frj f/^ray; ///f>fiue
(Jc,^^<.^,j /f /9?/
History of Kenmore
Erie County, New York
Frederick S. Parkhurst, Pfi. D.
Home of L. P. A. Eberhardt, Kenmore pioneer, at
Delaware and West Hazeltine Avenues, now home of
Y. W. C. A. Duplicate of this, built by F. B. Eberhardt,
now occupied by Wheel Chair Home, at Delaware and
The importance of recording events that take place in the
-v/orld cannot be overestimated. Whether these events are of
interest to the world at large, or to a particular country or
community matters not. As time goes by such chronicles be-
come increasingly valuable.
Although the United States is comparatively a new coun-
try, the veil of obscurity still covers many events that took
place even less than a hundred years ago, because there was
no local historian at hand to record them, or their passing
character was considered insignificant. The biographical, his-
torical, and geographical sections of our public libraries are
being increasingly patronized as our nation grows older. Priv-
ate libraries and correspondence often yield rich nuggets of
fact; and no sooner does an octogenarian pass away, than
newspapers, magazines, and historians bid high for the treas-
ure of even a diary, if one has been kept, of passing events, or
recollections of noted people. Thus local chronicles ofttimes
become of world wide interest.
The placing of memorial tablets, markers, and monuments
is no less important. "Remove not the ancient landmark",
advised the wise man of old; but "Place a Marker" is equally
wise advice in our own times, as the old gives place to the new.
We stand with head uncovered at Lincoln's birthplace; yet
who, at the time of his appearing would have forecast its later
momentous interest to the world. A visitor from the far west
stood enchanted as he read the inscription on the marker placed
on the wall of a high business block at the corner of Pearl
Street and W. Swan Street, which indicates the spot where
stood the first school house in Buffalo, built in 1807 — 1808,
and destroyed December 30th, 1813, at the burning of the vil-
lage by the British. His grandfather attended the school.
Monuments erected to the memory of those who fell in the
world war will a hundred years from now, fascinate the on-
looker, as do those erected by our forefathers of Revolutionary
times entrance us.
The village of Kenmore is of recent growth ; yet it is aston-
ishing how few persons now living can recall its earliest settle-
ment. We are dependent upon scrap books, the files of Buffalo
newspapers, and the uncertain memory of a small number yet
living who built their homes in "the new suburb on the north",
as Kenmore was called by Buffalonians in 1889.
There was little or no pioneering connected with the found-
ing of Kenmore in the strict sense of the word; although incon-
venience and hardship were not wanting in many instances,
w^hile homes were being built and public utilities introduced.
A large city was near at hand, and farm houses within sight
relieving a sense of isolation. And yet, many things were en-
dured and experienced that would seem like great deprivation
to the younger generation, so rapid has been our growth and
progress in modern advantages.
Kenmore is now assuming the proportions of a small city.
Our population is increasing rapidly. Recent years have
brought phenomenal changes. Very few new residents know
anything about the early days in Kenmore, and those who have
lived through the development of the village will be equally
interested in the story of Buffalo's most beautiful and progres-
Fred'k S. Parkhurst, Ph. D.
Local Historian appointed by The University
of the State of New York, September 1st, 1919
VILLAGE OF KENMORE
VILLAGE OFFICERS— 1926.
PRESIDENT— Roy R. Brockett.
TRUSTEE— Charles J. J. Seaman.
TRUSTEE— Herman C. Jordan.
TRUSTEE— Justin Trabert.
TRUSTEE— Willis H. Hall.
CLERK— Walter Ducker.
RECEIVER OF TAXES— Charles L. Lowell.
ATTORNEYS— Blackmon & Moore.
ENGINEER— Vernon Eager.
SUPERINTENDENT OF PUBLIC WORKS— Henry Schunk.
Kenmore is a village incorporated under the general village
lav7 of the state. Its law-making body is a board of trustees,
consisting of a president elected for one year and four trustees
elected for two years. Two trustees are chosen each year with
the president. The annual election is the third Tuesday in
March. The board is empowered to pass ordinances and en-
force them, but its general powers are prescribed by the State
law. It appoints police officers, superintendent of public works,
clerk, attorney, engineer, building and plumbing inspector and
other employes. It acts as a board of assessors and as a board
of election inspectors.
Under a special act of the Legislature in 1917, the office of
receiver of taxes and assessments was created, to take the place
of the village treasurer. This officer collects all taxes and gas
and water bills, and pays out moneys on warrant of the village
Patrolmen on duty at all hours, covering all streets of village
on motorcycles. Special officer stationed at school house cross-
sing at Delaware and Knowlton avenues for protection of chil-
dren. Police force comprises: Clarence E. Yochum, chief;
Harry Brounshidle, Thomas DeGuehrey, desk lieutenants;
Alfred Bleyle, Edward Schultz, Miner F. Wildey, Frank V.
Schultz, Carlyle Johnston, Archibald Kirkwood, patrolmen;
constables and special officers appointed by village board.
FIRE ALARM SYSTEM
Paid fire department, with three motor trucks and men on
duty at all hours. Volunteer department, members of which
respond to alarms. Siren blows and bell in fire hall rings in re-
sponse to alarms sent in from street boxes. Officers of volunteer
department for 1926: Chief, Fred Spear; first assistant chief,
Ray Kirsch; second assistant chief, Bruce Miller; Walter
Ducker, secretary-treasurer; wardens, Henry Schunk, Charles
Weiss, Thomas Costello, Charles Michaels, Roscoe L. Rosser.
Fire hall Delaware Avenue between Warren and Euclid.
^ Two carrier deliveries a day from the Hertel Station,
Buffalo. Two collections daily from street boxes. Sub-station
for for sale of stamps, registering and recieving parcel post
matter, 2809 Delaware avenue, Mary D. Connolly, agent.
Village board is the board of health, with a appointed
registrar. Roscoe L. Rosser, registrar. Dr. E. R. Linklater,
health officer, residence 2770 Delaware avenue.
The public schools are a charge upon the school district.
No. 1, which comprises all the village of Kenmore and
part of the town of Tonawanda. The school board of five
members is elected by the people of the district at the
annual meeting. The taxes are levied annually upon the
property in the district, based upon the assessed valuations as
fixed by the town board of assessors. The board chooses its
secretary and treasurer and it has full powers in the conduct of
the schools, under supervision of the State Department of Edu-
cation. The budget is submitted to the people at the annual
meeting. Bond issues must be approved by the people.
The school board of District No. 1 comprises: Frank C.
Greutker, president; Willis E. Elliott, Mrs. E. R. Linklater,
William W. Whitelock and Frederick Whelpley. Kenneth
O. Irvin is secretary-treasurer. Frank C. Densberger is super-
intendent of schools, Roy G. Freeman principal of the high
school and C. M. Gould principal of Washington grammar
school, Mrs. Tillie W. Hausauer, Lincoln Elementary School.
By order of the State commissioner of education, issued in
November, 1925, school districts Nos. 1, 3 and 4 were consoli-
dated, effective August 1, 1926.
SCHOOL STATISTICS JUNE 1ST, 1926
Washington Elem. Echool
Teachers 30 Pupils 927
Lincoln Elem. School
Teachers 10 Pupils 251
Elhvood Elem, School
Teachers 1 Pupils 27
Junior-Senior High School
Teachers 35 Pupils 582
"The ISlew Suburb on the North"
History of Kenmore
1889 ' 1899
Settlement and Early History
The Village of Kenmore, in the Town of Tonawanda, Erie
County, N. Y., "the fastest growing residential community in
the country", and "The center of the Niagara Frontier Indus-
trial District", was first settled in the spring of 1889.
Louis P. A. Eberhardt, who is fondly called "Daddy Eber-
hardt", was the original pioneer and realtor. He built the
first house during the winter of 1888-9 on the site now occu-
pied by his real estate office No. 2749 Delaware Avenue; it was
burned down in March 1894.
The next house built by Mr. Eberhardt was the brown stone
house on Delaware Avenue now occupied, with the frame on
W. Hazeltine Avenue by the Y. W. C. A. The other brown
stone house at the corner of Delaware and Kenmore Avenues
was built at the same time by Fred B. Eberhardt and is now
occupied by the Wheel Chair Home. These durable and hand-
some twin structures have long stood as sentinels at the ap-
proach to our village from Buffalo, admired by all and pro-
phetic of Kenmore's stability and future prosperity. The second
house built in Kenmore was the residence of Myron A. Phelps,
still standing on the original site at 2798 Delaware Avenue
corner of Tremaine, now owned and occupied by Harrison
H. Bury. Other houses were soon built, and the foresight and
enterprise of the first settlers was readily admitted. In 1890
nearly three hundred people lived in the village. It requires
some stretch of the imagination to visualize the awful roads,
absence of sidewalks, lack of lighting, dearth of potable water,
and other inconveniences in the newly settled village. The
beautiful and busy thoroughfare which is now, next to Main
Street, Buffalo, the main artery of traffic north and south was,
at that time, an ordinary dirt road. All around Kenmore were
fields of clay soil, none too fertile for farming, with a few scat-
tered farm houses in the Township of Tonawanda in which the
growing village is situated.
First home built in Kenmore, at Delaware and
Tremaine Avenues, by Myron A. Phelps, first village
It was proposed calling the village "Eberhardt" ; but firmly
and modestly Mr. Eberhardt said, "No, they might nickname it
'Dutchtown'." But the real reason was Mr. Eberhardt's aver-
sion to personal publicity and display. The Erie Railroad was
building a station at this time in the north-east section of
Buffalo near Main Street and had chosen the name "Kenmore",
but the alert Mr. Eberhardt with an ear for euphony, appro-
priated the name for the fast growing community and the name
"Kensington" was attached to the Erie Station. A sign bearing
the name "KENMORE" was placed at the intersection of Dela-
ware and Kenmore Avenues, where all who ran might read.
There are several places called Kenmore in the United States,
notably Kenmore in Fairfax County, Va., the home of Wash-
ington's sister, and a village in Ohio. Probably both these
places, our own village, and other places so named, took their
name from a small island on the south-west coast of Ireland;
or from a village in Scotland, each of which bears the name
Among those who were first attracted to Kenmore as a
desirable place of residence and the location for a village were
Louis P. A. Eberhardt, Fred B. Eberhardt, Myron A. Phelps,
A. B. Crary, O. K. Horning, A. W. Olmstead, A. B. Floyd, G.
W. Peck, John A. Miller, F. W. Drake, L. L. Briggs, Ephraim
Funk, Frank Stillwell, John J. Bernd, Virgil M. Hunter, Henry
Tremaine, C. M. Aiken, Arthur Hall, Andrew Frank, Jabesh
Harris, J. B. Zimmerman, and others. Among those living in
the town of Tonawanda at the time Kenmore was founded,
and not far from the Buffalo city line, were John Winter,
Henry Winter, Jacob Busch, John Bleyle, Fred Bleyle, Fred
Ebling, Isadore Keller, Frank Mang, Isadore Mang, and others.
Delaware Avenue, Buffalo, was paved as far north as Forest
Avenue. From that point to Kenmore there was an ordinary
country road which was badly drifted with snow in winter,
and covered with alternate dust and mud in summer. The peo-
ple who ride through the well paved streets of our village, or
walk along our shady avenues little realize the problems of
transportation in the village in 1889.
The Kenmore omnibus line started in December making
regular trips between Belt Line station on Delaware Avenue
and Kenmore. Passengers were carried free of charge as an
inducement to home-seekers, and fifty or more people made
the trip daily. There was no shelter in inclement weather at
the Buffalo end of the line. A petition signed by eighty men
and women residents of Kenmore was sent to the Sup't of the
N. Y. Central Railroad asking for a station, if nothing but an
old box car.
THE WHITE HOUSE
The "White House" familiar to the early settlers in Ken-
more was the Ackerman farm house situated on the north-east
corner of Delaware and Kenmore Avenues on a seventy-four
acre farm. Near the house was a fine well of water sixty feet
deep. This was the "Village Pump"; and from it the residents
secured plenty of clear, cold water. The "White House" was
later removed giving place to a more modern dwelling. A part
of it was moved so as to face East Hazeitine Avenue and was
made over into a two family flat by William Rowland, and is
still standing at 17 East Hazeitine Avenue. The "White House"
served a beneficent purpose in its day. It was the only hostelry
where transients could find a night's lodging, and those wait-
ing for houses to be built could find accommodation. It was
also used for the first social, and religious meetings in the new
The first store to supply the people of Kenmore with gro-
ceries and "Yankee Notions" was opened in the building now
standing on the south-east corner of Kenmore Avenue (No.
1412-1420) and Toledo Place, on the Buffalo side of the line. It
has been used for mercantile purposes as late as 1916, and is.
now a two family flat. The first drug store to meet the needs
of Kenmore residents was commenced in April and opened for
business in June 1894. The building still remains on the south-
east corner of Delaware Avenue (No. 2660) and Sessions Street
Buffalo, and is used as a store and residence. Dr. R. S. Ham-
bleton was the proprietor. The first store within the present
village limits was kept by John Johnson, and afterwards by
F. B. Fulton, in 1897 ; and still later by D. A. Phelps. It is now
occupied by H. H. Bury, Furniture and Undertaking, No. 2838
Delaware Avenue. Mr. Bury has the double distinction of living
in the oldest house and trading in the oldest store in Kenmore.
The first joint meetings of the Town Board of Tonawanda.
and the officials of the village were held in the rear of the old
Presbyterian Church which stood on the site of the present new
structure. On the south-east corner of Delaware and Hertel
Avenues stood an old log house in which a Sunday School
was conducted by the Westminster Presbyterian Church of
Buffalo. Both children and "grown ups" attended religious
services there before there were any churches in Kenmore.
As late as 1918 Kenmore was facetiously described as, "A
place of 5000 population, without a Post Office, Railway Sta-
tion, Hotel, or Express Office". Many a 'Tour Corners" of 300
people in the rural districts have these advantages, and al-
though the proximity of Buffalo supplies all these needs, yet
the name of "Kenmore" N. Y. does not appear in the U. S. '^"^ ^
Postal guide. That it is due our large and busy village none y/^i'^^
can deny. The conditions required by the proper authorities z^ //f.
will soon be met however. Kenmore had a Post Office for a y^»^/
number of years. It was first established February 28th, 1891. -'^^^-^
L. P. A. Eberhardt received the appointment as Post Master, ur^/^ao
The salary was $200 a year. Dreams of a Federal Building r^^----^
were dreamed in those by-gone days. All dreams do not come dj.rr /
to pass; and many come true long years afterward. The vision /j- ^
may yet be fulfilled. Mr. Eberhardt's successors in office were^^^^
as follows —
Wellington B. Tanner, May 25th, 1896 ^^
Francis B. Fulton, Jan. 17th, 1898 -r^^'^'^^
Aaron Lamont, July 30th, 1907
Henry Tremaine, July 26th, 1910 ' "•
Stephen R. Williams, July 25th, 1913 ":
Henry J. Ebling, (Acting) Nov. 23rd, 1917
Discontinuance effective, March 31st, 1918
After the latter date Kenmore's mail was delivered by car-
riers from Station H., Buffalo, and later from Hertel Station,
Buffalo. Sub-station No. 12 is maintained for the sale of
stamps, registration and parcel post at 2809 Delaware Avenue.
In striking contrast with the prevailing prices of real estate
in 1924-1926 were those of 1888. In the latter year "West
Bros, of Syracuse, N.Y. sold to Eberhardt and Sanborn through
Phelps & Barnes, twenty-five acres on the west side of Dela-
ware Avenue for $300 an acre." Eight acres located 800
feet east of Delaware Avenue on Villa Avenue sold for
$21,700. The Myron A. Phelps residence on the corner of
Delaware and Tremaine Avenue cost $4500. The Herbert
A. Zimmerman house No. 2808 Delaware Avenue, cost about
$8000. The estimated cost of the Fred B. Eberhardt Medina
sandstone residence erected in 1893 was $15,000. Very desir-
able lots just off Delaware Avenue on any of the side streets
could be bought for $250.
In 1890 the "Kenmore Oil, Natural Gas, and Fuel Com-
pany, Limited" was organized. Capitalization $2500 to be
increased if the venture was successful. A test well was drilled
on the Park Land Company property on Kenmore Avenue near
Myron Avenue At a depth of 736 feet a rich vein of gas was
struck at 500 lbs pressure. Such was the force of the escaping
gas that it could be heard a mile or more away. The gas was
piped to several dwellings for fuel. To properly finish the
well as a producer it was "Shot" with Nitro-Glycerine. Many
were of the opinion that it was "Overshot" as the flow there-
after greatly diminished. A. B. Crary, now living at No. 1337
Kenmore Avenue bought the lot on which the well was located
for $500. After all the years since this venture was made, the
well is still producing gas which is used by Mr. Crary in his
kitchen stove. The well may still be seen, covered by a small
shanty, padlocked, in the rear of 1303 Kenmore Avenue and
rear of Mr. William Dicks residence 10 Myron Avenue. The
officers of the Company were M. A. Phelps, Pres; S. J. Dark,
Vice Pres; W. F. Strasmere, Sec'y; L. P. A. Eberhardt, Treas.
The geologists were right. While there can be no doubt that
natural gas exists in Kenmore and Tonawanda, the quantity is
not enough to pay for development.
During the fall of 1891 the first trip of the new omnibus
was made to Buffalo, when about a dozen people went to a re-
vival meeting at the Emanuel Baptist Church in Rhode Island
Street. Building lots advanced $2 and $3 a front foot and the
village took on a lively aspect. A. B. Crary broke ground for
his new house on Kenmore Avenue, and O. K. Horning moved
into his new house on the same street. A building boom was
now on. Among the interesting events of the winter "Mr. L.
P. A. Eberhardt gave a Euchre Party in honor of his brother
The religious and social life of the village kept pace with
the building development. On September 22nd, 1892 the cor-
ner stone of the Methodist Episcopal Church was laid with in-
teresting ceremonies. Ground was broken for the Jabesh
Harris residence still standing at 2771 Delaware Avenue and
occupied as the Kenmore Tea Roorn^ Mr. Harris died soon /^
after moving into his new home. The Rev. George Marsh one '
of Kenmore's earliest and most influential ministers delivered
a temperance lecture illustrated with stereopticon views. Rev.
Mr. Marsh was the pastor of the Presbyterian congregation.
Mrs. A. Frank sold her house on Sanborn Avenue (now LaSalie
Ave) to the Westminister Presbyterian Church of Buffalo,
which stood sponsor for the local society, for a parsonage, and
a box social was held for the benefit of the organ fund. A
petition was circulated to pave Delaware Avenue with asphalt.
Prospects of an electric railway enlivened the village as
carloads of material were unloaded at the Lackawanna switch
on Delaware Avenue in the spring of 1893. The streets pre-
sented a lively appearance during the summer. More than a
hundred workmen were engaged in laying the tracks of the
Kenmore & Tonawanda Electric Railway through the village.
The track was laid before Delaware Avenue was paved, at the
rate of 500 feet a day. The route to Buffalo was by way of
West Kenmore Avenue on the Kenmore side of the city line to
Military Road, and Grant Street. The service was every twenty
minutes. After the line was completed, Delaware Avenue was
paved with vitrified brick through the village and town to city
of Tonawanda. This outlet for traffic to and from Buffalo was a
great promoter and speeded up the building of more houses.
A subscription was circulated to connect the village with
Buffalo by telephone. A sewer was laid for a distance of one
mile north of the Buffalo city line. The crying need at this
time was for a water system. The Buffalo water mains in Dela-
ware Avenue were completed to the City Line in September.
The people of Kenmore said, "Why not extend a six inch main
1000 feet further north and give us service?" it was an easy
thing to ask questions, but to obtain service from a separate
municipality was a difficult matter.
Telephones had been in common use for many years before
Kenmore enjoyed the advantage. Enough subscribers were
secured however in 1894 and an office was opened for public
use and came at once into general use by the business men. The
village was now growing so rapidly that eight families lived in
four houses waiting for new homes to be finished. Evidently
the "Speed Mania" existed even at this seemingly distant day.
Senator Coggeshall introduced a bill in the State Legislature
limiting the speed of trolley cars to "six miles an hour". The
Kenmore Business Men's Association held a special meeting
and adopted strong resolutions opposing the measure. It was
too slow for Kenmore.
THE FIRST FIRE
The burning of Kenmore's first house, that of L. P. A. Eber-
hardt in March 1894, and the lack of water to subdue the
flames, brought up the subject of annexation to Buffalo. The
sentiment w^as almost unanimously favorable, as reported by a
canvassing committee to the Business Men's Association. The
question of annexation to Buffalo has been a perennial dispute
in Kenmore. Like the flowers, it blossoms every year. Some
day the fact will no doubt surprise us, like the Night Blooming
Cereus which expands in a few hours — but not to fade. In re-
sponding to the alarm the Buffalo Fire Dep't had to abandon
their apparatus on account of sewer pits near the city line. By
means of blankets, and water carried by a "bucket brigade"
from a hydrant at the city line, the barn was saved, but the
house was a total loss. Neighbors passed water into the attic
of the house with pails and dishes, but were forced by smoke
and flames to discontinue their efforts; however, most of the
contents of the house were saved. The Buffalo Express com-
menting on the fire said, "The only real remedy for Kenmore is
to come into the city and get an engine and hook and ladder
of her own. There is a limit to fighting fire with soup tureens
The Buffalo sewer from Hertel Avenue north to the city line
was completed during the summer of 1894, and Kenmore had
built a sewer to the Buffalo line, so that about twenty-five feet
only separated the connection. But politicians were in the way
and no contract for connections could be made. It was deter-
mined to brush this hindrance aside. About a hundred deter-
mined "Kenmorites" armed with pick and shovel, having cut
the telephone line, attempted to make the connection during
the midnight hours. But they were forestalled. "A man on
horseback", an enemy, a la Paul Revere, alarmed the Buffalo
Police Dep't, and a wagon load of policemen descended upon
the crowd who were trying to cut the Gordian Knot of Ken-
more's sewerage question, and officially broke the connection.
This lively skirmish however, had the desired effect and soon
brought relief. A contract was made for sewage disposal
through the Buffalo sewer in June 1895. The completion of
the Hertel Avenue electric line during the year greatly facili-
tated access to Buffalo by way of Main Street. The outstanding
event of the year was the completion of the asphalt pavement
on Delaware Avenue from the Belt Line, Buffalo, to Kenmore,
and was celebrated with a general jollification and fireworks
in the evening.
THE SEWERAGE PROBLEM
Again the sewerage problem came up in 1895. In locating
a village, water supply, sewerage, transportation, and fire pro-
tection are among the first essentials. The problem must be
met and solved sooner or later, and to keep pace with house
erection and street building should receive first attention re-
gardless of taxation. The problem still remains as our village
expands on account of the level area surrounding us. Happily
this important matter is being solved by skilled engineers. This
time the cry came from residents in the north part of the vil-
lage. The Business Men's Association petitioned the Town
Board of Tonawanda to establish a sewer district for the relief
of the situation. The Kenmore sewers were connected with the
Buffalo System in January, and a bill was drawn by Cuneen &
Coatsworth under direction of the Town Board of Tonawanda
for the north district and presented at Albany. A delegation
of men and women from Kenmore paid a visit to the Buffalo
City Clerk's office during the spring to face the aldermen with
their troubles, just as they do now at the Kenmore village
hall. No quorum being present City Engineer Fields had to
face the music. Said one woman, "If you don't think we need
relief, I wish you'd come out to Kenmore and pay us a visit.
You can have the use of my cellar for a few hours, and I
think that will be enough for you; you can realize in that time
what we are suffering. If you can stay in any one of the
cellars ten minutes we wont say another word." With storm
sewers in the village and a system now being perfected in
the township, which is rapidly becoming a part of "Greater
Kenmore," these long suffered troubles will be a thing of
BUILT A BARN
In these days when a garage is considered an essential
part of a home, and public garages are so numerous, it seems
strange to know that, in December, 1896, the Methodist
Episcopal Church built a barn, in which to shelter the horses
of the members during service who came from a distance.
Ofttimes the sermon was so lengthy that whinneys from the
restless steeds, and vicious kicks against the stalls resounded
within the sanctuary, and brought the sexton out to quiet the
The building of four houses at one time was spoken of as
"great activit3\" Improvement in the business section of the
village was noticeable during the year; yet it became neces-
sary to inform the reading public through the press that
Kenmore was separated from Buffalo on the north by a fifty
foot street, and was not near the city of Tonawanda as many
supposed. Houses for rent were scarce; it being the plan of
the village leaders to make Kenmore a place of home owners.
MOONLIGHT VS GASLIGHT
For nearly ten years the people of Kenmore had rather
a "spookey" time of it at night, depending on the moon for
the illumination of the streets, and doing without it when the
moon was "dark." One public spirited man maintained, at
some personal expense, a kerosene lamp in front of his house,
his neighbors occasionally contributing a new wick for
encouragement. What an opportunity for some enterprising
parson, to take for a timely topic in the pulpit, the text of
Isaiah 60;19. "Neither for brightness shall the moon give
light unto thee." Perhaps this was what happened; for at a
special meeting called for the purpose in the Presbyterian
Church there were two propositions submitted. First, to lay
pipes and provide lamp posts and burners at a cost of $5,000.
Second, to bond the village for $5,000 to provide the money.
The fear that some hold-up man would happen to come Ken-
more way and part people from their valuables some dark
evening was dismissed as idle talk. Fiat Lux.
In 1898 transportation loomed prominently into view
again. Regular trips between Kenmore and the N. Y. C. R'y-
belt line were made by a bus driven by Frank C. Stillwell, in
whose memory Stillwell Avenue is named. From sixty to
seventy-five persons made the trip each day. A 6 x 6 flag-
man's shanty was the only accommodation provided for
passengers during stormy weather. Twenty-one persons were
seen at one time waiting in the rain. The Business Men's
Association took up the grievance with the Superintendent.
The Buffalo and Lockport Railway Co., purchased a private
right of way from the Kenmore village line through Virgil
avenue, to Hertel avenue, and thus shortened and made more
direct the trip to Buffalo; but they charged an extra fare over
this short stretch of track. Many people walked to Hertel
avenue, or the belt line in fair weather rather than pay this
excess. Again the Kenmore Business Men's Association
showed its merit by taking up the matter with the company,
and presented the case before the Buffalo Aldermanic Council
receiving plenty of applause. No other section of the city was
discriminated against in this w^ay. Why should "Kenmorites"
pay an extra fare for riding a distance of three-quarters of
a mile on Buffalo territory? Mr. Carl Ely, President of the
Buffalo & Lockport electric line said that, the strip of track
on Virgil Avenue was on private property (which is the case
today) and if necessary to preserve their legal standing, they
could stop running their cars at Hertel avenue instead of
running them through to Main Street over the Buffalo Rail-
way's tracks. The Lockport Company however, had no
charter to run cars in the city. The threat was therefore idle
talk. To cease to run only to Hertel Avenue, would be to
surrender the right to operate at all. The five hundred people
of a growing village had outgrown the stage coach and the
belt line route and w^ere insistent on fair play. By fhe end of
the year Kenmore was smiling and jubilant. The Buffalo &
Lockport Railway Company lost its case, and under the Buffalo
Railway Company the extra fare was abolished.
Kenmore being just over the line from Buffalo, the village
became somewhat of a rival for real estate deals and home
finders as incorporation began to be discussed. The attitude
of the big city was that Kenmore should "Blow its own horn,"
a privilege which it was not slow to accept. The first decade
of her history was now about completed. Progress was
assured. Modern houses all occupied were reaching out on
the newly paved streets. A lighting system was to be
installed. The boycott against the trolley road was called off.
Everybody took a ride on one fare. "Boost Kenmore" was the
slogan. Everybody was smiling. "Incorporation" was now
the watchword. So closed the year 1898.
Social and Religious Life Before Incorporation
The early settlers in Kenmore were fully alive to the
necessity of providing social, religious, literary, and musical
requirements and diversions for the growing community.
There were but few aged people among the inhabitants. The
great majority were young married folks and children.
Located five miles from the amusement places of Buffalo, and
lack of transportation facilities, necessitated the development
of home talent and a neighborly spirit. "Surprise parties"
were of frequent occurrence. With well filled baskets of eat-
ables the people invaded each orther's homes with the slightest
excuse, or none at all, simply to enjoy themselves, encourage
sociability, and get acquainted. All were enthusiastic for the
growth and well being of the village, it was the common topic
of conversation. No more hospitable people ever lived than
the people of Kenmore.
A "C. L. S. C." — Chautauqua Literary and Scientific Circle,
and not "Come love sit closer," as it was called by the profane,
was organized. Miss Kate Kimball secretary of the parent
Chautauqua was present to assist with advice, experience, and
inspiration of those at the world famous Chautauqua Institu-
tion near Jamestown, N. Y. Mr. George E. Vincent of the
Rockefeller Foundation, son of the distinguished Bishop John
H. Vincent, the founder of Chautauqua, lectured in the
Methodist Episcopal Church during the winter of 1892 on
"Rambles in Spain and Morocco." The Kenmore Cornet Band,
and the Kenmore Orchestra were organized, the later com-
posed of six pieces: two violins, cornet, clarinet, trombone,
and piano. These musical organizations provided music for
local functions and were in great demand in the surrounding
community for dances and parties. Kenmore had a "Standing
Army" known as Junior Cadets, commanded and drilled by
Ralph Harris. During the winter of 1892 a branch of the
Y. M. C. A. was formed. The officers were: President, F.
Babbington; Vice Presidents, Rev, G. H. Marsh, Jabesh Harris,
and L. P. A. Eberhardt; Secretary, M. A. Phelps; Correspond-
ing secretary, A. W. Olmstead; Treasurer Ralph Harris.
Rooms were opened in the "White House" and supplied with
reading matter and games. A Ladies Auxiliary with Mrs.
Babbington, President; Mrs. A. W. Olmstead, Secretary, and
Emily Eberhardt, Treasurer, rendered efficient aid, meetings
being held in the Presbyterian Church.
A radical temperance sentiment prevailed in Kenmore
from the beginning. A Council of Royal Templars was
instituted in 1891 by the grand officers of the society. At the
initial meeting twenty-two persons were initiated and formed
Kenmore Council No. 248 R. T. of T. On the occasion of the
first anniversary the membership was increased to seventy
five and Cyrus K. Porter, the originator of the Order was
present to confer the degree. A saloon located at the corner
of Delaware Avenue and Kenmore Avenue, was bought out
by the citizens and converted into a drug store and residence
occupied by Dr. J. J. Drake. The building was later removed
and now stands at No. 12 Warren Avenue. The noted Rev.
Father George Zurcher of the Roman Catholic Church, well
known throughout western New York in the 80's lectured in
Kenmore. Many other eminent advocates of total abstinence,
local option, and prohibition kept the temperance question
alive, blazing the way as pioneers for the Volstead Act. Ken-
more was known far and wide as a "Dry" town, and all efforts
to open a saloon met with decided opposition. One of the
provisions in the movement for annexation to Buffalo, which
was so vigorously advocated in 1894 was the privilege of sub-
mitting the question of Local Option to a vote of the citizens of
the village, it begin a foregone conclusion that the vote would
be "Dry." The action of Hyde Park, when it became a part of
Chicago, was cited in evidence, on suit and appeal by a liquor
dealer who was refused a license by the Supreme Court of
An Athletic Association whose object was to better the
vim, vigor, and vitality of Kenmore's young men and boys was
formed in 1892 which proved to be very popular.
Kenmore has had from the beginning "An eye for busi-
ness." A type of men schooled in old and tried methods of
square dealing settled in the village. With a large and grow-
ing city across the line and reaching out toward the north the
"course of empire" naturally took its way out Delaware
Avenue and the foresight of the realtors in founding a village
five miles from the city hall in Buffalo, looked upon with doubt
by many, was more than justified within three years. Young
men of ability and skill were soon attracted to the growing
suburb. In July, 1893 the Kenmore Business Men's Associa-
tion was organized with the following officers: James B.
Zimmerman, President; George H. Marsh, Vice President;
Myron A. Phelps, Secretary; Albert B. Crary Treasurer.
Among the first questions taken up was "Better care of the
side streets, the extension of the Boulevard, a system of water
works, and the organization of a Fire Department." Annexa-
tion to Buffalo was one of the leading question of discussion in
1894, nearly all the members favoring the plan. Joint meet-
ings were held with the Town Board of Tonawanda occa-
sionally, at which sewerage, water supply, fire protection,
lighting, and all questions relating to the growth and welfare
of the village were taken up and acted upon. It was a matter
of vigilence, sacrifice, caution and hard work on the part of a
few determined men, but they were cheered by the steady
growth of the village. The question of annexation to Buffalo
was discussed by the Buffalo newspapers at some length.
"Wants to marry Buffalo and be in the municipal family," said
one. "Kenmore should be a part of Buffalo. The result is
inevitable," said another. Money, brains, and labor had been
expended in beautifying Kenmore, but water, lighting, better
transportation, sewerage, and other extensive improvements
were needed and many thought that annexation would end the
trouble. Kenmore's business men did not wish to antagonize
their neighbors by pushing their ideas to the exclusion of other
townships, but a committee wa^s appointed to draft a bill to be
presented to the Legislature authorizing the annexation of
Kenmore to the City of Buffalo. Some of the Erie County
members of the state Legislature were in favor of taking in
Cheektowaga, Amherst, West Seneca, and Grand Island. The
plan to take in Kenmore only was called the "Bay Window"
scheme. The Buffalo Express favored the "wholesale plan
of annexation." "The result is inevitable, gravitation is not
Many years ago a pessimist said, "The country is going to
the dogs," an optimist replied, "The dogs are still hungry."
The situation had its amusing side also. In the Buffalo News
of February 8th, 1896 a cartoon appeared showing Tona-
wanda's idea of annexation. It represented a Russian sled
driven through a forest in winter, pursued by a pack of hungry
wolves, the driver whipping the horses frantically trying to
escape. A woman in the sleigh named "Tonawanda" was in
the act of throwing a baby named "Kenmore" to the hungry
pack, while they made a "get away."
In June 1894 Alderman Bradish sang out/'All aboard for
Kenmore," from the City Hall steps in Buffalo. At 2:30 P. M.
the Council started out for the village in carriages. On arriv-
ing they found Kenmore in gala attire. The residents vied
with each other in showing off the beauty and advantages of
the village. The aldermen were escorted to the parlors of
the Methodist Episcopal Church were a demonstration of how
much chicken an alderman could eat took place. President
Franklin, feeling a generous impulse after eating the second
piece of pie, promised to annex Kenmore right away. A joke-
smith of the opposition cruelly said, "An attack of indigestion
made him recall his promise."
The taxable value of Kenmore at this time was §4,000,000,
and a large amount of building was in progress. The village
now had over 300 population, 4 miles of water mains, 1200
feet of gas mains, 60 dwellings, 3 churches, 2 schools, and 3
general stores. Improved street car service was obtained and
"Kenmorites" as Buffalo delighted to call them, had access
to the city for one fare, with service every fifteen minutes. As
early training, advantages, and environment show themselves
in growing boys and girls, so the social, religious and early
business experiences of Kenmore's people had left its indelible
impress, showing a healthy, progressive, growing village ready
to enter a new stage of incorporated existence.
"TKe Fastest Groiving Community in the Country"
The Decade of Groivth and Incorporation
1899 ' 1909
Ten years had now passed by since the settlement of the
village, and it was known that the population met the legal
requirements for incorporation. The real object of this action
was to secure the advantages of water, sewers, lighting and
other necessary improvements which could not be otherwise
obtained. There was no discord whatever between the village,
and the Township of Tonawanda, but the town authorities had
not the power that a village board would have.
On July 14th, a list of 313 names were secured — "Names
of the inhabitants of the territory in the Township of Tona-
wanda and described in the proposition for the Incorporation
of the Village of Kenmore hereto attached."
PROPOSITION FOR THE INCORPORATION OF THE
VILLAGE OF KENMORE
"The undersigned adult residents freeholders of the terri-
tory hereinafter described propose the incorporation thereof
by the name of the Village of Kenmore."
"The territory proposed to be incorporated does not exceed
one square mile and is bounded and described as follows:
"Beginning at a point in the Easterly line of Delaware
Avenue at its intersection with the southerly line of lot thirty-
two (32) in the Twelfth (12) Township and Eighth (8) range
of the Holland Land Company's Survey, running thence
Easterly along said Southerly line of lot Thirty-two (32) being
also the north line of the City of Buffalo Two Thousand nine
hundred thirty-one and 7-10 (2931.7) feet to the center of the
Niagara Falls Boulevard.
"Thence North Easterly along said line of the Niagara Falls
Boulevard Two Thousand Thirteen and 4-10 (2013.4) feet to
an iron post. Thence North Easterly along said center line of
the Niagara Falls Boulevard One Thousand five hurwlred
thirty-eight and 25-100 (1538.25) feet to an iron post.
"Thence Westerly at an angle of Ninety-one degrees and
forty-four minutes (91.44) with said center line of the Niagara
Falls Boulevard Two Thousand and four hundred sixty and
36-100 (2460.36) feet to an iron post in the center of the old
"Thence North Easterly along said center line of Old Dela-
ware Road Four Hundred Forty and 9-10 (440.9) feet to the
intersection of the center line of Old Delaware Road with the
Northerly line of said lot thirty-two (32). Thence Westerly
along said Northerly line of lot Thirty-seven (37) at an angle of
seventy-five degrees and Twenty-four (75° 24") with the
center line of Old Delaware Road Three Thousand eighty-five
(3085) feet to the center line of Elmwood Avenue.
"Thence Southerly along said centerline of Elmwood Av-
enue Three Thousand Nine Hundred Sixty-Eight and 5-10
(3968.5) feet to the Southerly line of lot Thirty-seven (37).
"Thence Easterly along said line to lots Thirty-seven and
Thirty-two (37 and 32) Two Thousand four hundred eighty-six
and 5-10 (2486.5) feet to the point of beginning. Such terri-
tory containing a population of Three Hundred Thirteen (313)
as appears from the enumeration hereto attached.
Dated July 14th, 1899."
The following notice was then issued from the Supervisor's
To all whom it may concern
That a proposition for the incorporation of the Village of
Kenmore has been received by the undersigned John K. Patton,
as Supervisor of the Town of Tonawanda, that at the Public
School House situated at the junction of Delaware Avenue and
Old Delaware Road in such territory and on the 28th day of
July 1899 at 10 o'clock in the forenoon of the said day, a hear-
ing will be had upon such proposition and that such a proposi-
tion will be open for public inspection at the store of Francis B.
Fulton situate on the west side of Delaware Avenue in such
territory, until the day of such hearing.
Dated July 17, 1899
John K. Patton,
Supervisor of the Town of Tonawanda.
The minutes taken at this meeting are filed with the decision
of the Supervisor, in the Town Clerk's Office (Vault of the Vil-
lage Hall, 1926) and also the original petition and a copy of
the above notice and Mr. Bryant's (Town Clerk) aflSdavit.
"Calvin E. Bryant on the 17th day of July 1889 and ten
days prior to the hearing posted a copy of the notice: One,
Front door of Public School House, Delaware Avenue and
Delaware Road; One, Front of store of Francis B. Fulton, West
side of Delaware Avenue; One, between telephone Pole East
side of Delaware Avenue and city line. These were posted "con-
spicuously" and in a "substantial" manner."
This was sworn to before Howard Winship
NOTICE OF ELECTION
"To be held in the Public School House 5th day of Septem-
ber 1889 between the hours of 1 P. M. and sunset of said day
for the purpose of determining the question of incorporation
upon such proposition.
John C. Webb, Town Clerk
of the Town of Tonawanda."
The notice was posted in eleven conspicuous places ten
days before the date fixed for the election. The whole number
of ballots cast was 32: for incorporation 31 ; against incorpora-
tion 1. Frank E. Hall was appointed Village Clerk September
16th, 1889 by John C. Webb, Town Clerk of Tonawanda until
his successor was chosen.
So one-sided was the election that there was no excitement
whatever. The fact that only 32 votes were cast not mean that
only that number of people were interested in the proposition,
for not all who are entitled to vote at regular County, State
and National elections can vote on the question of incorpora-
tion. The Crystal Springs Water Co., anticipating favorable
action on incorporation, had already made application for the
privilege of supplying Kenmore residents with water.
FIRST VILLAGE ELECTION
Notice of the election of village officers was called for the
third day of October from 10 A. M. to 4 P. M. at the Public
School House by Frank E. Hall, acting Village Clerk. The total
number of votes cast for the office of President was 30; of
which, Myron A. Phelps received 29, and Jacob Heimiller 1.
The Trustees, long term, 31 votes were cast; of which Welling-
ton B. Tanner received 24, George A. Besch 3, Calvin E. Bryant
2, Frank Mang 1, Fred Ebling 1. For Trustees, short term;
Calvin E. Bryant received 16 votes, George A. Besch 11, Well-
ington B. Tanner 2. Francis B. Fulton was elected Treasurer
receiving 27 votes. Frank C. Stillwell was elected Collector,
Virgil M. Hunter, Harvey Sperry, and George A. Besch were
chosen Inspectors of Election.
FIRST BOARD MEETING
The first meeting of the Village Board was held at the
home of the President, Myron A. Phelps, October 4, 1899.
Frank E. Hall was appointed Village Clerk, George A. Besch,
Street Commissioner. A village seal and stationery were or-
dered. The City National Bank of Buffalo was named as de-
pository for village funds. George H. Frost was appointed Vil-
lage Attorney. The Board was authorized to borrow "upon the
credit of the village not to exceed $500 for the purpose of
raising funds to defray the expenses of incorporation".
Such were the small beginnings of the political life of Ken-
more. The first "Village Fathers" were men of upright char-
acter, breadth of vision, and deeply interested in the welfare
of the growing community. Encouragement was given to every-
thing that would build up the village on a substantial basis and
make it attractive to home seekers. Anything likely to debase
the moral and social life was vigilantly excluded.
NAMES AND TERMS OF VILLAGE PRESIDENTS
Myron A. Phelps, 1899-1901
Fred B. Eberhardt, 1901-1902
George A Besch, 1902-1904
Myron A. Phelps, 1904-1906
R. D. C. Rudhard, 1906-1910
Robert L. Kimberley, 1910-1911
R. D. C. Rudhard, 1911-Resigned
E. B. Olmstead, Vacancy-1912
Matthew D. Young, 1912-1919
A. R. Atkinson, 1919-1921
Walter Ducker, 1921-1924
R. R. Brockett, 1924-1926
THE INFANT VILLAGE
Incorporation having been secured the village entered upon
a new life. It felt like a boy wearing his first pair of long
trousers, or better let us say, like a young man who has reached
his majority. The new born village gave a note to W. Harris
Day, of Batavia, N. Y. for eight months in the amount of $500,
October 20, 1899, and thus secured funds for running expenses
until taxes could be levied.
Village Treasurer, F. B. Fulton was bonded in the amount
of $1000. Immediate attention was given to sidewalks, water,
lighting, and sewerage. The Village Board voted unanimously
for a system of water supply from Buffalo, giving bonds for
$6000 to pay for the same.
Thirty street signs were placed for $9.45. Property owners
on Hazeltine Ave were notified to lay board sidewalks, the
cost to be 16 cents per lineal foot. How very small these ex-
penses seem, and how low the cost as compared with the sums
that are now annually expended for the up-keep of the village.
The Tonawanda News carried all printed proposals, bids, and
notices, as no newspaper was then printed in the village.
In May 1900 an ordinance was passed forbidding any
"horse, or mechanical device" to travel "faster than at a pace
of eight miles an hour" within the village limits. Bicycles were
placed under similar restraint, under "penalty of a $5 or $25
fine", and the village was not considered "slow" either, as
might appear in contrast with the speed limits of today which
seem slow at twenty miles an hour to the man driving a six-
cylinder car. The total valuation of resident property holders
at this time was $279,361. A resident of E. Hazeltine Avenue
was notified not to let his horses run at large on that street. As
this was in the month of June 1902, it is presumed that there
was pretty good picking for the "Spark Plugs" on what is now
a busy street with concrete pavement.
A special election was held May 14, 1902, at which the
question of establishing a water system was submitted, at an
estimated cost of $20,000. Forty-seven votes were cast all of
which were in the affirmative. The bonds were bought by
O'Connor & Kahler, 49 Wall Street, New York at 5%. Simi-
lar proceedings were taken August 5, 1902 to secure a lighting
system for $5000, a unanimous vote of twenty-one ballots
being cast. While the vote was light it was unanimous, and
compares favorably with special elections held even twenty
MR. SQUIRE AND THE "KIDDIES"
That the residents of Kenmore were alive to the needs of
the children at the time of incorporation is evident from an
item in the Buffalo News of October 16, 1899, which refers to
Mr. W. F, Squire as the "gentleman with spectacles, plaintive
voice, and courteous but determined never-to-let-go persever-
ance". Mr. Squire secured for that part of Buffalo which the
genial "Al" Lockwood calls "South Kenmore" a two-room
school house on Ramsdell Ave, to accommodate the forty or
more children in and about Villa Ave, who were obliged to
trudge to School No. 21 on Hertel Avenue, in all sorts of wea-
ther. The school house was afterwards used by the Baptist
congregation of Kenmore, and a larger school house was built
on Sessions Street. The original school house was partially de-
stroyed by fire and rebuilt as a residence. No. 29 Ramsdell
BUILDING BOOM AND JOLLIFICATION
The year 1903 witnessed a new impetus in building. Hun-
dreds of people were seeking houses. Rents were $15 and $20
a month, but few were to be had. From the beginning Ken-
more has been a village of home owners. This has been a fac-
tor in the trim neatness of the lawns, variety of shrubbery and
shade trees which has gained for the village the title of "Buf-
falo's most beautiful suburb". The night of January 21, 1903
was a "Jollification". Kenmore was illuminated with gas for
the first time. The Niagara Light, Heat, and Power Co. com-
pleted connections with the local system and piping of houses
for light and cooking went on with a rush. On March 26, 1903
the first steps were taken toward the erection of a Village ani
Pire Hall. Five notices were posted for a public hearing to be
held on March 30, "for the purpose of deciding on either rent-
ing or building a Fire Hall". The decision was for "building".
A special election was held May 1, at which the village voted to
issue bonds for $4000 for the purpose. Bids were opened June
1, and J. B. Rickert was awarded the contract. The building
was formally accepted December 12, 1903, situate No. 2831
Delaware Avenue. May 16, 1904, the Village Trustees auth-
orized the purchase of a 500 pound bell for the Fire Hall from
•the Meneely Bell Company of Troy, N. Y. for $235. The bell
was suitably inscribed with the names of:
"Myron A, Phelps, President;
R. D. C. Rudhard, Trustee;
John L Keller, Trustee;
George H. Pirson, Clerk;
Frank C. Stillwell, Chief."
After the installation of the Siren alarm the bell was placed in
a concrete kiosk on the village green.
AN OLD TIME BRIDGE
When Kenmore was first settled a stream of water had its
source in the north-eastern section of the village near McKin-
ley Avenue and Colvin Boulevard. It flowed down Myron
Avenue, across Delaware Avenue into the Scajacquada Creek,
Buffalo. The stream was known as Cornelius Creek. A bridge
spanned the stream, which in the spring of the year was a wide
creek at Kenmore Avenue and Myron Avenue. The former
bed of the stream may still be traced in the alluvial soil of
Kenmore Avenue and Villa Avenue.
On July 11, 1904, the Town of Tonawanda was notified to
either repair the bridge, or build a new structure. The resi-
dents of Myron Avenue found it necessary to make a deep
ditch by the roadside to carry the surplus water to the bridge.
Nearly all traces of this creek have disappeared; a small via-
duct on Delaware Avenue near the ball grounds remained for
many years after the water was drained into the sewer systems.
SNOW STORMS AND STRAY DOGS
The snow fall during the winter of 1905 was so heavy that
traffic was "completely closed" on Delaware Avenue. "The
deplorable condition making it physically impossible for chil-
dren to go to school". The situation was aggravated by the
use of a rotary snow plow on the trolley line, which piled the
snow on the walks as fast as it was removed. A remonstrance
was made, and snow fences w^ere placed in the fields on the
west side side of Delaware Avenue. The drifts in some places
reached nearly to the top of the telephone poles. The village
had to deal with many "ancient wrongs" during the spring.
The primitive custom of allowing chickens, cows, and horses
to "run at large" became a nuisance. Crowing cocks disturbed
the slumbers of late sleepers. On April 1, a resident being
"greatly annoyed" complained to the Village Board. The date
of the petition being taken into consideration, it was consid-
ered as an "April Fool" joke. Being assured to the contrary
action was taken by the Board to "keep the chickens within
the bounds of her own property", and notice was sent to the
transgressor. "Stray" and "Biting" dogs, boys "meddling with
street lamps," "pilfering books" from the school house, "driv-
ing on the sidewalks," "defacing signs," and other less weighty
matters received attention during the meetings of the Village
Board, as well as selling lots and issuing building permits.
History always has and always will record the faults and foi-
ables of the people; civilization will never outgrow them. The
Village, itself, was like an irrepressible boy; as to its age, it
was but six years old.
EXTENSION AND POLITICS
The watchword of 1906 was "Extension." At a special
election on June 25, a proposition was carried by a majority of
25 votes, ten voting against it, to take in a large section on the
north, from the Niagara Falls Boulevard to Military Road.
$31,000 covered by bonds was expended in extending sewers
and pavements. Men with vision saw that the trend of popu-
lation was toward the north, and later years have proved the
clearness of their vision. During this period of Kenmore's
political history, continuing down to 1912 and beyond two
organizations were striving for mastery; the "Greater Ken-
more," and the "Good Government" parties; the latter nick-
named the "Goo Goos." The contention became so hot that
newspapers throughout western New York carried stirring
comments which put Kenmore "on the map."
NIGHT POLICEMEN AND SKATING RINK
On March 20, 1908 the Village Board appointed Charles
Stephen Sr. "Night Policeman" at a salary of $600 a year. He
was instructed to "wear proper and necessary uniform." Sta-
tioned at Delaware Avenue and Kemore Avenue during the
late hours of the night and early hours of the morning, as the
trolley cars reached the terminal, all suspicious characters who
could not give a satisfactory account of their business were
turned back to Buffalo or sent on to Tonawanada. The resi-
dents rested more peacefully because of this vigilant and faith-
ful officer of the law. Situated midway between Buffalo and
the Tonawandas, crooks of all kinds have been given through
passage either way, so that the peace and quietness of the
Village has rarely been disturbed during the night. During the
year a license was granted the Palace Roller Rink Co., to oper-
ate in "Kenmore Convention Hall" for a fee of $10. This hall
with so pretentious a name, rented to a company with so aspir-
ing a name, was really a political "Wigwam," and was located
on Delaware Avenue near the corner of Wabash Avenue, the
site now occupied by E. R. Ashbery, No. 2968 Delaware Av-
enue. For many years previously the "craze" of roller skating
had swept the country. Roller Skating Rinks could be found
in every village and hamlet throughout the land. As this form
of amusement became stabilized and occupied better buildings,
these Rinks were used for Gospel and Temperance meetings
accommodating large crowds. One fervent Prohibitionist com-
paring the two different uses made of these temporary struc-
tures was heard to exclaim, "How the devil must be gnashing
his teeth." And no wonder, for the Village Board had to take
action, after investigation of the conduct in the Rink, and im-
pose strict rules and regulations as to opening and closing
The first decade of incorporate life closed with a rapidly
growing population. Farm lands were being subdivided into
village lots. A bill was passed permitting the Village to col-
lect taxes from delinquents who were non-residents. Many
shade trees were planted. Streets were extended and paved.
New business houses and offices were opened to take care of
"The Center of the Niagara Frontier Industrial District'^
Development and the World War
1909 ' 1918
NEW FIRE ENGINE AND VILLAGE HALL
Sometimes a mother is heard to sa^, "My daughter is grow-
ing so fast that it keeps me busy lengthening her dresses", but
that was before the days of "Bobbing" either hair or skirts.
So rapid was the development of the village that the adminis-
tration was extremely busy. Permits to erect new homes, and
an increasing number of bills to audit each week marked the
proceedings. New streets were laid out and old ones length-
ened. A special election was held in November 1909 on the
question of spending $1700 for an automatic fire alarm system,
$400 for a chemical fire engine, and $100 for an extension lad-
der. Each proposition was carried at the polls. On April 18,
1910, the Board took a recess to witness a demonstration of the
chemical fire extinguisher purchased from the La France
Chemical Fire Extinguisher at a cost of $425. The exhibition
and the engine both proved to be a great success.
At a special election held July 16, a proposition to pur-
chase the vacated Union School Building for $9500 to be used
as a Village Hall was unanimously carried. The building is
still in use and marks the civic center of the Village. Up to
this time the Board meetings were held in the Fire Hall. It
was felt that a long step had been taken in advance. On Nov-
ember 25, 1910, Myron A. Phelps, the first Village President,
and one of the original settlers and most influential citizens,
died and was buried in Elmlawn Cemetery. For seven years
previous to his demise he occupied the position of Sergeant-at-
arms in the State Capital, Albany.
DANGEROUS GRADE CROSSING
One of the first actions taken by the newly organized Vil-
lage Board on March 27, 1911, was in reference to the frequent
accidents occurring at the double grade crossing on Delaware
Avenue over the tracks of the D. L. &. W. R. R. and Erie Rail-
road. The death of a young lad at that place had recently oc-
curred. In the strongest language possible the matter was laid
before the Public Service Commission. Two years later (1913)
the present subways were completed and, as is always the case,
the public wondered how the old order of things was endured
so long. It is to Kenmore that the credit belongs for the im-
ELECTRICITY AND POLITICS
On June 3, 1912, the Buffalo General Electric Company-
was granted permission to operate for distribution of electricity
for light, heat, and power in Kenmore. Its use soon became
general and "gas mantles" became obsolete. There was how-
ever, another kind of "gas" that oame into general use at this
time, and people began to "step on it". Repeated warnings
vrere issued against "speeding" through the village.
The great American amusement of politics was carried on
with much zeal by rival factions at this time, and the Village
Hail was freely granted both sides for "Rallies" which drew
capacity crowds. Whatever the result of the election the Vil-
lage continued to grow. The differences more particularly
concerned administrative policy than anything else. It is to
Kenmore's credit that the people were deeply interested in the
problems of self-government. They got out to vote and kept
posted in civic affairs.
THE "KENMORE ECHO"
The "Greater Kenmore" party which had been in power
for several years made a great effort to retain leadership, prid-
ing themselves on the condition of the village under their ad-
ministration. For two years the "Kenmore Echo", the organ
of the party, was published by W. G. Ruddle at the "The
Printery" on West Hazeltine Avenue. With the victory rest-
ing upon the "Good Government" banners the paper ceased
It does not seem credible that in the year 1913 a proposi-
tion was carried at the polls to purchase the triangle plot of
land in front of the Village Hall for the paltry sum of $55.
Or at least that portion of it which was not included in the
original site of the Public School Building, now the Village
Hall, and lying between Old Delaware Road and Delaware
Avenue. This beautiful plot of land now adorned with the
captured cannon, old fire bell in its kiosk, and World War
Memorial could not be purchased now for a hundred times
that sum. It is comparable only to the purchase of Manhattan
Island by the Dutch from the Indians for "The value of sixty
guilders", about twenty-four dollars gold.
KENMORE CIVIC ASSOCIATION
For several years the Kenmore Civic Association was very
active in village improvement. "Civic Week" was celebrated
each year with a program of events intended to advertise, ad-
vance, and improve the Village as a desirable place for homes.
The churches, schools, fire department and other organiza-
tions were all enlisted to provide entertainment and public
exercises. The celebration was always a success. Buttons
with "K. C. A. — Boost, Build, Boom Kenmore" were v/orn.
^'Stickers" for the backs of letters, and an illustrated booklet
"Kenmore, Buffalo's Home Suburb" were distributed and mail-
ed to other places,
THE "KENMORE NEWS"
The "Kenmore News" owned and edited by Ray D. French,
was the official paper of the village, and Town of Tonawanda
in 1912, and was published on the first Thursday of each
month. Mr. French was the cashier of the State Bank of Ken-
more at the opening of that institution. The "News" was
bought by the "Kenmore Record". Mr. French moved to Cali-
fornia and died in Los Angeles, November 27, 1922. His life
motto was "For Others".
In the "Kenmore Echo" of March 17, 1913 (note the date)
appeared an advertisement of a "Family Liquor Store, W. W.
Mang, Proprietor", in which was offered "Meadville Rye, 25
cents per bottle"; "California Port Wine, 25 cents per bottle";
"Duffy's Malt Whiskey, 85 cents per bottle"; "Delivered at
your Door". S. Varga charged 85 cents for "Men's Sewed
Soles"; Haircuts were 25 cents, and shaving 10 cents. Such
were pre-war prices.
Toward the close of the year 1916 an appeal was made to
the U. S. Post Office authorities for the free delivery of mail
in the village which was granted a few months later, the car-
riers starting from Station H, Main Street, Buffalo.
The estimated village tax in 1915 was $25,761.09. The pro-
position for removal of ashes, garbage and rubbish $1200. The
Village Board was composed of Matthew D. Young, President;
Trustees, F. D. Booth, W. B. Smith, A. E. Seipp, C. J. J. Sea-
man; Treasurer, R. A. Toms; Collector, Andrew S. Walker;
Sup't Public Works, Fred Ebling; Chief of Police, Albert F.
Pallovv-; Clerk, E, W. Johnson. As a study in comparative
prices, "bids for 25 tons of coal delivered at the Fire Hall were
received at $6.25 and $6.30 per ton".
THE "KENMORE RECORD"
The first issue of the "Kenmore Record" appeared as a four
page weekly on February 3, 1916, A. L. Brainard editor and
proprietor. Mr. Brainard was considered one of the best news-
paper reporters in Buffalo. The "Record" filled the want of
the growing Kenmore field at once and soon outgrew its in-
fant clothes appearing in larger form. In size it has kept pace
with the growth of the village. In politics it is independent.
In the year 1922, William B. Smith bought a half interest in
the Kenmore Record which was incorporated in the same
year. W. B. Smith was elected president and A. L. Brainard
treasurer. The first issue in the new plant was an eight page
paper with a circulation of one thousand; it is now printing
a sixteen page paper and has a circulation of twenty-seven
hundred. The special features are of great interest to ail
classes of readers. It is now printed in its own plant at 11
The Silver Jubilee of the Methodist Episcopal Church was
celebrated in February 1916 while the Rev. Fred'k S. Park-
hurst Ph.D. was pastor. Extensive interior improvements were
made during the summer. Dr. Parkhurst retired from the ac-
tive ministry in October 1916, having served the church four
years, and became a permanent resident in the Village taking
up general insurance work and writing. He was appointed
Local Historian of Kenmore and Tonawanda by the State Univ-
ersity in 1919.
One of the last, and perhaps the greatest achievements of
the Kenmore Civic Association was the founding of the Ken-
more Public Library. It was a noteworthy achievement and a
lasting monument of what can be accomplished by united, per-
severing effort. The Library was opened on July 4, 1916 in
the Village Hall with public exercises. Eleven hundred books
donated at the start. On April 7, 1924, after being a depend-
ent tenant in the Village Hall, with the exception of a year in
the "Y. W.", the Trustees purchased the property in Mang
Avenue, which was opened for library purposes on May 17. At
a special taxpayers vote on July 7, the sum of $6000 was ap-
propriated and the library became the property of the Village.
The transfer was signed by the Village authorities on January
3, 1925. An inventory included 2659 books valued at $1,315,
furmture $500, building $8000, cash in bank $578.30, Total
^10.393.30, for which the taxpayers paid $6000. The Library
is now in a growing and flourishing condition.
NO "EAST SIDE, WEST SIDE"
In order that there should be no "East" and "West" side
in Kenmore, the streets so designated were re-named. On the
east side of Delaware Avenue; East Tremaine Avenue, and
East LaSalle Avenue, were re-named respectively Parkwood
Avenue, and Euclid Avenue. There are no "Streets" in Ken-
more. All thoroughfares are either Avenues, Roads, or Boule-
vards. Thus we escape being a "Main Street" town.
Mr. J. B. Rickert long identified as a prominent citizen and
builder, died February 12, 1916.
During the summer an addition of twelve rooms was made
to the High School at a cost of $46,000.
Rev. C. W. Winchester, D, D., a retired Methodist Episco-
pal clergyman died March 24, 1916. He was distinguished as
an author and lecturer, and was a property owner in the Vil-
lage for many years.
Village President Young appointed April 8 as "Tag Day"
to raise funds for the destitute in the War Zone. The Fred
B. Eberhardt home on Delaware Avenue was sold to the Wheel
Chair Home for $17,400 and was occupied on May 1.
Mrs. Frances E. A. Zimmerman, widow of James B. Zim-
merman, one of Erie County's most popular residents and Su-
pervisor of Tonawanda, died on May 13. Mrs, Zimmerman
was an old resident and greatly beloved by a wide circle of
friends. She was active in church and temperance work. Both
at this time, and at the death of Mr. Zimmerman which oc-
curred May 18, 1894, a gloom of sadness was thrown over the
entire village. Mr. Zimmerman was an ardent Democrat in
politics, and during his lifetime held various official positions
in Erie County. He was a Free Mason, and an ardent worker
and liberal supporter of the Methodist Episcopal Church.
Kenmore In The World War
HOME DEFENSE RESERVE
April 6, 1917, The American Congress declared the exis-
tence of a state of war with Germany. In common with all parts
of our country the village was already aroused with interest
in the struggle going on overseas. A number of our men were
in the National Guard and Regular U. S. Forces. Kenmore
had a number of recruits on the Mexican border in Texas.
Corporal Gordon P. Gilbert, 3rd Artillery, Lieut. Harry Crosby,
Lieut. Lyman Shaw, and Privates Peel, Raeder, Yochum,
Bleyle, Davis, Westfield, Warren and Berger were with the
colors before war was declared.
On June 12, in response to the call of the Governor for a
reserve National Guard, the 195th Company, 4th Brigade,
Home Defense Reserve was organized in Kenmore at the Vil-
lage Hall. A firing squad from the 74th Regiment, Buffalo,
demonstrated a Lewis Machine Gun. General Edgar B. Jewett
spoke on the aims of the organization. Captain Meier of the
Buffalo Mounted Police formed and drilled a company of 87
men who signed the roll. The Company marched up Delaware
Avenue to the city line and w^ere dismissed. On August 21,
the Company was mustered in by Major H. W. Brendel. Fifty
men took the oath of service. September 4, the Company elected
the following officers: Albert C. Towne, Captain; Robert L.
Kimberley, 1st Lieut.; Fred C. Post, 2nd Lieut. Uniforms were
provided by Erie County, and the men were armed with Marlin
Rifles. Meetings of the Company were held in the Village Hall,
and drill took place every Tuesday night. Frederick S. Park-
hurst was appointed Sergeant, Company Clerk, and Chaplain,
"Detached Service". On July 18, Captain A. C. Towne re-
signed and Lieut. Roy E. Perrigo succeeded in command. Frank
C. Densberger was elected Second Lieut, in place of Fred C.
Post, who entered the regular service and went overseas. Paul
Condrell presented the Company with a silk flag 6x9 fringed
with gold. The Company went into camp over Labor Day at
Wheatfield Farm, on the banks of the Niagara River near
LaSalle. Sunday September 1, Field Day services were held by
Chaplain Parkhurst who led thjs singing and delivered an ad-
Mr. Condrell who came from Greece when fifteen years of
age and was exempt from the draft, having only taken out his
first citizenship papers waived his claim saying, "I am glad to
recognize the United States as my country, and am willing to
do anything that Uncle Sam may want me to do." Three bar-
rels of fruit pits used for making carbon gas masks were col-
lected in September 1918. The Company took an active part
in the several Liberty Loan drives and Red Cross work. The
Kenmore Fife and Drum Corps was an outgrowth of Mr. Con-
drell's work in the Company. On February 25, 1919 the Com-
pany was mustered out by Major Fowler of Buffalo, 31 re-
ceived honorable discharges, many others having entered the
regular mxilitary service. The total number belonging to the
Company was 96. The "Armory" was in the Tower Room of
the Village Hall. No ammunition was ever distributed, not a
shot was fired. Registration for the Selective Draft in Ken-
more took place on Tuesday, June 5, in the Village Hall.
Kenmore went "Over the Top" in the several Liberty Loan
drives. In the First Liberty Loan, $17,000 was subscribed be-
ing led by Matthew D. Young, Chairman; Clarence C. Miller,
Sec'y; Otto Bleyle, A. L. Brainard, F. T. Hall, Andrew Steen
and F. J. Wheeler. In the Second Liberty Loan $33,100 was
subscribed led by J. M. Campion, Mrs. F. D. Booth, Chairman
of the Women's Committee. In the Third Liberty Loan $58,150
was subscribed. In the Fourth Liberty Loan $93,400 was sub-
scribed by the entire township of Tonawanda. In the Victory
Liberty Loan floated in the summer of 1918 $71,100 was sub-
scribed, an excess of $21,100. Mrs. C. L. Titus was Chairman
of the Woman's Committee.
RED CROSS WORK
The Tuesday Culture Club was the first organization to
take up Red Cross work in Kenmore. The club gave up their
annual banquet in May 1917 using $50 to purchase a Base
Hospital Bed in Buffalo No. 23, also a one man outfit $15. In
June a gift of $10 was made to the Fruit Fund. In October a
$6.45 welfare gift was made to the Kenmore boys in the U. S,
Service. A total of 446 garments and pieces were made and
given between May 4, and October 2, and for the 74th Regi-
ment 113 pieces, a grand total of 559 pieces.
KENMORE BRANCH OF RED CROSS
The Kenmore Branch of the American Red Cross was or-
ganized in the Village Hall April 20, 1917 : Dr. W. J. M. Wurtz,
Chairman; Mrs. C. L. Titus, Vice Chairman; Mrs. H. Haas,
Recording Sec'y. ; Miss B. A. Myers, Cor. Sec'y- > Mrs. Louis
Neustadter, Treas. ; Committees on Ways and Means, Program,
Press, Work, Membership, Amusements, Clubs, and Churches
were appointed. The workroom was in the Kenmore High
School, excepting six weeks in the winter of 1917-1918, when
three meetings a week were held in the home of Dr. H. T. Gal-
lager on account of coal shortage.
During the first year the following output was made: Sur-
gical Dressings, 23,760; Knitting, 757; Garments, 1556;
Money raised, $1251.91; Extras, $326.89; Total, $1578.80. All
materials were supplied by the Buffalo Chapter. During 1918
the same officers served with the exception that Miss B. A.
Myers was elected Vice President. $3128.11 was contributed to
the Second Red Cross War Fund, the quota being $2000. 138
meetings were held. The following work was done: Gar-
ments, 2383; Surgical Dressings, 14,708; Knitting, 782; 196
magazines and books were sent to the Soldiers' Camp in Elm-
wood Avenue, Buffalo. 2250 pounds of clothing for refugees
in Europe. Money received, $1049.13 which was paid to Civi-
lian Relief; Regular Funds $326.18.
After the armistice the Kenmore Branch continued to
"carry on" during 1919 sewing for the refugees, peace pro-
grams, and home nursing. Kenmore was one of the first in
Erie County to engage a Red Cross Public Health Nurse, This
wonderful record does not cover all the work done and money
spent by the organization. Many of our citizens worked and
subscribed through the Buffalo Chapter. This was true also
in a general way during the war. The majority of our people
work in Buffalo and belong to various social, fraternal, and
benevolent organizations in that city, and also patronize
Buffalo banks, and places of amusements. The Buffalo record
shows that subscriptions and work were given that did not
pass through the Kenmore organizations. Kenmore "carried
on" up to the limit and beyond during the war.
IN U. S. SERVICE
Capt. Henry A. Brown reported for duty at the Rock
Island, ni., Arsenal on June 12th. Henry Hider a yeoman in
the navy was appointed Stenographer on the staff of Admiral
Sims. Howard Dobson received the appointment of radio
operator, and Willard Dobson to hospital service. Capt, D. W.
Bailey, a pioneer citizen and member of the G. A. R. died
July 15th, 1918, aged 82. The new fire alarm system for the
village was completed and in use September 25th, 1918.
PEACE AND WAR
The first mail delivered by carriers went into effect April
1st, 1918 from Station H. Buflfalo. Rev. Dr. C. H. Norris died
May 3rd, 1918. Dr. Norris was a prominent member of the
Genesee Conference of the Methodist Episcopal Church for
36 years. His seven years of retirement from effective service
were spent in Kenmore. The L. P. A. Eberhardt property at
Delaware Avenue and West Hazeltine Avenue was purchased
by the War Council of the Y. W. C. A. and an addition built
for a Cafeteria, The institution housed twenty-five girls
engaged in war work. Thus passed into semi-public use the
two brown stone residences at the entrance to Kenmore from
the south, built in 1893-4. The fire-proof vault addition was
built adjoining the village hall in November at a cost of $4000.
CURTISS AEROPLANE COMPANY
During the war Kenmore felt the benefit of the Curtiss
Aeroplane Company, which operated the world's largest
aeroplane factory. The testing grounds occupied thirty acres
on Elmwood Avenue and Military Road, partly within the
village limits. Kenmore provided homes for many of the
On May 29th, Milton Brounshidle and Irwin Brounshidle,
Romaine Heald, Fred C. Post, and William F. Thorn left for
THE HONORED DEAD
Lieutenant Harry E. Crosby, formerly of the 74th Regiment
and later of company K, 108th Regiment was killed going
"over the top" at the head of his men in Bony, France, on
Setember 29th, 1918. Milton J. Brounshidle made the
"supreme sacrifice" at St. Mihiel, France, September 28th,
1918. Lambert J. Keller laid down his life for his country in
the Argonne drive, October 2nd, 1918. Wmfield B. Kimmins
fell at Champagne, France, October 6th, 1918. Frederick B.
Eberhardt Jr., died at the Great Lakes Naval Training
Station January 20th, 1919. Joseph Leo Byrnes died at Tours,
France, February 5th, 1919. J. Owen Fisher died at Coblenz,
Germany, March 1st, 1919.
THE MEMORIAL TABLET
"In memory of those who gave their lives in the great
world war," a Memorial Tablet in memory of those who fell
in the great struggle was unveiled on Memorial Day May 30th,
1920 on the lawn in front of the village hall, one of the most
conspicuous locations in Kenmore. The ceremony was of a
military character in charge of Brounshidle Post No. 205.
City Judge Patrick J. Keeler of Buffalo who served as Captain
in the 106th Artillery in France delivered the address. Rev.
Dr. F. Hyatt Smith, of the Presbyterian Church made the in-
vocation. Dr. Walter J. M. Wurtz, Chairman of the com-
mittee to procure funds and erect the tablet made the presen-
tation. Arthur R. Atkinson, President of the Village accepted
the tablet in behalf of the Town of Tonawanda. Captain
Henry A. Brown, U. S. Engineers, of the American Legion
removed the flag which covered the bronze tablet. The Rev.
Arthur Partington of the Methodist Episcopal Church offered
a prayer for the repose of the dead. The Rev. Father Bank
of St. Paul's Parish offered the closing prayer.
The monument is of solid rough-faced granite, six feet in
height, three feet nine inches in width, and two feet eight
inches in depth, a lasting memorial to the boys who never re-
turned from the war.
AFTER THE WORLD STRUGGLE
Similar psychological effects followed the great world war
that were experienced in common with the rest of the country
and the world. A reaction followed the strain under which
the people had been working. A letting loose of pent-up
feelings; a freedom from restraint, a prodigality of spending,
a questioning of old accepted standards in ethics and religion,
a larger independence in the attitude of women in regard to
dress, industrial life and politics. The propinquity of Buffalo
to Kenmore naturally aft'ected the daily life of our village in
all the expressions of thought and action. Yet during the
progress of the war the affairs of the village under the adminis-
tration of Matthew D. Young, and Arthur R. Aatkinson went
on, so far as improvement and orderliness were concerr>ed,
with regularity and tranquility.
THE VILLAGE LOCKUP ^
In July 1919 the Commissioner of Prisons ordered the
village lockup closed Vv'ithin ninety days, because it was below
the required standard fixed by the State. In September an
extension of time was asked by the village until January 1st,
1920. Meanwhile it was decided to remove the "Cages" from
the Fire Hall and turn the matter of incarceration of prisoners
over to the town authorities. Thereafter those under detention
were kept in the Tonawanda Police Headquarters in the old
Laundry Building which was purchased, located on Delaware
Avenue at Norway Street.
RE-PAVING DELAWARE AVENUE
The brick pavement on Delaware Avenue went to pieces
under the heavy truck traffic and a new pavement of concrete
was laid during the summer of 1919. Bonds were issued in
the amount of $8500.00 to meet the expense apportioned to
the Village. Transfers were given on No. 9 Street Cars to our
residents and the public who lived on Delaware Avenue and
streets adjacent thereto as far as the north village line.
The outskirts of any city are always the last to receive the
improvements accorded the thickly populated sections. This
is naturally the case. Witness the fact in the condition of
South Eugene Avenue at the Buffalo city line, also Virgil
Avenue and Kenmore Avenue, both east and west. Attention
was called by the Village to the Buffalo International Railway
terminus at Elmwood Avenue and Hinman Street where
passengers must wait in all kinds of weather without shelter.
Like conditions have existed at other points since the founding
of the village. The people of our progressive village have
certainly been numbered among the "long suffering public"
in matters of public transportation.
The coal situation was very acute in 1920. A committee
was appointed by the Village Board to try and regulate the
supply and demand. Two cars of forty-five tons each w^ere
secured by Mang & Ebling, and L. Spring & Sons. One ton
lots were sold to a customer, after inspection of the coal bin,
and on order of the Coal Committee. Nor were these periodic
privations to see an end at the close of this struggle in our
economic life. "The worst was yet to come" during the winter
of 1925-1926. Kenmore co-operated with the Bureau of Fuel
Arthur R. Atkinson retired as President of the Village on
March 21st, 1921. On surrendering the position to Walter
Ducker, President elect, he gave a resume of his experiences
thanking his co-laborers and the public for their co-operation
and congratulating Mr, Ducker on his incumbency. Frank C.
Moore was re-appointed Village Clerk.
With the rapid growth of the Village the question of re-
striction in the location and kind of buildings erected was
inevitable. This became necessary in order to prevent deter-
ioration of property values, the invasion of purely residential
sections by business concerns, and the erection of cheap and
unsightly dwellings. In 1922 a committee was appointed by
the Village Board. Henry C. Premus and the Village Attorney
Fred J. Blackmon, and later Frank C. Moore rendered invalu-
able aid in this direction. "The Village Beautiful" must be
watched with eternal vigilance in order to retain its beauty.
Unsightly bill boards, "hot dog" stands, uneven sidewalks,
accumulation of rubbish left by careless contractors, the
erection of signs, placing of telephone poles, unnecessary re-
moval of shade trees, as well as parking of automobiles, street
names and numbers must be carefully watched in order to
preserve the neatness and ornamental appearance of the
Village. The intrusion and carelessness of a few should not
destroy the caution and artistic taste of the many.
It was learned in 1923 that twenty-eight streets in Ken-
more duplicated the names of streets in Buffalo and as Ken-
more's mail is delivered from Buffalo numerous complaints of
mail delivery were made. This would be provided against if
Kenmore had a postofRce, which it should have. However,
to conform to the wishes of the postoffice department, the
names of several streets were changed on suggestion of Presi-
dent Walter Ducker of the Village and in naming new streets
the custom of choosing the names of prominent deceased
citizens is commendable. The community spirit is alive in our
village. A common interest is recognized by our citizens.
This is necessary for orderly government and invaluable as an
"STEP ON IT"
In the Revolutionary War John Marshall led a company
of soldiers armed with flintlock guns, and Franklin worked at
night by the light of tallow "dips." Our grandfathers used
ox teams for farm work and road travel. Even when horses
superseded as a means of rapid transit six miles an hour, or
fifty miles a day was "going some." But in the year of grace
1921 the speed limit for motor vehicles passing through our
village was limited to "twenty miles an hour." Infractions of
the law led to a fine of $50. Kenmore became a "Speed Trap,"
so motorists said. How to safe-guard pedestrians and at the
same time prevent traffic congestion on Delaware Avenue is a
problem that may be partly solved by widening our main
artery of travel.
ECHOES OF THE WAR
In 1922 the American Legion having acquired a naval gun
which did service on the Von Steuben in the German navy
during the world war, permission was asked to place it on
the triangle village green which was granted. The trophy is
not only an interesting relic, but provides any amount of
amusement to school boys who take a sight along the barrel,
manipulate the gears and shoot down imaginary enemies.
The street connecting Elmwood Avenue and Military Road
near the west end of LaSalle Avenue, was designated "Keller
Avenue," in honor of Lambert Keller who made the "supreme
sacrifice" in France during the world war.
On March 6th, 1922 the Village Tax Budget was $68,676.34
*'A Village of Attractive Homes"
Progress and Silver Jubilee
Kenmore's progress in 1924 surpassed any other year since
the founding of the village. 787 building permits were issued
involving an estimated cost of $3,007,962. Bonds were issued
for $150,000 for water extension, and $126,000 for gas mains.
Kenmore at this time was one of the most rapidly growing
villages in the country. The population touched the 6500
mark. Mail was now received from Hertel Station, Buffalo,
and distributed in the village by seven carriers. The demand
for a Post Office in Kenmore was revived. The Delaware
Avenue motor bus service to Buffalo with an eight minute
schedule was started on November 27th. A seven year con-
tract was made between the Village and the Republic Light,
Heat, and Power Company for gas supply. Large mains from
Tonawanda with feed lines east and west from the Village
Hall were laid.
The outstanding event of 1924 was the Silver Jubilee
Celebration commemorating the quarter century from the in-
corporation of the Village, which took place August 3rd — 9th.
Sunday was called "Church Day." Special services were held
in all the churches during the morning. In the evening Hon.
Daniel A. Reed of Dunkirk, N. Y. addressed a mass meeting
in the spacious auditorium of the new High School.
Monday was "Rotary Day" and "Boy Scout Day" and was
ushered in with aerial bombs and siren whistle and closed
with a fine display of fireworks. A program of sports and
events by the Boy Scouts took place in the afternoon. The
streets and business places were gaily decorated. Bolton's
Band of 35 pieces played every afternoon on the village green
and for dancing at the large pavilion corner of Delaware
Avenue and Westgate Avenue where now stands the artistic
"Circle Building" containing ten stores. Tuesday was "Ladies
Day." A luncheon was served under the auspices of the
League of Women Voters with a program and noted women
speakers from the county and state. Wednesday was "Fire-
men's Day." A parade in which the several organizations of
lire-fighters, with the village apparatus took part, and of which
the village has always been justly proud, called forth exclama-
tions of pleasure and rounds of applause. The Village officials
and celebration committees took part in the imposing parade.
Athletic events occupied the afternoon, dancing and the "Mid-
way" the evening. Thursday, "Children's Day" was marked
with a unique event — a "Baby Contest." The first prize was
awarded baby William Hutchison the 10 month and one week
old son of Mr. and Mrs. Joseph Hutchison of Kinsey Avenue,
weight 20 pounds five ounces, general appearance and health
100%. Kenmore, unlike many older villages in Western New
York which have "gone to seed," is blessed with many child-
ren, being populated with young married folks owning their
own homes. A free Baby Clinic is held every week in the
Y. W. C. A. and baby carriages have the right of way on the
sidewalks. Friday was given over to the politicians, "Politi-
cians' Day." On such an occasion Kenmore is right at home.
A large crowd of people were drawn from all over the county.
District Attorney Guy B. Moore, and Hon. James M. Mead,
Member of Congress were the speakers of the day.
Saturday, the closing day, brought the celebration to a
grand climax. A wonderful pageant "The Past, Present, and
Future of Kenmore" in which was featured the history and
community spirit with elaborate floats, together with various
societies and organizations made a sight well worth the time,
effort and money expended.
The celebration drew wide attention to the growth and
advantages of Kenmore as a desirable residential section. It
was a big success from every standpoint and reflected great
credit on the various committees as a reward for their arduous
work. "Kenmore, Let's Go" was the slogan. The Village
appropriated ^1000 for advertising. 20,000 copies of an
elaborate and artistic booklet were distributed. Frank C.
Moore was the chairman of the general committee; Walter
Ducker, vice chairman; J. Fred Moore, finance; A. R. Atkin-
son, speakers; Clare Rickert, athletics; E. J. W. Baldwin, con-
cessions and Mrs. Jessie E. Webster, chairman ladies' day.
In April, 1924, 225 dwellings were under construction, and
79 families moved into new homes. During the year 348
permits for new dwellings were issued; 263 gas meters were
installed. A total of 514 dwellings were completed in 1924.
The assessed valuation of village property was $7,800,00, and
in 1925 had increased to $10,000,000. Robert M. Cramer one
of Kenmore's pioneer home builders and an active leader in
the Good Government party died in Penn Yan, N. Y., June 2nd,
1924. The village budget for 1924 was $137,060.88.
"Kenmore, Northivard the Course of Progress Takes its Way"
The Present Outlook
1925 - 1926
One year from the time when the "Midway" was held on
Westgate Avenue, during "Jubilee" week, and the street did
not have a house built upon it, there were forty completed,
up-to-date dwellings. The northwest corner lot on Delaware
Avenue, which at one time was sold for $5000, now had a
valuation of $30,000. During April 103 families moved into
DELAWARE AVENUE TO BE WIDENED
During December the Village and Town Boards united
under the State Boulevard Act to widen Delaware Avenue,
inside the village five feet on each side, and outside the village
ten feet on each side. The low bidder for the improvement
was Fred W. Knickenburg of Buffalo, at $195,800. It is
estimated that 9,000 automobiles and trucks pass on Delaware
Avenue every day. Uniform spun concrete lamp posts and
pre-cast curbing will be included. When completed Delaware
Avenue will be one of the finest streets in any village in the
THE KENMORE THEATRE
The Kenmore Theatre was built during the year 1925 and
opened January 30th, 1926. The building fronts on Delaware
Avenue, from Landers Road to Chapel Road. It contains 16
stores, a large hall, and bowling alleys. The theatre proper
seats 1600 people and is owned and controlled by Kenmore
men, costing $300,000. The people of Kenmore now have
one of the finest motion picture palaces in the state.
Careful computation at the close of 1925 showed that Ken-
more had a population of 8,500 people, and was the largest
village in Western New York. The population doubled in
five years, 1920-1925. The growth in population since 1900-
is as follows: 1905 — 506, 1910 — 1020, 1915 — 1700, 1920 —
Eight hundred sixteen new families moved into Kenmore
in 1925, The total number of building permits issued during
the year was 991, including 760 dwellings, 209 garages, ten
stores, five stores and apartments, one bank, two churches, two
apartment houses, and one laundry. The total increased
valuation will be $3,306,720. Only 26 families moved out of
THE WATER PROBLEM
"No question is ever settled until it is settled right" is an
old time saying. In Kenmore it harks back to the "Village
Pump" in 1889. The latest solution to the vexing question was
suggested by H. F. Huy, general manager of the Western New
York Water Company which supplies Kenmore and the Town
of Tonawanda. "What the Village of Kenmore needs, and
needs badly," says Mr. Huy, "is a storage tank of half a million
gallons capacity, to store water for emergency use at fires and
during the lawn sprinkling hours during the summer."
Such a tank is now being erected. This company obtains its
water supply from Lake Erie, at Woodlawn, N. Y., about eight
miles south of the pumping station of the City of Buffalo. Its
two intake mains extend out into the lake about one mile,
where a bountiful supply of pure and wholesome water is
obtained. From Woodlawn the water supply is pumped to a
10,000,000 gallon, concrete lined reservoir in the Hamburg
hills, from which point it is distributed by gravity throughout
the entire territory supplied by the water company, through
a piping system consisting of approximately two hundred
miles of mains, 66% of which are 8-inch or larger in diameter.
At Depew, N. Y., a second pumping station is maintained, with
a reservoir in connection therewith to increase the pressure
to supply Kenmore and other villages in the Company's terri-
tory. A contract was let in February 1926 by the Company
for the construction of a million-gallon storage tank at Cheek-
towaga, N, Y., which will be completed about July 1st, 1926.
It is quite probable that this will solve Kenmore's water
problem for many years to come.
With the issue of February 6, 1926, the Kenmore Record
began its eleventh year of publication.
The paper was first issued in four-page, five column form.
Ten weeks later the size was enlarged to six column, and later
to eight pages, then to a seven column page, its present form.
Regular editions of the paper now contain 16 pages. The
circulation each week rea-ches nearly 3000 copies.
The policy of the paper as the exponent of village and
town news accounts for the rapid growth of the paper. The
special features of school news, church, and society doings,
arnd independent political attitude commend it to our citizenry.
DEATH OF PROMINENT PEOPLE
Lewis E. Burritt, one of Kenmore's best known and estim-
able citizens died on February 8th, 1925. Mr. Burritt was the
receiver of taxes and assessments. He was also a prominent
Freemason, and Christian Scientist. Clarence H. Arnold died
November 22nd, 1925, which sad event was followed by the
death of his wife on January 11th, 1926. Mr. Arnold was
connected with the New York Telephone Company. In politics
he was a Democrat. Mrs. Arnold was a member of the D. A.
R. also active in church work, and was for a time connected
with the Kenmore Public Library. The community suffered
a distinct loss in the departure of these well known people
who identified themselves with the welfare of Kenmore.
The First National Bank building at the corner of Dela-
ware Avenue and Lincoln Boulevard was erected during the
Dr. Jesse R. Harris, heretofore referred to as "Ralph
Harris" who drilled the "Kenmore Cadets" in 1892, died in
Niagara Falls, N. Y., February 6th. He was a retired colonel
of the United States army. His mother Mrs. Alice M. Harris
still lives among us, one of the earliest pioneers in Kenmore.
Wednesday, February 10th, 1926, was "Kenmore Day"
for the Buffalo Real Estate Board at a luncheon held in the
Y. W. C. A. "Know your Kenmore, for it offers sound and
constantly increasing real estate investments."
Leslie L. Irvin a Kenmore parachute inventor whose aero-
plane gracefully flies over our village and has grown familiar
to our citizens, sailed for England the last of January on a
mission to establish factories in England for the manufacture
of 'chutes. His program will keep him abroad during a part
of several years.
On Sunday morning February 14th, 1926, sod was turned
for the new Masonic Temple on Delaware road, just north of
the High School. Willard O. Tower, Master of the Master
Builder Lodge No. 911 F, & A. M. presided and turned the first
spade of earth. Frederick W. Claus, president of the temple
association presented the spade to Mr. Tower. The emblem
will undoubtedly become a valued souvenir. Chaplain Fred'k
S. Parkhurst offered the prayer. Each one of the directors
and members of the building committee turned a spadeful of
earth. The temple will face Delaware avenue through Chapel
Road having a fine location. The building will cost about
$70,444 and will be of light buff brick with stone trimming
and will be fire proof. In dimension it will be 95 feet front
and 155 feet long containing rooms for all lodge purposes and
will be an ornament to the village. The corner stone was laid
with impressive ceremonies by the Grand Lodge of the State
of New York on Saturday, April 10th, William A. Rowan of
Nyack, N. Y., Grand Master.
NEW PRESBYTERIAN CHURCH
An important event in the history of our village took place
on Sunday, February 14th, 1926, when the new Presbyterian
Church was dedicated. Probably the largest assembly of
people ever gathered together in our village for a special
occasion thronged the auditorium and balcony which together
seat 1100 people, chairs also were requisite to seat all who
came. The Rev. Arnold W. Fismer, Ph. D., D. D., professor
of church history in the Bloomfield Theological Seminary,
Bloomfield, N. J. delivered the dedicatory sermon. The Rev.
Dr. F. Hyatt Smith a former pastor, now retired and living in
Williamsville, N. Y., gave the address in the evening. On
Washington's Birthday the spacious edifice was again thronged
at 3 P. M. and 8 P. M. to hear the famous evangelist ''Billy'*
Sunday. At the same hour in the evening about 900 people
attended a play given under the auspices of the Brounshidle
Post, American Legion, in the high school auditorium and a
large attendance was enjoyed at the Kenmore Theatre
impressing our citizens with Kenmore's rapid growth in
A caucus of the afiiliated Republican voters of the village
was called by John C. Hider general committeeman for Feb-
ruary 20th, at which nominations were made for the offices of
village president, two trustees, and police justice. Following
the caucus the executive committee designated for these offices
Boy R. Brockett, president; Charles M. Epes and Albert A.
Beutter, trustees; Charles L. Titus, judge. Trustees Willis
H. Hall and Charles J. J. Seaman who were denied re-nomina-
tion by the committee announced themselves candidates for
nomination before the caucus and were supported by a large
number of persons. Following this announcement and getting
the drift of public sentiment Mr. Epes and Mr. Bearing with-
drew from the contest before the caucus. The result of the
caucus was as follows: Roy R. Brockett, president; Willis
H. Hall, trustee; Charles J. J. Seaman, trustee; Charles L.
Titus, justice of the peace. The vote was as follows: For
president, Brockett 509, Charles C. Bearing 2; for trustee,
Hall 458, Seaman 400, Beutter 209; for justice, Titus 470,
Charles H. Pratt 1, William Loncto 1. The result was a re-
nomination of Brockett, Hall, Seaman and Titus, Harry A.
Epsten circulated a petition and placed his name before the
people for justice at the election held March 16th and later
withdrew from the field. Mr. Beutter remained as a candidate
for trustee supported by the Civic Committee.
NEW TOWN HALL
The proposition made by the Milton J. Brounshidle Post of
the American Legion during the year 1925, to build a town
memorial hall to combine public offices and a meeting place
for the Post was again revived and favored by the town and
village officials. The suggestion was made that the village
sell the present fire hall property and use the proceeds to help
defray the cost of the building. The General Municipal law
authorizes the issue of bonds for such purposes.
The annexation question like Banquo's ghost in Macbeth
will not "down." In 1894 annexation was one of the live
questions in Kenmore and had the support of the Kenmore
Business Mens' Association. At that time a Buffalo newspaper
said "Kenmore should be a part of Buffalo. The result is
inevitable." Now, thirty-two years later, both the village
board and the town board are emphatically opposed to the
project, a bill having recently been introduced in the legisla-
ture by a Buffalo member of that body. The reasons favoring
annexation in 1894 were the likelihood of getting better sewer-
age, water, light, fire protection, and pavements which the
infant village badly needed at that time and did not have the
taxable property to pay for them. Now the village has these
advantages and considers itself in a better condition financially
and politically than Buffalo; better able to manage its own
affairs as a rapidly growing community of eight thousand
souls. It may be "inevitable" that some day we will become
a part of greater Buffalo, nevertheless all forces are united
to prevent such a consummation at this time. The community
spirit has been strong from the beginning in Kenmore and
would be destroyed by annexation.
As an interesting comparison in growth, Kenmore budget
in 1915 was $25,761.09, in 1926 $258,061.63 and the tax rate
a little over $16.00 per thousand. The monies received and
disbursed during 1925 by the receiver of taxes and assessments
was $2,131,924.75. The tentative village budget for the year
1926 was $258,061.63, or $50,000.00 greater than in 1925.
Eighty-four new families moved into Kenmore during January
and February 1926 and building permits keep up a steady
The second largest vote in the history of the village was
cast at the village election held March 16th, 1926, at which
1196 people voted. The entire republican ticket was re-
elected. Roy R. Brockett, President; Willis H. Hall and
Charles J. J. Seaman, Trustees; Charles L. Titus, Police
Justice. On March 22nd the following officials were re-
appointed: Village Clerk, Walter Ducker; Village Engineer,
Vernon Eager; Village Attorneys, Blackmon & Moore; Super-
intendent Public Works, Henry Schunk; Electrical Engineer,
Arthur P. H. Saul; Chief of Police, Clarence Yochum; Police
Officers, Alfred W. Bleyle, Harry D. Brounshidle, Miner
Wildey, P'rank V. Schultz, Thomas DeGuehrey, Edward
Schultz, Archie B. Kirkwood, W. Carlysle Johnson. Special
Officers: Arthur Burke, Thomas Costello, Bruce Miller, Victor
F. Moreland Charles Weiss, Walter Ducker. Constables:
John Yochum, Henry Schunk, Albert Drews. Special Fire
Police: (Members of the American Legion, Brounshidle Post)
Robert K. House, Leonard Sipperiey, Ray Grant, O. C. Keener,
W. T. Burlingame, Dr. Richard R. Holbrook.
In response to local agitation, particularly through the tax-
payers association, the Department at Washingtoii considered
the proposal and decided to establish a station to be known
as the Kenmore Station. Sealed proposals for suitable quarters
were called for up to April 3rd, the lease to be for five to
ten years and floor space to be 800 square feet. Carrier service
will still be from Hertel Station, Buffalo, but the increasing
population and expanding territory occupied by homes and
business concerns will undoubtedly bring carrier service from
our own Station.
WORLD FAMOUS VISITOR
Tuesday, March, 30th, the world famous, deaf-blind
woman Helen Keller, addressed a large audience in the Ken-
more High School auditorium. She was accompanied and
assisted by her life-long friend and teacher Anne Sullivan
Macy, and Edwin Grasse, the eminent blind violinist. Mr.
Frank C. Densberger, Superintendent of Schools presided and
Miss Katherine L. Busch at the piano. The arrangements were
under the supervision of the Kenmore Committee of the Ameri-
can Foundation for the Blind.
The Kenmore High School basketball team came within
two points of winning the State Championship in the elimina-
tion contest at Syracuse, N. Y., March 25th — 27#th. Of the
final game, Carl Burkhardt, physical director of the Buffalo
Public Schools said, "The most wonderful basketball ever
played by a High School team in a state tournament." Several
hundred citizens went to see the contest and cheer on the com-
batants. No event of recent years so stirred the village which
was advertised by this competition in athletics. The team was
honored by the State Athletic Association with a silver cup
inscribed "Runner-up, Public High School Basketball Champ-
The Rev. Charles L. Rhoades died March 31st. Born May
13th, 1849, he was a practicing lawyer before entering the
ministry. During his later years he lived a retired life in Ken-
more. Mrs. Emily M. Russell, wife of Alfred Russell, vice
president of the Rowland Corporation, died on March 26th,
Mrs. Russell had lived in Kenmore for many years and was a
prominent member of the Eastern Star Lodge. Mrs. Louis
Myers who had lived in Kenmore for 18 years died on March
26th. Mrs. Emma C. McClelland, wife of Dr. F. E. McClelland
died March 26th, after a brief illness leaving four small child-
ren. M. Frank Anderson, a resident of Kenmore for 16 years
died on March 27th, aged 79 years. Mr. Anderson was at one
time special police officer but was living a retired life.
TAX RATE FOR 1926
The village tax rate officially adopted for the year 1926
was fixed at $16.87 per thousand, a reduction of $2.13 per
thousand from the 1925 rate. This was brought about by the
adoption of the Town assessment roll, the increased valuation
of new buildings constructed in 1925, and the increased valua-
tion of vacant property on vacant streets. The budget for the
year 1926 totals $258,061.62. It is thought that the peak of
expenditures in the village has been reached, and that from
now on the tax rate should grow less, as the improved streets
are built up.
During March, 1926, fifty-one new families moved into the
village and only two families moved out, a gain of forty-nine
families, which means a gain of about two hundred in popula-
tion. Two hundred and fifty houses are in course of
Mr. and Mrs. James M. Love celebrated the fiftieth anni-
versary of their marriage on Saturday, April 24. Mr. Love is
living in retirement after serving fifty-one years as a machinist.
He came to Kenmore in the late 90's and has seen the growth
of the village since it was but a small hamlet.
Kenmore's quota in the Community Fund Drive was $3,806.
Kenmore Y. W. C. A. will receive $6,000 of the fund and the
Wheel Chair Home $26,261.
Harking back to the early 90's when First Lieutenant Jesse
R. Harris, Assistant Surgeon, U. S. A., organized and drilled
the "Kenmore Cadets," the people of Kenmore have believed
that the formation of character in youth is the most important,
valuable, and lasting work that can be done for the upbuilding
of a community. During our entire history we have devoted
much time and thought to this end.
One of the notable events of the year was the observance
of Boys' Week May 2nd — 9th. The local observance was
sponsored by the Kenmore Rotary Club in co-operation with
the churches, schools, and various civic organizations. Each
day of the week was filled with exercises and entertainments
calculated to inform, instruct and entertain the large number
of boys in the community. Frank C. Moore, chairman, William
Harper, Judge E. A. Jones andDr. W. H. Jones arranged for
the celebration. Boys took charge of the service in the Church
of the Advent, Episcopal, in everything but the sermon. They
presided at the regular Rotary Club, Village Board, Board of
Education and Town Board, astonishing their elders with
ability and expression of ideas on matters of public interest.
It was valuable training in citizenship.
During April 118 new families moved into the village
which is an advance over the same period in 1925. Many
houses are in process of erection showing that there will be
no diminishing in the rapid growth of the village.
DEATH OF OLD RESIDENT
Frank A. Bussey who had been in the employ of the Ameri-
can Radiator Company for 32 years and a resident of Ken-
more for 19 years died on May 5th. With his wife Mrs. Grace
G. S. Bussey, they were prominent in church work and social
The issue of the Kenmore Record for Thursday, April 29th
was 2600 copies of 16 pages showing a remarkable growth in
circulation in the past few years and warrants a semi-weekly
edition. The Record serves the town of Tonawanda, Kenil-
worth, Ellwood, Riverside besides the village of Kenmore
featuring the schools and various organizations in the territory,
also officially represents the village and town administration.
FIRST NATIONAL BANK
Early in the spring of 1922 Matthew D. Young, C. D. Blair,
Edward T. Danahy, Harold V. Cook and Charles D. Warren
conceived the idea of organizing a National Bank in Kenmore.
The prepared plans were approved by the Comptroller of
Currency at Washington. The original capital was $65,000.
Business was first transacted in the brick block corner of
Delaware Avenue and Warren Avenue, in what was formerly
a grocery store. The doors were opened May 27th, 1922. In
the fall of 1924 the bank took over the entire ground floor of
the building, so rapidly did the business increase. Plans for
a new bank building were drawn up in 1925. On Saturday,
May 15th, the new edifice was ready for occupancy and form-
ally opened to the public. Situate at the corner of Delaware
Avenue and Lincoln Boulevard, and in architectural design
and interior finish nothing was left to be desired. In location
and appearance any city might be proud of such a financial
institution which demonstrates the ability and spirit of Ken-
The annual drive for the United Charities subscription
during the first week in May went over the quota of $3,311.
Pledges amounting to $3,695 were received. While this was
properly a city of Buffalo .movement, yet the Wheel Chair
Home, Y. W. C. A. and Boy Scouts of Kenmore will receive
more than this amount from the total fund.
The very unusual occurrence of two double funerals on
following days, May 26th and 27th greatly impressed the
people with the dangers of automobile travel. The instant
death of Mr. and Mrs. Edward H. Moffett and Mr. and Mrs.
Willis G. Osmansky was the result of a grade crossing accident
on Sunday May 23rd as they were turning from the River
Road into the Ward Road at the New York Central Railroad
crossing. Only the daughter Miss Kathryn Moffett who was
one of the party returning from Niagara Falls survived the
crash, being seriously injured. A fifth resident of the village
Miss Kathleen Fairbank was killed in an automobile accident
while returning from Lockport on May 21st. Two young men
were also killed in the same accident. The danger of sudden
death, unless extreme caution is exercised, is apparent to all
who use the streets.
The observance of Memorial Day on Monday May 31st was
on a larger scale than ever before in Kenmore. As the fleeting
years remove us farther away from the great World War it is
evident that "Lest We Forget" is sinking deeper and deeper
into the consciousness of the people. The American Legion
Post had charge of the parade and public exercises which in
every way reflected the patriotism and unselfishness of its
members as they honored the memory of the American soldiers
At the close of the school year tabulated reports are pub-
lished showing that it costs about $70 annually for each child
receiving an education in our village. A steadily increasing
enrollment marks the increasing population. High standards
and efficient administration of schools is an attraction to those
with children seeking homes in Kenmore. Admirable location,
school advantages, church influence, enterprising realtors and
builders, and clean village government all insure a wonderful
future growth of our coming city.
The remarkable growth of the Kenmore Public Library is
also a striking evidence of far reaching import in the character
of our citizenship. A gain of 200 borrowers during the year
and the class of books borrowed indicates a healthy discern-
ment on the part of the inhabitants. A good library benefits
all the people of the community.
With all these good influences which promote intelligence
and enrich life, the social, business, religious and educational
life of our village is a credit and example. A people who care
nothing for these things will never prosper, but with them
intelligent progress and prosperity is assured.
This brings us to the close of the 37th year of Kenmore's
settlement, and the 27th year of incorporated existence. The
year 1926 marks the 150th anniversary of the adoption of the
Declaration of Independence, by which the Province of New
York became a free state. We are a constituent part of the
great commonwealth, which on July 9th, 1776, in Provincial
Convention assembled in New York city unanimously approved
the Declaration. Kenmore at that time, like nearly all western
New York, was uninhabited, save by Indian tribes roaming the
forests and walking the trails along the Niagara frontier, dis-
puting the advance of the white man. A few descendents of
these aborigines remain within our state and have appeared
in Kenmore on different occasions, clad in native costume and
reciting in song and story the manners and customs of their
ancestors, thus linking the past with the present. History is
obscured by time. We are fortunate in being able to record
the settlement, growth and progress of our village, which, in
another 150 years, A. D. 2076, will convey to the readers of
that future day, events and conditions which took place and
existed in what is now a modern village in the Empire State at
the beginning of the 20th century. It requires neither a
prophet nor the son of a prophet to forecast the future of Ken-
more. It will become a part of a great municipality reaching
from Buffalo to Niagara Falls. Probably a "Tube" will convey
travelers between these points in thirty minutes, while those
who prefer the air route will make the trip in half that time.
The few remaining farm lands in the Tonawandas that are
not already sub-divided will be covered with homes, places of
business, and industrial plants. Broad avenues and beautiful
parks will adorn all this section. Let us hope that the sun will
then shine on a united nation, a peace-loving people, righteous,
just, loyal and true,
METHODIST EPISCOPAL CHURCH, REV. C. H. GALL,
The Kenmore Methodist Episcopal Church was organized
February 13th, 1891 at the home of Mr. and Mrs. Myron A.
Phelps, corner of Delaware Avenue and Tremaine Avenue.
About 50 people formed the first society. Services were held
in the homes of the people until June of the same year, when
through the kindness of George A. Sanborn a good sized room
was provided in a store on West Kenmore Avenue. This place
proving too small, the congregation moved into the old "White
House" on East Kenmore Avenue, where the society remained
until the basement of the present church was ready for
occupancy. The first pastor was Frederick Dark, a young
student who had charge of the services during the summer of
1891. On the 13th day of June 1892 ground was broken for
the new edifice. The corner stone was laid by the Rev. J. E.
Williams, Presiding Elder of Buffalo District. On June 4th,
1893, the church was dedicated by the Rev. Dr. Sanford Hunt
of New York. The following pastors succeeded Mr. Dark:
Rev. Earl D. Shepard, 1892. Rev. Joseph Duxbury, 1893. In
October 1893 Rev. Phineas T. Lynn took charge and remained
for five years. Rev, E, C, Swartz was then appointed and
remained until 1901, He was followed by Rev, Peter A.
McDonald, who accepted a call to the Park Presbyterian
Church, Buffalo, in January 1902 and was followed by Rev.
Dr. T. H. Orme. Rev. H. H. Downey was pastor from October
1905 to October 1907, Rev, W. R, Brown took charge in 1908
and remained until 1912. The Rev. Dr. Fred'k S. Parkhurst
was appointed in October 1912 and closed his pastorate tak-
ing a "Retired Relation" in October 1916. Rev. H. A. Reed
had charge from 1916 to 1918. Rev. A. Partington was the
pastor from 1918 to 1922. The Rev. W. Mortimer Heisler was
appointed in October 1922 remaining until 1924. The Rev.
C. H. Gall became the pastor in October 1924 and is the
present incumbent. The society has purchased a site on Old
Delaware Road and expect soon to erect a larger and more
modem structure, /r A ^ f .
KENMORE PRESBYTERIAN CHURCH
The history of the Kenmore Presbyterian Church is closely
linked with the growth and life of Kenmore. In 1889 the
Westminster Presbyterian Church of Buffalo was supporting
a mission at the corner of Delaware Avenue and Hertel
Avenue, Buffalo, which was attended by the few Presbyterians
then living in Kenmore. Mr. L. P. A. Eberhardt gave the site
and old church building which cost $2000 and $11,000 respec-
tively to the Westminster society on condition that they would
contribute one-half of the cost of maintenance which v/as
accepted. Rev. George H. Marsh was the first regular pastor
and served the church from December 4th, 1894 to February
2nd, 1897. Rev. L. Hamilton was the next pastor and died in
1899. Following his decease a call was extended to his son
Rev. Charles Hamilton who was preaching in Manchester,
Iowa who accepted and served the society for eight years and
then went as a missionary to the Philippines. In 1907 the Rev.
W. S. Carter was called to the pastorate from Rochester, N. Y.,
Mr. Carter resigned in November, 1912. The "Gym" hall was
built by Mr. Eberhardt in 1907 at a cost of $26,000. In 1911
the church was raised off its stone piers and a basement con-
taining dining rooms, kitchen, primary and kindergarten rooms
were added. The main auditorium was improved and a new
organ installed, also choir loft and balcony. The Rev. F. Hyatt
Smith assumed charge in 1912 and remained ten years and
retired to live in Williamsville, N. Y. During his pastorate
the membership doubled and numbered 473. The Rev. John
Richelsen of Niagara Falls, N. Y. was called in September,
1923. A campaign for mem.bers brought the membership to
562 in January, 1924. Plans were adopted in March 1924 for
the present structure at an estimated cost of $65,000 and has
sittings for 2000., The membership is 1,126.
SAINT PAUL'S ROMAN CATHOLIC CHURCH
The first priest who said Mass in what is now called Ken-
more was the Venerable John Nepomucene Neumann, who
died as Bishop of Philadelphia, Pa., in 1860. After Venerable
Neumann had been ordained a priest by Bishop Dubois of New
York, he came to this territory in 1836. He built a log chapel
in 1836 on the same spot where the Chapel of St. John the
Baptist now stands, commonly called North Bush Chapel.
From here he took care of many surrounding missions, above
all, of the few scattered Catholic families in our territory.
Later on, priests from Williamsville and Tonawanda took care
of these families. About 1868, the present St. John's Chapel
was erected and Mass celebrated there. A cemetery was also
founded there. For many years subsequently the Catholic
families attended St. Joseph's Church, Main Street, Buffalo,
also St. Francis Xavier's Church, Black Rock.
St. Paul's Parish proper was established in 1897 by Bishop
J. E. Quigley. In 1897 the two dozen Catholic families had
obtained permission from Bishop Quigley to build a Church
of their own, the late Frank Mang donating a building lot on
Delaware Avenue. Soon after the Jesuit Fathers in charge of
St. Michael's Church, Buffalo, took charge of St. Paul's, Rev.
Fathers Nelles, Pfeil, Sturm, Miller, Leonard and Gisler acting
as pastors successively.
January 6, 1899, a two story building of modest dimensions
was completed and dedicated as St. Paul's Parochial School.
It first stood on the spot of the present garage and being of
frame construction was later on moved to the rear of the
Church and connected with it. In 1900 the Franciscan Sisters
from Sacred Heart Academy, Buffalo, took charge as teachers.
They lived in a room in the school building and in the church
The history of St. Paul's Church as a regular diocesan
parish opens in April 1909, when Bishop Charles Henry Colton
appointed the Rev. Henry B. Laudenbach as the first resident
pastor of St. Paul's. New building lots were purchased by
Father Laudenbach. In 1909-1910, he built the present brick
rectory. At that time the parish comprised about 60 families.
In April, 1914, Bishop Colton appointed the Rev. Adam
Scheidel to succeed Father Laudenbach. A steady growth of
the parish commenced about that time. When the next pastor.
Rev. Ferdinand A. Bank was appointed by Rt. Rev. Bishop
Turner, in May, 1920, the parish numbered about 130 families.
Meanwhile the Franciscan Sisters had left and Father Scheidel
had secured lay teachers for the school but had made arrange-
ments with the Sisters of St. Mary of Namour, of St. Mary's
Seminary, Buffalo, to take charge of the school in the fall
Since August 1920 a third Mass was added to the regular
Sunday services, one of the Rev. Jesuit Fathers of Canisius
College officiating. When the Sisters of St. Mary, two Sisters
and a lay teacher, took charge of the school, there were about
60 children attending.
In the fall of 1921 the interior of the Church was newly
frescoed and the seating capacity of the church pews was
nearly doubled by adding new pews. Three new building lots
were purchased in the fall of 1922, rounding out the church
property to 452 feet by 143 feet. In 1923, especially, new-
families began to move into the parish and in May of the same
year Rev. Francis Schubert was appointed as first assistant
pastor and a fourth Mass was added to the regular Sunday
services. On June 17, 1923, the Parish celebrated its 25th
anniversary. Meanwhile the erection of a suitable new
parochiel school became a necessity. Three Sisters were teach-
ing about 110 pupils in the little frame school. With the
approval of the Bishop in the spring of 1924, the architects
Bley and Lyman were authorized to draw plans for a school.
On July 26th ground was broken, on October 5, the corner
stone was laid by the pastor Father Bank, assisted by Rev.
E. M. Deck and Rev. F. Schubert. In October 1924 Bishop
Turner appointed Rev. Eugene H. Selbert as assistant in the
place of Father Schubert. In December of the same year, two
more building lots, adjacent to the school site on Victoria
Boulevard were purchased together with a frame house with
lot making the present premises all in all about 600 by 150 feet.
On Sunday, September 13th, Rt. Rev. Bishop Turner
dedicated the new school, many priests being present and the
Knights of St. John turned out for the occasion. The
following day, September 14th, school studies commenced, 5
class rooms had to be used for 190 pupils. On the same day,
the Sisters of St. Mary began to use the house at 55 Victoria
Boulevard, purchased last winter, as a convent. On December
28th, Bishop Turner transferred Rev. E. Selbert to the New
Cathedral and appointed Rev. Joseph A. Bach of St. Mary's,
Olean, N. Y., assistant at St. Paul's Church.
In the new St. Paul's school, Kenmore has an edifice
which is an architectural object of beauty being of Gothic-
English architecture and constructed of rough textured gray-
brick with stone strimmings . The building is fire proofed
HISTORY OF KENMORE BAPTIST CHURCH
In the fall of 1910 a few Baptists living in this vicinity met,
discussed, planned and finally organized the Kenmore Baptist
Church. For several weeks meetings were held in the home
of Mr. E. W. Anderson in Villa Avenue. Then a building,
which had been a school was bought, remodeled and furnished
and there the church endeavored for six years to do the Lord's
work. This first building was on Ramsdell Street, (now a
dwelling. No. 29, remodeled after a fire.)
For about one year the church was a mission church, dur-
ing which time Buffalo and Tonawanda pastors helped in its
maintenance. In the fall of 1911 it was thought advisable to
organize a regular church. An organization council was
called and under the leadership of Rev. R. J. Roberts were
duly organized into the Kenmore Baptist Church with a
membership of 26.
In the next few years growth was slow but steady. It was
soon found that it would be necessary to find larger and more
favorably located quarters. The trustees after careful con-
sideration recommended the purchase of the lot at the corner
of Delaware Road and Cornell Avenue. At once plans were
drawn for a building. In June 1916 the corner stone was laid
and in April 1917 the church was dedicated.
Never has the growth been spectacular, but always con-
stant. Consequently in 1925 it was found necessary to remodel
and enlarge the building. With a membership of 227 and a
Sunday school of 359 the new building was begun in May 1925
and it was dedicated on November 8, 1925. The new
building will seat about 500 and has modern Sunday school
equipment. A new Viner pipe organ has been installed. Rev.
R. J. Roberts served as pastor for seven years. After his
resignation the church had several supplies, among them Rev.
A. R. Spencer, for about a year. Rev. Carl Rasmus-
sen was called as pastor October, 1919, and died in the early
spring of 1920. Rev. Spencer again supplied until September
1920, when Rev. R. A. Fuller assumed the pastoral duties.
He has served now for over five years.
From the very beginning Mr. and Mrs. W. G. Dixon of
Buffalo have been very helpful in financial and other ways.
CHURCH OF THE ADVENT, EPISCOPAL
During the month of September 1904 the Brotherhood of
St. Andrew of the Church of the Good Shepherd, Buffalo, N. Y.
under Rev. Thomas B. Berry, D. D.; began holding services
of the Episcopal Church in Kenmore. On November 6th,
1904, the Rt. Rev. W. D. Walker, D. D.; visited the Mission
with twenty communicants in attendance. In December, 1904^
the Mission was organized under the direction of Dr. Berry.
The following officers were appointed: Warden, W. H. Beck;
Treasurer, Bertram Ralph; Secretary, Fred J. Lynch; welfare
helpers, G. W. Keese, R. A. Toms, G. W. Warren, C. B. Brooks,
J. C. Hider. The corporate name "Mission of the Advent"
was adopted. Services were first held in the homes of the
members. A church school was organized with Mr. F. Lynchr
On June 24th, 1906, the village board gave free use of
the Village Hall for church services. The organization,
advanced and a gift of sacred vessels was made by the
Woman's Guild of the Church of the Good Shepherd as a
memorial for Mrs. William Beck.
The Bishop of the Diocese, the Rt. Rev. W. D. Walker, D,
D. ; confirmed the first class of five on June 28th, 1906.
The Rev. H. W. Caviller of All Saints Church, Buffalo, was
made the Missionary-in-Charge in 1908, spending much time
in developing the Mission. Title to a lot was secured at the
corner of LaSalle Avenue and Eugene Avenue. A building
was erected and formally opened by Bishop Walker on Sunday
June 18th, 1911.
The Mission grew rapidly and the Rev. Jerome Kates was
called in the spring of 1914. Mr. Kates broadened and
strengthed the work of the church in Kenmore. In 1916 he
resigned to take up labor in a large field.
The Rev. Edward Cosbey filled the vacancy and greatly
developed the organizations of the church during a pastorate
of three years. Rev. Cosbey resigned in 1919 seeking a
larger field of labor.
In 1920 the society purchased a rectory at No. 70 Tremaine
Avenue and the Vestry called the Rev. J. E. Darling to the
vacant charge. Rev. Mr. Darling came in 1920 and the church
was incorporated in July. The property at LaSalle Avenue
and Eugene Avenue was sold and a site purchased on Dela-
ware Road on which a Parish House was erected and opened
in December 1923, being the first unit of a splendid plant
which when completed will have also a church and rectory.
The church is centrally located as to population, commodious,
and ornamental. With the increasing number of people who
are coming to the parish and a splendid church school, com-
bined with strong organizations, the church bids fair to hold
a worthy place in the community. The present Rector is the
Rev, John L. Short.
PILGRIM LUTHERAN CHAPEL, DELAWARE AND
In the fall of 1920 the Reverend H. Plehn of Nazareth
Lutheran Church, Skillen and Wiley Streets, Buffalo, began
holding services in Village Hall. The following October the
Reverend F. J. Muhlhauser, who is in charge at present, was
called to take over the work. A congregation was organized.
Services were continued in Village Hall. In the fall of 1922
the present church site, on the north-west corner of Delaware
and Chapel roads (the latter was then known as Jefferson
Street) was purchased for $7,382. In June, 1924, ground was
broken for the Chapel in which the congregation is now
worshiping, and the building was completed and dedicated in
February, 1925. The cost of the same was $27,000. The con-
gregation, which is prospering with Kenmore, is affiliated with
the Synodical Conference of the Lutheran Church of America.
KENMORE EVANGELICAL CHURCH, REV. R. H. ROSCHE,
Services in the Village Hall.
Sunday school 9:00 A. M.
Preaching service 10:30 A. M.
After meeting as a Sunday school for a few months in the
Village Hall, a survey of the village was made and it was
decided to begin meetings as a congregation. The first meet-
ing held September 13th, 1925, was attended by fifty people.
The work was begun by the Evangelical Union of Buffalo and
was taken over by the Board of Home Missions of the Evan-
gelical Church. On Thursday evening December 10th, 1925,
the church was organized in response to a petition signed by
27 men and women of Kenmore. A constitution was adopted
and a church council elected to take effect January 1st, 1926,
composed of the following members: Frank Briggs, Mrs.
George Brunner, George FornofF, Edward JIuebner, Mrs.
George Norwig and Fred Zaehringer. The church proposes
to build a church edifice in the near future.
FIRST CHURCH OF CHRIST, SCIENTIST, MYRON AND
EAST HAZELTINE AVENUES
Services Sunday 10:30 A. M. and 3 P. M.
Testimonial meeting, Wednesday 8:00 P. M.
Reading room open Monday and Friday 7 — 9 P. M. Tues-
day and Thursday 8 — 5 P. M.
Through the efforts of a few residents of the village,
Christian Science services were first held regularly in Ken-
more in the spring of 1919. These were conducted by Chris-
tian Science Society in Kenmore, which had been organized a
little while previously. The large room on the second floor
of the Village Hall was made available for the services
through the courtesy of the Village Board.
Within the next two years the attendance grew to such an
extent that the members of the Society felt the time had come
to erect a suitable church edifice to accommodate the con-
stantly increasing body of students of Christian Science.
Accordingly, the site at the northeast corner of East Hazel-
tine and Myron Avenues was chosen and purchased early in
Plans for the building having been prepared by Harold
J. Cook, Architect, ground was broken in October, 1921. The
cornerstone was laid shortly thereafter in the presence of the
two Readers, the Board of Trustees and the Building
On Easter Sunday, 1922, the building was ready for occu-
pancy. A morning, afternoon and evening service were held,
at each of which the auditorium seating 400 was well filled.
Since then there has been no interruption in the services on
Sunday or Wednesday evening.
The affairs of the Church are managed by a Board of six
Trustees, two of whom are elected annually for a term of
three years. The First and Second Readers (who must be
members of The Mother Church), are also elected by the
membership, and serve a term of three years. Under the By-
Laws of the Church, a Reader who has served a full term is
not eligible for re-election. .
KENMORE PUBLIC SCHOOLS
When Kenmore was first settled in 1889 there was a small
district school in what was called the Burlington district on
Englewood Road in the township of Tonawanda which accom-
modated the children of that vicinity and a few from what is
now Kenmore; others were obliged to walk or take the bus
to No. 21 school on Hertel Avenue, Buffalo, which was over-
crowded. In 1890 the number of children of school age in
Kenmore numbered about 50. A meeting was held in the
Burlington school house to discuss the question of a separate
school for Kenmore at which 21 voters were present. Eleven
voted in favor of the movement and ten against it. Meanwhile
a school was held in the Sunday school room.s of the Presby-
terian Church. Desks were provided and the pupils were
instructed by Miss Frank Wilder of Pike, N. Y., Mr. William
F. Squire circulated a petition for a separate building and 40
signed the same. In 1891 a public hearing was held in the
office of Superintendent Emerson on this petition and the right
was granted to build a school house in Kenmore. In 1892 a
lot was purchased from L. P. A. Eberhardt for $1,500 on
Delaware Avenue and the Union Free School (afterward
bought for the present Village Hall) was built. The first
accident of any note in the newly settled village took place
during its construction. Charles Hutt a carpenter fell from
a scaffold breaking his right leg at the ankle. Mrs. Celia
W. Marsh, wife of the pastor of the Presbyterian Church was
the first principal of the new school in 1892. Mrs. Marsh
was a college graduate and an inspiring teacher with high
ideals. In changing from a district school to a Union Free
School there was a long debate. The vote was 56 in favor
of the motion, and 46 against. Five trustees were elected
to form a Board of Education: For one year George H. J.Ieyer,
two years Hugo Westphal and A. H. Stephenson, three years
Mrs. F. E. A. Zimmerman and John I. Keller. Mr. W. R.
Atkinson was the sole trustee of the old district school. Several
students of the new union school took the Regents' Examina-
tion in January 1893 at the Buffalo High School. Mrs. Marsh
continued her services as Principal until 1895 when R. M.
Baraces, a Buffalo lawyer and formerly a principal in Wyom-
ing County took charge of the school. In 1896 the annual
school meeting registered 88 voters. W. R. Atkinson was
elected Trustee in 1896 and was instructed to open the school
for a term of 40 weeks with one teacher. The amount of
money to be raised by taxation was $1,700. Mr. Atkinson
was elected to the office of Trustee without opposition from
1896 to 1901.
In March 1899 Mr. Baraces resigned and Miss Cora Phelps
(now Mrs. A. M. Hall) filled the vacancy for some time when
Mr. B. X. Shields was engaged as Principal. In 1902 William
C. Uhrhan took charge of the rapidly growing school, holding
the position until 1915. The school became overcrowded in
1909 and a new building became necessary. The corner stone
was laid for what is now the old High School in 1910 and it
was completed and occupied in 1911 for the Fall Term. The
building cost $50,000. In the Fall of 1915 Frank C. Dens-
berger was chosen Principal. Enlargement was found
necessary and in February 1916 additions were built on the
north and south sides at an expense of $46,000. The work was
completed in 1917. There were now 30 teachers with an
enrollment of 110 in the Senior High School, 110 Junior High,
443 1st and 6th grades, 100 Kindergarten, total enrollment 763
The new Junior-Senior High School on Delaware Road was
erected by the Board of Education in 1924. Eugene Crow,
President; William W. Whitelock, Frederick W. Kester,
Emilie A. Linklater, Harold V. Cook, Andrew M. Carnes,
Katherine B. Pinch; Charles D. Warren, Secretary; Frank
C. Densberger, Superintendent of Schools; F. J. and W. A.
The erection of the school was favorably voted on in 1922.
Work was started July 27th, 1923. The building was com-
pleted November 1st, 1924, at a cost of $495,000. The struc-
ture is of warm buff colored tapestry brick with grey stone
trim and in architectural beauty equal to that found in any
•city. The auditorium seats over eleven hundred people. The
school contains departments of Homemaking, Manual Train-
ing, Mechanical Drawing, Cafeteria, Gymnasium, Swimming,
Library, Conservatory and Laboratories. A large athletic
field with football, baseball, tennis courts and quarter-mile
track is located back of the building. In no better way can
the growth of Kenmore be expressed than by this large,
modern school. Without doubt there is no single factor that
has contributed to the growth of Kenmore more than its educa-
STATE BANK OF KENMORE
The Story of Eleven Years' Business
Granted its charter by State of New York December
Opened for business December 18th, 1914.
Original paid-in Capital and Surplus $30,000.00
Five of the original Board of Directors (which was seven
in number) Messrs. Raymond E. Winfield, Chairman; Clarence
C. Miller, President; Freelon Hunter, L. P. A. Eberhardt and
Charles J. J. Seaman, are still serving as Directors.
Other members of the present board are:
Charles A. Scheeler, added in 1915.
Milton C. Guggenheimer, Frank X. Renter and George F.
Wallace, added in 1916.
J. Fred Moore, added in 1919.
William W. Whitelock, added in 1921.
Henry J. Ebling, John B. Scheidemantel, Charles Stephen
and Arthur R. Atkinson, added in 1922.
Oth€r active officers arc-
Howard A. Inskip, who came to the bank as cashier in 1918
and assistant cashiers, Albert A. McMullen and John D.
Hamilton, both of whom have been with the bank since 1923.
Working force has grown from two in 1914 to eighteen
Capital, Surplus and Profits have increased from $30,000
to nearly $300,000.00 — Deposits to over $2,000,000.00 and
Total Resources to about $3,000,000.00.
Banking quarters have grown from one small room in 1914
to present spacious quarters.
January 1st, 1926 open accounts, 4137; deposits
$2,451,471.80; interest paid, $232,328.14; Resources,
$3,415,491.33; net earnings, $169,047.70; dividens paid
FIRST NATIONAL BANK
Organized and opened for business May 27, 1922, occupy-
ing part of lower floor of building at 2833 Delaware Avenue.
In fall of 1924, quarters enlarged by adding space in same
building occupied by Kenmore Grocery. June 1925 began
construction of modern, fire-proof banking house at corner
Delaware Avenue and Lincoln Boulevard at cost of $90,000.00.
Occupied new building May 15, 1926.
May 27, 1922 $ 96,176.87 $ 177,426.87
May 27, 1923 387,789.01 576,652.81
May 27, 1924 667,075.98 807,641.84
May 27, 1925 922,690.72 1,139,741.33
April 12, 1926 1,730,833.13 1,957,854.94
Matthew D. Young President
Charles D. Warren Vice President
Arthur R. Catlin Cashier
Vernon L, Young Assistant Cashier
Harold V. Cook Counsel
Cecil D. Blair, Edward H. Boehringer, Harold V. Cook,
Eugene Crow, Edward T. Danahy, Charles C. Dearing, Thomas
W. Dickson, Frank C. Greutker, Ray H. Heiss, Dr. Eugene R.
Linklater, Charles D. Warren, Dr. Walter J. M. Wurtz,
Matthew D. Young.
The new home of the First National Bank of Kenmore
with its central location, convenient arrangements, complete
equipment and attractive appointments, reflects the substan-
tial progress of the institution in its four years of successful
service and indicates the way it keeps pace with Kenmore's
growth and development, with which it is so closely identified.
TUESDAY CULTURE CLUB
Organized 1912, Western New York Federation 1918.
Regular meetings first and third Tuesday, October to May
2:30 P. M.
Motto: "Live up to the best that is in you." j
Colors: White and Gold.
First Officers: President, Mrs, Wilbur T. Harris; Vice
President, Mrs. Willis H. Hall; Secretary, Mrs. Henry
Tremain; Treasurer, Miss Katherine L. Busch.
The following ladies have acted as president since organ-
ization: Mrs. Wilbur T. Harris, 1912 — 1918; Mrs. Charles J.
J. Seaman, 1919 — 1920; Mrs. Frank C. Densberger, 1920 —
1922; Mrs. Frederick S. Parkhurst, 1923 — 1924; Mrs. Willis
H. Hall, 1925—1926; Mrs. Orel L. Hershiser, 1926.
Annual election of officers first meeting in April.
Present Officers: Mrs. Orel L. Hershiser, President; Mrs.
Joseph W. Hutchison, Vice President; Recording Secretary,
Mrs. Joseph A. Dixon; Treasurer, Mrs. Frank C. Moore; Cor-
responding Secretary, Mrs. Frederick S. Parkhurst; Auditor,
Mrs. Erwin M. Hooker; Historian, Mrs. Charles J. J. Seaman.
The club has thirty active members and eight honorary
Special Days: Club Birthday Party; Christmas Party;
Guest Day; Club Luncheon; June Picnic.
WOMAN'S CHRISTIAN TEMPERANCE UNION
The W. C. T. U. of Kenmore was organized March 8th,
1897, in the Presbyterian Church. The original officers were:
President, Mrs. Dalgety; Vice President, Mrs. Jennie Van-
Vleer; Recording Secretary, Mrs. Hattie H. Leonard; Superin-
tendent Mothers' Meeting, Mrs. Frances Zimmerman. There
were fourteen charter members.
The purpose of the organization is the unifying through-
out the world the work of women in temperance and social
reform. The badge is the white ribbon. The motto "For God
and Home and Every Land." In 1913 the society erected and
presented to the village a Drinking Fountain which is located
at the village hall and was accepted by the president of the
village, Matthew D. Young. During "Old Home Week" in
the summer of 1924 the society won the first prize in a "Float
Contest" called "Before and After Prohibition," by Mrs. W.
H. Johnston, and the first prize "Floral Missions," by Mrs.
Wittenmeyer. The membership is 125, and 30 honorary
members. The society meets every third Thursday at 2:30
P. M. Mrs. William Robinson, 24 Ramsdell Avenue, Buffalo,
N. Y., President; Mrs. Amy Neustadter, 104 Argonne Drive,
Secretary. Telephone the President for the place of meeting.
KENMORE LODGE NO. 795 I. O. O. F.
Kenmore Lodge No. 795 Independent Order of Odd Fellows
was instituted March 7th, 1913, with the following charter
members: William B. Sirrett, William Harper, Delbert A.
Phelps, Edmund Baloun, Henry A. Martin, Fred W. Eggles-
ton, Bert G. Hitchcock, William Dicks, William Swing.
The first officers were: N. G., William Harper; V. G.,
William Dicks; Recording Secretary, Fred W. Eggleston; Fin-
ancial Secretary, Henry A. Martin; Treasurer, Delbert A.
Phelps; R. S. N. G., William B. Sirrett; L. S. N. G., Bert G.
Hitchcock; Chaplain, Edmund Baloun; Warden, William
The first lodge rooms v;»€re located in the Hitchcock Hall
located at the corner of Delaware Avenue and Euclid Avenue
in what was known as the Henry Block. The present Temple
site was later acquired corner of Kenmore Avenue and Myron
Avenue. The corner stone was laid in 1914. The membership
is 133. The 107th anniversary of Oddfellowship in the United
States was observed by the Lodge on April 26th, 1926, in the
evening. Dr. Fred'k S. Parkhurst delivered the address.
The present officers are: N. G., Samuel McCarley; V. G.,
Louis Smith; Recording Secretary, Gordon P. Gilbert; Fin-
ancial Secretary, William Thorn; Treasurer, George L. Huls-
lander; R. S. N. G., Thomas Osborne; L. S. N. G., A. J. Whittle-
ton; R. S. V. G., Paul Condrell; L. S. V. G., Clifford Cook;
Chaplain, Charles Thompson; Conductor, Frank Schultz;
Warden, Charles Beeker; I. G., Joseph Bingham; O. G. Jacob
Fries; R. S. S., John Bleyle; L. S. S. Edward Fletcher; P. G.,
Regular meeting night, every Monday, 8 P. M.
KENMORE REBEKAH LODGE
Early in the year of 1916, a committee was formed with
Andrew Werner as chairman, assisted by Mrs. N. G. Miller,
to organize a Rebekah Lodge in Kenmore with the result that,
on April 4, 1916, the Lodge was instituted with 52 members,
by George E. Judge, then Grand Master of New York State
and District Deputy President Martha Rast of the Rebekah
The object and purposes of the Rebekah Degree of Odd
Fellows is to assist their own members and subdorinate and
sister Rebekah Lodges in ministering to the families of Odd
Fellows and Rebekahs when in trouble, sickness and want; to
aid in establishing and maintaining homes for aged Odd
Fellows and their wives and the widows of deceased Odd
Fellows, also homes for the care and education of orphans of
deceased Odd Fellows and Rebekahs; to cultivate social and
fraternal relations among lodges and families of Odd Fellows.
1926 officers are: Emma George, Noble Grand; Rose
Ebling, Past Noble Grand; Emma Roehrig, Vice Grand; Julia
Chase, Recording Secretary; May Gersting, Financial Secre-
tary; Katherine Bleyle, Treasurer; Elizabeth Kumpf, Chap-
lain; Hattie Meyers, Warden; Jessie Whittleton, Conductor;
Maud Allgier, Inside Guardian; Jacob Fries, Outside Guard-
ian; Sarah Marshall, R. S. N. G.; Katherine Zwald, L. S. N.
G.; Marie Huss, R. S. V. G.; Luella Dahmer, L. S. V. G.;
Marion Bleyle, Pianist; Flora Fletcher, Color Bearer; Ethel
Cline, Minerva Morgan, Escorts; Mabel Bowman, Drill
Past Noble Grands are: Flora Fletcher, Lulu Miller from
Chippewa Falls, Wisconsin; Mabel Bowman, Mary Rowland,
Christine Wiser, Maude Maxson, Jessie Caskey, Katherine
Zwald, Sarah Marshall, and Rose Ebling. Present member-
MASTER BUILDER LODGE NO. 911 F. & A. M.
Master Builder Lodge No. 911, Free and Accepted Masons
was organized and Dispensation granted on December 27th,
1913. It was Instituted on January 20th, 1914. A Charter
was granted by the Grand Lodge of the State of New York
on May 7th, 1914, and the Lodge was Constituted and Con-
secrated on May 29th, 1914, by Honorable George Freifeld,
at that time Grand Master of Masons in the State of New York.
The lodge was formed with forty-one charter members,
and by the end of 1925 had grown to a membership of Three
Hundred and Fifty.
Robert L. Kimberley was its first Master and served the
Lodge during the years 1914 and 1915. The Masters that
followed and their terms of office were: 1916, Albert C.
Towne; 1917, Frederick T. Hall; 1918, Robert F. Coleman;
1919, Lewis E. Burritt; 1920, Frederick W. Claus; 1921 Fred
C. Post; 1922, Francis G. King; 1923, Edward A. Jones; 1924,
Walter Allen; 1925, Thomas W. Dickson.
Dr. George M. Lewis was its first secretary, followed in
1915 by Arthur P. H. Saul, who has continued as secretary
until the present time, having served the lodge for thirteen
The officers of the lodge for the year 1926 were: Master,
Willard O. Tower; Senior Warden, Dr. Joseph R. Hawn;
Junior Warden, Fred M. Rich; Treasurer, Charles L. Lowell;
Secretary, Arthur P. H. Saul; Chaplain, Rev. Frederick S.
Parkhurst; Senior Deacon, Willis H. Hall; Junior Deacon,
Frank C. Moore; Senior Master of Ceremony, Thomas B.
Rautenberg; Junior Master of Ceremony, Kenneth O. Irvin ;
Senior Steward, Roscoe L. Rosser; Junior Steward, Frank C.
Greutker; Marshal, Harry A. Epsten; Organist, Ransom C.
Hall; Tiler, Marley E. Bechtel.
On February 14th, 1926, ground was broken for a new
Temple, to be built on East Delaware Road, immediately north
of the new Kenmore High School. The cost of the new
Temple, including the site, will be approximately $85,000.00.
The cornerstone of the new edifice was laid with imposing
ceremonies on April 10th, 1926, by William A. Rowan, Grand
Master of Masons in the State of New York, assisted by a large
retinue of Grand Lodge Officers.
It is expected that the Temple will be completed and
dedicated in the late Fall of 1926.
BETHLEHEM CHAPTER 634 O. E. S.
Bethlehem Chapter 634 O. E. S. was instituted on March
9th, 1920, in Odd FelIo\vs Temple, Kenmore, N. Y., by a staff
of Acting Grand Officers. Thirty members who signed the
Dispensation w^ere affiliated. Heumina W. Lauderdale,
Worthy Matron and Edwin H. Weibert Worthy Patron.
The Chapter served under Dispensation until October 23,
1920, when it was constituted by the M. W. G. M. of the State
of New York, Dr. Frances Thornton.
At the end of this year the Roster totaled ninety members
and W. M. Heumina W. Lauderdale and Edwin H. Weibert
were re-elected for another year.
Helen P. Annis was W. M. and Thomas W. Dickson, W. P.
in 1922. During this year the Chapter held its only and very
Vera K. Towne W. M., and Malcolm E. Welch W. P. in
1923; Mae L. Ewers W. M., and Edward A. Jones W. P. in
1924; Argnes L. Osborn W. M. and Walter Allen W. P. in
In 1924 and 1925 Chapter added a Vested Choir to its
December 1925 showed the chapter had initiated and affil-
iated 265 members but had lost twenty through death with-
drawal and dimiting to other Chapters.
Each year the Chapter has had some very beautiful special
evenings, such as Installations, Floral Degrees and Grand
Officers Night which will never be forgotten by anyone whose
privilege it has been to be present.
The Chapter has also been very successful financially in
a number of undertakings into which they have gone for that
KENMORE COURT NO. 113, ORDER OF THE AMARANTH
Kenmore Court No. 113 Order of the Amaranth was
organized October 23, 1924, with Mrs. Emile Linklater as its
Royal Matron, and Judge Charles L. Titus as its Royal Patron.
The Grand Court granted the Charter in May 1925, after the
officers had proven that they were capable of carrying on the
duties and responsibilities of a Court of the Order of the
The membership of Kenmore number between 60 and 70,
all residents of Kenmore proper, or its immediate vicinity.
Membership in the Order of the Amaranth is conditional upon
the applicant being a member of the Order of the Eastern Star
in good standing or a Master Mason.
Charity is a capstone of the Order, through which a great
deal of good can be accocnplished when exercised for the good
of humanity. The Order aims to impress upon all who unite
with it, the duty we owe to one another, to encourage them to
be a means of doing good, to live contentedly with their fellow-
beings, to possess a forgiving spirit, and to exercise their
influence for good over their associates.
The Grand Court of the State of New York has seen fit to
appoint Mrs. Emile Linklater District Deputy Grand Royal
Matron of this district for the ensuing year.
The Present Officers of Kenmore Court are as follows:
Royal Matron, Mayme B. Titus; Patron, Edward A. Jones;
Associate Matron, Lillian McKenneth; Associate Patron,
Charles Weidrich; Secretary, Nettie Brown; Treasurer, John
F. McKenneth,; Conductress, Mary Brown; Associate Con-
ductress, Edith Wiedrich.
KENMORE BRANCH Y. W. C. A.
The Kenmore Y. W. C. A. — originally called the Industrial
Service Center of Kenmore, came into existence August 29,
1918. Mrs. James Foster of Colonial Circle was the first
chairman. Serving with her were Mrs. Darwin D. Martin, chair-
man of the House and Equipment, Mrs. E. J. Barcalo, chair-
man of the Industrial Committee, Mrs. William Pennypacker,
chairman of Activities, Mrs. Paul Dold, Cafeteria chairman.
Miss Carolyn Grimmell was the first executive of the branch.
Mrs. Helen G. Wagoner assumed the duties of House Mother
and Miss Ruth Fairbairn the duties of Business Secretary. To
the above group belongs a tribute for all the difllcult work of
seeing an organization begun.
The first club night, for employed people was held Feb-
ruary 3, 1919 with 85 girls present. Following close on this,
the Mothers of the community asked for clubs for the school
girls and clubs were formed under Miss Rhoda Harris.
From these beginnings the work has progressed until in
1925 over 100,000 people were served in some way by the
Kenmore Y. W. C. A. While the organization was started by
Buffalo people, the Kenmore women soon became interested
and today the Committee of Management is mostly made up
of Kenmore women.
At present the officers are : Chairman of the Branch, Mrs.
F. C. Densberger; Vice Chairman, Mrs. E. R. Griffiths; Secre-
tary, Mrs. Oliver MacLean; Corresponding Secretary, Mrs.
As the work has grown, additional people have been added
to the staff as follows: Executive, Lucia P. Davenport; Busi-
ness Girls Secretary, Blanche Knowles; Industrial Girls Secre-
tary, Lillian Freund; Girl Reserve Secretary, Olive Degan;
Cafeteria Secretary, Hazel Kidder; House Secretary, (Mrs.)
Jennie E. Rader; Office Secretary, Lillian K. Buckley.
KENMORE MERCHANTS ASSOCIATION, INC.
On April 23rd, 1923 nineteen business men of Kenmore
met at Neustadter's dry goods store and organized under the
name of the "Kenmore Retail Merchants Association." Its
aims and objects were to protect and advance the business
and civic interests of the village of Kenmore, foster a spirit
of commercial harmony and establish a bureau of credit
information for the benefit of its members. Henry J. Ebling
was unanimously chosen for President; Robert K. House,
Vice President; Vern F. Palmer, Treasurer; Katherine B.
Pinch, Secretary. Directors: Ray E. Clark, George J. Schlehr,
C. R. Schickluna, John H. Durkin and Harrison H. Bury.
Since organization the association has increased its member-
ship to ninety members. It has aided by united effort all
public enterprises of merit. A contest was held in 1925 for
the purpose of adopting a slogan to be used on stationery
and advertising matter. The first prize was won by Henry A.
Engel, 277 Parkwood Avenue who submitted, "Kenmore's
Made of Kenmore's Trade," which was adopted by the associa-
tion. Other slogans were submitted as follows: "Buy More,
Boost More, Kenmore," by Arthur S. Hood, 127 Wardman
Road and "Trade in Kenmore," by John Blankheit, 183 Tre-
maine Avenue. The organization incorporated in February,
1926 under the name of the Kenmore Merchants Association.
F. F. Barber was chosen as President for 1926. The regular
meeting of the association is held on the third Monday even-
ing of each month.
ROTARY CLUB OF KENMORE, NEW YORK
"Service Above Self — He Profits Most Who Serves Best"
Charter granted by Rotary International was No. 1701,
organized on March 31, 1924, by George C. Diehl, special
representative of Andy Wallace of St. Catharines, Ontario,
District Governor of the 27th District of Rotary International.
Officers: President, Frank C. Moore; Vice President,
Edward A. Jones; Secretary, Benjamin A. Keeney; Treasurer,
Edward H. Boehringer; Sergeant-at-Arms, Vernon Eager.
Directors: Frank C. Moore, Vernon Eager, J. Fred Moore,
Benjamin A. Keeney, Frank C. Densberger, Edward H.
Boehringer, Edward A. Jones, Henry J. Ebling, Elmer L.
Charter Members: Frank C. Moore, Elmer L. Sleeper,
Benjamin A. Keeney, Edward H. Boehringer, Edward A. Jones,
Joseph B. Mang, Harrison H. Bury, James J. Donovan, Henry
J. Ebling, A. L. Brainard, Robert Zimmerman, Vernon Eager,
L. P. A. Eberhardt, Frank C. Densberger, J. Fred Moore,
Eugene R. Linklater, Robert K. House, Ray E. Clark, William
Harper, Louis Neustadter, John Richelsen, George J. Schlehr,
Willis H. Hall.
Officers and Directors for the year 1925 — 1926: President,
Dr. Clayton C. Morehouse; Vice President, Edwin R. Ashbery;
Secretary, William Harper; Treasurer, Edward H. Boehringer;
Sergeant-at-Arms, William F, Beier. Directors: Benjamin A.
Keeney, Arthur P. H. Saul, Floyd Barber, Henry J. Ebling,
Meets every Monday at 12:15 P. M. at the Kenmore
Y. W. C. A.
The Rotary Code of Ethics
My business standards shall have in them a note of sym-
pathy for our common humanity. My business dealings, ambi-
tions and relations shall always cause me to take into con-
sideratiofi my highest duties as a member of society. In every
position in business life, in every responsibility that comes
before me, my chief thought shall be to fill that responsibility
and discharge that duty so that, when I have ended both of
them, I shall have lifted the level of human ideals and achieve-
ments a little higher than I found it.
THE PROPERTY OWNERS PROTECTIVE ASSOCIATION
OF KENMORE, N. Y.
Meets First and Third Thursday night each month, Odd
Fellows Temple; organized December 7th, 1921.
First Officers: Harold V. Cook, President; Eugene F.
Stoddard, Vice President; Floyd J. Hurlburt, Secretary;
Joseph M. Ward, Treasurer.
Purpose : The purpose of the association is to promote the
common welfare, through social and business intercourse
among its members, and to do all manner of things which are
lawful and proper.
Present Officers: Willis H. Elliott, President; W. H. Finch,
Vice President; Henry F. Trout, Treasurer; Stewart W. Jor-
dan, Secretary; Chester W. Yount, Assistant Secretary.
ZONTA CLUB OF KENMORE
On December 2nd, 1925, a group of fifteen women met
with Mrs. George M. Oppermann at her home No. 2851 Dela-
ware Avenue to consider the organization of a Zonta Club.
Marion DeForest, past president of the confederation of Zonta
Clubs, and Louise Gerry, president of the Buffalo Zonta Club
were present and gave valuable assistance.
The Zonta Club of Kenmore was organized and received
its charter on February 1st, 1926. The following officers were
elected: Katherine Busch, President; Mary Connolly, First
Vice President; Mabel Moore, Second Vice President; J.
Aurelia Oppermann, Secretary; Mavis Todd, Treasurer. There
were fifteen charter members. As a worthy aim and incentive
to the club it assumed the work of assisting a young woman
through college. Meetings are held monthly in the Y. W. C. A.
The board of directors is composed of the following
women: Katherine Busch, Mary Connolly, Mavis Todd,
Mabel Moore, Violet Osborne, Hettie Brosart, Lucia Daven-
port, J. Aurelia Oppermann.
LEAGUE OF WOMEN VOTERS
The Kenmore Branch of the Erie County League of Women
Voters was organized in May 1925. Its initial membership
consisted of fifty-five women. Mrs. Harold V. Cook was its
first chairman. The officers for 1926 are: Mrs. Bruce Silver-
thorne, Chairman; Mrs. Carlisle Cherry, Assistant Chairman;
Mrs. Matthew W. Hauser, Secretary; Mrs. Sidney C. Murray,
The membership of the League is now one hundred and
fifty-nine. Its meetings are held once in each month and are
open to the public. At these meetings questions of civic
importance are debated.
The purpose of the organization is to teach women to vote
intelligently and to use their own observations and judgment
in their right of franchisement. The organization is non-
partisan and both sides of every question debated are heard.
WHEEL CHAIR HOME FOR INCURABLES, 2746 DELA-
WARE AVENUE, KENMORE, N. Y.
Mrs. Margaret G. Tuttle, Superintendent.
Object: To establish and maintain a home for incurables
and chronic invalids and to provide wheel chairs for invalids
among the worthy poor.
History: (1) Organized Wheel Chair Guild, May 1,
1910, for purpose of loaning Wheel Chairs to invalids and
shut-ins among the poor of Buffalo.
(2) Opened our first Home for Chronic Invalids Septem-
ber 1, 1911, at 93 Seventh Street, Buffalo, N. Y.
(3) Moved to 344 Hudson Street, May 1, 1912.
(4) In June 1913, changed name Wheel Chair Guild to
Wheel Chair Home for Incurables.
(5) Incorporated March, 1915.
(6) Moved into its own building, corner Delaware and
Kenmore Avenues May 1, 1916.
(7) Moved into new addition to same building July
(8) Incurables and Chronic invalids cared for.
(9) No salaried officers.
Originally it was an organization with active members
paying three dollars annually and associate members one
dollar a year for dues. Donations from public-spirited citizens,
sales, bazaars, parties, etc., given by the women to raise funds,
and whatever sum the incoming patients could contribute
toward their support, maintained the Home until it joined the
Joint Charities in 1919, from which it now receives most of
its operating expenses.
Success has attended this enterprise from the first. Twelve
years ago last September was the humble beginning. Soon
an eleven room house on Hudson Street was taken. In May
1916, it moved into its present quarters, to which a large
addition was just completed last summer. It can now accom-
modate forty-five patients and has a waiting list all of the
THE AMERICAN LEGION, MILTON J. BROUNSHIDLE
POST NO. 205
The American Legion was born in Paris, March, 1919, as
/•^^ ^ >
Monument to General Sheridan on Sheridan Drive
as it will look when completed.
the result of the spontaneous demand of all veterans for some
expression in peace of those ideals for which they fought in
the World War.
The boys who represented the Town of Tonawanda and
Village of Kenmore, started to realize this ideal in June,
receiving their temporary charter in August. Forty signed
the application and received the designation of Post No. 205.
Its name honors Milton J. Brounshidle, who was killed
in action during the "Argonne Drive."
Post meetings were held for a number of years in the
Village Hall until 1923, when the Odd Fellow's hall was
secured for combined use of the Post and its newly-formed
Auxiliary Unit, composed of the mothers, wives, widows and
sisters of Legion members. The Post is now so large that
these quarters are too small, and some means must be found to
house its activities properly.
The Post has had a representative on the Executive Com-
mittee of the Erie County Committee ever since that body was
formed in 1920. It also elected a member of the Post as
Vice-Commander, who later became Commander of the
Officers: Leonard G. Sipperley, Commander; Miner
Wildey, First Vice-Commander; Frank McCadden, Second
Vice-Commander; Karl Franklin, Third Vice-Commander;
Irwin Brounshidle, Finance Officer; Richard Holbrook, Adju-
tant; Charles MacDonald, Sergeant-at-Arms ; Frank C. Moore,
Post Attorney; Henry A. Brown, Post Historian; Richard Hol-
brook, Robert House, Delegates; William Burlingame, Lewis
Executive Committee: Robert K. House, Earl Butler,
Henry A. Brown, Lewis E. Blackley, William T. Burlingame,
Fred S. Mathewson, Adelbert Dove.
Officers: Mrs. W. H. Round, President; Mrs. L. E. Faux,
First Vice-President; Mrs. O. C. Keener, Second Vice-Presi-
dent; Mrs. George Diebold, Secretary; Mrs. Thomas Prior,
Treasurer; Mrs. Arthur Burke, Sergeant-at-Arms; Mrs. John
Hawk, Chaplain; Mrs. Edward Courtney, Historian.
Executive Commitee: Mrs. Henry Brown, Mrs. Clarence
Yochum, Mrs. Roy McQuillan.
Delegates to County Committee : Mrs. Round, Mrs. Faux,
Mrs. Diebold, Mrs. Burlingame.
HISTORY OF THE KENMORE FIRE DEPARTMENT
The organization of the Kenmore Fire Department was
first proposed by the Business Men's Association of Kenmore
in the spring of 1893. The little village of a few houses hav-
ing laid some water pipes, and desiring to be independent
of Buffalo, called a meeting in the Sunday school room of the
Presbyterian Church, on May 19th, at which the fire depart-
ment was organized. Myron A. Phelps was elected president;
James R. Barker, Vice-President; Edward H. Moffett, Secre-
tary; George H. Meyer, George A. Besch, D. A. Phelps
Trustees. The first chief was Frank C. Stillwell and George
F. Striker, assistant. All the able bodied men of the village
joined the department, one of the attractions being that mem-
bers were not required to pay the poll tax.
DELAWARE HOSE COMPANY
In July, 1893, the Delaware Hose Company was organized
by the men of the south Kenmore-Buffalo section. Freelon
Hunter was chosen first president. The men of the north end
of the village formed the Alert Hose Company with John I.
Keller as president. In 1905 the old companies being kept
up with difficulty and a truck being needed, a Hook and
Ladder company with men from both hose companies was
organized and later a Chemical Company was formed. In
1919 motor apparatus took the place of old hand carts. The
Chemical Company disbanded and the Delaware Hose Com-
pany, and the "Hooks" were merged into the Delaware Hook
and Ladder Company. The flag pole on the village green was
raised by the department in 1915. In 1919 Ross Mcintosh, a
Kenmore fireman, designed the kiosk containing the old fire
bell which was dedicated on November 16th, 1919. The de-
partment is now well organized and effective; fully equipped
with modern apparatus and with ample water supply is able
to fight any fire that may occur. The department also keeps
alive the community spirit in a serviceable way. The depart-
ment was the host for the annual convention of the Western
New York Volunteer Firemen's Association in July, 1926,
which brought forty companies and four hundred delegates.
KENMORE FIRE DEPARTMENT COUNCIL AND WARDENS
Alert Hose Company: Walter Ducker, Henry Schunk,
Roscoe L. Rosser, Louis E. DeCourlander.
Delaware Hook and Ladder Company: Frank V. Schultz,
Bruce F. Miller, Charles Weiss.
Ladies Auxiliary: President, Mrs. F. V. Schultz; Vice-
President, Mrs. Charles Weiss; Secretary, Mrs. G. Kirtland;
Treasurer, Mrs. F. W. Spear.
Alert Hose Company: President, Raymond Kirsch; Vice-
President, George Engel; Recording Secretary, Stewart Jor-
dan; Treasurer, Henry Schunk; Financial Secretary, Irwin
Brounshidle; Foreman, John Yochum; Assistant Foreman,
John Kelley; Chaplain, Dr. L. E. DeCourlander; Historian, F.
Delaware Hook and Ladder Company: President, Charles
Weiss; Vice-President, Norbert M. Beiter; Secretary, Ray
Schurr; Treasurer, F. V. Schultz; Financial Secretary, William
Gall; Chief, Edward W. Huebner; First Assistant, Fred W.
Spear; Second Assistant, Ray Kirschner; Foreman, A. J.
Burke; Assistant Foreman, R. F. Wunsch.
Kenmore Fire Police: Robert K. House, William T. Bur-
lingame, Oscar C. Keener, Ray Grant, Leonard G. Sipperley,
Richard R. Holbrook.
Roster of Chiefs since department was formed : Frank C.
Stillwell, George Pirson, William Schmidt, Edward Schmidt,
James Begley, George Brennan, Henry Schunk, George Besch,
Charles Large, Henry J. Ebling, Milton J. Brounshidle, Louis
A. Wiser, Clarence Yochum, John C. Hider, Pierre De-
Lafranier, Edmund Baloun, Victor F. Moreland, Michael
Forster, Frank V. Schultz.
INVENTORY OF RECORDS, VILLAGE HALL VAULT
1. Village Board Minutes, August 3rd, 1889 to 1926. 2.
Assessment Rolls, 1900 to 1926. 3. Building Permits, January
1st, 1907 to 1926. 4. Correspondence, August 3rd, 1889 to
1926. 5. Erroneous Tax Petitions. 6. Real Property Searches,
Deeds, Actions. 7. Attorney's Opinions and Reports of
Officers. 8. Approved Building Petitions. 9. Audited
Vouchers. 10. Contracts. 11. Agreements. 12. Deeds. 13. Pro-
posals. 14. Specifications. 15. Legal Actions. 16. Plumbers
Bonds. 17. Bonds of Officials. 18. Insurance Policies. 19.
Returned Mail. 20, Contracts. 21. Argeements and Options.
22. Deeds and Searches. 23. Certificates of Nomination. 24.
Petitions. 25. Oaths of Office. 26. Election Expenses. 27.
Canvass of Elections. 28. Improvements. 29. Bond Proceed-
ings. 30. Compensation Reports. 31. Board of Assessors. 32.
Regular and Special Elections. 33. Superintendent's Weekly-
Reports. 34, Long and Short Vouchers. 35. Blue Prints. 36.
Maps and Surveys.
KENMORE REAL ESTATE
L. P. A. Eberhardt
Probably next to location, as to approach from Buffalo and
strategic position on the Niagara Frontier, the real estate com-
panies played the next important part in advancing the de-
velopment of Kenmore.
The pioneer in this line was L. P. A. Eberhardt, fondly
known as "Daddy" Eberhardt of Kenmore. Mr. Eberhardt
started in business in 1884 sub-dividing the Leonard Farm of
forty acres which tract is now Hinman and Ramsdell Avenues
on the Buffalo side of the line. In 1896 he had associated with
him Philip Walters and developed the Villa Avenue section.
Later on the Ruff Farm of forty-five acres in the Elmwood
Avenue section, including Hoover and Keller Avenues, was.
developed. Eberhardt & Sanborn were associated in 1892-
1896 and developed the Isadore Mang and Fred Mang tract
on the south-west corner of Delaware and Kenmore Avenues
and the Ackerman Farm of seventy-four acres on the south-
east corner of Delaware and Kenmore Avenues. In all Mr.
Eberhardt improved eighty-four different tracts of land and is
the oldest and largest dealer of real estate in Kenmore and is
still actively engaged in the business. Much time, hard work,
and money was spent in the early days to make Kenmore
presentable and habitable. The real estate men were eager
to improve the looks of the new village. There were many
unsightly barns and sheds to be removed and unsanitary-
ditches to be drained. Objections were raised by the owners
of barns at having these old landmarks torn down. One such
building located near the Lackawanna Railway was in the way
of progress. All pleas to remove it fell on deaf ears, but at
last Providence (?) came to the aid of the real estate men —
the barn burned down. Ugly and offensive ditches were
drained by the forward looking men. Dead and straggley trees
were cut down and the landscape beautified. In this task all
the new settlers took part, being anxious to make Kenmore
Jacob B. Rickert
Jacob B. Rickert was born at Manheim, Waterloo County,
Ontario, Canada. He came to the United States in 1890 and
located in the newly settled village of Kenmore. He helped to
construct the brown stone houses of L. P. A. Eberhardt, and
Fred B. Eberhardt in Delaware Avenue in 1893-1894. Later
he engaged in general contracting business building homes for
the early settlers in Kenmore. Mrs. Hannah E. Rickert, his
wife, became a resident in Kenmore in 1891 and resides at
27 LaSalle Avenue, being one of the few remaining
pioneers who have witnessed the wonderful growth of the
village. Mr. Rickert continued in the building business until
1914 and claimed the distinction of building four out of every
five houses in Kenmore up to that time. In 1914 he formed
the Hall-Rickert Co., Inc., with Mr. S. C. Hall and carried on
home building on a large scale in the Hertel Avenue section of
Buffalo, until the time of his death which occurred February
12, 1916. Like all the original settlers in Kenmore, Mr. Rickert
was interested in everything that helped to make Kenmore an
ideal community. He was one of the organizers of the Method-
ist Episcopal Church of Kenmore.
Clare L. Rickert, 2959 Delaware Avenue
Clare L. Rickert, son of Jacob B. Rickert, worked as a car-
penter for the Hall-Rickert Co., Inc., and took over the con-
struction work of the company at the death of his father until
the fall of 1916 at which time he went into business for himself,
building and selling homes exclusively in Kenmore. In 1917
he combined with Eugene F. Stoddard, forming what was
known as the Stoddard-Rickert Co., and built houses in Lin-
den Avenue until entering the U. S. Service in the World War
November 21st, 1917. He served eighteen months. After return-
ing from the war Mr. Rickert sold his interest in the company
to Stoddard and Quin, Frederick J. Quin having become a
member of the firm of Stoddard-Rickert Co. In July 1919
Mr. Rickert formed the Rickert Building Co., Inc., with
Charles W. Hall. In 1921 he bought out Mr. Hall's interest
and formed the Rickert Building Co., Inc., 2959 Delaware
Avenue, where he carries on a general business of building,
real estate, and insurance. Like his father Mr. Rickert be-
lieves in the future of Kenmore and is placing all his invest-
ments in and near the village and shows a lively interest in
everything that relates to the development of the coming city
of 25,000 population which he believes will be the Kenmore
Myron A. Phelps
Mr. M. A. Phelps, the first President of the Village of Ken-
more, was one of the first to engage in real estate dealing in
Kenmore, also to superintend the erection of houses. Under
the title of "The Kenmore and Villa Avenue Land Company,"
and "Messrs. Phelps & Barrus," and as general agent for the
"Kenmore and Delaware Avenue Land Company," Mr. Phelps
not only sold land and houses, but labored with heart and hand
to establish and build up the new suburb of Buffalo. He was
respected and honored throughout the county and state. His
■work and influence for the good of the community still abides.
Large & Hi(ier> National Bank Building, Delaware and Lincoln
Charles Large, under the firm name of Large & Company
(Charles Large and William Rowland) was among the first in
contracting and building in Kenmore on an extensive scale.
Among the residences built by this firm are the E. B. 01m-
etead of Eugene Avenue, in old colonial style; the substantial
George V. Eberhardt house 2768 Delaware Avenue, now
occupied by Henry A. Brown; the handsome brick residence
of Willis H. Hall, 84 Tremaine Avenue, also the fine homes
of Harold V. Cook, 57 East Girard Boulevard, Richard
W. Werner, 94 Delaware Road and many others including
several in Deerhurst Park. Among the public buildings and
mercantile blocks built by this firm are the Washington Gram-
mar School (1910) which was the original High School. The
Odd Fellows Temple (1914), the Ebling Hardware block, and
the rectory of Saint Paul's Church.
Under the firm name of Large & Hider (Charles Large and
John C. Hider) the Y. W. C. A. Cafeteria was built in 1918.
More recently some of the notable public buildings erected
are the Presbyterian Church, the National Bank, the Masonic
Temple, and the Rosing block, Delaware and Euclid, (1926)
which important site was occupied for many years by some of
the landmarks of early Kenmore.
Rowland Corporation, 23 East Hazeltine Avenue
This firm of general contractors and masonry work is
among the oldest and leading builders in Kenmore. William
Rowland was formerly associated with Charles Large, as
Large & Company and until 1918 shared in the operations of
that firm. Since that date the corporation built the State
Bank of Kenmore, the Kenmore Theatre Block, and the Szur
Shoe Shop No. 9 Mang Avenue. The corporation has built
twenty-five substantial houses in different parts of the village.
Kinsey Realty Company
A branch ofllice of this company is located at 2830
Delaware Avenue. Mr. Kinsey Sr. co-operated with L. P. A.
Eberhardt in the realty business in Kenmore's earliest history.
The present company operated in Kenmore on February 7th,
1907. Kinsey Avenue was the first street developed from
Elmwood to Delaware Avenue. The Kenmore Estates develop-
ment included Somerton Avenue, West Girard Boulevard,
North End, Palmer, and Stillwell Avenues. The company has
built 150 houses in the village including many on West Hazel-
tine and Tremaine Avenues. In the town of Tonawanda sub-
divisions include Colvin Avenue, Sheridan Drive and Eggerts-
Louis J. Eisenberger
Louis J. Eisenberger, building contractor, 58 Tremaine
Avenue, began building in Kenmore in March, 1914, finishing
four houses in Knowlton Avenue. In 1915 he moved into the
village and since that time has built 160 houses in various
parts of the village. He finished the interior wood work in
both the State Bank of Kenmore and the First National Bank.
Boehringer Homes, Edward H. Boehringer and Clarence C.
Boehringer, No. 2955 Delaware Avenue
In March 1922 under the firm name of Hall & Boehringer,
a number of houses were built on Mang Avenue and twenty
houses on Lincoln Boulevard. At this time the office was
located the farthest north of any of the real estate and build-
ing offices, leading the way in development on Delaware
Avenue. The present company since 1923 has built forty or
more homes on both sides of Hazeltine and Tremaine Avenues,
in the Elmwood Avenue section which is rapidly expanding as
a business and residential district. .
Ebert & Ebert No. 44 Columbia Road ^"T
This company commenced building operations in Kenmore
in 1922 and has made a remarkable record in the erection of
fine residences. Twenty-five houses on Columbia Road;
fourteen on Lincoln Boulevard; fifteen on Mang Avenue; two
on Victoria Boulevard and others in the north Delaware sec-
tion. All these high class homes found ready sale as soon as or
F. S. Sipperley & Son No. 2827 Delaware Avenue
Under this firm name Mr. Sipperley, one of the older and
well known residents, began selling real estate and insurance
in April, 1922. Many lots were sold for the Kenmore-Hoover
Land Co., and the Kenmore Woodward Co., which helped to
improve the large tract west of Elmwood Avenue. This firm
is also sub-dividing sixty-nine acres in the Colvin Avenue,
Ellicott Road section, which is rapidly being taken up as a
residential section. The new Colvin Avenue subway makes
easy access from Buffalo, and Kenmore and parallels Dela-
ware Avenue and Main Street in the trend to the east and
Tolsma Brothers Real Estate, No. 2938 Delaware Avenue
This company began business in Kenmore in August, 1922.
Many sites for modern homes were sold on Westgate Avenue,
which had such a remarkable development in 1925. Many
home sites were sold on Wardman Road, Hamilton Boulevard,
Delwood and Kenwood Roads. The company is now operat-
ing on Sheridan Drive and in various parts of the village and
township of Tonawanda.
Chambers Realty Company, No. 2980 Delaware Avenue
This company's branch office was opened in Kenmore in
1924. Besides building several modern homes in Nassau
Avenue and other parts of the village and offering business
opportunities in Kenmore, the company is developing Park
View in the township of Tonawanda facing the new town
park — Sheridan Park — located on Sheridan Drive and the Two
Mile Creek Road. This section is easy of access and is bound
to become a popular suburban residential district famous
already for its beauty.
G. F. Wallace Co., Inc., No. 2854 Delaware Avenue
This firm is developing the Delaware Meadows tract on
Schell Road east of Delaware Avenue, which runs to Eggerts-
ville Road. It also has subdivisions in Sheridan Meadows
and Sheridan Drive. This famous drive extends across the
township of Tonawanda from east to west connecting the
Niagara Falls Boulevard with the Niagara River. A wonder-
ful boulevard, electrically lighted, traversing a beautiful
stretch of country very attractive to home finders. The com-
pany began business in Kenmore in 1924 and has sold hundreds
Hall & Turner, No. 2943 Delaware Avenue
Charles W. Hall was associated with Clare L. Rickert
previous to forming a partnership with Leslie F. Turner, May
1st, 1925. The firm built up the north side of Lincoln Avenue
between Delaware and Eugene Avenues, and on the south side
between Eugene and Elmwood Avenues. Four residences on
Victoria Boulevard and twenty homes on Mayville Avenue,
north of the village line and in the Elmwood Avenue section
have been built.
Greater Buffalo Building Company
Among the newest homes in Kenmore are those of the
Greater Buffalo Building Company which is building 150
houses on Westgate Road and Wabash Avenue between Elm-
wood and Wilbur Avenues, which district is rapidly filling up.
These are all of high standards and materials with all con-
veniences and comforts. Some are of the Dutch Colonial type
built of brick. Office, Elmwood and Wabash Avenues.
Deerhurst Park, E. W. Rogers, 357 Delaware Road.
Just outside the village limits on the north, and on the
east side of old Delaware Road is situated a purely residential
section where street traffic cannot disturb the residents. Here
only a short time ago stood an old landmark, the Atkinson
farm house and barns, which gave a quaint and rural aspect
to the locality. Now there are new driveways, shrubbery,
ornamental stone fences, unique designed homes set in open
spaces making one think of English rural districts. In a few
years this will be one of the beauty spots of Kenmore. Laid
out in the spring of 1924 there are already about twenty resi-
dences and others being built.
Henel Brothers, Englewood Avenue
This company began building operations in 1920 and up
to this time has built seventy-five houses in various parts of
the village. Many of these are in Westgate Avenue between
Delaware and Eugene Avenues. The Henel Brothers have
been long time residents of the town of Tonawanda and are
also milk dealers.
Murray Inc., Home Finders, 2860 Delaware Avenue
Frank I. Murray, president of the company came to Ken-
more in 1915 as a resident, and opened an office at the corner
of Parkside and Hertel Avenues, Buffalo. From that office he
helped to develop North Park, Colvin Park, and Park Gardens,
also selling a good many homes in Kenmore. The title "Home
Finder" was well earned and not an empty ostentation. On
October 1st, 1924, the offices of the company were moved to
2860 Delaware Avenue, Kenmore, from which location Mr.
Murray has had a large part in developing Lincoln, Victoria
and Courier Boulevards. Besides real estate the company does
a general brokerage and insurance business in all its branches.
Other contractors and builders are: Clark & Landers,
Clarence Kibby, Charles W. Hughes, Thomas H. & Arthur R.
Blair, Edward Bernd, Benjamin A. Keeney, Fred S. Matthew-
son, DeVer W. Northrup, Charles G. Ott, Henry C. Premus,
Stoddard & Quin, George Voas, Fred Lowitzer, and many
others listed in the Kenmore Official Directory.
Building in the village of Kenmore is showing great
activity. There are restricted sections where private homes
are selling within the reach of the average working man.
Kenmore is a small city of home owners.
TONA WANDA TOWN BOARD, MEETINGS, TUESDAY,
8 P. M., VILLAGE HALL
Matthew D. Young. Supervisor; Roscoe L. Rosser, Town
Clerk; Carlisle Cherry, Edward A. Jones, Robert Zimmerman,
Samuel Seitz, Justices of the Peace; Henry DeWitt, Highway
Elmer Mang, Chief of Police; Fred T. Hall, Building and
Plumbing Superintendent; Alfred Evans, Public Works Super-
intendent; Charles L. Lowell, Tax Receiver; Frank C. Moore,
Attorney; George C. Diehl, Engineer.
TOWNSHIP OF TONAWANDA
Erie County was erected by an act of legislation on the
2nd day of April 1821, comprising all the territory of the old
county (Niagara) lying south of the middle of Tonawanda
Creek. The Town of Tonawanda was set off from the town
of Buffalo on the 16th day of April 1836, and included the
present township and Grand Island. Grand Island was formed
into a separate town by the board of supervisors of Erie
County in October, 1852. The town of Tonawanda contains
about twenty-two square miles in Township 12, Range 8, Hol-
land Land Company's survey.
The first town meeting was held in the spring of 1837,
when the following officers w^ere elected: William Williams,
Supervisor; T. W. Williams, Tow^n Clerk; John T. Bush, Daniel
Smith and Mr. Forsdyck, Justices of the Peace; James Carney
and Jeremiah Phalin, Assessors; William Best and John Sim-
son, Commissioners of Highways.
J. B. Zimmerman a leading citizen of Kenmore was the
supervisor from 1888 to 1894. He died May 18th, 1894.
Among the prominent and active residents of the town
from 1836 and later were David R. Failing, Frederick Landel,
Frederick Pfanner, Philip Pirson, Levi Zimmerman, J. B. Zim-
merman, Martin J. Zimmerman and others whose descend-
ants are still active and reside in the township.
Conspicuous among the farms sub-divided for building-
purposes in the township is the Zimmerman property on Dela-
ware Road in location unsurpassed. The Zimmerman family-
have been prominently associated with affairs both in the
township and village of Kenmore for more than a hundred
years. A deed dated June 18th, 1813, was displayed in a
Kenmore real estate office in the spring of 1926 attesting this
fact and excited much curiosity. The following article from
a recent issue of the Buffalo Courier gives an account of this
The property which comprises 110 acres was conveyed to
Adam Zimmerman on June 18, 1813, and recorded in the office
of the clerk of Niagara county, of which Erie county was then
a part, in 1813. The property was deeded by Wilhelm Willink,
Hendrick Vollenhoven, Rutger Jan Schimmelpenninck, Wil-
hem Willink, the younger; Jan Willink, the younger; Jan
Gabriel Vanslaphorst, Cornells Vollenhoven, Hendrick Seye,
all of the city of Amsterdam, in the republic of Batavia, Hol-
land, through their attorney, Joseph Ellicott of Buffalo, whose
signature was witnessed by David Goodwin and James W.
The Zimmermans came to Buffalo from the Mohawk valley
by ox cart in 1794, about 150 years after the original Zimmer-
mans immigrated from Holland. About the time the Zim-
mermans arrived in western New York the Holland Land Com-
pany purchased from the Indians their rights pursuant to a
treaty which w^as made with representatives of the United
Adam Zimmerman, to whom the property known today as
Kinsey's Delaware Terrace East was deeded, was a man of
considerable note and had quite a reputation for keeping the
Indians straight. He became familiar with their language and
ofttimes acted as interpreter for the Seneca nation of
By the terms of Adam Zimmerman's will the property was
left to his son, William A. Zimmerman, who was survived by
the following children: Robert M. Zimmerman and Margaret
Zimmerman, who hold title to the property today; and the
late Hamilton, Oliver and Ida M. Zimmerman.
The first gas wells on the property were drilled by Oliver
Zimmerman about ten years ago, and today natural gas wells
on this property supply many of the factories and homes in
the town of Tonawanda.
Just a few years previous to the time Kinsey's Delaware
Terrace was deeded to Adam Zimmerman a sale was made
by taking some of the soil and handing it to the purchaser. If
the soil was accepted by the purchaser, the sale was com-
pleted. Another form was to pick up a twig from the ground.
The seller would take hold of one end and the purchaser would
take hold of the other, break the twig and create a contract
As time drew on, evidence of ownership was reduced to
writing and the heading on all deeds read "This Indenture."
The deed was torn or cut apart in a zigzag manner and onte
part given to the purchaser while the other was retained by
the seller. In case of a dispute, ownership was proven by
matching the two pieces.
The Adam Zimmerman deed was one of the first legal
papers to be recorded in the county clerk's office. The des-
"All That Certain Tract of Land, situate, lying and being
in the County of Niagara in the State of New York, Being part
or parcel of a certain township which on a map or survey or
divers tracts or townships of land of the said parties of the
first part, made for the proprietors by Joseph Ellicott, Sur-
veyor, is distinguished by Township Number Twelve in the
Eighth Range of said Townships and which said tract of land
on a certain other map or survey of said Townships into lots,
made for the said proprietors, .by the said Joseph Ellicott, is
distinguished by part of the Lot Number thirty-four in said
Township. Bounded east by part of Lot No. twenty-nine,
thirteen chains, seventy-six links, south by Land conveyed to
Peter Zimmerman by Deed of this date, seventy-nine chains,
twenty-one links, southwesterly by a road one chain, fifty
links wide, thirteen chains, eighty-one links, and north by a
line parallel with the north bounds of said land conveyed to
Peter Zimmerman, eighty chains, seventy-one links, contain-
ing 110 acres, be the same more or less according to the plan
laid down in the margin hereof."
The township of Tonawanda situate between the southerly
boundary of the city of Tonawanda and the northerly
boundary of the city of Buffalo, (ouf of which the village of
Kenmore has been taken) is one of the richest townships of its
size in the state. The large and prosperous industrial plants
along the Niagara river and Military Road account largely
for this fact. During the last fifteen or twenty years the old
farms have been sub-divided into building lots and are rapidly
becoming beautiful homesites. New boulevards and avenues
are built where once the cattle grazed. The beautiful spread-
ing elm trees that once marked the line fences between the
farms still grace the landscape. Through and across the town
run the new driveways Elmwood Avenue, Delaware Avenue,
Colvin Boulevard (the proposed Parker Boulevard to cost
S300,000, to connect Kenmore Avenue with Ellicott Creek
Road) Kenmore Avenue, (which is to be widened and made a
Boulevard connecting Main Street, Buffalo, with the Niagara
River) Sheridan Drive, and other cross town roads make all
this section accessible to the motorist, and the advantage is
taken by thousands of Buffalo and Niagara Falls people.
Sightseeing motor buses are to traverse all this beautiful
country. The Tonawanda Town Park on Sheridan Drive and
Two Mile Creek will add elegancy with pleasure to the town-
ship. Town Engineer Diehl has prepared a comprehensive
plan of house numbering for all the streets of the township by
which householders can secure a correct house number, a very
convenient and progressive step. Only a few farms remain
under cultivation, and these will soon give place to town lots.
With the passing of the older residents, who were the pioneers
in the development of township, will also pass from recollec-
tion the names of the old farms. It will be necessary to consult
the original maps to identify location and name.
The town of Tonawanda has been extremely fortunate in
its choice of Supervisors from its earliest history. By close
personal attention to the vital interests of the town and a pro-
gressive spirit they have kept pace with the growth of western
New York during the past one hundred years and have brought
the township to an enviable position in finance and modern
The list of Supervisors since the village of Kenmore was
incorporated within its limits is as follows:
John K. Patton was the Supervisor of the town of Tona-
wanda when the village of Kenmore was incorporated in 1889,
and John C. Webb, Town Clerk. Mr. Patton held the office
for eight years 1892 — 1899 and issued the notices from his
office relative to the incorporation of the village. His services
were indispensable in helping the infant municipality to stand
on its feet, and take the first steps toward greatness.
James Huff was the next incumbent and served for four
years 1900 — 1903. Mr. Huff also gave the village great aid
in its early corporate life. He worked harmoniously with the
village board in its relation with the town board, foreseeing
that the welfare of both town and village were inseparably
Lauren H. Hollister held the office of Supervisor eight years
1904 — 1911. He saw the town growing with the village in
importance during his administration, which was so satisfac-
tory that he was chosen by his townsmen as their leader for
four consecutive terms. The industrial features along the
frontier began to assume proportions which gave promise of
the present extent.
Dr. Robert A. Toms well known to many of the present
population both of the town and village was the Supervisor
for six years 1912 — 1917. During his three two-year terms
the rapid development of the township and increasing official
duties were very noticable. Political affairs were very exciting
during this period as a consequence. The exacting demands
and different view points of the inhabitants made his tenure
of office uncertain, but with those associated with him in the
management of town affairs, progress and economy were
Arthur R. Atkinson the present County Clerk of Erie
County who was inducted into that important office on January
1st, 1922, is a "native son" in every sense of the word. He
was born on the old Atkinson Farm where now is situated the
beautiful and growing Deerhurst Park. The old farm house
was a landmark for many years and the scene of many jovial
meetings enjoyed by the people of Delaware Road, before the
present Delaware Avenue was built. He grew up in intimate
acquaintance with the township and its people, also with the
village of Kenmore and its vital affairs. He was the popular
village president during 1919 — 1921 which office he relin-
quished to assume his present duties. Mr. Atkinson was the
Supervisor for two terms 1918 — 1921 and gave such an effec-
tive and popular administration as to attract attention in
the County Board of Supervisors which resulted in his nomina-
tion and election by a flattering majority as County Clerk.
Mr. Atkinson is an ardent Republican and was the first oflicial
elected by his friends and neighbors on a local Republican
straight ticket in Kenmore.
J. Fred Moore was the winner in a lively campaign for the
office of Supervisor in the fall of 1921 and filled the office for
two terms 1922 — 1925. It was during his administration that
the more recent and unprecedented development in the town-
ship took place. His able and conscientious service for the
town, and on the County Board of Supervisors won recognition
in his appointment to many important committees. The in-
terests of both town and village always received his close per-
sonal attention and untiring effort. The State authorities gave
him unstinted praise for accuracy in his accounts at the close
of his administration. The bronze tablet on the pedestal of
the Sheridan Monument will always associate his name with
the construction of that famous driveway. On the completion
of his term of office Mr. Moore with his wife took an extended
trip to California, Panama Canal Zone and South America.
Mr. Moore recently purchased the brick block at the corner of
Delaware and Warren Avenues and remodeled it for mer-
cantile and office purposes.
Matthew D. Young who served the village of Kenmore as
its President during 1912 — 1919 with great acceptability was
elected to the office of Supervisor of the town of Tonawanda
in the fall of 1925 and assumed office on January 1st, 1926.
His popularity was attested in a hard fought campaign. His
business-like methods, careful and painstaking inquiry into
all that relates to the welfare of the citizens is recognized by
everyone. The township will receive the same watchful care
in all matters affecting its growth and prosperity that charac-
terized his village administration. The present and wonder-
ful expansion of the town which is rapidly assuming the
appearance of a continuous village from north to south, and
east to west calls for intense concentration of thought, wise
action, and precise financial calculation. These things Mr.
Young is in every way capable of giving.
Among the industrial plants and manufacturing companies
on the River Road and Military Road there are the Wickwire
Spencer Steel Company; Semet Solvay Company; Acheson
Graphite Company; Buffalo Electric Chemical Company; Dun-
lop Tire & Rubber Company; Dupont-Rayon Company; Farrel
Foundry & Machine Company; Excelsior Steel Ball Company;
Flexlume Corporation; Wood & Brooks Company; Fowler
Nail Company; Rice & Adams Corporation; Eastern States
Manufacturing Company; Beaver Products Company; Jewett
Stove Company ; Lovering & Brother Company ; J. H. Williams
It is very probable that with the present activities on the
immediate Niagara Frontier, the proposed railroad bridge
across the Niagara River at Grand Island, and the settlement
of the new Avenues and Boulevards already constructed the
township of Tonawanda will have a population of fifty thous-
and people by the year 1950. This will be true in any event,
whether the township remains in its present political division,
becomes a part of the City of Kenmore, or becomes a part of
the Greater Buffalo municipality.
Just east of Delaware Avenue on Sheridan Drive is a pedes-
tal made of Woodbury, Vt., granite, erected to commemorate
the construction of that already celebrated driveway. The
pedestal is soon to be surmounted with an equestrian statue
of General Phil Sheridan. The monument has the following
dimensions in length, height, and width. Base 14 x 7-6 x 1-6;
second base, 11-4 x 5-0 x 1-2 ; die, 10-2 x 3-8 x 4-10 ; cap, 12-0 x
5.4 X 1-6. On either side of the pedestal is a bronze plate
bearing the following inscription:
Constructed for a Greater Niagara Frontier
Dedicated to Improved Highways Transportation
J. F. Moore, Supervisor
Elmer W. Johnson, Town Clerk
Edward A. Jones, Justice ^
F. B. Eberhardt, Justice
Samuel Seitz, Justice
Robert Zimmerman, Justice
Fred Ebling, Supt. of Highways
George C. Diehl, Engineer"