(navigation image)
Home American Libraries | Canadian Libraries | Universal Library | Community Texts | Project Gutenberg | Children's Library | Biodiversity Heritage Library | Additional Collections
Search: Advanced Search
Anonymous User (login or join us)
Upload
See other formats

Full text of "History of Guernsey County, Ohio"

Gc 

977.101 

G93S 

v.l 

1470869 



GENEALOGY COLLECTION 



Il'lllfl1ll :l 'l ; l 

3 1833 00826 6352 





i:i;\si:y coi'xty corRT iiorsio 



HISTORY c 



OF 



GUERNSEY COUNTY 



OHIO 



By COL. CYRUS P. B. SARCHET 



ILLUSTRATED 



VOLUME I 



1911 
B. F. BOWEN & COMPANY 

INDIANAPOLIS. INDIANA 



DEDICATION. 
This work is respectfully dedicated to 

THE PIONEERS, 

long since departed. May the memory of those who laid down their burdens 
by the wayside ever be fragrant as the breath of summer 
flowers, for their toils and sacrifices have made 
Guernsey County a garden of sun- 
shine and delights. 



1470868 

PREFACE 



All life and achievement is evolution; present wisdom comes from past 
experience, and present commercial prosperity has come only from past exer- 
tion and suffering. The deeds and motives of the men that have gone before 
have been instrumental' in shaping the destinies of later communities and 
states. The development of a new country was at once a task and a privi- 
lege. It required great courage, sacrifice and privation. Compare the pres- 
ent conditions of the people of Guernsey county. Ohio, with what they were 
one hundred years ago. From a trackless wilderness and virgin land, 
it has come to be a center of prosperity and civilization, with millions of 
wealth, systems of railways, grand educational institutions, splendid indus- 
tries and immense agricultural and mineral productions. Can any thinking 
person be insensible to the fascination of the study which discloses the 
aspirations and efforts of the early pioneers who so strongly laid the founda- 
tion upon which has been reared the magnificent prosperity of later days? 
To perpetuate the story of these people and to trace and record the social, 
political and industrial progress of the community from its first inception 
is the function of the local historian. A sincere purpose to preserve facts 
and personal memoirs that are deserving of perpetuation, and which unite 
the present to the past, is the motive for the present publication. The work 
has been in the hands of able writers, who have, after much patient studv 
and research, produced here the most complete biographical memoirs of 
Guernsey county. Ohio, ever offered to the public. A specially valuable and 
interesting department is that one devoted to the sketches of representative 
citizens of this county whose records deserve preservation bcause of their 
worth, effort and accomplishment. The publishers desire to extend their 
thanks to the gentlemen who have so faithfully labored to this end. Thanks 
are also due to the citizens of Guernsey county for the uniform kindness with 
which they have regarded this undertaking and for their many services ren- 
dered in the gaining of necessary information. 

In placing the "History of Guernsey County, Ohio," before the citizens, 
the publishers can conscientiously claim that they have carried out the plan as 
outlined in the prospectus. Every biographical sketch in the work has been 
submitted to the party interested, for correction, and therefore any error of 
fact, if there be any, is solely due to the person for whom the sketch was pre- 
pared. Confident that our efforts to please will fully meet the approbation of 
the public, we are. 

Respectfully, 

THE PUBLISHERS. 



CONTENTS 



CHAPTER I— TOPOGRAPHY AND GEOLOGY 25 

Natural Features — Drainage — Forest Trees — Minerals — Landscape — The 
Streams of the County — Settlement of the County — Zane Trac£— Wills Creek — 
Origin of Some Geographical Names. 

CHAPTER II— INDIAN OCCUPANCY 30 

Territory Acquired by White Man — LaSalle's Explorations — British Acquire 
Title from the French — Colonial Ohio Land Company — George Washington — 
Boquet's Expedition — Indian Disturbances — Battle of Point Pleasant— North- 
west Territory Acquired by United States — George Rogers Clark — Indian His- 
tory — Last Tribes in Ohio — Indian Customs and Amusements — Anecdote of 
Col. John McDonaTd. 

CHAPTER III— ORGANIZATION OF THE COUNTY : . 38 

Military Land District — Land Surveys Completed — Guernsey County Formed — 
Civil Townships Organized — County-seat Question — Town Plats of the County 
— Incorporated Towns — A Lost Town. 

CHAPTER IV— EARLY SETTLEMENT OF THE COUNTY 46 

V 2 The First Settler — Pioneer Graham— Early Comers — Life of the Pioneers — 
First Schools — A Wounded Deer — Indian Camps. 

CHAPTER V— COUNTY GOVERNMENT 53 

Official Record — First Officers — Commissioners Busy — Organization of Town- 
ships—The County-Seat Question — The First Court House — The County Jail — 
County Infirmary — The Children's Home 1 — A Five Year Record — Assessments 
in 1835 — Assessments for 1910 — Treasury Defalcations — Resulting Trials. 

CHAPTER VI— POLITICAL HISTORY OF THE COUNTY 65 

Votes in 1824 — The Campaign of 1840 — Naphtali Luccock— Origin of Term 
"Hard Cider and Log-Cabin Campaign"— Notes on the Campaign of 1844 — Old 
Time Flag Poles— The Civil War Period— A Visit to McKinley— Different 
Votes on Prohibition — Presidential Vote — Gubernatorial Vote^Congressmen 
— State Senators — Representatives — County Treasurers — Sheriffs — Clerks of 
the Court — Associate Judges from 1S10 to 1851' — County Auditors — County 
Recorders — County Surveyors — County Commissioners — Infirmary Directors 
— Prosecuting Attorneys — Probate Judges — Coroners. 

CHAPTER VII— MILITARY HISTORY OF THE COUNTY S8 

An Honorable Military Record — A Revolutionary Character — Soldiers of 1812 
-^Captain Beymer's Company — Captain Martin's Company — Captain Beatty's 
Company — Off to the Wars — Soldiers of the War of 1812 — The Mexican War — 
The Civil War — The First Company of Cambridge Volunteers — Drafts — Mur- 
der of Marshal Cook — Guernsey County Enlistments — Soldiers' Aid Societies 
— A Regimental Printer — John Morgan's Raid — The Cambridge Scouts — The 
Spanish-American War — The Cambridge Soldiers' Monument <— Soldiers' 
Graves— Grand Army of the Republic. 



CHAPTER VIII— EDUCATIONAL DEVELOPMENT OF THE COUNTY 117 

Early Efforts to Provide Schools — First Free School in Cambridge — Other 
Early Schools — Spelling Classes — The Cambridge Academy — District School 
Notice: — A Teacher Wanted — Other Educational Institutions — Cambridge 
Schools— The High School — The First Commencement'— The Richland Town- 
ship Free School — Pioneer School Discipline — Present School Statistics — Cam- 
bridge Seminary — Madison College. 

CHAPTER IX— CHURCH AND DENOMINATIONAL HISTORY 138 

Early Religious Sentiment— The Methodist Episcopal Church— The First and 
Second Churches at Cambridge— A Disastrous Fire— The Byesville Church, 
and Societies at Cumberland, Salesville and Other Points — The Christian 
Churches at Quaker City and Cambridge — The Friends Church — The Catho- 
lic Church — Methodist Protestant Church at Cambridge and Byesville — The 
Presbyterian Church at Cambridge! — Cumberland — Lore City — "Washington — 
Senecaville — Cumberland Presbyterian Church — United Brethren Church — 
Evangelical Lutheran Church — Pleasant City, Senecaville and Harmony Con- 
gregations — St. John's Episcopal Church — United Presbyterian Churches — 
Byesville, Washington, Pleasant Hill, Lebanon and Fairview — Baptist 
Churches — Macedonia, Goshen, Cumberland and Byesville. 

CHAPTER X— SECRET SOCIETIES OF THE COUNTY 167 

The First Masonic Lodge — Guernsey Lodge No. 66 — Cambridge Chapter No. 
53, Royal Arch Masons — Guernsey Council No. 74, Royal and Select Mas- 
ters — Cambridge Commandery No. 47. Knights Templar' — Princes of Jerusa- 
lem — Nobles of the Mystic Shrine — Guernsey Chapter No. 211, Order of the 
Eastern Star — Cumberland Lodge No. 134 — Mount Pleasant Lodge No. 360 — 
Quaker City Lodge No. 500 — Acorn Chapter No. 205. O. E. S. — Cumberland 
Chapter No. 110, O. E. S— Quaker City Chapter No. 177, O. E. S.— Pleasant 
City Chapter No. 227. O. E. S— The Masonic Temple — Masonic Calendar— In- 
dependent Order of Odd Fellows — Cambridge Lodge No. 301 — Cambridge En- 
campment No. 150. Patriarchs Militant— Other Lodges — Knights of Pythias 
— Cambridge Lodge No. 53 — Pleasant City Lodge No. 595 — Rathbone Sisters, 
Golden Rod Temple No. 128— Quaker City Lodge No. 310 — Seneca Lodge No. 
727— Benevolent and Protective Order of Elks — Cambridge Lodge No. 448. 

CHAPTER xr— EDUCATIONAL INTERESTS 17S 

Hardships of Early Settlers — The Sheep Industry— Statistics of 1876 — Report 
of 1907 — Good Fleeces — Agricultural Societies — First Premium List — The Fair 
at Washington — A Peculiar Season. 

CHAPTER Xir— RAILWAY. WATER NAVIGATION AND THE OLD PIKE ROAD.. 185 
Early Importance of Transportation — Zane Trace — The Pike, or National 
Road— The Old Wheeling Road— Survey of the Seven Ranges— New Wash- 
ington—Early Roads— The Old Pike— Report of Travel 1 — Toll Gates— First 
Flat or Keel Boat on Wills Creek — First Steamboat — Leaving the Country 
with a Flatboat — An Early River Venture— The Railroad Era— The Centra! 
Ohio (now the Baltimore & Ohio) Railroad— The Cleveland & Marietta Road 
—Ohio River & Western Railroad. 

CHAPTER XIII— THE BAR OF GUERNSEY COUNTY 197 

Early Lawyers — First Colored Jury — Death Sentences — First Grand Jury in 



CONTENTS. 

Guernsey County — Present Justices of the Peace — Prominent Early Attor- 
neys — Published Lists — Present Court Officers — Present Members of the 
Guernsey County Bar. 

CHAPTER XIV— THE MEDICAL PROFESSION 203 

Efficiency of the Pioneer Doctors — Paper by Dr. C. A. Moore — Early Medical 
Advertisements — Dr. Andrew Wall — Personal Mention of Members of the Fra- 
ternity — List of Early Guernsey County Physicians — Present-Day Physicians 
■ — Medical Societies — Keenan's Hospital. 

CHAPTER XVI— NEWSPAPERS OF GUERNSEY COUNTY 215 

The First Newspaper — The Guernsey Times — The Washington Republican, the 
First Democratic Paper — The Jeffersonian — The (hiernsey 'limes — Joseryh 
Sterling Thomas — People's Press — A Curious Editorial — The Cambridge Her- 
ald — Other Cambridge Newspapers — Newspapers at Pleasant City — Byesville 
Newspapers— Those at Cumberland— Quaker City Papers. 

CHAPTER XVI— BANKS AND BANKING 221 

Banks Established Early to Meet a Demand — Wild-cat Money — Discount on 
Bank Notes — An Old Bank Detecter— Old Time Values— Value of Town Lots — 
Guernsey County's First Bank — National Bank of Cambridge — Guernsey Na- 
tional Bank — Citizens Savings Bank — Central National Bank 1 — Cambridge Sav- 
ings Bank — People's Bank — Guernsey Building and Loan Company — Byesville 
Banking — Banking at Cumberland — Senecaville — Quaker City — Cambridge 
Loan and Building Company — Bank Failures. 

CHAPTER XVII— MINES AND MINING 239 

Mineral Resources of Guernsey County — Development of Coal Mines — Statis- 
tics — Description of the Large Mines — Smaller Mines of the County — Salt 
Manufactory — Natural Gas. 

CHAPTER XVIII— THE CITY OF CAMBRIDGE 245 

Origin of Name — Location — The Oldest House in Town — Levi Morgan — Early 
History — Settlers — The Whipping Post in Cambridge — Early Deeds Made^- 
Early Business Prospects — The Old Market House — Cambridge Postoffice — 
Early Stage Lines and Mail Service — A Postoffice "Primary" Incident— First 
Telegraph in Cambridge — Municipal History— Present City Officers^The Pub- 
lic Library — The City Cemeteries — Religious Worship — Temperance Move- 
ments — Important Events — Gen. Tom Thumb — First Events — Lorenzo Dow in 
Cambridge — William Henry Harrison Here — Long-ago Incidents — Old Wills 
Creek Bridge — A Cambridge Newsboy — Boom the Town — Industrial Cam- 
bridge^ — Prominent Industries — A Cambridge Fire — A Midnight Fire — Fire of 
1S95— A Terrible Death. 

CHAPTER XIX— ADAMS TOWNSHIP 281 

Boundaries — Old Settlers — Personal Mention of Pioneers Who Settled in the 
Township. 

CHAPTER XX— CAMBRIDGE TOWNSHIP 2S4 

One of the Original Five Townships — Present Boundaries and Area — Streams 
— Roads — Home of the First White Settler in Guernsey County. 

CHAPTER XXI— CENTRE TOWNSHIP 285 

Area and Boundaries — Early Settlement — Prominent Early Pioneers — Centre- 
ville— Craig. 



CHAPTER XXII— JEFFERSON TOWNSHIP 288 

A Township Without a Village — Area — Aged Residents of the Township- 
First Actual Settlers. 

CHAPTER XXIII— JACKSON TOWNSHIP 291 

Named in Honor of General Jackson — Organization — -Area — Pioneers Living 
in 1882— Prominent Early Families — Byesville»— Incorporation History — Fac- 
tories — Postofflce — Business Directory of 1910. 

CHAPTER XXIV— KNOX TOWNSHIP 296 

Boundary of the Township — An Agricultural Community — Old Settlers Sur- 
viving in 1876 1 — Sketches of Some of the Early Settlers. 

CHAPTER XXV— OXFORD TOWNSHIP 298 

Physical Description of the Township — Organization of the Township — The 
Zane Trace — First Settlement in the Township— Platting of Fairview— Post- 
office — Mayors — Business Interests. 

CHAPTER XXVI— LIBERTY TOWNSHIP 303 

Organization— A Good Agricultural Section — A Contented People — Old Resi- 
dents — Towns and Villages — Kimbolton — Business Interests. 

CHAPTER XXVII— RICHLAND TOWNSHIP 306 

Description of Township — Early Settlers — Towns and Villages — Lore City — 
Incorporation and Town Officers — Senecaville — Incorporation — Business Inter- 
ests in 1910 — Early Conditions and Events. 

CHAPTER XXVIII— MILLWOOD TOWNSHIP 311 

Area — Rich in Agricultural and Mineral Resources — Aged Early Settlers Sur- 
viving in 1S76 — Prominent Families — True Pioneer Hall^Shroud and Coffin- 
Towns and Villages — Millwood, now Quaker City— Salesville — Its Inception 
—Present History— Business Factors— Incorporation of Quaker City— Present 
Business Interests — Town Officers. 

CHAPTER XXIX— MONROE TOWNSHIP 320 

Formerly a Part of Jefferson Township — Area — Drainage — New Birmingham 
— Pioneers Surviving in 1876. 

CHAPTER XXX— MADISON TOWNSHIP 322 

Organization— First Election — List of Aged Pioneers in 1876 — Edward Bratton, 
the First White Settler— Other Pioneers. 

CHAPTER XXXI— SPENCER TOWNSHIP 324 

Organization and First Election — Boundary — Irrigation and Drainage — Pio- 
neer Names — First Settlers — Town of Cumberland — Facts of Interest — Busi- 
ness Factors in 1910. 

CHAPTER XXXII— WHEELING TOWNSHIP 329 

Boundary and Area— Streams and Road3— First Settler— The Pioneer Band — 
Town of Guernsey — Bird's Run — A Strange Natural Formation. 

CHAPTER XXXIII— WESTLAND TOWNSHIP 332 

One of the Original Townships — Physical Characteristics— Early Settlers^ 
survivors in 1876. 



CONTENTS. 

CHAPTER XXXIV— LONDONDERRY TOWNSHIP 335 

Area and Boundary — Old Residents in 1S76 — Platting of Londonderry — Early 
Organization of Quakers— Early-day School Facilities. 

CHAPTER XXXV— WASHINGTON TOWNSHIP 337 

Boundary— Drainage — A Good Agricultural Section— Its Early Settlers — Levi 
Williams, the Pioneer — Towns and Villages — Antrim — Winchester. 

CHAPTER XXXVI— WILLS TOWNSHIP 341 

Location — Well Watered 1 — Prominent Early Settlers Surviving in the Centen- 
nial Year — Woolen Factory — Pioneers — Towns and Villages of the Township — 
Elizabethtown— Washington*— Present Officers and Population— Present Busi- 
ness Interests — An Early Sketch — Originally Called Beymerstown— Frankfort 
—Village of Derwent — Formerly a Sheep-Raising District. 

CHAPTER XXXVIP— VALLEY TOWNSHIP 349 

Organization and Location — A Rich Mineral Section— First Settlers — Pleasant 
City— Its History, as Told by Ahe T. Secrest — Business Factors of 1910 — Mu- 
nicipal History — Buffalo (old Hartford) — Old Mills — Fire— Present Interests. 

CHAPTER XXXVIII— MISCELLANEOUS EVENTS OF INTEREST 357 

Unique Advertisements — A Slave Case — The "Underground Railroad" — Some 
Peculiar Notices — Siamese Twins — Cambridge Markets in 1837 and 1S54 — Mar- 
ket Prices at Later Dates — Present Prices — California Gold Fever Here — The 
Pennyroyal Reunion Society" — A Curious Old Paper — Early Highway Rob- 
bery — Henry Clay in Cambridge — Colonel Sarchet's Birthday Banquet — Early 
Guernsey County Marriages — A Human Team — Meteoric Shower of 1833 — Cy- 
clones — Hail Storm in 1S20 — Cold Weather Statistics — Oldest Man in the 
County — Grave Robbing — The First Mails — Daring Mail Robbery — Postoffices 
in 1895 — Guernsey County's Man-Woman- — Days of Mourning — Death of Presi- 
dent Harrison — President Lincoln's Assassination — Death of President Gar- 
field — President Grant's Memorial Services — Death of President McKinley — 
Sarchet Brothers and Their Bible — An Old Bridge. 

CHAPTER XXXIX— GENERAL REMINISCENCES. 393 

Pioneer Incidents— Salt for Wheat— The Old Mill— Flour and Salt— Pack Sad- 
dle — An Indian Wedding*— Early Whiskey-dog Trial — County's Pioneers — Local 
Historical Sketch — Early Days on Wills Creek — Sarchet Gives Some History 
— General Jackson's Visit to Cambridge — "From Hen to Mouth" — The Old 
i-'ike and Early Inns. 



HISTORICAL INDEX 



A 

Academy, Cambridge 134 

Acorn Chapter, O. E. S 171 

A Curious Editorial 220 

A Curious Old Paper 372 

Adams Township 281 

Agricultural Interests 17S 

Agricultural Societies 180 

Agricultural Statistics 179 

Aid Societies, Soldiers' 98 

A Lost Town 44 

Anderson Lodge, I. O. O. F 174 

Anecdote of John McDonald 35 

An Old Bridge 392 

Antrim 340 

A Peculiar Season 1S4 

A Revolutionary Character SO 

A Slave Case 358 

Assassination of President Lincoln. 389 

Assessments for 1S35 GI 

Assessments for 1910 61 

Associate Judges $2 

A Terrible Death 278 

Attorneys, List of 202 

Auditors, County 82 

Austin, Dr. Charles R 210 

B 

Baltimore & Ohio Railroad 194 

Bank Failures 238 

Bank of Cumberland 235 

Banks and Banking 224 

Baptist Church 103 

Bar of Guernsey County 197 

Battle of Point Pleasant 32 

Benevolent and Protective Order of 

Elks 170 

Beymerstown 340 

Bible, Sarchet Brothers' 392 

Birthday Banquet, Colonel Sarchet's 370 

Black Hawk 2G4 

Bolan, Dr. William K 208 

Boom the Town 271 



Boundaries of Guernsey County .... 25 

Bouquet's Expedition 31 

Bratton, Edward 323 

British Acquire Ownership 3i> 

Broadhead's Trail 27 

Buffalo 350 

Buffalo M. E. Church 145 

Buffalo Presbyterian Church 152 

Byesville 293 

Byesville Banking 234 

Byesville Baptist Church 105 

Byesville, Business Directory 295 

Byesville Catholic Church 147 

Byesville Enterprise 222 

Byesville, Incorporation of 293 

Byesville Lodge, I. O. O. F 174 

Byesville M. E. Church 142 

Byesville M. P. Church 149 

Byesville Postoffice 295 

Byesville U. P. Church , 101 

C 

California Gold Fever 300 

Cambridge Academy 134 

Cambridge Baptist Church 103 

Cambridge Catholic Church 140 

Cambridge Cemeteries 2G0 

Cambridge Chapter, R. A. M 109 

Cambridge Commandery, K. T 109 

Cambridge, Early History 247 

Cambridge Encampment, P. M 173 

Cambridge Episcopal Church 159 

Cambridge E. L. Church 155 

Cambridge Fire 276 

Cambridge, First Settlers 247 

Cambridge Herald 220 

Cambridge, Industries of 273 

Cambridge Loan and Building Com- 
pany 237 

Cambridge, Location of 245 

Cambridge Lodge, B. P. O E 170 

Cambridge Lodge, F. & A. M 16S 

Cambridge Lodge, I. O O. F 173 



HISTORICAL INDEX. 



Cambridge Lodge, K. P 1'* 

Cambridge Markets, 1837 305 

Cambridge Markets, 1854 304 

Cambridge, Mayors of 2o7 

Cambridge M. E. Church 138 

Cambridge M. P. Church 147 

Cambridge, Municipal History 257 

Cambridge Newsboy 271 

Cambridge Postoffice 253 

Cambridge Presbyterian Church 149 

Cambridge Public Library 258 

Cambridge Savings Bank 233 

Cambridge Schools 120 

Cambridge Scouts 101 

Cambridge Seminary 134 

Cambridge Soldiers' Monument 113 

Cambridge Township 284 

Cambridge U. B. Church 155 

Cambridge U. P. Church 160 

Campaign of 1S40 65 

Campaign of 1844 68 

Captain Beatty's Company 92 

Captain Beymer's Company 90 

Captain Martin's Company 91 

Catholic Church 146 

Cemeteries at Cambridge 2C0 

Central National Bank 232 

Central Ohio Railroad 194 

Centre Township 285 

Children's Home 59 

Christian Church 145 

Church History 138 

Citizens Savings Bank 232 

City of Cambridge 245 

Civil "War 94 

Civil War Vote 71 

Clark, George Rogers 32 

Claysville M. E. Church 144 

Clerks of Court 82 

Cleveland & Marietta Railroad 195 

Coal Mines, Description of 241 

Cold Weather Statistics 383 

College, Madison 135 

Colonial Ohio Land Company 30 

Commencement, First 130 

Commissioners, County 84 

Congressmen 70 

Cook, Murder of Marshal 97 

Coroners 86 

County Auditors 82 



County Commissioners 84, 

County Government 53 

County Infirmary 58 

County Jail 58 

County Officers, First 53 

County's Pioneers 397 

County Recorders 83 

County-seat Question 54 

County Surveyors 83 

County Treasurers 80 

Court House, First 55 

Court House, Present 50 

Court Officers 202 

Cumberland 327 

Cumberland Baptist Church 105 

Cumberland Chapter, O. E. S 172 

Cumberland Echo 222 

Cumberland Lodge, F. & A. M 170 

Cumberland Lodge, I. O. O. F 174 

Cumberland M. E. Church 143 

Cumberland Presbyterian Church .. 152 

Cumberland Presbyterian Church... 154 

Cumberland Savings Bank 235 

Cyclones 381 

D 

Daughters of Rebekah 174 

Days of Mourning 389 

Death of President Garfield 390 

Death of President Harrison 389 

Death of President McKinley 391 

Death Sentences 198 

Deeds, Early 249 

Defalcation, Treasury 02 

Derwent 347 

Discipline, Pioneer School 132 

Drafts for Military Service 97 

Drainage of Guernsey County 25 

E 

Earliest Physicians 212 

Early Business Prospects 250 

Early Days on Wills Creek 415 

Early Deeds 249 

Early Guernsey County Physicians. . 210 

Early Highway Robbery 373 

Early Inns 419 

Early Lawyers 199 

Early Marriages 379 

Early River Venture 193 

Early Settlement of County 40 



HISTORICAL INDEX. 



Educational Development 117 

Elizabethtown 344 

Episcopal Church 159 

Evangelical Lutheran Church 155 

Expedition by Bouquet : . 31 

F 

Fairview 301 

Farview, Business Interests of 302 

Fairview, Mayors of 3(11 

Fairview U. P. Church 102 

Fire of 1S95 277 

First Colored Jury 198 

First Commencement 130 

First County Officers 53 

First Court House 55 

First Flat Boat 190 

First Free School 117 

First Grand Jury 198 

First Mails 386 

First National Bank, Byesville 234 

First National Bank, Senecaville ... 230 

First Steamboat on Wills Creek.... 192 

First Telegraph 250 

First Volunteers 95 

Flag Poles, Old-time 09 

Flour and Salt 394 

Frankfort 347 

Free and Accepted Masons 107 

Free School, First 117 

French Assert Ownership 30 

Friends Church 145 

"From Hen to Mouth" 419 

G 

Garfield, President, Death of 390 

Golden Rod Templef R. S 175 

Gold Fever 300 

Good Fleeces 180 

Goshen Baptist Church 105 

Government, County 53 

Grand Army of the Republic 116 

Grant. President, Memorial Services 390 

Grave Robbing 3S5 

Graves, Soldiers' 115 

Gubernatorial Vote 75 

Guernsey 330 

Gurnsey Building and Loan Company 234 

Guernsey Capter, O. E. S 170 

Guernsey Council, R. & S. M 109 

(2) 



Guernsey County Agricultural So- 
ciety 180 

Guernsey County, Boundaries " 25 

Guernsey County, Drainage of 20 

Guernsey County, Organization of . . 38 

Guernsey County's First Bank 228 

Guernsey County Soldiers 97 

Guernsey County, Topography of 25 

Guernsey Lodge, F. & A. M 107 

Guernsey National Bank 232 

Guernsey Times 215 

H 

Hail Storm 383 

Harmony E. L. Church 158 

Harrison, President, Death of 389 

Hartford 350 

Henry Clay, Visit of 375 

Highway Robbery 373 

Hill, Dr. Noah 209 

Historical Sketch 413 

Holmes, Dr. Harry W 209 

Home, Children's 59 

Human Team 379 

Hunt, Dr. Samuel 208 

I 

Important Events 204 

Incorporated Towns 44 

Independent Order of Odd Fellows . . 173 

Indian Camp 33 

Indian Disturbances 31 

Indian History 32 

Indian Occupancy 30 

Indian Treaty 32 

Indian Wedding 395 

Indians, Removal of 32 

Industrial Cambridge 273 

Infirmary 5s 

Infirmary Directors So 

J 

Jackson, General. Visit of 418 

Jackson Township 291 

Jail 58 

Jefferson Township 288 

Jim Lyons 35 

Judges, Associate 82 

Judges, Probate 86 

Justices of the Peace 199 



HISTORICAL INDEX. 



K 

Kackley, Dr. Jonathan A 209 

Keenan's Hospital 214 

Kimbolton 305 

Kimbolton M. E. Church 144 

Knights of Pythias 174 

Knox Township 296 

L 

Lawyers. Present 202 

Leaving County With Flat Boat 192 

Lebanon U. P. Church 162 

Liberty 305 

Liberty Township 303 

Life of the Pioneers 47 

Lincoln, Assassination of 389 

Londonderry Township 335 

Long-ago Incidents 268 

Lore City 307 

Lore City Lodge, I. O. O. F 174 

Lore City M. E. Church 144 

Lore City Presbyterian Church 152 

Lorenzo Dow 266 

Luccock, Naphtali 66 

Mc 

McDonald, Anecdote of Col. John... 35 

McKinley, President, Death of 391 

McKinley, Visit to 72 

McNeil, Archie 424 

M 

Macedonia Baptist Church 164 

Madison College 135 

Madison Township 322 

Mail Robbery 387 

Mails, The First 386 

Man-Woman, Guernsey County's 387 

Market House, The Old 251 

Market Prices 365 

Marriages. Early 379 

Masonic Calendar 172 

Masonic Order 167 

Masonic Temple 172 

Medical Advertising 205 

Medical Profession 203 

Medical Societies 213 

Metcalf 's Tavern 2 46 

Meteoric Shower .' 380 

Methodist Episcopal Church 13S 



Methodist Protestant Church 147 

Mexican War 94 

Midnight Fire 277 

Military Drafts 97 

Military History of County 88 

Military Land District 38 

Miller, Dr. Thomas J 209 

Millwood Township 311 

Mines and Mining 239 

Mines, Description of 241 

Mining Accidents 240 

Mining Statistics 240 

Miscellaneous Events 357 

Monroe Township 320 

Monument, Soldiers' 113 

Morgan's Raid 98 

Murder of Marshal Cook 97 

Mystic Shrine 170 

N 

Names of Streams 26 

Names, Origin of 28 

National Bank of Cambridge 229 

Natural Gas 244 

National Road 185 

Newspapers of the County 215 

New Washington 18 7 

O 

Ohio River & Western Railroad 196 

Old Bank Detector 225 

Oldest House in Cambridge 245 

Oldest Man in the County 385 

Old Market House 251 

Old-time Flag Poles 69 

Old-Time Values 226 

Old Wills Creek Bridge 270 

Organization of County 38 

Original Townships 39 

Origin of Names 28 

Otterbein U. B. Church 154 

Oxford Township 298 

P 

Pack Saddle 395 

Pennsylvania Railroad 195 

Pennyroyal Reunion Society 369 

People's Bank 234 

Physicians, Present-day 212 

Pioneer Doctors 204 

Pioneer School Discipline 132 

Pioneers, County's 397 



HISTORICAL INDEX. 



Pioneers, Life of the 47 

Pleasant City 350 

Pleasant City Chapter, O. E. S 172 

Pleasant City B. L. Church 156 

Pleasant City Lodge, K. P 175 

Pleasant City M. E. Church 145 

Pleasant City Recorder 222 

Pleasant Hill U. P. Church 162 

Point Pleasant, Battle of 32 

Point Pleasant Lodge, F. & A. M... 171 

Postoffice at Cambridge 25iJ 

Postoffices 3S7 

Presbyterian Church 149 

Present Court House 56 

Present Court Officers 202 

Present-day Physicians 212 

Present Lawyers 202 

Presidential Vote 75 

Princes of Jerusalem 170 

Probate Judges 86 

Prohibition, Vote on 74 

Prosecuting Attorneys 86 

Public Library 258 

Q 

Quaker City 317 

Quaker City Chapter, O. E. S 172 

Quaker City Christian Church 145 

Quaker City Independent 223 

Quaker City Lodge, F. & A. M 171 

Quaker City Lodge, K. P 176 

Quaker City M. E. Church 144 

Quaker City National Bank 236 

Quakers 145 

R 

Raid, Morgan's OS 

Railroad Era 194 

Railways 185 

Rathbone Sisters 175 

Recorders, County 83 

Recorder's Record 60 

Record of Recorder 60 

Regimental Printer 98 

Religious Worship 262 

Reminiscences 393 

Representatives 78 

Richland Township 306 

Robbery, Early Highway 373 



St. Benedict's Catholic Church 146 

Salesville 315 

Salesville M. E. Church 143 

Salt for Wheat 393 

Salt Manufactory 243 

Sarchet, Colonel, Birthday Banquet. 376 

Sarchet Family Bible 392 

Schools, Cambridge 126 

School Discipline, Pioneer 132 

School Statistics 133 

Scott, Dr. Winfield 210 

Second Baptist Church 163 

Second U. B. Church 155 

Second U. P. Church 16U 

Secret Societies 167 

Seminary, Cambridge 134 

Senators, State 78 

Seneca Lodge, K. P 176 

Senecaville 308 

Senecaville Lodge, I. O. O. F 174 

Senecaville Lutheran Church 157 

Senecaville M. E. Church 145 

Senecaville Presbyterian Church 153 

Settlement, Early 46 

Seven Ranges ISO 

Sheep Industry 179 

Sheriffs 81 

Shroud and Coffin 314 

Siamese Twins 363 

Simons, Dr. Charles P 208 

Soldiers' Aid Societies 98 

Soldiers from Guernsey County 97 

Soldiers' Graves 115 

Soldiers' Monument 113 

Soldiers of 1812 90, 93 

Some Peculiar Notices 361 

Spanish-American War 112 

Spencer's Station 315 ■ 

Spencer Township 324 

State Senators 78 

Streams, Names of 26, 29 

Surveyors, County 83 

T 

Telegraph, First in Cambridge 256 

Temperance Movements 262 

The Jeffersonian 215 

The Old Pike 185, 189, 419 



HISTORICAL INDEX. 



The Old Mill 393 

The RepublicmirPress 219 

Toll Gate Statistics 189 

Tom Thumb 265 

Topography of Guernsey County.... 25 

Town Plats 41 

Townships, Organization of 39, 54 

Townships, Original 39 

Treasurers, County Sti 

Treasury Defalcation 62 

U 

Underground Railroad 358 

Union School 127 

Unique Advertisements 357 

United Brethren Church 154 

United Presbyterian Church 160 

V 

Valley Township 349 

Visit to McKinley 72 

Vote, Gubernatorial 75 

Vote in 1824 65 

Vote on Prohibition 74 

Vote, Presidential 75 

Volunteers, First 95 

W 

Wall, Dr. Andrew 206 



Washington 344 

Washington Fair 183 

Washington, George 31 

Washington M. E. Church 145 

Washington Presbyterian Church... 153 

Washington Republican 215 

Washington Township 337 

Washington U. P. Church 161 

Water Navigation 185 

Weather Statistics 383 

Westland Township 332 

Wheeling Road 1S6 

Wheeling Township 329 

Whipping Post 248 

Whiskey-dog Trial 396 

Whittier, Andrew 89 

William Henry Harrison, Visit of.. 267 

Wills Creek Bridge 270 

Wills Creek, Early Days on 415 

Wills Township 341 

Winchester 34U 

Wool Industry 179 

Wounded Deer 49 

Z 

Zane's Trace 27, 186 



BIOGRAPHICAL INDEX 



Abels, James D old 

Adair, William J 71':; 

Albin, Perry M 531 

Allison, Richard M 907 

Amos, John M 544 

Anderson, Charles M SIS 

Anderson, John 813 

Anderson, Matthias C S13 

Arbuckle, Alexander W 725 

Arndt, David 608 

Arndt, Howard W 608 

Atkins, Robert H 791 

Atkins, Robert N 59a 

Ault, Charles M 650 

Austin, Charles R 7S3 

B 

Bair. James G 505 

Banta, Charles Levi 517 

Barber, Nathan H 894, 

Barnes, John W 670 

Barr, James R 926 

Bayless, Osmond M 533 

Beckett, John C 477 

Bell, Oscar 604 

Bell, William H 674 

Bennett, Arthur J 625 

Berry, John S 909 

Berry, Oscar J 758 

Bierly, William F 492 

Bird, Frank E...' 852 

Black, Archibald L 7S7 

Blair, William H 839 

Bond, John H 685 

Bonnell, Thomas A 4S2 

Bostwick, John A 554 

Bostwick, Nathan 555 

Bown, Herbert H 529 

Braden, Daniel E S99 

Bradford, William X 654 

Bratton, John B 770 

Bratton, Samuel, Jr 511 

Brown, J. Marshall 550 



Brown, Turner G 889 

Brown, William H 648 

Bruner, John L 600 

Burgess, Samuel M 494 

Burt, David S 72s 

Burt, John M 762 

C 

Cain, Albert R 672 

Cale, John W 801 

Campbell, James W 468 

Carnes, Samuel C 578 

Carter, Samuel 610 

Casey, Charles L 501 

Catholic Church in Guernsey County. 480 

Clark, John Bargar 945 

Clark, Richard J 572 

Clark, Stephen B 519 

Clark, Thomas C 571 

Cochran, Alexander 615 

Coen, Alexander L 596 

Combs, James G 822 

Combs, John M Sll 

Conner, Silas W 60S 

Conroy, Dennis 967 

Cowden, David L 919 

Cowden. William N 919 

Craig, Samuel A 662 

Cubbison, James 588 

Cuhbison, Pulaski 5S7 

D 

Davis, Carson B SOU 

Davis, William H GSS 

Davis, William H., Jr 776 

Deselm, Wilbur D 7S6 

Dickersou, George W 715 

Dilley, Ephraim M \77 

Dilley, James L S34 

Dollison. Joseph B G27 

Dowdall, William W «7:; 

Druesedow. Anton E 097 

Dyson, Joseph W 520 



UOCKAPHICAL INDEX. 



Eagleson, Alexander G bi9 

Eagleson, Thomas 534 

Eagleton, William 913 

Eagleton, John 913 

Eaton, James E 612 

Eaton, Philip W 606 

Enos, Benjamin F 515 

Evans, William P 830 

F 

Fairchild, John T 861 

Ferguson, Ira 503 

Ferguson, Joseph B 629 

Finley, John F 778 

Finley, Samuel A 777 

Fishel, John B 774 

Forbes, Robert S 786 

Forsythe, Homer A 901 

Forsythe, William R 923 

Fowler, Thomas W 951 

Frame, Roland S 793 

Frost, John W. . : 622 

Frye, Charles W 771 

Frye, George W 581 

Frye, Henry F 760 

Frye, William K 761 

G 

Gable, John E 496 

Galbraith, Henry) <P -. S28i 

Gander, David C 710 

Gander, Homer S 707 

Gibson, William H 619 

Graham, Richard C 552 

Grant, John Roland 961 

Green, Elmer E 932 

Green, Fred F 870 

Green, James 931 

Green, Willoughby B 937 

Gregg. John B 537 

Gregg, William D 589 

Gregg, William J 590 

Groves, Samuel C 773 

H 

Hall. Edward 911 

Hall, Isaac W 58* 

Hall. John R 5S5 

Hartley, Leon C 929 

Hartley, Milton L 929 

Hawes, James F 779 



Hawes, Joseph 78" 

Hayman, Jacob H 6x2 

Heade, Wilson S 521 

Heaume, William E 528 

Heiner, Charles A 722 

Henderson, James C 790 

Hilderbrand, Benjamin 1 858 

Hoopman, Elijah B 750 

Hoopman, James A 750 

Hoopman. Parmer E 757 

Hoopman. William H 512 

Hunt, William A 789 

Hutton, William A .874 

Hyatt, John H 940 

Hyatt, Noah 947 

J 

Jackson, Coleman B 881 

Jackson, Samuel 740 

Jenkins, David J 884 

Johnson, Samuel M 042 

Johnston, Andrew S. T 597 

Johnston, Francis 597 

Johnston, Willard B 024 

Johnston, William F 921 

Joyce, Benjamin B 558 

K 

Kaho, George S 095 

Keenan, Isaac W 500 

Koontz, Henry A 802 

Koren, Joseph 812 

L 

Laughlin, James 854 

Lawyer, William M 524 

Lee, Benjamin F SS2 

Lepage, Nathaniel 837 

Linkhorn, L. S 70S 

Linn, David 548. 

Lofland, Gordon 480 

Lowry, Orlando F 514 

Luccock, Howard W 050 

Lynch, Edward S45 

Me 

McBurney, James R 007 

McConnell, John M 579 

McCourt, James 737 

McCracken, Alexander 8C8 

McCreary, James H 090 

McCreary, John L 781 



BIOGRAPHICAL INDEX. 



MeCulloeh, Allen R S9S 

Mcllyar, Clyde R G59 

McKim, Martin V 017 

McKinley, Thomas W 717 

McMillen, George A 700 

M 

Mahaffey, John P 498 

Marsh, D. Dillon 640 

Mathews, Edward W., Jr 500 

Mathews, Edward W., Sr 405 

Meek, Erastus F S24 

Merry, Abraham M 908 

Millhone, Elijah S71 

Moore, Andrew Bines S32 

Moore, Hiram K. '. S96 

Moore, Isaac 70S 

Moore, James W S7S 

Moore, Robert B 798 

Moore, Ross 527 

Moore, Thomas 1 708 

Moore, "Wiley 57(J 

Moorhead, Joel 539 

Moorhead. John S 843 

Morgan, John H 484 

Morton, Isaac 033 

Moser, William M 831 

Murray, Alexander R 031 

Murray, James G31 

N 

Nash, John H 735 

Neeland, Elijah 705 

Nelson, Edwin M 680 

Nichols, W. G 972 

Nicholson, Andrew W 747 

Nicholson, Jacob 800 

Nicholson. John L S09 

Nicholson, John R 755 

Nicholson, Ulysses G 749 

Nosset, David W 5G4 

O 

Orr, Charles A 508 

Ogier, John, Jr 541 

Oldham, Isaac. A S85 

Oldham, Isaac J 609 

Orr. James Clinton 507 

P 

Patton, James E 543 

People's Bank, Pleasant City 493 

Peters, James B 952 



Pitt, Albert E M0 

Potts, Benjamin 077 

Pryor, James A 820 

Purdum, U. C 540 

Purdum, Zaehary 540 

Pyles. Thomas 943 

R 

Ramsey, William T 784 

Rankin, Daniel L 804 

Reasoner, Lynn S 035 

Reasoner, Thomas H 030 

Reynolds, John 001 

Riddle, Lincoln 759 

Riggs, Eugene C *87 

Ringer, Arthur G 607 

Robins, James E 583 

Robins, John, Sr 5S3 

Robins, Martin L 584 

Rogers, Lawson A 815 

Rogers, Lilburn C 940 

Rosemond Family 933 

Rosemond, Fred L : 930 

S 

St. Benedict's Catholic Church 480 

Salladay, George 507 

Salladay, Jacob W 910 

Salladay, Lewis F 573 

Salladay, Warren 574 

Sarchet, Cyrus P. B 403 

Sarchet Family 457 

Sarchet, Moses 46'2 

Sarchet, Thomas, Sr 458 

Schick Brothers 949 

Schick, Frank L, Jr 950 

Schick, Frank L, Sr 949 

Schick, John B 951 

Scott, Nathan B 733 

Scott, Robert T 8G6 

Secrest, George M 792 

Secrest, Harrison 851 

Secrest, Jacob F 591 

Secrest, James M 850 

Secrest, James W sos 

Secrest, Noah E 739 

Secrest, Noah E 713 

Secrest, William 795 

Shaw, George R 727 

Shepler, Robert 1 705 

Sheppard, Benjamin F 470 



J-.KXiKAPIUCAL INDEX. 



Sheppard, Charles S C02 

Sheppard, William S 970 

Sherby, Michael 5G2 

Shriver, John W 692 

Shriver, Mark Gordon 699 

Shriver, Michael E (598 

Siegfried, Jacob B 536 

Siens, Milton H 557 

Simpson, William L, G21 

Skinner, James A G47 

Smith, Ernest W 724 

Smith, Frank R 509 

Smith, George M 942 

Smith, Jeremiah R 8G9 

Spaid, Chaise J 971 

Spaid, James E 859 

Spaid, Thomas A 702 

Stage, William M 827 

Stage, William S S27 

Stevens, Alpheus L 472 

Stewart, James B 574 

Stone, ^Elias D S4S 

Stout, George H 924 

Strauch, Matthew 719 

Stubbs, Isaac E G52 

Suitt, William C G65 

T 

Taylor, Alexander A 904 

Taylor, David D 592 

Taylor, Joseph D 953 

Taylor, Orlamdo R S42 

Temple. Edward 704 

Temple, Lafayette 704 

Temple, William 704 

Thompson, Bert M 473 

Thompson, Ebenezer F S29 

Thompson, John A 864 



Thompson, William 829 

Trenner, Benjamin G93 

Trenner, George S G44 

Trenner, Obediah E 847 

Trott, Elza D 752 

True, Alfred J 565 

Turner, George 488 

Turner, William H 488 

U 

Upton, William H 47G 

V 

Vankirk, Samuel C 917 

Veitch, Henry H S91 

Vessels, John A 9G5 

Vorhies, Elmer E 892 

W 

Wagner, Rev. J. H 480 

Wall, Andrew 720 

Warne, Clinton D G91 

White, Isaac N 670 

Williams, Henry L 523 

Williams, Robert N 743 

Wills, Theodore M 85G 

Wilson, Henry H 638 

Wilson, James M 963 

Wilson, Samuel, Sr 638 

Wilson, William C 964 

Wilson, William H 5G9 

Wires, John 731 

Woodworth, Henry P 902 

Wycoff, Albert E 714 

Y 

Yeo, William B 741 

Young, Ora F 712 

Z 

Zahniser. Robert W 915 



HISTORICAL. 



CHAPTER I. 



TOPOGRAPHY AND GEOLOGY NATURAL FEATURES. 

Guernsey county is bounded on the north by Tuscarawas and Harrison 
counties, on the east by Belmont county, on the south by Noble and on the 
west by Muskingum and Coshocton counties. Its soil is derived chiefly from 
the underlying rocks, which are mostly shales or sandstone. Except on the 
eastern borders, where the limestone at the base of the upper coal measure is 
reached, this applies where the soil is loose and thin. In some places it 
affords barely enough hold for the growth of grasses on the steep hillsides. 
A very small portion of the lands in the count}' were uncultivated later than 
1880. It has every facility for a good dairy section, and to this many have, 
of late years, turned their attention with much profit. Its many springs and 
cooling streams make it an ideal country for this branch of farm industry. 
Sheep also do well and long years since the county ranked third and fourth 
of all the counties in Ohio in the production of sheep and wool. 

The county, generally speaking, is very hilly and uneven in its topog- 
raph)-. It has been rightly termed "up hill and down hill" in its make-up. 
The highest ground is in the northwest and southwest portions. Four miles 
out of this county — over in Muskingum county — west from Spencer town- 
ship, Guernsey county, is situated High hill, the highest isolated point in 
Ohio, though in Logan county the general altitude is greater. There is a 
romantic appearance to the general topography here. Strange to say, there 
are no valleys but those shut in and surrounded by other hills and valleys. 
There are quiet dells, retiring far between the swelling hills, and this makes 
the whole scene one of beauty and charm to the passer-by. The slopes afford 
good pasture, and in many instances the hillsides are covered with fine vine- 
yards. The best mines in the count}- are located in the southern part. The 
southwestern section affords an excellent farming country, and many years 
ago this was noted for its wealth of livestock and prosperous farmers. 



2b GUERNSEY COUNTY, OHIO. 

The drainage of the county is by the valley of Wills creek, a branch of 
the Muskingum river. . The headwaters of Wills creek include the well- 
known streams or creeks, Leathenvood, Crooked creek, Salt fork, Bushy 
creek, and Sugar Tree fork, Leathenvood being the larger of these tributaries. 
Wills creek flows from its headwaters in Noble county, through the entire 
length of Guernsey, emptying into the Muskingum near the corners of Musk- 
ingum and Coshocton counties. All other streams in this section of Ohio 
How toward the south, but Wills creek flows north — away from the Ohio. It 
is a sluggish stream, following a tortuous course, north and south, through 
the western part of the county, with scarcely a foot fall per mile — hence its 
sluggishness. Its numerous tributaries form a complete network throughout 
the entire county. The soil through Which Wills creek flows is yellowish, 
hence the yellow appearance of this stream everywhere it meanders. 

The county abounds in a good grade of both lime and sandstone and 
valuable clays; it also has an abundance of excellent timber, though much 
of the original forests have been long ago cut and sawed, leaving, how- 
ever, a good supply for the present and oncoming generations. Beech, 
poplar, sycamore, oak, chestnut, maple, elm and ash are among the valua- 
ble varieties of timber growing. 

Coal, which is mentioned in the Mining chapter, underlies almost every 
portion of the county and has come to be the most paying branch of Guern- 
sey county's industries. Salt can be had by boring wells, which was done at 
a very early date in the history of the county. 

Nature, everywhere within the confines of this county, smiles on man 
and yields up her treasures of soil and mineral wealth. The landscape 
certainly is one "ever a feast to the eye." and is admired by resident and 
stranger alike. Wlien the spring buds put forth, there is a sweetness in the 
atmosphere one seldom finds elsewhere. When autumn puts on her robes 
of beauty and silently glides winterward, no finer hues and brilliant com- 
mingling of forest leaves can be seen on the continent. While there are 
many countries with a deeper, richer soil, and where the raising of crops 
can lie carried on with less work and more profit, there are few better coun- 
tries for the general resources that go toward making man happy and con- 
tented with what nature has given him. 

The following interesting items concerning the streams of this county 
and their names are from the pen of Hon. William M. Farrar: The streams 
of Guernsey county come somewhat curiously by their names, as Leather- 
wood, from a bush having a tough, leathery bark used by the pioneers for 
many useful purposes; Yoker. from the yoker brush that grows along its 



GUERNSEV COUNTYj OHIO. -'7 

banks; Wills creek, from Wills river, Maryland; Crooked creek, from its 
winding course; Little and Big Skull forks, from the fact that in early times 
the Indians, having made one of their raids into the white settlements east 
of the Ohio river, were returning" with their prisoners, among whom were 
a mother and infant child; being pursued, they first killed the infant and 
left the body to he devoured by the wolves, who left no remains hut the lit- 
tle skull; farther on the mother was killed, and in like manner devoured by 
the wolves, leaving only the skull. These skulls were found by the pursuing 
whites on the hanks of the streams which thus received their respective 
names. Another stream is named Indian Camp, from one of their camping 
grounds. 

The settlement of the county was curious, in that settlers from so many 
different districts met here. The Virginians and Guernseymen met at Wills 
creek; the Yankees, from Massachusetts, and western Pennsylvanians, in the 
southwest; Quakers, from North Carolina and Chester county, Pennsylva- 
nia, in the southeast; the Irish, in the northern and western townships. A 
settlement from Xew Jersey extends into two townships, while there are 
families, descendants of the Hessians, in the southern part of the county, 
that came in through Virginia and Maryland settlements. The youngest 
daughter of General Stark, of the Revolution, died in this county, aged 
ninety-nine years. 

The man who wields the second oar in the painting of "Perry's Vic- 
tory." in the rotunda of the Ohio State House, was a Guernsey county man 
known as "Fighting Bill" Reed. He was of Virginia or Pennsylvania 
stock, who learned the hlacksmith trade of William McCracken, of Cam- 
bridge. 

General Broadhead's trail in his Coshocton campaign in 1781 against 
the Indians is distinctly marked through the county. There were no Indian 
villages in this region, it being the hunting ground of parties that hunted 
and fished along the principal streams. 

In 1798 "Zane's Trace" w^as cut through the county. When Zane's 
party arrived at Wills creek crossing they found the government surveyors 
busy surveying the United States military lands. They had a camp on its 
banks. At this time the only dwelling between Wheeling and Lancaster was 
at Zanesville. The Zanes were from the south branch of the Potomac, near 
Wills river, Maryland, and hence gave the name Wills creek to the stream. 
So far as known. Ebenezer Zane's party consisted of himself, his brother, 
Jonathan Zane, John Mclntire, Joseph Worley, Levi Williams, and an 
Indian guide named Tomepomehala. 



28 GUERNSEY COUNTY, OHIO. 

Wills creek is a sluggish stream with a clay bottom, and, choked up as 
it was at that day with driftwood and rubbish, was a difficult crossing, and 
the Zanes, in compliance with the requirements of the act to establish and 
maintain ferries at the principal crossings, probably induced a man by the 
name of Graham to establish one there. It was the first stream west of 
Wheeling on the "Trace" over which they placed a ferry. Who this first 
ferryman was or where from is not known. He remained about two years, 
and was succeeded by George Beymer, from Somerset, Pennsylvania, a broth- 
er-in-law of John Mclntire, of Zane's party. Mclntire was a brother-in- 
law of Ebenezer Zane. Both of these persons kept a house of entertain- 
ment and a ferry for travelers on their way to Kentucky and other parts 
of the West. Mr. Beymer, in April, 1803. gave up his tavern to John Beatty, 
who moved in from Loudoun county, Virginia. Beatty's family consisted 
of eleven persons. Among these was Wyatt Hutchinson, who later kept a 
tavern in the town. The Indians then hunted in this vicinity, and often en- 
camped on the creek. In June, 1806, Cambridge was laid out. and on the 
day the lots were first offered for sale, several families from the British 
isle of Guernsey, near the coast of France, stopped here and purchased lands. 
These were followed by other families, amounting in all to some fifteen or 
twenty, from the same island, all of whom, settling in the county, gave origin 
to its present name. Among the heads of these families were William Ogier, 
Thomas Naftel, Thomas Lanfisty, James Bichard, Charles and John Mar- 
quand, John Robbins, Daniel Ferbrache, Peter, Thomas and John Sarchet 
and Daniel Hubert. 

ORIGIN OF SOME GEOGRAPHICAL NAMES, 

(From Col. C. P. B. Sarchet's Writings.) 
There is a significance about names both historical and otherwise. We 
know that Millwood township was first settled by Quakers, and that your 
beautiful city was first called Millwood. The name now, Quaker City, is 
appropriate, but because the W'ebsters built a mill on Leatherwood. didn't 
give it the name of Millwood. The reason for the name is farther back in 
history. Who knows? Coming down to Salesville, we know that the Brills 
and Williams were first settlers there, and that Brillsburg and Williamstown 
would have been appropriate names, but the name is farther back. Who 
knows? There have been some stories written about the "Leatherwood God" 
Dylks. We wrote one of these. We placed him as entering unseen into the 
old loo "Temple" north of Salesville. Another writer says he made his ap- 



GUERNSEY COUNTY, OHIO. 20. 

pearance at a camp meeting held near the "Miller meeting house." There 

is no question but there was a Dylks, but where the "God" appeared ought to 

be definitely located; whether on the mountain top or in the vale, who knows? 

At the first Pennyroyal Reunion, the late Hon. Newell Kennon gave 

some historical reminiscences. lie said that the contractor who built the 
old stone church, tor the Reformed Associate Presbyterian church, in which 
Dr. Samuel Lindsey ministered so long, placed a jug' of whisky, and that 
when tlie church was torn down, the workmen found the jug and the whisky 
in a high state of preservation. "They drank the whisky, hut 1 don't know 
what became of the jug." Now it would not do to say Presbyterianism about 
Fairview had for its cornerstone a jug" of whisk}', but it was put there for 
some reason by the contractor. So it is sometimes with history. A part is 
given and the other is lost. 

Leatherwood creek was named from a peculiar bush that grew along its 
hanks that was as pliable as leather, and was used as withes by the early set- 
tlers, Beaver creek, because of the beavers and beayer dams along- it. Sen- 
eca creek, from the oil that gathered on the salt water at the old Satter- 
thwaite salt works (which was gathered by spreading clothes on the water 
and then wringing out the oil, which was the same as the oil of Seneca Lake, 
New York. This oil was used for medicinal purposes. In our boyhood we 
took some dropped on loaf sugar, but would have preferred to mix the dose 
ourself). Salt Fork creek, from the salt lick found at the covered bridge 
on the National road, where the old Moore salt works were located. Buf- 
falo creek, from the many evidences of buffalo trails and stamps found near 
them. A legend is that the Indians had captured a woman and child, and 
on being pursued, had first killed the child, and later the mother. The child's 
skull was found near Little Skull fork and the mother's near Big Skull fork. 



CHAPTER 11. 

INDIAN OCCUPANCY TERRITORY ACQUIRED BY WHITE MEN. 

La Salle, the famous adventurer and explorer, was beyond much doubt 
the first white man to tread the soil of what we now call Ohio. With a feu- 
followers and led by Indian guides, he penetrated the vast country then held 
by that powerful tribe of North American Indians known as the Iroquois and 
went down the Ohio as far as the "Falls," or where the city of Louisville 
now stands. There his band abandoned him and he traced his steps back 
north alone. This, it is believed, was in the winter of 1669-70 — two hundred 
and forty years ago — and this was more than a hundred years before Mari- 
etta, Ohio, was settled by the white race. This daring French explorer 
doubtless camped at the mouth of the Muskingum river. In 1682 he reached 
the Mississippi river, descended to its mouth, and there proclaimed possession 
of the vast valley in the name of his king. 

Prior to the middle of the eighteenth century, the French people re- 
asserted their ownership of the Northwest and did actually take possession 
of what is now the northern part of Ohio, building a fort and establishing 
a trading station at Sandusky. Celeron de Bienville made a systematic ex- 
ploration of the Ohio valley and formally declared by process verbal the 
ownership of the soil. August 16, 1749. he was at the mouth of the Mus- 
kingum river, which fact was revealed in 1798 by the discovery of a leaden 
plate deposited by him and which set forth the exploration. The plate was 
found protruding from a bank, after a freshet, by some boys, who cut away 
a portion of its inscription, not knowing its great historic value. The same 
was translated by William Woodbridge, later governor of Michigan. A 
similar plate was found in 1846, at the mouth of the Kanawha. These were 
to reassert the rights of the French government to this land. While the 
French had a good title to this state, it was not long before it was wrested 
from them by the British crown. 

The Colonial Ohio Land Company was organized in Virginia in 1748. 
by twelve associates, among whom were Thomas Lee and Lawrence Augus- 
tine, brothers of George Washington. Under this company. Christopher 
Gist explored the Ohio valley as far as the Falls. The company secured 



GUERNSEY COUNTY, OHIO. 3 1 

a nival grant of half a million acres in the valley of the Ohio river. It was 
intended to at once found a colony, but the French opposed it, and the royal 
governor of Virginia sent George Washington, then a young man, to the 
commander of the French forces to demand their reason for invasion of 
British territory. Washington received an answer that was both haughty 
and defiant. He returned and made his report to the governor, who aban- 
doned the idea of making immediate settlement, but at once set about as- 
serting the English claims by force of arms. The result was the union of the 
■ colonies, the ultimate involvement of England in the war that ensued, the 
defeat of the French, and the vesture in the British crown of the right and 
title to Canada and of all the territory east of the Mississippi and south to 
the Spanish possessions in the South. Ben Franklin had tried to effect a 
union of the colonies, but was unsuccessful. He had proposed a plan of 
settlement in 1754. and suggested that two colonies be located in the West — 
one upon the Cuyahoga and the other on the Scioto, which tract he declared 
had not its equal on the North American continent, having timber and coal 
almost on the surface ready to mine. 

But the English did little toward improving their title or effecting set- 
tlement here in Ohio. George Washington made a journey down the Ohio 
in 1770 with several others interested. He camped at Duck creek, as is shown 
by his diary. Through his instrumentality, the western scheme was revived. 
A large colony was formed, which included the old Ohio Company and the 
Walpole scheme, as well as recognizing the bounty act of Virginia volunteers 
in the French and Indian war. Had it not been for Indian troubles coming 
on this would have been a wonderful success. 

Col. Henry Bouquet had made the first English expedition into the 
Ohio country in 1764. for the purpose of punishing the Indians and re- 
covering from them the captives they had taken during the previous years 
on the Pennsy+vania and Virginia borders. No blood was shed, the Indians 
assenting to the terms offered them. The expedition was directed against 
the Delawares upon the Tuscarawas and Muskingum. Bouquet obtained 
two hundred captives at the hands of the savages, and returned to Fort 
Pitt (Pittsburg) with an army of fifteen hundred men. For a time this 
quieted the Indians of the Ohio country, and the next ten years passed peace- 
fully. 

But to resume the history first spoken of. The Shawnees had become 
very hostile, on account of the prospect of their having to lose their lands 
and because of the murder of Logan, the famous Mingo chief, who had 
been dwelling with them at old Chillicothe. To quell the disturbance thus 



2,2 GUERNSEY COUNTY, OHIO. 

arising. Lord Dunmore, royal governor of Virginia, organized an army of 
invasion into the Indian country. He had command of one wing and en- 
trusted the other wing to Gen. Andrew Lewis. 

The forces of Lewis were attacked by the Indians, south of the Ohio 
river, and the ensuing combat, known as the battle of Point Pleasant, was 
one of the bloodiest in Indian border \varfare up to that date. Dunmore 
did not get into a real engagement with his wing of the army. A treaty was 
held at Camp Charlotte, in which all agreed but old Logan, the Mingo 
chieftain, who there made the speech which all school boys used to delight 
in reading and "speaking," being the most eloquent one ever coming from 
the lips of an Indian, and equal, so Thomas Jefferson said, to any made by 
classic scholars the world round. 

The Revolution came on. and the West was no longer the scene of 
military action. But a soldier who served under Dunmore, — George Rogers 
Clark, — of whom the late lamented James A. Garfield remarked, "The 
cession of that great territory, under the treaty of 1783, was due mainly to 
his foresight and courage, and who has never received the adequate recogni- 
tion due him for so great a service" — at the close of the Revolution was instru- 
mental in making the Northwest territory a portion of the United States, 
instead of leaving it to be possessed by the English, in the terms of peace 
that were made. Had it not been for this, the Colonies would have been 
owners only of the country east of the Alleghanies. unless the West should 
be later conquered by them from the British. He sought out Governor 
Patrick Henry, then governor of Virginia, who allowed him (Clark) to 
raise seven companies of soldiers and to seize the British posts in the North- 
west and this brought the territory rightfully into the territory agreed upon 
when the treaty was finally effected between the Colonists and England. He 
also made two other expeditions — both against Indians upon the Miamis — in 
1780 and 1782. 

Thus Ohio — a part of the. Northwest territory — became a part of the 
United States and not held as a province of Great Britain. 

INDIAN HISTORY. 

In August. 1831, the first treaty for the removal of the Indians from 
Ohio was made, and in September. 1832, the first removals were made by 
David Robb and H. A. Workman. The tribes removed were Shawnees and 
Senecas. David Robb had been a former prominent citizen and official of 
Guernsey county, was sheriff and senator and representative in the Legisla- 



GUERNSEY COUNTY, OHIO. 33 

hire and publisher and editor of The Washington Republican, the first Demo- 
cratic paper of Guernsey county, published at Washington. He was appointed 
Indian agent by President Jackson. 

David Robb published a very interesting history of his connection with 
the Indians as agent in The Belle Fountain Republican, and of his several 
overland journeys with them to their new "hunting grounds" west of the 
Mississippi river. 

The last Indian tribe to be removed from Ohio was the Wyandottes. 
Rev. James B. Finley, of the Methodist Episcopal church, was a missionary 
among the Wyandottes, and gives in his autobiography many interesting 
incidents of his connection with this tribe. 

The Indians who lived in and fished in what are now the bounds of 
Guernsey county were the Delawares, Shawnees, Senecas and Mingos. 
These tribes had towns at the forks of the Muskingum. It is mistaken his- 
tory when it is said that there were no Indian towns in Guernsey county. 
There were at least five, Old Town, above Byesville, one at the Fish Basket, 
north of Cambridge, one on Salt Fork creek, one on Indian Camp run, and 
one on Bird's run. Many of the tribes referred to resorted to Guernsey 
waters because of the fish they contained and of the riffles where they could 
securely set their "fish baskets." 

All of the Indians did not take kindly to the wish of General Jackson, 
the then "Great Father." that they give up their hunting grounds in Ohio 
in exchange for hunting grounds west of the Mississippi river, and roving 
hands of the peaceful but dissatisfied red men moved about through the 
state. In September, 1834, one of these bands visited Cambridge. The 
Guernsey Times, then published by Hersh and McPherson, gives us a local 
note, "that a band of Indians are in camp near this town." It is left for an 
eye-witness, although then young, to complete that local of 1834. 

The Indian camp was located south of Gaston avenue, on the site now 
known as "Silver Cliff." At that time the ridge was covered with oak and 
beech trees. The water for the use of the camp was gotten from a spring 
in the old Asher-Williams lot. There were perhaps a hundred men. women 
and children. They remained in camp there for ten days or more. They 
wore, when they wore anything (for it was warm and pleasant weather), 
the usual Indian dress of blankets and breech-clouts. The men were peaceful 
and quiet, except when they had been presented too freely with "whisk." 

They had no arms except bows and arrows and tomahawks. The 
women had Indians' trinkets, which they peddled about the town. The 
men put in the daytime mostly shooting with their bows and arrows at 

(3) 



34 GUERNSEY COUNTY, OHIO. 

"fips and levies," set up in split sticks driven in the ground. Their prin- 
cipal shooting place was in the street west of the Hutchison tavern. The 
distance was sixty feet. The "fips and levies" stuck in the splits were the 
prizes to the shooters who hit the mark. The squaws, with their pappooses 
tied to boards and hung on their backs, or set up against the houses, stood 
around and enjoyed the sport and cheered the lucky Indian who took the 
prize. 

Those who took the most interest in the shooting contests and mingled 
most with them were Edward Rogers and G. W. Mulholland. Rogers was 
a silversmith, having a shop in the east room of the Ogier house. Mulhol- 
land was a tailor, and had a shop in the Seneca Needham house, located on 
the now Ofme Hardware Company corner. They were strong Jacksonians, 
and would try to make the Indian chiefs understand that the "Great Father," 
at Washington City, would deal justly with the Indians. But these Indians 
were on a strike against the "Great Father," and they only "ughed" at the 
praise given by these Democratic followers of the "Great Father." These 
Indians were a mixture of tribes, Delawares, Shawnees. Wyandottes and 
Senecas. They came to Cambridge from the south, crossing Wills creek 
below the old Gomber-Moore mill. They had a few old wagons and carts. 
The tent poles and many of the trappings were tied around the necks of the 
ponies and horses and dragged upon the ground. The squaws had charge 
of the train, and, according to Indian custom, did most of the work, while 
the big, lazy "bucks" rode horses and the children who were big enough 
to ride rode the ponies. The older men and women and the small children 
rode in the wagons and carts. Some of the women rode on ponies, two to 
each, and some rode sidewise and some astride. It may have been that 
these rovers were visiting their old hunting and fishing grounds on Wills 
creek. 

When they broke camp, they moved towards the north. To the writer 
then, and in a backward view now, it was a better "wild west" parade than 
"Buffalo Bill" ever made at Cambridge. It was a parade of the pure, una- 
dulterated "Ingen," without spangles, feathers or paint. With the tribe were 
two white women, who bad been captured in infancy, who had lost all trace 
(if their white ancestry, and were the apparently happy wives of two big, 
lazy "bucks." 

There were in 1S05 five Indian families residing in this vicinity. Two 
brothers, named Jim and Bill Lyons, who had their huts up the bottom 
where William Tedrick's house now stands; Joseph Sky, who lived at the 
mouth of Brushy fork, near where Lynn's mill now is; one Doughty, who 



1470868 



GUERNSEY COUNTY, OHIO. 35 

bail a luii between Mrs. Culbertson's and Newman Lake's, who had two 
squaws; and one named Hunter, who didn't have any squaw. 

Doughty's extra squaw was an incumbrance, however, being one of 
Simon Girty's, which he and the Lyons brothers were under obligations to 
support for some service Girty had rendered their fathers. She was ex- 
ceedingly ill-favored and very intemperate. 

These Indians hunted in that neighborhood during the summer, and 
when winter came would pack up and move off to Big Stillwater, where they 
had a sort of Indian town. They were, however, very friendly and not 
troublesome. 

Jim Lyons had a white wife, a girl that his father had taken prisoner 
when a child: having adopted and raised her, his son married her. In her 
dress, appearance and manner she was as much an Indian as any of them. 
and could not have been distinguished had it not been for her hair, which 
was fairer than that of the Indians and inclined to be wavy. She was very 
reserved in her manner towards the whites; seemed to avoid their societv. 
and was never known to speak to a white person, or in their presence. In 
one respect the Lyons brothers were an exception among Indians — they 
didn't like whisky; and as Girty's old squaw wouldn't do without it, she 
lived most of her time at Doughty's hut. and would get drunk, whenever 
she could get liquor enough, and swear and tear around, and quarrel, and 
"take on" equal to any of the "white trash." 

ANECDOTE OF COL. JOHN m'dOXALI). 
(From "Howe's History of Ohio.) i 

In the year 1791 or '92, the Indians having made frequent incursions 
into the settlenTents along the Ohio river, between Wheeling and Mingo bot- 
tom, sometimes killing or capturing whole families, at other times steal- 
ing all the horses belonging to a station or fort, a company consisting of 
seven men rendezvoused at a place called the Beech bottom, on the Ohio 
river, a few miles below where Wellsburg has been erected. This company 
were John Whetzel, 'William McCollough. John Hough. Thomas Biggs. 
Joseph Hedges. Kinzie Dickerson and a Mr. Linn. Their avowed object was 
to go to the Indian towns to steal horses. This was then considered a legal, 
honorable business, as we were then at open war with the Indians. It would 
only be retaliating upon them in their own way. 

These seven men were all trained to Indian warfare and a life in the 



36 GUERNSEY COUNTY, OHIO. 

woods from their youth. Perhaps the western frontier at no time could 
furnish seven men whose souls were hetter fitted, and whose nerves and 
sinews were better strung to perform any enterprise which required reso- 
lution and firmness. 

They crossed the Ohio, and proceeded, with cautious steps and vigilant 
glances, on their way through the cheerless, dark and almost impervious for- 
est, in the Indian country, till they came to an Indian town, near where the 
headwaters of the Sandusky and Muskingum rivers interlock. Here they 
made a fine haul, and set off homeward with fifteen horses. They traveled 
rapidly, only making short halts to let their horses graze and breathe a short 
time to recruit their energy and activity. In the evening of the second day 
of their rapid retreat they arrived at Wills creek, not far from where the 
town of Cambridge has since been erected. 

Here Mr. Linn was taken violently sick, and they must stop their march 
or leave him alone to perish in the dark and lonely woods. Our frontiers- 
men, notwithstanding their rough and unpolished manners, had too much 
of my Uncle Toby's "sympathy for suffering humanity," to forsake a com- 
rade in distress. They halted, and placed sentinels on their back trail, who 
remained there until late in the night, without seeing any signs of being 
pursued. The sentinels on the back trail returned to the camp, Mr. Linn 
still lying in excruciating pain. All the simple remedies in their power were 
administered to the sick man, without producing any effect. 

Being late in the night, they all lay down to rest, except one who was 
placed as guard. Their camp was on the bank of a small branch. Just be- 
fore daybreak the guard took a small bucket and dipped some water out of 
the stream : on carrying it to the fire he discovered the water to be muddy. 
The muddy water waked his suspicion that the enemy might be approaching 
them, and were walking down in the stream, as their footsteps would be noise- 
less in the water. He waked his companions and communicated his suspicion. 
They arose, examined the branch a little distance, and listened attentively for 
some time ; but neither saw nor heard anything, and then concluded it must 
have been raccoons, or some other animals, puddling in the stream. 

After this conclusion, the company all lay down to rest, except the sen- 
tinel, who was stationed just outside of the light. Happily for them the fire 
was burned down, and only a few coals afforded a dim light to point out 
where they lay. 

The enemy had come silently down the creek, as the sentinel suspected, 
to within ten or twelve feet of the place where they lay, and fired several guns 
over the bank. 



GUERNSEY COUNTY, OHIO. 3/ 

Mr. Linn, the sick man, was lying; with his side towards the bank, and 
received nearly all the balls which were at first fired. The Indians then, with 
tremendous yells, mounted the bank with loaded rifles, war-clubs and toma- 
hawks, rushed upon our men, who fled barefooted and without arms. Mr. 
Linn, Thomas Biggs and Joseph Hedges were killed in and near the camp. 
William McCullough had run but a short distance when he was fired at by the 
enemy. At the instant the fire was given, he jumped into a quagmire and 
fell; the Indians, supposing that they killed him, ran past in pursuit of others. 
He soon extricated himself out of the mire, and so made his escape. He fell 
in with John Hough, and came into Wheeling. 

John Whetzel and Kinzie Dickerson met in their retreat, and returned 
together. Those who made their escape were without arms, without cloth- 
ing or provisions. Their sufferings were great, but this they bore with stoical 
indifference, as it was the fortune of war. 

Whether the Indians who defeated our heroes followed in pursuit from 
their towns, or were a party of warriors who accidentally happened to fall in 
with them, has never been ascertained. From the place they had stolen the 
horses they had traveled two nights and almost two entire days, without halt- 
ing, except just a few minutes at a time, to let the horses graze. From the 
circumstances of their rapid retreat with the horses it was supposed that no 
pursuit could possibly have overtaken them, but fate had decreed that this 
party of Indians should meet and defeat them. 

As soon as the stragglers arrived at Wheeling, Capt. John McCullough 
collected a party of men, and went to Wills creek and buried the unfortunate 
men who fell in and near the camp. The Indians had mangled . the dead 
bodies at a most barbarous rate. Thus was closed the horse-stealing tragedy. 

Of the four who survived this tragedy none are now living to tell the 
storv of their suffering. They continued to hunt and to fight as long as the 
war lasted. John Whetzel and Dickerson died in the county near Wheeling. 
John Hough died a few years since, near Columbia, Hamilton county, Ohio. 
The brave Capt. William McCullough fell in 1812, in the battle of Browns- 
town, in the campaign with General Hull. 



CHAPTER III. 



ORGANIZATION OF THE COUNTY. 



From the beginning Guernsey county territory had belonged to Wash- 
ington county up to 1788, when it was included in what was organized as 
Muskingum county, in 1804. Prior to the adoption of the state constitution 
in 1 85 1, there was much agitation about a new county, to be formed out of 
parts of Guernsey, Tuscarawas and Coshocton, with New Comerstown as the 
county seat. But when the new constitution was adopted the issue was for- 
ever removed from the minds of the projectors of that scheme. 

A word concerning the term "Military Land District" may not be out of 
place in this connection. The origin of this term is from the fact that in 
1798 Congress appropriated certain lands to satisfy claims of the officers and 
soldiers of the Revolutionary war. These lands were surveyed into town- 
ships five miles square, and these again into quarter-townships, containing 
four thousand acres, and some later into forty lots of one hundred acres each, 
for the accommodation of soldiers and others holding warrants for that num- 
ber of acres. What land was not required for the satisfaction of military 
warrants was subsequently sold by act of Congress, and the designation of 
"Congress Land" given to it. In 1903 Congress granted to the state one- 
sixth of all the lands in the United States Military District for the use of 
schools in the same. As the population of the townships warranted, they 
were named, having previously been designated by numbers. In 1812 the 
legislature provided for a road from Cambridge to Coshocton. The Marietta 
and Cleveland road was completed at a later date. 

The land district of which Guernsey count)- is a part was surveyed west 
of the seventh range, into townships of five miles square, and a quarter town- 
ship of two and a half miles square, between 1798 and 1804. Zaccheus Biggs, 
as deputy surveyor, made a part of the survey, and George Metcalf. then a 
young man. formed one of the surveying party. He was charmed with the 
locality and enthused many at his home with the idea of effecting set- 
tlement here, and he really prevailed upon Jacob Gomber, his father-in-law, 
and Zaccheus A. Beatty, brother-in-law of Gomber, to purchase a quarter of 
a township (four thousand acres), upon which the city of Cambridge is now 
situated. 



GUERNSEY COUNTY, OHIO. 39 

The survey of the land district was completed in 1804 and the land sub- 
ject to entry, from the land office at Zanesville, at two dollars per acre. Set- 
tlements were soon made in different parts of the county, as will be seen in 
the chapter on "Early Settlement," following this chapter. 

By order of the Ohio State Legislature in 1809, a new county from por- 
tions of Belmont and Muskingum counties was formed and by its provisions 
it was called Guernsey in honor of the first emigrants from the isle of Guern- 
sey. Prior to that time — March 10, 1810, the actual dating of the bill — all 
territory which is now included in this county west of the eastern boundary 
of what is now Wills township, Madison township and Washington township, 
was a part of Muskingum county. East of the present townships of London- 
derry, Oxford and Millwood formed a part of Belmont county. April 23d, 
following, there was field a meeting at the house of George Beymer, at Cam- 
bridge, and there and then the first county commissioners were sworn into 
office for Guernsey county. They were James Dillon, William Dement and 
Absalom Martin. Elijah Beall was appointed clerk and John Beatty, treas- 
urer. Elijah Dyson was appointed lister of the residents of the newly made 
county, as being subject to taxation. Thomas Knowles was the first sheriff, 
George Metcalf, first surveyor, Peter Wirick, first auctioneer, and Joseph 
Smith, first coroner. 

It was ordered that the new county be divided off into five civil town- 
ships to be called Oxford, Seneca, Wills, Cambridge and Westland. Much 
difficulty was experienced by reason of there being no map of the territory 
within the county just formed. 

Tavern licenses were fixed at from four to ten dollars. 

At the meeting of June 10, 1S10, a township, to be known as Buffalo, 
was ordered to be set off, and a meeting held at Jacob Jordon's on June 23d, 
that year, when township officers were duly elected. 

Wheatland township was organized June 9, 1810. The same date An- 
drew Marshalf was awarded the contract to construct a county gaol or jail. 

On July 28, 1810, a meeting was called to elect officers for a township 
to be called Richland and was held at the house of Samuel Leath; also one 
the same day for election of officers for Madison township at the house of 
Absalom Martin. 

On September 15, 1810, Wheeling township was organized and two 
justices of the peace and other officers elected at a meeting at the home of 
William Gibson. 

On September 4th of that year, there bad been held a meeting of the 
board, at which the bounty for every wolf-scalp of wolves over six months 



40 GUERNSEY COUNTY, OHIO. 

that had been killed within the county, was fixed at two and one-half dollars 
and one dollar for those under six months. 

On December 25. 1810, Robert Johnston became clerk. The Steuben- 
ville road was completed from Cadiz to Cambridge in 181 1 and in June that 
year Lloyd Talbott was awarded the contract to build, or rather superintend, 
the construction of a county court house, while Z. A. Beatty and Jacob Gom- 
ber were chosen as contractors to construct the same. The jail was com- 
pleted September 3, 181 1. 

In March, 1815, Valley township was incorporated, at a meeting held at 
the house of William Thompson. 

On June 3, 1816, it was ordered that a new township be made and 
named Jefferson ; this was taken from the west of Madison township. It 
was also, at that date, ordered that Londonderry township be formed from 
parts of Madison and Oxford; that Beaver township should be formed from 
parts of Seneca and Oxford townships ; also that Olive township should be 
set off from Buffalo township. 

Monroe township was incorporated from the north end of Jefferson 
township, and township officials were elected at the house of Lawrence Tet- 
rick in April, 1818. 

Knox township was formed from the northern end of Westland and the 
west end of Wheeling township. 

On April 8, 18 19, it was ordered that the south row of sections in Wheel- 
ing township be added to Cambridge township. 

Spencer township was set off from the west end of Buffalo township in 
March, 1819. 

Liberty township was created in 1820; Centre township in 1822 and 
Washington in 1823. 

In June, 1824, Jackson township was organized, and in 1827 Adams 
was taken off of Knox and Westland townships and named in honor of John 
Ouincy Adams, then President of the United States. 

In 1 85 1. Buffalo, Beaver, Olive and Seneca townships Avere detached 
from Guernsey county, and since then have been included in Noble county. 

. As soon as the townships were organized the county-seat question was 
agitated. Both Washington and Cambridge wanted the seat of justice. 
Messrs. Beatty and Gomber made a proposition to donate the public grounds 
and furnish a suitable set of public buildings ready to roof if the county seat 
should be located at Cambridge, and their offer was accepted. Several at- 
tempts have been made since the location of the county seat, to remove it to 
Washington, but of late years this talk has all ceased and with the present 



GUERNSEY COUNTY, OHIO. 41 

city of Cambridge and the court house and jail so substantial, the question 
will probably never be before the people again. 

After the above preliminary steps had been taken, it remained for the 
board of county commissioners to provide highways, bridges, and suitable 
buildings for the county, as its settlement increased. The chapter on "County, 
State and National Representation — Political" will inform the reader as to 
who the men were at the helm during all of the formative period of the 
county's development, and other chapters will show how well they laid the 
foundations. The government of this county is treated in the next chapter 
and there will be seen much of the county's building, its taxes and expend- 
itures to the present time. As the platting of towns and villages comes with 
the settlement of every new county organized, its surveyors and recorders have 
to execute these records, this topic naturally comes under the bead of organ- 
ization and will here follow the list of such town plattings : 

TOWN PLATS OF THE COUNTY. 

During the years of the county's history there have been many village, 
or town plats, executed in the various townships. Some are still in existence, 
but many have long since become defunct. The following is a complete list 
of all that have ever been platted, with date, location and name of the pro- 
prietors (township name at date of platting) : 

Wheeling was platted by David Dull on the southwest quarter of the 
southeast quarter of section 14, township 4, range 3, in Wheeling township. 
It was surveyed April 24, 1874. 

New Birmingham was platted in 1826, by William Carson, and was re- 
platted for assessment purposes June 14, i860; it was located on section 11, 
township 4, range 2. 

Guernsey, in Cambridge township, in section 4, township 2, range 3, of 
the United- States military lands, was laid out by John Fordyce, J. W. Robins 
and Madison D. Robins, November 7, 1872. 

New Gottengen, by Charles Heidelbach, on the "Clay Pike," in Richland 
township, May 13, 1836. 

Winchester, on section 14, township 3, range 1, August 18, 1836. Its 
proprietor was Isaac Bonnell. 

Elizabethtown, on the National turnpike, by Jacob Weller, in Wills town- 
ship, March 7, 1832. 

Londonderry, by Robert Wilkins, August 19, 1815, in Londonderry 
township. 



42 GUERNSEY COUNTY, OHIO. 

Salesville was incorporated August 20, 1878. The original plat was 
surveyed in 1835, with George Brill as its proprietor. 

Antrim, by Alexander Alexander, March 1, 1830, on lot 12, in the first 
quarter of township 3. range 1, of the United States military school lands. 

Liberty, by William and John Gibson, on a part of the southeast quarter 
.if section 23. township 4, range 3, August 2, 1828. 

Fairview, on the southeast quarter of section 2, township 10, range 7, 
by Hugh Gillaland, March 24, 1814. 

Middleton, on the National pike, on the north half of section 31, town- 
ship to. range 7, September 1, 1827, by Benjamin Masters. 

Hartford, September 26, 1836, by David Johnston and John Secrest, on 
the southeast quarter of section 4, township 8, range 9, in "Buffalo" town- 
ship. 

Senecaville, on the banks of Seneca creek, in Richland township, by 
David Satterthwaite, July 18, 181 5. 

Bridgewater, March 24, 1834, by William Orr, on the northwest quarter 
of section 25, township 2, range 7. 

Portugal, November 14, 1833, by Levi Engle on the northwest quarter 
of section 3. township — , range 1. 

Olivetown, on the southeast quarter of section 5, township 6, range 9, 
by John Wiley and Isaac Hill, September 27, 1815. 

Craigsborough, on the west bank of Duck creek in the northeast quarter 
of section 4. township 6, range 9, by William Craig, February 26, 1818. 

Zealand, on the northwest quarter of section 2J. township 9, range 10, 
by Benjamin Bay, June 21. 1820. 

Williamsburg, in "Beaver township." on the southwest quarter of the 
south half lot 3, section 16, by William Finley, November 21, 1828. 

Union, by Elijah Lowery and John Laughlin, May 4, 1812, on the south- 
east quarter of section 9, township 1, range 2. A part of this was donated 
to the county for court house purposes, should the seat of justice be located 
at that point. 

Paris was platted on the southeast and southwest quarters of section 
22, township 1, range 4, by William Hunter, December 24, 1S27. 

Point Pleasant, at the junction of the Beaver and Seneca forks of Wills 
creek, on the northeast quarter of section 13. township — . range 8, by Benja- 
min Wilson. July 24. 1829. 

Newburn, on section 22. "Beaver township," by Thomas Walsh, No- 
vember 27. 182S. 



GUERNSEY COUNTY, OHIO. 43 

New Liberty, on the southwest quarter of section 20, township I, range 
3, by Richard Dickinson, October 17, 181 5. 

Lexington, platted on the southeast quarter of section 24, and the north- 
east quarter of section 25, township 7, range 8, by Jacob Young and Jacob 
Myers, August 12, 1816. 

Millwood, by Jonah Smith, on section 20, township 9, range 7, in "Beaver 
township," February 18, 1835. It is now Quaker City. 

West Barnesville, by Ford Barnes, December 23, 1825. 

Martinsburg, by John Bickham and James Welsh, May 17, 1816, in 
Madison township. 

Kimbolton (same as old Liberty), in Liberty township, incorporated 
November 5, 1884. 

Byesville, by a number of persons. It is located in Jackson township 
and was platted November 26, 1881 (as an incorporation), but the original 
platting had been executed on section 6, township 1, range 2, July 1, 1856. 

Quaker City, on section 20, of Millwood township, was platted as Mill- 
wood by Jonah Smith in 1835. 

Spencer Station is on sections 7 and 13, of Millwood township. 

Mount Ephraim, in "Seneca township," platted June 29, 1838, by Eph- 
raim Vorhees, on section 33, township 8, range 8. 

Kennonburg, in township 8, range 8, and in the east half of section num- 
ber 2. was platted by Daniel Rich and Arthur Vandyke, December 2, 1839. 

West Boston, by Charles Phillis, December 3, 1836, on section 23, town- 
ship 1, range 4. 

Putneyville, on the southeast of the northwest quarter of section 10, 
township 9, range 7, was platted by George W. Henderson, April 30, 1846. 

Bailey's Mills, platted May 14, 1855. on section 1, township 9, range 7, 
by Jesse W. Bailey. 

Bridgeville, by Washington Shoff, February 5, 1848. 

Cambridge (City), original platting, by Jacob Gomber and Zaccheus A. 
Beatty. on June 2, 1806. 

Washington, by George and Henry Beymer, September 28, 1805, at a 
time when this county was still a part of Muskingum county. 

New Salem, by William Hosack, April 21. 1845, on tne Grade Road 
leading from Cambridge to the Ohio Canal. 

Mantua, August 6, 1853, by Thomas P. Wilson and William P. Rose, 
on the northwest quarter of section 3, township 2. range 4. 

Centreville, on the southwest quarter of section 5, township 2, range 2, 
by David Kinkead, August 31, 1842. 



44 GUERNSEY COUNTY, OHIO. 

Easton. in Washington township, by Alexander Frew, November 21, 
H842. 

Florence, by Samuel Arbuthnot, September 12, 1842. on the Steuben- 
ville, Cadiz and Cambridge macadamized road. 

Derwent, in Valley township, on a part of section 4, township 8, range 
9, by Eliza Dickerson, August 10. 1898. 

Rigby, on the northeast quarter of section 4, township 1. range 2, in 
Centre township, by Henry Moss, December 20, 1898. 

Kingston, in Centre township, on the northeast quarter of section 3, 
township 1, range 2, by John H. Robins. 

Lore City, June '8, 1903, in Centre township, on the Leatherwood creek. 

Opperman, in Valley township, on the northeast quarter of the southeast 
quarter of section 14, township 9, range 10, by Thomas Moore and wife, Aug- 
ust 28. 1903. 

Fletcher. November 5, 1908, by J. B. Hamilton, A. E. Fletcher and B. 
V. Witten, on the west half of section 11. township 8. range 9. 

Blacktop, on section 8, township 1, range 2, July 2, 1900, by M. L. Spaid. 

Midway, on lot 35, township 1, range 3, in Jackson township, by Mike 
Stifka, October 31, 1904. 

Greenwood, by Thomas Taylor, June 12. 1848. 

Cumberland, by James Bay, on the northeast of section 32, township 9, 
range 10. April 24, 1828. 

Claysville, on the west half of the southwest quarter of section 22, town- 
ship 1, range 4, by Ford Barnes, June 7, 1828. 

There have been numerous villages — a small collection of houses and 
trading places with postoffices. besides the above, but were not regular plats. 
These include Hopewell, Londonderry, Winchester, Indian Camp, etc. 

INCORPORATED TOWNS. 

The incorporated towns of the county are: Cambridge (City), Salesville, 
Pleasant City, Cumberland, Quaker City, Byesville, Senecaville, Fairview, 
Kimbolton, Lore City, Washington, Hartford. 

A LOST TOWN. 

The first town laid out in Guernsey county, rightfully speaking, was on 
the old Zane trace, five miles to the east of Washington, on the northwest 
half of section 19, township 2, range 1. The proprietor, Joseph Smith, called 
the town Frank ford, but the records of Muskingum county, to which the 



GUERNSEY COUNTY, OHIO. 45 

lands of this county then belonged, show the plat of a town named Frankby. 
and Frankley, recorded September 13, 1805 ; this makes the place twenty-three 
days older than Washington. Who Joseph Smith was and what became of 
him, no one seems to know. There being no record of the patent, it cannot 
be told Whether he entered or squatted on this land, but he evidently had 
some notion of building a town at the point named in the platting, for lot No. 
5 was designated as having been "reserved for court house purposes." Lot 
No. 13 for gaol and "north spring, on lot No. 29, for the free use of the 
public square and all the commons on the south side of the 
same." But his hopes were soon to be blighted; the first cabin erected 
there was for a tavern, and whisky was so cheap that the advantages of 
the free spring water were not duly appreciated. All the pioneer townsite 
man received was the name "Smithtown," by which the site was ever after 
known. As late as 1870, a traveler named Cummings, who kept a diary, says 
therein: "August 8 — The stage being only to go fifteen miles, I left Cam- 
bridge on foot ; the first five miles were excellent road, over a long, very high 
range of hills, without a house, to Beymertown — twelve cabins, four being 
taverns, and one a blacksmith shop. Four and a half miles farther no in- 
habitants; the road is still good, but is leading over several high, short and 
steep ridges, which generally run from north to south. Then passing a cabin 
and farm, in a half mile I came to Frankford or Smithtown, where I break- 
fasted. This is a small village or hamlet of eight or ten cabins, some of 
which, as well as several in the neighborhood, are inhabited by families from 
Peekskill, New York.'' 

A record shows that in 1807 Smith and wife conveyed lot No. 20 to 
John D. Seiman for twenty-seven dollars and fifty cents. Other lots sold at 
forty dollars each. 

In 1809. Andrew Moore, of New Castle, Delaware, became a resident of 
Frankford and owned a tavern that became somewhat noted, and there, in 1819, 
Gen. Robert B. Moore married the daughter of Jacob Gomber, took his bride 
to her new home, accompanied by a large company of friends from Cam- 
bridge, they going on horseback. William H. Farrar wrote of this many 
years later and it is "good history" today. In 1814, Smith and wife sold, 
for a consideration of two thousand dollars, the quarter section of land on 
which Frankford was platted to Jacob Gomber. 

In 1846, at the October term of court, this platting was vacated and its 
history ended. Its once noted hostelry, that fed and rested many a wean- 
traveler, has long since disappeared ; its streets and alleys have been con- 
verted into a cow pasture, and its court house and jail sites appropriated to 
the growing of corn and potatoes. 



CHAPTER IV. 



EARLY SETTLEMENT OF THE COUNTY. 



To have been in the vanguard of civilization and among the first persons 
to penetrate so goodly a domain as Guernsey county, Ohio, with the view of 
making permanent settlement, is an honor, though possibly such honor was 
never fully realized by Mr. Graham, who. it is believed now, was the first 
white man to invade the territory with the view of remaining and building 
for himself a permanent habitation, in what was then a great wilderness, 
which had only been explored by the Indian race and possibly a few white 
adventurers. The date of Mr. Graham's settlement was 1798 and he located 
where afterwards the watertank of the railroad stood in Cambridge. Doubt- 
less there were a few "squatters" who tarried for a short time within this 
county, as early as 1796, as it is claimed that Levi Williams had a son John 
born where Washington now stands. March 8, 1806, and that the father came 
in 1796, but of their experiences and future whereabouts no record now ex- 
ists. It should be remembered that Guernsey county now contains more than 
five times as many people as did the entire state of Ohio in 1798. when the 
Graham settlement was effected. 

The southern part of Guernsey county was the first to be settled to any 
considerable extent and the first township to have a permanent settler was 
Cambridge. Pioneer Graham's cabin was the only house between Wheeling 
and Zanesville. Two years later, or thereabouts, came George Beymer. from 
Somerset, Pennsylvania, and these two persons kept a house of entertain- 
ment, and also a ferry for travelers on their way to Kentucky. In 1803 came 
John Beatty from Loudoun county, Virginia, and purchased the tavern which 
was on the "Zane Trace," which was a blazed path through the wilderness 
from Wheeling to Chillicothe, on the west bank of the Scioto river. Ebenezer 
Zane marked the path, and for his services received three sections of land at 
the crossing of the rivers — one on the Muskingum, one on the Hocking, and 
one on the north bank of the Scioto — with the right to run a ferry and toll 
bridge over the Ohio and Muskingum rivers. Zanesville was located on his 
section, at the crossing of the Muskingum, and from him it derives its name. 

The various township histories in this volume will relate much of interest 



GUERNSEY COUNTY, OHIO. 47 

concerning the settlement in different parts of Guernsey county, hence need 
not here be mentioned. 

I luring the year 1805 the survey of the plat of Cambridge was executed 
and the first house built on that platting; it stood on what came to be the 
Shaw property, and was occupied by John Beatty. father of Zaccheus A. 
Beatty. More concerning this family and its settlement will be found in the 
city chapter of Cambridge. Also an account of many of the families, in- 
cluding those who emigrated from the beautiful isle of Guernsey, from which 
the county took its name, will lie given in detail in such chapter. 

Wild animals abounded on every hand here when the pioneer band first 
invaded these parts. Bears, wolves, deer, etc., were very plentiful, ami both 
state and county paid a bounty of two dollars for wolf scalps. 



The pioneering days in America are almost over, forever. The great 
public domain is fast being settled and developed, the lands being divided and 
sub-divided and prices steadily advancing, until ere long American real estate 
will be as high priced as in the old European countries. The modern pioneer 
disappears after the iron horse has made his way to the new, unsettled 
countries, whereas the first pioneers of our republic went in long years in 
advance of either steamboat or railroads, hewing their way through the dense 
forests and there subduing land, covered with stumps and roots, raising 
crops which, if there was a surplus, had to be drawn by oxen or horses many 
miles to market. These conditions have all been reversed; now the husband- 
man can raise his crops and sell at his very door and it is transported by 
steam or electric cars to points near at hand, where good prices richly repay 
him for his toil and investment — hence the happy, prosperous homes of the 
twentieth century in this country. 

The first settlers had to cook their venison and other wild meats without 
salt, for there was none within many miles and cost much money when it 
could be obtained. AYhen this necessary commodity was brought, it came by 
way of pack-saddles over the mountains. It did not come by good highways 
such as obtain now. but over roads unbridged and for the most part unworked 
by man. 

The first work of the pioneer was to clear away enough timber to make 
room for his cabin and a garden patch. After his cabin was raised, he set 
about cutting timber, hewing and splitting, while the good housewife busied 
herself by spinning, weaving and knitting. Nearly all the clothes worn by the 



4<S GUERNSEY COUNTY, OHIO. 

first comers to Guernsey county were home-made — made by the industry and 
genius of the mother, wife or daughters, while the "men folks" were busily 
engaged in the hard task of clearing up a field and fencing it. 

The axman was ever employed. The rude log cabin, illy furnished, pro- 
vided their only shelter from summer's rain and winter's blasts. The fire- 
place was used for both cooking and heating; the andiron and blackened crane 
were then as essential as the modern heater or gas range is considered today. 
Puncheon were used for floors and shakes for shingles. Post bedsteads, with 
ropes for holding the straw or feather ticking, and the little trundle-bed at the 
side, were used instead of the present-day iron gilded beds and children's 
fancy cribs, with their silk and satin lined couches in which sleeps the twen- 
tieth-century infant; yet Presidents and statesmen have come from both the 
old fashioned and the new ! 

The log cabin has nearly become extinct, like the wild beast and bird that 
roamed and winged their way through the forests of this county a hundred 
years ago. In the place of the cabin of logs and the mud chimney at its end, 
have come the modern mansions and elegant farm-houses, all provided with 
suitable fixtures, even to steam heat and electric or gas lights. 

Rude and homely was the cabin, 

Beauty did not deck its hearth ; 
But the kettle sung a home-song. 

And the birch logs crackled mirth. 
Its chambers were not high and spacious, 

No marble stairway led to them, 
But, O, for a night of boyhood, 

To climb the ladder once again. 

The cabin sleeps in ruins. 

The ivy from the roof has fled, 
The mould is its only monument. 

All but memories sweet are dead. 
And as the years around us gather, 

At life's end and eventide, 
We'll think then of the cabin 

Down by the river's side. 

The pioneers of this county desired an. education for their children, but 
rude indeed were the earlv dav school houses. Thev were constructed, like 



GUERNSEY COUNTY, OHIO. 49 

all buildings, of logs, and poorly finished. In place of glass windows, usually 
an opening was left in the logs and over it was stretched a greased paper, 
which admitted enough light to allow the pupils, with their young, bright 
eyes, to see to study from the old United States Speller, Murray's Grammar 
and now and then consult the Western Calculator. 

While the children of early-day Guernsey county were rocked in sugar 
troughs, fed on Johnny-cake, corn bread, and mush and milk, with wild meats, 
yet they grew to manhood and womanhood and have furnished their full share 
of brains and muscle for the carrying on of a county, state and nation, through 
three wars, and had time and genius enough to develop one of the best sub- 
divisions in the Buckeye state. 

Clothing was made from buckskin, tow, linen or flax, manufactured at 
home by their own hands, unaided by modern machinery. Sometimes, the 
family being large, a traveling spinner might be engaged. He usually came 
along with his little spinning wheel and would generally do the spinning act 
at a "fipenny bit'' a dozen. Again, a journeyman tailor would call with his 
press-board and '•goose" to make up the home-spun cloth. These days are 
forever gone on this continent. A better era has come to mankind, but really 
do we as a people generally appreciate the transformation? There are those 
still among us — a very few — who remember those pioneer days and the scenes 
of seventy and eighty odd years ago. These have seen the thick jungle and 
denser forest fall and the sunlight allowed to strike full and brilliant on 
fields ripe with an abundant harvest; the hillsides are the scene of orchard 
and rich vintage, while the leaves are yet turning to amber and gold. These 
have seen the last of the Indian, the last of the wild game, the last of the 
log cabin. They have survived to see the wilderness blossom as the rose, with 
dwelling and churches and school-houses on every hand. Verily, the pioneer 
"builded better than he knew." 

A WOUNDED DEER. 

(From the Jeffersonian. Written by C. P. B. Sarchet, as told him by Joseph Culbert- 
son.) 

Two old pioneers, Jim McClurg and John Dixon, were the noted deer 
hunters in the early history of Cambridge, and many were the thrilling and, at 
times, dangerous incidents told of their deer hunting experiences. They 
usually supplied venison saddles in the winter to the old taverns, and at 

(4) 



5'0 GUERNSEY COUNTY, OHIO. 

Christmas and New Year's time to the citizens of Cambridge. .We will relate 
one of McClurg's experiences with a large buck. 

He started one December morning from their cabin west of Cambridge 
on Crooked creek, on a deer hunt, with his trusty flintlock, smooth-bore gun, 
that carried a half-ounce ball which on shooting match days never failed to 
cut the centre of the "bull's eye." With hunting knife in his belt, he started 
for the dividing ridges between Indian Camp and big Sarchet's run. This 
would now be in Knox and Adams townships. After traveling through the 
woods for some time he sighted, in the distance, a large buck with large 
spreading antlers, but too distant for a shot. He followed it round and round 
over the ridges and through the valleys, only to discover that the buck was 
circling, making a circuit of five or six miles, and that when he would turn 
back it would scent him and cut across the circle. After putting in the day in 
fruitless pursuit, he returned home late at night, resolved to renew the chase 
the following day, taking with him his brother Joe. 

They started early the next morning, and near noon they sighted the 
buck. They followed after it, and soon found it was playing the same game 
as on the previous day. McClurg directed his brother to the top of one of the 
hills, at a point where the buck, in cutting across the circle, would approach 
near enough for him to get a shot, while he himself followed the trail. 

After some time, the buck, in crossing, scented Joe on the top of the 
ridge and turned back. It soon came in sight of McClurg. who secreted him- 
self behind a large tree to await its nearer approach. At quite a distance away 
it scented the hunter and for a moment it stopped. Although it was a long 
shot. McClurg fired and the buck fell. He hurried to the spot and, setting 
his gun against a tree, drew his knife and, seizing the buck by the antlers, was 
making ready to cut its throat, when it opened its eyes and began struggling 
to its feet. In the struggle the buck struck the hunter in such a way as to 
knock the knife out of his hand. McClurg, during the struggle, was unable 
to regain his knife, and a furious struggle for mastery began. 

McClurg had a giant's strength, but was unable to hold the buck to 
the ground, and it was tearing off his hunting shirt and lacerating his arms 
and body. The buck finally got to its feet, but the hunter held on to its antlers, 
hoping that he would be able to hold the animal till his brother could arrive, 
who would hear the shot and hurry to him. 

Hut Joe had a long distance to come. McClurg's strength was fast giv- 
ing away, but, having the buck in bis clutch, he could not think of giving up. 
It now seemed a life and death struggle. He concluded to let go. hoping that 
after such a fight the animal would make off, and if not he would seek safety 
in climbing a tree. So he let go, but the infuriated animal showed fight. 



GUERNSEY COUNTY, OHIO. 5 1 

McClurg ran for a tree, jumped to catch a limb, missed his hold, and the 
buck was again upon him. 

It was once more a life and death struggle. He seized the buck by the 
horns, and by almost superhuman strength succeeded in throwing it to the 
ground, and the struggle again went on. 

Soon Joe came to the scene, but it was some time before he could get a 
shot. He knew that if he shot and failed to kill the animal at once, it would 
only cause it to fight with greater ferocity, and perhaps not only endanger the 
life of his brother but his own life. 

At last a favorable opportunity offered, and he sent a bullet through the 
heart of the buck and the struggle was over. He at once removed its entrails 
and hung the carcass upon a tree fork, out of the reach of wolves, and began 
the difficult task of getting his brother to shelter, as the night was upon them. 

With much difficulty, sometimes leading and sometimes carrying his 
brother, he reached the home of Mr. Culbertson, where McClurg was kindly 
cared for and the next morning their host brought them to their home on 
Crooked creek. 

Perhaps our long-time friend, Joseph Culbertson, of Adams township, 
will remember hearing this story of McClurg and the buck, told around the 
family fireside in the long ago. 

McClurg kept the antlers of the buck nailed upon the wall of his cabin 
for many years, as a trophy. The buck, on first scenting McClurg, had thrown 
up its head and the shot, although penetrating the center of its forehead, had 
passed between the antlers and through the skull above its brain. 

There are now no persons living who ate this venison ; but there was a 
large party who partook of it at a Christmas dinner at the Judge Metcalf tav- 
ern. McClurg never fully recovered from the effects of the fearful conflict. 
His nervous system had been overtaxed. 



At the time of the first settlement there were several Indian camps, in 
this county, of the Wyandotte and Seneca tribes, that remained until just 
before the war of 1812. 

It is related that one morning as Isaac Oldham was endeavoring to kindle 
the fire in his cabin, whilst upon his knees blowing the few remaining embers, 
an old Indian named Douty crept stealthily in upon him, caught him by the 
neck and raised the deadly tomahawk, ready to deal the fatal blow, but after 
holding Oldham in that position for some time, he released his hold, and re- 
marked, "Ingen let white man go: white man no let Ingen go," and left the 
cabin. This occurred just before the war of 1812. and after the larger por- 



52 GUERNSEY COUNTY, OHIO. 

tion of the Indians had removed farther to the Northwest. It was always 
supposed that Douty intended to kill Oldham, before he left, for the loss of 
his hunting ground, which Oldham had entered and was occupying; but fear 
of being caught before he could overtake the rest of his tribe, it was thought, 
deterred him, and Douty came no more. Novelists have sought to portray 
the magnanimity and generosity of the Indian character, but the history of 
the attempt of the government to civilize, and of the missionary to enlighten, 
prove the Indian character to be one of cunning, treachery and revenge. His- 
tory points to them as being a part of the tribe of Ishmael, "whose hand is 
against every man, and every man's against him." 



CHAPTER V. 

COUNTY GOVERNMENT PAST AND PRESENT. 

Here in Guernsey county, as in all other parts of the state, the business 
of the county has not at all times been conducted correctly. Here, as else- 
where, designing men and "grafters" have sometimes been the betrayers of 
tbe tax-paying people. Not always has value been received for the cash or 
warrants issued, but, all in all, there has been less of dishonor and misappro- 
priation of public funds here than in main- sections of the commonwealth of 
Ohio, in common with other states. However, it will not be prudent, at this 
late day, in a work of this character, to go into detail to any considerable 
extent, to show up these irregularities among public officials. Many of the 
officials elected here have proven to be men of great strength of integrity and 
have been repeatedly re-elected to the same, or higher positions, thus showing 
that the people had implicit confidence in them. In the main, business in the 
county has been conducted with honesty and ability. The public buildings 
have been erected, the hundreds of bridges have been built and repaired, or 
rebuilt, with the least possible expense. The unfortunate poor have been 
humanely cared for by the county authorities in the best manner and at the 
least possible expense for doing so delicate an undertaking. Counties, like 
nations and individual corporations, sometimes make mistakes and are the 
losers thereby, but here the rule has been to elect good, worthy men and they 
have succeeded in carrying on the finances of the county with a good degree 
of business sagacity and manly integrity. 

The first officers of Guernsey county were as follows: County commis- 
sioners. James Dillon, ^Yilliam Dement and Absalom Martin; clerk, Elijah 
Beall; treasurer, John Beatty; lister of property, Elijah Dyson; sheriff, 
Thomas Knowles ; surveyor, George Metcalf ; coroner, Joseph Smith; auction- 
eer. Peter Wirick. 

It devolved upon the commissioners to set off and organize into civil 
townships the county as it was made by the act of the Legislature, and this, 
with the making of pioneer roads and bridges, kept the board fully busy, and 
their work was well done, as a rule. The first township organizations had to 
be re-organized as the settlement increased, and hence came new township 



54 GUERNSEY COUNTY, OHIO. 

work. The following is a list of the several township changes, with date of 
their organization : 

ORGANIZATION OF TOWNSHIPS. 

Bv an act of the Ohio Legislature, in the session of 1809-10. the follow- 
ing townships were erected : Oxford, Seneca, Wills, Cambridge and West- 
land. The county commissioners met April 23, 1810, to organize. Other 
townships were organized as shown below: 

Millwood was organized in about 1835. 

Wheatland was organized June 9, 1810. 

Buffalo set off and election had June 23, 1810. 

Richland, named and election held July 18, 1810. 

Madison, named and election held July 18, 1810. 

Wheeling, organized September 15, 1810. 

Valley, organized March 25, 181 5. 

Jefferson, cut from west end of Madison, June 3, 1816. 

Londonderry, from parts of Oxford and Madison, June 3, 1816. 

Beaver, from parts of Oxford and Seneca, June 3, 1816. 

Olive, from Buffalo, June 3. 1816. 

Monroe, from Jefferson, April, 1818. 

Knox, from the north end of Westland and a part of Wheeling, March, 
1819. 

Spencer, from the west end of Buffalo, March, 1819. 

Liberty, organized 1820. 

Centre, organized 1822. 

Washington, organized 1823. 

Jackson, organized June, 1824. 

Adams, organized 1827. 

In 1 85 1, Buffalo, Beaver. Olive and Seneca townships were detached 
from Guernsey and made a part of Noble county. 

THE COUNTY-SEAT QUESTION. 

In 1872 the following appeared from the pen of a local historian, con- 
cerning the agitation and settlement of the Guernsey county seat question : 
The county seat question was then agitated for the first time ; and our Wash- 
ington friends renew it occasionally yet, by building castles in the air. At the 
formation of the county, Beymerstown. eight miles east, on the old Wheeling 
road, aspired to lie the shire town. The location was to be made by a com- 



GUERNSEY COUNTY, OHIO. 55 

mittee appointed by the Legislature. After much log-rolling and lobbying, 
and a good deal of had blood engendered between the two rival towns, the 
proposition of Beatty and Gomber, to donate the public grounds, and finish 
the buildings ready for the roof, was accepted, and the following written upon 
the records of the county : 

"That, having paid due regard to the interest and convenience of the 
inhabitants of said county, we do hereby declare that the town of Cambridge 
is the most suitable place for the permanent seat of justice. 

Isaac Cook, 
James Armstrong, 
William Robinson, 
"April 20, 1810. Committee." 

Jacob Gomber, Thomas B. Kirkpatrick and Robert Speers were appointed 
associate judges by the Legislature, and on the 23rd of April met at Tingle's 
tavern, and appointed the following county officers: Clerk of the court, Cyrus 
P. Beatty; sheriff, Elijah Dyson; prosecuting attorney, S. Herrick ; surveyor, 
George Metcalf; recorder, Robert Johnson; commissioners, Absolom Martin, 
William Dement. James Dillon. 

THE FIRST COURT HOUSE. 

At the time of the erection of the first court house, there was a careful 
selection of bright red brick for the south and east fronts. The entrance 
doors on the south and north were large double doors. They were circular 
top, and had circular transoms, with projecting hoods. The windows were 
large, and all had slatted shutters. The cupola, or belfry, was large and cir- 
cular, and had around it half-slatted panels, above which was the projecting 
roof of the tall spire, which was surmounted by two wooden balls and the 
weathercock in the shape of a fish. The pudlock holes, used in the scaffold- 
ing, had not been filled up. Pudlock holes are not now seen in the erection 
of brick buildings. A contract was let to John Blanpied to paint the spire, 
balls and vane, to paint the cupola and the window shutters and doors and 
repair the windows and fill up the pudlock holes. To do this work. Air. Blan- 
pied. who was a sailor boy. constructed a rope ladder and attached it to the 
top of the spire, and. suspended by it. he painted the balls, vane and spire. 
How well the writer remembers this little chubby Guernseyman suspended on 
the rope ladder as he moved around the tall spire ! The old court house was 
eighty-seven feet from the ground to the top of the spire. There are but few 



56 GUERNSEY COUNTY, OHIO. 

of the citizens of Cambridge today who remember the tall spire and balls and 
vane of the old court house. This spire was struck by lightning April 22, 
1854, and the court house, after it was repaired and remodeled, which would 
be familiar to many of the citizens of today, was altogether unlike the court 
house of 1 810. 

This was the building that was built and donated (except the roofing) 
by Messrs. Beatty and Gomber, as an inducement to locate the county seat at 
Cambridge in 18 10. It served well its purpose until the building of the pres- 
ent court house. The county, of course, expended much on remodeling the 
first structure, as above indicated. The old building was the central scene of 
starting the county machinery going, and a few of the older residents are 
here who well remember the courts and interesting proceedings therein enacted. 
Fortunately, no fires have ever destroyed the valuable books of the county, 
yet many of the records have not been as carefully preserved as they might 
and should have been. Today, the system of records is materially better than 
in the olden days. 

THE PRESENT COURT HOUSE. 

The best account of the building and cost of the present court house is 
found in the files of the Cambridge Jcffcrsonian of 1883, and was written at 
the date the building was dedicated, reading as follows : 

On Tuesday, September 11, 1883, the newly completed court house was 
opened for public inspection. There was a large meeting in the square, and 
many speeches were made and reports read. E. W. Mathews, chairman of the 
executive committee, announced that Hon. William Lawrence had been ap- 
pointed president of the day, and introduced him to the assembly. Mr. Law- 
rence made a short, timely speech, and was followed by Auditor Becker, who 
read the following statement of the cost of erecting the court house : 

Cost of building $84,083.34 

Furniture 4,557.00 

Carpets 545-°° 

Steam and gas fixtures 5,634.62 

Bell 470.00 

Plans and superintendence of building 4,313.00 

Total for building and fixtures $99,602.96 



GUERNSEY COUNTY, OHIO. 57 

Outside paving 1,586.16 

Grading and improving lot 550-87 

Cistern and sewer 770. 79 

Total $102,510.78 

Amount of bonds outstanding, the last of which 

falls due July 15, 1887 $46,100.00 

The court house was built by the board of county commissioners, whose 
representative, J. O. Grimes, spoke next. Mr. Grimes presented the report of 
the board, and recounted the preliminary steps toward building the new 
court house. He then read the resolution, as presented by Commissioner 
Roseman and adopted by the board on April 10, 1879. Messrs. Roseman 
and Lochary, he explained, voted for it. Mr. Reed was absent, but afterward 
endorsed the action. The Legislature, seeing the necessity of such a proceed- 
ing, passed a supplementary act, increasing a former appropriation of fifty 
thousand dollars to eighty-five thousand dollars. 

The architect was J. W. Yost, of Bellaire, Ohio. The building com- 
mittee were as follows: Clerk Mahaffey, Judge Kennon, Sheriff McKitrick 
and Isaac Morton. Contracts were let, work commenced in the spring of 
1881, and the structure was finished in September, 1883. During the entire 
construction, Patrick Lochary was a member of the board. Messrs. Rose- 
man and Reed were worthily succeeded by Messrs. Nicholson and Shipman. 
The largest contract was awarded to Mr. Townsend, who. with his able 
assistant, John Robinson, received public thanks. 

Colonel Taylor, on behalf of the people of Guernsey county, made a 
stirring speech of acceptance, with many thanks to the commissioners, the 
contractors, the architects, to all who had in in any way assisted in or super- 
intended its construction, and was loud in his praise of the magnificent court 
house itselfr 

In the afternoon, there were speeches by Capt. W. M. Farrar, who gave 
a short historical sketch of the old court house and the difficulties encountered 
in the building of the new. He was followed by Judge Ball, Judge Frazier 
and Hon. W. M. Ramsay, a prominent lawyer of Cincinnati, formerly of 
Guernsey county. The meeting concluded with a speech by Mr. Yost, the 
architect, who met with loud acclaim. 

It is believed that the recent years" improvements on this court house — 
all needed, too — have made the structure and furnishings cost the county 
about one hundred and fifty thousand dollars, and that no such building for 
the outlay of public funds can be found in Ohio today. 



t;8 GUERNSEY COUNTY, OHIO. 

THE COUNTY JAIL. 

The first county jail was a rude log- building, that stood on the site of the 
present building. Near it stood the "public whipping post," the last real evi- 
dence of narrow-mindedness and uncivilized "civilization." 

This log house stood and served until 1835, when a brick jail was erected 
on the site of the old one. For its day, it was ample, but with the art of jail- 
breaking and the better condition with which "boarders" at public expense 
desired to be housed and fed, it was condemned. 

The jail now in use was built in 1871, at a cost of twenty-six thousand 
dollars, including the later additional iron work inside. It is forty feet square 
and is twenty-two feet high, supposed to be safe, but has frequently proven 
inefficient against the worst type of prisoners. Yet over fifteen hundred iron 
and steel bars were used in its construction. The sheriff's residence is in con- 
nection with the jail. The projecting towers, irregular walls and high tow- 
ers overhead and the mansard roofing present a good architectural appearance. 

COUNTY INFIRMARY. 

Nothing speaks more potently of the refinement and Christian sentiment 
of any community, than does its care for its unfortunate poor and demented 
persons. The great Master declared, "The poor ye always have with you," 
and this has continued to be true even until the twentieth century after Christ 
spoke these words. Ohio has never willingly neglected her poor, but. with 
the advance of years, has adopted many new and better means for caring 
for this unfortunate class. In 183 1, an act was passed creating what was 
then named the "poor house." In 1850 this was changed to "infirmary." In 
Guernsey county a county farm was purchased in September, 184 1, amounting 
to one hundred and sixty acres, to which was subsequently added thirty-two 
acres. This is the present county farm, and it is situated about two miles 
south of Washington; two and a half miles from Gibson station; two and 
three-quarters of a mile from Lore City. In 1841. on a beautiful knoll, there 
was erected a brick building, then thought sufficient for many years, but by 
[859 it had become too small to accommodate the poor of the county, and a 
new, larger building was erected, in addition to the original one. Still later 
more additions were made. 

The last official report of this institution shows the following: The total 
number of inmates was fifty, of whom twenty-eight were men and twenty- 
two were women. Above what the farm itself produced, the cash cost to the 



GUERNSEY COUNTY, OHIO. 59 

county For the maintenance of this infirmary was three thousand one hundred 

and thirty .hilars. 

In August, 1S71, at the county infirmary there was an insane man named 
John W. Berry, of Liberty township, and because there was no jail in repair 
at that time in the county, he was sent to the infirmary for safe keeping in 
one of the cells intended for demented persons. The infirmary superintend- 
ent, or director. Mr. McCormick, was away from home at the time and his 
wife and son were in charge of the institution. The following morning he 
hurst the cell door and escaped into the hall-way. and with a slat of wood 
(sharp cornered) he killed Robert Richey, aged eighty years, a sound-minded 
person, and Agmes Kimball, an insane person aged forty years. He was 
finally overpowered and chained to the floor until he could he safely taken 
charge of. 

THE CHILDREN'S HOME. 

Another humane institution of this county is the Children's Home. This 
is now located in the city of Cambridge and cares for many of the county's 
unfortunate children, especially orphans and those whose full parentage is 
unknown to the world. Before the state made a provision for such institu- 
tions. Rev. J. H. Nash established a home for such children. The old Met- 
calf building, west of the city, was employed by him for a building, but as the 
institution became a charge of the state and county under the new- provisions. 
a more suitable, permanent home was sought out. The present site in the 
very heart of the city, on the high, commanding hill to the east, on the point 
or ridge extending between Highland and Wheeling avenues, was purchased 
from a non-resident for the small sum of twenty-five hundred dollars 
and within a few years would easily have sold for as many thousand dollars. 
Here the county erected the present beautiful home in 1886. It fronts on 
Highland avenue and is surrounded by large shade trees and a circling walk 
and drive-way in front. The first building expense was seventeen thousand 
dollars. 

The report of the worthy superintendent. Airs. J. S. Prouse, for 1909-10, 
shows the following: Total number of children cared for during the year, 
sixty-two, forty-three boys and nineteen girls ; one absconding during the last 
year from the home. The current expenses for the year was $6,633. The 
condensed statement to the county authorities shows that the provisions pur- 
chased cost the county. $1,271; groceries. $567; clothing, $160: light and 
fuel, $551 ; feed, $516; shoes, $190; salaries, $2,526; schooling, $220; making 
a total of $7,526. 



60 GUERNSEY COUNTY, OHIO. 

Rev. T- H. Nash, a United Presbyterian minister, was the first superin- 
tendent and served both in the old and new quarters, resigning in October, 
1887. He was followed by J. S. Prouse and he was succeeded by his wife, 
the present superintendent, in March, 1906. 

The present (1910) board of trustees are: D. M. Hawthorne, president, 
Cambridge; C. S. Turnbaugh, Cambridge; Maj. J. W. Moore, Washington; 
Samuel Carr. Guernsey. 

The county visiting board is as follows : Mrs. E. W. Mathews, Mrs. T. 
C. Clark, Mrs. Johnston, Lore City; Henry Wilson, Byesville; James Dyer. 

A FIVE-YEAR RECORD. 

When County Recorder Arnold left the office in 1909, he kindly left the 
following record of instruments filed and the fees for same. He made an 
efficient officer and turned over to Guernsey county one thousand two hundred 
dollars in fees due the county. The list he gives covered a period of five years : 

Deeds recorded 7*665 

Total consideration $8,181,246 

Acres transferred 141,879 

Lots transferred 6,665 

Leases recorded 665 

Acres leased 31 ,609 

Mortgages recorded 4,206 

Total consideration $7,059,342 

Mortgages released 3.204 

Total consideration $2,963,026 

Chattel mortgages filed !-576 

Chattel mortgages refilecl 1,380 

Mechanic's liens recorded 114 

The following was the rate of taxation on each hundred dollars worth 
of taxable property in Guernsey county, in 1837: State and canal tax. forty 
cents; county school tax. fifty cents; road tax, twenty-five cents; township 
and poor tax. thirty cents; total average on a hundred dollars of assessed 
valuation, one dollar and thirty cents. 



GUERNSEY COUNTY, OHIO. 01 

AN ABSTRACT OF ASSESSMENT BY TOWNSHIPS FOR THE YEAR 1835. 

Total Amt. Each 
Twp. as Equalized. 

Beaver $25,131 

Oxford 33469 

Londonderry 36,636 

Washington 19,166 

Madison 20,200 

Wills 36,584 

Richland 46,894 

Buffalo 18,633 

Jackson 18,392 

Centre 18,498 

Jefferson 14,612 

Monroe 12,902 

Wheeling 7,675 

Liberty 13.515 

Cambridge 33-434 

Spencer 23,223 

Westland 27,032 

Adams 19,201 

Knox 5.396 

Total $430,593 

ABSTRACT OF ASSESSMENT FOR I9IO. 

Acres. Valuation. Personal. Total Tax. 

Adams Township I 5-9 I 6 $222,900 $91,126 $315,786 

Cambridge Township 18,428 288,870 171.634 475,914 

Centre Township 15,212 303,720 183,334 504,049 

Jackson Township 10.083 3°5-4 I 5 95-333 400,784 

Jefferson Township 16,083 177,600 56,070 233,670 

Knox Township J 5.854 186,480 59.483 245,963 

Liberty Township 13,662 i53- l8 5 89,474 244,279 

Londonderry Township .... 22,586 328,835 94.926 462,846 

Madison Township J5-359 J83.685 77-195 2 7 I >575 

Millwood Township 15.058 189.685 134,271 236,381 



62 GUERNSEY COUNTY, OHIO. 



Monroe Township !5.94 2 

Oxford Township i'8-I93 

Richland Township I 5»545 

Spencer Township '7-43- 

Valley Township T 3-762 

Washington Township 1 5,335 

Westland Township J 5.978 

Wheeling Township J 9o77 

Wills Township 22,199 

Byesville 

City of Cambridge 

Fairview 

Kimbolton 

Lore City ' 

Pleasant City 

Quaker City 

Salesville 

Senecaville 

Washington 



185,890 


55420 


252,410 


222,085 


71.498 


300,028 


319,830 


110.450 


431.415 


235410 


53.986 


290,550 


290,105 


180,163 


549483 


170,100 


25.635 


193.735 


197-595 


116,956 


3 1 7,000 


422.400 


138,884 


303.654 


275,960 


100,176 


777-000 




125,570 


500,000 




859.112 


3,449,972 




27-930 


57.535 




23.741 


52,901 




4.981 


17.761 




43.700 


126.000 




94.486 


290,301 




20,743 


33413 




36,988 


"5.573 




36.136 


71.051 



Total 328,200 $5,707,055 $3,747,959 $12,687,324 

TREASURY DEFALCATION. 

The files of the Teffer sonian, in 1879. give the following paragraphs, 
with much more, on the defalcation of County Treasurer Patterson, and his 
final conviction and sentence : 

"The bondsmen of ex-Treasurer Patterson had a meeting in Adams 
township, on last Thursday, to consider, amongst other things, what course 
should be pursued as to persons 'who received public money from Patterson 
while he was treasurer. At this meeting committees were' appointed to wait 
upon those persons who are known to have received public monies from Pat- 
terson and ask that the sums be repaid to the bondsmen, to reduce the sum to 
be paid by them on the judgment against them in the common pleas court. 
Each committee consists of three persons, but we have been unable to get the 
names of those selected for this duty." 

MORE ON THE TREASURY DEFALCATION. 

"The committees appointed at a recent meeting of the bondsmen of late 
Treasurer Patterson, in Adams township, have performed the duties placed 



GUERNSEY COUNTY, OHIO. 63 

upon them and have called upon the several persons who received public 

money from Patterson, and requested its repayment. The sums thus de- 
manded to be returned aggregate, so far as we have learned, about three thou- 
sand six hundred dollars. Each of the persons to whom application was made 
took the matter under advisement, but paid nothing. The conclusion with 
some of them was that they would pay hack if they had to do so, or if they 
discovered it was just and right to pay they would do it. At this writing the 
matter is still under advisement by the parties interested. A committee from 
the bondsmen also waited upon the county commissioners at their recent meet- 
ing and asked to be released from the interest and penalty on the judgment 
rendered against them at the May term of the common pleas court. Their 
petition was placed on file for consideration." — Jeffersonian, August 14, 1879. 

PATTERSON PLEADS GUILTY ! 

"After the conclusion of the civil business and some minor criminal mat- 
ters at the adjourned term of court on the 14th inst., the case of Ohio vs. John 
D. Patterson was called. The prosecuting attorney said to the court that the 
defendant waived arraignment and plead guilty. The counsel for Patterson, 
Messrs. White and Campbell, confirmed the statement. To the question as 
to what did he have to say why the sentence of the law should not be passed 
on him, he replied nothing. 

"Mr. White said that the court had full knowledge of the facts and cir- 
cumstances surrounding the whole case, and that upon his mercy and judg- 
ment defendant relied. 

"Prosecuting Attorney Steele then said to the court that this was a case 
which did not, in his opinion, require the full sentence of the law; that the 
defendant had plead guilty and also was not guilty of the other crime — 
perjury — arjd that he was not in any of the transactions seeking" to make 
money. He had nothing. He and his family had given up everything fully. 
He was not charged with maliciously and feloniously appropriating money 
and he had furnished the facts necessary to the administration of justice, in 
the conviction of another, and he would be glad to see the court exercise the 
leniency which the defendant was entitled to under these considerations. He 
owed this to justice in the discharge of his official duties. 

"The court, in a long and stirring summing up of the case, pronounced 
sentence as follows : 

" 'It is the sentence of this court that you ( Patterson) be taken hence to 
the penitentiary and there confined at hard labor for the term of three years; 



64 GUERNSEY COUNTY, OHIO. 

that you pay double the sum named in the indictment and the costs of this 
prosecution. The taking of public money is a moral crime.' " — Jeffersonian, 
August 21, 1879. 



Treasurer J. A. La Follette's defalcation was another spot of official cor- 
ruption on the pages of this county's history. He was found guilty of em- 
bezzling funds to the amount of about four thousand dollars, and was sen- 
tenced to a term in the state penitentiary. Fifty days were allowed for an ap- 
peal and he was allowed bonds and moved to Gary. Later, he was denied a 
new trial in November, 1910, by the circuit court. The sentence given him 
was five years in the penitentiary and to pay the costs of the case and twice 
the amount of his embezzlement. Verily, the way of the transgressor is hard. 





LAFAYETTE TEMPLE. 




ELIAS D. STONE. 



I 



WILLARD B. JOHNSTON. 



# 



CARSON B. DAVIS. 



CHAPTER VI. 

TOLITICAL COUNTY, STATIC AND NATIONAL REPRESENTATION. 

While it is not the province of this work to go into any great detail as to 
the various political movements within Guernsey county and the many heated 
campaigns that have exercised the minds of the voters, it may not be without 
profit, for the present and future, to make some plain statements regarding the 
votes at important dates, speak of the more exciting political campaigns, and 
especially to give as complete a list of the county, state and national repre- 
sentation for Guernsey county as the illy-kept election records will permit. 

In 1824, Henry Clay received three hundred and forty-six votes, Andrew 
Jackson, two hundred and forty-five votes, and John Ouincy Adams, fifteen 
votes for President of the United States, in the thinly settled county of Guern- 
sey. 

THE CAMPAIGN OF 184O. 

The campaign of 1840 was the first in which the two opposing parties 
were united in their choice of partisan candidates. This campaign will be 
handed down as the traditional one in the political history of this nation. The 
first Whig national convention at Harrisburg, Pennsylvania, was held in 
December, 1839. Before this convention were presented as candidates Gen. 
William Henry Harrison, Gen. Winfield Scott and Hon. Henry Clay. After 
a session of three days, General Harrison was chosen as the candidate. Gen- 
eral Scott and Henry Clay pledged themselves to give earnest support to the 
candidates nominated. This great uprising of the people at once began to 
shape the course of events that were to give to the country a campaign un- 
equaled for monster meetings, doggerel verse and carnival pomp. Webster 
said in his great speech before the convention, "Every breeze says change." 
The Democrats charged Harrison with having been born in a log cabin, living 
on corn bread and hard cider, and being an "old granny." The Whigs made 
use of all these charges to stir up the people. Harrison became the log-cabin 
candidate and the cider-barrel, the coon skin and the cabin door latch-string 
and cabins adorned every procession, and the songs of "Tippecanoe and Tyler 

CO 



66 GUERNSEY COUNTY, OHIO. 

Too" were heard throughout the length and breadth of the land. The great 
ball rolled on, getting bigger and bigger, with the chorus : 

" 'Tis the ball a rolling on, 
For Tippecanoe and Tyler too. 
With them we'll beat little Van." 

The Whig central committee stirred up the woods of old Guernsey as 
never before nor since, making the great mass meeting at Cambridge on the 
12th of September, 1840, the largest ever gathered by any party, taking into 
consideration the country population at that time. They came from east and 
west, north and south, and returned to their homes singing: 

"What has caused this great commotion, 

Motion, motion, our country through ? 
It is the ball a rolling on, for 

Tippecanoe and Tyler too." 

We copy from the Guernsey Times, of January 4, 1840, the following 
as a part of the proceedings, issued under a call of the central committee, for 
the organization of a county "Tippecanoe club." The meeting was organized 
by calling Naphtali Luccock to the chair, and appointing Richard Hatton and 
Lambert Thomas secretaries. This meeting was held on the first day of 
January, 1840, at which delegates were appointed to the Whig convention, 
to be held in Columbus, Ohio, February 22, 1840. 

Naphtali Luccock, who is second on the list of the Whig central com- 
mittee of 1840, was born in England, and received an education at Cambridge 
College, and was apprenticed to John Blacket, grocer and iron monger, Cheap- 
side, London. After serving out his apprenticeship he emigrated to America 
in 1 82 1, stopping for a time in Philadelphia, Pennsylvania, Where he engaged 
in the commission business. In 1824 he joined the moving tide that was 
pressing out into the new west, and settled in Wooster, Wayne county, Ohio, 
and later at Coshocton and Plainfield, where he opened a general country store. 
In 1830 he removed to Liberty, Guernsey county, where he continued as a 
country merchant and farmer until he turned his large business over to his 
two sons, Thomas S. and Samuel W., in i860. Naphtali Luccock was a 
typical Englishman, of good family, and had rubbed against the squalor and 
slum in Cheapside and other marts of the city of London, so that as a natural- 
ized citizen of this republic, he was active in all that tended to advance the 
people in morals, religion and politics. During his long business life at Lib- 
erty, he stood before the public as a model business man, honored and re- 



GUERNSEY COUNTY, OHIO. C)~ 

spected by all. He was twelve years a justice of the peace, and the first post- 
master at Kimbolton. When the office was established, Liberty was proposed 
as the name for the postoffice, but the department ordered that another name 
be chosen, there being at the time too many Libertys in Ohio. Mr. Luccock 
gave it the name of Kimbolton, after his ancestral home in Huntingdonshire, 
England. He took a first and active part in the formation of the Methodist 
Episcopal church at Liberty, which was an off-shoot from the Cambridge 
church, through the labors of Christian Wyrick and Hamilton Robb, local 
preachers. Naphtali Luccock was the first class leader and continued a leading 
member throughout his life. Two of his grandsons are preachers of the 
Methodist Episcopal church and one a preacher of the Presbyterian church, 
and his son, Hon. T. S. Luccock, is a retired minister of the Methodist Epis- 
copal church. In the family there is a copy of Fox's "Book of Martyrs," 
handed down from 1537. This is evidence of their religious training. 

Naphtali Luccock was the Whig candidate for representative in 1849 anc ^ 
was defeated by Matthew Gaston, Democrat. This was the year of the new 
county craze which passed over Ohio, defacing the heretofore county bound- 
aries that were made with some little regard to symmetry and parallel lines. 
into the present zig-zags of many counties ; notably among these are Guern- 
sey, Monroe, Morgan and Washington, sliced up and sawed up to form that 
monstrosity of a county that was to be called Noble. In this craze, Guernsey 
was to be fleeced on every side, and every little town, north, south, east and 
west, wanted to be the county seat of a new county. There was Cumberland 
county on the east, with Fairview as the county seat. On the strength of this 
new county, a paper was started at Fairview by the late John Morton, Esq. 
On the south, Hon. Isaac Parrish wanted Orange, with Sharon as the county 
seat. On the west, New Concord was to be the county seat of a new county, 
and Bloomfield and Otsego vied with each other as to which should unfurl 
the flag of shirehood. On the north, old Senator William Scott wanted a 
county of Chester. And "On, Stanley, on ! Charge, Chester, charge !" went 
this battle of new counties. This was the time of "roorbacks." "Look out 
for roorbacks !" was the cry in every paper. Charges were made in one sec- 
tion, and counter-charges in another, but there seemed to be nothing at issue 
except new counties. Mr. Luccock, too honest to be an intriguer, making no 
pledges to either quarter, was defeated. The county at that time was very 
close. Another question came into this campaign that had its effect in the 
defeat of Mr. Luccock, the slavery question. The Sheppard family, with 
which Mr. Luccock was connected as a relative, had removed from England 
to South Carolina, and became the owners of slaves. Upon this question he 



68 GUERNSEY COUNTY, OHIO. 

was known as a very conservative man. In 1848, General Taylor, in his 
celebrated Captain Allison letter, had said: "I am a Whig, but not an ultra 
Whig!" So Mr. Luccock was a conservative Whig, and had at one time ex- 
pressed himself, that if he were in the South, he would be the owner of slaves. 
This, no doubt, came from the relationship existing between himself and the 
Sheppard family in South Carolina, and was drawn, perhaps, from their paint- 
ing the beauties of slavery. 

This came to the ear of John B. Mitchell, of Liberty township, then a 
leading free-soiler and a man of veracity, who published the statement over 
his own signature, and the Free-soilers and Democrats used it with great effect 
against Mr. Luccock, who would not or did not deny the statement. Tom 
Corwin had but a few years before made the mistake of his life, when he said, 
"Were I a Mexican," etc. So this, from a Northern standpoint, was a mis- 
take. But who among us can say that if born and reared under the influences 
of slavery, that we would not have been its zealous advocates? Naphtali 
Luccock died in 1868. 

ORIGIN OF TERM "HARD CIDER AND LOG CABIN CAMPAIGN." 

In 1840, the Baltimore Republican, a prominent Van Buren paper, speak- 
ing sneeringly of Gen. William Henry Harrison, said : "Give him a barrel of 
hard cider, and settle a pension of two thousand a year, and our word for it, 
he will sit the remainder of his days contented in a log cabin." Hence has 
come the much-used and well-known term "Log Cabin and Hard Cider Cam- 
paign of 1840." 

NOTES ON THE CAMPAIGN OF 1 844. 

The following, written by the author in 1894, in the Jeffersonian, is con- 
sidered good history in this connection : 

After the result of the election in 1844 was known to be Democratic in 
the election of James K. Polk, President, the Democratic leaders in Cambridge 
fixed a day for a general demonstration of joy over the victory of Polk and 
Dallas. The headquarters were still at the United States Hotel, kept by John 
A. Scott. There were at that time an old six-pound cannon, that had been 
used during the militia muster days by an artillery company at Cambridge. 
This cannon was common property, and was used on public occasions of re- 
joicing by the citizens. At a jollification by the Democrats in 1842, over the 
election of Wilson Shannon as governor, some Whig succeeded during the 
excitement in spiking the cannon, which stopped that part of the program. 



GUERNSEY COUNTY, OHIO. 69 

This spike, a rat-tail file, was afterward drilled out by A. W. Beatty, Esq., 
who claimed that a war with England was in the air, and that the cannon 
must be made ready for the defense of our frontier from northern invasion. 
At the demonstration in 1844, the cannon had been kept under guard for 
several days by the Democrats, for fear the Whigs would play the 1842 game 
again. It was hauled into the field, now Gaston addition, and unlimbered 
and made ready for use. Its boom, reverberating up and down Wills creek, 
announced the Democratic victory. As the firing went on, the enthusiastic 
cannoneer became more jubilant, and kept increasing the charges as the num- 
ber of Democratic states were one by one counted in the victor's boom. When 
it came the time to give the boom for Tennessee, the home of the President- 
elect, the cannoneer put in an extra heavy charge, ramming it down well with 
wads of dog fennel. Just before the match was to be. applied, a cry of "fight" 
was heard, and the crowd hurried to the fight, leaving the cannoneer in charge. 
The match was applied, and the old cannon gave its last boom. The frag- 
ments of the cannon and carriage filled the air, flying in every direction. Alvin 
Maxfield, the cannoneer, reaching over one of the wheels to apply the torch, 
was unhurt, although the wheels were torn to splinters and the tire thrown 
hundreds of feet away. The fight drew the crowd away from the cannon, 
and no doubt saved many from being killed or wounded. The fight was not a 
political one, although the parties were a Whig and a Democrat. Walter Carr 
and John Clark were the belligerents. Carr was a shoemaker, and Clark 
charged him with taking some of his leather he had left at his shop. The 
fight Was one of advance and retreat, chasing each other up and down the 
alley, consuming a good deal of time and creating a good deal of fun for the 
onlookers, but there was no blood drawn, or blows struck, except beating the 
air. It was a war of words and feints. 

OLD-TIME FLAG POLES. 

The author published in the Cambridge Times in 1896, the following 
concerning early flag-poles in this county, and the same will be here repro- 
duced : 

The first political flag pole raised within the memory of the writer was 
in 1838 by the Democratic party. From the top of this pole floated to the 
breeze a banner inscribed, "Wilson Shannon and Bank Reform." This pole 
was a hickory, and the top branches were left on it. It was perhaps fifty or 
sixty feet high. It was located in the public square, east of the present 
Shaffner block. The pole raising was fixed for Saturday, and a general call 



7° 



crKRXSEV COUNTY, OHIO. 



was issued for the Democrats of the county to be present and give a lift for 
Democracy and "sound money." After the pole was raised the crowd was 
addressed by the Hon. Isaac Parrish, candidate for Congress, and Doctor 
Drake, an Irish stump orator from Zanesville, Ohio. He was known as the 
progressive Democrat, as one of his chosen sentences in all his speeches was, 
"Democracy is Progressin'." Somebody had attempted to paint on the flag 
an eagle in flight. The Whigs pronounced it a turkey buzzard, the carrion 
bird, fit to represent the rottenness of Wilson Shannon and "Bank Reform." 
These were the days of bitter political battles, and neither party was very 
choice in words. When the Democrats of Cambridge arose on Sunday morn- 
ing, expecting to see their proud banner of reform floating on the quiet 
zephyrs of the day of rest, their dismay was unbounded when they beheld their 
pole bored down, and their banner trailing against the side of the Shaffner 
house opposite. Some Whigs in stealth and darkness, beyond the "wee sma' 
hours ayont the twath," had laid low the buzzard and reform. 

The next pole raising was by the Whigs in 1840. A large poplar pole, 
more than one hundred feet high, was prepared, and a call issued for the 
Whigs of the county to assemble at Cambridge, Ohio, on the day fixed, to 
give a "lift at the Tippecanoe pole raising." The place selected was in front 
of the old court house. The hole in "which the pole was to be planted was dug 
the night before by Alfred H. Tingle, father of Alfred H., the McKinley 
Club chairman of Cambridge. This hole was guarded through the night for 
fear some Democrats would fill it up, and the pole was under like guard for 
fear the Democrats would cut it up. When morning came, load after load 
of Whigs came in, singing the old rally song of the 22d of February -con- 
vention : 

"We marched through the streets of Columbus, 
And bravely we trod the mud through, 

But none of us cared for the weather, 
True soldiers of Tippecanoe." 

At the appointed hour the pole began to rise. A block and tackle was 
made secure to a strong beam across the north door, and another was secured 
to the south door, to carry the rope when the latter was properly adjusted to 
the pole, the slack being to the south. At the word of command, given by 
Gen. James M. Bell, the hundreds of stalwart Whigs, arranged two and two 
along the rope, moved toward the south, and with the aid of pike poles, forks 
and guy ropes, the pole soon stood erect. With pulleys and cord, the banner, 
with the names of Harrison and Tyler, was soon flapping to the breeze, and 



GUERNSEY COUNTY, OHIO. 7 I 

above all, from a long streamer made out of American silk, floated, "Protec- 
tion to American Manufacturers." Speeches were made by General Bell, 
Major Evans, Samuel and John Lindsey, William Lindsey, St., Moses Sar- 
chet, Colonel Lofland, Matthew Thompson, and others sang: 

"What has caused this great commotion, 

Motion our country through? 

Is it the ball a rolling on 

For Tippecanoe and Tyler too ? 

And with them we'll beat little Van, 

Van, Van, is a used up man." 

John Lindsey had charge of the flag, and on nice days the flag was flung 
to the breeze. And when September came, and Vermont voted, the banner 
went up. When "Maine went h — 1 bent for Governor Kent," the banner went 
up. But there came a time before the November election when the banner 
didn't go up. Some Democrats, in retaliation on the Whigs of 1838, cut the 
flag rope and stole it away. And "Tippecanoe and Tyler too" went up no 
more. But Harrison and protection triumphed at the election just the same. 

THE CIVIL WAR PERIOD. 

The political complexion in Guernsey during the Civil war period is best 
told by the following Republican majorities: 

In 1862. the state ticket of this party was carried by 156 majority; in 
1863, by 597; in 1864, by 706; in 1865, by 650, and in 1866, by a majority 
of 790. 

In 1859, the vote on governor in Guernsey county stood: Rufus P. 
Ranney (Democratic candidate), 1.663; William Dennison (Republican), 
2,103; tota i< 3./66. 

In 1861, David Tod (Republican) was the recipient of 2.262 votes as 
against Hugh J. Jewett, 1.968. 

In 1863, C. L. Vallandigham (Democratic) was the defeated in this county 
by more than one thousand votes, John Brough being the Republican nominee. 

In 1865, Jacob D. Cox (Republican) received 2,503 votes, as against 
George W. Morgan (Democratic nominee for governor), 1,853. 

In 1867, Allen G. Thurman (Democrat) received 2,052 votes, while 
Rutherford Hayes (Republican) received 2,549 votes. 

In 1868, U. S. Grant received 2,743 votes as against 1,949 for Horatio 
Sevmour for President, Grant beina: elected. 



■J2 GUERNSEY COUNTY, OHIO. 

A VISIT TO m'kINI.EY. 

The following is extracted from the Cambridge Times of August 6. 
1896: 

Friday, July 31, 1896, was the day set by the Grand Army of the Repub- 
lic post of Cambridge to pay a visit to ex-Governor McKinley at his home in 
Canton. The day dawned bright and clear, and about two hundred and 
twenty-five ladies and gentlemen boarded the train, and others joined them 
throughout the county. The visitors were met at the depot by a reception 
committee, a squad of Canton troops, members of George D. Harter and Can- 
ton Posts, and the McKinley Drum Corps, and were escorted to the McKin- 
ley home. After well-rendered selections by the United Order of American 
Musicians, Band of Cambridge, H. S. Moses, commander of George D. Har- 
ter Post of Canton, introduced Col. J. D. Taylor to Major McKinley as the 
spokesman for the delegation. 

After an appropriate and stirring speech by Colonel Taylor, Rev. W. H. 
McFarland, chaplain of the Ninety-seventh Regiment Ohio Volunteer In- 
fantry, spoke briefly. There was vociferous and hearty cheering as Mr. Mc- 
Kinley rose and spoke as follows : 

"Col. Taylor, Doctor McFarland, My Comrades and Fellow Citizens : 
It gives me great gratification to receive this call from my old friends and 
neighbors and fellow citizens of Guernsey county. I have made many visits 
to your county in years gone by, and know most of you personally. I know 
something of the quality of your population. I know something of the spirit 
of your people. I know something of your loyalty and devotion to the Union 
in war, and I know much of your loyalty and devotion to patriotism and good 
government in peace [cheers] and knowing you as well as I do know you, I 
am certain that neither flood nor fire would stop you from doing what you 
proposed to do. [Laughter and applause.] 

"I am glad to meet the representatives of labor who are assembled here 
this morning. I congratulate them upon the advance that has been made in 
the tin-plate industry, to which Colonel Taylor has referred. I am glad to 
know that Republican legislation gave to this country an industry that gives 
work and wages to American workingmen. and brings happiness to American 
homes. [Great cheers and applause.] 

"I am glad, my fellow-citizens, to meet my old comrades of the Grand 
Army of the Republic [applause], my comrades of thirty-five years ago, for 
the war commenced thirty-five years ago, and it is nearly thirty-two years 
since its close. It seems not so long, nor so far away, but as I look into the 



GUERNSEY COUNTY, OHIO. JT, 

faces of the old soldiers before me today, I see that age is stamping its lines 
of care upon them. Their step is no longer as firm and as steady as it was 
thirty-five years ago, but their hearts are just as loyal to the old flag of the 
Union. [Tremendous cheering.] And they are just as loyal to national 
honor today, as they were loyal to national unity then. [Applause.] When 
the war closed, there were two great debts resting upon this government. 
One was the debt due to the men who had loaned the government money with 
which to carry on its military operations. The other debt was due to the men 
who had willingly offered their lives for the preservation of the American 
union. [Cheers.] The old soldiers waited on their pensions until this great 
debt of the government was well out of the way. They waited patiently until 
the government of the United States had reduced nearly two-thirds of that 
great money debt. The old soldiers were never in favor of repudiating that 
debt. [Applause.] They wanted every dollar of the debt paid in the best 
coin known to the commercial world [great applause] and every dollar of 
that debt up to this hour has been paid in gold or its equivalent, the best recog- 
nized money in the world [cheers], and every dollar of that debt, my com- 
rades, yet to be paid, will be paid in the same unquestioned coin. [Tremen- 
dous cheering.] Most of that debt is out of the way. The great debt of this 
government now is to the surviving soldiers of the republic. [Applause.] 
There are nine hundred and seventy thousand pensioners on the honored pen- 
sion roll of this government today, and the government pays out of its public 
treasury in pensions over one hundred and forty million dollars every year to 
the soldiers and sailors, their widows and their orphans. Every dollar of that 
debt must be paid in the best currency and coin of the world. [Great cheers, 
and cries of "The Republican party will see to that."] There is nobody more 
interested in maintaining a sound and stable currency than the old soldiers of 
the Republic [applause, and cries of "You are right, Major"], their widows 
and their orphans. Your old commander, General Grant [applause], whose 
memory is cherished by all of you, performed two great and conspicuous acts 
while President of the United States, one vetoing the inflation bill, that would 
have cast us upon a sea of depreciated currency, and the other was the sign- 
ing of the act for the resumption of specie payments that placed every dollar 
of money upon the sound foundation of financial honor and unquestioned na- 
tional honesty." 

The applause following these remarks was overpowering. Imbued with 
emotion, his hearers cheered lustily, and broke into cries of "You are right, 
you are right !" 



74 



CI'EKXSEY ail'XTV, OHIO. 



In conclusion. Mr. McKinley said : 

"I thank you. my fellow-citizens, for this call, so expressive of your 
good will and congratulations, and assure you that it will afford me much 
pleasure to meet each one of you personally." [Applause and cheers.] 

The train arrived in Cambridge at 8.30 P. M., every one delighted with 
the pleasant visit. 

DIFFERENT VOTES ON PROHIBITION. 

With the passing of the decades, the voters of Guernsey county have fre- 
quently been called upon to express their views at the polls regarding the 
question of selling or allowing the sale of intoxicating liquors within the 
county. Among such elections may be named the following: In 1851, a 
vote was taken to determine whether a state constitutional amendment should 
be added, prohibiting the sale of liquors. In Guernsey county the vote was, 
for license, one thousand two hundred and ninety-eight; against license, one 
thousand seven hundred and twelve. The majority in all the townships was 
one hundred and nineteen for license; five hundred and thirty-three against 
license. Temperance was not popular then. 

In 1883 the sentiment had materially changed and there was a total vote 
of four thousand two hundred and three for prohibition in the county. In 
1894 there were four hundred and sixteen votes cast for the temperance candi- 
date for President of the United States, out of a grand total of six thousand 
votes cast in the county. 

The issue was up again throughout the state in 1908, when Guernsey 
county voted "dry" by a vote in October that year, of two thousand one hun- 
dred and forty-five to one thousand three hundred seventy-five "wet," since 
which time the county has been practically saloonless. 



Ohio has furnished her share of Presidents of the United States. From 
this commonwealth have come the following men who were born here and 
finally elected to the highest office within the gift of the people: William 
Henry Harrison, Benjamin Harrison (grandson). William McKinley, Jr., 
Rutherford B. Hayes, James A. Garfield and General U. S. Grant. All but 
Grant and Harrison were citizens of Ohio at the time thev were elected. 



Of the delegates who helped frame the various state constitutions of 
Ohio, William Lawrence and Robert Leech came from Guernsey county and 
assisted in the making of the 1850-51 constitution, while Hon. Charles J. Al- 
bright was a delegate to the convention forming the third Ohio constitution 
of 1872. 



(ii Kk.xsKV riii'Mv, oino. 



75 



i -k ]■:-! i >i: x riAi. \<>i k. 



1832 — Andrew Jackson 


.1,356 






William Wirt. Ant 


- 




-?-? 


1836 — William H. Harrison. . 


.2,074 


Martin Van Buren 


.1,652 


1840 — Martin Van Buren . . . 


.2,186 


William H. Harrison. . 


.2,606 


J. G. Birney (Abol.) . . 


• 13 


1844 — (No vote found) 




1848 — (No vote found) 




1852 — (No vote found) 




1856 — (No vote found) 




i860 — (No vote found) 




1864 — (No vote found) 




1868— U. S. Grant (R) 


•2.743 


Horatio Seymour (D) . 


.1,949 


1872— U. S. Grant (R) 


.2,629 


Horace Greeley (D) . . 


.1,901 


Jeremiah Black 


. 11 



1876— R. B. Hayes (R) 3,106 

Samuel J. Tildcn (D) . .2,460 
1880— James A. Garfield (R) . .3,118 

W. S. Hancock (D). ..2,568 

J. B. Weaver (Gbk.) . . . 26 

Neal Dow (Temp.) 36 

1884 — James G. Blaine 

Grover Cleveland (elected) 
1888 — Benjamin Harrison (elected) 

Grover Cleveland 
1892 — Grover Cleveland (elected) 

Benjamin Harrison 
1890 — William McKinley (elected) 

William J. Bryan 
1900 — William McKinley (elected) 

William J. Bryan 
1904 — Theodore Roosevelt (elected) 

Alton J. Parker 
1908— William H. Taft (elected) 

William J. Bryan 



CrilKkXAniRIAL VOTE. 



1810 — Return J. Meigs 204 

Thomas Worthington . . 31 

1812 — Return J. Meigs 183 

Thomas Scott 143 

1814 — Thomas Worthington . . 329 

O. Looker 19 

1 816 — Thomas Worthington . . 483 

James Dunlap 179 

1818 — Eathan A. Brown 574 

James Dunlap 186 

1820 — Eathan A. Brown 364 

Jeremiah Morrow 382 

1822 — Jeremiah Morrow 765 

Allen Trimble 244 



824 — Jeremiah Morrow .... 


719 


Allen Trimble 


713 


826— Allen Trimble 


1.704 




24 
6 


Alexander Campbell . . 


828— Allen Trimble 


973 


John W. Campbell .... 


925 


830 — Duncan McArthur (Wl 


igO 




923 

762 


Robert Lucas (D) . . . . 


834 — Robert Lucas (D) 


1.344 


James Findley (Whig) 


1-259 


838— Wilson Shannon (D) . . 


2,090 


Joseph Vance (Whig) . 


1.938 



GUERNSEY COUNTY, OHIO. 



1840 — Wilson Shannon (D)..2,326 
Thomas Corwin (Whig) 2,6 17 

1842 — Wilson Shannon (D) . . 2,387 
Leicester Kink (Abol) . . 85 
Thomas Corwin (Whig) 2,388 

1844 — Mordecai Bartley (Whig) 

2,700 

David Tod (D) 2,651 

L. King (Abol) 277 

1846— William Bebb (Whig) . .2,414 

David Tod (D) 2,421 

Samuel Lewis (Abol) . . 378 

1848— John B. Weller (D) . . . .2,569 
Seabury Ford (Whig) . .2,525 

1850 — Reuben Wood (D) 2,269 

William Johnson (Whig) 

2,286 

Edward Smith (Abol).. 299 

1851— R. Wood (D) 1,671 

Sam F. Vinton (Whig) . 1,796 
Sam Lewis (Abol) 238 

1853— William Medill (D) . . . . 1,500 
Nelson Barere (Whig) . 1,4 14 
Sam Lewis (Abol) 633 

1855— William Medill (D) .. . . 1,361 
Salmon P. Chase (R) . . 1,893 
Allen Trimble ( Know- 
nothing) 130 

1857 — Henry B. Payne (D) ... 1,793 
Salmon P. Chase (R) .. 1,911 
P. Van Trump (Know- 
nothing) 65 



1859— R. P. Raney (D) 1,663 

William Dennison (R). 2,103 
1861— Hugh J. Jewett (D) . . . 1,968 

David Tod (R) 2,262 

1863— C. L. Vallandigham (D) 

1.952 

John Brough (R) 2,929 

1865— George W. Morgan (D) . 1,853 

Jacob D. Cox (R) 2,503 

1867— Allen G. Thurman (D). 2,052 

R. B. Hayes (R) 2,549 

1869— George H. Pendelton (D) 

1,836 

R. B. Hayes (R) 2,380 

1 87 1— George W. McCook (0)1,831 

Edward F. Noyes (R) . .2,417 
1873 — William Allen (D) 1,799 

Edward F. Noyes (R) . .2,156 
( Xo returns for balance of governors) 
1874— William Allen 
1876 — Rutherford B. Hayes 
1878— T. L. Young 
1880 — Charles Foster 
1884 — George Hoadley 
1886— J. B. Foraker 
1890 — William McKinley, Jr. 
1896 — Asa Bushnell 
1900 — G. K. Nash 
1904— M. T. Herrick 
1906 — J. M. Patterson 
1908 — Judson Harmon 
19 10 — Judson Harmon 



CONGRESSMEN. 



From 1803 to 181 3 Ohio was represented in the Congressional House 
of Representatives by Jeremiah Morrow, of Warren county, who from 1813 
to 1819 was one of the senators of the state in Congress; from 1822 to 1824 
he was governor of Ohio. The members of Congress representing Guern- 
sey county from 1810 are shown by the subjoined table: 



GUERNSEY COUNTY, OHIO. yj 



1809-13, Jeremiah Morrow, of Warren county. 
1813-17, James Caldwell, of Belmont county. 
1817-21, Samuel Herrick, of Muskingum county. 
1821-23, John C. Wright, of Jefferson county. 
1823-25, John Patterson, of Belmont county. 
1825-27, David Jennings, of Belmont county. 
1827-29, John Davenport, of Belmont county. 
1829-33, William Kennon, of Belmont county. 
1833-35, James M. Bell, of Guernsey county. 
1835-37, William Kennon, of Belmont county. 
1837-39, Alexander Harper, of Muskingum county. 
1839-41, Isaac Parrish, of Guernsey county. 
1841-43, Benjamin S. Cowen, of Belmont county. 
1843-45, Alexander Harper, of Muskingum county. 
1845-47, Alexander Harper, of Muskingum county. 
1847-51, Nathan Evans, of Guernsey county. 
1851-53, Alexander Harper, of Muskingum county. 
1853-55, Wilson Shannon, of Belmont county. 
1855-57, Charles J. Albright, of Guernsey county. 
1857-59, William Lawrence, of Guernsey county. 
1859-61, Thomas C. Theaker, of Belmont county. 
1861-63, James R. Morris, of Monroe county. 
1863-65, Joseph W. White, of Guernsey county. 
1865-73, John A. Bingham, of Harrison county. 
1873-77, Lorenzo Danford, of Belmont county. 
1877-79. Gibson Atherton, of Licking county. 
1879-81, Jonathan T. Updegraff, of Jefferson county. 
1881-83, J. D. Taylor, of Guernsey county. 
1883-85. J. T. Updegraff. 
1885-87, J. D. Taylor, of Guernsey county. 
1887-89, J. D. Taylor, of Guernsey county. 
1889-91, H. C. Van Voorhis. 
1(891-93, H. C. Van Voorhis. 
1893-95. H. C. Van Voorhis. 
1895-97, H. C. Van Voorhis. 
1897-99, H. C. Van Voorhis. 
1899-1901. H. C. Van Voorhis. 
1901-03, H. C. Van Voorhis. 
1903-05, H. C. Van Voorhis. 



j8 GUERNSEY COUNTY, OHIO. 

1905-07 — B. G. Davis. 
1907-09, James Joyce. 
1909-11, James Joyce. 

From the eleventh to the twenty-second General Assembly, inclusive, 
Guernsey, Tuscarawas and Coshocton counties composed a senatorial district. 
From the twenty-third to the forty-third General Assembly, Guernsey and 
Monroe counties constituted a senatorial district. To the forty-fourth, forty- 
fifth, forty-sixth, forty-seventh, forty-eighth and forty-ninth General As- 
semblies, Guernsey and Coshocton joined in electing senators. From the 
fiftieth General Assembly, the first under the 185 1 constitution, Guernsey and 
Monroe have composed a senatorial district. 

Guernsey county first obtained a separate representation in the lower 
House in 181 2. At present Guernsey county is within the nineteenth senator- 
ial district, while it is within the fifteenth congressional district of Ohio. 

STATE SENATORS AND REPRESENTATIVES. 

Under the constitution of 1802, representatives to the Ohio General As- 
sembly were chosen annually, at the October election. Senators were elected 
for the term of two years. The present (1851) constitution provides for an 
election of members of the Legislature every two years, senators and repre- 
sentatives being elected at the same time and for the same length of term. 

In the ninth General Assembly of Ohio, which convened at Zanesville in 
December, 1810, being the first session held after the organization of Guern- 
sey county, it was represented, with Muskingum and Tuscarawas, by Robert 
McConnell in the Senate, and George Jackson and David J. Marple, in the 
House of Representatives. 

Senators. Representatives. 

181 1 — Robert McConnell George Jackson 

William Frame 

1 81 2 — Ephraim Sears Zaccheus A. Beatty 

18 1 3 — Joseph Wampler Thomas Henderson 

1 8 14 — Joseph Wampler Thomas Henderson 

1 81 5 — Abraham Shane Thomas Henderson 

1816 — Abraham Shane Cyrus P. Beatty 

1(817— David Robb Cyrus P. Beatty 

1818 — David Robb Thomas Hanna 

18 19 — David Robb Isaac Grummond 



GUERNSEY COUNTY, OHIO. 79 

1820 — David Robb Isaac Griimmond 

182 1 — Wilson, McGowan Lloyd Talbott 

1822 — Wilson McGowan Isaac Grummond 

1823 — Zaccheus A. Beatty Isaac Grummond 

1824 — Zaccheus A. Beatty Thomas Hanna 

1825 — Thomas Hanna William Thompson 

1 826— Thomas Hanna James M. Bell 

1827— David Robb James M. Bell 

1828— David M. Robb James M. Bell 

1829 — Thomas Weston James M. Bell 

183a— Thomas Weston James M. Bell 

183 1 — Robert Thompson David Tullis 

1832 — Robert Thompson Samuel Bigger 

1833 — Isaac Atkinson Samuel Bigger 

1834 — Isaac Atkinson John Craig 

1835— William Scott Joel F. Martin 

1836 — William Scott Samuel Bigger 

1837 — William C. Walton Isaac Parrish 

1838— William C. Walton Joel F. Martin 

1839— William Scott Robert B. Moore 

1840 — William Scott William Israel 

1 84 1 — William C. Walton Turner G. Brown 

1842 — William C. Walton William Douglas 

1843 — William Armstrong William Lawrence 

1844 — William Armstrong William Skinner 

Jesse Meredith 

1845 — French W. Thornhill Thomas W. Tipton 

1846 — French W. Thornhill Xewell Kennon 

1847;;— Peter B. Ankeny William Morrow 

1848 — Peter B. Ankeny William Morrow 

1849 — Andrew Ferguson Mathew Gaston 

Hugh McNeely 
1850 — Andrew Ferguson Alexander Mitchell 

James J. Grimes 

1852 — John Ferguson Andrew Patterson 

1854 — Western C. Sinclair Thomas Oldham 

1856 — William Lawrence Robert Campbell 

Abraham Simmons 
1858 — Marshall Morrow Hugh Broom 

Francis Rea 



8o GUERNSEY COUNTY, OHIO. 

i860 — Stephen Potts James W. Watt 

1862 — John D. O'Connor Joseph Ferrill 

1864 — John D. O'Connor Joseph Ferrill 

1866 — Robert Savage John T. Clark 

1868 — William Lawrence Ross W. Anderson 

1870 — James O. Amos Ross W. Anderson 

1872 — James O. Amos Abraham Armstrong 

1874 — John W. Laughlin Abraham Armstrong 

1876 — J. B. Williams Thomas S. Luccock 

1878 — J. B. Williams Thomas S. Luccock 

1880 — Frank Atkinson Roland S. Frame 

1882 — Charles P. Simons Roland S. Frame 

i l 886 — William Lawrence William E. Bowden 

1888— D. H. Mortly D. D. Taylor 

1890— J. L. Meyers D. D. Taylor 

1898 — David H. Mortly James Joyce 

1900 — J. L. Meyers W. L. Simpson 

1902 — J. E. Hurst W. L. Simpson 

1904 — Alex. Smith F. T. Eagelson 

1906 — J. P. Mahaffey F. T. Eagelson 

1908 — J. P. Mahaffey John McCreary 

1910 Thomas A. Bonnell 

COUNTY TREASURERS. 

The first county treasurer was John Beatty. The records show the fol- 
lowing to have been elected in the years following 1818: 

1 819 — John Beatty 1845 — William Abell 

1822— George R. Tingle 1847— William Abell 

1824— L. Talbott 1849— T. Arneel 

1827 — Ebenezer Smith 185 1 — T. Arneel 

1829 — George Metcalf 1853 — Stephen Potts 

1 83 1— Hamilton Robb 1855— Stephen Potts 

1833 — Hamilton Robb 1857 — William Borton 

1837 — Hamilton Robb i860 — Joshua Gregg 

1839 — William Ferguson 1865 — T. M. Johnson 

1841 — N. Kennon 1866 — T. M. Johnson 

1843 — N. Kennon 1867 — W. A. Lawrence 



CI KKNSI-'V ( "I 1 1 • N I Y 



1869 — W. A. Lawrence 
1871 — James H. Hatton 
1872— John Gregg 
1873 — James H. Hatton 
1875 — John D. Patterson 
1877 — John D. Patterson 
1878— J. S. Wilkins 
1880— J. S. Wilkins 
1882— John E. Sankey 
1884— John E. Sankey 
1886— Milton Turner 



1888— John O. Couplin 
1890 — John O. Couplin 
1892 — John A. Bliss 
1894 — John A. Bliss 
1896— T. M. Bond 
1898— T. M. Bond 
1900 — R. B. Acheson 
1902 — R. B. Acheson 
1904 — Jacob A. LaFollett 
190S — L. S. Linkhorn 
1910 — L. S. Linkhorn 



1 810— Thomas Knowles 
1825— William Allison 
1826— Adam Clarke 
1828— Adam Clarke 
1830 — Andrew Metcalf 
1832 — Andrew Metcalf 
1834 — John Beymer 
1838 — Joseph Bute 
1840 — -John Beymer 
1842 — John Beymer 

1 844 Needham 

1846 

1848 

1 850— L. Birch 
1852— L. Burns 
1854 — L. Burris 
1856 — Mathew B. Casey 
1858— Mathew B. Casey 
i860 — Alexander Johnston 
1862 — Alexander Johnston 
1864 — William Stewart 
1868— William B. Barnett 



1870 — William B. Barnett 
1 S72— William H. Hanna 
1874— William P. Hartley 
1876— William McKitrick 
1878— William McKitrick 
1880— John N. McGill 
1882— John McGill 
1884— Hugh McDonald 
1886— Hugh McDonald 
1888— William H. C. Hanna 
1890— William H. C. Hanna 

1892 Mason 

1894 — John C. McMillen 
1896— John C. McMillen 
1898— J. B. Dollison 
1900 — J. B. Dollison 
1902 — Ira H. Watson 
1904 — Ira H. Watson 
1906 — H. K. Moore 
1908 — H. K. Moore 
19 10 — J. S. Berry 



(6) 



82 GUERNSEY COUNTY, OHIO. 

CLERKS OF THE COURT. 

From imperfect records of elections the following is as near a list of 
clerks as can now be clearly given (C. P. Beatty was first) : 

1851— W. M. Farrar 1890— Alfred Weeden 

1854 — W. M. Farrar 1893 — Henry M. Dungan 

1857— Thomas Lanfesty 1895— A. B. Hall 

1875 — Robert Hammond 1898 — A. B. Hall 

1878— J. P. Mahaffey 1901— Andrew J. Linn 

1 88 1 — James R. Barr 1904 — Andrew J. Linn 

1884 — James R. Barr 1907 — Elza D. Trott 

1887— Alfred Weeden 1910— Elza D. Trott 

Cyrus P. Beatty. Zaccheus P. Beatty, Cyrus P. Beatty, Moses Sarchet, 
Thomas W. Peacock and George McLaran, served up to 185 1, in this order 
of succession. 



In the olden days in this county, the following was the court crier's an- 
nouncement : 

"Hear ye, hear ye, hear ye, all manner of persons who sue or implead, 
or stand bound by recognizance, or have otherwise to do before the honor- 
able court of common pleas of Guernsey county, let them draw near, give 
their attendance and they shall be heard, for this court is now open. God 
save the state!" 

ASSOCIATE JUDGES FROM l8lO TO 1851. 

Jacob Gomber, Robert Spears, Thomas B. Kirkpatrick, William Frame, 
James Leeper, Thomas Henderson, Elijah Bealle, George Metcalf, David 
Tullis, William Skinner, Turner G. Brown, William Thompson, Stewart 
Speer, Joseph D. Tingle, Robert Marshall, Robert Reed, Zadock Davis. 

These associate judges were elected for a term of seven years. 

COUNTY AUDITORS. 

Beginning with 1824, the auditors of Guernsey county have been as fol- 
lows : 

1824 — Robert A. Moore 1832 — Robert B. Moore 

1826 — Robert B. Moore 1834 — Robert B. Moore 



GUERNSEY COUNTY, OHIO. 



83 



1838— John Hersh 
1840— John Hersh 
1842 — John Hersh 
1844 — A. Armstrong 
1846 — A. Armstrong 
1848— William Endley 

1850 Ruth 

1852 Ruth 

1854 — William Endley 
1856 — Joseph D. Tingle 
1859 — J. M. Carson 
1862 — Francis Hammond 
1864 — Francis Hammond 
1866 — Francis Hammond 
1 868— A. A. Taylor 
1870 — Francis Hammond 
1872 — Francis Hammond 
1874 — J. K. Brown 



1 876— J. K. Brown 
1877— W. E. Bowden 
1878— W. E. Bowden 
1880— John C. Beckett 
1882— John C. Beckett 
1884— John C. Beckett 
1886 — Thomas Smith 
1888— Thomas Smith 
1890— J. E. McClelland 
1896— William P. De Hart 
1899— William P. De Hart 
1902 — William P. De Hart 
1902 — Daniel A. Wallace 
1908 — Daniel A. Wallace 
1906 — Daniel A. Wallace 
1908— W. D. Deselm 
19 10 — W. D. Deselm 



COUNTY RKCOKDKKS. 



The first recorder was Robert Johnson. 



1834 — John Ferguson 
1837— Jacob G. Metcalf 
1840 — William Smith 
1843— William Smith 
1846 — C. Armor 
1849 — C. Armor 
1852 — Moses Marsh 
1856 — Moses Marsh 
1864— Moses Marsh 
1867— P. T. Suitt 
1870— P. T. Suitt 
1873— H. B. Huffman 
1876— H. B. Huffman 



1879 — Rodolf Thomas 
1882— Rodolf Thomas 
1885— J. K. Casey 
1888— J. K. Casey 
1 89 1— William F. Pagett 
1894— William F. Pagett 
1897 — John C. Crossen 
1900 — John C. Crossen 
1903 — F. P. Arnold 
1906— F. P. Arnold 
1908— C. S. Stock-dale 
19 10 — C. S. Stockdale 



COUNTY SURYKYoRS. 



The only election record found of county surveyors in this countv is the 
following, but several others have evidentlv served : 



84 



GUERNSEY COUNTY, OHIO. 



1810 — George Metcalf, by appoint- 
ment. 
1838 — John Kennon 
1840 — Charles Carroll 
1850 — Mr. Dougherty 
1852 — Mr. Morton 
1862 — J. Cosgrove 
1865 — J. Cosgrove 
1868 — David Thompson 
1 87 1 — Robert McKahan 



1877 — Robert McKahan 
1880 — Jonathan W. Garber 
1883 — Jonathan W. Garber 
1886— Mr. Hester 
1889— O. M. Hoge 
1892— O. M. Hoge 
1895— William B. Webster 
1898— William B. Webster 
1904 — C. B. Davis 
1910 — C. B. Davis 



COUNTY COMMISSIONERS. 



1826— William Scott 
1827 — William Lowry 
1830 — William Lowry 
183 1 — William Robinson 
1832 — Isaac Parish 
1834 — Robert Campbell 
1837 — Robert Reed 
1838 — Samuel Lawrence 
1839 — A. Laughlin 
1840 — James Wharton 
1 84 1 — Samuel Lawrence 
1842 — Alex Laughlin 

1843 McMahon 

1844 Mitchell 

1845 Bell 

1849 — J. Lyons 

1850 — Danford, Stranathon 

1 85 1 Sankey 

1852 Spear 

1853 Robins 

1854— Robert Wilkins 
1856— Ben j. L. Mead 
1857 — Alexander McCoy 
1 861 — Henry McCartney 
1862 — M. Morton 
1864 — Henry McCartney 



1865— M. Morton 
1867 — Henry McCartney 
1868 — Jonathan Rose 
1869 — William Brown 

1870 McCleary 

1873 McCleary 

1874 — Jonathan Rose 
1875 — Thomas C. Mackey 

1876 Reed 

1877 — Pat Lochary 

1878 Roseman 

1880 — Pat Lochary 
1 88 1— A. M. Nicholson 
1882 — John Shipman 
1883— J. B. Hartley 
1884— A. W. Nicholson 
1885 — John Shipman 
1886— J. B. Hartley 
1887 — George Watson 
1888 — John Thompson 
1S89— John T. Beggs 
1890 — George Watson 
1 89 1 — John A. Thompson 
1892 — John W. Graves 
1893 — James Kaho 
1894 — Samuel R. Smith 



GUERNSEY COUNTY, OHIO. 



85 



1896 — James Kaho 
1897 — Samuel R. Smith 
1898— Jed Williams 
1900 — Samuel Smith 
1902 — John T. Beggs 
1904 — L. P. Moore 



1905 — James C. Orr 
1908 — Elias D. Stone 
1910 — Elias D. Stone 

— Willard B. Johnston 
— Lafayette Temple 



The ahove is not a complete list, but as nearly so as records of this date 
disclose. 

INFIRMARY DIRECTORS. 

For many years this office was known as the poorhouse director. 



1842 — John Barton 

1843 Smith 

1844 Sproat 

1845 Barton 

1849 — J. Hastings 

1850 Leeper 

1 85 1 — M. Frame 

1852 Withrow 

1853 ■ Leeper 

1854 — M. Frame 

Samuel Dunn 
1856 — Samuel Dunn 
1857 — Moses Frame 

(To 1862 no record) 
1862— M. Zahnizer 
1864 — John R. Forsythe 
1867 — E. Finley 
1868— S. Brown 
1869 — William H. Hoover 
1870 — E. Finley 

1871 Cunningham 

1873 — E - Finley 

1874 — George A. Mooney 

1875 — J. S. Gander 

1876 Kester 

1877 — James McClanahan 



1878— J. S. Gander 
1 880 — James McClanahan 
1 88 1— J. S. Gander 
1882 — James B. Gibson 
1883— Alfred Skinner 
1884— David L. Mackey 
1885 — James B. Gibson 

1886 Spencer 

1887 — Isaac McCullom 
1888— Alex. Speer 

1889 Spencer 

1890 — John H. Robinson 
1 89 1 — Alex. Speer 
1892— H. M. Beymer 
1893 — James H. Robinson 
1894 — James Shaw 
1896— R. W. Lowry 
1898 — Samuel L. Johnson 
1899— R. W. Lowry 
1900 — Robert Bums 
1902 — John C. Anker 
1904 — W. C. Leonard 

1905 McCleary 

1908 — A. G. Ringer 
1910 — J. H. Bond 



S(, 



GUERNSEY COUNTY, OHIO. 



I'KnSECUTIXG ATTORNEYS. 



The first prosecuting attorney was Samuel Herricks, at organizati 



1833 — Isaac Parrish 
1837— William W. Tracy 

1839 Gaston 

1 84 1 — Nathan Evans 

1843 Ferguson 

1845 White 

1849 — J- O- Grimes 

185 1 Skinner 

J 853 Buchanan 

1856— John M. Bashfield 
1857 — Francis Creighton 
1 86 1 — Francis Creighton 

1865 Taylor 

1867— M. Barnes 
1 87 1 — J. O. Grimes 



IS73- 


"J- 


O. 


Grimes 


1875- 


-J- 


C. 


Steele 


1877- 


"J- 


C. 


Steele 


1881- 


-M 


. F 


'. Patterson 


1884- 


-John 


M. Locke 


1887- 


"J- 


H. 


Mackey 


1890- 


-J- 


H. 


Mackey 


1893- 


-J- 


II. 


Mackey 


1 896 — John 


H. Locke 


1S99- 


-A. 


L. 


Stevens 


1902- 


-A. 


L. 


Stevens 


1905- 


-C. 


S. 


Sheppard 


1908— C. 


s. 


Sheppard 


1910- 


-B. 


F. 


Enos 


JUDGES. 







Among the probate judges of this county are these : 



1 85 1 — James De Long 
1854 — James De Long 
1857 — J. C. Ford 
1869— W. H. Dougherty 

l &75 Buchanan 

1878 Kennon 

1 88 1— L. P. Hossick 



1886— John H. Weger 
1890— N. H. Barber 
1895— W. H. Gregg 
1900 — W. H. Gregg 
1905 — H. W. Luccock 
1910 — H. W. Luccock 



CORONERS. 



The first coroner of Guernsey county Was Joseph Smith, by appointment, 
when the first officers were selected at organization. From 1822 they have 
been these : 



1822 — Thomas Lenington 
1825 — Thomas Lenington 
1827 — Otho Brashear 



1830 — John Dixon 
1832 — William Israel 
1834 — Thomas McCullough 



GUERNSEY COUNTY. OHIO. 



1838 — Samuel Marshall 
1840 — Edward Daugherty 
1842 — David Needham 

1844 Scott 

1850 Burris 

1852 Johnson 

1854 — Ben. Cole 

1856 — George B. Leeper 

1860— L. T. Bonnell 

1862 — Alexander H. Milligan 

1864 — John Leeper 

1 87 1 — Isaac A. Oldham 

1873 — William B. Rosemond 

1875 — William B. Rosemond 

1877 Forsythe 

1878— J. H. Sarchet 



1881— J. H. Sarchet 
1885— J. H. Sarchet 
1887— J. H. Sarchet 
1889— J. H. Sarchet 
1 89 1— J. H. Sarchet 
1893— J- H. Sarchet. 
1895 — Ed. M. Dougherty 
1897 — Ed. M. Dougherty 
1899 — Doctor Vorhies 
1901 — Doctor Vorhies 
1903 — W. B. Yeo 
1905 — W. B. Yeo 
1907 — W. B. Yeo 
1909 — A. G. Ringer 
1910 — A. G. Ringer 



CHAPTER VII. 



MILITARY HISTORY OF THE COUNTY. 



Xo generation will look back with shame at the military record of the 
loyal old Buckeye state. Her early pioneers were men of undaunted courage 
and bravery ; they were the people who saw the receding forms of the savage 
red men as they bid a long farewell to their vast and beautiful hunting grounds 
and wended their way toward the setting sun, to far beyond the "Father of 
Waters." They were descendants of the brave and patriotic men who de- 
clared and finally gained their independence over the mother country. Then 
it is not strange that, when assailed by traitors at home and outlaws on our 
southern borders, the people of Guernsey county rallied around the flag, 
which by their devotion and sacrifice has come to be revered as no emblem on 
the earth, save the cross of Christ alone, is honored in this the close of the 
first decade in the twentieth century. 

Guernsey county, however, was settled but little in the days of the last 
war with Great Britain (that of 1812-14) and not even explored when the 
Revolutionary war was being "fought, hence the part it took in these struggles 
was almost entirely precluded. Yet, there were numerous soldiers of the war 
of 1812, who afterward became sturdy pioneers here on Guernsey soil and 
assisted in opening up the county. Also, there Were some who had served 
in the great war for independence who found their way to these green, glad 
solitudes, when but few white men had looked upon these fair and fertile hills 
and dales. 

Thus the conflicts in which the brave men of this county took an active 
part may be stated as being the war with Mexico, the great Rebellion, from 
1861 to 1865, and the Spanish-American war of 1898, when, over the sinking 
of the warship "Maine," and the inhuman treatment given to her subjects on 
the isle of Cuba, Spain was humbled from her once proud throne and given to 
understand that America stood for justice and liberty, cost what it might. 

Before passing to the military history, proper, of this county, the reader 
is invited to read the following history of a Revolutionary soldier, who at one 
time resided in this county and whose bones are now entombed within this 
soil. 



GUERNSEY COUNTY, OHIO. 8c> 

A REVOLUTIONARY CHARACTER. 

In the Guernsey Weekly Times of January 21, 1904, there appeared a 
sketch by Col. C. P. B. Sarchet, of a Guernsey county boy, James Rimer Wil- 
liams, of Salina, Kansas, who died on January 2, 1904. There is some history 
connected with this family that we will give. His grandfather, David Wil- 
liams, came to Cambridge, when a young man, from Scotland, with his 
brother-in-law, Robert Nicholson, in 1817. He was by trade a weaver, but 
for some years he was a bar-keeper at the old Tingle tavern in Cambridge. 
There he became acquainted with Catherine Brown, who was a working girl 
at the same tavern, and they were married in Cambridge, January 13, 1825. 
Her father was a keeper in the old log-gaol, the first county jail. After their 
marriage they settled on a farm in Jackson township. James P. Williams, 
father of James Rimer Williams, was the oldest son of David Williams. He 
married, in Jackson township, Sarah Peodvin, daughter of Nicholas Peodvin 
and Sarah O'Harer. She was their only child. Nicholas Peodvin was a 
cousin of James Bichard, grandfather of the writer, and came to Cambridge 
along with the French Guernsey settlers in 1807. After the death of Nicholas 
Peodvin, James P. Williams and his wife came into the possession of the 
Nicholas Peodvin farm in Jackson township, which he afterward sold, about 
1864, to Hon. J. W. White, and purchased the William Rainey, Sr., farm in 
the same township. From this farm he moved to Kansas. White sold the 
farm to Jonathan Gander, and it became known for many years as the Gander 
farm. The Rainey-Williams farm is now in the possession of the heirs of 
E. R. Nyce. Connected with the William Rainey family was Andrew Whit- 
tier. He died at the remarkable age of one hundred and twenty-four years, 
being born in Germany in 1716, dying in 1840. He was buried in a grave 
yard located on the banks of Wills creek below Byesville. He was a soldier 
in the Revolutionary war. The last we have heard of his place of interment 
was that the creek was undermining the bank of the graveyard, and that the 
bones of this old hero, whose foreign blood he was ready to shed that this 
great free republic might live and become what it is, the greatest nation of 
the world, were about to be washed down Wills creek. 

About the time of the report referred to by Colonel Sarchet, the patriotic 
people of Jackson township and Byesville village removed the bones of Whit- 
tier to the old Cambridge Baptist cemetery, where they are duly marked with 
a monument, inscribed with his wonderful age of one hundred and twenty- 
four years. 



9 o 



GUERNSEY COUNTY, OHIO. 
SOLDIERS OF l8l2. 



Guernsey county was represented in the war of 1812 by three companies 
of militia, commanded respectively by Capt. Simon Beymer, Capt. Absalom 
Martin and Capt. C. P. Beatty. We have recently come into possession of 
the names of the members of these companies, which we publish below, as a 
contribution to the history of the county. Few, if any, of the present genera- 
tion know anything - about the experiences of their ancestors in eastern Ohio, 
during that war. Few know that Guernsey county, sparsely settled at it was 
in 1 81 2, sent so many soldiers into the field. The following two companies 
were in the detachment commanded by Col. Robert Bay : 

CAPTAIN BEYMERS COMPANY. 



Simon Beymer, captain 
Stewart Speer, first lieutenant 
Henry Beymer, second lieutenant 
David Slater, sergeant 
Andrew Dougherty, sergeant 
George Wines, sergeant 
Robert Ewings, sergeant 
William Beymer, corporal 
David Moore, corporal 
Nicholas Baumgardner, corporal 
Frederic Beymer, corporal 
William Englehart, corporal 
Alex. Barton, corporal 
John Bickham 
Daniel Bates 
Findly Collins 
David Dougherty 
George Dye 
James Hawkins 
Levin Lewis 
Andrew McGowan 
Joseph Reed 
Frederick Saltsgayer 
John Sickman 
Henry Steers 



Jacob Thomas 
Nehemiah Williams 
Argus Morris 
Thomas Brannon 
Ezekiel Bates 
William Cook 
Ichabod Dilley 
Elisha Evans 
Henry Llewellyn 
James Lard 
James McConnell 
Samuel Shevel 
William Satterfield 
William Smith 
William Sherman 
John Vanpelt 
Charles Birch 
Ford Barnes 
William Chance 
Joshua Clark 
Abraham Dilley 
Peter P"ry 
Joseph Lyn 
Robert Lancing 
John Rainey 



cckuvm-.i t in .\ i v, oiiio. 



9i 



Moses Steppenson 
Thomas Smith 
Andrew Sickman 



Presley Sickman 
Moses Wright 



CAPTAIN MARTIN S COMPANY. 



Absalom Martin, captain 

Wyatt Hutchinson, first lieutenant 

James Sherman, second lieutenant 

John Bratton, sergeant 

George Sudden, sergeant 

Thomas Mullen, sergeant 

William Israel, sergeant 

Thos. De Britner, corporal 

Edward Milner, corporal 

C. Donover, corporal 

James Edwards, corporal 

Edw. Davis, corporal 

Henry Wolford, corporal 

Josiah Barron 

Moses Beard 

Thomas Read 

Henry Carrel 

Bernard Duwit 
Jacob Hart 

Aaron Hedges 

James Miles 

Philip McWilliam 

Thomas Merritt 

John Read' 

Jonathan Stull 

Jacob Dedrick 

David Wilson 

Thomas Wilkins 

James Warnock 

Atkinson Mitchell 

David Burns 

Joseph Bowers 



William Kerns 
Henry Davis 
James Everett 
William Hanna 
Lewis Lambert 
John Mealman 
William Moore 
John McGiven 
Joshua Reaves 
George Shipley 
John Dedrick 
Jonathan Warne 
John Woodbeck 
Peter Wirick 
David Brown 
Thomas Barron 
Joseph Bell 
Joseph Coyle 
David Delong 
William Kirk 
Henry Hite 
George Launce 
William McGiven 
William Maple 
Samuel Poke 
Philip Shoaf 
John Sealer 
Michael Dedrick 
Andrew Wirick 
Robert Warnock 
David Delong 



9 2 



GUERNSEY COUNTY, OHIO. 



CAPTAIN BEATTY'S COMPANY. 



Cyrus P. Beatty, captain 
David Burt, lieutenant 
Nicholas Stoner, ensign 
John Leverick 
Henry Whetstone 
Joseph Archer 
James Delong 
James Thomas 
William Linn (absent) 
Samuel Beymer (absent) 
William Gibson 
James Shipley 
James Fuller 
John McKee 
Robt. Atkinson 
Elijah Williams 
William Talbutt 
James Noble 
David Clark 
James Parkhill 
Jonathan Eastman 
William Stewart 
Samuel Styers 
Isaac Styles 
Joseph Ward 
James Waddle 
James *Bigham 
James McMullen (absent) 
Joseph Wilkey 



John Shipley 

Michael Wirick 

George Warne 

Alexander Harper 

George Miller 

Eli Bingham 

John Wiley (absent) 

William Roak 

William Van Horn 

Garret Reasoner 

Richard Scott 

William Gibson, Jr. 

Robert Lowery 

John Beymer 

Arthur Adair 

George Shivel 

William Anderson 

Ezekiel Shipley 

Andrew Henderson 

Thomas Dennis 

William Oyler 

Hugh McCoy 

Rodney Talbutt 

Robert Lansing 

Ford Barnes 

John Bollen (absent) 

William Morehead (absent) 

Tohn Conner 



On the hack of the muster roll of the above company, Lieut. -Col. Z. A. 
Beatty writes that he has inspected the ammunition, arms, etc., of the detach- 
ment, and finds them to be as follows : Powder in horns, two and one-half 
pounds; balls in pouches, ninety; pouches and horns, eleven; rifles, thirteen; 
muskets, one. By a note on the muster roll we learn that Lieutenant-colonel 
Beatty forwarded this report to Colonel Bay on August nth, Beatty being 
then at Zanesville. He explains in this note why no non-commissioned offi- 



i.l IJRiXSIC (in NTS , nil 111. <;3 

cers have been appointed, the officer desiring to become better acquainted 
with the men before making those appointments. 

OFF TO THE WARS. 

Iii the early days of Cambridge, the only blacksmith shop in town was 
that of William McCracken, father of Alexander McCracken. Day after 
day, the sound of the hammer was heard in his place, and trade was busy. 
But then came the war of 1812, and all the able-bodied men of the place en- 
listed for active service. William McCracken quenched the fire in his forge, 
put down his hammer, locked the door, and set off with a musket. But to 
this the worthy people of Cambridge could not agree. Some one must shoe 
their horses, and there was none in the land of Guernsey who approached 
McCracken in skill and capacity. So a collection was taken up, to which the 
interested ones gladly contributed, a substitute was hired to shoulder the 
musket, and William McCracken perforce returned to his forge, kindled the 
fires and once more the blacksmith shop rang with the sound of the hammer. 

SOLDIERS OF THE WAR OF l8l2. 

At a meeting of the soldiers of the war of 1812, held in the court house 
square September 3, 1869, the following registered their names for the pur- 
pose of petitioning the general government for pensions : 

Elijah Grimes, aged eighty years, residing at Cambridge. 
George Macomber, aged seventy-five years, of Cambridge. 
Peter Klingman, aged eighty-one years, of Cambridge. 
Joseph Waller, aged seventy-eight years, of Cambridge. 
George- McGannon, aged eighty-three years, of Cambridge. 
William Phillips, aged seventy-eight years, of Cambridge. 
William Turnbaugh, aged eighty-one years, of Cambridge. 
John McGiffin, aged eighty-five years, of Cambridge. 
Adam Rankin, aged seventy-five years, of Midway. 
Thomas Brown, aged seventy-six years, of Washington. 
Andrew Bay, aged seventy-one years, Leatherwood. 
Thomas N. Muzzy, aged eighty years, of Cumberland. 
George McCormick, aged eighty-one years, of Antrim. 
Adam Bucher, aged eighty-two years, of Rochester. 
Edward Milliner, aged eighty-four years, of Millinersville. 



94 GUERNSEY COUNTY, OHIO. 

Others who reported later were: Samuel F. McKinnie, aged eighty- 
seven years, of Washington township; Joseph McKinnie, aged seventy-six 
years, of the county, and also Robert Richey. 

Governor R. B. Hayes and Col. John Ferguson spoke on the occasion of 
the meeting above referred to. 

THE MEXICAN WAR. 

The part taken in the war with Mexico, from 1846 to 1848, by the citi- 
zens of Guernsey county was not great. The reason was that the county was 
thinly settled at that date, and for the reason that Ohio was only called upon 
for three regiments of troops. While many from this county intended to go, 
the quota for the state was made up before the companies could be raised here. 
Some, however, did enlist in other counties and served through the war. It 
was supposed that a large parade of soldiers would be held here on the drill 
grounds of the home militia company, the same to be made up from several 
companies from Columbus and other points, and at which time many here 
in Cambridge intended to offer their services, but a change was made by a 
sudden military order, and the parade did not come off, hence no chance was 
given here to enlist. There have, however, resided many soldiers Who be- 
came settlers of Guernsey county, after having served from other Ohio 
counties. 

The following is to be found in the Times for August 6, 183 1 : 

BRIGADE ORDERS. 

"The Commissioned and Staff Officers of the Second Brigade, and the 
15th Division of Ohio Militia, will parade in the town of Washington, on 
Tuesday, the 30th day of August next, at 10 o'clock A. M. — and continue 
under the command of the Brigadier-General, until 3 o'clock P. M., on the 
succeeding day — armed, uniformed and equipt as the law directs. 

"By order of the Brigadier-General, 

"William Skinner, 

"Brigade Inspector. 

"All officers will appear in white pantaloons. 

"July 25th, 1831." 

THE CIVIL WAR. 

Without attempting to give the causes that led up to the breaking out of 
the Civil war — that terrible conflict between the North and South — the writer 



GUERNSEY COUNTY, OHIO. 95 

will hasten on to the pleasing task of setting forth in record form the deeds 
of sacrifice and valor performed by the soldiery of Guernsey county, between 
1861 and 1866, that future generations may read with a just pride of the 
loyalty displayed by their forefathers. Considering her population and size, 
during that- conflict, no county sent forth more men in defense of the flag than 
Guernsey, and Ohio, as is well known, outrivaled most states in the Union. 
So frequent were her regiments going to the front, that at one time, late in 
the struggle, the governor took exceptions to the letter President Lincoln 
wrote to New Jersey, when that state sent a regiment out. Mr. Lincoln wrote 
the governor of that state, and kindly thanked its people for the regiment. 
Ohio's war governor had never once been thanked by a personal letter from 
the good President, and yet the troops \vere constantly going" forth, at his 
bidding, to do battle. Then Lincoln, after receiving the reprimand from the 
governor here, sent him one of his characteristic communications, in which he 
said that he no more thought of sending a letter of thanks to Ohio than he 
did every- morning when Mrs. Lincoln passed him a fresh cup of coffee— that 
he always knew he was welcome to it and that it was coming, too. This was 
the greatest compliment the state of Ohio could expect and was satisfied, as 
was her governor. 

As the first soldiers were about to leave Cambridge, in 1861, the follow- 
ing appeared in the Jcffersonian and will, by their kindness and permission, 
here be quoted, for its intrinsic value in this war chapter of the county's 
history. 

OFF TO THE WAR. 

"The first company of Cambridge volunteers left this place on Tuesday 
morning for Columbus, there to await the orders of the President. They are 
a fine looking body of men, and they will no doubt 'stand by their colors' 
through 'thick and thin.' 

"We shall watch the destiny of the Cambridge Volunteers, with all the 
solicitude which high regard and affection can inspire, and while we shall ever 
hope to hear that victory and honor have perched upon their ensign, yet our 
highest happiness, under providence, will be to take them by the hand once 
more, 

" 'When wild war's deadly blast has blown.' 

"God bless the brave boys is the heartfelt prayer of every citizen of our 
town. 

"Officers — Captain, James Watt Moore; first lieutenant, Charles H. 
Moore; second lieutenant, John T. Rainey; first sergeant, Walter Barnett; 



9 6 



CI'KKXSKV COUNTY, OHIO. 



second sergeant, Alfred H. Evans; third sergeant, James Johnson; fourth 
sergeant, J. C. Wiser; first corporal, Moses Stockdale; second corporal, George 
\Y. Hutchison ; third corporal, Dr. James Anderson. 

"The following is as complete a list of names with places of residence 
as is now obtainable, of this volunteer company that left this place Tuesday 
morning. It should be carefully preserved : 



Henry H. Mercer, Cambridge 
David Frazier, Cambridge 
John Frazier, Cambridge 
John Nelson, Cambridge 
John W. Meek, Cambridge 
Thomas Kilburn, Knox township 
James W. Moore, Guernsey county 
Chas. H. Moore, Guernsey county 
James Johnson, Guernsey county 
William Armstrong, Cambridge 
H. S. Hyatt, Zanesville 
J. D. Meek, Byesville 
Josiah Scott, Cambridge 
John Beabout, Center township 
Robert E. Stiers, Senecaville 
Samuel Beadling, Cambridge 
Joshua McPeek, Cambridge 
Thomas Carr, Cambridge 
John McKim, Guernsey county 
Moses Stockdale, Antrim 
W. A. Arnold, Hartford 
Thomas Lindsey, Cumberland 
Perry Singer, Claysville 
Thomas McManaway, Cambridge 
Elijah Bell, Cambridge 
Andrew Waller, Washington 
Isaac McBirney, Washington 
W. F. Nicholson, Cumberland 
Harrison Danifer, Cambridge 
W. T. Frazier. 
C. F. Camp, Claysville 
James Delong, Cambridge 



John Bately, Cumberland 

E. M. Morrison, Kennonsburg 
Joshua M. Stiers, Se'welsville 
J. E. Gillett, Winchester 

J. M. Anderson, Birmingham 

F. M. McDowell, Cambridge 
James Davis. 

Thompson Rose, Liberty 

Samuel Shreeves, Cambridge 

Thomas Temple, Liberty 

Samuel Gregg, Senecaville 

M. D. Starr, Claysville 

R. A. Cusac, Cumberland 

Isaac J. Murphy, Claysville 

W. Landy, Cambridge 

J. B. Barnet, Claysville 

J. T. Rainey, Cambridge 

W. Stewart, Gallaghers 

A. H. Evans, Cambridge 

George W. McKim, Cambridge 

John Carter, Cambridge township 

Daniel J. Buckstone, Cambridge 

Nathan Downer, Cambridge 

John B. Meyer, Cambridge 

Alonzo Miller, Cambridge 

Andrew G. Beabout, Center township 

Simon Sines, Center township 

James Gray, Center township 

George W. Stult, Salesville 

G. W. Davis, Bridgeville 
Ebenezer Williams, Bridgeville 
John C. Meagher, Guernsey county 



GUERNSEY COUNTY., OHIO. 97 

George W. Hutchison, Cambridge John H. Murphy, Cumberland 

James McConehay, Cambridge Charles Osborn, Salesville 

William Johnson, Jackson township George Klingman, Cambridge 

James Turner, Center township John Clark Wiser, Cambridge 

Richard Bucey, Center township Stout P. Wallace, Cambridge 

William Murphy, Westland township William C. Crawford, New Concord 

Joseph Allen, Cumberland William Beadling, Cambridge 
Samuel Conner, Cumberland 

During the Civil war there were three regular drafts for the tilling up 
of Guernsey count)- quota, under the various calls for men by President Lin- 
coln. The first was dated May 17. 1864; the second was June 14th. the same 
year, and another June 21st. From three hundred dollars to one thousand 
dollars was paid as a bounty for substitutes. The following shows the 
drafted men by townships, the same being compiled January 31, 1865: 

Wheeling township, 10; Monroe township, 16; Londonderry township. 
21; Washington township, 18; Oxford township, 19; Millwood township 
15; Centre township, 6: Wills township. 21 ; Madison township, 8; Jefferson 
township, 8; Cambridge township, 1; Liberty township, 12; Adams tow-nship, 
; Knox township, 10; Spencer township, 14; Westland township, 6; Rich- 
land township, 7; Valley township, 15; Jackson township, 3; total, 219. 

Deputy Provost Marshal John B. Cook was shot dead in his back yard 
in [865, by persons supposed to have had trouble with him over a proposed 
draft, which they were evading. John W. Hartup and Hiram Oliver were 
arrested, tried before a court martial under General Ord. The trial lasted 
three months and the result was that the men were hung for the crime, one 
having confessed. 

Over two thousand men entered the Union army from Guernsey county, 
a record to be proud of by the citizens of the county. 

The principal commands in which soldiers served from Guernsey county 
were these: The Fifteenth Ohio Volunteer Infantry. Twenty-sixth Ohio 
Volunteer Infantry. Sixty-second Ohio Volunteer Infantry, Seventy-eighth 
Ohio Volunteer Infantry. Ninety-seventh Ohio Volunteer Infantry. Eighty- 
eighth Ohio Volunteer Infantry, One Hundred and Twenty-second Ohio Vol- 
unteer Infantry, One Hundred and Seventy-second Ohio Volunteer Infantry, 
First Ohio Cavalry Regiment. 



(7) 



<,l KKXSKY COUNTY, OHIO. 



SOLDIERS AID SOCIETIES. 



Not alone did the men of Guernsey county show their patriotism in 
suppressing the Rebellion from 1861 to 1865, but the work of the ladies was 
potent and duly appreciated by the soldiers in tent, hospital and field. In 
every township in this county there were societies doing their best to provide 
things of necessity and comfort for the men in the field. At Cambridge, the 
Times files of April 9, 1863, have the following item, worth preserving in this 
connection : 

"Our society was organized February 23, 1863, and though we have 
been cramped for means and by reason of the high prices that prevail, yet 
we will struggle on and not let this society go down so long as this dreadful 
war continues. YYe wish all who have promised to contribute and have not 
sent their contribution in would do so at once. 

"During the winter the ladies have made the following articles : Eight 
shirts, eight pads, four slings, forty towels, eight rolls of bandages, six eye- 
shades, four pair of slippers, five sheets. On March 21st we sent to the Cin- 
cinnati branch of the United States Sanitary Commission, one barrel and one 
box of fruits, dried fruits, jellies, wines and a half barrel of onions. 
"(Signed) Sallie G. Lyons, 

"Secretary." 

A REGIMENTAL PRINTER. 

Tn the Cambridge Times of April, 1864, an item appears as follows: 
"The Eighty-eighth Regiment, having purchased a press and the necessary 
type for printing general orders, requisitions, reports, etc., has appointed 
Francis M. Sarchet, of the regiment, as regimental printer. He formerly 
served an apprenticeship in this office. Though he is a young man, we feel 
warranted in saying that he is a good printer and will do good work. Suc- 
cess to Frank !" 

JOHN MORGAN'S RAID IN GUERNSEY COUNTY. 

We take this account of Morgan's raiders in this county, from the Cam- 
bridge Times of July 30, 1863 : 

"John Morgan, with the remnant of a band composed of the most villain- 
ous cut-throats and scoundrels, the sweepings and accumulations of two years 
of murdering and plundering among helpless people, amounting in number to 
probably six hundred, found his way into this county on Thursday, the 22nd 



GUERNSEY COUNTY, OHIO. 99 

inst., and entered the town of Cumberland about three o'clock in the after- 
noon of the same day. As usual, his pickets were thrown out, and the work 
of insult and plunder commenced. 

"The stores of Colonel Squier and Mr. Holmes, respected citizens of that 
place, were plundered of clothing and such articles as they seemed to need. 
Colonel Squier lost about four hundred dollars worth of goods, and Mr. 
Holmes about three hundred dollars worth. From Mr. Thomas Lindsey one 
dirt}' thief stole, or forcibly took, twenty-five dollars. After robbing Lindsey. 
the Butternut asked him if he was a Vallandigham man. Lindsey replied 
that he was not, but instead was a good Union man. Butternut then pro- 
ceeded to electioneer for his friend Val., by telling Lindsey that no better man 
lived anywhere than Vallandigham; that he ought to support him — using a 
considerable number of arguments to convince Lindsey that it was his duty to 
vote for that glorious friend of the South and its cause, Vallandigham. 

"In and about Cumberland they succeeded in stealing about one hundred 
good horses. While in town they quartered upon the inhabitants, from whom 
they insolently demanded food or whatever else they wished. They left 
Cumberland about eight o'clock in the evening, after perpetrating all the devil- 
ment they could, except burning the town and murdering the inhabitants. 

"The next place they turned up was at Hartford, in Valley township, 
which place they retired from without doing any material damage. We did 
learn that they robbed Mr. George Miller, of Hartford, of one thousand five 
hundred dollars, but as we have not heard it confirmed, presume it is not so. 

"At Senecaville they made a short stay, stole numerous horses, and took 
the road to Campbell's station. While at Senecaville, we learn that one of the 
thieves entered a stable belonging to a gentleman of that place, and, with 
drawn revolver, demanded a horse. The owner, instead of giving him a 
horse, gave him a blow alongside of his head with a club, which caused Mr. 
Secesh to give up all intention of dealing in horseflesh for the time being. 
Said Butternut is now lodged in our jail. 

"When the celebrated John was sojourning in Cumberland, a certain 
Doctor, formerly hailing- from the Hoskinsville region, and of Hoskinsville 
proclivities, had a horse confiscated by the Morgan thieves. The Doctor re- 
monstrated against the proceeding, and in the bill of exceptions set forth that 
he had a patient that he must see and that was the only animal he had to ride. 
Butternut sets forth in his answer that if the said Doctor would give him 
seventy-five dollars, he would surrender the horse. Whereupon the Doctor 
forked over the amount, and when John and his thieves retired, the Doctor's 
horse also retired with a Butternut on his back, and left the Doctor with a 



IOO GUERNSEY COUNTY, OHIO. 

feeling of goneness in the pocket and to mourn the untimely departure of his 
trusty pill packer. 

"Query, wasn't the Doctor a little verdant? 

"At Campbell's Station, they burned the warehouse and its contents, be- 
longing to Mr. John Fordyce, after robbing his safe, containing, we learn, 
about four thousand dollars in money, two thousand dollars of which be- 
longed tn Air. Thomas Frame; also the railroad bridge convenient, and three 
freight cars loaded with tobacco, cut the telegraph wires and started for 
Washington. Here they made a grand stand ; threw out their pickets, and 
prepared for war. We believe they did no damage in Washington, at least 
we have heard of none, except eating up what provisions the people had on 
hand, and relieving them of a few horses. At this place, General Shackleton 
came upon the thief with one thousand Union cavalry, which caused him to 
skedaddle in doublequick. A smart skirmish ensued at the edge of the town, 
the rebels firing one volley and running, as usual. In this skirmish, three 
rebels were wounded, two of whom are since dead and the other expected to 
die. On the road from Washington to Winchester the rebels made two more 
stands, each for a few minutes, when they fled. During one of these skir- 
mishes, three rebels were captured. Near Winchester, Colonel Wallace, with 
a few troops and one piece of artillery, joined General Shackleford. 

''The rebels, after the last skirmish, succeeded in getting some distance 
ahead of our forces, we failing to get in sight of them again in this county. 

"It appears, from conversations with eight of Morgan's men, who were 
captured, ami are now in the county jail here, that the scoundrels despaired of 
reaching home many days ago, and that they roamed about without any defi- 
nite object beyond a very slight hope that they might find an unguarded cross- 
ing on the Ohio river. They claim to have had plenty to eat, and but little 
time to eat it, so hard were they constantly pressed by our troops. They made 
it a point to take every horse they met with that was of any value, and when 
they stole a horse they generally turned loose some poor tired-out animal. 
How many horses they stole in this county we cannot possibly say, but as they 
stole all along the route, they must have picked up a considerable number. 

"As John Morgan and his band are now captured, the people can settle 
down and content themselves with at least a hope that one horse-thieving 
scoundrel and disturber of the peace of the country, will get his just deserts. 
1 f our people don't shoot him for the raid, the rebel authorities will be sure 
to. if they ever lay hands on him. He has wasted and destroyed, on a fool's 
errand, the best body of cavalry they had in their service, and all to no pur- 
pose in the world. Such a senseless expedition never started since the world 



GUERNSEY COUNTY, OHIO. IOI 

began. He has failed to perform a single achievement that is worth thinking 
of a second time. 

"Rebel raids into loyal states — whether on a great or a small scale — have 
but one ending, the defeat and utter route of those attempting them. John 
Morgan ventured this time something out of his usually safe line, and, in 
crossing the Ohio river, marked his track with foul murders — the killing of 
peaceful and unoffending citizens. It was but a little while until he found 
the spirit he had aroused, — the great mistake he had made, — and his fate will 
be the fate of all such scoundrels who undertake similar expeditions. They 
are the disgrace of civilization, and the villains will in future be hunted down 
as men hunt down wild beasts, and when caught, a 'short shrift and a long 
rope' will be all the compensation these blood-stained wretches will receive at 
the hands of a justly outraged people. We are told that in one section of this 
countv they were so very urbane and polite that they quite charmed our people. 
We, for one, are sick of this accursed cant about 'politeness,' 'chivalry,' etc., 
this trifling with murder and every black crime. And when we look at the 
horrors so long carried on with impunity by this vile, black-hearted cut-throat 
and his land-pirate gang, we cannot say that we would object should the result 
of the whole matter be a "short shrift and a long rope,' from the friends and 
relatives of the persons he and his band have so foully murdered, and whose 
property he has so wantonly destroyed." 

"CAMBRIDGE SCOUTS" AFTER MORGAN'S RAIDERS. 

(Published in the Jeffersonian in January, 1891, by Col. C. P. B. Sarchet, who took part 
in the campaign.) 

Before the raider, Gen. John Morgan, with his rough raiders, reached 
Ohio, at Harrison, near Cincinnati, on July 14, 1863, Governor Tod had pro- 
claimed martial law in Ohio, and called out the militia. To this call more 
than fifty thousand responded. These militia were minute men, who were 
ready to leave their offices, shops and farms at a moment's notice. The militia 
of the state had been enrolled and officered by companies. The writer had 
been commissioned a captain, by Governor Tod, to enroll three regiments in 
Guernsey county. This had been done and the writer was elected colonel 
of the First Regiment of Guernsey county, and as we remember now, the 
then editor of The Jeffersonian, McClelland, late of the Barnesville Enter- 
prise, and the present editor of the Guernsey Times, D. D. Taylor, mustered 
in this regiment, and each carried a cornstalk as well as anybody. We want 
to record the part that the "Cambridge Scouts,'' a company composed of 



102 GUERNSEY COUNTY, OHIO. 

colonels, captains, lieutenants and high privates, under the immediate com- 
mand of Col. John Ferguson, late from the seat of war, took in the chase after 
"Morgan's Rough Raiders," July 15, 1863. 

The "Cambridge Scouts," in command of Col. John Ferguson, under 
orders of Governor Tod, left Cambridge for Chillicothe, taking, at Zanesville, 
the Cincinnati & Wilmington railroad for Circleville. This company of 
seventy-five or eighty men reached Circleville sometime after dark, and slept 
on the soft side of the pavement until morning, experiencing at the outset a 
taste of grim-visaged war. Here we were breakfasted in squads, at the 
several hotels. Transportation by wagon was to have been ready here to take 
us to Chillicothe, but this had not been provided, nor could it be obtained 
now. for fear Morgan would capture the horses. He was reported near Chilli- 
cothe. with three thousand men, heading north, closely pursued by General 
Hobson, With the Union 'forces and militia. Our place of rendezvous was 
Chillicothe, where we were to be armed and equipped for war. A heavily- 
loaded canal boat, bound south, came along, the captain was coerced, and the 
company took the upper deck. All day long, amid the hot July sun, we 
boarded the perils of "the raging canal," as the ciy ever and anon was heard, 
"low bridge," when we had to flatten out to keep from being scraped off, and 
drowned in the green scum of the Ohio canal. Arriving at Chillicothe a little 
after nightfall, we found the men, women and children fleeing for their lives. 
We were told that Morgan was coming, and that Paint creek bridge had been 
burned to stop his progress. We debarked from the boat and formed com- 
pany on the towpath, and marched in quick step through the city, to the rail- 
road running south to Hampden, where the militia had formed in line to re- 
ceive arms, and fell into the line. All was darkness and confusion, not a 
light shone from any house, all places of business were closed, valuables were 
being carried away or secreted. The arms 'were being slowly given out. and, 
to make "confusion worse confounded," a report came that Morgan had cut 
the railroad near Hampden and was sweeping everything before him. Hun- 
dreds of men took arms, and strapped their cartridge boxes around them, who 
perhaps never before had had a gun in their hands, and moved off down the 
railroad, falling over the crossties and themselves, and on every hand was 
heard the cry. "You fool, you keep off my heels." By the time our com- 
pany moved down to the place of armament, the arms were exhausted, and 
we were given the freedom of the city, with orders to report at the place of 
armament in the morning, as more arms were to be sent down from Columbus. 
We had had no supper, and the quarters assigned was the market house, which 
was already jammed. As we were marching up through the city, we had 



GUERNSEY COUNTY, (II I Id. I OJ$ 

seen a small show tent pitched on a vacant lot. We marched to it, determined 
to make it our quarters for the night. After some parley with the proprietor, 
we were allowed to march in, and for one night we "tented on the old camp 
ground," but not to sleep, as the boys kept up the rallying song, "We'll Rally 
'round the Flag" and "Way Down in Dixie Land." 

In the morning we were marched to the market house, where rations had 
been provided of sandwiches and coffee, to which we did ample justice, not 
having had anything to eat since the previous morning. Anxious to see Paint 
creek, and the remains of the bridge destroyed to prevent Morgan's crossing 
into the city, we walked down and found a good ford, which was traveled at 
low tide, and in summer preferred to crossing the bridge. Its destruction 
was one of the exciting freaks of the war, and the alarm that gave rise to its 
destruction was the coming of a funeral procession, with solemn tramp, all 
oblivious of the threatened danger of the beleaguered city. For years this 
bridge was not rebuilt, the commissioners of Ross county claiming that the 
state or the person in command, whose foolhardiness caused its destruction, 
should rebuild it. All day long we moved about the doomed city, awaiting 
arms and further orders. By even-one came rumors, that Morgan had cut 
his way through the main force and was pushing northward. The streets 
were deserted, except by the militia and a few of the citizens. No women were 
to be seen, the blinds of the windows were down, and death-like solemnity 
reigned supreme. Late in the afternoon a dispatch came that Morgan was at 
Portland above Pomeroy, making for Buffington's Island, where he would 
make an effort to cross the Ohio. We were ordered home, and late at night, 
we boarded a canal boat, loaded with baled hay, which we took for Circleville, 
making our beds on the bales of hay. The boys improvised songs with a 
chorus, "As We go Sailing on the Raging Canal." When we arrived at Cir- 
cleville the next day. the siege of Chillicothe being raised, and the imminent 
danger being passed, we were not so hospitably treated as we were going to 
the front, but had to forage for our dinners as best we could. Again taking 
the cars for Cambridge, we arrived late at night, after four days' service in 
"grim visaged war." As we marched up street, the boys sang. "Johnny's 
Come Home from the War." 



We give below some extracts from Bazil W. Duke's article in the January 
Century, entitled, "A Romance of Morgan's Rough Raiders" : 

"The Ohio militia were more numerous and aggressive than those of 
Indiana. We had frequent skirmishes with them daily, and although hun- 
dreds were captured, they assumed operations as soon as turned loose. What 



104 GUERNSEY COUNTY, OHIO. 

excited in us more astonishment than all else we saw were the crowds of able- 
bodied men. The contrast with the South, drained of adult males to recruit 
her armies, was striking and suggestive of anything but confidence on our 
part in the result of the struggle. 

"When a thirsty cavalryman rode up to a house to inquire for buttermilk, 
he was generally met by a buxom dame with a half dozen or more children 
'peeping out from the voluminous skirts, who, in response to a question about 
the 'old man' would say : 'The men have all gone to a rally; you'll see them 
soon enough.' 

"In Ohio, on more than one occasion, we found pies in deserted houses, 
hot from the oven, displayed on tables conveniently spread. The first time 
I witnessed this kind of hospitality was when I rode up to a house where a 
party of men were standing around a table furnished as I have described, 
eying the pies hungrily, but showing no disposition to trouble them. I asked 
in astonishment why they were so abstinent. One of them replied that they 
feared the pies were poisoned. I was quite sure, to the contrary, that they 
were intended as a propitiatory offering. I have always been fond of pies — 
these were of luscious apples, Swank orchard, so I bade the spokesman hand 
me one of the largest and proceeded to eat it. The men watched vigilantly 
for two or three minutes, and then, as I seemed much better after my repast, 
they took hold ravenously. 

"Morgan had thoroughly planned the raid before he marched from Ten- 
nessee. He proposed at no time to be far from the Ohio river, so that he 
might avail himself of an opportunity to recross. On reaching the borders 
of Pennsylvania, he intended, if General Lee should be in the state, to make 
every effort to join him ; failing in that, to make his escape through West 
Virginia. 

"At Piketown we learned that Vicksburg had fallen, and that General 
Lee, having been repulsed at Gettysburg, had returned across the Potomac. 
Under the circumstances this information was peculiarly disheartening." 



(From the Jeffersonian of January 29, 1891.) 

The following dispatch was sent to the military committee of Cambridge : 

"Columbus, Ohio, July 22, 1863. 
"I think Morgan crossed the Muskingum this morning, near the south 
line of Noble county. Send messengers into Noble county to call out the peo- 
ple to obstruct the roads to the Ohio river. Be on the alert yourselves, for he 
may take north. "D. Tod, Governor." 



GUERNSEY COUNTY, OHIO. 105 

A company was quickly raised and mounted, armed with rifles, pistols, 
shotguns and old muskets, and placed under the command of Col. John 
Ferguson, in the evening on the scout into Noble county. The company num- 
bered sixty or seventy, and was increased on the march to perhaps one hun- 
dred men. We arrived at Cumberland, Guernsey county, about ten o'clock 
at night, and after a stop for a short time, pushed on into Noble county, to 
lliramsburgh and Hoskinsville. Here a halt was made until daylight. A 
squad of four men in charge of the writer was ordered to McConnelsville to 
learn of Morgan's whereabouts. As near as we now remember, this squad 
was Elza Turner, J. R. Downar, George Frazier and another not remembered. 
We arrived at McConnelsville about noon. But long before we got there, we 
met men, women ami children fleeing from the town, giving us the informa- 
tion that Morgan was crossing at Eaglesport, and that "we had better turn 
back, or he would take us." We told them that "we were hunting for Mor- 
gan, and were going to take him dead or alive." 

We galloped on into the town, and found all excitement and confusion 
and the citizens in a state of terror. There seemed to be no organization of 
militia, or anything that looked like fight, but some women scraping lint and 
preparing bandages. We stayed long enough to learn that Morgan was pass- 
ing around the town, then we started back to report to the command. On 
our way back we could hear of Morgan on another road, and we were, in fact, 
in his front for some time. When we got back to the command it had moved 
off without leaving word where. We determined to go to Cumberland. 

It was now very dark, and after nightfall we pushed on as best we could, 
often taking the wrong road, having to dismount and examine for the road. 
After a time we came upon the command, which had halted on account of the 
darkness. We gave them our news, the first they had had concerning Mor- 
gan. We were now near Cumberland, and not knowing Morgan's direction, 
we parleyed for a time as to what course we should take. It was finally de- 
cided that a squad of picked men, under Lieutenant Squiers, should go for- 
ward to learn more of Morgan. The writer was one of the number. We 
moved on with caution in the darkness toward Cumberland. After advanc- 
ing a few miles, we met some men carrying bridles and saddles. They told 
us that Morgan's raiders were in Cumberland, that their horses had been 
taken, and they themselves detained as prisoners for a time. They said that 
Morgan's pickets were down at the bridge, but a short distance back. Our 
lieutenant proposed to the squad that we hide our arms and go down to the 
pickets, claiming to be farmers on our way to Cumberland to see Morgan, 
but the squad did not propose to give up their horses to Morgan, but pro- 



I06 GUERNSEY COUNTY, OHIO. 

posed to go forward and run in the pickets. This the lieutenant objected to. 
and standing on our arms, sent back for the command to come up. Whilst 
waiting, we could hear Morgan's raiders reveling on the good things of the 
people. The town was well sacked. The pickets were soon called in. and, 
the command coming up. we galloped into the town by one road, Hobson and 
Shackleford on another. The command of Morgan were not yet all through 
with their pillage. We managed to take two prisoners, whom we sent under 
guard to Cambridge. Morgan pushed on toward Hartford, trying to burn 
the bridge over the creek behind him. But the pursuers were too close, and 
the fire was soon extinguished. One hundred well-armed men in Morgan's 
front, anywhere between Eaglesport and the Central Ohio railroad could have 
held him in check long enough to have been taken by the pursuing forces. 
This day, July 24th. was spent between Cumberland and Winchester, passing 
through Hartford, Senecaville, and at Campbell's Station checked for a time 
by the burning of the bridge by Morgan over Leatherwood creek and the 
station house. Morgan halted at Washington long enough to dine off its 
citizens. The town was picketed on the east and west. How well it was 
done the "heroes of Hyde's Hill" may in the future write up its history. Mor- 
gan's pickets on the south were driven in by Hobson's advance, and the whole 
column of raiders got out of Washington, helter-skelter, toward the north, 
making a stand over the hill, which is known in the history of this raid as the 
"battle of Washington." In this battle four of Morgan's men were killed or 
mortally wounded, and several prisoners taken. Another stand \vas made at 
Saltfork bridge, where the entire pursuing force was checked until dark, reach- 
ing Winchester in the night, where a long halt was made, as Morgan made 
a feint of going toward Birmingham, with a part of his command, but took 
again the Antrim road, the whole column joining again at Antrim. There 
had been a heavy rain in the afternoon, and it was still raining. All was 
darkness and confusion. The fanners were coming in to hear the news, and 
a general exchange of horses was going on. A detachment of troops sent 
down from Cambridge by wagon were being mounted as fast as horses could 
be conscripted. This night's ride from Winchester to Moorefield told upon 
pursued and pursuers. The men were drenched to the skin, saddles and 
blankets wet and heavy, road muddy and slippery, horses jaded and hungry, 
many fell by the wayside and the troopers left to plod along carrying saddle 
and bridle, until a horse could be captured. The pursuing forces moved on 
slowly through Antrim, Londonderry, and on to Smyrna. Here a halt was 
made to examine the road, as it was reported that Morgan's forces had taken 
the Freeport road. At Londonderry, the Writer was suffering severe pain in 



GUERNSEY COUNTY, OHIO. IQJ 

stomach and bowels. He roused up an old friend and former fellow-citizen, 
Doctor John McCall, who prepared us medicine that relieved our pain and 
sent us on our way rejoicing. And this ought to be a good enough record, 
when in the future a grateful state shall pension her gallant sons, who threw 
down the implement of peace and flew to amis and horses to chase the maraud- 
ers from her sacred soil. Before reaching Stillwater creek, we could see the 
flashes of light that told that Morgan had burned the bridge behind him. It 
was now two o'clock — rain pouring down, thunder and lightning adding their 
dashing light and rumbling roaring as on we galloped. 

"Through dub and mire 
Despising wind and rain and fire." 

He fore coming to the burning bridge, a part of the command, having a 
battery of two guns, made a detour up the creek to a bridge to cross over. 
The rest moved on down the bottom and began crossing below the burning 
bridge. To make this ford was dangerous and at the same time amusing. 
Crossing by twos, plouting into the mud and water up to the saddle skirts, 
plunging through, and hallooing back to those in the rear, "over" : then a 
steep, slippery bank had to be climbed to reach the road. This being gained, 
the word came back, "up." After all were over a halt was made to await the 
action of the party that made the crossing farther up the creek, and the entire 
command laid down to rest on the roadside. Here for the first time we lay 
down to sleep since leaving Cambridge, having confidence enough in our tired, 
jaded horses, that they would stand by and not tramp on the tired, water- 
soaked troopers. 

When the bugle sounded the march, the sun was just peeping out clear 
and bright in the eastern horizon, and as we felt the warm, drying rays, men 
and horses seemed to make obeisance to the "God of Day." Our horses had 
nipped the grass in the fence corners and barked the rails, and were ready to 
gallop on. Of this day's ride of seventy-two miles from sun-up to sun-down, 
and the capture on the next, it is our purpose to tell in the following account. 

So far the pursuit was a chase. The pursued had the advantage of the 
fresh horses on the line, but now Morgan was to meet opposing forces in front 
and flank and rear, and to use a fox-chase term, the pursuers had come to the 
"last straw line," and the fox is in the square. 

Rev. W. M. Ferguson, of Washington, wrote of Morgan and his raiders 
at the time as follows : 

"On Friday last, 24th, six hundred and seventy of the marauders took 
possession of this town. The writer conversed freely with Morgan himself 



IOS GUERNSEY COUNTY, OHIO. 

and with several members of his staff. They said that the Unionists were far 
more cruel and destructive than they, and that one object in coming across 
Ohio was to give us a taste of what the South had for years seen and suffered 
from our armies. Such a raid has never been known before. It is more than 
a thousand miles long from its first start in Tennessee, marked by a line of 
green graves — and the grandest horse exchange ever witnessed. Morgan's 
band stole (so Lieut. Thomas J. Morgan, John's cousin, told me) on an aver- 
age three hundred horses a day." 



(From the Jeffersonian of February 5, 1891.) 
This day, Saturday, July 25, 1863, Morgan began to play the leading 
card on the military board. To make a crossing of the Ohio river was the 
desired goal. As we passed through Moorefield in the early morning, the 
hogs and chickens were feasting on the remains of corn and oats left by Mor- 
gan's horses, where they had been fed in a long line on Main street. The men 
had breakfasted off the citizens. So that our inquiry for something to eat 
was answered by, "Morgan has just eat us out." Morgan usually halted 
twice during the day to feed men and horses, choosing generally the small 
towns. The pursuing forces got what they could in feed and provisions at 
points between where Morgan had made his stops. These halts were made 
when the Union forces were farthest in the rear. The time for rest at Moore- 
field was gained by the burning of the bridge already detailed. Before reach- 
ing Cadiz, the pursued left the grade road, passing south of Cadiz through 
Harrisville. Here the rear guard made for a time a very determined stand, 
and General Hobson brought to bear upon them a light field battery, which 
had the effect of breaking their lines. All along as 'we neared the high river 
bluffs we could see the column winding up the hills or coursing along the 
ridges, headed by Morgan in his buggy drawn by two spirited Kentucky 
horses. At Georgetown another stand was made by the whole column, under 
the direction of Morgan himself. The different moves made for a position 
seemed to indicate to the writer that here the final battle and capture was to 
take place. 

Morgan's forces were partly protected in a stretch of woods. Hobson 
opened fire from the field battery and endeavored to flank him on his course to 
the river, but again Morgan moved off with the main column, leaving the rear 
guard to hold in check the Union forces. This rear guard was in command of 
Captain Himes, mounted upon the best horses that could be picked up along 
the line of the raid, its object being not only to hold in check the pursuers, but 
to prevent any straggling of the main column and their capture. Morgan 



GUERNSEY COUNTY, OHIO. I Of) 

made three desperate attempts to gain the river during the day, and being 
headed off, dashed back again in the hills, [n these dashes he passed through 
New Athens and Smithfield. It was an up-and-down-hill chase from valley 
to valley, which told severely on both men and horses. The citizens were now 
fully aroused, Morgan's raiders were in their midst, and the pursuing forces 
were being increased by mounted militiamen joining the column. As we 
galloped down Short creek, we passed a lone militiaman, carrying an old flint- 
lock musket at "right shoulder shift." lie had on his old military suit, bear- 
ing the old white braided herring-bone chevron of the old army of long ago, 
in which he had paraded, no doubt, as a member of Captain Beebe's company. 
lie mined along with a light, elastic step, thinking of the long past training 
days, when he fought the "mimic fray." But he was soon lost to sight. It 
was this spirit of patriotic devotion, this readiness to fly to arms that made 
the raid of Morgan, hold as it was, fruitless in the result. 

Morgan's force struck the Steubenville grade road at right angle, west of 
Winterville. Here, in order to get north around Steubenville, as he was 
making for Smith's Ferry, there being no direct road north, without turning 
west or to the east through Winterville, lie parleyed for a time and was over- 
taken by Hobson's advance and a sharp skirmish ensued. It was said that 
several were killed, but we saw no dead but horses. 

A young lady. Miss Dougherty, at the Maxwell house, in the line of 
direction of fire, was struck by a ball which passed around her body, passing 
out and into the wall, making a large indenture. It was reported that she was 
killed, but she recovered. Mrs. Arnold, of this place, was well acquainted 
with this young lady, and verifies these statements. The report given in the 
January ( 1891 ) Century is not correct as to. the killed, or as to the time of 
the skirmish. A Michigan soldier was wounded and afterward died. 

Morgan took the road east through Winterville, his rear guard holding 
the Union forces in check long enough for the advance to do some pillaging. 
At Winterville there was a company of mounted militia, who fled helter- 
skelter through the town, crying, "Morgan is coming, he's down at Hanna's," 
and whether they were stopped by the Ohio river or fled over into West Vir- 
ginia we don't know". It was evident they had met Morgan and were satis- 
fied. The women of Winterville fled to the minister's home, and held a 
prayer meeting, and the men who had all the day long marched and counter- 
marched through the streets with "plumes and banners gay," when the cry- 
was heard that Morgan was coming, "marched, marched away," and took 
refuge in an oat field nearby. When Morgan was well on his way to Ham- 
monsville, and the Union forces came up, the sun sinking behind the western 
hills, there was a resurrection from the oat field, "nor lost a single man." 



IIO GUERNSEY COUNTY, OHIO. 

Colonel Collier, of Steubenville, gathered up enough of the frightened militia 
to man and plant a cannon on the hill, and let drive at the Union forces. Gen- 
eral Shackle ford sent up an officer to learn who "them fools were 

shooting at." The fleeing mounted militia, "when they got to Steubenville, 
said they had met and turned Morgan, and that he was "on to Richmond," 
and the city was saved. We took the road to Hammonsville and Richmond. 
a night's ride in the darkness. Some time in the night we were cut off from 
the main forces by taking the wrong road, but we pushed on, not knowing 
where. We were lost, and our situation became more perilous as we ad- 
vanced, as we might encounter Morgan or we might meet the Union forces. 
We called a halt until daylight. Then we went forward again, finding that 
we had passed west of both Hammonsville and Richmond, and were some 
miles from the main forces. Between nine and ten o'clock we learned that 
Morgan was captured and his men prisoners. This we accepted as true, and, 
after resting a while on the roadside, we "about faced" for home, and struck 
the grade road west of Winterville, and went into camp in a grove, where we 
quietly rested, as it was the Sabbath. 

The first report of the capture proved to be only a part. Morgan was 
rot himself captured until that afternoon. Here we rested, rejoicing that 
the battle had been fought, and the capture made. This Sabbath's rest was 
enjoyed by both men and horses. We had plenty of sheaf oats for the horses, 
and plenty of food for the men, procured either by buying or by forage. So 
we quietly feasted and rested, until well in the day on Monday, when we 
broke camp, and took the road for Cadiz. In conclusion, let us sum up the 
events of the raid. 

(The Jeffersonian. February 12, 1891.) 

At the Maxwell House, "the cross roads hotel," we went in to see the 
young lady, Miss Dougherty, who was a victim of the raid, as described in the 
preceding account. Here we could more clearly see the evidence of the 
skirmish of Saturday. The fences were torn down, where the cavalry had 
charged through the fields, disabled and abandoned horses were nipping the 
grass by the roadside, and the dead horses remained unburied. From the 
Maxwell House to Cadiz, no signs of the raid were to be seen. But many of 
the citizens had taken time by the forelock, and hid away their horses, which 
they were now bringing in, all rejoicing that Morgan was captured and the 
raid at an end. At Cadiz we were entertained by the citizens in a very hos- 
pitable manner. The writer, with others from Cambridge, was entertained 
by our old school teacher and former citizen of Cambridge, and editor of the 
Guernsey Times, Richard Hatton, father of the Hon. Frank Hatton. Here 



GUERNSEY COUNTY, OHIO. I 1 I 

we all enjoyed the pleasure of a "bivouac" on the parlor carpet, and slept the 
"sleep of the brave." Mrs. Hatton afforded us the best supper and breakfast 
that could be set up on the unexpected coming of a hungry squad, to which we 
did ample justice, and now at this late day we feel, as then, thankful for her 
generous hospitality. The people of Cadiz did not feel at all snubbed that 
Morgan had passed them by on the other side. A few miles west of Cadi/ 
we again struck the line of the raid, and on every hand we saw its effect, and 
heard the tales of wanton destruction of property, not only by Morgan's 
forces, but the Union forces as well. War means extravagance and destruc- 
tion. 

Near to Londonderry we met Moses Sarchet and Stephen Potts, Esq., 
who, under appointment of Governor Tod, were out on the line of the raid, 
in Guernsey county, looking up the abandoned property, and having it cared 
for, as well as assuring the people that their damages, of whatever character, 
would lie paid. Governor Tod, while a war governor, looked well after the 
interests of the state and her citizens. YVe arrived home on Tuesday even- 
ing, and were received with joyous enthusiasm by the citizens of Cambridge. 

The disposition of Morgan's raiders and plunderers is described as fol- 
lows, in the Century, by Basil \Y. Duke: 

"There were very good' reasons, independent of the provost guard, why 
the men should not straggle far from the line of march ; but the w^ell filled 
stores and gaudy shop windows of the Indiana and Ohio towns seemed to 
stimulate, in men accustomed to impoverished and unpretentious Dixie, the 
propensitv to appropriate without limit or restraint. I had never before seen 
anything like this disposition to plunder. Our perilous situation only seemed 
to make the men more reckless. At the same time, anything more ludicrous 
than the manner in which they indulged their predatory tasks can scarcely be 
imagined. The weather was intensely warm, yet one man rode for three days 
with seven pairs of skates slung about his neck; another loaded himself with 
sleigh-bells. A large chafing dish, a Dutch clock, a chandelier and a bird cage, 
containing three canaries, were some of the articles I saw borne off and 
jealously fondled. Baby shoes and calico were, however, staple articles. A 
fellow would procure a bolt of calico, carry it carefully for a day or two, then 
cast it aside and get another." 

The result, as summed up by General Duke : 

"The expedition was of immediate benefit, since a part of the forces 
which would otherwise have harassed Bragg's retreat and swollen Rosecrans' 
muster roll at Chickamauga. were carried by the pursuit of Morgan so far 
northward that they were kept from participating in that battle." 



112 GUERNSEY COUNTY, OHIO. 

Orlando B. Wilson sums up from a Union standpoint in the Century, 
thus: 

"And thus ended the greatest of Morgan's raids. By it, Bragg lost a 
fine large division of cavalry, that, if added to Buckner's forces, might have 
defeated Burnside; or, if thrown across Rosecrans' flank, or long line of sup- 
plv and communication, might have baffled Rosecrans altogether." 

The immediate result of the raid was further to fire the Northern heart. 
The President had just issued a call for three hundred thousand more troops 
and an enrollment had been made for a draft, if quotas were not filled by 
volunteers. This raid stimulated volunteering, and by the time the draft was 
ordered in Ohio, most of the counties had filled their quotas. We have never 
seen a report of the full loss sustained by the citizens of Guernsey county, by 
this raid, as reported from time to time to the commission having the different 
classes of claims for adjustment, but they are now all paid. 

Almost a new generation of people have come upon the stage of ac- 
tion since Morgan's rough raiders galloped through Guernsey, and the most 
of the "Cambridge Scouts" have passed their three score years, and "one 
by one are falling away, like leaves before the autumn wind." 

"Ah, never shall the land forget 

How gushed the life blood of her brave, 

Gushed warm with hope and courage yet. 
Upon the soil they sought to save. 

"Now all is calm and fresh and still ; 

Alone the chirp of fleeting bird, 
And talk of children on the hill, 

And bell of wandering kine are heard. 

. "No solemn host goes trailing by 

The black -mouthed gun and staggering wain; 
Men start not at the battle cry — 
Oh, lie it never heard again." 

THE SPANISH-AMERICAN WAR. 



When war was declared against Spain, by President McKinley. in 
the spring of 1898, after the sinking of the battleship "Maine," men were 
wanted to enter the government's service for that war. As a rule, the state 
militia companies were largely used for that purpose. 



GUERNSEY COUNTY, OHIO. 11} 

The local newspapers of Cambridge had several stirring articles on the 
war and one item, throwing light on the first real action here, reads as follows : 

"The first patriotic demonstration for war against Spain was made by 
the citizens of Cambridge on last Friday evening. About seven o'clock Adam 
Broom's drum corps, headed by the United States flag, and followed by an 
enthusiastic crowd, inarched up street to the Mc. and Mc. store, where young 
men recruit under H. F. McDonald. Stirring war speeches were made by 
Mayor Luccock and others to a large crowd of interested citizens, after which 
a number of young men signed the recruiting pledge. The recruits, old vet- 
erans and citizens, then marched down street to blood-stirring martial music." 

Owing to the fact that there was no regular National Guard company 
within Guernsey county when this last war broke out. there were but few 
men who went from the county, save a few who served as members of the 
regular army. 

THE CAMBRIDGE SOLDIERS' MONUMENT. 

Perhaps no better history can be given of this monument than the one 
written, at the time, by the editor of the Times, which follows: 

Tuesday, June 9, 1903, will be remembered as an eventful day in the 
history of Guernsey county as long as any now living shall survive, and it 
will be a tradition as long as the monument of granite endures. The weather 
clerk had promised fair weather, and came very near to filling the bill, except 
that during the noon recess there were showers, which cooled the atmos- 
phere and gave an enjoyable after part of the day and a glorious evening. 

Early in the morning all Cambridge was astir, and soon the crowd came 
from every quarter of the county as for a holiday of great sacredness of 
interest. 

There was no parade on the program, nor band show. The Electric Park 
or Consolidated Band and the Winchester Drum Corps, with Superintendent 
Cronebaugh and Professor LaChat's High School Glee Club, gave the best 
of music, timed as directed, alternating .with the addresses. 

A little after nine thirty o'clock Editor David D. Taylor, chairman of the 
board of trustees of the Guernsey County Monumental Association, called the 
crowd at the Public Square to order and asked the people to stand silently while 
Rev. Dr. McFarland made the invocation. Mr. Taylor also presented Hon. 
Milton Turner to preside over the further exercises of the day, as chairman 
of the building trustees appointed by the county commissioners. Mr. Turner 
was greeted with applause, and spoke as follows : 

"The history of this soldiers' monument is briefly this : About ten years 

(8) 



114 GUERNSEY COUNTY, OHIO. 

ago a movement was started to build a soldiers' monument by subscription. 
A charter was taken out, and an association formed under the name of the 
Guernsey County Monumental Association. Fifteen thousand fine litho- 
graphed life membership certificates were procured and a regular campaign 
opened up by holding meetings in each township of the county. The con- 
stitution provided that any man, woman or child, white or colored, could 
become a lifetime voting member upon the payment of one dollar. A vice- 
president was appointed in each township, and a book of blank certificates 
left in his hands to be sold to all who wished to become members. After the 
expiration of two years the books were called in, and did not show sufficient 
receipts to pay the expenses of the campaigns, so the project was abandoned 
and we went into the show business. A hall was fitted up in one of Colonel 
Taylor's buildings, and a series of entertainments were given during the win- 
ter by the ladies and gentlemen of the association. Star actors appeared on 
the stage in the persons of Hon. D. D. Taylor, Alfred Weedon, A. K. Broom, 
Capt. A. A. Taylor, J. C. Carver, and H. F. McDonald, supported by a strong 
coterie of the best ladies of the town. The public was entertained once or 
twice a week with a good performance for the sum of ten cents. Money 
accumulated slowly but surely, and the property man reported an accumula- 
tion of over four hundred dollars in paraphernalia, pictures, etc. But, alas, 
the dread fire fiend in the dead hours of the night stole upon us, and reduced 
the amphitheater to ashes. For six long years the movement lay dormant, 
until the monumental association again arose, Phoenix-like, and applied to 
the Legislature for a special act authorizing the county commissioners to 
levy a tax in the sum of fifteen thousand dollars. The bill was pushed 
through the House by the Hon. W. L. Simpson, and Hon. J. E. Hurst did 
not let it stick in the Senate. The county commissioners acted promptly un- 
der its provisions and appointed three members of a building committee and 
the monumental trustees appointed three, as was also provided for in the 
act." 

The building committee are, in addition to Milton Turner, president ; 
I. A. Oldham, secretary; A. A. Taylor, treasurer; J. O. Mcllyar, A. K. 
Broom and Thomas Smith, and their names are carved on the monument in 
the rear of the figure of the cavalryman, underneath the "Erected by the 
Monumental Association and Commissioners of Guernsey County, 1903." 

In the midst of the reading by Mr. Turner, the monument was unveiled 
by himself and little granddaughter, Ruth McMahon, amidst the plaudits 
of the people. There was a hitch in the proceeding, but the veil yielded to 
some stout pulling, and the Glee Club sang the "Soldiers' Chorus." 



GUERNSEY COUNTY, OHIO. 1 IS 

The response of the county commissioners accepting the monument 
was by II. W. Luccock, in his usual neat and eloquent manner. There fol- 
lowed a beautiful medley of national airs by the band, after which Gen. R. 
B. Brown, of Zanesville, made an impressive address. After further singing 
and music by the band and drum corps, there was a recess until two o'clock. 
The following is a brief account of the afternoon exercises: 

Hon. Ralph D. Cole, of Findlay, the star orator of the last two Legisla- 
tures, made the oration of the afternoon. Senator Hurst telegraphed from 
Xew Philadelphia that he could not come. Freeman T. Eagleson was in- 
troduced by Mr. Turner as the next representative -from Guernsey county. 
This sentiment, as well as his magnificent speech, was cheered to the echo. 
There followed speeches by Hon. W. L. Simpson, John L. Locke, and, in 
closing. Editor D. D. Taylor made an address. After more music, and 
a few remarks by Chairman Turner, Rev. Pope pronounced the benediction. 

soldiers' graves. 
(From Colonel Sarchet's Writings.) 

The soldiers buried in the old graveyard, as near as we can now remem- 
ber, are : Of the Revolutionary war, Capt. Thomas Cook, Capt. James Jack, 
Thomas Lawrence, John Linn, Robert Moffett, Christopher Donover, Sr., 
and Robert Chambers; of the war of 1812, Maj. James Dunlap, Capt. James 
Harding, Capt. Cyrus P. Beatty, Lieut. Wyatt Hutchison, Lieut. David Burt, 
Privates John Hutchison, James Turner, Andrew McConehay, Andrew Mar- 
shall, James Kelley, Joseph Lofland, William Talbott, Rodney Talbott, Peter 
Stears, Peter Torode, John Bollen, John McKee, James Thomas and Christo- 
pher Donover, Jr., and of the Mexican war-, John Clark. 

Joseph Lofland was a soldier in the regiment of Col. Jonathan Meigs and 
was with the army of the Northwest when it was surrendered to the British at 
Detroit by Gen. Joseph Hull. 

From the number of names we have given as buried in the old graveyard, 
which is perhaps imperfect, it will be seen that that neglected two acres con- 
tain as many soldiers' graves in proportion to area as does the city cemetery. 
It is a graveyard filled with the graves of heroes, heroes of the wars that 
gave liberty to the struggling colonies and the heroes who endured all the dan- 
gers incident to the pioneer settlement; heroes all; let the dust of their shrines 
be the Mecca of the future city of Cambridge. 

And besides the soldiers we have named there are buried in it : John 
Ferguson, one of the Irish Rebels of 1790; Francis Donsouchett, a soldier 



110 GUERNSEY COUNTY, OHIO. 

of the French arm}' of the First Napoleon, and all of the pioneer settlers, 
the Gombers, Beattys, Sarchets, Tingles, Hollers, Bichards, Lenfestys, Hu- 
berts, McClenahans, Talbotts, Bells, Hutchinsons, Halleys, Stewarts and 
others. 

GRAND ARMY OF THE REPUBLIC. 

The Grand Army of the Republic, which was formed all over the 
Northern states a few years after the Civil war, was early in the field 
in Guernsey county, and had various posts organized, but with the passing 
of these more than forty-five years since that conflict closed, the soldiers 
have died in such great numbers that only a few posts are in existence today, 
and the most of the fraternal interest is now centered at Cambridge, where 
the Cambridge Post was formed in the late seventies, went down and was 
reorganized in February', 1884, as Post No. 343. It now has a membership 
of about one hundred and fifty, but of this number only ninety-seven are in 
good standing. 

The 1910 officers are: Commander, Alfred Weeden; senior vice-com- 
mander, D. T. Jeffries; junior vice-commander, George H. Stottlemire; chap- 
lain, Dr. F. A. Brown; quartermaster, D. W. Nossett; surgeon, Stewart 
Harris; officer of the day, Joseph McGill; officer of the guard, James Al- 
ba'ugh; adjutant, John Hamilton; quartermaster sergeant, C. F. Camp; 
sergeant-major, William Priaulx. 

The past commanders include these : Charles L. Campbell, Hugh Mc- 
Donald, A. A. Taylor, Alfred Weeden, Henry Coffman, Robert Hammond, 
W. H. C. Hanna, J. C. Carver, R. H. Dilley, D. T. Jeffries and B. S. 
Herring. The deceased of this number are Messrs. Taylor, Coffman, Ham- 
mond and Herring. 

At the old Cambridge cemetery there is a soldiers' square in which 
the annual Memorial services are held. In 1905 the Woman's Relief Corps 
caused to be erected a handsome monument dedicated to the "Unknown 
Dead." It is about twenty feet in height and properly inscribed. 

William Reed was one of the soldiers from Guernsey county who par- 
ticipated in the famous battle on Lake Erie, in which Commodore Perry 
was hero, and in the fine oil painting of that lake engagement, now gracing 
the rotunda of the State House, at Columbus, the figure of the man manfully 
plying an oar, while his face was tied up with a handkerchief, with blood 
running down over him. is none other than this man, William Reed, of this 
county. 



CHAPTER VIII. 

EDUCATIONAL DEVELOPMENT OF COUNTY. 

Guernsey, in common with almost every county in Ohio, from the 
earliest settlement, sought to provide good schools, both of a private and 
public character. Liberality has been the rule from the days when lands 
were given for such purpose, even to the present time, when none but mod- 
ern buildings and the best of instructors are furnished to the people, cost 
what it does, and the taxpayers, as a rule, are not complainers of the amount 
of money thus expended. 

Up to 1836. when the public school system was enacted by the Ohio 
Legislature, there had been no regular educational system, or regular public 
school building erected within the county. Private schools were taught in 
the various settlements. Anybody who desired to teach school got up a 
subscription paper proposing to teach a school for thirteen weeks, and the 
branches taught were the alphabet, spelling, reading, writing and arithmetic. 
There were eight school districts formed before Cambridge was set off as 
No. 9 in 1836. The first school taught in the town, however, was in the 
winter of 1809-10. by John Beatty, a Virginian, and the brother of Zac- 
cheus Beatty. one of the town's founders. 

The author of this work wrote the following concerning the first free 
school in Cambridge, for the columns of the Herald, in the autumn of 1902, 
and the same is the best authority now at hand on this subject: 

FIRST FREE SCHOOL IN CAMBRIDGE. 

Professor John McBumey handed to us an article of agreement, dated 
February 25. 1833, between Joseph Bute, John B. Thompson and John 
Hersh, Jr., directors of school district No. 7, in Cambridge township, Guern- 
sey county, Ohio, of one part, and Andrew Magee, teacher, of the other part, 
to-wit : 

"The said directors agree to employ Andrew Magee, teacher of a com- 
mon school, in said district, for a period of three months, commencing the 
first day of February, and ending on the 12th day of May. free for all chil- 



I iS GUERNSEY COUNTY, OHIO. 

dren between the ages of four and twenty-one years, agreeable to the thirty- 
fourth section of the Ohio school law, passed March 2, 1831, and in con- 
sideration of his services as teacher, they do hereby engage to pay over to 
said teacher, at the close of such quarter, the sum of seventy-five dollars, 
out of the school funds belonging to said district. And the said Andrew 
Magee agrees with the directors that he will teach the several branches of 
an English education specified in the certificate of qualification granted by 
the board of school examiners of Guernsey county, according to the best 
of his abilities — to keep the same open for school exercises from eight to 
twelve o'clock in the forenoon, and from one to four o'clock on the "after- 
noon of each day of the week. Saturday afternoon excepted, from the twelfth 
dav of February to the first day of April next, and from eight to twelve 
o'clock in forenoon, and from half-past one o'clock to five o'clock in the 
afternoon of each day thereafter, to provide at his costs for use of said 
school, the room, desks and fuel necessary, and moreover to use all reason- 
able diligence and attention toward the improvement of those attending 
school." 

School district Xo. 7 comprised all of the town of Cambridge west of 
the public square, extending north to Wills creek, and west and north of 
the National road to the Adams township line. Moses Sarchet was the 
clerk of the district, and Ebenezer Smith treasurer. At that time Joseph Bute 
resided in the old David Burt house, which covered the front of the lot now 
occupied by the Burgess, Schaser and Zanhiser properties. John B. Thompson 
resided in a small frame house on the lot now occupied by the Hutchison 
block. John Hersh was then editor and proprietor of the Guernsey Times, 
and resided in a frame house, corner of Steubenville avenue and Seventh 
street, on the lot now the residences of Dr. C. A. Moore and Rev. Dr. Milli- 
gan. The Guernsey Times office was in a small frame house on the same 
lot. The school was in the old Masonic building on North Seventh street. 
Moses Sarchet resided in the Burgess house, corner of North Eighth street 
and Steubenville avenue, and Ebenezer Smith resided on North Sixth street, 
in what was known as the Hersh house, and later the site of the Gooderl 
house. 

This quarter of three months' free school was the first altogether free 
school in Cambridge township, and at the same time there was a school in 
District Xo. 6, which comprised the east of the township for a considerable 
distance east. At all the schools, heretofore, the state school fund was ap- 
plied for the payment of teachers, but was not sufficient, and the residue was 
made up by levying a percentage on each scholar in attendance, which had 
to be collected by the teacher. 



GUERNSEY COUNTY, OHIO. I Hi 

The paper cm which the article of agreement is written is well preserved, 
and should he kept in the school library, as a record of the first free school in 
Cambridge. The writer was a scholar in the school taught by Andrew 
Magee, and twenty-two years later was married by Rev. Andrew Magee, 
so thai with him he began a school life and matrimonial life. 

OUR SCHOOLS. 

Continuing, the same writer says of the schools in general: 

Charles Marquand in early days taught a school in a house on the Kirk- 
patrick lot, on Wheeling avenue and South Ninth street. He was a good 
scholar and a first-class penman. Some of the scholars of this school after- 
ward filled some of the county offices. One of these. Jacob G. Metcalf, was 
an ambidexter, writing a good legible hand, as the records of the county 
will show. Judge Joseph D. Tingle and Moses Sarchet, Esq., were, per- 
haps, the last living scholars of the Campbell school. Mrs. Nancy B. Noble, 
Mrs. Nancy P.. Albright, Mrs. Samuel H. Oldham and Mrs. Margaret 
Thompson were scholars of the Marquand school. These schools were all 
subscription schools. After these, there was a school taught by John W. 
Kipi>. in a part of the Ogier house on Wheeling avenue. This school was 
party paid by the state school funds and partly by assessment per scholar. 
Kipp was the compiler of a spelling hook, called "Kipp's Speller." This book 
and tuition could be paid for in trade: bees-wax. gentian, furs and snake root 
were regarded as cash, and were the staple articles at that time. A file of 
the first volume of the Guernsey Times. 1824, will show an advertisement of 
the "Cambridge Academy." William Sedgwick, teacher. This academy was 
located on the brow of the hill on the Harris lot. Wheeling avenue, in a 
small frame building. An eccentric old German, Elias Entz, had a saddle 
and harness shop in the front room, and the academy was in the rear. Entz 
was a teacher, as well as Sedgwick, and while Sedgwick, in the rear, was 
teaching the young idea how to shoot. Entz, in the front, was teaching the 
ravens how to talk, and notably one "Bony." whose fame as a talker was known 
from east to west along the old Wheeling road, afterward the National road. 
It may he that this academy was of great advantage to "Bony," and that his 
ravenship when on his perch in the saddler-shop gathered in the A I! C's 
and T O U's as the groundwork for his afterward successful raven scholar- 
ship. "Bony." when out on his perch in front of the shop, would help the 
teamsters drive up the hill by clucking. "Get up there,'' "Whoa haw." "Go 



120 GUERNSEY COUNTY, OHIO. 

up." etc. He would whistle up the dogs, and then cry, "Go home, you 
whelps." He would cry out to pedestrians, "Stop!" and then laugh at their 
surprise. And while all this was going on, the old German would be stitching 
away, enjoying the fun as prompter behind the scenes. 

In 1825 the Legislature passed a law requiring a tax to be levied for 
the support of schools. But it was eight or ten years after before even this 
fund came to be available for the payment of teachers, and then for not 
more than three or four months during the winter season. As we have said, 
the Kipp school had the advantage of this fund, but the law then only granted 
the power to levy, and levies were only made by the school boards to afford 
a sum for the part payment of teachers, leaving the parents who were con- 
sidered able to make up the balance. William Sedgwick was one of the 
early Baptist ministers of this section of Ohio, and often preached in Cam- 
bridge, and at the time of his academy taught a Bible-reading school on Sun- 
dav in the grand jury room of the old court house, which was attended by 
old and young of all denominations, and as these were the days of contro- 
versy, as to election and reprobation, sprinkling and dipping, there were 
often some very spirited and angry discussions. 

The first altogether free school began, within the knowledge of the 
writer, about the year 1834-35. Andrew Magee, afterward a preacher of 
the Methodist Episcopal church in the Pittsburg conference, was the first 
teacher. This school was in the lower room of the old Freemason lodge, 
now a part of the McConehey building on North Seventh street. The floor 
was of brick, and the benches were of the primitive style, slabs with pins for 
support, and the desks for writing were rough boards pinned up around the 
wall on one side, at which those who were advanced to writing took turns. 
The teacher meanwhile mended the goose-quill pens, and set the copies, 
"Command you may your mind from play, every moment of the day." The 
ink. often made out of polkberry juice or copperas, was hung to the wall 
in a bottle. The day of ink-stands was not yet. The boy or girl who had a 
slate, or a real slate pencil, belonged to the "upper ten" of that day, and even 
the boy who had a piece of slate handed down from away back, and a soap- 
stone pencil, was a subject of some envy by those who had only a multipli- 
cation table roughly prepared on a piece of paper. This was the first step 
toward the slate, and when the slate came, how soon the average boy or 
girl became an artist, and horses, dogs, houses and kites often took the place 
of figures and brought to the back of the busy artist the ever-indispensable 
hickory, for it was by might and power the master reigned, his right no one 
to dispute. 



GUERNSEY COUNTY, OHIO. 121 

Prior to 1838, Richard Hatton taught several terms of three months' 
school. In the winter of 1837 or 1838 the town was divided, and there were 
two free schools, called the up-town and down-town. The down-town school 
was taught by a Mr. Lowry; the up-town by an Irishman, William Latimore. 
At Christmas came the bar-out ; this custom followed the free school. The 
day before- Christmas the terms of the treat, usually gingerbread, cider and 
apples, were written out and laid before the teacher for his approval or re- 
jection. If rejected, the next morning found the schoolroom in possession 
of the larger boys, the doors and windows well barricaded, and supplies of 
fuel and provisions laid up for a long siege. The demand to open the door 
by the teacher or directors was answered by a demand to sign the protocol. 
Sometimes the teacher succeeded in entering the house, and subduing the 
rebellion, but most generally the boys succeeded in holding the house until 
the besiegers surrendered. This was reversing the order of warfare; but 
sometimes some moat or breastwork was left poorly guarded, and a daring 
sally forced through an entrance, and the fort was taken and the boys led 
away to be beaten afterward with many stripes, and the little fellows on the 
outside, whose mouths had been watering for gingerbread and cider, looked 
on with hope deferred to some other day. On the day before Christmas, 
Lowry, whose school was in the basement of the old Methodist Protestant 
church, found the door barricaded and the boys in possession. He had re- 
fused to agree to the terms. He soon found an unprotected point, by an 
entrance through a trap door, from the church above, which he opened and 
bounded down into the room, and demanded surrender in terms as imperious 
as old Ethan Allen at Ticonderoga, when he demanded the surrender of 
the fort in the name of the "Great Jehovah and the Continental Congress," 
but the besieged didn't surrender. They pounced onto Lowry, and, opening 
the door, took him down the hill, overlooking the stone quarry, and, taking 
him by the arms and legs, they proposed to swing him over, counting "one, 
two, three," and then, if no cry of surrender was heard, to let him flicker, but 
he cried "Cavy." The school was resumed, and the gingerbread, cider and 
apples passed around. At the up-town school, the old Irishman, Latimore, met 
with the same resistance. This school was in a log cabin that stood on the 
Milner lot, Wheeling avenue. Latimore soon decided that he would scale 
the fort and smoke the boys out. He got a ladder, and was soon on the roof, 
covering the chimney with clapboards off the roof. The boys did not long 
stand the smoke within, but bounded out and secured the ladder before 
Latimore could get to it, and they had him treed. After they had marched 
around less than seven times, he demanded that he be let down and he would 



122 GUERNSEY COUNTY, OHIO. 

comply with their terms, and the gingerbread, cider and apples were passed 
around. This was a custom of barbarous days, and is happily now no more, 
but it was no more barbarous than is the custom of hazing, now practiced 
in the best colleges of the land. 

We have now passed over the schools of Cambridge from the first 
in iSnj to the beginning of the free schools in 1836. We have not given 
all the schools, having named only those that seemed to be of the most note. 
During these years there were schools taught by Reverend Mills, a Presby- 
terian preacher, John McGuire, William Walker, C. J. Albright, Joshua 
Hunt. A. W. Beatty, J. D. Tingle, Mrs. Rhoda Needham. Miss Mary 
Hersh, Miss La Baire, Miss Gibbs and perhaps others. These were all the 
ungraded scholars, and they brought such books as they had, the "English 
Reader," "Introduction to the English Reader," and the Testament. These 
were the general reading books. Dillworth's and the "United States" were 
the spelling books. Arithmetics were the "Western Calculator," Smith's 
and Parke's. Uriah Parke lived at Zanesville, and his arithmetic was pub- 
lished, we believe, by himself, he being a printer. Owley's Geography was 
just coming into use. The Dillworth Speller was a partial geography, giv- 
ing a description of the earth and its grand divisions, and a more general 
description of the United States. 

The one main feature of these schools was the spelling class, which 
formed in a line on one side of the schoolroom, and the graduation was 
from foot to head. The lesson was first spelled by use of the book, then 
the book was closed, and the strife for head began. If a word was mis- 
spelled, it passed to the next until spelled, then the speller went up, and 
the strife was more animated when the lucky speller, if a boy, would chance 
to lie placed between two girls that he liked, and in those days the boys liked 
the girls, for in the fly-leaves of the spelling-books might have been found 
this stanza : 

"The rose is red, the violet blue, 
Sugar is sweet, and so are you." 

The rod of correction had a more general use then than now, and the 
idle fool got whipped at school, and the dunce wore the "dunce-cap." 

In 1838, William Sedgwick, on the part of the Cambridge lodge of 
Free and Accepted Masons, deeded to the "Cambridge Academy" lot 82 
in Steubenville avenue, now the McConehey lot. This was a corporation 
under the laws of Ohio. Dr. Thomas Miller, Gordon Lofland, Jacob G. 
Metcalf, James M. Bell and Moses Sarchet were the incorporators and 



GUERNSEY COUNTY, OHIO. I 23 

directors. This academy was opened in the fall of [838, William Ellis, 
principal and teacher. The academy sessions were for live months, and the 
tuition eight dollars per session. Tt was expected that the scholarship would 
pay all expenses, if not, the corporation guaranteed the payment. This 
school or .academy was the first attempt toward a graded school in Cam- 
bridge, and the hoys and girls of this school were supposed to be higher up 
than the common herd, ami were called by way of derision "upper crust," 
or "college bred." This academy was carried on with varied success, under 
the principalship of William FJlis, Mitchell Miller and Thomas Brown, 
until 1844. Thomas Brown, the last principal, brother of Turner G. Brown, 
of Cambridge, is said to have been the first common school teacher of 
Guernsey county who received twenty dollars per month for teaching. The 
writer of this passed out of this academy at the age of fourteen years, with 
a grade above ninety-five, in algebra, mensuration, geometry, trigonometry, 
surveying and history, which was the curriculum of the last session, having, 
as was then supposed, an education high enough for all practical purposes, 
and has regretted so far in his life that he failed to continue through the 
years from fourteen to twenty, which are the years of life, whether of boy or 
girl, that will tell if improved, in the manhood or womanhood of those who 
are so fortunate as to have the opportunity. A man or woman may educate 
himself, and this self-education may be of more practical advantage than that 
of the school, but its acquirement after entering upon the active duties of 
life means self-sacrifice and labor that but few are read)* to make. 

The "old lodge." as this academy was called, was embellished with paper 
on the walls, representing Chinese towers and scenery, grand marches and 
imposing burials of orders, going back, perhaps, to the days of Confucius, 
and the border round the ceiling consisted of the pictures of Washington 
and Lafayette, as the two representative Masons. In this old room was held 
our Philomathean society, where we orated, declaimed and essayed, as young 
Ciceros: but 'following, as this did, the great Morgan anti-Masonic wave, 
we sometimes sat in awe and trembling, thinking that the ghost of some re- 
vealer of the "mysterious glorious science" might troop through the room 
headless, or shackled with clanking chains, as the representative of the dark 
mysteries which seemed to attach themselves to the order that was then 
thought to have abducted William Morgan. Morgan lived in the town of 
Batavia, Xew York. and. it was said, was about to publish an exposure of 
the secrets of Masonry in connection with the editor of the Republican 
Adz'ocatc, who, as well as Morgan, had been a member of the Masonic 
order. While this rumor of the exposure of Masonry, about to be made, 



124 GUERNSEY COUNTY, OHIO. 

spread through the country, the community was startled by tidings that 
Morgan had been seized and carried off, no one knew where. The greatest 
excitement spread throughout the community, committees of vigilance were 
formed, and an investigation initiated, which resulted in tracing the ab- 
ductors and their victims out upon Lake Ontario, and led to the belief that 
Morgan had been consigned to its depths, as no trace of him was further 
heard. This gave rise to the anti-Masonic party, which sprang up in New 
York and Pennsylvania in 1827, and later in Ohio. Joseph Ritner was 
chosen governor of Pennsylvania in 1835 as an anti-Mason. The abduction 
of Morgan did not prevent the publication of the proposed exposure. Mor- 
gan's book was published and others that claimed to give the regulations, 
signs, ceremonies and passwords of the order and its traditional secrets. 
However true these books may have been, and the political opposition which 
was the outgrowth of the times, Masonry, for awhile, was under a ban, 
and it was ten years or more before a lodge could be reinstituted, here in 
Cambridge, and we know from past experience that the average boy of 
twelve years of age, at that day, after hearing the wonderful tales about 
the "Morgan killers," had to whistle up a good deal of courage to sit in a 
deserted lodge room, dimly lighted with tallow candles, where once the tra- 
ditional goat bounded from cliff to cliff and the clanking chains were heard 
that bound the victim to unbrotherly servitude, and no flash of the mystic 
light shone on his way as he traveled toward the ineffable. 

DISTRICT SCHOOL NOTICE. 

(Published in the Guernsey Times. January 12, 1S38-9.) 

"Notice is hereby given to all persons residing within the corporate limits 

of the town of Cambridge, that a district school will be taught by Mr. Hatton 

in the Academy for a period of three months, commencing on Monday, the 

fifth day of November inst. And also that a district school will be taught 

by Miss Haft in Mrs. McCleary's house immediately east of the court house 

for the same time, and commencing on the same day. For the present, the 

male scholars are directed to attend the school to be taught by Mr. Hatton. 

and the females the school taught by Miss Haft. Said schools will be 

entirely free to all children residing within the corporate limits of said 

town, who are by law entitled to attend a district school. No part of the 

teacher's compensation will be assessed upon the scholars who may attend. 

"By orders of the Directors. 

"Cambridge, November 3. 1838. J. G. Metcalf, D. C." 



GUERNSEY COUNTY, OHIO. 125 

Nowadays, when the position of teacher in the schools is open, there 
are countless applicants, but in the earlier days a competent teacher was by 
no means easy to secure, as the following advertisement from the Guernsey 
limes of December 7, 1839, testifies: 

"a teacher wanted. 

"A person who can come recommended, as to character and qualifica- 
tion as a common school teacher, can get employment by inquiring of the 
directors of the Tenth school district in Londonderry township. 

"Jas. McCollough, 
"Jno. Miller, 
"T. G. Brown, 
"November 23, 1839. School Directors." 

more on the schools. 

Rev. "William Wallace, Thomas Beahan, William Allison, John K. Fes- 
ler, Moses Oldham and William Morton were teachers of free schools in 
the old lodge before the adoption by the school district of the union school 
law, known as the Akron school law. There were also women teachers, in 
connection with these, Mrs. Martha Carnes, Miss Dorcas Reed, Miss Sarah 
Metcalf, Miss Anna M. Beatty and others. 

The union school was organized in 1850 with Robert B. Moore, C. L. 
Madison, Thomas W. Peacock, Samuel Craig, James Hunter and Matthew 
Gaston as directors. The school building, the old lodge, was enlarged to 
four rooms. William M. Lyons was principal, Miss Dorcas Reed, Miss Lou 
Hill and Miss Kate McCluskey, teachers. William M. Lyons was a brother 
of Lord Lyons, once a minister from England to the United States. He 
took great pride in his high connection, and never tired in letting everybody 
know that he was the brother of a lord. 

"A king can made a belted knight, 

A marquis, duke or squire. 
But an honest man's above his might, 

He's prince of men, and a' that." 

Lyons came here as a portrait painter, and it may be that some of his 
work is yet extant in Cambridge. 



126 GUERNSEY COUNTY, OHIO. 

The Methodist Protestant church located a college here in 1850, and 
began its erection. Its site was the present site of the new school building 
on Wheeling avenue. This building was three stories in height, but was 
never completed. It was badly demolished by a cyclone which visited Cam- 
bridge in May. 1852. This so crippled the enterprise, which was in a critical 
financial state, that the project was abandoned. The building was bought 
for school purposes by the directors, raised to a two-story building containing 
five rooms, and was occupied for school purposes in i860, John McClen- 
ahan, principal. He resigned in 1861, entering the army as captain of a com- 
pany in the Fifteenth Ohio Volunteer Infantry. This building was enlarged 
in 1865-66 by two additional rooms, and was destroyed by fire in September, 
1*871, the school being continued in rented rooms in different parts of the 
town, until the building and completion of the present central school build- 
ing, first occupied in February, 1874. 

After the burning of the school building, a public meeting of the voters 
of the district was held in the court house, with a view of instructing the 
directors as to rebuilding. The question submitted was whether two build- 
ings, one in the east and one in the west, should be built, or one central 
building, and a majority favored one central building. The directors bought 
a hole, the present site, and began to fill it up with earth and stone, but never 
succeeded, as the present elevation very plainly shows. Of the first directors 
named, all are dead but C. L. Madison. They were not connected with the 
last building, and only a part of them with the second. Professor Lyons was 
followed by James McClain, J. C. Douglass, Levi C. Brown, W. K. Gooderl, 
C. C. B. Duncan, John McClenahan and Samuel Kirkwood, now professor 
in Wooster University at Wooster, Ohio. Kirkwood resigned, and his term 
was finished out by John S. Speer. 

John S. Speer was followed by Thomas Smith, and he by Prof. John 
McBurney. This brings the history of the schools down to a time with 
which almost everyone is familiar. Great and wise is the provision of the 
United States setting aside one-thirty-sixth part of all the lands to the state 
to afford a free education of its youth, with the hope that all the youth of the 
state may avail themselves of this gratuitous education, that knowledge 
may abound and truth and righteousness reign supreme in the land, and that 
intelligence and sobriety shall measure the advancing step toward universal 
brotherhood. 

CAMBRIDGE SCHOOLS. 

The following history of the Cambridge schools was written by Wilson 
McMahon, a pupil in them, and read as an essay in his room. It was pub- 



GUERNSEY COUNTY, OHIO. 127 

lished in the Jeffersonian in June, 1880, and is so complete an account of 
important facts in the educational history of the county that it is worthy 
of preservation in the public press: 

In the winter of 1809-10, the first school in Cambridge was taught by 
John Beatty, a Virginian, and a brother of Col. Zaccheus Beatty, one of the 
founders and original proprietors of the town. It was held in one of the 
several small cabins which stood on the north bank of Wills creek, near where 
the old bridge crossed that stream. He was succeeded by his sister, Mrs. 
Sarah McClenahan, who taught a school in one of the rooms of her father's 
dwelling-house, which stood on Lot No. 62. The next schools were held 
in a log building, that stood on Lot No. 21, and were taught by John W. 
Kipp, who afterward compiled a speller that was published; Elijah Dyson, 
the first sheriff of Guernsey county, and a man by the name of Acheson. 

During the winter of 181 3- 14, a school "was taught in the same place 
by Thomas Campbell, the father of the late Rev. Alexander Campbell, of 
Bethany, West Virginia. From this time until the organization of the public 
schools under the act of 1836, there was no regular school building or any 
system of education established. Anybody who desired to teach got up a 
subscription paper proposing to teach a school upon certain terms — these 
usually being fifty cents per scholar for thirteen weeks — and the branches 
taught were the alphabet, spelling, reading, writing and arithmetic. The 
parents gave little attention to the schools. The teachers, generally, were 
not very profound scholars; they went in on their muscle, and if they suc- 
ceeded in maintaining their authority no one complained. 

Upon the organization of the public schools in 1836, Cambridge became 
school district No. 9. Andrew Magee was the first district school teacher. 
In 1843, Thomas and William Brown taught what they called the Academy. 

William Morton, who taught in the school building now the McConehay 
property on Steubenville and Pine streets, from 1847 to I §49' ' s entitled to 
notice as the best mathematician and most thorough grammarian in the 
state of Ohio. He taught the boys, and Mrs. Karnes the girls. Mr. Morton 
had about ninety boys in his classes, the names of most of whom were after- 
ward borne upon the honorable rolls of the volunteers in the war of 1861. 
On the original rolls of the school appear the names of Moore, Rainey, 
Lofland, Metcalf, Grimes, Salmon, Jefferson, Logan, Evans, Tingle, Brown, 
Bonnell, Hirsch, etc. Lemuel Bonnell was assistant teacher for some time. 

The Union school was organized in 1850. and William M. Lyons, a 
younger brother of Lord Lyons, the late minister from England to the 
United States, became the first principal, at a salary of thirty-five dollars 
per month. Mr. Lyons is now living in Zanesville. Ohio, on a pension which 



128 GUERNSEY COUNTY, OHIO. 

he receives from his brother. Then the school had but four rooms, the 
fourth room being taught by the principal. Under Principal Lyons the 
teachers were Miss Lou Hill, Miss Kate McCluskey and Miss Dorcas Reed. 

The principals from 1850 to 1853 were William M. Lyons, James Mc- 
Clain, Miss Dorcas Reed and Joseph D. Tingle; salary, thirty-five dollars per 
month; from 1853 to 1857, J. C. Douglass, Levi C. Brown, W. K. Gooderl and 
C. C. B. Duncan; salary, forty dollars per month; from 1858 to 1861, John 
McClenahan was principal at sixty dollars per month. In 1861 he resigned 
his position to recruit a company for the Fifteenth Ohio Volunteer Infantry, 
of which he afterward became colonel. In August, 1861, Samuel Kirkwood, 
now professor of mathematics at Wooster University, Wooster, Ohio, be- 
came the first superintendent at a salary of four hundred and fifty dollars 
a year; but Mr. Kirkwood leaving before the year was out, John Speer 
finished the term. He was succeeded by Thomas H. Smith, at a salary of six 
hundred dollars a year. In August, 1866, Prof. John McBurney, now pro- 
fessor of natural science in Muskingum College at New Concord, was elected 
superintendent, at a salary of five hundred and forty dollars a year, which 
was afterward increased to one thousand two hundred dollars a year. In 
1880 he was succeeded by Prof. J. E. Williams, at a salary of one thousand 
dollars a year. 

The high school was organized in 1869. The following are the names 
of the teachers, with the time they taught: Prof. John McBurney, four years; 
T. H. Anderson, one term; Rev. W. V. Milligan, three years; William 
Fleming, one month; Miss Means, three years; J. H. Mackey, two terms; I. 
A. Tannehill, one year; E. L. Abbey, one year. 

In 1872, the first class, composed of four girls, was graduated. After 
the loss of the former school building, and while the present building was in 
process of erection, the schools occupied such rooms as could be procured 
for them, and were subjected to every inconvenience. As a result, there were 
no classes graduated in 1873-74, but afterward they were graduated as 
follows : 

Boys. Girls. 

1875 " 8 

1876 2 7 

1877 3 2 

1878 5 6 

1879 3 8 

1880 5 11 

Total 18 46 



GUERNSEY COUNTY, OHIO. I Ji) 

In all. sixty-four. This year's graduating class was composed of four 
boys and seven girls, which, added to the above, will make twenty-two boys 
and fifty-three girls, making the total number of graduates seventy-five. 

Changes in classification, grading, course of study and methods of in- 
struction and of examining have been made from time to time, as the interests 
of the school seemed to require. The present course of study embraces all 
branches of a thorough and complete English education, together with Ger- 
man and Latin. 

In iSdo a building in the east end of town was purchased for one thou- 
sand two hundred and one dollars, and finished for school purposes for 
five thousand dollars, making a total cost of six thousand two hundred and 
one dollars. It contained five rooms, to which two more were added in 1866. 
This building was destroyed by fire September 27, 1871. In January, 1872, 
lots Nos. 126, 127 and 128, on Steubenville street, were purchased and the 
present building erected, at a total cost of fifty-four thousand dollars. It 
was first occupied February 16, 1874. There were nine teachers when they 
first went into the present building, but in a few days another room was 
fitted up, and another teacher engaged. Xow, twelve well-trained and expe- 
rienced teachers are engaged nine months in the year, in the instruction of 
six hundred and thirty children, at a cost, for 1876. of four thousand eight 
hundred and forty dollars ; this year, four thousand nine hundred and seventy- 
two dollars. The present building contains eleven large rooms, besides the 
superintendent's office, and his recitation room. Part of the basement is 
used as a storeroom, and one room is fitted up as a dining room. The build- 
ing has a seating capacity of about seven hundred, but it has not the capacity 
for as careful and accurate a system of grading as it should have. However, 
it is one of the best in the state, and reflects much credit upon the enterprise 
of the people of Cambridge. The school taxes us at a rate of nine mills, but 
is worthy of jts costly support. The only things it seems to need at present 
are a small library of the commonest books of reference and apparatus for 
philosophical and scientific explanation. 



With the further growth of the city, other school houses were demanded 
and were built in about the following order of construction : The Lofland 
school was erected in 1895, at a cost of fifteen thousand dollars, the same 
being located on Fourth street, and is in an excellent condition. 

The South Side school was erected in 1893, costing twenty-eight thou- 
sand dollars. 

(9) 



I3O GUERNSEY COUNTY, OHIO. 

Orchard Place school building was erected in 1906 and opened January 
1, 1907. Its cost was twenty-three thousand dollars, and two thousand more 
for grounds. 

The same date last mentioned the Glass Plant addition school building 
was opened ; it is a fine brick structure, costing ten thousand dollars. 

The latest and by all odds the finest school building in all this section 
of Ohio was the present Brown high school, containing twenty rooms, all 
modern throughout, as to heating, lighting and sanitary equipment. It is 
located on Steubenville avenue, between Eighth and Ninth streets. Its cost 
was sixty thousand dollars, besides ten thousand dollars for grounds and im- 
provements of same. It is built of flinty vitralized brick. The building was 
first occupied for school purposes January 1, 19 10. The total valuation of 
school property in Cambridge is one hundred and sixty thousand dollars. 

The schools of Cambridge have been under the charge of the following 
principals and superintendents since 1850: William M. Lyons, John Mc- 
Clanahan, James McClain. J. C. Douglass, L. C. Brown. W. K. Goderel, 
C. C. B. Duncan, John McClanahan, Samuel Kirkwood. John Speer, Thomas 
Smith, Prof. John McBurney. Prof. Williams. Prof. Yarnell. Prof. Abbe, 
Prof. O. T. Caron. Prof. H. B. Williams, Prof. C. L. Cronebaugh, Prof. 
J. M. Carr, Prof. H. Z. Hobson, who came in 1905 

According to the 1908 state school reports, Cambridge had an enumera- 
tion of 3.210 pupils and an enrollment of 2,276. Daily average attendance, 
1.935. I' 1 tne high school there were at that date 76 boys and 88 girls. 
The population was then fixed at 8,241. The expenditures for that year 
were $51,807. 

THE FIRST COMMENCEMENT. 

[The following- article was written by request especially for the Guern- 
sey Times. The author is the venerable Doctor John McBurney. who for 
many years was connected with the local schools. He was superintendent 
at the time of the first commencement in 1872.] 

The first commencement of the Cambridge high school, held in the old 
town hall, June 7, 1872, was, viewed from our present standpoint, a very 
modest affair, though at that time it created quite an interest. 

All that was needed to prepare the place in which it was held was to 
turn the benches in the west half of the hall to face the east and the stage. 
This was made necessary because at that time the hall accommodated two 
schools, separated from each other by having the pupils of the first grammar 
school face the east and those of the second face the west. At one o'clock 



GUERNSEY COUNTY, OHIO. I .i I 

on the —tli day of June, thirty-four years ago, the hall was well filled with an 
interested audience and the stage occupied by the members of the board, the 
teachers and perhaps some others. These four young girls, in their neat- 
fitting and tidy calico dresses, occupying the center of the platform, made a 
pleasant impression, and modestly received the generous and well-earned ap- 
plause of their friends. 

After the usual introductory exercises, Miss Nannie E. Morton came 
forward without any announcement and delivered the salutatory, '['hen came 
Miss Sadie Jackson, with her essay, subject, "Silent Voices." Miss Dolly 
I\. Suite followed with her essay on "Sunshine," and Miss Maggie McCall 
had the valedictory. All the exercises were well rendered, and received hearty 
applause. By authority of the hoard, the superintendent delivered the diplo- 
mas. The exercises closed with music and the benediction, and these four 
young ladies, followed by the well wishes of their friends, stepped forth the 
first of the long line of bright, happy, hopeful high school graduates who are 
still going out in ever-increasing numbers from our schools and under much 
more favorable conditions than existed June 7. 1872. 

And now, in closing this brief account of the days long gone by, allow 
us to step over the intervening years and extend to the large class of splendid 
young people who received their well-earned diplomas on the thirty-fourth 
anniversary of the first commencement of the Cambridge high school, a 
hearty greeting with the earnest wish that success may. crown every right 
effort of every member through all the coming years. 



Among the earliest "free schools" known in this county was the one 
established in Richland township in 1814. It came in this way: While 
pioneer William Thompson was in Philadelphia buying goods for the first 
store in his township, and paying eleven dollars a hundred freight on same, 
he employed a school teacher there, named Isaac Woodard — a lame man — 
to come here and teach school for twelve months. 'William and Robert 
Thompson agreed to pay the teacher in full for his services. The salt works 
were then running day and night and many men were employed to cut wood 
for the running of the same. These men. many of them, had children and 
with others in the settlement made quite a respectable little school. The 
men were told to send their children to this school free of cost. Joseph and 
Abraham Dillv, having large families each, had small means with which to 
pav. but said they were willing to do what they could, as they disliked the 
burden to fall on two men. Later they did each pay their share. This is 
one of the earliest free schools on record in this country. 



I32 GUERNSEY COUNTY, OHIO. 

From the primitive settlement of Byesville, the children attended school 
at Oak Grove school house, in Riddle Grove, near the White Ash mine. 
Later it was moved to Lucasburg, and some years later the Byesville settle- 
ment had a school of their own, the date of the latter being about 1881. 
The Byesville school occupied a two-room building that stood on the site 
of the Beckett's livery barn. This cost one thousand dollars. John A. 
Bliss was the first principal. In 1886 two more rooms were added to the 
vest side of this building at a cost of one thousand two hundred dollars. In 
1892 more room was needed and after renting awhile, in 1894, when two more 
rooms completed the T-shaped building; this last cost one thousand five hun- 
dred dollars. It was soon found that the growth of the town was so great 
that still better accommodations must be had, and the present site was 
chosen and the present fine school building was erected at a cost of twenty 
thousand dollars. It stands on a sightly hill overlooking the place. It was 
first used in January, 1903. But not yet did the place have sufficient room, 
and in 1906, at a cost of one thousand two hundred dollars, the North Side 
school of the Ideal addition was built and still rooms had to be leased for 
the accommodation of the pupils. 

A township high school was first organized out of the village graded 
school in 1890, then in 1893 it was made a special district, and in 1894 was 
raised to a second grade, and finally under the new classification of high 
schools was made first grade in 1904. 

In 1907 there were eight hundred pupils enrolled out of the one thou- 
sand two hundred school population. 

PIONEER SCHOOL DISCIPLINE. 

In the early days in Guernsey county the whipping of children at school 
was a common practice, and one case in point will illustrate the effect it 
sometimes produced upon teacher, pupil and parents : 

In Liberty township the first school was taught by a New Englander 
named Austin Hunt, who believed the rod was to be freely used when needed 
to correct children. The late venerable James Gibson relates this concerning 
this practice and was his own experience in "tannin' " : 

"I went to keeping school, and kept school here in Liberty. Some of 
the boys from over the creek began to run off and stay around the creek to 
hunt mussels and crawfish. I found it out and brought them back and gave 
them a tannin'. They went home and told their parents that I had whipped 
them. The next day their fathers rode up to the school house, called me out 



i COUNTY, OHIO. 


133 


tie tn give me a tannin' foi 


• whipping their 


e you going to tan me? I 


£ you haw any 


, but ii" you come into tin's school house I 


no tannin' done. 1 think 


a good tannin' 



GUERNS 

to the door and said they had c 
hoys. I replied: 'What color 
business you can attend to it ni 
will do the tannin'.' There w; 
never hurt a hoy when he needed it 



PRESENT SCHOOL STATISTICS. 

The official report made to the secretary of state for the year just ending 
(1910) has the following- figures concerning Guernsey county schools: 

The elementary teachers of the county have cost $40,911; high school 
teachers, $9,905 ; supervision exclusive of teachers, $2,700. 

The huildings and grounds purchased in the county are valued at $28,- 
149-47- 

There are 19 elementary buildings, two high school buildings erected in 
the year; 101 elementary school rooms and 29 high school rooms. The value 
of the school property is placed at $347,250. The average term taught 
throughout the year is 33.35 weeks, with an average daily attendance of 
86.91. The largest number of pupils was those taking arithmetic, 4,463 being 
enrolled in this study during the year. 

In 1908 the reports show the following: Guernsey county contained 19 
township districts and 133 sub-districts; 12 separate districts; total number 
of members of boards of education, 155; cost of new- buildings, $2,890. 
There were at that date, in the county, 253 separate school rooms. The value 
of school property was estimated by the authorities at $123,300 in township 
districts; $263,650 in separate districts; total of $386,950. The total num- 
ber of teachers was 256; average wages paid to men, $41 in the elementary 
schools, and $40 to women. The wages paid to high school instructors was, 
for men, $50, and about the same for women. The total number of teach- 
ers was 267, of which number 121 were men. 

The county at the last report had the following village, special and town- 
ship district high schools : 

Byesville, salary $1,000 for the superintendent, $560 for high school 
principal. 

Cumberland, salary for principal, $765. 

Pleasant City, salary of principal, $520. 

Quaker City, salary for principal, $720. 

Senecaville, salary for superintendent, $050 : for principal, $480. 

Washington, salary for superintendent, $400. 



134 GUERNSEY COUNTY, OHIO. 

Westland township, salary for principal, $400. 

The count)- examiners in Guernsey county are as follows : Worthy 
Dyson, clerk, Kimbolton, term expires August 31, 1910; W. O. Moore, 
Senecaville. term expired August 31, 1909; T. A. Bonnell, Cambridge, term 
expires August 31, 191 1. 

OTHER EDUCATIONAL INSTITUTIONS. 

One of the earliest educational institutions in Guernsey county was the 
Cambridge Seminary, and the Guernsey Times of May 21, 1825, has the fol- 
lowing advertisement of the school : 

CAMBRIDGE SEMINARY. 

"The subscriber has the pleasure of informing his friends and the public 
that he has procured the best books, globes, maps, charts, etc., and has com- 
menced a regular course of Geography and Astronomy, which is taught upon 
the interrogative plan. 

"The English grammar is taught agreeably by 'Hull's System' (by lec- 
tures), which is acknowledged to be the best in use, and for which from two 
to five dollars has generally been paid to teachers of that plan for forty-eight 
hours' services. 

"After ten years' experience, the subscriber can with confidence assure 
the public, that he is fully prepared to teach all the useful branches of an 
English education correctly, and with as much speed as the nature of the 
branches, and the capacity of the pupils will admit. 

"He pledges himself that no exertions on his part will be wanting, to 
render his institution as respectable and useful as any of the kind in the state. 
The terms are very moderate. 

"William Sedgwick, Teacher. 

"Cambridge. April 16, 1825. 

"N. B. — A few female boarders would be taken on moderate terms." 

THE OLD CAMBRIDGE ACADEMY. 

The old Cambridge Academy was incorporated by the Legislature in its 
session of 1837-38. with a capital stock of five thousand dollars, divided into 
five hundred shares of ten dollars each. Of this stock, seven hundred and 
forty dollars was subscribed by the citizens of Cambridge. The old Masonic 



GUERNSEY COUNTY, OHIO. [35 

lodge building on North Seventh street was purchased by the trustees for the 
academy building. This public announcement was made September 22, 1838. 
The board of trustees were William \V. Tracer, Esq., president; Moses Sar- 
chet, secretary; Ebenezer Smith, Esq., Dr. Thomas Miller, Dr. Samuel P. 
Hunt. Nathan Evans, Esq., Hamilton Robb and William McCracken. The 
institution was conducted under the general management of Rev. James Mc- 
Gill. The students were under the immediate care and instruction of William 
T. Ellis. The course of instruction embraced all those branches of a thorough 
and extensive English education, usually taught in the best high schools and 
academies, and the Latin and Greek languages. The academic year was 
divided into two sessions of twenty-two weeks each, with a vacation of four 
weeks at the close of each session. Terms were : Tuition in all branches of 
instruction at eight dollars per session, one-half to be paid in advance, the bal- 
ance at the close of the session. 

Another scholastic' advertisement appeared in the Times, in October, 
1842. It was concerning the college at Antrim and reads as follows: 

MADISON COLLEGE. 

"The ensuing session will commence on the first Monday in November. 
Alexander Clark. A. B.. and Thomas Palmer, Esq., will continue to conduct 
the interior operations of the college. Boarding can be had at a very low 
rate in respectable families in town and country. Tuition, ten dollars per 
session. As a report has gone abroad that Antrim and neighborhood are 
unhealthy, the trustees feel it their duty to say that such is not the fact, that 
we are not subject to any prevailing diseases, more than the most healthy 
neighborhoods. 

"By order of the Board. 

"M. Green, Secretary. 

"Antrim, September 17, 1842." 

The history of this college, in short, is as follows : When Madison town- 
ship was organized, there were four sections of land reserved by the state and 
set apart for public school purposes, numbers 1, 2, 9 and 10, situated in the 
northwest part of the township. These lands were directed by law to be 
leased to suitable persons for a certain period : they were to be built upon and 
improved that the value thereof might be increased and that a revenue might 
in time be derived to meet the object intended. The lands were leased and 
settled upon and the improvements made. When the term of the leases ex- 
pired the Legislature passed an act ordering the lands to be appraised and sold 



I36 GUERNSEY COUNTY, OHIO. 

to the highest bidder at not less than the appraisement. Under this arrange- 
ment the lands were sold, and were bought principally by the lease-holders. 
The proceeds of these sales went into the general state fund for schools. The 
same rule held good in the other townships of Guernsey county, too. The 
northwest quarter of section 10 was purchased by A. Alexander. The old 
road from Cambridge to Steubenville passed through this quarter section. 
Alexander was a man of much enterprise and conceived the idea of platting 
a town site on this land. Accordingly he surveyed out twenty-four lots, 
twelve on each side of this road. This was the beginning of Antrim. Sub- 
sequently, James Welch platted and laid off six lots as an addition to the 
place. 

Doctor Findley bought the quarter lying west of Alexander's land and 
took up his residence in a log cabin there. When he was fairly well 
settled he began to make arrangements to start a school at the new place. 
Either in May, 1835, or 1836, he succeeded in enrolling the names of eight 
boys and young men of the vicinity as students. He used his cabin as a reci- 
tation room, and thus it was that Madison College had its establishment. 

The people around Antrim gave their hearty support, and the students 
increased in numbers rapidly, so it was resolved, at a meeting of the town, 
that a united effort be made to provide suitable buildings for the embryo col- 
lege. Subscriptions were made in money and material, as well as in work, 
many giving far beyond their means, so much were they interested. A site 
was chosen for the building at the east of the village, on the most elevated 
ground about it. David White, a resident, was the contractor. The building 
completed was a respectable two-story brick structure, containing two rooms 
on the first story, and one large room or hall on the second floor. The name 
given the new born institution was "Madison College." The board of trustees 
appointed under the laws of Ohio chose Doctor Findley as president, and 
Milton Green, M. D., secretary, who was the father of Mrs. Samuel J. Mc- 
Mahon. The institution prospered wonderfully. In 1846 Rev. Samuel 
Mehaffey, pastor of the Old-School Presbyterian church here, became pres- 
ident and this, possibly, became the means of the downfall of the institution. 
His successors were A. D. Clark, D. D., Rev. W. Doal, Rev. Thomas Palmer, 
and others who were employed as tutors. Then new members were added to 
the board of trustees and a college charter was obtained. Rev. Samuel Find- 
lex-. Jr. (son of Doctor Findley), was chosen and installed president of the 
newly planned school. At this time the school was opened for both sexes, 
and seemed to prosper until the plan of erecting a large, costly building was 
adopted. There was much opposition to this move, but the new building was 



GUERNSEY COUNTY, OHIO. [37 

erected, completed and occupied. Rev. II. Wilson succeeded Doctor Findley 
as president, and his successor was Rev. William Lorimer, during whose term 
the crisis was reached. The creditors of the college were beginning to press 
their claims hard, the mutterings of the great Civil war cloud were heard, and 
finally, when that storm burst, Madison College and its plans for a future 
existence were carried down, never more to rise, like the slavery question, 
over which the war was so successfully fought out. 



CHAPTER IX. 

CHURCH AND DENOMINATIONAL HISTORY. 

The first settlers in Guernsey county were not all Christians, or members 
of any religious organization, but it is quite certain tliat a majority of the 
pioneer band were of some special religious faith and adhered to some particu- 
lar church creed. The Methodist and Presbyterian churches had the greater 
majority of those who first came here to make for themselves homes. The 
Methodist Episcopal church, of all others, had a peculiar origin here, especially 
at Cambridge, where first it existed in the county. Like the good old Pilgrim 
church, it was transplanted from beyond the big seas to the wild forests of 
this county. It was in 1806 and 1807 that there came from the beautiful 
island of Guernsey, Europe, Thomas Sarchet, William Ogier, James Bichard, 
Thomas Lenfestey, Daniel Ferbrache and Thomas Naftel, with their wives and 
children, who settled in Cambridge and immediate vicinity. All these parents 
were members of the Methodist society, when they left Guernsey, in the old 
country, from which this county took its name. They came into the wilder- 
ness, indeed. In the year 1808 these emigrants and their wives organized 
themselves into the Methodist Episcopal church of Cambridge, Ohio, being as- 
sisted by Rev. James Watts, a preacher of the Western conference. As far as 
is now known, this was the first attempt at church organization within the ter- 
ritory now known as Guernsey county. This being the case, very naturally the 
history of this denomination in the county will take the first place in this chap- 
ter, and here follows : 

THE METHODIST EPISCOPAL CHURCH. 

The church at Cambridge, formed in 1808, held its services for the first 
few years in the house of one of its founders — Thomas Sarchet — on the cor- 
ner of Main and Pine streets ; later at the court house, and in the lower room 
of the old Masonic Hall, a building then occupying the lot opposite the Presby- 
terian church. Late in 1831, the trustees, Jacob Shaffner, James Bichard, 
John Blancipied, Nicholas Martel, Joseph Neelands, Joseph Wood, Joseph 
Cockerel, Joseph W. White and Isaiah Mclllyar, purchased a piece of ground 
sixty feet square. It was located on Turner avenue, west of where the Ham- 



»r hist. 


iry of this pioneer 


pen oi 


the author of this 


i [899 


. and reads as fol- 


n [832 


!-33, and was dedi- 


for h 


is text, "The Lord 


ifuge." 


The church had 



GUERNSEY COUNTY, OHIO. iy> 

mond opera house stood many years later. No betl 
house of worship can be given than was given by tin 
work, and which was published in the Jeffersonion 
lows: 

The first Methodist Episcopal church was built 
cated in [835 by Rev. Joseph Rl. Trimble. He too 
nl" ] lusts is with us, and the God of Jacob is our r 
been occupied for some time before being dedicated. The church was located 
on what is now Turner avenue, of Cambridge, on the smith side and west of 
the Hammond Opera House. The lot was sixty feet square, the church a 
frame thirty-six by forty feet, costing four hundred dollars. We look back 
at this old church. It stands before us in all its simplicity. The front, mi 
the north, had two doors and two windows, and a quarter circular window in 
the gable. On the east and west sides, three windows, and on the south side 
three, one being in the centre above the pulpit. The lot was enclosed with a 
board fence, with two gates opposite the doors. The females entered at the 
west gate, and the males at the east. In the church there were two centre 
aisles and a cross aisle in front of the altar rail and pulpit. The seats to be 
right and left of the pulpit ran north and south. These corners were desig- 
nated as the "Amen corners." and were occupied by the older men and women, 
who often responded "Amen" and "God grant it" when the preacher was 
preaching. To the right of the west entrance door were the seats for the 
women, and to the left of the east entrance door were the seats for the men. 
The sheep and goats were separated. Between the aisles were short seats, 
where old men and women, with their children, could sit, but there was no 
general indiscriminate sitting. If a stranger took a seat on the women's side, 
he was politely notified that he was "in the wrong pew." 

The pulpit was five or six feet above the main floor, and was reached by 
a flight of steps and entered through a door. The preacher, when seated, was 
out of view of the congregation. On the front of the pulpit was a circular 
sounding board, for the preacher to pound on to awake his drowsy hearers. 
There was a book board in the centre, and a foot board for the short preach- 
ers, and when one of these missed the footing he was out of sight until he re- 
gained his footing. The hymns were lined out. a stanza at a time, by the 
preacher. The congregation singing at the last stanza, all turned around to 
kneel in prayer. Some of the preachers often sang alone a favorite hymn. 
Dr. James Drummond, who preached in the church, had two which he often 
sang: "The Chariot, the Chariot, its Wheels Roll in Fire," and "Turn, Sin- 
ners, Turn, for the Tide is Receding, and the Saviour will Soon and Forever 



I4O GUERNSEY COUNTY, OHIO. 

Cease Pleading." The church was at first heated with a large tin-plate stove, 
in which was burned corchvood, and was lighted by candles suspended around 
the walls. There were movable ones on the pulpit for the convenience of the 
preacher. There were no young people's meetings or Sunday school until 
1835. and then it was only a summer school. Most of the scholars came from 
the country barefooted, the boys with straw hats and in their shirt sleeves, the 
girls with sunbonnets and cottonade dresses. It was a day of small things. 
There were no Sunday school books nor Berean leaves. The John Rogers 
primer and the Testament were the text-books. This is but a meagre descrip- 
tion of the first church and the manner of worship. We close with this pioneer 
verse : 

"We felt that we were fellow men ; 

We felt that we were a band. 

Sustained here in the wilderness 

By Heaven's upholding hand. 

Yet while we linger we may all 

A backward glance still throw, 

To the days when we were pioneers. 

Sixty years ago." 

The preachers that preached in this first church were Revs. James Mc- 
Mahon, Samuel Harvey, Cyrus Brooks, David Young, Henry Whiteman, Gil- 
bert Blue, Moses A. Milligan, B. F. Meyers. Andrew Carroll, Harvey Camp, 
Jeremiah Hill, Luman H. Allen, John M. Reed, I. N. Baird, James Drum- 
mond, John Grimm, Thomas Winstanley, Thomas R. Ruckle, J. D. Rich, 
Ludwell Petty, R. Stephenson, David Cross, J. Phillips, E. G. Nicholson, 
David Trueman, Isaac N. Baird, Robert Boyd, A. J. Blake, J. A. Swaney, J. 
D. Knox. S. P. Woolf, James McGinnis, Andrew Magee, T. J. Taylor, Wil- 
liam Gamble. Presiding Elders: Robert O. Spencer, Edward H. Taylor, S. 
R. Brockunier. James C. Taylor, James G. Sansom. 

The second church was built in 1852 and 1853, a two-story brick located 
in Gaston's addition, on the lot now owned by J. F. Salmon. This church 
was dedicated January 2, 1854, by Rev. James G. Sansom, Andrew Magee, the 
preacher, in charge of the Cambridge circuit, Pittsburgh conference. The 
preachers who preached in this church were. Andrew Magee, T. J. Taylor, 
John Huston, W. Devinney, F. W. Yirtican. James L. Deens, W. B. Watkins, 
Tertnllis Davidson, James Henderson, Edward Ellison, A. L. Petty, J. D. 
Vail, Samuel Crouse, J. H. Conkle, James H. Hollingshead, Ezra Hingeley. 
W. H. Locke. T. R. Mills. 



GUERNSEY COUNTY, OHIO. 141 

Presiding elders: John Moffit, W. F. l.auck, W. A. Davidson, James 
Henderson, S. F. Minor, A. L. Petty, John Williams. Allen II. Norcross, 
James R. Mills, \Y. L. Dixon. The third church, located on North Seventh 
street and Steubemille avenue, was erected during the pastorates on Cam- 
bridge Station, East ( >hio conference, of W. II. Locke and James K. Mills. 

The edifice, costing thirty-two thousand dollars, was finished in 1885, and 
was dedicated January 9, [886, b) Bishop Edward G. Andrews, assisted by 
Dr. Joseph M. Trimble and Dr. C. II. Payne, James R. Mills being the pas- 
tor. The preachers who were on the station were J. R. Mills. John Brown, 
Sylvester Burt, J. M. Carr, and R. B. Pope. Presiding Elders: W. L. Dixon. 
John 1. Wilson, John R. Keyes. The trustees and building committee were 
G. J. Albright, Joseph 1). Taylor. T. II. Anderson, John C. Beckett, C. P. B. 
Sarchet, Alfred P. Shaffner, J. 0. Mcllyar, B. F. Fleming and W. M. Scott. 

On Thanksgiving day, November 25, 1890, the union services were held 
in this building. Saturday afternoon. November 27th, it was discovered that 
the structure was afire. The flames had been at work for some time before 
discovery, and continued their destructive course with great rapidity. In 
spite of the fire department, which responded very quickly, in the course of 
half an hour portions of the roof began to fall in. and it became apparent that 
the building was doomed. Doctor Pope, the pastor, also lost much of his 
household goods, which were not protected by insurance in the burning of the 
pastorage, but managed to save a rare library of books, the accumulation of 
a lifetime. In the end nothing was left but the main tower and belfry, com- 
paratively uninjured, and the stone walls. Insurance on the church and its 
contents amounted to twelve thousand three hundred dollars. For some time 
the dispossessed congregation was accommodated by other churches of the city, 
and later services were held in the opera house, and in the assembly room in 
the Taylor block, the free use of which was given by the late Col. J. D. Taylor. 

At a meeting on December 6, 1896, less than ten days after the fire, the 
officials of the church, without a dissenting voice, formally resolved to re- 
build the church, upon an improved and enlarged plan. December 10, 1897, 
Architect S. R. Badgley, of Cleveland, was employed, at once viewed the site. 
and submitted a rough outline of a plan for its reconstruction. On February 
4, 1S97, the plans were finally approved. The contract was let to Vansickle 
Brothers, of Cuyahoga Falls, Ohio, April 14th. to be completed by November 
1st, following. This firm began work the last week in April, and on the even- 
ing of May 7th, without any previous warning, abandoned the undertaking, 
and the member of the firm who was on the work left town in the night, and 
never returned. The work was continued under new contracts made for 



142 GUERNSEY COUNTY, OHIO. 

separate parts of the work, the carpentry and joiner work being done by the 
day. W. C. Carlisle, of Cleveland, was superintendent on behalf of the build- 
ing committee. 

In April, 1898. the building committee took up also the matter of build- 
ing a new parsonage, a work which was in contemplation when the church 
burned. The contract was let to Hoyle & Scott, of Cambridge, and the work 
progressed rapidly. The entire cost of construction of the church and parson- 
age is in round numbers, thirty-six thousand five hundred dollars. The former 
church building cost about thirty-five thousand dollars, including site. The 
first meeting held in the new church was Sunday. November 26, 1899, when a 
long and impressive service was held, at which spoke many of Cambridge's 
foremost pastors. 

The pastors of this church since the list above mentioned have been:' 
Revs. R. B. Pope, from 1897 to I 9°3< s i- x years ; W. B. Winters, 1903 to 1905 ; 
Edwin Jester, from 1905 to 1908; C. N. Church from 1908 to the present 
time (fall of 1910), to serve under present appointment to close of conference 
year of 191 1. 

The present membership of the church is twelve hundred and forty-six; 
number in Sunday school, thirteen hundred and fifty. The church is in a 
prosperous condition and will soon be aided by an assistant to the pastor in 
way of a lady who has been employed for special work in the community, the 
time of her coming being fixed at January. 191 1. The present pastor receives 
one thousand eight hundred dollars per year and house rent, four hundred dol- 
lars. The estimated value of the church property of this church is sixty 
thousand dollars. 

Besides this church in Cambridge, there is the Second Methodist Epis- 
copal church, in the Glass-plant addition, which was formed a few years since. 
It has a neat frame building and is laboring hard to free itself from debt. It 
is supplied by the present pastor at Lore City, Rev. Bevington. 

The African Methodist Episcopal church is now under the charge of 
Rev. Beck, recently appointed to this charge. They have a modest, but well 
arranged edifice in the city and a good congregation of colored people of the 
Methodist faith. 

THE BYESVILLE CHURCH. 

The Methodist Episcopal church of Byesville. Ohio, had its beginning in 
the year 1870, in the organization of a church at Rainey's Chapel, which was 
located about two miles from Byesville, and was organized in 1870 with eleven 
charter members by the Reverend Fotrtz. Byesville being the most central 



GUERNSEY COUNTY, OHIO. 143 

point, it was thought best to move the church to that place: so accordingly in 
[879, the church at Rainey's Chapel was torn down and moved to Byesville 

and erected on the site where the new church now stands. 

Since its organization the following ministers have served as pastors: 
Reverends Foutz, Webster, Timberlake, Waters and Stewart, while the church 
remained at Rainey's Chapel. Since the church was moved to Byesville, Rev- 
erend Stewart was its first pastor. He was followed by Reverends Dennis, 
Ream, Gruber, J. K. Crimes, Forsythe, Davidson, Neeley, Bowers, Collier, M. 
C. Crimes, Petty and \\". (). Hawkins. 

In June, 1907, a new church was projected and the money subscribed. 
At a meeting held in August. 1907. a contract was let to F. Wentz & Company 
for the sum of twelve thousand eight hundred and seventy-five dollars. The 
corner-stone was laid October joth, that year, and it was completed the follow- 
ing season. 

Since the building of this fine church, which is valued at twenty-five thou- 
sand dollars, the membership has increased to three hundred and sixty, with a 
Sunday school of five hundred pupils. The present pastor is Rev. W. O. 
Hawkins. 

THE CHURCH AT CUMBERLAND. 

The Cumberland Methodist Episcopal church was organized in 1852. It 
now enjoys a membership of three hundred and twenty-five. The records are 
not now at hand and cannot he obtained, hence no further detail concerning 
this branch of the church in the county. The minutes of the last conference 
show the church to have a membership of three hundred and twenty-three, with 
a Sunday school of two hundred and twenty ; the church property is valued 
at five thousand five hundred dollars. The present pastor is Rev. T. H. 
Taylor. 

THE SALESVH.LE CHURCH. 

The Salesville Methodist Episcopal church, located in the village of this 
name, was organized in the summer of 1837, with the following charter mem- 
bers : Francis Linn and wife, William Crouse and wife, Thomas Wolford and 
wife, James Foreacre and wife, John Rimmer and wife. James Bell and wife, 
Mrs. Elizabeth Thompson. Francis Linn was elected class leader, which office 
he faithfully filled until called to his home above in 1890. 

The first church was built in 1840. the class having worshiped in a build- 
ing located on the hill north of the village : it was known as the '■Temple" and 
was free to all denominations to hold services in. The building of the first 



I4_( GUERNSEY COUNTY, OHIO. 

church was done chiefly by the members and the material was also donated, 
so the cost is not known. It was located just east of the present school build- 
ing. The present edifice, which took its place in 1873. is located west of the 
school building. The material is frame and its cost was one thousand eight 
hundred dollars. It has been improved and repaired much since then and is 
now said to be worth two thousand five hundred dollars. It is lighted by a 
gasoline plant. 

The present membership is eighty. The Salesville and Millers church, 
and also the Quaker City church, were on the same circuit for sixty years, 
hence the history of one is the same as the other. Recently the Millers church 
has been dropped from the circuit and is now a part of Washington circuit, 
also with Salesville. 

Among the pastors now recalled are these : Revs. Bishop, Boyd, Butts. 
Phillips, Rich, Hollister, Hamilton, Rogers, Olp, Baird, Cartwright. Fouts, 
Webster, Grimes, Robbins, Armstrong, Taylor, Hollett, Strahl, Petty, West- 
wood, Wilson, Lepage, Wycoff, Merrill, Romic and Dunn, the present pastor. 

OTHER METHODIST EPISCOPAL CHURCHES. 

Rev. W. Reeves organized a class in the township of Spencer, as 
early as 181 5 and erected a house of worship on land owned by Col. Thomas 
Bay, Sr., one of the first pioneers of the valley. It was a frame building, 
twenty by twenty-eight feet in dimension. In 1852 the class had so grown that 
more room was demanded and they sold to the Presbyterian church and in 1853 
built again. Rev. Hamilton was pastor when this change was effected. 

Quaker City church is in the Barnesville district. The church here was 
formed at a very early date, and the present building was erected in 1871, on 
the corner of Pike and Main streets. The property of the church and parson- 
age is estimated at six thousand dollars. The present pastor is Rev. E. R. 
Romig. The membership is now six hundred and ten, while the Sunday 
school is six hundred and forty-six. 

The Claysville church has a membership of two hundred and nineteen ; 
Sunday school of one hundred and eighteen; church property valued at seven 
thousand dollars. The pastor is Rev. J. W. Rich. 

At Kimbolton the church has a membership of five hundred and seventy- 
five, with a Sunday school of three hundred and thirty-five. The church 
property is valued at sixteen thousand dollars; the present pastor is Rev. M. 
W. Bevington. 

The Lore City church has a membership of three hundred and thirty- 



GUERNSEY COUNTY, 145 

five, with a Sunday school numbering- four hundred and twenty. Church 
property valued at twelve thousand eight hundred dollars. The pastor is 
Rev. C. R. Poulson. 

The Senecaville Methodist Episcopal church has a membership of four 
hundred and six, with a Sunday school numbering four hundred and twenty. 
The present value of the church property is thirteen thousand eight hundred 
dollars. The present pastor is Rev. F. G. Fowler. 

Pleasant City has a church property valued at fifteen thousand dollars 
and a membership of five hundred and sixty. Its Sunday school has a mem- 
bership of six hundred. The present pastor is Rev. R. J. Xorris. 

The church at Washington has a membership of nine hundred and eighty- 
five and its property is valued at nine thousand five hundred dollars. The 
present pastor is Rev. W. H. Stewart. 

At Buffalo the membership is about one hundred and fifty and the value 
of church property is estimated at six thousand five hundred dollars. The 
present pastor is Rev. J. F. Cash. 

There are other Methodist Episcopal churches in the county that have not 
been properly reported to the editor of this work. Among these are preach- 
ing places at Hopewell, Birds Run, Antrim, Londonderry, Wesley Chapel, etc. 

THE CHRISTIAN CHURCH. 

The Christian church of Quaker City is an old organization. In 1859 
they had a good building in the eastern part of the village. This was aban- 
doned in March, 1875, for the new brick building on the corner of South street 
and Broadway. 

There is also a society in Cambridge, but they own no building. They 
hold services over a business house on the north side of Wheeling avenue. 

Another church society is the Associaters, — a branch of the Methodist 
Episcopal church, — who by some are termed "Holiness People." They believe 
in a much higher life than that taught by the church generally. Some of the 
best citizens in Cambridge unite with this sect in their weekly worship. 

THE FRIENDS CHURCH (QUAKERS). 

Among the early settlers in various part of Guernsey county the Friends 
predominated, especially in the vicinity of what is now Quaker City, where 
the Hall family planted a church of this faith. A meeting house, as they call 
churches, has always been maintained near the village, and a prosperous soci- 

(10) 



I46 GUERNSEY COUNTY, OHIO. 

ety of Friends has had much to do with the morals and religion of the com- 
munity. At an early day the Friends had a much harder time than at present. 
Just before the opening of the war of 1812-14, with England, the Friends, 
carrying out their belief that war was always wrong, aggressive or defensive, 
refused to engage in that war and were badly dealt with by the authorities. 
They had heavy fines imposed upon them and in cases sacrificed much of their 
property. In cases, the fine collectors were cold, hard-hearted officials who 
feathered their own nest, as well as causing this sect any amount of trouble 
and loss of valuable property. One Elijah Dyson, then sheriff of Guernsey 
county, took it upon himself to enforce the law as against these people and 
through his arrests made bad work among them and worked incalculable 
injury to them. Among these people are found some of the "salt of the earth" 
and today the members of this sect are honored for the carrying out of their 
religious convictions. 

THE CATHOLIC CHURCH. 

The first Catholic church in Guernsey county was probably erected about 
1840 at Washington, where some years previous a number of Catholic families 
had settled. They continued to worship there until about 1865, under priests 
from various parts of the state, especially those from Beaver township, Noble 
count}- (then within Guernsey). About 1867 Father Jacket, pastor at Tem- 
peranceville, Belmont county, built the church at Gibson Station. He used 
some of the rrtaterial of the church at Washington in the construction of this 
church. Father Jacket came to Temperanceville in 1854, from Tennessee, 
serving this congregation and others in this vicinity, traveling on horseback 
over Guernsey, Belmont and Noble counties. In 1868 he was transferred to 
Coshocton, Ohio. Fathers O'Brien, Laughlin and Hall succeeded Father 
Jacket in the order named, each remaining but a short time. About 1870, 
Rev. Father Heary, now of Dennison, Ohio, came to Temperanceville, and at- 
tended to the wants of the Catholic people of Guernsey county. He said mass 
and held services part of the time at the residence of Steve Ouinn. at the cor- 
ner of Second street and Gomber avenue, Cambridge, and part of the time 
at Michael Slaymons. at Guernsey Mines. At that date there were not more 
than a dozen families near Cambridge. 

Father Heary was followed by Father Montag, who for a long time held 
services at Slaymon's, Guernsey Mines, then at Adam's hall, near the court 
house, which building was leased by the Catholic people. Later the Carlisle 
Hall, on Wheeling avenue. Cambridge, was rented. Following Father Heary 
came Rev. Nathaniel McCaffrey in 1897, Nvn0 was trie ^ rst priest to regularly 



GUERNSEY COUNTY, OHIO. 147 

reside at Cambridge. Shortly after his coming, the Catholics bought the 
Shultz property, at the corner of Gomber and North Ninth streets, and while 
they were erecting a small church on the rear of the lot, he said mass and held 
services at William Armbuster's, on West Wheeling avenue. 

Then let it be recorded that the first Catholic church in Cambridge was on 
Gomber avenue, between Seventh and Eighth streets, and it was dedicated by 
Bishop Watterson in December, 1897. The Bishop being of national reputa- 
tion, and many never having seen a bishop, the attendance was very large. 
This good bishop was noted for his zeal in the cause of temperance. 

The first parish formed in Cambridge was organized by Father McCaff- 
rey, who was succeeded by Father James Slevin, who remained only eight 
months, retiring on account of his extreme old age. Then came Rev. C. H. A. 
Watterson as pastor, beginning his labors in July. 1901. The congregation 
grew and flourished spiritually, under his administration. In June, 1904, he 
was selected to organize a parish in East Newark, Ohio. The same year and 
month he was succeeded by the present able pastor. Rev. J. H. Wagner. Under 
his guidance, the congregation has almost, if not quite, doubled its member- 
ship. 

In 1910 (present year) there is being completed a magnificent brick 
church, with a parochial school building on the lots above described, on the 
corner of Gomber and North Seventh streets. This is known as St. Benedict's 
church. The church will easily seat seven hundred persons. The interior 
finish of this building is indeed elegant; its altars are works of high art, the 
main one costing in excess of eight hundred dollars. This church building 
is considered one of the finest in this section of the country. Its dedication 
was on Sunday. November 20, 1910, when Bishop Hartley, of Columbus, 
officiated, being assisted by Father Waterson and Father O'Boylan, of New- 
ark, and Father Mattingly of Lancaster. 

The Slavish Roman Catholic church at Byesville was begun in June, 
1905, and completed in November of the same year. It was erected at an 
expense of seven thousand dollars, and its location is on Fifth street, south of 
Main. The congregation in 1907 was over seven hundred. A nine-room 
parsonage was provided south from the church, at a cost of five thousand dol- 
lars. Rev. E. F. Rahtarsik, pastor, was the man who put this church on its 
present standing. 

METHODIST PROTESTANT CHURCH. 

The Methodist Protestant church at Cambridge was formed by Rev. 
Cornelius Springer, in 1830. with seven members, Thomas Mcllyar and wife. 



I48 GUERNSEY COUNTY, OHIO. 

Peter Corbet and wife. Zephima C. Suitt and wife and Thomas Sarchet. Mr. 
Sarchet did not become a full member until 1832. 

Services were held in the lower room of the old Masonic building, on 
Seventh street. A small brick church was built in 1832, Thomas Sarchet 
having donated the lot and built the church. In 1832 the society was reor- 
ganized and Thomas Sarchet, Solomon Tomolson and wife, Sarah Tingle and 
others, became members in full communion. The local church at this time be- 
longed to Cambridge circuit. Rev. William Reeves and wife and Rev. George 
Broure served as evangelists before any regular pastor -was appointed. Rev. 
Jacob Meyers and Rev. A. H. Basset seem to have been on the Cambridge 
circuit at this time and preached at Cambridge, as Rev. Springer lived at Zanes- 
ville. The first pastor in charge was Rev. Jacob Ragan, he having been ap- 
pointed by the Pittsburg conference in the autumn of 1832. Rev. Ragan died 
here October 3, 1834, and his body rests in the old cemetery here. Singular 
enough to relate, it appears that with the passing of all these years only two 
pastors died in Cambridge from this church. Revs. Ragan and John Rowcliff. 
Rev. Dobbins filled out Rev. Ragan's time. The records show that Revs. J. 
Burns and George Claney were appointed pastors of Cambridge circuit in 1834 
and supplied Cambridge. Rev. John Herbert came in 1836; Revs. Israel 
Thrapp and A. H. Basset, in 1838 and 1840. Following came pastors, Jacob 
Nichols and John Rowcliff, the latter dying in 1846. Then came Rev. Wil- 
liam Munhall and Rev. Washington Mannard in 1849. These were succeeded 
by George Caney and Joel Thrapp. This brings it to 1851, when Cambridge 
became a station and Rev. Springer became pastor in 1852. In 1853 came 
William Ross; Rev. Washington Mannard, 1855; R ev - J°hn Burns, i860. 
Then Cambridge was attached to Cambridge circuit again and Rev. C. L. 
Sears and Rev. J. W. Case were appointed pastors in 1863. In 1865 came 
Revs. J. M. Woodward and T. H. Scott. In 1866, Revs. E. S. Hoagland 
and Rev. Walter Moore served. In 1871 came Revs. J. W. Woodward and 
O. V. W. Chandler. 1872, came Rev. K. M. Woodward. At that date Cam- 
bridge again became a station and Rev. S. A. Fisher was appointed pastor in 

1873- 

During the latter's pastorate the second church was erected, the same 
costing seven thousand dollars, and was dedicated November 26, 1876, Revs. 
J. J. Murray and Alexander Clark officiating, assisted by clergymen from the 
Methodist Episcopal church. In 1879 Rev. S. S. Fleming became pastor. 
Then came Revs. E. H. Scott, 1880; A. Sarchet, 188 1 ; J. W. Thompson, 
1882: M. L. Jennings, 1883; J. A. Thrapp, 1887; F. A. Brown, 1890; G. E. 
McManiman, 1895; J. A. Selby, 1896; S. A. Fisher, 1901 ; C. E. Sheppard, 
1904; W. E. Harrison, 1910, and still serving as pastor. 



GUERNSEY COUNTY, OHIO, i-l<) 

During the seventy-five year,- history of this church there seems to have 
been thirty-one regular pastors. Of these only twelve are now living. It was 
during the pastorate of Rev. Selby that the third church building was erected 
' at a cost of thirteen thousand and ten dollars. It was dedicated June i<;. [898, 
by Doctors F. T. Tagg. of Baltimore, and M. L Jennings, of Pittsburg, as- 
sisted by Doctors D. C. Coburn, W. L. Wells, J. A. Selby and F. A. Brown. 
During Rev. Sheppard's time as pastor here, the heating plant system was 
installed and a beautiful pipe organ was secured and other improvements made 
upon the church, which is indeed a model house of worship. 

BYESVILLE. 

The Byesville Methodist Protestant church was organized about 1873, 
Rev. John Burns, D. D., of the Cambridge Methodist Protestant church, offici- 
ating. The organization took place in the home of Liburn B. Rodgers. then 
living at Old Town, just east from Enon Baptist church. The following is a 
list of charter members: L. B. Rodgers and wife, Isaac Hoopman and wife. 
Weslev Gorsuch and wife, Mary (Kaufman) Cummings. 

At first they met at private houses and in a log building at the forks- of 
the road near Trail run, where they worshiped until the fall of 1853, when a 
church known as Bethlehem, was dedicated. Rev. Joel Thrapp, D. D., officiat- 
ing. This served until 1880 when the society bought a lot and erected a new 
church at the corner of Main and Depot streets in Byesville, which served 
until 1903, when the present commodious edifice was erected, at the corner 
of Main and North High streets. 

The pastors who have faithfully served this people include these: Rev. 
William Ross. Rev. Joel Thrapp. D. D.. Rev. Orr, Rev. Israel Thrapp. Rev. 
William Sears, Rev. Case, Rev. John Burns, D. D., Rev. E. S. Hoagland, 
Rev. J. C. Ogle, Rev. Thomas Scott. Rev. A. Harrison, Rev. J. P. King, Rev. 
J. My Woodward, Rev. O. V. W. Chandler, D. D., Rev. S. A. Tisher, D. D.. 
Rev. W. L. Wells, D. D., Rev. J. B. McCormick. D. D., Rev. W. H. Guy. Rev. 
S. S. Fisher. D. D.. Sc. D.. Rev. G. E. McManiman, D. D„ Rev. Joseph Gray, 
Rev. W. S. Cairns, D. D., Rev. D. C. Weese, Rev. C. R. Blades. Rev. C. S. 
McGrath, Rev. C. E. Stockdale. 

THE PRESBYTERIAN CHURCH. 

Presbyterianism has always been a strong factor in the county — both the 
regular and United Presbyterian bodies. The following facts have been fur- 
nished by the present pastor of the Presbyterian church at Cambridge, at the 
request of the publishers of this work : 



I5O GUERNSEY COUNTY, OHIO. 

In the year 1827 Rev. 'William Wallace was authorized by some presby- 
tery to visit the village of Cambridge and establish a Presbyterian church 
organization. In accordance with directions he effected such an organization 
in April of that year. Three elders were elected, viz: Thomas Oldham, 
James Wilson and Jesse Johnston. Their meetings for preaching services 
were held in the court house, and for some time Rev. William Wallace min- 
istered to the congregation, preaching for them at stated intervals. In the 
year 1834 the names of John B. Thompson, M. D., David Burt and Ehenezer 
Smith were added to the roll of sessions, and the names of Silas Burt and 
Michael Rogers were added in the year 1837. 

About the year 1837 Rev. James Black supplied the church for some little 
time ; he was followed by Rev. John Arthur, who supplied the congregation 
for two or three years. After this Rev. William Wallace furnished whatever 
preaching service they had until the year 1850. 

At a congregational meeting held in 1845 tne following elders were 
elected : Samuel Wilson. Hugh Wilson, Thomas Oldham, Jr. Later the name 
of John McFarland was added to the roll of eldership. The church records 
will show that these men were of the strictest sect, and administered the law 
accordingly. 

The congregation of Cambridge was a part of the presbytery of Zanes- 
ville and when the union of the Old-School and New-School Presbyterian 
churches was formed it was transferred to the presbytery of St. Clairsville. 

Al out the first of October, 1853, Rev. William V. Milligan, a young man 
who had been licensed by the presbytery of St. Clairsville in April, 1853, went 
out to Uniontown, Muskingum county, Ohio, to preach for Rev. William 
Ferguson, while Rev. Ferguson would fill an appointment that he had made 
at Cambridge, Ohio. The young man suggested that Rev. Ferguson let him 
fill the appointment at Cambridge, the request was granted and on the first 
Sunday of November, 1853. Rev. Milligan preached his first sermon for the 
congregation that he was to serve for forty-five years. He agreed to preach 
as supply until the first of April, 1854. During the winter his work was very 
successful, and the records show that there were two meetings of the session 
held that winter for the purpose of receiving new members. As the pastor in 
charge was not an ordained minister. Rev. William Ferguson moderated one 
meeting and Rev. Jacob Milligan the other. The congregation was so well 
pleased with the ministrations of Rev. Milligan that in the spring of 1854 they 
gave him a call to become their pastor, and in the little brick church which oc- 
cupied the site of the present commodious structure, he was ordained by the 
presbytery of Zanesville, May 10, 1854. 



i;ri-:u\si-;v corxTV, o 



The history of the congregation is practically the history of the work of 
Rev. W. V. Milligan, D. I)., for the next forty-five years. The work begun 
on the first Sabbath of November,. [853, was continued without intermission 
or a single vacation, missing but two Sundays appointment till the last Sab- 
hath of November, 1898. The last service of Doctor Milligan was Sabbath 
evening and a large congregation was present. At the close of the service 
Doctor Milligan announced that the pulpit of the Presbyterian church would 
be vacant that night at twelve o'clock. Doctor Milligan retired from the active 
work of the ministry with the good will of not only the members of his own 
congregation, but of the entire community. Coming to the congregation 
fresh from the seminary, he had given to the congregation a life of faithful 
service: the strung, vigorous church that he left as a monument is a fitting 
testimonial to the character of that service rendered, not as unto man but as 
unto God. Since Doctor Milligan resigned he has seen three pastors called 
to the pulpit. The present pastor attributes much of his success to the help- 
ful counsel and cheerful advice given by him. who, as a father in Israel, is loved 
and respected by all who know him. He has already passed the mark of four- 
score years, yet is his natural force not abated, nor his interest in the congre- 
gation which he served so long lessened. 

When Doctor Milligan took charge of the work in 1853 there were eighty- 
three names on the church roll. The village of Cambridge had a population 
of less than a thousand, and had at least four other congregations at work in 
this limited territory, viz : Methodist Episcopal. Methodist Protestant. Bap- 
tist, and Associate, afterward the United Presbyterian. The growth of the 
Presbyterian organization was a steady one. about twenty names being added 
each year, and when Doctor Milligan closed his pastorate in 1898 the church 
had a membership of two hundred and fifty. 

Doctor Milligan was quite a builder in more senses than one. In 1857 
the congregation, under his direction, erected a building costing over four 
thousand dollars, and in 1893 the present modern structure was erected at a 
cost of twenty thousand dollars. 

In 1876 Rev. William Bryant was elected elder. In 1892 the following 
were selected elders: Samuel J. McMahon, Alexander Fulton, Jonathan F. 
Oldham, W. B. Green and Howard W. Luccock. In the year 1900 William 
F. Dollison, Samuel W. Luccock, Oscar Dougherty, Robert H. Mills and Sam- 
uel E. Boden were elected to the eldership, and in 1906 the following were 
elected and installed as elders: C. C. Laughlin, George M. Williams. Chester 
Lloyd. J. M. Carr. Edward B. Milligan, E. A. Scott and J. M. Wood. 

Rev. W. F. W'eir, D. D., was elected to the pastorate of the congregation, 



Ig2 GUERNSEY COUNTY, OHIO. 

May 24. 1899, and was installed August 6th of the same year. Doctor Weir 
came to the congregation just at a time when an active, aggressive man was 
needed. Cambridge had begun to grow very rapidly. He proved to be just 
the man tor the place. In a short pastorate of less than four years he added 
over two hundred members to the church and when he left the congregation, 
to accept a call to Ashtabula, he left a strong, vigorous congregation of over 
four hundred members. 

On July 15, 1903, Rev. Ken C. Hayes was called to the pulpit made vacant 
by the resignation of Doctor Weir. Rev. Hayes was installed September 28, 
1903. Doctor Hayes was a very forcible preacher, a man of most pleasing 
persi iriality, and had a quiet but successful pastorate of six years, when he 
resigned to accept a call to another congregation. 

The present pastor, Rev. William L. McCormick, was installed Septem- 
ber 21, 1909. Since the beginning of the present pastorate there have been 
ninety accessions to the church and the congregation is in a most prosperous 
condition financially, and on every hand there is evidence of the presence and 
blessing of the Holy Spirit. At present the congregation has a membership 
of almost five hundred, and the prospect for future growth were never more 
promising. 

CUMBERLAND. 

The Buffalo Presbyterian church, at Cumberland, was organized in 1816. 
It now has a membership of three hundred and fifty. It is one of the oldest 
and most substantial churches in Guernsey county, and of the entire state, in 
the list of country churches. 

Three church buildings have served this people, the first being situated 
just to the north of the village of Cumberland, the second in the western end 
of the village and the present one about the center. The last named was 
erected in 1894, is of brick, and cost eighteen thousand dollars. 

The pastors who have served this congregation have been : Revs. Bald- 
ridge, 1817-23; William Wallace, 1824-38; Thomas P. Gordon, 1840-42; M. 
M. Brown, 1843-1853: William R. Fulton, 1853-55; J°hn R- Duncan, 1857- 
1864; Henry C. Foulke, 1867-78; F. M. Kumler, 1880-89; H. C. Morledge, 
1890-1909; David C. Whitemarsh, 1909, the present pastor. 

LORE CITY. 

The Lore City Presbyterian church is midway between Washington and 
Senecaville. The people erected a neat little church here and effected an 



GUERNSEY COIXTV, OHIO. 153 

organization in 1884, with forty-seven members. This church has been min- 
istered to by the pastors of Washington and Senecaville. 

WASHINGTON. 

Washington Presbyterian church was formed by early settlers from out 
the sturdy Scotch-Irish people. They first met at the village hotel and they 
depended on traveling ministers. The first house of worship was erected in 
181 _', and was a small log house built by the people. It stood just outside the 
village, near the old graveyard. Ten years later an addition was made to 
this log church and in 1827 a new brick church was provided in the town. 
This was almost totally destroyed in 1834 by a wind storm, was rebuilt and 
enlarged, and served until i860, when, in a year later, the present church was 
erected. 

This church was organized in 181 1, under the name of Leatherwood, 
which was changed to Washington in 1822. Rev. John Boyd was instru- 
mental in founding this congregation. The pastors serving for many years 
are found in the Lore City and Senecaville church histories of this denom- 
ination. This church has experienced many great revivals, the largest prob- 
ably in its entire history being that of 1839, under Rev. Samuel Hair. Other 
revival seasons were in 1858 and 1885. 

SENECAVILLE. 

The Senecaville Presbyterian church was organized in 1810 by Rev. John 
Royd, whose labors were divided between this point and Leatherwood. In 
1815 Rev. James Smith accepted a call, and he died in 1819. The next pastor 
was Rev. Thomas B. Clark, who began in 1821 and continued nine years. 
The church then remained vacant a number of years, during which time a 
great revival broke out. But without a pastor, the congregation became scat- 
tered again, and a Cumberland Presbyterian society was formed which almost 
absorbed the original mother Presbyterian church. In 1835 came Rev. David 
Polk, who brought the fragments of the church together again and their prop- 
erty was restored to them and much good done. Following him came Rev. 
John Arthur for eighteen months, then came Rev. John Alexander in 1842, 
continuing until 1853. During this period the congregation flourished and 
grew in numbers greatly. In 1854 came Rev. William Ferguson, and gave 
the church one-fourth of his time until 1862, after which all of his time was 
devoted to the church at Washington. During his labors a church was built 



154 GUERNSEY COUNTY, OHIO. 

and a great revival followed. Then the churches of Senecaville and Washing- 
ton were dissolved and separate congregations formed. Then was built the 
church of Bulah. at Claysville : Rev. W. R. Miller took charge of this and con- 
tinued until 1867. In 1 868 Rev. Courtw right became pastor and he resigned 
in 1870. In 1874, Rev. R. B. Porter was made pastor, continuing until 1876. 
After the resignation of this man took place the former relationship with the 
church at Washington was resumed, and Rev. A. G. Eagleson became pastor 
iif the Washington church, supplying this church two years. In 1879 Rev. J. 
P. Stafford, D. D., began his labors as stated supply, continuing a year and a 
half. Doctor Miller also supplied for a short season. In 1883 Rev. Newton 
Donaldson, a pastor of the Washington church, became pastor at Senecaville, 
remaining for five years. Soon after his coming a new church was formed at 
Lore City, composed of members from both Senecaville and Washington. 
These three churches constituted the charge of Mr. Donaldson, and his min- 
istry was very successful. Rev. Charles McCracken succeeded Mr. Donald- 
son, continuing three years. The next pastor was Rev. McMaster, who re- 
mained three years. (No further data was sent to the author of this work.) 

THE CUMBERLAND PRESBYTERIAN CHURCH. 

A church of this denomination was organized in Spencer township, in 
1835, by a number of Presbyterians who were dissatisfied with the creed and 
teachings of the mother church ; hence they, in connection with Rev. Isaac 
Shook, of Tennessee, formed what they desired and finally were permitted to 
call it the "Cumberland Presbyterian church." It was made up largely from 
members of the old Buffalo Presbyterian church. The first membership 
(August, 1835) was forty-two. It has flourished well and had many strong 
pastors, including Revs. Shook, Thomas Thomas, Ezra K. Squire, D. D., 
A. D. Hail, D. D.. W. G. Archer and others of later days. In 1895 they oc- 
cupied their second church building, a fine brick church. 

UNITED BRETHREN CHURCH. 

There are now. in this county, the following United Brethren churches : 
The Cambridge churches, the Four Mile Hill church, the one at Gibson, the 
one at Senecaville and one at Chestnut Hill. 

The Otterbein United Brethren church, near Four Mile Hill, east of 
Cambridge, in Centre township, was formed many years ago. It now has a 
membership of fifty-four. Its house of worship consists of a frame structure, 



GUERNSEY COUNTY, OHIO. I 5 5 

thirty by fifty feet, now valued at two thousand five hundred dollars. Tin's is 
served by the pastor of the Second church of Cambridge, at present, and has 

been for three years. 

The Madison avenue United Brethren church, at Cambridge, was organ- 
ized in August, [891, by Rev. I. Dennis, pastor. The charter members were 
Peter Grudier and wife, Mrs. Naff, Mis. R. Evans, Miss Anna Bailey and 
Joseph Moore. The following winter seventy-five members were received into 
the church from a revival conducted by Reverend Dennis. The present num- 
ber of active members is two hundred and seventy-six. 

The following; have served as pastors: Rev. W. S. Coder. [893; Rev. 
A. M. Shepherd. 1K94: Rev. J. S. Jones, from [895 to i<k>4: Rev. W. S. 
White, from 11)04 to 1906; Rev. \Y. O. Siffert, 1906 to 1911. 

The society purchased the Madison avenue school property in [892 for 
one thousand five hundred and ten dollars and have remodeled the building and 
built a good parsonage. The present value of the church property is fixed at 
seven thousand five hundred dollars and free from dehts. 

The Second United Brethren church, located in East Cambridge, on the 
road leading- to Byesville, was organized by Rev. \Y. O. Siffert. of the First 
United Brethren church of Cambridge, September 6, lgc'S. The charter mem- 
bers were as follows: James H. Barrow, Mrs. J. II. Barrow, Mrs. J. H. Buck- 
ingham. Cecil Buckingham, Mr. and Mrs. Landman, Charles Landman, 
Martha Landman. Ernest Landman, J. H. Hollett. Mrs. J. H. Hollett. II. W. 
Thatcher. Mrs. H. \Y. Thatcher. Mabel Thatcher, Mrs. Jane Willis, Maud 
Willis, Mrs. Maud Biggs, Mrs. Lizzie Bebout. J. D. Olliver. 

Rev. C. C. Slater began his pastorate — the church's first — October 4, 
[908. A frame church was erected, twenty-eight by forty feet in size, costing 
one thousand two hundred dollars. The present membership of this society 
is one hundred and four. 

EVANGELICAL LUTHERAN CHURCH. 

Christ's Evangelical Lutheran church, at the corner of South Ninth street 
and Madison avenue, Cambridge, was organized September 9, 1901. There 
were twenty-two charter members and at present the church enjoys a member- 
ship of one hundred. 

The pastors who have served this society are as follows: Rev. O. Z. 
Horshman, 1901 to 1904; Rev. W. J. Kratz, 1904 to date, 1910. A neat 
church, built of tile, was erected so that it was dedicated December 21, 1902. 
Its cost was four thousand dollars. 



I56 GUERNSEY COUNTY, OHIO. 

PLEASANT CITY. 

St. Paul's Evangelical Lutheran church, of Pleasant City (formerly Point 
Pleasant), was organized April 1, 1864, by the following charter membership: 
Isaac Secrest, Mary Secrest, Elizabeth Albin, John W. Spaid, Elizabeth Spaid, 
Thomas Albin, Thomas A. Dyson, Christina M. Dyson, Sarah M. Dyson, 
Eliza A. Savely, Sarah Dyson, Martha J. Albin, Elizabeth A. Kackley, Levi 
Secrest, Elizabeth Secrest, Timothy Hickle, Hannah Hickle, Elizabeth Jordan, 
John Sinter, Barbara Secrest, Baylis D. Kackley and Mahala Secrest. These 
persons were also nearly all charter members of the Harmony Evangelical 
Lutheran church, organized at Hartford, Ohio, in 1848. The organization 
of the church now being treated was effected in the old school house in Pleas- 
ant City, under direction of Rev. Reuben Smith. The Methodist Episcopal 
church building was used by the Lutherans until in 1869, when the Lutherans 
decided to build for themselves a house of worship. During the remaining 
months of 1869 and into the early months of 1870, while the new building was 
being completed, the congregation held services and Sunday school in the brick 
building now owned by John Stranathan, on the northwest corner of the pub- 
lic square. 

Early in 1869, the building committee purchased from Jonas D. and 
Sarah A. Arnold, for one hundred and fifty dollars, the southeast corner lot 
from the public square. The building committee consisted of Abraham 
Thompson, Dr. William Teeter, John W. Spaid, John H. Finley and Thomas 
Albin. 

A substantial frame structure, forty by fifty feet, was erected at a cost of 
two thousand dollars. Early in June, 1870, this building was dedicated to the 
worship of God. 

The first officers were : Thomas Dyson and Timothy Hickle, elders ; John 
W. Spaid and Thomas Albin, deacons. Mr. Albin is still living and has served 
his church in an official capacity since 1864. The congregation worshiped 
here from 1870 until 1898, when the house was removed and a new church 
building erected. The old building was moved to the north side of Main 
street, and is now used as a business room and dwelling apartments. When 
the new church was built the building committee was as follows : W. F. Bierly, 
Samuel Finley, T. S. Nicholson, C. F. Floto and J. A. Kackley. The corner- 
stone was laid July 3, 1898, and the house was dedicated on New Year's day. 
1899, Rev. S. A. Orl. D. D., of Springfield, Ohio, delivering the dedicatory 
sermon. The new structure cost about four thousand dollars, but the build- 
ing and furniture could not be furnished today, at the going prices for labor 



GUERNSEY ColXTY. OHIO. I.V 

and material, for less than six thousand dollars. It is a very comfortable, 
commodious and churchly structure. 

The present membership of the church is one hundred and three com- 
municants and one hundred and forty-one baptized members. It now enjoys 
its largest membership. It has a Sunday school of two hundred and fifteen 
scholars, with \Y. F. Bierly as its efficient superintendent. 

The charter members of this prosperous church still surviving are: 
Thomas Albin, Eliza A. Savely, Elizabeth A. Kackley, Martha J. Dyson and 
Levi Secrest. 

The i<)io officers are: Dr. J. A. Kackley, A. C. Flanagan and Thomas 
Albin, elders; T. A. Spaid. Robert M. Shields and O. E. Trenner, deacons. 
The church society is free from debt and has a good working balance in its 
treasury. Harmony and good will mark the work of this church. 

The parsonage, which is the joint property of Harmony, St. Taul and 
Mt. Zion congregations, is a comfortable, commodious eight-room dwelling, 
located on the same street and lot of the church. 

The following pastors have served this people: Reuben Smith. 1864 to 
1866; James Shrieves, 1867 to 1873: A. R. Smith, 1873 to 1876; D. M. 
Harme, 1878 to 1880: J. Steck, 1880 to close of; A. C. Martin, 1881 to close 
of; L. S. Jones, 1881 to 1882; A. Sell, 1882 to 1883; J. R. Booher, 1883 to 
1884; S. B. Hyman, 1885 to 1887; S. E. Slater, 1888 to 1890; A. J. Hauk. 
1890 to 1892; A. R. Felton, 1893 to 1895; C. F. Floto, 1895 to 1900; Wil- 
liam Hesse, 1900 to 1902 ; C. F. Floto, 1902 to 1905 ; J. F. Hershiser, 1905 to 
1908; H. A. Richardson, 1908, April 15, and is still serving as pastor. 

SENECAVILLE. 

The Lutheran church at Senecaville was founded in 1827 by Rev. Wil- 
liam G. Keil. born at Strasburg, Virginia, in 1799 and died at Senecaville in 
1892. His labors were great and extended over much of the territory in 
southern Ohio. This faithful man preached here more than forty years. The 
church has never been strong since his labors ceased. The greatest revival in 
the history of this church was in the winter of 1833-34, when many prominent 
citizens were converted. 

A call was extended to Rev. William G. Keil to become pastor. Henry 
Secrest and Henry F. Frye, elders, and Peter D. Robins and James L. Gil- 
breath were the first regularly elected officials of the congregation. Peter D. 
Robins was elected clerk and Robertson Rose and Casper Lurrick were chosen 
choir-masters. 



I58 GUERNSEY COUNTY, OHIO. 

During the first year of this church's existence the membership was in- 
creased to sixty-nine. But one of the church members, Miss Elizabeth R. 
Frye, of Dei-went, is still living. The old church building served its purpose 
and was replaced by the present structure. It was in 1896 that a new house 
was built on the site of the old one. W. H. Spaid, E. E. Nulund and J. R. 
Miley were chosen to serve as a building committee. The contract was let 
to J. W. Spaid. The corner-stone was laid June 14, 1896, and the church was 
dedicated to the worship of God December 27, 1896, Rev. H. L. Wiles, D. D., 
of Mansfield, Ohio, officiating. The estimated cost of the building was about 
three thousand dollars, and at a time when wages and material were much 
cheaper than at present. Recent improvements amount to additional expense 
of about seven hundred dollars. 

THE HARMONY CHURCH. 

The Harmony Evangelical Lutheran congregation has a very beautiful, 
comfortable and churchly edifice in which to worship. Rededicatory services 
were held November 6, 19 10, the present pastor, Rev. H. A. Richardson, de- 
livering the sermon and Rev. W. J. Krutz, of Cambridge, delivering the even- 
ing discourse. This church now has one hundred and thirteen communicants 
and one hundred and fifty-one baptized members. It is out of debt and has a 
neat sum to its credit in the treasury. There is no internal strife, and a general 
good feeling and spirit prevails. It has a flourishing Sunday school, an inter- 
esting prayer meeting, a well attended Christian Endeavor society and an 
active, helpful Ladies' Aid Society. The prospects for the future are very 
bright. May Almighty God continue to bless and favor this congregation in 
the future as He has during the past sixty-two years of its existence. 

The following have served as the pastors of this church: Revs. W. G. 
Keil, 1848 to 1860, twelve years; George Sinsabaugh, i860 to 1862, two years; 
A. C. Felker, 1862 to 1864, two years; Reuben Smith, 1864 to 1866, two 
years; James Shrivers, 1867 to 1873, six years; A. R. Smith, 1873 to 1876, 
three years; D. M. Harmer, 1878 to 1880, two years; J. Steck, 1880 to 1881 
(supply), three months; A. C. Martin, 1881 (supply), three months; L. S. 
Jones, 1881 to 1882, one year; A. Sell, 1S82 to 1883, one year; J. K. Boolur, 
1883 to 1884, one year; S. B. Hyman. 1885 to 1887, two years; S. E. Slater, 
1888 to 1890, two years; A. J. Hank, 1890 to 1892, two years; A. K. Floto, 
1895 to tqoo, four years and nine months; William Hesse, 1900 to 1902, two 
years; C. F. Floto, 1902 to 1905, three years; J. F. Hieshiser, 1905 to 1908, 
two years, two months; H. A. Richardson. 1908, present pastor. 



i,i ERNSEV COUNTY, OHIO. 159 

Harmony Evangelical church, of Hartford, was organized and lias had 
the following history, as written by the present pasti >r. Rev. 1 1. A. Richardson : 

Preliminary steps leading to the founding of a Lutheran church at Hart- 
ford, Guernsey county, Ohio, were taken about three years before a permanent 
organization was effected and a church edifice built. 

On the 30th day of January. 1845, at a special meeting of the under- 
signed held in Hartford, for the purpose of considering the erection of a house 
of worship and effecting a church organization, it was resolved: 

"First — That it be and is herein- recommended that the contemplated 
building be thirty-four feet by forty-four feet, a good substantial frame struc- 
ture, weather-boarded with planed poplar hoards, four windows in each side 
and two in one end and opposite the doors in the other end, windows to have 
twenty-four lights each, ten inches by twelve, and one row of same size above 
each door. 

"Second — That the trustees invariably belong to the Lutheran church. 

"Third — That we proceed to the election of three trustees. The election 
resulted in the choice of Henry Secrest, Henry F. Frye and Peter D. Robins. 

"Fourth — That the said trustees proceed forthwith to carry the above pur- 
pose into execution." 

Signed by Henry F. Frye, Henry Secrest and Peter D. Robins, John 
Hickle, John Birkhammer, William Spaid, Abraham Alhin. Michael Spaid, 
Henry Trumer and Jacob Cale. 

The above specifications do not seem to be very explicit for the building 
of a house of worship, but it is presumed that they were amply sufficient for 
those days of simple and honest dealing. With a few minor changes the house 
was erected according to these plans, sometime within the next three years. 
Oil the 22nd day of January, 1848, a permament organization was effected. 
The names of the following persons appear as church members: John Stins, 
Henry Secrest. Elizaheth Secrest, Henry Trumer, Sarah Trumer, Abraham 
Albin, John Hickle. Robertson Rose, James L. Gilhreath. Henry F. Frye. 
Timothy Hickle. Margaret Spaid, Casper Lurrick, Peter D. Robins, Deborah 
M. Robins, Mahala Moore. Christina Dyson, Mary Dyson, Elizaheth R. Frye 
and Mary Frye. twenty in all. 

st. John's church ("episcopal). 

St. John's Mission. Cambridge, Ohio, was organized by the Rev. J. M. 
Kendrick, D. D.. general missionarv of the diocese of Southern Ohio. The 
exact date of the organization is unknown, but it is certain that it took place 



l6o GUERNSEY COUNTY, OHIO. 

in the fore part of the eighties. Services were first held in the old Methodist 
church on Gaston avenue and Ninth street. Before long the place of holding 
services was changed, and the congregation worshipped in the hall above Haw- 
thorne's drug store on Wheeling avenue. The present church building on 
Steubenville avenue, near Sixth street, was opened for services on November 
15. 1891. The church was consecrated by the bishop coadjutor of the diocese 
of Southern Ohio, our present Bishop, the Rt. Rev. Boyd Vincent. D. D., on 
October 26, 1897. 

When the mission was organized Dr. William T. Ramsey was appointed 
lay reader. The first clergyman in charge was the Rev. C. B. Mee. 1886- 
1888. During a vacancy of two years the Rev. R. K. Nash officiated oc- 
casionally. After this the following clergymen served at St. John's: Rev. C. 
E. Butler. 1890-93: Dr. William T. Ramsey, 1893-95: Rev. R. McCutcheon, 
1895-96: Rev. Geo. P. Torrence, 1897-1899; Rev. C. E. Byrer, 1901-1903; 
Ven. John R. Matthews, 1903-1904; Rev. Smith, 1904; Rev. A. Ramsey, 
1904-1907: Ven. J. H. Dodshon, 1907-1910; Rev. Alexander J. J. Gruetter, 
1910. The present rector is the arch-deacon of Columbus, the Ven. J. H. 
Dodshon. and his assistant is the minister in charge, the Rev. A. J. J. Gruetter. 

UNITED PRESBYTERIAN CHURCHES. 

The First United Presbyterian church of Cambridge was organized in 
1814, hence is one of the oldest religious societies in the county. Its pastors 
have been as follows: Revs. James McClain, 1824-1839; James McGill, 1S39- 
1850: Thomas Brown, 1850-60; William H. McFarland, i860 to 1900; 
Thomas D. Edgar, October 4, 1900. to April 30, 1905 : J. W. Ashwood. No- 
vember 5, 1905, and still serving. The present membership of this church is 
seven hundred and fifty-seven. 

Their various places for worship since 1814 have been, first, a tent on the 
hill above the "fish-basket'' on Wills creek; second, a small brick church on 
the lot where is now located the J. E. Sankey house, on East Steubenville 
avenue ; third, a frame church on the present site of the church now in use ; 
fourth, the present church edifice, a large brick structure erected about i860, 
located on Steubenville avenue, between Seventh and Eighth streets. 

The Second United Presbyterian church, Cambridge, was organized May 
20, 1897, with a membership of seventy. The following named persons were 
elected the first ruling elders in the congregation : W. S. Heade. Esq., W. W. 
Hawthorne, David P. Wilson, W. E. Boden and A. N. Thompson. The fol- 
lowing named persons constituted the first board of trustees of the congrega- 



tion: J. X. McCartney, W. N. Patterson, R. D. Hood, \\ . L. Boden, \\ . \ . 

( ran in, ami James Kevin 'Id-. 

The congregation worshipped in a hall for some time until the present 
church building, located on West Eighth street, was completed in June, 1900. 
The congregation has had three pastors. The Rev. Thomas C. Pollock was 
chosen as the firsl pastor, and began his work August I. 1897, and served the 
congregation as pastor until November 4, 1901. The Rev. Gilbert O. Miller 
was selected as the second pastor, commencing his labors July 1, 1902, and 
served in this capacity for live years. The Rev. R. A. Elliott was the third 
pastor chosen, and commenced his labors October 1, 1907. and is still serving 
this congregation as pastor. During the thirteen years of the church's exist- 
ence eight hundred and fifty-one persons have been added to the church roll. 
There is now a membership of more than five hundred. 

THE CHURCH AT BYESVHXE. 

The First United Preshyterian church of Byesville was formed Septemher 
7. 1904. The following were the charter members: Dr. W. T. Long, Mrs. 
\Y. T. Long, Miss Gail Long, Mr. M. S. Guthrie, Mrs. M. S. Guthrie, Mrs. 
Xettie A. Fulton, Mrs. J. S. McMunn, Miss D. Rata McMunn, Master J. I. 
McMunn. Mr. J. L. Patterson, Mrs. J. L. Patterson, Mr. J. R. Duff, Mrs. J. 
R. Duff, R. B. Henderson. Mr. C. J. White, Mrs. C. J. White. 

The present membership is about forty-five. The pastors have been as 
follows: Revs. J. S. McMunn, April to October, 1904; R. R. Caldwell, Janu- 
ary 1, 1905, to August 1, 1906; A. P. Duncan, July 1, 1907. to June 30, 1910; 
L. A. Kerr. August 7, 1910, and still the pastor. 

A church edifice, located on West Main street. Byesville, was dedicated 
on April 18. 1909, which cost five thousand dollars. It is a frame structure. 

WASHINGTON. 

The United Presbyterian church at Washington. Wills township, tin's 
county, was organized in 1824 and none of the charter members are now liv- 
ing. The present membership of this church is seventy-three. The following 
pastors have served here: Revs. Samuel Findley, 1824-36; Alexander Miller. 
1838-40; Hugh Forsythe, 1842-52; William Johnston, 1856-66; S. M. Hutch- 
man, 1867-74: T. X. White, 1875-1904; E. G. McKibben, 1905, to present 
time. 

(n) ; 



1 62 GUERNSEY COUNTY, OHIO. 



PLEASANT HILL. 



Pleasant Hill United Presbyterian church was formed in Jefferson town- 
ship, November 5, 1867, by the following persons: T. C. Kirkwood, Mrs. 

Sydney , Mrs. Mary Maxwell and possibly others. The pastors 

have been: Rev. Rufus Johnston, Rev. J. W. Martin, 1874-82; Rev. J. H. 
Nash, 1883-1902; E. G. McKibben, who commenced his pastorate in 1905. 
The present membership is one hundred and nine. 

THE LEBANON CHURCH. 

The Lebanon United Presbyterian church in Adams township was formed 
April 24, 1824. David Proudfit was transferred from Laurel Hill, Pennsyl- 
vania, to Crooked Creek, Muskingum county, Ohio, and Lebanon was made a 
connection. He died June n, 1830. 

In 1834 Reverend Welsh, a young man, came, and was installed April 
22. 1835, over Crooked Creek and Lebanon. He lived only one year and in 
1836 Rev. Benjamin 'Waddle, D. D., took charge. By 1838 Lebanon had 
increased to seventy-three families and was organized as a separate charge 
by electing William Proudfit, John Duff, Samuel McKnight and Robert 
Wagstaff as ruling elders. In 1842 Doctor Waddle was released and in 
1843 R ev - Samuel Wallace was installed and released in 1849. I" April, 
1850, Rev. James Duncan, D. D., took charge and served until 1874, being 
followed by Rev. R. C. Criswell in April, 1S78, serving until October, 1885. 
Then came Rev. E. E. White in 1886, being released in 1894. In 1908 
Rev. H. B. McElree took charge for one year. The present membership 
is one hundred and ten. In 1905 a church was erected at a cost of three 
thousand five hundred dollars. The present officers are: W. L. Simpson. 
T. C. Cowden, Elmer Duff and James Stewart, ruling elders. The trustees 
are Clark Trimble. Mathew Wells and Fred McCleary. 

THE CHURCH AT FAIRVIEW. 

The United Presbyterian church of Fairview was formed about 1823. 
Among the pastors who have served this people may be recalled now : Revs. 
Samuel Findley, D. D. ; Hugh Forsythe. 1842 to 1861 ; G. W. Goudy, 
[862-66; S. M. Hutchison. 1868-74: I. N. White. D. D., 1875-1904: E. L. 
Eagleson, 1905-08, and the pastorate has been vacant since that date. 

The first church building was a stone structure at the cemetery south- 



GUERNSEY COUNTY, OHIO. [63 

west of Fairvieu. The second one was a large frame building west of the 
village and the third in the village, a frame costing three thousand five hun- 
dred dollars. 

The present membership is seventy. For main years this was a strong 
church, but by removals, the erection of ether churches and other causes 
the society had dwindled to its present number. 

There are other churches of this denomination in the county, but they 
have failed to furnish data for a historical sketch. Among these may be 
named the churches at Ml. Harmon. Nbrthfield, The Ridge, Salem. Clear 
Fork, Londonderry and Sand Hill meeting places. 

BAPTIST CHURCHES. 

The First Baptist church of Cambridge was organized June 4, 1851, 
by the following constituent members : David A. Meeks, Matilda Meeks, 
Wyatt Hutchison. Mary Hutchison, Mordecai McPeek and wife, Nancy 
Deets. Mary O'Haven. John S. Suitt, Helen Suitt, Philo Stoddart, Nancy 
Stoddart, John 1!. Ambler. Sarah A. Ambler. Nancy Ambler, Jacob O'Haner, 
Rebecca O'Haner, Lewis Ambler, Mary Ann Ambler, Batsheba Ambler. 
Jane Ambler Waves, Margaret Jackson, Hannah Jane Sarchet, Clarissa 
Alters, Levi Clark, A. S. Dennison, Mary Gillett, Julia Ann Sigman, Elder 
James Murray, Isabel! Murray. Ellen Mcllyar, Sarah Laird Gudgeon, Al- 
bright McPeek. 

The following have served as pastors in this church : Revs. W. Mears. 
June, 1851, to September, 1853; B. Y. Siegfried. 1853-59: C. H. Gunther. 
1860-62; G. W. Churchill. 1867; Allen Darrow, 1875; Rev. Pendler; B. Y. 
Siegfried, second term; L. B. Moore. 1887 to 1899; Fred A. Boyng-ton, 
1899-1903; David S. Cannon, T904-09; Rolle E. Brown, 1910 and the 
present pastor. 

A frame church was erected in i860 at a cost of two thousand dol- 
lars. Preparations are being made to erect a handsome church on the site 
of the old one. on the corner of Steubenville avenue and Eighth street. The 
present membership of this church is four hundred and twenty-five. 

In the Cambridge Baptist Association are the following points : Adams- 
ville. Beaver, Brushy Fork, Byesville. First and Second Cambridge churches. 
Old Centre church. Clear Fork, Mt. Zion, Xewcomerstown. Otsego. Pleasant 
View, Salem. Salt Fork, White Eyes Plains, Wills Creek. 

The Second Baptist church of Cambridge was organized as a mission 
Sunday school in January, 1897, under the auspices of the Young People's 



164 GUERNSEY COUNTY, OHIO. 

Union of the First Baptist church. The three persons most active in the 
organization were Airs. J. M. Amos, Rev. L. B. Moore and Charles L. 
McCollum. The school was organized in a little store room at No. 514 
North Second street. February 18, 1899. a new church edifice, valued at 
one thousand two hundred dollars, was dedicated free of debt. The building 
was twenty-four by forty feet and erected on a lot between Second and 
Third streets, on Woodworth avenue. The lot was given to the school by 
Mrs. Lucy Broom. Two additions have been made to this building. The 
present value of the property is three thousand dollars. October 24. 1902, the 
West End. as it was called, became a branch of the First church of Cam- 
bridge, with Rev. L. F. Taylor as assistant pastor. July 10, 1907, the branch 
became an independent church organization. Thirty-three members from 
the First Baptist church of Cambridge formed the new society. Rev. H. H. 
Bawden organized the church and became its first pastor. Those who have 
served as pastors since the Sunday school was organized are Revs. L. B. 
Moore, F. C. Boughton, L. F. Taylor, D. E. Cannon. George Phillips, 
Justin Nixon, H. H. Bawden and the present pastor, Rev. E. E. Barnhart. 
The first deacon was B. F. Johnson. With the exception of sixteen months, 
Charles L. McCollum has been the superintendent since the school was organ- 
ized. The present membership of the church is ninety-five. 

The charter members of this church were as follows : Rev. H. Ff. 
Bawden and wife, Charles L. McCollum, Clarence C. Way, B. F. Johnson, 
Carrie Johnson, Wilbur Johnson, Elsie Eaton. Willa Maple. Man' E. Hall, 
Martha Freeman, Mrs. Jane Mitchell, W. A. Wilson, Mrs. Esther Wilson, 
Mrs. Mabel Walters, Mrs. Nellie Gibson, Lester E. Mitchell, Mrs. Lucinda 
Aiken, Mrs. Bertha Beany, Mrs. Anna Ogle, Mrs. Emma Shriver, Floyd 
A. Lower. George F. Hodder. Augusta Hodder, H. J. Freas, H. J. Freas, Jr., 
Mrs. Jennie Wiltshire. Mrs. Julia Maple. Mrs. Ninnie Shatto, Mrs. Nora 
Gallagher, Mrs. Myrtle Gallagher, Mrs. Luetta Willis, Mrs. Laura Sherrard. 
Paul J. Williams. Mrs. Sarah Williams. Mrs. Mary Larrison. Cora Clark, 
George M. Wilson, Mrs. Carrie Wilson. 

THE MACEDONIA CHURCH. 

The Macedonia Baptist church, of Cambridge, was formed in 1875, 
by Revs. Mason and James and now enjoys a membership of sixty-one. The 
charter members are : Rev. William Flowery and Missonia Flowery, 
Henry Cavender. Martha Turner, Frank Clark. Maria Thomas. Martha 
Buries, William T. Loggan, Neb Isaac, Eli Turner, Hannah Turner and 
Lewi- Lacy. 



GUERNSEV COUNTY, OHIO. 1 1 ■; 

The pastors who have served here are: Revs. William Howery, Moses 
Pickett, W. II. Beasley, II. B. Brown, — — Peevey, M. Allen. P. P. Hol- 
land, I.. S. Holies and |. K. Green. 



The Goshen Baptist church records show that in October, 1822, seven- 
teen persons were organized into a Baptist church, by Elders William Reese 
and W. K. McGowan. Elder Reese was chosen pastor. For two years 
services were held at private houses, but in 1824 they erected a church 
building on Flat run. which shows that this body of "baptized believers" 
built the first church in the township. Reverend Reese remained ten years, 
up to 1842. He received but little pay, but kept on laboring among- the poor 
and lowly of the community in the name of the Master. Elder McGowan 
was the second pastor. He remained four years. Elder J. Sperry came in 
[836, remaining ten years, when Elder Brown served one year. In 1848 
Elder Peter Ogan was called and served until 1852. He was converted under 
the preaching of the first pastor. Reverend Reese. 

In 1849 trns church sold its property in this township, and erected a 
house of worship a short distance west in Rich Hill township, Muskingum 
county, where they still hold fast to the "faith once delivered to the saints.*' 

CUMBERLAND CHURCH. 

The Cumberland Baptist church was formed April 5, 1865. by the fol- 
lowing members : J. R. Knowlton, Sarah B. Knowlton, Edmond R. Muzzy, 
Elizabeth Muzzy. John H. Daniel, Caroline F. Daniel, Thomas C. Downey, 
Lucinda Muzzy, Mary A. Erskine, William B. McElroy, Mary J. Harper, 
Mary A. Muzzy, Mrs. Lorinda Muzzy. 

The first pastor was Rev. G. W. Churchill and at the end of four years 
the membership had increased to fifty-two. By removals and deaths this 
society went down, after having performed a good work. 

BYESVILLE. 

The First Baptist church of Byesville began its history in the summer 
of 1891, when Rev. J. R. Campbell, of the old Cambridge Baptist church, 
began preaching to a few faithful Baptists. After two months the services 
were held in the old school building, having used the United Brethren church 



1 66 GUERNSEY COUNTY, OHIO. 

for a few months. The present church was dedicated February 22, 1903, 
Rev. G. E. Leonard officiating and raising the debt from the society. Au- 
gust 9th the church separated itself from the old Cambridge church, freeing 
itself from the relation of a mission church and was admitted into the Cam- 
bridge Baptist Association August 24. 1905. Rev. W. H. Wilson, the first 
pastor, was called to the work December 6, 1903. In 1907 the reports show 
a membership of one hundred and seventy-five. For three or four years 
this young church carried off the banner awarded to the churches in Ohio. 
for strength and efficiency of systematic work, and two years for Christian 
culture work. Its benevolences in 1907 Were five hundred and fifty dollars. 



CHAPTER X. 



ski kin sm'ii riF.s in- i ii i tin xtv. 



The following- chapter treats upon the fraternal orders of Guernsey 
county, anil especially on the three great societies known as the Masons, the 
Independent Order of Odd Fellows and the Knights of Pythias. 

THE FIRST MASONIC LODGE. 

Among the early settlers in Guernsey county there was a fraternal 
feeling that is sadly lacking in some ways today. That this feeling might 
he cultivated the more, as soon as there were enough Masons in the country 
convenient to any one locality, they sought the organization of a lodge. The 
first meeting in Guernsey county was held for this purpose at the house of 
George R. Tingle, in Cambridge, June 22, 1S22, or as Masons count datings, 
A. L. ^22. There were present, Zaccheus Beatty, Lloyd Talbott. Fran- 
cis Dusconchett, Benjamin F. Bill, Andrew Metcalf, James M. Bell, George 
H. Sinclair and William Taylor, all Masons of the Ancient York Rite. 
Beatty, Talbott and Bell \vere appointed a committee to establish a lodge. 
At the second meeting, held at the same place on July 1st, the committee 
was authorized to borrow sixty dollars on the joint note of the persons named. 
That sum, then comparatively large, was thought sufficient to pav the ex- 
penses of procuring a dispensation and ultimately a charter. It was then 
agreed that it should be called Guernsey Lodge, and J. M. Bell was chosen 
for its master, A. Metcalf for senior warden, and B. F. Bill for junior war- 
den. The other officers were appointed. The petition to the grand lodge 
was signed by the persons before named, and John Connelly, Henry H. 
Evans, Thomas Lenfesty, John Barton. Hans Weaver and John Dickson. 
The sixty dollars to procure the charter was borrowed from Thomas W'itten. 
The committee procured a large room upstairs in the court house for the 
meeting of the lodge, and the north small room, as stipulated, "for such 
purposes as they might desire." 

Tuesday. August 20, 1822. A. L. 5822. Guernsey Lodge No. 66 was 
opened. By-laws were adopted, and the fee for degrees was fixed at three 
dollars. Robert B. Moore, of Frankfort, Guernsey countv. Ohio, was the 



1 68 GUERNSEY COUNTY, OHIO. 

first man to be made a Mason in this county; William Slinner, the second; 
William Clark, the third; Daniel D'Yarmett, the fourth, and Amrah Day. 
the fifth. The first meetings were held under dispensation issued by John 
Snow, grand master of Ohio, but after the next meeting of the grand lodge 
a charter was received signed by John Snow, grand master, and Thomas 
Corwin, deputy grand master. The old officers were re-elected, and the 
lodge began work February i, 1823, by initiating William Findley. of Sen- 
ecaville. A brick lodge room was erected on North Seventh street and was 
long known as "the old Free-Masons Lodge." 

Notwithstanding the anti-secret element that at an early day. in this 
and many other states, sought to thwart the plans of Masonry, including the 
church and clergy of different denominations, the order, after about ten 
years, grew rapidly and has continued to grow and has now become popular. 
Today there are strong Masonic lodges at Cambridge, Quaker City, Pleasant 
City and Cumberland. 

CAMBRIDGE LODGE NO. 66. 

Cambridge Lodge No. 66, Free and Accepted Masons, was chartered 
in 1822 and its charter members Were as follows: John Entz, W. Maynard, 
John King, Mathew Gaston, I. Nisswander, Jeremiah Jefferson. D. K. Wise, 
Z. C. Suitt, Wyatt Hutchison, Zadock Davis. These men are all deceased. 

The past masters, of this lodge have been as follows: R. H. Sedgwick, 
1849; J onn Entz, 1850-51; John Mehaffey, 1852; Mathew Gaston, 1853-59, 
1861-65-67; Charles L. Madison, i860; E. W. Mathews, Sr., 1862, 1874- 
jz,; K. H. Van Rensselaer, 1863-64; Samuel J. McMahou, 1866; William 
McK. Scott. 1868-70, 1872. 1879-81; John Meyer, 1871; J. P. McClelland, 
1873: J. K. Brown, 1876-78: John S. Prouse. 1882-85: A. R. Murray, 1886; 
William Hoyle, 1887-88; Louis Miller, 1889: Dr. J. C. Warne. 1890; S. M. 
Burgess, 1801-92; J. L. Locke, 1893; W. T. Ramsey, 1894; O. M. Hoge, 
[896; J. W. Borton. 1898; J. G Bair, 1899; J. F. Orr, 1900; W. S. Campbell. 
1901; F. L Schick, 1902; Sumner Gary. 1903-04; R. I. Shultz. 1905; L. R. 
Campbell, 1906; S. M. Hyde, 1907; Thomas Davis, 1908; James B. Peters, 
1909. 

Cambridge Lodge No. 66. in the summer of 1910, enjoyed a member- 
ship of three hundred and eight, including non-resident members — one hun- 
dred and ninety-two residents. The officers at this date are : J. W. Scott, 
worshipful master: C. A. Barber, senior warden; J. A. Bell, junior warden; 
S. M. Burgess, treasurer; T. C. Purkey, secretary; L. S. Reasoner, senior 



GUERNSEY COUN n . OHIO. 1 1 " I 

deacon ; C. II. Willis, junior deacon: J. S. Nichols, tylcr ; F. I'.. Amos and 
W. J. Hood, stewards; Rev. F. A. Brown, chaplain. 

CAMBRIDGE CHAPTER NO. 5.}. ROYAL ARCH MASONS. 

This chapter was granted a charter in [853. The following composed 
the charter membership: Kinsey Maxfield; Joshua Hunt. Isaac Parish, 
Phineas Inskip, F. 11. Jennings, Mathew Gaston, William Morrison, John 
Lawrence. S. B. McMillen, Thomas Maxfield. 

The present membership of this chapter is one hundred and seventy- 
eight. The past high priests have been: Mathew Gaston, 1853-60, [862- 
63; K. II. Van Rensselear, 1861, 1864-65; E. W. Mathews, 1866, 1869-72; 
1875-78; John Meyer. 1867-68, 1873-74. 1879-84: William Hoyle, 1885-89; 
J. M. Amos, 1890; S. M. Burgess, [891 : J. C. Warne, 1892; J. L. Locke. 
1893; O. M. Ho S e. 1894; J. G. Bair, 1895; J. W. Borton, 1896; W. T. Lam 
sey, 1897; F. L. Rosemond, 1898: A. B. Hall, 1899; J. A. Weyer. 1900; Louis 
Miller. 1901-02-03; S. M. Hyde, 1904; A. F. Ritter, 1905; Charles S. Turn- 
baugh, 1906; Maurice R. Potter, 1907: Robert Harris, 1908; Robert Shaw. 
1909. 

GUERNSEY COUNCIL NO. 74, ROYAL AND SELECT MASTERS. 

Guernsey Council No. 74. Royal and Select Masters, was granted a 
charter in 1891 and the charter memhers were: John M. Amos. J. G. Bair, 
W. S. Campbell, J. L. Locke. Roger Kirkpatrick. S. M. Burgess, O. M. Hoge. 
J. C. Warne, R. D. Williams. 

The council now has a membership of about one hundred and fifteen. 
The past thrice illustrious masters of this council have been: J. M. Amos. 
1S01-92; A. L. Neeremer. 1893; Roger Kirkpatrick. 1894; Otto Thalheimer. 
[895; S. M. Burgess, 1896: O. M. Hoge. 1897; W. T. Ramsey. [898; J. W. 
Borton, [899, 1904-05 ; J. (',. Bair. 1900; John L. Locke. 1901 ; W. S. Camp- 
hell. [902-03; J. M. Wood, [906; S. M. Hyde. [907; D. L. Rankin. 1908; 
J. \\*. Scott. 1909. 

CAMBRIDGE COMMANDERY NO. 47, KNIGHTS TEllPI.AR. 

Cambridge Commandery was granted a charter in 1888. Its charter 
members were as follows: W. S. Campbell. S. A. Lafferty, J. C. Webb, 
R. W. Zahniser, C S. Carr, Thomas Padden, William Ouinn. A. C. Cochran, 
Thomas Greenland, A. J. Hutchinson, S. F. Storer, George W. Miskimin. 
M. R. Patterson. W. G. Van Buskirk. 



I JO GUERNSEY COUNTY, OHIO. 

This commandery now has a resident and non-resident membership of 
one hundred and eighty. Its eminent commanders have been as follows: 
A. C. Cochran, 1888; William Quinn, 1889; W. S. Campbell, 1890; J. C. 
Webb. 1891"; J. S. Prouse, 1892: John L. Locke. 1893; S. M. Burgess, 1894; 
( ). M. Hoge. 1895; Otto Thalheimer. 1896; A. F. Ritter, 1897; A. B. Hall, 
[898; J. W. Borton, 1899; W r . T. Ramsey. 1900: C. S. Turnbaugh, 1901- 
2-3-4; J. O. Couplin, 1905; S. M. Hyde, 1906; M. R. Potter, 1907; J. M. 
Wood, 1908; D. L. Rankin, 1909. 

PRINCES OF JERUSALEM. 

Cambridge Council of Princes of Jerusalem, Ancient Accepted Scot- 
tish Rite Masons (sixteenth degree), was chartered May 14, 1857. The 
first members were : C. L. Madison. A. J. Hutchison, Mathew Gaston, J. H. 
Eaton. E. W. Mathews, K. H. Van Rensselaer. 

Cambridge Grand Chapter, Ancient Accepted Scottish Rite Masons 
(eighteenth degree), received its charter September 10, 1880. Its charter 
members were: W. A. Campbell. A. J. Hutchison, John Meyer, William 
M. Scott, A. C. Cochran. C. L. Madison, Asher Williams, K. H. Van Rens- 
selaer, E. R. Van Rensselaer. 

The total membership of this order is eighty -nine. 

NOBLES OF THE MYSTIC SHRINE. 

There are now twenty-two members of the Masonic fraternity who 
belong to the Ancient Arabic Order of Nobles of the Mystic Shrine, holding 
membership at either one or the other of these cities. Wheeling. Columbus, 
Cleveland or Erie, Pennsylvania. 

GUERNSEY CHAPTER NO. 211, ORDER OF THE EASTERN STAR. 

The charter was granted to this chapter in 1905 and it now has a member- 
ship of seventy-two. The past worthy matrons have been Mrs. Julia B. Haw- 
thorne, Mrs. Dora I. Hartley, Mrs. Ida Carlisle. Mrs. Adrianna Barr. Past 
worthy patrons : J. G. Stewart. C. R. Potter, J. W. Scott. R. C. Shaw. 

CUMBERLAND LODGE NO. 1 34, FREE AND ACCEPTED MASONS. 

Cumberland Lodge No. 134. Free and Accepted Masons, was chartered 
in 1846. The charter members were: I. Y. Hopkins. William Stevens, J. 



GUERNSEY COUNTY, OHIO. IJI 

Lyman Kurd, Peter K. McLaughlin, L. T. Ballou, Wilson Cosgrove, Wil- 
liam Dolman. 

The lodge now has a membership of ninety-seven. The present (1910) 
officers are: W. S. Kingston, worshipful master; II. T. St. Clair, senior 
warden: C. S. runner, junior warden; J. M. Hunter, secretary; W. X. Petty, 
treasurer; G. E. Bell, senior deacon; R. W. Watson, junior deacon; E. F. 
( ireen, tyler. 

POINT PLEASANT LODGE NO. 360, FREE AND ACCEPTED MASONS. 

This lodge was granted a charter October 17. 1866, and is now located 
at Pleasant City and enjoys a membership (including non-residents) of 
one hundred and twenty-one. Its past masters are as follows: Elihab 
Metheny, 1866-67; Ephraim Metheny, 1868; Jacob Secrest, 1869-7 1-2-3-4- 
5-0-7. [880-1-2; A. J. Heinlein, 1870: J. R. Kackley, 1878-79; W. J. Adair, 
1883-4-5-6-7-8-9, 1892-3-4, 1900-2-4; J. W. Wilson. 1890-1; S. A. Bird, 
1895-6-7-8-9; G. F. Trott, 1901; W. B. Secrest. 1903-6-7; G. N. Stewart, 
1905 ; W. F. Trott. 1908. 

The officers for 1910 are: George Gillespie, worshipful master: C. J. 
Fackiner, senior warden; J. T. Flanagan, junior warden; H. W. Spaid, 
secretary; John Bauer, treasurer: J. W. Wilson, senior deacon; Charles Cor- 
bin, junior deacon; J. J. A. Secrest, tyler. 

QUAKER CITY LODGE NO. 5OO, FREE AND ACCEPTED MASONS. 

Quaker City Lodge was chartered in 1875 and its charter members were 
these: T. D. Petty. J. A. McEwen, P. Lochary, S. P. Rogers. Alexander 
Cochran. S. C. Gephart. C. T. Gibson. John B. Lydick, I. T. Rigel. John 
Webster. G. H. Brown. 

'I"he officers for 1910 are as follows: Fred J. Hall, worshipful master; 
W. II. Tope, senior warden; W. P. Johnson, junior warden; Enoch Perego, 
treasurer; T. P. Steele, secretary; Carl Deal, senior deacon; Ross D. Bundy, 
junior deacon; W. W. Dowdell. tyler. 

The present membership of this lodge is one hundred and six. 

ACORN CHAPTER NO. 205. ORDER OF THE EASTERN STAR. 

The charter was granted to the Eastern Star chapter at Byesville, Ohio, 
in 1905 and the following constitutes its list of past worthy matrons and 



I~2 GUERNSEY COUNTY, OHIO. 

past worthy patrons : Worthy matrons, Mrs. Martha Porter. Mrs. Lulu 
Patton, Mrs. Mary Tuck, Rilla M. Gage, Jennie Barnes. Past worthy pa- 
trons. E. D. Trott, Harry C. Porter, J. A. Hoopman. 
The total membership is now forty-one. 

CUMBERLAND CHAPTER NO. I IO, ORDER OF THE EASTERN STAR. 

Cumberland Chapter Xo. no was chartered October 19, 1899. It now 
has a membership of sixty-four. Its past worthy matrons have been Laura 
McClelland, Mary McCortle, Lida McClelland, Margaret Waller, Louella 
M. St. Clair, and the past worthy patrons have been Henry F. St. Clair, 
Albert White, W. G. Nichols. 

QUAKER CITY CHAPTER NO. IJJ, ORDER OF THE EASTERN STAR. 

Quaker City Chapter No. 177 was chartered in recent years and now 
has a membership of fifty-six. 

PLEASANT CITY CHAPTER NO. 227, ORDER OF THE EASTERN STAR. 

Pleasant City Chapter No. 227 was chartered in 1890 and now has a 
membership of thirty-nine. The past worthy matrons are Minnie Secrest, 
Lizzie Trott, Ida Secrest. Past worthy patrons are W. F. Trott and Jonas 
Larrick. 

THE MASONIC TEMPLE. 

The Masonic Temple at Cambridge, this county, had its corner stone 
dedicated, when laid, July 4, 1905. It is an imposing brick structure, cost- 
ing, exclusive of grounds, twenty-three thousand dollars. Its location is 
at No. 726 Wheeling avenue, where social rooms are kept open for visiting 
members. 

MASONIC CALENDAR. 

It may be of interest to those who are not connected with this ancient 
and honorable fraternity to know of its calendar and dates. Ancient-craft 
Masons commence their era with the creation of the world, calling it Anno 
Lncis, "in the year of light." 

The Scottish Rite calculates same as the Ancient-craft, except that they 
call it Anno Mundi. "in the year of the world." 



GUERNSEV COUNTY, OHIO. 1 73 

Royal Arch Masons date Erom the year the second temple was com- 
menced by Zerubbabel, Anno [nventionis, "in the year of the discovery." 

Royal and Select Masons date from the year in which the temple of 
Solomon was completed. Anno Depositions, "in the year of the deposit." 

Knights Templar commence their era with the organization of their 
order. Anno Ordinis, "in the year of the order." 

The Order of High Priesthood dates from the year id" the blessing of 
Abraham by the Highpriest Melchizedek, Anno Benefacio, "in the year 
of the blessing." 

INDEPENDENT ORDER op odd FELLOWS. 

Cambridge Lodge No. 301. Independent Order of Odd Fellows, was 

organized or regularly instituted. Thursday, May 15. [856, by special Dep- 
uty Grand Master Alexander E. Glenn in their lodge room, located in the 
east half of the second story of the Wells block, owned by Samuel Wells, 
and situated on the site now occupied by the Carnes block, on the southeast 
corner of Wheeling avenue and Seventh street. The charter members were 
R. F. Burt. Washington Maynard, R. 1'.. Graham, B. S. Herring and William 
McKemion. The first officers installed were: Washington Maynard, noble 
grand; R. F. Bnrt, vice-grand; Richard B. Graham, secretary; Benjamin 
S. Herring, treasurer. 

The lodge had a membership of one hundred and ninety-eight in 1905 
and now has ahout two hundred and ten members. It meets in its own mag- 
nificent hall on Wheeling avenue, which building was erected in 1896-97 and 
is known as the Temple. It is a handsome structure with stone trimmings 
and is fifty by one hundred feet in size. In this building the postoffice is 
kepi at present under lease. The building and site cost twenty thousand dol- 
lars and its furnishings are the best in Ohio. The present officers are: No- 
ble grand, Clarence Murphy; vice-grand. J. W. Berry; recording secretary, 
L. R. Campbell; financial secretary. W. R. Sprague ; treasurer, C. W. Forney; 
trustees. W. B. Green. H. W. Luccock and M. Fordyce. 

CAM BRIDGE ENCAMPMENT, PATRIARCHS MILITANT. 

Cambridge Encampment No. 150 was instituted June 3. 1872. It had 
a membership of ninety-seven in 1907 and is in a prosperous condition to- 
day, fits present ( 1910) officers are: Chief patriarch, Fred A. Linn: senior 
warden. S. F. Porter; junior warden. Harry Maffet; high priest, H. A. 
Hammond : scribe. W. R. Sprague ; treasurer, T. \Y. Ogier. 



1/4 GUERNSEY COUNTY, OHIO. 

The other encampment in Guernsey county is located at Pleasant City. 
It was instituted November 15. 1892, and in 1907 had sixty-six members. It 
is known as Foster Encampment No. 270. 

The subordinate lodge at Pleasant City, known as Dyson Lodge, was 
instituted in 1894 and bears the state number of 816. It now has a member- 
ship of two hundred and meets in a leased Hall. 

OTHER LODGES. 

Anderson Lodge No. 366, at Quaker City, was instituted June 13. 1861, 
and in 1907 had a membership of one hundred and forty-five. 

Cumberland Lodge No. 200, of the Odd Fellows order, was instituted 
June 2. 1852, with charter members as follows: B. Thomas, R. B. Graham. 
Joseph Gamble, M. B. Casey. S. Rae and S. Agnew. The lodge meets in 
its own hall. Its original officers were: B. Thomas, noble grand; M. B. 
Casey, vice-grand; R. B. Graham, secretary: S. Rea, treasurer. The 1910 
officers are: Noble grand, E. J. West ; vice-grand, S. V. Spinner; recording- 
secretary, S. F. Moorhead ; financial secretary. George H. David ; treasurer, 
J. M. Bracken. 

Senecaville Lodge No. 663 was instituted June 11, 1877, and in 1907 
had a membership of ninety-two and is now in good condition. 

Byesville Lodge No. 765 was instituted .August 21, 1888, and in 1907 
hid a membership of one hundred and fifty-five. 

Lore City Lodge No. 878 was instituted July 29, 1904. and in 1907 
enjoyed a membership of sixty. 

Lodges of the Daughters of Rebekah are maintained at Pleasant City. 
Cumberland. Lore City. Cambridge. Byesville. Quaker City. 

KNIGHTS OF PYTHIAS. 

This modern organization has made rapid strides in this county and now 
Ins lodges at various points as will be seen below. 

Cambridge Lodge No. 53 was organized May 2j, 1873. by these gen- 
tlemen : G. L. Arnold. T. C. Marsh, C. F. Hunter! W. H. H. Mcllyar, John 
N. Trotte, R. E. Brown, John N. Fordyce, C. C. Mclllyar, George A. Houk. 
C. J. Bonnell, D. P. Wooten, C. P. Simons, John M. Ogier, J. P. Mahaffy. 
I). A. Criswell and others. These charter members are now all deceased, 
except J. P. Mahaffy. 

The lodge now has a membership of one hundred and fifty-six. The 



GUERNSEY COUNTY, OHIO. 1/5 

present officers are: Chancellor, William Bramhall; prelate, Fred L. Sears; 
master of work, Charles S. Rainey; keeper of records and seal, Fred W. 
Arnold: master of finance, Charles Y. Graham; master of exchequer, Theo- 
dore Doselm : master at arms, Frank S. Dollison; inner guard, J. O, Dun- 
iver; outer guard, William C. Duff. 

The lodge meets each Tuesday evening at the corner of Wheeling ave- 
nue and South Seventh street, in I. B. Colley's business block, where, on the 
third Hour, they have a well equipped hall and lodge rooms. 

At one time the Uniform Rank degree was represented here by aboul 
sixty-five members, but of late it has not been active. 

Lodge No. 595, at Pleasant City, was formed in September, [892, and 
now has a membership of about two hundred. 



Golden Rod Temple No. [28, Rathbone Sisters, was instituted on Sep- 
tember <>. 1898. The charter members were as follows: John Allison. J. II. 
Buckingham, A. O. Duffey, Alice Duffey, Will Bramhall, Ed Cale, Charles 
Duffey, \ddie Duffey, E. S. Gallup, James Jones, Will Reiser, Arthur Linn, 
Thomas Pritchard, Frank Scott. E. J. Secrest, Hannah Allison, Anna Alli- 
son Scott. Mrs. J. II. Buckingham, Mrs. Ed Cale, Cora Cornelius, Sadie 
Duffey Boyd. Mrs. R. II. Dilley, Sadie Finley, Emma Greenwald, Mrs. A. J. 
Hall, Mrs. J. Jones. Anna Linn, Maggie Linn, Ollie McElroy, June Nichol- 
son, l.etitia Pritchard, Mary E. Linn, Lanra Stewart Austin, Mary Secrest, 
Grace Sills, Elizabeth Thurlo, E. E. Coburn, Harry Claggett, W. S. Campbell. 
R. II. Dilley, Linas Finley, A. J. Hall, James Lawrence, Charles Nicholson 
W. G. Scott, S. C. Scott. J. C. Scott. A. O. Sills, C. H. Tingle. M. Thorla, 
and George Warner. 

The officers at the time of its institution were as follows: Past chief, 
Hannah Allison: most excellent chief, Cora Cornelius: excellent senior, Alice 
Duffey; excellent junior, June Nicholson; manager, Lutitia Pritchard: mis- 
tress of records and correspondence, Anna Linn: mistress of finance, Laura 
Austin: protector, Lizzie Hall; outer guard, Sadie Boyd. 

The present officers of Golden Rod Temple are as follows: Past chief. 
Clara Clagett ; -most excellent chief, Mamie Greenwald: excellent senior, 
Essie Curby; excellent junior, Beulah Nichols; manager. Laura Jackson: 
mistress of records and correspondence, Clara Linn: mistress of finance. 
Delia Geary; protector, Sadie Finley; outer guard. Anna Smith: pianist, 
Grace Sills; assistant pianist. Janey Remer. 



I76 GUERNSEY COUNTY, OHIO. 

Number of members at present: Knights, ninety-one; Sisters, seventy- 
two ; total, one hundred and sixty-three. 

QUAKER CITY LODGE NO. 3IO. 

Quaker City Lodge No. 310, Knights of Pythias, was instituted October 
19, 1888, with the following, members: C. E. Likes, R. H. Dilley, F. V. 
Loventy. J. W. Hill, George Boyd, Albert Addison, T. H. Johnson, A. W. 
Smoots, Alva B. Hall, W. W. Dowdell, F. H. Wendell, G. S. Hastings, John 
H. Kelsey, R. R. Faulkner, J. H. Dollison, G. C. Dotson, Harry Wright, 
Charles L. Johnson. Robert Boyd, Dent L. Lydick, Elmer E. Gibson, Wal- 
ter C. Atkinson, Emmett Keenan, George W. Galligher. 

The original officers were: A. B. Hall, chancellor commander; D. L. 
Lydick, past chancellor ; R. H. Dilley, vice-chancellor ; J. W. Hill, prelate ; 
R. R. Faulkner, master of exchequer; I. H. Kelsey, Robert Boyd, keepers 
of records and seal. 

The lodge has a membership of forty-nine. They meet in their own hall, 
formerly the property of the Masons. 

The present officers are as follows : William Wilcox, past chancellor ; 
J. L. Geary, chancellor commander; C. E. Floyd, vice-chancellor; George 
Boyd, prelate : J. W. Hill, master of work; C. A. Bowles, keeper of records 
and seal ; W. L. Nace, master of finance; M. E. Hartley, master of exchequer; 
William Wilcox, master at arms. 

SENECA LODGE NO. */2J. 

Seneca Lodge No. yij. Knights of Pythias, at Senecaville, Ohio, was 
instituted June 25, 1902, by Pleasant City Lodge. The first members included 
these, with officers: C. W. Steele, chancellor commander; A. W. Watson, 
vice-chancellor ; J. T. Day, N. Lapage, J. W. Steele and C. A. Lapage. The 
present officers are : C. W. Moorehead, chancellor commander; F. W. Secrest, 
vice-chancellor. The present membership of this lodge is forty-five. They 
meet in Odd Fellows hall. The keeper of records and seal is J. W. Daniel. 

There is also a lodge at Byesville. 

BENEVOLENT AND PROTECTIVE ORDER OF ELKS. 

Cambridge Lodge No. 448, Benevolent and Protective Order of Elks. 
was instituted August 3, 1898, with thirty-seven charter members, as follows: 



GUERNSEY COUNTY, OHIO. I 77 

( ). M. 1 lover. James Joyce. C. B. Mcllyar, Charles T. Osier. A. \Y. Brown, 
J. W. Burney, E. M. Hyatt. A. M. Sarchet. Otto Tholheumer, F. C. Rankin, 
T. A. Bortwick. James A. Barr, YY. N. Bradford. Charles L. Casey. E. M. 
Treat, Fred P. Mcllyar, Theodore Myers, \V. M. Sherrard, L. E. Carlisle.. 
A. Wentwood, J. P. Mahaffy, John 1'. Ryan. J. C. Robbins, W. P. Devore, 
A. T. Jones. Charles A. Rech, A. P.. Clark. Fred K. Potter, J. F. Morton, 
C. F. Hanime. Frank S. Casey. Alva I'.. Hall, John F. Stockdale, R. W. 
Eahmier, Alike Cosgrove, T. W. Scott, W. P. Guild. 

The first secretary was J. P. Mahaffy, who is still serving; the first 
treasurer was F. C. Rankin. 

This order meets in the Reck building, on Wheeling avenue. Twelve 
of the Flks have died since the fraternity was first formed in Cambridge. 

The present membership is over two hundred. The present (iqio) offi- 
cers are: H. C. Shuyer. exalted ruler; S. J. McCulley. leading knight; Carl 
M. Asher, loyal knight; T. W. Ogier, lecturing knight; J. P. Mahaffey, sec- 
retary: A. M. Sarchet. treasurer: Esquire C. H. Gibson, tiler; R. H. Dilley, 
chaplain; F. C. Rankin, innner guard; David Lucas, organist. 



(12) 



CHAPTER XI. 

AGRICULTURAL INTERESTS SOCIETIES, ETC. 

Agriculture lias in all ages been considered one of the most useful and 
honorable callings permitted to be followed by the sons of men. Indeed, all 
animal life, including the human race, must needs subsist on the products of 
the soil, in one way or another. Then be it remembered, that "whoever 
causes two blades of grass to grow where one grew before is a benefactor 
to mankind." Some sections of the country are more suited to the tilling of 
the soil than others, but that man must ever draw from the earth that upon 
which he exists is well understood. Some countries are blessed with a deep, 
rich soil, while many other portions are obliged to cultivate a soil more 
barren and less fruitful. But on the other hand, some countries have no 
other resource to subsist on. while others, like Guernsey county, strike in 
a happy medium — a country where the soil produces most all the common 
crops that are needed for man's food, and at the same time it possesses a 
wealth of minerals in way of its vast coal fields, which yield a large return 
to their fortunate owners. Guernsey, then, is well situated, having soil that 
produces beautiful pastures, prolific fields of grain, fruits in abundance and, 
at the same time, has her coal, clays and stone in almost endless quantities. 
The once heavily timbered portions of this county have now been converted 
into well tilled fields that yield forth their bounties annually to the thrifty 
husbandman. The early pioneers settled here on account of the soil and 
timber, for most of the pioneers were intending to cultivate the soil and 
raise stock, and in this selection they were indeed wise. But they knew not of 
the wealth stored away by the hand of the Creator in the bowels of the 
earth — the rich coal deposits which now make manufacturing the chief in- 
dustry. 

The first settlers, it is true, had hardships not experienced by those who 
settled on the great domain of western prairie lands, in the way of clearing 
up a farm from out the dense forests found here in Guernsey county. But 
these sturdy men were equal to the task, as the appearance of the country 
now shows. After a few decades, the farmers here saw it to their advantage 
to seed down land, to raise more stock, including sheep, in which the county 



i.i ERNSE^ < OUNTYj OHIO. 179 

is third in Ohio, and has been many years. Then the growing of fruits 
has come to be of great profit. While it is not a first-class corn-producing 
section, yet the annual crop of this cereal amounts to a considerable sum. 
When compared to much of New England, this soil is indeed fertile, but when 
measured by the alluvial soils of some parts of Ohio and the Mississippi 
\alle\ of the wonderful productive West, it is short. Guernsey county may 
be said to prosper by reason of its three leading features — agriculture, stock 
raising and mining, including, of course, its manufacturing enterprises grow- 
ing out of the cheap fuel found here. 

Of the one branch of farming and stock raising, that of sheep, the 
following is extracted from the reports away back in 1876: 

The report of the state showed the following concerning the sheep and 
wool industry in this and other counties. Guernsey being one of the large 
sheep raising counties in the state. The large sheep counties are here named: 
Licking county. 214.000; Harrison county, 170,000; Guernsey county. 136,- 
000: Knox county, 134,000; Belmont county, 128,000; Muskingum county, 
127,000; Coshocton county, 102,000. This gives Guernsey the third place 
in rank of sheep counties in Ohio, as far back as the year 1876, thirty-four 
years ago. 

In 1885 there were under cultivation in this county 67,000 acres; in 
pasture lands, 133,700; in woodland, 48,400; in waste lands, 1,134; in wheat 
there was grown 68,318 bushels; oats, 206,490 bushels; corn, 671,961 bush- 
els; tobacco, 231,000 pounds; wool, 686,000 pounds; gallons of sorghum. 
32,000; number of sheep owned, 162,460; tons of coal mined, 433,800; the 
school census showed for 1886, 9,690 of school age, and number of teachers 
employed, 180. 

The following appeared in the Jeffcrsoniaii in July, 1907, as touching 
the subject now being written about: 

"Guernsey county has always been famed for the great variety of her 
products, as "well as the quantity of them, considering that it is more of a 
manufacturing than an agricultural community. That the farmers are still 
maintaining the reputation of the county may be gathered from the following 
figures : 

"While not as great a wheat country since the development of the West 
as it once was. there were planted in wheat, in 1906, 11.929 acres and 180.- 
838 bushels produced. And there will be planted in 1907. 11,068 acres. Of 
rye, 135 acres were planted in 1006, and 1,651 bushels produced. Twenty- 
six acres in buckwheat produced 303 bushels, and 6,311 acres in oats yield- 
ing 146.758 bushels; 155 bushels of barley were reaped from 41 acres and 



l8o GUERNSEY COUNTY, OHIO. 

662,665 bushels of corn from 16,125 acres; 614 acres produced 62,970 bush- 
els of potatoes; 348,840 acres of meadow land yielded 34,560 tons of hay, 
and forty-three acres yielded 545 tons of clover hay. 

"In the eastern townships 179 acres planted in tobacco produced 219,965 
pounds of the weed; 168,193 gallons of milk were sold during 1906 for 
family use. Home dairies produced 480,487 pounds of butter, and factories 
16,650 pounds. 

"That the hens have done their full duty in 1906 may be seen by the fact 
that 596,066 dozen eggs were sold; 196,616 bushels of apples and 757 bushels 
of pears were produced. 

"In 1906 there were 30,465 acres of woodland, 132,877 acres used as 
pasture, 74.772, acres under cultivation, and 2,715 lying waste." 

"In the eighties, there were 25,000 sheep kept in Valley township, alone. 
The wool industry has fallen off wonderfully since, however, for it is said 
that in 19 10 there are not over fifteen hundred in the same township. 

"In many parts of the southern portion of Guernsey county, in the days 
after the Civil war, there was a large tonnage of tobacco raised, but as it 
proved hard on the soil and was less profitable, it was almost entirely aban- 
doned, save in a few localities, where some is still produced for home con- 
sumption as smoking tobacco. It was once a great source of revenue to the 
county." 

GOOD FLEECES. 

From the Times of June, 1854, the following is taken: 

"Alexander Sproat, one of the good farmers of Wills township, sent 

us the following weights of fleeces of wool shorn from some of his sheep 

on the 29th ultimate : From a French Merino buck, ten and one-half pounds ; 

from a Long Wooled half Saxony sheep, twelve pounds ; from a Spanish 

buck, seven and one-half pounds; from a yearling Merino buck, nine pounds 

and six ounces. 

"Now, if there are any heavier fleeces than these in Guernsey, we 

should be pleased to know it. Wool growers, let us hear from you. Beat 

our friend Sproat, if you can." 

AGRICULTURAL SOCIETIES. 

On the subject of agricultural societies, the author wrote in the Jeffer- 
sonian in June, 1895, the following on the first county fair here : 

The Guernsey County Agricultural Society was formed in 1846, with 



GUERNSEY COUNTY, OHIO. l8l 

Matthew Gaston, president: C. J. Albright, secretary, and Moses Sarchet, 
treasurer. After its formation, it became a rule of the society to hold the 
fairs alternately at Cambridge and Washington. The officers of the fair, 
elected for the year, on the last day of the fair, were selected from the place 
of holding the next fair. This alternating soon began to work a wrangle. 
It was charged by the west side of the county that the east end did not give 
Cambridge fairs a hearty support. It should he remembered that Washing- 
ton was then a greater husiness place than Cambridge. Whether the charge 
of unfairness was true or false, there was kept up a contention that had an 
effect on the fairs, and as the old county-seat question, handed down from 
the origin of the county, was not yet finally settled, the wrangle went on. 
and it was Cambridge against Washington, and Washington against Cam- 
bridge. 

The feeling was further augmented at the fair of [853. A premium had 
been offered for the best lady horseback rider; first premium, a gold watch, 
thirty dollars; second, watch, twenty dollars; third, breastpin, ten dollars. 
There were eight contestants: Miss Nancy Dunn and Miss R. Dunn, 'of 
the east, near Washington; and Miss Melinda Cowen, Miss Sarah J. Mason, 
and others, of the west, near Cambridge. The committee awarded first 
premium to Nancy Dunn, second to Melinda Cowen, third to Miss R. Dunn. 
This was not satisfactory to the west-end people, who claimed that Miss 
Mason should have been awarded first premium, and they at once raised 
a purse of thirty-five dollars to buy her a watch. This added fuel to the 
flame. The next fair alternated, but at the close of the fair of 1856, held 
in Cambridge, west-end officers were elected, and the breach was complete, 
and the fairs ordered thereafter held in Cambridge. The officers were Noah 
Hyatt, president ; the writer, secretary, and Stephen Potts, treasurer. As 
a result of the split, an independent society was organized at Washington. 
Cambridge -felt able to go it alone, having control of the county society and 
its funds. In 1858 both fairs were located on the same days; there was 
much rivalry, advertising of races, balloon ascensions, and like attractions. 
The Cambridge balloon was a failure. The show at the fair was good, and 
the beginning of the new enterprise was a partial success. Cambridge, now 
having the Central Ohio railroad, was in much better shape to contend against 
Washington, still a formidable rival, having the Guernsey Branch Bank 
and other large capitalists engaged in the business of the town, and yet hoped 
for the completion of the Calico railroad. 

The political strife just before the war of 1861. another four years 
of war. resulted disastrously to fairs, and Cambridge's association went 



lS2 GUERNSEY COUNTY, OHIO. 

out at a loss to stockholders. The grounds were sold, and laid out as the 
Mathews addition. Every attempt to keep up fairs and fair grounds at 
Cambridge had been failures, though the village was advancing steadily 
to the present city of the second class, fourth grade. On the other hand, 
Washington has kept up a fair year after year, and now stands at the head 
of the Guernsey County Agricultural Society, having become heir to the 
defunct society that had its origin in Cambridge. "The best laid schemes 
of mice and men gang aft agley." 

In 1844, William McCracken sowed this lot in wheat, putting it in the 
best of order. After it was sowed, he had it marked out into reaping lands, 
eight feet wide, which was the custom in the days of the sickle. Thus each 
reaper would have to gather in his full land. McCracken was a noted reaper, 
and expected to lead the harvesters himself, as did the royal Boaz in the 
days of Ruth and Naomi ; but the frost of May 30, 1845, played havoc with 
the wheat crop, and there was little reaping done in any field that year. 

As this is now the frost season, we give the dates of the three great 
late frosts: May 17 and 18, 1833; May 29 and 30, 184s. and June 4 and 
5- 1859. 

FIRST PREMIUM LIST. 

The first Guernsey county fair awarded the following premiums : Best 
stallion, four-year- old, Timothy Bates, four dollars; second, Scott Emerson, 
two dollars: best three-year-old. John Gibson, three dollars; best brood mare 
and colt, Hugh Woodburn, two dollars; second, David Frazier, one dollar; 
best pair matched horses, Ichabud Grummon, two dollars: best three-year- 
old gelding, Gordon Lofland, two dollars: second, Boaz Lofland, one dol- 
lar ; best filly, William McCracken. two dollars : second, David Sarchet, one 
dollar: best bull, three-year-old. Richard Mackey, three dollars; second, 
Moses Sarchet, two dollars: best milch cow. John D. Moore, three dollars; 
second, Gordon Lofland. two dollars; best heifer, Gordon Lofland. two 
dollars; second. I. Messer. one dollar; best fine wooled buck, Hugh Wilson, 
three dollars; second, Gordon Lofland, two dollars; best boar, Gordon Lof- 
land. two dollars: second. Moses Sarchet, one dollar: best brood sow, Gor- 
don Lofland. two dollars; second, Marlin Oldham, one dollar; best crop of 
wheat. John Mehaffy. being forty-two and two-thirds bushels on one acre 
and thirty-four perches, two dollars: best crop of oats. Henry McCartney. 
being fifty-seven and three-fourths bushels on one acre, two dollars; best 
crop of c<>rn. John Wharton, one hundred and eleven bushels on one acre, 
two dollars; second, Horatio Grummon, one hundred and six bushels on 



GUERNSEY COUNTY, OHIO. [83 

one acre, one dollar; best pair of bouts, John S. King, one dollar; best quilt, 
Susan Lofland, one dollar; best butter, Mrs. Priaulx, one dollar; best apples, 
David Sarchet, two dollars; Peter Sarchet, second best, one dollar; best 
plowing, (irauimar Milner, two dollars; best set buggy harness, Alvin E. 
Cook, two dollars; best buggy, James Davis, two dollars; best coverlet, 
.Miss Grummon, fifty cents; lady's bracelets, Miss M. T. Connor, fifty cents; 
best cabinet chairs, J. C. Hunter, Ohio cultivator; best linen diaper, Thomas 
Ford, Ohio cultivator; William Raney, on two hogs, Ohio cultivator: Alex- 
ander McCracken, on side of sole leather, Ohio cultivator. 
The treasurer's report was as follows: 

Receipts of members $ 71.00 

Receipts from county 71.00 

Total $142.00 

Paid Premiums $72.50 

Paid Printing 8.50 

Paid for two blank books 1.25 

Total $82.25 

The officers elected for the ensuing years were as follows : President, 
Matthew Gaston ; vice-president. Moses Sarchet ; secretary. C. J. Albright ; 
treasurer, Alexander McCracken: managers. James Rhinehart, John Bey- 
mer, Thomas W. Peacock, Ichabod Grummon and Henry McCartney. 

The fair at Washington has kept pace with the passing of all these many 
years and holds its annual exhibits. It has come to be looked upon with much 
favor throughout the entire county and is well supported. The thirty-fourth 
annual premium list, issued just prior to the fair held in 19 10. shows the 
officers and directors to be representative men in various parts of the county; 
the list is as follows: George A. McMillen, president: Jerry Smith, vice- 
president; R. S. Frame, treasurer; R. C. McCreary, secretary. The directors. 
with their home townships, are as follows : C. W. Carnes, Cambridge : Sam- 
uel Oliver, Center; Jerry Smith. Jackson: S. L. Madden. Londonderry: J. C. 
Stockdale. Madison: J. H. Mosier, Richland; George McMillen. Westland; 
Aaron Patterson. Wills; Hayes Kimball, Washington; H. M. McCracken. 
Jefferson ; J. W. Moore, honorary member. 

Aside from stimulating the agricultural interests of this county, these 



184 GUERNSEY COUNTY, OHIO. 

animal fairs are held to renew acquaintances and to promote friendship among 
the country and town people. The last annual catalog remarks : "The board 
and its officers are determined that the Guernsey county fair shall rank among 
the best in the state, and besides the general list of prizes offered to bring out 
the best of products, it is earnestly hoped that each citizen will feel an indi- 
vidual interest in the success of the fair. Let us make gala days of the fair 
dates that shall be remembered because of the pleasant features and the grand 
social re-union of citizens from all over Guernsey county. The management 
has planned a joyous home-coming to be held in Washington, during the week 
of the coming fair season, and her sons and daughters will meet and -greet in 
a joyful reunion. 

"A new feature has been added and one that it is believed will meet with 
favor. A beautiful flag will be given to the township sending the largest 
dele°ation of school children to the fair on Fridav." 



At Quaker City, in years long since passed, there was a good agricultural 
society. The exhibits were fine. The last account the writer has of this was 
an election of officers in the seventies. 

At the 1908 county fair, at Washington, the state reports show that 
one thousand nine hundred and eighty-five dollars was paid in premiums and 
that the receipts at the gate amounted to one thousand three hundred and 
thirty-seven dollars. The grounds, consisting of about twenty-eight acres, 
was at that date valued at nine thousand dollars. 

A PECULIAR SEASON. 

The year ro, 10 was in many ways a peculiar season for farming and fruit 
growing. In many parts of the country the frosts killed all the fruit blossoms 
and made that crop short. Here in Guernsey, the fruit was a fairly good crop. 
The strange thing about this season was the second growth of many kinds of 
vegetation. Frost held off until the very last days of October and a small 
skift of snow fell on the 28th of October, but none to speak of, as it was only 
a light flurry that could not be counted by measurement. A second crop of 
strawberries that were produced near Cambridge, were sold in the markets. 
Strange appearing ears of corn were frequently produced; fruit trees bloomed 
profusely, and. still stranger, George A. Gibson, on the Taylor farm near 
Cambridge, reported a field of oats from which he harvested a good crop, that 
in places subsequently produced a good second crop that, in the last week of 
October, when frosts came, was all headed out and almost ripened into a sec- 
ond yield — something never heard of here before. 



CHAPTER XII. 

RAILWAY, WATER NAVIGATION AND Till'. OLD PIKE ROAD. 

Iii the opening up of every new country the matter of transportation, 
the first highways over which freighting has to he carried on, and the develop- 
ment of better and more rapid means of transporting freight and passengers, 
requires much skill and plenty of good engineering, as well as careful financier- 
ing. When the white race came to this goodly section of Ohio, there was 
nothing, save an occasional Indian trail, to note where human feet had trod 
before. The creeks anil rivers had wended their way to the far-off sea, unob- 
structed by dams and bridges. Centuries had come and gone, and no change 
was wrought, save by the inevitable wash and caving-in of the former ancient 
channels. Mere, in Guernsey county, worse was the condition for getting 
from one section of the country to another than it was in the boundless prairie 
section of the country farther to the west, for here, it must be remembered, 
timber abounded and obstructed the view. Also the numerous hills, amount- 
ing almost to small mountains, hid from the view of the passer-by the valleys 
and streams, until one suddenly came upon them in all their grandeur and 
primitive beauty. 

What is known as the "Zane's Trace" was the first attempt at cutting a 
roadway through the forests of this section of the state. This has been 
treated in another chapter, hence need not he referred to at length in this 
connection. 

After a few illy-constructed roads had been made by the pioneers, the 
old Pike was constructed and it was a great blessing to the settlers hereabouts. 
This was a national road and was completed to Zanesville in 1832 and it was 
tinned over to the state of Ohio about that date, or possibly the year before. 

"The coach stands rusting in the road. 

The horse has sought the plow ; 
We have spanned the world with iron rails. 

The steam-electric king rules us now." 

The Pike, or great National road, runs through the entire length of this 
county from east to west, entering at Fairview, in the centre of the eastern 



1 86 GUERNSEY COUNTY, OHIO. 

part of the county, and running west slightly to the south in its course to 
Muskingum county. It is a splendid roadway, self draining and easily kept 
in good repair. This is a part of the great road by some still called "Clay's 
Pike."' because Henry Clay was mainly instrumental in having the government 
undertake its construction. It begins at Cumberland, Maryland, and traverses 
the country between there and Dayton, Ohio. The Guernsey county section 
was built in 1827, and at once became a great thoroughfare for traveling, 
driving and teaming, which caused the lands to advance in value and made a 
ready market for all kinds of produce. 

The author of this work published an article in the Cambridge Jcffcrson- 
ian in February. 1902, concerning this highway, which will here be repro- 
duced : 

THE ZANE TRACE AND THE OLD WHEELING ROAD. 

In 1795. Arthur St. Clair, governor of the Northwest territory, wrote 
to the United States authorities at Philadelphia, "There's not a road in the 
country." By an act of Congress of May, 1796, the President was authorized 
to enter into a contract with Ebenezer Zane. of Wheeling, Virginia, to open a 
mail route from the Ohio river at Wheeling to Limestone, in Kentucky, 
which was perhaps the earliest internal improvement in the United States. 

It was not until 1798 that the road was traced as far west as the site of 
the present city of Cambridge. Jonathan Zane and John Mclntyre were in 
charge and others of the party as far as now known were Thomas Nicholson, 
Levi Williams and Lacldy Kelly. Here, on the site of Cambridge, they met 
United States surveyors in camp on Wills creek. One of the party was 
George Metcalf. The Zane Trace was nothing but a bridle path through the 
forest. One historian says that "the travel wound around the stumps." But 
it was several years before there were any stumps. The Zane party only cut 
out saplings, and the first pioneers over it used pack-horses. It was in 1785 
that Congress passed a law for the survey of the public lands west of the Ohio 
river. This survey was in charge of Thomas Hutchins. This is known in 
the Ohio land laws as the "Seven Ranges." This survey extended west as far 
as the west lines of Londonderry, Oxford and Millwood townships. The 
next survey west is known as the United States military land, of which Guern- 
sey county is a part. These lands were subject to entry with United States 
bounty land warrants, at first only in quarter townships of four thousand acres. 
George Beymer entered with a land warrant, given to Capt. William Walton 
for military services in 1803. two hundred acres of land, now in Centre town- 
ship on the Zane trace, on which he built a double log cabin, and in 1806 



GUERNSEY coiX'TV, OHIO. I 87 

opened it as a tavern. This cabin tavern was situated on the cast side of the 
Four-mile hill, and but a few rods north of the presenl National road, and 

was the lirst tavern east of the crossing of Wills creek. It was the halfway 
stopping place between Cambridge and Washington after these towns were 
laid out. The grandfather of the writer, Tin .mas Sarchet, with his two 
brothers, John and Peter, and Daniel Ferbrache, brother-in-law, with then- 
families, camped near the Beymer cabin tavern. They had two three-horse 
teams, and an extra team of two horses which they hired at Newellstown to 
help mi account of the had road. The weather was exceedingly wet. and a 
furious storm had swept through the forest, felling large trees in every direc- 
tion, so that road making was the order, of the day. These were the first 
moving wagons to arrive at Cambridge, late at night. August 14, 1806. 

'fhe general history of Guernsey county published some years ago gives 
Gen. Simon lieymer the credit of being the proprietor of the town of Wash- 
ington, fait that is an error. "New Washington" was platted and laid out 
hv George lieymer and his brother, Henry lieymer, September 26. 1S05, in 
.Muskingum county, 'fhe plat was acknowledged before William Montgom- 
ery, a justice of the peace of Muskingum county. Ohio, and is signed by Henry 
Beymer with a cross, he being unable to sign his name. The lots are num- 
bered east and west from the main cross street. Lots Xos. 1 and 2 are re- 
served for a court house and jail. These lots are immediately east of the 
Pingon Frame residence. Lot 48 was reserved for a church and school house, 
and Lot 62, where there was a spring, was reserved for the public benefit with 
free access to and from. Besides the main street, sixty-six feet wide, there 
are two other streets, thirty-three feet wide, named St. George and St. Henry. 
These are the three principal streets, diverging to the south and north from a 
true east and west line. This makes New Washington older than Cambridge, 
from September 26, 1805, to June 2, 1806, when Cambridge was platted. 

George Beymer sold his cabin to Neil Gillespie and James Morrison, and 
they sold to Jacob Endley in 1817. He built near the site of the cabins a large, 
two-story brick house, which was one of the noted taverns on the old Wheel- 
ing road under his management, and later, until after the National road was 
made, under the management of Col. John Woodrow. William H. Endley, 
son of Jacob Endley, inherited the farm. He was auditor of Guernsey county 
in 1S74 for two terms of two years each. He tore down the old tavern, and 
used the brick to build a residence farther up the road. He later sold to Lind- 
sev L. Bonnell, whose heirs now own the land. 

As von begin to ascend the ridge before coming to the Fairchild farm, 
there are two or three stiff pinches of red limestone clay, underlaid with coal 



l88 GUERNSEY COUNTY, OHIO. 

blossom and blue clay. There is for some distance a stretch of this kind of 
road bed. In the days of the old road, here were the stalling places for the 
heavily loaded teams and the stage wagons. So that it was said that the 
wagoners often stayed two nights at the Endley tavern. They put in a day 
going but little over two miles, and, leaving their wagons, would lead their 
ponies back to the tavern, and the stage passengers would have to walk and 
earn- a rail to use in prying out the stage. Today, in wet winters, there are 
still bad places. Old John Oliver lived not far from the tough places in the 
road. He had a "stillhouse" and perhaps the new corn juice helped to raise 
the steam and to stimulate the wagoners, stage passengers and passengers. 

The next place of note was the tavern of Robert Carnes. He bought 
from Francis Williams, and in 1820 sold to Joseph Eaton. In the hands of 
these men, it was the half-way house between the Endley tavern and Wash- 
ington. Isaac McCollum bought the farm from Eaton in 1828, and the widow 
of his son Isaac now resides on the old farm. A modern house now stands 
there, but perhaps it is a part of the old Eaton tavern. The National road 
was completed and piked out as far west as Zanesville in 1830. For a num- 
ber of years after its completion it was difficult to keep the travel on it. Heavy 
logs had to be laid on the sides to force the travel on the stones, so that the 
great throng of travelers with unshod horses avoided it as much as possible. 
Only the wagons and stage horses were shod. Here was a stretch of four 
miles that was preferred to the pike. The McCollum stand was not a tavern, 
but was a place where movers stayed, as were most of the houses and cabins 
on the old road. In summer it is a much more pleasant drive than the pike, 
which is a little over a mile south. 

As you go up the run, then called Dudley's run, a short distance from 
Jonathan Dickens' (colored) place, son of Jonah Dickens, was where old John 
Chapman had his hut. Old John Dickens and old Ned Simpson were the 
early colored settlers of that region, and in the palmy days of the Endley tav- 
ern they were the hostlers and bootblacks, shining the travelers' boots at night, 
making them glisten as their own countenances, just as when a darky's face 
has been rubbed with a bacon rind. 

From the toll gate west of Washington, the old road diverged to the 
north, and was getting away from the direct west line of the National road. 
As these two roads come together at the Four-mile hill, we cannot see any 
good reason for the location of the National road on its present line of up 
hill and down hill, with heavy cuts and fills, all of which might easily have 
been avoided by following the line of the old road. 

The present owners of the land lying on the old road, as given by the 



GUERNSEY COUNTY, OHIO. [89 

Centre township map of [902, arc I.. B. Bonnell's heirs, Jonathan Gibson, 
Jane Oliver, .Mrs. Fairchild, A. E. Scott. John McCollum, [saac McCollum, 
William Eagleson, John C. McCracken, John Griffith, and Doctor Wharton. 

his place now owned by Mr. Mutton. 

We struck the pike east of the toll gate and paid three cents to the old 
Shaw brick tavern. As we passed on west of the gate, we found that we 
could have avoided the toll by a cut-off used by many for thai purpose, hut 
the writer and the pike being about the same age, the old love compelled him 
at all times to take no mean advantage of his old friend. At the old Shaw 
house, later owned by Thomas Hyde, and now owned by Doctor Gibbons, 
whose brother is in charge of the farm, we received a good harvest dinner 
from the good housewife, whom we found to he a very intelligent woman, and 
a home-maker and keeper of a high order. We spent some time there with 
her in general conversation. She seemed to be well up to the trend of things 
going on, and showed us around her house, which was neat and trim, and 
took great pleasure in showing us family pictures and souvenirs Which she has, 
seeming anxious to learn whether we intended to write a history, as did also 
the three Mrs. McCollums, at whose homes we tarried for a short time. To 
all the same answer was given, that we were looking around to see and learn 
what we could. From Gibbons' we took a byway through the McCollum 
farms to the old road. W r e wanted to go over the old road on which we had 
not been for fifty years, and connect the history of this link of four miles with 
some others we have written. 

THE OLD PIKE. 

On December 31, 1832, Seth Adams, of Zanesville. superintendent of 
the National road, which was then completed to Zanesville, shows in his re- 
port the amount of travel for that year by the books of the toll gates to be, 
men on horseback, 35.310; mules and horses driven, 16.750; sheep driven. 24,- 
410; hogs driven, 52,845; cattle driven, 96.323; carriages with one horse, 
14.907; carriages and Wagons with two horses. 11,613; wagons with three 
horses. 2,357; with tour horses, 3,692: with five horses, 1.599; w 'th six 
horses, 1.329. 

The toll gates were at that time but one in each county twenty miles 
apart, so there could be but little intermediate travel counted in the report. 
This will give some idea to the reader of today of the amount of traffic on the 
road, and the number of taverns, which would average more than two to 
everv mile between the Ohio river and Zanesville. In this the stage coaches 



I9O GUERNSEY COUNTY, OHIO. 

are not numbered, as the greater part of them were mail coaches, which passed 
free over the road. 

It was not until 1833 that toll gates were established on an average of 
ten miles apart along the road. This great amount of travel increased yearly, 
so that it was said that the road was lined with vehicles and horsemen, and 
the number of pedestrians was proportionately as great. This great moving 
tide were the home-seekers of the West. 

The United States government never established toll gates on the road 
in Ohio, and it was not until 1831, when the National road was transferred to 
Ohio, that tolls were collected. The United States in the cession reserved 
free toll for the government service of every kind, and also the right to take 
back the road from the state at any time by paying to the state what it had 
expended in keeping up the road, over and above the amount that had been 
expended by the state. So that in this day of good road movements, electric 
railroads and automobiles, the United States might yet step into control of the 
old National highway. 

Steam carriages and automobiles are not altogether new things under the 
sun in Ohio. December 22, 1833, a memorial to the Senate of Ohio was pre- 
sented from William Niel, Esq., of Columbus, asking permission of the Legis- 
lature to run a line of steam carriages on the National road in this state. The 
memorial was referred to a special committee of three. A bill was reported 
January 15th to the Senate, and referred back to the committee for amend- 
ment. January 21st the bill passed by a vote of eighteen yeas and seventeen 
nays. The bill was reported to the House January 24th, and a motion for its 
indefinite postponement was defeated. February 13th the bill was postponed 
until the '"first Monday of December next." We leave it there. 

The National road was not completed at that time to Columbus. Wil- 
liam Neil was taking time by the forelock. He was one of the proprietors of 
the Ohio Stage Company. In 1834 there were four daily stage lines on the 
road, the Ohio Stage Company, the Citizens' Line, the People's Line, and the 
Good Intent, and an every-other-day stage line from Cambridge to Cadiz and 
Steubenville. over the Steubenville grade road. 

FIRST FLAT OR KEEL BOAT ON WILLS CREEK. 

The following appeared in the Cambridge Times of February 9, 1826: 
"Thomas Sarchet, Sr.. is building a large flat or keel boat at the Guern- 
sey Salines, on Wills creek, four miles north of Cambridge. This boat is 
seventy feet long and eighteen feet wide, and a water depth of three feet. 



GUERNSEY COUNTY, OHIO. Kjl 



Tt is boarde 


id up the sides, an<l lias a roof covering forty feet in 


length. In 


tin's covere( 


1 portion, which is eight feet high, arc wheat bins. 


Jt will be 


loaded with 


wheat, flour and salt, the Hour and salt in barrels." 





The paper of March 2d says: "Wills creek for the past week is in a line 
state for navigation." The paper of April 9th says: "Thomas Sarchet's fast 
sailing boat; the 'Eliza of Guernsey,' left the Guernsey Salines, under the 
command of Capt. R. M. <i. Patterson, Thomas Sarchet, Sr., and sons, own- 
ers and supercargoes." 

This is a copy of the journal of the voyage down Wills creek: 

"Started forty-five minutes past twelve M., April S. Monday; stopped 
at Judge Leeper's to take on more cargo: Tuesday at eleven o'clock, got under 
way at six A. M. ; stopped at Mr. Gibson's for refreshments, where we were 
highly entertained, and took on more cargo, and at half past ten o'clock passed 
the big drift safely, and at half past two o'clock passed the big bend safely, and 
landed in good order; Wednesday at twelve o'clock, passed Wayne's mill and 
lock, Marquand's mill and lock and Paber's mill and lock, and at five o'clock 
P. M.. arrived at the mouth of Wills creek, all well and without an accident; 
Thursday morning passed Lucas' bend, passed the brick house, the upper salt 
.works, the second salt works, and arrived at Zanesville at ten o'clock P. M., 
all well and in high spirits. 

"Now Mr. Beatty," (that was Cyrus P. Beatty, Thomas Sarchet's son- 
in-law. then editor and proprietor of the Guernsey 'rimes) "please to insert in 
your paper the above for the satisfaction of the friends of the Washington 
removalists, that the enemies of Cambridge may be without excuse when 
stating at Columbus, Ohio, and elsewhere that they never heard of anything 
navigating Wills creek larger than a canoe, and that in the very highest stage 
of water." 

In the Legislature of 1825 and '26 the Hon. Thomas Hanna, representa- 
tive of Guernsey county, then residing at Washington, introduced in the House 
a hill for the removal of the county seat from Cambridge to Washington, 
and in its introduction bail made the statement given above. The house laid 
his bill on the table, by a vote of forty-five yeas to twenty-seven nays, and 
his hill was never taken from the table. 

And now we must make the statement that it was because of old Wills 
creek, that is now giving the city of Cambridge so much trouble, that the 
county seat was held at Cambridge, from 1819 to 1854. when the coming of 
the central Ohio railroad to Cambridge settled the question for all time. 

The Sarchet boat went down the Muskingum to the Ohio, and down it 
to the falls at Louisville, where the cargo and boat were sold. Tt was built to 



IQ2 GUERNSEY COUNTY, OHIO. 

prove that large boats could pass in safety down Wills creek, and for more 
than thirty years, every year, boats passed out of Wills creek into Muskingum 
river. 

THE FIRST STEAMBOAT ON WILLS CREEK. 

"Saturday, October 7, Sam Haines' steamboat, the 'Tickle Pitcher,' was 
launched, above the cut under the National road bridge. Hundreds of peo- 
ple, men, women and children, assembled to see the launching of the first 
steamboat on Wills creek, and the last. After some little delay, the launch 
was made at two o'clock P. M. The boat slid down the Ways into the creek, 
and glided majestically down through the cut under the bridge, amid the 
puff of the steam and blowing of the whistle, and cheers of the assembled 
crowd." — Herald. 

LEAVING THE COUNTY WITH A FLATBOAT. 

Under the caption of "Sarchet's Reflections," published in 1898, the au- 
thor said concerning Doctor Hunt's removal from Guernsey county in 1843 : 

We have just received from our old friend and Guernsey Times typo, of 
the long ago, Joshua Hunt, an address in pamphlet, of Hon. Samuel F. Hunt, 
president of the Springfield Township Pioneer Association, at its fifth annual 
reunion at Mt. Healthy, Ohio, September 3, 1898. The address is headed 
with this quotation : 

"We came into the land whither thou sentest us, and surely it floweth 
with milk and honey. Num. 13 -.27. " This calls up some history, and we 
will tell how this Hunt family went into the land. 

The speaker, Hon. Samuel F. Hunt, is a son of Dr. Samuel Hunt, a 
former resident in Cambridge, Ohio, and to distinguish the son from the 
father he was called "Little Sammy." Doctor Hunt resided on the lot now 
covered by the Richardson and Shairer block on West Wheeling avenue. 
Doctor Hunt sold the residence and lot to Dr. Milton Green, and removed to 
Morrow, Butler county, Ohio, in 1843. The manner of removal was to be 
by flatboat, floating down Wills creek, the Muskingum and Ohio rivers to the 
mouth of the little Miami, and up it to Morrow. The flatboat was built on 
the creek bank above the National road bridge, and was in readiness, awaiting 
a spring freshet to float out of Wills creek, but the spring was exceedingly 
dry, and no looked-for spring flood came. Doctor Hunt decided to move the 
flatboat overland to Zanesville, and begin his water voyage from there. A 
low-wheeled log wagon, used at the old General Moore mill, was made ready, 



GUERNSEY COUNTY, OHIO. KJ3 

ami the flatboat was loaded on it and made secure It was rather a novel 
sight tn see a flatboat float off on a wagon, and quite a large crowd gathered 
to see it move off the National road. We think the moving force was George 
1). Gallup, with a six-horse team. At Zanesville it was launched on the blue 
Muskingum. The family and the household goods were placed on hoard, and 
the voyage began. It took thirty and more days to reach Morrow. There- 
was this advantage in that way of moving — they were always at home, yet 
going forward. When rounded to and tied up at shore for the night, they had 
traveled a day's journey from home, yet had home with them. They enjoyed 
a pleasant journey, enjoying the beautiful scenery that lined on either side the 
hills of the rivers and the passing of the hundreds of steamboats that plied on 
the Ohio river. It is not over one hundred and twenty miles from Cambridge 
to Morrow, and today six hours will cover the time of the journey by railroad. 
These water voyages were common in early days. Old Jonathan Bye, a 
relative of the Hunt family, removed from Byesville, of which he was the 
founder, by boat, to Sterling, Illinois. 

AN EARLY RIVER VENTURE. 

This amusing letter appeared in the columns of the Cambridge Times 
April 7, 1838: 

"Sometime last spring, an old veteran chairmaker, residing at Cambridge, 
Guernsey county, Ohio, finding himself somewhat embarrassed, and money not 
being easily obtained, concluded to make a venture in the far West. He 
therefore built a small keel-boat, loaded it with lumber for making chairs and 
bedsteads. About the first of July, he, with much difficulty, made his way 
down the crooked windings of Wills creek, thence down the waters of the 
Muskingum to the mouth. There he lost his passengers, as the steamboats 
had better accommodations. He then floated down the Ohio, as far as Mt. 
Vernon, Indiana. He there spent the summer in making and vending his 
work ; but finding sales dull, he contracted with two gentlemen to take his boat 
and a quantity of furniture up the Illinois as far as Peoria. Here he sold his 
boat and cargo, but in consequence of the ice, he was detained longer than he 
expected. What was his surprise when he again arrived at Mt. Vernon to 
hear that convulsions were taking place in and about Cambridge, like the dis- 
charge of surplus steam when a boat lands at the wharf and has no further 
use for it than to frighten horses and disturb the neighborhood! He would 
have had less reason to censure had it been confined to those interested, but 
those that had nothing else to do spread the news high and low, far and wide 
(13) 



194 GUERNSEY COUNTY, OHIO. 

— the chairmaker had undoubtedly absconded — until it became honestly be- 
lieved by the judicious part of the community. The old veteran concluding it 
would be better to use medicine, fearing that some lungs might be injured, 
did, at great trouble and expense, obtain a small quantity of Benton's mint 
drops, with which he is willing to accommodate all those who have genuine 
drafts. As for those who have none, they must take their pains for their 
trouble. He would embrace this opportunity to inform his old customers 
that he has returned, and is ready to wait on all calls in his line. 

"Old Chairmaker. 
"April 7, 1838." 

It should be stated that navigation on the waters of Wills creek, or any 
other stream in Guernsey county, never amounted to a great deal, but did 
play some part at an early day in getting in and out of the count}'. The stream 
was never of sufficient volume to warrant the improvement talked of at one 
time. The canal on the north and the building of railroads, a little later, 
caused the water route to entirely be lost, sight of. The no-current canal and 
the almost as stationary volume of water in the creek were long years ago too 
slow a means fur the progressive people of this county. There are times, al- 
most any year, when steamboats could ply the waters of Wills creek, as it has 
had many wonderful floods and has been found many fathoms out of its 
crooked channel, submerging a wide valley with water of considerable depth, 
but this, of course, only lasts a few hours or days, at longest. 

THE RAILROAD ERA. 

Coming down to the railroad era in Guernsey county, it may be stated 
that the first railroad constructed into the county was the old Central Ohio 
(now the property of the Baltimore & Ohio Company) in 1852. The first 
shovelful of dirt thrown on this grade, on the south hillside, at Cambridge, 
was August 1 2th, of that year, and it was thrown by the venerable C. L. Madi- 
son. The tunnel was begun October 23d, the same year. The Cambridge tele- 
graph office was opened February 3, 1853. The inventor. Professor Morse, 
was raised up, as if by Providence, to discover the magnetic telegraph just in 
time to be of good service in the operation of railroad trains, which were also 
quite a new thing at that time. 

The advent of the iron horse ushered in a new and better era into this 
county, and gave new avenues by which the farmer and stock man could mar- 
ket, at more profitable prices, the products of the farm. The county then, for 
the first time, came in real commercial touch with the great outside world. 



GUERNSEY COUNTY, OHIO. 1<)5 

Millwood, Richland. Center, Cambridge, Adams and Westland, with its main 
line, while it runs through portions of Richland, Valley and Spencer, with a 
branch from Lore City to Cumberland. Beginning on the cast side of the 
county, the .station points of most importance arc Quaker City, Saleville, Lore 
City, Cambridge and Cassel Station, on the main line. On the Cumberland 
branch the stations worthy of note are Lore City, Scnecaville. Hartford and 
Cumberland. The only tunnel on this mad in the county is near Cambridge 
on the Baltimore & Ohio road. 

The arrival of the first regular passenger train over the road now known 
as the Baltimore & Ohio, from Columbus, was on April 27, 1854. It con- 
sisted of six coaches and it was welcomed right royally. The march from the 
station to the public square was a long, enthusiastic one. was under marshal- 
ship of Loll lordon I. of land and an address was made by Hon. Nathan Evans. 
Military companies from Columbus and Zanesville were present. 

What is now known as the Pennsylvania railroad enters the county from 
the north, in Wheeling township, follows the windings of the chief stream of 
the county (Wills creek) on down through Liberty, Cambridge, Jackson and 
Valley townships, leaving the county near Pleasant City, with stations of im- 
portance at Pleasant City, then north through Derwent, Byesville, Cambridge, 
Tyncr. Kimbolton, Birds Run and Guernsey and so on out of this into Tuscara- 
was county. The objective points of this division of the great Pennsylvania 
system are Marietta, at the south, and Cleveland, at the north. 

When originally constructed in about 1880, this was the property of the 
( Cleveland & Marietta company and was headed by General Warner, through 
whose energy and untiring zeal the road was built at a time when it taxed 
every thought and capacity of good business men. It opened up an excellent 
coal field and gave a competing freight rate out and into the county. Its ad- 
vent was hailed with supreme delight by all classes of citizens, as a north and 
south route through the county was fully as great in importance as the main 
line of the Baltimore & Ohio from east to west. It was built through the 
best valley section of the county, but necessarily over a very rough, uneven 
country, where much expense was necessary, the grades somewhat heavy and 
curves sharp. A tunnel of many hundred feet through solid rock and coal 
strata between Kimbolton and Guernsey had to be constructed at an expense 
of almost, if not fully, a million dollars. The waters of Wills creek at times 
flooded the tracks and this caused other expense and delay. General Warner 
fought on. but all to no purpose, for there came a time when he had to suc- 
cumb to the inevitable. The road was sold and passed into the hands of the 



I96 GUERNSEY COUNTY, OHIO. 

present corporation, the Pennsylvania company, who rebuilt and re-equipped 
the same and it is now a first-class steam highway, doing an excellent business. 
The coal fields in and near Byesville and Pleasant City were greatly developed 
and this has made untold wealth to the possessors of the mineral lands, as well 
as afforded the company the transportation of endless tons of coal. 

In the eighties, while the road was still under the ownership of the old 
Cleveland & Marietta, the tunnel at Guernsey and Kimbolton caught fire, and 
the immense coal deposit through which a section of the tunnel was made 
ignited and continued to burn for more than two years, causing a total loss of 
the tunnel and the laying of another track a distance of eight miles around a 
horseshoe bend, going eight miles around in order to gain two miles in its true 
course. This, with endless litigations, caused the company to go into the 
hands of a receiver and finally it was transferred to the Pennsylvania com- 
pany. Several of the heaviest stockholders lived in Guernsey county and 
when the company paid out only about forty cents on a dollar, it broke these 
local men up financially. It now has thirty-three miles of roadway in the 
county and is a great thoroughfare, especially for freighting coal from the 
mines, the road running through the mining section from south to north. 

The Baltimore & Ohio was bonded for in this county to the extent of 
one hundred thousand dollars. So it will be seen that the common carrier 
system of today has cost the taxpayers of the past generation much money. 
Yet no one now desires the old system of transportation. At this date the 
Baltimore & Ohio road has sixteen miles on its Cumberland division and 
twenty-nine miles on its "Central Ohio" division, with sidings amounting to 
eighteen miles within Guernsey county. 

What is generally styled the Narrow Gauge road, is the Ohio River & 
Western railroad, which cuts off only a corner of the county, where it runs 
from the southwest into Cumberland, having three miles of track within 
Guernsey county. It is still of the narrow gauge type of railroad. It was 
built about 1880 to Cumberland. 



CHAPTER XIII. 



BAH OF GUERNSEY COUNTY. 



Wherever commerce and true civilization is found, there one will find 
representatives of the legal profession and courts of justice.. Most of the 
laws of today are based on the principle of justice and equal rights to all citi- 
zens, he they native or foreign-bom and adopted into our national citizenship. 
If all men were truly informed as to the law of the country in which they re- 
side and transact business, and then possessed an honest, law-abiding spirit, 
such as is marked out by the Bible picture id" the millennium dawn, there would 
he little use for lawyers and courts, but as we have not nearly reached that per- 
fected state, hence the rights of one person must be met and justice forced upon 
another. This requires lawyers w^ell versed in their profession. The legal 
profession is one of profound principles and it is for this to point out and en- 
force the rights of one class of citizens as against other men and classes. 
While the world has no need of the dishonest lawyer, it has great need of the 
truly honorable attorney, who seeks ever to make peace, rather than encourage 
litigation among the people of his community. What is needed is the great 
type of legal advocates found in the Gladstones of England; the Websters. 
Everetts, Choates, Marshall, the Lincolns and Douglases of our own America 
and also those of more recent careers, who seek to make plain the fundamental 
law of our republic and our international relations with all foreign powers. 
We need, at this date, more of the great minds in law found in former years in 
a Hamilton, a Jefferson and our earlier supreme judges. 

While there still lurks in the minds of the laity the notion that the legal 
profession is mostly made up of trickery, technicality and trouble-makers, the 
fact still remains that through them peace and order and good government 
obtains in this and all countries. The day has long since passed when this 
profession is looked upon as one of dishonor, but rather as one from which 
emanates our best and truest type of citizenship and statesmen. 

It is regretted by the publisher that a more complete record of the first 
attorneys in Guernsey county is not available at present, for a chain of inter- 
esting sketches which might otherwise appear. 



I98 GUERNSEY COUNTY, OHIO. 

THE FIRST COLORED JURY. 

( Times of July, 1871.) 

"The case of the State of Ohio versus Robert Wright (colored), for 
shooting with intent to kill William Lucas (colored) at Fairview last spring, 
is now on trial in this court before a special colored jury. The following is 
the panel, selected by agreement of counsel and on the order of the court, in 
the manner prescribed by law : 

"Jordon Early, Isaac Moss, William Wooten, Simon Turner, Chas. R. 
Green. Cornelius Turner, Ransom Bennett, Amos Page, Joseph Early, Lewis 
Jackson, Enos Brady, John Singer, Jeremiah Hargrave, Charles Williams, 
James Berry and Amos Kimmey. 

"We believe this is the second colored jury empaneled in the United 
States and the first in the state of Ohio; and it is the first time a colored man 
was ever called to sit upon a jury in this county. This unusual occurrence is a 
theme of much conversation and interest. Colonel Barnes appears for the 
state, and William Borton and J. D. Taylor, Esq., for the defendant. The 
court room was crowded at the opening of the trial. About thirty witnesses 
are subpoenaed." 

DEATH SENTENCES. 

The first death sentence in Guernsey count) - was in 1844, when Judge 
Kennon sentenced George Weeks to be hanged for the murder of Edward 
Woods. Later he was sentenced to a term in the state prison, where he 
finally died. 

The next to be sentenced was in 1869, when Thomas D. Carr was tried 
and convicted for the killing of Louisa C. Fox. his girl lover who refused to 
marry him. He was hung Friday. August 20, 1869. He confessed at last to 
the crime and also it was learned that he had in all killed fifteen persons, at 
one time or another in his life. 

FIRST GRAND JURY IN GUERNSEY COUNTY. 

(From the Jeffersonian, 1878.) 

We recently published an account of the first term of Court held in 
Guernsey county. The first grand jury was empaneled and the first criminal 
business was transacted at the second term, which began on Monday, August 
27, 1810, and adjourned on the Tuesday following. The names of the first 
grand jurors are as follows : Z. A. Beatty, foreman ; John Hanna, Lloyd Tal- 



GUERNSEY rul'XTY. OHIO. 1 99 

bott, Thomas Cooke, John McClennahan, Andrew Marshall, Wyatt Hutch- 
ison, John Beham, George J. Jackson, John Moffatt, Isaac Grummond, W. 
Talbert, Stewart Speer, George Metcalf and !■'.. Dyson. The grand jury at 
the present term of court returned twenty-five true hills of indictment against 
thirty-six persons. The first grand jury of this county returned three true 
hills — two for retailing liquor without license and one for retailing merchan- 
dise without license. Proceedings under the latter indictment were stopped 
by the defendant coming into court and exhibiting his license. One of the 
men charged with retailing liquor without a license pleaded guilty and was 
fined six cents and costs. The other pleaded not guilty and his case was con- 
tinued. ( )n the affidavit of George Metcalf, one of the grand jurors, an in- 
dictment was issued for Peter Wirick, Sr., returnable at the December term, 
for not answering questions asked him when before the grand jury. The 
court ordered that the prosecuting attorney be allowed ten dollars for his 
services at the first term of court, and twenty-live dollars at each term there- 
after. Idie prison bounds were fixed by an order of the court. They in- 
cluded all that part of Cambridge between Spruce and Mulberry streets. 



The following were serving as justices of the peace in the townships noted 
in Guernsey county in iqio: T. M. Johnson, Millwood; G. C. Lanning, Mon- 
roe; T. V. Foster, Monroe; J. \Y. Bryant, Oxford; W. H. Brown, Oxford; 
N. T. Oliver. Richland; S. D. Floyd, Richland; W. H. Moore, Spencer; J. 
Purkey. Spencer; L. B. Hollenbeck. Valley; C. S. McDonald. Valley; J. II. 
Oxlev, Washington; John D. Reid, Washington : Earnest Kirk. Westland ; 
Harry Sawyer, Westland; W. R. Crater, Wheeling; Henry Wilson, Wheeling; 
William Black, Wills; Theudas T. Jones, Cambridge: R. W. Lindsey, Cam- 
bridge; S. P. Weisenstein, Center; E. M. Nelson, Center; A. S. T. Johnston, 
Jackson; J. B. Shafer, Jackson; William F. Wishart, Jefferson; James Mc- 
Kahan, Jefferson; J. H. Howell. Knox; J. F. Martin. Knox; H. J. Beaten- 
head. Liberty; S. L. Madden. Londonderry; John Morton. Londonderry; 
John T. Wyrick, Madison; A. C. St. Clair, Madison: J. B. Hartley. Millwood; 
F. W. St. Clair. Millwood. 

EARLY LAWYERS. 

Among the early lawyers who practiced at the Guernse) county bar were 
Samuel Culbertson and Gen. C. B. Goddard. They were able lawyers, and 
traveled from county to county on horseback, with their books and papers in 
saddle-bags. Many anecdotes are told of these two. mostly opposing counsels 
in the cases thev engaged in. Samuel Culbertson was tall, bony and wiry, 



20O GUERNSEY COUNTY, OHIO. 

and quick to make a point against his opponent. They were the opposing 
counsel in a case where one party had sued another for befouling a well in 
the construction of a dam, rendering the water impure. General Goddard. 
in his speech to the jury, exhibited a glass of the water, and spoke of its pur- 
ity and clearness, and making the point that such clear, sparkling water 
( shaking the glass ) could not be impure, and seemed to be carrying the jury 
with him. Culbertson, when he arose to reply, picked up the glass, and re- 
minded the jury of what Goddard had said, placed the glass on the table 
before Goddard, and holding up a silver dollar, said, "Gentlemen of the jury, 
I'll give General Goddard this dollar if he will drink that glass of pure 
water." Culbertson knew that General Goddard was too dignified to accept 
such an offer, and his refusal had its effect on the jury, and he won the case 
for his client. This occurred later than the Chandlersville hoax, and was a 
game of hocus pocus between two lawyers. General Goddard was a man of 
great dignity and pride of character, in his profession, and made it a point 
only to do business in his office. A deputy sheriff of Muskingum county, 
having a writ of execution to serve, met General Goddard, who was the 
prosecuting lawyer in the case, on the street, and said to him, "What shall I 
do if some one else claims the property?" He replied, "I don't do business 
in the street." A day or two afterwards the General met the deputy sheriff 
at the postoffice, and asked the result of his business. The deputy said, 
"You will have to call at the sheriff's office; I don't do business in the post- 
office." Goddard called at the sheriff's office, and was told what was done. 
I well remember of seeing the tall, commanding figures of Henry Stanbury 
and "Wilson Shannon, who were occasional practitioners at the Cambridge 
bar, three score years ago; of Chauncey Dewey, of Cadiz; the Hon. Edwin 
AT. Stanton, the great war secretary, who began his practice in partnership 
with Dewey, and also Hon. Benjamin Tappan. He was cross-eyed, and 
called "Old Gimblet Eyes." It was said of Judge Tappan that he was en- 
gaged in the trial of a case in the early days, when there were a "thousand 
judges on the bench, one and three naughts." Judge Hallock was the pre- 
siding judge. One of the associate judges lived three miles in the country, 
and was in the habit of coming in on court days on horseback with his saddle- 
bags, his dinner in one bag, and oats for the horse in the other. After the 
noon recess, Judge Tappan was to begin his argument to the jury. Tappan 
arose, addressed the court, and began. Judge Hallock interrupted him, say- 
ing. "Brother Tappan, there is no quorum ; you will wait for Brother ." 

Tappan replied. "Are his saddle-bags under the bench?" "Yes," "Then I 
will go on with my plea; they will do just as well." 



GUERNSEY COUNTY, OHIO. 201 

By the Guernsey Times of 1826-48 one learns the names of many of 
the legal practitioners of those early days. Among them were \Y. \Y. Tracey, 
whose card frequently appears in the Times from 1826 on, and who was 
later a justice of the peace and a prominent editor of the Tillies beginning 
with December. [834, and Isaac I'arrish, later a member of the noted firm of 
Parrish & Gaston, attorneys and counsellors at law. Among noted lawyers 
of the county may be mentioned : 

1838 — Cowen & Longlev, Washington. 

1843— Rnshlield & Hunter (J. M. Bushfield and William Hunter). 
Cambridge. 

1843 — Ferguson & Grimes, Cambridge. 

1846 — T. W. Tipton, Cambridge. 

1844 — Kennon & White. Cambridge. 

1845 — Evans & Rainey, Fairview. 

1845 — Cowen & Grimes (B. S. Cowen and J. J. Grimes), Cambridge. 

1846 — Davis Green, Cambridge. 

183] — John D. Tingle, Cambridge. 

1847 — Samuel Bell, Cambridge. 

1847 — Evans & Scott (Nathan Evans and Erastus H. Scott), Cam- 
bridge. 

[853 — J. M. Bushfield and W. R. Buchanan. Cambridge. 

1853 — H. Skinner, Cambridge. 

1850 — Thomas W. Peacock, Cambridge. 

1850 — T. W. Campbell, Cambridge. 

1856 — L. W. Borton. Cambridge. 

1856 — F. Creighton and J. O. Grimes, Cambridge. 

[856— J. W. White. Cambridge. 

1856 — Gaston and W. R. Wagstaff, Cambridge. 

1856 — Evans and Haynes, Cambridge. 

1857 — J. H. Collins. Cambridge, 

1857 — Casey & Atherton. Cambridge. 

1857 — V. and J. Haynes. Cambridge and Zanesville. 

ANOTHER LIST OF ATTORXF.VS. 

The following is an additional list of lawyers who have practiced before 
the Guernsey county bar at different times: 



202 GUERNSEY COUNTY, OHIO. 

Samuel Herrick, Cambridge, and all of the following at Cambridge: 
Alexander Harper, Isaac Parish, William W. Tracey, Zaccheus Beatty, 
Thomas W. Peacock, Nathan Evans, Ezra Evans, John Ferguson, Jacob J. 
Grimes, John Morton, Cyrus Linn, Anthony Tennis (of Birmingham), Robert 
Titneck, William B. Abbott, Mathew Gaston; Joseph Johnston, Fairview; 
James Rheinhart, Fairview; Samuel Armstrong, Fairview; Joseph Ferrel. 
Washington; John B. Longley, Washington; James Reinhart, Senecaville; 
Erastus Scott, Cumberland; James Casey, Cumberland; Francis Creighton, 
and the following, all of Cambridge: James O. Grimes, Vincent Haines, 
William Wall, George W. Phillips. 

PRESENT COURT OFFICERS. 

The present (1910) officials of the Guernsey county court are as follows : 
Hon. William H. Johnson, presiding judge, Zanesville, Ohio; Hon. A. A. 
Frazier, judge, Zanesville, Ohio; Hon. J. M. McGinnis, judge, Caldwell, 
Ohio; Charles S. Sheppard, prosecuting attorney; H. K. Moore, sheriff; 
John S. Berry, deputy sheriff (after January, 1911); Elza D. Trott, clerk; 
Clara Linn, deputy clerk, and Orrin B. Booth, stenographer. 

PRESENT MEMBERS OF THE GUERNSEY COUNTY BAR. 

Bell, James W., Cambridge; Barber, N. H., Cambridge; Brown, W. H., 
Fairview; Bonnell, T. A., Cambridge; Carnes, S. C, Cambridge; Carpenter, 
W. A.. Freeport; Campbell, J. W., Cambridge; Collins, W. C, Cambridge; 
Deselm. T. R.. Cambridge; Dugan, G D., Cambridge; Douglas, J. L., 
Quaker City; Enos, B. F., Cambridge; Eagleson, Freeman T., Cambridge; 
Eagleton. William, Craig; Ferguson, J. B., Cambridge; Flood, A. B., Byes- 
ville; Garber, L. S., Pleasant City; Gregg. Watson H., Cambridge; Haw- 
thorne, Edmund, Cambridge: Joyce, James, Cambridge; Johnson, S. M., Fair- 
view; Luccock, H. W., Cambridge; McCulloch, A. R., Cambridge; Mathews, 
E. W., Cambridge; Mathews, E. W., Jr., Cambridge; Mackey, J. H., Cam- 
bridge; Purkey, Joseph, Cumberland; Rosemond, Fred L., Cambridge; Scott, 
Robert T., Cambridge; Smallwood, J. W., Cambridge; Stewart, W. W.. Cam- 
bridge; Stevens, A. L., Cambridge; Sheppard, Charles, Cambridge; Stubbs, 
I. E., Quaker City; Turnbaugh. C. S.. Cambridge; Troette. J. A., Cambridge; 
Turner, John P., Cambridge; Turner. Milton. Jr.. Cambridge: Wells, O. V., 
Cambridge; Weyer, Clara L., Cambridge; Webster, Edson C, Quaker City. 



CHAPTER XIV 



iy new country, the family 


doctor is as neces- 


responsibility rests on him- 


- -the diseases coin- 


1 speedy attention and the li 


ves of men, women 



sary as any other man. I 
cidenl to the pioneer peri( 
and children are often in the good physician's hands. In health and vigor 
all persons revolt at the sight of the medicine ease and the surgeon's knife, 
and sometimes they say many hard things against the medical practitioner, 
yet when the fevered brow and quickened pulse is felt, when all life looks 
dark with gloom and doubt scattered in thick clouds before us. it is then that 
the family doctor, even in the days of "saddle-bags," was a welcome caller 
in the sick chamber, for he it was who generally understood how to place the 
sick one in possession of health and strength again. The disciples of Galen 
have ever been closely allied with the first settlers of a count}-. They have 
braved the storms of mid-winter and the heat of mid-summer; they have gone 
on foot and on horseback, crossing angry streams, by the light of day and 
through the darkness of the night, often against pelting storms, in order 
to reach the suffering sick in need of their ministrations. 

It should be said that with the passing of the last half century, medical 
science has made a wonderful advance. Methods have been changed and a 
real revolution wrought — especially in surgery. The great colleges and uni- 
versities have educated a vast army of competent physicians and surgeons 
who have progressed to a point where diseases once thought incurable have 
come to be looked upon as simple in treatment. The per cent, of cases lost 
now is very small compared to the days when Guernsey county was first set- 
tled. Every county owes much to the good, faithful physician, who often 
goes unpaid for his services, but never refuses to administer to the needs 
of those in distress, even among the poor and unfortunate who are entirely 
unable to pay. 

Coming down to the early days of Guernsey county, let it be remarked 
that the pioneer doctor was as capable as others of his day and generation 
in Ohio. It is to be regretted that no more complete record of the lives of 
these faithful doctors can be given than is possible to here narrate. 



204 GUERNSEY COUNTY, OHIO. 

PIONEER DOCTORS. 

The following paper was prepared by Dr. Clark A. Moore, of Cam- 
bridge, at the time of the city's centennial — or jubilee — celebration in 1906: 

"This is our centennial, — our jubilee year, — completing as it does the 
first century of our city's existence. It has been, in spite of the financial de- 
pressions and social disorders, the most noted century of the world's history 
in the advancement made in medical science. Investigation and discovery, 
in regard to the nature, causes and prevention of disease, has given the pro- 
fession such a mastery over the ills that afflict mankind that the average 
years of human life have been largely increased. The use of disinfectants 
and anesthetics has made possible and comparatively safe surgical opera- 
tions that would have been, even fifty years ago, impossible and not to be 
attempted. Nevertheless, after all of these discoveries and improvements 
which add so greatly to the happiness and comfort as well as safety of the 
community, and render the practice of the profession so much more certain 
and successful, yet these old doctors who practiced when Cambridge was 
young are worthy of all honor. They contended with difficulties of which 
those of the present time can have little conception. They spent their days 
and often their nights in the saddle, traversing roads scarcely passable, 
through the unbroken wilderness and over bridgeless streams, to minister to 
the humane wants of mankind whenever and wherever needed, and thus 
opened up the way to the more certain, successful and easier practice of today. 
The names of these old doctors would grace the pages of history of Cam- 
bridge — indeed such a history would be incomplete without them. They had 
the respect, love and confidence of their patrons and when the old doctor died 
the people mourned. . 

"Among the earliest of these away back in the twenties, when Cambridge 
was not much of a town, were three Frenchman. Dr. Francis Donchonchett. 
La Rive and Bill. In 1824 Robert Thompson gave this notice to the public : 
'Dr. R. Thompson gives this notice to the public from Crooked creek, Mus- 
kingum county, that he may be found at his residence, one mile east of Proud- 
fit's meeting-house. He will attend to all calls in the line of his profession.' 
He was one of the first physicians along the old Wheeling road from Beumers- 
town to Proudfit's meeting-house, near New Concord. His brother, Dr. John 
B. Thompson, resided in Cambridge and was the defendant in the first mal- 
practice suit in Guernsey county. This action was for failure to reset a 
broken ankle; it was tried in the courts of this county and then taken to the 
supreme court of the state, where Doctor Thompson won the case. Another 



i.i ERNSE'V COUN rv, OHIO. 205 

was the eccentric Dr. John Kell. who practiced among the Irish in the early 
history of Cambridge; he claimed to be a graduate in surgery of t he Royal 
Society of Dublin. 

"Another announcement, in [824, was that of Dr. Thomas Miller, which 
reads thus: 'Dr. Thomas Miller, M. 1).. offers his services to the citizens of 
Cambridge and vicinity. Shop in the brick house lately occupied by Mrs. 
Talbot' [John 1!. Thompson's]. 

"Dr. [gnatius (V Fan-ill located in Cambridge in [831. Drs. S. P. limit 
and J. G. F. Holston, father of Doctor Holston, of Zanesville, were located in 
Cambridge in 1830. Following these came Drs. Milton Green. J. P. Tingle, 
Vincent Haynes, Daniel Ferbache, and S. B. Clark, whom 1 remember as 
being my father's family physician when 1 was a child. Later in the history 
of Cambridge came Drs. Milton Hoge, J. C. Taylor, G. L. Arnold, J. W. 
McCall, and Dr. Andrew Wall, a man whom I esteemed greatly, having twice 
been his pupil in the public schools in my youth, ami later in his office as a 
medical student. His name was a household word in the homes of Guernsey 
county. 

"This brings us down to the present-day physicians. They are all hand- 
some gentlemen and good doctors, and are too well known to the people of 
Cambridge and vicinity to require special mention. This imperfect resume 
shows what magnificent progress has been made in the past hundred years. 
I thank God it has been my lot to live at the close of the nineteenth century. 
It is the golden age of the world. There has been nothing like it in history. 
When our labors close we can depart in peace for our eyes have seen the 
glory of the coming of the Lord." 



The following shows the style of early doctors in advertising: 

"DOCTOR CLARK 

respectfully offers to the citizens of Cambridge and country a continuance of 
his professional services. lie may he found after night at the residence of 
Mr. William McCracken, north of the court house. Office, next door to the 
former office of Miller & Clark. 

"March 24. 1841." — Guernsey Times. 1S41. 



"The undersigned respectfully requests those owing him for medical 
services or otherwise to liquidate either the whole or a part of their indebt- 



206 GUERNSEY COUNTY, OHIO. 

edness, as it is actually necessary that he should have money to pay his own 
as well as the dehts of several other persons which he has unfortunately be- 
come liable for. A few dollars from each person who has received his ser- 
vices, will enable him to meet the demands against him. 

"X. B. — The undersigned returns his thanks to his numerous friends 
fur the liberal patronage he has received since he has resided in Cambridge, 
and informs them and the public generally that he shall continue to practice 
the different branches of his profession. 

"Milton Green. 

"Cambridge, September 6, 1845." 

— Guernsey Times, Oct. 11, 1845. 

That there is nothing new under the sun is fitly shown by the curious- 
advertisements of the early doctors. They widely exploited the efficacy of 
certain medicines or "healers" for the cure or relief of every imaginable ail- 
ment. It was considered that electricity had virtue in the treatment of a wide 
variety of diseases, as is testified by the following advertisement, appearing 
in the Guernsey Times for June 29, 1854. 

"TO THE AFFLICTED. 

"Doctor Barnes, Electropathic Physician and Surgeon, has taken rooms 
in the residence of Mrs. Abell. where, for a short time, he proposes to treat 
persons afflicted with Diseased Eyes, Deafness, Fits, Insanity, Spinal Affec- 
tions, Paralysis. Rheumatism, Dyspepsia, Liver Complaint. Palpitation of the 
Heart, Female Diseases, etc., exclusively by electricity. Those affected with 
any of the above named diseases would do well to call soon at his rooms, and 
inquire into his mode of treatment." 



Of Dr. Andrew Wall, who died in 1898, then the oldest physician in the 
county, the Times in April of that year said, in speaking of his funeral : 

"Dr. Andrew Wall, the veteran physician of Cambridge, whose goings up 
and down the town and country on errands of healing has been the expected 
for over forty years, passed into the borderland last Sabbath morning. April 
17. [898. He was stricken about three weeks before and seemed aware that 
his disease was unto death, that the art of healing was powerless to relieve 
the worn-out body, and that his labors for afflicted humanity were finished. 
He was born in Washington county, Pennsylvania, in 1829. and came to this 
state with his parents. He was educated at Muskingum College. Ann Arbor 
University, and the Ohio Medical College in Cincinnati. He was married to 



lilKKX'SKY IOIXTY 



207 



Miss Bridget Call in [855 and came to Cambridge the same year. Five 
children were born to them, and all survive with the exception of a son, who 
died in infancy. The mother of the family died in the summer of [884. 
The children are Cory L. Wall, the accomplished pharmacist, Miss Lizzie, a 
teacher in our schools, Mrs. Ross E. Moore and Miss Sallie. In recent years 
Doctor Wall married Mrs. Jennie Meredith, who survives him. Dr. David 
Wall, of Indianapolis, and Mrs. Dr. M. Hawes, of Claysville, are the only 
remaining members of the Doctor's immediate family. During the war Doc- 
tor Wall went to the front as surgeon of the Seventy-seventh Ohio Volun- 
teer Infantry and served to the end of the war. He was division surgeon 
of the Baltimore & Ohio railroad, and chief surgeon for the Columbus & 
Marietta road. The funeral took place from his late residence on West 
Eighth street, and was largely attended. The Masonic order, of which he 
was a member, held impressive services at the grave .Monday afternoon. 

"The familiar form of the old family physician, whose presence at the bed- 
side of many of the homes in our city and county brought cheer and hope, has 
vanished from our midst. Who can estimate the self-sacrifice, the labor and 
weariness that over four decades of medical practice may mean. The night 
as well as the day finds him always ready and equipped for the hasty sum- 
mons to relieve the distressed and afflicted, with no tarrying for favorable 
weather conditions. All others wait for fair weather and good roads, hut the 
doctor is generally supposed to wear a coat of mail that is alike impervious 
to the attacks of weather and disease. A busy life is ended. The city paused 
to pay tribute in attending the last sad rites, and fellow teachers extended their 
sympathy to the sorrowing daughter by the dismissal of their schools. The 
grave is closed over him; he sleeps upon the hillside, but many remembrances 
of his services will linger in the homes of Cambridge." 

Dr. Andrew Wall came to this count}- in 1845. "ben sixteen years of 
age. He attended the medical department of the University of Michigan, at 
Ann Arbor, where he laid the foundation for his future medical and surgical 
skill. He completed his studies under the tutorship of that most excellent 
Cambridge physician. Dr. Vincent Haynes, and with him first engaged in 
actual practice. In 1862 he took the degree of Doctor of Medicine at the 
Ohio Medical College at Cincinnati, and then enlisted as assistant surgeon in 
the Seventy-seventh Regiment, Ohio Volunteer Infantry, and one year later 
was promoted to surgeon, which position he held until r866. The next year 
he formed a partnership in medicine with Dr. William Clark, continuing until 
[868. With the passing of the years Doctor Wall devoted many years to 
the practice of his chosen profession and became very skillful. It is believed 



2o8 GUERNSEY COUNTY, OHIO. 

that Doctor Wall was the most eminent physician who ever practiced medi- 
cine and surgery in Guernsey county — so stated by old present-day doctors 
who knew of his life's work. 

Another member of the medical fraternity in this county, but who did not 
long continue in practice, was Dr. Charles Perry Simons, eldest son of John 
White and Hester Ann Simons. He was born at Zanesville in 1842. The 
father was engaged in the iron foundry business, both in Zanesville and 
Cambridge, until he died in 1871. After his death the large business interests 
were carried on by his sons. Doctor Simons came with his parents to Cam- 
bridge in 1855 and was educated for a physician at the University of Mich- 
igan, but had only partly completed his studies when the Civil war broke out. 
He had also taken a course at the Ohio Medical College in Cincinnati, from 
which he graduated in 1863. In the spring of 1862 he was interrupted by the 
war cry and became an assistant surgeon. He was able, apt and quick to 
act. He was said to have been the youngest assistant surgeon in the United 
States army when he entered the Union ranks. He was later made acting 
surgeon for the Fourteenth Army Corps. He was with General Sherman on 
that famous "March to the Sea," and when mustered out was tendered a 
good position in the regular army at Washington, but declined. 

His father's death in 1871 changed his life plans somewhat and he had 
much to do with conducting the foundry business in company with his elder 
brothers. His practice thus interfered with, he finally became a specialist as a 
surgeon and treated eye and ear diseases. He was quite a politician and ran 
for state senator on the Republican ticket, and was defeated, but cut down 
the Democratic majority largely. He had congressional ambitions and doubt- 
less would have been the candidate had the district not been changed at that 
date. 

Dr. Samuel Hunt, father of Hon. Samuel Hunt, lived on the lot of 
recent years occupied by Richardson & Shairer's block, West Wheeling ave- 
nue. He sold his place to Dr. Milton Green and moved to Morrow, Butler 
county, Ohio, in 1843. The interesting account of his removal by flat-boat 
down the waters of Wills creek, Muskingum river to the mouth of the Little 
Miami and so on to Morrow, is given elsewhere in this book. 

Dr. William K. Bolan, who practiced at Cumberland since 1879. was a 
graduate of Columbus Medical College. His ancestors were from Virginia, 
and the son was born in Loudoun county, that state. November 5. 1S57. 
He began teaching school when sixteen years old, and began to study medi- 
cine in his eighteenth year, in Columbus, graduating in 1879, and moving 
to Cumberland began what proved to be a successful practice of medicine. 



GUERNSEY COUNTY, OHIO. 20() 

Among- the most prominent physicians within Guernsey county was Dr. 
Noah Hill, of Senecaville. He was born in Westmoreland county, Pennsyl- 
vania, in 1809 and died in Senecaville, Ohio, in 1894. He came of good old 
Revolutionary stock, of German ancestry, which went back further into 
France and were among the Huguenots. The Doctor graduated from the Cin- 
cinnati Medical College in 1833. lie came to Senecaville and formed a part- 
nership with Doctor Baldwin, who died in 1844. Up to 1862 Doctor Hill 
practiced alone, but then his son was admitted to practice with his father. 
The young Hill was named John. Later the father was with Dr. W. Scott 
until 1887, after which the good Doctor did but little except an office prac- 
tice. He was a noted politician and his views on the slavery question caused 
him to leave the Methodist church and join the Wesleyan church. He was 
first a Whig, then later a Free-soiler and last a Republican. He cast one of 
the first three Abolition votes in Guernsey county, and assisted many a slave 
in getting over the "underground railway" north into Canada and to freedom. 

Dr. Harry W. Holmes began the practice of medicine in Cumberland in 
the spring of 1883, being a graduate from Columbus Medical College. He 
descended from an old English family who settled in Virginia. Harry \Y. 
was born in Newport, Sauk county, Wisconsin, in 1855. His youth was 
passed in Cumberland, Ohio. He clerked in his father's store and began the 
study of medicine in 1877 with Dr. Charles Draper. He graduated from 
the Baltimore Medical College in 1883. He became a bright Mason and fre- 
quently contributed to medical journals. Politically he was a Republican. 

Dr. Jonathan A. Kackley has been a leading physician at old Point Pleas- 
ant (Pleasant City) since 1882, when he graduated from Columbus Medical 
College and had attended Michigan University, giving him a double course in 
medicine. He was born in 1857 in what was Buffalo township, this county, 
and from his earliest days desired to become a physician and has succeeded 
well in his chosen role, as physician and surgeon. 

Dr. Thomas J. Miller, of Kimbolton, this county, was four years en- 
gaged in merchandising there and served as mayor of the village, lie was 
born in Antrim, this county, in 1849, tne son °f David L. Miller and wife. 
He followed school teaching for a time after be reached manhood. Taking 
up the study of medicine in the seventies, he graduated from the Columbus 
Medical College in 1878, and first located in Kansas, where he practiced until 
1886. when he entered the Cincinnati Medical College, taking a full course 
there, and then went to Topeka, Kansas, but on account of illness returned 
to this county and practiced in Cambridge for a number of years. He was 

(14) 



2IO GUERNSEY COUNTY, OHIO. 

again incapacitated on account of sickness and retired from medicine and 
engaged in business in company with W. C. McConaughey. 

Dr. Winfield Scott, who has been so well known as the family physician 
at the village of Senecaville for many years, was born in 1848 on his father's 
farm. He graduated from the Normal University at Lebanon, Ohio, taking 
a practical English and scientific course, ending it in 1872, gaining a Bache- 
lor of Arts degree. He then taught school three years and took up medi- 
cine by entering the office of Doctor Wall of Cambridge. He spent a year 
at Ann Arbor. Michigan, and one year at the Cincinnati Medical College, 
graduating from that school in 1877. He then located at Point Pleasant, this 
county, going to Senecaville in 1879, where he had for a partner Dr. Noah 
Hill. Later he practiced alone. 

Dr. Charles R. Austin, one of Byesville's practicing physicians, has come 
to be one of the busiest citizens of the town. As early as 1907 he was a mem- 
ber of the board of education; secretary of the Artificial Stone Company; 
postmaster of Byesville; an active member of the improvement committee, 
of the Merchants and Professional Men's Club; a member of the Knights of 
Pythias lodge, the Elks Club of Cambridge and alive to all the interests of his 
home town. 

EARLY GUERNSEY COUNTY PHYSICIANS. 

By careful research in old files and from the memory of pioneer doctors, 
the following list has been compiled of the doctors who practiced here in the 
long ago years. The dates opposite the name indicate that they were in 
practice, at least at that date : 

1826 — Dr. A. C. Thompson, Cambridge. 

1837 — Dr. J. C. McCollough, Claysville and Cambridge. 

1837— Dr. S. P. Hunt. Cambridge. 

1837— Dr. T. Nichol. Washington. 

1 84 1 — Dr. Thomas Miller. Cambridge. 

1837 — Dr. Cope, Middletown, formerly Cadiz (botanical). 

1840 — Dr. Milton Green, Antrim, later Cambridge; he became one of 
the leading doctors of the county. 

1841 — Dr. James Green, Cambridge. 

1841— Dr. S. B. Clark, Cambridge. 

1838— Dr. J. McFarland, Washington. 

1833 — Dr. William Bradshaw. Fairview. 

1835 — Dr. J. G. F. Holston, Cambridge, became house physician to tbe 
White House for President Lincoln's family. 



GUERNSEY COUNTY, OHIO. 211 

1839— Dr. John P. Tingle, Cambridge. 

1833 — Dr. Enos Thomas, Washington. 

1832 — Dr. John B. Thompson, Cambridge. 

1832 — Dr. I. O'Farrall, Cambridge. 

1832 — Dr. J. G. Moore, Cambridge. 

1833 — Dr. Andrew Patterson, Washington. 

1825 — Dr. C. A. Harris, Cambridge. 

1 84 7— Dr. J. T. Clark, Cambridge. 

[853— Dr. M. K. Wright, Millwood. 

1853 — Vincent Haynes, Cambridge. He finally practiced law and died 
at Cambridge. 

1853 — Drs. McConnell and Bell, Middletown. 

1853— Dr. W. S. Bell, Middletown. 

[854 — Dr. R. S. Barr, Cambridge. 

1856 — Dr. Andrew Wall, Cambridge — see sketch. 

1857 — Dr. Milton Hoge, Cambridge, where he died. 

1857 — Dr. J. Dunbar, Cambridge, now a corporation lawyer at Steuben- 
ville, Ohio. 

Very early — Dr. J. Baldridge, Senecaville, a noted doctor and Aboli- 
tionist connected with "underground railway." 

Very early — Dr. Ferguson, Senecaville. 

Before the war of the Rebellion and later, was Dr. Charles P. Simons, 
now of Caldwell, Ohio, practicing. 

Dr. William E. Bolan. 

Dr. Noah Hill, Senecaville. 

Dr. John Hill, Senecaville. 

Dr. Winfield Scott, died in 1909. 

Dr. Crumbaker, died in Antrim. 

Dr. Alpin, Claysville, an old time doctor. 

Dr. Ilawes. Claysville, died about 1904; had been an army surgeon in 
Civil war. 

Dr. Chapman. Washington. 

Dr. Ray, Washington. 

Dr. Draper. Cumberland. He was a fine horseman and proud man. 

Dr. Teeters, Pleasant City, a noted doctor of his day. 

Dr. Connor, Cumberland. 

Dr. Bel ford. Pleasant City. 

Dr. George Tingle, Pleasant City. 

Dr. Forbes. Bvesville. 



212 GUERNSEY COUNTY, OHIO. 

Dr. Milton Shafer, Senecaville. 

Dr. Vincent Ferguson, Pleasant City. 

Dr. Romans, Quaker City. 

Dr. Brashear, Lore City, still living. 

Dr. Day, old-time doctor at Birmingham, deceased. 

Dr. W. M. George, Cambridge, died in 1904. 

Dr. Chapman, Hopewell, died 1910. 

Dr. Speers, a year or so at Cambridge and moved away. 

EARLIEST PHYSICIANS. 

Perhaps none of the above came before the following: Away back in 
the twenties, came Dr. Francis Donchonchett, Dr: La Rive and Doctor Bill, all 
three Frenchmen. These were probably about the pioneer doctors to locate 
here. Possibly a few may have practiced before the above named, but no one 
seems now to recall such. 

PRESENT-DAY PHYSICIANS. 

In 1910 the physicians of the county in active practice are as follows: 
In Cambridge—A. R. Cain, W. N. Bradford, W. B. Young, R. H. 
Cramer, H. L. Wells, N. M. Dewees, L. C. Wells, C. A. Frame, E. E. Vorhies, 
F. Harrison, H. W. Sims, A. B. Headley, T. H. Rowles, George W. Hixon, 
L. M. Ross, C. R. Johnson, I. W. Keenan, F. W. Lane, W. G. Lane, O. F. 
Lowry, F. M. Mitchell, C. A. Moore, H. H. Price, W. T. Ramsey, A. G. 
Ringer, C. D. Romans. 

W. B. Rosmond, Millinersville; B. A. Sauders, Winterset; Dr. E. E. 
Bird, Lore City; Dr. H. W. Arndt, Lore City; Dr. C. Bates, Senecaville; Dr. 
R. H. Cleary, Senecaville; Dr. J. E. Robins, Buffalo (Hartford) ; Dr. O. S. 
Bay, Quaker City; Dr. S. G. Bay, Quaker City; Dr. G. W. Jones, Quaker 
City; Dr. J. B. Hollingworth, Quaker City; Dr. J. W. White, Salesville; Dr. 
D. L. Cowden, Kimbolton; Dr. William Lawyer, Kimbolton; Dr. Charles R. 
Austin, Byesville; Dr. A. E. Fletcher, Byesville; Dr. J. E. Patton, Byes- 
ville ; Doctor Sprague, Byesville ; Dr. George C. Taylor, Claysville ; Dr. E. L. 
Lowthian, "Dogtown" (Mines) ; Dr. W. K. Bolon, Cumberland; Dr. H. W. 
Holmes, Cumberland ; Dr. A. E. Walters, Cumberland ; Dr. H. H. Bown, 
Pleasant City; Dr. J. A. Kackley, Pleasant City; Dr. D. F. Wallenfetz, Pleas- 
ant City; Dr. W. W. Lawrence, Antrim; Dr. G. M. Witherspoon, Fairview; 
Dr. G. H. Stout, Middletown ; Dr. A. J. Arnold, Middletown; Doctor Thomp- 
son, Washington. 







1,1 ERNSEY 


COUNTY, i 


hi in. 






213 


Aside fn 


,„, the 


regular and h« 


imeopathic 


physic 


•ians in Gu< 


irnsey 


county, 


as just named 


, there 


is an osteopath 


doctor in ( 


ambr 


idge, Dr. J, 


E. da 


hie. and 


an eye Special 


ist, Dr. 


II. A. Green, 


of Cambri 


dge. 









MEDIC \l. SOCIETIES. 

In common with every county in the state, Guernsey has had her full 
share of medical societies, associations and academies. The earliest we have 
any definite knowledge of was in operation in [838. Its president was Dr. 
II. II. Evans and the secretary was Dr. S. I',. Clark. 

At a meeting of this society in November. 1838, the full,. wing fee hill 
was adopted : 

"For per l'i inning capital operations, such as ampu- 
tating the extremities, trepanning, etc., each.. $20.00 
"For reducing fractures and dislocations of the 

lower extremities 10.00 

"For reducing fractures and dislocations of the 

upper extremities 5.00 

"For attending parturient cases in town 4.00 

"For attending" twin parturient cases in town 8.00 

"For consultation in town 5.00 

"For visit and medicine, within one mile 1.25 

"For attendance and medicine in town, per diem. . 1.00 

"For every mile over the first in daylight 37 

"For every mile over the first at night 50 

"For prescribed doses of medicine, each 25 

"For extracting teeth, each 25 

"For bleeding 2$ 

"H. II. Evans, President. 
"S. B. Clark, Secretary." 

After a number of years this medical society went down and in t88o. or 
about that year, the Guernsey County Medical Society (number two) was 
organized by a new set of physicians and was made up of the following phy- 
sicians: Doctor Boyd, of Kimbolton ; Doctor Cain, of Senecaville: Doctor 
Clark, of Middletown; Doctor McPherson, of Cambridge: Doctor Henry, of 
Washington; Doctor Patton, of Washington: Dr. John Hill, of Senecaville; 
Doctor Romans, of Quaker City; Doctor Gildea, of New Gottenger; Doctor 
Tingle, of Cambridge. 



214 GUERNSEY COUNTY, OHIO. 

This continued until about 1883, when a new society was formed, known 
as the Guernsey County Academy of Medicine, whose constituent members 
were: Doctors McPherson, Miller, both of Cambridge; Doctor Gildea, of 
New Gottenger; Doctor Ramsey, of Cambridge; Doctor Cain, of Senecaville; 
Doctor Scott, of Senecaville; Doctor Boyd, of Kimbolton; Doctor Rosmond, 
of Birmingham. 

After a varied experience, this society served its day and went out of 
commission. 

In 1904 the present Guernsey County Medical Society was formed. Its 
present officers are Doctor Frame, of Cambridge, president; Doctor Mitchell, 
of Cambridge, secretary, and Doctor Headley, of the same city, treasurer. 
Monthly meetings are kept up and much interest is manifested by the medical 
fraternity. The present membership will be seen by the subjoined list of 
physicians who belong to the society : Doctors Patton and Sprague, of Byes- 
ville, and these, all from Cambridge : Drs. William Bradford, A. F. Cain, 
Cornelius A. Frame, Frederick Harrison, Albert Headley, G. W. Hixon, 
Isaac W. Keenan, Fred W. Lane, W. G. Lane, F. O. Lowry, Frank M. 
Mitchell, Clark A. Moore, William T. Ramsey, T. H. Bowles, E. E. Vorhies. 

keenan's hospital. 

Cambridge has the benefits of a first-rate hospital, a private institution 
where surgical operations, especially, are performed with great skill. When 
Dr. Isaac W. Keenan located at Quaker City in 1899, he established a hospital 
at that point, but in 1905 he took a special course in surgery at the Chicago 
Post-Graduate School and in the autumn of 1906 removed his hospital from 
Quaker City to Cambridge, locating on the corner of Ninth street and Com- 
ber avenue. He gave up ordinary medical practice and devotes his entire 
time to his private hospital, where he has won a great reputation and has 
cases from all parts of Ohio and adjoining states. He now has trained nurses 
and they, in turn, teach the art of nursing to others. He is assisted greatly 
by his capable wife. The city is fortunate, indeed, in securing such an insti- 
tution, for in a manufacturing center and railroad place the demand for a 
near-by hospital is great. 



CHAPTER XV. 

THE NEWSPAPERS OF GUERNSEY COUNTY. 

Since the introduction of the printing press, all civilized portions of 
the globe have employed them for the dissemination of intelligence from one 
class to another. Perhaps it goes undisputed that the art of printing and the 
invention of the printing press has been the greatest discovery in way of use- 
ful, universal achievements the world has so far discovered. Without going 
into the history of the invention, or what it has accomplished in all branches 
of man's purposes to elevate and enlighten, and to Christianize mankind, 
the writer will at once go at the task of outlining the various newspapers that 
have from time to time been published within the limits of Guernsey county. 
If any are omitted it is through ignorance and not neglect or intention, but 
likely there may have been papers run for a short period which have escaped 
the author's mind, with the passing of so many years. 

The first newspaper published in Guernsey county was the Guernsey 
Times. A history of this paper is given below. 

The first Democratic newspaper in the county was the Washington Re- 
publican, established at Washington in 1826 by Messrs. Hull and Robb. Mr. 
Hull dropped out in 1827 and Jacob Robb was sole proprietor. It was sus- 
pended fur a time, but in 1838 resumed publication and changed its name to 
the Democratic Star, which the wicked Whigs called the "Dog Star." Its 
editor was Peter B. Ankney. It continued until 1847 an( l was tnen succeeded 
by the Jeffersonian, by Gill & Leach. The Jeffersonian is the same as that 
still published at Cambridge, having passed down through various hands. The 
chain is about as follows: Arthur T. Clark had it in 1850; Lewis Baker 
edited the paper in the first years of the Civil war. and was succeeded as pro- 
prietor by Charles E. Mitchner, who ran for Congress. Following him came 
George McClelland, who was the successful man at the head of the paper 
until he was succeeded by John Kirkpatrick, who sold to John M. Amos 111 
January, 1886. and in company with his sons still edits and owns the Jef- 
fersonian. 

The daily Jeffersonian was established as the first real daily publication 
in the county. The date of its starting was in 189 1. since which time it has 



2l6 GUERNSEY COUNTY, OHIO. 

not missed an issue on a week day. The weekly is now on its seventy-ninth 
volume and the daily on its nineteenth volume. It is one of Ohio's cleanest, 
most newsy newspapers, and it is an honor to the newspaper fraternity of this 
county and the entire state. 

Lewis Baker, editor of the Jeifersonian, carried under a subhead through- 
out the Civil war these words : "Our country — may she ever be right. But, 
right or wrong — our country. We are a unit; party feeling has been entirely 
sunk all over the North. Political parties now rally to the defense of the 
Union and Constitution and under this banner every true man worthy the 
name American citizen can fight with a good heart — we are a unit." 

In 1862, his motto was, "The Union as it was — the Constitution as it is. 
The Union of lakes, the Union of lands — the Union of States none can sever 
— the Union of hearts — the Union of hands — the American Union forever." 

Before the Civil war — in 1850 — the following appeared as heads of edi- 
torials in September of that year, and serve to show that the Jcffcrsouiau has 
ever been alert to the interests of the party and the taxpayers of this county : 
"Against Railroad Subscriptions," "The Funded System," "Look Out for De- 
ception," "Old Federalism Sticking Out," "Stop that Falsehood," "The Great- 
est Fraud of the Age." Then these questions are submitted: "Farmers of 
Guernsey county, are your taxes already high enough? Have they become op- 
pressive? Then let all vote against railroad subscription." "Are the land- 
holders of Guernsey county prepared to mortgage their lands to money lend- 
ers to the amount of one hundred thousand dollars? Their vote against rail- 
road subscription." 

THE GUERNSEY TIMES. 

The Guernsey Times was founded by J. Aitken, at Cambridge, the first 
number being dated September 18, 1824. The subscription price was set at 
one dollar and fifty cents, if paid within thirty days after the time of sub- 
scribing; two dollars, if paid within six months, or two dollars and fifty 
cents if not paid until after the expiration of six months. Advertisements 
not exceeding a "square" were inserted three times for one dollar, twenty- 
five cents for each subsequent insertion. The first volume of the Times 
was not much larger than an ordinary office ledger. The paper consisted of 
four pages, each of four columns of leaded brevier, embellished with the 
atrocious woodcuts which were then in the height of popularity, and was 
made up mainly of foreign and political news, with now and then a local item. 
The advertisements were for the greater part demands for money by many 
of the merchants, coupled with threats of legal procedure, and a list of articles 
■which would be taken in lieu of coin, which was at that time extremelv scarce. 



GUERNSEY COUNTY, OHIO. 2\~ 

The first volume closed with the number dated ( )ctober 15, 1825, at which 
time the paper passed out of the hands of Aitken and became the property of 
Col. Cyrus P. Beatty, who successfully conducted it up to the time of his 
death, December 17, 1827. after which publication was continued b\ his 
widow. Colonel Beatty, upon assuming- control, enlarged the paper to five 
columns, and greatly improved the typography and general appearance of tin- 
sheet. The published terms of the paper were as follows: 

"The Guernsey Times will be published one a week, on a super-royal 
sheet, and good type, at one dollar and fifty cents per annum, if paid in ad- 
vance, or within three months after commencing, two dollars if paid before 
the expiration of the year, and two dollars and fifty cents if paid after the 
expiration of the year. One-half of the subscription will be received in prod- 
uce at market price, if delivered within the current year, or the whole, if paid 
in rags. Xo paper discontinued, except at the option of the editor, until all 
arrearages are paid. Xo subscription taken for less than a year, unless men- 
tioned at the time of subscribing, and paid for in advance, at the rate of two 
dollars per annum, and a failure to notify a discontinuance before the term 
expires shall be considered as a new engagement. Advertisements by the 
year, inserted at Pittsburg prices." 

The plant passed successively through the hands of Nicholas Bailhache 
I February 1, [828, to 1830), John Hersh, Jr. (May 1, 1830, to May 18, 1833, 
when it became John Hersh & Co.), John Hersh, Jr., and D. M. McPherson 
( as Guernsey Times ami Ohio Gazette, from about April 20, 1832, to April 
12, 1833). It is probable that after the dissolution of the partnership existing 
between Hersh and McPherson, the business was conducted by John Hersh. 
Jr., until the issue of March 8, 1834, when the firm became Hersh & Weirich, 
the new partner being C. E. Weirich. With the number for November 20, 

1834. the paper again became the sole property of John Hersh. Jr., who con- 
tinued publication until December 13, 1834, when the name was changed 
from The Guernsey Times ami Ohio Gazette to The Guernsey Times and 
Farmers' ami Mechanics' Advocate, and became the property of William W. 
Tracev. The paper flourished under Tracey. and when sold on December 12, 

1835, to John A. Beatty, had attained to very respectable proportions and typo- 
graphic excellence. 

Beatty was succeeded on July 2. 1836. by Lambert Thomas, who was 
a prominent character in early Whig days. June 17. 1837, the firm became 
Lambert & J. S. Thomas, but the paper retained the same caption and sul>- 
head. June 9, 1838, Lambert Thomas again assumed entire control, and con- 
tinued publication until December 7, 1839, when W. R. Allison became edi- 



2l8 GUERNSEY COUNTY, OHIO. 

tor and publisher. Allison, during his brief editorship, made but few changes 
in the appearance of the paper, the most important being his substitution of 
the motto : "One Country, one Constitution, one Destiny," the famous decla- 
ration of Daniel Webster, in place of the former sub-head, "Fanners' and Me- 
chanics' Advocate." Allison was succeeded, March 21, 1840, by Charles J. 
Albright, who probably held his position longer than any of the editors who 
had preceded him, his resignation taking effect in the twenty-first year of the 
Times. He was succeeded by Messrs. Hatton and Green, who were editors 
jointly for a short time, when, with the number for March 20, 1846, the plant 
became the sole property of Richard Hatton, Mr. Green retiring from the 
newspaper field. 

Richard Hatton sold the Times establishment to its former owner, C. J. 
Albright, in the spring of 1849, when the subhead became, "Let all the ends 
thou aimst at be thy country's, thy God's, and Truth's." 

Albright kept it until December 28, 1854, when he sold it to Moses and 
C. P. B. Sarchet. In 1856 the plant passed into the hands of J. C. Douglas, 
who conducted it until January 1, 1862, who then enlisted in the Union army. 
He sold to Joseph D. Taylor and W. H. F. Lenfesty, and it remained in the 
Taylor family up to within a short time. David D. Taylor was at the head of 
the paper in the eighties and was still at his task in 1910, when he died. A 
sketch of this manly man will appear in the biographical section of this work. 

The chain of owners of the Times, then, has been as above mentioned 
down to the time the Taylor family took it. From that time on, Taylor & 
Lenfesty controlled it until 1874, when David D. Taylor acquired an interest 
amounting to one-half its value, and in 1890 he purchased the balance 
and was sole owner up to his death. Upon his decease, the Taylor boys man- 
aged it until a few months had passed, when Prof. J. M. Carr and others 
bought the property of Mrs. Taylor, and Mr. Carr became its editor and man- 
ager. This only lasted for a few months as, on November 8, 1905, the 
Guernsey Times Company was organized by Judge W. H. Gregg and others 
who have the property at this date (November, 1910). This has been one of 
the most influential local papers in Ohio and has fought many a political con- 
flict, though in a manly manner. Should the present management make as 
good a record as have the men who have been behind the editorial desk in the 
more than four score years of the paper's history, they will indeed be for- 
tunate. 

The Times has long since been a weekly and daily combined, and has 
visted the homes of many thousands of the people of Guernsey and adjoining 
counties. Long live the Times! 



GUERNSEY COUNTY, 210. 

The only surviving son of Lambert Thomas, who was for main years 
prominent in Cambridge affairs, and formerly editor of the Guernsey Times, 
Joseph Sterling Thomas, who died December i. [910, at Cambridge, was a 
well known resident of this city. Mr. Thomas was educated as an art and 
literary student, having studied in the greatest cities of the world, lie was 
horn at Zahesville, Ohio, but in verj earl) childhood was taken to Philadel- 
phia, where his natural fancy and affinity for the arts led to rapid advance- 
ment. So marvelous was his skill, and so great his aptitude, that it was de- 
cided to give him the advantage of foreign study. After graduating from 
the Pennsylvania Academy of Fine Arts, he went abroad to continue 1 1 i^ 
studies. His private preceptors were Thomas P. Otter. George L. P.ensell. 
Stephen Ferris and Joseph Bailly, the eminent French sculptor. Me remained 
in Europe during the years 1S7S-7C). In London he studied diligently along 
loth art and literary lines, and produced many pictures which were highly 
commended by noted artists and critics. He also contributed widely to news- 
papers and magazines, being an able writer as well as an artist. Upon his re- 
turn to Philadelphia, he was robbed of a choice and interesting collection of 
pictures, models, vases, has-reliefs. and liric-a-lirac. by disreputable persons 
who visited his studio. 

Mr. Thomas was a direct descendant of Judge Gomher. one of the 
founders of Cambridge, and of John Afordby Beatty, father of Col. Cyrus 
Parkinson Beatty. Gomber's brother-in-law and business partner. The 
Afordhy-Beattys are old Virginia and Maryland stock of great antiquity and 
distinction. 

Mr. Thomas regarded as his most unique experience the occasion upon 
which, at an early age. he penetrated through the Black Hills to the base of 
the Rocky mountains, after roaming through the wilds of Nebraska, Colo- 
rado, Montana, Dakota, etc., walking a distance of one thousand miles in six 
weeks. 

Mr. Thomas died of heart failure in his bed at the American 1 louse where 
he was taken the night of his death. 

people's tress. 

Tlic People's Press was established by Wes. Dunifer and later it was con- 
ducted by J. F. Solmon and he changed it to the Cambridge Democrat. Still 
later it was bought by a stock company of which J. R. Barr was manager and 
editor, and conducted as the Republican-Press, the same style as it is now 
known and run at present by the Times company, as a weekly family paper of 



220 GUERNSEY COUNTY, OHIO. 

much merit. It is newsy, up-to-date and clean. It dates from 1885 and con- 
sequently is now in its twenty-fifth year. 

A CURIOUS EDITORIAL. 

Shortly after J. C. Douglas had assumed the editorship of the Guernsey 
Times, the following amusing editorial appeared, in the issue for July 24, 
1856: 

"Bring Back My Boots! ! ! 

"Yes, you thieving buccaneer, bring back my boots. Verily, editors are 
a persecuted race. Scarcely have I gotten seated upon the tripod, when some 
thieving rascal, without the fear of God, man, devil or printer before his eyes, 
steals my boots. May they corn his toes, pinch his feet, palsy his hands, and 
when he goes to draw them on. may the straps break, and let him fall over 
backwards and break his 'cussed' neck, and thus escape the hangman, if he 
don't bring them back." 

In the issue of the Guernsey Times for March 8, 1834, when Hersh and 
Weirich were proprietors, appears the following : 

"Acknowledgment. — We are indebted to the Hon. Daniel Webster for 
a copy of his speech in Senate of U. States, on the Deposit Question — 
also a copy of his Report, as Chairman of the Finance Committee, on the 
same subject — both in pamphlet form — for which he will please accept our 
thanks." 

THE CAMBRIDGE HERALD. 

The Cambridge Herald was established as a weekly Republican news- 
paper about 1868, by Mr. Farrar, who a few years later sold to W. B. Hutchin- 
son and finally, after several changes, in 1882 became the property of Messrs. 
Mahaffev and Ogier, when it became an independent paper and was thus con- 
ducted for a period of twenty-eight years, or until sold in August, 1910, to 
\Y. < ). Moore, who is the present editor and proprietor, with the veteran news- 
paper man, C. L. Blackburn, as associate editor. It has been a clean, spicy, 
home paper, published each week, giving the most important news of city, 
county, state and nation. In connection with this paper, there is a first-class 
job department. Its weekly visits are highly appreciated by a large and in- 
creasing patronage. 

During the more than a quarter of a century that Mr. Mahaffev was con- 
ducting- the paper, he was four times a candidate for public office, but in all 
that time he never had his name flaunted in his paper and was independent in 



all things. And for this, he was popular and hold office in his state, showing 
that the masses believe in a citizen who "blows not his own horn." 

OTHER CAMBRIDGE NEWSPAPERS. 

The Sun was another newspaper that in its day cut considerable figure in 
this county. It was established by S. M. Johnson, now of Fairview, and was 
once the property of Lykes, Ferbache & Hyatt; then Lykes run it alone for 
about eight years, when it went down. It was independent in politics, and 
was under its various managements edited usually by Mr. Blackburn, now as- 
sociate editor of the Cambridge Herald. It was published up to within a few 
years and was a home paper of decided opinions as to the propriety of local 
matters, and the temperance cause especially. 

Other journals of more or less importance were the News and Republican, 
that merged with the Times, and an educational publication edited by Prof. 
McBurney for many years and finally removed to another part of Ohio and 
still a standard educational publication. 

NEWSPAPERS AT PLEASANT CITY. 

The first attempt at sustaining a newspaper in Pleasant City was in the 
establishment of the Record, by S. O. Riggs, and following him came the 
News, by A. T. Secrest. neither one of which had a long or very eventful 
career. 

The third newspaper in the place was founded by H. W. Kackley and 
tin's was styled the Citizen, which was rather short-lived, as had been its two 
predecessors. 

Idie fourth paper founded was the Leader, by H. D. Flanagan, who 
started his paper on October 31, 1905, and continued only nine weeks. It 
was launched under the name of the "Pleasant City Printing Company," non- 
political. Xot having been entered as second class matter, a cent a paper had 
to be attached as postage on same and still the circulation had reached five 
hundred and fifty and every inch of advertising space was taken. Failing to 
secure second class rates in time to justify its further publication, the paper 
was discontinued. 

A church publication, styled the Parishiniire, or some similar title, was 
established at Pleasant City in 1904, by W. F. Birely and Rev. C. F. Floto, 
but this did not continue very long. 

The next publication Was the present newspaper founded by the present 



222 GUERNSEY COUNTY, OHIO. 

proprietor, C. L. Stranathan. This is the Recorder founded in February, 1907, 
It is the best paper ever published in the village. It is now an eight-page, 
seven-column paper, filled with spicy local news and general political and 
world-wide news. Its advertising patronage is excellent and the mechanical 
appearance is seldom surpassed in so small a place as Pleasant City. The 
latest machinery is employed in printing this paper, together with an excellent 
grade of job work. 

BYESVILLE NEWSPAPERS. 

The first newspaper here, as is usually the case, was not of long duration. 
About ninety per cent fail as did this paper. Two papers were launched onto 
the sea of local journalism here before the founding of the present excellent 
paper, the Enterprise. It was November 1, 1899, when L. W. Smith, backed 
by D. S. Burt and aided by E. E. Green, established the Enterprise. From 
that date until 1900 it was published at home, but printed at Cambridge on the 
Republican presses. Then it was purchased by its present owner, who moved 
his own plant from Marietta and permanently located at Byesville. July 20, 
1905, it was sold to Ella M. Beer, who died soon after, and in order to protect 
the interests he still held in the business, the present owner was compelled to 
take it back in October, 1906. It is now conducted under the head of the 
Enterprise Printing Company, with J. A. Skinner as manager and proprietor. 
It is Republican in politics, a lively local chronicler of all that is fit to be pub- 
lished, but never sensational. It is a six-column, eight-page paper, well 
edited and finely printed on a power press. It enjoys a large circulation and 
its job department is always full of paying jobs, which formerly went abroad. 
It has performed its part in the upbuilding of Byesville. 

CUMBERLAND NEWSPAPERS. 

The enterprising town of Cumberland is now supplied with one thorough- 
ly up-to-date newspaper, the Echo, established in September, 1885, by W. A. 
Reedle. The present proprietor is W. G. Nichols, who has been at the helm 
since 1898. Others who have owned and operated the enterprise of paper 
publishing here have been, Johnson & Frisby, Albert Johnson, Miss May 
Stranathan and H. A. Goodrich. It was originally called the Cumberland 
Ncii's. It is independent in politics. The mechanical department is modern. 
Job printing is executed in excellent style on a Cincinnati jobber, while the 
Echo is printed on a Fairhaven cylinder press. This local journal chronicles 
all the news of this section of the "Kingdom of Guernsey" that is fit to be put 



i.i ERNSEY COUNTY, OH [O. 22$ 

in type. 1 lis patronage is good, but should be materially increased, when one 
considers the amount of work put upon the publication. 

QUAKER CITY PAPERS. 

The Quaker City Independent was established in 1875 by J. D. Olmstead 
& Son. In 1882 it was bought by J. \Y. & A. B. Hill, then the youngest news- 
paper firm in Ohio. The paper is well received by a large patronage, as a 
clean, bright, newsy journal of local and editorial writings of all the current 

events. 



CHAPTER XVI. 



iAXKS AND BANKING. 



In all commercial countries, the banking business is established about as 
soon as there is a demand for it. Especially of later years in the history of 
this country, where the monetary system has been on such an excellent standard 
as in the United States for the last half century. Private banks, state banks 
and United States banks, and the various laws controlling them, have all 
been subjects of much legislation, and while with the latest innovation of the 
postal savings bank system, just established in this country, there are many 
things yet to be corrected and improved, it is the pride of our nation that one 
kind of our money is worth as much now as another. It matters not whether 
one have in his possession a private bank bill, a state bank bill, a greenback 
issue, a gold or silver certificate, or any kind of metal money, silver, gold or 
alloyed coins, — one is as good as another, "for all debts, public and private, 
except for customs or interest on the public debt," and are taken at par the 
world over in the exchange banks and great money centers. The small per 
cent asked for exchanging one kind of money for another, on going abroad, is 
a mere trifle. 

But these things were not always so. In the first half of the last century, 
and until the resumption of specie payment, after the Civil war had ended, 
gold was held at a high premium over silver and paper notes. In war times 
gold reached almost three dollars on the Wall street markets, and was quoted, 
from day to day, as regularly as wheat, corn, cotton and iron are today. That 
is to say, the five-dollar gold piece was worth fifteen dollars, or nearly so. in 
paper. 

Many of our older citizens well recall the days of "wild cat" and state 
bank money, when no one could tell what the actual purchasing power of the 
bills he might have one day would be the next day. "Red dog" bills — Mich- 
igan, Ohio. Wisconsin, Illinois and Iowa bank bills — fluctuated from a shilling 
up to near, but seldom, par value. It was difficult to transact business on 
such flimsy money and many a man went down on account of the poor system 
of banking that then obtained from one end of this country to another. Other 
reference to these things will be found elsewhere in this chapter. 



GUERNSEY COUNTY, OHIO. 225 

The following is taken from the Guernsey Times, dated March 5, [842, 
and will illustrate this point quite well. J. W. Potwin was a general dealer in 
Cambridge, at the time, and inserted this notice in the home paper for the 
purpose of drawing more trade : 

"Notice — The following Bank Bills will be taken for goods at a dis- 
count, viz: German Bank of Wooster, Farmers Bank of Canton, Bank of 
Granville, Bank of Urbana, both Cleveland banks, State Bank and Bank of 
Illinois, Miami Exporting Company, Bank of Hamilton." 

The Times of February 3, 1844 — three or four years before this county 
had a bank — contained the following notice: 

BANK NOTES. 

"The notes of the non-specie paying banks sell in Cincinnati at the follow- 
ing rates : 

"Com. bk., Scioto 10 clis. Cleveland 25 dis. 

"Lancaster 10 dis. Miami Ex. Co 35 dis. 

"Hamilton 10 dis. Urbana 45 dis. 

"Lake Erie 12^2' Granville 70 dis. 



"State Bank 40 dis. Shawneetown 45 dis. 



"State Bank and Branches. . . .par. Scrip 20 dis. 

MICHIGAN. 

"St. Clair, payable at Newark, passes at par — but not taken for taxes. 
"The notes of all solvent banks in other states generally pass at par." 

AN OLD BANK DETECTOR. 

"Capt. A. A. Taylor has received from his cousin. Mr. Bruce Taylor, of 
Wooster, a copy of Kennedy's (late Sibert's) Bank Note Record and Fac- 
simile Counterfeit Detector, bearing the date of 1853. anc ' published monthlj 
beginning in 1837. It contains a list of all the banks then existing in the 



226 GUERNSEY COUNTY, OHIO. 

United States. The Guernsey branch of the Ohio State Bank was then the 
only state bank in Guernsey county, and was located at Washington. John 
McCurdy was president and William Skinner, cashier, with capital of one 
hundred thousand dollars. There was never any change of president, but 
later cashiers were Fracken and Endley. There is a special notice of ones 
and tens on the Guernsey branch, dated in June, 1849, which were readily 
denounced as counterfeit, because the Guernsey branch had not issued any bills 
in June, 1849. 

"The old detector used to be a necessity in every busy establishment 
down to the smallest. They went out of use more than forty years ago, and 
copies of them are now very rare. Captain Taylor prizes it because he finds 
in it accounts of many of the curious old bills he has collected for many years 
and has in his cabinet. Mr. Bruce Taylor made a contribution to this collec- 
tion of a Toronto two-dollar bill on the International Bank of Canada, dated 
September 15. 1858. It is now pronounced worthless by the United States 
Treasury Detector, which is the standard in this country." — From the Cam- 
bridge Times, in 1904. 

OLD-TIME VALUES. 

Here is some history connected with the Times from away back. We 
give a copy of the note covering the value of the Times, on the 3rd day of 
March, 1840. The note is in the handwriting of W. W. Tracey, Esq.. who 
was a former owner of the paper: 

"On or before the first day of July next we or either of us promise to 
pay to William R. Allison, or order, the sum of three hundred and ninety dol- 
lars, for value received this third day of March, A. D. 1840. Signed, Chas. 
J. Albright, B. A. Albright, M. Sarchet. Attest: Lambert Thomas." 

It appears that the note was not given for some time after C. J. Albright 
had possession. There are credits on the note showing the following pay- 
ments : January 1, 1840, eighteen dollars; November 20. 1840, two hundred 
and eight dollars paid to W. W. Tracey, attorney for J. S. Thomas; December 
3. 1S40, ten dollars to R. T. Allison, and thirty-three dollars and twelve cents 
to \Y. W. Tracey, attorney. There is this endorsement on the note: "Two 
hundred and sixty-two dollars and twenty-two cents to be paid to J. S. 
Thomas. Signed: W. R. Allison." The note is left in the hands of W. W. 
Tracev, Esq., for collection. There is an endorsement by Tracey on the 
back of the note: "C. J. Albright, note two hundred and sixty-two dollars 
due July 3, 1840," also the following: "Received January 1, 1841. twenty- 
seven dollars and thirty cents in full of judgment of the within note due J. S. 



i,i ERNSEY COUNTY; OHIO. 22~ 

Thomas." The history of this transaction is. that Lambert Thomas sold to 
J. S. Thomas, his brother, ami he to Allison, ami Allison to Albright. Tin- 
total credit is two hundred ami ninety six dollars ami fifty cents, leaving a 
balance of ninety-three dollars and fifty cents unaccounted for, which was in 
all probability taken up by another note. 

We give another transaction which shows that the early publishers of 
the Times were hard up, and had to do a good deal of business on tick. The 
following due bill will explain: 

"Due John Carman, thirty dollars for printing paper, furnished by him 
for the Guernsey limes, to be paid to him as the paper is used. Signed: 
Nicholas Bailhache, Cambridge, Ohio, November 25, [828." 

On the hack of this due bill is the endorsement, in the handwriting of J. 
M. Bell, Esq.: "Carman vs. Bailhache, note, judgment $35.90." John Car- 
man was at that day a paper peddler and rag buyer. He lived at St. Clairs- 
ville. Ohio. At a later date there was a Philip Carman, perhaps his son, who 
traveled hack and forth from Wheeling, West Virginia, to Columbus, Ohio, 
engaged in the same business, traveling in a two-horse covered wagon, carry- 
ing foolscap, letter paper, wrapping paper, blank hooks, printing paper, inks 
and quill pens. He continued in this trade up to the opening of the Central 
Ohio railroad in April, 1854. Old residents on the National road will re- 
member Carman, the paper peddler and rag buyer. 

There is a certificate given to John Huff for lot 115, Cadiz, Ohio, for 
thirty-two dollars and fifty cents. On the back is this assignment: "Janu- 
ary 31, 1814. for value received, I do assign unto Eleazer Huff all my right. 
title and interest in and to the within certificate, and all the benefits that may 
be had by reason or means thereof. Signed, John Huff." The witness. J. 
Wilson, was one of the first common pleas judges in Ohio, and held the first 
session of common pleas court in Guernsey county at Cambridge in 1810. 

We give this to show the value of town lots at the time of laying out the 
towns of Cadiz and Cambridge. The price of the first lots sold in Cambridge. 
Ohio, in 1806. on Wheeling avenue, to Thomas Sarchet. lots 58 and 59, thirty- 
seven dollars and fifty cents each: lots 13 and [4 to John Sarchet. thirty-six 
dollars and fifty cents each; lot 21 to William Ogier, thirty-five dollars; lots 
22 ami 23 to Catharine Marquand, thirty-two dollars each: lot 24 to Thomas 
Lenfesty, thirty-two dollars: lot 40 to Thomas Xaftal. thirty dollars; lot 51 to 
James Bichard, thirty-five dollars: lot 54 to Peter Sarchet, fifty dollars; lot 
15 to Lloyd Talbott, thirty-five dollars. These lots were located on each side 
of Wheeling avenue, all within one square of the court house square. It will 
be seen that the lots in Cambridge were of the greatest value, situated as the 



228 GUERNSEY COUNTY, OHIO. 

city is on the waters of Big Wills creek and at the junction of the two great 
roads of that day. leading from Wheeling and Steubenville to the great west. 
Cadiz was located at the junction of the Pittsburg and Wellsburg roads, but 
had not the water advantages that Cambridge had. There is not one of the 
lots named in Cambridge that is not worth, per front foot, more than double 
the original first value. In the march of improvement the lots on the corner 
of Eighth street and Wheeling avenue have continued to keep up first value 
as leading lots. Cambridge is on the grow. Seated in a barber's chair the 
other day. we said to the barber, "How many barber shops are there in Cam- 
bridge today." He replied, "Fifteen." 

We said, "Cambridge has grown fifteen times since we first knew it." 
Then there was but one barber, old Moman Morgan, colored. He went 
around, twice a week, from house to house, carrying his tools, soap and lather 
pot, and a head rest that could be attached to an ordinary chair. The barbers 
of today, who sport their white roundabouts, are not yet up in style to Morgan, 
for besides a white roundabout, he wore a long white apron. The perfumes 
of that day \vere what Eli Marsh, a later colored barber, called the "condi- 
ments, bar's oil, goose grease and pomade."- — Written for the Cambridge 
Times by Col. C. P. B. Sarchet in 1906, as a reminiscence of old times. 

GUERNSEY COUNTY'S FIRST BANK. 

Up to the war 1848, the banking business necessary for the commerce of 
Guernsey county was done at Wheeling, Zanesville and Mt. Pleasant, in Jeffer- 
son county. In those days the raising of livestock for the eastern markets 
was the chief source of income in money to the county, and there were many 
drovers who, or nearly all, were dependent on the banks for accommodation. 
In 1845 the Legislature passed an act establishing the State Bank of Ohio, 
with its system of branch banks. Early in 1847 the question of establishing 
a bank in Washington was discussed, and resulted in the circulation of papers 
for stock subscriptions. One hundred thousand dollars of such subscriptions 
were secured on the 17th day of December, 1847, and proceedings had in com- 
pliance with the general act of incorporation. Three ineffectual attempts at 
this were made, one on the 31st of December, 1847, another on the 24th of 
January. 1848, another on the 15th of June, 1848, and on the 24th day of 
June the formal proceedings were satisfactorily completed, and the bank 
authorized to do business under the name of the "Guernsey Branch of the 
State Bank of Ohio, at Washington." From the beginning until its close the 
business of the bank was prudently and successfully managed, and the bank 



GUERNSEY COUNTY, OHIO. 229 

enjoyed at every moment of its existence the full confidence of the whole com- 
munity. To be sure, there was the "crow-bat" excitement, and once notably. 
during a time of panic, a run of bill-holding brokers from abroad, but the 
Guernsey Branch was equal to all emergencies and was regarded as among the 
well-managed banks of the state. John McCurdy was president of the bank 
from its organization to its close. Its first cashier was William Skinner, who 
was succeeded by George Fracker, and he by George A. Endley, after whom 
came Simon B. Lawrence, who remained as cashier until the business was 
closed up. The first board of directors was composed of John Craig, Henry 
H. Evans, John McFarland, Kileon Hagar, Charles Hare, John Beymer, 
Francis Rea, and John Hall. — Jcffcrsonian, March 9, 1876. 

NATIONAL BANK OF CAMBRIDGE. 

The National Bank of Cambridge, No. 6,566, was organized in 1863, as 
the first bank under the national banking act of 1863 in Guernsey county, its 
original number being 141. After the expiration of the first twenty-year 
charter, in 1882, its charter was renewed by a reorganization and the number 
of the second bank's charter was 2,861, and this twenty-year charter ran out 
in 1902, when another re-organization took place, hence a new charter and 
this, the present one, is numbered 6,566. It will be observed that only one 
hundred and forty banks in the United States had applied for a charter prior 
to this one, under the then new banking laws of our country, and which have 
proven such a great success to the people, both bankers and depositors. The 
original capital of this bank was one hundred thousand dollars, of which 
sixty-five thousand dollars was paid in at the opening of the bank and within a 
few months (April. 1863) the balance was paid in. The original stockholders 
included many of Guernsey county's best men, of the town and country. The 
following is fl list of their names, and it may be said that all are now deceased, 
but it must be remembered that this bank dates back forty-seven years: 
Stephen B. Clark, John C. Douglass, Isaac Morton, Robert F. Burt, Nicholas 
Priaulx. James Beggs, Andrew Henderson, Henry McCartney, Walter Bogle, 
James Nelson, Thomas Johnston, Isaac W. Hall, George Morrison, George 
B. Leeper. Samuel Harper, Samuel Stranathan, Daniel Burt, Thomas Lapage, 
William Rainey, Bernard Brown, John Ogier, Jr., William Black, William N. 
Farrar, John Marquand, Eli Hall, Samuel Craig. William H. Bell, Marling 
Oldham, William Black, Charles J. Albright, John Crook, Joseph Fordyce, 
John Hall, Thomas Hall. 

In October, 1863, at a meeting for the selection of directors, the follow- 



230 



c,r ICRNSKV ClirXTV, OHIO. 



ing were elected : S. B. Clark, I. W. Hall, R. F. Burt, William Rainey, Ber- 
nard Brown, Joseph Fordyce, Samuel Harper. The directors elected as their 
president S. B. Clark; John R. Clark, cashier. On January 9, 1866, John R. 
Clark tendered his resignation as cashier and Samuel McMahon was appointed 
his successor. Then A. C. Cochran was appointed cashier. On February 
20, 1880, Mr. Cochran resigned and A. R. Murray was appointed his suc- 
cessor. 

On November 2j, 1882, the stockholders voted to go into liquidation for 
the purpose of re-organizing. Application was made to the comptroller of 
currency and received charter No. 2,861, to be known as the Old National 
Bank of Cambridge, with a capital stock of one hundred thousand dollars. 
The following were the stockholders, under the bank's second charter : S. J. 
McMahon, R. F. Burt, W. A. Rainey, J. W. Campbell, A. R. Murray, W. M. 
Farrar, C. J. Albright, S. W. Luccock, J. M. Ogier, W. H. Ledlie. W. B. 
Cosgrave, Henry McCartney, James T. Lindsay, S. B. Clark, W. M. Scott. 

January 12, 1883, the following directors were elected: S. J. McMahon, 
S. B* Clark, W. A. Rainey, W. B. Cosgrave, J. M. Ogier, J. W. Campbell, 
Henry McCartney. The board then organized by electing S. J. McMahon, 
president : J. \Y. Campbell, vice-president ; A. R. Murray, cashier. January 
10, 1903, C. S. McMahon was appointed assistant cashier. January 12. 1903, 
the stockholders voted to go into liquidation again, for the purpose of again 
renewing their charter and reorganizing, as required by the banking laws. 
Application was made to the comptroller of currency for new charter, which 
was issued as No. 6,566, to be known as the National Bank of Cambridge, 
with a capital of one hundred thousand dollars. Under this new charter, the 
following persons were the stockholders : S. J. McMahon, J. W. Campbell, 
A. R. Murray. J. M. Ogier, C. S. McMahon, Charles Mast, Fred L. Rose- 
mond, S. M. Burgess, Walter N. Patterson, S. W. Luccock, Rebecca Lidlie, 
W. W. Harper, R. M. Hood, R. V. Orme, A. P. Frame. A. Westwood, A. M. 
Sarchet, G. W. Smith. 

On January 13, 1903, at the annual election for directors the following 
were elected : S. J. McMahon, J. M. Ogier, S. M. Burgess, Fred L. Rose- 
mond, J. W. Campbell, A. R. Murray, S. W. Luccock. On October 31, 1905, 
A. P. Frame was appointed by the board as a director, to fill the place of J. M. 
Ogier, made vacant by his death. 

The present (1910) officers of the bank are: S. J. McMahon, president; 
A. R. Murray, vice-president; C. S. McMahon, cashier; W. N. Patterson, 
assistant cashier; G. W. Smith, teller; W. L. Orme and Miss Myrtle Ogier, 
bookkeepers. 



GUERNSEY COUN n . OHIO 23 I 

Concerning the business transacted by this pioneer national banking 

house in Cambridge, and the location of the bank itself, it may lie stated in 
this connection that it was first kept in the parlor rooms of the private resi- 
dence of Dr. Vincent llavnes just on the next lot east of the present bank 
site. In April, 1867, the records of the hank show that the directors author- 
ized the erection of the present hank building, which stands on l"t X". 52, 
Wheeling avenue, and here the hank has had its home for all of those Eorty- 
three years. 

The First National Bank, as it was styled in April, [865, made their 
statement, in which it was shown that the capital was one hundred thousand 
dollars; surplus and undivided profits, six thousand four hundred and ninety- 
two dollars, with deposits amounting to fifty-six thousand five hundred and 
seventy-eight dollars. 

The last statement, issued before the hank reorganized in [882, gave their 
capital and surplus, with the undivided profits, as one hundred and twenty- 
nine thousand nine hundred and ninety-five dollars with deposits amounting to 
four hundred and twenty-nine thousand nine hundred and four dollars. 

The last statement issued by the National Bank of Cambridge, the pres- 
ent organization, shows (September 1, 1910) loans and discounts, four hun- 
dred sixty-six thousand nine hundred and sixty-four dollars: United States 
bonds, sixty-one thousand five hundred dollars; banking house and fixtures, 
nine thousand five hundred dollars ; total resources, seven hundred eight-one 
thousand and fifty-seven dollars and sixty-six cents. The amount of capital 
stock is one hundred thousand dollars; surplus and undivided profits, eighty- 
six thousand nine hundred and eighty-four dollars and eighty-eight cents; 
individual deposits, subject to check, four hundred thirty thousand seven hun- 
dred and thirty dollars and seventy-two cents ; demand certificates of deposit, 
ninety-six thousand three hundred and twenty-three dollars and fifty-eight 
cents, with other items to make the total liabilities same as resources named, 
seven hundred eighty-one thousand and fifty-seven dollars and sixty-six cents. 

Through all the shifting years — almost a half century — this institution 
has remained firm and solid, notwithstanding the three great panics that have 
overtaken the country since the hank first opened its doors in 1863. when the 
Civil war was at its height. Tt has ever had conservative men at its head," as 
directors and officers, and has been patronized by stockholders and depositors 
throughout Guernsey county, who have given it standing and reliability. The 
people, of all classes and nationalities, have had confidence in this hank and 
they have never been disappointed. 



232 GUERNSEY COUNTY, OHIO. 

GUERNSEY NATIONAL BANK. 

The Guernsey National Bank, of Cambridge, was organized in 1872, its 
charter being the oldest in the city, and is numbered 1,942. This banking 
institution was formed by Col. J. D. Taylor and his associates, John Mc- 
Burney, John Heaume, William Lenfesty, John Ogier, George H. Boetcher. 
A. A. Taylor, E. Nyce, J. O. Mcllyar and others. 

The original capital stock was one hundred thousand dollars, then in- 
creased to one hundred and fifty thousand dollars. Its first officers were : 
J. D. Taylor, president; W. A. Lawrence, cashier; A. A. Taylor, assistant 
cashier. 

The present capital is fifty thousand dollars; surplus, twelve thousand 
five hundred dollars ; deposits, one hundred and seventy thousand dollars, and 
the 19 10 officers are: H. W. Lawrence, president; J. W. Scott, cashier; C. H. 
Willis, assistant cashier. The bank owns its own building, erected for the 
purpose in 1872-73, at No. 647 Wheeling avenue. No robbers have invaded 
this bank in the almost two score years of its history, but some loss Avas sus- 
tained in the fires of Cambridge, in 1895 and 1902. 

CITIZENS SAVINGS BANK. 

The Citizens Savings Bank, of Cambridge, was organized in 1899. 
Its present officers are: S. M. Burgess, president; W. B. Cosgrove, 
vice-president; D. M. Hawthorne, secretary and treasurer; J. C. Bow- 
den, cashier; D. M. Hawthorne, assistant cashier. 

The directors are : C. Stolzenbach, John Hoge, S. M. Burgess, T. 
W. Scott, William Hoyle, H. P. Woodworth, W. B. Cosgrove, W. C. 
Brown, D. M. Hawthorne. 

The official statement for September 1, 1910, shows resources and 
liabilities amounting to $347,766.54 each. In these are the items of 
resources: Loans on real estate, $238,589; loans and collateral, $40,427; 
United States bank notes, $4,405. In the list of liabilities are the fol- 
lowing items: Capital stock, $30,000: surplus fund $22,500; undivided 
profits, $2,083: time certificates of deposit, $81,233; savings deposits, 
$192,940. 

CENTRAL NATIONAL BANK. 

The Central National Bank, of Cambridge, was established in 1882. 
with an original capital stock of $100,000. Its first officers were A. J. 



GUERNSEY COUNTY, OHIO. 233 

Hutchison, president; W. E. Bowden, cashier. They own the magnifi- 
cent, strictly modern building, the same having been erected in 19114. 
It stands on the corner of Wheeling avenue and Eighth street, at the 
southwest corner of the public square, and is a five-story structure, 
with fine offices on the floors above the banking rooms on the ground 
floor. It is also a United States depository. 

Their present officers are: E. W. Mathews, president: John R, 
Hall, vice-president; M. L. Hartley, vice-president; W. S. McCartney, 
cashier; E. B. Milligan, assistant cashier. Directors: E. W. .Mathews, 
John R. Hall, M. L. Hartley, C. R. Mcllyar, John E. Sankey, J. II. 
Opperman, C. F. Craig, W. S. McCartney, A. J. Bennett. 

Their November, 1910, statement shows that they had resources 
and liabilities amounting to $555,991- The loans and deposits amount 
to $177,902: United States bonds, $106,618. The capital is still $100,000 
and a surplus and undivided profits of $52,969; deposits and money due 
banks amounting to $307,722. 

The management of this bank has always been first class and it has 
withstood the panics that have at various dates disturbed other cities, 
and has always been able to pay out on demand all that was called for. 
Its officers are thoroughgoing business men and treat all in a gentle- 
manly manner. 

CAMBRIDGE SAYINGS BANK. 

The Cambridge Savings Bank (state incorporated) was organized 
April 8, 1905, with a capital authorized at $50,000, $30,000 of which was 
paid up. The gentlemen who founded the bank were the following 
stockholders: B. F. Sheppard, C. C. Cosgrove. J. B. Giffee, R. Kirk- 
patrick, J. O. Carnes. R. V. Acheson and J. E. Bair. 

The officers from the start have been. B. F. Sheppard, president : 
R. Kirkpatrick, vice-president; C. C. Cosgrove, secretary and treasurer; 
R. B. Acheson, cashier; Emory Ferguson, assistant cashier. 

This institution has occupied the present modern banking building 
ever since it was organized: it is a handsome brick structure at Nos. 
806 and 808 Wheeling avenue. The November. 1910, statement pub- 
lished by this hank showed the following items, among others: Re- 
sources and liabilities, $233,026.95. Of the resources there was $149,286 
in loans on real estate: loans on collateral, $10,930; loans and discounts, 
$23,929. Of the liabilities there were the items of capital. $30,000; 
surplus fund, $10,000: undivided profits. $5,917; individual deposits, 
$45,646; demand certificates, $97,280; savings deposits. $44,181. 



234 GUERNSEY COUNTY, OHIO. 

This is one of the financial concerns of Guernsey county of which 
the citizens are justly proud. 

people's bank. 

The People's Bank, of Pleasant City, was established in 1895, with 
George J. Markley as its proprietor and W. F. Bierly, cashier. No other 
information is at hand, hence this meagre account taken from the State 
Bank Directory is here given. (See sketch in biographical volume.) 
This bank carries on a general banking business in a well furnished 
banking building and has the confidence of Pleasant City and vicinity. 

guernsey building and loan company. 

The Guernsey Building and Loan Company, of Cambridge, was 
incorporated under the laws of Ohio, is under state inspection, and has 
an authorized capital of $150,000, in shares of $100 each. The first 
officers were: John M. Ogier, president; Joseph Hartill, vice-president; 
W. H. Brown, secretary; J. B. Dollison, treasurer; W. H. Brown, at- 
torney. 

It is a purely home institution and no business will be taken from 
outside this county. Its funds are loaned only on first mortgage securi- 
ties. It was organized April 26, 1902, and now has assets amounting 
to over $147,000; it has more than doubled in the last two years. Its 
present officers are: J. C. Bair, president; J. R. McBurney, vice-presi- 
dent; J. B. Dollison, treasurer; E. A. Scott, secretary; A. R. McCol- 
loch, attorney. By fair treatment and business principles, this com- 
pany is winning the confidence of many a man who wishes to employ 
the building and loan system for securing a home. 

BYESVILLE banking. 

The First National Bank of Byesville was incorporated December 
10, 1900, and opened its doors for business in the following February. 
It has grown and flourished until today it ranks high among the solid 
financial institutions in Ohio. Its organizers were George S. Trenner, 
R. H. Mills and others, and its original capital was $25,000. At the 
close of business in 1901, it had deposits amounting to $52,800, and on 
Septeniber 1, 1907, it had reached the sum of $236,379.04. Coming 





G 


IK RN SI 


•:v nu- 


o the s, 


.ring of 


[9IO, 


ll had 


xlurcs ; 


and fun 


liture 


and 1 



. on in. 235 

loans and discounts Si [4,986; 

bank fixtures and furniture and building, $5,500; total resources, 

$223,681. 

Its present officers arc: George S. Trenner, president; John A. 
Thompson,, vice-president; E. P. Finley. cashier; W. A. Thompson, 
assistant cashier. The directors arc: II. II. Wilson, George S. Trenner, 
John A. Thompson, John W. Thompson, \Y. II. Wilson, E. R. Finley. 

This bank lias had a good business standing among the financial 
institutions of the county ever since its establishment. 

Tn the autumn of 1010 it was believed that with the rapid growth of 
Byesville, another hanking institution would pay; accordingly stock 
was subscribed by some of the leading business men of the place and 
$25,000 was raised for the establishment of the Byesville State Bank 
J. A. Hoopman was elected president; Palmer McConnell, vice-presi- 
dent; O. L. Howard, cashier. The following comprises the original 
hoard of directors: D. S. Hurt, H. C. Egger, J. A. Hoopman, Palmer 
McConnell, C. W. Eberle, Mike Sherby, O. L. Howard. 

The bank will probably be open for the transaction of business 
sometime during the month of November, 1910. 

BANKING AT CUMBERLAND. 

The Bank of Cumberland was first organized in 1896, by Evans & 
Girton, as a private bank. In 1900 J. E. McClelland purchased it from 
Evans & Girton, the capital stock then being $10,000. Soon after the 
purchase Mr. McClelland associated with him in business I. C. Young. 
J. A. Langley. F. L. St. Clair, O. L. Hunter. T. M. Hathaway, and 
Catherine Roseman. and increased the capital stock to $15,000, and later 
to $25,000. 

In 1908 the bank was reorganized, making of it a state bank called 
the Cumberland Savings Bank, with a capital stock of $50,000. J. E. Mc- 
Clelland was elected president. F. E. St. Clair, vice-president, and J. 
M. Bracken, cashier. 

The present officers are: President. J. E. McClelland; vice -presi- 
dent. F. L. St. Clair; cashier. J. M. Bracken. 

At the close of business, September 1, 1910, this bank's statement 
showed resources and liabilities amounting to $77,005.27. The resources 
showed the items of furniture and fixtures, $1,875; loans on real estate, 
$57,620; other loans and discounts, $67,885. 



236 GUERNSEY COUNTY, OHIO. 

Among the liabilities were the items of capital stock, $50,000; sur- 
plus fund, $1,000; undivided profits, $1,500; individual deposits, subject 
to check, $63,582; demand certificates of deposit, $60,922. 

This banking house has always been a conservative concern, safe 
and sound, and one in which the whole people have ever had the utmost 
confidence. 

SENECAVILLE. 

The First National Bank of Senecaville was established December 
12, 1904, by C. M. Hutchison, A. U. Hutchison, J. M. Gregg, Milton 
Finley, J. A. Lanley, S. L. Murphy, Samuel Laughlin, C. H. Gregg and 
several others. The capital stock is $25,000, with a surplus of $6,000. 
The present deposits of this banking house is $65,000. The bank owns 
its own building, on Main street. The present (1910) officers are: C. 
M. Hutchison, president; J. M. Gregg, vice-president; G. F. Pollock, 
cashier. 

A general banking business is carried on at this point and this con- 
cern has the confidence of the best citizens of the community in which 
it operates. 

QUAKER CITY. 

Banking at Quaker City has come to be of large proportions, the 
most extensive of any in the county in many ways. The start was made 
in 1872, when the Quaker City National Bank was established and it is 
now considered as among the solid financial institutions in eastern Ohio. 
The late Isaac W. Hall was one of the promoters of this banking house 
and was its first president, continuing until his death in 1886. He was 
then succeeded by his son, John R. Hall, who still holds the important 
position. Hon. W. N. Cowden was vice-president and T. M. Johnson, 
cashier. The first directors were as follows : Jonathan Rose, Thomas 
Moore, Eli Hall, Dr. J. T. McPherson, D. C. Goodhart, W. N. Cowden, 
Isaac W. Hall. Of the original organizers only Messrs. Johnson, Cow- 
den and Goodhart survive. 

At first the stock of this bank was $50,000, but a few years later 
it was increased to $100,000. By its safe, conservative methods, its vol- 
ume of business has steadily grown until today (1910) it has a surplus 
of more than $20,000. Its September statement of 1910 showed 
$684,835 in deposits; profits of more than $37,000 and a magnificent 
banking house building valued at $25,000. 



GUERNSEY COUNTY, OHIO. 237 

The present officers are: John R. Hall, presidenl ; I. I'. Steele, cash- 
ier; H. S. Hartley, assistant cashier. The directorship is II. S. Hartley, 
John R. Hall, T. M. Johnson, D. C. Goodhart, Joel Hall, Thomas C. 
Hall and I. P. Steele. 

The new hank building was erected in [909, on the southwest cor- 
ner of Broadway and South streets. In all of its appointments it is an 
ideal, modern building, with steam heat and rooms for the convenience 
of all interested. It is illuminated by both gas and electricity. The 
structure was designed by architect J. F. Orr, of Cambridge, wink- the 
building- was constructed by George I. Foreman, of Marietta, I >hio. 

CAMBRIDGE LOAM AND BUILDING COMPANY. 

The Cambridge Loan and Building Company, who occupy a beauti- 
ful new business house on Wheeling avenue, at No. 814, was organized 
February 27, 1885. This building is the home of the city officers and 
the municipality affairs are here carried on on the second floor of the 
thoroughly modern building. The lobby is one of the finest in this por- 
tion of Ohio, being Italian marble of the purest type, the walls being 
handsomely decorated and the floors of Tennessee marble. 

This company was formed and the following directors put in 
charge: W. K. Gooderl, A. J. Hutchinson, William Hoyle, \Y. F. Boden. 
R. W. Anderson, Edward Urban and J. C. Beckett. The first officers 
were \Y. K. Gooderl, president; R. W. Anderson, vice-president; J. 
E. Lawrence, secretary; W. S. McCartney, treasurer. The last named 
is the only original officer living. 

Meetings were first held in the Burgess building, in rooms now oc- 
cupied by Attorney George Dngan, then in the room above the present 
Times office, and next to the Madison building. 

There have been three presidents, W. K. Gooderl, to January 1, 
1888; R. W. Anderson, from 1888 to April, 1902; O. M. Hoge, from 1902 
to date. James E. Lawrence was secretary from 1885 to February, 1901. 
T. R. Deselm from 1901 to date. 

The present officers are: O. M. Hoge, president; A. M. Sarchet. 
vice-president; T. R. Deselm, secretary, and W. S. McCartney, treas- 
urer. The directors are O. M. Hoge. A. M. Sarchet. M. L. Hartley. J. 
M. Logan, T. E. Cook, W. B. Green, W. N. Bradford. The capital was 
originally $50,000, but in March, 1890, was increased to $100,000: Feb- 
ruary, 1893, to $500,000; August 4, 1903, to $1,000,000. Tin stock 



238 GUERNSEY COUNTY, OHIO. 

now in force amounts to $700,000 in shares of fifty dollars each. The 
number of stockholders is now one thousand. This company loans only 
on first mortgage property and has never lost a dollar yet and many 
a poor man in Cambridge has been able to secure his home by this 
method of making his loan. It is certainly one of the city's safe and 
solid financial institutions. 

BANK FAILURES. 

There have been two bank failures in the history of the county, 
the one of the McCracken Bank, in about 1867, which was said to have 
been occasioned by the decline of wool, in which the bank had heavily 
invested at the close of the Civil war period, when prices took a great 
tumble and caught many of the best business men, merchants and 
bankers from one end of the country to another. The depositors were 
heavy losers. This bank had been robbed a few years prior to its 
failure and among other valuables taken were some government bonds. 
The thieves were never captured. 

The latest and second bank failure was that of the Commercial 
Bank of Cambridge, in June, 1904, when this institution closed its doors 
and went into the hands of a receiver, it being a state banking house. 
The two chief stockholders and officers both absconded and later it was 
discovered that they had taken from the bank's funds money amounting 
to more than $160,000. The capital of the bank was $40,600. Later in 
that year one of the absconders was discovered living in Los Angeles 
with his wife, and soon was arrested upon intelligence sent from Cam- 
bridge, and he was brought back and stood trial. It was a long-drawn- 
out case, tried before Judge Mackey, and the verdict of the jury was 
"guilty." He was tried on many counts, but only one sustained and 
that for the embezzlement of eighty-five dollars. The case was appealed 
to the circuit court and the accused man was acquitted. The other 
party connected with the bank failure was never heard from. 



CHAPTER XVII. 



MINI'S AMI MIX INC. 



Every county has its special resources of wealth lavished on or 
within the earth from which the children of men may subsist, if perchance 
they take advantage of such hidden treasures. The Creator has pro- 
vided the raw material, and mankind must needs dig and delve and bring 
such deposits to the surface and appropriate them to their use and 
comfort. Here in Guernsey county, while the soil is not of that rich, 
productive character found in other sections of the country, it has 
stored beneath the surface rich coal fields and rich deposits of clay of 
various grades, from which brick, tile and pottery are successfully man- 
ufactured. 

Coming to the matter of coal — bituminous or soft coal, as it is 
usually known — this chapter will speak especially, and incidentally of 
clays, gas and salt found here in commercial paying quantities. 

The subject of mines and mining and of geology is to the ordinary 
reader a dry topic and is of most interest and value to the technical 
student of such sciences. From the earliest date it was known by 
pioneers that this count}' contained coal. Just what its value might be 
none of the first settlers knew or even conjectured. Wood was plenti- 
ful then and the matter of heating the cabins, business places, schools 
and churches was of but little consequence to the hardy pioneers who 
first set stakes in this goodly count)' away back in the hist years of the 
nineteenth century. 

Coal mining in this county was not developed to any great ex- 
tent until in the seventies and early eighties, after railroads had pene- 
trated this territory and given an outlet for the coal product. 

At other places in this work some of the early coal mines have 
been referred to, hence need not be repeated here. The only object of 
this chapter is to make a lasting record of the coal mining industry at 
this, the close of the first decade of the twentieth century, t fiat other 
men in later decades may have a report of it. The facts herein have 
been largely extracted from the chief mine inspector's report. 



24O GUERNSEY COUNTY, OHIO. 

Ohio had in 1908 (last official report) 50,276 men employed in the 
coal mines of the state. Of this number 112 were killed. Seventeen 
per cent of the coal mined was by the pick process and eighty-two by 
the machine process. The total tonnage mined in Ohio was 
26,287,000. There are thirty counties in Ohio in which coal is mined 
commercially. 

Guernsey county produced 1,985,248 tons of lump coal; 303,586 
in nut coal; 637,614 tons of pea and slack coal, making a total of 
2,926,448 tons. The rank among the other twenty-nine counties was 
fourth. Of this total tonnage, 41,673 tons was of the pick process of 
mining, while 2,884,775 tons were of the machine mine process. In the 
one hundred and twenty-nine pick mines there were one hundred and 
forty-one days worked and the amount of 30,304 tons produced in the 
county, or an average of one and six-tenths tons per day. The average 
cut of coal for each machine, per day, was thirty-seven tons. The total 
number of kegs of powder employed in the mines in 1908 was 18,904. 
The number of tons produced by each man employed about the mines of 
Guernsey county was, for that year, 595. 

There were three new mines opened up in 1908 in this county, 
three suspended and one abandoned. There are twenty-nine "large 
mines" in this county and twenty-three "small ones," making a total 
of fifty-two mines being operated today. Of these, twenty-three are 
drift mines ; thirteen, slope mines, and fifteen, shaft mines, making the 
total fifty-one. In these mines are used various ventilating methods. 
In twenty-five there are used fans, in twenty, "natural." 

Of accidents in Guernsey county in 1908, there were eighty-three; 
sixteen fatal accidents ; forty-eight serious accidents and nineteen minor 
accidents. 

Guernsey county is within the fifth Ohio coal district, which is 
composed of Guernsey, Coshocton, Tuscarawas and parts of Belmont and 
Noble counties. W. H. Turner was inspector for this district and re- 
sided at Cambridge in 1908. He made one hundred and twenty-two 
visits to mines within this county that year. 

All mines in this county are working the No. Seven seam, which 
runs from five to seven feet in thickness, except Indian Camp, Union 
No. 1 and Morris, which are working No. Six seam, varying from two 
feet four inches to three and a half feet. 



GUERNSEY COUNTY, OHIO. 24 1 

DESCRIPTION 01 THE LARGE MINES. 

Eureka mine, operated by the Cambridge Coal and Mining Com- 
pany, of Parkersburg, West Virginia, is a slope, two hundred and 
twenty-five feet long, located on the Pennsylvania railroad, near Byes- 
ville. Eighteen miners arc employed. About seventy-five thousand dollars 
were expended before any results were had in this mine. 

Ideal mine is a shaft seventy-five feet deep, located near Byesville, 
and is wned and operated by the Cambridge Collieries Company, Cleve- 
land. Fan ventilation and electric mining machinery are used. 

Walhonding No. i, owned by the Cambridge Collieries Company, 
is a shaft mine one hundred and twenty-five feet deep, near Pleasant 
City. Ninety-four miners and thirty day hands are kept at work. 

Walhonding Xo. 2. owned by the Cambridge Collieries Company. 
is a shaft one hundred and sixty-one feet deep, located a mile and a half 
from Buffalo, on the line of the Baltimore & Ohio (eastern branch), and 
here modern improvements obtain. 

The Hartford, operated by the above company, with W. H. Davis, of 
Byesville, as managed, is a shaft mine eighty-five feet deep, on the Bal- 
timore & ( )hio railroad. It has fan ventilation and electric machinery 
for mining. Here one hundred and eighty men are employed and 
fifty-seven day men. 

Trail Run No. 1, also the property of the above collieries company, 
is a shaft mine seventy-five feet deep, situated near Trail run, on the 
Pennsylvania road. Fan ventilation and electric machines are installed. 
One hundred and nine miners are employed and fifty-nine day men. 
Trail Run No. 2, operated by the same coal company, is a shaft mine 
one hundred and twelve feet deep, uses fans and has electric appliances. 
Two hundred miners find work in this extensive mine. 

The Detroit mine, owned by the Cambridge Collieries Company, is 
a shaft one hundred and eighty-five feet in depth, near Ava. Fan ven- 
tilation and electric machines are used in operating the mines. One 
hundred and seventy-five miners are worked at this mine and seventy- 
five day hands. 

Midway mine is located near Byesville, on the Pennsylvania road. 
Fifty-one men are used in mining coal here. Fan ventilators and electric 
machines are employed here. 

Blue Bell mine is a shaft eighty-five feet deep, located near Blue 

(16) 



242 GUERNSEY COUNTY, OHIO. 

Bell. Ohio, and operated by the Cambridge Collieries Company. Here 
about one hundred and fifty men are employed. 

Imperial mine is located at Derwent, this county, on the Pennsyl- 
vania road; is a shaft mine one hundred and ten feet deep. It is oper- 
ated by the Imperial Coal Company. Fan ventilation and electric 
mining machines obtain. 

Ohio Xo. I, a drift mine near Cambridge, on the Pennsylvania 
railroad, is owned by the O'Gara Coal Company. Chicago. Thirty- 
two miners are worked here and fourteen day hands. This was called 
Nicholson No. i. 

Ohio No. 2, owned as above, is a shaft mine sixty-five feet deep. 
One hundred and thirty-two miners are employed and fifty day men. 

Red Oak mine, located near Byesville, operated by J. R. McBurney, 
Cambridge, has a furnace ventilation, compressed air mining and pump- 
ing appliances. Twenty men find work here and five day hands. 

Murray Hill slope mine, near Klondyke on the Baltimore & Ohio 
railroad, is operated by the Akron Coal Company. Forty miners and 
sixteen day men are employed. 

Klondyke slope mine is situated near Klondyke, Ohio, and is a 
hundred and fifty foot slope mine, employing ninety miners and thirty- 
one clay men. Several accidents have occurred here. 

King's mine, operated by the Morris Coal Company, of Cleveland, 
is a shaft mine one hundred feet deep, near Lore City, employing two 
hundred miners and eighty day men. 

Old Orchard mine is operated by the Morris Coal Company, of 
Cleveland, is a shaft mine forty-eight feet deep, near Mineral Siding. 

Black Top mine, owned by the last named company, is located in 
this county and employs one hundred and thirty-four men. 

Cleveland mine No. I is a shaft almost two hundred feet deep, lo- 
cated near Senecaville and is operated by the Morris Coal Company. 
One hundred and thirty-five miners are employed and forty-eight day 
men. 

West Branch mine is located near Byesville, operated by the Clin- 
ton Coal and Mining Company; is a sixty-five foot slope mine on a 
switch of the Pennsylvania railroad. Coal was discovered here in 1903. 

Buckeye mine, located near Byesville, is operated by the National 
Coal Company. It is a hundred and fifteen foot slope. One hundred 
and eighteen men are employed as miners and thirty-five day men. 

Little Kate No. 2 is a slope mine three hundred feet long, and is 



GUERNSEY COUNTY, 0. 243 

on a switch leading from the Baltimore & Ohio road, near Blue Bell. 
It is owned and operated by the National Coal Company of Akron. 
Thirty-three miners and eighteen day men are employed. 

White Ash mine is located near Byesville and is operated by the 
Puritan Coal Company, Cambridge. Fan ventilation and electric min- 
ing machines are employed. Here twenty-four miners and eight day 
men are employed. 

The Puritan mine, owned by the Puritan Coal Company, Cam- 
bridge, is a shaft one hundred and six feet deep, situated near Derwent, 
on the Pennsylvania railroad. It has fan ventilation and employs one 
hundred and twenty-seven miners and forty-two day men. 

The Forsythe mine, located near Mineral Siding, is a slope of 
one hundred and ten feet in depth. Here one hundred and seventy-six 
miners find employment and fifty-eight day men. It is owned by the 
Forsythe Coal Company, Cambridge. 

Leatherwood No. 2 mine is operated by the Leatherwood Consoli- 
dated Coal Company, of Toledo. Fifty-three miners are employed and 
tw enty-one day men. 

Guernsey Brick mine, situated near Byesville. is operated by the 
Guernsey 7 Clay Company. Furance ventilation, picking and mule hauling 
are the mining methods employed here. Nine men are employed as 
miners and two day hands. 

Indian Camp is a drift mine located near Union No. I, and is oper- 
ated by the same company as the last named. 

SMALLER MINES OF THE COUNTY. 

Besides the larger coal mines in Guernsey' count}' may be named 
the Eollowing: The Morris, Burn's, Wild Cat, Keenan, Carter. Hollings- 
worth, B. L. Galloway, Webster No. 1, Webster No. 2. Montgomery, 
Saver, Hall, McCormick, Spencer, Bates, Lingo and Briar Hill. 

In the way of fire clays, there was mined in this county in 1908, five 
thousand eight hundred tons of superior fire clay. 

SALT MANUFACTORY. 

We mentioned several months since that Elza Scott, of this vicin- 
ity, who owns very extensive coal mines on the Central Ohio railroad, 
east of this place, and who for a number of years past has been exten- 



244 GUERNSEY COUNTY, OHIO. 

sively engaged in shipping coal, was engaged in boring for salt. Mr. 
Scott succeeded in striking a very strong vein of salt water at a depth of 
nearly one thousand feet, and his works are now in successful operation. 
He now runs one furnace, and makes daily from twenty-five to thirty 
barrels of salt, of very superior quality. It is estimated that the well 
affords sufficient water to make from fifty to seventy-five barrels of salt 
a day. Although Mr. Scott has already expended about fifteen thousand 
dollars in the erection of his works, he intends soon to start another 
furnace and run the well to its full capacity. We are glad to learn that 
Mr. Scott's enterprise is being well-rewarded pecuniarily. His net daily 
income from his salt manufactory alone is fifty dollars, and will be about 
one hundred dollars per day after the erection of another furnace. — 
Times, February 7, 1865. 

NATURAL GAS. 

Within about three miles of Cambridge, in a direct line, on the 
premises of David Sarchet, Sr., is an inexhaustible salt well, from which 
constantly flows a stream of salt water several inches in diameter, and 
with it a large and constant supply of natural gas, which can be ignited 
at any time by merely holding a lighted match near the flowing stream. 
We have the authority of a scientific gentleman from the east, who 
visited this well during the oil excitement here, for saying that there 
is an abundance of gas flowing from this well to light up a place much 
larger than Cambridge, and that it could easily be conducted here for 
that purpose at no very great cost; and he expressed great surprise that 
steps had never been taken to utilize so valuable a production of nature. 
The subject is one which should sufficiently claim the attention of the 
city fathers as to cause them to make such investigation of the matter 
as to ascertain the feasibility of the plan, and what the cost would be, 
and. if not too great, measures should be be instituted to light our fast 
.growing little city with it. This subject is brought to our mind by 
noticing an item stating that Erie, Pennsylvania, has been lighted up 
with natural gas, that flows from a well sunk near that place. Informa- 
tion in regard to the matter could doubtless be obtained by writing to 
the Erie Gas Company, Erie, Pennsylvania. The subject, we think, is 
at least worthy of a little investigation by our city authorities. — Times, 
November 3, 1870. 




OLD SARCHET HOUSE, BU 



First house erected in Cambridge, in which was the 
first store, in which the first church was organ- 
ized, and in which the first funeral ser- 
mon was preached. Location, north- 
east corner of Seventh St. and 
Wheeling Ave. 




First Methodist Church in Cambridge. Dedicated 

1S35, by Dr. Joseph M. Trimble. Building and 

ground cost not more than $500. 



CHAPTER XVIII. 

THE CITY OF CAMBRIDGE. 

Cambridge, the county scat of Guernsey count}', derived its name 
from Cambridge in Maryland, from whence came many settlers in [808. 
The buildings of the present city reflect the enterprise and plans of its 
citizens and property owners. There are today more than five square 
miles (if territory within its limits and it has a population of about fifteen 
thousand, largely American and English-speaking people. The good, 
modern class of business houses, factories, churches, schools and 
residences bespeak of thrift, taste and wealth. Modern Cambridge, 
from a municipal standpoint, is the direct outgrowth of splendid natural 
advantages, supplemented by an untiring effort of progressive business 
men. The coal mines in the immediate vicinity employ upwards of four 
thousand five hundred men, who are paid good wages, while the mills, 
factories and railroad shops employ fully twenty-five hundred more. 
The city draws a retail trade from a radius of twenty miles and in this 
territory reside almost fifty thousand people. 

Its location is fifty-six miles from Wheeling and eighty-five from 
Columbus, and its original plat is located in township 2, range 3. The 
place was platted by Jacob Gomber and Zaccheus A. Beatty, June 2. 
1806. The first houses were made from logs of the forests which were 
a part of the tract of land upon which the new town was surveyed by 
the pioneer fathers. Among the first of these rude, but quite comfortable 
houses was that of the Sarchets. erected in 1807. and in which was kept 
the first store. In it was organized the first church society ( the First 
Methodist Episcopal) and in it was preached the first funeral sermon. 
Its exact location was on the northeast corner of Wheeling avenue and 
Seventh streets. It remained standing until recent years and is now 
superseded by a good business house. 

In a March number of the Cambridge Herald, in 18SS, the author 
gave the history of what he termed "The Oldest House Tn Town." in 
the following language: 

The old three-story log building on the west end of Wheeling ave- 



246 GUERNSEY COUNTY, OHIO. 

nue, now being taken down, is a relic of the past. The old logs are a 
reminder of the days when the present site of Cambridge was a forest 
of timber, tall oaks and poplar, which had stood the blasts of many a 
western wind, covered the landscape, telling to pioneers the richness of 
the soil. In those early days the more and larger the timber, the more 
desirable the land. As we looked today at this old structure, logs of oak 
and poplar, hewed to a line with corners notched square and plumb, 
we were led to think of the boldness and hardihood of those pioneers 
who entered the wilderness to hew out these ponderous structures. This 
age would not be equal to the task. This house was built by Judge 
George Metcalf, and was the second house built on the town plat. The 
old John Beatty house, which stood on a lot now part of the Taylor 
block, and was destroyed by fire some years ago, was the first. AYhat 
year this house was built is not certainly known, but it was just a new 
structure in 1806. when Thomas Sarchet settled in Cambridge. Built 
as it was on the top of the hill, it was first two stories. It was built for 
a tavern and was located on wdiat was intended to be the main street of 
Cambridge. But at the time of its building, the principal thoroughfare, 
the Zane trace, passed north of it. When the National road w r as graded 
through the hill, the cut, still shown on the south, was much higher on 
the north side, and left the house high up on the bank. This was in the 
year 1826. We may say that for twenty-two years it was a two-story 
tavern. Judge Metcalf made the excavation under the house and built 
in the under story, having it completed with the completion of the 
National road through Cambridge in 1828, and from that time continued 
the tavern in the three-story house, being the first three-story house in 
Cambridge, and he continued to occupy it as a tavern up to 1843. The 
name of the house has always been the Mansion House. Judge Metcalf 
was followed by a Mrs. Greer, and she by George Hawn. These occupied 
it but a few years, and it has since been a general tenement house for 
more than thirty years. 

Judge Metcalf's taven had a reputation far and wide. Man}- were 
the horsemen who would, on their journeys, strive to make Metcalf's to 
stay over night or for dinner. And the jolly stage passengers were more 
jolly after having dined at the Judge's. We might fill pages telling of 
the balls, quiltings and wool pickings, where ''joy was unconfined," with- 
in the lo»- walls of this old house, when there was no "high crust" or "low 
crust," but "men were men for a' that," and women too, "though clad in 
hodden grey and a' that." In the rear of this old house was a beautiful 



GUERNSEY COUNTS . OHIO. _'4" 

grass plat, well shaded, where in the summer time the table was spread, 
and art and nature vied with each other to make dinner or supper hour 
a Feasl which the gods might envy. 

In [812, the first company raised in Guernse) count) For the war, 
commanded by Cyrus P. Beatty, were given here a free dinner, and later 
on this grass plat, on great occasions, general muster or first court day, 
would be lilled with tallies, and the clanking of knives and forks and 
dishes told full well that good cheer and happiness surrounded the board. 

We now remember of but one accident of note that happened at this 

Old house. In the fall of the year [837, a horseman named Levi Morgan 
stayed over night, and was furnished a room in the third store. In the 
morning he was found lying dead on the pavement. It was supposed, the 
window being up, that he had rolled out. There was nothing among his 
effects to show where he came from. I lis horse, saddle and bridle, and 
what little money he had, was used for the expense of his burial, and 
for a stone to mark his grave, which reads: 

LEVI MORGAN, 

Died September _>_>nd, 1837. 

"Be ye therefore ready, for in such 

an hour as ye think not, the Son of 

Man cometh." 

EARLY HISTORY, SETTLERS, ETC. 
(Published in the News in lsTiM 

All classes of the mechanical arts essential to the wants in starting a 
town in the backwoods were represented among the first settlers — car- 
penters, wagonmakers, blacksmiths, cabinetmakers, shoemakers and 
weavers. To build a cabin was but the work of a day. Many accounts 
are given where the timber was taken from the stump, the cabin raised, 
roofed and floored, with puncheons, and a regular "housewarming" had 
at night in the way of "tripping the light, fantastic toe." 

The first hotel opened to the public in the town proper was by 
George R. Tingle, in a part of the old house still occupied by the Tingles, 
Travelers were notified that it was a house of security and safety, by the 
sign of the cross keys. A little later George Metcalf opened the Mansion 
House, now the Sidle House, then a one-story building, and Captain 



,248 GUERNSEY COUNTY, OHIO. < 

Knowls opened the "Traveler's Rest," in the old log house that stood on 
the Webster lot. At the close of the war of 1812 and for years after, 
Cambridge could boast of six hotels in good running order, with open 
bars where whisky was sold at three cents a drink. 

The first store was opened by John and Thomas Sarchet, in the room 
now occupied by T. C. Marsh for a cigar and tobacco store, in which was 
retailed dry goods, groceries and the regular "old hardware" by the 
gallon. 

The first brick house was built by John Sarchet, on the Shoufield 
corner; the second, front of the Fordyce house, by Jacob Gomber. The 
sawed lumber used in construction of the first house was whipsawed by 
two Scotchmen, named Landy and Miller, who had a mill erected 011 the 
Presbyterian church lot, where lumber was sawed to order. 

THE WHIPPING POST IN CAMBRIDGE. 

On the whipping-post in Cambridge, Colonel Sarchet wrote in the 
Times, in the spring of 1906, as follows: 

The first session of the common pleas court of Guernsey county, held 
in the new court house, was the August term, 1816. The journal reads: 
"The court of common pleas was held in the court house in Cambridge, 
Guernsey county, Ohio. Present: Hon. William Wilson, presiding 
judge: Jacob Gomber, Robert Spears and Thomas B. Kirkpatrick, asso- 
ciate judges. The first jury case called was: The State of Ohio vs. 
Samuel Timmins, indicted for uttering base coin. The following jury 
was called: James Thompson, John Tedrick, James Bratton, William 
Pollock. William Allen, Hugh Martin, Jesse Marsh, Thomas Roberts. 
Andrew McClary, George McCleary, John Huff and James Lloyd." 
Samuel Timmons was found guilty in the case for the same offense, and 
was sentenced by the court to receive, in one case, nineteen lashes on 
his bare back, and in the other case, twenty lashes. He was whipped 
on two different days. On the first day nineteen lashes and on the next 
day twenty lashes. This was a case of speedy execution. There was 
no motion for stay of execution or arrest of judgment. Elijah Dyson. 
sheriff, did the whipping. It was done in the presence of the grand jurors 
who found the indictments and of the jurors who found him guilty, and 
others who were in attendance at court and citizens of the town. 1'he 
whipping was in public. A large oak tree, perhaps two feet in diameter, 
that stood near where the large elm now stands on the southwest corner 



GUERNSEY COUNTY, OHIO. 249 

of the square, had been shattered by a windstorm from the wist. It was 
broken square off apast the centre some eight or ten feet from the ground 
and slivered down to the ground on the east side. This stump had stood 
there for many years until the hark was off it. Its west side was smooth. 
The prisoner was stripped down to below the waist. Then he was tied 
by the arms around the stump with a cord and also with a curd around 
his legs and around the stump. It was said that the lashes were well laid 
on and that the blood flowed at every cut. This old stump was used as 
a hitching post within the memory of the writer. Certainly at this day 
this would seem brutal and inhuman, yet brutality may be protected. 
This was the only case of whipping in this county. Judge Wilson was 
known throughout his district as the "Whipping Judge." 

There was introduced at the beginning of the present (1906) Legis- 
lature a bill to re-establish the whipping post for the punishment of cer- 
tain minor crimes. The whipping post law under the old constitution 
of ( )hio was repealed by the Legislature of 1829-30. Gen. James M. Bell, 
Esq., was the representative from Guernsey county and the speaker of 
(he House. He opposed the repeal of the law. and in a speech favoring 
lis continuance, gave substantially the same reasons as did President 
Roosevelt in his message to the present (1906) Congress, advocating a 
whipping post law for the punishment of minor offenses. 

EARLY DEEDS MADE. 

All about was a wilderness. The Sarchets were the first purchasers 
of lots in the town, and, after the Beatty house, built the first cabin on 
the town plat. The second Guernsey settlers came to Cambridge in 
Tune, 1807. The deeds were all made to Guernsey settlers, except one 
to William Marsh. The deeds to out-lots were not made until the county 
was formed in 1810. In the fall of 1807 the settlement had grown to the 
proportions of a hamlet, consisting of log cabins, located along the main 
thoroughfare, now Wheeling avenue, as follows, and all inhabited by a 
sturdy people: Thomas Sarchet, two cabins at what is now the corner 
of Seventh street and Wheeling avenue, on north side of latter: across 
the street to the southward were those of John Sarchet : on the west lot 
on the corner of West Eighth street were the cabins of Peter Sarchet: 
on what is now the National Hotel site were those of Tames Bichard, 
and then on the next corner east those of Thomas Xaftcl : on what is 
now the Doctor Ramsey and C. B. Cook dwellings were the cabins of 



25O GUERNSEY COUNTY, OHIO. 

William Marsh ; on the square from Ninth street to the Orme Hardware 
Company building, south side Wheeling avenue, were the cabins of 
Thomas Lenfesty, Mrs. Hubert, Maria and Charles Marquand, and to the 
westward, across the alley, on the present J. M. Ogier lot, was the cabin 
of his grandfather, William Ogier. With the exception of three cabins, 
located on the north side of Wills creek, south of the present Pennsyl- 
vania railway depot, which were outside the original plat, the aforenamed 
buildings constituted the town of Cambridge at that time. 

EARLY BUSINESS PROSPECTS. 

The following, written in 1839, shows the business outlook of Cam- 
bridge at that date : 

For some years past there has been quite a change in the business 
of this place. It is now no uncommon thing to see the streets thronged 
with horses and wagons, groaning under the loads of produce brought for 
the purpose of trading or for sale. There are seven stores in this place, 
which sell annually about fifty thousand dollars worth of goods, and 
it may not be out of place here to remark, that goods can be bought in 
Cambridge as cheap, at retail, as they can be purchased on the river Ohio 
or in the Atlantic cities. It will be discovered, by reference to our adver- 
tising columns, that they keep up their assortment — a stock amongst 
which can be found any article now in general use. 

Besides the fertility of the soil, its peculiar adaptation to the raising 
of wheat and grazing cattle, the citizens of the valley of Wills creek have 
the good fortune to be blessed with salt wells in abundance, which article 
can be had here at half the price it sells for in other portions of the state. 

Coals of an excellent kind can be found in all the hills which surround 
our place. The veins are generally from three to five feet, and the coal is 
easily and cheaply obtained by -mining. 

Nor is Cambridge deficient in morals, nor unthankful for its great 
natural comforts and advantages. We have four churches, which are 
generally well filled on the day of rest. AVe have also an academy in 
quite a flourishing conidtion. Although it has been opened but a few 
months, vet thirty-five or forty students may be found within its walls — 
ami lastly, though not least in point of consequence or usefulness, we 
have a public library, containing between seven and eight hundred 
volumes of well selected books. 

'I"he past dry summer — so dry, indeed, that the mighty Mississippi 



i.l KK.\SK\ COUNTV, OHIO. _S I 

dwindled to a mere streamlet— convinced our citizens of the necessity of 
erecting a steam flouring mill. Three gentlemen have associated them- 
selves together for thai purpose, and have already commenced opera- 
tions. It is contemplated to have sufficient power for carding, fulling, 
manufacturing jeans, sawing, etc. It is expected that this mill will be 
finished against the period water mills usually sin,, for want of their 
"peculiar element." The erection of tins mill will not only be a great 
advantage and convenience to the citizens of the county generally; by 
creating an increased demand for wheat as well as regulating the price 
of that article, but it will, at the same time, vastly increase the business 
of this place — a place, we are inclined to think, that will ere Ion- he of 
considerable commercial importance. — Guernsey Times. January, [839. 



At one of the sessions of the city council, an ordinance was intro- 
duced — whether passed or not is not remembered — for the submission to 
the electors of the city the question, whether bonds to the amount of 
five thousand dollars should be issued for the purpose of erecting a city 
market house. It may not be amiss to give a little of former market 
house history. At the June session of county commissioners in 1827 a 
grant was given the citizens of Cambridge to erect a market house on 
the public grounds anywhere south of the court house, so as not to 
obstruct the view of the court house from the main street. At the time 
there was no building of any kind on the Davis corner nor on the Central 
National Bank corner. The only buildings near the court house were 
the old log jail on the east, located partly on what is now East Eighth 
street, and a log house located on West Eighth street where the Brant- 
hoover and Johnson building is now located. The market house was 
located south of the jail and was partly on East Eighth street as now 
bounded. A reference to the original town plat will show that there were 
no streets marked through the public grounds. The street south of Main 
and south of the public grounds was called Market street. Why this 
first market house, built by the proprietors of the town and its citizens, 
was not located on Market street of the town plat, we have no means of 
knowing. The market house was built of brick, with pillars of brick on 
the sides, arched from pillar to pillar, with arched entrances at the south 
and north ends, and was in dimensions forty by twenty feet. The roof 
had a wide projection from the square of the building on either side. 



252 GUERNSEY COUNTY, OHIO. 

Between the pillars were the sale counters, and at the butchers' stalls 
were the cutting blocks and hanging racks. The stalls were rented to 
the butchers and regular country hucksters. There were regular market 
days, and the market was under the charge of a market master. On other 
than market days people from the country displayed what they had for 
sale at the market house by paying a small sum for the privilege. As 
Col. Z. A. Beatty was the largest stockholder, his son, John P. Beatty. 
was the market master, and as the Colonel was in the salt manufacturing 
business, he kept in the market house salt for sale by the barrel or less 
quantity, which was kept in a salt box. 

For some years within the memory of the writer the market house 
was continued, but gradually it began to decline. The market house 
became a place for country people to hitch their horses in or to, and on 
the old court days the athletes practiced in it the hop, step and jump, 
and pitched quoits in it on rainy days. On the old general muster days 
of brigade, regiment and company muster, in and around it were sold 
cider, gingerbread, apples and watermelons, and occasional fights were 
mixed in between the sales, and strolling auctioneers used it to cry off 
their goods. Salt having been kept in it, the town cows and cattle that 
roamed the woods and commons and old George R. Tingle's and Old 
Harvey's sheep resorted there to lick the pillars and sleep at night. It 
became a public nuisance. The pillars were half licked away, and instead 
of the citizens going there to market, they went there of mornings for 
their cows. The McCracken brick, now the Davis corner, and the 
Thomas S. Beatty brick, now the Hanna corner, had been built, and the 
Shaffner brick, now the Central Bank corner, was in building when it 
was thought the market house nuisance ought to be abated, but how, was 
the question. It was private property, constructed by a grant from the 
commissioners. There was no town corporate authority. Some young 
men, most all of whom are now dead, proposed to give Bill McMurray, 
father of Osmond McMurray of this city, five dollars and stand between 
him and the law, if. some time late at night, he being engaged to haul 
cordwood to town with a four-horse team, and a big. broad-wheeled 
wagon, he would hub one of the pillars and pull the market house 
down. The opportune time, a rainy dark night, Bill passed by it. and 
hubbed the southwest pillar, cracked his long blacksnake whip, and away 
went the pillar and down came the market house, and Bill and his team 
went on the run up Main street faster than the street cars go today. 
Col. Z. A. Beatty was then living; he made some threats, but nothing 



GUERNSEY COUNTY, OHIO. 253 

was t'one. The village of Cambridge was a little later incorporated. — 
Cambridge Herald. 

CAMBRIDGE POSTOPFICE, 

A postoffice was established in Cambridge in 1807. The firsl post- 
master was' Cyrus P. Beatty, and then Nicholas Saithache, and from early 
newspaper files it is discovered that the postmasters who served in Cam- 
bridge after 1825 were as follows: 1826, George Metcalf; 1832, Jacob 
Shaffner was postmaster up to about 1840, when the name of William M. 
Ferguson appears at the end of the list of advertised letters; 1841, came 
Isaac Mcllyar; 1844. William Smith; 1845, R. Burns; 1851-53. James M. 
Smith; 1853, James O. Grimes; 1851-53, James M. Smith: 1853. James O. 
Grimes. 

The following is a complete list of the Cambridge postmasters, in the 
order in which they served, regardless of the years each served: 

Francis Creighton. 
Edwin R. Nyce. 

William McDonald. 
C. L. Madison. 
W. H. H. Mcllyar. 
James R. Barr. 

Alpheus L. Stevens, present 
incumbent. 



In one of the old newspaper files the following schedule of the early- 
day stage lines and mail service has been discovered. The mail left 
Bradshaw (now Fairview) en route to Zanesville, via Beymerstown (now 
Washington), a distance of forty-five miles, making it in fifteen and a 
half hours. Tt was a tri-weekly mail service, the mail being carried on 
horseback. Fairview was laid out as a town in 1814. The card shows: 
Mail going' westward, leaves Bradshaw every Monday morning, 
Wednesdays and Fridays, at just half past three in the morning, and 
arrives at Cambridge at eleven-fifteen in the morning': at Oliver, by four 
in the afternoon, at Zanesville at seven in the evening. The item above 
mentioned in the newspaper file was the reproduction of an old crumpled- 
up paper wrapped up with some pills in a box, the same having been 
carefully laid away decades ago by some careful housewife of Guernsey 
county. 



I. 


Cyrus P. Beatty (1807). 


10. 


2. 


Nicholas Saithache. 


1 1. 


3- 


Jacob Shaffner. 


12. 


4- 


William M. Ferguson. 


13- 


5- 


Isaiah Mcllyar. 


14- 


6. 


William Smith. 


15- 


7. 


Robert Burns. 


16. 


8. 


James M. Smith. 




9- 


James O. Grimes. 





254 GUERNSEY COUNTY, OHIO. 

From the author's pen in an article written for the Cambridge 
Jeffersonian, in October. 1906, the following was written concerning post- 
office matters in this city: 

"The west side of the lot, not No. 22, but No. 21, was not built on 
till 1848. The postoffice had been down street for many years. After 
the election of Gen. Zachary Taylor, President, it was claimed by the 
uptown citizens that the postoffice should be removed toward them. 
Peter Ogier had built by the home of Thomas Scott, the father of T. W. 
Scott, of this city, a postoffice building on the northwest corner of the 
lot. It was one story and contained two rooms. 

"After the inauguration of President Taylor, March 4, 1849. this 
building was ready for occupation by the Whig postmaster, William 
Smith, who was soon after appointed. James M. Smith, his brother, was 
his deputy. He was known as "lame Jimmy Smith." It was divided 
into two rooms ; the outside or waiting room was large, and the room 
for the boxes and office matter was large enough for the postoffice busi- 
ness of that day. There were seats around the room for the accommoda- 
tion of persons waiting for the mails to be distributed. 

"At that time there were two daily mails, carried by the stage- 
coaches on the old pike ; one from the east in the forenoon and one from 
the west in the afternoon, that began soon after the opening of the old 
pike. Before that the mails on the Wheeling road were uncertain as to 
their arrival, and not always daily. There were regular tri-weekly mails 
from Steubenville, over the grade road, carried in stages, but in the 
winter the mails were carried on horseback. 

"The postoffice was kept there during the Taylor and Fillmore 
administrations. Some years later, the present drug room, now being 
remodeled, was built. Dr. S. B. Clark had succeeded the Nattels, and the 
store was known, both the old and the new room, as the Ogier and Clark 
drug store, down to 1857, when Peter Ogier became sole proprietor, 
the name being Ogier's Drug Store. After his death, it was continued 
by his son. the late John M. Ogier." 

The first postmaster in Cambridge, C. P. Beatty, made a letter-box 
himself and it has served in such capacity ever since, with additional 
fixtures as the times demanded them. The postal route was then from 
Wheeling to Zanesville, and was established about 1808. Letters were 
first carried by travelers passing through the country. The postal rate 
was high and was fixed according to the distance carried. If from Phila- 
delphia to Washington, it was twenty-five to thirty cents. The first 



GUERNSEY COUNTY, 25; 

post-boy to carry mail from Cambridge to Zanesville was John Magiffen, 
who became a soldier in the war of iNu, and is buried in the old Cam- 
bridge cemetery. 

A P0ST0FFICE "PRIMARY" imiukm. 

Cold primaries in April sometimes -row warm, and the exciting one 
in this city April 2d with the Republicans was not an entirely new thing 
in Cambridge, excepting, perhaps, as to the use of whisky, money, etc. 

We now record the account of a Democratic one that took place 
more than three score years ago. In April, 1X40, the Cambridge post- 
office became vacant by the resignation of Jacob Shaffner, a Democrat, 
and the following public call w.as issued: 

PUBLIC MEETING. 

"The citizens of Cambridge and vicinity are requested to meet at 
the court house on Monday evening, April 20th, for the purpose of 
advising on a suitable person to be recommended to fill the position of 
postmaster in this place. 

" V general attendance is requested. 

"Many Citizens." 

This meeting was organized by appointing Joseph Stoner chairman. 
lie was the father of Mayor Jim Stoner, of Georgetown, and John Bute, 
who was secretary, was an uncle of Capt. J. B. Ferguson, of this city. 

It was understood that the persons voted for should be Democrats 
and the ones receiving the greatest number of votes should be recom- 
mended for appointment. The chairman's hat. a large, white wool hat, 
was the ballot box. The Whigs turned out in force, being in the major- 
ity, and decided that they would vote for William Smith, a Whig, who 
was deputy postmaster. Chairman Stoner. thinking there was some 
trick being played by the Whigs, declared the polls closed, put on his 
hat, ballots and all, and adjourned the meeting. The votes were never 
counted. While the leading Democrats were trying to agree on a candi- 
date to again be voted for and recommended for appointment, old Billy 
Ferguson had been quietly working, through his brother John, an official 
in Washington City, and before the next voting time arrived, old Billy 
received the commission and took charge of the office. The abrupt 
closing of the polls by Chairman Stoner had the effect of securing the 
appointment of the very man the Democrats were most opposed to. and 
Stoner was accused of usurping authority in the interest of Ferguson. 



256 GUERNSEY COUNTY, OHIO. 

The Democratic wrangle succeeding this appointment, for fear Van 
Buren might be re-elected, did not cease until General Harrison was 
elected, and Isaac Mcllyar, a Whig, was appointed to the office succeed- 
ing Ferguson. 

The Cambridge office became a postal money order office in the 
month of December, 1871, and the money order business that month 
amounted to two thousand, eight hundred and thirty-three dollars. 

The money order business for the month of October, 1910, was 
fifteen thousand, three hundred and thirty-seven dollars and fifty-six 
cents, received on orders isued from this point, and four thousand, three 
hundred and seventeen dollars on orders paid out from this office. 

Cambridge had a free delivery of mail in the winter of 1898-99. At 
first there were three carriers, but today there are seven. 

The first rural route was started from Cambridge in 1900, and it has 
increased to ten in 1910. The routes average about twenty-four miles 
each and give the farming community excellent mail facilities, allowing 
them to receive their daily papers the same as though they resided in 
the city. 

The postal savings bank system was inaugurated at Cambridge at 
the close of 1910. 

The office has been in its present quarters thirteen years. 

FIRST TELEGRAPH IN CAMBRIDGE. 

"On Monday last an office of the National Telegraph Company was 
opened at this place, in the room over Nyce & Matthews' drug store, 
and Tames D. Hoge, of Zanesville, appointed operator. This will be a 
matter of great convenience to our citizens, and especially to our busi- 
ness men. For the information of our readers, we have procured from 
Mr. Hoge the following schedule of charges for telegraphing a dispatch 
of one to ten words, and the charge for each additional word: 

"For ten words to Wheeling, twenty-five cents; Steubenville, Zanes- 
ville, Columbus, the same. From Cambridge to Pittsburg, Pennsyl- 
vania, thirty cents. To Louisville, forty cents; Baltimore, sixty-five 
cents; Philadelphia, seventy-five cents; New York, ninety cents; New 
Orleans, one dollar and eighty cents. Two cents per word for each word 
over ten." — From the Cambridge Times, 1854. 



GUERNSEY COUNTY, OHIO. 257 

MUNICIPAL HISTORY. 

Cambridge was incorporated in 1837 and had for its first officers: 
W. W. Tracey, mayor; Moses Sarchet, recorder. This was for the 
"village" corporation. This continued until May 6, 1895, when the place 
had reached a population of five thousand, nine hundred and seventy- 
five and was then made a "city." The various mayors have served in 
the following order: 

1838— J. M. Bell. 1874— Ross W. Anderson. 

1840 — Isaac Mcllyar. 1875 — Koss W. Anderson. 

1841— Nathan Evans. 1878-1882— William M. Farrer. 

1841— J. M. Bushfield. 1882— William Wharton. 

1842— R. D. Solmon. 1883-1884— William Wharton. 

1842— J. M. Bushfield. 1885- 1887— James E. Lawrence. 

1844-1845— J. M. Bushfield. 1888— R. T. Scott. 

(No record to 1855.) 1890-1894 — James R. Barr. 

1855-1857 — Nathan Evans. 1894-1896 — J. C. Longsworth. 

1861— J. M. Bushfield. 1 897- 1 898— H . W. Luccock. 

1868 — Moses Sarchet. 1898-1900 — A. M. Baxter. 

1872 — Elza Turner. 1900- 1904 — J. A. Small wood. 

1873— E. W. Mathews. 1904-1908— W. R. Bradford. 

1874— E. W. Mathews. 1 908-191 1— R. M. Allison. 

The city offices are now in leased rooms on the second floor of the 
Cambridge Building & Loan Company's block, on Wheeling avenue. 
They removed from the Burgess building to the present place in 1910; 
before that they were in the Taylor block for a number of years. 

Since becoming a city the improvements have been many and of a 
modern city-type. They are now over twelve miles of street paving and 
about twenty-five miles of sanitary sewers. The city now owns its 
water works system, constructed at a cost of sixty thousand dollars, 
with a stand-pipe pressure system. Bonds were issued for these works, 
and at present the city is about to enlarge its water works plant and 
secure more and better quality of pare water, the present supply coming 
from Wills creek. 

The fire department is of the volunteer kind and is equipped with 
an old "steamer," many years in use, and a good hook and ladder equip- 
ment. 

(17) 



258 GUERNSEY COUNTY, OHIO. 

The streets are illuminated by arc lights furnished by the Midland 
Power and Light Company under a ten-year contract. 

From the city extends out through the surrounding country the 
great National pike and other first-class macadamized roads. 

The present officers of the city are as follows: Mayor, R. M. Alli- 
son ; clerk, C. L. Blackburn, who is an old and capable newspaper man; 
who is now serving his third term in this capacity; auditor, W. J. Hood; 
treasurer, W. W. Lawrence; solicitor, S. C. Carnes ; director of service, 
E. W. Boden ; superintendent of water works, J. I. Kidd ; director of 
safety, J. E. Gregg; chief of fire department, C. C. Long; superintendent 
of cemeteries, Charles Campbell; chief of police, John A. Long; patrol- 
men, H. W. Merideth, John Middleton and J. W. Gilmore; Dr. W. T. 
Ramsey, health officer; city engineer, J. T. Fairchild. The city council 
is composed of the following: D. L. Rankin, president; J. B. Bratton, 
H. A. Forsythe and J. B. Clark, councilmen-at-large ; T. W. Fowler, from 
first ward; M. Thorla, second ward; O. M. Bayless, third ward, and 
James B. Peters, fourth ward. 

The corporation has its own jail, located in the rear of the city 
offices, and it is provided with four steel cells, making secure those who 
have to be incarcerated. 

THE PUBLIC LIBRARY. 

The early history of the library in Cambridge is best told by the 
following correspondence in the Jeffersonian in 1879, and in the Times 
in 1903: 

We have on our table at this writing a copy of the "By-Laws of 
the Guernsey County Library and Reading Room," adopted March 3, 
1832, and printed by John Hersh, Jr., Cambridge. The society was in- 
corporated by an act of Legislature, passed February 11, 1832, as at- 
tested by W. B. Hubbard, speaker of the House, and William Doherty, 
speaker of the Senate. James M. Bell was president ; Ebenezer Smith, 
treasurer; and Moses Sarchet, secretary and librarian. At the close of 
the little pamphlet is given an "Alphabetical List of Stockholders, March 
7th, 1832," which we copy in full as follows: 

John M. Allison, James M. Bell, John P. Beatty, Thomas S. Beatty, 
Allen W. Beatty, David Burt, Sr., David Burt, Jr., John Chapman, 
Thomas Cooke, Henry Clark, Wyatt Hutchison, John Hersh, Jr., Lamech 
Hawley, Gordon Lofland, Samuel Lindsey, Rev. Daniel McLane, George 



GUERNSEY COUNTY. 



259 



Metcalf, William McCracken, Andrew Metcalf, Robert B. Moore, 
Thomas Miller, Robert J. McClary, Seneca Needham, Isaac Parrish, 
Ebenezer Smith, David Sarchet, Moses Sarchet, Peter B. Sarchet, Wil- 
liam W. Tracey, Rev. William Wallace. John Woodrow, Nicholas Bail- 
hache. Hamilton Robb, John Bogle, John Nicholson, Richard (lark, 
James B. Moore, John Baldridge, John Ferguson, Levi Rinehart, |ohh 
B. Thompson, John (."lark, Joseph Bute, Nathan Evans, Samuel Wilson, 
Andrew Magee, 15. A. Albright, Samuel Fish, Ansel Briggs. Of the 
above list, hut five persons are known to he living, Moses and David 
Sarchet, and James 1',. Moore, who reside here. Rev. Andrew Magee, 
who now lives at Prairie City. Illinois, and Rev. Hamilton Robb, ex- 
treasurer of this county, who. with his aged wife, resides at Mattoon, 
Illinois. — Jeffersonicm, [879. 

In the fall of 1898 at a dinner party given at the home of the late 
Hon. Joseph D. Taylor, the library movement was taked of. and Mrs. 
J. D. Taylor began the canvass. She secured one thousand eight hundred 
dollars, taking life memberships in the association at twenty-five dollars. 
The first meeting of the Cambridge Library Association was held Feb- 
ruary 23, 1899, in the room now ocupied by the library, and which was 
given free for five years by Hon. J. D. Taylor. At this meeting John 
M. Amos was made president for one year, and John L. Locke, Esq., 
secretary. The one thousand eight hundred dollars secured by life mem- 
berships was expended for books and furnishings. At the meeting of 
the association held in April. 1901. the Carnegie libraries were talked of, 
and a committee to communicate with him was appointed. As repre- 
sentatives of this committee. A. R. McCulloch. Esq., and Rev. W. H. 
Weir went to Xew York, and learned the terms upon which the building 
would lie donated. It was steady work from that time on. First the 
school board, then the council, agreed to make the necessarv levy, 
amounting in all to one thousand eight hundred dollars a year to keep up 
the library. 

Then there was a hitch in regard to the desired location on Steuben- 
ville avenue, just back of the court house. This property belonged to the 
county, and a special act of Legislature was required to empower the 
commissioners to give this site. All this done. Mr. McCulloch notified 
Mr. Carnegie, and he received answer from him on May u, 1902, that 
eighteen thousand dollars had been deposited to the credit of the Cam- 
bridge Library Association. Plans were decided upon, and bids taken, 
none being within the limit. Then some changes were made, and on 



260 GUERNSEY COUNTY, OHIO. 

last Saturday evening the bids were opened and the contract awarded to 
C. W. Dowling, of Williamsburg, West Virginia, for seventeen thousand, 
six hundred and thirty-eight dollars. The building is to be completed 
by August 15, 1903. — Times, 1903. 

Before the building was completed it was found that the amount 
donated was not sufficient to complete it, and Mr. Carnegie was asked 
to give the balance, which amounted to five thousand dollars more, 
which he kindly consented to do, making his total gift twenty-three 
thousand dollars. The formal opening of the library took place Novem- 
ber 17, 1904, with appropriate ceremony. 

The present number of volumes in this library is seven thousand, 
five hundred. Its present officers are: F. L. Rosmond, president; John 
M. Arms, secretary; M. S. Burgess, treasurer; M. Grace Robins, 
librarian ; Jessie Grimes, assistant librarian. 

On the front of the building one of the two inscriptions reads "Know 
the truth and the truth shall make you free." 

THE CITY CEMETERIES. 

The first burying ground in Cambridge of a public nature was the 
one located overlooking the valley, and now almost within the heart 
of the city. Of its lots and as to some of the persons there buried the 
following letter in the local papers a few years ago by Colonel Sarchet, 
will inform the reader : 

We propose to give some history of the graveyard's silent occu- 
pants, so far as the time-worn tombstones and our memory will serve us. 
The rows of lots on the west side were first taken, as the entrance was 
from that side. Here we find the Cook family. 

Capt. Thomas Cook, of the Revolutionary war, settled early in the 
history of Ohio, on the old Wheeling road, three miles east of Cam- 
bridge, on two hundred acres of soldier bounty land, now the Winfield 
Scott farm at the crooked bridge, over Cook's run, thus giving the run 
its name. We suggest here that there is much unwritten history in the 
runs of Guernsey county, as their names are taken from the early set- 
tlers, or from some local incident occurring along them. Your itemizers 
might trace the history of some of the runs in their localities. The 
Talbert family, Nathaniel Talbert, known as Yankee Talbert, was a sort 
of wizzard, a pow-wow over sick horses and a sort of "verb doctor," 
peeling the bark up for an emetic and down for a cathartic. 



GUERNSEY COUNTY, OHIO. 261 

The Tingle family, John and George R. Tingle, one of the early 
tavern keepers, and the head of the Tingle family of Cambridge. The 
Beatty family, Capt. C. P. Beatty, of the war of 1S12, and the first clerk 
of court of Guernsey county. The Talbot family, Lloyd Talbot, a 
prominent character and official in the early history of the county. 

The Ferguson family is marked by two stones, one to the memory 
of John Ferguson, senior, the other to Jane and Washington Ferguson. 
In the northwest corner and perhaps in the part thrown out into the 
alley, was the grave of a child of James Oldham, which was the first 
to be buried in the graveyard. In this corner is a stone to Oren Cregp. 
In the southwest corner Moman Morgan, the colored barber, was 
buried. "Fobe" Beatty and "Dick" O'Ferrell, slaves, brought from Vir- 
ginia with these families, were also buried in this corner. "Tobe" Beatty 
was the first colored person to live in Cambridge. There is to the south 
a stone marked for John Brown. Between these marked graves are a 
number unmarked. The original plan of the graveyard seems to have 
been a double row of lots, with a space for a walk between, and as some 
of the stones face to the east and to the west in the same row. and 
being unevenly set, it is difficult to trace the exact original plan. 

In this first row is a stone to Robert Bell, age one hundred and seven 
years, and to a son Robert, aged fifty-four years. The Bell and Ferguson 
plots are side by side. These were early settlers and connected by inter- 
marriage. In this row and in an unmarked grave lies Francis Donsonchet, 
a French soldier under Napoleon Bonaparte, and father of Dr. Francis 
Donsonchet, an eccentric character in the early history of Cambridge. 
In this row are buried two who died from unnatural causes, Nelson 
Talbot, son of Lloyd Talbot, was drowned in Wills creek. William 
Tingle, son gf George R. Tingle, was bitten by a poisonous spider, and 
died from its effect. Near the Ferguson and Lofland plots is a large 
sycamore tree, planted long years ago by some one of these families. 

In the next row is the Col. Z. A. Beatty square. There is no mark 
except a stone erected to the memory of Margery Louisa, child of John 
P. Beatty and Rachel Sarchet. Next to this is the Gomber square. The 
old stones are so time-worn as to be almost illegible. In this is a stone 
erected to the memory of Maria Gomber, wife of James B. Moore. Next 
to this square are some stones, but the traces of the letters are gone. 
They mark the resting place of some of the Thomas Metcalf family. 
The next in the row is a monument erected to the memory of Col. Gor- 
don Lofland and Sarah P. Lofland, his wife, and to Thomas Metcalf. 



262 GUERNSEY COUNTY, OHIO. 

the first husband of Sarah P. Lofland and to the deceased children of 
these marriages. Sarah P. Lofland was a daughter of Jacob Gomber. 
In our history of the town we did not reach Colonel Lofland. as his 
residence was outside the original plat. It is now known as the old 
Lofland house. This, in the days of Colonel Lofland, on the large and 
beautiful farm which covered all that part north of Steubenville avenue, 
and west of Fifth street, to Wills creek, was a cozy place, and but a short 
walk from town. It was the scene of many a jolly merry-making of the 
young people of its day. Colonel Lofland was prominent in the militia 
days, and during the late war, but was not a successful business man. 

Northwood cemetery, the latest one established near Cambridge, 
contains forty acres of high, dry and beautifully situated land to the 
north of the city, on North Eighth street. It was platted in 1899. ^ 
is under a board of control, now consisting of Messrs. R. M. Allison, S. 
E. Boden and J. B. Gregg, the latter serving as director of public safety. 
These grounds are now well improved and have already many graves 
and fine monuments and tombs erected to the departed dead of the 
community. The old city burying-ground has become well filled and un- 
fit for modern use. There rest many of the departed pioneers and their 
graves are visited frequently by children and grandchildren. 

The City cemetery, lying on the brow of the hill overlooking the 
valley, in the southeast part of the city, was opened for use about 1858-59 
and contains about seven acres. The present superintendent is C. W. 
Campbell. It has not been used much since the opening of the new bury- 
ing-ground — Northwood. It is only used by those whose family lot has 
not already been filled. It is tastily cared for and contains many fine 
tombstones and monuments erected to the silent sleepers, who comprise 
many of Cambridge's best known old settlers. 

RELIGIOUS WORSHIP. 

The first place of religious worship in Cambridge was at the house 
of Thomas Sarchet, where those Guernsey people held what was called 
"French meeting." William Ogier was an ordained minister of the 
Methodist Episcopal church, and Thomas Sarchet, a licensed exhorter, 
who in turn conducted the exercises. From the nucleus of these Guern- 
sey men sprang the Methodist Episcopal congregation. This society 
was soon attached to the Zanesville circuit. The circuit as then traveled 
was bounded as follows : Beginning at Zanesville, up the Muskingum to 



GUERNSEY COUNTY, OHIO. 263 

the mouth of the Tuscarawas, up the Tuscarawas to the mouth of big 

Stillwater, up big Stillwater to the old Wheeling road, and west on said 
road to Zanesville, comprising as much territory in its bounds as is in 
the Cambridge district. The first traveling preacher of any denomina- 
tion that preached in Cambridge was James Watts of the Methodist 
Episcopal church. It is worthy to be noted that this charge has been 
filled by such eminent ministers as Bishop Morris, who lived here about 
the year 1817, James B. Findley, John P. Durbin, Leroy Swarmstead, 
S. R. Brockunier, Jacob and David Young, and Doctor Whiteman, pio- 
neers of western Methodism. All the religious societies that have places 
of public worship now in Cambridge, except the Protestant Methodist, 
were represented by members among the first settlers that I have named : 
but, except the Methodist Episcopal society, none had regular services 
for many years. 

After the erection of the court house the Methodists had religious 
services every Sabbath in the grand jury room. In this room the great 
Lorenzo Dow once preached, as he was traveling to the West. 

The first church building erected was by the Seceders, about the 
year 1826, on the Captain Anderson lot; but on account of some defect 
in construction was soon pronounced unsafe, and had to be abandoned. 
Services were then held in the lower room of the "old lodge." It is said 
that two of the members would not "leave the house of God and go to 
the house of Baal," but demanded their papers, shook the dust from off 
their feet, and joined a congregation far away from the contaminating 
influences of "secret oath-bound societies." 

( For a detailed history of the Cambridge churches see general chap- 
ters, where all denominations of the county appear under proper heads.) 

TEMPERANCE MOVEMENTS. 

In 1842 Washingtonian temperance societies were at high tide 
throughout the country, and Ohio, that had just emerged from the hard- 
cider campaign of 1840, took her place as one of the foremost among the 
states in favor of teetotalism. The annual meeting of the Cambridge 
Washingtonian Temperance Society was held in the Presbyterian church 
on January 22, 1842. The sober second thought of the people was work- 
ing wonders and rapidly spreading and extending the great work of 
reformation. This meeting was addressed by Gen. David Tallmage, of 
Lancaster, and Napoleon B. Guille, of Zanesville. General Tallmage was 



264 GUERNSEY COUNTY, OHIO. 

the proprietor of the great stage line "Good Intent" in Ohio and he had 
sent out circular letters all along his lines, requiring the discharge of all 
drivers who had not signed the teetotal pledge. Niel, Moore & Com- 
pany, proprietors of the great "Ohio Stage Company." had sent out sim- 
ilar circulars. There was to be no more upsetting of coaches or drunken 
drivers. 

In 1S43 the Cambridge Washingtonian Temperance Society resolved 
to make a grand temperance display and parade on July 4th with a free 
public dinner, to which the temperance societies of the county were 
invited. The tables were to be spread in the beech grove in the old mill 
bottom a short distance east of the old Morton house. It was to be and 
was a grand gala day in the cause of temperance, as well as an Independ- 
ence day celebration. 

The order of march from the public square to the grove, as given in 
the program, was as follows : "Under the direction of Col. Gordon 
Lofland, chief marshal, assisted by Maj. Nathan Evans, John Clark and 
Jacob G. Metcalf; Fairview military company, Capt. Isaac Pumphrey: 
Cambridge Mozart Band; officers of temperance societies and temper- 
ance men ; Cambridge Sabbath schools ; county officials and lawyers : 
citizens and visitors, men and women. 

The line of march was down the old mill road. At the grove a large 
stand had been erected near the long dinner tables, that had been con- 
structed with forks and boards. Around great log heaps the meats were 
being roasted and boiled and kettles of coffee were steaming. Piles of 
bread and pies were stacked up around the trees in huge conical forms. 

The exercises at the grand stand were opened with prayer by Rev. 
William Ross, the Methodist Protestant minister; John Hersch, Esq., 
made an introductory address and read the Declaration of Independence; 
an oration was delivered by Thomas Brown, Esq. ; temperance addresses 
by Mathew Gaston, Esq., and Rev. George Clancy. This closed the ex- 
ercises of the forenoon. 

IMPORTANT EVENTS. 

Black Hawk, the noted Indian chief, passed through Cambridge in 
the spring of 1833, in charge of some United States officers. The party 
stopped some time at the Hutchison tavern, where the stage team was 
changed. The word soon spread through town, and a large number of 
citizens, men, women and children, hurried to the tavern to see the great 
Indian chieftain. 



GUERNSEY COUNTY, OHIO. 265 

On Monday, November 26, 1849, General Tom Thumb, the world 
famous dwarf, then in his seventeenth year, and weighing but fifteen 
pounds, appeared in Cambridge, and was on exhibition at the court house 
from two-thirty to four o'clock in the afternoon, and from seven to 
eight-thirty in the evening-. This remarkable specimen of humanity, 
twenty-eight inches in height, gave a street parade, having a curious 
miniature equipage of two of the smallest horses in the world, a diminu- 
tive coachman, and a carriage proportionately tiny. Tom Thumb, or, 
to call him by his real name, Charles S. Stratton, was accompanied by his 
parents and attendants, in all, eleven persons. The price of admission 
was twenty-five cents, children under ten years, half-price. 

A small band of Mormonites passed through this place a few days 
since, on their way to the "New Jersalem," located somewhere in the 
state of Missouri. While here, they encamped on a bank of Wills creek, 
in the rear of the town. — Guernsey Times, July jo. 1833. 

The Guernsey Times of July 6, 1833, contains the following: 
"Daniel Webster, in company with his lady and daughter, passed through 
this place on Saturday morning last, on his return home from a visit to 
the western part of the state." 

At the election in Cambridge December 27, 1897, two issues were up 
for solution — the voting of water works bonds and that for a new ceme- 
tery. The votes stood: For cemetery, 254; against, 154. For water 
works, 260; against, 136. The majority not being two-thirds, both issues 
failed of carrying. 

When Queen Victoria of England was crowned in 1837, the Cam- 
bridge Academy held a service in which they, too, went through the 
mock ceremony of crowning her. It was a high-toned affair, attended by 
many of the, best citizens. The then boy of nine summers — Mr. Sarchet, 
supervising editor of this work — lived to write of the good Queen's death 
in 1 901. The occasion in Cambridge enlisted the best talent of the 
Academy: a young lady, who later was well known in the city, was made 
queen and the maids of service and honor were not a few. The queen's 
long dress train was carried by the girls in real court style. But with all 
that was English, there were some American features, too. "America." 
"Hail Columbia" and other national airs were rendered, while the folds 
of "Old Glory" were floating in the breeze. 

The high water mark of March, 1907, at Cambridge, excelled that 
of 1884 by almost one foot and heat all previous records since the settle- 
ment of the countv. 



266 GUERNSEY COUNTY, OHIO. 

The first cars were run on the electric line between Cambridge and 
Byesville in the autumn of 1903 (October 21) over the Cambridge Con- 
solidated Company's line, later styled the Cambridge Power, Light & 
Traction Company, but at this time known as the Midland Power & 
Traction Company. The road was opened up to the Byesville limit five 
weeks earlier than that date, but not clear to Byesville. 

A society for the prevention of cruelty to animals, known as the 
Guernsey County Humane Society, was formed at Cambridge in the 
spring of 1907. Its first president was A. M. Baxter; secretary, John P. 
Turner; treasurer, Mrs. J. M. Ferguson. The first person made humane 
officer was U. G. Henderson. It is now doing much good in the county. 

Cambridge has more slate roofed buildings — business and residences 
— than any city of its population in Ohio, according to the statement of 
1910 contractors. 

In the autumn of 1874 the county and city were greatly enthused 
over the Woman's Temperance Crusade, and in the fall of 1877 the great 
Francis Murphy temperance wave struck the county and made Cam- 
bridge its headquarters and by it many were rescued from the demon 
drink. 

The first electric street cars were operated at Cambridge April 24, 
1902, by the Consolidated Company. 

The Electric park was thrown open to the public in the summer of 
1907. 

LORENZO DOW IN CAMBRIDGE. 

Lorenzo Dow preached twice in Cambridge; the first time in 1826, 
the second in 1832. On his first visit his wife, Peggy, was with him. 
They were traveling horseback. At the time of his second visit, the 
writer was a small boy, but retains a very distinct recollection of the 
event, and of the appearance of the strange, eccentric preacher, as he 
stood on a stump, his horse standing beside him. 

The news of his approach had been brought by the stage driven from 
the east, some hours in advance of his arrival. It was noised abroad. 
Those who had heard him on his first visit were anxious to hear him 
again, and there were many citizens of the town and vicinity who had 
never heard him. All were on the alert, and When they arrived at the 
public square a large crowd of men, women and children were there 
awaiting his coming. We were led by our grandfather, and what we 
relate is rather hearsay than recollection we could have of his discourse. 
He began the services by singing: 



GUERNSEY COUNTY, OHIO. 2C)J 

"Hark! From the tombs a doleful sound, 

Mine ears attend the cry, 
Ye living men, come view the ground, 

Where you must shortly lie." 

With all his eccentricities, he aimed t<> do good. No one will ques- 
tion that he did good. The biography of Lorenzo is in every way curious 
and useful. He regarded the world as all going wrong, and that he was 
born to set it right. He printed books and tracts, which he sold or gave 
away on his travels through the western wilderness. 

His subject was: "The Clay in the Hands of the Potter." The 
political contest between Gen. Andrew Jackson and Henry Clay was in 
full blast and his first sentence was, "I suppose you are all for Clay." 
He then continued as indicated by the hymn and Scripture quotation. 
After preaching, he mounted his horse and rode on eastward, spending 
the night at Norwich. There he preached to a crowded house in the 
Methodist Episcopal church. 

In the assemby were two men, who were disposed to ask him ques- 
tions. As they asked questions, he inquired their names. One gave his 
name as Bush, the other Grubb. Bush had said: "You are talking about 
Heaven; tell us how it looks." Dow turned his grave face and long gray 
locks toward his questioners, and said with great gravity : "Heaven, 
friends, is a vast extent of rich, smooth territory. There is not a Bush 
nor a Grubb in it, and never will be." 

He was the oddest kind of an oddity. His manners and sayings 
during the years that he traveled in almost every state and town of 
this country were given as widespread publicity by the newspapers as 
those of the celebrated Rowland Hill. — From Col. C. P. B. Sarchet's 
writings. 

GEN. WILLIAM HENRY HARRISON HERE. 

Gen. William Henry Harrison passed through Cambridge twice be- 
fore he was the candidate of the Whig party in 1840. The first time he 
was traveling to the east in a private coach, and stopped at the Judge 
Metcalf tavern. The word was soon passed around that he was in town 
and would hold a levee at the court house. The women and children 
flocked to the court house to await his coming. The men. more impa- 
tient, hurried to the tavern to greet him. From the tavern he was 
escorted up the street on either side by General Bell and Major Dunlap, 



268 GUERNSEY COUNTY, OHIO. 

followed by a long line of citizens, many of whom were old soldiers of 
the war of 1812. Among these was old Sol Kinney, colored. He had a 
string of buttons and a pair of bones, which he rattled and clapped, being 
at the head of the line. At the court house General Harrison shook 
hands with the women and children, and kissed all the babies. After an 
hour of pleasant social greetings to all, irrespective of party, the coach 
drove up in front of the court house, and the General, taking a seat on 
top with the driver, moved off amid the cheers of the gathered multitude. 
His second visit to Cambridge was after he had received the votes of 
the Whig party for President in 1836. He was traveling to the west 
by private coach, and stopped at the old Hutchison tavern. As word 
had been sent on in advance that he was to pass through Cambridge, the 
people from the country flocked into town. He had passed the night 
east of Cambridge, and was followed from the east by a great train of 
carriages and horsemen. He was received at the head of "Wheeling 
avenue by the great crowd gathered to await his coming, and passed 
down the street to the Hutchison tavern, the coach being surrounded 
by the rejoicing and vociferous Whigs. The coach was gaily trimmed 
with flags and bunting, and on the top a drum corps filled the air with 
strains of martial music. A large number of Whigs of Cambridge had 
made ready to escort him to Zanesville. After dinner the great caval- 
cade moved down through the street, which was lined on either side by 
the citizens, men. women and children, cheering for "Old Tip." This 
was ihe beginning of what three years later was to be the most memor- 
able political campaign in the nation's history. General Harrison did 
not visit Cambridge in 1840, neither did Tom Corwin, to make a speech. 
He was prevented from being at the great '40 meeting by sickness, but 
he was represented at the great joint rally of Guernsey and Belmont 
counties at Fairview. At this meeting an old Democrat had made the 
declaration that he was going to tell Tom Corwin that he was a dema- 
gogue. So the old fellow took a position near the speaker's stand, and 
when the opportune time came he looked up at Corwin, and said, "You 
are nothing but a demagogue." Corwin turned and looked at him for a 
moment, and said: "If you were wrapped with willows you would be 
a demijohn." — C. P. B. Sarchet, in Cambridge Herald, 1897. 

LOXG-AGO CAMBRIDGE INCIDENTS. 

The first house in what is now Gaston's addition was built by "Katy" 
Whetzel, who built a cabin on the north end of the T- C. Beckett lot. She 



GUERNSEY COUNTY, OHIO. 269 

lived for a long time with Judge Spears, in Adams township, in the old tavern 
on the old Wheeling road. She was said to be a relative of Lewis Whetzel, 
the great Indian fighter, "whose gun was always loaded." This cabin, and 
the first Methodist church, that was on the Simons' foundry lot, and the first 
Methodist Protestant church on the present site were all the houses in this 
part of town sixty years ago. Over the creek all was woods, except a small 
field known as "Beatty's meadow." In the corner of this, about the site of 
Mrs. Long's residence, were two cabins, in one of which lived General Jack- 
son, father of the late Samuel Jackson. He was one of the old road team- 
sters, before and after the building of the National road. In the other lived 
old Tom Lawrence. Two of his sons were makers of history, connected with 
the courts of Guernsey county. Andy was sent to the penitentiary at Colum- 
bus for stabbing with intent to kill, and was among the first to be confined in 
the first brick jail of the county. He was a teamster while at the penitentiary, 
and engaged in hauling the stone at the beginning of the erection of the pres- 
ent state capitol. John had an altercation with Jerry Nubia, a colored Quaker. 
Jerry, forgetting the teachings of peace, went home, and "with malice afore- 
thought," armed himself with a gun and went out gaming after Lawrence. 
He shot at him from the now Mcllyar corner, toward the Davis corner, Law- 
rence at the time making toward Nubia with a stone in his hand. Nubia 
used a shot gun. One shot took effect, entering Lawrence's eye. The writer 
and others were standing on the then McCracken corner. The shots and slugs 
flew around us, rattling against the sides of the building, and came near 
enough for us to know that we were in the line of fire. Nubia was sent to the 
penitentiary for a term of years. Lawrence suffered the loss of an eye. 
We had an opportunity of knowing the Lawrence family well, and as far back 
as we can remember we heard of a great fortune that was awaiting claimants 
in connection with this family. We think that not long ago we saw an item 
to the effect that some of this family, living in the northern part of Guernsey 
county, had struck a fresh trail leading toward this hidden treasure. It has 
been more than two hundred years since Captain William Kidd. the re- 
nowned free-booter and buccaneer, sailed from Plymouth. England, bearing 
a commission signed by the king, to prey upon the French commerce upon the 
high seas. He exceeded his authority, and became a great pirate, instead of 
the "trusty and well-behaved Captain Kidd." He was executed in London 
in 1 70 1. His name became famous, and was known in the ballad : "My Name 
is Captain Kidd, as I Sailed, as I Sailed." He was said to have buried a large 
treasure on the coast bordering on Long Island sound, the reward of his buc- 
caneering. The search for it has been repeated off and on for all these years, 



27O GUERNSEY COUNTY, OHIO. 

and yet the "Kidd treasures" are an unknown quantity. And the Lawrence 
treasure is still waiting, but it is with somebody behind the screen drawing 
every now and again a fee, and the treasure, like Kidd's, is still hidden away. 
Better to find the treasure, then buy the field. 

On the east end of Wheeling avenue, in a small log house, where the 
Hutchison house now is, old Mrs. Williams lived, like the "old woman who 
lived under the hill, kept cakes and whisky to sell." This house was called 
the "light house," as a light could be seen at all hours of the night. It was a 
place for drinking and carousal, "which even to name would be unlawful." 
Opposite! across Leatherwood creek, was the "Dixon sugar camp." All 
around was a dense forest. One sugar season, old Harvey, living in town, 
was running the sugar camp. He used for the back wall of his fire a large 
poplar tree that had fallen out of root. The kettles were suspended over the 
fire by means of poles and forks. One morning, after Harvey had started 
up his fire, and was busily engaged in gathering in the water, he was surprised 
to see a large bear drinking his syrup from one of the kettles. The bear had 
taken up quarters in the log, and the fire roused him out a little in advance 
of the close of the hibernating season. He was now disposed to take the 
camp, Harvey and all, and for a time was master of the situation, for Harvey 
retreated for town as fast as he could. He reported to old John Dixon that 
the bear had taken possession, and was eating all the sugar and drinking the 
syrup. Dixon was an old hunter. He hurried over to the camp and shot 
bruin, as he was standing up at one of the kettles, trying to get out the foam- 
ing syrup. This bear was of large size, and Harvey and Dixon made up then- 
loss in syrup and sugar by the sale of the meat and the skin. We have eaten 
bear meat once, but not of this one. 

OLD WILLS CREEK BRIDGE. 

Among the noted landmarks of Guernsey county is the old wooden, cov- 
ered, double wagon and foot-bridge, spanning the yellow waters of Wills 
creek at Cambridge. It must have been built upon honor, for it was con- 
structed in 1828. has been in constant use all of these eventful years, now 
numbering eighty-two. It is purely a wooden structure with a weatherboarded 
covering and roof. Two wide passage-ways make it one easy of crossing. 
The bridge, proper, is sustained by the same stone abutments which were 
made of solid masonry in that long ago time and have never had to be re- 
placed, or repaired. On the north end of this bridge and overhead, is the 
original inscription placed there in 1828 on a stone tablet and it reads as fol- 



GUERNSEY COUNTY, OHIO. 2/1 

lows: "$io fine for driving on this bridge faster than a walk." On the 
south end — toward the country — is this inscription : "Built A. D., 1828 — J. P. 
Shannon, Undertaker — L. V. Wernwag, Architect — J. Kinkead, Mason — 
Keep to the Right !" 

Had this old covered bridge but the gift of a tongue, many a tale it could 
tell this generation of the noted men who in times long ago passed through 
its passage-ways en route the old pike. Its timbers are seemingly as good to- 
day as when placed there. It was made after the old style of building frames, 
morticed and braced in all directions, with here and there a wrought-iron stay 
brace and great forged bolts. In these modern times it has been lighted by a 
series of electric lights, and will no doubt stand many a year yet, barring some 
accident. Beneath its driveway has floated many a small craft on the creek, 
when water navigation was in vogue and steam railroads were yet unknown. 

A CAMBRIDGE NEWSBOY. 

(From the JTeffersonicm, August. lsTT. ) 

"George Broom three or four years ago began the sale of newspapers 
on the streets of Cambridge. He then carried but one paper, but added to 
his list until he sold for all the dailies which sent papers here. He was 
gentlemanly, and did the business in a strictly fair and honest way. His 
patrons were pleased with his manner, and the newspaper publishers en- 
couraged him in his trade. His business grew rapidly and largely. The great 
interest in the state campaigns and the great Presidential contest witli the 
long continued excitement as to the result, largely increased the sales of news- 
papers, and correspondingly added to the profits. Young Broom in some 
weeks made a net profit of from fifteen to twenty dollars a week. The profits 
varied during the time he was in business from two dollars and seventy-five 
cents a week to the sums stated. The net earnings of Broom footed up about 
a thousand dollars, all earned as a street newsboy in Cambridge. By industry 
and perseverance he laid the foundation of a successful business life." 

He finally married and reared a family. His health failed and he re- 
moved to Arizona and from there to one of the Southern states, where lie 
died and was buried in the cemetery at his old home in Cambridge. 

BOOM THE TOWN. 

The subjoined original poem, from the pen of John H. Sarchet, and 
sung for the first time at Cambridge Chautauqua, in 1900, runs as follows: 



072 GUERNSEY COUNTY, OHIO. 

Of all the cities east or west, 

Boom the town. Yes, boom the town! 
We love our thriving one the best. 

Boom the town. Yes, boom the town! 
Our factories all are on the run, 

There's work for each and every one, 
No tramps are found beneath our sun, 

Boom the town. Yes, boom the town ! 

We've gas and oil, beneath the soil. 

Boom the town. Yes, boom the town! 
They wait to greet the sons of toil. 

Boom the town. Yes, boom the town! 
Black diamonds glisten in the sun, 

And "blue core" wears till kingdom come: 
Our streets are paving one by one. 

Boom the town. Yes, boom the town! 

The lab' ring man now has the pull. 

Boom the town. Yes, boom the town! 
His dinner pail is brimming full. 

Boom the town. Yes, boom the town! 
A "home, sweet home" he now enjoys, 

With pretty girls and bouncing boys ; 
A bank account with other joys. 

Boom the town. Yes, boom the town! 

The trolley ride we now enjoy, 

Boom the town. Yes, boom the town! 
With summer cars for girl and boy. 

Boom the town. Yes, boom the town! 
Chautauqua, too, has come to stay, 

With fine attractions every day. 
We pity those who stay away. 

Boom the town. Yes, boom the town! 

We number fifteen thousand now. 

Boom the town. Yes, boom the town! 
To keep it up all make the vow. 



GUERNSEY COUNTY, OHIO. 273 

Boom the town. Yes, boom the town! 
Avoid the fakir on the street, 

Turn down the agents whom you meet. 
Our merchants can with them compete. 

Boom the town. Yes, boom the town ! 

INDUSTRIAL CAMBRIDGE. 

At the close of the Civil war the buildings of the town were mostly 
the old landmarks of early days, but a new and more progressive era was 
then ushered in and in 1882 there were more houses on Steubenville street 
than there were in the entire place when the war commenced. In 1880 the 
industries were confined chiefly to the foundry interests of C. P. Simons 
Brothers, established in 1855 and which was operated many years, both here 
and at Zanesville; a steam flouring mill, two planing mills and two boot and 
shoe factories. In 1880 there was also established a bent wood factory. 

The introduction of natural gas and the development of the nearby coal 
fields has brought many factories and large plants in iron working, etc., to 
Cambridge. Among the more valuable factories of the present city are the 
following : 

The American Sheet and Tin-Plate Company operates a very extensive 
mill in Cambridge. It was established here in 1889, and is connected with 
the great Pittsburg works, in a way. The raw material comes from the 
Carnegie Steel Company. It employs more than eight hundred and fifty 
workmen. The plant is well situated in the northwest part of the city on 
North Second street. The local superintendent is C. R. Mcllyar. This plant 
produces immense amounts of sheet and tin-plate iron, which finds its way 
to various parts of the world. Cheap fuel and cheaper rents and other ad- 
vantages caused the works to be located in this city. 

This same company operates another branch mill here, established about 
1894 on foreign capital. This is also a sheet and tin-plate mill and it now 
employs five hundred workmen. Its present superintendent is J. E. Thomp- 
son. The works are located just outside the corporate limits of the city, 
in South Cambridge. These twin establishments are leaders in the numerous 
industries of the city. They are both the property of the American Sheet 
and Tin-Plate Company. 

The W. A. Hunt Planing Mill was established in January, 1910, by local 
capital. Lumber is shipped in from the South and Northwest, while certain 
materials come from Ohio timber lands. Seven men are employed. This 

(18) 



274 GUERNSEY COUNTY, OHIO. 

factory is situated on Woodlawn avenue. It is the property of W. A. Hunt, 
who conducts a good business. 

A local industry of which the city is justly proud is the Guernsey Earth- 
enware Company, who make brown, white-lined and enameled cooking uten- 
sils in vest quantities. It is said that fifteen million consumers see the 
"Guernsey" trade mark each month. This factory is located on Woodlawn 
avenue and was established in 1900, as a purely local concern. From one 
hundred and fifty to one hundred and sixty persons find constant employment 
in these extensive works. The company was incorporated under the laws of 
Ohio, Charles L. Casey being the president and manager and also the owner 
of the property. The principal body of the earthenware here produced comes 
from the earth near the factory and is among Guernsey county's minerals 
of much value. From this material is fashioned the most beautifid cooking 
and serving dishes, heating table supplies, vegetable crocks, coffee cylinders, 
and many special designed dishes made to order for special customers. 

The "Near-cut" Glass Works is another industry of which too much 
cannot well be said in this chapter on the modern industries of Cambridge. 
This was established in 1902 by purely local capital. The name of this su- 
perior glassware, "Near-cut," comes from the fact that the clearness and 
sharpness of the finish closely resembles the higher priced real "cut" glass- 
ware. The sand from which this glassware is produced comes from the Han- 
cock district of Pennsylvania. The works are situated in East Cambridge 
and employ about four hundred and fifty workmen in the various depart- 
ments. The present officers of this company are: A. J. Bennett, presi- 
dent; W. C. McCartney, secretary, and G. Royal Boyd, treasurer. The 
product of this plant goes out to all parts of the United States and is one of 
Cambridge's permanent institutions of business enterprises. 

The Interstate Iron and Steel Company, another modern iron working 
plant of Cambridge, was established and first operated January 8, 1907. It is 
conducted on outside capital, being a foreign institution, which gives employ- 
ment to almost three hundred workmen. This is located in the manufacturing 
district in the northwest part of the city. The raw material used in these ex- 
tensive works comes from abroad, but it is of great commercial importance 
to the business interests of Cambridge. The officers are : S. J. Llewellyn, 
president; G. F. David, vice-president; George R. Stewart, secretary. The 
same company has works at Chicago and East Chicago, Indiana. 

The Pennsylvania railroad shops also furnish employment to about one 
hundred workmen at this point. The shops are located in Southeast Cam- 
bridge and are situated on grounds leased from the trustees of Cambridge 



(U'EKiXSKY nil'NTV, OHIO. 2/5 

township, the same being dated March 9, 1881, to continue in force at the 
option of the railroad company for a term of ninety-nine years, for shop 
purposes. The company pays all taxes and is bound to keep the property fully 
insured. The present superintendent is J. C. McCullough. 

W. H. Hartley & Sons Sheet Metal and Slate Roofing Works are located 
at No. 616 Wheeling avenue. This plant was established at Quaker City 
in 1870 and removed to Cambridge in 1892. It is an independent plant and 
now has in its employ an average of fourteen men. It manufactures all 
'kinds of sheet metal goods, slate roofing and furnace work. The gentlemen 
connected with it are W. H. Hartley, M. C. Hartley and the M. C. Hartley 
estate. 

The American Bread and Pastry Board Company was established in 
1898, as a local industry. They now employ three workmen. Their plant 
is between Third and Fourth streets and Steubenville and Comber. William 
Harris is proprietor. 

The firm of Stewart, Wylie & Ault, proprietors of the flouring mills at 
Cambridge, was established a number of years ago. They consume much 
grain from the fields of Guernsey county and several thousand bushels an- 
nually from the West. Five men are here employed in the business. The 
proprietors are W. L. Stewart, C. W. Wiley and A. Ault. This mill is situ- 
ated on the corner of Fifth and Turner streets. An excellent grade of flour 
is made at these mills. 

The Forney Lumber and Planing Mill, a live industry of Cambridge, 
was established in 1889 and now employs eight workmen. The mill is located 
on Dewey avenue, near the old covered bridge. Charles W. Forney is the 
proprietor. An extensive business is here carried on in both lumber and 
planing mill work. 

The Hoyle & Scott Planing Mills were established in 1886, but an older 
firm began there many years prior to that date. Their lumber comes largely 
from West Virginia and the Southern states. Fifteen men find constant em- 
ployment at these mills, which are located on Third street and Wheeling 
■avenue, while the lumber yards are on Steubenville avenue. The present pro- 
prietors are William Hoyle and J. W. Scott. 

Another and leading industry of modern Cambridge is the chair factory 
of Suitt Brothers, established in 1906 (under the present company), located 
on Third and Gomber street. Chairs, and especially high grade rockers, are 
here manufactured from wood coming from Massachusetts, North Carolina 
and Tennessee. From fifty to sixty men are constantly employed and the 
finest of modern machinery is used in the production of first class goods. 



276 GUERNSEY COUNTY, OHIO. 

The president of this company is W. C. Suitt ; the present secretary and 
treasurer is Jay W. Campbell. 

The Cambridge Roofing Company was established in 1882, as an inde- 
pendent local company. It now employs sixty-eight men. The works are 
located on West Wheeling avenue and the officers are W. H. Taylor, presi- 
dent; H. C. Hanbrook, vice-president; J. R. McBurney, secretary. This 
same company also manufacture gloves and overalls from goods made in 
Xew England and South Carolina. Each of these industries represents a 
separate department of the same company of manufacturers. 

A CAMBRIDGE FIRE. 

On Saturday, November 21, 1891, at two-thirty P. M., the alarm of fire 
resounded through the city of Cambridge. Promptly responding to the sum- 
mons, the firemen discovered that the block that occupied the square on 
Wheeling avenue, between Sixth street and the alley east toward Seventh, 
was the scene of a devastating fire. It was found that the flames were making 
headway in the attic over the C. & M. general offices and in the furniture store 
of McDonald & McCollum. 

Every effort was made to prevent the fire from spreading, but despite 
the gallant service of the firemen and the bucket brigades, it was not checked 
until thousands of dollars' worth of property had been consumed. The fol- 
lowing is an accurate report of the losses : 

J. H. McKinney, lost about two-thirds of his stock of groceries, valued 
at $2,000; insurance, $1,000. 

Campbell & Carlisle had oils stored in McKinney's cellar valued at 
$1,000; insurance, $500. 

J. M. Nelson's candy store was not damaged at all, and everybody con- 
gratulated the energetic young man. 

C. Ayre & Company's stock of dry goods, carpets, etc., valued at $30,000, 
insured for $15,000. But a small amount of goods saved, and they in dam- 
aged condition. 

H. C. Hornbrook's stock of boots and shoes, valued at $8,000, saved 
a part of his best goods ; insurance, $2,000. 

McDonald & McCollum, the furniture dealers, piled their rear ware- 
rooms full of goods, and removed all from the rear rooms to places of safety, 
but lost all in the front main room. This rear wareroom was sided and roofed 
with iron, and they fastened up all doors and windows with iron sheeting, and 
this building, crowded with goods, was saved. Their loss was $1,650, in- 



GUERNSEY COUNTY, OHIO. 277 

sured for $750. The loss of Colonel Taylor, owner of the buildings, among 
which was the Berwick Hotel, was found to he approximately $60,000, with 
insurance of $38,000. The total loss of buildings and goods was estimated 
at $100,000. 



The town was visited by a tire that promised for a little while to be 
very destructive, on Wednesday night, December 26, 1888. Fire was dis- 
covered shortly after ten o'clock in the butcher shop of Robert W. Nichol- 
son, attached to the new two-story frame building recently erected by Hon. 
E. W. Mathewson, Seventh street, just north of Broom's grocery and Kyle's 
marble shop, and before the department was summoned the shop was wrapped 
in flames. 

The department responded promptly, but the same plug in the boiler 
sheet of the fire engine which blew out in the Arcade fire in October, 1887, 
blew out before a stream of water was thrown-, and the engine and hose 
companies were consequently disabled. The hook and ladder company went 
to work at once, however, vigorously and intelligently, and did splendid 
work. Bucket lines were formed, and the flames kept in check, and the walls 
of the burning residences, to which the flames quickly communicated, were 
pushed inward, and the spread of the fire to the wooden buildings close In- 
effectually prevented. The loss was about one thousand two hundred dollars, 
partly covered by insurance. 

THE FIRE OF 1895. 

Both Cambridge papers of October 3, 1895, contain full details of the 
devastating fire which swept over the business section about one o'clock in 
the morning of October 2d. The fire originated in the Davis livery barn, and 
quickly spread across the alley to the stables in the rear of the Lyndon Hotel, 
to Carnes' livery barn and to the residence of Isaac Turnbaugh and Dorcas 
Savage. The blacksmith shop of Frank Johnson was next in line, and the 
greedy flames hungrily consumed all that came in their path. 

In an hour, the rear of Monumental Hall was on fire. This led directly 
to the Taylor block and toward the Berwick Hotel. George Shairer's resi- 
dence and saloon, John M. Richardson's residence and restaurant. Downer's 
drug store, and the Lyndon Hotel building came next. The flames spread 
rapidly. Doctor Moore's drug store was burned to smouldering ashes. 

On the east and west the fire was checked by the Lenfesty block, thus 



278 GUERNSEY COUNTY, OHIO. 

saving the Times office, Guernsey National Bank, postoffice, Wolff's store, 
and the halls and offices in that large building. 

The fire spread down Wheeling avenue from Monumental Hall, con- 
suming Schau's bakery and restaurant, Mrs. Forsythe's millinery and no- 
tion store, Carlisle & Grimes' hardware, Nelson's confectionery and news 
stand, the C. & M. general offices, R. T. Scott's and A. R. McCulloch's law 
offices, school room and lodge hall, Gillespie & McCulley's furniture, Steele's 
grocery and Hornbrook's shoe store. The fire was checked on the west by 
the fire wall of the Berwick Hotel,. thus saving C. Ayre's store and the new 
hotel. 

Among the valuable property destroyed was Colonel Taylor's private 
library, containing many rare and valuable books that cannot be replaced, 
and Scott and McCulloch's law libraries. Much property was saved by being 
hauled and carried to places of safety, some of it badly damaged. Arnold & 
Barber had removed their shoe store to the new room in the Lyndon building 
and were ready to begin business the following morning. They promptly 
loaded their goods up and brought them up to their old stand at J. O. Mc- 
Ilyar's. 

A TERRIBLE DEATH. 

The saddest feature of the fire was the death of Frank Law. He and 
"Chuck" Creighton were sleeping on cots in the little office in the southeast 
corner of Davis' stable. Creighton was awakened by the roar of flames. He 
succeeded in awakening Law, and then made his escape by jumping out the 
window. Exit by the door was cut off by flames. Hours later, the blackened, 
charred body of La"w was found in the ruins, under a pile of bricks. It was 
one of the most tragic deaths which ever occurred in Cambridge. 

LOSSES, INSURANCE, ETC. 

J. W. Davis & Son estimated their loss at $5,000, insurance $1,000. 
Eight of their horses were burned outright, or so badly injured that they 
had to be killed. James T. Cain's driving mare was burned. W. H. Mc- 
Ilyar's horse was badly burned, but escaped from the stable. Among those 
burned in the stable were the beautiful matched chestnuts, so well known 
to every citizen. They were side by side in their death agony. The old horse 
that hauled the express wagon was not injured. 

George Schairer saved a part of his saloon fixtures and household 
goods. Insurance on building and household goods, about $3,500. 



GUERNSEY COUNTY, OHIO. 2JQ 

J. M. Richardson saved a portion of his goods. The building and res- 
taurant were insured for $1,800. 

Carnes' barn was entirely destroyed, horses and carriages all saved. 
Insurance on the barn and contents, $1,800. 

Carlisle & Grimes lost everything in the store except some powder, which 
was brought off to a safe place. They saved their horses and dray, that were 
in a stable that was destroyed; loss, $10,000; insurance, $7,500. They at 
once began business in their warehouse near the C. & M. depot. 

J. M. Nelson saved but little. Loss almost total; insurance, $400. 

C. Ayre got a large part of his goods out of the rooms, and later re- 
arranged them in the same rooms, and went ahead. 

H. C. Hornbrook got a portion of his stock to places of safety. His 
room will be repaired, as the roof was burnt off. Some goods were badly 
injured by water. 

The C. & M. general offices saved their books and papers, loss covered by 
insurance. 

Scott and McCulloch's libraries were entirely consumed, and were not 
insured. Some papers were saved. 

Harry Forney, the architect, lost part of his office furniture. 

There was no insurance on Colonel Taylor's valuable library. 

Gillespie & McCulley saved most of their stock. Their iron-sheeted and 
roofed wareroom preserved the stock in it. This was the second fire this 
wareroom had gone through, in each case preserving its contents intact. This 
firm saved their goods that were stowed there at the time of the Berwick fire, 
a fact favorable to iron siding and roofing. 

Isaac Turnbaugh saved a part of his goods; insurance $500. Dorcas 
Savage saved a part of her goods, no insurance. The Lyndon belonged to 
W. B. Crossgrove; loss, $17,500, insured for $10,000, policy taken out only 
the preceding Saturday. Dr. C. A. Moore lost fully one-half of his goods; 
insured for $2,000. J. M. Logan's loss was $1,000; insured for $500. A. D. 
Steele's loss was estimated at $1,300; insured for $1,000. Colonel Taylor 
estimated his entire loss on buildings at $30,000; insurance. $15,200. 

William Schau, the baker, estimated his loss at $800. A small part of 
his stock was saved; no insurance. Carnes Brothers estimated their loss at 
$2,000; insurance $1,800. Forsythe's millinery and notion stock was esti- 
mated at $5,000. nearly all destroyed ; insurance, $2,500. The furniture of 
the school room destroyed was placed at $200. J. R. Downar saved most of 
his stock, and carried about $2,500 insurance. 



280 GUERNSEY COUNTY, OHIO. 

There was hustling among the victims to find rooms in which to begin 
business. They were difficult to find. 

The origin of the fire was not satisfactorily ascertained. Thanks were 
given to the fire departments of Newark, Zanesville and Barnesville for as- 
sistance rendered in response to a call for aid. Women aided greatly with 
pots of steaming coffee, so that the discomfiture of the brave firemen was 
considerably lessened by these "angels of temperance and charity." 



CHAPTER XIX. 



ADAMS TOWNSHIP. 



Adams, which is the central western township in Guernsey county, is 
hounded on the west by Muskingum county, on the north -by Knox, on the 
east by Cambridge and on the south by Westland township. It is five miles 
square, containing twenty-five sections of land. The National pike crosses 
its extreme southeastern corner, as does also the Baltimore & Ohio railroad. 
It was organized as a separate sub-division of Guernsey county in 1827. In 
1900 it had a population of seven hundred and seventeen. Cassel station and 
a portion of Mantau are the only village plattings ever made within this 
township. It is well watered and drained by the numerous small tributaries 
to Crooked creek, all streams flowing to the southeast. Being close to Cam- 
bridge, it makes that place its trading point. 

The following, and possibly more, persons were seventy or more years 
of age and residing in this township in 1876, and they represented many of 
the pioneer families: Joseph Gleur, Robert Simpson, Samuel Lee and wife, 
Robert S. Ross and wife, James Sharrard and wife, John Leech, Andrew 
Hamilton, Samuel Wells, Mrs. J. H. Hammond, John Hammond. Abraham 
Barnes, Samuel Maxwell, Samuel Patterson. George Estep and wife. 

Joseph Guthrie, born in Pennsylvania in 1776, married in 1801. located 
in Adams township, this county, in 1830. He died in 1855. They had 
thirteen children and most of them matured into men and women of energy 
and importance in this county. 

Among the settlers of a later date may be mentioned Andrew Hamilton, 
born in Ireland in 1816, came to Pennsylvania, and in 1863 to this county, 
locating in Londonderry township, lived there twelve years and then came 
to Adams township, where he possessed a two-hundred-acre farm. 

Thomas Knox, who resided in Washington county, Pennsylvania, born 
in 1799, accompanied his parents to Ohio and they located in Adams town- 
ship. The date of his coming here was 181 5 and in 1832 he married Jane 
Miller, who was born in Ireland in 1800. She had a wonderful history and 
experience. She was captured by the British in 1812, while on her way to 
America, and kept at Newfoundland two years. While there her mother 



282 GUERNSEY COUNTY, OHIO. 

died. Later the daughter joined her father, who settled in Pennsylvania, 
and from there removed to this county and married Mr. Knox. Her husband 
died here in 1870 and she in 1874. 

Robert Boyd was born in Ireland in 1798 and emigrated to America in 
1820 and there married Rachel Frame. This worthy couple lived ten years 
in Highland township, Muskingum county, Ohio, and then made a perma- 
nent home in Adams township, this county. He died in 1874, the father of 
nine children. 

James Johnston was a native of Washington county, Pennsylvania, born 
in 1795, and married Jane Mehaffey, who was born in Ireland. They resided 
in Pennsylvania six years and then removed to this township in 1824 and he 
died in 1868. He was a farmer and blacksmith. Their son Alexander was 
sheriff of Guernsey county during the Civil war, with headquarters at Cam- 
bridge. He owned a four-hundred-acre farm and was a very influential and 
enterprising citizen. 

John Mehaffey, son of Samuel, was born in Ireland in 1801, emigrated 
to this county in 1812 and to Guernsey county in 1819. In 1826 John mar- 
ried Nancy Murphy, who died here in 1864. He then moved, with his two 
daughters, to Cambridge. 

William Speer, fifth child of Stewart and Jane Speer, was born in 1818 
and in 1841 married Jane McKinney and settled on the old homestead in this 
township. Their family and descendants are well known in the county today. 

Stewart Speer, born in Pennsylvania in 1783, married Jane Scott. They 
kept hotel and farmed in Adams township from 1808 to 1812. In the war 
of 1812 he was a lieutenant, and later became an associate judge. He died 
in 1850 and his good wife in 1866; they had eight children. 

John Work was born in Fayette county, Pennsylvania, in 1785, and 
after his marriage to Nancy McDoll moved to Washington county, Pennsyl- 
vania, where he died in 1850 and she in 1873. One of their three children, 
John Work, born in 1834, married Mary Morrison in i860. In 1867 they 
settled in Spencer township, this county, and after living in Westland town- 
ship for a number of years, in 1875 went to Adams township. 

Alexander Neely was born in Ireland in 1828. He and two sisters and a 
brother left Ireland in 1849, and settled in Adams township, this county, 
where he was married in i860. They reared a large and highly respectable 
family. 

John Sunnafrank was a native of the island of Guernsey, off the coast 
of France, born in 1777. He was of German parentage, and left his home 
for Virginia, where he remained until 1804, when he moved to near Cam- 



GUERNSEY COUNTY, OHIO. 283 

bridge, this county, where he resided eleven years, after which he bought a 
farm in Adams township, four miles from Cambridge, on the pike, and there 
remained until his death in 1850. The children and grandchildren became 
well-to-do citizens of this county and township. 

Alexander Leeper was born in Pennsylvania in 1773 and his wife in 
1777; they came to Adams township in 1831, locating on the pike, near 
Cambridge. Their numerous family are scattered here and there, through- 
out the United States. 

William Calhoun, born in Ireland, in 1796, emigrated to Greene county, 
Pennsylvania, in 181 8 and four years later moved to Washington county, 
where he married Ruth Clark. In 1845 tne y commenced a five-years resi- 
dence in Westmoreland county, Pennsylvania, but in 1850 settled in Adams 
township, this county, where he died in 1871 and his wife ten years la,ter. 
They reared and educated a family of eight children. 

David Thompson, another early settler in Adams township, was born in 
Ireland in 1774, and six years after his marriage the man and wife left their 
native land for America and resided in Allegheny county eighteen years. 
From there they moved to Muskingum county, Ohio, near New Concord, 
and from that place went to Adams township, Guernsey count}-, in 1817. 
The wife died in 1847 an d he in 1859. They had five children, all of whom 
grew up and settled in homes in this county. 

Other pioneers were Benjamin Reasoner, Valentine Shirer. William 
McCulley, Ellis Kelly and James Milligan. 



CHAPTER XX. 



CAMBRIDGE fOW XSHIP. 



This is the sub-division of Guernsey in which the city of Cambridge and 
the seat of justice is situated. It was one of the five original townships to 
be organized in this county. It dates its precinct history, therefore, from 
April 23, 1810. It has had its boundary lines changed several times, but at 
present it comprises about thirty-five sections of land; is five miles wide 
from east to west by seven miles north and south. Wills creek, the prin- 
cipal stream of Guernsey county, meanders its way through the township 
from north to south, with two large ox-bow bends to the north of the city of 
Cambridge. Crooked creek also forms a junction with this stream in Cam- 
bridge township. Other streams are tributaries to Wills creek, including 
Leatherwood creek, of some historic fame as to its name. What are now 
the Pennsylvania and the Baltimore & Ohio railroads cross each other at 
Cambridge, the former running north and south and the latter about east 
and west, bearing somewhat to the south. The old National road, or pike, 
crosses this township on its course through Guernsey county, with toll 
bridges at Cambridge. 

Coal mining is the principal industry of the township, but agriculture, 
horticulture and gardening are also carried on with fairly good success, as is 
also stock raising. Its educational, religious and social features, having been 
treated in the chapters including the city of Cambridge, will not be referred 
to in this connection. The early settlement of this township has also been 
mentioned in various general chapters, including the city chapter. It may 
be stated in passing, however, that Cambridge township had the honor of 
being the home of the first white man to locate within Guernsey county — a 
Mr. Graham who invaded the wilds of this section in 1798. His was the 
only dwelling between Wheeling and Zanesville. 



CHAPTER XXI. 



CENTRE TOWNS II I 



As its name indicates, this is the central sub-division of Guernsey county. 
It was organized in 1822 as a separate township. In extent of territory, it 
contains about twenty-three sections. It is four miles from east to west and 
six miles from north to south. It is surrounded by five townships, Cam- 
bridge, Jefferson, Wills. Jackson and Richland. Centerville is a platted 
place within the township's limits, but never has been of much importance. 
The National pike runs from east to west across this township in a diagonal 
course. 

Concerning the early settlement of this township, it might be considered 
that the list of the aged persons living there in 1876 — Centennial year — was 
a good index of the early families and hence will here be inserted : 

Hugh Miller, Joseph Eagleson and wife, James Eagleson, Katherine 
Eagleson, John Luzadder, Nero Gilson, Benjamin Simpson, Nancy McCul- 
lum, James Spence, Joseph Griffith. James Dungan, Martha Patterson, Mary 
Kendall, Elizabeth Boyd. These persons had in 1876 reached the age of 
seventy-six years and many upwards of that. Many of their children and 
grandchildren still reside in this township and are the farmers, stockmen 
and business factors of today. 

William Norris, a native of Washington county, Pennsylvania, born in 
1805, removed to Ohio with his young wife in 1834, settling in the north 
part of Centre township, Guernsey county, where he soon after died. He had 
a son, William, Jr., who became a well known citizen of the township. 

John Thompson emigrated to this county at a very early day and lo- 
cated on the banks of Leatherwood creek, in Centre township. He was born 
in Washington county. Pennsylvania, in March, 1807, and died here in 1859. 
Of their six children, four survived to manhood and womanhood. 

Among those brave souls who braved the dangers of this then new wild 
country in 1820, were William and Mary (Robinson) Thompson, born about 
1787 in Washington county, Pennsylvania. In 1819 they came to Centre town- 
ship and were delighted with the country and its promises for the future as a 
home-building place for them. After making a preliminary trip, he brought 



286 GUERNSEY COUNTY, OHIO. 

his family on and erected a cabin. The trip was made, with great danger, 
in a wagon all the way from Pennsylvania. Within a few years he had 
cleared up a hundred and sixty acres and purchased more land and built a 
saw and grist-mill on Leatherwood creek, the first within Centre township. 

Alexander Egleson was born in Ireland in 1783 and came to Pennsyl- 
vania in 1819 and to Centre township in 1830. He and his family became 
substantial and well-to-do farmers of this county. 

In 1 84 1 came Samuel Nelson and wife from Pennsylvania, their native 
state, and located in Centre township and here they reared a worthy and 
industrious family. 

Thomas and Ann (Pursely) Warne emigrated from New Jersey to 
Ohio in 1802 and located in Wills township first, then moved to Muskingum 
county, but in 1812 returned to Guernsey county, settling in Centre township. 
Their log cabin home was once surrounded by water during a flood and the 
family were removed on horseback. Mr. Warne was drowned while on a trip 
to Stillwater, where he had gone to procure funds with which to prosecute 
his claims for a large estate in the East. He reared a large and highly re- 
spected family of sons and daughters. 

Ireland furnished another sturdy son for the settlement of Centre town- 
ship, in the person of John Boyd, born in Antrim, 181 8. His parents and 
sister left for America in 1832 to seek a home in free America, and after 
two weeks in the city of New York, landed in Centre township as soon as 
they could well make the trip. The father was James Boyd. 

Stout Patterson was among the hardy pioneers of this township. He 
was known as Sr. Patterson and his son as Stout, Jr. The father was born 
in Greene county, Pennsylvania, as was his good wife. They bought and paid 
for forty acres of land in this township and there they reared a family, lived 
and finally died. They came here in 1808, hence were truly "first settlers" 
in Guernsey county. 

William Clippinger is another pioneer who must not be omitted in Cen- 
tre township settlement. He was born in Westmoreland county, Pennsyl- 
vania, in 1781 and his Wife in 1779; both died in 1835. He and his son 
William erected a rude log house and partly cleared up a small farm tract 
before moving the family here. At the time of his death, he had bought and 
paid for one hundred and fifty-seven acres. 

Isaac McCollum was born in New Jersey in 1802, moved to Centre town- 
ship in 1819 and lived here until overtaken by death. A son of this gentle- 
man, Grey McCollum, served in the Twelfth Ohio Volunteer Infantry during 
two years of the Civil war and was twice wounded and finally taken prisoner 



GUERNSEY COUNTY, OHIO. 287 

and laid in Libby prison pen for six months, but later came home and lie- 
came a good farmer and held the old homestead. 

Craig is a hamlet midway between Cambridge and Washington, and 
consists of about a dozen houses and a general store. It had a postoffice at 
one time, but it is now discontinued. 



CHAPTER XXII. 

JEFFERSON TOWNSHIP. 

Jefferson township is the second from the northern and the third from 
the eastern line of Guernsey county. It is five miles square, contains twenty- 
five sections and is in an excellent part of the county. Its history dates 
from June 3, 1816, when it was cut off from territory formerly included in 
Madison township. It is without town or village. 

Its early settlers included the following persons, who in 1876 were re- 
ported as still residing within the confines of the township, and had passed 
the seventy-sixth year mark of life's journey: 

Edward Bratton, Thomas Brown, James Clark, Caleb Cannan, John 
Leeper, Henry McCleary, John Martin, Stephen Stiles, Andrew Stiles, Robert 
Speers, Samuel Stewart, Joshua Smith, Harris Wiley, Jane Adams, Mrs. 
Brown, Margaret Culbertson, Hannah Cannan, Mrs. Fairchild, Delight Gunn, 
Mrs. Kimble, Elizabeth Lanning, Mary McClary, Nancy McMillen, Fanny 
Stiles. Eve Taylor and Mrs. Taylor. 

George Linn was born in Augusta county, Virginia, in 1768, and taught 
school there until 1813, when he settled here on a farm. He married Pamelia 
Matthews and they reared eight children. Their son, Cyrus, was born here 
in 1837 and was educated at Athens College and to him and his wife were 
born five children, well known in this county. 

John S. Fordyce was born in 1808 and left his native town in Pennsyl- 
vania fifteen years later for Harrison county, Ohio, where his parents de- 
cided to locate. He married Margaret Shipman, who was born in Pennsyl- 
vania in 1812. They remained in Harrison county eight years and then 
settled in this township, where he died some years later. They had eight 
children, John, one of the sons, being born in Harrison county, in 1837. In 
1867 he married Hannah Allen, a native of Guernsey county. They first 
lived two years in Madison township and then came to Jefferson township. 

Jesse Thomas was born in Pennsylvania and lived at home until 181 3, 
when he married and finally died on the west branch of the Susquehanna 
river in 1822. His wife then lived in Winchester, this county, until 1849. 
Their children were Samuel, Lewis, Charles and Jesse. Samuel Thomas was 
born in Pennsylvania, in 181 5, and came to Ohio with his mother in 1823. 



GUERNSEY COUNTY, OHIO. 2»9 

He married and resided at various places in this county, until 1843, when he 
settled in this township and operated a mill many years. He resided on one 
place more than forty years and was infirmary director and trustee of his 
township. 

James Gillispie was born in Ireland in 1787 and emigrated to this coun- 
try when eighteen years of age, working on a farm in Pennsylvania. In 1809 
he married. He was a soldier in the war of 1812 and in 1831 removed to 
Belmont county, Ohio, and ten years later to this township. He died in 1847 
and his wife in 1841. His family consisted of wife and nine children. 

The above represent a large majority of the early settlers in this goodly 
township. Their descendants are scattered throughout this and adjoining 
counties. 

FIRST ACTUAL SETTLERS. 

After having given a number of the earlier pioneers of this township 
it now becomes the duty of the historian to give something concerning the 
first actual settlers, who were William Lautz and Martin Stull. These emi- 
grated from Greene county, Pennsylvania, in 1805 and located, Stull on lots 
14 and 15, and Lautz on lots 1 and 2, in the military land district. Stull 
soon died there. John Tidrick, from the same county and state, settled on lot 
3. William Allen located on lot 28 and owned at one time seven hundred 
acres of land. He came to this township in 1806, and later married Mr. 
Stull's widow. He reared a large family and was trustee in 181 5, when 
Madison and Jefferson composed one civil township. He died in 1845. 

Rev. John Graham, in 1824, organized a Methodist Episcopal church, 
with eight members. They met for worship at Mr. Allen's house for six- 
teen years, but in 1839 built a church on Mr. Allen's land. This was the 
first religious society formed within the township. 

Jonathan Stiles, of English descent, came in 1806, locating in the south- 
east quarter of section 17, third quarter township. 

Adam Linn built a house and kept tavern on the old Steubenville road 
in 1809. Abraham Mathews came in the same year, as did John Bird and his 
eight- sons and daughters. William Bratton effected settlement in 181 5, on 
section 25. It was in 1810 when William Moore and family settled, as did 
this aged couple's son-in-law, John Henderson. William Moore was justice 
of the peace in 1816, and John Henderson served from 1819 to 1846 as his 
successor, two terms being excepted. Both were devout Presbyterians. 

In 1S10 came James Waddle; in 1812 came Nathan Kimball and James 

(19) 



29O GUERNSEY COUNTY, OHIO. 

Strain and Samuel Paxton. The first great improvement in mills in the 
county was by John Armstrong and his son, Abraham. 

John Lake, who was constable in 1815, settled in 1812 on section 13. 
He was a soldier in the war of 1812. In 1815 John McCulloch settled on 
section 5, and built a saw mill. 

Andrew Clark built a grist and saw mill combined in one, near Sugar 
Tree fork postoffice. In 18 18 James Wilson settled on lot 34 and he followed 
blacksmithing many years. In 1819 Richard Cornell settled on section 25. 
In 1820 Thomas Whitehill and son, Thomas, from Scotland, settled on 
section 6. 

In 1820 also came James Willis, of Ireland; in 1821, came Isaac Lan- 
ning, who settled on section 3. John Speers, from Ireland, settled in the 
same neighborhood about the date last mentioned. Robert Kirkwood located 
here in 1825 and in 1849 bought the Armstrong farm. He was an elder in 
the Pleasant Hill United Presbyterian church. 



CHAPTER XXIII. 

JACKSON TOWNSHIP. 

Second from the west and south line of Guernsey county is Jackson 
civil township. It was organized in 1824 and was named for the illustrious 
General Andrew Jackson. It contains about twenty-three sections. Its gen- 
eral size and shape is three miles in width from north to south, by seven east 
and west. Wills creek meanders its course to the north through this town- 
ship, being formed by Seneca creek and other lesser streams. The Pennsyl- 
vania railroad passes through the township from north to south, with a 
station point at Byesville. 

This part was early in the permanent settlement of the county and 
many of the hardy pioneers still remained here to enjoy the fruits of their 
labors, as late as 1882. when the following were registered as being resi- 
dents and as being seventy-six or more years of age : Henry Woodrow. 
Lawson Rogers, Isaac Hoopman, John Fox, James Arbuckle, Joseph Davis, 
Bethnel Abies, Isaac Meek, Elizabeth Wilson, Mrs. De LaRue, Mrs. Reiney. 
Mary Wright, Thomas Wilson, Solomon Peter, Simon Dickerson, William 
Rainey, Benjamin Wells, Daniel Masters, Mary Woodrow. Prudence Selby, 
Elizabeth Wheatly, Jane Clark and Mrs. Whalon. 

Of the Newnom family and their settlement, it is related that John Xew- 
nom, a native of Talbot county, Maryland, born in 1787, with his wife, 
sought the West for a home. They went to Muskingum county, Ohio, by 
means of horse cart, in which the wife rode, while the husband went over 
hill and dale and called out the many beautiful and romantic scenes as they 
traveled along. Soon after their arrival in Jackson township, the good wife 
sickened and died, in 1833, and the same year he married again. They had 
six sons, including Eusebius H., who was born in Talbot county, Maryland, 
in 1819, and married Margaret Arbuckle in 1844. They had a large family 
of sons and daughters. Mr. Newnom had a farm of two hundred and eighty 
acres and raised many sheep. 

John Weirs, a native of Harrison county, Virginia, in 1816, emigrated 
to this county with his parents, Benjamin Weirs and wife, and settled in 
Jackson township. When they located here there were but twelve houses in 
the township as now defined. The one hundred ami twenty acres which Mr. 



292 GUERNSEY COUNTY, OHIO. 

Weirs entered and purchased was all heavily timbered. Here the pioneer 
went to work and succeeded in clearing up sufficient land to raise a living 
and subsequently had a beautiful farm and reared an intelligent family of 
sons and daughters, members of which still honor the family name as influ- 
ential citizens of today. 

John Frye was another man who assisted in bringing the township to 
its present state of improvement. He was born in this county in 1828, and 
was married in 1854. In i860 Mr. Frye was elected justice of the peace 
and held the office for twenty-one successive years. He was a long time 
clerk and treasurer of Jackson township. 

David Williams emigrated from Scotland to this county, in company 
with his brother-in-law, Robert Nicholson, in 1818. He was a weaver by 
trade and did work for his neighbors. In this way he obtained money suffi- 
cient to get his farm, consisting of a hundred and twenty acres, and cleared 
it up. The son, Robert N. Williams, was born in 1830 and married in 1831. 
He bought the old homestead and added thereto. 

The Nicholsons came originally from Scotland to Maryland and in 
1 82 1 came to Guernsey county. He bought three hundred acres of military 
land and, besides farming, worked as a carpenter. Andrew W. Nicholson 
was born in 1833, m Jackson township, and became an extensive farmer and 
coal operator. He had four hundred acres of land, which produced in 1882 
from five hundred thousand to a million bushels of coal. These mines are 
two or three miles south of Cambridge and were worked on the royalty plan 
by the Ohio Coal Company. 

Others whose names should not be omitted in this account of the per- 
sons who have developed this township are: Elijah Hoopman, Nathan Burt, 
Mrs. Nancy Nicholson, John F. Trenner, Martin E. Robbins, Thomas S. 
Shriver, Solomon Peters and sons, Wesley M. Gorsuch, Jonathan S. Gander, 
David Gander, Benjamin Trenner, Lawson W. Rogers. George Cale, John A. 
Bliss. Another settler was William M. Grany, of Byesville, a native of Bal- 
timore, born in 1809, who settled in Jackson township in 1856. From 1857 
to 1872 he was treasurer of the township. For twenty years he kept a general 
store at his residence, being postmaster at the same time. 

Elijah Shriver's birth was among the first in Guernsey county, born as 
he was in 1810, son of Adam Shriver and wife. The Shrivers left Pennsyl- 
vania in 1809 an d located in Jackson (then Buffalo) township, this county. 
Elijah Shriver held various positions here, and was credited with being the 
richest man in the township in 1880. 

William Rainey, Sr., left Washington county, Pennsylvania, in 1837, 



GUERNSEY COUNTY, OHIO. 293 

with Andrew Whittier, his wife's step-father. The couple constructed a rude 
cabin on lots 28 and 29 of the military lands. Whittier was a German by 
birth, born in 1716, and emigrated to Maryland before the Revolutionary war. 
He died at the exceptional old age of one hundred and twenty-four years. 

BYESVILLE. 

Byesville is the only platted town, or village, in this township. It dates 
its platting from July 1, 1856, but as an incorporated place, November 26, 
1881. It is situated on section 6, township 1, range 2. A number of citizens 
joined in the platting of Byesville. 

Of recent years this has grown to be an excellent business place. The 
mining and other near-at-hand industries, together with the farming com- 
munity, makes it a desirable location for lively business interests. The street 
railway from Cambridge and the Pennsylvania railroad line, afford a speedy 
mode of transit to and from the outside world. 

In the fore part of 1866 a new industry commenced to be developed in 
Guernsey county — that of coal mining — to any considerable extent, through 
the efforts of W. H. Williams, state pay agent, on the Central Ohio railroad 
line, a few miles to the east of Cambridge, and following this the opening of 
mines near present Byesville. The Marietta & Pittsburg road was constructed 
through this section in 1873, promoted by "General" A. J. Warner. Here, 
on the east side of where the village of Byesville was platted, the first cap- 
tain of industry located without bonus or free site, erecting a saw mill ; also 
a general store was opened for business and the foundation for commerce 
and industry was established. The man who accomplished all this and much 
more was Jonathan Bye, for whom was named Bye's Mills and later the town 
itself. The first store of the town was conducted by Dr. Francis Walker, the 
first physician of the village. The old mill was the drawing card here for 
several years, but it was destroyed by fire a few years ago. 

Among the earliest settlers of this community were these : The Mc- 
Clusky, Meek, Sayre, Forbes, Shriver, Linkhorn. Secrest, Sears, Gorsuch, 
Conner, Seals, Selby and Smith families. These pioneer families all have 
numerous descendants here today. 

INCORPORATION HISTORY. 

The incorporation of Byesville dates from February 7, 1882, when the 
village was duly incorporated and the first municipal election held April 24th. 



294 GUERNSEY COUNTY, OHIO. 

that year. The first officers were: T. J. Lee. mayor; James Selby, clerk; 
L. W. Smith, treasurer. The first marshal of the village was George H. 
Dudley and the first president of the council was Joseph Allman. The first 
ordinance passed was restraining the use of fire arms. The following have 
served as mayors of Byesville : 

T. J. Lee, E. Sears, Lloyd Selby, John Holbrook, Thomas M. Davies, 
Dillon Marsh, E. W. Smith, Elmer Green, C. A. Bonom and W. A. Chals- 
fant, the present incumbent. Elmer Green is the present efficient clerk. 

The village offices are in a two-story building, purchased in 1907 and 
now valued at five thousand dollars. It contains rooms for the council meet- 
ings, a jail, etc. 

The village has an efficient volunteer fire department, with an equip- 
ment of fine apparatus, including a fire engine and plenty of hose. Water is 
obtained from seven street cisterns, located at various points in the village. 
The company consists of about sixty-five members. The streets are lighted 
by natural gas. Recently a contract was let to the Midland Company to 
supply this natural gas for so much a month. 

In 1 88 1 the village possessed but a little more than three hundred souls, 
but it has grown wonderfully. Board walks were first used, but long since, 
cement and brick have taken their place and now the mileage of such walks 
exceeds three miles. The electric line from Cambridge was completed sev- 
eral years ago and the natural gas is used universally for street and domestic 
use. About twenty coal mines blow their whistles daily to call the hundreds 
of workmen. The paved streets and general appearance of the place indi- 
cates thrift and enterprise. 

FACTORIES, ETC. 

Byesville is fast coming to be a factory town. The people have given 
several concerns a bonus to locate in their midst and such concerns have 
brought much wealth to the place. Among these may be named the tile 
works, for which eight thousand dollars was raised ; the Byesville Glass and 
Lamp Company was operated seven years successfully and employed over 
two hundred workmen, paying out six thousand dollars each two weeks for 
some time. This cost the village twenty thousand dollars and the cost of the 
plant itself was sixty-five thousand dollars. The coal mining interest is the 
life of Byesville today. 



GUERNSEY COUNTY, OHIO. 295 

POSTOFFICE. 

With the laying out of Byesville it had a postoffice and the following 
have served as postmasters at one time or another : L. K.. Thompson, George 
Conner, Lloyd Selby, E. L. Allman, E. F. Meek, John Nicholson, D. S. Burt 
and the present incumbent, Dr. C. A. Austin. The office is conducted in all 
departments in a very careful manner and is centrally located. 

Of the banks, churches, schools and lodges, the reader is referred to 
chapters on those subjects in this volume, covering the county in general. 

A few points to be remembered are these : That natural gas was piped 
into the village in 1898; the electric railroad from Cambridge entered the 
place in November, 1899; coa ^ mining started as an industry in this county 
in 1866, but Byesville was not identified with it until 1877, when old Central 
mine started up. Pick mining was then employed altogether. It is esti- 
mated that enough coal was taken from these mines if the same had been 
loaded upon thirty-ton cars to reach across the continent in a solid train of 
cars. The following six men lost their lives in this first Byesville vicinity 
mine: Eli Wilson, William Mackley, Thomas Allender, Hollis James, Wil- 
liam Collins and John W. Hesse. 

BUSINESS DIRECTORY OF I9IO. 

Banks — First National and Byesville State Bank. 

Drugs — J. M. Combs & Company, G. A. Ffeiner. 

Dry Goods — J. A. Prior, E. L. Grossman, J. Ff. Meek. 

Feed Store — G. W. Collins, B. G. Witten Sons Company. 

Furniture — S. W. Conner, Eberle & McCormick. 

General Stores — A. C. Outland, F. W. Johnston, Byesville Co-operative 
Company, Butkhard Brothers, E. L. Gary, Graham & Son, J. A. Prior, 
Ffutton & Clay. 

Hardware — Guernsey Hardware Company, H. C. Egger. 

Hotel — J. H. Thompson. 

Groceries — W. L. Foraker, T. F. Slay, McLaughlin & Osier. 

Livery— S. W. Stage, E. O. Beckett. 

Newspaper — Byesville Enterprise. 

Millinery — Ina Hilderbrand, Lilly Williams, Yoho & Yoho. 

Meat Market — T. W. Culbertson, T. H. Dickens. 



CHAPTER XXIV. 



KNOX TOWNSHIP. 



Knox township, taken from the north end of Westland and a part of 
Wheeling township in March, 1819, is now a five-mile square civil precinct of 
Guernsey county, bounded on the west by Muskingum county, on the north by 
Coshocton county and Wheeling township of this county, on the east by 
Liberty and Cambridge townships and on the south by Adams township. 
There are no towns of any commercial importance within this township and, 
without railroads or large water courses, it depends largely on Cambridge as 
its trading place. This township is devoted largely to agricultural pursuits 
and has a number of excellent places, well improved. Which yield up their 
annual harvests. 

At the time of the Centennial Exposition in Philadelphia, in 1876, a 
canvass of the old settlers was made which resulted in the showing of the 
following list of pioneers who had attained the age, or passed the age, of 
seventy-six years, then residing in the township : Jared Terrell, Margaret 
Terrell, Jane Patrick, George Eckelberry and wife, Mrs. Sarah A. Estep, Wil- 
liam Young, Jane Young, James Black, William Scott, Jacob Merlat, Hugh 
Dyer, James Cullen, Benjamin Hawthorne, George Estep, Edward Beal and 
John Zimmerman. These old settlers nearly all came to Knox township at 
an early time and reared large families which have one by one taken their 
places in the great busy world, in one capacity or another. 

William Kenworthy came from England in 1841, and worked for ten 
years in a cotton factory in Delaware county, Pennsylvania, but in 185 1 lo- 
cated in Knox township and cleared up most of the old homestead found 
there today. 

William Hamilton Clark was four years old when his parents came from 
Ireland. In 1840 he married and settled in Knox township, this county. 
Eleven children were born to this worthy couple. Mr. Clark was school di- 
rector in this township for many years. 

Francis Kilpatrick came from Ireland in 1850, and effected a permanent 
settlement in Knox township, where he and his interesting family spent the 
remainder of their days. 



GUERNSEY COUNTY, OHIO. 297 

John Clark (father of Elizabeth Weir) was a native of Ireland and a 
blacksmith by trade. Ten years after his marriage he emigrated to America 
and they were the parents of seven children. They lived five years in Pitts- 
burg, Pennsylvania, then located in Knox township, this county, and the 
family have become scattered, but all widely known as men and women of 
rare industry and integrity. 

William P. Ross, son of James Ross, of Lancaster county, Pennsylvania, 
was quite an early settler in Knox township. He was school director for 
twenty years and lived on and owned the farm known as the "Old Still House 
Farm," as at one time it had a still on it. 

Jacob Marlatt was born in Maryland in 1803. Five years after his mar- 
riage he settled in Knox township and became the father of thirteen children, 
including Josephus. who served as a soldier in the One Hundred and Twenty- 
second Ohio Infantry, and was badly wounded at the battle of the Wilder- 
ness. 

William Addy, born in 1781, in Virginia, and John Kennedy, an Irish 
weaver, born in 1779, were both early pioneers in Knox township. 

The biographical volume of this work will give the sketches of many 
who located, at a later date, in this township. 



CHAPTER XXV. 



OXFORD TOWNSHIP. 



Oxford is on the eastern border of Guernsey county, midway north and 
south. It is five miles from north to south and six from east to west, con- 
taining about thirty sections of excellent land. Belmont county is to the 
east, Millwood township on the south, Wills and Madison on the west and 
Londonderry township on the north. Fairview, an historic village, is the 
only place of much importance within the township. Here begins the first 
section of the old National pike in Guernsey county. It traverses the town- 
ship through its central portion, passing through six sections of the township, 
en route to Cambridge. It was one of the original townships in the county 
and an account is given of its early settlement, etc., by a citizen, Fred L. 
Rosmond, whose sketch of the township is as follows: 

"At the organization of Guernsey county in April, 1810, Oxford was 
one of the five townships into which the county was originally divided and, 
of course, was much larger than it now is. As it lay against Belmont county 
on the east, with only that one county intervening between it and the Ohio 
river, and as the 'Zane Trace' traversed it from east to west, it profited by 
the early immigration from the East, which had no other equally good 
thoroughfare. 

"Oxford township was also on the eastern border of the United States 
military bounty lands, and at the western border of the 'Seven Ranges.' The 
latter were the first government lands surveyed for sale, and were also the 
first public lands to which the rectangular system, affording sections one 
mile square, was applied. The lands in the 'Seven Ranges' were on the 
market from 1787 onward at the fixed price of two dollars per acre. The 
sale of them became slow, partially because the price was comparatively high. 
Lands in the Western Reserve were offered by Connecticut at fifty cents per 
acre. Lands in the Symmes Purchase in southwestern Ohio were offered at 
sixty-seven cents per acre. Moreover When, in 1796, the survey of the 
military bounty lands was authorized, and these were put on the market by 
those who earned or acquired bounty certificates, the competition with the 
land in the 'Seven Ranges' became sharper, and one reason appears why immi- 



GUERNSEY COUNTY, OHIO. 299 

grants would pass just through the 'Seven Ranges' and settle on the bounty 
lands in Oxford township and the country west of that. 

"The Zane Trace was made under contract with the federal government, 
by Ebenezer Zane, for whom Zanesville is named. It extended from oppo- 
site Wheeling to what was then known as Limestone, a point on the Ohio 
river nearly opposite Maysville, Kentucky. At the outset the chief towns 
along it were Cambridge, Zanesville, Lancaster and Chillicothe. It was 
neither a highway, nor what would now be considered a road. The makers 
of it contented themselves with cutting down the timber and clearing away 
some of the undergrowth, so that the route would be passable for horsemen ; 
and this seems to have been all that was expected of them. There was no 
ferry west from Wheeling until the crossing of Wills creek, where Cam- 
bridge now stands, was reached. In a general way Zane followed an Indian 
trail. The route was an important one, however, because it connected Penn- 
sylvania and the Ohio river at Wheeling with the West and Southwest, 
and, with the so-called Wilderness Trail, connecting Kentucky with Virginia, 
formed the two great arteries of communication for that day between the 
East and the West across the Alteghanies. 

"The township organization was effected April 23, 1810. It is a tradition 
that there were then not enough men in the township, large as it was, to fill the 
offices. As the number of offices at that time seems to have been nineteen, this 
is likely a mistake. Perhaps it may be that there were then not enough voters 
to fill the offices, but there were more than nineteen male persons in that region. 
Later on the population was added to chiefly by settlers who had served in 
the war of 181 2, and in the early years the Irish and Scotch-Irish largely pre- 
ponderated. A roster of the names of the early residents shows this. 

"The first settlement in Oxford township was at Fletcher, where the 
Fletcher Methodist Episcopal church now is. Nothing except this perpetua- 
tion of that name, and some faint inscriptions on the stones in the burying- 
ground hard by, remain to testify to its existence. It was on the Zane Trace. 
Philip Rosemond settled here on a quarter section of land which he bought 
early in April, 1810, from Noah Linsley for five hundred dollars. To this 
he added, in 1819, another quarter section which he bought from John 
Heskett in January. 1819. He kept here for years a tavern, and is said to 
have been the first postmaster, and to have kept the first postoffice between 
Wheeling and Zanesville. Nearby were the Wherrys. Ableses, Kennons, 
Mortons and Plattenburgs. 

"In March, 1814, Fairview was laid out by Hugh Gilliland, containing 
thirty lots, each one-fourth of an acre in area, fronting on the two sides of 



300 GUERNSEY COUNTY, OHIO. 

what is now the National road or Fair street. In December, 1825, Philip 
Rosemond, John Gibson and John Davenport, joint proprietors, platted an 
addition containing eleven lots, and in October, 1827, they platted a second 
addition containing nineteen lots, thus doubling the town in area. The deed 
records indicate that the best of these lots usually sold for sixty-five dollars. 

"By 1828 the National road had been completed through Guernsey coun- 
ty, and from this time onward Fairview greatly prospered for many years, 
until that great highway was superseded, in a great measure, by the railroad 
which passed south of it through Barnesville. It was a division point in the 
stage traffic, did a large merchandising business, possessed several taverns, 
and, along in the fifties, when what has been described as the "county-seat 
fever" existed, had an ambition to become the county seat of a new county 
which was to be called Cumberland and should be made up of the eastern 
part of Guernsey and the western part of Belmont. 

"The township as it now lies is hilly, but fertile, much of the land being 
strong limestone soil, and the whole being well watered. The great part of 
the township is underlaid with coal, and some shallow seams are worked for 
domestic use, though no commercial mine has been attempted, partially for 
lack of railroad transportation. 

"The citizenship of the township has, as a rule, ever been of high order. 
From the beginning churches and schools have been provided and main- 
tained. Before the public school system was established, about 1825, private, 
or 'select' schools, where pupils paid for their teaching, were maintained. As 
early as 1818 there was a stone church about where Fletcher church now is, 
and there was one at Fairview as early as 1820. These were Reformed 
Presbyterian churches, but in 1832 the Methodist Episcopal society established 
itself at Fletcher. A public school was established in the southeastern part 
of the township in 1832, and in 1839 another was located just southwest of 
Fairview. The school houses of that day were log cabins, with puncheon 
floors, slab seats and unglazed windows. At St. Clairsville was an academy, 
to which children were sent from Oxford township for a better education 
than the public schools afforded. 

"The earliest tax duplicates for this township cannot be found among 
the public records. In 1834 there were in the entire township, large as it then 
was (according to the tax duplicates), only ten houses that were separately 
valued, together with four grist mills valued at four hundred and seventy dol- 
lars, six saw mills at five hundred dollars, three distilleries at one hundred 
and twenty-five dollars, and three tanneries at two hundred and eighty-five 
dollars. 



GUERNSEY COUNTY, OHIO. 3OI 

"In August, 1880, what was called the Pennyroyal Reunion was held 
close to Fairview, and it was established as an annual event and has been 
kept up. In the beginning old men still living had been among the pioneers 
and narrated from their own experience incidents of that early time; but 
no concerted effort to perpetuate their recollections as a whole was made. 
The region yields the pennyroyal plant in abundance, and for many years 
the oil has been distilled in domestic stills, hence the name Pennyroyaldom 
for Oxford township." 

FAIRVIEW. 

This village is on the east line of Guernsey county, on the southwest 
quarter of section 2, township 10, range 7, platted by Hugh Gilliland, March 
24, 18 1 4. It is the first station point on the famous National pike, as it 
enters Guernsey county from the east. Many of the old time men, includ- 
illustrious politicians, have stopped over night or for their meals at this 
place in the long-ago years. It has been a postoffice point ever since staging 
was known in the county. Thirty-five years ago and more the office was 
kept directly opposite from where it is now kept. It was then in the Gil- 
breth hotel, on Main street. The office now has an annual receipt of about 
four hundred and twenty-five dollars. The mail is received here twice a day 
each way, by stage. Among the latter year postmasters may be named 
Thomas Bond, Dr. James Holt. W. B. Benson, D. E. Morris, E. E. Bond. 

Fairview is among the incorporated towns of Guernsey county. Since 
1839 (as early a record as can be obtained) the mayors have been: 

1839— William Robinson. 1882— V. D. Craig. 

1840— William Beymer. 1886— W. R. Scott. 

1844 — P. B. Ankney. 1887 — William Lawrence. 

1847 — Thomas Beaham. 1888 — Samuel B. Clements. 

1849 — Joseph Evitt. 1890 — Robert McBurney. 

1850 — Josiah Conwell. 1892 — Samuel W. Colley. 

185 1 — Joel F. Martin. 1894 — Robert McBurney. 

1852 — A. Y. Robinson. 1896 — Benjamin Paisley. 

1854 — Alfred Skinner. 1898 — S. B. Lawrence. 

i860 — William Barton. 1903 — F. W. Steele. 

1863 — J. M. Patterson. 1905 — S. B. Lawrence. 

1877 — J. S. Umstot. 1907 — L. L. Young. 
1877— J. S. Umstott. 



302 GUERNSEY COUNTY, OHIO. 

The 1910 municipal officers are: Mayor, O. G. Sheppard; clerk, W. L. 
Anderson ; treasurer, W. L. Gleaves ; marshal, G. A. Kupfer. The council 
is made up of these gentlemen : T. K. Peck, T. B. Bratton, John I. Ander- 
son. W. K. Byrd, Fred Johnson and W. H. Griffin. 

The city hall, on Main street, has been in use many years. The only 
protection against the ravages of the fire-fiend is the volunteer companv and 
a hand-pump service given by the citizens. 

BUSINESS INTERESTS. 

The commercial interests of Fairview in 1910 were as follows: The 
J. W. Frost Cigar Company, that has been in existence about twenty years, 
and which consumes much of the native tobacco which is produced in quite 
large quantities in the immediate vicinity. The cigar making industry was 
first started here by Saltsgaver & Frost. 

The coal mining interests are quite extensive and are named in another 
chapter with other mines in Guernsey county. Among the most important 
mines in this section are the Brown, Riggle. Loy, Cowgill and Carnes 
mines. 

There is also a good creamery, belonging to the United Dairy Company. 
Other interests are the general stores of E. E. Bond and W. L. Gleaves ; 
the groceries of Dillion and Mrs. Benson; Morton Sisters, millinery; livery 
bams by Doctor Arnold and Charles Ault; T. B. Bratton, stock dealer, and 
a meat market conducted by J. W. Ault. 

Middleton, on the National pike, in Oxford township, was platted on 
the north half of section 31, township 10. range 7, September 1, 1827, by 
Benjamin Masters. It has never been a place of much significance, a mere 
post trading place on the pike, formerly having mail facilities. It now has 
two general stores, J. W. Long and I. Y. Davis, and one excellent hotel. 

Benjamin Masters, just spoken of, had eighteen children. He erected 
a mill of the horse type and the date of its construction was 1805, near 
where Middleton now stands. In 1810 he built a water mill. 



CHAPTER XXVI. 



1. 11:1.1; i v tow x.- 



Liberty township was organized in 1820. ninety years ago. It is the 
second from the north and second from the western line of the county, and 
contains about twenty-five sections of land, being five miles square. Wills 
creek meanders through its territory and through its beautiful valley runs 
the Pennsylvania railroad line (formerly the Cleveland & Marietta). This 
is a good agricultural section of the county and the people seem both pros- 
perous and contented. The groundwork for this contentment was possibly 
laid in the labors and self-sacrifice of the earlier settlers, who felled the first 
trees and plowed the first furrow in the township, long before the sound of 
the iron horse had. ever been heard within Guernsey county. A record 
was made many years since of the persons who. in 1876. were seventy-six 
years of age or older, then residing in the township, which list is as follows : 
Robert Bell, Henry Matthews, James Boyd. George B. Leeper, Ann Milligan. 
Elijah Phelps, Adam Miller, Thomas Stockdale, James Lacham. James Gil- 
son, William De Harte, George Bell, Alexander Robinson. 

Residents who lived in Liberty township away back in the sixties, sev- 
enties and eighties, included these : Thomas Alexander, born in Guernsey 
count)' in 181 5. Joseph C. McMullen, a native of Ireland, born in 1793. 
emigrated to Ohio when quite young and died in the state in 1865. James 
Bell, a native of Ohio county, Virginia, born in 1776. married and came to 
Ohio and lived in Liberty township during the remainder of his days. They 
reared five children, of whom Robert was prominent in the history and de- 
velopment of his township. The Bell farm consisted of three hundred and 
twenty acres of land in Liberty township. 

R. R. Miller, born in Canada in 1822. was the son of Adam Miller, 
a native of Ireland, born in 1795. and who married in 1821 and came to 
America. He settled in Guernsey county, first in Jefferson township, then 
in Liberty township, where he remained until his death in 1877. This 
couple had five children. The Miller family bore well the part of enter- 
prising, energetic citizens. 

William Gibson. Sr.. the first settler, immediately after his marriage in 



304 GUERNSEY COUNTY, OHIO. 

1794, moved close to Wheeling, West Virginia. He was then just at the 
age of manhood, while his wife was three years his junior and both descended 
from good old Pennsylvania stock. Six years later they resided in Belmont 
county. Ohio, and there remained five years. In 1807 they obtained two 
canoes at Cambridge and, going down Wills creek, landed where Liberty 
township is now. They were the only inhabitants of the country round 
about and here they built a rude hut, or log cabin, later a much better one. 
They continued to reside there until he died, in 1849, ar >d the good wife in 
1873. They were the parents of fourteen children. James, one of their 
sons, born in Belmont county in 1804, married in 1833 and conducted a 
hotel in Liberty for thirteen years. He also had a two-hundred-acre farm of 
well improved land, and finally lived a retired life. John Gibson laid out 
the village of Liberty (now Kimbolton). 

Joseph Bell came from Virginia to Ohio in 1807 and settled in Liberty 
township. He was a native of Ireland, born in 1775. He died in Liberty 
township in 1839 and his wife followed in 1842, leaving a family of five 
children. David and George settled in Liberty township and became men 
of enterprise and thrift. 

Robert Forsythe, born in Washington county, Pennsylvania, in 1796, 
spent his youth there and in 1818 married Elizabeth Bell. Soon after, with 
his wife and mother, he came to Ohio, settling in Liberty township, where 
he remained until 1832, then moved to Wills township, near Washington 
village, and in 1869 went to Cambridge, where he died in 1873. This truly 
worthy couple had seven children to honor their names. 

James Beggs, one of the sons of the Emerald isle, and his wife, Ellen 
(Miller) Beggs, also a native of Ireland, emigrated to this country in 1798 
and settled in Jefferson township, this county, but soon after located in 
Liberty township, where he died in 1867. Mrs. Beggs passed away a short 
time before. Their children were Elizabeth, wife of Gilbert McCully, and 
James. The latter was born in Ireland in 181 7 and in 1841 married Mar- 
garet Parkison, of this county. They reared a large family of children. The 
old Beggs farm contained three hundred acres. 

Naphtali Luccock, a native of England, was born in 1797 and in 1819 
embarked for Philadelphia, Pennsylvania, in which city he engaged in a com- 
mission business. The next two years he worked in a stocking factory in 
Germantown (near Philadelphia), and in 1822 married Jane Thompson, who 
was born at Fort Sea, England. They settled in Wooster, Ohio, and for 
three years he taught school there. The next four years they lived in Coshoc- 
ton county, Ohio, and in 183 1 finally settled in Guernsey county. One of 



GUERNSEY COUNTY, OHIO. 305 

the sons of this pioneer was named Thomas, born in 1823, married in 1848. 
He served as representative from this county in the Ohio Legislature from 
1875 to 1879. He owned twelve hundred acres of land in this county, was 
an extensive agriculturist and conducted a general store in Liberty town- 
ship. 

TOWNS AND VILLAGES. 

Kimbolton (formerly Liberty) is within this township, (situated on 
section 23, in the northern tier of sections of the township. It was platted 
by William and John Gibson, August 2, 1828. When incorporated, Novem- 
ber 5, 1884, it was named in the articles as Kimbolton. Its name is after 
a place like-named in England. It was the birthplace in England of Naph- 
tali Luccock, the first postmaster, hence he called this place after it, when the 
postoffice was to be named, about sixty or more years ago. Among the post- 
masters and postmistresses who have served here are : Naphtali Luccock, 
Miss Anne DeHart, J. L. Davis, W. H. Ludley, S. D. Ross, O. J. Berry, 
Mrs. Ida A. Berry. From this postoffice there are four rural routes, ex- 
tending out about twenty-five miles each. The first was established about 
1903. The mail at an early date was carried to and from here on horseback 
twice each week. There are now two daily mails each way, by rail. 

A city hall was provided in 1907. The only fire of importance in the 
place was when the mill burned in 1909, entailing a loss of about five thou- 
sand dollars. The present council and officers are : William H. Gibson, 
John A. Chambers, E. E. McKim, Lafayette Miller, Thomas Morris, B. D. 
Bumgardner, council ; M. V. McKim, mayor ; O. J. Berry, clerk ; C. F. 
Rhodes, treasurer. The present marshal is F. M. Fowler. 

The business interests of the place are : Two general stores, A. Ledlie & 
Son, S. A. Clark; grocery, L. J. VanSickle; livery. R. R. Warden; hotel, 
Central House, by R. R. Warden ; steam flouring mill, by M. T. Kennedy. 

The churches (see Church chapter) are the United Presbyterian and 
Methodist Episcopal. 

The present physicians are Drs. D. L. Cowden and William Lawyer. 



(20) 



CHAPTER XXVII. 



RICHLAND TOWNSHIP. 



Richland is on the south line of the county and the second from the east- 
ern border line on the east. It is irregular in shape, containing about twenty- 
seven sections of land. The main line of the great Baltimore & Ohio rail- 
way system passes through the extreme northern portion of this sub-division 
of the county, with its Cumberland branch traversing the township from north 
to south, passing into Valley township on section 3. Richland township was 
organized July 18, 1810, the first election being held on that date, at the house 
of Samuel Leath, when township officers were duly elected. 

EARLY SETTLERS. 

Perhaps no better insight into who were among the vanguard of pioneers 
in this part of Guernsey county can be obtained than to publish the names of 
those over seventy-six years of age residing in the township in 1876, the 
same having been compiled for a centennial history of the township: Mrs. 
Payne, Mary Halley, George Gooderl, Robert Dilley, Ann Thomas, Mary 
Morrison, Mrs. George Gooderl, John Dollison, Mrs. Hull, Mrs. Stiers. 
Mary A. Foreacre, Mrs. John Squib, Mrs. Samuel Lent, Jacob Shafer, Susan 
Shroyer, Elizabeth Alexander. John Frame, Henry Ledman, Mrs. A. Laugh- 
lin, Mrs. Bennett, Eleanor Medley, James Buchanan, John Potts, Almira Mc- 
Clary, James Hartup, Benjamin Winnett, John Winnett, Laban La Rue, Wil- 
liam G. Keil, Samuel Gibson, James Miller, Mary Baldridge, John Mosier, 
John Squib, Samuel Lent, Thomas Hunt, James Stranathan, Nancy Arndt, 
Mrs. F. Goodern, Elizabeth Oliver, William Potts, Lydia Clark, Lucinda 
Dollison, Margaret Lowry, Catherine Ledman, Henry Popham, John Laugh- 
lin, James R. Boyd, Tamer Gooden, Tressa Jones, Lydia Lowry, Scott Emer- 
son, Mary Jackman, Raphiel Stiers, Lucretia Buchanan. Ebenezer Harper. 
Jeremiah Sargent and Margaret La Rue. 

John Laughlin, father of Alexander Laughlin, was born in Fayette 
county, Pennsylvania, in 1777. He married in his native state and in 1808 
started for the West, locating in Richland township, Guernsey county, Ohio. 
In 1 8 18, he removed to Centre township, where he died in 1851. 



GUERNSEY COUNTY, i. 307 

Samuel M. Dilley, son of Robert Dilley. was horn in New Jersey in 1794 
and in [816 lie. with a brother, came to Ohio, settling in Senecaville. Guern- 
sey county — at least near where the town now stands. 

James Gibson, a native of Ireland, born in 1806, came with his parents 
to the point that is now known as Gibson station in Richland township. He 
lived on the old homestead until his death, in i860. He was both a farmer 
and merchant and his landed estate consisted of between five and six hundred 
acres. 

John Frame came with his parents from Wills township, settling in Rich- 
land township in 1830. 

George Gooderl, a native of Chester county, Pennsylvania, coming to 
Ohio in 181 7, resided seven years in Belmont county and then located in Rich- 
land township, this county. He died here in 1880. 

Richland township was settled up by the above named persons and fam- 
ilies and what was once a howling wilderness has come to be one of the rich- 
est sections in Guernsey county. The present people of the township are 
happy, contented and generally very prosperous. 

TOWNS AND VILLAGES. 

The only village plattings of Richland township are Senecaville, a portion 
of Lore City and New Gottengen. 

Lore City was platted June 8, 1903, in both Centre and Richland town- 
ships, on Leatherwood creek. Hence it has made but little history. A post- 
ofHce by this name has been in existence since a very early date. It is now a 
fourth-class office, the postmaster furnishing his own building, light and fuel. 
At one time the office was held in the depot. For the past thirty years the 
postmasters have been as follows and in the order here enumerated: Jacob 
Younger, Joseph Arnold, Albert Morris, Aaron Luzater, Will Cale. Aaron 
Luzater. Will Cale, William Arndt and Harry Ferguson. 

There are three rural mail routes running out from this postoffice, the 
first of which was established March 1, 1905. During the past year this office 
has been broken into three times, but no loss of money in any one of the cases. 
The annual report of the office, June 30, 1909, showed yearly receipts of one 
thousand five hundred dollars. There are now eight mails daily. 

Lore City was incorporated in 1906 and the town officers have been but 
few, the present mayor, Roland Potts, having served two consecutive terms. 
The present officers are: Roland Potts, mayor: Cale Cross, clerk: \Y. H. 
Ferren, treasurer: C. F. Milligan, marshal. The council is composed of: 



308 GUERNSEY COUNTY, OHIO. 

Rufus Totten, F. E. Bird, William P. Lowry, Watt Dugan, James McMahon 
and O. D. Chester. 

The town is without water-works or fire protection. The churches, a 
history of which appears in the church chapter, are the Methodist and Presby- 
terian denominations. There is a prosperous lodge of the Independent Order 
of Odd Fellows, mentioned in the history of civic societies. 

The 1910 business interests of Lore City are conducted by the following- 
firms : Agricultural implements, John Bond ; general dealers, Lou Longstreth, 
Andy Chegogg; furniture, Lou Chegogg; groceries (exclusive), William Fer- 
ren; millinery, Mrs. Oldham; livery barn, John Bond; drug store, Doctor 
Arndt. The physicians of the place are Drs. F. E. Bird and H. W. Arndt. 

Lore City is situated on the main line of the Baltimore & Ohio railroad 
and is a sprightly town for its size and age. 

SENECAVILLE. 

Senecaville is the largest place within Richland township. It is situated 
on sections 21 and 22, in the southern part of the township. This town was 
platted on the banks of Seneca creek, by David Satterthwaite, July 18, 1815 — 
hence has a. history running back almost a century. It is situated on the line 
of the Cumberland branch of the Baltimore & Ohio railroad and is within the 
rich coal mining belt of Guernsey county. The name has been a familiar and 
household word for three generations, including the pioneer band. The post- 
office has been kept in its present location since 1893. It appears that not 
many have held the postoffice at this point, as will be observed by the follow- 
ing list of postmasters and the Presidents under whom they have been com- 
missioned : J. M. Rainey, under President James Buchanan ; D. M. Bryan — 
the "War Postmaster" — under Lincoln; Wilson Scott; J. C. Rose; H. F. 
Gordon, under Grover Cleveland; N. Le Page, under Benjamin Harrison; 
H. F. Gordon, under Cleveland the second time; N. Le Page, under William 
McKinley and Theodore Roosevelt; G. S. Kaho, under Roosevelt and he is 
the present postmaster. 

One rural route extends out over a distance of twenty-four miles from 
Senecaville and was established July 1, 1903. The annual receipts from this 
office at last report was one thousand and twenty-one dollars and seventy- 
four cents. There are three mails at this office daily, one in and two out. 
The first mail that reached Senecaville was carried on horseback from Wheel- 
ing. H. F. Gordon is the present assistant postmaster. 



GUERNSEY COUNTY, OHIO. 30Q 

INCORPORATION. 

Senecaville is incorporated and its present officers are: Mayor, J. S. 
Moorehead; clerk, H. M. Beenier; treasurer, G. F. Pollock; councilmen. 
S. H. Moorehead. J. L. Dilley. John Stevens, J. T. Day. J. R. Davidson; city 
marshal, Frank Morrison. 

The churches of Senecaville are the Methodist, Presbyterian, Wesleyan, 
and Free Methodist. 

The lodges here represented are Odd Fellows, Master Mechanics and 
Knights of Pythias. 

BUSINESS INTERESTS IN IQIO. 

Today the business interests of Senecaville are in the hands of the fol- 
lowing persons: Physicians. Dr. C. Bates and Dr. R. H. Geary : dentist, H. 
M. Shafer; grist mill; one hank, the First National; the general stores are 
conducted by John Keller and the Morris Coal Company; furniture, Thomas 
Morrison; grocery, J. M. Rainey ; hardware. Brown and Lepage; hotel, Mrs. 
Brown; millinery, Mrs. E. D. Fell and Clara Dilley; milling, Campbell Broth- 
ers; livery bams, John Connor. F. H. Campbell; planing mill, with lumber 
yard, Charles Spaid ; meat market, Thomas Morrison. The only drug store in 
the place was owned by I. K. Hill, who died in October, 1910, but it will soon 
be reopened. Natural gas is piped in from West Virginia, by the Ohio Light 
and Fuel Company. 

Robert Thompson, in 1895. § ave tn e following account of this township: 
He was born in Fayette county, Pennsylvania, in 1808 and moved with his 
parents to Senecaville in 181 1, when there were but three log cabins. David 
Satterthwaite and 'William Thompson were the earliest settlers in that section. 
Ephraim Dilty also came about that date. James Richardson was proprietor 
of the first tavern. The first church in Senecaville was the Presbyterian. The 
first store stood on ground later occupied by the Methodist Episcopal church. 

The same writer in 1886 wrote for the local press: Senecaville was laid 
out in 1814 or 1815. There were salt springs on the edge of the creek near 
the Greenwood bridge, from which brother William boiled salt at a furnace 
containing about thirty-six kettles. It is doubted whether there were any 
other salt works this side of the Ohio river. People came a long ways to pro- 
cure it and paid three dollars a bushel for the same. 

Many rough characters were about here then and a favorite sport election 
days was to get drunk and then fight until one side said "Enough." 



3IO GUERNSEY COUNTY, OHIO. 

Coffee was then fifty cents a pound and it was only used when the 
preacher came. A pound might last six months. Pork was worth one dol- 
lar and a quarter a hundredweight and calico from twenty-five to thirty-seven 
and a half cents a yard. 

As there was no communication by rail, the produce collected was taken 
to Baltimore in huge covered wagons drawn by six horses. The journey 
took about three weeks each way. 

Senecaville was named from Seneca creek and that was named from the 
springs of coal oil which oozed forth on the waters. Seneca oil was so named 
from the Seneca Indian tribe in New York and Pennsylvania, who many ages 
ago used this oil for its medicinal qualities. Later, it developed to be what we 
now so well know as petroleum. 



CHAPTER XXVIII. 



Mir.T.woon township. 



The southeastern township in Guernsey county is known as Millwood and 
it was organized about 1834. ft contains twenty-four sections of land and is 
four miles north and south by six east and west. It is rich in agricultural 
and mineral resources. The Baltimore & Ohio railroad passes through this 
township on its east and west course, with three station points, which are 
described later in this article. There are many small streams running through 
the territory now being described as Millwood township. The township is 
bounded on the north by Oxford township, on the east by Belmont county, on 
the south by Noble county and on the west by Wills township. It is a well 
developed section of Guernsey county and was settled by a class of industrious, 
enterprising and religious people who have certainly left their imprint on the 
present dwellers of the southeastern portion of Guernsey county. 

No better record of its first settlement can now be given than to name 
the aged persons — those exceeding seventy-six years of age — who were living 
within its borders in 1876. These names include men and women who were 
the first settlers and who were the parents and grandparents of many of the 
present population and will recall to the citizens of the township many a scene 
of early days in Millwood and Quaker City. This list is as follows: Mary 
Hall, Henry Hall. John D. Hall, Noah Hartley. Sarah Hartley, Michael 
Creighton, Samuel Ruth, Isaac Spencer, William Rose, James R. Johnson. 
Priscilla Johnson. George Emerson, Hannah Hague. Jesse Coles, Washington 
Clary, Nathan" Hall, George Falmer, Thomas Mills, Elizabeth Mills. Josiah 
Outland. Francis Linn. William Crouse, James Fillett, Jacob S. Brill, Albina 
Say re. John Rimer. Isaac Webster, James Hart, Mary Wolfonl, William 
Hyde, Joseph Dunlap, Elizabeth Brill, John Hague, James Whitcraft. John 
Stotts, George F. Fox, Ann F. Harvey. Susannah Arnold. Michael Aubmire, 
Sarah Perego, Clarissa Shuman. John Shuman. Samuel Carter, John Addison, 
C. McCormick and Hannah Scott. 

The Hartley family deserves special mention in this connection. Wil- 
liam P.. the eldest, was born in Berks county. Pennsylvania, in 1786 and when 
he reached manhood he moved to Warren county. Xew Jersey, and there 
f. .11. .wed school teaching for thirty years. He married, in 1817, a daughter 



312 GUERNSEY COUNTY, OHIO. 

of Jonas Parke and in 1837 they moved to Guernsey county, Ohio. They had 
eight children. James, their eighth child, was first lieutenant in the One Hun- 
dred and Twenty-second Regiment and was killed at the battle of Cold Har- 
bor. William P. Hartley, Jr., was born in New Jersey in 182 1 and lived 
nearly all of his days in this township. He was sheriff of Guernsey county 
in the seventies, was a Democrat and in church affiliations was of the Chris- 
tian faith. The Hartleys are still numerous and influential in these parts of 
Ohio. 

Of the Hall family, it may be said that Isaac Hall was the second son 
of John Hall, who came from North Carolina in 1805, and purchased a tract 
of land near where now stands the village of Quaker City. He married in 
1807 and they were the parents of eight children, of whom Isaac \V. was one. 
He was born in 1810 and educated in the common schools of his county. In 
1839 he engaged in mercantile business at Quaker City, then styled Millwood. 
He married three times and was the father of three children, two of whom 
matured. Mr. Hall was the originator of the National Bank at Quaker City. 
In religion he was a Friend and in politics a Republican. 

John P. Hall, another son of the old pioneer John Hall, was born and 
brought up to farm labor in the old-fashioned way of bringing up children. 
In 1 84 1 he married in Belmont county and raised a family. In 1880 he owned 
a fine farm of about three hundred acres in Millwood township. 

Of this numerous Hall family, there were, Eli, John D., Cyrus, Amos and 
other prominent members, who made each a distinct history here for them- 
selves. 

John Smith, son of William and Elizabeth Smith, of Yorkshire, England, 
where he was born in 1814, when an infant came to this country. His father 
was a mason and worked on the Capitol at Washington. The family con- 
sisted of seven children. John was reared on a farm and in 1840 married 
Margaret Temple, who became the mother of eleven children. Mr. Smith 
was a Democrat in politics and in religious belief of the United Presbyterian 
church faith. His homestead was two and a half miles north of Quaker City. 

James White and John R. Hunt, as well as Hugh Keenan, were settlers 
of Millwood township at an early time. 

The Cowden family were also representative citizens here. W. N. Cow- 
den was the only son of David Cowden, who came to America with his father, 
William Cowden, from Ireland in 181 o. David upon his arrival purchased 
a tract of land a mile and a half northeast of Quaker City, and in 1835 mar ' 
ried Margery Kennon, sister of Judge William Kennon, of Belmont county. 
Among: the children born of this union was William Newell Cowden, who 



GUERNSEY COUNTY, OHIO. 313 

entered Muskingum College. He was, in 1882, largely interested in sheep 
raising and wool producing. He owned over five hundred acres of land in 
Millwood township and for several years was president of the Quaker City 
Fair Association and vice-president of the Quaker City National Bank. He 
was an elder in the United Presbyterian church and a very pronounced Demo- 
crat in his politics. 

Thomas McFarland, another one of the quite early settlers in Millwood 
township, came from Ireland with the father's family in 1835. He resided 
at various places until after his marriage, when he settled here. He married 
Mary Ann Graham in 1840 and reared a family. 

Jesse Doudna, eldest son of Noas and Hannah (Webster) Doudna, was 
born in 1808. in Belmont county, Ohio. He purchased a six-hundred-acre 
tract of land. In [862 he married Rachel L. Benson, who was born in Mary- 
land in 1827. Mrs. Rachel (Lancaster) Benson was the daughter of Jesse 
and Mary Lancaster, of England, a minister to the Society of Friends, after 
whom Lancaster, Pennsylvania, was named. Jesse Doudna died at Spencer 
Station. He was an extensive farmer and stock raiser. 

John Doudna, another son of Noas Doudna, above mentioned, became 
a well-to-do farmer of Millwood township. 

Robert McCormick, son of Robert and Catherine (Brill) McCormick, 
of Tyrone, Ireland, became prominent here. His father landed in Phila- 
delphia in 1800 and clerked in a store five years. In 1805 he moved to Somer- 
set, Pennsylvania, and there taught in the district schools. He married and 
reared a large family of children. He came to Guernsey county in 1815. and 
bought land here and farmed during the summer seasons, teaching school in 
the winter. Robert, Jr., was brought up on his father's farm and educated in 
the common schools. He married Sarah Brill, by whom several children were 
born. He became a large land owner in this township. 

TRUE PIONEER HALL, ETC. 

To speak more specifically of Mr. Hall, the first settler in this now well 
developed township, it may be stated that he came from North Carolina in 
1805, with his father's family, and located three miles west of Barnesville. 
On August 4, 1806, having reached his majority, he took up the grubs on a 
tract of land preparatory to erecting a cabin, on the northwest quarter of 
section 13, in what is now Millwood township. He spent the first night by 
the root of a white oak tree, near his building site. He erected a scaffold near 
by, on which he kept his provisions and cooking utensils, which consisted of a 



314 GUERNSEY COUNTY, OHIO. 

knife and fork, a pewter plate, one spoon, a pot and skillet. He also had 
some salt and pepper, a flitch of bacon, a loaf of bread and a sack of corn meal. 
He had a tray that was of an oblong shape, about twenty inches cross the 
smallest way, made out of the half of a buckeye log split in two, that answered 
to lay provisions in, and was covered for safe keeping. The balance of his 
provisions were made up of game, killed as needed, which could be had in 
abundance at almost any time. Sometimes he slept on a scaffold under the 
sturdy boughs of an oak. His nearest neighbor was John Reed, to the east, 
who lived by the old high trestle on the Central Ohio railroad of later years. 
His next nearest neighbor was Joseph Williams, five miles westward down 
the Leatherwood valley. 

The land office, then at Steubenville, included in its sales the lands of this 
township. John Webster and family came on August 10, 1806, and entered 
ten half sections of land, — Congress lands. — being eighty acres for each of 
his ten children. The present Baltimore & Ohio road runs precisely along 
where Webster's double log house stood. 

In the summer of 1807. John and William Webster built a mill on 
Leatherwood creek, above the present Quaker City depot grounds. John 
Webster died in eighteen months after his settlement, aged fifty-seven years. 

A certain species of wild nettle grew in great abundance about this local- 
ity, and at an early day from it was spun material that took the place of linen 
threads and with this a fabric was woven and finally made into clothing. 

The first settlers near Quaker City were from Pennsylvania, North Caro- 
lina, New Jersey and Maryland, and were Friends, or so-called Quakers. In 
181 1 there were of this class fifty-nine persons. The Friends' first meeting 
house was erected in about 1812. Services were at first held at private houses, 
but the church later built stood on the hill east of Quaker City. William Mott, 
in 1 82 1, taught school there. 

SHROUD AND COFFIN. 

Jesse Cole, of Millwood township, has a reputation in his community, 
that should, in honor to the old gentleman, be extended beyond the bounds of 
Millwood township. He was born near Reading, Pennsylvania, and is in his 
eighty-fourth year. He claims that he has yet sixteen more years to live, as 
it is his intention not to shuffle off this mortal coil until he reaches the even 
one hundred. Mr. Cole settled in Millwood township in 1823. In due time 
he was married and raised a large family of boys and girls. After the death 
of his first wife, he removed to the neighborhood of Sarahsville, Noble county, 



GUERNSEY COUNTY, OHIO. 315 

where lie built a cabin and kept bachelor's hall. This was necessary because 
his children had all married and had homes of their own. While there he 
got along very well, until he was taken with a bad spell of sickness. It would 
have gone hard with him, he says, Were it not for an excellent old maid who 
lived within "hollerin' " distance of his cabin. This kindhearted creature 
took the best care of the widower, and finally brought him through all right. 
During the worst of his sickness he thought his time had come, and that the 
right thing to do was to prepare himself for burial. To this end, he got the 
old maid to prepare his shroud and hang it away in a convenient place, and on 
his recovery he tenderly cared for it, and when he married his second and 
present wife, he handed the garment over to her for safe-keeping. About eight 
years ago, he made further preparation for his last journey on earth. While 
in a good state of health, he went to Quaker City, and gave orders to one of its 
citizens to take his measure for a plain but substantial walnut coffin, to be 
ready at a certain date. At the appointed time, in company with a son, he took 
the coffin home on a sled. On its arrival, it was carefully raised to the loft of 
the loom house, where it now sets safely, beyond the gaze of the curious, pa- 
tiently awaiting the time when its owner will be laid therein for an eternal 
rest. An evilly disposed person some time since circulated the report that the 
family had made kindling wood of the coffin, and also that it was a receptacle 
for dried apples, but we are glad to be in a position to state positively that there 
is not a vestige of truth in either rumor. May the years be many and happy 
before the old gentleman shall need either the coffin or the shroud. — Jefferson- 
ian, August 20, 1885. 

TOWNS AND VILLAGES. 

Millwood township has had several village plattings. including old Mill- 
wood (now Quaker City), Spencer's Station and Salesville. The first village 
platted was Millwood, by Jonah Smith, on section 20, township 9, range 7, 
in what was then styled Beaver township. The date of filing this plat was 
February 18, 1835. It retained this name many years, but before it was in- 
corporated, in 1 87 1, it was changed to Quaker City, it being in the midst of a 
very large and thrifty settlement of Friends (Quakers). 

Salesville was platted in 1835 by George Brill, on section 32, township 
9, range 7. It was on the "Clay Pike," as then known. It was incorporated 
in 1878. as a village. 

Spencer's Station was platted in 1892, as a railroad station. Being near 
Quaker City, it has never grown to much extent. 

Of Salesville, it may be stated that the settlement at that place was begun 



316 GUERNSEY COUNTY, OHIO. 

in 1806 — one hundred and four years ago. The pioneers there were for the 
most part from the states of Virginia and Pennsylvania, with now and then a 
family from the Old World. The lands in this section of Guernsey county 
were found to be of great richness and fertility. Through them flowed the 
waters of the Leatherwood creek, skirted by wide, beautiful bottom lands. 
The waters of this and other streams flowed with enough fall to furnish an 
abundant power for water mills and factories. Springs of water gushed out 
from hillsides here and there, all of which made the surroundings attractive 
to the home-seeker of that long-ago day. Prominent among the first settlers 
may be now recalled the Brills, Pulleys, Frames, Williams and kindred. The 
religious sentiment was here divided among many creeds and church polities. 
But all had a deep religious feeling and all wanted a place in which to worship 
the true and living God, hence agreed to erect a large log meeting-house, which 
was accomplished and designated as the "Temple," by which it was always 
known. Here, in 1816, when this house was erected, of hewed logs on the 
hill overlooking the present village of Salesville, a quarter of a mile from the 
banks of the Leatherwood creek, settlers met regularly to worship, in their 
own chosen method. This was the beginning of church life and activity in 
this part of Guernsey county. Some were Methodists, some United Brethren 
and other denominations were well represented. 

SALESVILLE OF I9IO. 

Today (October, 1910) this place has a population of about two hun- 
dred and fifty. The postoffke was at first held in the depot, since which time 
it has been on the move. It has, however, been at the present location, in 
the store of S. C. VanKirk, for ten years. Three rural routes run from this 
postoffice, averaging twenty-four miles each. The annual office receipts 
are seven hundred and fifty dollars at this time. Five mails are daily re- 
ceived here. In an early date of this office mails came by stage lines, on 
the old pike. As far back as the memory of the oldest residents can reach 
the following have served as postmasters, in their order: Louis Turnip- 
seed, thirty to forty years ago; W. R. Gardner, G. H. Bates, Thomas Dur- 
bin, M. R. Perry, George W. Brill, S. C. VanKirk. 

The history of the Salesville municipal incorporation dates back to 
1878 and is classed as a village. The mayors have included these: Louis 
Tu'rnipseed, W. A. White, J. A. Perry, Jasper Dollison, W. H. Long, Sumpter 
Long, R. D. St. Clair. 

The present village officers are: Mayor, R. D. St. Clair: clerk, John 
G. Stoneburner: treasurer, S. C. Van Kirk; marshal, W. E. Ankrum. 



GUERNSEY COUNTY, OHIO. 317 

There is no organized fire department, but a hand pump is kept in readi- 
ness for emergencies. The churches of Salesville are the United Brethren 
and Methodist Episcopal. 

BUSINESS FACTORS OF I9IO.. 

Agricultural Implements and Hardware — B. H. Runyan. 

Boarding House — Mrs. Otie Tillett. 

Hotel — Central Hotel, Mrs. M. Mendenhall. 

General Dealers — Sol. Rimer, Stoneburner & Dillon, E. E. Atkinson. 

Grain Dealer — S. C. VanKirk. 

Liven- — Jacob Linton. 

Millinery — Miss Mary St. Clair. 

Physician— Dr. W. A. White. 

QUAKER CITY. 

Quaker City, originally Millwood, was incorporated in 1836 as Mill- 
wood, and as Quaker City between 1864 and 1870. It now has a population 
of approximately one thousand. The postoffice being established, and then 
the name changed to Quaker City, has since made the place better known 
to the world. The postoffice has been in its present location since 1890, 
before which date for many years it was on the opposite side of the street, 
just before that date in the B. J. Johnson building, and still earlier in the old 
Lochary building. There are six rural routes extending out from this 
postoffice, all of which are over twenty-four miles long. There are seven 
mails daily now at this office. The record of postmasters is not fairly clear, 
but it is known that the following have held the position in about the order 
given here : Patrick Lochary-, Millard Marsh, A. H. Hamilton. H. B. Cox, 
J. M. Gallagher and W. W. Dowdell. 

The city is protected fairly well from fires by a volunteer fire company 
and a hand apparatus consisting of wagon, hand-cart, three pumps, etc. 
Natural gas is used here, the same being pumped in from Noble county 
from the Dudley field. The surrounding country is devoted largely to sheep 
raising. The schools of the place are a high and grammar school, mentioned 
in the educational chapter of this volume. 

The only newspaper at Quaker City is the Independent, established in 
1875 by J. D. Olmstead & Sons. The present proprietors are J. W. and 
A. B. Hill, who took charge in 1882 and have never missed an issue since that 



318 GUERNSEY COUNTY, OHIO. 

year. Job work, advertising calendars and novelties are special features of 
this office. 

The lodges of the town are the Masons, Odd Fellows and Knights of 
Pythias. The churches here worshiping are the Christian, Methodist Episco- 
pal and Friends. 

The mayors who have served here are inclusive of the following : 1871- 
72, J. C. Steele; 1872-74, George W. Arnold; 1874-1885, J. B. Lydicfc 
1885-86, L. J. Heskett; 1886-88, D. S. Scott; 1888-94, L. M. Hartley 
1894-98, F. B. Doudna; 1898-1900, J. B. Hartley; 1900-02, Isaac E. Stubb 
1902-03, John S. Moore; 1903-05, J. B. Lydick; 1905-07, William Wesley 
1907-10, J. B. Hartley; 1910, to present time, Frank Reed. 

It will be observed that Mr. Lydick served longer as mayor than any 
other man, M. L. Hartley and J. B. Hartley coming next in point of length 
of service. Among those serving as clerks during the period from 1871 
to 191 1 were T. M. Johnson, J. A. McEwen, I. P. Steele. M. C. Hartley, 
Robert Boyd, J. G. Moore. A. H. Hamilton, C. A. Bowles and Ross Hay. 

The length of service as corporation clerk and also as township clerk, 
is perhaps unprecedented in the case of Robert Boyd, who has served twenty- 
one years as clerk of the corporation in Quaker City, and his term ending 
December 31, 191 1, as township clerk, gives him twenty-five years in that 
office. The village officers in 1910 are: Frank Reed, mayor; Ross Hay, 
clerk, and H. B. Garber, treasurer. 

I9IO DIRECTORY. 

Agricultural Implements — W. H. Hartley & Sons, W. A. Lingo & 
Company. 

Bank — Quaker City National Bank. 

Confectionery — Charles Sharrock. employing thirty-five men touring 
in season of fairs, with his goods. 

Furniture — C. W. Eberle. 

General Dealers — O. W. Hunt, E. B. Galloway. Oscar Finley, Mrs. 
M. A. Lochary, Moore Bros. & Company. 

Grocers — Miss Verna Boyd. 

Hotel — Quaker City House. 

Hardware — W. A. Lingo Company. W. H. Hartley & Sons. 

Livery — Cline & Eberle. 

Millinery — Ella M. Watson. 

Shoes — T. M. Johnson. 



GUERNSEY COUNTY, OHIO. 3I9 

Drugs — W. H, Tope. 

Meat Market — Emmet Wright, Clyde Eagon. 

Physicians— S. G. Bay, O. S. Bay, E. W. Jones. J. B. Hollingsworth. 

Opera House — D. M. Lingo, manager. 

Grist Mill— John R. Hall. 

Planing Mill — A. Cochran Company. 

Mines (Coal) — E. B. Galloway, John Montgomery, Waldo Webster. 

Produce — Quaker City Produce Company. 



CHAPTER XXIX. 



MOXKOE TOWNSHIP. 



Monroe township was cut from Jefferson township in April, 1818. It 
is on the north line of the county, and bounded on the east by Washington 
township, on the south by Jefferson, on the west by Wheeling. It is five 
miles square and hence contains about twenty -five sections of land. It is 
a well watered and drained portion of the county, devoted mostly to farming 
and stock raising. New Birmingham is the only village platted within the 
borders of the township. This was an early-day platting, but was re-platted 
in i860, for assessment purposes. It is located on section 11, township 4, 
range 2. Here a postoffice and a few business houses were erected and 
maintained for years. It is now an inland place of little, if any, business 
importance. 

As one passes through this portion of the county, today, in search of 
historic facts concerning the early settlement of this particular township, 
he cannot fail to be impressed with the fact that time changes all things 
earthly, and that none are now living who witnessed the first efforts at making 
a home within this part of Guernsey county; the pioneer has completed 
his mission and rests from the cares of life. However, as late as 1876, when 
a census was taken of the oldest persons in this township, the following were 
found still residents, and none were then less than seventy-six years of age: 
Thomas, Sarah and Thomas I. Moore, Jane Moore, Hezekiah Moore, Mary 
Engle, Benjamin Culbertson, Solomon Colley, Lydia Colley, Aneas Ran- 
dall, Annie McDonald. Archibald Little, Delphi Grimsley, Sarah White, 
William Wornick, Jane Wornick, Sidney Little, William Thompson, Sarah 
Thompson, Sarah Anderson, Daniel Clark, James Neil, John Neil, Sarah 
Richards, Amos Richards, Sarah Gray. Elizabeth Clark, Isaac Beal, 
Andrew Thompson, Margaret Willis, George Willis, Nancy Virtue, Martha 
Aiken, Lydia Lanning, Sarah Edwards, James Crossgrove, J. Hollings- 
worth, Margaret Shaw, John Smith, Eleanor Campbell, Rebecca Burnworth, 
Matthew Johnson, and Pleasant Tedrick. 

Oakley Lanning moved to this township from Monroe in 1834 and 
became a prominent, permanent citizen of the precinct. 



GUERNSEY COUNTY, OHIO. 32I 

Isaac M. Lanning was horn in New Jersey in 1788 and bought land 
in this county, but had the misfortune to lose it by reason of a defective 
title. He married Lidie Fuller and moved to the farm he had selected here. 
He died in 1867. He had held the office of justice of the peace for more than 
twenty years in this township, hence was well known and highly popular. 

Frederick Braninger, a native of Maryland, was born in 1788 and after 
his removal to Westmoreland county, Pennsylvania, he married Susannah 
Hayes, and fifteen years later located in this township. He was a devoted 
member of the Protestant Methodist church. 

Samuel Virtue was born in Ireland in 1775, of Scotch-Irish ancestry. 
He married in 1799 and in 1816 made the long sea voyage to this country. 
He settled in Ohio county, West Virginia, where he lived for fifteen years, 
then located in Monroe township, this county, and spent the balance of his 
days here on a farm. He raised a large and highly interesting family, 
who have gone forth to different callings in life. 

Isaac Beal, a native of Fayette county, Pennsylvania, born in 1796, 
lived there until he married Martha Todd, and then removed to this town- 
ship, where the remainder of his days were spent. Eight children were born 
of this union, who survived to manhood and womanhood. Osborn, the 
sixth child, was born in 1S28 and married Amanda M. Randall and they 
then set up another household within the township. He was a trustee of 
Monroe township a number of years and held other offices. When he set- 
tled here Beymerstown had only one house. 



(21) 



CHAPTER XXX. 



M \1>IS(>\ TOWNSHIP. 



Second from the north and second from the eastern line of Guernsey 
county is situated Madison township, which sub-division of this county 
i- five miles square, having twenty-five sections of excellent land within 
it- borders. This township was organized and its first township election 
held July is, 1X10. It contains the usual amount <>t" good, as well as much 
rough, untillable land. Mxrnt one-third of a century ago the residents here. 
who had reached or passed their seventy-sixth mile-post were as follows: 
Benjamin Berry, lame- Copeland, Mrs. F. Parker, Samuel Tannehill, lames 
Weyer, Mrs. C. Lanfesty, Elias Burdett, Mrs. S. Anderson, Mrs. E. Cramer. 
Mr-. Mary Johnson, Mrs. Stanley Shaw. Mrs. E. Teitrick. Mrs. E. Shoe- 
man. Mrs. Anne barrell. Mrs. E. I'ritchard. Mrs. R. Harris. F. L. Hafford. 
Samuel Lindsey, Mrs. M. Lindsey, William Scut. John Smith. Mrs. Mary 
Smith. William M. Jenkins, John Sheridan. John June-. Wesley Gill, Mrs. 
S. Nichols, Henry Nichols, Isaac Ricker, Mrs. Amy Kicker. Mrs. Weirick, 
Andrew F. Linn. Mrs. Grizelle, George McCormick, J. W. Mills. Mrs. M. 
Stockdale, John Stockdale. James Stockdale. John Saviers. Bennett (larding, 
Elias Burdett, and lame- Weyer. 

Of others who made settlement, or were born here and performed well 

their part- as g 1 citizens in the up-building of the township, it may be 

narrated in this connection that George W. Yeo, a native of Maryland, was 
born in [813, and when of age he came to this township, having first re- 
sided near Barnesville until about 1^45. 

Daniel Tcttrick was born in Xew Jersey in 1783 and came to Guernsey 
county when seventeen years of age. In [810 he married Jenny Scaddon, 
by Whom he had seven children. His second wife was Mary Pas-more, by 
whom -even more children were born to him. He became one of the Stanch 
men of hi- township and lived to a ripe old age. 

Samuel Cunningham, a native of Ireland, was bom in 1750 and in 1832 
the family moved to Guernsey county. Ohio, having first remained in Wash- 
ington county nine year-. Their son James was bom in Ireland and survived 
all other member- of the family. He married Elizabeth Cunningham in 1838 

and they were the parents of twelve children. 



GUERNSEY COUNTY, OHIO. 323 

Edward Bratton was without doubt the first white man to locate in this 
township. He was born in Mifflin county, Pennsylvania, in 1784, and in 
1799 removed with his father to the new territory northwest of the Ohio 
river, then just opening up for settlement. It was late in the month of 
December when they reached Wheeling-, then comprising but a few illy-built 
huts and houses built around the public square. Crossing the Ohio river, the 
Brattons made their way westward to the forks of McMahon's creek, three 
miles below where the town of Belmont now stands. From this place, in 
1802, they moved up to the Zane Trace, near what later became known as the 
Milner property. In the spring of 1803, or 1804, Joseph Wright, father of 
Nehemiah Wright, emigrated from Ireland and located near the Brattons. 
He employed Edward Bratton, then a stout, young man, nineteen years of 
age, to make him some rails with which to fence or pen up his stock, in order 
to protect them from the wolves and bears, which were then very trouble- 
some. His work suited so well that he was hired to make more rails to fence 
in a patch of ground. These young Bratton made at the rate of fifty cents 
a hundred and boarded himself. In 1805 he married, and taking the trail used 
by General Broadhead in 1780, when that officer marched from Wheeling 
on the Coshocton campaign against the Indians, he followed it as far as 
the present town of Antrim, then diverged and went to the present site of 
Winchester, where he pitched his tent. The nearest settlement was where 
Cambridge stands today, but there were five Indian families, including two 
brothers named Jim and Bill (for short) and whose last name was Lyons; 
Joseph Sky, at the mouth of Brushy Fork; one Douty, who had a hut be- 
tween Mrs. Culbertson's and Newman's Lake, and who had two squaws ; 
and one Indian named Hunter, who was squawless. 

The first grist mill in the county was built on Salt fork, then in Madison, 
now in Jefferson township. The first store was kept by George Wines at 
Winchester, and there was also the Methodist church building. 



CHAPTER XXXI. 



sl'l-.Nt I K ■IciWNSIIII- 



Spencer is the extreme southwestern township in Guernsey county. 
It was organized in [819, having been taken from the west end of what was 
then Buffalo township. It- first election for township officers was held in 
March, that year. It i- bounded by Noble and Muskingum counties and 
bj Westland and Jackson, with a portion of Valley townships. It contains 
about twenty-nine sections of land. It is exceptionally well watered by nu- 
merous small streams and many pure springs are found gushing out here and 
there along the rugged hillsides. Its chief commercial point is Cumberland 
City, "ii the Cumberland branch of the Baltimore & Ohio railroad. The 

county is very largely devoted to mining and stuck raising. Its citizens are. 

for the mosl part, enterprising, thrifty people, who have descended from old 
families who settled there at a very early day and have grown up and as- 
sisted in developing the county to its present state of perfection. Virginia, 
Maryland and Pennsylvania all sent forth many of their sons and daughters 

to effect this settlement in the wilds of Guernsey county. They came ahead 
of railroads, pikes, mails or milling facilities, and really "they huilded better 
than they knew." With none too rich a soil, and far from markets, they 
sit to work, with the true -] >i ri t of frontiersmen, to hew and to dig out their 
Own fortunes. Money has not been made easily here, hut the present gen- 
eration are the better for having been reared in a country where money 
wis not plentiful, as they now know the real value of a dollar and make 
the best possible use of it. Good homes, of refinement and culture, are to 

he seen throughout this g |ly township — the one extending the farthest to the 

south of any within the county. 

PIONEER NAMES. 

Perhaps no better account of the first settlement of this part of Guern- 
sey county can he had than to give a list of citizens who in 1N70 had reached 

the g I old age of seventy-six years ami upwards and were still residing in the 

township. These facts appeared in a centennial history in 1876 during the 

Philadelphia exposition: John Hawes, Reuben Stevens, Mary Shively, Juni- 



GUERNSEY COUNTY, OHIO. 325 

ctta Stone, Rebecca Blackstone, Jane Forsythe, Vincent Cockins, Jacob Den- 
nis, Nancy Connor, Elizabeth Young, Jacob Conkle, Annie Inlay, Hiram 
Ingle, Amelia Ingle, Thomas Henry, Samuel Finley, Catherine Finley, E. 
Daniel, Robert Barton, Nancy McClelland, Thomas N. Muzzy, Larinda 
Muzzy, Thomas Crawford, Michael Cusick, William Stuart, Michael Joice, 
Mary C. Connor, Jane Bay, Elijah Blackstone, Henry Cosgrove, William 
Rabe, William McKelvy, Nancy Harper, William Shaw, Sarah Rabe, Martha 
Bemis and Mary Johnson. 

From these persons have grown up many of the present day families 
who now carry on the affairs of Spencer township, with honor and credit 
to themselves and their ancestors. 

Vincent Cockins was born in Washington county, Pennsylvania, in 
1802 and married in 1835 and settled in Spencer township, where they 
reared ten children. Some of these children bore arms in the Union cause 
during the Civil war. 

Jacob Hulin was also a native of Pennsylvania, born in Fayette county 
in 1780. He moved to Wills township, this county, and five years later 
removed to a farm tract — the present site of Cumberland — and raised corn 
where now stands the city. He died in 1847 on n ' s farm, three miles to 
the north of Cumberland, to which he had moved. 

John M. Frazier was born in Loudoun county, Virginia, in 1S17 and 
accompanied his parents to Muskingum county, Ohio, where he married 
and resided many years. One of his sons, Martin L., was born in 1844 and 
when seventeen years old came to Guernsey county and married Mary L. 
St. Clair. After living two years in Muskingum county they moved to 
Spencer township, this county, and became permanent and useful citizens. 

Hugh Moore, father of James A. Moore, was born in Greene county. 
Pennsylvania. In 1836, he moved to Opossum creek, three miles from Sene- 
caville. Two years later he moved to Center township; still later he lived 
in Belmont county, where he and his wife died. The son. James A., moved 
to Spencer township in 1842. 

James White was born in Pennsylvania in 1825 and moved, to Spencer 
township in 1848. He reared eleven children. In his early days he taught 
school. 

Thomas Bay, Jr.. came here with his father, Thomas Bay, Sr., from 
Washington county. Pennsylvania, in 1812, and entered a large tract of 
land in the vicinity of present Cumberland. He was born in 1782 and died 
in 1859. 

William M. Dolman was born in 1802. in Washington county, Penn- 



326 '.i 1 KNS1 1 C0UN1 Y, OHIO. 

sylvania, and came to * »lii< » with hi- father, when ten years of age. He mar- 
ried and settled in Cumberland until iS; v s. when he removed to Washington 
county, Ohio. He was an overseer at the building of the lock in the 
Muskingum river. 



The first man to hold land title in this township was a Mr. May, w li< • 
entered eighty acre- on the Covert farm about 1806, made small improve- 
ments, and died soon thereafter. This was long known as the '".May'- dead- 
ening." In [808 Esquire Lattey claimed land later owned by McClcary. but 
he sold to Mr. Lewis in 1813. lie was the first justice of the peace in this 
part of Guernsey county. Mr. Wolfe was a squatter and cleared a field at 
the east end of Cumberland in 1809. Finley Collins entered an eighty-acre 
tract just ea-t from Cumberland at the same date and sold to Thomas Bay 
in 1 S 1 _• . The first permanent settler was Thomas Bay, of Pennsylvania, 
who settled on the present site of Cumberland in [812, purchasing a large 
tract of land near there. lie and his sons entered the wild, dense forests and 
SOOn erected a commodious cabin home and, with ax and mattock in hand. 
began to clear up their lands. Then Wheeling and Pittsburg were but 
small villages. However, these places and Zanesville afforded a ready mar- 
ket for the maple syrup made by these Guernsey county settlers, who in 
some instances made enough in this way to enter their lands. 

The second permanent settler was Eli Bingham, of Vermont, who located 
adjoining Mr. Bay's land in [813. He was full of Yankee thrift and inge- 
nuity and erected the first brick residence in his part of the country: the same 
was standing in t8O0 ami may be now. 

In 1 Si 4 came Thomas X. Muzzy, who also claimed land next to Mr. 
Bay's. He came from Boston and not only improved his lands, but soon set 
about constructing a mill for grinding grain and sawing lumber. He it was 
who taught the first school and the first Sunday school class in bis neigh- 
borhood. He also laid the foundation for the first church and organized 
the first temperance society in his beautiful little valley. He was in the war 
of [8l2, and in 1848, the date of the first survey of the Baltimore & Ohio 
railroad, volunteered to make a survey from Wheeling to Zanesville through 
Cumberland, and came near locating that road up his valley. He came from 
Spencer, Massachusetts, and hence named the township after his old home. 
In 1882 Mr. Bingham was the oldest resident in his township. 



GUERNSEY COUNTY, OHIO. $2J 

THE TOWN OF CUMBERLAND. 

Cumberland, the third town in point of commercial importance in Guern- 
sey county, was platted April 24. 1828, on section 32, township 9, range 10, 
by James Bay. It is an incorporated place and full of the hest business en- 
terprise. Its railroads are the Baltimore & Ohio (Eastern Ohio division) 
and the Ohio River and Western line from Zanesville to Bellaire. The ex- 
cellent high school building now in use was erected in 1892; it is a two-story, 
six-room brick building. 

The town is an incorporated one, and its present population is not far 
from seven hundred and fifty. Its municipal officers in 1910 were: William 
H. Young, mayor: Dr. S. M. Moorehead, treasurer; Fred S. White, clerk; 
Frank Waller, marshal. The following have served the incorporation as 
mayors : William H. Young, B. S. Lukens, William H. Young, B. S. Lukens, 
Phil Johnson, Dr. C. M. St. Clair, W. H. McCloy. T. G. McCortle, Dr. C. 
Draper, William H. Young. Possibly others may have served a term. 

The churches of the town are the Buffalo Presbyterian, Cumberland Pres- 
byterian, Methodist Episcopal and African Methodist. At one time a Bap- 
tist church was sustained here, but has now been abandoned. The civic so- 
cieties of Cumberland are the Masons, Odd Fellows, Maccabees, United Me- 
chanics and Grand Army of the Republic. The Eastern Star and Rebekah 
degrees of the Masonic and Odd Fellows orders are also represented. 

The Cumberland Echo was established in the autumn of 1885. by W. A. 
Reedle: its present proprietor is W. G. Nichols. (See press chapter.) 

Of the Cumberland postoffice it may be stated that the date of its institu- 
tion is not certain, but probably this office was established about 1830. The 
following have served as postmasters, with others whose names have been 
lost sight of with the passing years : D. W. Forsythe. William Howe, Sam- 
uel Connor. J- C. McClashen, T. G. McCortle, W. M. Crozier, present in- 
cumbent. 

There are now seven rural routes diverging out from Cumberland, of 
about twenty-four miles each. The first was established September 2, 1901. 
The Cumberland office was made a third class office in 1908. It has remained 
in its present quarters since 1902. There are five mails received daily. The 
first mail was brought here by an old Cambridge pioneer, George Green, who 
ran a stage line. The present annual receipts of the Cumberland postoffice 
is $2,500. 



GUERNSEY COUNTY, OHIO. 
BUSINESS FACTORS OF I9IO. 

I '.auks — The Cumberland Savings Bank. 
Buggies, Harness and Monuments — L. R. Harper. 
Blacksmith— 1 tarry Luke. 
Brick and Tile Factory — J. C. Bay & Company. 
Clothing— Connor & White, V. J. Shott. 
Drugs— Moore Brothers, O. Garlington. 
Dentist — S. F. Moorehead. 

Doctors— F. P. Bird, H. W. Holmes, W. K. Bolan. 
Furniture— S. W. McClelland. 
Grain Dealer — M. Young & Company. 
Groceries — Allison & Voting, E. E Prouty. 
Hardware— Petty & White, J. B. Beckett. 

Hotels — Mrs. Mary Fulton, Fulton House: Globe, Miss Ella Kennedy. 
Harness Dealer — J. R. Stewart. 
Jewelry— H. M. McKee, H. B. Zoller. 

Livery— S. P. McClelland. Frank Blackburn, A. G. McClelland. 
Produce — Lyne &• Given. 

Millinery— Mrs. A. E. Walters. Mrs. Ida Roberts. 
Meat Market — V. L. (das.. \Y. L McCracken. 

Mills — M. Young Milling Company, flouring mill. J. C. Bays. \\\ H. 
Stevens, planing mill-. 

Newspaper — The Echo, W. < '•■ Nichols. 
Photograph Gallery— J. C. Crumbaker. 
Stock Dealer — Spooner & McCracken. 
Shoemaker — Elza Johnson. 
Wool Buyers — The St. Clair Company. 



CHAPTER XXXII. 



WHEELING TOWNSHIP. 



Wheeling township, organized in September, 1810, is in the extreme 
northwestern corner of Guernsey county, and is seven and a half miles long, 
from east to west, and four miles wide in the narrowest place; it contains 
about thirty-three sections of land. Coshocton county is to its west, Tus- 
carawas to its north, Monroe township, east, Liberty and Knox south of it. 

Wills creek is its principal stream. The line of the railroad now known 
as the Pennsylvania follows the creek valley down through this township 
and on into Liberty township, en route to Cambridge. The villages of this 
sub-division of the county are Bird's Run and Guernsey, both station points 
on the railroad. 

The history of the schools and churches will be found in the general 
chapters, while the village history, plattings, etc., will be found farther on 
within this chapter. 

The first settler was Robert Atkinson, who settled on section 21, but 
some one from Belmont county entered the section before Atkinson, where- 
upon he removed across Wills creek and located on a part of the same sec- 
tion. At this time his only neighbor was a man named Bird, who had lo- 
cated at the big spring where John Booth later resided, and where he had 
built a shanty and cleared up a small piece of timber land. This was eight 
miles distant and over in Tuscarawas county. The man Bird had neither 
family nor principle. Atkinson's wife died, and Bird and some of the In- 
dians helped him bury her. after which Atkinson went back to Virginia to get 
another wife, leaving Bird there to take care of the property he had. Dur- 
ing his absence, Bird loaded the household effects into a boat and went down 
the stream into the Muskingum river and forever disappeared. Hence the 
creek was named "Bird's Run." 

In 1806 William Gibson settled on Wills creek, three miles above, and 
1807 found Philip Shoff a resident. In 1S10 came three Virginia families — 
Paul Dewitt, John Hodge and Abraham Furney. All was a wild wilderness 
and Indians lived in rude huts and fished and hunted along the streams. 
These tribes left about 1812. Until 181 5 land could not be taken up here 
in less than quarter sections. 



330 GUERNSEY COUNTY, OHIO. 

The first school in the township was near present Bridgewater. The 
first church was the Baptist in 1820, near Bridgeville. 

Among the pioneer band who settled in Wheeling township, and their 
sons and daughters, may be named the following list of persons who, in 
1876, were recorded as being at that date seventy-six or more years of age : 
George Shroyock, Alexander Mitchell, Mrs. Alexander Mitchell, Jacob 
Banker, George Gibson, Mrs. Jane Gibson, David Walgamott, Mrs. S. Wal- 
gamott, Elizabeth Carr, James Mercer, Amanda Hamilton, N. Chamberlain. 
Zachariah Black, E. Johnson, William Leech, Joel Brown, Fred Bristol, W. 
Anderson, John Lytle, St., Richard Leverson, Henry Wilson, Mrs. C. Wil- 
son, James Miskimmin. 

William Vansickle, Jr., born in this county in 1840, married Elizabeth 
Redd and settled on a farm in Wheeling township, becoming a permanent 
settler there. 

John Marlatt was born in Virginia in 1794, and lived in Columbiana 
county, Ohio, until 1809, when he married and resided in Coshocton six years. 
From that time to 1869 he lived in Wheeling township. He and his wife 
were the parents of twelve children, six of whom survived until 1882. Mr. 
Marlatt owned four hundred and thirty acres of land and held numerous 
local offices in his township and county. 

Other early comers to Wheeling township were James Mercer, John 
Alloway, Joseph Furney and John Keast. The last named was from Corn- 
wall, England. These pioneers found a rough, wooded country and all had 
to be hewed and grubbed out from a forest in order to provide suitable fields 
for the cultivation of crops and good building sites. This took a great amount 
of hard work and of a character of which the present-day young man knows 
nothing. The fathers and grandfathers opened up and made it possible for 
the dwellers of the twentieth century to live and enjoy what they do. 

TOWN OF GUERNSEY. 

This is a platted, incorporated place of some commercial importance. 
It was platted in section 4, township 2, range 3, of the military school lands, 
by John Fordyce, J. W. Robins and Madison Robins, November 7, 1872. 
A postoffice was established here almost a half century ago. It is now located 
in a general store belonging to E. C. Lawyer, the present postmaster. There 
are numerous dwellings and a neat church building, that of the Protestant 
Methodist denomination. 

Birds Run, or Bridgeville postoffice, as it is called now, was established 



GUERNSEY COUNTY, OHIO. 33 1 

about forty years ago. It is now kept in the general store of L. D. Car- 
rothers, postmaster. There are two churches represented here, the Baptist 
and the Methodist Episcopal. 

UPON A HIGH HILL. 

Upon a high hill in Wheeling township, near the county road leading 
from Guernsey to Bridgeville, is a rock whose strange formation and ma- 
jestic appearance excites wonder in every beholder. It resembles an immense 
haystack in shape, being about forty feet in height, twenty-five feet in circum- 
ference at the base, thirty-five feet at the bulge, and thirty feet at the top. 
The view from the summit extends over four counties and is said to be 
grand. The sides of this peculiar rock are carved with hieroglyphics that 
would make an interesting study for the student of aboriginal history. We 
are indebted for these facts to D. F. Stanley. — Jeffersonian, March 8, 1883. 



CHAPTER XXXIII. 



WESTLAND TOWNSHIP. 



Westland township is one of Guernsey county's original townships, 
hence dates its precinct history from April 23, 1810; its first election for 
township officers took place in June of that year. It is in the southwestern 
part of the county, bounded on the west by Muskingum county, on the north 
by Adams township, on the east by Jackson and Cambridge townships and 
on the south by Spencer township and Muskingum county and contains 
twenty-five sections of land, it being five miles square. Crooked creek, the 
old National pike and the Baltimore & Ohio railroad pass through its north- 
western corner. Like other townships in Guernsey county, this is quite 
rough, hilly and broken by valley and ridge. Its only platted village is 
Claysville, an inland platting described elsewhere with other plattings. Once 
this township embraced much more territory than at present, for in 1819 
Knox township was formed from parts of this and Wheeling townships. 

EARLY SETTLERS. 

To have been a pioneer in this section of Ohio meant hardship and an iron 
constitution. The names of some of the families who thus blazed the way to 
civilization and present enjoyment, and who resided in the township in 1876, 
being advanced to the ripe old age of seventy-six years or older, are as fol- 
lows : William B. Stewart, Thomas J. Freeman. Ephraim Barnett and wife, 
Susan Galloway, Joseph Kelly, Elijah Wycoff, John Hammond, James Ster- 
ling, J. Amspoker, Mrs. Wilson, R. R. Moore, Thomas E. Connor, W. B. 
Crawford, Mr. Best, Maria White, James Lawrence and a Mrs. Sterling. 

The following paragraphs will speak of others who sought out a home 
and became good citizens in this part of Guernsey county: 

John Hartong, a native of Pennsylvania, born in 1808, married, in 1835, 
Ruth Terril. In 1836 they removed to Centre township, this county, and 
later became residents of Westland township. They reared five children who 
matured and helped to subdue this part of the county. 

James Amspoker. son of John Amspoker, born in Brooke county, Vir- 



GUERNSEY COUNTY, OHIO. 333 

ginia, in 1807, remained in his native state almost a half century and in [859 
settled in Westland township, this county, lie married and became the father 
of six children, well known in this county to the older residents. 

Lewis Caius McDonald, one of the first children horn in Westland town- 
ship, the .date being 1817, married Melissa Boyd and had five children; he 
was supervisor a number of terms in this township. 

In 1850 came the Best family to Westland township from Pennsylvania 
Mr. Best died in 1880, leaving a family of grown children. The John Best 
farm of this township contained almost two hundred acres. 

Robert R. Moore descended from William Moore, who was born in 
Ireland in 1791. After living twenty-four years in Pennsylvania, the grand- 
father removed to Wills township, this county. Me had nine children. Rob- 
ert R. was born in Pennsylvania in 1810, moved to Terry county, Ohio; and 
in [843 on to this county, locating in Westland township. 

William Bennett, born in Ireland in 1801, emigrated to Pennsylvania at 
the age of eighteen years. He married, spent four years in Union township. 
Muskingum county, Ohio, and in 1838 made a permanent settlement in West- 
land township, where he died in 1842. The children of this pioneer family 
numbered eleven, and are now heads of numerous families throughout the 
country. 

George McCreary, Sr., was born in Ireland in 1790, emigrated to America 
in [812 and married, in 1823, Sarah Mills. This worthy couple located in 
Westland township, where they passed the remainder of their lives, the wife 
dying in 1847 an d ne ni I S/3< leaving seven children. 

Ephraim Barnett. a native of Washington county, Pennsylvania, born in 
1801, married and moved to W r estland township, this county, in the spring of 
1839. He died in the autumn of 1S79. This worthy man and wife were the 
parents of eleven children, most, if not all, of whom are now deceased. 

William Fj. Stewart, born in Ireland in 1804, landed in Baltimore in [830 
and went direct to Pennsylvania, where he remained until 1832, then removed 
to Oxford township. Guernsey county, Ohio. From 1835 to 1872 he led a 
wandering life, but at the last named year settled in Westland township, just 
off the National road. He was thrice married and reared a large family. 

Horatio Grumman was a son of Isaac Grumman, who settled in West- 
land township when the country was so new that each settler almost led the 
life of a hermit. Isaac was born in Xew Jersey in 1777. He married in [798 
and six years later moved to Fort Henry (now Wheeling), and in 1800 came 
to Westland township, this county. He died in 1845 ani ' n ' s wlt " L ' m 1858. 
Thev had nine children to revere their names. 



334 



<il F.RXSEY COUNTY, OHIO. 



David St. Clair was born in Maryland in 1797, and during the war of 
1 Si 2 with Great Britain, went to Baltimore to sell produce, and was there 
during the engagement with the British. He accompanied his parents to 
this county and settled in Spencer township, where the family entered land on 
warrants. 

William Cosgrove, a native of Mifflin county, Pennsylvania, was born 
in 1812 and in 1827 came to Ohio with his parents, living near Freeport, Har- 
rison county, three years, then went to Cambridge where he mastered the 
cabinetmaker's trade. In 1833 he removed to Cumberland where he engaged 
in chair making until 1868, when he engaged in the hotel business, being the 
proprietor of the old Eagle hotel. One peculiarity of this gentleman was 
that he never failed of taking a mid-day nap, which he argued gave great 
strength and long life. 



CHAPTER XXXIV. 



l,o\l>o\l>|KKY TOW XSM II'. 



Londonderry is the extreme northeastern township in Guernsey county. 
Jt is six miles square, containing thirty-six sections of land, good as the county 
affords. It is bounded on the north by Harrison county, on the east by Bel- 
mont county, on the south by Oxford township and on the west by Madison 
and Washington townships. It has numerous streams coursing through its 
territory and is well suited for grazing and stock raising. Its schools and 
churches are treated under the general chapters on these topics. 

OLD RESIDENTS. 

This section of the county, in 1876, had fully its share of aged men and 
women, as will be seen by observing the following list compiled at that date 
for a centennial history of the township, which gave the persons who had 
reached seventy-six years or over: Samuel Wilkin, Edward Carpenter, Wil- 
liam Francy, Henry Crusoe, Jackson Gracy, R. F. Campbell, Robert Campbell, 
Samuel Bratton, Andrew Hyde, Robert Madden, John Logan, Mrs. A. Logan, 
Mrs. C. Carpenter. Mrs. S. Madden, Mrs. S. McElroy, Mrs. S. Smith, Mrs. 
E. Rankins, Mrs. J. Walker, M. Walker, Robert Blackwood. T. G. Brown, 
William Hartgrave. Mrs. J. Francy, Mrs. E. Mack, Mrs. Sarah Hunt. Mrs. 
S. Rosengrants, Mrs. E. Davis, Mrs. S. Wilkins, Mrs. Decker. Mrs. Romans, 
Mrs. H. Briggs, Mrs. J. Kirk, Mrs. Ingle. Mrs. S. B. Smith, Simon Rosen- 
grants, Jacob Baker, William Wilson, William Morrow, James Thwaite. 
Samuel B. Smith, Henry Briggs and Joel Kirk. 

The father of John Downer was born in Washington county, Pennsyl- 
vania, in 1790 and came to Guernsey county in 1813 and entered land in this 
township and cleared up a good farm from out the dense forests. He mar- 
ried Elizabeth Work and by her reared twelve children, the eldest of whom 
was John, born in 1818, and who spent his entire life in the township. He 
owned a quarter section of land and was a township official. 

Other early settlers who aided in felling the forests and making the 
wilderness to blossom like the rose, were William Morrison, a native of Penn- 
sylvania ; Thomas Xeilson, a native of Ohio; Absalom Frizzell. of Belmont 
county, Ohio; John Mack, a native of Ireland; John Stewart, born in Ireland, 
coming to this country in 1835: Robert Mack, who was born in Indiana, and 



336 GUERNSEY COUNTY, OHIO. 

accompanied his parents here when young; George Smith, born in Virginia 
in 1795 and in 1809 went to the vicinity of Flushing, Belmont county, and in 
1819 he and his father entered eighty acres of land in Londonderry township; 
John Greenfield was a native of Harrison county, Ohio, born in 1820, and 
came to this township in 1846, settling on what was subsequently styled the 
Kirk farm, the most of which he helped to clear up from the native forests; 
others whose names should not be forgotten as pioneers in Londonderry town- 
ship were Amos Hibbs, Church Cox, George Smith, William Kirk. Alexander 
L. Crusser, Robert Wilkins and John Stewart. 

PLATTING OF LONDONDERRY. 

The only platting of a village within this township is Londonderry, 
platted by Robert Wilkins, August 19, 181 5, on section 20, in the northern 
part of the township. It never grew to a place of more importance than a 
country hamlet, with a postoffice and a store and small collection of houses. 

Among the early settlers of Londonderry township were Cornelius Dud- 
dall, James McCoy, Henry Dillon, Anthony Arnold, Edward Carpenter, 
Mathew Law, and George Anderson. Edward Carpenter was born in 1761 
in Pennsylvania, and died here in 1827, having settled in this township in 
1802, with his wife, Catherine ( De Long) Carpenter, who died here in 1845. 
Their son, Edward, Jr., was born in this township in 1802, and was a justice 
of the peace for thirty-two years. 

A society of Friends (Quakers) was organized in this township in 1819, 
a half mile south of Smyrna. The first building, a log one, was burned in the 
winter of 1856-57, and a small frame structure took its place. In 1880 this 
was removed and a large, commodious church erected. 

In 1801 Edward Carpenter, son of John Carpenter, one of the pioneers 
who crossed the Ohio in 1781 and built what was known as "Carpenter' Fort," 
a short distance above Warrenton, took a contract for cutting out eighteen 
miles of the road extending from Big Stillwater to within seven miles of Cam- 
bridge, for which he received the sum of three hundred dollars. As thus 
opened, the road passed through where Londonderry now stands. Here Mr. 
Carpenter settled about 1807. 

The early-day school facilities here were anything but good. About 
1819 or 1820 the pioneers succeeded in employing Robert Jamison, an Irish 
schoolmaster, who taught the first school in this township, and to whom Mr. 
Carpenter paid thirty-six dollars a quarter and a Mr. Wilkins as much. To- 
day school houses are in evidence everywhere and education and religious 
elements predominate equal to any part of the county. 



CHAPTER XXXV 



WASHINGTON TOWNSHIP. 



Washington township, one of the northeastern townships of this county, 
is a five-mile-square, twenty-five-section sub-division of Guernsey county, and 
is bounded on the north by Tuscarawas county, on the east by Harrison county 
and a part of Londonderry township in this county, on the south by Madison 
township and on the west by Monroe township. It is well watered and 
drained by numerous streams and flowing springs of the purest water. It is 
devoted largely to agriculture and has many fine and thrifty looking farms 
within its borders. This civil township was organized in 1823, its early settle- 
ment preceding this a number of years. It is one of the townships without 
town or hamlet. 

ITS EARLY SETTLERS. 

Just who was the first white man to unfold the virgin soil and clear away 
the first tract of farm land, as well as erect the first cabin .in this township, 
may never be recorded correctly in history, the matter having been so long 
neglected. But fortunately there was, during the Centennial Exposition year, 
a list made of the persons then residing in this township, and who at that date 
— a third of a century ago — were seventy-six years, or more, of age. This 
constituted many of the original band of settlers in this part of the county. 
This list is as follows: Robert Vance, Sol Shers, John Allison, Louis Myers, 
Jonah George, John Williams, Finley McGrew, Robert Maxwell, Benjamin 
Temple, Edward Logan, James Hastings, Miss Ediburne, Mary Burris, Mrs. 
A. McKinney, Mrs. S. McKinney, Mrs. R. Vance, Mrs. Louis Myers, Mrs. 
J. Williams, Mrs. F. McGrew, Mrs. P. Smith, Mrs. William Hastings, Mrs. 
Nancy Frazer, Mrs. R. Maxwell, Mrs. O. Brashar, Mrs. W. Smith, Mrs. B. 
Temple, Mrs. E. Logan, and Mrs. J. Logan. These women, for the most 
part were wives of some one of the early pioneers. 

John Owens, a native of Wales, born in 1773, at the age of seven years 

settled in Sherman's valley, Pennsylvania, and came to this township in 1844. 

He married in 1813 and had ten children, including J. W. Owens, who was 

born in 1836, in Trumbull county. He came to this county and permanently 

(22) 



338 GUERNSEY COUNTY, OHIO. 

located in 1844. He married Cynthia E. Galligher. Mr. Owens in the 
early eighties owned almost three hundred acres of land, was an excellent 
farmer and held many local offices. 

Robert Vance, born in Maryland in 1791, spent his youth in Washing- 
ton county. Pennsylvania, and came to this township in 1825. He married 
and was the father of twelve children. Robert, Jr., was born on the old 
homestead in 1823 and ever after lived in the township. In 1845 l"> e married 
Eliza J. Campbell, by whom eight children were born. Mr. Vance was a 
successful farmer and stock raiser. 

George Frazer, born in 1786 in Maryland, moved to Trumbull county, 
Ohio, in 1795 and in 1837 settled on section 13 of Washington township, this 
county, and remained until his death on the farm of which he was owner. 
He married and was the father of thirteen children, one of whom was George. 
Jr., born in 1830 in Trumbull county, Ohio, and who came to this township 
in 1837. He married in 1867 and they had four children. Mr. Frazer 
served three years and two months in the Union army during the Civil war. 
After his return home, he resumed farming and stock raising, in which he 
was highly successful. 

Levi Williams, a native of Virginia, born near Winchester in 1777, set- 
tled in Belmont county in 1796, and moved to where the town of Washington, 
this county, stands in 1800. There he did the first clearing up the native for- 
ests. He married in Virginia and was the father of eight children. He was 
one of the men who assisted in cutting the National road through the heavy 
timber from Wheeling to Zanesville. 

The reader is referred to the general chapters of this work for an account 
of the schools and churches of this township. 

Washington Scott was the first justice of the peace and the first clerk 
of the township and became state senator. 

It is claimed by some that Levi Williams was the first settler in this town- 
ship. Then came the pioneers, Robert Carnes and James Anderson. In 
1 81 5 and 181 6 came several families and then the township was organized by 
eighteen voters. Thomas Hannah received seventeen votes at the first elec- 
tion for representative to the Ohio Legislature. In 1882 there were two saw 
mills and two grist mills ; a United Brethren and Protestant Methodist church. 
The first church, however, was the Methodist Episcopal, formed in 1816. 

Of the first settler, Levi Williams, let it be recorded that he located in 
1796 where Washington now stands, and did the first clearing in Wills town- 
ship. He was a great hunter and was a first lieutenant under "Mad" An- 
thony Wayne in the Indian war, also under Harrison in i'8i2. The general 



(U'KkNSKY OH'NTV. 



339 



opinion is that the first three men in this county were Messrs. Graham, Wil- 
liams and John Mahoney, all coming at about the same dates. 

John \Y. McBride's father. Frederick McBride, was a native of Wash- 
ington county, Pennsylvania, horn in 1806, and at the aye of ten years ac- 
companied his parents to this county and here he grew to manhood and be- 
came a prosperous fanner and the head of a large family. 

Another of the sturdy men of his day and generation was William 
Logan, horn in the Emerald isle in t 77 r : he married and in 1817 came to 
America, first locating in Canada, where he lived one year and then moved to 
a point about ten miles from Pittsburg, Pennsylvania, but in 1826 came to 
Guernsey county, Ohio, and chopped a handsome farm from out the big 
woods of this count)-. He had ten children, bringing seven to this country. 

Robert Campbell, born in Ireland in 1797, lived with his father in Alle- 
gheny county, Pennsylvania, while learning the carding trade. He there mar- 
ried and the}- had eight children. John M. was born in Londonderry town- 
ship, but when two years of age the family removed to Madison township. 
He married, in 1847. Mary McBride and they had six children. His father, 
Robert, became a large farmer and stock raiser, was commissioner and repre- 
sentative for two terms each, and died suddenly in Iowa. He had been mar- 
ried thrice, but had no children except by his last wife. 

George B. Carlisle, born on the Juniata river in Pennsylvania in 1813, 
came here in 1819 and ever afterwards made this township bis home. In 
1834 he married Elizabeth Hanna, a native of Guernsey county, and they 
reared eleven children. John H, one of the children of this union, was born 
here in 1835 ; in 1880 he married Mary E. Bridgman. He farmed until 1876, 
when he engaged in mercantile pursuits. He served as a lieutenant in Com- 
pany A, Ninety-seventh Ohio Infantry, three months during the Civil war, 
and later became a captain in Company B of the same regiment. 

James Stqckdale. St., married, in 1825, a Miss Phebe Lening, eighteen 
years of age. and she became the mother of eleven children. Mr. Stockdale 
owned a good farm in this township, consisting of two hundred and sixty- 
five acres. He farmed all bis life, except ten years when he was engaged as a 
merchant. In an early day he taught school and sat on one end of the back- 
log and the scholars on the other end. 

William May made this township his permanent home after 1836. He 
was a farmer and stock raiser and worked at the carpenter's trade. 

James English, born in this county in 1793, married Rachel Rolston in 
Washington county, Pennsylvania, in 1816. They had nine children; James, 
the eldest, was a native of Guernsey county, born in 1S17. 



340 GUERNSEY COUNTY, OHIO. 

Jacob Baker, a native of Chester county, Pennsylvania, born in 1774, 
moved to the old Gottengen farm, where he died some years later. He mar- 
ried and had nine children born to him by his wife, whose maiden name was 
Rebecca McCutchin. He served his country in the war of 1812. His chil- 
dren all became important factors in the township of their birth. 

Isaac Bonnel, a native of Maryland, was born in 1800 and when twelve 
years of age he and his father cleared up a farm and laid out Winchester. In 
1824 he married Sarah, daughter of Samuel Lindsey, and had eleven children 
born to him. John M. was born near the old homestead in 1832 and married 
Elizabeth Orr, by whom eight children were born. 

John Hanna was born on the banks of the blue Juniata river in Pennsyl- 
vania, in 1777, and came to this county in 1806. He built the first mill run 
by horse power in Washington township, and later built a water mill on the 
Salt fork of Wills creek. He married Rebecca Harris in 1805, near Warren- 
town, Virginia. Henry Hanna, a son, was born on the Madison township 
homestead in 1813 and in 1838 married Phebe Carlisle. Mr. Hanna owned 
a two-hundred-acre farm in 1882 and was accounted an influential man of his 
township. 

TOWNS AND VILLAGES. 

The two town site plattings within Madison township are Antrim and 
Winchester. Antrim was laid out by Alexander Alexander, March 1, 1830. 
on lot 12 in the first quarter of township 3, range 1, of the United States 
military school lands. It is in the northeastern portion of the township and 
has never materialized to be a place of much importance, being inland and 
some distance from the National road and also from railroad communication. 
It has long been a convenient postoffice for that section of the county and has 
at various times had some small stores and shops, with a collection of a few 
houses. 

Winchester, the other platted village of this township, was surveyed for 
village purposes on section 14, township 3, range 1, August 18, 1836. by its 
proprietor. Isaac Bonnell. 



CHAPTER XXXVI. 



WILLS TOWNSHIP. 



Wills township is located just east of the central portion of Guernsey 
county and, when first organized April 23, 1810, was one of the original sub- 
divisions of the county. As now constituted, after having undergone many 
changes in form, it contains about thirty-nine sections of land in one of the 
best portions of the county. The National pike runs through this township 
from east to west, with villages, named Washington and Elizabethtown, upon 
its course, hence it has not been altogether unobserved and for the last four 
score and more years has been the passage way of thousands going over the 
"Pike" headed for the "far, illimitable, ever-changing West." There are 
numerous streams coursing through its domain, affording an abundance of 
pure water. It is of such shape that it is bounded by six townships. Of the 
schools, churches, etc., the general chapters of this work will go into detail. 

At an accounting in 1876, there were the following persons aged seventy- 
six years and over residing within Wills township. The list includes many 
of the more prominent early settlers : William Campbell, Mrs. W. Campbell, 
Lemon Ferguson, Mrs. L. Ferguson, P. Blazer, William Englehart, Mrs. W. 
Englehart, George Chance and wife, Thomas Boyd and wife, William Rich- 
ards and wife, William Garey, Robert Weaver, Edward Hall and wife, Rob- 
ert Perry, Moses Frame and wife, John McCurdy, James Gattrell. Mrs. James 
Gattrell, John La Rue. Elijah Lowry, Joseph Williams, Mrs. W. D. Frame. 
William McElhaney, and wife, William Norris and wife, Mrs. I. Parlett, 
William McElhaney and wife. William Norris and wife, Mrs. I. Parlett, 
Mrs. L. Waddel, Mrs. Clary. Mrs. Miller, Mrs. Forsvthe. John Webster, John 
Doyle, Matthew Doyle, Mrs. J. La Rue, Mrs. Jenkins, Mrs. Flemming, Mrs. 
Arch Shipley, Mrs. Totten, Mrs. Anderson, Mrs. Ransom, Mrs. John Craig, 
Mrs. J. Dorsey, John Kendall, Christopher Sutton, C. McDowell, Albert 
Vorhes, Thomas Stillions and wife, Lewis Ransom, Joseph King, Roland 
Swan, I. Montgomery, Mrs. Denoon, Mrs. McBurney, Robert Dunn, Jacob 
Heiner, G. Hixenbaugh and wife, Mrs. E. Carlisle, Mrs. Connor, Mrs. Jor- 
don, Mrs. Barton, Mrs. Williams. Mrs. Moss, John Bonnell. Mrs. A. Vorhes, 
Hezekiah Clements, Mrs. Harkness, George Razor, M. Bumgardner. Mrs. 
Donahoo. 



34 2 GUERNSEY COUNTY, OHIO. 

WOOLEN FACTORY. 

Bigger and McLeran, 

Respectfully inform the people of Guernsey and adjoining counties, that their 
machinery is now in full operation — that they are prepared to manufacture, 
either on shares, or for pay by the yard, the following kinds of goods : 

Cloths, Cassimeres, Cassinetts, 

Tweeds, Jeans, Flannels, Blankets, 

Lindseys, etc., etc. 

of any color, stripe or mixture, that may be desired by customers. Those 

who wish their wool carded and spun only, can have it done for fifteen cents 

per pound, and ic per pound for reeling. 

WOOL CARDING 

will also be done by them, in the best manner, at 4c per pound, for all grades 
below half-blood merino or Saxony, for the higher grades 5c will be charged. 

Their carding machines are in excellent order, those therefore, who favor 
them with their custom in this line, may confidently expect good rolls, pro- 
vided their wool is well cleansed from gum and other filth. 

Cloth Dressing, attended to as usual. 

Wool, and other approved country produce will be taken in payment in 
either of the above branches of business, or in exchange for goods of their 
manufacture. 

Washington, May 8, 1846. 

— From the Guernsey Times, July 24, 1846. 



Matthew Doyle was a native of Ireland, born in 1765, and emigrated to 
Pennsylvania in 1790. He married and left Pennsylvania in 1814, moving 
to Wills township, this county, and there entered a quarter section of land. 
He lived on this land until his death, in 1835. His wife died in 1847. 

John Frame and wife, both born in 1772, settled in Wills township in 
1810, thus being among the first pioneers. He was born in Pennsylvania and 
his wife in Ireland. When they arrived in Wills township they found a deso- 
late region, but lived to see a goodly settlement spring up around them. He 
died in 1863, she having passed from earth's shining circle in 1848. They 
had seven children. 



GUERNSEY COUNTYj OHIO. 343 

George Cook was born in Ireland in 1778, came to Pennsylvania and 
married there when a young man. After a few years there they moved to 
Ohio, settling in Wills township, this enmity, where he died in 1836 and she 
in [867. They reared nine children. 

Elijah Lowry was a native of Maryland, horn in [802, came to Ohio 
when a young man with his parents and settled in Richland township, Guern- 
sey county. He married Mary Kichey. who was horn in 1810. and soon after 
their marriage they moved to Wills township, where Mrs. Lowry died in 1868. 
They had five children. 

Col. William Cochran was horn in Hickory, Pennsylvania, in 1793, and 
in 1707 the family moved to their new home in Wills township, this county. 
There the son William lived until married and in 1818 moved to a place two 
miles south of Middlehourne. In 1863 he moved to that hamlet. He died in 
1878, having been twice married. 

John La Rue, a native of Loudoun county, Virginia, born in i ; 8oi, ac- 
companied his parents to Richland township, Guernsey county, in 1808 and 
there the parents spent the remainder of their days. John married Rebecca 
Ballard, born in Guernsey county in 181 r, and they selected a home in Wills 
township, where he died in 1877. They reared ten out of the twelve children 
born to them. 

Thomas Law was born in Wheeling, West Virginia. January 18. 1793. 
and, with bis parents, came to Wayne township, Noble county, Ohio. His 
marriage took place in 1822. He died on a farm near his father's in 1834. 
after which Mrs. Law moved to Wills township. Thev had six children, five 
of whom grew to maturity. 

William D. Frame, born in 1790, married Susanna Frame and they 
settled on a farm in this township, where he died in 1872. 

Rev. John Rea, D. D., was born in Ireland in 1773, went to Westmore- 
land county, Pennsylvania, where he married and in 1794 settled in what is 
now Harrison county, Ohio, where he died in 1856, his wife passing away a 
year prior. They had ten children, including a son Francis, born in 1808. 
who graduated from Miami College and practiced medicine. He settled in 
the village of Washington, Wills township, and reared a family. 

John Baird. a native of Pennsylvania, born in 1789. remained with his 
parents after their removal to Wills township, this county. In 1815 he mar- 
ried Jane Frame and settled on a farm in W ills township, upon which they re- 
sided sixty years. He died in 1875 and she in 1874. They were blessed by 
twelve children. This family were devoted United Presbyterians in their 
religious faith. 



344 GUERNSEY COUNTY, OHIO. 

William Beveard, born in Ireland in 1756, came to Maryland, married, 
and in 18 10 settled in Oxford township, this county. They had a son William 
in Wills township, with whom they spent their last days. Both died in 1856. 

James L. Smith born in Fayette county, Pennsylvania, in 1807, married 
and settled in Cambridge, this county. He drove stage from Cambridge to 
Washington seven years, then returned to his native state. In 1846 he began 
to keep hotel at Washington, Guernsey county, and kept it more than a 
quarter of a century. 

Archibald Wilkin, born in 1823, was left an orphan at an early age, re- 
mained in Pennsylvania until 1842, when he settled in Wills township, married 
Mercy Miller and located on a farm. They reared a good sized family. 

John Cunningham, a native of Guernsey county, born in 1814, married 
Martha Todd in 1841 when she was but sixteen years of age. They located 
in Wills township, where he died in 1872. They reared a family of ten in- 
telligent, useful children. 

Richard J. Clark, born in Maryland in 18 18, accompanied his parents to 
Cambridge in 1826. There he married Anna M. Beymer in 1843 and they 
moved to Washington, Wills township, where he embarked in the merchandis- 
ing business. They reared five children. 

TOWNS AND VILLAGES OF THE TOWNSHIP. 

Within Wills township there are the following business points : Wash- 
ington, an incorporated town, and Elizabethtown. 

Elizabethtown, on the National pike, platted by Jacob Weller on March 7, 
1832. This never grew to be a place of much note and is a mere hamlet to- 
day, with a few scattering houses. 

Washington is the place around which clusters many a fond memory of 
historic days along the pike, when it was the great thoroughfare for travelers 
going westward. It was platted by George and Henry Beymer, September 
28, 1805, at a time when this county was yet a part of old Muskingum county, 
and a year before Cambridge was platted. It is the second town plat in 
Guernsey county. It is near the west line of the township and twelve miles 
from Cambridge. It was started for the purpose of making it the county- 
seat town and a good fight was put up by its proprietors to secure the prize. 

This is an incorporated place and has a city hall on Main street. While 
there is no regular organized fire department, the village is comparatively 
secure from fires by the protection afforded by the hand pumping apparatus 
and the villagers' volunteer company. The place is nicely illuminated by 



CTERXSKY COIXTY, () 



345 



means of natural gas, piped in from a gas well about a mile and a half out, 
located on the farms of H. C. Beetner and J. J. Griffith. This company is 
styled the Central Guernsey Company, all the stockholders being residents of 
Washington township and vicinity. The gas well has been in operation since 
the spring of 19 10 and the gas is soon to be piped to Lore City. 

The present officers of the municipality are: L. L. Young, mayor; I). 
A. Watson, clerk; John H. Taylor, treasurer; Jess Lunsford, marshal. 

The present population of Washington is carefully estimated at four 
hundred and fifty. There has been a postoffice here from an early date and 
it is now located in the store of John H. Taylor, the present postmaster. No 
rural routes are as yet established from Washington. Mail comes by stage, 
daily. The postmasters have included the following: Mrs. Harriet McKis- 
son, D. E. Patterson, .Mrs. Mary A. Craig. J. F. St. Clair, W. O. Moore and 
John H. Taylor. 

The religious element is not wanting here. There are three churches, 
the Methodist, Presbyterian and United Presbyterian. 

The general business of the place may be summed up in October. 19 10. 
as being in the hands of the following persons: Dr. J. M. Thompson, prac- 
ticing physician; the Washington Roller Mills (steam) ; a planing mill, with 
cider works attached in season, also feed grinding, all operated by L. L. 
Young; agricultural implements, R. M. Laughman ; general stores, by John 
H. Taylor, R. C. McCrearen and C. C. Law; hardware, R. S. Frame; shoe 
store, S. B. Lawrence ; drugs, J. A. Warfield ; grocery, D. E. Patterson ; hotels, 
Washington House, by R. M. Laughman; millinery, Miss Mattie Crawford; 
meat market, W. J. Chapman. 

An account of Washington in early times was written in a collection of 
historic sketches by a local writer in 1882 which reads as follows and throws 
much light on the pioneer village of this county : 

"The pike runs through the village from east to west and the structures 
on either hand are the most ordinary, rude cabins, the only notable exceptions 
being the residences of the Lawrences and Doctor Rea, which loom up in 
strange contrast with their surroundings. The residence of the late William 
Lawrence is beyond question greatly superior to any ever constructed in this 
county. In the rear of Mr. Lawrence's mansion and a few rods to the left is 
the neat little cemetery where the early fathers of the hamlet sleep. On the 
pike, some four hundred rods east of town, are the county fair grounds 
In the village are two large dry goods stores kept by ladies, a large and 
handsome shoe store known as Lawrence's, a first-class implement house and 
hardware store, of which Roland S. Frame is proprietor, several hotels and 



346 GUERNSEY COUNTY, OHIO. 

churches, and the usual number of business places of various kinds which are 
found in a town of this size. There are, however, no industrial establish- 
ments. 

******* 

The town was originally named Beymerstown, and its founder changed 
its name when the town was incorporated. It is in the center of the county. 
On the present site of the Ark stood a tavern, which was kept first by Mr. 
Frazey, then by John Murphy, Mrs. McCreary and her son James, and after- 
wards by E. D. Withers. This property was then sold, the east lot to Joshua 
Martin and the west lot to John Lawrence. Martin demolished the old rickety 
buildings standing on the lot he bought, erecting in their stead a large brick 
building, now known as the "Ark." Mr. Lawrence used the old tavern build- 
ing for various purposes for some years, and sold the premises to the Old- 
School Presbyterians, and they erected a fine church thereon. Just west of 
the old tavern was the tan-yard of Jacob Saltsgaver. On a portion of this 
tan-yard now stands the mansion of Doctor Rea, who settled in the place in 
1852. Andrew McCleary, a carpenter, came early and lived in a two-story 
hewed log house, which stood where James McDowell's shop later stood. 
He was sexton of the old Associate Reform church for many years. West 
of McCleary's was the old tavern square, and on the east corner a blacksmith's 
shop, occupied by William Haines. Next to his shop was a great gate for 
wagons to drive through to the back of the yard. On the lot west of this 
stood the old tavern, the first part of which was erected by Henry Beymer. in 
early times. It was later kept by John A. Roe, and during his administra- 
tion an animal show tent was spread in the rear of the tavern. Afterwards 
the tavern was run by John and David Miskimmons, and then Frazey took it. 

At the east end of the town is what is known as Robb's addition, on 
which lived David Robb. He moved to Zanesville, and his landed estate on 
the south side of the National road was then sold to John Barton, and all on 
the north side to Alexander Frew and son-in-law, William Anderson. Mr. 
Withrow was a blacksmith who came to the place in 1842 and after about 
twenty years his wife and eldest daughter were instantly killed by lightning. 
William Englehart came here before 1812 and is still (1882) here, aged ninety 
years. He is the oldest person in the village, and is a Presbyterian in re- 
ligion, a Democrat in politics and by trade a carpenter. At first, he was a 
clerk in the only dry goods store here, kept by Thomas Hanna. 'Squire Peter 
Omstot. the owner and occupant of the two lots west of Mr. Barton, was an 
honest Dutchman, who was almost the first justice of the peace and post- 
master here, and held both offices for thirty years. Fie used to make wooden 



GUERNSEY COUNTY, OHIO. 347 

plows. His office was located about where the "Ark" was later built. 'Squire 
Omstot caused the expulsion of the famous "Leatherwood God" from this 
county. He closed his earthly career at his favorite amusement. The old 
gentleman had just finished singing "Auld Lang Syne." accompanied by R. J. 
Clark on the clarionet, in the store of the late John Craig, when he took off 
his spectacles, put them in his pocket, and, turning to go, fell dead on the floor. 

FRANKFORT. 

There was, however, an older village than all of these named and one 
that had the distinction of being the pioneer place of Guernsey. This was 
known as Frankfort. This plat was made in 1804, when this was still Guern- 
sey county. It was located on lands later owned by John Doyle. It had 
been the property of the McNutts and the Moores. The town was laid out 
by Joseph Smith, and grew until it had a population of about two hundred 
souls. It had two stores, a mill and a distillery. At that date there were 
but about thirty families in this county. When Washington, Cambridge and 
the National road were established. Frankfort began to decline and finally was 
abandoned. The last old tavern was torn down about 1867 and in the founda- 
tion stones were found several gold sovereigns of the time of Queen Anne. 

VILLAGE OF DERWENT. 

Derwent postoffice, which was established about 1898, is a fourth-class 
office, and was first kept in the railroad depot. The only two having served 
as postmasters are, first, M. L. Spaid and the present postmaster, J. L. Davis. 
An attempt was made in 1909 to rob this office, but the thieves failed to se- 
cure anything of value. Four mails go and come from Derwent daily now. 

Derwent was platted on a part of section 4, township 8, range 9, by 
Eliza Dickefson, August 10, 1898. 

The Imperial coal mine has been in operation since about 1892, but it 
is supposed that the coal supply at that particular place will hold out but about 
two vears longer. The Puritan mine, farther down, has been running two 
years and, being comparatively new, will doubtless last many years yet. 

There is but one church at Derwent. the Methodist Episcopal. The 
business of the village is carried on by the following persons: A planing mill 
by C. J. Spaid; two general stores, Secrest & Turner and C. J. Spaid; a 
grocery and lunch-room, by J. L. Davis; stock dealer. Justice Laughlin. 

About the time of the Civil war there were large amounts of tobacco 
produced in this township. It was cured and many tons of it shipped to 



348 GUERNSEY COUNTY, OHIO. 

Baltimore and other cities, but of late years but little is raised. It was hard 
on the soil and was not considered as profitable as in the sixties and seventies, 
hence was abandoned as a farm crop, save in few instances where it is still 
cultivated for smoking tobacco. 

The township was also famous for its sheep at one date. As high as 
twenty-five thousand were kept in 1880, but now not more than fifteen hun- 
dred can be found in the township. 



CHAPTER XXXVII. 



vai.i.kv row xsiiir. 



Valley township is on the southern line of the county and contains about 
twenty-one sections of land. It is of an L shape and is the territory where 
rise the first waters of Wills creek. The territory is traversed from north- 
east to southwest by the Cumberland branch of the Baltimore & Ohio rail- 
road. This township was organized by the board of county commissioners, 
March 25, 181 5. Not being among the original townships, it comprises ter- 
ritory formerly embraced within other subdivisions of Guernsey county. It 
is within a rich mineral country and today the chief wealth comes from the 
coal mining and kindred industries. There are numerous small towns and 
hamlets, all of which are mentioned in detail in this chapter. Some of the 
first settlements in the county were effected by the pioneers who came in 
from various eastern states at a very early day and endured the hardships 
coincident with early settlement life. Their sons and daughters are now old 
men and women and their grandchildren by no means in the days of their 
youth, and these are now reaping the reward for the toils and sacrifices made 
by earlier generations. 

Among the first to come to the limits of this township may be named 
Peter D. Robins, son of John and Mary Robins, who were natives of the 
isle of Guernsey, France. The father came to this country in 1807, lived in 
Wheeling for a time, then moved to Coshocton, Ohio, where he engaged in 
salt making. He settled in Valley township in 1810. 

William Spaid was born in Hampshire county. Virginia, and emigrated 
to this county in 1819, with his parents, George and Margaret (Cail) Spaid. 

John Heaume, son of Peter Heaume, was of French descent; his father 
was born in the beautiful isle of Guernsey in 1788 and came to Ohio in 1832, 
first settling in Muskingum and then Stark county, Ohio. In 1850 he re- 
moved to Guernsey county and died there in Valley township in 1865. 

Stephen Secrest, son of Nathan Secrest, a native of Virginia, was among 
the number who helped to develop Valley township. His parents had ten 
children. The father was born in 1807 and died in 1850. 

Others whose names should not be left out of a record of pioneers were, 



350 GUERNSEY COUNTY, OHIO. 

Andrew C. Lawrence, George Salliday, Noah Turner, Christena Dyson. 
Ezekiel A. Robbins, John Robbins, Henry Trenner and many more whose 
names are not now familiar to the present day people of the county. 

The churches and schools are mentioned in detail under their respective 
headings in the general chapters of this work. 

There are three towns within this township, Pleasant City, Hartford 
(Buffalo) and Denvent, the history of which is here appended. 

PLEASANT CITY. 

Pleasant City (originally known as Point Pleasant) was platted in 1829 
by Benjamin Wilson. It has come to be a fine business point and its early 
history and founding by a pioneer band is best given in an authentic article 
published in way of a Christmas souvenir in 1904, by Abe T. Secrest, who 
spent some time in acquiring the facts. It reads as follows : 

"The early history of Pleasant City, like the early history of America, is 
involved in obscurity. Save for a few fragmentary sketches, its history has 
never been written. Nor does this purport to be a history even though digni- 
fied by that title; it is only a reminiscent brief helped out by a few traditions 
and legends handed down orally from father to son from that pioneer day 
when 'the rank thistle nodded in the wind and the wild fox dug his hole un- 
scared.' 

"But this very obscurity that shrouds the histories of ancient peoples 
and gives them heroes and demi-gods has given us full liberty to draw on our 
imaginations and, if we must forego the demi-gods, we can at least have our 
heroes and endow them with virtues and fortitude all but fabulous. 

"It would be a mere guess to say what family actually settled here first. 
But from land patents and other legal documents we can reconstruct the local 
neighborhood as it existed about 1820, for few families were then here that 
are not represented in the community now. 

"As nearly as can be ascertained the Jackson family, living just south of 
town (though now in Noble county), and the James Albin family, who lived 
just north of town, were the pioneers of this place. These soon had for 
neighbors the following families : Robins, Fishel, Clark, Frye, Cale, Trenner, 
John Secrest, Henry Secrest, William Spaid, Michael Spaid and Joseph 
Dyson, the latter owning the land on which this prosperous town is now lo- 
cated. Nearly all the above families were related by the ties of consanguinity 
even before they emigrated from Virginia, e. g., Henry Secrest's wife was a 
Spaid and the wives of Fishel, Trenner and William Spaid were Secrest 
women. 



GUERNSEY COUNTY, OHIO. 35 1 

"Those were strenuous times and though everyone bore a part in sub- 
duing the wilderness, life with them was not all colorless. They had their 
recreations, their pleasures and though the amusements of to-day were en- 
tirely unknown to them, who will say that this system of relaxation was not 
as good and their pleasures as genuine as any devised or enjoyed by then- 
descendants? House and barn raisings were neighborhood events to which 
invitations were general and good cheer particular. On these occasions, after 
the serious work was done, the old folks passed along the latest word from 
'back yonder in Virginia' and the young people either engaged in feats of 
strength and skill, like wrestling, shooting at a mark, etc.. or entered into the 
more serious business of courting. Usually these country-side gatherings 
afforded the triple purpose of work, pleasure and love making. Needless to 
add that the phantom of race suicide that now proves so disquieting to our 
beloved President, was unheard of then, for nearly every family was composed 
of from ten to fifteen members. 

"One of the first cares of the pioneers was to provide schools for the 
education of their children. The first cabin devoted to that purpose in this 
immediate locality was located near the Hopewell cemetery about one mile 
north of town. Later a cabin school house was built at the forks of the road 
where Mrs. Lucinda Spaid now lives and here two or three generations of 
our forbears had knowledge imparted by use of the master's ferule — the most 
approved method of imparting knowledge at that ancient time. 

"As nearly as we can determine at present, the first lots were surveyed 
along Main street (which was only a county road straightened and widened) 
about 1830. The lots were made four rods wide by ten rods deep and the 
numbering was begun where Fred W. Shafer now lives, his lot being num- 
ber one. For many years lots were very cheap, there being little demand for 
them, and no public works to draw citizens to the little berg. 

"Squire Dyson who was the first storekeeper, postmaster, justice of the 
peace, etc., named the village Point Pleasant, presumably, because of the 
abrupt way his hill (now Jackson's hill) obtruded its shoulder into the valley 
and he doubtless thought it a pleasant community to live in. and despite a 
few drawbacks, quite a number of people will agree with him even now. 

"As was before stated. Squire Joseph Dyson was the first merchant in 
town, his store being on the lot in the rear of the house lately occupied by his 
daughter-in-law, Christena Dyson. The building faced the mill and his 
goods were brought overland from Baltimore, Maryland. Squire Dyson died 
about 1840, but the business was continued by his oldest son Thomas, who 
soon after erected the store room now occupied by Flanagan's and the Balti- 



35^ GUERNSEY COUNTY, OHIO. 

more & Ohio railroad having been built it was necessary to haul goods from 
Cambridge only. 

"One of the early industries of the village was a tan yard, located on the 
square now occupied by Mrs. J. O. Ryan and the Secrest opera house block. 
The nearby oak forests furnished bark in abundance for tanning, and raw 
hides were skillfully and quickly converted into leather of the most approved 
sort. 

"Possibly the first industry of Pleasant City and certainly the one most 
appreciated by the pioneers was an old-fashioned mill run by water power. 
Here their grain was ground on the old mill stones and the convenience of 
having a mill so near home was fully appreciated by the farmers. At an 
early date an arrangement was made whereby the mill enjoyed dual power — 
steam and water — so that in summer when the creek run low steam power was 
substituted for water and the wheels run on their ceaseless grind. About this 
time a woolen mill was erected alongside the flour mill and this new enter- 
prise proved almost invaluable to the town. People came for miles and miles, 
bringing their wool to be spun into yarn or woven into cloth or blankets. As 
a matter of course this cloth and these blankets were like all other home-made 
articles — twice as good as any made elsewhere. 

"About fifty years ago Harrison Secrest came to make his home in Point 
Pleasant and up to date the village cannot boast of a more energetic or enter- 
prising citizen. He was ever a builder. He burned a brick kiln and built 
the only brick building the village could boast till the bank building was erected 
this season. He built the first frame school house the village could boast on 
the site now occupied by the Masonic hall. An over-conservative building 
committee decided on a one-room house, but Secrest could not see it that way 
and erected a two-story building, defraying the extra cost himself. Though 
over-crowded much of the time, these two rooms proved adequate for school 
until the present structure was erected in the autumn of 1891. Some of the 
most notable teachers of this regime were the following : M. L. Spaid, John 
Wesley Spaid, Alfred Weedon and J. B. Garber. Of the teachers at the old 
log school house the names heard oftenest are Preacher Gilbreath, John 
Robins, Joseph Dyson, William Secrest, Wash, Bird and William Hawkins. 
Wash Glass was more or less successful in teaching three distinct generations 
to sing buckwheat-notes and all. 

"The spiritual wants of this pioneer people were looked after by the old 
time circuit rider. The greatest of all these both in the magnitude of his 
work and the far-reaching influence of his life, was the late Rev. William Keil, 
a minister of the Lutheran persuasion who came into this section from Vir- 



GUERNSEY COUNTY, OHIO. 353 

ginia about 1830, possibly a little earlier. His parish was all of southeastern 
Ohio and now constitutes six or eight counties. A great number of congre- 
gations were organized by him. In this village the oldest society in point of 
organization was the Methodist Episcopal and Mrs. Samuel Jackson is, if 
we mistake not, the only charter member living. From the first the Luther- 
ans here were numerous, but all held their membership either at Mt. Zion or 
Hartford, but later a society of that faith was formed here and for many 
years the two societies worshipped in the one building which was later known 
as the Methodist Episcopal church. Finally the inevitable happened and after 
a big "church row" the Lutherans erected their own church and dedicated it 
to St. Paul the Apostle. 

"No preacher of either denomination, however, exerted influence to com- 
pare with Father Kiel, who died only a few years ago at the great age of 
ninety-three years. 

"In this connection it might not be amiss to say a few words on the war 
of the Rebellion. The Robins family were from the isle of Guernsey, having 
come to America in 1807. The Jackson and Thompson families were from 
Pennsylvania, but without exception, I think every other family in the town- 
ship came from Virginia. Up to the time the war broke out almost every 
year witnessed some of the pioneers going to visit their relatives "back yonder 
in the Shenandoah valley." That the settlement desired the preservation of 
the Union goes without saying, but that they were reluctant to fight their 
Virginia cousins is also plain. Thus there were few volunteers from Valley 
township, and N. H. Larrick, one of the few, fought against a cousin at the 
battle of Winchester. 

"After the close of the war life soon resumed its humdrum existence. 
The first indication of real progress was the building of the Marietta division 
of the Pennsylvania railroad. This afforded shipping facilities for the farm- 
ers to send out their crops and the merchants to have their merchandise ship- 
ped to their very doors. 

"But all things change. The pioneers almost without exception have 
gone to their reward. Mrs. Katie Secrest Dickerson, of Derwent, well along 
in her ninetieth year. Grandma Savely. almost eighty-six, and the venerable 
Michael Secrest, now eighty-three years old. are all that truly can be con- 
sidered members of that pioneer band. M. S. Dyson and his sister. Lucy 
Dyson Flanagan, are the oldest resident natives of Pleasant City. The oldest 
house by the way has been overhauled and is now occupied by George Stewart. 
This was the old Squire Dyson homestead. The second house erected is the 
Markley property, now occupied by B. F. Richey, the silversmith. The Jack- 
(23) 



354 GUERNSEY COUNTY, OHIO. 

son homestead was torn down a few years ago to make way for Doctor Kack- 
ley's new house. The old building on the corner lately occupied by Christena 
Dyson is the fourth in point of years. 

"In 1892 work was begun on the Cisco mine, this being the first effort 
toward the cultivation of our great coal fields. This date can rightly be con- 
sidered the close of the middle ages of Pleasant City. Change in the economic 
conditions wrought great change in the social and business outlook. The 
town shook off the lethargic condition in which it had lain for a full half cen- 
tury. The town was truly taken by the strangers and the original settlers 
now form but a scanty handful. 

"The coal fields here are bound to last many years. The glass factory 
will doubtless prove an ultimate success. And with the natural advantage 
afforded by cheap fuel and adequate shipping facilities the old Point Pleasant 
of the pioneers day is bound to advance beyond the fondest dreams of my 
energetic and optimistic grandfather, Harrison Secrest. 

"Abe T. Secrest, 
"Bleak House, December 21, 1904." 

business factors of 1910. 

Tn the years to come, no doubt the following business directory of this 
town will be of more interest than at present, but the record must needs be 
made now that future men and women may have the pleasure and profit of 
reading it. In the autumn of 19 10 the following conducted the business of 
Pleasant City: 

Banking, The Peoples Bank; hardware firms, Larrick Hardware Com- 
pany and T. A. Spade ; furniture dealers, John Langley and E. C. Heade & 
Company, who also carried on the undertaking business ; drugs, J. A. Kackley ; 
grocers, F. C. Shively, A. F. Lady. John Burt. J. T. Flanigan : dry goods, E. 
L. Grossman, M. Williams, R. O. Knott ; general merchandise dealers, H. T. 
Condon, W. H. Secrest: flour and feed, in all branches, O. F. Young, estab- 
lished in 1908, does both a wholesale and retail business; merchant tailor, 
F. A. Meecham ; photographer, A. L. Norman ; jewelers, Adam Davis, W. T. 
Knott; shoemakers, Lewis Weaver and L. B. Archer; hotel. J. W. Kackley; 
restaurants, Will Reese. Charles Dotts; livery. Harold Scott and J. W. Kack- 
lev; live stock shipper. J. Laughlin; blacksmiths, John Boswell, J. "W Johnson; 
wagonmaker, "W. F. Cochran; newspaper, the Recorder; opera hall, J. M. 
Secrest; harness dealer, J. A. Prior; physicians, Drs. J. A. Kackley, H. H. 
Bown, W. F. YYallenfelze: dentist, C. J. Fachner. D. D. S. ; mills, the Pleas- 



GUERNSEY COUNTY, OHIO. 355 

ant City Flouring Mills, R. J. Johnson, proprietor, with other smaller inter- 
ests. 

The civic orders here represented are the Masons, Odd Fellows and 
Knights of Pythias, mentioned in the general chapters of this work. 

The churches having existence here now and having edifices are the fol- 
lowing: Methodist Episcopal, Evangelical Lutheran and Greek Catholic. 
The last named is one of three of this denomination in Ohio. 

The present flouring mill plant is a roller process mill erected in 1886 
and has a daily capacity of forty barrels of dour. The Pleasant City Cornet 
Band is the pride of the place and has fifteen members. 

MUNICIPAL HISTORY. 

Pleasant City was incorporated in 1896. Its present officers are: Mr. 
Shivery, mayor: O. R. Taylor, clerk; J. S. Secrest, marshal; H. PL Bound, 
W. F. Bierley. R. O. Hipslev, Ed. Archer and George House, councilmen. 

A volunteer fire department is well organized and aided by an engine 
of the gasoline type. The village is lighted by natural gas. The municipal 
officers have their office in a rented room. 

Of the postoffice, it may be said that there are now three rural routes 
extending out from the place, and these are of much convenience and public 
service. The postmasters who have served here include the following per- 
sons : J. B. Allison, T. A. Dyson, Mrs. S. M. Lee Dyson, A. C. Flanagan, 
James Laughlin, A. C. Flanagan, Adam Davis, Mrs. Allie Sims. J. P. Strana- 
than, W. D. Archer. 

The office was originally known as Dyson, but changed in 1887 by J. P. 
Stranathan, when he was made postmaster, serving until July, 1909. Then 
it should be remembered that what was called Point Pleasant vicinity and 
Dyson postoffice is now known as Pleasant City, and is so incorporated. 

Fairview is an addition to Pleasant City, yet not within the incorporation. 
It is a sightly tract of land on the opposite side of the railway track from the 
town proper and is largely residence property, with a few business houses. 

About 1902 there was a glass works plant installed in Pleasant City, in 
which a Cincinnati firm manufactured telephone and telegraph insulators in 
vast quantities, but finally the business was closed down and recently some 
Pittsburg steel makers have leased the buildings, which are the property of 
citizens of the town, and are there conducting a series of experiments in a 
new process of producing steel, which bids fair to open up another great in- 
dustry here as well as elsewhere. 



356 guernsey county, ohio, 

buffalo (old hartford). 

Hartford was platted September 26, 1836, by David Johnston and John 
Secrest. on the southeast quarter of section 4, township 8, range 9, in Buffalo 
township, as then described. "When the postoffice was established the name 
was fixed by the government authorities as Buffalo. The postoffice is now 
kept in the general store of A. E. Wycoff, the present postmaster. The first 
mails through this office were received over the old stage line, which was then 
the only means of carrying the mails. The present receipts of this postoffice 
amount to six hundred and seventy-three dollars per year. Two mails go 
and come daily from this point. The following have served as postmasters 
since about 1880: J. T. Corbett, T. M. Mills, Thomas Moss and A. E. 
Wycoff. 

This place is not among the incorporated places in the county, but is 
under charge of the township authorities. 

The old Hartford mills, at this place, were erected about one hundred 
years ago and were great in their day. These flouring mills were propelled 
by water power, but have not been operated for about thirty years when the 
new patent process and the milling trusts took the business away from the 
old fashioned "mill-stone" mills of the country. The upper portion of this 
old mill is now fitted up and used as a public hall and opera house. 

The largest fire in Buffalo, in recent years, occurred in September, 
1909, when three barns, three horses and a large amount of hay were con- 
sumed, making a loss of about three thousand five hundred dollars. 

About July, 1906, the postoffice was entered, and sixteen dollars taken 
from the place ; no one was ever arrested for the crime. 

The commercial and social interests of Buffalo (Hartford) are 
as follows today: Physician, Dr. J. E. Robbins; flouring mill, McLauglin 
Brothers; the Hartford coal mine, operated by the Cambridge Colliery 
Company ; agricultural implements. John Steele ; general stores, Hazzard 
& Williams, C. J. Spaid, E. J. Blair, T. M. Wills, A. E. Wycoff; livery, 
"Buck" Scott; stock dealers, Alpine & McLaughlin; meat market, Ed. Mc- 
Laughlin ; hotels, the American and Park. Drugs are dispensed by the phy- 
sician of the town. There are two churches, Lutheran and Methodist. (See 
chapter on churches.) Buffalo is illuminated by natural gas piped from West 
Virginia, by the Ohio Light and Fuel Company. 



CHAPTER XXXVIII. 

MISCELLANEOUS EVENTS OF INTEREST. 

In the compiling of any work having under consideration so many topics 
and subjects it becomes necessary to place them in chapters and sub-chapters. 
After all this has been accomplished, there are many items which are still 
not provided for, hence the propriety of having a chapter of miscellaneous 
items, which, nevertheless, are of fully as much vital interest and usually 
more interesting than some of the regular chapters of a book. Such is the 
case in the chapter now before the reader's eyes. In it will be found a col- 
lection of references, many quotations from old settlers and old newspaper 
files, etc., which can not fail to be of much value and interest to all readers. 
Such items are properly indexed and readily found. 

UNIQUE ADVERTISEMENTS. 

The Cambridge newspaper files have had in the many years of their pub- 
lication numerous local advertisements which are out of the ordinary and 
strike one, today, as being odd and interesting, both for the historic matter 
and the peculiar manner of expression employed in the long-ago day in 
which the printer set them up. Below are samples of such unique notices: 

"$50 reward! ! ! 

"Ran away from the Subscriber on Sunday night, the 7th instant, from 
Mr. Sunnafrank's. near Cambridge, a negro man named Emanuel, about 
forty-five years of age, five feet three inches high, of a very dark complexion, 
his lips very thick, long head, a small scar on his forehead, large white eyes, 
is apt to roll up his eyes when spoken to, his beard mixed with grey hairs. 
Had on, when he ran off, a blue cloth coat, blue jean pantaloons, and a black 
fur hat. He is very homely and very humble — took with him a large 
wallet of clothes — the wallet made of a blanket. The above Reward will be 
given for him if apprehended, and secured in jail so that I get him again. I 
shall stop near Somerset, Perry County, Ohio. 

"November 8th, 1831. Garrott Freeman." 



358 GUERNSEY COUNTY, OHIO. 

A SLAVE CASE. 

"Among the passengers who arrived at this place from Bel-Aire by the 
morning train of last Friday { the train which met with disaster near this 
place) was a Air. F. M. Graham, of Fleming county, Kentucky, on his way 
home from Richmond, Virginia, having in his charge two slave boys, named 
Lewelman and Enoch, aged respectively ten and eleven years. While at 
the station waiting for a train to take the party west, it became known that 
the boys were slaves, and thereupon one of our citizens applied to Probate 
Judge Delong for a writ of habeas corpus, to the end that the boys should be 
set free. The writ was issued, and the lads were immediately taken into cus- 
tody by Sheriff Burris, and brought before his Honour. At this stage of the 
proceeding, Air. Graham asked for a postponement of the hearing of the case, 
on the ground that he was not the owner of the boys and unprepared to go 
into the examination then. He made affidavit to these facts, and the Judge 
postponed further proceeding until Thursday, the 21st instant. The Sheriff 
has the boys in his custody. 

"Mr. Graham stated that the lads were placed in his care by Mr. N. 
M. Lee, of Richmond, Virginia, to be taken to Flemmingsburg, Kentucky, 
where said Lee has a brother residing, and that he was instructed to go by 
the river from Wheeling to Maysville. but in consequence of the close of navi- 
gation, he concluded to take the Central railroad. 

"Messrs. Buchanan, Bushfield and Ferguson are counsel for the appli- 
cation for freedom of the boys, and Messrs. White and Wagstaff for the 
claimant." — Guernsey Times, December 28, 1854. 

At a hearing of the case on December 21, 1854. the boys were set free, 
and D. M. Baldridge, of Senecaville, was appointed their guardian, and im- 
mediately took them in charge. 

THE "UNDERGROUND RAILROAD." 

Not many years ago there was in the hands of Mrs. John R. Finley, of 
Senecaville, a very old, interesting document showing much on the subject 
of abolition days and the establishing of a section of the "Underground 
Railroad," as the course over which the run-away slaves were spirited away 
by members of the Abolition party was called. It was found among the 
papers of the late William Thompson. The instrument last seen was time 
worn and stained, having been handled by the curious for several decades. 
Its first page contained the following : 

i 



GUERNSEY COUNTY. OHIO. 359 

"Records of the Senecaville Colonization Society of Guernsey County, 
Ohio, auxiliary to the American Colonization Society of Washington. 

"Pursuant to public notice a number of the citizens of Senecaville and 
its vicinity convened at the Presbyterian meeting-house in Senecaville July 
6, 1829. 

"The meeting was organized and chose Rev. William C. Kiel president 
for the time being and Rev. Daniel Pettay, secretary, with David Frame, 
treasurer. 

"It was resolved at this meeting: 

"That there be a committee of three members to draft rules for the 
government of the society. William Thompson, Esq.. David Satterthwaite. 
Esq., and Dr. David Frame were duly appointed. 

"Resolved that the chairman deliver an address at the next meeting. 
(Signed) "Daniel Pettay. Secretary. 

"William G. Kiel, President." 

Out of this Colonization Society grew the organization known as the 
"Underground Railroad." by which the Abolitionists helped many of the 
slaves to liberty. The home of Doctor Baldridge was a depot on this line, 
and many a slave found lodgement and comfort there while on his way to 
freedom in Canada. Among the most prominent Abolitionists of this local- 
itv (Senecaville) during the thirty years following were Rev. William C. 
Kiel, who left Virginia, his native state, on account of his hatred for salvery; 
Doctor Baldridge, Doctor David Frame, Dr. Noah Hill and Judge William 
Thompson. 

During the years closely preceding the Civil war, and before and after 
the passing of the Fugitive Slave law, a number of men in Ohio and the ad- 
joining states formed a secret compact, whereby fleeing slaves were to be 
aided in reaching their haven of safety, Canada, and protected from the pur- 
suit of their masters while on the way. About the first station reached in 
Guernsey county by slaves coming north was at Senecaville, where a William 
Thompson took them in charge. From Senecaville the fugitives were usually 
taken to Byesville. where they were placed in the custody of Jonathan Bye, 
the Quaker founder of that city. From Byesville they generally made their 
way by successive stages to Cleveland, whence they found little difficulty in 
penetrating to Canada. 

Owing to various circumstances, however, it was sometimes considered 
expedient to bring them by way of Cambridge. When this plan was adopted, 
they were brought from Byesville. and given into the charge of either Alex- 



360 GUERNSEY COUNTY, OHIO. 

ander McCracken or Samuel Craig, both hearty believers in manumission and 
earnest workers in the interests of the unfortunate black men. Craig lived 
where the Craig store now stands, at the corner of Wheeling avenue and 
Eighth street, and the two men sheltered many a slave during the time in 
which the "Underground Railroad" operated. 

Mr. Craig died some years ago, but Mr. McCracken is still living, at 
the advanced age of ninety-six years, in full possession of his faculties. He 
relates that upon one occasion he had in his keeping two negro men, closely 
pursued by their owner. The usual road by which Mr. McCracken con- 
ducted the slaves in his charge to the next station was called the Newcomers- 
town, or Birmingham road. But upon this road there lived a man who fre- 
quently played the spy upon the "railroaders," and, fearing that he would in- 
form upon him, Mr. McCracken placed the men in a wagon, making them 
lie as flat as possible, and covering them with a buffalo-robe, set off about ten 
o'clock at night, taking the Steubenville road. About three miles out he came 
to the place where the Xewcomerstown road intersects that upon which he 
was traveling. By taking this latter road he was able to get to the next 
station without difficulty, and by this manoeuver was able to outwit the 
malicious spy. He reached the next station, Daniel Broom's, about four 
miles north of Cambridge, delivered his charges, and returned to Cam- 
bridge, arriving about daybreak. 

From Broom's, slaves were taken to Adam Miller, six miles from town 
on the Newcomerstown road. From Adam Miller's to Peter B. Sarchet's, the 
next station, was about two miles. From Sarchet's to David Virtue, who was 
the next "railroader," was about eight miles. Virtue took them to the Stew- 
ard tavern, on the Newcomerstown road, from which, leaving the Newcom- 
erstown road, they went directly north to Newport, a town on the Ohio canal, 
about ten miles east of Newcomerstown. This will show the system by which 
the runaways were smuggled through Guernsey county. Their ultimate goal 
was, of course, Canada, but from this county they made for Cleveland. 

It is related that two prominent men in Oberlin, Ohio, were found aiding 
in the escape of runaway slaves and were sentenced to spend two years in the 
penitentiary. A petition was circulated, however, and was signed so univer- 
sally that their release followed within a few days, and they were spared the 
degradation attendant upon prison exile. 

There were seldom more than two slaves at a time being spirited through. 
Various were the means of concealing them from the wrathful eyes of their 
pursuers, such as hiding them in shocks of corn, in dark cellars, and other 
likely places of concealment. Sometimes those who were antagonistic to 



GUERNSEY COUNTY, OHIO. 36 1 

the "railroaders" would impede their progress by piling the roads full of logs, 
thus obliging them to make wide detours in arriving at their destinations. 
Sometimes negroes found it so pleasant to live without labor, well fed and 
comfortable, that they would return secretly, and run the circuit of "under- 
ground stations" again. When suspected, the}' lulled suspicion by glib false- 
hoods and fictitious tales as to their identity. 

Nevertheless, the "Underground Railroad" was productive of much good, 
and despite the precarious methods employed, the constant danger, and the 
sacrifice of time and labor, those who were active in the service never re- 
gretted their part in alleviating the sufferings of the unfortunate runaway 
slaves. 

SOME PECULIAR NOTICES. 

The following appeared in the Guernsey Times for March 30, 1826. 
It is here reproduced as a convincing illustration of the scarcity of money 
which prevailed in those days, and the necessity a merchant was under of 
publicly dunning his impecunious debtors : 



"The subscriber is now determined to close his books, and therefore 
all those that know themselves to be indebted to him, either by note, book 
accompt or otherwise, are required to come forward, & discharge the same, 
as no longer indulgence will be given. The following kinds of trade will 
be taken, if delivered in the course of this month. 

Pork Bees-Wax 

Wheat Tallow 

Flax-Seed Rags 

Deer-Skins Linen 

Feathers Lard 

Whiskey Butter. &c. 



"James Hutchison. 



"Cambridge. January 5th, 1826. 



More ludicrous, however, were some of the advertisements of runaway 
apprentices, and the dazzling rewards promised those who should apprehend 
the delinquents. The following are fair specimens: 



362 GUERNSEY COUNTY, OHIO. 

"SIX CENTS REWARD ! ! ! 

"Runaway from the subscriber on Wednesday, the 4th inst, a hound 
boy named 

"JAMES HITE 
"'About sixteen years of age. All persons are forbid harboring or 
trusting said boy on my account. The above reward will be given for re- 
turning him. but no charges will be paid. 

"Wm. McDonnell. 
"Cambridge, April 9, 1827." 

— Times, April 13, 1827.'' 

"ONE CENT REW r ARD ! ! ! 

"Absconded on the 15th instant. Cyrus E. Cook, an indented appren- 
tice to the carpenter and joiner business. Said boy went off without any 
just cause or provocation. All persons are forewarned from hiring, har- 
boring or aiding said boy in making his escape, as the law will be put in 
force against them. 

"Zephaniah C. Suitt. 
"Cambridge, September 22, 1838." 

SHERIFF'S SALE. 

"By virtue of two writs of Execution to me directed, from the Court 
of Common Pleas of Guernsey County, at the suit of Nicholas Shipley, 
against William Bernard, I will offer for sale at the late residence of the 
said William Bernard, in Londonderry Township, in said county of Guern- 
sey, on the 7th day of April next at 10 o'clock A. M., the following goods 
and chattels, to-wit : One bedstead and chaff bed. three barrels, one tub, one 
table, one churn, two crocks, one cream jug, one funnel, one pair of hand 
bellows, five chairs, one reel, two small bags of flax-seed, a few bushels of 
corn, eight brooms, a few bushels of potatoes, nine geese, five hogs, one 
flax break, a quantity of hay in the barn, a few bushels of wheat in the sheaf, 
one cow, one sheep, one pot, one shovel and one hay fork. 

"Wm. Allison, Sheriff G. C. 
"Sheriff's Office, Cambridge, March 22d, 1826." 

Another absconding apprentice was thus disposed of by his irate mas- 
ter, this advertisement appearing in the Times for July 19, 1834: 



GUERNSEY COUNTY, OHIO. 363 

"FIVE CENTS REWARD. 

"Ran away from the subscriber, living near Washington, Guernsey 
county, Ohio, on Sunday, the sixth instant, an indented APPRENTICE, named 
EDWARD KIRK, eighteen years of age, about five feet, six inches high, 
with brown hair and gray eyes. He is somewhat pompous and foppish in 
his manners, and had on and took away with him a light, cotton-drilling 
roundabout, a black home-spun cloth coat, a black fur and a fine Palm-leaf 
hat, one pair of Angola cassimere, and three pairs of Pittsburg-Cord Panta- 
loons, a Valencia vest and three shirts. The above mentioned reward shall 
be paid to the person taking up and returning said boy to me. Any person 
harboring and employing him may expect to be prosecuted therefor. 

"Samuel Bigger. 
"Washington. July 17th, 1834." 

Probably there is no one who has not heard of the curiosities known 
as the "Siamese Twins." These peculiar freaks visited Cambridge in De- 
cember, 1832, while making their tour of the United States. The following 
advertisement appeared in the Times of November 30, 1832: 

"SIAMESE TWINS. 

"For Two Days Only. 

"The ladies and gentlemen of Cambridge and its neighborhood are 
very respectfully acquainted that the 

SIAMESE TWIN BROTHERS 

will be at Mr. Metcalf's hotel, in that Town, on Tuesday and Wednesday 
next, the 4th and 5th of December. 

"The Twin Brothers are in their twenty-second year, in the enjoyment 
of excellent health — and have caused much surprise in this country, as well 
as in Europe, from the extraordinary manner in which their bodies are joined 
together. 

"The price of Admission will be Twenty-five Cents. 

"Their room will be open from 2 o'clock till 4 in the afternoon, and 
from 6 to 8 in the evening. 

"November 30th, 1832. 

"Pamphlets containing an historical account, and a likeness of the Twins, 
can be had in their room only — price, 12J/2 cts." 



364 



GI'KRXSEY COUNTY, OHIO. 



STATE OF DACOTAH. 

"The St. Louis Gazette mentions the probability that some time within 
the next fifteen years, another star will be added to our constellation, with 
the title of the State of Dacotah. It will extend, according that paper, over 
the Prairie region north of Iowa, stretching probably from the Missouri 
to the Mississippi river, embracing the country watered by the St. Peters, 
the Sioux and the Jaques rivers, and include a part of the Coteau de Prairie. 
Its latitude will be the same as Michigan, northern New York, Vermont and 
New Hampshire, with a soil far superior to the average of these states taken 
together." 

— Guernsey Times, March 6, 1841. 

CAMBRIDGE MARKETS. 



( Gurriiscji Times. 1S54.) 



Wheat, bu $1.03 

Corn, do 40 

Oats, do 37 

Flax seed, do 75 

Timothy, do 3.00 

Clover, do 4.50 

Beans, do 1.00 

Onions, do 75 

Potatoes, do 37 

Corn meal, do 44 

Coal, do 04 

Flour, cwt 2.75 

Flour, bbl 5.50 

Hay, ton 8.00 

Wood, cord 1.00 

Eggs, doz 10 

Socks, pair 31 

Dried Peaches, 1.50 



do. .. 
fresh 



Wool, lb $0.30345 

6a 8 

IS 

3^ a 4 

4a 8 

9 

7 

12 



Bacon, 
Butter, 

Pork 

Beef, do. . 
Tallow, do. 
Lard, do. . 
Candles, do. 

Beeswax, do. 25 

Calf skins, do 6*4 

Hides, do 4 

Soap, do. 3 

Feathers, do 33 

Flannel, white, 50 

Do., barred 62 

Linsey 3^33 

Linen 2 5 a 37 

Rag carpet 25337 



The price of produce of all kinds fluctuated greatly in the years imme- 
diately preceding the great panic. Here are two reports taken from the 
Guernsey Times of June and July, 1854: 



GUERNSEY COUNTY, OHIO. 365 

"When we went to press last week, the price of wheat in the market 
was one dollar and seventy cents per bushel. Since then, it has fallen to one 
dollar and forty cents. We have heard of a few persons. who refused to sell 
their wheat when it was one dollar and eighty cents, expecting a still higher 
figure. These do not belong to the 'luck in leisure' class." — June 29, 1854. 

"On Monday morning last the price of wheat came down to one dollar 
per bushel." — July 6. 1854. 

CAMBRIDGE MARKET, 1S37. 

"Flour — This article is selling at six dollars and fifty cents per barrel 
from stores and mills. Wagon price, six dollars. 

"Corn — Is selling at fifty cents per bushel, and in great demand. 

"Oats — Fifty cents per bushel is freely given. In great demand. 

"Wheat has fallen to one dollar per bushel. 

"Bacon — The hog round — from six to seven cents — hams, seven cents." 
— Guernsey Times, May 6, 1837. 

1840 — Wheat, forty cents; corn, twenty-four cents; oats, eighteen cents; 
flax, seventy-five cents ; beans, seventy-five cents ; flour, per barrel, two dol- 
lars and seventy-five cents ; salt, two dollars and seventy-five cents ; butter, 
eight cents per pound; lard, six cents; bacon, six and one-fourth cents. 

MARKET PRICES AT LATER DATES. 

It may not be without interest to know of the market quotations in 
Guernsey at different times in the history of the county. During the Civil 
war the following prices obtained in 1865: Wheat, two dollars per bushel; 
corn, eighty cents; oats, fifty-five cents; timothy seed, five dollars per bushel; 
beans, two dollars; onions a dollar and a quarter; potatoes, seventy cents; 
salt, three dollars and fifty cents per barrel ; flour, eleven dollars a barrel ; 
hay, eighteen dollars per ton; rags, five cents per pound (for paper-mak- 
ing); eggs, twenty-five cents per dozen; butter, forty cents; hogs, twelve 
dollars per hundredweight; beef, ten dollars and fifty cents per hundred- 
weight; candles, twenty-five cents per pound: tea, one dollar and fifty cents 
to two dollars and fifty cents per pound ; sugar, twenty-five to thirty cents a 
pound; country socks, fifty cents a pair; wood, two dollars and seventy-five 
cents per cord. These prices were based on the greenback money and "shin- 
plaster" money then commonly used ; gold was at a premium, running as 
high as two dollars and eighty-eight cents. But our money was good. As a 



366 GUERNSEY COUNTY, OHIO. 

contrast, we will give the current prices in Richmond, Virginia, in 1863, 
when the war was at its midway stage : 

Corn, eleven dollars per bushel ; oats, six dollars per bushel ; hav, ten 
dollars per hundredweight; apples, forty-five cents apiece, or forty-five dol- 
lars per barrel ; onions, sixty-five dollars per bushel ; lard, two dollars a 
pound; butter, three dollars and fifty cents per pound; cheese, two dollars per 
pound; fresh beef, seventy-five cents a pound by the quarter; Irish potatoes, 
six dollars per bushel ; white beans, one dollar per bushel ; peanuts, twelve 
dollars and fifty cents per bushel; cranberries, one dollar and fifty cents a 
quart ; turkeys, twelve dollars each ; oysters, twelve dollars a gallon. This 
was payable in Confederate money. 

PRESENT PRICES. 

The quotations of today — 1910 — may be of little interest to the present 
reader, but will be read with interest by another generation, hence will be 
subjoined. The following quotations are from Chicago markets largely : 
Cattle, from four dollars and fifty cents to seven dollars and fifty cents; 
calves, from seven dollars and twenty-five cents to nine dollars and twenty- 
five cents ; hogs, six dollars and ninety-five cents ; sheep, three dollars and 
fifty cents to four dollars and fifty cents ; wheat, ninety-one cents ; corn, for- 
ty-four cents; oats, thirty-one cents; mess pork, six dollars and fifty cents. 

Groceries in Cambridge, at retail, were : Flour, two dollars and sixty 
cents per hundredweight; granulated sugar, eighteen pounds per dollar; 
rolled oats, per pound, eight cents ; seeded rasins, ten cents ; tomatoes, eight 
to ten cents per can ; corn, eight, ten and twelve cents per can ; crackers, seven 
cents per pound ; potatoes, seventy cents ; rice, eight and ten cents : breakfast 
bacon, twenty-five cents ; lard, sixteen cents. 

CALIFORNIA GOLD FEVER HERE. 

The following was published in the centennial history of this county 
in the columns of the Jeffersonian, in 1876. and the author here makes use of 
it again : 

"At once after the discovery of gold in California, the fever for emi- 
gration to the new Eldorado broke out in Guernsey county. Her people have 
the reputation of being restless and ever on the move, which fact may be 
traced to her former inefficient agricultural state and to the then and now 
want of manufacturing enterprise. It has become a saying that Guernsey 



GUERNSEY COUNTY, OHIO. 36/ 

county people are found everywhere, Go where you will, some of them are 
sure to confront you. and in connection with the California emigration of 
1849-50, she shares the early honors with Posey county, Illinois, and Pike 
county, Missouri. 

"Posey county wagons will long he rememhered, and a Pike county, Mis- 
souri, reminiscence of those days will long live in the song of Joe Bowers, in 
which is related the terrible account of a black-headed Californian having 
borne to him a red-headed baby. This doggerel will live as long as the more 
pretentious poems of Joaquin Miller and his imitators. 

"Guernsey county gave to California many names for sites of towns, 
placers, valleys, etc., and Moore's Flat, named for Gen. J. G. Moore, who 
led the first Guernsey company, will be remembered as long as there is a 
California history to relate how the many worn and hungry emigrants poured 
down from the mountains to the hospitable and generous cabins of the Cam- 
bridge-California Mining Company, for by that name was the organization 
known, having for its object, 'the accumulation of gold and silver by mining 
and trafficking in the gold regions of California and Xew Mexico.' 

"The company was organized March 31, 1849. ;U1( ' was to continue two 
years. It was the first company, we believe, which was organized in the state 
for this purpose. The shares of the stock were one hundred dollars each, 
and all members were to share alike in the accumulations, no matter if they 
became physically unable to labor. Members were permitted to send dele- 
gates, the agreements with whom were to be filed with the secretary. No 
division of the accumulations was to be made until the proposed return in 
185 1. It was "stipulated that no service was to be performed on the Sab- 
bath day, except for the protection of the lives or property of the members 
of the company, and that 'members should recognize each other as brothers, 
by being affable and gentlemanly in their deportment.' 

"No amendment was to be permitted to the constitution of the company, 
except in 'full meeting and without one dissenting voice." Gambling, either 
among themselves or with others, was prohibited, and the use of intoxicating 
drinks, except under medical advice, was forbidden. This was perhaps the 
first prohibition movement ever inaugurated in the county. These stipulations 
were not rigidly adhered to by some of the members and delegates. Many of 
the members never came back, some died, and others made California their 
permanent residence, and their families have there become honourable mem- 
bers of society, and been elevated to many official places of great trust. The 
company as originally organized consisted of the following persons : Zaccheus 
Beattv, J. G. Moore, Joseph Stoner, Andrew Ilanna, C. D. Bute. X. L. Wolv- 



368 GUERNSEY COUNTY, OHIO. 

erton, Sol. Sunnafrank. George Chance, John Boyd, Henry Shively. James 
Kirkpatrick. John McKelvey, Samuel M. Roberts, John Clark, Samuel John- 



( Members who sent delegates.) 
Members. Delegates. 

Eliza Turner Benjamin Plummer 

Boaz Lofland William Lofland 

William Shaw James Allison 

M. Green John Beall 

A. E. Cook Alfred Cook 

T. P. Tingle John Hutchison 

William Abell 

Noah Hyatt John X. Davis 

Abraham Conrad 

H. C. Ferguson Jacob Ferguson 

John Sunnafrank William M. Rabe 

Jenkin Mulvane Seth J. Dickinson 

John Mulvane " 

O. H. Davis Aron Patterson 

William H. Craig " 

E. Steese J. Ax 

C. Basset " 

William K. Davis James V. Davis 

Charles Armor " 

BOUND FOR THE LAND OF GOLD. 
(Guernsey Times, March 26, 1852.) 

"On Tuesday last the following persons departed from this place, bound 
for California, by the overland route: Jeremiah Jefferson. Cambridge; 
Milton Jefferson. Cambridge : Franklin Jefferson, Cambridge ; Josiah Mor- 
gan, Cambridge: Thomas Bryan, Cambridge: John Morrow, Cambridge; 
Andrew Cowen, Cambridge Township ; John Black, Cambridge Township : 



GUERNSEY COUNTY, OHIO. 369 

Alex. McNary, Cambridge Township; Daniel Burton. Cambridge Township; 
John McCulley, Knox Township; Alex. Johnston. Knox Township; J. W. 
Dennison, Senecaville ; William Rigg, Jackson Township; Jesse Huggins, 
Jackson Township; George Murphy, Westland Township; Spear McKinney, 
Westland Township; John Elliott, Rich Hill, Muskingum; William Hutch- 
ison, Rich Hill, Muskingum; Johnson Morgan, Rich Hill, Muskingum; Cal- 
vin Morgan, Rich Hill, Muskingum ; Roseman Cox, Rich Hill, Muskingum." 

[Times, April 2, 1S52.) 

"On Monday last the following named persons left this place for Cali- 
fornia, by the overland route: W. K. Davis, wife and five children; Joseph 
Stoner, John Wharton, George W, Curtis, James Hammond, Francis Ham- 
mond. Israel Jackson, Charles Scott, James Cochran, John F. Ellis, James 
Pollard. All go in the employ of Messrs. Davis and Brown, who design driv- 
ing a large number of stock across the plains to California." 

THE PENNYROYAL REUNION SOCIETY. 

What has come to be a very interesting reunion in this county, is known 
as the Pennyroyal Reunion, which was organized and the first meeting held 
in 1S80. The Guernsey Times of August 26th of that year speaks of its 
history as follows : 

"For Pennyroyaldom, my friends, 

For Pennyroyaldom ! 
We'll take the cup of kindness yet. 

For Pennyroyaldom !" 

"The long anticipated Pennyroyal Reunion of the natives and former 
and present residents of Oxford township took place last week. The fol- 
lowing is a brief program of the proceedings : 

"First day, Tuesday morning. — About ten o'clock President J. O. 
Grimes came forward and announced that the time had arrived for the com- 
mencement of the exercises, and, after prayer was offered by Rev. I. N. 
White, in the absence of Rev. Hugh Forsythe, he introduced Hon. Newell 
Kennon, who delivered a splendid address of welcome. He spoke feelingly 
and with much dramatic intensity of the early pioneer days, now buried in 
the past, recalled a number of interesting customs, detailed several reminis- 
cences, and succeeded in rousing the enthusiasm of those present. To his 
effective address, Rev. D. Paul, D. D., of Xew Concord, responded in an 
(24) 



3JO GUERNSEY COUNTY, OHIO. 

energetic and affecting manner. Doctor Paul's marked style of oratory has 
often been noted and admired, but never were his powers used to better pur- 
pose than on this day. He succeeded in deeply impressing the audience gath- 
ered around the stand, all scions of old Penny royaldom, a manly, noble race 
indeed. 

"President Grimes made a short but pleasing speech at this juncture, 
thanking the managers of the association for the high honor bestowed upon 
him in electing him to the presidency of a social reunion such as this. He 
felt honored above his brethren, and did not know why he had been singled 
out from others worthier and better fitted than himself. He spoke of the 
palmy days of the National pike, Oxford's only public improvement, and 
recommended further improvement of the roadway. The meeting was then 
adjourned for dinner, and a more joyful crowd of men and women never 
before picnicked in old Oxford. The spirit of reunion and happiness seemed 
to pervade the assembly, and five hundred happy people gathered under the 
forest trees, bringing up the memories of by-gone days, and diligently making 
away with the chickens and other 'fixin's' prepared for the occasion. 

"Tuesday Afternoon. — Promptly at one-thirty o'clock the exercises were 
resumed, the crowd around the stand and through the grounds being greatly 
increased by this time, until there was an audience of fourteen or fifteen hun- 
dred, wild with enthusiasm and cheering vociferously. William Borton, Esq., 
was announced as first on the afternoon program, and delivered the 'History 
of Pennyroyaldom,' which is briefly as follows: In the early days, shortly 
after Ebenezer Zane had marked out what was known as Zane's Trace, com- 
pliant to his instructions from the government, the grandfather of the 
speaker, Benjamin Borton, emigrated to Oxford township. Here grew wild, 
in large quantities, the pennyroyal which he had learned to distill in his na- 
tive Xew Jersey. The pennyroyal plant is a native of North America, en- 
tirely differing from the plant of the same name which is indigenous to Eng- 
land, and possesses marked medicinal qualities. But the name Pennyroyal- 
dom, as applied to Oxford township, originated in a reply of the worthy citi- 
zen, Mr. Morris Morton, while commissioner of the county, to some complaint 
in reference to high taxes, 'that when everything else failed, we could go 
out and pull enough pennyroyal to pay them.' Out of this simple phrase rose 
Pennyroyaldom, which has Oxford township for its birth-ground. 

"Mr. Borton told of various incidents connected with the early history 
of Guernsey county, and his remarks were received with an enthralled sil- 
ence which bespoke an interest much deeper than uproarious applause can 
evince. 



(,r KR.XSKV COI'XTV, OHIO. 



371 



"Music for the occasion was furnished by the Fairview Cornet Band, 
under the leadership of Prof. W. B. Lee, of Fredericktown, Ohio, and com- 
posed of twelve young Oxfordites: Charlie Giffie, John Morton, Thomas 
Bratton, Simeon Rosengrant, Rufus Hunt, Nathan H. Barber, Charlie Ham- 
ilton, Charlie Gleeves, Edward Stevens, William H. Kesselring, Charlie 'fillet 
and William Frost. They made good music, although they have had only 
two years' experience. 

"Mr. Robert B. Buchanan, in a well-modulated voice, read an original 
poem on Pennyroyaldom, an exquisitely conceived roundelay, in fourteen 
verses, which covered the subject thoroughly, and left nothing to be desired. 
Never has so comprehensive a poem embraced a subject so vital as Penny- 
royalism. His charming delivery added much to the effect of his poetic ad- 
dress. Mr. John Kirkpatrick, secretary of the reunion, read letters of regret 
and greeting from those who by force of circumstances were kept away. The 
first letter submitted was from W. R. Wagstaff, Esq., of Paola, Kansas, once 
editor of the Jeffersonicm. The next was from Henry Kennon, Esq., of 
Princeton, Blinois, brother of Probate Judge Kennon. This interesting epistle 
was followed by a letter from Dr. Stewart L. Henry, of New Orleans. The 
president introduced Rev. W. H. Morton, of Cincinnati, who made a few 
suitable remarks, at the close of which a beautiful selection fell upon the air, 
tastefully rendered by the band. Then rose Rev. Samuel Forbes, of Sloan's 
Station, Ohio, and his words were fraught with eloquence. After him came 
D. D. Taylor, who made a short, humorous speech, at the same time apologiz- 
ing for the absence of his brother, T. Corwin Taylor, of Washington, D. C. 
Following these exercises, a grand volume of melody burst from the throats 
of the 'Pennyroyal Choir,' led by Mr. E. C. Morton, singing 'Home, Sweet 
Home," after which the band played again, and the crowd dispersed until 
nine-thirty o'clock the next morning. 

"Second Day, Wednesday Morning. — For Wednesday morning a special 
business meeting had been announced, with the view to a permanent organi- 
zation of a 'Pennyroyal Society.' The following committee was chosen for 
the following year: W. H. Morton, Newell Kennon, J. D. Taylor, Joseph 
Ferrell and William Borton. Secretary Kirkpatrick read a letter from ex- 
Senator T. W. Tipton, of Brownsville, Nebraska, while the committee was 
deliberating. A poem of no second merit, by Mr. Jesse Craig Weir, of Cadiz. 
Ohio, was read by D. D. Taylor, who made an humorous explanation of Mr. 
Weir's inability to read his own production, 'on account of native modesty.' 
This was followed by a letter from John S. Taylor, of West Liberty, Iowa. 
There were numerous other speakers, among whom may be mentioned J. O. 



3/2 GUERNSEY COUNTY, OHIO. 

Grimes, Rev. John Abies, Mr. Bethuel Abies, the first child born in Oxford 
township, and songs were sung, and the band played. 

"In the afternoon, the speakers, among whom may be mentioned Col. 
John Ferguson. Mr. William Morton, -Doctor Paul, Col. J. D. Taylor, X. H. 
Barber, Esq., Hon. William Lawrence, of Washington, Rev. J. T. Camp- 
bell, of Hermon church, near Kimbolton, J. D. Henry, W. S. Heade, J. B. 
Borton and D. D. Taylor. The closing song was 'Sweet Bye and Bye,' which 
was joined in by all on the grounds in an imposing chorus. 'Praise God from 
Whom all Blessings Flow,' and the benediction, pronounced by Rev. Mr. 
Hollister, concluded one of the most notable meetings ever held in Guernsey 
county." 

These reunions have been held regularly to the present time and have 
been a source of great value to old and young. Here, as at old settlers' re- 
unions, the people gather from far and near and renew friendships. Many 
states have been represented at these gatherings. Many men of ability and 
rare talent have spoken on these occasions. Eloquent speeches and heart- 
touching poems have been written and rendered here. With the passing of 
the years the interest has lost none of its old-time vim, but grandchildren love 
to keep sacred the memory of their forefathers in this way. An eighty-page 
pamphlet souvenir of five of these reunions was published in 1885, giving. 
many speeches and original poems on this unique reunion society. John Kirk- 
patrick was the publisher of this interesting booklet. For many years it has 
been a home-coming occasion. 

A CURIOUS OLD PAPER. 

Through the kindness of Bethuel Abies, Esq., of Oxford township, we 
are able to give below a copy of the indentures that bound him as an appren- 
tice to the blacksmith trade, more than half a century ago. The story this 
paper tells of the customs, dress and requirements of that early day is an 
interesting one. 

"This indenture, made this twenty-third day of October, in the year of 
our Lord one thousand eight hundred and twenty-two, Witnesseth : 

"That Bethuel Abies, of Guernsey county and State of Ohio, by and with 
the consent of his parent, John Abies, hath put himself an apprentice to David 
Johnson, of the county and State aforesaid, to learn the art and mystery of 
the blacksmith business in all the parts that the said Johnson follows, for the 
term of five years, which term commences on the day and date above written 
(the said Bethuel being aged sixteen years the 16th instant of October) 



GUERNSEY COUNTY, OHIO. 3JJ 

and end the twenty-third day of October. Anno Domini one thousand eight 
hundred and twenty-seven, during- which term the said Bethuel Abies the 
said Johnson shall faithfully serve in all lawful business according to his 
power, wit and ability as a dutiful apprentice ought to do. The said Bethuel 
is not to follow any kind of gambling, nor waste his master's goods, his 
secrets keep, and all lawful commands everywhere readily obey. Said John- 
son is to teach and cause to lie taught the said Bethuel the art and mystery 
of the blacksmith business in all the various parts that the said Johnson fol- 
lows, according to their ability in teaching and being taught, and find the said 
Bethuel in all wearing clothes, bedding and boarding and washing suitable 
for an apprentice during said term ; also to get him the said Bethuel one coat, 
vest-coat and pantaloons of factory cotton when he arrives at the age of 
eighteen, and at the expiration of said term said Bethuel is to have one bel- 
lows, one anvil, and one vise, and the liberty of the shop to make such small 
tools as is necessary to start a shop with, also during said term said John- 
son is to give said Bethuel six months schooling. For the true and faithful 
fulfillment of the above engagements we have each of us set our hands and 
seals the day and date above written. 

Abraham Anderson. "David Johnson, (seal) 

"Attest: "Bethuel Abies. (seal) 

James Starr. "John Abies, (seal)" 

— From Jeff crs oiuan, February, 1880. 

EARLY HIGHWAY ROBBERY. 

What is always referred to as the "Taylor Robbery" was committed in 
1819 when John Tavlor, a wholesale merchant of Baltimore, Maryland, in the 
fall of the year, was out on a soliciting and collecting tour through the West. 
On his return journey East, carrying with him quite a large sum of money, 
he stayed over night at the Black Bear tavern of Gen. Simon Beymer, in 
Washington, this county. At this time Andrew Moore was keeping the old 
tavern at "Smithstown," six miles east of Washington, on the old Wheeling 
road. Mr. Tavlor had been a frequent guest at the Moore house. Two of the 
Moore girls were visiting at the Beymer's and there met Mr. Taylor, who 
told them that he would be at their house the next day for dinner. The girls 
returned home earlv the next morning on horseback. Three miles east of 
Washington they passed three men seated on the roadside, in a timber belt 
known then and afterward as "Hubbard's woods." On reaching home the 
Moore girls gave the information that they had met Mr. Taylor at Beymer's, 



3£4 GUERNSEY COUNTY, OHIO. 

and that he would he there for dinner. As he had been a guest before, the 
girls made some extra preparation for him at dinner. Dinner time came and 
passed, and night came and no Air. Taylor yet. After late bedtime he came 
to the house. He was admitted and acted so very different from his accus- 
tomed frank and jovial manner, that Moore thought he was laboring under a 
slight aberration of mind. He refused to tell where he had been or why he 
had not been there for dinner. He seemd to be alarmed and weighted down 
by a great mental strain. Moore kept insisting on his accounting for his 
strange action, until he said that he was bound under an oath not to tell what 
had caused his present condition. Moore still insisted that he should tell, and 
that a promise or an oath to keep secret what had happened to him was not 
binding. After much hesitation he told substantially the following: "As I was 
riding along about three miles from Washington, I was halted by three men 
who demanded my money, and taking my horse by the bridle led him off the 
road some distance, and swearing that if I undertook to get off they would 
kill me. I was taken off the horse and tied to a tree. They took my money 
out of the saddlebags and divided it. They did not seem in a hurry to get 
away and swore vengeance on me if I made any outcry. Two of the men 
were for killing me and the horse as they did not want the horse. But the 
other objected and said I should be left tied and the horse turned loose. We 
were down in a deep hollow and it was getting dark. All this time I was 
tied to the tree, my back against the tree, my arms tied around it. At last 
they determined to leave and started off. I then made an appeal to not be 
left there alone to die. One of them came back and untied my hands, after 
I had made a promise that I would never tell that I had been robbed. 

"He also made me promise that I would remain an hour after they left. 
When it seemed to me the hour was up I made a move toward the horse, 
which was tied near by. They had not left, and came to me, swearing they 
would kill me, 'that dead men told no tales.* This so alarmed me that I 
sank down to the ground overcome with fear. When I regained my senses, I 
groped my way to the horse, and with much difficulty got to the road." When 
Andrew Moore heard this story he at once gave the information to his son, 
Robert B. Moore, who at once started to Washington and Cambridge to start 
out a party to catch the robbers. Three squads were made up under the 
leadership of General Moore, Colonel Beymer and Colonel Beatty. They 
came to the conclusion that Taylor had been followed from the West and that 
the men would take the back track. General Moore and Colonel Beatty 
started for Coshocton taking different roads, Colonel Beymer starting for 
Zanesville. In the evening of the second day they were overtaken by the 



X 


e\\ 


ark, 


as 


tli 


ey we 


re cross 


in- Lie 


king 


Lei 


al 


Ah.. 


ire 


kn 


ocked 


one of 


them ( 


[own 


r 


an 


. but 


were 


S( mil 


caught. 


Each 


man 



GUERXSKY COUNTY, OHIO. ^J', 

Moore and Beatty parties, near to 
river. They showed tight, and Genei 
witli his horse-pistol; the other tw< 
had a bundle in which was the money, divided nearly equal. The amount 
taken was over three thousand dollars. They were brought to Cambridge 
and placed in the old log jail. After being in jail a short time, they, by some 
means, raised a smoke in the cell, and called to the jailer that the cell was on 
tire. This was a little after dark, the jailer opened the door to find out 
what was the matter, they knocked him down, and were soon out in the dark- 
ness to liberty. These robbers having followed Mr. Taylor from the West, 
after passing through, taking the old Wheeling road, passing northeast and 
west of the Steubenville road, could see that the nearest woods was north, so 
they took from the jail in a northern direction. 

The writer's mother, then a girl, was staying with Airs. Rev. Morris 
during his absence from home, on the circuit. They were alarmed by the 
outcry made, of "catch the thieves, this way, here they go." On going to the 
door, a number of men passed by the cabin and stated to them that the 
"Taylor robbers" had broke out of jail. They struck what was then known 
as the "Gomber wood lot," and were never seen or heard tell of afterward. 
Mr. Taylor on a return visit seemed pleased that they had made their escape. 
He had got his money, and had liberally rewarded his captors, and said that 
he left relieved that he did not have to appear against them as he felt that 
his life was spared by his pledge made to say nothing. These robbers did 
not give their true names and are only known in history as the "Taylor rob- 
bers." 

The above was selected from Colonel Sarchet's numerous historical 
writings in the Cambridge newspapers many years ago. 

HENRY CLAY IN CAMBRIDGE. 

Many of the most distinguished statesmen of the nation in its early 
existence passed over the National road, from their homes in the West to 
the Capital and back, at the opening and closing of the sessions of Congress, 
and on the inaugural occasions. 

Jackson, Harrison, Taylor, Polk, Cass, Sam Houston, Davy Crockett, 
Black Hawk (the renowned Indian chief), Antonio de Santa Anna were 
among the most noted. 

The Hon. Henry Clay was the great champion of the National road. 
The reader will bear in mind that the National road and the Cumberland 



3/6 GUERNSEY COUNTY, OHIO. 

road are one and the same. In Mallory's "Life of Henry Clay," it is stated 
that lie advocated the policy of carrying forward the construction of the 
Cumberland road as rapidly as possible, and we learn from his own account 
that he had to beg, entreat and supplicate Congress, session after session, 
to grant the necessary appropriations to complete the road. He said : "I 
have toiled until my powers have become exhausted and prostrated, to pre- 
vail on you to make the grant." 

Hon. Henry Clay and his wife passed, in a private conveyance, through 
Cambridge, Ohio, August 20, 1825, on his way to Washington, D. C. He 
was accompanied by a colored driver and a body servant. There was also a 
colored maid for Mrs. Clay. Great preparations had been made at Zanes- 
ville to give him a grand ovation and public dinner, and many of the citizens 
of Cambridge had made preparations to attend the great event. 

But their joy was changed into sorrow when news came that he was 
detained at Lebanon, Ohio, by the sickness of his daughter, who died there 
August 11, 1825, and was buried in the old graveyard. A monument in the 
old Lebanon graveyard still marks the resting place, on which is inscribed : 

ELIZA L. CLAY 

Died August 11, 1825. 

Aged Twelve Years. 

Erected by Henry and Letta Clay. 

The construction of the National road was begun in 1825. The St. 
Clairsville Gazette of August 26, 1825, says: 

"The first division of the National road, from the Ohio river ten miles, 
is now under contract, and undergoing the operation of grading." 

Henry Clay passed through Cambridge November 28, 1833, in a char- 
tered coach on his way to Washington, D. C. The Cumberland road was 
then completed west to Zanesville, Ohio. He stopped at the old Wyatt 
Hutchison house, located on the now National hotel site. He had just been 
defeated in 1832 as the Whig candidate for President, by Gen. Andrew Jack- 
son, in one of the most vindictive and bitter campaigns of the nation. 

COLONEL SARCHET'S SEVENTY-THIRD BIRTHDAY BANQUET. 

The publishers of this work deem it but appropriate to here insert a 
description of the banquet tendered the author, Col. C. P. B. Sarchet, on 



GUERNSEY COUNTY, OHIO. 3/7 

his seventy-third birthday anniversary, at the Noel house in Cambridge in 
1901, the same being extracted from the local press: 

As indicated in our last issue, the celebration of the seventy-third birth- 
day anniversary of Col. C. P. B. Sarchet with a banquet at the Noel hotel 
last Wednesday evening Was an affair full of pleasure to those present. The 
guests were all above fifty years of age, with one or two exceptions. But on 
this occasion they "renewed their youth" and jollity and good cheer reigned. 
A number of the guests had been the associates and friends of Mr. Sarchet 
for many years and this occasion served to more firmly weld that chain. A 
tempting menu was furnished by Landlord Smith. At the request of Mr. 
Sarchet, the Reverend Doctor Milligan was chosen master of ceremonies and 
he filled the place well. Reverend Doctor McFarland invoked the blessing 
and then the participants fell to feasting with an appetite like unto the days 
of romping childhood and with almost the same gleeful spirit. Thus passed 
an hour and then followed a season of speech-making. Doctor Milligan made 
some pleasing introductory remarks and was followed by Mr. Sarchet, who 
spoke as follows : 

"It affords me the very highest degree of pleasure to look into the bright 
smiling faces of so many old time friends. Many of you I have known all 
my life long. Some of us were boys together. We sported in boyish glee. 
In spring time, barefooted, riding stick horses and making music with walnut 
bark whistles. In summer, down in the old swimming hole, we paddled and 
splashed and kicked and swam and went under out of sight and didn't care 
a fig whether school kept or not. In winter we coasted o'er the snow, on 
sleds of our own make, down the hills for the pleasure of hauling them back- 
up again. We skated on the ice above the old mill, cut our names in the ice, 
cut circles forward and backward and played "high buck or low doe," "shin- 
ney on your own side," now modern football, by day and by night. Then we 
thought Old Father Time moved slowly ; we wanted to be men. As big 
boys we began to go to the old time rag and candy parties, singing 'King 
William' and 'Over the River to Charley,' kissing the girls and going home 
with them. Then we thought that the farthest way around was the nearest 
way home. 

"When I look back through the years of the past to those days of boy- 
hood and young manhood, the many happy hours of pleasure and social en- 
joyment, and think that the great majority have passed from earth away, my 
breast fills with emotions that I cannot find words to express. Many of us 
entered upon the busy, surging sea of active life together, elbowing against 
and pushing- each other in a manly strife for its honors and preferments, its 



3/S GUERNSEY COUNTY, OHIO. 

labors and rewards. Arrayed against each other we fought many fierce, hot- 
blooded political battles, but when the smoke had cleared away there were no 
dead or wounded to earn - off the field ; we were yet friends. And now around 
this festal board, in these opening hours of the twentieth century. I greet you 
as friends. I had almost said old friends — but no ! I greet you as boy friends, 
we are boys again, to-night." 

It was growing late for "old people" by this time and the exercises were 
brought to a close by tendering Mr. Sarchet a vote of thanks and then there 
was a closing prayer by Doctor Pope. 

Colonel Sarchet was born in Cambridge and has spent nearly, if not all, 
his long and useful life here. He has seen the town grow from a mere ham- 
let to a growing city. He has kept in touch with its progress, and recorded 
many interesting incidents along the way. He possesses a good memory and 
a ready pen and with these has given in these columns from time to time 
much valuable information relative to the history of the town and county, 
even some adjoining counties. His writings have given him the title of the 
"Guernsey historian" and it is deservedly conferred. His social qualities are 
admirable and this in a great measure accounts for his popularity. He is a 
good jolly fellow — a very companionable gentleman, though never afraid to 
express condemnation for that which he considers wrong. That many more 
years of sojourn here may be allotted him is the earnest wish of his host of 
friends. 

The register at the banquet shows the following persons present, together 
with their ages : C. P. B. Sarchet, seventy-three ; J. W. Creswell, seventy- 
four ; J. G. Black, seventy-five: James Stewart, sixty-seven; John Carlisle, 
seventy-two ; T. S. Crow, sixty-nine ; James W. Moore, sixty-two ; E. Mc- 
Collum, sixty-eight; James Patterson, sixty-seven; John S. Gallup, eighty- 
one ; Ross Scott, seventy-five ; B. F. Fleming, seventy-six ; John Boyd, sixty- 
three : Thomas H. Bell, seventy; William Johnston, seventy-three; T. G. 
Brown, sixty-two; S. W. Luccock, seventy- four ; Alex. McCracken, 
eighty-six ; James R. Barr, forty-six ; E. W. Mathews, sixty-nine ; Charles L. 
Campbell, sixty ; J. P. Mahaffey, fifty-five ; S. J. McMahon, sixty-nine ; J. T. 
Rainey. sixty-five ; Ross W. Anderson, sixty-two ; J. R. Keyes, fifty-six ; P. T. 
Suit, sixty-eight; Russell B. Pope, fifty-six; J. P. Ogier, seventy-three; A. F. 
Hubert, seventy; W. V. Milligan, seventy-three; A. J. Hutchison, seventy; 
W. H. McFarland, sixty-eight and one-half; C. L. Blackburn, thirty-one; 
John M. Amos, sixty-one; James O. Mcllyar. seventy; D. D. Taylor, fifty- 
eight; William B. Kirk, seventy-eight. 



GUERNSEY COUNTY, OHIO. 379 

EARLY GUERNSEY COUNTY MARRIAGES. 

(From the Times in 1903. i 

"The first marriage ceremony performed by a minister in Guernsey county 
was that of Thomas Sarchet, Jr., to 'Catty Markim,' September n, 1809, 
by Rev. James Ouinn, elder Methodist Episcopal church, both of them of 
Cambridge. Muskingum county, Ohio. There was some bad spelling by the 
elder or clerk of record. This was the first marriage in Cambridge and should 
read : Thomas Sarchet, Jr., to Catharine Marquand. 

"The first marriage in Guernsey county was James Boler to Sally Leunce, 
September 11, 1810, by Thomas Henderson, justice of the peace, of Oxford 
township. 

"We give some of the first marriages at Cambridge. John Robin to 
Mary Hubert, September 20, 1810. by Thomas Knowles, justice of the peace, 
both of Cambridge. Cyrus P. Beatty to Nancy Sarchet, June 11, 181 1, by 
David Kirkpatrick. justice of the peace, both of Cambridge. Lloyd Talbot to 
Nancy Sarchet, November 10, 181 1. by David Kirkpatrick, justice of the 
peace, both of Cambridge. John Dixon to Elizabeth Bryan, December 7, 
181 1, by David Kirkpatrick, justice of the peace, both of Cambridge. Thomas 
Lenfesty, Jr., to Cartaretta Hubert, January 9, 18 12, by the Rev. William 
Lambdin, of the Methodist Episcopal church, both of Cambridge. Thomas 
Ogier to Rachel Marquand, May 28, 1812, by the Rev. William Lambdin. of 
the Methodist Episcopal church, both of Cambridge. Thomas Metcalf to 
Sarah Gomber, March 17. 1814, by David Kirkpatrick, justice of the peace, 
both of Cambridge. Thomas Bryan to Joannah Olive, October 17, 18 14, by 
David Kirkpatrick, justice of the peace, both of Cambridge." 

A HUMAN TEAM. 

"A novel spectacle, and, we may add, a moving one, was witnessed in 
this place ten or twelve days since, exemplifying in one of the strongest points 
of view a state of bodily degradation most painful and revolting to the feelings 
of human nature. It consisted of a wagon filled with such articles of furni- 
ture, etc., as usually belong to an emigrating establishment bound for the 'Far 
West,' drawn by two men and a boy, all duly harnessed, acting in the capacity 
and doing the work of a team of horses! The individuals thus engaged ap- 
peared cheerful and patient in the exercise of their laborious employment. 
Thev were ascertained to be emigrants from Germany, on their way to the 
distant regions of the West." — Times, October 19, 1833. 



380 GUERNSEY COUNTY, OHIO. 

METEORIC SHOWER OF 1 833. 

The following appeared in the Times, by Mr. Sarchet, in November, 
1890: 

"The old house now being torn clown on North Eleventh street, at 
the divergence of the street through the McCracken and Matthews additions, 
is one of the early houses built in Cambridge. 

"It was built by Peter Sarchet, Si". It was a freak of architecture, a 
frame, the intervals between the studding being filled in with brick, and was 
plastered on the outside in imitation of stone. Another house in the same 
locality, which stood on the northwest corner of Eleventh street and Steuben- 
ville avenue, was of similar build, except that it was lathed on the inside and 
plastered. This house was built by John Torode. Neither of these houses 
stood the test in our variable climate, and soon began to look ragged and 
unsightly, by reason of the bond in the mortar or cement giving way and 
falling off, but both, when new, were attractive looking houses. 

"But it is to relate an incident well known in history, in connection with 
the house then occupied by a Air. George Clark, that we began this reminis- 
cence. In November, 1833, quite a number of citizens of Cambridge assembled 
at Clark's, as was a custom, to engage in 'fighting the tiger." During this frolic 
and carousal, toward the 'we sma' hours," one of their number went out and 
returned with the alarming declaration 'that the world was coming to an end, 
and the sky falling in." These midnight revelers looked upon a meteoric 
scene that led them to think that home, rather than a gambler's den, was the 
best place to be when the 'sky was falling in." So for home they made as 
best they could, so suddenly awakened from a drunken debauch, to be ever 
after during their lives living witnesses that the 'sky fell in." 

"The New American Cyclopedia gives this description of that Novem- 
ber night, I2th and 13th, 1833 : 'But the year 1833, on the night of November 
1 2th and 13th, is memorable for the most magnificent display on record, and 
was visible over all the United States, and over a part of Mexico and the 
West India islands. Together with the small shooting stars, which fell like 
snowflakes and produced phosphorescent lines along their course, there were 
intermingled large balls of fire, which darted forth at intervals, leaving lumin- 
ous trains, which remained in view several minutes, and sometimes half an 
hour or more.' f f ; C 

"The writer of this, then a boy seven years old, well remembers the 
eventful night when the 'stars fell.' At our home we were all engaged in the 
annual fall custom of making apple butter, which generally partook of the 



GUERNSEY COUNTY, OHIO. 38 1 

nature of a neighborhood frolic, paring and cutting the apples and stirring 
the butter until late into the night. Some one of the number, going out, re- 
turned with the cry that the 'stars were falling." We all looked upon the 
scene with wonder and amazement, and one of the number said, 'What's the 
use of making apple butter, when the world is coming to an end." 

"But the world did not come to an end, nor as yet have wonders ceased. 
People come and go; one builds up, another tears down, and out of all we see 
the onward march of destiny." 

VARIOUS CYCEONES. 

The Times of June 25, 1885, speaks as follows of a roaring cyclone: 
"The village of Byesville was visited by a genuine cyclone last Sunday 
evening. It was a veritable 'ring-tailed ripper and roarer,' to appropriate the 
graphic' description of an impressed Byesvillian. It was of the old-fashioned 
orthodox funnel-shape, with the little end down, and the big end several hun- 
dred feet up in the air. It carried in its swirl boards, limbs, small trees and 
general debris. It ambled in from the southwest at the rate of about five miles 
an hour, and after a deliberate but rude caress to the orchards at the edge of 
town it came hopping and hitting and skitting and slipping along through the 
village, leaving destruction behind, going off to the northeast when it grew 
tired. 

"It was after four o'clock when something unusual was detected by the 
villagers. The June afternoon was sultry, and the atmosphere oppressive. 
A dead stillness pervaded the air. and the sun shone bright and hot. Then 
there came a low rumbling sound from the southwest, growing rapidly into 
an angry roar, that drew the villagers from their homes to look and listen. 
Far to the southwest the tops of the trees were bending and breaking. A 
dark-hazel cloud, compact and threatening, was flying above the tree tops to- 
ward the town. A monster freight train seemed crashing through the forests. 
Some few divined the cause and, foreseeing destruction, fled for refuge to cel- 
lars. The consternation spread and, panic-stricken, the people rushed for the 
cellars. It struck, and the angry roar was heard for miles. The town of 
Byesville more than likely owes its escape from total destruction to the fact 
that the cyclone only struck a corner of the town, and did not strike it with 
its full volume. It unroofed stables and demolished outhouses, carried away 
boards and timbers, as it was, and one house was moved eight feet off its 
foundation. The house was occupied by Mr. Shields, the saddler, with his 
wife and little daughter. They had fled to the house at the approach of the 



382 GUERNSEY COUNTY, OHIO. 

cyclone, but had barely entered when the windy monster took the house in his 
grasp, lifted it. and jammed it down. The shock loosened the chimney, and 
the bricks came tumbling down into the room. All three were injured, more 
or less, but none severely. These are the only injuries reported. 

"The cyclone moved slowly, and there was something awful in its deliber- 
ate majesty. All the way the hazel-cloud seemed topping it, going on before. 
It struck the tall trees on the creek banks, bent them low, broke them or tore 
them up, dipped dry the creek as it passed, and struck the hill that lies to the 
northeast, as a sentinel over the village. The shock demoralized the cyclone, 
as no further damage of consequence is reported. Its path was about fifty 
yards wide when it passed through Byesville. It uprooted trees and nearly 
destroyed several orchards in and about the town, among them the orchards of 
Henry Wilson and Jesse Linkhorn. Shortly after the passage of the cyclone, 
a terrific thunderstorm broke over the town, and for a little while the people 
fancied that the long-predicted judgment day was come." 

CYCLONE OF 189O. 

(Jeffersonian, May 1, 1890.) 

"The first genuine cyclone that has visited Guernsey county for many 
years passed through Monroe township Saturday evening. About four o'clock 
the citizens were aroused to a sense of danger by the appearance of a small 
funnel-shaped cloud approaching from the southwest at terrific speed, ac- 
companied by lightning and a terrible noise. The first account we have of 
its devastation is when it struck what is known as the Lytle farm, on Irish 
ridge. Here it leveled the barn and stable, unroofed and crushed in one end 
of the brick residence; then, striking Commissioner John Thompson's farm, 
a large amount of timber and fencing were blown down and one steer killed; 
fences and timber were destroyed on Philip Randal's farm, but his buildings 
were outside the path of the revolving terror and escaped. Mrs. Yarnell's 
farm next lay in its path, and nearly all the timber and fences were leveled 
to the earth and scattered about; Airs. Hollingsworth's farm met the same 
fate, but the buildings on both farms escaped, being outside the track of the 
storm. Jonathan Colley's farm was stripped of about five hundred panels of 
fence and two acres of timber were leveled to the earth. The path of the storm 
was a short distance from his buildings, and they escaped serious damage. It 
then passed over the farms of Weston and Asbury George. On the former, 
the fences were leveled and the barn unroofed, and on the latter an addition 
recently built to his residence was blown away, together with milk house, corn 



GUERNSEY COUNTY, OHIO. 383 

cribs, wagon shed and the grain scattered in every direction, the sheep house 
removed from its foundation, six hogs killed, their mother's back broken and 
a bureau carried from the part of the house blown away, to a distance of about 
fifty yards, where it was lodged against a fence. All the buildings on David 
Meek's property were unroofed, and a large orchard swept away, only four 
trees left standing. A large amount of timber was destroyed along Laurel 
creek. The storm passed on in an almost direct line to the northeast. The 
path of the cyclone varied in width from ten to twenty-five rods. It seemed 
to bound along like a ball of India rubber, passing over spaces, and wherever 
it struck the earth carrying everything with it. Wheat was shaven off as by 
a scythe, the furrows where sod had been broken, lifted and scattered about, 
in some places lodged at quite a distance away." 

A HAIL STORM IN 1 826. 

(Guernsey Times. July, 1826.) 

"A most tremendous storm of hail passed through this county on Satur- 
day, the 1st inst., in a direction from northwest to southeast, about five miles 
north of this place. Much injury has been sustained upon those farms which 
were within range; fortunately, however, the vein was very narrow, from a 
half mile to a mile in width; many of the hailstones were nearly the size of a 
hen's egg. We have heard of some farmers who had every vestige of their 
crops destroyed — corn that was nearly ready to tassel had the stalks entirely 
cut to pieces, to within six inches of the ground; wheat ready to harvest was 
completely threshed, and the straw cut to pieces and tangled together, so as 
to destroy it entirely ; tobacco was wholly cut up, so as to appear as though it 
had never been planted; the trees in the woods and orchards were stripped of 
their leaves and fruit. We have not been able to ascertain the extent of the 
injury in full, but from the best information we can receive, there certainly 
never has been so destructive a visitation to the citizens of this community, in 
proportion to its width." 

COLD WEATHER STATISTICS. 

(From the Jeffersonian. February, 1S99, by Colonel Sarchet.) 

"Some time ago you said : 'Can you give us a little cold weather history?' 
"We will go back to the beginning of Ohio history as a state. The win- 
ter of 1807-8 is known in Ohio history as 'the cold winter." We are unable 
to give the cold by degrees, as thermometers were not then in general use. 



384 GUERNSEY COUNTY, OHIO. 

"My grandfather then resided in a cabin on the north end of what is now 
the Guernsey National Bank lot, on North Seventh street. We have heard 
our oldest uncles, who were then aged seventeen and thirteen years, say that 
thev had two ways of keeping warm ; one was to cut and carry in wood to keep 
up the fire, the other was to carry water to throw on the mud and stick chim- 
ney, to keep from burning up the cabin. The water was carried from a spring, 
west of Sixth street, near the residence of Hon. David D. Taylor, on North 
Fifth street. 

"The next was the winter of 1817-18. We have heard it said it was so 
cold that a bucket of water thrown into the air would be frozen to ice before it 
could fall to earth. 

"The next was the winter of 1835-6. This comes within our recollec- 
tion. There was snow from two to three feet deep. We well remember 
wading through it when it came well up to the waist. My grandfather then 
had a thermometer which he kept hanging on the south side of his house. 
He came to our house on the coldest morning, and said to me : 'Boy, it's colder 
than you are old.' I was then eight years old." 

The writer then gave the temperature for the winter months from 1850 to 
1865, but we will simply abridge and give his figures for the coldest day of the 
several years : In 1850, coldest day was ten degrees above zero; 1851, in 
December it was seven degrees below zero; 1852, January 20, it reached 
seventeen below; 1853, January 27, one below; 1854, January 2$. at zero, 
1855, December 27, two above; 1856, January 9. twelve below; 1857, Janu- 
ary 26. six below; 1858, February 2^, seven below; 1859, February 1, five 
below; i860, January 5, four below; 1861, February 8, zero; 1862, February 
16, seven below ; 1863, January 18, four above ; 1864, "the coldest New Year's 
day," the thermometer indicated a change of forty-six degrees from nine in the 
evening until six in the morning, and went as low as eight below, and in the 
following month reached nineteen degrees below. 

The subjoined table shows the coldest weather from 1841 on to 1871, in 
Cambridge, Ohio : 

January 8, 1847, f° ur degrees below zero. 
December 4, 1849, tw0 degrees below zero. 
February, 1850, two below zero. 
December, 1851, seven degrees below zero. 
January 7, 1852, seventeen degrees below zero. 
January, 1853, one degree below zero. 
January, 1856, twelve degrees below zero. 



GUERNSEY COUNTY, OHIO. 385 

February, 1856, fourteen degrees below zero. 
February, 1858, seven degrees below zero. 
January, i860, four degrees below zero. 
January 2. 1864, eigbt degrees below zero. 
January 7, 1864, four degrees below zero. 
February, 1866, four degrees below zero. 
January, 1867, ten degrees below zero. 
December, 1870, one degree below zero. 

December 24, 1871, thirteen degrees below zero, making it among the 
coldest days on record in the county. 

THE OLDEST MAN IN THE COUNTY. 

The oldest man who ever lived in this county is supposed to have been 
Benjamin Berry, who died here in 1877. At that date many of the elderly 
people here remembered him in their childhood as a middle aged man during 
the war of 1812-14. Enquiry was made at his death and it was learned that 
his age was one hundred and eleven years, having been born in 1765, as de- 
termined from the muster rolls of the war of 1812. in which he took part as 
a soldier. He also served in the Indian war prior to the war with England. 
It is not believed that an older man has ever lived in this county and but few 
in Ohio have attained so great an age. 

GRAVE ROBBING IN GUERNSEY COUNTY. 
(Jeffersonian, December 11, 1S79.) 

"In 18 — there was considerable grave robbing in Guernsey county. An 
incidental account is remembered of a body being brought through a toll gate 
on the National road in a sleigh, head upright, between two men. The body 
had an old coat thrown over it, and a hat put over its head. The gate keeper 
was completely deceived. The body of a woman was also taken from a ceme- 
tery within ten miles of the place from whence this body was brought. One 
night, during some dissecting by medical students and others, some 
women approached the place, probably with some suspicion of what was going 
on, and moved by a curiosity to know the facts. They came so near, and 
their knowledge was so apparent to those present, that the solidly frozen head 
of a man was rolled toward them. They screamed and ran away. It was 
afterward discovered that they had seen nothing and knew nothing, beyond 
suspicion, and it was explained to them that a pumpkin had been rolled toward 
(25) 



386 GUERNSEY COUNTY, OHIO. 

them in the dark. If they had more suspicion, it was allayed, or their dread 
remembrance of the scene, or other considerations, kept their mouths closed. 
"Many readers of this will remember that, some years ago, an old barrel 
lay by the side of a public road in this county. The stench that came from it 
was so indescribably horrible that no one who ever passed by will fail to call it 
to recollection now when they are told that the nauseating smell was from 
fragments of human flesh, which had, in the colder weather, been thrown into 
the barrel and hauled away in the night time and tumbled down bv the 
roadside." 

THE FIRST MAILS. 

We take the following account of the first mails of the state from an 
article written by Col. C. P. B. Sarchet for the Cambridge Daily Sun : 

"The first mails carried in Ohio was in 1798, from Wheeling over the 
Zane Trace to Limestone, now Maysville, Kentucky, and from Marietta to 
McCullough's cabin at the ferry at the crossing of the Muskingum river, now 
Zanesville. These were weekly mails, intersecting at McCullough's cabin. He 
had the authority to open and assort the mails. The postoffice was opened at 
Zanesville in 1803. In 1805 John Beatty, at the cabins at the crossing of big 
Wills creek, had the authority to open the mails. In 1807 Cyrus P. Beatty 
was appointed by Thomas Jefferson as postmaster at Cambridge, in Mus- 
kingum county, Ohio. He held the office for a number of years. In these 
early days there was but little letter writing. The postage was so much that 
only business letters passed through the mails. We have in our possession 
old letters showing postage paid of six and one-fourth, twelve and one-half, 
eighteen and three-fourth, twenty-five and twenty-seven and one-half cents. 
There was no prepayment, and many letters were sent to the dead letter office, 
because the person addressed didn't have the money to pay the postage. Let- 
ters were sent by travelers from town to town. This came to be done to such 
an extent that Congress in 1817 passed a law making it a criminal offense for 
anyone but mail carriers to carry letters. The next postmasters were Nicholas 
Blaithache, Jacob Shaffner, William Ferguson, Isaiah Mcllyar, William 
Smith, Robert Burns, James M. Smith, James O. Grimes, Francis Creighton, 
Edwin R. Nice. William McDonald, C. L. Madison, D. D Taylor and W. H. 
II. Mcllyar. 

"Of these, nine were appointed as Whig, or Republican, and seven as 
Democratic. We were acquainted with all of these but the first, and received 
mail through their hands." 



GUERNSEY COUNTY, OHIO. 387 

DARING MAIL ROBBERY. 

"On the night of Friday, the 17th inst, as the mail stage was going from 
Zanesville to Wheeling, one of the large mail bags was stolen from the boot 
about one mile east of Washington in this county, the bag cut open and the 
contents scattered in all directions. The robber, or robbers, however, made 
but a water-haul, as fortunately the bag in question contained only newspapers. 
We have not heard of a clue having been found yet, likely to lead to the detec- 
tion of the daring perpetrator of this deed. — Guernsey Times, June 25, 1836. 

POSTOFFICES IN 1895. 

In the year 1895, before the many rural mail routes had been established, 
the following was the list of postoffices and remuneration received at such 
offices by the postmaster in charge : 

Antrim, $190; Blue Bell, $41 ; Brown, $142; Byesville, $283; Birds Run, 
$59; Brody, $50; Buffalo, $76; Cambridge, $1,700; Cumberland, $444; 
Creighton, $36; Claysville, $104; Dysons, $103; Dan ford, $6.00; Fairview, 
$265 ; Flat Ridge, $25 ; Galligher, $62 ; Gibson, $92 ; Guernsey, $65 ; Indian 
Camp, $65; Kimbolton, $88; Londonderry, $125; Lore City, $136; Midway, 
$35; Middlebourne, $84; Millinersville, $176; New Salem, $54; Odell, $^7; 
Oldham, $27; Quaker City, $465; Salesville, $167; Senecaville, $270; Sutton, 
$20; Spencer Station, $104 ; Sugar Tree, ^^y ; Tyner, $32 ; Washington, $385 ; 
Clio and Prohibition, amount not given. 

GUERNSEY COUNTYS MAN-WOMAN. 

"Florence Goldsborough's adventures as a woman in man's clothing 
through a period of sixteen eventful years cannot fail of partaking of the 
strangeness of fiction and the wildness of romance. Such is the character 
of the history of Florence F. Goldsborough, whose masculine name is Johnny 
Howard, and whose wild and reckless career has been partly spent in Guern- 
sey county. 

"She was born near St. Clairsville, Belmont county, in 1847. Her father 
being a farmer, she was taught to work in the fields. 

"When about sixteen years of age, she was suspected and pronounced 
guilty of stealing sixteen dollars from an uncle. For this crime, she served 
three months in the county jail. While admitting many other crimes, she 
has ever protested her innocence of this first charge. When she was released 
from' jail, she donned man's clothing, and left home. 



388 GUERNSEY COUNTY, OHIO. 

"Upon coming into this county, she first hired to work as a farm laborer, 
for Rev. George W. Wharton, a Baptist preacher who resided north of Mid- 
dletown. During the six months she remained with Rev. Wharton, she had 
the benefit of morning and evening devotion, but without any apparent effect 
upon her spiritual nature. At any rate, she had the benefit of early rising in 
order to get the work done in time for prayers, and her health may have been 
made the better for it, if nothing more. 

"Quitting Reverend Wharton's place, she hired to labor on the farm of 
Andrew Morton, a short distance west of Middletown, and she continued 
with him about a year. During all that time, her sex was never suspected, 
and she regularly slept with' Jacob Ducker and other farmhands who worked 
for Mr. Morton. 

"But soon she grew tired of farm life, and set out for Columbus, where 
she found employment as a street-car driver. She continued in that vocation 
for some time, but at last had a fight, and was sent to the station house for 
thirty days. When she was released, she went to Bellaire. While there, she 
was arrested for stealing money from Mr. N. B. Hayes, the late well known 
stock dealer of this county. For this crime, she was convicted, and sent to 
the Penitentiary for three years. Here her sex was discovered for the first 
time after leaving home in 1863, and she was placed in the female department. 

"When her term had expired, she went to Cincinnati, and engaged as sec- 
ond clerk on the steamer 'Alaska,' plying between that place and New Or- 
leans. After making three trips, and falling in the river once, she quit boat- 
ing, and returned to Columbus. 

"Since her return to that city, she has been variously engaged as bar- 
tender, bell boy and farm hand and has served sentences to station-houses 
and jails, in addition to two other terms in the penitentiary, the first for one 
and the second for three years. Both crimes were stealing money, the last 
one in 1875. The amount taken was five hundred dollars. 

"Her term having expired on the 8th of the present month, she no 
sooner got out than she put on her male attire, was arrested for so doing, 
and put in the station house. She protests that she is now going to live a bat- 
ter life, but will not give up men's clothing, as she prefers it to the garb of 
women. She looks very much like a small, beardless boy, and the only 
quality apt to betray her sex is her small hand. She is thirty-two years old, 
carries her age well, and keeps good health for one who has endured so rugged 
a life." — Jcifcrsonian, 1878. 



GUERNSEY COUNTY, OHIO. 389 

DAYS OF MOURNING. 

Cambridge, in common with all the country, has had her days of true 
mourning and here will be given brief accounts of how the citizens met these 
national calamities and bow they were affected at the death of her fallen 
statesmen and military heroes : 

When James Monroe died in 1831, the column rules of the Times at 
Cambridge were turned, as an indication of deep sorrow. 

Upon the death of Hon. Henry Clay, June 29, 1852, and upon the de- 
cease of Daniel Webster, the great New England statesman, on October 24, 
1852, the same paper was deeply set in double-column turned rule. 

DEATH OF PRESIDENT WILLIAM HENRY HARRISON. 

President W. H. Harrison died at Washington on the 4th of April, 
1 84 1. thirty minutes before one o'clock in the morning. Everywhere the 
national bereavement was deplored by Whigs and Democrats .alike, and ser- 
vices were held throughout the length and breadth of the land. In Cam- 
bridge, according to the Guernsey Times of April 10, 1841, a discourse upon 
the life, public services and character of William Henry Harrison was de- 
livered by Rev. James Drummond, at the Methodist Episcopal church, on the 
evening of Wednesday, April 14th, at early candle lighting. 

president Lincoln's assassination. 

"On Saturday last, about eight o'clock A. M., the sad intelligence of 
the death of President Lincoln reached this place. Sorrow was depicted upon 
every countenance as soon as it was known that the chief magistrate of the 
nation was ho more. All felt the common calamity, and men of every shade 
of political opinion mourned the loss of the dead President. The bells of 
the village, whose iron tongues the day before had rung out their joyful 
peals, now tolled a solemn requiem through the weary hours. Flags that had 
floated gaily were clothed in mourning and drooped listlessly upon the sodden 
air. The elements were in harmony with the general grief, and the sky was 
overcast with dark and lowering clouds, which mingled their tears with tbose 
of the bereaved people. 

"In the afternoon a prayer-meeting was held in the Town Hall, where 
solemn and impressive prayers were made by Reverend Milligan and others. 

"On Sabbath day another meeting was held in the same place, when 



390 GUERNSEY COUNTY, OHIO. 

speeches were made by Reverends Ellison, Forsythe and McConnell. The 
remarks of the former gentleman were well-timed and appropriate, but we 
are sorry to say that in the midst of the general grief, Mr. McConnell in- 
dulged in remarks better suited to a political meeting than the solemn occasion 
for which the people had assembled." 

DEATH OF PRESIDENT GARFIELD. 

For the second time in the history of this county, the citizens were called 
upon to mourn the death of a President, who had fallen at the hands of an 
assassin. It was in September, 1881. The news spread quickly and sorrow 
was intense. All business was suspended in Cambridge. Public memorial 
services were held. The bells of the city tolled and the streets were draped in 
mourning emblems for the dead President — a beloved citizen and native son 
of Ohio. Services were held at the United Presbyterian church and at the 
Presbyterian church. These places were heavily draped in black, intermingled 
with the flag. A motto was displayed reading: "God reigns, the nation 
lives," which were Garfield's words in Xew York city in trying to quell the 
mob after the assassination of Lincoln, and which words now became appro- 
priate in his own case. Remarks were made by Professor McBurney, Rev- 
erend Young, Rev. Hyde Forsythe, Rev. B. Y. Siegford, Reverend Darrow, 
Judge Tingle and Col C. P. B. Sarchet. This was at the United Presbyterian 
church. 

At the Presbyterian church impressive services were held and the Ma- 
sonic bodies were out in force. Prayer was offered by S. J. McMahon, Esq., 
and by Reverend Milligan. A song was rendered by Prof. John H. Sarchet 
entitled, ''We'll Not Forget Our Buckeye Boy;" he was assisted by the Ma- 
sonic Glee Club. Benediction was pronounced by Rev. E. S. Hoagland. 

Services were at the same time held at the African Methodist Episcopal 
church, Reverend Johnston officiating and made the point clear that mourning 
was not for a white man's President, neither a black man's President, but for 
"our President." 

president's grant's memorial services. 

When Gen. U. S. Grant, the soldier-President and retired fellow citi- 
zen, another son of Ohio soil, had passed to the other shore, this county, in 
common with the entire country, were again in deep sorrow. Though not 
as sudden as other public calamities, for ex-President Grant had long suf- 
fered and bis death was thought to lie inevitable, yet here in Guernsey, where 



GUERNSEY COUNTY, OHIO. 39 1 

there were so many of his old army comrades and political friends, the news 
was hard to realize — the man of an iron will who had marched to victory on 
many a well fought field, and he who, after the war closed, had said: "Let 
us have peace" — the man who had heen around the glohe and admired by all 
peoples and tribes, finally had to succumb to the cold hand of death. On 
August 8, 1885, at the hour when his body was being lowered into the grave, 
memorial services were being held throughout the entire country. At Cam- 
bridge the bells all tolled while Grant's remains were being lowered to the 
earth at Riverside, in New York. Soon after two P. M. the Grand Army of 
the Republic, with draped banners and flags, fell into line, headed by the Cam- 
bridge Band. They passed to School Park, where a stand had been erected. 
There might have been seen a picture of the illustrious American soldier- 
President, surrounded by flags and crepe. The orator of the occasion was 
Capt. J. B. Ferguson. Prayer was offered by Reverend Jennings. Dis- 
patches were read from time to time, as the body of Grant was being taken 
to its last resting place and while it was being lowered to the vault at River- 
side. 

Like services were held at Byesville, Cumberland, Fairview, Quaker City 
and other places in the county. 

DEATH OF PRESIDENT WILLIAM m'kINLEY. 

Again, in Septemher. 1901. President McKinley, in extending- his hand 
to a supposed friend, while visiting the great Pan-American Exposition, at 
Buffalo, Xew York, was shot by an assassin and only survived eight days, the 
date of his death being September 14. 1901. Memorial services were held in 
this count} - . In Cambridge, at the Methodist Episcopal church, old and 
young filled the house to overflowing. Many of those present had met in like 
services at Hie death of the lamented Lincoln and Garfield. Church bells 
tolled solemnly, and black and white draperies were in evidence throughout 
the entire city. The floral offerings were all pure white. Mayor Baxter had 
charge and welcomed the speakers. The front seats were reserved for the 
old soldiers, including the Grand Army of the Republic, with its banners 
draped in black. Doctor Milligan spoke touching]}- of the unspotted life and, 
above all. of his beautiful love and tenderness for Mrs. McKinley. during the 
years of her long illness or infirmity. 

Resolutions were passed which contained these words, significant in 
themselves : 

"Resolved, Most sincerely do we record our confidence and pride in him 



39 2 GUERNSEY COUNTY, OHIO. 

as a man; our admiration for his unspotted life and character, and above all, 
our love for him because of his tender care of Mrs. McKinley during her 
long years of infirmity. 

"Resolved, That in his death our hearts are filled with an untold sorrow. 
In this sad hour we have ceased to be Republicans, Democrats, Prohibition- 
ists and Populists — Northern, Southern — but are simply American citizens of 
a bereaved country, mourning a common loss." 

SARCHET BROTHERS AND THEIR BIBLE. 

"It is well known here that the Sarchets. who were among the first set- 
tlers of Guernsey county, came from the isle of Guernsey, but we have an 
item of their history beyond that. The original Sarchets were natives of 
France, and during the Huguenot persecution two of the brothers were con- 
verted from Catholicism and purchased a Protestant Bible, Calvin's trans- 
lation to the French. Information was given to the priests that they were in 
possession of this book, and to avoid arrest and punishment by the Inquisi- 
tion they fled with the 'Word' to the island of Guernsey for safety. From 
these heads sprang the two branches of the Sarchet family in this county, and 
all of the name that we know anything about. To this day that same old 
Bible remains intact, and is in the possession of Mrs. R. M. Beatty in Cam- 
bridge. It is fully three hundred years old, and was brought to this place by 
the oldest Thomas Sarchet known to this country, in 1806, who was in the 
line of descent of the two brothers and who was awarded the custody of the 
same. It is considered of great value as a family relic, and the older mem- 
bers still inquire for the 'old book' whenever they visit Mrs. Beatty." — In 
the Times, January, 1875. 

AN OLD BRIDGE. 

Just where the Cumberland and Senecaville creeks unite to form Wills 
creek, on the old Pike road, between Buffalo (or Hartford) and Derwent. 
is a very old bridge, said to be almost as old as the famous old bridge in 
Cambridge. The details of its construction, its exact age, or any data con- 
cerning it are unknown to the writer. It will be torn down the coming sea- 
son and a new steel bridge constructed in its place. 



CHAPTER XXXIX. 

GENERAL REMINISCENCES PIONEER INCIDENTS. 

In this chapter will be found several Interesting reminiscences by Col. 

C. P. B. Sarchet and others who have been life-long residents of the county. 

The Cambridge Times of September, 1825, contained this advertisement: 

"salt for wheat. 

"Wheat will be taken in exchange for salt, at the subscriber's works on 
Wills creek, five miles below Cambridge, at the rate of one and a half bushels 
of wheat for one of salt. "David Sarchet & Co. 

"September 2, 1825." 

the old. mill. 

The following record was made of the old mill and of going away for 
salt to get milling done, at an early day, in one of the Cambridge papers by 
the author several years since : 

In what year the old Gomber mill, located on Wills creek, near the junc- 
tion of the Baltimore & Ohio and Columbus & Marietta railways, south of 
the Cambridge cemetery, was erected, is not now certainly known. At the 
time it was built there were two sites in view, the other one at the head of 
Cedar ripple, north of Cambridge on the Colonel Taylor farm. It was claimed 
this was the preferable site as there was a longer straight stretch of the 
creek. The abrupt turn in the creek at the site finally selected, it was thought, 
would give trouble with the dam. This theory was correct and the cutting 
away of the bank may yet be seen. 

The old toll bridge was built of logs and puncheons, but the Bridge house, 
built in 1810-11 was a frame structure. The sawed lumber for it was pre- 
pared at the Gomber mill. One of the conditions as to completing the first 
county jail, built in 1810 was "the stage of water at the Gomber mill." There 
is a record in the commissioners' journal of 18 10, of the road leading to the 
Gomber mill. This authentic history makes it certain the mill was built prior 
to the year 1810. 



394 GUERNSEY COUNTY, OHIO. 

FLOUR AND SALT. 

A corn and saw mill was first erected. The first essentials of the pioneer 
settlers were flour of some sort and salt. To procure these was attended with 
the danger of long pack horse journeys along the trails through the wilder- 
ness. The nearest mill to Cambridge was called "Steers Mill," located on 
Short creek in Jefferson county. It required four days to make the journey 
with pack horses. Provisions for the journey had to be carried and some- 
times the carrier had to wait a day or two days for his turn when the mill 
was thronged. The flour and meal were inferior to the products of today, 
but they were a decided improvement over the products of the hand mills. 
Men preferred the long, tedious pack horse journey to a mill to the laborious 
grinding of the hand mill. Turning the grind stone was the boys' work in 
the harvest times when the cradle and the scythe were the harvesting imple- 
ments. The boys, now sixty years old, recollect this back breaking exercise. 

The nearest salt works were at Pittsburg, or the old Scioto salt works 
in what is now Jackson county, Ohio. To go there for salt was. a long and 
dangerous journey, and this salt at best was a dirty, black article, costing 
from two dollars and fifty cents to four dollars a bushel of fifty pounds. It 
was at the wells in Jackson county that the first salt in Ohio was made. It is 
known that salt Was made there in 1755 by the Indians. Of the manufacture 
of this salt, an account is given in the life of Daniel Boone, who in his boy- 
hood was a prisoner among the Indians, and was compelled to work at the 
wells in g'etting out and boiling the water. Jonathan Alder, who was a pris- 
oner among the Seneca Indians for fifteen years, says he helped to make salt 
with the Indians at these wells. A reservation six miles square of these salt 
lands was made by the state, and the Legislature, in 1804, passed an act 
providing for the leasing of these lands by the state. 

"The "Old Salt-Boiler," Thomas Ewing, and Hon. Samuel F. Vinton, 
were in later years engaged in salt manufacture at these works. The wells 
were sunk down to the salt rock, giving water of great strength. The first 
well was not more than thirty feet deep. Samuel F. Vinton was the first 
Whig candidate for governor of Ohio, under the present constitution, and 
was defeated by Hon. Reuben Wood, Democrat, who was the last g'overnor 
under the old constitution. Hon. Samuel F. Vinton was a "French Yan- 
kee," born in Massachusetts. The French name was Vintoine. He married 
Romaine Madaline Bureau, a daughter of one of the French settlers at Galli- 
polis. His daughter, Madeline Vinton, was the wife of Commodore Dahl- 
gren, the inventor of the Dahlgren gun. Mr. Vinton, when in Congress, was 



GUERNSEY COUNTY, OHIO. 395 

the author of the bill creating the department of the interior, and Hon. 
Thomas Ewing was the first secretary of the department. 

PACK SADDLE. 

There was a term in use in the early days: "Shooting with a pack- 
saddle." Pack-saddles were made with two forks, usually of dogwood, as it 
was not apt to split. These were selected of such shape as not to rest 
upon the horse's withers, or vertebrae. They were fastened to boards of 
the proper length. The boards rested upon the horse's back, and were either 
padded or underlaid with sheep skins. On the saddles, the sacks were not 
liable to slip, and when well covered with sheep skins, made a good substitute 
for a saddle. The open seated saddles of today are an improvement on the 
old pack-saddles. 

A packer made a journey to the Scioto salt works, and had to stay there 
over night. His pack-saddle was a rough affair, and during the night the 
workmen would burn them up. Failing to find his saddle in the morning, 
the packer, believing the workmen had burned it, went away, determined upon 
revenge. He made a saddle and loaded it with power, neatly plugging the 
holes. The next time he visited the salt works, be gave little care to his 
saddle, and remained over night in a cabin near the works. Not long after 
he lay down there was a loud report and a great commotion among the em- 
ployes. Kettles had been blown from the furnace. The packer was not 
alarmed. He had demonstrated what had become of his other saddle, and 
had had his revenge. And this is the origin of the saying, "Shooting with a 
pack-saddle." 

AN INDIAN WEDDING. 

Alexander McCracken, when a young man, once was the witness of an 
Indiana wedding, at which several fiery "bucks" were united in wedlock 
with an equal number of befeathered "squaws." The Indian chief. "'White 
Eyes," so named because of the peculiar color of his eyes, went through a 
tremendous ceremony of gibberish, to which the painted "children of nature" 
listened with rapt attention. At the end of the ceremony, he repeated the 
following rather neat couplet : 

"By the power and by the laws 
I marry these Indians to these squaws, 
Over the hills and through the levels 
Salute your brides, you ugly devils." 



396 GUERNSEY COUNTY, OHIO. 

EARLY WHISKEY-DOG TRIAL. 

The following is from the pen of the author, as published a few years 
since in the Cambridge Timess 

"Your occasional correspondent, H. C. Black, of Freeport, is perhaps 
our age. Judging from his name, Henry Clay, he was born about the time 
of the great Clay and Jackson campaign of 1828. His father, Joseph Black. 
Esq., was one of the early Whigs of Guernsey county. We remember well 
when he lived in a double cabin north of Cambridge, Ohio, on land now 
owned by Col. J. D. Taylor. There had been in early days a 'still house' 
near the cabin. It may be that H. C. B. has some unwritten history of that 
day. Old John Sarchet was the original proprietor of the three four-acre 
lots on North Eighth street, Cambridge, Ohio, now owned by the Rev. Dr. 
McFarland, O. M. Hoge and John M. Ogier. On the Hoge lot he had a 
'still house,' for making whiskey, using the water of the now famous spring 
that has afforded water in abundance for many purposes in Cambridge, and 
perhaps in the whiskey-making days this water was not spared in giving the 
rye and corn whiskey a 'bead.' 

"John Sarchet built a two-room log cabin near the 'still house." In the 
cabin lived old Robert Bell and his family. The head of this family is buried 
in the old graveyard, aged one hundred and seven years. William Ferguson, 
the grandfather of the Fergusons of Cambridge of today, boarded with the 
Bell family. They were connected by marriage relations. Ferguson managed 
the still house for John Sarchet. Some years after John Sarchet left Cam- 
bridge, the lots were sold, and the 'still house' lot came into the possession of 
Wyatt Hutchison. At that time, the still house had been abandoned. Wyatt 
Hutchison's sister, Catherine, with the daughters of a brother, John Hutchi- 
son, occupied the cabin. The spring and cabin came to be called 'Kittie Hutch- 
ison's.' She had a sort of half-wolf dog. that would bounce out into the 
road, and sometimes nip footmen and horses. Old 'Jim' Jenkins, a shoe- 
maker, who lived on the Guernsey bridge, on Wills creek, came into town one 
day to get family supplies and leather, riding an old family horse. When 
readv to start home, late in the evening, he had his leather tied behind the 
saddle, and the family supplies in one end of a three-bushel sack, and a 
gallon jug of whiskey in the other for an 'evener.' This sack was thrown 
over the saddle. Jenkins was usually 'full' when he started for home, and 
this time he 'just had plenty.' He mounted his old nag and started for home. 
On passing Kitty Hutchison's the dog bounced out and scared the old nag. 
He jumped to one side, and the roll of leather flapped, and he jumped again, 



GUERNSEY COUNTY, OHIO. ^)~ 

and off went Jenkins and the sack. In the midst of a good deal of swearing, 
he gathered himself up out of the wreck, and examining the sack found that 
the jug was broken and the whiskey gone. This raised his Irish ire to a 
white heat and he vowed to kill the dog. He selected a good shillalah from 
the wood pile nearby and, opening the gate, entered the yard. The dog 
made at him, and he gave it a whack that sent it howling into the house, which 
alarmed the inmates. Jenkins proceeded to follow on his errand of death. 
He was met at the door by old John Hutchison, with the 'pokin' stick,' a stick 
used in cabins to move the logs of wood in the fireplace. The old man was 
prepared to defend his castle. Jenkins struck at Hutchison in his ire, which 
old John resented by giving Jenkins a crack over the head. Jenkins re- 
treated to the road, and a war of words was entered into by both men and 
women. Jenkins finally gathered up his wreck sack and followed after his 
nag, which was making its way home. This occurred on Saturday night. 
Early on Monday morning Jenkins appeared before 'Squire W. W. Tracy, and 
caused the issuing of a writ for assault and battery and damages. When the 
day of trial came the Hutchisons swore out a writ of assault and trespass. 
What was the result, we don't now remember, but this was one of the noted 
dog-and-whisky trials in the early history of Cambridge." 

county's pioneers (no. i). 
(Herald, November 12, 1902.) 

The early Guernsey emigrants had a two months' voyage on the ocean, 
in a frail bark, and a land journey of almost two months, before they reached 
their goal, not to rest, but to enter into a new and laborious work, to trans- 
form the wilderness into places of habitation. 

Their ocean voyage was one full of perils. Their frail bark, called the 
"Eliza." was not fitted for the ocean service, and its captain, William Mc- 
Crindell, was a distant relative of the Guernsey families who were on board. 
He was a son-in-law of Peter Sarchet, who settled in Cambridge in 1S18. 
and purchased a large body of land east of the town, on which is now lo- 
cated the Cambridge Pottery, tin mill, glass works, Improvement Company's 
addition and the Rue de Sarchet addition to the city of Cambridge. His name 
will be found in the old records of the county, connected with the Peter Sar- 
chet estate. 

During the voyage, the ship was becalmed for eight days in midocean. 
There was neither wind nor wave. The sails were tacked in every direction 



39§ GUERNSEY COUNTY, OHIO. 

to catch the least breeze, but none came. In the midst of the calm the captain 
kept beastly drunk. The calm Was followed by a terrible storm, lasting for 
many days and nights. The drunken captain rode the bridge, in his drunken 
and delirious condition, and the ship was being drifted at the mercy of tbe 
waves far out of its proper course. A meeting of the crew and emigrants 
was called in the forecastle. It was decided to ask the captain to give up 
the command of the ship. This he would not do. and all the while the ship 
was being drifted farther from its course. A second meeting was called, and 
it was decided to catch and handcuff him, and chain him in his cabin. This 
was done, and it was decided that John Sarchet and the mate should take 
charge of the ship. John Sarchet had had some experience as a sailor, and the 
two, acting in concert, succeeded in safely riding the storm, and after many 
days cast anchor at Norfolk, Virginia. At Norfolk the captain was set at 
liberty, and the ship sailed up the Chesapeake bay, for Baltimore, Maryland, 
which was the objective point of the voyage. At Baltimore preparations for 
the land journey were made. Horses and wagons and provisions were pro- 
cured, and at midday they passed up Howard street, on the 14th of June, 
1806, the sun being in total eclipse and the town in partial darkness, lamps 
lighted on the streets and candles burning in the houses and places of business. 
For the first two hundred miles they traveled the "Old Braddock" road, 
engineered by Col. George Washington, and later known as the National 
road. As they were passing through the Alleghany mountains, they came 
upon a waif, a girl fourteen or fifteen years old, sitting by the roadside, 
crying. She gave her name as Betty Pallet, and said she had no home or 
relations, and that she had run away from a Catholic school somewhere in 
Pennsylvania. They took pity on the homeless girl, and brought her with 
them to Cambridge. 

After crossing the Ohio river, they went into camp in the Wheeling 
creek bottom. Thus far the journey had been one of almost continuous rains 
and storms, impeding their progress by washouts on the road and by large 
trees being blown into and over the road. Few, if any, wagons had passed 
on that line as far as the Ohio river. Most of the travel was by way of Pitts- 
burg, and down the Ohio by boats, and west from the river by pack-horses. 
Thev were rejoiced to see the sun shining once more. Now, amid the sun- 
shine, the women began to wash their soiled clothing. If there was any "one 
thing that a Guernsey Woman despised more than another it was dirt. They 
opened their boxes and dried and aired the contents. They seemed to feel 
that a new life was before them, and they sang around their campfires the 
melodies of their far-awav island home. The men and boys of the party 



GUERNSEY COUNTY, OHIO. 399 

assisted the farmers on the Wheeling creek valley to dry out their damaged 
wheat and get it into ricks and to harvest their oats, much of which had to 
be cut with a sickle. From the creek valley Thomas Sarchet, on horseback, 
followed the Zane Trace west as far as Chillicothe. On his return to the 
camp, preparation was made for their further journey. Their horses were 
well rested, and had fared finely on the wild pea vines and the rich wild 
grasses of the valley. When all was in readiness for the start, the horses 
soon showed that they would rather browse on the Wheeling creek bottoms 
than haul wagons. In order to get up Wheeling hill, they had to hire an 
extra team to help. Late at night they reached Newell' s tavern, at Newells- 
town, now St. Clairsville. It was then raining, and had been for a good part 
of the afternoon. The next day it rained all day, and they remained at the 
tavern. That day an extra team of four horses and wagon was hired. The 
loads were adjusted the next morning, and a start made. Along in the after- 
noon a fearful storm came on. thunder and lightning and wind sweeping 
through the forest, felling trees, which hedged up the road in many places, 
washing out the ravines and runs so that log bridges had to be made to fill 
them up. The two Stillwater creeks had risen too high for fording, and 
they were compelled to lay by a day until they receded. They had left 
Wheeling creek bottom early on Monday, and it was late on Saturday after- 
noon when they drove down the Zane Trace, which was north of the original 
town plat of Cambridge, and went into camp on now North Fifth street, 
and some distance north of Steubenville avenue. 

county's pioneers (no. 2). 

(Herald, November 19, 1902.) 

Early on Sunday morning, John Beatty, Jacob Gomber and Grayham, 
who lived in the cabins at the crossing of the Zane Trace over Wills creek, 
were surprised to see smoke rising up through the forest on the north. There 
were at that time but two houses erected on the town plat, both hewed log 
houses, located on Main street, now Wheeling avenue. The John Beatty 
house was located where the Cambridge wholesale grocery is located, and 
the Judge Metcalf house, afterward the noted tavern, was located where now 
is the Stoner block. It was then in an unfinished state. It was the custom 
of the Guernsey settlers to rest on Sunday. The three men, Beatty, Gomber 
and Grayham. at once visited the camp, and were surprised to see these strange 
looking and strangely dressed people, composed in all of men, women and 
children to the number of twenty-six. The women, with short dresses and 



400 GUERNSEY COUNTY, OHIO. 

short gowns, belted around the waist, with large frilled caps on their heads, 
were busy about the campfire, preparing their frugal morning meal. The 
horses were hobbled, and browsing among the bushes, and the men, with 
smock frocks, short breeches, to which were attached long stockings, with 
heavy shoes, and white, broad-brimmed wool hats, were moving about the 
wagons talking a strange language. John Sarchet was the most fluent with 
the English tongue, and made the visitors to understand that they were 
Norman-French, from the island of Guernsey, in Europe, seeking homes in 
the new country. On this day of rest and sunshine, August 15, 1806, they 
sang hymns of thanksgiving and rejoicing, written and compiled by Jean De 
Caueteville, of the Wesleyan Methodist church. The French hymn book of 
Thomas Sarchet the writer has in his possession, published in 1785, having on 
the preface the endorsement of John Wesley. 

On this Sabbath day, for the first time the strains of a Methodist hymn 
echoed through the Wilderness at Cambridge, Ohio. During the day, the 
three resident families of the town visited the camp of those strange looking 
emigrants. The writer heard some of them say in after years how strange 
they were in look, dress and language. These early first settlers had spent 
two years almost entirely isolated from the world. They were rejoiced to 
see the Guernsey people, the first who had come to Cambridge since their 
settlement in it, and the Guernsey people were pleased to find these strangers 
so friendly. 

Before night, the Guernsey people looked upon a stranger people than 
they, the Indians, and soon were daily visited by the Indian women, carrying 
their papooses tied to a board, and swung on their backs. 

On Monday morning the women decided that they would wash their 
clothing. Their camp was near the now Lofland run, and between two large 
flowing springs. In the afternoon, after the washing was done, the camp 
was again visited by the women and children of the resident families of the 
town, who used all the persuasive power that their language permitted in 
urging the women to stop and settle in the new town. After their call at 
the camp, the women held the first Woman's rights convention perhaps in the 
state of Ohio, and decided that they would go no further west. In the mean- 
time, the men were looking about the staked-off town and the out-lots. Only 
the main street. Wheeling avenue, had the underbrush cut out of it. When 
they returned to the camp, the women reported their action. The men pro- 
tested, but their protest was of no avail. When a Guernsey woman puts her 
Foot down.. it is there. The dye was cast and Cambridge was to be the 
Guernsey town, and the name of Guernsey county was to perpetuate their 
memory. 



GUERNSEY COUNTY, OHIO. 40 1 

They at once began to select lots and out-lots. Peter Sarchet chose the 
two lots west of the public square, on West Eighth street, fronting on Main; 
Thomas Sarchet chose two lots east and west of North Seventh street, front- 
ing on Main; John Sarchet chose the lot opposite, now the Carnes corner; 
Peter Sarchet chose out-lot No. 6, now the Judge Campbell addition to the 
city; Thomas Sarchet chose six out-lots on North Tenth street, now the old 
Orchard, McCollum and Meredith's addition to the city; John Sarchet chose 
three out-lots on North Eighth street, now the McFarland, Bond & Company 
and Ogier additions to the city. Two of Thomas Sarchet's out-lots and one 
of John's were, as soon as cleared, planted in apple trees, brought on horse- 
back from the Putnam nursery at Marietta. These orchards were the first 
at Cambridge, and included varieties rarely seen at this day, Putnam Russets, 
Rhode Island Greenings, English Peannain, Old Blue Streak, Golden Pippin, 
Pomme Royal, English Belleflower. Newtown Pippin and others. 

The next thing was to provide shelter for the coming winter. They con- 
tinued in the camp, to which was added a brush tent, until the first cabin was 
erected. This was built on the northeast corner of the west lot on Seventh 
street, now the Carnes' livery stable corner. As soon as it was erected, before 
it had either floor, door or chimney, they moved from the camp up to it. In it 
were stored their boxes, chests and utensils, which were sparse. Near the 
cabin, where the trees were cut, the brush was piled, and the women raked up 
the leaves and burned the brush, and in the cleared space they raked and dug 
in turnip seed. The turnips grew large and afforded all of the vegetables they 
had during the winter. I have heard my uncles and aunts tell how they sat 
around the big wood fire in the long winter nights, and scraped turnips, and 
listened to the fierce winds sweeping through the trees, while packs of wolves 
howled around the cabin. The second cabin was erected on the southeast 
corner of the now old Orchard addition to the city. 

While engaged in erecting this cabin, on the day of the "raising," in the 
afternoon. Betty Pallet was left at the first cabin in charge of the children. 
All hands, men, women and children, who could lift or push at a log, were 
needed at the cabin raising. In the evening, when they returned to the 
first cabin, they found that some person had been rummaging in the chests 
and boxes, and from one of the chests a sack of gold coin was missing. Betty 
was questioned. She denied having opened or searched the chests or boxes, 
or of anyone being about the cabin, or that she had left the cabin. A theft 
had evidently been committed, but by whom was yet to be found out. You 
may bet there was a "hot old time" in the Guernsey camp that night. 

(26) 



CIKRXSEY COUNTY, OHIO. 



county's pioneers (no. 3). 



(Herald, November 2G, 1902. 



Suspicion rested on Betty. She was guarded during the night. In the 
morning search was made everywhere, in and out of the cabin, and around 
the stumps, logs and roots or trees, but the sack of coin could not be found. 
Word was sent to John Beatty and Jacob Gomber, who came to the camp, 
and with them some men they had in their employ. Of these were George 
Philips and Isaac Oldham. A statement was made of the loss of the coin, 
and as Guernseymen could not in English fully cross-examine Betty, she was 
turned over to Beatty and Gomber to pass through the "sweat box." During 
this examination Betty again protested her innocence, and that she knew noth- 
ing of the sack of coin. Some one on going for water found the sack of coin 
sunk in the spring. This spring is located on the northeast corner of Peter 
Dennis's lot on North Fifth street. When the sack was brought to the cabin, 
Betty still denied knowing anything about it, or of how it got into the spring. 
A statement was made that Betty had in the afternoon done an unusual thing; 
she had carried from the spring enough water for all purposes, so that no 
one would have to get water for use about the supper or cabin that night. 
After further questioning, Betty confessed that she had taken the sack to the 
spring, and intended to go to it during the night, and make off with it through 
the wood. Where she intended to get to she never divulged. Now came the 
question of what to do with Betty. There was no township organization at 
Cambridge, nor justice of the peace nearer than Zanesville. Muskingum 
county had just been formed, and had no jail or place for imprisonment. 
John Beatty and Jacob Gomber, acting as a court, decided that Beatty, having 
betrayed the trust committed to her by those who had befriended her and 
provided protection in a time of need, should be whipped and driven out of 
the camp and town. This action was taken from the fact that but a short 
time before, two men, taken as counterfeiters, were publicly whipped at 
Zanesville by George Beymer. sheriff, one receiving twenty-five lashes and 
the other thirty-nine lashes, on their bare backs, well laid on. Peter Sarchet 
was appointed to" do the whipping, on Betty's bare back, which he did with 
a hickory rod, and Betty was started out into the wilderness just at nightfall, 
like Hagar. "from the faces of those who had dealt heavily with her." She 
was never heard of afterward, but it was supposed that she made her way 
along the Zane Trace to a Catholic settlement located in what is now Perry 
county, Ohio. I was seated at the bedside of a dying uncle, who was twelve 
years old at the time of the whipping and witnessed it. He turned over in the 



GUERNSEY COUNTi', OHIO. 4O3 

bed and said,: "I do wonder what became of little Betty Pallet." I re- 
marked, "Who was Betty Pallet." Then he related the story as above, and of 
Betty being found wandering- in the mountains. Is it any wonder that that 
old Christian man, eighty-four years old, who died the next day, should turn 
back in thought to that boyhood scene in the wilderness, seeing Betty's bare 
back, the welts and the blood? Certainly it seemed to him barbarous and in- 
human treatment, as it would to us, yet such treatment was lawful punish- 
ment for crime in those days of Ohio. Judge William Wilson, of Licking 
county, who was the first judge of the common pleas court of Guernsey 
county, was known throughout his district as the "whipping judge." Whip- 
ping posts were erected in every county. On the southwest corner of the 
public square, the whipping post of Guernsey county was erected, and was 
standing within the memory of the writer, used as a horse rack. After the 
formation of Guernsey county, Samuel Timmons. who was convicted on two 
counts of "uttering base coin," was tied to the post and publicly whipped on 
the bare back, thirty-nine lashes well laid on, on two different days, by order 
of Judge William Wilson. 

Game of all kinds was plentiful, and could be had from the Indians in 
exchange for powder, tobacco and "whis." Beal laws were not yet. These 
settlers had procured guns, and the boys soon became expert hunters and 
could tell in after years of bringing down the bears, deer and turkeys. One 
of the guns was a long-barrel rifle, with a flint lock, that would carry an ounce 
ball. This gun was later the property of an old uncle. It was historic, hav- 
ing passed through the war of 1S12, and the writer carried it to the front 
when Governor Tod called out the "squirrel rifle men," to check the rebel 
Gen. Kirbv Smith, on his raid to invade Cincinnati. 

There was an abundance of wild grapes, crab apples, plums and papaws, 
which afforded some luxuries, but sugar was a luxury almost beyond price, 
and the grapes, crab apples and plums were only brought out upon great 
occasions. Thomas and John Sarchet made trips to Pittsburg, Pennsylvania, 
with pack horses, carrying back all needed supplies such as flour, that was 
gotten at a mill on Yellow creek in Jefferson county, Ohio, salt, coffee, tea, 
etc., as also iron and steel to be worked up into axes, mattocks, hoes and nails. 
John Sarchet was a blacksmith. Peter Sarchet was a carpenter, and dressed 
the puncheon floors, made the clap-board doors, with wooden hinges, door 
latches, which answered the double purpose of latch and lock. The latch 
string out. by pulling gave entrance; latch string in. locked the door. In 
the cabins were the corner dressers, where the women displayed their silver, 
pewter and brass plate, pots and kettles. In the first cabin, the families of 



4O4 GUERNSEY COUNTY, OHIO. 

Thomas and John Sarchet, in all fourteen, passed the first winter. In the 
second cabin, the families of Peter Sarchet and Daniel Ferbrache, in all 
twelve. My uncles have told me that the beds were three stories high, made 
of poles set up in the corners, and that some nights the covering of snow kept 
those in the upper tier warm, and that it was hard to tell where there was the 
most snow, out of doors or in the cabin. 

county's pioneers (no. 4). 

During the winter and spring, preparation was made for the erection 
of larger and better houses. The logs were all hewed and hauled to the sites. 
Stone was hauled for the foundations, so that by the last of June they were 
ready to commence the buildings. 

The second colony came on in the latter part of June, 1807. Howe, in 
his "History of Ohio," gives the coming of the Guernsey settlers all in June, 
1806, and that when they arrived at Cambridge, it was the day of a public 
sale of lots. That is not correct history. It was the coming of the second 
colony that gave rise to that story. There never was a public sale of lots. 
The first deeds made to any one of lots in Cambridge were to the Guernsey 
settlers, and they are dated September 9, 1807, and are acknowledged before 
Hans Morrison, who was a justice of the peace at Westbourne, now Zanes- 
ville, Muskingum county, Ohio, and are of record in Muskingum county, and 
by transfer of record, in Guernsey county, after its formation. 

The first house to be built was that of Thomas Sarchet, a large two-and- 
a-half-story house, corner of Main and Pine streets, now Seventh and Wheel- 
ing avenue. Later there was an L frame attached to it, fronting on Seventh 
street. The history of this house, which was torn away at different times, I 
have heretofore given. It stood for three-quarters of a century, a land- 
mark of pioneer days, and its history, if fully completed, would be a history 
of Cambridge, from the wilderness to city full. Its place is taken by the 
Mathews, Clark and Broom business blocks. This old corner was always a 
business corner. The old house represents the first house in Cambridge, 
opened in 1808. The next was the John Sarchet house, on the opposite side 
of Main street, a one-story hewed log house. This house was also a land- 
mark for many years, and was made notable as the restaurant of Isaac Nis- 
wander, as notable in its day to Cambridge as Delmonico's to New York 
City. John Sarchet later built a brick house on the west corner, one among 
the first built in Cambridge. These two houses were his residences until he 
removed to Philadelphia in the early twenties. After his removal to Phila- 



GUERNSEY COUNTY, OHIO. 4O5 

delphia, he was largely engaged in the manufacture of ship's irons, chain 
cables, anchors, etc. There seem to have been unions at that time. The Con- 
gressional Records of 1833-34 show that he represented the "Iron Masters 
Union of Pennsylvania," before the ways and means committee of Congress, 
of which Henry Clay was chairman. He made a report in opposition to Mr. 
Clay's tariff bill, as it affected the iron workers of Pennsylvania. Henry 
Clay, in his speech in favor of his tariff bill, made an attack on John Sar- 
chet's report read before the committee. He charged him with being a native 
of the island of Guernsey, and that the principal business of its inhabitants 
was smuggling, and said that John Sarchet came before the committee of' 
ways and means with dirty hands. Albert Galliten, of Pennsylvania, in reply 
to Mr. Clay, defended John Sarchet and his report, and declared Mr. Clay 
had not answered it, nor could it be answered, and said if John Sarchet came 
before the ways and means committee with "dirty hands," they were hands 
made dirty with honest toil. 

The next was Peter Sarchet's house on the first lot west of the public 
square on Main street. It was a two-story hewed log house, built near the 
centre of the lot, fronting to the east with a porch on that front full length 
of the building. He later sold to George J. Jackson, who was in some way 
connected with the Wyatt Hutchison family. He died in the house, and his 
widow remarried. Mrs. Sarah Baldwin lived in it and died in it within the 
memory of the writer. After the formation of Guernsey county, the two 
upper rooms of the house were used for county offices, and were occupied by 
the clerk, recorder, commissioners, sheriff and collector. 

In 1826, while thus occupied, during the night it caught fire from a de- 
fective chimney, wood being used for fuel. The fire was discovered by a 
passerby, who gave the alarm. The fire had not made much headway and 
was soon put out. Some of the logs behind the chimney were burnt off, and 
others charred into charcoal. But for this midnight passerby, the building 
and all of the county records would have been destroyed. The county com- 
missioners, William McCracken, Turner G. Brown and William D. Frame, 
decided to erect two fireproof offices west of and connecting with the old court 
house. These were of brick, arched over head with brick, and floored with 
brick. One was for the auditor and commissioners, and the other for the 
clerk and recorder. Daniel Hubert, father of A. J., of this city, painted the 
sign, costing five dollars. The first to occupy these offices were the com- 
missioners above named, and Robert B. Moore, auditor, and Moses Sarchet, 
appointed to succeed C. P. Beatty, clerk, and Jacob G. Metcalf, recorder. 

Peter Sarchet, after he sold his property, removed to the "old salt 



4-06 GUERNSEY COUNTY, OHIO. 

works," in Muskingum county, later known as the Chandler salt works, where 
the three brothers were engaged in the manufacture of salt. These salt 
springs, or seeps, had been used by the Indians in a very primitive manner 
for making salt. The Sarchets sunk a well, to obtain more and stronger salt 
brine, on the sayso of the Chandlers, who were then the owners of the land. 
This venture did not improve or strengthen the salt water, and after some 
years of hard labor, with but little profit, they threw up their lease, which 
they had from the Chandlers, before its expiration, the result of which were 
law suits by the Sarchets against the Chandlers for misrepresentations, and 
•a suit by the Chandlers to compel a fulfillment of the lease, and the result 
was, a loss to all hands and the engendering of bad blood. 

Some years later the Chandlers began the boring of a well, and while 
engaged at the work, a hoax was perpetrated, which is set down in Ohio 
history as "The Disastrous Hoax." What is given here is condensed from 
Hildreth's history. In 1820 Samuel Chandler was boring a salt well near 
Chandlersville, nine miles southeast of Zanesville. Some ill-disposed person 
dropped into the well some pieces of silver, and when the borings were 
brought up. the sand when examined proved to be rich with silver. The dis- 
covery of a silver mine spread like wildfire. A company was soon formed, 
incorporated, and called, "The Muskingum Silver Mining Company." A 
lease was secured from Chandler to sink a shaft down to the silver vein near 
his salt well. After the company had expended ten thousand dollars in an 
effort to develop the silver mine, the bubble burst. Chandler sued the com- 
pany for damages to his salt well, which it had to pay. The above is the 
history, but there is something between the lines which was always hinted at 
by the mining company, but was never known, how much Chandler had to do 
with the hoax, but first and last he received the benefit, and left the Musk- 
ingum Silver Mining Company to hold the sack. Perhaps the phrase, "salt- 
ing the mine," had its origin at the Chandler salt works. This silver mine 
boax was many years ago, and is almost forgotten, but the salting of mines 
still goes on. The wise man saith, "Lo, this only have I found, that God 
hath made man upright; but they have sought out many inventions." Is this 
salting of mines one? 

county's pioneers (no. 5). 

(Herald, December 10, 1902.) 

The second Guernsey colony was composed of the families of James 
Bichard, Sen., two William Ogier families, James Ogier's, Thomas Naftel's, 



GUERNSEY' COUNTY, OHIO. 407 

Thomas Lenfestey's, widow Mary Hubert's, and John Marquand's, and of 

young men Peter Langloise, John Robin, Peter Corbet, Peter and Nicholas 
Bichard, John and Peter Torode, Paul Robert, Nicholas Peodvin, John Carlo 
and John DeLarue. These emigrants were in Cambridge in time to help at 
the raising of the three Sarchet houses and to erect houses for themselves 
for the coming of winter. At a raising of the Thomas Sarchet house a laige 
log slipped off the skids, and struck James Bichard, grandfather of the writer, 
on the head. For a long time he was thought to be killed. Pie revived, but 
carried to his death a dent in his skull, as a reminder of that raising. 

William Ogier built a cabin on the now John M. Ogier lot on Wheeling- 
avenue. The Marquands, Huberts and Lenfesteys built cabins on the three 
lots of the square next east. On the square opposite, on Wheeling' avenue, 
the Bichards and Naftels built cabins. The prices of these town lots ranged 
from thirty-two dollars and fifty cents to thirty-four dollars. Besides these, 
George R. Tingle built a cabin on the now Odd Fellows block lot, and the 
Mottie family a cabin on the middle Farrar lot on Wheeling avenue. The 
John Beatty house, the Judge Metcalf house, and the Sarchet houses and 
cabins, in addition to those mentioned, made up the Cambridge of the wilder- 
ness in the winter of 1807-8. 

The Marquand family later settled north on Wills creek. A few years 
after the second colony, other Guernsey families came. Among these were 
William Lashure, who built a house on the lot west of Noel hotel, Thomas 
Ogier, who built a stone house on his farm north of Cambridge. He had been 
detained in hiding from the wrath of the Cossack soldiers that were stationed 
on the island, one of whom he had killed, while pillaging his orchard. Thomas 
DeBartram bought lot 83, on which was a cabin, the first house built on Steu- 
benville avenue. The lot is now occupied by the Presbyterian church, Doc- 
tor Milligan's and Doctor Moore's residences. The lot had been used by 
Sandy and Miller, Scotchmen, on which was erected a whip-saw mill and the 
cabin. These men sawed the first lumber used about the cabins and the houses 
of Cambridge. It would seem strange today to see two men whip-sawing 
lumber, vet at the price, three dollars per hundred or half the lumber, they 
made good wages. Thomas De Bartram was the first tailor, and had the dis- 
tinction of bringing the first "goose" to Cambridge. James S. Reitilley bought 
lot 16, now the Burgess, Schaser and Zahniser lot, on which was built a 
cabin. Enoch Rush built a cabin on lot 28. now the Ramsey Cook lot, and 
John Maffit a cabin on the east Farrar lot. So up to this time. 1S10, Cam- 
bridge was a log-house town, with the Col. Z. A. Beatty frame house partly 
built, located on the lot now occupied by the John M. Ogier residence, on 
West Wheeling avenue. 



4-08 GUERNSEY COUNTY, OHIO. 

John Robin married into the Hubert family, and Peter Langloise mar- 
ried into the Bichard family. They both settled south on Wills creek. Daniel 
Ferbrache settled on government land two miles north of Cambridge, and 
paid for it with the gold coin Betty Pallet tried to steal. A Mr. Cumin, an 
Englishman who traveled through the South and West, published a history 
of his travels. Traveling from the West over the Zane trace, in 1808, in 
what he called "the stage wagon," he stopped at the Harvey tavern over night, 
at Zanesville. From there to Wheeling the stage wagon was in charge of 
George Beymer. He was the senior brother of the Beymer family at Wash- 
ington, and resided at this time in now Centre township, in a tavern cabin 
located a short distance off the foot of the four-mile hill, Craig postoffice. Its 
site was later known as the old Endley brick tavern, on the old Wheeling road, 
kept by Major John Woodrow. The stage wagon reached the Enslow tavern, 
located southeast of New Concord, which was in now Westland township. 

The most of the early settlers west of Cambridge came by water, up the 
Muskingum to Duncan's Falls or Zanesville. There were two traces west 
from Cambridge, one to Duncan's Falls and the other to the falls above. The 
Zane trace west from Cambridge followed an Indian trail, to what was called 
"The Dead Man's Ripple," on the Muskingum river, so called because the 
remains of Duncan were found there. He lived near the falls, a hermit life, 
and it was supposed he was murdered by the Indians. Thus giving it the 
double name, "Duncan's Falls," and "Dead Man's Ripple." Ebenezer Zane 
was not pleased with the location, as he had the privilege of locating a sec- 
tion of land at the crossing of the Muskingum river. He moved up to the 
upper falls, and opened the trace back intersecting the other near the Enslow 
tavern. There had been a settlement there as early as 1802, by Adam McMur- 
die. He sold to Enslow in 1805. The deed of conveyance speaks of build- 
ings and orchards. The tavern was on a high hill, later known as Frew's 
tavern, where the stage wagon stopped for dinner. Cumin speaks of the 
orchards, and of the splendid view he had from the hill top. At the tavern 
was an extra horse, belonging to the proprietor of the stage wagon. Cumin 
rode this horse ahead of the stage wagon to the Beymer tavern. 

He speaks of the horrible road from Enslow's to Wills creek, and of the 
beauty of the. landscape at Cambridge, as seen from the western hilltop as he 
approached the town, and of crossing a rickety toll bridge over Wills creek. 
That toll bridge was located at the bend in the creek, above the Baltimore & 
Ohio railroad, being the point where the Zane Trace crossed the creek and 
the Indian trail that led to Sandusky. It was near this point that the Indian 
massacre occurred in 1791, and where the killed, Mr. Linn, Thomas Biggs 



GUERNSEY COUNTY, OHIO. 4O9 

and Joseph Hedges, were buried. At the time Cumin crossed the toll-bridge 
there was a ferry over the creek, south of the Cleveland & Marietta 
depot. The ferry boat was made with two canoes, fastened together and 
covered with puncheons. In 1809, Beatty and Gomber erected a toll bridge 
at that point, which remained there until after the erection of the present old 
bridge, in 1828. Cumin speaks of the cabin town of the Guernsey settlers, 
and of their clean looking and thrifty surroundings. He also publishes a 
letter written by a lady traveler from Cambridge in 1809, in which she 
gives a glowing description of the "cabin town" and Guernsey settlers. He 
says nothing of any mail on the Trace from Wheeling to Zanesville, but 
there was no postoffice at Cambridge. Col. Z. A. Beatty and Cyrus P. Beatty, 
who was the first postmaster, did not get to Cambridge until the fall of 1809. 
But this mail was a sort of rural route, and the mail carrier distributed pack- 
ages and letters along the line. 

The heads of most of the Guernsey families brought with them certifi- 
cates of good moral and Christian character as members of the Wesleyan 
Methodist societies of the island, which gave as their sole reasons for leaving 
the island "the fall of trade," signed by Jean De Caueteville, superintendent 
of the Wesleyan Methodist societies, of Guernsey, Alderney, Jersey and Sark, 
and on these certificates the Methodist Episcopal church was organized in 
1808. The reader of French and English history will remember that in the 
years 1805 and 1806 Napoleon Bonaparte was making preparations to invade 
England, crossing the channel with a large army in boats. England, for pro- 
tection, stationed troops on all her channel islands. On the island of Guern- 
sev was a large force of Russian Cossack soldiers, who made it their prin- 
cipal business to plunder from the small Guernsey farmers, to which class 
most of the Guernsey farmers belonged. Strict embargo laws were in force, 
the trade of the island, which was largely commercial, was cut off and the 
business of the island was totally suspended. It was that depression, per- 
haps the first, which caused the colonists to leave the island. 

Many of the readers have read the interesting and descriptive letter of 
John M. Ogier, of Cambridge, who visited the island last summer, describing 
its beauty and great prosperity. Its immense daily trade with England of 
fruits and vegetables, as well as its large commercial trade with other coun- 
tries, would perhaps excite wonder that these Guernsey emigrants should leave 
such a beautiful and prosperous island. But let another Napoleon arise in 
France, and control all Europe with strict embargo laws enforced, close up all 
of the commercial ports, and make preparations to invade England. Then 
the Guernsey of todav would begin to decline, and its great productiveness and 



4IO GUERNSEY COUNTY, OHIO. 

trade would cease. General Sherman said a great truth in a blunt way when 
he said, "War is hell," and the effects of this hell continues for years after 
the war is over. The effects of the war of the Rebellion continued for more 
than twenty years. William Berry, in his history of Guernsey, says that it 
was more than twenty years after 1805 and 1806 until prosperity began to be 
restored on the island. 

county's pioneers (no. 6). 
(Herald. December 17, 1902.) 

The year 1807 was called the "hard year" by the early settlers. Thev 
had just made some clearings, which they had planted in corn. Bread is the 
first great necessity. Corn pone and mush w r ere relied upon by most of the 
settlers. The corn that they had planted was peeping through the hills when 
there came a great horde of squirrels from the South. The corn patches were 
literally alive with squirrels, digging up and eating the sprouted corn. Seed 
corn was hard to get, and a long journey had to be made to get seed for plant- 
ing, which put the second planting into June. When this second crop was 
but matured into hard roasting ears, there came an early frost in September, 
which cooked the fodder and corn into a black and withered state. I have 
heard these settlers say that the mush and corn pone made from this corn 
when ground was as black as a hat. And to make the matter worse, in the 
early settlements in the East and South on the Ohio river, the wheat that was 
harvested, threshed and ground into flour was not fit to eat by either man or 
beast. This wheat goes down into history as "sick wheat." 

The depredations of the squirrels led the Legislature of 1807-08 to pass 
a law encouraging the killing of squirrels. This law made it imperative that 
every person who was a taxpayer in the county should furnish a certain 
number of squirrel scalps at the time of tax paying, the number to be fixed 
by the township trustees, and any person delinquent was liable to the same 
penalty as delinquent tax-payers on land or personal property, and any per- 
son producing to the collector more than the required number was to receive 
two cents for each scalp. This law is to be found in Volume 5, Ohio Laws. 
The law was never enforced. An overruling providence sent on the squirrel 
desperadoes the most severe winter of 1807-8, known in the history of Ohio 
both for cold weather and snow, and the great horde of squirrels almost all 
perished with hunger. These early Guernsey settlers subsisted through that 
winter on game, black mush and black corn pone, potatoes, cabbage and turn- 
ips. I have heard my uncles say that the people had two ways of keeping 



GUERNSF.Y COUNTY, OHIO. .| I I 

warm, one was to chop and carry in wood to keep up the fires day and night, 
the other was to carry water from the distant springs to thrown on the chim- 
neys tn keep the cabins from burning up. 

War followed the advent of the Guernsey settlers to the western wilder- 
ness. Grim-visaged war stared them in the face in their cabins and log 
house homes. The war whoops of the Indians, encouraged by English emis- 
saries, rang through the forest. The great chief Tecumseh, with his shrewd, 
cunning and wily tread, was everywhere inciting the Indians to rapine and 
murder. The Guernsey settlers carried their guns to their work in the clear- 
ings, and moved about in pairs for protection. At night the cabin doors 
were barricaded and they slept on their arms. Daily came the word from the 
nearby frontiers of the capture of women and children and the burning of 
homes. It may be that these Guernsey settlers looked back to their island 
home with longing eyes. But few- of them were yet naturalized citizens, but 
they did not hang their harps on the willows and cry out, "How can we sing 
the Lord's song in a strange land?" They were made of sterner stuff. Great 
Britian had no more loyal subjects than the Guernsey islanders, and here in 
the country of their adoption, Ohio found no more loyal citizens. Amid the 
dark and depressing hour the little Methodist spark was kept aglow. Few 
they were, but true to their chosen church they clung together. William 
Ogier was a local preacher, Peter Sarchet an exhorter, and Thomas Sarchet a 
class leader, and regular Sunday school meetings were held at the different 
houses, called "French meetings," and these social meetings in their own 
tongues continued to be held for more than three years. The writer in boy- 
hood attended these meetings, and has now a very distinct recollection of the 
seeming fervour and zeal manifested, although understanding but little of the 
hymns, prayers and preaching. Thomas Sarchet attended the first session 
of the Ohio conference at Chillicothe in 1812, and brought back with him to 
Cambridge -William Mitchell, the senior preacher of the Zanesville circuit, 
who resided in his home for the next conference year, and who was the first 
Methodist preacher to reside in Cambridge. John Strange, the junior preacher, 
rode to the different charges, carrying a rifle on his shoulder. The stagna- 
tion and depression caused by the war ceased, business began to revive, the 
settlers were encouraged, emigration began to increase, and in 1823 Thomas 
Sarchet. speaking of the church's early beginning, says: "We struggled on; 
my wife and myself did all that we could to render the preachers comfort- 
able, and to open up a way for their usefulness in the community." At length 
the Americans began to come in, and the church to take a hold upon the peo- 
ple. Among these Americans were Jacob Shaffner, J. S. White, Joseph Wood, 



412 GUERNSEY COUNTY, OHIO. 

Thomas Mcllyar, Andrew Metcalf, Daniel Davis, John Davis, Joseph Cock- 
ed. Edward Mulkins, Hamilton Robb, Joseph Neeland, Levi Rhinehart and 
others. 

The National road was now located through Cambridge. Its completion 
was to open up a market for surplus grain, which had no cash value before. 
The gradation was made through Cambridge in 1827-28. Casper W. Weaver, 
the superintendent, gave notice to all contractors that the road would be 
open for through travel from Bridgeport to Zanesville, October 1, 1828. 
Whether there was any formal demonstration made at Cambridge, there is 
no record left to show. The Guernsey Times passed into the hands of Nicho- 
las Bailhache during the years 1828-29, and of the two years there are no 
files or local record to be found. 

The great National highway, over which flowed the great moving tide 
of emigration westward for thirty years, was to the state of Ohio what the 
Appian Way was to ancient Rome, but with this difference, the Appian Way 
was designed to gratify the pomp and vanity of emperors and empires, kings 
and princes, consuls and pro-consuls, but the National road was designed to 
meet the wants of a free and progressive people, and to aid in building up 
and strengthening a great and growing republic. The Appian Way outlived 
its nation. The old pike served in its day and generation, a complete suc- 
cess, and when its glory departed as a national highway, the nation was all 
the stronger because it had been made. 

We hear no more of the clanking hoof. 

And the stage coach rattled by ; 
For the Steam King rules the traveled world. 

And the "Old Pike's" left to die. 

And now we have passed over more than twenty years of the trying 
times of the Guernsey settlers, and down to the time when the dark cloud of 
isolation began to be dispelled, and the dawn of brighter days to appear. For 
the next quarter of a century the great tide of emigration, stage coaches, road 
wagons, emigrant wagons, horsemen and footmen moved over the highway. 
"Westward ho!" was still the cry. The other day a monument was erected 
almost to the west line of the state of Indiana, to mark the center of popula- 
tion of the republic for 1890. Where will the next center be? Still farther 
west, the answer might be, but there is no longer any west. West is a mere 
relative term. The answer must be. "The boundless continent is ours," and 
we are again sailing over the seas from whence the star of empire took its 
westward way. 



GUERNSEY COUNTY, OHIO. 413 

LOCAL HISTORICAL SKETCH. 

(Jeffersonian, November 22, 189S.) 

We have a very distinct recollection of a moving day in the spring; of 
1833, "hen my father moved from the old house, corner of Seventh street 
and Wheeling avenue, in which the writer was born, and a part of which 
still remains a connecting link between the past and the present, to our new 
home, corner of West Eighth street and Steubenville avenue, Cambridge. 
These three score years of Cambridge life, measuring up its growth, with 
some historical reminiscences, social, political, religious and otherwise, we 
wish to give to the readers of the Jeffersonian, in a series of papers, as there 
are but few links now in Cambridge that can bind together 1833 and 1893 in 
one continuous chain of events. Of our new home, now the Burgess prop- 
erty, we wish to speak from our boyhood remembrance. 

We saw it grow from the clay and water in the mortar box, tramped 
by oxen, paddled and tempered with spade, the brick hand moulded, and 
hacked and dried ready for the kiln, and from the wood-heated arches, after 
being cooled, carried and laid one by one in the wall. 

"Mort and more mort, brick and more brick," was the cry of the masons 
on the scaffold, as the hod carriers scaled the long, inclined, slatted gangway, 
sweating under their loads, as the walls raised up from pudlock to pudlock 
to completion. The old pudlock way, with scaffold on the outside, bound to- 
gether by poles and withes, is a thing of the past, as is also the header and 
stretcher bond of the wall. Then the wall went up round by round, giving 
to the whole structure a gradual, equal settling. 

Now the walls are run up on outside course first, by a skilled workman. 
Then comes a slashing of mortar and brick behind, and the result is that 
few. if any, of the brick houses of today are without cracked walls and 
cracked plastering, the result of an unequal settling and an improper bond. 

We live today, we say, in a new age, an age of progress, but in it is much 
that is shoddy, much that is superficial, that won't stand the blast of time. 
There is a change of architecture. It is not the imposing Doric, the graceful 
Ionic, the magnificent Corinthian, or the arch-surmounting Etruscan, but a 
blending together, destroying the distinct features of each in a conglomeration 
of designs, that was to be seen everywhere in the Columbian architecture of the 
late White City on the lake. But enough of this. The growth of Cambridge, 
from 1806 to 1833, had been slow. Emigration was deterred from fear of 
the Indians, though they had been subdued and brought to terms of peace in 
their defeat by General Wayne, in 1794. and had entered into the "treaty of 



4I4 GUERNSEY COUNTY, OHIO. 

Greenville," vet they roamed about filled with hatred and revenge at the en- 
croachments of the whites into the occupancy of their hunting grounds. 

The war of 1812-15 had a stagnating effect. All efforts toward im- 
provement were checked. The men flew to arms for the protection of their 
families and firesides, but uncertainty and distrust reigned among those who 
were left behind to await the results of the arbitrament of war. 

"The blast of war had blown." "Peace hath her victories no less re- 
nowned than war," and a new life seemed to open upon the frontier settlers, 
and the click of the axe and the whack of the mattock meant war for civiliza- 
tion, for home and native land. 

The country was now a purely protected one. Cambridge was a pro- 
tected town; consumer and producer stood side by side. The inhabitants 
could not say, "No pent up Utica confines our powers, the boundless universe 
is ours." They were shut in, so far as traffic was concerned. A then resi- 
dent said "that his boys made a quarter apiece every Sunday, trading pen- 
knives." So it was the trade went on, but the capital stock remained the same. 
There had to be a reciprocity, a looking out for new fields for trade and 
traffic, and the hopes of the people were exultant when the projected "Cum- 
berland road," fathered by Henry Clay, sprang into life and began to make 
its way through the wilderness. New life, new vigor, inspired the citizens of 
Cambridge. The labor in building this road made a market for surplus that 
had a money value, and the citizens began to prepare for better homes. 

Among the first, after the completion of the National road in 1830, 
was our home, where twenty and more years of our life of boyhood and 
young manhood centers, as the ever memorable "halcyon days of youth." 
The Cambridge then platted contained one hundred and forty lots. On Main 
street, north side, thirty-four lots, south side, thirty-six; on Steubenville 
street, on the north side, thirty-six, on the south side, thirty-four. The cross 
streets, from east to west, were named Walnut, Spruce, Pine. Market, Chest- 
nut. Mulberry and Lombardy. 

The old court house stood in the square, and the old log gaol, the terror 
of evil-doers, stood by its side. From the one, justice, tempered with mercy, 
flowed: in the other, punishment, shorn of wrath, was administered to all as 
equals before the law. 

There were on the lots and streets forty-eight dwellings and shops. Of 
the dwellers and their avocations begins the story of three score years of 
life in Cambridge. 

■We begin at the west end, south side. The first three lots contained the 
Beattv tanvard. The old house on the corner of the alley is a part of the 



GUERNSEY COUNTY, OHIO. 415 

original house. Christopher Duniver, the head tanner, lived in this house. 
Of this family, there are now living- in Cambridge Mrs. Lemuel Bonnell and 
Mrs. George D. Gallup. "Chris" Duniver had been the wagoner of Capt. 
C. P. Beatty's company in the war of 1812. And when a war-cloud again rose 
in the northwest, and the call to arms was made by Governor Robert Lucas in 
1835, drum and fife, in martial strains, inspired the latent patriotic spark to 
blood heat, "Chris" again kept step, as a recruit, to go and hurl the invading 
"Wolverines" from Ohio's sacred soil. This war cloud blew away, but its 
heroes still live in history. 

On the next three lots Col. Z. A. Beatty, one of the proprietors of the 
town, had chosen his home, where the McPherson home now is. He built 
the first frame house in Cambridge. There he lived and died in 1835. On 
the lots were planted apple, peach and pear trees, the earliest in the town, and 
the garden and lawn, fronting the street, was adorned with the choicest shrubs 
and flowers of the day. 

The National road was a complete and perfect bed of limestone, made so 
by rolling and filling in the ruts with the displaced stone, until it was impervi- 
ous to water and as smooth as a pavement. It was the only pavement to walk 
on for many years in the history of Cambridge. 

EARLY DAYS ON WILLS CREEK. 

(Jeffersonian, December 12, 1895.) {:..-, 
The northwest part of Guernsey county was perhaps the scene of more 
exploits among the Indians than any other locality in the county. From the 
place where Bird's run flows into Wills creek, now Bridgeville. the creek 
makes a long, circuitous route, and flows a distance of fourteen miles to where 
the waters of Marlatt run are discharged into it. The distance between the 
mouths of these two tributaries in a straight line would not exceed three 
miles. This shorter route was much traveled by the Miami, Delaware and 
other Indian tribes during the Indian war of 1790-95, when their anxiety was 
to reach the settlements at Marietta. Only a few years ago their trace could 
lie noticed in manv places from Marlatt's run to the mouth of Bird's run, 
thence up to Indian Camp, Wills creek and Trail run, thence over the divide, 
and di lira Duck creek and the Little Muskingum. 

As early as the year 1810, one James Miskimins, a native of Virginia, 
settled on Wills creek, and took up a large quantity of land near the mouth 
of Marlatt's run. Having made his location, he returned to Virginia and 
operated a large distillery, until he had accumulated enough means to make 



4l6 GUERNSEY COUNTY, OHIO. 

him comfortable. He then returned to his land on Wills creek, being one of 
the first settlers. As it was his custom to make money, he was soon engaged 
in a good business in buying fur from the Indians, rather trading with them. 
His only market then was at Zanesville. For the purpose of carrying his fur 
to market, and his corn to a horse mill, he made a large canoe, in which he 
could float down the creek and river to Zanesville, do his trading and return 
with his corn meal and a good supply of whiskey. For the purpose of keep- 
ing things dry, he built a commodious warehouse on the bank of Wills creek, 
where he could store his fur and whiskey, and it soon became famous as a 
trading post among the Indians, as well as the few white people who had set- 
tled there. 

On one occasion he was longer in making his trip to Zanesville and return 
than usual, which induced Doughty, the Indian chief, in company with others 
of the tribes, to start down the creek to see what had become of "Skimmer," 
as they called him. They met Miskimins on his return near the mouth of 
White Eyes creek, and beckoned him in a friendly way to come on shore, and 
let them have a drink of fire water (whiskey). At their request, Miskimins 
landed his canoe, and treated the Indians with one drink each, then hastened 
on his journey up the creek, as he wished to reach his warehouse before night. 
Just as he was working his canoe back into the middle of the stream, one 
stalwart Indian who had not had enough drink, became unruly and threatened 
to shoot Miskimins if he did not return to the shore. Doughty told Miskimins 
he had better land, as the Indian was bad, and would shoot him if he did not. 
Miskimins again landed his canoe, and walked right up to the pesky Indian, 
jerked his gun from his hands, knocked him down with it, then threw the 
gun into the creek where the water was deep. He then started up the creek 
with his canoe, and reached home the same evening, without further molesta- 
tion from the Indian. 

The next morning when Miskimins got up. he found six burly Indians 
standing against his cabin, three on each side of the door. He expected to 
have an uneven encounter with them, but that did not deter him from inviting" 
them in. They very good-humouredly went in, and then told him that the 
Indian he had knocked down the day before was a bad Indian, but he had a 
big family to maintain, that he now had no gun and nothing to buy one with, 
and that he ( Miskimins) must give the Indian a gun, and all would be right. 
To this demand Miskimins readily assented. After receiving the gun and a 
drink, the Indians departed in peace. 



GUERNSEY COUNTY, OHIO. -jJJ 

SARCHET GIVES SOME HISTORY. 

(Times, November 12. 1903.) 
The late reception by the Methodist Episcopal church to Doctor Wallace 
and Rev. W. B. Winters and their wives, calls up this history of how recep- 
tions were given to the preachers of the long ago. There was then no know- 
ing who was to be the preacher or preachers in advance of their coming to 
the charge. In 1819 Rev. Thomas A. Morris, afterward an honoured bishop, 
was sent as the senior preacher by the Ohio conference to Zanesville circuit. 
of which Cambridge was one of the appointments. He moved to Cambridge, 
where he resided the two years he was on the circuit. He lived in a house 
on the now Margaret Thompson lot on East Steubenville avenue. The preach- 
ing place was in the grand jury room in the old court house, which was 
reached by two flights of stairs from the old court room below. It was 
seated with slab benches, with here and there a chair brought by a member for 
his or her special use. Reverend Morris preached his first sermon, and at its 
close stated that Rev. Charles Elliott, the junior preacher, would preach in 
three weeks. The day for the junior preacher came. The little congrega- 
tion was assembled,- and patiently awaiting his advent. The time passed 
slowly on, past the appointed hour, and no preacher came. Then, after some 
consultation, it was decided that as it was the spring of the year, and the roads 
very bad, he would be unable to get there, and that before separating they 
would have a prayer meeting. One of the brothers took the stand and an- 
nounced a hymn. The congregation rose, and sang the hymn, the leader 
timing out two lines at a time. While they were singing, a rough, uncouth- 
looking man stood at the head of one of the stairways. When the singing 
was finished, and they knelt in prayer, with the leader, the strange, uncouth 
man knelt also. When the prayer was over, and the congregation resumed 
their seats and the leader was about to give out another hymn, the strange 
man walked forward to the stand, and standing with his back to the congre- 
gation, began to disrobe. Laying down his riding whip, taking off his great- 
coat, which was all bedraggled with mud. and his leggings and overshoes of 
buffalo-hide, he turned, facing the congregation, and said. "I am the junior 
preacher, Charles Elliott," and opening the Bible, he read as a text Judges 
third and twentieth. "I have a message from God unto thee." 

After the sermon, closing hymn, and prayer, the congregation gathered 

around the stand, greeting the young preacher, and giving their names. The 

most of them were the French Guernsey settlers. He was taken in charge 

by Thomas Sarchet. His horse, which was tied to a stump in the square, was 

(27) 



4l8 GUERNSEY COUNTY, OHIO. 

taken to the stable by one of the Sarchet boys. The greeting and reception 
was over, and the young preacher had found a home, where he continued to 
stay while on the east end of the circuit. A young boy present at this recep- 
tion went home, and told his parents "that a man came in while they were 
singing, and knelt at the head of the stairs, during prayer, and that everybody 
thought he Was a hog-driver; but behold, he turned out to be the preacher!" 
This supposed "hog-driver" preacher became one of the prominent men of 
western Methodism, and as editor of the Pittsburg Advocate Journal and 
Western Christian Advocate sent out weekly messages to the homes of west- 
ern Methodists. 

GENERAL JACKSON'S VISIT TO CAMBRIDGE. 

(C. P. B. Sarchet, in Times, March 22, 1906.) 

When General Jackson, then President of the United States, passed 
through Cambridge in the fall of 1831, on his way east to Washington City, 
the new bridge over Wills creek, now the old bridge on Dewey avenue, was 
just receiving its second coat of paint inside and out, also the roof. It was 
somewhat barricaded with scaffolding and the general travel had to be directed 
to the old Beatty and Gomber toll bridge, located a short distance west of the 
new bridge. 

General Jackson was travelling in a private carriage, with a colored 
driver and a colored servant mounted on top as a postillion. Behind the car- 
riage there followed a colored boy mounted on the General's old white war 
horse. The cavalcade stopped at the old "Bridge House" tavern, kept by 
David Ballantine. There the General changed his dress of travel into the 
full suit of a major-general of the United States army. The old war horse 
was fully caparisoned with military saddle, saddle blanket, bridle and housing, 
all of these bespangled with shining stars and fringed with red trappings. 

At the "Bridge House" he was met by an improvised drum corps and a 
number of the old soldiers of the war of 1812, and his Democratic adherents 
of the town and nearby country. The Whigs and Democrats of that day 
were like the Jews and Samaritans of old, politically they had no assimilations 
with the Democrats, and especially for Andy Jackson, who had beaten the 
Whig idol of Ohio, Henry Clay. 

Major James Dunlap, an officer of the Pennsylvania militia in the war 
of 1812, then a citizen of Cambridge, was marshal of the parade, assisted by 
Ancil Briggs, his son-in-law, who was later the first governor of the state 
of Iowa. The Major had two sons, George Washington and Andrew Jack- 



GUERNSEY COUNTY, OHIO. 4I9 

son. These were conspicuous in the parade. George beat the base drum and 
"Fat Jack,'' dressed in his best bib and tucker, walked by the side of his father, 
at the head of the procession. 

When all was in readiness, the marshal headed the column, followed by 
Old Glory flaunting" in the breeze, followed by the drum corps. Then came 
General Jackson, mounted on the white war horse, with the trappings and 
stars and spangles glittering in the morning sunlight, followed by the car- 
riages, soldiers and, citizens. 

The Cambridge postmaster, Jacob Schaffner, was conspicuous in the drum 
corps, playing the snare drum. As the column moved through Wheeling 
avenue, General Jackson, with his three-cocked hat, surmounted with a long 
white plume, in his hand, waved it right and left to the onlookers, whilst his 
long white locks fluttered in the breeze. At the top of the east hill the change 
was made back to the regular traveling mode. 

"from hen to mouth." 

Old Major Bute, grandfather of J. B. Ferguson, Esq., of this city, was a 
frequent horse-back traveller on the old pike. These horse-back travellers 
usually got up early at the tavern where they spent the night, and rode five 
or more miles to another tavern early in the morning to take breakfast. The 
Major told this story : 

He had ridden some miles in the early morning, and reached a tavern 
where he stopped to feed his horse and eat his breakfast. After washing and 
getting ready for breakfast, he took a seat on the porch in front of the tavern. 
While seated there the hall door was opened, and he heard a boy call, "Mother, 
the old hen is on!" The landlord came out, and took a seat by the Major. 
After waiting some time, the Major asked the landlord if breakfast would 
soon be ready. The reply was, "Yes. in a short time." 

Then the Major heard the boy call, "Mother, the old hen's off. and I've 
got the eggs." The landlord went in, but soon came out and invited the 
Major to breakfast. On the table was "ham and egg." 

The Major remarked that he had often heard of people living from hand 
to mouth, but that was the first time in his experience he had heard of anyone 
living from "hen to mouth." 

the old pike and early inns. 
(From Reminiscences published in the local press by Colonel Sarchet.) 
A few miles west of Fairview old Billy Armstrong kept a notable tavern 
and wagon stand, on the top of the hill, then known as the "Taylor Hill." on 



420 GUERNSEY COUNTY, OHIO. 

the old pike. He kept a team on the road. He was a jolly old Irishman. It 
was a famous place and the wagoners often drove late at night to reach Arm- 
strong's, as did other travelers. 

It was said that an Irishman, traveling on foot, stayed there over night, 
and in the morning after breakfast told old Billy that he had no money to pay 
his bill. "Why didn't you tell me that last night?" said old Billy. The Irish- 
man said : "And faith, I'm sorry enough to tell you this morning." This 
Irish wit so tickled old Billy that he gave him a parting drink and bade him 
proceed on his journey with good luck. 

Old Billy was a great Jackson man and a Democrat, and would argue 
that Jackson did more for the old pike than did Henry Clay, its great cham- 
pion. His Democratic friends of Oxford township for his party loyalty ele- 
vated him to the high and honorable dignity of esquire. .He was now no 
longer called old Billy, but "Squire Billy." Toward the end of the palmy 
days of the old pike, he was further rewarded by his party and was elected 
from the Guernsey-Monroe district to the Senate of Ohio. 

In the Senate at that time was a leading Democrat named Aiken. He 
was fond of a joke and concluded to play one on old Billy. His name on the 
Senate roll came just before Armstrong's. He conceived the idea that old 
Billy always voted as he did on all questions, whether political or local. One 
day a measure came up to be voted on of some political character. Aiken's 
name was called and he voted with the Whigs. Armstrong's was called and 
he voted the same way. After the vote was completed the Democrats gathered 
around Aiken's desk to know why he had voted with the Whigs. He replied 
that he was setting a trap. The next morning, after the journal was read, 
Aiken rose up and asked to change his vote to the Democratic side, which was 
granted. Then old Billy, who sat some distance away, rose up and asked 
that his vote be changed to the Democratic side, which was granted. And 
now with the Whigs old Billy came to be known as "the follower of the file 
leader." 

At the old Hoover tavern, then kept by David Holtz. the writer first saw 
old Pete Jackson, colored, who was later a historic darkey of Cambridge. 
He married "Tempy" Mitchell, and Pete and Tempy had many warm times. 
Pete would get drunk and try to clear the kitchen and break the dishes, and 
Tempy would drive Pete off. When he was asked why he did not stay with 
Tempy, Pete would say: "Oh, there is a coolness now, but it will warm up 
again when the moon changes." 

Pete worked a good many years at the old Cambridge foundry, carried 
on by Clark Robinson and B. A. Albright. They finally disagreed and dis- 



GUERNSEY COUNTY, OHIO. 42 I 

solved partnership, and had many lawsuits. Pete was one of the witnesses. 
In one of the cases a question was prepared by Billy Mil Iyer, a pettifoging 
attorney engaged in the case. He stated the question to Pete and said, "Now 
you must answer the question by yes or no." Pete studied a little and then 
said: "I wouldn't believe that lie it I swore to it myself." 

Some distance northwest of Middleton lives old Isaiah Parlett. He was 
one of the very "old timers" wagoning to Baltimore, which is more than three 
hundred miles from where he lived. The usual average day's drive was fif- 
teen miles, and in winter and bad weather was less, so that almost a month and 
a half was taken to make a trip. 

At Middleton and near it were a good many old wagoners. Many of 
these hauled east to Cumberland, Maryland, after the Baltimore & Ohio rail- 
road had been completed that far west. Among these were William Parlett, 
William and Andrew Moore, William and Thomas Dunn. The most of these 
only hauled east as far as the Ohio river at Bridgeport and Wheeling and 
west from there to the towns along and adjacent to the old pike, as far west 
as the Ohio canal. The teams in Ohio, west of the Ohio river, that east of 
Wheeling would have been called "sharpshooters" were called "militia teams." 
That the old pike was a first class highway was evidenced by incidents 
given of wagoners who left it with loads for the adjacent towns. 

We give this incident taken from the "Old Pike :" Daniel Barcus agreed 
to deliver, from Baltimore in 1838, a load of merchandise weighing eight 
thousand three hundred pounds, to Mt. Vernon, Ohio, in good condition at 
the end of thirty days at four dollars and twenty-five cents per hundredweight. 
He left the old pike at Jacktown, west of Zanesville. From Jacktown to Mt. 
Vernon was thirty-two miles, the whole distance being three hundred and 
ninety-seven miles. At Mt. Vernon he loaded back with tobacco in hogs- 
heads, seven thousand two hundred pounds, at two dollars and seventy-five 
cents per hundredweight. On the way back before reaching Jacktown, he 
upset, without any damage except the detention. The expense of getting his 
wagon turned up and re-loaded was a jug, ten cents, and one gallon of whisky, 
thirty cents. Barcus says that when he struck the National road at Jacktown 
he felt at home again. 

Barcus says that he often stayed at the Wallace tavern near Brownsville. 
Pennsylvania, and one night after taking care of his team, he accompanied 
the two daughters to a country party, where they danced all night, till broad 
daylight, and walked home with the girls in the morning. These social par- 
ties were frequent on the old pike both east and west. Many of the old wagon- 
ers were good fiddlers. Most of the old tavern keepers kept a fiddle. 



422 GUERNSEY COUNTY, OHIO. 

Major James Dunlap, who was the first marshal of the incorporated vil- 
lage of Cambridge, and one of its prominent and respected citizens, kept a 
tavern on the old pike east of Washington, Pennsylvania, called the "Mt. 
Vernon House." He was keeping that house as early as 1816. This is what 
the "Old Pike" says of him : "Major Dunlap was a prominent man of his day, 
and brigade inspector of the Washington county militia, an officer of no little 
consequence in the history of Pennsylvania. He later kept the 'J ac k son 
House' in Washington." 

The writer has heard Major Dunlap and Joseph L. Noble, who kept a 
tavern on what was known as "Egg Nog Hill," and who was later a citizen 
of Cambridge, tell of the winter frolics at the old taverns in the mountains. 
There was a noted tavern called the "Three Gals' House." It was kept by 
three maiden ladies, and thus its name. One of the "gals" played the fiddle, 
and fandangoes and hoedowns were of frequent occurrence at the Three Gals' 
Tavern. Old Sam Smith was a wagoner and kept a tavern at Elizabethtown 
on the old pike east of Washington. He \vas one of the celebrated Smith 
families, tavern keepers, stage drivers and wagoners on the pike, east of the 
Ohio river. These Smiths followed the fortunes of the old pike west into 
Ohio. Part of the old Smith tavern is still standing as a relic of its past 
glories. It was a place where tobacco was brought in from the south by the 
"militia teams," to be re-loaded for the east, and was a well-patronized tavern. 
Teams of some character were to be seen day and night in the Smith wagon 
yard. 

After the busy days of the old pike were over, and Sam Smith slept in 
the village grave yard, old Billy Richards lived in the old tavern. He had a 
boy that was not bright. The late Dr. J. T. Clark told this story : 

Richards burnt wood for his fires and had a large wood yard in front of 
his house. The wood had been cut up in the yard, leaving many chips to be 
gathered up. The Doctor said as he was passing one day on his professional 
business, he noticed the Richards boy going to the house with a big arm load 
of chips. When he reached the door, he threw down the load and said: 
"Damned if I carry chips." Moral — don't quit too soon. 

Samuel Jackson, known in the early history of Cambridge as General 
Jackson, was an old wagoner on the road east of Wheeling before the Nation- 
al road was constructed. He drifted west along with the old stone bridge 
builders, the firm of Kinkeade & Beck, who built the celebrated "S" bridge 
on the pike west of Washington, Pennsylvania. Near this bridge was the 
celebrated tavern of the widow Caldwell. Cumrine, in his history of Wash- 



GUERNSEY COUNTY, OHIO. 423 

ington county, gives many of the enlivening scenes that took place at the 
Caldwell tavern. 

In the opening chapter of "The Old Pike," by the Hon. L. B. Seabright, 
the Hon. James G. Blaine, who was a student at Washington and Jefferson 
College, says: "Caldwell's tavern (we did not use the high-sounding 'hotel,' 
but the good old Anglo-Saxon 'tavern'), with its wide open fireplace in the 
cheerful bar-room, and the bountiful spread in the dining room, and the long 
porch for summer loafers, and the immense stabling with its wealth of horse- 
flesh, and the great open yard for the wagons ! How real and vivid it all seems 
to me at this moment ! All the reminiscences of the old pike, for which you 
are an enthusiast, are heartily shared by me." 

This firm of Kinkeade & Beck built the crooked stone bridge east of 
Cambridge, and did the stone work of the old bridge over Wills creek on 
Dewey avenue of this city and the crooked stone bridge over Crooked creek 
west of this city. 

With these bridge builders General Jackson came to Cambridge as a 
wagoner, and first resided in a log cabin which was located on the high ground 
south of Wills creek and east of the old bridge. After the completion of the 
National road west to Cambridge, he began again wagoning to the East on the 
pike, which he continued for many years, and was followed in his old days 
by his son. Samuel, who took for a wife Miss Phoebe Valentine, daughter of 
John Valentine, a noted tavern keeper of West Alexander, Pennsylvania. 

Of him the "Old Pike" says: "If he had a predecessor or successor in 
this house, his name is totally eclipsed by that of John Valentine.'' This fam- 
ily of Jackson, father, mother, son and wife, rest in their graves in the old 
"Hutchison" graveyard, in Adams township. 

Some time ago, in a conversation with Rev. Dr. Milligan, he inquired if 
we had read a book in the Cambridge library, entitled "Claysville on the Old 
Pike." We replied that we had not. He then said, "You ought to get it 
and read it, I think it would interest you." So we took his advice and with 
his assistance in finding it in the new library room, we took it out and read 
it with a good deal of interest. It was written by Rev. Dr. Birch, of New 
York. It was a history of the old Claysville Presbyterian church, and in it the 
author gives some of the enlivening scenes of the old pike, as witnessed in his 
bovhood and while a student at Washington and Jefferson college. 

There was much in it that we had heard in our boyhood about the old 
pike. He gave the names of many of the wagoners, and described their old 
broad-wheeled wagons, and the names of many of the old stage coaches, stage 
drivers and descriptions of some of his stage rides on top of the coaches with 



424 GUERNSEY COUNTY, OHIO. 

the drivers from Washington to Wheeling. He gives a reminiscence of old 
Joseph Lawson, father of Mrs. Isaac Lofland, of this city, and his famous 
tavern in West Alexander, and calls up from the dead past the celebrated 
"Gretna Green" and the old justice of the peace, Joseph F. Mayes, who mar- 
ried nineteen hundred and eighteen eloping couples, from 1861 to 1881, and in 
all, from 1835 to J 885. more than five thousand. 

He speaks of the old Reed tavern at "Coon Island." The point is now 
Vienna station on the Baltimore and Ohio railroad. Think of an old stage 
driver or wagoner going back to "Coon Island" to find himself "a mere 
looker-on in Vienna." He speaks of the relay house at "Rooney's Point" and 
of the "Clay monument" and other historic points on the west end of the old 
pike. Among the stage drivers he mentions is the redoubtable Archie McNeil, 
whom the writer knew in boyhood. 

His father, Archibald McNeil, carried on blacksmithing at the old Sarchet 
salt works on Wills creek, five miles north of Cambridge. Around the salt 
works and his father's shop, young Archie spent his boyhood days. He was 
a great lover of horses and would run away from the blacksmith shop and 
sneak off with a bridle or halter to the large bottom farm of the writer's 
father, Moses Sarchet, who at that date kept a large number of colts, aged 
from one to three years. Archie would drive them into a log stable and catch 
the first one he could, without regard to age, and ride it about the pasture field. 
So while Archie continued around all the colts, year after year, were broken to 
ride. Archie finally drifted to Cambridge, and began to lead extra stage 
horses from station to station on the old pike, and at times ride back and forth 
with the stage drivers on the box. He soon began to handle the reins and be- 
came a noted driver. He drifted east on the old pike, east of Wheeling. 

This is what Hon. T. B. Searight says of Archie in the "Old Pike:" 
"Archie McXeil was of the class of merry stage drivers and enlivened the 
road with his quaint tricks and humorous jokes. An unsophisticated youth 
from the back country, of ungainly form and manners, sauntered into Wash- 
ington, Pennsylvania, to seek employment, with an ambition not uncommon 
among young men of that day to became a stage driver. He fell in with 
Archie McNeil and made known the object of his visit. Archie, ever ready 
for a joke, encouraged the aspirations of the young 'greenhorn.' 

"Opposite the 'National House' there was a long shed into which empty 
coaches were run for shelter. Archie proposed to the young fellow that he 
furnish a practical demonstration of his talent as a driver, to which he readily 
assented. He was directed to climb up on the driver's seat; then Archie 
fastened a full set of reins to the end of the coach tongue and handed them 



GUERNSEY COUNTY, OHIO. 42^ 

to the young fellow, and also a driver's whip and told him to show what he 
could do. 

"The coach bodies, be it remembered, were placed on long, stout and 
wide leather springs, which caused gentle rocking when in motion. The 
young fellow, fully equipped as a driver, swayed himself back and forth, 
cracked the whip first on one side and then on the other of the tongue, rocked 
the coach and manipulated the reins, with great pomp, and continued to exer- 
cise himself in this manner for a time, without evincing the slightest con- 
sciousness that he was the victim of a joke. 

"A number of persons, the writer included, witnessed this ludicrous 
scene, and heartily enjoyed the fun. Among the spectators was James G. 
Blaine, then a student at Washington College. 

"McNeil was a son-in-law of Jack Bayliss, the old stage driver from 
Washington to Claysville." 

James Bayliss, an old stage-driver here at Cambridge, was a son of Jack 
Bayliss. Henry Bayliss and the Misses Bayliss, of this city, are children of 
James Bayliss. 

This is an old song that the writer heard William Sheets, an old stage 
driver and wagoner, sing in the tavern of George W. Hoan, at Fairfield, Iowa, 
a half century ago. G. W. Hoan was a former tavern keeper at Cambridge. 

"Oh, the songs they would sing and the tales they would spin. 

As they lounged in the light of the old country inn. 

But a day came at last when the stage brought no load 

To the gate as it rolled up the long dusty road. 

And lo ! at the sunrise a shrill whistle blew 

O'er the fields — and the old yielded place to the new — 

And a merciless age with its discord and din 

Made wreck, as it passed, of the pioneer inn."