(navigation image)
Home American Libraries | Canadian Libraries | Universal Library | Community Texts | Project Gutenberg | Children's Library | Biodiversity Heritage Library | Additional Collections
Search: Advanced Search
Anonymous User (login or join us)
Upload
See other formats

Full text of "History of Kennebunk Port, from its first discovery by Bartholomew Gosnold, May 14, 1602, to A. D. 1837"

NYPL RESEARCH LIBRARIES 



3 3433 07954287 8 



gP^QElkMLU MAY 2 4 1990 



HISTORY 



OF 



KENNEBUNK PORT. 



FROM 



ITS FIKST DISCOVERT 



BY 



BARTHOLOMEW GOSNOLD, 



MAY 14, 1602, TO A. D. 1837. 



BY CHARLES BRADBURY. 



KENNEBUNK: 
PRINTED BY JAMES K. REMICH. 



1837. 



W/W WW WW WW WW WW. WV". WW WW WW WW WW VWVVW\ WW vww 

[copy of a vote of the town of kennebunk port.] 



KENNEBUNK PORT, APRIL 3, 1837. 

VoTED....That the Selectmen be authorized to subscribe 
for five hundred copies of Bradbury's History of Kennebunk- 
port, for distribution among the several Families, and draw on 
the Treasurer for the payment. 
A true copy — Attest, 

JOSHUA HERRICK, Town Clerk. 

www-vvwwwwvw%vvwwwwwwwwwwwwwwwwwwwww. 




3 u^^ 



PREFACE, 



Under a government like ours, where every man is re- 
quired to take a part in the administration of public affairs, 
either at the ballot box, or in the halls of legislation, it is of 
the utmost importance that all should possess some knowl- 
edge of the science of government. In order to this, the 
study of history is indispensably necessary. By observing 
the causes of the various changes from prosperity to adver- 
sity, from poverty to wealth, from order to anarchy, from 
freedom to despotism, and all the revolutions that are con- 
stantly in operation, we can profit by the wisdom, and take 
warning from the errors of our predecessors. As every 
one has a more direct agency in the management of town 
affairs, the history of his own town ought to become his 
first study. In attending to this, he necessarily becomes 
acquainted with the history of his own state and country, 
which ultimately leads him to the knowledge of the history 
of the whole world. It cannot, however, be expected that 
the history of a town of so little importance as Kennebunk- 
port, particularly while under the names of Cape-Porpoise 
and Arundel, can contain much matter of interest, even to 
its own inhabitants, much less to general readers. 

In treating upon the early history of the town, it is to be 
regretted that so little is known of the events and circumstan- 
ces connected with its first settlement, and of the troubles 
of the early inhabitants with the natives of the country. 
There is not a town in the state, perhaps in the union, the 
history of which cannot be more distinctly traced than that 
of Kennebunk-port ; and it is therefore impossible to give 
a topographical description of it, previous to the time from 
which the town records have been preserved, without in- 
corporating with it much of the general history of the 
state. 



4 PREFACE. 

The total loss or absence of town records for nearly a 
century after its first settlement, the poverty of its first in- 
habitants, the deficiency of enlightened men, with whose 
history that of the town would have become identical, and 
the entire want of traditional accounts, leave only the unfre- 
quent observations of early journalists, and the few scat- 
tered notices on the state and province records, from 
which to compile a history of the town. 

Having had occasion to search early records, many facts 
and incidents were noticed, which, although of themselves 
but of little consequence except what their remoteness 
gave them, the compiler of this work was induced to col- 
lect ; and, having presented 'them to his townsmen in a 
course of lectures, he was influenced by his friends, at a 
time of leisure," to extend his researches and prepare the 
work for publication. In undertaking the task, he was 
well aware that he could not be remunerated for his time 
and expenses, as the gross amount of sales of as large 
an edition as could reasonably be expected to be effected, 
even if written with much more talent than he can pretend 
to, would not give him a support during the time he was 
actually employed in collecting materials for the work. 
Believing, however, that no person qualified for the task 
would give the time necessary to the completion of so 
unprofitable an undertaking ; that many facts, which only 
remain in the memories of a few of the oldest inhabitants, 
would soon be lost if not immediately preserved ; and that 
several manuscripts, now shattered and almost illegible 
from time, would in all probability soon be destroyed ; he 
allowed himself to be persuaded to an employment, for 
which his previous occupation had not qualified him. 

As before remarked, the annals of a town like this, noted 
only for its want of note, can contain but little matter 
interesting to the public ; yet as it was an early settled and 
one of the first incorporated places in Maine, the few iso- 
lated, unimportant events here collected, were thought 
worth preserving. Such as they are, they are offered 
without an attempt to give them a fictitious value by 
aiming at embellishment, but only with a desire to repre- 



♦ PREFACE. 5 

sent them with accuracy : — " accuracy being the sine-qua- 
non in local histories ; and a history not accurate, is, in 
other words, no history."* 

As a native of the town, the writer would have been 
pleased to represent his predecessors as more enlightened, 
and of more consideration in the world, than a rigid 
adherence to truth would justify. While he disclaims, 
however, making them hold a more prominent place in 
society than facts would warrant, he also denies having 
withheld anything favorable to their reputation. 

Having himself, in reading history, found it difficult 
to carry the mind back after having made some considerable 
progress, he has attempted, even at the expense of connec- 
tion, to maintain a strict chronological arrangement. 

In proportion as a town is unimportant, is the labor 
of hunting up the trifling incidents which constitute its 
history. The compiler can therefore say, with the author 
of a much more valuable town history, that " the early 
records and documents in the offices of the secretaries of 
the commonwealth, and of the county, and the private 
papers of individuals, and various other scattered fragments 
of traditionary manuscript and printed history, have with 
great labor been consulted."! If the following pages, 
however, prove acceptable to his fellow citizens, or interest- 
ing to the rising generation, the writer will feel sufficiently 
compensated for his trouble. As he is not an author 
by profession, and will never appear in that character 
again, he asks the indulgence of the public, for the nu- 
merous faults of manner with which the production 
undoubtedly abounds. C. B. 

Kennebunk-port, > 
August 15, 1837. £ 

♦North American Review. tShattuck s Hist. Concord. 



HISTORY 

OF 

KEIVIVEBI7JVK PORT, 



CHAPTER I. 

Early voyages to North America....Voyages of Cabot, Corte- 
real, Verrazzana, and others....Gosnold discovers Cape 
Porpoise....Martin Pring and others visit the coast of Maine 
...John Smith surveys the coast and names Cape Porpoise.... 
Indian War....Epidemic....New England Patent....Laconia..« 
York settled....Lygonia Patent....Saco Patent....Cape Por- 
poise settled....Jenkins killed....Patent of New Somersetshire 
....Court at Saco....Lawsuit of Scadlock and Howell....Con- 
flicting Grants. 

In order to give color to their respective claims to 
portions of this country, each of the different European 
powers, claimed for its own subjects, the honour of first 
discovering North America. *It has been asserted 
that Biron, a Norman, accidentally discovered a coun- 
try, in the year 1001, which was afterwards called 
Winland, supposed to be a part of Newfoundland. 

f The Chronicles of Wales report, " that Madock, 
sonne of Owen Quinneth, Prince of Wales," came to 
North America in 1170. Jit is said the " Fryer of 
Lynn," by his knowledge of the black art came to this 
country, in 1360, and went to the North pole. 

§Keith says, that in 1484, Alonzo Sanches of Huel- 
va, in a small ship, with fifteen persons, was accident- 
ally driven on the American coast. Five only sur- 
vived, who on their return, landed on the Island of 

*BeIknap. Also Edinburgh Encyclopedia, 
ISmith's Hist. Virginia. {Ibid. 

§Thia statement is made upon the authority of De la Vega. See 
Mather's Magnalia, vol. i. p. 42. 



8 HISTORY OF [from 1497 

Tarcera, and died at the house of Christopher Colum- 
bus ; from whom he first obtained the information, 
which led to his voyage to America. 

The Royal Society of Northern Antiquaries, of Co- 
penhagen, (Denmark) are now publishing a volume of 
American Antiquities, of which they say, that the Ice- 
landic and other Scandinavian manuscripts, from 
which it is compiled, " comprise testimony the most 
authentic and irrefragable, to the fact, that North 
America was actually discovered by the Northmen 
towards the close of the tenth century, visited by 
them repeatedly during the eleventh and twelfth, 
(some of them settling there as colonists,) re-discovered 
towards the close of the thirteenth, and again repeated- 
ly resorted to in the course of the fourteenth ; and that 
the christian religion was established there, not only 
among the Scandinavian emigrants, but, in all proba- 
bility, likewise among other tribes previously, or, at 
all events, then seated in those regions."* 

These accounts, however, have heretofore been but 
little regarded, and it has been generally conceded that 
John Cabot, a Venitian, first discovered North Ameri- 
ca in 1497, five years after the discovery of the country 
by Columbus. 

Cabot, with his three sons, sailed on a voyage of 
discovery, by virtue of a grant from Henry VII. King 
of England, authorizing him to take possession of all 
countries of "the heathen and infidels," which had not 
been discovered by Europeans. He expected, by 
steering far North, to find a N. W. passage to India, 
but after sailing to the fifty-sixth degree of North 
latitude, and finding the land still extending north- 
ward, he returned, and landed near New Brunswick. 

In May, 1498, Sebastian Cabot, who had accompan- 
ied his father to America the year before, made a 
second voyage. It is said, without sufficient authority, 
however, that he sailed along the coast of the United 
States as far as Maryland or North Carolina. 

tGasper Cortereal, by order of the King of Portugal, 
made a voyage to North America in 1500. He carried 
home more than fifty Indians and sold them for slaves. 

*Prospectus of the work. tBancroft's Hist. U. S.. 



TO 1542.] KENNEBUNK PORT. 9 

Sebastian Cabot made a third voyage, in 150*2, and 
carried home three Newfoundland Indians and pre- 
sented them to Henry VII. It is said he made further 
discoveries, in 1514, of all the coast of America from 
Cape Florida to Newfoundland, and called the land 
Baccalaos.* 

Francis, King of France, in the year 1523, sent out 
Verrazzana, a Florentine, on discoveries. He came 
over in a vessel called the Dolphin, and discovered 
land in 1524 and claimed to have sailed along the 
whole coast of New England, and to have entered the 
harbor of New York.t 

In 1527, Henry VIII. of England sent two ships to 
make discoveries in the new world, one of which was 
cast away near Newfoundland, and the other arrived at 
St. Johns. The number of vessels visiting North 
America had considerably increased, and there were, 
at one time this season, twelve fishing vessels at New- 
foundland. 

James Cartier, a Frenchman, made a voyage in 
1534, from St. Malo to Newfoundland, and went far- 
ther North than Verrazzana. He made another 
voyage with three ships the year following, and a third 
in 1540. 

Henry VIII. sent out another expedition in 1536, 
under the command of Mr. Horn of London. They 
suffered so much from sickness and famine, that they 
were obliged to kill some of their company for food, 
and were only preserved from starvation by robbing a 
French vessel that arrived in the Bay of St. John. 

Francis, Lord of Roberval, made a voyage in 1542, 
and is supposed by some to have entered Massachusetts 
Bay.* 

Gold and silver being the object of the first adventur- 
ers, but little attention was paid to the discoveries in 
North America, by the English, after the death of 
Henry. They had their expectations so highly raised, 
that they could not content themselves with acquiring 
wealth by the comparatively slow process of traffic, 
and they sought eagerly for the precious metals in 
every part of the country that had been discovered. 

'Hackluit's voyages, t Bancroft, t Bancroft. 



10 niSTORY of [from 1542 

Having been disappointed in their hopes, they employ- 
ed the next thirty years in seeking for a North-east 
passage to India, while the Spanish, French and Portu- 
guese enjoyed exclusively the fishery of Newfoundland. 
They however commenced the fishing business in 1560, 
but did not carry it on to the same extent that the 
French did, who, in 1578, had one hundred and fifty 
sail employed. 

The English continued to turn their attention princi- 
pally to procuring gold, silver, and furs ; and large 
quantities of sassafras, which was thought to be a cer- 
tain cure for the plague, were also collected. *A great 
number of spiders being observed at Hudson's Bay, 
they loaded several vessels with earth in hopes of find- 
ing gold mixed with it, these animals being thought to 
abound in gold regions. On their arrival in England, 
fifteen other vessels were despatched for the same 
purpose. 

In 1576, Martin Frobisher, in the service of Eliz- 
abeth, made another attempt to find a North-west 
passage. He seized some of the natives and carried 
them orT. He made two other voyages in 1577 and 
]578. 

In 1583 Sir Humphrey Giibcrt made a voyage, 
also under the orders of Elizabeth. All the land he 
might discover was granted to him and his heirs forev- 
er, he giving to Elizabeth and her successors one fifth 
part of the gold and silver ore which should be found 
therein. He took possession of Newfoundland, and 
then sailed southerly, claiming the country as he passed 
along. On account of the total loss of his vessel and 
crew on their return, it is not certainly known how far 
he came southward, but it is supposed no farther than 
Nova Scotia.t The next year Elizabeth gave the 
same powers to the enterprising Sir Walter Raleigh, 
but he went further South and attempted to settle 
Virginia. 

In 1585, John Davis, with the Moonshine and two other 
vessels, under Gilbert's patent, went in search of a N. 
W. passage. He made two other voyages soon after. 

*Hackluit's Coll. Voyages. 

t Hutchinson's Hietory of the Colony of Massachusetts-Bay, 
page 1.— Also Sullivan, page 51. 



TO 1602.] KENXEBUXK. PORT. 11 

John White went to Virginia, under Raleigh in 1587, 
and George White in 1590. Several adventurers came 
over soon after ; — M. Ravillon in 1591, after oil and 
morse's teeth ; — Capt. Strong, in the Marygold, and 
George Drake in 1593 ; — the Grace, Capt. Wyet, in 
1594 ; — and the Hopewell, and Chancewell in 1597 ; 
the latter of which was cast away. In 1598 the 
Marquis de la Roche attempted to make a settle- 
ment on the Isle of Sable with a company of convicts. 

All voyagers had heretofore crossed the Atlantic 
by going to the Southward by the way of the Canaries 
and West Indies, and again steering Northwardly.* 
Bartholomew Gosnold, an English navigator, was the 
first person who deviated from the old route. He 
sailed from Falmouth, March 26th, 1602, with a com- 
pany of thirty-two persons, and steering as near West 
by compass as the wind would permit, made land 
May 14th, at or about the forty third degree of north 
latitude, which he called Mavoshen, it being the Indian 
name of the country. This was probably the first 
land discovered in that part of North America since 
called New England, for there is no evidence that 
either of the Cabots, Verrazzana, or Roberval ever 
visited this coast. There had been no journals of their 
voyages preserved, nor any description of the land giv- 
en, that would warrant the supposition that they visited 
this part of the country. 

The only accounts of the voyages of the Cabots, are, 
ta doubtful memorandum on the margin of a chart 
used by one of them during his voyage, and what some 
one, whose name is not known, related as coming from 
themselves. Historians do not even agree as to the 
person who made the discovery, nor as to the time 
when it was made. Some say it was John in 1496, | 
others that it was Sebastian in 1498,§ and others, that 
the latter discovered it as late as 1514. || The proba- 
bility, however, is that neither of them ever saw any part 

*See Williamson, vol. i. p. 185. Folsom, p. 10, Robertson and oth- 
ers, who say Gosnold was the first person who made a direct pas- 
sage across the Atlantic. In Ree's Cyclopedia, it is said, howev- 
er, that John Cabot, in 1493, " after sailing some weeks due 
West," discovered Newfoundland. 

tSullivan, p. 46. {Prince's Annals. § Bancroft, and Ree's Cyclop. 
IIHackluit. 



12 HISTORY OF [A. D. 1602. 

of New England, and that the claim was only set up by 
the English, in order to preclude that of the French, 
who pretended to have discovered it before GosnolcL 
Joselin says that in 1602, " the North part of Virginia 
i. e. New England was farther discovered by Capt. 
Gosnold, and some will have him to be the first dis- 
coverer." Hutchinson also says, " it is not certain that 
any European had been in New England before." 

It is not certainly known what part of the country 
Gosnold first saw, some supposing it was near Nahant 
and that he landed the next morning at Cape Cod,* 
and others thinking he discovered land near the Kenne- 
bec and landed on Cape Ann.t The probability, 
however, is that neither of these suppositions is correct, 
but that the land first discovered was either Cape 
Porpoise, or some other point of land in the neighbor- 
hood of Wells Bay. The following " Relation of 
Captain Gosnols Voyage, began the six and twentieth 
of March, 1602, as delivered by Gabriel Archer, a 
gentleman in said voyage," is taken from " Purchas 
his Pilgrims," a collection of voyages and travels. 
Gosnold had a company of " thirty persons, whereof 
eight mariners and sailors, twelve purposing upon the 
Discovery to return with the ship for England, the 
rest remain there for population." "The four- 
teenth (of May) about six in the morning, we discover- 
ed land that lay North, — the northerly point we called 
the Northland ; which to another rock upon the same 
lying twelve leagues west, that we called Savage Rock - % 
(because the savages first shewed themselves there) 
five leagues toward said rock is an out point of woodie 
ground, the trees thereof very high and straight, from 
the rock east north east. From the same rock came 
toward us a Biscay Shallop with sail and oars, having 
eight persons in it, whom we supposed at first to be 

*Bancroft's Hist. U. S., and Thacher's Hist. Plymouth. 

tHubbard in his History of New England, says " Capt. Gosnold, 
possibly more by the guidance of Providence than any special art 
acquired of man, on the 14th of May, (1G02,) made land in lat. of 
43 deg. where he was presently welcomed by eight Salvages in one 
of their Shallops, — he weighed anchor and stood to the southward, 
and next morning landed in Cape Ann." See also Williamson 
vol.i. p. 164. 



A. D. 1602.] KENNEBUNK PCRT. 13 

christians distressed. But approaching us neere, wee 
perceived them to be savages. These coming within 
call, hayled us, and wee answered them after signs of 
peace, and a long speech by one of them made, they 
came boldly aboard us, being all naked saving about 
their shoulders certaine loose deer skins and neere their 
wastes seale skins tied fast like to Irish Demmie trow- 
sers. One that seemed to be their commander wore a 
wastecoat of black work, a pair of breeches, cloth 
stockings, shoose, hat and band, and one or two more 
had a few things made by some christians. These 
with a piece of chalk, described the coasts there abouts 
and could name Placentia of the New-found-land, they 
spake divers christian words, and seemed to understand 
much more than we for want of language could com- 
prehend. These people are in colour swart, their hair 
is long up tyed with a knot in the part of behind the 
head. They paint their bodies which are strong and 
well proportioned. These much desired our longer 
stay, but finding ourselves short of our purposed place, 
wee set sail westwards leaving them and their coast. 
About sixteen 4 leagues S. W. from thence, wee perceiv- 
ed in that course two small islands, the one lying east 
from savage rock, the other to the southwards of it, 
the coast we left was full of goodly woods, faire plains, 
with little green round hills above the cliffs appearing 
unto us, which are indifferently raised, but all rockie, 
and of shining stones, which might have persuaded us a 
longer stay there. 

11 The fifteenth day we had again sight of land 
which made ahead being as we tho't an island by rea- 
son of a large sound that appeared westward, between 
it and the mayne, for coming to the west end thereof, 
we did perceive a large opening, we called it *Shole- 
hope : neer this Cape we came to anchor in fifteen 
fadome, where we took great store of Cod fish, for 
which we altered the name and called it Cape Cod. 
Here we saw skulls of herrings, mackerels, and other 
small fish in great abundance. This is a low sandie 
shore, but without danger, also we came to anchor in 
sixteen fadome faire by the land in lat. 42 degrees. 

*Shoal Haven, or Harbor. 

B 



14 HISTORY OF [FROM 1602 

This Cape is well neer a mile broad and lieth north 
east by east."* 

From this account, there can be but little doubt that 
the Cape, to which Gosnold gave the name of Cape 
Cod, was the same one which now bears that name.t 
It is also nearly certain that the land first discovered, 
could not have been near Nahant, as a westerly course 
from that place would have carried the vessel on to the 
land in Boston Bay ; and they did not even sail along 
the shore, but directly from it, leaving the savages 
" and their coast." If they sailed in a direct line from 
Nahant to Cape Cod, which would have been in an 
easterly direction, there are no Islands corresponding 
with those described by Mr. Archer. On the other 
hand, they could not have been so far to the Eastward 
as Kennebec, as they could not have had time to run to 
Cape Cod, in their dull sailing craft ;| nor does the 
latitude given, abouk 43, agree with that part of the 
coast. Although the latitude of Cape Cod, as given by 
Gosnold, was nearly correct, yet but little dependence 
can be placed upon his observations, on account of the 
very imperfect nautical instruments then in use. Sub- 
sequent navigators however assert, that he uniformly 
marked places about half a degree too low,j| which, if 
correct, would make the latitude of the land first seen, 
correspond, very nearly, with that of Cape Porpoise. 
The supposition, founded on this agreement of latitude, 
that Cape Porpoise was Captain Gosnold's Northland, 
and the Savage Rock, which was judged to lay twelve 
leagues "West of it, was the Nubble, near Cape Ned- 
dock, which is surrounded at high water, is almost 
reduced to a certainty, by the description of the passage 
to Cape Cod. In leaving the coast in a South-west- 
erly direction, they must have passed near Boon Island, 
which is to the eastward of the Nubble, and in sight of 
the Isles of Shoals, which are to the southward of it, and 
which at a distance might be mistaken for a single Island. 

*Capt. Gosnold did not succeed in making a settlement. He 
continued, however, to visit North America every season, till 1607, 
■vvhen ho died in Virginia. 

tThacher*s [list. Plymouth, page 1. 

tThcv bad fifty days passage from Plymouth. 

|| Williamson, vol. i. p. 185. 



TO 1605.] KENNEBUNK PORT. 15 

The distance, too, from Cape Neddock to Cape Cod, is as 
great as they would have been likely to make in one day. 

Mr. Williamson, Belknap and several other writers 
have supposed that the Indians must have obtained 
their clothes from some fishermen, who had been ac- 
cidentally driven on the coast ; but from their knowl- 
edge of European languages, and their acquaintance 
with the harbors of Newfoundland, it is much more 
probable that they were eastern Indians making an 
excursion to the westward, as is still their practice. 

Some have thought that Gosnold's crew landed on 
the first discovered land, but from Mr. Archer's account 
of the voyage, it would appear that they did not. There 
may however be some doubt as to his meaning, for it 
would be natural to suppose, that after a long confine- 
ment on ship board, they would have availed them- 
selves of the first opportunity to visit the land. 

If Gosnold did not land in any part of Maine, its 
shores were certainly visited the following year [1603] 
by Martin Pring, who equipped two vessels, the Speed- 
well, a ship of fifty tons, with a crew of thirty men and 
boys ; and the Discoverer, a bark of twenty-six tons, 
carrying fourteen persons. He sailed from Milford 
Haven, April 10th, 1603, and made land June 7th, near 
Penobscot ; and afterwards sailed as far as the Piscata- 
qua. He went a short distance up Kennebunk river, 
" and found no people, but signs of fires where they 
had been." 

The next year [1604] De Monts visited the coast of 
Maine, and took possession of several places for the 
King of France. The year following [1605] George 
Weymouth was sent on a voyage of discovery, by Lord 
Arundel of Warder. He sailed up a beautiful river 
in latitude 43, 20, which is nearly the latitude of Ken- 
nebunk river. Belknap says, " in this latitude no part 
of the American coast lies except Cape Porpoise, 
where is only a boat harbour. The rivers nearest to 
it are on the South, Kennebunk, a tide river of no 
great extent, terminating in a brook ; and on the 
North, Saco, the navigation of which is obstructed by 
a bar at its mouth, and by a fall at the distance of six 
or seven miles from the sea. Neither of these could 
be the river described in Weymouth's Journal. His 



16 HISTORY OF [PROM 1007 

observation of the latitude, or the printed account of 
it, must have been erroneous."* 

On account of the reformation and civil wars in 
Europe, there were no vigorous exertions made to 
establish a colony in North America, till 1607, the 
year after James I. granted the North and South Vir- 
ginia patent, when Christopher Newport began the 
colony at Jamestown, and George Popham commenced 
a settlement at Kennebec. The North Virginia com- 
pany, which consisted of Lord John Popham, Chief 
Justice of England, the Earl of Arundel, Sir Ferdinan- 
do Gorges, and others, prepared two vessels, one of 
which was commanded by George Popham, and the 
other by Raleigh Gilbert, with one hundred and eight 
emigrants besides sailors, to form a settlement. They 
landed at the mouth of the Kennebec river, and called 
the settlement the Sagadahock colony, that being the 
Indian name of the river. Forty-five colonists remain- 
ed there during the winter ; but the weather being 
extremely cold, and having quarrelled with the Indians 
who had received them kindly, they returned the next 
season and the establishment was given up. The 
coast, however, was never deserted for any considerable 
time after this period. 

Gorges, who was one of the most active and enter- 
prising members of the North Virginia company, fitted 
out a vessel at his own expense, under the command of 
Richard Vines, to keep possession of the country 
against the French. Vines pursued this course several 
years, fishing and trading with the natives at Saco. 
Maine was also visited by many others for the purpose 
of traffic ; amongst whom were Samuel Argal, after- 
wards governor of South Virginia ; Sir George Somers, 
who gave his name to the Bermuda Islands ; and Ed- 
ward Harlow, who was the first to kidnap the Indians 
in New England and sell them for slaves. t This nefa- 
rious business was afterwards carried on to considerable 
extent, a great many Indians being carried to Malaga 
and sold. 

While the English were thus inactive, or provoking 
the enmity of the Indians, the French were conciliating 

*I.t was probably the Penobscot. tWillianason's Hist, Me. 



TO 1620.] KENNEBUNK PORT. 17 

them and making settlements to the eastward on land 
claimed by the English, which caused frequent skir- 
mishes between them. The French were, however, 
finally driven off in 1613. 

The celebrated John Smith, whose life was saved by 
Pocahontas six or seven years before, made a trading 
voyage to Maine in 1614. He prepared several boats 
to survey the coast from Penobscot to Cape Cod.* 
During this survey he visited Cape Porpoise, t to which 
he gave its present name, and Kennebunk river. He 
formed a map of the coast, and compiled a history of 
the country, which prince Charles, afterwards Charles 
I., called New England. • 

A most destructive war commenced the following 
year [1615] amongst the Indians, which lasted two or 
three years. Some of the western tribes had been 
treacherous towards the eastern Indians, which caused 
this war, in which the Bashaba or the chief, who resi- 
ded near Penobscot, was killed, and the western In- 
dians almost annihilated. 

Immediately after this war, the plague, as it was 
called, nearly depopulated the country of Indians, but 
did not affect the whites. This fatal disorder was by 
some thought to be the small pox, but by others the 
yellow fever. Richard Vines and others wintered at 
Saco river while this pestilence raged, not one of whom 
was affected by it. 

The New England patent was granted in 1620, which 

*Since the suppression of the monasteries in Spain, several manu- 
scripts have been found, which it is said prove conclusively, that 
the navigators of that country, not only visited the shores of New 
England, but surveyed the coast sometime previous to Captain 
Smith's survey. If such charts exist, they were probably prepar- 
ed prior to 1560, at the time when the English had deserted North 
America, and were seeking a North-east passage to India. 

tCapt. Smith probably gave the name of Cape Porpoise to that 
Cape in consequence of seeing a shoal of porpoises in its neighbor- 
hood. This fish, from its resemblance to the hog, is frequently 
called the sea-hog, or puffing-pig. The word was originally 
written porcus piscis, from the latin words, porcus — a hog, and 
piscis — a fish ; but at the time Capt. Smith named the Cape, ho 
spelt it Porkpiscis. The orthography of the word gradually 
changed to Porpisces, — Porpisse, — Porpesse,— Porpess, and, at the 
time of the incorporation of the town in 1653, to Porpus. It was 
first writton Porpoise, on the county records, in 1672. 
Bb 



IS" history of [feotot 1^62^ 

gave to Sir Ferdinando Gorges and thirty-nine others, 
power to appoint governors and other officers, to 
establish laws, and to administer justice; They had 
the exclusive right to trade and fish within their terri- 
tory, to import seven years free of duty, and to expel 
intruders. 

Hubbard, in his History of New England, in speak- 
ing of Cape Porpoise and several other places on the 
coast of Maine, says " no colony was ever settled in 
any of these places till the year 1620." If this be 
correct, which however is very doubtful, Cape Por- 
poise must have been settled either the summer before, 
or very early in the spring after Plymouth was first 
settled. As the first settlers in Maine were fishermen 
and traders, they would not have been likely to make a 
voyage to this- country before the middle of March, at 
which time the year then ended ;* and it is therefore 
probable, if this account be true, that they came over 
the previous summer. 

If not at this time, it is not positively known 
when this town was first settled. It was probably 
visited every summer by fishermen and traders, after its 
discovery by Gosnold in 1602. They built small huts 
for their summer residence, but usually returned to 
Europe in the winter. Folsom says, " the settlement 
on Cape Porpoise was probably made about the same 
time as at Winter Harbor. It presented great advan- 
tages for fishermen, many of whom made it a place of 
resort, and perhaps of abode, as early, probably, as 
any other point of the coast."f 

The most active members of the Plymouth corpora- 
tion, were Gorges and Mason. In order to form a 
government satisfactory to themselves, they obtained a 
grant of the Province of Laconia from the company. 
Laconia extended from the Kennebec to the Merri- 
mac, and was represented as a very flourishing 
country. JPermanent settlements were made at sev- 
eral places, but the voyagers to Laconia wantonly in- 
sulted the natives and burned entire forests. 

Francis West, Admiral of New England, attempted. 

*CMd Style. tHist. Saco and Biddetord. 

tWilliatnson's Hist. Maine, vol. i. p. 227.. 



TO 1623.] KENNEBUNK PORT. 19 

to prevent unlicensed persons from fishing and trading, 
in order to stop these evils ; but on his return to Eng- 
land, the mariners complained to Parliament of his 
attempts to restrain them in their rightful employ- 
ments, and requested an order to make the fishery 
entirely free. Gorges was called to the bar of the 
House, and ordered to deliver up his patent; but he 
made so able a defence, the King refused to recall it. 
These trials and difficulties, however, prevented the 
Council from prosecuting their designs. 

Gorges, notwithstanding these obstacles, determined 
to plant a colony at his own expense ; and he sent a 
company of emigrants to settle at Agamenticus or 
York. It is stated in Prince's Annals, that there were, 
at this time, several settlements in Maine ; and * Wil- 
liamson says, " as early as 1623, a permanent settle- 
ment was commenced at Saco," " and Vines, if not 

Oldham, in fact lived here" at that time. If, as Fol- 
som says, Cape Porpoise was settled as early as Win- 
ter Harbor, the settlement of this town might be dated 
as early as 1623 or '24. Folsom, however, date3 the 
settlement of Saco, six or seven years later. tMr. 
Williamson says, " upon the whole, I wish I had, in 
my History of Maine, put Saco down as settled in 
1624, instead of 1623, although I am still inclined to 
think 1623 may be correct. "| 

"Hist. Me. vol. i. page 227. 1 Manuscript letter. 

}The following extract from Judge Williamson's letter, to the 
Compiler, contains his reasons for coming to this conclusion : 

" Richard Vines visited Saco in 1(509, and 161C, passed the win 
ter 1616-17 at Winter Harbor, (1. Hist. Me. 206,216-17,226) 
Prince's Annals, page 139, says hither comes ' the expected ship 
Ann, July 1623/ John Farmer, in his Genealogies, says John 
Oldharn arrived in the ' ship Ann in July 1623,' lived, short peri- 
ods, at Plymouth, Nantasket, Cape Ann, and settled at Watertown, 
admitted freeman, May 1631, and represented the latter place in 
the first General Court, Mass. May 1634. He was killed, Aug. 
1636, by the Indians. (Winthrope's Journal, 103 ) 

" The earliest grant by the Council, including any part of 
Maine, was in 1622, to Gorges and Mason, extending from Mer- 
rimac to Kennebec. (Folsom, 25.) Gorges, in his History, cited 
by Folsom, p. 24, speaks of a settlement by Vines not far from Ag- 
amenticus, as commenced, even prior to 1623. As Gorges had 
Maine is view, and- Mason had New Hampshire, why is it not 
probable the former was promoting a settlement at Saco, and then, 



20 HISTORY OF [from 1629 

The Plymouth Company granted a patent, in 1629, 
to John Dye, Thomas Impe, Grace Harding, and 
John Roach, of London, of a tract of land forty miles 
square, extending from Cape Porpoise to Casco. 
They attempted to make a settlement under this 
patent, called the Lygonia patent, but failed. They 
came over in a vessel of sixty tons, called the Plough ; 
and, on account of their failure, this territory acquired 
the name of the Plough Patent. 

February 12th, the company also granted a patent 
to John Oldham and Richard Vines, of a tract of land 
four miles in breadth on the sea shore, and extending 
eight miles into the country, on the west side of Saco 
river. Vines took legal possession of this territory, 
June 25th, and several families that came over with 
him, settled near Little River within the limits of this 
town. 

This perhaps might be considered the first perma- 
nent settlement in the town, it being a matter of uncer- 
tainty whether any person ever resided here, through the 

at Agamenticus, while the latter was establishing one at Strawber- 
ry-bank, Portsmouth ?— both under the Charter or Grant of 1622. 

" Prince, page 134, after speaking of the settlement begun in 
1623, " at a place called Piscataquack,' adds, ' this year there are 
also some scattering beginnings made at Monhiggon and some 
other places by sundry others.' But ' about Piscataqua River, 
there seem not many other' (than the first) ' buildings erected, till 
after 1631." Ibid. Their attention was next probably turned to 
Saco and Agamenticus, inasmuch as Gorges and Mason were 
coadjutors. Capt. Robert Gorges, son of Sir Ferdinando, came 
over 1623. Emigrants probably came with him. 

" The Charter to Vines and Oldham, Feb. 12th, 1629, (new 
style, Feb. 1, 1630,) says Oldham, and ' others, his servants, have 
for these six years now last past lived in New England, — transport- 
ed thither and planted there divers persons;' — and said Oldham 
and Vines, &c. ' have undertaken at their own cost and charge, 
to transport fifty persons thither in the space of 7 years next ensu- 
ing, to plant and inhabit there,' (Folsom, p. 318,) and therefore the 
patent on the Saco was granted to them. 

" Now where were the divers persons planted, as mentioned in 
the preamble, if not at Saco ? Was not this the very place, which 
all the parties had in their eye, when the patent was obtained ? 
Where, on our shores, did Vines ever live except at Winter Har- 
bor ? Where had he resided between 1623 and 1630, if not there ? 
He was no small man, being a physician of skill. In a word, is it 
rota fair inference, deducible from facts, that the settlement at 
Saco was commenced as early as 1623 ?" 



TO 163*2] KCNNEBUNK PORT. 21 

winter, previous to this time. The settlement, howev- 
er, known as the Cape Porpus plantation or the village 
of Cape Porpus, was entirely Independent of that of 
Vines and Oldham ; and had no connection with that 
at Little River. The places where the fishermen cured 
their fish, were called fishing stages ; and Stage Island, 
which gives name to the eastern harbor of Cape Por- 
poise, was probably «o called on account of its being an 
early fishing stage. It was here, undoubtedly, that the 
first settlement was made, as they could more easily 
defend themselves against the attacks of the Indians, 
or more readily escape from them w lien on an island 
than when on the main land. The burying place on 
that island, now no longer distinguishable, was, more 
than a century ago, known as the " old burying 
ground," in contradistinction to the " new burying 
ground," now considered ancient, in front of Mr, 
Israel Stone's dwelling-house. 

The settlers probably were men of too little note to 
draw upon themselves other than the occasional notice 
of the writers of that period ; and the settlement slowly 
and silently made its way, without leaving any distinct 
traces of its commencement, or its first progress. It is 
not unreasonable to suppose that the settlement com- 
menced even earlier than that at Winter Harbor, for 
Winthrope speaks of Cape Porpoise as a well-known 
land mark, in 1630 ; and Savage, who transcribed YVin- 
thrope's Journal, remarks, upon what is said relative 
to Jenkins's murder, that " perhaps the settlement of 
that portion of Maine, which is now called Arundel, 
would not be known to have been made so early, 
[1632] without this sentence of our text." 

During the time of these attempts to increase the 
number of settlements in Lygonia, the whites, in their 
intercourse with the natives, were guilty of great in- 
justice, making immense profits out of them. This 
course exceedingly irritated the Indians, and they 
began to show signs of hostility. They murdered 
some whites who had cheated them, and the whites 
retaliated. At this time *" One Jenkins, late an inhab- 
itant at Dorchester, and now removed to Cape Por» 

•Winthrope. 



22 HISTORY OF [from 1632 

pus, went with an Indian up into the country with 
store of goods to truck, and being asleep in a wigwam 
with one of Passaconamy's men, was killed in the 
night by an Indian dwelling near the Mohawk 
country, who made away with his goods, but was 
fetched back by Passaconamy's company." — Savage 
says, " nothing more of Jenkins is known to me than 
here inserted, of the manner of his death." 

Although so many people were emigrating to Amer- 
ica, that the King ordered the vessels to stop, yet on 
account of the troubles with the Indians and the diffi- 
culty of procuring bread stuff, there being no mills 
nearer than Boston, the population of Lygonia in- 
creased but slowly. The English merchants and adven- 
turers [*1634] being discouraged by their repeated fail- 
ures and troubles, assigned their whole interest to 
Gorges and Mason, who appointed Francis Williams 
their deputy governor. 

Sir Ferdinando, being again assailed with the charge 
of monopoly of trade, stated to the House of Commons 
that he had spent <£20,000, and thirty years of his life, 
in endeavoring to people New England, without any 
advantage to himself. In fact his discouragements had 
been great, and his prospects at this time were ex- 
tremely gloomy. His agents were unfaithful, the 
French were encroaching upon his possessions, and a 
civil war had commenced in England. 

The Council of Plymouth, [1635] in order to give a 
new impulse to their settlements, resigned their patent, 
which they had held for fifteen years, and took new 
ones. Gorges took a patent of his territory, in- 
cluding Lygonia, Saco, and Agamenticus or York, 
and changed its name to New Somersetshire. He 
was then appointed Governor General over the whole 
of New England. The man-of-war, that was to bring 
him over, met with an accident in launching, and the 
enterprise was given up. Mason soon afterwards died, 
which threw upon Gorges increased trouble and ex- 
pense. He however sent over his nephew, William 
Gorges, as Governor, who commenced his duties at 

*By an act of the government of Massachusetts, passed in 1734, 
musket balls passed for farthings. 



TO 1636] KENNEBUNK PORT. 23 

Saco, [1636] and remained in this country two years. 
Saco was one of the oldest and most flourishing places 
in New Somersetshire, having been well regulated for 
several years. Gorges opened a Court, March 18th, 
it being the first organized government in Maine. At 
this Court, William Scadlock brought an action of 
debt against Morgan Howell. Both of these persons 
were inhabitants of Cape Porpoise. Scadlock was 
also presented for getting drunk. 

There was no part of America to which there were 
so many conflicting claims, grounded on different 
grants from European powers, as to that portion in 
which Cape Porpoise is included. In 1493, it was 
granted by the Pope, in common with the whole coun- 
try, to the Kings of Spain and Portugal. Henry VII. 
of England granted it to Cabot in 1495. Francis, 
King of France, claimed the northern part of America 
under the name of New France, and sent Verrazzana 
to take possession of it. In 1583, Elizabeth conveyed 
it to Sir Humphrey Gilbert ; and the year following to 
Sir Walter Raleigh. It was called Arcadia by Henry 
IV. of France, and was granted to De Monts in 1603. 

All these grants, however, were considered nugatory, 
and James I. of England, in 1606, granted the country 
from the 34th to the 45th degree of North latitude to 
English merchants, under the name of North and 
South Virginia. In 1620, the country from the 40th to 
the 48th degree of North latitude was granted to forty 
noblemen knights, and gentlemen, who were denomina- 
ted, " The Council established at Plymouth in the 
County of Devon, for planting, ruling and governing 
New England in America." This Council, in 162*2, 
granted to Gorges and Mason, two of its members, all 
the country between the Kennebec and Merrimac 
rivers, which they called the Province of Laconia. 
They also granted to John Dye and others, in 1630, a 
tract of land forty miles square, bounded on the West 
by Cape Porpoise, called Lygonia. This grant was 
transferred to Sir Alexander Rigby. 

The Council likewise granted to Vines and Oldham, 
four miles on the West side of Saco river. This pa- 
tent was sold to Dr. Robert Child, in 1645, who con- 
veyed it to John Beex <fc Co. London, and • was 



24 HISTORY OF [from 1636 

afterwards purchased by Major Phillips. In 1635, the 
Council of Plymouth divided their territory into twelve 
divisions. The third and fourth divisions, between 
the Kennebec and Piscataqua rivers, were granted to 
Gorges, by the name of New Somersetshire. This 
charter was revoked, and Charles I. granted the same 
extent of territory again to Gorges, and named it the 
" Province or County of Maine." In 1644, the colony 
of Massachusetts Bay claimed Maine and Lygonia as 
being included in their patent, and, in 1692, the charter 
of William and Mary placed them under that govern- 
ment. 

There were probably other grants by European 
powers, besides many from different Indians of this 
territory, which involved the early settlers in constant 
litigation. 



CHAPTER II. 



Pequot war....M aine....New-Somersetshire....General Court...* 
William Scadlock presented.... West India business com- 
mences....Rigby....Maine and Lygonia divided. ... Sir Ferdi- 
nando Gorges....Court of Assistants....Massachusetts claims 
Maine.. .Cape Porpus submits.. ..Is incorporated July 5th.... 
Howell prosecutes Baker....Road located.... Persons not 
church members allowed to vote....Commissioners appoint- 
ed to take a census....Edward Rigby and Gorges's heirs claim 
Lygonia....Dispute between Wells and Cape Porpoise.... 
Kennebunk river the dividing line....Line between Saco and 
Cape Porpoise run....Town meeting. 

One of the Pequot Indians, in 1637, murdered John 
Oldham, a patentee of Saco, which caused a war, in 
which the whole tribe was destroyed. The colonies, 
however, had now begun to prosper, and religious 
persecution in England caused many to emigrate. 
Oliver Cromwell intended to embark for this country 
but was stopped by orders of the King. 

Sir Ferdinando Gorges was again appointed Govern- 



TO 1641.] KENNEBUNK PORT. 25 

or General of New England, but being a royalist, he 
lost his influence and never came to this country. 
He obtained from the King, however, a charter of 
New Somersetshire, who gave it the name of the 
" Province or County of Maine," a name which it has 
ever since borne. By reason of the great number of 
islands in this neighborhood, the coast was commonly 
called the main ; for this reason, and in compliment 
to Queen Henrietta who had a province of that name 
in France, it received its name. 

The powers granted by this charter were greater 
than were ever granted by the crown to any other 
individual. He appointed a standing Council, Chan- 
cellor, Provost Marshall, Treasurer, Admiral, Master 
of Ordnance, and Keeper of Province seal, who were 
obliged to take oath " to be faithful servants to Sir 
Ferdinando Gorges, knight, my Lord of the Province 
of Maine." The articles of faith and form of church 
government were those of the Church of England. 

The first General Court under this charter, was 
opened on the 35th of June, 1640, and the records of 
the County of York have been kept regularly ever 
since. 

Thomas Gorges arrived in the summer, commission- 
ed Deputy Governor, and took possession of the Prov- 
ince. It was divided into two districts or counties by 
the " Kennibonke" river ; the western one acquired 
the name of York, and the eastern one that of New 
Somersetshire. County courts were holden at York 
and Saco, but the General Court was holden at Saco, 
on the western side of the river, in that part of the 
town since called Biddeford. The second term of the 
court was holden in September, at which time " Wil- 
liam Scadlock was presented by the grand inquest, 
for the misdemeanor of allowing Thomas Heard to 
get drunk at his house, and was fined twenty shillings 
by the court, which upon his humble petition was 
remitted." 

The Commons in England [1641] had now gained 
the ascendency, and emigration entirely ceased. Busi- 
ness became dull, and many returned to England. 
The West India trade, however, commenced this year, 
and lumber was exchanged for the produce of these 
islands. C 



26 HISTORY OF [from 1643 

The success of republicanism in England caused 
the proprietors of the Lygonia or Plough patent to revive 
their claim, [1643] and Sir Alexander Rigby pur- 
chased it. Rigby was a lawyer, and a republican. 
He commissioned George Cleaves his Deputy Presi- 
dent, and directed him to take upon himself the 
administration of his afTairs. William and Thomas 
Gorges, agents for Sir Ferdinando, disputed Rigby's 
title, and called a court at Saco,* [1644] while Cleaves 
called one at Casco. They referred their quarrel to 
the Massachusetts magistrates, who, having determined 
to take possession of Maine themselves, refused to 
decide the case. The contest was not ended till 
March 1646, when the Governor General and Commis- 
sioners of the American plantations decided in favor of 
Rigby. By this decision Gorges was deprived of near- 
ly the whole of his province, leaving him only the 
territory between the Piscataqua river and Cape Por- 
pus plantation, f to which Maine was restricted. 

Sir Ferdinando had probably done more towards 
colonizing Maine than any other individual. He was a 
firm royalist and episcopalian, which made him unpop- 
ular in Massachusetts, and also in England after the 
republicans had gained the ascendency. 

Although more than seventy years of age, he joined 
the army of the King in the civil wars, and was taken 
prisoner at the siege of Bristol. He died about two 
years before Charles was beheaded. He was of Span- 
ish extraction, a descendant of an ancient and 
respectable family. He betrayed the secret of the 
conspiracy of Essex against Queen Elizabeth. He 
was never wealthy, but obtained many marks of royal 
favor. 

The Province of Maine was less in extent than Ly- 
gonia, as confined by the late decision. Rigby being 
a republican, his government soon became popular. A 

*At this court, " ordered that every town provide a sufficient 
payre of Bilbowes within three months." 

t Williamson, vol. i. page 302, saj's," according to this decision, 
the river Kennebunk proved to be the divisional line between the 
two provinces." But there was nothing in their report, a6 cited by 
Sullivan, page 114, to warrant this conclusion. They merely a- 
warded Rigby a tract 40 miles square, without defining the limits. 



TO 1653.] KENNEBUNK PORT. 27 

Court of Assistants was formed at Saco, [1650] and 
Morgan Howell of Cape Porpus was one of the assist- 
ants? Sir Alexander Rig-by died in August much 
reo-retted. He was a colonel in the army, had a seat 
in Parliament, and had been knighted. 

After Rigby's death, [1651] Massachusetts most 
unjustly laid claim to the western part of Maine, as be- 
longing to her jurisdiction, and sent commissioners to 
compel the inhabitants to submit to her authority. Al- 
though their claim was at first opposed both by Lygo- 
nia and Maine, yet they finally prevailed, and York 
and Kittery submitted in November 1652. Maine was 
erected into a county by the name of Yorkshire, and 
the courts were to be holden alternately in York and 
Kittery. 

Richard Bellingham, deputy governor of Massachu- 
setts, Thomas Wiggins, Brian Pendleton, Daniel 
Dennison, and Edward Rawson were appointed com- 
missioners the year following. They could get no 
farther than Wells for want of a suitable road, and 
they there apened their court. The inhabitants of 
Wells and Saco signed the submission July 5th, as 
did also those of Cape Porpoise, which was the fifth 
incorporated town in Maine. 

" At a Court held in Wells, 5th July, 1653, the in- 
habitants of Cape Porpus were called and made their 
appearance according to their summons and acknowl- 
edged themselves subject to the government of Mas- 
sachusetts as followeth, 

" We whose names are underwritten do acknowl- 
edge ourselves subject to the government of Massa- 
chusetts, as witness our hands. 

Morgan Howell, Stephen Batson, 

Christopher Spurrell, Gregory Jeffries, 
Thomas Warner, Peter Turbat, 

Griffin Mountague, John Cole, 

John Baker, Simon Teoft, 

William Renolds, Ambrose Berry. 

"To these abovementioned also the commissioners 
granted they should be freemen, and in open court 
gave them the freeman's oath. And further, — 
Whereas the town of Cape Porpus, have acknowl- 
edged themselves subject to the Government of the 



28 HISTORY OF [a. d. 1653. 

Massachusetts Bay in New England, as by their sub- 
scription may appear, — We the commissioners of the 
general court of the Massachusetts for the settling of 
government among them and the rest within the 
bounds of their charter, northerly, to the full and just 
extent of their line, have thought meet and do actu- 
ally grant, 

" 1. That Cape Porpus shall be a township by itself 
and always shall be a part of Yorkshire, and shall 
enjoy equal protection, acts of favor and justice, with 
the rest of the people inhabiting on the south side of 
the river Piscataqua or any other within the limits of 
our jurisdiction, and enjoy the privileges of a town, as 
others of the jurisdiction have and do enjoy, with all 
other liberties and privileges granted to other inhabit- 
ants in our jurisdiction. 

" 2. That every inhabitant shall have and enjoy all 
their just proprieties, titles and interests in the houses 
and lands which they do possess, whither by grant of 
the towns, possession, or of the former general court. 

" 3. That all the present inhabitants of Cape Porpus 
shall be freemen of the country, and having taken the 
oath of freemen, shall have liberty to give their votes 
for the election of the governour, assistants and other 
general officers of the country. 

" Morgan Howell of Cape Porpus, did acknowledge 
himself bound in fifty pounds to the treasurer of the 
county on this condition, that he will prosecute his 
action against John Baker, at the next county court 
to be holden at York. Griffin Montague was chosen 
and sworn constable there. Gregory Jeffery was 
chosen a grand juryman there for one year and took 
the oath accordingly."* 

The commissioners also ordered that, " the inhabit- 
ants of Wells, Saco and Cape Porpus, shall make 
sufficient highways within their towns from house to 
house, and clear and fit for foot and cart, before the 
next county court, under the penalty of ten pounds for 
every town's defect in this particular, and that they lay 
out a sufficient highway for horse and foot between 
towns and towns within that time." 

Commissioners report. 



A. D. 1653.] KENNEBUNK PORT. 29 

The cause between Morgan Howell and John Baker 
was of a singular character. " It was continued and 
referred to be determined by the next county court in 
Yorkshire. John Baker did acknowledge himself 
bound in twenty pounds to Richard Russel, gent, 
treasurer of the Massachusetts jurisdiction, on this 
condition that he shall appear before the next county 
court in Yorkshire, to answer the said action or com- 
plaint against Morgan Howell. Several articles were 
exhibited against John Baker for abusive and approbri- 
ous speeches uttered by him against the minister and 
ministry, and for upholding private meetings and 
prophecying to the hindrance and disturbance of pub- 
lick assemblings, some of which being proved against 
him, he tendered voluntarily to desist from prophecy- 
ing publickly any more. The court proceeded to cen- 
sure him to be bound to his good behavior, and forbad 
him any more publickly to preach in this jurisdic- 
tion."* 

In Massachusetts, church members only were allow- 
ed to vote, but the inhabitants of Yorkshire enjoyed 
that privilege without being so. Other laws were en- 
joyed in common, and were similar to those now in 
force. The militia were required to do duty six times 
a year, part of them to be armed with muskets, and 
part with pikes, corslets, and head-pieces. 

Commissioners were appointed by the General Court 
to take a census of the ratable polls, and an estimate 
of taxable property ; and Griffin Montague of Cape 
Porpoise was appointed one of the commissioners. 
The whole tax of the county was <£91 15, of which 
Cape Porpoise paid £4, and in 1662, but <£3. The 
towns to the eastward of Saco, did not willingly submit 
to the jurisdiction of Massachusetts. Military compa- 
nies were formed in Kittery, York, Wells, and Cape 
Porpoise, to force them to obedience ; and the whole 
was formed into a regiment commanded by Nicholas 
Shapleigh. They, however, soon became reconciled 
to the government of Massachusetts ; and several of 
the inhabitants of Cape Porpoise and the other towns. 

*Sullivan 6ays the commissioners dissolved the church connex- 
ion at Cape Porpoise. He made a mistake, however, as it was lh& 
church in Wells, and not in Cape Porpoise. 
C c 



30 HISTORY OF [a. d. 1660. 

petitioned Cromwell to continue them under that gov- 
ernment.* Great exertions were made by Edward 
Rigby, son of Sir Alexander, who had considerabfe 
influence with the Protector, to regain possession of Ly- 
gonia. He might have succeeded, but Charles Second 
was restored, [1660] who was opposed to his claim. 
The King, however, favored the claim of Ferdinando 
Gorges, grandson to Sir Ferdinando, and a committee 
of Parliament reported in his favor. Gorges sent over 
an agent, Mr. Archdale, with commissioners to govern 
the Province. They succeeded in drawing several 
from their allegiance to Massachusetts, who were sub- 
sequently presented by the grand jury for the offence. t 

Cape Porpoise, although an incorporated town, was, 
on account of its limited population and wealth, consid- 
ered but little more than an adjunct to Saco. The 
court, when appointing militia officers to the company 
of Saco, ordered the inhabitants of this town to "join 
in their traynings ;" and Robert Booth was appointed 
clerk of the writs, or town clerk of both towns. It is 
doubtful whether they even held town meetings regu- 
larly at this time, or raised money for any public pur- 
pose except to pay their small proportion of the county 
tax. From the following proceedings at the county 
court, it would appear, that they did not provide for 
the maintenance of roads, of public worship, or other 
requisitions of law. 

" Whereas complaynt is made of a very bad way 
lying between Cape Porpus and Kennebunk ; — It is 
therefore ordered that some speedy course bee taken 
for the sufficient making good of said highway next to 
Kennebunk river." 

"Whereas both god's word, and the laws of the 
country do require a constant assembling of people 
togeather on every Lord's day, to attend upon his wor- 
ship ; to which end a convenient house and competent 
means are to bee provided for those who dispense the 

*Tbe inhabitants of Cape Porpus, who signed the petition, were 
Win Scadlock, Wm. Renolds, Morgan Howell, Edvv. Clark, 
Gregory JefTery, John Barret, sen. and Griffin Montague. 

iSullivan says William Hilton of Arundel was fined ; but Hilton 
was at that time, constable of the town of Kittery, and never re- 
sided in Cape Porpus. 



A. I). 1(360.] KENNEBUNK PORT. 31 

word of grace amongst them. — This court, taking these 
things into consideration, in reference to the present 
condition of Sacoe and Cape Porpus, of which they 
have intelligence, do give them to know that Major 
Nicholas Shapleigh is desired whenever opportunity 
serves, to inquire into the case, and unless these things 
between themselves bee sett in a good way before his 
comeing thither, that hee will bee obliged to settle 
matters effectually amongst them." 

Neither this threat, nor the appearance of Major 
Shapleigh, produced any effect upon the inhabitants of 
this town, for they were probably wholly unable to 
make suitable provision for a settled minister. A short 
time after, the matter was again taken up by the court, 
and the following order passed. "The court being In- 
formed, (unto whom lit was not altogeather unknowne) 
that the inhabitants of Cape Porpus are destitute of 
any publique means for their edification on the Lord's 
day, the further continuance whereof if not prevented 
may in a short tyme bee an Inlett to great Profaynesse ; 
— It is therefore ordered henceforth, that the said in- 
habitants shall from tyme to tyme meete togeather att 
the house of John Bush, who, as wee are informed, is 
willing to exercise unto them, whereby the Lord's day 
may bee sanctified in hearing and reading the word of 
god, and other holy exercises : — Otherwise they are 
required duly to attend the publique meeting at Sacoe 
every Lord's day when the unseasonablenesse of the 
weather, or other occasions of absolute necessity doth 
not restrayne." 

Most of the inhabitants chose to go to Saco ; and 
some of whom, thinking they had a right to have a 
voice in the management of the affairs of the church, 
gave offence to several citizens of that town ; which 
was probably the cause of the offensive words attribu- 
ted to Francis Small in the following presentment of 
the grand jury. " Wee present Fran. Small, who 
speaking of the men that came from Cape Porpus to 
Sacoe, — sayd, should they be ruled by the Roges that 
come out of the rocks of Cape Porpus. 

" Noe Legall proofe of this presentment appeared.'' 

About the same time, the town was complained of 
for not " having a payre of stocks, cage and couckin 



32 HISTORY OF [a. d. 1660. 

stool, according to law," and shortly after for not hav- 
ing a pound, and not " making good the country ways 
for horse and foot within their township." 

Besides these troubles with the county, the town had a 
dispute with Wells, as to the ownership and right of ju- 
risdiction, to the territory between Cape Porpus or 
Mousani river and Kennebunk river. Wells claimed to 
Kennebunk, and Cape Porpoise claimed to Mousam 
river. There had been several conflicting grants of parts 
of this land. In 1641, George Cleaves, agent for Rigby, 
deeded the tract of land now known as the great hill 
farm, to John Wakefield and John Littlefield, through 
whom it is now holden. If it had not belonged to Lygo- 
nia, Cleaves would have had no right to convey it, as he 
acted for the proprietor of that Province, the limits of 
which did not extend beyond the plantation of Cape 
Porpoise. To have made Mousam river the dividing 
line, would have been a more equal division of towns ; 
although Cape Porpoise would then have been the 
smallest, — only about six miles in breadth, while Wells 
and Saco would have each been eight ; but to take 
Kennebunk river, Cape Porpoise would be only four 
miles wide, and Wells at least ten. Besides, if Lvgonia 
had been bounded by Kennebunk river on the west, the 
proprietors would not have had their full distance, 
forty miles on the sea-coast ; — and even to Mousani 
river would have been insufficient. Some did actually 
contend, that the river to the westward of Mousani 
river, called Little river, was the western limits of The 
town. It would seem too, that the river, bearing the 
name of the plantation, must have been the true boun- 
dary of the Province. ***■ But Cape Porpoise being 
•held by grants under Rigby, who by his patent claimed 
the powers of civil government, had not much respect 
paid to the title of lands within it ;" and William Gor- 
ges, as agent for Sir Ferdinando, in 1643, appointed 
Henry Boad, John Wheelwright, and Edward Rich- 
worth, commissioners to lay out the township of W'ells, 
extending from the Ogunquett or Ogunkigg river to 
Kennebunk river. lie also deeded lands the next year, 
to Mr. Wheelwright, extending to Kennebunk river, 

*Sullivan. 



A. D. 16G0.] KENNEBUNK PORT. 83 

which was the origin of Wells. The government of 
Gorges had in fact, as early as 1640, made Kennebunk 
river the dividing line between the east and west dis- 
tricts, which were afterwards designated as Yorkshire 
and Somersetshire. Persons living between Kenne- 
bunk and Piscataqua, attended the courts at York, and 
those between Kennebunk and Sagadahock, at Saco. 
These proceedings of Gorges, however, could not take 
away the right of Cape Porpoise to the territory in dis- 
pute, if it ever belonged to Lygonia, as he at this time 
denied Rigby's right to any part of the Province. If 
Rigby's territory ever extended to Cape Porpoise river, 
the decision of the Earl of Warwick and the other 
commissioners appointed to settle the dispute between 
Gorges and Rigby, in 1646, must have rendered the 
acts of Gorges null and void, as it confirmed to Rigby 
his original grant of forty miles square. 

It is highly probable, that the inhabitants living in 
the disputed district, considered themselves within the 
patent of Rigby, after this decision, till the agreement 
between the committees of Wells and Cape Porpoise. 

Edmund Littlefield, in making his will in 1661, 
speaks of his farm on the east side of Mousam river, as 
being " specified in two deeds granted by Mr. George 
Cleaves, agent of Mr. Rigby, which is now come into 
the government of Mr. Gorges, proprietor of the Prov- 
ince of Maine." 

Wells probably claimed the tract in dispute, because 
Kennebunk river had been the dividing line of the 
counties, and the town had been laid out, extending to 
this river ; and perhaps these were the reasons why the 
commissioners of Cape Porpoise yielded the point at 
issue so readily ; but their decision gave great offence 
to the citizens of Cape Porpoise, who attributed their 
compliance to less worthy motives than that of con- 
viction. 

To settle this controversy, [1660] the towns chose 
commissioners, who met at the mouth of Kennebunk 
river, near the wading place, probably at the house of 
William Reynolds the ferryman, who kept a public 
house on the eastern side of the river. Being detained 
several days by a violent storm, or some other cause, 
and their expenses amounting to a considerable sum 



34 HISTORY of [from 1660 

for the poor town of Cape Porpoise to pay, the com- 
missioners of Wells proposed to those of Cape Por- 
poise, that, if they would consent to call Kennebunk 
river the dividing line, the town of Wells would pay all 
their expenses at the public house. The Cape Por- 
poise commissioners, either being intoxicated, or, as 
themselves said, thinking their town would not be able 
or willing to pay their bills, accepted the proposition, 
and made out the following agreement, which was en- 
tered on the Massachusetts and York county Records. 
" We whose names are underwritten, being chosen 
by the towns of Cape Porpus and Wells for the laying 
out of the dividing line of each town, do mutually agree, 
that the river Kennebunk shall be the bounds of Cape 
Porpus and Wells to the uttermost extent of both 
towns, being eight miles up into the country : Witness 
our hands the 10th of May, 1660. 
Edmund Littlefield, Wm. Scadlock, 
William Harmon, Morgan Howell." 

The inhabitants of Saco had petitioned the General 
Court, for a committee to run the line between that 
town and Cape Porpoise ; and Nicholas Shapleigh, 
Abraham Preble, and Edward Richworth, were ap- 
pointed, who made the following report : " That the 
dividing line between Cape Porpus and Saco shall be 
the river commonly called the Little river, next unto 
William Scadlock's now dwelling house unto the first 
fall of the said river, and from thence upon a "direct 
northwest line into the country, untill eight miles be 
expired." 

Many of the inhabitants of Cape Porpoise, as well as 
those from other towns, were constantly engaged in 
petty law suits, at every term of the judicial courts 
held in the county. In order to put a stop to this busi- 
ness, or to save them the trouble and expense of trav- 
elling, the following order was passed, at a court held 
in York in 1663.* 

" Our Assistante whom Cape Porpus shall chuse, to- 
geather with the Selectmen thereof, shall have power to 
keepe a Commission Court as high as =£10." 

*Jurors were allowed 3s. a day for their services, and the same 
sum for a day's travel. From Cape Porpus to York was called 
two and a half day's travel. 



TO 1063.] KEXNEBUNK PORT. 35 

At the same term the following; additional order was 
passed, extending the same privilege to Saco and 
Wells. 

" It is hereby ordered, that any one of the Associ- 
ates of this county which the towns shall chuse, joyn- 
ing with the town commissioners of "Wells and Sacoe, 
and with the townsmen of Cape Porpus, shall have full 
power to keepe a Comission, or Comission Court there- 
in from tyme to tyme, as they shall see cause, for the 
Tryall of actions as high as ,£10." 

Several of the inhabitants of the town having con- 
flicting claims to the marshes at the eastern part of the 
town, a town meeting was called, August 26th, 16G3, 
" for the preventing strife." " That peace and quiet- 
ness might be maintained," they divided the marsh 
amongst the claimants, and entered their doings on the 
county records. At this meeting, John Sanders and 
Griffin Montague were made free commoners or pro- 
prietors. The following persons only attended the 
meeting. 

Seth Fletcher, John Sanders, John Sanders, jr. Fran- 
cis Littlefield, sen., John Bush, Peter Turbatt, John 
Cirmihill, Griffin Montague, William Rind all, Thomas 
Mussell, William Renalds, and William Renalds,jr. 



36 HISTORY OF [from 1664 



CHAPTER III. 

Massachusetts required to give up Maine... .King's commis- 
sioners.. ..Anecdotes of Cape Porpoise... Avalanche....The 
people superstitious....Bigotry.... Persecution.... Character of 
the people of Maine....Presentments....Gorgcs's claim re- 
newed.... Philip's war.. ...Massachusetts buys Maine-Govern- 
ed as a Province.... Danlbrth President.. ..New Road....Dan- 
forth's deed....Andros Royal Governor....Cape Porpoise 
placed under Saco.... Paper money.. ..Two families taken 
prisoners.... Indian war... .The inhabitants flee to the fort.... 
Besieged by the Jndians....Town deserted. ...Town records 
lost....Inhabitants return....Second Indian war....Town de- 
populated....Families killed and taken prisoners... .Peace.... 
Town re-settled. 

Charles II. disliking the puritans of New England, 
granted [1064] Gorges an order to the Governor and 
Council of Massachusetts, requiring them to give up 
the Province of Maine, or else assign their reasons for 
withholding it. A long contest between the King and 
Massachusetts was the consequence of this order, and 
Gorges sent over an agent [1065] to take possession of 
the government. Royal commissioners, however, soon 
took possession of the Province, and ended the author- 
ity of Gorges, which was never afterwards resumed. 
The commissioners organized a government, and ap- 
pointed civil and military officers. Richard Hitchcox 
and John Lazer were appointed officers of the compa- 
ny at Cape Porpoise and Saco. During the French 
war of 1666, and till 1668, Maine continued under the 
government organized by the Ring's commission- 
ers, but their affairs were in great confusion, when 
it again became subject to Massachusetts. " Cape 
Porpoise joyned with Sacoe," in choosing commission- 
ers. 

At this time [1668] says *Joscelin, " at Cape Por- 
poise, where there is a town by the sea side of the 
same name, the houses scatteringly built, n "they 

*Joscelin's Voyages. 



TO 1670.] KENNEBUNK PORT. 37 

have store of salt and fresh marsh, with arable land and 
are " well stockt with cattle." 

The same writer relates the following anecdotes of 
this town and neighborhood. 

" July 17th, there was a whale thrown up on the shore 
between Winter Harbour and Cape Porpus, about eight 
miles from the *place where I lived, that was five and 
fifty feet long." 

" At Cape Porpus lived an honest poor planter of 
middle age, and strong of body, but so extremely troub- 
led with two lumps (or wens as I conjectured) within 
him, on each side one, that he could not rest for them 
day or night, being of great weight, and swagging to 
the one side or the other, according to the motion or 
posture of the body ; at last he died in Anno 1668, as 
I think, or thereabouts. Some Chirurgeons there were 
that proffered to open him, but his wife would not as- 
sent to it, so as his case was hidden in the grave." 

He likewise [1670] relates that, " at a place called 
Kennebunk which is in the province of Maine not far 
from the river side, a piece of clay ground was thrown 
up by a mineral vapour (as was supposed) over the tops 
of high oaks that grew between it and the river, stop- 
ping the course thereof, and leaving a hole forty yards 
square, wherein were thousands of clay bullets as big 
as musquet bullets, and pieces of clay in shape like the 
barrel of a musquet." 

tHubbard says, " divers reports have passed up and 
down the country of several ominous accidents happen- 
ing, as of earthquakes in some places, and vollies of 
shot heard in the air, but because many that lived not 
far off those places where the said accidents were sup- 
posed to fall out, know nothing thereof, no more notice 
shall here be taken of the same than a bare hint of the 
report. But at a place called Kennebunk, at the north- 
east side of Wells, in the province of Maine, not far 
from the river side, &c." — He then mentions the same 
circumstance, with the exception of the pieces of clay 
shaped like the barrels of muskets ; and adds that, " all 
the whole town of Wells, are witnesses of the truth of 
this relation, and many others have seen sundry of these 

*Blackpoint. tHist. N. England. 



38 HISTORY OF [a. d. 1670- 

clay pellets, which the inhabitants have shewn to their 
neighbours of other towns. This accident fell out in the 
year 1670. Others have confidently reported also, that 
they have seen the eruption of a pond of water far up 
into the woods, and many fish cast up upon the dry 
land adjoining, supposed to be done by the kindling 
of some mineral vapours under the hollow channels, 
running far within the land under ground. All which 
show the wonderful work of God, that commandeth 
both the sea and the dry land, that all the inhabitants of 
the earth should learn to fear before him." 

*Bourne says it was an avalanche, the earth dividing 
when it passed the oaks ; and that the pellets of clay 
were formed by the sliding mass of earth. 

This slide was probably near the ship-yards at the 
Landing. There have been several of them since. 
Two were just below Durrell's bridge on the western 
side of the river. Full grown oaks were carried erect 
into the middle of the river, where their stumps now 
remain. Another happened, June 10th, 1834, in front 
of Benjamin Durrell's dwelling house, on the eastern 
side of the river, and carried the draw-bridge at that 
place away with it. The earth under the surface, 
being moistened by rains, or loosened by the frost, ap- 
peared to have been crushed out, by the weight of the 
bridge and the apple trees on the bank, into the middle 
of the river, filling up the channel. The surface of the 
ground, about thirty square rods, fell perpendicularly 
about twenty feet, carrying a large apple tree down, 
without immediate injury to it. The slide of 1670 was 
probably similar to this. The earth under the surface 
was driven out by the weight of the trees ; and the sur- 
face with the trees attached, was carried towards the 
river, leaving the " hole forty yards square" above the 
trees. The earth therefore, instead of being thrown 
over the oaks, went under them. 

The pellets of clay were formed in wonder brook, 
which was so called from the circumstance of their be- 
ing found there. The water of this brook, in running 
over clayey land, caused little falls of water of a foot 
or more, at the bottoms of which, by the constant falling 

*Ms,Hist. Kennebunk. 



A. D. 1670.] KEXXEBUXK PORT. 39 

of the water, holes of some little depth were worn sha- 
ped like a mortar. Small pieces of clay being carried 
into these hollows, were by the rotary action of the wa- 
ter, worn round and smooth ; and were baked in the 
sammer, by the sun, when the brook became dry. The 
clay formed like muskets might have been caused by 
the sliding of the avalanche. 

As the settlement in the town of Cape Porpoise was on 
the cape near the sea-shore, and there were no inhab- 
itants in that part of Wells since called Kennebunk, 
there could have been no persons living in the vicinity 
of the river to witness this slide ; and when it was af- 
terwards discovered, they connected with that event the 
appearance of the clay balls, and looked upon it as 
something very marvellous. 

The other " ominous accidents" related by Hubbard 
and others, would probably admit of as easy a solution 
as this circumstance, which he considered the best au- 
thenticated ; and about the correctness of which he 
thought there could be no question. 

Not only the people of this country, but those of Eu- 
rope at this time, were grossly superstitious. Any 
circumstance that did not admit of a ready explanation, 
was ascribed to supernatural agency. Hutchinson, in 
his History of Massachusetts Bay, says he " could col- 
lect from manuscripts and printed accounts, as many 
prodigies in one part of the country and another at differ- 
ent times as would fill a small volume. Guns fired in the 
air, great quantities of clay cast up in form of bullets 
out of the earth, and the like." The most enlight- 
ened men of that period gave implicit credit to these 
tales. The appearance of comets in 1664, 1680, and 
in 1682, threw the whole country into a state of alarm. 
" When in our skies there blaz'd an awful star, 
Presaging earthquakes and a general war." 

It was confidently believed that the Indian powows 
or priests possessed supernatural powers from the dev- 
il. Passaconaway, a great sagamore who lived on the 
]\Ierrimac river, and whose dominions probably extend- 
ed to Cape Porpoise, was the most celebrated powow 
in the country. It was credited that he could make 
water burn, rocks move, trees dance, change himself 
into a flaming man, raise a green leaf from the ashes 



40 HISTORY OF [a. d. 1670. 

of a dry one, produce a live snake from the skin of a 
dead one, heal sickness, and cause death by the power 
of his incantations. It was considered heresy to doubt 
the correctness of the witch stories current at that time ; 
and afterwards many were executed for the crime of 
witchcraft.* 

Superstition and bigotry are almost always insepar- 
able companions. Although leaving England because 
their own faith was not there tolerated, the inhabitants 
of Massachusetts refused to tolerate the slightest depar- 
ture from their own creed ; and themselves the victims 
of persecution, most inconsistently persecuted all who 
differed from them in their religious views. A divine of 
Massachusetts said, " what is contrary to the gospel 
hath no right, and therefore should have no liberty." 
Another one said, " toleration is the first born of all 
abominations." Another remarked, that " he who is 
willing to tolerate an unsound doctrine, that his own 
may be tolerated, though never so sound, would, if need 
be, hang the bible to the devil's girdle. I abhor tolera- 
tion of clivers religions." Mr. Dudley, deputy governor 
of Massachusetts, died with a copy of verses in his 
pocket containing the following lines. 

" Let men of God in court and churches watch, 
O'er such as do a toleration hatch." 

In 1658 the persecution of the quakers commenced. 
They were fined, imprisoned, kept at hard labor, ban- 
ished, whipped through towns at the tails of carts, had 
their ears cut off, their tongues bored through with hot 
irons, and several suffered death. About the same time 
the f baptists were also persecuted. Some were disfran- 
chised, and others were fined, whipt, imprisoned or 
banished. 

The inhabitants of Maine, not having been driven 
from home on account of their nonconformity to the 
established religion of England, but emigrating merely 
for the purpose of gain, did not value their religious 

*Mather'a Magnalia, vol i. p. 188. 

tin the preamble to a law, passed in 1644, for banishing baptists • 
it is stated that ever « since the first arising of the anabaptists, 
about 100 years since," they have been very disorderly.— Mass 
Records. J 



A. D. 1670.] KENNEBUNK PORT. 41 

privileges so highly as the people of Massachusetts ; 
and this province, therefore, was frequently an asylum 
for those who had been excommunicated. The Rev. 
John Wheelwright, a learned and pious man, was ban- 
ished the colony of Massachusetts Bay for the heresy 
of believing that " the Holy Spirit dwells personally in 
a justified convert ; and sanctification can in no wise 
evince to believers their justification." In 1643, he 
bought land on the west side of Kennebunk river, which 
was then within the limits of Cape Porpoise plantation. 
William Waldron, excommunicated from the church in 
Dover then under Massachusetts, was drowned, Sep- 
tember, 1646, in crossing Kennebunk river. 

The opinion generally prevailed, that Maine was 
peopled by those who were too immoral and irreligious 
to be allowed to remain in other colonies ; and it used 
to be tauntingly said; — " When a man can find no reli- 
gion to his taste, let him remove to Maine."* The 
colony being first settled under the patronage of Gorges, 
its early inhabitants were royalists and episcopalians, 
and were opposed to the republican puritans of the wes- 
tern colonies. It, therefore, not only protected those 
who were banished from Massachusetts, on account of 
what were called their dangerous heresies, but it be- 
came a place of refuge for the immoral and licentious. 

Although the population was considerably increased 
by this state of things, yet it tended to make the people 
disorderly and corrupt. The early records furnish suf- 
ficient evidence, that the prevailing opinion, as to the 
state of morals in this province, was but too well 
grounded. At every term of the judicial courts, under 
the head of each town, the grand jury prepared a list 
of presentments for various offences ; — such as idleness, 
lying, slander, drunkenness, sabbath-breaking, profani- 
ty, theft, &c. Many of these presentments, it is true, 
were for venial offences, but many were for crimes of 
greater magnitude. The jury being changed every 
year, gave those who had been presented by their 
neighbor, an opportunity to complain of him in their 
turn, which was not forgotten when he again became 
a juror ; making this institution an engine of mutual op- 

* Williamson. 



42 HISTORY OF [from 1670 

pression. The laws however were very severe, taking 
cognizance of offences,, that had better been left to the 
correction of public sentiment. 

The following are the presentments, with the orders 
thereon, against this town during the years 1674 and '75- 
" Whereas there is a complaint of the town of 
Cape Porpus for their neglect hitherto in laying out 
their town bounds : — It is therefore ordered that the 
selectmen of the said place now in being shall take 
some effectual measures to have their town bounds 
layd out between this tyme and the next county court." 
" Wee present Cape Porpus for liveing without an 
Orthodox Minister. John Batson appearing for the 
town, answered for the presentment, which was dis- 
charged." 

" Wee present the freemen of Cape Porpus, for not 
sending in their voates for nomination of Magistrates 
and assistants to the shyre town according to law." 

" Wee present the selectmen of Cape Porpus for not 
taking care that the children and youth of that town 
bee taught the catechisme, and educated according to 
law." 

" Wee present the town of Cape Porpus for not ma- 
king a convenient way for travelers through the town." 
The court likewise ordered that "the towns of Wells, 
Sacoe, Scarborough, and Falmouth shall forthwith 
marke out the most convenient way from Wells to Henry 
Sayward's mills at Mousam, from thence to Sacoe 
Falls," &c. " - 

From 1670 to 1675, Maine continued in a flourish- 
ing state, increasing rapidly in wealth and population. 
The increase of value of property in Yorkshire, caused 
Gorges to renew his claim to the province. This claim, 
together with the war between Philip of Naraganset and 
the United Colonies, interrupted their prosperity. To 
defray the expenses of this war, a general tax was for 
the first time assessed in Maine.* The number of sol- 
diers in Yorkshire amounted to 700, of whom, 80 
belonged to Wells and Cape Porpus. After this first In- 
dian war, Massachusetts purchased Gorges's claim to 

"Williamson. — There was a county tax in 1C53, towards build- 
ing a jail in York, which was established there that year. 



TO 1682.] KENNEBUNK PORT. 43 

Maine, for about six thousand dollars. Charles the sec- 
ond was greatly displeased with them for making the 
purchase, he being in treaty for it himself; but they 
refused to relinquish their bargain. 

The General Court [1G79] concluded to assume the 
royal charter of Gorges, and govern Maine as a prov- 
ince. Accordingly they appointed a Board of Assistants, 
of which Thomas Danforth was President. The roy- 
alists and episcopalians were dissatisfied with this form 
of government, as it deprived them of the right of send- 
ing representatives to the General Court ; and they 
complained to the *King of their heavy taxes. [1680] 
The King appointed Edward Randolph, collector, sur- 
veyor, and searcher of New England, who, by his 
representations, greatly increased their troubles. 

President Danforth, however, continued to administer 
the government, and called a meeting of freeholders at 
York ; at which no one from Cape Porpoise appeared. 
The soldiers of the town, were placed under the offi- 
cers of the Saco company. At a subsequent meeting, 
several of the inhabitants of the province, submitted to 
the government of Massachusetts, amongst whom were 
JohnBatson, John Miller, and Thomas Mussey. John 
Batson was appointed constable of the town. 

A new road [1681] was ordered to be made through 
Wells, Cape Porpoise, and Saco. The towns of Saco 
and Cape Porpoise were "Injoyned, from the begin- 
ing of yr. bounds from Kenibunke River, to make a 
good passable way through Kenibunke swampe, for 
horse and man, and mend the flows, and marke out and 
Mend the nearest way they can conveniently find for a 
Common Roade, to the ferry of Humphrey Scammon 
at Sacoe." Cape Porpoise complied with this order, 
only so far as to discontinue or neglect the old road, 
without finishing the new one ; and were complained 
of [1682] " for want of a convenient highway to travell 
eastward, stopping up the ould highway that people 
cannot pass." At the same court, Wells and Cape 
Porpoise were presented for not having a ferry over 

"The inhabitants of Cape Porpoise who signed this petition to 
the King, (Charles II.) were Thomas Mussy, John Batson, John 
Purrinton, Christopher Spurwell, and John Barret. 



44 HISTORY OF [from 1683 

Kennebunk river, and the latter for want of standard 
measures. 

John Batson was chosen by the town, deputy to the 
General Assembly at York, in 1683, and also the fol- 
lowing year. 

President Danforth's government continued till June 
18th, 1684, when the charter of Massachusetts was 
seized, and Col. Kirk was appointed Governor of New 
England. By an agreement with the inhabitants of 
this town, made in 1681, President Danforth was to 
give them a deed of the town. It was however delayed 
till July 26th, of this year. — The following is a copy of 
the deed. 

" This indenture made the 26th day of July Anno 
Domini 1684, and in the 36th year of the reign of our 
Sovereign Lord, Charles the 2d. by the Grace of God, 
of England, Scotland, France, and Ireland, King, De- 
fender of the Faith, &c. Between Thomas Danforth, 
Esq. President of his Majesties Province of Mayne in 
New England, on the one party, and John Barrett, sen. 
John Purrington, and John Batson, trustees on the be- 
half and for the sole use and benefit of the inhabitants 
of the Town of Cape Porpus within the above named 
province of Main, on the other party, — Witnesseth, 
That whereas the above named Thomas Danforth, by 
the Governour and Company of the Massachusetts Col- 
ony in New England, the now Lord proprietors of the 
abovenamed Province of Mayne, at a General Assem- 
bly held att Boston, on the 11th day of May 1681, is 
fully authorized and im powered to make legal confirma- 
tion, unto the inhabitants of the above said Province of 
Mayne, of all their lands or proprieties to them justly 
appertaining or belonging, within the limits or bounds 
of the said province. Now know all men by these 
presents, that the said Thomas Danforth, pursuant to 
the trust in him reposed, and power to him given as 
above said ; by and on the behalf of the Governour and 
Company of the Massachusetts Colony aforesaid, — Hath 
given, granted, and confirmed, and by these presents 
doth fully, clearly, and absolutely give, grant, and con- 
firm, unto the above mentioned John Barrett, sen. John 
Purrington, and John Batson, trustees as above exprest, 
— all that tract or parcell of land within the township of 



TO 1684.] KENNEBUNK PORT. 45 

Cape Porpus, in said province, according to the bounds 
and limitts of the sd. township, to them formerly grant- 
ed by Sir Ferdinando Gorges, Knight, or by any of his 
agents, or by the General Assembly of the Massachu- 
setts ; with all priviledges and appurtenances to the same 
appertaining, or in any wise belonging, (all royalties 
reserved to his Majestie's use by the charter granted to 
Sir Ferdinando Gorges, Knight ; as also those by said 
charter given to Sir Ferdinando Gorges, Knight, his 
heirs, and -assigns, together with the rivers, streams, 
and coves, contained within the limmitts and bounds of 
said township, always to be excepted and reserved,) 

" To have and to hold all the above said tract of land, 
by these presents granted and confirmed, be the same 
more or less, with all the priviledges and appurtenances 
to the same appertaining, or in any wise belonging, (ex- 
cepting as before excepted and reserved,) to them, the 
said John Barrett, sen. John Purrington, and John Bat- 
son, trustees as abovesaid, forever ; — to the only proper 
use and behoof of the inhabitants of said town, that 
now are, and to them that shall there survive and suc- 
ceed, from time to time, and forevermore hereafter. 

" Aja.d the above named Thomas Danforth, for and on 
behalf of the Governour and Company of the Massa- 
chusetts Colony, and for their successors and assigns, 
doth further covenant, promise, and grant, to and with 
the above named John Barrett, sen. John Purrington, 
and John Batson, shall and may at all times, and from 
time to time, forever hereafter, peaceably, and quietly, 
have, hold, occupie, possess, and enjoy all the above 
given and granted premises, without the let, denyall, 
or contradiction of the Governour and Company of the 
Massachusetts Colony, or of any other person or per- 
sons whatsoever, claiming and having any lawful rights, 
title, or interest therein, or in any part or parcell there- 
of, by, from, or under them, the said Governour and 
Company, or by any of their assigns ; — 

" They the above named inhabitants of the said town 
of Cape Porpus, for the time being, and in like manner, 
that shall there be from time to time forever hereafter ; 
yielding and paying in consideration thereof, to the 
Governour and Company of the Massachusetts Colony, 
or to the President of said Province of Mayne, by 



46 HISTORY OF [from 16S4 

them authorized, and impowered, for the time being, or 
to other, their agent and lawful assignee or assigns, the 
quit rent, to the said Government and Company, due 
and belonging, according to the proposall made, and 
mutually agreed upon at the General Assembly held in 
the above said Province, at York, June 1681 — Viz. 
That they the above named inhabitants of the said 
town of Cape Porpus, for the time being, and in like 
manner that shall there be, from time to time forever 
hereafter ; as an acknowledgement of the said Ferdi- 
nando Gorges', and his assigns' right to soyl and 
government, do pay twelve pence, for every family, 
whose single county rate is not above two shillings, and 
for all that exceed the sum of two shillings in a single 
rate, to pay three shillings per family, annually, in 
money, to the treasurer of said province, for the use of 
the chiefe proprietors thereof; and in case of omis- 
sion, or neglect, on the part and behalf of the said 
inhabitants, to make full payment annually, in man- 
ner as is above expressed, and hath been mutually 
consented and agreed unto ; it shall then be lawful for 
the said president of the said province for the time 
being, or for other, the agent, agents, assignee, or 
assignees of the Governour and Company of the Massa- 
chusetts Colony, to leavy and make distress upon the 
estates of any of the inhabitants, for the time being, 
within the limmits and bounds of the said township, as 
well as for the said quit rent, as also for all costs and 
charges accruing and arising upon the same ; and the 
estates so leveyed, or distrained, to bear, drive, or car- 
ry away, with so much as it shall cost to convey the 
same, to the treasurer of the said province, for the time 
being, or to such place as he shall order and appoint. 
In witness whereof the parties above mentioned, to these 
present indentures, have interchangeably putt their 
hands and seals, the day and year first above written. 
Thomas Danforth, Presd. 

" Signed, sealed and delivered in presence of us, 

John Hayward, Not. Pub. 

Eliezer Moody. 

" A true copy of the original, received November 9th, 
1731. Attest, Joseph Moody, Reg, 



TO 1685.] KENNEBUNK PORT. 47 

King Charles dying [1685] soon after the appoint- 
ment of Col. Kirk, it was annulled by his successor, 
James II. who commissioned Joseph Dudley, as pres- 
ident. Dudley's administration lasted but five months, 
when he was superseded by Sir Edmund Andros, who 
was appointed ' Captain General and Governor in 
Chief of all New England.' He assessed taxes in the 
county of Yorkshire, at the rate of half a penny for one 
pound valuation. The tax of Cape Porpoise, was 
<£l-00-10, and the valuation =£500 ; being the same as 
the Isles of Shoals. 

Andros, whose government was very tyrannical, com- 
pelled the inhabitants of Yorkshire to pay for new grants 
of land. During his visit into this province, he ordered 
the inhabitants of Cape Porpus, to put their roads in a 
better state of repair. This, as usual, they neglected, 
as appears by the following complaint. 

" We present the parish of Cape Porpus, for not 
having a sufficient highway, ordered by our governor, 
His Excellency, Sir Edmund Andros, within the limits 
of the parish." " The parish" was likewise complained 
of, for not having a pound and a pair of stocks. A 
road was at the same time ordered, from Wells to Saco 
falls. 

Although the province generally had much increased 
in wealth and population, yet Cape Porpoise continued 
poor and feeble. There was, at this time, but four 
mills* in town, which constituted nearly their whole 

*It is not certainly known where these mills were situated. It is 
probable that one of them was on Little river, one on Batson's riv- 
er, one on Tyler's brook, and the other on Middle river. Besides 
these four, there was one on Kennebur-k river, partly, if not whol- 
ly owned in Cape Porpus, which was probably Littlefield's mill ; 
although on the list of mills for the support of Fort Loyal, Fal- 
mouth, 1762, it was placed with those of Wells. Neither is it 
known when these mills were erected. By the following pream- 
ble to a grant of a mill privilege to John Wheelwright of Wells, in 
1650, it would seem that there were no mills in this vicinity at that 
period, and that what little lumber was used, was sawed by hand. 
" Considering how much easier boards could be sawed than by 
hand, and men that employ their time themselves in that might 
employ their time in husbandry, and how much it might benefit 
the country ,"&c. therefore the grant was made. 

There were mills, however, at Agamenlicus, and Piscataqua, 
as early as 1G34, as Winthrop says, Gorges and Mason sent persons 
with a saw mill to each of these places, at that time. 



48 HISTORY of [from 1688 

business. It had, however, heretofore kept up the ap- 
pearance of being a separate town, by choosing town 
officers, and keeping a record ; but it was now only 
spoken of as a parish. In assessing the county tax for 
this year, it was designated as " Cape Porpoise Ham- 
lett." 

It was probably one of the arbitrary acts of Andros, 
to destroy even the appearance of its independent exis- 
tence, by uniting it with Saco, or rather placing it 
under the jurisdiction of that town, as appears by the 
following extract from the Saco town records. 

" By a legal town meeting for Saco and Cape Por- 
poise, on Monday 21 May 1688, whereat Thomas 
Shepherd, Francis Backus, John Edgecomb, and John 
Abbot are chosen selectmen for Saco, and Richard 
Peard Constable for the same ; and John Miller, and 
Nicholas Morey,* selectmen of Cape Porpoise, and 
Richard Randall, constable for the same ; and it is or- 
dered, that if Cape Porpoise will not accept of the 
selectmen and constable, chosen by the town of Saco, 
then the selectmen in Saco, and constable for the same, 
shall act and do for them as selectmen and constable 
of the same." 

This union, or rather guardianship, at most, lasted 
but a few months. One of the selectmen, Morey, was 
recognized as such at the county courts, as was also 
Lieut. Purinton, who had not been elected at that time. 
It is probable that the inhabitants of Cape Porpoise 
held a meeting within their own township, and chose 
their own town officers, part of whom might have been 
the persons chosen by Saco. Fortunately a stray leaf 
of the Cape Porpoise records has been preserved, on 
which are recorded the doings of the town, eight months 
after this assumption of power on the part of Saco. 

" January 24th, 1688-9. Then chosen five select- 
men and constable, at a legal town meeting, legally 
warned by Order, for selectmen and other officers. 
For selectmen, Lieu. John Purinton, John Downing, 
John Miller, John Davis, Richard Randall. For con- 
stable, Immanuel Haynes. For town clerk, Lieu. 
John Purinton. For lott layers, and surveyors, Lieu. 

*As transcribed by Folsom, Nicholas Mering. This entry is 
now lost. 



TO 1689.] KENNEBUNK PORT. 49 

Purinton, Richard Randall, John Sanders, John Mil- 
ler, William Barton, Jacob Wormwood." 

Whether this town never regarded this order at all, 
or took advantage of the growing discontent in Eng- 
land and in this country, (which resulted in the 
abdication of James II. and the imprisonment of An- 
dros in Boston,) to resume the management of their 
own affairs ; or whether, by application to Andros who 
was in this town during that year, upon his unfortunate 
expedition against the eastern Indians, they obtained a 
repeal of the obnoxious law, is not known. Nor can 
this obscurity ever be elucidated, as the foregoing ex- 
tract from the Saco records, is the last entry on the 
old town book ; and there was no record kept again 
in that town, till 1717, a period of nearly thirty years. 
Neither are the records of Cape Porpoise to be found 
after the year 1689, till the reincorporation of the town 
in 1719. They were either lost, or discontinued, on 
account of the second Indian war, which wholly depop- 
ulated the town. Unfortunately, too, the only volume 
of the Massachusetts records missing, said to have been 
burnt, is the one in which the transactions of that peri- 
od are recorded ; and tradition is entirely silent upon 
the subject. The probability however is, that, as the 
town meeting held at Cape Porpoise in 1689,* was said 
to be " legally warned by order," the act uniting the 
two towns, had been repealed. 

The frequent changes of government, and the fear of 
the Indians, greatly retarded the growth of Maine. 
The inhabitants chose Councils of safety for their own 
protection, till President Danforth resumed his office. 
War was declared between France and England De- 
cember 7th, 1689, which increased the expenses of the 
colonists to such a degree, that Massachusetts issued 
bills of credit, which was the origin of paper money.t 

The year before this war was declared, Mr. Bussy, 
and Mr Barrow, with their families, had been taken 
prisoners, and carried to Teconnet.f Six hundred 

*John Downing, in 1725, testified, that in 1688, or 1689, there 
were grants made to the several inhabitants of the town, of 100 
acres each on Kennebunk river. 

tWilliamson's Hist, of Me. 

{Mather's Magnalia, vol. ii. p. 509. 

E 



50 HISTORY OP [a. d. 1690. 

troops were stationed at the different settlements in 
Maine, for their protection. Of this number, " a com- 
pany of men under the command of Lieut. Puddington, 
were stationed at the fort at Kennebunk."* 

The territory near Kennebunk river early took its 
name ; and events occurring in that neighborhood, were 
said to have happened at Kennebunk. Mr. Wheel- 
wright was said to live ' near Kennebunk,' the slide of 
1670, to happen ' at a place called Kennebunk,' and 
Bussy and Barrow to live ' in Kennebunk near Winter 
Harbour.' Mr Purinton and others, who lived at Ken- 
nebunk river, were always designated on the town 
records, as ' of Kennebunk.' 

The fort was on Stage Island, at Cape Porpoise, and 
was commanded by John Purinton, one of the select- 
men, and the town clerk of the town. After Gov. An- 
dros's return to Massachusetts, [1690] the troop sail de- 
serted, and when the Indians began to appear in greater 
numbers, the inhabitants of the cape withdrew to the 
fort, as the only place of safety in the town. Those 
who resided on the sea shore, between the cape and 
Kennebunk river, at Turbat's creek, Cleaves's cove, 
and at the mouth of the river, went to Wells. The in- 
habitants of the cape, who had retreated to the fort, 
were soon besieged by the Indians ; but being sheltered, 
by a stone wall, and there being no bushes, behind 
which the Indians could conceal themselves within gun- 
shot, they sustained no damage, and could securely fire 
upon their enemies whenever they approached within 
reach of their musket balls. The point of the island, 
on which the fort was built, being surrounded by deep 
water at all times, and the Indians stationing themselves 
at the narrow neck of land which leads to the main part 
of the island, between which and the main land the 
flats are bare at low water, the whites were completely 
shut out from every chance of escape ; having no 
boat but a small board canoe, capable of carrying but 
one man, one end of which was partly split off. The 
Indians, however, kept at a distance from the fort, with 
the intention of surprising them, or of starving them 
out. They had nothing but muskets in the fort, and 

*Mass. Hist. Soc. Coll. 



A. D. 1690.] KENNEBUNK PORT. 51 

but a small supply of ammunition. After having sus- 
tained the attacks of the Indians for some time, and 
being fearful of being surrounded, if they remained in the 
fort after their ammunition was expended, they withdrew 
to the southern point of the island, which being narrow, 
left them exposed only on one side. 

In this condition they remained exposed to the con- 
stant annoyance of their savage enemies, almost 
destitute of provisions, with no means of escape, and 
no expectation of any aid to relieve them from their 
critical situation ; and expecting nothing but captivity 
or death. Nicholas Morey, who was lame in conse- 
quence of having broken his leg, remarked to his 
friends, that if they remained where they were, they 
would certainly all be killed or taken prisoners ; and 
he offered to take the old canoe, and seek assistance. 
Accordingly, as soon as it was dark, he embarked, and 
by keeping at the whole end of his little boat, was ena- 
bled to keep the defective part out of water. 

Although it was a pleasant time of the year, there 
was but little chance of his reaching Portsmouth in safe- 
ty ; but with this forlorn hope, they continued to defend 
themselves the next day without provisions, till their 
last charge of ammunition was in their guns, and they 
even had to cut up their bullets to complete it. Night 
coming on, without provisions or ammunition, and be- 
ing closely besieged by a cruel blood-thirsty foe, their 
situation was indescribably trying. Slight as the pros- 
pect of relief was, they continued to look eagerly 
towards Portsmouth, when late in the afternoon, they 
discovered a small sloop, standing directly towards the 
cape. Mr. Morey had arrived in safety at Portsmouth, 
and returned with this unexpected assistance. When 
the sloop came into the harbor, the crew discharged a 
small swivel from her at the Indians, who immediately 
fled from the island. The inhabitants were taken on 
board the sloop, and did not return for ten years. 

*During this war, an attack was made on Storer's 
Garrison at Wells by 500 French and Indians, who 
were repulsed with great loss by Capt. Corverse and 
fifteen men. 

*Mather's Magnalia, vol. ii. p. 582. 



52 HISTORY OF [from 1691 

The celebrated charter of William and Mary receiv- 
ed the royal sanction October 7th, 1691, which was the 
foundation of civil government for eighty-nine years, 
and under which the connection between Massachusetts 
and Maine lasted one hundred and twenty-nine years. 
Sir William Phips was appointed royal governor under 
this charter. 

In consequence of the active measures of the colo- 
nists, the Indians were induced to make a treaty of 
peace, which, however, was soon after violated by them. 
Another truce was agreed upon, in 1695, and the in- 
habitants of Cape Porpoise began to make preparations 
for returning to their homes. 

Search was made for the town records without suc- 
cess. It being understood that they were amongst the 
effects of Lieut. Purinton, who was now dead, applica- 
tion was made to the county court for an order to have 
them returned. The court, in compliance with this 
request, passed the following order. " Whereas the 
Record or Town books of Cape Porpus are not to be 
found, for want whereof, several of the proprietors of 
land there are very like to come to damage. The 
Court being advised that they are in the hands of the 
administrators of John Puddington late of Cape Por- 
pus, hereby order his son James to send them to the 
next court." 

This order produced no effect, as the records were 
never found. The attempt to conclude a peace with 
the Indians proving unavailing, the inhabitants did not 
return till 1699. 

Scarcely had they repaired their decayed dwellings, 
fenced in their fields, now overrun with bushes, and be- 
gan to erect their mills, and enjoy their little remaining 
property in peace and safety, when the French again 
endeavored to excite the Indians to acts of hostility 
against the long harrassed colonists. 

War between England and France was declared, 
May 4th, 1702, which was sure to lead to an Indian 
war ; and the year following hostilities recommenced. 

Previous to this war, the French had succeeded in 
drawing the remains of the Indian tribes that survived 
the former wars, to two settlements in Canada, to which 
they could retreat, after assailing the English colonies. 



TO 1703.] KENNEBUNK PORT. 53 

These tribes formed what were called the St. Francoise 
Indians. 

Five hundred of them, mostly commanded by French- 
men, divided themselves into six or seven parties, and 
attacked all the principal settlements in Maine, August 
10th, 1703, and *' Cape Porpoise, being inhabited only 
by a few unshielded fishermen, was wholly laid deso- 
late.' How many of the inhabitants of this town were 
killed or taken prisoners, it is now impossible to ascer- 
tain ; but it is probable, that having so long been 
expecting an attack, most of them had made prepara- 
tions for escaping in their boats. Wells was assailed 
by a much larger force than attacked Cape Porpoise ; 
and the loss of the whites, was thirty-nine, killed and 
taken prisoners, besides a considerable number of 
wounded. Stephen Harding, then living on the west- 
ern side of the river, heard the firing at Wells, but 
supposed it was a company of soldiers exercising ; and 
he prepared the next morning to go a hunting. His 
wife was extremely uneasy, and endeavored to prevail 
upon him to stay at home. He assured her there was 
no danger ; but, fancying she had seen two men look- 
ing into their window the night before, she was too 
much frightened to cook breakfast. Impatient at what 
he thought his wife's ungrounded fears, he went towards 
his shop to wait till his breakfast was ready, when on 
Oaks's rocks, at the extremity of Gooch's beach, he des- 
cried a large number of men, women, and children 
coming directly towards his house. Mr. Harding, in 
his turn, now became alarmed, and told his wife to 
take her child, then about a year old, and carry it 
across Gooch's creek, and remain under a particular 
oak, till he could ascertain who these persons were. 
He was still in hopes they were not enemies, and that 
the females and children had taken the opportunity of 
visiting their friends, under the protection of the soldiers. 
He went into his shop, which was not boarded on the 
back side, and thumped on the side of it with an axe, 

*So little was Cape Porpoise regarded by the chroniclers of that 
period, that these few lines, from Penhallow's Indian Wars, is the 
only notice taken of the total destruction of the town. The tradi- 
tionary account of Mr Harding's escape, is abundantly supported 
by his numerous descendants, with but slight discrepancies. 
E E 



54 HISTORY OF [from 1703 

at the same time giving an Indian whoop. Immediate- 
ly four Indians started up from their hiding places, and 
rushed towards the shop, thinking it had but one door, 
and that they had made sure of their prisoner. Mr. 
Harding, however, escaped at the back part of his shop, 
into a field of corn, where within a few rods of his 
house, he found his wife, who from fright and faintness 
was unable to make her escape. He caught her under 
one arm, and the child under the other, and ran to- 
wards the creek. It being flood tide, it was with 
difficulty he forded it. He crossed it, however, and 
left his wife under an oak tree, till he could go back 
and ascertain the intention of the Indians, still hoping it 
might be friendly. He had not gone far on his return, 
before he met an enormous bear, the largest, he said, 
he had ever seen. Unwilling to leave his family ex- 
posed to this new danger, he returned and commenced 
his march towards one of the Wells garrisons. He was 
obliged to kill a small dog that followed them, for fear 
he should betray them to the Indians, by his barking. 
The first night, they got as far as the hill, where the 
stage tavern now is, in Kennebunk, and remained there 
all night, having subsisted upon berries. Late the next 
evening they reached Storer's garrison, the inmates of 
which were asleep. Mr. Harding then concluded he 
had left his house without sufficient cause, or there 
would have been a better watch kept ; and mortified on 
account of his cowardice, he was on the point of retra- 
cing his steps. At the solicitation of his wife, he con- 
sented to make one more attempt to arouse them, when 
the lamentations of the women and children, for the 
loss of their relatives, convinced him he had not yield- 
ed to a false alarm. 

The Indians, when discovering Mr. Harding had 

made his escape, and having pulled up all his corn in 

i^rder to find him, said it was no use to extend their 

tint for him, as he was as good an Indian as them- 

dves. They killed his hogs, and took all his 

clothing and bedding, even to the ticks, throwing away 

' e feathers, but did not injure his house ; leaving that 

an ding, as they afterwards told him, for a trap to catch 

rn in at some future time. Their object was to take 

.him alive, and carry him to their settlements in Canada, 



TO 1713.] KENNEBUNK PORT. 55 

where his services as a blacksmith were much need- 
ed. The Indians afterwards crossed the river, and 
killed the wife and three children of William Larra- 
bee, who lived in the field, near what are called 
Butler's rocks. Larrabee himself was at work on the 
marsh, near where the ropewalk now is, and, on per- 
ceiving two Indians running towards him, he concealed 
himself in the bushes. After they had given up the 
search, he crept towards his house, and saw the Indians 
regaling themselves upon the provisions they had taken 
from his house, and his wife and two of his children ly- 
ing near them, dead. The other child was not quite 
dead, but raised its head twice while Mr. Larrabee was 
looking at it. He said if it had moved again, he should 
have rushed out upon them, although he knew it would 
have cost him his life. The child however remained 
motionless, and Mr. Larrabee went to Storer's garrison, 
where he arrived before Mr. Harding, and, having seen 
the hogs lying near the house, mistook them for the 
family and reported they were dead. 

After these murders, the Indians proceeded up the 
river, to the house of Philip Durrill, which was near 
where DurrilPs bridge now is, and carried off Mrs. 
Durrill, her two daughters, Susan and Rachel, and 
two sons, one of whom, Philip, was an infant. Mr 
Durrill himself was not at home. The Indians carried 
their prisoners as far as Peywacket or Fryeburg, 
when Mrs. Durrill persuaded them to let her return 
with her infant. One of the Indians carried her child 
for her to the stone fort at Saco, from which place she 
returned home. Her daughters married Frenchmen, 
and refused to return after the war was over. The son 
was accidentally drowned in Saco river. 

In a few years, [1706] the Indians got tired of fight- 
ing, but as the English and French war was not over, 
the inhabitants of Maine did not venture to return to 
their deserted settlements. The next year [1707] the 
Indians renewed hostilities, and there were several se- 
vere skirmishes at Saco, Wells, Kittery, and Berwick. 

The war continued, with slight occasional relaxa- 
tions, till 1713, when a treaty was made with all the 
eastern tribes. During these two last wars, Maine suf- 
fered greatly. Cape Porpoise, being twice depopulated, 



56 HISTORY OF [from 1713. 

probably lost many of its inhabitants. Sullivan, how- 
ever, says ' it being sheltered by Wells and Saco on a 
neck of land stretching into the sea, did not suffer 
much at an early period by the hand of savages.' Sub- 
sequently to the period when the county road was 
located through the upper part of the town, from Wells 
to Saco, this might be the case ; but it is difficult to un- 
derstand how these towns could afford any protection 
previous to that time, when they were barely able to 
keep possession of their own forts ; and the only road 
then travelled, passed directly through Cape Porpoise 
village. 

Although by an order of General Court, passed in the 
year 1714, no towns in Maine, except York, Kittery, 
Berwick, and Wells,, were allowed to be settled with- 
out a license from the Governor and Council, yet sev- 
eral of the inhabitants of this town returned, soon after 
the treaty of peace was ratified, and commenced anew 
their business of milling, fishing and farming. ** Though 
Cape Porpoise had never before its destruction, com- 
pared with its neighbors in wealth and population, it 
had been inhabited by a bold and spirited people ; and 
in 1716, they and the proprietors joined in a prayer to 
the Legislature, for a restoration of town privileges,' 

*William3on's Hist. Me. 



TO 1716.] KENNEBUNK PORT. 57 

CHAPTER IV. 

Number of inhabitants....Schools and the ministry....Cape Por- 
poise united with the parish at Saco.... Employments.... 
Extracts from the old town records....Notice of the inhabit- 
ants Scadlock....Howell....Bolls....Frost....Spurrill Batson 

....Clay....Jeffery....Potum....Lux Warner Montague.. ..Ba- 
ker Renols.....Turbit Hix Walker Roberts Davis.... 

Cole Barrett Bush....Palmer Young.... Jones Hather- 

ly....Wormstall....Ellson....Alger....Clarke....Harmon Barton 

....Saunders....Trott....Ball....Moore....Tilly....Ban-ow....Cook.... 
Penniwell....Scamman....Purinton....Morey....Huff....Springer 
„..Perkins....Boardman....Thomas....Merrill....Randall...Mussy 

....York Downing Haynes....Blanchet....Miller Norman 

Larrabee Fletcher Pendleton Littlefield Worm- 

wood....Harding....Notice of the Indians. 

How many inhabitants Cape Porpoise contained, or 
what was the state of society, previous to its being de- 
serted, in 1703, it is now impossible to ascertain with 
any degree of certainty. It probably never contained 
over 200 inhabitants. 

Towns were obliged by law to maintain free and 
common schools, and it is therefore probable, that there 
was some provision made for the instruction of youth, 
although from the complaint against the town, in 1675, 
and their subsequent negligence, it would seem that 
they were very remiss in that duty. Towns were also 
required, by an order passed in 1668, either to maintain a 
settled minister, or to pay =£50 annually towards the 
support of one in the neighboring town. On account of 
the poverty of Cape Porpoise, they probably did neith- 
er ; but it is likely that they had occasional preaching, 
and perhaps were in the habit of meeting together on 
the sabbath, as early as 1653, as Baker's prophecying 
and railing at the ministry, was said to disturb ' public 
assemblings.' It might have been that the inhabitants 
generally attended public worship at Winter Harbor, 
and that Baker's speeches were directed against the 
minister at that place.* This supposition is strength- 

*Edward Rishworth, in a letter to Governor Endicott, dated 
Aug. 14, 1656, says " Saco and Cape Porpus are in a greate 



58 HISTORY OF [a. d. 1716. 

ened by the circumstance of Peter Turbat's leaving a 
steer as a legacy to that church ; and also from Saco 
and Cape Porpoise being connected in the same com- 
plaint, in 165S, for not making suitable provision for 
the ministry. The complaint was renewed, in 1662, 
against Cape Porpoise alone, and the inhabitants were 
ordered, either to go to Winter Harbor to meeting, or 
assemble at the house of John Bush. Those residing 
near Little river, went to Winter Harbor, as Goody 
Scadlock had a seat assigned her, in the meeting 
house at that place, in 1666. Several years after- 
wards, however, there were none from this town 
accommodated with seats, unless Goodwife Wormstall 
was an inhabitant. They probably continued to meet 
at the house of Mr. Bush for some time, for John Davis 
was presented in 1672 for preaching at another place. 
In 1674, some one thought an effort ought to be made 
to maintain regular preaching, and a complaint was en- 
tered against the town for 'living without an orthodox 
minister.' The court probably thought the town still 
too poor to maintain one, as the presentment was dis- 
charged, after hearing the town agent, Mr. Batson. It 
is, however, very certain, that they never had a meet- 
ing house, nor an ordained minister. Every town in 
the county had occasional assistance from the General 
Court, to support their minister, except Cape Porpoise, 
which was by far the poorest one in the county. If 
they had had a settled minister, there can be no doubt 
that aid would also have been extended to them. The 
want of regular religious and moral instruction, was 
very manifest, from the frequent complaints made 
against the citizens of the place for violations of the 
sabbath, and other immoralities. These expedients for 
maintaining public worship, proving unavailing, the in- 
habitants of the town were permanently joined to the 
parish at Winter Harbor, in 1680, as appears by the fol- 
lowing order passed "at a meeting of freeholders of the 
Province of Mayne, March 17th, 1679-80." 

etrayte for some godly minister ; for his maintenance they pro- 
pound £50 per annum besides a house and some other 
conveniences, touching which I was moved to write to your wor- 
ship, which I cannot well be so forward in till the people of 
Newgewanacke be supplied, altho' I cannot but be sensible of the 
deepe necessity thereof." 



A. D. 1716.] KENNEBUNK PORT. 59 

" It is ordered by this Court, that Winter Harbour 
alias Sacoe and Cape Porpus is, and shall be hence for- 
ward, united and shall joyne togeather as one society in 
procuring of a Minister to preach the word of *god un- 
to them ; for the procuring of vvhome, John Sargent, 
John Barrett, John Harmon, and John Abbot are Im- 
powered and appointed in behalfe of sd. Winter Harbour 
and Cape Porpus, any two of them to use their best In- 
deavours to that end, with all convenient speed, and to 
rais fourty pounds" lor that purpose. The parishes 
continued united till the desertion of this town. 

From the nature of the soil where they first settled, — 
on the islands, and round the harbor of Cape Porpoise, 
— the inhabitants of the town c6uld not have paid much 
attention to agriculture, raising perhaps only Indian 
corn, pumpkins, beans, and a few other vegetables that 
were cultivated by the aborigines. They had rather 
large stocks of cattle, that were wintered on salt and 
meadow hay. Their principal employment was fish- 
ing, and after the trade with the West India Islands 
commenced, sawing lumber. These articles of expor- 
tation were carried off by vessels from Massachusetts, 
the inhabitants being too poor to ship them themselves. 
Schooners, which were first built in 1714, were soon 
after principally vised for this business. 

During the last war, which lasted more than ten 
years, Maine had lost nearly a third of her inhabitants. 
Cape Porpoise being wholly unprotected in the onset, 
and afterwards exposed in common with other towns of 
the state, probably lost its proportion. Many probably 
had died natural deaths ; and others, having acquired 
a new residence, did not again return to their exposed 
situations in this town. Those that did return, having 
lived in garrisons in other towns and spent all their 
property in maintaining their families, came back poor 
and destitute, and found their houses dilapidated and 
their cattle killed. After the war had ceased, a ship being 
sent to exchange prisoners, many returned, who were 
thought to have been murdered by the Indians. 

•Although the county and town records abounded in capital let- 
ters, it is remarkable that the word God, was generally written 
with a small one. 



60 HISTORY OF [A. D. 1716. 

After the resettlement of the town in 1714, its history- 
can be more distinctly traced, than prior to that time. 
The inhabitants, not taking an active part in the politic- 
al changes of the previous century, were but little 
noticed in general history, which, together with the 
loss of the early town records, renders it impossible to 
produce any thing like a conjoined history of the town, 
unconnected with the general history of the country, 
till its second incorporation. 

The records which were missing in 1695, were either 
never found, or were again lost when the town was de- 
serted the second time. One of the first entries on the 
town book, after the reorganization of the town, says 
that diligent search had been made for the ancient 
records, and nothing of them could be found. They 
were not however wholly lost. A few of the latest 
leaves were found, which were frequently referred to, 
in the Arundel Book of Records, and the Proprietors 
Book of Records ; but most of them have since been 
destroyed. Seven or eight pages only now remain, 
from which the following extracts are taken. 

" February 14th, 1678-9 — At a legal town meeting 
holden at Cape Porpus, John Barret, sen. chosen Grand 
Jury man for the year ensuing, — Humphrey Scammon 
chosen constable for the year. John Batson, John 
Sanders, John Purinton, these three being chosen 
*Townsmen for the year." 

" At a legal Town Meeting holden at Cape Porpus the 
17 of February 1678, Given and Granted unto William 
Frost priviledge for to build a Saw Mill at the falls at 
the Head of the triver lying and being at the Head of 
the river that runs up along between John Barret and 
the Lott that was formerly Stephen Batsons, with one 
Hundred Acres of upland and twenty Acres of Meadow, 
in any place that is not granted' — ' the said Frost does 
engage for to build a mill within sixteen months after 
this grant, with a Grist mill also fourteen months after 
that this former contract is performed ; and for want 
or nonperformance, this grant shall be of no effect, but 
it shall be void, unless hindered by Warr that may arise 
in the land.' — c The town is to have for their own use, 

•Selectmen. tMiddle riter, or GofFs mill brook. 



A, D. 1716.] KENNEBUNK PORT. 61 

boards twelve pence in a Hundred under Price Current. 
Witness my hand, The mark (W.) of William 

John Saunders, Frost. 

John Purington." 

"9th day of April 1680-1. The inhabitants of the 
town of Cape Porpus granted to Joseph and Edmund 
Littlefield, one hundred acres of upland, on the North- 
east side of Kennebunk river, as near as may be to the 
upper falls, near the Indian Planting Ground" — " for the 
purpose of building mills, for each saw mill they are to 
pay a yearly rent of Fifty shillings in boards, and al- 
low the inhabitants to saw their own boards at the 
halves" — " Liberty was also given to build a Gristmill 
at the same place in two years, under the penalty of 
Twenty pounds" — " and the inhabitants are enjoined 
not to build another grist mill within their town so long 
as this said mill will grind." 

Land was also granted to John Miller, up at the 
" Desert Marshes upon the south side ;" and at the same 
place to William Thomas, and William Burton ; and 
to John Batson, " free liberty was given to build a saw 
mill at the third falls on Middle river ;" and to John 
Purinton, Isaac Cole, and Samuel York to build mills 
on Middle river, and to cut timber " anywheres on the 
town's commons." 

Land was also granted to Richard Randall, on Ken- 
nebunk river, il over against the Wonder, so called ;" 
and to several others. 

The following are the only names found on what re- 
mains of the old Cape Porpus records. 

John Barrett, Humphrey Scammon, John Batson, 
John Saunders, William Frost, Joseph Littlefield, Ed- 
mund Littlefield, John Miller, John Miller, Jr. William 
Thomas, William Barton, Richard Randall, Thomas 
Mussey, Isaac Cole, Samuel York, John Downing, John 
Davis, Immanuel Haynes, Jacob Wormwood, Nicholas 
Moorey, John Runnels, John Loring, Richard Blanchet, 
Simon Cundey, Emanuel Davis, John Purinton and 
John Purinton, Jr. 

The following additional names of persons belonging 
to the town, are taken from the Massachusetts and 
Maine records, and from other sources. Ambrose Berry, 
John Baker, William Reynolds, William Reynolds, 

F 



62 HISTORY OF [a. d. 1716. 

Jr. Stephen Batson, Peter Turbat, Peter Turbat, Jr. 
John Turbat, Nicholas Bartlett, Phanea Hall, Gilbert 
Endicott, William Roberds, Richard Hix, John Bush, 
Griffin Montague, Charles Potum, Richard Palmer, 
Richard Young, Edward Jones, Henry Hatherly, Ar- 
thur Wormstall, John Ellson, Samuel Oakman, James 
Carry, Andrew Alger, Jonas Clay, Morgan Howell, 
Stephen Batson, 2d. Edward Clark, Gregory Jeffery, 
Edward Barton, Ferdinando Huff, Jonathan Springer, 
Christopher Spurrill, Thomas Warner, John Cole, 
Simon Teoft, Simon Bussy, Jenkins, Thomas Perkins, 
Thomas Dorman, Thomas Boardman, Seth Fletcher, 
John Dyament, Thomas Merrill, John Sanders, Jr. 
Thomas Sanders, John Scadlock, Samuel Scadlock, 
John Jeffery, John Lux, Walter Penniwell, Robert 

Cook, Barrow, Samuel Johnson, John Rose, John 

Webber, Francis Beggar, Anthony Littlefield, Francis 
Littlefield, sen. JohnCirmihill, William Kindall, Thom- 
as Mussell, John Trott, William Norman, Richard 
Ball, Henry Singleman, Roger Willine. 

*William Scadlock, a planter, was one of the first, 
who was positively known to have settled in Cape 
Porpoise. He came over with the company of Vines, 
in 1630, and settled on the west side of Little river, 
then considered within the Saco patent. He was fond 
of litigation, his name appearing very often on the 
county records, as a party in lawsuits; and he was fre- 
quently presented by the grand jury for misdemeanors. 
In 1636, he had an action of debt against Morgan How- 
ell, and at the same court was fined 5s for getting 
drunk. In 1640, he " was presented for misdemeanor 
in his house, and fined 20s which upon his humble pe- 
tition was remitted by the court." This offence was in 
allowing Thomas Heard to get drunk at his housed who 
afterwards assaulted Joseph Boles and several other 
persons. In 1653, Scadlock signed the submission to 
Massachusetts, as an inhabitant of Saco, and was ap- 
pointed clerk of the writs, (or town clerk ;) but in 
1659, when the line between Saco and Cape Porpoise 
was established, his house was found to be in this town. 
The next year, he Mas chosen by the town one of the 
commissioners to agree upon the line between Cape 

"Sullivan calls him Slradlock. 



A. D. 1716.] KEXXEBUXK PORT. 63 

Porpoise and Wells, which resulted in depriving this 
town, of what was considered as part of its territory. 
He made his will Jan. 7th, 1662, which was as follows. 
"In the name of God, amen, I William Scadlock of 
Cape Porpus, in the Province of Mayne, in New Eng- 
land, being in perfect memory and understanding, yet 
having the apprehension of death before mee, — I here- 
by make and declare my last will and testiment ; which 
is, in the first place, I commit and commend my soule 
into the hands of God, my creator, redeemer, and 
sanctifyer ; my body unto the earth from whence it waa 
first taken, — which being sollemnly interred, — My mind 
and will is, that my funerall expences are discharged, 
that my legal debts, dues, and demands bee satisfied ; 
all which being done, the remainder of my estate to bee 
disposed of as followeth. That the house, land, marsh 
and cattle, with the appurtenances thereunto apper- 
taining and belonging, both within doors and without, 
I do bequeath unto my good and dear wife, Elinor 
Scadlock, soe long as she keeps herself a widow ; but 
iff she happen to marry after my decease, then shee to 
have six cows, two stears, with the third part of my 
bequeath abovementioned, and an equal and proportion- 
ate 3d. part of the swine that were then in being, and 
the best bed with every thing thereunto belonging; but 
if it soe bee she dy as my widdow, then all my estate to 
be equally divided and justly between our children ; 
and if she dy as another man's wife or widow, then 
these cows, steeres, swine, and the third part of my be- 
queath, to bee wholly at her disposal. If shee dy as 
my widdow, then all my estate to be thus divided 
amongst my children, by them I mean William, Su- 
sanna, John, Rebeccka, Samuel and Sarah Scadlock : — 
I bequeath my bible unto my son John. I bequeath 
unto my son William, 3 yards of broad cloth, he upon 
that consideration to buy 3 yds. and a half of good ker- 
sey of 10s per yard, for a suit for my son Samuel, and 
silk and buttons unto both : I bequeath unto my daugh- 
ter Rebeccka my worsted stockings. I bequeath unto 
my son William my new hat, he buying Samuel anoth- 
er of 10 or 125 price. I bequeath unto my daughter 
Susanna, Mr Cotton's work upon the new covenant of 
grace. I bequeath a book entitled, Meat out of the 



64 HISTORY of [a. d. 1716. 

Eater, to my son WiJliam, and to my son John, I be- 
queath a book concerning Justifying Faith ; and the 
Practice of Piety to Rebeccka ; and to my daughter 
Susanna, A sucking Calf called Trubb. 

I bequeath unto my daughter Sara one yard of Hol- 
land : and to the end that all things be performed 
according to my mind and will, I hereby make, consti- 
tute, and appoint my loving wife Elinor, my executrix, 
and my son William executor ; unto all which I set my 
hand and heart," 

Mr. Scadlock probably died shortly after making his 
will, as an inventory of his estate was handed into court 
the same year. He had 19 head of cattle, and 4 hogs. 
His estate was valued at about ^100, and his debts 
amounted to £83. His wife probably died soon after 
him, as Stephen Kent, and Bryan Pendleton were ap- 
pointed executors of his will. The new executors did 
not agree ; Pendleton having handed in an imperfect 
inventory, Kent claimed part of the property as execu- 
tor. Kent had probably married one of the daughters 
of Scadlock. The year before Mr. Scadlock's death, 
William Phillips of Saco claimed 200 acres of land 
and the house in which Scadlock lived. The land had 
been granted to him in 1653, by the town of Cape Por- 
poise, but Phillips disputed their right to it; and 
Scadlock was obliged to take a new grant from him, in 
consideration of which, he was to give one day's work 
yearly. 

William, son of the preceding, who married Ann, 
the widow of Ambrose Berry, jun. died in 1664, and 
Bryan Pendleton was appointed administrator of his 
estate. " John died the same year. Samuel was living 
1719, at York, 73 years old. William jr. appears to 
have left children ; a son born 1661 ; and a daughter 
Anne married to John Carter 1666. The family name 
is now extinct in this quarter, as far as we can learn ; 
but the falls on Little river, near the house of Mr. 
Jeremiah Bettis, are still called Scadlock's falls by the 
inhabitants in the vicinity."* 

Samuel removed to Marblehead and his daughter 
Susanna married Bezaleel Getchel, 

^Folaora. 



A. D. 1716.] KENNEBUNK PORT. 65 

Morgan Howell, who first signed the submission in 
1653, was also a planter, and one of the oldest perma- 
nent settlers in this town. He came over to this 
country at the same time with Scadlock, and probably 
settled near him. He moved, however, soon after, and 
built him a house on the point, afterwards called 
Montague's neck, which name it still retains. *July 
13th, 1643, he procured a grant of 30 acres of land 
where he lived, from Thomas Gorges, deputy governor 
of Mayne, 100 acres at Cape Porpoise, and 60 acres 
on eastern (Little) river, for the yearly rent of 65 8d 
for the whole, to be paid on the last day of June. His 
land was described as " lying at Cape Porpus, in the 
province of Mayne," and bounded by the lot of Joseph 
Bowles on the east, by Henry Singleman on the north, 
and Roger Willine on the west. Another lott was 
described as being by the old house on clay cove, to a 
great stone lying in the marsh, in the midst of long 
cove, with the little neck of land. Howell's grant is 
the oldest on record, within the limits of this town ; 
although, from other lots being alluded to in his grant, 
it is evident there were grants still older which had not 
been recorded. He was a member of the Court of 
Assistants under Rigby's government, in 1646, and 
was one of the leading men of the province, to whom 
Edward Rigby sent a letter of reproof for their " ille- 
gal proceedings," in 1652. He was constable of the 
town in 1656, and was one of the committee for settling 
the line between Wells and Cape Porpoise in 1660. 
He was a very active and efficient man, being con- 
stantly engaged in suits, at the county courts, either 
as agent for the town, one of the parties, a witness, or a 
juror. He probably left no children, as the name does 
not appear on the records after his death. He died 
1666, and gave his property, principally, to Mrs. Mary 
Bolls, who was his executrix and perhaps his relative, 
and her children. He gave to " Mary Frost, sen. his bed 
and bedding, a brass kettle, two pewter plates, and a 
cow ; and to Mary Frost, jr. the Molley heifer." His 

*Sullivan erroneously states that his grant was from Sir Alexan- 
der Rigby's agent, in 1648. 
tOn Huff's neck. 

Ff 



66 HISTORY OF [a. d. 1716. 

property in Wells was valued at <£46, and at Cape 
Porpoise, at ,£151. He had 12 head of cattle, besides 
horses and swine. 

The Mary Bolls, or Bowles, mentioned in Howell's 
will, was the wife of Joseph Bowles, who lived on 
Montague's neck, near Howell. The property at 
Cape Porpoise, they sold to John Batson, in 1673, and 
removed to Wells, probably on the Howell lot in that 
town. Mrs. Bowles, in 1674, brought an action 
against Andrew Alger, for the recovery of property 
belonging to Howell's estate. She removed to Ports- 
mouth, after her husband's death, 1682 ; and in 1685 
sold the same lot that had been sold to Batson, again 
" to Samuel Snow cordwinder of Boston." 

The two Mary Frosts, to whom Howell gave lega- 
cies, were probably the wife and daughter of the 
William Frost, who had a grant of 120 acres of land 
and a mill privilege on Middle river or Goff's Mill 
creek, from the town, in 1678, upon condition of his 
building a saw and grist mill. Mary Frost, probably 
the elder, was presented for getting drunk, in 1658. 
Frost probably lived on Montague's neck. 

Nothing is known of Christopher Spurrel (probably 
Spur well) except that he signed the submission to 
Massachusetts, in 1653, as an inhabitant of Cape Por- 
poise. The name does not afterwards occur, as being 
in this, neighborhood, except in the marriage of Abigail 
Spurwell, in 1664, to Arthur Butting. 

*Stephen Batson, — sometimes written Badson, — 
who was the third to sign the submission to Massachu- 
setts, was also a very early settler ; but whether he first 
settled at Winter Harbor or Cape Porpoise, is not 
known. In 1636, he bound his daughter Margery to 
Capt. Richard Bonithan of Saco, till she was twenty 
one years of age. 

His son Stephen was more frequently noticed on the 
county records ; but from the following extract, 1660, 
he was not very fortunate in his domestic relations. 

" Whereas certain complaints are come unto this 
Court, and have by our desire appeared against Eliza- 
beth, the wife of Stephen Batson, whereby she hath 

*Sullivan calls him Batons. 



A. D. 1716.] KENNEBUNK PORT. 67 

most grossly abused and slandered the said Stephen, 
her husband, and some of her children ; — It is there- 
fore ordered by this Court, in consideration of her 
absence in the country, shee is to pay the some of 5s 
to our treasurer ; and for her offence given to her 
husband and daughter Clay, by her opprobrious 
accusations, also is to make her acknowledgement here 
in open Court for the wrong she hath done them, and 
the like acknowledgement at Cape Porpus on a publique 
town meeting, and at Wells within a fortnight." 

Mrs. Batson complied with the order by making the 
following confession, at the places designated by the 
court. 

11 Whereas, I Elizabeth Batson, before the last 
Court of Assistants, was legally convicted for defayming 
my husband, Stephen Batson, and my daughter Mary 
Clay, ******** I do acknowledge 
that I have done both my husband and daughter most 
wilful and apparent wrong in soe speaking, and am 
hartily sorry for it, and do hope it will be a warning 
for mee for the tyme to come for wronging them or any 
other in like manner." 

Old Mrs. Batson, mother of Stephen, jun. was still 
living in 1661, as appears from the following notice of 
her. 

James Harmon and his wife having separated, the 
court had awarded her all his property for her main- 
tenance, part of which was in the possession of Mr. 
Batson. In consequence of Mrs. Batson's refusing to 
give it up, the following order was passed. " Wheras 
it appeareth to this Court, that there are two swine 

now in the possession of Goodwife Batson, and 

it is ordered that the constable of Cape Porpus for 
better security, shall by virtue hereof, seize these 2 
swine aforesaid, and deliver them into the possession of 
Barbara Clarke, for the use of Sariah Harmon and 
her child." 

Mr. Batson sold his property, in 1662, at Cape 
Porpoise, to Peter Oliver, merchant of Boston, consist- 
ing of 300 acres of land on middle creek, his log house, 
all his cattle, and " also one house and stage, and two 
Boats' rooms upon Stage Island, with all priviledges and 
appurtenances thereunto belonging." Mr. Batson had 



68 HISTORY OF [a. d. 1716. 

probably become indebted to Mr. Oliver for supplies in 
carrying on the fishing business, and was compelled 
to dispose of his property. He was very unwilling to 
give up possession, and Mr. Oliver complained that he 
would not let Thomas Bryan and his partners enjoy 
the house he had bought of him. Batson admitted he 
had torn down the stage and fish house. 

He afterwards removed to Wells, and had several 
lawsuits with John Barrett, Edward Barton, and others. 
He did not sell all his land to Oliver, as he sold a lot 
on Little river to his son John, in 1673. He made his 
will the same year, and gave most of his property to 
his daughter Elizabeth Ashly and her children. He 
left one son, John, and several daughters ; Mary who 
was married to Mr. Trott ; Margery to a Mr. Young ; 
Mrs. Brokehouse and Mrs. Ashly. He gave legacies 
also to his grand children, John Trott, and Sarah Ash- 

John, the son of Stephen, jr. remained at Cape 
Porpoise, and was fined, in 1661, for getting drunk. 
He, however, became a man of some wealth and con- 
sideration in town, and, in 1673, bought the Howell 
farm of Joseph Bowles and his wife, and a lot of his 
father, on Little (since called Batson's) river. In 1680, 
he owned a mill, probably on that stream, which, by 
order of court, paid a tax of 30s towards maintaining 
a force at fort Loyal in Falmouth. The same year he 
took the oath of allegiance to his Majesty, at a meeting 
of free holders, held under President Danforth, and 
was appointed constable of the town. The year fol- 
lowing, he was one of the trustees appointed to take a 
deed of the town from President Danforth. During 
the years 1683, and '84, he was deputy from the town 
to the General Assembly. 

He died in 1685, and his wife Elizabeth was ap- 
pointed administratrix of his estate. The valuation of 
his property was about ,£130. He left two sons, 
Stephen and John, who removed to Portsmouth when 
the town was deserted, and did not return. 

Mary Clay, the daughter of Elizabeth Batson, was 
the wife of Jonas Clay, of whom nothing is now known. 

From the frequent complaints against Mrs. Clay 
before the grand jury for misdemeanors, that subjected 



A. D. 1716.] KENNEBUNK PORT. 69 

her to fines and punishments, it is not probable that 
her mother's accusations were untrue, although she 
was compelled to make a recantation. Griffin Mon- 
tague and Morgan Howell having entered a complaint 
against her, she was sentenced " to receive twenty 
lashes on her bare skin." She was several times 
whipt, imprisoned, and fined for drunkenness and other 
immoralities. The following order relative to her was 
also recorded. " For preventing any future injury 
which may fall upon Mary Clay relating to her disease 
(convulsion fitts) which do frequently seize upon her, 
it is ordered by this Court, that the town of Cape Por- 
pus are hereby ordered to take such care that some 
woman live in the house with her, or shee to live in 
some family ; which by the said place being neglected, 
they shall bee lyable to such penalty as the Court shall 
see meete to Inflict for the same." 

*Gregory Jeffery, who was the fourth signer to the 
submission, was either the son of William Jeffery or 
Jeffries, who, Winthrope says, " was a person of some 
distinction, settled in our colony in 1623, at Wey- 
mouth, under the command of Capt. Robert Gorges, 
son of Sir Ferdinando,"— or of the William Jeffery, 
who had a grant of land from Sir Ferdinando Gorges, 
in 1631, on the north side of Agamenticus. Dygory 
JeffQ-y, who resided in Kittery in 1664, and in York in 
1672 ; was probably son of William of Agamenticus. 
These Jefferies probably belonged to the same family. 

Gregory had a grant, from Cleaves, Rigby's agent, 
in 1648, of 200 acres, " together in the village of Cape 
Porpus," for the annual rent of 5s to be paid on the 
first day of November. Cleaves also granted to the 
" said Jeffery and his Heirs for ever, besides what is 
herein formerly expressed, the inheritance of, and 
possession of three small Islands in Cape Porpus Har- 
bour, the one of them named the Folly Island, and the 
other called the Goat Island, on the east side, and the 
one called Greene Island on the west side, together with 
ten acres of Marsh Ground in the great Marsh betwixt 
Joseph Bowles his lott and the Little River." For the 
islands and marsh, he was to pay 7s 6d yearly to 

*Sullivan calls him Gregory Hoskeries. 



70 HISTORY OF [A. D. 1716. 

" Colonel Alexander Rigby, Esq. president of the 
Province of Laconia." July 8th, 1652, Richard 
Moore, and John Bush, assigned their grants of 400 
acres each, to Jeffery. 

Jeffery, who is styled yeoman, deeded his three is- 
lands to Bryan Pendleton, in 1658. 

Gregory's name is seldom mentioned on the county 
records. He was on several juries ; and was prosecu- 
ted by Griffin Montague, 1655, for " taking his stear 
to his damage," and obliged to pay 175. He made 
his will August 14th, 1661, and died three days after; 
being about 60 years old, as he declared in a deposition 
taken a few weeks before. He appointed his wife 
Mary, and Charles Potum, executors. His wife, who 
was considerably younger than himself, was to have all 
his estate, till his son John was fourteen years of age, 
when it was to be equally divided between them. If 
John died before that time, his half was to fall to an 
infant, born after its father's death ; and if the child 
died, the whole was to go to his wife. He also be- 
queathed " unto the church of Sacoe, to carry on the 
worship and service of god, one stear," and to his 
" kinsman Charles Potum, a 2 years old heifFer called 
Rose." 

There being some dispute about the meaning of the 
will, and the executors being at variance, on account 
of Mrs. Jeffery 's speedy marriage with John Lux of 
Saco ; they suffered the real estate to lie without 
improvement, and each one endeavored to obtain the 
larger part of the personal property. Mrs. Lux having 
removed to Saco, and Potum, who appeared to have no 
settled employment, having also left the place for a 
time, some person represented the matter to the court, 
and the following order was passed. " Whereas in- 
formation is given to this court, that the executors of 
Gregory Jeffery's estate, have left their executorship 
and their usual place of aboad, and the 2 children of 
whom we do not hear that they have taken any future 
care, — for which children the better provision may be 
made, and more security for the estate ; — It is there- 
fore ordered that Henry Joscelyn, Esq. togeather with 
the selectmen of Sacoe have full power for the order- 
ing and disposing the estate." This order was probably 



A. D. 1716.] KENNEBUKK PORT. 71 

not complied with, as the estate was still unsettled in 
1655, when Potum stated that the personal property 
was scattered over the whole town, being in the pos- 
session of William Kindale and many others. Mrs. 
Lux probably died 1655, as her will was dated Febru- 
ary 7th, of this year. She placed all the property of 
her first husband in the hands of Lux, till John Jeffery 
should be fourteen years old. If he died, his part of 
the property was to go to her daughter Mary Lux, 
and her own part to her son Joseph Lux, " according 
to the tenor of her deceased husband JefFery's will." 
If Joseph died, Mary was to have all the property after 
Mr. Lux's death. 

It is probable that Potum retained part of the prop- 
erty even after Mrs. Lux's death, for Mr. Lux brought 
an action against him for withholding part of the 
estate from him, and got judgment in his favor. Pot- 
um, however, presented an account against the estate, 
in 1670, which was perhaps after the death of Mr. Lux, 
and had it allowed by the court. It cannot now be 
ascertained whether Mr. JefFery's younger child died, 
or took the name of its father-in-law, Lux ; but it is 
probable that it died, as part of the estate, in 1670, was 
represented as belonging to the orphan child of John 
Lux. 

Information having been given the court, that the 
town had granted several parcels of JefFery's land, 
they ordered the recorder to send a letter to Cape 
Porpus, in 1672, cautioning them against " granting 
the land formerly granted to Gregory Jeffery, which he 
left to his son, as they had been in the habit of doing." 
The amount of Mr. JefFery's property, as by the valua- 
tion, was ,£165 He had 21 head of cattle, 2 horses 
and 21 swine. 

John learned the trade of a cooper, and resided in 
Lynn, where he died previous to 1734. 

In consequence of the troubles with the Indians, and 
the consequent desertion of the town for nearly twenty 
five years, the property was not claimed till 1727, 
when it was again laid out to John JefFery's agents. It 
is still in the possession of the family, which is quite 
numerous. 

Charles Potum, who is first mentioned in JefFery's 



582 HISTORY OF [a. D. 1716. 

will as his relative, was appointed constable of the town 
in 1670. He was violently opposed to Mrs. Jeffery's 
second marriage, and had Lux indicted for " visiting 
her suspiciously." Lux, however, brought an 
action against him " for unjust Molestation," and 
recovered damages. In 1674, Potum was presented 
" for liveing an idle, lasy life, following noe settled 
imployment. Major Bryan Pendleton joynd with the 
selectmen of Cape Porpus to dispose of Potum accord- 
ing to law, and to put him under family government." 
He probably was never married ; and died, 1678, and 
John Barrett was appointed administrator of his estate. 

Of Thomas Warner nothing is known, except as an 
inhabitant of the town, he signed the submission to 
Massachusetts in 1653. He died in 1660, and proba- 
bly left no family, as Morgan Howell administered 
upon his estate. 

Griffin Montague's name also appears for the first 
time, when he was admitted freeman of Massachusetts, 
1653, and was appointed constable. He was a planter, 
but united with that employment the business of fishing 
and fowling. In 1655, he promised to deliver to a per- 
son of Piscataqua, " 160 pounds of good geese and 
duck feathers, Fitting for bedding, only the Tail and 
Wing feathers excepted." He was a man of no edu- 
cation, not being able to write. In the year 1669, he 
was one of the appraisers of the estate of John Bush, 
and the year following, to that of John Sanders. Being 
sick " and not knowing how soon the Lord might call 
him to pay the debt due unto nature," he made his 
will, July 1671, and gave his soul to the Lord, his body 
to the dust, and his estate to his wife Margaret. He 
requested that his body might " be buried by the grave 
of his sire, John." He probably left no children, as 
the name does not again occur. He resided on that 
point of land, to which he gave the name of Montague's 
neck, near the spot where the house of Joseph Hutch- 
ins now stands. 

Mrs. Montague died, in 1684, and by her will gave 
all her property to Samuel Snow of Boston. Snow 
sold to Timothy Dwight, goldsmith of Boston, 100 
acres of land at Cape Porpoise, 100 acres at Kenne- 
bunk river, and 100 at the " dezart marshes, between 



A. D. 1716.] KENNEBUNK PORT. 73 

John Miller's and Thomas Mussey's lotts." Nicholas 
Morey bought the house and 50 acres of land on the 
neck. 

All that is known of John Baker, is what is contain- 
ed in the report of the Massachusetts commissioners, 
in 1653. He was the same person who resided in 
York in 1640. He probably entertained religious views 
different from the majority of his neighbors, and was 
forcibly prevented from promulgating them. 

*William Reynolds, Renolds, or Runnels, was prob- 
ably a brother of the John Renolds, who was 
complained of, for carrying his wife on to the Isles of 
Shoals, " contrary to an act in Court, that no Wimin 
shall live upon the Isle of Shoals." 

The same year this complaint was entered, [1647] 
William procured a grant of 200 acres of land at " Ken- 
ibonke" river, and the marsh on the east side, in 
consideration of his keeping the ferry at the mouth of 
that river. This grant included the spot on which the 
village is located. In 1653, he was one of the inhabit- 
ants, who submitted to Massachusetts. He probably 
continued to keep the ferry for some time, but not to 
the satisfaction of travellers ; as he was presented, 
1672, " for not keeping a ferry boate according to law." 
The court however remitted the presentment, probably 
on account of his age, and acquitted him. 

In 1674, he gave all his property to his son John, 
upon condition that John should maintain him and his 
" wife Aylice." Either before or after this conveyance, 
Mr. Reynolds also mortgaged the same property to 
Francis Johnson. Reynolds's house was at the mouth 
of the river by a " certain gutt," near Butler's rocks, 
the foundation of which can now be seen. He left 
four sons and several daughters. When Wells 
and Cape Porpoise were presented, in 1687, for not 
having a ferry over Kennebunk river, John was ap- 
pointed ferryman, and was to receive " for man and 
horse, six pence, for a single man two pence ferryage." 
The same year he sold to Nicholas Morey a lot of land 
lying between tLong creek or Mast cove, and the river, 

'Sullivan calls him Ranols. 

tThe mill creek or pond near the village. 



74 HISTORY OF [a. d. 1716. 

over against Gillum's point.* — When the town was de- 
serted, John removed to Durham, Samuel to Bradford, 
and Job and William to Dover. Mary married James 
Langley of Dover. Another daughter, Jane, married 
Thomas Wormwood. 

Roger Willine lived on Montague's neck. John Bush, 
in a deed to John Barret, says Willine was "one of the 
first inhabitants of the place." Henry Singleman was 
also one of the first settlers, and lived near Willine. 
Nothing more is known of either of them. 

fPeter Turbat also signed the submission to Massa- 
chusetts, in 1653. He had probably resided at Cape 
Porpoise sometime before this, as he, together with 
John Saunders, sen. and John Bush, bought a tract of 
land 4 miles square of Sosowen of Saco, before " the 
inhabitants had become subject to Massachusetts." The 
sale of this tract, which was described as |" Coxhall 
now called Swanfield, lying beyond Wells," was con- 
firmed by Fluellen, son of Sosowen, and the town 
(Lyman) is held under this grant. Turbat and his 
associates sold this tract to Harlakenden Symonds of 
Wells, who deeded it, 1661, to his father Samuel Sy- 
monds of Ipswich. 

Turbat died 1661, and the court in 1669, in order to 
settle some dispute about the disposition of his property, 
and one of his children, " ordered that the will of Peter 
Turbat be inquired into, and Major Bryan Pendleton 
and Mr. Francis Neale are impowered to settle the es- 
tate according to law." The following is a copy of the 
will, and of the proceedings thereon. 

" The will of Peter Turbat : Bequeathing his Soule 
To god hwo gave it, and then his Bodi to the yearth 
from whence it came, — and then I give to my father in 
Law, John Sanders, my youngest Dafter, Elizabeth 
Turbat, that he or they may keepe and bring her up 
till she is at woman's yestate, not any way Else but to 
be kept as his onne ; — Next, for what yestate I have, 
my lawful debts be paid out of yt, I give all my 

"Now called Emery's point. The only person by the name of 
Gillum, whose name is found on the county records, was Zacha- 
ry who married a daughter of Major Phillips. 

tHe is called Tuebatt by Sullivan. 

tit is once spelt on the record, Coxhorne, 



A. D. 1716.] RENNEBUXK PORT. 75 

goods to my wife Sarah, duaring her life, boath howses 
and howsing, upland and meadow fields, and any thing 
that belongs to me that shee may Poussibly Injoy and 
keepe, till god hath finished her life ; and then if my 
son John doth live, he shall receive all my land and 
marsh, to keepe and hould from him and his use forev- 
er ; and if god doth take the said Johnawaye by death, 
then the said Lands as abouve said shall fall to my son 
Peter his use, Provided my sonn John Dy without any 
Ayer ; — made in the presence of us to Witness. 

John Davis, 

The mark (C) of William 
Roberds. 

These are my debts as follows. 
To Major Shapleigh 03 00 00 

To Mr. Walker 03 00 00 

To Goodman Montague about 00 18 00." 

The above document was neither signed nor sealed. 
The following inventory of his estate was probably pre- 
pared by Mrs. Turbat. 

" Imp. on cow and A hefer 07 10 00 

4 young cattle about 2 years 10 00 00 

2 calveses 01 10 00 

6 piggs 04 00 00 

Houes and land 38 00 00 



Sum is 61 00 00 

" Sarah Turbat maketh oath that this above writ- 
ten is a true inventory of all the yestate, Peter Turbat 
deceased, her late husband leaft her when he died, Ex- 
cept a few small things of little vallu she brought forth 
to the Aprizers, and they did not thinke worth the val- 
luing. 

" Richard Hix and his wife Susanna make oath of 
that Clause in the will, which hath reference to giving 
of his daughter Elizabeth to his Father Sanders, Pe- 
ter Turbat did revoke upon his death bed, and leaft his 
daughter at the whole disposing of his wife Sarah. 
Taken upon oath the 19th of October 1669." 

John Turbat, son of Peter, was bound to Capt. Fran- 
cis Champernoone of York, soon after his father's 
death, for eleven years. He returned in 1681, and 
had another grant of land from the town ; and proba- 



76 HISTORY OF [a. d. 1716. 

bly continued to reside in it till it was deserted in 1690. 
He probably lived at Turbat's creek, which place was 
afterwards sold, by his descendants, to Samuel Wildes, 
to whose offspring it now belongs. The deed, which 
was in being a few years since, gave the measurement 
in " straddles" instead of rods. 

Peter jr. probably had land of his father before his 
death, as he sold a lot of marsh to John Sanders, sen. 
lying " on the west side of a creek that butts on Holli- 
but point, between Montague's and Edward Barton's 
house." The family became scattered when the town 
was deserted, and probably never resided here after- 
wards. Hannah married Roger Playstead in 1669. 
Nicholas, probably one of the family, then of Kittery, 
was presented 1699 for not going to meeting ; Peter 
removed to Berwick, and was complained of for swear- 
ing, in 1713 ; and Sarah and Elizabeth were indicted 
for other offences, for which the former was sentenced 
u to receive ten stripes on her naked back." There 
was also a Benjamin. 

Richard Hix, (sometimes spelt Hickes,) who was wit- 
ness to Turbat's will, was on the jury from this town, 
in 1661, and was constable 1668. There was a Rich- 
ard Hicks, residing in Boston, 1649, who had a son 
Richard born 1656, but it is probable that this was 
another family. 

The Mr. Walker, to whom Turbat owed c£3, was 
not, probably, an inhabitant of the town, but the Rich- 
ard Walker who had purchased part of Swanfield or 
Lyman. 

William Roberts, who witnessed Turbat's will, was 
killed by the Indians, at Oyster river, (Durham) in 1675. 

John Davis, the other witness, was probably the 
blacksmith, who removed from York to Saco in 1653. 
In 1756, then called " the smyth of Winter Harbour," 
he was sentenced to receive 30 lashes, which punish- 
ment was inflicted by John Parker, and to pay a fine 
of<£10. He probably soon afterwards removed to this 
town, for as an inhabitant of Cape Porpoise, he was 
admonished, in 1670, for intermeddling with the af- 
fairs of his neighbors ; and required either to live with 
his wife or to provide for her. His wife, Cattarine, 



A. D. 1716.] KENNEBUNK PORT. 77 

was also presented and fined, " for reviling and slan- 
dering her neighbors, and calling them rogues, and 
other vile speeches ;" and for not living with her hus- 
band. At a court held in Wells 1680, under the 
authority of Sir F. Gorges, " John Davis of Cape Por- 
pus was prohibited from exercising publiquely upon the 
Lord's day, upon his perill, without some spetiall allow- 
ance from authority." Shortly afterwards he was 
presented by the grand jury, " for presuming to preach 
or exercise publickly, since he was convicted and pro- 
hibited." He " owned that he had only preached 
privately," and was pardoned. The next year, the 
jury presented " John Davis living within the township 
of Cape Porpus, and his wife at Winter Harbour ; — 
the said Davis not taking care of her Maintenance, not- 
withstanding several complaynts have been made, and 
order taken for supplying of her in her great necessity, 
and reforming that disorder ; — the woman being desti- 
tute of foode and Rayment, being constrayned to fetch 
rocke *wood to boyle and eat, to maintain her life." 

The following extract is from the Scarborough 
records. "July 19th 1684 — Agreed with John Davis 
of Cape Porpus for his cure of Francis White and diet 
to have c£ll in current pay, which was to be raised by 
free contribution ; and what it shall fall short of, to be 
raised upon rates ofsuch as did not contribute." 

Davis was probably the deputy from Saco, who "was 
disaccepted as a scandalous person." In 1688, he 
was one of the selectmen and agreed with " the town 
or Inhabitants of Cape Porpus, to build a Corn Mill in 
said Place, near the House of Richard Randell, to be 
perfected fit and sufficient to grind People's Corn, not 
to exceed for Toll the 16th Part of what he grindeth ; 
and to tend said mill daily that the People may not be 
suffer, In Consideration of what is here underwritten." 
The consideration was, that several of the inhabitants 

*Although it is evidently written " rocke wood," on the county 
records, it undoubtedly ought to have been u weed," as dulce, a 
species of marine plant abounding on the shores of Maine, is much 
used for food in the north of Europe, and on the coasts of Ireland 
and Scotland. 

Irish or Iceland moss is another kind much used in this coun- 
try in cookery. 

Gg 



78 HISTORY OF [a. d. 1716. 

agreed to contribute labor, money or provisions, to- 
wards erecting the mill. This agreement was deposited 
in the recorder's office, and transcribed into the town 
books. The town being deserted, shortly after this 
agreement was made, it is likely the mill was not built, 
and that Davis died, before the town was resettled. 

Emanuel, who was the son of the preceding, was 
convicted of taking a false oath, in 16S0. He contrib- 
uted two bushels of Indian corn towards building his 
father's mill. When compelled by the Indians to 
leave the town, he removed to Massachusetts. In 1695, 
he and his wife Mary " of Cape Porpus, now of New 
Town, Middlesex," sold to Samuel Hill, 40 acres of 
land at Cape Porpus, joining land of Richard Young, 
who bought it of Henry Hatherly, near "the little 
River falls, which river is next Cape Porpus." He 
also sold a piece of marsh near tPrince's rock, near 
Miller's, It is not certain that he returned to this 
town, but probably one of his descendants did. 

Johu Cole and Simon Teoft are only known to have 
been inhabitants of Cape Porpoise, by their being 
admitted freemen of Massachusetts, in 1653. Cole ei- 
ther came from Winter Harbor, or Wells. Two of that 
name, Thomas and James, came over with Vines, and 
settled at Winter Harbor. Nicholas and William 
belonged to Wells. Nicholas was appointed ferryman 
at Cape Porpus river, in 1664, in the place of John 
Sanders, who had removed to Cape Porpoise. He was 
to keep the ferry seven years. John probably lived at 
Cleaves's cove, where his sons, Isaac, John and Philip 
resided, after the town was re-settled in 1714. Isaac 
had a grant from the town in 1681. 

* Ambrose Berry, the last signer of the submission, was 
the son of the Ambrose Berry, or Berrie, who settled at 
Winter Harbor in 1630. Ambrose jr. married Ann Buly, 
1653* and probably moved into this town about the same 
time. He died 1661, and his widow, shortly after- 
wards, married William Scadlock, jr. If Berry left 
any children, they probably removed to Saco, as none 
t name appear to have resided in this town since. 

"Sullivan calls him Andrew Bussy, Of twelve names given by 
Sullivan, six are wrong. 

tPrince's rock was on Batson's river. 



A. D. 1716.] KENNEBUNK PORT. 79 

John Barrett and his son John were both admitted 
freemen of Wells, in 1653. John sen. was the son of 
Robert Barrett, a fisherman, who was fined for getting 
drunk in 1646. In 1653, he brought an action against 
Nicholas Cole, who had accused him of stealing his 
" come." — In 1659, he was chosen Ensign of the 
company at Wells. — He was presented for " kicking 
and abusing his wife," in 1661, and promised to amend. 
He made his will, 1662, and appointed his " beloved 
wife" executrix of his estate, but did not die till several 
years afterwards, as, 1668, he was constable of the 
town of Wells. 

John jr. married Mary, the second daughter of 
Edmund Littlefield, and removed to Cape Porpoise 
about 1666, as Morgan Howell sold a lot of land this 
year to " John Barrett late of Wells, now of Cape 
Porpoise." He was one of the appraisers to the estate 
of John Bush in 1670, and also one of the persons 
mentioned in the will of John Sanders, " to take upon 
themselves to bee Supervisors of the same." He was 
engaged in many lawsuits ; two with Richard Palmer, 
in 1670; and one with Stephen Batson who charged 
him with cutting hay and building a house on his land. 
In 1678, he was appointed grand juryman, and admin- 
istrator of Charles Potum's estate. He built a new 
sawmill, 1680, which by regulation of court paid 40s 
rent.* He was styled Ensign Barrett, in 1681, and was 
a town officer. In 1689, he subscribed two day's work, 
with two men and eight oxen, towards building Davis's 
mill. He died the same year, leaving an estate worth 
nearly .£300. He had " a sawmill at home worth £60, 
and half a one at Cennabunk £20," 28 head of cattle, 
a horse and 9 sheep. This is the first notice of any 
one's owning sheep in this town. His family, being 
obliged to leave the town immediately after his death, 
did not return after the war was over. His daughter 
Mary married William Thomas. John jr. also left a 
son John, and probably other children. John 3d. might 
have been the fisherman of that name, who lived at 
Cape Elizabeth in 1684. 

John Bush, a planter, in 1648, received a grant of 
400 acres of land, on the west side of the Little (Batson's) 

*This was a tax to support fort Loyal at Falmouth. 



80 HISTORY OF [A. D. 1716. 

river, by the sea, from Rigby's agent, George Cleaves ; 
for the consideration of 10s sterling, to be paid on the first 
of November, annually. He assigned this grant, 1650, 
to Richard Moore, who, two years afterwards, conveyed 
it to Gregory JerTery. Bush was one of the three orig- 
inal purchasers of Lyman, from Sosowan and Fluellen. 
He was an inhabitant of Wells in 1653, and was con- 
stable of that town the following year. He probably 
removed to Cape Porpoise soon after, and settled near 
the head of " Stepping-stone Creek," or Back cove, 
where the foundation of his house may be seen. In 
1663, he sold 100 acres of land to Bryan Pendleton, 
which he and his wife were to live on during their lives, 
rent free. He was at the town meeting to divide the 
marsh the same year. He died in 1670, and his wife 
Grace was appointed administratrix of his property, 
which was valued at over <£200. He had 27 head of 
cattle, besides horses and swine. Part of his lot is still 
known as the Bush pasture. He left no children. 
His widow married Richard Palmer, the year after the 
death of Mr. Bush ; for which she was sentenced to 
pay a fine, " or to receive ten stripes on her bare skin." 
This punishment was ordered, on account of its being 
believed that Palmer had a wife in England. She died 
before 1680. 

Richard Palmer had probably been in this country 
but a short time, when he married Mrs. Bush. There 
was great opposition to his marrying her, as he was 
" lying under the fame of having a wife in England." 
He, however, continuing to visit her, was sentenced to 
pay a fine, and receive " twenty stripes on his bare 
skin." In 1671, in consequence of his having " against 
all law and restraynt, or advise to the contrary, by 
indirect means, procured an unlawful joyning togeather 
in a pretended way of marriage with the said Grace 
Bush," he was required to give bonds for his appear- 
ance at the next term of the court. He was then 
" Complayned of for joyning himself in way of mar- 
riage, as he pretends, with Grace Bush, contrary to 
the laws of this jurisdiction, for which he is fined 40s 
and fees 2s 6d, which he is to pay in money, or fish at 
money price." Mr. Robert Jordan was required " to 
appear before the next Court of Assistants, there to 



A. D. 1716.] KENNEBUNK PORT. 81 

render an account why hee presumed to marry Rich- 
ard Palmer and Grace Bush, contrary to the laws of 
this jurisdiction." 

It is probable that these harsh proceedings did not 
dissolve the marriage ; or, perhaps, Palmer was ena- 
bled to prove he had no other wife, as he continued to 
reside in this town, and was licensed, in 1674, " to 
keepe apublique house of Intertaynt. for Cape Porpus." 
He resided in the house of John Bush, which had been 
assigned his wife as her dower. Bryan Pendleton, 
who had purchased Bush's property, willed to his own 
wife, " all his houseing and land at Cape Porpus, 
which Richard Palmer's wife had the use of during her 
life." 

Palmer had charge of the property of Pendleton, 
within the limits of this town, consisting of 300 acres 
of land, several islands and his trading establishment. 
One of the islands, Vaughan's formerly called Palm- 
er's Island, received its name from Richard Palmer. 
After the death of his wife, and the settlement of Major 
Pendleton's estate, Palmer probably left the town, as 
there was a person of that name residing in York, in 
1685. 

Richard Young married Margery, daughter of 
Stephen Batson, 2d. He purchased a lot of land of Hen- 
ry Hatherly, which was afterwards known as the 
"ancient Seat of Richard Young." He was drowned, 
as appears by the coroner's return, dated Oct. 23, 
1672. " Richard Young and Edward Joanes of Cape 
Porpus comeing unto an unfortunate death, the coron- 
er's inquest sitting upon them, found them by drinks 
and obstinacy, accessory to their own deaths, as by 
their verdict returned to the court and passed upon." 

There was a Richard Young living in Kittery 1652, 
who perhaps was the same person who afterwards 
resided in this town. There was also a Rowland 
Young living at Kittery at the same time. 

There were many of the name of Jones, who settled 
quite early in New England. 

Henry Hatherly married Elizabeth Barlow in 1670. 
He probably lived at Batson's river, as he owned 
land at that place, which he sold to Richard Young. 
All that is known of him, may be gathered from the 



82 HISTORY OP [a. d. 1716. 

following extracts from the county records. 

1672. " Wee present Henr. Hatherly for frequent 
publishing of Lys ; — for not appearing, fined for con- 
tempt 105, for his presentment 10s, and pay the officers 
fees, and charges of Court 4s." 

1673. " Henry Hatherly allowed to keepe a Common 
house of Intertaynment at Cape Porpus." 

" Wee present Henry Hatherly for not fitting up a 
signe according to law." Fined for non appearance. 

1675. " Wee present Henry Hatherly for his 
uncivil Carage to several womine, as threatening 
of them, that the next woman that did complayne of 
him, he would hang her." 

*" Arthur Wormstall, freeman at Wells, 1653, was 
living in Saco 1660. His children were Susan, born 
1658; Arthur 1661; John 1669. Arthur was one of 
the selectmen in 1680." As an inhabitant of Cape 
Porpoise, Arthur, perhaps the son, was presented, 
1680, u for sayleing out of Cape Porpus on the Lord's 
day," and for working thanksgiving day. — He lived at 
Little river. 

John Ellson, Samuel Oakman, and James Carry 
were also presented at the same time with Wormstall, 
for the same offence. Samuel Oakman was probably 
the son of Samuel Oakman, who lived at Casco Bay, 
1658, and died at Black Point 1680; and whose wife, 
Mary, was appointed administratrix of his estate.t 

Andrew Alger, or Anger, a lot layer, or surveyor, 
was an inhabitant of Saco as early as 1640, and was 
living there in 1653. It appears by the following 
extract from the county records, that he lived in this 
town in 1674. 

" We present Andrew Alger of Cape Porpus, for 
swearing several oaths. The defendant appearing, is 
fined 20s for Multiplying oaths, and cost of court 5s." 

The Andrew Alger of this town, however, might have 
been the son of the one in Saco, as an Andrew Alger 
continued to reside in this town till 1688, and Ensign 
Andrew Alger, probably the one of Saco, was killed, 

"Folsom. 

tElias Oakman of Black Point married Joanna, daughter of 
Andrew Alger.-— Hist. Portland, p. 135. 



A. D. 1716.] KENNEBUNK PORT. 83 

1675, in a fight with the Indians, at Scarborough. lie 
lived near the " cursed fruit," an apple tree, which 
acquired that name from the extreme bitterness of its 
fruit. The tree was in the pasture, now belonging to 
the heirs of John Hovey, near the site of the old meet- 
ing house. 

Edward Clark, who was admitted freeman at Wells, 
1653, removed to this town, and was on the grand jury 
in 1656. He was also on a coroner's jury, on the body 
of Thomas Latimer, who was drowned in Saco river in 
1661. Clark died the same year, and his wife, whose 
name was Barbara, administered upon his estate. 
Their children were, Samuel, Sarah, William, Edward, 
and perhaps others. Sarah married James Harmon in 
1659. Edward, whose wife's name was Willmott, died 
in 1671. Jacob, who then lived in Topsfield and had 
his father's land conveyed to him in 1731, was probably 
grandson of Edward sen. There were many of the 
name of Clark, settled early, in all parts of New Eng- 
land. 

James Harmon, who married Sarah Clark, was a 
very intemperate and troublesome man. In 1660, 
when in a state of intoxication, he cut his father in law 
dangerously, with a knife. Upon complaint for this 
offence, and for not providing for his family, the court 
took the following notice. "Whereas the suspicious 
words and carriage of James Harmon, before the Court 
do seeme to declare his intention to depart speedily out 
of the country, whose estate, as we are informed, lyeth 
in the hands of Stephen Batson and others. — It is 
therefore ordered that Edward Clarke, father unto the 
wife of said Harmon, hath power hereby given him to 
sequester the estate of Harmon, lying in the Hands of 
Stephen Batson, or John Batson, or others, to the val- 
ue of £60, for the security thereof unto Sarah Harmon 
and her child." — The next year, upon complaint of his 
wife, and her father and mother, he was committed to 
jail in York. One of the children of Harmon was 
bound to James Gibbons of Saco for eight years. 

After the death of Mr. Clark, Morgan Howell wa9 
authorized to collect Harmon's property, and he 
brought actions against Stephen Batson, " for not 
delivering the estate of James Harmon into his hands, 



84 HISTORY OF [a. d. 1716. 

as he had agreed to before authority," and against 
" Goodwife Batson the Ellder," for withholding two 
swine. Harmon, who sometimes resided in this town, 
and sometimes in Saco, continuing to abuse his family, 
his wife, by order of court in 1664, was allowed to live 
with her mother, ot with Mr. Gibbons, till they could 
agree to live together. Upon his promise of amend- 
ment, she consented to live with him again ; but as 
appears by the following extracts from the Saco rec- 
ords, she received no better treatment. 

" August 27, 1667. First — James Harmon is delt 
with about misusing his daughter Jane he promisheth 
not to strike hir any more and his wife Sara promisheth 
the townsmen that she will take charg of her daughter 
Jane for the time to come whereupon the townsmen 
are willing to leave her to them and their keeping for 
present upon further tryall." 

" September, 1668. The townesmen being met at 
the meeting house do acte as follows Maior Bryan 
Pendleton and selectmen namely Henry Waddock, 
Major Wm. Phillips Richard Coman these having dealt 
with James Harmon about hiscruitl usage of his daugh- 
ter Jane : they make this conclusion : by reason of a 
former order that was made by the townesmen in Aug. 
27, 1667, she shall be kept with goodwife Gibbons if hir 
husband consent till he and his wife have some dis- 
course about it with the selectmen. Attest R. Booth." 
Harmon had two children, Barbara and Jane. 
Probably they resided in Saco after 1668. 

Edward and Joshua Barton were residents in this 
town in 1661, and were fined for getting drunk. 
There was also a John Barton, perhaps of the same 
family, servant to William Ellingham of York, fined 
for the same offence, at the same time, and for swear- 
ing. Edward lived on Montague's neck. William, 
son of Edward, was fined for sabbath breaking in 1672 ; 
and his wife Ann, for some other offence, in 1682. 
William had a grant from the town, in 1681, of "one 
hundred acres of land between the great marsh and the 
little upon the northeast side of John Millers." He 
was appointed lot layer and surveyor, in 1689 ; and 
contributed a quintal offish, and a day's work towards 
building Davis's mill. His sons, John, Nicholas and 



A. D. 17 16^] KENNEBUNK PORT. S"t 

Ebcnezer returned to Cape Porpoise, when it «as 
resettled after the Indian war, ending in 1713. Ed- 
ward died 1671. His estate was valued at c£Sl 11. 
He had ten head of eattle. 

John Sanders or Saunders, who was then an inhab- 
itant of Wells, was on the jury in 1645, and was also 
fined for disorderly conduct on the sabbath. He was 
probably the son of Robert Sanders, who had a lawsuit 
with John Baker of Agamenticus, 1640, and was on the 
jury in a case between George Cleaves and John 
Winter. Edward Sanders, who was also complained 
of* at the same time with John, and for the same 
offence, was probably brother to him. John was ap- 
pointed ferryman at the mouth of Mousam river in 
1645, where he resided till 1663, when Nicholas Cole 
was appointed in his stead. He probably removed to 
this town the same year, as he purchased a lot of land 
of Peter Turbit, on Montague's neck, and attended the 
town meeting at that time. 

He died in 1670, having made his will, of which the 
following is the prolix introduction. " In the name of 
god Amen, the thyrteenth day of June 1670 — I, John 
Sanders Senis of Cape Porpus in the County of Yorke 
in New England Planter being very sicke and weake 
in body hut of sound and perfect memory (prayse bee 
given to god for the same) and knowing the uncertainty 
of this life on earth and beeing desirous to settle things 
in order, do make this my last will and testament in 
manner and form following — That is to say first and 
principally I commend my soule to Almighty god my 
Creator hopeing and believeing that I shall reseive full 
pardon and free remission of all my sins and bee saved 
by the pratious death and merrits of my blessed Saviour 
and redeemer Jesus Christ, — and my body to the 
earth from which It was taken, to be buried in such 
decent manner as to my executrix and executors 
hereafter named shall bee thought meete and conveni- 
ent." He gave most of his property at Cape Porpus 
to his wife Ann, during her life, and then unto his 
" son Thomas Sanders and at his decease to his son 
John Sanders, and soc # from heyre toheyre and next of 
kinn surviving the deceased Proprietor." He gave to 
bis son John, about 1000 acres of land, eight or nine 
H 



86 HISTORY OF [a. d. 1716. 

miles above Cape Porpus river falls, to be taken imme- 
diate possession of. The rest of his property was to 
be divided equally amongst his children after their 
mother's death. His wife and John were appointed 
executors. He left several children, Thomas, John, 
Elizabeth, and perhaps others. John jr. was a voter 
in 1663. 1678 he was one of the selectmen of the town , 
and in 1681, one of the lot layers, which situation he 
continued to hold, till the town was deserted in 1690. 
He contributed two bushels of corn, and two day's 
work on Davis's mill. His daughter Mary married 
Samuel Pierce of Gloucester. Elizabeth married Peter 
Turbat. There was another Elizabeth Sanders, who 
married John Batson, in 1661. Perhaps the last might 
be the daughter of Thomas. The valuation of the 
property of John sen. was i£140. He had 14 head of 
cattle, 5 hogs, 2 horses, "one sword and belt, 5s, I 
know not what 85." 

Trott, — probably John, — resided at Cape Porpoise, 
and died before 1666. His wife survived him, as Mor- 
gan Howell sold a lot of land to John Barret, " near a 
wigwam that onne *Goody Trott did make and live 
in." He left a son, John, who married Mary, daughter 
of Stephen Batson of Wells. The latter also left a son 
John, who was a weaver and resided in Nantucket, and 
perhaps other children. Trott's Island was probably 
granted to one of them, but if it was, the grant was not 
recorded. 

fNichoIas Bartlett of Cape Porpoise, in 1651, had a 
grant from George Cleaves, of 100 acres of land at 
Casco Bay. He however did not remove to Casco, 
and sold his lot to John Higginson. jr. in 1700. As his 
name does not appear amongst those who signed the 
submission to Massachusetts in 1653, it is likely he had 
removed from the town. 

^Persons who held civil or military offices, always had their 
titles given them, and their wives were called Mrs. Respectable 
citizens were entitled Mr. and their wives also bore the title of 
Mrs. Married men, who were less respectable, were called Good- 
man, and their wives, Goodwife or»Goody. Persons of the lower 
classes, and unmarried persons, were called by their christian 
names. 

tWilhVs Hist. Portland, 1. Coll. Me. Hist. Soc. p. 67. 



A. D. 1716.] KENNEBUNK PORT. 87 

Phinea Hull -probably Pbineas Hall.-wus taxed in 
103-2 £-1 for his saw mill to support lort Loyal ; and 
Gilbert Endicott £1, for the same purpose. Their 
S were in this town, and it is probable that the 
persons also resided here, as Hall was presented ,n 
foil! for " sawcy and abusive languadge to Mr. Mil borne 
ueir minister,"^ fined 28s. Mr. William M. Iburne 
was the minister of the united parishes of Snco and 
Cape Porpoise. 

« Richard Ball of Cape Porpus, sometimes of Win- 
ter Harbour," for .£39 9s sterling, sold to Bryan Pen- 
dleton ■» all that Island at Cape Porpus, commonly 
known by the Name of Long Island, sometimes by the 
nanie o/smyth's Island (and now properly belonging 
unto me) containing about Fifty acres, with a the 
building or Edifices of mine thereon With all the 
P rivi led%s of fishing thereon." The above from the 
county records, furnishes all the knowledge there is oi 
Sard Ball, or of any of that name, that ever res.oed 
in this town.* 

Richard Moore, in 1647, had a grant of 400 acres of 
land 'together in the village of Cape Porpus," on 
L south west side of Little (Batsoti's) river .The 
erant was from George Cleaves, for the consideration 
K sterling, yearly, payable on the first day of May. 
William Tilly's name only appears as witness to the 
transfer of a grant of land, from Moore to Jeflery. 

Simon Bussy came from Scarborough and married 
Margaret Wormwood in 1659, and for some misde- 
meanor, in which they were both implicated they re- 
ceived •• ten lashes apiece on their bare skin. Bussy 
was a witness to Montague's wi 11. J° bn . S J™ 
sneaks of him as "his loving neighbour of Winter 
Harbour " Bussy, with his family, was taken prisoner 
in 683 by the Indians, and carried to Teconnet. He 
UveoTe'arUere Silas Pinkham does. ™*»™£ 
Mary Bussy living in Arundel in 1W0. Harrow, 
whose christian name is not given, was also taken pns 

•There was an Edward Ball presented in 1001, for not Bring 

at Cape Neddock. 



S3 HISTORY OF [A. D. I* 16. 

oner, with his family, at the same time with Eussy. 
Probably neither of them ever returned. 

Robert Cooke of Cape Porpoise was indicted in 
1653. He was again presented in 1656 ; and it was 
ordered by the Court, that the sheriff " have liberty to 
make sayle of him to Barbadoes, or some other place." 
He probably was not sold, as a person of the same 
name was forbidden to reside in Saco, in 1670. 

Walter Penniwell, Penwell, or Pennel, was an in- 
habitant of Saco, in 1647, and married Mary, the 
daughter of Robert Booth. He died 16b2. His chil- 
dren were, Walter, John, Mary, Deborah, Sarah and 
Susanna. 

Walter jr. who was born in 1648, and removed to 
Cape Porpoise before his father died, was presented 
by the grand jury, and severely punished. In 1681, 
he was again complained of, by Lieut. Purinton, as ap- 
pears by the following presentment. " Wee present 
Walter Penwell, jun. for marking Mr. Watts his horse, 
as I apprehend to appropriate to himself, and upon 
his reproof for so doing, say d Penwell sayd, Devil take 
him, and turned him going. John Pudding-ton Com- 
plainant." After his father's death, he removed to 
Saco, for as an inhabitant of that town, in 16S2, he 
received fifteen stripes, for killing the cow of Joseph 
Bowles of Wells. He afterwards removed to York, 
where he was living in 1722, at the age of seventy four, 
as lie stated in an affidavit taken at that time. 

John, the second son of old Walter, died the same 
year his father did. 

Humphrey Scamman (who was probably the son of 
the Richard Scamman that w r as admitted freeman at 
Portsmouth, in 1642,) removed from Portsmouth to 
Kittery Point, and afterwards to this town. He was 
chosen constable of the town in 1678. He went to 
Saco June 12th, 1680, and kept the ferry over Saco 
river. In 1693, he and his family were taken prison- 
ers, and carried to Canada. lie died 1st January, 
1727. The name of his wife was Elizabeth. His 
children were Humphrey, Elizabeth, Mary, Hannah 
and Rebecca. Mary married Lieut. Purinton ; and 
Hannah, Allison Brown. Scamman's descendants are 
very numerous in Saco, 



A D. 171 C. J KENNEBUNK PORT. 89 

John Purinton, — sometimes called Purrington, and 
sometimes Puddington, — was the son of George Pur- 
inton, one of the first aldermen of the city of Gorge- 
ana, (York) which was incorporated in 1G41. Mary, 
the wife of George, had to make confession of her 
" light carriage," and ask her husband's pardon, on 
her knees, in open court. After her husband's death* 
in 1617, she married Capt. John Davis of Gorgeaua. 
George Purinton left five children, John, Elias, Mary, 
Frances and Rebecca. John married Mary Scam- 
man, and removed to this town. He was on the grand 
jury in 1668 ; and town clerk, and one of the selectmen 
till the town was deserted. In 1681, he had a grant of 
land from the town, to be laid out " as convenient to 
his now dwelling house as it may be had."t 

Lieut. Purinton wrote a very good hand, and was a 
man of good education ; and he took a very active part 
in the affairs of the town. He was one of the trus- 
tees, to whom President Danforth gave a deed of the 
town. In 1838, he was a Lieutenant, and commanded 
a company of men, stationed at the fort on Stage, or 
Fort Island ; and was excused from attending court, to 
answer a presentment against " Cape Porpoise parish 
for not having a pair of stocks, in consequence of his 
being in his Majesty's service." He left the town when 
it was deserted in 1690, and died two or three years af- 
terwards. He left three sons, John, James and Joshua, 
and perhaps other children. John was a house car- 
penter, and removed to Salisbury. James administered 
upon his father's estate ; and was required by the 
court to produce the records of the town, which had 
been in the possession of the family. Joshua, who 
married a daughter of Philip Durrill, was a shoe maker, 
and resided in Hampton in 1720. He had a grant of 
100 acres of land, in 1732, and was made a proprietor 
of the town, for producing Danforth's deed when the 
town was threatened with a lawsuit. 

The first notice of Nicholas Morey, or Moorey, n 
carpenter, on the county records, is in 1680. He 

*By his will he left his wife a " flock bed." 

tHe lived" at the turn on Kennebunk river above intervals 
point." — Town records. 

II H 



00 HISTORY OF [A. D. 1716. 

probably kept a public house in Wells, as he was com- 
plained against, in 1682, for selling rum without a 
license. He continued to reside in Wells till 1685, 
when he was appointed attorney of Jonathan Corwine 
of Salem, and some other merchants of Boston, to 
transact their business in this Province. In 1686, he 
had a grant of 100 acres of land, from the town of 
Cape Porpoise, joining land of John Rennolds on 
Kennebunk river. He removed to this town the same 
year, and had a license " for keeping a house of inter- 
tainment, and retailing all sorts of Liquors for the 
town of Cape Porpus." The next year he complained 
of John Downing for retailing without a license. Mo- 
rey kept a public house for several years. In 1687 he 
was presented, " as he was commissioner for the town 
of Cape Porpus, in giving in an ace. of the killing of 
a Wolf, which he knew nothing off." 

By an act of court, under Gorges in 1640, a bounty 
of 12 pence from every family was to be paid to each 
person killing a wolf between " Pascateque and Ken- 
niboncke," and the same, for every one killed between 
Kennebunk and Sagadahock. The law was afterwards 
modified, and the bounty paid out of the county treasu- 
ry. Mr. Morey presented an account for one that had 
not been killed, and received the bounty : but whether 
he committed the fraud himself, or was himself deceiv- 
ed, does not appear. In 1688, he was one of the 
selectmen, chosen by the town of Saco, for this town. 
The same year he broke his leg, and in consequence 
was excused from attending court at York, to answer 
a complaint against the town. He probably never re- 
covered from his lameness, as that was what induced 
him to make the bold and successful attempt to rescue 
his friends, when they were besieged by the Indians on 
Stage Island. He removed to Taunton after leaving 
this town ; and sold the land he had from the town, to 
John Batson. In 1700, he conveved the lot he bought 
of Samuel Snow, to Joseph Bayly of Newbury. He 
probably still owned land in the town, as his son 
Nicholas of Freetown sold a lot here m 1714. 

*Ferdinando Huff kept a pubbc house at Cape 

*The name is said originally to have been Hough. There was 



A. D. 1716.] KENNEBUNK PORT. 91 

Porpoise in 1682. George Jeffery, probably of York, 
brought an action against him for debt in 1686. Mr. 
Huff Jived where Clement Huff now does. He prob- 
ably died before the town was deserted, as his name 
does not appear on the town records after 1686. It is 
not known where he came from, or when he settled in 
this town. Thomas, who was his son, came from 
Portsmouth when the town was resettled in 1714. 

Jonathan Springer, a blacksmith, came to this town 
from Gloucester. He was indicted in 1702 for cursing 
and swearing. Jeremiah, his son, returned to Arundel 
when it was resettled in 1714. 

There was a Thomas Perkins in the county of York, 
who died in 1661. It does not appear where he lived, but 
from the circumstance of Richard Hitchcox's adminis- 
tering upon his estate, and the name not appearing on 
the Saco records, it is probable that he either lived in 
Scarborough or Cape Porpoise ; — most likely the 
former. His estate was valued at £30. Besides his 
house, lot and marsh, there was appraised a " lott lay- 
ed forth at *blew poynt by Capt. Bonnighton, the said 
Perkins served several years for according to Indent- 
ure." There was a Thomas Perkins who had a grant 
of land from the town of Cape Porpoise, in 1681. This 
was probably the son of the former. The latter was 
the father of Thomas " of Kennebunk," who removed 
to this town in 1720 and had the grant of 1681 renew- 
ed to him, as heir to the original grantee. Jacob Per- 
kins, of Ipswich, purchased part of Coxhall or Swan- 
field, in 1688. He afterwards removed to this county, 
and Mas on a jury at York, in 1712. He could not 
have resided on his purchase, as Lyman was not settled 
till 1767. 

The families of the name of Perkins in this town, 
which are very numerous, have a tradition, that their 

an Atherton Hough who came to New England in 1033, in com- 
pany with Rev. John Cotton and settled in Boston. He was cho- 
sen an assistant in 1G35, and a representative in 1C37 ; and died 
Sep. 11, 1G50. There is no evidence, however, that the families 
in this town descended from him. Mr. HufFs name was some- 
times, on the county records, spelt Hoffe, sometimes Huffe, and 
sometimes Offe. On the town records his name was written 
" fardeynandey Off." 
"Scarborough. 



™ HrSTORY OF 

ancestor came from Topsfield, and first became ac- 
quainted with this part of the country, when Col. 
Church was on his last expedition against the Indian*. 
This appears to be a mistake, as his last expedition was 
m 1704, and there certainly were persons of that name 
m this province, before his first expedition in 1689 
They undoubtedly came originally from Topsfield or 
Ipswich; and were the descendants of John Perkin« 
who was born m 1590, came into this country with Mr! 
Cotton in 1631, was made freeman at Ipswich 1633 
was representative from that town 1636, and died 
loo4.* 

Thomas Boardman had a grant of land from the 
town in 168S. He probably removed to Ipswich, as his 
son Thomas, of that town, had the land laid out to him 
in 1732; 

William Thomas and Thomas Merrill had grants 
from the town in 1681. They both resided in the town 
at the time. Thomas married Mary Barrett in 1673, 
and for an offence in which they were both implicated 
they were obliged to make " public acknowledgement 
on a training day." The grant to Thomas, was at the 
Desert marshes, near John Miller's lot. His contribu- 
tion towards Davis's mill, was " a weeks work and 
corn myself and oxen." His house was near that of 
feimonBussy. 

Merrill's grant of 100 acres was for killing an Indi- 
an V™ After his remova l to Portsmouth, he sold his orant 
to Thomas Perkins, 3d. which is part of the farm of 
one of Perkins's descendants. 

Merrill was probably the grandson of Nathaniel Mer- 
rill, who was admitted freeman at Newbury in 1640 
and died 16th March, 1655 ; leaving his wife, Susanna, 
and several children ; Nathaniel, John, Abraham, Dan- 
iel and Abel. 

^?o iclm . r r d Raildall > "« of Richard of Saco, was born 
16o9. March 11th, 1681, he had a grant of 100 acres 
ot upland, on the north side of Kennebunk river, ad- 
joining John Sanders's upper lot, -over against the 
Wonder. He was chosen constable of Cape^Porpcise 
by the town of Saco in 1688, and was one of the ee- 

*Farmer • 



A. D. 171G.] K.ENNEBUNK PORT. 93 

lectmen of the town, the following year. He probably 
did not return to this town when it was resettled. 
Margery Randall, probably sister of Richard of Saco, 
married William Norman 1650. Persons of the name 
of Randall were admitted freemen of Massachusetts in 
1634. 

Thomas Mussey was constable of Cape Porpoise in 
1663. He took the oath of allegiance to the king, un- 
der the government of Massachusetts, in 1680. He 
removed to Salisbury when the town was deserted, and 
probably died before it was resettled. His son James 
returned to the town before 1719. Perhaps he was the 
same person called Thomas Mussell,* on the county 
records, in 1663. He was probably the son of Joseph 
of Newbury, who was the son of Robert, one of the 
first settlers of Ipswich. 

Samuel York had a grant of a mill privilege, with 
John Batson and Isaac~Cole, on Middle river, in 1681. 
He removed to Dorchester in 1690, and probably did 
not return when the war was over. 

John Downing of Cape Porpoise, was presented, in 
1653, for disobedience to his father. He was probably 
the son of Dennis Downing of Kittery. There was, 
however, an Emanuel Downing of Salem, at about the 
same time. George, son of the latter, was educated at 
Harvard ; went to England in 1645 ; held several of- 
fices under Cromwell ; and was created a Baronet by 
Charles II. George, son of George, married the eldest 
daughter of the Earl of Kent. Emanuel also had a 
son John baptised in 1640, who, however, could not 
have been the John of this town, as he had a son John 
born 1655. 

John jr. married Susanna Miller in 1683. He was 
fined os in 1638, for selling liquors without a license. 
He was one of the selectmen of the town in 1689. 
When the town was deserted, he removed to Newing- 
ton, N. H. but returned in 1721 ; and then bore the ti- 
tle of Capt. Downing, being the first inhabitant of the 
town who had arrived at that honor. 

Immanuel Haynes was constable of the town in 

*IIc was sometimes called Mussell by the inhabitants. 



94 HISTORY OF [a. d. 1716. 

1689. This is the only time his name is found on the 
records. 

Richard Blanchet, John Loring and Simon Cimdey 
contributed towards erecting Davis's mill. Samuel 
Johnson, Francis Beggar, Francis Johnson, John Rose 
and John Webber, had land granted them between the 
years 1681 and 1689. Francis Beggar returned from 
Salem to this town in 1721. John Cirmihill, and Wil- 
liam Kindall, whose wife's name was Margery, resided 
here in 1663, and attended the town meeting held that 
year. Cirmihill died before 1677. 

John Miller was here as early as 1670, as he was, at 
that time on the jury from this town. He was proba- 
bly the son of Richard Miller, who died at Kittery, 
1693. Grace was the name of Richard's wife. 

John had an action of debt against Charles Potum 
in 1673. He submitted to the government of Massa- 
chusetts, in 1680, when they assumed the right to gov- 
ern Maine as a province. He had 100 acres of 
land laid out to him in 1681, upon the south side of 
the Desert marshes. He was chosen by Saco, as one 
of the selectmen of this town in 1688, and was elected, 
the next year, by the town of Cape Porpoise, to the 
same office. When the town was deserted, he remov- 
ed to Newington, and died soon after. His grand- 
children returned to this town in 1745. — His son John 
was of age to vote in 1781. His daughter Susanna 
married John Downing, jr. in 1683. 

William Norman probably resided in this town but a 
short time. In 1650, he " did acknowledge that he hath 
done Margery Randall wrong in taking of her to be his 
wife he having another in England." For this offence, 
Norman was banished, and if found in this jurisdiction, 
after seven days, was to be put to death. 

Thomas Bryan, a fisherman, resided, in 1662, on 
Stage Island. 

William Larrabee, whose family was murdered by 
the Indians, in 1703, was the son of Stephen Larrabee,* 
who signed the petition, 1680, to Charles II. to be reliev- 
ed from the heavy taxes imposed by the " Bostoners." 

William did not return to this town after the war 

*His name was written, Leatherbee, on the petition. 



A. D. 1716.] KENNEBUNK PORT. 95 

closed, but continued in Wells. He married the widow 
of Job i Look, and built the second house in that part 
of the town, since called Kennebunk.* He built his 
house on the eastern side of Mousam river, near where 
his descendants now reside. As sergeant Larrabee, he 
became noted in subsequent Indian wars, for his cour- 
age, and his uncompromising hostility against the In- 
dians. . . ^OC\ 

S«nh Fletcher was an inhabitant of this town in lool, 
and witnessed Jeffery's will. Two years afterwards he 
attended the town meeting, for dividing the marsh in 
the eastern part of the town ; and in 1671, was one ot 
the witnesses to Montague's will. His name is not al- 
ter wards found on the records. 

It is not certain who this Seth Fletcher was. I here 
was a person of this name, who was a settled minister 
at. Wells, as early as 1655. He was dismissed m lobO, 
and commenced preaching in Saco 1662. He preach- 
ed there but one vear ; but was resettled in 166J, and 
continued there till 1675. He was settled at South 
Hampton, N. Y. in 1677 ; and at Elizabeth Town, IN. 
J in 16S1. Folsom, from whom the foregoing account 
is principally taken, says he was probably the son o 
William Fletcher who died at Saco, January 1st, 16oS 
and that he manied the only daughter of Major Pen- 
dleton before 1655. In conclusion, he remarks ttbat, 
» we deem it proper to add to the account of this 1am- 
ily, that the few descendants now living, have a tradi- 
tion that their ancestor who married the daughter ol 
Major Pendleton, was a common laborer in his service, 
although they agree that his name was Seth. I his cir- 
cumstance shows the uncertain reliance to be placed 
on oral traditions ; for the evidence of records very 
clearly proves the truth of what we have stated on the 

tU The evidence of records, as cited by Folsom, do not 
prove that the Rev. Seth Fletcher married the daugh- 
ter of Bryan Pendleton, for the fact is no where stated ; 
nor is there any allusion, in Pendleton's will or else- 
where, to any relationship between them. On the con* 

^Bourne's Hist. Kennebunk. 
iHist. Saco and Biddeford, p. 108. 



96 HISTORY of [a. d. 1716, 

trary, it is presumable that they were not connected, 
or, where so much is recorded of both Pendleton and 
Fletcher, the fact would have distinctly appeared. Be- 
sides, it is unlikely that Mr. Fletcher, who was settled 
in New Jersey at the time of Maj, Pendleton's death, 
should have given up his only child, — certainly the on- 
ly one by Pendleton's daughter, — when the boy's ad- 
vantages for an education, would have been better with 
himself, than with his grandfather. There were prob- 
ably two of the same name ; for it is not likely that the 
same person would be attending a town meeting, as a 
citizen of Cape Porpoise, at the time when he was a 
settled minister at Saco. The records, probably may 
establish the fact that Maj. Pendleton's only daughter 
married a person by the name of Fletcher, but nothing 
more. It is, therefore, highly probable that the tradi* 
tional account of the family is true ; and that Seth 
Fletcher, the laborer, who married Bryan Pendleton's 
daughter, was an inhabitant of this town. It is likely, 
too, that both Fletcher and his wife, died some time be- 
fore Pendleton, or some notice would . have been taken 
of tfiem in his will, which was made three or four 
years before his death ; and that in consequence of 
their death he adopted their only child, Pendleton 
Fletcher. The fact of Major Pendleton's buying real 
estate here ; and the great interest he took in the 
affairs of the town,* heighten the probability of this 
supposition. 

Although Major Pendleton never resided in this 
town, yet, as he owned considerable property here, and 
took as great interest in the affairs of the town as any 
of its citizens did, it will not be amiss to give a short 
account of his prominent acts in the province. He was 
born in 15T9, and first settled in "Watertown about 
1634, which place he represented in General Court, 
for several years. He resided two years in Sudbury, 
and was one of the selectmen of that town. In 
1646 he was a member of the artillery company, and a 
captain in the militia. About 1650, he removed to 
Portsmouth, and was representative from that town 

*Bourno, in his History of Kennebunk, says Major Pendleton 
owned a large trading and fishing establishment at Cane Porpoise. 



A. D. 171G.] KENNEBUNK PORT. 97 

five years ; and was appointed major in the militia. 
In 1653, he was one of the commissioners to receive 
the submission of the inhabitants of Maine to Massa- 
chusetts. In 1665, he went to Saco, and returned to 
Portsmouth in 1676. He was counsellor under Presi- 
dent Danforth; and was deputy president of the 
province, and presided at the county courts. He died 
in 1680. His only son, James, removed to Connecticut, 
where his descendants are numerous. 

Major Pendleton, by his will, gave to his wife " all 
his houseing and land, at Cape Porpus, which Richard 
Palmer's wife had the use of during her life." He 
gave to his grandchild, James Pendleton, 100 acres of 
upland, and 10 acres of meadow, which he bought of 
John Bush, " in the Township of Cape Porpus, near 
princes rock." To his son James he gave about 300 
acres of land, and all his " several Islands in or near 
Cape Porpus," which were in possession of Richard 
Palmer. To his grandchild, Pendleton Fletcher, he 
gave his property at Winter Harbor. The islands 
which Jeffery sold to Pendleton, in 1658, are described 
" as being the very next unto that, Pendleton bought, 
and John Bush as his Tenant doth now possess." 

Edmund Littlefield was an early settler in Wells. 
He brought a large family with him, some of whom 
were married. He made his will in 1661, and gave to 
his " eldest son Francis," and to Anthony, and his 
daughter, Elizabeth W'akefield, all his tract of land, 
lying on the north east side of Kennebunk river, which 
had been granted to him by George Cleaves. He also 
gave property to his sons, John and Thomas, and to 
his daughters, Mary Barrett and Hannah Littlefield. 
His wife Ann, and his " youngest son, Francis," were 
appointed executors. His property was valued at about 
£600. 

His eldest son Francis came to this country some 
time before the rest of the family, and was supposed to 
be dead ; and the same name was afterwards given to 
another son. When Edmund came over, he bought a 
tract of land in Wells, and on going to take possession 
of it, he found his eldest son, who he thought was 
dead, already settled in that township. Anthony, who 
married Mary, the daughter of Thomas Page of Saco, 



98 HISTORY OF [a. d. 1716. 

and Francis sen. removed into this town soon after 
their father's death. Anthony died in 1662, leaving 
an only child, Edward, who was bound to his uncle 
Francis sen. for 12 years. His widow removed toSaco. 
In 1663 she authorized Francis to sell her third part of 
the 1000 acres which were in Cape Porpoise, in the 
possession of her mother Ann Littlefield. 

John Littlefield, and John Wakefield, husband of Eliza- 
beth, in 1641, had a grant of land from George Cleaves, 
at the mouth of Mousam river, whert they probably re- 
sided. Mary married John Barrett of Cape Porpoise. 

Francis sen. left children, two of whom, Edmund 
and Joseph, had a grant from the town of Cape Por- 
poise, in 1681, of 100 acres of land, at the upper falls, 
near the Indian planting ground. By this grant, they 
had the privilege of building mills at the upper falls, 
and of cutting timber in any part of the town ; they 
paying a yearly rent of fifty shillings. They also 
agreed to build a grist mill, upon condition that there 
should not be another built in the town. When they 
afterwards attempted to erect their mills, there was 
so much opposition made to it, by persons owning 
property above the falls, that the project was given 
up ; and the mills were built higher up the river. 
The right to cut timber anywhere within the town- 
ship, was also the cause of considerable difficulty, 
which was settled by a legal process, after the town 
was resettled. 

William and Catharine Wormwood, parents of Jacob, 
were married and resided in Rittery as early as 1647. 
W r illiam died 1690, and his property was valued at 
<£25. Jacob removed to this town before 1661, as he 
was on a coroner's jury at Saco that year. He was 
surveyor of land at Cape Porpoise 1689, and contrib- 
uted a week's work on Davis's gristmill. He died 
before the town was resettled, in 1713. Margaret the 
wife of Simon Bussy was a daughter of William. 
Thomas, son of Jacob, married Jane a daughter of 
William Reynolds, and lived in Kittery in 1706. He 
removed to this town, and had charge of Harding's 
garrison, when his son William was killed in 1724. 
He afterwards removed to Wells, on the western side 
of Mousam river, where his descendants still reside. 



A. D. 1716.] KENNEBUNK PORT. 99 

His house was the third one built in that part of Wells 
since called Kennebunk. Bourne* says he built his 
house there in 1720. If so, it was before he was sta- 
tioned at Harding's garrison. He purchased his land 
in 1719. 

Although Stephen Harding did not remove to this 
town till 1720, yet, as his descendants have principally 
resided here since, and most of the prominent events 
of his life occurred previous to the period to which the 
history of the town is brought down, it will, perhaps, be 
in place, to give some account of the family at this 
time. 

One of the original proprietors of the Lygonia, or 
plough patent, was Grace Harding, merchant of Lon- 
don. Whether the family in this town descended from 
him or not, is not known. There were two of the name, 
probably brothers, Thomas and Israel, residing in this 
county before 1670. Israel, who was a blacksmith, 
came from Providence and lived in Wells ; and in 
1672, he married Lydia, the widow of John Gooch. 
Mr. Harding was appointed administrator of Gooch's 
estate, in consequence of his widow's " suddaine mar- 
rying agane." Gooch left three sons and one daughter. 
Gooch's mother, whose name was Ruth, was alive 
when he died, and was provided for in settling the estate. 

From the following extract from the county records, 
1682, it would appear that Israel Harding, who was a 
baptist, was a preacher as well as blacksmith. " Isra- 
el Harding being convicted for very disorderly practise, 
and presumptuously taking upon him the office of a 
Minister, to preach and baptise contrary to rule and^ 
his Majesty's laws here Established, the Court here 
declare against such unwarrantable and presumptuous 
practices as having no Call from god or his people yr. 
unto." The court decreed, that if he continued to 
offend in this way, he should forfeit his estate. 

Stephen was undoubtedly the son of Israel, although 
his descendants say he was born in Providence ; and 
that they never understood that his father was at any 
time a resident of Wells. From the fact of their be- 
ing of the same religious faith, and occupation, it is 

*Ms. Hist. Kennebunk. 



100 HISTORY OF [A. D. 1716. 

probable that Stephen was the son of Israel, and was 
born in Wells ; for Israel is still a family name in the 
Harding family, and they have a tradition that they 
were distantly connected with the Gooches. Stephen 
married Abigail Littlefield of Wells, about 1702, and 
established himself near the mouth of Kennebunk river, 
on the western side, where the foundation of his house 
may yet be seen. In 1713 he was presented for selling 
rum without a license ; but in 1716 he was licensed to 
keep a house of entertainment. He and his wife being 
baptists, they neglected to attend the congregational 
meeting. Mrs. Harding in 1717 was presented for 
not going to meeting. Not appearing at court, the con- 
stable of Wells was ordered to apprehend her. At the 
next term of the court, Mr. Harding was also present- 
ed for the same offence. Neither of them appeared, 
but they petitioned to be excused from a fine. The 
court ordered John Wheelwright, Esq. to investigate 
the affair, and he acquitted them, by their paying fees 
of court. 

Harding was a very athletic man, but remarkably 
good natured. He always treated the Indians kindly 
in times of peace ; and his life was frequently spared 
by their., when they had an opportunity to shoot him. 
He was fond of hunting, and would frequently be gone 
from home a fortnight on a hunting expedition ; and 
wander as far as the White Hills. So much had he 
become accustomed to the Indian mode of warfare, 
that he was a match for them, in their own peculiar 
method of fighting. 

At the time when he had to leave his house, as has 
been narrated, the Indians best acquainted with him, 
complimented him upon his cunning, which was esteem- 
ed by them a high qualification, by saying in their 
sententious style, " Much man Stephen. — All one In- 
dian. — Stephen's fled." The Indians were very 
anxious to get him alive, to carry to Canada, but after 
waiting for days, for an opportunity, they had not the 
courage to embrace it, so well acquainted were they with 
his great bodily strength. 

On the marsh, near his house, Mr. Harding kept a 
hollow stack of hay, inside which he frequently secre- 
ted his family, in times of danger. 



A. D. 1716.] KENNEBUNK PORT. 101 

Most of the foregoing anecdotes, relative to the 
inhabitants of this town, when it bore the name of 
Cape Porpus, are taken from the county records. 
Only ten of about 100 persons whose names have 
been given, have descendants now residing in the 
town. 

The disposition to pry into each other's affairs ; to 
notice every fault ; to record every hasty word, drop- 
ped under strong provocation ; to apply for legal 
redress for every slanderous expression, and every 
fancied injury ; and to compel each other to defend 
themselves, at the expense of time, money, and good 
feelings, against charges, for offences of which they 
were only suspected of committing ; — this unfriendly 
feeling, manifested by these acts, and the habits arising 
from frequent attendance at courts, do not give so favor- 
able an opinion of their character, as their successors 
and descendants might wish to entertain of them. This 
state of things, however, was not peculiar to this town, 
or province, but it was a fault of the age. The records 
of Massachusetts are also filled with evidence of the 
same litigious feelings ; and persons of the highest 
standing and fairest reputations, were obliged to defend 
themselves against frivolous and vexatious charges. It 
is even probable that this custom of presenting persons 
for every offence, was introduced into Maine from 
Massachusetts, where the high tone of religious feeling 
would not suffer them to wink at the slightest departure 
from moral rectitude. To this peculiarity of the times, 
however, are we indebted for all the knowledge we 
possess of many of the early settlers of this country. 

Facts from such a source however can only give the 
dark shades of their character ; for it would certainly 
be unfair, to judge of a people by only examining the 
criminal records. Many of those persons, who are 
recorded as drunkards, slanderers, sabbath breakers, 
&c. were probably men of generally correct deport- 
ment ; and would even now be deemed exemplary men. 
No one would admit the correctness of his own portrait, 
in which the dark shades only were drawn, without a 
single redeeming touch ; or be willing to have it hand- 
ed down to his posterity, as a correct representation of 
himself. 

Ii 



102 HISTORY OF [A. D. 1716. 

When however the greatly superior advantages of the 
present time, for moral and intellectual improvement, 
are compared with those of the early inhabitants of 
this town, there will be but little cause for self gratula- 
tion, on the part of the present generation ; but rather 
a feeling of mortification, that they have been no better 
improved. The settlers of Cape Porpoise were very 
poor, the most wealthy possessing only a few hundred 
dollars worth of unproductive property. In fact their 
only means of sustenance was manual labor, which was 
but poorly compensated. The price of lumber, upon 
which they mainly relied for their supply of bread 
stuffs and other necessaries of life, was so low as scarce- 
ly to pay them for the labor of sawing it alone. Their 
crops and flocks were subject to the wanton destruc- 
tion of a savage enemy ; and to the waste of bears, 
wolves,* and other ravenous beasts that abounded in their 
forests. Now, application to business is sure to be well 
rewarded ; the avenues to wealth are so numerous, 
that numbers are wanting to explore them ; and the 
acquisition of property so easy that all can afford the 
time and means for gaining knowledge themselves, and 
of imparting it to their children. There were, however, 
undoubtedly many inhabitants of Cape Porpoise, who 
escaped the unenviable notoriety conferred by the 
province records, and who kept on the humble, but 
" even tenor of their way," respected, and unpersecuted, 
but who are now wholly forgotten. 

When Maine was first discovered, it was inhabited 
by several tribes of Indians, amounting to about fforty 
thousand individuals. They had a tradition, £ that they 
originally came from the west of the Mississippi, and 
after much hard fighting, at length crossed the Hudson 
river, and took the general name of Mohicans or Mo- 
hegans. When the English first visited this country, 
the natives were divided into several clans or grand di- 
visions, and these again into separate tribes. The 
large divisions were governed by a chief, who some- 

*There were bounties for killing wolves, paid by the town as 
late as 1784. 

iThere are now but 1000.— Me. Reg. 1837. 

t Heckewelder. See Williamson, vol. i. p. 454. 



A. D. 171G.] KENNEBUNK PORT. 103 

times bore the title of Bashaba, and sometimes that of 
Sagamore. The tribes were under the direction of a 
Sagamore or Sachem, who was subject to a Bashaba 
or great chief. Some writers state that sagamore and 
sachem were synonymous, or chiefs of equal rank ; but 
others assert that a sagamore was the head of the tribe, 
and the sachems were the captains or principal men. 
The sagamores generally appointed their successors. 

The general names of the tribes in Maine, were the 
Abenaques, and the Etechemens. The Abenaques 
tribes were from Penobscot to the neighborhood of 
Saco river. The Agamenticus or Accomenticus tribe 
was subject to the Pentucket or Pennicook Indians of 
New Hampshire. The Sokokis tribe dwelt on Saco 
river, and were probably subject to the Abenaques. 
Which of these tribes claimed Cape Porpoise, it is dif- 
ficult to determine. Thomas Chabonoke, a Saco 
Indian, deeded to *Thomas Wadlow or Wadleigh all 
his title to Nampscascoke, upon condition of Wadleigh's 
allowing one bushel of corn annually to " the old 
Webb," Chabanoke's mother. This tract extended 
from the " Noguncoke" to Kennebunk river. tFluellen 
Sumptimus of Saco also deeded to William Phillips, 
all the land from Saco to Cape Porpoise river, from 
the sea to Fluellen's falls, on Mousam river. Mogg 
Hogan, likewise of Saco, deeded land from Saco to 
Kennebunk river to Phillips. 

De Laet, however, asserts that the Indians in the 
neighborhood of Saco river, differed from the eastern 
Indians both in language and manners. The difference 
of language between the tribes to the westward and 
eastward of Saco river, Sullivan says, " is not the only 
circumstance, though it may be sufficient to induce us 
to believe, that the river of Saco was an important di- 
viding line between the savage nations of the east and 

* In 1657, John Wadleigh assigned land on the western side of 
Mousatn river to his son, " to be Lyable to all common Charges and 
Rates for the Town of Praston alias WelU." Wells was called 
" Preston" in Felt's Hist Ipswich, p. 75. 

tSome one in copying a deed from this Indian, instead of writing 
" Fluellen Sumptimus of Saco," transcribed it " Fluellen, some- 
times of Saco," which error afterwards crept into several other 
deads, 



104 HISTORY OF [A. D. 1716. 

west part of New England." It would seem, too, from 
the fact of Jenkins's goods being returned by Passacon- 
oway, Sagamore of the Pennicooks, that this territory 
was under the jurisdiction of that chief. The Abena- 
ques tribes were under the general control of the Basha- 
ba, who was killed in the war of 1614. After his death 
no other chief possessed the title, or the power that he 
did. His dominions, according to *De Laet, compris- 
ed what is now the State of Maine. Others say his 
authority extended as far as Naumkeag or Salem. 

The Indians are tall and straight, with broad faces, 
black eyes and hair, white teeth, and bright olive com- 
plexion. None of them are in any way deformed, or 
ever grow corpulent. They are extremely fond of or- 
naments, and of bright and dazzling colors. Williamson, 
in his history of Maine, remarks that, " amongst them- 
selves, every right and possession is safe. No locks, 
no bars are necessary to guard them. In trade they 
are fair and honest ; astonished at the crimes which 
white men commit, to accumulate property. Their 
lips utter no falsehoods to each other, and the injuries 
done to an individual, they make a common cause of 
resentment. Such is an Indian's hospitality, that if an 
unarmed stranger comes among them and asks protec- 
tion, he is sure to find it. If cold, he is warmed ; if 
naked, clothed ; if hungry, fed with the best the camp 
affords. They are faithful and ardent in friendship, 
and grateful for favors, which are never obliterated 
from their memories. Ordinarily possessing great pa- 
tience and equanimity of mind, the men bear misfor- 
tunes with perfect composure, giving proofs of 
cheerfulness amidst the most untoward incidents. 
With a glow of ardor for each other's welfare, and the 
good of the country ; all offer voluntary services to the 
public ; all burn with the sacred flame of patriotism ; 
and all most heartily celebrate the heroic deeds of their 
ancestors. The point of honor is every thing in their 
view. Sensibility in their hearts, is a spark which in- 
stantly kindles. 

" But the darker shades of character are many. An 
injury, a taunt, or even neglect, will arouse all the 

*As quoted by Folsom. 



A. D. 1716.] KENNEBUNK PORT. 105 

resentments of their untutored minds, and urge them 
on to acts of fatal revenge. Jealousy, revenge and 
cruelty, are attributes of mind, which truly belong to 
them. If they always remember a favor, they never 
forget an injury. To suspect the worst — to retaliate 
evil for evil — to torture a fallen captive — to keep no 
faith with an enemy — and never to forgive, seem to be 
maxims, the correctness of which, according to their 
ethics, admits of no question. To them, so sweet in 
thought, and so glorious in fact, is successful revenge, 
that they will go through danger and hardship to the 
end of life, for the sake of effecting their purpose. No 
arts, no plans, no means, are left unessayed to beat or 
kill the object of their hate."* 

With these traits of character, it would have been 
easy for the English settlers, to have secured their 
friendship, and assistance against the French. They, 
however, by their wanton insults, and cruelty, and con- 
stant frauds in their dealings with the Indians, aroused 
their bad passions against them, and for more than a 
century, were made to feel the effects of their impru- 
dence and injustice. The French early gained the 
confidence of the Indians, by their kindness and fair 
dealings, and always found them faithful friends and 
allies. 

Within twenty days after Philip's war commenced 
in Massachusetts, hostilities began in Maine. The 
Indians of Maine, who had long hated the English, were 
provoked to take part in the war, by the cruelty of 
some English sailors, who threw the child of Squando, 
into Saco river, to see if it could swim naturally. The 
child soon after died, and Squando, attributing its death 
to the treatment it had received from the English, 
aroused the Indians against the settlers. 

Bourne, in his manuscript history of Kennebunk, 
mentions a custom of the Indians which no other wri- 
ter has noticed. He says, it was their practice to raise 
a pile of stones when war was ended, which was allow- 
ed to stand till they had determined to renew hostilities. 

*The same character is given to the Massachusetts Indians in 
Thacher's Hist. Plymouth. 



106 HISTORY OF [FROM 1716. 

The appearance of these stones was a guarantee of 
safety to the whites, but their disappearance. was tanta- 
mount to a declaration of war. 



CHAPTER V. 



Petition for reincorporation.. ..Town called Arundel....The first 

garrison Town meetings Roads located Mr. Eveleth 

employed to preach...Harding's ferry....Obsolete names....The 
fourth Indian war....Garrisons....Several persons killed by 
the Indians....Attempt to surprise Harding's garrison.... Allis- 
on Brown, first representative....Capt. Felt and others mur- 
dered....Ralle killed....Lieut. Prescott wounded....Anecdotes 
of the Indians....Peace....Mrs. Durrill and Mrs. Baxter killed 
....The Baxter bible. 

The following from the Massachusetts records, is a 
copy of the petition of the inhabitants and proprietors 
of this town, to be reincorporated, with the proceedings 
thereon. 

"A petition of the inhabitants and proprietors of the 
town of Cape Porpus, shewing that several of the an- 
cient inhabitants and dependants of others being desirous 
to settle the said town in a regular and defensible man- 
ner agreeable to the order of the Hon'ble Court, 
— and whereas several are already set down in small 
huts in a scattering manner, which tends wholly to 
defeat this wholesome order, and to render the place 
uncapable of defence. The petitioners therefore pray 
that the Hon'ble John Wheelwright, Esq. may be 
appointed and impowered to regulate the present 
settlements as to placing the houses ; — And that he 
be enabled to demand and to take into his keeping the 
town records wheresoever they may be found, that 
persons may come to know their own rights, until the 
town be in order to choose their own officers. 

"In the House of Representatives Nov. 12th, 1717, 
Read and ordered that the Hon'ble John Wheelwright, 
Esq. be impowered to regulate the present settlement 



TO 1718.] KENNEBUNK PORT. 107 

of Cape Porpoise as to placing the houses, so as the 
inhabitants may be able to defend themselves in case 
of a war, — And that he be farther impowered to de- 
mand and keep the town records belonging to said 
place till said town be otherwise regulated. Sent up 
for concurrence. Read and concurred. 

Consented to. Sam'l. Shute. 

"May 18th, 1718. Coll. Wheelwright's return 
upon the order of this Court for regulating the settle- 
ment at Cape Porpoise on the petition of several of the 
inhabitants and proprietors of said place, as entered 
Nov. 13th, 1717, is as follows, Viz. 

" Pursuant to an order of the Great and General 
Assembly of the 13th of Nov. 1717, to me directed, 
being therein impowered to regulate the present settle- 
ment of Cape Porpoise as to placing the houses, so 
as that the inhabitants may be enabled to defend them- 
selves, in case of a war ; — In obedience therefore, I 
went on the spot, the 14th instant, and took a particu- 
lar view of the place, and the several parts thereof; and 
am of opinion, and so far as it is in my power, have 
ordered and appointed that the southwesterly side 
of the neck of land known by the name of Montague's 
neck ; it being commodious for the harbor, and con- 
venient for the fishery, and may be a guard and secu- 
rity to the fishing vessels and others which may at any 
time come in thither, as also a convenient outlet into 
other parts of the town for their creatures ; — that upon 
the highest part of that point they erect a garrison of 
about fifty feet square ; and that as many of the inhabit- 
ants as it will comfortably contain, dwell within the 
walls ; that the rest of the inhabitants build and set 
their houses in a straight line directly against each 
square of the garrison, so as they may be well com- 
manded, and within four poles each of the other ; and 
that line down towards the water to be the greatest 
number of houses ; and that each man have four poles 
square of land for setting his house, and garden spot ; 
— And that every inhabitant that settles within that 
township be obliged to build a house there, in form as 
before expressed; And that not less than four or five 
of the inhabitants dwell on that neck at all times, that 



108 HISTORY OP [from 1718 

so they may be able to keep possession of it in case of 
some sudden breaking forth of an enemy ; All which, 
I am of opinion, would be of great use and benefit to 
the publick, as well as safety to the inhabitants resi- 
ding there. John Wheelwright." 

June 5th, 1719, Mr. Wheelwright's report was again 
recorded at length, and " in council read, and accepted, 
and voted that the name of the accepted town on Cape 
Porpoise be Arundel." 

"The report of John Wheelwright, Esq. for the set- 
tlement of Cape Porpoise and the vote of the board 
thereon, as entered June 5th, 1719. 

" In the House of Representatives ; June 8th, 1719, 
read and concurred. Assented to. 

Samuel Shute." 

The original petition is not to be found in the office 
of the Secretary of State of Massachusetts, there hav- 
ing been but ten documents preserved from the year 
1715 to 1725. A fatality appears to have attended 
most of the documents and records connected with the 
early history of this town ; and, in consequence, many 
of the most important events, are left to conjecture. 
W 7 ho the petitioners were, or whether the whole of the 
petition was entered on the Records, cannot now be 
ascertained. As recorded, the petition makes no re- 
quest for an alteration of the name of the town, nor is 
any thing said as to its boundaries, although there was 
afterwards a prevailing opinion, that the limits of the 
town were defined by the General Court, at this time. 
The town was called Arundel in compliment to the 
Earl of Arundel, descendant of Thomas, Earl of Arun- 
del, one of the original proprietors of New England. 
Lord Arundel offered to give a bell to the town, but it 
was never sent for.* 

It is a matter of doubt whether the inhabitants built 
a garrison and settled on Montague's neck, agreeably 
to Mr. Wheelwright's order, or not, as there are no 
remains of a garrison distinguishable at that place, nor 
do any persons now living, recollect having heard there 
ever was one there, although Andrew Brown and 

" Traditional. 



TO 1719.] KENNEBUNK PORT. 109 

Thomas Perkins bought five acres on the " south cor- 
ner of Montague's Neck," for that purpose. The 
descendants of Thomas Huff assert that he built the 
first garrison in town on the spot formerly occupied by 
his father, Ferdinando Huff, where Clement Huff now 
lives, the remains of which are distinctly to be seen. 
It is probable the inhabitants did not even attempt to 
form a settlement at Stage harbor, but began to build 
at what was called Folly harbor, where the principal 
settlement at Cape Porpoise has ever since been. 

From the time of the resettlement of the town till its 
reorganization, the Indians were generally quiet, and 
the settlement began to prosper. Several of the old 
inhabitants of the town, and the children of those who 
had died since its last desertion, had returned, and, 
with some who had purchased land of the proprietors, 
had commenced building houses and mills, and clearing 
their lands. Before the town was incorporated, they 
held informal meetings, and made grants of land, but 
did not record their doings. The first legal meeting 
was held " Att Arondell Els. Cape Porpus on the 31 
day of march 1719, being warned by order of a war- 
rant from John Wheelwright, Esq. one of his Maj. 
Justus of the peac to meet and make choyce of town 
Officers." Jabez Dorman was chosen moderator ; James 
Mussy, town clerk ; Andrew Brown, Joseph Baily, 
and Humphrey Deering, selectmen ; James Tyler, and 
Allison Brown, hay wards or field-drivers ; Thomas 
Huff, constable ; John Watson, tithingman ; and Sam- 
uel Carr, surveyor of the highway. 

The selectmen located "a highway of four rods 
wide from the western end of the persell of land which 
Andrew Brown and Thomas Perkins lately bought of 
James Tyler, Jabez Dorman, and John Watson for to 
build a fort upon, which highway runeth down upon 
the back of the creek as appears by several marked 
trees and stakes, near whare the pound now standeth, 
and so to the place where people pases near to mon- 
tagues neck so colled." 

At a meeting held September 25, " Andrew Brown 
and Thomas Perkins was chosen to agree with John 
Eveleth minister for to carry on the work of the minis- 
try with us for a quarter of a year next, and what they 

K 



> Selectmen.' 



110 HISTORY OF [A. D. 1719. 

doe agree with him for, the town will stand by and 
allow." A committee was also chosen to collect 
" debts, dues, rents, and Reariges of rents," and to 
prosecute trespassers on the town commons. 

The warrants for calling the first two meetings were 
not recorded. The third one was called by the follow- 
ing brief notice from the selectmen. 

" Arondell November, the 5th, 1719. 

" The inhabitants of this town are to take notice that 
there is to be a town meeting on Wensday the eigh- 
teenth day Instant at ten of the Clock in the morning 
at the house of Mr. James Tyler, to Rectifye and Re- 
form some things that have been acted in said town, 
and some other things which may be for the benifit of 
said town, — by order of 

Andrew Brown 
Joseph Bailey 

At this meeting the inhabitants discovered that their 
doings, before the town was reincorporated, " ware not 
so Leagall as they would have had them to be," and 
therefore voted to " disanull all the old papers and 
begin att this meeting to confirm and grant land, 
allways alowing themselves convenient highways to be 
laid out as the selectmen seas meet." The first grant 
was to James Mussy, the town clerk, of 100 acres, in 
exchange for 100 acres he had deeded to the town. 
The land Mussy conveyed to the town, was a lot his 
father bought of John Bush in 1673.* Another road 
w*as also located " at or near the stepping stones so. 
called and so up on the south side of the said stepping 
stone creek, at the head thereof, and so a few rods to 
the southward of James Tylers mill, at or near the 
place where John Badsons old way w r ent over by the 
next beaver dam, att the head of James Tylers millpond, 
and so up into the country to Kenebunk fals." Several 
grants of fifty acres were made, to induce settlers to 
remove to this town, upon condition of their remaining 
here five years, " if not driven by the Enemye." Fifty 
acres were granted to Mr. Eveleth, upon condition of 
his building a house in the town within a year. 

*Town records. This however must be a mistake, as Bush died 
in 1670. 



A. D. 1719.] KENNEBUNK PORT. Ill 

Iii consequence of the loss of the Cape Porpoise rec- 
ords, several claimed land to which they were not 
entitled ; and others had great difficulty in establishing 
their titles to land which was absolutely their own. 
To obviate these troubles they passed the following 
vote. " Wharas Dilligent serch and enquiry has been 
made for the antient Records of the town, and nothing 
of them are to be found, whare by several are or may 
lose their rights ; — for prevention whare of a vote 
pased and the affirmative given, that the sucksesors 
of the Antient Settellours belonging to this town, should 
have all our Right and tittle or interest that we have 
unto the several settlements or sales of land, or antient 
grants and posessions which was sould or conveyed or 
granted att or before the year 1681 : Even to as many 
as can make it apear either by deed, grant, or by 
suffician witness, or any other lawful conveyance 
from the antient posessors of this town, and are to 
be laid out according to the comon course or cus- 
tom of other lots." 

Induced by grants of land, settlers began now to flock 
in ; and the town was more flourishing, and more popu- 
lous, than at any former period. A committee was 
chosen to select a place to build a meeting house, 
and measures taken to provide for schools, 100 acres 
of land being granted for that purpose. The ferry 
over Kennebunk river was re-established; and the 
right of the town therein, with 50 acres of land, 
was granted to Stephen Harding of Wells, " provided 
he and his heirs or assigns do well and truly from time 
to time, and at all times forever hereafter keep and 
maintain a good feary boot in said River, and Carry 
All the Inhabitants of Arondell from side to side, feary 
free at all times, and whatsoever they have to transport ; 
Excepting it be good and safe Riding said River, and 
not to lett people wait on Either side for the booat if it 
can Posiablely be goot off." Many other grants of land 
were made, but from the obsolete names of places, used 
in description, it is now extremely difficult to find 
where the lots were located. They were described as 
being bounded by "Stepping stone creek" — " a salt 
water cove" — " Clay cove" — " Long cove" — " Batson's 
mill pond"—" the lower mill pond"—" the lower falls 



112 HISTORY OF [FROM 1719 

on Andrew Brown's mill river" — "the lower falls on 
Middle river" — " a brook that comes from the north- 
ward, running into an old beaver pond" — " a beaver 
dam" — " the new causeway" — " the little cosway" — 
" the little river that runs into Coneybunck river" — 
"Miller's creek" — "the swamp that James Tyler's 
mill brook comes out of" — " Puddington's marsh" — 
" the Indian planting ground" — North river" — " Vaugh- 
an's neck" — " Bandigo meadow" — " Danforth's hill" 
— " the wonder" — " Palmer's Island" — " the cursed 

fruit" — "Long creek" — "Desert marshes" " Card 

Brook"—" Huff's neck"—" Dorman's mill brook"— 
" William Taylor's falls"—" Princes rock"— " Miller's 
brook" — " the great brook" — " Duck brok" — " New 
meadow" — " Getchell's brook" — " Deering's bridge" — 
" the grove" — " Baxter's brook" — Sanderses brook" — 
" cowcumber brook" — " gravelly brook," &c. 

The committee chosen to agree with Mr. Eveleth, 
gave him £26, but the next quarter of a year, the town 
voted him £30, and 50 acres of land ; and " made his 
house comfortable for him to live in, and the People 
to meet in a Sabath days." The next year [1720] 
they gave him " the sum of <i£50 for to Dispence the 
woord of god unto them for one wholl year." 

The prosperity of the town and province, was check- 
ed by the suspicious conduct of the Indians, who had 
been quiet for six or seven years. Forty soldiers were 
sent from Massachusetts to Maine, ten of whom were 
stationed in Arundel. Ralle, a French Jesuit, was 
thought to be the principal instigator of these troubles ; 
and Col. Walton was despatched to apprehend him. 
More than 100 of the inhabitants of Maine, enlisted 
with Walton in this expedition, which left the province 
weak and exposed. In consequence, an order was 
passed by the General Court, that no more soldiers 
should be enlisted from Maine, and the places of those 
already enlisted should be supplied by soldiers from 
Massachusetts. The inhabitants of Maine were only 
required to do military duty in case of alarm. 

Fears were still entertained [1721] that there would 
be a war with the Indians, and many of the inhabitants 
began to remove from the province. Governor Shute 
issued a proclamation ordering " the inhabitants to re- 



TO 1723.] KENNEBUNK PORT. 113 

main upon their estates, and keep possession of the 
country." The fears of many, however, were too 
strong to be restrained by an edict. 

Although business had generally declined in this 
town, [1722] there was an attempt made to manufac- 
ture tar and pitch, which were articles of export from 
the province. Ebenezer Taylor had liberty to use all 
the pitch knots he could find on the ground, between 
Batson's river and Bezaliel Gatchell's house, for that 
purpose, by paying to the town one shilling a barrel for 
all he should make. 

All the efforts of the whites to prevent a rupture with 
the Indians proved unavailing, and the fourth, com- 
monly called Lovewell's war, commenced. The Indians 
openly began hostilities in June, but war was not formal- 
ly declared by the English till the 25th of July. Besides 
the fort, there were now several garrisons in town, to 
which the inhabitants could flee in times of danger. 
Mr. Huff had erected his at Huff's neck ; but subse- 
quently removed it to the spot where the house he 
occupied now stands. Mr. Major had one where the 
house stands, which was formerly occupied by John 
Hovey, Esq. Mr. Harding also had one on the east 
side of Rennebunk river, near the ferry, the cellar of 
which is still to be seen. There were many built du- 
ring this and the subsequent wars with the Indians. 
There was one on the hill where Israel Stone lives, 
and another in the field near Millet's bridge. John 
Millet's house, when occupied by Mr. Prentice and Mr. 
Hovey, was also a garrison house. There was one on 
the hill near where John Rhodes lives, and one near 
James Cleaves's house. Thomas Perkins had one near 
Butler's rocks, on Kennebunk river ; Jacob Durrill 
one near Durrill's bridge ; John Merrill one near Goff 's 
mill ; John Burbank one near the old meeting house. 
There was one near Seth Burnham's* and the one built 
by order of the proprietors on Saco road. 

Although the Indians [1723] had been for some time 
very troublesome at the eastward, they did not commit 
any depredations in this town till August, when a man 

*Built by Tobias and B. M. Lord in 1747. 

K K 



114 HISTORY OF [FROM 1723 

was either killed or carried off by them.* In October, 
two men belonging to Huff's garrison, Fitz Henry and 
Bartow, being on Vaughan's Island for wood, were 
surprised and wounded by three Indians. In order to 
compel them to tell how many there were in the garri- 
son, the Indians bit off their finger nails, one by one. 
Although there were but seven men in it, they persist- 
ed in declaring it was full. The little creek in 
Vaughan's Island, into which their bodies were thrown, 
still bears the name of Fitz Henry's ditch. After mur- 
dering these two men, the Indians went towards Mr. 
Major's garrison, and assaulted Joseph Baily, an aged 
man, who was hunting for his cow. The people in 
the garrison, who saw his danger, shouted for him to 
return, but being deaf he did not hear their warnings. 
He lingered some time after the Indians had taken off 
his scalp and left him. The rock on which he was 
murdered is of a reddish color, and is said, by the in- 
habitants living in its neighborhood, to be stained with 
his blood. There being but a few men in the garrisons, 
the women put on men's clothes to make the Indians 
believe they were well guarded. 

These three Indians belonged to a company of twenty 
under the command of Wah\va,f one of the two chiefs, 
who commanded at Lovewell's celebrated fight. Wali- 
wa was brought up in an English family, but was 
induced to join the French and Indians, by the offer of 
the command of a company. He was well known in 
this town, having visited it frequently, both in times of 
war and peace. While these Indians, without his orders, 
went to Cape Porpoise, he was planning to surprise 
Harding's garrison in which were thirty women and 
children. Mr. Harding himself was absent on a hunting 
expedition, and Thomas Wormwood, an inhabitant of 
the town, had charge of it. -Not expecting an attack 
from the Indians, who had not extended their ravages 
to this quarter, he took a boat to go on board some 
coasting vessels, that were lying iii the river, loading 
with lumber. 

Startled by the report of the alarm gunsj from Ma- 

*Hutchinson's Hist. p. 274. tWahwa, or sunrise. 
lAlarrn guns, were three guns discharged in quick succession. 



TO 1724.] KENNEBUNK PORT. 115 

jor's garrison, he returned and closed the gates, when 
Wahwa and his company were within twenty yards of 
him. Wahwa was extremely irritated with his men for 
alarming the garrison, merely for the scalp of the white 
headed old man, Mr. Daily. He afterwards placed 
the scalp on a pole in view of the people of the garrison. 
Although disappointed in their plans, they committed 
many depredations, killing the cattle, destroying the 
remaining crops, and annoying the whites whenever 
they left their houses. 

The whites were very unsuccessful this season, against 
the Indians, who continued their ravages till late in the 
fall. They, however, finally went into winter quar- 
ters, and the English enjoyed a short respite from war. 
Three hundred soldiers were sent into Maine, one half 
of whom were divided into ranging parties, and the 
other half stationed at different forts and garrisons. 

This town had never till this year, sent a representa- 
tive to General Court, when Allison Brown was elected. 
The following year [17*24] Jabez Dorman was chosen, 
but there was no record of it made on the town book. 

Mr. Eveleth continued to preach for =£50 a year till 
the 4th of March, when a committee from the town of 
Saco invited him to preach half the time in Winter 
Harbor. The inhabitants of Arundel, finding it diffi- 
cult to raise his whole salary, consented to the arrange- 
ment. 

The savages recommenced hostilities early in the 
spring ; and Smith a sergeant was killed, March 23, at 
the fort on Stage Island. The April following, a num- 
ber of vessels, lying near the mouth of Kennebunk 
river, got under weigh to go out, but the wind coming 
from the southward, they were obliged to anchor again. 
Capt. John Felt of a Lynn sloop, engaged two young 
men, William W^ormwood and Ebenezer Lewis, who 
were stationed at Harding's garrison, to assist him. 
The spars were lying afloat in Gooch's creek, near the 
mill dam.* While standing on the raft, Capt. Felt 
was shot dead. Lewis fled to the mill brow, where a 
ball struck him on the back of his head, and killed 

*The mill was near where the bridge crosses the croek. It 
stood fifteen years. The remains of the dam are still to be seen. 



116 HISTORY OF [from 1724 

him instantly. The ball was afterwards found to be 
flattened.* Wormwood ran ashore closely pursued by 
several Indians, and, with his back against a stump, 
defended himself with the but of his musket till he was 
killed, having* several balls fired into him. When he 
left the garrison, instead of taking his own musket, by 
mistake he took one belonging to a soldier of the gar- 
rison. In attempting to defend himself against the 
Indians, the gun missed fire. He told them if he had 
had his own gun, he would have had the satisfaction 
of killing at least one of them before he died. His 
gun is now in the possession of one of Thomas Worm- 
wood's descendants in Kennebunk. They were all 
buried in the field, near Butler's rocks ; and Capt. 
Felt's grave-stones were standing but a few years since.t 
The most noted events of this year, were the expe- 
dition against Norridgewock, which was destroyed, and 
the death of Ralle, the chief promoter of this war. The 
next year [1725] Lovewell's memorable battle at Peg- 
wacket or Fryeburg, was fought, in which the Saco 
tribe of Indians was nearly destroyed. The war how- 
ever continued, but the whites were so well guarded 
against the attacks of the enemy, that they received but 
little injury in this part of the province. Lieut. Pres- 
cott, who belonged to Casco, had been taken prisoner, 
and exchanged and carried to Boston. In crossing 
Harding's ferry, about the middle of April on his return 
home, he was recognized by some Indians commanded 
by Capt. Nathaniel, who were lying in ambush. They 
were anxious to take him prisoner, and carry him to 
Canada again. He stopped at Mr. Perkins's garrison, 
and Mr. Perkins, Mr. Whitten, Mr. Walker, Mr. Fair- 
field, and a number more of the inhabitants of the town, 
and a friendly Indian, offered to escort him to Cape Por- 

*The same circumstance was observed in the late Seminole war 
in Florida. 

tPenhallow, page 102, says that, April 17, 1724, " the Indians 
fell on a sloop at Kennebunk which belonged to Lynn and killed 
the whole company." Hutchinson's Hist. p. 274, April 1724, 6ays 
"John Felt, of Lynn, William Wormwood, and Ebenezer Lewis 
were killed at a sawmill on Kennebunk river." Subsequent histo- 
rians bave supposed these versions referred to different events, and 
have quoted them both. See Williamson, vol. ii. p. 125. 



TO 1725.] KENNEBUNK PORT. 117 

poise. Instead of keeping in the road which crosses 
the south side of Crow hill, they intended, as it was low 
water, to cross the flats to Huff's garrison. Just before 
getting to the marsh a dozen Indians started up, and 
giving a war whoop, fired at the company. A ball pass- 
ed through Mr. Prescott's leg and entered his horse's 
side. The horse however did not fall, but ran as far as 
Mr. Major's garrison, before he died. Mr Prescott 
received several wounds, but none of them were dan- 
gerous. His escort, when they were assailed, leaped 
from their horses, and returning the whoop of the 
Indians, stood upon the defensive. Those in ambus- 
cade, fearing there might be Indians in the neighborhood 
friendly to the whites, did not repeat their fire.* 

The General Court, at the May session, determined 
to prosecute the war more vigorously. The garrisons 
were well supplied with provisions and ammunition, large 
bounties were offered to volunteers, and many friendly In- 
dians were enlisted on the side of the English. In conse- 
quence of these measures, the Indians began to entertain 
thoughts of peace. They nevertheless continued to 
be troublesome through the season ; but so well were 
the inhabitants of Arundel on their guard against them, 
that they suffered comparatively but little injury. It 
was however very hazardous to attend to their ordinary 
occupations, having constantly to go armed, in order 
to defend themselves against the attacks of the Indians, 
to which they were daily exposed. 

tA daughter of Mr. Huff, was milking but a short 
distance from the house, when her father, accidentally 
looking out of the window, saw two Indians within a 
few feet of her, one of whom had his hatchet raised just 
ready to strike. He halloed to them and they retreated. 
At another time, wishing to obtain the milk, an Indian 
caught hold of her, but she knocked him down with her 

¥(< A party of Indians waylaid Lieut. Prescott and others, as they 
were passing the highway at Cape Porpoise, and by particular 
aim wounded him in several places." Williamson's Hist. Me. vol. 
ii. p. 135. 

tThe datos of this and the following traditionary anecdotes, 
cannot be ascertained. 



118 HISTORY OF [from 1725 

milk pail, and made her escape. The prostrate Indian 
was carried off by his companions. The Indians were 
very fond of milk, and were constantly watching in the 
neighborhood of farm houses to obtain it ; but were 
easily frightened if discovered. One morning as a girl 
was milking near Mr. Major's garrison, her father, not 
being able to find a bottle of rum he was hunting after, 
inquired lofldly of her where it was. An Indian who 
had already got into the yard, thinking he was discover- 
ed, fled with such precipitancy, as to leave his blanket, 
which had caught against a stake, behind him. 

They one day attacked the house of John Watson, 
who was formidable to them on account of his great 
strength. One of them had partly forced himself 
through the door, while Mr. Watson was pressing 
against it on the other side. The contest was very 
doubtful, when one of his daughters, with an axe, 
wounded the Indian badly in the leg, who was glad to 
make his escape. Samuel Littlefield, usually known by the 
appellation of " Fat Sam," of whose wonderful strength 
and daring many incredible stories are told, was rafting 
some boards down Kennebunk river, when he discov- 
ered several Indians on the bank. He immediately 
pushed his raft ashore on the opposite side, and hid 
under a large wind-fall. The Indians soon crossed the 
river, and passed directly over the tree, under which he 
was lying. As soon as they were out of sight, he 
returned to his raft, and proceeded safely down the river 
with it. 

The Indians frequently, however, succeeded in taking 
life. A man was killed near where the present post 
road crosses Kennebunk river. Another was killed 
near Golfs mill. A Mr. Smith, who belonged to Huff's 
garrison, discovering some Indians, dived immediately 
under water, but on rising, was shot through the head. 
The wife of James March was shot in the back with an 
arrow, while standing near her own door ; and a Mrs. 
Batson was killed near Tyler's brook. 

A boy was sent from Stage Island to drive some 
cows from Trott's Island, but not returning seasonably, 
his father sent a second son, and then a third, neither 
of whom returned. The next morning their heads 



TO 1?'2C] KEXXEBUNK TORT. 119 

were discovered elevated on poles, and seven Indians 
were tracked from the island. 

The Indians themselves, although cautious, and even 
cowardly in open ground, sometimes lost their lives in 
these excursions. A squaw called Dinah, in endeavor- 
ing to escape from her pursuers, got the edge of her 
snow shoe in the crevice of a rock, and was unable to 
extricate it before she was taken. She cried for quar- 
ter, but the whites with as little mercy as the savages, 
put her to death. The rock, near the house of George 
Bickford, still bears the name of Dinah's rock. 

A noted chief, named Capt. Nathaniel, who was 
extremely troublesome to this town, was supposed to be 
an English child, stolen by the Indians in his infancy. 
One dark night, wishing to know if there was a watch 
kept at Huff's garrison, he flashed his gun to see if it 
would cause any alarm. Mr. Huff himself was on 
guard, and discharged his musket in the direction of the 
light. His ball went so near one of Nathaniel's eyes 
as to destroy its sight. An Indian attempted to ap- 
proach the garrison by carrying a slab before him, but 
it not being of sufficient thickness, he was shot dead 
through it. 

Late in the fall four delegates from the eastern In- 
dians arrived in Boston to negotiate a treaty of peace. 
After considerable delay they efFected their purpose, 
and the treaty was signed December 15th, 1725. 

Encouraged by the hopes of a lasting peace, the 
inhabitants of Arundel again ventured [1726] more 
boldly from their garrisons ; and began again to look for- 
ward to more prosperous times. 

A road was " laid out three rods wide, from ye head 
of the cove by Mr. Benj. Majors to a creeck Called and 
known by the name of Turbits Creeck, as may be found 
by staks and marked Trees, only against the head of 
the Long Cove it is Left Eight rods wide for a Landing 
Place, — and from the Sd. Turbits Creek to Kenne- 
bunk river as the way is Now untill a more Convenient 
way be found and Laid out." Two hundred and twenty 
acres of land were granted " for the use of the ministry 
in the town of Arundel forever." Mr. Eveleth, who for 
the last three years had preached in this town but half 



120 HISTORY OF [a. D. 1726. 

the time, was now employed the whole year ; and bu- 
siness was managed with much more energy. 

The Sagamores of the eastern tribes, were generally 
satisfied with the treaty of December, usually called 
Dummer's treaty, and met at Falmouth, August 6th, 
and ratified it. The French, however, who were great 
gainers by these wars, endeavored to induce the Indians 
to violate the treaty. They succeeded in sending 
out several parties, one of which in October, attacked 
the house of Philip Durrill, who lived near where Dur- 
rill's bridge now is. The following extract of a letter 
from Col. Wheelwright of Wells, to the Lieut. Governor 
of Massachusetts, dated October 27th, 1726, a few days 
after the family was carried ofT, probably gives a correct 
account of the affair. 

*" Phillip Durrill of Kennebunk went from his house 
with one of his sons to work, the sun being about two 
hours high, leaving at home, his wife, a son twelve 
years old, and a married daughter, with a child 20 
months old.t He returned home a little before sunset, 
when he found his family all gone, and his house set 
on fire, his chests split open, and all his clothing car- 
ried away. He searched the woods and found no 
signs of any killed." 

Mrs. Durrill who had been taken captive by the In- 
dians, in 1703, had an impression that they would 
never trouble her again, and therefore took but little 
pains to guard against them. Mrs. Baxter, the daugh- 
ter of Mr. Durrill, on the contrary was very unwilling 
that her husband, who had gone down to the mouth of 
the river to assist in loading some vessels, and her father, 
should leave them that morning, being apprehensive of 
an attack from the Indians. They assured her there 
could be no danger, as it was a time of peace with them. 
Her fears were however prophetic. The Indians had 
been waiting and watching for some time, for Mr. Dur- 
rill to leave his house, being unwilling to attack him on 
account of his well known courage. 

*Mass. Hist. Soc. Coll. vol. vi. p. 103. 

t Smith, in his journal, says 8 women and 2 children were carried 
off. 



A. D. 1726.] KENNEBUNK PORT. 121 

Soon after he left, they rushed in and seized the 
inmates, taking every thing they could conveniently 
carry, and attempting to burn the house, by piW the 
chairs m and about the fire. 

When Mr. Durrell returned at night, he had some 
misgivings as to the safety of his family, from not see- 
ing his little son, as usual, coming out to meet him 
His fears were confirmed, by noticing the feather* 
which the Indians had thrown away, flying about the 
road. He immediately gave the alarm and pursued 
them. The Indians encamped the first night near 
where Sherburn's meeting house now is. In the morn- 
ing, finding they were hotly pursued,* and Mrs. Durrell 
being lame and Mrs. Baxter not being in a situation to 
keep up with them, they cruelly and brutally killed 
them both. John, Mrs. Baxter's citild, being rather 
troublesome, two Indians took it, one hold of each leo- 
and dashed its brains out against a tree. They were 
killed near Duck brook. John Durrell was carried to 
Canada, and exchanged in about two years. He had 
however so far acquired the habits of the savages, that 
he ever after appeared more like an Indian than a 
white man. After peace was firmly established, Wah- 
wa used unfeelingly to describe to Mr. Baxter, the 
inhuman manner in which his wife was killed, and Loan 
of his agency in her murder. Mr. Baxter's friends 
advised him to roll the savage into a well, as he was 
lying intoxicated near its brink, but he refused to do it 
A bible belonging to Mr. Baxter, was left by the In- 
dians, in the woods where they encamped ; and it was 
found the next spring but little injured. The leaves 
were taken out separately and dried, and the book re- 
bound. It is now in the possession of a great-grand-son 
of Mr. Baxter. 

u U h i N< 7 En ? L lan £ Weekly Journal of April 17th, 1727, sayg 
We hear from the Eastward that the poor people who were ta- 
ken from Kennebunk last fall were all killed except the boy and 
that there were nine Indians from St. Francoise did it, and pre- 
tend they would not have killed them, had not our English 
followed them so closely."— Harvard College Library. 



122 HISTORY OF [from 1727 



CHAPTER VI. 

Effects of peace....Earthquake....Mr. Eveleth dismissed....First 
meetinghouse built... Mr. Prentice ordained.... Proprietors of 
the town....Saco road laid out and settled....Mr. Stoddard's 
claim....Mogg'sdeed....Roads....Schools....Throat distemper.... 

Famine Mr. Prentice dismissed.... Mr. Hovey ordained 

Old Tenor.... War.... Shipwreck on Mount Desert.... Drought 

....War French Neutrals....Fifth earthquake....Village....In- 

dian wars Prisoners exchanged Tabitha Littlefield 

Indian habits. 

As the prosperity of the country depended mainly 
upon the continuance of peace between the English 
and the natives, Sir. Dummer, the Lieut. Governor of 
Massachusetts, finally secured their friendship, [1727] 
and the whites enjoyed an interval of peace for the twen- 
ty years which followed his celebrated treaty of 1725. 

The good effects of peace were soon evident in Arun- 
del. Debts incurred by the town were liquidated, and 
measures taken to build the meeting house, which had 
been in contemplation before the war. At a town meet- 
ing held April 7th, it was voted that it should be built 
" at the charge of the town, and to be 36 foot in Length, 
and 28 foot in width, and 18 foot stud, which meeting 
house of the foregoing Dementions is to be Raised and 
sett on the east side of the Little cosway on ye East of 
Mr. Carrs now dwelling house as near to the highway 
as can conveinantly be." 

The house was to be finished in October, and <£100 
were voted for that purpose. They also voted, " the 
Rev. Mr. John Eveleth £60 money with the Contribu- 
tion money therein contained for earring on the work 
of the Ministry for one year," besides furnishing him 
with fire wood. The committee to collect " Rents and 
Rearages of Rents," brought an action against Jo- 
seph and Samuel Littlefield, for the rent of the mill 
granted their father in 1681. The town did not pre- 
vail in their suit, by reason of their bringing the action 
against Joseph and Samuel, instead of all the heirs of 
Edmund Littlefield. The matter was however com- 



TO 1728.] KENNEBUNK PORT. 123 

promised, and the money was collected and paid to- 
wards Mr. Eveleth's salary. 

This year was noted for the fourth of the great 
earthquakes that had happened since the discovery of 
the country. The first one was in 1038, the second 
in 1658, and the third in 16*03. The one at this time 
(Oct. 29) was more violent than any of the preceding 
ones, shaking down chimneys and stone walls, and 
rendering it difficult to stand unsupported. But a 
few of the oldest inhabitants in the country having 
witnessed a similar phenomenon, it caused great a- 
larm, and a temporary reformation, a large number 
joining the church. [1728] It probably stimulated the 
people of this town to renew their attempt to build the 
meeting house, which, from some cause or other had 
not been built as agreed upon. Thomas Perkins, Esq. 
for <£170, agreed " to Raise it, underpin it and Shingle 
it, make seats below, and Glase it, by the last day of 
October." He was also to be paid " for his time 
abought it, in procuring workmen*" The house was 
erected on the spot where Daniel Grant's house now 
stands.* Mr. Perkins built the house a few feet larger 
than he was obliged to by agreement, and in conse- 
quence he induced the proprietors to grant him 
a gore of land, which he represented as of little 
value, but which at that time was worth more than the 
whole house, and is now one of the most valuable tim- 
ber lots in town. 

Trustees were chosen to receive " our Proportion of 
the <£60,000 Lone money out of the Treasury for the 
use of the town, according to the Directions of the Law 
in that Case Provided, and that no person shall have 
more of sd. money lett to him than the sum of five 
pounds." This amount had been issued in bills, by the 
Government of Massachusetts, for distribution amongst 
the towns, to be loaned to individuals with good security. 

*A meeting of the proprietors was called in January 1726 M to 
assemble and meet at our Meeting house, which is the house and 
usiall Place for Public Meetings in Said Town of Arundel." It is 
probable that Mr Eveleth's house, which had been fitted up for 
" the people to meet in on a sabath days," was called the meeting 
house, as it certainly was the place where town meetings were 
holden. 



124 HISTORY of [from 1729 

Mr. Eveleth's salary was fixed at £o2, besides the 
contribution and his fire wood, so long as he should 
continue minister of the town. Being advanced in 
years, the next year [1729] at his own " Desier, the town 
did fairly dismiss him." 

The inhabitants were very unwilling he should leave 
them, as he was not only their minister and school- 
master, but a good blacksmith and farmer, and the 
best fisherman in town. He still resided here in 1732, 
but whether he died or removed from the town, is not 
known. He lived near Crow Hill. 

Mr. Eveleth (called Evely by the inhabitants) grad- 
uated at Harvard in 1689, and was settled in Stow, 
Mass. in 1700 and dismissed in 1717. He then preach- 
ed in Manchester and Enfield till he came to this town. 
After he was dismissed, Mr. John Tucker preached 
six months. He was boarded, and had 25s a week 
besides the contribution money. He probably did not 
suit the inhabitants, as they gave him no invitation to 
remain longer. 

After Mr. Tucker discontinued preaching, [1730] 
Mr. Thomas Prentice was engaged for a short time, 
who had 30s a sabbath besides his board and the con- 
tribution money. After preaching three months, the 
town, June 27, voted to give him "a call to be a set- 
tled Minister in the town of Arundel ; and at the same 
time, voted to give the said Thomas Prentis =£115 as a 
Standing Sallery yearly, and Every year while he is a 
Setteled minister in this Town, to be paid in Current 
Money or bills of Creadet as it Passeth in all Publick 
Payments, or from man to man at this Day ; And that 
which is given in Contrebution besides the ^115; and 
as a farther Incoragement, at the above said meeting, 
then given and granted unto the said Thomas Prentis 
one hundred acres of Land which the town had in 
Exchange^ with James Mussy, which land was his 
father's Thomas Mussels, and bounded as by the Rec- 
ords of said Land Doth appear upon the Town and 
County Records, — and ^100 towards building in the 
Town, provided he is a settled and an ordained minis- 
ter in said Town." A committee was chosen to carry 
the proposals to Mr. Prentice, to whom he returned the 
following answer. 



TO 1730.] KENNEBUNK PORT. 125 

" To Capt. Thomas Perkins, Mr. Stephen Harding, 
and Lieut. Jabez Dorman, who were chosen a com- 
mittee by the town of Arundel, to bring to me the 
proposals which they, at a legal town meeting, June 
29, 1730, made to me, in order to my settling in the 
ministry in the town of Arundel, and to receive my an- 
swer and refer it to said town. 

" Gentlemen, Icannot but acknowledge myselfobliged 
to you for the regard you have shown for me in the 
general invitation you have given me to settle in the 
ministry amongst you. — And now having as impartially 
as I could, considered of the affair, and having sought 
what direction and advice I thought proper, in such an 
important concern ; I have at last concluded to accept 
of your call, upon condition you will grant the follow- 
ing articles and additions to the proposals which you 
have already made to me ; viz. 1st. That the salary 
shall be advanced to =£120 a year, and shall remain so 
five years ; and on the sixth year, that it shall be ad- 
vanced to .£125 ; and on the tenth year it shall be 
advanced to £130 of current money or bills of credit, 
eighteen shillings of which shall be always accounted 
in value equivalent to one ounce of silver : and it shall 
remain so, so long as I can be supported with it amongst 
you. 2. That my salary shall be paid to me every 
half year, viz. one half of it on the first of September, 
and on the first of March from year to year, so long as 
I shall continue in the pastoral office among you. 3. 
That the town shall take the ^"100 which they have 
voted to me towards my building in the town, and build 
and suitably finish a house 38 feet in length, and 18 
feet in breadth, having four rooms and a garret ; and 
also that they build a kitchen on the back side of the 
house : which house shall be given to me, my heirs or 
assigns, &.c. and that they will get two rooms of the 
house finished by the last day of August, next ensuing 
the date hereof; and the other rooms finished by the 
last day of October, next ensuing the date hereof; or 
if they choose it rather than there should be <£100 given 
to me besides the ^100 which they have voted to me 
already towards my building amongst them, so I will 
build for myself, =£100 of which to be paid on or before 
the last day of April, next ensuing the date hereof, and 

Ll 



126 HISTORY OF [a. d. 1730. 

the other c£100, to be paid to me on or before the last 
day of August next ensuing the date hereof. 4. That 
the proprietors of the town of Arundel shall at their 
next meeting, grant me 200 acres of land, to be laid 
out where it can be clear of former grants, besides the 
100 acres of land which the town has already voted me, 
which land shall be to me, my heirs or assigns forever ; 
and also, that they shall make me a proprietor in the 
town. 

" These, Gentlemen, are the articles and additions 
which I think necessary to be made to the proposals 
you have already made to me ; and so you see the con- 
dition upon which I am willing to settle among you : 
and if they shall appear hard to you, and unreasonable, 
and so you will not comply with them, all I have to say 
is, to wish that every good and perfect gift may descend 
from the Father of Light and Mercies, upon you ; and 
especially that you may have, what I doubt not you 
may easily attain, a much better and more suitable man 
to settle among you. But if you shall comply with 
my terms, then is my answer in the affirmative, and I 
shall conclude, if it be the will of God, to settle among 
you : and if I should settle in the ministry amongst 
you, my desire and prayer to God, is that I may be in- 
strumental of advancing the kingdom of our blessed 
Lord, Jesus Christ, and may so faithfully perform all 
the duties of the pastoral charge as to save myself and 
you, that are to be under my care. 

Thomas Prentice." 

The town acceded to his terms, and a fast was ap- 
pointed preparatory to his ordination ; he being the 
first settled minister in the town. 

Mr. Prentice would have been a proprietor, even if he 
had not made it a matter of agreement, as the town 
passed a vote, some time previous, " that the ministry 
should have an equal share in all divisions of land." 

The offer of fifty acres of land to induce settlers to re- 
move into town, had greatly increased its population, and 
enhanced the value of the land not taken up. Influen- 
ced by what they considered their immediate interest, 
without regard to the future welfare of the town, the 
older inhabitants, who either inherited, or had pur- 
chased land granted by the agents of Gorges or Rigby ; 



A. D. 1730.] KENNEBUNK PORT. 127 

or who inhabited the town at the time when President 
Danforth gave the trustee deed ; or had purchased or 
inherited from those who were inhabitants at that time; 
claimed to be proprietors of all the common and undi- 
vided land, to the exclusion of those who had more 
lately become citizens. They however had no rights 
above any other inhabitants, as the grants of Gorges 
and Rigby were definite, and Danforth's deed was not 
only given to the inhabitants for the time being, but 
also to those who might at any future time become in- 
habitants. Their claims were ho»vever admitted by 
the other inhabitants, either because they were less nu- 
merous, or less influential than the self styled proprietors. 
Feb. 14th, 1726, by virtue of a warrant from John* 
Wheelwright, Esq. of Wells, a proprietor's meeting had 
been called, and Jabez Dorman was chosen mod- 
erator, and Thomas Perkins clerk. At a meeting held 
the next month, " those persons herein named ware 
Entred Proprietors in the Rights of the Ainchient Pro- 
prietors, viz. — John Watson and Jabiz Dorman, in the 
right of Morgaing Howell ; Allison Brown in the right 
of Christopher Spurrel ; Thomas Perkins and Stephen 
Harding, in the right of William Runnels ; James 
March in the right of Edward Barton ; Benjamin 
Major, in the right of John Davis ; Thomas Perkins jr. 
in the right of John Barret ; Thomas Huff, in the right 
of his father, Fardenando Huf ; Mr. John Storer in 
the right of Stephen Badson ; according to the Rights 
that there Predesessors had, and as they have bought 
it, and no other way." 

It was also voted that " every Person that Posseth 
fifty acres of land in his own Right, and is an Inhabitant 
in said Town, shall be counted half a vote, and that 
Person who hath one hundred acres, Counted one vote, 
and he who hath Two hundred acres, two votes, and so 
to be allways accounted According to the number of 
acres be it as many hundred as it will, and that no 
Person shall have liberty to vote in a Proprietors meet- 
ing in Arundel by vertue of this vote, no longer than 
while he is an Inhabitant in said Town." 

According to the foregoing vote the following persons 
were made proprietors, Thomas Perkins, sen. Thomas 
Huff, sen. John Watson, sen. Jabez Dorman, Allison 



128 HISTORY OF [a. d. 1730. 

Brown, Thomas Perkins, jun. Humphrey Dearing, 
Benjamin Major, Stephen Harding, Philip Durrell, 
sen. Thomas Huff, jun. Samuel Carr, Jesse Towne, 
Joshua Lassel, John Murphy, John Burbank, John 
Baxter, Samuel Averill, Philip Durrell, jun. George 
March, Thomas Watson, Jeremiah Springer, and John 
Downing.* 

They refused to make Joseph Hill a proprietor, in 
consequence of his being an inhabitant of Wells. After 
the proprietors began to hold meetings, there were no 
more grants made by the town. They, however, did 
not dispute the validity of the grants already made, but 
voted to confirm them ; and for a while continued to 
make grants themselves, to new settlers, biii: not without 
much opposition from several proprietors. 

January 14th, [1726] it was voted at a proprietor's 
meeting, " that Stephen Averel, Edward Melcher, 
John Staggpole, John Baxter, Ensign John Watson, 
John Whitten, James Deshon, Jabez Dorman, John 
Morging, Samuel Perkins, John Merrill, John Alltimes, 
Samuel Morging, and Benjamin Haley, should have 
one hundred acres of Land a Pece Laid out to them on 
the Country Road in Arundel, as it is laid from Wells 
Township to Saco across Bedeford the uper way, by a 
Commety appointed for that purpose, which Land so 

*The following persons were afterwards made proprietors. — la 
1723, Benjamin Downing, Jacob Wildes, John Fairfield, Joseph 
Averill, Joshua Walker, Jacob Curtis, Thomas Perkins, jr. of 
Kennebunk, Nathaniel Hendricks, Robert Smith, John Perkins. 
17-29, James March, Pendleton Fletcher. 1730, Thomas Prentice. 
1731, Thomas Bond, John Treeworgy, Samuel Robinson, Samuel 
Wildes, Jeremiah Folsom, Isaac Curtis, Samuel Hutchins, Joshua 
Purinton. 1737, Robert Cleaves, Jonathan Stone, John Whitten, 
John Jellison, John Merrill. 1738, Benjamin Durrell, Shadrach 
Watson, Moses Foster, Ebenezer Watson, Abel Merrill, James 
Carr, Thomas Derasey, Jeremiah Miller, Samuel Hutchins, jun. 
Noah Baily. 1763, Thomas Perkins, Esq. Gideon Merrill, Israel 
Stone, Joseph Averill, Charles Huff, William Smith, Humphrey 
Peering, Andrew Brown, Abner Perkins, Benjamin Burbank, 
Stephen Harding, Benjamin Downing, Samuel Wildes. 17S0, Ja- 
bez Dorman, Asa Durrill, Samuel Robinson, Paul March, John 
Fairfield, Jacob Wildes, John W T alker, Jacob Curtis, Dummer 
Mitchell, John Adams, Levi Hutchins, Benj. Meeds Lord, Jona- 
than Stone, Tobias Lord. 

The last proprietor's meeting was holden July 3, 1780 ; and tha 
last entry made by the proprietor's clerk, was April 3, 1790. 



A. D. 1730.] KENNEBUNK PORT. 1'29 

laid offt shall not exceed fourty Rods in breadth but- 
ing on said Road, and other ways as Convenient as Pos- 
ible Can be don ; which persons having so Received 
their Lands, shall be oblidged to settle according to the 
Commetys Directions, who shall be chosen and ap- 
pointed to Lay out the Land as aforesaid, and shall be 
obliged to settle on said Land according to the Com- 
metys Directions in a Defencable manner, and give 
bond to Preform the same. And likewise the Commety 
are Chosen, apointed, and Impowred to Lay out unto 
all the Proprietors that are now inhabitants in Arun- 
del, a Lot of Land buting upon the same Road or 
Highway, according to their intrest in said Town, as 
it will hold out, who shall be obliged to help the first 
twelve settlers on said Road to fortifie in a way of De- 
fence, or else loose their Intrust in said division of 
Land." Two hundred acres of land were also granted, 
at the same place, for the use of the ministry. This 
land, however, was never laid out. 

The committee, chosen to lay out lots on Saco road, 
laid out " 800 acres on the north side of Mr. John Wat- 
son's land, joyning a brook, which is known by the name 
of Cards brook, and likewise it layeth on the North side 
of the land laid out to Isaac Curtis on ye aforesaid brook." 
Four of the lots, of 100 acres each, were on the west 
side of the road, and the other four on the east side. 
The remaining six lots were on the south side of Cur- 
tis's land, on the west side of the road. The fourteen 
persons to whom they were laid out, were to pay 10s 
each and draw lots for them ; and gave bonds to settle 
on them and remain there ten years " with ought sum 
Extreordinary thing whare by they are forsed to remove, 
or loose there lives." They were likewise to build a 
garrison on the lot next to that of Isaac Curtis, of tim- 
ber twelve inches square, to be ten feet high and sixty 
feet square, with two good flankers. 

The committee also reported that each of the pro- 
prietors should have 40 acres of land, laid out to him, 
for every 100 acres he was then in possession of, by 
paying 20s towards helping the first settlers to build 
their garrison. These lots were afterwards known as 
the draft lots. 

This was the commencement of the settlement on 



130 HISTORY of [from 1730 

Saco road, or the old post road from Kennebunk to 
Saco.* Card's brook is the stream of water running 
through the tan yard of Stephen Mitchell. Edward 
Melcher lived near where Moses Thompson now does ; 
John Alltimes, near the school house ; and John Wat- 
son, near the dwelling house of Nathaniel Mitchell. 
The garrison was built on the spot where Thomas 
Dorman now resides. At what time the road was first 
located is not known. The one ordered by the Mas- 
sachusetts commissioners in 1653, although there was 
no return of it, was over the mouth of Kennebunk river 
at the wading place, by the sea shore to Cape Porpoise, 
and to Winter Harbor. In 1674 a road was ordered 
to be laid out " from Wells to Henry Sayward's mills 
at Mousom, from thence to Saco falls." 

If this road was ever laid out, it must have been 
above the former one, as Sayward's mills were near 
where the factory is. It is probable however that it 
was never made, for in 1681 another road was ordered 
from Kennebunk river, " through Kenibunke swampe," 
to Scamman's ferry at Saco. If this order was ever 
complied with, which however is very doubtful, it must 
have been the road to Biddeford lower meeting house, 
as Scamman's ferry was near the mouth of Saco river. 
There was another order passed by the county court, 
1688, for a road from Wells to Saco falls. The war 
with the Indians, which commenced about that time, 
probably prevented the road from being made ; although 
when the road from Cape Neddock [York] to Saco 
falls was required to be built by the court in 1719, an 
old road was alluded to. They were ordered to lay 
it out " from Mousom river as the road now goes to 
Kennebunk river, to the usual wading place below the 
mill, thence keeping the old road to Saco Lower falls 
below the fort." This last mentioned road must have 
crossed Kennebunk river, near where the present post 
road does, as Littlefield's mill, the one undoubtedly re- 
ferred to, was near where the present bridge is. The 
order perhaps was not immediately complied with, 
although it was probably afterwards done, as it does 

*There were several of the name oi Card residing in the county, 
some of whom perhaps lived in this town. 



TO 1731.] KEXXEBUNK TORT. 131 

not appear that there was another road ordered till the 
time of the settlement before mentioned. From the 
proprietors book of records, it would seem that it was 
laid out but a short time before the settlement was con- 
templated, as it is spoken of as the road " laid out 
from Wells township to Saco across Biddeford, the 
upper way." The road was undoubtedly soon after 
made, although Sullivan, page 220, says "the road 
from Piscataqua eastward, Mas on the sea shore through 
Cape Porpoise, — until the year 1750, when the post road 
now used, was laid out by order of the county court." 
Folsom also says, page 273, " that travellers contin- 
ued to ford the mouth of Kennebunk river, and to take 
advantage of the sea shore, where it was practicable, 
until all apprehension of danger from Indians was re- 
moved. The road to Kennebunk-port, which strikes 
the Winter Harbor road near the lower meeting house 
in Biddeford, was laid out about 1750, and it was not 
till several years after that date, that the present mail 
route to Kennebunk was attempted." These writers, 
differing in their statements,* were both mistaken, as 
there was a lot of land described on the county records, 
1731, " as lying on the upper road from W r ells to Bid- 
deford, being above Littlefield's mills. "f Also in 1732, 
when the line between Arundel and Biddeford was 
perambulated, the selectmen, in their return, say the 
north east corner of the town " is 3£ miles above the 
upper Rode that is laid out from Wells to Biddeford." 
It must have been the present post road meant, in the 
return, as it is about that distance from the upper limits 
of the town ; while the road to the lower meeting house 
in Biddeford, where it crosses the town line, is at least 
six miles from the north east corner. 

If the road was only laid out at this time, and not 
made, it was soon after opened, for a complaint was 
entered against Arundel, 1734, for want of a bridge, 
" near Watson's house on the way from Wells to Saco." 

*Sullivan wrote his History of Maine in 1795, and Folsom's His- 
tory of Saco and Biddeford was written in 1830 ; they must there- 
fore have alluded to the same road. 

tOn tho town records, in 1731, it was " known by the name of 
Saco road ;" — a name it has ever since borne. 



132 HISTORY OF [a. d. 1731. 

This bridge must have been over Card's brook, as it 
was at that place where John Watson lived. The town 
was again indicted, 1735, for not keeping the highway 
in repair, " on the upper way from Wells to Saco ;" 
the next year " the bridge on the upper way over Ren- 
nebunk river" was presented ; and in 1737, the road 
was again complained of. Besides, Jabez Dorman kept 
a public house as early, if not before 1738, on that road ; 
as did also Robert Patten in 1750, near where the road 
from the village of Kennebunk-port intersects it. It is 
probable, however, that travellers used the more safe 
route by the sea shore, during times of actual hostilities 
with the Indians. 

The grants of these lots were the last made by the 
proprietors to induce strangers to remove into town. 
Owing to this short sighted policy of not holding out 
sufficient inducements to new settlers, population and 
business received a check. 

When the meeting house was first built, it had nei- 
ther pulpit, galleries nor pews. Before Mr. Prentice 
was ordained, a pulpit and galleries were built ; and 
eight pews, which were assigned to the wealthiest or 
most influential men in town, on the following terms. 
" The one at the Right hand of the frunt to be ofTred 
to Capt. Perkins at =£14 ; — at the Left hand to Mr. 
Fairfield for £13 ; — the two next to the stairs, the worn- 
ens Stairs, Mr. Major £8, next to the mens Mr. Baxter 
£8 ; — the pue in the west Corner to Ensign Perkins at 
£10 ; the pue at the Left hand of the Pulpit next to it to 
Mr. Harding at £12 ; the next, to Mr. Downing at £8 ; 
the next, to1\Ir. Treeworgy at <£7."* 

The first claim to land under an adverse title was 
made in 1731, and in consequence a committee was ap- 
pointed " for to manage the affair" with Mr. Stoddard 
and the other Gentlemen of Boston which Claime the 
Land between Kennebunk river and Batsons River by 
virtue of a deed from old Mogg Hegin an Indian to Ma- 
jor Philips." Although the town at first treated this 
claim rather lightly, they evidently soon began to think 
it a serious affair, as the next year, [1732] they "fully 
Impowered Capt. Thomas Perkins to treat with a man 

*There were more pews built in 1744. 



A. D. 1731.] KENNEBUNK PORT. 133 

or men as the Gentlemen of Boston shall appoint, who 
CJame the Land here as there undoubted and Indisput- 
able right, So far as to Show them by what right we 
are settled here and know by what right the Gentlemen 
Clame it, in order to lay it before the Town for the 
Matter to be Accommadated without the rigour of the 
Law, if the Town think it best." 

This claim was founded on a deed, of which the 
following is a copy. 

" Know all men by these presents, that I, Mogg He- 
gone, of Saco river in New England ; son and heir to 
Walter Higgon, Sagamore of said River, but now 
deceased, do for and in consideration of a certain sum 
received by me, well and truly paid in goods by Maj. W. 
Phillips of Saco, the receipt whereof I do acknowledge 
myself being fully satisfied and paid, have given, grant- 
ed, bargained and sold, and by these presents do aliene, 
enfeoff and confirm unto the said Major W. Phillips of 
Saco, a tract of land being bounded with Saco river 
on the northeast side, and Kennebunk river on the 
southwest side, in breadth from the one river to the 
other river aforesaid, and in length beginning at the 
sea side and running up the east river unto Salmon 
falls, on Saco river, and as far up Kennebunk river 
until it be opposite Salmon falls, which falls is to be 
understood falls about fifteen miles upward from the 
saw mills at Saco falls, He the said Phillips to have and 
to hold the said land with all timber land, marshes, and 
all the growth thereon for him, his heirs, executors, 
administrators and assigns forever, freely and clearly 
acquited, exonerated and discharged from all manner 
of mortgages, sales, engagements or incumbrances 
whatsoever. Also I, the said Mogg Hegon, do for my- 
self, my heirs, executors and assigns, warrant, save and 
keep harmless the said Phillips, his heirs or assigns 
from any manner of persons that shall lay claim there- 
to ; for the true performance of the premises, I have 
this last day of May subscribed my hand, and fixed my 
seal. A. D. 1GG4, — In presence of John Wakefield, 
Mary Wakefield." 

There was an Indian, noted for his cunning and du- 
plicity, called Mugg, who lived from a child in English 
families. In 1G7G he was in Boston as agent for Ma- 
M 



134 HISTORY OF* [a. d. 1731. 

dockawando and Cheberrina, sachems of Penobscot, 
and made a treaty in their behalf. 

There was another one called Old Mogg, who with 
his family, was killed by some Mohawks, who had 
joined the English in their attack upon Norridgewock, 
in 17:24. Which of these two Indians gave this deed 
to Phillips, is not known, but it was probably the 
latter. 

When Sir Ferdinando Gorges, grandson of the orig- 
inal proprietor of Maine, conveyed his interest in the 
province to Massachusetts, in 1676, he reserved to 
Phillips all the land he had purchased of the Indians. 
It was probably under this reservation that the land in 
this town was claimed ; for he held Waterborough, 
San ford, and Alfred, by virtue of this grant ; and Ly- 
man, and the Ossipee towns were also possessed by 
deeds from the natives. 

The agent of the town, after investigating the subject, 
advised the town to effect a compromise if possible, as 
he considered it an even chance that the claimants 
might make good their title. They therefore, at a 
subsequent meeting, voted " that if Gentlemen of Bos- 
ton which Clame the land liere, viz. Mr. Anthony 
Stoddard, the Rev. Mr. John Webb, the Rev. Mr. 
Thomas Foxcroft, Mr. Samuel Adams, * Mr. Edward 
Bromfieldjun. Mr. Thomas Cushing, jun. Mr. Thomas 
Salter and Mr. John Wheelwright, Do Sett off to the 
proprietors and Inhabitants of the Town of Arundel a 
Straight Line Southwest from the first falls in Little 
River to Kennebunk River, And so according to the 
bounds of the Town of Cape Porpous, Ales, Arundel, 
as the General Court hath bounded it out for a Town- 
ship, Eight miles into the Contery from that line North- 
west ; — That then upon the afore Named Gentlemens 
giving of a quit Clame of all their Intrust and Right to 
all Lands between the head line and the Sea, Excepting 
one Thousand acres of Land at the Northwest end of 
sd. Town, To the Inhabitants of the Town of Arundel, 
or their agents for them, then the Town will lay out 

* In 1720, Major Phillips's heirs sold out part of their patent " to 
Edward Bromfield, jr., Thomas Sailer, Samuel Adams, (father of 
Gov. S. Adams,) and Henry Hill, all of Boston." Folsom, 207. 



A. D. 1731.] KENNEBUNK PORT. 135 

the aforesaid Thousand acres to the aforesaid Gentle- 
men, as a Reward for their Sevillity towards them 
Rather then have any farther Troble about it." 

By the bounds above given, the 1000 acres would 
have been on the western side of Kennebunk river, 
where the claim of this town was considered doubtful, 
and of which they never did get possession. Whether 
the inhabitants of the town intended to deceive the 
claimants, by getting a quit-claim from them of all the 
land in town excepting the northwest corner, or wheth- 
er they really meant to give them 1000 acres, in what 
was undoubtedly a part of the town, is not known. 
The offer was not however accepted ; nor was the 
claim further prosecuted at this time, but it was re- 
vived sixty or seventy years afterwards. 

During the progress of this controversy, the town 
offered Joshua Purinton, son of the old town clerk of 
Cape Porpoise, 100 acres of land, and to make him a 
proprietor, if he would give up President Danforth's 
deed, which, it was understood, was in his possession. 
He probably found it amongst his father's papers, and 
availed himself of the situation of the town, to turn it 
to his own advantage. At a subsequent proprietor's 
meeting, he was voted a proprietor, and the land grant- 
ed him.* The deed was then recorded. 

Some dispute having arisen between Biddeford and 
Arundel as to the bounds of the towns, the selectmen 
of this town and a committee from Biddeford, met, 
and agreed that " a Island Lying in the middle of the 
first falls in little River, whare the Saw mill now 
Stands, a Little below the Lower Saw mill upon ye 
said falls, be the first bounds between the said Towns, 
and so to run from the middle of the aforesaid Island 
upon a Due Northwest Line Eight miles into the 
Counterey to a pitch pine Tree marked upon four 
sides, and with the Letters B. A. which tree we have 
measured to and Marked, and according to our measu- 
er is Eight miles from ye said Island, and is three 
miles and a half above the uper Rode that is laid out 
from Wells to Biddeford." 

* The land was probably laid out at the eastern part of the 
town, at what is known as ' Puddington's Meadow.' 



136 " HISTORY OF [from 1731 

A road was laid out this year, " Beginning' at Saml. 
Littlefields house, and so Running Down said River, 
(Kennehunk,) as may be foirftd by several Marked 
Trees, to Mr. Durril Sen. before his Dore ; and from 
thence Down to Mr. F airfields Mill, below said Mill ; 
and from thence to the Maine Rode Coming out upon 
the Northwest side of Crow Hill." Another was also 
located " from Saco rode, to be two rods wide, to the 
Meeting House, and be Laid out as the way is, from 
Lt. Jabez Dormans to the other Highway on the South- 
east of Mr. Burbanks house, there to joyne in one 
waye." 

It does not appear by the town records, that there 
had been a school kept in town, or any provision 
made for one, till 1733. It was " voted to have a 
Scool Master for the year Insuing, and left it with the 
Selectmen to Provide one at the Charge of The town 
and to order whare it should be kept, as Convenient as 
can for the advantage of the Town." The selectmen 
employed Mr. Hicks, for £'2 8 10, for the year. It is 
probable that the children had heretofore had no means 
of education, except what little instruction Mr. Eveleth 
imparted to them. Mr. Prentice refusing to follow the 
multifarious pursuits of his predecessor, the town was 
compelled to incur the additional expense of an in- 
structor. 

New settlements having grown up in various parts of 
Maine, [1734] gave offence to the Indians, who began 
to manifest signs of hostility. Besides this cause of 
complaint, unprincipled traders, in violation of the 
treaty which confined the traffic with the Indians en- 
tirely to truck-houses, sold them intoxicating liquors, 
and, taking advantage of their inebriation, practiced 
frauds upon them. 

To guard against the threatened rupture, the Gov- 
ernor advised the General Court " to put the Province 
into a good posture of defence, in case it should unfor- 
tunately be again visited with the scourge of war." 
The alarm spread to this town, and a committee was 
chosen " to Discourse with ye Revd. IVtr. Thomas 
Prentice Conserning ye Garrisoning of his house." 
The labor and materials for the garrison were furnished 
by the people of the town, according to the valuation of 



TO 1735.] KENNEBUNK PORT. 137 

their property. Six shillings a day were allowed for a 
man, and four shillings for a yoke of oxen ; and ten 
shillings per hundred for plank. 

Mr. Prentice had gained the affections of his people, 
who appeared to treat him with much consideration. 
They gave him =£20 a year, in addition to his salary, 
to furnish him with fuel ; and £10 " more a year, and 
Every year for six years to Com to make up ye badness 
of his Sallery by Reson of his Complaining the money 
was Not so good as it was when he and the Town made 
their agreement." After a long debate, they gave him 
=£30, towards buying him a servant ; and " allowed 
seven shillings for mending ye Meeting House doore 
that the winde might not blow up on Mr. Prentice." 

A road was located from Capt. Perkins's saw mill to 
the meeting house, [1735] and the town was indicted 
for not having the Saco road kept in repair. Four 
pounds were voted to be given to " any Person that 
should kill a grone woolf in the town, besides what 
the Province gives." Thirty shillings were allowed 
apiece for the selectmen. Money continuing to depre- 
ciate, Mr. Prentice's salary was raised to =£180, this 
sum being only equal in value to £1*20, at the time of 
his settlement. Thirty pounds were likewise raised for 
schools, and the town was fined for not having a suita- 
ble bridge over Kennebunk river. These expenditures 
must have been a heavy tax upon the town, it being, 
with the exception of North Yarmouth which had been 
more recently resettled, the poorest incorporated town 
in Maine. The Province, which then consisted of 
nine towns, was taxed =£47, of which Arundel paid but 
£2 01 00. The population of the county was 9000, 
and of this town about 300. 

This small number was considerably reduced by the 
throat distemper, which first made its appearance in 
Kingston, N. H. in May. It soon extended into Maine, 
where it carried off more than 500 inhabitants. The 
Rev. Mr. Smith* says, October 21, " We had a fast 
on account of the sickness, which broke out in Kings- 

* Smith's Journal, p 26. This disorder was not confined to the 
throat, but seized the limbs also, and sometimes caused the whole 
body to swell. 

Mm 



I3S HISTORY OF [from 1736 

ton, and which is got as far as Cape Porpoise, and 
carries oft' a great many children and young persons, 
and alarms the whole country." It raged in Maine 
more than three years, and carried off entire families. 
George' March of this town lost seven children in one 
week. Joseph Averiil also lost several, and many other 
families were swept off. 

Business having revived in the province, and there 
being a demand for lumber, for the West India and 
European markets, timber lands became of more value. 
Their increased worth caused the proprietors of the 
common land in Arundel, to divide it amongst them- 
selves, in proportion to their taxes. 

The Indians, [1736] who had been uneasy several 
years on account of the encroachments of new settlers, 
now became still more restless. Reports of muskets 
were heard in the forests, and it was rumored that 
they intended to attack Winter Harbor. The Gen- 
eral Court, however, listened to their grievances, and 
by presents and timely acts of kindness, padded them. 
This disquietude on account of the Indians was follow- 
ed by an unusual scarcity of provisions. [1737] Many 
had no corn for several months, and it was said that a 
peck of potatoes could not be bought in Maine. All 
the hay w r as expended in April. This famine extended 
over the whole country. To add to their sufferings, 
the pluretic fever prevailed to an alarming degree, and 
the throat distemper still continued its ravages.* 

Owing to the poverty of the town, [1738] and the 
difficulty with which he collected his salary, Mr. Pren- 
tice asked his dismission. Mr. Smith, in his journal, 
says "September 19th, There was a council to day 
about Mr. Prentis's leaving his people." November 7, 
the town voted to dismiss him, "upon condition that 
he made a Deed of his House, Barn, and land whereon 
they stand," and 150 acres of land, the town paying 
him therefor ,£150. 

The following account of the family of Mr. Prentice, 
is from the Worcester Magazine and Historical Journal. 
" Rev. John Prentice was born in Newton, Mass= 
His father was Mr. Thomas Prentice of Newton, and ; 

* Smith's Journal; 



TO 1738.] KENNEBUNK PORT. x 139 

married Mary Staunton. He had been, according to 
tradition, one of Oliver Cromwell's Body Guards. lie 
died Nov. 6, 1722, M. 93. His son John graduated at 
Cambridge in 1700. In 1705, he commenced preach- 
ing in Lancaster, Mass. where he remained to his death. 
He diad much lamented, Jan. 6, 1746, JE. 66 years, 
after a life of much service and faithfulness."* He 
was twice married. His first wife was Mrs. Mary 
Gardner, widow of his predecessor. Their children 
were Staunton, Thomas, John, Mary, Elizabeth, Sa- 
rah, and Rebecca. The last mentioned daughter was 
born September 22, 1727, and married the Rev. John 
Mellen of Lancaster, and died in 1802. The late 
Chief Justice Prentiss Mellen of Maine is her son. 
Thomas, the second son of John Prentice, graduated 
in the class of 1726, and kept school in Lancaster in 
1729. The next year he was settled in Arundel. 
Although very haughty, he is said to have been a very 
popular minister, and his church and society gave him 
his dismission with much reluctance. After his dis- 
mission, he removed to Charlestown, Mass. where he 
was residing in 1762. His wife was a daughter of Jo- 
seph Swett of York. His son Joshua was ordained at 
Holliston, Mass. May 10th, 1743, and remained there 
till the time of his death, in 1786. He, as well as his 
father, visited this town several times, and preached 
for Mr. Hovey. 

The house that Mr. Prentice built at Cape Porpoise, 

* The following account, differing slightly from the one above, is 
from Farmer's Genealogical Register. " Prentiss Thomas, Cam- 
bridge Village, (Newton,) whose name is usually spelled Prentice, 
although he wrote it Prentiss, was admitted freeman in 1G52, had 
children by Grace his wife, Grace, Thomas, Elizabeth, Mary, and 
John. He was representative in 1G72, 1G73, and 1G74, command- 
ed a companv of troop, which rendered essential service in Phil- 
lip's War. He died 7 July, 1710, M. 89. His son Thomas m. a 
daughter of Edward Jackson, senr. and d. 1730, M. 55 ; his son 
John also m. and died 1689, ^E. 35. 

The epitaph on the grave-stone of Capt. Prentiss is as follows. 

' He that's here inter'd needs no versifying, 

' A virtuous life will keep the name from dying ; 

' He'll live though poets cease their scribbfing rhyme, 

1 When that this stone shall moulder'd be by time.' 

Homer, Hist. Newton, 1. Coll. Mass Hist. Soc. p. 271.' 



140 HISTORY OF [from 1739 

was enlarged by Mr. Hovey, and is now occupied by 
John Millet. Mr. Prentice first introduced potatoes 
into the town, but they were not extensively cultivated 
till many years afterwards. Benjamin Downing, one year 
raised ten bushels, which was considered a very great 
quantity, and it was a matter of wonder how he could 
consume so many in his family. 

Although Mr. Prentice left the town on account of 
its poverty, there had been no one so poor as to be- 
come chargeable to the town, after its reincorporation, 
till 1739, when Noah Bady became the first town 
pauper. 

By an existing law, every town was required to furn- 
ish a pair of stocks for the punishment of slight offences. 
Jonathan Stone provided a pair, and was allowed ^18 
for them. They were probably never used. A bridge 
was likewise built this year " over Batson's river near 
the lower saw mill." 

After Mr. Prentice's dismission, Mr. * Joshua Tufts 
preached a short time ; and May 1st the town and 
church gave him a call. He however did not accept it, 
and they sent " for one tMr. Moses Persons, Concur- 
ing with the church, and made Choic of Thomas 
Perkins to goe in behalf of the Church and Town to 
the said Mr. Persons, who had been a Scoole Master 
for som time at Manchester, to agree with him for four 
or five Sabboths to Depence ye word of God unto them, 
being advised thereunto by sevoral of the Neibour- 
ing ministers." Mr. Parsons continued here seven 
weeks, and was succeeded by Mr. John Hovey of Cam- 
bridge, who had been keeping scliool in York, and who 
preached but a few sabbaths. 

War commenced this year between England and 
Spain, and a snow, called the Prince of Orange, was 
built for the protection of the coast of Maine. Five 
or six hundred persons were enlisted in the Province, 
in the unfortunate expedition against Cuba, most of 
whom never returned. 

*Mr. Tufts graduated at Harvard College, in 1736, and was the 
first settled minister in Litchfield, New Hampshire. 

[Probably the Rev. Moses Parsons of Byfield. 



TO 1741.] KENNEBUNK PORT. 141 

After Mr. Hovey had preached a short time, [1740] 
•Mr. Samuel Webster had an invitation to settle in the 
town, but he declined it. He preached however a 
short time, and was succeeded by tMr. Barnard, who 
remained here 14 weeks. 

March 3, 1741, the town voted to give Mr. Hovey, 
who preached a short time the last year, " a Call to be 
a settled Minister here, and to offer him £180 a year 
Sallery, and the land with the House they had of ye 
Reverand Mr. Prentice, Mr. Hovey Paying to the Town 
,£150 for it." He returned the following answer to the 
proposal. 

11 In answer to the town of Arundel's proposals to 
the subscriber in order to his settling in the work of the 
ministry, viz. bis paying the town £150, and receiving 
of the said town the building and land Mr. Prentice 
conveyed to them. As there is a great prospect of a 
French war, which will very much affect the interest of 
the town, he would choose to pay the aforesaid sum of 
£150 to the town in manner and form as follows, 
viz. £100 of the aforesaid sum to be taken from his 
salary the first year, and the other £50 the second year ; 
and that the town keep up a contribution, and all mon- 
ey contributed and unmarked to be his over and above 
the salary, and what is marked he will give credit for, 
towards the rates; in compliance with which, he knows 
nothing at present that may hinder his acceptance of 
your invitation to settle with you in the work of the 
gospel ministry. fJoiiN Hovey." 

*John Webster came from Ipswich, England, as early a3 1C34. 
Ho had several children, of whom Nathan was the father of Sam- 
uel, who was the father of the Samuel who preached in this town. 
The latter, Samuel Webster, D. D. afterwards of Salisbury, Mass. 
was born 1716, graduated 1737, died June 18, 1790. Daniel 
Webster of the U. S. Sonate belongs to this family.— Farmer. 

tHe was probably the Rev. John Barnard of Marblehead, who 
died Jan. 24, 1770. 

jTho following is a copy of the title page of the sermon, that 
was preached at Mr. Hovey's ordination, which was published and 
is still extant. " The minister of God approved, a sermon preached 
nt Arundel at the ordination of Mr. John Hovey, a few weeks be- 
fore the death of the author; by the late Reverend Mr. Samuel 
Willard, pastor of the church in Biddeford : to which is added the 
life and character of Mr. Willard, by tho Reverend Mr. Prentice 



142 HISTORY OF [FROM 1741 

It was usual, when strangers attended meeting 1 , to 
have a contribution, the proceeds of which were gen- 
erally given to the minister in addition to his salary. 
Mr. Willard, when settled in Biddeford, had c £110 a 
year and the " strangers' contribution." This usage, 
instead of being considered an imposition, was deemed 
a compliment, the misobservance of which was sure to 
give offence. The money collected at such times, even 
if mostly contributed by members of the parish, was 
considered as " strangers' contribution ;" but Mr. Hov- 
ey was only to have what was really given by strangers, 
allowing his own parishioners to mark the pieces put in 
by themselves. 

" March 11th. The following act or by Law was 
made, viz. that no Dog should be suffered to be at or in 
ye Meeting House upon ye sabbath day in time of Di- 
vine Service, but the owner of such Dog should pay a 
fine of 5s." 

Impressment of men* for the Spanish war, and the 
withdrawal of the Indians to Canada, now gave the in- 
habitants of Maine cause of uneasiness. There w T as 
also at this time, so great scarcity of provisions, that 
many families were compelled to live almost wholly 
upon clams.f 

The paper money of Massachusetts being of but lit- 
tle value, there was a new emission this year, called 
new tenor, to distinguish it from the two former emis- 
sions, called old and middle tenor. These bills, by 
law, were made a tender for the payment of debts, but 
they soon began to lose their value, and finally became 
worth no more than the old tenor bills, by which name 
they were afterwards known. t 

In consequence of the depreciation of money, [1742] 

of Charlestown. Heb 11.4. He being dead yet speaketh." Mr. 
Willard's text was, " But in all things approving ourselves as the 
ministers of God." 2 Cor. 6 4. 

*It was at this time that Thomas Huff of this town was impres- 
sed. 

tSmith's Journal. 

{One ounce of silver was worth, in 1702, 6s lOrf; in 1713, 12s; 
in 1728, 18* ; in 1730, 20s; in 1737, 26s; in 1741,28s; and in 
1749, but 60s ; making a pound, which was nominally worth three 
dollars and a third, but of 37 cents value. 



TO 1743.] KEXXEBUNK PORT. 143 

it was extremely difficult to fill town offices with suitable 
persons. The fine for refusing to accept them, although 
nominally a large one, was in the depreciated currency 
but a mere trifle, which most chose to pay, rather 
than to lose their time, in attending to the duties of a 
disagreeable town office. Nearly every man in Arun- 
del was chosen constable, but no one would accept the 
situation, till one was selected, who was too poor to pay 
even the small penalty. In order to induce selectmen 
to serve, they were about this time first compensated for 
their services. 

Although the currency of the country was in an un- 
sound state, yet ship building, fishing, and business 
generally were in a very flourishing condition. Forty 
top-sail vessels were building at one time in Maine. 
There was, however, but one vessel owned in this town, 
" Huff's old sloop," which, Mr. Hovey in his manu- 
script journal, frequently mentions as running from 
Cape Porpoise 1o Boston. In fact the inhabitants had 
always been too poor to attend to any other business 
than farming, fishing, and sawing lumber. The wealth 
of the richest consisted in land, which they pertina- 
ciously retained, both to their own injury and that of 
the town. There had been a few innholders and tra- 
ders licensed for several years, but their business was 
conducted on a very small scale. Stephen Harding, 
Thomas Perkins, John Watson, and John Fairfield 
were licensed in 1734, and about the same number con- 
tinued to obtain licenses up to this time. 

By the septennial valuation of property taken this 
year, Arundel paid less than £2 of a tax of £53. The 
tax was assessed at the rate of twelve pence on every 
male citizen of sixteen years of age and upwards, and 
of one penny on 205 valuation. The population of the 
county, containing eleven towns, was nearly 12,000, and 
that of this town about 350. 

A road was laid out in 1743, " from the meeting 
house to or neer whare abouts Capt. Perkins his saw 
mill now standeth over the River Caled Batsons river, 
to Jacob Wildes, and so to ye out bounds of the town, 
and three rods wide." Several other roads were like- 
wise laid out, and others widened. 



144 HISTORY of [from 1744. 

Serious apprehensions were now entertained of a 
war with France, which would again bring with it the 
horrors of an Indian war. Garrisons and forts were 
put in a state of repair, and soldiers were sent from 
Massachusetts to the principal towns in Maine. Min- 
ute men were also enlisted in the county of York to be 
in readiness for a rupture with the Indians. War was 
actually declared against them in 1744, and they began 
to be troublesome to the eastward. The following year 
[1745] an expedition was fitted out fromNew England, 
which resulted in the capture of Louisburg. 

A company of men from this town were engaged 
in the enterprise, commanded by Capt. Thomas Per- 
kins, Lieut. John Burbank, and Ensign John Murphy. 
Some of the privates returned August 1, a few weeks 
after the battle, but the officers remained at Cape 
Breton till the next year.* Several on their return to 
Massachusetts also came in Cape Porpoise for a har- 
bor, amongst whom, Mr. Hovey mentions Capt. Ives 
and Lieut. Abbot. 

Although the Indians had committed no depredations 
in this town, [174G] it being in a degree sheltered by 
the new towns that had grown up since the former 
wars, yet the inhabitants were in a constant state of 
alarm. The General Court had appropriated money 
to put the principal forts and garrisons of Maine in a 
state of defence, but nothing had been allowed to Ar- 
undel. To obtain some assistance, the town, which 
had not been represented for twenty two years, now 
chose Thomas Perkins representative " to the Grand 
and General Court." Aid was procured for repairing 
the garrisons, and the town voted to take " ye Twelve 
Pounds which the Province gave to the Rev. Mr. John 
Hovey towards his Repairing his Garrison" and to re- 
pair it themselves. One hundred pounds old tenor was 
afterwards raised for that purpose. 

So many men having been taken from their farms to 
join the expedition to Cape Breton, there was not pro- 
visions enough raised to supply the demand. In 
December, corn was 25s a bushel, wheat 285, flour £0 

^Mr. Hovey 's journal. 



TO 174G.] KENNEBUNK PORT. 145 

a hundred, and molasses 28s a gallon.* Prices, in con- 
sequence of a very severe winter, were still higher the 
next year. Corn was 30s, and flour =£10, in the depre- 
ciated currency. t 

The winter was very cold. In January 1747, the 
" snow in the woods three feet deep, and a very hard 
winter; abundance of snow, and cold freezing weather." 
In February, " there was an abundance of snow on the 
ground, and drifted in the lanes above the fences in 
many places." The spring however was rather for- 
ward ; Mr. Hovey says " March 11th, the snow pretty 
well gone about the Cape ; — 19th, I began to garden, 
sowed parsnips, cabbages, and turnips." 

A large French fleet under the command of the 
Duke D'Anville, made an unsuccessful assault upon 
Annapolis, Nova Scotia, in 1746. The fleet being sub- 
sequently scattered by storms, returned to France ; but 
to guard against another attack, a reinforcement of 
men was sent down from Massachusetts, New Hamp- 
shire and Maine. Several men from Arundel, on their 
passage to join their regiment, were cast away at Mount 
Desert and some of them drowned ; amongst whom 
were John Treeworgy, Samuel Averill and others. It 
was reported by the survivors, that the captain of the 
vessel, in order to insure his own safety, secured down 
the hatches after the vessel struck, and left the soldiers 
to perish miserably in confinement. 

There is however some obscurity about this transac- 
tion. Mr. Hovey, under the date of February J 4th, 
says they " heard the Averies, Amos Towne, Hues, 
and Ensign Sampson were cast away at Mt. Desert J 

■ who were going down with Capt. Perkins to 

Annapolis." 

It is not certainly known who commanded the vessel. 
John Walker, for circulating the story, was prosecuted 
by the person implicated, but the result of the suit is 
not known. 

Maine lost between 2 and 3,000 men in this war. [1748] 
Arundel being no longer a frontier town, but protected 
by inland towns, did not lose an inhabitant within its 

*Mr. Hovey's journal. In 1749, he went to Wells after meal, 
and gave 30s a bushel. 

t Williamson's Hist. vol. ii. p. 255. $ Some words illegible. 

N 



146 HISTORY of [from 1748 

limits. Several however were probably killed in the 
service of the province, as there were frequent drafts 
made for the protection of the eastern settlements. 
*Eliphalet Perkins, Robinson and several others went 
to Penobscot. Alarms were also very frequent, and 
the savages were constantly in this neighborhood. Mr. 
Hovey, April 28, says "the eastern towns all in alarm 
because of widow Stewart's house being burnt at AVells. 
She and a child lost, supposed to have been done by 
the Indians." 

October 7, a treaty of peace was signed at Aix-la- 
Chapelle, by the English, French and Spanish crowns, 
but the fear with the Indians still continued. With 
the return of peace, business began to revive, and lum- 
ber, potash, furs, and fish, were in demand, in exchange 
for pork and corn from the southern states. Cape Por- 
poise was then, as it has always continued to be, much 
frequented as a harbor during the stormy seasons of the 
year. Mr. Hovey speaks of a sloop from Lisbon ; — the 
schooner Jolly Jean from Lisbon ; — a schooner com- 
manded by Capt. Fogg ; — a schooner commanded by 
Capt. Frost, from Barbadoes, bound to Portsmouth ; — 
Capt. Davis in a schooner from Annapolis, with Capt. 
Morris, Lieut. Wise, and a number of soldiers bound 
for Boston ; — a sloop from Annapolis ; — a sloop from 
Louisburg, bringing news of Sir William's regiment 
having embarked, and a number of citizens of this 
town being on board a sloop belonging to Williams. 
Besides these transient vessels there were several owned 
at Cape Porpoise, [1749] running regularly to Boston, 
and other western ports. Mr. James Huff having lost his 
"old sloop," built two others, one of which he after- 
wards sold, and the other was cast away.f Mr. Hovey, 
June 17, says "Huff's sloop, the Swallow, returned from 
New York with flour. 19th. Stone's schooner Mary 
with 8 or 10 hands sailed for Georges for hay. 20th. 
Thomas Huff and Joseph Averill bought a boat for 
£80. July 26. Deacon Merrill launched his sloop."| 

*AJr. Hovey's Journal. 

t" Jan. 24, 1751, — HufFs sloop and two vessels more cast away 
In the hurricane on Kittery point." 

iFrom 1743 to 1751,— after which period the journal is missing, 



TO 1749.] KEXNEBUNK PORT. 147 

Stone's sloop was sent for hay in consequence of the 
scarcity, caused by the severe droughts of the summers 
of 1748 and 1740. Of these dry seasons, Mr. Hovey, 
so often quoted, says " August 1st. As dry a summer 
as was ever known. 12th, an excessive drought, [and 
the whole town over the woods is on fire, — much dam- 
age in my fencing, c£150, and house and barn narrowly 
escaped." He afterwards remarks, **' Mars approach- 
ing the earth, anno 1748 was pretty dry and not good 
for hay ; the grass not being rooted in the fall, and Mars 
coming nearer the earth still, an early and long contin- 
ued drought came on, such as looked likely to cause a 
famine in the land ; and Mars, a hot and fiery planet, on 
the 18th of June being as near the earth as possible, 
never was there known such a scarcity of English hay, 
scarce two tons being cut where persons could gener- 
ally cut twenty, which raised the price of right good 
hay, to .£100 old tenor a load at Boston ; and the 
country in general full of concern how to winter their 
stocks ; and had not God mercifully restrained the 
snow, and kept the ground open, much loss of cattle 
would have ensued, but a moderate winter prevented." 

" April 2d. The scarcity of hay so great, and enter- 
tainment for horses on the road so costly, that people, I 

— Mr. Hovey notices several other vessels. In 1750, at one tim£ 
there were" ten sail in the harbor, and the house half filled wit„ 
strangers." " Out of a Rhode-Islar.d-man bought £ cwt. rice. 
41 A man accidentally killed a board an Annapolis schooner, an" 
buried here." " Elliot in the harbor from Beverly." " Capt. San- 
ders inhere." " Mr. Loring returning home by water, a contrary 
wind put him into the harbour, and in the afternoon he preached 
admirably." 

June 20, 1750. " Dixey Stone and Perkins launched their 
sloop." " Burbank launched his great schooner." " Sept. 28, 
Doctor Dexter returned from Dcdham, and brought news that 
Burbank and Fairfield's great schooner was lost in the Bay of Fun- 
dy." 1751. " Mitchell's sloop lay thumping on the- bar from the 
night tide till day tide, but went off without any injury. Wheeler's 
- sloop, on Thursday last, coming over the bar in right good weath- 
er, beat a hole in her bottom, stove off her rudder and part of her 
stern, and they wero forced to cut away the mast. The damage 
£200 as they judge." " Entered Wildes from Rhode Island, and 
Webber from Boston with Wiswall's ringing for his new schooner, 
and fishing stores." "August. DurriU's sloop launched at night. " 

"This entry was made under date of Jan. 1, 1750. 



148 HISTORY OF [from 1749 

am informed, went to York Court on foot ; — no money 
but our Province that goes and passes." 

" June loth. A provincial fast, because of a grievous 
drought in the land, and the fruits of the trees consumed 
by devouring insects." 

October 14, a treaty was concluded with the Indians 
at Falmouth, and the following year [1750] the inhab- 
itants left their blockhouses and garrisons, and returned 
securely to their former employments. There was 
soon however cause for fresh uneasiness, on account of 
the imprudence of the whites, between whom and the 
Indians there were frequent skirmishes at the eastward. 
Although these troubles were at a distance, yet exagge- 
rated accounts of them soon spread over the country, 
and kept even the western towns of Maine in constant 
state of inquietude.* 

Although Arundel lost part of its territory on the 
western side of the town, it gained some on the eastern. 

*Mr. Hovey, January 1750, says, " Heard 21st of last month, of 
an Indian's being killed at Wiscasset, by Allbee, Sam. Ball, Ben 
Dite and others. Two more were wounded at the same time. 
The men were taken forcibly away from the sheriff, one Arnold, 
who was bringing them to justice, by a mob at North Yarmouth or 

Falmouth. February 21st. A special court expected to try tha 

men in York jail, that killed the Indian, but dropped for want of 

a quorum. June 19. The trial of the men came on that fired 

through the Indian wigwam at Wiscasset, and one of them was 

killed, and two wounded with buckshot. 21st. By Capt. 

Groves of Wiscasset. heard that Allbee, one of the youngsters that 
fired on the Indians and was indicted for murder, was cleared ; and 
it being so contrary to the judgement of the Court, they required 
bond for said Allbee's appearance again this time twelve months. 
Ball and Dight are ordered to continue in jail another year. Al- 
though the grand jury found the bill against them, and they were 
indicted for high trespass, yet the King's Attorney is against their 
being tried in York, because no jury can be had here, he thinks, 
to do them justice." 

For an account of this affair, see Williamson's Hist. Maine, vol. 
ii. p. 2G7. 

January 31st. M A rumour flies about that the French are aid- 
ing and personally assisting the Indians in the war with the new 
Governour, and in a skirmish at Annapolis, two Frenchmen tak- 
en with a number of Indians." 

September 3d. (i An alarm made at Richmond fort, and a post 
sent to Boston because a great number of Indians are together and 
very abusive. 11th, Mr. Tufts and his familv are here from 
Sheepscot, and say all are in garrison there." 



TO 1751.] KENNEBUNK PORT. 149 

The line running north west from Scadlock's falls, did 
not leave the Vines and Oldham, or the Saco patent, 
four miles wide " eight miles into the country." When 
the draft lots were laid out, several of them were bound- 
ed by the Biddeford line. The inhabitants of Biddeford, 
in measuring their lots from Saco river, found that four 
miles would carry them within the limits of this town ; 
and they therefore claimed the land, notwithstanding 
the line had been firmly established. At a meeting of 
the proprietors, held February 26, 1751, it was voted 
that " the charge shall be born by all the proprietors 
according to their intrust, in defending the Trespass, 
which Capt. Bradbury and Mr. Hooper say Capt. Fair- 
field, Mr. John Merrill, Mr. Phillip Durrill and others 
made upon them, as they say, being in the town of 
Biddeford, but we say it is in the town of Arunde^ 
and we have a good right so to do, and the charge being 
born by the wholl propriety, being of Concern to all, 
knowing thereby there own Rights." The result of the 
suit was favorable to the Biddeford claimants, who had 
the right to the ownership of the soil, although the ter- 
ritory had passed under the jurisdiction of Arundel.* 
This land which extended nearly two thirds across 
the head of the town was known as the ' Dalton Right.' 
In July there was " a Provincial fast on account of 
the small pox and mortal fevers with which multitudes 
die in Boston and other places. In Boston many coffins 

*A lot of land was laid out to John Merrill, in 1755, because his 
former lot, granted by the town, had been " taken away by law by 
Sir William, it being in Bucks Patton." This land was on Middle 
and Bandigo meadows. Buck's patent is not to be found on the 
county records. In Thomas Wadleigh's deed to Epps, in 1C59, 
land belonging to a Mr. Buck was mentioned as lying between 
Mousam and Kennebunk rivers. George Buck of Biddeford, Eng- 
land, supposed to be a grandson of Major Phillips, sold several lot3 
of land in Saco about this time ; and it is probable that he convey- 
ed land in this town to Sir William Pepperell. In the grant from 
this town to Thomas Boardman in 1G88, the land was described as 
being "near to the Desarts, next to Major Phillips his land." 
If in any suit with the inhabitants of Arundel, Sir William pre- 
vailed, it has escaped the diligent search of the compiler. He 
however owned considerable land in this town, which he devised 
to his grandson, William P. Sparhawk. Mr. Sparhawk being a 
royalist at the time of the revolutionary war, his property was 
confiscated and sold. 

N N 



150 HISTORY OF [FROM 1751 

are carried to the burying, and there set down and left 
two or three days before they are committed to the 
grave, the grave digger not able to do it sooner. A 
charitable contribution recommended by the General 
Court for the poor distressed in Boston. The Court 
set at Concord and no election sermon, for fear of 
spreading the small pox." 

Mr. Hovey, from whose journal the foregoing account 
was taken, says the same month, " in a thunder storm 
which was not hard with us in this town, but at York, 
Brooks's barn with four or five tons of hay burnt. Eli- 
as Wire at Cape Neddock, had three cows killed within 
twenty feet of his house. Two of them fell with their 
backs close together. At George Reddick's, where a 
boy of about twelve years old was playing by the door, 
an it rained not then, his mother told him to come in 
out of the thunder. He replied ' lam as safe here as in 
the house,' but yet went in and stood near the hearth, 
while the next clap that came, tore down the chimney, 
with six smokes, to the chamber floor, and so shattered 
it to the very foundation as that all must be built anew. 
The boy was carried away through a door which was 
open into a large closet used for a dairy room, and left 
on the dresser, one hand much cut with the glass of the 
windows, that were carried away, and no other hurt 
done him. Jonathan Reddick, the boy's brother there 
present, declared it to me." 

By an act of Parliament passed January 22, 1752, 
the old style, by which the year commenced March 25, 
Was abolished, and the new style, beginning the year 
January 1st, was introduced; and eleven days struck 
from the calendar, making September third, the four- 
teenth.* On the public records, a long time previous 
to this act, events occurring between January 1st, and 
March 25th, were recorded as happening in a double 
year, as, for example, 175£. 

The French and Indians evidently began to make 
preparations for another war in 1753, and hostilities 
commenced the following year, although war was not 
actually declared till 1755. During this war, the 

* In 1582, the style was first corrected by order of Pope Grego- 
ry XIII. 



TO 1755.] KENNEBUNK PORT. 151 

French Neutrals, who resided in Nova Scotia, were 
taken prisoners by the English, and their families dis- 
tributed amongst the different towns in New England, 
and supported by the Province. The fifth great earth- 
quake happened this year, which lasted four minutes, 
and was much more violent than any preceding one. 
The inhabitants were alarmed, and a fast was ordained. 
Like the last one it caused revivals of religion.* 

Towns being required to pay their own representa- 
tives, Arundel never incurred that expense, unless in 
times of danger, or when the inhabitants had some par- 
ticular object to accomplish, f Thomas Perkins, jr. 
was chosen, after an interval of nine years, it being 
only the fourth time the town had been represented. 
A town road was laid out from the bridge near Na- 
thaniel Goodwin's to Kimball's brook ; and another 
from GorT's mill to Harding's ferry. This latter road 
is the one that leads directly through the village, and 
is known by the name of Maine street. When this 
road was located, there were but four houses where 
the village now is. The first one within its limits was 
built by Paul Shackford, about 1740, near the pre- 
sent dwelling house of Asa Hutchins. The second one 
which was a block house, was built by Rowlandson 
Bond, about 1743, and was afterwards occupied by 
Thomas Wiswall, and which was more recently known 
as the Morse house. It was torn down about thirty 
years ago, and the cellar may still be seen in front of 
the store occupied by Silas Perkins. Gideon Walker 
built the third one in 1745, on the spot where Ivory 
Goodwin lives. The part of the house built by Mr. 
Walker, known as the old red house, was removed 
about two years since, and is the one occupied by 
Joseph Manuel. The house occupied by Daniel S. 
Perkins, which was built by his grandfather, Elipha- 
let Perkins, was the fourth. Besides these four, there 
were several others in the neighborhood. The house 
of Miles Rhodes was then built, and the one occupied 
by Tristram J. Perkins, which was erected by Capt. 
Thomas Perkins before 1732. 

* Williamson, vol. ii. p. 317. Also, Greenleaf's Ecc. Sketches, 
pa. 15 and 24. 

tThis election was not recorded on the town book. 



152 HISTORY of [from 1755 

Samuel Perkins also had one near where John Lord 
lives ; — Samuel Gould one near where the widow of 
William Fairfield resides ; — Mr. Cromwell one near 
the foot of the rope walk ; and the garrison of Ste- 
phen Harding was standing. The house of *John Mitch- 
el, on the western side of the river, was then a 
garrison house, and Mr. Walker and his neighbors 
used to repair to it in times of danger. The men of 
the garrison used to come over armed, to protect the 
females while milking. 

The proprietors of Coxhall (Lyman) appointed a 
committee to meet the Selectmen of Arundel to settle 
the bounds of the townships. They met in 1754, but 
their return was not recorded till the year after. They 
agreed " to begin at Kennebunk River at the place 
where the Gentlemen that was appointed for the Ser- 
vice Ended their Preambleation, and from thence to 
run on a northeast Corse or point of the Compass 
the full Extent and Length of Cokshall, according to 
their original Grant, is to be the Bounds and Dividing 
Line between Arundel and Cokshall, as it is run out 
and Bounded, as may be found by the marked Trees 
in the Line, which Line begins at mousom River near 
Flewallen's falls, and runs a Due north east Corce 
Between the Town of Wells, Arundel and Cokshall to 
the full Extent of Cokshall, and as far as Arundel 
joyns with it." 

June, 1756, England declared war against France ; 
and the French and Indians made extensive prepara- 
tions to attatk the settlements in Maine. Besides the 
forces in the forts and garrisons, 260 men were divid- 
ed into five ranging parties between Salmon Falls and 
St. Georges, for the protection of Maine. The small 
pox, which prevailed extensively at this time, [1757] 
also served as a defence against the Indians, who were 
much afraid of the contagion. Louisburg, which had 
been given up to the French, was recaptured in 1753 ; 
and the next year, Niagara, Ticonderoga, Crown Point, 
Quebec, and St. Francois, the strong-hold of the 
Indians, were taken. These successes were followed 
[1760] by the capture of Montreal, and the whole of 

* Mr. Mitchel's house was built in 1740. Bourne. 



TO 1760.] KENNEBUNK PORT. A 53 

the French possessions in North America, which put a 
final end to the wars between the English and Indians. 

No notice having been taken on the town records, of 
any troubles with the Indians, except incidentally in 
making repairs on Mr. Prentice's and Mr. Hovey's 
garrisons and in a few other instances, it would not be 
supposed from an examination of them, that this town 
had been so long exposed to the troubles and dangers 
of a savage warfare. In consequence of this silence 
upon the subject, most of the facts relative to these 
wars are lost, or have become so vague as not to 
be worthy of notice. Some of the traditionary accounts, 
however, concurring with general history, can be re- 
lied upon. 

There were six wars between the whites and Indians, 
between 1675 and 1760.* In the early wars, the 
French endeavored to put a stop to the cruel practice of 
killing and scalping prisoners, by offering a bounty for 
prisoners only. Frequent wars, however, between them 
and the English, at length excited their hatred against 
them to such a degree, that they offered the Indians as 
much for scalps as for prisoners, and finally gave a 
bounty on scalps only. The English retaliated, and 
their wars became wars of extermination. First ten, 
then forty, and afterwards as high as <£400 were offered 
by the Provincial government, for scalps ; and people 
followed hunting Indians as a business. 

The Indians did not murder all indiscriminately, but 
would sometimes from recollection of past favors, or 
from mere caprice, let their enemies escape. Mrs. 
Major was gathering some boughs for a broom, within 
gunshot of two Indians. One of them attempted to 
shoot her, but the other one remarked that she had 
frequently swept a clean place for them to lie in, and 
if they should let her alone she would probably do it 

*Philip's war from June 24, 1G75, to the treaty of Casco, April 
10th, 1673 -.—King William's war, from August 13th, 1G88, to the 
treaty of Mare point, January 7th, 1C99 : — Queen Anne's, from 
August, 1703, to the treaty of Portsmouth, July lllh,1713 :— Love- 
well's, or the three years war, from June 13th, 1722, to Dummer's 
treaty, December 15th, 1725 :— The Spanish, or five years war, 
from July 19th, 1745, to the treaty of Falmouth, October 16th, 
1749 :— And the French and Indian war, from April, 1755, to the 
conquest of Montreal, and the treaty of Halifax, February 22d, 1760. 



154 HISTORY OF [a. d. 1760. 

again ; and they suffered her to return without molesta- 
tion. Mr. Harding exposed himself frequently, but the 
recollection of his kindness to them in times of peace 
was a sufficient safeguard. 

The Indians observed their early treaties, but so 
faithless had they become in later years, that the Eng- 
lish were but little safer in times of acknowledged 
peace, than during war. From the treaty of 1749, to 
the subjugation of the Canadas to the English in 1760, 
there was not a year but the Indians, instigated by the 
French, committed acts of aggression against the Eng- 
lish. There were many from this town out in the 
French war, a perfect list of whose names cannot be 
obtained. 

After the close of the wars, when the prisoners were 
ransomed or exchanged, it was with great difficulty that 
persons captured young could be prevailed upon to re- 
turn to civilized life. They would hide in the forests, 
climb trees, and use every exertion to escape from their 
friends and relatives, so enamoured had they become 
with a savage state. Several of the most barbarous 
chiefs were undoubtedly white children stolen in their 
infancy. Capt. Nathaniel was a white man, and John 
Durrell, although with them but two years, ever retain- 
ed the habits and appearance of an Indian. At the time 
of the general attack upon the towns in Maine, in 1703, 
it was supposed that Tabitha Littlefield of Wells, a 
child, was killed. Some years afterwards, when Mrs. 
Harding, who was a relative of hers, was trading with 
the Indians at her own house, a young squaw, who was 
standing near her, asked her if she did not remember 
Tabitha Littlefield, and immediately darted from the 
house. Search was made for her and every induce- 
ment offered the Indians to influence them to give her 
up, but without success. She had become so attach- 
ed to her captors, and their customs and manners, 
that the ties of consanguinity were insufficient to draw 
her back into the bosom of her family. It appears 
strange to those accustomed to the pleasures of civilized 
life, that persons would willingly submit to the priva- 
tions and hardships of a savage state, when an opportu- 
nity offered to change their situation. But singular as 
the fact is, it was universally true, that no one ever re* 



A. D. 1760.] KEXNEBUNK PORT. 155 

turned willingly to his former home. The Indians, on 
the other hand, were unwilling to adopt the habits of 
the whites.* Wahwa, Mugg, and other Indians, al- 
though early taken into English families, could never 
submit to the restraints of civilization, but took every 
opportunity to join their tribes. 

The savages have but a few wants, which are easily 
supplied; but in a state of civilization many artificial 
ones are acquired, that can only be gratified by contin- 
ued exertion. Man is naturally an indolent being, 
averse to labor, and consenting to exert himself only 
when driven by necessity to supply his absolute wants, 
or stimulated by his passions. As he advances in civil- 
ization, his wants increase, and he is emulous to exceed 
his neighbors in the means of comforts and luxuries. 
Hence arises the necessity of constant exertion, in order 
to maintain his place, or to advance himself in society. 
To obtain the means of fancied enjoyment, he will, 
through a long life, sacrifice his ease, forego the com- 
forts within his reach ; and brave dangers, and hard- 
ships, that would be insurmountable to the savage. In 
grasping at the shadow, he will resign the substance ; 
and in endeavoring to better his condition, he will lead 
a life of greater exposure and peril, than is incident to 
the situation from which he is attempting to raise him- 
self. Persons born and educated in competence or 
opulence, acquire a taste for parade and show ; and 
they are willing to leave a comfortable home and a 
loving and beloved circle of friends, and in distant and 
foreign climes, brave poverty, dangers, and even death 
itself, in the hope of obtaining the means of continuing 
or adding to their enjoyments. This desire of self ag- 
grandizement, — this restlessness of disposition, which 
prevents so many from remaining contentedly in that 
happy state of mediocrity, alike free from the vexations 

*" An honest Indian deacon at Natick, being asked the reason 
why when their young men were educated in English families and 
become acquainted with their habits and manners, on returning 
to their tribe thev immediately became idle, indolent drunkards ? 
the deacon replied, ' Tucks will be tucks for all old hen be hatch 
em." — Thacker's Hist. Plymouth. 

The daughter of Capt. Sam, of the Saco tribe, chose to remain 
with the English.— Williamson, vol. ii. p. 272. 



156 HISTORY OF [a. d. 1760. 

of wealth and the miseries of poverty, — this wish to 
accumulate property beyond the capacity of enjoyment, 
although in itself an undesirable state of individual 
feeling, yet, in the aggregate, has been undoubtedly the 
means of advancing, not only wealth and knowledge, 
but even of promoting happiness itself in the world at 
large. From this class was our own happy and flour- 
ishing state colonized ; and by them are our new states 
and settlements peopled ; our ships, seeking wealth in 
every part of the globe, manned ; the bowels of the 
earth and the dense forests ransacked, to obtain that 
rank in society that wealth always gives ; and our coun- 
try raised to its present elevated stand amongst the na- 
tions of the earth. 

The savage, not knowing or conceiving of enjoy- 
ments superior to his own, lacks that motive for exer- 
tion, which would raise him from his primitive state. 
The nearer he is to a state of nature, the less desirous 
is he of changing his situation. Children of the poor- 
est and most degraded classes in society, amongst the 
whites, who are brought up in a state of starvation, suf- 
fering, and ignorance, are the most unwilling to change 
their condition in life. They cannot conceive of any 
enjoyments unconnected with home and its associations. 
They cannot be made to understand the value of com- 
forts which they have never realized ; and are unwil- 
ling to leave their accustomed haunts, and form new 
habits and connections, for the purpose of enjoying 
pleasures, of which they have no conception, and 
which to them are but visionary. 



A- D. 1760.] KENNEBUNK PORT. 157 



CHAPTER VII. 

Three counties in Maine Census..... Valuation Slaves...- 

Stampt Act....Mr. Hovey dismissed....Contention in the par- 
ish....Meeting house burnt...New one built...Council called.... 
Mr. Hovey and his people censured. ...Mr. Moody settled.... 
Revolutionary war....Fight at Cape Porpoise....Capt. Burn- 
ham killed....Schools and education....Mr. Thompson..«Poor 
Arundel. 

Maine, which had always been one county, was now 
^1760] divided into three ; Cumberland and Lincoln 
being taken from York. Jurors, who had heretofore 
been chosen in town meetings, were, by an act of the 
General Court, now for the first time drawn from 
boxes.* 

By a new valuation, [1761] the Provincial tax of 
the County of York, was <£38 155. 6d.f The popula- 
tion of Arundel was about 600 ; and the taxable polls 
were 127. This and the following year were noted 
for the great droughts, and extensive fires in the woods. 
The road, from near where the observatory is, to 
Cape Porpoise, was located in 1762 ; and it was the 
first road laid out in the town, the true distances and 
courses of which were given. In consequence of diffi- 
culties in the parish, the meeting house at the Cape 
was purposely burnt in 1763 ; and the town voted to 
build a new one, 55 feet long and 45 feet wide, on 
Burbank's hill.f 

A census of the inhabitants of Maine was taken, in 
1764, by order of the General Court of Massachusetts. 
Maine contained about 24,000 inhabitants, and the 

* Williamson's Hist. vol. ii. p. 349. Jurors continued to be 
chosen in Arundel till 1772. 

t The following is the apportionment of the tax on the towns 
in the County of York. 

£. s. d. £. s. d. 

York 9— 3—5 Wells 4—17—00 Narraganset. 

Kittery 9—10—8:1 Arundel 2— 9— 10i No. 1. (Buxton ) 

Berwick 7—10—9 Biddeford 4—11—11 11*. lOd. 

t The meeting house was enlarged in 1797. 
O 



158 history of [from 1764 

county of York 11,145. There were in Arundel, 127 
houses, 138 families, 833 white inhabitants, and five 
negroes. Slavery* was tolerated in Massachusetts 
till about the time of the war of the revolution, when 
it was abolished. But a few of the inhabitants of 
Arundel were able to hold slaves. Mr. Prentice bought 
the first one owned in town, in 1734. Mr. Hovey also 
owned one, and probably sold him in 1747.1 Robert 
Cleaves, Thomas Wiswall, Samuel Hutching, John 
Fairfield, Gideon Walker, Andrew Brown, and Jona- 
than Stone, each owned a slave. Several of them were 
living in the town, but a few years since, the last two 
of whom died in the poor house, of which the son of 
the former master of one of them was an inmate. 

The year 1765 is memorable for the passage of the 
Stampt-act, which, from the violent opposition it en- 
countered in this country, was repealed the following 
year. In 1767, f however, a duty was imposed on tea, 
glass, and several other articles, which ultimately led to 
the revolutionary war. 

Mr. Hovey, who had been the settled minister of the 
town for twenty seven years, was dismissed in 1768* 
As the connection between Mr. Hovey and the town, 
was productive of much contention and bad feeling, 
and unfortunate in its termination, it may not perhaps 
be uninteresting to give a connected account of the 
difficulties between him and his parishioners. After 
his settlement, he continued to preach for several years 
to the general satisfaction of the town. As the money 
of the Province depreciated, they continued to increase 
his salary ^nominally, till =£450 old tenor, were worth 

* There was ho express act of the Legislature, abolishing slave- 
ry ; but in 1783, the Supreme Court of Massachusetts, decided 
that the declaration in the Bill of Rights, that " all men are born 
free and equal," virtually annulled the right to hold slaves. 

t"'Oct. 21. My negro ran away. — Nov. 1. My negro living 
at , I carried him to Boston." Mr. Hovey does not men- 
tion him again after this date. In the Mass. Hist. Soc. Coll. 
it is said there were two male, and one female slaves in Arundel in 
1754. The female belonged to Jonathan Stone, and was appraised 
at £300 old tenor in the inventory of his estate, in 1756. 

$ The distance from Boston to Falmouth was measured in 1767, 
and mile stones erected. 



TO 1768.] KENNEBUNK PORT. f&9 

but £60 lawful, or 8200. The inhabitants on Saco 
road and near Kennebunk river, having become more 
numerous, and not wishing to travel so far as Cape 
Porpoise to meeting, called a town meeting,* in 1747, 
to obtain the consent of the town, to be set off from 
Mr. Hovey's society and be allowed to form a new 
parish with some of the inhabitants of the western part 
of Wells, or Kennebunk. Not being able to obtain 
the consent of the town, they petitioned the General 
Court, in 1749, for the same object. f The petition 
was rejected, on account of the opposition it met with 
from the inhabitants of the Cape, who were still a 
majority of the town. They likewise refused to try 
for a north west line from the mouth of Kennebunk 
river., as the western limits of the town, which, it was 
said, the members of the General Court intimated 
might readily be obtained. This would have brought 
Mr. Little's, or the second parish in Wells, which was 
incorporated this year,! within the limits of Arundel. 
These unjust and impolitic measures so irritated the 
petitioners, that at the next town meeting, they, togeth- 
er with some who had become followers of the cele<- 

* There is no notice of this meeting on the town records, but 
Mr. Hovey, under date of Jan. 15, says, "The people at the" (some 
words illegible) " uneasy vexatious cur, had a town meeting to be 
setoff." 

\ This petition does not appear on the Massachusetts record?. 
The town, however, chose Jonathan Stone, agent, to oppose " tha 
petition which Soum of the Inhabitants of the Town of Arundel, 
•living nere the River of Kennebunk, have Put into the Grat and 
General Court, Praying that they may be set off from the Lower 
part of the Town of Arundel to joyn Som of the Inhabitants of 
tho Town of Wells, and to be a Parrish by themselves." 

The following scarcely legible extract is from Mr. Hovey's 
Journal. " May 8, 1749. Samuel Little - - - - Kennebunkers 
- - - - sabbath day - - - - last fall went away. People have pe- 
titioned General Court to be a parish." 

f* 1 Jan. 1, 1750 Yesterday the Kennebunkers began their 
meeting, and Mr. Mirriam, schoolmaster of Wells, preached. He 
took his degree last year. He is from Concord, and about the age 

of twenty five. 21st. Daniel Little employed by the 

Kennebunkers as a minister -. 29th. Daniel Little at my 

house, I gone to visit Alltimes sick." — Mr. II. Journal. 

The Meeting house was on the spot, on which the hause of Mrs. 
Lliza Killham now is. 



160 HISTORY OF [a. d. 1768. 

brated George Whitefield,* and other disaffected per- 
sons, succeeded in obtaining a vote not to give Mr. 
Hovey any thing additional to his original <£180 old 
tenor, which was now worth but about thirty three 
dollars. There having been a new emission of money, 
at the time of his settlement, which by law was a ten- 
der in payment of debts, Mr. Hovey did not anticipate 
the subsequent depreciation, and did not, like his pre- 
decessor, fix the value of his salary on a metallic basis; 
and he could not therefore obtain immediate relief. 
Being naturally a passionate man, he did not submit to 
this injustice and indignity, with that patience and 
resignation becoming his calling, but animadverted 
rather severely upon their conduct. This only served 
to widen the breach, and subjected him to the neglect 
of many of his parishioners, and to the petty malice of 
the more vindictive.t 

Matters remained in this unhappy state for several 
years, sometimes the town allowing Mr. Hovey a fair 
compensation, and sometimes refusing, as his friends 
or opponents happened to prevail at the town meetings. 
At length, 1758, Mr. Hovey recommended calling a 
council to propose terms of separation, but the town, 
would not agree to it. He however proceeded to call 
one himself, which censured the conduct of a portion 

* Whitefield first visited Maine in 1741. He soon after return- 
ed to England, but made a second visit in 1744. Some of the 
settled ministers approved of his course, and aided him in promot- 
ing the revivals of religion, which were sure to follow his preach- 
ing. Others were violently opposed to him, on account of the 
division caused in many churches, by his appearance. Mr. Hovey 
was of the latter class. Mr. Whitefield however preached in Mr. 
Hovey 's meeting house. In his journal, June 9lh, 1747, he says, 
"Mr. Whitefield preached, and Hutchin's wife buried after the 
lecture." 

In Smith's journal, January 24, 1745, it is said, " Great and pre- 
vailing clamors every where against Mr. Whitfield. Feb. 18. 
Ministers meeting relating to Mr. Whitfield. Present Messrs. 
Thompson, Jefferds, Hovey, M. Morrill and myself; had much 
of uneasiness." 

t " Took boys 1o cypher, who were to find my wood ; and never 
worse off", no wood found me by the people, and by the 11th of 
March almost out " 

" My cows all let loose in the barn, and the stanchions put ija 
their places again by some illminded persoa." — JowiuU. 



A. D. 1768.] KENNEBUNK PORT. 161 

of the town and church, and "advised them to give Mr. 
Hovey a deed of his house and land, which they had 
heretofore neglected to do. The inhabitants, not being 
intimidated by ecclesiastical anathemas, refused to 
give him either a fair compensation, or allow him' to 
leave his situation, unless he would give up his house 
and land. Finally, [1762] the inhabitants of the upper 
part of the town, endeavored to have the old meeting 
house removed, or a new one built nearer the centre 
of population. This they were unable to effect; and 
hopeless of having their just cause of complaint remov- 
ed, some of them had recourse to a singular expedient 
to end the controversy. Two boys, instigated by older 
persons, on the night of the 28ch of April, 1763, set fire 
to the meeting house, and it was entirely consumed. 
The town chose a committee " to settle with them for 
the damage they had done the town," but refused to 
prosecute them, on account of the severity of the pun- 
ishment, if convicted. Some of the pew owners, how- 
ever, brought actions against the fathers of the young 
men, and recovered of them the value of their pews,* 
This method of looseing the gordian knot, still more 
inflamed the combatants. A new controversy arose 
between the two parts of the town, relative to the loca- 
tion of a new house. A vote was obtained to build it 
on Burbank's hill, a few rods west of Mr. Burbank's 
house, but the people from the eastern part of the 
town protested against the vote. They contended that 
Burbank's hill was too far from the centre of popula- 
tion, and that the meeting ordering it there was illegal, 
the inhabitants not having had fair notice. Those in 
favor of this location, offered to refer the matter to 
disinterested men, and Richworth Jordan and Jeremi- 
ah Hill of Saco, and Joseph Sawyer of Wells, were 
chosen to select a spot on which to erect the house. 
They decided in favor of Burbank's hill, and the house 
was accordingly erected [1764] where it now stands. 

* It was for some time supposed, that the meeting house wag 
burnt by accident. There had been a lecture the afternoon previ- 
ous to its being burnt, and Deacon Robinson was supposed to 
have done it with his pipe. A sister of one of the boys, not fully 
enjoying this act of revenue while it was attributed to accident, 
imparted the secret to a friend, who made it public. 
Oo 



162 HISTORY of [a. D. 176& 

The quarrel however did not end here. Those op- 
posed to the location, still contended the whole 
proceeding was illegal, and that a majority of the town 
was opposed to it. At another meeting, when the 
question was put, to see if tho town would reconsider 
the vote relating to building the house on Burbank's 
hill, the moderator, who was opposed to the location, 
declared the vote in the affirmative, and refused to try 
the other side of the question, although there was a 
large majority opposed to the reconsideration. The 
committee for building the house, sued the town and 
recovered ; [1765] and the house was afterwards flm- 
ished with the money arising from the sale of pews. 

This question was a test of the relative strength of the 
two parts of the town ; and Cape Porpoise, which 
from the first settlement of the town, had been the 
most populous, now lost its ascendency, which it has 
never regained. The meeting house controversy being 
settled, they now renewed their warfare with their 
pastor. A committee was chosen to consult with him 
upon terms of separation. Not being able to agree, a 
council was called, [1768] consisting of the ministers and 
delegates from the cJhurch in Biddeford, the first and 
second churches in Ki'ttery, the first and second in 
York, and the first and second in Wells. Mr. Morrill 
was chosen moderator, and Mr. Hemmenway scribe. 
They reported that it was " expedient for the Rev. 
John Hovey to ask his dismission upon conditions that 
the town give him a deed of his real estate ; — that he 
and Mrs. Hovey, and all his estate be exempted from 
taxation during his natural life; — that no disagreeable 
town office be imposed upon him, and give him fifty 
acres of land : — this appearing necessary to us, for the 
restoration of peace to this long divided people, and the 
advancement of the pure religion of Jesus Christ: And 
now sincerely lamenting the unhappy and unchristian 
divisions, which have for years past prevailed in this 
town, and the alienation of affection of pastor and 
people from each. other, which must in its necessary 
consequences be to the highest degree prejudicial to the 
interest of Christ's kingdom, and a great reproach to 
the Christian profession ; we advise all parties impar- 
tially to review their past conduct, and deeply humble 



A. D. 176S.]' KENNEBUNK PORT. 163 

themselves before God for what they shall find amiss,, 
and that for the future all bitterness, wrath, clamour, 
and evil speaking be put away with all malice, and that 
they be kind to one another, tender hearted, forgiving 
one another as they would hope for the forgiveness of 
God ; — And we judge that the pastor has been guilty of 
conducting in a manner unbecoming the dignity and 
sanctity of his station ; yet it appears to us that his tri- 
als and temptations, by the faulty behaviour of some of 
his people towards him, have been very great : — and 
we judge that the unhappy state and circumstances of 
this church and town for some years past, have been 
greatly occasioned by the culpable neglect of this peo- 
ple in not complying with the advice of the last eccle- 
siastical council : — we therefore earnestly recommend 
it to the town to comply with the above conditions, that 
Mr. Hovey's pastoral relations may be dissolved, and 
proper steps taken for a happy and peaceable settlement 
of a gospel minister among them." 

Before this council every trivial transgression, every 
hasty expression, and every circumstance distorted by 
malice and slander, which had been hoarded for years, 
was brought against Mr. Hovey.* His natural irritar 
bility, however, gave his enemies too many opportunities 
to record hasty expressions, and imprudent acts against 
him. The town agreed to the terms of the council, 
and Mr. Hovey was dismissed August 16th, 1768. — 
They however neglected to pay the arrearages due him, 
till the Rev. Silas Moody urged it as an objection to 
his settling in the town. They then [1771] referred 
the matter to a committee, who found there was a bal- 
ance due him of ,£133 lawful money. This they 
neglected to pay, and Mr. Hovey's heirs sued for it 
twelve years afterwards, but it was not fully paid till 
the year 1800. 

Daniel Hovey, who resided in Ipswich in 1637, and 

*The following may serve as specimens. One day undertaking 
to kill a calf, instead of cutting the animal's throat as was the usual 
way, ho cut its head off with an axe. This, to use the language 
of one of his deacons, " was-a cursed piece of cruelly, wholly unpar- 
donable in a minister." 

His having by mistake taken another person's bag of meal from, 
ifce mill. instead ot his own, was charged against him as theft. 



164 HISTORY OF [from 17G8 

and who died April 29th, 1695, was father of John 
Hovey of Cambridge, and grandfather of the Mr. Ho- 
vey of Arundel. 

The latter, was born in Cambridge, and graduated in 
1725. He was a man of respectable talents, and, to 
judge from his writings that were preserved some time 
after his death, of good acquirements. He wrote a 
splendid hand, and was well acquainted with business, 
nearly all the deeds and contracts of the day being 
drawn up by him. A professorship had been offered 
him at Cambridge before his settlement in this town. 
The insufficiency of his salary, however, compelled him 
to occupy the time on his farm,* which ought to have 
been dedicated to the duties of his profession. He 
kept a diary, which has so frequently been referred to 
in this work, from the time of his settlement till his 
death, but unfortunately much the larger part of it has 
been lost. He noted every event, the state of the 
weather, business, politics, news, births, deaths, mar- 
riages, affairs of the town, and matters relating to the 
church. If the whole of it had been preserved, it 
would of itself for the time have furnished a perfect his- 
tory of the town. 

Mr. Hovey's first wife was Elizabeth Mussey of 
Cambridge, who died soon after their marriage. He 
afterwards married Susannah Swett of York, sister of 
Mrs. Prentice, who survived him. He lived several 
years after his dismission. In returning from a visit to 
his friends in Plymouth, in 1774, he came to Biddeford 
by water, and lodged at the house of Col. Richworth 
Jordan. After having been in his chamber for some 

*Mr. Hovey gives many directions for farming and gardening in 
his journal. He says, people ought to "graft on the increase of 
the moon in the winter, but inoculation will do till the middle of 
July. The manner of operation is to take a sprout of the present 
year, and inclose it in the rind of another tree. Grafting may be 
by boring a hole aslope into the heart ot a tree, and stopping out 
the wind and rain with moss and clay. Pears and apples will 
grow on beech, willow and thorn. Peaches grow best grafted on 
beech, or thorns. Pomegranates on willow, ash, or plumbtrees. 
Cherries will grow on peach, and peach on cherries. Mulberries 
will grow on beech, and so will chestnuts, or on wallnuts. Pears 
and apples grow well on poplars ;— and wallnuts on ash ; — grapes 
on a oherry, or Elm tree ;— wild blackberries on red cherry trees." 



TO 1771.] KENNEBUNK PORT. 165 

time without extinguishing his light, some of the fami- 
ly entered his apartment, and found him sitting in his 
chair partly undressed, apparently having been dead 
some considerable time. 

The controversy between Great Britain and her 
American Colonies now [17G8] assumed a serious 
aspect. The selectmen of Boston sent circulars to 
those of other towns, calling a convention of delegates 
to meet at Faneuil Hall, Boston, Sept. 22, to deliberate 
upon the state of affairs. The inhabitants of Arundel 
readily responded to this invitation, and James Burn- 
ham was chosen delegate. 

The business of the town had much declined at this 
time ; the only vessel owned here, was a small sloop be- 
longing to Thomas Perkins. 

After Mr. Hovey's dismission, Mr. Hathaway preach- 
ed a short time, and was succeeded by the Rev. Abner 
Johnson [1769.] Mr. Bond preached a short time after 
Mr. Johnson went away, and the year following [1770] 
the town gave the Rev. Silas Moody a call. They 
offered him a salary of <£80, [$267] and a gratuity of 
c£140, [$466] towards building him a house. Mr. 
Moody, in his answer to the invitation, replied that 
" the unanimity which appears in the church and town 
with regard to my tarrying here, I cannot but ac- 
knowledge demands my serious consideration ; and did 
all other things appear equally encouraging, I should 
not have remained so long in suspense about complying 
with your invitation. Some civil and ecclesiastical 
affairs in this place, are not in so happy a situation as 
I wish they were ; but the sense which the people seem 
to have of the necessity of their being regulated, and 
the worth and importance of peace and love, it is hoped, 
will be a motive for them to see that they are settled in 
the most friendly manner, and as soon as may be." 
The remainder of his reply, related to the state of his 
health, which he said was " very weak," and which 
unfitted him for enduring " the hardships and fatigues 
which a strong constitution might bear with," and the 
manner in which his salary was to be paid, if he accept- 
ed their invitation. His terms were not agreed to 
immediately, but after some delay, were accepted* 
[1771] and Mr. Moody sent the following letter. 



1G6 HISTORY OF [FROxM 1771 

H To the Church of Christ in Arundel, and to the Inhab- 
itants of said Town, — Greeting. 

When I received an invitation from you to settle in 
the work of the Gospel ministry with you, the difficul- 
ties then subsisting were very discouraging to me. 
Though they are not now wholly removed, yet your 
unanimity with regard to my tarrying here, and the 
desire you express of rectifying what is amiss, that you 
may live in love and unity, give me some encourage- 
ment to accept of the call you have given me. Trusting 
in Him who ruleth over all, to direct, and hoping that 
you will use the means that christian prudence shall 
dictate, which may be conducive to your own felicity 
and my comfort, I hereby give my consent to settle 
with you in the work of the Gospel ministry upon the 
encouragement you have given me to carry on that 
work : — namely that you pay me the one half of the 
settlement money in twelve months from the date of 
your town meeting, held on the 22d day of May last past, 
and the other half within six months following, accord- 
ing to the votes of the town ; and lhat you pay the 
salary, the one half in every six months during my 
pastoral relation to you. 

Wishing that the God of all Grace would bless you 
and me, that we be mutual blessings to each other ; that 
I may faithfully discharge the sacred office of the Gos- 
pel ministry ; that you may live in love one to another, 
as becomes christians. Your Friend and Servant, 

Silas Moody." 

A county road was this year laid out from Wells to 
Biddeford, beginning at the east end of Durrell's bridge, 
and terminating at Biddeford line. The road passed 
" near a bridge at the tail of Brown's mill," and " near 
the house of Jonathan Stone." This was undoubtedly 
the road to Biddeford lower meeting house, which, 
Folsom says, was laid out in 1750.* 

The first custom-house in Maine was established in 
1771, at Falmouth, (Portland) for the collection of 
the duties on teas. The officers were however unable 
to make any collections, and were severely handled by 

*The part of the road through the town of Biddeford was laid 
out in 17GD. 



TO 1775.] KENNEBUNK PORT. 10? 

the populace. [1772] The troubles between this and 
the mother country, continued to increase ; and Dec. 
16, 1773, three cargoes of teas were destroyed in Bos- 
ton harbor, by a number of persons dressed like Indians. 

Although Arundel apparently took so little interest 
in the Indian wars, the town records show no want of 
energy during the war of the revolution. John Hovey, 
Tobias Lord, and Asa Burbank were chosen delegates, 
Nov. 14th, " to join the County Congress which is to 
set at York, within and for the County of York, on 
tuesday the loth instant, to take into consideration 
what measures may be pursued tending to the peace 
and welfare of said county." December 27th. Ben- 
jamin Durrell, John Hovey, Thomas Wiswall, Jonathan 
Stone, and James Burnham, were chosen a committee 
of inspection, and were instructed "to proceed in the 
trust reposed in them, accordingto the advice of the Prov- 
incial Congress held at Cambridge, Dec. 5th, 1774."* 
It was also resolved to raise money to meet the exigen- 
cies of the times, and to choose military officers ; and 
Moses Foster, John Hovey, and Jonathan Stone, were 
instructed to make known the wishes of the town, to 
"Thomas Perkins, Esq. Captain of the town." 

The next year, John Hovey, Jonathan Stone, and 
Thomas Wiswall were directed " to receive money and 
other things for the poor of Boston ;" and all the money 
in the hands of the collectors, was ordered to be paid to 
Henry Gardner, Esq. of Stowe, Province Treasurer. 
Two companies of militia, instead of one, were formed ; 
one of which was commanded by Jonathan Stone, and 
the other by Benjamin Durrell, the Lieutenant of the 
former company. The Lieutenants, were James Per- 
kins, William Smith, Tobias Lord, and Daniel Merrill. 
The answers of Benjamin Durrell and Thomas Perkins, 
on resigning their old commissions, were ordered to be 
published in the New Hampshire paper. 

By express, the news of the fight at Lexington was 
received, the 21 st of April, three days after the battle. 
Benj. Durrell, John Hovey, John Whitten, and Joshua 
Nason, were chosen a committee, to borrow =£60 in 
behalf of the town, to furnish the inhabitants with am* 

*John Hovey was delegate to this Congress. 



168 HISTORY of [from 1776 

munition. They were likewise authorized to borrow 
such further sums as might be deemed necessary. Ma- 
ny citizens of the town repaired to Cambridge, and 
joined the army that environed Boston, some of whom 
were engaged in the memorable battle of Bunker Hill. 

May 29th. John Hovey was " chosen to represent 
this town in Provincial Congress, to be held at the 
Meeting House in Watertown." This was the third 
Provincial Congress, of which Joseph Warren was 
President. It convened May 31st, and held constant 
correspondence with the Continental Congress held 
at Philadelphia. After the convention was dissolved, 
and the Provincial Charter resumed, Mr. Hovey was 
chosen representative to the General Court. 

To meet the expenses of the war, Massachusetts is- 
sued o£100,000 in paper. 

May 22d, 1776, more than a month before the declar- 
ation of independence, the town voted " that if the 
Honourable Congress should, for the safety of the 
Colonies, declare themselves independent of the King- 
dom of Great Britian, we, the inhabitants of Arundel, 
do solemnly engage, with our lives and fortunes, to 
support them in the measure." When the Declaration 
was received, it was recorded on the town book, agree- 
ably to the request of the Executive Council. Benja- 
min Durrell, John Whitten, Gideon Walker, John 
Hovey, and Charles Huff were chosen a committee of 
correspondence, inspection, and safety ; and John 
Whitten was appointed to receive rags for manufactur- 
ing paper for the use of the Province. 

The General Court ordered committees to procure 
clothing for soldiers, and directed the selectmen of 
towns to take a census of the inhabitants. The popu- 
lation of Arundel was 1143. 

In compliance with the direction of the General 
Court to the towns of the Province, this town voted, 
unanimously, to instruct" the present House of Repre- 
sentatives of this State, together with the Council, to 
exhibit such a Constitution and form of Government for 
the State, as they shall judge most conducive to the 
safety, peaee, and happiness of the state, and that the 
same shall be published for the inspection and general 
consent of the people, previous to its ratification." 



TO 1779.] KENNEBUNK PORT. 169 

The committee of safety for 1777, were John Hovey, 
Benj. Meed Lord, Elisha Boyls, Jonathan Stone, and 
Abner Perkins. 

The form of government proposed by the Represent- 
atives and Executive Council, was rejected by the 
people. In Arundel all the votes, thirty six, were in 
opposition to it. The town appropriated <£210, for the 
encouragement of soldiers, and voted to give Mr. Moody 
i£200 for the year 1778. Col. Jonathan Stone, John 
Hovey, Esq. Benj. Meeds Lord, Esq. Major Benjamin 
Durrell,and Capt. Tobias Lord were chosen committee 
of safety. Congress having assumed jurisdiction of 
maritime affairs, Massachusetts was divided into three 
districts, of which Maine constituted one ; and it was 
designated as the " District of Maine," till its separation 
from Massachusetts. 

The next year, [1779] it was " put to vote to see if 
the town would choose to vote for a new form of gov- 
ernment, and it passed in the negative, forty four 
against it, and no person at the meeting for it." 

The late emission of money having greatly depreciated, 
the town voted " to pay the Rev. Mr. Moody's salary 
the present year, in produce and labor, the old way as 
things went at the commencement of the present war." 
They also chose John Hovey a delegate "to the State 
Convention to be held at Concord, upon the first Wednes- 
day of October, to take into consideration the prices of 
merchandize and country produce, and join in fixing 
prices upon the same." Paper money had now become 
nearly worthless, forty dollars of it being worth but one 
in silver. Forty dollars a week, were paid for the 
school master's board, and £30 a year for sweeping out 
the meeting house. In Falmouth, corn was $35 a bushel, 
beef $5 a pound, molasses $16 a gallon, shoes $7 a 
pair, and a shirt or pair of stockings $6 ; and $70 were 
asked for a bushel of wheat, and $16 actually paid for 
a pound of tea.* 

This scarcity of money, however, did not prevent 
this town from acting vigorously for the public good. 
In fact, they appeared to have completely overcome 
their prudence, and now raised money as lavishly as they 

*Williamson, vol. ii. p. 473. 



170 HISTORY OF [from 1780 

had formerly been parsimonious. They appeared to 
be determined to redeem their pledge, and support 
the Declaration of Independence with their lives and 
fortunes. Five hundred pounds were raised [1780]* 
to send men to what proved the unfortunate expedi- 
tion to Penobscot, and April 5, carried away by their 
zeal for the public welfare, they agreed "upon a mus- 
ter day to inlist 19 men to go to Falmouth for eight 
months," and give them $200 a piece as a bounty. 
This informal proceeding was subsequently legalized at 
a town meeting ; and i£1500 were raised for this pur- 
pose, and to send soldiers to join the army. In May, 
c£9,500 were raised to hire men to join the Continental 
army ; in December ^13,135 were raised for the same 
purpose ; and <£3,500 for the defence of the town. 

A committee was chosen " to examine the new form of 
government," which had been proposed to the people 
for their acceptance, who reported favorably, and their 
report was unanimously accepted. The constitution and 
form of government to which this proceeding had re- 
ference were adopted by the required majority of the 
towns, two-thirds, and went into operation on the last 
Wednesday of October. 

The following year [1781] a committee was chosen 
to hire twelve men to serve in the Continental army, 
for three years, or during the war, and ,£100, hard 
money, were raised, " agreeably to a late resolve of 
Court, to purchase a certain quantity of beef, shirts, 
shoes and stockings, and blankets." Although these 
several payments were mostly in Continental money, 
yet when reduced to their real value, amounted to a 
sum, which must have been very onerous to the inhab- 
itants of this town. They were partially relieved, for a 
short time, by a new emission of paper money, which 
however retained its value but a short time. The 
success of the American and French forces which cap- 
tured the British army, under Cornwallis, Oct. 27, 
stimulated them to persevere. Silver, had now [1782] 
become more plenty, being brought into the country by 
the French. 

This town suffered comparatively but little during the 

*May 19th, 1780, was the noted dark day. 



TO 1782.] KENNEBUNK PORT. 171 

war, nor were its harbors visited by the enemy's ves- 
sels till August 8th, about a year before the treaty of 
peace was ratified. At that time an English brig of 
18 guns came into Qape Porpoise harbor, and took. 
a schociier and a sloop belonging to Newbury. 
They carried off the schooner, but the sloop get- 
ting ashore was burnt. While the English had 
possession of these vessels, Samuel Wildes, who was 
partially deranged, paddled into the harbor in a small 
canoe, and ordered them to give the vessels up, and 
leave the port. After talking and laughing for some 
time with him, they ordered him aboard the brig. He 
refused, and turned to pull ashore, when they wantonly 
fired seven muskets at him, and wounded him in several 
places. One bullet struck him on his knee, which 
famed him for life. When he got ashore, he was una- 
ble to stand from loss of blood, and he remained in a 
critical situation for some considerable time. The in- 
habitants of the town soon collected on Trott's Island, 
with the intention of crossing over to Goat Island, 
close to which the brig was anchored. To prevent this 
purpose, the brig sent a crew of men on to Goat Island, 
and a schooner of 10 guns, that was in company with 
the brig, fired grape shot continually through the 
opening between the islands. They succeeded howev- 
er in crossing, when the English finding they were 
likely to be outnumbered on the island, retreated to 
their boats, and were closely followed by the Americans, 
who immediately commenced firing upon them. So 
destructive was their fire, the English turned to come 
ashore, for the purpose, as was supposed, of giving 
themselves up prisoners. But the Americans being 
under no regular command and suspecting the British 
were returning to attack them, redoubled their fire and 
compelled them to go back. Only one, it is said, was 
able to climb up the vessel's side, and it was thought 16 
or 17 were killed. The Americans kept sheltered be- 
hind the rocks, and discharged their muskets at the 
brig, which was only about seventy yards from them, 
when they could do it without exposing themselves. 
Capt. James Burnham, having fired several times, was 
rising again to discharge his gun, when a musket ball 
struck him in his breast, and instantly killed him. Two 



172 HISTORY OF [from 1783 

pieces of cannon having been procured of Mr. Thomas 
Wiswall, who lived at the village, and carried on to 
Trott's Island, so annoyed the brig, that they began to 
warp her out of the harbor, but were unable to effect it, 
till the Americans had expended all their ammunition. 
In going out, the vessel struck on the eastern side, and 
was detained a short time. They however succeeded 
in getting her off, with but trifling damage. It was 
thought, if they could have got their cannon on 
to Goat Island while she was ashore, they could 
have captured her without much difficulty. Part 
of one of her rudder irons was found a few years since, 
on the rock on which she struck. There were none 
injured on our side but Capt. Burnham and Mr. Wildes. 

After the surrender of the army of Lord Cornwallis, 
it was very evident that the British government had 
given up all expectation of conquering this country, 
and Sept. 3, 1783, the treaty of peace, which recognized 
the independence of the United States, was signed at 
Paris. 

The energy manifested by the inhabitants of Arun- 
del during the war, did not subside with the return of 
peace. The intercourse with the leading men of the 
State, in Convention, Provincial Congress, General 
Court, and in the Army, which many of them enjoy- 
ed, taught them that they had a community of interest 
with the rest of the country ; and infused into them a 
new spirit of enlightened enterprize, which was a cer- 
tain precursor of more prosperous times. 

Many of the citizens of Maine were desirous that 
the District should become an independent State, and 
a Conference was called at Falmouth, Oct. 5, 1785, to 
discuss the propriety of the measure. Massachusetts 
proper was violently opposed to it, but notwithstanding 
another Convention was held, Jan. 4, 1786, and a Re- 
port, prepared by a committee, sent to every town in 
the District ; and the Convention was adjourned to 
September. In September there were but six towns 
represented from the County of York. Thomas Per- 
kins, Esq. was the delegate from Arundel ; and he was 
instructed by the unanimous vote of the town, to op- 
pose the measure. The Convention again adjourned 
to the 3d of January 1787, at which time a motion 



TO 1790.] KENNEBUNK PORT. 173 

was made to petition the General Court to sanction the 
separation, but it was negatived ; and the project was, 
for a time, abandoned. 

The small pox, in 1787, was introduced into this 
town, and a number of the citizens were anxious 
to have a hospital established, to inoculate those who 
had not had the disorder. A large majority of the in- 
habitants, however, were opposed to the plan, and the 
following vote was passed, at a town meeting, called 
upon the occasion. 

" Voted to put a final stop to the spreading of the 
small pox in said town immediately ; — Voted that 
any person that shall set up any pest-house in Arundel, 
for inoculation, shall pay a fine of fifty pounds, to the 
inhabitants of said town." This apparently decisive 
vote, did not, however, have the intended effect. Dr. 
Thacher Goddard, who had been living at the village a 
short time, prevailed upon Capt. James Perkins, whose 
vessel brought the disorder from the West Indies, to 
make a hospital of his dwelling house, and a large 
number were inoculated. 

The town [1788] gave " Mr. Thomas Wis wall lib- 
erty to have gates and bars at Huff's Cove, on the 
town landing ; and any other person upon the old 
County road, to Harding's ferry so called." 

George Washington was inaugurated President of 
the United States, April 30, 1789, and the government 
was duly organized. A census was ordered to be ta- 
ken, [1790] and Maine was divided into nine collection 
districts. The number of inhabitants of Maine was 
96,540 ; of the County of York 28,821 ; and of Arun- 
del 1802. The port of Kennebunk, including Arun- 
del and Wells, was included in the Saco district, of 
which Jeremiah Hill was Collector. The town was 
this year divided into five school districts or classes, 
and =£80, ($266) were raised for the support of schools. 
The heads or agents of the districts, were chosen in 
town meeting, and each one employed its own instruct- 
or. It will perhaps better show the estimation in which 
education was held by the inhabitants of this town, pre- 
vious to this period, by continuing the account of 
schools and instructors from the time when Mr. Eve- 
leth w r as dismissed. The town had granted 200 

Pr 



174 HISTORY OF [a. d. 1790. 

acres of land, in 1720, for the use of schools, but it 
was never laid out ; and the proprietors divided it, with 
the other common land, amongst themselves. In 1733, 
four years after the dismission of Mr. Eveleth, the 
town was presented by the grand jury, for not having a 
school according to law, and Mr. Hicks, a citizen of 
the town, was employed for about two dollars and fifty 
cents a year. There was no school kept again %n 
town, till 1736, when £30 (about 25 dollars) were rais- 
ed, and Mr. John Williams was chosen school mas- 
ter. Generally, the school master was chosen at town 
meetings, like town officers, but sometimes the select- 
men were authorized to employ one. Mr. Williams, 
who was an inhabitant of the town, continued to be 
chosen annually, till 1740, when he was dismissed for 
asking an increase of pay. Low as his compensation 
was, the town neglected to pay him, and he was obliged 
to sue for it the following year. For several years af- 
terwards, the town either had no school, or only 
employed an instructor a short time for the purpose 
of avoiding a fine, giving him less, generally, than the 
fine would have been. 

Samuel Wildes, who was also an inhabitant, suc- 
ceeded Mr. Williams, and had his town tax abated, 
for his services. In 1745, the town was again com- 
plained of, for want of a school, and William Water- 
house was chosen, who was allowed forty shillings, old 
tenor, being but little more than one dollar. The 
next year, Mr. Wildes was again chosen, and had 20s, 
or about fifty cents. After this lavish expenditure, the 
town concluded not to have a school the following 
year, but a complaint being entered, " one Mr. Samu- 
el Murphet was chosen Scoole Master." In 1748, 
" Samuel Robinson was chosen Scoole Master, and did 
not Refuse to Serve." He did not keep however, nor 
did the town expect him to, having only chosen him, in 
hopes of avoiding a fine. The next year they did not 
even choose one, and the town was again presented. 
In 1750, " Master Parrot hired for a quarter, to keep 
school at the rate of =£120, old tenor for him, and the 
town to pay his board."* The amount allowed him, 

*Mr. H. Journal. 



A. D. 1790.] KENNEBUNK PORT. 175 

about $45, was not for one quarter only, but for the 
year. The instructor was obliged to keep in several 
different places, to accommodate all parts of the town. 
Mr. Parrot began his school the last day of March ; and 
Mr. Hovey says, " July 3d. Master Parrot's time for 
keeping school in this part of the town is up." This 
was much the longest time, that they had ever had a 
public school, at one time, at the Cape ; although they 
sometimes employed a female to keep a private one.* 
Mr. Parrot made school keeping his business, and kept 
in various parts of the country. 

It does not appear by the town records that there was 
any provision made for schools, in 1G51, but the next 
year, Benjamin Downing, the town clerk, was chosen, 
" a school master to Serve ye. Town for three months 
for sixteen poundsf p. month and find him Self." A 
Mr. Hickey was next chosen, who kept several years. 

In 1766, while Mr. Hickey kept at Cape Porpoise, 
the selectmen employed, at the same time, Mr. Joseph 
Ward at Saco road. This was the first time, that two 
instructors had been employed at the same time ; and 
the measure was violently opposed by the inhabitants 
of the town. They refused to settle with Mr. Ward 
for his services, till he obtained his pay by process of 
law. He was an able teacher, and, in the revolutiona- 
ry war, served as Aide-de-camp to Gen. Ward. 

Mr. Adam McCulloch was first employed in 1767, 
and kept three years ; and was followed by Benjamin 
Burbank and Moses Johnson. About 1772, Mr. John- 
son's place was supplied by Ezra Thompson, generally 
known as " Old Master Thompson." 

In Mr. Thompson, the town found a man whose 
habits and disposition were exactly calculated to suit 
them. Satisfied with a bare maintenance, he indulged 
them in their dilatoriness, receiving pay when it suited 
them to give it, or not receiving it at all. He was a 
native of Wilmington, Mass. and during his residence 
in Arundel of nearly thirty years, he did not visit his 
friends ; and he gave as the reason for not doing it, 

*Mr. Hovey, in 1745, says " James and Eben. went to school 
with Mrs. Cole ;" and in 1748, that they went to Mrs. Dorman'a 
school. 

tAbout six dollars. 



176 HISTORY OF [a. d. 1790. 

that it would have cost him thirty dollars, and he had 
not been in possession of that sum, at one time, during 
his continuance in the place. Fortunately for the ri- 
sing generation, he was a man of good education, being 
a graduate of Harvard College ; and to his instructions 
were the inhabitants of the town mainly indebted for 
their holding a more respectable rank in society. A 
better education enabled them to engage in more prof- 
itable pursuits than fishing and milling ; and the pros- 
perity of the town kept pace with its increasing intelli- 
gence. 

Mr. Thompson was an eccentric man, and very pe- 
dantic. In politics he was a staunch whig, and in 
1775 he gave the town three months schooling, as his 
part of the public burthen. He was never appointed to 
any town office, except " scribe" to the committee that 
reported on the form of government submitted to the 
people, in 1780. In the latter part of his days, he be- 
came intemperate and destitute, being dependant upon 
charity for his clothing. Having fallen down in a state 
of intoxication, and remaining some time without being 
discovered, he took a violent cold, which soon ended 
his days. He died July 5, 1798, aged 64. His grave 
stones* are still standing, near the dwelling house of 
Samuel Robinson. Mr. Thompson was never married. 

The first school house in town was built in 1780, in 
the meeting house yard, near where the present one 
stands, by the exertions of a few of the most enlighten- 
ed citizens ; but the town refused to lend them any aid. 

Even their extreme poverty was no sufficient excuse 
for this gross neglect in educating their children. If 
their poverty kept them ignorant, their ignorance in 
its turn kept them poor. If they had shared in the in- 
telligence and information of other towns, they would 
likewise have vied with them in enterprize and wealth. 

Notwithstanding the great obstacles to their prosper- 

*The following is the inscription on his grave stones. " In 
grateful remembrance of Mr. Ezra Thompson, who was born Sept. 
23, 1734, at Wilmington, Mass. son of James and Abial Thompson. 
He graduated at Harvard College 1756. He was a good Classical 
Scholar, and spent upwards of 20 years of the latter part of his 
life as an Instructor of the Youth of the town of Arundel, to their 
great improvement. He died July 5, 1798," 



A. D. 1790.] KENNE15UNK PORT. 177 

ity, other towns rapidly advanced in wealth and popu- 
lation, while Arundel remained in poverty and igno- 
rance ; and almost unknown in the other parts of the 
province. If they had taken a proper interest in edu- 
cation, it would have led to more frequent intercourse 
with enlightened men of other towns, and could not but 
have had a salutary effect in their business concerns. 
There being no men of learning within the town, is 
undoubtedly the cause of there being so few documents 
from which to compile its history. If some of the in- 
habitants had been educated, they would probably have 
shared in the prominent acts of the Province ; and 
been the means of preserving for the use of their pos- 
terity, an account of the various fortunes, accidents, 
and reverses of the earlier settlers, during the trying 
period of the early Indian wars. Other towns are 
wholly indebted to their men of letters, for the records 
of their early proceedings, and for the remembrance of 
their prominent acts, during times of trial and danger. 

Nor were the bad effects of this neglect of education 
confined to themselves. Their children suffered for 
the faults of their fathers. Even after the town had 
gained some reputation on account of its wealth, its 
citizens were never called upon to fill any public office, 
or their services required in any public employment; 
and to this day do they feel the blighting effect of this 
neglect. 

As before remarked, the only extenuation of this 
fault was their extreme poverty. So very poor were 
the inhabitants after the resettlement of the town, they 
were unable to build their own mills ; and were oblig- 
ed to make extravagant grants, in order to induce 
wealthier people to remove into town. Several had 
the privilege of cutting timber in any part of the town, 
for their mills. The exercise of this right was after- 
wards of immense injury to the town; and the evils 
arising from it, were only ended by a legal decision and 
valuable definite grants of land. 

During the troubles with the Indians, and in seasons 
of scarcity, Berwick, and the other towns in the coun- 
ty, were obliged to afford this town charitable assist- 
ance ; and so destitute was it, that it acquired the name 
of " Poor Arundel," by which appellation it was 
known for a great number of years. 



178 HISTORY OP [from 1790 



CHAPTER VIII. 

Ship building....Village....West India business....Politics....Par- 

ish divided....Phantom ship Sherburne's meeting house 

built....Pier built....French spoliations....Kennebunk made a 
collection district.... Baptist society formed....Small pox.... 
Carhart's claim....English and French war....Imports and 

tonnage Ernbargo....Census....War with England....Bank 

incorporated.... Privateers....New religious societies formed.... 
Mr. Moody died....Maine separated from Massachusetts.... 
Population....Town takes the name of Kennebunk-port.... 
The second in wealth....Piers and light house built...Granite.... 
Village incorporated.... Bye-laws. 

From the close of the revolutionary war'to 1790, the 
wealth of Arundel increased rapidly. The business of 
the town was principally confined to ship build- 
ing and lumber business, which were carried on 
extensively on Kennebunk river. This caused the 
settlements on that river to multiply ; and the village, 
which at the conclusion of the revolutionary war, con- 
tained only four houses and one short wharf,* had 
become the most populous part of the town. Many 
persons had engaged in the West India trade which was 
found to be very profitable. 

The first vessels employed in the business, were 
sloops of fifty tons and less. The first voyage was 
performed by Capt. James Hovey, in a sloop belonging 
to Thomas Wiswall.f She had on a deck load of cattle, 
part of which was lost overboard the first night out. 

There was, in 1791, nearly <£16,000 in paper money 
in the town treasury, which, by a vote of the town, was 
carried to the Loan office, and four shillings, (67 cents) 
received for every hundred dollars in paper. 

*The houses wero those of Ephraim Perkins, Thomas Wiswall, 
Gideon Walker, and John Walker. Shackford's house had been 
taken down. The next one built, was that of Daniel Walker ; 
and the seventh was erected by Benjamin Coes. The wharf waa 
a short one, whore that of Joseph Perkins now is. 

tBourne's Hist. Kennebunk. 



TO 1794.] KENNEBUNK PORT. 179 

Another attempt was made, to make Maine a separ- 
ate state, and Arundel was again unanimously opposed 
to it. 

Thomas Durrell and Seth Burnham were chosen 
delegates to a Convention held at San ford, May 1, 1792, 
to further consider the expediency of becoming an 
independent state. At a subsequent meeting, the votes, 
on this occasion, were 64 against it, and only one in 
favor. 

The Constitution of the United States as first framed, 
[1793] although adopted by the vote of a majority of 
the people, was warmly opposed by many intelligent 
and patriotic citizens. 

The party in favor of the constitution, was called the 
Federal, and the one opposed to it, the Anti-Federal 
party. Several articles, most violently opposed by the 
anti-federalists, or, as they were afterwards called, 
republicans, were amended. During the progress of 
the French revolution, after England had declared war 
against France, there was a deep interest taken in the 
result of the contest, by the people of the United States ; 
— the federalists favoring the cause of England, and 
the republicans or democrats that of France. Washing- 
ton, not wishing to embroil this country in the quarrel, 
issued a proclamation of Neutrality, and ratified the 
treaty, known as Jay's treaty, with the British govern- 
ment. The federalists were in favor of these measures 
of the national administration, but the republicans were 
opposed to them. At a town meeting held in Arundel, 
in compliance with a request from a Convention held 
in Boston, to express their views upon these measures, 
it was " voted unanimously, a hearty concurrence there- 
with, and a strict conformity thereto in principle and 
practice." 

At another meeting, the town refused to send a dele- 
gate to Portland, to consider the expediency of separating 
from Massachusetts, and again voted unanimously not 
to separate. 

At the General election held on the first Monday in 
April, 1794, there were 44 votes for William dishing, the 
federal candidate for governor, and only four for Sam- 
uel Adams, the democratic candidate. Mr. Adams, 
however, was elected. 



180 HISTORY of [from 1794 

Up to this time, Maine bad been entitled to but one 
Representative to Congress, but by a new apportion- 
ment, it was now entitled to three. 

By a resolve of the General Court, every town in the 
state was to have a plan of the town taken, upon a scale 
of'200rodsto an inch ; and <£14 were allowed to Seth 
Burnham, Esq. for drawing a plan of Arundel. 

It was voted, April 6, 1795, " to choose a committee 
to petition the General Court for an act to prevent 
cattle and horses from running on the beach, between 
Badson's and Little rivers, from the last day of Novem- 
ber, to the first day of April." 

The political parties made great efforts to elect their 
respective candidates, in 1796, and Mr. Adams was 
again elected. On the question of removing the Judi- 
cial Courts from York to Rennebunk, Arundel voted 
unanimously for Kennebunk. 

Population having considerably increased, [1797] the 
meeting house was found to be too small ; and an at- 
tempt was made to enlarge it. The inhabitants of the 
upper part of the town, who were quite numerous, were 
unwilling to be taxed for repairing the house ; or for 
supporting a minister, who lived so far from them, that 
it was nearly impossible for them to attend his meetings. 
After several unsuccessful attempts to obtain a vote 
to enlarge the house, the town consented that persons, 
living " north westerly of a line to run from the widow 
Ruth Crediford's house north east to Biddeford line," 
should be exempted from paying a tax to the minister, 
or to repair the house. Opposition being then with- 
drawn, it was repaired and painted. The inhabitants 
of the upper division of the parish, having built a meet- 
ing house, petitioned the town to allow Mr. Moody to 
preach in it a third part of the time, or in proportion to 
the amount of taxes paid by them, but the town would 
not consent to it. 

The land laid out for the use of the ministry in 1725, 
commonly called the parsonage, being considered pub- 
lic property, had always been a prey to trespassers ; 
and it was more trouble than benefit to the town. By 
consent of the town, permission was obtained from the 
General Court, to sell the land, and place the money 
at interest for the use of the ministry. 



TO 1798.] KENNEBUNK PORT. 181 

There were no votes thrown for Governor in 1797, 
■in Arundel, but this year, they were all cast for Mr. 
Sumner, the federal candidate. The inhabitants still 
remained firm in their attachment to the National Ad- 
ministration; and a committee was chosen to make 
known to President Adams, " their strict confidence in 
his proceedings." 

Kennebunk being a barred harbor, and the channel 
being liable to change every storm, by the shifting of 
the sand, and there also being a bad rock, called the 
perch rock, in the middle of the river, a company was 
incorporated to build a pier, extending over perch 
rock, for the double purpose of covering the rock and 
keeping the channel in one place. 

The proprietors of the pier, which was usually called 
the Perch-rock wharf, were allowed to assess a small 
tax on every ton of navigation passing the pier.* Even 
after building this pier, it was dangerous to sail out of 
the river fully loaded ; and the larger class of vessels 
usually finished their lading outside the bar. In June, 
two brigs, the Ranger, James Perkins master, and the 
Louisa, Capt. Paul, were taking in their cargoes over 
the bar. The crew of the Ranger, about daylight in 
the morning, were preparing to go into the river for a 
raft of boards. After getting into the boat, they dis- 
covered a brig under full sail, apparently on the beach. 
They soon however perceived that she was afloat, and, 
although it was nearly calm, sailing with great rapidity ; 
and she very shortly disappeared. 

This phenomenon terrified them exceedingly, for 
they were satisfied that no vessel could be with safety, 
where they first saw her, or sail so rapidly as she appear- 
ed to without wind. Several of the crew took their chests 
ashore, with the intention of quitting the vessel, pre- 
suming this appearance, which they thought supernat- 
ural, was an omen of evil. After considerable persuasion, 
however, they consented to proceed on the voyage. 
Both brigs sailed in company, and after unusually 
short and prosperous voyages, arrived the same day, — 

*The pier was built in 1793, but it was not incorporated till 1798. 
The act of incorporation was several times renewed, but the tax on 
tonnage being reduced in 1820, the proprietors refused to accept 
the charter. 

a 



182 HISTORY OF FROM 1768 

the Ranger at Kennebunk, and the Louisa in Boston. 
The mate and one of the crew who witnessed this ap- 
pearance, were afterwards amongst the most intelligent 
ship masters of the port. 

A similar phenomenon was observed several years 
afterwards, by two fishermen. Their reputation for 
veracity, however would not have entitled them to belief, 
if their very evident fright and temporary reformation, 
had not confirmed their statement. The vessel in this 
instance appeared to sail directly across the river. 

This appearance was undoubtedly the effect of mir- 
age or loom. The vessels seen were probably some 
distance from the shore. " The representation of ships 
in the air by unequal refraction has no doubt given rise 
in early times to those superstitions which have pre- 
vailed in different countries respecting "phantom 
ships," as Washington Irving calls them, which always 
sail in the eye of the wind, and plough their way 
through the smooth sea, where there is not a breath of 
wind upon its surface. In his beautiful story of the 
storm ship, which makes its way up the Hudson against 
wind and tide, this elegant writer has finely imbodied 
one of the most interesting superstitions of the early 
American colonists. The Flying Dutchman had in all 
probability a similar origin, and the wizard beacon- 
keeper of the Isle of France, who saw in the air the 
vessels bound to the island long before they appeared 
in the offing, must have derived hjs power from a dili- 
gent observation of the phenomena of nature."* 

Appearances, although not so striking as the two no- 
ticed, arising from the same cause, are frequently seen 
from the observatory. Cape Neddock and the Nub- 
ble, and Boon Island frequently appear to be elevated 
several degrees above a well defined horizon ; and ves- 
sels in the offing are enlarged and often doubled, while 
boats, even to the eye of the experienced, take the 
appearance of square-rigged vessels. 

The Isles of Shoals, which are actually below the 
horizon, are sometimes distinctly visible ; and Seguin 
Island, at the mouth of Kennebunk river, and even 

*Brewster's Letters on Natural Macric, — Harper's Family Li- 
brary, No. L. letter 6. p. 122,— in which these interesting phe- 
nomena are satisfactorily explained. 



TO 1799-] KENNEBUNK PORT. 183 

Cape Ann have been seen from the house of Israel 
Stone, at Cape Porpoise. Fishing boats belonging to 
that harbor, can be recognized while lying at anchor, 
twenty miles from the land. 

Loom, or the state of the air when unequally heated, 
indicates southerly weather. This state of the atmos- 
phere is also favorable to the transmission of sounds. 
The bells of the village of Kennebunk, which are four 
miles north west from the Port, are most distinctly 
heard with a southerly or south westerly wind, while 
they are never heard during the time of a dry wind 
from the north west. 

The distinct appearance of the White Hills* in New 
Hampshire, and the sound of these bells, are sure signs 
to the fishermen who pursue their business but a short 
distance from the land, of an out shore wind. When 
the factory was first established at Kennebunk, several 
fishermen being deceived by the loud sound of the bell 
belonging to that establishment, made a harbor in ex- 
pectation of a gale from the southward. They could 
not account for the subsequent favorable weather till 
they ascertained that there was a new bell, which was 
either larger than the old one, or the sound of w r hich 
was less interrupted by intervening objects. t 

The taxes of the town were, 1799, for the first time 
assessed in dollars and cents, although computation in 
Federal money had been adopted by Act of Congress, 
six years before. 

Not only the nations of Europe, but the United 
States had become embroiled in the war between 
France and England. Both of these nations, in viola- 

*Thcse hills, although 80 miles from the sea, are frequently the 
first land discovered in approaching the coast. 

iThe course of the wind appears to have but little effect in ex- 
tending sounds. At the village of Konnebunk-port, during a 
violent storm January 1, 1837, part of the time the wind was to 
the northward with snow, and at other times to the southward with 
Fain. At Cape Neddock, about 12 miles to the southward, there 
was no snow, while a few miles from the sea there was no rain. 
With the wind north east, blowing violently, directly towards the 
coast, the rote, or roaring of the sea, was very plainly heard, dur- 
ing the whole storm, twelve or fifteen miles in the country ; while 
in a dry northerly wind, the sound does not reach the village, 
which is less than a mile from the shore. 



184 HISTORY OF [from 179^ 

tion of justice, preyed upon the commerce of this 
country. The citizens of the port of Kennebunk, who 
were largely concerned in navigation, lost a consider- 
able amount of property. 

The County of York was divided this year into two 
districts by the Great Ossipee river, for the conveni- 
ence of registering deeds and holding Probate Courts. 

"Wells, Kennebunk, and Cape Porpoise, which had 
heretofore been ports of delivery only, were made a 
collection district in 1800, and Jonas Clark was ap- 
pointed collector. The Custom-house was located in 
Kennebunk village, to accommodate both Wells and 
Arundel. The amount of tonnage in the district was 
1463 tons. 

By the census of this year, Maine contained 151,719 
inhabitants, the County of York 37,7*29, and Arundel 
1900. 

Maine was entitled to four Representatives to Con- 
gress, one of whom was assigned to the County of 
York. 

Durrell's bridge, which was first built before 1751, 
was rebuilt this year, with a draw ; and ship building, 
since this period, has been principally carried on above 
that bridge. 

The town, which had heretofore generally voted for 
the federal candidate for Governor, [1801] now be- 
came divided. Samuel Phillips, the federal candidate, 
had 44 votes, and Elbrige Gerry, 30. The following 
year, [1802] Caleb Strong had 48 votes, and Mr. 
Gerry 21. 

The persons in the upper part of the town who had 
built the new meeting house, had been unable to hire 
a congregational minister, or to induce the town to 
allow Mr. Moody to preach for them. Mr. Moody had 
preached there only one Sabbath, and several other 
of the neighboring ministers had also preached occa-- 
sionally. " Being unable to settle a congregationalist, 
they suffered the baptists to preach in it."* Mr. 
Timothy Remich of Parsonsfield, who was shortly 
afterwards ordained at Cornish, preached a few Sab- 
baths, and was succeeded by Mr. Andrew Sherburne. 

* Sherburne's Memoirs. 



TO 1806.] KENNEBUNK PORT. 185 

In December they agreed to consider themselves a 
baptist society, and invited Mr. Sherburne to settle 
with them. They offered him " the amount of the 
ministerial tax, which they had usually paid to Mr. 
Moody, which was about sixty dollars,"* and one half 
of the income of the parsonage fund, to which they 
presumed they were entitled. They also furnished 
him with a house, hay for his horse and cow, and 
his fuel. Mr. Sherburne moved into town in Janu- 
ary, 1803, and " a baptist church was constituted, 
consisting of thirteen members, "f in June, but he 
was not ordained till the 28th of September. 

The federalists having succeeded for several years 
in electing their candidate for Governor, and obtain- 
ing a majority in both branches of the Legislature, 
the democratic party in Arundel, either declined to 
vote, or again united with the federal party ; and Gov. 
Strong received the undivided vote of the town. Nine- 
ty nine votes were thrown for him, but there were 
260 legal voters belonging to the town. In the choice 
of Electors for President and Vice President, the fol- 
lowing year, [1804] the votes were nearly divided, the 
federal candidates having 67 votes, and the democratic 
62. The next year, however, the democratic party 
first obtained a majority of votes, James Sullivan hav- 
ing 72, and Caleb Strong 70. After this period the 
town was nearly equally divided in politics, sometimes 
one party having the ascendency, and sometimes the 
other. 

The northern division of York County, being united 
with a part of Cumberland, was erected into a County 
by the name of Oxford ; and the bounds of the Coun- 
ty of York have since been unaltered. 

The small pox having again been brought into the port 
by a vessel from the West Indies, the town, having wit- 
nessed the beneficial effect of inoculation in 1787, now 
consented that a hospital might be erected near Cleaves's 
Cove ; and many of the inhabitants were inoculated. 
The members of the baptist society thinking they 
were entitled to a fair proportion of the interest of the 
parsonage money, [1806] advised their pastor, Mr. 

* Sherburne's Memoirs. t Ibid. 



18(5 history op [from 1806 

Sherburne, to apply to Mr. Moody for part of it, but 
lie refused to relinquish it. Not being an incorpora- 
ted society, they were doubtful whether they could 
support their claim to it, and they petitioned the town 
to be set off as the First Baptist Society. The town 
did not consent to it, and Mr. Sherburne was sent to 
Boston, to procure an act of incorporation from the 
General Court, which was obtained June 24th. The 
parish was not a territorial one, but the members of it 
belonged in all parts of the town. There were forty 
seven persons named in the Act of Incorporation. 

The claim to land in Arundel under Major Phillips's 
Indian title, was again revived this year, and the town 
chose " Thomas Durrell, Esq. an agent for the said 
town of Arundel, to defend an action or actions, 
brought against Thomas Perkins, jr. by Thomas Car- 
hart and others, who claim not only said Perkins's 
land, but a large part of the land in the town, to appear 
at the next Court of Common Pleas, to be holden at 
Alfred, September term, 1806, to answer to the afore- 
said action in behalf of the said town of Arundel." 
At the time of this suit, it was ascertained, that, al- 
though all the land within the limits of the town was 
possessed by virtue of town, or proprietor's grants, 
they would not cover two thirds of the land claimed 
under them. In most cases large measure had been 
obtained, and frequently lots had been laid out more 
than once, under the plea that former locations had 
infringed upon other grants.* Mr. Carhart and his 
associates failed in their suit, in consequence of hav- 
ing brought their action of ejectment against persons 
who could prove their title by possession. The claim- 
ants however did not think their title sufficiently good 
to justify them in commencing a new action, and this 
unjust claim was finally dropped. 

The war between France and England being re- 
newed, American vessels,! [1807] which were pursuing a 

* When Vaughan's Island was sold to Bryan Pendleton, 1660, it 
was estimated at 50 acres, but when it was granted by the town, 
1723, to James Mussey, it was said to contain only 23 acres. 

t There were from 30 to 40 vessels belonging to this port, with 
their cargoes, captured by European nations before and after the- 
year 1800, valued at about $250,000, part of which was insured* 



TO 1808.] KENNEBUNK PORT. 187 

very lucrative business, were confiscated by tbe French 
under the Berlin and Milan Decrees, and by the Eng- 
lish under their Orders in Council. Each of these 
nations seemed to be determined either to rob the 
Americans of their earnings, or to force them into a 
war with its opponent. To preserve the commerce of 
the country, and to be in a situation to declare war if 
driven to it, an embargo was laid on all the shipping 
in the United States. 

The ship owners of the port of Kennebunk, were 
never engaged in more profitable business than at this 
time ; and they suffered severely by these restrictive 
measures. The amount of duties collected in the 
district in 1S0G, was $81,273, and in 1807, $52,642; 
and, notwithstanding the embargo, for the ten years 
after the district was established, the whole amount 
was about $500,000. Many vessels belonging to the 
port, discharged their cargoes in Boston, and other 
places, which at least doubled the amount of duties 
paid on imports by Kennebunk merchants. Besides 
West India vessels, in which these imports were prin- 
cipally made, a large amount of property was invested 
in freighting ships, which usually entered in ballast. 

Navigation gave a spring to other branches of busi- 
ness, and traders and mechanics were daily adding to 
their wealth. Real estate in the village was exorbi- 
tantly high, land being sold for more than a thousand 
dollars an acre. 

The baptist society being incorporated, another 
attempt was made by them to obtain a portion of the 
ministerial fund, by petitioning the town. Mr. Sher- 
burne urged, tbat as the land from which the fund 
originated was given by the whole town for the use 
of the ministry, without confining the grant to any one 
society or denomination, all were equally entitled to 
the benefit of it. A majority of the town however 
being congregationalists, the application was dsire- 
garded. 

The embargo, [1808] which had been in force four- 
teen months, was so far rescinded as to allow our ves- 
sels to trade with Spain, Portugal, Denmark, and 
several other nations, and a non-intercourse with 
Endand and France substituted in its stead. In 



188 HISTORY OF [FROM 1809 

prospect of this event, the inhabitants of Arundel had 
chosen a committee for the purpose of petitioning the 
President of the United States " according to the*pow- 
er vested in him by Congress, to suspend the Act 
laying an Embargo on all ships and vessels in the ports 
and harbors of the United States, and the several acts 
supplementary thereto, at least so far as they may 
respect the trade of the United States with Spain and 
Portugal, and their provinces and colonies." 

By this act of the American government, [1809] 
business again revived ; but in 1810 the French and 
English renewed their depredations upon American 
commerce. 

By the census of this year, there were 228,687 in- 
habitants in Maine, and 2,377 in Arundel. The amount 
of tonnage in Maine, was 141,057, and in the District 
of Kennebunk, 8,552 tons. Notwithstanding the great 
loss of property by the seizures of European nations, 
business still continued to be profitable. It being hoped 
that the country would not be involved in war, the village 
continued to increase rapidly in size. To facilitate 
the increasing travel to the westward, a company was 
formed for the purpose of erecting a toll bridge across 
Kennebunk river, which, together with a road that was 
wholly made by the voluntary contribution of the inhab- 
itants of the village, shortened the distance to Wells 
nearly one half. 

The Religious Freedom Bill was passed in 1811 by 
the Legislature of Massachusetts, which gave to unincor- 
porated religious societies the same privileges with those 
incorporated. 

The English continuing to insult tb# American flag, 
and to impress American seamen, Congress, April 4, 
1812, laid an embargo on all vessels within the harbors 
of the United States, and June 18, declared war against 
Great Britain. 

Although the embargo and non-intercourse acts, and 
the seizure of American vessels by the French and Eng- 
lish had greatly interrupted trade, yet the business of 
this town had continued to increase. House lots in the 
village sold at the rate of more than 87000 an acre. 
The amount of duties on importations in this district in 
1811, was 886,441, and in 1812, $119,850. 



TO 1813.] KENNEBUNK PORT. 189 

This extensive business was at once stopped by the 
war, there not being a single entry at the Custom House 
the two following years. The entire business of the 
place, being dependant on navigation, at once came to 
a stand ; and the stores of the traders, and the shops of 
the mechanics were closed. From a place of bustle and 
activity, the port was metamorphosed into a deserted 
village ; and its citizens turned from their wonted em- 
ployments, felt to their extent the evils arising from a 
state of warfare. The vessels of the port had gener- 
ally been manned by citizens of this and the neighboring 
towns ; and to give them employment, a small privateer 
sloop, called the Gleaner, commanded by Joshua Rob- 
inson, was fitted out, and manned with a select crew of 
50 men. She took two prizes, which were retaken ; 
and the privateer herself was captured by an English 
brig of 18 guns, about ten days out. The crew were 
carried to Halifax, but were shortly afterwards exchan- 
ged. 

The valuation of property of the County of York, 
was at this time $288,522, and of the town of Arundel, 
817,650. The number of taxable polls in the town was 
473. By a vote of the town, the selectmen were in- 
structed to petition the General Court for an act to 
change the name of the town to Kennebunk, but it 
does not appear that the vote was complied with. 

In 1813, the Kennebunk Bank in Arundel was in* 
corporated for 17 years, with a capital of $100,000. 
Joseph Moody of Wells was chosen President, and 
Henry Clark of Arundel, Cashier. The building was 
of brick, and cost between three and four thousand 
dollars. 

To protect the river, which was crowded with dis- 
mantled shipping, a small fort was built on Kennebunk 
point, and a batlery near Butler's rocks, both on the 
eastern side of the river. A volunteer artillery com- 
pany was stationed at the fort, which was relieved by 
the Limington Light Infantry, under the command of 
Capt. Small. The coast was lined with British men-of- 
war and privateers ; and frequently could the flames 
arising from coasting vessels which had fallen into the 
hands of the enemy, be seen from the village. In conse- 
quence of the risk in running from port to port, provisions 



190 HISTORY OP [from 1813 

were extremely high. Flour was worthfrom 14 to 15 
dollars a barrel, corn two dollars a bushel, molasses 
81,25 a gallon, and other articles proportionably high. 

Notwithstanding the risk, several of the ventu- 
rous mariners of this port, with small craft, kept 
running during the war, but one of which was ta- 
ken.* Owing to the bad luck of the Gleaner, no 
privateer was fitted out the second year of the war, but 
many citizens of the town joined those of other ports, 
some of whom were fortunate, and others were lost. 

Besides privateering, several vessels were fitted out, 
[1814] under the Danish flag, but all of them except one, 
notwithstanding their disguise, were captured by the 
English. 

A new privateer brig, the McDonough, Capt. Weeks, 
with 70 men, was fitted out, but she fared no better 
than the Gleaner. She was captured the second day 
out by the Bacchante Frigate, and her crew carried to 
Halifax, and afterwards to England, and were impris- 
oned in Dartmoor till the end of the war.t Not 
discouraged by these failures, two other fast sailing 
brigs were built, the Ludlow and Lawrence. The 
former, commanded by Capt. Mudge, was fitted out in 
the winter, and on going to sea sprung aleak, and put 
into Havana, where she was detained in making repairs 
till peace was proclaimed. The Lawrence had not 
sailed when the treaty of peace was signed, December 
24, and was sold to a merchant in Boston. During this 
year, the ship Alexander, a Salem privateer, was chas- 
ed ashore by the Ratler, seventy four, about two miles 
to the westward of Kennebunk river. It being low 
water, and very smooth, the British hauled her off on 
the rise of the tide, with but little injury to her. Alarms 
were frequent during the war, and the militia were 
repeatedly called out, but there was no attempt by the 
English to land in this vicinity. 

Besides the new road to Wells, the road between 
Arundel and Saco had been shortened during the sum- 
mer, and the mail and accommodating stages ran 



o 



*Sloop Charles, Andrews. 

tTwo only of her crew died in prison, Capt John Stone and 
Jesse March. 



TO 1815.] KENNEBUNK PORT. 191 

alternately through the villages of Arundel and Kenne- 
bunk.* Previous to this year, there had been no post 
office in the town, and the citizens had taken turns in 
bringing the mail from the Kennebunk post office. By 
order of the Post-master-general, a branch of that 
office was established in Arundel, and John Patten was 
appointed assistant postmaster, by the postmaster at 
Kennebunk. 

With the return of peace, [1815] business revived, 
and the harbor of Kennebunk exhibited in appearance 
of great activity. The West India business, freighting, 
and ship building, were conducted with their former 
energy. 

Mr. Moody having become old and infirm, his parish 
proposed settling a colleague with him, and they of- 
fered Mr. Nathan Lord, of Berwick, $400. They af- 
terwards offered him $550 during Mr. Moody's life, and 
$700 after his decease. Mr. Lord, who preached here 
a short time, did not accept the offer, but settled in 
Amherst, and is now President of Dartmouth College. 
Several persons belonging to the society having chang- 
ed their religious views ; and others, not being willing 
to pay two ministers, availed themselves of the Reli- 
gious Freedom Act, of 1811, and formed new societies, 
or joined the baptist society. 

The custom house, which had been heretofore loca- 
ted in Kennebunk, was removed to the village of 
Arundel, and George Wheelwright was appointed Dep- 
uty-Collector. Joseph Storer, who succeeded Mr. 
Clark in the Collectorship, resided at the village of 
Kennebunk. 

There was a remarkable rise of the tide in Kenne- 
bunk river in June of this year. At low water it 
suddenly rushed in, and in a few minutes had flowed 
several feet high. It again ebbed, as rapidly as it ad- 
vanced, to its former level. The brig Union, that was 
lying at a wharf near the mouth of the river, was with 
difficulty prevented from striking adrift, so rapid was 
the flow of the tide.t 

*The stages ran through the village of Arundel but a few years. 

tThore was a similar phenomenon observed at Nantucket, in 

183U. 



192 HISTORY OF [FROM 1S16 

Another attempt was made, in 1816, to make Maine 
an independent state, and the General Court of Massa- 
chusetts directed all the towns and plantations in the 
District to vote upon the question. In Arundel, where 
there were 357 qualified voters, there were 63 votes 
against separation and 23 in favor. Although a majority 
of votes cast, were in favor of becoming an independent 
state, but a few votes were thrown ; and the subject 
was again submitted to the people in September, at 
which time the votes of this town were 93 against, and 
only 13 for the proposed measure. A convention had 
been ordered to meet in Brunswick, on the last Mon- 
day in September, to count the votes, and, if the 
required majority were obtained, to form a state consti- 
tution. Each town was required to send as many 
delegates as it was entitled to representatives to General 
Court. Eliphalet Perkins and John Mitchell were 
delegates from Arundel. 

Mr. Moody died April 7, aged 73, and was succeeded 
by Mr. George Payson, who was ordained July 3, 1816. 

The ancestor of Mr. Moody, William, came from 
Wales in 1633, and settled in Ipswich. He removed 
to Newbury in 1635, and was admitted freeman. He 
was a blacksmith, and first adopted the practice of shoe- 
ing oxen to enable them to walk on ice. He died Oct. 
25, 1673. He left three sons, Joshua, Caleb and Sam- 
uel. Samuel married Mary Cutting, Nov. 30, 1657. 
Their children were, William, John, Samuel, Cutting, 
and probably others. Samuel, the third son, was born 
in 1671. He had but one son, William, whose sons 
were, Samuel, William, Thomas, Silas, and Nicholas. 
Silas, the fourth son, was born in 1743, graduated 1761, 
and settled in Arundel, 1771. He married Mary, 
daughter of the Rev. Daniel Little of Kennebunk, in 
1773. Several of their children now reside in town. 
Mrs. Moody is still living, at the advanced age of 81, 
in good health, and with unimpaired faculties. 

Mr. Moody was a man of fair talents, but his health, 
which was always feeble, disqualified him for close ap- 
plication to his studies. Some of his occasional sermons 
evinced much research, and the one on the death of 
Washington, was published by request of his society. 
He maintained a considerable degree of popularity, 



TO 1818.] KENNEBUNK TORT. 193 

and was much respected during his long settlement in 
this town of more than forty five years. 

On account of the severity of the cold the previous 
summer, in 1817 there was a greater scarcity of provis- 
ions than there had been for a long period. The crops 
were not only all cut off in New England, but the 
wheat crop of the southern states was almost wholly de- 
stroyed by early frost. Flour was from 14 to 15 dollars 
a barrel in Philadelphia. 

The next year, [1818] was much more favorable for 
agriculturalists ; and emigration to the western states, 
which had been very common, was checked. Many 
however continued to emigrate, amongst whom was 
the Rev. Andrew Sherburne. He had the year before 
joined the Massachusetts Missionary Society, and had 
been preaching in New Hampshire, but his family con- 
tinued to reside in Arundel. 

Mr. Sherburne was born in Rye, N. H. and his ances- 
tors were amongst the earliest settlers of Portsmouth. 
His early education was quite limited. He joined the 
continental ship-of-war, Ranger, at the age of thirteen, 
and served on board of her and other ships, during the 
war ; having been taken prisoner three times. 

Pie continued to follow the sea for several years after 
the war. In 1787 he visited Cornish, Me. and soon 
after became religious ; and began to preach occasion- 
ally in 1800. His first wife was Jane Muchamore of 
Portsmouth, who died in the spring of 1815. The same 
year he married Betsey Miller of Arundel, who survived 
him. Mr. Sherburne was a man of respectable tal- 
ents, and a very fluent speaker. Although his early 
advantages had been limited, and his situation in life 
unsuitable for study, he nevertheless acquired a decent 
education. His devotion to politics, however, injured 
his influence as a preacher. In 1810, he was deputy 
roar shall, and assisted in taking the census of that year ; 
and in 1814, he was assistant assessor of the direct tax. 
After his removal to Ohio, he became poor, and almost 
destitute. In 1827 he wrote his Memoirs, which are 
well written and evince considerable talent. The next 
year he visited this town to make sale of his work, and 
realized a handsome sum. He died shortly after his 
return to his family. He left several children. 
R 



194 HISTORY OP [from 1819 

Although the attempts made to separate Maine from 
Massachusetts, had heretofore been defeated, the subject 
was again agitated in 1819. The votes of Arundel 
were 23 for, and 109 against the measure. The re- 
quired majority of the votes of the District were, however, 
in favor of separation, and by an Act of Congress, 
Maine was admitted one of the United States of Ameri- 
ca, March 15, 1820. 

The population of Arundel had not kept pace with 
its wealth. By the census of this year, the number 
of inhabitants was 2498, being an increase in ten 
years of only 121, or about five per cent, while the 
property of the town had gained twenty fold. Many of 
the young men had removed from the town; and those 
that remained found employment on board vessels 
trading to the West Indies, the unhealthy climate of 
which islands caused a great mortality amongst them. 

The amount of tonnage owned in this port was 
7509 tons. An appropriation of $5000 was made by 
Congress this year, to build piers at the mouth of Ken- 
nebunk river, for the improvement of the harbor. 

Mr. Sherburne was succeeded in the baptist society 
by the Rev. Jotham Day, who was settled in November. 
From the time of the decease of Mr. Moody, this socie- 
ty had added to its numbers greatly, by addition' of 
members from the congregationalist society. The 
members residing in and near the village, outnumbered 
those living in the upper part of the town, and had 
preaching the greater part of the time. April 11th, 
several members were dismissed from the church for 
the purpose of forming a new one, and the second 
Baptist society was duly organized May 29th.* 

Mr. Pay son, whose health had for some time been 

*A German traveller, who came passenger to tin's port in 1820, 
and who resided sometime in the village, published an account of 
his travels, on his return to his native country. Amongst other 
anecdotes related by him during his residence here, he stated that 
the baptists cut a hole through the ice, for the purpose of baptising 
a woman. It being extremely cold, the minister was unable to 
hold her, Rnd she slipped under the ice and was drowned. This 
accident he said caused but little sensation, it being admitted by 
all that she must have gone to heaven. 

It is perhaps unnecessary to say, that this story, like most oth- 
ers of a similar character related by European tourists in America, 
had not the least foundation in fact. 



TO 1820.] KENNEBUNK PORT. 195 

very feeble, asked his dismission. His society, with 
expressions of regret, consented and he was dismissed 
July 19th. After his dismission he spent a winter at 
the south, and in some measure regained his health. 
He afterwards took charge of Limerick Academy, and 
subsequently of a seminary for young ladies, in Port- 
land. But even this confinement was more than he 
could bear, and he returned to this town, where he died 
Oct. 25, 1823, aged thirty four years. 

Mr. Payson was a man of fine talents, and generally 
popular with his society. He was naturally reserved 
in his manners, but affable and cheerful with his ac- 
quaintance. He was born in Pomfret, Conn, in 1789, 
and graduated at Yale College in 1812. He married, 
June 1, 1819, Lois W. Lord of Arundel, who afterwards 
married Nathaniel Dana, Esq. of Boston, and is still 
living. Mr. Payson's father and the father of Dr. Pay- 
son of Portland were brothers. The following account 
of the family is taken from Farmer's Register. " Pay- 
son, Edward, Roxbury, freeman 1640, whose first wife 
died in 1641, had by a second, sons, John, born 1643, 
freeman 1630; Jonathan, born 1644, a deacon of the 
church at°Roxbury, and died 15 Nov. 1719, and prob- 
ably others. Edward, the fifth minister of Rowley, 
was son of Edward Payson, and was born at Roxbury, 
20 June, 1657 ; graduated a H. C. 1677, freeman 1680, 
was ordained 25 Oct. 1682, died 22d Aug. 1732, aged 
75. Elizabeth, his wife, died 1 Oct. 1724, aged 60. 
He afterwards married Elizabeth, widow of Hon. S. 
Appleton. His sons, Samuel, H. C. 1716; Elliot; 
Stephen; Jonathan; David, and Phillips. Phillips, H. 
C. 1724, the minister of Walpole, was ancestor of the 
several distinguished clergymen of the name. The late 
Rev. Edward Payson, D. D. of Portland, was of the 
fifth descent, the whole line being clergymen from the 
Rowley minister." 

Mr. Joseph P. Fessenden was employed to preach 
after the dismission of Mr. Payson ; and was ordained 
Oct. 25, 1820. The free meeting house was built at 
the village this year, and was occupied alternately by 
the baptists and methodists. The post office was estab- 
lished in the town, and Stephen Towne was appointed 
post-master. 



196 HISTORY OF [from 1820 

From the amount of business carried on at the port 
of Kennebunk, it was generally known in the commer- 
cial world, while Wells and Arundel, which composed 
the district, were almost wholly unknown. The inhab- 
itants of Arundel therefore, again petitioned the 
Legislature to have the name of the town changed to 
Kennebunk. The inhabitants of the eastern part of 
Wells having also petitioned to be set off as a separate 
town by that name ; and having entered their petition 
before that from Arundel, the town of Kennebunk was 
incorporated, June 1820. In consequence, Arundel 
took the less convenient name of Kennebunk-port, 
February 19, 1821, by the following act of the Legisla- 
ture. 

" Be it enacted by the Senate and House of Repre- 
sentatives in Legislature assembled, — That from and 
after the passing of this act, the name of the town of 
Aruudel shall cease, and the said town shall hereafter 
be called and known by the name of Kennebunk-port, 
any law to the contrary notwithstanding ; and nothing 
in this act contained shall be construed to impair any 
rights of said corporation." 

The town had now reached the summit of its pros- 
perity, being no longer " Poor Arundel," but a town of 
much importance in the new state, — the second in 
wealth, — ranking next to Portland in valuation.* The 
amount of property in the County of York, was 83,- 
326,360, and in Kennebunk-port, 8324,123, being con- 
siderably larger than the property of the whole county 
in 1812. Of a state tax of 850,000, Portland was asses- 
sed 83,527; Hallowell 8703,96; and Kennebunk-port 
8702,69. It beinof partly assessed ^>n polls, and the 
population of Hallowell being greater than that of 



*The valuation of North Yarmouth was greater than that of 
Kennebunk-port, but Cumberland being taken from it in 1821, left 
Kennebunk-port the second in point of wealth. 

The following is the valuation of some of the principal towns in 
the state. 

Portland $1,695,185 Saco 286,542 

North Yarmouth 361,74120 York 256,940 50 

Kennebunk-port 324,122 50 Kennebunk 238,940 50 
Hallowell 316,046 70 Bangor 132,993 50 



TO 1825.] KENNEBUNK PORT. 197 

Kennebunk-port, the tax of that town a little exceed- 
ed the tax of this. 

The second baptist society, which was organized in 
1820, had had no settled preacher, but their pulpit had 
been generally supplied by the neighboring ministers. 
Sept. 25, 1822, Mr. Charles Blanchard was ordained, 
who continued to preach till April 25, 1823, when he 
was dismissed ; and Elder Joshua Roberts, then settled 
in Kennebunk, was employed a short time. 

The observatory near the village, which is 54 feet 
high, and which cost about $400, was built by sub- 
scription, during this summer. 

Two hundred and fifty dollars, were voted at a 
town meeting, for the sufferers by fire at Alna and 
Wiscasset. Several persons being opposed to the ap- 
propriation, and it being ascertained that it was not 
strictly legal ; and it being also understood that their 
loss had been amply made up to them, only $100 
were forwarded. 

The methodist society having increased in numbers, 
an attempt was made by them, in 1824, to obtain part 
of the ministerial fund, but with no better success than 
the baptists. 

The meeting house of the congregational society 
being about a mile and a half from the village, where 
a majority of its members resided, a new house was 
built in the village, which was dedicated in October. 
The parish, which now held its meetings for business 
separate from the town meetings, voted that the meet- 
ings for public worship should be holden one half the 
time in each house. 

The town voted in 1825, to have a new plan of the 
town taken, and $15 were appropriated for the pur- 
pose. By the survey for this object, the distance across 
the head of the town, on Lyman line, was ascertained 
to be two miles and 288 rods. 

After the dismission of Mr. Blanchard, for some 
time, there was no settled minister over the second 
baptist society. June 19th, the Rev. Gideon Cook, 
who had been settled in Sanford, was settled over this 
society. 

In consequence of the English West Indies being 
closed against American vessels, and the trade with 
R R 



198 HISTORY OF [from 1826 

Hayti and the other Islands which were principally 
visited by Kennebunk vessels having greatly fallen oft*, 
the business of this port had much declined in 1826. 
There were but a few West India vessels owned in 
the district. The principal part of the shipping being 
freighting vessels, gave but little active business to the 
place. The amount of duties collected this year was 
only $16,537, and in 1827, but $9,345. Freighting 
business the next two years, [1828 and '29] was very 
dull, which caused failures of several commercial houses 
in this town and in Boston, by which a large amount of 
property belonging to citizens of Kennebunk-port was 
lost. These losses had a ruinous effect upon the pros- 
perity of the town, destroying confidence, and causing a 
stagnation of business, that has not yet been wholly over- 
come. Besides direct pecuniary losses, a large number 
of dwelling houses, and several stores and wharves were 
at once thrown into the market, which reduced the 
value of real estate in the village, at least 75 per cent, 
below the prices of 1820. Buildings which cost sever- 
al thousand dollars, were sold for a less sum than the 
lots, on which they stood, cost but a few years before. 

The partial removal of the meetings from the old 
house, to the new one in the village, had caused much 
difficulty in the congregational society. It was also 
divided in sentiment, a portion of its members being 
unitarians. While Mr. Fessenden was holding meet- 
ings at the village, the old meeting house was occupied 
by other congregational preachers, unitarians, or meth- 
odists. This difficulty, arising from the same cause that 
originated the troubles between Mr. Hovey and the 
parish, had a similar termination. Mr. Fessenden was 
under the necessity of leaving the society. He remov- 
ed to Bridgeton, where he still continues to preach. 

Mr. Cook, who was dismissed May 29, 1828, was 
succeeded in the second baptist society by the Rev. 
David James, who was settled July 25, 1829. 

Mr. Fessenden was succeeded in the congregational 
society, by the Rev. Cephas H. Kent, formerly settled 
in Harrington, N. H. who was settled Nov. 12, 1830. 

The population of the town at this time was 2763, 
of whom 1339 were white males, 1415 females. There 



TO 1831.] KENNEBUNK PORT. 199 

were 722 males, and 660 females under the age of 20 ; 
579 males, and 502 females, between 20 and 70 ; 37 
males, and 52 females, between 70 and 90 ; and 1 male, 
and 1 female, between 90 and 100. There were 6 
colored males, and 3 females ; 5 blind persons ; and 
3 deaf and dumb. 

The amount of tonnage owned in this district wa9 
5,571 tons ; and the amount of duties collected in 1829 
was $6,107, and in 1830, $10,272. 

In consequence of the many losses sustained by its 
inhabitants, the decrease in business, the fall in real 
estate, and the removal of wealthy individuals from the 
town, the state tax of the town, by a resolve of the Le- 
gislature, was reduced 6300 ; and the county tax was 
proportionally lessened. 

By the state valuation of 1831, Kennebunk-port 
ranked the second in the county, and the eleventh in 
the state, in point of wealth.* 

The state tax of the town, on $50,000, was $459, 
being the thirteenth in amount in the state. The num- 
ber of taxable polls, was 454, being 46 less than in 
1821, 

The toll bridge was made free this year by consent 
of the proprietors, and a county road was located 
over it. 

The charter of Kennebunk bank, which had not ex- 
pired, was revoked by the Legislature, at the request of 
the stockholders. This institution had been unfortu- 
nately managed, about a quarter part of its capital 
having been lost. The building was sold to the gener- 
al government for a custom house, at less than half its 
cost. 

No drawback on duties is allowed on merchandize of 
foreign growth and manufacture, when shipped from 
ports which are not ports of entry for vessels from the 
Cape of Good Hope. To entitle the ship owners of 
Kennebunk to a return of duties on foreign goods, it 
was, by act of Congress, made " a port of entry for 

* The following is the valuation of the towns noticed in 1821. 
Portland $2,362,643 Kennebunk-port $264,061 

Hallowell 484,602 York 262,235 

Bangor 405,667 North Yarmouth 238,827 

Saco 331,799 Kennebunk 224,194 



200 HISTORY OP [from 1831 

vessels arriving from the Cape of Good Hope, and 
from places beyond the same." 

May 28th, the second baptist society, which had had 
no regular preaching for nearly a year, employed Elder 
Charles Johnson.* 

Mr. Kent was dismissed by the congregational parish 
in April, 1832, and he removed to Freeport ; and there 
was no regular preacher in that society till Dec. 20th, 
when the Rev. Levi Smith was installed. Mr. Smith, 
who is the present minister, was settled in East Sudbu- 
ry, Mass. before his settlement in this town. The di- 
visions in this society, originating in building the new 
meeting house at the village, had been increased by the 
contention for the income of the ministerial fund, — 
sometimes the orthodox part of the parish having pos- 
session of it, and at other times the unitarians obtain- 
ing it. To remove this cause of strife, it was agreed 
in 1833, to place the fund — about $1400 — in the town 
treasury, for the payment of the debts and current ex- 
penses of the town. 

Mr. Johnson having left the baptist society, the Rev. 
Shubael Tripp was settled June 8th. f 

In October a new congregationalist society was 
formed, at the upper part of the town, called the Union 
Society, and Rev. James Carruther was employed to 
preach. 

An appropriation of $6000 was made by Congress, 
to build a light-house on Goat Island, at the entrance 
of Cape Porpoise harbor ; and John Lord was appoint- 
ed keeper, with a salary of $350. 

Another post office was established, at the north 
part of the town on the post road leading from Alfred 
to Saco, called the North Kennebunk-port post office, 
and Edmund Currier, jr. was appointed post master. 

The summer of this year was unusually cold and 
damp. The air was almost clear of insects ; and mar- 
tins, that feed upon the wing, were unable to find food 
for themselves or their young. This famine caused the 

* Mr. James was dismissed June 13, 1830. 

t Mr. Tripp preached nearly two years. He removed to Ken- 
nebunk, where he died April 28, 1837. 



TO 1836.] KENNEBUNK PORT. 201 

destruction of nearly the entire species, in this neigh- 
borhood. Their nests were found filled with dead, and 
not a solitary bird has been seen at their accustomed 
places of resort, since this period. 

The piers which had been built at the mouth of 
Kennebunk river, by the United States government, 
had greatly improved the harbor ; but they were sub- 
ject to decay from an unlooked for cause. A small 
insect called the sand flea, while in its maggot or inci- 
pient state, devoured the timber of which they were 
constructed, and in a few years wholly destroyed them. 
They had several times been repaired, and the eastern 
one entirely rebuilt ; but it was evident that no building 
material but stone could be permanently useful in con- 
structing them, and an appropriation of $10,500 was 
made by Congress for that purpose in 1834. 

It had always been supposed that Kennebunk-port 
afforded no building stone, and the greater part used in 
the village had been brought from Wells. The agent 
for building the piers, [1835]* in searching for stone 
in the neighborhood of the river, found a quarry about 
two miles from the village, which, it was thought, would 
answer a very good purpose. Specimens of it being 
examined by geologists, it was pronounced to be of a 
very superior quality. A company for the purpose of 
quarrying, was formed, and shares in the quarry which 
originally cost but $75, were sold at the rate of $83,- 
000. Several other companies were formed shortly 
after, [1836] and a large quantity of stone was quarrU 
ed for the piers, and for the New York and other 
markets. 

The baptist society in the village finding it difficult 
to support their minister, Mr. Milnor,t he was dis- 
missed in May ; and the society had no regular preach- 

* Jan. 4, 1835, was a remarkably cold day. The mercury by 
Farenheit's thermometer was 30 degrees below aero. In the 
morning, the chimnies of a large house in the village, which had 
been uninhabited for several weeks, appeared to emit as dense col- 
umns of smoke as any in the neighborhood. The comparatively 
warm air from the house, coming in contact with tho cold atmos- 
phere, became condensed into a vapor, as from the chimnies of 
houses in which there were fires. 

tMr. Milnor was settled May 30, 1835, for one year, 



202 HISTORY OF [a. d. 1837. 

ing till March, 1S37, when their present pastor, the 
Rev. Clark Sibley, was engaged. 

The village being at one extremity of the town, the 
inhabitants generally had no interest in keeping the 
village clock and bell in repair, or in purchasing fire 
engines and other fire apparatus ; and the expense for 
these purposes was unequally borne by the citizens of 
the village. To obviate this difficulty a number of the 
inhabitants petitioned the Legislature to incorporate 
the village for these specific purposes. The request 
was granted, and the following act was passed. 

STATE OF MAINE. 

In the year of our Lord one thousand eight hundred and 
thirty-seven. 

An Act creating the Kennebunk-port Village Cor- 
poration. 

Section 1. Be it enacted by the Senate and House 
of Representatives, in Legislature assembled, That 
the territory embraced within the following described 
limits, to wit : Beginning at the mouth of Bass Cove, 
on Kennebunk river — thence by the branch of said 
Cove, called Rhode's brook to the town road — thence 
N. E. one hundred rods, — thence southerly, to include 
the house of John Curtis — thence southerly to the sea, 
through the middle of Great Pond — thence by the sea 
shore to the mouth of Kennebunk river — thence by 
said river to the mouth of Bass Cove, above mention- 
ed, in the town of Kennebunk-port, together with the 
inhabitants thereon, be, and the same hereby is created 
a body politic and corporate by the name of the Ken- 
nebunk-port Village Corporation. 

Section 2. Be it further enacted, That said Corpo- 
ration is hereby invested with the power, at any legal 
meeting, called for the purpose, to raise such sums of 
money, as may be sufficient for the purchase, repair 
and preservation of one or more Fire Engines, Engine 
Houses, Hose, Buckets, Ladders or other apparatus for 
the extinguishment of fire, for the construction of res- 
ervoirs, and aqueducts for the procuring of water, and 
for organizing and maintaining within the limits of said 
territory, an efficient Fire Department ; and also to 



A. D. 1837.] KENNEBUNK PORT. 203 

raise a further sum not exceeding one hundred dollars 
annually to defray the expense of ringing one of the 
bells in said village ; and of keeping in repair the public 
clock. 

Section 3. Be it further enacted, That any money 
raised by said Corporation, for the purposes aforesaid, 
shall be assessed upon the property within the territory 
aforesaid, by the Assessors of said Corporation, in the 
same manner as is provided by law for the assessment 
of County Taxes ; excepting that polls shall not be 
taxed. And said Assessors may copy the last valuation 
of said property by the Assessors of the town of Ken- 
nebunk-port, and assess the tax thereon ; or if the said 
Corporation shall so direct, may correct said valuation, 
or make a new valuation thereof according to the prin- 
ciples established of the last State tax, and assess the 
tax on that valuation. 

Section 4. Be it further enacted, That upon a cer- 
tificate being filed with the Assessors of the said 
Corporation by the Clerk thereof, of the amount of 
money raised at any meeting for the purposes afore- 
said ; it shall be the duty of said Assessors, as soon as 
may be, to assess said amount upon the estates of per- 
sons residing on the territory aforesaid, and upon the 
estates of nonresident proprietors thereof; and the as- 
sessment so made, to certify and deliver to the Treas- 
urer or Collector of said Corporation, whose duty it 
shall be to collect the same, in like manner as County 
and town taxes, are by law, collected by towns J and 
said Corporation shall have the same power to direct 
the mode of collecting said taxes, as towns have in the 
collection of town taxes. 

Section 5. Be it further enacted, That the officers 
of said Corporation shall consist of a Supervisor, Clerk, 
Treasurer, Assessors, Collector, Fire Wardens and 
such other officers, as may be provided for in the bye- 
laws of said Corporation ; which said Fire Wardens 
shall have exclusively, all the power and authority 
within the limits of said Corporation, that Fire wardens 
now have, or may have, chosen by towns in town meet- 
ing. 

Section 6. Be it further enacted, That said Corpo- 
ration at any legal meeting thereof, may adopt a code 



204 HISTORY OF [a. d. 1837. 

of bye-laws, for the government of the same, and for 
the efficient management of the Fire Department afore- 
said ; Provided, the same are not repugnant to the laws 
of the State. 

Section 7. Be it further enacted, That no person 
shall be entitled to vote at any of the meetings of 
said Corporation, who shall not be liable to be taxed 
for the purchases aforesaid. 

Section 8. Be it further enacted, That Silas Moody 
or Joshua Herrick, or either of them be, and they 
hereby are authorized to issue a warrant directed to 
some member of said Corporation, requiring him to 
notify the members thereof, to assemble at some suita- 
ble time and place in said Kennehunk-port, by posting 
up notices in three public places in said Village, seven 
days at least, before the time of said meeting. 

Section 9. Be it further enacted, That this Act 
shall take effect and be in force after the same shall be 
accepted by a vote of two thirds of the legal voters 
present at a meeting of said Corporation, called agree- 
ably to the eighth section of this Act. 

In the House of Representatives, February 24, 1837, 
This Bill having had three several readings, passed to be 
enacted. H. HAMLIN, Speaker. 

In Senate, February 25, 1837, This Bill having had 
two several readings, passed to be enacted. 

J. C. TALBOT, President. 

February 25, 1837. Approved, 

ROBERT P. DUNLAP. 

The first meeting was called March 22, and the act 
almost unanimously accepted. The officers named in 
the act were chosen, and the following code of Bye- 
Laws adopted. 

Article 1. — The annual meeting of the corporation 
shall be holden on the Tuesday following the first 
Monday of April. 

Article 2. — The business acted on at any meeting 
of the corporation shall be distinctly stated in the war- 
rant, calling the same under the hand of the clerk. 

Article 3. — The officers of the corporation shall be 



A. D. 1837.] KENNEBUNK PORT. 205 

a Supervisor, Clerk, Treasurer, Collector, three Asses- 
sors, and five Fire Wardens, all of whom shall be chosen 
by ballot at the annual meeting, and shall hold their re- 
spective offices till others are chosen in their stead. 

Article 4. — The Supervisor shall preside at all 
meetings of the corporation, — except while electing that 
officer, when it shall be the duty of the Clerk to preside ; 
— he shall also take charge of the engines, hose, hooks, 
ladders, and all other fire apparatus belonging to the 
corporation, and see that they are kept in good order 
and ready for use, — for which purpose he is authorized 
to make all such contracts as may be necessary, sub- 
ject to the approval of the executive board. 

Artice 5. — At all fires, and all other times when 
there may be duties to perform, all members of the 
fire department shall be under the direction of the Su- 
pervisor, and in his absence the senior Fire Warden 
present. 

Article 6.— The Clerk shall be sworn to the faithful 
performance of the duties of his office — he shall record 
all votes and keep a record of all the doings of the 
corporation. 

Article 7.— It shall be the duty of the Clerk to no- 
tify all meetings of the corporation by posting up 
notifications in three public places, seven days at least 
before the time of said meeting. He shall also notify 
special meetings in the same manner, at the written 
request of any seven legal voters of the corporation. 

Article 8. — The Treasurer shall receive and safely 
keep all money collected by the Collector, and pay it 
out on drafts from the Assessors for the purposes of the 
corporation. He shall also give bonds when required, 
for the faithful discharge of the duties of his office. 

Article 9.— The Assessors shall assess all money 
voted to be raised by the corporation equally on the 
property within the limits of said corporation— and 
commit a list of said assessment, with a warrant an- 
nexed, to the Collector for collection, and shall file a 
copy of the list with the Clerk. 

Article 10.— It shall be the duty of the Collector, 
to gather and collect all rates or taxes assessed and 
committed to him, and pay the same over to the Ireas- 



206 history op [a. d. 1837. 

Article 11. — The Fire Wardens, in addition to the 
duties usually devolving on them at fires, &c. shall 
examine shops and all other places where shavings and x 
other combustible materials may be collected and de- 
posited, and from time to time, and at all times, be 
vigilant in causing the removal of the same whenever, 
in their opinion, the same may be dangerous to the 
security of the public from fires — also to examine into 
the security of all stoves, stove-pipes, funnel, flues and 
chimneys within the limits of this corporation ; — and if 
any person or persons shall neglect or refuse to remove 
any such source of danger, after being duly notified by a 
fire warden, he shall forfeit and pay a fine of two dollars, 
to be sued for and recovered in an action of the case, 
by the Clerk, for the use of the corporation. 

Article 12. — The Supervisor, Clerk and Assessors 
shall constitute an executive board, whose duty it shall 
be to agree with some suitable person or persons to ring 
one of the bells in this village, and to keep in repair and 
going the public clock — and also to make such provis- 
ion for reservoirs of water as they may deem necessary 
for the public safety. 

Article 13. — It shall be the duty of the executive 
board to make such rules and regulations as may be 
necessary for the government of the engine companies, 
and for effectuating all the purposes, authorized by the 
act of incorporation. 

Article 14. — All the officers of this corporation 
shall perform their respective duties gratuitously. 

Article 15. — These Bye-laws may be altered, amen- 
ded or added to, by vote of the corporation at any 
regular meeting of the same, provided said alteration, 
amendment or addition has been proposed for consider- 
ation at the last previous meeting of the corporation, or 
has been inserted in the warrant calling said meeting. 



A. D. 1837.] KEXNEBUNK PORT. 30 < 



CHAPTER X. 

Extent and boundaries of the town....SixteenIslands....Kenne- 
bunk river....Cape Porpoise.... Ponds....Hills....Face of the 

country.... Present population Public buildings Village 

corporation Public roads Annual expenses....State of 

the Treasury ..... Duties Business Granite Companies 

Temperance Schools Professional men...Public men.... 

Present prospect of the town. 

Kennebunk-port is bounded on the east side by 
Little river, which separates it from Biddeford up to 
Scad lock's falls, thence by a northwest line eight miles 
to Lyman line ; on the north by a line which divides it 
from Lyman, southwest to Kennebunk river ; on the 
west by the river which separates it from Kennebunk ; 
and on the south by the sea. The average length of 
the town is about nine miles, and its breadth little more 
than three miles, it being over four miles wide at the 
sea shore, and less than three at the head of the town ; 
— containing about thirty square miles. 

An opinion generally prevailed, that the western 
limits of the town extended beyond Kennebunk river. 
In 1731, when Mr. Stoddard and others claimed the 
town under Hegan's deed, it was described on the town 
records as being bounded on the west side by a line 
running northwest from Kennebunk river, at the 
point where a southwest line from Scacllock's falls 
would strike it. Also in 1749, when some of the in- 
habitants of the town petitioned to be united with the 
second parish in Wells, it was reported by those who 
had charge of the petition, that the members of the 
General Court advised them to ask for a northwest 
line from Kennebunk river which would undoubtedly 
be granted ; and in 17G8, " it was Put to vote To se if 
the Town would try for a Norwest Line from the 
Mouth of Kennebunk River Eight miles into the Coun- 
ter}', and it Past in the Negative." So* fully convinced 
were some of the inhabitants that they were entitled to 
a northwest line, that they absolutely run it out, and 
ascertained that the dwelling house of the late Joseph 
Storer was near the line. However confident they 



208 HISTORY OF [a. d. 1837. 

might be as to this right, it is very certain they were 
mistaken. If the agents of either Gorges or Rigby 
laid out the township bounded as was supposed, it was 
never recorded on the county records ; and if it had 
been so bounded, the agreement of the Wells and Cape 
Porpoise commissioners in 1660, must have settled the 
question at that time ; and neither the deed of Presi- 
dent Danforth, in 1684, nor the act incorporating Ar- 
undel in 1719, mentions the bounds of the town. 

Within the limits of the town are sixteen islands. 
The most westerly one, lying about half way between 
Kennebunk river and Cape Porpoise, is Bunkin Island. 
It was granted by the town in 1719, to John Cole, 
whose widow, Mary, deeded it to Robert Cleaves in 
1771. It is a small island, containing about two acres, 
and of but little value. It was formerly covered with 
savan bushes, but now produces nothing but gooseber- 
ries. The other islands are the cluster that form Cape 
Porpoise. The earliest grant of any of them on rec- 
ord, is the one to Gregory Jeffery in 1648, of Folly, 
Goat and Green Islands. Je fiery deeded them in 1658 
to Major Pendleton, who gave them to his son James 
in 1677. Being of but little value, it is probable that 
James Pendleton, who removed to Connecticut, never 
conveyed them. John Hamer, however, gave Thomas 
Perkins of Cape Porpoise a deed of Goat Island in 
1758, and his heirs claim it by that title. Benjamin 
Jeftery also gave a deed of this island, subsequent to 
Hamer's, to Hugh McCulloch, whose heirs likewise 
claim it. When the light-house was built in 1834, no 
grant being found on the County records, the Agents 
of the states of Massachusetts and Maine, gave a title 
to the United States, and received pay for it. Joshua 
Carr, in 1771, deeded Green island to Ebenezer Hov- 
ev ; and Jeftery afterwards sold Green island and 
Folly Island to Mr. McCulloch. 

Trott's Island, which is the largest and well covered 
with wood, was undoubtedly granted either by Gorges 
or Rigby, but the grant was not recorded. It received 
its name from John Trott, who was an early settler at 
Cape Porpoise. If Mr. Trott ever owned the island, 
his title became extinct, and the town, in 1723, grant- 
ed it to James Mussey, estimating it at 26 acres. It 



A. D. 1S37.] KENNEBUNK PORT. 209 

was afterwards purchased by Thomas Perkins, proba- 
bly of Mussey, and it is now owned by Israel Stone, 
one of his descendants. 

Vaughan's Island, which is the most valuable, hav- 
ing a growth of hard wood and yielding a quantity of 
salt hay, was originally known by the name of Long 
Island. It was probably granted to a Mr. Smyth, as it 
was afterwards called Smyth's island, but the grant is 
not recorded. Smyth sold it to Richard Ball, who 
deeded it to Bryan Pendleton, in 1650, and Pendleton 
gave it to his son James. Ball, and perhaps Smyth, 
lived on the island. Several cellars are to be found on 
it, about which tradition is wholly silent. Pendleton 
probably also lost his title to this island, as the town in 
1723, granted it to James Mussey, except two acres at 
the northwest point. It was then called Palmer's 
island, which name it received from Richard Palmer, 
agent of Major Pendleton, and was said to contain 
twenty three acres. It took its present name, it is said, 
from a person of the name of Vaughan, who lived on 
it, but who did not own it. Mussey probably sold it to 
Joshua Carr, although the conveyance is not to be 
found. Carr sold it to Samuel Bickford, who sold it 
to John Maffatt of Portsmouth. Mr. Maffatt gave it, in 
1760, to his daughter Elizabeth, wife of John Sher- 
burne. Sherburne gave it to his sons Henry and 
Samuel, and his son-in-law, John Langdon. In 1780, 
they sold it to Eunice Hovey, widow of Ebeiiezer 
Hovey. 

Stage Island was probably the first land granted in 
the town, but there is no record of it. It was owned in 
shares, as appears by Stephen Batson's deed to Peter 
Oliver in 1662. Batson sold his " house and stage and 
two boats rooms upon Stage Island, with all privileges 
and appurtenances thereunto belonging." The earli- 
est settlers, perhaps as early as 1620, seated themselves 
on this island. It is more than a quarter of a mile in 
length, but quite narrow, containing about fifteen 
acres. There are marks of cultivation on every part 
of it, and there is no traditionary account of its 
ever being inhabited. The first burying place in the 
town was on the northwest point of the island, which 
before the recollection of any now living, was washed 
Ss 



210 HISTORY OF [a. d. 1837, 

away; audit is now entirely covered at high water. 
The fort, which was commanded by Lieut. Purinton 
in 1688, is also on this island, and the remains of it are 
still to be seen. It was a circular inclosure, about 
thirty yards in diameter, with two watch towers, which 
are in good repair. The town also claimed this island, 
and voted in 1724, " That Stage Island with all the 
other Islands In Arundel Shall Lay Coman to parpetu- 
ity or forEver, For the Use of the In Habitants of Sd. 
Town." Notwithstanding this very strong vote, which 
was confirmed by the proprietors at their first meeting, 
the island, containing eighteen acres, was laid out to 
Thomas Perkins, in 1732, " except abought one acre 
whare the l5urrying place was formerly, and abought 
one acre more whare the Fort was built, which Yet re- 
main for the uses aforesaid." The soil on part of the 
island is now washed away by the sea, and at high 
water there are two islands, one of which is usually 
called Stage, and the other Fort island. 

Cape or East Island, which is the outermost one, 
contained 3J acres, and was granted to James Mussey 
in 1723. 

Redding's Island was laid out to Thomas Perkins in 
1732. There was a John Redding, who had a dispute 
with William Sawyer in 1684, which was referred to 
Nicholas Morey and John Purinton of Cape Porpoise. 
Redding admitted he had wronged Sawyer. He prob- 
ably resided in this town and owned Redding's Island. 
There was also a Thomas Redding who lived in Saco 
in 1652. 

Bass, Cherry, or Eagle Island, containing three acres, 
was laid out to Thomas Perkins in 1733. He probably 
sold it, as it was deeded by Joshua Carr to Ebenezer 
Hovey in 1771, and the deed was acknowledged be- 
fore the son of Mr. Perkins. 

Milk Island was laid out to Andrew Brown in 1767. 
Negro Island, containing one acre, was laid out to John 
Murphy in 1749. 

There is no grant to be found of Neck or Bickford's 
Island. It was part of the property of Sir William 
Pepperell, and was confiscated at the time of the revolu- 
tionary war. Savan, Bush and Cedar Islands are small 
and of but little value. 



A. D. 1S37.] KENNEBUNK PORT. 21 I 

Owing to the negligence of the early inhabitants of 
the town in not having their grants and deeds recorded 
on the county records, most of these islands have sev- 
eral claimants.* 

The land agents of Massachusetts and Maine, are of 
the opinion that all of them belong to these States ; and 
they expressed an intention to sell them. This opinion 
was probably formed from the circumstance of their not 
being able to find the original grants of them on the 
county records, norDanforth's deed of the town. These 
papers probably escaped their notice, because the grant 
to Jeffery of three islands, the only one yet found, was 
included in a grant of another parcel of land ; and Dan- 
forth's trustee deed was not recorded till nearly fifty 
years after it was given. It is quite certain however 
that the states have no just claim to these islands. 

Kennebunk river, — written on the early county rec- 
ords " Kenibonke," — which takes its rise in Kennebunk 
pond in the town of Lyman about twenty miles from 
the sea and empties into Wells Bay, is navigable only 
about half a mile from its mouth. It is a barred har- 
bor, there being only about two feet of water at its 
entrance at low water. The tide flows twelve feet at 
spring tides ; and vessels drawing fourteen feet of water 
have been brought over the bar. About two hundred 
yards within the bar, is a shallow place caused by a 
quantity of sunken logs, called the wading place. There 
is less water here than on the bar. The first county 
road crossed the river at this place ; and the ferry was 
here established in 1647. There are two falls on this 
river, about two miles from the bar, called the upper 
and lower falls, over which the tide flows at half flood. 
New vessels of 450 tons burthen are brought over them 
at spring tides. There were early settlements on this 
river. William Reynolds lived at its mouth in 1647. 
Anthony, and Francis Littlefield, sen. lived near Na- 
son's mills, for a short time, about 1662 ; and John 
Purinton, and probably others, lived near Durrell's 
bridge prior to 1680. 

GorTe's mill creek empties into Kennebunk river be- 
tween the upper and lower falls. John Barrett had 

*The grants of these islands were undoubtedly recorded on the 
town records, which were lost in 1G90. 



212 HISTORY OF [a. d. 1837. 

a mill on this stream as early as 1682 ; and either he 
or some other person lived near the dwelling house of 
Asaph Smith. Col. Edmund Gofte of Cambridge own- 
ed a mill on it in 1735, — then called Middle river, — 
from whom it received its present name. 

Bass cove was so called as early as 1719. The 
mill-pond near the village, was called Long creek or 
Mast cove ; the creek over which Dock bridge is built, 
from the thick growth on its banks, was called Dun- 
geon creek ; and the creek near the wading place, 
Harding's cove. 

At the mouth of Kennebunk river are two bad rocks, 
the perch and riding rocks. These are now nearly 
covered by piers. The first pier was built in 1798 ; 
and the United States government since 1820, has ap- 
propriated about $40,000, part of which is still unex- 
pended. Outside the harbor are several dangerous 
ledges, the fishing rocks, Spooner's ledge, and the shoal 
rock. A spire was erected on the large fishing rock 
in 1834, and a buoy placed near the small one. With- 
in these rocks, is a tolerably secure roadstead. 

The name of this river was undoubtedly given to it 
by the Indians. It has been said that the word meant 
" Green banks," but this is very doubtful. There is 
a traditionary story, that a Capt. Kenney from Salem 
first came into the river after a cargo of lumber, in a 
species of vessel called a bunk, and that the river took 
its name from this circumstance. There can however 
be no foundation for this story, as the river was known 
by its present name soon after Salem was settled, and 
a number of years before lumber was sawed on the 
river. The word cag signifying land was frequently 
compounded with other w r ords to indicate the appear- 
ance or qualities of the places to which they were 
applied. Quampeag"an was so called because fish were 
taken there in nets, and Naumketf «• because the water 
had a winding course.* Perhaps this river might 
have been called Kene#g-bonke for similar reasons. 
The most probable supposition however, is, that it took 
the name of some tribe or chief that lived in its neigh- 
borhood. The Kennebec, differing only in its ternii- 

' Sullivan. 



A. D. 1837.] KENNEBUNK PORT. 213 

nation, had its name from a tribe of Indians called 
Canibas or Renebis, governed by a sachem who bore 
the same name.* 

Turbat's creek is at the west end of Vaughan's isl- 
and. It is very convenient for the fishing business in 
small boats. There were settlers at the head of this 
creek at a very early period ; and also at Cleaves's 
cove which is a short distance to the westward of it. 

Cape Porpoise is a small but a very convenient har- 
bor. It lies at the extremity of the cape, and is the 
only safe harbor for coasting vessels between Portsmouth 
and Portland, being equidistant from them. Great 
numbers put in there during the dangerous seasons of 
the year. Nearly a hundred have harbored there in 
one day. The main entrance is between Folly island 
on the west, and Goat island, on which is a light 
house, on the east side. There are from 25 to 30 feet 
of water in the harbor at low water, and it is suffici- 
ently large for the largest class of merchant vessels to 
lie afloat at all times. At high water, several hun- 
dred coasting vessels can harbor with perfect safety. 

As the entrance of the harbor is narrow, strangers 
ought not to attempt to enter it in the night. Near 
the entrance is a bad rock, called Old Prince, on which 
a buoy was placed in 1834. Cape Porpoise is a group 
of islands. That portion of it called the neck, below 
the house built by Mr. Prentice, is surrounded at 
spring tides ; and even the part beyond the causeway, 
near where the old meeting house stood, is surrounded 
in very high tides. On the eastern part of the cape is 
a small harbor called Stage Harbor. 

At Cape Porpoise were the earliest settlements made 
in town. It was for more than a century after its 
first incorporation, the wealthiest and most populous 
part of the town. The neck of land on which Clem- 
ent Huff now lives, was called Huff's neck; and the 
one where Capt. Eben. Perkins resided, Vaughan's 
neck. The cove between them was called Clay cove, 

* If the orthography of one of the early town clerks could bo 
relied upon, it might be supposed it received its name from the cir- 
cumstance of its having rabbit or coney burrows in its banks. He 
frequently spelt it ' Coney bunck ' or ' Coney Banck.' 



214 HISTORY OF [a. d. 1837. 

the one on the eastern side of HufY's neck, Long cove, 
and Back cove was known as Stepping-stone creek. 

Batson's river is a little to the eastward of the cape. 
It is never used for a harbor, but it is sufficiently deep 
for small fishing craft. There were mills on this river 
before 1080 ; and Gregory Jeffery and others settled 
near it at a very early period. It was formerly called 
Little river. 

Little river, which was called Eastern or Northern 
river on the early county records, and which separates 
this town from Biddeford, is a small stream ; but ves- 
sels of 200 tons burthen have been built there. Scad- 
lock, Howell and others, settled there in 1630. 

There are no ponds of any magnitude in the town, 
the only ones being Brimstone pond at the head of the 
town, and Great pond, formerly called Kennebunk 
pond, near the sea. There are two curious rocks on 
the sea shore, between Kennebunk point and Cleaves's 
cove, called the bouncing and spouting rocks. The 
bouncing rock is a small cavern, into which the water 
rushes at half tide with a tremendous noise. In the 
spouting rock is a small aperture, at the extremity of 
which is an opening, through which, when the sea is 
rough, the spray is thrown to a great height. 

There are no hills of any note in the town, Mount 
Scargo or Scargery is the highest, and is seen some 
distance at sea. There are no plains, but the face of 
the country is moderately uneven. There is not much 
swampy or waste land. Button-wood swamp, which is 
near the village, and probably others, abound in peat. 
The town is well wooded both with pine and hard 
wood. Springs abound in all parts of the town, and 
there is a salt spring near the head of the town, about 
nine miles from the sea. The soil at the south east 
part of the town is rocky, but affords abundance of 
valuable building stone. The salt marshes here are 
also very valuable. 

In other parts of the town it is clayey, and grass is 
produced abundantly. The best farming lands are at 
the northwest part of the town. The land laid out to 
John Miller, William Thomas and William Barton, in 
1681, at the ' Desert Marshes,' are the first grants 
found on record in this part of the town. There were 



A. D. 1837.] KEXKEBI7KK PORT. 215 

no settlers above Saco road till about 1750, when Tim- 
othy Hodsclon, Joshua Nason, and Isaac Burnham 
removed there. 

By the census just taken by order of the Legislature 
for apportioning the surplus revenue, there were on the 
first of March 501 families in the town, 309 persons 
under the age of 4, 1102 between 4 and 21, and 1317 
over 21, — total 2729, being thirty-four less than in 1830. 

Within the limits of the Village Corporation, are 116 
families, 586 inhabitants, more than one hundred 
dwelling houses, three meeting houses, having a vestry 
belonging to each, three school houses, a custom house, 
post office, observatory, seven retail stores, two public 
houses and two livery stables. 

The congregational meeting house is a" handsome 
building, with a steeple more than 100 feet high, a 
clock, bell and a good organ. The Rev. Levi Smith 
preaches in this house. The number of communicants 
of this church is 150. The methodist meetinghouse, 
which was built in 1835, is a very neat building with a 
belfry. The Rev. Nathan D. George is the present 
circuit preacher. The number of communicants is 116. 
The free meeting house is now occupied by the second 
baptist society, whose present preacher is the Rev. 
Clark Sibley. There are 87 members belonging to 
this church. Two of the school houses are of brick, 
and are under one roof. It is a handsome building 
with a belfry and bell. The school house and custom 
house are the only brick buildings in the town. The 
dwelling houses in the village are of wood, and mostly 
two stories high. The village is compactly built, but it 
never has been visited by a fire. There is but one fire 
engine belonging to the corporation. 

There are four wharves extending to the channel of 
the river, besides the short ones and the piers built by 
government. There are three public schools kept in 
the village six months in the year, one male and two 
female. The whole number of children of age to attend 
these schools is 246. Besides the public schools, there are 
usually one or more private female schools kept through 
the year, and a man's school during the winter. This 
village is connected in business with a village in Ken- 
nebunk, and united with it by a draw bridge. In the 



•216 HISTORY OF [a. d. 1S37. 

Kennebunk village* are three wharves, a meeting 
house of the christian society, a school house, a public 
house, and three retail stores. 

There are three other houses of public worship, be- 
sides those in the village ; — the old congregational 
meeting house, now occupied by a portion of the first 
parish ; the methodist meeting house on Saco road 
which was built in 1719 ; and the meeting house of the 
first baptist society, which is not at present occupied. t 
The methodist church on Saco road consists of 91 
members. They have preaching one half of the time. 
The Rev. John Clough is the present circuit preacher- J 
There are but six members belonging to the Union So- 
ciety and they have no house, but have preaching half 
the time. 

Besides these religious denominations, there are in- 

*The principal village in Kennebunk is four miles from the port. 

tMr. Day was dismissed about 1827, since which time the first 
baptist society have had no regular meetings, and the society now 
scarcely exists. 

}As from the frequent changes of the Methodist circuit preach- 
ers, less notice has been taken of this denomination of christians 
in the course of this work than of others, the following brief ac- 
count of the growth of methodism may not be uninteresting. 

The society was first formed in 1729, by John Wesley and three 
others. In 1736, Methodism was introduced into this country by 
John and Charles Wesley. John remained in America more than 
a year. The first society was formed in New "York, in 17C6 ; and 
the first conference holden at Philadelphia in 1773. In 1791, a 
class was formed in Lynn, Mass. by Elder Jesso Lee of Virginia, 
who afterwards travelled into Maine and preached the first meth- 
odist sermon in the State, September 10th, at Saco. He soon after 
formed the first circuit in Maine, called the Readfield circuit. 
The second circuit was formed at Portland ; and the first quarterly 
meeting was holden at Poland in 1795. In 1797, Maine, which 
had heretofore belonged to the Boston District, was formed into a 
district by itself. In 1S02 the name of the Portland circuit, which 
embraced the western part of Maine, was changed to that of Fal- 
mouth circuit. In 1806, Maine was divided into two districts, 
Portland and Kennebec. The first class was formed in Kennebnnk- 
port in 1814 by Elder Leonard Bennet. In 1815 Falmouth circuit 
was called Buxton circuit. In 1820 the Arundel circuit was formed, 
comprising Arundel, Lyman, Mollis, and Biddeford ; and Ebenezer 
Lombard was the local, and James Jaques the travelling preacher. 
Since 1820 other circuits have been taken from the Arundel or 
Kennebunk-port circuit; and it now includes but little more than 
the town. 



A. D. 1837.] KENNEBUNK FCRT. 217 

dividuals belonging to the Freewill Baptist, Christian, 
Unitarian and Universalist societies, who attend meet- 
ings in neighboring towns. 

The town is divided into thirteen school districts ; 
and there are 1102 school children. 

There are about 80 miles of public road within the 
limits of the town. There are also 15 or 20 bridges 
and a large number of expensive causeways wholly 
supported by the town, besides eight bridges over Ken- 
nebunk and Little rivers, two with draws, partly main- 
tained at the cost of the town. The average amount 
of the highway tax for the last ten years, has been 
about 83000, one tenth of which was cash and nine 
tenths labor. The amount of school money raised 
yearly, is $1200, which a little exceeds the sum requir- 
ed by law, besides the town's share of the bank tax, 
which is $218. The yearly expense for the poor is 
8550. There were, on the first of March, but two in- 
dividuals wholly supported by the town. There is no 
state tax at present, and the county tax of the town is 
$612. The whole amount of money raised the present 
year is 86,800. 

The town is not only free from debt, but there are 
nearly a thousand dollars unappropriated in the treas- 
ury, beside the town's share of the surplus revenue, a- 
mounting to about $8000. This sum, by a vote of the 
town, is to be loaned to individuals of the town at six 
per cent, in sums not exceeding 8500. The income 
arising from it is unappropriated. 

The present amount of registered, licensed, and en- 
rolled tonnage belonging to this district, is about 9000 
tons. The amount of duties paid at the custom house 
in 1835, was only 82,021, being a smaller sum by two 
thirds than has ever been collected in any other year 
since the district was established. The amount in 1836 
was 86,997. The whole amount of duties collected in 
the district since 1800, is about 81,200,000 ; and the 
amount paid by citizens of the district in other ports, 
would at least equal this sum. The duty on articles 
imported being about equal to one third their worth, 
the value of goods subject to duty, imported by mer- 
chants of this port in thirty-four years, amount to more 
than $7,000,000. The amount of free goods, or arti- 
T 



218 HISTORY OF [a. d. 1837. 

cles on which no duty was collected, and cash, would 
probably swell the amount to nearly $12,000,000. 

The business of Kennebunk-port has not yet fully 
recovered from the shock given it in 1829 and 1830 ; 
but there is evidently an increasing spirit of enterprise 
which will undoubtedly overcome this lethargy. Real 
estate and rents have advanced at least one third from 
the rates of 1830, and there is a confidence that they 
will approach nearer their intrinsic worth. 

The larger part of the navigation of the port is in 
freighting ships, there being only five or six vessels 
trading regularly to the West Indies. The freighting 
vessels from this river, have without an exception, pro- 
cured good freights this season ; and those trading to 
the West Indies are doing a fair business. There are 
two ships and one brig, about 1100 tons, now building 
on the river. Five or six packets and coasters run reg- 
ularly between this port and Boston. The articles 
.-hipped to the West Indies, New Orleans and other 
southern ports, New^ York and Boston, are boards, 
hoops, shooks, staves, casks, ship timber, fish, leather, 
hay, potatoes, wood, rough and dressed granite, bricks, 
&c. 

Fishino- business has been gradually increasing, and 
there is now a larger amount invested in it, than at any 
former period. A fishing company is just formed with 
a capital of $20,000. The business of Cape Porpoise 
is principally fishing. This ancient village is situated 
on a good harbor, which is probably exceeded by none 
of its size for this employment. For several years it 
lias increased in wealth and population more rapidly 
perhaps than any other part of the town ; — and it is to 
be hoped that its prosperity may equal the present in- 
dustry of its inhabitants, and the local advantages of 
their harbor. 

Not only are commerce and fishery prosperous, but 
agriculture is also in a flourishing condition. Since 
the lumber business has in a great measure ceased, on 
account of the scarcity of timber, farmers have paid 
more attention to cultivating their farms, and have 
found a ready market for their surplus produce, in the 
village and in the neighboring manufacturing towns. 
In consequence of the limited demand for building 



A. D. 1837.] KEXNEBUNK PORT. 219 

materials in New York, the principal market for the 
stone of this town, there is hut little doing by the differ- 
ent quarrying associations ; but there is scarcely a 
doubt that a profitable business will be done by them, 
when the present general pressure is taken from business. 

The United States Quarry, — so called because the 
stone for the government piers was taken from it, — is 
owned by a company incorporated by the name of the 
" Maine Quarrying Association." This company have 
a capital of $350,000, divided into two thousand shares, 
one thousand of which belong to the association as a 
corporate body. Their officers are John Neal, Daniel 
Winslow, and Mason Greenwood, Managers ; Nathan- 
iel Mitchell, Treasurer ; William Cutter, Clerk. 
According to the published report of the Managers, the 
affairs of this company are in a flourishing condition, 
and they have a large amount of stone on their wharf 
ready for shipping. 

The " Kennebunk Port Granite and Railroad Com- 
pany" are incorporated with a capital of $200,000. 
The officers are, Daniel W. Lord, President ; Robert 
Towne, Secretary ; Jacob Mitchell, Treasurer. This 
company have shipped a large quantity of dressed stone. 

The " New York City and Kennebunk Port Granite 
Company" were incorporated the last session of the 
Legislature, but have not yet organized. 

The "Kennebunk Granite Company" were also in- 
corporated the last session of the Legislature, but have 
not organized. They have however quarried a large 
amount of stone. 

Besides these four incorporated companies, several 
others have been formed, some of which have commen- 
ced operations. 

There is but little difference in the quality of the 
stone belonging to these companies, and the sup- 
ply is inexhaustible. It is extremely hard, and was 
first worked at an advance of fifteen per cent, above 
the Quincy stone ; but owing to its tenacity and tough- 
ness, it is now worked by those accustomed to it, at the 
same rate of the Hallowell, or ten per cent, less than 
the Quincy.* Professor Cleaveland, of Brunswick, 

^Report of the Managers of tho Maine Quarrying Association, 



220 HISTORY OF [a. d. 1837. 

says " its texture is uncommonly firm ;" and adds, that 
" different granites possess very different powers of 
resisting injury from sudden heat and cooling. In this 
respect also, I found the Kennebunk granite superior to 
many others. I examined it by heating the specimens 
to 750 degrees or 800 degrees of Farenheit, and then 
suddenly projecting cold water upon them. Other 
specimens of sienite and granite employed as building 
stones, suffered much when subjected to similar trials." 
Dr. Jackson, Geologist to the State of Maine, also 
speaks highly of this stone. 

The inhabitants of Kennebunk-port have not been 
backward in promoting the religious, moral and benev- 
olent institutions of the day. The " Temperance 
Society" was formed in 1831 and has now 777 members. 
The " Seaman's Friend Society" was formed 1833, and 
has monthly meetings. Besides these, there are many 
other associations, such as abound in all our towns and 
villages. By vote of the town, there have been no 
licenses granted for selling ardent spirits, for several 
years. For the nature of their employment, the in- 
habitants of this town have generally been remarkable 
for their sobriety. In their habits they have been fru- 
gal, — even perhaps to a fault, particularly in their 
public expenditures. They do not yet take sufficient 
interest in public schools, many individuals neglecting 
to avail themselves of this opportunity to educate their 
children ; and the compensation allowed to instructors, 
in some districts, being insufficient to induce suitable 
persons to take charge of their schools. The first na- 
tive of the town who received a collegiate education, 
graduated in 1823 ; and since that time two others 
have received a public education.* 

Very few professional men have ever resided in the 
town. The first physician that lived in the place was 
Dr. Thacher Goddard, who came here in 1786, and 

*Jonas Barnham, now the Precepter of Bridafeton Academy, 
graduated at Brunswick in 1823; Charles A. Lord, now of New 
York, merchant, in 1826 ; and Horatio N. Perkins, Esq. of Boston, 
in 1828. _ George Wheelwright, jr. born at Kennebunk-port, but 
now a citizen of Bangor, graduates the present year ; and Geo. 
Jeffords in 1838. Edward Smith, who belonged to the Sophomor& 
class, died in 1836. 



A. D. 1837.] KEXXEBUNK PORT. 221 

remained but two years. No other one resided in the 
town till 1810, when Dr. Langdon commenced prac- 
tice. There are now two physicians residing in the 
town. 

S. P. S. Thatcher, Esq. attempted to practice law 
here during the last war, and John R. Adams, Esq. sev- 
eral years afterwards, but the business of the town 
would not support a lawyer. Kennebunk-port has al- 
ways been dependant upon Saco and Rennebunk for 
legal aid ; and for medical assistance till within a few 
years. 

Although the town has been settled more than 200 
years, and incorporated 184 years, and for the last 
twenty five years been one of the wealthiest towns in 
the state, yet the only person belonging to it, who ever 
filled any public office, — except a few inspectors in the 
Custom House, and the post masters of the town, — was 
a county commissioner, whose compensation was in- 
sufficient to pay the expenses of the office. The present 
officers of the customs are Barnabas Palmer, Collector, 
— who succeeded George Wheelwright in 1820, — whose 
annual compensation is $286 ; Joshua Herrick, Depu- 
ty Collector, $650 ; Eliphalet Perkins, jr. inspector, 
weigher and guager, 8600 ; ElishaS. Goodwin, inspec- 
tor at Cape Porpoise, $450 ; and Joseph Wilson, in- 
spector at Wells, $320. 

Oliver Bourne, who succeeded James D. Downing, is 
the present Post-Master at the village, and Edmund 
Currier, jr. of the North Kennebunk-port post office. 

At present there are three public houses in Kenne- 
bunk-port, two of which are in the village. The village 
being four* miles below the post road, there is but little 
travelling through it ; and for several years since 1T28, 
there was no public house kept there. The mail is 
brought down twice daily from the Kennebunk post 
office. 

The people of this town having always done less bu- 
siness than their means would warrant, do not feel the 
present pressure in the money market only incidentally 
in the suspension of the demand for building materials. 

*The distance from Wells to Saco, through the villnge of Ken- 
nebunk-port, is less than two miles further, than by the post road. 
Tt 



222 history or [a. d. 1837 J 

Upon the whole, the present prospect of the town is 
very encouraging, and it may reasonably be hoped that 
it may again rank with the wealthy towns of the 
state. That it may do so, mainly depends upon the 
rising generation. If they rightly improve the su- 
perior advantages they now enjoy for acquiring a good 
education, with correct conduct and a proper degree of 
energy, the town may again become, — if not compara- 
tively so wealthy as it has been, — yet a place of more 
note than it is at present, 



KENXEBUNK TORT. f J23 



CHAPTER XI. 



[Note. Although the following brief notices of the earlier 
settlers of this town, after it took the name of Arundel, are be- 
lieved to be essentially correct, yet on account of the almost 
total want of records of births and marriages, they must ne- 
cessarily be imperfect. The materials have been collected 
with great care and labor from the Genealogical Register of 
John Farmer, Folsom's History of Saco and Biddeford, and 
other town histories ; from the Massachusetts, county, town, 
proprietors, and family records ; from Mr. Hovey's journal and 
other private papers ; and by personal enquiry, from persons of 
this and other towns. For the genealogy of the families of his 
name, and several connected with them by marriage, the com- 
piler is indebted to H. N. Perkins, Esq. of Boston ; and to B. 
Palmer, Esq. of Kenuebunk, for the list of the soldiers of the 
revolution, and for many facts relative to that event. 

It was not at first intended to notice any families that have 
become residents since the revolutionary war, and the accounts 
of them, having been hastily collected, are less full than they 
otherwise would have been. The names of many persons who 
remained here but a short time, have been purposely omitted, 
and probably several unintentionally. The births and mar- 
riages were brought down to the present generation, but on 
account of the great increase of matter, they were suppressed. 
For the same reason, many family and revolutionary anec- 
dotes, that were collected, have been withheld. 

The names are placed Alphabetically, for the convenience 
of finding them, without regard to priority of citizenship. At 
the close of the chapter, are lists of the revolutionary soldiers, 
the representatives, and the town clerks.] 

e Abbot, Silas, came from Scarborough to Arundel 
before the revolutionary war, and joined the continental 
army. His first wife was Anes Hutchins, whose chil- 
dren were Benjamin and Anes. His second wife was 
Lydia Cluff, whose children were Stephen, Martha, 
Enoch, Betsey, Lydia, Mary and Electa. 



•2'24 HISTORY OF 

fi Accerma.v, Stephen, had a grant of land in 17*20, 
but it is not known how long he remained in the town. 

Adams, Joseph, came to this town from Kittery about 
1740. His wife was Dorothy Dearing. He had three 
sons, John, James, and William ; and three daughters, 
Sarah, m.* Mr. Stevens and Aaron Gray; Susan, Mr. 
Gray, Joseph Hill and Mr. Johnson ; and Mary, Sam- 
uel Benson. 

1. John married Sarah Larrabee, whose children 
were Dorothy, m. Robert W. Benson ; Elizabeth, Ben- 
jamin Goodwin and David Rumery ; Sarah, Pierce 

Murphy ; Lydia, Daniel Goodwin ; Benjamin, Sarah 
Thomas ; and Hannah, Bartholomew Goodwin. 

2. James married Lydia Benson. His children were, 
James, m. Betsey Tarbox and Lydia Benson ; Hannah, 
William Maxwell ; Phebe, Alexander Lewis and West- 
brook Berry ; Joseph, Priscilla Jeffery ; Henry ; Lydia , 
m. William Hopping; two that died young; and John, 
m. Lydia Stone. 

3. William died in the army. 

e Adams, John R. a lawyer, came from Boston about 
1821. He resided here but a short time, and removed 
to Lowell. 

e Alltimes, John, was one of the first settlers on Saco 
road in 1728. He lived near where the present school- 
house is. He died Oct. 10, 1750, after twelve months 
sickness. He left two sons, John and William, who 
resided near the same place, and a daughter Lucy. 
They all moved eastward. A daughter of John jr. 
Frances, married Ephraim Thompson. 

Anderson, Samuel, a mariner, came from Virginia 
about 1803. He married Sally Denico. 

Andrews, John, came from Chebacco, (Essex) m 
1783. His father, deacon John Andrews, died with a 
cancer in 1750. His wife was Susan Chote. 

e Aspinwall, William, a mariner, came to this town 
about 1S00, and married Sarah Gorman. He died at sea. 

Averill, Joseph, Samuel, Stephen and Job, were 

e The families of persons to whose names the letter e is prefixed, 
have either removed from the town, become extinct, or have no 
lineal male descendants residing in the town. 

*The letter m. is an abbreviation for marriage. 



KENNEBUNK PORT. 225 

brothers, and came to this town from Kittery soon after 
it was resettled in 1714. Job left no children. 

1. Joseph married Jane McLellen. Seven of their 
children died with the throat distemper in 1735. Four 
survived, Joseph, who married Hannah Watson ; Jane, 
Hugh McLellen ; Margaret, Mr. Hodge ; and Molly, 
Mr. Clark. The children of Joseph jr. were Shadrach, 
who married Hannah Smith ; Sarah, David Boothby ; 
Joseph, who had three wives, Mary Stone, Martha Ty- 
ler, and Polly Haley ; Jane, who died young; Samuel, 
who died at sea; Stephen (crazy;) William, who mar- 
ried Susan Boothby, and subsequently Mary Weeks ; 
Hannah, Ebenezer Ruff; and John, who married Cath- 
arine Kimball. 

2. Samuel was cast away at Mount Desert in 1747, 
and drowned. His wife was Ruth W r atson. Four of 
their children died young, and three were married. 
Ruth to James Huff; Eunice to Jesse Dorman ; and 
Mary to Joseph Bickford. 

3. Stephen's children were Phebe, m. Nicholas 
Weeks; Rebecca, m. in the country ; Sarah, m. a Mr. 
Maddox ; and Samuel, and another boy died young. 

Mr. Hovey speaks of a Jacob Averill, a joiner, who 
lived here in 1747. 

c Ayer, Grorge, lived at Saco road about 17G0. He 
married Susannah Weeks, and moved east. 

e Babb, William, came from N. H. about the com- 
mencement of the revolution, and lived near the head 
of the town. In 1782, he married Jemima Durant, and 
shortly after returned to New Hampshire. 

Baker, William, joiner, came from Kennebunk in 
1836. 

e Banks, Jacob, came from Saco about 1818, and 
kept a livery stable. He subsequently removod to Orono. 

e Barker, Robert, fisherman, resided at Cape Por- 
poise about 1800, and moved to the eastward about 1810. 

e Barter, William, was an inhabitant of this town 
in 1755. His father was a Welchman, and came to 
America in the same vessel with William Pepperell, 
father of Sir William, about 1G75. Capt. Barter was 
born in Kittery, and married Mary Jones before his 



226 HISTORY OF 

removal to Arundel. He was a ship master till he was 
deprived of the use of his limbs by the palsy. His 
children were Sarah, who married John Cleaves ; Ma- 
ry, John Hovey ; Martha, Samuel Stevens ; Catharine, 
David Hutchins ; Mark, Lydia Burnham ; Margery, 
(not married ;) Henry, who removed to Portsmouth ; 
and William, who was not married. 

Mark was married in 1779. His children were, Ma- 
ry, Sarah, Betsey, Nancy, William and James. 

* e Barton, Ebenezer, Nicholas and John, sons of 
William, returned to this town when it was resettled. 
They sold their land to Jacob Curtis in 1727, and re- 
moved from the town. 

e Bartow, Nicholas, resided near Turbat's creek in 
1719, and was killed by the Indians in 1723. 

e Baxter, John, came to this town when it was first 
resettled. His wife, Sarah, was the daughter of Philip 
Durrell. She and her only child, John, were murdered 
by the Indians in 1726. Mr. Baxter's second wife was 
Sarah Bayley of Portsmouth, whose children were, John, 
who died young; Sarah, m. Thomas Perkins ; Mary, 
m. Benjamin Carr ; Rebecca, and another daughter, 
who died young. Mr. Baxter removed from Durrell's 
bridge to Saco road in 1729, and died before 1744. 
His widow m. Samuel Hutchins, jr. 

e Bayley, John, came from Chippenham, Wiltshire, 
England, and was cast away at Pemaquid, in 1639, on 
his passage to this country and died in 1651. His son 
John settled in Newbury. Joseph, the fourth son of 
John jr. was born April 4, 1648. He bought land of 
Nicholas Morey in 1700, and resided in Arundel, till it 
was deserted in 1703. He returned in 1714, and was 
one of the selectmen in 1719 ; and was killed by the 
Indians, Oct. 1723, aged 75. His children were, Noah ; 
Daniel ; and Anna who married Joshua Lassel. There 
was a Joseph Bayley living in Falmouth in 1742, who 
owned land in this town. He was probably a son of 
Joseph of Arundel. 

1. Noah m. Mary Lassel in 1731. In 1739 he be- 
came chargeable to the town ; and was drowned, July 

*See page S4. 



KENNEBUNK PORT. 227 

10, 1749, to the eastward of Trott's Island. He left 
no children. 

2. Daniel was a town officer in 1734, hut nothing 
is known of his family. 

f Bean, John, then living in this town, married Eliz- 
abeth Moody of Massabesic, in 1779. 

cBeggar, Francis, returned to Arundel, when it was 
resettled, but nothing more is known of him. 

Bell, John, joiner, came from Portsmouth, N. H. 
in 1801. He married Eunice Davis. 

Bell, Thomas H. shipmaster, came from Ports- 
mouth, Vir. in 1819. 

Benson, Henry, whose wife's name was Quint, went 
from Kittery to Biddeford before 1750. Several of his 
children married and settled in Arundel. Henry, m. 
Susan Fletcher ; Mary, Benjamin Littlefield ; Lucy, 
Benjamin Green ; Lydia, Timothy Crawley and James 
Adams ; and Olive, Isaac Curtis, Edmund Jeffery, and 
John Tarbox. Three of the sons remained in Bidde- 
ford, and one lived in Kittery. The children of Hen- 
ry jr. (of Arundel) were Henry, m. Hannah Huff; 
Lydia, James Adams ; Betsey, (not married ;) Samu- 
el, m. Mary Huff; John, Abiel Springer; Robert, Ly- 
dia Stone ; and James, and one other who died young. 

Bickford, Jethro, had a grant of land from the town 
in 1729, on Saco road, which was laid out in 1743. It 
is probable therefore he resided in this town. If he 
did he probably removed to Biddeford, as some of his 
des cendants removed from that town to Kennebunk- 
port ; — Percia about 1800, and Pelatiah in 1835. 

Bickford, Eliakim, a ship master, who came from 
Salem about 1740, was licensed to keep tavern in 
Arundel in 1744. He was probably a descendant of 
John Beckford, (as the name was then spelt,) who 
lived in Durham in 1G59. Eliakim died suddenly, 
March 22, 1748. His children were Joseph and Abi- 
gail. Abigail married John Cleaves. Joseph married 
Mary Averill, whose children were Eliakim, James, 
Thomas, Lucy, Abigail, Joseph, Hannah, Mary, John, 
George, William, and Gideon. 

pBird, James, an Irishman, kept a boarding-house 
about 1825. He removed to Boston. 



228 HISTORY OF 

cBlanchard, Charles, schoolmaster, settled over the 
second baptist society in 1822. 

e Blunt, John and James, came from Portsmouth 
about 1790. John, a ship builder, married Lydia Per- 
kins, and widow Sarah Perkins. He removed to 
Frenchman's Bay (Sullivan) about 1807. James, a boat 
builder, removed to Mollis about 1817. 

4 Bond, Thomas, a fisherman, bought land in Saco 
in 1717. His son Thomas resided in Arundel, near 
Cleaves's cove, in 1724. The children of the latter 
were Willie and Rowlandson. Willie married Samuel 
Perkins. Rowlandson, who was a chair maker, mar- 
ried a daughter of Samuel Williams. He built the 
house, afterwards occupied by Thomas Wiswall, about 
1743. He was a very athletic man and very quarrel- 
some. He attempted to drown his brother-in-law in 
Perkins's creek, in 1752. For this assault he was 
sentenced either to pay a fine of twenty eight shillings, 
or to receive ten stripes on his bare skin. A suit for 
damages also grew out of this transaction, which result- 
ed in depriving him of all his property ; and he re- 
moved to Cape Ann. 

Boston, Shubael and Thomas, brothers, came from 
Wells about 1785. Shubael married Rebecca Winn, 
and Thomas, Susan Gray. 

Bourne, Samuel, a ship carpenter, came from Wells 
in 1791. He married Mary Perkins. 

e Bourne, Benjamin and John, brothers, came from 
Kennebunk. Benjamin, a blockmaker, came to this 
town about 1802, and now resides in Bangor. John, 
shipmaster, settled here in 1809. 

Bowdon, Abraham, farmer, born in York, came to 
Kennebunk-port about 1817. 

e Boyls, Elisha, came from Boston about 1765. He 
had but two children, Amelia and Sally. After the 
war, Mr. Boyls returned to Boston. Mrs. Boyls was 
living in 1812. 

Bradbury, Smith, merchant, came from Newbury- 
port about 1790. He married Mary Hovey. His 
children were Harriet, Mary, Amelia, Charles and 
Caroline. He was a descendant of Thomas Bradbury, 



KENNEBUNK PORT. 229 

who was an agent of Sir Ferdinando Gorges in 1G3G, 
and who was admitted freeman at Salisbury in 1639. 

Bragdon, John, shipmaster, came from York about 
1798. 

eBRiGGs, John L. an Irishman, kept a public house 
about 1S25. He removed to Portland. 

c Brown, Arthur, who had " been bred a merchant 
from his youth upwards,"* came to this country in 
1643. His son Andrew lived in Scarborough, but re- 
moved to York, where he resided in 1699. Andrew 
bought land at Winter Harbor in 1717, and lived there 
a short time, but removed to Arundel before 1719, and 
was one of the Selectmen that year. He owned mills 
on " Brown's mill river," where he resided. He must 
have been a very aged man at the time of his removal 
into this town ; and he lived but a few years after that 
period. He left five children, Allison, Andrew, Mat- 
thew, Elizabeth who married Abraham Tyler, and a 
daughter that married Joshua Lassel. 

1. Allison married Hannah, the daughter of Hum- 
phrey Scamman of Saco. He was styled Lieut, and 
was chosen to represent the town in General Court in 
1723, being the first representative from the town. He 
died April 16, 1728, aged 71 years. His grave stones 
are still standing. Mr. Brown was the wealthiest citi- 
zen of the town. His widow, who was nearly thirty 
years younger than himself, married John Treeworgy, 
who had for some time been a.hired man in Mr. Brown's 
service, much against the wishes of her friends. Mr. 
Brown's children were, Andrew, and four daughters. 
The daughters married, Carr, John Stackpole, Smith, 
and Joshua Lassel, jr. Andrew, son of Allison, married 
Elizabeth Harding, Nov. 5, 1747. He erected a house 
at the Mills, June 27, 1751, but subsequently resided 
on Neck Island. His children were Louisa, m. Adam 
McCulloch ; Allison, who m. Elizabeth Tyler, and 
removed to Scarborough ; Hannah, who m. Joshua 
Alley ; Andrew, m. Mary Webber and removed to Ken- 
nebec ; Mary, who was married five times, — to John 
Wakefield, Thomas Washburne, Joseph Parsons, Mr. 
Crosby, and Eliakim Bickford ; Elizabeth, who m. 
Abner Huff; and four that died young. 
* County Records. U 



230 HISTORY OF 

2. Andrew, the second son of Andrew sen. married 
the widow of Pendleton Fletcher, grandson of Bryan 
Pendleton. He died July 4, 1723, aged 65 ; and his 
widow died in 1726, aged 65. Their only child, Andrew, 
was never married, and died March 14, 1722, aged 31 
years. 

3. Lieut. Matthew Brown, the third son of Andrew 
sen. died before 1734, and left no children. 

Brown, Joseph, an Englishman, came to this town 
about 1796. He married Polly Ferran. 

c Brown, Jacob, shipmaster, came from Pennsylva- 
nia about 1815. He married widow Sarah Thompson. 
He was killed accidentally in 1833. 

Burbank, John, of Rowley, 1640, is the only person 
of that name mentioned in Farmer's Genealogies. It 
is not known however that the family of this town de- 
scended from him. John, a millman, came from Brad- 
ford with the first settlers of Arundel. He was a Lieut, 
at the taking of Louisburg in 1745. He was concerned 
in fishing and coasting, and lost a large schooner in 
1750, on her first trip to Halifax. His first wife was 
Priscilla Major, who died Nov. 2, 1730, aged 31 years. 
Her children were, Benjamin, Hannah, Asa, Priscilla 
and Mary. His second wife was Hannah, widow of 
Lemuel Perkins, whose children were Ruth, Miriam, 
Elizabeth, Sarah, Eunice, Samuel, John and Lois. 

1. Benjamin m. Jane Sewall, Nov. 6, 1750, and re- 
moved to Brownfield. His daughter Mehitable m. Abel 
Merrill. 

2. Hannah's first husband was Matthew Lassel, and 
her second Gideon Walker. 

3. Asa had three wives. His first was Eunice 
Hutchins of Kittery, to whom he was married in 1751, 
whose children were Priscilla and Caleb, who died 
young ; Anna, m. Lemuel Miller ; Ruth, Noah Towne ; 
Asa, died young ; Asa and William, lost at sea. He 
married his second wife, Esther Emery, in 1767 ; whose 
children were, Joseph, died at sea ; David, married Su- 
san Stowell, and left no children ; Caleb, married Sally 
Littlefield and removed to Parsonsfield ; Joshua, mar- 
ried Sally Mitchell ; and John, who married David's 
widow, and moved to Saco. His third wife was Han- 



KENNEDUNK PORT. 231 

nah Foster, whom lie married in 1781. Her children 
were Ebenezer and Moses. 

4. Priscilla married Charles Huff. 

5. Mary married John Fairfield. 

6. Ruth married Samuel Wakefield. 

7. Miriam married James Wakefield. 

8. Elizabeth married John Walker. 

9. Sarah married Nathaniel Carl. 

10. Eunice married Jotham Mitchel. 

11. Samuel married Abigail Dearing, and lived in 
Rittery. 

12. John's wife was widow Anna English, who had 
but one daughter, Sally, who married Joseph Taylor. 
John Burbank was on board the Bon Homme Richard, 
as Master at Arms, under the command of Paul Jones, 
in the desperate conflict with the Serapis and Count- 
ess of Scarborough. Mr. Burbank is still living in 
Lyman, with his son in law, at the advanced age of 85. 
His wife is also living. 

13. Lois married John Carl. 

Burnham, James, was born in Wells, Sept. 1710; 
and he married Grace Delzel! of that town in 1737. 
He removed to Arundel about 1739. His children 
were, James, Samuel, Isaac, Forest, (died young) Moses, 
Jacob, Elizabeth, Lydia, Forest, Anna, Seth, and 
Sarah. 

1. James was killed in a skirmish with the English, 
on Goat Island, in 1782. His first wife was Hannah 
Merrill, who died March 17, 1776. His second wife 
was widow Jane Wildes. His children were Mary, 
m. Benjamin Titcomb ; Susannah, died young; John, 
m. Olive Pitman; Hannah, John Fairfield°; James 
and Ezra, who died young; Daniel, Seth and Moses, 
who died at sea. 

2. Samuel married Susannah Lord, and removed to 
Alewife, where his descendants now reside. 

3. Isaac married Anna Merrill, whose children were, 
Joseph, m. Susannah Gardner ; Betsey, Nathaniel 
Walker ; Benjamin, who left the town ; Obed, who 
went to Ohio ; Mary, m. George Goodwin ; Hannah, 
Joseph Hutchins ; and Simon who died at sea. 

4. Forest died young. 5. Moses was blind. 

6. Jacob married Mary Goodwin, whose children 



232 HISTORY OF 

were Bartholomew ; Jacob, who died at sea ; Nancy, 
Lydia, Sarah, Abigail, Betsey and Grace, that were 
not married ; and Polly, m. George Hooper. 

7. Elizabeth married William Smith. 

8. Lydia m. Mark Barter, and is still living. She 
has been blind for several years, but her faculties are 
but little impaired. 

9. Forest had two wives, Catharine Watson and 
Susannah Deshon. Mr. Burnham's children by his 
first wife, were Samuel and Stephen, who died at sea; 
Betsey, who married Timothy Ayer ; Susan, m. Dr. 
Ayer ; Sally ; and Anna, who married in Roxbury. 
His second wife's children, were Loratia, who mar- 
ried a Mr. Harmon ; Isabella ; and Osea, who died 
young. 

10. Anna married Joseph Whitten. 

11. Seth * married Lydia Lassel. His children 
were Elizabeth, James, Israel, Lydia, Belford, Leon- 
ard, Seth, Owen and Jonas. 

12. Sarah married William Fairfield. 

e Burnham, Thomas, married a sister of Abel Merrill, 
and was lost with him. His family of several children, 
moved to Portsmouth after his death. 

e Burnham, Francis, came from Ipswich about the 
close of the revolutionary war. He kept a public house 
at Cape Porpoise. His wife was Sarah Eveleth. Mr. 
Burnham and his only son were drowned off the cape. 
His only daughter, Sarah, married James Huff, 3d. His 
widow married Ebenezer Huff. 

e Butler, Stephen, came from York before the close 
of the war. His wife was Martha Gray. His children 
were Michaiah, who married Susan Cleaves ; Daniel, 
Mary Taylor ; and Betsy, who married David Smith. 

Buzzell, Samuel, came from Wells in 1807. He 
married widow Edith Deshon. 

e Campbell, and Cornwall, whose christian names 
are not given, were in this town in 1720, but whether as 
settlers, or joiners on Mr. Eveleth's house, is not known. 

* Seth Burnham. Esq. is still living ; and the compiler of this 
work is much indebted to him, for the information which his long 
employment in town business enabled him to impart. 



KENNEBUNK TORT. 233 

c Carr, Samuel, was probably a descendant of George 
Carr, who Jived in Ipswich in 1638. Samuel came 
from Newbury to Arundel about 1715. He had sons 
James and Benjamin and perhaps other children. 
James left no sons. Benjamin married Ruth Moody of 
Newbury. Their children were, James, John, Joseph, 
Joshua, Benjamin, Moody and Anna. 

James, John and Joseph moved to the eastward. 
Anna married John Lewis. 

1. Joshua married Gehanna (Joanna) Hamer, Feb. 
7, 1751, and owned the farm of the late Ebenezer Per- 
kins. He was a Capt. in the militia, and the principal 
trader in town. He owned a sloop called the Joanna 
in 1764. His account book is now in the possession of 
one of his descendants. His children were Esther, m. 
Joseph Hutchins ; Elinor, John Emmons ; Lois, Sam- 
uel Watson ; and John who died young. 

2. Benjamin married Mary Baxter. His children 
were John, who married Susan Currier and removed to 
Wells ; Eliphalet, who was not married, and who was 
on board the Chesapeake when captured by the Shan- 
non ; Ruth, and perhaps others. 

3. Moody had three children. Eliphalet wasdrowned ; 
one daughter was never married ; and Molly married 
Samuel Brown. Mr. Carr was also drowned. 

e Chadwick, Charles, in 1774, lived in a house be- 
longing to Samuel Hutchins. It is not known what 
became of this family. 

e Chatman, Abraham, was residing at the eastern 
part of the town as early as 1760. The maiden name 
of his wife was Higginson. His children were Jane, 
who married Edmund Littlefield ; Dolly, Abraham Lit- 
tlefield ; Lydia, John Varnum ; Sally, who died young, 
and Willburn. Willburn married Susan Jeffery, whose 
children were John, Edward, Abraham, Isaac, Benja- 
min, Susan, Mary, Sarah and Polly. 

Chesley, John, married Salome Winslow, both of 
Arundel, in 1793. 

e Clark, Henry, merchant, came from Lexington, 
Mass. about 1804. He was cashier of Kenncbunk 
Bank. He removed to Boston in 1833. 

Cleaves, Robert, came from Beverly about 1740, 
Uu 



234 HISTORY OF 

and bought land of Thomas Huff, near " Beaver pond." 
He was a blacksmith, and was licensed to trade in 1741. 
His first wife was Sarah Harding, and his second widow 
Mehitable Hall. His children were John, who was 
twice married, — to Sarah Barter and Abigail Bickford ; 
William, who died in the army ; Stephen, who married 
Alice Perkins ; Eaton, Miriam Smith ; Israel, Margaret 
Patten ; Sarah, Jonathan Downing ; James, whose 
wives were, Mehitable Webber and Mehitable Murphy ; 
and Elinor. 

Clough, John, the present methodist circuit preacher, 
at Saco road. 

Cluff, or Clough,* Samuel, came from Kittery about 
1758. His wife was Hannah Hutchins. His children were 
Joseph, m. Elvira Hutchins ; Thomas, Hannah Good- 
win ; Samuel, Lucy Wakefield ; Enoch, died at sea; 
Noah, m. Mary Goodwin ; Joel, Dorothy Hutchins ; 
Rhoda, Paul March ; Martha, Thomas Huff; and Lyd- 
ia, Silas Abbot. 

Coes, Benjamin, sailmaker, came from Marblehead 
about 1785. He married Sarah Durrell. 

e Coit, Solomon, came from Saco about 1797. His 
mother was the wife of Capt. James Perkins. He was 
a midshipman in the navy in the war of 1812, and serv- 
ed on the lakes. He afterwards commanded the 
privateer brig Mars of Portsmouth, which was lost with 
the whole crew. 

Colman, Enoch and Samuel, came from Newington, 
about 1800. 

e CoLE,f Isaac, an old inhabitant of Cape Porpoise, 
had four sons who returned to this town when it was 
resettled. Philip died about 1725. His widow, whose 
name was Mary, survived him many years, and lived 
near Cleaves's cove. Joseph was living in 1740. John 
died about 1740. Benjamin was living in Manchester 
in 1734. 

*It is spelt both ways on the town records. It ought probably to 
be written Clough. The name of Cluff is not to be found amongst 
the early settlers of Massachusetts. Isaac Clough was admitted 
freeman in Massachusetts in 1G41 ; and John, one of the proprie- 
tors of Salisbury, in 1642. 

iSee page 78. 



KENNEBUNK PORT. 235 

Conant, Andrew, came from Alfred in 1836, and 
purchased the farm of the late Robert Towne, Esq. 

e Cook, Gideon, the minister of the second baptist 
society from 1825 to 1828. 

Couch, Samuel, an Englishman, chief quarryman, 
came from New York in 1836. 

Couillard, Charles, came from Boothbay, about 
1822. 

e Cromwell, JohxN, shoemaker, came from Berwick 
in 1811. He removed to Kennebunk, in 1820. 

c Cromwell, Mr. lived, before the revolution, on the 
point of land near the fish wharf of Capt. John Lord, 
then called Cromwell's point. 

e Cousins, Samuel and Elisha, lived in Arundel in 
17G4, as they paid a poll tax that year. Samuel mar- 
ried Susan Watson and moved to Cape Menan ; and 
Elisha married Bashaba Hainer and moved to Harps- 
well. They probably lived on Cousins's point, near 
Turbat's creek. 

Crediford, Joseph and John, brothers, came from 
England to Charleston, S. C. about 1725. Joseph came 
to Arundel, and settled on Kennebunk river in 1729. 
He married Esther Littlefield of Wells, and died in 
1735, aged 35. His widow died in 1793, aged 90. 
Their children were, Abigail, m. Thomas Towne ; Jo- 
seph, died at sea ; Rebecca, m. Joseph Towne, (1750 ;) 
Lydia, Dummer Mitchell ; Abner, Ruth Watson ; and 
Tabitha, Nathan Window. The children of Abner 
were, Joseph, m. Lucy Smith; Daniel, Ruth Cousins; 
Samuel, died at sea ; Ruth, m. Stephen Cooper ; and 
David, Mary Downing. 

Currier, Nathaniel and Abraham, brothers, came 
from Kennebunk. Nathaniel, whose wife was Hannah 
Patten, came about 1795 ; and Abraham, who married 
Lydia Kimball, in 1816. 

Currier, William, mast-maker, came from Ports- 
mouth, N. H. in 1810. 

Curtis, Jacob, came from Rowley, Mass. to this 
town about 1724. There were several of the name of 
Curtis, that settled early in New England. Deodate 
lived in Braintree in 1643 ; Henry in Sudbury in 1641 ; 



236 HISTORY OF 

and Richard in Marblehead in 1648. Jacob of Arun- 
del was born about 1700, and married Abigail Bracy 
of York. He lived at Cape Porpoise, but subsequently 
on the place recently occupied by Capt. Daniel Tripp. 
In 1727 he purchased land on Kennebunk river, of 
Ebenezer Barton, and was admitted proprietor in 
Barton's right. His descendants still own the lot. 
Jacob's children were, Bracy, who died in the French 
war ; Jacob ; John, who was deaf and dumb ; Betsey, 
who married Asa Durrell ; Mary, Dixey Stone ; Han- 
nah, Jeremiah Wakefield ; and Phebe, Moses Banks. 

1. Jacob jr. was born April 10, 1746. He married 
Mehitable Walker. His children were, Bracy, Abigail, 
Jacob, Gideon, Daniel, Hannah, Ebenezer and Thom- 
as. " He died Dec. 14, 1786, near Newbury, in a 
violent storm, being in the prime of life, much lamented 
by his family and friends."* His widow married Eb- 
enezer Day, and is still living. 

Curtis, Isaac, resided in Arundel in 1728, and was 
made a proprietor in 1731. He was probably the son 
of Joseph Curtis of Kittery, who married Sarah Fox- 
well in 1678. The estate of Foxwell, lying in Saco 
and Biddeford, was divided amongst his heirs in 1732, 
and a part allotted to the widow of Joseph Curtis. 
There was a Thomas Curtis residing in Roxbury before 
1633, who had several sons, one of whom was Isaac. 

Isaac of this town had three sons, Isaac, Ephraim 
and Bowery. The whole family removed to Biddeford. 
Isaac jr. who married Olive Benson, had two children, 
Joseph, who married Charity Goodwin ; and Mary, 
who married Benjamin Goodwin. Joseph returned to 
Arundel about 1783. John, another descendant of 
Isaac, came into this town in 1834, and purchased the 
farm of Harrison Murphy. 

^Danforth, Francis, lived near the present dwell- 
ing house of Asaph Smith in 1732. He wife died in 
1758. His children were Enoch, Isaac, Anna and per- 
haps others. Enoch removed to Topsham. It is not 
known what became of Isaac. Anne married David 
Hutchins. 

"Town records. 



KENNEBUNK TORT. 237 

e Darling, John, a Scotchman, lived quite early near 
Goffe's mill brook. He left the town. 

Davis, Timothy, Nathaniel and John were brothers, 
and were born in Arundel. It is not known who their 
father was, but it is highly probable that they were 
grandsons of Emmanuel.* 

1. Timothy married Bethia White, Feb. 1, 1750. 
His children were Daniel, m. Susan Prince ; Benjamin, 
Esther Tarbox ; Dominicus, died in the revolutionary 
war ; Betsey, m. Mr. Gould ; Mehitable, Mr. Barker ; 
Olive, Mr. Swanton ; and Eliphalet, Eunice Huff. Mr. 
Davis, with his whole family, removed to Cape Ann 
about the commencement of the war. He and his sons 
served in the army. Mr. Davis and Eliphalet returned 
to this town from Dracut in 1790. 

2. Nathaniel married Elizabeth Grant. He was in 
the service the whole war and was in the battle of 
Bunker Hill. His children were Nathaniel, who died 
in Canada ; Ichabod, who married Mary Cluff; and 
Benjamin, who married widow Eliza Mitchell. 

3. John removed to Berwick. 

Davis, John and Samuel, brothers, remotely con- 
nected with the above family, came from Portsmouth. 
John, a boat builder, who married Mary Barter, came 
to this town about 1795, and Samuel, joiner, in 1800. 
Samuel removed to Boothbay about 1832. 
* e Day, Jotham, minister of the first baptist society 
in 1820. He removed to the eastward. 

Day, Nathaniel, came from Kennebunk about 1832. 

Day, Joshua, mariner, came from Limerick in 1829. 

e Dayton, Isaac, a tailor, came from Boston about 
1800. He removed to Kennebunk about 1805. 

Dearborn, Solomon, laborer, came from Saco in 
1837. 

Dearixg, Humphrey, was probably the son of Roger 
Dearing of Scarborough, whose garrison was attacked 
by the Indians in 1728. Humphrey was one of the 
selectmen of Arundel in 1719. He died in 1746. His 
children were, Humphrey, m. Abigail Donnel ; Abigail, 
David Hutchins ; Elizabeth, John Emmons ; Molly, 
David Thomas ; and one that married Andrew Lassel. 

1. Humphrey's children were Hannah, m. Mr. Lov- 

See pa<je7d. 



238 HISTORY OF 

et ; Sarah, Robert Patten ; James, Mary Nason and 
Betsey Wetherbee ; Abigail, Samuel Cousins ; Susan, 
Moses Wildes ; Mary, Moses Nason ; Esther, William 
Smith and John Hovey. Mrs. Bearing died in 1758. 

1. The children of James, by his first wife, were 
Sally, Mary, Humphrey, Susan, James, Joshua, John 
and Seth ; and by his second, Jotham. 

c Delzell, Forest, was born in Wells. He had a 
brother James residing in that town. Margaret, who 
lived in Arundel, was probably his sister. Another 
sister, Grace, married James Burnham. Forest was a 
saddler. He was never married and lived in this town 
but a short time. 

e Dempsey, Thomas, was an Irishman. He was sto- 
len by a master of a vessel when a boy, and brought to 
this country. His children by his first wife, were Mar- 
garet and Hephzibah. Margaret married James De- 
shon, jr. and Hephzibah, William Gillpatrick. Mr. 
Dempsey's second wife Was the widow of Nathaniel 
Wildes who left no children. He died before 1775. 

e Denico, Joseph, was one of the French Neutrals, 
or Arcadians, who were taken prisoners by the English 
in 1755, and distributed amongst the towns of ±\ew 
England. In 1667, the town voted " that Joseph Den- 
ico, a Frenchman, should be Transported to Quebeck in 
Kanaday at the charge of the town." He was not sent 
however, but resided in the town till the time of his 
death, about 1790. His children were, John, who 
moved to the eastward ; Joseph, who died in the conti- 
nental service ; Sally, who married Samuel Anderson ; 
Betsey, John Cleaves ; Judith, John Hall and Joseph 
Shackley ; and Hannah, William Green. 

cDennet, Ebenezer F. shipmaster, came from Saco 
in 1815. He was murdered by pirates oft* Porto Rico 
in 1819. 

Denxet, Joseph, farmer, came from Lyman in 18C6. 

Deshont, James, was a Frenchman. He accompa- 
nied a gentleman to this country as linguist. He came 
into this town about 1730, and married Chasey Per- 
kins. He died on Lake Champlain in the revolutionary 
war. His children were, James, Peter, Olive, Moses 
and Chase. 



KEXNEBUNK PORT. 239 

1. James jr. married Elizabeth Wildes, whose chil- 
dren were Daniel, Susannah, John, Thomas, Samuel, 
James and Elizabeth. 

2. Peter married Hannah Wildes. Their children 
were, Samuel, Hannah, Joseph, Benjamin, Stephen, 
David, Jonathan and Lydia. 

3. Olive married Samuel Wildes. 

4. Moses married Catharine Patterson, and remov- 
ed to Saco. 

5. Chase also married and went to Saco. 
Dolliff, Josiah, farmer, came from Lyman about 

1798. He bought part of the Dalton right* in the up- 
per part of the town, where he now resides. 

Dorman, Jabiz, the first moderator, came from Box- 
ford about 1715. There was a Timothy Dorman of 
Boxford, who bought 500 acres of land in Swanfield, 
[Lyman] in 1693, and Ephraim Dorman witnessed the 
deed. It is probable that neither of them removed into 
this county, it being in the time of an Indian war. 
Ephraim was probably the father of Jabiz, and descend- 
ant of Thomas, who was one of the first settlers of Ips- 
wich, and was admitted freeman in 1635, and died at 
Topsfield in 1670. In 1716, Jabiz bought part of the 
land belonging to the heirs of Morgan Howell, and was 
made proprietor in Howell's right. In 1724, he was 
representative to General Court. In 1729, he had a 
grant of land on Saco road, and probably removed there. 
He drew " the third lot on the east side of the high- 
way." lie was licensed to keep tavern in 1738, and 
continued that business till 1741. He was alive in 1746, 
but was probably advanced in years, as he had not been 
elected to any town office for several years before that 
period. He left four children, Jabiz ; Jesse ; Hephzi- 
bah, who married James Ross and Mr. Dyer ; and 
Elizabeth. 

1. Jabiz jr. married Hannah, the daughter of John 
Look of Wells. His children were, Jabiz, m. Mary God- 
frey; Mary, Elias Jacobs, Huldah, Ephraim Perkins; 
Hannah, died young ; Judith, m. Dummer Mitchell ; 
John, Hannah Huff; Ephraim, died in the continental 
service ; and Lucy, m. Ephraim Perkins. 

*This land was probably owned by Tristram Dalton, Esq. who 
was taxed in this town in 1779. 



240 HISTORY OF 

2. Jesse was a Lieut, in the battle at Lake George in 
1758. He had the command of a company at that 
time, and narrowly escaped death. A musket ball 
struck him in the breast, but its force was checked by 
its striking a silk handkerchief that was placed inside 
his vest, for the convenience of wiping his face. He 
was also a Capt. in the revolutionary war. His wife 
was Eunice Averill, and his children were, Josiah ; Is- 
rael, who married Sarah Horn ; Elizabeth, Daniel 
Towne ; x4biel, Daniel Shackley ; Stephen, who died at 
sea ; Jedediah ; Sarah ; Jesse, who married Mary Bos- 
ford ; and Thomas, Hannah Miller. 

eDouTY, Joseph, resided in this town, near Kenne- 
bunk river, in 1758. Nothing more is known of him. 

Downing,* Capt. John, returned to this town from 
Newington in 1720, and had several hundred acres of 
land laid out to him in his own right, and that of his 
father in law, John Miller. He died in 1727, aged 67. 
Three of his sons, Harrison, John and Benjamin came 
with him, and perhaps other children. 

I. Harrison either left the town, or had no children, 
as none of his descendants now reside here. 

II. John lived in Arundel several years, but returned 
to Newington, where he~ died. He had three sons, 
Harrison, Richard and John ; and several daughters, 
one of whom married Mr. Bickford of Newington. 

1. Harrison married Sarah Walker, July 11, 1750, 
" and a right good entertainment they had for the 
small company that were there."* His children were, 
Elizabeth, m. John Murphy ; Hannah, Abraham Hill, 
Joshua Taylor and Nathan Raymond ; Harrison, 
Hannah Murphy ; Nicholas, Hannah Walker ; John, 
Sarah Miller ; and Sarah, Benjamin Downing. 

2. Richard married Alice Downing and lived in New- 
ington. 

3. John was also married, and resided in Newington. 

III. Benjamin married Elizabeth Fabians of Ports- 
mouth, in 1726. He was deacon of the church, and 
town clerk from 1750 till the time of his death in 
1753. His sons were Benjamin, Jonathan and Rich- 

*See page 93. *Mr. Hovey's Journal. 



KENNEBUNK PORT. 04^ 

ard. His daughters were, Elizabeth, m. Richard Pur- 
ser ; Alice, Richard Downing; Susannah, Thomas 

B°°^u in ; T,?T h ' T Adam Clark 5 Hannah, Thomas 
Boothby ; Phebe, Jonathan Stone; Mary, died young; 
and Temperance, m. Ephraim Wildes. 

1. Benjamin jr. was born March 12, 1732, and 
married Mary Fairfield, March 26, 1756. He was 

i~iS* t01 J? ° lerk for man ^ ? ears - He dieJ Jan. 27, 
1 /97. His children were, John, m. Mary Clark ; Ben- 
jamin, Sarah Downing ; and two that died young. 

2. Jonathan married Sarah Cleaves, and his children 
were, Richard, m. Elizabeth Kimball ; Jonathan, Miri- 
am Kingsbury; Samuel, Eunice Patten; and Sally 
Samuel Kimball. . 

3. Richard went to Frenchman's Bay. 

e Downs, Ephraim, and Ebenezer, were living in 
this town about 1760. They bought their land of 
Moses Spencer. This family removed to the eastern 
part of Maine before the revolution. 

Drown, Stephen, born in Kennebunk, came to this 
town in J 810. He married Eunice White. 

Durrell,* Philip, came from Guernsey. He came 
to this town in 1700, and settled near where Durrell's 
bridge now is. In 1703, his family was carried off by 
the Indians, and he left the town. He returned in 
1714, and had a lot of land laid out to him in 1723, 
" it being the same loot that he was in possesion of 
when his family was carried into captivity by the In- 
dians." His family was again taken in 1726, and his 
wife killed. His sons were, Philip, Benjamin, and 
John. His daughters were, Rachael and Susan, who 
married in Canada ; Elizabeth, m. John Wakefield ; 
Mary, James Wakefield ; Lydia, Stephen Larrabee ; 
Sarah, John Baxter ; and one that married Joshua 
Purinton. 

I. Philip jr. married Keziah Wakefield. His chil- 
dren were, Sarah, m. Stephen Webber ; Anes, Simeon 
Hutchins ; Asa, Elizabeth Curtis ; and several that 
died young. 

1. Asa's children were Philip, m. Sarah Davis ; Ma- 

*This name is sometimes written Durrill on the records. 
V 



242 HISTORY OF 

ry, Thomas Lord ; Asa, Lydia Hill ; Keziah, Waldo 
Hill of Biddeford; Abigail, Waldo Hill of Wells; 
and Eliphalet, Jane Merrill. 

II. Benjamin married Judith Perkins. His children 
were, Mary and Benjamin, who died young; Judith, 
m. Obed Merrill ; Mary, died young ; Benjamin, m. 
Hannah Kimball ; Thomas, Elizabeth Stone and Mary 
Perkins ; Sarah, died young ; Lydia, m. Joseph Emer- 
son ; Jacob, Lucy Wildes ; Elizabeth and Lucy, died 
young ; and Samuel, who died at sea. 

III. John, who was taken by the Indians, married 
widow Lydia Jellison. His only child, Anes, married 
Elisha Boston, and moved east. 

Eaton, Joshua, farmer, son of Elder Eaton of 
Wells, came to this town about 1S05. 

e Elliot, William, had a lot of land laid out on 
Kennebunk river in 1730 ; and a Nathaniel Elliot was 
here in 1746. It is not quite certain that they resided 
in the town. They sold their land to John Whitten 
and John Merrill about 1744. 

Elliot, Joshua, shoemaker, came from Biddeford 
in 1796. 

e Elliot, Robert, an Englishman, married Sarah 
Grant in 1803. 

e Ellsworth, Nathaniel, a trader, came from Bos- 
ton in 1802. He died in 1804, and his family return- 
ed to Boston. 

e Emerson, William S. physician, came from Ken- 
nebunk about 1826. He now resides in Alton, Illinois. 

Emerson, Bradbury, farmer, came from Hollis in 
1836. 

e Emery, Joseph, a blacksmith, lived near Goffe's 
mill bridge before the revolution. His wife, who was 
Rebecca Wakefield, left no children. 

e Emery, John, shoemaker, came from Biddeford 
about 1810. He removed from this town about 1833. 

Emery, William, shipmaster, came from Biddeford 
in 1822. 

Emmons, John, was living in this town in 1743. 
His wife was Elizabeth Dealing. His children were, 



> KENNEBUNK PORT. 243 

Ebenezer, Eliakim born Sept. 1750, John, George, 
and Elizabeth. 

Ebenezer, m. Polly Wildes ; Eliakim, Abigail Zarve 
and Polly Wildes; John, Elinor Carr ; George, died 
in the army ; and Elizabeth, in. Nehemiah Stone. 

e Eveleth,* James, a joiner, lived at Cape Porpoise 
at the close of the revolution ; and also Samuel who 
was a fisherman. They resided in the town but a 
short time. Their sister Sarah married Francis Burn- 
ham and Ebenezer Huff. They were grandchildren 
of the Rev. John Eveleth. 

Fairfield, John, a carpenter, who came to this 
town from Worcester about 17*25, was probably a son 
of John Fairfield of Boston, who died in 1691. Mr. 
Fairfield lived near the mouth of Kennebunk river, — 
probably in the house built by Thomas Perkins, — in 
1733, and was licensed to keep tavern. He afterwards 
removed to the eastern part of the town, but bought 
the farm now belonging to the heirs of William Fair- 
field in 1764. His children by his first wife were, John ; 
a daughter that married John Hale" • MsT? w 1R " r "a- 
min Downing; Stephen; and Elizabeth, m. Dixey 
Stone. His second wife was the widow of Col. Jona- 
than Stone, who left no children. 

1. John married Mary Burbank, whose children 
were, Samuel, m. Sarah Huff; William, Sarah Burn- 
ham and Mary King ; Sarah, Israel Whitten ; John, 
Hannah Burnham ; Stephen, Asa and Benjamin, died 
at sea; Mary, m. Robert Towne^j Moses, Betsey Ste- 
vens ; and Elizabeth, Alexander Gould. 

2. Stephen married Elizabeth Smith and removed to 
Wells. His children were, John, died at sea ; Mary, 
m. John Mitchell ; Stephen, moved to Saco ; and Han- 
nah, m. Mr. Harvey. 

e Ferran, a soldier, was stationed at Mr. Hovey's 
garrison in 1746. He probably left the town after the war. 

c Ferran, Jonathan, came from Biddeford soon after 
the revolution. His first wife was Dorcas Goodridge, 
whose children were, Polly, Sally, Hannah, Lorana, 
Dorcas, Daniel, Anne, Betsey and Lydia. His second 
wife was Betsey Sargent, who left no children. 

*See page 124. 



244 HISTORY OF 

Fickett, Amos P. farmer, came from Cape Eliza- 
beth in 1836. 

Fisher, James, mariner, came from North Carolina 
about 1794. He married Esther Hutchins in 1795. 

e Flanders, Henry, mariner, came to this town 
about 1797. He was lost in the Sloop-of-war Wasp, 
in the war of 1812. 

Fletcher,* Pendleton, the grandson of Major 
Pendleton, was taken prisoner by the Indians in 1698, 
and died in captivity before 1700. His widow married 
Andrew Brown of Arundel. His son, Pendleton, who 
was taken prisoner at the same time with his father, 
returned and settled in Biddeford ; but he had a lot of 
land laid out to him in Arundel in 1728, and removed 
into the town and was made a proprietor. His chil- 
dren were, Pendleton, John, Joseph, and perhaps others. 

I. Pendleton 3d. remained in Biddeford where he 
died in 1807, aged 100 years. 

II. John lived in Arundel. His children were, Pen- 
dleton, Jonathan, Stephen, and probably others. 

1. Pendleton 4th. m. Lydia Joy, whce^ children wero, 
Reuben and several others, who all left the town. 

2. Jonathan married Abigail Joy, whose children 
were, Benjamin, m. Polly Curtis, and lives in Bidde- 
ford ; and John and a daughter who died young. 

3. Stephen's first wife was Lydia Whitten, whose chil- 
dren were, Roger ; George, m. Lydia Huff; Stephen, Abi- 
gail Ricker ; and Lydia, Thomas Batts. His second 
wife was Sarah Shepherd, whose children were, Robert, 
died at sea, and Sarah. 

III. Joseph married Molly Smith, and removed to 
Arundel. After his death, his widow married William 
Goodridge. Mr. Fletcher's children were, Joseph, two 
that died young, and Margaret, who married Lemuel 
Tarbox. 

1. Joseph married Sarah Edgecomb. His children 
were, Joseph, m. Deborah Jacobs; Sally, Elisha Cous- 
ins; Thomas, Priscilla Cousins; Hannah, Joshua 
Emmons; Jeremiah, Huldah Dorman ; Robert, Cath- 
arine Littlefield ; Margaret, Isaac Edgecomb; Mary; 
and Catharine, m. Joseph Hutchins. 

* See page 95. 



KENNEBUNK PORT. 245 

e Folsom, Jeremiah, was an early settler on Saco 
road. He was the son of Nathaniel and Susannah 
Folsom of Stratham, who sold a lot of land to James 
Tyler in 1720. Nathaniel inherited this land from his 
great-grand mother, Elinor Jackson. Jeremiah sold 
his land to Tobias and Benjamin M. Lord in 1747, and 
removed to the eastward about 1755. 

Foss, John, tailor, came from Scarborough in 1798. 
He married Lavinia Clark of Saco. 

e Foss, Rufus, mariner, came from Scarborough in: 
1809. 

e Foster, Moses, removed to Arundel from Tops- 
field about 1733. His sister Ruth married Jacob Wildes 
before that period. Persons of the name of Foster, 
settled in Massachusetts as early as 1635. Mr. Foster 
had three children, Moses, Hannah and Molly. Mo- 
ses was drowned in Batson's river. Elizabeth married 
Asa Burbank, and Molly, Benjamin Thompson. 

e Frazier, James, shipmaster, came from Baltimore 
in 1821. He removed to Cincinnati, Ohio, in 1837. 

Freeman, Jonathan, Ephraim and James were 
brothers. Jonathan came from Windham in 1816; 
James, from Scarborough in 1820; and Ephraim, from 
Scarborough in 1823. 

Freeman, Oliver, shoemaker, came from York 
about 1828. 

e Frees, John, who lived near Kennebunk river, 
was presented in 1721 •• for sailing out of the harbour 
of Arundel on Sunday." He was a town officer in 
1720, but shortly afterwards removed to Wells. There 
was a George Frees here in 1754. 

e Frost, John, merchant, came from Sanfbrd about 
1808. He left the town about 1820, and now resides in 
Bangor. 

e Fulton, David, settled on Saco road before 1740. 
He lived near the present dwelling house of Edmund 
Hill. He had two sons who lived near the present 
dwelling house of James Burnham. This whole family 
removed to Brunswick. 

e Gardner, Silas, came from Nantucket in 1801. 
He was never married. He died in 1826, aged 75.. 

y v 



246 HISTORY OF 

Garland, John, farmer, came from Somersworth, N. 
H. in 1832. 

George, Nathan, the present circuit preacher at the 
village. 

e Getchel, Bezaleel, who married Susannah Scad- 
lock, resided in Marblehead in 1717. He removed in- 
to Arundel in 1721, on land belonging to his wife, in 
the eastern part of the town, near Getchel's creek. 
He removed from the town, probably to Marblehead, at 
the commencement of the Indian war in 1722. 

Gillpatrick, Robert S. farmer, came from Biddeford 
in 1808. 

e Goddard, Thacher, the first physician who resi- 
ded in this town, came from Worcester about 1786. 
He married Lucy Wiswall the same year, and removed 
to Kennebunk in 1788. He died in Roxbury, June, 1829. 

cGoffe, Col. Edmund, of Cambridge, bought land of 
Jonathan Sherman in this town in 1720. He also had 
a grant of land from the town upon condition of his 
becoming a resident, or sending in a family. If he re- 
sided here, he returned to Cambridge at the beginning 
of Lovewell's war. It is more probable however, that 
Jonathan Stone was his substitute. Col. Gone owned 
mills on the stream that bears his name, and consider- 
able other property in the town. 

e Goodridge, William, was born in Berwick, and 
lived at Winter Harbor with Pendleton Fletcher. He 
married widow Molly Fletcher, and came to Arundel 
about 1760. He died Dec. 13, 1793. His wife died in 
1811. His' children were, Dorcas, m. Jonathan Ferran ; 
Daniel, died at sea ; Jeremiah, m. Mary Poindexter ; 
William, died at sea ; Molly, m. Joseph Tarbox ; and 
Betsey, Nathaniel Tarbox and a Mr. Merrill. 

Goodwin's, Nathaniel, name first appears on the 
town records in 1745. He lived near Kennebunk river. 
He and his brothers, Benjamin and Solomon, came 
from Berwick. 

I, Nathaniel's children were, Nathaniel, m. Abigail 
Wakefield and Charity Drew ; a daughter that m. Gid- 
eon Wakefield ; and probably others. 

II. Benjamin married Sarah Nason. His children 
were, Benjamin, m. Elizabeth Adams ; Hannah, Thom- 
as Cluff; Sarah, Israel Wakefield; Mary, Noah Cluff; 



KENNEBUNK PORT. 247 

Daniel, Hannah Adams ; William, Sally Tibbets ; Mar- 
garet, Benjamin Jellison ; and one that died young. 

III. Solomon married Abigail Hooper. His children 
were, John, moved to York; Abraham, m. Abigail 
Hooper ; Abigail and Bartholomew. 

Goodwin, John, a mason, came to this town from Ber- 
wick. His wife was Martha Nason. His children were, 
Simeon, lived in Gardiner; John, m. Elinor Hodsdon ; 
Benjamin, Deborah Goodwin and lived in Lyman ; 
Andrew, moved to Gardiner ; Mark, m. Sarah Goodwin 
and moved to Lyman; Martha, Wm. Andrews; Patience, 
Joseph Bradbury ; Betsey and probably others. 

Goodwin, Ivory, joiner, came from Berwick in 1799. 
He married Mary Murphy. 

e Goodwin, Thomas, rope maker, came from Ply- 
mouth about 1806, and built the rope walk. He removed 
to Boston about 1816. 

Goodwin, George, came from Saco about 1797. 
His wife was Mary Burnham. 

Goodwin, Charles, sailmaker, came from Kenne- 
bunk in 1824. 

e Gordon, John, trader, came from Hollis about 1800. 
He removed to Bangor about 1803. 

e Gorman, Joseph, an Englishman, came to this town 
a short time before the revolution. ""He married Lydia 
Springer ; and his children were Sarah and Hannah. 

Gould, Samuel, son of Benjamin Gould of Kittery, 
came to this town about 1755. He sold his farm to 
John Fairfield in 1764, and removed to Woolwich. 
James, brother of Samuel, came to Arundel about 1758. 
He had two wives and twenty children. His first wife 
was Elizabeth Nason, whose children were, Benjamin, 
James, Elizabeth, Mary, Joseph, Hannah, and two that 
died young. His second wife was Hannah Hovey, 
whose children were, John, Benjamin, Alexander, 
Thomas, Lydia, Ebenezer, Samuel, who died young, 
and Samuel. 

c Gould, Thomas F. shipmaster, came from Portland 
about 1823. He was lost at sea about 1826. 

Grant, Daniel, removed from Kittery to Arundel 
about 1758. He was probably a descendant of Ferdi- 



248 HISTORY OF 

nando Grant, who resided in this county in 1640. His 
wife was Ruth Williams, whose children were, William, 
m. Molly Hutchins; Daniel, Ruth Huff,, and widow 
Hannah Huff; Abigail ; Molly, m. Theophilas Smith ; 
Jane, Moses Drown; and Elizabeth, Paul McCoy. 

Grant, Samuel, mariner, came from York about 
1800. His wife was Esther March. 

e Gray, Alexander, was a town officer in 1756, but 
had left the town before 1764. 

Green, Benjamin and Andrew, brothers, came from 
Kittery in 1774. Benjamin married Lucy Benson, 
whose children were, William, Benjamin, Susan, An- 
drew, Henry, Solomon, Mary, Theodore and John. 
Andrew married Olive Walker, and left no children. 

Green, Aaron, came from Andover, N. H. about 
1825. He was inspector at Cape Porpoise, from 1829 
till the time of his death in 1835. 

Greenough, Pelatiah, boat builder, came from El- 
iot about 1797. 

cGrover, Samuel, lived in this town before 1768. 
His wife was Lydia Jeffery. His children were, Betsey 
and Lydia, who left the town. 

e Haley, Benjamin, had a grant of land on Saco 
road in 1728. It was probably Deacon Haley, a join- 
er, from Saco. Deacon Haley built the meeting house 
at Winter Harbor ; and he was probably employed 
for the same purpose in Arundel. He removed to 
Marblehead at the commencement of the Indian war 
of 1745, and died at Cape Breton tfie same year. His 
son, John, married a daughter of Capt. John Fairfield, 
and was residing in this town as late as 1764. A son 
of John, who was a clothier, m. Ruth Towne, and 
moved east. 

Haley, Nahum, cooper, came from Biddeford in 
1813. 

Hall, William, shipmaster, came from York about 
1780. He married Sarah Perkins. 

Ham, Joseph, who came from Portsmouth, had a 
grant of land in 1782, for serving in the army for 
three years, or during the war. His wife was Marga- 
ret Hayes. His children were, Samuel, Timothy, Mar/- 



KENNEBUNK. PORT. 249 

garet and Mary. His widow married Andrew Staples. 

e Hamer, John, resided near Cleaves's cove as early 
as 1747. He married Sarah Huff; and his children 
were, Joanna, m. Joshua Carr ; Sarah, Benjamin Sea- 
vey ; Molly, Mr. Stover ; Bashaba, Elisha Cousens ; 
one, that m. a Mr. Reddick ; John, died young ; and 
three sons that moved to Mount Desert. 

e Hammond, Roger, sailmaker, came from Roches- 
ter in 1802. His wife was Olive Hovey. 

Hampson, John W. an Englishman, mariner, came • 
to this town about 1S20. 

Hanscomb, Timothy, came from Kittery about 1774. 
His children were, Robert, Timothy, Mary, Reziah 
and Sally. This family is nearly extinct. 

Hanscomb, Gideon, came from Lyman about 1824. 

e Harding,* Stephen, moved across Kennebunk 
river into Arundel in 1720. Besides his ferry grant of 
50 acres, he purchased all the land lying between Ken- 
nebunk river and a straight line from Bass cove to 
Great pond, on the eastern side ; and also from the 
river to Lake brook, on the western side, but from 
some defect in his title he lost both tracts. Capt. Per- 
kins obtained that on the eastern side, and Sir William 
Pepperell the western lot. Mrs. Harding died Oct. 1, 
1747, and he died Dec. 5, of the same year. His 
children were, Abigail, m. John Webber ; Lydia, 
Thomas Perkins ; Mary, Abel Merrill; Hannah, Dan- 
iel Smith ; Sarah, Robert Cleaves ; Miriam, Jeremiah 
Frost ; Elizabeth, Andrew Brown ; Stephen, Ruth 
Sampson ; and James and Israel, who died young. 

The children of Stephen jr. were, Stephen, m. Molly 
Rutland and moved to Wells ; Israel, died at sea ; 
Abigail; Sarah, m. John Thompson ; Ruth, Eliphalet 
Chauncy ; and Lydia, Nathaniel Ward. Under date 
of Jan. 1750, Mr. Hovey says Mrs. Harding "was tak- 
en in a strange way, confused and crazy headed, and 
grows worse till by twelve people begin to think her 
possessed with the devil. 8th. A fast at Father 
Sampson's on account of Ruth, his daughter being 
grievously afflicted with a demoniac." She recovered, 
however, and died in 1811, at the age of 94. 

*See page 99. 



250 HISTORY OF 

Harris, Joshua, came from Methuen, Mass. about 
1823. 

e Harrison, John, an Englishman, a trader, came 
from Charlestown in 1804. He died in 180G. His 
widow, whose maiden name was Mary Austin Hartly, 
married Daniel Walker. 

e Hatch, Johnson, shipmaster, came from Wells 
about 1805. He died at sea the same year. 

e Hayes, Joseph M. trader, came from Saco in 
1813. He returned to Saco in 1825. 

e Hayes, Erastus, trader, came from Limerick about 
1819. He removed to Portland in 1825. 

e Hendrick, Nathaniel, was voted a proprietor of 
the town in 1728. He was a clothier. He left the 
town during- the disturbance with the Indians in 1735. 

Herrick, Joshua, deputy collector of the port of 
Kennebunk, came from Beverly in 1829. 

e Hibbird, Lydia, came from Waterborough, and 
resided at Benjamin M. Lord's. She married Isaac 
Cof£" 'n 1770. and removfid to Sauford. 

cHidh, Joseph, came from Cape Ann to Cape Por- 
poise in 1787. He removed to the eastward in 1797. 

e Hill, Mrs. a tailoress, died in 1750. 

Hill, Abraham, shipmaster, came from Kennebunk 
about 1800. 

Hill, Edmund, cabinet maker, came from Haverhill 
in 1801. 

e Hilton, Abraham, lived here before 1766. His wife 
was Dorothy Lindsey. He removed to Ohio. His 
children were, Sarah; Abraham, died young; John, 
went to Ohio ; Elizabeth, m. Daniel Smith ; Mary ; 
and Margaret, who married Andrew Green. 

e Hodsdon, Timothy, came from Berwick to this 
town before 1769. His first wife was Lydia Nason, 
and his second was Sarah Hussey. His children were, 
Sarah, m. John Goodwin; Abigail, died young; Lydia; 
Israel, m. Sarah Lewis and moved to Parsonsfield; and 
Joseph, who married, and also went to Parsonsfield. 
Mr. Hodsdon lived on the place now owned by the heirs 
of Nathaniel Thompson. 



KENNEBUNK PORT. 251 

e Hodsdon, Oliver, joiner, came from Berwick about 
1805. He married Lucy Littlefield. He was drowned 
in Kennebunk river in 1831. 

Hodskins, Nathaniel, came from Cape Ann in 1798. 
His wife was Susan Bishop. He left five sons, who all 
left the town, and several daughters. Samuel, nephew 
to Nathaniel, came from Harpwsell in 1825. 

e Hogan, Daniel, an Irishman, came to this town in 
1790. He married Mehitable Wildes. 

e Hooper, John, came from Berwick, and settled 
near Nason's mills, about 1756. He was a shoemaker, 
and made a pair of shoes after he was over 102 years 
of age. His children were, George ; Benjamin, lived in 
Saco ; Abigail, m. Solomon Goodwin ; and a daughter 
that married Bartholomew Goodwin. George's chil- 
dren were, Tristram, m. Olive Wadlin ; George, Sarah 
Washburne and widow Sarah Tarbox ; John, Polly 
Burnham ; Phineas, Hannah Hill; and Daniel, Susan 
Haley ; Lydia, Daniel Townsend ; and Margaret, 
Theodore Mclntire. This entire family removed to 
Biddeford. 

e Hovey,* Rev. John, left seven children, Susan, born 
in 1737; John, 1738; James, 1740; Ebenezer, 1743; 
Hannah, 1746; Sarah, 1748; and Abiel, 1751. The 
first two were born in Cambridge. 

1. Sarah married Thomas Perkins and Edward Em- 
erson. 

2. John married Mary Barter for his first wife, whose 
children were, Susan, John, Mary, Lydia and Betsey. 
Only two of them were married, Mary, to Smith Brad- 
bury, and Lydia, to Robert Smith. His second wife 
was widow Esther Smith, who left no children. 

3. James removed to Connecticut, and left several 
children. 

4. Ebenezer married Eunice Wiswall. His children 
were, Thomas, John, Ebenezer, James (died young,) 
Eunice and James. None of the sons were married. 
Eunice married Ebenezer Perkins. 

5. Hannah married James Gould and Caleb Emery. 

6. Sarah married James Perkins. 

*See page 163. 



252 HISTORY OF 

7. Abiel married Nathaniel Sargent of York, and is 
still living. 

e Hovey, Aaron, sailmaker, came from Rochester in 
1796, and removed to Bath in 1805. 

e Howard, Moses, shipmaster, came from Cohasset 
about 1793. He married Elizabeth Whitten. He re- 
moved to Portland in 1812. 

e Hues, William, was in this town in 1720; and his 
widow was supported by the town in 1753. Hues was 
cast away at Mount Desert in 1747, and perhaps drown- 
ed. He had a son, Patrick, who left no children. 

Huff,* Thomas, was the son of Ferdinando Huff. 
His wife was Sarah Farris. He resided on Great Isl- 
and during the time this town was deserted. He came 
back in 1700, and again returned in 1714. In 1719 he 
was constable of the town. He was impressed during 
the Spanish war of 1745, and served several years as 
pilot on board one of the Ring's ships. Mr. Huff's 
sons were, George, Thomas, James, Charles, John, who 
died young, and Joseph, who Mr. Hovey says was 
drowned in Batson's river Sept. 30, 1749. His daugh- 
ters were, Sarah, who married John Hamer ; and Mary, 
Miles Rhodes. 

1. Thomas had two wives, the last of whom was 
Sarah Banfield. His children were, George, m. Susan- 
nah Colby, and moved to the eastward ; Mary, m. Pels- 
grave Maddox; Thomas, m. Mary Bridges and went east. 

2. James married Ruth Averill. His children were, 
Elizabeth, died Feb. 11, 1750; Samuel, m. Keziah 
Wakefield; James, Hannah Seavy ; Ruth, Nathaniel 
Wakefield ; Lucy, Miles Rhodes ; Ebenezer, widow 
Sarah Burnham ; John, Sarah Seavy ; Israel ; Sarah, 
m. Jacob Merrill ; and Abner, Elizabeth Brown. 

3. Charles married Priscilla Burbank. His chil- 
dren were, Josiah, m. widow Sarah Rickard ; Daniel, 
Keziah Seavy ; Hannah, John Dorman ; Sarah, Sam- 
uel Fairfield ; Charles, Grace Smith ; Mary, John 
Perkins ; and Priscilla, Humphrey Merrill. 

Hutchins, Samuel,! came from Kittery to Arundel 

*See page SO. 

tHis father's name was Samuel, whose wife was a Stevens. 



KENNEBUNK PORT. 2/>3 

about 1739, and died before 1750. His wife who was 
Sarah March died June 9, 1747, and Mr. Whitefield 
attended her funeral. His sons were, Caleb, Samuel, 
David, Simeon and Levi. His daughters were, Mary, 
who married John Merrill ; Lydia, John Jellison and 
John Durrell ; and Hannah,* Lemuel Perkins and John 
Burbank. 

1. Caleb lived in Kittery. Two of his daughters 
married in this town, — Sarah to Daniel Merrill, and 
Eunice to Asa Burbank. 

2. Samuel married widow Sarah Baxter, and left no 
children. 

3. David had three wives, Anna Danforth, Abigail 
Dearing, and Ruth Grant. Mr. Hovey says, " David 
Hutchins the best mower and most faithful hand for a 
day's work of any I know." His children by his first 
wife were, Enoch, died in the army; Sarah, m. Wil- 
liam All ; Miriam, married and moved east ; and 
Lemuel and another that died young. His second 
wife's children were, David, lived at Kennebec ; Susan, 
m. John Springer ; Hannah, Francis Varney; and Ma- 
ry, William Grant. His third wife had but one child, 
Anna, who m. Benjamin Abbot. 

4. Simeon married Anes Durrell. His children were, 
Savire, m. Joseph Cluff; Anes, Silas Abbott ; Keziah, 
Pendleton Emmons ; Simeon, Lucy Hutchins ; Ruth, 
married and left the town ; and Samuel, lived in Par- 
sonsfield. 

5. Levi had two wives, Rebecca Hutchins and 
Eunice March. His children by his first wife were, 
Thomas, lived in Waterborough ; Asa, went to Que- 
bec with Arnold, was taken prisoner and died there ; 
Lucy, m. Simeon Hutchins ; Lavina, Thomas Huff; 
Eliphalet, and another boy who died young. By his 

*There is a mistake relative to Hannah Hutchins. The de- 
scendants of Samuel Hutching, and of John Burbank, assert that 
her first husband was Lemuel Perkins, and her second, John Bur- 
bank ; and the offspring of Joshua Walker are equally confident 
that her husbands were George Perkins and Joshua Walker. 
There must be a mistake as to her christian name ; or the Hannah 
Hutchins who married Joshua Walker, must have belonged to 
another family. The name of George Perkins is to be found on 
the town records, but that of Lemuel is not. 
W 



254 HISTORY OF 

second wife his children were, Edith, Mehitable and 
Emma ; and two boys that died young. 

Hutchins, Joseph, came from Dover about 1760. 
He married Esther Carr. His children were, Joanna, 
m. George Murphy; Joshua, Hannah Huff and widow 
Eunice Davis ; John Carr, Betsey Seavy ; Joseph, died 
at sea; Esther, m. James Fisher ; Anna, Thomas Huff; 
Lydia, Samuel Wakefield ; and Sally and Elinor, Eb- 
enezer Webber. 

Hutchins, David and Josiah, were brothers, and 
came from Kittery about 1760. David married Lydia 
W r alch, whose children were, Enoch, Alice, Amos, 
Hannah, Ezra, Moses, Lydia and David. Josiah mar- 
ried Betsey Haley. His children were, Josiah, Jane, 
Dolly, Samuel, Betsey, Sarah, Amos, John and William. 

Hutchins, Asa, blacksmith, came from Portsmouth 
in 1795. 

e Jackson, Joshua, potter, carried on his business at 
Clay cove, at Cape Porpoise, in 1783. He soon after 
removed to Saco. 

Jackson, Jonathan, stone cutter, came to this town 
in 1836. He was born in Abbot, Me. 

e James, David, settled over the second baptist society 
in 1829. 

e Jameson, Samuel, lived in Arundel in 1740, near 
Goffe's mill brook. He probably left the town during 
the war of 1745. 

Jefferds, William, merchant, came from Kennebunk 
about 1800. He married Sally Walker. 

Jeffery,* John, son of Gregory, resided in Lynn, 
where he died in 1730. He was a cooper. In 1727 he 
appointed Jacob Wildes and Samuel Averill his Attor- 
neys, who had 600 acres of land laid out to them. 
Two of his sons, Joseph and Benjamin, came to Arun- 
del about 1750. 

1. Joseph had two sons. One of them, John, came 
with him. John married Susannah Southwick of Sa- 
lem. His children were, Susannah ; John, died in 
Halifax in the revolution ; Benjamin, died on Plumb 

*See page 69. 



KENNEBUNK PORT. 255 

Island with Mr. Curtis, Dec. 14, 1786 ; Joseph, died at 
sea ; James, m. Elinor McCormac ; and Priscilla, Jo- 
seph Adams. 

2. Benjamin's wife was Hannah Giles of Salem. His 
children were, Benjamin, m. Hannah Evans ; Edmund, 
widow Olive Curtis ; Lydia, Samuel Grover ; and Su- 
san, Wilburn Chatman. 

e Jellison, John, lived in this town as early as 1730. 
He sold his land to Benjamin Thompson and left the 
place. 

John Jellison, probably son of the preceding, was 
taxed in the town in 1764. He lived at the head of the 
town. He married Betty Goodwin in 1779. 

e Johnson, William, resided in this town in 1734, 
and contributed one day's work on Mr. Prentice's gar- 
rison. Nothing is known of bum. 

Johnson, Christian, a Dane, shipmaster, came to 
this town in 1825. 

e Johnson, Charles, settled over the second baptist 
society in 1831. 

Jordan, Ralph T. farmer, came from Biddeford 
about 1812. 

cJoslin, Israel, came to Arundel when it was first 
resettled. His son Israel was born Sep. 30, 1719. He 
probably lived near Turbat's creek, on what was known 
as Joslin's point. It is not known what became of this 
family. 

e Kent, Cephas H. settled over the congregational 
society in 1830. 

Kimball, Samuel, farmer, came from Kennebunk 
about 1796. He married Sarah Downing in 1797. 

e Kimball, James, blacksmith, came from Kenne- 
bunk about 1814. He now resides at Passadumkeag. 

e Kimball, Hezekiah, came from Kennebunk, and 
married widow Mary Lassel for his second wife in 1796. 

Kimball, Joseph, farmer, came from Kennebunk in 
1797. 

e Kingsbury, Joseph, shipmaster, came from York 
in 1792. He returned to York in 1802. Three of his 
sisters married in this town; — Sarah, to Josiah Lin- 
scott ; Love, to John Miller, and Miriam, to Jonathan 
Downing. 



256 HISTORY OF 

Langdon, John S. and Jason N. brothers, came from 
Rowe, Mass. John, an apothecary, came to this town 
in 1808, and removed to Limerick in 1811. Jason, phy- 
sician, came here in 1810. 

e Lassel, Joshua, a cooper, removed from York to 
Arundel in 1723. His wife was a daughter of Andrew 
Brown, sen. He died before 1750. His sons were, 
Joshua, Jeremiah, Andrew, John, Allison and Matthew. 
His daughters were, Elizabeth, m. Jeremiah Miller ; 
Hannah, Pierce Murphy ; and one that married a Mr. 
Wood. 

I. Joshua's first wife was a daughter of Allison 
Brown ; and his second was Anna lialey. His chil- 
dren were, Elizabeth, m. William Smith ; Catharine, 
Nathaniel Cousins ; Anna and Molly, who married Lib- 
bys, and removed to Scarborough ; Miriam, m. Mr. 
Briges ; Mehitable, Gideon Hanscomb ; Tabitha ; and 
a son that died young. 

II. Jeremiah m. Ruth Lovet. His children were, 
Huldah, m. Reuben Small ; Mary, who had four hus- 
bands, Mr. Small, Mr. Strout, Elisha Snow and James 
Glidden ; Hannah, m. Tristram Jordan; Jonathan, 
Mary Jones ; Amy, Benjamin Lord ; Deborah, Thomas 
Perkins ; Ruth, Samuel Williams ; Lydia, Seth Burn- 
ham ; Bartholomew, Charlotte Orne ; and Israel, 
Abigail Hill and Susan Swan. 

III. Andrew married a Dearing, and left but one 
child, Betsey. 

IV. John was not married. 

V. Allison married a Smith. 

VI. Matthew married Hannah Burbank, whose chil- 
dren were, Hannah, m. Humphrey Whitten ; Mary, 
John Perkins ; Caleb and Asa, who lived in Waterbo- 
rough ; Eliza, m. John Gould ; and Ruth, Thomas Clark. 

Laws, John, stone-mason, was born in Enfield, 
Conn, and came to this town in 1810. 

Leach, Nathaniel, who had a grant of land in this 
town in 1720, was probably the son of Joseph Leach of 
Manchester. Joseph owned the Barrot right in this 
town, and sold it to Thomas Perkins in 1719. It is 
not certain that Nathaniel removed on to his grant, but 
he was employed in the town as a ship carpenter. Mr. 



KENNEBUNK PORT. 257 

Hovey, in 1750, says, "Stone's sloop raised by Master 
Leach." If Mr. Leach ever resided here, he probably 
removed to Rittery, as Nathaniel, who was undoubted- 
ly one of his descendants, came from that place to 
Arundel about 1780. 

e Leighton, Luke, block-maker, came from Ports- 
mouth about 1805, and returned a few years afterwards. 

Lewis, John, came to this town from Kittery, some 
time before the revolution. He married Anna Carr, 
and his children were, Benjamin, m. Molly Seavy ; John, 
died at sea; Joseph, died in the army; Esther, died 
young; Sarah, m. Jacob Towne ; Polly, Thomas Mad- 
dox ; James, died at sea; Hannah, m. Jacob Wildes; 
Esther, died young; Samuel, moved east ; and Elipha- 
let, died at sea. 

Lewis, Samuel, came from Kittery about 1775. His 
wife was Huldah Mitchell. His children were, Sally, 
m. Israel Hodsdon ; William, Sally Hutchins ; Peter, 
Elizabeth Merrill ; Samuel, Hannah Hill and Mary 
Patten ; and Betsey, Allison Smith. 

eLiNDSEY, Matthew, a brother to Mrs. Hilton, lived 
on Saco road, and died about the time of the revolution. 
He was not married. 

Linscott, Josiah, shipmaster, came from York in 
1790. He married Sarah Kingsbury. 

Littlefield,* Edmund, son" of Francis sen. of this 
town, lived in the neighborhood of Mousam river. His 
son Samuel, — Fat Sam, — married Elizabeth Goodale 
in 1725, and shortly afterwards removed into this town. 
He at first lived at Littletield's mill, but subsequently 
removed to the cape, and occupied the house in which 
Thomas Wiswall afterwards lived. The children of 
Samuel were, Samuel, Anthony, Elijah and" Edmund. 

1. The sons of Samuel jr. were, Joseph, Moses and 
Joshua; the last of whom married Mary Frost in 1772. 

2. Anthony had three children, one of whom, Ed- 
mund, married Jane Chatman in 1773. 

3. Elijah married Mary Stevens, and his children 
were, Mehitable, m. Josiah Davis ; Benjamin, Mary 
Benson; Elijah, Mary Tukey ; Lucy, Benjamin Mor- 
rison ; Alice, Joshua Murphy ; Uriah, died at sea ; 

*See page 97. W w 



258 HISTORY OF 

Moses ; Sally, m. Caleb Burbank ; and Samuel, who 
died at sea. 

4. Edmund married Dorothy Chat man and removed 
to Kennebunk. 

Littlefield, Daniel, farmer, born at Ogunquit, 
Wells, came to this town from Biddeford about 1803. 

e Littlefield, John, joiner, came from Wells in 
1S10, and removed to Readfield in 183G. 

Littlefield, Israel, came from Kennebunk in 1807. 

Littlefield, John, farmer, came from Wells about 
1825. 

Littlefield, Abner, came from Wells about 1805. 
He married Hannah Thompson. 

Littlefield, Elijah, came from Parsonsfield in 1830. 
These families are all descendants of Edmund of Wells. 

Lord, Tobias and Benjamin Meeds, were cousins, 
and came into this town about 1747. They were born 
at Rocky Hill in Berwick, near Kittery. " A gentle- 
man distinguished for his knowledge of all that relates 
to the history of our country, is of the opinion that the 
name has been altered from Laud, and that it was 
done about the time of the disgrace of Archbishop Laud, 
by those who emigrated hither ; — not wishing in the 
country of their adoption, to perpetuate the name of 
their persecutor, nor to trace their genealogy through 
him under a scaffold. The first mention we find of the 
name is in Ipswich, when Robert Lord arrived in 1636-7, 
and died 1683. Robert served 20 years in the early 
Indian Wars, and was so hardy a soldier, that when he 
left the service, he could not lie on a feather bed ; and 
although he was short of stature, he was one of the 
stoutest, and most athletic men to be found in the army. 
When the Indians had proposed to decide a battle by sin- 
gle combat, Robert Lord was appointed on the side of 
the Whites and Colonists for their champion. He accep- 
ted, and it was agreed that he should stand against the 
strongest Indian they could select. The combatants 
were to run and meet each other at full running speed, 
half way between the two armies, to close and take what 
was called the Indian hug. A Goliath of an Indian, 
seven feet and upwards high, was selected ; and Robert 



KENNEBUNK PORT. 259 

being short and apparently a small man, the Indian, 
like his prototype of old, met him at first slowly and 
with all the disdain, derision and assurance of victory 
with which Goliath approached David. In an instant, 
like two lions they closed, and in an instant the mam- 
moth Indian prostrate, bit the ground. Not satisfied, 
and amid the tremendous shouts of one army, and 
tie reproaching clamor and lamentations of the other, 
they agreed to rush and clinch again. In the second 
rencounter Lord took a hip lock on the mighty Indian 
and threw him all but a rod ! burst a large vein ! ! and 
the savage army acknowledged beat. The sturdy In- 
dian however afterwards reported that the little man 
derived his strength from the White Devil of the Eng- 
lish Arm ij . 

" Robert left four sons, Thomas, Samuel, Robert and 
Nathaniel. The two former removed to Charlestown, 
and the two younger remained in Ipswich, from whom 
the families of New England sprung. About 1700, 
three persons of the name, said to be brothers, arrived 
in Berwick from Ipswich, viz. Abraham, Nathan, (prob- 
ably Nathaniel,) and John. The families in Kennebunk 
and Kennebunk-port, descended from John, who left 
three sons, John, Thomas and Tobias. Tobias left 
one*son only, Tobias, who removed to Arundel."* 

Tobias and Benjamin Meeds Lord, purchased land 
of Jeremiah Folsom on Saco road, and built a garrison 
which they occupied together. 

I. Tobias married Jane Smith. His children were, 
John,m. Charity Curtis; Jane, John Stone; Tobias, 
^fehitable Kimball and Hipsah Conant ; Lydia, Samu- 
el Kimball ; Nathaniel, died in the army ; Betsey, m. 
Benjamin Thompson ; Daniel, Mary Washburne ; Do- 
minicus, Mary Currier ; Jeremiah and David, died 
young ; and Thomas, m. Mary Durrell. 

1. John's children were, Jane, Sally, Jacob, Betsey, 
Tobias, Phebe, Mary, Hannah, John, who died young, 
and John. 

"Ms. letter from Charles A. Lord, Esq. of New York. 
Felt (Hist, of Ipswich.) says Robert Lord " appears to have been 
the son of widow Catharine Lord." He was Clerk of the Courts. 
His son Robert, m. Sarah Wilson, one of whose sons, Nathaniel, 
removed to the Isles of Shoals. Nathaniel was probably the same 
person that was admitted freeman at York in 1652. 



260 HISTORY OF 

2. Tobias removed to Kennebunk. He had a large 
family of children, two of whom, Tobias and Nathaniel, 
afterwards lived in Arundel, and were the wealthiest 
individuals in the town. Nathaniel, m. Phebe Walker, 
and Tobias, Hannah Perkins. 

3. Nathaniel was in the expedition against Quebec un- 
der Arnold, and was wounded and taken prisoner ; and 
died in prison. 

4. Daniel is still living in Penobscot. 

5. Dominicus is living in Kennebunk. 

6. Thomas's children are, David, Betsey, Jane, Asa, 
and Mary. 

II. Benjamin Meeds Lord's first wife was Mary 
March of Kittery, whose children were, Benjamin and 
Joseph, twins ; Lucy, m. David Durrell ; Susan, Samu- 
el Burnham ; and Mary, George Perkins. His second 
wife was widow Elinor Dennet who had no children. 
Her daughter Elinor, by her first husband, married Is- 
rael Kimball, in 1771, and is still living. 

1. Benjamin married Amy Lassel, and removed to 
Alewife. 

2. Joseph married Hannah WiswaU, whose children 
were, Joseph, and several that died young. His second 
wife was Lucy Mitchell, whose children were, Dummer, 
John, Abraham, Benjamin, Hannah, Lydia and Esther. 

cLovet, Simon, was a town officer in 1740. There 
was also an Israel Lovet, a tailor, probably a brother 
to Simon, who came from Beverly to Cape Porpoise a- 
bout 1735. His children were, Ruth, m. Jeremiah 
Lassel ; Israel, moved to Thomastown ; and several 
that died young. 

LuiNT, Samuel, came from York about 1806. He 
died in 1835 aged 90, having never been sick during his 
life, till five days before his death. 

Luques, Andrew and Anthony, brothers, were born 
in Beverly. Andrew, trader, came to this town in 
1823. Anthony, tanner, came here in 1826, and died 
suddenly, in 1827. 

e Maddox, Henry, came from Berwick, but it is not 
known at what period. His children were, Pelsgrave, 
John, Hannah, and perhaps others. 

Mr. Hovey says, " Oct. 8, 1750. Maddox smashed 
his brains out by tumbling with his head under a cart 
wheel, loaded with apples." 



KENNEBUNK TORT. 261 

Pelsgrave married Mary Huff, whose children were, 
Henry, Thomas, a son that married a Towne, Rebec- 
ca and probably others. John lived in Wells. Rebecca 
married Philip Pike. 

cMaddox, Thomas, came from Wells in 1790, and 
removed to Limerick in 1820. 

e Major, Benjamin, a blacksmith, had a grant of land 
in 1719, " near the little river that runs into Kenne- 
bunk." He built a garrison at Cape Porpoise. He 
died July 11, 1747. His only son, Benjamin, died in 
1725. His only daughter, Priscilla, married John 
Burbank. 

Maling, Thomas, rigger, came from Portland in 1821. 

Manuel, Joseph, a Portuguese, mariner, came to 
this town about 1817. 

Marble, Benjamin, tailor, born in Poland, Me. came 
to this town in 1836. 

March, James and George, were brothers, and came 
from Portsmouth as early as 1719. The wife of James 
was shot by the Indians, and all his children died of the 
throat distemper in 1735. George married Abigail 
Watson. All his children (seven) then born died of 
the throat distemper. Two others were born after that 
period, Paul, who married Rhoda Cluff, and Eunice, 
Levi Hutchins. Sarah, sister of James and George, 
married Samuel Hutchins. Paul's children were, Pol- 
ly, Hannah, Esther, John, Jacob and George, died 
young, Ruth, Rhoda, Sally, Jesse, George and Samuel. 

e Markoe, Martin M. physician, born in St. Croix, 
W. I. came to this town about 1825, and resided here 
about two years. 

c Marshall, Thomas, shipmaster, came from Berwick 
about 1790. 

Mason, Benjamin, merchant, came from Lyman a- 
bout 1795. He married Betsey Stone. 

e Mason, Simon, mariner, came from Biddeford 
about 1815. 

cMc Alley, Alley, an Irish tailor, was residing in 
this town in 1757. He sometimes resided in Arundel 
and sometimes in Wells. He had no shop, but worked 
at the houses of his employers as was then the practice. 

cMcCloud, John, a Scotchman, came to this town 



262 HISTORY OF 

about 1732. He married Abigail Seavy in 1790. He 
had several sons, who are either dead or left the town, 
and a number of daughters. 

eMcCuLLocn, Adam, was born in Dornach, shire of 
Sutherland, Scotland, in 1742. He came to this town 
about 1706, aud kept school. In 1769, he married 
Louisa Brown. He and his wife both died the same 
day, in May, 1812. His children were, Hugh, Alexan- 
der, Margaret, Isabella, Elizabeth, and two that died 
young. Alexander died at sea, and Hugh removed to 
Kennebunk. 

McIntire, Phineas, farmer, came from Biddeford 
about 1818. He married Maria Tucker. 

cMelchf.r, Edward, a land surveyor, lived on Saco 
road in 1728. He moved to Brunswick. 

Merrill, Abel and John, were brothers, and prob- 
ably nephews of Thomas Merrill, who had a grant of 
land from the town in 1681, for killing an Indian. 
They came from Salisbury. Their sister Ruth married 
John Whitten. 

I. Abel settled in Wells about 1725, but shortly re- 
moved into Arundel, and married Mary Harding. He 
was killed while out a fishing in a small boat, by black 
fish. He had but one child, Gideon, who married Dor- 
othy Wildes. Gideon's children were, *Abel, m. Me- 
hitable Burbank and widow Huldah Fletcher ; Ruth, 
Israel Burnham ; Jemima, Jonathan Smith ; Jacob, 
Sarah Huff; and several that died young. 

II. John came to this town soon after Abel. His 
wife was Mary Hutchins. His children were, Daniel, 
John, Hannah, Obed, Anna, and Humphrey, the last 
of whom died young. Hannah, m. James Burnham ; 
and Anna, Isaac Burnham. 

1. Daniel married Sarah Hutchins. His children 
were, Olive, m. Levi Hutchins ; Hannah ; Sarah, m. 
Edward Nason ; Daniel, widow Sarah Washburne and 

* Abel Merrill died in April, 1837, awed 82 years. He was an 
honest, intelligent man, remarkable for the accuracy of his memory 
as to dates, which he retained till a short time before I113 death. The 
compiler of this work is indebted to him for many of the facts 
found in it. 



KENNEBUNK PORT. 263 

Elizabeth Kimball ; Eunice, Mr. Hues and Mr. Simp- 
son ; and several that died young 1 . 

2. John married Susannah Haley. He lived here 
several years after his marriage, and moved to Tops- 
ham. One of his daughters, Susannah, married Andrew 
Walker of Arundel. 

3. Obed married Judith Durrell. His children were, 
Humphrey, m. Priscilla Huff and Isabella McCulloch ; 
Benjamin, died at the age of 30 ; John, died young ; 
John, m. Elizabeth Rickard ; Elizabeth, Peter Lewis ; 
Mary, Ezra Thompson and John Emerson ; Samuel, 
Agnes Carr ; Susan ; Hannah, ni. David Wallis ; 
James ; Lydia, and another who died young. 

Meserve, William, tanner, came from Biddeford 
about 1826. 

Miller,* Jeremiah, son of John jr. of Cape Por- 
poise, was born in Newington, June 23, 1714. He 
served his time with Benjamin Downing, who was a 
joiner. Mr. Miller came to this town about 1737, and 
married Elizabeth Lassel. His children were, An- 
drew, Elizabeth, Jeremiah, Mary, John, Benjamin, 
Lemuel, Joseph, Hannah and Lydia. Joseph died 
young. Elizabeth, m. Samuel Emmons ; Mary, John 
Goodwin ; Hannah, Joseph Mason ; and Lydia, Mr. 
Harvey of Wells. 

1. Andrew was born April 3, 1738. He married 
Mary Walker. His children were, Joseph, Andrew, 
and two girls that died young ; Hannah, m. Thomas 
Dorman ; Deborah, James Miller ; Betsey, Andrew 
Sherburne ; and Sally. 

2. Jeremiah jr. was born March 1, 1742. He mar- 
ried Mary Walker. His children were, John, Sally, 
Polly, Hannah, Esther, Susan, Daniel and Esther. 

3. John was born Oct. 26, 1746, and he married 
Betsey Nason. His children were, James, Betsey, 
Benjamin, Olive, John, Sally, Jeremiah, Mary and 
Hannah. 

4. Benjamin, born Feb. 28, 1749, married widow Is- 
abella McCormac, and had but one child, Jeremiah. 

5. Lemuel, born March 29, 1751, married Anna 
Burbank in 1773. His children were, Eunice, Eliza- 
See page 94. 



264 HISTORY OF 

betb, Asa, William, died young, Betsey, William, Han- 
nah, Oliver, George, Joshua and Lemuel. 

e Miller, Joseph, an Irishman, came to this town 
about 1740. His only son that grew up, was James, 
who married Margaret McLellen, and moved to the 
eastward. His daughters were, Sarah, who married 
Timothy Washburne and Jonathan Stone ; Mary, 
Robert Stone ; and Margaret, Eliphalet Walker. 

Miller, Joseph, mast-maker, came from Portsmouth 
in 1810. 

Millet, John, fisherman, came from Cape Ann in 
1798. He married Mary Hodskins and widow Lydia 
Hutchins. 

€Milnor, Reuben, minister of the second baptist 
society in 1835. 

Mitchell, Dummer, son of John who lived on the 
western side of KennebunU river, came into this town 
about 1760. His first wife was Lydia Crediford, 
whose children were, Lucy, John, Dummer and Es- 
ther. His second wife was Judith Dorman, whose 
children were, Ephraim, Joseph, Lydia, Benjamin, 
Nathaniel, James, Hannah and Seth. Daniel, brother 
of the foregoing, who married Sarah Titcomb, came 
into the town after the revolution. 

e Mitchell, Dagger, an Irishman, married Molly 
W T ildes about 1769. His children were, Richard, John 
and Mary, who all married and left the town. 

Mitchell, Jacob, physician, came from North Yar- 
mouth in 1833. 

Moody, Silas, See page 192. 

Moody, James, farmer, came from Tuftonborough, 
N. H. about 1820. 

Moody, Elbrige G. baker, came from Saco in 1837. 

e Moor, Jonadab, came from Kittery about 1752. 
His wife was his cousin, Mary Moor. He died in the 
army in the French war of 1755. His widow was 
living in 1764. His children were, Ebenezer, who was 
taxed here in 1764; Pelatiah, who moved to Biddeford; 
Susan, who married Joshua Walker ; Dorothy, Han- 
nah, and perhaps others. 



KENNEBUNK PORT. 265 

e Morgan, Richard, whose wife's name was Abigail, 
lived at Turbat's creek in J 71 9. His children were, 
Moses, Luther, Samuel, John and Rebecca. Moses 
was a shoemaker ; and the name of his wife was 
Patience. John and Samuel lived on Saco road. 
John died before 1735. 

c Morse, Nathan, came to this town about 1786, 
and removed to Jay in 1805. 

Motley, Joseph B. stone cutter, came to this town 
in 183G, from Windham. 

Murphy, George, married Mary Perkins and left 
no children. 

John, probably brother of George, lived near 
Cleaves's cove in 1724. He was an Ensign at the 
capture of Louisburg in 1747. He died Oct. 20, 1750. 
His children were, Pierce, Thankful, and perhaps 
others. 

Pierce was accidentally killed with a musket, about 
17G0. His wife was Hannah Lassel. His children 
were, John, Pierce, Joshua, Israel, George and Han- 
nah. Hannah married Harrison Downing. 

1. John, who was born Oct. 20, 1750, married Eliza- 
beth Downing in 1771. His children were, Betsey, 
Harrison, John, Pierce, George, Sarah, Mary, Hannah, 
Lydia and Daniel. 

2. Pierce jr. married Sarah Adams. He served in 
the revolution, and afterwards removed to Lyman. 

3. Joshua's first wife was Sarah Smith, whose chil- 
dren were, James, Mary, Hannah, Israel and Joshua. 
His second wife was Alice Littlefield, whose children 
were, Samuel, John, Sally and Susan. 

4. Israel died in the army. 

5. George married Hannah Hutchins, and moved to 
Mount Desert. 

e Mussey,* James, was the son of Thomas Mussey, 
an old inhabitant of Cape Porpoise. He was town 
clerk when the town was first resettled. He lived 
near the present dwelling house of Asaph Smith. Mr. 
Mussey's name does not appear on the town record, 
after 1728, at which time James Smith bought his land. 

* 3ee page 93, 



266 HISTORY OF 

Nason, Joshua, was born in Berwick and emigrated 
to Arundel about 1750. He was probably a descend- 
ant of Richard Nason who resided in Kittery in 1653. 
Joshua married a daughter of Capt. Butler of Berwick. 
He was at the taking of Cape Breton in 1760 ; and 
was a Capt. in the continental service, and was present 
at the surrender of Burgoyne's army in 1777. 

His children were, Moses, Jacob, Joshua, Edward, 
Benjamin, Sarah and Susan. Sarah, m. Thomas Tar- 
box ; and Susan, James Dearing. 

1. Moses married Mary Dearing, whose children 
were, Thomas^ Jacob and Susan. 

2. Joshua married Sarah Dyer, whose children were, 
Joseph, Joshua, Samuel, three daughters that died 
young, and Mary. 

3. Edward, who married Sarah Merrill, is still liv- 
ing. His children were, Hannah, Daniel, John, Noah, 
Mercy, James, Joshua, one that died young, Sarah and 
Moses. 

4. Benjamin married Abigail Currier, and removed 
to Eaton, N. H. 

e New, Joseph, was residing here in 1730, but either 
died or left the town before 1760. 

New, Myris, shipmaster, came from Martha's Vine- 
yard in 1837. 

e Noble, John, an Irishman, came to Kennebunk- 
port about 1816, remained there several years and 
removed to Portland. 

e Noble, John, from Saco, innholder, resided in 
Kennebunk-port several years, about the time of the 
last war. 

e Nowell, Simon, came from York about 1800. He 
was one of the presidential electors at large in 1828. 
He was a Brigadier General in the militia, and com- 
manded the fort in Kittery in the war of 1812. He 
removed to Bangor in 1830. 

Osgood,- Joseph H. tobacconist, of Boston, came to 
this town in 1829. 

e Paine, Johnson, joiner, came from York in 1810, 
and removed to Boston about 1830. 

Parker, Robert, shipmaster, came from Castine 
in 1829. 



KENNEBUNK PORT. 267 

Patten, Robert, kept a public house on Saco road 
about 1750. Mr. Patten was an Irishman. His first 
wife's name was McGlauthlin, who died on her pas- 
sage to America. Her son, Actor, born in Ireland, 
married Jane McLellen, and removed to Topsham. 
His second wile was Florence Johnson, whose children 
were, Robert, m. Sarah Bearing ; James, Sally Stone 
and Abigail Meservey; Margaret, Israel Cleaves; Ma- 
ry, William Wilson ; John, Sarah Wiswall ; and Ra- 
chel, William Smith. 

e Patten, Joshua, cooper, came from Dover about 
1799, and removed to Lyman about 1804. 

e Patten, John, innholder, came from Biddeford 
about 1809, and removed to Portland about 1820. 

Patterson, Actor P. shipmaster, came from Saco 
about 1821. 

e Payson, George, See page 195. 

e Pierson, Samuel and Charles, brothers, ropemak- 
ers, came from Portland ; — Samuel in 1820, and 
Charles in 1818. They both returned to Portland in 
1826. 

e Penniwell,* Walter, had a grant of land from 
the town in 1720, and was in the town ; but whether 
he was a resident or not, is not certain. 

Perkins, Ensign Thomas, came from Topsfield in 
1719. He purchased the land belonging to the heirs of 
John Barrett, and was made a proprietor in Barrett's 
right. He was town clerk several years. He was 
proprietor's clerk till the time of his death in 1761. 
He died of a cancer in the face, after a long and dis- 
tressing sickness. He kept a public house on the spot 
on which the house of Israel Stone stands. 

His wife was Mary Wildes of Topsfield, who died 
April 1, 1742, aged 57 years. His two oldest children, 
Thomas and Judith, were born in Topsfield. His other 
children were, Mary, Sarah, John and Ephraim. The 
two last died in childhood. Judith, m. Benjamin Dur- 
rell ; Mary, Eliphalet Perkins ; and Sarah, Israel 
Stone. 

Thomas jr. was several times representative to Gen- 

* See page 88. 



268 HISTORY OF 

eral Court, and was also town clerk. He at first oc- 
cupied his father's house, but subsequently removed to 
the mills. His first wife, whom he married in Salem, 
died about 1758, and left no children. His secc-id 
wife was Susannah Hovey, who after Mr. Perkins's 
death, [1794] married Edward Emerson of York. 
Mr. Perkins's children were, Thomas, m. Esther Per- 
kins ; Mary, Gideon Walker; John, died at sea; Jo- 
seph, m. Susannah Wiswall and Mary Pickering; 
Betsey, Israel Wildes and John Bourne ; Susan, 
Thomas Perkins and James Perkins ; Andrew, Eunice 
Davis; Sally, James Perkins; Abiel, Hugh McCulloch; 
and James, died at sea. 

Perkins, Capt. Thomas, came from Greenland,* 
N. H. in 1720. He purchased of the heirs of William 
Reynolds, all the land lying* between Rennebunk river 
and a line running from Bass cove through great 
pond to the sea. This land having been mortgaged 
to Francis Johnson, of whom Stephen Harding pur- 
chased it, there was a contest for the possession of it. 
Mr. Harding finding his title disputed, purchased the 
right of one of Reynolds's heirs. The dispute was 
submitted to arbitrators, who awarded fourteen fif- 
teenths of the land to Capt. Perkins. This transac- 
tion caused a breach between the families, that a 
subsequent marriage did not wholly close. 

As one of the heirs of the Thomas Perkins f who 
had a grant from the town in 1681, Capt. Perkins had 
the land laid out to him in 1720. He erected a garri- 
son house by Butler's rocks, near the spot on which 
" the house of William Reynolds formerly stood." On 
the town records he was usually designated as " Capt. 
Thomas Perkins of Kennebunk." He was married, 
and all his children were born before he came to this 
town. He probably died about 1741. His sons, were, 
John, Thomas, Lemuel, Samuel, George, Alverson, 
and perhaps Zacheus. His daughters were, Mary, 
m. George Murphy ; and Chasey, James Deshon. 

* On the county records, he is sometimes called Thomas Perkins 
of Greenland, and sometimes of Portsmouth. 

t See page 91, where it is stated that Thomas Perkins of 1681, 
was father of Capt. Thomas Perkins. This, however, is not 
certain.. 



KENNEBUNK PORT. 269 

I. John came into this town with his father, and had 
several lots of land laid out to him. He was living in 
1735, but probably died soon after, as his name does 
not appear on the town records after that period. It is 
not known that he was married. He might have been 
however ; and Zacheus, who had land laid out to him 
in 1734, might be his son. Neither of them left any 
descendants. 

II. Thomas jr. married Lydia Harding. He com- 
manded a company at the surrender of Louisburg in 
1745, and was wrecked in going to Annapolis in 1747. 
There is a tradition that he was King's surveyor. He 
was probably the person referred to in Mr. Hovey's 
journal, March 1, 1749. " Capt." (name not legible) 
u of Kennebunk deputed to take care of pine timber," 
(some words illegible) " officiated the 16th day to the 
disturbance of many."* He died February 22, 1752, 
aged 52 years. He probably erected the house now 
occupied by Tristram J. Perkins about 1730. His 
sons were, Eliphalet, Abner, John, Thomas, George 
and James. His only daughter, Mary, married Samu- 
el Robinson. 

1. Eliphalet married Mary, the daughter of Ensign 
Thomas Perkins of Cape Porpoise. He died in Port- 
land in 1776. His wife died Sept. 14, 1802, aged 74 
years. His children were, Ephraim, m. Huldah Dor- 
man and Lucy Dorman ; Eliphalet, drowned ; Hannah, 
m. Dudley Stone ; Lydia, David Thompson ; Mary, 
Thomas Durrell ; Eunice, Isaac Emery; Lucy, Asa 
Woodward and Benjamin Day ; and Eliphalet, Betsey 
Stone, 

*in 172), the General Court passed an act declaring all trees fit 
for masts, the property of the King. The penalty for cutting down 
such trees, was £100 sterling for each ; and any such spars found, 
were forfeited to the Province. Sometimes the law was disre- 
garded, and at other times it was enforced with great severity. 
It was the cause of much trouble in subsequent years, and was a 
ground of complaint against, the British government in 17GG. Gov- 
ernor Wentworth of New Hampshire was appointed Surveyor of 
the Woods in 1741, which situation he held twenty five years. 
Capt. Perkins was probably deputy surveyor under him. A large 
quantity of these logs were lying in Easa cove during the revolu- 
tionary war, which were purchased by Theodore Lyman of 
Kennebunk, (now of Waltham,) for the purposo of building the 
wharf, now known as Wheelwright's wharf. 

X x 



270 HISTORY OF 

2. Abner married Sally Robinson. His children 
were, Daniel, m. Hannah Stone and Eunice Thompson ; 
Abner, Mary Stone ; Jotham, Oiive Hill ; Stephen, 
Alice Stone ; Jacob, Elizabeth Hill; Anna, Benjamin 
Stone; and Sally, James P. Hill. 

3. John married Mehitable Goodwin, whose only 
child, Mehitable or Hitty, married Gen. John Lord of 
Berwick. 

4. Thomas married Sarah Baxter. Ke died Nov. 8, 
1829, aged 88 years. His wife died Dec. 26, 1S11, 
aged 70 years. Their children were, Esther, m. Thom- 
as Perkins ; Lydia, John Blunt ; Thomas, Susan 
Perkins ; Sarah, Benjamin Perkins and John Blunt ; 
Mary, Samuel Bourne ; and John, Sally Low. 

5. George married Mary Lord, and removed to Wells 
(Kennebunk.) He had a large family of children. 

6. James married Sally Hovey, whose children were, 
James, Ruth, Thomas and John, twins, Joshua, died at 
sea, Ebenezer, Lydia and Lucy. His second wife was 
widow Hannah Coit, whose children were, Joshua, 
Tristram J. and Mary. 

III. Lemuel married Hannah Hutchins. He and 
his only child died of a fever, the same day. It being 
in a time of an Indian war, and there being but two 
females in the garrison, a week elapsed before any one 
came to commit their bodies to the grave. His widow 
married John Burbank. 

IV. Samuel married Willie Bond, and lived near the 
present dwelling house of John Lord. His children 
were, Samuel and Timothy, died young; George, m. 
Mary Smith and widow Sarah Littlefield; Thomas, 
Deborah Lassel ; John, Molly Lassel and Polly Huff; 
Joseph, Ruth Wakefield ; and Alice, Stephen Cleaves. 

V. George* married Hannah Hutchins. His only 
child died young. His widow married Joshua Walker. 

These two Thomas Perkins coming into the town 
at about the same time, — both being men of property 
and influence, — each having a son, grandsons, and 
great-grandsons of the same name, who at different 
times held the same offices ; — and the families having 
frequently intermarried, it is extremely difficult to trace 

*See note page 253* 



KENNEBUNK. POUT. 271 

the descendants of each. There are more persons of 
this name in the town, than of any other. There are 
3J voters of the name. 

e Perkins, Bradbury, tailor, came from Shapleigh 
about 1807, and returned back about 1817. 

c Pike, Philip, was an inhabitant of this town in 1748. 
He married Rebecca Maddox. His children were, 
John and another son, who died young ; Rebecca, m. 
Nathan Wells; and Hannah, Mr. Winn. 

Pinkham, Paul, born in Nantucket, came to this 
town in May, 1801. His wife was Mary Cobb of Kings- 
ton, Mass. 

e Piper, James A. shipmaster, came from Newfield 
about 1818. He died at sea in 1835. 

e Poland, James, was here in 1720. He had a son 
Thomas who was a tailor. Thomas died about 1770, 
and left no children. 

Pope, Samuel, shipmaster, came from Plymouth in 
1800. His wife was Mary Tarbox. He died with a 
cancer in 1837. 

e Prentice, Thomas, See page 138. 

ePRisBURY, Benjamin, was in the town in 1727, and 
Stephen in 1730 ; but their names do not again appear 
on the town records. 

Proctor, Joseph, John and Amos, brothers, farmers, 
came from Biddeford about 1814. 

e Quimby, John, shoemaker, came from Portsmouth 
about 1810, and resided here about two years. 

e Randall, Jeremiah, was published to Mary Cous- 
ins and Hannah Gowell, both in 1784. 

Rhodes, Michael, resided in Berwick before 1690. 
He left two children, Miles and Charity. Miles mar- 
ried Patience Donnel of Kittery in 1710. Charity mar- 
ried a Mr. Cross and a Mr. Grover, and died about 
1800, aged 98 years. Miles, the son of Miles, was an 
apprentice to Jacob Curtis of Arundel, and married 
Mary Huff. He resided at the "Latter End," near 
Turbat's creek. He died about the time of the revolu- 
tionary war, being in his 100th year. His wife died at 
the same age, four years afterwards. His children were, 



272 HISTORY OF 

Jacob, Sarah, Miles, Patience, Charity, Molly, Benja- 
min and John. Sarah, m. Simon Grover ; Patience, 
John Grover; Charity, Ebenezer Holt; and Molly, 
John Baker, all of York. 

1. Jacob married Ruth Wildes, and their children 
were, Alice, Louisa, Sally, Jacob, Moses, Polly, Lydia, 
John and Olive. 

2. Miles married Lucy Huff, and their children were, 
Deborah, Mary, Miles, Benjamin, Dorcas, James, Eli- 
hu, Daniel, Jotham and Ezekiel. 

3. Benjamin died a prisoner in England during the 
revolutionary war. 

4. John married Susan Chatman, and left several 
children. 

e Rickard, Daniel, came from Portsmouth about 
1765. He married Sarah Brown in 1783. His chil- 
dren were, Thomas, died young ; Elizabeth, m. John 
Merrill ; and Daniel. 

Rideout, Abraham, came from Brunswick in 1786. 
He married Molly Seavy. 

e Rolf, Henry, an Englishman, came to this town 
about 1760. His wife was Molly Rowe. They both 
died about 1820. Their children were, Sally, Eunice, 
Mary, Hannah, Moses and Henry, who all left the town. 

Rounds, David, blacksmith, born in Buxton, came 
to this town about 1798. He married Anna Lewis. 
He was lost in the privateer Mars, Coit, of Portsmouth. 

e Robinson, Samuel, whose name first appears on 
the town records in 1730, came from Rowley. His 
wife was Anna Andrews. His children were, Samuel 
and Sarah, and several that died young. Sarah married 
Abner Perkins. Samuel married Mary Perkins, whose 
children were, John, m. Lydia Stone ; Mary ; Lydia, m. 
Moses Hutchins and John Millet ; Samuel, Mary Stone ; 
and Daniel, who died of a fever contracted at sea. 

e Sampson, Ebenezer, lived in Wells in 1732. He 
removed into Arundel before 1741. He was a man of 
considerable information, and very witty. Some of his 
doggerel is still remembered by many of the older in- 
habitants of the town. Mr. Hovey, under date of 1750, 
says, " Susan badly poisoned this fortnight, and plan- 
tain cream and medicine avail nothing, till Father 



KENNEBUNK PORT. 'Zt>5 

Sampson directed to take the leaves and small twigs 
of swamp hazel and make a lotion, drink some every 
quarter of an hour, and lay a leaf on the poisoned part, 
and renew it three or four times a day." Mr. Sampson 
was one of the persons cast away at Mount Desert in 
1747. His children were, James, William and Ruth. 
" March 15, 1747, James Sampson and boy drowned 
by swimming over Rennebunk river with a bag of 
meal."* William was a shoemaker. He moved to 
Cape Ann before the revolution. Ruth married Stephen 
Harding, jr. 

e Sawyer, Benjamin, lived in Arundel in 1730, but 
nothing is known of him. 

Seavy, William, came from Kittery in 1720. He 
was a descendant of William Seavy, who settled in 
Portsmouth as early as 1631, and who was one of the 
selectmen of that town in IG57. William of Arundel 
had two sons, Nicholas and Benjamin. 

I. Nicholas married Hannah Leach. She died in 
1820, aged nearly 102 years. Their children were, 
Hannah, m. James Hurl 7 ; Stephen, Elizabeth Wilde; 
Keziah, Daniel Huff; Molly, Benjamin Lewis ; Sally, 
John Huff; Nicholas, Jane Hutchins ; and Catharine, 
who died young. 

1. Stephen's children were, Betsey, Stephen, Han- 
nah, Lydia, Mary, John, Nicholas and Nathaniel. 

2. The children of Nicholas jr. were, Jane, Betsey, 
Josiah and Hannah. 

II. Benjamin married Sarah Hairier. His children 
were, Hannah, m. Richard Tarr and Mr. Curtis ; 
Molly, Abraham Hideout; Lois, Ambrose Curtis; Sal- 
ly, Mr. Curtis and Mr. Townsend ; Betsey, Benjamin 
Hodskins ; and Moses, who died young. 

eSiiACKFORD, Paul, built the first house in the vil- 
lage about 1740. He was a ship-carpenter, and re- 
moved to the plains in Kennebunk before 1755, where 
he built quite a large vessel, and hauled her to the sea. 
His descendants still reside there. 

Shackford, Christopher, laborer, came from San- 
ford in 1830. 

*Mr. Hovey's journal. 



274 HISTORY OF 

e Shannon, Thomas W. came from Saco about 1807, 
and returned back again in a few years. 

e Sherburne, Andrew, See page 193. 

e Sherman, Jonathan, a blacksmith, of Charlestown, 
had a grant of land in 1720, upon condition of his 
removing into this town. If he came, he remained 
but a short time ; but it is more likely he sent anoth- 
er family. 

cSkeele, John, born in Peacham, Vermont, came to 
Kennebunk-port about 1820. He kept school in the 
village several years, and was inspector at Cape Por- 
poise a short time. He removed to Sanford in 1829. 

Smart, Burleigh and Nicholas E. brothers, physi- 
cians, came from Parsonsfield. Burleigh came in 1818, 
and removed to Kennebunk in 1826. Nicholas came 
here in 1832. 

e Smith, John, who was viewer of hemp and flax in 
1737, died April 12, 1748, aged 76 years ; and William 
Smith died in 1739, aged 26 years. The grave stones 
of both these persons are standing, with several oth- 
ers in the old burying ground, in front of Israel Stone's 
dwelling house. Nothing more is known of them. 

Smith, James, an Irishman, came to this town before 
1719. The name of his wife was Batta Leavit. His 
children were, William and Robert. W T illiam was not 
married. Robert married Mary Miller, who after her 
husband's decease, who died July 22, 1747, married 
Robert White. Mr. Smith's sons were, William, John 
and Robert ; the last of whom died young. 

1. William was town clerk for several years. His 
first wife was Elizabeth Burnham, whose children were, 
Grace, Mary, Robert, one son and three daughters, 
that died young, Elizabeth and Sarah. His second 
wife was Rachel Patten, whose children were, Wil- 
liam, John, Asaph and Jane. 

2. John married Abigail Stone, whose children were, 
Thomas, Jane, Robert, died young, John, Robert, 
Andrew, blind, and William, none of whom were mar- 
ried. 

Smith, Capt. Daniel, son of Samuel of Saco, came 
to this town about 1730. His wife was Hannah Hard- 
ing, whose children were, Daniel, m. Elizabeth Hilton ; 



KENNEBUNK PORT. 2 i O 

Miriam, Eaton Cleaves ; Joshua, Elizabeth Smith ; 
Samuel, died in Halifax in the revolution ; Jeremiah, m. 
Miriam Waterhouse ; David, Abigail Martin ; Jonathan, 
Jemima Merrill ; Hannah, Shadrach Averill ; and Lu- 
cy, Joseph Crediford and Nathaniel Ward. 

David and Jonathan, who were twins, and Daniel, 
removed to Ohio, where their widows are now living. 

Cleophas, who came from Biddeford about 1807, and 
Roger, in 1826, brothers, are descendants of Samuel. 

Smith, Charles, a weaver, came from Kittery point, 
April 28, 17G7. His wife was Rebecca Haley. His 
children were, William, m. Elizabeth Lassel and Esth- 
er Dealing ; Mary, Bassum Allen ; Josiah, Abigail 
Bell ; Sarah, Amos Allen and Samuel Davis ; Samuel, 
Elizabeth Meservey ; Charles, Mary Gould; Joseph, 
Charity Tarbox ; and Rebecca, Andrew Stone and 
John Huff. 

William came to this town about 1764, and Samuel 
about 1772. The rest of the children came with their 
father. 

Smith, Levi, See page 200. 

e Smith, Deacon Samuel, came from Biddeford, and 
removed to Cape Elizabeth in 1836 ; and Samuel Smith, 
ship carpenter, came from that town in 1817. 

Smith, Jesse, came from Lyman in 1818. He died 
in 1837. 

Smith, William, ropemaker, came from Boston 
about 1815. 

Smith, Jethro, fisherman, came from Martha's Vine- 
yard in 1828. There are 28 voters of the name of 
Smith now residing in the town. 

Somers, John, mariner, came from Maryland about 
1825. 

e SrENCER, Moses, was an early settler. He sold his 
land about 1760, to Ephraim Downs, and moved to the 
eastward. 

Springer,* Jeremiah, son of Jonathan, returned 
with the first settlers. His wife was Sarah March. 
Two of his brothers, Thomas and David, lived to the 
eastward. His children were, Moses ; John, m. Susan 

"See page 91. 



276 



HISTORY OF 



II ut chins ; Lvdia, Joseph Gorman ; Joanna, died young ; 
and Mary, m. Mr. Brown. This family is nearly ex- 
tinct. 

e Springer, John, schoolmaster, came from New 
Hampshire about 1832, and removed to Holiis in 1835. 

e Stackpole, John, had a garrison in Saco in 1723. 
The next year he was taken prisoner by the Indians, 
and carried to Canada, where he was detained nearly 
two years. Tie probably soon after removed to this 
town, as a Lieut. John Stackpole had one of the lots 
on Saco road laid out to him in 1728. He married a 
daughter of Allison Brown. One of his children was 
Deacon Stackpole. Deacon Stackpoie had several 
children, one of whom, Andrew, married Sarah Fletch- 
er. This family having left town, a full account of it 
cannot conveniently be obtained. 

e Staples, Andrew, came from Biddeford about 1801. 
He married widow Margaret Ham. 

e Stevens, John, was in this town in 1720. His chil- 
dren were, Moses, Benjamin, Jeremiah, a daughter that 
married Joseph Wheelwright, and perhaps others. 

1. Moses married Lucy Wheelwright, whose children 
were, Mary, m. Elisha Littiefield ; Abigail, Jacob 
Wildes ; Moses ; Lucy ; Aaron, not married ; Wheel- 
wright and Reuben, not married. 

1. Moses jr. had two wives. His first was Bashaba 
Poindexter, whose children were, Olive, m. John Chand- 
ler ; Joseph, Charity Tarbox ; Eliab, Rebecca Poin- 
dexter ; and Wheelwright, Stackpole. His 

second wife was Passis Stevens, whose children were, 
Jacob, m. Abigail Curtis ; and Abigail, Amos Hutchins. 

2. Wheelwright married Phebe Smith. His children 
were, Nathaniel, m. Betsey Day ; Abigail, John Per- 
kins ; Betsey, Moses Fairfield ; Jordan, Jane Day ; 
Mary, Lewis Crawford ; Tristram ; Oiive, m. Elihu 
Rhodes ; and Ivory. 

II. Benjamin married Abigail Littlefield, and lived 
in Wells. One of his sons, Samuel, married Martha 
Barter ; and Passis married Moses Stevens. 

III. Jeremiah married, and lived in Wells. 
Stevens, Aaron, shoemaker, came from Somers- 

worth, N. H. about 1793. 



KENNEBUNK PORT. 277 

Stone, Jonathan, came from Beverly about 1735, 
as agent of Edmund Goffe of Cambridge. He was 
a grandson of John Stone, who resided in Beverly in 
1659, and who had two sons, John and Nathaniel, the 
first of whom was probably the father of Jonathan. 
Jonathan married Hannah Lovet ; and several of his 
children were born before he came to this town. Mr. 
Hovey says, " Mr. Stone died after a long confinement 
with jaundice, followed with a numb palsy and dropsy, 
which brought him to his end January 11, 1750." Mrs. 
Stone on going to York to administer upon the estate, 
was thrown from her horse and badly injured. She 
charged her Doctor's bill and expenses to the estate, 
which were allowed by the Court. Mr. Hovey says, 
" March 26, Mrs. Stone returned from York where she 
hath been from February 27, and came home so lame 
as to be unable to walk, — two men carried her in a 
chair to her fire side." She recovered, however, and 
married Capt. John Fairfield. 

Mr. Stone's children were, Anna, Israel, Lydia, Jon- 
athan, William, Benjamin, who died at sea, John and 
Nehemiah. 

1. Israel married Sarah Perkins. His children 
were, Sarah, m. Isaac Kimball ; Mary, Abner Perkins ; 
Eunice, James Kimball ; Thomas, died at sea ; Jane, 
m. Tobias Lord ; James, Sally Smith and Lydia Per- 
kins ; Israel, Phebe Stone ; and Hannah, John Stone. 

2. Lydia married William Sargent and removed to 
Frenchman's Bay. One of her children, Elizabeth, 
married Jonathan Ferran, and is now living in Kenne- 
bunk-port. 

3. Jonathan's first wife was Hannah Griffin, whose 
children were, Dudley, m. Hannah Perkins ; John, died 
in the army ; and Hannah, m. Daniel Perkins. His 
second wife was Phebe Downing, whose children were, 
Benjamin, m. Anna Perkins and Sally Patten ; Lois, 
Daniel Walker ; Lydia, John Robinson ; Jonathan, 
Margaret McCulloch and Betsey Pickering ; Betsey, 
Eliphalet Perkins ; Alice, Stephen Perkins ; and Phe- 
be, Josiah Paine. His third wife, widow Sarah Wash- 
burne, had no children. 

4. John married Jane Lord, whose children were, 
Jonathan, m. Betsey Webster ; Tobias, Jane Lord ; 

Y 



278 HISTORY OF 

Hannah, Joshua Robinson ; Mary, Joseph Averill ; 
Betsey, Benjamin Mason ; and John, who lives in 
Gardiner. 

5. William married Betsey Thompson, and his chil- 
dren were, Abigail, Betsey and Sarah. After his death, 
his family removed to the eastward. 

6. Nehemiah's first wife was Elizabeth Emmons, his 
second, Hannah Murphy. He left no children. 

Stone, Dixey, — whose father was a brother of Jona- 
than, GohVs agent, — came from Beverly about 1740. 
His first wife was also a Lovet, who left no children. 
His second wife was Mary Curtis, whom he married 
May 15, 1750. Her children were, Jane, m. John 
Wildes and James Burnham ; Dixey, Elizabeth 
Fairfield ; Robert, Mary Miller ; Andrew, Rebecca 
Smith ; Jacob, died at Frenchman's Bay ; John, m. Han- 
nah Stone ; Abigail, John Smith ; and Polly, m. in 
Standish. 

1. Dixey 's children were, Benjamin, Elizabeth and 
John. Benjamin, m. Betty Perkins, and died at sea. 
His only child married John Strothers. It is not 
known what became of the others. 

2. Robert's children were, Jane, Margaret, Joseph, 
Mary, Sarah, Robert,' Lydia and Dixey. 

3. Andrew left no children. His widow m. John 
Huff. 

4. John removed to Kennebunk, and died in Dart- 
moor prison, the last war. 

Storer, Seth, farmer, came from Kennebunk in 
1836. 

Storer, William, stone cutter, came from Wells in 
1837. 

Stover, Theodore, caulker, came from York in 1815. 

e Sugden, Robert, an Englishman, trader, came to 
this town in 1804. He removed to Boston in 1810. 

Suseman, Eleazer, mariner, came to this town from 
Providence in 1825. 

Tarbox, Joseph and Lemuel, brothers, came from 
Biddeford about 1790. Joseph married Molly Good- 
ridge, and Lemuel, Margaret Fletcher. John, farmer, 
came from Biddeford, about 1800. Stephen, farmer, 
came from Biddeford in 1791. 



KENNEBUNK PORT. 279 

The persons of the name of Tarbox, in this vicinity, 
descended from John, who was admitted freeman at 
Lynn in 1630, and who had two sons, Samuel and John. 
Samuel left 18 children. 

e Taylor, Ebenezer and William, resided in Arun- 
del in 1720. 

Taylor, Elias S. shoemaker, came from Ossipee 
about 1827. 

Taylor, Jonas, farmer, came from Kennebunk in 
1835. 

c Thacher, S. P. S. lawyer, born in Biddeford, came 
to this town about 1812, and removed to Buxton about 
1815. 

Thompson, Benjamin, Thomas and another brother, 
were Scotchmen. Thomas settled in Biddeford in 
1718. Benjamin and the other brother settled in (Scot- 
land) York. The children of Benjamin were, Benja- 
min, Curtius and Jonathan, the last two of whom 
removed to Arundel, about 1730. Curtius returned to 
York. Jonathan married Dinah Thompson, and his 
children were, Elizabeth, m. James Gillpatrick ; Abi- 
gail, Nathan Littlefield ; Judith, Daniel Smith ; Esther, 
John Day ; Jonathan, not married; and Anna, m. Mr. 
Coffin ofShapleigh. 

Benjamin Thompson, son of Benjamin jr. of York, 
came to this town with his uncle Jonathan, and lived 
with him. His first wife was Eunice Lord, whose 
children were, Benjamin, m. Elizabeth Lord and wid- 
ow Hannah Luques ; Nathan, Hannah Thompson and 
Esther Littlefield ; Alexander, Lydia Wildes ; Stephen, 
Lois Taylor ; James, Anna Walker ; Eunice, Daniel 
Perkins; Lemuel, Lydia Thompson; Isaac, died at 
sea; Hannah, m. Abner Littlefield; Ezra, Mary Mer- 
rill; and Miriam, who died young. His second wife 
was Mary Foster, whose children were, Moses; Mary, 
died young; ; and Lydia, who married Israel Burnham. 

Thompson, Ephraim, came from Portsmouth about 
1755. His wife was Frances Alltimes, whose children 
were, Richard, m. Mary Cleaves ; Ephraim, Mary 
Stimpson ; John, Mary Bowden ; Benjamin, Dorcas 
Burk; Daniel, Betsey Weeks; Joseph, Mary Per- 
kins ; and Mary, Samuel Martin. 



280 HISTORY OF 

Thompson, Christian, a Dane, mariner, came to tins 
town about 1798. He married Sally Murphy. 

t Thompson, Ezra, See page 175. 

Tindall, John, mariner, came from Delaware in 
1817. 

Tinham, Joseph, blacksmith, came from York in 
1793. 

e Towne, Jesse, was probably a descendant of Wil- 
liam and Martha Towne, who resided in Cambridge in 
1637. The families in this neighborhood, however, 
have a tradition that there were seven brothers of the 
name, who came from England about 1720,. two of 
whom were Jesse and Amos. 

1. Jesse came to Arundel from Topsfield about 1724, 
and was made a proprietor of the town in 1728. He 
afterwards removed into Wells, near the upper falls on 
Kennebunk river, where his descendants now reside. 
His children were, Joseph and Thomas. 

1. Joseph married Rebecca Crediford in 1750. He 
was frozen to death in 1768, by breaking through the 
ice in attempting to cross Kennebunk river. 

2. Thomas married Abigail Crediford, and moved 
to the eastward. His son Noah married Ruth Bur- 
bank, and also went east. 

Towne, Amos, brother of Jesse, came from Topsfield 
about 1730. He was cast away at Mount Desert in 
1747, and perhaps drowned. He left two sons, Amos 
and Daniel, and perhaps other children. 

1. Amos was a Lieut, in the continental service. 
His first wife was Jane Smith, whose children were, 
Robert, Mary, Betsey, Daniel, Amos, Benjamin, Jane, 
Jesse, Ezra, Alice, and one that died young. His sec- 
ond wife was Sarah Miller, whose children were, Lyd- 
ia, Joseph, Susan, John, Lucy and WTillaTIT. J^-*— -U^C 

2. Daniel was born Oct. 28, 1742. He married 
Elizabeth Dorman. His children were, Daniel, died 
young, Daniel, Eunice, Elizabeth, Sarah, Samuel, Ma- 
ry, Ruth, William, Stephen, Jedediah and Amos. 

cTownsend, Daniel, shipmaster, came from Saco 
about 1816. He died at sea. 

Trefethren, Sampson, fisherman, came from Ports- 
mouth about 1800. 



KENNEBUNK PORT. 281 

c Tripp, Daniel, shipmaster, came from Alfred about 
1805. lie removed to Unity in 1834. 

Tripp, Shubael, See page 200. 

e Truf.worthy, John, whose name was uniformly 
written Treeworgy, on the town records, was probably 
the Scotchman of that name who settled in Saco in 1718. 
— He was a hired man in the service of Allison Brown, 
at the time of his death, and married his widow. He 
subsequently held respectable town offices, and in 1730, 
had a pew assigned him as one of the leading men of 
the town. He was drowned at Mount Desert in 1747. 
He left no children. 

Tucker, Samuel, farmer, came from Barrington, N. H. 
about 1800. He kept school in the village several years. 

Twambly, Samuel, blacksmith, came from Berwick 
in 1816. 

c Tyler, James, came to this town about 1715. He 
changed his place of residence several times after 1720. 
but finally settled in Scarborough. He sold land in 
that town in 1723 to Samuel Preble, "for and in con- 
sideration of one Negro man." Mr. Tyler was probably 
the son of Abraham Tyler, who died at Haverhill in 
1673, as he had a son Abraham who married Elizabeth 
Brown of Arundel. Abraham lived in Scarborough, to 
the age of 100 years. James, while in this town, at 
first lived opposite the present dwelling house of Seth 
Grant, but afterwards lived at Tyler's brook. The 
rock that formed one side of his house, is still called 
Tyler's back. Elizabeth, daughter of Abraham, mar- 
ried Allison Brown, son of Andrew 3d. of Arundel. 

cWadlin, Israel, shipmaster, came from Hollis 
about 1799. He married Phebe Perkins. His only 
child, Mary, married Erastus Hayes. 

Wakefield, Samuel, came from Kennebunk, when a 
boy, in 1773. He married Lydia Hatching. 

Wakefield, James, farmer, came from Kennebunk 
about 1792. 

e Walker, Joshua, whose name first appears on the 

town records in 1728, came from Kittery. He was 

probably the son of Peter Walker of York. Joshua's 

first wife was widow Hannah Perkins, whose children 

Y Y 



282 HISTORY OF 

were, Sarah, m. Harrison Downing ; Samuel and 
George, died young ; George and Samuel, died in the 
service during the French war ; Joshua, m. Susan 
Moor; Hannah, John Whitten ; John, Elizabeth Bur- 
bank ; Mary, Andrew Miller ; and Benjamin and James, 
who died young. His second wife was widow Mary 
Fall, whose children were, Joseph, died young, and 
Anna, who married James Thompson. 

1. Joshua jr. had four children, Hannah, m. Nicho- 
las Downing; Jonathan, Betsey Walker ; and two that 
died young. 

2. John had a large family of children, all of 
whom moved east, except Betsey, who married 
Jonathan Walker, and Hannah, who married Bracy 
Curtis. Lemuel was for sometime a shipmaster from 
this port, before he went east. 

Walker, Gideon, came from Kittery about 1740. 
His grandfather was a brother to the Joshua who came 
to Arundel in 1728. Gideon married Hannah Palmer, 
Feb. 23, 1741. His second wife was widow Hannah 
Lassel, by whom he had no children. Mr. Walker 
built his house in the village in 1745. His children 
were, Temperance, m. Stephen Larrabee ; Mary, Jere- 
miah Miller ; Eliphalet, Margaret Miller; John, Esther 
Wiswall and widow Betsey Tarbox ; Gideon, Mary 
Perkins ; Mehitable, Jacob Curtis and Ebenezer Day ; 
Daniel, Lois Stone and widow Mary Hai-rison ; Andrew, 
Susan Merrill ; Nathaniel, Betsey Burnham ; and Han- 
nah, who died young. 

Ward, Nathaniel, came from Salem about 1789. 
He married Lydia Harding and widow Lucy Crediford. 
He was probably a descendant of Nathaniel Ward, 
who lived in Ipswich in 1634. 

Warland, Thomas, currier, came from Portsmouth 
in 1828. 

c Washburne, Timothy, came to this town about 
1740. He married Sarah Miller. His children were, 

David, m. Wormwood ; Alexander, died at sea ; 

Joseph, m. Mary Miller ; Sarah, Am mi Hooper ; Mar- 
garet, Samuel Hutchins ; Mary, Daniel Lord ; Sarah, 
George Hooper ; and perhaps others. 

Waterhouse, William, was employed to keep school 
in 1745. He was residing here in 1764. Samuel, 



KENNEBUNK PORT. 283 

probably a brother to William, married Mary Wliitten, 
Aug. 16, 1750. This family removed to Lyman before 
the revolution, but some of its descendants have since 
returned, and now reside in this town. 

r Watson, Jonx, came to this town soon after 1713. 
His descendants say he was a Welchman. Mr. Wat- 
son was a man of great size and strength. He had 
been a trumpeter in the King's service. He was an 
Ensign in the militia; and was licensed as "tavener 
and retailer" in 17:24. He resided near the present 
dwelling house of Jacob Hutchins till 1729, when he 
removed to Saco road and kept tavern. In 1752, the 
town placed him under the care " of Gardens, but it 
could not be made to appear to the Court of Probits 
that he was such a one as Law Required to have Gar- 
deans." He died in 1753. His children were, John, 
Thomas, Shadrach, Ebenezer, Ruth and Abigail. Ruth 
married Samuel Averill, and Abigail, George March. 

1. John married an. Irishwoman, whose christian 
name was Honor. His children were, Samuel, m. Lois 
Carr and Elizabeth Deshon, and left no children ; 
John, Lucy Bickford ; Abigail ; and Catharine, m. 
Forest Burn ham. 

2. Thomas left no children. 

3. Shadrach married Mary Kimball, and left Han- 
nah, m. Joseph Averill ; Abigail, Samuel Black; Susan, 
Samuel Cousins ; Mercy, Ebenezer Gray ; Ruth, Ab- 
ner Crediford ; Molly, Thomas Kimball ; and Samuel, 
who moved to the eastward. 

4. Ebenezer died in 178S, and left no children. 

e Watts, Francis, merchant, came from Portland 
in 1797, and resided here six or seven years. He is 
now president of the Atlantic Insurance Office, Boston. 

Webb, Nathaniel, mason, born in Danvers, Mass. 
came to this town in 181G. 

Webber, James, farmer, came from Kennebunk in 
1S34. 

Webster, Nathaniel, ship-carpenter, came from 
Kennebunk in 1830. 

e Weeks, Nicholas, came from Kittery. His first 
wife was Susannah Wildes, who died in 1757, and who 
had but one child, Susannah, who married George 



284 HISTORY OF 

Ayer. His second' wife was Phebe Averill, whose 
children were, James, died young ; John, m. widow 
Passis Stevens ; Sally, John Bickford ; Polly, William 
Averill; Betsey, Daniel Thompson; Lydia, married 
and went east ; and Jane, m. John Bickford. 

e Wheelwright, George, came from Wells. He was 
deputy collector, and collector of the port of Kenne- 
bunk, from 1815 to 1829. He removed to Bangor in 
1832. 

e White, Robert, came from York about 1740. 
His wife's name was Lovet. His children were, John, 
Charles and Bethia. They lived near Nason's mills, 
but removed to Alfred about 1766. Charles married 
Sarah Lindsey, sister of Mrs. Hilton, and had several 
children. John married a Wakefield. Bethia married 
Timothy Davis. 

Edward, cabinet maker, grandson of John, came 
into this town in 1810, and removed to Rennebunk in 
18J9. 

e White, Robert and Daniel, brothers, came from 
Taunton about 1745, — Robert married widow Mary 
Smith, and left no children. Daniel's children by his 
first wife were, Rufus and Robert, died at sea ; Eunice, 
m. Stephen Drown. His second wife was Mary Thom- 
as, whose children were, David, m. Mehitable Smith ; 
Edward, died young; John and Joseph, who moved 
east ; and probably others. 

White, John, shipmaster, "came to this town from 
Charleston in 1812. 

Whitten, John, came to this town from Salisbury 
about 1724. He drew a lot on Saco road in 1728. 
His wife was Ruth Merrill. His children were, John, 
m. Hannah Walker ; Phineas, moved east ; Samuel, 
m. Hannah Poindexter ; Humphrey, Hannah Lassel ; 
Israel, Sarah Fairfield ; Joseph, Anna Burnham ; Ma- 
ry, Samuel Waterhouse ; Hannah, Mr. Knight; Ruth, 
Mr. Clay ; Martha, Mr. Gordon ; Sarah, Daniel Davis ; 
Lydia, Moses Wadlin ; and Anna, Capt. English and 
John Burbank. 

e Wiat, John, and Thomas Wier, had grants of land 



KENNEBUNK TORT. 285 

in this town in 17*24, but it is not certain that either 
of them ever lived here. 

Wildks or Wilde, William, lived in Rowley in 
1643, and afterwards removed to Ipswich, where he 
died in 1656. It was probably one of his children, — 
perhaps Ephraim, — who resided in Topsfield and had 
sixteen children, ten sons and six daughters, all of 
whom he has seen at one time round his own fire side, 
after having settled in different parts of the country. 

Mary, one of the daughters of Mr. Wildes of Tops- 
field, was born in 1685, and married Thomas Perkins, 
who came to Arundel in 1719. Four of her brothers, 
Ephraim, Jacob, Samuel and Jonathan, were at the 
taking of Norridgewock in 1724. On this expedition 
they visited their sister, and all of them removed to 
Arundel. 

I. Ephraim either had no family, or he again remov- 
ed from the town, as none of his descendants now live 
here. 

II. Jacob married Ruth Foster, whose children were, 
Jacob, John, Ephraim, Mary, Ruth and Dorothy. 
Mary, married Eben. Emmons ; Ruth, Jacob Rhodes ; 
and Dorothy, Gideon Merrill. 

1. Jacob's first wife was Abigail Stevens, whose 
children were, Sarah, m. Christopher Gillpatrick ; Ja- 
cob, died young; Jacob, died at sea ; Lucy, m. Jacob 
Durrell ; Israel, Betsey Perkins ; William, Mary Love- 
well ; Joseph ; and one died young. His second wife 
was widow Lydia Banks, who left no children. 

2. John married Jane Stone. His children were, 
John, died young ; Lydia, m. Alexander Thompson ; 
Thomas ; Dixey, m. Theodosia Bragdon, and lives in 
Boston. 

3. Ephraim married Temperance Downing, whose 
children were, Ephraim, died young; Mary, m. Eliakim 
Emmons ; Betsey, m. Thomas Lee and Mr. Neally ; 
Lydia, died young; Ruth, m. Cleophas Smith ; Phebe, 
John Taylor ; John, died at sea ; and Jacob, in. Ruth 
Smith. 

III. Samuel was employed several years as a school 
master. His sons were, Samuel and John. His 
daughters were, Hannah, m. Peter Deshon ; Sally, in. 



•286 HISTORY OF 

Mr. Pitts ; Betsey, m. James Deshon ; Mary, Dagger 
Mitchell ; and Susannah, Nicholas Weeks. 

1. Samuel jr. married Olive Deshon, whose children 
were, Mehitable, Samuel, Ephraim, John, Passis, Ja- 
cob, Isaac, Polly and Sally. 

2. John was lost on board a Salem privateer in the 
revolutionary war. • 

IV. Jonathan kept a public house near the present 
dwelling house of James Stone. He left an only son, 
Nathaniel, usually called Tailor Wildes. Nathaniel 
also kept a public house. His wife was Lydia Griffin, 
sister of Mrs. Stone, who after her husband's death 
married Thomas Dempsey. Nathaniel's children were, 
Benjamin, who married Sally Davis, and is still living; 
Mary, m. John Davis ; Elizabeth, Stephen Seavy ; 
Lydia, Josiah Hutchins; and Mary, Eliakim Emmons. 

e Williams, Samuel, lived in this town before 1747. 
His wife's name was Priscilla. Perhaps he was the 
son of John Williams, who kept a school in Arundel 
in 1736. Samuel left four daughters. One of them 
married a Capt. Pout ; one, a Mr. Simonton ; one, 
Rowlandson Bond ; and one, Ruth, Daniel Grant. 

e Williams, John, shipmaster, came from Boston 
about 1809. He removed to Portland about 1S15. 

Wilson, George, mariner, came from Alfred about 
1815. 

cWiswall, Thomas, came from Newton. He was 
probably a descendant of Thomas Wiswall, who resided 
in Dorchester in 1639, and who removed to Newton, 
where he died, Dec. 6, 1683. Mr. Hovey says, "June 
30, 1752, Israel Stone from Boston with a family, their 
names Wiswall, to live in Jones's house." Mr. Wis- 
wall's wife was Eunice Jones, and the house belonged 
to her brother, who, however, never lived in this town. 
It was the house previously occupied by Samuel Little- 
field, opposite the present dwelling house of Seth 
Grant. Mr. Wiswall lived but two years at the cape, 
when he purchased the situation of Rowlandson Bond 
at the village. He built the first wharf on the eastern 
side of Kennebunk river ; and was engaged in the 
fishing, coasting, lumber, and West India business, and 
became wealthy. He owned the first West Indiaman 



KENNEBUNK TORT. 2S7 

in this District. lie died Oct. 22, 1791, aged G8 years. 
His wife died Aug. 3, 1795, aged 71. His children 
were, Eunice, born in Newton, July 14, 1751, married 
Ebenezer llovey, in 17(57 ; Hannah, born Feb. 27, 
1753, married Joseph Lord in 1773; Esther, born 
April 23, 1755, married John Walker 1773; Sarah, 
born April 18, 1757, married John Patten 1779; Mary, 
died young; Lucy, born Jan. 7, 1705, married Thatch- 
er Goddard 1788; Susannah, born May 11, 1767, mar- 
ried Joseph Perkins ; and four sons that died young. 
One of his sons, Phineas, was drowned in Kennebunk 
river. The names of two of the others, were Noah 
and Thomas. 

Woodman, James, farmer, came from Eliot about 
1816. 

Wormwood, Ebenezer and Nathan, farmers, came 
from Cornish ; — Ebenezer in 1810, and Nathan in 1817. 

Ebenezer, a caulker, came from Kennebunk in 1826. 

e Ezekif.l, trader, came from Kennebunk in 1811, 
and removed back again in 1828. These persons are 
descendants of Jacob.* 

"See page 98. 



TOWN CLERKS. 



James Mussey, 1719 

Ensign Thomas Perkins, from - - - 1720 to 1722 

James March, 1723 and 1724 

Thomas Perkins, jr. 1725 

Thomas Perkins, from - 1726 to 1729 

Thomas Perkins, jr. ------- 1730 

Capt. Thomas Perkins, from - 1731 to 1749 

Benjamin Downing, from - 1750 to 1752 

Thomas Perkins, Esq. - - - - 1753 and 1754 

Thomas Perkins, jr. from - - - - 1755 to 17G7 

Benjamin Downing, from - 1768 to 1792 

William Smith, from - 1793 to 1315 

Seth Bumham, from 1816 to 1823 

Henry Clark, from 1824 to 1827 

Asaph Moody, from 1828 to 1830 

Silas Moody, 1831 

Joshua Herrick, from 1832 to 1835 

Silas Moody, 1836 

Joshua Herrick, 1837 



288 



HISTORY OF 



REPRESENTATIVES CHOSEN. 



Allison Brown, in 


1723 


John Hovey, 1789 & 


1790 


Jabez Dorman, 


1724 


Thomas Perkins, 


1791 


None for 22 years. 




Jacob Wildes, from 


1792 


Capt. Thomas Perkins. 


1746 


to 


1796 


None for 5 years. 




Thomas Perkins, from 


1797 


Thomas Perkins, jr. 


1751 


to 


1801 


None for 9 years. 




Robert Towne, 


1802 


Thomas Perkins, jr. 


1760 


Thomas Perkins, 3d. frorr 


il803 


Capt. Thomas Perkins, 


1761 


to 


1805 


None for 3 years. 




Eliphalet Perkins, 1806 & 1807 


Thomas Perkins, Esq 


1765 


Thomas Perkins, 1808 & 1809 


None for 2 years. 




Tobias Lord, 1810 & 


1811 


Thomas Perkins, Esq. 


1768 


Seth Burnham, ) 


1812 


None in 


1769 


Eliphalet Perkins, $ 




Thomas Perkins, Esq. fi 


.1770 


Eliphalet Perkins, 


1813 


to 


1773 


Thomas Perkins, 1814 & I 


Thomas Wis wall, 


1774 


Joseph Perkins from 


1816 


John Hovey, 


1775 


to 


1818 


Benjamin Durrell, 


1776 


Joseph Perkins, ? 
Smith Bradbury, £ 


1819 


Jacob Wildes, 


1777 


John Hovey, 


1778 


Simon No well, from 


1820 


None 


1779 


to 


1823 


John Hovey, 


1780 


Robert Towne, 


1824 


None 


1781 


Daniel W. Lord, from 


1825 


John Hovey, 


1782 


to 


1828 


None 


1783 


Jonathan Stone, 


1829 


Thomas Perkins, 


1784 


John G. Perkins, 


1830 


John Hovey, 


1785 


Ephraim Perkins, from 


1831 


None 


1786 


to 


1833 


Thomas Perkins, 


1787 


John G. Perkins, 1834 & 


1835 


None 


1788 


William Patten, 


1836 



KENNEBUNK PORT. 289 



a list of officers and soldiers, known to have bken in 
the service of the united states. in the revolution- 
ary war, from the town of arundel. 

Captains. 

TOBIAS LORD, died about 1807, aged 84. ^ 

Daniel Merrill, died about 1804 or 5. <?XJ^«^/J1 ' ft*? 

Joshua Nason, died about 1809. 

James Perkins, died Nov. 9, 1825. 

Jesse Dorman, died about 1800. 

Lieutenants. 
a Lemuel Miller. 

James Burnham, killed at Cape Porpoise, 1782. 
John Lord, son of Tobias— died before 1800. 
Tobias Lord, son of Tobias— died in Kennebunk, 1808, 

8B. 59. 
Amos Towne, died before 1800. 

Ensigns. 
•Joshua Nason, jr. died about 1805. 
Jacob Curtis, cast away and died on Plum Island. 
John Goodwin, out but a short time — dead. 
Dummer Mitchell, out a few months only— dead. 
John Walker, settled in Litchfield. 

Sergeants. 
*Benj. Miller, dead. 
David Durrell, died at Limington, 1833. 
Moses Stevens, died about 1800. 
"Eastman Hutchins, settled in Alfred after the war. 
Josiah Dorman, wounded and died in the army, 1781. 
Nathaniel Davis, at Bunker Hill, and in service all the war 

— dead. 
Ephraim Wildes, died about 1833. 
John Burbank, settled in Lyman after the Avar. 
Joseph Cluff, settled in Hollis after the war. 
Thomas DurrelJ, at Cambridge 3 months in 1776. 

* Those with this mark were in Capt. Hitchcock's company, in 
the first three years service, in Col. Hrewer's regiment. Many of 
them were in service at other periods of the war. The second 
threo years and during war services commenced in 1779 or 17d0. 

a Those with this mark are now living in town. 

z 



290 history of 

Corporals. 
John Dorman, died about 1830. 

"Thomas L. Bickford, wounded, and subsequently killed. ' 
*Benjamin Nason, settled in Eastern, N. H. 
Samuel Whitten, removed to the eastward— dead. 
Eliphalet Davis, Drum Majoi', dead. 

Privates. 
Samuel Smith, brother to Jere. — died at Halifax. 
*Simeon Hutchins, died at Kennebunk, 1834. 
*Nath'l. Davis, jr. died at Plattsburg, in the war of J812. 
Jacob Rhoades, settled in Lyman. 
# Richard Thompson, died about 1800. 
Ephraim Thompson, settled in Lyman. 
Joseph Ham, hired by the town ; received 100 acres of 

land— dead. 
Daniel Davis, removed to the eastward. 
a * James Thompson, Capt. of Militia since the war. 
William Goodrich, left the town— since dead. 
Joseph Burnham, son of Isaac : left the town 40 years ago. 
John Nason, hired by the town : died in service, 1782. 
Bartholomew Goodwin, do. do. 1782. 

* Abraham Lord, son of Benj. Lord— died since 1800. 

* Alex. Thompson, removed to Topsham ; died 1822. 
*Daniel Record, died at sea after the war. 

a Robert Hanscom. 

Timothy Davis, settled at Cape Ann after the war. 

*Enoch Clough, died at sea before the close of the war. 

Robert White, left the town before the close of war — dead. 

# William Faii-field, died March, 1826. 

*John Fairfield, died in 1834. 

* Benjamin Lewis, dead. 

* Andrew Brown, removed to the eastward. 
Joseph Denico, jr. died at Valley Forge, 1778. 
Samuel Hutchins, 3d. marked on roll as deserter — dead. 
John Clough, settled in Newfield. 

Nathaniel Lord, wounded, and died in prison at Quebec. 

Forest Burnham, died about 1829— killed by a cart wheel. 

Daniel Lord, settled on Penobscot river. 

Benjamin Lord, settled at Ale wive, Kennebunk — dead. 

a Edward Nason. 

Abner Crediford, died as early as 1794. 

Dominicus Lord, settled in Kennebunk after the war. 

^Samuel Hutchins, died near 1820. 

John Patten, died in 1802. 

Benj. Downing, died about 1825. 

a Jacob Merrill. 

a Nathan Thompson. 

Silas Abbott, dead. 

a Daniel Huff. 



KENNEBUNK PORT. 291 

Privates. 
Noah Clough, wounded in the attack on Quebec— dead. 
Abel Merrill, died early in 1837. 

*Asa Hutchins, taken prisoner at Quebec— joined the British. 
John Stone, died in service at Lake Champlain, 1776. 
Andrew Stone, lost at sea after the war. 
Joseph Towne, died in the army at Lake Champlain. 
Joseph Smith, removed to Hollis. 
Dagger Mitchell, an Irishman— dead. 
Daniel Goodrich, dead. 
William Adams, died in the army. 

Benjamin Wildes, in Capt. Daniel Clark's company in 1780. 
a Samuel Smith, under Capt. Noah M. Littlefield, 1775. 
Thomas Huff, settled in Kennebunk — dead. 
Eliakim Bickford, lost at sea after the war. 
Jonathan Walker, impressed on board a British man-of-war, 

and died. 
Robert Towne, son of Lieut. Amos— died 1829, aged G7. 
Rufus White, killed in Penobscot expedition. 
James Gould, removed to Limerick. 
Jonathan Thompson, committed suicide since 1800. 
George Walker, died soon after the close of the war. 
Joseph Whitten, died in Lyman, 1797. 
Shadrach Avery, dead. 

William Cleaves, removed eastward after the war. 
a Thomas Boston, entered the service from Wells. 
a Shibbuel Boston, service uncertain where. 
James Cleaves, in Col. Frost's regiment in 1776, at North- 
river, N. Y. 
Josiah Huff, dead. 
a Benjamin Thompson. 
Israel Burbank, removed to Brownfield. 
John Rhoads, dead. 

Benj. Rhoads, lost in privateer out of Portsmouth, about 1782. 
Nicholas Downing, died about 1800. 
Dudley Stone, died in 1827. 
Jeremiah Lord, son of Capt. Tobias,— died about the close 

of the war. 
James Deshon, died in service at Lake Champlain, 1776. 
Daniel Walker, died April, 1819. 

Stephen Dorman, settled in the eastern part of the state. 
Stephen Drown, entered the service from Wells : died in 1835. 
Harrison Downing, dead. 
Bartholomew Lassel, died in Biddeford. 
Israel Dorman, died in 1836. 
Charles Huff, died at sea about 1800. 
Amos Hutchins, died in service at Lake Champlain, 1776. 
Jonathan Smith, removed to Ohio — dead. 
Nathaniel Wakefield, died in 1836. 



292 HISTORY OF 

Privates. 

Benj. Littlefield, stationed at Portland 1775, died in 1835, 

Charles White, settled in Parson sfi eld. 

John Deshon, dead. 

Stephen Fairfield. 

Samuel Whitten, jun. removed to the eastward. 

Ephraim Dormau, died in service. 

John Wildes, died in the army. 

*Abner Dassence, not known sinee the war. 

* Joseph Denew, died in service. 

*Caleb Lassel, settled in Waterborough. 

# Joseph Lewis, died in service. 

*Wilburn Chatman, dead. 

*David Clark, not known. 

John Jeffrey, died in Halifax. 

Levi Hutchins, jun. settled in Alfred, and died there. 

Enoch Hutchins, died hi the army. 

George Emmons, do. 

Pierce Murphy, jun. settled in Lyman, and died there. 

a Abraham Rideout, removed from Brunswick to Arundel, 
after the war. 

a John Millet, came from Gloucester, Ms. after the war. 
Dominicus Davis, died in the army. 

*Thomas Dorman, so found on rolls — correctness doubted. 
Abraham Currier, came to Arundel from Wells about 1817. 
a John Bragdon, came to Arundel from York about 1810. 
Roger Hammond, came to Arundel from Rochester, Ms. — 

died 1834. 
John Sutton, removed to the eastward. 
a James Fisher, entered service in N. Carolina — settled here 

since the war. 
Benjamin Stone, died in 1826. 
Moses Rhoades, settled in Waterborough. 
Nehemiah Stone, died soon after 1800. 
a Jonathan Stone. 

Jacob Burnham, died March, 1828, aged 81. 
Daniel White, father of Rums— dead. 
Israel Whitten, dead. 
Joseph Hutchins, removed to the interior. 
Jacob Wildes, jun. son of Jacob, — died at Salem, 1785. 
Andrew Sherburne, naval service, removed to Ohio — dead. 

The annexed copies of drafts, found among other old docu- 
ments of the times, taken in connection with the preceding 
list, will throw additional light upon the subject. They do 
not appear to be official, but are believed to be substantially 
correct as far as they go. Many of these names were in oth- 
er services and will be found in the preceding list ; and it is 
probable that a portion of these might have procured substi- 



KENNEBUNK PORT. 



293 



tutes, or been excused from the service for which the draft 
was made. 



James Cleaves, 
Peter Deshon, 
Lemuel Walker, 
Benjamin Greene, 
William Smith, jun. 
Charles Smith, 
John Jeffries, 
Levi Hutchins, 
Thomas Perkins, jun. 
Dea. John Hovey, 
Daniel Smith, 



" John Springer, 

Israel Burl tank, 
. Stephen Fletcher, 

Daniel Huff, 

Thomas Perkins, 

Samuel Wildes, 

Eben. Huff, 

Gideon Merrill, 

John Murphy, 

James Huff, 

Miles Rhoads, 

Israel Stone." 
This list is marked on the margin, 

" Drafted October 1776." 

It is known that Daniel Huff and James Cleaves, whose 
names are in the above list, were drafted into the company 
commanded by Capt. James Perkins, for three months, in the 
regiment commanded by Col. John Frost, which marched 
from Maine, December, 1776, to Pitts Kills in the state ot New 
York. It is probable that the others were drafted for the 
same service, and in the same company. The officers of this 
regiment were, Col. Frost, of Kittery ; Edward Grow, of 
York, was Lieut. Colonel ; Joseph Prime, of Berwick, Major ; 
Andrew P. Furnald, of Kittery, Adjutant ; John Grant, late of 
Kennebunk, then of Berwick, Quarter Master ; Daniel Sew- 
all, of Kennebuuk, then of York, Quarter Master Sergeant. 
" Drafted, October 7, 1777. 

Thomas Perkins, Esq. Joseph Smith, 

Benjamin LAti\efiek\, paid fne, Eliakim Bickford, 

Bartholomew Lussel, paid fine, 

James Gould, 

Josiah Hutchins, 

Elijah Littlefield, 

Israel Huff, 

Stephen Seavy, 

Joseph Emery, 

William Grant, 

This list is marked at the bottom, 

» Drafted, October 1777" 

William Grant was in Capt. Joshua Nason's company, 
Col. Joseph Storer's regiment, at the taking of General Bur- 
goyne's army in October, 1777.— It is probable that all of this 
list were drafted for the same service, and were in Capt. Na- 
son's company. 

" The men drafted for Cambridge, March 10th, 
Daniel Goodwin, 

Z z 



Samuel Whitten, 
Israel Whitten, 
Benjamin Seavy, 
William Gutridge, 

Sargent Paul March, 
Israel Burnham, 
Charles Huff, jun. 
Wheelwright Stevens." 



1778. 



John Emmons, 



294 HISTORY OF 

Elijah Littlefiekl, Joseph Gould, 

Daniel Smith, Joseph Fletcher, not go. 

John Walker, jun." 

" May 12th, 1778. — The men hired for the continental 

service, for nine months, by the first company — 
Andrew Stone, £70, Joseph Clough, £70, 

Noah Clough, 70, Benjamin Jeffery had 30 pounds." 

" To go to Fish kills." 

" May 12, 1778.— The men drafted for eight months, to go to 
the Pecks kill, by ye first company. 
Benj. Seavy, Nicholas Weeks, 

John Emmons, jun. Joshua Murphey." 

" July 1, 1778.— The men drafted for Providence, intitled to 
14 pounds bounty. 
Thomas Demcey, Robert Towne, 

Charles Smith, Lemuel Walker." 

" July 4, 1778. — The men drafted for Cambridge. 

John Huff, Benjamin Burbank, jr." 

" The above men procured by the first company in Arun- 
del. (Signed,) Wm. Smith, Lieut." 

" Bartholomew Lassel, James Gould, 

Thomas Perkins, Esq. John Perkins, jun. 

Josiah Hutch ins." 
" The above men detached, paid a fine of fifteen pounds, 
agreeably to the resolve Aug. 15, 1777." 

Joseph Perkins, Nehemiah Stone, 

Mark Baiter, John Jeffreys, jun. 

Robert Stone, Samuel Robinson, 

Samuel Huff, Daniel Smith, 

Robert Towne, Joseph Fletcher, 

Capt. Jacob Wildes. 
This list marked on the margin, 

" Drafted agreeably to a resolve of Court of June 10th, 
1778. Paid 10 pounds fine." 

" John Fletcher, Thomas Perkins, 

Joseph Washburn, Gideon Merrill. 

These paid 20 pounds fine." 

"August 10, 1779.— John Emmons paid a fine of thirty 
pounds" 

" Drafted agreeably to a late resolve of the General Court. 
March 15th, 1780. • 

Charles Smith, gave a note, forty-five pounds ;. 
Benjamin Seavey, promises to pay his fine ;. 
John Rhoads, at' Falmouth : 



KENNEBUNK PORT. 295 

Paul Whitten, held as a soldier ; 

Daniel Dislion, paid his fine, sixty pounds, 00 

Ebenezer Bmmons, held as a soldier ; 

•Joshua Murphey, paid his fine, thirty pounds, 30 

Josepfa Avril, paid a fine of sixty pounds, GO 

James Lewis, paid a line of sixty pounds, GO 





£210 


lid of the fines to Lieut. 




Amos Towne, 


£36 


Adam McCulloch, 


7 G 


Stephen Fairfield, 


102 




115 6 







64 4 

The following sketches of the services of some of the revo- 
lutionary officers and soldiers from Arundel, selected promiscu- 
ously, may not he uninteresting to the reader, and is evidence 
of the variety of duties which the spirit of the age and times 
required. 

Captain Tobias Lord commanded a company stationed at 
Falmouth [now Portland] in 1776 ; he had five sons in the ar- 
my at different periods of the war. One of them was 
wounded and died at Quebec. 

Capt. Jesse Dorman commanded a company in Col. 
Scamman's regiment at Cambridge 1776. He was not with- 
out perils in war or in peace. In 1793 a violent tornado un- 
roofed his house, and he with his bed and bedding were 
blown several rods from it. Three of his sons were in the 
army. He was a Lieut in the old French war, and wounded 
intlie battle of Lake George 1758. 

Capt. Joshua Nason was at the capture of Burgoyne's ar- 
my. He commanded a company in Col. Storer's regiment at 
White Plains and Saratoga. Three of his sons were in the 
same service ;— one of them a commissioned officer. 

Capt James Perkins commanded a company in the regi- 
ment commanded by Col. John Frost, on the North river, in 
1776-7. 

*JoshQa Murphey appears to have been excused from paying 
more than thirty pounds fine in consequence of the following recom- 
mendation : — 

" To Capt. William Smith. Sir — Wo give it as our opinion, 
that Mr. Joshua Murphy oujrht to be cloared from the draft to go 
to Falmouth, for thirty pounds. 

(Signed,) Tobias Loro, ) 

Asa Btrbank, > Selectmen. 
Jona. Stone, ) 
Arundel, June the 25, 1780." 



296 HISTORY OF 

Capt. Daniel Merrill was in Col. Scamman's regiment, 
at Cambridge in 1775,— in Col. Finney's regiment in 1776; 
and commanded a company in Col. Brewer's regiment in 
1777-8-9. He was in the retreat from Ticonderoga, and it is 
said owes the preservation of his life to the intrepidity of T. 
L.Bickford— a sergeant in his company ; was in the battle of 
Hubbardstown, and the capture of General Burgoyne's ar- 
my, in 1777 ; and in service to the close of the war. 

David Durrell was a sergeant in Capt. Noah M. Little- 
field's company, raised for defence of the seaboard in 1775 ; 
was at Portland under Capt. Tobias Lord in 1776 ; and at 
Saratoga, in the state of New York, under Capt. Joshua Na- 
son, in 1777. 

Edward Nasox was in Col. Scamman's regiment at Cam- 
bridge in 1775 ; in Capt. Goodrich's company in Arnold's 
expedition, by way of Kennebec river to Quebec, in 1775-6 ; 
and in Col. Baldwin's regiment, at the taking of Burgoyne, in 
1777. 

Robert Hanscom entered the service in 1781 ; served in 
Capt. Fox and Capt. Prichards's company, in Col. Mellen's reg- 
iment. His services were principally in the state of New 
York ; — discharged at West Point in 1783. 

Nathan Thompson was in Capt. Hooper's company, rais- 
ed for the defence of the seaboard 1n 1 775 ; — at Portland in 
the company commanded by Capt. Tobias Lord in 1776; 
and in the company commanded by Capt. Daniel Clark, sta- 
tioned at the same place, under General Wordsworth in 1780. 

William Grant was a substitute for Robert Cleaves, in 
Capt. Smith's company, Col. Francis's regiment. — He bought 
a gun of John Cleaves, son of Robert, to ©any with him. In 
1779 he was in Capt. Joshua Nason's company, at the cap- 
ture of Gen. Burgoyne's army. 

William Goodrich is believed to have been in several 
services in the course of the war. The following is the only 
authentic account of any of them. " To Benjamin Downing, 
Treasurer. Sir— please to pay Capt. Jacob Wildes five hun- 
dred and ten pounds, it being for a cow he delivered the six 
months soldiers, also thirty pounds he paid William Good- 
rich towards his bounty for six months services in the army, 
and the same shall be allowed you out of the town's money. 
(Signed,) Tobias Lord, ^ 

Jonath. Stone, I Selectmen . 
Asa Burbank, 
Thomas Perkins, J 
Arundel, Dec. 13, 1780." 

Abel Merrill was in Capt. Jesse Dorman's company in 
Col. Scamman's regiment at Cambridge, 1775. In 1776 un- 



KENNEBUXK PORT. 



297 



tier the command oTCapt Eliphalet Daniels, at Portsmouth, 
N. H. In 1777 in Col. Storcr's regiment at Stillwater anil 
Saratoga. 

Benjamix Wh-des was in the company commanded by 
("apt. Daniel Clark, in Col. Prime's regiment, stationed at 
Portland in J 780. 

Robert Towne,— son of Lieut. Amos,~at sixteen years of 
age, in 1778, ] aid a fine often pounds to be excused from a 
draft to go to Providence— and immediately after was drafted, 
and joined Capt. Nathaniel Cousens's company, in the Penob- 
scot expedition. He is said to have been in other service be- 
fore the close of the war. 

Simeon Hutchins was a soldier in Capt. Hitchcock's com- 
pany, Col. Brewer's regiment, in the first three years' service, 
and in other services during the revolutionary war. 

Benjamin Thompson, in 1775, a soldier in Capt. Salter's 
company at Portsmouth, N. II. In 177G, in Capt. Tobias 
Lord's company at Portland ; in the company commanded 
by Capt. James Perkins, of Col. Frost's regiment, at West 
Point ; and in 1777, in Capt. Joshua Nason's company at Sar- 
atoga. 

Jonathan Stone was in Capt. Richard Rogers's company 
at Cambridge, in the regiment commanded by Col. Gerrish, 
in 1778, and in Capt. Nathaniel Cousens's company in the 
Penobscot expedition the same year; 

Daniel Huff, in Capt. Noah M. Littlefield's company, rais- 
ed for defence of the seaboard in 1775 ; and in Capt. James 
Perkins's company on the North river, 1776. 

John Burbank was in the company of Capt. N. M. Lit- 
tlefield, before named, in 1775 ; a sergeant in Capt. Eliphalet 
Daniels's company, stationed at Portsmouth, N. H. in 1776 ; 
entered on board the privateer Dalton, and was carried pris- 
oner to England in 1777 ; enlisted in 1779 as master-at-arms on 
board the Bonne Homme Richard, and was in the battle with 
the Serapis and Countess of Scarborough, in September of 
that year, under John Paul Jones. He was censured by Jones 
for letting loose the prisoners, although the ship was known 
to be sinking. 

James Thompson, a soldier in Capt. Daniel Merrill's com- 
pany, Col. Patterson's brigade, in the state of New York, in 
17 77 and 1778 ; and in Capt. Luke Hitchcock's company, of 
Col. Brewer's regiment, in 1771). He was present at the sur- 
render of Burgoyne's army, and was discharged at Fish Kill, 
on the North river, in 1780. 

Ephraim Wildes was stationed at Portland, under Capt 
Tobias Lord, in 1776— and was a sergeant in Col. Frost's 
regiment, on the North river, in 1777. 



298 HISTORY OF 

Nathaniel Wakefield was a soldier in Capt. Josiah Da- 
vis's company, Col. Prime's regiment, stationed at Portland in 
1780. 

John Deshon. — The principal intelligence of his services 
is derived from the following : — " To Mr. Benjamin Down- 
ing, Treasurer. Sir — please to pay Thomas Perkins, jun. 
five hundred and ten pounds, it being for a cow delivered 
John Deshon, for six months' services in the continental army, 
last campaign, and the same shall be allowed you out of the 
town's money. 

(Signed,) Tobias Lord, } 

Asa Burbank, > Selectmen. 
Asa Durrell, ) 

March 7, 1781." 

Israel Dorman was in Col. Francis's regiment in 1776, 
and attached to Col. Putnam's and Col. Nicholson's regi- 
ments in 1778. 

Jacob Merrill was in Capt. Eldridge's company at Dor- 
chester in 1776 ; soon after in Capt. Daniels's company, under 
Col. Long, at Portsmouth, N. H. ; in Capt. Holbrook's compa- 
nv at Danbury, Conn, in 1777, and in Col. Brewer's regiment, 
1778. 

Lemuel Miller was a sergeant and clerk of Capt. Dorman's 
company at Cambridge, in 1775. He was in service during 
most of the war ; a lieutenant under Col. Brewer's* 12th 
Mass. regiment. 

Thomas L. Bickford was a sergeant in Capt. Daniel Mer- 
rill's company in 1776. He was wounded at Hubbardstown, 
where Col. Francis fell, in the retreat from Ticonderoga. He 
was in the first three years' service, and subsequently killed 
in attempting to board and quell an insurrection of British 
prisoners, on board one of the guard ships in Boston. He 
was a young man of much promise, tall and elegant in his 
person, and on more than one occasion distinguished for his 
bravery. 

Joshua Nason, jun. was in Capt. Luke Hitchcock's com- 
pany, in the three years service, and a commissioned officer 
at the time of the surrender of Burgoyne's army at Saratoga. 

George Walker was probably in the company command- 
ed by Capt. Daniel Clark, under Col. Prime, in 1780. Some 
intelligence of him is derived from the following order, ad- 
dressed to the Treasurer :— " Sir : please to pay George 
Walker forty eight pounds twelve shillings, out of the town's 
money, in full, for eight months' services at Falmouth. 
(Signed,) Jonath. Stone, } 

Tobias Lord, > Selectmen. 
Thomas Perkins, ) 

Arundel, April 10, 1780." 



KENNEBUNK PORT. 299 

Nathaniel Davis was a soldier in the old French war ; a 
sergeant in Col. Scamman's regiment at Cambridge, in 1775 ; 
was at the battle of Bunker Hill ; in Col. Brewer's regiment, 
at White Plains and Saratoga, in 1777 ; and was in service at 
the close of the war. 

Noah Cluff was in the old French war ;— is said to have 
been in the battle of Bunker hill ; he was in the expedition 
under Arnold up the Kennebec in 1775-6 ; was wounded in 
the attack on Quebec under Montgomery, and made prison- 
er ; was in other services after his exchange, and had a pen- 
sion granted him at the close of the war, as an invalid. 

Jacob Wildes, jun. was in the company commanded by 
Capt. Silas Wildes, in Col. Finney's regiment, at Lake Cham- 
plain, in 1776. Sick, and accustomed to a sea-faring life, he 
soon became tired of the camp, and Noah Clough, now re- 
covered of his wound, was procured to take his place. 
Wildes subsequently became master of the privateer Grey- 
hound, fitted out of Salem, and sailed from Cape Porpoise 
harbor, April, 1781. Samuel Wildes, jun. was one of the 
crew. She made a number of prizes, some of which were re- 
taken. One brig, a prize to the Greyhound, arrived in Salem, 
which divided sixty three pounds sterling, prize money, to 
each share. The captain had seven shares, or about 1958 
dollars. The Greyhound was captured and carried into Hali- 
fax, and the crew exchanged and sent to Boston. Another 
privateer of the same name was fitted out, of which 
Capt. Wildes was master. He made other prizes ;— was 
lost at sea about 1785. Samuel Wildes, jun. removed to Ken- 
nebec. 

Nathaniel Davis, jun. was in service during most of the 
war. He is believed to have been with his father at the 
battle of Bunker hill ;— was in the three years' service, in 
Col. Brewer's regiment, in 1778, and in other services. In 
the war with England, in 1812, he was a soldier in Col. 
Lane's regiment, and died at Plattsburg in the state of New 
York. 

Enoch Clough, it is believed, was in Col. Scamman's reg- 
iment at Cambridge in the early part of the war, if not in the 
expedition to Quebec, under Arnold. His name is subse- 
quently found on the rolls of Capt. Hitchcock's company in 
the first three years' service, in the regiment commanded by 
Col. Brewer, on North river, at White Plains and Saratoga. 
Clough was hired for this service by a class of the town, and 
received nine cows extra pay. Capt Tobias Lord, grand- 
father of Nathaniel and Tobias, jun. late of Arundel, paid one 
cow as his part. These cows were let to the individuals who 
paid them, to be doubled in four years ;— so that in one year 
after the expiration of his services, Clough received eighteen 
cows. He died immediately after the war. 



300 HISTORY OF 

Andrew Sherburne was in the Naval service, on board 
the U. S. ship-of-war Hanger, Capt. Stirnpson, in 1779 and 
'80. In 1781 he was taken in one of the recaptured prizes of 
the privateer Greyhound, and sent to Mill prison in England. 
He entered the service from New Hampshire ; settled in Ar- 
undel after 1800, and subsequently removed to Ohio. 

Tobias Lord, son of Capt. Tobias, resided at Moulton's 
Mills, and was drafted from Sanford. He was a Lieutenant 
in Capt. James Littlefield's company, of Col. Storer's regi- 
ment, at the capture of Gen. Burgoyne's army at Saratoga in 
1777. He died at Kennebunk in 1808. 

James Burnham was drafted as Lieutenant in a company 
commanded, as is believed, by Capt. Hans Patten, and sta- 
tioned below Providence, R. I. in 1778, under the command 
of General Sullivan. He was in this service a few months 
only, but was afterwards a captain of militia, and killed in an 
attack on an English brig of war, in Cape Porpoise harbor, 
Aug. 8, 1782. Samuel Wildes was severely wounded at the 
same time. 

Amos Towne was in the service, in 1775 ; probably in the 
corps raised by the government ot Massachusetts for the de^- 
fence of the seaboard, or in Col. Scamman's regiment at 
Cambridge. In February, 1776, before Lord Howe left Bos- 
ton, he was a Lieutenant in Capt. John Elden's company at 
Dorchester heights, and the same year an officer in Capt. 
Samuel Leighton's company, in the regiment commanded by 
Col. Francis. Gen. Clement Storer, late of Portsmouth, N. H. 
was a corporal in this company. In 1780 Lieut. Towne w T as 
in the regiment commanded by Col. Prime, stationed at Fal- 
mouth, now Portland. His father, Amos Towne, was in the 
old French war, in the expedition under Sir William Pepper- 
ell in 1746. 

Abraham Rideout was four years and three months in the 
continental army. He enlisted from Brunswick and joined 
Capt. Daniel Merrill's company, in Col. Brewer's regiment, at 
White Plains, in the state of New York. He served a por- 
tion of the time in Capt. Bullock's company, under General 
Greene, and was discharged at West Point in 1782. 

John Millet was a during-war's man. He entered the 
service at Cape Ann ; was in Col. Cilley's regiment of the 
New Hampshire line, in the division under Gen. Arnold, at 
the battle of Stillwater, and capture of General Burgoyne's 
army in 1777. He joined General Washington's army at 
Valley Forge ; was sick and left the army, about the time of 
the battle of Monmouth,— was not present at that engage- 
ment. He was afterwards taken in one of the recaptured priz- 
es of the privateer Hibernia and sent prisoner to Halifax, where 
be remained until nearly the close of the war. 



KENNEBUNK PORT. 301 

Sketches of the services of others might be given, but the 
preceding list, imperfect and deficient as it is known to be, is 
sufficient to show the intense interest manifested by all classes 
of the people of Arundel to throw off the government of the 
mother country, and establish the independence of our own. 



List of Seamen and Soldiers known to have been in the 
service of the United States, in the war with Great Britain 
of 1812, called the war of Impressments. 

In the Navy— Stephen Seavy, Israel Huff, George Wilson, 
John March. These men were attached to the U. S. ship Ad- 
ams, under the command of Capt. Morris, at the time of the 
destruction of that ship at Hampden, on the Penobscot river, 
when the British took possession in September, 1814. Wil- 
liam Avery and John Rhoades were also in the Navy. Many 
others were in the privateer service, and suffered as prisoners 
at Halifax and in England. Seavy died in 1836. 

Solomon Co it was a midshipman in the U. S. Navy, on 
the Lakes, in the course of the war, and before the close of it 
commanded the privateer Mars, out of Portsmouth, N. H. and 
was lost. 

Henry Flanders was a seaman on board the L T . S. sloop- 
of-war Wasp, and lost with that ship before the conclusion 
of the treaty of peace. 
In the Army- 
Jonathan Freeman. 
George Goodwin. 

Nathaniel Davis, jr. died in the army at Plattsburg. 
Jesse L. Smith, Col. of militia since the war. 
Joseph H. Osgood, came to Kennebunk after the war. 
Their services were on the Canadian frontiers — mostly 
about Lake Champlain. 

Major Simon Nowell commanded a detachment of mili- 
tia, detailed from the first brigade of the first division, and 
stationed at Fort McLary, near the Navy Yard at Portsmouth, 
V II. towards the close of the war. 



A3 



f 



o w>