamp Drive. They have three bright, heartv children living— 
Arylie E., Hugh M., and Wilma Frances — and two children died in infancy. 

Mr. Armstrong is a stockholder and member of the California Asso- 
ciated Raisin Company, and of the California Peach Growers, Inc. He holds 
membership with the I. O. O. F. in Fresno, and is an ex-trustee of the 
Lone Star school district. He has a younger brother, Leslie P.. in France, 
a member of the Twentieth Regiment of Forest Engineers ; and four sisters. 

MRS. ANNA LINDQUIST.— A noble-hearted woman of exceptional ac- 
complishment in her work for the general betterment of the world, who adds 
to most excellent womanlv and motherlv qualities rare executive force and 
■unusual business ability, is Mrs. Anna Lindquist. widow of the late Peter 
Lindquist, who owns, operates and resides upon the Lindquist home place of 
sixty acres on Harrison Avenue, three miles northeast of Kinsrsburg. She 
was born in Sweden, on March 25. 1848. the daughter of Erick and Anna 
("Larson) Erickson, who had a small but very comfortable farm. When her 
father died, he was fiftv-six years old ; although her mother reached the ad- 
vanced age of eighty. Her father had been previously married and had two 
sons; and by his second marriage he had, besides the subject of our sketch, a 
son and a daughter. She was brought up in the staid Lutheran Church of 
Sweden, and when fourteen was dulv confirmed. 

In 1869 she came to America and settled for a while at Ishpeming. Mich.. 
and four years later she married Peter Lindquist. a native of West Mollond, 
Munk Torp, Sweden, where he was born on Tulv 23, 1843. He came to Amer- 
ica as early as 1870, and went to Marinette. AYis. ; and later he came to Ish- 
peming, Mich. He was a shoemaker by trade and established himself in that 
business ; and in that line he continued until 1875 when, finding his occupation 
too confining, he decided to take up farming. He moved to Henry County, 
Iowa, and in 1877 to Xew Sweden, the same state; and the following year he 
took up a homestead in Phelps County, Xebr.. and in time proved it up. In 
1887 he and his good wife moved still further west, to California : and having 
looked over Kingsburg and come to appreciate the advantages here, he bought 
the ranch land where Mrs. Lindquist now lives. After improving it hand- 
somely, he lost it through a mortgage; but he bought it back later and ac- 
quired another eighty acres, so that he owned at one time 120 acres. 

In addition, Mr. Lindquist owned a section of 640 acres in Tulare County, 
on the other side of Kings River, which he bought for colonization. He sold 
some, and had he lived, he would have become wealthy. As it was. he was 
forced to borrow; and when he died, on November 22. 1904. and his widow 
became the administratrix, she had no option but to sell all of the Tulare land; 




WVW tiw446 j&. 



HISTORY OF FRESNO COUNTY 1429 

after which the 120 acres was divided, sixty acres going to Mrs. Lindquist, 
and ten to each of the six children then living. 

Eight children really blessed the marriage of Mr. and Mrs. Lindquist 
and honored the name of their lamented father: Charles G. married Anna 
Carlson, and is a rancher ; and they have three children — Burt, Irene and 
Margery. Alfred T. married Christine Plote, a native of Minnesota ; and he is 
ranching near Kingsburg. Tilda O. married Thomas F. Gardner, and lived 
for a while at Selma ; she had two sons, Marion and Laurence ; and both of 
them, while attending the Kingsburg high school, now reside in Kingsburg. 
Victor is farming near Kingsburg, on the west. Albert, who owns with Victor 
the ranch of 160 acres west of Kingsburg, married Lillian Lightheart. Fritz 
died when he was twelve years of age. George A., who graduated from the 
Kingsburg high school and also attended the College of the Pacific at San 
Jose for a couple of years, ordinarily makes his home with his mother, but 
is now serving his country in the United States Army. 

Mrs. Lindquist, who endeavors to be a Christian and lets her light shine 
particularly through the organized work of the Swedish Methodist Episcopal 
Church, of which she is a member, as was her devout husband also, is known 
as an uncompromising Prohibitionist, and no one who understands the shadow 
cast by strong drink and gambling over her family circle will question the 
propriety of her views and acts in endeavoring to banish from society one of 
the worst curses that has deranged and enchained man. 

THOMAS H. ZINN.— As superintendent of the Sanger Lumber Com- 
pany, T. H. Zinn became closely identified with the interests of Fresno 
County during the ten years that he held that responsible position. A native 
of Missouri, he was born in 1862, the son of George and Martha Zinn, na- 
tives of Indiana. They were parents of eight children : Nancy J., who was 
the wife of G. W. Finks, and who died in 1918: Lovis, who died when young; 
Jerome V., associated with his brother Thomas H. in the Sanger Feed and 
Fuel Company; Clara E., who became Mrs. G. M. Zinn; Richard, who died 
in early childhood ; Lillian the wife of William Rhodes ; Thomas H., our 
subject ; and Joseph P. 

T. H. Zinn was reared and educated in Missouri. The major portion of 
his life has been spent in the lumber business in one way or another. In 1903 
he migrated to the Golden State and in 1909 he located in Fresno County. 
For ten years he held the important position of superintendent of the Sanger 
Lumber Company, whose extensive plant covers sixty acres situated in the 
city of Sanger. While with this firm he had under his supervision from ninety 
to one hundred men. The superintendent of such an extensive business has 
a multitude of duties and great responsibilities, and that Mr. Zinn for so 
many years successfully managed the affairs of the company proves him 
to be a man of force of character and business acumen. 

In 1888, T. H. Zinn was united in marriage with Miss Nancy Peyton, 
a native of Texas ; and of this union three children were born : Edna T. r 
wife of a Mr. Clark who is now in the service of the United States as a 
civil engineer, during the World War ; and George P. and Thomas H., Jr. 
Mr. Zinn owned a small ranch which was devoted to a vineyard, located 
within the city limits of Sanger, and this he sold in 1918 at a good profit. 
On June 1, 1918, he resigned from his position with the lumber company, 
and has since given his entire time to the interests of the business of the 
Sanger Feed and Fuel Company, which he and his brother have owned for 
some years. Thomas H. Zinn is an active member of the Baptist Church, 
which he serves as a deacon. He is greatly interested in the upbuilding of 
the prosperous and growing city of Sanger, and has had the honor of serv- 
ing as a trustee of the city and also of the Sanger High School. 



1430 HISTORY OF FRESNO COUNTY 

T. C. WHITE. — Something more than ordinary business sagacity is 
needed to attain to the success reached by T. C. White, the capitalist, and 
more than the good will of his fellow men is deserved by him for his con- 
tribution to the establishing here of the soundest commercial and financial 
conditions. Born in 1850 at Essex, four miles from Lake Champlain, Chit- 
tenden County, Vt.. he was the son of Calvin and Hannah (Furman) White, 
both of good old New England stock; and in the public schools of Essex 
he obtained his elementary education. Later he attended Burlington College 
in the same state. 

Coming to California in 1877, he located in Fresno County, soon pur- 
chased land, and in time, developed Central California's first raisin vine- 
yard. As a raisin grower, he came to occupy offices of responsibility and also 
gained an international reputation. He was once president of the old Pro- 
ducers Packing Company, the first co-operative raisin association in the 
state, and a prime mover and organizer as well as a director and treasurer 
of the California Raisin Growers Association. His products have taken many 
premiums, among which may be mentioned the special gold medal of the 
Mechanics Institute Fair at San Francisco. He also received a special gold 
medal from the San Joaquin Valley Fair, and diplomas and awards from 
state and world fairs. In 1893 he was chosen as the judge for the State of 
California to award the premiums for all products at the World's Fair at 
Chicago, and such practical knowledge of fruit culture as has been necessary 
in his own fortunate growing, made him the best of judges at well-known 
fairs — an honorable appointment frequently conferred upon him. Mr. White 
is more or less familiar with every phase of the fruit industry as thev are 
represented in California, and has also grown deciduous fruits. 

On November 27, 1877, Mr. White was married to Miss Augusta Fink, 
born in Wisconsin, by whom he has had one son, Harry F. White, for some 
time past associated with his father in business. 

In 1892, Mr. White entered the real estate field, and in realty he is now 
making new conquests. He has bought and sold thousands of acres, and by 
helping to secure better transportation facilities, has enabled the settler 
more rapidly to realize from his investment, and the community to sooner 
build up. As a firm, T. C. & H. F. White are extensively interested in San 
Joaquin Valley lands, while the son also represents the North River and City 
of New York Fire Insurance Company. Mr. White owns the corner of I and 
Merced Streets, 150x150 feet, 50x150 feet having been improved with a 
three-story building many years ago. Seeing the need for a modern theater 
building, and the time being ripe, he improved the balance of the lot with 
the New White Theater, 100x150 feet. This is one of the most modern 
theaters in the state, special attention having been given to ventilating, cool- 
ing, heating, safety and fire escapes. The theater has a seating capacity of 
1,500, and is the largest in the Valley. The front is built four stories and is 
fitted up especially for the University Club, of which Mr. White is an hon- 
orary member. He also owns other valuable business and resident property 
in Fresno, and also valuable ranch property in Fresno, Kings and Madera 
Counties. 

Mr. White has for years been an important factor in the civic life of 
the county, has served several times as a member of the board of super- 
visors, and now and then as chairman of that body. While acting as the 
chairman, the old canal or ditch on Silvia Road and Fresno Street had be- 
come a nuisance, and dangerous as well. Silvia Road was in his road dis- 
trict and he gave orders to the overseer to fill it in above Fresno Street out- 
side of the city. It was begun and finished on a Sunday, thus stopping the 
water from running into Fresno Street. The people of the city at once be- 
gan to fill in the ditch in town, thereby doing away with the nuisance and 
Fresno Street has become a leading thoroughfare. Mr. White has been a 
director of the Twenty-first Agricultural District many years. In 1889 he 



HISTORY OF FRESNO COUNTY 1431 

helped to organize the first National Bank of Fresno, and has been a member 
of the board of directors ever since, also served as vice-president and secre- 
tary; he is also interested in other Central California banking institutions. 
He is a large stockholder and a director in the Fresno Hotel Company, a 
corporation which, in 1913, erected at a cost of about $350,000 and today 
worth over half a million dollars, the fine Hotel Fresno, and this last invest- 
ment is but a fair illustration of the manner in which Mr. White has always 
sought to build up the city. As a wide-awake, untiring "booster," he has 
served as president of the Fresno Chamber of Commerce. 

C. E. BEAUMONT. — Among the leading lawyers of the Fresno Bar is 
C. E. Beaumont, who was born at Mayfield, Ky., August 27, 1883, a son of 
E. S. and May V. (Wortham) Beaumont, the former a well-known news- 
paper man in his locality. C. E. Beaumont attended private and public 
schools in his native state and also the Kentucky State University, and later 
took the study of law at Cumberland University, in Lebanon, Tenn., from 
which he was graduated in 1910. He then came direct to Fresno and for a 
time was employed in the office of S. L. Carter, and later with the law firm 
of Harris and Harris. Going then to Fort Worth, Texas, he was admitted 
to practice law and spent one year in that city. His previous residence in 
California, however, had given him an opportunity to get in close touch 
with the people, and he liked the country. He felt the call to return so 
strongly that he came back to Fresno and had an office with E. A. Williams 
for two years, when he entered the office of the district attorney on March 
1, 1914, as a deputy. He performed the duties of his office with much satis- 
faction to all concerned, and at the same time was widening his circle of 
friends in various parts of the county. Being familiar with the duties of his 
office, he decided to become a candidate for district attorney of Fresno 
County, made a vigorous canvas of the voters, and at the primary election 
held in August, 1918, received a majority of the votes cast, which eliminated 
his two opponents and elevated him to the office, a signal honor. His suc- 
cess in office is the result of hard work, good business management and 
judgment, and his selection of able assistants. 

C. E. Beaumont was married on December 6, 1915. to Miss Lucy Mad- 
den, of Fresno, who shares with her husband the good-will and esteem of 
all who know them. They are members of the First Presbyterian Church. 
Mr. Beaumont is a member of the Masons, the Elks, the Knights of Pythias, 
the University Club and the college fraternity Sigma Alpha Epsilom. Politi- 
cally he is a Democrat. He is a supporter of the various movements for the 
advancement of the state and county where he has elected to make his home. 

ADEN A. LOWE. — Aden A. Lowe, the enterprising agent for the 
Willys Overland automobiles and the former accommodating proprietor of 
the Kerman Garage, was born in Parnell, Mo., in 1891, the son of George 
S. Lowe, a native of Illinois. His father was a thorough-going farmer, who 
did his part in maintaining the reputation of the Iron State for bumper 
crops ; but having become convinced that California offered inducements 
not to be found in the East, he brought his family West in 1907, and settled 
at Kerman. From the beginning he engaged in ranching, and with a couple 
of well-selected vineyards he went in for viticulture. Later, giving up farm- 
ing, he sold and bought business properties ; and in that field he is now en- 
gaged, making Kerman his headquarters. Mrs. Lowe was Frances Glaze 
before her marriage. Of her union with M'r. Lowe eight children were born, 
of whom six grew to maturity. Aden was the sixth of these, in the order of 
birth. He attended the well-organized schools in Missouri, and with his 
folks came to Kerman in 1907. For three years he assisted his father, under 
whose guidance he learned to cultivate foresight and to be conservative 
while at the same time willing to venture. 



1432 HISTORY OF FRESNO COUNTY 

When he was nineteen, Mr. Lowe started out for himself, opening a 
barber-shop in Kerman. Of pleasing personality, he never wanted for patron- 
age ; and in the barber-business he remained until 1915. Then he sold out 
and began in the business wherein he has been so exceptionally successful — 
the auto trade. He became agent for the Willys-Overland automobile, for 
the Kerman section of Fresno County, and also opened a garage. He formed 
a partnership with Mr. Patterson, under the firm name of Patterson & 
Lowe, and became one of the proprietors of the Kerman Garage. This busi- 
ness was carried on successfully until January 1, 1919, when, desiring a 
wider field, he dissolved partnership with Mr. Patterson and secured the 
agency for the same car for Madera County. He secured the lease of a new 
brick fire-proof garage, 55 by 150 feet, on C and Sixth Street, Madera, where 
he is now located and where, by his assiduous attention to every want of his 
many patrons, he has the satisfaction of offering thoroughly reliable service 
and convenient accommodation to the touring public and local car owners. 

In Fresno Mr. Lowe was married to Miss Bertha Leisman, a native of 
Missouri, by whom he has had one son, Raymond. Few men could boast 
of a happier home. Mr. Lowe is a member of the Woodmen of the World. 
In politics he is a Democrat. 

WILLIAM A. LOCKIE.— When the real history of the State of Cali- 
fornia comes to be written, and credit is given to the rank and file of those 
who laid the foundations of this great commonwealth, and especially to the 
few who had such foresight and courage that they naturally became leaders 
and had much to do with guiding the ship of state, then will the historian 
not fail to record the simple but eloquent story of the late William A. Lockie, 
whose life closed on March 8, 1918, in his seventy-second year. "Death has 
again invaded our community," wrote the local newspaper chronicler of that 
time, "taking one who has long resided here, who has witnessed a remarkable 
change in the growth and transformation of this section, and who now, in 
the sunset of his life, passes on, leaving a memory of kindly deeds and noble 
aspirations." 

Mr. Lockie was born in Woodstock, Canada, on January 4, 1846, and 
when only nineteen years of age he was united in marriage to Miss Margaret 
Leithead, who was his constant, loving and devoted companion for forty-six 
years, when she was called to the bourne from which no traveler returns. 
The value of her life to him is best shown in the fact that, after her natural 
but still untimely death, on March 29, 1912, Mr. Lockie had suffered from 
inconsolable loneliness, and seemed to lose interest in earthly affairs. He 
suffered an attack of apoplexy a week previous to his demise from which he 
did not rally, for although he was apparently in robust health, the arteries 
had hardened, and his vitality was impaired. Nothing could be done to relieve 
him, and he yielded to Nature the great debt expected, sooner or later, from 
us all. This taking-off bereft especially the following sons and daughters: 
Thomas S. ; Robert M. ; John K. ; Lillie I., Mrs. J. W. Pugh : William S. ; 
Frank J.; Jessie M.. Mrs. W. A. Wilkins ; Margaret B. ; Laura I., Mrs. G. A. 
Rigby ;' and Mattie A., Mrs. John Wilkins. 

Mr. Lockie was long looked upon as an exemplary citizen, and the local 
chronicler already referred to reflected the sentiments of the neighbors and 
friends of the deceased when he further wrote : "During his residence of 
twenty-six years in Fowler community, Mr. Lockie had proven to be an hon- 
orable and upright man. highly respected by all who knew him, and a noble 
and indulgent father to his family of five sons and five daughters, all of whom 
survive him, together with sixteen grandchildren. The community has lost 
a man of sterling qualities in the death of Mr. Lockie." 

After his marriage in Canada, Mr. Lockie came to California in 1870, 
settled in Solano County, where for several years he rented land, and then 
moved to Oregon. For seven years he raised sheep and stock in Lake County, 



» 
% 

$ 





&aui£ ^^^^^^^^ ; 



HISTORY OF FRESNO COUNTY 1435 

and then he went into cotton culture in Texas, choosing Weatherford, thirty 
miles from Ft. Worth, as the most favorable ranch land. Returning to Cali- 
fornia in 1887, Mr. Lockie rented the Brown ranch, two miles north of 
Fowler, but after a year he bought the first instalment of his home ranch, 
now so widely known as a model farm. He began with twenty acres, but 
came to own nine times that area of highly-cultivated farm land. His fine 
residence, built in 1907, cost $6,000, and his ranch was made the more valu- 
able through a full complement of farm buildings. 

SARAH FRANCES PUGH, D. O.— An osteopathic physician of un- 
usual ability, who has been successfully practicing her profession in Fresno 
since 1904, is Sarah Frances Pugh. the subject of this sketch. She is a de- 
scendant of a pioneer family of California, although a native of Lewis County, 
Mo. 

When California caused the world to vibrate with the news of its wonder- 
ful wealth, and caravans of prairie schooners drawn by slow going oxen 
were crossing the trackless plains, in the "days of old, the days of gold, the 
days of '49," it was then that Jane Pugh, the grandmother of Dr. Pugh, 
accompanied by the doctor's two uncles. Aaron and John Pugh, and two 
aunts, Esther and Eleanor Pugh, made her advent into the state of Cali- 
fornia. Grandmother Pugh returned to her old home in Missouri in 1875, 
where she passed to her' reward in 1881. Four sons of the above pioneer 
John Pugh, are now numbered among the prominent men of San Joaquin 
Valley. Sarah Frances Pugh is the daughter of Matthias and Hannah (Mc- 
Williams) Pugh, natives of Ohio and Kentucky, respectively, who were 
pioneers in Lewis Co., Mo. The father entered government land and re- 
sided on it till he died at the age of eighty-two and one-half years. His wife 
having preceded him several years, passed away at the age of sixty-five. 
Matthias Pugh served in a Missouri regiment in the Civil War. 

Dr. Sarah F. Pugh received her early education in the common schools 
of Missouri, after the completion of which she became a teacher of in- 
strumental music. Being possessed of a kindly and sympathetic nature, she 
took up nursing the sick, which experience no doubt was a potent factor in 
leading her to the decision to become an osteopathic physician. Her first 
course in this interesting and helpful science, which has accomplished such 
wonderful and restorative results and alleviated the sufferings of humanity, 
was taken in Dr. Ward's School of Osteopathy at Kirksville, Mo. It was in 
this town that the late Dr. A. T. Still, the discoverer of the science, formerly 
resided. In 1902, Dr. Pugh graduated from Dr. S. S. Still's College of 
Osteopathy at Des Moines, Iowa. Later she pursued a course in bacteriol- 
ogy and gynecology. Before locating in Fresno, Dr. Pugh practiced her 
profession in St. Louis. 

In 1916 Dr. Pugh took a post graduate course at Kansas City, Mo., in 
diagnosis and treatment of the eye, ear, nose, and throat; and in 1917 she 
supplemented her knowledge on these subjects by a course of study at Los 
Angeles, Cal. She is at present specializing on these treatments, for which 
she has been so thoroughly prepared. Dr. Pugh has built up a large practice 
in Fresno and other sections of the San Joaquin Valley. She is a member of 
the State and National Association of Osteopaths, also of the American 
Osteopathic Society of Ophthalmology and Oto Laryngology. Dr. Pugh is 
considered an expert on these subjects and is the author of several articles 
on these special treatments. 

Dr. Sarah F. Pugh is fast winning an enviable reputation as a skilful 
and conscientious practitioner, and can look forward to a long and useful 
career. 

Fraternally, she is a member of the Daughters of Veterans of the Civil 
War, and is Past Department President of California and Nevada. She is 
a member of the Order of the Eastern Star and belongs to the Baptist Church. 



1436 HISTORY OF FRESNO COUNTY 

JEFFERSON M. SHANNON.— When the great history of California 
shall have been written, in which men and women of note receive their true 
place in the high lights of a larger perspective according to real shadow that 
each casts, then will there loom large, as of commanding stature, the late 
Jefferson M. Shannon, a man of great foresight, executive power and sterling 
integrity, well-known in his day to Millerton and Fresno as an undersheriff 
and politician of high order. The Shannon family goes back to Ireland, and 
includes, in its various ramifications in this country, Wilson Shannon, the 
governor of Ohio and later of Kansas, and once United States Minister to 
Mexico ; Effie Shannon, the actress, and James J. Shannon, the portrait paint- 
er long distinguished in the art circles of Europe. The earliest records of this 
particular branch of the Shannon family go back to the date of the birth of 
Nathaniel Shannon, Jefferson's grandfather, and these records, so very inter- 
esting, are found in the Shannon family Bible, which has been handed down 
from generation to generation, until it is now in the possession of Miss L. 
Danie Shannon, late of Palmyra, Mo., and now at Fresno. There is an entry, 
"Nathaniel Shannon was born 22nd Feby., 1763." and another, "Isabelle Shan- 
non, wife of N. Shannon, was born 22nd Febv.. 1772" — a curious coincidence, 
by the way, as to Washington's Birthday. From the same records we learn 
that Nathaniel Shannon. Jr., the father of our subject, was born on December 
31. 1800. in Kentucky, and that he there married Mary Nail, also a Kentuckian, 
after which he came out to Hannibal, Mo., the town destined to be made 
forever famous as the boyhood haunt of Mark Twain. Later, he settled near 
Palmyra on a farm of several hundred acres, where he brought up his family. 

There were eight children, named Warren, Maletia, Jefferson Milam. 
Daniel Johnson, Cynthia Ouinn, Martin Alexander, Isabella Lucy and Laura 
Dulcena, called L. Danie, the only child now living ; and these, with their 
mother, Mr. Shannon left in Missouri, .while he came overland with oxen in 
1849, reaching Sacramento in the fall. He engaged in mining at Placerville 
or Hangtown as it was then called ; but while butchering a beef accidental}' 
cut his hand so that he died from lock-jaw. on March 1. 1852. at Diamond 
Springs, Cal. Grandmother Shannon, who had remained in Missouri with 
her three daughters and two sons, eventually died in that state. 

Jefferson Shannon, who was born on November 8. 1831. grew up in 
Missouri long enough to attend the common schools; but in the great year 
of the Argonauts, when he was eighteen years old, he engaged to drive a 
team across the great plains. The company he was with was detained on the 
Donner Trail, which proved impassable, and they were so badly delayed that 
they did not get through to Fort Sutter until the spring of 1850. He thus 
came to the Golden State at a somewhat later time than his intrepid father: 
but like the latter, he mined, and also engaged in butchering, selling meat 
and groceries to the mining camps. He also took up farm work, spending a 
couple of years at Yacaville on the Wilson ranch. 

lie came to Millerton about 1850 and went into blacksmithing : and it 
was while he labored there at the forge that he became acquainted with Gil- 
lum Baley and his family, and married his daughter. Miss Rebecca Margaret 
Baley, who was the first school teacher at Millerton. At the time of his mar- 
riage, Mr. Shannon, besides being a blacksmith, was deputy sheriff of Fresno 
County, under the late Scott Ashman, his brother-in-law. and he served in 
that office of responsibility until 1867. Upon the advent of the first railroad 
to Fresno he became the first station agent. 

Mr. Shannon early became acquainted with Leland Stanford. Collis P. 
Huntington. Mark Hopkins and Charles Crocker who were popularly known 
as the "I tig Four" of the Central Pacific and the Southern Pacific railways, 
and through them, in the beginning of the seventies, was connected with 
the Pacific Improvement Co.. the holding company of the Southern Pacific 
railway, lie sold the town lots for the Pacific Improvement Company at 
about the time when the road was being built from Stockton to Fresno, the 



HISTORY OF FRESNO COUNTY 1437 

sales taking place in Fresno. In 1873 choice corner lots in the downtown 
business district sold for $500 each ; other lots sold at $125 ; while lots lying 
further out went for $62.50, and the residence portion was sold in blocks. 

Through Mr. Shannon's influence with the Pacific Improvement Com- 
pany the Court House Park was donated by the company to the county, and 
so were the sites for the first Catholic Church at the corner of M and Fresno 
Streets, and of St. Paul's Methodist Episcopal Church, at the corner of L 
and Fresno Streets. In his capacity as representative of the land department 
of the Pacific Improvement Company, Mr. Shannon laid out and sold off sites 
of the various cities and towns on the Southern Pacific system throughout 
California and even into Arizona, being general townsite agent for the said 
Pacific Improvement Company from El Paso, Texas, to San Francisco. 

As a proper reward for such years of strenuous and faithful service, Mr. 
Shannon became well-to-do. He owned eight lots in Fresno at the corner of 
J and Fresno Streets, between- Fresno and Mariposa, and there he built the 
far-famed, if modest Shannon residence, whose hospitable doors swung open 
to high and low, rich and poor, and where children in particular were very 
welcome. There are still living those who will recall the pleasure of Mr. 
Shannon in handing out to the young folks watermelons and other fruit 
grown on his property now in the very heart of Fresno. He set out an orange 
grove, and the old Church Canal furnished water for irrigation, flowing down 
Fresno Street. 

Mr. and Mrs. Shannon were married at old Fort Miller, and all of their 
four children were born at Millerton. The elder is Mary Idria, now the wife 
of W. E. Thorns, and resides at 1547 North N Street; the second in the order 
of birth is Scott A., familiarly known as "Fred" Shannon, well-known in 
Fresno County ; Sidney J. is deputy United States Marshal at Fresno ; and 
Leland Stanford Shannon, manager of the Shannon Bros, ranch. In 1888, Mr. 
Shannon moved to Alameda, and there the boys were schooled. Mr. Shannon 
became the owner of 480 acres four miles north of Selma, where he set out 
a vineyard of about ninety acres, mostly of malaga grapes, for he was a pio- 
neer planter of the malagas. In addition to their own four children, the 
worthy couple reared a niece. Miss Jane Eleanor Ashman, now Mrs. James 
Ferguson of Coalinga. 

Mr. Shannon died at Alameda on June 8, 1902, and his good wife passed 
away there, also, on September 5, 1906. Roth lie buried in the Mountain 
View Cemetery at Oakland. 

ZANE POTTER.— Born in Pike County, 111., August 28, 1860, Zane 
Potter is a descendant of pioneers of that county. His father, John Potter, 
of Irish descent, was an early settler there, and there his death occurred, 
at the age of sixty-six and one-half years. John Potter married Lucretia 
Cochran, born either in Ohio or Virginia, of German ancestry and to this 
pioneer couple eleven children were born, seven boys and four girls. Of 
these, four boys and three girls are living, and Zane Potter is the only one 
in California. 

Zane Potter grew to manhood on his father's farm in Illinois, close to 
the small town of Baylis. In 1886 he came to Fresno County, from Missouri, 
and settled in Fresno, where he lived until 1890, after which he became fore- 
man of the A. Sach's vineyard of 160 acres, a position he held for four years. 
He then went to San Francisco and visited the Midwinter Fair, after which 
he went back to Illinois and Missouri to visit relatives. In 1895 he returned 
to California and again settled in Fresno County, buying forty acres of land 
in the Lone Star district, which he improved and planted, and finally sold. 
Later he bought forty acres of land again, upon which he erected a com- 
fortable home, and in 1908 added an adjoining ranch of twenty acres to his 
holdings, and now owns sixty acres with two sets of buildings. For five 
vears he leased the ranch out and made his residence in Fresno, at 2815 



1438 HISTORY OF FRESNO COUNTY 

Madison Avenue. He prefers a ranch home to a city one, however, and 
moved back to his ranch in January, 1918. 

On October 14, 1883, in Pike County, 111., Mr. Potter was married to 
Martha A. Rutherford, and soon after their marriage they went to Pike 
County, Mo., where Mr. Potter rented a farm for two years, before coming 
to California. He attributes much of his success to his estimable wife, who 
is one of the best of mothers. They have had three children, but two of 
these have died, one at eleven years and five months, and the other at eight 
months. The daughter living is now the wife of A. N. Dillingham, jewelry 
salesman for A. S. Shaddow, of Fresno. 

Since coming to Fresno County Mr. Potter has taken a place in the 
musical circles of this section as a singer in Walberg's Male Chorus. He 
taught singing in both Missouri and California, and ever since boyhood his 
voice has been heard in church choirs in the different communities where 
he has lived. Mr. Potter is a member of the Odd Fellows, and of the Raisin 
Growers' Association. 

CLAUDE C. LAVAL. — In Claude C. Laval, expert commercial photog- 
rapher, Fresno possesses a citizen who stands in the front rank in the 
State of California in his chosen profession. He was born in New York- 
City, November 8, 1882, and received his education in the schools of New 
York, Brooklyn and Chicago. He began to make his way in the world at 
the early age of fifteen, and was in the employ of the J. C. Barr Engineering 
Company at Pittsburgh, Pa., as architect and civil engineer. He was also 
foreman in charge of the steel mill erected at Monongahela, Pa., for the 
Cochocton Iron Works. In 1901, at the age of nineteen, he took up his life 
work of photography, being employed by the R. W. Johnston Studios of 
Pittsburgh, the second largest firm of its kind in the state. During the 
five years he was with the firm he devoted his entire time to the commercial 
branch of the business and received a thorough training in the art. 

In October, 1906, Mr. Laval came to Fresno and was for a time in the 
employ of Dr. Chester Rowell. He then formed a partnership with C. H. 
Atkinson in the Angelus Studio, still devoting his time to commercial 
photography. After one year of partnership he started in business for him- 
self in that branch of the work, with his studio and developing room at 656 
N. Van Ness Avenue. He is the pioneer in modern commercial photog- 
raphy in Fresno, brought the first circuit camera and the first smokeless 
flash apparatus to the city, and was also the first to successfully photograph 
banquet gatherings. He has been very successful in his chosen line of 
work and is probably the best-known and most expert outdoor commercial 
photographer in Central California. His reputation, indeed, has spread to 
all parts of the state. He was exclusively the photographer at the famous 
Jennie Crocker wedding, being specially called to San Francisco for that 
occasion, and took forty-two pictures of the affair in the pavilion and church. 
He was also called to San Francisco to photograph the meeting of the 
Federation of Woman's Clubs at the Cliff House. He holds the record in 
Fresno for taking flash-light pictures of a banquet, having brought back the 
finished picture in thirty minutes' time. He brought the first motion picture 
camera to Fresno, and took and developed 50,000 feet of films for the San 
Francisco and San Diego Fairs in 1915. He is the official photographer 
for the San Joaquin Valley Counties Association, which represents eight 
counties. He is the photographer for the Gaumont Weekly, taking motion 
pictures for it in the valley from Stockton to Bakersfield. These are shown 
at all the leading picture theaters in the country, and in doing this work he 
has been the means of giving much publicity to Fresno County, spreading 
its fame all over the world. He does all the commercial work for the 
California Raisin Association and the California Peach Growers' Associa- 
tion, and all of the Fresno Republican's work, photographing all fires and 




t^tf ' ^r /&<^^^ 



HISTORY OF FRESNO COUNTY 1441 

accidents for that paper. He also specializes in making enlargements. 
Sixty-four of the largest enlargements on exhibition at the San Francisco 
fair in 1915 were made by him. These were forty inches by eight feet in 
size. His enlargements for a window display for the Wonder Store in 
Fresno attracted much attention ; they were six feet by nine feet in size, the 
largest ever made in Fresno County. He has taken motion picture views 
in mountain and valley in the San Joaquin Valley and filmed pictures on 
the top of Mount Keyser, 10,300 feet above sea level. These were on ex- 
hibition at the San Francisco and San Diego fairs in 1915 as official pictures 
from Fresno County. He has also done the motion picture work for the 
Fresno County Horticultural Commission, photographing the grape leaf 
hopper and fig wasp, giving enlarged views of these pests that destroy the 
fruit and vine. This was his own idea. 

In August, 1918, F. C. Ninnis became associated with Mr. Laval, the 
firm name becoming Laval and Ninnis. The latter has been engaged in 
commercial photography in California since 1895, and in Fresno County 
since 1904. The equipment of the laboratory of this enterprising firm is 
conceded to be the most modern and complete of its kind in the entire state. 

Mr. Laval married Miss Sadie M. Cheesman, a native of Pennsylvania, 
and they are the parents of two children, Claude C, Jr., and Virginia May. 
Mr. Laval is a member of the Fresno Lodge of Knights of Pythias. 

BENJAMIN F. COTTON.— A pioneer of Fresno County of 1881, B. F. 
Cotton has been very closely identified with the section now within the 
vicinity of Sanger and has won a place for himself in the esteem of the citi- 
zens of the county by his integrity of character and public spirit. He was 
born on July 31, 1862, near the town of Cottontown. Tenn., which place was 
named in honor of his ancestors, who were early settlers in Sumner Countv 
and were slave-owners. The family originally came from North Carolina. 
His parents were John and Patience (Edwards) Cotton, who had seven chil- 
dren, three of whom are now living: M. A., who came to California in 1875 
and is now living in Visalia ; W. C, still living near Cottontown, Tenn. ; and 
B. F., of this review. 

B. F. Cotton was educated in the grammar and high schools of his native 
state, and after his school days were over came to Fresno County, Cal., to 
join a brother who had pioneered it here since 1875. At that time there were 
but a few vineyards in the entire county, the area being given to grain-farm- 
ing, with little thought of the possibilities for viticultural development. He 
first located on some land three miles from what is now the site of Sanger, 
no thought having been given to the possibility of a town in this location 
at the time. He devoted himself to farming, and in 1887 was elected to the 
important office of justice of the peace, serving two years So closely has 
he been identified with the interests of this part of the county that he is 
properly considered a pioneer, having had to do with every project that has 
been put forth to build up the locality. The confidence of his friends was 
again expressed when he was recently elected to the office he had held in 
1887, this time for a four-year term, which he is now serving, dealing out 
justice with the impartiality so characteristic of him. 

On May 1, 1888, Judge Cotton was united in marriage with Miss Anna 
Cody, daughter of Truman and Mary Cody. Truman Cody is a cousin of 
the famed "Buffalo Bill" Cody of Wild West fame. Of this union of Mr. and 
Mrs. Cotton three children were born, two of whom are now living : William 
E., who married Anna Zinn, by whom he has a son, Elmer Thomas ; and 
Mrs. Grace V. Brumbaugh, the mother of two children, Helen and Benjamin. 
The ludge is a member of Court Sanger, No. 617, I. O. O. F., at Sanger, and 
of the Sanger Chamber of Commerce. He is an active member of the Chris- 
tian Church, is a man who is considered one of the dependable citizens of 
the growing town of Sanger, and is esteemed by all who know him. 



1442 HISTORY OF FRESNO COUNTY 

GRANVILLE HARTMAN WALLEY.— Among the pioneer contrac- 
tors of Fresno, who. by far-reaching foresight, an unusual spirit of enterprise 
and the employment of only the most up-to-date methods and devices, have 
contributed much to the development of both Fresno and Central California, 
must be rated, in the first rank, George H. Walley. who was born near 
Valley Forge in Chester County, Pa., on January 6, 1850, and when only 
sixteen started to learn the carpenter's trade in Philadelphia. While work- 
ing there, he helped erect the Falmouth Market, long one of the notable 
landmarks in the City of Brotherly Love. In 1870 he removed to La Salle 
County, 111., and for three years worked in Ottawa at his trade. He also 
owned a ranch of eighty acres in Iroquois County, and farmed the same 
himself. Catching the gold fever in 1876, he started with a party of thirteen 
on saddle horses and pack animals for the Black Hills; but before they 
reached the mines, they were attacked by Indians and several of the com- 
pany were killed. Mr. Walley himself, after a vigorous fight, was shot in 
the leg and so badly wounded that he was laid up for eight months. The 
party kept the Indians at bay and retreated for three days after he was 
wounded, making Deadwood in safety. It was very difficult in those days 
to get medical or surgical attention, and such as could be secured was none 
of the best ; and the result was that the sick and wounded languished and 
suffered in a way that is but faintly realized by those who have come after 
and reaped the benefits of their pioneering. 

In 1877 Mr. 'Walley went to Colorado and located in Denver, being 
employed at his trade: and in 1878 he went to Leadville, and mined for 
five years. He swung the pick in the Monarch Mine and at Bonanza Creek 
and suffered many hardships; and later he worked at his trade in Maysville, 
Colo., where his cleverness in solving problems of the moment and incidental 
to the raw conditions of the times was much appreciated. 

In the fall of 1879 Mr. Walley arrived in California, and having looked 
over the ground and rapidly sized up the advantages of the several sections, 
he was ready to settle in Fresno by the following spring. It was then but a 
small and not particularly ambitious town, as one may well imagine from 
the fact that lots on Fresno Street sold for sixty dollars, while corner lots 
commanded only $125. This condition of realty attracted Air. Walley, and 
he both bought and sold much unimproved property. He also bought a 
couple of ranches — one of eighty acres on the east of Fowder, and the other 
of twenty acres, three-fourths of a mile east of Selma. Both were raw 
land ; but with his usual enterprise, Mr. Walley set out a peach orchard and' 
planted alfalfa, and when he was ready to make a good showing, at the 
end of three years he sold out. 

During this time, he did contracting and building, and in both Fowler 
and Selma erected a number of brick structures for store purposes. Finding 
that he was better adapted for that line of undertaking, he settled in Fresno 
and followed his trade with vigorous competition. He became both a builder 
and a contractor, and since then he has erected over two hundred buildings. 
This brought him into nearly all the cities and towns of Fresno County, 
and into many places in the San Joaquin Valley. In Fresno he erected the 
Meade, Ball and Fisk blocks, the Tubercular Ward, County Hospital, and' 
numerous fine residences. In Coalinga he put up the Akers Block and the 
Skating Pavilion, and the best of the town's store buildings. In Kerman 
he built two hotels and two apartment houses. Each and every one of these 
buildings probably would have done credit to places and periods supposed to 
have been much in advance of these growing California towns. 

Mr. \\ alley has also built a number of houses of his own in Fresno, and 
at present he is the owner of seven, among which is a fine apartment house 
on Illinois and Second Streets, of from two to five rooms. He owns an 
apartment house in Coalinga, and also four lots at Fifth and D Streets in 



HISTORY OF FRESNO COUNTY 1443 

that town. Lately he retired from active work and builds only to serve some 
old friend, who knows the class of work he is accustomed to do and will 
not accept no for an answer. 

While in Colorado Mr. Walley was married to Mary Kraft, a native of 
Illinois, who has proved a most excellent wife and mother. One of their 
daughters is now the wife of George Donohue, the agent of the Southern 
Pacific at Armona, and has three children ; and another daughter, Katie, is 
the wife of John Simpson, an engineer of the same railway company. In 
Colorado, Mr. Walley joined the Knights of Pythias, affiliating with Cava- 
naugh Lodge, at Maysville. 

In the semi-leisure hours of these later years, Mr. Walley entertains his 
friends with many interesting stories of adventure and of his remarkable 
experiences while searching for fortune. Not only did he suffer many hard- 
ships during his mining days in Wyoming and Colorado, but in 1898 he took 
a trip to Alaska, borne along by the rush of gold-seekers to Nome ; and 
while traveling many hundreds of miles in the eighteen months that' he was 
in the frozen North, he endured much that others would not live to tell. So, 
too, he has passed successfully through hair-raising brushes with the Indians, 
and with some of the worst that the pioneers and the American government 
have ever had to contend with, and today he has yarn after yarn about the 
red man well worth the telling anywhere or at any time. 

ROBERT M. WOOD.— It would have been strange indeed if Califor- 
nia, unrivalled in its various climatic advantages, and with a soil so well 
adapted for almost any kind of agricultural enterprise, and particularly with 
conditions so very favorable for fruit-culture, should not have become one 
of the most famous parts of the earth, to say nothing of the United States, 
for the growing of raisin and table grapes, apricots, peaches, plums, berries, 
oranges, lemons and olives. The American in particular was quick to see 
what might be done here, and ever since men once began to get away from 
the idea that land was worth little except for a "cow country," the progress 
of development has been rapid. 

Among those who once operated on a large scale in other fields of im- 
portant endeavor and have now become noted for more intensive develop- 
ment of the resources of the state is Robert M. Wood, a horticulturist, and 
the son of James and Elizabeth (Koontz) Wood, so well known in their 
day as worthy pioneers. The elder Wood was a farmer who crossed the 
plains to reach the northwest, and located for a while at Harrisburg in Linn 
County, Ore. In 1869 he came to California, and the longer he stayed here, 
the better he liked it. The following year he moved once more, this time to 
Fresno County ; and at last he was convinced that he had found the ideal 
spot he had been looking for. He bought the old Powers place, and by the 
time that he died, in 1873, he had greatly improved his acquisition. 

Robert M. was born on October 18, 1848, in Wapello County, Iowa, and 
crossed the plains in 1852 with his father. When he first came to Fresno 
County, he went into the sheep and stock business at Centerville ; and there 
he lived until the time when the town of Sanger was started, there he moved, 
but continued in the sheep business. 

In 1904, notwithstanding the fact that he had operated so extensively 
with sheep that at one time he rented as much as 40,000 acres of land for 
his bands, he sold out and embarked in vineyard, orange and other fruit 
growing. He set out the first vineyard in the Mt. Hammell country, keep- 
ing the same until 1916, when he disposed of it. 

He now has 100 acres of his 420-acre ranch, four miles south of Reedley 
set out to prunes. Nowhere does a more orderly, promising prune orchard 
greet the eye of even the widely-experienced traveler, and Mr. Wood is 
recognized as an authority in the field in which he is now an intensely pro- 
gressive leader. 



1444 HISTORY OF FRESNO COUNTY 

At Fresno, in 1883. Mr. Wood married Emmye Heydcliffe, a native of 
San Francisco, in which metropolis, with its many educational advantages. 
she was reared. One child. Birdie Wood, has blessed their union. Mr. Wood 
is a popular member of the Benevolent and Protective Order of Elks, and 
he is a leader in the councils of the Republican party, although broad-minded 
enough to treat all local political questions irrespective of party prejudices. 

ALVIN A. CHANNELL. — A man of quiet, meditative temperament, 
whose studious and hard-working life has enabled him to become a real fac- 
tor in helping to build up Central California, is Alvin A. Channell, the first 
man to install a pumping-plant in this section. He first came to California in 
1889. but it was not until 1898, that, with a fuller knowledge of what the state 
as a whole had to offer, he chose Fresno County as the most promising field. 

Alvin A. was born near Montreal. Canada, on August 15, 1870. 
the son of J. W. Channell. who was also born there. The father was a farmer; 
he married Ellen Sargent : and in 1889 he came west to California and located 
in Contra Costa County, where he began ranching with a fine orchard and an 
equally good vineyard. Six years later he moved to Lodi, where he engaged 
in horticulture, profiting by his previous experience in the growing of peaches 
and pears; and in that line he continued until 1915. when he sold out and 
moved to Santa Cruz. In 1918, Mr. and Mrs. J. W. Channell took up their 
residence in Fresno County, where Mr. Channell died on May 31. 1919. aged 
eighty years. They were the parents of five children, four living: Edna, who 
is Mrs. George Cooper, of Santa Cruz; Alvin A., the subject of this sketch: 
Alice, who is Mrs. Albert Babel of Easton ; and Robert M.. living at Lodi. 

Brought up on a farm near Montreal until he was nineteen, during which 
time he attended the public schools and the Knowltonville High School, Al- 
vin A. Channell came west to Contra Costa County, Cal.. in 1889, and there, 
as well as at Lodi, followed horticulture. In 1898 he located at Del Rev, 
Fresno County, where he became foreman of the Kimball Peach Orchard and 
was given charge of 370 acres ; but in 1903 he came to Rolinda and bought 
his present place. It comprised 320 acres on White's Bridge Road, extending 
back to Belmont, nine miles west of Fresno, and. with from sixty to eighty 
milch cows, he engaged in the dairy business, making a specialty of the cream. 
He used electric power and had a Sharpless milking machine and he improved 
the land to alfalfa. In 1917 he sold 160 acres on Belmont Avenue, and the 
balance he has improved with alfalfa and a vineyard, and also maintains a 
small dairy, with high-grade Holsteins and Guernseys. He is a stockholder in 
the Danish Creamery Association. In 1918 he completed a modern residence 
of ten rooms. 

Mr. Channell was married in Fresno on November 20, 1901, being united 
with Miss Florence Wells, a native daughter born in what was then Tulare 
Count}', but now the site of the Lucerne Vineyard near Hanford. Kings 
County. Her parents were A. J. and Sarah (Underwood) Wells, who were 
born near Wheeling, W. Va., and who migrated to California in 1880, and 
after residing a while at Yacaville, came to Tulare County, but soon after- 
wards bought a ranch of eighty acres at Del Rev. which they improved to a 
splendid vineyard and orchard, and where they still make their home. Mrs. 
Channell's grandfather. Benjamin Wells, also came to California in 1880. be- 
coming a prominent upbuilder of the Del Rev section and interested in the 
Church ditch and being for many years superintendent of the canal until he 
retired to his ranch, where he resided until his death. Of the five children 
born to Mr. and Mrs. A. J. Wells, four are living, of whom Mrs. Channell is 
the eldest. The others are: Emery A., of Del Rev; Bessie, who is Mrs. B. M. 
Hopper of Fresno; and Frank R.. who served in the United States Army 
overseas, and now resides at Del Rey. Florence Wells Channell's entire life has 
been spent in Fresno County and she has witnessed its wonderful develop- 
ment. 




\A&ru-*^~<ZJi~ (5 , ^*-&-*_*^^e^s£-- 



HISTORY OF FRESNO COUNTY 1449 

Mr. and Mrs. Channell have nine children: Alvin J., Eva Merle, Pauline 
Mildred, Edwin Martin, Bessie Edith, Gordon Linwood, Kenneth Wells, Bar- 
bara Elizabeth, and Francis Sargent. 

Mr. Channell is a Republican in national politics, but is non-partisan in 
local matters. Among other civic responsibilities, he is clerk of the Houghton 
School District. When Mr. Channell put in the first pumping-plant here- 
abouts, he sunk a 12-inch well to a depth of 101 feet and set up a gas engine 
of twenty-five horsepower with a pumping capacity of 1,500 gallons a minute. 
His object was to irrigate his alfalfa, and so well did it work that eight or niffe 
years later he installed an electric motor. In 1918 he sunk a well on his home 
place, sixty feet deep, bringing the water within ten feet of the surface ; and 
then, having laid down cement pipe lines, he installed an electric pumping- 
plant ample for distributing water to the different fields in the quarter-section. 

Mrs. Channell is a cultured and refined woman, presiding gracefully over 
their magnificent country home, where she and her husband welcome their 
many friends. Of an amiable and pleasing personality, Mrs. Channell has 
proven herself a splendid wife and mother, and is also deeply interested in 
popular education. 

FREDERICK E. TWINING.— The up-to-date and progressive charac- 
ter of the civic life of Fresno has attracted men of all callings, scientific and 
otherwise, to its center, and in the Twining Laboratories, whose headquar- 
ters are in the Grifnth-McKenzie building, Fresno has an institution which 
has become one of the leading enterprises of its kind in the state. 

Its founder, Frederick E. Twining, was born in Croton, Ohio, May 28, 
1874. He received a liberal education in the public schools and in the Deni- 
son University at Granville, Ohio, where he took a course in chemistry. He 
also took a medical course in a medical college at Columbus, Ohio, afterward 
returning to Granville, where he conducted one of the leading drug stores 
in that place. California's allurements enticed him to dispose of his inter- 
ests in the east, and in 1898 Dr. Twining came to Fresno and established the 
Cutter Laboratories on Mariposa Street. In 1900 he was appointed State 
Sanitary Inspector for five counties in the San Joaquin Valley, retaining the 
position for twelve years. His well known ability as a chemist won for him 
the appointment of City Bacteriologist of the city of Fresno, and in 1913 
he established the Twining Laboratories, whose business has grown and ex- 
panded until it has a state wide reputation and has become one of the lead- 
ers in this line of work in the state of California, conducting all kinds of 
scientific investigations, microscopic, bacteriological, chemical and physical. 
Its branch laboratory on Amador Street contains all the heavy machinery 
for physical testing ; the Laboratories include X-ray plant, grinding outfit, 
machine shop and an electro-chemical outfit, where any kind of test is made. 
Professor Twining has recently been in the East engaged in special mining 
work for the copper and steel interests. He also does agricultural laboratory 
work, conducting . special work for the farmers and fruit growers of the 
valley, and is constantly branching out in his field of labor. 

He established domestic ties by his marriage with Maude M. Wolverton of 
the state of Ohio, the fruit of the union being a son, Fred W., now an officer 
in the United States Army, who received his training at Camp Kearny, Gal. 

JAMES A. LANG. — To retain a responsible position with a large rail- 
way company for twenty years bespeaks sterling character and business abil- 
ity of a high degree and of especial adaptability to one's work. Such is the 
honorable record of James A. Lang, a pioneer employee of the Southern 
Pacific Railway Company, for twenty years in the baggage department, and 
during the last fifteen years of his service was in full charge of the baggage 
department at the Fresno depot. 

James A. Lang is a native of the Hoosier State, born January 7, 1871, at 
Corydon, Indiana, and when one year old his father moved to Sherman 



1450 HISTORY OF FRESNO COUNTY 

County, Xebraska. where he took up the first government claim in the county 
and was one of the pioneers of that section of the state. James A. Lang was 
reared on a farm in Xebraska, in which state he followed farming until he 
migrated to the Golden State, where he arrived February 2, 1894, and at 
first stopped at Fresno, then a small town of about 12,000 inhabitants. For 
the first five months he worked on ranches, after which he secured employ- 
ment in the baggage department of the Southern Pacific Railway Company at 
Fresno. Air. Lang has witnessed marvelous changes in the business affairs 
of the railroad during his long term of service, and mentions the interesting 
fact that the storage charges averaged about $3.50 per month, when he first 
entered the baggage room, but the business had so greatly increased by the 
time he severed his connection with the company, in 1912, as to amount to 
$600 per month for storage charges. The same relative increase was also 
noticeable in the number of pieces of baggage that were handled per month, 
the total number at first being from 2.000 to 3.000 and at the time he left 
the employ of the railroad the department handled from 30,000 to 40,000 pieces. 

For the past six years J. A. Lang has been conducting an auto express 
and delivery business in Fresno and being so widely known and a general 
favorite with the traveling public, his motor delivery is always in demand 
and the public realize that Lang's express can be relied upon for prompt and 
efficient service. 

Fraternally Air. Lang is a charter member of Sunset Lodge Xo. 7199 
Modern 'Woodmen of America, at Fresno, has been very active in securing 
members for this organization and has passed through all the chairs. He 
was also a charter member of the order and was a delegate to the national 
convention of the order held at Chicago and Buffalo. He is a member of 
the Red Men, also of the lodge of Eagles at Fresno, and is very proud of a 
watch charm that was given him by the lodge of Eagles for securing a 
large number of new members. He was made a Mason in Porter Lodge Xo. 
106 in Xebraska, and is now affiliated with Fresno Lodge Xo. 247. F. & 
A. M. Besides the above fraternal orders Mr. Lang is an honored member of 
the Teamster's Union, and at one time was a candidate for the office of 
sheriff of Fresno County, at the primary election, but failed to receive the 
nomination. 

Mrs. Lang was in maidenhood Ethel Dunn, a native of California and 
daughter of R. P. Dunn, a pioneer citizen of Fresno, where he was for many 
years a contracting painter and member of the old volunteer fire depart- 
ment, but is now a resident of Chico, Cal. By a former marriage Mr. 
Lang has a son, Austin Lang, who is serving in the L'nited States Navy. 

LEONIDAS B. HAYHURST.— The junior member of the law firm of 
Harris and Hayhurst, and the subject of this sketch, Leonidas B. Hayhurst. 
is a native of Carroll County. Ark., where he was born January 31, 1878. 

His father, S. Leonidas Hayhurst, was a native of Indiana and died when 
his son, and namesake, was a small child. His mother, who in maidenhood, 
was Sarah Jane Gibson, a native of Missouri, being left a widow with two 
children, decided to raise her children in California, and in 1886 located in 
Fresno County. 

Leonidas B. Hayhurst received his early education in the grammar 
schools of YYildflower and Kingsburg, which was supplemented by attend- 
ance at the high school of Selma. Afterwards he took up the study of law 
at Fresno. To assist in the payment of his law course he acquired a knowl- 
edge of stenography, the financial receipts from the practice of which aided 
greatly, in a material way. the completion of his law studies. He quickly 
acquired a knowledge of the principles of jurisprudence and possessing a re- 
tentive memory passed his examinations and was admitted to the bar in 
September. 1000. In the year 1902 he became associated with Judge M. K. 
Harris, and during the year 1912 the partnership of Harris and Hayhurst 



HISTORY OF FRESNO COUNTY 1451 

was formed. They are the legal representatives of allied interests of the 
Bank and Trust Company, of Fresno; the Commercial Bank of Sanger; also 
the First National Bank of Parlier. 

Mr. Hayhurst is an attorney of high principles and of strict integrity and 
prepares all of his briefs with the utmost thoroughness and care, to which 
may be attributed his growing clientele. Aside from his professional duties 
Mr. Hayhurst is interested in undeveloped land in Fresno County. 

Leonidas B. Hayhurst was united in marriage with Cecil C. Burroughs, 
a native of Fresno County. Mr. Hayhurst has never sought public office and 
being of a home-loving disposition finds his greatest pleasure and surcease 
from the cares of professional life in the enjoyment of his home circle. 

JAMES E. FINCH.— A highly esteemed resident of Fresno County is 
James E. Finch, a native of the Buckeye State, where he was born on Feb- 
ruary 7, 1856. near Greenfield, Fayette County. His father, Joseph A. 
Finch, was a farmer and died in Ohio when James was twenty-five years 
old ; his mother, who in maidenhood was Amanda Collier, passed away four 
years after her husband. James E. Finch was the fourth child in a "family 
of six, and was obliged to make his own living from the age of sixteen 
years. He hired out to work on farms, which precluded his attendance at 
school : but undaunted by adverse circumstances, and being an untiring 
worker and ambitious to get ahead in the world, he has neverless succeeded 
and became the owner of a twenty-acre vineyard near Lone Star. 

In 1882, James E. Finch left his native state to try his fortune in the 
West, locating near Grand Island, Nebr. Six years later he was united in 
marriage with Mrs. Malinda Baldwin, daughter of Harvey Murdock and 
widow of Lindley Baldwin, by whom she had two children, one of whom 
is Mrs. Charles McBride, a sketch of whose husband appears on another 
page of this history. Mrs. Baldwin had proved up on a Nebraska home- 
stead, and after her marriage to James E. Finch he continued farming in 
Nebraska until their removal to California in 1894. After their arrival in the 
Golden State, Mr. Finch purchased twenty acres of land, one-half of which 
was in vines, and the remainder in trees. This property he eventually sold 
and in 1908 bought his ranch of twenty acres near Lone Star, which he 
owned until he sold it in March, 1919. 

Mr. Finch is a conscientious and industrious rancher, and is highly 
esteemed in his community for his irreproachable character and high prin- 
ciples in all business transactions. In political matters he supports the 
Republican platform ; and he is an honored member of the Raisin Growers' 
Association. Mr. and Mrs. Finch are the owners of a residence in Fresno, 
situated on Coast Avenue. 

WILLIAM L. SCALES. — Fresno County is indeed fortunate in having 
as its Sanitary Inspector, William L. Scales, a man of up-to-date ideas in 
sanitation and one who, by efficient efforts, through the installation of the 
latest appliances, and by an educational campaign along sanitary lines, has 
accomplished excellent results throughout the county. 

William L. Scales is a native of the Prairie State, born at Farmington, 
Illinois, February 24, 1876. When he was a small boy his parents moved to 
Leadville, Colo. While living in Colorado the mother passed away, leaving 
four children, which the father, Levi Scales, brought to Fresno in 1881. For 
a while the father followed ranching, but owing to ill-health gave up that line 
of endeavor and retired. The family of Mr. and Mrs. Levi Scales includes: 
Frank Scales of Oilfields, Cal. ; Charles, a rancher in Hills Valley, this 
county; Mrs. Flora Gibson, who resides at Fowler; and William L., the 
subject of this sketch. 

William L. Scales, the youngest member of the family, received his edu- 
cation in the schools of Fresno County. His business endeavors have led 
him into various lines; for two years he rented a vineyard five miles east of 



1452 HISTORY OF FRESNO COUNTY 

Selma ; five years he was in the employ of the United States Government as 
postmaster, during the summer time at Bartlett Springs, Cal., a summer 
resort in Lake County. At one time he was bookkeeper and collector for the 
Jersey Farm Dairy, Fresno. In 1906 Mr. Scales went to Siskiyou County, 
Cal.. where he was employed as bookkeeper for the McCloud Lumber Com- 
pany, remaining there three years. In 1910 he was with the Hume-Bennett 
Lumber Company, where he helped in constructing their flume from Hume to 
Station Xo. 4, Fresno County. One year of his life was spent in Portland, 
Ore., and for three years he operated an alfalfa and stock ranch in Los 
Angeles County. 

The year 1913 marks the beginning of Mr. Scales' work in the Fresno 
County Sanitary Department. The cattle in Los Gatos Canyon having be- 
come infected with rabies, W. L. Scales was assigned to that section to inspect 
the herds and take measures at once to eradicate the disease. So thoroughly 
did he understand his work that in six months he had mastered the situa- 
tion and cleared up the condition. Mr. Scales has given especial attention 
to the improvement of sanitary conditions of the country schools. He had 
septic tanks, flush toilets and sanitary drinking fountains installed in the 
schools and has also inspected the water supply for camping parties and 
picnic grounds. This work has been followed up by an educational campaign 
through the daily newspapers, calling attention to the danger in drinking 
from streams. Mr. Scales has made a special study of his line of endeavor 
and his work has met with the most satisfactory results throughout the county. 
A work like his, that has the health of the community at heart, is certain to 
be commended by all. 

GEORGE H. TAYLOR.— A man of long experience in the milling busi- 
ness in the San Joaquin Valley, and elsewhere, is George H. Taylor, who 
occupies the responsible and lucrative position of estimator at Madary's 
Planing Mill, Fresno. A native of Yorkshire. England, born July 28, 1860, 
he was reared in his native country and educated in the public schools. He 
served a seven-year apprenticeship in the lumber business, including all 
branches of the industry, from mill work and bench or cabinet work to esti- 
mating. ^Yhen a young man twenty-one years of age he arrived in Montreal, 
Canada, in 1881, and became associated with bridge construction work for 
the Canadian Pacific Railroad. In those days wooden bridges were con- 
structed. After one year there he gradually worked west in bridge construc- 
tion for the company, and became superintendent of construction work. His 
last work for the company was in the Rocky Mountains at Yale. B. C. He 
next located on Vancouver Island. B. C, and became superintendent of con- 
struction for the Xew Vancouver Coal Mining and Land Company, Limited. 
This was the largest company in the Dominion, owning over 1.000.000 acres 
of land. Besides being superintendent of construction on their plants, he 
erected over 100 homes for the employees of the company. He served the 
company faithfully, and his fine letters of recommendation from them as well 
as from the Canadian Pacific Railroad testify to his proficiency as a workman 
and the esteem in which they hold him. 

Mr. Taylor next located at Santa Clara, Cal., where for four years he 
was associated with planing mill work. In 1904 he came to Fresno and 
entered the employ of the Hollenbeck-Bush Planing Mill Company as fore- 
man of their cabinet department. In 1911 he became estimator at the Ma- 
dary's Planing Mill, which position he still retains. The company appreciate 
his exceptional ability, and his forty years' experience in the business makes 
his assistance of incalculable value to them. 

Mrs. Taylor was before her marriage Elizabeth Adams, a native of 
Hampshire, England. Mr. and Mrs. Taylor are the parents of six children, 
named respectively George A.; Richard: Maude; Ruth; Margaret, the wife 
of ' teorge V. Bruten, who is a son of the former Lord Mayor of Gloucester, 
England, and who was formerly a rancher west of Fresno, but is now a 



HISTORY OF FRESNO COUNTY 1455 

sergeant in the Canadian Army, serving over seas; and Edna E., a student in 
the Fresno High School. Mr. Taylor owns his own home, a comfortable and 
attractive modern bungalow at 3228 Illinois Avenue, and takes intense inter- 
est and pleasure in his spare time, in the culture of his beautiful flowers and 
ornamental trees. Fraternally, he is a member of the Independent Order of 
Odd Fellows in British Columbia. He is highly esteemed by all. 

BERNARD A. NEWMAN.— Reared and educated in Fresno County, and 
a resident here since a lad of seven years, Bernard A. Newman has made good 
in his home county and risen to an assured position in both the social and 
business life of the community. Born in Otweclaberg, Sweden, August 1, 1881, 
he is a son of Gustaf and Sophie (Adahl) Newman, both natives of Sweden. 
Gustaf Newman was born in the Province of Otweclaberg October 30, 1855, 
and on reaching maturity followed railroading in his native land. He emi- 
grated to the newer world in 1883, arriving in New "York on March 3, of that 
year. Going to Peoria, 111., he worked in the car repair shops of the Wabash 
Railway Company, and later was employed in a pottery works. Deciding 
to continue his journey across the continent, he came to California and in 
1888 located in Fresno. After his arrival, he worked for a few months in the 
Minnewawa Vineyard, and was next in the employment of the Fresno Gas and 
Electric Company, up to 1898. The following three seasons he was engaged 
as engineer in the sawmill at Pine Ridge, and then became janitor in the First 
National Bank of Fresno. In 1902 Mr. Newman entered the employ of the 
United States government as janitor of the Fresno postoffice and is now 
head janitor of that building. Fraternally, he is a member of the Fresno 
Lodge of Red Men, and is Guardian of the Forest in that order, also being 
a member of the Fraternal Brotherhood. To himself and wife two sons were 
born, Bernard A., of this review, and Harold, of Oakland, both successful 
plumbers, owning their own business. The mother passed away in 1903. 

Bernard A. Newman came to Fresno with his parents in 1888, and 
attended the Fresno schools. After finishing his education he became an 
apprentice to the plumbing trade, with Donahue & Emmons Company, of 
Fresno, remaining with them five years ; his first work of any importance 
being on the Patterson Block. In 1901 he went to Los Angeles and followed 
his trade in that city, in the employ of Howe Bros., and also with the Thomas 
Haverty Company. While there he worked on some of the finest buildings 
in the city, among them the Angelus Hotel, Hayward Hotel, the Auditorium, 
5th and Olive Streets ; the St. George Hotel, the Maryland and Raymond 
Hotels of Pasadena. In 1907 Mr. Newman went to San Francisco and en- 
tered the employ of the United Builders Construction Company, and while 
with them he was foreman on the plumbing and heating of the Butler Build- 
ing, having forty-five men under his supervision. He also worked on the 
Pacific Building, Fourth and Market Streets. Returning to Fresno, he was 
in the employ of Barrett-Hicks Company one year, at the end of which time 
he formed a partnership with Nudt Johnson, under the firm name of Newman 
& Johnson, Plumbers ; during their partnership they made a specialty of 
fine residence and country work. In May, 1913, the partnership was dis- 
solved and Mr. Newman entered into business for himself, and has, among 
other work, installed the plumbing and heating in the following residences and 
business blocks : The B. F. Shepherd and W. A. Jones residences ; rebuilt the 
plumbing and heating in the Minnewawa Vineyard residence; the John Sho'rt 
Building ; the stores of the J. M. Ruth estate on J Street ; the Pacific Coast 
Grocery Company building; the new San Joaquin Bakery, at San Benito and 
P Streets ; and the school buildings in the towns of San Joaquin and Herndon. 
In the midst of his many business interests Mr. Newman has found time to 
devote to horticulture, and is the owner of a twenty-acre ranch on Pierce 
Avenue, improved with Thompson seedless grapes, figs and peaches. Mr. 
Newman stands high in the Master Plumbers' Association of the state, and 



1456 HISTORY OF FRESNO COUNTY 

served as its president in 1918-1919 and for three years prior to this was on 
the executive board. He is treasurer of the San Joaquin Valley Association 
of Master Plumbers, and fraternally is a member of the Knights of Pythias, 
the D. O. K. K., the Woodmen of the World, the Red Men, and also belongs 
to the Rotary Club of Fresno. He was a director of the Fresno Material 
Dealers' Association. Preeminently a man of action and energy, he has 
always done all in his power to further the best interests of Fresno, city 
and county, and has aided materially in the upbuilding and progress of this 
section of the state. 

The marriage of Mr. Newman united him with Kathleen Helen Lynch, 
a native of Arizona, and five children have been born to them: Harold E.. 
Elleanor; Bernard A., Wesley J. A., and Lucile. 

CLARENCE MURRAY.— The present incumbent of the responsible 
position of city engineer' of Fresno, Cal., Clarence Murray, is a native son 
of the Golden State and was born in Visalia, Tulare County, November 13. 
1880. His parents were both pioneers of this state. His father, J. H. K. 
Murray, was a native of Missouri and crossed the plains in the early fifties 
and made a settlement in Tulare County, near Visalia, where he engaged 
in ranching and soon became identified with the development of his adopted 
count)', taking a prominent part in all forward movements of both state and 
county for the balance of his life. His wife was in maidenhood Amanda 
Roark and a native of Tennessee, and she, too, came to Tulare County at 
an early day where she met and married Mr. Murray. 

The high standing attained by Clarence Murrav in his chosen pro- 
fession of civil engineer is the result of special training for his life work, 
accompanied by natural ability and energetic efforts. After his graduation 
from the grammar and high schools of Visalia he entered the University of 
California at Perkeley, where he received the excellent advantages afforded 
by that institution. He was graduated from the University's scientific course 
in 1903 with the degree of P). S. and at once began his career as a civil 
engineer and -worked in various parts of the state for the ensuing six years. 
In 1909 he located in Fresno and began the practice of his profession, con- 
tinuing successfully until in April. 1917, when he received the appointment, 
by the mayor, to the office of city engineer, which he still holds, carrying on 
the duties of the office with phenomenal success. 

Mr. Murray was united in marriage with Ethel F. Scott, born in Visalia. 
and a daughter of pioneer parents who settled in Tulare County in an earl}' 
day and became identified with the upbuilding of that county. < >f this mar- 
riage two sons have been born, Clinton and Ralph. Fraternally, Mr. Murray 
is a member and past noble grand of Fresno Lodge No. 186, I. O. O. F.. and 
in every movement tending to promote the welfare of Fresno he is ever 
found to be a loyal supporter and his circle of friends and well wishers is 
ever widening. 

ALBERT P. SIMPSON. — Quickness of perception, prompt action and 
ready wit. prime essentials for a successful auctioneer, are possessed by Albert 
P. Simpson, Fresno's leading auctioneer and commission merchant. 

Although he was born in Ohio, August 23, 1868, he was reared from in- 
fancy in Adams Count}. Iowa. Educated in the public schools of Iowa he 
entered the mercantile business after completing his schooling, and was in 
general merchandise stores at Corning and Mount Etna, Iowa. He also 
had experience in the milling business. In 1888 he went to Los Angeles, 
where he was in the employ of the Earl Fruit Company five years. He then 
returned to Corning, Iowa, and engaged in farming, but the experience that so 
man] testif) to who have once made their home in California, was his dissat- 
isfaction with the East after their return thither and a longing for the West, 
with its broader life and greater opportunities for an ambitious, energetic 
young man desirous of attaining the top of the ladder of success, The year 



HISTORY OF FRESNO COUNTY 1457 

1912 found him again on his way to California. He went to Madera County 
and in partnership with E. P. Piper bought 1,200 acres of the Jones ranch, 
located in- the southern part of the county, near the San Joaquin River. This 
they subdivided and sold off in from one to forty acre tracts. They laid 
out the town of Trego, built a store and home and sold all off in two years' 
time to people, nearly all of whom came from Iowa. This town which Simp- 
son and Piper put on the map is now a thriving little place, with school, 
post office and irrigation plants. Mr. Simpson and his partner paid $32,000 
for the land and sold it for $75,000. This was the largest deal made in Madera 
County in recent years. This land, formerly a grain ranch, is now planted 
to alfalfa and fruit. In 1914 Mr. Simpson came to Fresno and opened an 
auction and commission house. He has been very successful and today 
stands as a leader in his line of business. In addition, he auctions live stock 
in the valley, and in 1917 sold $95,000 worth of live stock at auction. His 
largest sale, for $10,635, was turned in five hours on the F. M. Helm ranch. 
He has done auction work for the Red Cross during the late war, giving his 
services free. 

Mrs. Simpson was before her marriage Martha Morton, a native of 
Montgomery County, Iowa, and a daughter of one of the pioneers of that 
state, a miller bv trade and the founder of the town of Morton Mills, which 
was named for him. The seven children born of their union are by name: 
Cloyd J., Jr. ; Mrs. Ethel Johnson ; Glenn : Beuhla, wife of Floyd Knox ; Merle ; 
Mildred; and Ruth, the wife of Stanlev Hopkins. 

Mr. Simpson is a great booster for Fresno County and thinks there is 
no place in the world that compares with it. He is a progressive citizen 
whose identification with Fresno has been of untold value to its growth and 
development. 

JOHN BRAVES. — How effective is the amalgamation of the Armenian 
with the American, that is, at least in those cases where the Armenians have 
thrown in their lot with tis and contributed their "bit" to the historic 
development of the country, and by so doing have participated to a great ex- 
tent in our political, social and intellectual activity, ma)- be seen in such 
cases of successful professional careers as that of John Braves, the energetic, 
talented and popular editor of the Armenian weekly, "Asbarez," who is a 
native of Turkey and the son of Elias Braves, a grain exporter and vine- 
yardist. He died at Rochester. X. Y., in 1898, survived by his good wife 
(who was named Anna), who is now making her home at Fresno with the 
subject of our interesting sketch. 

Born at Smyrna on January 30, 1872, Mr. Braves grew up under the 
wise and kindly supervision of some Americans interested in facilitating 
Christian education there, and attended the American College at Constanti- 
nople, from which he graduated with honors in 1892. 'What these educational 
advantages meant in that benighted land, Mr. Braves will tell you, and how 
well he profited by both the courses and an intimate contact with his learned 
and large-hearted teachers, acquaintance with the gentleman himself will 
soon discover. Having received his diploma, he sought to pay back to 
some extent the moral debt he owed for his education, and so taught for 
three years in the International College at Smyrna. 

Then transpired something in the patriotic Armenian's life which only 
one inspired by love of his native country can fully fathom. Because of 
political disturbances and the extreme danger to life, to say nothing of prop- 
erty—more of the dark chapters in the misrule of the beautiful Armenian 
l an 'd — Mr. Braves had to flee from the country, leaving under conditions of 
privation and great loss. He made his way to Greece and then to France : 
and from the hospitable territory of the French Republic he pushed on to the 
United States merely because he felt that in the newest of all the free lands 
a greater destiny awaited him. He landed in America on July 7, 1895; and 



1458 HISTORY OF FRESNO COUNTY 

having learned the cabinet maker's trade, he supported himself in that field 
until 1906, when he decided to come west to the Pacific Coast. The thought 
was father to the act ; and it was not long before he was basking in the genial 
sunshine of Fresno. 

Soon after his arrival here. Mr. Braves was married to Miss Susie Mar- 
karian, an unusually attractive woman representing a prominent family. 
Ever since, Mr. and Mrs. Braves have been identified with most movements 
for the bettering of local social and religious conditions. By a former mar- 
riage Mr. Braves is the father of a son, Harold. 

Xot onlv is Mr. Braves the editor of the Journal referred to, "Asbarez," 
meaning "arena," but he was the principal founder of the paper, which was 
established in 1908. Since then the weekly has passed into the hands of 
the Armenian Federation, whose interests it particularly fosters. As man- 
ager and editor, Mr. Braves has discharged his responsibility so well that 
the "Asbarez" now has a circulation of 2.200. Its influence is potent with 
the Armenians ; and, as a journal constantly striving to create a higher degree 
of American patriotism, it is a valuable asset among the publications of 
California, and an honor to the foreign press in the United States. Mr. Braves 
is naturally identified with several literary organizations, and he is, besides, 
a popular member of the Odd Fellows and the Eagles and, with his good wife, 
enjoys the social life of those circles. 

HARRY ELMER McLANE. — Prominent among the men who have 
achieved success in the California oil fields largely because they have been 
experienced men in the industry in the East, having worked and studied in 
tevery department, becoming conversant with its every detail, is Harry Elmer 
McLane. field superintendent of the Standard Oil Company in Coalinga. who 
doubtless owes some of his recent prosperity to his wisdom in deciding, when 
at the turning in the road, to cast his fortune solely with the Standard and 
their future development. He was born in Derry township. Westmoreland 
County, Pa., March 12, 1863, the son of George McLane, who was born near 
Glasgow, Scotland; from which it will be seen that the family originated 
in a countrv that has undoubtedly given us some of its brainiest and most 
enterprising citizens. The father came out to America with his parents and 
settled at Derry ; and later, during the Civil War, he enlisted in a Pennsyl- 
vania regiment and was killed during the Battle of Gettysburg, in 1863. 

Harry McLane lived with an uncle, his mother's brother, a Mr. \\"m. 
Best, from 1873 to 1876, and having received a good education in the public 
schools, when fourteen years of age he started for the oil fields at Petrolia, 
Butler County, Pa., and there began, at the bottom rung of the ladder, to 
learn the business. In 1879 he was in the service of the Standard Oil Com- 
panv in different fields, Clarion. Venango, McKean, Butler and Warren 
counties, Pa., choosing the construction department: and it so happened that 
his first task was to assist in installing the first supply of natural gas used 
for domestic purposes and sold commercially. This gas was piped to Petrolia 
and Parker's Landing, and excited great interest and hopes. 

He was next engaged by the company at Maxburg and North Baltimore, 
Ohio, but after a while was transferred from the construction to the produc- 
tion department, and in 1888 was made production foreman in the Mount 
Morris Oil Fields of Pennsylvania and West Virginia. While his district 
was on the West Virginia side of the Mason and Dixon line, he made his 
residence at Mount Morris, Pa. In 1892 he was transferred to the McDonald 
oil field in Pennsylvania where he continued in the same capacity with dili- 
gent care and faithfulness, so that wherever he went, and whatever he under- 
took he was able to demonstrate capability above the average and so made 
both an enviable reputation and many friends. 

Wishing to engage in the oil business on his own account, he resigned 
his position with the Standard Oil Company on January 1, 1900, and for ten 





.d.^'^vUL 



HISTORY OF FRESNO COUNTY 1461 

years he was engaged as an oil operator and producer in the Pennsylvania 
fields, making his home and headquarters at McDonald, Pa., and during the 
time was very active and energetic. However, unfortunate investments and 
the drilling of too many dry holes, decided him to seek a new field, so choos- 
ing California, he came hither in 1910 and after a period of six months was 
so well impressed with conditions and possibilities that he decided to locate. 
Returning to Pennsylvania he shaped his affairs and brought his family to 
Coalinga in 1911. 

Desiring to again engage his services with the Standard Oil Company, 
with which he had already served so many years, he applied for a position 
with them on Section 28, and found that the only opportunity was a place 
as pumper. He knew full well it did not make any difference where he 
started, he only wanted a chance to show his ability and work up, for he 
had controlled hundreds of wells and managed hundreds of men in the East 
for the Standard, as well as for himself, and had such confidence in the 
Standard's disposition to reward merit and fidelity that he decided to accept 
the offer and began his duties. From pumper he was advanced March, 1912, 
to be production foreman, and then, in January, 1914, he was made assistant 
superintendent of this division. Finally, on March 1, 1916, he was made field 
superintendent of the Coalinga division of the Standard and he has held 
that responsible position ever since. He is in charge of all the properties 
in the producing department of the Coalinga field, and as 300 hands are 
employed, it will be seen that much depends upon his fidelity and common 
sense management. At camp there are machine and blacksmith shops and 
an ice plant, and natural gas is used for fuel for the boilers as well as for 
cooking and heating in the camp. 

Besides section 28, there are three other camps of the Standard in this 
division — Section 20, Section 22, and Section 2. The Standard, in this division, 
have their own school for the education of the children of their employees 
which is maintained by the company. The management of this school is a 
part of the duties of Mr. McLane as superintendent of the division. At first 
the county school authority did not recognize this school so the graduates 
had difficulty in entering the high schools of the county. Mr. McLane saw 
to it that their school had the same uniform textbooks and grades as the 
public schools of the county, so through his efforts it is now accredited and 
the graduates of the school on Standard 28, have no difficulty in entering 
the intermediate school and the Coalinga High School. 

Harry McLane is endowed with much native ability and business 
acumen which, coupled with years of valuable experience, makes it but 
natural that he presides successfully over large affairs. He is a very busy 
man, but finds time to look after the comfort and higher interests of the em- 
ployees for whose welfare he is very solicitous and leaves nothing undone 
to provide for their health and happiness. In this sensibly beneficent work, 
so important to the employer as well as to the employed, he has the hearty 
cooperation of the Standard Oil Company, whose fair attitude toward its 
workmen and representatives, the world over, is proverbial. During the 
war, when personal solicitation for funds for patriotic purposes had its 
objectional sides, as was shown in many communities, and perhaps even 
thwarted the good efforts of many to swell the campaigning funds, Mr. Mc- 
Lane originated the much preferred system of providing a general fund, to 
which each workingman would be invited to subscribe according to his 
means, and authorizing a committee, when the Red Cross and other approved 
agencies wished the sinews of war, to distribute according as the general 
fund subscribed permitted at the time. This resulted in the organization of 
the Coalinga War Fund Association, which accomplished the purpose desired. 

While at Petrolia, Pa., Mr. McLane was married to Miss Mary Keigh- 
ron, by whom he has had ten children, seven of whom grew to maturity. Leo, 



1462 HISTORY OF FRESNO COUNTY 

Victor, and Harry, in the United States Navy, the heavy artillery and the 
army overseas, are all experienced oil workers, and Frank is in the aviation 
section of the army that went to France. Loretta and Bernadette are at 
home; while Marion, next to the youngest, is Mrs. Richard B. Flynn of 
Fort Worth, Texas, the wife of a first lieutenant in the United States Army. 
Besides being chairman of the organization committee, and a director 
of the association having charge of the collection and distribution of war 
funds, Mr. McLane is both a member and a director of the Growler's Club. 
In Pennsylvania he was prominent in politics as a Democrat and a member 
of the county and state Democratic committees ; and in McDonald, where he 
resided during his active oil operations, he was elected justice of the city 
several terms, although the community was a Republican stronghold. He 
is also a vigorous member of the Chamber of Commerce at Coalinga. 

HOMER E. BUTCHER.— Born on a farm in Houston County, Minn., 
February 28, 1882, Homer E. Butcher attended the country schools of his 
native state, and when eighteen years of age went to Winona, and there 
attended the Toland Business College, taking a commercial and stenographic 
course. He then went to La Crosse, Wis., where he taught one term in the 
Toland Business College, and at the expiration of that time removed to 
Oelwein, Iowa, where, with a partner, he conducted the Oelwein Business 
University in that city for two years, and then sold out the business. Com- 
ing to Fresno in June, 1904, Mr. Butcher entered the employ of the Fresno 
Home Packing Company, in the office and sales department of that concern. 
He later went with the J. K. Armsby Company. In 1913 he entered the em- 
ploy of the Guggenhime Company, and now holds the position of auditor of 
all the plants of this company in the San Joaquin Valley, Mr. Butcher being 
located at the Fresno plant. 

In the midst of his other business interests, Mr. Butcher has found 
time to do some real estate developing in Fresno, having purchased five acres 
in North Fresno, the Wapella Tract, which he subdivided and sold off in 
lots. Fraternally he is a Woodman of the World, and has been through all 
the chairs in that order. 

The marriage of Mr. Butcher united him with Miss Ethel Davison, a 
native of Winona, Minn., and one daughter has been born to them, Wilma, 
a native of Fresno, and now a student in the high school. 

GERALDO J. FREITAS.— Whoever studies the early history of Cali- 
fornia pertaining to pioneer days must be impressed not only with the fact 
that many who engaged in the rougher, more difficult and sometimes less 
remunerative enterprises then necessary to paving the way and laying the 
foundations for a riper and richer civilization, either themselves survived to 
venture into other fields, or bequeathed to their immediate posterity that 
enviable blessing, but that among the empire-builders were no small number, 
during generation after generation, of those who first saw the light of day 
in a distant clime and often those who came from what might truly be called 
a corner of the earth. Numerous and successful among these have always 
been the natives of the far-famed, balmy Azores, who brought with them both 
a certain definite knowledge of how to do things and also the capacity for 
hard, willing, persistent work ; of which estimable citizens resident in Central 
California must be mentioned Geraldo J. Freitas, one of the big sheep raisers 
of the early, romantic days, who is now a wholesale liquor dealer as famed 
for the high standards in his business methods as for the choice quality of 
his wares. He was born in the beautiful Azores Islands on November 1, 
1862, and there grew up until near the end of his teens. What he attempted 
to learn, he learned thoroughly well; so that when he was ready to set out 
into the world, he was also prepared to grapple with its many problems and 
batter down some of the obstacles found insurmountable bv others. 



HISTORY OF FRESNO COUNTY 1465 

In 1880 he arrived in Fresno, and soon after embarked in the sheep busi- 
ness, in which he was destined to continue for twenty years, running- his sheep 
herds through the valley, and sometimes having as high as 6,000 sheep. So 
early did he pitch his tent here that he has seen Fresno grow from a very small 
town. Now he is active among a large population, and has many warm friends 
all over the county. 

After selling his sheep, he engaged in the transfer business in Fresno ; 
but in the spring of 1917 he opened a wholesale liquor store at 1836 Fresno 
Street. Air. Freitas is a widower and has one daughter — Mrs. Margaret Mello, 
of Fresno. He belongs to the I. D. E. S., the U. P. E. C. and the Eagles, 
and there are few more popular men in either organization. 

JOHN SUGLIAN. — Again and again America has thrown out the chal- 
lenge of success to the foreigner, and often the foreigner has accepted and 
made good. Woven into the warp and woof of our civilization, the foreign- 
born citizen adds strength to the whole fabric. Among those who have thus 
entered upon the privileges and responsibilities of loyal American citizenship 
is John Suglian, of Fresno, who was born in Austria, October 28, 1873, of 
Slavonian parents. His father, Marin Suglian, was a sailor, whose home was 
in Dalmatia, on the Adriatic Sea, when the son was born, but who died when 
John was only three months old. John was the youngest of five children, 
four boys and one girl. The mother remained a widow, and although poor 
she reared her family nobly. She died in Dalmatia in 1912. 

John Suglian grew up in Dalmatia until he was eighteen years of age, 
attended the native schools and learned the Slavonian language. At the age 
of eighteen he sailed from his native land for America, landing at New York 
and coming direct to Fresno, Cal., where he had some relatives. For nine 
months he worked in a restaurant in Fresno, and then he went to San Fran- 
cisco and learned the barber trade, remaining there one year. Returning 
then to Fresno, he soon became the proprietor of what is now the Oak Bar- 
ber Shop, 1055 I Street, which he operated for twenty-four years, and in 
which he is still interested. 

Being desirous of owning some real estate, Mr. Suglian purchased an 
eighty-acre ranch, which he has in alfalfa and vineyard, and this he rents out. 
Some five years ago he added to his holdings by the purchase of 125 acres, 
and upon this sanch he lives and runs a dairy, and raises hogs, chickens and 
horses. This ranch is situated two and a half miles south of the city limits 
of Fresno. He loves his stock, and fully enjoys rural life. 

Mr. Suglian came to America to avoid German militarism. His mother 
was very sorry to see him go, but provided him with $250 with which to 
make his journey comfortable. He was naturalized twenty-two years ago, 
became a Democrat, and entered politics in Fresno. He served on the board 
of trustees three and a half years, under the W. Parker Lyon administration, 
during which time the new city hall was built and the subway, sewers, and 
antiseptic tanks constructed. He has traveled extensively in the. United 
States, but has never found any place that suits him quite as well as Fresno 
and Fresno County; and he is proud of the progress the city and county 
have made, and of the industries he has seen established and their growth. 
He is a member of the Chamber of Commerce. A genial man and justly 
popular, he has many friends, and is a member of the Eagles, Foresters and 
Knights of Columbus. He belongs to the Catholic Church. 

October 28, 1897, Mr. Suglian married Miss Bertha Bernhauer, of Rock 
Island, III, who came to Fresno in 1891. To them have been born six chil- 
dren: Eva D., Tack M., Fred V., Francis J., George W. and Florian Virginia. 



1466 HISTORY OF FRESNO COUNTY 

PETER A. BORG.— In the life of Peter A. Borg, the skilled machinist 
and successful proprietor of the well-known general repair and machine shop 
at 1928 Mono Street, Fresno, is illustrated the results of perseverance, energy 
and intelligently directed efforts in his chosen line of endeavor. He is a 
native of Sweden, born September 30, 1866, a son of Olof and Martha (Olson) 
Borg, who were both natives of that country. In 1868, when Peter was two 
years old, the parents emigrated to the United States. The family lived in 
Iowa about twenty years, where four daughters were born, of whom only 
one is now living, Mrs. Amanda Peterson, of Fresno County. Mrs. Olof Borg 
died in Kingsburg, Cal., and Mr. Borg, now aged about eighty, makes his 
home with his daughter. 

For twenty years the father farmed in Hamilton County, Iowa, and in 
1889 migrated to the Golden State, locating near Kingsburg, Fresno County, 
Cal.. on January 21. At first he purchased twenty acres, which he planted 
to grapes, and later bought twenty acres more, where he made his home 
for ten years, after which he moved into Kingsburg where he lived two years. 
The mother passed away two years after reaching California. 

Peter A. Borg did not remain long in Kingsburg, but soon went to 
Fresno, and in 1890 opened a small blacksmith shop in partnership with N. 
Peterson, which he operated for three years, when he sold his interest and 
entered the employ of Kieldsen and Hall, and after four years with this 
firm, he purchased their blacksmith department and, with John Hjort as 
partner, opened a blacksmith shop on Fresno Street, between H and I Streets, 
where they conducted the business for three years. Afterwards he entered 
into partnership again with N. Peterson, for three years. After selling his 
interest he was employed in the Central Blacksmith Shop for about two 
years. For the next six years Mr. Borg was engaged as foreman of the 
machine shop of the Woodward Company. In 1916 Peter A. Borg opened 
his present well equipped shop at No. 1928 Mono Street, where he is busily 
engaged in conducting a general repair and machine shop. He is a thor- 
oughly experienced machinist, an enterprising and progressive business man, 
who has by untiring efforts and conscientious workmanship built up a splen- 
did business. His successful business management is evidenced by his 
realty holdings in the city of Fresno, where he has, besides his home at No. 
317 Effie Street, twenty residence lots. 

In 1892 Peter A. Borg was united in marriage with Chfistena Peterson, 
a native of Sweden, and this happy union has been blessed with two children: 
Edith, who is deceased; and Hilma, who is associated with the Neil-White 
Company of Fresno. Religiously, Mr. Borg is a conscientious member of the 
Swedish Lutheran Church, and he and his family are highly esteemed in 
their social circle and community. 

ANDREW J. FROWSING.— Among the popular business men of 
Fresno is Andrew J. Frowsing, who, as a member of the firm known as the 
White . Meat Packing Company, wholesale and retail dealers in meat and 
meat products in Fresno County, is achieving much in a business which re- 
quires tact and judgment. Mr. Frowsing was born in Fresno County on 
August 27, 1886, a son of Martin M. Frowsing, who was a merchant in 
Fresno. Andrew J. obtained a good education in the public schools of the 
Fresno Colony and the Artesia districts, which was supplemented by attend- 
ing the schools of the city of Fresno, until 1895, when he entered "the Palo 
Alto Meat Market, which was owned by his father and remained with him 
for a year perfecting himself in the trade, with which he had become so 
familiar from a mere lad. He then spent eighteen months attending the 
Fresno high school, after which he was employed in the Anderson and Moore 
butcher shop for a year, and two years were spent in the Yeitor Market. 
Equipped with a thorough knowledge of the butcher business, Mr. Frowsing 
formed a partnership with W. A. White, under the name of White and 



HISTORY OF FRESNO COUNTY 1469 

Frowsing, their business grew in volume and in 1910 they incorporated under 
the name of the White Meat Packing Company, Mr. Frowsing being elected 
vice-president and appointed manager of the wholesale department. They 
own a fine market at 1027 I Street, and a large slaughter-house on Fig and 
North Avenue. In both shop and slaughter-house their equipment is of the 
most modern and they do a large business as wholesalers and retailers of 
meats. A force of about fifty employes is necessary for the conduct of their 
growing business. 

Mr. Frowsing was married at Visalia, February 4, 1911, to Miss Hazel 
Pinkley, an estimable and popular young lady. She died in Fresno on Novem- 
ber 1, 1918, and was mourned by a large circle of friends. Mr. Frowsing is a 
member of the Woodmen of the World and of the Eagles. He is also a very 
welcome member in Fresno Parlor No. 9 Native Sons of the Golden West 
In politics he is a supporter of Republican principles. He is a liberal and 
helpful citizen of whom any community might well feel proud. 

DAVID WILLIAMSON. — An honored pioneer of, and one of the most 
successful raisin growers in the Lone Star District of Fresno County is 
David Williamson, the owner of two valuable vineyards. He is what is 
commonly termed a self-made man, and one who has by perseverance and 
intelligent and industrious efforts become a prosperous vineyardist. David 
Williamson was born May 21, 1865, in the Shetland Islands. His parents were 
Henry and Janet (Isbister) Williamson, both natives of the Isle of Unst, 
one of the group forming the Shetland Islands. The father followed fishing, 
and the family consisted of three boys and one girl. 

In 1872 the Williamson family emigrated to St. John, New Brunswick, 
and it was here that David was reared and received his education, being 
brought up on a woodland farm where he learned farming and lumbering. 
In the fall of 1887 the parents moved to California, locating for two years in 
the Temperance Colony, Fresno County. In 1889 the family settled in the 
Lone Star District, where the father purchased twenty acres, which with 
the aid of his son David he improved. At this time there were very few 
vineyards in the Lone Star District, wheat being the principal crop raised. 
At first, David worked on grain ranches, but later on he went into the moun- 
tains, where he was engaged in lumbering. He was a very industrious and 
persevering young man and soon became interested in planting vineyards, 
and he has planted over three hundred acres for himself and others. He has 
planted, improved and sold several ranches in the vicinity of Lone Star and 
now owns an excellent raisin ranch of forty acres east of Lone Star, and 
other valuable vineyards, including a half interest in the "old place," the 
original twenty acres purchased by his father. Mr. Williamson's mother 
passed away on September 23, 1918, at Ashland. Ore., on her eighty-third 
birthday. His father is still living at Ashland and is in his eighty-second 
year. 

In 1898, David Williamson was united in marriage with Miss Catherine 
E. McFarlane, a native of Kansas, daughter of John and Susie E. McFarlane, 
both natives of Canada and pioneers of 1880 in Fresno County, who now 
reside on U Street, Fresno. Mr. and Mrs. David Williamson are the parents 
of five children : Frank, now twenty years of age, who registered for the 
United States Army, but was not called for duty; Harry, who is at home 
helping his father; Max, now nine years old; Doris: and the youngest, 
David B., Jr., now two and a half years of age. Mr. and Mrs. Williamson and 
their excellent familv are very highly respected in the Lone Star District, 
and are members of "the First Presbyterian Church at Fowler. Mr. William- 
son is very progressive in business affairs. He was one of the organizers, 
and helped to build, the packing house at Lone Star which is now owned 
and operated by the California Associated Raisin Company, of which he is 
a member and enthusiastic supporter. 



1470 HISTORY OF FRESNO COUNTY 

HAROLD E. DWELLE.— None other of the leading- professions, it is 
safe to say, was so early recognized as of necessity and almost unlimited 
possibility of good, or has been so often honored by the State of California 
as that of the law. Prominent among the members of the California bar is 
the Hon. Harold E. Dwelle, assistant district attorney of Fresno County, 
who was born in Brooklyn, N. Y., while it was still the City of Churches. 
on December 17, 1882. His father was James C. Dwelle, and he married 
Miss Mary A. White, a lady widely esteemed in her youth as both a beauti- 
ful and an accomplished woman. In 1887 the family came west to the city 
of Fresno, and finding Fresno an attractive place. Mr. Dwelle located there, 
and for a few months worked as a wood engraver. Then he bought a place 
laid out as an orchard and vineyard on Cherry Avenue, which he operated 
for the period of one year ; then moved to a twenty-acre ranch on Elm Ave- 
nue, near Easton. In 1914, however, he was injured and after three years of 
painful suffering as an invalid, he passed to his eternal reward on January 
23. 1917. A hard worker according to the most progressive methods, straight- 
forward in all his dealings so that he scorned to take advantage of anyone, 
kindly and helpful in his relations to others, he was mourned by the entire 
community. His good wife is still living. 

Educated at the public school at Easton, Harold pushed on through the 
Washington union high school at Easton, and still determined to reach a 
greater and more difficult goal, he entered the University of California and, 
in 1907, was graduated with honors and the coveted B. L. degree. Pushing 
out into the world, he became a clerk in Department No. 2, of the Superior 
Court, and while holding that important position he also became law librarian 
and so systematized it as to greatly increase its value to the bench and bar 
of Fresno County. In 1911 he matriculated at the University of California 
Law School and graduated, with the class of 1912, with the degree of LL.B. 
Throughout his courses in the lecture-rooms, he was favored by a close per- 
sonal acquaintance with a number of his instructors, who were men of large 
calibre, with a profound knowledge of law, so that his superior training is 
at all times apparent in his own life and work. An active Democrat, but 
something much more — a loyal, public-spirited citizen — Attorney Dwelle was 
appointed, in February, 1913, deputy district attorney of Fresno County, he 
having already opened an office and begun to evidence the kind of stuff that 
is in him. He entered at once on the discharge of his complex and responsible 
duties, and ever since he has been making good. Neither pains nor expense 
is spared by him to come up to the full measure of his calling; and when 
there is work that should be done, the clock plays but a small role in his 
routine. On January 1, 1918, he resigned as deputy district attorney in order 
to give his entire time to his private practice, and since January 1, 1918, his 
offices have been 409 Cory Building, and his clientage is constantly on the 
increase. 

On June 27, 1912, in the town of Fowler, Mr. Dwelle was married to 
Miss Edith M. Blayney; and then and there he took to himself a mate who 
has indeed proven the greatest of possible helps. Five children have blessed 
this marriage — Harold E., Jr., Dorsey K. and Vernon R., Mary A. and Allan 
K.. all of whom contribute life and warmth to the hospitable Dwelle home. 
The family worship as Protestants, and Mr. Dwelle is a Woodman of the 
World. He is also a charter member of the University Club. 

RUSSELL UHLER. — Of particular historic interest as a public official, 
because of the fact that he is the first to occupy his position as county 
purchasing agent since his department was created, is Russell Uhler, a native 
of the Golden State and the son of J. Clement and Emma (Conkling) Uhler. 
His father was a banker and stockbroker, who settled in San Francisco in 



HISTORY OF FRESNO COUNTY 1471 

1865. Both parents left behind them enviable reputations as citizens, neigh- 
bors and friends. 

Born in San Francisco on June 1, 1875, Russell was educated at the 
William Penn Charter School in Philadelphia, and at the University of Penn- 
sylvania, and while yet a young man engaged in stock-raising in Wyoming, 
continuing in that strenuous field of activity for eight years. There, too, he 
got his first touch with public life, serving in the Seventh and Eighth Wyom- 
ing legislatures which opened their sessions in 1902 and 1904. Alert and 
watchful for the best interests of both his district and the state, Mr. Uhler 
soon made a wide and desirable reputation for unselfish service to his con- 
stituency. Disposing of his cattle interests in 1907, he took up his residence 
at Fresno, and for one and a half years engaged in the wholesale grain and 
seed business. 

On January 8, 1903, Mr. Uhler married Miss Emily Robinson ; and the 
result of this marriage has been the birth of two attractive children — Harry 
and Maurice. Active as a Woodman of the World, Mr. Uhler is equally 
popular in Commercial Club circles. A Democrat, and chairman of the Demo- 
cratic Central Committee since 1912, Mr. Uhler served for a couple of years 
as clerk of the court, and he is now completing, to everybody's satisfaction, 
his sixth year as county purchasing agent. 

GEORGE EDWARD HOSPOOL.— A thoroughly trained and ex- 
perienced farmer and stockman who has thereby become one of the most 
representative of Oregonians in the Golden State and a scientifically equipped 
ranchman whom the supervisors did well to make the superintendent of the 
county farms, is George Edward Hospool, who came to Fresno at the be- 
ginning of the last decade, and who has worked hard to advance the interests 
of Fresno County ever since. He was born near La Grande, Union County, 
Ore., December 11, 1872, the son of George Hospool, a native of London, 
England, who had been apprenticed to a butcher and, after completing his 
trade, came to America and to the state of Iowa. In the fifties he crossed 
the plains with the usual ox-teams over the Oregon trail and settled in Grand 
Ronde Valley, where he and a couple of others were the first three settlers. 
The valley was named by a comrade, La Grande, and so the first town was 
named after him. George Hospool there took up a ranch, and when the 
population of the district increased, he built the first store there, and pro- 
vided the first stock of goods for the convenience of the neighborhood. He 
engaged in butchering and made trips east across the plains; and on his 
first return trip to the Pacific Coast brought out his wife and her parents. 
Having sold his ranch, he continued in the butcher business ; and when he 
retired" in 1892, he had three shops. He died, widely known and genuinely 
respected, in 1898. 

Mrs. Hospool was Eliza Lewis before her marriage in Iowa, and she 
early shared the pioneer life of her husband by crossing the plains with 
him at a time when such a journey was as full of inconvenience as it was 
fraught with bodily danger. .She died when the subject of this sketch was 
only fifteen months old, passing away in 1874, the mother of two children. 
One of these, Ida, now Mrs. Richardson, resides in Pendleton, Ore. ; and 
the other is George Edward, who was the younger. 

Brought up at La Grande, he attended the public school there, and next 
went to the excellent high school at Colfax, Whitman County, Wash. He 
assisted his father in the butcher trade until he was nineteen or over, and 
then he began for himself. Having been associated with his father, he had 
received one of the most thorough trainings ; and coupling his own natural 
enterprise to what he had thus acquired, he was soon ready to make himself 
properly heard from. He went to Willow County, Ore., and entered the em- 
ploy of a ranchman, for whom he rode the range. Next he moved to Harney 
County, and there, continuing to roam the range, worked for Pete French 



1472 HISTORY OF FRESNO COUNTY 

for a couple of years. After that he pushed on to Boise City, Idaho, where he 
opened a meat market, which he ran for a year, and then sold out. In 1900 
Mr. Hospool showed his practical discernment and acute appreciation of 
values in respect to the future when he came to Fresno and located. He en- 
tered the employ of Kennedy and Owen, and for six years was foreman of their 
cattle ranch. He also established the Union Market at the corner of O and 
Stanislaus Streets ; and when he sold the same, he bought a ranch of forty 
acres on Jensen Avenue. Mr. Hospool entered the dairy business, but after 
a year sold out. He then gave his services to the Consumers Ice Company, 
and for three years continued with their wholesale department. 

About October, 1916, Mr. Hospool became superintendent, through ap- 
pointment from the board of supervisors, of the County Farms, and soon had 
full charge of the two hundred acres on Ventura Avenue. As may be imag- 
ined, it was a responsible position, with a herd of thirty-four fine dairy Hoi- 
stein cows ; but he was just the man for the place, and soon demonstrated his 
peculiar fitness. A Democrat in politics, his personality together with his 
natural and developed ability have always attracted his fellow-citizens and 
those having business dealings with him, regardless of political lines or creed. 

At Elko, in Nevada, Mr. Hospool was married to Miss Gertrude David- 
son, a native of Oakland, Cal., by whom he has had one child, Edna; and 
Mrs. Hospool has more and more shared her husband's popularity, while 
contributing immeasurably, as every such good housewife does, to his success. 

WILLIAM F. JONES.— A native son, William F. Jones, the popular 
sheriff of Fresno County, was born in Tehama County, July 31, 1874, a son 
of William Z. and Helen (Supan) Jones, natives of New York and Missouri 
respectively. The parents were pioneers of California, the father having 
been engaged in the stock business in Tehama County for many years. He 
died in 1879, respected and admired as an exemplary citizen of the state. 

On reaching his thirteenth year, and after he had received a common 
country school education, William F. began to work in the woods of his 
native county making shakes. His boyhood had not been devoid of those 
experiences that demonstrate the pitfalls for lads of his years, and he thus 
early learned the necessity of "holding his own" on all occasions. He worked 
faithfully at the tasks given him to do, winning the respect of his employers, 
and was advanced from one position to another through merit. He worked 
for the Sierra Lumber Company in Tehama County for seven years, and for a 
time was employed in Terry's Mill in Shasta County. He became a leader 
of men and had the faculty of getting the average of accomplishment out of 
their labors with but a small amount of friction. Thus the years he spent 
as manager of the logging camps in Shasta, Siskiyou and Tehama Counties 
enabled him to gain a firm grasp on the business he was following and make 
a place for himself in the world. 

In 1907 Mr. Jones came down to Fresno County. The first two years 
of his stay here he helped build the mills at Hume; in fact, he put the first 
axe in the timber when the mill was started, and from that time until he 
relinquished his position he had charge of all the work except that of the 
sawyers. He built over a hundred miles of railroad, miles of wagon roads in 
the mountains, stores, schoolhouse, hospital, and such other buildings as 
were required in a lumber and mill town and camp. His greatest success in 
his labors was in working for the interests of his employers and the men in 
conjunction, thus bringing harmony between labor and capital. Many times 
he had over 500 men under his supervision, and the confidence they had in 
him was such that he acted as arbitrator, settling their many personal diffi- 
culties, and thereby was able to get a larger amount of work out of them 
than is usual, and at the same time the work was done cheerfully by them. 

After living at the camp two years. Mr. Jones went to Sanger and there 
bought a home and soon was interested in various movements for the develop- 




$j£+sd ^/&tvi^0^ 




T^asi^ ja \ Gsrvts*^*-**? 



HISTORY OF FRESNO COUNTY 1477 

ment of the little town. He was a partner in the Sanger Plumbing House, 
and in 1912 was one of the organizers of the Kings River and Hume Auto 
Service Company. However, he did not let these interests interfere with his 
superintendency of the work at Hume for the lumber company. 

An epoch in his life opened to him in 1918, when he was prevailed upon 
to become a candidate for sheriff of Fresno County. From a small lad he 
had entertained aspirations of such an honor, and he decided he would enter 
the campaign. This was the first time he had ever entered into politics in 
any way. For seven months he conducted a personal canvas throughout the 
county, and by his straighforward manner easily convinced the people he 
met that he would administer justice as it was called for in such a position. 
He organized a "Jones-for-Sheriff Club" and at the primaries had received 
the votes necessary to place his name on the ticket at the election to be held 
in November. It must not be inferred that Mr. Jones did not meet with op- 
position, for he was unknown to the great majority of the voters of the 
county and his contest was bitterly opposed by other candidates. He was 
elected by a safe majority and assumed the duties of the office on January 6, 
1919. It is safe to say that no other officer has ever gone into that office with 
less friction on all sides than has Mr. Jones. He is discharging the duties 
of the office without fear or favor, upholding the majesty of the law as his 
conscience dictates, and has won commendation from all parties. The suc- 
cess that he has attained only goes to show what a man can do when he once 
sets a goal for his ambition. 

The marriage of William F. Jones united him with Estella Moss, a 
native daughter of Tehama County, whose parents are numbered among the 
pioneers there. One daughter has been born to them, Ina L. Jones. Mr. 
Tones is a member of Sanger Lodge, No. 316, F. & A. M. and of Las Palmas 
Lodge, No. 343, F. & A. M., and Fresno Parlor, No. 9, N. S. G. W., both 
of this city. Since assuming the duties of his office, he has removed the 
family home to Fresno. A hale fellow well met and always fearless in the dis- 
charge of his duties, he is heartily in accord with every movement for advanc- 
ing the public welfare of the county of his adoption. 

A. G. JOHNSON. — A successful rancher who has risen, step by step, to 
become a leader in his field of endeavor, and who, with broad-minded vision, 
has become an enthusiastic and guiding booster, is A. G. Johnson, who for 
the past eleven years has resided in the Mendocino district on his ranch of 
forty acres. This is on the old Kingsburg-Centerville road, six miles due north 
of Kingsburg, and six miles south and half a mile east of Sanger, and one and 
a quarter miles northwest of Parlier. He was born at Palmyra, Marion 
County, Mo., about twelve miles west of the Mississippi River, the son of 
Albert Gallatin Johnson, who was a native of Pennsylvania and a descendant 
of Dutch pioneers who migrated from Holland in the early part of the 
eighteenth centur}'. Born in 1804, the father came to Missouri when a young 
man, and died at the age of sixty-seven years, nine miles northwest of Pal- 
myra, on the old Johnson home farm of 640 acres. A successful farmer, he 
was also a splendid provider, and always had plenty in the larder for his large 
family. He was married three times. By his first wife he had one child, a 
girl. His second wife was the mother of our subject, and her maiden name 
was Elizabeth Turner. She was of Scottish descent, and transmitted the in- 
fluence of an exceptionally strong character to her children. These numbered 
eleven, eight of whom grew to maturity. When she died our subject was only 
seventeen years old, and his father married two years later for the third time, 
and soon after that marriage he died. 

Born on November 4, 1851, the ninth child in the family, A. G. Johnson 
lived in Missouri through the very troublous days of the Civil War, in a 
period when no person's life was really safe. As a boy he saw more than one 
man run for his life, and on more than one occasion saw a man carrying a 



1478 HISTORY OF FRESNO COUNTY 

fire-arm or other weapon run after another for the purpose of taking life; 
slavery was the constantly debated theme, and while his father objected to 
slavery, he remained loyal to the South. When he was ten years old the lad 
started to work on the farm, and even at that age he proved his father's 
only support. He and an adopted boy, a year younger, raised thirty-five 
acres of corn that yielded eighty bushels to the acre. His education, therefore, 
was very limited. After his father's death he continued to work on the estate 
until all was settled and the property was distributed, then the sales were 
made to Fielding M. Johnson, who now lives retired at the corner of Fulton 
and Angus Streets in Fresno. 

At nineteen years of age Mr. Johnson came west to California, traveling 
by way of the Central Pacific Railroad and arriving in San Francisco on 
October 8, 1870. He went to Santa Rosa, where he stopped, for fifteen days, 
and thence to Colusa, where he worked for J. T. Marr, the grain and stock 
farmer, for a couple of years. He next went back to Missouri, visited there a 
short while, then went to Texas in the days of the "Texas steer," and so be- 
came a cow-boy and cattleman. He grew to be an adept with the lariat, and 
at one time was in the saddle for forty-six days, getting out of it only long 
enough to catch a little nap and take a bite to eat. That was on the rodeo or 
round-up. He followed the cattle business for five years in Texas, and made 
money, but lost it all in a year of excessive drought. 

Once again he went back to Missouri, this time with a definite purpose. 
On February 6, 1879, Mr. Johnson and Miss Mary Garrard were married, nor 
could a union have been more fortunate. Mrs. Johnson was born in Marion 
County. Mo., the oldest of the five children of Edward Hector Garrard, a na- 
tive of Bourbon County, Ky.. and Susan (James) Garrard, born in Accomac 
County, Va. Mrs. Johnson is a grand-daughter of Massena and Elizabeth 
(Fry) Garrard, the former born in Bourbon County. Ky., and the latter in 
New York state. The grandfather married in Kentucky and moved to Marion 
County, Mo., where Mrs. Johnson's father was reared. Mrs. Johnson's great- 
grandfather was Gen. James Garrard, born in Kentucky, and who served as 
a general in the War of 1812, and he was a son of Gov. James Garrard, gov- 
ernor of Kentucky, and who was born in Virginia, of French Huguenot stock, 
who fled from France to England in 1640, and one of whom, William Garrard, 
settled in Wharton Parish, Stafford County, Va., about the year 1700, the 
said William being the progenitor of the Garrard family in America, a family 
distinguished for its strong, able men ; wealthy stockmen and horsemen, and 
for its handsome women. Mrs. Johnson can therefore trace her lineage to 
the earliest and most brilliant periods of old Virginia. She was reared and 
educated at Van Rensselaer Seminary. Missouri, and later she attended Col- 
lege Mound Presbyterian College, pursuing a modern classical course. 

Mr. Johnson remained in Texas three years after his marriage, when 
he closed out the cattle business, and with his wife and child returned .to 
Nevada City, Vernon County, Mo., his wife's home, with only $750 in his 
pockets. That small sum of money meant much to him then, and he invested 
it rather gingerly in sheep and shorthorn cattle in the Ozark Mountains ; 
but he soon sold out and came to Houston, Texas County, Mo. There he 
farmed for three years, and became the owner of a ranch of eighty acres ; but 
after a couple of years he sold his farm and for a second time came to Cal- 
ifornia. This was the first trip, however, for Mrs. Johnson, and proved to 
her a novel experience. The couple at first went to Fort Bragg, in Mendocino 
County, and there Mr. Johnson worked in the saw mills for three years, after 
which he went to Bear Harbor, the same county, where he worked for Colonel 
Stewart for a year making railway ties. Thence he proceeded clown the coast 
to Usal, Mendocino County, and there they stopped for another three years 
while Mr. Johnson again worked in the saw mill. He next moved on to Cleone. 
three miles north of Fort Bragg, where he farmed and for a couple of years 
worked in a saw mill. 



HISTORY OF FRESNO COUNTY 1479 

In 1900, Mr. Johnson and his family pitched their tent in Fresno, and the 
following year he rented land about a mile and a half north of this place. 
Then he went to East Oakland, and rented 160 acres and was there for three 
years, and after that he migrated from place to place until he settled more 
permanently in this section. On taking up his present estate, he was con- 
fronted with the problem of a tract of wheat stubble. At first he bought 
eighty acres, raised grain for two seasons, and then decided on fruit culture ; 
so he sold about forty acres, twenty at each end, and has planted the center 
that he retained. He has set out trees and vines, and made many improve- 
ments, including the erection of a neat bungalow, and now he has twenty- 
eight acres of muscat vines, seven acres of peaches, four acres of alfalfa, and 
an acre in buildings and yards. He obtains water from the Consolidated Ditch 
Company, and has two acres devoted to stock and domestic use. Search where 
you may, it would be difficult to find a more attractive home ranch of the size. 

Mr. and Mrs. Johnson have had seven children : Lillie May is the wife' 
of James Wilson, a farmer of Mendocino County ; Russell, the second child, 
died when he was a year old ; Alberta, a Red Cross nurse, is in France ; Albert 
is in Tampico, on the Gulf of Mexico, engaged in the oil business ; Annie is 
the wife of Charles Bride, a successful oil-well driller at Coalinga, and re- 
sides on the Dutch Shell Lease; Lulu is the wife of L. E. Smith, the electri- 
cian, and lives near San Francisco ; and Arthur went to the Philippines, en- 
listed in the United States Army and is now a corporal, in service at Vladi- 
vostok, Russia. 

A stockholder and active member of the California Associated Raisin 
Company, and of the Peach Growers Association, Mr. Johnson is also very 
keenly interested in civic affairs and the great political questions of the day. 
In national politics he follows the standards of the Democratic party, but in 
matters of local import he proves his good citizenship by voting for the best 
men and the wisest measures. 

CHARLES E. PHILLIPS, D.D.S.— Prominent among the professional 
men of Fresno, in which city he has been engaged in the practice of dentistry 
for the past seventeen years, Charles E. Phillips has achieved success in his 
chosen profession and ranks among the leading dentists of Central Califor- 
nia. Born in Garrett County, Ky., July 26, 1878, he received his education 
in the graded schools of Lancaster, that state. On finishing his general school- 
ing, he entered the Louisville Dental College, at Louisville, Ky., and after 
finishing his course at that institution, entered the Cincinnati Dental College, 
at Cincinnati, Ohio. On completing his studies, Dr. Phillips worked as an 
assistant in dental offices in Lancaster, Ky., and Cincinnati, Ohio. With the 
West beckoning him to a land of greater opportunity, he came to California, 
arriving in Fresno April 29, 1902. Here he worked as assistant in the office 
of Dr. B. B. Cory for four years. He then took the state board examination, 
in the sprijig of 1907, was admitted to practice, and has since that date 
practiced for himself, with a large clientele in Fresno and the surrounding 
country, his offices being at 508 Rowell Building. He is an associate member 
of the Southern California Dental Association, and is a charter member of 
the X-ray Dental Association of Fresno. This association was formed in 1917, 
and has seventeen members, the organization owning a complete X-ray dental 
outfit, which appliance is now universally used in modern dentistry and is of 
inestimable benefit to suffering humanity. 

Dr. Phillips has taken an active part in athletics during his residence in 
the city. For seven years he was one of the leaders in athletics in the Fresno 
Y. M. C. A., and was senior leader in classes. He has a gold medal received 
for leading in five events in the athletic sports of the Y. M. C. A., no small 
honor, for any man. Besides his professional duties, Dr. Phillips has been 
interested in horticulture here, owning a peach orchard in Fresno County, 
which property he later disposed of. He is a member of the Merchants' Asso- 



1480 HISTORY OF FRESXO COUNTY 

ciation, the Chamber of Commerce, and the Commercial Club, among- busi- 
ness orders ; and fraternally he belongs to the B. P. O. Elks, the Woodmen 
of the World, and the Red Men. A well-met and universally liked man, he is 
a popular figure in the life of the community, always ready to do his share 
in furthering the march of progress which is making Fresno one of the most 
prosperous cities in the state. 

Dr. Phillips' marriage united him with Verna E. Stickles, a native of 
Oklahoma, and one child has been born to them, a daughter, Dorothy Allene. 

ALEXANDER MANEELY.— A railroad man widely experienced in the 
construction of railroad facilities, and who has cleverly solved the problem, 
during an unusually busy life, of little by little improving a farm and gradu- 
ally acquiring for himself and family one of the most desirable of home places, 
is Alexander Maneely, a native of Canada, the neighboring land that has 
supplied so much brain and brawn for the development of the American Re- 
public. He was born at Blenheim, Ontario, on April 25, 1859, and there 
reared on a farm, while he attended the Canadian public schools. 

Alexander's father was John Maneely, a native of County Cavan, Ireland, 
who grew up there under favoring conditions and first came to Ontario when 
he was thirty years of age. He was thus able to make a good start in the 
New World, and one of the first steps of importance in the right direction was 
his marriage, in Ontario, to Catherine Johnston, like himself of Irish birth. 
She came from Enniskillen, one of the most romantic of all parts of Erin's 
Isle; and her sunnv temperament had its beneficent influence on husband 
and family. John Maneely was a weaver, and in Ontario he followed the 
manufacture of cloth. There, too, he died, survived by Mrs. Maneely. the 
mother of six children, who now lives in Manitoba. 

After he had finished school, Alexander left farm work for that of a 
saw-mill, and when almost sixteen years old, a young age for such responsi- 
bility, he began to work for the Great Western Railway on one of their 
sections in Ontario. After five years' service, when his ability and fidelity 
were duly recognized, he accepted a still better post with the Canadian 
Pacific, with the crew in charge of construction work in Manitoba, as far as 
Swift Current; after which he worked back to Winnipeg on the southwestern 
branch. He then returned east and next spring went out again on the Mani- 
toba and Northwestern as foreman of construction, and then he was made 
roadmaster on the same line from Portage la Prairie to Yorkton. the end of 
the line. A year later they discontinued the extra roadmaster and Mr. Man- 
eelv returned to the vard as foreman at Portage la Prairie, where he remained 
until 1900. 

At the beginning of this momentous centurv, Mr. Maneely came to Cali- 
fornia and located in Los Angeles County, where he secured an excellent 
position with the Southern Pacific Railroad Company. For three years he 
was their foreman at Ravena : but, attracted by Fresno County an,d its won- 
derful advantages, he came to Fresno in 1903. and engaged with the old 
Fresno City Railway, contracting to construct the streetcar line under Griffith 
& McKenzie. He had charge of the construction until the railway was com- 
pleted, when he was made general foreman, and put in charge of the con- 
struction work needed from time to time ; and in that office he continued until 
about 1910, when F. W. Webster took the road over for the Southern Pacific. 
and then he sub-contracted under him and had charge of double-tracking the 
city lines. He continued general foreman until seven years ago. when he 
went to Stockton to take charge of the construction of extensions of the 
Stockton Electric Railway: then he was a season in P.akersfield. double-track- 
ing the car-lines there; after which he returned to Stockton, on the con- 
struction of the street-car lines to Exeter, for the Yisalia Electric Railway, 
and having successfully completed that work. Mr. Maneely returned to his 
ranch, in 1917. 




<2&f«~X. ^<— ^ 



HISTORY OF FRESNO COUNTY 1483 

He had bought this place of 100 acres on the San Joaquin River, about 
fourteen miles north of Fresno, in Barstow Colony, in 1905, and with the aid 
of his son, he rapidly improved it. He built a fine residence and the neces- 
sary farm buildings, and located his family there, leaving them in charge 
while he was away on railway construction. He planted forty acres to alfalfa, 
and set out thirty-five acres in Thompson seedless and four acres in apricots, 
while he also provided for twelve acres of peaches. His son, Lawrence Man- 
eely, has long had the care of the ranch, and to him is due much of the credit 
for the trim appearance of one of the finest farm-properties of its size in 
Central California. Both father and son are represented in the California 
Associated Raisin Company and the California Pea"ch Growers, Inc. 

At Portage la Prairie, Mr. Maneely was married in 1888 to Miss Eliza- 
beth Johnson, a native of Ontario, and they have five children: Ethel is 
Mrs. G. P. Dunham of Fresno ; Ida has become Mrs. St. Clair of the same 
city; Lawrence is in charge of the Maneely ranch; Irene is a graduate of 
Heald's Business College at Fresno ; and Hazel is attending the Kerman 
union high school. The family attends the Baptist Church in Fresno. 

Mr. Maneely is a Republican in the great national issues, but works for 
local civic improvement regardless of party lines. In fraternal matters, too. his 
sympathies are broad ; he was made a Mason at Paisely, Ontario, although 
he is not active now; and while in Ontario he used to be an Odd Fellow. 
He was also, while there, a member of the Knights of Pythias. Today his 
family and his home-place and his part in civic life so engross him that he 
has turned aside from what was once a pleasant social affiliation. 

J. C. CHRISTENSEN. — Success has characterized the various business 
enterprises undertaken by J. C. Christensen, the subject of this review, ever 
since his coming to California in the spring of 1890. 

J. C. Christensen is a native of Esbjerg, Denmark, where he was born 
November 19, 1864. His father, Christ Petersen, was a Danish farmer, his 
mother, in maidenhood, was Marie Westersen, and they were the parents of 
twelve children, eleven of whom are living, J. C. being the third oldest. He 
received his early education in the public school of his native country and 
after completing his studies at the Copenhagen high school attended the 
agricultural college at Herning, for one year. Following his school days he 
became the manager of a dairy farm at Als, Schlesvig, where he remained for 
two years. 

In the spring of 1890, he emigrated to San Francisco, Cal. where he 
learned the trade of a cook. After following this line of work until 1895, J. C. 
Christensen decided to start in business for himself, and opened a restaurant 
on East Street, where he continued for fifteen months when he sold his busi- 
ness and again followed his trade of a cook. Later he opened another restau- 
rant, this one was known as the Fourth Street Cafe, located on Fourth Street 
near Market Street, where he successfully operated the business for three 
years when he disposed of it at a good profit. Afterwards he purchased a 
restaurant on Sixth Street, known as the Walkaway Restaurant, and this 
place he continued to operate for three years until he sold out Januarv 1, 
1903, when he spent some time traveling about the state until he reached 
Fresno, March of the same year. Possessed of sagacious and far-sighted 
business judgment, Mr. Christensen soon realized that the city of Fresno 
needed a first class restaurant, which he at once established, on J Street, under 
the name of the Fresno Cafe, and where he continued to successfully operate 
the business for ten years when he sold out. During the ten years that he 
conducted the restaurant Mr. Christensen built up a very large and lucrative 
business making the handsome sum of $30,000. 

In 1911 Mr. Christensen bought a vineyard of forty-seven and a half 
acres located at Oleander, Fresno County, naming it, after his little daughter, 
Dora's Vineyard. This property was devoted to muscat vines and the rais- 



1484 HISTORY OF FRESNO COUNTY 

ing of alfalfa, and he continued to operate it until the spring of 1917, when 
he sold it and purchased ten acres of land on White's Bridge Road, which he 
improved and set out to Thompson seedless grapes. In 1908 Mr. Christensen 
purchased an apartment house at 1703 J Street, Fresno, which he remodeled 
and leased out all the apartments, except the one where he makes his home 
with his family. 

J. C. Christensen was united in marriage with Miss Thora Hansen, a 
native of Denmark, the ceremony being solemnized in San Francisco. This 
happy union was blessed with one child, a daughter, Dora Marie. Fraternally, 
Mr. Christensen is a Mason, member of Crocker Lodge, No. 139, F. & A. M., 
San Francisco, Cal. and is also a member of both the Danish Brotherhood 
and of Dania, at Fresno, having served as president of the Dania at San 
Francisco for three terms. In national politics he is a Republican and is a 
member and stockholder of the California Associated Raisin Company. Mr. 
Christensen is very public spirited and liberal hearted, a genial and com- 
panionable citizen who has the happy faculty of making and retaining friends. 

WILLIAM LYNCH. — A fine old man. unusually interesting as a pioneer 
who crossed the great plains in the early fifties and, despite many hardships, 
has been an upbuilder in every community in which he has cast his lot, is 
William Lynch who was born near Huntsville, Madison County, Ark., on 
December 27, 1842, the son of Daniel Lynch, a native of Virginia. His mother, 
who was Nancy Sharp before her marriage, came from Alabama. The par- 
ents were farmers and assuredly belonged to that most valuable class of 
forerunners who laid the foundations of our great country. Daniel Lynch 
died in 1850, and Mrs. Lynch passed away the following year, the mother of 
ten children. One of these children, Edwin, served with honor in the Mexi- 
can War ; while a sister Mary married George W. Gibson, and with him 
William came across the plains when he was only ten years of age, and drove 
some cattle. William had a horse and helped drive the cattle, of which there 
were over two hundred head, with some horses. The party traveled with 
ox teams and wagons, and was six months making the trip. This was in 
1853, and it was necessary to proceed up the Arkansas River for 400 miles 
to the Rocky Mountains, then by way of the Sublette cut-off, past Fort Ben- 
ton, then south of Fort Laramie, next across the Platte River, cutting their 
way through the pinery; and then across the Green River, and after that to 
Fort Bridger. The company, large, strong and well-armed, then proceeded 
north of Salt Lake on Bear River, past Soda Springs and then on to the 
Humboldt River, then across the desert to Carson River, and there they 
left the cattle with two of Gibson's sons. William accompanied the wagons, 
riding his horse through to California. He entered the state by way of Fid- 
dletown, and passed on to Stockton. 

The Gibsons settled on the San Joaquin River, and then went to Hills 
Ferry. Gibson sold cattle and bought sheep. William Lynch went to school 
there until, in 1856, they went to Sonoma County, when he attended school in 
Santa Rosa. He resided with his sister until he was sixteen, and then he 
struck out for himself. Returning to the San Joaquin, he entered the employ 
of Major McMichael. a cattleman and butcher, with whom he remained a 
year. Then he removed to San Juan, then Monterey County, and went to 
school there, and then to Santa Clara, where he also attended school, in 1859. 
The next year, employed as a cattleman. William came to Visalia, in com- 
pany with George Caldwell, in charge of a herd of cattle, and after that he 
worked in the mines in Calaveras County. 

In 1861, Mr. Lynch began to drive a team for Mr. Folgem, freighting 
for the New Idra quicksilver mines, and there he continued for two years. 
Then he entered the employ of Colonel Hollister, on the old ranch where the 
town of Hollister now stands ; and after another year he went to Nevada, to 
work in the mines. Five months there fully satisfied him, and in 1863 Mr. 




°)T^ dCLuJL- 



HISTORY OF FRESNO COUNTY 1487 

Lynch returned to California. He went to Ukiah, in Mendocino County, 
where Mrs. Gibson lived, and worked at ranching and farming until 1867, 
when he moved south to Los Angeles. After a year he returned to Gilroy, 
farmed there awhile and took up a homestead on the San Benito River, which 
he ran for two years; then, selling out, he engaged in the sheep business in 
San Benito County. He started with 900 sheep, and later had 4,000. He 
finally drove his flock into Fresno and sold them to Jeff James. 

In 1887, Mr. Lynch bought a vineyard in Fresno Colony, but the price 
of- his commodity went down to one and a fourth cents per pound and he" 
failed and lost ail that he had made. He then began to work by the month 
and soon got ahead sufficiently to be able to buy a few cows. He rented a 
dairy farm and continued in that line for several years. His family remained 
in the Central Colony when he went to Alaska in 1899, accompanied by his 
son, Thomas K. Lynch. He passed over the Chilcoot trail, and reached Atlan, 
B. C. With his son and Herbert Reese and Thomas Patterson, he took a 
lease on a mine, but after a year he returned to California, and once more 
embarked in the dairy business. 

Two years later Mr. Lynch bought a ranch of twenty acres in the Cen- 
tral Colony, on Fig Avenue, and in this enterprise he was very successful. 
When he sold out, he bought from Mrs. Jaggers twenty acres in the Fresno 
Colony, on Walnut Avenue, put it in alfalfa and continued the dairy business. 
He was in time regarded as a progressive leader in dairying, and rather 
naturally became an important stockholder in the Danish Creamery. In 1918 
he sold his well-improved place, and bought a ranch of five acres near Kear- 
ney Avenue, where he now resides. 

While in Mendocino County, Mr. Lynch was married to Mary S. Garner, 
a native of Arkansas, who came to California on a stage with her uncle, J. F. 
Todd, and settled in Mendocino County. They have had five children, all of 
whom have reflected creditably on the parents: Edwin F., the eldest, is 
deceased; William H. lives at home with his father; Marietta has become 
Mrs. Noyes of Fresno ; Thomas K. is in Los Angeles ; and Frederick M. re- 
sides on Kearney Avenue. Mr. Lynch belongs to the Baptist Church, and 
he was made a Mason in the San Benito Lodge, but is now a member of 
Fresno Lodge, No. 247, F. & A. M. 

FRANK G. HOLMGREN.— In the life of this successful citizen of 
Fresno, are illustrated the results of perseverance and energy, coupled with 
judicious management and strict integrity in all his various business enter- 
prises. 

Frank G. Holmgren was born March 8, 1860, at Ystad. in the southern 
part of Sweden. At the age of fourteen he was apprenticed to a carpenter 
for three years where, as is customary in European countries, he received no 
salary while learning the trade, but was provided with his board. Frank G. 
Holmgren was ambitious to better his condition financially, and like so 
many of his fellow countrymen, he emigrated to the United States, in 1880, 
and settled at first in Brockton, Mass., where he worked at his trade of a 
carpenter, and -while living there was also employed on the construction of 
the well known shoe factory of W. L. Douglass, in which he also worked for 
a time making shoe lasts. 

After a residence of seven years in Brockton, Mr. Holmgren had a 
desire to see more of the great United States, particularly the Golden State, 
so in 1887 he migrated to San Diego, Cal., where for a while he worked at 
his trade, and on January 2, 1889, located at Fresno. Mr. Holmgren, being 
a first class workman and ambitious to succeed in his chosen line, soon found 
plenty of work and today can point with pardonable pride to some of Fresno's 
best buildings as an example of his high-class workmanship. His first employ- 
ment was upon the construction of the well known Temple Bar Block, he 
also helped in building the Farmers' National Bank Block, the People's Loan 



1488 HISTORY OF FRESNO COUNTY 

and Savings Bank Building, and the Barton Opera House. Afterwards he 
started in business for himself and erected the Swedish Lutheran Church, 
in Fresno. Later he abandoned contracting and engaged in the furniture 
business on J Street, Fresno, and also conducted a cigar store. 

In 1909 he purchased twenty acres of raw land on Belmont Avenue, 
which he improved by planting to muscat grapes and building a fine resi- 
dence, where he lived for several years, and in 1913 disposed of the property 
at a good profit. In addition to these he has built and sold several houses 
in the city of Fresno, and at the present time is engaged in following his 
trade. Mr. Holmgren is thorough and conscientious in all his work, and is 
a member of the Carpenters' Union. 

In 1889 F. G. Holmgren was united in marriage with Louisa Larson, a 
native of Sweden, and this happy union has been blessed with one daughter, 
Ida, who is now the wife of Erick Anderson, of Madera. They are the parents 
of three children. Mr. Holmgren is a member of the Swedish Lutheran 
Church. He is highly esteemed for his integrity of character and his success 
in business has been due entirely to his own well directed efforts. 

LESTER F. HARTIGAN. — A young man of enterprise and business 
ingenuity, is the efficient superintendent of machinery for the California 
Associated Raisin Company. Lester F. Hartigan is a son of James and 
Margaret (Douglas) Hartigan. He first saw the light of day May 4, 1887, 
at Oleander, Fresno County, Cal. His education was received in the grammar 
and high school at Fresno, which was supplemented by a special course in 
Heald's Electrical and Engineering College, at San Francisco. After leaving 
college, Mr. Hartigan spent three years in the Central California Machine 
Shop, at Fresno, where he gained valuable experience as a machinist ; after- 
wards he was in charge of the seeding department of the J. B. Inderrieden 
Packing Company, of Fresno, for two years. 

In 1914 L. F. Hartigan accepted a position with the California Associated 
Raisin Company as a machinist, and so efficiently did he discharge all of 
his duties, that, after only one year, in recognition of his superior ability, he 
was promoted to the responsible position of superintendent of all the ma- 
chinery in the great plants of the California Associated Raisin Company. 

His maternal grandfather, Frank A. Douglas, a pioneer of Fresno County, 
invented the first machine used in stemming raisins. Mr. Hartigan has in- 
herited the inventive genius of his grandfather, and has introduced into the 
plant a number of important changes in the machinery, among which especial 
mention is made of steel paddles used in the recleansing department, and 
has also made a number of minor improvements in the raisin machinery. 

Lester F. Hartigan was united in marriage on September 29. 1910. with 
Isabel Birmingham, a native of Fresno and daughter of Thomas Birmingham. 
Fraternally, Mr. Hartigan is a member of the Red Men and Native Sons of 
the Golden 'West ; and is a man of high moral character and unquestioned 
integrity. 

SYLVESTER A. GEBHART.— Born in Henry County, Ind.. December 
6, 1876, Sylvester A. Gebhart was raised on a farm and received his education 
in the country schools of that district. At the age of twenty years he left 
home and started in life for himself, first finding employment on a farm 
in Missouri, going thence to central Iowa, where he worked for three and 
one-half years on farms and stock ranches. From there he went to South 
Dakota, and spent one season in the harvest fields of that state. 

Mr. Gebhart arrived in Fresno, Cal., November 26, 1901, and here en- 
tered the employ of the Fancher Creek Nurseries, since which date he has 
remained with the firm. He started to learn the nursery business from the 
bottom, drove team for a while, and later looked after the growing stock, 
learning every branch of the work. He had charge as foreman of two nursery 
plants near Sanger for eight years, one located on Kings Bottom, below 



HISTORY OF FRESNO COUNTY 1489 

Sanger, and the other two miles south of Sanger, during the busy seasons 
having charge of 160 men and fifty-six head of horses and mules. 

A man of broad sensibilities and progressive in his business methods, 
Mr. Gebhart has established a fine system in carrying on his work, and is 
always looking for further improvements to better facilitate the business. 
His success has been so marked that in 1912 he was made superintendent of 
all the plants of the company, and he brings to his larger field of work the 
same attention to detail and progress which made his beginning so success- 
ful. A self-made man in every sense of the word, Mr. Gebhart has risen to 
his present position solely through his own efforts and enterprise and well 
deserves the success which has come as a result. He is the oldest employee 
but one with the company, in point of service. With a keen appreciation of 
the growing prosperity of Fresno, he has backed his judgment by investing 
in Fresno real estate, and is a ready contributor to all movements which have 
for their object the further advancement of the county. 

Mr. Gebhart's marriage united him with Bertha Sand, a native of Indiana, 
and two children have been born to them: Albert, born in 1909; and Luella, 
born in 1912. 

SEPTER E. JOHNSTON.— Although the present population of Fresno 
is made up, to a considerable extent of the younger generation, there are 
quite a number of the old timers among its successful business men. Among 
these we note the name of Septer E. Johnston, born in Ray County, Missouri, 
October 22, 1859. His father, James L., brought his family across the plains 
in 1864 by ox team express, the usual method of transportation at that time, 
and located at Healdsburg, Sonoma County. In 1866 he returned to Missouri 
with his family via the Isthmus. 

Septer E. lived in Missouri until 1874 when he removed to Cowley 
County; Kans., where he farmed until 1881, when he went to Washington 
County, Ark., where he farmed until 1883, and in that year made a trip to 
Arizona and returned to Arkansas in the fall of 1884, and continued farming 
in that state until 1887 when he came to Fresno, Cal. Upon his arrival at 
Fresno he took up mechanical engineering, working first for the Fresno 
W'ater Company. He helped to bore the first well at the Central Station 
and set the first pump. Afterwards he entered the employ of the Fresno Gas 
and Electric Company, in whose service he remained for six years. In 1894 
he began work in the shops of the Southern Pacific Railroad, where he re- 
mained for four years as a repairman. He was then transferred to the rail- 
road yards as an inspector. Since October 30. 1911, he has been in the em- 
ploy of the California Packing House where he is now chief engineer of Plant 
No. 6, Pacific Coast Seeded Raisin Company. In 1885 S. E. Johnston married 
Rose Dees, a native of Arkansas, and they are the parents of six children, 
namely: Dr. E. Melvin, Monroe Ezra, Effie V., Viola, Forest E. and Theodore, 
all of whom were born and educated in Fresno. 

Mr. Johnston is a member of the Methodist Church, South, and a Modern 
Woodman. 

ANDREW MATTEI, JR. — In the earlier years of Los Angeles, the 
metropolis of Southern California, while the city was yet in the throes of 
the real estate excitement of the eighties, one of Fresno County's rising 
vounsr business men, Andrew Mattei, Jr., was born in that citv, September 
26, 1887. 

Mr. Mattei was educated at the Horace Mann School in the Malaga 
district of Fresno County, and supplemented his early education with a course 
at Santa Clara College, at Santa Clara, and St. Mary's College, at Oakland, 
graduating from the latter institution in 1908. Civil engineering and a com- 
mercial course were included in his curriculum, and he afterwards engaged in 
viticulture and the wine-making industry with his father, with whom he has 
been associated ever since, his special line of development work being the clari- 



1490 HISTORY OF FRESNO COUNTY 

fying of wine and placing it on the eastern market, selling direct to dealers 
instead of through local agencies, as in former years. 

Energetic and versatile, Mr. Mattei exhibits an unusual capacity for 
business achievement. He has made a success of his work in whatever line 
he has been engaged. He is general manager of the Union Sales Company 
and also general manager of the General Tire and Rubber Company of Cali- 
fornia, with headquarters in Fresno and branch offices throughout the state. 
He has a chain of ten oil-filling stations located in San Francisco, Fresno, 
Merced. Tulare, Yisalia and Porterville. He is also president of the Center 
Mercantile Company, located at 1151 J Street, Fresno. 

Mr. Mattei's marriage united him with Miss Julia Eddy, one of Califor- 
nia's native daughters, and they are the parents of two children, Andrew. Jr. 
and Elleanor. In his fraternal associations he is a member of the Fresno 
Lodge of Elks, and of the Fresno Parlor of Native Sons of the Golden West. 
In 1917 he was vice-president of the Fresno Chamber of Commerce. Mr. 
Mattei makes his home on the ranch at Malaga and ably assists his father 
in caring for the various interests connected with their business. 

HENRY RAUSCHER.— Of good old Pennsylvania stock, Henry 
Rauscher was born January 27, 1849, in Beaver County, in the state named 
for that unique figure in the annals of history, William Penn. He received 
a common school education and at the age of eighteen removed to Ten- 
nessee. As a young man he followed the business of photography before the 
day of the dry plate, when tin types were the only kind of pictures taken. 
In 1870 he came to Santa Rosa, Cal., and was one of the first men in 
Sonoma County to take photographs. After following this profession for 
nine years he located in Fresno in 1879 where he was also one of the first to 
take photos. The early inhabitants of Fresno recall his portable gallery on 
the corner of J and Mariposa Streets on the spot where the Grand Central 
Hotel now stands. Later he changed his location to J Street. 

He followed this profession for a number of years, then turned his 
attention to mining and prospecting in the hills of Fresno and Merced Coun- 
ties. Not finding a bonanza, as a few of the more fortunate have here and 
there, after a time he turned his attention to other lines of business and at 
present conducts a confectionery and cigar store at 1601 Tulare Street in 
Fresno. He is one of the, well known pioneers of the county and was in 
earl}' days a famous crack shot with a forty-four calibre rifle. In fact his 
skill as a marksman was so well known that he was barred from the popular 
turkey shoots of those days, as the bird was quite certain to fall at the crack 
of his rifle. He was fond of hunting, and is full of reminiscences of those 
early days when antelope and other wild game were abundant on the plains in 
the country when he first came to the state, and when there were only four 
brick houses in Fresno. He has never aspired to any political office of any 
kind and is not affiliated with any social organization. 

PROF. J. W. MOORE. — Fresno offers vast opportunities for the business 
and professional men who have been attracted from abroad and near, due 
to its marvelouslv rapid growth within a comparatively short time. This 
city affords rare advantages in all educational avenues, chief among which 
might be mentioned the fine arts, and has been honored with the establish- 
ment of the institution known as "The Fresno Academy of Music" by Prof. 
J. W. Moore, 1302 N Street, corner of Merced, where he installed for musical 
students a pipe-organ, piano, violin, voice, theory and harmony department, 
since the year 1916. 

Professor Moore was born in Yorkshire, England. May 1, 1870, and was 
reared in a refined and religious home. His father being a pipe organist and 
choir director, J. W. Moore was given every advantage for a thorough 
musical education, for which he demonstrated rare talent and aptitude, 
having played a pipe-organ in church at the early age of eight years. He grad- 



HISTORY OF FRESNO COUNTY 1493 

uated from the Royal Academy of Music in London, and Royal College 
of Organists, London, after which he traveled extensively in musical 
centers of Europe, studied the organ under Professor Guilmant of Paris, one 
of the world's leading organists ; also Sparks of London, Dr. Crow of Ripon, 
and the late Prof W. T. Best of Liverpool. After completing his studies 
Professor Moore resided some years in Bradford, England where he was 
Municipal Organist, also engaged in teaching, specializing in voice culture, 
piano and pipe-organ. 

In 1906 Professor Moore visited Southern California where the rec- 
ognition of his rare ability was so marked that he was induced to yield to 
the public's enthusiastic appeal for his permanently locating here where his 
talent was so needed and keenly appreciated by minds capable of recognizing 
his artistic efficiency. Since then many large audiences of California have 
recognized, with keen appreciation, Professor Moore as a talented musician 
and composer of no mean ability. 

Professor Moore's Organ Recitals at the Auditorium in Fresno, as well 
as his work at the local churches have added superlatively to the reputation 
this city enjoys far and near as a musical center where rare talent may be 
found, and here such artists will find, in the growing tide of population, a 
fertile field for the inculcation of their talents upon the rising generation. 

REV. MAGNUS ANDERS NORDSTROM.— A man of forceful charac- 
ter, pronounced business ability, extreme conscientiousness and deep religious 
convictions, and altogether a striking personality, who loves Fresno County and 
particularly one corner of it, where he has developed a splendid ranch, is the Rev. 
Magnus Anders Nordstrom, the pioneer of Vinland, who organized the Swedish 
Lutheran Church there, was its first pastor, and is now again in charge of that 
congregation's spiritual welfare. To him also is to be credited the organization 
of the first school district of Vinland. He was born in Vermland, Sweden, on 
Tune 7, 1856. in a community near Carlstad, the son of Anders Anderson, a 
farmer, and Anna Anderson, the mother of eight children, among whom our sub- 
ject was the third youngest. He remained at home and attended school until he 
was fourteen, and then he spent three years in Norway, one year in Eswold and 
two years in Christiania, in the manufacturing of shoes. When twenty, how- 
ever, he decided to study for the ministry. 

Whereupon, Mr. Nordstrom entered the Oerebro (Sweden) Mission School 
and studied for three years, preparing for the life of a clergyman, and then, for 
a year, he studied at Westeras ; and there he took the name Nordstrom. After 
four years he received a call from the Augustana Synod to continue his studies 
at the Augustana College and Seminary, at Rock Island, 111., and hither he came 
in 1884. In 1887, when he had completed his course, he was ordained in Chicago, 
and then he accepted a call to Kane, Pa., as well as to Wilcox, in the same state, 
to serve two congregations. He soon traveled as a missionary pastor over a large 
territory, developing the field, and organizing congregations which are now 
directed by eight pastors. He built three churches and parsonages, and organ- 
ized congregations at Dubois, Smithford and Bradford, Pa. He labored in that 
field for five years, and then accepted a call to Woodhull, 111. At the end of two 
years, in 1894, he moved to Minnesota as pastor of the Lutheran Church at 
Hoffman ; and he also took up missionary work. During ten years, he organized 
three congregations, and built four churches and a parsonage. 

In the fall of 1903, on account of ill-health, the Reverend Nordstrom sought 
a milder climate, and came to California ; and it was not long before he took up 
his residence in Fresno County. He had been here the spring before, and, after 
looking over the ground, had decided that this was the best place in which to 
locate. Eight friends from Minnesota accompanied him, and they made a small 
settlement. Each bought according to his ability or needs, and Mr. Nordstrom 
bought forty acres at the corner of what is now Madera and Shaw Avenues. He 
donated the site, and helped build the Congregational Church, after organizing 



1494 HISTORY OF FRESNO COUNTY 

the congregation, and was the first pastor. He continued in that pastorate for 
four years. 

In 1908, the Reverend Nordstrom accepted a call to Riverside, Cal., as 
pastor and was there for two. years, and then he came back to his ranch, which 
he improved with a vineyard and an orchard, growing Thompson seedless and 
malaga grapes, and peaches. He was a pastor in charge of work at Fresno, 
Turlock and Berea for about three years, while he made his home in Vinland; 
and after that he was pastor, for about one year, of the Fresno and Vinland 
churches. When he resigned, in the Fall of 1914, he temporarily accepted the 
pastorate of the Ebenezer Lutheran Church in San Francisco, and after fifteen 
months when they had secured a permanent pastor, he returned to his Vinland 
ranch. A call from Los Angeles to take charge of the Angelica congregation 
took him there for eight months, but in June, 1918, he withdrew from that charge 
to become the permanent pastor of the church he originally built. Now he resides 
on his own ranch, and in his own home. 

While in Minnesota he served as chairman, in the Alexandria District, of 
the Minnesota Conference; in California he has served several years as chair- 
man in die Central District of the California Conference. 

In national politics the Reverend Nordstrom is a Republican, but he sup- 
ports good local issues regardless of any partisanship. He has been instrumental 
in locating nearly all the home-makers of Swedish extraction, in the Vinland 
Colony, Fresno County. 

In New York City, on Oct. 10. 1889, Mr. Nordstrom was married to Miss 
Hildur Runstedt, a native of Stockholm, who was educated in the Guttenburg 
High School. Two daughters have been born to this very worthy couple: 
Magnhild, who resides with her parents ; and Lillie Hildur, the wife of Arthur 
J. Anderson of Vinland, and the mother of a son, Gerald. Mrs. Nordstrom and 
her daughters were active in Red Cross work, in Los Angeles and at home. 

JOHN L. HUTCHINSON.— A native of La Salle County, 111., John L. 
Hutchinson first saw the light of day on January 5, 1854, on a farm near 
Tonica. In his native state he received a good education, having attended 
both high school and college, the latter being located at Eureka. When he 
reached his majority, Mr. Hutchinson went to Chatsworth, 111., where he 
taught school and engaged in farming for seven years. In 1882 he migrated 
westward, locating at York, Nebr. Here he bought a farm containing 169 
acres, and followed grain-farming for three years, after which he sold the 
place and moved to Indianola. Nebr., where he purchased a section of land. 
After remaining there three years, he removed to Edgemont, S. D. Mr. 
Hutchinson, being a very enterprising business man, soon realized that 
Edgemont needed a water supply, and at once installed pipes and a complete 
system, whereby he supplied the town with this indispensable necessity. 

During the great rush to the Alaska gold fields, in 1898, John L. 
Hutchinson joined the great host in quest of the precious yellow metal in 
the Klondike, where he was quite successful. In 1900 he came to San Fran- 
cisco, Cal. There he pursued a course in civil and mining engineering, 
in the Van Dernailen School of Engineering, after which he went to James- 
town, Tuolumne County, and for ten years was an engineer on the Sugar Pine 
Railroad from Oakdale to Stockton, the road being operated into the moun- 
tain lumber camps. In 1911 Mr. Hutchinson located at Fresno, where for one 
year he was engaged in the real estate business. He then left, in 1012, for 
Sangamon County, 111., to settle an estate, and remained five years, until 
Tanuary 1, 1917, when he returned to Fresno County. Since that time he 
has made many important investments in ranch property, among others forty 
acres southeast of Clovis and forty acres northwest of Clovis. In the spring 
of 1918 he purchased forty acres at Orosi, Tulare County, and later twenty 
acres southeast of Orosi. All of these tracts were partially improved with 
vineyards and orchards, but with his characteristic enterprise Mr. Hutchinson 



HISTORY OF FRESNO COUNTY 1495 

started at once to further improve his properties and bring them all up to a 
high state of development, planting new vines and improving the buildings. 
His various ranches are devoted to peaches, figs, apricots and grapes. As 
an example of the high state of cultivation to which he has brought his 
peach orchards, mention is made of the 1918 crop from eight acres, for which 
he received a $2,500 check. He is intensely interested in the permanent 
development of scientific horticulture and viticulture, and is an influential 
member of the California Peach Growers' Association and the California 
Associated Raisin Company. 

In October, 1917, Mr. Hutchinson purchased his beautiful modern home 
in the City of Fresno, on the corner of Wishon Avenue and Peralta Way, 
and has since improved the grounds with flowers and shrubbery, making it 
a very attractive home place. Mrs. Hutchinson was in maidenhood Alma 
Trumbo, a native of Chatham, Sangamon County, 111. Mr. and Mrs. Hutchin- 
son have reared a boy, Stewart Hutchinson, who is now seventeen years of 
age. Mr. Hutchinson is a man of unquestioned integrity and high ideals. 
He was a charter member of Edgemont Lodge, No. 63, K. of P. Religiously, 
Mr. and Mrs. Hutchinson are members of the Christian Church. 

LUTHER ROY McGUIRE.— The memories associated with the child- 
hood and young manhood of Luther R. McGuire have their setting in the Old 
Dominion. He was born in Augusta County, October 16, 1886. Brought up 
on his father's farm, he attended the country schools of his native state 
and worked on the farm until he attained his majority, after which he went 
to Washington, D. C, and took charge of the farm of the National Training 
School for Boys — an agricultural and business school for 400 boys who 
were in attendance. During the three and a half years that Mr. McGuire 
was in charge of the farm he made many improvements in the way of clear- 
ing up timber land, increasing the acreage for planting, enlarging the herd 
of dairy cows, etc. 

After relinquishing charge of this farm he returned to his Virginia home, 
and for one year was engaged in the grocery business with his brother at 
Herndon, Va. He came to California in the fall of 1913, and desirous of 
learning the fruit growing and packing business entered the Malaga Packing 
House. Later he became fruit buyer for the packing house. Afterwards he 
superintended the improvement and development of land for his uncle. J. F. 
Niswander, planting a vineyard near Clovis, and in the fall of 1916 he entered 
the employ of the California Peach Growers' Association. He installed ma- 
chinery in the Valley plants and later was made inspector of plants, after- 
wards being made manager of Plant No. 9, in Fresno. 

Mr. McGuire has dealt in unimproved land quite extensively, improving 
and selling the land, and has also dealt in Fresno real estate. He was the 
owner of a fifty-five acre ranch on Belmont Avenue, part of which is planted 
to peaches and apricots and is now producing. 

Mrs. McGuire, before her marriage, was Miss Lucia Haber, a native of 
Fresno. Mr. and Mrs. McGuire are the parents of one child, a son named after 
his father, Luther Roy, Jr. 

CHARLES M. CHALUP. — As an example of a self made man who has 
overcome insuperable difficulties and satisfactorily solved many of life's per- 
plexing problems, especial mention is made of Charles M. Chalup, the pro- 
prietor of one of Fresno's up-to-date groceries. He is a native of the Buckeye 
State, born in Cleveland, Ohio, September 3, 1873. He was educated in the 
very excellent public schools of his native city and had practical experience 
in his line of business through working in various groceries in Cleveland. 
In 1900, at the age of twenty-seven, he sought the advantages offered by the 
west to young men of enterprise and energy and tried his fortune in Nevada, 
in the occupation of mining for one year. Meeting with indifferent success 
he came to Fresno, Cal., in 1901, and secured employment in the grocery 



1496 HISTORY OF FRESNO COUNTY 

department of Einstein's department store, remaining with the firm for two 
and one-half years. While thus employed he decided to open a grocery of 
his own. selecting the west end of town, at the corner of Fresno and C 
Streets, as a suitable location for the venture. 

At that time this section was quite in the country, surrounded by grain 
fields and sparsely inhabited. He purchased a shack twelve by twelve feet 
in dimension and a two room cottage adjoining on a lot thirty-seven by one 
hundred feet, for which he paid $675. Later he added twelve feet to the side 
of his store. In this small space he and his wife opened their first store on 
a capital of seventy-five dollars. For two years bis faithful help-mate kept 
the store while he worked for Mr. Einstein. From this small beginning 
evolved their present up-to-date grocery in which they have made money 
and prospered beyond their most sanguine expectations, large credit for the 
success of the enterprise being due to Mrs. Chalup's good judgment and 
faithful efforts. Air. Chalup has been very successful in buying and selling 
real estate, and also served for one year as city trustee under appointment 
by Mayor W. P. Lyon. 

Mrs. Chalup, before her marriage, was Miss Ellen New, a native of 
Illinois., Mr. and Mrs. Chalup are the parents of two interesting children, 
Mary Louise, and Alice Ellen both of whom were born in Fresno. 

Mr. Chalup is a member of Fresno Lodge, No. 247. F. & A. M. ; is a 
thirty-second degree Mason and Past Wise Master of Rose Croix, No. 8. of the 
Ancient and Accepted Scottish Rite of Free Masonry. He is also a member 
of the Fresno Lodge of Eagles. 

GEORGE E. PORTER, D. C. — Few in the practice of Chiropractic 
science have made such rapid strides towards success as has characterized 
the career of Dr. George E. Porter, of Fresno. He was born in Portage 
County, Ohio, June 21, 1885, the son of a miller and his education was ob- 
tained in the public schools of the town adjacent to their farm. After 
graduating from the Alliance high school, young Porter secured employment 
in the sales department of the Morgan Engineering Company at Alliance and 
remained with them for seven years. Then desiring to enter a new field he 
took up the study of chiropractic and was graduated from the Universal 
College of Chiropractic, at Davenport, Iowa, in June, 1912. The month 
following he was in Fresno, Cal., and had begun the practice of his pro- 
fession and since that time he has built up a wonderfully successful clientele. 
Dr. Porter is a member of the Federated Chiropractic Association of Califor- 
nia and is licensed to practice in California by the State Medical Board. 

The marriage of Dr. Porter, at Warren. Ohio, June 17. 1908, united him 
with Willa P.. Marshall, a native of Pennsylvania. The Doctor and Mrs. 
Porter are members of the First Methodist Church in Fresno. While kept 
unusually busy with his professional work, Dr. Porter has found time to 
take an active part in the social life of Fresno and to further the progress of 
his home city. He is a Thirty-second degree Mason and holds membership 
in Fresno Lodge, No. 247, F. & A. M. ; he is a member and Past Chancellor of 
the Knights of Pythias, and possesses a jewel given him in recognition of 
services, by members of the order. He is also a member of the Stags of 
Fresno, and is physician for that order. 

ARTHUR N. ALBRIGHT, D. D. S.— The state of Kansas claims Dr. A. 
N. Albright, as a native son, as it was at Hutchinson, that state, on June 17. 
1888, that he first saw the light of this terrestial sphere. His early education 
was received in the grammar and high schools of his native city. Having 
decided upon a professional career, Arthur N. Albright, entered a dental 
college at Kansas City, Mo. where he carefully pursued the prescribed course 
in preparation for the practice of his chosen profession, and was graduated 
from this institution in 1911. Dr. Albright felt the call of the far Wot and. 
believing that the Golden State offered splendid opportunities for young men 



HISTORY OF FRESNO COUNTY 1499 

possessed of good character, untiring energy, and a determination to succeed, 
and particularly to those who have specially equipped themselves for their 
life work, he migrated to California and in the fall of 1911 located at Fresno. 
Here he was associated with Dr. G. W. Gilbert in the practice of his pro- 
fession until the year 1914, when he opened an office for himself in the Rowell 
Building, where he is meeting with deserved success. His growing clientele 
is attributed to the able and careful treatment of his many patients coupled 
with his comprehensive knowledge of his profession. While attending college 
in Kansas City, Dr. Albright clerked in a drug store in order to earn suffi- 
cient funds to defray his expenses while in school. He is very fond of 
athletics and while attending college he was instrumental in organizing a base 
ball nine. 

Arthur N. Albright, was united in marriage with Maybelle Hubbard, a 
native of Missouri. This union has been blessed with one son Richard Lloyd 
Albright. Dr. Albright is a member of The San Joaquin Valley Dental Asso- 
ciation and the California Dental Society. He manifested his patriotism by 
enlisting in the Dental Reserves of the United States Army, in which arm of 
the service he was commissioned a First Lieutenant, but was not called into 
active service. 

HENRY A. MOMSON. — There are few, if any, more inspiring ex- 
amples of self-won success, in the history of Fresno County farmers, than 
that furnished by the career of Henry A. Momson, the pioneer rancher of 
the Summit Lake country, near Riverdale, and owner of 960 acres situated 
eight miles west of Riverdale. His ranch is regarded as one of the best 
and most highly improved in the west side district and is located within 
the Crescent Reclamation District, which embraces 6,000 acres of reclaimed 
swamp land, protected by levee. The land is very fertile and produces 
enormous crops of grain and alfalfa. 

The owner of this splendid ranch, H. A. Momson, was born in Schleswig- 
Holstein, October 15, 1863. When but three years of age his father brought 
him to America and his boyhood days were spent in Clinton and Crawford 
counties, Iowa. At the early age of eleven he started to work, and in the 
spring of 1881 he accompanied his father to California. The father re- 
mained in Tulare and Kings Counties, and passed away in 1906, near Porter- 
ville. 

Mr. Momson followed grain-farming near Hanford and Grangeville, 
where he rented land until 1888, when he located in the Summit Lake 
country, near Riverdale, Fresno County. For the first ten years he rented 
land, farming about 1,500 acres to grain. In 1897 he purchased his present 
ranch consisting of 960 acres, located eight miles west of Riverdale. Of this, 
320 acres are devoted to alfalfa, the balance being sown to wheat and barley. 
The land is all under the Crescent Canal, the main canal being twenty- 
seven miles long, and 12,000 acres being irrigated by this company. His 
crop of alfalfa averages one ton to an acre and four cuttings a year; the 
wheat averages ten sacks to an acre and the barley twenty sacks, although 
during the season of 1917 some of the barley averaged forty sacks. The 
yearly total number of sacks is from six to seven thousand. 

In 1906, Mr. Momson started a dairy and has at present sixty head of 
milch cows, including many pure Holsteins. The ranch is equipped with 
a large modern barn, 56 x 100 feet, and 24 feet in height. In addition to 
his dairy interests, he raises Poland-China hogs of a fine strain, having 
sold, during 1917, $4,200 worth of pork, he also sold that same year 150 head 
of beef cattle. Mr. Momson is regarded as one of the leading and most 
successful dairy and grain farmers on the west side of Fresno County. His 
home, comprising a half-acre lot, is located at 145 Glenn Avenue, Fresno, 
and in addition to this he owns other valuable real estate in Fresno. 

Mr. Momson was united in marriage on September 4, 1888, with Emma 
Batty, a native of Iowa, and this happy union was blessed with three chil- 



1500 HISTORY OF FRESNO COUNTY 

dren : Christopher, who was in the aviation service of the United States 
Army returned home in December, 1918, having been honorably discharged ; 
he was married in February, 1919, to Miss Elisa Hall of San Francisco, 
whom he met at the University of California, and he is now in charge of the 
farm. Eleanor is the wife of H. L. Daily, of Fresno and they have a son, 
Harry Lee. Dorothy graduated from the Fresno High School and is now 
a student of the California Art Institute of San Francisco, a department of 
the University of California. Mrs. Momson and the children are active 
members of the Presbyterian Church in Fresno. 

Fraternally Mr. Momson is a Mason and member of Center Lodge, No. 
465, F. & A. M., at Fresno, and is a Knight Templar. He is now a thirty- 
second degree Mason. He is also a member of the San Joaquin Milk Pro- 
ducers Association and the State Alfalfa Growers Association. He is highly 
esteemed in the community and always ready to give his aid to all move- 
ments for the advancement of Fresno County. 

WILLIAM H. COX.— Born in Chattanooga, Tenn., June 20, 1882, Will- 
iam H. Cox was raised and educated in Dalton, Ga. He later returned to 
Chattanooga, and became an apprentice to the plumbing trade, with the firm 
of Williams & Wood, plumbers and steam fitters. After remaining in their 
employ several years, Mr. Cox came to California, in the spring of 1906, and 
first located in Sacramento. He worked for Henry Seiferman, the plumber, 
for three years, then formed a partnership with H. Dixon, under the firm 
name of Dixon & Cox, with a shop at Eighteenth and L Streets, specializ- 
ing in cottage and bungalow work. This partnership was dissolved in 1912, 
and Mr. Cox then went into business for himself at 516 K Street ; among other 
work he installed the plumbing and heating in the dormitory building of the 
State University Farm at Davis, Yolo County ; in the Carnegie Public Library 
and the Placer Hotel at Auburn, Placer County; also doing flat and residence 
work in Sacramento. 

In the fall of 1914, Mr. Cox located in Fresno, and soon after his arrival 
here opened a plumbing shop at 2547 Tulare Street, and engaged in the 
plumbing and heating contracting business, and from the beginning met with 
the success due his experience and reputation for reliability, his field of 
operations extending over the entire San Joaquin Valley. He installed the 
plumbing in the Liberty Market, and the steam heating plant in the Liberty 
Theater ; the plumbing and heating in the Wormser Furniture Company 
Building; in the new Warner Jewelry Store, on J Street; the James Porteous 
Block at Tulare and P Streets. Mr. Cox has installed plumbing in over fifty 
cottages and bungalows in Fresno, many for the Fresno Home Builders, and 
homes in the Alta Vista tract. He also installed the gas plant, plumbing 
and heating in the Jacob Hansen ranch home ; also supplied homes in Bar- 
stow and Perrin Colonies, Fresno County; installed the plumbing in the 
Manual Training School of Madera, and the Alpha grammar school at Alpha, 
Madera County ; also in the Madera Municipal Swimming Baths, and the 
Cutler School at Cutler, Tulare County; also the plumbing and heating in 
the Newkirk School in the city of Fresno, and the swimming baths in the 
State Normal School at Fresno. Since January, 1919, his plumbing shop has 
been located at 2555 White Avenue, Fresno. 

The marriage of Mr. Cox, which occurred in Sacramento, Cal., united 
him with Maude Pauline Clark, a native of Utah, and two children have 
been born to them: Clark, born in Sacramento, and Mary, born in Fresno. 
Mr. Cox is a member of the Master Plumbers' Association, and of the national, 
state and local plumbers' association. Fraternally, he is a Mason and a 
member of Center Lodge, No. 465, F. & A. M., of Fresno. A man of sterling 
character and with progress for his watchword, he has been an active par- 
ticipator in the growth and development of Fresno, city and county, and 
stands ready at all times to aid in advancing the county still further on its 
march toward prosperity. 



HISTORY OF FRESNO COUNTY 1501 

JAMES WILLIAM SIMPSON.— A very successful general contractor 
who is doing a large business is J. W. Simpson, who has the good fortune to 
have in his wife a person of real natural ability and pronounced energy. The 
couple are known for their hospitality, and they enjoy the esteem and good 
will of everyone. 

Mr. Simpson was born in Coleman Valley, Sonoma County, Cal., on April 
26, 1875, the son of J. F. Simpson, whose birthplace was Medora, Macoupin 
County, 111. In 1852 the father crossed the great plains to California, driving 
an ox team, and here he first followed mining and then lumbering. He settled 
in Sonoma County, ran a dairy, and about 1876 went to Salinas Valley. In 
1882 he came to Fresno City, then a small burg, and worked awhile as a farm 
hand. Later he engaged in farming on his own responsibility, and leased some 
of the Bank of California lands. He engaged in grain-farming on a large scale, 
and ran sixty head of mules and two combined harvesters and reapers. He 
raised and lost big crops, but later he succeeded in getting water onto his 
tract, and this saved him from disaster. It was while working with his father 
that J. W. Simpson helped to improve 580 acres of the Laguna De Tache 
Grant into an experimental muscat vineyard, the first one on the entire grant 
of 62,000 acres. Their next venture was the Little Sharon vineyard, 120 
acres of the Sharon estate, twenty miles northwest from Fresno, into a muscat 
vineyard. After this endeavor the elder Simpson retired to private life and 
now resides on his home ranch, contented and happy in the thought that he 
has done his full share towards developing the resources of Fresno County. 
He owns a ranch of forty acres, five and a half miles south of Fresno, on Fig 
Avenue, known as the home place, which has been his residence for years. 
He has operated from this point, putting out vineyards on contract. He owns 
eighty acres in the Kerman district, and 160 acres on Summit Lake. 

Mrs. J. F. Simpson was Margaret M. Frazer before her marriage, and 
she was a native of Illinois. She crossed the plains to California when she 
was a little girl ; and with her husband she is still enjoying life. Six children 
blessed their union, and five of them are living. 

James William was the second oldest of the family, and was brought up 
in Fresno County from his seventh year. He attended the public schools, 
and recalls with affection his first teacher, H. Hadsell, as well as the second, 
A. M. Drew. He was reared on a farm, and he learned to drive the big teams 
in the grain-fields. At the age of fourteen, he began to haul wood out of the 
fields to Fresno, using an eight-mule team. He remained with his father until 
he was twenty-three, and then he began for himself. 

He began dry farming and summer-fallowing, first in 1900, on the site 
of Roeding Park ; and then he cultivated the Bank of California lands, in the 
Kerman district, also according to the dry method. His results were varying 
and not always satisfactory, but when irrigation came, he at once began to 
make a success of his enterprises. This encouraged him to expand in contract- 
ing to improve lands ; he leveled and checked, built ditches and graded, and 
later he gave up farming to give all his attention to contracting. He more 
and more built up a reputation that was capital in itself, and improved to a 
high degree thousands of acres, so that many ranchers were able to start 
successfully. 

In the meantime Mr. Simpson bought forty acres on Jensen Avenue, 
thirteen miles west of Fresno, which he improved to alfalfa and where he 
established a good dairy. He set out Thompson seedless grapes and built 
for himself a nice residence. He undertook contracts all over Fresno County 
and throughout the San Joaquin Valley, and he even went into the Bay dis- 
trict around San Francisco. He accepted railroad contracts from the Ocean 
Shore Railroad Company and the San Francisco Railroad, and built the cop- 
per mine road from Gordon Switch. For about twenty years he was a general 
contractor in California, and was successful from the start. One large piece 
of development work undertaken by J. W. Simpson, in which he was asso^ 



1502 HISTORY OF FRESNO COUNTY 

dated with J. F. Kennedy, was that of improving 1,000 acres in what is now- 
known as the Rolinda section. They leveled and checked and sowed alfalfa 
on the entire tract, and this tract was sold off in small holdings just twenty 
months from the time they began their important work. During the entire 
time that Mr. Simpson has been engaged in contracting he has farmed to 
grain, generally on a large scale. The last big venture was 4,000 acres of the 
Collins estate, six miles northeast of Clovis, where he raised grain. 

At Hanford, Mr. Simpson was married to Miss Ellen Trabucco, a native 
of Mariposa County and the daughter of John Trabucco, who was also a 
native. Her grandfather was Louis Trabucco, a pioneer who very early came 
to Mariposa County, where he was one of the earliest miners and merchants. 
There, after being the proprietor for years of a well-known store, he died, re- 
spected by all who knew him. His wife is still living in Mariposa County. 
The father, John Trabucco, was educated at the public schools and married 
Nancy Choisser. who was born in Illinois, and came with her parents, when 
she was three years old, to Mariposa County; her father was engaged in 
farming and in the raising of stock, and they still reside in Bear Valley. Mrs. 
Simpson was the oldest of nine children, was educated at the public schools 
as a child, and later graduated from the Notre Dame College. 

Mr. Simpson is a loyal Democrat, and few citizens work more intelli- 
gently and consistently to raise the standards of citizenship and to make the 
community more prosperous and the locality more attractive. 

JOHN BALEY. — A farmer and dairyman with an intensely interesting 
family history, interwoven with the most stirring chapters in the formation 
of the Golden State, is John Baley, a native son who first saw the light at 
Visalia on June 29, 1864. His father was William Wright Baley, of Illinois, 
who was reared in Nodaway County, Mo., and crossed the plains in 1849 
with two brothers, Caleb and Gillum. The latter was later a judge in Fresno 
County for fourteen years, while Caleb died in the mines on Feather River 
the same year that he came to California. After mining for three years, 
W. W. Baley returned to Missouri, where he had married, years before, Miss 
Nancy Funderburk, a native of Tennessee, who grew up in the Iron State. 
In 1859, in the same train with Rev. Joel Hedgepeth and his parents, W. W. 
Baley and his brother, Judge Baley, again crossed the plains with oxen and 
wagons. Along the Colorado River the Indians attacked them and killed 
and wounded many. Judge Baley killed the chief, but the Indians stole their 
cattle, or killed what they could not lead off. Captain Rose w r as in charge of 
the train; the Rev. Hedgepeth as a lad was there; and so was Mrs. McCardle, 
then Ellen Baley, who was lost but later was found. All the party, including 
the children, had to walk back to Albuquerque, a tramp of six weeks ; and 
when they had sojourned there for ten months, recuperated and gathered 
together some stock, they continued their overland journey to Visalia. 

For some time thereafter Mr. Baley was engaged in teaming from Stock- 
ton to Visalia, hauling provisions and supplying the wants of the settlers 
along the way ; and in the fall of 1864 he came to Fresno County and located 
some land at Academy. He had been assisted in the work of teaming by 
his son Henry, and the latter now helped him in the raising of stock and 
grain after he had handsomely improved his property. Comfortably situated 
a mile from town, Mr. Baley continued there until he died, on November 18, 
1882, aged sixty-two years. At the same place later Mrs. Baley passed away, 
on March 6, 1900, in her eightieth year. 

Eleven children made up the interesting family of Mr. and Mrs. Baley, 
and seven of these grew to maturity : Sarah Margaret, who became Mrs. 
John G. Simpson, died at Exeter on May 3, 1918; Nancy Jane passed away 
at Visalia on August 6, 1861 ; Henry Gillum is in Fresno ; Bertheney Eliza- 
beth, died on December 1, 1846; William Washington passed away in Exeter, 
on July 6, 1915; George Pierce died at Tollhouse, on June 3, 1913; Caleb died 



HISTORY OF FRESNO COUNTY 1505 

at Sentinel, on August 8, 1912 ; Mary Patience passed away on the plains ; 
Benjamin Baxter bade good-bye to earthly scenes at Academy, on November 
22, 1867, and he was the first person buried in the Academy cemetery; John 
is the subject of this sketch ; and Isabell Catherine, who was born at Acad- 
emy, is the wife of the Rev. J. M. Parker of the Methodist Church South, 
and resides at Corning in Tehama Count}'. 

Reared at Academy, John Baley attended the local public school there 
and at the same time served his apprenticeship at farming. He assisted his 
mother, and while having a good time, for a lad, learned all about raising 
grain and stock. When ready for the more serious responsibilities of life, 
he was married near Woodville, in Tulare County, on December 29, 1886, 
his bride being Miss Filora Odom, a native of Cass County, Ga. Her father 
was the Rev. Alex Odom, who was born in Forsyth County, that state, and 
who, having duly studied theology, entered the ministry of the Methodist 
Church South. Before taking holy orders, he joined the Confederate Army 
in the Civil War; and when he began to preach, in 1868, he first occupied 
the pulpit in Georgia. In 1874 he came to Fresno County as a pastor; and 
while at Academy the following year, he organized St. Paul's Methodist 
Episcopal Church in Fresno. He also organized other churches throughout 
the state, from Shasta to Kern County. He was forty years in the ministry, 
and during that time he was for three years elder of Colusa district, when he 
made his headquarters at Chico. He spent his last years at Clovis, and died at 
the home of Mr. and Mrs. John Baley. Mrs. Odom was Elizabeth Fendley 
before her marriage, and she was born in Gordon County, Ga. Now she 
makes her home with Mrs. John Baley, and she is the honored mother of 
nine children, eight of whom grew up : S. Oscar is in Roseville ; Filora is 
Mrs. Baley ; Mary is Mrs. Moutrey of Oakland ; George M. is in Clovis ; 
William R. is in Fresno ; Bessie is Mrs. Lester of Clovis ; Ethel has become 
Mrs. Henry Ambrosia of Clovis; Atticus resides at Rutherford, Cal, and 
Maggie J., who died at the tender age of eight. 

After his marriage, Mr. Baley continued farming, and operated the old 
homestead at Academy, where he had resided from the time he was six 
months old. For a while he leased lands from the Simpsons, utilizing as 
many as 600 acres ; and there he came to have some three thousand or more 
head of sheep. He also went in for grain-farming, and employed from two to 
eight horses in the work. 

In 1915 Mr. Baley sold out and located at Barstow, where he engaged in 
raising alfalfa. He bought eighty acres eleven miles from Fresno, checked 
and leveled the land and prepared it for alfalfa of which he can get several 
crops a year. His land was under the Herndon canal, and having installed an 
electric pumping-plant, with a ten-horsepower motor, and a four-inch pump 
feeding into a reservoir of half an acre, he had the best of facilities for irriga- 
tion. He ran a dairy of twenty cows, and his two sons, William Odom and 
Thomas M., were associated with him in managing the farm. Having brought 
it to a high state of cultivation he sold it in 1919, and purchased eighty acres 
on Belmont Avenue, west of Madera Avenue — an alfalfa farm where he now 
resides. Aside from the canal he has two large pumping plants ample for 
irrigating the whole tract. It is his intention to set it to Thompson seedless. 

Five children have come to Mr. and Mrs. Baley: Leona is Mrs. F. C. 
Simpson of Sanger ; William Odom, is serving as a member of the United 
States Marines at Mare Island, is an expert marksman and is instructor of 
rifle range ; Thomas Marvin, assists his parents on the ranch ; and Bessie 
Belle, graduate of Sanger High, is at home. The memory of one son Elmer 
H., is affectionately treasured. They are members of the Methodist Church 
South, at Academy, of which Mr. Baley is a trustee ; and he has also served 
as a school trustee in that district for years. He is a member of the Wood- 
men of the World, and in national politics adheres to the principles of the 
long-established Democratic party. 



1506 HISTORY OF FRESNO COUNTY 

NOAH E. JAMES. — The rapid growth of Fresno, city and county, has 
brought to this section of the state men expert in the different lines of busi- 
ness involved in the upbuilding of a growing community, and each has done 
his share toward making it one of the show places of California. None more 
so than Noah E. James, one of the best known men in the building line in the 
San Joaquin Valley. Born in Logan County, 111., November 14, 1870, he is 
a son of Benjamin F. and Eliza (Bowman) James, the former a native of 
Iowa and the latter of Illinois. The mother died in the East, and the father, 
with his three sons, came to California in 1876. A carpenter by trade, he 
located in the San Joaquin Valley and followed contracting and building all 
his life. He now resides in Los Angeles and is eightv-four years of age. 

Noah E. James, now the only one living of the children, finished his 
education in the public schools of Oakland, and on its completion, became 
associated with his father in building contracting, working in Tulare County, 
at Tulare, Tipton, Exeter, Lindsay and Porterville. They built many flumes 
in the orange section around Porterville and Exeter. 

In 1900 Noah E. James located in Fresno and engaged in contracting and 
building; some of his work includes: the Bert Harvey residence; the Staples 
home ; the Ml Cahn residence ; the machine shop and annex to the Fresno 
High School ; the Crematory ; many cottages and bungalows and, besides 
his local work, he contracted" for building in other parts of the county. He 
has been foreman of construction for many contractors, among them, E. J. 
Farr, James Smith, Frank Rehorn, and Emmet Riggins, in fact, there is hardly 
a building erected in Fresno, in recent years, in which he has not had a hand 
in the construction. 

The marriage of Mr. James united him with Ida Lillian Haney, a native 
of Macon County, 111., and eight children have been born to them, all natives 
of California, as follows: Helen M. ; Grace E., wife of Robert York; Marie; 
Lurene ; Elmer ; Russell ; Mildred ; and Frank. Fraternally Mr. James is 
a member of the Central California Lodge of Odd Fellows, in which order 
he is a Past Grand, having passed all the chairs ; he is a member of the 
Modern Woodmen of America and for the past three years served as Chief 
Forester of the lodge. He is also a member of the Carpenters' Union, No. 701, 
of Fresno. In April, 1917, Mr. James was appointed by the county board of 
supervisors superintendent of construction of buildings, for Fresno County. 
This is one of the most inportant positions in the county, and he is superin- 
tending the work in his usual highly satisfactory manner. An expert builder, 
Mr. James has aided materially in giving Fresno the type of buildings in 
keeping with the prosperity and progress of the county, and has been an 
important factor in the life of the community. 

WILLIAM C. BERKHOLTZ.— The very efficient chief of the Fresno 
City Fire Department, William C. P.erkholtz, is a native of Illinois. He was 
born in Chicago, November 15, 1876, and was educated in the public schools 
of that city until his twentieth year. During his vacations he assisted his 
father with his business and when his school days were over he became a 
fireman on the Illinois Central Railroad, running out of Chicago. Later he 
went to San Marcial, N. M., where he worked in the same capacity on the 
Santa Fe Railroad. He was promoted to the position of locomotive engineer 
on the Albuquerque Division of the Coast Lines, running from Albuquerque 
to Gallup, N. M., continuing until 1907. This year marked his advent in 
California and Fresno, and for the next twelve months he was in the employ 
of the Santa Fe and the Southern Pacific Railroads, when he resigned. 

On July 1, 1908, Mr. Berkholtz became a member of the Fresno City 
Fire Department as driver of Engine No. 5. He entered into the duties of 
his new position with a desire to please those in authority and he soon 
attracted the attention of his superiors and was appointed lieutenant of Engine 
No. 1, and afterwards to the position of captain, and still later to outside 



HISTORY OF FRESNO COUNTY 1507 

captain. So well did he perform his duties that he was promoted to assistant 
chief of the department on October 1, 1917. Still greater honors came to him 
and on November 1, of that year, he was made Chief of the department, 
which position he now holds. He is ever on the alert for the betterment of 
the department, both in maintaining the most modern apparatus and in the 
safety and comfort of the firemen. The department consists of sixty-nine 
men, including Chief Berkholtz, first assistant chief, J.- E. Caldwell, and 
second assistant chief, William A. Washburn. There are six modern fire- 
houses, arranged for convenience and comfort of the men, and all the equip- 
ment is motor driven. This move eliminated thirty-five horses and was made 
possible by the mayor and council without calling for a special bond issue. 
Fresno is now placed in the front rank of the cities of the Coast in prepared- 
ness. The entire change from horse drawn to motor driven apparatus has 
covered a period of six years. 

In the spring of 1918 Chief Berkholtz was sent to San Francisco by the 
city authorities of Fresno to study conditions of the department of that city 
and while there he was made a member pro-tem of the department and at- 
tended several fires besides inspecting the fire houses and equipment whereby 
he gained valuable information and upon his return to Fresno he began 
putting into execution the ideas he had evolved from his experience while in 
San Francisco. While he was in attendance at the Pacific Fire Chiefs Con- 
vention in Oakland, September, 1918, he learned of the movement that was 
being put in operation to prevent fires. He made a special study of the 
matter and upon his return home at once set about to interest the citizens of 
Fresno in the movement with the result that Jay W. Stevens, formerly Chief 
of the Fire Prevention Bureau of Portland, Ore., and now Chief of the Fire 
Prevention Bureau of the Pacific, and his assistant, J. H. Schiveley, came to 
Fresno with reels of pictures and slides showing what constitutes fire hazards 
and how to safe-guard against danger of fires and to remove fire-breeding 
hazards, as well as methods of fighting fires. These pictures were shown at 
all the theaters, various clubs, the State Normal School and in the public 
schools of the city. Lectures were given with a view of enlisting the citizens, 
club members and the school children in particular, that they might be more 
thoughtful in preventing the accumulation of combustible matter and in 
eradicating to a large degree the danger of fires by a systematic cleaning-up 
of the entire city. In other words each person was made to understand his 
or her special duty of "what I can do to prevent fires." The movement gained 
ground and the clean-up will be vigorously prosecuted by second chief, W. A. 
Washburn, who will be in complete charge of this department. Every home 
and business house in Fresno will be carded, the places inspected at regular 
periods and a complete record kept of conditions as found with the result that 
the rates of insurance will be lowered and the fire hazard reduced to a mini- 
mum in Fresno. The showing of these pictures is a strictly western idea and 
is rapidly spreading to various parts of the United States. 

Chief Berkholtz is an indefatigable worker for the building-up of the 
department and for the welfare of the firemen under his direction. He is not 
satisfied with anything but the very best in all departments and has reduced 
the management to a strictly business basis. He has the respect of all the 
men in the department and is fast winning a name and place for himself in 
the Fire Chief's Association of the Coast, as well as in his home city. 

Chief Berkholtz was united in marriage with Miss Neste Albertson, a 
native of South Dakota, and this union has been blessed by the birth of two 
children, Helmer U. B. and Frederick. Chief Berkholtz is a member of the 
Brotherhood of Locomotive Engineers and Firemen and of the Loyal Order 
of Moose. He holds a prominent position among the progressive men of 
Fresno and is proving himself worthy of the confidence reposed in him by the 
city authorities and his fellow citizens. 



1508 HISTORY OF FRESNO COUNTY 

FRANK L. IRWIN.— Fresno's popular young city trustee, Frank L. 
Irwin, was born in Springfield, 111. on November 3, 1876, and is the son of 
Washington and Maria (Mosely) Irwin. His father's occupation was that of 
builder and contractor. Both parents are living, and number among their 
children five boys and three girls. 

Frank L. received a good public school education and learned the brick 
laying trade as a young man, working at that business for some years in 
Illinois. Afterward" imbued with the thought that there was a larger sphere 
in the West for an active, energetic young man, he came to Berkeley^remain- 
ing there for one year and going thence to Fresno, in January, 1907, where 
he engaged in the contracting and building business. Among other important 
public buildings erected under his supervision were the Fresno High School, 
Lincoln annex and the Lowell annex, the Emerson and numerous other build- 
ings. He had charge of the masonry at the State Normal. 

Frank L. Irwin was married 'in November of 1898 to Miss Ethel C. 
Crowder. They are the parents of three children, Edna, Lyle and Charles. 
In the spring of 1913 Mr. Irwin was elected to his present office, city trustee, 
for a term of four years. 

Fraternally he is a member of the I. O. O. F. and W. O. W. In religion 
he is a member of the First Methodist Church of Fresno, and politically is 
a Republican. He is active in public work, particularly in the labor move- 
ment being president of Fresno Labor Council, and Fresno Building Trade 
Council, and always has the interest of the community at heart. Mr. Irwin 
has many friends and is highly respected as well as much liked by his fellow 
citizens. He resides with his family at 403 Fresno Avenue. 

JOSEPH WEBSTER POTTER.— Coming from a long line of sturdy 
pioneers, Joseph Webster Potter, who is now in the prime of life, has taken 
advantage of the splendid and unusual opportunities afforded him through 
having been born and reared in the great West. His birthplace was only 
three-quarters of a mile from his present residence northeast of Clovis, 
Fresno County, where he was born on December 31, 1876. 

His father, John Wesley Potter, was a native of Cooper County. Mo., 
born near the town of Boonville, January 5, 1837, and coming to California 
with his parents in 1853, when he was sixteen. They located in San Joaquin 
County, where his father and brother took up a homestead preemption and 
engaged in farming and stock-raising. They remained there until 1871. then 
purchased a herd of sheep, which they drove to Fresno County, locating near 
Clovis. For nearlv twenty vears thev continued in this industry, until about 
1892. 

It was here that John Wesley Potter, father of Joseph Webster, even- 
tually purchased five sections of land, and followed the occupation of farm- 
ing. In 1891 he set out one of the first vineyards in this section. Later 
he was one of the first to see the possibilities in growing figs, and devoted 
twenty acres to this productive fruit, setting them out first in 1906. He was 
among the successful pioneers of Fresno County, and not only did he dem- 
onstrate his ability in agriculture, but for two years in the early days he 
followed mining with no small returns. His wife, Martha Jane Webster, 
was born in Napa County, Cal., in 1852, she being the daughter of pioneers 
who crossed the plains that same year and settled in Napa County. She 
married Mr. Potter in Yacaville. Solano County, and they were the parents 
of three children: Mrs. Kate Clark of Kingsburg; Joseph Webster Potter, 
the subject of this sketch ; and Mrs. Lizzie Russell, of Clovis. 

Joseph W. received his education in the public schools of the Mississippi 
school district, later attending the Pacific Methodist College of Santa Rosa 
for four years, from which he was graduated in 1898 with the degree of 
A. B. Filled with enthusiasm and new ideas, the young man started practi- 
cal everyday life, well fitted for any position which might open for him, and 





fKJa^G^. 



<y^<e^> 



HISTORY OF FRESNO COUNTY 1511 

he has found many opportunities to put to good use his earlier years of 
preparation. 

He joined his father in working on the home place, making a specialty 
of raisins, figs and peaches. At the present writing he has under cultivation 
forty acres of grapes, ten of peaches, thirty acres of figs, and fifteen acres set 
out to olives, all under both ditch and pumping plant. He became connected 
with the First National Bank of Clovis, of which his father was a stock- 
holder and vice-president, and after his father's death on April 15, 1915, he 
was elected director and president of the bank at the same time. He also 
took charge of his father's estate. 

On January 5, 1903, Miss Bertha Frances Allen became the bride of J. W. 
Potter, the marriage ceremony being performed near Upper Lake, Lake 
County, Cal. They have four children : Marjorie Dorothy, John Allen, 
Russell, and Donald. The family are members of Grace Methodist Church 
of Clovis. Mr Potter is not only active in the church, holding the office of 
trustee, but he is superintendent of the Sunday-school. He is a member of 
the board of trustees of Clovis Union High School. His father was not only 
a pioneer member of this church, but an ardent supporter of all movements 
for public good. So likewise is the son — a citizen of sterling qualities claim- 
ing the highest esteem and respect of the community. 

JOHN AND ALICE YOUNG.— For the past twelve years this popular 
couple have been residents of Fresno County where Mr. Young is well and 
favorably known as the foreman of Thompson Brothers Construction Corn- 
pan}' who maintain offices at"1514 Fresno Street, Fresno. He was born in 
Bluffton, Ind., near the Wabash River on November 21, 1872. He received 
a public school education and fitted himself to be a mechanic and as an 
engineer he has had charge of steam engines for various companies in the 
different parts of the country where he has lived. Soon after he was married 
Mr. Young located at Bay City, Mich., where he was in the employ of a large 
lumber company, afterwards he held the position of engineer in the Fort 
Wayne Knitting Mills at Fort Wayne, Ind., and remained there until on 
account of ill health it was decided that he should come to California for 
an entire change. This was in 1907, and soon after Mr. Young became 
engineer for the Fresno By-Products Company for two years. He then was 
associated with Worswick Paving Company and worked in several of the 
growing towns in the San Joaquin Vallev until he became connected with 
the present concern and went to live at the O. M. Thompson ranch, located 
about two and one-half miles southeast from Fresno. 

In all his operations since his marriage at Fort Wayne, Ind., Mr. Young 
has had the hearty cooperation of his wife. She was in maidenhood. Miss 
Alice E. Richardson, born in Fort Wayne, the daugther of Austin and Ellen 
(Grayless) Richardson, natives of Southern Indiana. On the maternal side 
Mrs. Young represents some pioneer stock in California, whither an uncle, 
Charles Grayless, who was owner of 10,000 acres near where the present city 
of Fort Wayne stands, and had large bands of horses and cattle there and was 
rated a very wealthy man for that period, came to the gold fields to increase 
his fortune and possibly for adventure. He became well-known among the 
earlv stockmen and miners, was a highly respected and wealthy man, made 
his home in Stockton, where his good wife died, and soon afterwards he went 
back to Indiana where he passed away. The Grayless people were sturdy, 
vigorous and active people and it was from them that Mrs. Young inherited 
her physical strength and love for the great out door life and to care for 
stock. At the ranch over which she has supervision she cares for a dairy 
herd of over twenty milch cows and a band of nearly seventy-five horses. 

It is interesting to note that after the marriage of Mr. and Mrs. Young 
they went to Bay City, Mich., where Mrs. Young took a position as chief 
cook in a lumber camp and fed more than thirty men for over three years and 



1512 HISTORY OF FRESNO COUNTY 

at the same time looked after the comfort of her husband. She has never 
shirked a duty that would tend to aid her husband and on the ranch she has 
reared her family of children to lives of usefulness. To this worthy couple 
seven children have been born, three of whom died in infancy. The four 
living are Harry R., now at home assisting his mother and trying to regain 
his health, lost after he had joined the United States Army, in which he 
became a sergeant. He was strong and robust when he left for camp but by 
being inoculated by army surgeons he became ill and was discharged from 
the service; John N., was also in service and received his training at Camp 
Lewis, Wash., and saw service in the Hawaiian Islands, where he held a 
responsible position during the great "World War; Helen and Rebecca are 
both at home. Mrs. Young is intensely devoted to her family and her first 
consideration is how best to help her husband and children. She is generous 
to a fault and commands the respect and esteem of her community. She is 
a patriot and is proud of the gallant sons who have served their country in 
its trying times. She is a woman of good sound business judgment and 
has been an invaluable assistant to her devoted husband in all his business 
ventures. 

SIDNEY L. PLATT. — Among the substantial and enterprising citizens 
of Fresno is Sidney L. Piatt, secretary and treasurer of Madarv's Planing Mill 
Company of Fresno, occupying quarters at No. 1805 Anna Street. Mr. Piatt, 
who is of English parentage, was born in Africa, May 25, 1864. His father 
was a missionary, and when Sidney L. was a child three years of age the 
family removed to Boston, Mass., going thence to Atchison County. Kans., 
where young Sidney was brought up on a farm. He experienced the usual 
lot in life that falls to a farmer's son, attended the country schools, and later 
supplemented his schooling with a business education obtained at Emporia, 
Kans. He came to Fresno in January, 1888, intending to make a visit of a 
few weeks, but like many other of California's Eastern visitors, was so fasci- 
nated with Fresno's wonderful beauty, the salubrity of her climate and the 
bright prospects of her financial future, that he has been there ever since. 
He secured employment in the office of the Mechanic's Planing Mill, at the 
corner of H and Inyo Streets. A year and a half later the mill burned, and 
Mr. Piatt became deputy tax collector for one season under tax collector A. D. 
Ewing. The company rebuilt the mill one block south of the old location, and 
Mr. Piatt returned to their employ. Some time later he entered the employ 
of Mr. M. A. Madary in his planing mill, as chief of office, and in 1905, when 
Madary's Planing Mill was incorporated, became secretary and treasurer of 
the company, the position he now holds. He is one of the owners of the mill, 
of which Mr. Madary is president and A. M. Loper vice-president; and he is 
also part owner in a valuable fruit ranch owned by the company, consisting 
of forty acres of orange trees in full bearing, ten acres of two-year-old trees, 
and thirty acres of peaches in bearing. 

Mr. Piatt married Miss Irene Thayer, a native of Minnesota. They have 
two sons. Lawrence T. aged twenty-one, passed through the Fresno public 
schools and the Military Academy at San Rafael and entered Stanford 
University. Shortly after the United States entered the World War. he en- 
listed in the Naval Reserves, and in November, 1917, became attached to the 
special dispatch boat U. S. S. Broadbill. He saw service in the Pacific and 
assisted in the capture of the German raider in those waters. He then went 
to Seattle and became attached to the L T . S. S. West Ekonk, and sailed to 
San Francisco and New York City via the Panama Canal, going thence to 
Brest, France, in convoy. He returned to New York, and on November 4, 
1918. sailed for Genoa, Italy, as captain of the gun crew. He is now on his 
second trip. The second son, Kenneth Lloyd, aged seventeen, was a student 
in the Fresno public schools, and is now a student in the Fresno high. 



HISTORY. OF FRESNO COUNTY 1513 

Mr. Piatt has always been much interested in music. He helped to 
organize the Fresno Male Chorus, and has been an active member and served 
as vice-chairman for five years, and is now chairman. He has been active 
in choir work in the First Methodist Church of Fresno, of which he has 
been a. member and in which he has held various offices. At present he is 
one of the trustees of said church. Mrs. Piatt is also very active in church 
work, and for fifteen years was organist of the church. She is also past presi- 
dent of the Parlor Lecture Club and is very active in war work, in the inter- 
est of the Red Cross, Thrift Stamps, etc. 

Mr. Piatt is a member of Las Palmas Lodge, No. 343, as well as Chapter 
69, F. & A. M., and of the Fresno Lodge, No. 186, I. O. O. F. He is also 
a Past Commander of the Fresno Commandery, and a member of Islam 
Temple of the Shrine. 

JOHN R. MURPHY. — Among the large corps of experienced and able 
dairymen of California, few men are better known than John R. Murphy, 
the progressive commissioner, whose father was James Murphy, a native of 
Ireland and a pioneer dairyman in California, who died on March 21, 1896. 
His mother, Bridget Murphy, died in 1893. He was educated in the public 
schools of Novato, Marin County, having been born in Hartford, Conn., on 
March 21, 1865, and been brought west to the land of greater opportunity- 
Just when he attained his majority, he lost his father, and there devolved 
upon him the support of a family of eight, all of whom he reared and edu- 
cated. 

For a while Mr. Murphy was in the dairying business, but in 1893 he 
sold out his interests and entered the employ of the Western Refrigerating 
Company, at Petaluma, later making an engagement with the Danish 
Creamery at Fresno. There his experience, enterprise and fidelity to duty soon 
made him known much beyond the confines of the county. 

At Petaluma, in November, 1896, Mr. Murphy married Mary Early, the 
daughter of the well-known pioneer, James Early, who crossed the plains 
with an oxteam in 1852 ; and as the result of this exceptionally happy mar- 
riage, one daughter, Mary Alice Murphy, now an attractive girl of twelve 
years, was born. Mr. and Mrs. Murphy are devoted Catholics, and the 
family attend that growing church. 

A Republican always active in the campaigning of that party, Mr. Murphy 
was appointed State Dairy Commissioner, on July 1, 1909, by Governor James 
Norris Gillett, and so well has he handled the trust committed to his care, that 
he still holds that position. It seems natural that he should be a leader in 
the Commercial Club. 

JAMES MALCOMB CRAWFORD.— One of the leading optometrists 
in the state, James Malcomb Crawford, has met with wonderful success in 
the practice of his profession in Fresno. Locating here in 1905, he has since 
that date been identified with the best interests of the city and county, and 
has taken an active part in the upbuilding of his profession in California. 
Born in Bell County, Texas, December 20, 1871, he received his early educa- 
tion in the public schools of his native state. He took up the study of optom- 
etry in 1898, attending the South Bend College of Optics. After graduating, 
he began the practice of his profession in his home town, Temple, Texas, 
afterwards taking post graduate work at the Chicago Ophthalmic College and 
Hospital. In 1900, Dr. Crawford removed to Denison, Teyas, and practiced 
there until 1905, when he located in Fresno. 

Dr. Crawford is a member of the State Optometry Association, and a 
charter member of the National Association. In 1911 he was appointed by 
Governor Johnson a member of the State Board of Optometry, which office 
he now hjlds, being secretary of the board. There are only three members 
on this br>ard, and to be appointed one is an honor and distinction accorded 
to few in his profession. 



1514 HISTORY OF FRESNO COUNTY 

Besides his large practice, Dr. Crawford has found time to devote to 
agricultural development in the county. He is the owner of a large dairy 
ranch at Caruthers, where he has a herd of pure-bred Holstein registered 
cattle. His bull is Segis Pontiac Count, registered, son of King Segis Pon- 
tiac Count. Two heifers, sisters of his bull, but owned in New York state, 
have taken world's records in more than a hundred different tests. He also 
has on his ranch fine blooded Duroc-Jersey hogs, and white leghorn chickens. 

Fraternally Dr. Crawford is a Mason and has taken his Thirtieth degree ; 
he is a member of Las Palmas Lodge of Fresno. He is also a member of 
the Knights of Pythias, and is Past Chancellor of that order, having passed 
all degrees in the order. Dr. Crawford's marriage united him with Annie 
L. Dickey, a native of Tennessee, and four children have been born to them : 
Edwin D.. a member of the Aviation Corps of the U. S. A., and in partner- 
ship with his father; Harriett; James M., Jr., attending the Agricultural Col- 
lege at Corvallis, Ore. ; and Ellen. 

JAMES A. BURNS. — We do not know that the senior member of the 
well known law firm, Burns and Watkins, of Fresno, is any relation to the 
renowned poet, Bobby Burns, but he has a good old Scottish name that he 
may well be proud of. 

James A. Burns is a native of Richville, Washington County, 111., born 
August 12, 1852. Quiet, unostentatious, and of studious inclinations, he at- 
tended the Washington Seminary in his native city and followed the occupa- 
tion of a pedagogue in his native state and eastern Missouri, then, his inclina- 
tions leading in the direction of the law, he became a law student in the 
office of John M. Breeze at Richville, 111., and was admitted to practice No- 
vember 6, 1880. Allured by California's charms and the possibilities of a 
future, in that state, in his chosen profession, on December 5, 1880, one month 
after his admission to the bar, he arrived at Lemoore, Kings County (then 
Tulare County"), where he began the practice of law. He met with success, 
and after serving for two years in that place as Justice of the Peace, removed 
in 1884 to Hanford, where he continued the practice of his profession until 
1886, when he came to the bustling town of Selma, in the center of the fruit 
section of Fresno County. In 1902 he removed to his present home, Fresno, 
and again opened a law office. 

His marriage with Annie Lewis, a native of Kentucky, was consummated 
August 12, 1879, two children being the result of this union: Nannie, who 
is the wife of Mr. Burns' law partner, W. J. Watkins ; and Robert, well known 
in Fresno musical circles as an excellent cornetist. 

Fraternally Mr. Burns is a member of the B. P. O. Elks, and the Inde- 
pendent Order of Foresters. Mr. Burns has built up a large practice in the 
valley and is familiarly known among his intimate friends as "Jimmy" Burns. 
He has never aspired to any public office. 

HORACE THORWALDSON.— The early scenes in the life of Fresno 
County's estimable ex-sheriff, Horace Thorwaldson, were set in the land of 
ice, snow and the reindeer — the outpost of Danish dominion in the Western 
Hemisphere. He was born at Dupivog, on the eastern coast of Iceland, Feb- 
ruary 4. 1869. His ancestors for the past thousand years were Norsemen of 
pure Scandinavian stock, speaking the old Norse language. 

The success in life which Mr. Thorwaldson has attained, is due entirely 
to his unaided efforts, for he is, in the broadest meaning of the term, self- 
made, possessing the characteristic thrift and frugality of his Northern an- 
cestry, combined with unfaltering determination of purpose which has re- 
sulted in his becoming a prosperous citizen of the country. 

He is the son of Thorwald and Vilborg Thorwaldson. His father was 
a farmer and died in Denmark when Horace was a lad eight vears of age. 
leaving a widow with ten children. Three years after the death of the hus- 
band and father, the mother emigrated to the United States with her family. 



HISTORY OF FRESNO COUNTY 1515 

the oldest a boy twenty-one years of age, and the youngest aged four, going 
to North Dakota in territorial days. In the Red River Valley the family 
bought an ox team and wagon and going forty miles out upon the prairie 
located in Pembina County, September, 1880, where they squatted upon the 
virgin soil. The family was poor and lived in a log house, suffering the 
hardships that inevitably fall to the lot of pioneer families. Horace hired out 
at the age of twelve, breaking prairie land, barefooted, with a yoke of oxen, 
earning money in summer to enable him to attend school in winter in the 
log cabin school house. He acquired a common school education and in 
1886, when sixteen years of age, in quest of a larger field of activity, sought 
his fortune farther west, going to Seattle, Wash., where he remained until 
1891, learning in the meantime the saddler's trade. In 1893 he visited the 
World's Fair and various places and states, then returned to Seattle for a 
short time, going thence to San Francisco and finally locating, that year, 
at Watsonville, Santa Cruz County, Cal., where he conducted a saddle and 
harness business until December 29, 1898, when he located in Fresno and 
engaged in the same line of business, which he continued until January, 1910, 
when he sold and retired from commercial life. He then purchased 340 acres 
of land on Elkhorn Slough, west of Riverdale, which he still owns. He im- 
proved this land, and also engaged in stock raising. On January 1, 1911, he 
was appointed field deputy sheriff under and by Sheriff Walter S. McSwain, 
serving under him until Mr. McSwain's death, December 6, 1915. when by a 
unanimous vote of the supervisors he was appointed to succeed Mr. McSwain 
as sheriff of Fresno County. This, his first political office, was an unqualified 
success; his term of office expired January 1. 1919. 

At Watsonville, June 10, 1896, he was united in marriage with Miss 
Cornelia E. Peckham, a member of the well known pioneer family of Peck- 
hams, prominent early settlers of California. Two children were the result 
of this union ; Wilma Abbie, born March 5, 1897, and Elis Oliver, born 
May 1. 1899. 

• In his religious views Mr. Thorwaldson is a Protestant. In his fraternal 
relations he is a member of several orders, namely: Fresno Lodge, No. 247, 
F. & A. M. ; Fresno Lodge, No. 439, B. P. O. Elks ; the Eagles ; the Woodmen 
of the World; Fresno Lodge, No. 138, K. of P., and the Odd Fellows. 

PROFESSOR ALBERT R. J. GRAEPP.— While Fresno has advanced 
with phenomenal strides in civic and commercial growth she has also kept 
pace in the cultivation of the arts and is most fortunate in numbering among 
her citizens Prof. Albert R. J. Graepp, teacher of music, whose studio 
is at his residence, 2747 Mariposa Street. Professor Graepp is a native of 
Germany, the country of renowned musicians whose names are recorded in 
the annals of fame, and was born June 11, 1859, in Pomerania, Northern 
Germany. Possessed of a naturally beautiful voice he sang alto in school 
before he could read, and at the age of eight years began studying the violin 
and pipe organ, also learning thoroughly the construction of the latter instru- 
ment. In his youth he attended the higher citizens' school, and in 1876, at 
the age of seventeen, crossed the water to America, finishing his education 
in this country. For two years he was a student at St. Jerome College, 
Kitchener, Ontario, where he continued his musical education. He next 
attended Thiel College at Greenville, Mercer County, Pa., and while there 
instructed the college band. He graduated from that institution with the 
degree of bachelor of arts, in 1882, afterwards locating in Philadelphia, Pa., 
where he took a course in theology and philology at the Evangelical Lutheran 
Theological Seminary, at that time located at Franklin Square, but later 
removed to Mount Airy. This institution was affiliated with the University 
of Pennsylvania. He graduated in 1885 with the degree of master of arts. 
He next took up missionary work in the churches of New Jersey and was 
afterward instructor of music in Ivy Hall Seminary, a school for girls, at 



1516 HISTORY OF FRESNO COUNTY 

Bridgeton. X. J., teaching piano and violin and instructing students from 
other academies who came to him. He then accepted a call to take charge of 
the musical department and assist in teaching the German language in his 
Alma Mater, Thiel University. Accepting the position he remained at the 
university until 1893, while there doing most excellent work in the musical 
department, among other things organizing a college band and college or- 
chestra. Afterwards he located near Halifax, Nova Scotia, and engaged in 
missionary work. 

In 1897 he accepted a position as instructor of music in Sacred Heart 
College at Prairie du Chien, Wis. For five years he devoted his energies to 
building up the musical department of the college, doing a grand work. 
In the meantime organizing a band and teaching singing. In 1904 he received 
and accepted a call from Laramie, Wyo., to take charge of the choir and or- 
chestra work in the musical department of the University of Wyoming. Pro- 
fessor Graepp came to Fresno, Cal., March 8, 1906, where he is a very success- 
ful teacher of the piano, violin, and languages, standing at the head of his 
profession. He was also the founder of the Philharmonic Conservatory and 
the Italian Band of Fresno, is organist of the Emanuel Lutheran Church. 
and has had charge of the repair work and tuning of the pipe organ in St. 
John's Catholic Church, at Fresno. He is an expert in the construction of 
pipe organs and has repaired and rebuilt many. 

Professor Graepp was twice married, his first wife being, in maidenhood. 
Miss Leonora Snyder, who is now deceased. His second wife, who is still 
living, was Mrs. Anna R. Coleman of Wisconsin, a widow with three chil- 
dren by her former husband, Charles Coleman, namely: Edna, Clarence, and 
Arthur. By his last union Mr. Graepp became the father of two children : 
Clara, who died at the age of three vears, and Albert Frederick, a sophomore ■ 
at California Concordia College, at Oakland. 

THOMAS L. BERG.— On the island of Fedje, off the north coast of 
Norway, near the city of Bergen, Mr. Berg was born November 2, 1870. 
His father, was Lars Sjurson, and his mother Breta Thompson. They owned 
a small place which they farmed, doing all the work by hand on account of 
the limited areas. Fishing at this place is excellent, and the father, in com- 
mon with the majority of the island inhabitants, depended mainly upon the 
products of their fisheries. This country would be a bleak Arctic waste were 
it not for the thermality of the great Gulf Stream, which not only tempers 
the climate of northern Norway, but carries with it elements of nutrition 
that sustain all kinds of aquatic life.. It was in such a world and under such 
conditions that Mr. Berg was born, and he inherited the qualities of physical 
and mental strength from the sturdy and honorable ancient Norse race. 

Mr. Berg was educated in the public schools of his native land : as he 
grew up he helped his father fish and farm. Nicolina Koppen, his wife, was 
born upon the same island, where they were schoolmates. They were brought 
up in the Lutheran Church, and were both confirmed the same day. The 
wife's parents were the largest land owners on the island, her father like- 
wise following the occupation of fishing and farming. 

When Mr. Berg reached his seventeenth year, he took to sailing before 
the mast, and for two years he sailed along the coast and in the Ninth and 
Baltic seas. On one of his voyages to England he was taken severely ill 
and for weeks his life was despaired of while he was being nursed in the 
hospital at Cardiff. LJpon his recovery he returned home and quit the sea. 
He resolved to try the United States, and at the age of twenty-two he came 
to America, reached Chicago April 30. 1893, and continued to his destination 
— Council Bluffs, Iowa. Here he found a condition of great industrial unrest 
and unemployment. One of the first sights that he saw was Coxcv*s Army 
in it- march across the continent. No work could be had at more than $1.10 
per day. and only half time at that. After working about two years in 




'AsOtcnr 



^T^^^^i^ 



HISTORY OF FRESNO COUNTY 1519 

western Iowa, Mr. Berg came to San Francisco, arriving there June 15, 1895, 
he went down to the Leland Stanford Stock Farm at Palo Alto, and stayed 
about a month, then came to Fresno. Labor conditions were bad here, but 
Mr. Berg took work on a farm near Fresno at five dollars per month. He 
liked Fresno County from his first visit and he resolved to become a rancher, 
and when he could, in 1897, he bought the twenty-acre place that is now his 
home and began to cultivate and improve it. He was a bachelor here for 
three years ; then in 1900 he went back to Norway, and on July 2, 1900, was 
married, and on July 4 started on their honeymoon for the land of his adop- 
tion and to the home he had prepared in Fresno County. 

Mr. Berg is also the owner of three different ranches aggregating ninety 
acres in the neighborhood of Oleander — a splendid result of twenty-five 
years' work. His wife has been a good helpmate, and their holdings are 
the result of their own unaided efforts. In 1901 he bought a place of ten 
acres on South Maple Avenue, and after bringing it into bearing sold to good 
advantage in 1907; in 1908 he bought a place of twenty acres on Maple 
Avenue, near Oleander; in 1911 he bought ten acres on Lincoln Avenue, 
three-quarters of a mile from his home place and in 1915 he bought forty 
acres on Orange Avenue three-quarters of a mile southwest from his home 
place. He is raising raisin grapes and peaches. In 1908 Mr. Berg built a 
fine home at a cost of $5,000, and here himself and family are noted for their 
hospitality. There are eight children in the family: Lawrence, is a freshman 
in the Fresno high school; Thomas; Johanna; Bertha; Marie; Bjerney; 
Herald ; Norma ; all going to school. The family are members of the Danish 
Lutheran Church, and in politics are Republican though enthusiastic sup- 
porters of the present administration. 

VICTOR FRANZEN.— To the man who makes a success of life, en- 
tirely unaided and with many obstacles to overcome in the struggle, much 
credit is due, and where he has helped in the development of a district, while 
building up his own fortunes, he can rest content in the knowledge that he 
has done his share in the interest of the commonwealth and that of his own 
family. Such a man is Victor Franzen, who came to Fresno County a poor 
young man, of foreign birth and language, with no other resources than a 
healthy body and the will to succeed. He is the son of Frans and Gustava 
Franzen, and was born in Sweden, March 10, 1869, the youngest in a family 
of six children. He received his early education in his native land, and when 
he reached his twentieth year, in 1889, he immigrated to the United States 
and first located in Iowa, remaining there three years, working as a farm 
hand. 

In 1892, Mr. Franzen came to California and worked for wages five years, 
and then, deciding to settle here permanently, in 1897 he purchased forty 
acres of raw land in the Wahtoke district, Fresno County, and proceeded to 
cultivate it. He was obliged to work out in order to earn the money with 
which to buy food for himself and family, as well as to make improvements 
on his ranch, and in this way he succeeded in subduing the soil and com- 
pelling it to yield him returns for his labors. As time passed, his efforts 
were crowned with success, and he later purchased an additional twenty 
acres, and now owns one of the finest ranches in the Wahtoke district, and 
the handsomest dwelling house in his section of the county. His residence, 
which was completed in 1917, contains six rooms on the ground floor, and 
a room on the upper floor, and cost about $4,000. While the exterior is 
beautiful, the interior is surpassingly so. His ranch is set to white Adriatic 
and Calimyrna figs, twenty acres, and a vineyard of eighteen acres of muscats, 
the latter yielding him thirty tons. 

The marriage of Mr. Franzen, which occurred in 1897, united him with 
Miss Frances Mayes, and five children were born to them, four of whom are 
living, as follows : Marion, who served about six months in the United States 



1520 HISTORY OF FRESNO COUNTY 

Marines: Annie, deceased; Carl; Stella; and Cleta. Mrs. Franzen departed 
this life in 1915. 

While kept well occupied with his agricultural duties, Mr. Franzen 
has never been too much so to take an interest in the welfare of his home 
county, and has been found ready to help in all projects for the advance- 
ment of his community. He has served as a trustee of Wahtoke School 
District for twenty years. Fraternally he belongs to the Court of Honor. 
In politics he is a Democrat. He is a member of the Fig and the Raisin 
Associations. 

HUGH JAMES CARLING, JR.— Born in Dayton. Lyon County, Nev., 
September 7, 1886, Hugh James Carling, Jr., is a son of Hugh James Carling. 
a native of New Jersey, and of Nancy Jane (Newman) Carling, born in 
Iowa. The father "came to Nevada in 1870, and there engaged in the cattle 
business. On coming to California, he located in Fresno, in 1892, and has 
since made this his home. 

Hugh James Carling, Jr., came to Fresno with his parents, in 1892, and 
obtained his education here, attending the grammar and high schools. On 
completing his schooling, he worked as a reporter on the Fresno Republican, 
and engaged in other clerical work. In 1910, he entered the county recorder's 
office as deputv and one year later began reading law, first studying alone, 
and later he read law with Carl E. Lindsay, of Fresno. 

Mr. Carling was admitted to the bar in San Francisco, in October, 1916. 
After seven years in the county recorder's office, he entered the office of the 
county clerk, as clerk in department one, of the Superior Court. In February, 
1918. Mr. Carling was appointed deputy district attorney, which office he now 
holds, with credit to both himself and to the county in which he was reared. 
Fraternally, he is a member of Fresno Lodge, No. 186, I. O .O. F. He is 
also a member of Fresno Lodge, No. 138, K. of P., of which he is the present 
Chancellor Commander. Mr. Carling's marriage united him with Elnora E. 
Elder, a native of Fresno County, and daughter of a pioneer. 

JOHN PAGE. — It requires not only a special aptness for the detailed 
and varied work of the industry, but years of steady application to scientific 
research and hard, troublesome labor to arrive at the enviable position of 
John Page, very properly regarded as one of the most experienced viticul- 
turists and wine-makers in all California, and whose exceptional ability has 
been recognized by the California Wine Association in their appointment of 
him as superintendent of their Fresno vineyard and winery. 

John's father was James Page, a native of Fifeshire, Scotland, where he 
was a stonemason when he married Jane Hunter, also born in the land of 
Bobbie Burns. When he left for New Zealand, he was forced to travel nine 
months in a sailing ship ; but once established in his new homeland, he en- 
gaged in contracting and building for many years. In this field he became 
prominent: but having had enough of that enterprise, he bought and im- 
proved a farm, to which he eventually retired. There, too, he died, as did his 
devoted helpmate, the mother of eight children, six of whom are still living. 

Born at Dunedin, New Zealand, in 1868, the sixth eldest in the family 
and the only one destined to come to California, John Page was brought up 
on a farm and attended the New Zealand grammar schools, finishing his 
studies at the Otago High School in Dunedin. On graduating, he entered 
the grocery trade, taking a clerkship in the spice department of a well-known 
establishment, where he remained for two years. It was not what he was 
reallv aiming a t. but he put into practice there the rule of his life, to make 
a success of every work he undertook, and when lie left the grocery trade 
there were good reasons for his remaining in it. 

The lure of California began to attract him at that time, however, and in 
1888, at about the top of the great boom, he landed at San Francisco. He 
was not yet satisfied, and shortly afterwards went to Oregon, where he en- 



HISTORY OF FRESNO COUNTY 1521 

tered the employ of a contractor engaged in building the breakwater at the 
Columbia River Bar. Oregon did something for John, and John did a lot 
for Oregon ; but the longer he stayed there, the more he concluded that 
California was the place for him. He returned, therefore, to the Golden State, 
and came directly to Fresno ; for he had sufficiently informed himself to 
judge of its superior attractions. He was lucky in securing some work on the 
best of acreage, and with that experience, he set out vineyards and went in 
for viticulture. He was also foreman for Captain Neville's vineyard, and 
then foreman of the Margherita Vineyard ; and in discharging his duties in 
both of these places, he made his mark, first as a man with helpful insight 
into the problems peculiar to California wine-making, and secondly as a 
tireless worker accomplishing the maximum possible through the most 
approved methods. 

In the spring of 1901 Mr. Page made a trip to the Klondyke, and spent 
a year and a half in the frozen North. He prospected out from Dawson and 
followed mining; but not being over-infatuated with the country, he returned 
to California and Fresno. He entered the employ of the California Wine 
Association, serving that concern first in the Smith Mountain Winery and 
then in the Eisen Vineyard ; and next he was made superintendent of the 
Fresno vineyard and winery, distinguished for its manufacture of sweet 
wines, especially sherry and port. 

At San Francisco, on August 24, 1911, Mr. Page was married to Mrs. 
May (Roland) Cooper, a native of San Jose, where she was born the daughter 
of Irish parents — Patrick and Mary Fogarty — who early settled in California, 
and became prominent in Santa Clara Valley. Mr. Fogarty went in for 
farming and horticulture, and in that undertaking was eminently successful 
when he was killed in a runaway. His wife, aged seventy-nine years, makes 
her home with Mrs. Page. The latter was educated at the Notre Dame Acad- 
emy and the Academy of the Immaculate Heart at Hollister, from which 
institutions she graduated with honors. Her three children are : James Hun- 
ter, Jack Roland and Mary Jane Page. By her former marriage, Mrs. Page 
had one child, Claire Cooper, who attends the Fresno high school. 

Both Mr. and Mrs. Page take a lively interest in national politics, he 
espousing the platform of the Republican party, and she the Democrats ; 
but in local affairs, they are naturally very much devoted to the best interests 
of the section in which they live and so always vote for the best man and 
the best measure, thereby making for the best citizenship. 

FRED EUGENE LINDSEY.— An enterprising old-timer in the Scan- 
dinavian Colony who has greatly improved a ranch and now owns valuable 
property is Fred Eugene Lindsey, a resident of Fresno County since the 
early nineties, who was born at Antigonish, Nova Scotia, on February 27, 
1856. His father, Thomas S. Lindsey, was born on the Penobscot River, near 
Bangor, Me., where he was reared a member of a Massachusetts family. He 
married Mercy Longfellow, who could trace her lineage two hundred and 
fifty years back to William Longfellow ; and after thus establishing him- 
self domestically, he removed to Nova Scotia, where he entered the stage 
business. He prospered until the advent of the railroad, and then the com- 
petition compelled him to retire and in 1868 he moved to Rockland, Me., where 
he was prominent as one of the investors and directors of the steamboat lines 
operating in that section, being general manager of the Rockland, Mt. Desert 
& Sullivan Steamboat Company. He died in Nova Scotia, at his summer resi- 
dence. Mrs. Lindsey also died in Nova Scotia, the mother of four children, 
three girls and one boy, three of whom are still living. 

Fred, the only one in California, was educated at Rockland, Me., and after 
finishing with the public schools, attended Eastman's Business College at 
Poughkeepsie, N. Y. Thus equipped, he secured the position of purser on 
the steamer Ulysses, of the Rockland, Mt. Desert & Sullivan Steamboat Com- 



1522 HISTORY OF FRESNO COUNTY 

pany, an ill-fated vessel that was lost two years later. Next he officiated for a 
vear on the steamer Mt. Desert ; but resigning, he returned to Nova Scotia, 
where he associated himself in the general merchandise business with L. C. 
Archibald & Co. When that firm dissolved and divided its holdings, Mr. 
Lindsey took the Amherst, N. S., store, having a partner and doing business 
under the firm name of J. B. Gass & Company, and he remained there in busi- 
ness until 1892. 

In that year he sold out and came to California; and on his arrival in 
Fresno County, he bought the forty acres he now owns in the Scandinavian 
Colony, and engaged in viticulture. A few years later he bought another 
forty acres adjoining; eleven acres of which he set out with Calimyrna figs, 
and the balance with Zinfandels. His home place is devoted to muscat, 
feherzagos and Zinfandel grapes ; and for years he superintended the work 
himself, leasing it out to others for the first time in 1917. 

Having thus so long been active as a practical and highly successful 
viticulturist, it is a matter of some pride to Mr. Lindsey that he attended 
the first meeting of a raisin association held in Armory Hall in 1892; since 
which time he has always been interested in and an active supporter of every 
similar movement. He was a member of the original raisin association and 
is now a member and a stockholder in the California Associated Raisin Com- 
pany. He has seen the county grow from a few sections to its present strength 
and importance as a part of the very prosperous Central California ; and all 
that he has seen he could and did prophecy, for it was evident from the first 
that Fresno and its environs had an exceptional and promising destiny. 

A public-spirited citizen always desirous of doing his full share of civic 
work, and a Republican who has served on the county central committee, 
Mr. Lindsey was for several years school trustee in the Scandinavian school 
district, and most of the time was also clerk of the board. In every way. 
he has done what he could to raise the standard of social life in the com- 
munity, and it is safe to say that he enjoys the esteem of his fellow-citizens 
to a high degree. 

During his sojourn at Rockland. Me., Mr. Lindsey was made a Mason 
in Aurora Lodge, No. 50, F. & A. M., and on the night when Jewel Lodge 
No. 42, I. O. O. F., was instituted at Antigonish. N. S.. he joined that order. 

A. C. McVEY. — A member of the managing board of directors of the 
Anchor Line Auto Stages, Mr. McVey may be found at the depot of this 
organization, 1031 I Street, Fresno, at any time during business hours. This 
organization is duly incorporated, and was formed for the convenience of the 
public in order to have one office where all the stages might arrive in 
Fresno and whence they might depart for all important points in any direc- 
tion from that city. It cooperates with the Western Auto Stage Company, 
at P.akersfield. The Inter-Urban Auto Stage Association was incorporated 
December 28, 1915. the officers being: President, J. C. Walling, of Madera; 
vice-president. C. C. Allen, Sanger; secretary, F. Roberson, Fresno; treas- 
urer, Union National Bank of Fresno. The board of directors are : A. C. 
McVey. Fresno; J. C. Walling; C. C. Allen: F. Roberson; W. R. Miles. 
Fresno. Mr. McVey ran his busses for three years independently before join- 
ing the association, and even now all the members own and operate their 
own stages. 

Mr. McVey comes from a prominent family. His father. W. TI. McVey, 
a farmer near Sedalia, was born in Georgetown, Mb., in 1840. He married 
Miss Katherine Elliott at Sedalia. Her people came from Kentucky about 
the year 1840. She was born in Missouri in 1843. His grandfather, Absalom 
McVey, was born in Maryland, and went to Missouri about 1833. being one 
of the pioneers of the country west of the Missouri River. At one time he 
was the owner of 1,300 acres of land near Sedalia, upon a part of which the 
city of Sedalia was built. 




^^^^^/^^r^^^iv-Z^^^^ 







Q>^^^r O-fC?. /Cp-c? 



HISTORY OF FRESNO COUNTY 1527 

A. C. McVey was born at Sedalia, June 21, 1882, and grew up on his 
father's farm. He attended the country school and Sedalia high, from which 
he graduated in 1901. He farmed for two years thereafter and then entered 
the employ of the Missouri Pacific as clerk in the office at Sedalia. On May 
28, 1906, he came to Brawley, Cal., and after working on a ranch for six 
months went to Selma, Cal., where he engaged with the Selma Fruit Com- 
pany for three years under the superintendency of his cousin, T. H. Elliott. 
The next three years were spent with the Elliott-McVey Company, of Selma, 
as a partner. This firm was burned out, and Mr. McVey quit the fruit busi- 
ness and bought a ranch of twenty acres, which he still owns. It is a fine 
fruit farm, and this he now rents out. He lived here for two years, when he 
went to driving bus for S. E. Roberts, of Selma. In August, 1915, he began 
business on his own account, running stage from Selma to Kingsburg, later 
to Fresno and then another from Fresno to Sanger. 

Mr. McVey married Miss Chloe Good, of Selma, a graduate of Selma 
high and of the Normal of San Jose. She was a teacher at Selma, and is the 
daughter of W. B. and Carrie E. Good. Mr. and Mrs. McVey have two 
children ; Laurell and Claire. The family are members of the Christian 
Church, at Selma. 

ALBERT BOSWORTH.— From early life identified with the oil indus- 
try, and at the youthful age of sixteen years employed by the Standard Oil 
Company, at Bradford, Pa., Albert Bosworth, has gained a broad and varied 
experience and is one of the best posted oil superintendents in the Coalinga 
field. A native of the Empire State, Albert Bosworth was born at Limestone, 
Cattaraugus County, N. Y., a son of Lon and Sarah (Adams) Bosworth. The 
father was a farmer and sawmill man and passed his last days in New York 
State; the mother was a native of Olean, N. Y., and is also deceased. 

Albert Bosworth was brought up at Limestone, and attended the public 
school of his district. At the early age of sixteen he was employed by the 
Standard Oil Company at Bradford, Pa., in the pipe-line department. Later 
he was engaged in lumbering for L. D. Whitmore. in Wayne and Warren 
Counties, Pa. When he quit lumbering it was to take up work in the oil 
fields, entering the employ of Mr. Shear of Sheffield, Pa., when he became a 
driller and by loyal and efficient service he was promoted to the position of 
superintendent, having three different properties under his charge, with forty- 
three producing wells. As proof of Mr. Bosworth's capability, dependability 
and satisfactory service, it is with pride that he points to the fact that he held 
this position for nearly fifteen years, or until 1906, when he resigned and 
took a trip to California, visiting the Coalinga oil field, but remaining only 
two weeks, when he returned to Warren, Pa. In 1908, Mr. Bosworth made 
bis second trip to California, coming again to Coalinga, where he secured a 
position with George D. Roberts of the Stockholders 28 Company, where 
be filled the responsible position of superintendent for seven years. When 
Mr. Roberts sold his stock in the Stockholders 28 Company he became inter- 
ested in the United Development Company, which is now the Oil Exploration 
Company, and Mr. Bosworth came with Mr. Roberts to the new concern, 
where he was placed in charge as general superintendent of the property, 
which now has seven producing wells on Sections 17 and 19-15-20. 

In San Francisco, Albert Bosworth was united in marriage with Emma 
Ingram, a native of Mason City, Iowa, but reared and educated in the Golden 
State. Mr. Bosworth has been an active member of the War Fund Association 
and active in its work, and with his wife is also a life member of the Red 
Cross. 

Mr. Bosworth is a man of executive ability, a very enterprising and prog- 
ressive oil-man, with an enviable reputation as an oil superintendent. Mr. 
and Mrs. Bosworth are justly popular and have many friends in Fresno 
County. 



1528 HISTORY OF FRESNO COUNTY 

HUGO S. STANGE. — Though not a native son, Hugo S. Stange has 
spent most of his life in Fresno County since reaching the age of maturity, 
and has been identified with the business life of the community since that 
time. Born in Berlin, Germany, September 26. 1880. he is a son of Godfrey 
and Ann (Teal) Stange, both natives of Germany, the father now passed to 
his reward. In 1883 the family emigrated to America and located in Neills- 
ville, Clark County, Wis., and Hugo S. was educated in the public schools 
of Neillsville. He later worked in a furniture factory there. In 1900 he 
came with his mother to Fresno, his father and brother, Paul T., having 
arrived the year previous. Here he secured work in the logging camp at 
Millwood, and later worked on the construction of the Northern Pacific Rail- 
wav between Ukiah and Willits. Mendocino County. Returning to Fresno 
Mr. Stange learned the plumber's trade, with the firm of Donahue & Emmons. 
In 1908 he went to Oakland and worked at his trade there with GrofF & 
Leonard, and also with E. O. Dryer of that city. On his return to Fresno, 
in 1909, Mr. Stange again entered the employ of Donahue & Emmons, 
remaining with them until 1911, when he was employed by Nudt Johnson and 
Kutner-Goldstein, for a few months. 

At this period Mr. Stange formed a partnership with George T. Elli- 
thorpe, and engaged in the plumbing business under the firm name of Flli- 
thorpe and Stange. with shops at the corner of N and Fresno Streets. They 
installed plumbing in fine residence buildings, principally. In September, 
1914, this partnership was dissolved, and Mr. Stange has since that time been 
in business for himself. Among other work he installed the plumbing in the 
Hotel "White, a three-story brick building on I Street; two residences for 
H. B. Ashton; a number of fine homes in North Fresno: the Peach Growers 
Packing Plant, Reedley ; the Brewer Hotel, Selma ; Arwandon Hotel and 
Yarrington Hotel, Mendota ; a fine residence for A. A. Channell on White's 
Bridge Road. He was foreman in charge of the plumbing on the first addi- 
tion to the high school building, also in the pumping plant of the Associated 
Oil Company at Coalinga. 

The marriage of Mr. Stange united him with Mrs. Alice Elkins. Mrs. 
Stange has two children by a former marriage, Clara, and Phylis. Fraternally 
Mr. Stange is a member of Fresno Lodge. No. 343, I. O. 6. F.. and of the 
Hermann Sons. 

NIELS PETERSEN.— The life of Niels Petersen, which this narrative 
sketches, began on October 30, 1869, in Hadeslev. Schleswig. His early 
childhood was spent on a farm, and when but a boy of fifteen years he was 
apprenticed for four years to a blacksmith, during which time he received 
no salary for his hard labor, but board only, as is the custom in that section 
of the world. Having an aversion to the military oppression of that country 
and a desire to seek a home under a flag of freedom, Mr. Petersen emigrated 
to the United States in June, 1888, and located at Woodbridge. X. J., where 
his brother and sisters were living. While residing there, working at his 
trade, he studied the English language diligently evenings, and soon learned 
to speak and read English, continuing thus employed until 1894, when he 
journeved farther westward, arriving at Fresno, Cal., in June of that year. 

After locating at Fresno. Mr. Petersen secured employment at his trade 
with H. Ahrensberg; but after only two weeks he became sick and was 
obliged to leave his w^ork. and went to the mountains for a month's rest. 
Upon returning to Fresno he resumed work as a blacksmith, being employed 
by George Larsen for two years. Later, he formed a partnership with Peter 
A. Borg and they opened a shop at the corner of I and Inyo Streets, con- 
tinuing the' business there for about three years, when he purchased his 
partner's interest. Mr. Petersen conducted the business in the same location 
until 1912. when he entered in partnership with H. Ahrensberg. On January 
13. 1917, Mr. Ahrensberg passed away and Niels Petersen bought his in- 



HISTORY OF FRESNO COUNTY 1529 

terest and became the sole owner of the establishment which is located at 
702 I Street. In addition to conducting a general repair shop, Mr. Petersen 
does wagon-making, horseshoeing and various kinds of machine work. He 
is very enterprising and industrious, and by hard work and satisfactory 
service has built up a large and paying business. 

Mt. Petersen owns an alfalfa ranch of fifteen acres, located on Pierce 
near White's Bridge road, three and a half miles west of Fresno. On this 
ranch he now resides with his family, where he is engaged in dairying. 

In 1898, at Fresno, Mr. Niels Petersen was united in marriage with 
Andrea Schmidt, also a native of Hadeslev, and of this happy union six 
children were born, all of whom are natives of Fresno County: Roy, asso- 
ciated with his father in business; Harry, Walter, Edna and Erna (twins), 
and May. Religiously, the family are Lutherans, and fraternally Mr. Peter- 
sen is an honored member of both Dania and the Danish Brotherhood. He is 
a man of sterling integrity and worth, and is held in high esteem by his 
many friends and business associates. 

J. C. HINTON. — Every branch of business has its representatives in 
the prosperous and progressive city of Fresno. J. C. Hinton, manager of 
the Fresno Plumbing Supply Company, is one of Fresno's energetic business 
men. He is the son'of J. S. and Margaret (Hobbs) Hinton, and was born in 
Missouri, Januarv 15, 1888. 

Educated in" the public schools of his native state, his good judgment 
appreciated the benefits of a high school education, of which he availed him- 
self. After leaving school his life was spent on the farm until he reached his 
majority, when he came to Fresno, following the occupation of farming for 
a time, afterwards being in the employ of the Santa Fe Railroad. 

His next business venture was with Mr. Cox in the plumbing business. 
He made rapid strides in his chosen occupation, taking his present responsi- 
ble position in August, 1914. 

On August 27, 1913, Mr. Hinton married Miss Catherine McAlpine, who 
has borne him two children : Catherine Margaret and Virginia R. 

Mr. Hinton is a member of the Christian Church ; has been identified with 
politics ; and fraternally is an Odd Fellow and a member of Las Palmas 
Lodge, No. 366, F. & A. M. He is also associated with the Chamber of 
Commerce, the Merchant's Association and the Traffic Association. 

CAPT. HERBERT A. SESSIONS.— A worthy descendant of his fore- 
bears of early Colonial days, Herbert A. Sessions, Fresno County's very com- 
petent probation officer, was born in Berkshire County, Mass., July 17, 1866. 
He was the son of Samuel Alanson and Olive (Hibbard) Sessions, who, after 
leaving the old Bay State, lived in the states of Ohio and Michigan. Both 
are now deceased. On the Sessions' side of the house his ancestry in America 
dates back to 1633, the year that Connecticut Colony was founded and three 
years before Roger Williams founded Providence. On the maternal (Hib- 
bard) side his ancestors came to America in 1631, eleven years after the 
Puritans landed on Plymouth Rock. His forebears on both paternal and 
maternal sides were prominent in the Revolutionary War, in which they 
served with distinction. 

Herbert A. Sessions received the best education the common schools 
and high schools of Michigan afforded, and afterward taught school for six 
years in that state. His inclinations then turned toward newspaper work, in 
which he successfully engaged in Michigan and Iowa. During the Spanish 
War he served as a volunteer in Company F, Fifty-first Iowa Volunteer 
Infantry, for one and one-half years, part of this time in the Philippines ; at 
the end of that time he returned to the United States and was honorably 
discharged from military duty at the Presidio. In 1904 he came to Fresno, 
and in July of that year he was united in marriage with Miss Gertrude Steele. 
Their union has been blessed with the birth of four children, three boys and 



1530 HISTORY OF FRESNO COUNTY 

one girl. He has three children by a former marriage, two girls and one boy. 

Mr. Sessions was instrumental in the organization of the Juvenile Court 
in 1904, serving as its officer without pay until 1911, and was then appointed 
on a salary for four years. For three years, while out of probation work, he 
took care of his own farming interests, improving over a section of tree and 
alfalfa land, and at the same time was manager of the Riverside Vineyard 
Company, after which he was appointed to his present position. The Parental 
Home was built under his supervision, and after its completion he was given 
charge of it. The new detention house was built according to his plans and 
designs, and he was a member of the Citizen's Relief Committee which built 
shelter for the unemployed, as well as a member of the Municipal Employ- 
ment Bureau. For two years he was a director of the Fresno County Fair 
Association, and inaugurated the Better Babies Contest exhibits, for children. 
He also inaugurated the stock-judging contest for boys in connection with 
said Fresno County Fair. Mr. Sessions is now serving in his ninth year as 
probation officer. In the performance of his official duties he has three able 
assistants: Oliver M. Akers, Ella M. Towle and Mrs. O. S. Hecox, all of 
the city of Fresno. Some 500 cases are on record each year. Of this number 
about 100 deal with adults and 400 with juveniles. As a probation officer 
Mr. Sessions is guided by the voice of Him who said: "Go, and sin no 
more." That his lofty idealism is bearing good fruit is attested by the fact 
that ninety-five percent, of those paroled "make good." 

During the recent war Mr. Sessions organized the Fifty-eighth Company 
of California Military Reserves, sometimes known as the Home Guards, and 
is Senior Captain of the Fresno Battalion, consisting of three companies. 
During the war he was also appointed and served as an associate member 
of the Military Training Camps Association of the United States, the field 
of his activities being the San Joaquin Valley. This board selected many 
candidates for the Officers' Training School. 

In his religious views Mr. Sessions is an Episcopalian, in politics a Re- 
publican. He is a Mason, and has passed the third degree in that order. He is 
also a member of the Woodmen of the World, and a charter member of the 
Commercial Club. 

JAMES P. HARTIGAN. — Through his long association with the 
various phases of the raisin industry, James P. Hartigan has gained an en- 
viable reputation as an expert judge of the products of the vine and is known 
as the "quality man" in the extensive packing houses of the California Asso- 
ciated Raisin Company. James P. Hartigan passes judgment on the quality 
and grade of the raisins packed by this large corporation, and is careful that 
nothing is shipped that will not maintain the established high reputation of 
the brands packed by the California Associated Raisin Company. He is the 
superintendent of warehouses for the company and is regarded as one of the 
best posted men on the raisin industry in the San Joaquin Valley. 

James P. Hartigan was born in Brooklyn. X. Y., on April 25, 1864, a 
son of John and Ann (Trainor) Hartigan, who were both natives of the 
Emerald Isle. In 1869. John Hartigan brought his family to California by the 
Isthmus of Panama, and after his arrival located in Davis, Yolo County, 
where he followed farming and in 1878 passed away. James P. Hartigan 
received his education in the schools at Davis, Cal., and it was in the same 
town that he gained his first experience in the raisin industry, while lie was 
in the employ of G. G. Briggs. at Davis. Tn 1885. he located at Oleander. 
Fresno County, where he was employed in the packing house of the Curtis 
Fruit Company for three years. Afterwards he engaged in contracting for 
the planting of vineyards and orchards in the San Joaquin Valley and in which 
business he continued up to 1898. Many of the famous vineyards and orchards 
in Fresno County were planted under the instruction of Mr. Hartigan. In the 
year 1900, he entered the employ of the J. B. Inderrieden & Company, fruit 




r 




» 




z£</. 



^J&x 




HISTORY OF FRESNO COUNTY 1533 

packers, at Fresno and continued with this company until 1912, when the 
California Associated Raisin Company was formed and he was offered by 
the corporation the important post of superintendent of their packing plants. 
By his long and varied experience in the fruit packing business, Mr. Hartigan 
is especially fitted to fill this important position, and is performing the many 
responsible duties that devolve upon him in a very efficient manner and to 
the satisfaction of the managing stockholders of this large corporation. 

In the Poppy Colony, Mr. Hartigan is the owner of a five-acre vineyard 
of Thompson seedless grapes, which he planted and developed. Near Olean- 
der he also planted a vineyard of muscat grapes, containing ten acres, which 
after developing he sold. On Blackstone Avenue, in Fresno, he has fifteen 
acres, ten of which are planted to apricots and the remaining five to Thomp- 
son's seedless grapes. Mr. Hartigan has bought, developed and sold other 
orchards in the county. He served as constable of Oleander and was a deputy 
sheriff of Fresno County, under W. S. McSwain until his death, and then 
under Horace Thorwaldsen until the close of his term. He has contributed 
to the development of the residence section of Fresno by building three 
houses on Washington Avenue. 

Mr. James P. Hartigan was united in marriage on May 1, 1887, with 
Margaret S. Douglass, a native of Canada, who came when a small child to 
California, with her parents. Her father, Frank Douglass, was one of the 
early settlers of Fresno County and purchased land in the Washington 
Colony. At one time he was the master mechanic of the Pacific Wooden 
Mills at San Francisco. 

Mr. and Mrs. J. P. Hartigan became the parents of one son : Lester F., 
who was born in Oleander, Fresno County, and received his education in 
the public school of Fresno, supplementing his early education with a special 
course in electrical engineering, at Heald's Business College, San Francisco. 
He is now in the employ of the California Associated Raisin Company, hav- 
ing charge of the installation and the repair work of all their various plants. 

Fraternally J. P. Hartigan is a member of the Odd Fellows, Red Men 
and the Modern Woodmen of America. 

Mr. Hartigan's first wife died in 1916. The second marriage of Mr. 
Hartigan was solemnized on August 10, 1917, when he was united with Miss 
Margine Sorensen, a native of Skive, Denmark, where she was reared and 
educated and in 1908 came to the United States. 

ADOLPH BUTTNER. — Among the public-spirited citizens who have 
aided in the building-up of Fresno County and is counted as a representative 
and progressive business man we find Adolph Buttner, general manager of 
the California-Fresno Oil Company. He was born on July 21, 1875, the son 
of Christoph and Wilhelmina Buttner, who located in San Francisco in 
1884 and in that city passed the remainder of their days. When they settled 
in the metropolis, Adolph was but nine years of age and his schooling was 
obtained in the public schools there. When he was twenty-one years of age 
he began business for himself by establishing a meat business in San Fran- 
cisco, this he continued successfully until 1910, when he sold out and became 
interested in the oil refining industry in Fresno County. 

The California-Fresno Oil Company is a corporation, organized in 1901, 
under the laws of California. The officers of the company at that time were 
A. C. Ruschhaupt, president; K. W. Ruschhaupt, treasurer, and Adolph Butt- 
ner, secretary and general manager : upon the death of the treasurer, Decem- 
ber 22, 1917, Mr. Buttner was made treasurer, along with his other offices 
in the company. The company is a strictly refining concern and was started 
in 1901, by Hart Brothers and a Mr. Spinks, on a small scale on land located 
about one mile south of Fresno on the main highway that is now known 
as the State Highway. In 1902 the concern was taken over bv the present 
company and under the efficient management of Mr. Buttner the output has 



1534 HISTORY OF FRESNO COUNTY 

been trebled. The company uses about 100,000 barrels of crude oil annually, 
which is shipped in tank cars from the Coalinga fields. The oil is refined 
and-sold under the brands of California-Fresno Gasoline; Bright Light Kero- 
sene; No. 1 Engine, White Top, and Stove distillates; and other fuel and 
lubricating oils, and by discriminating buyers and users these products are 
considered of a superior quality. The oils are delivered by motor trucks to 
all parts of 'Fresno County in a radius of forty miles of Fresno city. There 
are fifteen men employed the year round, working full time six days of the 
week. A filling station is also maintained at the plant, which is situated on 
five acres of ground, and is the only refinery in the county outside of the 
Coalinga fields. There is a complete machine shop and garage maintained 
also. 

The marriage of Adolph Buttner, which occurred in San Francisco, in 
1906, united him with Miss Clara Ruschhaupt, a native daughter, born in 
Los Angeles into the family of A. C. Ruschhaupt and his estimable wife. 
Of this happy union there has been born a daughter, Clarice W., a student 
in the Fresno State Normal School. The family home, erected by Mr. Butt- 
ner, is located at 1130 College Avenue. Mr. Buttner is a Scottish Rite Mason, 
and holds membership in Las Palmas Lodge No. 366, F. & A. M. in Fresno; 
and both he and his wife belong to Fresno Chapter No. 295, O. E. S. In his 
political affiliations he is a Republican on national issues but in local matters 
supports the men he considers best qualified for the office rather than adher- 
ing to party lines. In all matters pertaining to the public welfare he has 
always given his cooperation and support. The position he holds in business 
and social circles has been of his own making and among those who know 
him best he is considered a man of unquestioned integrity. 

GEORGE SCHWINN.— A public-spirited and progressive pioneer, who 
was one of the earliest settlers at Huron, Fresno County, the first man suc- 
cessfully to grow grapes, fruit and beans in Auberry Valley, and the father 
of the oil industry in Coalinga, is George Schwinn. He was born in Frank- 
fort-on-the-Main, on December 20, 1860, and after finishing his education, 
worked in a general merchandise store for three years for his board. There 
he learned the business thoroughly, and also sound business methods ; so 
that when he was ready to set forth into the world, he was well prepared to 
cope with the world's problems. 

In 1880 he came to the United States and to California, and for a while 
worked on a ranch near Merced. Two years later he went to Hanford. Kings 
County, and for about two years worked in the general merchandise store of 
Silas Simon and Bros., commencing at twenty-five dollars a month and his 
board. Notwithstanding this modest wage, he had saved seven hundred dol- 
lars when, in 1886, just before the great boom in California real estate, he 
decided to remove to Huron, which was the end of the branch line of the 
Southern Pacific Railroad to the western side of Fresno County. The year 
of 1886 proved to be one of the best seasons and they had the most abundant 
feed known to the stockmen of the West Side. The grass had grown so tall 
the sheepmen had to make a trail to drive their sheep through to the shipping 
place. There he preempted a claim of 160 acres of government land, and so 
early had he arrived on the scene, that he built the first store there. He was 
also the first postmaster at Huron, and for twenty-two years held that re- 
sponsible office under the United States government — the longest term served 
by any man in the valley. He had all the trade of the stockmen for fifty 
miles around, there being no other store in the entire district. At Huron, 
also, Mr. Schwinn planted the first vineyard of twenty acres, and he soon 
came to have one of the show-places of the section. In 1888 he promoted the 
first oil companv in the Coalinga district, known as the Fresno Oil Company. 
He brought in a surveyor, had the land laid out in twenty-acre tracts, and 
surveyed and built road's into what is now Oilfields. All this he did with the 



HISTORY OF FRESNO COUNTY 1535 

cooperation of only seven other men. Later the oil property was exploited 
by Canfield and Chanslor and became Oil City, and now Oilfields, the center 
of the East Coalinga oil fields. After that, Mr. Schwinn homesteaded 160 acres 
in the East Coalinga field adjoining the Shell Company on the east, which is 
valuable oil land. While at Huron he located several people on homesteads 
that afterwards proved to be oil land and they became very wealthy, among 
them Herman Brix, who was clerking for him while he was improving his 
homestead. Mr. Brix also obtained options on other land from customers of 
the store, and it made him independently wealthy. 

In 1907 Mr. Schwinn sold his ranch and store at Huron, and bought 
eighty acres of vineyard and orchard on McKinley Avenue, west of Fresno, 
a place scientifically and beautifully improved. There were a well-set vine- 
yard, fields of alfalfa, and a fruitful orchard, with new and beautiful buildings. 
After selling this he bought 1,600 acres in Auberry Valley. He cleared it 
of timber and brush, fenced and cross fenced it, has planted apricots, plums, 
prunes, peaches and a vineyard. The balance is devoted to raising grain, hay 
and stock. There are two new bungalows with farm buildings and pumping 
plant, and it is now the best-improved ranch in the foot-hills of Fresno. On 
the ranch are a station and a public school. Mr. Schwinn was the first man 
to develop the above-named fruits in Auberry Valley. When he proposed to 
do so, his neighbors said he couldn't succeed ; but he followed out his own 
ideas, and in the end accomplished what others had declared impossible. 

Fraternally, Mr. Schwinn is an Odd Fellow, and belongs to the Fresno 
Lodge. He is also a member of the Commercial Club of Fresno, and co- 
operates in every way in extending commercial interests. He belongs to 
the German Lutheran Church and has many fond recollections of the Father- 
land ; but he is a most loyal American, is devoted to his adopted country, 
and thoroughly sympathizes with the United States and its part in the pres- 
ent war, giving definite and practical support to the administration through 
thick and thin. 

It is to such men as George Schwinn that Fresno County owes much of 
its present greatness ; for without the optimism and energy they displayed, 
its lands and mineral resources would not have been so early exploited and 
the development of the county would not now be so far advanced. He is 
well satisfied with the result, and is very well content that he was so for- 
tunate as to cast in his lot in Fresno County. 

COWAN A. SAMPLE. — An unusually foreseeing and prosperous real 
estate and insurance agent, whose experience and judgment have been as 
valuable to his clients as to himself, is Cowan A. Sample, a native of Holmes 
County, Miss., where he was born on December 17, 1869, the son of A. D. 
and Anna Maria Sample. As early as 1874 his father came out to California, 
but returned to Mississippi and remained there until 1907, when he brought 
his family to the Coast. He is now living retired. 

Cowan Sample's elementary education was obtained in the Mississippi 
schools, and was completed at the Normal School at Buena Vista, Chickasaw 
County, in that state. For a while he worked in a general merchandise store 
in Mississippi, but suffering from broken health at the end of three years, he 
determined to come West. In April, 1890, he located at Fresno, and for ten 
years was with an uncle, D. C. Sample, in the sheep business. Then he 
formed a partnership with G. R. Shipp, but sold out after two years. For 
a year and a half he was manager of the California Ranch, and then he came 
to Fresno as the manager of the packing plant of the Fresno Meat Company. 

Severing his connection with the Fresno Meat Company, Mr. Sample 
went on the road as cattle and sheep buyer for O. M. Henry, and in that 
line of activity he continued until the latter's death. Then he bought for 
himself for a year, until the earthquake and fire in 1906 devastated San Fan- 
cisco. After that he joined S. C. Sample in the City Livery Stables, but in 



1536 HISTORY OF FRESNO COUNTY 

nineteen months sold his interest to his brother. Next he engaged in the min- 
ing business, and for five years was president and general manager of the 
Klamath River Mining Company. 

Once more disposing of his interests, Mr. Sample embarked in real 
estate, putting on the market the Howard Tract of five acres, which he very 
successfully sold out. Since then he has dealt in many ranches, vineyards 
and orchards, and in August, 1917, he formed a partnership with J. D. Mor- 
gan under the name of Sample & Morgan, and they do a general real estate 
business. 

July 22, 1903, witnessed the marriage of Mr. Sample to Miss Maud 
Brown.' They are the parents of four charming daughters: Anna, Grace, 
Virginia and Catherine. The Samples are Episcopalians. Mr. Sample is a 
favorite in the fraternal life of the Elks. 

ROBERT R.. PRATHER. — California has every reason to be proud of 
her native sons, and Fresno County shares in that pride, numbering among 
her citizens men of native birth who have made their influence felt in both 
the business and professional life of the state. As vice-president and sales- 
manager of the Lauritzen Implement Company, Robert R. Prather is one of 
the rising young business men of Fresno. Born in Los Angeles, January 1, 
1886, he is a son of Joseph L. and Mary (Hedrick) Prather, the former a 
native of North Carolina and the latter of South Carolina. When Robert 
was six weeks old the family settled on a ranch thirteen miles south of 
Fresno, on Elm Avenue, and he received his education in the country schools 
of that district, and later in the Fresno grammar and high school. 

In the fall of 1906 Mr. Prather entered the employ of the Lauritzen Im- 
plement Company, as bookkeeper, and gradually worked his way up to secre- 
tary- and treasurer of that concern, and is now vice-president and salesmana- 
ger, a demonstration of ability and application which is worthy of mention, as 
is all honest striving toward success in life, and fortunate indeed is the man 
who succeeds as early in life as has Robert R. Prather. 

The marriage of Mr. Prather united him with Miss Josephine Sequeira, 
a daughter of Antonio G. Sequeira, a pioneer of the county. Four children 
have been born to Mr. and Mrs. Prather, as follows : Robert ; George ; Berna- 
dine ; and Lester. Fraternally Mr. Prather is a member of the Fresno Lodge, 
No. 247, F. & A. M. A resident of the county practically since his birth, 
he has always taken a keen interest in its development, and has aided in all 
movements tending toward advancing its resources. 

ANDREW JUDSON STURTEVANT, JR.— One of the rising and 
successful young business men of the San Joaquin Valley is Andrew Judson 
Sturtevant. Jr., whose enterprising and executive ability have led to success in 
every branch of business that he has undertaken. Mr. Sturtevant is a native 
son of California, born at Vallejo, September 15, 1886. He was a student at 
the Oakland High School and also attended the University of California at 
Berkeley, graduating with the class of 1911 from the agricultural depart- 
ment of that institution with the degree of B. S. 

Coming to Fresno County, Mr. Sturtevant rented a 200-acre alfalfa and 
stock ranch near Sanger for two years, and then took up research work for 
the California Development Board, making an agricultural survey of the 
crop conditions of Fresno County in detail, covering all the varieties of 
products. When the peach growers resolved to form their own marketing 
organization, he became active in securing members and funds with which to 
finance the proposed association. Later, when success was assured, he went 
East for the purpose of developing a sales organization, after which he was 
appointed general sales-manager for the California Peach Growers, Inc. He 
is himself one of the large peach growers of the San Joaquin Valley. He rents 
two peach orchards in Stanislaus County, of twenty-four and forty acres 




O^o^^^^ 



HISTORY OF FRESNO COUNTY 1539 

respectively, and is the owner of a ninety-four-acre peach orchard near Mo- 
desto and a 200-acre peach orchard eighteen miles from Fresno, at Borden. 
The marriage of Mr. Sturtevant united him with Miss Roda M. Mitchell, 
a native of North Dakota, who was brought up at Oakland. Two children 
are the result of their union, Andrew J., Jr., and Robert Mitchell. Mr. 
Sturtevant is a member of the Commercial Club of Fresno, and during the 
Liberty Loan campaign in that city was an active worker for the cause, 
being one of the four-minute men who made speeches in the theaters and 
other public places. 

BART HARVEY. — One of the progressive business men in Fresno, 
and a merchant widely known for his straightforward ways and pleasing 
personality, is Bart Harvey, the proprietor of the leading clothing and gents' 
furnishing store in Fresno, centrally located at the corner of J and Tulare 
Streets. He was born at Newcastle-upon-Tyne, England, on April 19, 1874, 
the seat of many of the most interesting events in English history, and a 
town famous for its situation on the summit and declivities of three lofty 
eminences, rising from the north bank of the Tyne, about ten miles from its 
mouth. Amid the ancient piles of donjon-keeps and church spires, there are 
ranges, along the banks of the river, one above another, of dim and dingy 
buildings, that have stood for centuries. Bart's father was Rodger Harvey, a 
mining man, who married Miss Mary McGee and then came to the United 
States in 1874 and located at Barclay, Pa., where he became superintendent of 
coal mines. They had seven boys and three girls, and now live retired in 
comfort at Pittsburg. 

Bart, the second oldest, was educated in the public schools and later 
received a thorough training in one of the best business colleges of Rochester. 
For several years, he worked as a salesman in a mercantile establishment, and 
then, in 1889, he came West, locating first at Trinidad, Colo. In 1891, he 
went to Salt Lake City, Utah, and there engaged as a traveling salesman, 
after which he was made manager of a company store for three years. He 
next spent four years in Oregon. In 1901, Mr. Harvey dropped anchor in 
Fresno and at once became manager of the clothing department of Messrs. 
Radin & Kamp, and within the short period of four years thereafter he estab- 
lished himself in business, opening on J Street. In March, 1908, he founded 
his present enterprise, and there by methods sure to meet the approval of 
patrons, he has built up such a good business that he employs regularly no 
less than fourteen persons. 

A live member of the Chamber of Commerce, in which he was a director 
for many years, and a member of the Merchants' Association, the Traffic 
Association and the Commercial Club, of which he was the first secretary, 
Mr. Harvey has been closely identified with the upbuilding of Fresno, giving 
freely of his time and personal means. With Dave Newman, Ralph Woodard 
and John W. Short, Mr. Harvey began the Raisin Day movement for adver- 
tising, asking Americans all over the LJnited States to use more raisins as 
a part of their daily food, and naming a Raisin Day. They obtained the 
cooperation of all Fresnans, and their work resulted in much good, and there 
is now, besides the local raisin celebration, the successful organization known 
as the California Associated Raisin Company. Mr. Harvey has been active 
in every movement started in Fresno for the advancement of the city and 
county. 

In 1895, at San Francisco, Mr. Harvey was married to Miss Belle Isbell, 
a native of California and a member of an old Southern family. She is the 
daughter of Ewing and Sarah (Price) Isbell, born respectively in Missouri 
and Kentucky. Her father comes of an old Virginian family, a near relative 
of Robert E.Lee. However he did not countenance slavery, so he freed his 
slaves and migrated across the plains in an ox team train. He engaged in 
mining in Calaveras County and was the discoverer of the Isbell mine near 



1540 HISTORY OF FRESXO COUNTY 

Murphy's Camp. Later he removed to near Flagstaff. Ariz., where he became 
a large cattle-man until his death. Mrs. Sarah Price Isbell is a niece of General 
Sterling Price, the Virginian soldier who died at St. Louis in the late sixties. 
He raised the Second Missouri Cavalry for the Mexican War, becoming its 
colonel, and marched his men over a thousand miles, under General Stephen 
W. Kearney, to Santa Fe, when they were reduced to subsisting on the wild 
country, the tramp continuing fifty days. When Kearney went to California, 
Colonel Price was left in charge of New Mexico; and having put down an 
insurrection, he was made a brigadier general of volunteers, and afterward 
became military governor of Chihuahua.* Still later, he was governor of 
Missouri, and then he underwent the hard campaigns of the Civil War as a 
Confederate officer. 

A daughter, Edith Isbell Harvey, has attained distinction as a gradu- 
ate of Stanford University, where she finished her course with honors, and 
she is a talented vocalist. She has a pleasing, beautiful mezzo-soprano voice, 
and has favored the music-lovers of Fresno on various occasions. At present 
she is studying music under Percy Rector Stevens. 

J. B. DALY. — A general broker who believes in the old adage. "Nothing 
dare, nothing share," and who is always ready to venture in the realty field 
when the prospects of the game are at all good, is J. B. Daly, the well-known 
real estate agent. He is a native son, born in Mariposa County in 1870. 
His father, Tudge R. H. Daly, brought his family to Fresno in 1874. There 
the lad was educated in the public schools. After attaining his majority he 
served six years as deputy county recorder. For eight years he was in the 
grocery business, and for some years he traveled widely as a salesman. 

In 1909 he entered the real estate field, and from the first showed his 
marked ability for that work, which requires so much foresight and common 
sense, as well as a deep knowledge of human nature. He placed on the 
market the McCoon Colony of 400 acres, organized the Glen Park Stock 
Farm sale, and has also negotiated other important deals. 

Mr. Daly is a member of the Fresno Realty Exchange, and has served 
as a director in the same. He also participates in a wide-awake manner in 
the work of the Chamber of Commerce, and takes a just pride in the develop- 
ment of Fresno County and the State of California, lending a hand in the 
furtherance of its material upbuilding, and in supporting the common welfare. 

LORENTZ C. DUUS. — Lorentz C. Duus. a prominent member of Fres- 
no's Danish colony, was born in Schleswig-Holstein (then a part of Den- 
mark), July 6. 1857, ten years before these provinces were ceded to Prussia. 
He was" reare*d and educated in his native land, and learned the trade of a 
miller. After serving twenty months in the Danish army as a volunteer and 
working for some time at his trade in the old country, he came to the United 
States, in May, 1879, and joined his brother, who lived in Marysville, Cal. 
He worked on a ranch at Yuba City for one year then went to Monterey 
Countv and worked for a time in a warehouse at Moss Landing. From thence 
he went to Oakland, Cal.. where he ran a grocery store on Telegraph Avenue 
for three years. After this he conducted a billiard hall at Eighth and Broad- 
wav. Oakland, for two vears. and then went to Sutter Countv and. renting 
160 acres of land near Live Oak. successfully engaged in raising grain for 
one season. In 18S7. on his way to Los Angeles, he stopped one week in 
Fresno, and then continued his journey southward. He conducted a restau- 
rant, for a time, on San Fernando Street near the Southern Pacific Railroad 
station in Los Angeles; but Fresno had favorably impressed him ami in 1889 
he journeyed back again and engaged in the plumbing business, with Louis 
Thyc as partner. Their shop was on K Street, between Fresno and Merced 
Streets. In the fall of 1880 he closed out the business and purchased a forty- 
acre unimproved ranch. He planted the land to muscat and malaga grape 
vines and alfalfa, leveled and fenced it, lived on the place five and one-half 



HISTORY OF FRESNO COUNTY. 1541 

years, and then lost it through a defect in the title. Undaunted by fortune's 
vicissitudes, he next went to San Francisco and for three and a half years 
was employed by the Southern Pacific Railroad in their freight department. 
Returning then to Fresno, he opened a cigar store on Mariposa Street, where 
the Union National Bank is now located. He met with much success in 
the new venture, and after ten years in that location moved to his present 
place at 933 J Street. He owned a twenty-acre vineyard on Cherry Avenue 
and Jensen Streets, which he sold in 1913, and he is the owner of valuable 
real estate lots and four houses in Fresno. His business experiences prove 
what industry, coupled with intelligence and frugality, can accomplish when 
directed in the right channels. 

In 1888, Mr. Duus was united in marriage with one of his country- 
women, Clara Christiansen, and they are the parents of three children, all 
of whom were born in Fresno : Arthur C, later Quartermaster Sergeant, 
U. S. A., now deceased; Anna, the wife of H. Campbell, of Fresno; and 
Viola, a professional stenographer in Fresno. 

Quartermaster Sergeant Arthur C. Duus died at Douglas, Ariz., Novem- 
ber 30, 1918, following an attack of influenza. He was born in the city of 
Fresno, October 6, 1889, and was educated in the Fresno public schools. He 
graduated from the Fresno High School with the class of 1907, and after 
leaving school he entered the service of the Union Savings Bank at Fresno. 
He later became assistant cashier in the First National Bank of Fresno and 
held that position when he enlisted in the army at San Francisco in 1917. 
He first went to the Presidio, but was soon transferred to Jacksonville, Fla., 
where he attended the quartermaster's school. After graduating from the 
finance department in April, 1918, he was transferred to Fort Sam Houston, 
Texas, where he received his commission as sergeant in the quartermaster's 
corps. Soon thereafter he was again transferred to Douglas, Ariz., and was 
placed in charge of the finance department, and on the 17th of October, 
1918, he was duly commissioned quartermaster sergeant, still serving at Fort 
Douglas. On November 11, 1918 (the day of the armistice), he was taken ill 
and was brought to the hospital. The influenza terminated in pneumonia, 
from which he died. Word of his illness was telegraphed home, and the 
mother and two sisters started immediately. His two sisters, Mrs. Anna 
Campbell and Miss Viola Duus, were at his bedside one day before he died. 
His mother, who started for his bedside from Fresno with her two daughters, 
was taken severely ill en route, and had to stop off at Los Angeles. Military 
funeral services were held at Camp Douglas ; and his remains were escorted 
to Fresno by his comrades. On December 4, 1918, the funeral was held, and 
interment was made in Liberty Cemetery at Fresno. 

Mr. Duus is a member of the Dania Society of Fresno, of which he is 
past president. He became a member of the Independent Order of Odd Fel- 
lows in Oakland in 1883 and is now a member of the Fresno Lodge of that 
order, and has passed the Encampment. 

J. LEE EICHELBERGER. — The manager of the Fresno division of 
the Sperry Flour Company, J. Lee Eichelberger is well known in Central 
and Northern California. He was born in Christian County, 111., November 
15, 1876, and received his education in the public school and the Northwest- 
ern University at Chicago, graduating from the pharmaceutical department 
in 1891. For eight years thereafter he followed the drug business in Chicago, 
after which he went to Macomb, McDonough County, III, and engaged in 
the general merchandise business until 1905, when he sold out to locate in 
California. 

Air. Eichelberger came direct to Fresno and secured a position as bill 
clerk in the office of the Sperry Flour Company; after a term of service he 
was promoted to the position of traveling salesman. In 1910 he was made 
manager of the Sacramento division of the company and for six years made 



1542 HISTORY OF FRESNO COUNTY 

Sacramento his headquarters and home and gave of his best efforts to the 
development of the business of the Sperry Flour Company in his district. 
In 1916 he was transferred to the Fresno division, where he is now located. 
Mr. Eichelberger has traveled up and down the San Joaquin and Sacramento 
Valleys and has made many friends who hold him in high esteem for his 
business ability and good management. Interested in the development of 
the natural resources of California, Mr. Eichelberger has improved a twenty- 
acre orange grove at Strathmore, Tulare County, a very fine citrus section 
for navels and valencias. 

In 1901 Mr. Eichelberger was united in marriage with Miss Daisy 
Spickler, a native of Illinois. Their marriage was celebrated at Kewanee, 
that state. Two children have blessed their marriage, Meredith and Robert. 
As a diversion from business cares and to bring him more closely in touch 
with the up-to-date men of affairs of Fresno, Mr. Eichelberger holds mem- 
bership in the Rotary Club, the Commercial Club and the Sunnyside Coun- 
try Club. He is a member of Fresno Chamber of Commerce, Merchants Asso- 
ciation and the South Pacific Millers Association. He is a public spirited 
citizen of California and believes that the future prosperity of the state is 
yet an unknown quantity. He is a booster for Fresno County and is always 
ready to assist any projects that will bring settlers within the borders of 
the county. 

JESSE BUELL ALLEN. — To be successfully engaged in one line of 
business in the same city for sixteen years is in itself a recommendation for 
first-class workmanship and service. This is the record possessed by Jesse B. 
Allen, Fresno's leading interior decorator and painter. Mr. Allen is a native 
of the Hoosier State, having first seen the light of day at Greencastle, Ind., 
January 3, 1843. His father, Robert D. Allen, was born in Cumberland Coun- 
ty, Ky., of an old Virginia family which is traced back to Ephraim Allen, 
a soldier in the Revolutionary War, and the tallest man in the army at 
the time. Robert Allen was a contractor and helped to build the Asbury 
University Building at Greencastle. When Jesse was five years of age his 
parents moved to Texas, where his father died, and afterwards his mother, 
Marv Ann (Ritchey) Allen, also born in Cumberland County, moved back 
to Cumberland County, in 1848, and in this state he finished his education, 
following which he engaged in farming. 

During the Civil War Mr. Allen saw service in the Confederate Army, 
being a member of Company I, Gen. John Morgan's famous scouts, and took 
part in all of the most important battles in Tennessee, Georgia, and Virginia. 
He was also a member of General Forrest's body-guard at the battle of 
Chickamauga, and at the close of the war surrendered at Mt. Sterling, Ky. 

After the war Mr. Allen followed farming in Mississippi County. Mo., 
later moving to Temple, Texas, in which section he was one of the pioneer 
settlers. In 1887 he sought the salubrious climate of California for the bene- 
fit of his health. After arriving in Fresno County, he first purchased ten 
acres of raw land in the West Park district, later increasing his acreage by 
buying twenty additional acres, which he improved. He developed his prop- 
erty and brought it to such a high state of cultivation that at that date 
it was regarded as one of the best vineyards in the county. In those early days, 
however, the price of grapes was so small that it did not pay vinevardists 
enough to justify picking the grapes; so in 1890 he sold his ranch and moved 
to Fresno. 

While living in Hickman. Ky., Mr. Allen learned the trade of a paper- 
hanger, painter and interior decorator, which he followed in Kentucky and 
Texas. Upon moving to the city of Fresno, he bought a lot on the corner of 
Inez and Ventura Avenues, where he erected his home and has resided ever 
since 1902. In Fresno, Mr. Allen has succeeded in building up an enviable 




tf t.AlM^a 



HISTORY OF FRESNO COUNTY 1545 

reputation in his chosen line, as well as a large and profitable business, all 
unsolicited which is the best advertisement. 

Jesse Buell Allen has been twice married ; his first wife was Maggie E. 
Nunn, a native of Kentucky, in which state they were married in 1867. 
She passed away in 1873, having been the mother of three children, all of 
whom are deceased. Mr. Allen's second marriage took place in Troy, Texas, 
August 5, 1879, and united him with Anna Hand, a native of Shelby County, 
Ala., and the daughter of Rev. J. C. Hand and his wife Martha (Smith) Hand, 
natives of Georgia. Her father was a minister in the Baptist Church. He re- 
moved to Texas, where he was a pioneer minister in Bell County, Texas, 
and later he returned to Alabama, where he died. This union was blessed 
by six children, four of whom are living: Lawson J. is the secretary of the 
Fresno Merchants' Association ; Harry is ranching west of Fresno ; Mary is 
the wife of George Wachold, of Fresno ; Glennroy is associated with the 
moving-picture business in Los Angeles. Mr. and Mrs. Allen are members 
of the Cumberland Presbyterian Church. 

GUSTAV E. AHLBERG. — A pioneer rancher of the Fowler district who 
has developed forty acres from a stubble-field to a very productive vineyard, 
and assisted by his two able sons has made substantial improvements, is 
Gustav E. Ahlberg, a highly respected citizen, once broad-shouldered, strong 
and healthy, but now partially paralyzed. He was born at Halmstad, Sweden, 
on January 6, 1858, and when twenty-three years old first came to Fresno 
County. His father was Bernhart Nicholas Ahlberg, who was the chief 
executive officer, or sheriff, of the province of Halland in Sweden, where he 
owned forty acres. His mother died when he was only two years old, and he 
was brought up by his stepmother. 

He grew up on the home farm, became a member of the state church, 
attended public school, and at the same time took care of his father's farm. 
He served one year of two terms in the king's military service, and then 
bidding good-bye to his father and brother and sisters, came to America, 
arriving in Fresno County in 1881. He was influenced to take this momentous 
step by the letters of his sister and brother-in-law, P. O. Lindstrom, who 
came to Fresno County from Sweden over forty years ago. Mr. Lindstrom, 
who died on July 16, 1882, was the pioneer blacksmith of Easton, and a man 
of experience. Mr. Ahlberg liked Fresno County from the start, and was 
not long in accepting an engagement to work on farms. His ability was soon 
appreciated, and he was made manager of Judge Stephen S. Nye's vineyard, 
one of the extensive and important holdings of this region. 

In 1889, Mr. Ahlberg was married to Miss Matilda Thelander, and soon 
after he bought his forty-acre vineyard from Mr. Marden of the Nye-Marden 
Colony. He became active in American civic life, affiliating himself with the 
Republican party. In 1904 his good wife died ; and since then he has remained 
a widower. Three children were granted this happy couple. Carl G. has 
charge of the ranch ; William died in April, 1914, when he was about twenty- 
one years old ; while Edward is at home and helps his brother Carl. 

FRANK J. NOLAN. — A skilful captain of industry who, as president 
and manager of the Fresno Cooperage Company, has well guided the affairs 
of one of the city's most important business organizations is Frank J. Nolan, 
who was born in Santa Cruz in 1877, was educated in the public schools of 
San Francisco, and in the Pacific metropolis learned the cooper's trade. In 
April, 1903, he came to Fresno, and for some time made barrels by hand, for 
which he became locally famous. Few craftsmen were more needed in the 
early days of Fresno than a first-class cooper ; and Mr. Nolan's ability, to- 
gether with his steady, conscientious application to the work of each day, 
and his desire to leave nothing undone to please his customers, speedily told 
in favor of the new enterprise. 



1546 HISTORY OF FRESNO COUNTY 

When the steady increase in patronage warranted the move, the business 
was incorporated in 1007, for $50,000, and a fully equipped barrel machine 
plant was installed. Teri years later the business was reincorporated for 
twice the former amount. Located on a tract of fifteen acres at California 
and East Avenues, the cooperage plant has a capacity of from 800 to 1,000 
barrels per day and employs from sixty to eighty men ; and it keeps the 
special sidings of both the Santa Fe and the Southern Pacific railroads busy 
handling over $750,000 worth of business that is done there annually. Bar- 
rels to the number of 150,000 are shipped annually to different points in 
California; and the concern receives annually 150 carloads of staves and 
forty carloads of headings from the southern states, and about twenty-five 
carloads of steel from Pennsylvania. 

KELLAR-THOMASON-FLEMING COMPANY.— Born in Darke 
County. Ohio, on October 18, 1872. Rolla C. Fleming, the local company's 
secretary, treasurer and manager, was taken at the age of six years to Sulli- 
van County, 111. At the age of twenty-two he entered the employ of the 
Wabash Railroad, taking a post in the passenger department, and as a rail- 
road man worked his way through the different departments until he was 
made division passenger agent. "Wherever he labored, whatever he under- 
took, the result was the same : his employers found in him an intelligent, 
conscientious worker, whose aptness, experience and fidelity made him de- 
pendable under all circumstances. 

In October. 1912, Mr. Fleming arrived in Los Angeles and entered the 
employ of the Kellar-Thomason Company, traveling for them on the mad 
for five years. In November, 1917, he settled in Fresno, and immediately 
began to build up the business which has made the first year of the company 
here so successful. Mr. Fleming is a member of the Chamber of Commerce 
of Fresno, the Commercial Club of Fresno, and the Merchants' Association of 
Fresno ; and he is thus able to exercise a beneficent influence in various 
channels. 

For centuries the methods of irrigation remained unchanged : but during 
the past two decades there have been great developments, and the associates 
in the Kellar-Thomason-Fleming Company were privileged to share largely 
in the honors for the reforms and advancement. More than twenty years ago 
in Southern California two men, George E. Kellar and E. O. Thomason of 
Covina, both of them practical ranchers and orchardists. were irrigating 
their lands by the then prevalent mud-ditch method. That method was, to 
say the least, wasteful of both water and physical energy, and realizing its 
inadequacy and crudeness, they helped to bring into practical use what is 
now known as the "KT" system. Their idea, briefly, was to use some sort of 
pipe to overcome the loss of water occasioned by evaporation and seepage 
and, further, to make practical irrigation easy by equipping the pipe-line 
with improved outlets. Thev first took up the manufacture of concrete pipe 
for their own use, finding that the making of this kind of pipe was within 
the range of possibilities, and that concrete pipe met two important require- 
ments: cheapness and durability. There were at that time exceptional cases 
where some sort of pipe, either concrete, vitrified or iron, was in use to con- 
vev water over some specially porous or gravelly stretch of land, but irrigat- 
ing water was usually permitted to flow through weedy mud ditches. The 
use of concrete pipe put the water under control to a certain extent, but the 
first method employed for releasing and distributing it was quite crude, con- 
sisting of a slide gate operated in the pipe-line at every stand-pipe where 
water was to be turned out. This always gave trouble; for when the gate 
was closed at a stand-pipe, in order that the water might overflow there. 
several stand-pipes on about the same level would also overflow at the same 
time. This svstem was therefore superseded by the "valve system," which 
was adopted after several years of experimenting and actual practice, and 



HISTORY OF FRESNO COUNTY 1547 

which led to the inventing and patenting, in 1904, of the "KT" valve, and 
in 1905, of the "KT" gate, and later of other useful appliances. The immedi- 
ate advantage of the "KT" system is that, instead of first using the mud 
ditches and afterward installing some better arrangement, the best system is 
at once put in, thus from the beginning guaranteeing additional crops, which 
quickly return the apparently heavy investment. How great a saving to the 
progressive rancher such an advanced method is may be seen from the fact 
that an experienced engineer has recently declared that of the millions of 
dollars annually expended by our irrigation districts for water and for apply- 
ing it to cultivated crops, fully seventy percent, is wasted. The "KT" system 
of irrigation is essentially superior to all others on the market, as is shown 
by the constantly increasing demand for it. 

The plant of this now famous company is located at 1218-1236 East 
Twenty-eighth Street, Los Angeles, and is the largest in the world given 
solely to the manufacture of irrigation appliances. The officers are : George 
C. Martin, president, Los Angeles ; R. Coffsen, vice-president. Los Angeles ; 
and Charles Montgomery, secretary and treasurer, Los Angeles. The Kellar- 
Thomason-Fleming Company, which has its offices at 2031 Kern Street, 
Fresno, was incorporated in November, 1917, and at once started business 
with these officers: George C. Martin, president, Los Angeles; R. Coffsen. 
vice-president, Los Angeles ; and Rolla C. Fleming, secretary, treasurer and 
manager, Fresno. 

WILLIAM HELM.— The interest which attaches to the biography of 
California pioneers is not that of curiosity, but a visible expression of grati- 
tude which all men feel towards those forerunners of civilization in the far 
West. Not only as a pioneer of the state, but also as one of the earliest resi- 
dents of Fresno County. William Helm held a high position among the 
people of the city and county of Fresno. 

A native of Canada, William Helm was born in the province of Ontario, 
about forty miles above Montreal, on the St. Lawrence River, on March 9, 
1837, a son of George and Mary (Oliver) Helm, both of whom were born 
in Scotland, the latter of English parentage on the paternal side. George 
Helm lived in Scotland until he was a young man, then emigrated to America 
and settled in Gait, Ontario, where he farmed until his death. After the 
death of her husband, Mrs. Helm came to California and made her home in 
San Francisco where she died at the age of about eighty-two years. Mr. 
and Mrs. George Helm were parents of nine children, of whom William be- 
came a pioneer of Fresno County. 

Reared on the home farm and educated in the public schools of his com- 
munity, William Helm early learned the rudiments of farming and of the 
stock business under his father. In 1856, then only nineteen vears of age, 
he left home and came to Wisconsin, where he was engaged in lumbering on 
the Chippewa River, and in operating a sawmill, for three years. He then 
made up his mind to come to California. Going to New York, he sailed 
from that city in 1859 to Panama, crossed the Isthmus and took passage on 
a vessel that landed him in San Francisco. He went at once to the Sacra- 
mento Valley and in Placer County found his first work with a butcher, 
remaining for some time and learing the butcher business and following it 
at Forest Hill and in Todds Valley. And still later he was engaged in the 
sheep business in Bear Valley, Placer County, where he had a good range 
for his increasing bands. In 1865 he brought his sheep down into Fresno 
County, which at that time was a vast open space, with no improvements 
and not a mile of railway. At Dry Creek, on section four, six miles north- 
east of what is now the city of Fresno, Mr. Helm purchased 2,640 acres of 
land from Mr. Chapman, paying one dollar per acre for it. Here his bands 
of sheep increased rapidly and he added to his landed interests until he owned 
some 16,000 acres and 22,000 head of sheep, being for many years the largest 



1548 HISTORY OF FRESNO COUNTY 

sheep-raiser in this part of the country. He established winter quarters on 
what is now the site of Fresno courthouse, little dreaming that in a few years 
there would be a city, unsurpassed by few others in the entire state, located 
on the spot. When the wool was sacked it was hauled to Stockton for ship- 
ment, necessitating three wagons, each drawn by ten mules, and the journey 
required twelve days to make the round trip. 

Mr. Helm established his residence in Fresno and continued his opera- 
tions, and in time he brought water from Kings River and began to develop 
his land. He was one of the stockholders that built the Gould ditch. As 
settlers came to the county he sold off his land at advantageous prices, re- 
taining several thousand acres which he used for sheep-raising and on which 
he set out vineyards, until he had about 700 acres. Mr. Helm erected the 
Helm block, at the corner of J and Fresno Streets, and built up other prop- 
erty here. He was interested in the Farmers' National Bank of California, 
also was one of the organizers and vice-president of the Bank of Central 
California until his death. After an unusually busy and useful career Mr. 
Helm lived retired from all labors, spending part of his time in San Fran- 
cisco. He died at the home of his daughter, April 10, 1919, just past eighty- 
two years of age. 

The marriage that united William Helm with Miss Fannie S. Newman 
occurred in Placer County. Mrs. Helm was born in England, but was reared 
and educated in New York. Of their union seven children were born : Jessie, 
Mrs. C. S. Cox, of Fresno ; George I., a vineyardist of Fresno County ; Frank 
M.. a resident of Fresno, also interested in a vineyard: Fannie, Mrs. E. A. 
Walrond, of Fresno ; Mary, Mrs. Dr. J. L. Maupin, of Fresno ; Agnes, Mrs. 
Dr. Montgomery Thomas, also of Fresno ; and Maude, Mrs. M. M. Dearing, 
at home. Mr. Helm was a stanch Republican, a member of the Chamber of 
Commerce, and at all times was ready to give substantial encouragement for 
the upbuilding of the city and county of Fresno, where the busy years of 
his life were spent. Mrs. Helm died in Fresno, April 22, 1906, in her sixty- 
fifth year. 

It is difficult to overestimate the beneficent effect upon the growth and 
prosperity of the San Joaquin Valley which the work of William Helm had. 
Not only was he an eye witness to practically every step in the great scheme 
of development of the agricultural and horticultural resources, but he bore 
a conspicuous part in transforming a vast region, that was but little more 
than a desert waste, into one of the most productive sections of the entire 
state of California. Throughout his career he was ever mindful of the rights 
and privileges of others and earnestly cooperated with his fellow citizens in 
all efforts to advance the welfare of the community. The remarkable success 
that rewarded his labors was the result of perseverance and indefatigable 
industry. Mr. Helm belonged to that strong type of pioneer citizen who sur- 
vived despite the obstacles constantly presented in the earlier days of state- 
hood. The brief record of his life history, which was so closely interwoven 
with the history of the San Joaquin Valley, will prove of increasing interest 
to the younger generation and students of history as the years pass. 

GEORGE LAMERS. — It isn't what a man has, but what he does with 
what he has that determines his standing in a community. A man may be 
possessed of the brightest of minds, or an abundance of wealth, but if he 
does not develop his brain, or if he uses his money for his own selfish ends, 
he has reflected no credit upon himself nor upon the community. A man 
with less of either brain or money, rightly expended, will reflect a greater 
luster. With what respect do we look upon the man who has come to the 
top knowing every step of the ladder. 

Such a man is George Lamers, who was born at Nykobing, Jylland, Den- 
mark, September 21, 1882. His father, Edward Lamers. was a native of Den- 
mark, a carpenter by trade, who died when the son was only four years of age. 



HISTORY OF FRESNO COUNTY 1549 

His mother, Elise Marie (Nielsen) Lamers, since her husband's death has 
married again and lives on the old home place in Denmark. Her name now 
is Andersen. 

George Lamers attended school in his native land, and remained there 
until he was twenty years old. In 1902 he came to America, locating in 
Chicago where he worked at the carpenter trade for two years, and then 
came to Hornbrook, Siskiyou County, Cal., and engaged in railroad work. 
Soon becoming bridge carpenter for the Southern Pacific, he was later 
transferred to the car repair shops of the Southern Pacific Railroad at Duns- 
muir, Cal., and stayed there four years. In 1909 he resigned from his work 
at Dunsmuir and came to Fresno, taking employment with the Santa Fe 
Railway Company. He is an able workman and the company has recognized 
his worth by making him foreman of the car repair shops at Fresno, where 
there are thirty-eight men employed. 

He was married in San Jose, to Mary Jensen, a native of Denmark. They 
live in one of the companies' houses at Calwa, a suburb of Fresno, are 
members of the Danish Lutheran Church at Fresno, and are highly respected 
by all who know them. And so, perhaps never thinking of doing it, he is 
illustrating the truth of what a poet has said, "Honor and fame from no con- 
dition rise, act well your part — there all the glory lies." 

LEWIS HOWELL SMITH.— A thoroughly successful man and an 
attorney who occupies a prominent place at the bar of California, bringing to 
the practice of his profession an active brain, a well trained mind, commend- 
able zeal and habits of industry, Lewis Howell Smith, of Fresno, has attained 
an honored place among the leading lawyers of that city. A native of Illinois, 
he was born at Peoria, November 3, 1872, a son of the late John Boyd and 
Lucetta (Howell) Smith, natives of Pennsylvania and Illinois respectively. 

John Boyd Smith was born at Sunbury, Pa., where he attended the 
public schools. When a young man he went to Illinois and was engaged in 
the banking business, becoming one of the founders, and the cashier, of the 
Mechanics' National Bank, which afterwards became the Merchants' Na- 
tional Bank of Peoria. In 1889 he removed to Fresno, Cal., with his family, 
and here he became associated with the Fresno National Bank, remaining as 
cashier until his death, in 1893, at the age of sixty-four years. For more than 
forty years he was engaged in the banking business and was widely known 
as an able financier. Mrs. Smith's father, Lewis Howell, an early settler of 
Peoria, was a man of great financial ability, and for many years was presi- 
dent of the Peoria National Bank. Mr. and Mrs. Smith became the parents 
of six children, four of whom are living: Boyd; Mrs. W. E. Stone, of Peoria; 
Lewis Howell, of this review ; and Elsie. One son, Archie A., became the 
cashier of the Fresno National Bank in 1895, and remained in that position 
until his death, in 1899. Mrs. Smith survived her husband until May, 1917, 
when she passed away in Fresno. 

Lewis Howell Smith attended the grammar and high schools at Peoria, 
111., until he accompanied his parents to Fresno, Cal., in 1889. Soon after he 
arrived here he was in the employ of the United States government as a 
mail carrier for a year or more. In 1891 he entered Stanford University and 
was graduated from that institution in 1895, with the degree of LL.B., hav- 
ing the distinction of receiving the first law diploma issued by that univer- 
sity. The ensuing year Mr. Smith worked in the office of Judge Carter, then 
superior judge of Fresno County, later, from 1896 to 1898, he was in partner- 
ship with Judge Carter, under the firm name of Carter & Smith. For the 
next three years Mr. Smith carried on an independent law practice, then, in 
July, 1901, he became associated with Judge Ostrander, under the name of 
Smith & Ostrander, with offices in the Forsyth Building. This partnership 
continued in force for five years, during which time the firm was associated 
with many of the prominent cases tried in Fresno County. At the end of 



1550 HISTORY OF FRESNO COUNTY 

the five years, Mr. Smith once more carried on an independent practice. 
In 1897 he was elected city attorney and served a two-year term. Mr. Smith 
is recognized as a most skilled lawyer and has been one of the leading mem- 
bers of the bar in Fresno, and as such he has been associated with many 
important cases. In the case of the People vs. McDaniels, a copy of which 
is transcribed in the California Reports and in the American State Reports, 
he served as attorney for the defendant and won the case in the supreme 
court, to which it was appealed, the supreme court reversing a former deci- 
sion and establishing a constitutional precedent that has since been taken up 
in law journals throughout the land. In 1913, Mayor Snow appointed Mr. 
Smith city attorney and he served until 1917. 

In Georgetown, Cal., L. H. Smith was united in marriage on April 20, 
1899, with Miss Maude Shepherd, a native of California and a daughter of 
B. F. Shepherd, one of the '49ers in California, who was a prominent merchant 
in Georgetown. When he retired he made his home with Mr. and Mrs. 
Smith in Fresno. Of the union of Mr. and Mrs. Smith four children were 
born: Archie A., who volunteered on his eighteenth birthday for radio 
service in the United States Navy; serving from July, 1918, to February, 
1919. when he was honorably discharged and returned home ; Merilyn Maude, 
Barbara and Dorothy. Mr. Smith is a member of the Chamber of Com- 
merce, of which he served as president at one time. He belongs to the 
Benevolent Protective Order of Elks and the Eagles ; the Commercial Club ; 
the Sequoia Club; and the University Club, all of Fresno; and the Sigma 
Nu Society of Stanford University. He is a member of the County Bar 
Association. As a stanch Republican. Mr. Smith has taken a prominent place 
in the councils of the party and has served on county and state committees. 
He is public-spirited, progressive and an active upbuilder of the city, county 
and state, ready at all times to give substantial encouragement to all worthy 
projects. With his family he enjoys the good will and esteem of an ever 
widening circle of friends and business associates. 

ELLSWORTH M. NORTHRUP. — An industrious, self-made man who 
has become a prosperous rancher and enjoys the reputation for a man of 
good judgment and generous impulses, is Ellsworth M. Northrup, popularly 
called "Cap*' Northrup. His twenty-acre ranch adjoins Laton, Fresno County. 
Cal, on the west, and there he and his good wife and children have a home 
of genuine hospitality. Mr. Northrup was born in New Jersey, on March 20, 
1865, the son of Joseph Northrup who had married Ella Ward. The latter 
died in New Jersey when Ellsworth was a child, and the youngest of four 
children, of whom two lived. The other, a sister, is now Mrs. Josie E. John- 
son, and she resides at Santa Cruz. Soon after his mother's death, his father 
moved with his family to Clark County, in northeastern Missouri, and having 
been a druggist by profession in New Jersey, he opened a drug store at 
Peaksville, Mo. Later, however, he became a farmer; and on his ranch he 
died at the age of seventy-seven. 

"Cap" Northrup attended the common schools, grew up on a farm, and 
was married in Iowa, whither he went when he was twenty-six. He was 
twenty-nine when he took Miss Alma J. Washburn for his bride, the lady be- 
ing a 'daughter of Ebenezer and Mary Washburn ; and in the meantime he 
had been emploved in the powder works at Keokuk and on a farm. 

In 1900. Mr. and Mrs. Northrup came west to Laton. His wife's uncle 
was the late J. O. Hancock, a prosperous rancher who wrote Ellsworth and 
advised him to come to California ; and when he moved west, he brought a 
car-load of stock and implements, having made up the contents of his load in 
Iowa. He at first bought and improved a piece of forty acres southwest of 
Laton, from which he cut 2,000 cords of wood, all of the second growth. This 
involved a great deal of hard labor, but the proceeds was enough to pay for 
the first cost of the land, and in this way he got the good start which has 
ever since spelled prosperity. Anyone visiting the Northrup estate will ob- 



HISTORY OF FRESNO COUNTY 1551 

serve at once that he is a careful, industrious, and frugal man. He has built 
a handsome bungalow and desirable farm buildings and has equipped himself 
with whatever he needs. The convenient location of his ranch, at the fork 
of the road a short distance west of the town, has also assisted him forward. 
There he and his family enjoy the fruits of an industrious and well-ordered 
life. There are four children who gather at times around the Northrup fire- 
side : Audrey May is the wife of Roy Miller, the rancher at Tranquillity, 
and she is the mother of two children ; Eula Lee, Anna Dean, and Glen Arthur 
are still under the paternal roof. 

Mrs. Northrup was formerly Alma J. Washburn. Her maternal grand- 
mother was a Hancock, — an own sister to the above mentioned late J. 0. 
Hancock. Mrs. Northrup's mother advanced him the money with which to 
come west to California for his health, his life being despaired of. Here he 
recuperated and became one of the most prosperous as well as most highly 
respected citizens on the Laguna de Tache. It should be mentioned that Mrs. 
Northrup is a direct descendant of the immortal John Hancock, signer of 
the Declaration of Independence. 

The name "Cap" was given our subject by his grandfather while he 
was a likable little tot playing about his grandfather's knees. 

FRANK REHORN.— A striking example of the value to himself, his 
friends and the community in which he lived, of a well-planned and well 
rounded-out career, is afforded in the life of Frank Rehorn, the widely-known 
contractor and builder, who closed his eyes to this busy world on August 
31, 1916. leaving name, fame and a modest fortune. He was born in New 
York City on November 18, 1862, the son of H. W. and Margaret (Shields) 
Rehorn, and moved to Tennessee with the family, when he was fourteen 
years old. His school education was obtained, therefore, in New York and 
Tennessee. On attaining to his nineteenth year, he left home and began to 
make his way alone. He went to Kansas and then worked at the builders 
trade. When twenty-five years old he came to California and settled in 
Fresno. Mr. Rehorn's ability for both initiative and fortunate consummation 
were soon recognized, and one by one he built the principal houses in the 
town. These included the Patterson business and office block, and also the 
Fresno Republican and the Telephone buildings. 

On November 24, 1890, Mr. Rehorn married Miss Myrtle Conrad, and 
in time he built his own beautiful home. A son, Ralph L., is in the Union 
National Bank, having graduated from the University of California ; and 
•there is a daughter, Helen M. Rehorn. 

Frank Rehorn was as exemplary as a Republican, working hard for clean 
politics, as he was a model Christian with Protestant preferences. He loved 
Masonry and was a good soul with the Shriners, while he also participated 
cordially in the social life of the Woodmen of the World and the Elks. When 
he came to lay aside earthly cares and earthly pleasures, he was deeply 
mourned by all who knew him. 

JOHN W. WATKINS. — A recent and valuable addition to the profes- 
sional circles of Fresno is found in the person whose name heads this review, 
John W. Watkins, the popular attorney and junior member of the law firm of 
Burns & Watkins, of Fresno. He is a native of Ralls County, Mo., where he 
was born on November 8, 1870. His early education was received in the pub- 
lic schools of his native state, and was supplemented by a course at West- 
minster College, at Fulton, Mo., which institution he attended for two and 
one-half years. 

Mr. Watkins' father was an attorney, and it is quite natural that we 
find the son, in his early manhood, in his father's office, studying the inter- 
esting intricacies of jurisprudence, and by associating with his father absorb- 
ing many practical lessons from his extensive experience, which no doubt 
John Watkins, the Fresno attorney, finds invaluable today in the prosecution 



1552 HISTORY OF FRESNO COUNTY 

of his profession. While living in Missouri, Mr. Watkins was quite active in 
politics. 

Like all young and vigorous Americans, John, as a young man, was 
especially fond of the great American game ; so in 1893 we find him as a 
semi-professional ball player in Fresno County, Cal., where for one year he 
was a member of the Selma team. He also played ball in the Texas league 
and at Jefferson City, Mo., as also through the Middle West. 

In 1904, he came again to California, where he was engaged for three 
years as a traveling representative of an insurance company. 

Mr. Watkins was admitted to the bar in 1911, and became a partner 
of his father-in-law, the well-known attorney of Fresno, James A. Burns, 
whose life is sketched on another page of this history. 

On May 21, 1908, John Watkins was united in marriage with Miss Nan 
Burns. The domestic felicity of Mr. and Mrs. Watkins has been greatly 
enhanced by the addition to the family of a little daughter, Ann Catherine, 
now one year of age. 

Fraternally, Mr. Watkins is an Odd Fellow, and is a member of Central 
California Lodge No. 343, of Fresno ; he is also past district grand master. 

JOHN WESLEY FLY.— A brave old soldier with an enviable war 
record, and a citizen equally esteemed for his virtues as a man and father, and 
one who is glad and proud to acknowledge in his devoted wife one of the 
most loyal and efficient of helpmates, whose influence and foresight have had 
much to do with his success, while she has contributed to the betterment 
of the community in which she lives, is John Wesley Fly. who was born 
near Cassville, Barry County, Mo., in 1844. His grandfather, Jerry Fly, was 
born in England and settled in Tennessee ; from which circumstance it hap- 
pened that his father, A. P. Fly, was born in Tennessee. The latter married 
Miss Rillia Cantrell, a native of Tennessee, who came of Irish ancestors, and 
he then moved to Arkansas and finally to Missouri, where he established 
himself as a farmer, and in Missouri the good parents died. Fourteen 
children made up the family, and John W. and A. L. Fly, two of the sons, 
served in the same regiment during the Civil War. 

Brought up on a farm, John Wesley enjoyed but limited educational 
opportunities at the public school, and on January 3, 1863, demonstrated 
his patriotism at Fayetteville, Ark., when he volunteered for service in the 
Union Army, and joined Company H, First Missouri Cavalry. He was in the 
Battle of Little Rock and also the Battle of Camden, and with his regiment 
went through many severe engagements as well as minor skirmishes, stick- 
ing to the dear old Flag for two years and nine months, or until the close 
of the war, during which time he never received a scratch. In September, 
1865, he had the great satisfaction at St. Louis of being honorably dis- 
charged from the service. 

At the conclusion of the war Mr. Fly came home to the farm, having 
also previously, in 1864, had the benefit of a furlough ; and then began 
seriously to think of establishing himself in domestic comfort. He had been 
engaged for some years to a lady whose family were Southerners, and under 
the circumstances, this might have proved a barrier; but she remained true 
to him and to the Union, and on June 11, 1864, he was joined in wedlock to 
Miss Charioty Clark, a native of Arkansas who was brought up in Missouri, 
and a daughter of Thomas and Nancy (Comes) Clark, natives of Tennessee; 
she was the eighth child in a family of twelve children, ten of whom are 
living. 

Mr. and Mrs. Fly engaged in farming in Missouri, and bought a ranch in 
Barry County, which promised all they could desire. In 1883, however, 
they sold out and moved to Routt County, Colo., where they engaged in the 
cattle business. They began at the bottom, and studied the industry 
thoroughly, and in time made his brand, 4/5, a trade-mark of enviable value. 
They took up land, and for twenty years continued in the cattle business. 



HISTORY OF FRESNO COUNTY 1555 

When Mr. Fly had reached his fifty-sixth year he broke down in health 
and sold his stock, thinking that cessation of labor and responsibility would 
contribute to his cure ; but having been advised by physicians to change to 
a lower altitude he sold his ranch, and in 1904 came to California. A careful 
investigation into the merits of the various sections of the Golden State im- 
pressed him with the advantages offered by Fresno County, and here he 
bought the place, three-quarters of a mile from Clovis, now widely known 
as the result of his management. Originally it contained about fifteen acre's 
set to peaches ; but he found that this involved too much care and so he sold 
ten acres and retained five for himself. He also found the land unfavorable 
for peaches, and cutting down the peach trees he planted the acreage to 
sultana grapevines. 

Five children have blessed the union of Mr. and Mrs. Fly: Fountain E. 
is a rancher at Gridley, Cal. ; Miranda has become Mrs. Voice, of Clovis ; 
Gertrude, her sister, better known as Mrs. Sellers, lives near by in the same 
town ; Ellen is Mrs. Ducy, of the Barstow Colony, in Fresno County ; and 
Allie is Mrs. Jones, and lives at International in the same county. The 
estimable couple have twenty-two grandchildren and fourteen great-grand- 
children. They attend the Methodist Episcopal Church in Clovis, where Mr. 
Flv has been for years a member of the official board ; and Mr. Fly is a mem- 
ber of Atlanta Post No. 92, G. A. R., at Fresno. 

FREDERICK BADER. — An enterprising business man of many-sided 
experience, who has contributed valuably to the solution of good-roads prob- 
lems, is Frederick Bader, the president and manager of the Warswick Street 
Paving Company. As a youth he pursued the usual elementary courses, and 
studied mechanical engineering. He followed his profession in St. Louis, 
Mo., and afterwards in Philadelphia until he engaged with the Bradford Oil 
Company and went abroad to do engineering for them while they were ex- 
ploring their lands in Galicia. 

On his return to the United States, Mr. Bader came to Butte County, 
Cal., in 1885, where he purchased land, and while improving it was in the 
employ of the South Feather River Mining Company in the colonization of 
their lands. Selling out in 1889, he located in Fresno County and purchased 
forty acres near Fowler, which he improved to vineyard. Selling this in 
1893, he engaged in merchantile business in Hanford for a time. He then 
became interested in the oil business both as a developer of oil and as a 
contractor for oil wells, operating in Coalinga and the Kern River field. 
About the same time he started contracting -for street paving and incor- 
porated the Warswick Street Paving Company, with headquarters in Fresno, 
of which he has been president and manager for the last fifteen years. The 
company has constructed sixty miles of the State Highway, and has built 
eighty miles of paved streets, as well as erected many bridges. This financial 
and industrial leadership has made Mr. Bader an influential member of the 
Chamber of Commerce and the Merchants' Association. 

Mr. Bader was married, in 1909, to Miss Marie Markfelt ; and with his 
wife he enjoys the' social life of the Elks. 

ROBERT SCOTT. — Preeminent among the cornerstones of commerce 
in Selma is the Walter Scott Company, dealers in groceries and hardware, 
whose store is at 2014-16 Second Street, under the direction of Robert Scott, 
the company's president and manager. His father, the late Walter Scott, was 
the founder of the firm and was rated as one of Selma's most important busi- 
ness men. A Canadian by birth, he was born at Paris, that country, on 
January 24, 1835. and when a young man came to Michigan to work in the 
lumber camps. There he married Miss Martha Scott, who, though of the 
same name was of no kinship with him, and in 1869, with their first child, 
Mary (now the wife of G. W. Woods of Selma), they moved to Lancaster 
County, Nebr., where he took up a homestead of 160 acres. He also there 



1556 HISTORY OF FRESNO COUNTY 

availed himself of his preemption and timber-claim rights, and proved up 
480 acres in three different tracts near Bennett. He eventually became the 
owner of much Nebraska land and engaged extensively in the stock business. 

In 1873, the elder Scott diversified his work by engaging in the general 
merchandise business at Bennett, Nebr., and soon built up a good trade, 
but for three or four years in succession the grasshoppers destroyed crop 
after crop and that whole section of the country was devastated, so much so 
that even the Indians hurried away to keep from starving. Under the fearful 
stress of these awful conditions, Mr. Scott's business was utterly ruined, and 
the holder of a mortgage took his homestead, upon which, at great labor and 
expense he had put out an extensive apple orchard, one of the first in Lancas- 
ter County. This apple orchard contained some very choice fruit trees, which 
were sheltered and protected by three rows of cottonwoods. and this Mr. 
Scott had to sell in order to save himself. The very next year was an excel- 
lent one for apples, and such a bumper crop did the buyer of the homestead 
harvest that when he had boxed the apples and shipped them to Lincoln he 
was able, from the proceeds, to pay for the entire 160 acres. Mr. Scott had 
been a teamster and freighter when he first came to Nebraska, and he hauled 
from Nebraska City to the new settlement in Lancaster County before Lin- 
coln was founded, and before the Union Railway was in full operation. After 
the grasshopper scourge he reengaged in the stock business, and owing to 
the plentifulness of free ranges, he prospered ; he bought heavily of rail- 
road, school and other lands and was soon on the road to prosperity again. 
His next move was to Stromberg, Nebr., where he and his son-in-law. G. W. 
Woods, engaged in the general merchandise business for about twelve years. 
Eventually they sold out and bade goodby to scenes with which they had 
been so closely identified, and came to the Pacific Coast. 

Here they settled in the Lewis River Valley, in Washington, and again 
engaged in the general merchandise business, at Woodland. Realizing, how- 
ever, that that place was too small for him. Mr. Scott made a trip to Central 
California, visiting the vicinity of Selma, and he was so well pleased with 
all that he saw, and what his prophetic vision enabled him to forecast, that 
he bought land for himself and his son-in-law, three miles north of town. 
Then, having decided to come to Selma for the purpose of improving his 
purchase, he brought from Washington his entire family, and the party 
arrived on November 1, 1891. He at once started to improve his ranch, and 
a few months later, in March. 1802, started in business as well, buying out 
J. F. Hall, of the firm of Ross & Hall, dealers in general merchandise, the 
firm becoming Ross & Scott. In 1805. Mr. Ross also sold out to Walter 
Scott, and the firm name was changed to Walter Scott & Co. The firm 
continued to prosper and business increased so rapidly, that in 1901 the com- 
pany was duly incorporated under the name of the Walter Scott Company, 
with the following officers: Walter Scott, president; Hattie M. Gill, vice- 
president ; Charles Schweandt. secretary ; and Walter G. Scott, treasurer 
and manager. 

In a side-hill dugout on the homestead near Bennett, Nebr., Walter G. 
Scott was born, October 8. 1870, as was also his second sister. Hattie M., 
now the wife of S. H. Gill. Their mother died in Nebraska, and was buried 
near Palmyra in that state. The father later married again, taking for his 
second wife Mrs. M. J. Mitchell, a widow, her maiden name being Martha J. 
Thomas, and by his second wife Mr. Scott had one son. Robert. Mrs. Scott 
was the widow of M. J. Mitchell of Nebraska, and she had two sons and one 
daughter by her first husband: Mrs. A. E. Williams, of Los Angeles: H. M. 
Mitchell, machinist of Hanford ; and Ernest, who died when twenty-one years 
of age. On the death of Mr. Scott, in 1000, Mrs. Scott moved to Los Angeles, 
and has since made her home there. 

Walter G. Scott continued to manage the business until 1906, when he 
sold out his interest. Robert Scott and Mrs. Gill continued to conduct the 



HISTORY OF FRESNO COUNTY 1557 

store under the name of Walter Scott Company until 1914, when they divided 
the establishment, Mrs. Gill taking the dry goods and organizing the firm 
of S. H. Gill Company (Inc.), and Robert Scott taking the grocery and hard- 
ware departments and retaining the firm name of Walter Scott Company. 
The present officers of the incorporated company are : President and mana- 
ger, Robert Scott; vice-president, Mrs. M. J. Scott, the mother of Robert 
Scott; second vice-president, Mrs. Adah Scott, wife of Robert; secretary and 
treasurer, Alice S. Bemusdaffer; director, L. L. Cory of Fresno. The firm 
occupies a large double store and a large warehouse at the rear, also owning 
and operating still another large warehouse. 

Robert Scott was born in Selma, February 2, 1893, and attended the 
public and high school of his native town, later taking a course at Heald's 
Business College at Los Angeles, graduating from that institution in 1910. 
He early began to work in his father's store, first as messenger and delivery 
boy, then clerk, and finally rising to the position of president and manager 
of the establishment, and now devotes his time to the business his father 
founded. Fraternally he is a member of the Native Sons, and past president 
of the Selma Parlor. He is an active member of the California Raisin Grow- 
ers Association and also of the California Peach Growers, Inc. 

The marriage of Robert Scott, which occurred in Los Angeles, in 1911, 
united him with Miss Adah C. Conklin, of that city, and one child has been 
born to them, Norman Hugh. On September 4, 1917, Robert Scott volun- 
teered in the Lmited States Navy for service during the World War ; he 
trained for two months at Goat Island, then was ordered to Norfolk, Va., 
where he studied and trained as chief gunner in the Ordnance Department 
for three months, graduated, and was appointed instructor of recruits, which 
position he held four months, then was transferred to Washington, D. C, 
remained there until December, 1918, when he was sent back to Goat Island, 
and received his honorable discharge on December 24, 1918, and arrived 
home on Christmas eve. 

WILLIAM C. FREELAND.— The cashier of the allied banks, the 
First National Bank and the Selma Savings Bank, of Selma, William C. 
Freeland, is known among his associates as a financier of ability and a man 
of unimpeachable integrity, possessed of force of character and good executive 
ability. Self-made, he has worked his way up from a clerkship to the highest 
place in the active operation of Selma's foremost financial institution. While 
Selma claims him as one of her boys, he was born in Ayrshire, Scotland, 
March 28, 1877, and came to America with his parents, James and Mary A. 
(Cunningham) Freeland, when he was a lad ten years of age. His father, a 
blacksmith by trade, lived in Soquel, Santa Cruz County, from 1887 to 1890, 
and in the latter year came to Selma, where he died, in 1895. His mother is 
living in Selma. and became the wife of the late John G. S. Arrants, of Selma. 

William C. Freeland received his primary education in the schools of 
Scotland, completing it in the public schools of Santa Cruz County and 
Selma, graduating from the Selma high school with the class of 1895. He 
acquired bookkeeping in the high school and was afterwards with the Selma 
branch of the Kutner-Goldstein Company in the capacity of bookkeeper for 
a year and a half. A vacancy occurring in the clerkship of the First National 
Bank in 1897, he took the position and gradually worked himself up until 
in 1905 he became cashier. Of excellent judgment, and unusually swift and 
accurate as a cashier, he has held the position up to the present time with 
credit to himself and the bank. 

In 1902, Mr. Freeland was united in marriage with Miss Joanna Heaton, 
daughter of Joseph and Margaret A. Heaton of Selma. He is the owner of 
one hundred acres two miles east of Selma which is planted to peaches, apri- 
cots, and Muscat and Thompson seedless grapes. A Presbyterian in his reli- 
gious convictions, he is a member and chairman of the board of trustees of 



1558 HISTORY OF FRESNO COUNTY 

the church of that denomination at Selma. Fraternally he is prominent in 
Masonic circles. He is a member of the Blue Lodge Chapter in Selma and 
of the Commandery at Fresno. He is a Scottish Rite and Thirty-second De- 
gree Mason, and a member of Islam Temple at San Francisco. He is also 
a member of the Selma Lodge of W. O. W., the largest lodge in Selma. 

For eight years Mr. Freeland was a member of the Board of Trustees 
of the City of Selma and for four years of that time was chairman of the 
board. For the past five years he has been City Treasurer. He and his good 
wife are highly respected in business, social and church circles in Selma. 

SELMA NATIONAL BANK AND FARMERS SAVINGS BANK OF 
SELMA. — Among the banking institutions of Selma which have given the 
city an impetus and placed business on a solid foundation, are the two allied 
banks, the Selma National Bank and the Farmers' Savings Bank of Selma. 
The younger of the two institutions, the Selma National Bank, was estab- 
lished January 2, 1913. These banks have the same officers and directors 
and do business in the same building and office. 

Centrally located, with roomy space, beautiful furniture and bank fix- 
tures, ample vaults and perfect appointments, together with the gentlemanly 
attention their patrons receive, these banks are rapidly forging to the front. 
Their aim, to render their patrons every service and accommodation consist- 
ent with sound finance, has won the confidence of the entire community, 
among whom their officials are known to be the most substantial and suc- 
cessful men of Selma, whose personal integrity and business ability are 
beyond question. Under the efficient management of their officers — W. T. 
Forkner, president ; Edward Poulson, vice-president ; C. W. Christensen, 
cashier; Milton Allison, assistant cashier; and Directors W. T. Forkner, 
Edward Poulson, Scott Manlove, E. S. Hobler, H. S. Hulbert, Dr. F. H. 
Williams and C. W. Christensen — the banks are rapidly gaining in deposits 
and volume of business, and are of great assistance in the transaction of the 
heavy business of the celebrated fruit section of Selma. 

Thev have a combined working capital of $100,000, combined deposits 
of $600,000. and combined resources of $750,000. 

E. MELVIN JOHNSTON, D.D.S.— In professional life as well as in 
other lines of business Fresno is well represented by native sons. E. Melvin 
Johnston is one of these. Born in Fresno, October 22, 1887, he attended the 
grammar and high schools of his native city, graduating from the Fresno 
High in 1907. He had set his mind on a course in college and in order to 
secure funds to do so he went into the oil fields in Kern County to earn the 
necessary money. In the fall of that year he entered Vanderbilt University 
at Nashville, Tenn.. where he remained for a year studying dentistry. He 
then returned to Fresno and became an assistant in the office of B. B. Cory 
and remained two years, when he returned to his Alma Mater for another 
year of study. Young Johnston was energetic and industrious and anxious 
to complete his course and in consequence he once more came back home and 
found employment with the San Joaquin & Eastern Railroad Company at 
construction work for six months. With his earnings he then entered the 
College of Physicians & Surgeons in San Francisco and was graduated from 
the dental department in 1912 with the degree of D.D.S. His first location 
was in San Luis Obispo where he was an assistant in the office of Dr. O. M, 
Polin for eighteen months. With his several years of practical experience, 
Dr. Johnston felt able to launch out for himself and in January, 1914, he re- 
turned to Fresno and opened an office and began to build up an independent 
practice and to reap the returns he knew awaited him. 

The war in Europe made a change in the plans of this rising dentist and 
on Tanuary 10, 1918. Dr. Johnston was commissioned First Lieutenant in 
the Dental Reserve Corpsof the United States Army. On June 6 of that 
year he was called into active service and ordered to report at the dental 
officers training camp at Fort Oglethorpe, Ga. After two months' training 




C . /'^^^^T^/iy-^S^^-c^^'^^r 



HISTORY OF FRESNO COUNTY 1561 

he was assigned to Camp Grant, 111., where he had charge of the dental 
work of the Eight Hundred Twelfth Infantry. From there he received over- 
seas orders as Dental Surgeon of Base Hospital No. 75. He arrived at 
Hoboken on November 11, the day thearmistice was signed and remained in 
that city five and one-half weeks before he received his honorable dis- 
charge. Dr. Johnston returned to Fresno and on December 25, 1918, opened 
new offices in the Forsyth Building and resumed his practice. He was the 
only dentist from Fresno who saw more than four months' active service in 
the army. 

Dr. Johnston was united in marriage with Miss Ethel L. Thomas of 
San Francisco, and they have one son, E. Melvin, Jr., of whom both parents 
are justly proud. But for the fact that the child was two pounds over-weight 
he would have ranked as a one hundred percent, perfect baby. During the 
service of Dr. Johnston in the army he had his wife and son with him at 
the different camps until he received orders for overseas duty, when they 
returned to California. 

Dr. Johnston has been prominent in his profession and served as presi- 
dent of the San Joaquin Valley Dental Association for one year. He is now 
serving as councilman to the California State Dental Association as the repre- 
sentative of the San Joaquin district. He attended the meeting of the Na- 
tional Dental Association held in Chicago in August, 1918, and while there 
he was a member of the company that gave an exhibition drill before the 
Association and was reviewed by Major General Gorgas, Surgeon General 
U. S. A. and Brig. General Noble, U. S. A. Dr. Johnston is second vice- 
president of Fresno Parlor, N. S. G. W. ; is a member of the University 
Club of Fresno ; and is a charter member of the "World's War Veterans and 
a member of the local executive committee. 

WARREN SANFORD MUNGER.— An enterprising viticulturist, 
famed both for his own success and for his activity in promoting movements 
for the building up of the County, is Warren Sanford Munger, than whom 
few if any so well deserve a large circle of friends — Mr. Munger's agreeable 
personality drawing many to him. He was born near Paw Paw, Van Buren 
County, Mich., on March 11, 1870. the grandson of Luke Munger, who was 
born near Canton, Ohio, settled in Michigan as a farmer and died there. His 
father was Lafayette Munger, a native of Boston and a naval constructor 
who came west to Ohio and made his home there. Warren's father, A. M. 
Munger, was a farmer and merchant at Schoolcraft, Mich., who engaged in 
the hardware and implement trade, and was also a stockman and drover. 
While in Michigan he was married to Olivia Corey, a native of Ohio, who 
was born in Van Buren County and became a pioneer of Michigan. 

In 1889 Mr. Munger came to California, settling for a couple of years 
in San Francisco, and two years later he removed to Fresno County, where 
he bought a ranch on White's Bridge road, near Johnson. He made numer- 
ous improvements, laid out the forty acres as a vineyard, and resided there 
until 1901. Then he sold out and removed to Ignatia Valley, Contra Costa 
County, where he set out one of the first and finest walnut orchards in the 
state. Now he resides in Oakland, still actively looking after his orchard, 
and each year celebrating, as a hale and hearty man of seventy-six, his 
far-away birthday — February 7, 1842. Mrs. Munger died in 1877, the mother 
of three children : The eldest was Charles E., a mechanic, who died in North 
Dakota; then came the subject of our review; and the youngest is Al Mun- 
ger, of Fresno. 

Educated in the common and high schools of his neighborhood, Warren 
became a graduate of the Morgan Park Business College of Chicago, after 
which he entered the employ of the Grand Trunk Railroad, and for six 
years was assistant train dispatcher at Schoolcraft. In 1891 he obtained a 
furlough and came to Fresno County for the summer; and although he sub- 
sequently returned to Schoolcraft and continued with the Grand Trunk until 



1562 HISTORY OF FRESNO COUNTY 

1896, what he had seen of the wonderful opportunities afforded by Central 
California was a revelation that he never forgot. 

Having permanently resigned from the railway service, Mr. Munger 
made haste to remove to California and bought forty acres of his present 
place, effecting the transaction with his brother Al as a partner. A year 
later, he bought his brother out, and then he continued alone to make ex- 
tensive improvements on the place. He built a handsome residence and good 
outbuildings, and since then he has bought twenty acres adjoining. Now 
his sixty acres, at the corner of Belmont and Johnson Avenues, constitute 
one of the choice ranches, of its size, in the county. Mr. Munger also 
owns forty acres on Belmont Avenue, two and a half miles to the west. 
This property he has improved, fenced and 'cross-fenced, and sown to 
alfalfa and grain ; and he has installed a fine pumping-plant — one of the 
first in that section. He was one of the builders and is now the owner 
of the Forsey warehouse at Forsey station. The main Munger ranch is 
about four miles west of Fresno, and there the sixty acres is devoted to 
vineyards, with a pretty and profitable border of figs. Muscat and Thomp- 
son seedless grapes flourish under the direction of the experienced viticul- 
turist. From the time when the first efforts were made to form a raisin asso- 
ciation here Mr. Munger supported the movement: and he is today active 
in the California Associated Raisin Company. 

At Schoolcraft, April 17. 1895, Mr. Munger was married to Miss Nellie 
M. Kohl, a native of the old Kalamazoo County, by whom he has had two 
children. Dorris is a graduate of Fresno High School, and Duane is the 
younger. "While in the East, also, Mr. Munger was made a Mason, joining 
the F. & A. M. order at Schoolcraft. 

A Republican in national politics, Mr. Munger served for many years as 
a member of state and county committees. He has also done good civic duty 
as a school trustee of the McKinley school district, where he has been clerk 
of the board, and as a member of grand juries, sometimes acting as chairman. 
In business circles Mr. Munger is quite as favorably known as a man of 
affairs, being interested in particular in the Pacific National Fire Insurance 
Company, of which he has been for some time a director. 

JOHN SHAFER. — It would be difficult, perhaps, to find a more profit- 
able subject for entertaining study than the lives of those early pioneers who, 
having set out for a promised land and weathered all the obstacles and ad- 
versities' of a stormy career, lived to participate in the founding and develop- 
ment of the great commonwealth of the Golden State, and thereby entered 
into a reward for their toil and good works not always granted even the 
most meritorious. Among such Americans of the enviable class may well 
be enumerated John Shafer, now deceased, a man of insight and great force 
of character, who was born at Everett, Bedford County. Pa., then called 
Bloody Run. on February 14, 1824. He grew up in Pennsylvania, attending 
the first public schools of his section, and himself taught school for several 
vears in Bedford County. The Shafers, of most respectable German origin, 
had lived in Pennsylvania from early Colonial times, and members of the 
Shafer family still dwell in the house made of heavy solid red cedar logs 
where John Shafer was born. He became a drover, and bought and sold 
cattle for an important firm in the East. In their interest, he went to Texas. 
Arizona and New Mexico, purchased cattle for the market, and drove them 
to Philadelphia and New York before there were any railroads in the 
Southwest. 

In 1852. he tame across the great plains, as captain of an ox team train 
that outfitted on the Missouri River, and he walked most of the way and 
was three months in crossing the continent. Arriving in California the same 
fall. Mr. Shafer bought swamp and overflow land on the Sacramento River, 
and cut off the timber for wood for the steamboats plying from Sacramento 
to San Francisco, before the advent of railroads ; and when food and pro- 



HISTORY OF FRESNO COUNTY 1563 

visions were scarce, he planted the cleared land to vegetables, and went in 
for truck farming as onions, etc. sold for fifty cents apiece, later putting his 
application to the cultivation of grain, alfalfa, apples and fruit, being one of 
the first to engage in the important industry of market gardening in the 
Sacramento Valley. 

On February 22. 1860, John Shafer was married at Stockton to Miss 
Matilda Thankful Humphrey, a native of Rochester, N. Y.. who had been 
reared in Michigan. She crossed the plains in 1854 with her parents in an 
ox team, and like her husband, walked nearly all the way. Four children 
blessed their union. The eldest is W. H. Shafer, the civil engineer at Selma, 
a leader in his profession, who has long been connected with irrigation proj- 
ects in Fresno County, and whose life is elsewhere sketched in detail in this 
work. The second in the order of birth is the physician and surgeon, J. E. 
Shafer, of 2815 Woolsey Street, Berkeley. He was born at Stockton on Sep- 
tember 28. 1863, and passed his boyhood in Sacramento County, where he 
attended the public schools. Later, he taught school in different parts of 
California and then studied medicine, and was graduated from the Hahne- 
mann Medical College at San Francisco, a member of the Class of '97; in 
1889 he was married in Santa Barbara County to Miss Jennie Harman, by 
whom he has had three children. Since then he has lived in and practiced at 
Berkeley. The third son is Frank E. Shafer, the retired oil man, who is resi- 
dent in Pasadena. The youngest child was John A. Shafer, who died, un- 
married, when he was twenty-one years of age. 

John Shafer was a public-spirited, high-minded man, and it is not sur- 
prising that the Shafers have become among the most illustrious of Cali- 
fornia pioneers. He organized the first reclamation district and built the 
first levee on Brannan Island; in 1873. He was particularly interested in 
public schools, and erected the first school house on that island, forty miles 
below Sacramento. He stayed in Sacramento County from 1852 to 1882, 
when he moved to the Mendocino district in Fresno County, and there 
bought a farm of 160 acres, the McClanahan place. Later, he purchased 
railroad lands in the same vicinity, which he also improved, planting grain 
and alfalfa, and afterwards vines and trees. He became well-to-do, but not 
rich, and was influential, so that his death — from an accidental injury — on 
December 7. 1893, seven months after the demise of his devoted wife, on 
May 6, 1893, was widely and sincerely deplored. He left in his descendants 
men and women of virility and force of character, a brainy family with a 
proper appreciation of historical detail, as one might expect of pioneer blood, 
and a strong grasp on the essentials of business procedure. 

F. G. LADD. — A native son of the Golden West is F. G. Ladd who was 
born at Stockton, April 6, 1862. His father, Ira W. Ladd, a native of Ver- 
mont, came via the Isthmus of Panama about 1852 to California where he fol- 
lowed ranching, teaming and saw-milling. He was married in Stockton to 
Miss Emily J. Sutherland, a native of New York state. Her father. Jacob 
Sutherland moved to Chicago and then, about 1851, brought his family across 
the plains in wagons drawn by ox teams. Ira W. Ladd teamed from Stockton 
into the Sierra Mountains and into Nevada. He was a good driver, having at 
times twenty-two mules in a team. He afterwards farmed on a ranch near 
Stockton, and here he died in 1916, his wife having preceded him in 1908. 
They had a family of four children. F. G was the only son and he received a 
good education. He chose farming for his life work, and went to work at 
ranching. In Stockton he married Miss Ella Learned, born in Alameda 
County, the daughter of D. A. Learned, born in Oxford, Mass.. who crossed 
the plains to California in the fall of 1850. After mining in Siskiyou County 
for a time he went to Idaho where he also mined and then returned to Cali- 
fornia, engaging in dairying in San Lorenzo, Alameda County. He was mar- 
ried in San Francisco to Gennis D. Hall, born in Chester Countv, Pa., who 



1564 HISTORY OF FRESNO COUNTY 

came via the Isthmus of Panama to California in 1860. D. A. Learned and 
his wife later moved to San Joaquin County and farmed east of Stockton 
and there they spent their last days. 

In 1886, F. G. Ladd came to Fresno County and became a pioneer home- 
steader and grain-grower of the Cantua district. Mr. and Mrs. Ladd had 
three children. Elmer is ranching in San Joaquin County; Georgia died at 
fifteen years of age; and Fred is ranching near the old home. Mr. Ladd is 
an enterprising man and has been an upbuilder of the county. Fraternally. 
he is a member of Coalinga Lodge No. 187, I. O. O. F., and is also a member 
of the Hanford Encampment of Odd Fellows. Mr. Ladd is a well read and 
much travelled man and is an interesting and instructive talker. 

NEHEMIAH W. STEWARD. — A life of well-directed toil, inspired 
by the principles of the Golden Rule, is exemplified in Nehemiah W. Steward, 
who came to Selma over a score of years ago and at once established himself 
in his present business, and who is today one of Selma's best-known and 
most highly respected business men. He was born in York County. Pa., 
the son of I. M. Steward, a native of that State, who married Hannah Urey, 
also a Pennsvlvanian. The former came from English and Welsh blood: 
the latter of good old German stock. Nehemiah's boyhood was passed on 
his father's farm, and there, at an early age. he began to work hard, to learn 
to plow, and to do many other useful things. 

In 1873. the lad moved with his parents to Iowa, and there he reached 
his majoritv. From his fourteenth year he had taken charge of his father's 
fifty-seven acres in Pennsylvania, while his father, who was a mechanic, 
worked at his trade; and now that his father' found it more profitable to do 
skilled manual labor, Nehemiah continued to farm. Thrown on his own 
responsibility not merely for himself but in the care of the business of 
others, the young man soon developed that shrewd business sense which he 
has since displayed. Hearing that there were free homestead lands in York 
County, Nebr., Mr. Steward left the Hawkeye State when he was twenty- 
one, and took up 160 acres in the new country. He also set to work to im- 
prove it and he built a neat home there. His parents migrated with him and 
shared his home ; but from that time he was head of the farming operations. 
Four children there were in the family, one having died in infancy; 
and one of them, now Mrs. George Rickard, resides on a ranch a mile south 
of Selma. 

As soon as possible, Mr. Steward proved up on his fine little homestead, 
and having continued to make improvements on the farm, he tilled the land 
and lived upon it nine years. Then he moved still farther westward, and 
eventually settled in California, first choosing Santa Cruz County. For five 
years he ran a pack train for the Santa Clara Valley Mill and Lumber Com- 
pany, and then moved back to York County, Nebr., resumed farming and put 
in another seven years. 

"Once a Californian, always a Californian," however, proved true with 
Mr. Steward, as it has with so many thousands of other pioneers, and selling 
out, he came again to the Coast, and this time pitched his tent at Oakland, 
where he lived a year and a half. In 1896, he came to Selma for the first 
time. He continued to own and rent out his farm of 160 acres until four 
years ago when he returned to Nebraska and sold the property. He re- 
ceived the fancv figure of $100 dollars an acre, and taking the proceeds, he 
reinvested in twenty acres of highly improved land three miles east of Selma, 



HISTORY OF FRESNO COUNTY 1567 

planted with Thompson's seedless and now in full bearing. Since then Air. 
Steward has acquired another ranch of twenty-four acres six miles south 
of Selma, a considerable portion of which is in peaches. He also owns 100 
acres in the eastern part of Riverside County, and he has an undivided 
quarter interest in 360 acres at Bowles, Cal., which he and John C. 
Rorden, M. Vincent and C. C. Snyder have improved and own jointly, it 
being so successfully planted to trees and vines that, as full bearing land, 
it is now a valuable estate. Besides, he owns his store building at 1814 East 
Front Street, Selma, where he has transacted business for the past twenty- 
four years, and in addition, he owns some superior Selma residence property. 

While he was in Nebraska, during the Centennial year, Mr. Steward was 
married to Miss Susan Brown, an native of Pennsylvania, who died at Selma 
in 1911, the mother of six children. Five of these grew up and four are still 
living: Mrs. Lillie M. Ballard resides at Selma; Charles is married and in 
the piano business at Selma ; Lee is a partner in Byron & Steward, grocers, 
of Selma ; Willie is a farmer near Selma ; while Mrs. J. L. Hamilton passed 
away in the same town. 

Mr. Steward comes of sturdy lineage, three of his forebears having 
passed the age of one hundred. His father lived to be ninety-eight years, 
six months and five days, and his mother was eighty-two years old when 
she died. Mr. Steward when resident in Nebraska joined the United Breth- 
ren Church, and ever since has been a consistent member of that church 
and has served as trustee. He is also a public-spirited citizen who believes 
in associating the church with all the general movements looking to the 
uplift of the community. He is a member of the Workman of Selma, the 
Degree of Honor, the Knights of Pythias and the Fraternal Aid. Mr. 
Steward enjoys the esteem, confidence and good-will of his fellow men. 

JOHN C. RORDEN.— It is brain and brawn, together with the ad- 
vantages of soil and climate, that have placed the Selma district of the San 
Joaquin Valley in the front rank. It is through the efforts of such leaders 
as John C. Rorden, president and manager of the Selma Land Company, 
Inc., that the city of Selma, with all her natural advantages of soil, climate 
and beauty of situation, has reached the zenith she has attained. 

John C. Rorden was born May 28, 1864, on the Island of Fohr, near 
Schleswig. At the early age of fourteen he began a seafaring life, working 
at that vocation for the munificent sum of four dollars per month, as a sailor 
before the mast on a sailing vessel starting from Greenock, Scotland. He 
followed the calling of the sea for four years, and in that time visited the 
principal English, Scottish and North European ports, as well as the princi- 
pal ports of North and South America, doubling Cape Horn four times. 
Travel is a liberal education in itself and doubtless his early life left its 
impress on his mentality, broadening his viewpoint and strengthening his 
determination to make the most of his natural ability. 

No place in all his travels appealed to him as did California, and at the 
age of nineteen he renounced a seafaring life and became a resident of the 
Golden State, where he has since made his home. He is now one of the most 
highly respected and prosperous citizens of Selma. From small beginnings 
he has advanced steadily — from sailor, lumber-jack, cook and barber, to finally 
become a foremost real-estate man. In 1883, when he first settled in Cali- 
fornia, he worked in a lumber mill in Mendocino County. He was taken 
seriously ill with diphtheria while there and after his recovery went to San 
Francisco where he worked in a restaurant on Third Street. In 1885 he 
came to Fresno and accepted a position in the Grand Central barber shop 
on Mariposa Street. In 1888 he came to Selma and from 1888 to 1901 was 
proprietor of a barber shop in that city. He is now president and manager 
of the Selma Land Company, whose offices are in the busy center of the city, 
on the ground floor in the Selma Land Companies Building on Second Street. 



1568 HISTORY OF FRESNO COUNTY 

The Selma Land Company was organized in 1900 and was then a partner- 
ship owned by Walter L. Chapel. W. McClurg and W. McDaniels. Mr. 
Rorden was induced to buy out two of the partners, later becoming sole 
owner of the business which has continued as a corporation. Its present 
officers are John C. Rorden, president and manager; Georgia Rorden, vice- 
president, and Bert Statham. secretary. 

John C. Rorden is a booster who has promoted Selma by taking un- 
improved land, subdividing, planting, and inducing settlement by the right 
kind of people, in the favored section known as "Selma, the Home of the 
Peach." He has also been interested in organizing the raisin-growers and 
peach-growers of Selma. His first venture was the purchase and sub- 
division of a 960-acre tract near Caruthers. He has bought, subdivided and 
successfullv disposed of 320 acres near Selma, preparing it for the settler 
and selling on easy terms. He managed the subdividing of a tract of 880 
acres for the Selma Improvement Company in the usual satisfactory and 
successful way. He is a leading man and official in the California Peach 
Growers, Inc., which he helped organize. He has twice visited his native 
country since coming to Fresno County. His' parents are now dead. 

Mr. Rorden has built several residences in Selma and sold them. To ac- 
commodate the rapidly increasing demand for homes in this fast growing 
community, he is now. 1919, building six new bungalows. He recently 
purchased two blocks on North McCall Avenue, which will be called Rorden's 
Stucco Addition. It is one of the most available as well as desirable resi- 
dence locations of Selma. It will be a restricted district and is finding 
favor among discriminating buyers of homes. Mr. Rorden is erecting these 
houses in units of six, and will continue to build and sell until the tract is 
fully built up. Perhaps no man in Selma or Southern Fresno County has a 
larger circle of friends. He is a square-dealer and delights in serving and 
benefitting his fellow men. 

I Hi May 28, 1890, Mr. Rorden was married in Selma to Miss Georgia 
Levis, bora in AYiseonsin, the result of the union being three daughters. 
Dora. Cleo. and Helen. The family resides in the comfortable, commodious 
and homelike residence which Mr. Rorden owns at 2324 Selma Street. In 
his political views Mr. Rorden is a Democrat and an ardent and patriotic 
supporter of the administration and its war measures. 

LYMAN L. DAVENPORT.— The pioneer of auto electrics in Fresno, 
Lyman L. Davenport, vice-president of the Electric Laboratories. Inc.. is prob- 
ably the best informed man in- this line of work in the entire San Joaquin 
Valley. He is a specialist and an expert in the business. 

Mr. Davenport was born in Dewitt County, 111., October 31, 1861. His 
father was engaged in the manufacture of brick and tile, and Lyman L. 
studied steam engineering and was engineer in his father's tile plant at 
Waynesville, 111., for about seven years. He afterwards followed the vocation 
of steam engineering in other parts of Dewitt County, and also in McLean 
County, 111. For one year he was assistant engineer at the Illinois State Re- 
formatory at Pontiac, 111., and for thirteen years lived in Bloomington, 111., 
where he followed the vocation of steam and gas engineering and machine 
work, becoming an expert machinist. AYhile in this connection he became 
familiar with electric storage batteries, and with years of experience he be- 
came an expert in this line of work also. 

May 2. 1003, he came to Fresno County, Cal., where he continued to 
work at his trade. Later he was engineer in the Chaddock Packing House. 
In 1905 he became associated with 'Waterman Brothers as auto electric spe- 
cialist, and had charge of their electric storage batteries for several years. 
In 1013 he formed a partnership with C. W. Reiser under the firm name of 
Davenport & Keiser, and opened an electric shop at 1242 Van Ness Avenue. 
In the spring of 1917, at the opening of the war, Mr. Keiser joined the United 



HISTORY OF FRESNO COUNTY 1569 

States Navy, and the firm sold out to the Electric Laboratories. Inc., and Mr. 
Davenport secured capital to finance the corporation in order to take care of 
the greatly increasing business. In the summer of 1918 a site was secured 
and the modern building that is now the home of the Electric Laboratories, 
Inc., at 1347 Van Ness Avenue, was built. It is one of the largest, most up- 
to-date battery and auto electrical repair and testing plants in the state. Its 
owners are dominated by the one thought — the best and most efficient service 
for their patrons. 

For thirty-five years Mr. Davenport has been a member of Prairie State 
Lodge, No. 104, I. O. O. F., at Waynesville, 111. For many years he was a 
member of the National Association of Stationary Engineers, and he was a 
delegate at two national conventions, one at Rochester, N. Y., and another 
at Milwaukee, Wis. 

His marriage united him with Miss Cora Mattocks, a fair daughter of 
Illinois. The children born of the union are: Clyde L., manager of the 
Electric Laboratories, Inc., at Fresno; Elmo M. ; and Hazel May, a native 
daughter of the Golden State, born in the city of Fresno. 

In their religious associations the Davenports are members of the First 
Methodist Church at Fresno. 

JAMES MURRAY NIDIFFER.— Four miles west of Laton, about one- 
quarter of a mile off from Mt. Whitney Avenue, is the home of James Mur- 
ray Nidiffer, one of the oldest pioneers of the Laguna de Tache. He came 
to the "Grant" July 8, 1878, and has been actively and extensively engaged 
in the cattle-business and in farming ever since. He and his good wife live 
very unostentatiously. Their experiences reach back to the days when the 
Laguna de Tache was being operated on a very large scale by competent and 
influential people, who were English and American and who applied up-to- 
date American business principles, and raised the stock business on the 
Laguna to a plane of real dignity and sound financial successes, undreamed 
of by the native inhabitants of the celebrated Spanish grant. 

The occupants of the Nidiffer home are cultured and well informed, de- 
spite the fact that the boyhood days of its proprietor were passed under con- 
ditions of poverty and a general absence of educational advantages which in 
some portions of the South followed in the wake of the great Civil War. 

James Murray Nidiffer was the eleventh child of a family of twelve chil- 
dren of whom six were boys and of whom eleven grew up to maturity. He 
was born in Carter County, Tenn., on May 13, 1857. His parents were John 
and Margaret (Jenkins) Nidiffer, both East Tennesseeans, who scorned the 
idea of slavery. When the father prayed "Give us this day our daily bread" 
his supplication went up to God, free from all desire to eat the "other fel- 
low's" bread, although the other's skin might be black. He worked and sweat 
at the forge, in the iron region of Tennessee, and in common with a majority 
of its mountaineers he resolved that this nation should not remain half slave 
and half free, and it must be said to the everlasting credit of Carter County 
that it remained loyal to the Union. But Tennessee as a state seceded, and 
the strifes, contentions and ravages of war, which obtained in that district, 
can be more easily imagined than described. The father died in 1863 and the 
courage and nobility of the mother in keeping together and rearing the fam- 
ily under these trying circumstances were commendable indeed. It goes with- 
out saying that our subject as a boy had to knuckle down to real work. His 
education was confined to the rudimentary schools of his district, for a short 
time during winters. It is only by wide reading and extensive business ex- 
periences, extending over many years, that he came to be the well-informed 
man that he is. Five of the Nidiffer brothers and sisters now live in Califor- 
nia. Besides the subject of this review, these are: Mrs. Eliza Hodgdon. a 
widow residing in Fresno ; Mrs. Tilda Lewis, also a widow, residing on a 
ranch three and a half miles southeast of Lemoore ; Perkins Nidiffer, a well- 



1570 HISTORY OF FRESNO COUNTY 

to-do rancher of the same place ; and Mrs. Laura Hansen also a widow, who 
resides in Fresno. 

While yet a boy, our subject moved with his mother to Council Grove, 
Morris County, Kans., and from nine to ten years of age rode the trail, driving 
cattle which had been brought up by Simcox-Terwilliger & Company, bank- 
ers and cattlemen, from Wichita, Kans., to Missouri. These cattle had been 
raised in the Indian Nation and were of the Spanish long-horn variety. 
He, therefore, lived the life of the real cowboy, and he there learned the 
business very thoroughly, an accomplishment which later was the means of 
securing him a good position on the Laguna de Tache Grant. 

He received letters from some friends at Yisalia, Cal., and in consequence 
was taken with the idea of coming to California. In company with his brother, 
Perkins Nidiffer, he came out and stepped off the train at Visalia, on April 
16. 1875. He went to work immediately on a Tulare County ranch for $45 
per month. Later he entered the employ of John Creighton who during the 
term of the employment sold 1.100 head of cattle to Granville Furnish, 
who was then the buyer for Poley Heilborn & Company, who at 
that time held the Laguna de Tache Grant under lease with the right to 
buy. Being an adept with the lariat, young Nidiffer was sent up, by Mr. 
Creighton, to "vent" the cattle, — a branding operation that served the practi- 
cal purposes of a bill of sale, with the additional advantage of a positive 
means of identification. Poley Heilbron & Company were so well pleased 
with him and his work that they engaged him in their employ on the Grant. 
This resulted in a fifteen years' engagement with the firm, and he was soon 
placed in full charge of their cattle department. He looked after the fences 
as well as the cattle. It is therefore safe to say that he knows all about the 
soil and other conditions of the great Laguna de Tache country, having 
been over every portion of it, before it was divided up. He well remembers 
the building of the stately "Grant House" which still raises its majestic two 
and a half stories, on Mount Whitney Avenue, about three miles west of 
Laton. It was built by Jeremiah Clark, in the year 1879. 

During the time of his employment with Poley Heilbron & Company, 
Mr. Nidiffer was united in marriage to Miss Elizabeth Canaday, originally 
from Sedalia, Mo., where she was born and reared, the event being solem- 
nized on June 4, 1883. 

Later on there were several transfers and changes in the ownership of 
the "Laguna" which we cannot go into in this review: but S. C. Lillis, after 
whom Lillis station was named, had become interested in the Poley Heilbron 
& Company concern, and in the early '90s, he and our subject secured a lease 
on 18.000 acres of the Grant and succeeded to the cattle business, and for the 
next eight years ran on an average of 6,000 head of cattle on the Laguna. 
Lillis and Nidiffer branched out, became the owners of 42,00 acres of range 
land, bought and sold cattle on a large scale, and became the third largest 
cattlemen on the Pacific coast at that time. After eight years of the Lillis- 
Nidiffer partnership, Mr. Nidiffer bought out Mr. Lillis' interest in the cattle 
and lease. He had just brought up 6.300 cattle for the firm, which he had 
bought in Nevada. He was really in very good financial circumstances at 
that time, having SI 15.000 in gold coin: a 320-acre stock ranch in Madera 
County, and other property. But four months after becoming the sole owner he 
met with a severe reverse. The dreaded cattle disease, known as "Anthrax" 
broke out and took the major portion of his herd. Of the number that 
survived the scourge he sold 1.600 head for $5 per head less than he had paid 
for them at Winnemucca. Nev., from six to nine months before. Pie suffered 
a loss of $63,000. He has remained in business and paid his debts, 100 cents 
on the dollar, but the loss was a severe blow. 

In 1898, there were still other changes in the ownership and management 
of the Laguna de Tache. Nares and Saunders then became the selling agents 
for the great English syndicate which owned it. The cattle business was 





A/I#uaAjA?Q 



HISTORY OF FRESNO COUNTY 1573 

then dwindling before the oncoming agriculturist, dairyman and fruit-raiser 
on the small irrigated farm, and Mr. Nidiffer himself bought the sixty acres 
which now constitute his home-ranch. Later he bought forty acres two 
miles to the north, on Murphy Slough, which he still owns. In addition to this 
he is leasing fourteen sections of range, in the Coast Range section of Fresno 
County, a part of this being government range and a part deeded land. He 
is still conservatively engaged in the cattle business, owning 200 head at the 
present time, and has been in the cattle business on his own account ever 
since he bought out S. C. Lillis. 

Few men have raised, bought, sold and handled as many cattle as has Mr. 
Nidiffer. Soon after the Anthrax epidemic he became a buyer for Miller & 
Lux, and for the next six years bought extensively in Western Texas, Old 
and New Mexico and Arizona. After that he bought for the J. G. James Com- 
pany. He has a very extensive acquaintance among cattlemen in Mexico, as 
well as in the mountain states and in California, especially in the states of 
Sonora and Chihuahua, Mexico, where he and his former partner were ex- 
tensively interested. 

Reviewing Mr. Nidiffer's career, one is forcefully reminded of Jacob of 
old, who according to sacred history, kept cattle on ten thousand Judean 
hills. It would be safe to assert that Mr. Nidiffer would run the revered 
patriarch a close second if indeed he would not excel him. 

Mr. and Mrs. Nidiffer are exponents of the simple life. They observe 
the old rules and virtues and strive to keep up to the standard of the Golden 
Rule. They are consistent Republicans and stand for the square deal in busi- 
ness and politics. 

FLOYD L. R. BURKS, M.D.— It would be a strange thing if the recent 
World War did not bring in its wake some decided blessings, and an indication 
of the advancement of science through human experience is afforded in the 
return from Europe and the fields of conflict of Dr. Floyd L. R. Burks, the 
physician of whose surgical skill Fresno had already been proud. His father 
was William Tillman Burks, a practicing physician well known to old-timers 
in Fresno, and from association with him the lad inherited his father's bent. 
Dr. William Burks had married Miss Annie Williams, daughter of Richard 
and Elizabeth (Cocking) Williams, natives of England who were early settlers 
of Fresno, and from her superior character the lad Floyd received the most 
ennobling impulses. He was born at Fresno, on August 4, 1883, and was 
educated at the local grammar and high schools. 

After a pre-medical course of a very thorough .nature in San Francisco, 
Mr. Burks entered Jefferson Medical College at Philadelphia, from which 
he was graduated with the Class of '08, when he received his M. D. degree. 
Then he served as interne at the Fresno County Hospital. He joined the 
American Medical Association, the State Medical Association and the County 
Medical Society, and opened a suite of well-equipped offices in the Forsyth 
Building at Fresno, where his fast-increasing practice soon necessitated two 
skilled assistants. His previous experience for three years as Emergency 
Hospital surgeon had contributed to that public confidence essential for one 
wishing to stand as a specialist in such an important field as surgery. 

In April, 1918, Dr. Burks made application for a commission in the medi- 
cal department of the United States Army, and reported for service on July 
31. Then he was made lieutenant, and sent to Camp Kearney; after which 
he was ordered to Camp Shelby, in Mississippi, to join Evacuation Hospital 
No. 33. In September, he was promoted and commissioned captain, and was 
sent overseas in November. He was fortunate in having service at Rimau- 
court Base Hospital center, and then at Vichy. On completion of his services 
there, he requested his discharge in France ; and this having been granted 
him by the authorities, he went to England to study at the leading hospitals, 
after which he returned to Fresno and resumed his practice. 



1574 HISTORY OF FRESNO COUNTY 

In San Francisco, Dr. Burks was married on September 2, 1911, to 
Miss \dclaide Granz, also a native daughter of Fresno, whose father was 
] [erman Granz, a prominent viticulturist of the county. She and her husband 
are members of the Eastern Star. Dr. Burks was made a Mason in Fresno 
Lodge, No. 247, F. & A. M. when he was twenty-one; he belongs to the 
Fresno Chapter, R. A. M. ; Fresno Commandery. Knights Templar; Fresno 
Consistory of the Scottish Rite; and Islam Temple. A. A. O. X. M. S., of 
San Francisco. His public-spirit and his interest in civic and social affairs 
have associated him with such organizations as the Commercial Club, the 
Chamber of Commerce, the University Club and the Sunnyside Country 
Club. 

W. H. SHAFER. — Among the men who have been instrumental in the 
development of the county's irrigation projects, W. H. Shafer is known as a 
man who has ever had the best interests of the community at heart. Born at 
Stockton, San Joaquin County, Cal., March 15, 1861, he is a son of John 
Shafer, who was born in Bedford County, Pa. His grandfather, Abram Shaf- 
er, was a contractor on the old Government Pike, the military road from New 
York to Chicago, 111., before the advent of the railway, and was identified 
with the development of the country west of the Alleghanies. He was a 
Pennsylvanian, as was also his great-grandfather. The Shafer family were 
German Lutherans who sought refuge in America from persecution under 
the benign wing of "William Penn. because of their religious views and love 
of political freedom. Mr. Shafer's father, John Shafer, was among the influx 
to California in 1850, journeying down the Ohio River and up the Missouri 
River to St. Joseph. Mo., where he and four or five other sturdy young men 
outfitted and crossed the plains to California with ox teams; all the available 
mules and horses had been purchased by earlier argonauts. Arriving in Cali- 
fornia Mr. Shafer sought his fortune in the placer gold fields. Owing to ill 
health and failure to make a stake in mining he abandoned that business and 
became a wood contractor, taking contracts to furnish fuel for the steamers 
on the Sacramento River. He cleared the land, sold the wood and planted the 
cleared land to vegetables and orchard and soon established a good trade for 
his products. He built up a commercial business, established a fresh vege- 
table market at Stockton and continued to raise vegetables on his cleared 
land, selling his own produce and that of others. 

Mr. Shafer was married at Stockton to Mrs. Matilda Fish, a native of 
Michigan, of English and Scotch ancestry. Her mother's maternal grand- 
father, Samuel Roundy, was born in Scotland; the Roundys were pioneers 
and saw-mill men in the East. In a family of four children Matilda was the 
oldest daughter. Mr. Shafer's father was a leader in establishing some of 
the early schools in California. He built the first school house near Isleton, 
Sacramento County, before the school district was organized ; going down 
into his own pocket for the money, he purchased the lumber, worked himself 
and hired others, doing this to fill a much needed want, which was demon- 
strated at that period in California. He became a well-to-do business man of 
Stockton, and later resided in Sacramento County. In 1869 he removed with 
his family to Fresno County, Cal., and the family came to Selma in the fall 
of 1881. In May. 1894, Mrs." Shafer died and Mr. Shafer did not long survive 
her. for he died in December of that same year. 

W. H. Shafer was one of the first schoolboys in Sacramento County: 
his mother, who had a college education, gave her son his first lessons in 
reading and writing, and imparted to him a love for scientific knowledge. He 
was particularly fond of mathematics, civil engineering and surveying. 
While vet a boy he obtained a practical knowledge of the latter, as chain-boy 
under J. W. Prentice, surveyor of Sacramento County. He also caught in- 
spiration and enthusiasm from the late Will S. Green, surveyor general of 
California. Learning from his mother's instructions, attending the public 
schools, surveying, helping in and around his father's business, he shared the 



HISTORY OF FRESNO COUNTY 1575 

common experiences of the first generation of California youth and grew up 
and developed a great liking for the work of the irrigationist and surveyor. 
He entered Van der'Nailen School of Engineering, 24 Post Street, San Fran- 
cisco, pursued a special course in civil engineering and at twenty was a 
civil engineer, and early established the old levee grades on the Sacramento 
River. 

Locating at Selma, Mr. Shafer was employed by the directors of the 
Centerville and Kingsburg Canal. Becoming interested in irrigation here he 
was soon chosen to superintend the water distribution and the maintenance 
of the Centerville and Kingsburg Irrigation canal. The first ditch built in 
Fresno County was the Sweem Ditch ; the Fresno Canal was the second 
ditch, and the Centerville and Kingsburg Irrigation Canal the third ditch. 
Work on this ditch commenced in the fall of 1877, and water was run as far 
as Selma in 1878. Mr. Shafer has been connected with some phase of irriga- 
tion since a young man, most of the time on the Centerville and Kingsburg 
Canal. The water right for this canal was obtained January 12, 1876 ; articles 
of incorporation were filed May 11, 1877; there were fifty original shares, five 
of them were paid for in cash and the others were worked out by their holders. 
This canal is now a part of the vast irrigation system known as the Consoli- 
dated Canal Company. Mr. Shafer is resident engineer and has charge of the 
ditches for Selma and vicinity, his work extending to the laying out, survey- 
ing and maintenance of canals, with a supervising oversight and management 
of the actual work of irrigating the adjacent land. He personally superin- 
tends 150 miles of the 220 miles comprised in the Consolidated Canal Com- 
pany's system. The water for irrigation costs not over seventy-five cents per 
acre per annum, and is the cheapest irrigation water in the San Joaquin Valley. 
Mr. Shafer has made this his life work, has attended most of the important 
irrigation conventions, has appeared before the Legislature and done much 
committee work in regard to the improvement of irrigation facilities for this 
section of California. He is an earnest advocate of the Pine Flat project. 

It is due largely to Mr. Shafer's efforts that Selma has an excellent high 
school with artistically grouped buildings and ample playgrounds. He was 
chairman of the board of High School Trustees during the erection of the 
Selma high school building. He is the owner of a well-improved seventy- 
eight acre ranch adjoining Selma on the northwest, upon which he has built 
substantial buildings including a commodious residence. In his political sen-, 
timents Mr. Shafer is a Progressive. He attended the first meeting at Sacra- 
mento, September, 1907, of California Progressives and assisted in organiz- 
ing the Lincoln Roosevelt League. He is a firm friend and stanch supporter 
of Senator Hiram W. Johnson. 

HANS MONSON. — To those who have succeeded in life solely by their 
own efforts, much credit is due, and of such Hans Monson is an example 
worthy in every way of the success which has come to him through years 
of continuous work and persistent efforts to attain his goal, which he has 
accomplished without help from others. 

Hans Monson first saw the light of day on September 25, 1867, on a 
farm, in the southern part of Sweden. At the very early age of seven years 
he began working, in the summer time, on a farm where he herded sheep and 
through all his life time he has never had an idle day. In 1887 he emigrated 
to the United States and worked on his uncle's farm in Missouri, for nine 
months. On January 27, 1888, he arrived in Fresno with but fifteen cents 
as his cash assets, but possessed with a strong constitution, reliable charac- 
ter and a determination to succeed. He soon found work in the vineyards, 
his first employer being Hector Burness, later he worked for Benjamin Wood- 
ward on the Las Palmas Ranch, and afterwards for F. M. Russell. 

For a number of years after coming to Fresno he sent a part of his 
earnings each month to his father and brothers in Sweden. On June 15, 
1891, Mr. Monson started to work on the Helm Ranch, located east of Fresno, 



1576 HISTORY OF FRESNO COUNTY 

and continued in the employment of the Helm family for twenty-five years, 
serving as foreman of the ranch during the latter years. While employed on 
the Helm ranch he planted over 800 acres to vines and for five years con- 
tracted for harvesting the crop of grapes. Later he purchased eighty acres 
of raw land in the Helm tract, which he improved by planting to vines, and 
in 1917 he traded forty acres of this vineyard for his fine new two-story resi- 
dence, located at 475 Glenn Avenue, Fresno. Mr. Monson still owns forty 
acres of full bearing grapes. 

When Frank M. Helm started his modern dairy in Kearney Park, con- 
sisting of registered Holstein cows, Hans Monson took charge of the dairy, 
in addition to his other duties. 

Mr. Monson is a very progressive citizen and greatly interested in all 
movements that have as their aim the upbuilding of the best interests of the 
county. It was but natural, therefore, that Robert Lockhead appointed him, 
in 1916, as road superintendent of his district, which position he still retains. 
During his term of office he has been instrumental in having a number of 
cement bridges built as well as several miles of new road. 

On February 15, 1895, Hans Monson was united in marriage with Sophia 
Lindberg, of Fresno, and this happy union has been blessed with five chil- 
dren : Alice, a teacher of music in Fresno and a talented pianist; Oscar, 
Lillian, Alma, and Harold, who are at home. Mrs. Monson was born at 
Otvidaberg. Sweden, and is a daughter of Gustav and Charlotte fOdahl) 
Lindberg. The father died when Mrs. Monson was only fifteen years old. 
Of twelve children eleven are still living, Mrs. Monson being the sixth child. 

Fraternally Mr. Monson is an Odd Fellow, and he is also interested 
greatly in educational matters, having been clerk of the school board of the 
Scandinavian Colony for five years. 

DAVID CARMI McCLARTY.— One of the old pioneers of the Parlier 
section, who settled in the country before the Santa Fe built its branch 
through Reedley and Sanger to Fresno, and who helped in the grading and 
building of the road, is D. C. McClarty. Public-spirited in the most com- 
prehensive sense of the term, he has taken great interest in the building of 
the ditches and laterals for irrigation purposes and has watched with intense 
interest the development of the raisin industry since Mr. I. N. Parlier planted 
the first large eighty-acre vineyard in this section in 1880. Mr. McClarty 
championed cooperative marketing and was an able second to such men as 
Theodore Kearney and Messrs. Butler and Forsythe, in laying the foundation 
for such efficient agencies of present-day cooperation as the California Raisin 
Association and the Prune, Peach and Apricot Associations. 

Mr. McClarty was born in the Province of Quebec, sixty-five miles east 
of Montreal, December 23, 1853. His father, David, a brick and stonemason 
by trade, and the owner of a farm in Canada, was a native of Ireland of 
Scotch-Irish ancestry, and his mother, Jane (Xongeway) McClarty, was 
born in Canada of French and German extraction. The Longeways were one 
of the early French families of the Province of Quebec. The family was well- 
to-do, and his parents lived, married and died in Canada. David Carmi was 
the youngest child in a family of five children. Nicholas, the eldest, came 
to the United States and served in the Civil War. George, James Augustus 
and Jane Augusta, twins, were the other children of the family. 

David Carmi's efiforts in obtaining a limited schooling were arduous in 
the extreme. In the rigors of that northern country he frequently walked the 
two miles to school waist deep in snow. He worked on his father's farm 
until seventeen years of age, plowing and harrowing with oxen. When 
seventeen he sought to better his condition, and removed to Salem, Wash- 
ington County, N. Y., where he worked by the month on a farm for six 
vears. 



HISTORY OF FRESNO COUNTY 1579 

During this time Mr. McClarty returned to the Province of Quebec 
and in 1875 was united in marriage with his betrothed. Miss Annie Niblock, 
daughter of Alexander and Agnes (Wilson) Niblock. Mr. Niblock was born 
in Glasgow, Scotland, and when his daughter Annie was an infant six months 
of age her mother died. Four years later Mr. Niblock married again. Mrs. 
McClarty had five own brothers and sisters, and three half brothers and sis- 
ters. She married at the age of seventeen. 

In 1880, Mr. McClarty came to California, locating in Sonora, Tuolumne 
County, where he worked in the lumber woods and around the saw mills, 
his wife and children remaining in Canada and joining him later at Sonora, 
the mining camp. In 1884 he came to Modesto. He was foreman of the G. W. 
Hopper three-section grain-ranch during the year 1884-85. In 1886 he came 
to Fresno and purchased his first piece of land from M. J. Church — twenty 
acres with one acre of peaches on the place. He owned the place a year and 
sold it in 1887, and then came to his present place, one and one-half miles 
west and one-half mile south of Parlier. While in Fresno, Mrs. McClarty 
worked in the old Meade packing-house, the first packing-house built in 
Fresno. Mr. McClarty's ranch is planted to twenty acres of muscats, five 
acres to Thompson's Seedless and four acres to orchard. The rest of the 
property is in yards and raw land. 

Mr. and Mrs. McClarty are the parents of two children : Gertrude is 
the wife of J. P. Hughes, the owner of a forty-acre ranch near Parlier, and 
they have three children, Emery, Raymond and Ona. Jasper married Dolly 
Venter, a native of Missouri. He is the owner of a ten-acre ranch four miles 
south of Parlier and he and his wife have four children, Fay, Jessie, Hazel 
and David. 

In his political views Mr. McClarty inclines to the Republican party, but 
votes for the man best fitted for the office and whose principles are correct, 
regardless of party affiliation. He is a loyal supporter of the administration. 

In 1918, Mr. and Mrs. McClarty retired to Selma, where Mr. McClarty 
purchased a place on Washington Avenue, which he immediately proceeded 
to improve by building a comfortable bungalow where they now live and 
where the latch-string continues to hang out and to welcome their many 
old-time friends and neighbors. They are there enjoying the fruits of use- 
ful and well-spent lives, and have the satisfaction of knowing that Fresno 
County is far better fitted for the abode of man than it was when they first 
came here, and that they have had a worthy part in so making it. 

LEW W. CLARK. — While too much praise cannot be given the pioneer 
settlers of the Golden State, the men who braved the trials and hardships 
incident to the life of the frontiersmen, and overcame seemingly insurmount- 
able obstacles in laying a sure foundation for the building of this great and 
glorious commonwealth, yet the citizens of California owe much to the native 
sons and daughters of these honored pioneers who have taken up the work of 
development, where their fathers laid their burdens down, and are building 
both wisely and well upon their sturdy foundations, and are making marvel- 
ous developments in all lines of industry, especially in Fresno County. 

Lew W. Clark is proud of the fact that he is a native son, having been 
born in Riverside County, August 8, 1887, a son of Peter T. and Elizabeth 
C. (Tune) Clark, natives of Ohio and Missouri, respectively, who migrated 
from Dent County, Mo., to California, in 1886, locating in San Jacinto Valley, 
Riverside County. P. T. Clark was an extensive stockraiser and agricultur- 
ist there for eighteen years, where he leased land. In 1904 he moved up into 
the San Joaquin Valley and eventually owned 4000 acres in Tulare County, 
where he was well known as a successful rancher with business-like methods. 
He met an accidental death, on his ranch east of Orosi, on June 3, 1919. The 
children of P. T. Clark were: Burt, who is a business man of Fresno; Porta 
Ethel, Mrs. J. H. Huntoon of Visalia ; John, who is engaged in the stock 



1580 HISTORY OF FRESNO COUNTY 

and commission business in Visalia : and Lew \Y., the subject of this review, 
who was reared and educated in Riverside County, where he attended the 
grammar and high school. After his school days were over he chose for 
his lifework the vocation of a rancher, a pursuit that, when successfully fol- 
lowed, usually brings independence and affords many opportunities for closer 
communion with nature, which no doubt Mr. Clark enjoys in the operation of 
his fine ranch of thirty-one acres, devoted to the growth of oranges and lemons, 
which he bought in March, 1916, his place being the original Reese ranch, 
which was one of the first fruit ranches to come into bearing in the Center- 
ville district in Fresno County. L. W. Clark is an up-to-date and successful 
rancher whose friends predict for him a still greater measure of prosperity in 
the future. 

On October 14, 1916, Lew W. Clark was united in marriage with Miss 
Catherine R. Colvert, a daughter of William P. and Catherine (Tice) Col- 
vert. Fraternally, Mr. Clark is a member of Orangedale Lodge, Xo. 221 
1. O. O. F., at Sanger, and Visalia Lodge, No. 1298, B. P. O. Elks. 

LOUIS AUGUSTINE.— Louis Augustine was born in Peoria. III. 1858. 
the second oldest of twelve children born to Aloise and Mary ( Stiner') Augus- 
tine, natives of France, who were successful farmers, who when they retired 
moved to Los Angeles where the father died, the mother still making her 
home in that city. 

Louis was reared on the farm in Peoria, 111., and Franklin County. Mo., 
receiving a good education in the public schools. From Franklin County, he 
removed to Carroll County, Ark., engaging in farming. Next he went to In- 
dian Territory and in the Cherokee Nation, he followed stock raising until 
the opening of the Cherokee strip in Oklahoma. He made the run for a claim, 
and having been over the country he was desirous of obtaining a homestead 
on Black River with its rich bottom land, but he found even after an early 
start and swift horse that others already camped there and not caring for 
other locations, he returned to Arkansas, and there farmed until 1907 when 
he migrated to California, coming soon afterwards to Coalinga and began 
work in the oil fields. Later he leased the Coalinga Homestake which he 
operated successfully until the lease expired. Meantime he had purchased a 
ranch on Los Gatos Creek and after he quit the oil business he began cattle- 
raising on his ranch and is meeting with deserved success, his brand being 
the L. A. combined. 

He has always been a Democrat and fraternally is a popular member of 
the Lodge of Eagles in Coalinga. Mr. Augustine is a very pleasing and af- 
fable gentleman who is well known and highly esteemed by a large circle of 
friends. 

ALLEN EVERETT STUMP. — A prosperous viticulturist and one of 
the most highly respected and substantial citizens of Fresno County, who 
resides northeast of Parlier, is A. E. Stump. He is a native of Iowa, where 
he was born in 1869, the son of Jeremiah P. and Elmira (McCloskey - ) Stump, 
natives of Ohio and Pennsylvania, respectively. 

Mr. and Mrs. Jeremiah Stump were the parents of seven children, five 
of whom are living, four being residents of Fresno County: Paul M. : Mrs. 
Sophie Zediker: Mrs. Fannie Vance: and A. E.. the subject of this sketch. 
The Stump family migrated to California in 1881. Jeremiah Stump was a 
rancher of considerable means and ability. 

A. F. Stump was reared in Iowa until he was about twelve years of age. 
when he accompanied the family to California. His education was received 
partly in Iowa and was finished in the public schools of California. Ever 
since March 18. 1881, A. E. Stump has been a resident of Fresno County, and 
has been identified with the ranching interests of the county for many years. 
He is an expert viticulturist and understands the scientific methods of pro- 
ducing an abundant yield of grapes. He is the owner of forty acres of highly 



HISTORY OF FRESNO COUNTY 1581 

improved land, where he has lived since 1904, and upon which he has made 
many expensive improvements, having set out all the trees and vines seen 
today. His splendid ranch is located one mile northeast of Parlier. Mr. 
Stump devotes his entire efforts to the one product, raisin grapes. That it 
pays to specialize is proved by the returns of one season, which netted him 
$6,200. His land yields from two and one-half to three tons of grapes per acre. 
A. E. Stump was united in marriage with Miss Emma Zediker, on May 
10, 1898. Mr. Stump is justly entitled to the high degree of success he enjoys 
as a prosperous rancher, which he has attained through untiring energy and 
the diligent study of the details of viticulture. He was one of the members of 
the original raisin association. 

LOT HAMILTON.— The generous-hearted rancher, Lot Hamilton, en- 
joys with his faithful and hard-working wife a delightful home, where they 
dispense a liberal hospitality. He was born at Seneca, Crawford County, 
Wis., on November 13, 1868, the son of Henry Hamilton who had married 
Catherine Fairfield. His grandfather, Lot Hamilton, was born near Man- 
chester, in Lancashire, England ; on the death of his wife he came out to 
America, obtained work in St. Louis, and then sent back to England for his 
two sons. These sons, Henry (the father of the subject of this sketch) 
and James were children by the grandfather's second wife ; and being a 
widower when he came to the L T nited States, he never remarried. 

Having thus helped his two sons to come to America, he took up govern- 
ment land near Seneca, and there Henry Hamilton became a farmer. At 
the outbreak of the Civil War, James enlisted and died in the army service ; 
and later Henry, who married in Wisconsin, entered the Union Army in 
1864, and served to the close of the war, after which he returned to Grand- 
father Hamilton's farm in Crawford County. Several years later Lot Hamil- 
ton traded for a larger acreage and at one time he farmed very extensively 
in Crawford County. In time he so.ld all his land and made his home with 
his son, Henry, with whom he was living when he died on January 15, 1905. 
He was born on March 21, 1812, and was therefore ninety-two years, nine 
months and twenty-five days old. 

Henry Hamilton was born at Nutla in Lancashire, England, on February 
3, 1840, and died at the general hospital in Madison, Wis., on July 24, 1915. 
He arrived in America in 1856 and settled near Seneca, Wis., and he became 
the father of eight children. The eldest was James, who is mentioned 
elsewhere in this historical work. Then came Hugh who migrated to Cali- 
fornia, went back to Wisconsin, and later made a trip to the gold fields 
in the Klondike ; finally becoming a citizen of the Golden State, he married, 
and died at Newman, Cal., on June 6, 1916, leaving a widow and a step-son. 
Lot was the third in order of birth. Then came Stephen, a grain-farmer 
at Courtney, N. D., who married and has a large family. Henry, un- 
married, lives at Lot's home. Anson died at eighteen years of age; he was 
unloading hay on his father's farm in Wisconsin when a whiffietree broke 
and hit him in the side, and he died from the internal injuries received. 
Mary, the seventh child, became the wife of Mark Foley, a carpenter and 
builder of Los Angeles. Sylvia is the wife of Robert Felts and lives at Los 
Angeles with two children by a former husband, James Compton. 

Growing up on the Wisconsin farm of his father, Lot Hamilton was 
early introduced to hard work, and at home at hard work he stuck until 
he was twenty-four. He never received a cent from his father's estate ; and 
beginning to work out at the age referred to, he had saved out of his earn- 
ings, by the time he was twenty-nine, about $1,800. Half of this hard- 
earned money had to be paid out to a doctor for an operation on his right 
foot; yet eventually the member had to be amputated in 1898 at the West 
Side Hospital, in Chicago. When he recovered, he went to North Dakota 
and ran a traction engine for a threshing outfit, and in the fall of 1899 he 



1582 HISTORY OF FRESNO COUNTY 

removed to Day County, S. D., and there bought land. Prior to that, on 
July 26, he was married at Boscobel, in Grant County, Wis., to Miss Rose 
Young, daughter of Alonzo and Caroline (Byers) Young. She was born in 
Scott township, Crawford County, attended the Boscobel high school, and 
at eighteen became a teacher, and taught in Crawford County till she was 
married. She had been left an orphan, for her father died when she was 
three, and her mother died when she was six. She was then taken by her 
Grandmother Byers of Crawford County, and brought up. Her father left 
a farm, and J. R. Hurlburt of Scott Township became guardian to her and 
an only brother, Henderson Young, thirteen years older. 

After their marriage, Mr. and Mrs. Hamilton bought a grain and stock 
farm near Webster, Day County, and later Lot Hamilton became a partner 
with his brother James, and the two brothers farmed on a very large scale, 
operating some 2,100 acres as a grain and stock farm. Fortune seemed to 
smile upon whatever our subject now undertook, as if to make amends for 
what had been previously denied him. 

In February, 1910, Mr. and Mrs. Hamilton came out to California and 
bought a ranch of twenty acres at Parlier, which he improved and sold after 
four years at a handsome profit. In 1914, he removed to his present place 
and bought the home ranch of forty acres. This he has greatly improved, 
and in doing so has become a very successful farmer and raisin-grower. 
Twenty acres are given to muscats, three to Thompson seedless grapes, 
about three acres to apricots, four acres to Lovell peaches, three acres to 
Muir peaches, one and six-tenths acres to orange cling peaches, two and 
four-tenths acres to Wheatland peaches, and the same area to Elberta 
peaches. The balance of the acreage is dry ground and has been devoted to 
a building spot. For irrigation purposes alone Mr. Hamilton put in 800 
feet of fourteen-inch pipe and now his ranch is unusually well supplied with 
water. Besides this ranch, one of the finest areas of forty acres to be seen 
anywhere for miles around, Mr. Hamilton owns other ranches, each of which 
reflects most creditably upon him and those associated with him in their 
management. 

Mr. and Mrs. Hamilton are greatly respected by all who know them, 
and few men deserve more good will than this sturdy character. In Novem- 
ber, 1913, he was taken with appendicitis, but he was successfully operated 
upon at St. Joseph's Hospital in St. Paul, and the following February had 
sufficiently recovered that he was able to come back to Fresno County. That 
he was satisfied with what he saw is evident from the fact that he bought 
land at once, to make California his home. 

CHARLES C. PHILLIPS. — In all sections of the world the pioneer is 
held in honor, but especially is this true in California, where the present 
generation realizes that the wonderful development of the Golden State, which 
are so much appreciated now, are due to the indefatigable determination of 
those brave souls that endured the hardships incident to the transformation of 
an unknown and sparsely settled region into one of the greatest common- 
wealths of the nation. 

Charles C. Phillips is the son of an honored pioneer who crossed the 
Indian infested plains with the slow moving ox-cart, in that memorable year, 
1849. His father, Bonepart Phillips, was born in Tennessee, in about 1827, 
grew up there, and becoming enthused by interesting reports of the discovery 
of gold in California, decided to seek his fortune in the new Mecca. He made 
the long journey across the plains in an ox-drawn wagon, and after his ar- 
rival engaged in mining for a short time. Like many other men, however, he 
found mining unprofitable and the results uncertain, so he abandoned that 
occupation and engaged in ranching, locating in the vicinity of Hayward, 
Alameda County, where he owned and operated 800 acres of land devoted to 
general farming. Later he went to San Mateo County, and from there down 



HISTORY OF FRESNO COUNTY 1585 

into Santa Cruz County. In 1860, he married, and six children blessed the 
union : Edward, and George, both deceased ; Jackson ; Charles C. ; Minnie ; and 
Frank, all living in California. The father, Bonepart Phillips, died in 1895, 
aged about sixty-eight years ; the mother passed away in 1903. 

Charles C. Phillips was born in Alameda County, November 29, 1869, 
but was reared and educated in Santa Cruz County, and had always con- 
fined his efforts to agricultural pursuits there until June, 1917, when he 
purchased his present ranch of 150 acres in the river bottom, east of Center- 
ville, Fresno County. It is very fertile land, having previously been a vege- 
table garden but now devoted to grain, alfalfa, prunes, summer crops and 
pasture. Mr. Phillips is an experienced California rancher and thoroughly 
understands the best methods of modern agriculture. 

The marriage of Charles C. Phillips, in 1896, united him with Rosa 
V. Morehouse, also a native Californian, and this union has been blessed with 
seven children : William ; Roy ; Glenn ; Carrie ; Wayne ; Dick ; and Neva. Like 
all native sons, Mr. Phillips is a public spirited citizen and ready to assist in 
all worthy enterprises. 

JOHN BIDEGARAY.— Through his native ability, perseverance and 
industry, John Bidegaray has achieved the success which he rightfully enjoys, 
as one of the leading business men and financiers of Fresno County. A native 
of France, he was born in the state of Basses Pyrenees, September 26, 1874, 
the son of Peter and Grace (Grenade) Bidegaray, to whom four children were 
born, of whom he is third in order of birth. Reared on a farm where hard 
work was the rule, there was neither time nor opportunity for schooling, al- 
though many were the lessons gained through observation and experience, 
which in after years were an aid to the study of conditions and men in a 
foreign country. 

When but a youth of eighteen, Mr. Bidegaray determined to better his 
condition, so coming to the United States, and California, in 1892, he stopped 
first in Huron, Fresno County. From there he went to Coalinga, where he 
obtained employment on a stock farm. During the next seven years he 
worked for different stockmen, driving cattle and sheep all over the state. 
Not only did he gain knowledge of the country during this period, but he 
learned the possibilities in this line of industry, besides accumulating some 
capital through hard labor. He had $2,200 coming to him, but he was able 
to collect only $800 of it (the balance he lost), and with this he concluded 
to enter business for himself. 

His first venture in 1899, was a small hotel and store located on the 
west side of the Southern Pacific Railroad tracks in Fresno. Later, he went 
into the live-stock business, making a specialty of buying sheep and wool for 
the San Francisco market. Besides engaging in general farming, Mr. Bidega- 
ray owns many thousand head of sheep, for which he rents thousands of acres 
of range land on the West Side as well as stubble fields around Fresno, where 
he ranges his flocks. In 1915 he bought 30,000 lambs for the San Francisco 
market, and each year since then has largely increased his purchases and 
sales in that line. He travels over a great portion of the state, buying stock 
and wool for the San Francisco and Los Angeles markets, and continues to 
increase and extend his stock industry, until at present he is one of the most 
extensive individual stockmen in the Valley. His years of experience have 
made him an exceptionally good judge of stock, and he has established a 
strong financial standing, being rated as one of the best payers in the Valley. 

Aside from his extensive stock business, Mr. Bidegaray has a large gen- 
eral merchandise establishment on Tulare Street. He was the prime mover 
and organizer of the Growers National Bank of Fresno, of which he is pres- 
ident. He long saw the need of an institution that would make a specialty 



1586 HISTORY OF FRESNO COUNTY 

of taking care of stock-growers and large land owners, furnishing them funds 
until they sold their stock or crops. The bank was organized on September 
8, 1919, with a capital stock of $220,000, and was opened for business at I and 
Tulare Streets that same month. 

Mr. Bidegaray's first marriage was to Miss Grace Villanueva who left 
him one child, John Peter, attending school in San Francisco. His second 
marriage was to Miss Julia Larrea, a native of Spain, the ceremony occurring 
at San Jose, Cal. Of pleasing personality, Mr. Bidegaray has many friends 
who esteem him for his sterling worth, integrity and dependable qualities. 
A man of energy, enterprise and business ability, he is never idle and in his 
vigorous way drives his business. He has aided materially in the progress 
and development of the county and is held in the highest esteem by his fel- 
low citizens. It is to men of his stamp that Central California owes its pres- 
ent wonderful development. 

The Growers National Bank of Fresno, of which Mr. Bidegaray was the 
principal organizer, was organized September 8, 1919, with a capital stock of 
$200,000, all paid in, and a surplus of $20,000, all paid in. Mr. Bidegaray pur- 
chased the furniture and fixtures in the former Bank of Italy, leased the quar- 
ters occupied by them at the corner of Tulare and I streets for ten years and 
there the new bank was opened for business on September 25, with Mr. Bide- 
garay as president. 

Mr. Bidegaray has had a most interesting career, beginning at the lowest 
rung of the ladder he has steadily climbed to the top by his own efforts, ac- 
quiring property and stock and establishing a credit large enough to handle 
the large volume of business he has today. He has never abused this credit 
and is noted all over the State as the best pay of any stockman. He is very 
popular with all with whom he meets and has a large circle of friends among 
ail classes with whom his word is as good as his bond. As a man of influence 
he stands very high. 

WM. T. KIRKMAN, JR.— Established Kirkman Nurseries, Inc., in 
Fresno in year 1906. 

Son of W. T. Kirkman, pioneer nurseryman, and Dora Akridge Kirkman. 

Family came to Merced from Arkansas in 1888. 

Father and son both nurserymen from boyhood. 

Parents now living retired life in Pasadena. 

Son still at nursery business. Main office, corner O and Tulare Streets, 
Fresno City. 

Mr. Frank P. South, formerly associated with Kirkman Nurseries, was 
secretary and treasurer of the organization from 1910 until his death in 1917. 

F. A. CORTNER. — An excellent illustration of the rewards to be gained 
through a life of industry, economy, and good management, together with a 
definite goal in life, is found in the career of F. A. Cortner, the successful 
horticulturist and viticulturist, who owns and resides on a highly cultivated 
forty-acre ranch near Del Rey, Fresno County. He was born in Tennessee 
in 1863, and was reared and educated in his native state, his parents being 
Alexander and Mary Cortner, both natives of Tennessee. They were the 
parents of ten children, five of whom are living. F. A. Cortner, the only 
one who migrated to California, arrived in the Golden State in 1884. He 
secured employment with Alfred Baird and became the foreman of his 
1,000-acre grain ranch, a position he filled satisfactorily for sixteen years. 
He spent six years working for other ranchers, and by economical habits 
and judicious management of his financial affairs in due time had saved 
enough money to purchase a ranch for himself, which he did in 1906. At 




2TSI/< 



&L£^ 



HISTORY OF FRESNO COUNTY 1589 

the time he bought his present ranch of forty acres, the land was in its 
virgin state. By persistent and intelligent effort he has brought it up to a 
high state of cultivation and greatly enhanced its value. Nine acres are 
devoted to peaches, seven acres to muscat grapes, thirteen acres to Thomp- 
son's Seedless grapes, and five acres to alfalfa. The ranch is well kept and 
evidences the thrift and enterprise of its owner. It is conveniently located 
on the Santa Fe Railroad about five miles southwest of Sanger. 

In 1887 F. A. Cortner was united in marriage with Miss Edith Brown, 
a native of Ohio, and of this union five children were born: Ella, Robert, 
Henry, May, and Ray. Mrs. Cortner is a member of the Seventh Day Ad- 
ventist Church. Mr. Cortner is energetic and progressive, a splendid ex- 
ample of what is commonly termed a self-made man, and is regarded as one 
of the successful and substantial ranchers of his section of Fresno County. 

HARLAND E. ELDER. — A farmer blessed not only with a choice 
ranch of forty acres in the Prairie school district five miles northeast of 
Fowler, but also with a happy home, where goodness, refinement and good- 
will hold sway, is Harland E. Elder, popularly known as Hal Elder, who is 
also the efficient ditch-tender of the district. As a well-to-do agriculturist he 
lives on his well-improved ranch, and also serves as superintendent of the 
Malaga Extension of the Fowler Switch Ditch, now a part of the Consolidated. 

He was born in Monroe County, Iowa, on August 23, 1863. the son of 
Alexander Elder, who had married Mary McKissick, the latter still living 
at Fowler, seventy-six years of age, although her husband died in 1918. 
almost eighty-one years old. Both grandfathers, that is John Elder and 
William McKissick, were born in the north of Ireland, and both grand- 
mothers, Esther Elder and Grandmother McKissick, were born in Scotland. 
Alexander Elder was an Ohioan, and his wife came from Indiana. They 
were married in Iowa, for Grandfather McKissick had moved out from In- 
diana to Monroe County, Iowa, before the Civil War, and the ceremony 
took place in that county just before the outbreak of the war. Alexander 
Elder farmed there and enlisted in Company A, Thirty-sixth Iowa Volunteer 
Infantry, and served through the last two years of the war, being wounded 
at Mark's Mill, Ark. After the war he resumed farming in Iowa. In 1890 he 
moved with his family to Fowler, Cal. 

Mr. and Mrs. Alexander Elder had six children, five boys and one girl. 
All are living except the third eldest, Perry Elder, who served as deputy 
sheriff under Jay Scott in Fresno County, and who died in Fowler, in 1901. 
The five living are : Thomas, a farmer of Holt County, Nebr. ; Harland E. ; 
Carrie, the wife of W. W. Hicks, of Orosi ; J. F., who lives two miles north- 
west of Fowler ; and Charles, who is southeast of that town. 

Harland E. attended the common schools and Amity College, at Col- 
lege Springs, Iowa, and grew up in that state until he was twenty-one. Then 
he moved with his parents to Holt County, Nebr., and there for seven years 
raised stock. He went back to Tingley, Iowa, and married Miss Carrie 
Brown, a childhood companion. She is a daughter of the Rev. William Brown 
of the Presbyterian Church, and they remained near her home for a year. 

In 1900, Mr. Elder came to Fresno County and rented a wheat-ranch at 
Caruthers, on which he farmed. Thence he moved to Kern County and 
raised stock for twelve years. When he came back to Fresno in 1903, he had 
only $500, and with that he made the initial payment on his home-place of 
forty acres. 

Mr. and Mrs. Elder have had five children: Eula B., a graduate of the 
Fowler High School, died when she was twenty-three years old. Lucile is 
a graduate of the same institution and the Fresno State Normal, and she now 
teaches in the seventh grade in the Fowler grammar school. Hazel and Helen, 
twins, are both graduates of the Fowler High School, and Helen is a grad- 
uate of the Fresno Normal and is a teacher in the sixth grade of the Fowler 



1590 HISTORY OF FRESNO COUNTY 

grammar school ; Hazel married Dale F. Butler and they reside at Orland, 
Glenn County. Harold Charles is a graduate of the Fowler High School, and 
also had one year at the State agricultural college at Davis. He enlisted in 
June, 1918, in Headquarters Company, Eighty-first Field Artillery, and was 
honorably discharged in Camp Knox, Ky., having spent two months in 
France. 

Mr. Elder has served five years as trustee of the Prairie School District, 
which employs four teachers. He was ten or twelve years in Kern County, 
where he was a trustee of the school board. In national politics he is a 
Republican. He is a member of the California Peach Growers, Inc., the Cal- 
ifornia Associated Raisin Company, and gives his aid to all worthy projects 
that have for their object the advancement of Fresno County. 

N. C. CHRISTENSEN.— A splendid example of what good character, 
high intelligence and unflagging industry will accomplish in a comparatively 
short time is afforded by the rancher, N. C. Christensen, and his excellent 
wife, the prosperous peach and raisin growers residing half a mile east of 
Selma on the Canal School Road, where they own a well-improved and finely 
cultivated fruit ranch of thirty acres. Mr. Christensen is a Dane, and so is 
his sturdy wife : and they are both proud of the fact that they came from 
families of working people. 

For some time in Denmark, they worked for small wages and with 
little prospects of getting ahead : and when an opportunity offered, they sailed 
to Australia, and there engaged in grain farming for several years. When 
another opportunity presented itself, they again crossed the wide ocean and 
pushed west as far as Dakota, settling on a farm in the territorv near Dell 
Rapids in Minnehaha County — near where now stands Sioux Falls. S. D. 
After eight years of considerable hardship, hearing of the promised land in the 
Golden State, they came to California, in 1892, and settled at Selma, where 
they have prospered. By hard work, and paying close attention to their 
interests, at the same time that they wasted no time as to other folk's business, 
they have not only raised a large family of children, but have become well-to- 
do. All the children, too, are now married and highly respected. 

Though a man of but few words, Mr. Christensen is a virile and philo- 
sophic thinker, and, being well read, takes an active interest in the political 
issues of the times. He realizes, however, that much of his success is due 
to his faithful helpmate, who is a woman of clear intellect and great force 
of character, and who never failed him in his most strenuous days and now 
enjoys with him the fruits of an industrious and consistently conservative life. 

Mr. Christensen was born at Mou. Denmark, on February 1. 1854. where 
he was brought up in the state church of Denmark and attended the public 
schools. His father, Christen Christensen, was a blacksmith, while he also 
rented and cultivated a small piece of land in Denmark, where the father was 
married to Anna Christine Jacobsen. a native of the same locality, and 
they had three children : The eldest, Ole C, died in Denmark, while the next- 
born, Shoren C, lives in that country, and the subject of this sketch. Nils 
Christian. At seventeen he hired out to work by the year at farm work, and 
at twenty he was married to Juliana Sorensen. who was born near Hjoring, 
Denmark, and is a daughter of Soren and Martha Marie (Hensen) Nelson. 

Mr. and Mrs. Christensen went to Australia from Denmark, arriving at 
Queensland with two children and about ten shillings, and some clothing, 
but without the ability to speak English, and for a while suffered great pri- 
vations. After five and a half years of raising corn and potatoes, they came 
to the United States. They have had eight children. Christian, born in 
Denmark, married Harriet Jessie Nicol. and is a rancher residing near Selma: 
Annie K. married Milton Bigelow, another rancher near Selma. and she 
died, leaving three children. Grace E.. Louise E. and Eunice: Marie married 
Alton Bigelow, missionary to the Philippines, and died and left three children, 



HISTORY OF FRESNO COUNTY 1591 

Harriet, Mildred and John H. ; Martha is the wife of Noah Jacobsen, a rancher 
near Selma ; Marcus married Lulu Williams, and is ranching in the vicinity of 
the same town ; Alfred J. is another rancher near Selma who married Anna 
Donald; Elmer Adolph is the postmaster at Selma, and married Lucy Sweet; 
and Walter C. married Sophie Sorensen, and is a grammar school teacher 
near Modesto. 

Mr. and Mrs. Christensen are members of the Danish Baptist Church of 
Selma, and are consistent Christians. Their religion is a matter of everyday 
strength and consolation, for they can see where a kind Providence has led 
them. They are now living comfortably, in their new bungalow home, built 
1918-19, at 2222 Keith Street, in Selma, and are sincerely esteemed by all 
who know them. 

MRS. GERTRUDE MANEELY.— A very estimable lady, whose family 
is creditably associated with the pioneer history of California, is Mrs. Ger- 
trude Maneely, a native of St. Louis, Mo., and the daughter of Nathaniel 
Kelly, who was born in Dublin, Ireland, and who came alone to America 
and New Orleans when he was only seventeen years of age. There he began 
clerking, and in time became a merchant at Seguin, Texas. He next removed 
to St. Louis. Mo., where he clerked for Crawford & Co. ; and leaving their 
employ and that state, he returned to Texas and again established himself 
as a merchant at Dallas. In Houston and at Waco he also, at one time or 
another, had stores. 

In 1896, Mr. Kelly removed to San Francisco where he was again busy 
as a merchant, and at the beginning of the new century, when more than 
ever Central California was awakened to its natural destiny, he came to 
Fresno County and started in business at Herndon. Later he bought Mr. 
Yount's store at Barstow, and, with his long and varied experience, he was 
able to make of it still more of a general merchandise establishment that 
that district had ever before enjoyed. In 1917. at the end of the year, he sold 
out and retired, conscious of having both merited and won the good wishes 
of his patrons and friends. Mrs. Kelly was Sarah T. Mansfield before her 
marriage, and is a native of San Antonio, Texas. She was left an orphan at 
five years of age, but was fortunate in being reared and educated in her 
native state. She is the mother of two children : Gertrude, who married John 
Maneely, a rancher at Barstow ; and Lillie, who is Mrs. Smellie of Madera. 

Gertrude Kelly came to California with her parents, and was educated 
at the famous convent of St. Joseph at San Francisco. She was married, at 
Fresno, first to James Emery, a native of Ohio, who came to California in 
the boom period of 1888, when he was twenty, and for a while was in the 
employ of the Southern Pacific Railroad Company, leaving that system to 
assume a responsible post offered by the Fresno Irrigation and Canal Com- 
pany, at Empire. There, for sixteen years, he was in charge of their ditch, 
and a better superintendent the company never had. In 1909, Mr. Emery 
embarked in viticulture and bought eighty acres at Barstow which he greatly 
improved. He took pleasure and pride in his work, and continued to operate 
his ranch until his death, on January 13, 1917. During the last seven years 
of his life, which he devoted to farming, he had eighty acres, twenty-five of 
which were devoted to an orchard of peaches, and twelve acres to a vineyard 
of muscat and Thompson grapes, while considerable of the land produced 
alfalfa. 

Thirteen months after Mr. Emery's death his widow became the wife of 
John Maneely, a native of Canada, whose interesting life story is elsewhere 
given in some detail in this work. As a practical, progressive woman of im- 
portant affairs, who has shown exceptional executive ability, Mrs. Maneely 
belongs both to the California Associated Raisin Company and to the Cali- 
fornia Peach Growers, Inc. 



1592 HISTORY OF FRESNO COUNTY 

A. CLIFFORD SHAW. — A native of Annawan, Henry County, 111., 
A. Clifford Shaw was born on July 10, 1880, the son of Emery E. Shaw, a 
native of Terre Haute, Ind., and a grandson of Jonathan J. Shaw, a pioneer 
of Henry County who became a large farmer. Emery Shaw was also a 
farmer, and five or six years ago, having sold out, he retired to life in town. 
In February, 1896, he came west and located at Fresno, later leasing a vine- 
yard at Fowler. Once more he lived at Fresno and still later, on 'Whites 
Bridge road; and eventually he died at Fresno on May 15. 1902. Mrs. Shaw 
was a favorite in Columbus, Ohio, where she was widely known as Annie 
Davison ; and she died at Los Angeles, on October 24, 1908. the mother of 
six children, two of whom are still living. 

The second oldest of these children, and the only son living (two having 
died in Illinois), Clifford was among the four that reached California. Burpee 
died on November 19, 1901 ; Mattie is Mrs. Ruggles of Fresno ; and June, 
who became Mrs. Baker, died in San Francisco. Clifford attended school in 
Illinois until he was fifteen, and in February, 1896, he came with his parents 
to Fresno. For six and a half years he worked in the T. J. Hay vineyard, 
where he was made foreman, after which he continued in Mr. Hay's service 
in Squaw Valley, on a stock ranch, remaining there until the latter died. 
He remained another six months, in fact, working for Mrs. Hay. 

When he came again to Fresno, Mr. Shaw bought forty acres in the 
Barstow Colony, effecting the purchase in August, 1907. and having improved 
the property in the usual manner, he built a residence and set out sixteen 
acres of Thompson seedless. He joined the California Associated Raisin 
Company and worked for the general progress of California viticulture. In 
June, 1918, he sold it at a big advance and then purchased his present forty 
acres one mile south of Barstow, which he is devoting to raising alfalfa, and 
setting out Thompson seedless, and where he has built a comfortable resi- 
dence and also suitable ranch buildings. 

While sojourning at Visalia, Mr. Shaw was married to Mrs. Dollie 
(Hogan) Butler, who was born near Reedley in this county, the daughter 
of J. W. Hogan, a Reedley pioneer ; and they have had one daughter, Anna 
May. Mrs. Shaw had two children by her former marriage, David and Eva. 

Thoroughly at home in, and in sympathy with the institutions of Cali- 
fornia, Mr. and Mrs. Shaw take an active part in all movements for the better- 
ing of the community, the state or the nation, and in particular they loyally 
supported the government in the World War. Mr. Shaw is an Independent 
Republican; while in social life he participates in the activities of the Wood- 
men of the World, Manzanita Camp, No. 160. 

HANS J. HANSEN. — An enterprising, reliable and successful viti- 
culturist, who thoroughly appreciates the unrivaled opportunities of Fresno 
County, is Hans J. Hansen, who came to California at the beginning of the 
nineties, bringing with him, as part of his capital, some of the best traditions 
of Denmark's intelligent and progressive agricultural folk. He was born at 
Kolding, in Jutland, Denmark, on May 30, 1865, the son of Hans Bang, an 
industrious and extensive farmer who later, with equal success, applied him- 
self to carpentry and building. There were two children in the family, and of 
these Hans J. was the younger. Having attended the public schools of his 
neighborhood, he learned the miller's trade and followed it for some time, 
after which he took to teaming. At the end of two and a half years, he 
enlisted with a Copenhagen artillery regiment, in which he served seventeen 
months, or until he was honorably discharged, in the fall of 18S5. when he 
took up some work at which he continued until he was twenty-three years 
of age. 

Crossing the Atlantic in the spring of 1888, Mr. Hansen stopped in New 
York State and found employment at farming, butchering and in a brick- 
yard. Two years later he located in Fresno County, bought some mules, and 
went in for teaming, and later he tried his hand at farming. After another 



HISTORY OF FRESNO COUNTY 1593 

two years, he leased some land west of Fresno, which he sowed to grain. 
In 1896 he returned to Denmark for what proved to be a two-year visit; 
and while there he ran a hack. There, too, he was married to Miss Christene 
Nielsen, a native of that country and section. 

In 1899 Mr. and Mrs. Hansen crossed the ocean and the continent. 
Choosing Fresno County as their home, he leased land at Academy, and in 
the operation of the ranch ran two big teams and a combined harvester. 
The returns for the labor and investment, however, were insufficient to 
reward and encourage, as he sold wheat for less than one dollar a sack, and 
barley still lower; and after a while he quit the venture altogether and dis- 
posed of his outfit. After this he bought 160 acres from the San Francisco 
Savings Union in Redbank, and engaged in farming there. He kept that 
land two years and then sold it. Then he bought his present place of forty 
acres in the Enterprise Colony — at that time a stretch of hog-wallow and 
the rawest land — which he improved, planting alfalfa and setting out wine 
grapes. He also built a fine residence and sunk a well. The property is under 
the Enterprise Ditch and has proven a fine investment. He has there three 
acres of peaches, a vineyard of twenty-seven acres of muscat, Malaga, Zin- 
fandel and Thompson grapes, and the balance sown to alfalfa. Intensely in- 
terested in every movement that advances the welfare of the rancher gen- 
erally, Mr. Hansen has long been active in the California Peach Growers, 
Inc., and the California Associated Raisin Company. 

There are four children in the family of Mr. and Mrs. Hansen : Amelia 
is at the Clovis High School, and Anna attends the Fresno High; while 
Mary and Edward study in the grammar schools of the neighborhood. The 
family attend the Lutheran Church. Mr. and Mrs. Hansen support the poli- 
cies of the Republican party. Mr. Hansen is a popular member of the 
Woodmen of the World at Clovis, and he and his circle supported in every 
way possible all the activities that helped to win the great war. 

S. L. POLITO. — Fresno is fortunate in having so talented a musician 
and instructor in music as S. L. Polito, teacher of the plectral string 
instruments, harmony and theory of music. Mr. Polito was born at Vaca- 
ville, Solano County, Cal., September 4, 1881. He is of Italian descent, his 
father, Louis L. Polito, being a native of the sunny clime that has produced 
so many talented musicians of world-wide reputation. This young native 
son of California was five years of age when his parents brought him to 
Fresno. Here he received his first schooling, and for about three years 
attended the old White school on Fresno Street, which in those days was 
practically on the bank of the old mill ditch that ran through the town. At 
the age of nine he was taken to San Francisco, and at about that time began 
the study of music, which he continued until he developed professionally the 
playing of the banjo, mandolin and guitar. He is a finished musician, and 
his twenty years of musical experience, as well as his diplomas and certifi- 
cates, bear testimony to his ability as a musician and teacher of music. 

To Mr. Polito, more than to any other one person in this vicinity, is 
due the credit for the popularity of the plectral string instruments. He 
introduced the banjo in the dance orchestra in Fresno, and also the now 
popular Gibson mandolin and guitar. These instruments are in vogue 
musically and are well represented in all musical gatherings and in different 
instrumental combinations throughout the country. 

As a teacher of the banjo, mandolin and guitar, Mr. Polito has been 
remarkably successful, having established a large clientele of pupils on 
these instruments, a number of whom he has developed to the rank of 
professional musicians. He is the author of several original musical com- 
positions, and is a member of the American Guild of Banjo, Mandolin, 
and Guitarists, the American Federation of Musicians, the Musical Alliance 
of the United States, and several other musical organizations. 



1594 HISTORY OF FRESNO COUNTY 

REV. JENS JOHANSEN. — One of the pioneer ministers of the San 
Joaquin Valley, Rev. Jens- Johansen has accomplished much good work in 
his chosen field, and is now rounding out his years of service as pastor of 
the Church of Our Savior, located in Central Colony, Fresno County and of 
the Danish Lutheran denomination. Born in Denmark, October 16, 1851, 
Reverend Johansen came to America with his parents, in 1860, and was reared 
in Missouri and Illinois. He lived in Arkansas during the Civil War period 
and has vivid recollections of those stirring and thrilling times, though he 
was but a lad at the time. 

After finishing his early schooling, Reverend Johansen attended Decorah 
College, at Decorah, Iowa, for six years, and also spent three years in Ger- 
mania Concordia Theological Seminary, at St. Louis', Mo. His first call was 
a dual one; he being assigned to two congregations, namely: the Trinity 
Church in the city of St. Louis and also the Webster Groves Church, which 
was in a suburb of St. Louis, where he remained five years. He was next 
called to Franklin County, Iowa, and held his charge there for six years. 

In 1891 Reverend Johansen received his third call, and came to Fresno 
County. In early days of the county's development he was a circuit rider, 
holding services at Rolinda and Fairview school districts. He also had 
charge of Missions at Newman, Modesto, Los Banos and Waterford, continu- 
ing this branch of his work until 1903. With unremitting zeal he worked 
early and late in pioneer days in the valley, taking hard long drives by team 
through the undeveloped valley and plain, with but little to lighten his 
burdens. 

The Church of Our Savior is one of the oldest in the valley, founded 
in November, 1879, by Rev. L. Carlsen, of San Francisco. In 1881 Rev. Diet- 
ricksen took charge, and in 1891 Reverend Johansen was called to the charge 
which he has most ably filled since that year. Sunday, July 19, 1916, he 
celebrated his twenty-fifth anniversary as pastor in Fresno County, on which 
occasion the members of his church presented him with an automobile, the 
membership comprising fifty families. He was for six years secretary of 
the Pacific District of Norwegian Lutheran Synod, which was organized 
in 1893, when he became secretary, remaining in the office until 1899. 

Reverend Johansen was married in Albert Lee, Minn., to Hannah Larsen 
a native of Denmark ; her death occurred in 1912, after a full and useful life, 
during which she had been of inestimable help to her husband in his life 
work. Their children are as follows: Laura, wife of Roy Cole of Fresno, 
was born in St. Louis, Mo., July 9, 1882 ; Amelia, wife of Harry Ericksen of 
Fresno, was born in St. Louis, August 20, 1884; Theodore, born in Iowa, 
September 23, 1886, married Marion Damkier ; Clara, died at one year of age; 
Martin, born in Iowa, October 10, 1891, married Blanch Goodrich, and is the 
owner of a ranch near Lone Star; Hannah, born in Fresno, November 15, 
1892; Helen, born in Fresno, February 14, 1895, now the wife of E. G. Cart- 
right, a rancher on Orange Avenue, Fresno; Ernest, born in Fresno, March 
8, 1898, with the Union Pacific Railway in Fresno. During early days in 
the county Reverend Johansen bought four lots on South J Street, and erected 
his present home, one of the first to be built in that section. 

CHARLES H. TRABER, M.D.— There is no profession to which a man 
devotes himself which brings him into such close relations with his fellow- 
man as does that of the conscientious physician. Among practitioners of this 
class the name of Charles H. Traber, M.D., of Reedley, stands out in bold 
relief. He is a native son of California, born in Mendocino County, January 
4, 1874, a son of John W. and Anna (Kane) Traber, mention of whom is 
made on another page of this work. John W. Traber is one of the best- 
known educators in the county, and has taught longer than any other of its 
teachers. 




aA/yncuv^i^ 




^Scui&h & ^SaA^ri^^y 



HISTORY OF FRESNO COUNTY 1599 

Reared on his father's ranch and educated in the public grammar and 
high schools of Fresno County, graduating from the latter with high hon- 
ors, Charles H. Traber began teaching school at an early age and for ten 
years followed that profession in Fresno County. During all those years his 
one great ambition was to become a physician. Not having the means by 
which this ambition could be satisfied, he went to Alaska in the hope that 
he would be able to make enough to put him through medical school ; but 
his venture was a failure, although he remained in Alaska from 1898 until 
1902. He returned to Fresno County again and resumed teaching, saving 
every dollar that he could, and in 1913 he was able to enter the Chicago 
College of Medicine & Surgery from which institution he was graduated 
four years later with the degree of M.D. He later returned to his native 
state and opened an office at Reedley, and so successful has he been that he 
derives a practice from many miles around. 

In 1910 Dr. Traber was united in marriage with Miss Clara Brose, a 
daughter of Samuel Brose; and to this union one daughter, Marjorie, has 
been born. The doctor is a member of the County and State Medical Socie- 
ties, and fraternally is a member of the Knights of Pythias. He is always in 
favor of the best schools obtainable. During his career as an educator he 
served for a time as a deputy in the superintendent of schools' office at 
Fresno. Dr. Traber is a self-made man, a successful physician and a true 
friend. He and his wife have a wide circle of friends throughout this section 
of the county. 

CALEB HARMAN. — Two decidedly intellectual pioneers, whose lives, 
animated by lofty moral ideals, have made them benefactors to many, and 
whose influence for good will be felt for generations to come, were Mr. and 
Mrs. Caleb Harman, long so fondly esteeemd by the early settlers of Fresno 
County. He was born in Morgan County, Ohio, on September 20, 1836, the 
son of John Harman, whose folks came from Pennsylvania and were un- 
doubtedly related to that branch, the Harmons, later distinguished in jour- 
nalism and the law, in the history of Ohio, and which has given a governor 
to that state. In Ohio, John Harman married Miss -Hannah Stephens, a lady 
whose ancestors belong to the best of South Carolina stock. In their union 
there was one of those happy blendings of Northern and Southern virility 
and culture that have contributed something definite and valuable in the 
elevating of American society. 

Caleb attended, the public schools in Ohio until he was twelve, when his 
family removed to Van Buren County, Iowa, after which he continued his 
schooling in his new home district. He also grew up on a farm in the pioneer 
days of Iowa, and there he farmed for himself. During the Civil War he 
served in the Home Guards. 

In 1874 he came to California from Iowa, and spent the first winter at 
Santa Rosa, coming down to Fresno County the next spring. This whole 
section was then a desert-like wilderness. He went out to the Mendocino 
Settlement, however, and bought land ; he encouraged and helped to build 
the Church Ditch, which was the first ditch for irrigation in that part of 
Fresno County, became a stockholder and secured a perpetual water-right 
in the canal. People said that he must starve to death, for there was nothing 
but horned toads and jack-rabbits that could live there ; yet the Church 
Ditch proved the making of the country. 

On October 18, 1861, at Milton, Iowa, Mr. Harman was married to Miss 
Sarah Carr, daughter of Jonathan and Margaret Jane (Weatherington) Carr, 
both of whom came from Virginia families, migrated to Ohio, and as early 
as 1853 removed to Iowa. Sarah was born near Columbus, Ohio, on Febru- 
ary 25, 1838, and Jonathan Carr, who was a farmer, died in Illinois, when 
she was only seven years of age. Mr. Harman was an intelligent, indus- 
trious and large-hearted man ; and his wife was in all respects his equal, 
and assisted to make the Harman home the center of abounding hospi- 



1600 HISTORY OF FRESNO COUNTY 

talitv and good-cheer. They had four children: Lizzie became the wife 
of O. W. Rudolph, of Santa Barbara, where she died in 1903 and left 
four children, all still living in California; Jennie is the wife of Dr. J. E. 
Shafer, of Berkeley, and they have two children ; the third child is C. E. 
Harmah, while Daisy, the younger daughter, resides at 737 Wilson 
Avenue, Fresno. 

Interested in politics only so far as they aided in the upbuilding of the 
community. Mr. Harman, although an active Democrat all his life, never 
sought nor held public office for any benefit for himself. He was school 
trustee in the Mendocino district for many years, and was a worker for good 
schools. He donated the site for the Mendocino school, and also the land 
for the original plot of the Mendocino cemetery near Miley Switch on the 
Santa Fe Railway. And he planted the first vineyard in the Mendocino 
district. 

Having been advised to seek a change of climate, Mr. Harman rented 
out his large ranch of 480 acres and moved down to Lompoc in Santa Bar- 
bara County, and then in 1905 he and his wife removed to Berkeley. There 
Mrs. Harman died on March 9, 1907, and Mr. Harman passed away on June 
2, 1915. Both rounded out such careers of exceptional usefulness that it may 
truly be said of them — "their works do live even after they have departed : 
wherefore they have not gone, but in their works live on and on." 

STEPHEN GULER. — It is no wonder that Stephen Guler likes Califor- 
nia, and the Barstow district of Fresno County in particular, for since coming 
here and getting well started, he has accomplished much both for himself 
and the state of his adoption, with which he first became associated over 
a decade ago. He was born at Monbiel, Graubunden, Switzerland, on March 
21. 1S77. the son of Hans Guler, an experienced farmer of that section who 
brought his wife and four sons to the United States in 1884. He located 
near New Rockford, Eddy County in the James River Valley, in what is 
now North Dakota, and homesteaded 160 acres which he devoted to grain- 
farming ; and assisted by his boys he attained such success that he bought 
more land, coming in time to own about 1,120 acres, all used for grain-farm- 
ing; and before Mr. Guler left the scenes of this world, he had the satisfac- 
tion of knowing that he had brought his farm to a high state of cultivation, 
and had thus enriched the country which had extended to him and his family 
a cordial welcome. Mrs. Guler, who was Catherine Grass before her marriage, 
and who also was born in Switzerland, still resides in North Dakota, the be- 
loved mother of six children, each of whom has "made good" in some field 
of activity. 

The third oldest in the family, and the only one in California, Stephen 
Guler crossed the stormy Atlantic when he was seven years of age and soon 
after began his American schooling in Dakota. From a lad also he began to 
work on his father's farm, and he continued to break the prairie with the 
use of oxen until as late as 1893, when he and his neighbors used horses in- 
stead. In 1905, Mr. Guler dissolved partnership with his brothers and struck 
out for himself. He bought 320 acres in the same vicinity, three miles from 
New Rockford, the county seat, and worked hard to improve the land, devot- 
ing the ranch to grain and stock. He farmed there for four years, and in 
that time demonstrated what Swiss agriculture, under the favoring natural 
conditions, could do with American soil, seed, and cattle. 

Curious as to the much talked-of Pacific, Mr. Guler in 1909 made a trip 
to California; and coming to Fresno County, with which he was fascinated 
from the beginning, he bought twenty acres in the Barstow Colony. The fall 
of that vear found him a resident of the Golden State, and he was not long 
in buying twentv additional acres near by. He began to raise fruit, and for 
some years he ran a dairy, twelve miles from Fresno, and so he grew alfalfa 
for his own use. The balance of his land he laid out as an orchard and a 
vinevard, where he had ten acres set out with Thompson seedless grapes. 



HISTORY OF FRESNO COUNTY 1601 

seven acres planted to peaches, and four acres given up to apricots. He uses 
a team and a tractor, and has a fine pumping-plant, so that his ranch, which 
is under one of the best of California ditches, is very well irrigated. Scientific 
in his temperament and methods of farming, and possessing artistic taste, 
Mr. Guler has developed a ranch that many persons come to see and that 
certainly is model in more than one respect. 

While in North Dakota, Mr. Guler was married to Miss Anna Christ, a 
native of that state, and the daughter of Joseph and Margaret (Kobel) Christ, 
born in Arcadia, Wis., and Switzerland, respectively; they were pioneer 
farmers in Eddy County, and the father died there, while the mother is 
still living. Mr. and Mrs. Guler have three children: Margaret, Elvin, and 
Nina, all favorites in the circles in which they move. 

Those who know Mr. Guler find in him an affable, kindly man, filled with 
the social spirit. It is not surprising, therefore, that he is popular among 
the Odd Fellows, with whom he is affiliated through Lodge No. 343, I. O. 
O. F., at Fresno. He is also an ever welcome member of the Fraternal 
Brotherhood. In politics Mr. Guler is a Socialist, and with his keen interest 
in the welfare of society, he has served enthusiastically as trustee of the 
Barstow district. He belongs to the California Associated Raisin Company, 
and is a representative from the Barstow district. He is also a member of 
the California Peach Growers, Inc. 

GEORGE CHRISTIAN. — Born at Tardekopfka, Russia, on September 
22, 1865, George Christian is the son of Peter Christian, a farmer who died 
there. He had married Sophia Reinhart, also a native of that place, who is 
still living. She is the mother of six children, all living — three boys and three 
girls; and our subject and one sister are the only ones in America. 

The third in the order of birth, George was brought up at the old home, 
educated in the public schools, and from a boy learned farming. He also 
learned to speak, read and write the German and the Russian languages. 
When twenty he began work at the wagon-maker's trade, and a year later 
he entered the Russian Army. As a member of the 160th Infantry of the 
Fortieth Division, he served in Pense a year, and was honorably discharged. 

Then he completed the trades of a wagon-maker and a cabinet-maker, 
and for a while worked alone at his trade. He next formed a partnership with 
his brother Gotfried in wagon-making, and at the same time engaged in farm- 
ing. They manufactured about forty wagons a year, and they also made 
buggies. 

At his native place, Mr. Christian was married on January 30, 1886. to 
Miss Marie Bell, who was born there, a daughter of George and Alexandra 
(Wulf) Bell, farmer folk, both of whom are now dead. The fourth eldest in 
a family of seven children, she is the only one that came to America and the 
only one now living. 

After awhile, feeling the irresistible lure of America, Mr. Christian sold 
out and brought his wife and two sons to Fresno, where he arrived on April 
14, 1900. He started to work on a ranch, and then went into a brick yard ; 
and in 1905 he commenced to learn the carpenter's trade, at which he worked 
under different contractors. 

In 1904 Mr. Christian first undertook to contract and build in Fresno, and 
ever since that date he has here followed this line of activitv, although twice 
he has been engaged in mercantile lines. For eighteen months he was a part- 
ner in Kohl & Christian, general merchandisers, when he sold out and re- 
turned to contracting; and then he bought a store on F Street with Jack P. 
Christian, and together they set up as merchants. Later he bought out his 
partner and managed the store alone and then, in 1913, he sold to Fred Scheidt 
and George Hoepner. Returning to his trade, he has busied himself as a first- 
class contractor and builder to the present time. He draws his own plans, 
and thus more nearly succeeds in carrying out the exact ideas and wishes of 



1602 HISTORY OF FRESNO COUNTY 

those for whom he builds. As a Republican, he is influential in the councils 
of that party. In 1912 he made a trip back to his old home, visiting his mother 
and relatives and friends. 

Three children of Mr. and Mrs. George Christian are still living. Jacob, 
a sergeant in the United States Army, is over-seas in France ; he served for 
three years in the National Guard, was mustered out, and when war was 
declared, he hurried to enlist, and is now with the One Hundred Fifty-seventh 
Infantry. Fred Christian is at home, and Mollie is attending the high school. 
The family attend the Free Lutheran Cross Church, and Mr. Christian is 
president of the congregation. 

LEANDER J. ARRANTS. — An inspiring story of enterprise, reverses, 
toil, sacrifice, and final, deserved reward is that of Leander J. Arrants, the 
popular and efficient superintendent of the Fowler Switch Canal and a repre- 
sentative of one of the substantial families of the South, who hails from 
Scotch ancestry, as his folks were among the earliest settlers of Eastern Ten- 
nessee, having first pitched their tents in what is now Sullivan County more 
than 125 years ago. His paternal grandfather, William Arrants, was born in 
Sullivan County in 1802 and lived to be eighty-two years old. His father was 
William Henderson Arrants, and his mother was Polly Ann (Reilly) Arrants. 
All of the Arrants were true to their native state during the troublous times 
of the Civil War, and his father fought in the Confederate Army throughout 
the Rebellion. Two children were born from the union of William Henderson 
and Polly Arrants : Leander J., the subject of our sketch, and Mollie. who is 
now the wife of G. L. Hicks, a farmer and stockman in Sullivan County, Tenn. 

The husband of Leander's mother, before she married Mr. Arrants, was 
Andrew Geisler, who served in the same company with Leander's father, and 
fell in battle, leaving one child, a daughter, Hettie, now the wife of J. A. Bov, 
a school teacher and farmer in Sullivan County. After Mr. Geisler's death, 
Mrs. Geisler married Mr. Arrants, and she died when Leander was only 
three years old, and through a second marriage he has had nine children. 
Mrs. Maggie Arrants is still living and makes her home with her son Walter 
on the twenty-acre ranch three miles west of Selma. 

The nine children are: AYalter, just referred to; Mvrtle, the wife of 
Walter Woods and living in Sullivan County, Tenn. ; William, who resides 
in the same county; Samuel, living two and a half miles west of Selma; 
Conley, living four miles north of Selma : Addie, the wife of Mr. Dempsey, 
a farmer in Sullivan County; Bessie, who is single and lives with her mother 
and Walter: Emily, the wife of Walter Huff, farming four miles north of 
Selma ; and Annie, the wife of Arthur Armstead, a teacher at Fresno. 

Born in Sullivan County, Tenn., on August 19, 1870, Leander Arrants 
was reared on a farm in the eastern part of the State, and where the educa- 
tional advantages were so limited that he was able to attend school but three 
months in the year, during the winter. Being the oldest boy he had to work 
very hard, and so he remained at home until he was almost twenty-one. At 
that time a circumstance — the residence of a relative on the Pacific Coast — 
had a determining influence on his life and destiny. A third cousin, John G. S. 
Arrants, also a Confederate soldier in the Civil War, had become, as the 
pioneer grocer at Selma, a prosperous business man. He encouraged young 
Mr. Arrants to join him. and the latter arrived at Selma on April 21, 1891. 
He went to work on the ranch of H. H. Dewitt. and served there eight 
months at twenty-six dollars a month. All in all, he continued working out 
for others for three years. 

Mr. Arrants then rented some forty acres planted to alfalfa, bought a 
team and some hogs. The hog cholera, however, took most of his herd, and 
then the price of pork fell to four cents, as against six cents when he bought. 
He had paid $400 cash rent, and at the end of the year had a team of horses. 
but with a good-sized debt hanging over him. 



HISTORY OF FRESNO COUNTY 1603 

He then took to teaming and rented from the Selma Bank another 
ranch of ninety acres, for $150 per year. He bought more hogs, continued 
his teaming, herded his hogs, cooked and batched, and worked sixteen hours 
per day, making two eight-hour shifts ; and he had an experience never to be 
forgotten. 

Perhaps it was just that particular experience which caused him to think 
of getting married, for he needed help — help of the kind he was soon to 
secure. He rented an additional ranch of eighty acres, the J. A. McCleary 
place, upon which there was a house, with a forty-acre vineyard ; and in the 
meantime, on May 30, 1897, he married Miss Sarah Stephens, the daughter 
of B. F. and Emily (Stapp) Stephens. The latter is now deceased, while 
the father lives with Mr. Arrants at Selma. 

That year Mr. Arrants made some money, and with the proceeds he 
bought thirty-eight acres south of the Selma city limits, and also five acres of 
unimproved land, all of which he improved and disposed of to advantage. 
His next purchase was the twenty acres, all in trees and vines, to which he 
has added a beautiful family residence which he built in 1904 — one of the 
finest in that section near Selma. He has bought the twenty-, sixty- and 
seventy-acre ranches in five different purchases, improved them, and owns 
them all to this time. The twenty acres where he lives was a tract of stubble 
when he bought it. 

On the sixty-acre ranch, there are twenty acres of peach trees, most of 
which he has grubbed out on account of getting too old, and replanted to 
vines. On the seventy acres there were twenty-five acres in vines. All his 
lands are now in full bearing ; and he has Emperor, muscat and Thompson 
seedless grapes, with the latter predominating, seventy-five acres in all being 
devoted to that variety. He also has three acres of prunes and eighteen 
acres of peaches. The two ranches nearest Selma are rented to his son ; 
while the seventy-acre ranch is leased by a Japanese tenant. 

Mr. Arrants is a member of the California Raisin Growers' Association, 
as well as of the company of California Peach Growers, Inc. He and his 
relative, the late G. S. Arrants, were among the prime movers for the better- 
ment of the fruit-growers of this valley. They were leaders in the first co- 
operative effort which resulted in the organization and establishment of the 
Cooperative Packing House at Selma, which later became the Selma Fruit 
Company, Inc., with fifty or sixty stockholders, and which in time sold out to 
the California Raisin Growers' Association. 

Eighteen years ago Mr. Arrants became canal tender for the Fowler 
Switch Ditch, and he has served acceptably ever since. This ditch has lately 
become a part of the property of the Consolidated Canal Company. The 
Consolidated Canal Company embraces the original Church system, the 
Fowler Switch Canal, and the Centerville & Kingsburg Canal. Mr. Arrants 
tends, therefore, about eighty miles of canals. 

Mr. and Mrs. Arrants have been blessed with three children : Eugene is 
a single farmer who lives at home and rents the twenty- and sixty-acre 
ranches; Maud graduated from Selma High School, class of 1918, and is now 
taking postgraduate work, and Ralph is in the grammar school. Mrs. Arrants 
is a member of the Methodist Episcopal Church South, while Mr. Arrants 
belongs to the Woodmen of the World and the Foresters. 

GEORGE F. BICKEL.— A highly-esteemed pioneer, who is also widely 
known in Fresno County .because of his many years of successful enterprise 
here, is George F. Bickel, the efficient and popular superintendent of the 
Herndon Canal, owned and operated by the Fresno Irrigation and Land 
Company. On May 26, 1889, Mr. Bickel first came to Fresno County; nor 
has he at any time since regretted the step that he then took, which afforded 
him the privilege of helping to develop one of the fairest portions of one of 
the greatest of all these United States. 



1604 HISTORY OF FRESNO COUNTY 

Born at Troy, Mo., on February 9. 1865, a date made historic by the 
landing of the Federal forces at James Island, S. C, George enjoyed the 
usual public school education of that section and period ; and having an aunt 
and a sister in California, he came west in his twenty-fourth year. Arriving 
in Central California, he entered the employ of his uncle, J. H. Clark, the 
vineyardist, and later took service with Messrs. Cook & Langley, working 
in their packing-house, where he became foreman of one of their depart- 
ments. He was next appointed by Mayor Cole to the Fresno Fire Depart- 
ment, as driver of Engine No. 2. when there were only three paid men in 
each house, and three different fire-houses, and there he continued from 
1891 until 1893, or the close of the administration. 

For ten years following Mr. Bickel engaged in the hack business, and 
had a stand in front of the Grand Central Hotel on Mariposa Street, but in 
1902 he sold out, accepting a position for two years with the Fresno Traction 
Company as conductor. His prompt and willing service made him many 
friends, but when his present engagement was offered him, he could not do 
otherwise than resign to accept the advancement. For three years he was 
with the Fresno Canal and Irrigation Company, now the Fresno Canal and 
Land Company, in charge of their old Enterprise ditch. Resigning, he en- 
gaged in the butcher business at Wheatville, and when he sold out there, he 
removed to Oakland where he was with the wholesale drug house of O. P. 
Downing & Co. When he left this employ, it was to become a special officer 
for two and a half- years for H. H. Hart. 

On his return to Fresno, in 1911, Mr. Bickel again accepted an appoint- 
ment for canal work with the Fresno Canal and Land Company, at Barstow 
Colony, in charge of the Herndon Canal. He was made superintendent, and 
was given the considerable responsibility of the works from the Arizona 
Colony to Barstow, with all the numerous side ditches as well. Since then 
he has resided at Barstow, and so has naturally taken an interest in local 
educational affairs that led to his serving as school trustee there. 

At Fresno, Mr. Bickel was married to Miss Mabel K. Bunney, who was 
born in Amador County, Cal., and they have one daughter. Esther L. He 
belongs to the Red Men of Fresno, and also to Fresno Lodge, No. 186. of 
the Independent Order of Odd Fellows. He is also a member of Manzanita 
Camp, No. 160, of the Woodmen of the World, of Fresno. In national politics 
Mr. Bickel is a Democrat, and in former years he was active in the county 
conventions. 

WILLIAM F. BARNETT. — A dairyman who is a good judge of cows 
and in every respect thoroughly understands his business, and who is 
always interesting as a conversationalist, is William F. Barnett, who came to 
Fresno County soon after the middle of the nineties, and who has the honor of 
having sown the first alfalfa grown at Centerville. He was born in Georgia 
in 1860, the son of Rial Barnett, a native of Alabama who served in the 
Confederate Army during the Civil War. When that unfortunate conflict 
was over, he removed to East Tennessee, and near Knoxville he became 
a very successful planter. In 1890 he removed to Oregon, to which state 
his son, W. F. Barnett, had already gone ; and there, honored by all who 
knew him, he resided until he died. Mrs. Barnett was Nancy Patterson be- 
fore her marriage ; she, too, was born in Alabama, and she died in Kansas. 

The second youngest of seven children, and the only one now living, the 
subject of this sketch was brought up in Tennessee on a farm, and there 
he attended the public school. He remained home until he was seventeen 
vears of age, and then, removing to Indiana, he accepted employment at 
Newport as a farm laborer. Later he engaged in agriculture on his own 
account, and in 1884 removed to Hutchinson, Kans., locating a preemption 
of 160 acres in Pratt County. He bought adjoining land until he had 480 
acres, which he sold in 1888. He then settled in Multnomah Count}". Ore., 
and contracted to build bridges for a railroad company, but at the end of 



HISTORY OF FRESNO COUNTY 1607 

two years he located a homestead on the Nehalem River, Clatsop County, 
where he improved a farm and started a dairy. The same foresight and 
care that had always characterized 'Mr. Barnett's operations, here resulted 
in such continued success that his many friends were surprised when he 
again sold out. 

In 1896, Mr. Barnett had come to Fresno County and, two years later, 
having disposed of his Oregon ranch, moved here permanently. The first 
year he had a vineyard and orchard east of Fresno, but in 1897 he located 
at Centerville and there formed a partnership with an aunt, Mrs. Darius 
Reese. While thus occupied, he sowed the first alfalfa seen at Center- 
ville ; and having well irrigated the land, his labors were crowned with 
success. He started a dairy, developed it until he had ninety cows, and 
built a creamery — the first thereabouts — and otherwise expanded. During 
this time, he was one of the organizers of the Sanger Creamery; he built the 
first creamery there, and was its first president. 

Soon after Mr. Barnett dissolved partnership, he sold his holding and 
located in Fresno. Here he engaged in plumbing and pipe-fitting under 
the firm name of Barnett, Rock & Co. ; but at the end of two years he 
disposed of that business to again take up farming. He leased a dairy ranch 
on East Avenue, and managed it, with some twenty cows. Out of this 
grew the Fresno Cooperative Stock and Dairy Company, of which Mr. 
Barnett was president and manager. They leased a ranch on the slough, 
twenty-three miles southwest of Fresno, and there they had nine sections 
of upland, with 700 acres in alfalfa. They milked 200 cows and raised high- 
grade cattle. This dairy business the company continued until 1911, when it 
sold out and dissolved the concern. 

Mr. Barnett then came to Barstow and leased an alfalfa farm ; and there 
for three years he engaged in the dairy business. In 1914, however, he saw 
the opportunity to buy his present place, and now he has thirty-two and a 
half acres near the Barstow school-house. He has three acres of peaches, 
and the balance planted to alfalfa, under the Herndon canal. He has a 
finely-appointed dairy of forty-seven milch cows, mostly of the Holstein 
breed. With eight others, Mr. Barnett organized the Fresno Coopera- 
tive Dairy Association for the purpose of running a truck to deliver their 
products in Fresno. Mr. Barnett owns the truck, and the venture has been 
successful. 

In Kansas, Mr. Barnett was married on February 22, 1887, to Miss Cora 
Moorhead, a native of Indiana, the daughter of Henry D. and Elizabeth 
(La Rue) Moorhead. Mrs. Barnett's parents were natives of Ohio, who 
migrated to Indiana and farmed there ; her father served in the Civil War 
in an Indiana Regiment. Mr. and Mrs. Barnett have a daughter, Bessie. 

Mr. Barnett was a member of the local board of education in Kansas 
for a couple of terms, and was also twice constable. Popular everywhere, 
Mr. and Mrs. Barnett are especially so in the circles of the Fraternal Brother- 
hood, of which they are members. 

S. W. WALTZ. — A successful, highly respected farmer and viticultur- 
ist, who has a fine ranch property and knows how to take good care of it, 
is S. W. Waltz, who came to Fresno County in the great boom year of 1887. 
Thirty years before, on February 20, he was born at Vevay, Switzerland 
County, Ind., the son of Joseph Waltz, a native of Pennsylvania, who settled 
in Indiana and grew to be one of the prosperous farmers there. He married 
Burry A. Courtney, a daughter of the Hoosier State, a woman of character 
and amiability, who became the mother of ten children, seven of whom are 
still living. Joseph Waltz died in 1885, and Mrs. Waltz died later. 

The voungest in the family, and the only one in California, S. W. Waltz 
was brought up on a farm and attended the public school. When he was 
twelve years of age he began to do farm work in earnest, driving the teams 



1608 HISTORY OF FRESNO COUNTY 

and helping get in the harvest; and after the death of his father he continued 
to work on the home farm and to assist his mother, until she died. 

Before coming to California, Mr. Waltz was married in Indiana to Miss 
Australia Chittenden, a native of that state, who had relatives here. On his 
arrival he went to work in the vineyards, and in 1891 he bought his present 
place of twenty acres in the Scandinavian Colony, six miles northeast of 
Fresno, which he improved in many ways. He built a residence and barn, 
set out a fine vineyard of Malaga, Thompson, Sultana and wine grapes, and 
planted some of the land to alfalfa. The ranch is under the Gould Ditch, 
and profits from almost perfect irrigation. Mr. Waltz takes a keen interest 
in all that pertains to his departments of agriculture, and is one of the 
livest members of the California Associated Raisin Company. 

In February, 1892, Mr. Waltz' wife breathed her last. Later, Mt. Waltz 
married a second time, his bride on this occasion being Mrs. Nellie (Hender") 
Trevathan, a native daughter born near Solbyville, Merced County. By her 
Mr. Waltz has had two children — Harry Roy and Dorris. By her first mar- 
riage Mrs. Waltz had one child, Clifford Trevathan, who resides near Ker- 
man. Mr. Waltz belongs to Fresno Lodge. No. 186, I. O. O. F. He is also 
a member and Past Chief Patriarch of the Encampment and belongs to the 
Canton ; and both Mr. and Mrs. Waltz are members of the Rebekahs. 

Public-spirited and ever interested in all that makes for the improve- 
ment of the neighborhood, and particularly for the advancement of the cause 
of education. Mr. Waltz has for three years served as a school trustee of 
the Scandinavian district. In national politics he is a Republican, but in 
local administration and civic improvements he knows no party lines and 
endorses and supports the right man for the right place. 

AUGUST KRUSE. — Despite his natural love for the country of his 
birth, August Kruse believed that he saw in America still greater freedom 
and opportunity, and so crossed the seas and threw in his lot with California. 
He is the son of Henry and Frederika Kruse, well-known farmer-folk of West- 
phalia. His father began to farm as a boy. and when he was ready to ask for 
the heart and hand of Frederika Brinckmann, a member of another of the 
substantial families of that section, he had a farm to go to, and one of 
which he could well boast. Both father and mother lived to be considerably 
past the proverbial four score years, and when they died they left their chil- 
dren that most blessed heritage — a good name. 

Like his brother Henry, August Kruse was born at Enger, in West- 
phalia, but four years later, in 1863. being the next to the youngest in the 
family. He went to school until he was fourteen, getting all the hard drill of 
the local schools and enjoying the usual benefits, and then, for three years, 
he worked at farming in that vicinity, mastering as thoroughly as he could 
the various stages of agriculture as practised in Germany. When he was 
seventeen, he concluded to come to America, and having so decided, took 
passage and soon arrived in New York. He caught a glimpse of the Ameri- 
can metropolis, and then made his way west to Chicago, later coming on to 
Nebraska, where, at Fremont, in Dodge County, he labored as a farm hand 
and, in order to acquire English more rapidly, attended school part of the 
first winter. 

In 1886, Mr. Kruse made his first trip back to the old homestead in 
Germany ; and such were his descriptions of the advantages and possibilities 
of life in America that his two brothers. Henry and Gustav, together with 
August Halemeier and ten others, all friends, came with him on his return 
to Nebraska. He continued farming there with success, laid aside money. 
and in 1892 made a second trip back to his old home, later returning to 
Nebraska. 

In 1899 Mr. Kruse came to Fresno County. Cal., where he bought fifty 
acres of land on National Avenue. It was raw land ; but he leveled and 




(JHasMiLamJ^ 



HISTORY OF FRESNO COUNTY 1611 

staked it, setting out vines and caring for them, and at the same time work- 
ing for several seasons in the Bon Ton Winery. Finally, when he had greatly 
improved the place, he built his large residence and barns. He had now 
a model farm, which he operated until 1915, when he sold it at a highly com- 
plimentary figure, making a good profit by the transaction. In 1917 he bought 
his present ten acres near Clovis, and there he has since made his home, car- 
ing for his vineyard of Malagas and muscats. The same year that he bought 
this place he made a trip to Arizona and there purchased some 600 acres of 
land near Pearce, some way out from Yuma. 

Mr. Kruse is a member of the California Associated Raisin Company and 
takes a live interest in general local affairs. He is a loyal member of the 
German Lutheran Church. 

W. R. CARTER. — An enterprising ranchman, whose fine place reflects 
most creditably his scientific and practical knowledge of viticulture and horti- 
culture, is W. R. Carter, a native son hailing from the Bay Metropolis where 
so much of California history was made, and who is much interested in the 
preservation of local history. He was born on Van Ness Avenue, San Fran- 
cisco, on May 20. 1873, the son of Bernard Boucher Carter, who first saw 
the light in London, England. When only twenty-one the elder Carter left 
England and went to sea ; and for fifty or sixty years he followed a sea-faring 
life. Finally he came round the Horn in a sailer to San Francisco, and for 
a while he remained here ; then he sailed from the Golden Gate on a long 
voyage around the world. He was steward on a government transport, and 
at the time of the Russian-Japanese war, he was held in Yokohama. He 
followed the sea until he quit to engage in the bakery business on Van Ness 
Avenue, but his love for the ocean drove him forth again, and he continued 
to sail until he had to retire. Now, in his eighty-ninth year, he resides with 
his son, W. R., where he was for some years engaged in viticulture in Fresno 
County, and on the ranch where his family lived when he roamed the sea. 
Mrs. Carter was Margaret Isabelle Gill before she became the wife of B. B. 
Carter, and she was born in Ireland. Twenty years ago she died in Fresno, 
the mother of three boys and four girls, of whom two daughters are now 
dead. W. R. Carter is the second oldest. 

Having resided in San Francisco until 1881, W. R. then came to Fresno, 
where the parents bought twenty acres in the Scandinavian Colony. They 
improved the land and made it into a vineyard, and while this was going on, 
the lad went to school in the district. From a lad, therefore, he was fortunate 
in learning how to care for a vineyard ranch ; .and remaining home he was 
able to take care of the estate and manage it for his mother. When the proper 
time came, however, he pushed out for himself, and having learned both 
viticulture and horticulture, he leased a vineyard near Kearney Park and, 
striking a luck}' year, he cleared $1,500 at the first stroke. After this success, 
he wanted a place of his own ; and so he bought twenty acres in the American 
Colony, ran it as an orchard for eight years and during that time cleared 
it of debt, after which he sold it for a thousand dollars in advance of the price 
that he had paid. 

At Kearney Park, Mr. Carter was married on February 3, 1909, to Miss 
Kittie Burnham. who was born in Coffey County, Kans., the daughter of 
F. M. and Lucinda (Foote) Burnham, who came to California in 1890 and 
had a fine vineyard at Kearney. Mr. and Mrs. Carter have two children: 
Margaret Lucinda and Gladys Verna. 

After this, Mr. Carter became superintendent of the Pleasant Valley 
Stock Farm near Coalinga, owned by A. G. Wishon & Son. He continued 
in that responsible position for a year, but then returned to business for 
himself. In 1912. therefore, he bought twenty acres of alfalfa in the Barstow 
district and engaged in the raising of that commodity and stock ; but suc- 
cessful as he was in the double undertaking, his desire was still ungratified. 
He preferred, above all, a good vineyard, and a good vineyard he soon set 



1612 HISTORY OF FRESNO COUNTY 

about acquiring. A year later, having sold his stock and alfalfa ranch, he 
bought his present place of forty acres one mile west of the Barstow school, 
and there, with his usual enterprise, he is now engaged in horticulture and 
viticulture. Most of his property is set out to Thompson seedless grapes, but 
he has fifteen acres of peach trees, and in addition he leases twenty acres of 
Thompson grapes. All in all. Mr. Carter has one of the really fine ranches 
in the neighborhood, which makes it natural that he should be a stockholder 
in the California Peach Growers, Inc., and in the California Associated, Raisin 
Company. 

Always interested in the cause of popular education, Mr. Carter has 
served for four years as a member of the board of school trustees of his 
district, and for the same length of time as clerk of the board. Both Mr. and 
Mrs. Carter lend their aid in any local movement for the welfare of the com- 
munity generally; and both are members of the Fraternal Brotherhood. 

PETER OTTO NELSON. — A viticulturist who is a hustler and has 
always made a success of whatever he has undertaken, and who is not only 
absorbed in his own plans but is greatly interested in the development and 
prosperity of Fresno County, is Peter Otto Nelson, a native of Oeland, Sweden, 
where he was born on February 6, 1870. His father was Nels P. Peterson, 
a farmer there. Peter was reared a farmer's boy, and attended the public 
schools; and he continued to work on a farm, acquiring a most practical 
training in the usual lines of agriculture, until he was seventeen, when he 
made the decision to leave Sweden and make his way as best he could to 
America and far-famed California. He crossed the ocean and the continent 
in safety, and reached San Francisco, in December, 1887. From there he 
went to Greenwood or Elk, where he entered the employ of the L. E. White 
Lumber Company. Later he worked in the shingle mill of the same con- 
cern, and after six months secured a position in the service of Jim Poland, on 
Salmon Creek, where he remained for two years. He then went to Caspar 
and began work for the Caspar Lumber Company, where he became an ex- 
pert sawyer, and for fifteen years he was a valued employee of this firm. 
While there he served as a trustee of the Caspar school district. On leaving 
the Caspar interests he accepted a position as sawyer with the Albion Lum- 
ber Company, which he continued to fill for four years. 

In 1907, Mr. Nelson removed to Fresno County with the ambition to 
engage in viticulture ; and for that purpose he bought a twenty-acre vine- 
yard in the Granville district. He secured some three-year-old vines, cared 
well for them, and added others; built a fine residence and several additional 
outbuildings ; and made many desirable improvements. Later he bought 
twenty acres adjoining his property, and now he has a fine pumping plant 
and a home place of forty acres, set out to muscat, Malaga, Empire and 
Thompson Seedless grapes. He also has a twenty-acre vineyard of muscat 
vines, a half mile to the south on Ventura Avenue, and owns besides forty 
acres of land in the Kutner Colony on McCall Road. This he is setting out to 
vineyards of grapes for shipping, and to figs. He is a member of the Cali- 
fornia Associated Raisin Company and of the California Peach Growers, Inc 

While at Caspar, Mr. Nelson was married to Miss Louise Anderson, a 
native of Oeland, by whom he has had nine children. Walter is in the United 
States Service ; Ellen, now Mrs. Parker, lives on Belmont Avenue ; Archie 
is at home, as are Mabel, Ruth, Harry, Harriette, Arna and Roy. The famih 
attend the Lutheran Church. In matters of national politics Mr. Nelson is 
a loyal Republican, and has done good service in party lines; but he is oiu 
of those citizens who cast party politics to the winds when local issues are 
at stake, and who support the best men and the best measures. He has done 
good service as a trustee of the Granville district. Fraternally, he is a mem- 
ber of the Eagles. 




zitLA*. e^ /3>wl e&>c<^ 



HISTORY OF FRESNO COUNTY 1615 

GEORGE DANIELSEN. — A successful horticulturist and viticulturist, 
and a man who has been very active in the development of his section of 
Fresno County, inasmuch as he has owned several places and through his 
intelligent efforts converted them from unimproved to productive ranches, 
is George Danielsen, who has been a resident of Fresno County since 1893. 
He was born in that portion of Denmark which was wrested from the little 
nation by the Germans. He is the son of George and Mata Danielsen, who 
were the parents of eight children : Helen ; Christina ; George ; Annie ; 
Andrew ; Ros ; Enger ; and Catherine. Seven of the children and the parents 
came to this country, and the father and mother passed away in Fresno 
County. 

George Danielsen first saw the light of day on February 2, 1868. being 
born under the German flag, a fact which he thoroughly regrets, as he is 
now a loyal citizen of the United States of America, having been naturalized 
in 1894, and liberally contributes his bit to the furtherance of all enterprises 
to build up county, state and nation. In 1885 he immigrated to the United 
States and after his arrival located for one year in Michigan and later moved 
to Texas. He joined the United States regular army and after serving one 
year he was discharged because of his being a minor. In 1893, he came to 
Fresno County, Cal., where he soon purchased sixty acres of land and 
besides owned an interest in eighty acres. He improved part of each ranch 
and when they were in good condition he placed them on the market and sold 
them, then he purchased his present ranch, which is a highly improved place 
both in land and buildings. In 1915, he built an attractive and comfortable 
residence which is an ornament to the neighborhood. His ranch is located 
four and one-half miles south of Sanger and is devoted to apricots, peaches, 
vines and other small fruit. He is a stockholder in both the Raisin and Peach 
Growers Associations. 

In 1902, Mr. Danielsen was united in marriage with Miss Mary Nielsen, 
the daughter of S. Nielsen of Denmark, and this union has been blessed 
with two children: George J. and Caroline G. An agriculturist who lives 
in close touch with the true source of all things good, and sees His wonderful 
power manifested in nature, is George Danielsen. He and his family are 
members of the Danish Lutheran Church. 

PIERRE BOUCAU. — A very successful viticulturist, whose studious 
habits, years of hard work and self-denial, foresight, and willingness to invest 
in order that he might reap have at last been rewarded with a comfortable 
independence, is Pierre Boucau, who was born near Pau, Basses-Pyrenees, 
France, on June 3, 1862, the son of Pierre Boucau, a native of that same re- 
gion and for over a score of years a soldier in the French army. He served 
with distinction at Sebastopol, and also went through the campaigns in 
Mexico ; and only at the expiration of twenty-one years did he return to his 
home. In that vicinity he became the superintendent of a large farm, and 
having rounded out a very useful life, he died in 1882. His devoted wife, who 
was Rose Mendau before her marriage, was also born in the neighborhood, 
and there she died, the mother of seven children, of whom our subject is 
the only one living. 

Pierre Boucau was fortunate in being reared in sunny France and there 
acquiring both a knowledge of and liking for certain lines of work ; for when 
he was only eight years old he began making his own way on farms. His dis- 
advantage was his limited chance for schooling; but this handicap he has 
made good, in part, since coming to America. For a year he also served in 
the French army; and when he had secured an honorable discharge he left 
France and Europe to cross the wide ocean. 

In December. 1882, he arrived in Fresno, and went to work on Birkhead 
Ranch, dividing his time, for four and a half years, between ranching and 
working in town. At the end of that period, he bought 1,700 ewes for sixty 



1616 HISTORY OF FRESNO COUNTY 

cents a head ; but the next spring, pasturage being scarce, he started to cross 
the mountains and was caught and penned in by a snow-storm, and lost every 
sheep that he had. This gave him a serious set-back, but it by no means de- 
stroyed his courage or prevented him from pushing forward again. He 
bought five acres in the Easterby Colony and began to try his hand there at 
viticulture. He also worked for others, and took contracts for pruning. This 
outside service extended over a period of twenty years, and in that time he 
was in the employ of John Dickie at his Margherita vineyard, and at St. 
George's vineyard, where he sometimes had charge of seventy-five hands. 
He bought more land, until he had a vineyard of forty acres, which by hard 
work he made one of the attractive properties on Tulare Avenue. 

In 1905 Mr. Boucau bought his present ranch of sixty acres. It was raw 
land when he took hold of it; but he saw there what others had failed to dis- 
cover, its possibilities for the growing of the grape, and with his experience 
of years in the service of others he set it out with vines. Now he has five 
acres sown to alfalfa ; but the most of the acreage is devoted to grapes, 
and most of the grapes grown are for wine. He also owns twenty acres ad- 
joining, and this he purposes making of equal or greater value by wise hus- 
bandry. He has supported every movement tending to develop the state's 
industries, and has been particularly devoted to the interests of the Califor- 
nia Associated Raisin Company, of which he is an active member. One in- 
vestment has fostered another, and he also owns valuable property in Fresno. 

Mr. Boucau has been twice married. In 1888. at Yisalia. he was joined 
to Miss Eulalia Huntas, who came from the same town in France that claimed 
her husband's birth ; and by her he has had three children: Marie, now Mrs. 
Domesta, who lives near Caruthers ; Rosa, or Mrs. Ellis, residing in Kern 
County: and Victory, now Mrs. Valentine, of Fresno. Mrs. Boucau died in 
March. 1906, on their home place, in which she had come to take such a 
fond interest. While he was on a visit to his old home in France, some eight 
years ago, where he remained amid the scenes of his youth for ten months, 
he married a second time, choosing Leontine Changuett, a native of the same 
vicinity, for his wife. 

As far as he has been able, Mr. Boucau has familiarized himself with 
American ways, and few if any of his fellow citizens surpass him in a love 
for his adopted country and a live interest in its political welfare. Generally, 
he votes with the party which, in his independent view, he believes most 
likely to accomplish the greatest good ; but in local politics he never con- 
siders party, and only regards the man and the issue of the hour. 

IVY WATSON SHARP.— A viticulturist who has been successful be- 
cause of his varied experience in all departments of his field, and because he 
studies ordinary, every-day details, is Ivy Watson Sharp, the superintendent 
of the Rogers vineyards, where he has some 700 acres under his supervision. 
He was born in Shelbyville, Tenn., September 17, 1878, the son of William 
Sharp, a native of Scotland, who sailed from that land for the United States 
when he was six years of age but lost his parents on the voyage, and so 
arrived in Tennessee an orphan. There he was reared by his grandmother 
Sharp, and in time he married Mary Raby, a native of that state, of Scotch 
descent. The father is now dead, while the mother resides on the old farm 
near Petersburg, Tenn. There were ten children in the family, one of whom, 
Clifford, was accidentally killed in the San Francisco railroad disaster in 1917. 

The second eldest in the family. Ivy W., was reared on a farm and 
attended the public school. After the death of his father, who passed away 
while the son was in his twentieth year, he continued to help his mother on 
the farm. Later he went to Alabama ; but finding it so malarial there that his 
health suffered through the change, he looked for relief in California. On 
September 3, 1903, he arrived in Fresno. For a while he was employed in 
the Wallace vineyard in Temperance Colony, and there he learned the art 
of setting out and propagating vines, and caring for them generally. He liked 



HISTORY OF FRESNO COUNTY 1617 

the work and for nine years continued with the same ranch, then resigning 
to associate himself with the Sperry Flour Mill in Fresno. 

As early as 1906 Mr. Sharp made his first trip back to Tennessee, and 
five years later he returned there again, this time bringing his mother, two 
sisters and a brother to Fresno, where the mother lived until in 1917, when 
she returned to Tennessee. The pleasure she derived from this filial act 
has ever since given him the greatest satisfaction. 

Following his engagement with the Sperry mill, Mr. Sharp became a 
motorman for the Fresno Traction Company; but at the end of six weeks 
he resigned and accepted his present post as superintendent of the Rogers 
vineyards. He makes his headquarters on the ranch near the Belmont and 
McCall roads, and from there goes out to survey the three ranches for which 
he is responsible. In 1917-1918 he set out about 200 acres in a new vine- 
yard, and he has also grafted 125 acres to different varieties. In 1919 he 
bought twenty acres of unimproved land, a part of the Waverly ranch. 

At Fresno, in 1912, Mr. Sharp was married to Miss Vertie Arnold, a 
native of Shelbyville, Tenn., and a lady of talent and charm ; and by her he 
had one child, a daughter named Mary Louise. Mrs. Sharp died in March, 
1915. Mr. Sharp belongs to Fresno Lodge, No. 343, I. O. O. F. In politics 
he is a Democrat. 

ERNEST T. WILSON.— A self-made man who has become an influen- 
tial leader, is Ernest T. Wilson, the longest resident in his vicinity in the 
Barstow section, who returned to his native home in 1907 only to appreciate 
more than ever his California home and all the advantages of Fresno County. 
He was born on May 3, 1878, in Ralls County, Mo., the son of J. Henry Wil- 
son, a native of that state, who is still a prosperous farmer near New London. 
He had married Margaret Farrell, another Missourian, who is also happily 
still living, the mother of seven children, six of whom are spared to her. 

The second oldest of these, Ernest T. is the only one in California, and 
his success in recent years is due in part to the good grounding he received 
in the public school of his neighborhood, and the practical training that was 
his on his father's farm. By 1895 he began to work at agriculture for him- 
self, but hearing that the extreme West afforded better opportunities, he 
moved to Wyoming in 1899. Eight months of life and work there, however, 
led him back to Missouri, but convinced that California had something to 
offer that he had not yet discovered, he came West once more, and in October, 
1900, reached Fresno County. 

He was fortunate in having here a former friend, J. F. Myers, foreman 
on the Sharon estate, and for eighteen months he worked there under him 
in the dairy. Then he engaged with Myers & Emery to farm for grain and 
for a year took charge of their ranch ; and having given entire satisfaction, 
he put in a second year in the same place. He was next in the employ of 
the Southern Pacific Railroad, pumping water at Kerman, but tiring of the 
loneliness of the place at that time, where he saw only the depot and the 
section house, for three and a half miles round about, he quit and came to 
Barstow district. 

Here Mr. Wilson bought from Ben Epstein thirty-two and a half acres 
of raw land along the San Joaquin River, and set out six acres of orchard 
and five acres of vineyard. He put in alfalfa and continued the development 
for three years ; and then he sold his place at a profit. He next bought his 
forty acres in the Barstow Colony, and soon made a fine orchard and a vine- 
yard. He had fifteen acres of alfalfa, and engaged in dairying for some years. 
Seven acres of peaches and twelve acres of vines made a picture decidedly 
pleasing to the eye. In 1918, he also bought twenty acres on Valentine and 
Church Avenues in the Madison district, which he set out as a vineyard. On 
the forty-acre tract he built a residence, made all the needed improvements 
in yard and other buildings, and after creating a valuable property he sold 



1618 HISTORY OF FRESNO COUNTY 

it at a big profit in the spring of 1919, and moved to his Madison ranch 
where he is improving another vineyard. 

In the Empire Colony, Mr. Wilson was married to Miss Ellen Esbjorn- 
son. a native of Fowler, Cal., and the daughter of Ole Esbjornson, a farmer 
in the Madison district, and they have had three children : Lewis Henry, 
Edwin Lloyd, and Ruth Evelyn. Mr. and Mrs. Wilson belong to the 
Fraternal Brotherhood. 

Read}' at all times to aid in any good cause for the advancement of the 
community. Mr. Wilson is a Republican in national politics, and has done 
good service in raising the standard of civic ideals. He also gives hearty 
support to the California Peach Growers, Inc., and the California Associated 
Raisin Company. 

O. D. LYON. — Perhaps no man in California has done more to induce 
homeseekers to migrate from the Southern and Mid-Western states and 
locate in Fresno County, especially that section adjacent to Reedley, than 
Judge O. D. Lyon. He is a native of West Virginia, where he was born in 
1860. His parents, Thomas D. and Mary (Clark) Lyon, migrated to Illinois 
in 1864 and settled near Bloomington. afterwards removing to Nebraska. 
Their home was blessed with eight children, O. D. Lyon being the seventh 
in order of birth. His preliminary education was supplemented by attending 
the Mount Morris Seminary at Mount Morris, 111., from which school he was 
graduated in 1882. In his early manhood he taught school for a while, and 
afterwards held several important and responsible positions in Nebraska. 
For two terms he was the county superintendent of schools of Cheyenne 
County : twice he was appointed postmaster at Sidney, Cheyenne County ; 
and he also served as assessor and deputy county clerk. 

Judge Lyon has been very active and enthusiastic in promoting the 
growth and development of Fresno County since 1904, the year of his coming 
to Reedley, which was then but a hamlet of seventy-five souls. He is espe- 
cially interested in the development of unimproved lands and has been 
actively engaged in intensifying the interest of the ranchers in a more 
extensive range of agriculture. In this movement he has been successful, 
but not to the degree of his highest desires. Having been closely connected, 
in a business way, with both the Southern Pacific and the Santa Fe Railways, 
he was instrumental in securing special terms and profitable inducements 
for homeseekers contemplating location in the Golden State. As a result of 
these arrangements the county of Fresno, and especially the town of Reedley, 
have made rapid strides in population, and with the growth in population 
have come its attendant and beneficent results, increased wealth and im- 
proved lands. Cultivated ranches are now to be seen reaching nearly to the 
foot-hills of the Sierra Nevada Mountains. Judge Lyon continued in the 
land improvement business until 1910, at which time he was persuaded by 
his many friends to seek election as justice of the peace for Reedley. He was 
elected by a large majority and is the present incumbent of that important 
office. Judge Lyon is well and favorably known in the county, and is highly 
respected for his integrity of character. 

O. D. Lyon was united in marriage in 1883, with Miss Catherine A. 
Suavely, the daughter of M. Y. and Sarah Suavely. This union was blessed 
with four children. Myrtle F. is now Mrs. Cree. Ruby C. is Mrs. Caskey. 
Carleton B. responded to the call of his country and served as second lieu- 
tenant and later as captain, in the United States Army. Captain Lyon was 
honorablv discharged in December, 1018, and is retained in the Reserve 
Corps. He is now again with the Standard Oil Companv at Porterville. 
The other of the four children is Catherine. Fraternally, Judge Lyon is a 
member of the Knights of Pythias, the Modern Woodmen of America, and 
ili. Woodmen of the World. Religiously, he is an Episcopalian; and politi- 
cally, he supports the Republican party. 



HISTORY OF FRESNO COUNTY 1621 

STEPHEN N. MITROVITCH.— Prominent among those Californians 
by adoption, who worked hard to usher in the horticultural and viticultural 
era of Fresno County which first assumed importance in the eighties and 
which since then has become the principal industry of the county, bringing 
millions annually to the producers, is Stephen N. Mitrovitch. who came to 
Fresno from his native Jugoslavia, when he was twenty-one years old, and 
has since then toiled to improve conditions here and to build up the export 
trade. He was born in Dalmatia, on January 7, 1859, and through his birth 
and earh' training, inherited an experience and a fund of knowledge that 
proved of great value when he took his part in the development of the Golden 
State. 

Arriving just before the great "boom" in California, Mr. Mitrovitch was 
employed as assistant superintendent by George \Y. Mead, father of the raisin 
industry in this State — for it was Mr. Mead who induced the importation of 
vine-cuttings from Smyrna and the planting of the first vineyards. Later Mr. 
Mitrovitch suggested that fig-cuttings be imported from Dalmatia and planted 
as borders around the vineyards, and also that mulberry trees be so brought 
in and distributed, and soon a few vineyards were enriched by the ever-pro- 
ductive White Adriatic Figs. Among the first vineyards so treated were those 
of Colonel Forsyth, Logan, John Pugh. Alex. Gordon, Archie Grant, Eotler, 
Denikey's Del Monte, as well as Roeding's vineyard and orchard, and Frank 
Ball's ranch. 

Later, when the raisin vines commenced to bear, both Mr. Mead and Mr. 
Mitrovitch personally directed the picking and drying of the fruit. About this 
time. Mead's Packing House was erected at the corner of G and Ventura 
Streets, and Mr. Mitrovitch superintended the packing and grading of the 
raisins — then the only fruit-packing in that vicinity; for Mead's was the only 
packing house in the county until 1888. The raisin industry, however, grew 
rapidly, and each spring additional vineyards were planted. In 1889 a new 
departure was made when Mr. Mitrovitch, in response to his home-folks in 
Dalmatia, received an ounce and a half of silk-worm eggs, and Mr. Mead 
allowed him the use of the packing-house for the purpose of raising silk and 
introducing sericulture — for the first time — into this State. In April and May 
of that year. Mead's packing-house was turned into a real cocoonery, and 
twelve girls were employed to feed the worms, while two teams were kept 
busy gathering mulberry leaves, to feed the stock. As soon as the worms 
began to spin themselves into cocoons, the event was heralded by the news- 
papers, and thousands of visitors, from throughout the Valley and even from 
Los Angeles and San Francisco, came to see the wonderful sight. Mr. Mi- 
trovitch produced six hundred pounds of very best raw silk in 1889, but as no 
one in the United States would buy raw silk cocoons, the experiment was a 
commercial failure. 

In course of time, the young fig trees already mentioned were ready to 
bear, however small the crops, and naturally Mr. Mitrovitch turned his" at- 
tention to the fig industry, then in its infancy. He offered to buy Colonel 
Forsyth's crop, but the Colonel declined to sell, saying that Mitrovitch would 
greatly oblige him if he would take the fruit away from his vineyard, because 
the preceding year's crop had caused trouble after the Fall rains, even produc- 
ing pestilence in his neat vineyard, and declaring that he would soon uproot 
every tree, and plant shade-trees in their place. Mr. E. Kennedy, the Colonel's 
northern neighbor, said the same thing. Despite these refusals, Mr. Mitro- 
vitch bought and harvested the fig-crops that year on Kennedy's, Forsyth's, 
and Egger's vineyard, as well as at John Pugh's, Gordon's, Grant's, Frank 
Ball's and Botler's. 

And here may be related a special chapter of the vicissitudes of the early 
fig industry in California. Martin Denikey refused to negotiate for his crop 
of figs on the Del Monte vineyard, stating that he had a man who would 



1622 HISTORY OF FRESNO COUNTY 

harvest, cure and pack them for him, working on salary. This man, Prof. V. 
Vlahusich, gathered in the Del Monte figs at a cost of 6 cents a pound, cured 
them at a cost of 2y' 2 cents a pound, and then packed them at a cost of 5 cents 
a pound, making a total cost to pick, cure and pack of \2> l /> cents a pound. 
They were picked when mature enough to be eaten green, and each picker 
was furnished with a step-ladder and a specially made basket, and special 
trays were made for sulphuring and drying them. The figs were picked with 
difficulty and caution, often under the personal direction of Professor Vlahu- 
sich, who even pointed "out the figs to the pickers, who brought them into the 
yard, spread them out, one by one, in symmetrical fashion, with the mouth 
sky-ward, and the trays were left in the sulphur for twelve hours. While 
these figs were drying, men went over the trays twice daily, and turned 
each one over ; but as they had not been mature enough when picked, the 
figs turned pink and dark — a good deal like liver — and they became rocky- 
dry. The Del Monte production of that year had been consigned by Denikey 
to John Demartini & Co., commission merchants in San Francisco, at a 
limited price of 25 cents a pound ; while the famous silky Smyrna figs, im- 
ported from Asia, were being sold at only 10 cents a pound. A few months 
after these Denikey figs were on the market, and unsold, they fermented and 
the dark syrup of figs ran out everywhere ; on which account Martin Denikey 
lost the entire crop, as well as the money spent in picking, curing and pack- 
ing in a way that no one ever heard of before. On the other hand. Mr. 
Mitrovitch harvested and packed his figs at a cost of 3 l /i cents a pound, 
and he shipped them to Jonas Erlanger & Co., of San Francisco, uncondi- 
tionally consigned ; and they were all promptly sold at the price of the im- 
ported Smyrnas — 10 cents a pound. The Fresno papers boomed the enter- 
prise, and Mr. Mitrovitch was proclaimed the "Fig King," which title he 
maintained for many years. Farmers, instead of uprooting their trees, planted 
more 'White Adriatics. Especially during four years, when he had no com- 
petition, Mr. Mitrovitch packed the figs on each farm where they grew, and 
in the way in which the celebrated figs from abroad are treated, using no 
grader, steam or any kind of machinery, and quite unlike the steaming method 
of the big packing-houses, where the fruit is spoiled both in look and taste. 
Such was his success, in fact, that when, in 1893, he exhibited his Adriatic 
figs at the World's Columbian Exposition in Chicago, the AA Gold Medal 
was awarded to him for the best cured and packed White Adriatic figs, in 
competition with the world, and later he was awarded the AA Premium 
Gold Medal by the Midwinter Exposition in San Francisco. 

Serious competition, however, began in 1893, when certain persons 
bought from Mr. Mitrovitch the part of the crop injured by the first rain in 
the harvesting season — a lot of some twenty tons, which he had condemned 
and abandoned, claiming, when they made the purchase, that they intended 
to use them for hog-feed. Just prior to this, Mr. Mitrovitch had erected his 
fig-packing house on Mono, near H Street, and as it was a novelty in the 
town, it was visited by many persons, including those who made the afore- 
said purchase. A few days later, some girl packers quit their job, together 
with a man overseeing the work ; and they were immediately employed by 
the new competitors, who opened a supposed "carpet-cleaning shop" and 
there packed the "hog-feed" for the fig market. Even the boxes and the rib- 
bons were imitated, and the output was surreptitiously smuggled into San 
Francisco by the great "Borax Smith mule team" passing through Fresno 
and supposed to be engaged in another business. These inferior figs were 
offered the San Francisco public at 35 cents a box of ten pounds, while 
Mitrovitch's figs were selling at $1 per box. The doctored-up figs, it was 
reported, could not be sold at any price and the board of health ordered that 
they be dumped into the harbor or returned to Fresno for real hog-feed ; 
but it is declared that the manipulator cleverly saved himself from total 



HISTORY OF FRESNO COUNTY 1623 

loss by palming off the cargo as an imitation of chickory and a substitute 
for coffee. 

For a good while Mr. Mitrovitch held seventy per cent, of the total fig 
products hereabouts, and had bought land and planted his own fig orchard ; 
and by hard work in and out of the Chamber of Commerce, he alone saved 
and developed the California fig industry, and introduced the cured figs 
1 into the eastern markets by systematizing the harvesting and packing meth- 
ods, thereby diminishing the expense. Disaster overtook him, however, in 
the well-remembered hard times when Coxie's "Army" marched upon Wash- 
ington. D. C. Mr. Mitrovitch had bought three hundred tons of figs on the 
trees, and had paid for them, and laid out the harvesting and packing ex- 
penses of the laborers, but, owing to the business depression, the figs, like 
the grapes on the market, could not be sold that year, and when he tried to 
make fig brandy, the government would not issue him a license. His losses 
that year, therefore, were over $30,000 — a sum large enough to crush many 
a less resolute soul. What kind of first-class citizen-stuff, however, is in this 
naturalized American may be seen from some of the subsequent events in 
his career. 

Mr. Mitrovitch was married in 1891, and two boys and two girls — making 
now six voters in the family — blessed the union. He also came to have his 
own home in the city of Fresno, but when, in 1912, the Balkan War was de- 
clared by Montenegro in her move against Turkey, Mr. Mitrovitch left his 
wife and children here and volunteered to campaign against the Turks. In 
1914 he returned to Fresno, and the Morning Republican, among other news- 
papers in the state, gave him this most flattering notice : "When twenty- 
one members of the local Serbian colony left for the Balkan War in October, 
1912, they were joined by S. N. Mitrovitch. a well-known Fresno resident, 
who had seen service before in the War against Turkey in 1877. Mr. Mitro- 
vitch returned to Fresno last Thursday, after having served throughout the 
late war, and he is the first of the local Serbians to return. Because of his 
knowledge of languages, he gained many distinctive honors while in the 
service of Montenegro, and was decorated with the Cross of the Order of 
Prince Danilo I. for bravery and patriotic service rendered to the people of 
Montenegro. During the greater part of his time in the war he acted as an 
interpreter for General Martinovich, Minister of War for Montenegro ; and 
his duties under the Minister of War brought him in constant touch with 
the military attaches of different nations, including the son of General Nelson 
A. Miles, who was present as the representative of the United States. Mr. 
Mitrovitch, who was with the battalion of American volunteers for about 
three and one-half months, was on the firing line under the very walls of 
the Turkish stronghold at Scutari, when he was suddenly taken ill with 
pneumonia. Later, he was assigned to the general staff as interpreter. He 
also acted as post-office censor for all Italian and English mail." 

Six months after Mr. Mitrovitch's return from the war, he finished a 
manuscript of about two hundred thousand words, in English, narrating his 
experiences in the exciting campaigns in which he participated ; and the book 
was to have been published by Macmillan & Co., at New York. The title 
was, "An American Citizen Volunteer in the Balkan War," but the outbreak 
-of the great European War, overshadowing all else, led the publishers to 
decline what otherwise they would have bidden for. 

In 1917, when the United States declared war against Germany, and the 
call for volunteers was issued by the president, Mr. Mitrovitch, although 
fifty-eight years of age, promptly offered his services to the Secretary of 
War, pointing with pride to his record in two wars against the Turks, and 
his citizenship of thirty years in America ; and this offer was gracefully 
acknowledged by the government. He also volunteered to campaign with 
Roosevelt against the enemy, and his generous and heroic willingness was 
looked upon with pleasure by the hero of the Spanish-American War. Al- 



1624 HISTORY OF FRESNO COUNTY 

though he himself could not go to the front, two of his sons — Milan, in his 
twenty-seventh year, an electrician of note, serving in the engineering corps, 
and Stephen, Jr., aged twenty, who went with the aviation forces — bore the 
good name of Mitrovitch to the firing line, along with the colors they fought 
to defend. 

Mr. Mitrovitch is also known for his patriotic political writings con- 
tributed not only to the American press, but to the leading Serbo-Croatian , 
newspapers in this country and abroad. He has held a forceful brief for the 
Jugo-Slavs, and he has been active in organizing two societies, the "All- 
Slavonic," in 1904. and the "Wreath."' three years later, for the purpose of 
uniting all Slavs in America into one benevolent association, to help the 
sick and bury the dead, to promote love and peace, to improve their social 
relations, to stimulate a love toward this great country of their adoption, to 
keep alive the love toward the country of their origin, to advance the intel- 
lectual, moral and material welfare of the members, and to assist them to 
get and hold property, and to borrow or lend. When a lecture was given 
against the King of Montenegro at the Serbian Congress in San Francisco, 
in May. 1910. Mr. Mitrovitch fearlessly took issue with the lecturer, Simo 
Skobaitch, and even carried the matter into the courts, so that the Serbian 
Herald was obliged to retract and publish one of the strongest editorial 
apologies ever printed on the Pacific Coast. As the result of so much cam- 
paigning for political freedom and for what he regards as truth, Mr. Mitro- 
vitch numbers among his political enemies many chauvinistic Serbs — but that 
is one of the matters of which this doughty Serbian-Californian is very proud. 

EMIL F. KAISER. — A progressive and prominent orchardist and vine- 
yardist who has contributed much toward the advancement of horticulture 
and viticulture in Central California is Emil F. Kaiser, a native of France, 
where he was born in 1867, and where he spent much of his childhood. He 
is the son of Emanuel and Christina Kaiser, worthy parents who did the 
best they could for their family, and who enjoyed everybody's esteem. In 
1879, the Kaisers left the continent for America, and after arriving at Xew 
York City the first serious separation took place. Emil and his brother Guss 
set out on horseback across the great American Continent, investigating the 
possibilities in different states, and did not pull rein until they reached 
California. In Fresno they purchased land in the Kearney tract. On their 
report of being pleased with the soil, climate and conditions in California, 
their brother John joined them, and soon became superintendent for M. 
Theodore Kearney. The brothers assisted in leveling and grading the 
Kearney lands, as well as in sowing alfalfa and planting orchards and vine- 
yards. To Emil Kaiser fell the lot of setting out all the trees on one side 
of Kearney Avenue and for half of the distance on the other side : and there 
is nothing in which Mr. Kaiser takes more keen enjoyment than in his fre- 
quent trips out Kearney Boulevard, now grown to be famous as one of the 
most beautiful country drives, not only in California, but in the United 
States. Besides this, the brothers farmed and improved their ranch. 

In 1900 the brothers made the trip to Alaska, where for a time they 
were mining at Nome. On his return from the frozen North. Emil F. Kaiser 
again took to ranching. Still later he set up in business in Fresno, and he 
yet maintains his commercial interests there. He is actively identified with 
the Chamber of Commerce, leaves no stone unturned to "boost" everything 
that it endorses, and never tires of advancing the interests of the city. 
Politically, though long a live-wire Democrat. Mr. Kaiser never limits his 
support, especially in local issues, to purely Democratic measures- 

On April 18. 1895, Mr. Kaiser and Miss Elizabeth Wendt became husband 
and wife, and now three boys and three girls enliven their family hearth: 
Leona, a graduate of Heald's Business College; Emil J., of the automobile 
repair firm of Kaiser & Willever; Guss. who has just returned from service 
in the United States Navy; Vera, attending Fresno High School; and Florian 




^&^if^/fz*-\ 



HISTORY OF FRESNO COUNTY 1627 

and Lawrence. All of the children make their home under the parental roof, 
excepting Emil J., who is married and resides in his own home. 

In 1890 the Order of the Sons of Herman was started here, and it has 
ever since maintained a place of influence in the community, while greatly 
adding to its strength. Mr. Kaiser is now Grand President of the State of 
California division, an honor he duly appreciates. He also belongs to the 
Eagles, the Owls, and the Foresters. 

HARRY CLYDE BASEY.— A young man who has demonstrated his 
ability as a viticulturist and horticulturist, is Harry C. Basey, a native of 
Iowa, where he was born near Oskaloosa, January 27, 1880. His father, 
George Basey, was also born in Iowa, where he was a farmer ; he removed 
to Fillmore County, Nebr., 1884, and in 1891 to Nuckolls County, the same 
state, being active as a farmer until he retired; he now lives in Edgar, Nebr. 
The mother of Harry C. was Louisa Delpha Jordan, born in Iowa and de- 
scended from an old Southern family; she is still living, the mother of eight 
sons and one daughter, the latter being deceased. 

Harry C. is the fifth in order of birth, and from the age of four was 
reared in Nebraska, reciving a good education in the public schools. When 
twenty years of age he began for himself, being employed on farms in 
Nebraska. He was married in Nuckolls County, in 1904, to Miss Garnett 
Norwood, who was born in that county. Her parents, John and Alice 
(Cody) Norwood, were early settlers and homesteaders in Nuckolls County, 
as was also grandfather Norwood, as early as 1872. 

After his marriage Mr. Basey farmed one year in Nebraska and then re- 
moved, in 1905, to Pulaski County, Mo., where he purchased a farm in the 
Ozark Mountains. Three years later he sold this and removed to Audrain 
County, Mo., where with his father-in-law, Mr. Norwood, he purchased a 
farm and successfully engaged in farming and stock-raising. 

On account of his wife's health, they sold out and came to Fresno 
County, Cal., in 1912, and Mr. Norwood and himself bought thirty acres in 
Round Mountain District. It was unimproved, but by energy and care they 
now have a beautiful ranch. Twenty-five acres are in white Adriatic figs, 
and the balance in Thompson seedless grapes. The ranch is well improved, 
being equipped with a pumping plant ample for irrigating the whole tract. 

With his wife, Mr. Basey is a member of the Christian Church in Sanger 
he being a member of the Board of Deacons. 

A. E. THOMPSON.— A veritable "hustler" who has done much to build 
up Central California, and in doing so has well built up himself, is A. E. 
Thompson, the well-known viticulturist and horticulturist, who believes that 
Fresno is the best county in the State, and that Clovis and vicinity are the 
best section in the flourishing county. Born at Hamilton, Ontario, as was his 
father, E. J. Thompson, he is the son of a farmer who came into the United 
States and Michigan, then moved to Missouri and later went back to Ontario. 
In the late eighties he reached California and Fresno, and soon after he bought 
a ranch on Millbrook Avenue. His wife, who was Elizabeth Rolstin before 
her .marriage, died in California, the mother of eight children, three of whom 
settled in this state. 

A. E. Thompson, the eldest in the family, was brought up in Canada, 
and educated in the public schools there. He remained at home until he was 
twenty-one, and then he went to Brandon, Manitoba, where he followed 
farming for a year. Meanwhile, however, he was hearing and thinking about 
the wonderful commonwealth by the Pacific. In 1888 he came to Fresno. 
He was a stranger, and without means, but he went to work on various 
ranches, part of the time for twenty dollars and board, and sometimes for 
only fifteen. He also worked eleven hours. He got ahead, however, and, as 
soon as possible, he bought five acres on Millbrook Avenue. He improved the 



1628 HISTORY OF FRESNO COUNTY 

land and sold it, and then he bought twenty acres and some city lots, which 
he also improved and sold. 

By the year 1913, Mr. Thompson had bought his present twenty acres 
of vineyard and orchard, upon which he located; and now he has a fine place, 
with an attractive residence and well-built and commodious barns, the most 
of the land set out as a vineyard or planted to alfalfa. To make his vine- 
yard, he had to take out the orchard. The Enterprise canal affords a good 
supply of water. He has ten acres of Thompson's seedless, two acres of 
other vines, two and a half acres of peaches, and the balance in orange trees. 
Mr. Thompson leases ten acres of vineyard adjoining, with which he has ex- 
ceptional success, as may be judged from the fact that he was one of the 
first, in the vicinity of Fresno, to set out Thompson's seedless — the vines of 
which, in excellent condition, are still growing. 

Mr. Thompson was married at Fresno to Miss Sarah Buck, a native of 
Ontario ; and by her he had six children : Edwin, who assists his father on the 
ranch; Dorothy, Annette, Leslie, Joseph, and Pauline. Mrs. Thompson is a 
member of the Baptist Church of Clovis. 

Successful, and a leader in the field in which he has made his modest 
fortune, Mr. Thompson is a member of the California Peach Growers, Inc., 
and also of the California Associated Raisin Company. He is a Republican, 
but in local issues he votes for the candidates most suitable. 

REV. FATHER GEORGE P. SEUBERT.— The beloved and devoted 
pastor of the Saint Anthony of Padua Catholic Church at Reedley, Cal., is 
a native of Lebanon, Pa., where he was born on January 19, 1875, a son of 
Francis A. and Margaret Seubert. He attended the parochial school at 
Lebanon until he reached the age of fourteen, after which he entered the Saint 
Vincent College at Beatty, Pa., from which institution he was graduated in 
1896. To complete his studies for the priesthood, he went to Europe, where 
he attended the University at Innsbruck, Austria, the capital city of the 
Tyrol. He remained at Innsbruck three years to finish his course, and then 
returned to the United States, and was ordained a priest on March 7. 1899, 
at Baltimore, Md. After holding various pastorates in Pennsylvania, Father 
Seubert came to California in 1905; and on November 15, 1906, he was in- 
stalled .as pastor of the church at Reedley. 

At an early period in the history of Fresno County, the congregation of 
Saint Anthony of Padua was formed as a mission under the guidance of the 
priest at Fresno. From the year 1890 until 1900 it was under the care of 
the priest stationed at Hanford, and from 1900 until November 15, 1906, it 
was still a mission and was supplied from the church at Visalia. The latter 
date is a memorable one in the history of this church, for it was then that 
the Right Rev. T. J. Conaty, D.D., Bishop of Monterey and Los Angeles, 
appointed the present efficient and consecrated priest as pastor. At that 
time there was no church building and the congregation was obliged to 
meet in halls or private homes. Subsequently a spacious site for a church 
building was purchased comprising ten lots situated on the corner of Elev- 
enth and F Streets. On October 8, 1907, excavation for the foundation was 
commenced, and on November 24, 1907, the corner-stone was laid by the 
greatly beloved Bishop Conaty, who. after the lapse of four busy years, 
which were marked by intense activity on the part of the zealous pastor, 
also dedicated the building on May 21, 1911. The edifice is regarded as one 
of the finest specimens of church architecture in Fresno County, and com- 
pares favorably with many of the churches found in larger cities. It has a 
seating capacity of 400 persons. At a very low estimate the cost of the 
structure is placed at $35,000. An interesting feature of the building, by 
which is shown the high regard in which the pastor. Father Seubert, is held 
by the citizens of Reedley, is the large clock, which was donated by non- 
Catholic citizens of the town. The gift renders a splendid service to the 



HISTORY OF FRESNO COUNTY 1629 

inhabitants of this enterprising little city, as the clock strikes the hours, 
as well as the half hours, throughout the day and night. The dial of the 
clock is four and one-half feet in diameter and is visible all over the town. 
Father Seubert erected a rectory, constructed from the same kind of 
stones as were used in the church building. This structure, now completed 
at a cost of about $10,000, is an attractive addition to the permanent buildings 
of Reedley. Much credit is due both to the loyal members who, by their 
sacrifices of both money and time, have made possible the consummation of 
this worthy work, and also to the pastor who, with untiring zeal and con- 
secrated devotion, has led his people to the triumphant completion of so 
great an undertaking. 

JOHN L. MITCHELL. — How much Selma and vicinity owe to such 
men as John L. Mitchell, the popular real estate and insurance agent, and 
notary public, may be estimated only when one is familiar with the personal 
character and exceptional equipment of the subject, factors which have made 
him, as well as his esteemed wife and family, acceptable as leaders or prime- 
movers in all circles wherein they take part. His father was Benjamin 
Mitchell, a native of Tennessee, who lived for years in Missouri as a farmer 
and died there, aged eighty-five. His mother, who was Matilda Looney be- 
fore her marriage, was a native of Alabama and came to Missouri, where she 
was married. She lived to be two years older than her husband, and when 
she passed hence, she also was mourned by a large group of friends. The 
worthy couple had fourteen children, of whom thirteen grew to maturity. 

Born at Morrisville, near Springfield, Mo., on May 9, 1853, the seventh 
son in the family and the ninth child, John attended the schools in the 
vicinity of his home, and later took a six-years' classical course at Morris- 
ville College. Having thus prepared himself with all thoroughness under the 
best of teachers for pedagogical work, Mr. Mitchell taught for a while in 
Missouri and next in Texas ; and having carried out a plan of getting some 
first-hand acquaintance with the Pacific Coast, he came to California in 1887 
and after visiting the Sacramento Valley for three months, he returned to 
Missouri on account of the death of his youngest brother. 

Mr. Mitchell has been twice married, death depriving him in the first 
instance of his gifted bride. She was Miss Sadie Scott of Oakland before her 
union, and she passed away about a year later, leaving no children. It was 
1906 when Mr. Mitchell, at Selma, chose for his wife Mrs. S. A. Wenty, 
widow of Fred Wenty, a rancher of that neighborhood. Her maiden name 
had been Sallie A. Richards, and she had come from St. Louis, where she 
was born. At the time of her second marriage, she had a daughter, Edith ; 
and this attractive young lady, who in 1917 graduated from the Selma High 
School, is now a Sophomore at the Baptist University of Redlands. 

A member of the Selma Blue Lodge of Masons, Mr. Mitchell has become 
Past Master, and he is also Past High Priest of the Chapter, and Inspector 
of the district. Mrs. Mitchell is Past Matron of the Eastern Star of Selma. 
Mr. Mitchell belongs to the Methodist Church South, while Mrs. Mitchell 
subscribes to the articles of belief of the Selma Baptist Church. 

Long a stalwart Democrat, Mr. Mitchell has served as city clerk and 
recorder of Selma two times, and both while in office and since he retired to 
take care of his numerous interests, he always has proven alive and active for 
the public good. 

In 1890, Mr. Mitchell came to California for a second time, settling at 
Selma, and a year later he bought a ranch of some forty acres and planted 
it to muscats. By a very natural process, he developed into a 'first-class 
booster, and among other organizations, he cheerfullv gives the California 
Raisin Growers' Association all possible support. In 1901 he went to Alaska 
and mined at Nome and Teller, but the irresistible lure of California drew 
him back to the happiest of all his happy hunting-grounds. 



1530 HISTORY OF FRESNO COUNTY 

Several years previously he had opened his well-known real estate and 
insurance office, and lor a long time he has dealt with great success in 
improved lands. He has also built a number of bungalows for residential 
purposes, and these he has always sold to the advantage of both himself and 
the buyer. He represents the following fire insurance companies: London 
Assurance, New Zealand, Continental, Fidelity, Phoenix, American Eagle, 
American, Glens Falls, Agricultural, Boston, and other standard old lines. 
Giving the closest attention to details, taking the most unselfish interest in 
the needs of his many patrons, and sparing no pains both to aid and to please, 
it is no wonder that John L. Mitchell succeeds in his undertakings. 

JAMES WILLIAM SIMS. — A resident of Fresno County, who inherits 
many of the characteristics of his father, Phillip W. Sims, one of the early 
and highly-honored settlers, is James William Sims, who was born in Graves 
County, Ky., on August 20, 1868, and came to Fresno on June 11. 1887. His 
father was born in Tennessee of an old Eastern family, and lived in his native 
state until his marriage. He served in the Civil War as a corporal in the Con- 
federate Army, after which he engaged in farming in Graves County. In 
1874, the family removed to Bell County, Texas, and there he raised grain 
and cotton ; then he moved to Bosque County, of the same state, and con- 
tinued farming. In 1887 the family located in Fresno city, and Mr. Sims 
followed the carpenter's trade. Now he resides near Fresno. Mrs. Sims was 
Martha J. Blythe before her marriage, and she also was born in Graves 
County, Ky., a member of an old Virginia family. Grandfather Blythe came 
from Virginia, and her mother was an Adair, of a prominent Kentucky fam- 
ily. The mother is still living and the mother of seven children, all sons, five 
of whom are living. 

J. W. Sims, the oldest of the children, spent his first six years 'on a farm 
in Texas, while he attended the public school. He learned to raise grain and 
cotton, so that when he came to Fresno he at least knew how to work. He 
assisted in the construction of the Hughes Hotel, and then for five years he 
worked for a coal and wood dealer. 

In 1892 he was married at Fresno to Miss Lucy Behunan. a native of 
Santa Rosa and the daughter of P. M. Behunan who crossed the plains in 
1848, and became a contractor and builder in Fresno, and later embarked in 
the coal and wood business. 

After marriage, Mr. Sims entered the employ of the Southern Pacific 
Railroad Company and for a while worked in the car shops : later he was 
made inspector, and five years later he was in charge of a part of the Santa 
Fe shops. At the end of three years he came back to the Southern Pacific, 
and he was nearly twelve years in all in railroad work. In the meantime, in 
1892. and while working for the Southern Pacific Railroad Company, Mr. 
Sims bought his present place of twenty acres at the corner of Clinton and 
Chittenden avenues, in Montpelier tract, located upon it and began improve- 
ments during his spare time. Besides Elberta and Muir peaches, he raises 
Thompson seedless grapes. 

Since 1909 Mr. Sims has also done much spraying. He began with a 
Myers hand pump, but three years later he bought a power machine, now he 
has three power machines, and he is busy doing spraying all over Fresno 
County and even in Madera County. The season runs from November until 
April of each year. For five years he has engaged in operating a power ma- 
chine mounted on a truck, for whitewashing buildings. He belongs to the 
California Associated Raisin Company, and he has been a member and stock- 
holder of the California Peach Growers. Inc., from its origin. 

Mrs. Sims died at Fresno in 1911 and left one child. W. E. Sims, a ma- 
chinist in Fresno. On his second marriage, Mr. Sims took for his wife Anna 
Rock, a native of Boston, where she was educated. He belongs to the Wood- 
men of the World, and has long been a deacon in the Cumberland Presby- 
terian Church. In national politics, Mr. Sims is a Democrat. 



HISTORY OF FRESNO COUNTY 1633 

JOHN SALLEE PUGH. — One of the successful viticulturists here- 
abouts, and yet a man who is never so occupied that he has not some time 
to spare for the general advancement of agricultural interests in California, 
or for the extension of hospitality to the stranger, thereby maintaining pleas- 
antly a fine old California tradition, is John Sallee Pugh, who owns a place 
of eighty acres and leases another tract just as large on Ventura Avenue, 
eleven and a half miles east of Fresno. A native son of the Golden State, Mr. 
Pugh was born near Pennington, Sutter County, in 1873, the son of John M. 
Pugh, who settled in California in 1858 and is represented on another page of 
this work. 

Brought up at Stonyford, Colusa County, where he attended the public 
school until he was fourteen, John accompanied his parents to Fresno County 
when they moved here, and continued his schooling at Orange Center, after 
which he went to the Oakland Polytechnic, where he took a business course. 
Returning to Fresno, he assisted his father and moved with him and the rest 
of the family, in 1905, to a ranch of 140 acres in the Kutner Colony. Here 
the father and his sons engaged in viticulture and horticulture until the death 
of the former, when John pushed out for himself. 

He at first purchased a forty-acre vineyard in the Kutner Colony, to 
which he gave his most careful attention until, in 1915, he sold it, and then 
he bought forty acres of his present ranch in the Granville district. This he 
has improved and made into a fine vineyard. In 1918 he bought forty acres 
adjoining, so that he now has eighty acres in a body. The new forty is planted 
to alfalfa. 

Since he came to Fresno County, on June 19, 1888, Mr. Pugh has seen 
great improvements in the region which then had but few vineyards and 
now boasts of over a hundred thousand acres. He has found pleasure in 
vigorously promoting the aims of the California Associated Raisin Company. 
He supports the candidates of the Democratic party; while in fraternal cir- 
cles he is a Mason, having been made a Mason in Selma Lodge, No. 277, 
F. & A. M. 

Looking back over past years and conditions, and contrasting the present 
vastly improved state of affairs, Mr. Pugh is one of the most optimistic 
acclaimers of a glorious future for this great commonwealth. 

HORATIO SEYMOUR CONNER.— Like many other residents of 
Fresno County, Horatio S. Conner traveled over most of the states in the 
Union before making his choice of a locality for agricultural develop- 
ment, and he is now one of the Valley's most enthusiastic boosters. 
Born in Auburn, N. Y., January 30, 1863, he is a son of Joseph and Mathilda 
(Steele) Conner, the father a native of Ireland and a shoemaker by trade, 
first in Auburn, N. Y., and later in Cleveland, Ohio. He answered the call 
of his country at the outbreak of the Civil War, enlisting in the Forty-fifth 
New York Regiment, Volunteer Infantry, and served for four years, on his 
return making his home in Cleveland. Both parents are now deceased, and 
of their eleven children, five are now living. 

Horatio Seymour Conner was educated in the public schools of Auburn 
until 1879, when he removed with his parents to Cleveland, and when sixteen 
years old was apprenticed there as electrical engineer in the Brush Electric 
Light Company, continuing his studies at night school in the meantime. 
After three years as an apprentice, he remained with the company seventeen 
years longer, as an expert electrician, and built electric light plants for them, 
and also electric street car lines, all over the' United States. He put in the 
big power plant in Virginia City, Nev., and one at Eldorado, Cal., also in the 
old Brush Electric Light Company plant in San Francisco. His travels took 
him all over the states, from Maine to New Orleans, and Boston to San Fran- 
cisco. 



1634 HISTORY OF FRESNO COUNTY 

After thirty-three years on the road as an expert electrician, the last 
five years as salesman for the Brush Electric Light Company, Mr. Conner felt 
he had had enough, and decided to settle down, having always looked forward 
to California since his first trip here, in 1889. In 1916 he bought his ranch 
of forty acres on Belmont Avenue, Fresno, and engaged in viticulture and 
horticulture, his land being planted principally to muscats and malagas, 
with a border of fig trees. He has put in modern improvements, installing 
an electric motor for lighting and power, and a pumping plant, also run by 
electricity, and he devotes the same energy and thoroughness to his land 
cultivation which made him so successful in the world at large. He is a mem- 
ber of the California Associated Raisin Company and at all times favors proj- 
ects for the advancement of Central California. 

The marriage of Mr. Conner united him with Mrs. Clara (Mitchell) 
Andrus, a native of Michigan, in which state the ceremony occurred. Both 
Mr. and Mrs. Conner are members of the First Presbyterian Church, Fresno. 

JOHN L. ASHTON. — A successful business man who is associated with 
an important industrial establishment of Selma, and who is one of the repre- 
sentative commercial men of this progressive town, is John L. Ashton, owner 
and manager of Ashton's Bakery, at 1947 High Street. His father was William 
S. Ashton, a native of England, who came to America with his parents when he 
was five years old, and was a teacher of vocal music in Kentucky and Ten- 
nessee, organizing old fashioned singing classes. His mother, whose maiden 
name was- Artelia Early, belonged to a well-known family of Kentucky, in 
which state she was born, and was always proud of the fact that her 
mother. Mrs. Mary Early, liberated all of her slaves at the outbreak of the 
Civil War. 

Born at Lamasco, Lyon County, Ky., on June 24, 1879, the fifth in a 
family of six children, John attended the schools of his native section and 
grew up on his father's farm. He learned to turn a furrow, raise corn and 
tobacco, and to attend to live stock. He took up some of the more useful 
branches of study, such as commercial arithmetic, algebra and geometry, and 
made such progress that he was ready, when twenty-one years of age, to 
make his own way in the world. 

On attaining his majority, Mr. Ashton came to the Pacific Coast and, 
liking California, and Fresno in particular, he stopped for three years to learn 
the bakery trade at the Home Bakery. Next he went to Hanford and took 
charge of the City Bakery, and in the latter town he remained about a year. 

Returning to Fresno, Mr. Ashton established the Model Bakery, which 
is still being conducted there. He built a larger Miodel Bakery in Kern Street 
when the premises became too small, and there, by introducing the latest 
machinery, appliances and methods, soon took rank as one of the best of 
Fresno's bakers. Such was the encouraging response of the public that at 
one time he baked 10,000 loaves of bread a day. 

Disposing of this bakery in 1911 to its present owner, he went to Bakers- 
field and there organized the Ashton Baking Company. At the end of a 
year and a half, however, he sold out his proprietary interest, and then, for 
another year and a half, he managed the establishment for the purchaser. 

In September, 1915. he came to Selma, and purchased the Route Bakery; 
and on February 5, 1917, he bought the Home Bakery, at 1947 High Street, 
where he is now located. Determined to give Selma the very best establish- 
ment he could devise, he spent $3,000 in remodelling the place, and has since 
installed new machinery, including mixers, moulders and ovens, so that now, 
without doubt, he has one of the most sanitary and best-equipped bakeries in 
the Valley. He owns and is always improving his residence property at 2024 
Grant Street, Selma, where he dwells very happily with his family. He has 
also bought the building on High Street where the Ashton Bakery is located. 
The products of this favorite bakery are retailed not only at the bakeshop, but 
in all the groceries of the town and vicinity. 



HISTORY OF FRESNO COUNTY 1635 

At Fresno, Mr. Ashton was married to Miss Ellen Kalquest, a native of 
Boston, Mass., a talented and charming woman, and both husband and wife 
make and retain many friends. Their home, always hospitable, is a center of 
attraction for music-lovers. They have two children, Leland and Margaret. 
Mr. and Mrs. Ashton are members of the Baptist Church at Selma, where 
Mr. Ashton sings tenor in the choir. Mr. Ashton is a member of the Inde- 
pendent Order of Odd Fellows. 

In addition to his residence and business properties already mentioned, he 
owns four lots at Fresno, one of which already contains a residence, and 
eight lots at Richmond. He is a hard worker, and ascribes his success to his 
ceaseless endeavor to please and to serve, and the invaluable cooperation of 
his faithful wife. October 5, 1918, he started the California Bakery in 
Tulare, Tulare County, Cal. He is now on the point of buying a one-half 
interest in the Lark Bakery and Confectioner}' at Fresno. 

He is of that quality of manhood which Fresno County loves to welcome 
and his example clearly demonstrates what a young man of brain and brawn, 
with application, can do in a few years in this locality. 

HENRY J. JACOBSEN.— A young man in the real estate field of Selma 
who, by not merely enterprise but by the assurance that his word will always 
be as good as his bond and that every customer will meet with the fairest 
of dealing, has succeeded, despite the lively competition of today, far beyond 
his expectations, is Henry J. Jacobsen, of the well-known firm of Farmer & 
Jacobsen. His father, Jens Jacobsen, was a farmer who married Sophie 
Stephensen, like himself a native of Denmark. Both of the worthy parents 
are yet living, highly honored for their integrity- 
Born at Horsen, Jutland, in Denmark, on January 3, 1878, Henry grew 
up to enjoy a very thorough grammar school training, at the end of which 
course he was confirmed in the Danish Lutheran Church. Starting out for 
himself, he learned the trade of a tailor, serving an apprenticeship of four 
years. Not until he had demonstrated that he could hold his own with any 
of the master workmen did he receive the congratulations of his fellows, sev- 
eral of whom were sharp enough to prophecy that the young man would not 
long remain a tailor. 

Not long after, Henry was seized with a desire to come to America, and 
in a few months he had sailed from Copenhagen for New York, landing at 
old Castle Garden on October 1, 1901. His destination was Council Bluffs, 
Iowa, but he soon found that although Denmark in winter is cold, it is far 
colder in Iowa, and having sampled the weather to his heart's content, he 
packed his trunk again, and once more moved forward to his destiny. 

It happened that he had an uncle at Oleander, Fresno County, Cal. 
namely, the Rev. P. J. Ostegaard, who replied to his inquiries about Califor- 
nia in the only sensible way, by urging him to come out and see for himself; 
hence, in February, 1902, he arrived at the Ostegaard home, and from the 
first day of his experience here he has liked the fruitful region. Ambitious 
to master English, he spent a year in the Oleander grammar school and the 
following year in the high school ; and about that time he became acquainted 
with Senator AY. F. Chandler, now of Fresno, who advised him to start a 
merchant-tailoring shop in Selma. Acting on the suggestion, he was success- 
ful from the beginning. 

The following year Mr. Jacobsen bought out The Toggery, then owned by 
Messrs. Dusy & Price ; and for ten years he managed the locally-famous 
store, giving Selma a service much needed and never before supplied. In 
December, 1913, however, he sold out and went to Los Angeles and for a 
short time he engaged in real estate business there. In the southern metropo- 
lis he lost no opportunity to thoroughly familiarize himself with the California 
realty world, so that he thereby fulfilled the prophecy that tailoring would 
not satisfy him forever. 



1636 HISTORY OF FRESNO COUNTY 

On his return to Selma, Mr. Jacobsen entered into a partnership with 
L. B. Farmer, and together they went into the real estate field here. Now. 
decidedly prosperous, they own several ranches, and buy and sell ranches 
for others. Mr. Jacobsen alone owns a couple of ranches near Selma, and in 
1917-18 built a two-story, stucco bungalow at 2519 North McCall Avenue, 
which is now his home, at a cost of $6,000. He is still a young man, still a 
"booster," is active in the Chamber of Commerce, the Raisin Growers' and 
the California Peach Growers' associations. 

On January 6, 1907, Mr. Jacobsen was married to Miss Gyda Petersen. 
a native of Denmark, who came to the United States in 1906 and reached 
California on August 11 of that year. They were engaged when they were 
young folks in Denmark, as a result of which romance Miss Petersen came 
all the way across the ocean to be joined in wedlock. In May, 1911, they 
made a trip back to the old country, returning in September. They have two 
children, Henry J. and Oscar C. 

Prominent members of the Danish Evangelical Lutheran Church at 
Selma, Mr. and Mrs. Jacobsen enjoy the good will of the community in whose 
welfare they take such a lively interest and aid in all that gives prosperity 
and social improvement. 

M. R. POTTER. — A fine old gentleman endowed with clean character 
and a strong mind, perhaps as the result of the strenuous times and untold 
hardships he has lived through, is M. R. Potter, the son of David Potter, 
a cooper who was born in Genesee County, N. Y., and married in Ohio, his 
bride being Almira Post. In 1853, his parents came West, passing through 
Chicago and making for Wisconsin ; and for a while they lived near Portage 
City in that State, where the father worked as a cooper. At the end of two 
and a half years, Mr. Potter and his family moved to what is now Rochester, 
Minn., a section then inhabited by the Sioux Indians ; and they were upon 
a farm in that vicinity at the time of the New Ulm massacre. The parents 
had thirteen children, among them three pairs of twins; and the subject of 
our interesting sketch was the fourth child. He well remembers the journey 
through Chicago, with its row after row of German saloons on one side of 
Michigan Avenue, and its boat-landings and warehouses on the other. 

Born in Branch County, Mich., February 24, 1845, the lad worked on his 
father's farm while the latter was busy at his cooperage, and also some- 
times helped in the barrel-making; and when the Sioux Indians went on the 
rampage he enlisted in the Home Guards and served in local defense during 
the time of the Civil War. He had many narrow escapes, but he regarded 
them as a matter of course in what was to him his paramount duty — the 
defense of country and hearth. 

In 1866, Mr. Potter went with his father and brothers to Missouri and 
there they bought in common a section of school land in Schuyler County. 
Fortunately, they pulled well together, each working for the good of all ; 
and in the end they got as much as possible out of the venture. 

His marriage, however, in 1874, to Miss Viola Mattley made some 
difference in his plans as to the future. The lady was born in Jefferson 
County, lnd., the daughter of William and Phoebe (Sprague) Mattley, her 
mother being a relative of William Sprague. who was Governor of Rhode 
Island in the Sixties and later United States Senator. Mrs. Mattley was 
a native of Rhode Island, but Mrs. Potter grew up in Indiana until her 
fourteenth year, when she moved with her parents to Missouri. 

Immediately after their marriage. Mr. and Mrs. Potter removed to 
Nebraska, and there near Ord, in Valley County, they took up a homestead 
of lf>0 acres on the prairie. They lived through the three-year scourge of 
grasshoppers in 1875-76-77. and what of privations and hardships they then 
suffered quite beggars description. They were not able to get away; and 
one time he went for three days without a bite to cat while in search of 



HISTORY OF FRESNO COUNTY 1637 

work so that he and his family might live through the terrible ordeal. But 
they subsisted and persisted until 1902, when they were able to sell out and 
come to California. They came to Selma, where 'they found a good home 
and a pleasant neighborhood ; and like themselves, the neighborhood and 
the home have been growing sunnier every day. Mr. Potter bought fifty 
acres of choice land, which he has further improved ; he has planted thirty- 
five acres to muscats and nine acres to Thompson's ; putting the remaining 
acreage into alfalfa and a building site. And there, one mile northeast of 
Selma, on Floral Avenue, he has established the most attractive of homes. 

Mr. and Mrs. Potter have had two children of their own : Iva, now the 
wife of D. M. Orr, the well-known rancher who lives two miles northwest 
of Selma, and Edward O. Potter, also well-known here. In addition, they 
adopted a boy when he was two years old, J. H. Potter, a rancher at Burrel, 
Cal., who succumbed to the influenza in January, 1919. 

It is sad to relate that Mr. Potter, now suffers from astigmatism of both 
eyes, and as far back as seven years ago was threatened with almost total 
blindness. This does not prevent him, however from doing his duty in 
civic matters. He was for years a stalwart Republican but is at present 
an equally resolute Progressive. 

WILLIAM McINDOO and IVAN CARTER McINDOO.— Among 
the well known and enterprising families of Fresno County none have be- 
come better acquainted with the natural resources than the Mclndoo family, 
represented by Ivan Carter and his father, William Mclndoo, of Fresno. 
William Mclndoo first came to the county in 1886, after having followed 
farming and the stock business in Ontario, Canada, for many years, to take 
up life's duties under different environments than found in the Province 
of Ontario, where he was born at Petersboro, on April 1, 1846, the oldest 
in a family of six boys and five girls, nine of whom reached maturity. The 
father was named 'Mathew Mclndoo and he lived and died in Canada. His 
father was named William and he was an immigrant from Ireland to Canada 
in 1815. Mathew Mclndoo married Mary Carter, who also spent her life 
in Canada. Besides William Mclndoo, three of her sons located in Fresno 
Countv : Robert, Mathew and James, and they are still living. 

William Mclndoo was educated in the public schools and the military 
academy at Toronto, Canada. He assisted his father on their farm until he 
was twenty-one, then he started on his own responsibility and began farm- 
ing and raising stock, later he exported beef cattle to the markets in New 
York and Buffalo. In 1886 he came to California and followed prospecting 
and mining in Fresno County for a time but not meeting with the results 
he expected he went to Oakland and engaged in the restaurant business for 
about eighteen months. He was very much impressed with the resources 
of Fresno County, however, and decided he would make a permanent loca- 
tion here, accordingly in 1888 he was in the county engaged in the fruit com- 
mission business, from that he began the dairy business and made a decided 
success in that line of work, beginning with one cow, he gradually increased 
his herd until he owned over 300 thoroughbred Jerseys and Holsteins and 
owned a ranch of 240 acres in alfalfa, besides operating land that he leased, 
all in the vicinity of Fresno. In February, 1913, the dairy business was in- 
corporated under the name of the Jersey Farm Dairy, with William Mclndoo 
as president and manager. They ran five delivery wagons in Fresno and 
the balance of the milk was made into butter at their creamery. The dairy 
business was sold to Frank Helm in 1916, but the property, 240 acres, has 
been set to vines. Mr. Mclndoo also owned eighty acres east of Fresno. He 
sold out and purchased 1,600 acres at Lindsay and this he put on the market 
as the Caledonia Colony, selling out in ten and twenty-acre tracts. He was 
one of three to organize and incorporate the Lindsay Independent Packing 
Company, Mr. Mclndoo becoming vice-president. The company grow and 



1638 HISTORY OF FRESNO COUNTY 

pack their own fruit. Besides these properties the firm, known as Win. 
Mclndoo and Son, also own ranch properties in Stanislaus County and busi- 
ness property in Modesto. 

William Mclndoo married, near YVingham. Canada, Charlotte Graham, 
a daughter of James Graham, a blacksmith and carriage maker who lived 
in Fresno for many years. Mr. and Mrs. Mclndoo had three children: Edith, 
Mrs. G. A. Manheim; Ivan Carter and Claribel, Mrs. A. J. Dibert. Mr. Mc- 
lndoo is a Republican ; a member of the Methodist Episcopal Church ; a 
Royal Arch Mason ; and is looked upon as one of the most substantial and 
public spirited men of the San Joaquin Valley where he is well and favorably 
known. 

Ivan Carter Mclndoo was born in Ontario, Canada, on January 21, 1883, 
and was educated in the public schools of Fresno, whither he was brought 
when he was a small child. After finishing his education he went to work 
in the First National Bank, later was employed by the Union Bank, spend- 
ing five years altogether, after which time he became associated with his 
father in the fruit business and has assisted in developing it to its present 
proportions. He is outside manager and gives his entire time to his work 
and has gained a thorough knowledge of the industry. 

On January 19, 1911, Mr. Mclndoo was united in marriage with Miss 
Maude Potts /)f Sacramento, and a lady of many accomplishments. They 
have two children to brighten their home circle: Carter G. and Mary J. 
Mr. Mclndoo and his wife are members of the Methodist Episcopal Church 
and are Republicans in politics. Mr. Mclndoo is a Mason, holding member- 
ship in the Lodge, Chapter, Commandery and Shrine. He is deeply inter- 
ested in the development of Fresno County and is held in high esteem by 
all who have business or social relations with him. 

JOHN T. S. CLARK. — A successful business man who has done much 
to advance the technical standards of plumbing in Central California, and 
who very worthily represents that large body of English pioneers who have 
done so much for the development of California, is John T. S. Clark, a mem- 
ber of the Sanger Plumbing Company, now recognized as one of the com- 
mercial and industrial enterprises of that town. He was born at Burton-on- 
Trent, England, on June 15, 1883, the son of John Clark, a detective who was 
one of the ablest of the famous Scotland Yard secret police of the United 
Kingdom. He used to make trips to the United States in pursuit of criminals, 
and one of the trips brought him to California in pioneer days. 

John T. S. Clark was educated in the schools in the vicinity of his birth- 
place, and at the early age of sixteen came to the United States. He located 
in San Jose, but after two years of labor on Santa Clara County ranches, he 
went, in the spring of 1902, to Converse Basin and secured work with the 
Sanger Lumber Company. He proved apt and willing, and advanced rapidly 
through different stages of the work, and from loading cars he became chief 
engineer of the plant, and finally he was appointed to the superintendence - of 
the mill, the highest post at the disposition of the concern. He never asked 
for promotion, but was always advanced as a recognition of his unquestioned 
and marked ability. 

On December 17, 1914. in partnership with William F. Jones, Mr. Clark- 
established the Sanger Plumbing Company at Sanger, an enterprise now 
rated among the most important of the town. The main business of the 
company is installing pumping and irrigating plants on near-by ranches and 
such has been the extent of their operations that in the past four years they 
have installed over 400 such outfits. Among the most important of these 
may be mentioned that of Dillon Bros., G. R. Hawk, August Schmidt, Pugh 
Bros., and J. R. Boyer. The company employs seven men and uses three 
automobiles. 



HISTORY OF FRESNO COUNTY 1641 

Mr. Clark is eminently fitted for his work, as he has had many years of 
very valuable experience in the mechanical line. He was one of the organizers 
and president of the Kings River-Hume Auto Service Company, and man- 
aged very ably a chain of freight trucks carrying goods into and out of the 
mountains. 

Recognized as a leader and as one whose experience makes his coopera- 
tion valuable, Mr. Clark has been welcomed in the work of the Sanger Cham- 
ber of Commerce. He belongs to Sanger Lodge, No. 316, F. & A. M., and 
Perfection Lodge No. 6 of Fresno, Scottish Rite Masons. One of his business 
transactions was the purchase of a fine ranch at Tracy, which he improved 
and then sold at a handsome profit. 

In 1906, Mr. Clark was married at San Jose to May Bryant, a native 
daughter and the child of one of the early pioneers who twice crossed the 
plains with ox-teams. They have two attractive children, Jack Bryant and 
Ashley Oliver. Both Mr. and Mrs. Bryant are interested in all movements for 
the betterment of society. 

JAMES G. FERGUSON. — A business man of exceptional initiative and 
executive ability, a gentleman of rare personal accomplishments and splendid 
attainments, a citizen glad that he is living under the Stars and the Stripes 
and within the varied landscape of the Golden State, but proud also that he 
represents by a worthy inheritance one of the oldest and most renowned clans 
of Scotland — such is James G. Ferguson, so well and favorably known in 
Fresno. His father, James Ferguson, was born in Perth and for many years 
was with the Cunard Steamship Line, having his headquarters and residence 
in Liverpool. The Ferguson family is traceable back to Stirlingshire, Scot- 
land, and has always played an important and honorable part in that storm- 
tossed but romantic country. Mrs. Ferguson was Helen Kerr Fead, also 
Scotch, and a native of Dumfreshire. Both parents died in Liverpool. The 
father had been married, as a matter of fact, twice, and by his first marriage 
he had four daughters and a son. Rather curiously, his second wife, Catherine 
Hilton, became the mother of four girls and a boy, all of whom are living. 
The girls are in Los Angeles, and the boy, Robert Hilton Ferguson, is an 
electrical engineer serving his country at the front in the war. 

Born at Liverpool, the third eldest child by the first Mrs. Ferguson, James 
G. was educated in the Northern Institute of that great harbor city, leading 
on to the Liverpool College and, at the age of only fourteen, passing the ex- 
aminations for the entrance to the University. Instead of commencing studies 
there, however, he took up an apprenticeship in the Bank of Liverpool ; and 
realizing that he was highly favored with such a prospect, he remained there 
six years, during which time he passed through each department satisfactorily. 
He served with James H. Simpson, now at the head and general manager of 
the Bank of Liverpool, and there are few pleasanter memories of the old days 
than those associated with this famous leader. Owing to close application 
to his exacting duties, Mr. Ferguson's health became impaired, and his phy- 
sician advised a long sea-voyage. He therefore shipped to Australia on a sailer, 
and in that milder climate he roamed about and took his ease, until he could 
note an improvement. Then he engaged in the shipping business in Sydney, 
and it would have been strange if, with such a background of experience and 
valuable preparation, he had not succeeded, as he did. 

While there, in January, 1886, Mr. Ferguson was married to Miss Ada 
Florence Bond, a native of Ballarat, Australia, and the daughter of Thomas 
Rhodes Bond, of Cornwall, England, a pioneer miner at Ballarat. She had 
been reared from childhood with care and every possible advantage at Syd- 
ney, grew to be just such a helpmate as a man of Mr. Ferguson's experience 
and activities would desire. 

The same year, Mr. Ferguson crossed the ocean with his wife to San 
Francisco, but instead of trying his fortune in the large city of keen competi- 



1642 HISTORY OF FRESNO COUNTY 

tion, he continued his journey to Humboldt County, and located at Areata, 
where he found employment with Harpst & Spring, shingle manufacturers, 
as head accountant. Eight months later he accepted a position with the Russ 
Lumber Company, to perform the same responsible work'at the San Diego 
branch owned by C. A. Hooper & Company of San Francisco. This was in 
1887. and when he reached San Diego, he found it aflame with the great boom. 
He held that post until 1889, when he was sent by Pope & Talbot of San 
Francisco to their mills on Puget Sound ; and he remained manager at Utsa- 
ladv until 1891 when his merit was further recognized by the Puget Sound 
Lumber Company which offered him a position with the old San Joaquin 
Lumber Company at Fresno, his duties to be those of head accountant. 

It was now evident that James Ferguson was permanently identified with 
the West, and that it was only a question of this or that development of in- 
terests for him to be in general demand. When the Fresno Flume Company 
was organized in 1894, he was offered the management of the office at Clovis : 
and he accepted, taking charge in May of that year, and holding the position 
ever since. In 1912, when the old company sold to the Fresno Flume Com- 
pany of Nevada, Mr. Ferguson was elected secretary and treasurer of the 
corporation, and this position he has also held ever since. Clovis being the 
headquarters of the company, of which he is still the office manager. 

One child, Ada H., blessed the union of Mr. and Mrs. Ferguson, and later 
attended the Dominican College at San Rafael. Now she is the wife of Luther 
William Rahney. late professor of mining at Stanford University, later hold- 
ing the same position at Yale College and now head of the Scoville Plant at 
Waterburv, Conn. They have two little girls, Elizabeth Ruth and Harriet Ada. 

Mr. Ferguson is a member of Fresno Lodge, No. 439. B. P. O. F.. and 
has been connected with that organization about twenty years. He was made 
a Mason in Clovis Lodge, No. 417, F. & A. M., where he has served as treas- 
urer. He is also a member of Fresno Chapter. No. 67. R. A. M.. and is a mem- 
ber of the Fresno Consistory, thirty-second degree Scottish Rite Masons. He 
belongs to Islam Temple, A. A. O. N. M. S.. of San Francisco, and is a mem- 
ber of the Woodmen of the World, being a charter member of Manzanita 
Camp, Fresno, 1894, and having been its first manager. He also belongs to 
the Fraternal Brotherhood, the St. Andrew's Society of Fresno, the Hoo Hoo's, 
the Episcopal Church, and the Republican party, having served the latter as 
a member of the county central committee. Few men in Fresno County have 
such an interesting record. 

H. M. LITTLE. — A native Minnesotan who came here in the eighties, 
at the time of the great boom, H. M. Little is now a resident of Tivy Yalley, 
one of the most picturesque and delightful spots to be found in the foot- 
hills of the great Sierras. This valley is easy of access, with but little 
elevation, and yet possesses all the grandeur of the nobler mountains with 
their varied scenery. 

Mr. Little owns a beautiful home site, with all the buildings necessary 
and suitable for the ordinary ranch. In addition to his valley land he owns 
a large grazing range for his stock, in all 427 acres, which give him ample 
room for his herds ; and he has a hennery of the best strain of White Leg- 
horns, to the number of 600 or more. He has been operating this ranch 
intensively since 1916, and besides the above-mentioned property, he has 
holdings in Riverside County, an orange ranch at La Habra, Orange County, 
and town property in Los Angeles County. On his home ranch he devotes 
himself to stock and poultry exclusively. 

Air. Little was born in McLeod Count)-. Minn., in I860, and is the son 
of David and Sarah Little of Pennsylvania, who were the parents of nine 
children, four of whom are still living. Two of these are in California, 
and the names of the four are : Wilbur, who lives in South Dakota : George 
H., a resident of Iowa; Samuel G., whose home is at Point Richmond: and 



HISTORY OF FRESNO COUNTY 1643 

H. M., the subject of our interesting review. One other came to California, 
Flaville, a sister who died at La Habra. 

In early life Mr. Little learned the blacksmith trade, and this he followed 
continuously until 1903, never wanting for patronage, for he was a good 
smith of the old school. He came to California in 1887 and did well at 
Rivera for nine years, and from there he went to La Habra where he con- 
tinued his trade, and in time he accumulated the various properties already 
mentioned. 

In 1885 Mr. Little was married to Miss Flora Curtis, a native of Maine ; 
and, as a result of this happy union, three children were born : Merritt, now 
deceased ; an infant also deceased, and Herbert, who lives at La Habra, and 
who is married and has two children. Mrs. Little came to California in 1888, 
and has since become associated with its social life and charities. 

Mr. and Mrs. Little are estimable citizens, participating in whatever 
makes for the elevation of American life. They aim to inform themselves 
on the issues of the day, to endorse only the best measures and to vote for 
those who are above reproach. 

JOHN J. BETZOLD. — John J. Betzold was born in Morrison County, 
at North Prairie on Two Rivers, about twenty miles northwest of St. Cloud, 
Minn., on November 11, 1870. When two years of age his parents moved 
to Brainerd, Minn., where he was brought up and educated, and where he 
remained until nineteen years of age. In 1889 he left his Minnesota home 
for the Western Coast and sojourned for a time in Seattle and Tacoma ; 
in the latter place becoming a student in the public library. Studious in his 
tastes, he spent eight years in research work, intending to make literature 
his life profession. With this thought in mind he made a special study of 
physics, Shakespeare, economics and philosophy, the result of his study 
being six books of unpublished manuscript. His health failing, in 1899 he 
came to California and engaged in picking fruit in Los Gatos and San Jose, 
and in the fall of that year came to Fresno. Here he started making hominy 
and horseradish, which he peddled from house to house. From this small 
beginning his present new, modern, sanitary pickle factory was evolved. 
The building is 50 by 103 feet, with concrete floor, and is fully equipped 
with all modern appliances for the manufacture of the twenty-five varieties 
of condiments he has on the market, among which are olives, olive oil, 
dill pickles, Mexican hot chili, mustard relish, chow-chow, and malt vinegar. 
He employs five men in the factory the year round, increasing the number 
from ten to fifteen during the busy season. He has several inventions to 
his credit, among them being a water-filter and hominy cooking machine. 

Mr. Betzold has been prominent in the development of Fresno and is 
a citizen of whom she may justly be proud. His success in life is due solely 
to his individual efforts. His estimable companion, who before her mar- 
riage to Mr. Betzold was Miss Jennie M. Staton, of Beloit, Wis., is an able 
assistant to her husband in his growing business. In his political views Mr. 
Betzold is a Socialist. 

PETER BERING. — A well-to-do farmer and gentleman of attractive 
personality, who enjoys the proud distinction, as a descendant of Vitus 
Bering, the distinguished Danish navigator, of being related to the great 
scientist whom Peter the Great in 1728 sent on an expedition to the North 
when he discovered the Strait now bearing his name, is Peter Bering who 
came to California early in the nineties. He was born in Denmark, at Horsen, 
in Jutland, October 8, 1871, the son of Henry Bering, a farmer, and so came 
to be raised on a farm, while he was educated at the local public schools. 
After a practical apprenticeship in agriculture he spent five years in Schleswig, 
German)', in an interesting town called Gramm, and after that he served for 
a year in the infantry of the Danish Army, receiving an honorable discharge. 



16+4 HISTORY OF FRESNO COUNTY 

While in Denmark, Mr. Bering was married to Miss Caroline Hansen, 
a native of that country. He was next employed in a factory, and in time 
was put in charge of the receiving department of the concern. Such was 
the quality of the service that he rendered and the compensation for his 
labor that he remained in that position of responsibility for eight years, and 
left it only to come to California. 

Mr. Bering's decision to come to the Pacific Coast was doubtless arrived 
at through the fact that he had a brother-in-law in Fresno County to whom 
he came on June 14, 1903. For three years he farmed, and then for a couple 
of years he worked at the carpenter's trade in Rolinda. Then he bought 
twenty acres of land there, and set them out as vineyards. He set out the 
Thompson seedless and he planted alfalfa; he built a fine residence and use- 
ful buildings, and he bought the ten adjoining acres, making thirty acres in 
all. He operated this until November, 1916, when he disposed of it at a good 
profit. 

It was then that Mr. Bering came to Eggers Colony and bought the 
twenty acres that he now calls his own. He cared for the place, and con- 
tinued in business. He has four acres of Thompson seedless and three acres 
of Malaga and muscat grapes. He leases the adjoining twenty acres, using 
the same for a vineyard, and has five acres of muscats and fifteen acres of 
wine grapes. He belongs to the California Associated Raisin Company and to 
the Melvin Grape Growers' Association. 

Mr. and Mrs. Bering have had four children : Henry and Vitus assist 
their father ; Marie, in Fresno, and Clara is at home. Mr. Bering belongs to 
the Danish Brotherhood, serving as president of the lodge for two terms, 
and in national politics he is a Democrat. He never loses an opportunity to 
encourage local movements for the public weal. 

M. A. AND L. P. IPSEN.— A fine old Danish family with traditions 
reaching far back into the heroic history of that brave little country, and 
having present-day representatives who are rated among the successful and 
influential men of affairs, is that of the two brothers, Marcus A. and Louis P. 
Ipsen, ranchers, dairymen and stockmen, who compose the firm of M. A. & 
L. P. Ipsen so widely known among California agriculturists and financiers. 
They reside on their fine, large and well-improved dairy ranch three miles 
southeast of Burrel, on the Elkhorn Grade Road. They are also extensively 
engaged in grain-growing on the West Side, where they own a fine tract of 
320 acres, ten miles north of Huron, in Fresno County. The home ranch 
consists of 132*4 acres, and there they have planted trees, built commodious 
barns, milk house and a comfortable residence, laid out large, clean yards, 
and put up strong fences, feeding-racks and other contrivances designed to 
expedite the work of the day, all presenting a very pleasant sight to the 
aesthetic eye. Self-made, hard-working, it is no wonder that nowhere may 
a more ideally-arranged, or better-kept dairy be found. 

Both of these gentlemen were born, the sons of Jeppe H. Ipsen, on the 
beautiful island of Bornholm, a Danish province in the Baltic Sea, from 
which on a clear day both the shores of Sweden and Denmark can be spied 
with the aid of a field-glass. The mother had been Karen Maria Dam before 
her marriage, and both father and mother first saw the light on the same 
island. There they married and lived, and the father died, on a small farm, 
although the father relied for a living for himself and family mainly on his 
work as a brick-layer, contractor and builder, working with an older brother 
in that business. The mother is still living in the village of Ronne, enjoying 
life at the advanced age of seventy-five. The father died in 1884 at the age of 
forty-one, as the result of lifting too large a rock. 

The good mother kept the family together, although they were in such 
poor circumstances that all the children had to work. There were eight 
children in the family, and all are living: Signe married Andrew Lindstrom, 




TTlMACXX^ (X, dk^JtsrV 



^ 




^ 




HISTORY OF FRESNO COUNTY 1649 

a county commissioner and rancher in Summit County, Colo., and there she 
assists her husband in stock-raising; Louis P. is the second in the order of 
birth ; Jens Christian is a sea-captain at Ronne, Denmark ; then came Marcus 
A. ; Hans J. is a farmer in his native land ; John M. is a tailor in Sjaelland, 
Denmark; Anna Maria is married and lives at Ronne; and Otto L. is an 
electrician in the same place. 

Louis P., who was born on May 29, 1868, came to Pontiac, 111., twenty 
years later, and in time wrote to his brother, Marcus, to join him in the New 
World. The latter, who was born on March 27, 1873, had learned, however, 
enough about Fresno County to center his anticipations here, and arriving 
in America, after a voyage begun in March, 1891, he came straight to Cen- 
tral California, arriving in Fresno in April. He began to work by the month 
as a farm-laborer and continued for six years. In 1889 Louis also came to 
Fresno. Louis was the first to rent a farm, but he quit when he could not 
do as well, and went back to working by the month. 

The Ipsen Bros, started as a firm in renting a section of land near 
Caruthers, and the firm has been busy, constantly developing its connections 
and increasing its activities, ever since. They bought I32yi acres here in 
the fall of 1903, when it was salt grass without any improvements, and soon 
had seventy high-grade Holstein cows. In 1912 they bought 320 acres of land 
near Huron, then wild, and under their management it came to tell a dif- 
ferent and a more attractive story. 

Marcus A., who is still a bachelor, took a trip back to Denmark in 1910, 
while Louis looked in upon his native land thirteen years before. At Dillon, 
in Summit County, Colo., on November 16, 1903, the latter was married to 
Miss Nina Jensen, from the city of Ronne, in the island of Bornholm, Den- 
mark, and they have become the parents of three children : Marvin Archie, 
Viola Maria, and Louis Marcus. The family attends the United Brethren 
Church at Riverdale. A member of the Republican party and public-spirited 
to a high degree, Mr. Ipsen, as well as his brother, worked hard to get the 
railway through this section, and also helped organize the Riverdale Coop- 
erative Creamery, which, as a first class establishment encouraging local 
industry has proven of great benefit to this section. Both brothers are mem- 
bers of the Alfalfa Growers Association. 

Mrs. Ipsen's father was Jens Peter Jensen, also a native of the island of 
Bornholm. He was for a while a policeman at Ronne, and later a farmer; 
and now he is the postmaster at the little station of Ringeby, a post he has 
ably held for the past thirty-one years, — a fact the more remarkable since 
he has reached his seventy-third year. The mother, who was Kristine Caro- 
line Hansen, died on Good Friday, 1910, seventy-two years old and six years 
the senior of her husband. They had six children : Andreas Peter has been 
a farmer for forty years in the Transvaal, South Africa ; Petra Carolina is 
married and lives near the old home in Denmark ; Johannes Sextus is a farmer 
near Ronne, Denmark ; Anine Marie is single and" keeps house for her father 
at the old home-place ; Otto Peter is a farmer in Denmark ; and there is 
Nina, now Mrs. Ipsen, who grew up in Denmark, there attended the public 
schools, was baptized and confirmed in the Lutheran Church. She is the first 
member of the family to come to America, and was twenty-five when she 
crossed the seas and went to Warren, Pa., worked there as a domestic for 
eight months, and then came on to Dillon, Colo., where she renewed the 
acquaintance with her husband, whom she first met in Denmark. She was 
born on the same island with him, and the romance so developed that "it 
happened in Norland." Mrs. Ipsen's father was an extensive traveler, as well 
as a man of affairs, and made a trip to Iceland and Greenland, where he 
hunted. Mrs. Ipsen is a member of the Red Cross, and was a liberal purchaser 
of Liberty bonds. 



1650 HISTORY OF FRESNO COUNTY 

C. ROSS SNYDER. — Not everyone may be as justly proud of the pioneer 
associations of his family, or satisfied with his own popularity, as C. Ross 
Snyder, the broad-minded and efficient bee inspector for Fresno County. He 
is the youngest son and the eighth child among a family of nine children of 
the late Monroe Snyder, who passed away in the middle nineties and was 
honored as one of the original four townsite men of Selma, the others being 
George B. Otis, J. E. Whitson and E. H. Tucker. The father was a native 
of Holmes County, Ohio, and in 1849, when he was nineteen years of age, 
he left his home and crossed the continent with ox-teams, arriving at Sutter's 
Fort for information. Then he went to Shasta where he engaged in gold 
mining and then came back and purchased 160 acres of ground in the edge of 
Woodland. Soon after, he returned to Ohio, sailing around Cape Horn. 

In the Buckeye State he married Jane Elizabeth Lemon, a native, and 
took his wife on their honeymoon trip to New York, from which city they 
sailed, on an old tub of a boat, for Panama. They crossed the Isthmus and 
finally entered the Golden Gate, and making their way inland, they settled at 
Woodland. This was in 1861, when Mr. Snyder built the first brick build- 
ing there. He served as marshal and deputy sheriff of Woodland, and be- 
came a clerk at the State Capitol at Sacramento. He proved up on a home- 
stead southeast of what is now Selma and bought more and more land. An 
illustration of his public spirit is afforded in Mr. Snyder's efforts, crowned 
with success, to secure such railway facilities as would favor the growth of 
the settlement — a matter of history, as the following letter will, show: 
CENTRAL PACIFIC RAILROAD COMPANY 
General Superintendent's Office 

"San Francisco, April 12. 1880. 
"M. Snyder, Esq. 

"Dear Sir: Referring to the interview this morning in my office relative 
to the company's putting in a side track for the convenience of your people 
somewhere about midway between Fowler and Kingsburg, I believe it better 
to make my statement in writing to the end that there shall be no misunder- 
standing in the future relative to the matter. First, I understand there are 
different localities in that vicinity where the people desire to have a switch 
located. These conflicting interests must be amicably settled and a unanimous 
expression obtained from the interested parties fixing upon the locality. Then. 
on conveyance of a piece of land, one hundred feet wide and sixteen hundred 
feet long for depot grounds, and the payment of $700, towards defraying 
the expenses of the side-track, platform, etc., the company will immediately 
go to work and put in a siding after the distinct understanding that it shall 
be a prepaid, non-agency station, to and from which (rates not being pro- 
vided) traffic will take the rates provided to or from the next station beyond, 
until such time as the company may be disposed to incur the additional ex- 
pense of the maintenance of an agent. Yours respectfully, 

"A. N. Towne. General Superintendent." 

This worthy pioneer was sixty-five years and nine months old when 
he died and was buried in the old I. O. 6. F. Cemetery at Selma. Fie was 
also a Mason, and had helped to start Masonic lodges at Woodland and 
Selma. He was a thirty-second degree Mason, and had the largest funeral 
ever seen in Selma up to that time, brother Masons coming from Sacramento 
and other parts of the State. 

Mrs. Monroe Snyder is living at Selma. and is still active in her seventy- 
seventh vear. Those born to her are: Richard M., who died at YYoodland, 
when five years old: Ida, who died at the same place, one year younger; 
Jennie M., now the wife of J. F. Crowdcr, the well-known transfer apent in 
Pasadena: Charles C, the real estate man at Fresno: Anetta. the wife of P. F. 
Adams of Fresno and formerly the owner of the Selma Enterprise: M. D. 
Snyder, who resides at Selma; H. W., who is a driller at Coalinga ; C. Ross, 



HISTORY OF FRESNO COUNTY 1651 

the subject of our sketch ; and Myrtle, the wife of J. H. Hull, superintendent 
of the Star Lease at Coalinga. 

Ross Snyder was born at the old Snyder homestead on June 22, 1880, 
the year in which the switch was built at Selma, and was the first baby born 
there. He attended the common schools and at twelve years of age he worked 
for his brother-in-law, J. F. Crowder, who kept six hundred hives of bees. 
He farmed and raised bees until he was twenty-one years old. 

In 1905 he was married to Miss Margaret L. Wood, the daughter of 
George W. and Flora A. (Wells) Wood, then of Selma but now of Merced ; 
after which he went to work for Griffin & Brown in the sheet-metal and 
plumbing business ; and later, in 1912, Mr. Snyder and H. Steele, in a partner- 
ship styled Steele & Snyder, engaged in the hardware, steel-metal and plumb- 
ing business on East Front Street. He abandoned this, however, in July, 1915, 
when he was called to a public office of peculiar trust. 

In that year and month Mr. Snyder was appointed county bee inspector, 
and it was the sense of the community that no man in Central California could 
be found better qualified for the responsibility. He accordingly sold out to 
his partner, Mr. Steele, and the latter, in December, 1918, disposed of the 
hardware and plumbing and joined Mr. Snyder in the bee business. Mr. 
Snyder owns about 275 hives, while Mr. Steele has about 400. Mr. Snyder 
and Mr. Crowder had 1,100 hives in the town of San Fernando, but the 
forest fire of 1906 destroyed all the hives, bees and honey. 

Mr. Snyder now owns a fine little cottage at 2028 Grant Street, Selma, 
where he lives with his family, including two children, Leslie Monroe and 
Opal Leora. Mrs. Snyder, who is a member of the Women of Woodcraft, 
was born in Missouri, was seventeen when she came to California, and 
now has the pleasure of having both of her parents with her at Selma. Mr. 
Snyder belongs to the Native Sons, being a charter member of Selma Parlor, 
No. 107, and to the Independent Order of Foresters and the Knights of 
Pythias. Both husband and wife belong to the Christian Church. This is 
the organization started here by Monroe Snyder and A. A. Rowell. 

Mr. Snyder, who will have control of over 1,000 hives in 1919, is president 
of the Fresno County Bee Keeper's Association, organized at the instigation 
of Dr. E. L. Phillips, when an agricultural expert came on from Washington, 
on November 3, 1917. At that time, Mr. Snyder was elected temporary 
chairman: and on January 5, 1918, at the annual meeting, he was elected pres- 
ident. This proved the best bee-keeper's meeting in California, over two 
hundred members being enrolled. Thus Mr. Snyder has not only proven a 
successful man of affairs, but he has done much to advance one of the most 
important, profitable and scientifically interesting industries yet fostered in 
the Golden State. 

ARSEN YERETZIAN.— In Armenia, that country of western Asia 
whose history is closely related to the interesting events connected with the 
story of the ark of "gopher wood" which the patriarch Noah was a hundred 
and twenty years building, and which is supposed to have rested on famous 
Mount Ararat within the confines of that wonderful country, the early scenes 
in the life of Arsen Yeretzian were set. for he was born in the Turkish pashalic 
of Van, Armenia, April 15, 1882. There he attended an American school 
where he learned the English language, and in the year 1900, when eighteen 
years of age, came to the United States, a young man poor from a financial 
standpoint, but rich in enthusiasm and imbued with an indomitable will 
which enabled him to conquer obstacles which would have been insurmount- 
able to one less gifted in the qualities which make for success. 

He located in Lowell, Mass., where he worked during the daytime and 
attended night school. March 2, 1906, he left that city for the Pacific Slope, 
arriving at Fresno, March 10 of that year, where he continued working and 
studying. For six months he assisted in the construction of the Yosemite 
Railroad, and studied Latin at night. He finally purchased twenty acres 



1652 HISTORY OF FRESNO COUNTY 

of unimproved land near Reedley, upon which he built a house and planted 
a vineyard, selling the property in two years' time at a good profit. He then 
went to San Francisco, where he attended Lowell high school and took a 
special course in Greek and Latin. He also took a course at the University 
of California in literature, chemistry, philosophy and physiology. Going to 
Los Angeles he took a correspondence school course in law for two years, 
attending lectures on law, at the University of Southern California, and 
trials in the courts of that city to gain practical experience in his chosen 
vocation. He was examined for admission to the bar July 14, 1917, and 
passed with the highest honors of the three who successfully passed the 
examination out of the nine applicants. Like many others, who in choosing a 
location which in their judgment seemed to be propitious for the successful 
practice of the law, Fresno was the city of his choice, and he opened a law 
office in the Edgerly building, where he is establishing a lucrative practice. 
He is an able writer, and has written many articles for the Armenian paper 
published in Fresno, as well as translating Ambassador Gerard's book, "Four 
Years in Germany," into the Armenian language. He is well known as a 
public speaker and lecturer and delivered a lecture before the Armenian Club 
on the subject, "The Law and National Justice." This self-made man has 
successfully acquired a fine education, and is an exemplification of what 
rightly directed energy, with brains to back it, can accomplish in a foreign 
land with neither friends nor relatives to assist him. 

In his choice of a helpmate he chose a native of England, Miss Ada 
Chicken, to whom he was united in the bonds of holv wedlock, March 31, 
1917. 

GEORGE A. CATE. — A California pioneer with an exceptionally inter- 
esting career and important family historical associations, a man of attractive 
personality and a most entertaining conversationalist, and an extensive opera- 
tor in husbandry, is George A. Cate, who is fortunate in having associated 
with him as another man of affairs his own son, Arthur B. Cate. He was 
born in Ouincy, 111., on December 17, 1843, the son of Joseph Cate. a native 
of New Bedford. Mass., who, as the oldest of the family, early settled near 
Ouincy. 

In 1849, Joseph Cate crossed the plains to California with his younger 
brother, Thomas, the two traveling by ox teams, and he became a miner 
and a truckster on Feather River. After while he returned East by way of 
Cape Horn ; and as the two boys had become separated his folks induced him 
to return to the West in order to search for Thomas. He therefore crossed 
the plains again with ox teams to look for Thomas ; but he did not find him. 
He returned East once more, and there located with his family near Hamil- 
ton, Hancock County, 111., where he took to farming. In 1861, when the Civil 
War was in full swing, Mr. Cate volunteered as a member of the Missouri 
Regiment known as the Black Hawk Cavalry; and his son, Joseph H.. was in 
the same regiment. During service the father was thrown from his wagon 
and hurt; and having received an honorable discharge he returned home. 
After this reverse, Joseph H. Cate was taken prisoner in Missouri by Ouan- 
trell, but was paroled and sent to St. Louis, from which place he also returned 
home. About the same time, however, a new company was being formed, 
and a neighbor came to persuade our subject (George A.) to join; and al- 
though he was serving an apprenticeship at the tinsmith's trade he replied 
that if he could get permission from his father and mother and employer he 
would enlist. These having given their consent, he enlisted in August. 1862, as 
a member of Company C, One Hundred Eighteenth Illinois Volunteer Infan- 
try. Soon after a particularly sad accident occurred to his brother, Joseph H., 
whom he had coaxed to join the same company with him, and who is said to 
have been, with George A. himself, one of the best soldiers in that organiza- 
tion. At the siege of Vicksburg, Joseph H., in his overzeal to spy upon the 




J*ju>^ ort~./6>aM- 



HISTORY OF FRESNO COUNTY 1655 

enemy, looked over the ramparts to get a good view of the enemy, and he 
was shot and killed. 

George A. Cate was mustered in at Camp Butler and placed on guard 
duty during the winter. In the spring of 1863, he went to St. Louis and on 
to Memphis. Joseph H. had never been sick a day in the army, but George 
was taken ill with swamp fever and was sent to the Memphis Hospital. When 
the authorities attempted to clean out the quarters of the invalid soldiers, 
on account of the expected attack on Vicksburg, George, who was convalesc- 
ing, was sent to Cairo, then to Quincy and later to Keokuk, and in December, 
1863, was placed in the hospital at Keokuk. This hospital was located so near 
his home that Dr. Comer sent him to his folks for a couple of weeks, and 
then he returned to the hospital where he remained until he was well. On 
its way to Vicksburg, George A. joined his company, which was stationed at 
Black River, and so he saw Pemberton's surrender. His regiment went on to 
Baton Rouge, where he was stationed for some time, and later removed to 
New Orleans. At Baton Rouge, on October 1, 1865, he was mustered out 
from the service he had entered on August 12, 1862, and he returned home. 

George's father, who had taken up farming after his discharge, went to 
Kansas with George, but afterward returned to Illinois, where he died, a 
prosperous ranchman. Mrs. Cate, who was Sarah J. Wilson before her mar- 
riage, was born at New Bedford, Mass., and had a brother, George Wilson, 
who was interested in whaling. He was a man of influence and served his 
fellow citizens several times as mayor of New Bedford. She came to Califor- 
nia after the World's Fair, traveling with George and his wife ; and having 
taken up her residence awhile with them, died here in December, 1893. She 
was the mother of four children, a girl and three boys, and of this family, 
George is the only son still living. The daughter, Maggie, now Mrs. Morton, 
resides in Chicago. 

When the family removed to Hancock County, 111., George was reared 
and educated there at the public schools, and worked on a farm until he was 
sixteen. Then, as already mentioned, he was apprenticed to a tinsmith, but 
at eighteen enlisted for service in the army. After this he farmed awhile in 
Illinois with his father, but in 1870 he went to Kansas and located a home- 
stead near Belleville, Republic County, which he considerably improved. 
Later, he returned to Illinois. 

While in Hancock County, on March 11, 1873, Mr. Cate was married to 
Miss Cornelia Wilson, a native of Schuyler County, and the daughter of 
William Wilson, who was born at Enniskillen, Ireland. He came to the 
United States with his parents when ten years of age ; and the grandmother 
having died at Liverpool, England, the family came on to Illinois. There 
William was married to Susan Eiler, who was born in Ohio, and later they 
moved to a place near Nauvoo where Mr. Wilson was a farmer. Both parents 
died there. Eight children made up the family, and three of these are still 
living. Mrs. Cate, who was reared and educated in Nauvoo, was the eldest, 
and she has two brothers, Thomas H., who was a member of the Seventh 
Iowa Cavalry Regiment that enlisted in 1861 ; and Robert, who was in Com- 
pany D of the One Hundred Eighteenth Illinois Regiment. 

Mr. Cate continued farming in Kansas until 1890, when he removed to 
California, and located in Fresno County, where he bought forty acres of 
stubble-fields, which he set out to vineyards; and in this business he has 
continued ever since. He built a fine residence and later sold the Kansas farm. 
Now he has a vineyard of twenty acres, and five acres given to alfalfa. He 
gives some attention to gardening, and he has six acres of peach trees. The 
whole tract is under the Enterprise Canal, and also has a pumping plant. 
He belongs to the California Associated Raisin Company, and to the Cali- 
fornia Peach Growers, Inc. He is also a member of Post No. 92, G. A. R., at 
Fresno. 



1656 HISTORY OF FRESNO COUNTY 

Four children have come to Mr. and Mrs. Cate : Margaret, Mrs. Stan- 
hope, resides in Clovis and has six children ; Edward Melvin resides with his 
family of three children in Fresno, and has a farm in Tulare; Ruth, the 
youngest, is Mrs. Greaves, who lives on the home farm; and Arthur B., who 
has one son, operates the home farm. He leases forty acres of his father 
and owns seventy acres, and also leases other land. They also run the 
cannery on the place and put up the Variety Brand of tomatoes. The ranch 
is known as Variety Farm, and they work it in cooperation with others. 

JOHN KNOX LOCKIE. — An industrious and successful rancher, 
who is widely respected as the worthy descendant of a well-known pioneer, 
and who has a talented wife and a family blessed with ideal happiness, is 
T. K. Lockie, who owns twenty acres which he and his wife have acquired as 
community property, and received twenty acres from his father's estate. 
The management of these holdings has given Mr. and Mrs. Lockie a chance 
to contribute something towards the development of the agricultural interests 
of the state, and they have been second to no one in performing their civic 
duties, especially to the neighborhood in which they live. 

The third boy in a family of ten children, J. K. Lockie was born on 
August 3, 1870. He is the son of the late W. A. and Margaret (Leitheadi 
Lockie, mention of whom is made on another page in this work. He was 
brought to the States from Canada when three months of age, attended the 
common schools in Oregon and Texas, and was seventeen or eighteen years 
old when he came from the Lone Star State. At twenty he started life for 
himself with a good foundation of useful experience. Until 1906 he worked 
for the United Railroads in San Francisco, as gripman on the cable-cars, 
with the exception of a year in the employ of the Spreckels sugar refinery at 
San Francisco and another year in the service of the United States Govern- 
ment in the Quartermaster's Department in China during the Boxer troubles. 

At Victoria, on the Island of Vancouver, on August 31, 1907, Mr. Lockie 
was united in marriage with Miss Annie Benson, a native of Sydney, Aus- 
tralia, and a daughter of William E. and Janet Lockhead (Houston) Benson. 
Mr. Benson was an Englishman, and died in Sydney ; while Mrs. Benson 
was of Scotch lineage and is still living in Sydney. 

After their marriage. Mr. and Mrs. Lockie came to Fresno Count}' in 
1907, and they have lived here continuously ever since. He bought and im- 
proved his twenty acres, building a fine bungalow house on Lincoln Avenue 
in 1912, on a pleasantly located knoll ; and prosperity has followed him ever 
since. Besides his forty acres, he leases forty acres adjoining, half in peaches 
and half in muscats. He has become a live wire in such cooperative work as 
that of the raisin and peach growers' associations, and is a stockholder in the 
California Associated Raisin Company and the California Peach Growers, Inc., 
and not only seeks to avail himself of the last word of science in his work, and 
the experience of others, but also endeavors by his own success to add to the 
fund of valuable results. 

Mr. and Mrs. Lockie have three children: William E. H., Asa Vern, and 
Mabel Eugenia. The family attends the Episcopal Church at Selma. 

WILLIAM C. THURMAN.— A liberal, enterprising and successful 
viticulturist of Fresno County, William C. Thurman is a native son of Cali- 
fornia, born at Upper Lake, Lake County, February 7, 1862. He is a descend- 
ant of Revolutionary stock; his great-grandfather, William Thurman. served 
in that struggle for independence and was present when Cornwallis sur- 
rendered. He had a son, also named William, who was born at Lynchburg, 
Va., December 22, 1776. He wrote a book on the Revolutionary War, and 
on the agricultural possibilities of that section of country. He made a trip 
to St. Louis, Mo., died there of yellow fever, and is buried in an unknown 
grave. 




°^*£ 



.K&*&*- 



HISTORY OF FRESNO COUNTY 1657 

The father of our subject, Leach Brown Thurman, was a native of 
Lynchburg, Va. He was a second cousin of Hon. Allan G. Thurman, who 
was candidate for vice-president of the United States when Grover Cleve- 
land ran for president the second time. When L. B. Thurman was twenty- 
one years old he left Virginia and went to Missouri, where he spent the win- 
ter. The next spring he outfitted with provisions and crossed the plains to 
California with an ox-team train. He located in Placer County and was the 
first settler at what became known as Newcastle, where he opened a general 
merchandise store and conducted it for some time. He then moved his 
store and continued business at Wisconsin Hill. On account of extending 
credit to the miners he failed in business. While living in Placer County he 
married Sarah Jane Franklin, who was born in St. Charles, 111., a daughter 
of William and Lydia (Shelby) Franklin, both natives of Kentucky. On her 
father's side she is a lineal descendant of a brother of Benjamin Franklin, 
and on the maternal side is related to Governor Shelby of Kentucky, and of 
Revolutionary stock. The Shelby spoken of in Uncle Tom's Cabin was also 
a relative. Lydia Franklin was a very intelligent and well-informed woman. 
William Franklin brought his family across the plains to California and 
made a settlement in Placer County. 

After the marriage of L. B. Thurman he removed to Upper Lake and 
began farming and developing a raw tract of land. In 1865 he sold out to 
engage in the mercantile business at Lower Lake. Seven years later he 
again sold out and removed to Salt Lake City, where he had charge of the 
buying of ore for the Chicago Smelting Works and also for a refining com- 
pany of Swansea, Wales, for six years, after which he returned to California. 
For a short time he was located on a ranch near Lincoln, but upon hearing 
of the possibilities of irrigation on land in Fresno County, having an oppor- 
tunity to sell his ranch at a profit, he -came to this county in 1889. Here he 
bought a forty-acre tract, which is now owned by his son, and began making 
improvements for a permanent home. He did not live to enjoy the fruits 
of his wise investment, for he died on December 5, 1889. Although he had 
but very limited advantages to obtain an education, from the age of nine 
vears he was a student, continually searching after knowledge. He read 
law and was so well versed in it that he was often called upon to settle dis- 
putes, and he was always called "Judge." He was a prominent Mason and 
was Grand Lecturer in his district. His widow survived him and made her 
home on the ranch until her death, in 1911, aged seventy-two years. Of their 
six children, five grew to maturity: Clara, Mrs. S. S. McGarvey, who died in 
Ukiah ; William C, of this review ; Carey, a resident of Fresno ; Bert, who 
died in Fresno ; and Helen, Mrs. Jennings, of Fresno. 

William C. Thurman received his education in the public schools and 
in the Rocky Mountain Seminary in Salt Lake City, entering the latter on 
the day of its opening. When he was sixteen years old he came back to 
California ; and thereafter, until he was twenty-one, he assisted his father. 
He then went to San Luis Obispo and for two years served as a fireman on 
the Pacific Coast Railway, running between San Luis Obispo and Port Har- 
ford. In 1886 he went to Placer County, and later worked as a stationary 
engineer in Sacramento County, after which he spent three years around 
the bav cities and then for two years ran a reclamation pump near Isleton. 
In 1890 he came to Fresno to assist his mother with the work on the ranch, 
and here he has since remained. 

When Mr. Thurman came to Fresno County and took charge of the 
ranch he at once began making improvements by setting out a vineyard, 
which he has reset at different times. He now has forty acres in raisin 
grapes of the muscat variety, a family orchard and ornamental trees, a 
good residence, and a good irrigating system. The ranch is located some 
nine and one-half miles east of Fresno and is considered one of the very 



1658 HISTORY OF FRESNO COUNTY 

productive places in the county. About twenty-six years ago, Air. Thur- 
man's uncle came up from Texas on a visit. He brought with him some 
Pecan nuts from the trees on his ranch and gave them to the Thurman 
children. William C. was the only one who kept his. These were planted, 
and as a result he raised twelve fine bearing trees. Two of these he had to 
cut out as they were in the way of some improvement he wanted to make. 
Since living here, Mr. Thurman has improved the ranch, and in the mean- 
time he worked for five years as a stationary engineer at one of the packing 
houses, during the busy season. Mr. Thurman was a stockholder in the Pro- 
ducers' Packing Company, that erected the large packing house in Fresno ; 
he also holds stock in the Las Palmas Packing Company and is one of the 
original members of the California Associated Raisin Company, his mem- 
bership number being forty-nine. 

Mr. Thurman's first marriage united him with Alice (Baird) Reid, born 
at Campbell Mountain, Fresno County, a daughter of Alfred Baird. one of 
the pioneers of the county. They had a son, Fred, now residing in Fresno. 
An estrangement led to a divorce. The second marriage occurred in Fresno 
and united him with Mrs. Maude Lillian (Clark) Freeburg, who was born 
in St. Charles, Mo., a daughter of Ryland E. Clark, a Kentuckian, who was 
married in Missouri to Mary Catherine Dorsey, and now lives at Defiance, 
that state. Of Mr. Thurman's second marriage one son has been born, Wil- 
liam Neely Thurman. By a former marriage Mrs. Thurman had the follow- 
ing children : Idell, Mrs. McNab, of Fresno County; and Fred and Florence 
Clark. Mr. Thurman has always been in favor of good schools and has 
served for one term as a trustee of the Kutner school district. 

J. P. HANSEN. — A successful vineyardist who has not only tilled his 
own acres but has helped to improve this section for the benefit of everybody 
who lives hereabouts, is J. P. Hansen, who came to Fresno County at the 
beginning of the epoch-making eighties. He was born at Fyen, Denmark, 
on May 24, 1868, the son of Iver Hansen, who was a prosperous farmer 
known for miles around on account of his trim homestead. The mother, 
Marie Hansen, raised a large family and saw that they were also well 
schooled. J. P. Hansen was the second eldest of the nine children, and was 
one of the earliest of the Hansens to come to America and to California. 
Reared on his father's farm, and having attended the public school, he swung 
loose from home and fatherland and, at the tender age of twelve, made the 
long journey by sea and land until he reached Fresno County, in November, 
1880. His first work was in vineyards, and a couple of years later he went to 
school for two winters. From the first he made his own way ; and as he 
was of a somewhat studious turn of mind, he learned much by private study 
and reading. 

In 1884 his father and the family arrived from abroad, but J. P. Hansen 
continued to work out on farms and vineyards. He early bought ten acres 
of land in the West Park, but this he sold. In 1895, in partnership with his 
brother, H. J. Hansen, he bought a farm outfit and then leased land near 
Academy, making the deal with the Sacramento Bank Land Company, but 
the third year was a total failure, and it required courage and hard, persistent 
effort to make the five years contracted for even an average success. The 
brothers cleared some profit, however, and having disposed of the outfit, 
they again leased for a while and then dissolved partnership. 

J. P. Hansen then entered the employ of the county and ran the road 
grader under Supervisor Bullard and Overseer Hotaling. He next bought 
twenty acres in Wolter's Colony and started in to make a success of viti- 
culture, his acreage being next to that of his brother. Two years later he 
sold out and leased a place for a year from George E. Taft; and while there 
he bought his present place of forty acres. 




-^^^rl/*-^^-*-^ 



HISTORY OF FRESNO COUNTY 1661 

This very desirable property is located one-half mile west of Melvin. 
In the beginning it was all weeds and sunflowers. In every way possible he 
improved it, setting out twenty acres the first year, and the same amount the 
second year. Having first planted wine grapes, he later grafted onto them 
choice malagas. In his vineyard he now has malaga, wine, and Thompson 
seedless grapes. He has sunk a well, and installed a pumping plant with a 
ten-horsepower gasoline engine and a five-inch pump. He is a member of 
the California Associated Raisin Company, and energetically supports the 
Association's programs. Mr. Hansen was married at Fresno, on January 
14, 1904, to Miss Anna Kirsten Anderson, who was born in Fyen, Denmark, 
the daughter of Anderson H. and Elsie M. Anderson, farmer folk. Mr. and 
Mrs. Hansen have two children living: Iver C. and Marie C. Hansen. Mr. 
Hansen belongs to the Clovis Lodge of the Odd Fellows, where he is a Past 
Grand, and to the Fresno Dania. He and his wife enjoy an enviable popu- 
larity. 

CECIL CALVERT TRAWEEK.— A man who has practically grown up 
with the section of Fresno County where he now lives, in the vicinity of Dun- 
lap, and a prosperous and progressive rancher, is found in the person of C. C. 
Traweek, a highly esteemed citizen of California. He was born in Texas, 
June 27, 1861, the son of S. T. and Nancy Traweek, who were married April 
1. 1849, and who became parents of eight children, five of them now living. 
S. T. Traweek was for a number of years treasurer of Angelina County, Texas, 
in which county he was recognized as a man of affairs, and when he died, in 
1894. he was mourned by a wide circle of friends. His widow, who was born 
in Nacogdoches County, Texas, June 1. 1826, after a life of great usefulness 
and loving deeds, passed to her reward on February 16, 1917, leaving a family 
of five children, thirty-nine grandchildren, sixty-three great-grandchildren, and 
one great-great-grandchild. 

C. C. Traweek was the sixth child in order of birth in the family of his 
parents, and he was reared and educated in Texas. At the age of twenty-five 
he came to California and cast in his lot with the destinies of Fresno County, 
stopping for a time in the section where the city of Selma is now located. 
He remained there for some time and for eighteen months was employed by 
A. T. Stevens as a stage-driver, carrying mail and express. Most of his years 
in this county have been passed in the vicinity of Dunlap, where in 1893, he 
homesteaded 160 acres, to which he has added by purchase from time to time 
until he now has 640 acres of good land. Of this he devotes ISO acres to grain 
and the balance is grazing and hill land. He is a practical rancher, up-to-date 
in methods of agriculture, and has lived to see the wonderful changes made 
in this county with the passing of the years. He has seen Fresno grow from 
a small hamlet to a city of large and prosperous proportions ; has seen the 
land developed from hog-wallows, sand hills and grain-fields to productive 
orchards and vineyards that have made Fresno County the best-known county 
in America, and "to the best of his knowledge and belief" the best county 
on earth. In all of this transformation he has done his part. So closely is he 
allied with the county of his adoption that he has not left it except for a short 
visit back to his old home in Texas, in 1899. 

On April 7, 1895, C. C. Traweek and Anna Gertrude Burk, a native 
daughter of Squaw Valley, were united in marriage. Her father, Richard 
Burk, was born in Clay County, 111., July 4, 1849, served as a soldier in the 
Union Army during the Civil War, in Company K, Forty-eighth Regiment, 
Illinois Volunteer Infantry, Third Brigade. He was with Sherman in his 
memorable "March to the Sea." After his discharge from the service he re- 
turned to his home, but on May 1, 1870, he arrived in California and spent two 
years in Tulare County. In April, 1872, he came to Squaw Valley and home- 
steaded 160 acres of land, improved it and is still residing on his property. 
He added to his original holdings until he owns 352 acres of good land. By his 



1662 HISTORY OF FRESNO COUNTY 

marriage he became the father of the following children: Anna Gertrude; 
Floy : F.lva L. ; Almeda J. ; John W. ; Henry A. ; Oliver M. ; and Harold R. 

I >f the union of Mr. and Mrs. Traweek there have been born four children: 
Hugh J., born April 22. 1898; Gladys L.. born August 19, 1900: Edith M., born 
November 5, 1902 ; and Bernice G., born October 22, 1909. They were all 
born and educated in Fresno County and share with their parents in the 
good-will and esteem of a large circle of friends. Mr. Traweek is a man of 
much public spirit and loyally supports all measures for the upbuilding of the 
county. He is a friend of education and believes in the maintenance of good 
schools. He has served the people well and acceptably as constable of his 
district for nearly six years, and wherever he is known he is honored for his 
integrity, and his home is the center of a true Californian hospitality. 

AXEL H. RASMUSSEN. — As a high-class commercial artist and card 
writer, Axel H. Rasmussen is well known in Fresno. Thrift and foresight, 
no less than push and enterprise, are distinguishing traits in the character of 
this young business man of Danish birth. He was born at Aarhus, Den- 
mark, February 5, 1887, and was brought up and educated in the land of 
his nativity. He attended the Preparatory University School. In 1906, a 
young man nineteen years of age, he came to America imbued with youth's 
enthusiasm and hopeful of the bright prospects ever held forth by the New 
World to her citizens of foreign birth. He came directly to Fresno City, 
and after trying farming and other lines of work he directed his attention 
to the profession that appealed to his artistic inclinations — sign painting 
and illustrating. He was in the employ of Mr. Gus Olson, sign painter, 
for a time. 

Mr. Rasmussen is a natural artist. His first work was done as an 
illustrator in the advertising matter used when the Kearney Park Boulevard 
Tract was put on the market, and for one year he was illustrator for the 
Berg Advertising Agency of Fresno. At present he does all the work for 
four theaters in Fresno and two theaters in Oakland, the Franklin and the 
Kinema. The first man to do commercial art work in Fresno, he is also 
the leader in that line. He has made illustrations for the street car ad- 
vertising of the Fresno Brewing Company, and the San Joaquin Baking 
Company of Fresno. He generously devoted his work for the publicity of 
the Red Cross Drive, the Belgian Relief and United War Work, and also did 
the greater part of the illustrating for the newspaper advertising for the 
Liberty Loan drives in Fresno. Since 1914 he has been in business for 
himself, and has met the well-merited success that his enterprise and careful 
and artistic work deserve. 

In establishing domestic ties Mr. Rasmussen chose one of his country- 
women by birth, who in maidenhood was Miss Sesilie Nielsen. They re- 
side in their cozy, comfortable home at 1766 L Street, Fresno. 

THEODORE J. RING.— The oldest resident of Raisin City is Theodore 
J. Ring, a native of Winston-Salem, N. C, born August 2, 1876. The Ring 
family is traced back to England ; members of the family came to North Caro- 
lina about six generations ago. One ancestor served in the Revolutionary 
war. Grandfather William Jackson Ring was a lieutenant in the Confed- 
erate Army in the Civil War. Theodore's father was Lee Ring, a planter at 
Winston-Salem and later at Elkin, where he died. The mother of Mr. Ring 
was named Augusta Ridings. She was also of English descent, and her 
father, Thomas Ridings, also served in the Confederate Army. Lee and 
Augusta (Ridings) Ring left two children. Theodore J. and his brother 
Thomas, who still own the old plantation at Elkin and have added to it until 
it embraces almost 600 acres; it is operated by and in charge of his brother. 
Thomas "Ring. 

I'll' '"lore Ring had the advantages of the public schools at Elkin. After 
the completion of his schooling he assisted on the home place until twenty- 



HISTORY OF FRESNO COUNTY 1663 

four years of age, when he entered the employ of the Southern Railroad, 
having charge of the freight warehouses at Elkin for a period of two years. 
While there he was married, on February 25, 1903, to Miss Carrie Sprinkle, 
a native of Elkin, and the daughter of J. H. and Minerva (Messick) Sprinkle, 
natives of North Carolina, of Virginian parents. J. H. Sprinkle is a tobacco 
commission merchant at Elkin, and also the owner of a transfer line, being still 
actively engaged in business. Of their nine children Mrs. Ring is the fourth. 

Deciding to locate in California, the young couple arrived in Caruthers, 
Fresno County, March 9, 1903. For two years Mr. Ring followed ranching, 
and then entered the employ of the Southern Pacific Railroad at Armona, and 
with the use of a speeder filled the duties of track-walker for two years. In 
April, 1907, he was transferred to Ormus, now Raisin City, as foreman of Sec- 
tion 49, a position he has ably filled ever since. He is now using a gaso- 
line motor car for transporting his crew and supplies over the section. When 
he came here there was no town, but the same summer Raisin City was laid 
out and in the fall the hotel and store went up and the Raisin postoffice was 
established. Mr. and Mrs. Ring have made several trips back to the old 
home, and as stated before still own a half interest in the old plantation, 
in which they take much pride. They have six children: Muriel, Mary, 
Leslie, Jack, Catherine, and Maude. Mr. and Mrs. Ring are enterprising 
and charitable and always have been ready to assist others less fortunate 
than themselves. Mrs. Ring is a devout Methodist. Fraternally, Mr. Ring 
is a member of the Knights of Pythias, the Woodmen of the World, and 
the Junior Order of American Mechanics. Politically he is a Democrat. 

VINTON JULIUS CLIFFORD.— A scientific viticulturist who is espe- 
cially familiar with the problems peculiar to Fresno County and the extension 
of the California vine industry, and who is high-principled, liberal and affable 
and therefore enjoys an enviable popularity, is Vinton Julius Clifford, who 
came to Fresno County in the late eighties, was for seven years a trustee of 
the Jefferson school district, and long an influential member of the Demo- 
cratic County Central Committee. He was born near Queen City, Schuyler 
County, Mo., on March 27, 1869, the son of Nelson Clifford, a native of Athens 
County, Ohio, who was married in that state and settled in Missouri, where 
he was a farmer and preempted land. There he died in 1881 when the subject 
of our sketch was thirteen years old. His wife was Margaret Currier, a native 
of Indiana and who died in 1879, the mother of eight children: Addison re- 
sides in Oklahoma; Hannah, who died June 13, 1919; Mary Olive, who was 
Mrs. Cole, died at Modesto on March 28, 1916; Charles Henry, who is the Con- 
stable and resides near Clovis ; Martha J., lives near Hannah ; Mrs. R. E. L. 
Cobb, of Clovis; Vinton Julius, the subject of our review; and Minnie May, 
now Mrs. Charles T. Reyburn of Clovis. 

The second youngest, Vinton J., was brought up in Missouri and as a lad 
learned to farm, at the same time that he attended the country schools of the 
district. He stuck at the work until he was nineteen, and then having several 
sisters who had preceded him to California, he followed and arrived in the 
land of opportunity, on October 5, 1888. He at once went to work on the 
grain ranch of J. Cole & Son, with whom he continued for five years. 

In the meantime Mr. Clifford had bought twenty acres in the Jefferson 
district which he set out as a vineyard, and this he sold in less than a year 
at a good profit. Then he started working on ranches and teaming, and in 
that continued until 1894 when he undertook to herd lumber in the flume for 
the Fresno Flume and Irrigation Company. He was with the flume company, 
and later in the mill, where he was a shipping clerk in the box department at 
Clovis, for ten years ; and having saved money, he bought six lots and owned 
three houses in Clovis, some of which he later sold at a profit. He then bought, 
for $2,640, a quarter section of land, and afterward traded it for $3,000 cash 
and twenty acres half a mile west of Clovis. Still later he sold the twenty 
acres, and about the same time quit the mill. 



1664 HISTORY OP FRESNO COUNTY 

Starting anew, Mr. Clifford bought the Alvin Cole vineyard of twenty 
acres near Clovis, and ran it for three years, when he sold it to Charles Rev- 
burn. He next bought forty acres in the Reyburn tract and afterward sold 
the same. Then he bought thirty acres in the Jefferson district, half a mile 
west of the Jefferson school house, which he improved to vines and ran it. 
During this time he was in the employ of Supervisorial District No. 2 build- 
ing bridges and oiling roads; and while the job was a particular one, he re- 
mained in charge of the work for eight years. For eight years, also, he bought 
grapes for the Barton vineyard. 

In March, 1918, he bought eighty acres in the Reyburn tract, three miles 
east of Clovis and in February, 1919, he bought eighty acres adjoining and 
now has 160 acres which he intends to set out as a vineyard. He has also 
leased the old Boucher place of sixty acres in the Jefferson district, all in 
vineyard, where he is raising muscats and Thompson seedless. Thus com- 
fortably and prosperously situated, he can look back with mingled memories ; 
where Clovis now stands was once a grain field, in which he ran big teams 
and a header, and where he hauled grain. 

In Clovis, also, Mr. Clifford was married on December 27, 1899, to Miss 
Hattie E. Ploetz, a native of Houston, Texas, and a daughter of Gustav and 
Mary Ploetz, who came to California in 1887 and in 1895 to Clovis, and were 
noted viticulturists. Mrs. Clifford attended school in Sacramento and Mo- 
desto, and Clovis grammar and High Schools. 

Mr. and Airs. Clifford have two children : Gladys M., and Victor Addison, 
who are both attending Clovis Union High School. 

Both Mr. and Mrs. Clifford are members of the Concordia Chapter of 
the O. E. S. at Clovis, she being a Past Matron, and he a Past Patron 
and the present Patron. Mrs. Clifford is also a member of San Joaquin Court 
of Amaranth, No. 27, at Fresno. Mr. Clifford also belongs to the Pine Burr 
Camp of the Woodmen of the World, at Clovis. In this same town he was 
made a Mason, in Clovis Lodge No. 417, F. & A. M., and he is a Past Master 
and also member of the Lodge of Perfection and Rose Croix, in Fresno. 

GEORGE WALLACE STEWARD. — A good example of what a man 
with energy, intelligence and industry may do in Fresno County is to be 
found in the career of George Wallace Steward, who owns a well-improved 
and very productive ranch of sixty acres on the Giffen road three and a half 
miles northeast of Fowler and ten miles southeast of Fresno. He is an Eng- 
lishman by birth, while his good wife is a native daughter who comes from 
one of the early and highly respected Danish families of California. 

Mr. Steward was born on May 13, 1867, in Hampshire, England, about 
fifty-two miles south of London, where his father and mother, Joseph and 
Marian ( Bundy) Steward, managed a farm on a twenty-year lease. Joseph 
Steward was Scotch and his wife was English. George \Y. grew up in Eng- 
land on his father's farm, until he was seventeen, although he left school at 
fourteen and was apprenticed to a baker. His mother died when he was 
only five years of age. After he had come to America, his father followed, 
and later, having never remarried, died in Indiana at the age of seventy- 
six. Seven children were born to this worthy couple — four boys and three 
girls, and George W. was the youngest son. 

George W. Steward said good-bye to England, and sailing from Liver- 
pool on the Cunard line, landed at New York on March 3, 1888. He had a 
brother who was a foreman on a stock-ranch in Benton County, Ind., and 
engaged to work under him for a celebrated Hereford breeder and importer, 
and there lie remained for three years. In 1801 he came West to California 
and, being offered employment at twenty dollars a month, settled at Fresno. 
Seven years later he was married at Fresno to Miss Annie Madsen, born 
October 31, 1876, the daughter of Peter Madsen of Oleander, win. married 
Catherine Elizabeth Marcussen. They are honored pioneers of Fresno County 



HISTORY OF FRESNO COUNTY 1667 

and, as successful ranchers at Oleander, are closely identified with the life 
and development of that section. 

For a couple of years after he had married, Mr. Steward rented land. 
Then he bought fifty acres from the Kimball estate, and ten acres adjoining 
it from Wylie Gift" en ; and there Mr. and Mrs. Steward have made their 
home ever since. They have four children : Evelyn Elizabeth, who graduated 
from the Fowler High School in 1918; Irving Wallace; George Wallace, Jr., 
born on his grandmother Steward's and his father's birthday, in 1907; and 
Lillian Dorothy. Mr. Steward is a member and stockholder of both the 
California Associated Raisin Company, and the Peach Growers, Inc., and 
also a member of the Farm Bureau of Fowler, and of the Valley Fruit Grow- 
ers' Association. All the family belong to the First Presbyterian Church of 
Fowler. Mr. Steward is a naturalized citizen, and in politics is a Progressive 
Republican. 

ELIHU B. HUNT.— A fine old gentleman who has traveled widely, 
seen much of the every-day world and real life, and derived much valuable 
experience, is Elihu B. Hunt, who came to Fresno County in 1910, and has 
ever since wished that he had settled here many years earlier. He was born 
in Thorndike, Waldo County, Maine, on May 10, 1855, the son of Sumner 
Hunt, a native of the same place. His grandfather, Ichabod Hunt, was born 
in Gorham, that state, and was a farmer who served in the Revolutionary 
War and the War of 1812. His father, also a farmer, died at Vassalboro, 
Kennebec County, Maine. He had married Frances Elizabeth Hunt who 
came from the same vicinity as her husband, and the daughter of Jonathan 
Hunt of Unity, 'Maine, a member of the same family, a long way back, and 
she also died at Vassalboro. There were eight children in their family: 
Martha, who died in Thorndike, became Mrs. Phillip Blethen, and passed 
away in March, 1900; Edith, now Mrs. Whitaker, resides at Troy, Maine; 
Clara is Mrs. John Kennedy, of Vassalboro ; Mary was Mrs. G. Burrows, and 
died in March, 1917, at Waterville ; Florence died when very young; Elihu B., 
who is the subject of this sketch ; William A., who is in Thorndike on the 
old home farm ; and Frank P., deceased. 

Brought up on one of the good old-fashioned farms, Elihu attended the 
ordinary country school and the Thorndike high school, and then, from his 
sixteenth year, taught school two winters. During the summer-time he 
worked on a farm. Going to Lowell, Mass., he was a night watchman for 
three years in a cotton mill; and at the end of that time, in 1877, he came 
west to White Sulphur Springs, Meagher County, Mont., where he contracted 
for getting out timber and breaking horses. After a while, he succeeded in 
owning a farm and buying some cattle, but the hard winter "broke" him, 
and he had to resume work for wages. He became a horseman and for two 
years was made superintendent of White's ranch ; then, for a couple of years, 
he contracted for carrying the mail from White Sulphur Springs to Neihart. 

In 1894, Mr. Hunt moved to Salmon, Idaho, where he at first engaged 
in lumbering, and then prospected and mined until 1901. Then he went to 
Globe, Ariz., for a year, and in May, 1902, to Old Mexico, where he worked 
for four years in mines. Attaining success, he traveled the Republic of 
Mexico, and was for three years at Medina, owning a ranch and raising corn 
and fruit. 

In May, 1910, Mr. Hunt sold out and came to California and Fresno ; and 
having looked about well, he decided to locate in Tranquillity. He at once 
purchased twelve acres, improved it and put it into alfalfa ; and in 1917 he 
sold it at a profit and bought his present place of twenty-two acres. This he 
so improved that now he finds it best to devote it all to the growing of alfalfa. 
He operates it himself, and so gets the very best results. He used to lease 
acreage from the San Toaquin Land Company, and raised grain and barley, 
and in 1917 he harvested eighty-six acres, in the management of which he 
was more than fortunate. 



1668 HISTORY OF FRESNO COUNTY 

In Salmon, Idaho, Mr. Hunt was made a Mason in Lemhi Lodge, No. 11, 
and he is still a member there. In national politics he is a Republican, but 
in issues for local growth and improvement lie is non-partisan. He is popular 
with his fellow citizens and loyal to the advancement of his town and county. 

GUY R. VIGNOLA. — A firm believer in the great future in store for 
Fresno County, of which he is a native son, Guy R. Vignola was born in 
Buchanan. Tune 11, 1884. He is a son of Angelo and Margaret (Lovaroni) 
Vignola. The father landed in New York at the age of five years, and was 
raised in that state. In the early fifties he crossed the plains to California, 
and mined for gold in Mariposa County for a time. He later settled in 
Fresno County, of which he was one of the pioneers. Here he followed 
mining, and was a storekeeper, sheepraiser and stockman, owning a 
large ranch near Buchanan. He also ran a store in Madera County in pioneer 
days. His death occurred in. 1906. To this pioneer couple eleven children 
were born, as follows: Emile and John, prominent citizens of Turlock 
County: Julius and Caesar, running the old home ranch at Buchanan: 
Frank: Mrs. George Wright, of Tuolumne County: Mrs. David Lockton, of 
Sonoma, Cal. : Mrs. Addie Hanby : Mrs. Vera Holland: Guy R., of this 
review ; and Juliet, who died when eighteen years old. 

Guy R. Vignola was raised on the home ranch in Buchanan, and at- 
tended the schools of that district, later finishing his education in the 
grammar school at Raymond, and also taking a course at a college in San 
Francisco. Always ambitious for further educational advantages, he has 
continued his studies since his school days, and is at present taking a 
correspondence school course in law. He engaged in the butcher business 
at Raymond, and for a time was engaged in newspaper work in Fresno. 
With W. W. Watson he founded the Fresno Daily Abstract, now called 
the "Daily Real Estate Reporter," devoted to real estate news transfers, 
court records and market reports. In 1908 he started in the real estate 
business in Fresno, and has been very successful in that line. He specializes 
in large ranch properties, and has sold and exchanged many large parcels 
of land in the county. A resident of Fresno County since his birth. Mr. 
Vignola has a thorough knowledge of conditions and values in this section, 
and his success has followed as a matter of course. Meanwhile he has been 
aiding in the development of the resources of his native county. 

J. R. CAIN. — Success in business does not entirely depend upon financial 
ability ; in the retail business especially, the courteous treatment of prospec- 
tive customers and the genial smile, coupled with an intelligent and compre- 
hensive knowledge of the merchandise and efficient management of the es- 
tablishment, are very essential factors to success. J. R. Cain, the subject of 
this sketch, possesses these qualifications in a pleasing degree, and to them 
he attributes a large measure of his success in the furniture and undertaking 
business. He is a native of the Hoosier State, having been born in Indiana 
in 1874: but he was reared and educated in Kansas, to which state his par- 
ents removed in 1881, and where they resided up to 1908, when they migrated 
to California. They are now residents of Fresno County. Mr. and Mrs. 
William Cain were the parents of seven children, only three of whom are 
living: C. P., R. L., and J. R. 

J. R. Cain migrated' to California in 1900, and for two years lived in 
Sonoma County. In 1902 he removed to Fresno County, where he has since 
resided and carried on a prosperous business. He has been engaged in the 
furniture business for sixteen years. During twelve years of this time he 
conducted business in Selma, and for five years he has been located in San- 
ger. During the last six years he has conducted an undertaking establish- 
ment in connection with his furniture business. I lis furniture and under- 
taking room in Sanger is fifty by one hundred feet in size, and in addition 
to this he has a workshop forty by forty feet. In 1016 Mr. Cain was appointed 



HISTORY OF FRESNO COUNTY 1669 

a deputy coroner of Fresno County. While living in Selma his business 
ability was recognized by the citizens of that enterprising city, by his election 
to the city council. 

In 1889 J. R. Cain was united in marriage with Miss Birdella M. Howard, 
the daughter of F. A. Howard ; and they are parents of one daughter, Alta 
Marie. They also have a foster daughter, Joybelle, who enjoys the full privi- 
leges and domestic relations of a daughter. 

Mr. Cain and his family are members of the Methodist Episcopal Church. 
Mr. Cain is the superintendent of the Sunday school, and in 1918 he was made 
the president of the Fresno County Sunday School Association. Fraternally, 
he is a Mason, being affiliated with Sanger Lodge, No. 316, F. & A. M. 

JUDGE E. W. RISLEY.— In the passing of Judge E. W. Risley. prom- 
inent for many years in the political and civic life of Fresno, the city lost 
one of her most highly respected and useful citizens. He was born in New 
Haven, Conn., March 1, 1853, and was a direct descendent of Richard Risley, 
founder of Hartford, Conn., in the year 1635. When a lad he went to Gales- 
burg, 111., and at the age of twenty-one graduated from Knox College, having 
also studied law during the last two years of his college life. In 1874 he 
started West, his goal being California. During the silver boom he sought 
a foothold in Nevada and in California, from Shasta to San Diego. 

Judge Risley's name, before he came to Fresno, was woven conspicu- 
ously into the story of Arizona's rapid development. At the time of the 
great mineral discoveries in Tombstone, Ariz., he went over the desert by 
pack train and met with the usual vicissitudes of the pioneer, sometimes a 
millionaire in his mind and sometimes a pauper in fact. At one time he was 
official court reporter of the entire Territory of Arizona, which necessitated 
his traveling from one end of the territory to the other in the performance 
of his official duties. He was also a deputy United States marshal and deputy 
district attorney of Cochise County, wherein was situated the city of Tomb- 
stone, and was clerk of the board of supervisors of Pina County. During his 
stay in Tucson he became, in turn, deputy United States district attorney 
and member of the Tucson city council, and saw the change of Tucson from a 
Spanish pueblo to a modern American city. As a member of the territorial 
legislature, later, he was chairman of the judicial and appropriations com- 
mittees. 

Judge Risley came to Fresno in 1885, and was at once admitted to the 
Supreme Court of the State of California and to the United States Supreme 
Court. He was deputy district attorney of Fresno County under Firman 
Church and W. D. Tupper, and as city attorney under the old Spinney regime 
did much to maintain order and keep the two factions from an open rupture, 
insisting upon the enforcement of the city ordinances. For six years he 
served as superior judge of Fresno County ; and of the many decisions he 
rendered, manv of them on murder charges, not one was ever reversed by 
the Supreme Court. At the close of his term, although earnestly solicited by 
his many friends to continue in office, he declined, wishing to devote his 
time and" energy to his private affairs. Notwithstanding this decision, he took 
an active part, as a freeholder, in making the existing city charter, and acted 
as police and fire commissioner for four years. 

Judge Risley's wife was before her marriage Miss Eleanor Merrill, a 
native of Illinois. She died in 1913. Judge Risley died on December 15, 
1918, and his funeral services were conducted at the crematory by his life 
long friend, fudge M. K. Harris. Judge Risley's request was that at death 
there should'be'no flowers, "but dust unto dust, and unto dust to lie with- 
out glory, without pomp, without end." He was eminently worthy of the 
honor and respect accorded him by his friends and colleagues, who mourn 
his untimely demise. The judge is survived by his son, Thomas E., of Fresno, 
and a daughter, Mrs. Marguerite Rowe, of Los Angeles. 



1670 HISTORY OF FRESNO COUNTY 

NORTHMAN C. LIVINGSTON.— Northman C. Livingston was born 
in Claremont, N. H., January 2, 1862, the younger of two children born to 
Sherman and Zilpha (Keith) Livingston, natives of New Hampshire and Pom- 
fret, Vt., respectively, who spent their last days in the latter state. He was 
brought up in New Hampshire until eighteen years of age, and there had 
the advantages of the public schools. When eighteen years of age he removed 
to Pomfret, Vt., and engaged in farming until he located in Hartford, Vt., 
where for seven years he ran a harness establishment. Next he engaged in 
the furniture and undertaking business in the 'same city for a time. After 
selling out this business he assisted in the management of a hotel, and then 
for a while was employed in the woolen mills. Returning to the farm in Ver- 
mont, he operated the place for seven years. 

On account of his wife's health, Mr. Livingston came to California, arriv- 
ing in Pasadena in 1907. After a year in that city he came to Raisin City, 
Fresno County, in 1908, where he engaged in general merchandise, pur- 
chasing the location and improving the store building. A few years ago he 
closed out the dry goods and groceries and now has a hardware and im- 
plement store. Since 1908 he has been postmaster, and he has had the 
telephone exchange since the company built their line into Raisin City. 

Mr. Livingston was bereaved of his wife in September, 1916. She was a 
woman of amiable disposition, and will be long mourned by her relatives and 
friends. Mr. Livingston is the oldest merchant in Raisin City, and is well 
liked and popular as a public official and merchant. He was made a Mason 
in Woodstock Lodge. No. 31, F. & A. M. His political preference is with 
the Democratic party. 

MARIUS and HARRY GIRAUD.— Two very successful viticulturists, 
well-liked and respected, are Marius and Harry Giraud, natives of Avancon, 
the Hautes-Alpes, France, where their father, Jacques, was also born. He 
was a cooper, who had his own farm and forest, and used to go himself 
to get out the material for his staves and heads. He also had a finely appointed 
vineyard; and on his place, a joy as well as a means of support to him, he 
died, in 1908. His good wife, Angelena Senturie before her marriage, was 
also a native of the Hautes-Alpes, and survived her husband three months. 
Seven children were born to this worthy couple. The eldest was Marius. of 
whom we are writing; then came Emil, who is still in France: the third 
was Harry, who also figures in our story : and the others are Mary, Felice, 
and Gabriele, also resident in their native land, and Ferdinand, who was 
killed in December, 1914, while serving as a soldier at Nieuport. Belgium — 
a sacrifice for the cause of freedom and justice which reflects the highest 
glory on the family name. Marius was born on March 11, 1865, and Harry 
on the 11th of November, two years later. They were both reared in France, 
and while attending the public schools of their neighborhood, learned the 
details of vineyard work. 

In 1888 Marius Giraud came to Los Angeles and went to work on the 
railroad. The next year he made his way to Fresno, and for a month found 
employment on the Fresno sewer. At Christmas he got a job pruning vines, 
and soon he formed a partnership with Mr. Telmond and for a year busied 
himself with contract pruning. Then, for four years, he was with Louis 
Almand, pruning in Fresno, Kings, and Tulare counties. In December, 
1893. Harry Giraud came out to California from France, and thereafter the 
brothers continued pruning together. From 1901 to 1905 Marius was in busi- 
ness in Fresno; when he sold -out, he went in with his brother on a vineyard 
of twenty acres near the mountains, in the Helm Colony, and this was man- 
aged under the firm name of Giraud Bros. Harry had purchased the twenty 
acres in 1902, and the following year he set out the vineyard. To this they 
have given the closest attention, raising only wine-grapes. Marius also 
bought, together with his brother, forty acres of raw land a mile west of 



HISTORY OF FRESNO COUNTY 1671 

this place, and set the same out to muscatel, Malaga and Thompson grapes, 
raising the vines from cuttings, and allowing five acres for alfalfa. Now the 
brothers have sixty acres of as choice and rich vineyard soil as can be found 
anywhere. They have always been actively interested in the various raisin 
association movements, and they are supporters of the California Associated 
Raisin Company. Though born in France, they are not indifferent to the 
political interests of their adopted country. They generally march under 
the Republican banner ; but when it comes to local issues, they are for Fresno 
and Central California, the best men and the best measures. 

EMIL KREYENHAGEN.— Reputed to be among the largest land- 
owners and stock-raisers of Fresno County, is Kreyenhagens, Inc., one of 
whom, Emil Kreyenhagen, the subject of this review, was born in St. Louis, 
Mo., December 1, 1853. He is the son of Gustav and Julia (Tiering) Kreyen- 
hagen, both natives of Hanover, German}'. The father immigrated to the 
United States in 1846 after having received the advantages of a thorough 
education in his native land. Being especially proficient in languages and 
mathematics he became a professor of Latin, Greek and mathematics, in St. 
Louis, Mo., where he made his home for some years and while a resident of 
the metropolis of Missouri four children were born, all of whom died there, 
except the subject of this review, Emil Kreyenhagen. In January, 1854, 
Gustav, with his wife and infant son Emil, migrated from Missouri to Cali- 
fornia, coming via the Isthmus of Panama and arriving at San Francisco. 
Here, for a time, he operated a general merchandise store. In 1860 he 
located on a ranch six miles east of Gilroy and at the same time he operated 
the Peach Tree ranch in Monterey County, for four years. Here he engaged 
in sheep-raising, but the fates seemed unpropitious, as a disastrous flood 
overtook his flock and nearly all of his herd was lost. Afterwards, in the 
year 1865, Gustav Kreyenhagen removed to Los Banos, in Merced County, 
and while living there ran not only a store, but was the proprietor of a hotel 
and kept a stage station. Los Banos was at that time a large center for 
freighters who were engaged in hauling supplies through the valley with 
large teams of mules and horses, this being the only means of transportation 
before the advent of the railroad. 

December 1, 1874, Emil Kreyenhagen had located at what was then 
Posa Chena, now Kirk Station, east of what is now Coalinga, Fresno County, 
and in 1875 his father and family also came and located at Posa Chena and 
engaged in stock-raising. Here the father kept a store and hotel and en- 
gaged in raising sheep and cattle on a large scale. After a long and eventful 
career he retired from active participation in business affairs in 1887, and 
three years later passed away to his eternal reward, bereaved by a large 
circle of friends and five surviving children : Emil ; Hugo ; Mrs. Bertha 
Welker ; Adolph ; and Charles. His widow survived him till August 2, 
1906. 

Emil Kreyenhagen is the eldest of the family and was reared in Cali- 
fornia from his first year. He received his education in the public schools of 
Gilroy and at St. Joseph's Academy, Oakland. He assisted his father in his 
varied business at Los Banos until they sold out, and when nineteen years 
of age, in 1874, he came to Posa Chena, Fresno County. He liked the appear- 
ance of the country and in 1875 the rest of the family joined him. They 
then began the stock business which has since grown to such large pro- 
portions. The brothers continued in partnership all these years, working 
together in harmony, and on July 14, 1916, they incorporated as Kreyen- 
hagens, Inc., he being the president of the company. The company owns 
10,000 acres of land and leases 37.000 from the Southern Pacific Railway 
Company and from individuals. The three ranches they own are known by 
their Spanish names, Los Canoas, Zapato Cheno, and Las Polvaderas, and 
are located southeast of Coalinga. The Kreyenhagens are also interested in 



1672 HISTORY OF FRESNO COUNTY 

the Hays Cattle Company, of Kirkland, Ariz., and at one time owned and 
managed the Crescent Meat Market and City Market at Coalinga. In early 
days they did teaming, hauling freight to and from Posa Chena to Gilroy 
and Bania Station, using from eight to ten-horse teams for the freighting, 
sometimes taking ten days to make a round trip and upon their return trip 
bringing merchandise and supplies. The year 1918 finds these enterprising 
brothers farming 1,400 acres of land, on the plains, to grain. Emil Kreyen- 
hagen filled the position of postmaster at Turk Station, also at Rogers post- 
office. Hot Springs. Fraternally, he was made a Mason in Welcome Lodge, 
No. 255. F. & A. M. at Lemoore. 

Emil Kreyenhagen was united in marriage with Lucy Hathaway at 
Lemoore. on December 15, 1881. She was born in Coulterville. Mariposa 
County, the daughter of Fielding and Eliza (Davis) Hathaway, natives ot 
Virginia and Texas, respectively. They crossed the plains with ox teams 
in 1858. locating on the Merced River where Mr. Hathaway ran a flour mill. 
In 1865 they moved to Visalia where he was a contractor and builder and 
built the old Visalia House. On account of his wife's health he removed to 
the mountains in 1874, being engaged in stock-raising near Mineral King, 
and there his wife died in 1875. He then returned to Visalia and later lived 
retired at Lemoore, where he died at the age of ninety-two years. Mrs. 
Kreyenhagen was educated in the public schools of Visalia and her union 
with Mr. Kreyenhagen has been blessed with two daughters: Gertrude, 
Mrs. C. G. Barton, who resides in Hanford, and who was educated in Easton 
High School and Heald's Business College, Fresno; and Leona M.. who 
was educated at Mills College and then a graduate of the Riverside Library 
School, after which she taught school in Hanford, and who is now the 
wife of Carrol V. Buckner of Lemoore. 

A pioneer of the Valley, Mr. Kreyenhagen has in his modest and quiet 
way been a real upbuilder and developer of Fresno County, and he is today 
reaping the fruits of his labors, and is esteemed by all who know him, for 
his integrity, worth and honesty of purpose. 

NILS E. LARSON. — A sturdy old-timer who came to Fresno County in 
the early eighties is Nils E. Larson, to whom there is probably no document 
of more precious value than the honorable discharge which certifies that al- 
though he was born in Arebre, Sweden. November 8, 1859, he served awhile 
in the United States Navy and so won for himself the right to American citi- 
zenship. His father was Frederick Larson, a farmer known for miles around 
on account of his experience, his industry, and his honor, and as the second 
youngest of six children, three of whom are still living, Nils enjoyed all of 
the educational advantages that the first-class public schools of Sweden could 
afford. He was reared on a farm, and he learned farming thoroughly, as it 
is followed in his native land. 

When he was sixteen years of age Nils enlisted in the Swedish Navy, and 
for three years he followed the sea under the flag of a country long famous 
for its brave and well trained seamen. He learned marine engineering, and 
as a skilled mechanic and machinist made several lengthy voyages on differ- 
ent ships. He visited Philadelphia and New York, and sailed around Cape 
Horn ; and through his intercourse with the peoples of other countries than 
his own he mastered everyday English and picked up some knowledge of 
other languages as well. Having received an honorable discharge, he con- 
cluded to leave Sweden and to try his fortune in the New World. 

In 1878, Mr. Larson landed at New York City and immediately enlisted 
as a marine engineer in the United States Navy, in which position he served 
the Union for three years. He was appointed, in time, to five or six different 
ships, went around Cape of Good Hope, sailed to China, and then returned to 
Philadelphia by way of the same Cape. He went around Cape Horn to 
San Francisco, and in that city, in 1881, he received his honorable dismissal. 



HISTORY OF FRESNO COUNTY 1673 

Thereupon Mr. Larson went to Port Costa, where he worked in a ware- 
house for a year; and on the fourth of July, 1882, he reached Fresno and 
soon after began to engage in grain farming. He drove the big teams in the 
grain fields, and he teamed to the mountains, and from the upper regions he 
hauled lumber, using at times from eight to twenty-two mules and horses 
in a single team. 

In 1884 he took up a homestead of 160 acres at Tollhouse, and at the 
same time engaged to work for John Haskel, on whose ranch he remained 
seven years. He then started grain farming twelve miles south of Fresno 
on Elm Avenue, and leased 3,500 acres from A. A. Weber. He used six 
big teams ; but the year proving a very dry one he harvested scarcely two 
and a half sacks to the acre and lost everything except a span of horses. He 
bought more horses on credit, however, came to Academy, leased land of 
D. C. Sample, beginning with 600 acres, and increasing the area to 2,200, 
and ran four big' teams with a combined harvester drawn by twenty-four head 
of horses. He cut other grain, and sowed and reaped 1,600 acres a year, 
finally meeting with success. For the first six years he could hardly make 
expenses, selling wheat as low as sixty cents per hundred and thirteen dollars 
a ton for barley, but he persisted and overcame the handicaps which seemed 
insurmountable. 

While operating there, fourteen years ago, Mr. Larson bought his present 
place of ISO acres in the Gray Colony; and after he had farmed the same to 
grain for three or four years he moved onto it and began to improve the 
land. He had already leveled it, and had planted forty acres to alfalfa ; 
then he put out a vineyard of sixty acres, and the same year set out twenty 
acres in orchard. Since then he has planted more than forty acres, and has 
altogether a ranch of 152 acres, twelve miles from Fresno. He has over 100 
acres in vines distributed to Thompson, sultana, muscat and wine grapes, and 
twenty-five acres in peaches. He has an orange avenue leading to his resi- 
dence, and a small and useful orchard at the house. He holds membership 
in the California Peach Growers' Inc., and the California Associated Raisin 
Company. 

At Oakland, in 1909, Mr. Larson was married to Miss Meta Husted, 
who was born in Denmark ; and by her he had three children : Nils Frederick, 
Margaret C. and Christen H. Larson. Mrs. Larson passed away in May, 
1918. Mr. Larson is a Republican in national political movements. 

L. M. JENSEN. — An industrious and experienced farmer and a broadly 
developed viticulturist and horticulturist, making a specialty of raisin culture, 
is L. M. Jensen, who was born at Fyen, Denmark, December 10, 1877, the son 
of a farmer near Bogense, where he was reared and educated in the public 
school. When he was only four years of age his mother died, and when he 
was six he was thrown on his own resources, and thus made his own way 
through the schooling period until he was fourteen, and from that time on. 
Through the return of a friend, Hans Frank, he became acquainted with 
the wonderful land by the Pacific and its resources, and concluded to take 
the momentous step of leaving home, crossing the wide ocean, and trying his 
fortunes in the New World. On April 28, 1902, he arrived in Fresno County, 
and immediately found employment at ranching in the vicinity of Selma. 
Soon he bought a small farm near Parlier, consisting of about twelve acres, at 
the price of $600. This he set out to vines, kept it a couple of years, and 
then sold it for $1,250. He continued to work on farms and with teams, 
and leasing some land of D. C. Sample, he tried his hand at grain-farming. 

In 1913, Mr. Jensen bought a vineyard of seventy-two acres in the Gray 
Colony, which he improved considerably and built upon. He set out thirty 
acres as a vineyard with muscat, Emperor and malaga grapes, and thirty 
acres in figs of the White Adriatic kind, while he had ten acres of peach 
orchards. He has two pumping plants, and uses two engines for pumping. 



1674 HISTORY OF FRESNO COUNTY 

Like other wide-awake specialists in his field, he is a member of the California 
Associated Raisin Company, and the California Peach Growers, Inc. 

Near Academy, Air. Jensen was married to Miss Carrie M. Frikka, a 
native of Kolding, Denmark, by whom he has had four children: Elna- Marie, 
Louis Christian, Clarence James, and Ann Christene. For some time past 
Mr. Jensen has been a trustee of the Gray school district, and in that capacity 
has done good public service for the community. In national politics he gen- 
erally follows the standards of the Democratic party, while in fraternal life 
he is active principally in the Dania in Fresno and the Clovis Camp of the 
Woodmen of the World. 

JOHN H. FUNCH.— A very interesting and worthy old-timer in Cali- 
fornia, the story of whose, life, with its numerous narrow escapes, runs like 
a veritable romance, is John H. Funch, who came to the Golden State in 
1869. He was born at Bornholm, Denmark, on August 30. 1855, the son of 
P. G. Funch who was a sailor and a ship-carpenter by trade. In 1847 the 
elder Funch sailed with a Spanish ship around the Horn, and at San Fran- 
cisco he left the vessel and made for the interior. At Sutter's Mill he helped 
construct the water wheel, and so he was present at the time when John 
Marshall discovered gold in the mill-race. He engaged in placer mining with 
great success, until he acquired over $30,000; his shipmate and fellow-car- 
penter, Hans Munk, had as much more. The Spaniard who owned the grant 
returned from Mexico, had them arrested and brought to San Francisco 
where the court released them, deciding that one could dig gold where it was 
found. Hans Munk sat at a gaming-table, and staked what he had, and — 
unusually, perhaps — doubled his small fortune. P. G. Funch started for his old 
home in Denmark, once more sailing around the Horn, but it was two years 
more before Hans Munk returned. Arriving safely home, P. G. Funch bought 
a large farm, and managed it until he died. In time, his good wife. Nora 
Sode, also passed away in their comfortable, hard-won home, the mother of 
twelve children, among whom John H., now the only one in California, was 
the second oldest. 

John H. was reared in Denmark until he was fourteen years of age, dur- 
ing which time he attended the thorough Danish schools ; but having two 
uncles in San Francisco, he left his native land, a mere boy, and crossed the 
ocean and the great American continent. Arrived in San Francisco, he 
resumed his schooling, but one day in the classroom proved enough for his 
nerves, and so he quit and made off for Sacramento. There he commenced 
to work out at different jobs, but he soon went to Virginia City, Nev., where 
he secured five dollars a day at mining in the Comstock and Yellow Jacket 
mines, on an eight-hour shift. Even at ten dollars a day, the wear and tear 
proved too much ; he broke down and had to quit. His next work was in 
Washoe upon a big flume, but there he contracted rheumatism. He then 
went to LJnionville and Hot Springs and there recovered. Taking to stage- 
driving, he ran the mountain stage from Unionville to Winnemucca station, 
thirty-five miles, receiving for his services $125 a month. But again he was 
afflicted with rheumatism, and he was forced to return to San Francisco and 
resume doctoring. Fortunately, he found a physician who was able to effect 
relief and he recovered, in the meantime taking a trip to Honolulu. 

In 1872, Mr. Funch came to the San Joaquin Valley, into what was then 
called Fresno, but is now Madera County. He worked on the Friedlander 
ranch for a year, and then helped to construct a flume to Madera. When this 
was completed, he engaged in farming, taking up a preemption claim near 
Borden ; then he bought land and raised grain. He built up a big agricul- 
tural enterprise, and had an extensive outfit. He bought additional land at 
SI. 50 an acre, until he had four sections, of 640 acres each, or 2,560 acres. 
The first great crop he shipped to Contra Costa, but it had no sooner arrived 



HISTORY OF FRESNO COUNTY 1677 

there than it was burned in a big warehouse fire, and he suffered a total loss. 
He therefore let the land go and abandoned farming. Then he came to Fresno 
and began to contract for leveling and ditching, along with Hank Horn. He 
also engaged in threshing and harvesting. He helped build the San Joaquin 
ditch, and took 240 acres for pay. When the Church Canal went through, it 
was located on his land, but the ditch did not pan out successfully, crops 
failed, and he lost out again. 

On September 25, 1891, Mr. Funch married, at Fresno, Mary Bergman, 
who was born at Lulao Norlan, Sweden, and then he located on his present 
place, beginning with twenty acres in the Parent Colony No. 2. Mrs. Funch 
was the daughter of Adolph and Carrie (Hjemdal) Bergman, and her father 
was a sea-captain, who sailed in the coasting trade and on the Mediterranean, 
and who went down with his ship off the coast of Spain. The bereaved wife, 
her mother, still resides at the old home, the mother of three devoted children, 
of whom Mrs. Funch is the second oldest. In September, 1881, she came to 
Burlington, Iowa, to an uncle, then after a stay in Illinois, moved west to 
Nebraska. During the boom year she reached San Diego, and on April 10, 
1891, came north to Fresno. 

The land Mr. Funch bought was hogwallow, that had never been plowed, 
and he first plowed and later leveled it. He improved it as a vineyard and 
an orchard, and built a fine residence and the usual barns and outbuildings. 
Since then he bought other land adjoining. He had seventy acres, but he 
sold twenty, and now has fifty, five miles north of Fresno. About twenty 
acres are laid out as a vineyard, and eight acres as orchard, while the balance 
is given up to alfalfa and pasture. For a while he had a small dairy. He has 
a fine pumping-plant, as well as water from the Enterprise Ditch. Always 
keenly interested in everything that pertains to progress, Mr. Funch takes 
an active part in the California Associated Raisin Company. 

Eight children have blessed the union of Mr. and Mrs. Funch : Helga is 
Mrs. Wilmath, and resides at Fresno ; J. P. was in the United States Army, 
serving overseas in the Three Hundred Sixteenth Engineers Train, Ninety^ 
first Division, being in the battles of Saint Mihiel, Meuse, Argonne and Lys ; 
Mamie is a graduate of the Fresno State Normal, and is teaching in the 
Wolters school ; Allen served in the aviation and signal corps of the United 
States Army ; Edward and Fred are assisting in the ranch work ; and there 
are Frank and William. The family is noted for its neighborliness and its 
genuine hospitality. 

Mr. Funch has shown himself to be a public-spirited citizen, ever willing 
to serve his 'fellow citizens, for some years serving as school trustee in the 
Houghton district. In national politics, he is a Democrat, but he believes 
that in local affairs party lines should be disregarded, and he has done what 
he could to make a united community, wherein each is interested in its 
advancement. 

It may not always be easy to get Mr. Funch to talk about the stirring 
events connected with himself and his adventurous father, but when he does, 
he always has a good story to tell. One of these is the stage-robbery that 
occurred when he was driving the bus. He recognized the robbers as Union- 
ville gamblers and promptly reported them ; but political pull prevented 
their getting their just deserts. The gamblers then swore that they would 
"get" him on the next trip, and such a fate was averted only by the alertness 
of Mr. Benson, the Wells Fargo agent, and the post master, who started 
him out of town at midnight, hours in advance, so that he went through 
safely. Sad to relate, the driver who took his place the next day was killed 
on the run ! 



1678 HISTORY OF FRESNO COUNTY 

BONIE BENJAMIN HERMAN.— A native son who has made an en- 
viable record in the stock-raising business is Bonie B. Herman, who is a 
native of Fresno City, born January 22, 1880. His father, Ezekiel Herman, 
was also a native son, born in Los Angeles, who, riding the range from a boy, 
became a well-posted and experienced stockman. He was in the employ of 
Miller and Lux, and afterwards of Jeff James, and is now with the San Joa- 
quin Farms Land Company. The mother of Bonie, Eliza Johnson before 
her marriage, was born in Stockton, and died at San Joaquin, leaving six 
children, of whom Bonie B. is the second oldest. 

Bonie Benjamin Herman was reared in Riverdale and Caruthers, and 
received a good education in the public schools. While still a youth he 
began riding after cattle, on the Burrell estate. When thirteen years of 
age, in 1893, he entered the employ of Jeff James at San Joaquin, and has 
continued on the ranch ever since ; and he has had no time off except two 
short leaves of absence. In due time he became foreman of stock under Mr. 
James, a position he held until Mr. James' death, continuing in the same 
capacity until the ranch was sold to B. F. Graham, who incorporated the 
San Joaquin Farms Land Company, and Mr. Herman has been foreman of the 
stock department ever since, having charge of about 5,000 head of cattle 
and a herd of horses that range over 35,000 acres. 

Mr. Herman was married in Fresno to Miss Carrie Morano, born in 
Yuma, Ariz., but reared in Fresno County. They have four children : Flor- 
ence, Lottie, Maggie, and Ralph. Fraternallv, Mr. Herman is a member of 
Fresno Lodge, No. 186, I. O. O. F. 

T. H. FLINT. — This hard-working and eminently practical rancher, 
while most successfully developing his valuable property in one of the very 
best raisin sections in Fresno County, has introduced a method by which he 
can raise a good crop of alfalfa among his trees without lessening the pro- 
duction of fruit, thus maintaining more cows and stock and incidentally 
securing a greater supply of valuable fertilizer for his orchards. He owns 
120 acres one mile south and one mile west of Del Rev, on Lincoln Avenue, 
where he has developed one of the show-places of Central California. 

T. H. Flint was born in Davis County, Mo., on November 19, 1865, 
and when seven years of age was taken by his parents to Cass County, Nebr. 
His father, John L. Flint, who is now living in Fowler, farmed for two years 
in Nebraska and then removed with his family to Kansas, but only for a 
season, after which he went back to Nebraska, this time settling in Saline 
County, where he became a large landowner, having had at one time two 
large stock farms; and here our subject grew up. His mother, whose maiden 
name was Mary Alley, and who was born in Indiana, as was bis father, is 
also still living at Fowler. She is seventy-four years of age, and the father 
is two years older. Four children were born to these devoted parents, and 
all are still living. Thomas H. is sketched in this review; George M. was 
the second in the order of birth ; Minnie is the wife of F. E. Wells, the mayor 
of Fowler, whose life-story is elsewhere given ; and the youngest is Merlie, 
who resides two miles northeast of Selma. 

Thomas Flint had his first schooling in Missouri, at the public schools in 
Cass and Saline Counties, after which he conned his books in Nuckolls 
County, Nebr., and at Fairfield, in Clay County, of the same state. At the 
latter place he also attended the Christian College. He had worked a year 
at the carpenter business in Saline County, and then moved to Nuckolls 
County, where he lived for twelve years, working for three years at his 
trade. There, too. in 1887, he was married, and for some years he farmed 
rented land. His parents came to California in 1890, although two years 
after they came out to Brown's Madeira Colony they moved back to Ne- 
braska. They did not remain long in the Middle West, however, but sold 
their holdings, and in 1894 returned to the Pacific Coast. In 1897 Thomas 



HISTORY OF FRESNO COUNTY 1679 

decided to follow them West; and when he arrived here, he went to work 
near Selma. He teamed the first year; and then, in 1899, in Kings River 
Bottom, farmed corn on rented land. 

In 1900 Mr. Flint moved onto his present place, which he at first rented 
for a year. It was wild with Johnson grass, and the orchard and vines had 
been badly neglected. Through painstaking and patient labor, he now has 
thirty-five acres planted to Thompson Seedless grapes, twenty acres to mus- 
cats, twenty-one acres in bearing peaches, ten acres in prunes and plums, 
five acres in young peaches, twenty acres in alfalfa, three acres in Kelsey 
Japan plums, and seven acres in prunes. In various ways, including his 
novel method of irrigating the alfalfa, Mr. Flint has made of his ranch a 
model farm. 

Mr. and Mrs. Flint have been blessed with eight children. Fay is the wife 
of W. W. Frame, the rancher, who resides at Wild Flower, southwest of 
Selma; Doris, the third in order of birth, married F. E. Thornton, the well- 
known rancher of Madera ; Ora is a farmer at Wild Flower, and took for 
his wife Amada Giblin ; Goldie and Carmon are at high school in Fresno ; 
and Muriel is in college at Los Angeles. Royce, the second-born, passed 
away when he was at the promising age of seventeen ; and Ivan also died 
young. The family attend the Christian Church at Fowler, and are active 
in that society's good works. 

EDDIE A. JOHNSON. — An enterprising, progressive native son, wide- 
awake to every opportunity for advancement in business, and equally am- 
bitious for the righteousness of the community, Eddie A. Johnson enjoyed 
a pleasant and enviable popularity. He was born in the middle eighties, a 
son of Eric Johnson, who was born at Carlskoga, Vermlan, on December 6, 
1846. When only seventeen, Eric Johnson came to the United States and 
prepared to settle in Illinois: but unable to resist the call of the Union, he 
enlisted in the Civil AVar as a member of an Illinois regiment, and served 
until the close of the struggle, when he received an honorable discharge. 
For six or seven years he continued to farm in Illinois, near Chicago, and 
then returned for a visit to Sweden. The stay in his native land lasted 
a couple of years, and at its conclusion he returned to Chicago. When 
California was being boomed in the East, incidental to the Philadelphia 
Centennial, he came West to San Francisco and hired out as a conductor on 
the old cable street-railway. Tiring at length of this occupation, and having 
saved a snug sum from his wages, five years later he looked about for the 
best opportunity of getting "back to the land." He came to Fresno County 
to buy land and settle ; and after securing forty acres in the Scandinavian 
Colony, he set to work to improve the same. Later he sold his holding and 
bought the present Johnson place, taking possession in 1883. He began 
with twenty acres, and a year later added twenty more ; and he set out all 
the tract as a vineyard, placing there muscat and Malaga vines. He also 
built himself a residence and the customary outbuildings, and set out a 
variety of choice trees. On September 26, 1885 he was married at Fresno to 
Miss Kate Peterson, a daughter of Sweden who was born near Carlstad, 
Vermlan. In 1882 she came to California and soon after, at Fresno, met 
Mr. Johnson. Four children blessed their union. The eldest is Eddie, the 
subject of our sketch: Paul and Hulda are on the home farm; while David 
died at the age of twelve. 

The demise of Eric Johnson occurred on May 7, 1915. at which time 
the Swedish Mission Church of Fresno, of which he was both a member and 
an organizer, lost one of its most faithful supporters, he having continued 
a trustee or deacon until his death. Mr. Johnson was for some time a mem- 
ber of the G. A. R., and in politics was a Republican. 

After her husband's death, Mrs. Johnson, aided by her children, con- 
tinued to manage the ranch of forty acres, to which they added twenty. 



1680 HISTORY OF FRESNO COUNTY 

making a very valuable tract of sixty acres, six miles north of Fresno. They 
have also improved and now own forty acres of the Colonial Helm tract. 
Mrs. Johnson and the family attend the Swedish Mission Church at Fresno. 
They have many friends, and the home is a center of hospitality. 

Eddie Johnson was born in the old home on September 13, 1886, attended 
the public grammar schools of his district, and finally graduated from the 
Chestnutvvood Business College. He enjoyed the advantages of every lad 
who has the good fortune to grow up in Central California, and from his 
boyhood was acquainted with the important details of vineyarding. In 
1910 he located on the place, which his father had bought without any im- 
provements. He bought twenty acres of the estate, built himself a fine 
residence, and set and reset his vineyard, planting sultanas, Thompsons and 
wine grapes, and making a model vineyard ; and he also leased his sister's 
place of twenty acres. Interested in the larger field of viticulture, he associ- 
ated himself with the California Associated Raisin Company, of which he was 
the local correspondent. 

During a visit at Berkeley, Mr. Johnson was married to Miss Pauline 
Boquist, a native daughter of San Francisco, and now the mother of his 
three children — Eddie Leroy, Robert Adolph and a baby. Mrs. Johnson's 
father, Sven Boquist, was a native of Sweden, who came to California and 
here married Hilda Sophia Nordstrom. She was born in Helsingborg, 
Skam, Sweden, and came to Chicago and later to San Francisco, where 
she died, aged twenty-seven years, in 1888. Pauline was the only child, 
and after her mother's death she was reared by her aunt, Carrie Nordstrom, 
and was educated in the grammar and high schools. She learned the mil- 
liner's trade in San Francisco, which she followed there until her marriage. 
In religious work, Mr. Johnson's influence was widely felt as a deacon of 
the Swedish Mission Church in Fresno, while in politics he maintained 
an independent, public-spirited attitude toward the questions of the day, 
refusing to be bound by any party platform. He died December 19, 1918, 
a victim of influenza. 

EDWARD COOPER SWIGART.— A varied experience in life, giving 
one a fair knowledge of human nature, becomes a valuable asset in anticipating 
and supplying the wants of a community, as is shown by the life-story of 
Edward Cooper Swigart, the well-known merchant at Academy, who has 
built up both his reputation and his fortune by plain, honest dealing in the 
face of the usual severe competition, which will, sooner or later, sift the chaff 
from the grain. He was luckily born, for he .is a native son. having first seen 
the light near Tehachapi, Kern County, on August 18, 1878 ; and he came to 
Academy when he was six years of age, and until he was thirteen he attended 
school there. 

Mr. Swigart at first went into farming and mining, and then became in- 
terested in stock-raising, after which he ranched for himself. In 1902 he was 
elected constable of the Tenth Judicial District, and he held the office two 
terms. During this period he sold his cattle, and in 1907 went into the general 
merchandise business, establishing himself at Letcher ; and for six years he 
served as assistant postmaster. 

In 1913, having purchased ten acres on the site of Academy, with its 
buildings, Mr. Swigart moved his stock of merchandise to that place and has 
since continued in business there. Aside from the store, he has a blacksmith 
shop and garage. He also owns sixty acres of land just above Academy where 
he is installing a pumping plant preparatory to setting out an orchard and 
vineyard. Since 1913 he has been the postmaster at Academy. There are 
postmasters and postmasters, but Air. Swigart is of the sort that endeavors, 
while doing his full duty to the national government, to secure the very best 
service, and plenty of it, for the community in which he lives and thrives. 
He is a Democrat, has long held an enviable position in local democratic 







r 



aj^ 



HISTORY OF FRESNO COUNTY 1683 

councils, and has given an excellent administration of the office of deputy- 
county clerk. 

Mr. Swigart's general merchandise establishment, now so widely known 
for miles around, is the only establishment in the neighborhood aiming to 
carry such a stock, and to serve the community in that manner. Wide ex- 
perience, with both local needs and the best markets from which supplies are 
to come, is necessary to make a store of this kind a success ; and it is pleasing 
to learn that the efforts of this California merchant to place the best of every- 
thing before his customers, and at the lowest tariff that the various conditions 
will permit, have been so thoroughly appreciated by the citizens of Academy, 
and their patronage means that they intend to support a store that has always 
so well considered their future as well as their immediate necessities. 

September 6, 1899, witnessed the marriage of Edward Cooper Swigart 
and Fannie L. Kirch, a union that has brought much happiness to both of the 
fortunate parties. The bride is a native of the city of Fresno, and as the 
daughter of well-known pioneers she will certainly always deserve the right 
hand of California fellowship. Two children, Ella May and Gloria Lucile, 
have come to bless the Swigart home and to share with the parents the cor- 
dial good-will of all. The former is a graduate of Heald's Business College 
and now the wife of W. R. Simpson who served overseas in the United States 
Army; they make their home at Academy. 

Mr. Swigart is a member of the Fresno Lodge of Eagles. He was chair- 
man of the committees for the various war and Liberty Bond drives at Acad- 
emy. He is a board member and clerk of the Dry Creek school district and 
in every way does all he can to advance the welfare of his community. 

BERTEL LAURITSEN. — A very progressive and successful young 
man, who began the great struggle for a place in the world as an ordinary 
farm laborer and today has a valuable improved ranch close to Del Rey, 
ornamented by a beautiful residence built on symmetrical and artistic lines 
is Bertel Lauritsen who was born at Fredericia, Denmark, on December 
19, 1871, the son of Mogens Lauritsen, a mason and mechanic there, who, 
on his son's invitation, has come all the way to California, and is now living 
with him. The mother, whose maiden name was Marie Lauritsen, died 
twenty-two years ago in Denmark, after having borne twelve children, and 
brought up nine, six of whom are still living in Denmark, while three are 
in Fresno County. These latter are Bertel, or "Bert," as he is popularly 
called; Laura, the wife of Carl Schongaard, the rancher and butcher of 
Temperance Colony; and Betty, the wife of Clarence Cleary, the head of 
the seeding department of the Rosenburg Company in Fresno. 

Having decided to come to America, Bertel Lauritsen sailed (from 
Bremen on a Hamburg-American liner and landed at New York in June, 
1890. Without much delay in the East, he made straight for Clifton, then 
only a post-office and one store, and now the wide-awake, go-ahead Del Rey, 
and immediately began work for J. M. Shannon, on what is now the Shan- 
non vineyards. He continued there for five years, and then began to operate 
for himself. First, he bought land from Mr. Shannon in the Shannon Colony, 
and improved twenty acres. He also bought and improved twenty acres 
on the E. F. Davis tract, and this, as well as the other lot, he sold at an 
advantage. Then he bought forty acres more on section nine, and planted 
and improved the same, after which he disposed of it at a good price ; and 
next forty acres on section two, which he put into grain and sold. 

His present fifty acres he bought from two different owners in 1911. 
Two acres had been planted at the time when he made the purchase, and 
fourteen he has since grubbed up and replanted. Now he has two acres in 
alfalfa, three in white Adriatic figs, thirty-four in Thompson Seedless grapes, 
ten acres in muscats, and one in flaming Tokays. All in all, it would be 
in 



1684 HISTORY OF FRESNO COUNTY 

hard to find a trimmer and better cared-for ranch of the size. The ornate 
bungalow is as beautiful a modest home as anyone could wish for. 

In March. 1897, Mr. Lauritsen was married to Miss Annie Hansen, a 
fair native daughter of Denmark who had previously come to Fresno, and 
by her he has had one child, Valborg. With their daughter the parents 
made a trip back to Denmark in 1906, and for eleven months revisited the 
once familiar and endearing scenes of the fatherland. Attractive, however, 
as the old country appeared to them again, both were glad to return to 
their Fresno home. As an American, Mr. Lauritsen delights in all that 
makes up the land of his adoption, and he keeps Old Glory flying all the 
time in his front yard. Members of the Danish Lutheran Church, eight miles 
west of Del Rev, Mr. and Mrs. Lauritsen maintain a live interest in all 
religious endeavor; and they are always ready to "do their bit" in every 
movement for the uplift of their community. 

RASMUS MADSEN. — Prominent among the large number of Danish- 
Americans, who have contributed to the permanent development of the 
resources of the Golden State, must be mentioned Rasmus Madsen, who 
came to Fresno County in the early nineties. He was born on the Island of 
Fyen. Wesenbjerg, on April 22, 1866, a son of Madsen Mortensen, who was 
also a native of the same locality and a prosperous farmer there. In early 
life the father married Miss Anna Catherine Olsen, by whom he had nine 
children. One of the sons, Karl, is a rancher, and now resides in the Gray 
Colony, Fresno. Both parents died in Denmark. 

The third eldest in the family, Rasmus was reared on his father's farm, 
while he obtained a limited common-school education. As soon as he was 
old enough, he began assisting his father, and thus followed farming for 
the support of the family until 1885. Then he enlisted in the Danish heavy 
artillery and served as a soldier for the customary two years, receiving the 
coveted honorable discharge. Then for a couple of years he worked for 
different persons, saving his earnings, and when he had enough for a 
ticket to America, he crossed the wide ocean to the country fabled for its 
opportunities. 

His first two years in the United States were spent on farms in Iowa, 
but the Middle West not being exactly what he was looking for. he left Clay 
County and came to the Pacific Coast. He had heard about Fresno and its 
expanding county, and after a few days at the Hotel Collins, then the old 
Ogle House in the little county seat, he went to work. He showed himself 
capable of managing a header, a harvester or a thresher; and at all-around 
farm labor he continued for a couple of years. Then he determined to 
have a place of his own and eventually leased a fruit ranch which he con- 
ducted until he had accumulated enough money to sell his lease and leave 
Oleander. Then he moved to the Lee place in the Gray Colony, and en- 
gaged in grain-raising. He had about 500 acres, which soon yielded bounti- 
fully, and which he ranched for three years. 

In 1906, Mr. Madsen bought 480 acres of his present place in the Red 
Bank district, and there he located, making improvements and erecting such 
buildings as were necessary or desirable. He raised grain, leased more land, 
and continued his operations on an increasingly larger scale. He bought 689 
acres adjoining, and after five years he sold the same at a profit. He leased 
other lands, and managed finally over 1.500 acres. At one time he had 
thirty mules or more for his work; now he has a seventy-five horsepower 
Holt caterpillar for plowing and putting in his crops, and he harvests with 
a combined harvester. Mr. Madsen also improved a forty-acre vineyard on 
the Reyburn tract which he cared for two years and then sold at a good 
profit. 

After vears of close application in improving his ranch, Mr. Madsen 
rented the place to his sons in the fall of 1918 and retired to his home in 
Fresno, located on the corner of Van Ness and Divisidero Streets. Mr. 



HISTORY OF FRESNO COUNTY 1685 

Madsen was married, at Fresno, to Mrs. Johanna (Christensen) Petersen, 
a native of Viborg, Denmark, where she married Mads Petersen and where 
they were well-to-do farmers until they decided to locate in California, 
when they sold out, in 1891, and came to Fresno, where Mr. Petersen died 
two months after their arrival, leaving four children who have been reared 
and educated from the Madsen ranch. They are Christian and Peter, who 
are operating the Madsen ranch ; Annie, now Mrs. Hemmingsen of Rolinda ; 
and Mary, who became Mrs. Harrington and lives in Los Angeles. By Mr. 
Madsen she has had one daughter, Thora. Mr. Madsen belongs to the 
Danish Brotherhood, and is a leader in Danish-American affairs. But Mr. 
Madsen is first, last and all the time an American, and tries to promote good 
citizenship according to the principles laid down by the old, historic Demo- 
cratic party. Under its banners he has done years of yeoman work, re- 
fusing more than one complimentary offer to assume public office. He has 
made a splendid success of his life, and he, his wife and children are highly 
respected. 

BEN JOHNSON. — A fine type of man and citizen — straightforward, up- 
right, kind-hearted and generous — Ben Johnson has made a noteworthy 
record as a stockman in the foothills and as a teamster and freighter ; and in 
developing one of the show places in the county he contributed his "bit" to 
the improvement of land values in this section. He was born near Stavanger, 
Norway, on April 4, 1854, the son of Johann Johnson. His mother was Sigrid 
Johnson, and she died when the lad was six years of age. Johann. however, 
lived to attain his eighty-fourth year, the honored father of nine children, of 
whom Ben was -the youngest. Two other sons came to California — Kjeron 
and Jacob ; and both died at Fresno. 

Ben attended the public school until he was fourteen, and then continued 
to assist his father until he was twenty-one years of age. He worked for a 
while on farms, but more and more gave himself up to lumbering. He did as 
well as the average young man, but seeing that he could not get ahead, he 
decided to leave his native land and come to the United States. In 1884, he 
came to what is now North Dakota ; and at Buxton and vicinity he worked 
for some years on a farm. 

In 1889, Mr. Johnson moved west to California, drawn to this region 
because a brother of his