(navigation image)
Home American Libraries | Canadian Libraries | Universal Library | Community Texts | Project Gutenberg | Children's Library | Biodiversity Heritage Library | Additional Collections
Search: Advanced Search
Anonymous User (login or join us)
Upload
See other formats

Full text of "The history of Granville, Licking County, Ohio"



>y- V^ 



O^ -^rO 






< V. 



aV 






\'^ 



-,^^. 















■'^. ,^' * 



^^"-^^ 









^^.- vf 



il-^" 



-:. .^' 



'-^ 



^■^^ 



-~A:y-^ 



^\' 









^/ 



'^,_ .-^ 



K^^ '^^ 












^,^' 



.^-^ 



.<i- 



\\' . 



>:^^'% 



^^^- c^^ 



\\- 



o 



<> <^ • 



-^' 



■v 



.^'' '\ 



■\ 



%.^' 



^-^' 






Vs^-^^.. 












.%.. 









v-> 



^^" -^^.^ 



,.\ 






V 



-</' ,x^ 



' / 






.-^^^ 



,v 






/ , 



.^>' 






\' 



^#• 



'-t,. . 

"^^>.^^^ r 

.^^•^>- ' 



5 aV 



M 









^^. VV 



-'X-^- 






,A'' 



aV'^, 



'>- <" 



^^ 



,av' 



.^ -^ 









'%.<e^ 






.-^^^' . 



A"* 



''■^. 



.#■ 






% .^ 



.<^' 



^ "^s>. 



..^ 



•V 



•->-. 






"^>- '[^'^ 



-7', 






^- C^^ 



/, C . V 



A^^ 



' '^ ":■' 



,x^^ 



.V 'f'r 



■'■<s^ K 



:^^' 



.•\ 



■'^. 



.-.V 



b^ %. 









■•\^" 



0> 






oV 



' V 






THE 



History of Granville 



LICKING COUNTY, OHIO 



WRTTTEN BY 



REV. HENRY BUSHNELL, A. M. 



Published by a Company formed for the Purpose 



COLUMBUS, O. 

Press of Hann & Adaik 

1889 



^- 






f< 



^ 



PREFACE. 

' I "'HIS History of Granville was undertaken nine years 
^ ago at the suggestion of one of Granville's absent 
sons. In gathering materials, the fact came to light that Mr. 
Charles W. Bryant was engaged in similar work. Each 
was urged by the other to make common stock of what 
had already been obtained and go on with the work. It was 
finally arranged that Mr. Bryant would take the genealogies 
and family histories, and the subscriber the annals; the 
whole to be combined for publication. The annals were 
ready in 1880, closing with the Seventy-fifth Anniversary. 
But the other part called for large correspondence and delay. 
In 1885, Mr. Bryant died ; no part of his work, so far as can 
be found, being readv for the press. There was so much 
call for the annals that a company was formed to publish 
them. The record has been brought down to the present 
time in an added. chapter. It was thought best to leave the 
pages already written, unchanged. Hence all references to 
\.h.& present^ names of streets (since changed), etc., remain as 
in 1880. In the course of the annals the orthography of 
some names will be found to change, but this conforms to 
the usage of the families, and need not lead to any mistake. 
Some incidents recorded may to some appear trifling, but 
they have been preserved, not always for their intrinsic 



value, but because they might hint to the memory a picture 
of the olden times, or awaken pleasant recollections by 
suggestion. Nothing has been deemed unimportant that 
helped in that service. The cut of the University was 
loaned to us for this use. The rest are made by Smith, 
of Columbus ; those that appear in the additional record, are 
from photographs by Carpenter, of Granville ; the other 
buildings, reproduced from memory or description, maps 
and outlines are from original drawings. The writer would 
gratefully make his acknowledgments for materials used, to 
the family of Dr. Little, to C. W. Bryant, Hon. Isaac 
Smucker, the various authors of pioneer papers in his pos- 
session, and to the few who were remaining of the pioneers, 
particularly Deacon T. M. Rose, Col. D. M. Baker, and Mr. 
L. E. Bancroft; and regrets to have been alone responsible, 
except where credit is given, for the selection of matter, 
arrangement, drawings, style of book, and business contracts. 
He will be thankful to receive any correction of mis-state- 
ments, or any important additional information ; and may at 
any time be addressed at Westcrville^ Ohio. 

H. BUSHNELL. 
August, 1889. 





CONTENTS. 


I. 


Ab Origine, 


• II. 


Ohio in 1805, 


III. 


The First Low Plash, 


IV. 


The Scioto Land Co.,. 


V. 


The Location, 


VI. 


The Licking Land Co.,. 


VII. 


Preparations,. . 


VIII. 


By the Way,. 


IX. 


The Symmetrical Location, 


X. 


The First Week, . 


XI. 


Business, .... 


XII. 


Early Experiences, 


XIII. 


Annals, 1806,. . 


XIV. 


Annals, 1807,. 


XV. 


Annals, 1808, 


XVI. 


Annals, 1 809-1 1, 


XVII. 


The War of 1812, 


XVIII. 


Annals, 1812-15, . 


XIX. 


Annals, 1816, 


XX. 


Annals, 1817-20, 


XXI. 


Annals, 1821-22, 


XXII. 


Annals, 1823-26, . 


XXIII. 


Annals, 1827, 


XXIV. 


Annals, 1828-30, . 


XXV. 


Annals, 1831-33, 


XXVI. 


Annals, 1834, 


KXVII. 


Annals, 1835-39, 



Page 

9 

15 
20 

24 
28 

31 
34 
40 

45 
50 

55 
62 

7Z 

77 

83 
89 

97 
103 
109 

115 
122 
126 

131 

135 
140 
149 

155 



VI 


CONTENTS. 


Page 


XXVIII. 


Annals, 1 840-50, 


160 


XXIX. 


Annals, 1851-55, .... 


. 169 


XXX. 


Annals, 1856-79, 


177 


XXXI. 


The Seventy-fifth Anniversary, 


. 191 


XXXII. 


Rev. Timothy Harris, .... 


198 


XXXIII. 


Rev. Ahab Jinks, .... 


. 201 


XXXIV. 


Rev. Jacob Little, D. D., . . . 


204 


XXXV. 


Plan of Union Chnrch, 


. 210 


XXXVI. 


Granville Baptist Chnrch, 


217 


XXXVII. 


Methodist Episcopal Church, . 


. 222 


XXXVIII. 


St. Luke's Protestant Episcopal Church, 


. 226 


XXXIX. 


Welsh Churches of Granville, 


229 


XL. 


Denison University (Granville College, etc.) 236 


XLI. 


Granville Academy (Male and Female) 


• 245 


XLII. 


Granville Female Seminary (Baptist 


and 




Episcopal) 


253 


XLIII. 


Our Professional Record, 


• 256 


XLIV. 


Our Industrial Enterprises, . 


273 


XLV. 


Our Commercial ECnterprises, . 


. 285 


XLVI. 


The Anti-Slavery Excitement, 


297 


XLVII. 


Our Criminal Record, 


. 310 


XLVIII. 


Fatal Accidents, . . . . . 


316 


XLIX. 


War of the Rebellion, 


• 326 


L. 


Olla Podrida, 


332 


LI. 


The F. F. G's., .... 


• 341 




Additional Record, .... 


346 



INDEX. 



Page 

Ab Origine 9 

Abduction of George H. Tight 185 

Aboriginal Works 10 

Academy, The Frame 146, 247 

Academy, The Brick 118 

Accidental Shooting 99 

Accidents, Fatal 316 

Additional Record 346 

Additions to the Town 185, 347 

Advance Companies 35 

Agreement, The Preliminary 25 

Alexandrian Society (Library and Bank).. 

75,107, 285 

Anniversary, The Seventy-fifth 191 

Anticipations Not Realized 28 

Anti-Slavery Excitement 297 

Arrivals, The First 40 

Atlantic & Erie Railway 184, 185 

Bands of Music. 84,98, 128 

Banking 285 

Bank of Granville, Alexandrian 107 

Battle of Snowballs 167 

Bear Hunt, The Last 129 

Bell, Baptist 159, 187 

Bell, Congregational 138, 165 

Bidding Against Land Sharks 81 

Bidding for Lots 58 

Bill of Fare, The Early 69 

Birth, The First in Town, Etc 72 

Bold Subaltern, A 99 

Bricks, The First Made 89 

Buckeye Minstrels 164 

Burglaries 310 

Burlington Cyclone 127 

Burying the Newark Advocate 124 

Business (Colony) Resumed 55 

Business Improved by Canal 146 

By the Way 40 

Cabin, The First, 52 

California Adventurers 166, 168 

Camp Fire, 1800 20 

Canal Contracts 133 

Cavalry Company, 1812 101 

Cemeteries 177, 339 

Census Returns, 1880 197 



Page 

Central Normal and Business College 368 

Cheese, Large 283 

Church, Baptist 217, 355 

" The Emigrant 37 

Episcopal 131, 226 

Methodist 222,352 

Plan of. Union 132,210 

" Presbyterian 350 

Welsh Baptist 229 

" " Congregational. 234 

Methodist 232 

Circular Hunt, The 126 

Coaches of Niel, More & Co 133 

Commercial Enterprises 285 

Committee of Exploration 26 

Committee of Safety 187 

Company, Maj. Case's Rescuing 103 

Conference of Churches 21 1 

Constitution of Licking Co 31 

Contractors on Canal 133 

Conveniences, Pioneer 71 

Conveyance of Company's Purchase 29 

Costumes, Pioneer 94 

Criminal Record 310 

Cut-off, The 189 

Dam of Brush 36 

" Sycamore Logs 36 

" The Aboriginal 12 

The Third 81 

Death, The First in the Colony 75 

" The First in the Township 22 

" The Second in the Township 23 

" The First on Welsh Hills 231 

Deed, The Partition 61 

Denison University 240, 358 

Dentists of Granville 269 

Descending a Lightning Rod 144 

Diagram of Company's Purchase 29 

Division of Land, The First 58 

" The Second 61 

Dramatic Performances 117 

Drouth 150, 159 

Drove on a Stampede 145 

Drumming School 115 

Dutchman Placated 42 



Vlll 



INDEX, 



Page 

Earliest Born 340 

Early Experiences (i2 

Earthquake of 1811 96 

Evening Entertainments 62, 71 

Expectations Unrealized 28 

Experiences in War 100 

Explosion at Goodrich's Distilery 316 

Falling Stars 146 

Fatal Accidents 316 

Female Academy 247 

" Charitable Society 114 

'• College 249, 362 

" Seminary, Baptist 253 

" " Episcopal 254 

F. F. G's 42, 341 

Filial Obedience 93 

Financial Embarrassments 149 

Fire Department 364 

Fires 3:32 

First Frame Houses 82-87 

First Low Plash 20 

First Three-story lUiilding 146 

First Week 50 

Flood, The Memorable 150 

Floor Gives Way 125 

Frolic, A Meritorious 92 

Frosts 150, 178 

Fugitive Rescued 307 

General Muster 142 

Golden Weddings 336 

Granville Alexandrian Society 75, 107, 285 

" A Thoroughfare 133 

" College 236 

Furnace 276 

Times 370 

Guest, A Singular 11!) 

Hogg Tract 1(1(1 

Hotels 86, 335 

Houses, The First Frame 82-«7 

Incidents by the Way 42 

Incorporation of Granville 143 

Infantry Company, 1812 97 

Indians, Friendly 71 

of Ohio 16 

Indian Works 10 

Industrial Enterprises 273 

Industries, the Later 349 

Infant Schools 140 

Jaconet, A Yard of 110 

Joke, A Practical 93 

Journeymen Artisans 91 

Jubilee, Granville 172 



Page 

Last Cabins in Town 138 

Lawyers from Granville 262 

Library, Early 7o 

Licking Land Co., The 31 

" " " Ceases to Act 81 

Licking County Organized 16, 84 

Licking Exporting Co 289 

Licking Summit Celebration 128 

Literary and Theological Institute 143, 236 

Locations in Town, First Winter 50 

Location of Company's Lands 28 

Location, The Symmetrical 45 

Log Cabin Parade, 1840 160 

Mail Coach, The First 124 

Male Ac.idemy 249 

Map of Ohio in 1805 17 

" Granville Township II 

Village... 46 

Maple Grove Cemetery ISI 

Meeting House, Baptist.. .137, 165, 219, 225. 355 

" " Congregational 

91, 110, 156, 179. 215, 351 

Meeting House, Episcopal 158, 227, 364 

Methodist 223,352 

" " Presbyterian 350 

Mercantile Enterprises 288 

Merchants, Present 369 

Meteoric Shower 146 

Military Company, 1812 97 

Matters, 1818 116 

" Parades 142 

Drill, The Last 162 

Mill Site, The First 36 

Ministers from Granville 256 

Missionaries from (Jranville 260 

Missionary Work 117 

Mob of 1836 300 

Municipal Officers 369 

Munson's Saw Mill 73 

Name Chosen for Village 34 

Newspapers of Granville 370 

New Year's Sermons 135 

Ohio Central Railroad 197 

Ohio in 1805 15 

Opera House 364 

Organs 158. 179,356 

Paintings, Proficients in 271 

Partition Deed 61 

Pasquinades 339 

Pennsylvania Schooners 145 

Pews of the Olden Time 113 

Physicians of Granville 266 

Physician, The First Resident. 90 



INDEX. 



IX 



Page 

Piano, First in Town 253 

" FirstatG. F. A 137 

Pioneers Yet Living 371 

" in 1880 190 

Plot Uncovered 136 

Poetry — 

A million lives went out, H. B 3"J6 

Bright is the dawn of morning, H. B . . 48 
Hail! widely famed, George Bliss 147 

It is the last time, Mis. Sigourney 174 

In Granville when the sun, Whitney 306 
O God, thy purpose planned, H. B. 194 

Ohl fare ye well, T. Spelman 193 

Oh! weep for the day, Anon 161 

O thou man of God, H. B. 188 

When rambling o'er, T. Spelman 39 

With joy as to a cherished, J. I\I. Pond 172 

Ponds ; 79 

Postmasters 336 

Pottery, Aboriginal 13 

Preparations of Emigrants 34 

Present Business Houses 369 

Public Worship in the Woods 51 

Pulpit, an Old-time Ill 



Quota More than Filled. 



Railroad Disturbances 

" The Underground 

Record, Our Criminal 

Reflector Baker, The 

Refugee Tract 

Reminiscences of Dr. Bronson ... 

Rescue of a Fugitive 

Reservations of Company's Land. 
Revival, Mr. Little's Description. 
Riot 



Roads Improved 109, 190, 

Roster of Infantry, 1812 

Cavalry, 1813 

" Soldiers of Civil War 

" Mexican War 166, 

" U. S. Regular Army 

Route, The Emigrants' 

Routine of a Day 

Sabbath Habits 58, 

Sabbath Schools, The First 

Sad State of Morals, 1827 

Saw Mills 36, 73, 81, 

Scarcity of Money 107, 

School House, The First 

" Th- Second 

" The Union 171, 

Schools, Select 

Scioto Land Company 

Sermon, The First Methodist 



180 

189 
308 
310 
155 

30 
226 
307 

56 
211 
181 
,346 

97 
102 
327 
340 
340 

40 

70 

68 

106 

131 

120 

120 

57 

91 

363 

133 

24 

95 



Page 

Seventeen Year Locusts 103 

Seventy-fifth Anniversary 191 

Shepardson College for Women 360 

Shinplasters 158 

Sickness of 1834 152 

Signers of Constitution 32 

" of Original Agreement 26 

Snakes 65 

Song in the Desert 51 

Special Mention 269 

Spiritualism 170 

Stampede of Cattle 145 

Steeple, The First HO 

Streets Re-named 348 

" Narrowed 163 

Stoves in Church, The First 141 

Students' Freaks 164, 338 

Sugar Loaf Denuded 114 

Sunday Creek Coal and Iron Company 296 

Survivors in 1880 196 

Teetotal Pledge 167 

Temperance Pledge, Limited 138 

Temperance Society, The First 136 

Town Clock 166 

Township Enlarged 109 

" Organized 77 

" Officers, First 78 

Trees, Forest 72 

Trial, A Sham 92 

Underground Railroad 308 

Village Boundaries IS'l 

" Government Re-organized 184 

" Incorporated 143 

of the Hills 47 

Visit of Dr. Little 187 

Vocal Music Teachers 251 

Wanderer, The 122 

War of 1812 97 

War of Rebellion 326 

Ward's 89 

Water Cure Establishment 169 

Water Works 171,179, 187, 348 

Wedding, The First 78 

Week, The First 51 

Wells, The Aboriginal 12 

"Well, I Reckon" ~ 43 

Welsh Citizens 229 

" Churches of Granville 229 

" Hills Cemetery 177, 339 

Wheat Bread, The First 22 

Whisky 58 

Wild Hogs 67 

Wild Turkeys 63 

Wives of Ministers. 262 

Wolves 64 



Young Ladies' Institute 254 



X 



INDEX. 



NAMES. 

By far the greater part of the names that occur in this volume m\ist be looked for in the 
Annals, Professional Records, Mercantile or Industrial Enterprises, Accidents, etc. It is only 
when some prominent mention is made of individuals that their names are indexed. 



Avery, Alfred. 



Page 

7. 6-1 



Bailey, Rev. Silas, D. D 220 

Bancroft, Ashley A 337 

Bancroft, Albert L 271 

Bancroft, Deacon G. P 336, 366 

Bancroft, Henry L 3S~ 

Bancroft, Hubert H 270 

Bancroft, Hon. Samuel 127, 185 

Bancroft, Dr W. W 169, 185 

Basset, Mr., death of 106 

Beach, Rev. E. A., D. D 215 

Beecher, Dr. Lyman 112, 141 

Berry, Rev. James 218 

Bragg, Mrs. A. E 190 

Bronson, Rev. S. A., D. D 226 

Bryan, Dr. E. F 159 

Bryant, Charles W 367 

Bushnell, Leonard '. . 272 

Butler, Leveret 41, 67, 147 

Carr, Rev. Henry 219 

Carter, Prof. Paschal 237 

Case, Major Grove 103 

Clark, Appleton B 270 

Cook, Lyman 272 

Cooley, Dr. John B 153 

Cramer, William 337 

Cunningham, Patrick 21 



Downer, Hon. S. S 

Dudley, Rev. A. S 

Dunlevy, Mrs. Amanda F. 



189 
216 
368 



Fassett, Elias 115 

Gavit, Hon. William 103 

Gilman, Elias, Esq 177 

Going, Rev. Jonathan, D. D 238 

Griffin, Major-General Charles 269 

Hamlen, Horace 251 

Harris, Rev. Timothy 123, 198 

Hayes, Prof. Ella 271 

Hervey, Rev. Dwight B 216 

Howe, Deacon Amasa 171 

Howe, Curtis 186 

Hughes, Rowland 3.39 

Humphrey, Hon. Daniel 170, 177 



Page 

Jinks, Rev. Ahab 122, 201 

Jones, John (first settler) 20 

Jones, Mrs. Lily (death of) 22 

Jones, T. D. (sculptor) '271 

Kerr, Hon. William P 187, 365 

Lee, Dr. Samuel 90 

Little, Rev. Jacob, D. D 187, 204 

Little, Rev. Joseph 365 

Martin, William S 250 

Meeker, Rev. Eli 140 

Moore, William D 368 

M o wer. Colonel L. D 149 

Munson, Gen. Augustine 183 

Munson, Hon. J. R 97 

Phelps, John (Capt. Put.) 10-5, 120 

Philipps, Urias 75 

Pratt, Prof. John, D. D 237 

Prichard, A. P Ill, 182 

Reed, Simeon 119 

Rees, Deacon Theophilus 21 

Richards, Dr. William S 9.5, 170, 228 

Robbins, Rev. S. P 73 

Rose, Deacon Lemuel 155 

Rose, Capt. Levi 98 

Rose, Ormond 99 

Rose, Hon. Timothy 104 

Rose, Deacon Timothy M 365 

Sample, John H 271 

Sanford, Rev. Alvah 228 

Shepardson, Daniel 360 

Sinnet, Hon. E 367 

Sinnet, Hon. John A 177, 180 

Slocomb, William 129 

Talbot, Rev. Samson, D. D 187, 241 

Thompson, Hon. T. M 176 

Thrall, Dr. Homer 267 



Van Meter. Rev. C. 



368 



Weld, Theodore D 297 

White, Hon. Samuel 263 

Wright, Sereno 122 



CHAPTER I. 



AB OKIGINIC. 



Granville township is a tract of choice land five miles 
square, centrally located in the county of Licking, State of 
Ohio. Through the center of it, from west to east, runs the 
middle fork of the Pataskala, or Licking River, this branch 
being commonly called Raccoon Creek, Irregularly skirting 
the stream on either hand is a chain of hills/rom one to two 
hundred feet high, out of whose to])s excellent stone is quar- 
ried, and from whose base flow perennial springs. They are 
diversified with ridges, knobs, spurs, and buttes, and here and 
there the chain is broken by the valleys through which the 
brooks, fed by those springs, find their way into the leading 
stream. 

This is the locality, the events of which are narrated in 
the following pages. 

The earliest record of " human events " in this region 
bearing a fairly definite date, carries us back to A.D. 1262 ; 
but such are its lelations to other records of undetermined 
dates that we know we have the indications of human trans- 
actions long anterior to this. They are written, however, in a 
language difficult of interpretation. The records are spread 
out upon these broad acres, on the tops of these hills, and 
beside these streams. The characters appear in these scat- 
tered mounds, these earth elevations of squares, half moons, 
alligators, eagles, and other quaint designs; and fragments 
here and there of well-laid stone wall, of eartheru pottery, 
and of the implements of the culinary art and of the chase. 

In 181 2, the tree was cut from one of these earth works, 

whose rings, as commonly reckoned, registered a succession 

of five hundred and fifty years. Dr. Hildre*^h, of Marietta, 

cut, in similar circumstances, a tree in which he counted 800 

2 



10 AN ANCIKNT TREE. 

rings. Long previous to this the builders lived upon them 
and had their history. They tell us of a ])eople strong in 
numbers, thoughtful and industrious ; who cherished the 
memory of their dead, loved their fatherland, and kept it 
from hostile inroads by elaborate works of defense, and who 
gave play to the untaught religious sentiments of the human 
soul by some sort of worship paid a some sort of deity. 

A brief description of these works is due to the memory of 
those who first made this ground historic. 

About a mile east of the center of the township, a spur 
from the chain of hills north -of Raccoon winds around from 
the northeast, turning again to the southeast, terminating in 
a rounded prominence on the summit of which " The Alli- 
gator " has been couching all these centuries. The outline 
of the figure is like the animal whose name it bears. It lies 
looking directly toward the village, i. e.^ south of west, its 
tail coiling around to the south and its limbs extended at 
full length. By measurement it is 190 feet long, from tip to 
tip, following the curvature. In the highest point it is now 
about six feet high, gradually declining to each extremity. 

On the summit of another spur called " Fort Hill," nearly 
a mile to the east and a little to the north, is one of the cir- 
cular enclosures commonly called " forts." It follows in 
outline the curvature of the hill-top, but is very nearly a 
circle. It is about 970 feet across, enclosing about 17 acres, 
with embankments 6 feet high, made by throwing the dirt 
upward and inward. Southwest from the fort, on the point 
of the hill, and 50 rods distant, was a stone mound about 
six feet high and eighteen feet wide. This mound has been 
destroyed by the quarrying of stone underneath it. As it 
fell from time to time, into the quarry, it was found to be 
full of bits of charcoal throughout. The western and north- 
western openings of. the fort looked each toward a copious 
spring of water. 

Between these two spurs, and about equally distant from 
each of them, but sixty or eighty rods further south, the 



12 AHORIGINAI. WORKS. 

ground around being valley loam, lies an elevation formed 
of gravel, in the shape of a crescent, its points opening 
toward the south and a little west. It is about ten rods from 
tip to ti]^, and six rods across from exterior to interior curve. 
The highest ])oint is now about seven feet high, it having 
been ]-)lowcd more or less for two generations. On the 
north, or convex, side there crops out a large quadrangular 
stone, two or three feet across, and sinking deep in the earth. 
By digging, the ground beside it has been found to be mixed 
with bits of charcoal. 

bVom the eastern side of the crescent a parapet starts off, 
sweeping eastward ajid southward in a .semicircle to a point 
half a mile south of the crescent, where it connects with a 
circular fort, which is about 980 feet in diameter and con- 
tains over seventeen acres. 

About ten rods south of this fort, on the level below, was 
found a well of water five or six feet deep, walled up with 
stone in a workmanlike manner, and made long before the 
advent of the settlers. It is probably to be classed with the 
three wells found by the settlers of Knox county, Ohio, men- 
tioned in Howe's Historical Collections of Ohio. As located 
by Mr. L. E. Bancroft, it is 1 1 1 feet from the center of the 
railroad track and thirt>-tliree feet southeast of a young 
black-walnut tree. 

About tweutv-five rods east of this well, near the old time 
wool factory of Mr. Wni. Paige, until the feeder was dug and 
the lock built, there was a bored a'rll that sent up a strong 
stream of sulphurous water. One of the lock timbers was 
laid across the month of it. Us depth was never tested be- 
low about forty feet. The diameter of the Ix^re was about 
two and one-half inches. 

About ten rods still further to the east, in what appeared 
to have been at one time the creek bed, in digging the 
feeder a brush dam was discovered, lying several feet under 
ground, three rods across and ten rods up and down the bed. 
The brush were cut with a sharp instrument and regularly 



ANCIKNT POTTICRY. 13 

placed, the butt ends up stream and layer upon layer. At 
the upper end, and underneath the ends of the brush, were 
found three human skeletons. For some distance up and 
down the bed were traces of a submerged forest. 

Westward from the stone well are two parallel earth lines, 
only a few rods in extent. 

Still further west were found in early times many curious 
fragments oi pottery and other aboriginal implements. The 
pottery fragments have a firm basis of mortar, composed of 
sharp, coarse, white sand or pulverized shells in a matrix of 
clay or river mud, and colored, perhaps, with manganese. 
After being moulded into shape, the vessel seems to have 
been covered both inside and out with an enamel of clay, 
which left a smooth surface ; the whole then being hard- 
ened, perhaps only by drying in the sun. It has the appear- 
ance of unburned stoneware. It was about three-eighths of 
an inch thick, the enamel on each side being about a six- 
teenth. The pieces found indicate vessels of various sizes, 
of dishing form and circular rim, varying in diameter from 
twenty inches to six feet. Fragments of a similar kind were 
found at two different localities a few miles west of this in 
St. Albans township. They are also found at the Saline 
Springs, Gallatin county, Illinois, and at other widely sepa- 
rated points in the Mississippi Valley, even to its mouth, and 
as far east as F'lorida. 

Midway between the crescent and the large fort with 
whicl; it is joined by the semicircle, is a smaller circular fort, 
containing about eight acres. The Centerville street has al- 
ways run through it just north of its center, and the road to 
the old-time factory started just at its eastern side. About 
the only part of the outline descernable is at the northeast 
cornor of the lot, where the fence on the west side of the 
north and south road stands to protect it. 

On the south side of the creek are two other smaller cir- 
cles, each crowning a hill, one on the Munson farm and the 
other crossed by the division line between the farms of Mr. 
Reuben Linnel and Mr. Howard Howe. 



14 MOUNDS — A I'LKA. 

Of Dioiiiids there were " a great many." A dozen or more 
used to lie in the immediate vicinit\- of the crescent and its 
connected works. There were two or three within the pres- 
ent limits of the town plat ; one jnst in front of where the 
Town Hall stands; one, perhaj^s, in the northeast qnarter 
in Granger's addition, and one crowning Mt. Parnassns. 
This monnd was opened in 1887, and skeletons were fonnd 
bnried within it. 

(There might have been something of kindred nature on the 
summit of Sugar Loaf. The first year of the colony the boys, 
led by information obtained from Indians, dug several feet into 
the ground and foiuid a string of twelve bone beads, the largest 
in the middle, the rest tapering in size toward each end.) 

Others arc scattered from the extreme northwest corner 
of the township to the sontheast, most freqnently on the 
hill-tops, sometimes several being gronped together. 

Of more perishable material than the monnmenls which 
men generally build to fame, these earthworks have yet sur- 
vived six or eight centuries. After being used — perhaps for 
centuries preceding — and abandoned, forests sprang up and 
covered them, and each year that passed over them was tal- 
lied by its ring of growth. Within a generation their out- 
lines were distinct, and there were banks where earth lay as 
steep in its incline as earth can be made to lie. Now, the 
ruthless plow, the ceaseless tramp of thousands, the cutting 
of roads, railroads, canals, and other demands of advancing 
civilization, are rapidly leveling and obliterating them. 
Read them while you may ! They will tell you of human 
affections, superstitions, passions. Uninvited, we have en- 
tered into the inheritance of a vanished race. Let us cherish 
an interest in these mementos. History offers an earnest 
plea for the careful preservation of these relics. Already 
they are venerable with age. They will become more inter- 
esting with the lapse of time, and each succeeding generation 
will seek them out with increasing zest. Let it be also with 
the satisfaction of beholding them as well preserved as time 
will allow. 



OHIO IN 1805. 15 



CHAPTER II. 

The passing century dawned to find the westward inarch 
of civilization rapidly breaking at different points across the 
Ohio River, into the great undeveloped region between the 
river and the lakes, and gaining a foothold among the valleys 
never more to be dislodged. 

The little spot that concerns us now, according to Hon. 
Isaac Smucker, has been " under the control of a number of 
foreign powers " and " an integral portion of at least two 
different States (Virginia and Ohio), and one Territory 
(North-West), and six counties (Botetourt, Illinois, Washing- 
ton, Ross, Fairfield and Licking)." 

Spain early claimed all the land drained by the Mississippi 
and its tributaries. 

France also claimed the valley of the Ohio and exercised 
some jurisdiction over it until the peace of 1763. 

England then " became the owner by treaty and exercised 
authority over it until 1784." 

At the close of the Revolutionary War it passed to the 
jurisdiction of the United States. 

By the various patents given by England to her colonies 
with ill-defined boundaries and indistinct knowledge of the 
territories ceded, conflicting claims arose among the States 
for possession of this region". As it had come into the pos- 
session of the United States at the price of treasure and blood 
expended by all the colonies, the rest also felt that they had 
equal claim to it and equal right of jurisdiction over it. In 
1784, or soon after, the States of Massachusetts, Connecticut, 
New York, Pennsylvania and Virginia, severally relinquished 
these original claims in favor of the general government. 

Virginia, in 1769, while claiming title, erected the County 
of Botetourt, whose eastern boundary was somewhere east 
of the Ohio, and the western was the Mississippi River. 



]() INDIAN TRIHKS OF OHIO. 

Again, in lyyIS, all west of the Ohio River was set off and 
called the County of Illinois. 

After the establishing of the Territory of the Northwest 
by Congress in 1787, Washington County was erected, lying 
between the Ohio and Scioto Rivers, and running north to 
Lake Erie. 

In 1798, Ross County was proclaimed, taking in the Ross 
County of to-day and all north of it to the Lake. 

In iSoo, Fairfield, in like manner, took the northern part 
of Ross. 

In 1808, Licking County was proclaimed with its present 
boundaries. 

When Granville Township was organized, in 1807, its 
bounds upon the north and west extended much further than 
at present 

The recognition by Congress of Ohio as a vState was on 
February 19, 1803. The seat of government until 1810 was 
at Chillicothe. Then for two years it was transferred to 
Zanesville, after which it reverted to Chillicothe until 1816, 
at which time Columbus became the capital. 

Previous to 1803 there were nine counties : Washington, 
erected in 1788; Hamilton, 1790; Adams and Jefferson, 1797; 
Ross, 1798; Trumbull (all Western Reserve), Clermont and 
P'airfield, 1800, and Belmont, 1801. In 1803, eight more 
were erected : Butler, Montgomery, Greene, Warren, Frank- 
lin, Scioto, Gallia and Columbiana Muskingum was erected 
in 1804, and Geauga, Athens, Highland and Champaign in 
1805 vSo that when the Granville colony took possession of 
their homes in 1805, there were twent\-two counties in the 
State. 

The most powerful of the tribes of Indians occup)ing, in 
early times, the lands of the jncsent Stale of Ohio, was 
probably the vShawnees, or Shawanoese. They roamed the 
valley of the Scioto, and as far west as the IMiami and east 
to the Muskingum, ha\-ing villages here and there; and 
niovin<r northward as settlements were made alono the Ohio, 






[<^ 



^: 









'o 



^^ 



^tes. 



§1 



■8oJ • ■''^'' / 












H 



KEIVTllCJiY^ 



AHA M 3. 






I <-- 



.<r • 



%j^tt'. 



J>- 



ON., 



5^3. 



,fi° MAP 

OHIO 

1805. 

jSTcrt* /►ou.vuis. ..._ 

Zeadin^ Surveys 



Fofts X 
Indian Tribes Tr,ixL(irgctiri:d 
£m.igruitts'Aauttx . 



18 GREENVILLK TRHATV LINK. 

The Wyaiidots, another powerful tribe occupied the Mock- 
ing Valley, also moving northward to the valley of the San- 
dusky. The Delawares were found in the Muskingum Val- 
ley, and the Mingoes (a fragment of the Senecas, who were 
of the Six Nations) west of Wheeling. These tribes moved 
north-westward ; the Delawares to the headwaters of the 
Sandusky, and the Mingoes to the mouth of the same river, 
on the east side, where they were called vSenecas. The Mi- 
amis were in the lower valley of the Miami, and the Twig- 
twees near its headwaters. Remnants of the vSix Nations, 
other than the vSenecas or Mingoes, lived east of the Cuya- 
hoga River. The " Miamis of the Lake," or Maumees, 
probably occupied the valley of that stream, and a small 
band of the Ottawas were near its mouth. The Moravian 
Indians migrated from Pennsylvania in 1772, with their mis- 
sionaries, settling in the valley of the Tuscarawas, building 
their villages — Gnadenhutten, Salem and Schcenbrun — and 
living quietly by the arts of peace until massacred in cold 
blood. The Chippeways, Kickapoos, Potawatamies, Saginas, 
and others are mentioned here and there, but not with jnom- 
inence, nor can they be located. 

Indian troubles operated as a check to immigration from 
the first, until the decided victory of General Wayne, in 1794, 
established the *' Greenville Treaty Line," giving undis])uted 
possession of all the lands south and east of that line to the 
United States. The Indian reservation was bounded by the 
Cuyahoga River, from its mouth to the portage^ near where 
Akron now stands ; across by that portage to the Tuscarawas 
River ; by that stream down to P'ort Laurens (a point in the 
northern boundary of the present County of Tuscarawas); 
thence by a line of survey running a little south of west, 
and nearly across the State, to a trading station on the 
Miami, marking the portage between the Miami and St. 
Marys Rivers, called Loramie's Station ; thence north of 
west to F'ort Recovery, on the head waters of the Wa- 
bash, and near the ])resent State boundary, and thence 



WAVEvS OF EMIGRATION. 19 

west of south to a point opposite the mouth of the Ken- 
tucky River. 

In the spring of 1788, "The New England Company" 
made the first permanent settlement north of the Ohio, at 
Marietta. From this point the settlements reached out 
among the hills and up the valleys, until, in 1805, they had 
reached the head-waters of the Muskingum, there to meet 
similar advancing currents setting in from the east, the 
south and the southwest. 

In 1788, the settlements at the mouth of the Little Miami 
were commenced, and from there, as rapidly, they spread 
northward in widening radii, until in 1805, all that part south 
of the middle of the State was dotted with settlements. 

In 1790, the Ohio was crossed at Wheeling, and thence the 
wave began to roll westward. 

In 1805, the prominent points, the choicest localities, were 
occupied over half the State, that portion lying south and 
east of the middle portion. But the land was not by any 
means subdued. It was simply marked here and there by the 
outposts of civilization, while much of it was still an unoc- 
cupied wilderness. The Indians were restricted to their 
reservation already described, except as roving squads of 
tliem put in an occasional appearance, or where a few of 
them were tolerated in clinging to the homes of their 
fathers. 

Thus it was when the attention of the Granville emigrants 
was directed thither. 



20 Till'". KIKST LOW I'LASH. 



CHAPTER III 

The " first low plash of waves," where soon was to " roll a 
human sea," began to be heard on the borders of our town- 
ship in 1800. 

On onr southern border, in the valley of Ramp Creek, 
near Cherry Valley, one evening in the late autumn of this 
year, a settler from the valley below was threading his way 
through the forest, hunting for deer, when he came unex- 
pectedly on a camp fife. Around it were gathered five men ; 
Benoni Benjamin and his three brothers-in-law, John Jones,' 
Phineas and P'rederick Ford, and the fifth, a man in Mr. 
Jones's employ, by the name of Banner or Denner. They 
were exploring with a view to settlement, having left their 
families back on the Scioto. Mr. Jones was a Welshman, 
born in New Jersey, and the visitor was Lsaac Stadden, who 
afterwards became the first Justice of the Peace acting within 
the limits of Licking County. The two men soon recognized 
each other as old acquaintances, having been schoolmates in 
their boyhood, in Northumberland, Pennsylvania. Great 
was their surprise to meet thus, in the wilds of this new 
country. 

Having found locations that pleased them, the four brothers- 
in-law returned to their families ; and late in the following 
winter or early in the spring of 1801, they brought on their 
families and went to work. Mr. Jones erected his cabin near 
a spring at the foot of a spur which is on the Munson farm. 
It was about ten rods south of the spring, or halfway to the 
track of the road as it was first used. Centerville vStreet, 
being afterwards laid out straight through the plain, now 
runs thirty or forty rods .south of this spot. Mr. Jones 
planted corn that year with Mr. vStadden, on a bit of prairie 
east of Newark, but proceeded to open the land around his 
cabin and prepare for future crops. 



EARLY SETTLERvS. 21 

The others of that evening gronp located beyond the limits 
of our township. 

Patrick Cunningham built the second cabin in the township 
during the same summer, and about fifty rods northeast of 
the Jones cabin, near another spring. There he set out an 
orchard, and cultivated fruits and vegetables, the remains of 
the cabin and nursery being still seen. 

Early in the year 1802, two young men built cabins a little 
to the east of Cunningham's, and raised a small crop of corn, 
but did not become permanent settlers. 

By this time, Mr. Theophilus Rees and Mr. Thomas 
Philipps had purchased, of Mr. Samson Davis, of Philadel- 
phia, a tract of 1800 acres, lying in the northeast portion 
of what is now Granville township ; Mr. Rees's tract lying 
in the southwest quarter of the section, and Mr. Philipps' 
tract immediately north of it. Messrs. Rees and Philipps 
came in company from Wales, where they were neighbors 
and long-time friends, and with them a large colony; taking 
ship Wednesday, April 7, 1796, and arriving in New York 
Friday, May 14, having been thirty-seven days out. In 1802, 
Mr. Rees came out with his family to take possession of his 
purchase, and for a time found shelter in the cabin of the 
two young men. Not having seen his land, Mr. Rees, from 
the description given him, supposed these settlers were upon 
his tract. So, paying them for their crop and supposed im- 
provements, he took possession. He soon learned his mistake, 
however, and went to his own purchase, a little lurther north. 

David Lewis and David Thomas, sons-in-law of Mr. Rees, 
came with him, bringing also their families ; Mr. Lewis stop- 
ping for a time to work as a stone-mason at Zanesville, and 
in the same employment at Newark ; but all soon settling 
on the purchase of Mr. Rees. There were two sons-in-law 
of Mr. Rees named David Thomas, one being a large man 
and the other, who came later, a* small man ; and they were 
universally distinguished as big David Thomas and little 
David Thomas. The one mentioned as coming with Mr. 



22 



FIRST BIRTH AND DKATH. 



Rees was big David Thomas. Simon James accompanied 
them, but withont his family. He located on the Philipps 
tract, north, and went to work to prepare a residence for his 
family. 

It was big David Thomas who carried a bushel of wheat 
on his back to mill at Zanesville, and brought back the flour 
of which Mrs, Rees baked the first wheaten loaf made in the 
township, and the neighbors' children were all invited in to 
help eat it as a curiosity and luxury. 

About the same time came from the vicinity of Wheeling 
one Jimmy Johnson, an experienced frontiersman, who 
bought land of Mr. Rees and erected a cabin. 

Meantime, settlers were multiplying in the valley below, 
and during this year the town of Newark was laid out. 

October ist, of this year, Mrs. Jones gave birth to the first 
white child born within the limits of this township. But 
she never came back to health again. She lingered until 
the 22d of the same month, when she died. Hers was the 
first death within the present limits of the township. Her 
remains now lie buried [1880] in the old cemetery, on the 
highest oround at the extreme western side, and near where 
the old gate used to be, having been removed thither from 
the place in Newark where they were first interred. There 
is a headstone about twenty inches wide and two feet nine 
inches high, with this inscription : 




Utth the Budfi 
efZLlllfJo)ieiS <iepaitnt 
>/,UJ:lfe Oct'- 22 ^JJ 
/802 s^ged S8 years 

/ler htishand 
Jo kn J one ^ 
wilh t {AilJren Zgirls 6? 

Z toys 
TiiU urlit/,,\sT Wfiire/on,h/TW 

Tha slant •imoJtttimiilutmti c/ 
Tfieju-sl sevlett 



^jAjjt^ .^fi<A-X'*--fW K 



INDIAN CAMP. 23 

In 1803, the Welsh Hills settlement was increased by the 
addition of two more families : James Evans and a Mr. 
Shadwick. A Mr. Parker, also, came from Virginia and built 
a cabin near the mouth of Clear Run, cleared four acres of 
ground and planted a patch of corn and garden vegetables. 
He then hired a man to tend it and went back for his family. 

He brought them safely to their new home, but lived only 
three weeks after arriving. He left a wife and six children. 
The oldest son took charge of the place, gathered the large 
crop of squashes and piled them in a rail pen, stacking the 
corn around it. A band of fifty Indians was camped near, 
and they would often bring a ham of venison to exchange 
for a squash, so that the family did not suffer for want of 
food. Some other settler, perhaps Mr. John Duke, about 
the same time, built another cabin near the same place. 

In 1804, Thomas and Peter Cramer, sons-in-law of Jimmy 
Johnson, were added to the settlers on the Welsh Hills, and 
during the next two years they were joined by John Price, 
Benjamin Jones and Thomas Powell. Not long after this, 
also, Mr. Simon James, having gone for his family, returned 
with them. The name also of James James appears as of 
a settler. 

Mr. Thomas Philipps and wife, with their son, John H. 
Philipps, came and tarried a short time on the Philipps' pur- 
chase, and then returned to Pennsylvania to prepare for a 
permanent residence here. 



24 TIIK SCIOTO LAND COMl'ANV, 



CHAPTER IV. 

While ihesc things were transpiring in the wiklerness, 
other scenes were passing actively in review in old Gran- 
ville, Mass., the events of which were rapidly tending toward 
this same mark, and which we mnst now briefly sketch. 

The popnlation of the town had s > far increased that the 
yonnger families began to long for more room for their activ- 
ities. Emigration by single families had already commenced. 
Some had gone to the new lands northwest of Lake Cham- 
plain, known as the Chazy region. Bnt the report they sent 
back was of a conntry bleak and trying in its long winters, and 
it did not particularly invite others to follow them. 

In 1803, a company from Granby, Conn., the town [town- 
ship] adjoining that of Granville, Mass , and from which 
some of the first settlers of Granville, Ohio, eventually came, 
had emigrated under articles of association to Worthington, 
Ohio. This association was formed in 1801, and was called 
the Scioto Company. 

[Let it be borne ill mind that there were three Scioto compan- 
ies; the Scioto Land Co. operating in the southern part of the 
State near the mouth of the Scioto River; this Scioto Co.. just 
named operating on its head waters; and another Scioto Land 
Co., of which we are about to speak.] 

Explorations were made, a site chosen and a large emigra- 
tion conducted by them to new and desirable homes in the 
west. 

This suggested a similar movement to the enterprising 
spirits of Granville, Mass. The expanse of the western wilds 
promised a sphere that would satisfy their longings. Con- 
gress had given the U. S. soldiers of the Revolution each a 
bounty claim for one hundred acres of land. These warrants 
were passing from hand to hand, and rapidly finding their way 
into the possession of speculators. Entire townships of land 



THE AGREEMENT. 25 

were "located " in sections of 4000 acres each, and held for 
sale by these speculators. 

In the early part of 1804, Samuel Everitt, Jr., started the 
idea of raising another company, and similar to the above, 
to go to the same region. Suggesting the matter to Levi 
Buttles he was encouraged, and they two carried the project 
to Dea Timothy Rose, who also approved the plan. This 
was the origin of what was called " The Scioto Land Co." 

In April, (1804) the movement began to take definite form. 
We find the following preliminary agreement as adopted by 
those who were favorable to the movement and were propos- 
ing to take part in it. It bears date at East Granville, [Mass.,] 
April 3rd, 1804. 

"We the subscribers being desirous of making a purchase of 
Newlands in the State of Ohio for settlement, have thought 
best to form ourselves into an association or Company for the 
purpose of sending agents into said State of Ohio, to explore 
said lands in such way & manner as will enable them to ob- 
tain correct information as to the quality & situation of said 
lands, also the price, terms of payment, the different tracts they 
may be had at, & title to the same. 

" And in order that we may, (at a small expense to each in- 
dividual of us) obtain such information, we do hereby agree to 
form ourselves into an association or Company for that purpose 
& do severally promise & engage (in consideration of the 
mutual advantage which we expect to receive by this associa- 
tion) to & with each other to & with each individual that 
shall belong to this association or company, that we will be 
bound by & will faithfully fulfill all & every rule, regulation 
or by-law, that shall be regularly voted or entered into by the 
said association or company, & particularly we severally prom- 
ise to pay into the treasurer that shall be appointed by us the 
sum of eight dollars for the said purpose of paying such agents 
we may send to explore the said lands, & we do also agree 
each one of us for ourselves that if we shall fail of paying the 
said sum of eight dollars by the time that shall be first [fixed] 
or (or said payment by the said association or of paying the as- 
sessment or taxes made by us when regularly convened, we 
severally agree to forfeit & do, (in case of such failure) hereby 
relinquish all right and benefit of this association or exploring, 



26 Tin-; sioninCx. 

& we do also agree each one of us for himself that we will 
abide by & be bound to fulfill the following rules and regula- 
tions, & all others that the said association shall enter into. 

" 1st We do agree that no tax or assessment shall be 
binding on us unless one-half of the subscribers shall be present 
at the meeting which shall vote the same, but any other busi- 
ness shall bind us when voted by the major part of the mem- 
bers present at any meeting regularly warned. 

" 2ik1 We further agree that unless there should be thirty 
subscribers to this agreement it shall not be binding on any of 
us, — but when over that number has subscribed, — we are holden 
by all & every article above written, In witness whereof we 
have hereunto set our hands this day & year above written." 

At the end of three months the following names were found 
to have been attached to the above agreement : 

Levi Buttles, Hugh Kelley, Asa Se>mour, Jr. 

Russel Atwater. Araunah Clark, Horatio Forbes, 

Job Case, Samuel Thrall, Levi Rose, 

Reuben Ashmun, "Lemuel Rose, Alvin Holcomb, 

Solomon Noble, Levi Cooley, James Siiuiet, 

Samuel Iweritt, Jr., Timothy Rose, Worthy Pr^tt, 

Noadiah Holcomb, Samuel Everitt. David Messenger, 

Ebenezer Street, Silas Winche', 1^'rederick Moor, 

Levi Hayes, Nathan Gates, Wm. Jones, 

Timothy Spelman, Benj. Reed, Asa Day, 

Cornelius Slocum, Titus Hoskin, Dan Godard. 

Elihu Buttolph. lahan Bancroft, — [35.] 

Sometime in May following it must have become ap])arent 
that the movement had gone beyond a i)eradventure, for three 
men whose names appear in the above list were sent out to 
Ohio as the agents " to view and purchase such lands as will 
justify a settlement of the contemplated company." They 
were Levi Buttles, Timothy Rose and Job Case. They 
performed the duty assigned, locating the tract to be purchased 
in the United States Military Lands. 

On the first of August following, there had come to be so 
much enthusiasm in their undertaking that they thought 
best to raise the fee required for membership. The following 
jjersons became members by the payment of ten dollars each : 



THE FEE RAISED. 



27 



Sylvanus Mitchel, 
Titus Roe, 
Enoch Buttles, 
Elihu Cooley, 
John Sinnet, 
Ezekiel Wehs, 
Wm. Phelps, 
Wm. Phelps, Jr., 
Spencer Spelnian, 
Joel Buttles, 
Benj. Waters, 
Gideon Cornell, 
Theodore Taylor, 
John Wilcox, 
Wm. Slocum, 



Jonathan Wright, 
Zadoc Cooley, 
Amos Carpenter, 
Moses Godard, Jr., 
Theodore Taylor, Jr, 
Ezra Holcomb, 
Hiram Rose, 
Jesse Rice, 
Joseph Linnel, 
Joab Griffin, 
Samuel Waters, 
Andrew Hayes, 
Wm. Gavit, 
P^benezer Cheney, 
Joshua Kendall, 



Eleazar demons, 
Israel Wells, 
Roswell Graves, 
Enoch Graves, 
, Spencer Wright, 
John Phelps, 
Arden Holcomb, 
Asa Holcomb, 
Samuel B. Dean, 
Daniel Messenger, 
Ozni Miller, 
Job W. Case, 
Sereno Holcomb, 
Seth Hayes. 

-[44.] 



In September, the locating committee returned and made 
a favorable report. 

An incident in the boyhood of Alfred Avery may illustrate 
the influence under which many New England people have 
sought western homes. When he was a mere child, his father 
went out to plant corn ; & himself, ambitious to help, took his 
hoe & went out also, tugging and sweating, to do what a little 
boy could. At length, his father noticed that Alfred was 
crying, & asked him what was the matter. The child's reply was a 
turning point in the history of the family. "I can't get dirt 
enough to cover the corn." Then the father thought it was 
time to go where the world had more dirt. Soon afterward he 
became a member of the Licking Company. 



28 THK LOCATION. 



ciiAp'ri<:R V. 

Rev. Jacob Little, I). I)., in his History of Oraiiville, says: 

"The company having heard much of the fever & ague as 
well as the fertility of the west, wished a location which would 
avoid the evil & secure the good; contain hills for health & 
level lands for fertility. 

"The level borders of the Licking [the Indian Pataskala,] 
through the center of the township, with the rising hills at a 
little distance on both sides, governed the agents in the selec- 
tion of this place. The northeast quarter had been previously 
purchased by some Welsh. The Scioto [Land] Company pur- 
chased the other three quarters; & stiil increasing, bought 
half of St. Albans Township, a quarter of Hartford & a quar- 
ter of Burlington, in all. 29,040 acres; at an average of one 
dollar & sixty-seven cents an acre, ($i,672.t)." 

The Hardy section, that upon which the village was located, 
"was regarded as the most important point. It was then 
supposed that the capital of Ohio would be Worthingtou, be- 
tween which and Zanesville, this would make a half-way 
town," 

An illustration of the failures of the early settlers of a coun- 
try to realize their expectations may be seen in the fact that 
the road from Granville to Worthingtou, opened at that early 
day and with such anticipations of its use, continues at this 
present writing (1880) in many of its sections one of the poor- 
est for its age in all this region. It passes through an unde- 
veloped country ; and only recently have some of the large 
streams been bridged, and still the carriage track winds 
among stumps that cumber the road from side to side. Col- 
umbus, instead of Worthington, became the capital, and the 
National Road long ago took the carriage travel eight miles 
to the south. The railroad of later date connecting Zanes- 
ville and Columbus passes also three miles away, through the 
Ramp Creek valley. Thus has Granville been once and 



THE CONVEYANCE. 



29 



again left to consume her energies in other channels than 
those of trade. 

The following diagram will aid the reader to understand 
the location of the committee's purchase, and the allusions 
which are subsequently made to it. 





15 




M 




'3 




ffSoo.) 






1H 


■ 0- 


z. 






5^ 


J, 




Jeyse.ij. 




y 




-3 




- 


5- f" 


voao Of. 




Steele 



The ranges are numbered from east to west, 13, 14, 15 the, 
Townships from south to north, 2 3, 4; the townships are di- 
vided into four sections each, as shown in Monroe Township. 

Jonas Stanbury received from Government a patent for Sec- 
tion 2, Township 2, Range 13; & having deeded an undivided 
half to John Rathbone for ;^i,?50, they two with their wives 
deeded the whole to the company's agents by separate convey- 
ances, Nov. 2, 1804, for ^7,560; there being 5,040 acres rated 
at ^i. 50 an acre. 

Joseph Hardy received the original patent for Section 3, 
Township 2, Range 13; & on Nov. i, 1804, sold to the com- 
pany's agents for ^8,610, there being 4,920 acres rated at ^1.75 
per acre. 

Wm. Steele received the original patent for Section 4, Town- 
ship 2, Range 13, and on Oct. ist, 1804, he & his wife con^ 
veyed to the company's agents for $5,390, there being only 
3,080 acres at $1.75 per acre. 

John Bray received the patent for Section 2, of Township 2, 



30 BOT'NDARTK.S, 

Ranf^e 14, and Nov. 22d, 1804, deeded it to the company's 
agents, by his attorney, Jonas Stanbery, Esq., 4,000 acres @ 
;^2.oo an acre, making ^8,000. 

Mathias Denman holding the patent for Section 4, Town. 2, 
Range 14, with I'hebe, liis wife, sold to the company's agents, 
Oct. 24th. 1804, for $6,000, there being 4,000 acres (" $1.50. 

Jonas Stanbery, original patentee for Sect. 2, Town. 4, Range 
13, with his wife, Nov. 2d, 1804, conveyed it to the company's 
agents, there being 4,000 acres at $2 for $8,000. 

Jonas St-anbery, original patentee for Sect, i. Town. 4, Range 
15, with his wife, Nov. 2d, 1804. conveyed the same to the 
company's agents, there being 4,000 acres (" $1.25 for $5,000. 

These seven sections, relatively situated as in the diagram, 
lay in the U. S. Military District. This was bounded on the 
north by the Greenville Treaty Line ; on the east by the Seven 
Ranges, the first survey authorized by the United States west 
of the Ohio River; on the south by the Refugee Tract, a 
body of 100,000 acres set apart by Congress as a reward for 
certain P>ritish subjects who in the War of the Rcvohition, 
espoused the cause of the colonists ; and on the west by the 
Scioto River. 



THK LICKING COMPANY. 31 



CHAPTER VI. 

On the 2ist day of September, 1804, a lengthy constitution 
was adopted by the company. As the lands that had been 
chosen for their adventure were not in the Scioto Valley, the 
name " Scioto Land Company " was no longer appropriate. 
Therefore, they adopted their constitution acting under the 
uame of " The Licking Land Company." 

The preamble recognizes the fact and intent of the agree- 
ment already made, describes the location of the land for 
which they were negotiating, and provides for the purchase 
of such other lands as may afterward be judged best by the 
company. 

Article first binds each subscriber to take of the company 
as many acres as he annexes to his name in subscribing, and 
stipulates that payment shall be in money, real estate to be 
appraised by disinterested persons, or by other men's obliga- 
tions, secured either by mortgage on real estate or by respon- 
sible endorsers. 

Article second names a committee of trust, consisting of 
twelve members, who shall receive and give real estate on 
the part of the company. The committee thus appointed 
were Levi Buttles, Timothy Rose, Job Case, Russel Atwater, 
Seth Hayes, Noadiah Holcomb, Solomon Noble, Timothy 
Spelman, Levi Hayes, Samuel Thrall, Zadoc Cooley and 
Cornelius Slocum. 

Article third provides for the admission of future members 
to the company. 

Article fourth provides for the distribution of the land after 
certain reservations are made. A town plat is reserved, which 
shall have as as many building lots as there are one hundred 
acre parcels in the entire purchase ; each one hundred acres 
to draw a building lot in the town. A school lot of one 
hundred acres and a "minister lot" of one hundred acres 



o'l TIIK CONSTITITION. 

are also reserved, the former for the su])]iort of schools in the 
village, and the latter for the snpport of " the Gospel minis- 
tration within the pnrchase of the coni])any." Inirther, all 
mill seats are reserved. The remainini; lands of the purchase 
are then to be divided into one hundred acre lots. Two 
distributions of these lots are then provided for. At the first, 
the choice of village lots and farms is given to the highest 
bidder. The second division is for those who do not choose 
to bid for a choice, and is to be entrusted to a committee to 
be chosen by the proprietors whose interests are concerned. 
Actual settlement is required, either of the proprietor or 
some other acceptable person, under certain annually recur- 
ring ])enalties (or failure. 

Three names are attached to the first compact and not to 
this constitution, viz : Reuben Aslimun, Levi Cooley and Asa 
Seymour. 

Also, thirty-three names are attached to the constitution 
and not to the compact. Some of these are from Ohio, and, 
of course, they did not join the company until they were on the 
ground. Thus the whole number engaged in the enterprise 
was 112 

The following are the thirty-three alluded to : 

h^lihraim Howe, James Coe, • Charles Slocum, 

Jesse Muiison, Jr., George Cooley, Timothy Spelman, 

For son, 

Win. Cooley, I^Mas Pomeroy, Sam'l Thrall, for son, 

Jesse Munson, Augustine Munson, Daniel Wadsworth, 

Klkanah Linnel, Ethan Clark, Giles Dayton, 

George Avery, Gad Rose. Elias Gilman, 

Nathan Allyn, Justin Hiilyer, Martin Root, 

Jedadiah H.Lewis, Roswell Rowley, Thomas S. Sill, 

Nathan Allyn, Roswell Rowley, David Butler, 

For son, h'or son, 

D.miel Baker, Samuel H. Smith, Jolm Johnson, 

Noble Sheldon, Jeremiah R. Miuison.VVm. Reynolds. 

Leaving out the three mentioned as signing the compact 
but not the constitution, also eight who would seem to have 



THE CONSTITUTION. 33 

signed it in Ohio, the company, at the time of starting, con- 
sisted of loi members, which, without any very serious im- 
port, happens to be identical in number with those who landed 
on Plymouth Rock. 

The committee of twelve proceeded to receive the obliga- 
tions or money of the signers, issuing to them a deed for an 
undivided portion of the new lands. Russel Atwater, Esq., 
acted with them for a time, and then resigned his position 
and his connection with the company, and executed a quit 
claim deed to the rest of the committee for all the property 
they had received in trust for the company while he was a 
member, November 2, 1804, as attested by Titus Fowler, J. 
P. for Hampshire [Mass]. 

x-lU these deeds were recorded in Lancaster, and were 
transferred to the Licking County records from pages 50 to 
170. 



34 prp:parations. 



CHAPTER VII. 

Ill the prosecution of their ])reparatioii.s tlie company hehl 
frequent meetings during the fall and winter succeeding. 
Various committees were appointed and important business 
put into their hands. 

Levi Ikittles was the first president of the company, but 
his duties calling him to Ohio, Russel Atwater, Esq. , was 
chosen temporarily in his place. He, in turn, declining the 
appointment, Dea. Timothy Rose was appointed temporarily, 
and when they reached Ohio he became president. 

Levi Buttles was appointed agent for the transaction of the 
company's business in Ohio. 

Timothy Rose and Timothy vSpelman were appointed a 
committee to receive the letters addressed to the company. 

Another committee was to receive subscriptions for a 
library. 

Propositions were made for naming the new town after one 
or another of the land-holders from whom they had purchased 
their lands, but it was finally left until they should meet on 
the ground. Ere that time arrived a matter had transpired 
which determined them to drop those names and choose 
"Oranville." It had been determined to add to their pur- 
chase another tract, as the company had increased beyond 
their expectations. The agents of the company called on 
the agent of the land-holders in New York and opened nego- 
tiations. He professed a desire to serve the company and 
assured them he could arrange the business to their advant- 
age, and better than they could for themselves. 

The land was sold to him for a dollar an acre, and he sold 
to them for tivo^ doubling the cost to them and putting half 
the price of the section into his own pocket. After this 
transaction the proposed names were not so savory in the 
minds of the settlers. 



ADVANCED COMPANIRS. 35 

It had been determined to send forward eighteen men in 
the spring to improve land, raise corn, build huts for the tem- 
porary accommodation of the emigrant families, and to erect 
a saw and grist mill. The number was afterward reduced to 
twelve. Finally three smaller companies were sent at dif- 
ferent times. In March, 1805, five men were sent out who 
reached their destination in April. They were Elkanah 
Linnel, Titus Hoskin, Gideon Cornell, Elihn Cooley and 
Elias Pomeroy. Their method was to seize upon favorable 
localities, here and there an open spot, perhaps one that some 
squatter had used previously, or a bit of prairie, or one that 
could be opened to the sun by topping off the trees ; then 
hoe in the corn without plowing, trusting chiefly to the virgin 
soil for a crop. They had numerous competitors for posses- 
sion of their corn while growing, and particularly when 
ripening, in the bears, turkeys, coons, deer, wild hogs and 
squirrels that roamed at will, requiring watching day and 
night to guard against them. Of course they could do but 
little, without resources, in a wild country, toward preparing 
to receive two hundred weary emigrants to comfortable 
homes. In the fall when their work was done, it is related 
of Mr. Pomeroy that with a pocket compass he started alone, 
taking a bee line for the northeastern part of the state, where 
he had friends whom he wished to find, and got through all 
right. 

A surveying party was sent out in July under Mr. James 
Coe, consisting of Wm. Reynolds, Samuel Waters, Joshua 
Kendall, Sereno Holcomb and Wm. Jones. Their work was 
to lay out a town site as near as possible to the point where 
the three sections, the Hardy, the Steele, and the Stanbery and 
Rathbone sections cornered together; to fix upon a burial 
lot, school lot, and minister lot as reservations ; lay out roads ; 
and divide the rest into lots of one hundred acres, reserving 
all mill seats. They arrived in August and accomplished 
their work so nearly, by the arrival of the colonists, that the 
division of lands soon after commenced. 



36 FIRST MILL SITE. 

A company of five men with their families arrived on Fri- 
day, the fifth of July, sent out to open roads, build mills, and 
prosecute the work begun by the others in getting ready for 
the later arrivals. They were Timothy Spelman, Cornelius 
Slocum, John Phelps, Ethan Bancroft and Hugh Kelley. 
Mr. Bancroft found shelter for his family in one of the cabins 
at the mouth of Clear Run. Mr. Phelps and Mr. vSpelman 
in the Jones and Cunningham cabins, and others here and 
there. Mr. Spelman seems to have had oversight of all the 
workmen, and charge of all the company's work; and in his 
absence this care devolved on Mr. Slocum. Mr. Phelps was 
the millwright and Mr. Kelley the blacksmith. They put up 
a saw mill about sixty rods below the mouth of Clear Run, on 
the left bank of Raccoon. The creek made a bend to the 
south and back again to its original course, and across the 
neck of the bow was a natural sluice-way which they used 
for a feed-race. They made a dam at the entrance of this 
cut-across by setting sycamore logs on end, inclining down 
stream, in a trench across the stream, anct secured a fall of a 
few feet. But the freshets were too much for the anchorage 
of the sycamore logs, and the bed of the stream was soon 
washed clear of them. P^ifty years ago the remains of this 
dam could be seen in a continuous line of stumps running 
south several rods from the stream. The site of the mill and 
race has just now (1880) been obliterated by the steam shovel 
that loads the gravel trains for the Ohio Central R. R. 

Afterward, the mill was removed to the head of the cut- 
across, which was made the tail-race ; and, as the first dam 
had proved a failure, they tried one made of brush. This 
lived to see the saw run part way through the first log, when 
a freshet came and it, too, was swept away. This, of course, 
was the first mill erected within the township .so far as 
authenticated. Whatever that aboriginal brush dam already 
noticed may have been for, we know not. 

Another important step in the preparations of the emi- 
grants was the .selling of their eastern homes. In this they 



SELLING THKIR KASTp:rN FARMS. 37 

were greatly favored. The land-holders of whom the com- 
pany had purchased their western lands, came to old Gran- 
ville and received the farms of the emigrants at a valuation 
fixed by " indifferent " [disinterested] parties, in payment for 
the western tract ; those selling taking the value of their 
farms in shares of the company's land, to be afterward al- 
lotted, according to agreement, in western farms. The con- 
dition of Europe and our maritime relations had been such 
for some years as to give farmers an " extravagant " price 
for their produce, and when the above sales were made farms 
were high in value. Within three years thereafter, from 
causes unforseen, prices of produce and real estate went 
down, so that the land-owners never realized from those pur- 
chases what they cost them. 

But the most important step of all was the organization of 
a church, May i, 1805, to be bodily transplanted from the 
old pastures of Massachusetts to the wild woods of Ohio. 
A fair proportion of the emigrant families were praying fam- 
ilies, and many of the leading men were church members. 
On Wednesday, the first day of May, twenty-four persons 
were organized, by a council, into a Congregational Church. 
They were : Samuel Everitt, Mrs. Mindwell Everitt, Widow 
Abigail Swcatman, Israel Wells, Mrs. Chloe Wells, Joseph 
Linnel, Timothy Rose, Mrs. Lydia Rose, Roswell Cxraves, 
Mrs. Hannah Graves, Job Case, Samuel Thrall, Mrs. Tri- 
phosa Thrall, Levi Hayes, Hiram Rose, Mrs. Sabra Rose, 
Zadoc Cooley, Mrs. Michal Cooley, Lemuel Rose, Mrs. Ach- 
sah Rose, Samuel Everitt, Jr., Silas Winchel, James Thrall, 
and Hannah Graves (2nd). 

Before they left Granville, Zeruah, wife of Joseph Linnel, 
Elizabeth, wife of Job Case, and Sarah, wife of William 
Gavit, were received to membership. Also, Timothy Spel- 
man was taken under the watch of the church and admitted 
to church privileges, he being of another denomination 
there called Separatists. 

They adopted a covenant and articles of faith, elected 



;}8 CHURCH KORMRI). 

Timothy Rose and Levi Cooley deacons, and Saninel Ever- 
itt, Jr., clerk. They received a certificate of their formation 
into a church, which was signed by all the members of the 
conncil, as follows : Aaron Chnrch, Nathaniel Gaylord, Ozins 
Eells, Timothy M. Cooley, Joel Baker, and Roger Harrison. 

Two of the church, Zadoc Cooley and wife, did not emi- 
grate at that time, so that the total membership on arriving 
at their new homes was twenty-five, most of them being 
young heads of families. 

Dr. Cooley, the pastor, ])rcached a sermon on the occasion 
from Kx. 33:15: " If thy presence go not with me, carry us 
not up hence." With ])ublic pledges to remember each 
other in prayer, and with many tears on the part of both 
mother and daughter church, they separated. 

The various minor preparations can as well be imagined 
as described. Seven hundred miles were to be traversed 
with ox teams. Men, women and children must be cared 
for, taking the risk of exposure, over-fatigue, sickness, acci- 
dent or death, by the way. Food, raiment and shelter must 
be provided, by day and by night, in sunshine and shower. 
The route was auu)ng strangers, much of it by an unfre- 
quented way, mountains and rivers were to be crossed, and 
the journey was to end in a wilderness, with a winter ap- 
proaching and no homes to welcome them. They were not 
fool-hardy. Perhaps no undertaking draws the line so closely 
between necessities and superfluities as this. This nuist be 
taken, for that there is no room The more carriage, the 
more care; the more teams, the more subsistence; the larger 
the cavalcade, the more straightened the accommodations by 
the way ; the more abundant the provisions, the greater the 
expense. The supplies are curtailed to the lowest point of 
ingenuity, and the endurance is urged to the highest point 
of po.ssibility ; then, trust in a kind providence supplies the 
missing link. The oldest among them were serious and 
provident, and the youngest were moved to song by the ro- 
mance of the situation. Timothy Spelman contributed a 



MINOR PREPARATIONS. 39 

few verses of song, which were sung at their gatherings and 
by the way all sinnmer long. Three verses of this song are 
all that can now be fonnd. The tune to which they were 
sung is said to have been called the " Belle Quaker ": 

1. " When rambling o'er these mountains 

And rocks, where ivies grow 
Thick as the hairs upon your head, 

'Mongst which you cannot go; 
Great storms of snow, cold winds that blow, 

We scarce can undergo; 
Says I: My boys, we'll leave this )dace 

For the pleasant Ohio. 



3. " But long and tedious winters. 
Our cattle, they must starve; 
We work and tug from month to month 

To dig through drifts of snow! 
Says I, My boys, we'll leave this place 
J"or the pleasant Ohio. 

8. " Our precious friends that stay behind, 

We're sorry now to leave. 
But if they'll stay and break their shins, 

For them we'll never grieve; 
Adieu, my friends! Come on, my dears. 

This journey we'll forego. 
And settle Licking Creek, 

In yonder Ohio." 



40 ])Y TlIU WAY 



CHAPTKK \'1II. 

In the month of vScptcniber the families began to leave in 
small companies for their six weeks' journey. Their route 
from (iranville, Mass., lay south-westward, crossin*^ the 
Hudson River at Fishkill Landing, or Fort Edward ; thence 
over a point of New Jersey, across the Delaware at Easton, 
the Schuylkill at Reading, the Susquehanna at Harrisburg, 
by Carlisle and over the Alleghanies, through Washington, 
Pa., across the Ohio at Wheeling, and on to Zanesville. 
From that place they drove through unbroken forests, guided 
by blazes on the trees made by those who had gone be- 
fore them. Others, from Granby, Conn., took a more south- 
erly route, by Hartford and New Haven, eventually falling 
into the same road. St. Clairsville, Belmont County, was a 
new settlement ; there was a hotel kept by John Beatty 
where Cambridge now stands, and Washington, Ohio, was 
just laid out as a village. 

The first company to arrive consisted of Elias Oilman, 
William Gavit, Silas Winchel, James Thrall, Levi Rose and 
Samuel Thrall, with their families, and Thomas Sill. This 
company ke])t the Sabbath throughout the journey, stopping 
early Saturday evening, so as to have all preparations made 
and begin hoh- time at sundown, according to their custom. 
They arrived at their destination Saturday-, November 2, 
having been forty-four days on the road. 

Tuesday, November 12, the second comjiany arrived, con- 
sisting of Lieutenant Jesse Munson, Timothy Rose, Lemuel 
Rose, Hiram Rose, Roswell Graves, Enoch Graves, Justin 
Hillyer, (rideon Cornell, George Avery with their families, 
and Amos Carpenter, Martin Root, Noble Sheldon and 
Thomas Rathbone This company did not rest on the vSab- 
bath, and were forty-nine days on the road. Jesse INIunson 
was advanced in years and well situated in life. He only 



ARRIVAL PA^ COMPANIKS. 41 

came to be with his children, who were all leaving for the 
west, and all but two with this colony. When he crossed 
the Ohio at Wheeling, he was disappointed in the soil and looks 
of the new country, and muttered, " if they hadn't anything 
better than that to show him, he should give them a big gun 
and go back again." But when they got to the Licking 
Valley, with its broad expanse of deep, rich soil, his feelings 
changed. He would get out and examine the soil in his 
hands, even smelling and tasting it, expressing the greatest 
satisfaction. When they got to the Jones cabin, on Center- 
ville street, then occupied by Kdward Nash, he determined 
that there would be the place for him to anchor, saying " he 
should have that farm." Being a man of means, he paid 
the price, lived and died there, and it is still occupied by his 
descendants. ,Tlie cabin built by Jones, of blue ash logs, 
was, in after years, clearly identified, and some of the timber 
preserved and manufactured into canes. 

On Sunday, November 17, three men arrived, having come 
through without load in twenty-two days. They were Sam- 
uel Everitt, Jr., Arauna Clark and Joab Griffin. 

About November 20, arrived Frederick Moore and Worthy 
Pratt, and about the same time a company of fourteen, 
Sylvanus Mitchel, Israel Wells, with their families, and James 
Sin net. 

Monday, December 2, arrived twenty-five; Joseph Ivinnel, 
Job Case, David Butler, with their families, and Titus Knox, 
having been fifty-one days on the road. Of this company 
was Leveret Butler, a lad of twelve or fourteen, who carried 
a shot gun. He strayed away one day hunting, and came 
into camp at ten at night with half a score of squirrels, after 
the company had become alarmed at his long absence. He 
never forgot his hunting propensities, and made them very 
useful to the colony afterwards. 

Thus far 176 had arrived, of whom fifty-two were heads of 
families. Others came from other quarters, so that in Jan- 



42 INCIDKNTS. 

iiary follovvino^ there were in the colony 234 persons ; and 
these, withont any invidions sense, were the I'\ F. (i.'s. 

Dnrino- their jonrneyings, sickness had visited many of 
them, serions dangers encountered some, great latigue was 
endured, and difficulties overcome by all. In some places, 
the wagons were held right side up by ropes fastened to the 
top and held by men walking along the hill-side above the 
road. Some were so far discouraged as to wish to turn Ijack. 
But the more enthusiastic held them to their ])urpose, and all 
persevered. 

Two or three incidents may be worth recording: 

A son of Deacon Rose, as he was climbing into the wagon, 
which was about to start, fell, and the wheel passed over his 
leg. A daughter of Enoch Graves was run over, the wheel 
passing over her head and arm. The father, seeing the acci- 
dent inevitable, whipped up the oxen to pass over the child 
as rapidly as possible, and her life was .saved Neither 
accident delayed the company a half hour. 

One evening they drew near a house of large dimensions, 
and were fain to apply for .shelter. The man at first refused 
to entertain them, alleging that the Yankees always stole 
from him. Deacon Rose offered his riding horse as security 
for the good behavior of the company, and reluctant consent 
was finally given Two very large rooms were given up to 
them, one to the ladies and the other to the men. In the 
ladies' room were great piles of bedding standing on chairs 
along one side of the room. It was noticed that a colored 
woman, a servant about the house, several times came in, 
handling over the quilts, and seemed very officious watching 
them. When they came to start in the morning, sure enough, 
the host missed a large pewter platter, and insisted on 
searching the wagons. This would cause a ver)* irksome 
delay. Naomi Cornell and Silence Rose remembered the 
uiovements of the colored woman the evening before, and 
sus])ected where the platter was. Ciiving one of the chairs 
a little tjlt, they sent the clothing over the floor, and the 



A DUTCHMAN PLACATED. 43 

platter rattled out with them. Seizing the woman, who was 
near, they would not allow her to go until the host came and 
heard their story. The woman confessed her guilt, in that 
and former thefts, and the man was so ashamed of his charge 
against the Yankees that he gave them twenty pounds of 
honey and half a dozen loaves of bread for a feast, and they 
parted in friendship. 

One of the boys was on another occasion sent ahead toward 
evening to secure a place for the company for the night. He 
found a commodious house and asked a woman in charge of 
it, if they could spend the night there. " I reckon," was her 
answer. Not understanding the provincialism he waited 
some time and then said, " I wish you would tell me whether 
we can stay all night or not." " Well, I reckon," the woman 
answered again. Being non-plused he went back to the 
wagons and reported. Older heads took in the meaning 
better and arranged to stay. 

While on the mountains the king bolt of one of the wagons 
broke. Far from any blacksmith, they must rely upon their 
own resources. Mr. Munson drove up and produced from 
his wagon a piece of hard hickory, which his forethought 
had led him to put in with his outfit, and of this a bolt was 
made that served to bring the wagon to its journey's end. 

The largest company to come through together was that 
of Dea. Rose. They reached the Jones cabin, Tuesday, Nov. 
1 2th, and found it, as well as all other cabins, already filled 
by those who had preceded them. There was waiting with 
them Rev. Cyrus Riggs, a Presbyterian minister from West- 
ern Pennsylvania. Having heard of their near approach he 
was waiting to welcome them and preach them a sermon be- 
fore going on his way. Scarcely waiting to loosen the oxen 
from their yokes or to eat, one hundred assembled for public 
worship. Then they sought rest in sleep, some in the cabins 
and others in the wagons. Thirty persons slept in one cabin, 
the preacher being first provided for. The night was made 
lurid with a great burning log heap, and thus passed the first 



44 ON TIIIC NILLACiK SOU ARK. 

night with the body of the emigrants within the limits of 
their own purchase. 

The next day, Wednesday, Nov. 13th, (1805), they drove 
on and camped on the village square. Lemuel Rose urged 
his oxen past the wagon of Dea. Rose, that was driven by 
Martin Root, and had become entangled in the brush ; and 
was the first to drive upon the town site. There was no 
work of human hands to greet their eyes except the little 
aboriginal mound of earth standing just in front of where 
the Town Hall now stands, and the surveyors marks upon 
the trees. They selected a very large beech tree, a little 
south of the center of the public square, and proceeded to 
cut it down. Mr. Coe, the surveyor, was present and as- 
sisted. All the men took turns in swinging the axes. While 
this was being done, Mr. Hiram Rose, either to have the 
prestige of cutting the first tree, or to prepare a support for 
the other, seized his axe and cut down a small, leaning hol- 
low tree, and the other fell upon it. According to the letter, 
the hollow tree was the first one cut, but accordingly to the 
spirit the beech was the first. 

Four families at once pitched their little tents beside it, — 
the three Roses and Hillyer. They set stakes a few feet off, 
put poles across, and from them to the prostrate tree. These 
were covered with brush and blankets; and thus they lived 
until some temporary cabins could be hastily thrown up and 
covered. Their fires kept wild beasts at bay, the snakes had 
gone to sice]) for the winter and troubled them not. The 
ground was damp, but they could sleep on brush heaps. 
They were exposed to the rain and cold. But they suc- 
ceeded, and thus our v^illage was begun. 



THE SYMMETRICAL LOCATION. 45 



CHAPTER IX. 

Having seen them encamped upon the land they have 
purchased for their future homes, let us find a point of ob- 
servation on the hill beyond the stream to the south of them 
and take a more distant view of the spot they have chosen 
for their village. It is a singularly symmetrical locality. 
Our northern horizon is bounded by the line of hills that 
lie just beyond their camp. The valley between us and the 
hills is three-quarters of a mile wide, and lies in two benches, 
or shelves, the first being but little above the banks of the 
creek, and sometimes siibject to overflow. The second lies 
from ten to forty feet higher. Just beyond their camp, and 
in front of us as we look, the hill is bold and projects toward 
us. To the left it recedes from us about sixty rods and sinks 
somewhat in height. Then coming forward again it rises in 
another prominence to the height of the first.. This is the 
hill with its two prominences that came in after times to be 
called the Hill of Science. In earlier times it was called 
Prospect Hill. To the right the ridge is broken by a valley 
through which courses the brook, fed by living springs 
among the hills, which the settlers named Clear Run. Just 
before us, the one to the right, the other to the left of us, 
rise two buttes, or isolated peaks. That to the west is well 
formed and rises nearly as high as the ridge beyond. The 
emigrants named it Stone Hill, but it came afterward to be 
known as Sugar Loaf. Between it and the ridge, the valley 
bends northward and into the ridge, and in this pass the val- 
ley is only a trifle higher than the rest of the second level. 
The butte to the right of us is a little larger and not so sym- 
metrical, but its western, face is very similar to that with 
which Sugar Loaf confronts it. This peak was afterward 
known as Mt. Parnassus. 

There on the second level, bounded by the ridge on the 



Sc/'ool Lot. 




« 3 



TOPOGRAPHY. 47 

north, and by these peaks on either side, and on the sonth 
by the bank that descends here abont forty feet to the 
bottom lands of the first level, and about eighty rods dis- 
tant from the stream, is the site of the future village. The 
plat is 178 rods by io6, and contains a fraction less than 118 
acres. 

Let three-quarters of a century pass, and look again. 
There, in these after-days, she sits, full grown, like a little 
queen upon her throne. Her churches, her schools of every 
grade, her business houses, her dwellings, are all of good 
appointment. vShe has had her share of prosperity and of 
disaster, but has held on her way with a quiet, even develop- 
ment and true dignity. Her children arise up and call her 
blessed. 

Denison University has chosen a beautiful site upon the 
second prominence of the ridge, and it is now proposed to 
retain both the names that have been used in times past. 
Let the eastern prominence, against which Prospect Street 
abuts, remain as " Prospect Hill," and the summit on which 
the University stands appropriate the other, " The Hill of 
Science." 

At the northern base of Sugar Loaf is the reservoir, fed 
from S distant spring, which supplies the citizens with pure 
water ; and at the southern base of Mt. Parnassus is the new 
and well-kept cemetery. 

Broadway is sketched with quadruple lines. Through the 
middle runs the drive-way. It is bounded on either side by 
a lawn. Next this is the sidewalk, lined with shade trees. 
Within the walk are the front grounds of the dwellings, 
used only for shrubbery, flowers or grass plots. 

The Ohio Central Railroad, from Toledo to the coal fields 
of Perry County, having, also, a branch to Columbus, passes 
just under the bank, south of town. The youth of the re- 
gion roundabout are entrusted to the care ot these literary 
institutions ; and many are they who seek a resting place in 
this quiet retreat. 



48 ODK TO GRANVILLE. 

It was this view of the village that inspired the following 
Ode to Granville, with which one of the memorial papers of 
the Seventy-fifth Anniversary closed : 

THE VILLAGE OK THE HILLS. 

1. Hiiylit is ihc (Lawn of morniiijj 

Wlien peace, like dew, distills; 
And hiiglit thy morning waking, 

Thou Village of the Hills! 
Thy lot in pleasant places 

By Providence was cast; 
Rich harvests thou art reaping 

From labors of the past. 

2. Patient in care thy matrons; 

Thy men for toil were strong; 
Thy sons went forth with laughter, 

Thy daughters with a song. 
Thy sun has neared its zenith, 

Thy morning toil was blest; 
Thy sons take up thy burdens 

That thou from toil may'st rest. 

3. Among thy hills enjoying 

Thy heritage so fair. 
Thy queenly form is resting 

In Nature's "old arm chair." 
Old " Prospect Hill " supports thee, * 

The " Hill of Science " near. 
Whence learn'd professors whisper 

Their lore into thine ear. 

4. Fair landscapes spread around thee, 

Enchanting to the sight; 
" Parnassus " holds thy left hand, 

And "Sugar Loaf" thy right. 
At last, the track of Commerce 

Seeks out thy (juaint retreat. 
And daily treasures bringing, 

She lays them at thy feet. 

5. Thy right hand shields the fountain 

Whence hydrant streams are fed; 
Thy left is gently guarding 
The slumber of thy dead. 



ODE TO GRANVILLE. 49 

Thy neighbors prize thy vantage, 

Thy vigilance they see; 
They bring their sons and daughters, 

Entrusting them to thee. 

Then liail! thou queenly matron, 

Renowned for comeliness; 
To-day thy works do praise thee, 

Thy children rise and bless. 
May God's right hand still lead tliee, 

And guard thee from all ills; 
May thousand Iiirthdays greet thee, 

Thou Village of the Hills. 



50 TIIIC FIRST WEEK. 



CHAPTER X. 



Returning now to our emigrants, we find tlicni busily oc- 
cupied in providing for their families a temporary shelter 
until their lands can be divided, and they can proceed to erect 
their permanent homes. In putting up their shelters they 
built chiefly within the square, so as not to be in each other's 
way after the lots were drawn. Dea. Rose built north of the 
road near the east side of the square, just by the east line of 
the Methodist church as afterward built. Lemuel Rose was 
just back of him and Hiram Rose a little west and where 
the Town Hall now stands. Jesse Munson built where the 
Congregational Church afterward stood, Justin Hillyer just 
west, and Hugh Kelleyjust north of him. Joseph Linnel 
built a little west of the corner so long occupied by Mr. A. 
P. Prichard's drug store, Elias Oilman near the town spring, 
and Sylvanus Mitchel a little south of him. Wwi. Gavit 
built on the corner south of Jesse Munson, across the street 
and near the lot where his residence was for many years. 
Gideon Cornell built near Sugar Loaf and probably not 
until after he drew his lots which lay on the back street. 
vSamuel Thrall, George Avery, and Timothy Spehnan also 
spent the winter in town, perhaps not building until the lots 
were drawn. Other members of the company were accom- 
modated in the old cabins until the lands were divided, when 
they bent their energies upon improvements on their farms. 

"The first three nights there fell an abundance of rain 
which not only came through the brush and blankets " under 
which they were sleeping, but ran on the ground info their 
shelters and under the beds which were s])read on the ground. 
Some were driven in the night to their wagons. 

Amid their labors the vSabbath came, the 17th of Novem- 
ber, a memorable day. They had arranged to have ])ublic 
worship in the open air beside the large beech tree. At the 



THE SONG IN THE DESERT. 61 

appointed hour the horn gave the signal and all came to- 
gether, a goodly congregation numbering ninety-three. Two 
sermons were read by Mr. Rathbone, one of which was Dr. 
Cooley's sermon preached a few months before at the organ- 
ization of the church. The prayers were offered by Dea. 
Timothy Rose, Lemuel Rose and Samuel Thrall. The scene 
is described as an affecting one. The memory of their old 
homes and house of worship rushed upon them in vivid con- 
trast with their present circumstances, — in the wild forests, 
on the frontier of civilization, no floor under their feet save 
the damp earth, no covering over their heads but God's can- 
opy, no seats but those improvised for the occasion out of 
logs and blocks and what their wagons afforded, no pulpit 
but the stump of that beech tree, and no pastor at all. They 
prayed, and their hearts went out in genuine gratitude 
and trust. They listened to the sermons read and grew 
stronger in their undertaking. They sang and their voices 
floated out among the trees and arose above them, wafted far 
out on the autumnal air. But the accents were sometimes 
tremulous. Silent tears coiirsed down their cheeks and sobs 
mingled with the song. God heard them; and, as they 
learned afterwards, an unknown neighbor heard them. 

Theophilus Rees, who has been mentioned as settling a 
mile or two northeast of the incipient village, had occasion 
that morning to look for some cattle that had strayed from 
his herd. Being drawn by the lowing of the company's 
oxen, knowing nothing of the presence of settlers so near 
him, he had approached toward them so near as the point of 
Prospect Hill. Standing there listening to catch some sound 
from the cattle, there fell upon his astonished ear the strains 
of sweet music. They seemed wafted to him from the tree 
tops or from the sky. He thought of angels sent to earth to 
minister to men and stood in rapt bewilderment. Then 
coming on a little nearer and around the point of the hill, the 
song burst upon him more clearly. He followed it up until 
through the trees and underbrush he could make out what 



52 THRKK-vSIDED CABINvS. 

was going on. Then he retraced his steps withont making 
his presence known. He hastened home to tell his wife that 
they had got some new neighbors and she need not be afraid 
of them, for they had got the ark of God among them. 
Then, nsing a Welsh proverb, he said, "The promise of (iod 
is a bond." He had seen the silent wilderness becoming 
vocal with the praise of Jehovah. Long after, thongh he 
conld neither speak nor nnderstand Engli.sh, he regnlarly 
presented himself a worshiper among them, sometimes lead- 
ing them in prayer, bnt in his own tongne ; and was a trne 
neighbor and fast friend. 

Before the next Sabbath came, Deacon Rose and his hired 
man had raised his three sided cabin ^w\\\c\\\\^^ their place of 
worship for several sncceeding Sabbaths. As the first cabin ]Mit 
np in the village or by any of the company; as a sample resi- 
dence of the people dnring that winter, which, providentially, 
was an open one ; as a Council House or Town Hall for the 
company's business meetings ; as a hotel ; and as the first 
house of worship, all combined, this cabin deserves the best 
description that can be given of it. 

It was about twenty feet wide and twenty-eight long, 
hastily made by rolling up great beech logs three high, with 
enormous cracks, chinked in with other logs and stuffed with 
the heavy moss from the forest trees. The logs of the rear 
end were interlapped with those of the sides, cabin fashion, 
but the front ends of the side logs were built up with puppies 
— so log-architecture designates them — that is, blocks fitted 
between and across the logs, to hold them firmly in place. 
Thus, the two sides and back end were built up closely, 
or solid, and to a reasonable height. It was covered with split 
shingles, or clapboards, rived out of ash, and six feet long. 
These were laid on ribs^ and held in place by iveight-poles^ 
with knees between them. It zvonld shed a great deal of the 
rai7t! The front, which was toward the south, was all open. 
Rut after leaving space for a passage way in and out, the 
rest was occupied by a great blazing log heap, kept burning 




THE FIRST HOUSE THAT SHELTERED A FAMILY IN GRANVILLE TOWN. 



54 COMMODIOUS QUARTERS. 

night and day. It needed neither door nor window, and the 
floor was earth. The cracks and fire gave light cnongh, and 
if the smoke blew in, it blew ont again. The top logs were 
stayed in place, so as not to spread with the weight of the 
roof, by saplings jiinned across overhead. On these the boys 
nsed to perch dnring pnblic service. 

A number of cabins were made, with some variations from 
this pattern, that accommodated the families for that first 
winter. They were not yet practiced in log architectnre. 
Instead of an open end, some laid up an angle of .shorter 
logs, which they lined with stones, leaving room at each side 
to drive a yoke of oxen in and ont, for the purpose of draw- 
ing in logs and rolling them upon the fire. 

Their beds were sometimes spread on brush, and .some- 
times more artistically made by boring into the logs for rests 
for poles, on which their beds were laid. If any think a 
brush heap a rough place to sleep, let them go from ordinary 
packed mattresses, and try one. The soldiers, when cam- 
paigning, used to think themselves favored if they could find 
one ready made, whereon to throw theuLselves, without any 
intervening bed ; and let it be remembered, our emigrants 
had now been campaigning about two months. 

In quarters like this, and even less commodious, families 
of eleven, ten, nine or less, some of them with hired men, 
or " boarders from the Kast, locating land," spent that 
memorable winter. The same room was bed-room, parlor, 
nursery, kitchen, dining-room, office, work-shop and store- 
house — a complete caravansary, except the stable. 

A picture drawn as faithfully as can be done from the 
descriptions given by the few now living who saw the cabin, 
must tell the rest. It is .so nearly true to its original, that it 
is recognized with pleasure by the few who could judge of 
its accuracy. 



BUSINESS. 55 



CHAPTER XI. 

The last entry of the company's minntes made in old 
Granville, reads thus : 

" Voted that this Meetings be Adjourned to the first Monday 
of December Next at Nine O'clock in tlie Monn'ng to Meet on 
the Hardy Section Which the Co. purchased in the State of 
Ohio for the purpose of Making the first Devision of Lands the 
Company Owns in Sd State." 

True to adjournment, they met Monday, December 2, at 
Deacon Timothy Rose's new cabin. Lieutenant Buttles, the 
President of the company, had died at Worthington, in the 
interim, and Timothy Rose was appointed to the office in his 
place. 

Members continued to be received to the company, but 
only in place of such as had lost or resigned their connection 
with it ; some even having come on from the East with the 
company in confidant expectation of such changes. Roswell 
Rowley, Daniel Wadsworth, Phineas Rowley, James Thrall 
and Thomas Spelman were received to membership after 
the adjournment of the company, by action of the Executive 
Committee, before leaving Massachusetts. In Ohio, the com- 
pany received Jeremiah R. Munson, Esq., in place of Jesse 
Rice ; Martin Root in place of one right of Josiah Graves ; 
Elias'Gilman in place of Ephraim Howe, Jr.; John Johnson 
in place of Hugh Kelley, for his sister, and David Butler in 
place of Solomon Noble. 

A few days' delay in the division of the lands was occa- 
sioned by the surveys not being completed. Samuel Thrall 
and Cornelius Slocum were made a committee to act with 
Timothy Spelman, already appointed, " to complete the mill 
and do the surveying necessary to the first division." 

The corn that had been raised during the summer was held 
for sale at two shillings (thirty-three cents) a bushel. The fod- 



56 ROADS — RESKRVATIONS. 

der was distributed, each man <;ettiiii; about as iiiiich as he 
could cany home on his Ijack for a sin^^le share. The cattle 
and tools and "all other articles" belono^ing to the compan)- 
were held for sale. These matters were entrusted to a com- 
mittee consisting of Samuel Thrall, James Coe and Wm. 
Gavit. Roads were laid out and opened by direction of the 
company in expectation that in due time they would be es- 
tablished by proper authority and become permanent ; one 
to Owl Creek (Mt. Vernon), another to Worthington, and a 
third to Lancaster. Jeremiah R. IMunson, Elias Oilman, and 
Lemuel Rose were a committee " to furnish Supplies ])ack 
Horse Chain Men and an Ax Man to Wait on the Viewers 
and Run a Road from Lancaster to Granville vSettlement from 
thence to Owl Crick." Afterward, Job Case, Hugh Kelley 
and Joshua Kindall were made a committee to superintend 
the work in opening the roads. 

Certain reservations were made in addition to those already 
made, which will be understood by the following extract 
from the company's records. Under date of Dec. 5, 1805, it is 
recorded, as follows : 

"5 Voted that four Acres in Square form be taken Out of 
Lot No 15 3d Range at the North West Corner & Reserved 
for public Use. [Summit of Sugar Loaf.] 

"6 Voted to Establish the liureying Ground a[s] Laycd 
Out at the North West Corner of Lot No. 14 3d Range South 
of the Town plat [The old cemetery.] 

" jth Voted that the Lot No. 11 in the 3d Range be Appro- 
priated fur the Seport of the Gospel [First lot S. K. of Lancas- 
ter bridge.] 

"8th Voted that Lot No 15 in the 2d Range be appropria- 
ted for the Seport of a School [on Centerville St., half a mile 
east of town.] 

"9th Voted that 2 Acres in the Lot No. 11 in the 3d Range 
be Reserved a public Road to the Saw Mill [Lying along Clear 
Run, from Centerville St. to the Creek.] 

" 10 Voted that the Spring on Block No 2 in the Town plot 
be Reserved for publick Use & put Over to A futer Meeting" 
[Near h^sq. Oilman's lot, and known as the Toion Spring^ 



I>^ 



THE COUNTY SEAT — SCHOOL. 57 

It had been thought by some of the company that their 
village would be laid out further to the east, on the plain 
through which Centerville Street runs, with the confident ex- 
pectation that it would also become the county seat when by 
a new division another county should be set off. This mat- 
ter of the county seat led to some difference between the 
Granville and Newark people on the subject. A petition 
concerning the bounds of the county had been sent to the 
General Court; that is, the Legislature; and a counter peti- 
tion went up from the Licking Company, Jeremiah R. Mun- 
son, Esq., being appointed a committee to present it. 

A little experience with dams and floods in the western 
streams seems to have discouraged the company in estab- 
lishing their mill. They therefore offered at public sale 
their reserved mill seat at the mouth of Clear Run, together 
with the mill, machinery and all the appurtenances. 

Early action was taken to secure a school for the winter. 
Samuel Thrall, Lemuel Rose and Elias Gilman were made 




THE FIRST bCHUOL HOUSE. 1806. 

a committee on this behalf. It resulted in the building of a 
large log school house on the south side of the public square, 
a little east of where the Baptist Church now stands. "This 
was a magnificent building," is the language of one who was 
privileged to attend the school taught the latter half of that 
winter by Mr. Rathbone. The windows were of oiled paper, 
the seats were shaved puncheons laid on blocks, and the 
8 



o8 vSALK OF LOTS. 

desks were of the same, fixed to the logs of the house at 
suitable height by pins set in auger-holes. The house was 
also used for religious meetings and for town gatherings. 
The entrance was near the northeast corner. The chimney 
was on the east end and the fire-place was just to the left as 
one entered. 

The day's wages of a man at this time was four shillings, 
(sixty-seven cents,) and the same sum ])aid for the use of a 
yoke of oxen for a day, with chains enough to work them. 

The meetings of the company were often held on Sunday 
evening. In explanation of this it should be said that the 
universal custom among them at that time was to begin 
their Sabbath at sundown on Saturday evening, and close it 
at sundown Sunday evening. They therefore felt at liberty 
to transact secular business on Sunday evening, but they 
would by no means do it on Saturday evening. 

Another remarkable fact is that whisky is several times 
mentioned as being called for and used at their business 
meetings. It is to be remembered that the light of the Tem- 
perance Reformation had not then dawned. All men drank 
freely as they listed. It was but a universal custom. 

On Tuesday the loth of December, (1805), the sale of lots 
began at vendue; James Coe, Noadiah Holcomb and Joab 
Griffin being a committee to receive the money paid by 
the bidders each for his choice, the aggregate of which was 
to be equally divided among the members of the Company 
according to the quantity of land he purchased. The town 
lots were first sold, and next day the farm lots. No bid on 
the village lots less than ten cents was accepted, and on the 
farm lots less than one dollar. Those who were absent were 
permitted to be represented by others in the biddings. 

For the choice of town lots, the highest bid would appear 
to have been made by Samuel P^veritt, Jr. He ])aid seventy 
dollars for one on Broad Street, near Prospect — one of the 
best lots — and seventy dollars for one lying on the hillside, 
and one of the least desirable. But no other bid rose higher 



INDIVIDUAL BIDS. 59 

than $25.25, which sum Deacon Timothy Rose paid for his lot 
at the corner of Broad and Pearl Streets. The one next east 
of Mr. Everitt's — northwest corner of Broad and Prospect 
Streets — sold to Justin Hillyer for $20.50, and the one next 
west to William Slocum for $16.30. This is not explained. 
It may be that the fact that Mr. Everitt drew up the parti- 
tion deed without charge may have something to do with it, 
no further pay for his lots being required of him, and that 
service being considered worth the sum he is said to have 
paid for them. 

In bidding for the farm lots, half a dozen bids ranged over 
$300 each, and in the following order : Job Case, whose farm 
was a mile west of town, where the Loudon road leaves the 
Worthington road, $344 ; Noadiah Holcomb, midway on 
Loudon Street, $341 ; Levi Hayes, the last farm in the com- 
pany's purchase on the east, and to the north of the Newark 
road, $337 ; Cornelius Slocum, for the farm long occupied by 
Captain Joseph Fassett, three-quarters of a mile east of 
town, $331 j Samuel Thrall, for the McCune farm, long oc- 
cupied by Mr. Joseph Linnel, a mile and a half east of town, 
$317; Lieutenant Jesse Munson, the farm where the Jones 
cabin stood, $313. 

The land was valued to every member of the company at 
;^i67.30 per one hundred acres, each one paying in addition 
to this, for his choice of location, whatever he bid. Each 
one hundred acres drew a town lot, and for the choice of 
these, again bids were received. 

The first farm lot bid off was by Timothy Spelman, Esq. 
He paid for his choice $138. It was the faim adjoining town 
on the northeast, through which Clear Run passes, and on 
which the flouring mill stands. 

The largest purchase as to acres was that of Lieutenant 
Jesse Munson, who received a deed for 1500 acres at the 
company's price. His bids being added, his tract cost him 
$3043.80. The next in size was that of James Sinnet, one 
thousand acres, his biddings increasing the cost to $1776.50. 



00 DIVISION OF LOTS. 

The next was that of Jesse Miinson, Jr., eif^ht hundred 
acres. It does not appear that he bid aiiything for his 
choice, as his land is charged at the company's price, $1338.40. 
The next is that of Timothy Spehnan, seven hundred acres, 
costing $1997.80. The next was Cornelius Slocum's six 
hundred acres, costing $1594.65. Levi Buttles, Job Case, 
David Messenger, Silas Winchel, Joseph Linnel, William 
Cooley, Jr., William Oavit, and Samuel Thrall, received 
deeds for five hundred acres each, at an additional cost for 
choice varying from $898.50 to $1601.70. 

Some paid nearly as much for their choice as they did for 
their land, while others paid nothing for a choice. The ag- 
gregate of these biddings was not far from $20,000. When 
this came to be distributed to the members of the company, 
some of them received in their dividend nearly or quite as 
much as their land cost them ; they thus getting a farm at 
the expense of those who paid for a choice above them. 
About eighty persons received their farms and village lots 
thus by paying a premium for their choice. 

While the sale of lots at vendue was proceeding, a com- 
mittee of three (Noadiah Holcomb, James Coe, and Joab 
Griffin) was appointed to digest a plan by which the further 
division of lots might be made. This was on the 9th of 
December. On the nth they reported, and the sale pro- 
ceeded on the 1 2th. 

The proprietors met and organized, being such as did not 
choose to pay for a choice of lots. Job Case was made their 
president, and Timothy Spehnan, clerk. The first business 
was the distribution of their town lots. The town spring 
lot, on account of the spring, was sold to the highest bidder 
(Lieutenant Jesse Munson), he giving a lien to the company 
that the spring should be for public use " as long as water 
runs." Klias (xilman, afterward coming into possession of 
the lot, gave a deed, March 21, 1806, recorded in Fairfield 
County, Lancaster, March 31, 1806, renouncing all title to 
the spring and as much ground around it as might be needed 



THR SRCOND DIVISION. Gl 

for water- works, if the "inhabitants" should thereafter see 
fit to use the spring for the public good. 

The further division proceeded by lot, William Reynolds 
and Frederick Moore being chosen to draw the tickets. In 
the division of farm lands the same method was pursued. 
Each section was drawn by lot separately, the unappropri- 
ated fractions of the Hardy & Stanberry sections being di- 
vided among the other sections ; each member to have a 
portion of his land in each section ; thus, by the chances of 
several drawings, equalizing the probabilities that each 
member would receive a fair average quality of land. Then, 
by exchanging, buying, and selling, each could obtain his 
land in contiguous tract. If, however, any were dissatisfied 
with this method, they had the privilege of receiving their 
land in one tract under the direction of a committee chosen 
by those interested. January 15, 1806, Deacon Timothy 
Rose, in a letter, says : " We have come to the division of 
our land, and that peaceably ; and, as I believe, honestly." 

A partition deed drawn up by Samuel Everitt, Jr., was 
given by the company, in which the purchase of each mem- 
ber is described. It was signed by each member of the 
company, some absentees signing by their attorneys. By 
thus subscribing, each member of the company signed away 
his claim to every part of the land except that described by 
the deed as apportioned to himself. Thus was each 
one's title made good to himself from the company. A copy 
of this deed occupies twenty-eight pages of very closely 
written foolscap paper, including a plat of the village, with 
tables of the proprietors' names, their village and farm lots, 
the location of the same in sections and ranges, etc. On the 
8th day of March, 1806, the deed was acknowledged before 
Abraham Wright, a Justice of the Peace for Fairfield County, 
seventy-eight signatures being attached. The recording of 
this deed cost the company $25.00, and the instrument 
itself was entrusted to the custody of Timothy Spelman. 



62 ' KARLV KXPKRIKNCKS. 



CHAPTER XII. 



The winter ot 1805-6 was one of new experiences foralltlie 
settlement ; it proved to be an open one, so that their sufferings 
from exposure and cold were not very great. Then, there 
w^as abundance of wood at every man's door, and they were 
glad to put it out of the way in their great, roaring fires, kept 
burning night and day. Evening gatherings for social chat 
were frequent. Conversations with friends and interchange 
of experience in their new circumstances were needed. Be- 
ing so far removed from all other friendships, they made the 
more of their social life. While the older ones were thus 
met for planning and conference, the younger ones would 
gather for innocent frolic. Father and mother, with thought- 
ful countenances, would start out to spend the evening with 
their neighbors. They would scarcely be hidden from sight 
in the darkness among the thick trees, when a horn would 
blow, as a concerted signal among the young people that the 
cat was away and the mice might play, and troops would 
start up here and there, all making for the rendezvous. So 
prompt was the response that sometimes the two parties 
would meet in the woods, going in opposite directions, and 
the old folks would wonder who those young people were, 
and where they were going. The young folks had undis- 
puted possession of one cabin, and the old folks were 
undisturbed in their consultations in the other. The young 
folks knew the old folks were planning for their welfare, and 
were happy. The old folks had full confidence in their 
children, that they were in no mischief, wherever they were. 
The parents would return to their homes when the evening 
was spent, to find that the children, too, had been enjoying 
themselves, and all were satisfied. 

Owing to the failure of their mill dam, they were obliged 
to go for flour to Chillicothe, a distance of sixty miles. Four 
men, Justin Hillyer, Eevi Ro.se, Augustine Munson and 



WILD TURKEYS. 63 

Thomas Spelman, made this trip during the winter, with ox 
teams, returning with their loads in twenty-one days. Their 
route was through the woods to Lancaster, from which place 
a road had been opened to Chillicothe. It took them 
four days to travel that first twenty-six miles to Lancaster, 

Another commodity, regarded a necessity in those days, 
was whisky. This, too, was brought from Chillicothe. 

But the woods around them abounded in choice game. 
Wild turkeys were so plentiful as to become a pest to the 
crops. They " went in flocks to the size of a hundred, and 
some of the settlers say five hundred. When they began to 
sow, there are instances where the sower set down his wheat 
to club back the turkeys. In the Autumn, the Burgh Street 
hills echoed with their noise, and sometimes seemed almost 
covered with them. The people did not pretend to eat all 
they killed. The breasts were torn out for 'jerks,' that is, 
to smoke and dry, and the rest was thrown away. Those 
who could not bear to see the waste forbade their young peo- 
ple firing upon them. So late as 1811, six years after the 
settlement, Enoch Graves paid Spencer Wright nine fat 
turkeys, caught in a pen, for three pounds of sole leather." 

A turkey that had been shot came flying overhead and 
fluttered down by the side of Mrs. Winchel, while at work 
out of doors. It was unable to fly further, and so furnished 
them a dinner. When dressed, it weighed twenty-two 
pounds. 

A pedler from Chillicothe stopped at Oren Granger's 
tavern one Monday noon, where he saw several fine turkeys. 
He bargained with Leveret Butler for one hundred such, to 
be delivered at Mr. Granger's the next Saturday noon. 
Butler went home, run his bullets, went out in the afternoon 
and in two hours killed twenty-nine. A rain came up and 
wet the guns, and he was obliged to stop. He hung up the 
turkeys after the Indian fashion, sticking the head of one 
through a slit in the neck of another, and balancing them 
across a limb. Next day it rained. Wednesday he went 



64 DEER — WOLVES. 

again, with one Nichols, and camped out the rest of the week. 
They carried in 130. The wild cats spoiled six for them. 
Selecting one hundred of the best, he delivered them to Mr. 
Granger and received his pay. 

Mrs. Samuel Everitt caught twenty-three turkeys at one 
time, trapping them in a corn crib, luring them to the spot 
by sprinkling a few kernels of corn around. 

Deacon David Thomas killed seven with two shots, having 
a shot gun, and getting the turkeys in a row as they sat on 
the fence. 

Turkeys were very large, and so fat that when shot from 
a tree, the concussion of the fall would cause the fat on their 
backs to split open six inches or more. 

Old Mr. Hoover had the name of killing the largest in 
the colony. When dressed, it weighed thirty-eight pounds. 
Mr. Ethan Bancroft shot several that weighed thirty-six 

pounds. 

" Some accounts border on the marvelous as to the ease with 
which deer were found & shot at the deer licks; one of which 
was near the west side of the township." 

The exposure to danger from wild beasts was not a slight 
one ; the wolves being the most formidable enemy, because 
of their numbers. Bears and "panthers" there were, and 
they occasioned trouble, but not with any frequency. 

Alfred Avery, then a mere boy of eleven years, was sent one 
day to the mill at Newark, on horseback, and returning, did not 
reach home until after night. Some animal rushed past 
him in the darkness and startled his horse, throwing the boy 
and the grist to the ground. By the aid of a fallen tree, he 
was able to readjust his load, and he reached home in safety. 
It was supposed to be a wolf, which, being full fed, did not 
molest him further. 

A son of Theophilus Rees came one evening into the vil- 
lage to spend a few hours in singing with the young people. 
He was urged not to return home through the woods by night, 
but, more bravely than wisely, he set out, imitating the 
howling of the wolf as he went. He had scarcely gone half 



RESCUES FROM WOLVES. 05 

a mile from the village, when a pack of wolves, perhaps 
answering to his own call, came upon him, and forced him into 
a small tree. The wolves surrounded it, snapping, howling, 
jumping at him as he sat on a limb, and even gnawing 
at the tree, which, before morning light could disperse them, 
would have yielded to their persistence, and given him up 
as their prey. But, providentially, his cries were heard at 
the settlement. The village was aroused, and they set out 
with torches and lanterns, to his rescue. As the lights ap- 
proached them, the wolves yielded their ground, and the 
young man was saved. 

During the first winter. Captain John Phelps being vio- 
lently ill, his younger brother, Chauncey, went to Worihing- 
ton, twenty-seven miles, for a physician. At night fall, he 
waded a creek ; the wolves came on his track, and forced 
him into a tree. There he remained until his clothes froze 
stiff. At length, the wolves seemed to take his track back, 
and hearing them plunge into the creek, he came down and 
went on his way. 

Two sons and a daughter of David Lewis, in the Rees 
settlement, were boiling sugar in the woods one night, when a 
pack of wolves came upon them. They defended themselves, 
for a time, with the brands from the fire. These were near giv- 
ing out, to their great peril, before their parents and neighbors 
rallied to their rescue. 

H. Prosper Rose was once riding to town from his home, 
by the ridge road, which followed the hills north of the 
present road, when he was chased by a savage wolf that bit 
his horse, and snapped his boot, and to save himself, he 
was obliged to run his horse quite into the village. 

In early times, a wolf was known to be prowling around 
the village. He was tracked to his haunt in a swamp on the 
northeast edge of town, trapped and killed. 

When spring opened, another fearful enemy was en- 
countered in the multitude of snakes that infested hill and 
valley, the most dreaded of which were copperheads and rat- 
9 



66 RATTLKSNAKKS AND COPri'lRIIICADS, 

tlesnakes, some of them beino- " as large as good sized hand- 
spikes." This must have been after they had swallowed a 
squirrel. The rattlesnake was not generally more than four 
feet long, though Mr. David Butler killed one that was six 
feet long, having sixteen or eighteen rattles. The copper- 
head was not more than eighteen or twenty inches long, and 
not very heavy. 

Mrs. Oilman was straining her milk one evening at the 
spring-house, when a copperhead rose and snapped at her. 
She had learned to make the old-fashioned, long-handled 
fire-shovel a formidable weapon of warfare against them, 
and, hastening into the house, she came back armed and 
dispatched it. 

During the summer, she, with others, was invited to eat 
watermelons at Deacon Hayes'. When getting their things 
preparatory to returning home, a large snake was found 
coiled under Mrs. Gilman's bonnet, on the parlor bed, and 
raising its head threateningly as they approached The fire- 
shovel was again brought into service, and the snake was 
killed. 

One neighbor making an early business call u])on another 
saw a large yellow rattlesnake coiled on a log of the cabin 
just over the bed which was still occupied by a member of 
the family. The neighbor remarked : " I see you have an 
early caller this morning." This caused the occupant of the 
bed to turn and look for the visitor, which brought her head 
very near to the venomous reptile. 

"The first day that Deacon Hayes began to clear his land, 
he put his hand under a log, hooked the chain, and when the 
oxen turned it over, it crushed three copperheads." 

Thomas Parker was plowing for wheat, when he turned 
up a stone under which were gathered a half-busliel of 
snakes of all kinds. 

Timothy W. Howe and his brother younger were out 
berrying. Timothy, following his brother's track, found a 
large rattlesnake coiled in his path, over which his brother 
had stepped without seeing it. 



EXTERMINATION. 67 

Leveret Butler several times had his clothing bitten by 
them Once a copperhead snapped at him and hooked his 
fangs in his linen pants, hanging there until he knocked him 
off with the other foot. At another time the toe of his 
moccasin was bitten. 

The snakes first began to show themselves in April of the 
first spring. They wintered in the hills, where the ground 
had been bioken by the falling trees, giving them access to 
the stones within. In the crevices and cavities were found 
great dens of them. Rattlesnakes, blacksnakes, copperheads 
and striped snakes habited together. 

It was judged best to make a thorough business of killing 
them. The people all turned out, formed two companies 
under Captains Elias Gilman and Justin Hillyer, chose sides 
for the day, stimulating competition by the agreement that 
the beaten party should furnish three gallons of whisky for 
an evening's frolic, and proceeded to business. The young 
nien grew venturesome, and would " seize them by the neck 
and thrash them against the trees before they had time to 
bite or coil around their arms." 

On another occasion it became known that the snakes 
were leaving their winter quarters one Sunday while the 
people were assembled at church. It was deemed a matter 
of " necessity and mercy " to kill them before they should 
scatter through the country ; so the congregation adjourned 
to the scene of the hissing crew and spent the day in deeds 
of slaughter. 

Dr. Little relates in this connection that experiments 
were repeated on snakes by holding them with a forked 
^tick placed over their necks and inserting a tobacco quid in 
their mouths, or spitting tobacco juice into their open jaws. 
Whatever venom they carried of their own, they could not 
stand this. They would convulse and die. Then he draws 
a contrast between the venom of the snake and that of the 
man, and rather in favor of the former. 

Wild hogs were a very formidable enemy to encounter. 



68 WII.l) HOGS — BEARS. 

They sometimes wore tusks six or eight inches long. Boys, 
and even men, were sometimes forced to the trees to escape 
them. They would soon tear a dog to pieces, and were more 
dreaded than bears. One old gentleman who, from bronchial 
disease, could not speak above a whisper, was once forced 
by one of them to shout as loud as anybody. Another, 
chased by an old one with a family of pigs, unfortunately 
took refuge in a tree immediately under which was her 
haunt, and had well-nigh failed to make his call for help 
heard in time for a rescue. 

Bears were not numerous after the colony came. About 
1820, one was chased and treed on the hill north of town. 
The citizens turned out and captured it, and divided the 
spoils. Another was killed at the (ireat Circular Hunt in 
1823 (which see), and the last seen was in 1826 (see also, in 
Annals of that date). 

About the same time, also, (1820-26), the deer vanished 

from the vicinity. 

The Sabbath-keeping habits of the colony soon made an 
impression upon the settlers around them. 7\t first they 
came in on errands of business or pleasure on that day, but 
they soon learned to respect the wishes of the colonists con- 
cerning the day, and either came to join with them in their 

public worship, or staid away. 

One man came on the Sabbath for the purpose of buying 
a yoke of oxen. He had been directed to Mr. Lemuel Rose 
as having a yoke to sell. Approaching him, he made known 
his business. 

" It is not my practice to trade on the Sabbath," said Mr. 

Rose. 

" I had leisure to-day to ride over and get a yoke," said 
the man, rather apologetically in regard to the day. 

" I can not trade on Sunday," was the reply. 

" Well, but you can tell me what you will ask ?" queried 
the stranger. 

"No!" said Mr. Rose, "I can make no part of the trade 
to-day." 



BILL OF FARE. C)9 

"At least you can tell me whether you have a yoke to 
sell ?" persisted the would-be buyer. 

Still receiving no satisfaction beyond the information that 
business was not appropriate for the Sabbath, he rode away. 
At this point tradition divides as to the finishing of the 
story. One says the man never came again ; the other, that 
he came next day and Mr. Rose told him he had no oxen to 

sell. 

As soon as might be after the division of their lands, each 

settler began the work of clearing. The families would rise 

in the morning at break of day. The men would freshen 

up the fires in the cabins, care for the cattle, and at once go 

to the log-heaps in the fields. These would be set into a 

fresh blaze as rapidly as possible by rolling the burning logs 

together and throwing the brands between. The women 

would prepare breakfast. Usually, a fresh "johnny-cake" was 

made. The corn meal was stirred up with water and a little 

white ashes of elm wood or corn cobs, instead of soda, or a 

pseudo pearlash made by firing a hollow elm log, the heat 

becoming so great as to melt down the ashes in cakes. The 

johnny-cake was then spread thin upon a short, shaved 

puncheon. This was set on end before the fire until one 

side was baked brown, then turned and baked on the other. 

Sometimes the rain would spoil one cake, but another would 

be started at once. When done, it was dipped into cold 

water and immediately rolled up in a cloth to steam awhile, 

and when it came out " it was the sweetest bread ever made." 

Potatoes were roasted in the ashes. The breast of turkeys 

was cut into slices and broiled on the end of a stick, or lying 

on glowing coals. When there was no fresh meat at hand, 

there was plenty of jerked venison or turkey. The table 

was sometimes spread with wooden or pewter plates and 

trenchers. Some ate their mush and milk from wooden 

bowls with wooden spoons. The milk was set away in large 

wooden pans. All this wooden- ware, with salt mortars, etc., 

came to be made at an eaily day within the settlement. 



70 ROUTINR OF A DAY. 

Breakfast over, the men would betake themselves to the 
work of the day, according to the season : chopping, plow- 
ing, hoeing, harvesting, etc.; always keeping the log-heaps 
briskly burning. The women would spin wool or flax, or 
weave their yarn into cloth ; or make the cloth into cloth- 
ing. Girls sixteen years of age would spin two and a half 
runs of yarn, linen or woolen, for a day's work, besides help- 
ing about table work three times a day. It was considered 
quite an accomplishment to spin tow so fine that a skein of 
it could be drawn through a finger ring. Often, the women 
or boys would go to mill, three, six, or ten miles, with a 
bushel or two of grain, on horseback, rather than take the 
men from their labor. Mr. Montonye, an ingenious black- 
smith, very useful to the settlers all around by mending 
broken tools in an artistic way, owned a mill seat on Ramp 
Creek, and constructed a little mill with stones of his ow^n 
shaping, where a little grinding was done ; but the main de- 
pendence was a mill at Newark. 

For the noonday meal, breakfast was repeated, and all re- 
turned to the same employments for the afternoon. 

In the evening, with torches in hand to keep the wolves 
away, they would often gather at a neighbor's and eat a sup- 
per of roast turkey. Returning home after a social evening, 
they would give the final touches to the log-heaps, and retire 
to rest. 

When baking was on hand, they generally used a *' Dutch 
oven" — a great iron, flat-bottomed kettle, with an iron 
lid, to be set over a bed of coals and be covered with a 
layer of glowing embers. One of these would sometimes 
serve a whole neighborhood, going in turn from one family 
to another. Some made clay ovens, large enough to bake at 
once eight or ten loaves of bread. They sometimes made 
great loaves of corn bread that would weigh fifteen pounds. 

Turkeys, deer, wild hogs, and opossums furnished a variety 
of meat and an abundance of it. In the fall, when corn was 
getting too old for roasting-ears, they would joint it on a bench 



EVENING ENTERTAINMENTS. 71 

plane, or an instrument made on purpose for the work, and 
make hominy of it. Another process was to pound it in a 
mortar. A hollow, large enough to hold a gallon or two, 
would be burned out of the top of some convenient stump ; 
a sapling bent over and a large pestle fixed to it so as to 
play over the stump ; then, with a rope and stirrup for the 
foot to work with, the pestle was made to beat the corn in 
the hollow until fine enough to cook. 

For brooms, they would cut a hickory or buckeye stick 
and peel fine splints down toward the end, turning them 
over the end and tying them in a mat, then shave the other 
end to a convenient size for a handle. 

Blackberries and milk were a luxury. 

Bread crusts, rye, and even sycamore [ hickory ? ] bark 
were used for coffee. Wild grapes and cherries were dried 
and served for raisins in fruit-cake, and bread and pumpkins 
were used for pies. Hot doughnuts, cheese, homemade beer, 
nuts, popcorn, maple sugar, and even fresh turnips, were 
passed to company of an evening instead of apples. 

Singing was ever a part of their social entertainments. 

Corn huskings made many happy occasions for evening 
mirth. 

Families went pleasuring on a sled drawn by oxen, and 
children of emigrants were seen coming into the country, 
one on each side of a horse, slung in a bed-tick across his 
back, their curious countenances peering out of the opening, 
taking note of things as they passed, and the people as cur- 
iously taking note of the travelers. 

In those days there were no common people. All be- 
longed to the aristocracy. 

During the earliest years of the colony there were friendly 
Indians roaming around them who were of great assistance 
to them. They would bring in cranberries for sale. The 
stock would occasionally wander away, and the Indians could 
always find them and bring them in. Some of the young 
settlers became very intimate with them, and would go a 



7'2 KKIKNDI.V INDIANS. 

great dislance from lioine in llicir c()iii])aiiy, lcainin<; their 
haunts and lialnts of huntinj^. The Indian boys were very 
expert witli tlie b(jw and arrows, shootinj^ eoppers at a dis- 
tance of twenty-five feet. With a quiver full of arrows one 
would stand and shoot them all, one after another, at objects 
in the trees or air, notinj^ carefully where each fell; then 
takiu}^ a round, would gatlier them each in its turn, never 
missinj^ one. The Indians would brinj; in venison to ex- 
chanj^e for any little commodity the settlers could s])are, a 
little parched corn, a "Uig of cider, a squash, or a trinket. 

vSonietimes a ])et bear was seen. Jimmy John,son generally 
liad one chained to his cabin; catching a cub and keeping 
him until he would weigh two hundred pounds, when he was 
ready to be slaughtered. One of the.se pets .showed a fond- 
ness for wrestling with little boys, but he had so much de- 
pravity that he must always throw the boy, or he would get 
mad. 

The trees that yielded their treasures for the use of the 
.settlers and that were made to feel the thick strokes of their 
axes, were white oak, chestnut, walnut, butternut, beech, 
sugar, soft maple, ash, poplar, basswood, cherry, elm, syca- 
more, dogwood, hackberry. Wild grape vines ran luxuriantly 
among the tree to])S. Pawpaw bushes were ])lentiful. 

As rapidly as any ground could be cleared and spared for 
the purpose, fruit trees were obtained from the nursery at 
Bowling Orecn, or that of Cunningham. vSome of the immi- 
grants brought ap])le seeds with them and soon started nurs- 
eries of their own. The first oichards bore only natural 
fruit. 

The second birth /// the loivnship was that of John Lewis. 

The first birth in llic Umm was tliat of Maritta, a daughter 
of Timothy vSj^elman, now Mrs. Langdon Atwood. The 
.second was a daughter of Hugh Kelley, now Mrs. vSutton. 

The first male child born in the (iranville Company is said 
to have been William, son of Levi and Polly Rose, now 
Deacon Wm. Rose of the liaptist Church, October 23, 1806. 



ANNAl.S, 1806. 73 



CIIArTliR XI II. 

I>y lliis time tlierc were tlioiight lo be five hundred voters 
within ten miles of the incipient village. The im])ortance 
of their position — alone church in the midst of a large des- 
titution — burdened the hearts of the leading men of this en- 
terprise. They longed for the presence of a pastor with the 
church. It was more tlian two years, however, Ijefore they 
obtained one. Meantime they had occasional .sermons from 
ministers who came, .some of them (piite a distance, to preach 
to them. Rev. vS. P. Robbins of Marietta preached for them 
several days and administered the Lord's Supper, the first 
time they had enjoyed that j)rivilege since leaving Mas.sa- 
chusetts, and the only one during the year. Rev. (vSince Dr.) 
Mcses Iloge of Columbus also visited them. Rev. Cyrus 
Riggs who met them on their arrival and ]M-eaclied to them 
the first .sermon in their new home, visited them again a few 
months later. Messrs. Ivaton, Pjracken, McDaniel, Woods, 
Noble, vScott, (xcorge, and Jones, successively visited and 
preached to them, all i)r(;bably within the year. 

A military company was formed almost immediately as 
the following pa])er shows : 

" Capt (juilmaii Sir you will pics To lioiild your .Self and 
Company In rcdiness on llic Last fryday in may iScjG At Nic- 
vvark as the Hatalion muster will Hcc there 

(S'gned) John Stadden 

mag of The 3 l)at " 

A third .saw mill was erected by Augustine Munson dur- 
ing this year on Raccoon Creek about two and a half miles 
east of town, having a capacity of 4000 feet per day. 

At a meeting of the company held I'riday, March 7th, it 
was decided to call the town C.ranville. 

vSeveral new members were received during the year : 
Wm. Reynolds in one of Zadoc Cooley's rights; Thos. vS. vSill 
in one of Levi Hayes' rights; Helon Ro.se in place of Levi 
10 



74 INCORPORATION. 

Cooley ; Joshua Linnel in place of Asa Seymour, and James 
Thrall in place of Wm. Cooley, Jr. 

The Fourth of July was celebrated by a j)atriotic ^^ather- 
ering on the village square, an oration being delivered by 
Jeremiah R. Munson, Esq., standing on the aboriginal 
mound, near the center of the square. Young America 
found exercise in splitting stumps with powder. 

Monday, May 5, 1806, the following action was taken : 

"Voted to chuse a Committee to petition the Honorable 
Commissioners of the County of I^^airfield to incor()orate this 
Settlement into an Election District or Township." 
" Timothy Spelman ^ 

"Wm. Gavit > Chosen for Sd Committee " 

" Justin Hillyer j 

October 20th, the subject was brought up again. 

"Voted to take measures to be incorporated into a bodx- 
politick & Voted to chuse a Committee to adopt Some plan for 
the purpose " 

"Timothy Spelman 

"John Duke Appointed Sd Committee" 

" Hiram Rose 

" Voted that Lemuel Rose Make Applicntion to the Next 
Court for a Town Meeting to Elect Justice & Other Officers if 
they think best " 

Thursday, November 27th, Timothy Rose was appointed to 
" forward a petition for the Corporation of the town of Gran- 
ville to Mr. Beecher," probably Hon. Philemon Beecher, the 
Representative from this district. 

"Dec. 8th Voted that Jeremiah R. Munson forward the [)eti- 
lion to the General Assembly" 

"Dec. I2th, Voted that Lemuel Rose Request the court to 
Appoint A Meeting to chuse two Justices of the pe.ice in this 
Township " 

An order from the County Court was finally obtained, or- 
ganizing the township and directing the electors to meet, the 
first day of January, 1807, and choose officers. 

Another effort was also successful. While yet in Massa- 
chusetts, they had appointed Job Case, Timothy Rose and 
Slyvanus Mitchel a committee " to receive subscriptions for 



LIBRARY — DEATHS. 75 

the encouragement of a library and to draw up and form a 
constitution for the said Library Co." 

On the 17th and 24th of November, officers were appointed 
for this association, Elias Oilman, Timothy Rose and Tim- 
othy Spelman being Directors ; Samuel Thrall, Treasurer, 
and Hiram Rose, Librarian. 

Through the efforts of Jeremiah R. Munson, Esq., a char- 
ter was obtained for this society early in 1807. ^^ was 
couched in such terms that the Society afterward established 
a bank under its provisions. 

Sometime in the fall of 1807, the books were purchased in 
the east and brought out by Samuel Everitt, Jr., and being 
of a high order they were a source of improvement to their 
many readers for succeeding years. 

Several deaths occurred in the settlement during the year. 
The first was an infant son of Ethan Bancroft, who died 
April 6th, and for his grave the first ground was broken in 
the neA^ burial lot. Two other children died : Eliza Messen- 
ger, daughter of Orove Messenger, August loth, aged four- 
teen months, and Oeorge Oavit, son of William Oavit, Octo- 
ber 4th, aged four years. 

The autumn proved to be a sickly one, and two adults 
died : Oideon Cornell, August 22nd, aged forty-five, and 
George Avery, September 29th, aged forty-seven, both hav- 
ing been members of the Licking Company, and Mr. Cor- 
nell being one of the five men sent out to plant corn and 
make other preparations for the colonists. 

During the year, Mr. Thomas Philipps and his son, John 
H., returned. The father established himself in his new 
home, where he remained until his death, in 1813. The son 
taught school and was otherwise employed until about the 
time of his father's death, when he removed to Cincinnati, 
where he resided until his death, in 1832. 

Of Urias Philipps, a scion of this family, it is narrated 
that he used to go barefoot to school through the snows of 
winter. He would take a heated board under his arm and 



76 PURSUIT OF KNOWLEDGE. 

run until his feet were cold, and then stand on the board 
until they were warm again, and then renew his pursuit of 
knowledge. When the board was cold, he was welcomed at 
any neighbor's on his route to re-heat it. This sufficiently in- 
dicates not only the difficulties to be contended with in early 
times, but also the love of education which was cherished 
in the Philipps family. 

There were now two strong nuclei on the Hills ; the one 
the Rees settlement, in the angle of the northeast section of 
the township, nearest the Granville center ; the other the 
Philipps settlement, just north. Each patriarch gathered 
around him his married sons and daughters, with their grow- 
ing families, making an inviting opening for others of their 
nationality, who were not slow to accept the advantages 
offered and to enter in and subdue the land. 



ANNALS, 1807. 77 



CHAPTER XIV. 



In the following year, John Spragg was received to mem- 
bership in the Licking Company, in place of Benjamin Reed, 
Samuel Clark in place of S. B. Dean, Grove Messenger in 
place of George Cooley, and Samuel Bancroft in place of 
Benjamin Waters. 

The Book of Records for the Township of Granville, 
County of Fairfield, and State of Ohio, opens with the fol- 
lowing entry : 

"this township was incorporated in the Autumn of the year 
of our Lord 1806 and on the first day of January in the year 
1807 in obedience to an order from the Honorable judges of the 
County Court the free Electors of s'd township assembled at 
the school hous to Elect three Magistrates when it apeared from 
the Pole Books that Timothy Spelman Elias Oilman and John 
Duke were Electted by a Clear Majority " 

The bounds of this township ran far to the west and north 
of its present limits. 

" at an Election Legally warned and held at the School hous 
in Granville on the 6th day of April in the year AD 1807 for 
the purpos of chosing townships offisers the Number required 
in Law having asembled the hous preceded to chose a Chair- 
man and too judges of the Election 

" Silas Winchel chosen chairman 

" Isriel Wells 1 • , r .u tri .• 

.< T u T?j J y judges of the Election 
John Edwards ) ■' ^ 

-Elkanah Lennel } clerks of the Election 

" these being quallified acording to Law the hous proseded 
to Ballot for one township Clerk three trustees two overseers of 
the poor two fenceviewers two apreisers of houses one of wich 
to serve as a Listor four supervisors of highways two constables 
and one township treasurer " 

"at the hour of five o clock the same day the P'lection being 
Duly Closed it apeared from the pole Book that the following 
gentlemen were Elected to the Respective offeces of the town- 
ship that are set to their names by a clear majority 



78 FIRST TOWNSHIP OKKICKRS. 

Wm Gavit Clerk 

Israel Wells ^ 

Jesse Havens ^ Trustees 

Silas Winchel j 

Job Case \ r^ c ..u 

•L, . 1-1 ;■ Overseers ot the poor 

Phineas l^ord ) ' 

lames Johnson I ,- 

•;,■',, . hence viewers 

Joshua HrownuifT j 

John lulwards | House a[)praisors, John Edwards being 

lliram Rose j Listor 

John Edwards ^ 

AufTustin Munson ■ e • . u- i 

,, ,^ T, , > Supervisors ot hi^jhways 

r.than Bancroft [ f> ^ 

Jacob Goodrich J 

lOlkanah Linnel 1 <- . , i 
„ ,^ Constables 

George Stone j 

Levi Hayes Treasurer 

"on Monday April the 13th two of the gentlemen trustees 
Mess Isriel Wells and Silas Winchell met at the inn hous of 
Deac Timmothy Rose and took a surity of Joseph Linnel of 
four hundred dollars Conditioned on Elkanah Linnel faithfully 
proformance in the offis of a Constable in the following word 
and forme viz " 

Then follows a record of the note duly signed and attested. 
At their next meeting the Trustees divided the township 
into five highway districts. Further security notes are re- 
corded. A book for the township records was bought at a 
cost of two dollars, three-fourths to be paid for by the town- 
ship and one fourth by the clerk with the privilege of using 
the back part of the book "for Recording of Earmarks 
Brands Castways &c." 

The business of the year was duly closed, no officer mak- 
ing any charge against the township for his services except 
Lemuel Rose, whose service was probably of a nature recjuir- 
ing an outlay of money. His bill of $2.00 for making a re- 
turn of the magistrate election was allowed and an order on 
the treasurer given him. 

On Thursday, the 28th of May, the first wedding in the 
colony was celebrated. Samuel Bancroft and Clarissa Rose, 



TONUS. 79 

daughter of Deacon Timothy Rose, were married by Rev. S. 
P. Robbins of Marietta. On the 24th of May, the first baptism 
occurred ; that of Francis, infant son of Jeremiah R. and 
Jerusha Munson, and the same day Mrs. Jerusha Munson 
was received to church membership, the first addition after 
reaching their new homes. 

The public roads were a constant care to the company, 
first to lay them out on eligible and satisfactory lines, and 
next, to open and work them. Much time, labor and money 
were spent for this object. 

In January, 1807, a committee was appointed, being Jus- 
tin Hillyer, Lemuel Rose, and Joseph Linnel, " to Raise 
Money to build a Bridge over the Crick," and to " take Meas- 
ures to fill up the pond hole on the publick Square." The 
bridge was probably one on the Lancaster road. The bridge 
succeeded but the pond remained to trouble the next gener- 
ation. There seem to be spots of quicksand underlying 
parts of the town, and if water accumulates on the surface 
until it finds free passage below, the sands wash out and the 
surface sinks. The sink on the public square, being twelve 
or fifteen rods across, was one of the most conspicuous. 
When the foundation of the Town Hall was laid, a portion 
of it at the northwest corner sank down into a cavity several 
feet deep. There was another depression just west of the 
Congregational Church, only three or four rods across, but it 
has afforded jolly skating for little boys. Another very large 
one was at the intersection of Bowery and Green streets and 
on the lots lying southwest. It was deep enough sometimes 
to swim a horse. A fourth lay at the intersection of Broad 
and Case streets, and on the lot to the southeast. It was six 
rods across. Such a sink began in after years on the lot 
southwest of the intersection of Broad and Mulberry streets. 
The surface sank quite preceptably, and water sometimes 
stood there. Another similar one is seen in the Granger ad- 
dition east of Morning street and north of what would be 
an extension of Bowery. There was a swampy spot near the 



80 FLOODWOOD. 

northeast corner of Broad and Rose and on the adjoining lot, 
and a similar one on the lot sonth of Broad and abont mid- 
way between Main and Liberty. 

Soon after the " Lancaster bridge," the " Colnmbns bridge" 
was bnilt by Frederick Case, Simeon Allyn, and Benjamin 
Baldwin. 

There were several places in the creek where the banks 
and depth of water allowed of crossing. The most available 
of these was Bntler's Ford, a few rods below the old Colnm- 
bns bridge. When the water was too high to cross here, and 
before the bridges were pnt up, the only crossing available 
for footmen was " the old floodwood," a remarkable accumu- 
lation of logs, a little above the Lancaster road, extending 
across the channel and much of the bottom. It checked the 
flow of the creek, and threatened to wash another channel 
near the hill just below town. When the furnace was started 
the wood was cut into cord wood for its use, and the ground 
which had been flooded, dried out. It had required a great 
deal of logging to make a solid road-bed through this 
swamp. 

When Jesse Munson, Jr., raised his barn on the Worthing- 
ton road, just west of the creek, he kept his horse swimming 
the creek all day, for the accommodation of the men who 
attended the raising. 

March 9th, Timothy Spelman, Esq., Elias Gilman, Esq., 
Samuel Thrall, Lemuel Rose, Justin Hillyer, Jer. R. Mun- 
son, Esq., and Hon. Samuel Bancroft were appointed a 
committee " to pitch a vStake Where to Set a Schoolhouse 
and Lot out Materials to build the same." But the log 
house continued to be used for school and other purposes for 
three years more. 

The School Lot, Minister Lot, settlement of individual 
accounts with the company, and caring for the relations of 
the company to the General Assembly of the State, for which 
last business Jeremiah R. Munson, Esq., seems to have been 
their reliance, filled the remaining meetings of the year. 



A THIRD DAM, 81 

The last entry in their journal was made December 7, 1807, 
at which time they met and without doing any business ad- 
journed to the first Monday of February, 1808. If they met 
again no record appears of it or of their doings. Probably the 
business gradually passed into the hands of the civil author- 
ities and thus The Licking Company passed into history. 

In the spring the van of the settlements was progressing 
rapidly northward & westward. An old gentleman brought his 
family from Connecticut & found rest for a time in one of the 
cabins at the mouth of Clear Run. After prospecting for a 
time his fancy fixed upon a section of land, (4000 acres) in Del- 
aware Co. that would soon be sold at auction in Franklinton. 
He appeared at the sale but had to compete with land sharks. 
He made himself conspicuous as he could by his odd appear- 
ance & manner; dressing shabbily & carrying a pair of old sad- 
dlebags containing his "traps." He would bid against the 
sharks & sometimes against himself as if he did not understand 
the ways of the world, until he provoked them to play a joke 
on him in order to get rid of him. Thinking he had no money 
they stopped bidding against him. They thought he would 
fail to pay for it & his bids would then be disregarded. The 
tract was cried off to him at ^1720. They gathered around 
him & demanded that he should pay up or be gone. Out of 
the depths of the mysterious saddlebags forthwith came the 
gold, & the deed was demanded. Then they offered him ^500, 
if he would throw up his bid & let it be put up again. But he 
paid the price, took his deed, went to his land, built his home, 
& his descendants occupy it to this day. 

During the year, Maj. Grove Case, Deacon Nathan Allyn, 
and Mr. Noble Root became citizens of the place. 

After the failure of the second dam at the mouth of Clear 
Run, the citizens turned out for the public good and helped 
James Thrall, into whose posession the mill seat had come, 
to put in a third dam, made of logs and covered heavily with 
gravel, which succeeded better than the others. 

Mr. Samuel Everitt, Jr., having been detained a long time 
by sickness which resulted from overwork, returned to Mass- 
achusetts for his family. In the fall he came out again bring- 
ing his family and father and mother. He also brought the 
11 



82 



THE FIRST KRA.MK IIOUSK. 



town library and a mill saw blade. With liini came Mr. 
Arannah Clark and family. They were met at Canibrid<;e 
on their way ouf by Angnstine Mnnson and Jnstin Hillyer, 
who went thns far to welcome them and help them forward. 
This company of twenty persons was accomiiiodaled in one 
cabin for six weeks. j\Ir. Clark, an original member of the 
Licking Company, had drawn his shares by attorney. He 
soon went to his farm at the foot of the hill sontli of town 
where he lived nntil 1815. 

It is nnderstood that Mr. Thrall's mill being read)- for the 
new saw blade, it was soon at work, and the first lumber 
.sawed with it was given to Mr. Kveritt for bringing it out. 
With it he erected the first frame house built in the town- 
ship. It stood about two miles west of town, facing the end 
to the south, about twenty rods north of Lower Loudon street, 
on the farm since owned by his son Harlow, and more recently 
by his grandson, vSamuel. It was properly a plank house, 
the planks standing upright, being dovetailed into the sills 
and plates where they were fastened with heavy wrought 
iron spikes. The cracks w^ere battened after the modern 
railroad style. It was afterward weather boarded, the boards 
being much wider than those generally used It contained 
one large room and two small ones, and at the east window 
Mr, Everitt planted a rose bush he had brought with him 
from Massachusetts. 




riRST FRAME HOUSE IN THE TOWNSHII'. 

During the year there were three deaths, March i9th,vSilas 
Milton, son of Silas Winchel, aged 7 years ; March 22d, Mrs. 
Hannah Spelman, wife of Timothy Spelman, Esq., aged 45; 
October 25th, Harriet, daughter of Asahel Griffin, aged i year. 



ANNALvS, 1808. 



83 



CHAPTER XV. 

It may be of interest to preserve the names of officers an- 
other year of those early times. The township officers for 
1808 were as follows : 

"Timothy Rose, Chairman of Election Meeting. 



\ 



Judges of Election 
Clerks of Election 



" John Duke, Esq 

"Justin Hillyer j 

"Samuel Bancroft ) 

"Samuel Waters j 

"Samuel Waters Township Clerk 

"Israel Wells "| 

"Silas Winchel v 

" Richard Wells j 

"Edward Nash | 

"David Thomas / 

"Jeremiah R. Munson 

"Samuel Bancroft 

"John Edwards 

"David Messenger 

" John Reese 

"Washington Evans 

" John Herren 

"Carlton Belt 

"John Duke 

" Elkanah Linnel \ 

"Thomas Stone ] 

" Levi Hays Treasurer." 

Dnring the year the following jurors were nominated 

"Grand Jurors Pettit jurors 

"Levi Hays Wm. Stedman 

" Joseph Linnel 

" Roswell Graves 

" Phineas Ford 

"Samuel Waters 

"Josiah Graves 



Trustees of R. Wells. 

Job Case afterward appointed in place 

Fence Viewers. 

] House Appraisers. 

j J. R. Munson being Lister 



Supervisors of Highway. 



Constables, 



Elkanah Linnel 
Ethan Bancroft 
Noble Root 
James Thrall 
Carlton Belt 



84 FIRST COUNTY COURT. 

"Job Case Frederic Case 

" David Thomas Levi Rose 

"Edward Nash Sylvenus Mitchel 

"John W. Philipps Enoch Graves 

"John Herrin Iliram Rose 

"George Green Job W. Case 

" David Messenger Simeon Allyn 

Jacob Goodrich 
Worthy Pratt" 

A band of instrumental music was formed at this early 
day, havino^ eleveu members. It was led by Augustine 
Munson, who played the clarionet ; Spencer Spelman also 
played the clarionet ; Joshua Linnel, David Messenger, and 
Orlin P. Hayes, hautboy ; Samuel Bancroft, P^lkanah Lin- 
nel, bassoous; Renoni Hill, cymbals ; Stillman Mead, drum- 
mer. It was a prominent band for the wilderness, was well 
drilled, and attained notoriety as the regimental band under 
Col. Lewis Cass, at Hull's surrender. 

During the year the County of Licking was organized out 
of Fairfield, having its present boundaries ; Knox, lying on 
the north, being formed at the same time, and also out of 
Fairfield. The officers of the Court of Common Pleas were 
as follows : 

Wm. Wilson, Presiding Judge, 

Alexander Holmes, ^ 

Timothy Rose, > Associate Judges, 

James Taylor, j 

Samuel Bancroft, Clerk of Court, 

John Stadden, Sheriff, 

PLhas Gihnan, Treasurer, 

Archibald Wilson, ~| 

P^lisha Wells, ^ Commissioners, 

Israel Wells, j 

John Stadden, Tax Collector, 

PLlias Gilman, Commissioner's Clerk. 

Granville, therefore, furnished its full share of incumbents 
for the offices. The first court was held in Granville Town- 
ship, in the private dwelling of Deacon Levi Hayes, whose 



PRICES. 



85 



farm lay just west of the dividing line between the Town- 
ships of Granville and Newark, as then constituted. The 
Grand Jury held its sessions under a tree on the south side 
of the road and a few rods west of the house. The County 
seat was soon located at Newark by a special Board of Com- 
missioners, consisting of James Dunlap, Isaac Cook and 
James Armstrong. 

About this time, Mr. Timothy Spelman, being a carpenter, 
put up a small frame house on the northeast corner of Broad 
and Green Streets. It was only one room, 16x20, a story 
and a half high, made with great labor, covered with shaved 
weatherboards of walnut. This was the first frame house 
built in the village. 




T. spelman's house, li 



The day's labor of a man could be had for 50 c., and in 
harvest for 75 c. ; that of a yoke of oxen for 33 c. ; a horse 
to Lancaster, $ 1.20 ; to Zanesville, $ 1.30 ; board at the hotel, 
$ 1. 00 a week, or for a fraction of a week at the rate of $ 1.50 ; 
two quarters of venison, 25c.; whisky, $1.00 a gallon; 
powder, 68c. per pound; beeswax, 25c. per pound; butter, 
10 c. per pound ; wheat, $1.00 per bushel ; corn, 33 c. ; apples, 
$ 3.00 ; paper — foolscap — 50 c. a quire. 

During this year were erected two frame houses of con- 
siderable note : that of Judge Rose, on the southwest corner 



86 



IIOTKL — MASONIC LODGE. 



of Broad and Pearl Streets, and that of Esquire Gihnan, on 
the northwest corner of Water and Rose Streets. Judge 
Rose's house was two stories high, and about 20 x 28 feet on 
the ground. It was used by him as a hotel while he lived in 
town, and afterward by Benjamin Cook. On the afternoon 
of the day on which this frame was raised^ that of Esquire 
Oilman was also raised. It was a story and a half house, 
28x36 feet, with posts eleven feet high. In the east 
cliamber of this building was the first room used 1)y the Free- 
masons of Granville. It was i^j4 xc) feet 10 inches. The 
ceiling was arched into the attic, being eighteen inches 
higher in the middle than at the sides, which were six and a 




JUDGE rose's house, 1809. 

half feet. Fire place and entrance were in the west end, 
and the one window of twelve lights (8xio) in the east 
end. It was wainscoted to the height of nearly three feet, 
and floors and wainscoting were of walnut boards, split out 
of logs and hewed and planed smooth. This was the first 
room in town to be plastered. 

On Sunday, September 4th, of this year (1808), the First 
Baptist Church in the township was formed, at the house of 
Mr. David Thomas, on the Welsh Hills. As the colony 
church was formed in Massachusetts, this was the first 
church formed in the township. ( See History of this church, 
Chapter XXXIX.) 

Occasional preaching services continued to be enjoyed by 
the Congregational Church. 



THE FIRST PASTOR. 



87 



"Lord's day, Apr. 24th, 1808, Rev. Timothy Harris, a 
licentiate from Vermont, delivered two sermons, and on the 
Friday following preached a lecture." 

This introduces to iis him who was to be the pastor of this 
church for fourteen years — until his death, in 1822. (See 
Chapter XXXII., for an account of his life.) 

The day for the annual meeting of the church came while 
Mr. Harris was among them, and he was invited to tarry. 
The committee to bear this invitation to him consisted of 
Job Case, Levi Hayes, and Timothy Rose. 

At the end of four months the society and church united 
in extending him a call to become their pastor. This call 
was accepted by Mr. Harris in a well prepared paper. The 
ordination and installation took place on Wednesday, Decem- 
ber 14th, in the unfinished house of Judge Rose. The 
Council consisted of Revs. Lyman Potter, of Steubenville ; 




ESl^UIRE oilman's HOUSE, 1809. 

Samuel Paine Robbins, of Marietta ; James Scott, of Clinton ; 
John Wright, of Lancaster, and Stephen Lindley, of Athens. 
The lay delegates were Judson Guitteau, Wm. R. Putnam, 
of Marietta, and Matthew Merrit, of Clinton. Rev. Jacob 
Lindley, President of Ohio University, had been invited, but 
did. not appear. Mr. Scott made the introductory prayer ; 
Mr. Robbins preached the sermon ; Mr. Potter made the 
consecrating prayer, and gave the charge ; Mr. Lindley gave 
the right hand of fellowship, and Mr. Wright made the 
concluding prayer. Lyman Potter was Moderator of the 
Council, and Stephen Lindley, scribe. 



88 FIRST KKVIVAL. 

Almost co-incideiit with Mr. Harris' labors there came a 
seriousness over the church and con5>regation which culmin- 
ated during the closing months of the year in the first of 
that series of powerful revivals which characterized the Gran- 
ville church thi-ough all its early history. The features of 
the work were a deepening spirit of prayer on the part of 
the church, a growing seriousness among the youth, a per- 
sistent opposition from those who preferred dancing and 
frolic even in times of refreshing from on high, and marked 
and frequent examples of all-conquering grace. A solemn 
stillness, unbroken attention and the silent tear were charac- 
teristics of the vSabbath meetings. Seven had united with 
the original church previous to Mr. Harris' coming, and as 
the rtsult of this revival, forty were added. Early in the 
succeeding year the total membership was seventy. 

By this time, Samuel J. Philipps, Thos. Owens, Jacob 

Reilly, and McLane had become residents on the 

Welsh Hills 

Deacon Peter Thurston came this year from Vermont, with 
Mr. Wheeler and others, Mr. Thurston settled on the farm 
just north of the (joodrich farm. Mrs. Thurston was sister 
of Samuel Everitt. 



ANNALS, 1809-II. 89 



CHAPTER XVI. 

The events of the succeeding years will not require to be 
noticed with the particularity of those already chronicled. 

A road had been cut out at an early day by Mr. Sullivan 
of Franklinton, from that place to Newark, passing Gran- 
ville two miles to the south. A young lady who had been 
raised in the family of the noted Mr. Blannerhasset, had mar- 
ried a Mr. Ward, and had received from Mr. Blannerhasset 
the gift of one hundred acres of land lying about four miles 
southwest from Granville. It was a part of the tract after- 
ward owned by Mr. Elias Fasset and used as a dairy farm. 
" Ward's " became a landmark among the early settlers, 
and the above route from Franklinton, after following the 
line of what is now the Columbus road until it struck Ward's 
place, turned more directly eastward to Newark. When the 
mail was first carried from Newark through Granville to Col- 
umbus, Leveret Butler, then a lad of fourteen, piloted the 
mail carrier from Granville, past his father's farm, to Ward's, 
where the carrier entered the Sullivan road. Returning, But- 
ler blazed a track for permanent use, and thus was opened 
the mail route afterwards used by the four horse coaches of 
Neil, More & Co., running from Columbus via Granville to 
Newark and Zanesville. 

During this year the first bricks made in Granville were 
manufactured by Wm. Stedman and Augustine Munson. 
Rev. Timothy Harris agreed before hand to take of them 
three thousand and Judge Rose seven thousand at $5.00 per 
thousand. 

Up to this time Judge Rose had acted as Postmaster, hav- 
ing been appointed in 1806. The eastern mail was brought 
via Pittsburg, Wheeling, Marietta, Zanesville and Newark. 

During the year, Morris Morris, David James and Joseph 
Evans became residents on the Welsh Hills. 
12 



90 THE FIRST K1;SI1)1':nT I'HVSICIAN. 

Dr. Samuel Lee arrived in the place in the sprint, coming 
from Poultney, Vt., from which j)lace he started on Tuesday, 
the 9th of INIay, at 9 o'clock in the morning. It being in 
1809, the recurrence of nine's heljDed to remember the date. 
He was the first resident physician of Granville. He mar- 
ried Miss Sabra Case, daughter of Job Case, and after two 
years' residence in town they removed to Coshocton, where 
he became a prominent man in his profession, in the church 
and in the community. 

The deaths of 1809 were five ; Samuel Iweritt, Jr., (he who 
first suggested the idea of the Granville colony,) April 14th, 
aged 40; an infant of Jesse Munson, Jr., June i/tli; Mrs. 
Abigail Sweatman, (who had her home with Judge Rose,) 
September 23d, aged 71 ; Samuel Waters, in October, aged 
40; Alvah E., a son of Araunah Clark, November 4th. 

In 1810, came Deacon Samuel Baldwin who settled on the 
Columbus road about two miles from town. 

About the same time came Benjamin Critchet, an ingen- 
ious cooper, who used to make churns, gallon kegs for whisky, 
wooden canteens, etc. He used to go out and whistle as if 
for his dog, and cry "st-boy," ''sic," — when all the hogs of 
the neighborhood would run wildly away except his own ; 
which, having been trained to understand the sound as their 
dinner signal, would come running home to eat undisturbed 
by the others. 

Mr. Asahel Griffin came to the place from Marietta, living 
for a time on Burgh Street, and afterward on Centerville, 
half a mile from town. 

Mr. Jesse Munson, Sen., put up the' frame house which is 
still occupied by his grandson, Hon. Marvin M. Munson, 
and which is still a first-class dwelling, so thorough and 
workmanlike were the planning and labor bestowed upon its 
erection. It was put up under the direction of Captain P)aker, 
a workman who had served under the architect Benjamin, of 
Boston. Captain Baker did not remain a citizen of Gran- 
ville, but returned east soon alter the completion of this job. 



SECOND SCHOOL HOUSE- 



91 



Major Grove Case, also, erected the brick house on the 
northeast corner of Broad and Green Streets, having for its 
kitchen, in the rear, the frame honse built by Timothy 
Spelman. 

The log school house gave place to the first frame school 
house, which, also, was used for church purposes until the 
large church was built. It stood where the Methodist 
Church now stands, on the east side of the square, south of 
Broadway. It was 24 x 32 feet, and nine feet between joints. 




It stood with the side to the road. The pulpit was in the 
west end, a little raised, with a window at either side. In 
front of it was the deacons' seat, where, according to the 
custom of the times, two deacons sat, facing the audience, 
during each service. To the right and left, extending well 
down the sides, and occupying the school desks, the choir 
was seated. In the end- of the house, opposite the 
pulpit, was a large open fireplace, on the north side of which 
was a closet for the wraps and dinner-baskets of the school 
children, and the front door opened right against the 



92 A MERITORIOUS FROLIC. 

chimney, on the sonth side. It stood upon low ground, so 
that in time of heavy rains the pond just west and north of 
it would rise and spread around it. A puncheon elevated 
walk of ten feet led from the higher ground to the door to 
provide for emergencies. When this house ceased to be 
used as a school house, it was removed to the east side of 
Prospect Hill, and became the cooper shop of Langdon & 
Doud. 

While preparations were being made for the erection of 
this building, the boys, in their evening pastimes on the 
common, bethought them that it would be a very jolly thing 
to take down the old log school house. As it would help 
their sires thus much, they thought it would be a meritorious 
frolic rather than otherwise. Though it was on the public 
square, and their noisy proceeding must have been observed 
by older people, no one interfered with them. They first 
took out the glass windows with great care, which had 
replaced the oiled paper ; took the batten door from its 
wooden hinges, and carried them, with all that was of any 
value, across the street, and stored them away at Mr. Josiah 
Graves'. Then, beginning with the weight poles, they dis- 
mantled it down to the joice. Then, becoming weary, they 
went home and to bed, and slept with quiet consciences. 
But Judge Rose and others thought it a good oppor- 
tunity to give the boys a lesson on lawlessness. So, 
with one side of their faces in their sleeves, it was 
arranged, with Esquire Winchel as Justice, Samuel Thrall, 
Prosecuting Attorney, and Josiah Graves as Constable, to 
bring up a number of them for a sham trial. They were 
brought together one evening, one of them being taken out 
of bed for the purpose, and arraigned for trial, with the 
solemn countenances of parents and officials all around them. 
The indictment was read, the boys all plead guilty^ and they 
were fined twenty-five cents each and costs. Twenty-five 
cent pieces were very scarce at that time, and it began to 
look pretty serious to them. It waked up their ideas 



FILIAL OBEDIENCE. 98 

about law and order. Then all the officers, as the 
boys looked unutterably penitent, consented to throw in 
their fees ; and, finally, it was agreed, if the boys would ask 
forgiveness, that should end the affair. 

Judge Rose, though having a keen relish for fun, and often 
giving himself to hilarity, yet cherished a peculiar respect 
for authority. We subjoin an incident or two which, with 
the above, illustrate these traits. When a young man, he 
wanted much to go to a " quilting," which was one of the 
occasions for young people's social enjoyment in those days. 
But he was too filial to go without his father's permission, 
so he made his request. " You may sit down and read," was 
the answer. He sat and read for what he thought a 
reasonable time, and then renewed his request : " Now may 
I go, father? " " You may go to bed," was the response this 
time. So Timothy went to bed, but, after lying quiet for 
another reasonable time, as he thought, he arose, dressed, 
and presented himself before his father again : " Now, may 
I go, father ? " " What you want to go for, Tim ? " Not 
mincing matters, Tim replied : " I want to go to dance," 
though the dancing was one of the least of the attractions 
of the evening. The third reply was : " Justus, you may 
sing, and Tim, you go to dancing." Justus was an elder 
brother and a good singer. Neither of the boys knew any- 
thing else than to obey, so Justus sang and Tim danced. 
But the request was still repeated : " Now, may I go, father?" 
" Yes ! now go ! " was the final answer. 

Mr. Rathbone, visiting Granville on land business, used to 
stop at Judge Rose's hotel. Sitting at a table, he would 
receive payments in specie, and deposit it in his saddle-bags 
until they grew very heavy. The Judge used to indulge his 
humor with strangers as they came into the room. Sitting 
on the other side of the room, he would ask the new comer, 
as a favor, to hand him the saddle-bags. The accommodating 
man would stoop to comply, but the leathern safe seemed 
glued to the floor. Taking both hands, he would try to 



94 COSTUMES. 

discover what held them down, and it t^enerally took the 
loud laugh ot the bystanders to convince the man that he 
was the subject of a practical joke. 

Up to this time, and perhaps later, old ladies came to 
meeting with caps on their heads, and young ladies wore as 
a head dress something so commonplace that they laid it 
aside when they reached the church. They were all dressed 
in homespun, the material being wool or linen, according to 
the season. Very handsome gingham was made by using 
hetcheled flax. The coarser tow made every-day wear. A 
little " Turkey red " was bought, with which to ornament it 
in a small fancy stripe. The rest of the coloring material 
was chiefly gathered from the woods. The church-goers 
would come barefoot, in warm weather, to the edge of town, 
where they would put on the shoes and stockings they had 
brought in their hands. The reason was, that bare feet were 
cheaper than tanned leather to walk in, yet shoes and 
stockings seemed more decorus in church than bare feet. 
But the most daring of the men sometimes came barefoot, 
and in their shirt sleeves. From this time, however, there 
was a growing ability to meet their desire for tidiness. 

Afterward the nicest dresses came to be made of cambric 
or jaconette, or plain or figured bombazette. Shawls were 
brought on, made of a square yard of cambric, with a gaudy 
border stainped in colored figures ; and they served in the 
outfit of young ladies on wedding occasions. 

After the family piece of cloth was made up for the sea- 
son, tailoresses were employed, who with their patterns 
would go about from family to family making up the winter 
or summer clothing, boarding with the family until the work 
was done. In like manner a family would supply itself with 
leather by having the hides of their slaughtered animals 
tanned on shares ; and the journeyman shoemaker would 
pass around with his kit of tools and fit each member with 
boots or shoes. The children would sometimes go barefoot, 
even in winter. Some sewed cloth on their feet. 



JOURNKYMAN ARTISANS. 95 

Hon. Jeremiah R. Munson was this year the representa- 
tive of Licking County in the General Assembly, the seat of 
government being at Zanesville. 

A bushel of wheat sold for fifty cents, and the price of a 
day's labor was the same. About this time a man bargained 
to mow grass one week for a bushel of salt. Salt was 
brought a long way on horseback, which enhanced its value. 
Bricks were $5 a thousand, and lumber $1 a hundred. 

The first Methodist sermon delivered in the place was 
preached during the summer of this year, (18 10,) by Rev. 
Elisha Buttles, the audience assembling under a large black- 
walnut tree which stood in Broadway, midway between the 
house of Mr. Gavit and where the Congregational Church 
was afterward built. Mr. Buttles was a brother of Mrs. 
Samuel Everitt. 

Mr. Samuel White, son-in-law of Theophilus Rees, and 
father of Hon. Samuel White came to reside on the Welsh 
Hills ; also little David Thomas, son-in-law of Mr. Rees. 

Mr, Daniel Baker came from Massachusetts, not having 
been on the ground before, though he was a member of the 
company. He came on horseback seven hundred miles, in- 
spected his land, and returned in the same way, the same 
season. The next year, 181 1, be brought out his family and 
became a resident, building a cabin on Cherry street, and 
proceeding at once to clear the hill north of town where the 
University now stands. 

Daniel Griffith came and took up his residence on the 
Welsh Hills. 

The deaths of 1810 were six; child of Jesse Munson, Jr., 
May 8th, aged 10 months; Almena, daughter of Jesse Mun- 
son, Jr., May 29tli, aged 3 years ; Bela Cooley, son of Josiah 
Graves, May 2d, aged 2 years ; Moses Barrett, son of Noble 
Root, July 26th, aged 2 years ; James Sinnet, December 14th, 
aged 50 years. 

Dr. Wm. S. Richards arrived from New London, Conn., 
Friday, July 19, 1811, having come all the way, via Marietta, 



96 EARTHQUAKE OF 1811. 

on horseback. He iiiiinediately commenced the practice of 
medicine which he continued in this place until his death in 
1852. He first boarded with Rev. Timothy Harris, and after- 
ward with Judge Rose. While there he was sleeping one 
night in the same room with David Messenger, Jr., when 
the house was shaken by one of the great earthquake waves 
that changed the channel of the Mississippi. Messenger 
was frightened by the rolling of the house, and waking the 
Doctor, asked what he thought was the cause of the house 
shaking so. The Doctor roused up enough to mutter that it 
must be a hog rubbing against the house, and went to sleep 
again. 

The day before this occurrence Daniel Baker had been 
with his family to Newark to make some purchases, among 
other things some blue-edged dishes. That night the family 
slept in pioneer style in their new cabin. The dishes stood 
on the table and the bed of Daniel, Jr., then a small boy, 
was on the floor and near the table. He was awakened in 
the night by the rattling of the dishes over his head, but was 
too young to be alarmed by that, the magnitude of which he 
did not understand. 

On the i2th of January, iBii, Elias Oilman, Timothy 
Rose, Silas Winchel, Daniel Baker, and Orove Case were 
made a body corporate, under the title of " Trustees of the 
Oranville Religious and Literary Society," to have the care 
of Lot No. II, given by the company for the support of min- 
isters, and Lot No. 15, for school purposes, to improve, man- 
age and dispose of the same, provided the express purpose 
and intent of the grant be answered. [See Ohio Laws, Vol. 
9, p. 30, State Library.] Subsequently a deed was given to 
these Trustees by the members of the Licking Company. 

The deaths of 181 1 were four; infant son of Wm. Oavit, 
Esq., February 5tli; Lemuel S., son of Amos Carpenter, 
April, aged 3 months; Capt. David Messenger, April ist, 
aged 51 ; Mehitabel, daughter of Daniel Murdick, October, 
a<red 10. 



THE WAR OF l8l2. 97 



CHAPTER XVII. 

On the 17th of June, 18 12, Congress passed in both houses 
the act declaring war with Great Britain. On the 18th the 
bill was signed by President Madison, and on the 19th war was 
formally proclaimed. Our little history need take no notice 
of this war save as it affected the colony. The reasons for 
declaring war were not so much considered on the frontier. 
Almost the entire Granville colony were of the party then 
called " federalists," which party was opposed to the war. 
Nevertheless, war being declared, a furor seemed to seize all 
the northwest to go and take Canada. There was a call not 
only for soldiers but for subsistence for the army and for 
transportation. "Four hundred teams were occupied trans- 
porting provisions from the lower Scioto county to the lake." 
" The place of worship at F'ranklinton was filled with corn 
to feed Government teams ; and the minister at Delaware 
went into the army as Chaplain and was surrendered with 
the rest." The colony furnished to the Government for gen- 
eral uses of the army thirty-eight horses, at an aggregate 
valuation of $2,365, together with accoutrements valued at 
$515. Hon. J. R. Munson had become aid to the Governor, 
and returning home to Granville, he collected the citizens 
♦^ogether, and in one hour's time had raised a company of 
volunteers, in all fifty men. 

Levi Rose, Capt., Eleazer C. Clemons, Ensign. 

Sylvanus Mitchel, Lieut., . Orin Granger, Orderly Serg., 

John Rees, 2d Sergt., Mahlon Brown, private. 

Timothy Spelman, 3d Sergt., Araunah Clark, " 

Asa B. Gavit, ist Corpl., Rowley Clark, " 

Knowles Linnel, 2d Corpl., Harry Clemons, " 

Leicester Case. 3d Corpl., Festus Cooley, " 

Thomas Spelman, Drummer, Elijah Fox, " 

Justin Hillyer, fifer, Thomas Ford, " 

13 



98 



REOISTKR OF INFANTRY. 



l^lias Gilmaii, private, (after- Wm. D. Gibbons, private, 

ward promoted Ouarmsr. ,) Claudius L. Graves, " 



James Alexander, 
George Avery, 
Christopher Avery, 
Leveret Butler, 
IBenj'n P. Gavit, 
Benj'n Linn el, 
Campbell Messenger, 
Grove Messenger, 
Augustine Munson, 
Klijah Rathbone, 
Theophilus Rees, 
Spencer Spelman, 
David Thompson, 
Cotton M. Thrall, 
Alexander Thrall, 



Titus S. Hoskin, 
Orhn P. Hayes, 
Hezekiah Johnson, 
John Kelley, 
Hugh Kelley, 
Seth Mead. 
John Martin, 
Danl. Murdock, 
Owen Owens, 
Calvin Pratt, 
Orman Rose, 
James Shepard, 
Wm. Thompson, 
Joel Wells, 
[50,] 



Levi Rose was successively commissioned 
Ensign, Sept. 1st, 1807, Ohio militia. 

Lieutenant, May 31st, 1808, " 

Captain, April 5th, 1810, .< .< 

" June ist, 1812, U. S. service. 

Two of these men were from Hanover, and others were 
from the western part of the county, but most of them be- 
longed to the colony or to the Welsh Hills. Two members 
of the company deserted in July; and two others, Mahlon 
Brown and Grove Messenger were wounded in skirmishes 
and never reached home again. 

Mr. Munson also raised companies at Mt. Vernon, Newark, 
Zanesville and Lancaster. They helped to form the regiment 
of Colonel Lewis Cass, of which Mr. Munson became Major. 
The Granville Band accompanied the regiment, and as no 
provision was made for the enlistment of such a band, they 
were distributed on the rolls of the companies as drummers 
and fifers ; albeit, they continued to play their clarionets, 
hautboys and bassoons. 

This enlistment was probably in anticipation of the action 
of Congress ; for an entry in Dr Richards' journal says : 
''May 8th, call for volunteers by Munson for theCanada ex- 



GOING TO .WAR. 99 

pedition." On the latli of June, another entry says: "This 
day they marched away — accompanied them to Herron's." 

Friends followed them out the first night to their encamp- 
ment, and spent most of the night with them. They were 
marched to Urbana, where they expected to meet General 
Hull's army, which was moving north to Detroit. But Hull 
had moved on, and they followed, overtaking him near where 
Findlay now stands. Through the Black Swamp, they had 
to open a road as they went, often working in water three 
feet deep. They had many alarms on the march, from 
Indians, who hovered around their path, but no serious 
trouble occurred. 

It was on this campaign, & before discipline was well estab- 
lished that Ormond Rose & others from Granville were acting 
as rear guard & had been left all day without food. At night- 
fall an officer was passing with a sack of flour & was asked for 
some. He declined to grant the request. Ormond with fixed 
bayonet then demanded it, & told his fellow soldiers to stand 
guard while he took the flour. They had not nerve enough, so 
he did both. Though the officer drew his sword in resentment, 
Rose kept him at bay & took what flour he thought they could 
use. He then told the officer he could go on. This flagrant 
violation of discipline was immediately reported, but the 
authorities considered the circumstances & nothing was ever 
done about it. This fearless self-assertion in the presence of 
authority when he believed himself right was manifested on 
other occasions & was rather characteristic of the man. 

Arrived at Detroit, they went into camp. All the 
mechanics among them were set to mounting the old 
cannon left from revolutionary times. While thus employed, 
a mishap occurred which well nigh cost IVIajor Munson his 
life. Colonel Enos, of Mt. Vernon, came one day into the 
marquee to get his gun. (All the officers carried guns, as did 
the privates.) By mistake, he took up that of David Mes- 
senger, and when he returned it he left it loaded. Afterward, 
Messenger, not knowing this, took up the gun to prepare it 
for use. While handling it, the gun was discharged, the 



100 ACCIDKNTAI, SHOOTING — UNDKR KIRK. 

ball Striking the Major, who was several rods away, squarely 
in the breast, disabling him for some time. He carried the 
ball in his person as long as he lived. 

Preparations completed, the army crossed the river and 
encamped on the Canada side. The people fled precipi- 
tately, leaving houses and stores of goods all open and 
unprotected. While lying here, companies of skirmishers 
were daily sent out to feel the strength of the enemy in their 
front. Major Munson\s command was thus employed while 
he was disabled, under some other acting IMajor. The 
Indians in the British service would come up toward the 
camp, and our soldiers would sally out in pursuit of them. The 
Granville boys were one afternoon sent nine miles down the 
river to reconnoiter. They lay down in an orchard and slept, 
with very careless provision, or none at all, for guarding 
their resting place. While resting thus, the Indians crept 
upon them. One was stealing his way through their 
midst, when one of the men roused up and fired upon 
him. He was wounded, but staggering and crawling on, he 
managed to escape. Starting on a stampede for the main 
camp, they found the main road filled with British troops, 
and turned aside into a field of grain. As they climbed the 
fence, they were under a heavy fire. The splinters flew, and 
the wheat heads were dropping all around them. While 
sulking and crawling through the grain, an Indian shot at 
Wni. Gibbons, who was in the rear, the ball grazing his person, 
only breaking the skin, but making him think himself se- 
verely wounded. The Indian, determined to have his scalp, 
plunged after him with uplifted tomahawk. Gibbons was 
paralyzed with his danger, and instead of running, remained 
dancing up and down, and made no progress. As the 
Indian came up and was about to strike, he was killed by a 
bullet from the musket of Captain Roupe, of the Mt. Vernon 
company. Gibbons, seeing the Indian fall, took heart, and 
Ensign demons coming up with him, having, as rear guard, 
been still further behind in the race, cheered him on, and 



NARROW ESCAPES. 101 

both escaped. The duties of the ensign were too nuich lor 
him that day, and he fell, overcome by heat, and was carried 
into camp on a blanket by his comrades. 

On another occasion, Seth Mead was brought to close 
quarters with the Indians, and hid in a field of oats. One 
of them climbed a fence to look for him. Mead, supposing 
himself discovered, cocked his gun to fire. But the Indian 
turned back and Mead escaped, getting back to camp about 
9 o'clock, and after he had been given up as killed. 

On the i6th of August they were surrendered by General 
Hull to the British ; Colonel Cass, in his mortification, riding 
out and hacking his sword to pieces on a fence. The Gran- 
ville boys were soon after paroled and sent home. They 
were put aboard unseaworthy vessels, one of which, on its 
return voyage, went to the bottom in a light gale. The men 
were obliged constantly to bail out the water, having nothing 
but their hats wherewith to do it. Some of the soldiers 
were very sick. Samuel Bancroft, in the delirium of fever, 
jumped into the lake, and although he was not a swimmer, 
he floated until help came, and he was not only saved from 
drowning, but his bath cured his fever. 

The paroled men, still drawing pay for several months 
from the Government, went home, attended to the fall work 
of their farms, and during the succeeding winter, having six 
weeks of good sleighing, they took upon sleds, to the lake, 
whatever supplies they could spare, and sold to the commis- 
sary for army use. Flour brought $20.00 a barrel, and oats 
$2 a bushel. But for this demand, wheat would have sold at 
home for seventy-five cents a bushel, corn for twenty-five 
cents, and pork for $3.00 a hundred. 

On their return, vague rumors preceeded them about their 
exposure to the hostile Indians. Captain Grove Case, with- 
out any commission, immediately raised a company of 
mounted volunteers, and started to join the army that was 
gathering for their relief. The roll of this company was as 
follows : 



102 REGISTER OF CAVALRY. 

Grove Case, Capt. Matthew Critchet, Titus Knox, 

Alexander Holmes, Archibald Cornell, Campbell Messenp[er, 

Wm Stedman, Helon Rose John Mays, 

Silas Winchel, Lemuel Rose, Jr. , Jesse Munson, 

Wm Holmes, Caleb Randal, Levi Phelps, 

Leicester Case, Justis Stephans, Worthy Pratt, 

James White, Benjamin Carpenter, John H. Philipps, 

Simeon Avery, Julius Coleman, John Parker, 

P^than Bancroft, Cornelius PLlliott, John Sinnet, 

Frederic Case, P^lisha S. Gilman, John Wells, 

Timothy Case, Josiah Graves, Joseph West. 

Gabriel Critton, Joseph Holmes, Amos Wilson. 

-[36.] 

Happily, the alarms proved false, and they returned home. 
Peace was not declared until 1815, but our colonists took no 
further part in deeds of war. 



ANNALS, 1812-I5. 103 



CHAPTER XVIII. 

In 181 2, the colonists made their first acquaintance with 
the " seventeen-year locusts." They did considerable damage 
to the young orchards, and, to the superstitious, gave pre- 
monition of coming war, by the ominous black W upon 
their wings. 




The first barrel of cider from apples grown in the colony 
was made in the fall by Job Case, from his orchard at the 
foot of Lower Loudon, a mile out of town. 

Hon. William Gavit represented this district as State 
Senator, in which capacity he served acceptably for two 
years ; and afterwards, one year intervening, for two years 
again ; the seat of government being then at Chillicothe. 

Daniel Baker, Esq., took Mr. Gavit's place as postmaster, 
retaining the office until 1818. 

In the fall, Mr. Ralph Granger came to the place from the 
Western Reserve. [See Chapter, Our Commercial Enter- 
prises.] Mr. Gabriel Werden, also, came to the place from 
Vermont, settling on Burgh Street. This name has been 
variously spelled in the records and elsewhere : Wardain, 
Wardin, Worden, Warden, etc. The orthography Werden is 
taken from the family monument. 



104 DKATHS AND ACCES.SIONS. 

There were two deaths during; the year : Mindwell, wife 
of Sainiiel lu'eritt, vSen., December 6th, a^^ed seventy ; Sally 
Mather, daughter of Spencer Wright, October 3rd, aged two 
years. 

In 1813, Judge Rose died. He had left his house in the 
village and was opening his farm on Centcrville Street, two 
and a half miles cast of the village. Wliile preparing his 
dwelling for occupancy — a small brick house on the road 
leading to Munson's mill — he was temporarily in the home 
of his daughter, Mrs. William Stedman, on the adjoining 
farm, and there his death occurred. He had been for some 
time troubled with a tumor in his throat. At times it seemed 
to change its place, or form, and would press upon the wind- 
pipe, causing moments of suffocation. He was subject to 
these attacks in his sleep. His family were aroused one 
night by his efforts to make himself heard. He succeeded, 
with great effort, in forcing the words : " I am dying ! " when 
he fell back exhausted, and was soon dead. 

Mr. Benjamin Cook succeeded Judge Rose as host at the 
tavern, corner of Broad and Pearl Streets. 

Mr. Daniel Shepherdson came from Middletown, Vermont, 
and settled on Burgh vStreet, purchasing the farm still occu- 
pied by his descendants, just on the verge of the township. 

Mr. Aniasa Howe came from Highgate, Vermont, settling 
on the farm still owned by his descendants, on Lancaster 
Street, one and a half miles south of the village. 

Mr. Edward Nichol became a citizen. He had just lost 
his property. Commencing the manufacture of potash, he 
made it a prominent industry. The year he came, his 
brother died at the east, and Mr. Nichol at once wrote to the 
widow to come west, with the children, and he would assist 
in providing for them. They brought out with them a 
choice old French mirror, which has been in the family over 
two hundred years. 

Mr. Samuel Falley came, and settled on Upper Loudon 
Street. 



DEATHS AND ACCESSIONS. 105 

There were thirteen deaths during the year, inckiding : 
Catharine, wife of Seth Lewis, January 8th, aged sixty-three ; 
John Wheeler, Esq., April 26th, aged forty-five ; Lieutenant 
Jesse Munson, April 27th, aged seventy-two ; Hon. Timothy 
Rose, November 27th, aged fifty-one ; Mr. Thomas Philipps, 
May 26th. 

In 1 814, arrived Mr. Azariah Bancroft, formerly from 
Granville, Mass , but then coming from Lewis Lake, Penn,, 
where he had been engaged in the manufacture of glass. He 
settled on Lancaster road on the farm next south of Mr. 
Howe's. 

Mr. Samuel Chadwick arrived during the year, adding 
considerable productive ingenuity to the young and growing 
settlement. 

Mr. Sereno Wright, a printer from Vermont, arrived in the 
fall and spent the winter. Returning, he brought out his 
family the next spring and became a permanent resident, 
teaching school the first year, then publishing for some years 
a paper called The Wanderer. Afterward he engaged in 
merchandise. 

Capt. John Phelps, often familiarly called " Capt. Put," 
bought the saw mill, or mill seat of Mr. Job Case, a mile 
southeast of town, where a brook issues from the line of hills 
on the .'^outh side of Raccoon; where afterward the large 
flouring mill stood. In order to have a reliable and access- 
ible saw mill, the citizens raised a subscription, payable 
mostly in labor, to aid him in opening a road and a mill race. 

There were twelve deaths during the year, of which were 
Deacon Theophilus Rees, February 17th, aged 70; Ethan 
Bancroft, May 9th, aged 34 ; Deacon Nathan Allyn, June 2d, 
aged 74; John Kelley, October 8th, aged 47. 

In 1815, arrived Mr. Linus G. Thrall from Rutland, Vt., 
and with him Jesse Thrall and his son Walter, Joel and 
Oliver, sons of Eliphas Thrall, Nathaniel Paige, Job Paige, 
Capt. Wm. Mead, Capt. Oliver Harmon and the family of a 
Mr. Bassett. They found the Tuscarawas River very high 
14 



106 THE FIRST SABBATH SCHOOL. 

and crossed it by lashing two canoes together, rollin;; the 
wagons upon them, one wheel in one canoe and the other in 
the opposite. Mr. Bassett, who had come with them thus 
far, being an expert in the water preferred to swim back and 
forth. When nearly through with their work, as he was 
swimming across for the last time, he was observed to be 
sinking. It is supposed he was taken with cramping or 
strangling, for he drowned before help could reach him. 

Messrs. Joseph H. Weeks, Walter and Nicodemus Griffith 
came from Oneida County, N. Y. At Buffalo they separated, 
Mr. Weeks coming around with his team, the others by sloop 
across. In fording the Tuscarawas, one of the sons of Mr. 
Weeks, eight years of age, was riding the lead horse. In 
the middle of the stream the horse stopped, and no urging 
would induce him to go forward. At last a man called to 
them to turn upstream as there was a deep hole before them. 
As the waters were high at the time they were thus saved 
from a serious mishap. The Griffiths coming later were not 
so favored, for their horses got into the hole, though the 
waters had fallen. 

Mr. Thomas Little arrived from New Jersey, and settled 
on Centerville Street, Mr. Gerard P. Bancroft, a son-in-law, 
coming with him. 

Mr. Lewis Twining settled between Granville and Newark 
on the other side of the creek from " dugway," where he 
subsequently built a saw mill. Though living in Newark 
Township his family were identified with Granville and its 
history. 

It was at this time that the first Sabbath school of Gran- 
ville was started by Dr. vSouthard, a practicing physician and 
an active Christian man. He did not long remain a citizen 
of Granville. The following year it was continued by Mr. 
Sereno Wright. It was held in the frame school house, and 
the scholars were ranged around the wall desks, the girls on 
one side and the boys on the other, the house being full. 
Beginning with the girls, Mr. Wright gave to the first the 



GRANVILLE ALEXANDRIAN BANK. 107 

first chapter of John, to be committed to memory by the 
next Sabbath ; to the next, the second ; which wa§ to be 
ready the second Sabbath ; then the third for the third Sab- 
bath ; and so on aronnd the circle until fifty or sixty chap- 
ters were assigned. Next Sabbath they proceeded to study 
the first chapter; the third Sabbath the second chapter, and 
so on. Very soon thereafter Samuel Philipps taught a Sab- 
bath school on the Welsh Hills, which met at Deacon 
Theophilus Rees', and Leonard Bushnell another in the Hill- 
yer neighborhood southeast of town. 

During the year, Amasa Howe, John Phelps, Gabriel War- 
dain [Werden] and Lucius D. Mower were engaged on a 
written contract putting up a new building in the " village 
of Irville." 

Immediately after the close of the war in 1815, the Gran- 
ville Bank was established. [See chap., Our commercial En- 
terprises.] The Alexandrian Society established the bank 
and built for it the small stone structure on the east side of 
the square south of Broad ; Henry George and Joseph Evans 
doing the work in connection with Wm. Stedman, or under 
him as contractor. [See cut in closing record.] 

The first opening of the quarry on Prospect HiH was under 
Esq. Baker's direction, by one Morey, to obtain the stone 
for this building. The quarry on Sugar Loaf was opened 
much earlier and it furnished the stone foi the smelting 
stack of the furnace. 

In the early times change was very scarce. The silver 
money in circulation was of Mexican coinage. To facilitate 
exchange, if a silver dollar could be had it was cut into four 
equal quarters and each passed as twenty-five cents. After 
a time some got to cutting the dollar into five pieces, and 
still each one would pass for a quarter Though it fell short 
in value the convenience of change supplied the deficiency. 
A man would take it as long as he knew the next man would 
be glad to get it. One man receiving such a half-moon fifty 
cent, piece was minded to cut it into three twenty-five cent 



108 DEATHS OF THK VKAR. 

pieces. In cutting it up, one of them flew under the stroke 
of the hammer and was never seen afterwards. He consoled 
himself that he still had two quarters and had not lost any- 
thing. When Mr. Sereno Wright was County Treasiirer he 
used to receive these silver coin chippings, but only by 
weight. There always comes a time when convenience fails 
to supplement honesty and things must pass for their true 
value. 

It was about 1815 that Elihu Cooley, Spencer Wright and 
Enoch Graves came out from Granville, Mass., on a tour of 
observation, staid a while and returned, going and coming 
on foot. All of them were of the original company, but had 
not yet taken possession of their land. 

Wm. Mead arrived in Granville. He was the father-in- 
law of Dr. Homer L. Thrall, who became quite noted as a 
scientist and physician. 

There were fourteen deaths during the year. Among 
them were Mrs. John Ward, February 7th, aged 47 ; David 
Butler, April 3d, aged 51 ; Mrs. Love Baker, March 5th, aged 
81 ; Hannah Messenger, April 19th, aged 52 ; Samuel Thrall, 
May igth, aged 55; Christopher Avery, September 12th. 



ANNALS, 1816. lU'J 



CHAPTER XIX. 

The year 1816 marks an era in the prosperity of Gran- 
ville. The war had closed, having brought considerable 
money into circulation in response to the activities of the 
people, and immigrants came with increasing numbers. The 
land was generally occupied on every side of them, and 
much ot it was under good cultivation. The roads were 
well worked for a new country, and except where they passed 
through a tract that was not held for sale and therefore not 
settled, they were good. Such an exception was quite 
noticeable in the Newark road. As soon as it passed the 
farms of Judge Rose and Deacon Hayes it entered the Hogg 
tract, and for a long distance it was not cared for. As the 
Newark people had little use, personally, for the road, they 
did not feel the necessity of having it worked. But the 
Granville people, being greatly dependent upon it, were 
willing to work it, provided it should be set off to Granville 
Township. A tacit agreement was at length arrived at that 
this should be done. Relying upon it, the Granville people 
made a good road through the tract, and claimed the formal 
transfer. This was not made, however, until Hon. T. M. 
Thompson, of McKean Township, was a commissioner. 
The matter was presented before the Board, and all con- 
sented to recognize the understanding among the people, 
and make the legal transfer. The Granville people went 
home satisfied. After they were gone, two of the commis- 
sioners wavered, and were about to reverse their action. But 
the third, Mr. Thompson, insisted on the propriety of keeping 
their word, and thus the Township of Granville was en- 
larged by the addition of six hundred acres. 

The congregation under Mr. Harris' labors had outgrown 
the little frame building in which they had worshiped since 
1810. On occasions some would be obliged to stand out of 
doors during service, and that in cold weather. One even- 



110 



TIIK MKKTINCr HOUSE OF 1816. 



ing after such an occasion, when even women witli infants 
in their arms failed to find room within, Air. Harris expressed 
to Esquire Baker the desire for a better house of worship. 
He replied that a subscription for a house would be success- 
ful. Next morning Mr. Harris started with a paper, seeking 
aid from any and all, but pledging the house to the Church of 
which he was pastor. The result was a subscription which 
finally reached $6,000 — in trade. Corn, in trade, was worth 




25c. a bushel, but to buy cash goods, or pay cash debts, it 
was worth only half that sum. At the same time nails cost 
22 c. and 25 c. a pound, and glass $20 a box. So it took two 
bushels of corn to pay for a pound of nails, and 160 bushels 
of corn to buy a box of glass. On this basis a building 
committee was appointed, of whom were Azariah Bancroft 
and Augustine Munson. The subscriptions were paid in 
timbers for the frame, lumber, labor or ought else that men 
could furnish. " There were fifty men engaged at once in 
framing timbers, under the direction of Major Pratt." 



THE MEETING HOUSE OF 1816. Ill 

In due time appeared an audience room about 45x55 feet 
and 20 feet between joints, with a gallery on three sides and 
a porch in front, over which a steeple rose to the height of 
80 feet. Within the porch two flights of stairs led to the 
hall overhead, from which double doors led into the gallery; 
and at the west side a door opened to a long, steep Might of 
stairs leading up to the belfry. Above the belfry was a 
closed story of ten feet, surmounted by a cap of six feet, 
from which rose the iron rod supporting the gilt balls and 
weather-vane. In 1837, this steeple becan.e unsafe and the 
upper part was taken down, the belfry being capped over 
with a dome. The first weather-vane was a fish. It was 
gilded by Anthony P. Prichard, who kept it secluded until 
ready to put in place. Covering it with a coffee-sack, he 
went up to the church, carrying it slung over his shoulders, 
mounted to the steeple and to the spire, adjusted it, and left 
it to surprise the citizens. 

Another instance of Mr. Prichard's handiwork was this: 
Esquire Baker was employed to paint a sign. He went to din- 
ner leaving the work unfinished. Mr. Prichaid stepped in and 
painted the next letter. The Esquire returning, began to 
inquire who had meddled with his work. Anthony was obliged 
to own up. "Well, "said Mr. Baker, "if you can do so much 
better than I can as that is, you go on and finish it." 

The windows were in two stories, of 8x 10 lights, twenty- 
four in a window. The pulpit was high enough for a man 
to stand erect in the recess under it, upon a platform 
elevated one step above the floor of the house. It was sup- 
ported by fluted pillars, and on either side were high, steep 
flights of stairs. The body of it was in panel work, and it 
projected forward in a semi-circle, having a Bible cushion of 
brown velvet with cord and tassels. In the recess under- 
neath stood the chest which contained the communion ware. 
Behind the pulpit was a wide window in three sections, the 
middle»one being arched in a semi-circle. To the right and 
left were windows above and below, in the same range with 



112 



AN OIJ)-TlMK PULPIT. 



the side windows. The face of the gallery was high, and it 
was snpported by a row of solid, fluted, eight-sided pillars. 
The finishing. of the entire house within was in butternut 
wood and unpainted. 




This is tlie j)ul[)it in which Dr. Lyman Beecher preached in 
1831. When on his way to Cincinnati, he stayed in Granville 
several days. With one of his fervid gestures he knocked one 
of the pulpit lamps from its place, but recovered his equanimity 
before it touched the floor below. Peering over at the disaster 
he remarked, "Good enough for me! I had no business to 
come up here to preach! " Then going below he finished his 
sermon. 

The work was under the direction of Major Pratt, Tim- 
othy Spelnian, Esq., being one of the most experienced 
workmen. The latter, while working one day upon a high 
scaffold, was taken in an epileptic fit, to which he was sub- 
ject in his latter days, and falling backward, would have 
gone over the edge of the scaffold had not David Messenger? 
who was working near, caught him. 

After the house was enclosed, it was furnished with tran- 
sient seats, and began to be used thus in 1817. It was not 
plastered until 182 1, at which time the audience floor was 



OLD-TIME PEWS. 



113 



furnished with seats in the form of square pews. A thousand 
dollars were spent in these improvements. These pews 
were generally about six by seven feet, those in the corners 
being enough larger to admit of a door beyond the abutting 
ranges. The wall pews were raised one step above the floor 
of the house. The sides of the pews reached nearly to the 
shoulders of an adult while sitting, and quite above the 
heads of children. Each pew had about ten sittings, and 
sometimes accommodated two families. The mother would 
generally have a little " foot stove" in cold weather, which, 
as a great favor, would sometimes be passed to the younger 
members of the family. These tiny furnaces, supplied with 
coals, were all that served to give the comlort of warmth to 
the conofre^ation in the coldest weather. 




ttt^EBt 



A row of seats was constructed around the front of the 
gallery, for the use of the choir. The pews of the gallery 
were not put up until 1829. They were so high that boys 
disposed to be roguish could easily hide from observation and 
give themselves to mischief. This license required a tith- 
ing man (often pronounced tidyman ) to keep them in order. 

This was the year of the starting of the Granville Furnace, 
an enterprise that, perhaps, did as much as any one thing in 
early times to bring money from abroad and put it into 
circulation here, and to give employment to citizens of the 
place. [See Chapter, Industrial Enterprises.] 

At this time, the spring which issued from the east side of 
Prospect Hill, hard by the Mt. Vernon road, and fed the 
lo 



114 RELIGIOUS SOCIETIES. 

great pond in the northeast part of town, was flowing 
copiously. Thither the women and girls used to go to do 
the week's washing, and while the older ones were busy 
with the suds, the children would sport with the pendant 
grapevines that ran luxuriantly over the trees. In early 
times, the water had been carried in logs, underground, to 
the rear of Major Case's lot, and there it came up through a 
two-inch bore in a generous stream, sup])l\ing all that part 
of town. Near the spring stood a cabin, used this year as a 
school house, the school being taught by Luther Thrall. 

In early times. Sugar Loaf was a symmetrical cone, shaded 
with a beautiful growth of beech trees, its surface unbroken 
by the deep quarries since opened for stone. There came a 
year of great plentifulness of squirrels, migrating toward 
the southeast. Sugar Loaf was a great haunt for them. Men 
and boys resorted thither with guns and clubs, and great 
numbers of them were killed. This kept "an awful din" 
of shooting, yelling, and clubbing, by day and late into the 
night. One whose quiet was disturbed by the noise, went 
one night and cut down all but two or three, of the trees 
that stood on the western slope ; and, soon afterward, the 
quarries were industriously worked for building stone, and 
the beautiful hill was left bare and broken. 

On the first day of this year (1816) was formed the first 
local Bible vSociety, auxiliary to the Ohio Bible Society, now 
represented by (jranville and \"icinity I)ible vSociety. During 
the year was formed The Female Charitable Society. " Its 
objects were various. It clothed the ))oor, furnished tracts 
for the Sabbath School, made a cushion for the pulpit, and 
did other good things as occasion required." 

In 1816, Joel Lamson came from Essex, \'crmont ; Hon. T. 
M. Thompson, with his son Robert, and Anthony P. Prichard, 
David Pittsford, the brothers Thomas and Leonard Bushnell, 
and Chauncy Humphrey, all becoming permanent citizens. 

The deaths of the year were four, among them : Araunah 
Clark, August ist, aged fifty- seven ; Moses Boardman, Sep- 
tember 29th, aged fifty-three. 



ANNALS, 1817-20. 115 



CHAPTER XX. 

The business enterprises of 1817 were somewhat im- 
portant, and are described in the chapter given to that 
subject. They were the forge, the salt works, the two tan- 
neries, and the flouring mill east of town. 

There was a drummers' school of thirty scholars, taught 
by one Brown, a graduate from which became the drum 
major of his regiment. At the same time, one Lathrop 
taught a school for iifers, which was liberally patronized, 

Mr. Charles Sawyer came to the place and opened a 
saddler's shop, gradually rising in business prominence, and 
was active, at a later date, in establishing the Baptist Female 
Seminary. 

Mr. Elias Fassett, also, became a citizen, then a young 
man of business promise and training. His energy soon 
carried him to the front rank of business men, and he was 
conspicuous in most of the important business operations in 
the place. 

He was a relative of Governor Chittenden, of Vermont. He 
was only nineteen years of age when he came to Granville. In 
persoti, he was short and heavy, could be brusque or affable in 
manner, as suited him. He left Granville for Cleveland, Ohio, 
and thence went to New York city, where he engaged in bank- 
ing. He returned to Granville in 1856, and for two years was 
President of the Central Ohio Railroad. He then retired to 
his farm, south of Granville, where he died suddenly in 1863. 

Mr. Gaylord came, and settled southwest of town, near 
Mr. Lamson. 

Mr. Joshua Stark, a young man who had studied medicine, 
arrived, with Mr. George Case, they having fallen in com- 
pany on the way. They united their energies in the business 
of making brick, and it resulted in the erection of eighteen 
or twenty substantial brick houses in the village within a 
very few years. 



116 MIIJTARV MATTERS. 

Rev. Timothy Harris had Ksquire Baker make him a 
wagon box, handsome for the time, and nicely painted. The 
first time it was hitched to a horse and brought home, he 
had just taken his little daughter out of the wagon, and 
turned for the moment away, when the horse took fright and 
ran through the woods, tearing the wagon to pieces. 

Prices at this time ruled as follows: By the pound, sugar, 
25 c.; coffee, 50 c; tea, $2.50; brimstone, 25 c; pepper, 75 c; 
butter, 16 c; nails, 22 c.; powder, #1.00; iron, 167^ c; cam- 
bric, 5f 1.25 a yard ; gum camphor, 50 c. an ounce; a spelling 
book, 25 c.; whisky, $1.00 a gallon; a cow and calf, $25.00; 
wheat, $ 1. 00 a bushel ; corn, 50c, 

In 1818, military matters received considerable attention. 
There were three uniformed companies, representing the 
three arms of the land service. From the very first of the 
settlement, military matters were made prominent by 
necessity. The experience of service in 181 2 gave zest and 
held the minds of the citizens to its importance. P. W. 
Taylor commanded a company of cavalry, Willard Warner 
one of artillery, and Timothy Spelman, Jr., one of infantry. 
There were, besides, two companies of militia, under Cap- 
tains Myron Phelps and Alpheus Jewett. A small cannon 
was cast at the Granville Furnace, bored and mounted in 
Granville, and was long used by the artillery company. It 
opened its mouth at the Licking Summit Celebration, and 
at Fourth of July celebrations for many years after. 

Mr. Sereno Wright became postmaster in place of Daniel 
Baker, P^sq. 

Joseph Blanchard and family arrived from Maine, adding 
much to the industrial enterprise of the place. He settled 
two miles north of the village. 

It was probably the year of Mr. John vStarr's coming to 
the place. On the way out, he had been exposed to small- 
pox, and when he arrived the symptoms were appearing. 
The people did not dare to receive any of the family to their 
homes, or even into the village. A "pest house" — a log 



BENEVOLENCE. 117 

cabin — was immediately built on the hillside, near the creek, 
very nearly where the present Columbus road leaves the vil- 
lage, at the intersection of Maple and Pearl Streets, descend- 
ing to the bridge. There the family were provided for in all 
kindness, except that none dared personally to minister at 
his bedside. He recovered, no one else was taken with it, 
the family soon found a home in the western part of the 
village, and became prominent members of the community. 

The dead of 1818 were eleven, among them : Mrs. John 
Jones, February 25th, and Mr. Chester Griffin, a young 
merchant of the place, October 2d, aged thirty. 

The most conspicuous event of 1819 was the formation of 
the Baptist Church, for which see Chapter XXXVI. 

The Burial Lot was enclosed by a substantial wall of 
quarry stone. 

A Sabbath School Society was formed at the house of Dr. 
William S.Richards, of which Dr. Rood was made president. 

The spirit of benevolence found cheerful exercise in send- 
ing aid to missionary laborers among the Indians of Georgia. 
Subscription papers would pass through the congregation, 
gathering products from the farms and shops ; then, uniting 
their forces, they would wheel them to Putnam. There 
Levi Whipple & Company would flour the wheat gratis ; 
then boatmen would transport all that gathered there to 
Marietta without charge ; and so they were borne down the 
Ohio and up the Tennessee. " In three years, besides two 
boxes of clothing, things were sent valued at $300." 

About this time the young people began to exercise their 
talents in public dramatic performances. A society was 
formed and continued in existence several years. Tragedies, 
comedies, farces and comic songs were on their programme. 
For a short time their exhibitions were given in the new 
church, but objections arising against this use of the house, 
they went elsewhere. 

There were six deaths in i8iq; among them Mrs. Chloe 
Hunt, daughter of Justin Hillyer, Sen., January nth, aged 



118 



THK BRICK ACADK.MV 



twenty-one ; Mrs. Abi Wright, wife of Spencer Wright, Esq., 
March 22d, aged thirty-seven. 

In 1820, Mr. Harris' health became such that he could not 
preach, and at his request Rev\ Isaac Reed spent six months 
with the Congregational Church, beginning with the month 
of May. It did not result in a permanent engagement. 

As nearly as can be determined, this was the time of 
building the brick school house, which long stood so con- 
spicuously against the hill at the head of Main Street. It 
was two stories high, the upper story being fitted up as a 







Masonic Lodge ; the lower being divided into two unequal 
rooms for the common schools; the west room, where the 
boys were taught, being a little the larger, although dimin- 
ished by the passage way to the room above. Underneath 
the building and in front was a space about eight feet deep, 
in two compartments, entered by five archways in front and 
one at each end, and connected by a like archway in the 
dividing wall, which was designed as a market place, albeit 
a market never flourished there. One or two attempts were 
made to start such an affair, the chief being about 1835. 
For a few mornings there was a handsome display of meats, 



NEW ARRIVALS. 119 

vegetables and fruits, but discouragement and oblivion 
settled down upon the undertaking in about two weeks' 
time. The inhabitants preferred another system for the sup- 
ply of their tables. In after years the end archways and two 
of those in front were closed up. A stone wall was built in 
range with the front of the building for a rod or two both 
east and west, opening just by the building for flights of 
steps about five feet high, and the surface was graded to the 
top of the wall. I^he market rooms then became a wood- 
house. 

About this time, Messrs. Abbot & Wing had charge of the 
hotel in the east end of town. One winter day there came in 
an old gentleman in thin dress and straw hat, and stopped for 
the night. In the evening, being an excellent penman, he 
amused the boys with pen-flourishing. In his hat was a pocket- 
book and his handkerchief over it. At night he slept on skins 
on the floor. In the morning he was gone and he never 
returned. As the room he slept in was to be whitewashed that 
day, Mr. Abbott ordered it cleared. When the wall map was 
removed, down dropped the old man's pocket book. Mr. 
Abbott found seventy dollars in money in it, and the name of 
a Delaware merchant. Soon after two men came along, search- 
ing for the old man. They identified the pocket-book, and 
found that only three dollars of the money were missing. They 
hastened on to Newark, where they found the man at breakfast. 

In May of this year (1820), Dr. John B. Cooley, a nephew 
of Rev. Dr. Cooley, of old Granville, arrived and began the 
practice of medicine, and in the fall of the year Dr. Sylvester 
Spelman also arrived Mr. Simeon Reed entered the place 
in company with ]\Ir. Hubbard, coming from Liidlow, Vt. 
When Mr. Reed reached this place he had a good team and what 
they brought with it and 50 c. in money. He was an indus- 
trious man, giving his attention to what promised most, 
butchering, teaming, quarrying stones. From 1827 to 1830 
he lived in Johnstown, then returning to spend his days 
here. 

It must have been about this time that sixteen pounds of 
butter were given for one yard of jaconet, which was wanted 



120 THE SCARCITY OF MONKV. 

in a young bride's trousseau. During the war, and imme- 
diately after, money was plentiful. But the necessities of 
the people soon carried it out of the country as the price of 
commodities from abroad, and, the source of supply not 
continuing, the want of it was soon felt, and all the more 
severely for the temporary flush. A subscriber to the 
Wanderer tendered Mr. Wright, the publisher, four bushels 
of wheat at twenty-five cents a bushel (the subscription 
price being one dollar a year) for a year's subscription. Mr. 
Wright declared he would rather he had brought a bag full 
of manure to put on his garden. Another gentleman hauled 
stone from the quarry on Sugar Loaf to the house Mr. Ralph 
Granger was then building (now the residence of Mr. G. B. 
Johnson), for ten cents a load. It took him three days to 
earn as many dollars, with which to pay his taxes. Another 
young man, who was over twenty-one, found a letter in the 
postoffice for him, from the region of friends in the East. 
For three months he sought means to earn twenty-five cents 
in hard cash, wherewith to pay the postage, and then gave 
it u]). He never read that letter. 

While this was true with regard to the scarcity of money, 
the colonists managed, by industry and ingenuity, and bar- 
tering among themselves, to live with comfort; and their 
unsupplied wants were not very grievous. The home-made 
clothes, in frontier fashions, were as comfortable as 
metropolitan styles would have been. About this time, a 
very heavy white wool cloth used to be fashioned into a 
close-fitting overcoat, with a cape of fourfold thickness, each 
thickness a half finger-length smaller than the one under it, 
thus shingling off a man's shoulders in receding layers, as 
impervious to rain as the roof of a house. 

In 1820, a sub.scription was raised further to aid Captain 
" Put" Phelps in building a dam across Raccoon, above the 
furnace, and digging a feed race to his saw mill. The dam 
was substantially built of logs, and only about four feet 
high. The race was led across the plain in the track where. 



DEATHS. 121 

afterward, the canal feeder was made. Soon after this, 
Captain Phelps became deranged, and his affairs passed into 
the hands of his son, Myron, and Mr. Curtis Howe, as 
guardians. 

There were seven deaths in 1820; among them: Mrs. 
Abigail Boardman, February ist, aged fifty-one ; Mrs. 
Damaris Root, wife of Noble Root, June i8th, aged thirty- 
seven. 



16 



122 ANNALS, 1821-22. 



CHAPTER XXI. 

The health of ]\Ir. Harris continued steadily to decline, 
and he was unable to preach. His last public effort was to 
examine several young people for admission to the church. 
Rev. Mr. Wittlesey, a teacher at Lancaster, came and received 
them and administered the communion. 

Elder George Evans ministered occasionally to the Baptist 
Church, the congregation meeting in the Masonic Hall. 

In the month of March, Mr. Sereno Wright commenced 
the publication of The Wanderer, a weekly folio sheet, each 
page having a space of 10x16 inches of printed matter. 
The cash price of the paper ranged from one to two dollars, 
according to the promptness of the subscriber, and the 
produce price from two to three dollars. 

When Mr. Wright was examined for admission to the church, 
he was asked as to his belief in the perseverance of the saints. 
" I find abundance of Scripture for it, but some caut'on," was 
his reply, " Suppose you do wrong, and we come and tell you 
of it?" was the next query. "That is just what I want," was 
the frank reply. "Suppose some of us do wrong, will you 
come and reprove us?" was the next question. "I'm afraid 
I sha'n't! " was his answer. Still, he was received. 

November 25th, Rev. Ahab Jinks preached his first 
sermon, under an agreement to preach two months on pro- 
bation. In about four weeks some of the congregation were 
so well pleased with him as to meet and give him an outside 
call, promising to send for his family. The church,, however, 
did not move in the call until b>bruary 11, 1822. 

In most respects, Mr. Jinks stood in strong contrast with 
Mr. Harris. Those drawn by one might fail to be influenced 
by the other. Physically, Mr. Harris was not strong, and 
his last years were marked by growing weakness. Mr. Jinks 
was healthy, large, fluent of speech, and possessed of a fine 



MR. HA-RRIS AND MR. JINKS. 123 

voice, delighting to preach in the open air. Mr. Harris 
moved his audiences by the deep fervor of his spirit, speak- 
ing plain truths in the utmost solemnity of manner. Mr. 
Jinks moved by the eloquent utterance of brilliant and 
impassioned periods. The friends of Mr. Harris would say 
that Mr. Jinks was too demonstrative to rivet the attention 
of his hearers upon vital truths, and the friends of Mr. Jinks 
would say that Mr. Harris had the misfortune to have been 
trained a Puritan, and to be preaching an impossible 
standard of Christian life. Mr. Harris might possibly have 
been the better for an exuberant enjoyment of his heavenly 
Father's earthly blessings. Mr. Jinks might probably have 
been improved by a moiety ot Mr. Harris' conscientiousness 
and consecration. The one was thought to be too severe on 
one occasion, in administering chastisement to a lad who 
was temporarily in his family, and the other was judged to 
have violated the Sabbath by unnecessary labor. The one 
extreme of ministration following upon the other, it is not 
wonderful if, under a lower standard, some men came to 
think of their own religious standing more highly than they 
had been wont. So it happened that Mr. Jinks at once 
moved the sympathies of a large number who had stood 
aloof from Mr. Harris. Men of the world were delighted to 
hear him, and rallied around him with their support. Even 
those who did not go to meeting, were pleased with him 
personally. One said, " If you will only go to meeting, we 
will pay the preacher." The salary was quickly and easily 
raised. A thousand dollars were raised to plaster and seat 
the church below. It was at this time that the plasterers, 
being godless men, imposed upon the church building com- 
mittee, by persuading them that the plastering would be 
ruined if the second coat should be delayed until Monday. 
So the work went on all day Sunday. 

The deaths of 1821 were twenty ; among them, Mrs. Lydia 
demons, daughter of Judge Rose and wife of Wm. demons, 
March 29th, aged twenty-seven; Hannah, wife of Enoch 



124 FIRST MAIL COACH. 

Graves, June 8th, aged forty four; Jervis Twining, July i8th, 
aged forty-four; Ezra Perrin, July 25tli, aged forty-four; 
Samuel Kverett, Sen., November ist, aged eighty-three: 
Mrs. Isabella, wife of Doctor \Vm. S. Richards, December 
loth, aged thirty ; Daniel Warner, December 30th, aged 
fifty-seven. 

1822, Thursday, March 28th, Mr. Harris died, after a three 
years' illness. A pure heart and a noble soul went to his 
rest. He builded well and his works do follow him. 

Rev. John Hanover had charge of the Baptist Church dur- 
ing the year, they still worshiping in the Masonic Hall. 

Rev. Thomas Hughes, a Baptist clergyman, came from 
Wales and settled on the Welsh Hills ; a man of unblem- 
ished integrity, an acceptable preacher, and, withal, a master 
workman in stone. Fifteen years later he introduced the 
use of marble for monuments and erected that of Col. Lucius 
D. Mower, which at the time was a great advance upon the 
style of workmanship then in use. 

This year the first mail coach was driven through Gran- 
ville, running between Columbus and Newark. It was 
driven by Giles C. Harrington, the mail contractor. After- 
ward, and previous to 1828, the line was run by Air. Willard 
Warner. 

Wm. Paige's factory was erected a mile east of town on 
the left bank of Raccoon. 

Hon. Augustine Munson became State Representative, 
holding the position for two years; and Hon. Thomas Mc- 
Kean Thompson was County Commissioner, and so con- 
tinued for three years. 

It was probably at this time that the farce of burying the 
Newark Advocate took place. About seventy copies of the 
paper were taken at Granville. The paper displeased its 
Granville subscribers on some political ground and they 
gathered all the copies of the paper at hand, formed a mock 
funeral procession and marched to the beating of & muffled 
drum, from the hotel to the old parade ground, or further 



BURYING THE "ADVOCATE." 125 

east, and after a speech by Jerry Jewett, the papers were 
buried. Mr. Briggs had advertised to receive payment for 
his paper in produce. The subscribers then gathered the 
most inconvenient kinds of produce they could find, went to 
Newark, paid their bills and stopped the paper, and the cir- 
culation in Granville was reduced from seventy to two. 

Rev. Mr. Hartiug, a Methodist, was preaching one Sab- 
bath to a full audience assembled in Esq. Gavit's residence, 
when a string piece in the centre of the floor gave way, 
making a complete hopper of the floor, into which all the 
assembly glided in a promiscuous mass, amid the crashing 
of lumber and the cries of the frightened. The noise was 
heard over all the town, but no one was very seriously hurt. 

Nineteen died in 1822; of whom were Col. Oren Granger, 
January 13th, aged thirty-three; Rev. Timothy Harris, 
March 28th, aged forty-one ; Hon. Jeremiah R. Munson, 
June 9th, aged forty-two ; Elisha S. Gilman, July 13th, aged 
twenty-eight ; Capt. Job Case, (suddenly,) August 24th, aged 
sixty-three. 



120 ANNALS, 1823-26. 



ciiArTi<:R XXII. 

In 1823, occurred the faiiioii.s circular hunt of Gibbons's 
deadening, which, although outside the township, deserves 
mention here as many of the participants were Granville 
men. The following particulars are taken irom a " Pioneer 
Paper" prepared by Rev. Timothy W. Howe. 

A tract of four miles square was marked out, the lines 
being blazed on the trees, with cross lines from corner to 
corner, and a center square of eighty rods on each side. 
The men met at sunrise, lines were arranged, signals ap- 
pointed and orders understood. Hornsmen were placed at 
equal intervals all around the lines. No whisky was allowed 
on the ground. [Why ? Since everyone used whisky.] The 
first signal indicated that the lines were in readiness. The 
second commanded a simultaneous advance. Turkeys soon 
began to fly over the lines in flocks, and the rifle brought 
many of them down. Deer, being startled from their lairs, 
would fly to the opposite side of the square, until checked 
again. Three wolves were roused. As the lines drew 
together, the game would be seen running parallel with 
them, seeking exit from the cordon that was closing in upon 
them. This drew shots from every side, and kept a con- 
tinuous rattling of musketry. A huge black bear waked 
up. As he made his way toward the lines on a lazy gallop, 
when within twenty or thirty yards of them, fifteen or twenty 
guns were simultaneously fired at him, and he fell dead. 
When the lines reached the inner square, the men stood 
almost touching one another, and the lines were too near to 
permit promiscuous firing. A half-dozen of the best marks- 
men were sent in, among whom were Leveret Butler and 
Captain Timothy Spelman, to finish the work of destruction. 
One bear, three wolves, forty-nine deer, sixty or seventy 
turkeys, and one owl, was the list of game taken. There 



BURLINGTON CYCLONE. 127 

being much more mmi than gmne^ the bear and deer, being 
skinned, were divided into pieces of four pounds each, and 
about one-third of the company, by lot, drew a portion. 
General A. Munson, whose lot drew the bear skin, made a 
closing speech with his trophy wrapped about him, and at 
sunset all dispersed, satisfied with the day's work and its 
results. 

From 1822 to 1827, the people of the township were 
extensively engaged in raising tobacco. 

Prices were as follows : Flour, $ 5.00 a barrel ; cider, $ 3.00 ; 
corn, 25 c. a bushel ; apples, 50 c.; fowls, 75 c. a dozen ; pork, 
8 c.; cheese, 6i4^c.; best burial caskets, $4.00. 

Deacon Samuel Baldwin died January 27th, aged sixty- 
three ; Jerahmeel Houghton, September ist, aged forty- 
seven. 

In 1824, the present Methodist Church was built, where 
the frame school house had stood. It was a frame structure, 
47x35 feet, and well proportioned in height. It was 
finished plainly, and thus used for many years. It cost 
$1450 — in trade. 

Hon. Samuel Bancroft became Associate Judge, in which 
capacity he served for twenty-one years. 

In 1825, occurred the Great Burlington Storm, on the 
afternoon of Wednesday, May i8th. As the cyclone passed 
over the northern part of the county, the black cloud was 
seen on the horizon by the people at Granville, and a 
humming noise filled the air. The sun shone brightly, and 
the air was quiet, but close. Next morning word came of 
the havoc that had been caused. Many were hurt, and one 
youth was killed. He was hastening to close the cabin door 
as the cyclone struck the house. The door was torn violently 
from the hinges, and boy and door were dashed against the 
opposite side of the room. Fences were prostrated, and 
stock was ranging through the grain fields. A mill pond 
was swept dry, and a log chain was lodged in a tree top. 
Houses and barns were demolished. Every one was in some 



128 I.ICKINO SI^MMIT CKLEI5RATION. 

way neediiif^ help. At once the word spread through the 
community. Granger's tavern was made the rendezvous. 
Provisions, clothing, blankets, stores for the sick, were 
brought in, and wagon after wagon was loaded and started 
for the scene of suffering. Men and women hurried to 
proffer their aid ; the women cared for the wounded and 
cooked for all ; the men put up the fences and helped the 
families to temporary shelters. Dr. Cooley went up and 
gave them his ])rofessional services. 

Another incident transpiring outside of the township, yet 
affecting the citizens, was the celebration at Licking Summit 
on the Fourth of July. The occasion was the breaking 
grotnid in the construction of the Ohio and Erie Canal. 
Governor DeWitt Clinton, of New York, was there, and in 
his hands was the shovel that threw out the first earth. 
Granville was deeply interested in the project. The place 
was to be connected with the main canal at Newark by a 
feeder leading from the Raccoon, at Paige's factory. It 
was further contem])lated to extend this branch, by private 
enterprise, around by Captain Phelps' saw mill, following his 
feed race to the creek, and then the creek to the Lancaster 
bridge, the addition recpiiring a dam, guard lock, lift lock, 
and half a mile of excavation. This would make the village 
accessible from the main canal. Great commercial benefit 
was expected from it. One gentleman enthusiastically 
remarked: "We shall be a second Utica!" Granville, 
therefore, was well represented. The cannon cast at her 
furnace in i^iiS was there to s])eak for her, in charge of the 
artillery com|)any. An infantry comi)any was on duty. The 
(rranville band was there with its music. The members 
were: Ivliab Doud, leader; Jereiiiiali Munson, Jr., and 1'. W. 
Taylor, clarionets; Leonard Humjjhrey, hautboy; Justin 
Hillyer, Jr., Truman llillyer, H. Iv. Bancroft, Daniel L. 
Baker, bas.soons ; and Hovey Sawyer, bass drum. They had 
also a military band, Justin Hillyer, Jr., and Sheldon vSwan 
being fifers, and I). L. P>aker and Chester Clough, drnniniers. 



LAST BEAR HUNT. 129 

This last band won notoriety that day in playing against 
that of the Chillicothe Grays, bearing off the pahn. (xran- 
ville bore, in those days, the reputation of furnishing the 
best musicians in the State. The citizens did not return to 
their lionies with enthusiasm at all diminished. Most of 
them lived to see the canal constructed, many of them taking 
part in the work. A few boats visited the quiet banks of 
the Raccoon, notably, one loaded with potatoes from Michi- 
gan one season of scarcity — about 1838. Several transports 
were built on the feeder, and started on their voyage of life. 
Flour, grain, salted meats, and other products, were shipped 
for several years. But no one has yet seen Utica arising on 
the banks of the great thoroughfare. 

One sig^i of progress appeared in the village. Messrs. 
William Wing and Ralph (xranger bought the house of 
George Case, which stood unfinished since 1818, and pro- 
ceeded to finish and furnish it for a hotel. 

In 1825 were twenty deaths ; Mrs. Fidelia Prichard, 
daughter of Klias (iilman, Esq., and wife of Anthony P. 
Prichard, died September 5th, aged twenty-three ; P'^rederick 
Case, May 10, aged forty eight. 

In 1826, Messrs. Charles French and William H. Brace 
came to St. Albans Towuship with their clock factory. [See 
Industrial Enterprises for particulars.] 

In the fall occurred the last bear hunt of the township. 
A bear and her two cubs were heard rustling the leaves in 
the woods opposite the house of Esq. Baker, southwest of 
town. The neighborhood was aroused, and an onslaught 
made. The two cubs were soon treed and shot. The old 
bear was chased until night, and again in the morning, fifty 
men rallying and following her trail, but without success. 

Rev. Azariah Hanks preached to the Baptist Church one- 
fourth of his time. 

In August, Mr. William Slocomb, of Marietta, visited 
Granville in the interests of the missionary cause, carrying 
forward the work already noticed (1819). Two organizations 
17 



i;jO NEW CHURCHKvS FORMKD. 

were effected, one for men, and another for women. Some 
wished a separate or<^anization for each faction in the church. 
But his sagacity led him to oppose it, and to insist on united 
effort, $iio.oo were contributed to mission work in 1827, 
while $90. 00 were given to other objects, in the same time, 
from the same field. 

Early in the year, that part of the Congregational Church 
that favored Rev. Ahab Jinks met and organized another 
church, called the First Presbyterian Church. "They chose 
Sylvester Spelman, A. P. Prichard and S. G. Goodrich 
trustees ; Ebenezer Pratt, Silas Winchel, Levi Rose and 
Leonard Bushnell elders; Thomas M. Thompson and Hosea 
Cooley deacons." They immediately raised $310.00 for a 
salary, and employed Mr. Jinks as pastor. 

May 31st, the Second Presbyterian Church was formed, 
with sixty five members. Lemuel Rose, Amasa Howe, 
Benjamin Cook, Walter Griffith, Samuel Bancroft, Josliua 
Linnel and G. P. Bancroft were elected and ordained 
elders. 

The rest of the church remained Congregationalists, un- 
willing to join either of the above churches, but remaining 
under the care of Presbytery, as a plan of Union Church. 
This organization does not appear to have remained com- 
plete, as the old officers left with the other organizations, and 
none were elected to their place. 

Presbytery received the new churches to its care, thus 
having three on its roll from the same place. 

Mr. Jinks, being dissatisfied with this, withdrew from 
Presbytery, seeking connection with the Protestant Episco- 
pal Church. 

In these circumstances, many were ready to sustain Episco- 
pal services, though there was as yet no church of that order. 
In December, Rev. Amos G. Baldwin arrived in the place, 
and held Episcopal services occasionally for several months. 

There were fifteen deaths during the year, of whom was 
James Doud, November nth. 



ANNALS, 1827. ^''^1 



CHAPTER XXIII. 

The year 1827 dawned upon a sad state of morals. There 
were six distilleries in operation. The common practice 
of the farmers was to take a load of corn to the distillery, 
and take home, in return, a barrel of whisky. There were 
1700 people in the township, and it is estimated that they 
consumed ten thousand gallons of whisky annually. There 
were as many as six balls during the year, which the young 
people attended, one young lady getting out of her bed-room 
window to attend, contrary to the expressed wish of her 
parents. " The children of the scoffer, the swearer, deist, 
church member, deacon and minister all danced together. 
Religion was neglected. The boys, in sport, had broken a 
great proportion of the glass Irom the church, and we had 
become a hissing and a by-word." This place was spoken 
of as " a little town off east of Columbus, with a great meet- 
ing house with the glass broken out. While on the Sabbath 
the taverns were full, the house of God was almost empty." 
[Little's History.] In February, the congregation one day 
averaged about one person to a pew. There were four 
congregations, each claiming a right to the meeting house. 
Besides these four, the Methodists numbered about one 
hundred, having their own house, and the Baptists half 
as many, worshiping in the Masonic Hall. Only twenty 
copies of religious papers were taken in the township. Fifty- 
one families were without the Bible. 

After certain preliminary meetings, on May 9th an organiza- 
tion was efifected for an Episcopal Church with the following 
officers : Dr. Wm. S. Richards and Sylvester Hayes, wardens ; 
Chauncy Humphrey, Lucius D. Mower, A. P. Prichard, 
Sylvester Spelman, Joseph Fasset, Wm. Wing, Linus G. 
Thrall, vestrymen. They were legally qualified by Rev. A. 
Jinks, who was now filling the office of justice of the peace. 



132 ST. LUKE'S CHURCH. 

The corporation took the name of " vSt. Luke's Church in 
Granville, Licking Co., Ohio." Rev. Mr. Baldwin continued 
to preach for them for two years. 

Mr. Slocomb, on the occasion of his visit of the preceding 
year, had suggested to the people the name of Rev. Jacob 
Little as a suitable man to become their pastor. The different 
parties united in inviting him to come and see them. Rev. 
Jacob Lindley, of Athens, being on the ground, seconded 
their request in an autograph letter. Mr. Little came and 
spent two Sabbaths with them in February. From that time 
definite efforts were made to harmonize the discordant 
elements. Again Mr. Little came, June i, upon an agreement 
to preach six months. Reconciliations were effected, mutual 
confessions were made. They met together on Sabbaths and 
other occasions of religious meetings. They treated each 
other with tenderness. A day of fasting was appointed and 
observed. It was the occasion of open confessions and tears. 
Instead of looking at others' faults, each looked at his own. 
There was an "ambition to have the privilege of giving way 
to others." In the fall a communion season was held, in 
which they all united, and soon after they united on common 
ground as a " Plan of Union" chuich ; the union being that 
of the Congregational and Presbyterian polity. 

We have now seen the origin of the five churches which 
have held a leading place in the community for generations. 
Hitherto the history of the Congregational Church has been 
so blended with the history of the place, even to the use of 
their meeting house for all public occasions, that it has of 
necessity been woven into the annals. From this point, the 
history of each will be given in a separate chapter, and the 
annals will take less note of ecclesiastical matters. 

Mr. Martin Root returned from the East in the spring of 
1827, with his second wife. She brought with her the con- 
stitution of a Ladies' Missionary Society, which existed at 
the place of her eastern home. The constitution was adopted 
in the formation of a similar Society here. 



SELECT SCHOOL. 133 

Mr. Little had a class of young ladies to whom he was 
giving special instruction in the higher branches; among 
whom were Misses Olivia Wright, Mary Ann Howe, and 
Deborah Sheldon. Miss M. A. Howe also taught a select 
school of thirty young ladies in Dr. Cooley's office, which 
stood just east of Mr. Harris' former residence. It was a 
small frame building, standing high, having a double flight 
of steps leading from the sidewalk on either side and parallel 
to it. This school has been spoken of as the historical 
beginning of Granville Female College. The building is said 
to be still standing, and is the cabinet shop of Mr. Harris' 
grandson, Wm. Mitchell, on Equality Street, near Deacon G. 
P. Bancroft's residence. 

The construction of the canal was this year in active pros- 
ecution. Several citizens of Granville took large contracts 
in the work, aggregating $300,000, which gave remunerative 
employment to many others. Among the contractors or sub- 
contractors were Augustine Munson, Wm. Wing, Lucius D. 
Mower, P. W. Taylor, Sylvester Hayes, Levi Rose, Alfred 
Avery, Elias P'asset, Joseph Fasset, Simeon Reed, Byron 
Hayes, Justin Hillyer, Jr., Curtis Howe, Ashley A. Bancroft, 
H. and D. Kelley. 

The canal was soon in operation from Newark north to 
Cleveland, but further progress southward was hindered, for 
a time, by the deep cut below the reservoir. This made a 
thoroughfare of public travel through Granville. Passengers 
came from the north and east by the N. Y. & E. and the O. 
& E. canals to Newark, where the four-horse coaches of Neil, 
More & Co, met them and bore them onward through Gran- 
ville to Columbus, Cincinnati, and other points westward. 
This continued to be their route until the National Road was 
completed in 1832-3. It was a stirring sight to the novices 
to see the well trimmed coaches come rolling into town and 
up Broad Street to the music of the stage horn, and draw up 
in approved style at the hotel of Charles French on the north 
side of Broad, exchange mail at the postoffice and depart 
again. 



J 34 DEATHS. 

Our fellow citizen Mr. vSereno Wriglit, becatne the County 
Treasurer, which office he filled acceptably for ten years. 

There were twenty-four deaths in the township in 1827 ; of 
whom were Wm. Stedman, Mar. 14th, aged forty-four; Mrs. 
Elizabeth Case, Mar. i6th, aged .sixty-one ; Mrs. Julius Cole- 
man, Aug. 9th, aged thirty-nine; Dea. Peter Thurston, Aug. 
29th, aged sixty-seven ; Mrs. Amos Carpenter, Dec. 2d, aged 
thirty-seven. 



ANNALS, 1828-30. 135 



CHAPTER XXIV. 

The winter of 1827-8 was a peculiar one. The sun was 
seen to shine but a few times in eight weeks. No ice was 
formed all winter, and fog was the chief characteristic of the 
weather. 

The first Sabbath of 1828, was preached by Mr. Little the 
first of that notable series of sermons called New Year's 
Sermons. No sermon in the year called for half its labor in 
preparation, and none called together such a crowded con- 
gregation to listen to it. When he sat down to write he had 
beiore him a pretty correct statement as to how many pro- 
fane swearers, Sabbath-breakers and drunkards there were in 
the township, how many did not attend church, how many 
adults were not professors of religion, the statistics of the 
Sabbath School, and a long list of similar facts ; then seizing 
upon some prominent feature of the facts, he chose for his 
sermon a subject they would illustrate, gave the facts and 
preached the sermon. Every seat would be occupied, and 
the aisles would sometimes be crowded with extra seats. It 
was also an inseparable comcomitant of the sermon that 
Benevento should be sung with the hymn, "While with 
ceaseless course the sun." 

Elder Berry was preaching to the Baptist Church, and 
during the year the congregation took measures to erect the 
meeting house on the northeast corner of Cherry and Broad 
Streets, which was their home until 1849. 

One of Mr. Little's stated Bible classes was held on het 
Columbus road, a couple of miles from town in a school- 
house. The neighborhood had rather an unusual number of 
lawless spirits among its citizens. Nevertheless, it had sent 
in a written request with more than fifty signatures that a 
series of twelve lessons should be given there, each signer 
promising to attend the course. Others had made threats of 



136 A PLOT UNCOVRRED. 

disturbing the meetings, and Mr. Little invited Judge Ban- 
croft to go out with him one evening. The night was dark 
and the roads muddy. There were some unruly demonstra- 
tions, but nothing to interrupt the meeting. But when he 
went out to mount his horse he discovered something wrong 
about his saddle. Calling for a light he found that a couple 
of sticks had been tied to his horse's tail, a stirrup had been 
loosened, and a pebble put under the saddle. His horse was 
young, and the design was to have the colt start up suddenly, 
throw the preacher and run away. But a good Providence 
uncovered the plot. " Revival after revival swept over that 
place," until it became a religious neighborhood, and was 
soon after chosen as the location of Granville College. 

The first temperance society of Granville was formed this 
year (1828), and so far as is known it was the first west of 
the Alleghanies. Mr. Little says: "On the 15th of July 
seventeen men remained at the close of a religious meeting, 
and organized themselves into a society of total abstinence 
from ardent spirits. [/. <"., distilled liquors.] The signers 
were almost frightened at themselves when the}- saw what 
they had done.'" At the end of the year there were eighty- 
six members of the society. Two merchants threw intox- 
icating liquors out of their list of goods, and buildings began 
to be raised without ardent spirits. 

"The falling off in the consumption of liquors was sufficient 
to alarm the interested, and such was the irritation at the close 
of 1828, among those who were suffering from the declension 
of drinking, and dancing too. that I did not attempt to collect 
for the New Year's Sermon the usual statistics of intemperance." 

The clock factory which had been established in St. Albans 
was la^moved to (iranville. 

In the spring of this year Timothy Spelman, Esq., died. 
Being with his daughter, Mrs. William Wing, her husband 
having a contract on the canal, he was taken in an epile])tic 
fit and fell in the fire, receiving such injuries, before he could 
be rescued, as resulted in his death. 



SEVENTEEN YEAR LOCUSTS. 



137 



Mr. Thomas H. Bushnell became County Surveyor and 
not long after removed to Newark. 

There were twenty-six deaths during the year ; of which 
were, Timothy Spehnan, Esq., April 21st, aged seventy-two; 
Deacon Amos Partridge, August 20th, aged fifty-two : Azariah 
Bancroft, October 25th, aged sixty. 

In 1829, the seventeen year locusts punctually renewed theii 
song, enjoyed their brief existence and departed for their 
mysterious haunt for another long term of silence. 

The school for young ladies, begun by Miss M. A. Howe, 
was continued by Miss Emma Little, who taught at one time 
in an unfinished chamber, and at another in the office of Dr. 

Cooley. 

September 21st, Elder G. C. Sedgwick, of Zanesville, laid 
the corner stone of the brick Baptist Church. It was 45 x 35 




feet, with a belfry ; a gallery on three sides so deep as to 
leave rather small space open in the center ; and a porch in 
front 10 X 20 feet. The bricks were laid by Thomas Evans. 
The windows were in two ranges, and the pulpit stood high 
like the other church, and like the other church it began to 
be used before it was finished. But it sufficed for very good 
meetings, revivals and a growing church. 
. We reproduce a view of this house to the best of our abil- 
18 



138 NEW BELL — TEMPERANCE. 

ity, having been assisted in it by Mr. Lucius Boardman, for- 
merly a Granville boy, and now residing in Springfield, 
Illinois. 

There were twenty-two deaths ; of whom was Mrs. Abigail 
Sturges, wife of Isaac Sturges, August 14th, aged thirty- 
seven. 

In 1830 a new bell, made in Pittsburgh, weight 794 pounds, 
cost, S358, was placed in the belfry of the Congregational 
Church. It was the first bell ever hung in the place, and 
made a marked impression on the punctuality of the audiences 
at public worship ; and as an arrangement was made to have 
it rung at certain hours every day it helped the entire com- 
munity to regularity. It was wont to be rung at five or 
six o'clock in the morning for a rising bell, at nine o'clock 
for school, at twelve o'clock for noon, and at nine o'clock in 
the evening for curfew. Sometimes a general subscription 
would provide for this expense and sometimes the citizens 
volunteered to ring by turns, a fortnight each. At first it 
was hung with a straight yoke, requiring the utmost exertion 
of a man's strength to ring it, and then it shook the tall 
steeple fearfully. 

Besides the Total Abstinence Society, now numbering 400 
members, there was a paper circulated among those who 
were willing to pledge themselves to abstinence only one 
year. In 1829 ^^ received ninety signatures, in 1830 only 
fifty-five. Whisky rations were stopped at the furnace and 
the consumption of spirits declined from six gallons to each 
inhabitant, to seven quarts. x\bout half a dozen broke their 
pledge, but renewed their promise again. At the close of 
the year 700 were pledged to abstinence. 

Two cabins remained in the village until about this time; 
one at the west end of town, at the foot of Sugar Loaf, and 
on Broad Street ; the other in the southeast part of town on 
the east side of Liberty Street, the home of Mr. Talada. 

At this time there lived at Deacon Winchel's, old Mrs. 
Santee, widow of a pensioner of the Revolutionary War. 



FEMALE SEMINARY. 139 

She had five fingers and a thumb on each hand and six toes 
on each foot. She had a son, William Gibbons, by a former 
marriage, who was marked in like manner. 

Mr. Charles Sawver undertook the erection of buildings 
for the use of the Baptist Female Seminary. Several lots 
were secured, fronting both on Broad and Water Streets, (^see 
chapter, Baptist Female Seminary). 

The deaths were twenty-two ; among them Samuel Thrall, 
February loth, aged forty-two, Mrs. Miriam Tvlunson, widow 
of Jesse Munson, March 5th, aged eighty-four. Mrs. Munson 
was one of the oldest females that came with the original 
colony. Mr. and Mrs. Munson, with their children and grand- 
children, probably constituted the largest family of residents 
ever represented in Granville. 



140 ANNALS, 1831-33. 



CHAPTER XXV. 

The next year witnessed the beginning of what is now 
Denison University, under Prof. John Pratt, (see chapter, 
Denison University.) 

About this time there came to visit the place a man greatly 
interested in infant schools, Rev. Eli Meeker. He brought 
with him a little child who sang sweetly and repeated much 
she had learned by rote. He lectured on the subject and 
gave exhibitions of the child's precocious attainments ; and 
notwithstanding the severity of his discipline, manifested 
even in public, he made a strong impression in favor of these 
child schools. It was not long before one was begun by one 
of the most successful and promising young lady teachers, 
Miss Samantha Stedman. It was afterward continued by 
Miss Chloe Harris, and still later was engrafted upon our 
Female Academy as its primary department, and in some of 
its distinctive features remains to this day. But the singing 
of lessons, and marching and clapping hands and much else 
of the kind have passed away. 

Mr. Bunker commenced the manufacture of an improved 
plow, (as related in chapter, Industrial Enterprises). 

Mr. Cornelius Devenney, a gentleman from Virginia, 
located just beyond the township line in McKean, though 
his social, religious and business relations were chiefly with 
Granville. 

Miss Mary Eells arrived from the East and took charge of 
the Ladies' School begun by Mr. Little's efforts. 

The dead of 183 1 were twenty-two ; of whom were Andrew 
Goldsbury, a young man, partner in the Clock Factory, Jan- 
uary 2d; Mary, wife of Lewis Sturges, February 28th, aged 
sixty-nine ; Noble Root, May 5th, aged fifty-one ; Israel Wells, 
April 3d, aged seventy-three ; Benjamin Cook, April 23d, 
aged sixty-eight; Mrs. Charles Sawyer, August loth, aged 



FIRST STOVES IN CHURCH. 141 

thirty-two; Mrs. William H. Brace^ September 29th, aged 
thirty-eight ; Mrs. Eunice Richards, the mother of Dr. Rich- 
ards, November 19th, aged seventy-seven. 

A noticeable fact of 1832 is the first warming of the large 
church by stoves on the first Sabbath of the year, which was 
a communion day and the occasion when sixty-seven united 
with the church. From time immemorial the congregation 
had attended two services a day, morning and afternoon, sit- 
ing in the cold. In the minds of some it was a desecration 
of God's house to put stoves in it. After decent resistance, 
however, the experiment was tried with two common-place 
box stoves. They stood in the center aisle ; one of them near 
the front door, with the pipe passing around under the edge 
of the gallery to the east and then the north the whole length 
of the church, being supported by the gallery pillars, and there 
it passed directly through the window on the north side of 
the house. Except the first few joints near the stove, the 
pipe was made of tin soldered in long strips. The other 
stove stood near the pulpit, the pipe passing westward to the 
gallery pillars, and thence the whole length of the church on 
the west side, making its exit through a south window. By 
and by the condensed smoke incommoded those who sat 
under the pipe by dropping down upon them. This was 
remedied by small tin troughs underneath the pipe with tiny 
conductors passing every few feet down the pillars and through 
the floor. It was a great improvement upon the cold church, 
but it did not banish the little foot stoves from the pews. 
One old gentleman who had opposed it strenuously as an 
unwarrantable innovation and refused to help defray the ex- 
penses, realized one cold day how sensible it was, and came 
to town early next morning with his money ready to help 
pay for it. Soon they improved the plan by carrying the two 
pipes to a drum in the center, a large pipe going thence 
directly up through the ceiling and the roof. This saved 
much inconvenience from the smoke. 

At this time the old military organization was at the height 



142 GENERAL MUSTER. 

of its glory, and the (Teneral Training Day was (jnite an in- 
stitntion. Those whose tastes led thcni to do so, became 
members of a uniformed independent company, and met their 
officers for drill with some frequency. The general muster 
brought out all these companies, and with them the militia, 
who drilled in citizens' dress ; some of the officers being in 
unilorm or wearing some insignia of their rank. The morn- 
ing of such a day was one of considerable excitement. 
Wagons came pouring into town loaded with men, women 
and children. Here and there was an officer or private in 
uniform, or a musician with his instrument. The square in 
the southeast part of town, south of Equality Street and east 
of Pearl, near the new cemetery, was an open common^ and 
served as a parade ground. There stalls were erected for the 
sale of ginger bread and home-made beer ; and they drove a 
thriving business. The forenoon was consumed in private 
drills, and attending to the business details of the several 
organizations. These drills would consist of the manual of 
arms, marching, counter-marching, forming hollow squares, 
etc.; one peculiar exercise being the forming, while rapidly 
marching in single file, of a circle around their officers for 
protection against a sudden charge of cavalry. The head of 
the column, on a double quick, would wind about a spiral 
curve inward to the center, the file following; then suddenly 
turning would pass outward between the inward winding 
lines, until the Captain would emerge again, all danger sup- 
posed to be past, and lead his company onward, the serpent 
coil unwinding until straight again. 

Early in the afternoon all were astir. The various com- 
panies, each from its rendezvous, came marching to the 
parade ground. There they were lormed in regiments by 
their Adjutants, and again the regiments into a brigade by the 
senior Colonel. The Colonel then waited upon the Brigadier 
General, escorting him to the field, and salutes were inter- 
changed. A speech would follow from some mounted officer, 
exhorting every man to do his duty. The line would then 



AN ADVENTURE. 143 

form in solid column, marching by platoons, to the music of 
the regimental band (or the Granville brass band), up Pearl 
Street, wheeling into Broad, and up Broad until halted in 
front of the stores. The commanding officer, with nodding 
plume and gay attire, riding a spirited steed, was at the head 
of the column, and scouting companies in full uniform flanked 
the column in single file, and brought up the rear in platoons. 
After brigade drill they were dismissed in companies, having 
made a strong impression on the beholders that the liberties 
of the country were safe in their keeping. Each Captain led 
his company away for further drill or business until dismissed 
for the day. 

The Baptists obtained their charter for the " Granville 
Iviterary and Theological Institution." [See special history.] 

The act of incorporation for the village of Granville passed 
both houses of the General Assembly, the Senate Jan. i6th 
and the House Jan. 26th. The act provided that upon the 
first Monday of May, annually, the electors (white male in- 
habitants) shall meet and elect by ballot, one Mayor, one 
Recorder, and five Trustees, freeholders, who shall constitute 
a Town Council. Col. Chauncy Humphrey was the first 
Mayor; Hon. Samuel Bancroft, Recorder ; Anthony P. Prich- 
ard. Dr. Wm. S. Richards, Dea. Gerard P. Bancroft, Maj. 

Grove Case, and , Trustees. May 8th, A. P. 

Prichard and Sam. Bancrolt were appointed a committee to 
draft a code of laws. May 14th, ladders and hooks to use in 
case of fire were ordered. May i6th, a committee of safety 
was appointed with power to examine chimneys, etc. Ordin- 
ances were passed to regulate public shows, remove nuisances, 
prevent the firing of guns, fast driving, intoxication, etc. 
June nth, an ordinance to restrain mischievous animals, etc. 

The " Deep Cut " on the canal was finished, and Granville 
was no longer the thoroughfare for travel it had been, though 
the stages passed through the village until the completion of 
the National Road to Columbus in the following year. 

A number of youngsters found their way one evening into 



14^ ACCESSIONS. 

the meeting house for some diversion or other & chmbed to the 
belfry. On their way up they locked behind thciii the upper 
passage door; & by some accident, in the thick darkness they 
dropped the key & could not recover it. There they were, 
helplessly locked in, not liking to call for aid — perhaps if they 
should call they would call in vain. After considering the sit- 
uation they concluded they must either stay there all night or 
descend the lightning rod. One of the most daring concluded 
to try the latter alternative. He grasped the rod & looked over. 
What if his strength should fail? What if his nerves should 
tremble? What if his head should swim? But over he went, 
clinging as closely to the rod as the lightning does, but descend- 
ing mu^h more slowly. Down he went until he could see noth- 
ing above, nothing below, over the edge of the roof, and still 
downward. But presently he came to a break in the rod which 
the boys had not before noticed. Filled with consternation he 
tried to get back again. Hand overhand he clambered upward, 
but it was too much for him. What should he do? Darkness 
yawned beneath him & he was rapidly making up his mind to 
be a better boy. There was no help for it — he must let go, what- 
ever happened. Expecting to break every bone in his body he 
descended to the end of the rod & measured his length below, 
& in despair let go & fell — two inches, breaking his good reso- 
lutions all to pieces. 

The Asiatic cholera was making progress westward, and 
menacing all the conntry along the canals. There were 
never any cases of it in the village of Granville, and bnt one 
or two in the township. 

Dr. Lyman Beecher, on his way from Boston to take the 
Chair of Theology in Lane Seminary, tarried here a few days 
and preached daily to an overflowing house. 

Efforts were made to change the county seat from Newark 
to Granville, but they were unsuccessful. 

Prof. Paschal Carter, a young man of twenty-five years of 
age, arrived and became a worthy co-adjutor of Prof. Pratt in 
the College, and a valuable citizen, [See chapter on Gran- 
ville College,] 

Another notable accession to the community was Horace 
Hamlin, [vSee chapter, Music Teachers,] 



A STAMPEDK. 145 

Mr. Andrew Merriman arrived and set up a shoe factory. 
[See Industrial Enterprises.] 

About this time two prominent features in our commercial 
life passed entirely away. Our merchants had for some years 
been buying up the cattle, hogs and horses of their custo- 
mers, sending the cattle, particularly, in droves over the 
mountains. It gave the farmers fresh incentives in one of 
their chief industries. The same energy brought back a 
greater reward ; and the merchants also in the greater de- 
mand felt the incentive to enlarge and improve their stock 
of goods. Cattle from the plains beyond also passed through 
the village, creating demand for feed. These droves knew 
no Sabbath. Sometimes it happened they would be passing 
through town on Sunday morning when the bells were ring- 
ing for church, and occasionally it would cause a stampede. 
The unaccustomed sound would seem to bewilder the whole 
drove. They would hesitate, look every way, grow excited 
and fearful ; some would turn in their tracks and rush back; 
the drivers would ride among them, and with shouting and 
blows seek to turn them forward again. If they did not soon 
succeed, the whole herd would be galloping back in an irre- 
sistible tide. The peculiar, tremulous motion of the great, 
dense herd, like miniature billows of the sea, the rising clouds 
of dust, the peril of their drivers and of all who might be 
caught before their blind, impetuous rush, made it a spectacle 
of true sublimity. 

The demand for merchandise had made demand for trans- 
portation. This brought to our village the visits of the great 
Pennsylvania land schooners. They were immense covered 
wagons, built for carrying great loads, and were drawn by 
four or six horses. The teamsters prided themselves on 
making a grand display. Each horse was richly caparisoned 
and bore over his shoulders an arch of little bells. The 
driver always drove the " nigh wheel horse," (nearest the 
wagon on the left hand). Sitting in state, swaying to and 
fro witli every step of the gigantic animal, guiding his 
19 



146 METEORIC SHOWERS. 

" leaders" with a .siii.^ie loiif^ line, the great stately, tower- 
ing ark following majestically behind ; the air meanwhile 
loaded with the tinkling of two or three dozen bells; he 
made a sight to behold. Youngsters waited on his track 
with staring eyes and gaping mouth, until he drew up before 
the door at his destination. There was an advertisement 
that new goods had come to town that modern enter- 
prise might well envy. Doors had to be locked to keep 
people out until goods could be arranged, although calico was 
fifty cents a yard. 

The deaths were twenty-eight ; among them Isaac Sturges, 
December 21st, aged fifty-one. 

In 1833, was erected the two-story frame Academy building 
at the southwest corner of Main and Fair Streets, with a stone 
basement room used many years as a prayer and conference 
room by the Congregational Church. The rooms above were 
used by the Academy. [See special chapters.] 

Mr. Chauncy Humphrey erected the three-story frame 
building in which for years he carried on the tinning busi- 
ness. It was long the only three-story building in the place. 
The frame was put uj) by ly. Kushnell, on a contract, for $300. 

The one hundred and six subscribers who had constructed 
the feeder extension, petitioned the Legislature to take 
possession of it, keep it in repair and collect tolls, in all 
regards as they did with the rest of the canal works, which 
petition was acceded to. 

Certain contracts of business firms at this time show that 
the canal and this extension was of benefit to (iranville. 
Mower & Co. contracted to deliver in Cleveland 270 bbls. of 
prime pork at #7.50 per bbl., and 90 cents for transportation. 
The same firm at the same time contracted for 300 bbls. salt 
to be delivered to themselves. 

On the morning of Wednesday, Nov. 13th, occurred the 
memorable ])henonienon of the Meteoric vShower. There 
were none of the sharp reports or bursting balls or auroral 
waves observed elsewhere. It was but the quiet, gentle, 



STREETS OF GRANVILLE. 147 

beautiful, prolonged rain of glowing sparks that died as they 
neared or touched the ground. Here, there, everywhere, 
they fell like lighted snow-flakes at the gentle beginning of 
a snow storm, each leaving a fine luminous track behind it. 
The morning bell was rung rather boisterously in the hope of 
waking people up to see the sublime spectacle. Some were 
panic stricken and expected the end of the world. One old 
lady rose, went into the street and shouted in terror. But 
most of the people appreciated it at once as an unusual 
natural phenomenon. It was a season of rapt enjoyment 
until the display was lost in the rising day. 

About this time, the bridge over Raccoon on the Columbus 
road became unsafe, the planks were torn up, and only a line 
of them for the use of footmen was left. It is said that 
Leveret Butler returning home late one dark night, not 
knowing the condition of the bridge and unconscious of his 
danger, was borne safely across the planks by his old white 
horse. Next morning the tracks verified the fact. 

The following lines, written by Mr. George Bliss, who so- 
journed here temporarily at the time, will show how our 
streets appeared to stranger eyes. The original ode had nine 
stanzas : 

" Hail! widely famed Granville, illustrious town, 
The residence both of the fop and the clown; 
Of greatness and littleness, beauty and worth, 
And all the strange things that abide upon earth. 

" How oft down thy sidewalks so artfully laid, 
As down silver streets I have carelessly strayed; 
I've stood and securely looked down on the mud, 
That fain would have spattered me o'er if it could. 

" Here Liberty walks in her native array, 
And flashes abroad the effulgence of day. 
She lights up the path of the swine which we meet. 
Of sheep and of cattle which herd in the street. 

" By the side of the temple where worshipers go, 
A fountain stands open, nor ceases to flow. 
Where the goose and the duck hold their revels by day. 
And the bull frog at night sings his musical lay." 



148 ARRIVALS. 

Mr. David Partridge arrived from Vermont, and with him 
Messrs. Seth Wetherell, Seymour Wood, and a Mr. Jordan. 

Rev. Henry Carr began preaching to the Baptist Church 
July 27th, the first pastor whose entire time was given to the 
church. 

There were nineteen deaths during the year. Horatio G. 
Mower, March 29th, aged thirty-two ; Matthew H. Critchet, 
April ist, aged fifty; Mrs. Joshua Linnel, August 2d, aged 
forty-two; Asahel Griffin, November ist,aged sixty-six ; Mrs. 
Sereno Wright, jr., December ist, aged twenty. 



ANNALS, 1834. 149 



CHAPTER XXVI. 

The year 1834 was a memorable one for Granville. The 
year opened with great apparent prosperity. Tlie season 
was an early one, all nature smiling in verdure, and giving 
great promise of harvests. The Rev. George Denison began 
his labors with the Episcopal Church in February, so that all 
the churches were enjoying regular means of grace. The 
schools were flourishing. Two efficient men at the head of 
the Literary and Theological Institute were carrying it 
forward to success. Misses Grant and Bridges came in June 
and took charge of the Female Academy, and it found its new 
home in the building prepared for it. There were between 
seventeen and eighteen hundred inhabitants in the township. 
Money was circulating in quantities sufficient to make 
business easy, and our business men were prosperous. 

But now begins a great reverse. Mr. Little enumerates 
no less than seven distinct forms of chastisement in which 
Providence visited the place, some of them common to a 
larger section, or the whole country ; others circumscribed to 
Granville and its vicinity. 

The first of these was financial embarrassments. These 
had two leading causes ; one general, the other local. The 
general cause was the disturbed system of banking in the 
country ; the other, the death of Col. Lucius D. Mower and 
the settling up of his large estate. 

Mr. Mower was born at Barre, Massachusetts, May i, 1793. 
He was in early life a carpenter, and while he lived he was the 
most competent and sagacious business man that Granville 
produced. He naturally went to the front, whether with his 
brothers, his business associates or his fellow citizens. He was 
foremost among his peers. He was a practical man, a man of 
energy, quick to decide, and fitted to command. He would get 
down, if necessary, among his workmen on the ground to ex- 
amine the lower valves of his bellows, or he could exhibit the 



1 50 FROST — DROUTH — FLOOD. 

most gentlemanly manners in social life. He was of medium 
stature, slight build, and sanguine temperament. Nothing 
waited where his presence was felt. His energy quickened 
every movement of those about him, and those who served him 
had to move with animation and intelligence. He was the 
oldest in a large family of brothers and sisters, all of whom 
died of consumption. Failing health at last led him to seek 
vmavailingly for recuperation in the climate of Florida. He 
died at St. Augustine at the age of forty-one years. 

For years Mr. Mower had been a leading man of bnsiness 
in the community. His sagacity had guided the Furnace 
Company to success, and his energy had driven forw^ard oair 
mercantile enterprises. Other men followed hard after him, 
but he can scarcely be said to have had an equal. When his 
living influence was withdrawn from business circles, pro- 
duction and trade both felt the privation. But more than 
this, the withdrawal of a large amount of capital from use, 
and of money from circulation in the settlement of his estate, 
seriously affected the people, until other energies could step 
in and a partial return of the capital be effected. 

Another visitation was the heavy frost which fell upon 
this region on the night of the 15th of May. The corn, the 
early wheat, and almost all the fruit were destroyed ; the 
blackberry, wild cherry, and a few currants being the only 
varieties of fruit, large or small, wild or cultivated, that 
offered any supply. Many wheat fields were plowed up or 
turned to pasture, and the corn had to be re-planted. 

A third calamity was the drouth which immediately 
followed the frost, no rain falling until July. The streams 
almost vanished and the upland pastures and crops were 
drying up. The water in the feeder did not suffice for trans- 
portation purposes. 

A fourth was the flood — the memorable flood ! After 
nearly seven weeks of drouth, the wheat that the frost had 
left was turning yellow, the re-planted corn that grew on the 
bottom lands was getting ready to top out, and a few had 
commenced work in their scanty meadows. On the night 



THE FLOOD. 151 

following the ist of July, about eleven o'clock, the rain began 
to pour down in frightful torrents, and so continued for two 
hours. For two hours more it fell moderately. There was 
one continuous glare of lightning and roar of thunder. The 
reflection on the ground revealed the appearance of a lake of 
waters. The lightning seemed to run in all directions over 
the ground. One who had freight delayed in the lock below 
for want of water to float it, had been heard the afternoon 
before, standing on the weight beam of the lock, after an 
ineffectual attempt to float the boat upon the upper level, 
to wish it might rain for twenty-four hours as hard as it 
rained at Noah's flood. The severity of the rain that followed 
made a deep and serious impression upon him in connection 
with his expressed wish. The hands at the night work of the 
furnace had to stop and protect the works from the rising 
waters. The moulding floor was flooded. The water was so 
high the water wheel would not work. The blast was 
checked, and the full charged furnace was in danger of 
cooling off and being ruined. Nothing more was seen of 
that boat in the lock, or its freight. The region over which 
this rain fell extended thirty miles up and down the valley, 
and twelve miles across it, Granville being in the center and 
experiencing the heaviest fall. Every vessel out of doors 
was full, so that no accurate measurement of the fall could 
be made. It was variously estimated from one to three 
feet. In the morning the banks of the stream were crowded 
by people gazing on the wonder. The entire bottom was 
flooded. South of the village the Raccoon had spread so as 
to flow a few rods into the burial lot. There the citizens 
stood and saw trees, shrubs, rails, crops, domestic animals, 
timbers, boards, everything that could float, rushing madly 
by with the turbid waters, and without means to remedy or 
save. Dams gave way, locks on the canal left their moorings, 
bridges were floated from their piers. In some places the 
stream was nearly a mile wide, and if bounded by hills within 
a narrower bed, it went rolling by like a great river. When 



152 FLOOD AND SICKNKSvS. 

the water subsided it left a wide track spread with desolation. 
It was swept bare of fences, and one could ride through the 
farms for miles. Here and there was an accumulation of 
driftwood, weeds and rails, the pile all soaked through with 
muddy water. Farmers were searching for rails, some 
claiming they could tell their own rails by the timber, or by 
the peculiar manner of setting the iron wedge in splitting 
them. Others would claim whatever lodged on their own 
land. By this last rule probably some of the plantations 
below New Orleans fared as well as some of the farms along 
the valley ; and the man who took them by the other gen- 
erally drew a laugh upon himself for his conceit. 

The next judgment was the sickness. The months of 
July and August were unusually warm. The filth of the 
flood lay scattered over the bottom lands reeking in the sun. 
Miasm loaded the air, it entered the homes of the people by 
day and by niglit, they labored in it, slept in it, ate in it, 
traveled, visited, lii'cd in it, and without remedy. vSickness 
began to increase immediately. By the ist of September 
out of four hundred and fifty inhabitants of the village, one 
hundred and forty were sick with the fever. Some entire 
families were down. Mr. Asher's family of eight were all 
sick at once; both i^arents and two children died. In Mr. 
Little's family of eight, all were sick, but not all at once, 
and three of them died. All of Mr. Starr's family were sick 
save one. The same was true of L- Bushnell's family and 
also of L. IC. Bancroft's On the 5th of September there 
were five deaths. The first Sabbath of October, it being 
communion Sabbath, so many were sick that no meeting- 
was held The Town Council ordered that the church bells 
should no more be tolh d for deaths and funerals according to 
the custom, because the continual tolling drove business 
away from the town. The order was obeyed, but it had an 
effect contrary to that intended; for word at once went out that 
the mortality of the place was such that they dared not toll the 
bell, and people staid away more than ever. The physicians 



SPIRITUAL DECLENSION. 153 

were worn out and agreed to take the streets in turn, and 
call at every house. Some of the streets having fewer on 
the sick list than others, they could alternately snatch a little 
rest. All schools in the village or within a mile of the 
village were stopped. The morning, noon and evening bells 
ceased to ring because the noise was painful to the sick. 
The streets were deserted of all save the short funeral pro- 
cessions of ten or a dozen followers, and silence reigned 
everywhere but for the moans of the sick and the wails of 
the sorrowing. During the year there were eighty-five 
deaths. 

In the midst of the sickness. Rev. Dr. Cooley, pastor at 
Old Granville, who was then sixty-two years of age, visited 
the colony that twenty-nine years before had gone out from 
his flock. The meeting was a sad one, inasmuch as he found 
them suffering, sick and dying. But his ministrations at the 
sick bed side and at the burial of friends was most comfort- 
ing to them. On departing he received from them the gift 
of a young horse all fitted out for his horseback ride home. 

The other two inflictions of which Mr. Little speaks are 
of a moral nature, one of them being an unusual religious 
declension. His observation is that times of great sickness 
are distracting to the mind. Care, anxiety, watching, 
irregularity do not foster habits of religious duty. That 
which brings us near to eternity does not always make us 
spiritually minded. 

That which he mentions last needs to be told in Mr. 
Little's own words, or to some, and at this day, it might not 
appear so plainly an infliction of evil. It was the intro- 
duction of the anti-slavery agitation. His objection to it is 
not to the fac I, but the mamier of its introduction. 

Mr. Thomas Jones, whos.e sons have taken a prominent 
position in our community, arrived from Pennsylvania, 
coming two years previously from Wales. Mr. Ebenezer 
Partridge also came to the place from Vermont. The brothers 
James and Eliphelet Follett, also from Vermont, arrived and 
20 



154 DEATHS. 

went into the dairy business on the Fassett farms, pushing 
the business with energy. Mr. John Parker, a brother-in- 
law, followed them the next year. 

Among the eighty-five deaths were, Wm. H. Brace, Jan- 
uary 2oth, aged thirty-seven; Joseph Linnel, Sen., January 
2ist, aged seventy-nine; Eliphas Thrall, March i5tli, aged 
sixty-six; Elder James Berry, July 29th, aged thirty-six; Wm. 
Paige, September 26th; John Starr, September 21st, aged 
forty-six; Mrs. Lucy Little, wife of Rev. Jacob Little, October 
2d, aged thirty; John Asher, December 14th, aged forty-five; 
Lucius D. Mower, at St. Augustine, Florida, Wednesday, 
February 19th, aged forty-one; John Starr, vSeptember 21st, 
aged forty-five. 



ANNALS, 1835-39. 155 



CHAPTER XXVII. 

The events of 1835 come chiefly into some special chapter. 
It was the year of the formation of the Welsh Methodist 
Church. [Which see.] It was the year of the noted burg- 
lary, which led to the detection of the perpetrator, and the 
cessation of a series of burglaries that had been going on for 
some time. [See Our Criminal Record.] Rev. Edmund 
Garland arrived from Maine and commenced the Male Acad- 
emy. [Which see.] It was the year of Mr. Theodore D. 
Weld's visit to Granville. [See Anti-Slavery Excitement.] 
February 19th, the charter for Granville Female Seminary 
was given. [Which see.] 

About this time appeared a new and very taking invention 
in the Reflector Baker. It was made of tin, and had two re- 
flecting surfaces, which, as it stood before the fire, threw the 
heat from alcove and below upon a pan and its contents in 
the middle. It would bake bread, johnny-cake and pies, 
roast a turkey or other meats, warm up a meal, and perform 
other culinary operations neatly and promptly. It greatly 
relieved the tedium of cooking before an open fire, and re- 
mained in vogue until the cooking stoves and heating stoves 
banished the old-fashioned open fire-place. 

The deaths were thirty-seven ; among them, Mrs. Daniel 
Shepardson, March 25th, aged fifty-one; Charles French, 
July 25th, aged forty-five ; Mrs. Clarissa Palmer, a missionary 
among the Cherokees, who, failing in health, was on her way 
from her mission station to friends in the East, when she 
reached Granville and could proceed no further, dying 
September 8th, aged fifty ; Mrs. P. W. Taylor, December 
31st, aged thirty-one; Luna, wife of Ormond Rose, Decem- 
ber 28th, aged forty ; Deacon Lemuel Rose, September 13th, 
aged seventy-one. 

He was of no more than medium stature and rather mus- 
cular. His characteristic was firmness in his adherence to 



156 THK MEETING- IIOUSK RKPAIRKD. 

right. While the pulpit was vacant, after Mr. Jinks' term 
of service, as the audience one Sabbath came into church to 
hear a sermon read, they found the deacons examining a 
stranger to see if it would do to invite him to preach. They 
finally allowed him to take his stand below the pulpit and 
begin service. He had proceeded but a little way when 
something dropped from his lips which they did not approve. 
Deacon Rose immediately sprang to his feet, saying : "'There ! 
that will do! no more! you need not preach any further!" 

And stop he had to, while the deacons proceeded to con- 
duct an orthodox meeting by reading a printed sermon. 

The next year, 1836, was that of the Anti-vSlavery State 
Convention, and the mob that .sought to break it u]). [vSee 
Anti-Slavery Excitement.] 

The dead were thirty-nine ; of whom were, Mrs. Alfred 
Avery, January 24th, aged thirty-three ; Mrs. Samuel Mower, 
March loth, aged sixty-nine ; Mrs. Patty Nichol, March 12th, 
aged fifty ; Major Grove Case, April 4th, aged fifty-seven ; 
Mr. Enoch Graves, April 15th, aged sixty-nine ; Mrs. Deacon 
Walter Griffith, May 21st, aged fifty-nine; Deacon Ebenezer 
Pratt, September 5th, aged eighty-five ; Daniel Baker, Esq., 
December 19th, aged seventy-three ; Frederick Cook, Sep- 
tember 15th, aged thirty-six; Sarah, wife of Benjamin Cook, 
September 19th, aged seventy-three; Byron Playes, March 
6th, aged thirty-five. 

In 1837, the Congregational meeting house was repaired at 
an expense of $1,500. The old steeple was cut down about 
twelve feet, all that surmounted the belfry being taken away. 
This, being considered a very difficult undertaking, was suc- 
cessfully accomplished by Nathan Phelps, with the help of 
Star Sturges, in two days. The old belfry was simply capped 
over with a dome covered with tin. The chief changes were 
in the audience room. The pulpit was cut down to half its 
former height, the window back of it was closed up entirely, 
the space being covered inside by a piece of Roman archi- 
tecture ; columns, two .square and two round and fluted, 
standing on the platform, were surmounted by an entablature 



THE FIRST PIANO. 157 

with few ornaments. The seat of the pulpit was a sofa, 
made by Mr. Freeman Haskell. The galleries were lowered 
in front, the ceiling nnderneath falling from the wall, where 
it barely cleared the tops of the lower windows, to the sup- 
porting pillars about two feet. The face of the galleries 
being also considerably less in height than the old one, the 
entire audience could look the minister face to face without 
obstruction. The face was an open balustrade of turned 
pilasters, behind which was stretched a continuous piece of 
crimson camlet. The pews also gave place to slips, which 
were a trifle over six feet long. Of this audience room. Dr. 
Little, on a leaf found among his papers, says : " It had the 
mechanic philosophy of the seats around the Grecian games ; 
one row of heads rising above another, so that everybody 
could see everybody. The speaker not needing to look up or 
down, was about equally at home with all his hearers. It 
was the best speaking arrangement in the State, if [not] in 
the United States." 

The house then began to be warmed by two furnaces in the 
basement, which were great box stoves enclosed in brick 
walls. 

In 1837, the Female Academy obtained its first piano. 
The agent being East soliciting funds, uninstructed, pur- 
chased the piano and sent it out. When it arrived " it was an 
elephant on their hands." The Trustees had no room for it, no 
teacher ready to give instruction, and probably no scholars 
ready to take lessons. Two of them went to Mr. H. Hamlen, 
and proposed he should take it into his house and give lessons. 
He replied that the extent of his knowledge of the piano was 
that he once heard one that was being played as he passed a 
house in Boston. He had never tried to play one. Rut the 
Trustees would not take no for answer, so the instrument 
went to his house. He was then giving lessons in vocal 
music once a week in Lancaster. A gentlemen was there 
giving lessons on the piano. Mr. Hamlen procured an old 
instruction book, received one lesson a week, and returning 



158 SHIN- PLASTERS. 

home handed it over at once to eight yonng lady pupils. That 
was the beginning of the Granville Conservatoire of Music. 

Knowles Linnel being Mayor and Samuel Bancroft, Re- 
corder, the Town Council authorized the issue of " corpora- 
tion promissory notes" ("shin plasters") of the denomina- 
tions of 50c., 25c., i2}^c, IOC, 6^4^c., and 5c., the total 
amount of issue not to exceed $1000; to be signed by the 
Mayor, and to be redeemable at his office in current Ohio 
bank notes, on demand. They were issued, as they were by 
all other corporations around, to facilitate trade, because of 
the exceeding scarcity of silver money. They answered a 
good purpose temporarily, and in due time were redeemed 
and passed out of use. 

There were thirty-eight deaths during the year ; of whom 
were, Mrs. Ruhama Hayes, wife of Deacon Hayes, by acci- 
dent, July 4th, aged seventy-one; Mr. Sherlock Mower, July 
14th, aged forty; Mr. Lucius Cook, of small-pox — escaping 
from his keepers in delirium he ran without clothing two 
miles before he could be taken, grew immediately worse and 
died, May 19th; Miss Abigail S. Smith, a teacher in the 
Female Seminary, May 19th, aged nineteen ; Mrs. Miriam 
C. Nye, June 21st, aged twenty-six; Margaret Benjamin, 
January 17th, aged ninety-five. 

In 1838, the Episcopalians com]:)leted and occupied their 
house of worship. It was a frame structure, erected on the 
southeast corner of the public square, 64 x 54 feet, with a 
steeple. It was finished exteriorly in imitation of granite 
blocks, and the interior finish was an advance upon that of 
the other churches. The basement contained a very con- 
venient vestry room. The audience room had a gallery 
across the north end over the front door, which was furnished 
with a small pipe organ, the first and for a long time the only 
one in the place. Tliere were seatings for 350 persons. The 
architect was a Mr. Morgan, who about tiie same time erected 
the residence of Mr. Alfred Avery, now Mr. E. M. Downer's, 
The first stucco work done in the place was upon thiscluirch 



A SEVERE DROUTH. 159 

and by Mr. Orren Bryant, who came to Granville in 1835, ^"^^ 
afterward lived a short distance this side of Alexandria. [For 
a view of this church, see 1885.] 

The Baptists dnring the year pnt a bell of large size in 
their belfry ; and the Episcopalians having mounted one not 
long after, the three church bells began to ring their Sabbath 
peals in unison, and so continued to do for a long time. 

Dr. E. F. Bryan and family arrived in Granville from 
Akron, in November. The canal closed the day after their 
goods arrived in Newark. It was difficult at that time to 
rent a dwelling, and they spent the winter in two rooms of 
Esq. Thrall's house. In the spring, Rev. Henry Carr shared 
his house with them, and in the fall they found accommoda- 
tions in the house of Dr. Paul Eager. 

The year was remarkable for another severe drouth, little 
rain falling for nine months Crops throughout the State 
were short and produce rose to fabulous prices. The public 
springs, the wells and cisterns were often dry. This state of 
things led to the digging of the public wells and the con- 
struction of a cistern which might be used in case of fires. 

The deaths were twenty-nine ; among them, Lewis Sturges, 
Jan. 6th, aged eighty-one ; Capt. G. Werden, Feb. 2d, aged 
sixty-two; Mrs. Susanna Graves, Feb. 2d, aged ninety-one; 
Samuel Mower, Mar. 7th, aged seventy-one ; Martin Root, 
Mar. 19th, aged fifty-six ; Mrs. Ruth, wife of Dea. S. Winchel, 
Apr. 19th, aged sixty-one; Dea. Leonard Bushnell, May ist, 
aged forty-five ; Capt. Josiah Graves, July 5th, aged sixty- 
five; Mrs. Prudence Tyler, July 7th, aged forty-five. 

In 1839, the Episcopalians purchased the Female Seminary 
of the Baptists. [See School Histories.] 

The deaths of the year were twenty-three, of whom were, 
Mrs. Roswell Graves, Mar. 13th, aged seventy-six ; Mrs. Wm. 
Gavitt, Apr. i8th, aged seventy-four; Stephen Carmichael, 
July 2ist, aged sixty-five; Jno. Phelps, Sept. 24th, aged 
sixty. 



1(30 ANNALS, 1840-50. 



CHAPTKR XXVIII. 

The year 1840 was probably never equalled as a year of 
political excitement. Granville was almost exclusively Whig 
in its predilections. Such processions, mass meetings and 
illuminations were never had in this place before or since. 
Harrison, the Whig candidate for President, being an Ohio 
man, the buckeye flourished as a badge of his party. A long 
procession went over to Etna to meet " Tom Corwin, the 
Wagoner Boy," the candidate for Governor, and escort him 
hither. Frequent mass meetings called for long processions 
and impressive displays. Each section vied with another. 
Canoes, whole trunks of trees fifty feet long, artisans' shops, 
log cabins, were borne along on wheels with banners and 
flags without nun ber. Songs were sung endlessly. Bands 
of music were in constant requisition, from the brass band to 
the marrow bones. Infants in their cribs would " 'Rah for 
Tip ! " A liberty pole, jointed like a ship mast, and again 
with bands of iron, and again and again, and topping out with 
a fishing rod and a long streamer, towered 270 feet on the 
village square. On the 4th of July a procession of carriages 
and wagons went to the county seat to meet other similar 
processions from all parts of the county, so long that when 
the van reached Newark the rear was only just passed from 
Granville. Justin Hillyer, Jr., John Huggins, and Chas. 
W. (xunn were the marshals of the day for the Granville 
section of the procession. As insignia they wore buck- 
eye hats with a string of buckeye balls for hat bands. 
Buckeye canes were without number. One banner bore the 
device of a flourishing Buckeye tree growing from a bank. 
VanBuren stood below on tip-toe vainly endeavoring to reach 
the fruit. Harrison stood on the bank above within easy 
reach of them, with his arms folded, cautioning him not to 
touch them — they would give him the staggers. A log 



LOG CABIN PARADE. 161 

cabin about 8x15 feet, built on two sets of great milling 
wheels with improvised axles, with a live coon chained on 
the roof, gourds and other belongings of the primitive cabin 
hanging or lying around, headed the procession, drawn by 
thirteen yoke of oxen, each ox bearing a flag with the name 
of a State thereon ; the oldest man in the township, Mr. 
Roswell Graves, driving the leading teams, and Mr. David 
Partridge having charge. When the election was over an 
evening of rejoicing was appointed. All the preceding day 
preparations went forward. Teams were dragging loads of dry 
wood to the top of Sugar Loaf for a bonfire. Another was made 
ready on the town square. Candles in great profusion were 
prepared,and when darkness came all were lighted up. Almost 
every window on Broad Street was ablaze, some with a light 
glowing at every pane of glass. This was the last demon- 
stration of the campaign. 

It had a sad extreme of contrast in the following year. 
Harrison only lived to perform the duties of his office a 
month when the Nation was clad in the habiliments of 
mourning. Granville came together again in mass meeting, 
in the Congregational Church, which was shrouded in black, 
to listen to a funeral oration pronounced by Dr. Going of the 
Theological Institute. The following hymn was sung on the 
occasion : 

" O, weep for the day when our hero departed! 

When he whom we loved, left this earthly abode; 
He came at our call, but the patriot kind hearted, 
Has left us and flown to the presence of God! 

" Fame pointed her finger, the nation enraptured 
Called loudly upon him, he heard to obey; 
He fought for his country, our enemy captured, 
Death heard our exulting, and called him away! 

"He sleeps now in silence; a nation is weeping; 

He hears not the sound of the slow muffled bell; 
In death's cold embrace he is silently sleeping, 
The people in sorrow are tolling his knell." 

To whom they are to be accredited is not now known. 



162 MARDI (iRAS. 

Maj. Elisha Warren became State Representative, and 
Daniel Humphrey, Ksq., Prosecuting Attorney, both being 
citizens of this place. 

The deaths were twenty-one ; of them, Rev. Solon Putnam, 
May 19th, aged thirty-three, a relative ot Rev. S. A. Bronson. 

In 1841, occurred a pleasant little episode in our humdrum 
life. The two academies, male and female, teachers and 
scholars, went in procession of carriages to visit the aborig- 
inal works five miles distant, having tables prepared for a 
pic-nic dinner. Half a dozen orations were delivered by the 
boys, a;jd the works were thoroughly explored. 

This was the year of the winding up of the military 
parades of Granville. Perhaps the excited processions, and 
parades, and campaigning of the year before had sated the 
minds of the people ; or perhaps the freedom and hilarity of 
the proceedings of 1840 had unfitted them for the discipline 
of military life. At any rate military drill was out of the 
question. Homer Werden was captain of a militia com- 
pany, and had prepared a becoming uniform for his position. 
On the day appointed for drill he was on hand and mustered 
his company, but they were too much for him. His lieu- 
tenant bore a butcher's cleaver for a sword, and a length of 
stove pipe for its scabbard ; his color-bearer, some nameless 
article on a bean pole for a flag; his men of the line were 
armed with bean poles and laths for muskets, and every con- 
ceivable paraphernalia was brought out to make a ridiculous 
appearance. The captain humored the joke, led his tatter- 
demalions around the streets to the amusement of the 
villagers, and then disbanded them. 

August 8th, an ordinance was passed by the Town Council 
forbidding the selling of intoxicating liquors of any kind in 
less quantities than one quart. 

There were twenty-three deaths ; of them, William Smed- 
ley, February 12th, aged fifty-two; Mrs. Andrew Merriman, 
March nth, aged thirty-six; George Case, May 23d, aged 
fifty; Hezekiah Kilbourn, November 22d, aged fifty-one; 



TAKING IN PART OF THE STREETS. 163 

Electa Pond, September 19th, aged twenty-eight ; Jonathan 
Benjamin, August 26th, aged one hundred and three. 

September 19th, 1842, Rev. Edmund Turney became the 
pastor of the Baptist Church. 

March 25th, an ordinance was passed by the Town Council, 
permitting the taking in of twenty-two feet on Broad Street, 
ten feet on Main Street, and six feet on other streets, in front 
of each lot, to be used only as a grass plat, or for setting out 
plants, or shrubbery of low growth, the owners being re- 
quired to make a gravel, brick or stone walk, twelve feet 
wide on Broad Street, eight on Main Street and six on the 
other streets, and to set out a row of trees in line, twelve 
inches inside the outer line of the walk, with suitable pro- 
tection, and to fence the ground taken in according to pre- 
scribed pattern or in a manner acceptable to the Council. 

Corn sold for 25 cents, eggs at 6^ cents, hay ;^5, wool 45 
cents, oats 25 cents, apples 25 cents. 

The deaths were twenty-seven, of whom were Mrs. Azariah 
Bancroft, January 29th, aged seventy-two; Benjamin Mower, 
May 2ist, aged thirty; Wm S. Martin, August i6th, aged 
thirty; Mrs, Dr. Sylvester Spelman, September 13th, aged 
forty-six; David Pittsford, September 30th, aged eighty. 

In 1843, Mr. Thomas Blanchard was a County Commis- 
sioner, and Hon. Samuel White our State Senator. 

About this time occurred an incident that might at first 
sight seem more appropriately chronicled under the chapter, 
" Fatal Accidents." It seems there had sprung up a little 
rivalry that was rather jealous than generous, between the 
college boys, the college being then on the farm, and those 
of the village, as they competed for the favors of the fair. 
One day the village young men had arranged a pleasure ride, 
and perhaps with a spice of triumph in their plan, their 
drive was past the college. The collegians saw them pass 
and understood the little chuckle that nestled under their 
vests, and quietly arranged a salute for them when they 
should return. All the hats, handkerchiefs and flags that 



164 A COLUEGK TRAXK. 

could be manned were made ready for service. All the 
windows of the upper building that stood on top of the hill 
fifty rods from the road were thrown open. Heads and some- 
times feet protruded. Long and vigorous was the wavmg 
of signals as the carriages drew near. The compliment was 
duly acknowledged from the road. But in the midst of the 
hilarity, one who sat in an upper window with head and feet 
outside, and who seemed more anxious to attract notice 
than the rest, was seen to lose his balance and fall to the 
ground. In an instant every signal was lowered, every voice 
was hushed, and the students pouring from their rooms, 
gathered around and tenderly bore the crushed form of their 
companion within the building. The young men in the 
carriages giving the lines to their fair companions, hastened 
up the hill to proffer their sympathy and aid. Breathless 
with the haste of climbing they neared the building; allwas 
as still as the grave. As they entered the hall there sat u])on 
the lower steps of the stairway a stuffed paddy of very 
comical appearance, his lelt thumb pinned to his nose and 
his fingers wide-spread and his right hand likewise in posi- 
tion, but all stone still. Instantly perceiving that they were 
hoaxed, they seized the image and tore it to bits; and as 
little dogs feeling the first movings of the instinct for hunt- 
ing, when out looking for a rabbit, come upon a little black 
cat with a white tail, and suddenly leave the scene of their 
exploits, dropping their tails between their legs; so the boys 
suddenly bethought them how pleasant it would be to be at 
home. They started briskly down the hill for their carriages, 
while behind them rose an uproaious peal of laughter from 
the other paddies, every window becoming vocal again with 
renewed mirth. 

During the year twenty-eight died ; of whom were. Captain 
Simeon Chester, February 25th, aged seventy-six; Mrs. Curtis 
Howe, July 8th, aged seventy-one; Julius Coleman, November 
24th, aged sixty-one. 

In 1844, there was a band of music called " The Buckeye 



TIIK BUCKKYE MINSTRia.S. 165 

Minstrels," that is eminently worthy of mention. The 
members were all young men. The instruments were violins, 
violoncellos, double bass viol, flutes, piccolo, guitar and tri- 
angle. The music was rapid, well executed, and "just 
delicious." The members were Shephard Hamlin, who 
played the guitar or bass viol; Joseph Little, flute; Horatio 
Avery, flute ; Frank Avery, flute ; Douglas Hovey, piccolo ; 
Munson Hillyer, violin ; Curtis Hillyer, violin ; Levi Stone, 
violin ; Wm. Grow, triangle ; and a Mr. Kaker, a student, bass 
viol or flute ; all expert performers, true amateurs ; and they 
practiced together until their music seemed perfect. 

There were twenty-five deaths this year; among them, P. 
W. Taylor, Jan. 27th, aged forty-one ; Rev. G W. Griffith, 
Feb. 8th, aged thirty ; (Little) David Thomas, Aug. 24th, 
aged eighty-three ; John Bynner, Nov. 2d, aged fifty-nine ; 
Rev. Jonathan Going, D.D., President of Granville College, 
Nov. 9th, aged fifty-eight. 

In 1845, the name of the Literary and Theological Institu- 
tion was changed to Granville College. 

The bell of the Congregational Church being cracked was 
replaced by one weighing 1064 lbs., at a cost of $190. 

The road toward Columbus was changed as it leaves town, 
going less abruptly down the hill from the foot of Case 
Street. 

The deaths were twenty-three. 

In 1846, the seventeen-year locusts returned. 

The deaths were thirty ; of them, Jerusha, wife'of D. Baker, 
Oct. 9th, aged seventy-four. 

In December of 1847, the Baptist Church decided upon 
building a new house of worship, taking the southwest cor- 
ner of the public square, the only one not already occupied 
by a church. Within two years a handsome edifice was built 
and dedicated. It is a white frame house 53 x 72 feet, an 
audience room seating 550, with convenient walnut slips ; a 
porch at the entrance, above which is a choir gallery. In the 
basement are church parlors and kitchen, and a comfortable 



166 A NEST-EGG. 

room for prayer meetings. A tower rises above the front 
door in which the citizens have placed a town clock at a cost 
of $800. The bell of the old church was removed to the new, 
but it had to be replaced in a few years, the last being one of 
the clearest and best sounding of bells. 

During the year, Granville contributed the following vol- 
unteers to the Mexican War: J. A. Carter, Thomas Efland, 
Dick Ward, Levi Hill, Richard George and James Matthews. 

The Granville Intelligencer was started during the year, a 
very respectable sheet in size, general appearance and con- 
tents. It was edited and published by D. Hunt, and continued 
until 1851. 

In this or the succeeding year Messrs. Horace Hamlen, 
Charles Sneider, teacher of vocal music in the Female 
Academy, and Shephard Hamlen, with others whom they 
enlisted in the service, gave a concert of music in the brick 
Baptist Church ; raising by the means, forty dollars as a 
contribution toward a town clock. This was the nest egg, 
which, after the new Baptist Church was erected, led to the 
purchase of the clock which still strikes the hours of day and 
night in the tower. 

This year there were twenty-nine deaths ; Levi Hayes, Oct. 
8th, aged eighty-four, and others. 

In 1848, there were forty deaths; among them, Mrs. Anna 
Houghton, July 19th, aged sixty-nine ; Ezekiel Wells, Sept. 
27th, aged sixty-two; Nicodemus Griffith, Nov. 21st, aged 
seventy-seven ; Dea. Walter Griffith, Nov. i6th, aged seventy- 
nine. 

In 1849, the town was divided into four wards, by Main 
and Broad Streets. The First was the northwest quarter, 
the Second the northeast quarter, the Third the southwest 
quarter, and the Fourth the southeast quarter. 

In the spring, thirty-two persons left for California, under 
the excitement of the discovery of gold ; some to meet with 
success and return to their homes with a handsome remuner- 
ation for their toils ; others to be disappointed, and after long 



TEETOTAL PLEDGE. 167 

search for wealth to return more destitute than they went ; 
and others still to become permanent citizens of the new 
country. Among them were Capt. H. Hillyer, C. R. Stark, 
B. R. Bancroft, Jno. Roberts,- Alonzo Carter, Roderick Jones, 
Evan Jones, C. Carmicael, Jno. Williams, Jno. Sinnet, Israel 

Wells, H. C. Mead, Holmes Mead, Lyman Bancroft, 

Dodge, Jno. Owens, Briggs, Griffith. This 

company crossed the plains. Before reaching their destina- 
tion they were obliged to separate. Some of them were short 
of provisions; teams gave out, and abandoning their outfits, 
they struggled on in squads, on foot, suffering great privations. 
Some of them would probably have succumbed to the hard- 
ships, had not those who first got through, sent back relief, 
which met them several days out. All finally got through. 

A four-horse omnibus began to run between Granville and 
Newark. 

The cause of temperance was losing ground. Of intoxi- 
cating drinks there were sold 4153 gallons, being 2960 
gallons more than in 1846. 

The deaths were fifty ; among them, Mrs. Dorothy vS. Mead, 
June 23d, aged eighty- eight ; Mrs. Persis FoUett, Aug. 29th, 
aged eighty-two ; Joanna, wife of Amos Carpenter, July, 
aged fifty-six. 

In 1850, Hon. Elizur Abbott became Associate Judge in 
the Common Pleas Court, which position he filled until the 
new constitution abolished the office. 

The Granville Temperance Society was re-organized and 
adopted the following pledge : " We solemnly pledge our- 
selves that we will neither make, buy, sell, nor use, as a 
beverage, intoxicating drinks." To this time the pledge only 
forbade distilled liquors ; from this time it includes fermented 
drinks. 

There was an unpremeditated battle with snow balls of 
some moment, between the students of the Academy and the 
boys of the public school. The latter, in their pastimes, had 
erected a snow fort of large dimensions on the crest of Pros- 



Hi.S AN I'lXTKMI'ORANKOUS SNOW - I'.AI.I.ING. 

pect Hill. It was very conspicuous and the sports of the 
boys drew attention from the streets below. The Academy 
boys formed the warlike project of takint^ the fort. They 
formed a com])any at mid-day and fding- up the east side of 
the hill tlR'\" surprised the garrison on their left flank. After 
a sharp conflict the garrison retreated. Ihit gathering strength 
again the)- made a counter-charge and drove their assailants 
from the ground, pursuing them down the hill and almost to 
the public square. There the assailants made a stand ; and 
what had been a mere skirmish now became a pitched battle. 
The noise gathered crowds who eagerly watched the contest. 
The hour for afternoon school passed unnoticed. It was 3 
o'clock before the lines of battle were broken. A little furor 
began to be displayed, some of the snow balls having ice 
inclosed. Several were severely wounded. The garrison of 
the fort seemed to have held the field. 

A second exodus to California followed in 1850. Most of 
these went by water. Of them were Rev. W- E. Ellis, A. A. 
Bancroft, E. Howell, R. Fosdick, E. Crawford, E. A. Bush, 
H. O. Carter, Frank Spelman, Thomas Walker, S. Buckland, 

Thomas Owens, Morrison, John Owens, Ph. Heifner, 

Thomas Rhodeback, S. Thomas, Ellis Thomas, William 
Morgan. These incurred the dangers of detention on the 
isthmus ; some dying by the way, others contracting linger- 
ing illness, yet some going forward to fair success. 

The deaths were nineteen ; among them, Joel Eamson, 
June 4th, aged eighty; Mrs Achsah Rose, June 15th, aged 
eighty-six; Mrs. Elizabeth Ingham, July 6th, aged eighty- 
one; Roswell Graves, December 29th, aged ninety-three; 
Mrs. Mary Shepardson, June 5th, aged fifty-five. 



ANNALS, 1851-55. 169 



CHAPTER XXIX. 

The year 1851 witnessed a returning temperance wave. 
Only one thousand four hundred and six gallons of spirits 
were consumed. 

President S. Bailey was preaching for the Baptist Church, 
and under his labors a revival visited the church, resulting 
in fifty conversions. The revival also extended to the other 
churches, affecting the entire region. Succeeding this work 
almost all the prominent men of the place were members of 
the churches. " With one exception, the owners of our six 
stores, the keepers of the post and telegraph offices, the 
magistrates and town council, were supposed to be Christians." 

In March the Granville School Clarion was begun by S. N. 
Sanford, principal of Episcopal Female Seminary. 

The Granville Intelligencer became the Licking Bee, and 
was sustained for two years as a temperance paper. 

The deaths were twenty-eight ; of whom were Allen Sinnet, 
January 6th, aged fifty-three ; Mrs. Chloe Mower, February 
13th, aged sixty-eight; Mrs. Nancy Blanchard, June 25th, 
aged seventy-nine; Rev. Thomas Hughes, pastor of the 
Welsh Hills Baptist Church, September 12th, aged sixty-six ; 
Jacob Reily, October 3d, aged seventy-three ; Benj. Cook, 
April 25th, aged sixty-nine. 

In 1852, the Granville Water Cure was established by Dr. 
William W. Bancroft. He erected buildings adjoining his 
residence, brought water in pipes from one of the springs 
under Prospect Hill, embellished the premises and made 
them commodious. He benefited many chronic cases, and 
the reputation of the institution brought patients from far 
and near. With the use of various forms of the water bath, 
the Doctor associated hygienic treatment and systematic 
muscular exercise, often encouraging a bed-ridden patient to 
summon courage, get up and walk. 
21 



170 THK DOCTORS DIKKIIKINC. 

An ordinance was passed protecling the pnrilv of the 
town spring. 

" I'Larly in 1852 there appeared among us those who pre- 
tended to converse with the dead, & in the summer one of them 
drew Sabbath audiences on the liills. As their responses were 
not uniformly true, few at this time beHeve that tliey h.ive done 
good enough to balance the evil." [N. Y. sermon.] 

At this time occurred a little joust between Mr. Little and 
Dr. Bailey, President of the College and acting pastor of 
the Baptist Church, the memory of which does not need to 
be perpetuated in its details. 

There were twenty-nine deaths ; of whom were (Big) 
David Thomas, April 17th, aged eighty-six; Dr. William S. 
Richards, May 8th, aged sixty-five 

Dr. Richards' public life had all been spent in this com 
munity. Dr. Bronson preached his funeral sermon & gives this 
estimate of the man. ' His posiiion in life was one tliat com- 
manded respect from all. His influence did not come from con 
nexiouh or wealth or any remarkable brilliancy; but he was a 
good man, of sterling integrity, of sound judgment, a man of 
firmness, yet ready to listen to others. He labored to establi>h 
the Episcopal church that there might be means of gr.ice for 
many of his associates who would not aitend any of the exist- 
ing churches. He was a man of strong faith & enlarged benev- 
olence, & adhered to the last to the tiue faith of ihe gospel. 
Then, too, I consider to be the foundation of his influence on 
others his unquestionable integrity, the soundness of his judg- 
ment, the goodness of his heart, the strength of his faith & the 
depth of his piety. ' 

Hon. Daniel Humphrey became the first Judge of Probate 
under the new Constitution, residing in Newark. 

November 15, 1853, there was a ball which excited "more 
interest than any one since the 4th of July ball of 182S." 

The deaths were 22 ; !\Irs. Aaron Pratt, February 9th, aged 
eighty-six ; Harrington Howe, September 5th, aged thirty- 
three; Mrs. Eliza Bynner, September 21st, aged fifty- 
nine; Noah Hobart, April i8th, aged seventy-three; Jan- 



thp: hydraulic company. 171 

uary i8th, Deacon Amasa Howe. He came to Gran- 
ville in 1814. 

He long and faithfully served the (jranville Church as 
deacon. Three of his sons have spent long lives in the 
ministry. He was a .soldier of the Revolutionary War, 
and was tall and strongly built. In early days he lent 
a neighbor a cross-cut saw, who left it out where he used it 
until it was wet and rusty. The deacon having occasion to 
use it, had to go for it. Seeing its condition he told the man's 
wife he should charge her husband fifty cents for the abuse 
of the saw. He was scarcely at home when the man came 
chasing after him very much excited. " I thought," said he, 
" that you professed to be a Christian man !" " So I do," 
said the deacon, " and one-half my religion consists in bring- 
ing such fellows as you are to justice." 

1854. The new and commodious public school building 
was erected, and the old brick "Academy" at the head of 
Main Street was taken down. 

August loth, a meeting of citizens was held to consider the 
feasibility of water works for the supply of the village. At a 
subsequent meeting an association was formed, called " The 
Granville Hydraulic Company. " A constitution was adopted, 
the proposed capital was divided into thirty shares of $100 
each ; a Board of Directors was appointed, also a Superin- 
tendent. They drew the water from a copious spring two 
miles west and north of town.- It was enclosed with bricks 
and covered with boards Pipes were laid in water lime 
cement along the Lower Loudon and Worthington roads, to 
Sugar Loaf, where a reservoir received the supply, and thence 
it was conducted through the village. 

The deaths of this year were thirty-three ; among them, 
Mrs. Hiram Rose, August i6th, aged eighty-three ; Samuel 
Thrall, November 19th, aged sixty-one ; Jemima, wife of 
Joseph White, once a slave, August 31st, aged fifty-eight; 
Captain William Mead, November 24th, aged eighty-four; 
Dr. Paul Eager, July 27th, aged eighty-one ; Mrs. Harriet 
Aylsworth, March 2d, aged fifty-seven. 



172 GRANVILLK JUBILEK. 

In 1855, occurred the "Granville Jubilee." The story of 
this celebration cannot be better told than by extracts from 
Mr. Little's account of it, published at the time in the C. C. 
Herald^ of date November 22, 1855. It was held in October. 

"The 17th ult. was a great day for Granville. Arrangements 
had been made to secure the attendance of Timothy M. Cooley, 
D. D., of Granville, Mass., in whose house of worshi[) 
was organized, fifty years ago, the Church of Granville, Ohio. 
By lOj^ a. m. a great audience was collected from Homer, Hart- 
ford. Columbus, Circleville, & wherever tiie sons & daughters 
of Granville had scattered. 

"After invocation, the 90th Psalm was read, "Lord, Thou 
hast been our dwelling place in all generation.-." The choir 
then sang in their best style, the 575th hymn, 

" Wake the song of jubilee," 

"Prayer was then offered by Rev. S. W. Rose, whom Dr. 
Cooley baptized fifty-five years ago. * * * * 

* * No sooner had the doctor ended a brief reply 

to his introduction to the audience, then the choir struck up 

The Welcome 

OJ the people of Granville, Ohio, to their 
Venerable Friend, 

Dr. Cooley. 

Composed for the occasion, by Jerusha M. Pond, of 
Wrentham, Mass. 

" With joy as to a cherished home, 
In houshold bands the people come, 

To bid thee welcome here; 
Hlessings to tbee and thine be given, 
And may the gracious smiles of Heaven 

Our hap[)y meeting cheer! 

*' Here various tastes and ages blend; 

The young and old, and friend with friend 

In social groups we see; 
Sweet children, too, are gathering round, 
And in their little hands are found 

Tokens of love lor thee. 



the: jubilee. 173 

" Thrice welcome, sire! Our sons behold 
The friend of whom their fathers told, 

And taught them to revere; 
O, bless them in thy Master's name. 
And his unfailing love proclaim 

To every listening ear. 

" Walk round our Zion, now, and tell 

Her strength, and mark her bulwarks well, 

On every hand we see; 
New Ebenezers help us raise. 
Lifting our voice in grateful praise, 

In songs of jubilee. 

" Thankful for what our Lord hath done, 
Still to the throne we daily come, 

Yet greater things to see; 

And there the tear in secret falls. 

As on his God the Christian calls. 

In earnest prayer for thee. 

" May Jesus bless and make thee wise 
In training souls for yonder skies, 

'Till life and labor cease; 
Then to thy everlasting rest, 
In spotless robes of glory dressed. 

Go thou in perfect peace." 

"The Doctor preached a long sermon, embracing the history 
of the mother Church, down to the emigration of the daughter. 
Without glasses, he read his manuscript in a clear, distinct & 
full voice. After announcing the text, Zach. 1:5, "Your 
fathers! where are they?" He informed his audience that he 
stood between the living & the dead — that the number now 
living in his parish was the number that had died out of it dur- 
ing his ministry. -^^ * * * * * * * 

"Stopping in the midst of his discourse to rest, the choir 
sang "Pilgrim Fathers." 

" He went on to describe the origin of the mother church, its 
ministers & its men & women, who, fresh from the great awak- 
ening of 1740, gave character to it, & laid up example & 
prayers for their descendants. * ^; ;i< sK * 

"The concluding prayer was offered by Rev. Mr. Burton, of 
the Baptist Church, some of whose members are from the old 
Granville Stock. The 44th Psalm was sung, 

"Lord, we have heard thy works of old." 



174 THE JUBILEE. 

' ' The Choir introduced the exercises of the evening, by singing, 

" I have set watchmen upon thy walls." 

"After Dr. Cooley had offered prayer, the pastor gave a 
history of the daughter Church, now fifty years old. He 
named the one [two, ?] hundred and seventy-six emigrants, 
who, in 1805, in seven companies, came on in ox wagons. Of 
these, two hundred and two had died, & the fifty-two heads of 
families had all died but the five survivors present. * * 

" The Choir sang, 

" This is my rest forever." 

"Full of emotions, the venerable guest arose to give his 
paternal advice to the generations before him, now entering on 
their second half century, & spoke about twenty-five minutes. 
* * * "He concluded by siying 'This is our last 
meeting on earth, you will soon hear of my decease, & I shall 
soon be numbered with my fathers. I will make the appoint- 
ment for our next meeting at the right hand of the Judge. 
Who will meet me there? Will you all agree to be there? ' 

" Rev. Dr. Hall, President of the University, offered the 
concluding prayer. 

"Mr. H. Hamlen, the Chorister, & his son, accompanied 
with a melodeon, sang 

Ur. Cooley's Farewell. 

Composed for the Occasion, by Mrs. L. H, Sigotirney of Hartford, Conn. 
" It is the last time, brethren, 

That in communion sweet, 

Hither, in pastures green, shall turn 

Your aged shepherd's feet; 

For he is growing weary, 

His four-score years are told. 

And trustfully he draweth near 

The dear Redeemer's fold : 
Farewell ! 
" Vine of His blessed planting, 

Here, in the glorious West, 

On your fresh budding leaflets 

His loving favor rest. 

Long may your ripened clusters 

Breathe heavenly fragrance deep. 

When, numbered with my fathers, 

In christian hope I sleep : 
Farewell! Farewell! 



THE JUBILEE. 175 

" Elias Gilman, Esq., aged ninety years, the oldest of the 
1805 emigrants, the oldest member of the church, & the oldest 
person in the lovvnship, rose in his slip & read the following 
motion, which was seconded by George Little, aged sixteen, 
the youngest male member: 

" I move the adjournment of this meeting fifty years, to the 
year of our Lord, one thousand nine hundred and five, to meet 
at the place which shall then be occupied by this church.' 

* * -'- * "The motion was put and carried. 
"In requesting Dr. Cooley to pronounce the blessing, it was 

stated that he would now leave town, to return no more, & tfiat 
he wished to give the parting hand to his relatives, to his 
former hearers, to all whom he had baptised, to the children of 
the Sabbath school, & others interested in the occasion. He 
stood in front of the pulpit, & the aisles were so cleared, that 
they who had left his hand, & heard some expression of kind- 
ness from his lip-;, could pass out & make room for others. 

* * * * "A few days after his return home, 
he wrote. "The scene in your dear village, on the 17th, ex- 
ceeded, I must say, any event in all my past life. The parting 
hand of such a crowd touched my heart, & can never be for- 
gotten on my part. " 

"Just before he stepped into the carriage, the Treasurer of 
the Committee of Arrangements passed into his hand $125." 

In regard to temperance Mr. Little makes the following 
record as applying to 1855 : " Look out on the streets in the 
dark and you will see cigars moving along not higher than 
the railing ; and at ten at night you will hear from young 
voices evidences that they have been drinking something 
stronger than water." 

The Hydraulic Co. began to consider the propriety of dis- 
posing of their water works. The stock was not paying any 
dividend, and was calling for further outlays. 

The Council passed an ordinance declaring the pond in the 
northeast part of town a nuisance, and providing for filling 
it up at an expense of $200. 

The deaths were sixty-three ; among them, Mrs. Lydia 
Dickinson, daughter of Jesse Munson, and formerly wife of 
Judge T. Rose, Feb. 27th, aged eighty-seven ; Jeremiah 



176 DEATHS. 

French, April ist, aged sixty-eight; Mrs. Elizabeth Thomas, 
wife of David Thomas, May 4th, aged seventy-three ; Mrs. 
Adah Hillyer, youngest daughter of Jesse Munson, wife of 
Justin Hillyer, May 24th, aged seventy-nine ; Mrs. Rachel 
Oilman, wife of Elias Oilman, Esq., Aug. 7th, aged eighty ; 
Judson Tyler, July 25th, aged seventy-nine; Hon. T. M, 
Thompson, Sept. 15th, aged eighty-six; Simeon Reed, Sept. 
i6th, aged sixty-two; Mrs. Hannah Oranger, daughter of 
Timothy Spelman, Esq., wife of Ralph Oranger, Nov. 27th, 
aged fifty-nine ; Mrs. Martha, wife of Edward Nichol, Nov. 
27th, aged seventy-six ; Hiram Rose, Dec. 20th, aged eighty- 
nine. All these were prominent citizens and long time 
residents, and six of them were members of the first colony. 

Mr. Thompson was in the legal profession in early life. For 
some years he was Secretary of State of Pennsylvania, under 
his uncle, Gov. Thos. McKean, who was a signer of the Decla- 
ration of Independence, & after whom himself was named. He 
afterward entered the business of merchandising in Steuben- 
.ville, Ohio. Thence he removed to Granville with his goods. 
He soon went to a tract of several hundred acres of land that 
he had located in the township north of Granville. This town- 
ship was named after him, McKean ; he declining to have it 
called after his surname, but consenting to lend his middle 
name for that use. After a few years he returned to this town- 
ship, purchasing a farm on Burgh St. Late in life he came to 
the village, & two years after, went to Marysville, O. to reside 
with his youngest daughter, where he died. Four of his 
daughters married ministers. Though a man of good legal at- 
tainments he never practiced law in Ohio. He was of modest 
demeanor, unassuming, always honorable, honest as light, sac- 
rificing his own interests & those of his family rather than do a 
questionable act. 



ANNALS, 1856-1879. 177 



CHAPTER XXX. 

1856. Hon. Jno. A. vSinnet, our fellow-townsman, became 
State Representative. 

The College was removed to the hill north of town and a 
new building was erected, the removal of one of the old ones 
completing the accommodations for the present. 

An act was passed making it a misdemeanor to sell or give 
away any intoxicating liquor, or to let any building or room 
for such purpose, or to appear in the village in a state of 
intoxication. 

The New Year's Sermon records, " I never heard in one 
night so much noise and profanity as on the night previous 
to the 4th of July." 

Hon. Daniel Humphrey became Presidential Elector. 

The deaths were twenty-six ; of them, Mrs. Lucretia 
Linnel, wife of Knowles Linnel, Aug. 15th, aged sixty-one. 

In 1857, The Denisonian, a college periodical, was started, 
and the Herbarium also, published by the young ladies of 
the Female College. 

There were twenty-eight deaths; of whom, Mrs. Clarissa 
Bancroft, daughter of Judge T. Rose, wife of Hon. S. Bancroft, 
Jan. 25th, aged sixty-nine; Elias Oilman, Esq., Jan. 28th, 
aged ninety-two ; Matilda, wife of Dea. T. M, Rose, Mar. ist, 
aged fifty-eight. 

Esq. Oilman was one of the original members of the colony, 
a man of gifted intellect, trusted with large business transactions 
by his fellow citizens & by strangers, & wearing the honors of 
civic life with decorum. In early life, owing to the drinking 
habits of society, he indulged in the use of intoxicants; but by 
the grace of God, & greatly to the credit of his manhood, he 
threw off the bondage & stood high in the confidence and es- 
teem of his fellow-men to the day of his death. 

In 1858, the Welsh Hills Cemetery was enlarged by the 
purchase from Norton Case of one and one-half acres. This 



178 A KILLING FROST. 

purchase was made by the Welsh Methodists and the Welsh 
Congregationalists unitedly, and it and the original grounds 
given by Mr. Rees were made one cemetery, all uniting to 
enclose and beautify the grounds. The place has continued 
to be improved from time to time until it is now the beautiful 
Welsh Hills Cemetery. 

The deaths were twenty-seven ; among them, Miriam, 
daughter of Dea. Lemuel Rose, wife of Elkanah Linnel, Mar. 
17th, aged seventy-three ; Fanny, wife of Sereno Wright, Sen., 
Mar. 26th, aged seventy-three ; Mrs. Anna Lot, formerly wife 
of Frederic Case, June 9th, aged seventy-seven ; Joshua 
Stark, June 29th, aged sixty-nine ; Sereno Wright, Sen., 
Dec. i9tli, aged seventy-nine. 

1859. All day Saturday, June 4th, a strong, cold north 
wind blew. At night a calm fell upon the air. On Sunday morn- 
ing, June 5th, there was a very heavy frost, seriously dam- 
aging all field crops, gardens and fruits. Some of the corn 
was knee high. Some farmers at once proceeded to plow up 
and plant anew. Others planted between the rows, design- 
ing to take their choice of the two crops as soon as a prefer- 
ence should be indicated. Others relied solely on the old. 
The result was generally in Javor of replanting. 

The New Year's record says: " At the last election of the 
Town Council, the law and order ticket prevailed, and twelve 
or fourteen culprits have been fined, five or six sent to jail, 
and our nights are more (juiet than formerly. vStill there are 
children that feel that they must go somewhere every night." 

April 7th, a lock-up was ordered to be constructed under 
the Town Hall, which was then being built by the corpora- 
tion. This hall is a frame structure, 62 x 38 feet, erected by 
Mr. Wallace Carpenter, for the sum of $3,000, standing at the 
northeast corner of Broad and Main Streets, in the center of 
the public square, beside the Methodist Church. 

June 7th, an act was passed to prevent the disturbance of 
religious and other meetings. A notice was also ordered to 
be served on four several parties that " in .selling ale or other 



WATER WORKS — BRICK CHURCH. 179 

intoxicating drinks for the purpose of being drank in or 
about the premises they were violating an ordinance of the 
village." 

Of the twenty-eight deaths were, John Huggins, Jan. 14th, 
aged fifty-seven ; Jos. Blanchard, Jan. 29th, aged eighty-eight ; 
Mrs. L. E. Bancroft, May 13th, aged fifty-two; Ed. Nichol, 
Sept. 3d, aged seventy-eight ; Jacob Cook, Oct. 3d, aged 
seventy-three. It was also the year of Dr. Cooley's death in 
old Granville, Mass. 

In i860, the War of the Great Rebellion began. [See 
Special Chapter.] 

The U. S. census enumerated 404 families, 2120 souls in 
the township; 157 families, 799 souls in the village. The 
property in the township was estimated at $1,744,777. 

March nth, the Congregational Church bid farewell to the 
old frame house erected in 1816, having provided for the 
erection of a new brick structure. 

The Council made an allowance of $12 a year for the care 
of the town clock. 

The water works were sold at Sheriff" 's sale. Rev. Alvah 
Sanford bidding them off" for $234 ; there being an indebted- 
ness upon the works of $1,275. 

The deaths were twenty-nine ; of them were Archibald 
Ackley, June 9th, aged seventy-two ; Mary, wife of Nicodemus 
Griffith, Sept. 5th, aged ninety; Thomas Cramer, Dec. 27th, 
aged eighty-four; Mrs. Elizabeth Eager, Aug. 17th, aged 
seventy-seven ; Spencer Wright, Esq., Aug. 22d, aged eighty ; 
Amos Campbell, Dec. 27th, aged seventy-five. 

January 21st, died Alva and Mary A., son and daughter of 
Abraham and Angeline Walker, of consumption, and within 
an hour's time of each other; aged sixteen and twenty-one. 

1861. The brick church, eighty feet by fifty-three, was 
erected at a cost of $10,600. The ground floor provides 
room for church parlors, conference room, furnaces, hall and 
stairway. The audience room was planned after the old 
house. A large pipe organ was placed in the gallery at a 



ISO OUR QUOTA MORE THAN FILLED. 

cost of $i,20O. Fourteen N-ears later an addition was put 
upon the north end large enough to accommodate the organ 
and choir just back of the pulpit, while the room beneath 
the organ is used as a kitchen. The audience room will seat 
seven hundred with comfort. The cap of the steeple is 107 
feet high, and the iron support of the weather vane is ten 
feet higher. 

May 21 st, a sort of salary-grab ordinance was passed by 
the Council, allowing each member fifty cents for each 
attendance upon the Council meetings. 

Died in the township fifty-six ; of whom were, Ormond 
Rose, Jan. 28th, aged seventy; Lucy, wife of Wm. Smedley, 
having been first the wife of Kthan Bancroft, Mar. 22d, aged 
seventy-six ; Lydia, wife of Dea. Eli Butler, June 19th, aged 
sixty-four; Anna W., wife of N. Griffith, July i8th, aged 
fifty-six ; Silence, daughter of Dea. Lemuel Rose, wife of 
Joshua Stark, Dec. 27th, aged sixty-six; Theodore Gaylord, 
Feb. 15th, aged eighty-five; Rosanna H. Warren, Mar. nth, 
aged seventy; Polly Lamson, April 6th, aged eighty-five. 

1862. The New Year's Sermon says : 

" In the earlier periods of the war it was thrown out by differ- 
ent orators in the Hall, that Granville would not, like the other 
parts of the country, turn out our quota of volunteers for the 
army. This meant that literary & religious pre-eminence so 
dwarfed our souls that we would not do our part. Now look at 
facts. Our township is enrolled 344 men, of whom the Presi- 
dent has called for 138, By the 22d of Aug. 157 of our town- 
ship volunteered, besides those who enlisted at Marietta & other 
places. This makes us 19 above our quota, while every other 
township in the county has had to have some drafted." 

Hon. John A. Sinnet became State Senator for two years. 

The deaths were thirty ; among whom were Anna, widow 
of David Pittsford, F'ebruary 27th, aged ninety-four; Sophia, 
widow of John Starr, December 14th, aged seventy; Mrs. Mary 
Werden, February 5th, aged seventy-six ; Mrs. Ruth Falley, 
November 29th, aged seventy-eight. 



MAPLE GROVE CEMETERY. 181 

1863. The township had sent to the army thirty-five 
soldiers above its quota. 

A plat of ground, containing twenty-one acres, lying just 
south of Mr. Parnassus, was beautifully laid out as a cemetery, 
under the name of " Maple Grove Cemetery." 

A large cistern, made as a reservoir for water in case of fire, 
was filled up by order of the Town Council. 

The dead were forty-one ; of whom were, Thomas Little, 
Esq., March 31st, aged eighty-eight ; Aaron Pratt, June i6tli, 
aged sixty-nine ; Rev. Ezra Going, December 26th, aged 
sixty-eight; Matthew Adams, September 24th, aged ninety- 
two; Mrs. J. W. Thompson, March 23d, aged eighty-four; 
Mrs. Hannah A. Fosdick, May 12th, aged fifty-two ; John 
Follett, May 27th, aged seventy-one ; Mrs, Elizabeth W. 
Prichard, June 15th, aged sixty; Mrs. Sally Follett, June 
23d, aged seventy-three ; Daniel Rose, shot in battle of Chat- 
tanooga, September 20th, aged twenty-four; Samuel L. Rose, 
shot in the same battle, died October 21st, aged thirty-six; 
Thomas Ingham, June 15th, aged ninet3^-two. 

Dr. Little left the place in December, 1864. 

Died, Miss Fanny Wright, January 14th, aged fifty-nine; 
Mrs, Hannah S. Munson, January 19th, aged eighty-four ; 
Mrs. Mary Weeks, May 9th, aged eighty-four. 

In 1865, the brick building for the accommodation of Gran- 
ville Female College, was erected by Hon, W. P, Kerr, the 
principal, in fulfillment of his contract with the Trustees to 
put up a building- that should cost at least $1,800, It con- 
tains below, several recitation rooms and a gymnasium, and a 
large hall on the floor above. The total cost instead of being 
$1,800, amounted in those times of war prices, to $5,500, 
or more. 

A star badge was voted to the Marshal April loth. 

June 22d, an order for $23.50 was voted to " S. B. Hamlen 
for damages done by the riot on April 10, 1865." This was 
on the occasion of a jubilation at the close of the war. Mr. 
Hamlen being Mayor, had, for prudential reasons, refused to 



182 RIOT — THK COLLEGIAN. 

permit the firing of the cannon on the town square. The 
firing was accordingly done on the top of Prospect Hill. 
But those in charge of this part of the programme, being in- 
censed at the Mayor's refusal, brought the gun into the street 
in front of his dwelling, having given it a final loading as 
heavy as they dared, and pointing it directly at the house, dis- 
charged it, breaking all the windows. 

Deaths, Mrs. Statira Cooley, January 2d, aged seventy- 
five ; Mrs. Dolly Gaylord, April 12th, aged ninety-two; Mrs. 
Martha Root Dilley, July 8th, aged forty-eight ; Mrs. Belinda 
Root Carroll, May 7th, aged sixty; Stephen G. Goodrich, 
August i4tli, aged seventy-four. 

1866. Mr. George B. Whiting became postmaster July 2d. 
Deaths, L. Alonzo Graves, May 23d, aged fifty-three ; 

David M. Knapp, August 8th, aged fifty-five ; Campbell 
Messenger, September 3d ; Mrs. Deborah Root, November 
2ist, aged seventy-nine; A. P. Prichard, January 30th, aged 
sixty-seven ; Captain Levi Rose, February 23d, aged eighty- 
four ; Benjamin Linnel, May 5th, aged seventy-four ; Deacon 
Daniel Shepardson, November 24th, aged eighty. 

Mr. Prichard came to the place in 18 16 with Hon. T. M. 
Thompson, as his clerk in a small dry goods store, He was a 
practical chemist, of accurate business habits, & ingenious. He 
was soon counted among the first business men of the place, & 
was ever a leader in such public enterprises as the Water 
Works, Cemetery, &c. After being connected with the furnace, 
& dry goods trade for some time he confined his attention to 
drugs. He was long a prominent member of the Episcopal 
church. 

1867. The Collegian was started in July by the Calliopean 
Society of Denison University. 

Rev, E. Garland, an early teacher of the Male Academy, 
and otherwise identified with the Granville Congregational 
Church, returned to the place for a home in his old age. 

Deaths, Mrs. Cinderilla Case, January 4th, aged eighty-six ; 
Mrs. Clarissa Abbott, August 21st, aged sixty-two ; Mrs. Har- 
riet B. Kerr, July 9th, aged thirty-nine; Mrs. Rosetta 



NKW BUILDING — OBITUARY. 183 

Houghton, (formerly Mrs. William Paige,) August loth, aged 
seventy-seven ; Elkanah Linnel, October 2d, aged eighty-six ; 
Miss Ann Jones, September 2d, aged eighty-two ; Mrs. Nancy 
Wood, December 13th, aged sixty-three ; Henry Butler, 
August 22d, aged sixty-seven ; Mrs. Abigail Houghton, Feb- 
ruary 29th, aged seventy-eight; Mrs. Pliebe Paige, January 
6th, aged eighty-eight ; Major General Charles Griffin, Sep- 
tember 15th, aged forty-one. 

186S. The foundation of the second brick building for the 
accommodation of Denison University was laid, the corner 
stone being laid in 1869. The new road leading to the College 
grounds, from Main Street, at the foot of Prospect Hill, was 
authorized. 

Deaths, Mrs. Lydia Partridge, March 26th, aged ninety- 
two ; Mrs. Elizabeth Partridge, October i6th, aged forty-four ; 
Mrs. Sarah Moore, October nth, aged seventy-five. General 
Augustine Munson, April 12th, aged eighty-five. 

He was born in Granville, Massachusetts, September 30th, 
1783, being the youngest son of Jesse Munson. He was prob- 
ably the youngest member of the colony, and at the same time 
one of its most enterprising, untiring and sagacious. In youth 
he was inured to toil and exposure, and in the pursuit of his 
occupations shrank not from hardship and privation. He 
improved his eastern opportunities for education, coming 
west at the age of twenty-two. 

It was his enterprise that secured the first successful saw 
mill, two miles east of Granville, in 1806. In 1808 he added 
a flouring mill. In 1816 he, (with his brother Jeremiah), 
started the Granville Furnace, and soon after, the Forge for 
making wrought iron, the latter being near his flour and saw 
mills. Considering the scanty resources of a new country, 
the pressing wants of the people, and his almost universal 
success in his undertakings, probably no one has out of his 
personal devices, contributed more to meet the material wants 
of Granville than did he. He was an expert musician. He 
was prominent in military matters under the old militia laws. 
For several years he was prominent and influential in political 
life, being a member of the Legislature. 

July 6, 1869, the Town Council passed an ordinance making 



184 VILLAGE CxOVERNMKNT RE -ORGANIZED. 

the municipal government conform to a State Statute which 
was of general application, requiring elections to be held the 
first Monday of April, the officers to be a Mayor, Clerk, Treas- 
urer, Street Commissioner, Marshal and six Trustees; the 
Mayor, and Council of Trustees to appoint the 'subordinate 
officers. A prison was established and put under the care of 
the Marshal. The Village was made a road district under 
the care of the vStreet Commissioner, who is responsible 
to remove nuisances from the streets, and to attend 
carefully to the cleanliness of the Village. Former ordi- 
nances were re-enacted. The corporation limits were ex- 
tended, leaving, after some amendment, the bounds as follows: 
The north boundary is the south line of the farm north of 
the hill, once A. A. Bancroft's, to the Mt. Vernon and Welsh 
Hills Roads, which roads it follows to Clear Run, thence down 
the run to the line of the farm east of town, once Norton 
Case's; then following said line and its direction to a point 
in the New Ccmeter}' for the east boundary. On the south 
the line is the south line of the old burial lot and its direction, 
and the west boundary is the east line of the Sheldon Swan 
place. [Sec map, page 46.] 

The preliminary surveys ot the Atlantic & Erie Railway 
were made through this township in the fall. This road was 
projected from Toledo through the coal fields of Perry county, 
Ohio, to Pomeroy, and on to Norfolk, Virginia, in a pretty 
direct course. The grading having been done throughout 
this ])art of the line the enterprise failed. The track was 
afterwards utilized by the Ohio Central Railroad. 

Mr. Ralph Parsons erected on the north side of Broad 
vStreet a fine two story store building, twenty-four feet front 
and seventy-two feet deep. 

The Collegian and Denisonian united and became the Den- 
isou Collegian, the F'ranklin Society uniting with the Calli- 
opean in its support. 

Deaths, Mrs. Loano Eno, April 27th, aged seventy-nine; 
Mrs. Polly Wells, May 19th, aged seventy-three ; Mrs. Mind- 



VILLAGE BOUNDARIES ENLARGED. 185 

well Graves, aged ninety-nine; Mrs. Mary Mead, August 
iQtli, aged sixty-seven ; Mrs. Lydia F. Gray, October agtli, 
aged sixty-seven ; Nathaniel Paige, January 6th, aged ninety- 
three ; Cyrus Moore, August i8th, aged eighty-three. 

In the spring of 1870, Granger's Addition was laid off in 
lots which were sold at auction. Granger Street (being a con- 
tinuation of Morning Street, northward to the Welsh Hills 
Road) and Spelman Street (being a short street parallel with 
Market Street, running from Granger vStreet to the Mt. Vernon 
Road) were recognized as highways. 

By an ordinance, animals wei-e forbidden to run at large at 
night between the hours of sunset and sunrise. 

Deaths, Hon, Samuel Bancroft, Jan. 27th, aged ninety- 
one ; Dr. W. W. Bancroft, June 22d, aged sixty-four ; Daniel 
Howe, Sept. 20th, aged eighty-three ; Mrs. Olive C. Reed, 
Mar. — , aged seventy-six. 

Judge Bancroft was a man unusually affable in his social life, 
invariably speaking in pleasant tones & with a smile on his face. 
He followed to this place from Granville, Mass., the young lady 
to whom he was attached, & they were soon thereafter married. 
He held many offices of trust & responsibility, the chief being 
that of Associate Judge. 

Dr. Bancroft was long one of the most prominent physi- 
cians of Granville ; always ready to examine new claims in 
the healing art, and encourage and adopt that which com- 
mended itself to his judgment. He was also prominent in 
educational interests and in the temperance and anti-slavery 
reforms. [See Professional Record.] 

1871. About the ist of May, work on the Atlantic & Erie 
Railway grade was begun, the citizens giving the right of 
way and doing the grading. 

June 24th, it being Saturday, in the evening, a large com- 
pany of employes from the rolling mill at Lockport, near 
Newark, visited our quiet village, going in a body to the house 
of Mr. Geo. H. Tight, just in the east edge of the village, he 
being President of the company then running the mill, and 
by gentle force bore him from the midst of his family back 
22 



186 OBITUARY. 

to the mill. There was a iiiisuiiclerstancHiig between them 
as workmen and him as paymaster. I-'inding themselves 
mistaken in Mr. Tight's responsibilities in the matter he was 
released the next afternoon. 

Deaths, Dea. Hosea Coolcy, P'eb. 14th, aged eighty-eight; 
Josluia Linnel, April 20th, aged eighty-four. 

At Valley Falls, Kan., June i6th, died Mr. Curtis Howe, aged 
98 yrs. 7 mo. He was from old Granville (where he was born, 
May lOth, 1772,) but not one of the original settlers. He was 
a convert of the revival of 1797 & was examined for member- 
ship. He was exemplary & straightforward. Some one re- 
marked that though he was so very young no one could doubt 
his experience. The remark caught his ear & in some way 
threw a damper over his experience & kept him long out of the 
church. His wife died in 1843, since which lime his home has 
been with his daughter, Mrs. Bathsheba Hillyer. When an old 
man he was accustomed to come most punctually to the public 
& social meetings of the church through rain or shine. Enter- 
ing the prayer meeting room one rainy evening he heard the 
remark, "We shall have a thin meeting tonight." "Yes," 
said the old gentleman as he took his dripping hat from hi.s .silver 
locks, "the weather is too bad to expect y.oung people!" In 
1864, he went to California. When Mr. Hillyer went to Kansas 
four years later Mr. Howe having returned, accompanied the 
family. He returned to (iranville once on a visit in his extreme 
old age. When he entered the Sabbath School in which he had 
spent so many, many years as a member, the whole school 
simultaneously rose to their feet in token of respect for the 
venerable man. He was sensibly affected & addressing the 
school, he promised to return again, if possible, if he should 
live to be 100 years old. But he died a (ew months before he 
attained that age. His daughter, Mrs. Hillyer, was found one 
afternoon dead in her house by the hand of violence. Her 
assailant, though the rash deed was done in daylight and with 
neighbors not far away, was never discovered. 

1872. Mr. Geo. W. Evans began in March to publish a 
monthly called " The Licking Monitor," at seventy-five cents 
a year. In June, 1875, ^^ ^^^ changed from a folio to a 
quarto of a little smaller size and called " The h'amily 
Monthly." 



DKATII OF DR. TAI.BOT. 187 

Mr. Edgar Wright put up a brick store building, adjoining 
that of Mr. Parsons, with twenty feet front and seventy-two 
feet depth, having a hall above. 

A new bell was mounted in the tower of the Baptist 
Church, the old one being disabled by a serious fracture. 

On Sunday morning, June 29th, died Rev. Samson Talbot, 
D. D., President of Denison University, being then with his 
family among their friends in Newton, Massachusetts. The 
telegram announcing his death closed with the words, " He 
rests from his labors and his works do follow him." In the 
afternoon all the bells united iu tolling the sad announce- 
ment, the I^aptist bell striking his age. It was the first use 
in such a service that had been exacted of the new bell. 

Deaths, Mrs. Martha French, INIarch loth, aged seventy- 
nine ; Mrs. Mary S. Garland, March 17th, aged seventy-six; 
Erastus Allyn, December 15th. 

1873. Hon William P. Kerr became a member of the State 
Constitutional Convention. 

A Committee of Safety was appointed by the Council, with 
power to inspect houses, order any needful changes to protect 
property against fire ; and in case of fire, to direct the efforts 
of citizens in saving property and extinguishing fire. At 
such times they are to wear a badge, and have authority to 
enforce their orders. 

Mr. Ebenezer Partridge died November ist, aged seventy- 
one years ; Rev. Alvah Sanford, September 29th, aged 
seventy-eight ; Dr. Sylvester Spelman, September 6th. 

July 24th, 1874, was enacted an ordinance appointing a 
Superintendent for the Water Works, and fixing rates, the 
Council having accepted charge of them on certain con- 
ditions. 

In August, Dr. Little, with his wife, paid a visit to his old 
parishioners. They were received by their old friends with 
great tokens of regard. They waited on his feeble steps with 
alacrity. Mrs. George T. Jones " made them a feast " under 
the apple trees in the open air, where their old friends gath- 



188 DR. littlk's visit. 

ered around the festive board with them to the number of 
sevent)'-five. Professor Beach and his wife were also ])resent, 
so that the people saw all the pastors of the church who were 
then living, together in the pulpit. On Tuesday evening, 
the iSth, there was a church gathering, at which a quartette 
choir sang the following original hymn, to the tune composed 
by D. C. Holmes, of Pittsburgh, for Mrs. Howe's Battle 
Hymn of the Republic : 

O thou man of God, with glowing hearts we welcome thy return; 
And in filial love and reverence our kindling spirits yearn; 
For remembrances of long ago within our hosoms burn; 
II :May God thy coming bless! || 

We remember scenes cf gladness, when thy presence added cheer; 
We remember scenes of sadness, when thy sympathy was dear; 
And when heart and flesh were failing, then 'twas strength to have thee near; 
II :May God remember thee! : |j 

In infant consecration was thy hand upon our brow, 
And it blessed us at the altar when we took the marriage vow; 
With what child-like veneration are we clinging to it now! 
II :May God thy hand still clasp! : !| 

By the hearthstone, by the wayside, thou hast led us to the Lord; 
From the sacred desk with j)Ower thou hast preached to us the word; 
And thy prayers and thy example have to better purpose stirred; 

1! :May God thy work still own! : || ■ 

When again thy faltering footsteps bear thee from our waiting eyes,. 
We await until these bodies shall to youthful vigor rise. 
And with thee would wish to enter tiirough the portals of the skies; 
II :May God this favor grant! : jj 

Deaths, Ralph Parsons, October i, aged sixty-seven; 
Mrs. Almena R. Bancroft, daughter of Judge Rose, and wife 
of H. L. Bancroft, November 5th. 

November i6th, 1875, an act passed the council making it 
unlawful to keep a billiard table as a jyiiblic resort, for games, 
betting, or gambling. 

On the same date, an act making it unlawful to sell or 
give away to minors, unless upon written order from parents, 
guardian, or family ph)-sician; or to intoxicated persons, or 
habitual drunkards; or to keep open after 8:00 o'clock P. M. 



ATTEMPTED BURGLARIES. 189 

[amended in 1879, to 10:00 P. M.] and nntil daylight; or on 
Sundays; or to have screens, shades, curtains, painted glass, 
or anything that will obstruct the public view; or to permit 
any minor on the premises without consent of parents or 
guardian. 

Died, Mrs. Clarissa Hamlen, August loth; Harvey Bragg, 
June 8th, aged seventy-seven; Horace Wolcott, January nth; 
Abraham Belford, January 29th; Rev. Wm. Party, February 
20th; Deacon E. C. Wright, July nth; Knowles Linnel, 
July i6th, aged eighty-seven. 

1876. E. M. Downer became Presidential Elector. 

The washing of the creek on the Columbus road, just south of 
town, having occasioned considerable trouble, the County 
Commissioners authorized a cut through the meadows west 
of the road, thus straightening the channel and saving 
further washing. 

Deaths, Mrs. Orlena Wright, daughter of Justin Hillyer, 
Sr., and wife of Deacon Edwin C. Wright, May 28th, aged 
sixty-nine; Theophilus Little, July 2d, aged seventy-nine; 
Wm. Case, June ist; James W. P'osdick, June 25th; Mrs. Adah 
Clapp, December 27th. 

1877. A series of burglarious attempts, beginning with one 
upon the First National Bank, was perpetrated in the village. 
[See Our Criminal Record.] 

In connection with the railroad disturbances at Pittsburgh, 
as Columbus and Newark were central points, they would 
have shared in the great distruction of property had not the 
State authorities taken prompt precautions. Several com- 
panies were under arms at Newark for some time. The 
miners from Shawnee were threatening to come to the aid of 
the railroad strikers, who claimed that it was bread for their 
families that they wanted; and there was a probability that, 
if reinforced, the rioters might get the upper hand. Trains 
being interrupted, some necessities, such as coal oil, sugar, 
etc., were getting scarce at Granville. One night word came 
that the rioters were coming. A telegram was sent to the 



190 soldiers' and sailors' rkuniox. 

Mayor of Granville, from Newark, asking for aid in men and 
arms. He declined to take official action, bnt the citizens 
became alarmed and posted sentinels or guards on every 
street leading into town, the president of the University, 
Dr. E. B. Andrews, an old soldier, serving among them. 
The occasion passed, however, without any violence. 

Deaths, Nicholas Handel, who came from Virginia, an 
excellent miller, who had been in the war of 1812, Jnly 28th; 
Deacon Timothy Rose, July 29th, aged fifty-six; Mrs. Daniel 
Howe, February 27th. 

July 22, 1878, occurred at Newark, the Grand Reunion of 
Soldiers and Sailors, many celebrities from abroad being 
present. 

September 25th, the location of the new road to Newark was 
decided by a final compromise between the parties interested, 
from Wm. Showman's across the old aqueduct and by the 
track of the feeder, to the old Hebron road, thus opening a 
route to the county seat avoiding the midway hills. 

Deaths, Gershom Griffith, June 7th, aged seventy-three: 
Mrs. Julia S. Bushnell, July 29th, aged eighty-two ; Mr. John 
Rees and wife, an aged couple, were buried in the same grave 
in the Welsh Hills Cemetery, December 4th, Mrs. Rees 
having died on the 2d and Mr. Rees on the 3d ; Horace 
Wolcott, January 7th, aged seventy-five ; William S. Wright, 
August i4tli ; Hon. Elizur Abbott, October 4th, aged seventy- 
seven ; Mrs. Clarissa Sanford, June i6th, aged eighty-five ; 
Mrs. Mary Wright, May 28th, aged ninety-two ; Norton Case, 
March 23d, aged seventy-six ; P^lizabeth, wife of Lemuel Rose, 
December 28th, aged eighty. 

1879. Dr. William H. Sedgwick became postmaster. 
Died, Mrs. Amelia R. Bragg, August 22d, aged eighty-one. 

Mrs. Bragg was the daughter of Hon. Wiliiam (lavitt, an 
original member of the Company, and was seven years old 
when the colony came to Ohio. 



SEVENTY-FIFTH ANNIVERSARY. 191 



CHAPTER XXXI. 

1880 brings us to the period at which we propose to close 
our record, reporting during the year only the celebration of 
the seventy-fifth anniversary of the settlement of Granville 
Town. 

Such was the excitement attending the Presidential canvass 
during the summer and fall, that it was inexpedient to call 
attention to the coming anniversary until the election was 
passed. As soon thereafter as possible, a meeting of such as 
were interested in the matter was called ; appointments of 
speakers and committees were made, and a circular of invi- 
tation to the pioneers and their descendants, and all others 
interested, was printed and mailed wherever it was thought 
it would awaken interest. 

The meeting was held on Saturday, the 13th of November, 
the anniversary of the day of driving upon the town square 
and beginning operations by cutting down the beech tree. 
It was in the Presbyterian Church, the pastor, Rev. Dwight 
B. Hervey, being Chairman of the day. The morning was 
ushered in with sleet and a promise of snow. The exercises 
were held as nearly as they could be according to the follow- 
ing printed programme : 

MORNING SESSION. 
10 : 30 A. M. 

MUSIC. 

SCRIPTURE READING, 

REV. W. C. P. RHOADES, 

PASTOR OF THE BAPTIST CHURCH. 
PRAYER, 

REV. TIMOTHY HOWE, Pataskala. 

FORMERLY OF THE GRANVILLE CONGREGATIONAL CHURCH. 
MUSIC. 



192 SEVENTY -FIFTH ANNIVERSARY. 

address of welcome, 
RP:v. D. H. HKUVEY, chairman ok the Day. 

i'astor ok iresr.ytekian church. 

settlements in gran ville tovvnshii' liekork the arri\ al ok «' the colony," 
ISAAC SMUCKKR, Newark. 

HISroKY OK "THE (JKANVILLE COLONY," 

RliV. HENRY DUSIINELL. 

ADDRESS, 

REV. ALFRED OWEN, D. D. 

PRESIDENT OK DENISON UNIVERSITY,. 



AFTERNOON SESSION. 
I : 30 p. M. 

I'RAYEU, 

REV. S. C. FRAMPTON, 

I'ASTOR OK METHODIST CHURCH. 

MUSIC. 
HISTORY OK I'lONKER KAMILIES, 

CHAS. VV. BRYANT. 

HISIORY OK liUSINESS MEN OK GRANVILLE, 

PROF. JOHN PRATT, D. D. 

MUSIC. 

HISTORY OF CHURCHES, SCHOOLS AND PROFESSIONAL INTERESTS, 

E. SINNET, M. D. 

HISTORY OF MILITARY AFFAIRS OF THE COLONISTS AND THEIR DESCENDANTS, 

HON. M. M. MUNSON. 

The exercises will be held in the Presbyterian Meeting House. 
Relics of Pioneers and portraits of old citizens will be on exhibition in the 
Lecture Room and Parlors of the Church. 

The address of Dr. Owen in the order of the forenoon, and 
that of Hon. M. M. Mnnson of the afternoon, were unavoid- 
ably crowded into the evening session, and Rev. William 
Whitney took the place of Dr. Pratt in presenting the history 



SEVENTY -FIFTH ANNIVERSARY. 193 

of business men. The music was furnished by a choir of 
singers from the several church choirs of the village, led bv 
Mrs. Prof. Shepardson of the Young Ladies' Institute ; the 
organ being in charge of Prof. H. H. C. Lowery, of the Con- 
servatory of Music, of Granville Female College. 

The first four verses of the following hymn were sung in 
the afternoon. It was composed by Timothy Spelman, Sr., 
and a part of it was sung by the congregation after the deliv- 
ery of the sermon by Rev. Timothy M. Cooley, D. D., at the 
formation of the Colony Church, in East Granville, Mass- 
achusetts, May ist, 1805. 

Oh, fare ye well, my friends, 

We bid you all adieu! 
For Providence has called us, 

And we must surely go. 

To yonder fertile land 

Our steady course we'll steer, 
And oh! that blessings rich, divine, 

Might crown our journey there. 

Though now a wilderness, 

Dear friends, to which we go, 
But hark and hear the promises 

Which from the prophets flow. 

The prophet's sacred word, 

How sweet the promise flows! 
The fruitful desert sure shall bud 

And blossom as the rose. 
Emmanuel will appear, 

To verify His word. 
Free captive souls, make subjects there. 

And own their sovereign Lord. 
Rivers in places high 

Will open from the springs; 
Fountains and pools in deserts dry; 

The wilderness now sings. 
» ;:i ;;; ;:; ;•; « * 

Dear friends, remember us, 

Your brethren far away, 
Jn yender fertile wilderness; 

Be sure for us to pray. 



194 SF.VENTY- FIFTH ANNIVERSARY. 

That Jesus by His grace 

Amongst us would descend, 
And rear a standard to His praise, 

A bulwark to defend. 
From Satan's fatal snares 

May we be well secured; 
Encircled round with arms of love 

We'll triumph in the Lord. 

The remaining verses were of the nature of a valedictory 
to pastor, brethren and neighbors, which would be more in- 
teresting to the participants than to the general reader. 
There were twenty-five stanzas. 

The following hymn was prepared for the anniversary, and 
the 2d, 3d, 4th, 6th and 8th stanzas were sung in the after- 
noon : 

MEMORIAL HYMN. 
O God, Thy pvirpose planned 

The home our fathers sought; 
From wilds to cultured homes, Thy hand 

The grateful changes wrought. 

Great Guardian of our sires, 

We praise the sovereign grace 
That kindled here their altar fires, 

And gave this resting place. 
Led by Thy cloud by day. 

Safe in its sheen by night; 
Thine ark was with them by the way, 

Thy presence was their light. 
They met, they prayed, they sang; 

The hills gave back the sound; 
The wild woods with their axes rang. 

And homes rose smiling round. 
Under the strong nerved arm 

There answered to their call 
Successive clearing, field and farm, 

The cabin, house and hall. 
The church, the school, the press, 

The furrows and the blows, 
And soon a wide spread wilderness " 

Had blossomed as the rose. 



SEVENTY -FIFTH ANNIVERSARY. 195 

Their labors bless our eyes, 

And beautify this land; 
The precious fruits of their dmprise 

Flow freely to our hand. 

To Thee our hearts we raise, 

O, God, this festal day; 
For mercies past we offer praise. 

For future good we pray. 

The matter presented in the various papers read, so far as 
apposite, appears elsewhere in these pages. 

The Executive Committee for the occasion, consisting of 
Messrs. D. Shepardson, Chairman, C. W. Bryant, Secretary, 
T. J. Thomas, C. P. Grimsley and Frank Rose, were made 
a permanent committee, with request to organize and seek 
incorporation if necessary, for the purpose of preserving all 
relics, historical documents, etc., that may be committed to 
their care.' 

The following account of the exercises of th»day appeared 
in the Granville Times, a paper begun during the year by 
H. A. Church, publisher and proprietor. 

GRANVILLE CELEBRATES HER SEVENTY-FIFTH ANNIVERSARY, ON 
SATURDAY, NOVEMBER I3, 1880. 

The Anniversary Festival of the settlement of Granville, was, we are pleased to 
say, a success in every way, and was evidently enjoyed by every one — especially 
by the descendants of the Pioneers. Prof. Lowery contributed two pieces — a fine 
organ overture and a choral. * * ••■ 

The music contributed by the united choirs was a pleasant feature of the 
celebration, and reflected credit on the committee in charge. 

The various papers presented, in the preparation of which neither time nor 
pains had been spared, were excellent, well written, well delivered and full of 
interest to all Granvillians. '" * * 

[After the evening exercises], the assembly adjourned to the church parlors to 
exchange social courtesies and inspect the relics, among which were: 

PORTRAITS. 

Gen. Augustine Munson, painting; Dr. Sylvester Spellman, photo; Rev. 
Jacob Little, photo; Silhouette of Rev. Timothy Harris; Anthony P. Prichard; 
Spencer Wright, Esq. [Engravings.] 



li)G SKVENTV- FIFTH AXNIVKRSARV. 



Bible brought from Wales in 1796, by Deacon Theophilus Rees, and to the 
Welsh Hills in 1802, owned by T. J. Thomas. Ethan Hancrofi's Bible, brought 
with the colony. One brought with the colony by Mrs. Abigail Cook Sweatman, 
the oldest member of the colony. 

OTHER ARTICLES. 

Letter written in London, England, in 1796, to Theophilus Rees, the Welsh 
Hills Pioneer; a silver spoon brought to America in 1630; a collection of dishes, 
glasses, spoons, etc., one hundred years old; iron kettle brought from Massa- 
chusetts, in 1805, [in which were cooked the dinners of the "Rose Company," 
and belonging to Mr. Cornell.] 

RECEIPT COPIED HELOW. 

(Iranvii.i.e, May 14, 1809. 

Received in full of all accounts against Hosea Cooley from the beginning 
of the world to this date. Spencer Wric.ht. 

The Granger-Spellman account book, dated 1S16; a tea pot brought from 
Wurtemburg, Germany, by one of the Levering family over one hunderd and 
sixty years ago; a bassoon played in the first Granville band, by Hon. Sam'l 
Bancroft; a pewter mug brought over in the Mayflower, by the ancestors of the 
exhibitor, W. W. Carpenter; a boot-jack made by Judge Timothy Rose in 1806; 
and many more interesting articles. 

So closed an eventful occasion in Granville. Friend looked on friend, who 
had not met in thirty years; old ties were renewed; pleasant memories stirred; 
it was an "Auld Lang Syne" reduced to reality for generous courtesy and 
hospitality pervaded the whole company. Those who may live to see 
the centennial anniversary, will look back with memories fraught with 
tenderness and pleasant retrospect of the Seventy-Fifth Anniversary of Gran- 
ville's settlement. 

With heartfelt gratitude, we look back to New England and her noble 
colony, and then forward to the future, with the prayer that the blessings of 
the AUwise Guide who directed the hardy pioneer to this spot, may follow their 
descendants in their various journeys through life. 

The following still survive of those who came with the 
Granville Colony in 1805. 

Mr. David Messenger, . . Utica, Ohio. 

Mr. Leveret Butler, . . Fataskala, Ohio. 

Deacon Timothy M. Rose, . Granville, Ohio. 

Mr. Truman Hillyer, . . Columbus, Ohio. 

Mr. Justin Hillyer, . . . Topeka, Kansas. 

Mr. II. Prosper Rose, . . Orland, Indiana. 



SEVENTY -FIFTH ANNIVKRvSAKY. 197 

Mr. Charles Butler, . . . Alexandria, Ohio. 
Rev. Elnathan Corrington Gavitt, Toledo, Ohio. 

Rev. Geo. Ezekiel Gavitt, . Ashley, Ohio. 

Mrs. Matilda Rose Wheaton, Wadsworth, Ohio. 

Mrs. Alcy Rose Diirfee, . . Hartford, Ohio. 
Came in 1807: 

Mrs. Julia Everett Thurston, . Hartford, Ohio. 

Mrs. Marietta Clark Ackley, Granville, Ohio. 

Mrs. Corintha Clark Twining, . Granville, Ohio. 

Mr. Willis Clark, . . . Toledo, Illinois. 

Rev. Thomas Parker and Mr. Thomas Cramer are supposed 
to be the only survivors of those who were here before the 
Granville Company came. Mr. Parker lives in Pataskala, 
Ohio ; and Mr. Cramer at the old homestead on the Welsh 
Hills. 

These are thought to be the only survivors who sustained 
relations as above to the original settlement of (iranville. 

The Ohio Central Railroad from Toledo to the coal fields 
of Perry county, Ohio, with a branch to Columbus, passing 
through the village on the grade of the Atlantic and Erie 
Railway, is running regular trains and doing a promising 
business ; thus, at last, opening the seclusion of this retreat 
to the wide world. 

Note that this is not the "Central Ohio Railroad " from 
Wheeling to Columbus. That (now the B. & O. R. R.) runs 
three miles south of Granville. 

The census just taken tells us we have in the township 
2180 souls; of whom, 31 males and 22 males, a total of 53, 
are over 75 years of age ; and 9 males and 9 females, a total 
of 18, cannot read. Of these, 1131 are in the village; of 
whom 14 males and 17 females, a total of 31, are over 75 
years of age, and 3 males and 2 females, a total of 5, cannot 
read. 



198 KKV. TIMOTHY HARRIS. 



CHAPTER XXXII. 



Rev. Timothy Harris was born at Williaiiistown, Massa- 
chusetts, March 15, 1781. He graduated at Middlebury 
College with the first honors of his class, August 21, 1803. 

He studied theology with Rev. Mr. Preston, of Rupert, 
Vermont. In 1807, having been licensed and received his 
" Recommendatory Letter," dated August 28th, he came 
West to visit friends in vSouthwestern Ohio. Reaching 
Marietta, he saw Mr. Robbins, who had become so much in- 
terested in the Granville people that he made Mr. Harris 
promise to visit them before he returned. Having preached 
for six months in Montgomery county, he started eastward 
again ; and remembering his promise to Mr. Robbins, he took 
Granville on his way. We have seen in the annals that he 
arrived here the latter part of April, 1808, and the way soon 
opened for him to remain permanently with this people. 

September 4th, 1809, he married Miss Bethia Linnel, a 
young lady of his own parish, daughter of Joseph Linnel, Sr. 

So much concerning Mr. Harris is woven into the events 
of the colony, that it only remains to speak of his character. 

Let it be remembered that he was ever a frail man and of 
a sensitive nature. In youth he was not strong. While in 
his course of study he one day entered a damp cave, from 
which exposure he took a severe and lasting cold. In the 
end he threw off the incubus and legained his usual strength, 
but it made an indelible mark upon his constitution. The 
exposure of his missionary tours, during which he had often 
to swim swollen sti earns on horse back, and make tedious 
rides all day through mud and rain, was such as to under- 
mine the strength he had. The last years of his pulpit 
labors were in much weakness, and his salary was always 
small and precarious. 

Mr. Harris' mental endowments were of a high order. 
None other could bear away the highest honors of Middle- 



A PURITAN. 199 

bury College. None other could succeed as he succeeded in 
carrying with him the intellects that had been trained under 
Dr. Cooley of old Granville. None other could produce the 
striking papers recorded from his pen in matters of admoni- 
tion and discipline. 

The influences that developed his piety gave it a decided 
puritanic type. His views on family government were of the 
strictest, yet his children bless his memory and honor their 
father's influence. So were they on church government. An 
offense against the church's purity or good order must be as 
publicly confessed as the offense was open. 

It is to be considered that it was the prominent type of 
effective Christianity with the people among whom he lived. 
There was something of set phraseology and of idiom, and 
possibly sometimes of set tone and look in the expression of 
their religious sentiments. But it did not degenerate into 
cant. There was always a sincerity and depth ot experience 
in their religion which demanded respect for the slight man- 
nerism of its expression. When pnritanism is genuine and 
the life attests the sincerity of the profession, it is grandly 
worthy. Such it was in Mr. Harris. 

The first record of his absence from the pulpit on account 
of his illness was May 4th, 1817, when Rev. Ebenezer Wash- 
burn officiated in his place. Eighteen days before his death 
he received the sacrament. The following minutes on the 
Records of his Presbytery was entered to his memory : "The 
Presbytery, with deep regret, are called to record the death 
of the Rev. Timothy Harris, one of their members, who 
departed this life on Thursday, the 28th of March, 1822." 

A beautiful marble slab in the old burial lot of the Licking 
Company, bears the following inscription : 



200 



REV. TIMOTHY HARRIS. 



Rev. 

Timothy Harris 

was born 

in Wiliiamstown, Mass., 

March I5lh, 1781, 

gradiialed at Middlcbury Coll., 

Aug. 2ist, 1805, 
licensed to preach the gospel, 

May 27th, 1807, 

ordained & installed the first 

Pastor of the Congregational 

Church in Granville, O., 

Dec. 14th, 1808. 

He died beloved & lamented, 

March 28th, 1822. 

During his ministry of 

14 years, 150 united with 

the church. 

Well done, good & faithful servant. 



REV. AHAB JINKS. 201 



CHAPTER XXXIII. 

Rev. Ahab Jinks wa.s the son of a Friend, or Quaker, and 
he was successively farmer, merchant, preacher, justice of the 
peace, and judge. As preacher,he was Methodist, Presbyterian, 
Congregational and Episcopal. He came to Granville in the 
fall of 182 1 ; Mr, Harris then being unable to preach, though 
still pastor of the church. He preached his first sermon to 
the Granville church, October 27th, 182 1. One of his hearers 
thus describes him : He " was a man of more than middling 
size ; his aspect comely and prepossessing ; a clear, distinct 
voice ; possessing a strong, retentive memory, good native 
genius, with a mind well stored with useful knowledge for 
his limited means ; frank, open, generous in his disposition ; 
with a judgment unstable and wavering, connected with 
passions headstrong and unsubdued." 

There had been no regular preaching for a year. The peo- 
ple were pleased with Mr. Jinks, and invited him to preach 
two months on probation. He assented, returning to Gran- 
ville after a short absence, the middle of November. It be- 
came known that it inconvenienced him to remain on uncer- 
tainties, as he must remove his family from Dayton, and it 
was exceedingly desirable to decide his future residence 
before doing so. In these circumstances, about the middle 
of December a meeting of the Society was held at the hotel 
of Mr. R Granger, at which a majority thought it expedient 
to give Mr. Jinks a call to become their pastor. The Church 
was not as well represented at that meeting as the society, 
and some of the church who were present opposed the action 
taken. Nevertheless Mr. Jinks proceeded to remove his 
family to the place, arriving near the close of the year. 

All things continued satisfactory, however, until the spring 
of 1823. Mr. Jinks was minded to build him a house, and 
the people were minded to help him. An adequate sub- 
23 



"202 SUNDAY HOUSK - HUILDINCl, 

scription was raised, a buildiiif^ coniiiiittee appointed, and the 
contract for building given to Col. Lucius D. Mower. Owing 
to sickness and other hindrances the work was unseasonably 
delayed. Saturday, November 22d, (1823), the walls still 
lacked four or five feet of proper height. The masons, having 
other jobs on hand, felt the necessity of urging the work. 
The design of prosecuting it upon the Sabbath began to be 
broached. Three of the hands being church members dis- 
suaded from the step, telling the rest by no means to work 
on the Sabbath. When Mr. Jinks was approached concerning 
the matter his reply was in substance that " if any work 
could be considered a work of necessity that was one." It 
is subsequently recorded that supposing himself was one of 
the responsible workmen, he would not have acted o\\ that 
opinion, and that he charged his son, who was tending mason 
the week previous, not to go near the building that day. 

The masons, however, on Sabbath morning went to work. 
The people assembling at the hour of worship were amazed 
to hear the click of the trowel and the shuffling of bricks, 
and to see the work going busily on. Some remonstrated 
with the workmen, and all but two left the premises. " Some 
of the church went to converse with Mr. Jinks before meeting. 
Mr. Jinks justified their working on the principle of necessity, 
and their feelings were wounded." " Some went home and 
some staid in the street until Mr. Jinks closed his forenoon 
services." Tlii«6 was the beginning of troubles that rent the 
Church into four parts before they were ended. 

The result was the dismissal of Mr. Jinks. All parties 
uniting in the vote. He preached once more, and at the close 
of the service absolved the people from obligation for his 
support. He then turned to the Episcopal Church, and in 
1826 began with a few followers to read the Episcopal ser- 
vice. Others of his friends, however, formed a Presbyterian 
Church and invited him to preach for them, raising a sub- 
scription for his support of $310. It was in the summer of 
1826 that, being engaged in raising tobacco, he is said to have 



REMOVAL TO DKI.AWARK. 203 

employed and paid his men on the Sabbath ; regarding it 
necessary, as from the backward spring the season was far 
advanced and the yonng plants were not set out. 

When the time for which he was employed was expired, in 
February, 1827, ^^^ ^^^^ Presbytery and connected himself 
with the Episcopal Church, reading service every Sabbath. 
He was elected magistrate by the citizens of Granville, and 
began to think of running for Congress. But he finally 
returned to Presbytery, made acknowledgements and obtained 
a letter of dismission to the Columbus Presbytery, and 
removed with his family to Delaware, O. He preached for a 
time to the church in Genoa Township, Delaware County. 
Afterwards he was elected Associate Judge of Coiirt of 
Common Pleas. He died in the State of Illinois. 



204 RlvV. JACOB LITTLE, D.l). 



CHAPTER XXXIV. 

Rev. Jacob Little, D.D., was the son of Jesse Little and 
Martha Gerrish Little, of Boscawen, N. H. His paternal and 
maternal ancestors were amonf^ the earliest settlers of that 
town, residing on Little Hill, and were Christian people. He 
was born May ist, 1795. He nnited with the Congregational 
Chnrcli, in which his parents and other relatives were active 
members, June 25th, 1815. His youth was spent amid the ac- 
tive out-of-door duties of New England farm life. His father 
owned a second piece of land several miles Irom home and high 
among the hills. Thither, in his boyhood, he used to go to 
labor, taking with him a supply of food and conveniences ; 
and after working hard all day he would lie down in a shanty 
and .sleep sweetly rising early to renew his labors, thus gain- 
ing time for several hours of evening and morning toil, 
which else would be consumed in going and coming to and 
from the family home. He early commenced to study with 
his pastor, Dr. Samuel Wood, D.U. His academic studies 
were finished at Meriden Academy. He entered Dartmouth 
College, from which he graduated, August 21st, 1822. From 
college he went to Andover Theological Seminary. While 
there he wrote a dissertation on the religion of the Grand 
Lama, which was read before the Society of Religious 
Inquiry of the Seminary, and afterwards published. After 
fini.sliing his course at Andover he was ordained as an Evan- 
gelist at (joffstown, and soon after began to preach at 
Hoosick, N. Y. Here his labors were greatly blessed, par- 
ticularly his Bible Class instructions. About " eighty were 
hopefully converted, and the young people traced their 
awakening to that Bible Class." In 1826, having married 
Lucy, daughter of Capt. Joseph Gerrish, June ist, he came 
to Ohio and located at Belpre, in Washington County. 

Mr. William Slocomb, during his missionary visit in 



ENTERS UPON HIS LABORS. 205 

August, 1826, spoken of in the annals, had called the attention 
of some of the Granville Church to Mr. Little as a promising 
young man, and one suitable for their pastor. 

Mr. Little visited Granville, but the first Sabbath had a 
very sparse congregation. He visited among the families, 
and a favorable impression was made on both sides. A call 
was offered him, and he agreed to accept it. 

He began his labors June ist, 1827. His tact and geniality 
succeeded in bringing all parties into harmony. Where one 
was disaffected, a special visit was almost sure to bring him 
over. Every one was made to feel that he was specially 
relied up.on to bring about a better understanding among the 
people. The old divisions were healed, and God's blessing 
followed. 

A call to the pastoral office was made September 11, 1828, 
after fifteen months' acquaintance, the call was accepted, and 
Mr. Little was installed. 

He entered with zeal and energy upon a well planned 
course of labors. As a pastor he was rarely equalled. It was 
a principle with him to visit, at least once a year, every indi- 
vidual who came to hear him preach. His parish extended 
from two to four miles in every direction. At one time his 
church numbered four hundred members. There must have 
been families enough to require of him a visit almost daily to 
observe this rule and to make the extraordinary calls which 
would also arise in so large a congregation. As a preacher, 
he gave his people a good variety, bringing out of his treasure 
things new and old. He made the sanctuary attractive. His 
Bible classes, held on alternate Sabbath evenings in the vil- 
lage and on one of the streets leading out of town, were 
meant to bring under the influence of the church and the means 
of grace administered by his hands, all the families of the tozun- 
ship^ and even beyond, who were willing to be thus influenced. 
The people responded to this influence by coming to his 
Sabbath services In early times they would come pouring 
into town in double lumber wagons, on horseback or on foot, 



206 HIS SKCOND MARRIAGK. 

coming thus a distance in some cases of four miles or more. 
Afterward large, open, spring buggies would bring the fam- 
ilies. No one thought of staying at home unless sickness or 
the care of little ones required it. The streets were lined 
with conveyances for a square or more each side of the church. 
Within, the family seats were comfortably filled, and the 
galleries were sometimes crowded. About 1840, it was not 
unusual to look in vain for a vacant seat in the galleries. The 
choir numbered about sixty singers. The morning sermon 
was always written ; a doctrinal discourse, on some weighty 
subject, on which he had bestowed much thought. The 
afternoon brought the congregation out again, the intermis- 
sion having been (in the later years) occupied by the Sabbath 
School. The second sermon was generally delivered from 
brief notes, but was well studied. 

The revivals which blessed Mr. Little's labors were a fea- 
ture of his ministry. Tliey occurred on an average as often 
as every three years. [See chapter XXXV, Granville Plan of 
Union Church.] 

In his entire pastorate of thirty-seven and one half years 
Mr. Little received six hundred and sixty-four converts. 

Mrs. Lucy Little died during the sickly season of 1834, 
Sunday, October 5th, her husband also being too sick at -the 
time to see her. [See Annals.] 

On Wednesday, the 23d of March, 1836, Mr. Little married 
his second wife. Miss Ann D., daughter of Hon. Thomas M. 
Thompson, one of his parishoners. The marriage was on this 
wise. Mr. Little recjuested a special attendance at the W^ed- 
nesday conference, then held at four o'clock, p. m., giving out 
" Domestic Relations" as the subject that was to be consid- 
ered. Special invitations were sent to some, and a general 
curiosity was awakened. In response to his notice there was 
a full meeting, Mr. Garland being in the desk with Mr. Little. 
The usual programme being through, Mr. Little stepped from 
the desk, and taking Miss Thompson, who sat conveniently 
near, led her in front of the desk, and Mr. Garland, some- 



A TEMPERANCE ADVOCATE. 207 

what embarrassed, performed the marriage ceremony, much 
to the surprise of" those present. 

He was from the first a prominent temperance advocate. 
When he came here the temperance reformation had just 
begun. He had felt its influence in the east, but it had not 
yet reached the western frontier. He introduced the subject 
into the pulpit, and in 1828 the first temperance organization 
was brought about. 

Mr. Little was appreciated away from home. At the 
annual commencement in July, 1855, Marietta College con- 
ferred upon him the honorary degree of Doctor of Divinity. 
His sermons on public occasions were oiten asked tor 
publication. 

Mr. Little was appreciated also by his own people through 
most of his long pastorate, and that appreciation still lingers 
with a glow of affection in the breast of many a disciple. 
Toward the last of his life in Granville, however, there were 
some alienations and unkind criticisms, which made a deep 
impression upon his aged heart. Better were it that a people 
among whom thirty-seven years of unusual fidelity, earnest- 
ness and laboriousness had been expended, had borne a little 
longer with those infirmities and reaped a little longer from 
those labors, infirm though they might have been. Then 
might the parting have been in friendship, and that setting 
sun have gone down with one cloud less to shadow it. 

In 1863, he was called to take part in the instruction at 
Lane Seminary, in a course of lectures on Pastoral Theology. 
Subsequently he published a long series of articles on the 
Pastoral Office, in the C C. Herald. 

He resigned his pastorate December 4, 1864, and went im- 
mediately to a piece of wood land in northern Indiana, lying 
about three miles from Warsaw, where he lived a retired life 
until failing strength admonished him to lay aside his cares, 
and he went to spend his last days with his son Charles, in 
Wabash, Indiana. 

At Warsaw he lived.two and a half miles from church, and 



208 HIS UNTIRING INDUSTRY. 

because it was unsafe for him to manage his horses, he and 
his wife walked that distance to church, for a large part of 
the time, constantly. 

At seventy-two years of age he preached to a church 
twenty-seven miles distant for a year, and never missed an 
appointment. At seventy-four, he supplied the church at 
Warsaw a year. The last occasion on which he occupied the 
pulpit was at the installation of his son Charles. 

He died December 17th, 1876, aged eighty-one years, seven 
months and sixteen days. 

One of Dr. Little's prominent traits was his tmtirmg in- 
dustry. He had an energy that quailed at nothing, and a 
perseverence that knew no failure. The light of his study 
window was the first to shine in the early morning, having 
been the last also to be extinguished at night. He always 
had manual labor of some sort on hand for himself and boys. 
By dinner time an ordinary day's work was done. 

He was very methodical in his work. The day was sys- 
tematically arranged in routine duties — study, manual labor, 
visiting, etc.; so also was the year. 

He had a physique that enabled him to accomplish far 
more than the average man. He inherited a good constitu- 
tion. It was early inured to activity and steady toil in 
mountain air. He required little sleep. Five hours seemed 
to suffice him, and he could rarely lie longer than six hours. 
Retiring at ten, he was awake and restless at three or four. 

He was of good mental endowment. His cast of mind 
was of the Aristotelian rather than the Platonic mold. He 
sought for and laid hold of facts^ from which he deduced 
principles. His brain was prominent at the base, and his 
mental operations were likewise wide at the foundation. He 
was not stubborn ; but as long as he was upheld by facts, a 
pyramid were as easily overturned as he to be moved from 
his positions. 

His piety was deep, but of an unostentatious kind. He 
had laid himself on God's altar. His prayers were constant 



AN ORGANIZER. 209 

and fervent and he had a depth of desire beyond all that he 
seemed able to express in words. His public prayers were 
brief, but very comprehensive, and like everythino; else, sys- 
tematic. 

He was a master workman and an adept in setting others 
to work. In his prayer meetings he would name from three 
to half a dozen to make remarks on a specified subject, and 
they were so trained that few declined to express their views 
when called on. He developed the lay talent to a wonderful 
degree, and availed himself in all departments of labor of 
the aid of others. 



210 PLAN OF UNION CHURCH. 



CITAPTKR XXXA\ 

The history of the Congregational Chnrch u]) to 1821 has 
been given in the annals as being largely identical with the 
history of the colony; and snbseqnently np to 1827, "^ con- 
nection with Mr. Jinks' pastorate. Of the four elements into 
which the Congregational Church had become separated, viz.: 
the Congregational, First Presbyterian, Second Presbyterian, 
and Episcopal, the first three were about to come together 
again, while the fourth continued in a separate organization. 

In these circumstances a paper was circulated through the 
three churches to ascertain the preferences of the members 
as to a form of organization. P'ifty-seven preferred the Pres- 
byterian form ; nineteen, the Congregational ; and thirty- 
seven, a union of the two ; that is, to be Congregational with 
the right of appeal to Presbytery. Originally the church was 
Congregational, and so remained in its internal polity, except 
through the brief period of its troubles preceding 1827, until 
the year 1872. But its early pastor, Mr. Harris, although a 
Congregationalist, found himself and church so isolated in 
Christian fellowship, that he thought it best to unite with 
Presbytery and have his church, in conformity with the spirit 
of the " Plan of Union," represented there also by a delegate. 
Mr. Little, likewise a Congregationalist, took the same view 
of the situation ; and so did the church as a body. The 
number, in 1827, preferring the Presbyterian polity "was a 
majority of the whole by one half a vote," but the medium 
ground was chosen from the spirit of conciliation which 
reigned among them ; and hence, the church became a Plan 
of Union Church. 

The printed Articles of P'aith, with Scripture proofs, to- 
gether with the P'orm of Government which had been adopted 
by the Congregational Church at the first, was adopted by this 
organization ; and the minutes of the two Presbyterian 
Churches were ordered to be consolidated for the use of the 



CONFERENCE OF CHURCHES. 211 

re-united church. Historically they desired to stand as the 
'continuation of the church of the colony. 

Lemuel Rose, Amasa Howe, and Silas Winchel became 
the deacons of the new church. 

In 1828, July 7th, the church united with others of like 
faith in the Licking County Conference, there being ten in 
all. They met from place to place about once a quarter, 
taking the churches in turn, and spending two days in a 
place, receiving reports from all and uniting in religious ser- 
vices. A prayerful spirit was always developed, and the most 
effective preaching was always enjoyed. Generally conver- 
sions resulted. These conferences were continued unil 1834, 
and were a means of greatly strengthening the churches 
uniting in it. 

From 1828 to 1831 there was an almost uninterrupted 
revival, and 1832 followed with one of the most pungent 
works ever known in Granville. During the year 1828, seven- 
ty-seven persons united on examination, and in 1831, one 
hundred and seven, and between the two seasons of interest, 
fifteen. 

A description of the revival of 1831 from Mr. Little's own 
pen, will give an impressive view of the scenes so often wit- 
nessed in the history of this church. It was in connection 
with one of the meetings of The Conference of Churches, 
and the weather was very propitious. 

"The Church was in a high state of activity, going out in the 
intervals of worship & bringing in the impenitent. The state 
of the atmosphere was but a representation of feeling among 
christians. All the air was love. Almost every member had a 
high degree of religious enjoyment for many days. It seemed 
almost as if Heaven had come down & filled the hearts of men. 

* * Sick families * '•' had the Spirit of God, 
& conversions in their houses at home. In all this engagedness 
there was not one late [continued] meeting. * * Long 
exercises were regarded as detrimental to revivals. No inquiry 
meeting * * was over an hour. At the close of the 

sermon all were exhorted to nozv seek an interest in Christ. 



212 RRVIVAI. OF 1832. 

" It was stated that the choir would sing four stanzas, & at 
the commencement of the fourth, one of the ministers would ' 
leave the pulpit and go to the inquiry room, [in the Methodist 
Church about twenty rods distant,] & all who were resolved to 
now seek an interest in Christ, would go with him. They were 
requested to make up their minds whether they would noiv seek 
Christ, while the first three verses were being sung, so that the 
great question would be decided by the time they reached the 
fourth. Here followed a time of suspense & anxiety that can 
not be described, 

" At that day, going to the inquiry meeting meant something. 
Who would rise before the audience & their companions in 



sin? 



;]< ;!; ;i: ;ix % * 



"While parents were agonizing in prayer, the countenances 
of their children, alternating from red to white, betrayed the 
struggle within. Some were afraid to have the third verse end, 
& the voices of some singers faltered. But it ended, & the min- 
ister rose, & simultaneously some rose from all parts of the 
house & went with him. The eyes of many were eager to see 
the course their children & friends would take. Seeing a cloud 
of more than seventy youth & young married people, the flower 
of our population, bending their way to the inquiry meeting, 
both ministers and people freely wept. A good portion of the 
singers covered their eyes & let such as could, finish the fourth 
verse." 

Theie were two hundred inquirers during this meeting and 

"from one hundred & thirty to one hundred & fifty were hope- 
fully converted during the year. The converts were remarkably 
clear & happy, & it was found expedient for two months to give 
them a separate inquiry meeting, where they had some of the 
happiest meetings which are enjoyed this side of heaven." 

The following table will give the numbers added on the 
several occasions similar to the above during the history of 
the Church : 

In 1808 were added 40, Mr. Harris, Pastor. 

" 1818 " " 21, " 

" 1822 " " 53, " Jinks " 

'< 1828 " " 84, " Little 

" 1831 " " 116, " 

«' 1832 " " 24, " " " 

.. ,835 ., .. 25, " 



EVANGELISTIC WORK. 



213 



In 1837 


were 


add( 


id 


82, 


Mr 


. Little, 


Pastor, 


" 1840 








28, 




" 




" 1842 








44. 




" 




'< 1847 








23, 




" 




" 1851 








56, 




" 




" 1862 








18, 




" 




" 1866 








21, 




Beach 




" 1869 








30. 




<t 




" 1874 








3i> 




Dudley 




" 1879 




" 




30. 




Hervey 


' 



The church early became a practical temperance society ; 
resolving, April 9th, 1831, " unanimously, That no person be 
received into this church who drinks, buys, sells, or manu- 
factures ardent spirits, except for medicinal or mechanical 
purposes." It has ever since stood in the van guard of the 
cause of temperance. 

About 1833, it was very active in sustaining Sabbath 
schools in all the region around. Seventy or eighty members 
of the church were engaged in this work, sustaining eighteen 
Sabbath schools that embraced eight hundred scholars, with 
a constant attendance of five hundred. Ten young men 
were looking forward to the gospel ministry. 

At the same time there was great assiduity in supplying 
the region around with Bibles and with religious literature. 
No head of a family in the church neglected family worship, 
and from sixteen to twenty social meetings were held in 
different parts of the parish. 

In 1832, the church was incorporated. Two hundred fam- 
ilies were represented in the church at this time. 

In 1838, there were five hundred and sixty-eight church 
members in the township, this church having four hundred 
and fifteen. This was the year of the great agitation in the 
Presbyterian church consequent upon the exscinding of the 
New School Synods containing five hundred ministers and 
sixty thousand communicants. But this church being of one 
mind was not greatly affected by the movement. The tem- 
perance pledge was at this time one that required abstinence 



214 SUSPENSIONS — INNOVATIONS. 

from all that intoxicates, instead of ardent spirits; /'. r., from 
fermented as well as distilled liquors. The snbscribers nnm- 
bered three hundred. It was called the teetotal pledge. 

In 1839, the church was obliged to suspend one of its 
members for " being perfect and breaking the Sabbath." 

In 1840, the practice of sending a lay delegate to Presbytery 
seems to have fallen into disuse, but being invited by a letter 
from Presbytery the church resumed the practice. 

In 1841, the church voted, only eight being opposed to it, 
to raise the funds for church expenses by taxation of the 
membership on the basis of the grand list. The experiment 
did not prove so satisfactory as to be contiuiied long. 

In 1844, April 24th, strong anti-slavery ground was taken 
by the church, in two series of resolutions. In the same 
year, the fruits of the so-called Millerite excitement began to 
appear. The church was obliged to take action against 
several of Miller's adherents for unchristian conduct, who 
were suspended during the year following. 

In 1846, the church in its internal polity so far departed 
from Congregationalism pure and simple, as to appoint a 
standing committee of five, to attend to cases of discipline 
and aid the pastor in examining candidates for admission to 
the church, and to do such other business as the church might 
commit to them. 

In 1851, the innovation of sitting in time of prayer began 
to show it.self. The number of families represented in the 
church at this time was one hundred and seventy-five. 

In 1855, the church gave to benevolent objects, $2,464.00. 

The anniversary sermons of 1858-9 are both largely taken 
up with the endeavor to influence the people to retain their 
position, as a Plan of Union Church, rather than change for 
either polity in its purity. 

Having been for a year or two considering what change to 
make in their house of worship, as the frame of the old 
church hardly warranted repairs, in 1858 they resolved to 
build as soon as slips in the new structure could be sold to 



THK BRICK CHURCH. 215 

the amount of $6,500. The contract for the new house, to 
be built on the ground so long occupied by the old one, was 
signed May 19th, 1859. Mr. Wm. Werden, long a prominent 
builder in the place, was the contractor. The old house 
began to be demolished March 12th, i860. The new house 
cost $10,800. The $4000 above the sale of slips was provided 
for by sixteen men, who furnished the money in shares of 
$200, trusting to the subsequent sale of slips to reimburse 
them. It was dedicated, December 25th, i86t. Dr. A. Kings- 
bury, of Putnam, preaching the sermon from Jude 3rd, : 
''''Earnestly contend for the faith which zvas once delivered unto 
the samtsy The first place of worship for the church was 
out of doors, beside the prostrate tree. The second was the 
hastily constructed cabin of Judge Rose. The third was the 
log school house. The fourth was the small frame built in 
1810. The fifth was the large frame built in 1816, which, in 
1836 was so far remodeled in seats, pulpit, and steeple as to 
pass for the sixth. The seventh is the spacious brick now 
spoken of. 

The last of Dr. Little's New Year's sermons was preached 
in 1864. From it we cull the following facts. There had 
been dismissed to other churches, six hundred and eighty- 
five members in fifty-eight years, and two hundred had died. 
The church had received by letter, four hundred and forty- 
two members; and by profession, eight hundred and twenty; 
in all one thousand two hundred and sixty- two. Except in 
1862, the church had not for thirty years numbered less than 
three hundred members. The church had given to the 
world nineteen ministers, thirty-two ministers' wives, and 
forty-seven elders or deacons. There were twenty-three 
members of the church over seventy years of age. 

The history now comes within the memory of even the 
comparatively young. The succeeding pastors are yet amid 
the activities of middle life, and will be content to have 
their labors chronicled in after years. 

Rev. Edward A. Beech was pastor from 1865 to 1870. 



216 CHURCH BECOMES PRESBYTERIAN. 

Failing health compelled him to abandon the ministerial life. 
He was soon tendered a professorship in Marietta College, 
which position he accepted, and in which he is still serving. 

In 1869, new chandeliers and a commnnion set were added 
to the church furniture. 

In 1870, the congregation united in giving Rev. A. S. 
Dudley, of Logansport, Indiana, a call, which he accepted. 
While pastor clect^ he addressed a letter to the church, 
through Deacon E. Abbott, on the subject of a change in 
the polity of the church, suggesting that the present would 
be a favorable time for them to change to a thoroughly 
Presbyterian organization. The letter was read at a meeting 
held August 17th, 1870, and on August 31st, a vote was 
passed, sixty-three to eleven, taking such action. 

Eight elders were elected on the rotary system, the full 
term of office being eight years; the two oldest elected were 
to serve two years, and be subject to re-election; the next 
two in age, for four years, and so on. The first incumbents 
were as follows in the order of age : Deacons G. P. Bancroft 
and T. M. Rose; Deacons Elizur Abbott and Edwin C. Wright; 
Messrs. Wm. S. Wright and Wm Nichol; Deacon Timothy 
Rose and Hon. W. P. Kerr. The following gentlemen have 
succeeded to the office at the several elections since held. 
Ge6. B. Magoon, Henry L. Bancroft, C. P. Grimsley, T. J 
Robinson, John H. vSample,John D. pA^aus, Chas. Wynkoop. 

April 25th, 1875, Mr. Dudley preached his farewell sermon, 
having been called to the pastorate of Lane Seminary church. 

September 29tli of the same year. Rev. Dwight B. Hervey, 
formerly of Mt. Vernon, having accepted a call, was installed 
pastor of the church, and still remains its faithful minister. 



THE GRANVILLE BAPTIST CHURCH. 217 



CHAPTER XXXVI. 

Until 1819 "The First Regular Baptist Church of Gran- 
ville," located on the Welsh Hills, continued to be the only 
one of the Baptist denomination in the township. There 
were some members in the south and west parts of the town- 
ship who found it inconvenient to go so far ; they, moreover, 
used the English language only, while their Welsh breth- 
ren inclined to their native tongue. Meanwhile, other Bap- 
tists had come into St. Albans, the township adjoining on the 
west. These being on contiguous territory with the English 
speaking part ot the other congregation, the two circles had 
begun to meet together for religious services in more con- 
venient places. 

On Wednesday, the 19th of May, 1819, they met to con- 
sider the propriety of a church organization. Elder George 
Evans, recently from Massachusetts, was with them. As a 
basis for an organization they adopted their articles of faith 
and covenant, and appointed another meeting for definitive 
action. 

Sunday, June 6th, they met again, and with them Elders 
Jacob Drake, of Delaware, and John Mott, of Millar town- 
ship. A council was organized, in connection with pro- 
tracted religious services, all three ministers preaching in 
succession, a church was formed, and the Lord's supper was 
administered. It was at the house of Jonathan Atwood, Esq., 
in St. Albans township, and the church was styled, " The 
Baptist Church of Christ in Granville and St. Albans." The 
members uniting in covenant were Levi Nichols, James 
Hair, Abraham Chandler, Sandford Castle, Timothy Spel- 
man, Jr., Thomas Green, David Adams, Salome Squire, 
Mary Atwood, Philenda Jewett, Sarah Craw, Mary Drake, 
Rhoda Burnet, Anna Chandler, Jerusha Baker, Sarah Kelley, 
Betsy Case, Louisa W'oods, Polly Phelps. Total 19. 
24 



218 ORIGINAL MKMBKRS. 

In September of the same year, this church was received 
into fellowship by the Columbus Association. 

For three years Elder Evans continued to minister to them 
occasionally, but declined to settle with them. 

For the next three years, from October 22d, 1822, Elder 
John Hanover preached to them every fourth Sabbath. At 
first the place of meeting alternated between (iranville and 
St. Albans townships, but afterwards, for the preachers' con- 
venience, they always met in St. Albans. " In the latter 
part of his pastorate, the church secured a further partial 
supply. For some months Elder DeBolt preached once a 
month, so that there was Divine service every second 
Sabbath." 

At this time a two-thirds majorit)- of the church seems to have 
been living on the Granville side of the line. In 1826, the 
church desiring to choose another minister, it so happened 
that the Granville part preferred Pvlder Azariah Hanks, while 
the St. Albans part preferred a minister recently from New 
London, Connecticut, Elder Daniel Wildman, who being a rel- 
ative of one of the proprietors of the clock factory, was tarrying 
among them. It was finally arranged that both men should 
be employed; that Mr. Hanks should preacli two-thirds of 
the time to the Granville people, and Mr. Wildman one-third 
of the time to the St. Albans people, the two parties still 
uniting in the rotating assemblies, once in St. Albans and 
twice in Granville. 

This arrangement naturally, or pro\'identiall\-, led to the 
realization that the}- were trying to occu])}' with one church 
a field that was large enough and diverse enough for two, 
and it was not long until two distinct organizations were 
brought about in the regular way; and tlius began the Gran- 
ville Baptist Church. 

The first pastor of this church was I^ldcr James Berry, a 
man of ])lain but pleasant manners, a sincere Christian and a 
devoted minister. He took charge of the church A])ril 26th, 
1828, preaching to them one-half the time. His earnest 



ELDER HENRY CARR. 219 

labors were blessed, a revival followed and the church was 
trebled in membership. Their place of meeting at this time 
was the brick academy at the head of Main vStreet. He soon 
moved for a house of worship, and the second year of his 
labors saw the house rising on the northeast corner of Broad 
and Cherry Streets, which continued the home of the church 
for twenty years, though not fully completed until 1833. 
[See Annals, 1829.] It was some time before the house 
was finished, there being a temporary floor of planks, 
temporary seats, and the walls being unplastered, but in 
due time it was complete, with a large bell and all needed 
furnishings. 

From this time the church began to feel the benefits of 
having the " Literary and Theological Institution " located 
among them. Prof. Pratt was on the ground, often preach- 
ing for them on the vacant Sabbaths. The pious young 
men attending tlie college added much to the strength of the 
church and the interest of their meetings. 

January 25th, 1832, "The First Baptist Society" was 
incorporated, Daniel Shepardson, Alanson Sinnett and Daniel 
Dusenbury being named in the Act as Trustees. 

After four years' service. Elder Berry began to preach to 
the Welsh Hills Bai)tist Church and was succeeded in the 
pastorate of the Granville church by Elder Henry Carr, July 
27th, 1833. During a brief interim the church was served 
for longer or shorter periods by Elders Nathan Wildnian, 
Allen Darrow and Hiram Gear. Mr. Gear came to Ohio in 
1832, as a Home Missionary Agent, and made Granville his 
headquarters. Mr. Carr had been engaged to come but was 
not ready, and Mr. Gear preached for six months. Mr. Carr 
was tall and well proportioned in person, and was a very 
earnest speaker. He was born near Ostrander, Ohio. His 
ministry was greatly blessed. With the exception of two 
years, the fourth and fifth after his arrival. Elder Carr con- 
tinued the acceptable pastor of the church until the fall of 
1842. Those two years (1836-8) the pulpit was filled by Rev. 



220 RKVS. TURNKV, BAII.KV, HALL. 

Samuel B. Swain, Dr. Jonathan Going and Revs. Clark 

and Ezra Going. 

Mr. Carr was succeeded by Rev. Kdmund Turney, of Con- 
necticut, October 29th, 1842. During the five years of his 
pastorate, unworthy members were cut off by discipline, a 
revival added some forty members, and, though the total 
membership was somewhat diminished, " the efficient work- 
ing capacity of the church " was increased. 

About 1845, the galleries of the house were lowered, and a 
new floor was put in, as the whole understructure was im- 
paired for want of ventilation. 

In 1846, Rev. Silas Bailey, D. D., was called to the Presi- 
dency of the College, and the year following, upon the resig- 
nation of Elder Turney, Dr. Bailey supplied the pulpit for a 
year, and Professor Pratt followed him for another year, both 
generously giving their services toward the erection of a new 
meeting house. The need of a larger and better house for 
worship had become imperative, and the congregation pro- 
ceeded to build upon the southwest corner of the public 
square. [See Annals.] 

President Bailey again supplied the pulpit nearly a year in 
1851. 

Under the labors of Professor Pratt and Dr. Bailey the 
church was blessed with two powerful revivals, the latter 
particularh' resulting in great increase of strength to the 
church. Dr. Bailey was a man of large physique, and a 
trained orator. His preaching was greatly blessed, and sev- 
eral prominent nun in middle life were added to the church. 
All the churches of the place participated in the revival, and 
a marked and permanent impression for good was made upon 
the community. 

September 14th, 1851, Rev. Jeremiah Hall was called to 
the pastorate, and served the church acceptably for a year 
and a half, when, having become connected with the College, 
he resigned the pastorate. 



RF.VS. BURTON, FKRNALD, RIIOADEvS. 221 

Prof. Marsh, of the College, then supplied the pulpit for 
some months. 

May 2ist, 1854, Rev. N. S. Burton began to occupy the 
pulpit, proving himself an excellent and acceptable preacher 
and pastor. His labors were blessed with a powerful revival 
that added eighty members to the church. He continued to 
fill the pulpit until the fall of 1862. 

" For three years after the close of his labors, the pulpit 
was supplied for the most part by Dr. Stone and President 
Talbot." Both these men were of unusual mental power. 

April ist, 1866, Rev. J. D. King took charge of the church, 
but continued in the office only a little more than a year. 

President Talbot again ministered to the church for a time, 
and he was succeeded by Rev. D. A. Randall, of Columbus, 
who simply preached t-o the congregation, not residing among 
them and performing no pastoral labor. 

This brings the history of the church up to 187 1. At this 
time there had been received to the church a total of 1143 
members, of whom 663 were by baptism. There had been 
dismissed to other churches 669, and the membership at the 
time was 251. In 1858, eighty-four members were received ; 
and as the result of the revival of 1839-40, Elder Carr 
being pastor, ninety members were added. 

The next pastor of the church was Rev. J. C. Fernald. 
He was a young man of peculiarly se sitive nature and very 
warmly attached to his friends. He lost his wife to whom 
he had been married but a short time, and his nervous system 
suffered much under the severity of the stroke. He con- 
tinued the pastor of the church only about three years. 

In 1873, the present pastor, Rev. W. C. P. Rhoades, suc- 
ceeded him. Bringing with him the invaluable experience 
of a city missionary in one of our eastern cities, he has 
proved a vigilant and untiring pastor. His labors are greatly 
blessed in enlarging the influence of the church, and the 
value of his counsels is also seen in the management of the 
University. 



222 THE MRTHODIST EPISCOPAL CHURCH. 



CHAPTKR XXX\'1I. 

In the Slimmer of 1810, Rev. Klisha Buttles preached the 
first Methodist sermon in the place, under a walnut tree 
very near the center of town. The same )ear, according to 
the church records, (or the following, as the date of Mr. 
Finley's appointment would indicate, November being too 
late in the season for camp-meetings). Rev. James B. Finley 
preached and formed a class. The circuit was called "Knox," 
James Ouinn being presiding elder, and Elisha W. Bowman 
circuit preacher. The class was formed at the house of Wm. 
Gavit, Esq., who was one of the prominent members. Mr. 
Gavit had just been converted during the preceding summer. 
There was held near Zanesville a camp-meeting, which 
several from Granville attended. Having a ward who, he 
feared, was going to the bad, he took him to the meeting with 
the hope that he might be savingly benefited. While there, 
he concluded that the religion which was good for the ward 
was good for the guardian also. He was hopefully converted 
and became a leading Methodist in Granville. 

Other prominent families in the church in the early years 
of its history, were Samuel Everit, Sen., the Thralls, Peter 
Thurston, Francis Elliot, Samuel Chadwick, Elisha Bigelow, 
and Mrs. Stanley, who was mother of the wife of Esq. 
Gilman. Mr. Chadwick, at whose house many of the meet- 
ings were held, and who lived southeast of the town near 
the elbow in the road that led to Phelps saw mill, kept a 
supply of benches which on preaching occasions were 
arranged in the house, and at other times were piled out of 
doors. In case of two or three weeks continued meetings 
they were piled in the house against one side when the room 
was wanted for meals or at night. 

The succession of Presiding Elders previous to 1820, was 
David Young, three years, and Charles Waddle, two years. 



PRRACnER.S AND PLACKS OF MEETING. 223 

The Preachers in charge succeeding Mr. Bowman were, 
Michael Ellis, David Knox, Samuel West, John Solomon, 
Shadwick Rnark, Henry Baker, and Thomas Carr. The 
Junior Preachers were John McMahon, Philip Green, Lemuel 
Lane, and John Solomon. Meetings were held at Mr. Wm. 
Gavit's and Francis Elliot's in town, Deacon Thurston's on 
the Mt. Vernon road, Mr. Event's west, and Mr. Chadwick's 
southeast of town. The attendance was regular and large 
for a new community. 

In 1820, the circuit was set off as Granville Circuit. When 
the academy was built at the head of Main Street, in 1820, 
the meetings were held there and until 1826. In i'*^24, Jacob 
Young being Presiding Polder and Samuel Hamilton Preacher 
in charge, a subscription was raised and a contract made 
with James Hays to erect a frame meeting-house on the 
northeast quarter of the town square. For some reason the 
contract was annulled, and six days later another was signed 
by the same parties, $1260 having been raised, and the con- 
tract calling for a larger house. On the part of the church 
the contract was made by Wm. Gavit, Peter Thurston, and 
Oliver A. Thrall. The house was to be done by the 25th of 
December, 1824, under forfeiture of ^^2430, but the release 
was not signed until May 8th, 1826. At that time the church 
took possession of the house, though it was several years 
before it could be finished. It was used for meetings in the 
summer, but in winter the congregation still met in private 
houses. The audience room was thirty-four by forty-six feet 
with galleries on three sides. There were two small class 
rooms, one in each front corner of the gallery. According 
to the contract there were to be twenty-six windows, each of 
twelve lights, eight by ten glass. The stairways started 
from each front door and met half way up, where they 
united, turned into the audience room and ascended to the 
gallery floors. 

At this time Rev. Curtis Goddard was preacher in charge. 
A revival began at the Gafiield meeting house, which reached 



224 SUCCESSION OF PRKACIIKRS. 

this place and made many additions to the church. Jacob 
Hooper, Abner Goff and James Gilrnth were the successive 
preachers following Mr. Goddard. With Mr. Hooper was a 
young man by the name of Havens as junior preacher, who 
married Nancy Clark, a niece of General Munson's. Mr. 
Gilrnth was an effective revival preacher. He was promi- 
nent at the camp-meetings held in the vicinity. He was a 
man of powerful muscle, and rowdies met with poor fare at 
his hands. His strong arm would put them in their places, 
even at the expense of their clothing if need be. 

Henry S. Fernandes and C. Lybrand followed Gilrnth. 
Then came L. L. Hamline in 1832, afterward editor of the 
Western Christian Advocate and Ladies'' Repository^ and 
elected Bishop in 1844. He impiessed many of his congre- 
gation even at that early day as a superior man. In 1842, 
the membership was 181, but three years later it was only 72. 

In 1855, S. M. Merrill was preacher, Granville being a sta- 
tion. This was the present Bishop Merrill. He was an 
earnest student, had held a public discussion on the doctrines 
of Universalism, and published a book on the same subject. 

J. W. White, a convert while Dr. Beecher was here in 1831, 
was Presiding Elder for four years. 

In 1833, Levi Hayes, chiefly at his own expense, bought 
and refitted the house built the year before by F. Elliot, just 
west of the brick Academy, and it became the parsonage. 

About 1843, J. Belt raised the ceiling of the church, arch- 
ing it into the roof, and lowered the galleries. 

From 1830, the succession of Presiding Elders is as follows : 
Eeroy Swormstedt, 30-33 ; A. Pxldy, 33-34 ; Jacob Young, 
35-39 ; Robert O. Spencer, 39-43 ; J. B. Finley, 43-46 ; James 
M. Jamieson, 46-49; Jacob Young, 49-51; Z. Connell, 51; 
James M. Trimble, 52-54; Z. Connell, 54; J. L. Grover and 
John Stewart, 56; D. D. Martin, 56-58; J. W. White, 60-63. 

From 1830 to 1840, the preachers were James Gilrnth, 
Jacob Hooper, Henry S. Fernandes (2), C. Lybrand, L. L. 
Hamline, S. Holland, Abner Goff, T. A. G. Philips, Joseph 



HOUvSR r?:fittrd. 225 

Casper (2), T. Courtney, W. Heath, Samuel Hamilton, P. 
Nation, David Lewis, J. T. Donohue, E. S. Gavit, Jacob 
Martin, A. Murphy, B. F. Myers, James Hooper (2). 

From 1840 to 1850, they were William T. Hand (2), James 
Hooper, David Lewis, Joseph A. Bruner, M, P. Kellogg, 
James Hood, J. W. Fowler, T. A. G. Philips, James Gilruth (3), 
Richard Doughty (2), Benjamin Ellis, John Fitch, Sam- 
uel Harvey (2), C. C. Lybrand, A. M. Alexander (2), S. M. 
Bright, B. N. Spahr. 

From 1851 to 1856, Granville being a station, E. V. Bing 
(2), Thomas Lee, Addison Nichols, S. M. Merrill. In 1856, 
Granville was thrown into the Granville and Etna Circuit, 
and the succession was, Abraham Cartlick (2), Charles Bel- 
hauser, James Hooper, W. C. Filler, Isaac King, William M. 
Mullinix (2), Andrew Carroll. 

From 1861 to 1870, Lovett Taft, J. W. Young, E. P. Hall, 
William Z. Ross (2), B. Crook, J. S. Brown, G. Hirst, Sam- 
uel Porter, J. H. Acton (2), J. F. Williams (2), A. H. 
Windsor (2). 

In 1871, Granville and Alexandria Circuit, Levi Hall (2). 
1872 and onward, Granville being a station, O. J. Nave, 
James D. Fry, William M. Fellows, D. Y. Murdoch, J. M. 
Jamieson (2), D. S. Porter, S. C. Frampton. 

In 1851, Mr. Bing being preacher, the pulpit was lowered 
and the audience room was newly seated. While this was 
being done, the audience met in the gallery, and Mr. Bing 
while preaching stood in the northeast end of the gallery. 

In 1861, the church was refitted, the galleries being re- 
moved, the windows changed and the whole style modern- 
ized at a cost of $1800. The work was done by Leroy Ban- 
croft. It became necessary to sell the paraonage at $1000, to 
help meet the expense. 

At this time there is talk of replacing the whole with an 
entirely new structure, more commodious, to cost $10,000. 

The church now (1880) numbers 185 members, with a 
flourishing Sabbath School. 



220 ST. i.rKK.'s Pk()'n:s'rANT i-piscoi'al ciukcii. 



CHAPTlvR XXWIII. 

The ori<:^in of this church has been narrated in the annals. 
As early as 1819, Bishop Chase had visited the place and held 
Episcopal services. In 1826, the state of things in the Con- 
gregational Church was such that " many were ready to sustain 
Episcopal services." Rev. Amos G. Baldwin came toward 
the close of that year, and held occasional services ; and Mr. 
Jinks also led the congregation that assembled, in worship 
according to the ritual of that church. 

After certain preliminary meetings, on Wednesday, May 
9th, the church was organized. In 1834, the church for a 
time enjoyed the labors of Rev. George Denison. 

Previous to the coming of Mr. Bronson in 1836, the church 
was not very strong. Just preceding. Rev. William Sparrow 
gave them every fourth vSabbath. At that time they were 
encouraged to plan for the building of a new church. The 
Methodist and Presbyterian brethren had lent the use of their 
churches with much cheerfulness, and helped to render the 
congregations large. 

Erom 1836, the history cannot be better told than in the 
words of Dr. Bronson himself. 

" Rev. S. A. Bronson after completing his service in the min- 
istry as a missionary at Lancaster & Somerset, Dec. 3rd, 1836, 
left that city the next day, not knowing where his next field of 
labor would be. On reaching Newark that afternoon, he found 
a letter inviting him to take charge of the parishes of Granville 
& Utica. This part of a day was the only time he has been 
without a charge up to the present time, Dec. ist, 18S5. For 
the winter of 1836-37, with his wife & an infant, he boarded 
with Gen. C. K. Warner, of Utica, & went to Granville on 
alternate Sundays. In the spring of 1837 he fixed his residence 
in Granville in the same house with Ehas Gilman, Esq., for 
which he paid a rental of ^30 per annum, out of a salary of 
$400 a year. Services were held at first in what was called the 
Old Academy, a brick building on the side hill above the town. 



ADVKNT OF DR. BRONSON. 227 

In the spring a small building was fitted up for services on the 
flat a little west of the Presbyterian Church. [Should probably 
be north, in the large room on the corner, second floor, where 
the academy had been accommodated under Mess. Fowler, Gar- 
land & Martin.] 

"A bequest of $2000. had been made by Mr. Sherloclc 
Mower which was applied to the building of an l^piscopal 
Church; & a very neat building was erected near the S. E. 
corner of the public square, & was so far completed that the 
basement was occupied for services in September [1837], when 
Mr. B. resigned his charge at Utica, & devoted his whole time 
to Granville, & so continued till the fall of 1845, when he 
became President of Kenyon College. (For a view of this 
house, see "Additional Record.") 

"His relations with the people of his charge & with other 
christian bodies were always exceedingly delightful, & all the 
memories & reminiscences of the Granville of 40 years ago, are 
very interesting. The population of the town, at that time, 
was about 800, & of the township, 2000. Of schools, there 
was a plentiful supply. Granville College, now Denison Uni- 
versity, was located one mile to the Southwest of the village & 
was for a young institution quite flourishing. Granville Female 
Seminary was then carried on under the auspices of the Episcopal 
Church, & did good service for the Church & for the state. 
Very many there learned to love their God & their Church. 
During no part of his ministry probably did the Rector of St. 
Luke's Church have a more profitable field for spiritual labor 
than that Seminary. In the interest of the Presbyterian Church, 
were the Granville Female Academy in charge of a noble 
woman. Miss Bridges, & the Male Academy in charge of Mr. 
Martin. It will be seen by this that the main business of the 
town was education. Of the churches then, by far the most 
prominent was the Presbyterian, under the pastorate of the Rev. 
Jacob Little, a noble good man, & faithful worker whose word 
was law for the township, but withal he was quite excentric. 
His new year's sermon caused quite a sensation. He enumer- 
ated the births [?] & deaths in the township, the number of 
praying households, & of heathen, i. e. those attending no 
church. His general influence was a great benefit to Granville. 
The Baptists were next in order, but like all College Churches 
was not supplied with a very regular pastorate. The Methodist 
& Episcopal Chuj-ches were small & weak. When Mr. B. com- 



228 LRAniNG PHYSICIANS. 

menced his labors, there were but eleven communicants, but 
though self supporting it never became very strong. 

"The leading physicians were Drs. Richards, Spelman & 
Bancroft. Dr. Richards was Senior Warden of the Episcopal 
Church, a man of sound judgment, though slow in coming to 
a conclusion, of unblemished character & great influence in all 
the relations of life; & when he died, left a noble record behind. 
The others were worthy men & leading characters in their own 
churches. The Rev. Dr. Jonathan Going, President of the 
Baptist College, was a man of deservedly high reputation for 
learning, piety & influence, not only as a college officer, but as 
a citizen. Another man by his warm devotion to the Church 
impressed his memory very deeply upon the heart of the 
Rector, & that was Anthony P. Prichard. 

" Names th^t deserve mention as more or less interested in 
the support of the P.piscopal Church, were Alfred Avery, 
Walter Thrall, Benjamin Mower. Gaylord Adams, Mr. Huggins, 
Mansfield French, Christopher Rose. Timothy Carpenter, Levi 
Rose, General Munson, Freeman Haskell, George Case & P. 
W. Taylor. Jason Collins & G. B. Johnson are the only ones 
now living in Granville who were there during the Rectorship 
of the Rev. S. A. Bronson. 

"This sketch would be very incomplete without including a 
distinct notice of the Rev. Alvah Sanford. He came to Gran- 
ville, being called to take charge of the Female Seminary, when 
first opened in connexion with the Episcopal Church, & con- 
ducted it awhile for the Trustees. Finally he purchased it in 
fee simple, & carried it on himself as long as he wished, & re- 
tired to a farm. He was a man of thoroughgoing piety, sound 
judgment, untiring industry, & unflinching integrity. He & 
his sterling wife, by good management, accumulated & be- 
queathed to various societies about $50,000." 

Rev. Alvah Sanford succeeded Mr. Bronson for one year ; 
Rev. William C. French followed for three years ; Rev. John 
L. Bryan for two years ; Rev. F^rastus A. vStrong for three 
years ; Rev. Thomas Corlett for two ; Rev. F>.ra B. Kellogg 
two years; Rev. C. S. Doolittell five years. 

The church was next sup])lied for teii years by Rev. Wil- 
liam Bower, Rector of Trinity Church, Newark. Rev. R. 
S. Nash followed for several months, and occasionally 
Rev. F. M. Hall, both of the same place ; and Prof. Bates, 
of Cjambier. Of recent years the church is feeble in num- 
bers, and they seldom have services. 



THE WELSH CHURCHES OF GRANVILLE. 229 



CHAPTER XXXIX. 

The Welsh citizens of the townsliip have been a thrifty 
class, frugal, simple in their habits, accunnilating property, 
buying real estate in town and country, until they occupy a 
very large share of the township. They generally bring to 
our community a strong physique, industrious habits, exper- 
ience, patient toil and thrift No class of our foreign popu- 
lation are so nearly universally the friends of the Bible. 
They are also generally the friends of temperance, of educa- 
tion, of humanity ; and are truly loyal to their adopted coun- 
try. Besides sustaining three Welsh churches, large num- 
bers of them are in the other churches, and take their share 
of official responsibility there. They also win their way to 
a meritorious standing in the several professions. The 
Welsh language is spoken all around us still, and new comers 
will doubtless keep it alive. But the descendants are fast 
adopting the English, and are amalgamating with American 
blood. A few generations suffice to obliterate all differences, 
with gain to both parties and loss to neither. They are ex- 
ceedingly welcome to share our heritage ; and long may it 
be ere the dento-lingual sputtering of Babel, said to have 
been begun by the Welshman of that day of dispersion 
getting his mouth full of mortar, shall cease from among us. 

The first Welsh sermon delivered in the village is sup- 
posed to be that of Rev. James Davis, a Presbyterian, who, 
at an early day, came from Delaware county, and preached 
in the dwelling of Mr. John Roberts, at the northeast corner 
of Main and Equality Streets. But almost from the first, 
preaching in their own tongue was enjoyed by citizens of the 
Welsh Hills. 

Of their three churches, the earliest formed was the Welsh 
Hills Baptist Church. 

" The First Regular Baptist Church of Granville " was 



230 



WELSH HILLS BAPTIST CHURCH. 



organized Sunday, September 4th, iSoS, at the cabin of Mr. 
David Thomas, Elder James Sutton officiating, assisted by 
Rev. Eli Stedman, a brother of Captain William Stedman, 
who, about the same time, brought a stock of merchandise 
to Granville. It was in fellowship with the Muskingum 
Association, an Old School Baptist body, until the era of 
Sabbath Schools. Indulging in that innovation, by having a 
Sabbath School connected with the church, it was cut oif ; 
and in 1841, it became connected with the Columbus Asso- 
ciation of the Regular Baptist Convention of Ohio. The 
original members were, Theophilus Rees, David Thomas, Jr., 
Nathan Allyn, Jr., David Lobdell, Joshua Lobdell, Thomas 
Powell, Elizabeth Rees, Elizabeth James and Mary Thomas. 
Theophilus Rees was chosen deacon, and Joshua Lobdell 
clerk. Their first house of worship was a log cabin, erected 
in 1809, on Mr. Rees' farm, about a mile from town. It was 
about 18x20 feet, and the cut will reproduce its appearance 
to any who may remember it. It stood with the door to the 
south, and the chimney was built only half way to the roof. 
It had puncheon floor, puncheon seats and puncheon desk. 




Mr. T. J. Thomas has caused the site of this church to be 
marked on the summit of the hill by an inclined marble slab 
3 ft X 6, facing toward the east, with the following inscription : 



SUCCESSION OF MINISTERS. 231 

viz. " On this spot was erected in 1809 the first meeting House 
of the Welsh Hills Biptist Church. Here also was organized in 
1811 The Muskingum Baptist Association. The church was 
org2nized some 40 rods east in the cabin of David Thomas, 
Sept. 4th, 1808, with the following members. [Then follow the 
names as above.] 

Rev. Thomas Powell preached for them occasionally. 

Deacon Rees gave about one acre of land adjoining the 
ground on which the church stood, for a cemetery. This 
was Saturday, February 6th, 1808, on which day, his grand- 
son, Rees Thomas, son of David Thomas, was buried, it 
being, of course, the first interment. 

For four years, from 1810, Elder J. W. Patterson was 
pastor of the church. In 1816, there were forty members. 
Elder John Mott followed as pastor for six years. 

In 1819, Elder George Evans being a temporary supply for 
the pulpit, another log house was erected lor the accommo- 
dation of the church, used also for school purposes, two 
miles further northeast. It was about 20x24 feet, and 
finished like the other with puncheon floor and furniture. A 
cemetery was provided near it also by a gift of land from Mr. 
Philipps. This house was burned in 1822, but another took 
its place near by, the following year, larger, and of hewed 
logs. It stood eleven years when it, too, was burned. Elder 
Thomas Hughes, recently from Wales, was chosen pastor the 
same year, and continued to preach to the church until 1841, 
with the exception of one year, 1832-3, when Elder James 
Berry, who had previously served the Granville church, 
preached to them. In 1836, during Mr. Hughes' pastorate, 
a frame church, 30x40 feet, was erected, which continues to 
be the home of the congregation. 

After Elder Hughes, " Elder James Sargent, a young man 
irom the Granville College, served the church very accept- 
ably for one year. During his ministry thirty persons were 
received into the church." Two other students from the 
College, Roberts and Owen, supplied the church another year 



232 WHI.SII CAl.VINISTIC METHODIST CHURCH. 

or more. The next preacher was Elder David Prichard, who 
supplied them for two years from 1844. From 1846 to 1848, 
Elder William Smedmer supplied them three-fourths of the 
time. Elder E. S. Thomas followed for two years ; and from 
June, 1849, Elder T. W. Heistand supplied them three- 
fourths of the time. 

" In April, 1851, Elder Thomas Hughes was called for the 
third time to the pastorate of the church," but he died in the 
following September. 

The pulpit was then supplied by Rev. Silas Bailey, D. D., 
and by Rev. J. Lawrence. 

From Elder Hughes' term the succession of pastors is as 
follows : 

Rev. S. Hdiley, D. L'., President Granville College, . '52. 

" N. Clouse (20 additions) . . . i'>53-55- 

" J. Hall, D. D., 1S55.60. 

" N. Clouse, a second time .... 

" B. J. Powell (30 additions) 

" S. Talbot, D. D 

" A. Jordan ...... 

" J. Kyle 

Up to Mr. Kyle's time, a period of sixty years, there had 
been received by baptism 270, and the whole number was 73. 

II. The second Welsh Church to be formed in the town- 
ship was the Welsh Calvinistic Methodist Church. 

As early as 1834, there was a nucleus for a congregation of 
Welsh Methodists, who in doctrine were Calvinistic. Rev. 
Edward Jones, of Cincinnati, preached at the residence of 
Mr. Jenkyn Hughes, and a Sabbath School was organized. 

October, 1835, the church was organized. They worshiped 
in the stone school house two miles northeast of town. Revs. 
Edward Jones and William Morgan were the ministers whose 
influence led to the organization. The members were : Wil- 
liam T. and Mrs. Williams, James and Mrs. Evans, Mr. and 
Mrs. Albans and Miss Albans, John J. and Mrs. Evans, Rob- 
ert Walter,'William Parry, Williom and Mrs. Lewis, and Miss 
Jane Davis. 



HOUSES OF WORSHIP. 23;^> 

William Morgan was the first settled pastor. They after- 
wards came into town, and for a time met in a room over the 
Postoffice. " Revs. Edward Jones, William Parry and Wil- 
liam Morgan were the occasional preachers until 1840, when 
Rev. William Parry became the settled minister." In 1842, 
the church numbered thirty-nine.' The deacons of the 
church were John Jones and William E. Ellis. The latter 
was an intelligent young man recently come from Wales, 
with a brother and two sisters. One of the sisters dying, the 
other returned to Wales; then the brother dying, William 
went to California. His office in the church was filled by 
John R. Owens. Mr. Jones, the other officer, soon died, and 
John J. Hughes took his place. Mr. Owens and Mr. Hughes 
are the present officers. The ministers have been, William 
Morgan, William Parry, Hugh Roberts, Joseph E. Davis, E. 
E. Evans, of Newark, who preaches occasionally, and 
Thomas Roberts, the present incumbent. 

A vSabbath School has been sustained uninterruptedly, 
numbering in regular attendance from forty to fifty, about 
fifty-five being enrolled. Prayer meetings have been held 
once a week ; there has been one sermon every Sabbath 
morning; and in the evening, either a sermon or prayer- 
meeting. 

The membership has fluctuated. In the time of the war it 
was very low, most of the male members being away. It is 
now about the same as at the organization. Their services 
are conducted in the Welsh language. 

Their first meeting house stood on Broad Street, high up 
the hill Parnassus. It was built in 1843. This was sold and 
taken down, and in 1856 another was erected on Prospect 
Street, under Prospect Hill, facing east between Bowery and 
Market Streets. It is 21x30 feet, and very neatly finished 
and furnished as to pulpit and seats. Though small, it is a 
very inviting place of worship. 



234 TIIK WELSH CONGREGATIONAL CHURCH. 

III. The Welsli Congregational Cliurcli. 

Tliis cliurch was organized in 1S42, by Rev. John Powell, 
in the conlerence room of the Congregational Chnrch, now 
the basement of the Welsh Congregational Church. There 
were seventeen original members. Previous to this, those of 
this denomination had enjoyed occasional preaching from 
Revs. James Davis and Rees Powell, as well as Rev. 
John Powell, who became pastor of the church at its organi- 
zation. 

In 1844, they leased a few feet of ground on the western 
part of the conference room lot for twenty-one years, and 
put up a' small house of worship. But before the expiration 
of the lease, in 1863, they bought the whole lot and the acad- 
emy building The basement windows were closed up, the 
floor of the upper story was taken out, and one large and 
commodious audience room was made, with large windows, 
comfortable seats and nice pulpit. This was at a cost of 
$1500. The former house was sold with a little additional 
ground and converted into a dwelling. 

The succession of preachers was as follows: John Powell, 
Jenkyn Jenkyns, Thomas W. Evans, D. R. Jenkyns, D. Price, 
John R. Jones, John Cadwallader, D. Sebastian Jones. In 
1862, there were one hundred and two members ; now eighty. 
There have been many deaths and removals. Only two are 
living now who were in the first organization. John Davis 
and D. Lewis (?) were the first deacons, both now dead. F'our 
have died since : Walter Davis, Evan Evans, Daniel Jenkyns, 
and Thomas D. Williams. One elected in 1843 ^^ "^^ living, 
Deacon William Jones, but too feeble to perform the duties 
of his office. The other officers are Roderick Jones and John 
L. Jones. 

The Sabbath School has been a very successful one, num- 
bering at one time, on an average, as high as one hundred 
and fifty. They have no lesson helps, but sini])h- take the 
Welsh Bible with ]>arallel columns in P^ngiish, and old and 
young remain from the preaching service and study the good 



SABBATH SCHOOL. 235 

book. The preaching has always been in Welsh, bnt recent 
experiments are being made in having evening services, or 
services every fonrth Sabbath, in English. But it is inevit- 
able that the succeeding generations will more and more lose 
the Welsh tongue and adopt the English. 



23(> i^KNisoN rNUi'Rsrrv. 



CHATTKR XL. 

(iJRANVII I K LITERARY AND THKOLOGICAL INS 1111' PK. C.R ANVII.I K CO\.\ F.r.F,.) 

Ill iS^^c), the Ohio Baptist Kducational vSocicty, whose object 
is indicated by the title, was thinkiiio to establish an institu- 
tion for collegiate and theological instruction, primarily with 
reference to the training of young men for the ministry. 

At a meeting held May, 1830, in connection with the session 
of the Ohio r)a])list Convention, in Lebanon, Ohio, a com- 
mittee was apjiointed to nominate twelve Trustees and to 
receive bids for the location of the College. In response to 
this action, an olTer went \\\^ to the next annual meeting of 
the society, held at Lancaster, Ohio, in May, 1831, from 
Granville. Mr. Charles vSawyer, a merchant, and Klder Allen 
Darrow, a licentiate of the Granville church, were chiefly 
instrumental in this action ; other citizens of the place coming 
to their aid. The farm of two hundred acres, once occupied 
by Simeon Allyn, on the Columbus road, a mile southwest 
of town, valued at ;fi3400, was proffered as a site; a farm 
being chosen because a vuDiiial labor institution was con- 
templated as best designed to answer the needs of a new 
country. 

Three thousand four hundred dollars at the ])resent time 
would go but a little way towards establishing a College and 
Theological Seminary, but at that da\-, with certain other 
considerations, it decided the location. The moral tone of 
the community as urged by I^lder (icorge C. Sedgwick, of 
Zanesville, also had much weight in the decision. 

The Trustees nominated were John McLeod, Charles 
Sawyer, Luther Woods, Thomas Spelman, Jonathan Atwood 
Jacob Haker, Allen Harrow, William Sedgwick, W. Thompson, 
Isaac Sperry, S. Carpenter, and !■>. Allen. 

The farm house was enlarged, but w'hile the work was going 
(Ui, the entire building was destroyed by fire. The Trustees 



I'IRST CLASS — PRESIDENT JOHN I'KATT. 237 

proceeded at once to rebuild, and the new building^ was ready 
for occupancy by December of the following year. 

Meanwhile, Rev. John Pratt had been called to the presi- 
dency of the institution, had come u])on the ground, and 
temporarily the classes were accommodated in the unfinished 
Baptist Church, and afterward in the new building erected 
by Mr. vSawyer, for the b'emale Seminary. Instruction began 
Tuesday, December 13, 1831. Considerable enthusiasm was 
awakened among the youth of the village and vicinit)', and 
others came from abroad. The total number of students was 
thirty-seven. A class of a dozen or more was at once formed 
with a view to a college course ; among whom were William 
Whitney, William Richards, Oilman Prichard, Lewis Granger, 
Henry D. Wright, Henry Case, Pvlias Oilman, Sirenus Klliot, 
(iiles Peabody, and vSamuel White. 

President Pratt was born in Thompson, Connecticut, Octo- 
ber 12, 1800, and died in Granville, January 4, 1882. His re- 
mains are buried in the College Cemetery. He was a man 
of very rapid mental operations, and a good scholar and 
educator. He was particularly ready in the languages. He 
inspired his scholars with commendable ambition, and the 
school rapidly rose to prominence. Through the lulucation 
vSociety and the Convention it commanded a large patronage 
throughout the vState, and many sought its advantages even 
from the Southern vStates. While giving instruction in the 
general way incidental to an infant college in a new country, 
President Pratt was also instructor in theology. 

The second year he had as an associate, Prof. Paschal 
Carter, a young man twenty-five years of age, thoroughly 
versed in mathematics and the natural sciences. The two 
proved congenial spirits, and they stood shoulder to shoulder 
for many years. Each occupied a homestead opposite the 
college grounds, and labored with great success, each in his 
department, earning a wide reputation as instructors. Prof. 
Pratt retained his connection with the institution in some 
capacity until 1859; and Prof. Carter until 1854. 



238 CHARTKR — PROF. S. P.. SWAIN. 

In 1832, February 2d, the institution was incorporated by 
act of the Lc,i;islature, as " (Tranville Literary and Theolog- 
ical Institution." [vSee Laws of Ohio, volume 30, page 88.] 
It was provided that the Board should not exceed eighteen in 
niimber, and not handle an income of more than $5,000 ex- 
clusive of lands or tenements occupied by the Institution for 
its accommodation and that of its officers or professors. 

In 1833, Rev. Samuel B. Swain was made Professor of 
Moral Philosophy and Theology, which chair he filled until 
1856. Rev. Asa Drury was also elected Professor of Latin 
and Greek languages, and so continued until 1835. George 
Cole was made Professor of Mathematics and Natural Phil- 
osophy in 1835, and continued his labors two years. In 1837, 
Rev. John Stevens was made Vice-President, and Professor 
of Moral and Intellectual Philosophy, and so continued until 
1843. He was born in Townsend, Massachusetts, June 6, 
1788, and died in Granville, Ohio, April 30, 1877. 

Rev. Jonathan Going, D.D. was elected to the Presidency 
in 1837, and remained until his death, which occurred Novem- 
ber 9, 1844. He resided in town. He was a man of large 
person and generous heart ; of great natural ability and of 
high literary attainments. He made a deep impression upon 
the place as a citizen and upon the Institution as an instructor. 
He was chosen to deliver the oration upon the occasion of the 
funeral obsequies observed by the citizens of Granville in 
1841, on the death of President Harrison. The first two or 
three sentences of his address melted his audience to tears. 
His death was a great bereavement, not only to his family 
and the institution, but the entire community. 

His monument in the College Cemetery, of shell limestone, 
" erected by the students of Granville College as a mark of 
esteem for their beloved President," says he was born in 
Reading, Vermont, March 7, 1788, and died at the age of 
fifty-eight. " His epitaph can be written only when eternity 
shall have unfolded the results of his earthly labors." 

Professor Pratt after resigning the presidency and the chair 



CxRANVILLE COLLEGE — DR. S. G. BAILEY. 239 

of Theology, took the chair of Latin and Greek languages, 
which position he filled until 1859. 

In ] 845, the name of the Institution was changed to " Gran- 
ville College." It has generally had some* provision for the- 
ological instruction J but not always as an essential depart- 
ment of its work. It has always had a preparatory or acade- 
mic department. A scientific course is provided, giving to 
students who do not wish to take a full course, access to the 
English, mathematical, and natural science departments. At 
one time also it had an agricultural department in its course. 

In 1846, Rev. Silas Bailey, D.D., LL. D., was elected to the 
presidency and remained until 1852. The great need of en- 
dowment became more and more pressing, and it was urged 
by the Doctor upon the Trustees and friends of the college. 
In 1849, Elder Carr was made a financial agent of the college 
with a view to raising the necessary funds, but the work was 
new to the churches, and the claims of such an institution 
were not felt as in later years. 

In 1850, one hundred and twenty acres of the college farm 
were sold, the land not being needed for the manual labor 
department. The Trustees so far departed from their plan 
of theological instruction as to approve of the effort to es- 
tablish a Theological Seminary at Fairmont, near Cincinnati. 

In 1852, Professors Pratt and Carter offered their resigna- 
tions, but both continued still to give instruction. There 
was serious talk of removing the college to some other 
locality which would better secure the interest and patronage 
of the churches. The citizens of Lebanon offered $30,000 
toward buildings if it should be located there. But an effort 
was made toward securing an endowment where it was. 
Scholarships were offered by the Trustees, $300 constituting 
a church scholarship, $250 an individual scholarship, and $100 
a scholarship in the agricultural department, giving access 
for fifteen weeks in the year, to the particular studies needed 
in that line. Individual notes were received and certain gifts 
of real estate. 



240 NRW PROKKSSOR.S — DKNISON UNIVERSITY. 

At the same time an effort to remove the college into the 
villao^e began to be made, and an effort to secnre fnnds for a 
new and more permanent bnilding was postponed in conse- 
quence. President Bailey then resigned. 

In 1853, Rev. Jeremiah Hall, D. I)., was made President, 
Rev. F. O. Marsh, Professor of Natural Sciences, and the 
Scientific Department was organized. The succeeding year 
Professor Marsh was changed to the chair of Mathematics 
and Natural Philosophy, which he held until 1874, and Rev. 
J. R. Downer was made Professor of Rhetoric and Belles Let- 
ters, holding the place until 1866. 

In 1855, after spirited opposition, the college was brought 
to the village, an eligible location being secured on the hill 
north of town, the grounds costing nearly $2000. A hand- 
some brick building soon crowned the summit of the Hill of 
Science. It is of four stories, 183 x 45 to 32, varying 
widths, having besides recitation, society and library rooms, 
accommodations for sixty-six students. The three story 
frame building that stood on the hill at the farm was also re- 
moved and stands in a less prominent place and west of the 
brick building. 

In 1856, the name of the college was changed to " Denison 
University," as an honor to William S. Denison, of Adams- 
ville, Ohio. He was the first donor of the sum of $10,000 to 
the endowment fund. The College Cemetery was removed to 
a spot in the new grounds about eighty rods northwest of the 
buildings, and the old farm property was sold. 

In 1868, William A. Stevens, son of Prof. John Stevens, 
was made Professor of Greek Language and Literature, and 
so continued until 1877. 

As an outgrowth of the new enterprise in educational 
matters, a female department of the University began to be 
contemplated. Though not encouraged by a majority, the 
agitation led "eventually to the establishment of a separate 
school in the same educational interest. 

In 1859, Prof. John Stevens, who, since 1843, had been in 



PROF. JOHN STRVF:NS — PRES. SAMSON TALBOT. 241 

employment elsewhere, returned and was installed in the 
chair of Latin and Greek Language and Literature, and re- 
mained in that position until 1868, father and son sharing the 
labors of the department. The theological class was also 
revived, and the following year it was more definitely pro- 
vided for. 

In 1863, Rev. Samson Talbot, D. D., was made President, 
and so continued until his death in 1873. He was an alum- 
nus of the institution, had acquired his education by stren- 
uous personal exertions, and was admirably adapted to fill 
the position. He greatly endeared himself to his associates 
by his humility and his affable, brotherly spirit. He com- 
manded the respect of his students, and died greatly beloved 
and lamented by all. His mind was of philosophic turn, he 
was an original thinker, and his heart being true to the 
Christian religion, he was invariably, if this can be said of 
any one, found on the right side. Almost simultaneously 
with his election, an effort was made to increase the endow- 
ment of the University. Up to this time $75,000 only had 
been given to the institution. Of this, $40,000 were still in 
possession. The remaining $35,000 had been consumed in 
the necessary running expenses of the thirty-two years the 
institution had been in operation, a trifle over $1,000 a year; 
a small sum, as President Talbot intimates, to have been 
paid for the good accomplished by the College. An effort 
was at once made to raise $50,000 toward permanent en- 
dowment. 

In 1864, Rev. Marsena Stone was made Professor of The- 
ology, and so continued to serve, without salary, until 1870. 

As the Professors were inconvenienced by their inadequate 
support, the alumni came to the rescue by the pledge to fur- 
nish $800 yearly for the support of one of them. In pur- 
suance of the project of raising the fund for endowment, 
district committees were appointed over all the State, and 
the sum aimed at was increased to $100,000. An earnest 
endeavor was blessed with ultimate success. 



242 PROFS. AI.MON U. TIIR1>:SHKK AXD L, K. HICKS. 

In 1S67, Alnion U. Thresher was made Professor of Rhe- 
toric and lMi<^lish Literature, in which capacity he still serves. 
In the following year, Professor John Stevens' chair was lim- 
ited to the Latin Language and Literature. 

The Trustees took legal steps to conform to the State law 
of 1852 for the incorporation of colleges and other institu- 
tions of learning. 

A third building was added to the brick and mortar invest- 
ment ot the College; a four-story brick building of hand- 
some outline, 135 feet long, of irregular width, from 32 to 66 
feet, affording a chapel and recitation rooms, and accommoda- 
tions for 72 students. 

In 1869, Lewis K. Hicks was made Professor of Natural 
Sciences, and so continues at this day. One hundred and 
three thousand dollars were reported as secured for the en- 
dowment. The friends gave thanks, took courage, and pro- 
ceeded at once to the effort of raising another $100,000, and 
in addition, $50,000 for buildings and apparatus. 

In 1873, the institution sustained a great loss in the death 
of President Talbot, June 29th. He died at Newton, Mass- 
achusetts; the former home of Mrs. Talbot, whither lie had 
gone for much needed rest. He died from long continued 
overwork, the beginning of the overtaxing of his powers 
being as early as his college days. His remains were subse- 
quently removed to Granville and deposited in the University 
Cemetery. Professor F, O. Marsh was made Acting Presi- 
dent, and so continued until 1875. John L Gilpatrick was 
made Professor of Mathematics and Natural Philosophy, and 
so remains at this time. Irving J. Manatt was made Profes- 
sor of Latin Language and Literature. Professor John 
Stevens, on account of the increasing infirmities of age, was 
permitted to retire on a salary. 

The growing evil, so regarded, of college fraternities was 
nipped by forbidding any students becoming members, and 
leaving it discretionary with the faculty to receive or reject 



PRESIDENTS E. H. ANDREWS AND A. OWEN, D.D. 243 

any applicants who might come from other institntions, 
being already members. 

The new endowment fund was reported complete, and 
efforts to raise more still went forward. 

In 1875, Rev. E. Benjamin Andrews was elected President, 
and served until 1879. In 1876, Charles Chandler was made 
Professor of Latin Language and Literature, and so continues. 
In 1877, Rev. R. S. Colwell was made Professor of Greek 
Language and Literature, and so continues. 

Mr. W. H. Doaue, Doc. Mus., of Cincinnati, Ohio, an 
alumnus of the institution, at an expense of $10,000, erected 
a handsome building for the library and cabinets, which was 
named " Doaue's Hall." It stands a little to the west of the 
other brick buildings. 

Soon after the resignation of President E. B. Andrews, 
Rev. A. Owen, D. D., of Chicago, after a service of twenty- 
three years in the ministry, was called to the Presidency. 

The University now enters upon a period, we confidently 
believe, of deserved prosperity. It has a well selected library 
of 12,000 volumes; an exceptionally good cabinet of Natural 
History and Science ; buildings as good as those of similar 
institutions in the State ; a well invested endowment fund 
of $300,000 ; a full Faculty of scholarly men ; a histoty that 
infuses enthusiasm ; a Board of Trustees devoted to its 
interests ; and patrons that are well pleased with the work 
that is done there. It stands side by side with the first insti- 
tutions of learning west of the Alleghanies in all its appoint- 
ments. 

The general catalogue of 1879 sums up the work of the past 
as follows: There were two hundred and forty-one alumni, 
of whom two hundred and eight were living. There were 
seventy-six ministers and sixteen theological students ; thir- 
ty-eight lawyers ; eleven professors ; twenty teachers, etc. 
Nineteen not graduates of the collegiate department, had 
received the honorary degree of Master of Arts ; nineteen of 



244 CATALOCxUK OK 1 879. 

Doctor of Divinity; six of Doctor of Laws; and one of Doc- 
tor of Music. Of the o^radnates, fifty-three have received 
the degree of Master of Arts ; four that of Doctor of Divin- 
ity; one Doctor of Laws; eight are distinguished by the title 
Honorable, and three have become missionaries abroad. 



GRANVILLE ACADEMY. 245 



CHAPTER XLI. 

(FEMALE ACADEMY, MALE ACADEMY, FEMALE COLLEGE.) 

It will be remembered that the colonists took immediate 
action to provide instrnction for their children. They bnilt 
a log school house, and employed Mr. Rathbone as teacher 
the first winter. The next winter the .school was tanght by 
Oliver Dickinson; the third, by Knowles Linnel ; a:nd the 
fourth, by a Mr. Perrin. It is related of this last that he 
used to carry his jug into school with him and frequently im- 
bibed of its contents. He was probably the last to teach in 
the old log house. 

Miss Ruhama Hayes taught a select school in the Masonic 
room in Esq. Oilman's new house, in 1810. The next year, 
December i6th. Dr. William S. Richards, then just arrived 
in the place, opened a school in the same room. 

In 1810, the new frame school house came into use. 

Dr. Southard taught the public school the winter of 1813- 
14. He used to enforce his authority by threatening to give 
medicine to the recreant. 

Mr. Sereno Wright succeeded him. His method of enforc- 
ing discipline was different. He used to divide the scholars 
into two classes, the mcrilonoiis and the otherzvise. The 
meritorious had certain privileges which were denied to the 
rest ; such as lectures on etiquette, military drill, practical 
lessons on the art of living, etc. 

Miss Sophronia Taylor, afterwards Mrs. Oilman, taught 
in 1816. Misses Sally Baldwin, Emily Wolcott, and Mercy 
Boardman followed. Messrs. Kelley, Hall, Orosvenor, and 
McMillen taught previous to 1824, ^^^^ "^^ brick school 
house being in use. 

Mr. Little's advent in 1827, was the occasion of a strong 
impulse being given to the cause of education. His wife was 
a woman of education, and both of them heard classes of 



•2-1(5 INCIPIKNT ladies' school. 

youn,i^ ladies. Miss Mary Ann Howe, having been one of 
Mr. Little's pupils, opened a school for yonng ladies in the 
office of Dr. Cooley, a small building that stood in the eastern 
front corner of the Harris lot. Miss Emma Little, a sister of 
the pastor, succeeded Miss Howe with a school of the same 
character for two or three years. 

Mr. Little .says: "For two or three years about this time 
Dr. W. W. Bancroft and myself were self-made trustees to 
employ teachers, find a room where we could, and keep up 
the ladies' school." " In 183 1, we employed Miss Mary Hells, 
a pious and discreet, as well as accompli.shed young lady, 
who exerted the best influence over scholars, and was ever 
ready to guide the inquiring mind to Christ." 

A Miss Boardman, a relative of Dr. Richards, taught a 
school of boili sexes in a room over the saddler's shop of 
Aaron McBride, at the northwest corner of I>road and Green 
vStreets. 

All this is liistorically introductory to the more advanced 
schools which followed. 

In 1833, the need of a ])ermaneut and furnished room for 
the accommodation of the school became pressing. The 
Baptists were also moving to the same end. As they were 
aj)plying to those who had long been interesting themselves 
in school matters, for aid in ]:)utting up their building, it was 
supposed ])y the Congregationalists that they would unite 
with them, and allow both denominations to be represented 
in the Board of Trustees. A commitiee of three men was 
appointed to wait U])on them with such a ])roposition. The 
reply was that such an arrangement would injure the repu- 
tation of the school among Baptists abroad. 

Mr. vSereno Wright was then appointed a committee to see 
if a subscription for a building could be raised. He soon 
reported success and a site was purchased, being the south- 
west corner lot at the intersection of Main and Fair Streets, 
one street south of the public square. By July the frame 
was ready to be raised. Ere the work was begun, as the 



ACADEMY BUILDING. 



247 



men stood ready to stoop to their burden, " the blessing of 
Almighty God was invoked on ihe enterprise," In Decem- 
ber, 1833, the bnilding, 42 x 28 feet, was so far completed and 




GRANVILLE MALE ACADEMY. 



furnished that Miss Eliza Foster, a descendant of John Rogers, 
of martyr fame, the teacher at that time, occupied the upper 
story. In April, 1834, the building was completed, dedicated, 
and out of debt, having cost $3000. 

GRANVILLE FEMALE ACADEMY. 

In 1834, Misses Elizabeth Grant and Nancy Bridges, from 
the school of Ipswich, Massachusetts, took charge, Miss 
Grant of the higher, and Miss Bridges of the primary de- 
partment. Miss Grant was aiterward married to Dr. Burton, 
of Chillicothe, and in 1836, vSeptember 19th, Miss Bridges 
was placed at the head of the school. She was a lady of won- 
derful executive ability, and carried the school at once to 
the front and sustained it there. 

March 14th, 1836, the school was chartered as Granville 
Acadismy, the Trustees being Rev. Jacob Little, Hon Samuel 
Bancroft, Spencer Wright, Esq., Knowles Linnel, Esq., 
Leonard Bushnell, William Smedley, Timothy M. Rose, 
Henry L. Bancroft, Ebenezer Crawford, Edwin C. Wright, 
and Dr. W. W. Bancroft, with perpetual succession, to be 
known as the " Trustees of Granville Academy." 



24S TKACHERS. 

December ^otli, 1836, the Trustees purchased the preseut 
site of the Feuiale College, one and a half acres, and in the 
ensuing year the large four-story frame building, 68 feet 
front, with a wing 93 feet deep, was erected at a cost of 
$17,000. From the more complete organization of the 
school with a boarding department in i'S34, and until Feb- 
ruary 9th, 1844, it was conducted as a manual labor school, 
the young ladies doing most of the work in the culinary 
department. Tuition was four dollars and a half per quarter, 
and board, on this system, eighty-seven and a half cents a 
week. 

In 1842, Miss Bridges had become Mrs. H. R. Gilmore, 
still retaining her position as principal of the school, her 
husband taking the business management of the school. 

In 1843, Misses Bailey, Arms and Hamlen had charge of 
the school. Miss Bailey being principal and the Board 
retaining the details of its management. 

In 1844, it ceased to be a manual labor school, and there- 
after was generally conducted with a gentleman at the head. 

In 1845, it passed to the hands of Mr. William D. Moore, 
in whose care it continued to flourish until 1854. 

May 9th, 1854, a contract was made leasing the school to 
Mr William P. Kerr. For eighteen years he managed it 
with great ability, and then sub leased it to Rev. George H. 
Webster. 

In 1875, a corps of young ladies, Miss Maggie K. Theaker 
being principal, took charge of it ; Misses Mary Converse, 
Abby Kerr, h-va Robinson, Maggie K. Theaker and vSadie 
Follett. 

In 1877, Mr. Kerr again took the position, re-leasing it in 
1879 for a term of six years. A system of steam-heating 
was introduced, each room having its radiator, regulated at 
the pleasure of the occupant, and all the halls being kept 
warm. 

Aside from the above-named principals, the following have 
been prominent teachers, most of them for a term of several 



CHANGE TO COLLEGE — MALE ACADEMY. 249 

years. In the Academic department, Misses Sarah W. 
Dana, Hannah O. Bailey, Eliza M. Breed, Susan E. Arms, 
Lucy J. Hamlen, Caroline S. Humphrey, Freelove P. Mcln- 
tire, Elizabeth G. Knowlton, Mary P. Oliphant, vSarah E. 
Haight, Amelia Bancroft, Julia F. Hammond. In the Pri- 
mary department, Mrs. Mary T. Bryan was a most successful 
teacher of sixteen years' service. In the Musical depart- 
ment were Mr. Horace Hamlen, who served fifteen years, 
Mr. S. H. Hamlen, Misses Rosa and Abby Kerr, for shorter 
terms. Miss Helen Humphrey was at the head of the 
Painting department for four years. More than a hundred 
and fifty have been employed as instructors. 

In 1867, the name of the Institution was changed to Gran- 
ville Female College, the course of study has been enlarged 
and the fine arts are claiming more and more attention. It 
has developed the talent of a large number and sent them 
forth as teachers, particularly in the department of oil-paint- 
ing and instrumental music. The school has departed some- 
what from the original designs of its founders, but the 
changes have been well considered and in response to the 
demands of its patrons. It now stands among the foremost 
schools west ot the Alleghenies in facilities for female educa- 
tion at reasonable rates of expense, 

GRANVILLE MALE ACADEMY 

Was simply the boys' department of Granville Academy. 
Rev. T. Harris had taught several young men in the classics 
preparatory to a college course, and with a view to their 
studying for the ministry, beginning previous to 1809. Mr, 
Little had done the same thing. The select schools up to 
1833, received both males and females. At that time, Rev. 
Joseph Fowler, a graduate of Yale College, had a school for 
boys only, in the chamber of the two-story building on the 
corner back of the Congregational church. 

In 1834, Rev. Edmund Garland, a graduate of Dartmouth 
College, who was supplying the pulpit during Mr. Little's 
illness, gave more form and permanency to it, having a large 
26 



250 SUCCESSION OF TEACHERS. 

number of classical scholars ; among them Rev. J. F. Tutlle, 
D. D., of Wabash College, Hon. George B. Wright, Alexan- 
der Morrison, Esq., Hon. M. M. Munson and other profes- 
sional men. 

When I\Ir. Garland turned his attention again to preaching, 
Mr. W^illiam S. Martin, a graduate of Middlebury College, 
took the school and retained the position of principal until 
his death in 1842. He was a man particularly adapted to 
the place. His scholarship was adequate, but his capacity 
to govern and draw out his scholars was his strongest point. 
Under him the Academy attained its highest reputation, 
drawing scholars from a great distance. He once left his 
school room in session time to follow a truant boy through 
the streets to the top of Mt. Parnassus, east of town, where 
he found him in the top of a tree. There he waited upon 
him in kind and firm authority until the youth thought it 
time to surrender, and came down, went back to school, put 
his mind upon his books, and became a better boy. He would 
keep a youth at the blackboard, trying, studying, persever- 
ing, until he waked him up and made a scholar of him. In 
1838, the school was held for a time in the stone basement 
room of the new Acadenn- building, and when the female 
department took possession ol the new building in 1838, the 
male department was carried to the rooms above, where it 
had its home so long as it continued to exist. That it might 
not be overshadowed, its interests were confided to a separate 
P)oard of Trustees. In the summer of 1842, Mr. Martin, 
feeling that his health required more activity, sought exercise 
in the hay-field. He overworked and brought on incurable 
disease, dying before the fall term of the Academy commenced. 
His successors were Mr. Phinney, (1843); Rev. Jonathan 
Pitkin, (1844); Rev. J. M. Stearns, (1845); Mr. W. P. Kerr, 
(1847); Mr. Ezekiel Scudder, (1850); Mr. Rollin A. Sawyer, 
(1851); Mr. Osmer P'ay, after a vacancy of one year, (1856); 
Mr. .0. Howard, (1858); Mr. Henry Parker, (1859); Mr. O. B. 
Thompson, (i860). 



TKACIIHKS OF VOCAL MUSIC. 251 

For some years it was becoiiiin<y manifest that the new 
High School in the common school system of Ohio was 
infringing upon the ])rovince of the academy, and making it 
more and more a labor to sustain the academy as a school 
of ])re])aration for college, and the effort was abandoned. 
There have been times since when its friends would have 
resuscitated it, but no effort has been successful. The build- 
ing passed to other uses and the floating propert}- was trans- 
ferred to the female department. 

TKACHKRS OK YOCAI. MU.SIC. 

Judge Bancroft, so far as appears, was the first to teach 
music, which he did in connection with choir training, from 
1805 ^o 181 5. In leading his choir he used to sound the key 
note on a peculiar little hollow box instrument in the shape 
of a book, with a sliding lid in one edge. It was blown like 
a whistle, and the different letters of the scale were marked 
so that the lid being adjusted to the required letter its note 
was sounded. 

Dea. G. P. Bancroft was probably the next prominent 
teacher, he also leading the choir from 181 5 to 1830. 

Mr. O. M. Selden, from (Tranville, Mass., taught here, and 
at the same time in Lancaster and Zanesville. 

Mr. Nathaniel Paige taught to some extent in the school 
districts around the village, as did also Mr. Thomas H. 
Bushnell. 

Mr. Wm. H. Brace, having a suj^erb bass voice, was an ex- 
cellent singer and instructor. 

Mrs. Jacob Little had a good knowledge of the principles 
of music, and gave instruction to a class of young ladies for 
the sake of training independent singers for the choir. 

Mr. Freeman Haskell deserves prominent mention also as 
a successful teacher. 

The name at the head of the list, however, is that of 
Horace Hamlen, who came here in 1831, and at once took a 
commanding position as a trainer of singers, and a leader of 



252 MR. HOUACIv HAMI.KN. 

the choir; in which ])Osition he was sustained until lie vol- 
untarily retired from his life-long service. 

In 1837, a Mr. Allen came to the place from Oberlin and 
taught during the winter, making quite an impression as a 
capable musician and a ])ious man. He started a good many 
children in singing, introducing some of them into the choir. 

The people, however, returned to their interest in Mr. 
Hamlen, who had now been so long among them as to be 
counted one of them. 

He was born in Plainfield, Mass., August 23d, 1810. His 
talent for music began to develop at twelve years of age. He 
attended singing school with his older brothers and sisters, 
learned all the music that w^as sung and developed a clear, 
strong voice. The next year he obtained an octave flute. 
He attained such proficiency in its use that he was often 
called on for music. At the age of seventeen, he was placed 
at the head of a military band just formed in the town, he 
playing the bugle. This position he retained until he started 
for Ohio, October ist, 1830. When he was nineteen years of 
age the Governor of Massachusetts gave him a commission 
as Fife Major, of which he was very proud. 

Coming to Ohio in 1830, he first stopped in Chester, Geauga 
County, where he spent two years. He was invited to Gran- 
ville, where the way opened for his permanent employment. 

A Mr. Thorpe and others, connected with Granville College, 
for brief periods, taught music, leading also the choir in the 
Baptist Church. 

In later years, Mr. vSamucl B. Hamlen, son of Horace 
Hamlen, was prominent in musical instruction ; also Dr. 
Little's sons, Joseph and Alfred. 



GRANVILLE FEMALE SEMINARY. 253 



CHAPTER XLII. 

HAPTIST, EPfSCOPAL, HAPTIST AGAIN, YOUNG LADIES' INSTITUTE 

The successful iuitiation of the college enterprise in 1830, 
awakened also an enthusiasm in the denomination for a 
Female Seminary. Mr. Sawyer erected a two story frame 
buildino- on Broadway in the west end of the village, for a 
school building; and in the rear, on Water Street, another 
frame building for the boarding department, which, being on 
the hillside, was two stories high on the north side and three 
on the south. Mr. Poland and his wife, of Massachusetts, 
were engaged as teachers, but could not come before the 
spring of 1833. Rev. H. Gear being on the ground as Plome 
Missionary Agent, his wife was prevailed upon to take the 
school for the winter of 1832-33. She had twenty-five 
scholars. Mr. Poland arrived in the spring and took charge, 
but the sickness and death of his wife soon interrupted his 
work. 

Then Misses Clark and Ingraham took charge. Miss In- 
graham being teacher of music. In connection with her in- 
struction, the first piano brought to Granville was in use. It 
was an upright instrument, probably of five octaves, having 
a large satin rosette for its facing. Very few in Granville 
had ever seen or heard such an instrument. They were not 
at all common even at the East. Miss Ingraham's perform- 
ances, as well as those of her scholars, both on public and 
social occasions, were great entertainments. 

Miss Kimball was teacher of the primary department, and 
was succeeded by Miss Maynard. Miss Converse was the 
next principal, having as associates Miss Elvira Moore and 
Miss Josephine Going, a daughter of Dr. Going. Rev. S. B. 
Swaim was the last to have charge of it previous to 1839, 
when it was bought by the Episcopalians, and was then 
known as 

THE EPISCOPAL FEMALE SEMINARY. 

It was run for a time by a Board of Trustees, with Mr. 



254 THE KPIvSCOPAL FKMALE SEMINARY. 

Mansfield I^'rench as principal. Rev. Alvali Sanford was 
soon called to take charge of it, first as Rector and head of 
the boarding" department. The teachers associated with Mr. 
French were Misses Klvira Moore, I'. C. F'nller, and Julia A. 
Pratt. Mr. John A. Preece was teacher of instrumental 
music, and Mr. P\ S. Thorpe of vocal nuisic. 

Miss Julia A. Pratt succeeded Mr. F'rench as principal for 
a time. 

Mr. Sanford soon bought the entire property; [1838-9] the 
Baptists retaining the right to be represented in the faculty 
by one teacher. Under his management the school flour- 
ished for several years. Associated with him as teachers 
were Misses Clara F.Johnson, Emily Adams, C. T. Aydelotte, 
Sarah S. Sanford, M. A. DeP\)rest, Mary L. Huggins, and 
Messrs. Solomon N. vSanford and Horace Hamlen. 

In 1848, Mr. S. N. Sanford bought the property, (Mr. A. 
Sanford retiring to his farm just west of town,) and con- 
tinued at its head with a corps of efficient helpers, until 1857. 
The chief assistants were : Misses Julia A. Pratt, Clara F. 
Johnson, Mary L. Huggins, Frances I>. Johnson, Charlotte 
Mahon, Sarah S. Sanford, and Julia L. Huggins. 

At that time Rev. C. S. Doolittell became Rector of St. 
Luke's Church, and he and his brother-in-law, Mr. Lindley, 
bought the school property and became responsible for the 
instruction. Among their helpers were Mrs. Lindley, Misses 
Dunlap, Chase, Thrall, Jarvis, Andrews, O'Dwyer, Larned 
and Sawyer. At the end of two years they removed the 
school to Mansfield, Ohio, and resold the property to the 
Baptists, and it became 

THE YOUNG ladies' INSTITUTE. 

Meantime, Dr. S. N. Burton, Pastor of the Baptist Church, 
with the aid of Mrs. Burton and Mrs. S. vS. Carter and lunma 
Stult/, had commenced a school of similar grade in the base- 
ment of the Baptist Church. The Professors of the Univer- 
sity also gave their assistance in the instruction as needed, 



THE YOUNG ladies' INSTITUTE. 2')!] 

without charge. Two classes were graduated ; the first, of 
two members, the second, of nine. 

Rev. M. Stone, D. D., then came to the place, September 
4th, 1861, and with the assistance of the church, who gave 
a bonus of 5^1000, purchased the property of Messrs. Doo- 
littell and Lindley, added a fourth story to the main building, 
and continued the school. He continued in charge until 
1868, having as assistants Misses Carter, Clark, Corwin, Hall, 
Hankins, Berry, Jarvis, Snyder, Cox, Woodruff, Nichols, 
Potts, Abbott and Partridge. One graduating class numbered 
fourteen. A marked feature of the school was, that for sev- 
eral years, all the graduates were professors of religion. The 
alumUcC of the Young Ladies' Institnte are counted from 
those graduated by Dr. Burton, no connection being traced 
to the school of 1834-38. 

In 1868, Dr. Stone sold the property to Rev. Daniel Shep- 
ardson, D. D., who has maintained a high educational stand- 
ard up to the present time. Prominent among his helpers 
were Misses M. O. Brooks and Mary E. Anderson, who re- 
mained with him several years. [See " Additional Record."] 



256 OUR PROFESSIONAL RI'XORD. 



CHAPTER XLIII. 

MINISTERS, MISSIONARIlvS, LAWYERS, PHYSICIANS. 

I. Ministers. 

There have gone from our families, Orlin P. Hayes, son of 
Deacon Levi Hayes, Congregationalist. Studied at Williams 
College, theology with Dr. Timothy Cooley, Granville, Mass., 
licensed in 1816, went South, and died at Tallahassee, P'la. 

Aiigustine Alexander preached first on the Granville cir- 
cuit in 1864. He began traveling in 1835. ^^^ work was 
mostly in the southern part of Ohio. He became a Presiding 
Elder. His labor ceased in 1880. He was twice married. 
His first wife was Miss Montague, and the second, Miss 
Armstrong. He now resides in Westerville, O. 

Samuel Cooper, beginning in 1818, and William Metcalf 
were Methodist preachers at an early day ; but little can be 
gathered concerning them. 

Norval Howe, son of Deacon Amasa Howe, Presbyterian, 
Hampden Sidney College ; preached in Eastern Virginia, 
later in South Carolina, living to a great age. 

Timothy W. Howe, son of Deacon Amasa Howe, Presby- 
terian, Ohio University, Union Theological Seminary, Va. ; 
married Miss Chloe Harris, of Granville ; settled in Lima 
Township, Licking County, O. , where he has done a noble 
life work. 

Hiram Howe, son of Deacon Amasa Howe, Presbyterian, 
Ohio University ; preached in Gallia County, O. 

George Ezekiel Gavit, son of William Gavit, Methodist; 
now resides in Ashley, Delaware County, O., supeiannuated. 

E. Corrington Gavit, son of William Gavit, Methodist, 
Toledo, O. 

Thomas Parker, son of the Mr. Parker who settled at the 
mouth of Clear Run in 1803, Methodist ; was a local preacher 
in 1828, and ordained in 1832; lives at Pataskala, O., super- 
annuated ; married the daughter of Ivliphas Thrall, Sen. 



MINISTER.S. 257 

John B. Thomas, Baptist ; preached in Knox Connty, O. 

Samuel W. Rose, son of Judge T. Rose, Presbyterian, 
Ohio University; licensed 1826; died at New Lexington, O. 

Joseph H. Weeks, son of Joseph Weeks, Sen., Presbyte- 
rian; preached near Natches, Miss., where he still lives, 
incapacitated for service by paralysis. 

There were three brothers by the name of Woods, all Bap- 
tist ministers, in early times, of whom little can be gathered. 

Constant Jones, Methodist, lived some time with his 
brother-in-law. Cotton M. Thrall. 

Hoover, Methodist, lived at the furnace, where he 

held meetings of considerable power. 

Owen Owens, Baptist, was licensed in 1823 ! organized the 
churches of Homer, Liberty and Genoa. 

William Sprague, who worked at coopering with Mr. 
Langdon, became a Methodist preacher. 

Daniel Thomas, Evan Thomas, Benjamin Thomas, three 
brothers. Baptists, came about 1835, began to preach, re- 
moved to Morrow county, Ohio. Daniel is dead ; Evan 
preaches in Illinois; Benjamin is President of Judson Uni- 
versity, Judsonia, Arkansas. 

Griffith W. Griffith, son of Nicodemus Griffith, Presby- 
terian ; Ohio University; Lane Seminary; died in course of 
study, February 3d, 1844. 

Henry L. Richards, son of Dr. Wm. S. Richards, Episco- 
palian ; Kenyon College ; preached in Columbus, Ohio ; be- 
came a Roman Catholic; now in hardware business in city of 
Boston. 

Milton B. Starr, son of John Starr, Congregational ; Lane 
Seminary ; preached in Central Ohio, Northern Indiana, and 
city missionary San Francisco, where he now resides ; married 
Miss Elizabeth G. Knowlton, a teacher in the Female 
Academy. 

John White, convert of revival of 1831-2, Methodist ; Pre- 
siding Elder. 

Richard Doughty, raised on the Welsh Hills, Methodist; 



258 MINISTERS. 

served on the Granville Circuit 1844-5, two years. He also 
married here. 

iCbenezer Biishnell, I). J)., son of T. H. Bushnell, Pres- 
byterian ; Western Reserve College ; Theological Department 
of the same institntion, being tutor of mathematics in Col- 
lege while studying theology ; preached at Burton, Ohio, and 
at Fremont, Ohio, where he now resides. 

Henry Bushnell, son ol Deacon Leonard Bushnell, Pres- 
byterian ; Marietta College ; Lane and Andover Seminaries; 
preached at Lexington and Marysville, Ohio, until health 
failed ; taught at Central College; resides in Granville, Ohio; 
married Miss Harriet M. Thompson, of Granville, Ohio. 

Albert A. Sturges, son of Lsaac vSturges, Congregational ; 
Wabash College ; New Haven Theological Seminary ; mis- 
sionary of A. B. C. F". M., on the Lsland Ponape, Micronesia; 
married Miss Susan M. Thompson, of Granville, Ohio. 

Lewis Granger, son of Ralph Ciranger, Baptist; Granville 
College; preached for a time; resides in California. 

William Hoge, D. D., Presbyterian ; colleague of Dr. 
Gardiner Spring, New York ; at the breaking out of the 
civil war, he went to Virginia, and died soon after. 

Joseph Little, son of Rev. Jacob Little, D. D., Presby- 
terian ; Western Reserve College ; Lane Seminary ; chaplain 
in the army, where he had an eventful history ; was publish- 
ing a series of charts for aid in his work in West Virginia, 
when his health failed ; now at the Health Retreat, Dansville, 
New York ; married Miss limnui K. Little, of Granville. 

Lunian P. Rose, son of H. Prosper Rose, Congregational ; 
licensed in middle life ; Home Mission Superintendent, 
Indianapolis, Indiana; married Miss Emeline Starr, of Gran- 
ville, Ohio. 

George F. Richards, son of Dr. William S. Richards, Pvpis- 
copalian ; Kenyon College; Nashotah Mission, Wisconsin; 
ordained as deacon at Ashtabula, Ohio, where he died in 
early life. 

George Little, son of Rev. Jacob Little, D. D., Presbyte- 



MINISTERS. 259 

riati ; Marietta College ; Lane Seminary ; preached at Oconto, 
Wisconsin, and now at Plymonth, Indiana. 

Edward Payson Linnel, son of Renben Linnel, Presbyte- 
rian ; Denison University and Hamilton College ; Union The- 
ological Seminary, New York ; preaches at German Valley, 
New Jersey ; married Miss Lonise Johnson, of Granville, 
Ohio. 

William D. Woodbury, Universalist ; preaches at New Way, 
Jersey, and McConnelsville ; has preached at two of these 
places for twenty-two years. 

George Thrall, son of Walter Thrall, Esq., Pvpiscopalian ; 
Granville College ; Kenyon College; ordained in 1852; col- 
league of Dr. Dudley A, Tyng ; Philadelphia; pastor at 
Bridgeport, Connecticut, and Brooklyn, New York ; labored 
for Christian Union; now lives in Boston, Massachusetts; 
writing a volume entitled " Need and Way of Union." 

William A. Smith, son of A. J. Smith, Presbyterian ; Mar- 
ietta College ; Union Theological Seminary; died in Michi- 
gan, 1879. 

Frances M. Hall, son of Dr. Jeremiah Hall, of Denison 
University ; Episcopalian ; Denison University ; taught four- 
teen years ; rector in Grace Church, Toledo, Ohio ; St. Mary's 
Church, Cleveland, Ohio; Trinity Church, Newark, Ohio; 
preaching occasionally in Granville, Ohio. 

Rev. John Payne, Baptist; Denison University; Rochester 
Theological vSeminary ; pastor, Morenci, Michigan. 

Charles Little, D. D., son of Rev. Jacob Little, D. D., 
Presbyterian ; Marietta College ; Lane Seminary ; preaches 
at Wabash, Indiana. 

Henry Fulton, son of Robert Fulton, Presbyterian ; Den- 
ison University ; Western Theological Seminary ; preached 
at Duncan's Falls, Ohio ; West Union, Pennsylvania; teach- 
ing at Holton, Pennsylvania. 

Evan Thomas, son of James Thomas, Congregational ; 
Denison University; taught and studied at New Haven, 
Connecticut ; preaches in Vermont. 



260 MISSIONARIKS. 

William J. Williams, Baptist; Denison University; some- 
times preaches ; living in Illinois. 

There wonld be quite a number added to this list if all 
were included who came here to study or teach. Among 
them, Prescott P). vSmith, who studied with Mr. Harris ; P>. 
W. Chidlaw, D. U., who studied with Mr. Little, Edmund 
Garland, James Rank, Josei)h F. Tuttle, I). I)., Lewis God- 
den, Joseph V. Barks, J. M. Stearns, Hzekiel Scudder, Rollin 
A. Sawyer, D. D., James H. Taylor, D. D., Hugh B. Scott, 
Charles Wallace, and all who have entered the ministry and 
been connected with the University. As catalogues of the 
different institutions are published, the reader is referred to 
them for information which would unduly burden our pages. 

n MiSvSlONARIKS. 

Samuel Wisner, in 1818, went to labor among the Cher- 
okees as a master mechanic, helping them in their removal 
from Georgia to their new territory, and in building houses 
in their new home. He was under the A. P>. C. P\ M. ; died 
in Geauga County, Ohio. 

William H. Manwaring, in 1823, ^'^^^^ ^ similar commission 
to one of the tribes in Georgia; died at P^ranklin, Ind. 

Miss Mary Ann Howe, in 1833, was married to Rev. Mr. 
Johnston, of Charleston, S. C, and went to Asia Minor 
under the same Board, After nineteen years of labor they 
returned to this country, her health not being equal to the 
demands of missionary toil. 

Henry K. Copeland and wife, in October, 1835, offered 
themselves to the American Board, and were sent to the 
Choctaws as teachers. Mr. Copeland soon became a general 
superintendent of agricultural and mechanical interests, and 
Postmaster General for the Nation. They continued in their 
work twenty years, when, from failing health, they were 
obliged to leave. 

Miss Charlotte M. Hopkins, in 1848, was married to Rev. 
John R. Chandler, and under the A. B. C. F. M., went to 
India and joined the Madura mission, where they still live, 



MISSIONARIKS. 261 

pursuing their work, having a son and two daughters now 
missionaries in the same field. 

Rev. Albert A. Sturges and Miss Susan M. Thompson, 
both natives of Granville, were married in 1S51, and under 
the A. B. C F. M., went to Ponape, Micronesia, where they 
met with good success in their work of twenty-eight years. 
They are now at Woodburn, 111., in broken health. 

Joseph G. Thrall, in 1851, was sent as others to the Choc- 
taws to instruct in agriculture, remaining only one year. 

IMiss Julia Bushncll, in 1853, ^^'^^ married to Rev. Hubert 
P. Herrick, and went with him to the Gaboon mission. West 
Africa, under the American Board. From broken health she 
was obliged to return at the end of two years. Her husband, 
after two years' residence in New York State, returned to 
the mission, hoping his wife would soon be able to follow 
him. But he soon died. She afterward married Dr. H. V. 
V. Johnson, of McMinnville, Oregon, where she now resides. 

Dr. John G. Kerr, in 1853, went as a medical missionary 
to Canton, China, under the Presbyterian Board. He suc- 
ceeded Hon. Peter Parker, in the charge of a hospital 
founded and sustained by the Board, and he is still filling 
that position. 

Miss Anna Baker, in 1856, joined the Dacotah mission 
under the American Board, where she labored five years. 
Subsequently for three years she taught the freedmen. She 
then became the wife of Dr. Riggs and returned to mission 
work in Minnesota. 

Miss Lydia J. Goodrich, in 1859, was married to Rev. 
David D. Green, and went immediately to Ningpo, China, 
where seven years of labor were spent under the Presby- 
terian Board. They were then transferred to Hangchow, 
where three years more were spent. Returning to this 
country on account of the health of one of the children, Mr. 
Green died, and Mrs. Green now resides in Granville. 

Miss Minnie Beach, in 1869, went as teacher to the Bulga- 
rian mission. By the sickness of others, the whole care of 



262 MISSIUNARIKS. 

the school fell upon her' before she had mastered the laii- 
jl^uage, and lier health failed, after four years of service. She 
now resides in Chicago, 111. 

Miss Martha Baker, in 1872, joined Dr. and Mrs. Riggs, 
and engaged for two )ears in the same work her sister had 
])revionsly done for the Dacotahs. 

Miss Harriet li. demons l)ccame the wife of Rev. 
Steele, and went to New Mexico under the Methodist Board 
of Missions, where they labored with success for seven years. 
They were in the midst of a Romish population and were 
environed with dangers. Mr. Steele was shot at several 
times. They now reside in Wisconsin. 

l'\)ur ol these har\est gatherers have gone to their reward. 
The rest, having obtained help of God, continue to this day. 
But, sfranoc to say, only two of them are this day actively 
engaged in the foreign field: Dr. John (t. Kerr, and Mrs. 
Charlotte M. H. Chandler. Three were only temporarily eni- 
plo}'ed as teachers or laborers. The rest have been obliged 
to retire from the field, on account of the sickness of them- 
selves or families, or some kindred approved cause. 

Dr. Little gives the names of thirty-two daughters of his 
church who had become the wives of ministers previous to 
1863 ; and of forty-nine sons of the church who had become 
elders or deacons in this or some other church. 

III. Lawyers. 

Hon. Jeremiah R. Munson, ])rominent in the early history 
of the colony, representing them in the Legislature ; obtain- 
ing their library charter ; at one time prominently active and 
successful in a movement, for political reasons, for a change 
of State officers. 

Walter Thrall, Esq., long a resident here, excelled rather 
as a counsellor than pleader ; now lives in Columbus, O. 

Seth Mead, a pettifogger in minor cases in early times. 

Thomas M. Thompson, Esq.; Kenyon College; now re- 
sides on his farm near Monticello, Indiana. 



LAWYERS. 263 

George W. Ells, Esq.; of active mind and habits, a suc- 
cessful pleader; became a bookseller in Dayton, Ohio; now 
resides in Davenport, Iowa. • 

Alexander Morrison, Esq., whose history cannot be traced. 

Hon. George B. Wright; Ohio University ; Commissioner 
of Railroads and Telegraphs for the State ot (Jhio; now re- 
sides in Indianapolis, Indiana. [See Soldiers' Roster.] 

Hon. Samuel White. 

He was the son of Samuel White who came to the Welsh 
Hills in 1810. Flis mother was a daughter of Theophihis Reese. 
It is related of Samuel Jr., as of one of the Philipps boys, that 
he used to go to school through the snow barefoot, carrying a 
hot board to stand on when his feet grew cold, and that his 
teacher, one Abraham Hall, used to favor him by letting him 
sit near the fire. It is a story, however, so marked that it will 
not answer to be told of too many. It is certainly true that he 
showed a thirst for knowledge, and that he strove hard and 
patiently for an education. He was in the first class formed for 
Granville College. He early espoused the abolition cause, and 
mention has been made of him several times in the annals. In 
those stirring times he once went to Hartford, Licking county, 
to lecture upon a set day on anti-slavery. Three or four hundred 
mobocrats gathered to prevent the lecture. They were armed 
with butcher knives, clubs, pistols, muskets; some not over 
fifteen years of age, swaggering, swearing, and carrying guns. 
He gave up his lecture, and went down to Anson Clark's sugar 
camp. There fifty men surrounded him and took him back to 
town. They first proposed to him that he should fight their 
champion. White at once threw off his coat, but their man 
suddenly thought himself sick, and declined. White was locked 
up with two other men while the mob parlied what to do. Some 
threatened to kill him. Twelve men were constituted a jury to 
decide, but they could not agree. Others went out and they 
decided that he should be blacked and ridden on a rail. He 
overheard it all, but ' 'flinched no more than a stump. " He said 
to them, "If there were only twelve of you I would take care 
of myself. But you can overpower me, and I can suffer." 
They made a wooden horse of a rail, the sharp edge turned up, 
standing on legs as high as a man's shoulders, decorated with 
the horn^and tail of a cow. They also got in readiness a pot 
of blacking. As they took him out of the door he managed to 



264 LAWVKRS. 

kick over the blacking. Half a dozen men then stepped up 
and swore they should not black him, and that part was omitted. 
Sam then sprang upon the horse, and was carried on the shoulders 
of four men about twenty-five rods and brought back again. This 
was enough of "playing horse." They then wanted him to 
promise never to come back again to lecture, but he utterly 
refused to do it. He then started leisurely away and they did 
not hinder him. He reached home in safety. The other two 
prisoners also watched their opportunity, slipped out the back 
door, and got away, one of them with nothing of his coat left 
but part of a cuff. (They were C. W. Gunn and Knowles 
Linnel, Jr.) 

When he began to practice law, more abundant means came 
to hand, and he not only lived in comfort but helped his rela- 
tives. He was an orator, and his fellow citizens soon claimed 
him for {)ublic political life. He died while in the midst of a 
canvass as candidate for State Senator. 

Hon. Daniel Humphrey ; removed to Newark ; first Probate 
Judge under the new constitution. Died iu middle life. 

Hon. A. K. Rogers, a student of G. W. Ells, Esq.; mem- 
ber of Legislature; long the Ma)or of the village. 

George W. Andrews, George W. Grow, Noah Case, John 
W. Montague, students of Mr. Ells ; history not accessible. 

Lewis Spelnian, Esq., once a candidate for Prosecuting 
Attorney ; studied with Mr. I^lls; now resides four miles west 
of Ciranville. 

Hon. John G. Weeks, studied both medicine and law ; 
practiced medicine in Indiana])olis, Indiana; removed to 
Des Moines, Iowa, became Probate Judge ; kept an abstract 
office in Des Moines ; now dead. ^ 

Hon. Marvin M. Munson, studied at Delaware, Ohio ; prac- 
ticed at Troy, Ohio ; edited a paper there; member of State 
Board of Equalization; Captain of Company D, 113th Reg- 
iment, Ohio Volunteer Infantry, which company he raised 
here and led into the field, but from ill health did not long 
ren.iain with it; resides in Granville on the old home farm. 

Thomas Walker, Esq., a colored man, long a pipfessor of 
the tonsorial art ; studied law and was admitted to the bar ; 
went to California. 



LAWYKRS. 265 

William Richards, Esq., practiced in Newark ; edited 
Newark Gazette (1847) ; also Daily Gate City, Keokuk, Iowa, 
(1852) ; now a clerk in the Treasury Department at Wash- 
ington, D. C. 

James W. Sinnet, Granville College ; now at Carthage, 
Mo. ; married the daughter of Grove Case. 

Hon. Jacob W. Stewart, Granville College ; resides in Dav- 
enport, Iowa ; teacher, prosecuting attorney, collector of 
internal revenue, mayor of Davenport, Iowa. 

John L. Bryan, Esq., Kenyon College; practiced in Co- 
lumbus, O. ; now deceased ; married Miss Mary T. Collins, 
of Granville. 

Henry C. Sinnet, Granville College; studied and practiced 
with Buckingham, in Newark; resides in Sedalia, Mo. 

William H. Ingraliam, Denison University, (1861) ; prac- 
ticed at Toledo, O., where he died August 31st, 1875. 

Hon. Henry Howe ; city judge, Toledo, O., where he now 
resides. 

Edward Wright, Esq., Northampton and Dartmouth Col- 
leges ; resides in Kansas City, Mo. 

William Hryan, Esq. ; resides in Granville. 

Benjamin Woodbury, Esq., Denison University, (1872) ; 
practices in Columbus, O. 

John D. Jones, Esq., practices in Newark, O. 

J. B. Jones, Esq., practices in Newark, O. 

Jacob R. Davies, Esq., Denison University, (1869) ; Michi- 
gan University ; practices in Newark, O. 

David E. Williams, Esq., Denison University, (1874) ; 
practices in Columbus, O. 

David Jones, Esq., practiced in Columbus, O. ; recently 
died. 

Hon. H. Judson Booth, Harvard College ; studied with 
Hon. George L. Converse, Columbus, O. ; member of House 
of Representatives from Franklin County. 

Erasmus Philipps, Esq. 

Casper F. Bryan, Esq., resides in Granville. 
27 



266 PHYSICIANS. 

Hon. Sylvester Spelyian Downer; count)' jud<;e, lionlder, 
Colorado. 

K. M. P. Brister, Esq., Denison University;, practices in 
Newark, O. 

Thomas W. Philipps, Esq., Wooster University ; practices 
in Newark, O. 

A. L. Ralston, Esq., Kenyon College; ])ractices in Colum- 
bus, O. 

John M. Swartz, Esq., Denison University; practices in 
Newark, O. 

IV. Physicians. 

Previous to the coming of any resident ])hysicians the 
sick availed themselves ot the services chiefly of Dr. Top- 
ping, of Worthington, twenty-seven miles distant. 

Dr. Samuel Lee came from Vermont in 1809, and removed 
to Coshocton in 181 1. 

Dr. William S. Richards, from New London, Conn., came 
in 181 1, and was thereafter identified with (jranville and its 
interests. 

Dr. Paul Eager, a graduate of Dartmouth College, came 
from Vermont about the same time, but did not long give 
himself to his profession after coming to this place. 

Dr. vSouthard practiced in the place about 1815. 

Drs. Moulton and Rood practiced in company about 1816, 
having their office in the little brick l)uilding, put up by 
David Messenger, Jr., just east of " the tin shop." 

About the same time Dr. John Phelps indulged in the 
" steam cure " system for a few years. 

Dr. J. B. Cooley, from Ciranville, Mass., came in the spring 
of 1820. A few years later he married the widow of Rev. T. 
Harris, and had his office on the lot at the corner of Broad 
and Liberty Streets, where Mr. Harris had lived. He 
removed to Homer in 1832. 

Dr. Silvester Spelmau came in the fall of 1820. He con- 
tinued to practice for some years, eventually turning his 
attention, first to merchandising and then to banking. 



PHYSICIANS. 267 

Dr. Homer L. Thrall, "born in Rutland, Vt., October i8, 
1802, moved to Granville in 1818, studied medicine in Lexing- 
ton (Ky.) Medical College and elsewhere. Was married in 
1827, in 1830 moved from Granville to Homer, and afterward 
to Utica, and from thence, in 1838, he went to Gambler, where, 
as Professor of Chemistry in Kenyon College till 1852, he con- 
cluded from his experiments, and taught, that the known causes 
of external phenomena, such as light, heat, electricity, etc., 
could be explained by one law — the law of the correlation of 
forces, and, also, from his observation that the molecules of a 
body attract each other, deduced the law of molecular 
attraction, teaching these laws to his classes several years before 
they were published by Faraday, Grove and others. He was a 
man of remarkable intellect, an acute and profound thinker, an 
original, fearless and safe investigator, and long before his 
lamented death at Ottumwa, Iowa, July 26, 1870, he had logic- 
ally worked himself out of the darkness of infidelity into the 
clear light of orthodox Christianity." 

Dr. W. W. Bancroft was the son of Azariah Bancroft, who 
came to the place in 1814. After practicing for several years 
he took a second course of lectures in Philadelphia. He was 
of an active temperament, searching mind, and a sitccessfiil 
practitioner. He started the Granville Water Cure in 1852. 
After Dr. Bancroft left the Water Cure, Drs. Jones, Owens, 
Strong, Ralston and Hudson successively carried it on. 

Dr. E. F. Bryan came to the place from Akron in 1838. 
He is now eighty years of age, having maintained a success- 
ful practice for more than forty years, and is still going at 
the call of many of his life-long friends. 

Dr. Thomas Bancroft studied with his uncle. Dr. W. W. 
Bancroft, attended lectures in Philadelphia, practiced for a 
time in Granville with his uncle, giving his attention pri- 
marily to dentistry, and then removed to New Madrid, Mo. 

Dr. C. J. Gifford came to Granville from Etna, O., in 1840. 
For a time he was associated in practice with Dr. Bancroft 
but the partnership was soon dissolved. Of late years he 
has limited his practice to the village. 



2<)H 



I'lIVSICIANS. 



|)i. (iiitlnif was ass()iM;il<il with Ih. iJiiiu lott Ini iwnyiMts 
pict tdiiij', I'^vj',. 

|)i. I',li-,li:i I). r..iii(ll, ;i j'i:i(lli.itc ol W 1 1 1 i.iiii'. C'dlltj'c, 
(•;imc lo ( '. 1 .iii\ illt 111 I'^'ll <M *'y\S- '''■ ''•"' '■liiiliid l)()lli 
IllcdicilH' -iii'l I lu-oluj^'y. lie y^.ivr liilli:.<ll to | n cu li i ii)- until 
a hioiiclii.il .illcct loll o)>li).>(-<| him to dcM.t. lie |ii ,i( I i( ('(I in 
(iiaiuiMc iolll Ncais lie lived l<» the ;i;>r nl iiiikIn, d\'iii^ 
ill Sid.ilii, M<»., NovfinhiT (ilh, iS.So. 

1 )i ( ".col j'c- S|»<'iicfr was a phwsiciaii i>l lln iHtt.iiiir '.(hnul, 
and |tia( t itcd cxlcnsixcdv loi twilxcoi lillccii \fai s, succeed- 
ill j^ I >i . I '.((III. II I ( li the ^;ainc S( Ik x il , who li.id h p. oil ice in the 
small Imildini', alleiwaid occnpKd li\ iIk '.toic ol Mi. K. 
I'aisoiiN. 

I )r. Ansliii was ol tin- ;.,inic sehool .ind lollowed I)i. 
Sl><"IU'el . 

I»i. I'.dwiii .Siiiiiel studied with I )i . I '..iiiei oil , and was with 
liiin III the VValei C'iik loi eijdil yais. lie ha. miicc heen 
OIK ol the leadiuj; piaelilKuii-is ol till- phu c 

hi .Allied iMdlett laiiie to this place lloin johiistou ii, < )., 
ill iSC)^. Ill calls lile he lost a loot l»\' an accident with a 
I 111 c.'.li in;; iilk hiiK . .A-. Noon as ieeo\'i'icd lioiii tli( a(( nh lit 
he piepaied llini:.( II lol the pia(tiee ol lllcdl(lllc, .111(1 .III 
iinuMial dcjMcc ol |ili\.sical eiici>'_\ has uioie than o\(i 
hal.inecd llie jo:,', ol hi', liiiili in the I. ice ol colli |)el it ion loi 
pal 1 on.ii'f. lie tool, hisdcj-ice lioiii .Slariiij; Medical (,'(d- 
li-^e, C'( iliinilm:., ( >. 

'i\vo Inothci.'. liN the iianie ol He. in, active \dnin.' iiicii, 
weie pi.utieiii^ lu'U' ahoul i>>i>.\ hu a siioil time-. 

hi. C'\ius n, I'Aaiis, little can he Ii-anied. 

hi . I . W'.it Is in.'., I loin I', ii;- land, li.is heeii a |ii I aniiieiil iik lu- 
\h\ ol llii- iiii-diial lai'ults Ik le loi louiteeii \iais, a ^ladiiatc 
of I'aliuluiijdi hnixeisilN, .iiid iiiemlKi ol Ro)al Collc"j;c' ul 
Sill r,el \\ I ,ond( HI 

The \(>uiii;esl ol the 1 1 .ltd ii it N' is hi. William !)a\■i<•^., a 
n.it i\ t' ol ( ii.inxille ; .i );i .idn.ite ol hi'ui.-.ou I ' ii i\ ci sit \ ; piiu- 
cip.il ol the puhlii' sihools lol se\'ei.il yi'ais; .ittiiided h'cltiies 



PHYSICIANS. 269 

in tlie University of the City of New York, where he stood 
prominent in a class of two hnndred and five, and at once 
commenced practice in his native place ; being also in de- 
mand as a lecturer in the Columbus Medical College. 

With these physicians there have during the same time 
been many students of medicine, some from the Granville 
boys, whose names do not appear above. Others of them 
have studied elsewhere. 

Milton Bigelow, (1820) Lancaster, Ohio; Ephraim Howe, 
Franklin Howe, H. N. Ells, (1825) Samuel Bushnell, (1842) 
Monticello, Indiana; Hiram Howe, died while attending 
lectures at Cleveland, Ohio ; Franklin Paige, recently deceased 
in Johnstown, Ohio ; Benjamin Pratt, also recently deceased 
in Johnstown, Ohio; Ed. and Moses Pratt, practicing in 
the western part of the State ; Julius H, Bancroft, dentist, 
died at New Madrid, Missouri ; Marshall Hill, recently de- 
ceased ; Franklin Thrall, (1836) Kirkersville ; Charles Falley, 
Breckenridge, Minnesota; William and Nathan Dodge, 
(1845) ; Dillon Witherell, Thomas D. Williams, homoeopa- 
thist, London, Ohio; Lyman Ingham, (1846) ; Edwin Fuller, 
(1855) ; Robert M. Stone, homoeopathist; Cyrus and Isaac 
Evans, Welsh Hills ; George Follett, Starling Medical Col- 
lege, pharmacist at Ohio Lunatic Asylum ; James D. 
Thompson, Jefferson Medical College, Philadelphia, Johns- 
town, Ohio ; Lucius Robinson, dentist, Cincinnati, Ohio; 
John Owens, Jefferson Medical College, Philadelphia; Oliver 
Wolcott, 1875, Starling Medical College, Columbus, Ohio; 
Kane F^ollett, student. Starling Medical College ; George G. 
Kyle, Corning, Ohio. 

The practical dentists of Granville have been five ; Drs, 
Thomas Bancroft, Shepard Hamlen, Hiram Todd, William 
H. Sedgwick, and Ed. O. Arrison. 

The following are deserving of special mention who can 
not be classified : 

Major General Charles Griffin, son of Apollos Griffin ; 
graduated at West Point in 1847, married Miss Carroll, 



270 SPECIAL MENTION. 

won his way by meritorious conduct on the battle-field to 
pre-eminence; served throughout the war of the rebellion; 
died at Galveston, Texas, of yellow fever, because he would 
not forsake the post where duty seemed to have placed him. 

Mr. Appleton B. Clark, son of iVnson Clark, grandson of 
Araunah Clark, has been for twelve years the editor of the 
Newark American, sustaining it as a worthy chronicler of the 
times. He has taken i)articular interest in publishing histor- 
ical papers. 

Mr. Hubert Howe Bancroft, son of Ashley A. I>ancroft, 
has retired from a successful business career and given him- 
self to literary pursuits, in which he has achieved a remark- 
able success, having published about forty volumes under 
the following titles : 

Native Races of the Pacific Stites; five volumes. 

History of Central America; vlirce volumes. 

History of Mexico; six volumes. 

History of Texas and the North Mexican States; two volumes. 

History of Arizona and New Mexico; one volume. 

History of California; seven volumes. 

History of Nevada, Colorado and Wyoming; one volume. 

History of Utah; one volume. 

History of the Northwest Coast; two volumes. 

History of Oregon ; two volumes. 

History of Washington, Idaho and Montana; one volume. 

History of British Columbia; tnie volume. 

History ol Alaska; one volume. 

California Pastoral; one volume, 

California Inter Pocula; one volume. 

Popular Tribunals; two volumes. 

P^ssays and Miscellany; one volume. 

Literary Industries; one volume. 

Chronicles of the Kings; several volumes. 

These works received very flattering attention from the 
literary world. 

"The Macaulay of the West." — Wendell Phillips. 
"The Herbert Spencer of Historians." — Boston Journal. 
"Now recognized as an authority of the first rank." — New 
York Tribune. 



PROFICIENTS IN PAINTING. 271 

'* A marvel." — London Post. 

"A narrative clear, logical, and attractive." — London Times. 

" Full of living interest." — British Quarterly. 

" A literary enterprise more deserving of generous sympathy 
and support has never been undertaken on this side of the At- 
lantic. " — North American Revieiv. 

John H. Sample ; Denison University, 1872, is Civil Engi- 
neer of the O. C R. R., Granville, Ohio. 

Dudley Rhoads; Denison University, 1876, is Civil Engi- 
neer on A. T. & S. F. R. R. 

Isaac J. Osbun ; Denison University, 1872, Professor of 
Physics in State Normal School, Salem, Massachusetts. 

Franklin A. Slater; Denison University, 1871 ; Principal 
of Judson University, Judsonia, Arkansas. 

V. R. Shepard ; Denison University, 1876 ; Daily Commer- 
cial., Cincinnati, Ohio. 

L. M. Shepard ; Denison University, 1877 ; Local Editor 
of Daily Star., Cincinnati, Ohio. 

Miss Ella Hayes, a descendant of Deacon Silas Winchel, 
Professor in Wellesley College, Massachusetts. 

Miss Hattie Partridge, now Mrs. Dr. Davies, stands very 
high as a teacher of painting, and whose name does not ap- 
pear above. Other proficients with the pencil are Misses 
Lenora Carpenter, Sarah F. Follett, Samantha Wright, Mary 
Parker, Amelia Tighr, Luella Gurney, Lou. Goodrich, Louise 
Johnson, Minnie Buxton, Angle Walker. 

T. D. Jones has attained considerable eminence as a 
sculptor, having been employed by the State on a highly es- 
teemed group that embellishes the rotunda of the State 
House, Columbus, representing " The Surrender of Vicks- 
burg, July, 1864." 

Albert Little Bancroft, son of Ashley A. Bancroft, is a suc- 
cessful business man of San Francisco ; the senior partner of 
one of the largest law book publishing firms of the United 
States. They sell in a single month as high as $40,000 worth 
of their own publications. He remains in active business, 



272 SUCCESSFUL BUSINESS MEN. 

though keeping a summer residence on a farm, where he has 
25,000 fruit trees. 

•Lyman Cook, son of Jacob Cook, Esq., went in early life 
to Burlington, Iowa, where he still resides, having accumu- 
lated a large fortune, chiefly in the banking business 

Leonard Bushnell, son of Dea. Leonard Bushnell, died at 
New Bedford, Massachusetts, i88i,one of two equal partners 
in a manufacturing business, employing three or four hundred 
hands, sending goods all over the United vStates, to Kngland, 
and to South America. 

In addition to those already mentioned, the following have 
established themselves in business in New York : Gilmau 
W. Prichard, T. B. Bynner, H. L. Case, the brothers Horatio 
and Franklin Avery, Adelman C. Rose, and the Follett 
brothers. 

But it is impossible to make special mention of all. They 
are found in the professions or in business, in Washington, 
Philadelphia, New York, Boston, Chicago, San Francisco ; 
in P'lorida, Texas, Oregon, Washington, "and all intermedi- 
ate points." 



OUR INDUSTRIAL KNTRRPRISES. 273 



CHAPTER XLIV. 

One of the first enterprises within the colony deserving 
mention was the manufacture of wooden dishes, first by 
Eleazer demons, 1807, at the place where afterward stood 
Munson's forge, which were carried as far as Chillicothe 
for sale. Daniel Raker, Esq., about 1811, engaged in the 
same business, his shop being on Clear Run, about a hun- 
dred rods from Centerville. Pewter and wooden dishes sup- 
plied the place of queensware. Wooden plates, nests of 
dishes, trenchers, porringers, bowls, spoons and salt mortars 
were in common use, and answered a very good purpose. 
Wooden scoop shovels were also made. Perhaps this indus- 
try did not bring a large amount of money into the colony, 
but it supplied a necessity, and thus kept money from going 
abroad. The dishes were turned upon a lathe, the motive 
power being water. Afterward Phineas Pratt continued the 
manufacture on Burgh Street, and still others pursued the 
work, using a lathe sometimes which was run by the foot 
and a spring pole. 

Mr. Baker also made ox yokes, plows, chairs, coffins, and 
other necessities. 

Simultaneously with Mr. Baker's work, and run by the 
same power, was a carding machine, put up by Sylvester 
Phelps. 

In 1809, William Stedman began the manufacture of 
bricks. J. D. and C. Messenger followed in the same work, 
and in 18 17, George Case and Joshua Stark engaged more 
extensively in the business. 

In 181 2, a carding mill was attached to General A. Mun- 
son's saw mill, and run by the same power. 

A Mr. Bursley (?), a shoemaker in the employ of Spencer 
Wright, living a quarter of a mile east of town, made shoe 
pegs, and pegged shoes. They were the first ever seen here, 



274 CHAIRS — WHISKY. 

and were brought up to town and put on exhibition. There 
was considerable excitement over the novelty at first, but it 
was pronounced a huniljug ; the mistaken verdict of the 
people being, as in many another similar case, against a real 
improvement. 

At a very early day, Harry Riggor made a very creditable 
Windsor chair. It was light, strong, easy and durable. The 
colony was early supplied with them as far as they were able 
to buy them. He worked on the south side of Broad Street, 
midway between Mulberry and Case. 

Whisky was made from a very early day. There were 
about as many distilleries as school districts, most of the 
time. The first to be established was just over the hill west 
of town, where a cool sj)ring issues from the ridge on the 
north. The proprietors were Judge Rose, Deacon Winchel 
and Major Case. The stone walls of the building were after- 
ward utilized for the foundry of Sheldon Swan. This was 
Started in 1811. The same year, or early in 1812, Jacob 
Cxoodrich built the one where the explosion took place, half a 
mile north of town. Another was also located about as far east 
of town and run by Major Case. There was another half a 
mile further east, run by Captain Joseph Fassett. Near the 
eastern limits of the township, on the farm of Deacon Hayes, 
was a distillery where his son Lorin made peach brandy. 
On lower Loudon Street, a mile and a half from town, was 
another distillery, run by Jasper Munson at one time ; another 
on the Columbus road, on the vSimeon Allyn farm; another 
further west on the Bean farm ; another southeast of town, 
owned by Samuel Chadwick. iVboiit 1830 the temperance 
reformation cut the demand below the supply, and the price 
fell from one dollar a gallon to twelve and a half cents. Large 
quantities were shipped by the canal at that price as soon as 
it opened. 

In addition to the distillery, Mr. Chadwick had a grain 
mill, run by horse-power, for grinding corn and rye for the 
distillery. He also accommodated the neighbors by grind- 



POTASH — TANNERIES. 275 

ing their corn, rye and buckwheat. He had also a tanyard, 
cooper shop and grocery. He used to buy hogs, fatten them 
from the distillery refuse, and drive them to Cleveland to be 
shipped to Montreal ; driving two teams to help along any 
lagging hogs. Exchanging his pork for groceries, he re- 
loaded his wagons, making a double profit by his trip. He 
died in 1817, and the distillery was burned soon after and 
never rebuilt. The cooper shop was converted to a school 
house, having windows of oiled paper. 

One of the next important industries was the making of 
potash by Mr. Edward Nichol. His factory was just west 
of town, where the water of the cold spring crosses the road. 
This water was carried over the heads of travelers in troughs 
and fed his leaches. He boiled the lye to black salts, melted 
the salts to potash in a great iron caldron, or pearled them in 
a reverberatory furnace. These products were shipped to 
Zanesville and exchanged for glass which supplied the build- 
ing necessities of the colony. 

In 1817, two tanneries were in operation. Previous to 
this an attempt had been made by Mr. Enoch Graves to make 
leather by using beach bark and other- common-place mate- 
rials. It made a crude sort of hard, unpliable leather, used 
to some extent for moccasins. This tannery was at the 
northeast corner of Rose and Broad Streets. About the 
time spoken of, George Dunnavan established a tannery near 
the town spring, which was run for several years successlully. 
The other was established by Spencer Wright, Esq., near 
Clear Run, on Centerville Street, and it has continued in 
operation ever since. About 1845-50, Mr. E. C. Wright, 
who then owned the tannery, took yearly, large quantities of 
choice leather to the Boston market, where it brought a good 
price in competition with the rapidly-tanned leather of the 
East. 

One of the earliest undertakings, and at the same time 
one that contributed as much as any one thing toward giving 
the people profitable employment, meeting their every day 



276 



FURNACE. 



wants, and bringing money and trade into the place from 
abroad, was the Crranville Furnace. The enterprise was first 
conceived by Hon. Jeremiah R. Munson. His attention was 
called to signs of iron in the beds of the streams. He took 
samples of the material he found to Dillon's Furnace, near 
Zanesville, where it was pronounced good ore. He also 
found large quantities of limestones in the creek beds, lime 
being needed in tlie smelting process, and thus encouraged, 
he planned the furnace. He was aided financially by his 
brother, General Augustine Munson. The furnace was built 
in 1816. The first experiments were rather costly. The ore 







in the vicinity gave out, and it was not a financial success. 
General Munson took charge of it, and managed out of it to 
pay the interest on the indebtedness, but the debt itself had 
eventually to be paid out of other resources. It passed for a 
.short time into the management of a Mr. Pardon Sprague, 
who also failed to make it remunerative. 

From 1822-24, Messrs. Anthony P. Prichard and William 
Wing had control of it, but a particularly unpropitious season 
of drouth made them un.successful. In 1824, Col. Lucius 
D. Mower became its moving spirit. Soon, also, Elias Fas- 



FORGE — NAILS. 2 I I 

sett had an interest in it, a store and tlie fnrnace being- 
run by the same parties. In 1828, Periander W. Taylor 
was connected with it; and, in 1830, Simeon Reed. By this 
time, Col. Mower was with A. P. Prichaid, and the furnace 
company was Taylor, Cook & Co. [J. Riley Cook], while 
Avery & Fassett were in the store. In 1834, Taylor, Cook 
& Co. were in the furnace, and Reed, Jewett & Co. [David 
D. Jewett] in the store. In 1837, Avery & Fassett again took 
the furnace. Avery sold to Fassett, and in 1838, it ceased to 
be operated. Stoves, hollow ware, and many utensils for 
household convenience were cast, and sold from the lakes to 
the Ohio River. To this day the old-fashioned ten plate 
stoves are seen here and there in school-houses and country 
churches, with the name Granville Furnace proclaiming 
their origin. The old building was afterward utilized as a 
foundry, and "was run successfully by Messrs. Knowles 
Linnel and William Clemons. 

In 1817, General A. Munson continued his experiments in 
making iron by erecting a forge near his saw mill, using the 
same power to work his trip hammer. This also did a very 
good thing for the new country. He made a passable quality 
of bar iron, and many articles of convenience. 

A grist mill was erected at the same time with the forge. 
Tills was sold by Mr. Munson to Sylvester Spelman and 
Col. L. D. Mower. The forge was in operation as late as the 
canal contracts, but soon after ceased. The dam was washed 
out, and the flouring mill was run by water from the feeder. 
Steam was put in, in 1838, and the whole was burned in 1840. 

Wrought nails were an article of commerce in those days, 
and were made by the blacksmiths at leisure moments, and 
sold for one dollar a hundred by count. 

Another flouring mill was started about 1816, just east of 
town (where one still stands), run by water from Clear Run, 
and built by Major Grove Case and Deacon Silas Winchel. 

In 1821, Col. Chauncey Humphrey bored for salt in the 
valley, which ran through his farm, about half a mile south 



278 SALT — DAIRY — LIXSKKD OIL. 

of the Columbus bridge. He found salt water, built an arch, 
where he set thirty caldrons for boiling. His reservoirs were 
large ash logs, thirty feet long, dug into troughs, and holding 
each thirty to fifty barrels. He turned out salt at the rate of 
two bushels a day, but at such a cost of production tha:t he 
had to abandon it, even at the high price of salt at that day. 

About the same time was formed " The Licking Saline 
Conipau)'," the members of which, vSamuel Mower, Sylvester 
Lyman, Charles Sawyer, Leicester Case, Matthew Adams, 
Jr., and Gaylord Adams, were of this township, though the 
scene of their operations was in St. Albans. Their enter- 
prise was not a success. 

Mr. Humphrey next turned his attention to dairy business, 
keeping twenty to thirty cows, and having probably the first 
systematic dairy in Granville. In this he had good success. 

From 1827 to 1830, he gave his attention to raising the 
castor bean and manufacturing the oil. He erected a cabin 
mill and put u]) machinery. Others joined to help the enter- 
prise by raising the beans. One year he made seventeen 
barrels of oil. The oil was bottled and stored in the little 
brick shop built by David Messenger. 

A little previous to this (1820) an experiment was made 
where the Welsh Hills road crosses Clear Run, by Captain 
Joseph Fassett, to make linseed oil. It was a success as to 
the manufacturing, but the demand for the oil was not such 
as to make a profitable business. The power for pressing 
was that of a vertical wedge, driven by a falling beam, the 
beam being lifted four or five feet by horse power. 

While this factory was being built. Deacon Amasa Howe 
was laying out the framing work, while his son, Kphraim, 
was scoring a log near b)'. Reaching out to pick up a tool 
the deacon received the descending axe, which his son was 
using, upon his head. It struck almost through the bone of 
the skull, and thus the son unwittingly came near taking the 
life of his father. 

Following this enterprise, the same mill was used in an 



WOOLEN FACTORIES. 279 

experiment for making hickoryniit oil ; to be used in place 
of the imported olive oil. But it stopped short of financial 
success. 

The water power was afterwards used for the manufacture 
of rakes, cradles, axe handles and similar work. 

Wool carding, weaving, fulling and cloth-dressing early 
became a prominent industry, inasmuch as the people were 
dependent upon home made materials for their clothing. 
The weaving was at first by hand looms, and afterward by 
machinery carried by water. John Jones built a woolen fac- 
tory near the stone school house on the Welsh Hills, about 
1823. He died in June, 1824. His son Richard run the 
machinery for a time after the father's death. By this time 
also William Paige's factory was in operation, Mr. L. G. 
Thrall being associated with him. Grove Case had a carding 
machine In connection with his flouring mill, and was suc- 
ceeded by his son, Norton. About 1825, Linus G. Thrall and 
G. P. Bancroft were associated in carding business on the 
Welsh Hills. Mr. James Mead succeeded Mr. Thrall. 

Messrs Nathaniel Paige, Elias Gilman and Silas Winchel 
had a fulling and cloth-dressing factory, about 1817, on Salt 
Run, the little brook that courses through the valley where 
C. Humphrey made salt. These mills drew custom from the 
country for twenty-five miles around. 

About 1825, Horace Wolcott, Sen., had a spinning jenny 
in the chamber of the brick house now occupied by Rev. D. 
B. Hervey, half a mile east of town. 

From 1820 to 1825, Mr. Josiah Taylor and his son, Peri- 
ander W. Taylor, did considerable business in dressed stone, 
the blocks being taken from the quarries north of town. 
Previous to this they had done a small business in the same 
line on Centerville Street, living near the township line. 
Their chief work was in tombstones, with which they sup- 
plied the country for miles around. The stones were shaped 
and dressed at the shop, the lettering being done when a sale 
was effected as they went from place to place. The material 



280 TOMHSTONES. 

was not as durable as marble, but some beautiful monuments 
were made from it. It admitted of ornamental work, with 
which black and gilt letters were sometimes combined. 
Subsequent])' Rev. Thomas Hughes continued the business 
with improved workmanship. He also first introduced the 
use of marble about 1H38. 

" For many years the stone quarried from Prospect Hill was 
used for grave stones. Among the citizens who used to cut 
this stone, besides Mr. Hughes & Mr, Taylor, were four or 
five of the Warden boys, Harvey Bragg, Simeon Reed, Guy 
and Giles Hobart, and Robert Nichol. Mr. Samuel Root, Mr. 
George Bragg, and J. D. White worked in marble after it was 
introduced for monuments. Many counties besides Licking 
were su[)plitd with these stones to mark the resting place of 
their dead. Up to about 1845 this stone work continued 
profitable." 

In 1822-27, the township was largely engaged in raising 
tobacco, and a small amount continued to be manufactured 
for many years. 

Previous to 1826, Mr. Knowles Linnel had started a clock 
factory in St. Albans. He induced Mr. Charles French to 
join him at the above date, and Mr. French brought with him 
from Vermont, Mr. William H. Brace. This factory was 
soon afterward removed to Granville, and carried on by 
Messrs. P'rench, Brace & Goldsbury. They made the old 
fashioned open kitchen clock, with wooden wheels, thirty- 
nine inch pendulum, and dial plate a foot in diameter. 
They sold at first for $15. The factory stood on the west 
side of Prospect vStreet, a few doors from Broad. They had 
complete machinery for making all parts of the clock. 

" Mr. Joseph Blanchard, his four sons & his son-in-law, Allen 
Sinnet. built wagons, ox-carts, spinning wheels, chairs & plows, 
& sold them in many adjoining counties. The old 'bull plow ' 
had a wooden mould board & an iron share. I'^or that day it 
was a good plow." 

As early as 18 19, Messrs. James Langdon and David Doud 
established a wooden measure factory, selling their products 



HATS — TINWARE. 281 

over a large scope of country. They made drums, and did 
all common cooperage. After the death of Mr. Doud, Mr. 
Langdon continued the business alone, and after Mr. 
Langdon's death, a Mr. Lawrence continued it for some years. 

As early as 1828, hats were made by Mr. Francis Elliott, 
who lived at the corner of Main and Water Streets, near the 
brick academy, his shop adjoining the house on the east. 
He had as many as half a dozen hands in his employ at one 
time, and made quite a variety of hats. Mr. Harvey Bragg 
also engaged in the same business for a time, having his shop 
near his residence by the town spring. Afterwards the 
business was continued at the old stand by Mr. J. Wood. 

The tinning business was begun by Colonel Chauncey 
Humphrey, about 1822-24. ^^ worked up the tin which he 
brought from Canada in exchange for the pork of the Licking 
Exporting Company [see Commercial Enterprises]. He had 
a bench for a time in the little brick shop put up by David 
Messenger ; also in the back part of the building afterward 
finished off by Granger & Wing for a hotel, at the corner of 
Prospect and Broad vStreets. In i'S33, he erected a three 
stor}' frame building just east of the hotel, the largest at that 
time in the township. He disposed of his wares from 
wagons through the country, his sons working in the shop 
with him. In 1839, he removed to Columbus, continuing 
the business. He died December 18, 1852, aged seventy-five. 

Mr. Lewis Jones, who had worked with him, purchased 
the business in 1844, and continued it until a year before his 
death, February 23d, 1864, at the age of forty-five. In 1853, 
Lewis received to partnership his brother, George T. Jones, 
and in 1855, a third brother, Evan W. Jones, joined the firm, 
opening a branch room for the business in Newark. In 
1863, Lewis withdrew, and the other brothers continued the 
business at the two stands, purchasing the frame building in 
1865. Hardware has been added to the business. In Gran- 
ville the three-story frame has given place to a similar brick 
structure, one of the finest business blocks in Licking County. 
28 



282 PLOWS — PLANES — FURNITURK — LARD OIL. 

Previous to 1831, the plow in common use had a wooden 
mould board and a wrought-iron point. The latter were 
made by Colonel A. Jewett, Allen Sinnet, Hugh Kelley and 
others, and the wooden part by D. Baker and by the Blanch- 
ards on North Street, two miles from town. In that year a 
Mr. Bunker came from Delaware, originally from Troy, N, 
Y., and located on Centerville Street, and began making cast- 
iron plows, after Wood's patent, at the forge buildings. 
This style of plow, with various improvements, continued to 
be made at the foundries of demons and Linnel, and Shel- 
don Swan until a very recent date. 

About 1836, Deacon G. P. Bancroft turned his attention to 
the manufacture of joiner's planes, in which he was very 
successful, having two or three journeymen in his employ. 
He also associated with him, Mr. Ebenezer Crawford in the 
manufacture of bedsteads, under a new patent, which were 
sold largely abroad. He also manufactured a variety of 
other house furniture, running a planing mill and other 
machinery. He was succeeded by Mr. Edwin C. Blanchard, 
who enlarged the business, adding other machinery and a 
lumber yard. He sold out to Messrs. J. M. Jones & Co., 
who are the present proprietors. Mr. George Pratt estab- 
lished a furniture factory at the east end of town about 1868, 
putting up a commodious shop and a good variety of solid 
machinery. Mr. Pratt died in 1879, and is succeeded by his 
three sons, who display extraordinary mechanical skill. Both 
these establishments are shipping furniture abroad. 

In 1831, P. W. Taylor, being at the time largely interested 
in the furnace, erected near it a steam flouring mill. Alter 
the completion of the feeder, it was removed about three- 
quarters of a mile to the southeast, where Phelps' sawmill 
has long been, and was run by water-power. 

About 1840, the diminishing supply of whale oil, used for 
lights, began to force the search for some substitute. One 
result was lard oil^ obtained by the cold pressure of the lard 



CORN-SUGAR — CHEESE — CHAIRS. 283 

of commerce. In 1822, General A. Munson erected a press for 
this purpose. The residuum was used also for making stearine 
candles. The discovery of petroleum and the distillation of 
coal oil put an end to this about 1859. 

About 1842, was formed a company for making sugar out 
of cornstalks, in which were General A. Munson, J. W. 
Houghton, Esq., Captain Joseph Fassett, E. R. Thrall, Nor- 
ton Case, A. Aylsworth, Henry Taylor and A. Miner. The 
corn, at a proper stage, was topped and stripped, and after 
standing to ripen, was run through a mill. The juice was 
treated with chemicals, boiled down and allowed to crystal- 
ize. The sugar, however, was not salable. 

From 1833 to 1855, and particularly through the decade 
1840-50, the cheese factory of Elias Fassett was in very suc- 
cessful operation under the control of his cousin, Eliphalet 
Follett. Although located a little way in Harrison Town- 
ship, the proprietor and agent were both intimately asso- 
ciated with Granville. There were generally from eighty to 
a hundred cows on the farm. In 1845, a single cheese, 
weighing 1000 pounds, was made by Mr. Follett, and in 
1846, three several cheeses, weighing each about 500 pounds. 
The factory turned out about 275 pounds daily. 

About 1835, Mr. Joseph Jacobs began the manufacture of 
Windsor chairs in great variety, with rockers, settees and 
cradles. He built a factory in the west end of town, but 
used no machinery except a foot lathe. After Mr. Jacobs, 
Mr. Langstaflf continued the business. 

Soon after this a Mr. Williams and his brother. English- 
men, began the manufacture of brushes, turning out some 
very handsome articles and in great variety. The enterprise 
did not survive many years. 

Mr. Andrew Merriman came to town in 1832. For about 
twenty years he carried on the manufacture of boots and 
shoes, sometimes employing as many as twenty hands at 
once. 

Mr. J. R. Spease also carried on a candy factory, making 



284 ROPES — MUSTARD — SILK. 

sales over a large territory, and having a large and productive 
business. 

In 1835, Mr. Asahel Ciriffin took possession of the Paige 
factory and introduced two power looms, making quite a 
variety of both satinets and full cloths. Having run it for 
six or seven years, he sold to Mr. William Shields, of New- 
ark, who converted it to a yarn factory. Other parties held 
it until the wool-carding business ceased to be in much de- 
mand. The power at this time is used to turn an iron lathe 
and other iron works ; while Mr. Charles W. Gunn, living near 
by, with a one-horse power, runs the onh' carding machine 
in the township. 

At the foot of the hill on Lancaster road, Mr. Jonathan 
Wilson had a rope walk which supplied the country around 
with his manufactures. 

Mr. Joshua Linnel for many years had a mustard factory, 
purchasing the seed in market and grinding it by the power 
at Griffin's factory. His product found sale over all the State. 

The morus multicaulis and silk business found several to 
try their hand in its culture about 1838. There were some 
who one day were worth thousands of dollars in mulberry 
trees and silk worms, who the next day had nothing to do 
and nothing that would sell. Whole acres were occupied 
with the growing trees, well cultivated and thrifty, and the 
silk worms were luxuriating on the leaves in the cocoon- 
eries. But when the tever of speculation broke, the ])ropri- 
etors were helpless on their backs. 

The manufacture of beet sugar was begun, but the sugar 
tasted beety, and the people would not buy it. 

Hair mattresses, glue, shoe blacking, cut shingles, and 
various similar enterprises, scarcely survived the first open- 
ing of the eyes .upon daylight. 

Sorghum syrup was made with good success during the 
war and to some extent ever since. 

Brooms, wagons, carriages, etc., have been made to consid- 
erable extent. 



OUR COMMERCIAL ENTERPRISES. 285 



CHAPTER XLV. 

I. Banking. 

Immediately after the close of the war of i8 12-15, the 
Granville Alexandrian Society, acting under their very ac- 
commodating charter granted in 1807 for library purposes, 
established a bank. Certificates of stock, aside from those 
of the library department, were issued ; also, bills for cir- 
culation, and the business seems to have been managed by a 
distinct Board of Directors. The first year it was accommo- 
dated in the east front room of Major Grove Case's brick 
building, corner of Green and Broad vStreets. The first entry 
upon their bill books was the account of a note for $1000, 
given by S. H. Smith, indorsed by William Stanberry, at 
sixty days, discounted for $10.67. 

It speaks well for the honesty of those times that the locks 
guarding the treasures of that bank were very poor; the 
window shutters were only wood ; and a boy with an indus- 
trious jack-knife could have effected an entrance in ten 
minutes. No one ever slept in that part of the house. Yet 
there were deposited large amounts of bank bills as good as 
any bank bills of the day ; and under the counter where the 
toes kicked against them lay bags of coin, and nobody ever 
molested them. Silver being scarce, the bank issued frac- 
tional currency of the denominations of fifty and twenty-five 
cents. 

The next year, 1816, they finished and occupied the stone 
house on the south side of Broad Street, and just east of the 
square, where, at two different times, the bank flourished 
under the above charter and failed. Alexander Holmes was 
the first president and R. R. Roach cashier. Afterward G. 
Swan was cashier, and he again was succeeded by Elisha S. 
Gilman. The bank failed to redeem its notes in 1817. The 
last entry upon the bill book was under date of August 5th, 
1817. [See cut in "Additional Record."] 



286 A SECOND FAILURK. 

In 1836, the Bank was revived under the same charter. 
The capital was furnished chiefly by parties in Buffalo, New 
York. Henry Roop was president and A. G. Hammond 
cashier. It occupied the same stone building at the south- 
east corner of Broad Street and the public square, the old 
iron vault being still in position. Mr. Hammond was suc- 
ceeded by Mr. A. J. Smith. On the 20th of May, 1S37, the 
Bank suspended specie payments, acting in concert with 
other banks in Columbus, Cincinnati, Zanesville, Chillicothe, 
Lancaster and Cleveland. Mr. Roop resigned the presidency 
October 3d, 1837, B. Brice being vice president. It is said 
that the immediate occasion of the breaking of the Bank was 
the loaning of $50,000 to a party in Western New York, per- 
haps a stockholder, in the bank's own issue, with the iinder- 
standing that it should be put in circulation abroad, to come 
home for redemption in small amounts. But the party fail- 
ing, the money went into possession of a Buffalo Bank, and 
immediately came back in bulk, the original packages un- 
opened. The last recorded meeting of the Directors was 
March 13th, 1838. 

After the failure, Mr. A. J. Smith, who was Cashier at the 
time, associated with John H. James, Esq., of Urbana, Ohio, 
Mr. Simeon Reed and others of Granville, opened a Bank of 
discount and exchange in the dwelling house on the south 
side of Broad Street, built by Col. Lucius D. Mower, in 1824. 
The iron vault was taken from its position in the old stone 
building, placed adjoining the new apartment, and enclosed 
in solid brick walls in cubic form. They did a large business 
for some years. Mr. Smith afterwards removed to Newark, 
carrying with him a share of the Granville business. There 
he finally failed for a large amount. 

In 1852, Mr. Simeon Reed with his son-in-law, Mr. Timo- 
thy A. Smith, continued the banking business in the same 
place. Both these parties died in the fall of 1855. 

Mr. Wm. S. Wright, acting as administrator of Mr. Reed 
continued the business. After the settlement of the estate 



PRIVATE BANKS— FIRST NATIONAL BANK. 287 

it was in the hands of Dea E. C. Wright, Hon. Elizur 
Abbott, Mr. Virgil H.Wright, and Mr. Nelson Sinnet. This 
firm continued until i860. 

At that time Mr. Henry L. Bancroft and his brother, Dr. 
W. W. Bancroft, bought the interest of the above parties 
and continued the business in the same place, Mr. H. L. 
Bancroft having charge of the office, and Mr. Abbott con- 
tinuing to keep the books for them. 

This firm continued until the First National Bank was es- 
tablished for general banking purposes, under the new bank- 
ing system in 1864, commencing business in June. Mr. H. 
L. Bancroft then became president of the new bank, and 
Mr. E. M. Downer, cashier. The capital stock of this bank 
was only $50,000, but the deposits were of considerable value. 
Granville bank bills once more began to circulate, and the 
business prospered until the stockholders had received in 
dividends more than twice their investments. 

In 1879, from various causes, the business of the bank was 
curtailed, and the stockholders thought best voluntarily to 
go into liquidation. The depositors were paid oflf dollar for 
dollar over the counter, the bonds deposited at Washington 
were redeemed with greenbacks, the business of the bank 
was closed, and the bills in circulation are being redeemed 
at the Comptroller's office in Washington, the stockholders 
loosing only by the depreciation of their stock a small part 
of the dividends they had received in former years. 

Meantime the officers of the bank, Messrs. Bancroft and 
Downer, doing business jointly, had met with heavy losses 
in their operations, and were obliged to suspend payment. 
They, however, recovered themselves so as to be able to 
meet all legal claims against them, making payment from six 
to twelve and fifteen months after suspension, and paying 
both principal and interest. 

At the closing of the First National Bank, Messrs. Wright, 
Sinnet «S: Wright formed a partnership and continued the 



288 NEW BANKS. 

business of exchange and discount at the old stand, where 
they are still operating. 

In 1880, a new banking company was formed who fitted 
up a new room three doors west of the old stand, and opened 
another National Bank, with Mr. H. L. Bancroft as president 
and Mr. E. M. Downer, cashier, the officers of the old bank 
resuming their former position. As a peculiar privilege they 
were allowed to take the name of the old bank, viz : " The 
First National Bank of Granville," though the business of 
the two banks is entirely separate. So it conies about that 
we have two banks in successful operation as we close our 
records in 1880. 

II. MERCANTILE ENTERPRISE. 

Captain William Stedman came from Marietta about 1808, 
bringing with him a small stock of goods, which he opened in 
the southeast room of Esquire Oilman's new house near the 
town spring. Being of an active temperament, preferring 
out-of-door life, and being a practical bricklayer, he did not 
long continue to sell goods. He went to Newark and built 
the first jail of the county, and in 181 5 put up the stone bank 
in Granville. 

Soon after Mr. Stedman, Messrs. Pelton & Butler brought 
to the place a wagon load of goods, which they sold from 
house to house, taking hogs in payment; they being about the 
only circulating nicdinm that could be conveniently used. 
These they drove to Worthington, where they were slaugh- 
tered, and shipped down the Scioto, their ultimate destina- 
tion being New Orleans. 

The next merchant whose name is preserved was Ralph 
Granger. He came in the fall of 181 2, with a small assort- 
ment of goods which he displayed in a small cabin room, 
near Mr. Horace Wolcott's, east of town. Selling out to 
advantage, he replenished his stock and came to town, occu- 
pying a small room about where Mr. Parson's store now is. 
He continued to traffic, having at different times his brother 



EARLY MERCHANTS. 289 

Lewis, Alfred Avery and Anthony P. Prichard for partners, 
and sometimes running a hoLelat the same time. 

In 1815, Seth Mead and Hiram Boardman had a store in 
the east part of town. 

In 1816, three new stores were opened. Munson & Wol- 
cott were jnst east of the stone bank. Mr. Chester Griffin, 
son of Joab Griffin, and brother of Apollos Griffin, opened 
a store on the north side of Broad, where he continued to 
trade until his death in October of the following year. Hon. 
T. M. Thompson, coming from Steubenville, brought a small 
stock of goods which he opened at the corner of Broad and 
Pearl Streets, A. P. Prichard being his salesman. He soon 
removed the store to his land in McKean Township. 

In 1818, O. & L. Granger were selling goods in the east 
wing of the frame tavern in the east part of town. 

About this time an association was formed among the 
farmers, called the Licking Exporting Company, the object 
of which was to open the way for disposing of their pork to 
better advantage. Elias Fasset, then a young man, was em- 
ployed as clerk ; the hogs belonging to the Company were 
put into the care of Colonel Chauncy Humphrey, and driven 
to Sandusky. There they were slaughtered during the win- 
ter, the pork packed and shipped to Montreal and sold, net- 
ting the Company $1.25 a hundred. 

Soon after the death of Mr. Chester Griffin, Colonel 
Lucius D. Mower and Mr. Apollos Griffin, brother of Chester, 
having been together through the southern country as far 
as to New Orleans, trading and selling goods, returned with a 
stock of goods and opened a store. Afterward separating, 
each had a store : Mr. Mower in connection with the furnace 
business, in which he bought an interest, and Mr. Griffin in 
company with a Mr. Humphrey. Griffin & Humphrey had 
the building near the stone bank building. In i8ig, the firm 
was Griffin & Gilman, Mr, Humphrey having sold his inter- 
est to Elisha S. Gilman, just before cashier of the bank. Mr. 
Griffin, on account of ill health, did not long remain in the 



290 EARLY MKRCHANTS. 

store. Captain Joseph Fassett had an interest in it for a 
short time. Eventually the stock was purchased by Colonel 
L. D. Mower. Spelman & Avery was another firm in 1819. 

In ]82o, Mr. Matthew Adams opened a store just west of 
the frame tavern, north side of Broad Street. The firm at 
one time was Adams & Case. Mr, Sereno Wright had a 
small stock of goods in the northeast room of his dwelling, 
on the .south side of the public square, and Mr. Charles 
Sawyer, a saddler, also began trading with a few articles 
which were most in demand, his stand being on the south 
side of Broad Street, and where now is the residence of Mr. 
E. M. Downer. His store was a red frame building, his 
saddler's shop being above the store. 

In October and November, 1822, Colonel L. D. Mower put 
up the brick building on the south side of Broad Street, in 
which now is Mr. D. French's saddlery, and brought on a 
large and fine stock of goods. 

In 1823, Messrs. Fitch and King advertised in the 
Wanderer a fine assortment and large stock of goods. 
Granger & Prichard also constituted a firm at this time. 

In 1825, Mr. A. P. Prichard bought a fraction, 18 x 30 feet, 
off the northwest corner lot at the intersection of Broad and 
Prospect Streets, erected a small one-story building, and 
commenced selling drugs. He was a practical chemist and 
kept quite a laboratory. This building was the theater of 
considerable business until 1830, when it was removed to 
the rear ol the Congregational Church and became a dwelling. 

Messrs. Ralph Granger and William Wing having pur- 
chased the unfinished building of Mr. George Case, at the 
east corner of Broad and Prospect, proceeded to finish it, and 
it became the leading hotel. P'or a time the east room was 
used by Mr. Elias P'assett for merchandise, (probably the 
furnace store). When the room was wanted for hotel 
business, the store was removed to the corner of Broad and 
an alley, now occupied by Carter & Carter, and was for many 
years the furnace store. 



EARLY MERCHANTS. 291 

In 1829, Colonel h. D. Mower and A. P. Prichard formed 
a partnership and did a good business at the Prichard stand. 
The next year, Colonel Mower having added by purchase to 
the width of Mr. Prichard's lot, put up the two story brick 
building which still stands. When Colonel Mower died, his 
brother, Horatio, had succeeded him in the partnership ; and 
Horatio dying, the third brother, Sherlock, took the Mower 
interest, and was in the store as long as he lived ; being 
there when the famous burglary of 1835 was perpetrated. 

In 1830, Mr. Simeon Reed, who had before lived in the 
place and removed to Johnstown, returned, and at once 
entered upon a successful business career, having an interest 
in the furnace and its store ; and continued a prominent 
business man of the place until his death in 1855. 

Mr. Hezekiah Kilbourn had by this time opened a store in 
the old bank building, where he traded for several years, the 
firm at one time being H. &. A. Kilbourn. 

In 183 1, the steam flouring mill was erected near the 
furnace in which P. W. Taylor had one-half interest, Elias 
Fassett one-fourth, and Alfred Avery one-lourth ; this being 
probably the furnace company also ; and the little store at 
the corner of the alley and Broad became known as " the 
Steam Mill Store." 

In 1833, the steam mill was removed to the feeder, where 
Phelps' saw mill was, and water power was used instead of 
steam. Mr. Justin Hillyer, Jr., had an interest in it. 

Messrs. Frederick Cook & Co., George Abbott and his 
brothers, Elmer and Elizur, and D. & S. Wright were en- 
gaged in general merchandise ; the latter succeeding to their 
father's business. The store had been removed some time 
before to the small building just east of the stone bank 
building. This small room was probably put up by Mr. 
Alfred Avery at an early day, and soon after this time it was 
removed to Fair Street, near Sugar Loaf, and did service as 
a dwelling ; and in its place Mr. Wright erected the two- 
story building which still stands there, used as a bakery. 



292 EARLY MERCHANTS. 

About 1834, Walter Thrall, Esq., opened a store in the 
brick building erected by Colonel Mower in 1822, now Mr. 
U. French's saddlery. 

Mr. Christopher C. Rose had long been running a small 
grocery on the north side of Broad and near the public 
square. About this time he erected a two-story frame build- 
ing on the east side of this lot, having two business rooms in 
front, and dwelling apartments in the rear. In an upper 
room, accessible by a flight of stairs on the outside, the " in- 
fant school " was accommodated at one time. Mr. Rose 
continued his grocery in the west room, and the east room 
was successively occupied by George Abbott & Co., Mr. 
Hollister, and D. & D. Humphrey, and others hereafter 
mentioned, all in general merchandise. This building still 
stands in loco^ accommodating the meat shop and saloon ; 
having been lowered, however, so that the floor instead of 
three or four steps above, is now nearly level with, the side- 
walk. 

At one time previous to i8z|4, D. Humphrey, S. Reed and 
T. A. Smith constituted a firm under the style of " T. A. 
Smith cS: Co." 

Mr. Darwin Humphrey afterward bought the steam mill 
corner and erected a fine brick store, where he traded for 
several years, having as partner at one time a Mr. Giddings. 
Avery & Taylor were in partnership at this time. 

It is said that Jake Rcily had a decisive influence in starting 
one of our merchants in a prominent business career. Being 
out together on one of Reily's professional tours, the companion 
won a large stake at cards. Jake took him aside and said to 

him. "Now, , you go right home and settle down in 

business, and never play another game of cards. You won't 
always have Jake Reily at your elbow." The young man took 
his advice, went home, abjured cards, and at once began a 
career of prosperity. If a professional gambler would speak 
thus at one time, why not at all times? And why would it not 
have been good policy for himself also? 

Mower & Prichard about this time added school and mis- 



NEW SYSTEMS. 293 

cellaneous books to their stock, S. Mower having suc- 
ceeded L. D. Mower, deceased. The steam mill store firm 
was Reed, Jewett & Co., as mentioned in another chapter. 

In 1835, Messrs. Merriman & McBride put up a frame 
building just west of C. C. Rose's grocery on the corner, Mr. 
Merriman using the west room for shoe business, and Mr. 
McBride the east for a saddlery. This now stands right north 
of the Town Hall, being used as a dwelling. 

Two warehouses were erected on the banks of the feeder 
about this time ; one by a Mr. Case [Deaf Case] near Griffin's 
factory; the other by Wilson & Case [Henry Case], at the 
head of navigation near the Lancaster bridge. The latter 
was afterward removed to the flat fifty rods below and re- 
fitted by Justin Hillyer, Jr., for storing wheat. 

In 1834, Mr. Ralph Parsons came to the place from Suffield, 
Conn., and opened a store in a small room near the corner of 
Broad and Mulberry. This lot he afterward bought, and 
erected a large store building and the dwelling where his 
family still reside. He did much to introduce a new system 
of doing business, to the mutual benefit of himself and 
patrons. The credit and produce system had made due bills 
and orders a large factor in the circulating medium. Mr. 
Parsons dealt on the cash system, with low prices and small 
profits. Since the opening ot the canal, produce and live 
stock could be sold for cash, which made the new system 
possible. He afterward received to partnership Mr. Henry 
L. Bancroft. Finding they were too far from the business 
center, they removed to an eligible stand among the business 
houses east of the square. They then bought out G. Adams 
& Co. (Dr. S. Spelman), who were trading next door to 
them, and separated, Mr. Parsons retaining one room, and 
Mr. Bancroft the other. Mr. Bancroft received to partner- 
ship his son-in-law, W. P. Kerr, and son, B. R. Bancroft. In 
time, this firm was dissolved, the business being continued 
by B. R. Bancroft, the father becoming interested in bank- 
ing, and Mr. Kerr in teaching. In 1869, Mr. Parsons erected 



294 LATKR MKRCIIANTS. 

a fine brick building for his store. He died in 1874, and the 
business is continued by his son, George C. Parsons. For 
several years past Mr. B. R. Bancroft has resided in Ana- 
heim, California. 

In 1838, Mr. Alfred Avery, as the administrator of the 
Mower estates, succeeded to the partnership with A. P. 
Prichard. Mr. Prichard afterward bought the entire busi- 
ness, and finally limited his trade to drugs, having also the 
care of the telegraph office. At his death, his sons, Anthony 
P. and William, succeeded to the business, and then An- 
thony bought the entire interest. In 1873, he sold to Messrs. 
Bryant & Black, the latter having charge of the telegraph 
office. In 1880, Mr Bryant retains the drug interest, while 
Mr. Black has the telegraph office, with depot and express 
business, at the Granville station of the Ohio Central R. R. 

In 1839, Jarvis Case opened a store at the Case homestead, 
corner of Broad and Green Streets. 

Not far from 1840, Mr. Henry D. Wright succeeded his 
brothers, D. & S. Wright; and he again was followed by his 
nephew, Moseley Wright, son of Sereno. In 1853, the stand 
was used by the co-operative store. Mr. William S. Wright 
purchased the stock in 1857. A year or two later he built 
the large brick store building on the east side of the Public 
Square and north of Broad, and occupied it under the firm, 
William S. Wright and Sons. In 1861, this firm sold to 
Follett & Wright (Austin W. FoUett and William Wright). 
William Wright then sold his interest to George Follett, and 
F^ollett Bros, was the firm. The succession at this stand has 
been since : Dilley, Park & Co. ; Dilley & Goodrich ; George 
Goodrich; Goodrich & Craig, and R. i^. Craig, who is the 
present occupant. 

In 1842, Reed «& Adams were in partnership, and A. P. 
Prichard had received to partnership his son, Gilman, the 
firm being Prichard & Son. 

In 1850, H. R. Green entered into partnership with Darwin 
Humphrey at the old steam-mill stand, which partnership 



LATER MERCHANTS. 295 

continiied eighteen months. In the sprino of 1854, he 
bought the stock of I. Sniithyman & Co., who were trading 
in the east room of the C. C. Rose building, which building 
had come into possession of J. R. Spease. In 1857, Mr. 
Green added fifty feet to his own building, standing between 
the two former locations just named, making a salesroom 
i6x 70, and moved the stock into it. In the fall of 1858, the 
business was transferred to his son, H. B. Green. In 1871, 
the building was refitted, making a salesroom 32 feet front 
and 55 feet deep, with two large show windows. Here Mr. 
Green continues still to deal in dry goods, ready-made 
clothing, etc. 

In 1837, Mr. G. B. Johnson came to the place, and soon 
afterward, Mr. James Fosdick. After a season of clerkship 
in the store of Avery & Fassett, these two young men were 
both received to partnership. Ere long the business was 
chiefly entrusted to the junior members of the firm, the 
senior partners giving their attention largely to outside busi- 
ness. Mr. Fassett removed to Cleveland, and thence to New 
York City, where he engaged in brokerage. Mr. Avery also 
went to New York and engaged in wholesale dry goods busi- 
ness. At one time the firm consisted of Alfred Avery, Dr. S. 
Spelman, G. B. Johnson and James Fosdick, under the style, 
"Spelman, Johnson & Co." At another it was J. Hillyer, Jr., 
E. Fassett, A. Avery, G. B. Johnson and J Fosdick, 
under the style of " Fassett & Co." Mr. Jeremiah Munson 
was in the firm for a time about 1847. 

In 1847, Munson C. Hillyer was engaged in merchandis- 
ing in the east room of the C. C. Rose building. Messrs. 
Isaac Smithyman and Thomas Woods had the grocery in the 
west room. The same gentlemen with Mr. George Ingra- 
ham and others had a joint stock business in the east room, 
to which Mr. Hillyer succeeded by purcha.se. He then 
bought out the grocery, also, and removed the intervening 
partition, making his store room more commodious. There 
he continued to trade until he went to California in 1851. 



296 PRESENT MERCHANTS. 

While George B. Whiting was in the postoffice, he began 
to deal in school books, wall paper, stationery, miscellaneous 
books, pictures, music, a circulating library, adding one 
feature after another, until now (jranvillc can boast a very 
fine book store. 

In like manner, the grocery business has grown from ordi- 
nary beginnings until we have some of the finest stocks 
in the county. 

Thomas Jones has a little shop with a steam engine, chem- 
icals, and a good stock of ingenuity, with which he serves 
the people in silver plating, repairing sewing machines, 
clocks, guns, etc. 

The DeBow brothers are doing very creditable work in the 
line of tombstones and monuments, using marble, granite, 
and ot.her materials. 

In 1871, under the laws of the vState of Ohio, there was 
formed in (iranville, most (jf the stockholders being citizens 
of the place, a company called, " The vSunday Creek Coal and 
Iron Mining and Transportation Company," with a nominal 
capital of $500,000, for the purpose of smelting iron, mining 
and selling coal. They bought a furnace near Toledo, Ohio, 
with a large tract of woodland ; also, a tract in the coal fields 
of Perry county, Ohio. Their operations were a failure. 

About the same time, another coal land speculation in- 
volved many citizens of Granville, drawing away a large 
amount of capital from the place, and it, too, proved a failure. 

These, with other unsuccessful transactions, are estimated 
to have withdrawn from the townshij) within the past ten 
years, about one hundred thousand dollars. 



TIIK ANTI-SI. AVKRY KXCITKMKNT, 20( 



CHAPTER XLVI. 

The beginiiino- of anti-slavery meetings in the township 
was in 1834. Most of the people at that time were coloniza- 
tionists in sentiment. A Mr. Hawlcy, from Western Reserve 
College, lectnred in the Congregational Chnrcli against col- 
onization as a means of doing away slavery ; making qnite 
a sensation. " Andible mnrmnrings were heard thronghont 
the chnrch." Colonization meetings followed, with the adop- 
tion of a long series of resolntions, signed by many of the 
leading citizens. 

The next lectnrer was Theodore D. Weld, " one of the best 
platform speakers in the United States. With all the -graces 
of oratory he had a masterly command of logic." He had 
been an agent of the American Colonization Society in Ala- 
bama, and an inmate of Jndge Birney's family. He was one 
of the band of forty-two yonng men who, inllnenced by the 
reputation of Dr. Beecher, had gathered at Lane Seminary 
to study for the ministry. Not satisfied with the position 
taken by the Institution on the anti-slavery question they 
had left in a body. Coming from Columbus by stage, in 
crossing an unbridged stream swollen by rain, the horses, 
stage, and passengers were all swept down by the current. 
Mr. Weld narrowly escaped drowning. He lost consciousness 
but was resuscitated. Arriving at Granville, In'iday, April 3, 
1835, he lectured in the conference room of the Congrega- 
tional Society. A mob gathered and pelted him through the 
windows with eggs ; the audience, even to the ladies, sharing 
in the honors of his reception to the extent that some were all 
next day restoring their soiled clothing. 

The conference room, and every other public building was 

thereafter closed against him. Those having charge of them 

would not risk the threatened damage. Deacon Leonard 

Bushnell had a dwelling house enclosed at this time except 

29 



298 WKI.P'S LKCTURKS. 

doors and windows, and partitions incomplete. It was not in 
condition to be greatly damaged by eggs. It was so arranged 
that ^Ir. Weld by standing at an npper window could make 
himself heard throngh the house where the ladies were 
seated on planks, and through the grounds, where the gen- 
tlemen chiefly gathered. Many came from adjoining towns 
to hear him. This was his second meeting. It was largely 
attended by young ladies from both the schools, and by 
citizens generally. 

On this occasion, one of the Whiteheads of Jersey — a 
family of giant frame and strength — being on the outskirts 
of the crowd, heard a man muttering vengeance on the 
speaker and others. Stepping quietly up to him with one 
hand in his pocket, he grasped him under the other arm, 
lifted him over the picket fence, and set him down in the 
street, saying, "There, my little man, keep quiet I We do 
not allow such language in the \ard. Do not make any 
noise." Having felt the power of Whitehead's arm, and 
seeing plenty of others as quietly determined as he was, the 
man and those with him made no further disturbance. 

The third meeting was held at the house of Mr. Ashley 
A. Bancroft, half a mile north of town. The town authori- 
ties had begun to move, opposing any further anti-slavery 
meetings within the corporation limits as endangering the 
peace of the village. Dr. Lewis Barnes, of Delaware, who 
was present on that occasion, writes as follows : " No mob 
was there ; but as we came into town after the lecture, we 
found a hideous group of rnthans encumbering the side 

walk. A man by the name of S appeared to be their 

leader, S had been to the lecture with two or three 

younger men, where he drew a pistol with threats. But dar- 
ing nothing further at that time, he withdrew and returned 
to town. After the adjournment, as the convention men 
came by, his evil eye was fixed upon Sa??i IV/iz/e, for whom 
he made a rush. But Sam turned upon him so impetuously 
that his ardor began to abate, and we also bore our belliger- 



OHIO STATE AXTI-SLA\'ERY CONVENTION. 299 

ant friend away from the spot, and thus the conflict was sns- 
pended. But the mob spirit had become so strong and defi- 
ant that no further appointments were made." 

Mr. Weld then went to St. Albans township and continued 
his lectures at the Gaffield meeting house, just across the 
line. For a week they were largely attended by citizens of 
Granville as well as the neighborhood, and they occasioned 
no further disturbance. 

Meantime the colonization element was not inactive. On 
the 28th of October (1835J, in response to an open call, a 
meeting convened in the parlor of the hotel, at which pro- 
vision was made for calling a general meeting of citizens to 
protest against the proceedings of the abolitionists and to 
revive the support of the Colonization Society. A paper was 
adopted and signed by twent\--six prominent citizens. At 
this subsequent meeting a long series of resolutions was 
offered, discussed and adopted. 

Thursday, April 27, 1836, the Ohio State Auti-Slaver\- 
Convention held its anniversary- in Granville, preliminary- 
committee or business meetings being held on days preced- 
ing^. Xo room could be obtained for it in the ^-illag:e. A 
remonstrance was signed by seven t\--five men. including the 
mayor, recorder, and members of the council ; many of them 
prominent citizens, and of two classes : those who abomi- 
nated abolition, and those whose motive was to avoid a dis- 
turbance of the peace. On the other hand, the Abolitionists 
thought they held a " certain inalienable right" to meet for 
peaceable discussion, and that it would be bad policy to give 
ground while that right was questioned by a mob threatening 
violence. To render the situation more trying still, families 
were divided. Brothers, brothers-in-law, sisters, and other 
near relatives were ranged on opposite sides of the exciting 
question. 

The anti-slavery party \-ielded so far as not to meet in the 
village. Mr. A. A. Bancroft again met the crisis. His large 
barn at that season of the year was nearly empty. This was 



300 GATHERING STORM. 

offered to the committee of arrangement as the place of 
meeting, accepted, arranged, and styled the Hall of Freedom. 
The day of meeting drew near. The abolitionists went 
quietly forward with their preparations and the more violent 
of the other party showed a determined hostility. 

On one of the evenings preceding the meeting of the 
convention, and not in any way connected with it, unless it 
was that some attended it who had come to attend the con- 
vention, a meeting was held in the school house on the Lan- 
caster road. After a lecture, a local anti-slavery society was 
formed. A mob went over from town and made considerable 
disturbance, throwing eggs and stones, and breaking the 
windows badly. Some of the audience sallied out in self 
defence. Clubs were freely used and men of both parties 
sustained serious personal injuries 

This whetted the spirit of the mob and made them more 
determined. During the night they sent out word in every 
direction calling together a crowd of men disposed to use 
violence in bi caking up the convention. They came from 
Mt. Vernon and the extreme northwest corner of the county 
and many nearer places. 

The day of the convention found the village filled by two 
crowds of men of these opposing sentiments, and uneasiness 
was manifested on the streets from early morning. The one 
crowd was headed by such men as President Mahan and 
Professor Cowles, of Oberlin College, Hon, J. G. Birney, of 
Cincinnati, and kindred spirits ; the other, numbering about 
two hundred men, can hardly be said to have had any 
efficient leaders. The more wise of the opponents drew 
back from encouraging violence, and the turbulent elements 
that were ready for it knew not how to strike. The storm 
cloud was surcharged wuth electricity, but no conductor 
offered a track for its gathered force. They tried to get an 
experienced militia captain to organize and lead them. But 
in this they failed. They spent the day in harangues, in 
bobbing Abolitionists' horses, and in drilling by squads ; 



PREPARATIONS. 301 

marching around to the music of a violin, both about the 
public house, and on the summit of Prospect Hill, in sight 
of where the convention was sitting. 

The mayor purposely absented himself that day, and the 
constable declined to use his office for the preservation of 
the peace until the afternoon brought the violence. Word 
was sent from the mob to the convention that if they did not 
adjourn by a given time they would be assailed, and the mob 
had spies out reporting all the movements of the convention. 

The abolitionists quietly assembled and proceeded with 
their business. During the day the mob was hourly expected 
to attack them Mr. Bancroft with a log chain secured the 
large gate leading to the barn, making it necessary for the 
mob, in case of attack, to scale the fence. Having, for the 
sake of peace, yielded so far as to go out of town to hold their 
meeting, they were determined on self-defense. A load of 
hoop poles was brought from James Langdon's cooper shop, 
(he was a brother-in-law of Samuel White), and each one 
cut in two, affording an abundant supply of shillalahs in 
case they should be needed. There were some personal 
collisions during the day, but nothing very serious until the 
afternoon. 

The convention did not adjourn for dinner, but continuing 
its session finished its business by two o'clock p. m., and ad- 
journed sine die. The Ladies' School, under Misses Grant 
and Bridges, was suspended for the day, and teachers and 
scholars went in procession to the convention. The board- 
ing department was then accommodated in the brick building 
in the west end of town, now the residence of Dr. Gifford. 
The village sidewalks at that time ran close by the buildings 
on each side of the street. The young ladies, under the pro- 
tection of a strong escort, formed a procession four abreast, 
and marched around Prospect Hill into town, down Green 
Street and up the north sidewalk of Broad Street. The mob 
was gathered on the same side of the street in front of the 
hotel, at the corner of Prospect Street. At this point the 



302 . THE COLLISION. 

two crowds came in collision. A part of the mob gave way 
and let the procession pass partially through the outskirts, 
but the mass of them resisted, and the procession was 
crowded into the middle of the street, keeping very close 
together. As the procession passed them, the mob became 
excited and began to hoot and to move toward them, calling 
vociferously for Samuel White and William Whitney, both 
of whom were conspicuous among the escort, and both ob- 
noxious as abolition lecturers. The procession closed in 
together and quickened their pace as the mob pressed upon 
them. Thus they proceeded up the street nearly one square, 
the procession occupying the middle of the street and the 
mob the sidewalk and intervening space, the more daring 
ones pressing alongside the procession, some trying to trip 
the ladies in spite of their protectors. One prominent citi- 
zen was heard to shout: "Egg the squaws!" Following 
the procession were many on horseback and in wagons. 
These were assailed with eggs and other missiles, and females 
sought to escape the danger by jumping from the wagons 
and running away. 

The old culvert at the outlet of the pond in the center of 
town used to extend only across the wagon track in the 
center of the street. As the procession was passing over 
this, a student of the college and the lady he was escorting 
were pushed off the culvert into the ditch. Hastening to 
see his lady among friends in the procession, he returned, 
found his assailant and knocked him down. The assailant 
"soon came to time and went to grass again." Seeing this, 
another of the mob made for the student and knocked Jiini 
down. The ball was now fairly opened. A citizen rushed 
frantically at the head of the procession, where he tackled a 
powerful man — one of the Whiteheads, of Jersey — and was 
turned back with the loss of his wig. The student, who, by 
the way, had been a trained pugilist, returned to the fight, 
and singling one at a time from his assailants, laid several 
in the dust, until he was overpowered by numbers and buried 



VIOIvENCE. 303 

under a pile of rails from Esquire Gavit's fence. Another of 
the mob was soon seen carrying on his shoulders something 
wrapped in a handkerchief, which proved to be a bloody- 
head. He had been hit by a good-sized stone thrown from 
the midst of the procession. At the rear, a furnaceman had 
got an abolitionist down and was pounding him unmerci- 
fully, when a citizen ran from one of the stores across the 
street and pulled him off, crying : " Get off; you are killing 
him !" " Wh-wh-why," said the man, who was a stammerer, 
" I s'posed I'd g-g-got to k-k-kill him, and he aint d-dead 
yet ! " and he gave him another blow. A little further on, 
several of the mob had laid hands on two of the young ladies 
and separated them from the procession. A workman at 
Mr. Sereno Wright's seeing this, dropped his tools, and gath- 
ering stones as he ran, began to throw them at the assailants. 
He was soon joined by others. One of the mob was hit on 
the shin and disabled. A few more stones opened the way 
for the girls to escape. One of them sank to the ground 
from fright, unable to run. The men had now come between 
them and the mob and held the latter in check, fighting with 
stones and whatever else came to hand, until the companions 
of the young lady gained courage to run back and help her 
escape. This was in front of where the Baptist Church is 
now. 

One young man whose sympathies were with the opposers 
rather than with the abolitionists, evoked the displeasure of 
some of the mob by acts of gallantry in this part of the 
drama, and had to take refuge in the cellar of a store. Dur- 
ing these transactions the women for the most part hid 
themselves within their houses, too fearful to witness the 
events. But one young housewife was making soap that 
day, and was dressed accordingly. Hearing a great noise, 
she looked out upon the street and saw the mob rapidly ap- 
proaching, a man of her acquaintance running past her as 
for life, and yielding to her first impulse, she ran through 
the garden and climbed hurriedly into a neighbor's barn- 



304 BLOODSHED. 

yard, tearing her working attire sadly in the effort. Then 
realizing that she was no safer there than she wonld be in 
the house, she climbed back again, and growing bolder and 
foro-etting the plight she was in, she went into the street and 
began to expostulate with those of the mob with whom she 
came in contact. 

The march had now changed to the double-quick, and 
ahnost a rout. But the ladies all reached some place of 
safety, some at the dwellings along the route, others at the 
boarding house. Mr. Whitney was so pressed that he broke 
ahead of the procession, ran through Mr. Haskell's house 
and secreted himself in the back part of the ladies' boarding 
house. Mr. White, also, after felling three or four with his 
fist, ran across the gardens, and was cared for by Rev. Henry 
Carr. He had two brothers also in the fray, which was not 
a bloodless one for them. Mr. John Lewis, a student from 
Oberlin, was set upon by one of the mob who carried a heavy 
stick. He turned and ran across the road toward an open 
door, which, just as he reached it, was closed against him ; 
and exhausted, he stumbled upon the steps. His pursuer 
was just upon him when he fell, and he could only turn upon 
his back and hold up his arms to defend his head, while blow 
after blow was dealt upon him in double-handed strokes. 
The mobocrat was made to desist, but not until the young 
man was covered with blood. 

Ere this. Esquire Gilman had come upon the .scene. He 
met the mob at the foot of Rose Street, and then and there 
commanded citizens in the name of the State of Ohio to 
help restrain the violent, with threats of instant fines for 
disobedience. But his presence could not be everywhere, 
and the mischief still went on. 

A part of the mob now snrged back again down the street 
in great disorder. Eggs were thrown, there were personal 
encounters and more or less personal injury. Gathering 
strength, they returned under a fresh impetus, excited in the 
determination to find .some of the individuals they longed to 
handle. 



THE FIELD CLEARED. 305 

Mr. Jocelyn, steward at the Baptist Seminary, was chased 
around the old Baptist Church, but ehided the mob, and 
reached home in safety. Mr. Anderson, the constable, came 
upon the scene of action on horseback, and sought to use 
his authority. He was unceremoniously dragged from his 
horse and treated with indignity. The stammerer had by 
this time reached the van of the mob. He took after the 
constable, who fled incontinently, leaving his hat behind 
him. This was appropriated by the stammerer as a trophy. 
A squad of them, still looking for White and Whitney, met 
Mr. Bynner. " Have you seen anything of Whitney? " they 
asked. "Whitney," replied he, pointing in the direction of 
the college on the Columbus road, "why didn't you just now 
see Mr. Whitney running with all his might toward the col- 
lege ? " Supposing he meant that he had so seen him, 
they made haste to pursue, and were soon off the scent. In 
the evening, Mr. Whitney reached his boarding house. His 
host, however, was afraid to keep him over night, and he 
found his way across the garden^s to the house of his friend, 
Rev. William S. Roberts. He and his two brothers procured 
shotguns, ammunition, crowbars and axes, and they all bar- 
ricaded themselves in the west room of what is now Mr. 
Whitney's residence, but they were not molested. 

Judge Birney and others standing with him were ap- 
proached on the sidewalk by a prominent citizen, who re- 
monstrated with them for holding such a meeting, and or- 
dered them out of town. The Judge mildly replied that 
they had accomplished their work and were just ready to 
leave. The citizen further said, with many oaths, "Well, 

, I am glad of it ; I hope you will, ; it is time you 

were going, for, , you have periled the peace of our village 

long enough." This was simply to put the onus of the dis- 
turbance upon the abolitionists as the responsible cause 
of it. 

The closing scene was the ride of Judge Birney past the 
mob, now re-assembling at the hotel. He started from Dr. 



306 THE CLOSING SCENE. 

Bancroft's on his awfully bobbed horse, rode slowly by the 
mob while they pelted him on every side with eggs ; and 
when past the reach of their missiles, he i)nt spurs to his 
horse, and in that plight left town. 

Many of the mobocrats from a distance were disgusted 
with the citizens who sent for them, because no man of prom- 
inence among them would lead their assault, and they went 
away leaving inverted compliments for them, and declining 
to pull chestnuts out of the fire any more. 

All these scenes occuj^jed not much more time than it 
takes to read them. They were followed by a heavy thunder 
shower that cooled men's passions; and in the evening the 
Granville Band was out with music, as if such a day might 
still close in peace and pleasure. 

The same evening an abolition meeting was held in the 
stone school-house on the Welsh Hills, and there was no dis- 
turbance. The abolition party received great accessions by 
that day's work; and at this day no one is found to speak 
approvingly of the violence that then filled our otherwise 
peaceful streets with confusion and bloodshed. 

One very good man was heard to say with regard to the 
treatment the anti-slavery men received that he was glad of 
it, and he would serve them the same way if they were to 
come to his neighborhood. But another said : " If that is 
the way, I am henceforth an abolitionist," and the next 
heard of him he was an agent of the Underground Railroad. 

The following lines were appended to an account of 
this mob published at the time in pamphlet form, and 
called : " Granville Mobocracy Exposed, or a Pill for the 
Dough Faces." The pamphlet cannot now be found, but the 
lines have been preserved in print, and come to us from 
Boston : 

"a parody on the mob in GRANVILLE IN 1834. 
" In Granville when the sun was low 
The mobiles filled each street and row, 
And low and mournful was the flow 
Of Raccoon rolling sluggishly. 



THE FUGITIVE RESCUED. 307 

•' By yells and shoutings fast arrayed 
Each mobile drew his battle blade, 
And furiously they rushed to aid 

And join the drunken revelry. 

" But Granville saw another sight 

When the mobites rushed to furious fight 
Commanding drunken fiends to light 
Upon the ladies suddenly. 

" The riot deepens, on, ye slaves! 
Who rush with fury on the brave. 
Wave, mobites, all your cudgels wave. 

And charge with all your chivalry. 

" Then shook the town with riot riven; 
Then rushed the mob by fury driven. 
And in savage yells to heaven. 

Loud shouted the mobocracv. 

" Ah! few shall part where many meet 
Without a broken head to greet 
Their captain when he comes to treat 

The mobites for their gallantry." 

A similar convention was held two or three years later 
in the Congregational Chnrch, and the town cannon was 
fired for some time on the square during its sessions. 

But the third convention was held not long after, and not 
a dog moved his tongue against it. 

The next demonstration was about 1841, on the occasion 
of the taking of a fugitive slave (whose name was John), 
under the old Black Laivs of Ohio. He was being tried in 
Newark under Judge Haughey, when Samuel White entered 
the court room, and at once espoused John's case. At his 
motion the case was postponed. He got Dr. Bancroft to 
procure a writ of habeas corpus, which brought him to Gran- 
ville for trial before Judge Bancroft. The trial was held in 
the conference room where Weld was egged. White, aided 
by Stanbery and Ells, defended John, and the court decided 
in his favor, the decision being that the arrest of the man as it 
had been brought about, was unconstitutional. Immediately 
White arose and shouted : " Knock off those shackles ! No 



308 THE TRIAL. 

fetters here I John, you are a free man I Run, John, run 
for your life and liberty I'' Quicker done than said. The 
shackles fell off as by magic. The crowd opened to the 
right and left. John was pushed through, and even borne 
over their heads by friends, he, with tears, stretching out his 
hand toward White and crying : " God bress you, ]\Iassa 
White! God bress you, Massa White." The Marshal who had 
brought him and stood near him during the trial, made some 
show of resistance. But a few overpowering words from 
Wliite, with a significant gesture of his powerful right arm, 
sent the blood in upon his heart, and he cowered into non- 
resistance. Friends urged John to the horses, which stood 
waiting for him and his guides. One of these he mounted 
like an adept, and not waiting to get his feet in the stirrups, 
he was soon on top of the hill west of the Academy, swing- 
ing his hat and shouting : " Hurrah !" and in another 
moment was out of sight. Ere the bewildered master could 
take any further steps, John was beyond his reach. So 
eager were friends to see him off that certain people who 
were in the plan and others who were not, all friends, came 
into collision, and one or two blows were interchanged before 
they understood each other. Another mistake occurred in 
taking the wrong horse, one very similar to the one provided. 
The bridle was cut and he was off before it was perceived. 
The right horse followed, however, the matter was rectified 
and no complaints were made. " i\fter all," said an old time 
opposer, " I'm rather glad he's got away." 

Granville was long a well known station on the Great 
Northwestern Underground Railroad, from which place it 
branched, one track running up Loudon Street, the one by 
which John went, and the other over the hills to Utica. 
Trains would stop sometimes thirty minutes for meals ; some- 
times all day, rather than all night, for rest ; sometimes 
longer to have the track repaired. If danger threatened, the 
conductors and track viewers were careful to have everything 
looked after, and trains were seldom delayed, and never 
thrown from the track. 



SLAVE IS FREED. 309 

[More than half a century has now passed (1889) since 
those memorable events. Few of the actors in those scenes 
snrvive, and the living who sympathized with either side 
were at the time too young to enter intelligently into the 
motives of those actors. All to-day would wonder at the 
impetuosity that displayed itself in profanity, violence and 
bloodshed. To-day the slave is freed and everybody is glad.] 



olO OUR CRIMINAL RKCORD. 

CHAPTI{R XLVII. 

OUR CRIMINAL RKCORD. 

This should not be passed over, lest Granville bear a better 
name than she deserves ; neither is it well to wound the feel- 
ings of any by unnecessarily calling to memory that which 
were better left in oblivion. 

In very early times there were two cases of criminal offence 

against society. In 1819, G was accused of forgery, 

having been before guilty of ])ctit larceny, was tried, con- 
victed and sent to the penitentiary for a short term. He had 
long failed to enjoy the confidence of the community. 

About the same time (not far from 1814) L was guilty 

of altering bank notes from the denomination of one's to 
ten's. He was of a singular disposition, loving to be much 
alone, studying his father's library ; but, as it afterward 
appeared, for the sake of finding the secret mechanical and 
chemical arts which he used in his work. He kept a private 
room which was always under lock and key, where were 
found the evidences of his crime. He was assisted to leave 
the country, starting from home on horse-back, going south 
never to return. 

The most gigantic crime perpetrated in our community 

was that of M . In the winter of ICS34-5, the merchants 

missed small amounts of money or goods from the stores. 
Families missed small articles from their premises. Locks 
were found tampered with. Paints, groceries, dry goods, 
syrups, hams, cash, mysteriously disappeared. It was 
evident there was mischief around, but no trace of the 
perpetrator could be found. 

One Saturday evening, April 4, 1835, M came into the 

store of Mower & Prichard just as it was to be closed for the 
night. Sherlock Mower and a lad who assisted him, were 
the only persons present. M sauntered around, seem- 
ingly having no errand, and was inclined to be near the back 



BURGLARIES. 311 

door which opened into a large ware-room, in one corner of 
which, just to the right as one entered, was the office room, 
and in the office the safe was kept. On the west side was 
another more open ware-house for rough storage. On the 
counter near this back door of the sales-room was a case con- 
taining candy, of which M bought six and a fourth cents 

worth, (an old fashioned piece of silver). Soon after Mr. 
Mower went into the ware-room to see that all was right, 

and M slipped in after him to examine the premises. 

Next morning (Sunday) the key hole of the front door was 
observed to be filled with mud. That evening the boy clerk 
was about the open shed when he observed M go stealth- 
ily and examine the key hole to find if any one had entered 
the store. While he was doing this, Otis Wheeler came 
riding rapidly down Prospect Street, turning round the store 
into Broad, on his way for a doctor. As he rounded the 
corner he noticed a man coming hurriedly away from the 

front door, which excited his attention. M then went 

into French's tavern and sat by the bar room fire. 

In the night, Sunday, April 5th, M with an auger 

cut out the lock of the west door by boring all around it, 
effected an entrance into the office, rolled out the safe through 
the wareroom and to the east door, loaded it upon an old- 
fashioned hand truck, (much used in those days for drawing 
water in barrels from the town spring), and started with it 
through Broad Street, and down Main, toward the old burial 
lot. When opposite Mr. Sereno Wright's dwelling, just be- 
yond the town square, the safe fell from the truck into the 

mud. M was a powerful man, but he could not manage 

to get the safe any further. He then went back to the black- 
smith shop of A. Sinnet, just back of the store he had 
burglarized, but found it fastened. He then went to the 
shop in olden times conspicuously labeled in great white 
letters " Our Shop," where Mr. Montonye's shop now is, and 
there procured a heavy sledge hammer. With three well- 
directed blows he sprung the lock of the safe and opened the 



312 BURGLARIES. 

door. It is one ol the marvels of the case that he should 
make so much noise right in the middle of town and be 
heard on every hand, and awaken no suspicion of what was 
o-oine on. The rolling of the safe on the floor was heard on 
the street back (Bowery), and it was afterward described as 
like distant thunder. The heavy blows that opened the safe 
were heard by Mr. Sereno Wright and at Deacon Bancroft's, 
yet no one thought of mischief. The quiet little town slept 
so unconscious of evil that the deed fell like a thunderbolt 
among thcni. 

Next morning the town was early astir. The safe was 
found lying bedaubed in the mud and rifled of its contents. 
The store was found opened. The tracks in the mud were 
closely observed, and some of them protected for future ref- 
erence. The burglar was tracked from place to place. The 
prints showed very large boots, and one of them had a tap 
on it. 

From where the safe was lying he went directly to the 
burial lot. There, under a flat stone which leaned against 
the wall, were found the personal notes, which, being of no 
use to the thief, he had rid himself of them. Inside the yard, 
stones and bricks were freshly disturbed, but this was only a 
blind ; there was nothing deposited there. The account 
books were hidden in different places in the wall, stones 
being taken out here and there to make room for them. 

The sharp ones of the village were immediately at work 
as detectives. As some suspicions had already lighted upon 

M , it was not long until a search warrant was out and 

he was under surveillance. All his premises were ransacked, 
and then the neighboring hill. In the cellar-way the boots 
were found, freshly washed, which fitted the tracks. Between 
the ceiling and the chamber floor were found many packages 
tucked away, which merchants recognized. Many false keys 
were discovered. In a secret place of an out-building was 
a shingle loosely tacked which held a package of money. In 
the crack of a boulder, the top of which lay a little above 



BURGLARIES. 3J3 

the surface of the ground, the bulk of the money was found. 
The crack had been recently filled with small stones to the 
depth of a foot or two. It was the marks of this recent work 
that drew attention to the spot. Under the loose stones was 
a stocking foot which contained the money, and the leg of 
the stocking was found in the garret of the house, while on 
his face was a black spot from the blacksmith's shop. His 
night's work had come so near the morning as not to give 
him time for his morning's ablutions, before he was sus- 
pected and tracked. 

Previous to this a ten dollar bill which M passed was 

identified as having been lost from one of the stores, and a 
peculiarly small, round ham was found boiling in the pot, so 
strikingly like one lost as to produce confusion at a neigh- 
bor's call. This chain of evidence seemed enough. He was 
indicted, the case came up in the April term of court, 1835, 
and was continued to the October term. The verdict was 
given by a jury of eleven, one having been taken sick, and 
the pgrties mutually agreeing to go on with eleven. The 
witnesses called were Sherlock Mower, B. E. Vial, Otis 
Wheeler, Andrew Merriman, Andrew Dunlap, Sally 

Stephens, Leonard Humphrey, Joseph B. Gaylord. M 

was found guilty and sentenced to the penitentiary. 

September loth, 1850, an altercation between a young 
man, a student of the college, and the steward of the insti- 
tution, led to the student's snatching a pocket knife from the 
steward's hands and stabbing him near the heart. The 
result was not as serious as the heat of the moment might 
naturally have led to. 

On the morning of Tuesday, September nth, 1877, when 
the people began to stir upon the streets, the east window of 
the First National Bank, northwest corner of Broad and 
Prospect Streets, was found to be open. Looking in they 
saw that the outer door of the iron vault, in which stood the 
safe, was open, and the inner door had been tampered with. 
The first had been blown open with gunpowder, and the 
30 



314 BURGLARIES. 

same had been tried upon the inner door. There was a 
space of about four inches both above and below this door, 
and the explosion finding vent had produced no effect. A 
sledge hammer, though it produced great indentations on the 
iron plate, also failed to open it. People said it was so old- 
fashioned an affair that modern burglars did not understand 
it. The inner lock was so tampered with that it took 
several hours to open it, and meantime it was uncertain 
whether the robbers had succeeded and borne away the 
treasure, locking the door after them to gain time, or 
whether all was safe. It was found to have resisted all as- 
saults and proved faithful to its trust. All the plunder they 
got was a gold pen and a few similar articles from the bank 
office. Quantities of carpets and coffee sacks were found, 
which had been used to darken the room and deaden the 
sound. Still the noise was heard across Broad Street, and 
the light was seen irom the old hotel across Prospect Street, 
but no one suspected what was going on. No clue to the 
perpetrators was ever obtained. 

Close upon this there followed a series of burglaries that 
led to the establishing of a night watch. 

On the morning of Thursday, October 4th, the store of 
Mr. H. B. Green was found to have been opened, but if any 
thing was taken it was not missed. 

On the morning of Wednesday, the 7th of November, the 
store of Mr. George C. Parsons was found to have been en- 
tered and many goods abstracted. He estimated his loss at 
$600. The marks on the goods were removed, many of them 
being found on the floor. Next spring when a hay stack on 
the Infirmary farm was removed, tags and marks were found 
secreted in the stack, and identified by Mr. Parsons as his 
marks. 

On the 8th of November, the night watch was established 
by the Town Council, the expense of which is paid by tax. 

On the morning of Wednesday, the 14th of November, 
an attempt was made to break into the house of Mr. Klihu 



BURGLARIES. 315 

Hayes, three miles southwest of town, but the burglars were 
heard and foiled. 

Friday, December 7th, the cellar of Mr. Henry Kendall 
was found to have been entered by an outside door, and sev- 
eral cans of fruit were taken. Mr. Green's store had been 
tried again, the casing of the front door being taken off, and 
Mr. Alfred Jewett's horse was found saddled and bridled 
ready for a ride. ' 

About the same time one of the inmates of Mr. Cole's 
family, on the McCune farm (formerly Joseph Linnel's) on 
Centerville, heard a carriage drive away from the house. In 
the morning the old family carriage and two farm horses 
were missing. They never came back, nor has any trace of 
them been found to this day. It could not even be found 
which way they turned when emerging upon the road. 

July 2d, 1878, Mr. Enos Wilkins, on Centerville Street, 
found a burglar had entered by a window and taken posses- 
sion of his house while all were away on the day of the sol- 
diers' reunion. He had collected a pile of things to carry 
away, but surrendered, plead guilty before a magistrate, and 
was sent to jail. 

Beyond these, there is an ordinary record of accusations 
of crime on the justices' dockets, from the larceny of a jack 
knife to horse-stealing, running through the list of larceny, 
house-breaking, forging, assault and battery, disturbing meet- 
ing and so on ; but nothing unusual that fixes crime on citi- 
izens of Granville, or demanding record. 



316 KATAI. ACCIDKNTS. 



CHAPTER XLVIII. 

A review of the death record of the township makes the 
impression that an unusnal nnmber came to their death by 
accident. 

The first occurred at the explosion of Goodrich's distillery. 
The boiler was a wooden tank, or a cut from a large hollow 
tree, set upon an iron bottom without sufficient fastenings. 
It was thrown off by the force of the steam, several being 
badly scalded. One little girl died during the following night. 
This occurred Wednesday, February 26th, 181 2. 

Thursday, October 7th, 1813, James Thrall was killed 
under the following circumstances : He was standing on a 
tree that had been blown over, cutting it in two ten or twelve 
feet from the roots. When it was severed the bent roots 
forced the stump violently back to position, hurling him into 
the air. In falling his back was broken, and he survived but 
a few days. 

Mr. Ethan Bancroft died Monday, ]\Iay 9th, 1814, from the 
kick of a horse. He was coming in from the field v\'here he 
had been furrowing for corn with a horse he had just bought. 
His little boy had been twice thrown from the horse during 
the forenoon, and calling his hired man he had him hold the 
plow while himself rode. Going to the stable to feed at 
noon, he was riding past where the horse had been in pasture 
when the creature reared almost straight up. Mr. Bancroft 
was sliding off his back when he sprang to the left and away 
as far as he could, falling on his hands and knees. The horse 
quickly turned and gave him a kick in the face, covering the 
right eye, cutting the cheek, nose and brow, tearing the eye 
and injuring the skull. This was on Friday. He lived till 
Sunday night eleven o'clock. On Sunday afternoon he was 
sitting up conversing with his neighbors. In the evening 
he was taken much worse and sank rapidly. He was thirty- 
four years of age. 



ACCIDENTS. 317 

1815, Tuesday, September 12th, Mr. Christopher Avery 
died by falling into a well he was digging on his own prem- 
ises, a couple of miles southwest of town. Mr. Gideon Cor- 
nell and others were helping. Gas had troubled them for 
some time, and Mr. Avery gave the signal that he wished to 
be drawn up. He came so near the top that Mr. Cornell 
seized him by the hand, grasping only three of his fingers. 
Mr. Avery was losing consciousness and self-control, and his 
weight was more than Mr. Cornell could sustain. Mr. Avery 
slipped from his grasp and fell backward to the bottom, a 
distance of forty feet, and was killed. 

1816, September 29th, Moses Boardman was on his way 
from Zanesville with a heavy load of building materials, 
when he was thrown from his wagon, and lived but twelve 
hours after it. 

The same year, while the furnace buildings were being 
erected a stick of timber that was being lifted to position, 
swung round and gave one of the men a blow which proved 
fatal. Some time afterward while one of the bellows tubs 
was being repaired, a heavy weight fell from the top, strik- 
ing a workman below, and another life was sacrificed. These 
bellows arrangements were great wooden cylinders bound 
with iron hoops, eight or ten feet high, and set up from the 
ground ; having leather tops and bottoms, the bottom having 
a valve playing in it as the power worked it up and down, 
and the upper one was loaded with weights. 

1817, Tuesday, February 25th, Mrs. John Jones, living on 
North Street, was riding on a sled drawn by oxen, when they 
took fright and ran, and she was killed. With her husband 
she was going to spend an evening at a neighbor's. Being 
taken up for dead "she revived a little, groaned, prayed and 
expired." 

Thursday, September 4th, of the same year, one Freeman 
Williams, seventeen years of age, was killed by lightning, 
on the farm of Elkanah Ivinnel. Mr. Linnel, Erastus Allyn, 
and young Williams were engaged in gathering ashes from 



318 ACCIDENTS. 

the fields. A shower coming up, they took refuge under the 
wagon. Williams remarking that he had left his jacket under 
a tree which stood near, started to get it. Instead of return- 
ing to the wagon he put on his jacket and remained standing 
under the tree. A heavy charge of lightning soon struck the 
tree, and his head was seen to drop. His companions imme- 
diately went to him and found him dead. The occurrence 
was the beginning of seriousness among the young. The 
revival of 1818 followed when eighteen united with the 
church. 

There was a similar occurrence a few years later on the 
farm of Justin Hillyer, Sr. A young man working in the 
hay field was struck and instantly killed. Others near were 
prostrated by the shock, of whom one was a son of Mr. 
Hillyer. 

1818, July i6th, Paulina Danforth, six years of age, while 
out playing, ate a poisonous root which caused her death. 
The family lived a little way north of town. Her father had 
pulled up the root as he was passing through a recent clear- 
ing, and thrown it into Clear Run to get rid of it. Instead 
of this it was washed down the run a quarter of a mile to 
attract his little daughter's attention. She mistook it for a 
sweet root the people were accustomed to eat. 

In September of the same year, another little girl of the 
same age, Sarah Swim, [or Swaim,] was run over by a horse 
and killed. The family lived on the bank of Clear Run, on 
Centerville Street. She was on her way to school, goi*ig up 
the hill toward town, when an older brother came riding 
rapidly toward her, calling to her to get out of the way. He 
had nothing on the horse by which to guide or curb him. 
Probably both were confused, and the child was trampled 
down by the horse and killed. 

1820, Monday, March 4th, a daughter of Levi Rose, one 
year of age, was drowned. Toddling along a path by which 
she sometimes followed her mother when she went to the 
spring for water, she fell face downward into a shallow pool 



ACCIDENTS. 319 

of water. Her mother missed her ahnost immediately, but 
not in time to save her life. 

1822, June 9th, Hon. Jeremiah R. Munson was drowned, at 
the age of forty-two, while under temporary insanity. He 
had been showing signs of aberration for some time, and it 
was resolved that morning to call a physician for examina- 
tion and advice. Some of the family went to meeting, it 
being Sabbath, bearing the message to the doctor. Having 
helped them off, he went into the house and read aloud to his 
mother from the Bible for some time. Presently he came to 
the passage, " it were better for him that a mill stone were 
hanged about his neck, and that he were drowned in the 
depths of the sea." He stopped, closed the book, looked up 
at his mother, and went up stairs. When the family re- 
turned from meeting they brought with them Dr. Richards ; 
but Mr. Munson was nowhere to be found. They searched 
the barn, the hills and woods north of the house, and all the 
premises. At that juncture a neighbor came in with Mr. 
Munson's hat in his hand, which he had found by the mill 
pond. In it were papers by which he knew where the hat 
belonged. The pond was at once searched, but not until 
next day was the body found. 

1827, August 4th, the child of Lewis and Cynthia Fluke, 
two years of age, was scalded to death by falling into a kettle 
of hot lye. 

Friday, November i6th, of the same year, Mr. Zabina 
Pierce was engaged in digging a well half a mile east of town 
on the place now owned by Mr. Wynkoop. The ground was 
gravelly and loose, and troubled them much by caving. The 
well was nearly forty feet deep. At noon he sat down to eat 
a lunch under a board that leaned from side to side to protect 
him from anything that might fall. A very large body of 
earth became loosened from the sides and fell upon him, 
burying him many feet deep. From his position and appear- 
ance when found it was judged he was killed instantly. 
There was great danger in going down to rescue him, the 



320 ACCIDENTS. 

sides continuing to cave. The neighborhood was roused 
immediately, and every effort was made that could be devised. 
Soon a great chasm yawned several yards across the mouth, 
around which the crowd, gathered in "excitement and unable 
to effect anything for his immediate rescue. Timbers were 
thrown across and curbing prepared and sunk, within which 
the men worked, sinking the curbing lower as the dirt was 
removed. Other and smaller curbing, being made ready, 
was sunk inside the first and lower down. Relays of men 
entered the well, relieving one another as often as necessary. 
As they went deeper the inexperienced became fearful of the 
risks. Then came two experienced well diggers from St. 
Albans — Elisha Adams and Isaiah Beaumont — volunteering 
their aid. The work went on with renewed vigor, but not 
till two days and nights of unremitting toil and anxiety were 
passed, did they reach the depth at which they might expect 
to find the body. It was then discovered that in descending 
they had veered a little from the former shaft, and that they 
were digging down to one side of him. By making an arch 
and working sidewise they found the body. It was not made 
known to the crowd above until all were drawn up together, 
lest in their excitement they should crowd around the open- 
ing and cause another accident. Not long after they emerged 
from the pit there was another caving that would have im- 
periled other lives with that of poor Pierce. 

1828, January 26th, Cynthia Newcomb, aged nine years, 
met her death by the lodging of a small pebble in her wind- 
pipe. 

1829, August 5th, a child of Richard Stadden, aged eight- 
een months, was drowned. 

Thursday, August 20th, of the same year, George Avery, 
thirty-eight years of age, was killed by a falling tree. He 
was cutting the tree down, preparing to build on his land 
just beyond Major Pratt's. The tree fell between two others 
in such a way as to become wedged by the force of the fall. 
He stepped toward the top to free it ; and a single blow of 



ACCIDENTS. 321 

his axe, with the stress that was produced by the manner of 
its falling, broke the tree, and the fractured end flew violently 
around striking him in the abdomen. He died the following 
night in great agony. 

1830, Wednesday, February loth, Samuel Thrall, aged 
forty-two, while threshing grain by the tramping of horses, 
was kicked in the bowels, and survived the accident but a 
day or two. 

1 83 1, Tuesday, March 15th, Aurelius Thrall was killed 
while working in a stone quarry near Newark. There was 
considerable earth above, and an oak stump, under which he 
was working, to get out as much stone as he could before it 
should fall. His men stopped work, unwilling to incur the 
danger, but he continued a little too long. The mass fell 
and crushed him. 

Cotton M. Thrall, a brother of the two lest mentioned, as 
also of James Thrall, the second on this list, having lived 
here most of his life, removed to the neighborhood of Berk- 
shire, Delaware county, Ohio. He was hauling wool to the 
lake, when he slipped off his load and broke his neck. This 
was just before railroads opened a market for farm products 
nearer home. 

1834, Thursday, July loth, died William Barker, a lad of 
twelve. He was recovering from a fever, and while riding 
out was thrown from the carriage, and received injuries which 
resulted in death. 

Monday, July 14th, of the same year. Colonel Jonathan 
Atwood, infirm with age, was killed in Broad Street while 
trying to stop his horse that had started off before he was 
ready. He became entangled in the wheel, being wound 
around with it while in motion, and received injuries that 
were immediately fatal. 

About the same time Mrs. Bigelow accompanied her hus- 
band to camp-meeting in a conveyance drawn by oxen. The 
team became frightened and ran, and she received injuries 
that caused her death. 



322 ACCIDENTS. 

1837, Tuesday, July 4th, Mrs. Ruhama Hayes, aged 
seveuty-oue, was thrown from the vehicle in which she was 
riding, and her back was broken. She survived but a few 
hours. This happened near the foot of lower Xoudon 
Street. 

Monday, October i6tli, of the same year, Marshall Marsh 
was accidentally killed while managing his canal boat in 
some difficult position. 

1838, Saturday, October 20th, Samuel Miller was killed by 
a rolling hog pen, which he was moving to a new location. 

Friday, July 6th, of the same year, Mrs. Prudence Tyler, a 
most excellent and Christian lady, was drowned in conse- 
quence of insanity. 

1839, Joseph Weeks, a lad of eight years, died of hydro- 
phobia. A large, strange dog came to the premises, and he 
was playing with it, when it suddenly bit him in the cheek, 
and in due time the boy was seized with convulsions. 

1842, December 7th, a Mr. Mayfield broke his neck by a 
fall. 

1847, May 20th, a little girl three years old, fell into the 
cistern at Esquire Gavit's house, and was drowned. She was 
the daughter of a Mrs. Gregory of Alexandria, visiting at 
Mr. Gavit's. 

1850, June 4th, Joel Lamson, aged eighty, died from the 
effects of a fall. 

July 6th, of the same year, and in like manner, Mrs. 
Elizabeth Ingham. 

The same year, Dick Ward, a soldier of the Mexican War, 
was found dead on the hay-mow of Van Houten's Hotel, 
with a bottle of rats-bane by his side. 

In the summer of this year, or '51, a mover's wagon 
was passing through town, when one of the company, a lad, 
tried to get a loaded gun out of the wagon ; in doing which 
it was discharged, killing him instantly. 

Saturday, May 8th, 1852, Dr. William S. Richards, aged 
sixty-five. On Tuesday preceding, while engaged in the hay- 



ACCIDENTS. 323 

loft, by a misstep he was thrown backward and out of the 
window upon the ground. Lighting upon his head and 
shoulders, he received injuries from which he died at two 
o'clock Saturday morning. 

1853, Monday, April i8th, Noah Herbert, aged seventy- 
three, destroyed himself while under temporary insanity. 

Wednesday, September 21st, of the same year, Mrs. Eliza 
Bynner, a lady of unusual culture, the mother of a large 
family of children, was drowned from the effects of insanity, 
at the age of fifty-nine years. 

1855, Tuesday, November 27th, Mrs. Edward Nichol,aged 
seventy-six, died from the effects of burning, her clothing 
taking fire. 

About this time, Mr. Charles Griffin, a man approaching 
middle life, was hunting with his brother. They cut down 
a tree, which, in falling, struck another tree, breaking a limb 
which flew back, hitting him in the forehead and killing him 
instantly. 

1856, September 23d, Ephraim Wood died from the effects 
of a fall ; aged eighty. 

1857, Monday, February 23d, Ebenezer Bland, twenty-four 
years of age, a student at the college, was crushed by a 
water wheel at the furnace. Long after the old works were 
of much practical utility, the water wheel was in position, 
and the young men used to resort to it for sport. By some 
accident he was carried down between the wheel and the 
stone wall of the pit in which it revolved, and was fearfully 
crushed. He lived a few hours and was able to converse in 
a very few sentences. 

1858, August nth, Mary, the wife of Asa Ward, aged 
twenty, and Nancy R., their infant child, were drowned while 
attempting to cross Cherry Run. She was with her husband 
and was afraid to undertake the crossing. He thought there 
was no danger and started in. They plunged at once into 
the deepest part of the stream, the current being very rapid. 
They were swept down and the wife and child were drowned. 



324 ACCIDKNTS. 

i860, Richard Watkins, fours years old, died from the effects 
of a burn. 

(The deaths of our soldier boys in battle are not recorded 
here. These would add a number to the list). 

1863, William Farmer was found frozen in his carriage. 

The same year, a man who was driving the team of Mr. 
Kerr from Newark with a load of coal, was found frozen to 
death, the team having turned into a yard by the way. 

September 24th, of the same year, IMatthew Adams, aged 
ninety-two, died from a fall and subsequent fever. 

1875 (?), Jasper Munson, son of Jesse Munson, Jr., was 
killed near Newway, by the running away of his horses. 

John Charles, a man past middle life, was drowned in the 
feeder, opposite William Showman's. Riding his horse in, 
to water him, the horse stepped on the bridle, stumbled and 
threw the rider into deep water. 

Two young men, Worley and Jones, employed at the exca- 
vation for the new railroad, near the old Munson mill, were 
killed by the sudden caving of the bank above them. 

1877, Friday, May i8th, John James was driving a team 
down Granger Street, when the horses took fright in conse- 
quence of the ring of the neck-yoke being too large for the 
wagon tongue. The wagon ran against the horses. They 
ran up Broad Street, part of the way on the sidewalk, until 
they reached a tree nearly in front of the drug store. Mr. 
James was thrown against the front of the wagon with one 
foot hanging outside and between the bed and doubletree. 
The limb was crushed. As he came near he was evidently 
in great suffering and unable to do anything. When the 
wagon struck the tree, the concussion wrapped him around 
the tree, and his internal injuries resulted in death seven 
days after the accident. 

1878, January 20th, a child of Harvey I). Evans was killed 
instantly by a barrel of cider rolling from an elevated posi- 
tion, falling on his head. 

1878, July 20th, the little son of Mrs. Clarissa Evans, she 



ACCIDENTS. 325 

being the daughter of Rowland Hughes, was drowned while 
bathing in the creek. 

July 23d, same year, Benjamin Davis, a citizen of Gran- 
ville, who went to Newark to attend the Soldiers' Reunion 
of the day before, was found mangled and dead on the track 
of the B. & O. R. R. near the west end of the bridge at 
Newark. He was supposed to have been killed by a train, 
but no satisfactory explanation of the manner of killing is 
offered. 

1879, a little boy, the son of Evan D. Evans, received in- 
juries while coasting that resulted in death in a few days. 
His sled ran out of the track, throwing him with great vio- 
lence against a tree. 

On the evening of Wednesday, June 9th, 1880, William 
H. Sinnet, son of Hon. John Sinnet, was killed by a train 
on the Ohio Central R. R. The road was just being con- 
structed through the county. An excursion was planned to 
accommodate those who wished to go from Granville to at- 
tend a Sabbath School festival in the evening at Alexandria. 
There being no passenger cars on the road, the company 
went on platform cars, the construction train being used, part 
of the train being loaded with ties and other material. Just 
after the train had started on its return, the engine pushing 
the train, Mr. Sinnet was passing in the darkness from one 
car to another, when it is supposed he missed his footing 
and fell between the cars ; and the rest of the train, including 
the engine, passed over him. 



326 WAR OF THK RKBELIvION. 



CHAPTER XLIX. 



Beyond what has already appeared in the annals, little 
need be said concerning the part Granville took in the War of 
the Great Rebellion, except to give the register of soldiers she 
fnrnished. This mnst necessarily be imperfect, for no pains- 
taking could insure the insertion of every name. Granville's 
sons enlisted not only at home, in numbers beyond her quota, 
but wherever they were at the time. All branches of the ser- 
vice witnessed their faithful and efficient work, and many re- 
sponding to the call of their country went forth to battle and 
returned no more. Particularly West Virginia, Kentucky, 
Tennessee, and Mississippi were the theater of their exploits. 
They carried their country's banner through the hills, across 
the Ohio, under McClellan, to a speedy success. At Chicka- 
mauga, their first battle, some fell at the first fire of the enemy; 
some in instant death, and some to lie and languish on hospital 
cots in a hopeless wasting away. Deep and sorrowful was 
the thrill that chastened the village when the wires reported 
Pratt and Paige, the Roses, and others gone by the casualties 
of battle. P'rench and Green, and Bean and Whitford, and 
Jones and Gooding, and others died on other fields. Some 
languished in Andersonville and Libby prisons. Young 
lives went out in defense of homes, and the homes, though 
saved, were left shrouded in darkness. P'^ar away be the day 
when tliose names and those scars shall be forgotten, or the 
Nation undervalue the fearful price that was paid for its flag 
unrent. 

A million lives went out 
On the battle field. 
A blazing sun 
Shed relentless rays on the harvest yield 

Of sword and bayonet and gun. 
No flag to-day would the Nation know 
If these were not. 
And a million more, I trow, 



ROSTER. 327 

From hospital ward and surgeon's cot 
Together brought 

In their mortal anguish 
Out of the field but lately fought; 
With the wasting forms that slowly languish 

Out of the brake and fen, 
Or — of all war's casualties the worst — 
From the enemy's horrible prison pen, 
Of God and men 
Accurst! 
And there are soldiers' arms and legs 

And eyes — their flesh and bones! 
And each one begs 
In ever rolling plaintive tones 
That you may not fail to see the price 

Of the fair device 
And the refuge its folds proclaim. 
There, too, is the desolate hearth. 
Orphans' cries and widows' moans, 
Yearnings, heart pulsations, worth 
More than the tongue can name! 
Look at the countless, pallid host, 

The hopes that are crushed, 
Th» faces with bitter weeping flushed. 

The loved ones lost! 
Oh, lost! 
O, beautiful flag, red, white and blue, 
I see these all in thy stripes and stars. 
The lives and losses, maims and scars; 

'Tis true, 'tis true. 

Such is thy cost! 

ROSTER. 

Charles Griffin, Brevet Major General U. S. Regular; died 
at Galveston. Willard Warner. Major of Seventy-sixth O. V. 
I., Brigadier General, Staff of General Sherman. Hon. George 
B. Wright, Brigadier General, Quartermaster General State 
of Ohio. Hon. John Sinnet, Captain Cavalry, Provost Mar- 
shal Thirteenth District; deceased September 17th, 1871. 
Albert Root, telegraph operator; died at Lookout Mountain, 

THIRD REGIMENT O. V. I. ENLISTED APRIL, 1861. 

RICH MOUNTAIN, VIRGINIA; BRIDGEPORT, ALABAMA; PERRYSVILLE, STONE 

RIVER. 

Albert Asher, Co. H ; died September 4th, 1868. Charles 



328 ROSTER. 

B. Case, Co. B; died in army, July 17th, 1864. James 
McDonald. Albert W. Munson, Co. H ; died December 23, 
1873- 

TWELFTH REGIMENT, O. V. I. 

Charles Donahue; died 1866. 

SEVENTEENTH REGIMENT, O, V. J. 

FT. DONALDSON, SHILOH, CORINTH, VICKSBURG. 

Sylvanus Emery, Co. B;died. C. M. Goulding ; quarter- 
master. Plympton Hitt, Co. B. Lieut. H. C. Knoop, Co. B; 
Denison University; died from effects of wound, near Charles- 
ton, S. C. Lieut. Nelson Sinnet, Co. B. George T. Hughes, 
Co. H, quartermaster ; died, September 12th, 1872. Guilford 
Haslop, Corporal Co. B; killed, Chickamauga, September 20th, 
1863. J. P. Butler, Co. B; died August 4th, 1861. Wm. 
Wright, Sergeant Major Co. B; died January ist, 1878. 

NINETEENTH REGIMENT, O. V. I. 

Abraham Ikirt, Co. K; died March 25th, 1868, from wound 
at Pittsburg Landing. 

TWENTY-SECOND REGIMENT, O. V. I. ENLISTED SEPTEMBER, 1861. 

VT. DONALDSON, SHILOH, SIEGE OF CORINTH, VICKSBURG. 

Geo. W. Asher, First Lieutenant Co. D. Frank Carrier, 
Co. D. Leroy S. Dibble, Corporal Co. D. M. S. Dibble, 
Drummer Co. D. Geo, W. PLphland, Co. D ; died 1875. Dwight 
Follett, Co. D; died at St. Louis. Benj. B. Gardner, Co. D; 
died in service, July 29th, 1863. Matthew Lyon, Co. D; died 
in army August 4th, 1863. Hiram Partridge, Co. D. Wm. 
K. Potter, Co. D;died in service, November 12th, 1863, at 
Brownsville Station, Ark, Lucius Robertson, Co. D. Martin 
Slough, Co. D. W. W. Spelman, Co. D. Lieutenant E. E. 
Thomas, Co. D; died April i6th, 1878. Geo. B. Whiting, Co, 
D. P2dward Wolcott, Sergeant, Quartermaster; died February, 
1873. Edwin Wright, Corporal. 

TWENTY-FOURTH REGIMENT, O. V. I, 

Dr. \\. M. Howland, Surgeon, Captain, Co. I; Libby Prison, 
March to the Sea; died from effect of wound received from 
bursting shell. 

R. F. Craig, Co. F, Twenty-Sixth Regiment, O. V. L Mar- 
shall M. Wilcox, Co. H, Thirty-First Regiment, O. V. L ; died 
September 8th, 1875. H. A. Church, Co. K, Fifty-Second 
Regiment, O. V. L David G. Davis, Co. G, Sixty-Second 
Regiment, O. V, I, 



jROSTER. 329 

SEVENTY SIXTH REGIMENT, O. V. I. ENLISTED OCTOBER, 1 86 1. 

KT. DONALDSON, SHILOH, CORINTH, VICKSBURG. 

Samuel A. Asher, Co. B. William Baker, Co. B. Walter 
S. Barrick. George W. Bean, Co. K; killed at Arkansas Post. 
John F. Belt, Co. K ; Color Bearer at Shiloh. Jonathan Clif- 
ton. Co. K, veteran; died April 26th, 1864, Woodland Ala- 
bama. Lorin M. Cooley, Co, B; died in service 1861. 
Thomas J. Davis, Co. K. Joseph Ephland, Co. H; died March, 
1879. William Edwards; died at Shiloh, May 3d, 1862. Lewis 
Follett, Co. B. Norman Gregory, Co. K. George S. Green; 
killed at Mission Ridge. Caton Hili, Co. C; wounded; died 
March 22d, 1866. Ezra Hill, Co. K; died in service Novem- 
ber, 1863. Thomas Jarrett, Co. B. Allen Jarrett, Co. K; 
died in Cincinnati, June 6th, 1862. Daniel Jones, Co. K. 
John H. Jones, Co. K; died in service. Griffith H. Jones; 
died in service. Stephen Jones, Co. K; died April nth, 1862, 
from effects of exposure at battle of Ft. Donaldson. Joseph 
Kelvey. Thomas H. Mead. I. J. Metzger, Captain Co. B; 
wounded in elbow. Newton Minton ; died in army. James 
Matthews, Co. B. Benjamin S. Marshall, Co. K. Cyrus W. 
Morey, Co. K. G. Adolphus Munson, Co. C; died in service 
March 23d, 1863. Lawrence Murry, Co. K. Frank Munson, 
Co. K; d^ed in service May 30th, 1862. Harvey Northrup, 
Co. K. Wesley Niberger, Co. K. William Roberts. Co. B. 
Z. T. Ramey, Co. C. Lucian C. Rose, Sergeant Co. K ; died. 
William H. Rose, Co. H. Timothy Rose, Co. B. Marcus 
Root, Co. B. William Seadars, Co. H. David Seadars, Co. 
H. Hiram Webb, Co. B. Louis S. Talbot, Co. C, Lyman 
Turner; died 1862. David Whitford ; died at Monterey, May 
i6th, 1862; "John Woods, Co. K; died 1868. Wallace Warden, 
Co. K. John B. Woods. Co, K, musician; died. W, S. 
Wright, Lieutenant; died June, 1878. H. D. Wright, Quarter- 
master. Theodore T. Wright, Co, H. 

SEVENTY EIGHTH REGIMENT O, V, I. 

Eli Butler, Co. I; died in service March 25th, 1862. Oscar 
Cole, Co. L Samuel DeWolf, Second Lieutenant, Co. I; died 
January 15th, 1864. Henry Hampshire, Co. I; died in service 
May, 1863. Jacob Hollinger, Co. I; died in service April 12th, 
1862. Charles Spelman, Co. I; died. John A. Weston, 
Corporal. 

EIGHTY EIGHTH REGIMENT O. N. G. 

Thomas Davis, Co. E. D. H. Evans, Co. E. C. P. Grims- 
31 



330 ROSTER. 

ley, Sergeant, Co, E. Benjamin W. Hill, Co. E; died August 
26th, 1865. Hon. Henry Howe, Lieutenant, Co. E. R. A. 
Lloyd, Co. E. Nicholas Pond, Co. E. John W. Starr, Co. E, 
John A. Williams, Co. E; died. 

Dr. Edwin Sinnett, Major, Surgeon, Ninety-fourth Regi- 
ment O. V, L Aurelius Peters, Color Bearer, Ninety-.sixth 
Regiment O. V. L James M, Boyles, Co. E, One Hundred 
and Tenth Regiment O. V. L 

ONE HUNDRED AND THIRTEENTH REGIMENT, U. V. I. 
ENLISTED SEPTEMBER, 1862. 

CiiiCKAMAUGA. Was particularly exposed. Company D 
went into battle with forty-seven, and came out with eleven 
killed, prisoners, or detailed to special duty. 

W. H. H. Avery, Co. D. Leroy S. Bancroft, Co. D. Ciiarks 
F. Carrier, Co. D; died. Henry C. Case, Co. D. L. H. Clousc, 
Co. D. Andrew J. Chambers, Co. D. E. J, Cressy, Sergeant 
Co. D; Captain Colored United States Troops. Nelson Dur-^nt, 
Lieutenant Co. E; lost an arm; Captain Co. L E. A. Imio, 
First Lieutenant Co. D ; resigned January 3 i, 1863. Lsaac P^vans, 
Corporal Co. D. Thomas J. Evans, Co. U. John K. Evans, 
Co. D. George W. Flaharda, Co. D. Rodney Elafiarda, Co 
D. Shephard F'ulton, Co. D. George Gardner, Co. D D^vid 
Giddings, Co. I; died December, 1873. C. W. Gooding, 
Sergeant Co. D; killed at Chickamauga, September 20th, 1863. 
Moses Goodrich, Sergeant Co. D. G. A. Graves, Co. D. ChJirles 

C. Hays, Co. D. Heman Hobart, Co. D. Burton Huson, 
Corporal Co. D. Thomas A. Jones, Co. D. Albert Knceland, 
Co. D. H. G. Kneeland, Co. D. Thomas H. McBridc. Co. 

D. Charles Marshall, Co. D. Madison C. Messenger. Isaac 
S. Minton, Co. D; missing; supposed to have been killed at 
Chickamauga. William Minton, Co. D; died at VVatrace. 
Matthias Montonye, Co. D; obtained substitute. Hon. M. M. 
Munson, Captain Co. D; resigned January 2 1st, 1863. G. F. 
Nelson, Co. D; Quartermaster in United States Colored. W. 

B. Newbury, Co. D. James Partridge, Sergeant Co. D. Henry 

C. Paige, Co. D. Hiram Paige; killed at Chickamauga. 
Charles D. Parker. James S. Ports, Sergeant Co. D. William 
Ports, Co. D. A.J. Powell, Co. D; Lieutenant United States 
colored. Lyman B. Pratt, Corporal Co. D; killed at Cliicka 
mauga, September 20th, 1863, at first fire of the enemy. 



ROSTER. 331 

Samuel Richards, Co. D; died in service, June 2d, 1864. 
Albert Rose, Co. D; died at Nashville, March 3d. 1863. 
Daniel Rose, Corporal Co. D; killed at Chickamauga, Septem- 
ber 20th, 1863. Oilman Rose, Co. D. Lucien Rose, Co. D. 
Samuel L. Rose, Sergeant Co. D; wounded at Chickamauga, 
died October 1st, 1863. Warren C. Rose, Corporal Co. D. E. 
W. Showman. Co. D; lost an arm. Charles Sinnet, Second 
Lieutenant Co. D; Captain in Pioneer Company. W. H.Starr, 
Co. D. Elias Thomas, Corporal Co. D. John Wamsley, Co. 
D; also in Seventy-sixth Regiment; died April 7th, 1878. S. 
H. Wilcox, Co. D. W. F. Williams, Co. U. G. A. Wilson, 
Co. D. Theodore Worden, Co. D. 

ONE HUNDRED AND THIRTY-FIFTH REGIMENT, O. N. G. 

John Davis, Co. B; Andcrsonville; reduced to a mere skele- 
ton; died at home, January ist, 1865. D. W. Jones, Co. C. 
Nicholas H. Pond. Martin L. Root, Co. D. ¥.. Scott, Co. C. 
Theodore T. Wright, Co. C. Henry Dibble, Co. D. 

COMPANY F. — U. S. V. V. ENGINEERS. 

Isaac N. DeBow; Israel DeWolf; Hiram Lefevre; Adam 
Ports; Lucius Smith; J. W. Schwab; Arthur Thompson ; Charles 
Williams, died November 25th, 1873; Horace M. Wolcott. 

UNITED STATluS COEORED TROOPS. 
Job Paige. 

FIRST OHIO VOLUNTEER CAVAERY. 

Daniel Shobbel, Co. K; killed at Lovejoy Station, Alabama, 
1864. 

E. T. W. Green, Co. ¥., Tenth Ohio Volunteer Cavalry. 

Rev. T. J. Shephard ; Orderly Seri^eant and Chaplain. Josiah 
French; enlisted in Illinois; killed at Kenesaw Mountain, June 
27th, 1864. William Sinnet, Camp Chase; died. Reese H. 
Turner. Captain Turner. Cavalryman; burrowed out of An- 
dcrsonville; died July 17th, 1864 E. B. Andrews, President 
Denison University, Artilleryman. Homer Minton, Second 
Ohio Heavy Artillery. Milton Hough, Second Ohio Heavy 
Artillery. John V. Morrison, Lieutenant Co. C, One Hundred 
and Seventy-eighth Ohio Volunteer Infantry ; Sergeant Quarter- 
master; died December 9th, 1868 Orris Dibble, One Hun- 
dred and Fourth Illinois; died. Evan Davis; last heard from 
at battle of Nashville, 1864 Thomas P>ans, Jo.seph W. 
Sinnet; enlisted in Illinois, 



332 FIRES. 

CHAPTER L. 

OLLA PODRIDA. 

I. Fires. 

About 1815, the frame part of Major Grove Case's house 
took fire and was consumed. This has been described as the 
first frame house built within the limits of the village. It 
was erected by Esquire Spelman in 1807. The fire caught 
from the chimney, and was not discovered until the family 
had retired for the night. A large quantity of tallow in the 
pantry near the chimney was melting and just ready to burn. 
The water thrown to extinguish the fire scattered the tallow 
and flames, and the family barely escaped from that part of 
the building. Help arriving, the front part of the house, 
which was brick, was saved. 

About 1834, a small fire engine was purchased by the cit- 
izens, a fire company was formed, uniformed and drilled 
under a young Griffith, nephew of A. P. Prichard, from 
Philadelphia. A supply of leather buckets for carrying water 
was procured. But fires were scarce, the machinery got out 
of order and the enthusiasm of drill died away. The whole 
outfit was suffered to go into decay. 

In April, 1857, the shop occupied by B. B. Loar, in the rear 
of the Methodist Church, was burned. 

March, i860, the two story frame house on the old college 
farm, used in college times for recitations, was burned. 

November 6th, i860, the dwelling of Samuel Moore on 
upper Loudon was consumed. 

June 2d, 1866, the dwelling of Mr. D. C. C. Wright, just 
south of the square (formerly Sereno Wright's), was totally 
destroyed. 

November 13th, 1872, just before midnight, the house 
belonging to L. Bushnell, occupied by Mrs. Root, caught 
fire, as is supposed, from the emptying of a tobacco pipe into 



FIRES. 333 

the woodhouse after taking a smoke. Twelve hundred dol- 
lars' damages were allowed by the underwriters. 

February 22d, 1873, the frame dwelling of Mrs. Bonnet 
(formerly Prof. Carter's) on Columbus road was totally de- 
stroyed by fire. 

About this time Mr. Williams' barn, on the Welsh Hills, 

was burned. 

The dwelling of Mr. Parsons on Centerville Street was 
burned to the ground. 

A fire at the County Infirmary occasioned the death of sev- 
eral inmates, among whom were two citizens of Granville, 
both insane, Erixena Phelps and a son of Mr. Anthony 

Carroll. 

November 7th, 1875, the dwelling owned by B. R. Ban- 
croft on Liberty Street, occupied by Rev. Charles Rhoades, 
was discovered to be on fire at ten o'clock Sunday morning, 
supposed from a defective flue. It was entirely consumed. 

April 2d, 1875, the burning of the old Court House in 
Newark, added largely to the burden of tax-paying citizens, 
which was not relieved at all when the new and elegant 
structure erected in its place was greatly damaged by a sec- 
ond fire, requiring very heavy repairs. 

February 8th, 1877, the house of Mrs. Schultz in the north- 
west corner of town, took fire from a defective flue. Damage 
about $50. 

February 23d, 1877, the dwelling owned by Sidney Fowle, 
southwest of town, was entirely consumed by fire. 

March 25th, 1877, Sunday morning, Thomas McDonald's 
dwelling, in the east part of town, took fire on the roof. The 
loss was made good by the citizens. 

May i6th, 1877, the dwelling owned by Mrs. Knowles Lin- 
nel, on Bowery Street, caught fire from defective flue. 

Saturday, ten o'clock a. m., July 14th, 1877, the dwelling 
of Wm. Lyon, on Equality Street, was burned, together with 
. some household goods. 

June 7th, 1877, five o'clock p. m., a slight fire,cause unknown. 



334 FIRES. 

occurred in the dwelling of Sylvester Clark, on Granger 
Street. 

Sunday, August nth, 1877, three o'clock p. m., the barn of 
Jonathan Jones, on Columbus road, was burned, with hay 
and a cow ; supposed to be spontaneous combustion. 

September 30th, 1877, soon after midnight, a house be- 
longing to Mrs. Minerva Thomas, on Green Street, unoccu- 
pied, was found to be on fire. Loss slight. 

October 19th, 1877, the same house was found to be burn- 
ing about four o'clock A. m. This time it was consumed, but 
the loss was covered by insurance. 

December 30th, 1877, Sunday, four o'clock p. m., a barn on 
the old college farm, belonging to E. S. Franklin, was burned. 

March 22d, 1878, three o'clock p. m., the roofs of two adjoin- 
ing houses in the west end of town, were found to be on fire ; 
damage slight. 

April 17th, 1878, the dwelling of M. M. Miinson, Esq., on 
Centerville, was found to be on fire in the hatchway leading 
to the cellar, and was in great danger of being consumed. 
It started through the thoughtlessness of a little son of his, 
who was imitating the process of kindling a fire which had 
interested him. 

June 14th, 1878, three o'clock A. m,, an unoccupied house 
near the north end of Granger Street, belonging to Mr. Hess, 
was burned to the ground. 

February i6th, 1879, the house of T. J. Thomas, half a mile 
northeast of town, was found to be on fire in the early morn- 
ing, and was totally consumed. Loss covered by insurance ; 
origin unknown. 

March 20th 1879, there was a slight fire on the roof of the 
house at the southwest corner of Broad and Liberty Streets, 
formerly Dr. Paul Eager's. 

April ist, 1879, another slight fire on the roof of B. P>. 
Loar's dwelling, on Morning Street. 

July 20th, 1879, early Sunday morning, a wheat stack 
belonging to Mr. T. J. Thomas and Mr. Hess, was consumed 
by fire. 



HOTELS. 335 

July 29th, 1879, at a late hour, the barn of Mrs. Minerva 
Thomas was struck by lightning and consumed with its 
contents. 

II. Hotels. 

In the early times, almost any pioneer would incommode 
himself and family for the purpose of accommodating a 
traveler, most of that class being men looking for new homes. 

About the first systematic effort to accommodate the trav- 
eling public was by Wm. Gavit, Esq., while living still in 
his cabin. His stable was only a hitching j^ole with feeding 
troughs. 

The next was by Judge Rose when he built his two-story 
frame house in 1808. It continued to be a public house for 
a number of years. Benjamin Cook, Esq., succeeded him 
as a host. 

The third tavern was kept by Major Grove Case at the 
northeast corner of Broad and Green Streets. This was as 
early as 181 2, and it continued a tavern stand for years. 

The fourth stand was on the south side of Broad Street, 
in the east part of town, where Mr. Buxton is now located. 
The house was put up by Orrin Granger, about 1812, who 
was the landlord for some time. In 1818, after the death of 
Mr. Granger, Colonel Alpheus Jewett had charge of it. A 
year or two later, Messrs. Abbott & Wing were the propri- 
etors. In 1827, it was in the hands of C. C. Rose. 

The fifth was the frame hotel on the south side of Broad, 
where the business blocks now are. It was first occupied by 
Ralph Granger, and afterward by Charles French. 

The sixth was the brick building on the northeast corner 
of Broad and Prospect Streets, built by George Case and 
finished by Wing & Granger. William Wing was the first 
proprietor, followed by R. Granger. Then for a time it was 
the private residence of Elias Fassett. Samuel Boardman 
re-opened the hotel about 1834. He was followed by Julius 
Coleman, in 1837, and he by Silas Bush in 1840. 



336 POSTMASTERS. 

III. Postmasters. 

1. Hon. Timothy Rose .... l8o6. 

2. Hon. William Gavit 1807. 

3. Daniel Baker, Esq. .... 1S14. 

4. Sereno Wright 1818. 

5. George W. Ells, Esq 1837. 

6. A. P. Wightman 1841. 

7. A. P. Prichard 1842. 

8. G. B. Johnson 1849. 

9. Hon. A. E. Rogers .... 1853. 

10. George Tight ...... 1854. 

11. Darwin M. Humphrey .... 1855. 

12. John Beck i860. 

13. Howard Howe ..... 1861. 

14. George B. Whiting 1866. 

15. Dr. W. H. Sedgwick .... 1S76. 

IV. Golden Weddings. 

Of these, only four have been celebrated within the town- 
ship. 

The first to be observed was that of Deacon G. P. Bancroft, 
and his wife, Jane Little Bancroft. They were married at 
Lewis Lake, Pennsylvania, Thursday, January 27th, 1814. 
A few friends gathered with them to observe the golden 
wedding in 1864. More prominent was the pearl wedding 
of 1874 ) ^"*^^ ^^'^^^ more so the sixty-sixth anniversary in 
1880, when about fifty friends of long standing assembled to 
surprise them and rejoice with them. They met at the old 
homestead on Equality Street, from which their children had 
gone forth to mingle in the world throngs, all but one of 
them having preceded them to the spirit land, and that one 
too far away to join in the festivities. Mr. Bancroft was at 
the time eighty-eight years of age, and his bride was eighty- 
six. A brother of the groom and a sister of the bride were 
present who were at the wedding sixty-six years ago ; in the 
company were twenty who were over seventy. Mr. 
Bancroft's step is still as elastic as a boy's, he is quick of 



GOLDEN WEDDINGS. '^37 

speech, and still files a saw as well as any man, and both of 
them are as regularly at church by day as most of the 
younger families. 

May 2ist, 1871, Rowland Hughes and his wife Gertrude 
celebrated their golden wedding, gathering around them a 
large band of children and grand-children for the festivities 
of the occasion. They were married in Wales, and there 
their first child was born, now the wife of Rev. William C. 
Shephard, of Granville. 

On Wednesday, the 21st of February, 1872, Mr. Ashley A. 
Bancroft and Mrs. Lucy D. Howe Bancroft celebrated their 
golden wedding in San Francisco, Cal., at the home of their 
son, H. H. Bancroft. Remarks were made by several clergy- 
men, and a paper was read by the son just named. " All of 
the family had not been together before for more than twenty 

years." 

On Thursday, the 27th of March, 1873, Mr. Henry h. 
Bancroft and Mrs. Almena Rose Bancroft celebrated their 
golden wedding, many friends having responded to their invi- 
tation to participate with them in their family rejoicings. 
There were present with them six who were present at the 
wedding of 1823. The only son. Barber R. Bancroft, was 
living in California; the oldest daughter, Mrs. Harriet A. 
Kerr, had deceased in 1867; Miss Amelia, the youngest 
daughter, was present ; as also the children of Mrs. Kerr. 
Remarks were made by the pastor. Rev. A. S. Dudley, the 
principal of the Female College, Rev. Geo. H. Webster, and 
by M. M. Munson, Esq. A copy of the newspaper. The 
Wanderer, published the morning after the marriage, and 
containing a notice of it, was shown to the company. 

The next golden wedding was that of Mr. Wm. Cramer, 
Tuesday, December nth, 1877. A large company of relatives 
and friends assembled at his residence and enjoyed with them 
a turkey dinner and the reminiscences of the past. Two 
children are yet living and four are dead. Eight grand-chil- 
dren are living and one is dead. The living descendants, 



338 students' freaks. 

with a sister and a brother and his wife, were present on the 
occasion. The latter three were present at the wedding in 

1827. 

The golden wedding of Grove Case and wife was observed 
by their friends in a surprise visit. 

Harvey Bragg and wife completed the golden cycle, but 
made no observance of the day. 

Prosper Rose, Jnstin Hillyer and Trnman Hillyer, with 
their wives, observed like occasions in their several homes 
away from Granville, all being in the colony in their younger 
years. 

Theophilus Little and wife celebrated their golden wedding 
March 29th, 1875, while living in Granville. 

V. Students' Freaks. 

Among the amusing things that occasionally invite the 
attention of the people of Granville, yet have no particular 
place in its chronicles, are the mock funeral parades of the 
University students on the occasion of finishing some text 
book of the curriculum. There is implied a quiet rejoicing 
at having completed an irksome task and a hope that they 
will no more come in contact with it. The general features 
of the occasion are the night parades ; the text book conspic- 
uously borne in the habiliments of the grave ; the burial (or 
cremation) with orations, and the return of the mock mourn- 
ers to their lodgings. The details are varied to suit the 
whims of the classes. The perfection of the performance in 
their eyes would seem to be a slow and stately moving pro- 
cession at the dead of night, keeping step to the beat of a 
muffled drum that strikes its solemn sound about every fourth 
or sixth step, each participant being enveloped in a sheet 
from top to toe and wearing a very tall paper cap on the 
head, each bearing also a flaming torch ; at the head of the 
procession being perhaps an illuminated coffin or other 
device, bearing the defunct text book. The citizen aroused 
from a quiet slumber in the still hours of the night, by the 



OUR CEMETERIES. 339 

regular, slow beating of the drum, growing ominously louder 
as it comes nearer, looking out upon sucli a procession of 
ghostly beings, moving mechanically through the midnight 
darkness, can imagine nothing more weird. Much is often 
detracted from the effect by an accompanying crowd of 
boisterous gamins, throwing the procession into disorder. 

Aside from the sacredness of that which is travestied by 
this procedure, there is not so much in it that is objectionable 
as in another irregular demonstration which sometimes seeks 
the public eye on commencement occasions in the form of a 
pasquinade. Could the perpetrators of this last see how the 
public abhor the indelicacy and profanity of these produc- 
tions ; how aimless their lampoons seem to be, and how, 
withal, they fail of producing any effect on the estimation 
with which their teachers are regarded, they would take less 
pains to make themselves offensive to the community. 

In this connection it is proper to say that the citizens hold 
themselves greatly indebted to the faculties and students of 
the University, the Female College, and the Young Ladies' 
Institute for the pleasure afforded by their courses of literary 
and scientific lectures, society exhibitions, and musical enter- 
tainments so often offered for patronage, or freely given for 
their enjoyment. 

VI. Our Cemeteries. 

1. The Colony Burial Ground was laid out at the first, 
and began to be used the second year of the settlement. It 
was rapidly filled, not because of mortality in the colony, but 
because it was used by a large scope of country, and families 
who had removed from the place long continued to bring 
back their dead that their ashes might rest with the remains 
of others who had gone before. Though other cemeteries 
are opened, these grounds still continue to be used. 

2. The Welsh Hills Cemetery. The location has already 
been described. It is well kept, has many fine monuments 
of expensive style and material, and is justly the pride of 
our Welsh fellow-citizens. [P. 177.] 



340 



EARLIEST BORN. 



3. The Philipps Cemetery. This is located near the north- 
east corner of the township. The land was given by Mr. 
Samnel J. Philipps, and the first bnrial was the child of Mr. 
Simon James. The culture and appointments of this cem- 
etery are not quite so imposing as the others. 

4. The College Cemetery lies in the northwest corner of 
the corporation. It is small, and designed as a burial place 
for those who die while connected with the University. Here 
lie the remains of three Presidents — Pratt, Going and Tal- 
bot ; one Professor, John Stevens ; three students who died 
while here, and several younger members of families con- 
nected with the College. 

5. Maple Grove Cemetery. A plat of it is seen in the 
map of the town. It is beautifully laid out and kept. 
Hither have been removed the remains of many previously 
buried elsewhere. Many imposing and costly monuments 
dot the ground. A fund is accumulating which provides for 
suitable care of the grounds in perpetuo. 

VII. Soldiers of the Regular Army. 
J. A. Carter, Franklin Scott, Scott Zelhart, W. L. Hayes, 
William Rogers, H. A. Church, Charles Griffin, John Kidd. 



VIII. Mexican War. 

J. A. Carter, Thomas Efland, Dick Ward, Levi Hill, Rich- 
ard George, James Matthews. 

IX. The earliest born of those who have made a home 
in Granville township, are probably as follows : 



1. Mrs. Love Baker, 

2. Mrs. Abigail Sweatman, 
f James Sinnet, 

^' \ Nathan AUyn, 
4. Jesse Munson, 

f Samuel Everit, Sr., 
5" \ Mrs. M. Everit, 

6. Theophilus Rees, 

7. Mrs. Miriam Munson, 

8. Mrs. Susanna Graves, 



born 1734; died 1815; aged 81. 



' 1738; " 


1809; ' 


' 71- 


'} '74o{ !! 


1810; ' 
1814; ' 


' 70. 

' 74- 


' 1741; " 


1813; 


' 72. 


!|i742; " 


1812; ' 


' 70. 


' 1744; " 


1814; ' 


' 70. 


' 1746; " 


1830; ' 


' 84. 


' 1747; " 


1838; « 


' 91. 



THE F. F. G'S. 341 



CHAPTER LI. 



The following is thought to be a complete roll of the 
descendants of the first settlers now living in Granville. 
[1880.] 

HON. TIMOTHY ROSE. 

Deacon T. M. Rose, son, Frank Rose, great-grandson; Miss 
Amelia Bancroft, grand-daughter ; Misses Rosa and Abby Kerr, 
great-granddaughters; Joseph Kerr, great-grand-son; Mrs. 
Samantha Hadley and Miss Lydia Rose, granddaughters; Mrs. 
Helen Ewing and Mrs. Julia James, great-grand-daughters; and 
infant daughter of the latter; Mrs. Samantha Stedman Wright, 
grand-daughter; Mr. Edgar Wright and wife, great-grand-son 
and daughter. 

MR. ETHAN BANCROFT. 

Mr. L. Edwin Bancroft, son; Mrs. Elizabeth Reed, grand- 
daughter, and Mr. Edwin Reed, great-grand-son ; Mrs. Lucy 
Vance, grand-daughter, and Diary, Anna, Ruth, and Alice, 
great-grand-daughters; Mrs. Mary Rose, granddaughter, and 
infant child, great grand-son, (also of Deacon Lemuel Rose); 
Mrs. Martha Moore, grand-daughter, and Edwin and Willis, 
great-grand-sons, and Carrie and Hannah, great-grand-daughters; 
Mrs. Julia Wolcott, grand-daughter, and two children, great- 
grand-sons, (also of Deacon Silas Winchel). 

DEACON SILAS WINCHEL. 

Mr. Horace Wolcott, grand-son, and two children, great- 
grand-sons, (also of Mr. Ethan Bancroft). 

CAPTAIN LEVI ROSE. 

Deacon William Rose, son ; Mrs. Thorne, grand-daughter, 
and Frank and John Thorne, great-grandsons, and Mary and 
Jennie, great-grand-daughters; Burton Case, grand-son, and 
one child, great-grand-son. 

DEACON LEMUEL ROSE. 

Luther Rose, grand-son; and three sons, great-grandsons; 
Christopher R. Stark, grand-son, three sons, great-grand-sons; 
Reuben Linnell, grand-son, (also of Joseph Linnell) ; Albert 
Linnell, great-grand-son, and Miss Laura Linnell, great-grand- 
daughter. 



342 THE F. F. g's. 

MR. JOli CASK. 

Mrs. Krastus AUyn, daughter, Mrs. Jenkyn Edwards, daugh- 
ter; sons of William Case, grand-sons. 

DEACON SAMUEL EVERIT. 

Samuel Everett, grand-son, 'and children, great grand-children. 

TIMOTHY SPELMAN, ESQ. 

Gilman Granger, grand-son; Ralph Granger, grand-son, 
Katie Granger, great-grand-daughter, Erank Granger, great- 
grand son, and two children, great-great-grand-children; Miss 
Maria Spelman, grand daughter; George, Winnie, Alma and 
Clarence, children of William, grand-children of George, great- 
grand children of Thomas, and great-great-grand-children of 
Timothy; Miss Annie Spelman, great-granddaughter, (also 
great-grand-daughter of Gideon Cornell). 

MR. ARAUNA CLARK. 

Sylvester Clark, son ; Nora and Rosilla Clark, grand-daugh- 
ters, Sylvester Clark, grand-son; Mrs. J. Debow, grand-daughter, 
and four children, great-grand-children; Mrs. M. Ackley, 
daughter; Henry Ackley, grand-son, and one child, great-grand- 
child; Jerry and Willie Ackley, great-grand-sons; Mrs. A. 
Hayes, grand-daughter, and two children, great-grand-children. 

Mrs. L. B. Munson, grand daughter, George and Guy Mun- 
son, great-grand-sons. Flora Munson, grand-daughter; Mrs. 
Twining, daughter, and Gracie Twining, granddaughter. 

MR. DAVIU MESSENGER, 

Joseph, John, and George, (children of Campbell Messenger) 
grand-sons, Alice and Frank, grand-daughter and son ; Mrs. H. 
Clemons, grand-daughter. Will Clemons, great-grand-son, 
Lottie and Addie Clemons, great-grand-daughters. 

MR. SYLVANUS MITCHELL. 

William Mitchell, grand-son, (also of Mr. Harris). 

MR. EZEKIEL WELLS. 

Independence Wells, son; Mrs. Almira Duckworth, daugh- 
ter, and Stella, grand-daughter; Mrs. Emily Eggleston, 
daughter, and three children, Byron, Fred and Mary, grand- 
children. 

MR GIDEON CORNELL. 

Miss Annie Spelman, grand-daughter, (also great-grand- 
daughter of T. Spelman, Esq.). 



THE F. F. g'S. 343 

MR. JOSEPH LINNELL. 

Reuben Linnell, grand-son, (also of Deacon Lemuel Rose), 
Albert Linnell, great-grand-son, Miss Laura Linnell, great- 
grand-daughter; William Mitchell, great grand-son. 

HON. WILLIAM GAVIT. 

George Bragg, grand-son. 

LIEUT. JESSE MUNSON. 

L. B. Munson, grand-son, George and Guy Munson, great- 
grand sons, and Flora Munson, great grand-daughter, (also of 
Arauna Clark); Hon. M. M. Munson, grandson, Mrs. C. W. 
Bryant, great-granddaughter, and two children, great-great- 
grand-children; Misses Mary, Rose, Nora, and Grace Munson, 
great-grand-daughters, and Stanley and Morton, great-grand- 
sons; Mrs. Mary Thresher, great-grand-daughter. (See also all 
the descendants of Judge Rose and of Justin Hillyer, Sr.) 
Mrs. Mary Hayes, grand-daughter, and Miss Emma Jewett, 
great grand-daughter. 

MR. J. SINNET. 

Dr. Edwin Sinnet, grand-son, Miss Clara Sinnet, great-grand- 
daughter; (also of Justin Hillyer.) 

SPENCER WRIGHT, ESQ. 

Mr. Theodore T. Wright, grand-son, and his children, Virgil 
C, Martha A., William E., Frank E., and Walter B., great- 
grand-children; Mrs. Sarah Sinnet, granddaughter, Clara Sin- 
net, great-grand-daughter, (also of J. Sinnet and Justin Hillyer). 

DANIEL BAKER, ESQ. 

Col. Daniel Baker, son, Theodore Baker, grand-son. 

MR. JUSTIN HILLYER, SR. 

Mr. Theodore T. Wright, grand-son, (also of S. Wright, Esq, 
and of Lieut. J. Munson), and children, great-grand-children; 
Mrs. Dr. E. Sinnet, grand-daughter, and Miss Clara Sinnet, 
great-grand daughter, 

ELIAS OILMAN, ESQ. 

Miss Maria Spelman, grand-daughter, (also of T, Spelman, 

Esq.). 

Mr. Christopher Avery, son of George Avery, Jr., still lives 
in St, Albans township, just adjoining Granville, and has a 
large family of children, who are great-grand-children of 
George Avery, the emigrant. 



344 THE K. F, G'S. 

Of ninety-three of the original company it is not known 
that they have any lineal descendants now in the township. 
Strangers have entered into their inheritance. 

In Miss Clara Sinnet meet the families of Jesse Mnnson, 
Sr., Justin Hillyer, Sr., Spencer Wright, Esq., and James 
Sinnet ; also of Joseph Blanchard, who came later. 

In L. B. Mnnson's children meet the families of Jesse 
Mnnson, Sr., Seth Mead and Araunah Clark. 

In Horace Wolcott's children are represented the families 
of Deacon S. Winchel, Horace Wolcott, and Ethan Bancroft. 

In Luther Rose's youngest child are represented Deacon 
Lemuel Rose, Samuel Chadwick, and Ethan Bancroft. 

In Miss Maria Spelman meet the blood of Timothy Spel- 
man, Esq., and of E. Oilman, Esq., and in Miss Annie 
Spelman, that of Timothy Spelman, Esq., and Oideon 
Cornell. 

Notably the names Thrall, Cooley, Phelps, Holcomb, 
Kelley, Oriffin, Oavit, Oraves, Hillyer, Butler, Root, Carpen- 
ter, Oilman, once prominent, have glided from our annals, 
together with many of later accession who were prominent 
at a later day ; Thurston, Baldwin, Richards, Mower, Taylor, 
Weeks, Fasset, Cook, Adams, Starr, Boardman, Prichard, 
Sturges, Kilbourne, Mead, Chadwick. 

Some of these families may be represented by blood de- 
scent where the name has disappeared, as Oavit, Hillyer, 
Cooley, Mead, Chadwick, Cook, Boardman, Weeks ; and in 
some cases the old family name is here without the blood 
relation, as of Abbott, Hayes, Allyn. 

Many of the first families either took their claims in the 
Company's land, in other townships, or at an early day dis- 
posed of their interests and went to other regions. Such 
were, Coe, Pomroy, Slocum, Wadsworth, Dayton, Lewis, 
Rowley, Smith, Sill, Johnson, Reynolds, Roe, Buttles, 
Waters, Taylor, Willcox, Oodard, Rice, Cheney, Kendall, 
Miller, Dean, Ashmun, Noble, Street, Buttolph, Reed, Hos- 
kin, Day, Jones, Forbes, Seymour, Cornell, Spragg. 



THE F. F, G.'S. 345 

Residents at this time who bear any of these names are of 
other families, and not descendants of the original settlers. 

Here, according to the original plan, our History would 
have ended. But Mr. Bryant's death before he had put the 
results of his labor into form, has so far postponed the ap- 
pearance of the work that it is thought best to bring the 
record down to the present time. 

The interim of nine years has witnessed important changes 
in our public buildings, churches, schools, industries, citizens, 
etc., the most prominent of which will now be noticed. 



32 



346 ADDITIONAL RECORD. 



ADDITIONAL RECORD, 

Bringing the History down to 1889, by noting prominent 
changes and events. 

I. Roads. 

The people of Granville Township have always been noted 
for their care of their roads. But in one particular they were 
not, at the first, thoughtful. The first surveyors laid out the 
roads on the straight equidistant lines of survey, and if their 
lines ran over hills the roads were also made so to run, unless a 
hill was really impassable, or a stream would necessitate ex- 
pensive bridges. Not until recently were the thoroughfares 
allowed to seek for themselves a level, winding course, avoid- 
ing the tedious climbing and descending of hill after hill, 
wearing the horses and consuming the traveler's time and 
patience. Some instances of improvement have been already 
noticed. A way to Newark has been opened which avoids 
the interlying hills without increasing the distance. It runs 
from the road that once led from Centerville to Munson's 
Mill, across the Judge Rose farm and crosses Raccoon by 
the old aquaduct and, a little beyond this, enters the Cherry 
Valley road to Newark. 

The ascent of the Columbus road, as it comes into town, is 
made more gradual and easy by taking the next street east 
for its entrance ; and that to the College is, for like purpose, 
made to wind up the hill-side, beginning from Main Street, 
at the site of the old brick academy, making the rise with 
comparative ease. 

The hill just by the old cemetery has been so cut away 
for the Lancaster road, or Main Street, as to form but one 
easy grade from the square to the depot, on the low lands. 

Another vast improvement is the bringing of Burgh Street 
across the farms into North Street, on the Mt. Vernon road, 



ADDITIONAL RECORD. 347 

north of the hills near town, thus avoiding the tedium and 
delay of the up and down grades of three serious hills. The 
new road, as one goes north, leaves the Mt. Vernon road on 
the line between the Goodrich and the Capt. Rose farms, and 
winding along the valley to the northwest, it enters the old 
Burgh Street at the north base of the Hobart Hill. After 
tramping over those hills for seventy-five years, those inter- 
ested have opened this new road at an expense of $1800, and 
the labor of constructing it. 

The cutting down of Main Street has also led to an im- 
provement in the old cemetery. The side bordering on Main 
Street has been escarped and sodded back as far as the Lucius 
D. Mower monument. A solid stone wall laid in mortar has 
been built at the base. This improvement necessitated the 
removal of two rows of graves along the west side of the 
cemetery, the remains within the graves being removed to 
other locations by surviving friends or by an authorized 
committee. 

Among these graves was that of Mrs. " Lilly Jones," whose 
death has been recorded as the first within the township. 
Her monument was reset a few feet from where it had previ- 
ously stood. 

IL Additions to the Town. 

Three several additions have been made to the town. 

One made by Rev. William Whitney lies south of Sugar 
Loaf. It is made accessible by the extension of Maple Street 
to the west. 

Mr. Lucian B. Munson has opened a street from the 
Lancaster road to the new Columbus road, parallel to the 
other east and west streets, and making two tiers of lots like 
the others in the plat. 

The Jones' addition lies east of town, and is approached 
by an extension of Bowery Street to the east, with a short 
street crossing it north and south. 



348 ADDITIONAL RKCORD. 

III. Rkn AMINO OF Streets. 

Most of the streets of the village have been renamed, but 
as the old names are used on the plat as given herewith, 
and used throughout the body of the work, and moreover are 
as yet more familiar to all readers, it is deemed best to leave 
them as already written, only noting the changes, as follows : 

Market Street is now Summit Street. 



Water " 






" 


W. College 


" 


Bowery " 






" 


E. College 




Fair '• 






" 


West Elm 


" 


Ecjuality " 






" 


East Elm 


" 


Maple " 






" 


West Maple " 


Mourning " 






" 


East Maple 


" 


Stone and Evening 


Streets 


togethei 


constitute 


Plum Street. 


Case and Cherry 


" 




" 


" 


Cherry " 


Mulberry and Rose 


" 




" 


" 


Mulberry " 


Liberty and Prospect 


" 




" 


'• 


Prospect " 


Pearl and Green 


" 




" 


" 


Pearl 


Main and Broadway rema 


n as 


they were. 





In Jones' addition it is proposed to call the extension of 
Summit Street Jones' Avenue, and the intersecting street 
Barclay Street. In Munson's addition the east and west 
street is Munson Street. The street winding up Prospect 
Hill, from Main vStreet to the College, is College Avenue ; 
and that descending to the creek from Cherry Street, is 
Columbus Avenue. 

IV. Water Works. 

The gradual failure of the old hydrant system had for 
some time impressed the thoughtful with the need of a more 
reliable supply of water for household use and for defense 
against fire. In 1885, the citizens began to move under the 
leadership of such men as C. W. Bryant, Profs. Colwell and 
Gilpatrick, Drs. vSinnet and Follett, J. H. Sample, C. W. 
Black, and others. Three driven wells of large calibre were 
located on the first bottom, near Munson Street, and nearly 
opposite Case vStreet. The water was found to be pure and 
abundant. The village voted $15,000 toward the enterprise. 



ADDITIONAL RECORD. 349 

A Storage tank of 93,000 gallons capacity was erected on the 
hill in the northwest corner of the corporation. The water 
is forced from the wells to the reservoir by steam, and thence 
is distributed through the town in four and six inch pipes. 
The head is such as to carry the water to the fourth story of 
the college buildings and to throw a copious stream over the 
highest buildings on the village level. In December the 
water began to be served. "We venture the assertion that 
no town, nor city, in Ohio offers its people better water than 
Granville offers to her people." 

V. Our Industries. 

A large flouring mill has been erected on ground between 
the old cemetery and the railroad, by Mr. Phelps of Defiance, 
which is now being run by Mr. Theodore T. Wright. 

A large planing mill has been erected near Munson Street, 
just north of the railroad, in which was placed the machinery 
left by Mr. Geo. Pratt, all of excellent pattern and fitted to 
do the best of work. His oldest son. Smith B. Pratt, added 
still other machinery of like excellent quality, but failing to 
make a success of it, it is now in the hands of Pratt & 
Ransower. 

The planing mill of Mr. Blanchard (Dea. Bancroft's shop) 
is successfully run by Mr. P. L. Pratt and George G. Munson. 
The Messrs. Pratt are both sons of Geo. Pratt. 

In close proximity to each mill is an extensive lumber 
yard, well stocked. 

In 1885, the Ohio Central Railroad became the Toledo & 
Ohio Central, the company being incorporated June 29th. 

In 1886, the old time hotel that stood at the northeast cor- 
ner of Broadway and Prospect Street, was purchased by J. 
M. Prior and taken down. A new and commodious three- 
story building, called " The Hotel Granville," capable of ac- 
commodating one hundred guests, with two desirable business 
rooms in the ground story, was erected in its place, at a cost 
of $10,000. 



350 ADDITIONAL RFXORD. 

VI. Churches. 




PRESBYTERIAN CHURCH, URICK, NORTHWEST CORNER OF I'UKLIC SciUARE. 

In the year 1887, the ladies of the Presbyterian Church 
concluded that the substantial brick house in which they 
worshiped, was not as elegantly finished and furnished as the 
house of God ought to be. They, therefore, conbined their 
energies to raise the means to remodel and refurnish it. By 
voluntary subscriptions $7500 were raised. The side galler- 
ies were removed ; the windows, before in two stories, were 
made continuous and filled with stained cut glass of chaste 
and beautiful design ; the audience room was refitted with 
oak seats, circularly arranged and heavily cushioned ; a gas 
generator was placed in the basement for supplying light for 
the whole building ; the space about the organ was re- 
arranged, as also the hall in front of the audience room ; the 
stairs were rebuilt with a broader tread and more gradual 



ADDITIONAL RECORD. 



351 



ascent; the steeple was remodeled and carried considerably 
higher'- the whole was repainted inside and out; and the 
pavement in front was laid with Berea sawed-stone. The pres- 
ent seating capacity is six hundred and fifty. The architect 
and builder was G. W. Hall, of Columbus. It was completed 
and began to be used again in 1880. During the repamng 
the audience worshiped, by the courtesy of their Episcopal 
friends, in St. Luke's Church. 

(Many will not remember the steeple of 1816, and for 
their delectation we reproduce the old white church as it 
was after the repairs of 1837, and before the building of 
this brick church). 




The church now numbers three hundred members, with a 
Sabbath School of two hundred and fifty. The session now 
consists of H. L. Bancroft, Charles Wynkoop, John D. Evans, 
William Howe, Morgan Williams, Robert Owens, Wilham 
Nichols T. J. Robinson and D. Grifiin. The Trustees are 
David Owens, President, Dr. A. Follett, Dr. William Davies, 



352 



ADDITIONAL RECORD. 



Walter Prichard, J. C. Jones, John Debow, Edward Nichol, 
T. J. Robinson, and Hon. E. Sinnett. 




METHODIST CHURCH, NORTHEAST CORNER OF PUBLIC SQUARE. 

Within the nine years the Methodist Church has erected a 
very fine house, the description of which has been kindly fur- 
nished by Mr. John Montgomery. 

'The building is of brick.- The church had felt the need of 
a new place of worship for many years. Measures were 
taken in the winter of 1882, Rev. Moore being pastor, to see 
what could be done in the way of raising money. Subscrip- 
tion papers were circulated, and by April about $8000 had 
been subscribed ; enough to justify going forward with the 
work. A building committee was selected, consisting of 
John Montgomery, R. G. Fosdick, E. P. Hayes, J. D. Aldred, 
and David Evans. At first it was proposed to let out the 
building by contract, but after receiving bids from several 
contractors, the committee concluded to take the work in 



ADDITIONAL RECORD. 



353 



hand themselves, hiring mechanics and procuring ma erial, 
thinking that a more permanent structure would be the re- 
sult In this they were not disappointed. The entire cost 
of the church was about $15,000. Such a qhurch let out to 
contractors would have cost $20,000. Better satisfaction was 
given, as it gave employment to home labor; and, as far as 
possible, the money was kept in circulation at home. John 
Montgomery was made a sub-committee to oversee the entire 
work, which he did from beginning to end. 

' The site selected was on the northeast corner of the pub- 
lic square, where the old M. E. Church and Town Hall stood. 
These being removed, work was commenced August i8th 
1882, to prepare the ground. The cellar was excavated, and 
the foundation laid deep and broad. Granville stone was put 
in below the frost line, and three courses of dressed Corning 
sandstone above. The foundation being laid, work ceased 

till spring. , ,, 

' Early the next season brick-making commenced on the 
old Norton Case farm. During the winter, timber was got 
out for sills, posts, etc. The bricks for the front were sand- 
rolled giving them the form and shape of pressed bricks. 
Crane & Wiley, of Newark, with two helpers, put up the 
walls, commencing July nth, 1883, and finishing October 
i.th • carpenters meanwhile keeping up their work as needed 
Mr. E. D Evans being foreman. The building was enclosed 
and a good slate roof on by winter. . , ^ ^, ,. 

' The church is 85 feet in length by 54 i^ width. The audi- 
torium is 54 by 55, and the lecture room 30 by 40. East of 
the same are library and infant class rooms ; over the latter 
a kitchen, and over the lecture room a ladies' parlor. There 
are foldincr glass doors below and gothic windows above so 
arranged as to throw the whole into the auditorium when 
needed. The auditorium proper has a seating capacity oi 
icro, the lecture room 150, and the parlor 150. 

'The tower stands at the southwest corner, ^by 14 on the 
ground, and 100 feet high. The main entrance is m the 



354 ADDITIONAL RKCORD. 

tower, with another on the east side, and a third on the north 
at the rio^ht of the rostrum. 

' The inside finishing was begun early the next Spring, 
(1884). The •auditorium is furnished with very neatly fin- 
ished circular seats, made of cherry, which grew on John 
Montgomery's farm, originally known as the ApoUos (irif^n 
farm. Two trees made three thousand feet of choice lumber ; 
one tree being four feet, the other three, at the stump. Four 
twelve foot logs were cut before reaching the first limbs. 
Their equals probably cannot be found in the country. The 
seats were made at Richmond, Indiana. There are fo ir 
aisles, one running along each wall, and two radiating from 
the rostrum. The wainscoting is of highly polished cherry. 
The frescoing is beautiful, the ceiling being of corrugated 
iron, neatly panneled and frescoed. There is a set-back in 
the wall behind the pulpit, of five feet depth, sixteen feet 
long, for the organ. This is beautifully frescoed, with a 
vine and leaves, grapes and wheat-heads being interspersed. 
There are two large gotliic windows of stained glass in the 
auditorium. The building is heated by two furnaces. The 
lecture room is seated with neat chairs. It, also, is highly 
frescoed. The church is nicely carpeted. 

' The ladies of the church are ever to be remembered for 
their untiring labors, raising by socials about $1500, toward 
finishing and furnishing the church. 

' Nice stone walks are laid on three sides of the church, 
and to the three entrances. 

'The work being completed, the church was dedicated by 
Bishop Merrill, December 22d, 1884, Rev. James Michel be- 
ing pastor." 



ADDITIONAL RECORD. 



355 




BAPTIST CHURCH, STONE, SOUTHWEST CORNER OF PUBLIC SQUARE. 



Under pastor W. C. P. Rhoades the church had grown in 
influence, numbers, and financial ability. Visitors from 
abroad at college commencements and other occasions, began 
to hint that the house of worship was not equal to the 
church's need. It was replied that while the people recog- 
nized the fact, the congregation was not able to build such 
a house as was needed ; and the rejoinder was, " Do what 
you can, and you shall have help from without." With this 
encouragement the matter was tested. The sum of $15,000 
was subscribed at home, and $10,000 abroad, which sum was 
pushed to the aggregate of $30,000, and it was resolved to 
build. They limited the architect in their plans to this sum. 
But the final cost, when furnished and ready for occupancy 
was only a fraction short of $50,000. This amount was 
secured chiefly through the agency of Pastor Rhoades ; half 
being contributed by the Granville church, and half by 
friends abroad. 

Messrs. D. M. Shepardson, E. M. Downer, and A. U. 



356 ADDITIONAL RKCORD. 

Thresher, were the buildino^ committee, and the architect 
was L. B. Vaiilk, of New York City. The builders, on a 
contract, of $30,000, were Messrs. Garber & Vance, of 
Newark, O. The rest was expended under the direct super- 
vision of the committee. 

The old church was removed across Main Street, to the 
east, set over a high, roomy, airy, brick basement, and sold 
to the township for $5000. The new church was then erected 
on the old site, being completed in 1883. The material is 
Sandusky limestone, with trimmings of Berea stone. The 
cut will give the external appearance of the building. 

The auditorium is in the center of the building, and is 
lighted from the east and west sides through windows of 
stained glass, but not sufficiently to obviate the necessity of 
using gas on cloudy days. It has three entrances, one at 
each of the three angles accessible on Broadway and Main 
Streets. The pulpit is on the south side. Back of the pulpit 
and elevated higher than the speaker's head, is the organ loft 
and space for a large choir, accessible by stairways outside of 
the auditorium. The organ was made by Johnson Bros., at 
a cost of $4000, and was the gift of Mrs. Rev. Francis W. 
Piatt. Mr. Piatt was formerly a student of Granville College, 
and afterwards a pastor in Toledo, O. He had worked hard 
to procure an organ for his own church. The subscription 
was successful, and the instrument ordered and promised at 
a certain time. Meantime he fell into a lingering illness and 
died. The first use of the organ when erected was at his 
funeral. In view of his love of music and this result of the 
closing work of his life, his widow gave this organ as a 
memorial of him. 

The audience room is cruciform, the transept being longer 
than the nave. The floor rises from the pulpit and the seats 
circle around it, like an amphitheater, with five radiating 
aisles. They are cushioned and the floors are carpeted. The 
head of the cross is occupied by the Sunday School room, 
seated with chairs. It may at any time be thrown open to 



ADDITIONAL RKCOKD. 357 

the auditorium, adding seats for three hundred ; the whole 
then having a seating capacity of twelve hundred. The 
groined ceiling is of corrugated iron, the supporting points 
along the south side of the transept and either side of the 
nave resting on wooden pillars, four in number. The seats, 
organ and furniture are of oak. 

Beyond the Sunday School room is a room for ladies' meet- 
ings. At the east side, connecting with both, is the infant 
class-room, and on the west are rooms for socials, a dumb 
waiter connecting with the kitchen below. Around the 
organ are various small rooms for libraries, the pastor's use, 
or other service. The baptistery is immediately in the rear 
of the pulpit, secluded from it by a portiere. It is below the 
level of the platform. Candidates descend to the water by a 
flight of steps and ascend on the opposite side. In perform- 
ing the rite, the officiating clergyman stands beside the open 
tank, and all is in sight of the audience. 

The present membership (1889) is 476. The Sabbath 
School numbers 381. The officers are : 

Rev. J. C. Baldwin, D.D., Pastor. 

Prof. W. H. Johnson, Clerk. 

Prof. A. U. Thresher, Treasurer. 
deacons. 
D. M. Shepardson, . Prof. Geo. McKibben, 

T. J. Wright, T. J. Thomas, 

C. T. Chapin, Henry Palmerton. 

TRUSTEES. 

D. M. Shepardson, Prof. Chas. Chandler, 
J. C. Malone, Esq., J. P. Wilson, 
Burton Case, F. W. Shepardson. 



358 
VII. 



ADDITIONAL KI^CORD. 



Schools. 




ADDITIONAL RECORD. 359 

DENISON UNIVERSITY. 

Concerning this institution little need be said in addition 
to that with which we closed the record of 1880. It still 
holds on its way with a full tide of prosperity. In 1887, Dr. 
Owens resigned the presidency, and Dr. Galusha Anderson 
was elected to the vacancy. The preparatory department is 
now designated as Granville Academy. 

The last report of the Finance Committee shows an en- 
dowment beyond the real estate of about $350,000 of interest- 
bearing investments. 

The faculty now stands as follows : 

Galusha Anderson, D.D., LL. D., President and Professor of Intellectual 
and Moral Philosophy. 

Almon U. Thresher, A. M., Professor of Rhetoric and English Literature. 

John L. Gilpatrick, A. M., Professor of Mathematics. 

Charles Chandler, A. M., Professor of Latin Language anf' Literature. 

Rev, Richard S. Colwell, A. B., Professor of Greek Language and Literature. 

George F. McKibben, A. M., Professor of French and German Language. 

Clarence L. Herrick, M. S., Professor of Geology and Natural History. 

Alfred D. Cole, A. M., Professor of Chemistry and Physics. 

J. D. S. Riggs, A. M., Professor and Principal of Granville Academy. 

Leverette E. Akins, A. M., Instructor in Mathematics. 

Wm. H. Johnson, A. M., Instructor in Greek. 

Wm. G. Tight, M. S., Instructor in Natural Sciences. 

Herbert L. Jones, M. S., Instructor in Natural Sciences. 

Wm. S. Burns, A. B., Instructor in English and Latin. 

Mrs. J. E. Dixson, Librarian. 

Rev. John Kyle, Curator of Buildings and Grounds. 



360 



ADDITIONAL RECORD. 







SHEPARDSON COLLEGE FOR WOMEN. 



In 1841, there came to the place a young man fresh from 
his studies in Brown University, having studied also at 
Amherst College ; slender in form, of bloodless face, with 
penetrating eyes hidden behind a pair of glasses ; of san- 
guine-nervous temperament, accustomed to push forward in 
his work in the church and the world without stopping to 
read character, or saying to anyone : " Is this so ?" or 
" Shall that be done ?" If it seemed right to him to be done, 
and he the one to do it, he went forward and it was done. It 
was the time of the annual examinations in the College. 
These he attended, and by his close questions and sharp 
searching of their scholarship he became the dread of the 
students. He probed and exposed the dullard and quickened 
the best to higher aspirations. 

This was the Rev. Daniel Shepardson, whose acquaintance 
with Ohio was then beginning, and who has constantly since 
been prominent in the interests of the Baptist Church of this 
State, laboring indefatigably either in her pulpits or in the 
cause of education. After a period of years spent in Zanesville, 
Cincinnati and Piqua as a pastor, and in Cincinnati as prin- 



ADDITIONAL RECORD. 361 

cipal of Woodward High School, he came in 1868 and took 
charge of the Female Seminary, as already narrated. He at 
once threw his accustomed energy and faith into the work of 
making it a power in his church. He was assisted by his 
excellent wife, who also possessed great energy and faith. 
Among their helpers were Misses M. O. Brooks, Mary E. 
Anderson, L. A. Barton, Clara Campbell, Mary Abbott, 
Hattie Gunnison, Hattie Partridge, Ida M. Saunders, Mrs. 
Whissen, Mr. George Shepardson. His first class was grad- 
uated in 1869, numbering six. The average number for the 
sixteen years of his work is ten. 

In 1889, Dr. Shepardson transferred the property he had 
used for the school purposes to a Board of Trustees, largely 
co-incident, but not identical with the Board of Denison 
University ; to be increased in their hands by the additional 
endowment of $100,000, and to be perpetuated as The Shep- 
ardson College for Women, not inferior in grade to the high- 
est college for young men. 

By courtesy, the library, museum, laboratories, and class- 
rooms of Denison University are open to the young ladies. 
The curriculum is co-extensive with that of the University, 
and the calendars are identical. 

The $100,000 endowment has been secured. Dr. Shepard- 
son and family have retired from the care of the institution, 
but he hopes to give himself, in the near future, to the rais- 
ing of another like sum for the further efficiency and life of 
the College. 

The former building used by the boarding department has 
given place to a modern structure of brick upon a basement 
of stone. It is well represented by the cut. It is called 
" Burton Hall," in honor of Dr. N. S. Burton, who com- 
menced the school in 1859. 



33 



362 



ADDITIONAL RKCORD. 



The faculty at present consists of: 

Galusha Anderson, D.D., L.L. D., President, and Professor of Mural and 
Intellectual Philosophy. 

M. Frances Babcock, Lady Principal; Latin Language and Literature. 

Mrs. M. K. Compton, Matron. 

Mrs. Andrew L. Ralston, Director of Art Department. 

Carrie A. Hutson, Instructor in Instrumental Music. 

Amy L. Lyons, Instructor in Mathematies. 

Josephine C. Robertson, Rhetoric and English Literature. 

G. D. Rogers, Instructor in Vocal Music. 




GRANVILLE KEMALE COLLEGE. 



In 1882, Mr. Keir was compelled by increasiii<; illness to 
notify the Trustees that he must be relieved at the close of 
the current academic year. But disease anticipated his 
resignation, and his death occurred April 15th, 1882. He 
had been at the head of the institution continuously since 
1854, except during the years 1872-6. To him was due, in 
a large measure, the continued existence and reputable 
standing of the college. During the remainder of this year 
the college was conducted by Mrs. Kerr and the Faculty. 

Rev. Dwight I>. Hervey then took charge of it (1882), 
and at once expended $4000 in improvements u])on the 



ADDITIONAL RECORD. 363 

buildings and grounds, providing ample and very desirable 
quarters for all departments of instruction, and his admin- 
istration has enjoyed the full confidence of the Board and of 
the community. The attendance has averaged about seventy. 
The following extracts from the catalogue, of 1887, will 
serve to illustrate the standing of the college : 

"Those whose only object is to obtain an education under 
Christian influences, who will cheerfully submit to kind and 
wholesome discipline and reproof, are cordially invited to be- 
come members of the Institution." "We can be responsible 
for our pupils' progress and improvement 07ily as we control 
their time, their associations, and the influences which surround 
them." "We, on our part, pledge ourselves to guard from 
evil the young ladies entrusted to our care ; to surround them 
with healthful, moral, and religious influences; to exercise 
watchful care over their manners, habits, minds, and hearts, 
and to give them every advantage — social, intellectual, and 
moral — of a well regulated schDol. " 

The faculty at present (1889 catalogue) is : 

Rev. D. B. Hervey, A. M., President; Psychology Ethics, Evidences. 
Miss Georgianna Humphreys; English Literature, Rhetoric, Modern Lan- 
guages. 

Miss Myra F. Weld, A. B. ; Latin and Greek Languages. 

Miss Minnie A. R. Drake, A. B. ; Mathematics, Natural Sciences, English. 

Miss Grace E. LaFerre; Natural Sciences, Book-Keeping, U. S. History. 

Prof. E. F. Appy; Piano, Violin, Theory. 

Mrs. E. F. Appy; Piano, Organ. 

Miss Annie Love Carter; Vocal Culture. 

Miss M. Luella Gurney; Painting, Crayoning, Drawing. 

THE GRADED SCHOOL 

Is still prosperous, graduating large classes in the usual 
curriculum. The present year witnesses the demolition of 
the building erected in i860, and the rising in its place of a 
larger, more commodious one, at a cost of $20,000. 



3(34 ADDITIONAL RECORD. 

VIII. The Opera House, or Town Hall. 




OLD GRANVILLE HANK, STONK (at the left), EI'ISCOPAL CHURCH (in center), 
TOWN HALL (to the right). 

The former frame church of the Baptists, it has been said, 
was moved across Main Street and placed near the Episcopal 
Church. It was elevated upon a brick basement of good 
height. The township then purchased it for $5000 and fitted 
it up for public uses. In 1888, it was enlarged at a cost of 
$3000, the contract being taken by Mr. Wallace W. Carpen- 
ter. Two additional windows were required by the addition, 
and made symmetrical with the three former ones The 
audience room above will now accommodate eight hundred. 
The basement has apartments for the Postofifice, Justice of 
the Peace, Town Council, Fire Department, and citizens' 
gatherings, etc. 

IX. Fire Department. 

In 1886, the Granville Hose Co., No. i, was formed, with 
a membership of sixteen. F". W. Shepardson is president; 
W. M. Black, vice president ; W. L. Courtney, secretary ; J. 
W. Ackley, treasurer ; W. C. Smoots, foreman ; H. C. Bel- 
ford, first assistant; I. H. DeBow, second assistant; W. H. 
Sanford, pipeman, and J. Bolen, assistant pipeman. The 
corporation furnishes a reel-cart and five hundred feet of 
hose. The company furnish their own rubber outfit, and a 
uniform of blue shirts, belts of leather, and oil cloth helmets ; 
and pay their own expenses. 



ADDITIONAL RECORD. 



365 



X. Annals. 

In 1881, among the deaths were David Messenger, who 
died at Utica, O., at noon of Friday, January 14th, aged 
eighty-nine ; and Valorus Graves, son of Josiah Graves, of 
old age, Saturday, January 15th. Both these were of the 
original families of the colony. Freeman Haskill, August 
24th, aged seventy-five. Eunice W. Little, November 25th. 
Hon. T. W. Ewart, not long a resident of the place, Octo- 
ber 9th. 

In 1882, the Town Hall was sold to Sam. Everett and re- 
moved by him to the vicinity of the railroad, and became 
a ware-house. Afterward it was totally consumed by fire. 

The old Methodist Church was removed to the rear of the 
Female College and is used as a laundry. 

Apr. 15th died Hon. W. P. Kerr, aged 60. His name has 
occurred otten on the preceding pages, chiefly as identified, 
first, with the Male Academy, & then the Female College ; as 
also' with the Convention for Revising the State Constitution. 
He was a graduate of Granville College, & probably, like many 
others, laid the foundation for subsequent ill health by assiduous 
application to study in his College days. 

July i6th, died Dea. Timothy M. Rose, aged 85. He was 
born Mar. 24th, 1797, in Granville, Mass., & at the age of 8 
years came hither with the colony, & always lived here there- 
after. He was for some time the last survivor of those who 
came that fall, and living in the place. He has seen ah the 
changes of the place, & in many of them has been a promment 
actor. He was a man of earnest piety, full of social life, of 
simple habits of expense, & a forward contributor to every 
work of benevolence. His first wife & the mother of his chil- 
dren, was Matilda Mead & the second was Mrs. Susan Little, a 
sister of Rev. Jacob Little, D.D. ;her first husband having been 
a cousin of the same name. Mr. Rose survived all his children. 

Oct. 17th, died Rev Joseph Little, aged 54. He studied at 
Hudson College & Lane Seminary. He was a Chaplain m the 
War of the Rebellion, connected with a W. Virg. Regiment. 
After the war he devoted himself to doing good among the 
men to whom he had ministered in the army, & their families. 
He was in Chicago, preparing to publish a line of charts for 



36G ADDITIONAL RPX'ORD. 

reading & singing lessons, when his nervous system gave way 
under his labors & self-denial. He was the most genial of men, 
a very interesting companion, & a great singer. He delighted 
in a little box melodeon that he could carry about in his hand. 
In the army ho would put it on a stump or barrel head, & begin 
singing some lively and humorous song, — (& no one could do it 
better). Soon a crowd would gather around him & be enter- 
tained for a suitable time. Then he would change to sacred 
music & ask " the boys" to join in, which they would do with 
a hearty good will. Next, & almost before they were aware of 
it, they would be following him in prayer, or listening to a tell- 
ing talk. 

Happy, laughing, earnest, prayerful brother! He left his 
name to his country as " Chaplain Joe Little." 

In 1883, died Mrs. Jane S. Bancroft, daughter of Thomas 
Little, Esq., and wife of Deacon G. P. Bancroft, September 
nth, aged eighty-nine. She had lived with her hn.sband 
since January 27th, 1814, a period of almost three score and 
ten years. September 29th, died Colonel Daniel M. Baker. 
His father, though an original member of the company, did 
not come to Granville for several years. Colonel Baker was 
prominent in the military organizations under the old militia 
laws. 

In 1884, died Deacon Girard P. Bancroft, January i8th, 
ag&d ninety-three. He survived the wife of his youth only 
four months. He was a skillful mechanic, and a life-long 
officer in the church. He retained his cheerfulness and vivac- 
ity and quick movements almost to the last. 

In 1885, June 29th, the Ohio Central Railroad was changed 
to the Toledo and Ohio Central Railroad. • 

Deaths. Rowland Hughes, January 6th, aged eighty-five ; 
Grove Case, February 19th, aged eighty-five; his wife, Laura 
Case, April 2d, aged eighty-eight ; Mrs. Sophronia H. Whit- 
ing, April 7th, aged seventy-eight; Mrs. Elizabeth Asher, 
April 17th, aged seventy-two ; P'rank F. Rose, September 
5th, aged twenty-nine ; Mrs. Sarah P. Goodrich, October 
4th, aged eighty-two. 



ADDITIONAL RECORD. 367 

In 1886, Dr. E. Sinnett was elected to the Ohio State 
Senate. 

Died, Mrs. Carrie Buxton Black, wife of Mr. C. W. Black, 
April 19th, aged thirty-six; Dr. C. J. Gifford, a prominent 
physician since 1840, May 3d, aged seventy-eight ; Mrs. Car- 
oline Aydelott Johnson, wife of Mr. G. B. Johnson, Novem- 
ber 26th, aged sixty-nine ; Charles Webster Bryant, August 
31st, aged thirty-seven. 

Mr. Bryant was the only child of Mr. Orren Bryant & Mrs. 
Mary F. Bryant, the mother being a daughter of Wm. Fitch, 
Esq., of Alexandria, who came to Ohio in 1836. Charles was 
born May 24th, 1849, and lived at Alexandria until 1866, when 
he came to Granville. He was a student of the University 
until infirmity of the eyes obliged him to cease from study. He 
then engaged in civil engineering & was employed in surveying 
the route for the Ohio Central Rail Road. He went into the 
service as axeman, & before they reached Toledo he had charge 
of the second instrument. After service with other roads he 
entered the drug business, purchasing in company with Mr. C. 
W. Black, the stock of Mr. A. P. Prichard, Jr., & qualifying 
himself as a pharmacist by a course of study at Cincinnati. 

He had a remarkable penchant for genealogical studies, & he 
kept up an extensive correspondence in pursuit of facts with an 
interest that knew no impatience. It was supposed he had his 
labors for this History nearly completed, but no trace of finished 
work can be found. Through his influence The Granville His- 
torical Society was formed. He gathered about him a class of 
young men fitted to be his co-adjutors & impressed them with 
something of his own interest in historical matters. A large 
collection of historic relics was gathered by them, & they were 
considering the means of obtaining a permanent place for de- 
positing them. In the midst of the interest he had awakened, 
he was taken with typhoid fever & died. The historical collec- 
tion has since been placed in the care of Denison University to 
be preserved and returned to the Society if it shall ever be 
revived. 

In 1888, Dr. E. Sinnett was re-elected to the Ohio vState 
Senate for another term of two years. 

October 19th, died Mr. Jason Collins, aged eighty-one. 



368 ADDITIONAL RECORD. 

October 26th, died Rev. C. Van Meter, aged sixty-eight 
years. He was born in Hardin county, Kentucky, February 
13th, 1820. He was a student at Granville College, but ill- 
health prevented his graduating. He married Miss Sophronia 
E. Langdon, of Granville, in 1848. In 1856 he became con- 
nected with the " I'^ive Points Mission," New York, where he 
began the work of placing orphans and neglected children in 
western homes. In 1861, he established the " Home for Little 
Wanderers," superintending it eleven years, going west more 
than seventy times with companies of homeless children. He 
visited the city of Rome just after it was opened by Victor 
Emanuel, in 1870. Two years later he entered upon a course 
of labors in that city that continued until his death. He was 
engaccd in day, night, and Sabbath schools; in Bible and tract 
distribution ; i'l the translation and printing of the International 
Sunday School Lessons, sending them free to ministers, teachers, 
and colporteurs all over Italy and the adjacent islands. For 
eight years he held his school within three hundred feet of the 
Vatican. His remains rest in the beautiful Protestant cemetery, 
among the people he loved and for whom he labored. 

In 1889, died Mr. William D. Moore, April 20th, aged 
seventy-nine. He was born in Canterbury, Vermont, January 
12th, 1 8 10, graduated at Dartmouth College, 1837, intending 
at that time to seek an appointment as a foreign missionary. 
But his health failed just as he was ready for licensure; and 
this led him to devote most of his life to the work of teaching. 
He was at the head of Granville Feinale Academy from 1845 to 
1854, sending out an aggregate of sixty graduates. He died 
at Granville after a long and painful illness. 

Mrs. Amanda F. Uunlevy, daughter of Elias Fassett, wife of 
Francis Dunlevy. Esq., died at Denver, Colorado, May 20th, 
aged sixty-two. Her mother was Jerusha, daughter of Jere- 
miah and Jerusha Munson, of the original colony. In early 
life, by the death of two sisters, she was left the only child of 
her parents. Most of her mature life has been spent abroad, 
but she ever maintained her interest in the friends of her youth. 

XL Thk Central Normal and Business College. 

An association of prominent educators of Granville has 
just been formed for the purpose of furnishing the best 
instruction in normal and business studies. An institute 



ADDITIONAL RECORD. 369 

session will be held in the summer, but instruction will be 
given throughout the year, in five consecutive terms. It is 
designed to be a permanent institution. The gentlemen of 
the Association are : 

Prof. R. S. Colwell, President, 

Prof. A, U. Thresher, Vice President. 

Prof. F. A. Slater, Secretary, 

Prof. J. L. Gilpatrick, 

Prof. A. D. Cole, • 

Prof. L- E. Akins. 
This adds another educational feature to our literary vil- 
lage. Prof. Slater has been here for some time, giving 
instruction in book-keeping, phonography, and kindred 
sciences. The other gentlemen will be recognized as con- 
nected with Denison University. They will be assisted by 
other prominent educators. 

XII. Municipal Officers. 

Mayor, . . R.S. CoLWELL, 

Clerk, . . . H. A. Church, 

Treasurer, . . W. J. Pond, 

Marshal, . . Edgar Sanford. 

COUNCILMEN. 

W. H. SedCxWick, Dr. G. G. Kyle, 

John DeBow, Mark Eddy, 

W. S. Courtney, E. D. Evans. 

XIII. Present Business Houses. 

The business houses are at present : 

Books ^ Stationery ^ Etc. — Kussmaul & Shepardson. 

Dry Goods — Geo. C. Parsons. 

(A second store has recently been closed for transfer and is 
expected to open soon under new auspices.) 

Groceries — Carter & Carter, H. L. Reed, M. L. Oatman, 
Perry & Prior. 
34 



370 ADDITIONAL RHCORD. 

Boots and Shoes — I. M. Pierson, F. Miller, M. Eddy. 
Hardivare — W. M. Geach cS: Son, K. W. Jones & Son. 
Dentistry — W. H. Sedgwick & Son, 
Jewelry — L. A, Austin, T. A. Jones. 

Drugs— "TXx^ C. W. Bryant Company, H. P. Belford cS: Co. 
Meat Shops— ^. C. Smoots, M. L. Oatman, McMillen cS: 
Webster. 

Tin Shops — E. W. Jones & Son, L. S. Twining. 
Harmless — D. Erench, Geo. Sampson. 
Milliufry — M. E. Spayd, E. Piper. 
Monuments — DeBow Bros. 
Tailoring — H. LaFerre, J. W. Swabb. 

Mr. T. A. Jones has also an engine and machinery, pre- 
pared to do all light work in repairing, silver plating, etc. 

Wright, Sinnet & Wright are in possession of The Bank 
of Granville, doing a good banking business. 

" The Granville Times " was started by H. A. Church in 
1880. In 1884 it was sold to Rev. C. B. Downs. He aoon 
received to partnership W. H. Kussmaul, a practical printer. 
In 1887, Mr. Downs sold to Mr. Kussmaul, who in turn sold 
one-half interest to Mr. Frank M. Shepardson. It is now 
published by Kussmaul & Shepardson, having a very good 
circulation among patrons at home and specially good among 
those who have gone out from Granville to reside elsewhere. 
It has a very high standing with the papers of Central Ohio. 
They are prepared to do good job printing and are doing a 
large business. 

Granville has had ten papers antedating The Times; its pre- 
decessors being: The Wanderer, (18 15, S. Wright), The Gran- 
ville Intelligencer, (1847, -D- Hunt), TJie School Clarion, (185 1, 
S. N. Sanford), The Licking Bee, {1851, a temperance paper), 
llw Herbariiim, (1857, Ladies of Female College), TJu Deni- 
sonian (1857, Franklin Soc. of D. U.), The Collegian, (1867, 
CalHopean Soc. of D. U.), TJie Denison Collegian, (a union of 
the two foregoing). The Licking Mo?iitof, (1872, George W. 
l^vans), The Family Monthly, (1875, successor to the last 
mentioned). 



ADDITIONAL RECORD. 371 

John C. Malone, Esq., acts as justice of the peace, notary 
public, real estate and insurance agent. 

Hon. M. M. Munson is a resident in the village and attends 
to law business. 

In 1883, Mr. Edgar A. Wright succeeded Dr. W. H. Sedg- 
wick as Postmaster, and he was followed by Mr. Albert H. 
Jones, the present incumbent. 

Our physicians at this time are — 

Dr. E. F. Bryan, Dr. W. C. Davis, 

Dr. E. Sinnett, Dr. G. G. Kyle, 

Dr. a. Follett, Dr. Kane Follett, 

Dr. J. Watkins, Dr. E. A. Darby. 

So far as known, the only survivors of those who came in 
1805 are — 

Mr. Justin Hillyer, . . Topeka, Kansas. 
Mr. Truman Hillyer, . . Columbus, Ohio. 
Rev E. C. Gavitt . . . Toledo, Ohio. 
. Rev George E. Gavitt, . Ashley, Ohio. 
Mrs. Alcy Rose Durfee, . Hartford, Ohio. 
Mr. Willis Clark, of Toledo, Illinois, and Mrs. Marietta 
Clark Ackley, Granville, who came two years later are still 
living. 

We close our record with a tribute to Granville, printed in 
the catalogue of Granville Female College, 1888. It origi- 
nally appeared in an Eastern paper : 

'• Edward Everett Hale, in an after-dinner address last sum- 
mer, told this story: He had formed the acquaintance not long 
before, of a Russian gentlemen who had been traveling through 
this country on a mission of investigation for his Government. 
This foreign observer had made good use of his opportunities, 
and was full of opinions about the men and things he had seen. 
Among other statements, he said that he had been peculiarly 
impressed by the advantages enjoyed by American society in 
the smaller and little-known places, where he had often found 
culture and comfort abounding which in other countries were 
confined to city life. Dwelling on this theme, to him a novel 
one, the Muscovite gentleman mentioned the names of such 



372 ADDITIONAL RECORD. 

villages in the various States that he had visited, and among 
them that of Granville, Ohio. 

This opinion, entitled to some weight because of its origin, 
reached me before my acquaintance with the place in question 
began. But I am bound to say that it has been confirmed by 
my experience aud observation thus far. For here is a place, 
secluded and little known by the world at large, whose intel- 
lectual and social advantages are more than metropolitan. 
Lying in the heart of the hill region of Ohio, it is quite re- 
moved from the currents of commercial and financial activity 
that sweep through the land. Here are no factories, no busi- 
ness center, no prospect of such things in time to come. A 
village of perhaps 1200 inhabitants, quiet and clean as a New 
England hamlet, with shady streets and pleasant homes — it 
has altered but little in the years past, and presents few attrac- 
tions to the busy and progressive. And yet here is a scene of 
intense intellectual activity — a home of genuine culture — a 
center of wide spread religious influence, and a source of ever- 
renewed pulsations of far-reaching power." 



iPlejise i)aste this in your copy of the History of Granville.] 

HISTORY OF GRANVILaLR. 

Names of dates and persons occur in this volume, 
by actual count, more than seven thousand times. It is 
surprising that in a record made chiefly from original matter 
so few mistakes should be reported. After a general re- 
quest in the preface and many personal requests, only the 
following come to hand as w^orthy of correction. Some 
should have been noticed in proof reading, and others would 
not have occurred had Mr. Bryant been spared to do his part 
of the work. 

CORRECTIONS. 

Page 29, first line, fourth paragraph, for "IStanbury" read "Stanbery.'' 

" 95, second line, seventh " for "Almena" read "Climena." 
'"" 100, twelfth line from bottom, for "sulking" read "skulking." 
" 102, in list of names, for "Benj. Carpenter" read'' Amos Carpenter." 
" 105, second line, second paragraph, insert period after "Mass." 
" 108, first line, third paragraph, for "father-in-law," read "step 

father." 
" 117, last line, omit "daughter of Justin Ilillyer, Sr." 'J'his was the 

first Mrs. Hunt, who was a Pratt. 
" 130 third line, fourth paragraph, capital "P" in 'plan of Union 

Church. 
•' 135, first line, fourth paragi-aph, for "het" read "the" 
" 136, tenth line, first paragraph, small "p" in "Providence" 
" 143, second line, second paragraph, for '"Institution," read "Insti- 
tute." and the same on page 165. second line, third paragraph, and 

page 219, second line, second paragraph, 
" 144, last line, for "Hamlin" read "Hamlen," also page 165, fifth line. 

first paragraph. 
" 145, third line from bottom, for "drove" read "rode." 
" 154, omit the last entry, last line, "John Starr, etc." 
" 178, first line at top, for "Welsh Methodists and Welsh Congrega- 

tionalists unitedly," read "Welsh Hills Cemetery Association." 
" 181, second line, second paragraph, for "Mr. Parnassus," read "]\Ft. 

Parnassus." 

" 189, second line, second paragraph, omit "Horace Wolcott. Jan. 11." 
" 197, third line from top, for "Geo. Ezekiel Gavitt," read "Ezekiel 

Stanton Gavitt," also page 256, first line, seventh jiaragraph, and 

page 371, fourth line, fifth paragraph. 
" 211, second line, fourth paragraph, for "and 1832 followed," read 

"ending." 

" 215, last line for "Edward A Beech," read "David E. Beach." 
" 256, second line, second paragraph, for "1864" read "1849." 
" :^59, first line, sixth paragraph, for "Frances" read "Francis." 



I\iiie '2(;4, tiftli Hue, sccoixl p:ir;ii;i-;ii>h, 1' .r, 'State Si-uator." read '•Cuu- 
jrress." 
" 2()o, tliird line, lirst paraj^rapli for, '■18")2" read ■•IS" 4." 
■• 2fi!), ninth liiiC, tliird parugrapli lor, "Franklin I lirall." read '-Bi n- 

jainin F. IIumII." 
•' 209, eleventh line, titird paragraph U>r. "Dillon." read "Di lano." 

•J72, second line, third paraj^iaph, lor, 'MSS^' i ead '•|^S1.■' 
•■ 2S1, eiiijiilh line, second paragfuph, for "J. Wooil," read "diaries 

Wood.'' 
•• -iSi*, first line, first paraj>raiih, for "1822," read 1^42." 

" 291, sixth line, first paraiiraj))!, omit "Horatio brothers.' ' 

(II. (t. Mower, had a store previous to this.) 
" 312. third line, third paiagraph, omit comina after "wliicli." 
" 317, first line, fifth paragra{)h, for "Freeman Williams," read "Tru- 
man Williams." 
" 321, first line, fonrtli i)aragraph, for "lest" read "last." 
" 323, first line, second paragraph, for "Herbert," read "Ilobart." 
" 343, first line, filth paragraph, for "Theo. T Wright," read "Theo. V. 

Wright" also on page 349, third line, third paragraph. 
" 348, second line, second paragrapii, insi-rt '-onnna after 'Summit St." 
" 349. second line, second i)aragraph, iii-sert ' a company of Gran- 
ville men, who sold to," between 'by" and "Mr Phelps." 
" • 3.')1, filth line third paragraph, for "Griftin," read " Grilling." 
" 352, first line, first paragraph, for .1. ('. Jones," read "J. M. Jones." 
" oOl), firt>t line, fourth paragraph, for "Girard" read 'Gerard." 

ADDITIONS. 

I'age 20. third paragraph, "Hon. M. yv. ^Nltinson is good authority for 

saying that, the Jones family were undoubtedly occupying their cabin 

in'lSliO." 
•• 103, at l)Ottom "Sanniel P. Mower and family came to the place." . 
" 114, second paragraph. "The .scpiirrels came in liS28." 
" 2.")7. In place of I'ourtli paragraph iiis»-rt, "Three sons of Leonard 

and Mary Sinnett Woods, tlie mother being of a pioneer fainiy, all 

entered the ministery with the tollowing recoi-d : 

"E. Arthur Woods; Baptist; Denison University ; Hamilton College 

N. Y.; pastor at Saiatoga Springs N. Y. ; Paterson, N. J.; 

Cleveland, O." 

"Hubert C Woods; Baptist; Deni.son University; Hamilton 

College, X. Y. ; pastor at Fayettevilie, N. Y. ; Greely, Colo ; St. 

PauU Minn.; District Mission, iry of Ba])tist H. M. Society for S. 

Dakota, N. Mexico and interveinng territorv. Pesiding ar, Jjincoln, 

Neb." 

"Bj'ron A. Woods; Baptist; Denison University; Hamilton Collcire. 

X. Y.; pastor at X. London, Conn.; 'i'oledo, (>.; I'hiladelphia, 

Pa. ' 
" 257, bottom "Albert A. Sturges, Yale Theo. Sciii." (See record in 

list of Missionaries.^ 
•' 1S2, deaths. 18(5li, add "]\Irs. Xancy Blanchard >iiuielt, widow of A. 

Sinnett, March :iO " 
■ 2 If), third paragraph, "Miss Jane Boardman was the daughter of 

.Moses Boardman and sister of Mrs. Joseph Fassett and Mrs. Dr. S. 

Spelman." 
•■ 249, first paragraph, " I'he follewing teacliers were natives of Gran- 
ville, .Misses >iary I. Abl)Ott, Diana L. Bancroft, Clarrissa E. Mancioft, 

Lli/al)eth J. Bancroft, Harriet Bam-roft, Lyilia J. Goodrich, (five 

\ cars) Laura Gooilrich. Lou. Goodrich, M. A. Johnson, ^lary Linnell 



(1st), Mary T.iiniell (-ind). Carrie Little, Lyclia M. Little, Jane K 

Parker. CI iva 1*^. Jtose, Almi a Rose, SaiDantha AV right, lliith 11. 

Wolcott." 
Pmuv 2'>7, third line, first paragraph, ''Dr. Thrall -was married to Perthenia 

Kiigg previous to 1824." 
'■ 277. •'Between 1817 and 1834, Mr .Johi> Starr had an extensive she • 

factory, making up the' leather manufactured at Wright's tannery. 

At one time he had twenty hands working on the bench." 
'• 2!)4. Alter fourth paragraph. ''Mr. Case, in company Avith Jasper 

Miinson. liad a store in i ;. Rose's east room and also had a Hour mill 

on the Munson farm. Timothy Carpenter liouj^ht an inteiest with 

them and soon afterwards the mill burned down, being full of wheat, 

and the store was removed to Thornville." 
" 331. "Dnrinit the war. The Ladies Aid Society, did a constant and 

noble work in unison witli similar organizations throughout the 

land." 

About seventy-five CDpies yet retiiaiii on hand. The 
price is $2.66 by mail. After July r, 1890, it will advance to 
$3.00. Address, Rev. H. Bushnell, Westerville, O. 

The following commendations have been voluntarily 
bestowed upon the book: 

From Wm. Richards, Esq., Treas. Dpt. Washington, 
D. C. 

"It is to me more interesting and fascinating than anj^ novel I ever 
read. I sp^nt three nights in succession till aftei" 12 o'clock devouring the 
contents. It must prove very interesting to all who knew anything of 
us .It is a monument of inunense labor." 

From Rev. A. S. Dudley, formerly pastor of Pres. 

Church. 

"I can hardly describe the pleasure which the book gives me. It is 
a remarkable story and reinarkablj'^ well told. You have succeeded most 
admirably in presenting the facts. I have never seen a local history 
better presented. I do not know of another man who couldhave given the 
Hisiory of Granville so well as you have done. I am sure the people owe 
you a debt of gratitude for painting so faithful and fair a picture of their 
town and their ancestors. 

From H. H. Bancroft; the Historian of the Pacific coast. 

"You deserve great credit for the interesting and beautiful book you 
have made on Granville," 

From Mrs. Lavinia Avery. 

"Please accept my cordial and hearty thanks for the pleasure af- 
forded me by the perusal of your vlume. The book does you infinite 

credit and is a monument to your patience and perseveience.. 

I shall always be reminded of your tireless ettbrts in making it the 
success it is." 

From Prest. S. F. Scoyel, D, D., of Wooster University. 

"The book is so replete with interest that I can scarcely 

put it out of my hands to go at pressing work." 



From The Granville Times. 

"It is full of matters of greatest value to our peopli', and no (Jraii- 
ville loving man or woman oau art'ord to be witliout a copy. It is a much 

more attractive book than we had supposed possible to secure 

It is a book such as few towns in Ohio can boast. AVe 

congratulate Mr. Buslmell upon tlie success of his tinislied woik," etc. 

From Mr. Geo. W. Aylsworth, Los Angeles, Cal. 

"Your book received yesterday ami read thronsh hastily before 
iioing to bed last night. I would not miss owning a copy for many times 
I he cost." 

Other expressions from various sources: "i would 'Jot 

be without a copy at any price." "Accept my commendation 

of your well written, neatly executed book." "I am sure 

all who know or care for Granville will value it highly." 

"I should think every one who had ever lived in Granville 

or whose ancestors were part and parcel of the settlers 

would have one." "Hope you may live to bring out a later 

edition." "The descendants of the early settlers must all be 

grateful to you for accomplishing your task." 






nN U 









^' 






\^^ 



.^^^ ^ 






- .^^^^ 



■s^ "-i 



' ' ^ ' aN 



.0 O, 



.3 c> 



.0 o 



-^"^ 



.-^^ 



^,. v-6' 












-V -:^ 






.^^ 



>. 






0' 






O 0' 






.^^"^ -" 









'^-^ 



vOO^ 



0.-^ -^.i- 






.N>^-'% 






' . o s V 


















,-0' 



^^" '^>. 



Ci-^ ' 



x'^' 






vX- A. 






.-O' 



x\^ 



o 0' 



'V. v^^ 



' ^. v•^^ 



■.v ■/'. 



,#■ % 



<^^>^ 















■J^ 









.^ -^^^ 



.0 c> , 



V' -»■ 



ci-. 



,0 o. 



X^'^x. 



"C * 



V 






^^._ c^' 



• xV 









^ 



<^' 



% .# 



V^, 









"V^.'^o'^X^^ 






oX 



>^ %. 



> 



:^^\,^^ 



^A v^' 



V 



. .0^' .< 


















.^\^ 






-'<^ 



,0^ 



= .% 



.•ij"-' 






">. v° 



o-^ -^6 






•^r 






^^<^'^ 

N^^ 



a'^^ 



•^, 



•^^' 

,-,<i'' %, 



^:^' ^, 






.-'''% 



A<^ 



o 0^ 



" x«^ "^-, '■r'^^. 



X^ ^r. 






^^ 



-.0 



'o, 









'i'r 















■:?-, d"^ 



\^ 



'^^> ,^^''' 

-s^-^. 



vV^' '-''V 






.u^ 



L'BRARN OF CONGRESS 



012 356 003 5